(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Genealogical and family history of the state of New Hampshire : a record of the achievements of her people in the making of a commonwealth and the founding of a nation"

^m 



4 



^» t 



0^ 



^ ..:<^ 





li ^#S 







^^ 




GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY 

HISTORY 



OF THE 



STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE 



A RECORD OF THE ACHIEVEMENTS OF HER PEOPLE IN THE MAKING OF A 
COMMONWEALTH AND THE FOUNDING OF A NATION 



Compiled Under the Editorial Supervision of 
EZRA S. STEARNS 

Ex-Secretary of State; Member American Antiquarian Society, New England Historic-Genealogical 

SoGiETY, New Hampshire State Historical Society; Corresponding Member Minnesota 

State Historical Society; Member Fitchburg Historical Society 

ASSISTED BY 

WILLIAM F. WHITCHER 

Trustee New Hampshire State Library, Member New Hampshire State Historical Society and New 

England Methodist Historical Society 

AND 

EDWARD E. PARKER 

Judge of Frobate, Nashua 



VOL. i 



ILLUSTRATED 



THE LEWIS PUBLISHING COMPANY 

New York Chicago 

1908 



INTRODUCTORY 



THE present work, "Genealogical and Family History of the State of New Hamp- 
shire, ' ' presents in the aggregate an amount and variety of genealogical and per- 
sonal information and portraiture unequalled by any kindred publication. Indeed, 
no similar work concerning New Hampshire Families has ever before been presented. 
It contains a vast amount of ancestral history never before printed. The object, clearly 
defined and well .digested, is threefold; 

First. To present in concise form the history of New Hampshire Families of the 
Colonial Days. 

Second. To preserve a record of the prominent present-day people of the State. 
Third. To present through personal sketches the relation of its prominent families 
of all times to the growth, singular prosperity and widespread influence of New Hamp- 
shire. 

The reading public of New Hampshire, as well as other States, has long been famil- 
iar with the historical and genealogical work of Mr. Ezra S. Stearns. He has contrib- 
uted much to the perfection of family history embodied in many of local histories pub- 
lished by various towns of the State, begide those published wholly from his pen. His 

latest work of this charac- 
ter, the History of Plymouth in 
two handsome volumes, has re- 
ceived many encomiums from 
press and critical literary author- 
ities. The work herein embod- 
ied may be justly regarded as the 
crowning effort of a life devoted 
largely, in the midst of other 
public services, to genealogical 
research. His pains and tireless 
efforts in the interest of accuracy 
and thoroughness are well known 
and need no sponsor. His efforts 
have been seconded by several 
able assistants, including Miss 
Frances M. Abbott, of Concord; 
tiist Mecciue Place oi Lctibiaiurc at Concord, 1783. J. C Jeuuings, of Wayne, Maine I 




IV 



INTRODUCTORY 



James A. Ellis and Francis L. Gownen, of Boston, genealogists, and many others, to 
whom thanks are hereby tendered. 

It is to be regretted that indifference or unwise prejudices on the part of a very few 
have interfered with a proper representation of their families, but it is confidently assert- 
ed that this work covers all that can be reasonably expected from finite efforts. No mat- 
ter has been printed that was not first submitted to persons most interested for revision 
and correction, and many articles have been submitted to several individuals in order to 
secure most complete criticism and revision. In some cases family traditions have been 
put forward, and in these there is sometimes conflict; where such was the only authority, 
effort has been made to reconcile as far as possible. 

There are numerous \oluminous histories of the State, making it unnecessary in this 
work to even outline its annals. What has been published, however, relates principally 
to civic life. The amplification necessary to complete the picture of the State, old and 
nowaday, is what is supplied by these Genealogical and Family Memoirs in more ample 
degree than heretofore. In other words, while others have written of '.'the times," the 
province of this work is a chronicle of the people who have made New Hampshire what 
it is. 

Unique in conception and treatment, this work constitutes one of the most original 
and permanently valuable contributions ever made to the social history of an American 
commonwealth. In it are arrayed in a lucid and dignified manner all the important facts 
regarding the ancestry, personal careers and matrimonial alliances of those who, in each 
succeeding generation, have been accorded leading positions in the social, professional 
and business life of the State. NorJias it been based upon, neither does it minister to, 
aristocratic prejudices and assumptions. On the contrary, its fundamental ideas are 
thoroughly American and democratic. The work everywhere conveys the lesson that 
distinction has been gained only by honorable public service, or by usefulness in private 
station, and that the development and prosperty of the State of which it treats has been 
dependent upon the character of its citizens, and in the stimulus which they have given 
to commerce, to industry, to 



the arts and sciences, to 
education and religion — to 
all that is comprised in the 
highest civilization of the 
present day — through a con- 
tinual progressive develop- 
ment. 

The inspiration underly- 
ing the present work is a 
fervent appreciation of the 
truth so well expressed by 
Sir Walter Scott, that 
"there is no heroic poem in 
the world but is at the bot- 




Peavey House. Exeter 





Gov, Bennini,' Wenlwortli 



Eleri/ur Wheelock 
First President of Dartmouth Collefie 



Rp 



^^^^ 





u 



John P. Hale 



Salmon P. Chase 



h r 




V. S. Ship Portsmouth. Built atlPortsmouth Navy Yard. 1843 





Court House, Lancaster 



Soldiers' Monument. Keene 



INTRODUCTORY 



VII 



torn the life of a man. " And with this goes a kindred truth, that to know a man, and 
rightly measure his character and weigh his achievements, we must know whence he came, 
from what forebears he sprang. Truly as heroic poems have been written in human lives 
in the paths of peace as in the scarred roads of war. Such examples, in whatever line of 
endeavor, are of much worth as an incentive to those who come afterward, and as such 
were never so needful to be written of as in the present day, when pessimism, forgetful 
of the splendid lessons of the past, withholds its effort in the present, and views 
the future only with alarm. 

Every community with such ample history as New Hampshire, should see that it be 
worthily supplemented by Genealogical and Personal Memoirs of its leading families and 
prominent citizens. Such a work is that which is now presented. And, it should be ad- 
mitted, the undertaking possesses value of the highest importance — in its historic utility 

■I 
as a memorial of the development and progress of the community from its very founding, 

and in the personal interest which attaches to the record made by the individual. On 
both these accounts it will prove a highly useful contribution to literature, and a valuable 
legacy to future generations. Out of these considerations the authors and publishers 
have received the encouragement and approval of authorities of the highest standing as 
genealogists, historians and litterateurs. In the production of this work, no pains have 
been spared to ensure absolute truth — that quality upon which its value in every feature 
depends. The material comprising the genealogical and personal records of the active 
living, as well as of the honored dead, was gathered by men and women e.xperienced in 
such work, and acquainted with local history and ancestral families. Much has been 
gathered from the custodians of family records concerning the useful men of preceding 
generations, and of their descendants who have lived 
useful and honorable lives. Such custodians, who 
have availed themselves of this opportunity of having 
this knowledge placed in preservable and accessible 
form, have performed a public service in rendering 
honor to whom honor is due, in preserving the dis- 
tinction which rightfully belongs to the Colonial Fam- 
ilies, and which distinguishes them from later immi- 
grations; and in inculcating the most valuable and en- 
during lessons of patriotism" and good citizenship. 

Than New Hampshire, no other State or region 
offers so peculiarly interesting a field for such re- 
search. Its sons — "native here and to the manner 
born," and of splendid ancestry — have attained dis- 
tinction in every field of human effort. An additional 
interest attaches to the present undertaking in the 
fact that, while dealing primarily with the history of 

native New Hampshire, this work approaches the dig- , ,^ ■ " — ■ ■^"' ►-i-w MHjl 

nity of a national epitome of genealosrv and biography. " 

. ., ^ ^-' a r J Town Hall. Lebanon 

Owmg to the wide dispersion throughout the country first Meetine House in Lebanon Vlllase. bullt 1783 







I 




VIII 



INTRODUCTORY 



of the old families of the State, the authentic account here presented of the constituent 
elements of her social life, past and present, is of far more than merely local value. In 
its special field it is, in an appreciable degree, a reflection of the development of the 
country at large, since hence went out representatives of historical families, in various 
generations, who in far remote places — beyond the Mississippi and in the Far West — 
were with the vanguard of civilization, building up communities, creating new common- 
wealths, planting, wherever they went, the church, the school house and the printing 
press, leading into channels of thrift and enterprise all who gathered about them, and 
proving a power for ideal citizenship and good government. 

These records are presented in a series of independent genealogical and personal 
sketches relating to lineal family heads, and the most conspicuous representatives in the 
present generation. There is an entire avoidance of the stereotyped and unattractive 
manner in which such data is usually presented. The past is linked to the present in 
such style as to form a symmetrical narrative exhibiting the lines of descent, and the his- 
tory of distinguished members in each generation, thus giving to it a distinct personal in- 
terest. That these ends have been conscientiously and faithfully conserved is assured by 
the cordial personal interest and recognized capability of the supervising editors, of prom- 
inent connection with the leading patriotic societies, all of whom have long pursued gen- 
ealogical investigations with intelligence and enthusiasm. 

The Publishers. 




Wiiite Mountains, from LJetlilehem 





^J^ y^^U'^uC^'U^^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE 



The name in England, as records 
KIMBALL show, appears in the various forms 

of Kymbolde, Kembold, Kembould, 
Kembolde and KembaU. Henry Kemball, a brother 
of Richard, has descendants in New Hampshire (see 
Kemball). 

(I) The common ancestor of the great majority 
of Kimballs in this country was Richard Kimball, 
who with his family embarked at Ipswich, in the 
county of Suflfolk, England, April lo, 1634, in the 
ship "Elizabeth," William Andrews, master. He 
arrived at Boston, and from thence went to Water- 
town, Massachusetts, where he settled and became 
a prominent and active man in the new settlement. 
He was by trade a wheelwright. He was pro- 
claimed a freeman in 1635, May 6, and was a pro- 
prietor in 1636-37. Soon after this date he was in- 
vited to remove to Ipswich, where was needed a 
competent man to act as wheelwright to the new 
settlement. Here he spent the remainder of his 
days as one of the leading men of the town. He 
died June 22, 1675. Richard Kimball married (first) 
Ursula Scott, daughter of Henry Scott, of Rattles- 
den, in the county of Suffolk, England. He 
married (second), Margaret Dow, widow of Henry 
Dow, of Hampton, New Hampshire, October ■ 23, 
1661. His children, eleven in number, w-ere by his 
first wife: i. Abigail, born in Rattlesden, county 
of Suffolk, England. She married in England, John 
Severans, and they came to America. She died at 
Salisbury, Massachusetts, June 17, 165S, and he died 
at the same place, April 9, 1682. They were the 
parents of twelve children. Their youngest child, 
Elizabeth Severans, married in 1686, Samuel East- 
man, of Salisbury, Massachusetts. Her grand- 
daughter, Abigail Eastman, born July 10, 1737. 
daughter of Thomas and .\bigal (French) Eastman, 
married Ebenczer Webster, and was'the mother of 
Daniel Webster, the statesman. 2. Henry is men- 
tioned at length below. 3. Elizabeth, born in Rattles- 
den. Suffolk county, England. 4. Richard, receives 
further mention in this article, with descendants. $. 
Mary, born in Rattlesden, England, in 1625, married 
Robert Dutch, of Gloucester and Ipswich, Massa- 
chusetts. 6. Martha, born in Rattlesden, August. 
1629, married Joseph Fowler, who was born in Eng- 
land in 1622, and was killed by the Indians, May 19. 
1676, near Dccrtield, Jilassachusetts. 7. John, born 
in Rattlesden, England, 1631, died May 6, 1698. 8. 
Thomas, born 1633, died May 5, 1676. 9. Sarah, 
born at Watertown. Massachusetts, 1635, died June 
12, 1690. She married, November 24, 1658, Edward 
Allen, of Ipswich, }ilassachusetts. 10. Benjamin is 
the subject of a paragraph in this article. 11. Caleb, 
born at Ipswich, ^Massachusetts, 1639, died 1682. 

(II) Henry, eldest son and second child of 

Richard Kimball, was born in Rattlesden, Suffolk 

county, England, baptized August 12, 1615. and came 

to America in the ship "Elizabeth" with his father 

i — I 



in 1634. He first settled in Watertown, Massachusetts, 
but some time after 1646 followed his father to Ips- 
wich, and about 1655 removed to Wenham, and spent 
the remainder of his life in that town. November 8, 
1657, he subscribed £3 as minister's rate, one half 
in wheat, the other half in Indian corn, "at Mar- 
chant's price." In 1659 he subscribed ^3.50, one- 
half in corn; and in 1660-1, he contributed los toward 
the new meeting house. He was chosen constable, 
October 22, 1669. He died in Wenham in 1676, 
leaving an estate inventoried at £177 12s. He mar- 
ried (first), about 1640, Mary, daughter of John and 
jNIary Wyatt, who came to America in the same ship 
with him. Mary died in Wenham, August 12, 1672, 
and he married (second), Elizabeth (Gilbert) Ray- 
ner, widow of William, son of Thurston Rayncr, 
and daughter of Humphrey and Elizabeth Gilbert. 
Henry and Mary (Wyatt) Kimball were the parents 
of thirteen children : Mary, Richard, John, Caleb, 
Dorcas, .Abigail, Sarah, Henry, Mehitable, Benjamin, 
Joseph, Martha and Deborah. (Mention of Joseph 
and descendants appears in this article). 

(III) John, second son and third child of Henry 
and Mary (Wyatt) Kimball, was born at Water- 
town, December 25, 1645, and died previous to May 
20, 1726. When sixteen years of age he went to 
live with his grandfather, John Wiatt, of Ipswich, 
where he remained until the death of Mr. Wiatt, 
in December, 1665, when he became heir to the 
property left by him, provided he performed certain 
conditions. This property was bounded by the 
"Meeting house Green," which shows where he lived. 
He sold his estate March 25, 1667, and removed to 
Newbury, where he was living June 17, 1668. About 
1669 he removed to Amesbury. where he afterward 
lived. He testified in the trial of Susan Martin for 
witchcraft. May 16, 1692. A full report of his testi- 
mony may be found in Increase Alathcr's account of 
witch trials. He was a yeoman and wheelwright, 
and took the oath of allegiance December 20. 1677, 
was made a freeman in 1690. served as appraiser 
of dift'erent estates, and died in 1726. He married 
(first), October, 1665, Mary, daughter of Francis 
and Jane Jordan. He may have married (second), 
February 9, 1713, Mary Pressey, of Amesbury, as 
a marriage is recorded at Newbury between John 
Kimball and Mary Pressey. If this be so she soon 
died, and in April, 1715, he married (third), the 
widow Deborah (Weed) Bartlett, born June 15, 
1659, daughter of John Wceji, who survived him. 
He had seven children, all by the first wife. Their 
names are : Mary, John, Abigail, Joseph, Abraham, 
Hannah and Deborah. 

(IV) John (2), oldest son and second child 
of John (i) and Mary (Jordan) Kimball, born in 
Newbury, July 19, 1668, was a wheelwright by trade, 
and lived in Amesbury. He married Hannah, daugh- 
ter of Nathaniel Gould, as is shown by a deed made 
February 11, 1714, in which John Kimball, Jr., and 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



wife Hannah, of Amesbury, Samuel Gold, Joseph 
Gold, Thomas Beedle, and ISIary Jones, widow of 
Joseph Jones, children of Nathaniel Gold and Eliza- 
beth his wife, convej'ed property that they inherited 
from Nathaniel Gould, who died in 1693. The nine 
children of this marriage were : Benjamin, who died 
young; Sarah, Jonathan. Judith, Benjamni, Hannah, 
Mary, John and Nathan. 

(V) Nathan, fifth son and ninth child of John 
(2) and Hannah (Gould) Kimball, was born in 
Amesbury, June 21, 1719, died in 1753, and resided 
in Amesbury. He married, December 16, 1742, Han- 
nah Ring, and they were the parents of children : 
Nathan, Josiah, Bachelder, Hannah, Esther, Judith 
and Thomas. 

(VI) Nathan (2), oldest son and child of Nathan 
(l) and Hannah (Ring) Kimball, was born in 
Amesbury, March 3, 1743, and died December, 1816. 
At the time of his marriage he resided in Hopkin- 
ton, New Hampshire, where he was a farmer. He 
afterward removed to Weare, and lived there at the 
time of his death. He married Judith Kimball, 
born May 12, 1739, daughter of Benjamin Kimball. 
She died May 2, 1785. They had five children : 
Betsey, Hannah, Judith, Benjamin and Mark. 

(VTI) Hannah, second daughter and child of 
Nathan and Judith (Kimball) Kimball, married 
Samuel Muzzey, of Weare, and settled in Newbury. 
(See Muzzey, VHI). 

(HI) Joseph, sixth son of Henry and Mary 
(Wyatt) Kimball, was born in Wenham, January 
20, 1661-2, and died 1713. He married Elizabeth 
Needham, born February i, 1674, at Lynn and died 
October 6, 1708. He lived in Boston and followed 
the sea, and probably was lost at sea. Administra- 
tion on his estate was granted his brother-in-law, 
Ezekiel Needham, April 14, 1713. Children: i. 
Joseph, born February 24, 1701, mentioned below. 
2. Mary, born May 27, 1703, in Boston. 

(IV) Joseph (2), son of Joseph (l) and Eliza- 
beth (Needham) Kimball, was born in Boston, Feb- 
ruary 24, 1701 ; died 1767 at Preston, Connecticut, 
where he was an early settler. He married in Bos- 
ton, May 25, 1721, Bethia Mackerwithe, of Dedham, 
Massachusetts. Children, all born in Preston : i. 
Benjamin, born April 15, 1722; died August, 1796. 
2. Bethia (twin), born February 18, 1723-4. 3. 
Sarah (twin), born February 18, 1723-4. 4. Joseph, 
born December 29, 1731 ; died (jctober 22, 1822, 
in Plainfield, New Hampshire ; mentioned below. 

(V) Joseph (3), son of Joseph (2) and Bethia 
(Mackerwithe) Kimball, was born in Preston, Con- 
necticut, January 9, 1732; married May 2, 1754, 
Hannah Morgan, who was born October i, 1731. 
and died March l, 1756, in Preston. He married 
second, Mary Clift, daughter of Samuel and Lydia 
(Do.ggett) Clift, born at Marshfield, INIassachusetts, 
October i, 1738, died July 9. 1781. He married 
third, Eleanor Dunlap, born at Killingly, Connecti- 
cut, October 25, 1743, died December 18, 1833, at 
Plainfield, New Hampshire. Eleanor Dunlap was 
the daughter of William and Sarah (Ledlie) Dun- 
lap, emigrants from Ireland, some say Scotland. 
Her brothers were': John, Joshua and Robert. Her 
sisters were: EHzabeth^and Mary. Joseph Kimball 
settled at Plainfield. New Hampshire, in 1764. Fle 
was a soldier in the Revolution, and took part in 
the battles of Fort Ticonderoga and Bennington. 
The inscription on the family monument reads : "He 
was the first proprietor of a farm inclosing this 
cemetery, a successful hunter and kind neighbor, a 
soldier of the Revolution at Fort Ticonderoga in ^ 
1776." The original slate-stone slab, still standing, 
is inscribed "Lieutenant Joseph Kimball," but 



whether he was lieutenant in the regular army or 
the militia is not known. He settled first in the town 
then known as Plainfield Plain, and later removed to 
a farm near the village of Meriden, New Hampshire, 
where he lived until his death. Joseph Kimball had 
one brother, Benjamin, who died at Plainfield, Au- 
gust, 1796, aged seventy-seven. Benjamin Kimball's 
son, Daniel Kimball, died February 27, 1817, aged 
sixty-three years. He was the founder of Kimball 
Union Academyat Meriden, New Hampshire. Han- 
nah Chase Kimball, wife of Daniel Kimball, died 
June 17, 1S47, aged eighty-nine. Joseph Kimball's 
only child of first wife : I. Hannah, born March 22, 
1/55, died May 10, 1756. Children of second wife, 
born in Connecticut: 2. Wills, born March 31, 1760, 
died August 13, 1843, married ]\Iercy Roberts; their 
son Elisha died April 3, 1873, married Tryphena 
Ticknor. 3. Hannah, born September 6, 1761, died 
August 19. 1788. 4. Benjamin, born March 6, 1763, 
died March 18, 1815. 5. Elisha, born March i, 1765, 
died September 3, 1766. Children of second wife, 
born in Plainfield, New Hampshire : 6. ISIary Clift, 
born November 30, 1767, died January 27, 1855. The 
second white child born in Plainfield, New Hamp- 
shire. 7. Sally, born July 15, 1769, died l\Iarch 9, 
1803. 8. Lydia, born April 3, 1771, died October 2, 
1775- 9- Joseph, born September 9, 1775, died Sep- 
tember I, 1823, at Deerfield, near Utica, New York. 
Children of third wife : 10. Eunice, born January 
19. 1783. at Plainfield, New Hampshire, died Oc- 
tober 4, 1862, at Hopkinton, New Hampshire; mar- 
ried Abraham Brown, who died December 15, 1852. 
II. Betsey, born December 16, 17S4, in Plainfield, 
New Hampshire, died January 19, 1866, at Meriden, 
New Hampshire, unmarried. 12. Robert, born De- 
cember 16, 17S6, mentioned below. 

(VI) Robert, youngest child of Joseph and 
Eleanor (Dunlap) Kimball, was born in Plainfield, 
New Hampshire, December 16, 1786, died Septem- 
ber 20, 1876, at Lebanon, New Hampshire. He mar- 
ried at Wolcott, Vermont, November 19, 1817, Fanny 
Willis, born January 3, 1792, in Hanover, New 
Hampshire, died at Lebanon, New Hampshire, Sep- 
tember 15, i860. She was the daughter of Dyer 
and Elizabeth (Warner) Willis, of Hanover, New 
Hampsliire. Children: i. Daughter, born and died 
September 4, 1826. 2. Robert Byron, born October 
24, 1827, died March 16, 1877, at Lebanon, New 
Hampshire. 3. Mary Elizabeth, born January 21, 

1834. 

Robert Kimball was a worthy representative of 
his race, a race of men strong physically and intel- 
lectually. Like the Kimballs who preceded him, he 
was ready in the defence of a friend, a cause, or an 
opinion. With the Vermont volunteers he saw 
ser\'ice in the American army iri the War of 1812, 
and was present at the battle of Plattsburg. In 
early life a merchant in Morristown, Vermont, he 
removed to Plainfield, New Hampshire to assist 
in the management of his aged father's farm. Each 
of these towns, during his residence in it, chose him 
as its representative in the state legislature. On the 
death of his father he removed to Lebanon. New 
Hampshire. He was at once recognized as a leading 
citizen, and continued to exert a wide influence in 
the town until the infirmities of age compelled him 
to step aside from active life. He represented 
Lebanon in the legislature in 1842 and 1843, was a 
member of the convention which revised the consti- 
tution, and was president of the Bank of Lebanon 
for twenty-five years. Mr. Kimball was a Mason, 
when it cost to be a Mason ; an original owner in 
both the Concord and the Northern railroads, and 
their staunch supporter ; an abolitionist, wiien abo- 









cv, 




NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



litionism was most unpopular. When at the age 
of eighty-nine, he died, full of years and of honor, 
it might well be said of him that he had "fought the 
good fight." 

(.Vll) Robert Byron, only son of Robert Kimball, 
was born October 24, 1827, in Plainfield, New tlamp- 
shire, and died March 16, 1877, at the family home- 
stead in Lebanon. He never married. He was a 
successful business man and financier, and a director 
of the Savings Bank and the National Bank of 
Lebanon. His was a busy, useful life, too full of 
business cares and private enterprises to admit of 
his holding public office. But his deeds of charity 
and his unblemished character caused him to be 
widely beloved, and he still lives in the memory 
of his lownpeople, a Christian gentleman. 

(VH) Mary Elizabeth, daughter of Robert Kim- 
ball, born in Plainfield, New Hampshire, January 

21, 1834, has lived since her infancj' in the Kimball 
homestead in Lebanon, New Hampshire. She is un- 
married, and has an adopted daughter, Anna Cunn- 
ingham Kimball, born in Lebanon. New Hampshire, 
October 2, 1881. 

(.H) Richard (2), fourth child and second son of 
Richard (i) and Ursula (Scott) Kimball, was born 
at Rattlesden, county of SufTolk, England, about 
1623, and came to America with his father in the 
ship "Elizabeth." He went to Wenham between the 
years 1652 and 1696, and was the first settler of the 
name in that town. He was called a wheelwright 
and yeoman. He was a large landowner, and ap- 
pears to have been the largest taxpayer among the 
early settlers. He was a grand juror of the town 
of Wenham in 1661. He died in 1676. He married 
twice, both of his wives having Mary for the given 
name. It is probable that his second wife was Mary 
Gott. His first wife died September, 1672. He had 
nine children, of whom eight were alive at the time 
of his death, as is shown by an agreement made 
between them and his widow. Their names follow : 
John, Samuel, Thomas, Ephraim, Caleb, Christo- 
pher, Richard and Nathaniel. (Samuel, Thomas and 
Caleb and descendants are mentioned at length in 
this article). 

(HI) John, oldest child of Richard (2) and 
Alary Kimball, was born about 1650 and died about 
1721. He was an inhabitant of Boxford as early 
as 1669. August 24, 1665, Richard Hubbard con- 
firmed to Richard Kimball of Wenham his farm in 
Rowley village (now Boxford). John probably set- 
tled on this land. He was made a freeman March 

22, 1689. By the frequency with which the name 
of "Corporal" Kimball is found upon the early 
records of the town it is evident that he was a man 
of much importance in town affairs. In 1675 he was 
tax collector. In 171 1 his name and those of his sons 
are upon the tax list. He was a member of the 
Church of Topsfield, and was dismissed to the 
Church in Boxford in 1702. His will is on file at 
Salem, Massachusetts, and bears date February 19, 
1718, and was probated April 15, 1721. 

He married (first), Sarah , who died July 

27, 1706; married (second) October 29, 1707, Han- 
nah Burton, daughter of Isaac Burton. She was 
born in 1686, and survived her husband sixty-five 
years, dying October 16, 1786, aged one hundred 
years. Their children were : Sarah, May, Richard, 
Abigail, Elizabeth, Hannah and John. 

(IV) Richard, son of John and Sarah Kimball, 
was born September 28, 1673, and died April 22, 
I7S3- He resided in the southerly part of Boxford, 
Massachusetts, on the place where Major Samuel 
Perley erected a house in 1833. He dealt consider- 



ably in real estate. His will, approved May 7, 1753, 
is on file at Salem, Massachusetts. In the ancient 
burial ground where he and his wife are buried 
there are but fourteen very old and sadly neglected 
stones. (1897). He married February 22, 169S-9, 
Hannah Dorman, daughter of Ephraim Dorman of 
Topsfield, jMassachusetts, born 1682, died March, 
1748. They had nine children: Jacob, born June 9, 
1700, resided at Andover, Massachusetts; died 1787. 
Hannah, born June 30, 1702. married, April 28, 1724, 
John Andrews (3rd). Aaron, born January 17, 
1704-5, died 1732. Amos, born September 8, 1707, 

died January 26, 1788. , born June 11, 1710, 

died December 19, 1785, at Rindge, New Hampshire. 
John, born March 6, 1713, resided in Boxford, Mass- 
achusetts. j\Iary, born October 10, 1715-16. Moses, 
born August 23, 1718, died in Amherst, New Hamp- 
shire. Ephraim, born April 11, 1721, resided m 
Boxford, Massachusetts. 

(V) Amos, third son and fourth child of Richard 
and Hannah (Dorman) Kimball, born in Boxford, 
September 8, 1707, and died January 26, 1788. He 
was a farmer in Boxford. He married (first), 
March i, 1736, Margaret Hale, born February 23, 1712- 
13, and (second), June 23, 1765, Abigail Session. His 
children were: Jesse, born April 15, 1738, died March 
18, 1814; Joanna, born September 24, 1739, died 
young; Jethro, born August 23, 1741, died March 11, 
1828; Enoch, born February 28, 1742-3, died 1816; 
Eli, born July 5. 1/44, died in Swanzey, New Hamp- 
shire; Peggy, born January 7, 1746, died young; 
Lydia, born 1749, died September, 1S35 ; Amos, born 
November 9, 1752, died January 9, 1824; Joseph, 
born February 6, 1754, died October 9, 18I3. 

(VI) Jesse, eldest child of Amos and Margaret 
(Hale) Kimball, was born in Boxford, Massacliu- 
setts, April 26, 1738, and cfied at Manchester, New 
Hampshire. March 18, 1814. He resided in Box- 
ford and Andover, Massachusetts, until 1775, when 
he removed to Chester, New Hampshire. His home 
was on the river road between Martin's Ferry and 
the Derry line. He married at Andover, Massachu- 
setts, May 5, 1763, Susanna Jackson, born in An- 
dover, July 2, 1744, died at INIanchester, New Hamp- 
shire, April 22, 1808. They had twelve children : 
Jeremiah, born at Andover, November 20, 1764, 
died July 18, 1765. Jedediah, born at Andover, May 
25, 1766, died November 5. 1814. John, resided in 
Chester and went to Bangor, Maine. Peggy, born 

in Andover, May 16, 1769, married Gould, 

died in Chester, New Hampshire, July 17, 1794. 
Nathan, born in Andover, JNIarch 29, 1771, went to 
Bangor, Maine. Ruth, born in Andover, May 7, 
1773, died at Manchester, New Hampshire, October, 
1831, single. Ezra, born in Chester, November 14, 
1775, died October, 1831. .A.mos, born in Chester, 
July 26, 1778, died 1854. Stephen, born in Chester, 
January 28, 1781, died July 13, 7852. Phebe, born in 
Chester, September 4, 17S3, died in Chester, Febru- 
ary 27, 1819, married Whittier. Daniel, born in 
Chester, November 23, 1786. Sarah, born in Chester, 

August 13, 1791, married (first), Cheever; 

(second), William Foster, of Argyle, Maine. (Men- 
tion of Amos and descendants appears in this 
article). 

(VTI) Nathan, fourth son of Jesse and Susanna 
(Jackson) Kimball, was born in Andover, Massa- 
chusetts, March 29, 1771. He resided in Chester 
and Manchester, New Hampshire, and Bangor, 
Maine. He married Eunice Hoyt. They had five 
children: Mary, born June II, 1796, married David 
Martin, of Martin's Ferry, Hookselt, New Hamp- 
shire. Eunice, born May 29, 1798. Susan, died 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



aged nineteen years. Lucinda, married Benjamin E. 
Sawyer, and resided in Canada. Stephen, born 
March 7, 1808, died July, 1S89. 

(VIII) Stephen, fifth and youngest child of Na- 
thaniel and Eunice (Hoyt) Kimball, was born in 
Manchester, New Hampshire, }ilarch 7, 1808, and 
died in Auburn, New Hampshire, July, 1889. He 
resided in Hooksett about twenty years, and for the 
last thirty-three years of his life in Auburn. He was 
a farmer by occupation, a Universalist in religious 
belief, and a Republican in politics. He served as 
selectman in Hooksett, and also in Auburn. He 
married, November 26, 1834, Mary Anna Woodbury, 
of Dunbarton, born August 1814, daughter of 
Ebenezer and Susanna (Hoyt) Woodbury, who died 
in Auburn. She was a member of the Methodist 
Church. Their children were : I. Frederick Smith, 
born December 17, 1835, died November 5, 1894. 
2. George .Clark, born April 10, 1840, married three 
times. 3. Emily Ann, born October 18, 1845. 4. 
Eliza Ordway, born August 27, 1850. 

(IX) George Clark Kimball, second sou and 
child of Stephen and Mary Anna (Woodbury) Kim- 
ball, was born -in April 10, 1840. In early life he 
learned the trade of shoemaker and also served on 
a railroad, where he was employed many years. His 
residence is on Hackett Hill, three miles from Hook- 
sett, and commands a tine view of the country. 

(VII) Amos, eighth child and sixth son of Jesse 
and Susanna (Jackson) Kimball, was born in An- 
dover, Massachusetts, July 26, 1778, and died in Man- 
chester, New Hampshire, in 1858. He married, De- 
cember 24, 1801, at Pembroke, Amia Stark, and they 
had 'children : Peter, Bestey, Fanny Stark, Mar- 
garet, Almira Stearns. Reuben, Frederick, Emily, 
Mary Ann and Harriet. 

(VIII) Frederick, seventh child and third son of 
Amos and Anna (Stark) Kimball, died in 1871. He 

married !Martha , and they had one child, 

Emma, who married Hugh K. Ramsey. (See Ram- 
sey). 

(III) Samuel, second son and child of Richard 
(2) and Alary Kimball, was born in Ipswich, about 
1651, and died in Wenhani, October 3, 1716, aged 
sixty-five. He resided in Wenham where he was 
surveyor in 1676, constable in 1677, was made free- 
man !May 24, 1682, and was selectman in the same 
year. He was also an ensign in the militia. On 
March 2, 1701, he and his wife deeded a lot of ten 
acres and a house to their son Samuel. His estate 
was settled by the son Samuel, who took the prop- 
erty and paid off the claims of his brothers and sis- 
ters. Their settlement contains the signatures of 
the husband of the married sisters, and serves to 
identify them. Samuel Kimball married, September 
20, 1676, Mary Witt, daughter of John and Sarah 
Witt, of Lynn, Massachusetts. Their thirteen chil- 
dren, all born in Wenham, were : Samuel, Sarah, 
Martha (died young), Mary, Richard, Jonathan, 
John, Ebenezer, Martha, Thomas, Benjamin, Abi- 
gail and Jerusha. (Mention of Ebenezer and de- 
scendants follows in this article). 

(IV) Jonathan, sixth child and third son of Sam- 
uel and Sarah (Witt) Kimball, born in Wenham, 
Massachusetts, in 1686, died February 19, 1758. He 
removed to Boston about 1708, and probably returned 
to Wenham about 1718. He served on a jury in 
1721, and is then called of Wenham. He was a 
cordwainer by trade, was a captain in the militia 
and town clerk 1751-52. He and his wife united 
with the church, February 27, 1737, and he was 
made a deacon of the first church in Wenham, No- 
vember 26, 1742, holding that office until his death. 
He was married in Boston, July 28, 1729, by Rev. 



Cotton Mather, to Hannah Hopkins, of Boston. 
Their children were : Jonathan, Hannah, Samuel, 
Sarah, !Mary and Abigail. 

(V) Jonathan, eldest child of Jonathan and Han- 
nah (Hopkins) Kimball, was born in Boston, Oc- 
tober 9, 1710, resided in Wenham, and was town 
clerk of that town in 1751-52-55-59-60. He married, 
April 21, 1732, in Ipswich, Martha Ober, of Beverly. 
Their children were: Martha, died young; Mar- 
garet, died young; John, Martha, Isaac, Ezra, Mar- 
garet, Mary, Abigail, died young; and .\bigail. 

(VI) Isaac, second son and fifth child of Jona- 
than and Martha (Ober) Kimball, was born in 
Wenham, January 18, 1742, resided in Wenham and 
Beverly, Alassachusetts, Temple, New Hampshire, 
and Waterford, Maine. He married, November 9, 
1762, .'\bigail Raymond, of Beverly, Massachusetts. 
They were the parents of twelve children : Abigail, 
died young; Isaac, John, David, Mary, Jonathan, 
George, Abigail, Sarah, Hannah, William and Betsey. 
(IMention of John and descendants follows in this 
article). 

(VII) Isaac (2), second child and eldest son of 
Isaac (i) and Abigail (Raymond) Kimball, was 
born in Beverly, June 17, 1765, and died in Temple, 
New Hampshire, June 13, 1804. He went to Temple 
soon after marriage, and there he resided for years. 
He owned a farm in Andover, Vermont, upon which 
he built a barn. While this was in progress of con- 
struction he went into it after dark and fell through 
the floor to the cellar, injuring himself seriously. 
He soon afterwards sold the farm in Vermont, and 
was carried on a litter to Temple, New Hampshire, 
where he died after months of suffering. He mar- 
ried Sally Cutter, who was born June 30, 1767. 
They had eight children : Isaac, Benoni Cutter, 
John B. (died young), Sally, George B., William 
Barber and Simeon Gould. 

(VIII) Benoni Cutter, second son and child of 
Isaac (2) and Sally (Cutter) Kimball, was born in 
Temple, New Hampshire, jNIarch 13, 1791, and died 
there March 29, 1868, aged seventy-seven years. He 
was a house carpenter and resided on the second 
farm in Temple, on the Mason Village road, from 
which he removed to the new house at Mason Vil- 
lage, in which he resided for a time. Afterward he 
built another house there in which he lived until he 
bought a two-third interest in the Dunster home- 
stead, about 1835. He bought the other third at 
the death of the Widow Dunster in 1858. He was 
an influential member of the Congregational (Ortho- 
do.x) Church, and took a prominent part in or- 
ganizing the new church at Mason Village. In all 
enterprises connected with their church, he and his 
wife took an active and leading part. He married, 
December 28, 1815, ]\Iary Dunster, who was born in 
Mason, February 16, 1796, and died May 31, 1864, 
aged sixty-eight. He parents were Jason and Mary 
( Meriamj Dunster. (See Dunster, VI). Fifteen 
children were born of this marriage, as follows : 
Benoni, George, Mary Ann (died young), Eliza 
Ann, Addison (died young), Franklin, Isaac New- 
ton, Samuel Dunster, Frederick, James, Marshall, 
Mary. Ellen Maria, Edward and Abby Jane, 

(IX) Marshall, eleventh child and ninth son of 
Benoni C, and Mary (Dunster) Kimball, was born 
in. Mason Village, October 2, 1832. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools and at Appleton 
Academy, at New Ipswich, and after leaving the 
latter institution he taught school three terms. He 
is a lifelong farmer, and Owns the Dunster home- 
stead. Lot 10, in the eighteenth range. In 1867 he 
built the commodious barn, from the cupola of 
which he fell, striking on the roof and other por- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



tions, till he reached the ground, a distance of forty 
feet. He was seriously injured, and has never fully 
recovered from the lameness succeeding the injury. 
In 1870 he was one of the selectmen of the town, 
and has held other town offices. October 18, 1862, 
he enlisted in Company C, Sixteenth Regiment New 
Hampshire Volunteers, and did duty with his regi- 
ment, principally in Louisiana, until it was mustered 
out at Concord, New Hampshire, August 20, 1863. 
He united with the Mason Village Congregational 
Church, Way 6, 1849, by profession ; and November 
5, 1858, was elected deacon of that church, which 
office he still retains. He was married. Way 15, 1859, 
at the village church, by Rev. George E. Fisher, to 
Louisa Judith Allen, who was born October 7, 
1832, daughter of Oliver and Harriet (Harding) 
Allen, of Wason. She graduated at Appleton Acad- 
emy, and taught school in Wason and other towns 
constantly for ten years, and until her marriage. 
She is a gifted writer, and is the author of the 
"Song of Welcome," sung at the Mason Centennial 
Celebration in 1868. She died November 4, 1900. 
Six children were born of this union : i. Elmer Allen, 
born January 18, 1862; graduated from Dartmouth 
with the class of 1S85 with the degree of Bachelor 
of Arts. He was afterward a successful lawyer in 
Chicago, and is now president of the Ogden Gas 
Company of that city ; he married Ella Howard, 
and they have one child, .^llen Howard, born Jan- 
uary 23, 1899. 2. Mary Lillian, born June 2, 1864; 
married Ernest L. Sawyer, and has six children : 
Bertha Roxana, born July 24, 1887; Ralph Marshall, 
February 18, i88g, died April 26, 1902; Ruth Ernes- 
tine, born December 27, 1890; Ethel May, April 6, 
1895; Catharine Louisa, April 9, 1899; Marguerite 
Ainsley, May 20, 1904. 3. Fred Benoni, born March 
18, 1866; married Wartha A. Russell; they have five 
children : Marion, born April 6, 1891 ; Esther, April 
17, 1893; Hazel, November 25, 1894; Bernice Naomi, 
June 6, 1899; Russell Marshall, December 27, 1905. 
4. Lena Harriet, born November 22, 1870, married 
Charles Thomas Wheeler, of Greenville, and they 
have two children : Doris Wabel, born October 27, 
1896; and Elsie Faye, born April 19, 1901. 5. Flora 
Louisa, born February 8, 1872, resides at home. 6. 
Edward Marshall, born September 13, 1873, married 
May Newby, January 22, 1906. They have one child, 
Marshall, born May 11, 1907. The mother of this 
child died May 31, same year. 

(VH) John, third child and second son of Isaac 
and Abigail (Raymond) Kimball, was born in 
Temple, New Hampshire, March 8, 1767, died in 
Wilton, New Hampshire, December 13, 1853. He 
resided in Temple until 1802, when he went to Wil- 
ton, and bought a farm in the southeast part of the 
town. He was a prosperous farmer and a good citi- 
zen. He married (first), March 8, 1797, Abigail 
Billings, who died Octoljer 31, 1814. He married 
(second), April 11, 1816, Anna Livermore, born 
August 20, 1781, died June 5. 1824, daughter of Rev. 
Jonathan Livermore. Married (third), March 26, 
1829, .^chsah Spaulding, born September 2, 1788, 
died April 27, 1873, daughter of Jonathan and Mary 
(Marshall) Spaulding, of Wilton. His children 
were : John, Anna Hunt, Harriet, Achsah, Daniel 
Raymond. Granville, Augustine, Samuel Livermore, 
Abigail, Jonathan Bowers and Mary. 

(VIII) Anna Hunt, second child and eldest 
daughter of John and Abigail (Billings) Kimball, 
born in Temple, August 4, 1800. died May 16, 1864. 
§hc resided in Wilton, was a school teacher in early 
life, and was noted for her kindness to the poor 
and unfortunate. She married. May 29, 1823, Moses 
Spaulding. (See Spaulding, VII). 



(IV) Ebenezer, eight child and fifth son of 
Samuel and Wary (Witt) Kimball, was born in 
Wenham, about 1690, and died in Hopkinton, Mass- 
achusetts, in 1769, aged seventy-nine. He resided 
in Wenham and Beverly, and was a yeoman and a 
mason. In 1740 he moved to Hopkinton, Massachu- 
setts, and bought property and resided there the 
remainder of his life. His will, probated in 1773, 
is on file in Cambridge, Massachusetts. He married, 
June 9, 1712, Elizabeth, daughter of Richard Carr, 
of Salisbury, Massachusetts. They had nine chil- 
dren : Elizabeth, Jilary, Dorothy, Ebenezer, Richard, 
Abigail, Sarah, Anna and Boice. 

(V) Richard (3), fifth child and second son of 
Ebenezer and Elizabeth (Carr) Kimball, was born 
in Wenham, December 20, 1722, and died in Newton, 
Massachusetts, Warch 2, 1803, aged eighty-one. He 
went from Wenham with his father to Hopkinton, 
Massachusetts, wdiere he lived till about 1764. March 
5 of that year he bought a house and lot in Natick, 
Massachusetts, and resided there till 1790, when he 
bought land in Newton, and removed to that place, 
where he spent the remaining thirteen years, of his 
life. His wife's forename was Sarah. Their eleven 
children were : Sarah, Abigail, Wary, Elizabeth, 
John (died young), Thomas, Sibilla, Richard, Eben- 
ezer, John and Edmund. 

(VI) Richard (4), eighth child and third son 
of Richard (3) and Sarah Kimball, was born in 
Hopkinton, Wassachusetts, April 17, 1773, and died 
in Rindge, New Hampshire, November I3> 184S. 
aged seventy-two. He removed to Rindge, New 
Hampshire, in 1807, and bought one hundred acres 
of land about one-half mile west of the village of 
West Rindge, and was a farmer and the first manu- 
facturer of clothes pins in the town. These latter 
he made with a knife and a hand saw. He whittled 
them into a desired form, and made the wedge- 
shaped opening with a handsaw. He sold them dur- 
ing his accustomed travels through Rindge and the 
adjoining towns in quest of customers. He was an 
ardent Methodist, and was licensed to preach. He 
married Lydia jNIcIntyre, in Boston, Massachusetts, 
April 16, 1793. Their children were: Sibilla, Rich- 
ard, Sally (died young), Samuel M., Ebenezer, Dew- 
ing, Sarah. Lydia, James W., Mary, Tryphena, Try- 
phosa and Elijah S. 

(VII) Samuel Mclntyre, fourth child and second 
son of Richard (4) and Lydia (iNIcIntyre) Kimball, 
was born in Natick, Massachusetts, March 28, iSor, 
and died in Rindge, 1882. He was educated in the 
common schools and grew up on his father's farm. 
In 1839 he bought one hundred acres of land near 
the village of West Rindge, and there engaged in 
farming and also carried on the business of wheel- 
wright until the time of his death. He was a Re- 
publican in political sentiment, and for more than 
twenty successive years was elected sealer of weights 
and measures. He was a Methodist, and for many 
years steward and trustee of the JMethodist Church. 
He married' Melinda Peirce, who was bona in 
Rindge, May 3, 1803. daughter of Elipha and Phebe 
(Streeter) Peirce, of Rindge. Their children were: 
Samuel D., Elipha S., Mary M., Susan H., Charles 
D., George E., S^ Warren, Harriet E. and Martha 
Jane. Samuel D. died young; Elipha S., born July 
13, 1823, was a manufacturer of woodenware, and re- 
sided in West Rindge. Mary M., born .\ugust 13, 
1826, married, August 13, 1846, Edmund Bemis, of 
Troy, New Hampshire, and resided in Rindge. 
Susan H.. born October 12, 1829, married Elijah 
Bemis, of Rindge. Charles D., born June 4, 1832, 
resided in Rindge. George E., born June 20, 1833. 
resides in \\'est Rindge, New Hampshire. Samuel 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



W. is the subject of the next paragraph. Harriet E., 
born February 21, 1843, married, December 23, 1861, 
Ambrose Butler. Martha Jane, born April 17, 1844, 
died February 21, 1864. 

(VIII) S. Warren, seventh child and fifth son 
of Samuel M. and Melinda (Peirce) Kimball, was 
born in Rindge, December 31, 1835. He was edu- 
cated in the common schools of Rindge, and was 
variously employed until 1864, when he began the' 
manufacture of woodenware, such as butter prints, 
mauls, rolling pins, etc., on a small scale. By atten- 
tion to business and by turning out good work he 
built up a good trade, to supply which required the 
assistance of two or three hands. He was engaged 
in manufacturing until 1902, when he retired. He 
is a Republican, and has been a member of the board 
of selectmen and filled minor town offices. He has 
been a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
for fifty-four years, and has been steward twenty 
years, and class leader twelve years. He is a mem- 
ber of Mary L. Weare Grange, No. 192, Patrons of 
Husbandry, of which he has been chaplain and 
master. He married (first), October 2, 1855, in 
Keene, New Hanipshire, Emilie F. Davis, who was 
born in Ashburnham, Massachusetts, September 15, 
1835, 3nd died in Rindge, September 17, 1S74, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Hannah (Lawrence) Davis, of 
Ashburnham. He married (second), October 13, 
1875, Lucia O. Austin, of Gardner, Massachusetts, 
who was born in Gardner, Massachusetts, December 
13, 1849, daughter of William and Lucy (Richard- 
son) Austin, of Gardner. They have an adopted 
daughter, Annie B., who married Elwin Jewell, and 
resides in Rindge. 

(III) Thomas, third son of Richard (2) and 
Mary Kimball, was born November 12, 1657, and 
died October 16, 1732, near the close of his seventy- 
fifth year. His wife, Elizabeth Potter, died Decem- 
ber 4. 1823. They had several children. 

(IV) Daniel, son of Thomas and Elizabeth (Pot- 
ter) Kimball, was born 1684, and died December 17, 
1754, aged seventy j'ears. His wife, Esther Foster, 
died June 12, 1753. 

(V) Thomas (2), son of Daniel and Esther 
(Foster) Kimball, was born July 29, 1716, and died 
December S, 1767, in his fifty-second year. He was 
married March 3, 1743, to Penelope Johnson of 
Andover, Massachusetts, and their children were: 
Phebe. John, Rebecca and Thomas. 

(VI) Thomas (3), youngest child of Thomas 
(2) and Penelope (Johnson) Kimball, was born 
July 17, 1753, and was a soldier of the Revolution, 
serving in Captain Samuel Johnson's company in 
1776. He died October 20, 1825. He was married 
March 6, 1781, to Olive Lovejoy, who was born 1754. 
and died January 28, 1842, in her eighty-eighth year. 
Their children were: Olive (died young), John, 
Sally, Rebecca, Thomas, Olive, Betsey, Phebe and 
Susan. 

(VII) Olive, fourth daughter and seventh child 
of Thomas (3) and Olive (Lovejoy) Kimball, 
was born INIarch 15, 1794. and became the wife of 
David Cross, (see Cross, V). 

(HI) Caleb, fifth son and child of Richard (2) 
and Mary Kimball, was born in Wenham, Massa- 
chusetts, April 9, 1665. He was a mason by trade. 
He bought land in Exeter, New Hampshire, as early 
as 1720, and resided there for a time, then returned 
to Wenham. He sold his farm to his son Abraham, 
on condition that he should pay the other children 
their shares. (Mention of Abraham and descend- 
ants follow in this article). His wife's name was 
Sarah. She died February 20, 1731-2, and he died 
in Wenhaiii, January 25, 1725-6. 



(IV) John, third child and second son of Caleb 
and Sarah Kimball, was born December 20, 1699, 
in the town of Wenham. He was a carpenter by 
trade, and resided on land in E.xeter, New Hamp- 
shire, that he obbtained from his father. He also 
owned land in Kensington and Chester, New Hamp- 
shire. He married (first), February 14, 1722-3, 
Abigail Lyford, who died February 12, 1737-8. He 
married (second), September 18, 1740, Sarah, daugh- 
ter of Deacon Thomas and Mary L. Wilson. She 
was born November 23, 1709. He died in Exeter, 
1785. He was the father of fifteen children. 

(V) Joseph, fourth child and second son of 
John and Abigail (Lyford) Kimball, was born in 
Exeter, New Hampshire, January 29, 1730-1. His 
first wife, according to tradition, was Olive Wilson. 
He married for his second wife, in 1762, Sarah 
Snu'lh. born 1740. They resided in Exeter, and in 
1788 removed to Canterbury, New Hampshire. He 
became blind before leaving Exeter, and never saw 
the town of Canterbury, in which he resided for 
twenty-six years. He and his wife died in Canter- 
bury, November 6, 1814, and March l, 1858, respec- 
tively, and are buried in the cemetery near Hackle- 
borough, where a monument has been erected to 
their memory. 

(VI) John, eldest son and third child of Joseph 
and Sarah (Smith) Kimball, was born in Exeter, 
New Hampshire, November 20, 1767. He married, 
November 21, 1793, Sarah Moulton, daughter of 
Benjamin Moulton, of Kensington, New Hampshire. 
She died April 30, 1853. They moved from Exeter, 
to Canterbury, New Hampshire, February 17, 1794, 
and settled on the farm owned by his father, just 
north of the Shaker village, where he lived for 
sixty-seven years. He was "a farmer, wheelwright, 
and hay-rake manufacturer, and did a large business 
through central New Hampshire, buying wool. He 
died in Canterbury, February 26, 1861. 

(VII) Benjamin, eldest child and son of John 
and Sarah (Moulton) Kimball, was born in Canter- 
bury, New Hampshire, December 27, 1794. He 
married, February i, 1820, Ruth Ames, daughter of 
David and Phebe (Hoit) Ames, of Canterbury, New 
Hanipshire. After living two years with his father 
on his farm, he resided two years on a farm in 
Northfield. He moved to Boscawen, New Hamp- 
shire, in the spring of 1824; and purchased the 
farm on High street, then known as the Frost place. 
In 1830 he purchased of Hon. Jeremiah Mason, of 
Portsmouth, attorney for the United States Bank, 
its land and water power at the south part of the 
town (now Penacook). He removed there and re- 
sided in the house he had bought, situated next 
east of the hotel. He was an active and influential 
business man. In 1831 he built the lower dam across 
the Contoocook river, and erected and put in oper- 
ation the brick grist and flouring mill now in use. 
This was the first improvement of the water power 
at the upper falls, now the centre of the growing 
village of Penacook. In company with his cousin, 
William JNIoody Kimball, he carried on an exten- 
sive lumber trade. In March preceding his death 
he was elected to represent the town in the legis- 
lature, but his health did not permit him to take 
his seat. He died at Penacook, July 21, 1834. His 
wife died October 22. 1874, at the residence of her 
son John, with whom she had lived as a widow 
forty years. Mr. and Mrs. Kimball were the parents 
of five children: i. John, born April 13, 1821. 2. 
Elizabeth Jane, born April 12, 1825. She was 
drowned in the pond near the carding mill of Ca^i- 
tain Samuel M. Durgin, in Boscawen, September 20, 
1S40. 3. Joseph Ames, born October 8, 1826, died 





'i/n^MUiicLc 




tatl^aully' 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



February 20, 1827. 4. Lucy Ann, born August 28, 
1829, died August 25, 1832. 5. Benjamin Ames, born 
August 22, 1833. 

(.Vlll) Hon. John Kimball, eldest child of Ben- 
jamin and Ruth Ann Kimball, was born April 13, 
1821, in the town of Canterbury, New Hampshire. 
At the age of three years, in 1824, he went with his 
father to the town of Boscawen, and at the age of 
seventeen he was apprenticed to his cousin, William 
IMoody, to learn the trade of millwright. In 1848 
he took charge of the new machine and car shop 
of the Concord railroad at Concord, New Hamp- 
shire, and in 1850 was made master mechanic, a 
position he held for eight years. He became ac- 
tively identified with various important interests, 
and has been for many years treasurer of the INIer- 
rimaclc County Savings Bank, and a director of 
the Alechanics' National Bank at Concord; presi- 
dent and treasurer of the Concord Gas Light Com- 
pany, to which he was elected in 1880; and is a 
director in the Concord Republican Press Associa- 
tion. He has ever been deeply interested in chari- 
table and religious institutions, and has been active 
in his aid to the New Hampshire Odd Fellows' 
Home and the Centennial Home for the Aged, of 
both of which he is president, and the New Hamp- 
shire Orphans' Home and the New Hampshire Bible 
Society, of both of which he is treasurer. He be- 
came a member of the South Congregational Church 
of Concord by letter, June 28, 1849, and was one of 
the committee of nine that built the present house 
of worship of that society. For thirteen years he 
was a deacon of the church. 

Mr. Kimball has been conspicuously useful in 
the public service both at home and in the state at 
large, and the city in which he resides owes much of 
its advancement to his wise and long continued 
effort. In 1856 he was elected to the common coun- 
cil of the city of Concord, and when he .was re- 
elected in the following year he was chosen to the 
presidency. From 1859 to 1862 he served as city 
marshall and collector of taxes. He was elected 
to the mayoralty in 1872, and the efficiency of his 
administration finds evidence in his re-election to 
three consecutive terms following. During this 
period the system of water supply from Long Pond was 
successfuly completed under his immediate direc- 
tion as president of the board of water commis- 
sioners. During his administration as mayor one 
wooden and two iron bridges were built across the 
river within the city limits, and the fire department 
was provided with new buildings and apparatus. 

In 1S58 Mr. Kimball was elected to the house of 
representatives of the state of New Hampshire, and 
again in 1859. In 1S62 President Lincoln appointed 
him collector of internal revenue for the Second 
District of New Hampshire. This highly important 
position he held for a period of seven years, during 
which time he collected and paid over to the treas- 
urer of the United States the sum of nearly seven 
millions of dollars, and keeping so accurately the com- 
plicated accounts indispensable to this immense busi- 
ness that their final auditing at his retirement was 
promptly accomplished and without inaccuracy to 
the amount of a dollar. In 1876 Mr. Kimball was 
elected to the convention for the revision of the state 
constitution, and he bore an active part in the de- 
liberations of that body, and aided in formulating 
some of the most important provisions in the new 
organic instrument. In 1877 he was appointed by 
the governor one of the three commissioners to 
whom was committed the erection of the new state 
prison. In 1880 he was appointed by the supreme 
court of the state one of the three trustees of the 



Manchester & Keene railroad. In November of 
the same year he was elected to the state senate, 
and at the beginning of its session received the high 
honor of being elected president of that body. 

Mr. Kimball was an original Republican, aiding 
in the formation of the party in 1856, under the first 
standard bearer, John C. Fremont, and from that 
time to the present has been one of the most stead- 
fast of its supporters. He has frequently sat in the 
state and other conventions of the party, and has 
enjoyed the intimate friendship and confidence of 
many of the most eminent statesmen of his day, 
and particularly during the Civil war period, when 
he rendered all possible aid, by effort and means, 
to the administration of President Lincoln in its 
gigantic struggle for the preservation of the Union. 
Of cultured mind and reflective habits of thought, 
Mr. Kimball is deeply informed in general afifairs 
and in literature, with a particular mclination to- 
ward historical and genealogical research, and his 
attainments found recognition at the hands of Dart- 
mouth College, which in 1882 conferred upon him 
the degree of INIastor of Arts. Entirely regular 
habits of life and total abstinence from stimulating 
beverages and drugs (through conviction of con- 
science as well as for other reasons) have preserved 
to him excellent physical powers, and his form is 
tall and erect, and his presence commanding. While 
firm and decided in his views, he is ever genial and 
courteous, and his wealth of information and fine 
conversational powers make him a welcome ad- 
dition to the most polished circle in his state. His 
residence has long been in Concord. 

Mr. Kimball was first married- May 27, 1846, to 
Maria Phillips, daughter of Elam Phillips, of Ru- 
pert, Vermont. She died December 22, 1894. Of 
this union there was born one child, Clara Maria. 
Mr. Kimball married (second), October 15, 1895, 
Charlotte Atkinson, of Nashua, New Hampshire. 

(IX) Clara Maria, daughter and only child of 
Hon. John and Maria (Phillips) Kimball, wa» 
born in Lawrence, Massachusetts, Iilarch 20, 1848. 
She married, June 4, 1873, Augustine R. Ayers, who 
was for many years a merchant in the city of Con- 
cord, and is now a resident of that city. 

(X) The children of Augustine R. and Clara 
Maria (Kimball) Ayers are: Ruth Ames Ayers, 
born March 11, 1875; John Kimball Ayers, born 
July 9, 1876; Helen SicGregor Ayers, born October 
26, 187S; Joseph Sherburne Ayers, born January 
17, 1880, died February 7, i88o; Josiah Phillips 
Ayers, born November 15, 1881, died April 27, 1S82 ; 
Augustus Haines Ayers, born March i, 1883; Ben- 
jamin Kimball Ayers, born March 28, 1888. 

(VIII) Benjannn Ames, youngest son of Ben- 
jamin and Ruth (Ames) Kimball, was born in Bos- 
cawen, August 22, 1833. His father died in the 
autumn of 1834. and when the subject of this sketch 
was sixteen years of age his widowed mother, whose 
memory is precious to her children, established a 
home with her oldest son, Hon. John Kimball, at 
Concord. In youth and in manhood Mr. Kimball 
has lived and labored in the capital city of his native 
state. He was prepared for college in the Concord 
high school, supplemented by a course of study at 
the'Hildreth preparatory school at Derry. He was 
graduated from Dartmouth College, Chandler Scien- 
tific Department, with the highest honors in the class 
of 1854, receiving the degree of Bachelor of Science. 
Immediately afterward he entered the service of 
the Concord railroad as a draftsman in the mechan- 
ical department, where his industry and ability won 
for him an ear^)' promotion, for two years later, in 
a generous expression of confidence and approval on 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



the part of the corporation, he was appointed super- 
intendent of the locomotive department. In this 
employment the dreams of the youth were realized, 
and the drawings and mechanical studies of the 
former student were tested and matured in the cul- 
ture and experience of manhood. The well-remem- 
bered locomotive "Tahanto" and others were con- 
structed from the drawings of Mr. Kimball, revised 
in the more practical school of experience. These 
years of discipline, vivid and gratifying jn the 
memory of the subject of this sketch, constituted the 
superior school of preparation for future and graver 
responsibilities. 

At the completion of eleven years, Mr. Kimball 
resigned his position as master mechanic of the 
Concord railroad, and for several years was actively 
and successfully engaged in private business, but no 
other calling could permanently separate him from a 
predestinated career in the world of railroads. In 
the ambition of his youth and in his first employ- 
ment 'in the mechanical department in rail- 
road work, his future was clearly outlined and fore- 
told. The story of his ready comprehension of and 
of his firm grasp in railway affairs in later years, 
was the natural sequence of his first employment 
and of his lively and constant ambition and his suc- 
cess was early assured. If in later years and in a 
broader field he has borne graver responsibilities, 
and if the sword of his resources has been often 
tempered in the heat of fiercer conflict, he has 
fought his way with the same qualities of courage 
and intelligence which attended him in early man- 
hood. Mr. Kimball was recalled to the railway 
service when in i'873 'le was elected a director of the 
Manchester & Nortli Weare railroad. In January, 
1879, he was chosen a director of the Concord rail- 
road, succeeding ex-Governor Onslow Stearns, who 
died in December, 1878. He has since been elected 
annually to the board of the Concord, and its suc- 
cessor, the Concord & Montreal railroad, to the 
present time, and he has been president of the 
corporation since 1895. He is a director and presi- 
dent of nearly all the leased roads connected with 
the Concord "& Montreal railroad system, which is 
now leased to the Boston & Maine railroad, includ- 
ing its electric branches. 

In the progressive and liberal policy of the Con- 
cord, and later the Concord & Montreal railroad, in 
the construction and control of contributory roads, 
in the substantial ^character and attractive architec- 
ture of the depots and the equipment of the system, 
in the memorable controversies with rival corpora- 
tions, Mr. Kimball has been sagacious in council and 
efficient in action. He originated many and has ably 
supported all of the comprehensive measures which 
developed and expanded the Concord & Montreal 
system, and which made it a potent factor in the 
growth and prosperity of New Hampshire. At all 
times he has given a willing and efficient support to 
the enlargement of the system and to the construc- 
tion and management of the connecting and sub- 
sidiary roads. To him the people of the state and 
the summer tourists are forever indebted for his 
foresight and loyal attitude in the vexatious and pro- 
longed litigation, in the interest of the public, for the 
control of the summit of Mt. Washington. 

In association with the managers of the railroads 
of New Hampshire and Massachusetts. Mr. Kimball 
clearly comprehended the increasing volume of 
traffic over the trunk lines from the west to tide 
water, and the necessity of a more systematic and 
economical management of the connecting roads. 
From the beginning of the discussion he has been 
an intelligent and consistent supporter of the con- 



solidation of the connecting systems. In advance of 
many of his associates and until other events ren- 
dered the plan impossible, he was an intelligent and 
earnest advocate of a Merrimack Valley system, 
combining the roads from Canada, through Concord, 
Nashua and Lowell to Boston. In the leases of the 
subsidiary roads and in the union of the Concord, 
and the Boston, Concord & Montreal roads, this 
plan was practically consummated. The transition 
from the support of the proposed Merrimack Valley 
system to an approval of the lease of the Concord & 
-Montreal to the Boston & Maine was only an en- 
largement of an original plan, and was firmly sup- 
ported by Mr. Kimball. In the consummation of 
the lease he labored successfully to preserve the in- 
tegrity of the subsidiary corporations, tlie property 
rights of stockholders and the larger interests of the 
public. In consequence of several measures by him 
proposed and successfully advocated, the union of 
the separate interests is harmonious, the state is the 
recipient of an increased revenue, and the public en- 
joys the benefit of lower rates of fares and freight. 
In 1865, at the time of his temporary retirement 
from railroad business, he became an active partner 
of the firm of Ford & Kimball, manufacturers of 
brass and iron castings. To a prosperous industry 
he added the manufacture of car wheels which for 
the past forty years has been an important feature 
of the business of the firm. He was one of the 
founders and is a director and president of the Cush- 
man Electric Company, and is a director or president 
of several other successful manufacturing corpora- 
tions. 

In the monetary institutions of Concord his abil- 
ity has been recognized and his service has often 
been sought. During the life of the institution he 
was a trustee and president of the Concord Savings 
Bank, and he was also a trustee of the Merrimack 
County Savings Bank. At the organization of the 
MeChanicks National Bank he was elected a director 
and vice-president, and he has been president of this 
institution since 1884, succeeding the Hon. Josiali 
Minot. In the securing of a new city library build- 
ing under the liberal donation of William P. and 
Clara M. Fowler, in the perfected project and in the 
construction of the city waterworks, and in the lo- 
cation and spacious surroundings of the postoffice 
and state library buildings, Mr. Kimball has ren- 
dered enduring and valuable service to the city of 
Concord. Immediately succeeding the passage of 
the valued policy insurance law in T885, the foreign 
companies withdrew from this state, leaving- property 
owners an inadequate protection from loss by fire. 
It was a season of unusual solicitude. Mr. Kimball 
was one of the resolute and self-reliant men who 
came to the rescue by joining in the organization of 
new companies to succeed the ones which refused to 
renew expirinpr policies. He was one of the in- 
corporators and a director of the Manufacturers 
and Merchants Mutual Fire Insurance Company. In 
any review of the unusual insurance problems of 
twenty years ago. the prompt action and the com- 
prehensive plans of Mr. Kimball and his associates 
will merit attention and commendation. 

From early manhood Mr. Kimball has been allied 
with the Republican party, and he has been an in- 
fluential factor in the conventions and councils of 
the organization. He has never sought political 
preferment. If he has had any ambition to partici- 
pate in governmental affairs, it has been restrained 
by the accumulating demands of an active business 
career, and he has declined many complimentary 
overtures of his friends and political associates. In 
1870 he was a representative in the state legislature 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



and a delegate to the "constitutional conventions of 
1876, 1889 and 1896. and was an alternate delegate to 
the Republican national convention of 1S80 and a 
delegate at large in 1892. At the state election in 
1884 he was elected to the executive council, and 
served with distinction during the administration of 
Governor Currier. He was an agent, representing 
the council, to designate and prepare the site of the 
statute of Daniel Webster in the state house yard. 
In the autumn of 1886 Governor Currier appointed 
Mr. Kimball a commissioner to represent New 
Hampshire in a convention of commissioners from 
the states which assembled at Philadelphia, Decem- 
ber 2, 18S6. At this time the commissioners outlined 
and subsequently conducted the historic and mem- 
orable ceremonies of the commemoration of the one 
hundreth anniversary of the promulgation of the 
constitution of the United States. In accordance 
with the arrangements determined at the first meet- 
ing of the commissioners, the demonstration oc- 
curred at Philadelphia on September i^, 16 and 17, 
1887. 

In 1889 he was appointed one of a commission of 
five to mature plans accompanied with recommenda- 
tions for the erection of a state library building. 
His associates in this commission were : John W. 
Sanborn, Charles H. Burns. Irving W. Drew and 
Charles J. Amidon. The recommendations of the 
commission were adopted by the legislature, and 
were incorporated without amendment in an act 
providing for the immediate construction of the 
edifice, which was completed in the autumn of 1894. 
In all of its appointments the structure is an endur- 
ing testimonial of the ability and good judgment of 
the commission, and of their appreciation of the 
present and future needs of the people of the state. 

From 1S90 to 1895, succeeding Charles Francis 
Choate and associated with Jeremiah Smith, Mr. 
Kimball was one of the hoard of visitors of the 
Chandler Scientific School of Dartmouth, College, 
and since 1S95 he has been a trustee of the college. 
He is regarded by his associates as an able and 
useful member of the board, and in the financial af- 
fairs of the corporation and in the construction of 
new buildings his experience has been of value 
and the ripeness of his judgment has been approved. 
Mr, Kimball was among the first of the alumni of 
the Chandler Scientific School to realize the im- 
portance of its complete consolidation with the col- 
lege-proper, and took a most active and influential 
part in the negotiations that finally resulted in the 
accomplishment of that object. ■■ He is a member of 
and a trustee of the Alpha Omega Chapter of the 
Beta Theta Pi of Dartmouth College; for the past 
four years he has been chairman of the finance com- 
mittee of the board of trustees of Dartmouth Col- 
lege, a position in which his well-known pliility and 
love of his alma mater find a useful field. Since 
1890 he has been a member of the American Social 
Science Association, and for manv years an active 
member of the New Hampshire Historical Society 
and president of the society 1895-1897. .At the pres- 
ent time Air. Kimball is interested in the project of 
a new and modern building, for the latter, and in the 
possible find happy rea'ization of his ideals this 
society will enjoy a home of ample dimensions and 
ornate architecture. 

.At a meeting of the New Hampshire Historical 
Society held June 29, 1907, Beniamin .A. Kimball, 
Samuel C. Eastman and Henry W. Stevens, of Con- 
cord ; Frank N. Parsons, of Franklin, and Frank W. 
Hackett, of Portsmouth. New Hampshire, were ap- 
pointed a building committee witli full authority to 



procure a suitable lot and erect a new building for 
the Society. 

Mr. Kimball, chairman of the committee, has 
from time to time during the past three years, con- 
ferred with prominent members of the society rela- 
tive to the growth and needs of the Society, and the 
absolute necessity of a new and commodious fire- 
proof building for its use. They believe 
that it should be of classical Greek architecture, and 
should meet all the requirements of the Society. 
Mr. Kimball has procured from Mr. Guy Lowell, a 
prominent architect of Boston, several studies of the 
proposed building, which have been approved. A 
commanding location has been selected among the 
notable group of public buildings at the capital of 
the state. 

In his relations to the public. Mr. Kimball is con- 
scientious in the discharge of his duties, and is gen- 
erous in a willing support of every commendable 
institution or enterprise. He has ever maintained 
personal and friendly relations with his associates 
and with men in his employ. His friendly greetings, 
his words of kindness and sympathy and often his 
substantial favors in times of need are secretly 
treasured in the memory of many who have been 
employed by the corporations with which he is con- 
nected. In the lives of men and the growth of a 
state, the parallels of development run close and 
far. The history of New Hampshire is mirrored in 
the biographies of the men who have shaped events 
and have given direction to public and business af- 
fairs. In the early childhood of Mr. Kimball the 
people of the inland towns were not far removed 
from many features of pioneer life. Labor was the 
common inheritance of all. The first mile of rail- 
road in this state had not been constructed, and the 
conveniences of life, compared with the present, 
were few and limited. From such conditions the 
state has advanced, and under such conditions the 
life work of ^Ir. Kimball was begun. His success 
is the merited reward of industry, ability and in- 
tegrity. Possessing a vigorous mind, disciplined by 
a liberal education and strengthened by a ripe ex- 
perience, he has ever been an active and an able 
promoter of the best interests of the city of Con- 
cord and a potent factor in the development of the 
material interests of the state. Mr. Kimball has 
taken many trips to Europe, has a large, well se- 
lected and very valuable private library and a choice 
collection of costly paintings and statuary. His at- 
tractively located residence and grounds have been 
embellished under his personal supervision and his 
home is one of the most noted in the Granite State. 
The summer residence of the famil)' is a baronial 
structure, kno'wn as "The Broads," on the shore of 
Lake Winnipesaukee. Mr. Kimball is a lodge and 
encampment member of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows and is a member of the South Congre- 
gational Society of Concord. 

Mr. Kimball was married, at Canterbury, Jan- 
uary 9, iS6r, to Miss Myra Tilton Elliott, a daughter 
of ira Elliott, of Northfield. In his domestic rela- 
tions he is very fortunate and in the happiness of 
his home he receives much needed rest from the 
cares and burdens of his busy life. They have one 
son, Henry .Ames Kimball, born in Concord, Octo- 
ber 19, 1864. He was a delicate boy, and was not 
sent to the public schools. His early education, 
under the direction of a tutor, was secured in the 
light and love of home. Later he pursued a prepara- 
tory course of study at Phillips .Andover Academy, 
then imder the direction of Rev. Cecil F. P. Ban- 
croft, LL. D. Relinquishing a collegiate education. 



lO 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



he renewed his study under the instruction of an 
accomplished tutor with whom he studied and trav- 
eled in Europe, visiting many places of historic in- 
terest in England and on the Continent. While in 
London in 1887 he was admitted, on examination, a 
fellow of the Society of Science, Letters and Art. 
Returning to his home in Concord, he addressed 
himself to the more exacting concerns of a business 
career. He is and for several years has been a 
partner and associate manager of the firm of Ford & 
Kimball, and of the Cushman Electric Company. 
He is a member and now recording secretary of the 
New Hampshire Historical Society, and for many 
years he has been an interested and active member 
of the Young Men's Christian Association. He was 
married at Nashua, November 17, 1904. to Miss 
Charlotte Atkinson Goodale, born at Nashua, May 
26, 1875, and daughter of John Harrison and Jose- 
phine Bonaparte (Atkinson) Goodale, She is a 
graduate of the Nashua high school and of Welles- 
ley College, class of iSgS. Mr. Goodale, her father, 
was secretary of state, and was prominent and 
esteemed in the literary and political circles of his 
time. 

(IV) Abraham, third son and fourth child of 
Caleb and Sarah Kimball, was born in Wenham, 
Massachusetts, August 19, 1702, and died in 1772, 
aged seventy years, in Wenham, where his whole 
life had been spent. He united with the church Jan- 
uary 13, 1730. His intentions of marriage with 
Elizabeth Houlton were published April 26. 1729. 
She survived him. Their children were : Caleb, 
Sarah, Elizabeth, Keziah. Ebenezer, Mehitable, Ben- 
jamin, Abigail, Hannah, Henry and Anna. 

(V) Benianiin. seventh child and third son of 
Abraham and Elizabeth (Houlton) Kimball, was 
born in Wenham, January 5, 1745, and died in Hills- 
boro, New Hampshire, June 4, 1813. He resided in 
Wenham and Topsfield, Massachusetts, and went to 
Hillsborough. New Hampshire, in 1776. He mar- 
ried at Topsfield, Massachusetts, July 7. 1768. Han- 
nah Parker, who was born in Bradford, Massachu- 
setts, and died in Hillsborough, August 21, 1825. 
They had thirteen children : Abraham. Hannah, 
Mehitable, Sarah, Samuel, Benjamin, child died 
young, Keziah. Betsey, Retire P., Henry, Abigail 
and an infant that died young. 

(VI) Mehitable. second daughter and third 
child of Benjamin and Hannah (Parker) Kimball, 
was born in Topsfield, Massachusetts, October xo, 
1773. and married Fisher Gay, of Hillsborough, New 
Hampshire. (See Gay, H). 

(H) Benjamin, tenth child and fifth son of 
Richard Kimball, born in 1637, about the time his 
father moved from Watertown to Ipswich, Mass- 
achusetts, died June 11, 1695. He was probably a 
resident of Exeter, New Hampshire, in 1659, a car- 
penter by trade. He removed to Salisbury, Mass- 
achusetts, in or before 1662. and was a resident of 
Rowley, Massachusetts, May 12, 1663, when he 
bough.t land w^hich is within the limits of the present 
town of Bradford, then a part of Rowley, On Feb- 
ruary 20, 1668, at the first town meeting in Merri- 
mack, afterwards Bradford, he was chosen overseer 
of the town. He was called of that town March 16, 
1670, and March 15, 1674. On November 23, 1667, 
he bought several tracts of land ; among them was 
land which once belonged to his brother, Thomas 
Kimball, who was killed by an Indian May 3, 1676. 
He was a wdieeUvright and farmer, and his house 
was in the west parish of old Bradford, not far 
from the ancient cemetery. He was a cornet of 
house troops and was known as "Cornet Kimball." 
He and his brother Richard Kimball were soldiers 



in 1683 and 1684, under Captain Appleton. His in- 
ventory showed that he was well ofl for the times, 
the total amount of his estate being one thousand 
and sixty pounds, seven shillings. Among the as- 
sets was a quarter interest in a saw mill in Haver- 
hill, near the Amesbury line, which he bought of 
Matthew Harriman. This interest was handed down 
in the family for several generations. The grave- 
stones of Benjamin and Mercy Kimball may still be 
seen in the cemetery at Bradford. Benjamin Kim- 
ball married, April, 1661, in Salisbury, Mercy, daugh- 
ter of Robert and Ann Hazeltine. born "16, 8 mo, 
1642," and died January 5, 1708. She \vas one of 
the first members received into the first church in 
Bradford, when she with sixteen other women were 
admitted January 7, 1683. The children of Benja- 
min and Mercy (Hazeltine) Kimball were: Anna; 
Mercy; Richard; Elizabeth; David; Jonathan; 
Robert ; Abraham ; Samuel ; Ebenezer ; and Abigail. 
(David, Jonathan, Robert, Samuel, and Ebenezer 
and descendants are noted at length in this article). 

(III) Richard, oldest son and third child of 
Benjamin and Mercy (Hazeltine) Kimball, born 
December 30, 1665, died January 10, 171 1, lived in 
Bradford, and was prominent in town affairs, being 
town clerk for many years. In the division of his 
father's estate he received one quarter of his interest 
in the saw mill in Haverhill, also land and meadows 
in that place and in Amesbury. He married, Sep- 
tember 6, 1692, Mehitable Day, born January 26, 
1669, daughter of John and Sarah (Pengry) Day. 
After Richard Kimball died she married her cousin 
Richard, the son of Thomas, and survived him. She 
was the wife of two Richard Kimballs, and had a 
son and stepson Richard Kimball. The seven chil- 
dren of Richard and Mehitable were : Sarah, Ben- 
jamin, Abraham, Abigail. Job, Stephen and Richard. 

(IV) Benjamin (2), oldest son and second child 
of Richard and Mehitable (Day) Kimball, was born 
in Bradford, July 11, 1695, and died in 1752. He 
married in Haverhill, February 17, 1719, Priscilla 
Hazen, a woman of great strength of character and 
ability. She was a daughter of Richard and a 
granddaughter of Edward Hazen, who settled in 
Rawlcy as early as 1648, Her mother was Hannah, 
daughter of Robert Andrews, the emigrant ancestor 
of Governor Andrews, of Massachusetts. She mar- 
ried a Peabody for her first husband, and Richard 
Hazen for her second. Priscilla Hazen was born in 
Haverhill, November 25, 1698, and died November, 
1782. After Benjamin's death his widow married, 
February 26, 1756, Captain Daniel Ames. The chil- 
dren of Benjamin and Priscilla (Hazen) Kimball 
were eleven in number, as follows: Mehitable, 
Mary, Abigail, Obadiah, Sarah, Richard, Priscilla, 
Benjamin, John, Bettie and Dudley. 

(V) John fourth son and ninth child of Ben- 
jamin and Priscilla (Hazen) Kimball, was born in 
Bradford. February 5, 1739, and died in Concord. 
New Hampshire, December 31, 1817. He lived on 
the homestead in Bradford, Massachusetts, until his 
marriage, when he moved to Concord, where he 
lived on the place now (1897) occupied by Samuel 
S. Kimball. He was a man of strong religious con- 
victions, and at the age of eighteen united with the 
church of Bradford, and during his long life honored 
his Christian profession. During thirty years he 
was absent but once from public worship. He was 
very hospitable, and clergymen were always his 
welcome guests. For twenty-nine years, 1789 to 
1817, he was an officer in the church, and was noted 
for the fidelity and promptness with which he per- 
formed his_ public and private duties. Mr. Kimball 
was one of the signers in the church at Concord, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



II 



and proposed to Rev. Mr. Walker, the pastor, to 
abolish "lining the hymns," as it was called, on 
the Sabbath, and adopt the present style of singing. 
This was done, and took effect in the time of the 
Revolutionary war. He was on the committee of 
safety in 1777 and 1778. The number of offices he 
held was large, and he filled some of them for many 
consecutive years. He was chosen tything man in 
1767 and again later; constable two terms; surveyor 
of lumber many years ; was sealer of yveights and 
measures; field driver; selectman, 1775 and 1778; 
clerk, 177S to 1786 inclusive ; and treasurer 1785-6. 
He married iVlarch 23, 1765, Anna, daughter of 
Samuel and Ann (.Hazen) Ayer, born in Haverhill, 
Massachusetts, October 3, 1740, died in March, 1819. 
Their children, born in Concord, were : Hazen, 
John, Benjamin, Anna, Elizabeth, Hannah, Sarah 
and Samuel Ayer. 

(VI) Hannah, third daughter and si.xth child of 
John and Anna (Ayer) Kimball, was born in Con- 
cord, June 24, 1777, and died in Concord, November 

16, 1846. She married, JNlarch 2, 1802, Rev. Syl- 
vester Dana. (See Dana, V). 

(HI) David, second son and fifth child of Ben- 
jamui and Mercy (^Hazeltine) Kimball, was born 
July 26, 1671, in Rawley, Massachusetts (that part 
which is now Bradford), and died in Bradford, 
June 14, 1743. He resided all his life in that town, 
and his father gave him from his estate si.K acres 
of land on which his house stood, January 21, 1697. 
This was adjoining the ferry. His first wife, Eliza- 
beth Gage, daughter of John Gage of Ipswich, 
was born March 12, 1674. No record of her death 
has been found. Mr. Kimball was married (second), 
about 1717, to Ruth (surname unknown), who was 
born 1682 and died March 14, 1770. There were 
ten children, all of the first wife and two of the 
second, all born in Bradford, namely : Hannah 
(died young), Samuel, Hannah, David, Rebeckah, a 
son unnamed, Jeremiah, Aaron, Elizabeth, Abraham, 
Ruth and Abigail. After the death of Mr. Kimball, 
his widow resided with Ralph Hall, her son-in-law, 
in Salem, New Hampshire, and he was, at that time, 
forced to give security that she should not become 
a charge upon the town. 

(IV) Jeremiah, fourth son and seventh child of 
David and Elizabeth (Gage) Kimball, was born 
October 15, 1707, in Beverly, and died in May, 1764, 
in Warner, New Hampshire. He was a resident of 
Beverly until April, 1733, when he and his brother 
David, of Concord, New Hampshire, sold land to 
Thomas Richardson. In the'' settlement of his 
father's estate he sold land to James Head, June 
10, 1734. He subsequently resided in Hopkinton, 
and Warner, New Hampshire, and was buried at the 
old fort on Putney Hill, in Warner. He was mar- 
ried, January 20, 1732, to Elizabeth Head, and their 
children all born in Bradford, were : Elizabeth, 
Sarah (died young), Jeremiah, James, Reuben, 
David, John, Betty, Mary, jNIoses, Sarah, Abraham, 
Phoebe and Richard. 

(V) Reuben, third son and fifth child of Jere- 
miah and Elizabeth (Head) Kimball, was born .-^pril 

17. 1738, in Bradford, and died May 2, 181 1, in War- 
ner, New Hampshire. He lived for a time in Hop- 
kinton, and settled in Warner in 1762. He accom- 
panied his father-in-law to that town and they were 
among its earliest settlers. Reuben Kimball built a 
log house and barn and he and his wife moved to 
their humble abode in the wilderness Jun» 30, 1762. 
Their eldest child was the first white born in VVar- 
ner. I-Iis tombstone stands near the wall in the 
south east part of the cemetery in Warner, and bears 
the inscription "In memory of Mr. Reuben Kimball 



who died May 2, 181 1, aged seventy-three years." 
He belonged to that class of sturdy and industrious 
citizens who cleared from New Hampshire soil the 
virgin forest now enjoyed by his descendants and 
many others. He was married about 1760, to Han- 
nah, daughter of Daniel Annis, of Hopkinton, and 
after her death he married Elizabeth (surname un- 
known). His children, all born of the first wife, 
were : Daniel, Jeremiah, Richard, Johnson Guill, 
Jane Betsey and Persis. 

(VI) Jeremiah (2), second son and child of 
Reuben and Hannah (Annis) Kimball, was born 
December 14, 1767, in Warner, and died in that 
town, where he resided all his life, March 27, 1841. 
Besides farming he worked as a cooper and made 
flour and fish barrels, and pursued a quiet and un- 
eventful life. He was married, November 21, 1793. 
to Molly Foote, who was born April 30, 1771, and 
died May s. 1855. Their children were: Challis 
Foote, Hannah, Nancy Foote, Reuben (died young) 
and Reuben. 

(VII) Rev. Reuben, youngest son and child of 
Jeremiah and Molly (Foote) Kimball, was born in 
Warner, April 29, 1803, and died in North Conway, 
November iS, 1871, aged sixty-eight years. The 
father being .1 farmer, Reuben was taught to culti- 
vate the soil, and early earned his bread in the sweat 
of his face. Behig the younger son, his parents 
placed their reliance on Reuben and he continued 
with them upcp the homestead, his older brother, 
who was his senior by some years, having gone from 
home while Reuben was yet a youth. There was 
that, too, in the dutiful and affectionate spirit of 
this son which led them, particularly the mother, to 
look upon him as "the one to live at home and have 
the farm," and to be the solace of their advancing 
age. 

The son; however, had been earnestly desirous as 
a boy to obtain an education. He liked his book 
better than the farm, and as he grew up made the 
best possible use of the means of intellectual culture 
within his reach. His parents, not seeing perhaps 
at first whereunto this would grow, encouraged his 
bent in this direction, by giving him the best oppor- 
tunities in their power. These were supplemented 
by his own persevering endeavors — teaching when he 
became qualified to procure the means of extending 
his privileges at the academy. He proposed to his 
parents, if they would consent to his leaving home 
to obtain an education, that he would educate him- 
self, and would never ask for any portion of the 
patrimonial estate. But to this they did not feel 
that they could consent, and the appeal of the mother 
to the tenderness and fidelity of his filial affection, 
wss more than he could resist, and he determined, as 
a dutiful son, to remain at home with his parents. 
In this expectation he married. A year of two be- 
fore his marriage he had become the subject of re- 
newing grace, and at the age of twenty-four united 
with the Congregational Church in his native town. 
His jcining the church stimulated his desire for edu- 
cation. With this concurred the establishment of 
the Gilmanton Theological Seminary in his near 
neighborhood, in which facilities were afforded to 
persons desirous of entering the university, who 
could not take a full college course, to obtain their 
object by an abbreviated or a condensed system of 
classical and theological studies. He heard of some 
who had removed their families into the vicinity of 
the institution for the purpose of receiving its bene- 
fits. He visited the seminary and conferred with its 
professor, who encouraged him in his desires, pro- 
vided he could make it compatible with his duty to 
his parents. They had lately been converted and 



12 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



joined the ^church and gladly consented to this plan. 
He now entered the seminary and pursued his 
studies with such success that he graduated in 1840, 
and shortly after obtained from the Hopkimon As- 
sociation license to preach. 

Mr. Kimball's first field of labor was at Kittery 
Point, Maine, where he was ordained January 27, 
1841. He remained here nine years, until his dis- 
missal, January 9, 1850. From Kittery he went to 
Andover and Wilmot, in this state, laboring half 
of the time at each place, for the first two years, 
and afterwards, exclusively at Wilmot. In De- 
cember, 1855, Mr. Kimball commenced his ministry 
in Conway. The church here was small and so 
situated, territorially, as to make it necessary to 
maintain worship in two places — one at Conway 
Corner, so called, and the other at North Conway, 
four miles distant from each other. 'Mr. Kimball 
resided for sometime at the corner, but later at 
North Conway, preaching every Sabbath in both 
places. The population at the North was much in- 
creased during his ministry through the summer 
months especially, owing to the large number from 
the cities who resort to this locality at that sea- 
son for health and recreation. This peculiar fea- 
ture of his parochial charge in Conway rendered 
his post one of much responsibility, and, to a some- 
what shrinking and sensitive spirit like his, one 
of no small solicitude and wearing anxiety. Yet 
it was here and on these accounts that his rare 
ministerial gifts and peculiar traits of personal ex- 
cellence were rendered eminently conspicuous, 
through the many appreciative minds upon which 
successively they shone, and which have carried 
sacred remembrance of him, as a model minister, 
into all parts of the country, and of the world, 
even. His parish, under the shadows of the great 
mountains, was one of the high places of our Ameri- 
can Zion. 

His ministry here continued until about two 
years before his death when his health, for a long 
time slender, becoming more seriously impaired, he 
felt his strength to be insufficient for so arduous 
a service and resigned his pastorate. Subsequently, 
however, he performed missionary labors in some 
destitute sections of the country, under a com- 
mission at large from the New Hampshire JNIis- 
sionary Society. He was especially instrumental of 
a good work in Effingham, in procuring the repair 
of the dilapidated meeting house of the well-nigh 
extinct Congregational Church there, with whom he 
resided and labored for seven months. 

It was pleasant to Mr.' Kimball to be actively 
employed in the Master's service, and he used every 
degree of his remaining strength in the work of the 
ministry so long as opportunity was granted him. 
A very useful department of labor in which he em- 
barked with characteristic efficiency while at Con- 
way, was the Bible distribution throughout a large 
and destitute section of the country, of which that 
place was the center. For this work he was ad- 
mirably fitted by happily combining with the agency 
the labor of an evangelist — awakening attention and 
winning interest in the minds of the careless and 
ignorant, especially the children, in behalf of the 
divine word, which they were induced to receive at 
his hands. 

As a minister Mr. Kimball was eminently faith- 
ful and devoted, while he often lamented that he 
had not enjoyed advantages of a more thorough' 
education, yet seldom, if ever, -was any deficiency 
in this respect apparent in his public perform- 
ances. He made diligent and successful use of all 
the helps, literary and professional, which were at 



his command. His knowledge of the Bible was 
intimate and extensive. His faith in its doctrines 
was sound and discriminating. His preaching was 
serious, plain, practical, direct, tender, while he 
was the farthest possible from being harsh or dog- 
matic in nis style of address. Yet he was never 
deterred by fear of man from a full and faithful 
setting forth of unwelcome truths. The visible 
fruits of his labor were many and of a desirable 
character. . While there were no very extensive 
revivals under his ministry, there were frequent 
seasons of religious interest, in which some were 
converted and a few at a time were added to the 
church. His ministry was peculiarly adapted to 
promote the spiritual edification of believers. As 
a man and as a Christian, he was himself an ex- 
ample to the flock, having also a good report of 
them that were without. 

The last days of the life of this beloved man 
of God, though oppressed with bodily sufifering, 
were serene and peaceful. He labored to the last 
in Bible distribution, and when he gave it up and 
realized that he should not return to it agam, he 
expressed regret that he should not be able to 
finish all that he had hoped to accomplish, as he 
had enjoyed these labors much, and felt that therein 
he was doing good. But when he immediately 
acquiesced to his Heavenly Father's will, saying that 
"he might as well go now as any time." A member 
of the church who came to see him, said he w-ould 
like to know his views while looking on death or 
near. He said in reply that he had not those 
ecstacies which some have spoken of, but he could 
trust his Savior now, as in life he has professed 
to do. Two or three days before his death, while 
his power of speech remained, in the morning, 
after a chapter had been read, he wanted the 
children to sing a hymn ; and then, saying he would 
try to pray, he oft'ered up a prayer in which he 
commended all his family and friends and the 
church to his heavenly Father for protection, being 
quite exhausted by the effort. This was his last 
audible prayer on earth; and for the last twelve 
hours he did not speak nor move a muscle, but lay 
as quiet as though dead, until he ceased to breathe. 
"Mark the perfect man, and behold the upright, 
for in the end that man is peace." To his brethren 
in the ministry and his christian friends, his death 
seemed sudden and premature. He worked up to 
the last few days and none knew his danger until 
it was over. "He walked with God, and was not; 
for God took him." 

Mr. Kimball was married. May 21. 1829, to 
Jndith Colby, who was born in Warner, and died 
in Ipswich, aged about seventy-three years. She 
was the daughter of John and Sarah Colby, of 
Warner. Mr. Kimball was eminently happy in his 
domestic relation — the wife of his youth, who sur- 
vived him, having adv.iiced with equal step from 
the humble and private sphere in which they began 
life together, through the stage of its elevated and 
more responsible duties as a helpmeet, and in the 
full sympathy with the joys and sorrows incidental 
to his work. Nine children were born to them, 
whose names are as follows: Molly Foote (died 
at three years), Marcia Aletta, Edward Payson, 
Anna Louise, Reuben, Jeremiah, John Elliott, Sarah 
J\Iehitabcl, Moses Colby. 

(VIII) Edward Payson, eldest son and third 
child of Rev. Reuben and Judith (Colby) Kimball, 
was born in Warner, New Hampshire, July 4, 1834. 
He was educated in the common schools of Kittery, 
Maine, and Hampton and Andover Academies. 
From 1855 to 185/ he was engaged in mercantile 




^^^C^Ct^-t^O U/^(^li-i4y^cdXV 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



13 



business in Kittery. In the latter year lie removed 
to Portsmouth, and has since been engaged in 
banking. He was first a clerk in the Piscataqua 
Exchange and Portsmouth Savings banks. He be- 
came cashier of the First National Bank in 1871, 
and in 1882 was made president of that bank, and 
also of the Piscataqua Savings Bank. In addition 
to the interests named and others in Portsmouth, 
Mr. Kimball has business interests in the West. 
From his youth up he has adhered to the Republi- 
can party in all political contests, and has been a 
staunch supporter of the measures advocated in its 
plat'forms. He has been a member of the city 
government, and in 1885-86, served in the New 
Hampshire legislature. Since 1871 he has been a 
deacon of the North Congregational Church, and 
has held office as clerk and treasurer of the church 
since 1867. His liberality to the church is well 
known, also his deep concern for the welfare of the 
public educational institutions of the state, and 
the benevolent and charitable organizations of a 
private nature. He has been a member of the 
Portsmouth school board, is a trustee of the Cottage 
Hospital, the Chase Home for Children, the Ports- 
mouth Seaman's Friend Society, and is president 
of the Howard Benevolent Society, and the Young 
Men's Christian Association. Mr. Kimball was in- 
strumental largely in building the beautiful Young 
Mens Christian Association building in Portsmouth 
and contributed freely for the same. In fact it 
is one of i\Ir. Kimball's acts which has given him 
satisfaction. He is a member of Piscataqua Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and one of its 
board of trustees. 

Mr. Kimball is emphatically a man of business, 
and though he has held political offices, it has been 
more from business interests with a view to proper 
legislation than any desire for official honors. He 
is in no sense a nominal member of the various other 
organizations in which he holds official rank, but a 
worker for the end for which each institution was 
organized. He married in Wilmot, New Hampshire, 
September 13. 1864, Martha Jane Thompson, who 
was born in Wilmot, daughter of Colonel Samuel 
and Anna True (Smith) Thompson, of Wilmot. 
They have had three children : Elizabeth Coiby, 
born January 27. 1866, died March 7, 18S0. Martha 
Smith, February 28, 1870, who graduated from 
Smith College in the class of 1892. Edward Thomp- 
son Kimball, September 29, 187,3. a graduate of 
Amherst College, in the class of 1896. 

(Ill) Jonathan, third son -and si.xth child of 
Benjamin and Mercy (Haseltine) Kimball, was 
born November 26. 1673. in Bradford, and passed 
his life in that town, where he died September 
30, 1749. He was a prosperous man, as indicated 
by his frequent purchases and sale of lands. In 
hjs possession were lands in Chester which he 
divided equally November 12. 1733, among his four 
sons, Benjamin, Nathan. Jonathan and Isaac. He 
was married (first), July 15. i6g6, to Lydia Day, 
who was born March iS, 1676, daughter of John 
and Sarah (Pengry) Day, and died September 16, 
1739. He was married (second), November 3, 
,17.59. to widow Jane Plummer, and died in 1764. 
It is apparent that his last marriage was not a 
happy one, as his will contains this clause, "since 
my wife, Jane, has eloped and refuses to live 
with me, I give her five shillings and a pair oi 
leather gloves." It would seem that the widow 
refused to accept this legacy, and contested for 
a share in the estate, and the matter was- prob- 
ably compromised, as her receipt is on record for 
the sum of fifty pounds. Jonathan Kimball's chil- 



dren, born in Bradford, iNIassachusetts, of his first 
wife, were: Benjamin, Jonathan, Nathaniel, Lydia, 
Moses, Isaac, Rebecca, Ruth, Abraham, Mehitablc 
and Hannah. 

(IV) Benjamin (2), eldest child of Jonathan 
and Lydia (Day) Kimball, was born May 16, 1697, 
in Bradford, and resided in Haverhill, where he 
died August 5, J741. He lived in the northern part 
of that town and when the line was run between 
the two provinces in 1741, his property was found 
to be in New Hampshire, in the town now known as 
Hampstead. He and his wife were members of the 
church in Plaistow or North Haverhill, in Novem- 
ber, 1730. He was a deacon of the church there, 
being elected February 3, 1731. He owned land in 
Chester, which was inherited by his son Moses. 
It is said that he married at the age of eighteen, 
and went three miles north of the river into the 
woods to clear a farm, and his mother was very 
much depressed because of his danger from attacks 
by the Indians. He married Mary Emerson, of 
Haverhill, who was born March 21, 1696. She was 
the daughter of Joseph and Martha (Toothaker) 
Emerson, and granddaughter of Robert and Ann 
(Grant) Emerson. Their children were: Mary, 
Jonathan, Benjamin, Lydia, Martha, Hannah, Moses, 
Abigail, Joseph and Mehitable. 

(V) Jonathan (2), eldest son and second child 
of Benjamin and Alary (Emerson) Kimball, was 
born April 14, 1720, in Haverhill, Massachusetts, 
and died October 17, 1807, in Plaistow, New Hamp- 
shire. According to the family tradition, he was 
one of the first to settle in the northern part of 
the last named town. In building his log cabin 
in the woods he was assisted by twenty men, two 
of whom stood guard against Indian attacks while 
the others worked. He subsequently returned to 
the present .town of Plaistow, and served for a 
period of twenty-one years from 1757 to 1778 as 
town clerk. He joined the church at Plaistow, 
February 5. 1738, and for fifty-seven years he was 
a deacon of this society, being first elected Janu- 
ary 25, 1739. He was married (first), August 22, 
1738, to Elizabeth Little, who was born November 
12, 1719, a daughter of Daniel Little. She joined 
the church May 18, 1740, and died February 8, 
1753. He was married (second), November 29, 
1753. to Abigail True, of Salisbury, Massachusetts, 
who was born November 26, 1722, and died January 
23, 1814. There were five children of the first 
marriage and four of the second, including: Benja- 
min, Jonathan, Daniel (died young), Nathaniel, 
Daniel, Elizabeth, True. Martha and Joseph. 

(VI) Benjamin (3), eldest son and child of 
Jonathan (2) and Elizabeth (Little) Kimball, was 
born August 5, 1741. in Plaistow, and lived in that 
town, where he died August 25, 1779. aged thirty- 
eight years. He was commissioned first lieutenant 
in Captain Samuel Oilman's company of Colonel 
Enoch Poor's regiment. May 25. 1775, and rendered 
valuable service as a Revolutionary soldier. He 
was promoted to captain at Ticonderoga, September 
6, 1776, and was commissioned captain and pay- 
master in the First New Hampshire regiment in the 
Continental service, and remained in that connection 
until his death. He was shot throuth the heart 
at Tioga, Pennsylvania, by the accidental discharge 
of a soldier's musket, while on Sullivan's expedition 
against the Indians. He was buried at Tioga the 
following day. He was much respected and highly 
regarded both at home and abroad. His widow 
was left with a large family of small children, and 
received half pay in accordance with a resolution 
of Congress passed August 24, 1780. She was mar- 



14 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ried (second), June 2, 1780, to Jonathan Poor, 
of Poor's Hill in Atkinson, New Hampshire. Cap- 
tain Benjamin Kimball was married in early life 
to Sarah Little, daughter of Samuel Little, who 
survived him and was married (second) as above 
noted. She died July 6, 1823. Their children were : 
Benjamin (died young), Jonathan, Tamar, Eliza- 
beth, Benjamin, Abigail and Sarah. 

(VH) Benjamin (4), third son and fifth child 
of Captain Benjamin (3) and Sarah (Little) Kim- 
ball, was born January i, 1771, in Plaistow, and 
died in Kingston, New Hampshire, September 25, 
1825, He was a farmer in Kingston, and was mar- 
ried April 16, 1793, to Abiah Kimball, who was 
born September 24, 1771, daughter of Jonathan Kim- 
ball and died August 21, 1861, almost ninety years 
of age. Their children were ; Abiah, Sarah, Rus- 
sell, Mary, Benjamin, Daniel and Richard (twins), 
Hazen, Amos and Elizabeth. 

(VIII) Russell, eldest son and third child of 
Benjamin (4) and Abiah (Kimball) Kimball, was 
born December 7, 1798, in Kingston, New Hamp- 
shire, and resided in Piermont, New Hampshire, 
where he was a successful farmer. He was mar- 
ried to Louisa Bean, who was born in Lyman, New 
Hampshire, and died February 18, 1866, at Haver- 
hill Corner. They were the parents of four chil- 
dren, of whom only the eldest survives, the others 
having died in infancy. They were : Peabody W., 
Sarah L., Charles R., and Ellen L. 

(IX) Peabody Webster, only surviving son of 
Russell and Louisa (Bean) Kimball, was born 
October 24, 1834, in Piermont, New Hampshire. 
He had a fair opportunity for acquiring an edu- 
cation, being a student of the public schools in 
Haverhill, of Newbury Seminary, Newbury, Ver- 
mont, and of the Orford and Haverhill academies. 
After leaving school he was associated w'ith his 
father in a general merchandise store at Haverhill 
Corner, where he continued two years. He then 
became a partner in the business and so continued 
until his father's death in 1862. For a short time 
thereafter he conducted the business, which was 
ultimately closed out. He then engaged in farming 
on a small scale in Haverhill, and for fifty years 
this continued down to the present time. He has 
been an active citizen and has taken part in the 
management of local affairs, and represented the 
town in the general court in 1864-65. Politically 
he is a Republican. He is a member of Grafton 
Lodge, No. 46, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, and of Franklin Chapter, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons, of Lisbon. He was married on Christmas 
Day, 185s, to Jane Pearson, who was born April 
26, 1834, in Orford, New Hampshire, a daughter 
of George and Mary (English) Pearson. They are 
the parents of two children : Ellen L. and George 
Russell. The former was born January 5, i860, and 
is the wife of Dr. Henry A. Hildreth, of Bethlehem, 
New Hampshire. 

(X) George Russell Kimball, son of Peabody 
Wejjster and Jane (Pearson) Kimball, was born 
August 31, 1866, in Haverhill, and received his 
early education in the public schools of that town. 
He was subsequently a student at St. Johnsbury 
Academy, St. Johnsbury, Vermont. Returning to 
his native town, he was engaged in the printing 
business for two years. He then removed to Haver- 
hill, where he was engaged one year in the print- 
ing business in company with F. W. and J. F. 
Bittinger, at Woodsville, New Hampshire, and then 
sold out to his partner. He returned to Haverhill 
Corner and , was engaged three years as a printer 
with W. E. Shaw. He was afterwards employed 



for a period of two years as a clerk by Poor & 
Wesgate, general merchants. Their business was 
terminated by destruction of the store by fire. Mr. 
Kimball is quite active in fraternal circles, being 
a member of Grafton Lodge of Free Masons, at 
Haverhill ; Franklin Royal Arch Masons, at Lisbon ; 
St. Gerard Commandery, Knights Templar, of Lit- 
tleton ; Northern Star Lodge of Perfection, of Lan- 
caster ; Washington Council, Princes of Jerusalem, 
at Littleton ; Chapter Rose Croix, at Littleton, and 
Edward A. Raymond Consistory, Thirty-second de- 
gree, at Nashua. He is also a member of Bektash 
Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Concord; 
and of the Eastern Star Chapter at Lisbon, New 
Hampshire. He is a member of Haverhill Grange, 
Patrons of Husbandry, and of the Concord Chap- 
ter, Sons of the American Revolution. 

(III) Robert, seventh child and fourth son of 
Benjamin and Mercy (Hazeltine) Kimball, was 
born in Bradford, March 6, 1676, and died Febru- 
ary 24, 1744. He bought, March 3, 1703, of his 
father-in-law, Philip Atwood, land which formerly 
belonged to Henry Kemble, blacksmith, of Boston. 
He resided in Bradford, and he and his wife was 
buried in the old cemetery there. He married Su- 
sanna, daughter of Philip and Sarah Atwood of 
Maiden. She was born in "Mauldon," February 

I, 1686. Their children, all born in Bradford, were : 
Susanna, Rachel, Philip, Sarah, Ebenezer, Joseph, 
Abigail, Oliver and Solomon. (Mention of Oliver 
and descendants follows in this article.) 

(IV) Ebenezer, fifth child and second son of 
Robert and Susannah (Atwood) Kimball, born in 
Bradford, December 29, 1716, died June i, 1798; 
was a farmer and resided in the town of his birth. 
He married, April 4, 1740, Mary, daughter of Ben- 
jamin and Priscilla (Hazen) Kimball, born April 

II, 1723, died September 22, 1819. Their children, 
thirteen in number, were : Mary, Phineas, Ebe- 
nezer, Priscilla, Benjamin, Susanna (died young), 
Edward, Susanna, Obadiah, Dudley, Daniel, Asa and 
Betsey. 

(V) Lieutenant Phineas, second child and old- 
est son of Ebenezer and Mary (Kimball) Kimball, 
was born in Bradford, December 8, 174S, and died 
November 6, 1826, aged eighty years. He removed 
to Concord, New Hampshire, and settled at Apple- 
town, east end of Turtle Pond. He was a revo- 
lutionary soldier, and April 23, 1775, was in Cap- 
tain Isaac Baldwin's company. Colonel John Stark's 
regiment. He was at Bunker Hill, and in service 
throughout the year, being in Captain Hale's com- 
pany, October 4, 1775, when he receipted for four 
dollars as full compensation for a coat promised 
him by the colony of New Hampshire. He was a 
lieutenant in the militia after the war. As a 
citizen he was honorable and prominent, and ac- 
quired considerable estate. He married, December 
13, 1770, Lucy Pearl, daughter of Richard and 
Sarah Pearl. She died April 21, 1821. She was an 
amible, accomplished, and much respected woman. 
Her family name has been bestowed upon many of 
her descendants as a christian name. The children 
of Phineas and Lucy (Pearl) Kimball were: Pearl, 
Hepzibah, Molly, Sarah, Obadiah, Benjamin, Rob- 
ert and Betsey, mention of whom follows. 

(VI) Betsey, eighth child and youngest daugh- 
ter of Phineas and Lucy (Pearl) Kimball, was 
born in East Concord, July 12. 1787, and died in 
Concord, January 23, 1870. She married March 
6, 1808, Colonel Joshua (2) Abbot, of Concord 
(see Abbot, V). 

(IV) Oliver, eighth child avtd fourth son of 
Robert and Susanna (Atwood) Kimball, was born 




FOUR GENERATIONS OF THE KIMBALL FAMILY. 

CHARLES LESTER, CHARLES, CHARLES F., CHARLES ALLEN. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



15 



in Bradford, Massachusetts, May 24, 1724, and died 
in Salem, New Hampshire, June 23, 1806. He re- 
sided first in Bradford, and later removed to Salem, 
where he spent the remainder of his life. He was 
a man of some means and, like the other settlers, 
allowed his young stock to run loose in the woods 
in the summer. The registry of his mark in the old 
town record of Salem is as follows : "July 22, 
1747. The mark of Oliver Kimballs cattel and 
other cuachers is a swalous tail of ye right ear, 
and is an a halfany ye upr sid of ye left ear." 
He married, March, 1745, Mary Ober, who was born 
May 23, 1725, and died June 23, 1806. Their chil- 
dren, all born in Salem, were : Oliver, Hilary, 
Susanna (died young), Elizabeth, Susie, Mehitable, 
Abigail, John and Sarah. 

(V) Oliver (2), eldest child of Oliver (i) 
and Mary (Ober) Kimball, was born in Salem, De- 
cember S, 1745, and died there April 20,' 1821. He 
was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, and served 
at Bunker Hill, August i, 1775. Salem town meet- 
ing adjourned to August 22. at which time Oliver 
Kimball, Jr., was chosen ensign. October 16, 1775, 
he was in Captain Woodbury's company,, and he 
was in the same company in 1776. He was select- 
man in Salem in 1793, where he resided all his life. 
His tombstone in Salem bears the following in- 
scription : "Death's sudden stroke dissolved my 
feeble frame, Reader, prepare, your fate may be the 
same." He married INIary Allen, of Salem. She 
was born March 17, 1751, and died February 6. 
1846, aged ninety-five. Their children were : Su- 
sannah, Molly (died young), Joseph and Molly. 

(VI) Joseph, third child and only son of 
Oliver (2) arid j\lary (Allen) Kimball, was born 
in Salem, December 25, 1786, and died April 28, 
1867, aged eighty years, four months and three 
days. He succeeded his father on the homestead, 
and was a cultivator of the soil. He married, 
February 2, 1815, Rebecca Hazeltine, born Au- 
gust 5, 1792, died January 29, 1854, daughter of 
Asa Hazeltine, of Auburn. Their children were: 
Harriet, Rebecca, Charles, Washington and Joseph 
Allen. 

(VH) Charles, third child and eldest son to 
grow up of Joseph and Rebecca (Hazeltine) Kim- 
ball, was born in Salem, April 18, 1822. He grew 
up on the homestead and was educated in the public 
schools. After he started in life on his own ac- 
count he worked principally at farming, gardening 
and lumbering. For four years, however, he was en- 
gaged in mercantile business at -Salem depot. For 
two years he has been out of active business. He 
is a Democrat, and was a leader of his party in 
local affairs. He was selectman three years and 
was chairman of the board all this time, and served 
two terms as town treasurer, and represented the 
town in the legislature one term. He married, Au- 
gust I, 1844, Celenda Jane Hazeltine, who was born 
in Salem, July 31, 1825, daughter of Silas and Lydia 
(Hall) Hazeltine. Her father was born in Alan- 
chestcr, and her mother in Salem. Mr. and Mrs. 
Kimball are members of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. Six children were born of this union ; 
three grew up: Aroline Francena, Charles Frank- 
lin, and Nellie E. Aroline F. married Walter G. 
Woodbury, of Salem. Charles F. is mentioned be-' 
low. Nellie E. resides in Salem. 

(Vni) Charles Franklin, second child and 
only son of Charles and Celenda J. (I-Iazeltine) 
Kimball, was born in Salem, March 15, 1853. He 
received his education in the common schools and 
at Tilton Seminary and Pinkerton Academy. From 
1870 to 1S73 he worked on the farm. In 1874 his 



father bought a store at Salem depot and there 
Charles acted as clerk and assistant postmaster 
until 1878. He then returned to the farm and for 
a number of years made a specialty of supplying 
JNIanchester market with vegetables. He put his 
farm under a high state of cultivation, and from 
fifty acres of land he cut annually one hundred 
tons of hay. His first crop of corn was thirteen 
hundred bushels, which was ground on the place 
by a wind mill erected for the purpose. In 1903 he 
built a large barn and storehouse, and in 1904 he 
began the construction of an elevator with a ca- 
pacity of twelve thousand bushels, and engaged in 
the grain business on a large scale. In 1905 he 
occupied the elevator, and accepted his son as a 
partner, forming the firm of C. F. Kimball & Son. 
June 10, 1905, he sold for $30,000 the ancient Kim- 
ball farm upon which five generations of the family 
had resided, and it became later part of the Salem 
Race Track upon which six hundred thousand dol- 
lars were expended. 

In politics Mr. Kimball is a Democrat. His 
interest in public affairs has always been a lively 
one, and he has been called to fill various offices. 
He was tax collector in 1874, a member of the 
school board several years, and a member of the 
committee which built the present school house. 
He was chairman of the committee to purchase the 
Salem town waterworks, a member of the w-ater 
board one year, during which time he was chair- 
man of the committee to dispose of the town farm. 
He has served as road commissioner, and 1896-97 
represented Salem in the legislature. He is a 
staunch member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
and since 1877 has been superintendent of its 
Sunday school and for many years treasurer of 
the Pleasant Street Church. He is one of the 
stewards and. a member of the board of trustees 
of the Royal Arcanum, and a member of Enter- 
prise Grange, Patrons of Husbandry. He married, 
September 3, 1874, Martha Ella Copp, who was 
born September 3, 1855, in Windham, daughter of 
Millett G. and Rowena (Wentworth) Copp. The 
only child of this union is Charles A., whose sketch 
follows. 

(IX) Charles Allen, only child of Charles F. 
and Martha Ella (Copp) Kimball, was born on 
the old homestead July 17, 1876. He obtained his 
education in the public schools and at Tilton Semi- 
nary. After leaving school he was engaged in 
agriculture with his father until 1S98, when he be- 
came junior partner of the firm of C. F. Kimball 
& Son, grain and lumber dealers, and has since de- 
voted his attention principally to that enterprise.. 
He has been very successful in business, and has 
one of the finest and best finished country residences 
in New Hampshire. He is a Democrat, and is 
chairman of the board of selectmen. He is a 
member of Enterprise Grange, Patrons of Hus- 
bandry, and of the United Order of Pilgrim 
Fathers. He is a member of the Pleasant Street 
Methodist Episcopal Church, and one of its 
stew-ards. He married, November 16, 1898. Lena 
Mabel Hall, who was born October 30, 1874. daugh- 
ter of Oscar O. and Henrietta (Cross) Hall, grand- 
daughter of Oliver, and great-granddaughter of 
Jonathan Hall, the first settler of Salem. They 
have three children : Gertrude Hall, Charles Les- 
ter and Ruth Ella. 

(Ill) Samuel, ninth child and sixth son of 
Benjamin and Mercy (Hazeltine) Kimball, was born 
in Bradford, Massachusetts, March 28. 1680, and 
died in 1739. aged fiftj'-nine years. He married 
Eunice Chadwick. His will was made June 30, 



i6 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1739, and proved August 27, 1739. His son James 
was to have his right in Penny Cook aHas Rum- 
ford (.now Concord, New Hampshire). His son 
Andrew was to have his father's property in Ches- 
ter, New Hampshire. Samuel bought of Moses 
Day all that land and right in the saw mill which 
had been set off to "Abigail, formerly Kimball, 
now my wife, out of her father Benjamin's Estate." 
The children of this marriage were : Mercy, 
Samuel, Edmund, William, Mary, Timothy, James, 
Andrew, Joshua and Ann. (Mention of Edmund 
and descendants appears in this article.) 

(IV) Samuel (2), eldest son and second child 
of Samuel (i) and Eunice (Chadwick) Kimball, 
Vi'as born in Bradford, August 17, 1714, and died 
in Plaistow, New Hampshire, in 1789, aged seventy- 
five. He was a farmer, and lived in that part of 
Haverhill which after the survey of the Ime be- 
tween Massachusetts and New Hampshire became 
Plaistow, New Hampshire. He seems to have lived 
on the border line between Plaistow and Atkinson, 
for February 17, 1768, he petitioned that his prop- 
erty, both real and personal, might be transferred 
from Atkinson to Plaistow, which was done. 
Samuel Kimball, of Plaistow, was guardian of the 
children of Jonathan Dow, of Plaistow, February 
27, 1768. In his father's W'ill he is called of Haver- 
hill, and received the portion of his father's estate 
situated in that town. He represented Atkinson 
and Plaistow in the provincial congress at Exeter, 
December 21, 1775, and was a member of the same 
body in 1776. Administration of his estate was 
granted to his son, Joseph, then of Plaintield, New 
Hampshire, August 28, 1789. He married, Decem- 
ber 12, 1736, Hannah Abbott, of Andover, Massachu- 
setts. They had seven children ; William, John, 
Hannah, Samuel, Joshua, Joseph and Asa. 

(V) Samuel (3), fourth child and third son of 
Samuel (2) and Hannah (.Abbott) Kimball, was 
born in Plaistow, June 5, 174S, and died December 
6, 1802, aged sixty-seven years. He resided in 
Plaistow and Henniker, New Hampshire. His 
brothers William and Joseph, were charged with 
being Tories, and some of the family of Samuel 
went to New York state and others to Canada. 
Samuel Kimball, of Henniker, was coroner in 1776, 
Samuel, of Henniker, was also captain in Aaron 
Adam's company in 1776. He married, January 21, 
1769, Abigail Eastman, who was born January 30, 
1748, and died March 3, 1819, aged seventy-one. 
Their children were : William, John, Samuel, Han- 
nah, Abigail, Joseph, James, Molly, Fanny, Wil- 
liam and Sophia. 

(VI) Samuel (.4), third son and child of Samuel 
(3) and Abigail (Eastman) Kimball, was born 
January 22, 1770, and died February 3, 1852. aged 
eighty-two. He resided in Henniker. He mar- 
ried (first), November 17, 1797, Betsey Sargent, 
who died March 2, 1813, and (^second), February 
10, 1818, Jennie JNIannehan. Their children were : 
Mary, Betsey, Abigail E., Lucy, Joseph, Fannie, 
Catherine and James. 

(VII) Betsey, second daughter and child of 
Samuel (4) and Betsey (Sargent) Kimball, was 
born January, 1800, and married, INIarch 15, 1821, 
Nathaniel Patch (see Patch, VI). 

(IV) Edmund, third child and second son of 
Samuel and Eunice Chadwick Kimball, was born 
in Bradford, April 6, 1716, and died there November 
10) I79S- He was a farmer, and had a large landed 
estate after he gave each of his sons a handsome 
inheritance. His residence was in the center of the 
village, and he was succeeded here by his son Wil- 
liam. He loaned the town of Bradford, May 5, 



1778, one hundred and thirty dollars for the pur- 
pose of raising men for militia service. He was a 
man of great influence. He married, January 25, 
1742, Dorothy, daughter of Ephraim and Ann 
(Tenny) Kimball. She was born June 30, 1724, 
and died April 30, 1797. Their children, seven 
in number, were: Timothy, born April 27, 1743. 
Michael, born April 21, 1745. Ann, born April 14, 
1747. David, born June 15, 1749. Edmund, born 
!May 2, 1751. Eunice, born December 11, 1753. 
William, born December 19, 1757. 

(V) Michael, the second child of Edmund and 
Dorothy (Kimball) Kimball, was born in Bradford, 
Massachusetts, April 21, 1745, and resided most of 
his life in Pembroke, New Hampshire. In 1777 
he petitioned to be annexed to Colonel Stickney's 
regiment. He belonged to the first militia company 
of Pembroke. His will was made January 4, 1802, 
and proved December 21, 1803. He married (first), 
in 1763, Bettie Runnels, born July i, 1748; and 

(second) Anna . His children were: 

I. Hannah, born August 16, 1764. 2. Daniel, Oc- 
tober 7, 1767. 3. David, January 12, 1769. 4. Polly, 
May 16, 1772. 5. Betty, January 19, 1774. 6. Sarah, 
June 27, 1776. 7. David (2), March 7, 1782. 

(VI) David, second son and third child of 
Michael Kimball, was born in Pembroke, Novem- 
ber 7, 1782, where he lived and died. He married 
(first) Abigail Perkins, and (second) Betsey Per- 
kins, and had nine children : Betsy Perkins. Asa, 
born March 8, 1808. Perkins, March 7. 1810. John 
Shackford, April 28, 1812. Abigail Perkins, Oc- 
tober 15, 1816. Sarah Towie, May 5, 1819. Joseph 
Lewis. Mary' Lewis, October, 1821. Harriet Robin- 
son. 

(VII) John Shackford, fourth child of David 
and Abigail (Perkins) Kimball, was born in Pem- 
broke, April 28, 1812. He was educated in the com- 
mon schools and at New Hampton Academy. While 
a student at the latter place he was one of the 
students who founded the "Social Fraternity Li- 
brary." After leaving the academy he was em- 
ployed for some time in a bakery in Concord. He 
left that place to enter the printing office of Hill 
& Sherburn at Concord, where he learned book and 
job work, and was later in the office of Hill & 
Barton, where he became well known as a card 
printer, and introduced enameled work. After some 
time spent in the Franklin book store he went to 
Portland, Maine, where he served three years in the 
post office. 

While in that city he began the study of law 
with Mr. Haynes, then district attorney for Cum- 
berland county. He continued his studies in Har- 
vard Law School, and finished his preparatory 
course in the office of Robert Rantoul, Esq., a dis- 
tinguished lawyer of Boston. After his admission 
to the bar he was a partner with his preceptor for 
six years. Failing health compelled him to aban- 
don the law, and about 1838 he became a partner 
in the firm of Kimball & Chase, of Burlington, 
Iowa, succeeding to the interests of his brother, 
Joseph L. Kimball. About 1840 Mr. Chase died 
and Samuel B. Wright, who married !Mr. Kimball's 
sister, Mary Lewis Kimball, entered the firm, the 
name of which was changed to J. S. Kimball & 
Company. This firm become noted as a wholesale 
dealer in dry goods and groceries, both in the 
east and west, doing the largest business of any 
concern of its class in its section of the country. 
Mr. Kimball became known as one of the most 
skilled buyers in the trade. In 1865 he retired 
from active business, disposing of his interest to. 
William Bell, of Salt Lake City, Utah. He resided 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



17. 



in Boston, ilassachusetts. About 1854 he pur- 
chased an estate in Hopkinton, New Hampshire, 
when he became a permanent resident. In poli- 
tics he was a Repubhcan and represented the town 
of Hopkinton in the legislature in 1866 and 1S67. 
Governor Walter Harriman appointed him colonel 
on his staff and he filled that place during the gov- 
ernor's term of office. 

He married, October 15, 1843, Mary Eldredge 
Stevens, born January 16, 1818. Mr. Kimball died 
in Boston, Massachusetts, April 19, 1888. Their 
children were : John Stevens, born in Boston, Mas- 
sachusetts, July 31, 1845, resides in Hopkinton, New 
Hampshire. Robert Rantoul, born in Boston, Mas- 
sachusetts, March 17, 1849, was a resident of Hop- 
kinton. Mary Grace, born in Boston, October 9, 
1853. Kate Pearl, born in Boston, January 3, 185(3. 
George Alexander Stevens, born in Boston, Novem- 
ber 26, 1859. 

(,Vni) George Alexander Stevens, fifth and 
youngest child of John Shackford and Mary El- 
dridge (Stevens) Kimball, was born November 26, 
1859. He was educated in the Boston public schools, 
and at sixteen years of age entered the employ of 
Charles B. Lancaster, shoe manufacturer, Boston. 
Later he was in their employ at Pittsfield, New 
Hampshire. In 1881 he removed to Hopkinton, 
New Hampshire, where for twenty-two years he 
has kept a general store. In 1898 he was appointed 
postmaster, and has .since held that office. He 
was appointed deputy sheriff in 1897, and in 1904 
was elected high sheriff', as a Republican, of wliich 
party he has been an ardent member since he 
attained his majority. He is an Odd Fellow, mem- 
ber of Kearsarge Lodge, No. 23, of Contoocook, 
New Hampshire, and Eureka Lodge, No. 70, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Trinity Oiapter, Royal 
Arch Masons ; Horace Chase Council, Royal and 
Select ^Masters ; Mount Horeb Commandery, Knights 
Templar ; Bektash Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, all of Concord, and 
of the Wonalancet Club of Concord. Mr. Kimball 
has been long recognized as a counselor as well 
as a worker in party matters. In business he has 
been a very successful man like his father before 
him. He married, March 3, 1880, Theresa Green, 
daughter of Cotton Green, of Pittsfield, New 
Hampshire, born January 21, 1862. They have 
one son, Robert Warren, born February 3, 1881. 

(III) Ebenezer, tenth child and seventh son 
of Benjamin and Alercy (Hazeltine) Kimball, was 
born in Bradford, Massachusetts, June 20, 1684. 
and died January 23, 1715. He lived in Haverhill 
and Bradford, and owned land in Mcthuen. His 
wife was Ruth Eaton, who married after his death 
Aaron Johnson, of Ipswich, and had children : 
Lydia, Sarah and Richard Johnson, and died April 
6, 1750. The children of Ebenezer and Ruth 
(Eaton) Kimball were: Jemima, Abner and Abra- 
ham. 

(IV) Abraham, third and youngest child of 
Ebenezer and Ruth (Eaton) Kimball, was born 
January 3, 1714, and resided in Bradford and 
Haverhill, Massachusetts. He married, first, De- 
cember 13, 1739, Hannah Hazeltine, who died Janu- 
ary 9, 1747, and second, April 16, 1747, Mary Pike. 
His eight children were : Timothy. David, Abra- 
ham, Hannah, John, Amos, Abigail and Abner. 

(V) Abner, eighth child and sixth son of 
Abraham and Mary (Pike) Kimball, was born at 
Haverhill, April 10, 1755, and died March 11, 1818. 
He was a private in Captain Ebenezer Colby's com- 
pany, April 19, 1775. August 15, 1777, he enlisted 
in Captain Carr's company for three years, and was 



discharged February 12, 1780. August 12, 1781, 
he enlisted as sergeant in James Iilallon's company, 
Putnam's regiment, and was in the same company 
September 5, 17S2. He removed from Haverhill, 
Massachusetts, to Sanbornton, New Hampshire. He 
married, first, December 18, 1781, Abigail Gage, of 
Bradford, Massachusetts, born 1761, died May 24, 
1803; and second, July 10, 1803, Mrs. .Mercy Jud- 
kins Colby, widow of Anthony Colby, who died 
January 28, 18(35, i"- her ninety-ninth year. His 
children were : Rebecca, Hannah, Moses, Abigail 
and Abner. 

(VI) Moses, third child and eldest son of, 
Abner and Abigail (Gage) Kimball, was born in 
Sanbornton, February 27, 1787, where he lived and 
farmed many years and then moved to Pembroke 
where he died September 20, 1848. He married, 
first, March 15, iSoS, Polly Shaw, born March 7, 
1787, died March 24, 1809, daughter of Josiah 
Shaw; second, August 11, 181 1, Dolly Shaw, sister 
of his first wife, born December S, 1793, died March 
4, 1S17; and tliird, April i, 1818, Sally Eastman, 
daughter of Thomas Eastman, born .March 17, 
:79i; died December 16, 1858. His children were: 
Syrena, Asa, Everett and Sally, twins; Polly, John 
E. and Mary. 

(VII) John E., sixth child and third son of 
Moses and Sally (Eastman) Kimball, was born in 
Pembroke, April 20, 1819, and died in Saco, Maine, 
January 7, 1892. He was graduated from the Ver- 
mont Medical College in 1847, served as surgeon 
of the Twenty-seventh Maine Regiment during the 
war, and was one of the most eminent physicians 
in Maine. He was a Democrat, and a member of 
the Congregational Church. He married, January 
16, 1880, Emma Staniels, died June 17, 1881. They 
had one child: Sarah Eunice, born June 3, 1881, 
in Pembroke, who, in December, 1902, married 
George T. Hillman, of Pembroke (.see Hillman). 



This name is found early in the 
WIGHTMAN Colonies of Rhode Island, that 
community established upon the 
broadest foundation of religious liberty, which has 
contributed so much to the moral, intellectual and 
material development of the United States. It is 
the home of the busy spindle and other tools of 
industry, as well as the abode of institutions of 
learning, and exercises an influence in the history 
of the nation far beyond its territorial importance 
or relative numbers in population. The family 
herein treated furnished some of the pioneers of 
western New Hampshire, and has been well and 
favorably known in the development of this sec- 
tion. 

(I) George Wightman is of record in Rhode 
Island as early as 1669. He was an inhabitant of 
Kingstown, and took the oath of allegiance to the 
colony May 20, 1671, and was made a freeman in 
1673. He was constable in 1686, was a member of 
the grand jury in 1687, and for some years was a 
niember of the town council. He was one of the 
eighteen persons who bought seven thousand acres 
of land in Narragansett, sold by the general as- 
sembly in 1710. Tradition makes him a descendant 
of Edward Wightman, who was burned for heresy 
at Litchfield, England. April 11, 1612, being the 
last to suffer death for religion's sake in that 
country. He was a relative (perhaps a brother) ot 
Valentine Whitman, who settled early in Provi- 
dence. The descendants of George have more gen- 
erally preserved the spelling of the name as Wight- 
man, though they occasionally use the ether form. 
Whitman. George Wightman was born in Janu- 



rS 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ary, 1632, and died in January, iy22. He married 
Elizabeth, daughter of Gilbert and Catherine Smith 
Updyke. She was born in 1699, and was the mother 
of the following children : Elizabeth, Alice, Daniel, 
Sarah. John, Samuel and Valentine. 

(II) George, second son and fifth child of 
George (l) and Elizabeth (Updyke) Wightman, 
was born January 8, 1675, in Kingstown, and was an 
inhabitant of Warwick, Rhode Island, becoming a 
freeman in 1716. In 1719 he bought one hundred 
and fifty acres of land in the town of East Green- 
wich, Rhode Island, and was a deputy from that 
town in 1729. His will was made September i, 
I7S9, and a codicil was added March i, 1760. He 
probably died about the beginning of the succeeding 
year, as his will was proven January 16, 1761. He 
married (first) Elizabeth (surname unknown), and 
(second), August 30, 1738, Sarah Todd. His chil- 
dren were: George, John, Samuel, Elizabeth, 
Phoebe and Deborah. 

(Ill") Samuel, third son of George (2) Wight- 
man, was married, November 11, 1729, to Margaret 
Gorton, and their children are given upon the War- 
wick town records as: Samuel, Benjamin, Pene- 
lope. George, Freedom, Margaret and Asa. 

(IV) Samuel (2), son of Samuel (i) and 
]\Iargaret (Gorton) Wightman, was born Janiiary 
23, 1738, in Warwick, Rhode Island, and resided 
in East Greenwich, Rhode Island, at the time of 
his marriage, December 4, 1760, to Amy Lawton, 
also of East Greenwich. Their children appear on 
the record of Rehoboth, Massachusetts, where it is 
probable they afterward lived. They were : Sarah, 
Israel, Mary, George. Amy, Lydia and Samuel. 
Samuel Wightman came to Walpole in 1801, and 
purchased of Isaac Redington three hundred and 
fifty acres of land, lying in the vicinity of the mouth 
of Cold river. The land had been owned previously 
by Colonel John Bellows, and he had erected on 
the site of the residence of Thomas Keyes a public 
house. To this house Mr. Wightman moved with 
his family, and remained two or three years. In 
the meantime he built what is now known as the 
Carpenter stand. He died in 1827, in the eighty- 
ninth year of his age, and his wife Amy died in 
1837, aged ninety-eight years. Deacon Samuel 
Wightman's family consisted of seven ^ children, 
three sons and four daughters, of which Israel 
was the second, who died in 1838, aged seventy- 
four. The father gave his son Israel the place 
on the plain, w-hich was the largest portion of his 
estate, where he lived during life, after coming to 
Walpole, New Hampshire. _ , 

(V) Israel, eldest son and second child of 
Samuel (2) and Amy (Lawton) Wightman, was 
born December 12, 1765, in Rehoboth, Massachu- 
setts, whence he moved to Walpole, New Hamp- 
shire, and died there March 21. 1838, in his seventy- 
fourth year. The records of Rehoboth, Massachu- 
setts, show that the intentions of marriage of 
Israel Wightman and Frances Allen were published 
March 30, 1788. She was the sister of William H. 
Allen, whose son, Daniel B. Allen, married Ethe- 
linda Vanderbilt, the daughter of the Commodore, 
and was for many years at the head of the Pa- 
cific Mail Steamship Company. They had ten chil- 
dren: Samuel Allen Wightman, who married Ma- 
tilda, daughter of Solomon Bellows, who was a 
brother of Alexander Hamilton Bellows, the father 
of Dr. Henry W. Bellows, the noted Unitarian 
divine. Samuel Allen Wightman went to Ashta- 
bula, Ohio. He served in the war of 1812. John, 
Maria, Herman, Sarah, Hannah, Frances, Pamelia, 
Content and Herman Allen. 



(VI) Herman Allen, the youngest child of 
Israel and Frances (Allen) Wightman, was born in 
180S. He married Maria Retsey Lovell, of Clare-' 
mont. New Hampshire, in 1834, and removed to the 
old homestead in Walpole, New Hampshire. They 
had five children: Frances M., Nellie S., Martha L., 
Mary J. and Caroline E. 

(VII) Mary J., the fourth child of Herman 
Allen and INIaria Retsey (Lovell) Wightman, was 
born January ig, 1S43, in Cambridgeport, Vermont, 
and married Dr. Osman B. Way, February 22, 1882 
(see Way, VIII). 



This is one of the most distinguish- 
WEBSTER ed names in the annals of New 

Hampshire, having been especially 
honored by that distinguished patriot and states- 
man, Daniel Webster. It has furnished many good 
citizens, who, though not nationally known, like 
their compatriot and relative, have supported the 
cause of human liberty in all struggles, and per- 
formed well their part in the various walks of 
life. 

(I) Thomas Webster, first known ancestor of 
the New Hampshire family, resided with his wife 
Margaret in Ormsby, Norfolk county, England, 
where he died in April, 1634. His widow subse- 
quently married William Godfrey, with whom she 
came to America, bringing her son, Thomas Web- 
ster (2). 

(II) Thomas (2), son of Thomas (i) and 
Margaret Webster, was born in November, 1631, 
in Ormsby, England, and came to Watertown, Mas- 
sachusetts, in company with his foster father and 
other early settlers of that town. He removed with 
the pioneers to Hampton, New Hampshire, where 
he died January 5, 1715, aged eighty-three years. 
He was married, November 2, 1656, to Sarah, 
daughter of Thomas Brewer, of Roxbury. Massa- 
chusetts, and had the following children : Mary, 
Sarah, Hannah. Thomas, Ebenezer, Isaac, John, 
Joshua and Abigail. (l^Iention of Ebenezer and 
John, with descendants, is a feature of this article.) 

(III) Ebenezer, fifth child and second son of 
Thomas (2) and Sarah (Brewer) Webster, was " 
born August I, 1667. He served in the Indian 
war, and was pilot to Captain Gilman's company, 
August, 1710, which went in pursuit of Indians. 
He was one of the proprietors of Kingston, New 
Hampshire, and a settler there. He married. July 
25, 1709, Hannah Judkins, who died February 21, 
1756. Their children were : Rachel. Susannah, 
Ebenezer, William, John, Hannah, and Mary and 
Joseph, twins. 

(IV) Ebenezer (2), third child and eldest son 
of Ebenezer (i) and Hannah (Judkins) Webster, 
was born October 10, 1714, and lived in Kingston, 
where he was identified with the clearing up of that 
portion of the wilderness. He married, July 20, 
1738, Susannah Batchelder (see Batchelder, V), of 
Hampton. 

(V) Ebenezer (3), son of Ebenezer (2) and 
Susannah (Batchelder) Webster, was born April 
22. 1739, in Kingston. Here he grew up without 
a day's schooling, knowing almost nothing of books, 
but fully equipped to fulfill the mission of life on 
the frontier of civilization, where strong bodies, 
sound sense, and courage were required to cope 
with physical impediments, want of learning, and the 
lurking foe that haunted the hundreds of miles of 
unbroken wilderness which lay between his home 
and the French settlements in Canada. He came 
of age during the great French war, and about 
1760 enlisted in the then famous corps known as 




Daniel Webster's Birthplace 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



19 



"Roger's Rangers." In the dangers and successes 
of desperate fighting, the "Rangers" had no equal ; 
and of their hard and perilous experience in the 
wilderness in conflct with Indians and Frenchmen, 
Ebenezer Webster, strong in body and daring in 
temperament, had his full share. He served under 
General Jeffrey Amherst in the French war, and re- 
turned to his native town with the rank of cap- 
tain. After eleven years spent in clearing his farm, 
in the northernmost part of Salisbury, where he 
settled in 1763, there being no white man's abode 
between him and Montreal, the Revolution broke 
out, and Ebenezer raised a company of two hundred 
men and marched at their head to join the forces 
at Boston. At Dorchester, Washington consulted 
him about the state of feelings in New Hampshire. 
He served at White Plains, and at Bennington was 
one of the first to scale the breastwork, and came 
out of the battle with his swarthy skin so blackened 
with dust and gunpowder that he could scarcely be 
recognized. He was at West Point at the time 
of the discovery of Arnold's treason,' and when 
on ,Luard before the general's tent Washington said 
to him, "Captain Webster, I believe I can trust 
you !'' That was the sentiment ever felt by those 
who knew him. He was uneducated and silent, 
but stroi.g and unquf-tionably trustworthy. His ser- 
vices brought him the rank of colonel. After the 
war he returned to his farm, and his neighbors 
elected him to every office within their gift, in- 
cluding the offices of representative, state senator, 
and judge of the common pleas court, of Hills- 
borough county. This last office he held from 1791 
until his death, which occurred .\pril 14. 1816. 
Judge Webster filled one other office, in the per- 
formance of whose duties he probably derived more 
pleasure than from any other. He was one of 
the electors of the president in New Hampshire, 
when Washington was chosen to that office. In 
the intervals of his toilsome and adventurous life, 
he had picked up a little booklore, but the lack of 
more barred the way to higher honors, which would 
otherwise have been easily his. 

Ebenezer Webster married, January 18, 1761, 
Mehitable Smith, born at Kingston, and who died 
March 28, 1774. Of this marriage there were five 
children : Olle, a daughter, and Ebenezer, a son, 
who died young: Su?annah, born October, 1766, 
married John Colby ; David, a farmer who reared 
a large family, and died at Stanstead, Canada; and 
Joseph, who died in 1810. Mr. Webster married 
(second), October 13, 1774. Abigail Eastman (see 
Eastman), in Salisbury, New Hampshire, who was 
born July 10, 1737, and died April 14, 1816. Her 
father was Thomas Eastman. The children of the 
second marriage were: Mehitable. .\bigail, Ezekiel, 
Daniel and Sarah. Mehitable died unmarried. 
Abigaiil married a Mr. Haddock. Ezekiel and 
Daniel are mentioned below. Sarah married Colonel 
Ebenezer Webster, of Hill. (See Webster, second 
family, VII.) 

(VI) Ezekiel, third child and eldest son of 
Colonel Ebenezer and Abigail (Eastman) Webster, 
was born in the log house of his father in Salis- 
bury, April It, 1780, and died in Concord, March 
10, 1829. After various struggles with poverty, 
he graduated from Dartmouth College in August, 
1804. For a time he taught school, and read law 
in Boston, but in the autumn of 1807 he took charge 
of the paternal farm, his father having died in 1S06, 
and in conjunction with Daniel assumed the support 
of his mother and sisters. He was admitted to the 
bar in September, 1807, and succeeded to the busi- 
ness of his brother Daniel, in Boscawcn, when the 



latter moved to Portsmouth. Although intellectual- 
ly not the equal of his gifted brother, Ezekiel Web- 
ster was one of the leading men of the state, and 
an uncompromising Federalist. Had he been less 
rigid in his political belief, he might easily have 
been elected to congress, but he would never com- 
promise principle. He dropped dead j\larch 10, 
1829, at Concord, while addressing a jury in the 
court house. "He was a man of high talent, much 
professional learning, and great solidity of charac- 
ter." From their earliest youth Daniel depended 
on Ezekiel's sound judgment while he lived. "He 
has been my reliance through life," was the testi- 
mony borne of the elder by the younger brother. 
He married, (first), January 15, 1809, Alice Bridge, 
of Billerica, Massachusetts, who died in 1821. He 
married (second), August 2, 1825, Achsah PoUord, 
born at Dunstable (now Nashua). Two children 
were born to Mr. Webster: Alice, married (first), 
June I, 1836, Professor Jarvis Gregg, the first pre- 
ceptor of Bo;cawen Academy, and after his death 
Rev. George Whipper, of Oberlin, Ohio. .She died 
March 6, 1876. Mary, married, December 11, 1837, 
Frofesscr Edwin D. Sanborn, LL. D., of Dart- 
mouth College. She died December 30, 1864. 

(VI) Daniel, fourth child and second son of 
Ebenezer and Abigail (Eastman) Webster, was 
born in a "frame" house, near the original log house 
of Ebenezer, in Salisbury, January iS, 1782. About 
a year after the birth of Daniel, his father removed 
to what has since been called the "Elens Farm," 
situated in the present town of Franklin, and here 
Daniel grew to manhood. He was a sickly child, 
and had but limited educational advantages iii child- 
hood. He was a few months at Phillips Academy, 
Exeter, New Hampshire, hastily completed his 
preparation for college as the private pupil of Rev. 
Samuel Wood, of Boscawen, and in 1799 entered 
Dartmouth College, where he partially supported 
himself by teaching in winter and by local news- 
paper work. He soon made up the deficiencies of his 
earlier education, distinguishing himself as a de- 
bater in the college societies, and became the fore- 
most scholar in the institution. Graduating in Au- 
gust, 1801, he commenced the study of law in the 
office of Thomas W. Thompson, Esq.. a lawyer of 
Salisbury, his father's neighbor and friend. 'While 
reading his law course, he also read a great deal 
of general literature, and filled up his leisure hours 
with dog and gun and fishing-rod. In order to 
obtain means to keep his brother Ezekiel in col- 
lege, Daniel pursued the study of law but four 
months before going out as a wage-earner. He 
was offered and at once accepted the charge of an 
academy in Fryeburg, i\Iaine, where he was to re- 
ceive one hundred and seventy-five dollars for six 
months' labor. Four evenings each week he copied 
deeds for the registrar of the county, earning liy this 
means two dollars a week, which paid his board. 
His serious and high-toned deportment, and his 
success as a teacher, secured him many friends; 
he was offered a large increase in salary, and could 
have been clerk of the common pleas court, but the 
mysterious power which operates unconsciously 
upon men of great intellect in their youth, leading 
them toward tile destiny which genius creates for 
them, took him away from Fryeburg and hack to 
the law office, where he remained until February 
or March, 1804, and then went to Boston, Massa- 
chusetts. Fie he entered the office of Hon. Chris- 
topher Gore, afterward governor of Massachusetts, 
where he remained from July until the following 
February, and was admitted to practice in March, 
1805. Soon afterward he established himself in 



20 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



the village of Boscawen, New Hampshire, and be- 
gan his professional practice, spending the next two 
and a half years at that place. In May, 1807, he 
was admitted as a counsellor in the supreme court 
of New Hampshire, and soon after removed to 
Portsmouth, where he at once took rank as a lead- 
ing lawyer. In 1812 Mr. Webster was nominated 
as a representative to the thirteenth congress, to 
which he was subsequently elected, and in which 
he took his seat on the 24th of May, 1S13. He 
succeeded to the oflice in the fourteenth congress. 
After a residence of nine years in Portsmouth, he 
removed to Boston, 1816, and for several years 
devoted himself to his profession. In 1822 he was 
almost unanimously elected to congress to repre- 
sent the district of Suffolk. He was re-elected 
in 1824, and in 1826 as the representative of the 
Boston district. In June, 1827, he was chosen 
United States senator. At the end of his term he 
was re-elected, and continued in office by re-election 
until 1841, when he resigned to become secretary 
of state in General Harrison's cabinet, a position 
he held till the 8th of May, 1843, when he resigned 
and retired to his home at Marshtield. In the wmter 
of 1S44-45 J^ir. Webster was again elected to the 
senate of the United States by the legislature of 
Massachusetts to hll the vacancy occasioned by the 
resignation of Mr. Choate. Immediately after the 
accession of Mr. Fillmore to the presidency, he 
offered the department of state to Mr. Webster, and 
a second time Mr. Webster resigned his seat in the 
senate, to accept the place, which he held until 
his death, October 24, 1852. Mr. Webster's ofiices 
were not all great offices. He was a member of the 
Massachusetts constitutional convention, and gave 
it the benefit of his great knowledge of constitutional 
questions. He was once a presidential elector, and 
also sat ten days in the Massachusetts legislature. 
The above mere enumeration of the places Mr. 
Webster filled is all that the scope of this article 
permits. The writing of details has been left to 
his biographers. His forensic ability, his exalted 
statesmanship, his knowledge of constitutional law, 
his wonderful influence over men, and his illus- 
trious record in general, are too well known to need 
mention here. 

Daniel Webster married in Salisbury, May 29, 
1808, Grace Fletcher, born January 16, 17S1, daugh- 
ter of Rev. Elijah Fletcher, of Hopkinton, New 
Hampshire. She died in New "Vork while on the 
way to Washington with her husband, January 12, 
1828. They were the parents of five children : 
Grace Fletcher, the eldest child, died young. 
Danfel Fletcher, born July 23, 1813, was a colonel 
in the Twelfth Massachusetts Volunteer Militia, 
and fell in the service of his country, August 30, 
1862. Julia, married, September 24, 1839, Samuel 
A. Appleton, a member of the Boston family of that 
name, and died April 28, 1848. Edward, died of 
disease while serving in the Mexican war. Charles, 
died in infancy. In December, 1832, Mr. Webster 
married in New York, Caroline Bayard Leroy, sec- 
ond daughter of Herman Leroy, a wealthy merchant, 
descended from one of the early settlers of New 
York. 

(Ill) John, fourth son and seventh child of 
Thomas (2) and Sarah (Brewer) Webster, was born 
February 16, 1674, in Hampton, and settled in Rye, 
where he passed his life as a farmer. He was mar- 
ried September 21, 1703, to Abiah Shaw, iind they 
were the parents of the following children: Jere- 
miah, Charity and Josiah (twins, the first of whom 
died young), John, Thomas, Caleb, Abiah, Elizabeth 



and Charity. (Mention of Josiah, John and Thomas 
and descendants follows in this article.) 

(IV) Jeremiah, eldest child of John and Abiah 
(Shaw) Webster, was born December 21, 1704, 
in Hampton. He was among the few of the original 
grantees of Stevenstown (1749), now Salisbury, 
New Hampshire, who settled with their families. 
Most of^ the grantees did not remove to the town. 
At the first meeting of the proprietors it was voted 
that "Jeremy Webster shall be the surveyor to- 
assist and join with the s'd com'te in laying out 
the land, as above s'd." In 1760, at a meeting of 
the proprietors, Jeremy Webster was moderator. 

(V) Jeremiah (2), son of Jeremiah (.1) Web- 
ster, was a prominent man in the early settlement 
of Salisbury. Fle came previous to 1769, and set- 
tled on the site now occupied by Phineas Clough. 
He married, June 9, 1774, Anne Sleeper, who died 
January 10, 1841, aged eighty-six years. He died 
March 4, 1817, aged seventy-four years. 

(VI) Jeremy (3), son of Jeremiah (2) and 
Anne (Sleep.er) Webster, was born June 19, 1775. 
He built the Clough House and was a famous singing 
master. Fie married Phebe Wardwell. He died August 
20, 1841, and she January 20, 1847. Their chil- 
dren were : Amos, born November 24, 1801, died 
August 30, 1821. James R., March 20, 1804, removed 
to Georgia, where he died September, 1S41. Phebe, 
March 4, 1806, married Hubbard Hutchinson, of 
Merrimack, and died in that town. Nathaniel F., 
March 4, 1808. Mary A., May 20, 1810, married 
(first) Joshua Burpee, of Boscawen, and (second) 
Samuel Gilman, of Lake Village, where she died 
about 1850. Joseph W., November 12, 1812, a 
merchant . of Savannah, Georgia, where he died 
March, i860. Emily, December 20, 1815, died 
February 26, 1838. Elizabeth, August 28, 1818, died 
June 10, 1S39, unmarried. Eliphalet. January 4, 
1821, died JJanuary 16, 1822. Amos E., September 17, 
1828, died in Georgia, August, i860, where he mar- 
ried Eliza Savage. 

(VII) Nathaniel F., third son and fourth child 
of Jeremy and Phebe (Wardwell) Webster, was 
born in Salisbury, New Hampshire, March 4, 1808, 
died in Georgia, September 24, 1854. He married 
Miriam Couch, daughter of John and Lydia Ann 
(Bean) Couch, of Salisbury, who married (second), 
Jonas Merriam; she was born March ir, 1810, and 
died April 6, 1887. The issue of this marriage was 
one child, John Francis Webster, born November 18, 
1837. In 1S42 or 1843 Nathaniel F. Webster, who 
was a cabinetmaker by trade, went to the state of 
Georgia and became a partner with Isaac W. Morrill, 
of Savannah, under the firm name of Isaac W. Mor- 
ril & Company, wholesale and retail furniture and 
pianos. Mr. Webster's three brothers, James R., 
Joseph W. and Amos E., also settled in Savannah. 
James R. and Joseph W., were partners in the 
wholesale grocery business, and Amos was a book- 
keeper. Nathaniel Webster was prosperous in busi- 
ness and became a man of means. It was his custom 
to send his wife and son north in the summmer, 
and join them in the fall when he went north to 
buy goods. In the summer of 1854, while the wife 
and son were absent, Mr. Webster was attacked by 
yellow fever, and died September 24, aged forty- 
six years. Mrs. Webster survived until April 6, 
1887, dying in Concord at the age of seventy-seven 
years. 

(VIII) John Francis, only child of Nathaniel F. 
and Miriam (Couch) Webster, was born in Dor- 
chester, Massachusetts, November 18, 1S37. His 
education began when he vcas about seven years 




c^^^^;^ ^, "U^^J^l^^ 





NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



21 



old, and attended Chatham Academy, at Savannah, 
Georgia, till he was seventeen years old. Subse- 
quently he attended Professor Barnes' Academy at 
Concord, obtaining a commercial education with 
Rodney G. Cutting. He began his business life 
with the hardware firm of jMoore, Cilly & Com- 
pany, where he remained a year. He then entered 
the employ of the Concord Railroad Corporation, 
assuming the duties of way-bill clerk, March 14, 
1857. In one month he was promoted to local 
freight cashier, filling that position till 1S6.2, when 
he was made chief clerk of the general freight office 
of the road. May I, 1865, he was appointed cashier 
of the Concord Railroad system, and retained that 
position until September, 1S89. He was appointed 
cashier of the Manchester & Lawrence railroad, 
August I, 1S67, and remained with that company 
until its absorption by the Boston & Maine rail- 
road. When the Concord railroad and the Boston 
Concord & Montreal railroad united, forming the 
Concord & Montreal, September, 1889, he was then 
elected treasurer, a position he has ever since held. 
Mr. Webster was elected as a Republican to the state 
legislature in 1889, representing ward 4, and serving 
as chairman of the finance committee. Besides be- 
ing treasurer of the Concord & Montreal railroad, 
Mr. Webster fills a similar position for the Mount 
Washington Railway Company, the Nashua Acton 
& Boston railroad. New Boston railroad, and is 
assistant treasurer of the Boston & Maine rail- 
road. Mr. Webster is a trustee of the Loan & 
Trust Savings Bank and a director in the Me- 
chanics' National Bank. Mr. Webster became a 
Mason in the year 1866, and is now a thirty-third 
degree member in that order. He has held almost 
every office in the gift of his jurisdiction, and is 
one of the most prominent members of the Masonic 
fraternity in tlie Granite state. 

June 18, 1856, Mr. Webster married Mary J. 
Cutting, daughter of Gilman and Eliza (Davidson) 
Cutting,' of Concord. She was born September 10, 
1837, and died November 23, 1893. The children of 
this marriage are : Jennie Margaret, born October 
20, 1857, married Edward E. Brown, of Concord, 
superintendent of the William B. Durgin Silverware 
Manufacturing Company. She died January 16, 
1905. Clara H., born July 24, 1850, married Joseph 
Swett Matthews, a native of Franklin, now an at- 
torney in Concord. Jessie Marion, born NovL-mber 
13, 1865, single, at home. Frances May, born No- 
vember 9, 1867, married Frederick L. Richardson, 
of Concord, clerk in the Manchester Savings Bank. 
All the daughters are graduates of the Concord 
schools. Mr. Webster married (second), February 
6, 1897, Stella Hutchinson, of Manchester, daughter 
of Hubbard and Phebe (Webster) Hutchinson, of 
Merrimack, New Hampshire. That Mr. Webster 
has served one corporation and its successors con- 
tinuously for almost half a century, and has risen 
step by step to his present place of responsibility 
and trust, leaves no occasion for comment on his 
ability as an officer and his integrity as a man. 

(IV) Josiah, second son of John and Abiah 
(Shaw) Webster, was born April 2, 1706. His twin 
sister died soon after they were born. He resided 
in Rye, New Hampshire, where he died March 11, 
1764, in his fifty-eighth year. He was married Sep- 
tember 21, 1738, to Patty Goss, given in the vital 
records of New Hampshire as Martha Goss. She 
was born September 9. 1714, daughter of Richard 
and Martha Goss, one of the first settlers of Green- 
land, New Hampshire. She died November iS, 
1798, having survived her husband nearly thirty- 
five years. Their cliildrcn were: John (died young), 



Elizabeth, Abiah, Sarah, Josiah (died young), John, 
Richard, Martha and Josiah. 

(V) Richard, fourth son and seventh child of 
Josiah and Martha or Patty (Goss) Webster, was 
born January I, 1754, in Rye, and died in that town, 
January 16, 1836. He was a soldier of the Revo- 
lutionary war, and served under Captain Parker 
at Fort Sullivan, and Captain Parsons in Rhode 
Island. He was also engaged in several privateer- 
ing cruises. He was married October 29, 1778, to 
Elizabeth Randall, who died March 14, 1826, at the 
age of seventy-one years. Their children were : 
Betsy, Abigail, Martha, Sarah, Hannah, Olive, Rich- 
ard and Mark Randall. 

(VI) Richard (2), elder son and seventh child 
of Richard (l) and Elizabeth (Randall) Webster, 
was born October 6, 1788, in Rye, and resided in 
Epsom and Rye. He was a shoemaker by occupa- 
tion, and after working at his trade some time in 
Epsom returned to Rye, but had taught school in 
Rye previous to his going to Epsom. He also en- 
gaged in farming in Rye, in which he was successful 
and continued until shortly before his death, which 
occurred November l, 1856, in Portsmouth. He was 
married in 1813, to Mary Philbrick, who was born 
February 5, 1792, in Rye, daughter of Joses and 
Sarah (Smith) Philbrick, of that town. Their chil- 
dren were; Daniel, Roswell, Mary, Sarah Ann, 
Ursula, Benjamin F.. David S., Richard, Emily J., 
John P. 

(VII) Benjamin Franklin, third son and sixth 
child of Richard (2) and Mary or Polly (Philbrick) 
Webster, was born September 7, 1824, _ in Epsom, 
New Hampshire, and received his primary edu- 
cation in the public schools of that town. He was 
also a student at Pembroke and in Rye.- At the age 
of seventeen years he went to Portsmouth and was 
employed by Benjamin Norton as an apprentice to 
the carpenter's trade. He was a ship joiner for 
several years and since then has been engaged in 
building operations in Portsmouth. Through his 
perseverance and great industry, coupled with upright 
business methods, he has been prosperous down to 
the present time. His operations have included the 
erection of the following notable buildings : The 
Kearsarge house, the Cabot street school hou';e, re- 
modeled three churches, also built many residences. 
Mr. Webster partakes of the characteristics for 
which his long line of ancestry has been noted, and 
is a progressive and useful citizen of his home town. 
He is frequently called upon to fill official positions, and 
has served as ward clerk and assessor. In politics, he 
is an ardent and enthusiastic Republican. He is a 
valued member of the Masonic fraternity, in which 
he has attained the thirty-second degree. He was 
married, January 2, 1849, to Sarah A. Senter, and 
they have a son and daughter, Merit V. and Stella 
C. Webster. 

(IV) John (2), third son and fourth child of 
John (i) and Abiah (Shaw) Webster, was born 
February 10, 1712, in Hampton, and settled in Hamp- . 
stead. New Hampshire, where he died February 11, 
1780. His wife was Elizabeth Lunt, who survived 
him and passed away September 9, 1785, in her 
seventy-si.xth year. Their children were : Elizabeth, 
John, Mary, Ann and Caleb. 

(V) Mary, second daughter and third child of 
John and Elizabeth (Lunt) Webster, was born 
March 20, 1747, and became the wife of Moody 
Chase. (See Chase, VIII). 

(IV) Thomas- (3), fourth son and fifth child of 
John and Abiah (Shaw) Webster, was born July 
I, 1715, in Hampton, and settled in Haverhill, Mass- 
achusetts. The poll lists of that town show him to 



22 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



have been a resident of the west parish in 1745. He 
was on the alarm list for the French and Indian 
war, which was established April 14, 1757, and was 
deacon of the church from 1771 to 1782. 

(V) Thomas (4), son of Thomas (3) Webster, 
was born in August, 1767, in Haverhill, where he 
read medicine with Dr. Brickett, and began practice 
in 1790. Three years later he moved to Warner, 
New Hampshire, where he continued in practice 
for a period of seventeen years, with gratifying suc- 
cess, and endeared himiself to the people. In 1810 
he removed to Sanbornton, this state, and was 
noted there for his success in healing, though his 
career was soon cut off by death. An epidemic of 
spotted fever raged through the state in 1813, and 
Dr. Webster was noted as having lost not a single 
case of the disease treated by him, though he fell 
a victim to its ravages. While visiting patients at 
Laconia he was stricken, and died there within 
forty hours of the attack, August 8, 1813. Thus was 
a most brilliant career suddenly closed, and the state 
sustained a great loss. His wife, Sarah West, of 
Haverhill, Massachusetts, died April 3, 1830, in 
Claremont, this state. Their children are noted as 
follows : Thomas, lived and died in Sanbornton. 
William West, died in Windsor, Vermont. Sarah, 
became the wife of John Hitchcock, and died in 
Hanover, New Hampshire. Pamelia, married a 
man named Marsh, and resided in the West. Edvrin, 
died young. Arthur settled in Minnesota, where he 
died. Charles Henry, died at Center Harbor, this 
state. Mary S. 

(VI) Mary S., youngest child of Dr. Thomas 
(4) and Sarah (West) Webster, was born July 20, 
1807, in Warner, and was married November 12, 
1840, to John Tyler, of Claremont. (See Tyler, 
VII). 

(Second Family). 

Not all the Websters in New Eng- 
WEBSTER land are of one stock, though all are 

of good stock. The present line, 
which descends from John of Ipswich, has furnished 
many good rjen of local prominence in pioneer days 
and later times, several of them being college grad- 
uates. This line was united with the family of the 
ancestor of Hon. Daniel, in the seventh generation, 
by the marriage of Eliphalet K. Webster, of the line 
of John and Emily Webster of the progeny of 
Thomas. 

(I) John Webster came from Ipswich, Suffolk 
county, England, to Ipswich, Jilassachusetts, where 
he was made a freeman in 1635. He died about 
the year 1646, and his family afterward removed 
to Newbury. His wife was Mary Shatswell. They 
had four sons and four daughters, as follows : !Mary, 
John, born 1633 ; Hannah, Abigail, Stephen, Eliza- 
beth, Israel and Nathan. On October 29, 1650, John 
Webster's widow married John Emery, of Newbury, 
and she died April 28, 1694. (Mention of Stephen 
and Nathan and descendants forms part of this 
article). 

(II) Stephen, second son and fifth child of John 
and Mary (Shatswell) Webster, was born about 
1637-39, ill Ipswich, and was a tailor, residing in 
Haverhill, Massachusetts, where he took the free- 
man's oath, in 1668, and died August 10, 1694. He 
first settled in Newbury and moved thence to Haver- 
hill in 1653. He was married, March 24, 1663. in 
Haverhill, to Hannah Ayer, who died June 2, 1676. 
He married (second), May 26, 1678, Widow Judith 
Broad. His children, all born of the first wife, were: 
Hannah, John, Mary, Stephen, Nathan and Abigail. 
(Mention of Stephen and descendants appears in 
this article). 



(III) John (2), eldest son and second child of 
Stephen and Hannah (Ayer) Webster, was born 
March 15, 1668, in Haverhill, and died in 1742. He 
was married, June 14, 1693, to Triphena Locke, and 
the Haverhill records give him ten children. 

(IV) Stephen (2), son of John (2) and Tri- 
phena (Locke) Webster, was born June i, 1698, 
and was married February 21, 1722, to Abigail 
Berry. 

(V) Stephen (3), son of Stephen (2) and Abi- 
gail (Berry) Webster, was born March 3, 1731, 
was married February 28, 1754, to Susanna Ladd, 
and died March 2, 1803. 

(VI) Stephen (4), son of Stephen (3) and Su- 
sanna (Ladd) Webster, was born March 15, 1758, 
and was married April 15, 1779, to Chloe Wheeler, 
who was born November 28, 1760. 

(VII) Atkinson, son of Stephen (4) and Chloe 
(Wheeler) Webster, receives mention elsewhere 
(see Wyman, VIII). 

(III) Stephen (2). fourth child and second son 
of Stephen (l) and Hannah (Ayer) Webster, was 
born in Haverhill, January i, 1672, and died March 
9, 1748, aged seventy-si.x. He was one of eigfht men 
in the garrison of Johii Webster, March, 1690. He 
married Widow Mary Cook, and they had six chil- 
dren : Samuel, John, Stephen, William, Ebenezer 
and Mary. 

(IV) Ebenezer, fifth son and child of Stephen 
(2) and Mary (Cook) Webster, was born Septem- 
ber 20, 171 1. He married Mehitable Kimball, of 
Bradford, Massachusetts, and they were the parents 
of Lydia, Isaac, Mary, Ebenezer, Jonathan, Stephen, 
Moses and John. (Mention of Ebenezer and descend- 
ants forms part of this article.) 

(V) Isaac, eldest son of Ebenezer (l) and Me- 
hitable (Kimball) Webster, was born in 1740. He 
also served in the revolutionary war. He married 
Lydia Woodbury and had children: Phineas, see 
forward; Jonathan and Kimball. 

(VD Captain Phineas, son of Isaac and Lydia 
(Woodbury) Webster, was born March 4, 1775, 
and died September 11, 1858. He was captain of a 
company during the war of 1812. He married, 
1797, Hannah Hazelton, who died October 4, i860. 
Their children were : Jesse, see forward ; James, 
Alfred, Moses, Lydia, Caroline and Isaac. 

(VII) Jesse, eldest child of Captain Phineas and 
Hannah (Hazelton) Webster, was born in Atkinson, 
New Hampshire; February 14, 1798, and died May 
iS, 1845. He was a carriage builder for many years 
at Derry, and for twelve years prior to his death 
was engaged in farming. He was educated in the 
district school and at Major Dudley's military school 
at Windham. He became a private in the Sixth 
Company, Eighth Regiment, New Hampshire Mili- 
tia, commanded by Colonel Samuel Richardson, and 
was appointed sergeant August I, 1817; was ad- 
vanced to a lieutenancy April 25, 1S20: to a cap- 
taincy June 2, 1820, by Governor Samuel Bell. He 
served until November 18, 1824, and then resigned. 
He was a member of the Presbyterian Church, and 
for a number of years served as an elder. He mar- 
ried, November 28, 1823, Betsy Wilson, born in 
Pelham, December 16. 1798, died February 4, 1874. 
She was a daughter of Benjamin Wilson, a lineal de- 
scendant of John Wilson, the first minister of Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts. The children of this marriage 
were: i. George .Mfred, died young. 2. Ann 
Elizabeth, also died young. 3. Caroline Elizabeth, 
see forward. 4. Lydia Ann, born August 19, 183 1, 
died February 9, 1862, was a successful school teach- 
er. 5. Otis B., born January 3, 1834. died in Ches- 
ter, New Hampshire, January 26, 1862. He w-as 
graduated from Princeton College in 1859, entered 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



^Z 



the Princeton Theological Seminary in i86r, and 
died the following year. 

(VIII) Caroline Elizabeth, third child and sec- 
ond daughter of Captain Jesse and Betsy (Wilson) 
Webster, was born in Derry, May 19, 1829. She was 
educated in the public schools and in Adams Fe- 
male Academy, from which latter institution she was 
graduated September 24, 1844. She was engaged in 
teaching during the following six years, and taught 
in District No. 9, where her mother had taught, and 
where her daughter Annie subsequently taught. She 
married. May 19, 1853, Nathan Spalding Morse, born 
in Orange, March 30, 1830, died in Chester, October 
23, igo2. He was educated in the schools of Chester 
and at the Pembroke Academy. He was an- auc- 
tioneer and a dealer in real estate and resided in 
Chester. In politics he was a Democrat, and for 
twenty years was moderator of the annual town 
meetings. Mr. and Mrs. Morse had five children: i. 
Roger Spalding, born May 23, 1855. died at Fitch- 
burg, Massachusetts, March 17, 1876. 2. Lawrence 
L., born July 10, 1856, died March 28, igo6. 3. Car- 
rie. 4. Morris W., born November 12. 1S64. He 
was graduated from Dartmouth College in 1887. and 
from the Hartford Theological School in 1890. At 
Hartford he won the Welt fellowship, which enabled 
him to attend theological lectures at the University 
of Leipsic, Germany, for two years, following his 
graduation. Returning to America, he preached at 
Hollister, California, two years; Crete, Nebraska, 
five years ; Ferndale, Washington, five years ; then 
at W'ilbur; and later at Ilwaco. Washington. He 
married in Orange, California, July 15, 1890, Laura 
M. Blasdale, daughter of Dr. Charles and Julia Dick- 
inson Smith, They have children: Annie Mabel, 
Marion and Walter. 5. Annie L., born August 12, 
i866, was educated in the public schools and Mount 
Holyoke Female Seminary, where she attended 
1883-85. She taught school for two yeari in and in 
the vicinity of Derry. She married. May 7. 1894, in 
Haverhill, Massachusetts, Charles Adams Sprague, 
of that city, and since 1898 they have resided in 
Derry. They have children : Daniel L., and Roger 
Edmund. 

(V) Ebenezer (2), fourth child and second son 
of Ebenezer (i) and Mchitable (Kimball) Webster, 
was born in Haverhill, Massachusetts, February i, 
1744. and died in Pelham, New Hampshire, March 
13, 1823, aged seventy-nine years. He was, like 
his ancestors, a farmer, and settled first in London- 
derry, New Hampshire, wdiere he passed most of his 
life, an industrious and respected ci.tizen. He was 
married three times, (first) No.vember 29, 1770, to 
Rebecca Baldwin; whose children were: Sarah, 
Ebenezer and Rebecca; (second) December 31, 1775. 
lo Martha Barker; (third) to Elizabeth Bradford, 
of Beverly, Massachusetts, born September 6, 1755, 
uIio died in Amherst, New Hampshire, March 27, 
iS4i. They were married in Salem, October 13, 
1778. by Rev. Abner Bayley, and had children born 
to them as follows : Ro.xana, Betsey, Asa, John, 
Nancy, Sully, Rebecca, Mary, Catherine, William G., 
Heriot (or Harriet) and lienjamin. (Mention of 
William G. and descendants forms part of this ar- 
ticle). 

(VI) John (2), son of Ebenezer (2) and 
Elizabeth (Bradford) Webster, was born in Pelham, 
December 25, 1791. and died March i, 1883, aged 
ninety-one years and two months. He lived on the 
paternal homestead in Pelham, excepting one year in 
Meredith, and one in Hudson (formerly Nottingham 
West),- until 1841, when he sold his farm in Pel- 
hawi and bought one in Amherst, where he resided 
until 184(1, when he returned to Hudson, and buy- 



ing a farm on Bush Hill, lived there twenty years ; 
then resided with his daughters, Sally Titcomb and 
Lov'isa Baker, until his death, which occurred at the 
residence of the latter in the town of Hudson. He 
was drafted in the war of 1812, and served in Cap- 
tain Haynes' company of New Hampshire militia 
at Portsmouth. From February 14, 1871. until his 
death he received from the United States a pension 
for his services, Mr, Webster was an energetic 
and industrious man, a quiet citizen who abided by 
the law, did his duty in every position, and for many 
years was univer.-^ally called "Honest John Web- 
ster." He married, August 22, 1815, Hannah Cum- 
mings, of Nottingham West, who was born in Not- 
tingham, .\ugust 4, 1794, and died in Hudson, Feb- 
ruary 3, 1871. She was the daughter of Eleazer and 
Sarah (Hale) Cummings and great-granddaughter 
of Deacon Henry and Mary Hale. Mr. Cummings 
was a farmer and taught school and singing school. 
His wife was born April 20. 1767, and died May 7, 
1852, aged eighty-five years. She was a woman re- 
markable for physical strength and endurance. While 
her husband was absent engaged in teaching, she 
performed her household duties and also took charge 
of a herd of cattle. She was a member of the Con- 
gregational Church, and made her Christianity apart 
of her daily life. Mrs. Hannah (Cummings) Web- 
ster first became a member of the Congregational 
Church in Pelham, and during her residence at other 
places was a member of the other churches of the 
same denomination, in all of which she was a highly 
esteemed sister. The thirteen children of John 
and Hannah (Cummings) Webster were: Eliza- 
beth B., Moses, Sally Hale, Eleazer C, Lovisa N., 
Lucv Ann, Kimball, Hannah J., John C., Nathan P.. 
Willard H., Milton E. and Orrin P. 

(VII) Kimball, seventh child and third son of 
John and Hannaii (Cummings) Webster, was born 
in Pelham, November 2, 1828, and educated in the 
common schools of Pelham and H-iidson., He grew 
up a farmer boy inured by hard work and prepared 
for the toil and labor that has since befallen him. 
In April. 1849, six months before attaining his ma- 
jority, he heard of the great gold discovery at Sut- 
ter's Fort, now Sacramento. California, and at once 
set out for the Pacific slope. He left home April 
17, 1849, and went to Independence, Missouri, where 
he outfitted, and with a company of about twenty- 
eight persons went by horses and pack mules over 
the trail to California, arriving at Sacramento Val- 
ley, California, in the month of October, after spend- 
ing six months on the trail and experiencing wdiat 
ica. He engaged in mining on the Feather and Yuba 
it is impossible for any traveler to experience today 
anywhere in the Union, or hardly in North Amer- 
rivcrs, and in June, 1851, went to Oregon City, and 
was deputy surveyor on government surveys in 
the Willamette and Umpqua valleys. After passing 
two years in California and nearly four in Oregon, 
he returned to the states in the fall of 1854 by the 
Isthmus of Panama, arriving at home in the fall 
of 1854. In 1855 he was employed as a surveyor 
on the line of the Hannibal &' St. Joseph railroad 
in Missouri. In 1855 he returned to New Hamp- 
shire, and in 1858 resided in Vinal Haven, Maine. 
Since that time he has been a resident of Hudson, 
New Hampshire, where he owns and occupies a 
portion of the land which his great-grandfather, 
Eleazer Cummings, bought in 1728. He is a surveyor 
of long experience and has a wide reputation, being 
one of the most accurate and reliable in the county. 
In politics he is a Democrat, and has been a leader 
of the minority party in his town and county for 
many years, and when a candidate for office has 



24 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



usually polled more than the' p&tiy vote. In 
1901-02 he was a member of the legislature and 
served on the committee on appropriations, and dur- 
ing the famous Northfield-Tilton case he was a 
member of the committee having it in charge; the 
case was an important one, and was long and stub- 
bornly fought. He was a selectman four years, and 
three years of that time was chairman of the board. 
In 1S59 he was made justice of the peace, and has 
held tliat office ever since. His interest in the past 
in promoting the use of the best methods of agri- 
culture, and a desire to see the farrner obtain the 
greatest possible reward for his toil made him 
from the time of its establishment an industrious 
worker for the promotion of the effectiveness of 
the Grange movement. He was the first petitioner 
for the establishment of a grange in Hudson, and 
upon the estabHshment of Hudson Grange, No. ir, 
of the Order of Patrons of Husbandry, December 
8, 1873. he' was chosen its presiding officer, and filled 
that place three years. He was one of the few who 
organized the New Hampshire State Grange, De- 
cember 23, 1873, and also Hillsborough County 
Council. March 4, 1874, of which he was master 
two years, and secretary from December, 1876, until 
the organization, April 17, 1883, of its successor, 
Hillsborough County Pomona Grange, when he was 
made secretary of that liody and continued to hold 
tliat office until about 1888. His intelligence and ac- 
tivity have made him a useful and valued member 
of this order. Mr. Webster is a member of Rising 
Sun Lodge, No. 39, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Nashua, which he joined in 1869. 

His interest in historical matters and ancient 
landmarks is lifelong, and has grown stronger with 
the lapse of years. He has done much to preserve 
the latter by carefully drawn and creditable copies 
of niany of the much \vorn and injured plats of 
lands, ancient grants, etc., in Old Dunstable. At 
the present, time (1907) he is at work on a history 
of Nottingham and Nottingham West, now Hud- 
son. He has been president of the Cummings fam- 
ily reunion for the past twenty-six years, and which 
are held on the Merrimack River banks, opposite 
his home. Mr. Webster has marked the spots 
where the Blodgett and Hill's garrisons were locat- 
ed, with large bowlders, which bear the following 
inscriptions: "Hill's, the first settlement of Hud- 
son, was about 1770. Nathaniel Hills, April 12, 
1748, aged sixty-five years. Henry plills, died 
August 20. 1757, aged sixty-nine: erected in 1901." 

"Blodgett. Joseph and Dorothy Blodgett; their 
eldest son, Joseph, born here February 9, 1718. being 
the first white child born in the town ; erected 1904." 

He is a quiet, mild mannered man, remarkable 
for his energy and executive ability. These qual- 
ities have attracted to him many friends who' have 
known him from his youth and now honor him in 
his age. He has always been regarded as a safe 
and honest man whose wisdom and judgment were 
relialile, and a worthy type of the intelligent New 
England farmer. 

He married, January 29, 1857, in Hudson, Abiah 
Cutter, who was born in Pelham, February i, 1837, 
daughter of Seth and Deborah (Gage) Cutter, of 
Pelham. Ten children have been born to them as 
follows: Lizzie Jane, January 11, 1858; Ella Frances, 
August 19, 1859; Kimball C. and James (twins), June 
26, 1861 ; Kimball C. died August 22, 1861, and 
James on day of birth; Eliza Ball, July 14, 1862; 
Latina Ray, July 26. 1865, died November 12, 1887; 
Julia Anna, October 26, 1867; Mary Newton, Au- 
gust 9, 1S69; twins, male and female, who died 
at birth. 



(VI) William G., ninth child and second son of 
Ebenezer and Elizabeth (Bradford) Webster, was 
born in Londonderry, August 20, 1803. He was a 
tinner and resided in Dover, New Hampshire. Wil- 
liam G. Webster and Hannah J. Foss, both of Dover, 
were married by Rev. Benjamin P. Hoyt, of Dover, 
May 15, 1828. Their children were: George. Eliza- 
beth, who married and died in East Boston. Harriet 
who married Cyrus Littlefield of Dover. Helen, 
deceased. Olive, deceased. Charles E., who served 
in the Civil war four years, resided at Boston, and 
is now deceased. Benjamin K., whose sketch fol- 
lows. 

(VII) Benjamin Kimball, third son of William 
G. and Hannah J. (Foss) Webster, was born in 
Dover. April 21, 1839, and educated in the public 
schools. He learned his father's trade and was as- 
sociated in business for a time with his uncle, Dan- 
iel K. Webster, in Dover. In 1868, he took charge 
of the Varney tannery of Dover. He enlisted at 
Dover as a private August 18, 1862, and was mus- 
tered into the United States service as a private in 
Company K, Eleventh New Hampshire Volunteer 
Infantry, September 21, 1862, and was later appoint- 
ed corporal and subsequently -sergeant. He was nnis- 
tered out June 4, 1865, after having campaigned in 
Alaryland, Virginia, Kentucky, Mississippi and Ten- 
nessee, and participated in the battles of Fredericks- 
burg, Vi(.1<sburg, the Wilderness and Cold, Harbor. 
He participated in seventeen important battles of the 
war. After his return to New Hampshire he worked 
at his trade for a time and then engaged in fanning 
on North Main street. Wolf borough, which he car- 
ried on until 1906, when he sold his one-half inter- 
est in the farm to his son-in-law. John Frank Good- 
win, a prominent contractor and builder. Mr. Web- 
ster's place commands a fine view of Lake Winne- 
pesaukee and the mountains and has been a favorite 
with many wJio have spent summer vacations there. 
He ran a boarding house several years, accommodat- 
ing thirty or forty guests from the city of New York, 
Boston and other cities. Mr. Webster is a member 
of James R. Newell Post, No. 61, Grand Army of 
the Republic, of Wolfborough, of which he was a 
charter member. He married (first), at Wolfboro, 
in 1870, Emma C. Libby, who was .born in 1840, 
daughter of Dudley and Sarah A. Libby, of Wolf- 
boro. She died October 7, 1875. He married (sec- 
ond) Eliza C. Wiggin, who was born July 15, 1849, 
daughter of James M. and Caroline (Wiggin) Wig- 
gin, (see Wiggin 11.) of Tuftonborough. They have 
one daughter. Helen C, who was born in Wolf- 
borough, January. 1881. She graduated in 1889. 
from Brewster Free Academy, and June, 1906, mar- 
ried J. Frank Goodwin. They reside on the old 
homestead. 

(II) Nathan, youngest child of John and Mary 
(Shatswell) Webster, was born in Ipswich. Massa- 
chusetts, in 1646. He settled in Bradford, where he 
died in May, 1694. He was married June 30, 1673, 
to Mary Hazeltine. born December 9, 1648, daugh- 
ter of John Hazeltine, of Haverhill. She was ad- 
mitted to Bradford Church from Haverhill in 1682. 
Their children were: John, Mary, Nathan, Joaiina, 
Abigail. Israel, and Samuel. Joanna married Rich- 
ard Bailey (see Bailey, III). 

(III) Nathan (2), eldest of the. three children 
of Nathan (i) and Mary (Hazeltine) Webster, was 
born March 7, 1679, and was one of the proprietors 
of Chester. New Hampshire. He removed to that 
place about 1729 and owned two home lots, Nos. 
71 and y2. and resided on 72. That Nathan Web- 
ster was a man of ability and standing, and an active, 
efficient and highly respected member of the church. 



^c 




NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



•^0 



is evident from "the fact that the record shows him 
to have been chosen selectman in 1729-38-42-50-51- 
57-61-63-66-70-71. At a town meeting in August, 
1739, "Voted that Capt. Sam Ingalls, mr Nathan 
Webster, and mr John Taltord Shall be a Commit- 
tee to take bonds of the Inhabitants of Rumford 
(now Concord") for the making and maintaining a 
good soficient Roads for Passing Massibeecik Pond 
towards their town, agreeable to their proposals 
made to us, and to Enter into bonds to them to make 
and maintain one on this side, and over the said 
pond, as good." 

At the town meeting held January 13, 1730, he 
was appointed on a committee "to treat \vith the 
Rev. Mr. Moses Hale, and to acquaint him with what 
ye town hath done, and to invite him into the work 
of ye Ministry among us in Chester." He was sub- 
sequently twice appointed on committees for sim- 
ilar purposes, and was a member of the committee 
appointed to build the meeting-house. 

By his first wife, Martha, Nathan Webster had 
the following named children : Daniel. Nathan, 
Stephen, (founder of the Webster family of Plym- 
outh, New Hampshire, mentioned at length here- 
inafter). Abel and Mary. He was married (second) 
August 3, 173S, to Mary (Stevens) Godfrey, whose 
first husband was Thomas Sargent, and her second 
Peter Godfrey. She was a daughter of Deacon 
Thomas and Martha (Bartlett) Stevens, of Ames- 
bury, and survived her third husband several years, 
dying !May 24, 1766. (Stephen and descendants 
receive mention in this article.) 

(IV) Nathan (3), second_^ child and son of Na- 
than (2) and Mary Webster' was born in Chester, 
July I, 1715, died 1794. He was a farmer and lived 
on house lot No. 117. In the year 1764 he was one 
of the three chosen by the town as a committee to 
settle about highways in Raymond and make return. 
He signed the association test in 1776. Chase's 
"History of Chester" states that, "At the Septem- 
ber term of the Superior Court, 1771, Andrew Jack. 
Nathan Webster and John Robie, the selectmen of 
Chester, were indicted because Chester, having more 
than 100 families, had no grammar school. At the 
March term, 1772, Jack and Webster were tried and 
fined £10, and cost taxed at £7, 12s. 4d." 

This does not imply that Nathan Webster, the 
ancestor of many college graduates, living in a 
communit>' now so intelligent, was opposed to the 
oittlay of money for the support of schools. On 
the contrary, the financial conditions were such 
that the men of that communitv did not feel able to 
bear the burden of schools, and had voted to secure 
the selectmen from fine for failing to act. He mar- 
ried, February 10, 1742. Martha Blasdell, and they 
had eleven children, all but two of whom died 
young. Those who grew up and had families 
were : Nathan and Moses. 

(V) Nathan (4), third child of Nathan (3) and 
Martha (Blasdell) Webster, was born in Chester, 
November 19, 1747, and resided on the old home- 
stead. He married. May 8, 1771. Elizabeth, daughter 
of Isaac and Sarah (Healy) Clifford, of Candia. 
and granddaughter of William Healy. Isaac Clif- 
ford was the son of Samuel Clifford, of Kingston, 
and Martha Healy, his wife, was the daughter of 
William and Mary (Sanborn") Healy, formerly of 
Hampton Falls. The ten children of Nathan and 
Elizabeth Webster were : Josiah. Sarah. Mary, John 
Ordway, Nathan, Elizabeth, Martha, Huldy, Susanna 
and FTannah. (Mention of Nathan (s) and descend- 
ants appears later.) 

(VI) Rev. Josiah, eldest child of Nathan (4) 
and Elizabeth (Clifford) Webster, was born in Ches- 
ter, January 16, 1772. and died March 27, 1837. He 



graduated from Dartmouth College in 1798, studied 
theology with Rev, Stephen Peabody, of Atkinson, 
was ordained pastor of the South Congregational 
Church of Ipswich (Chebacco), 1799; dismissed, 
1S06: installed June 8, 1S08, at Hampton, where he 
remained till his death. He married. December 2, 
1799, Elizabeth Knight, born June 11, 1771, daugh- 
ter of Eliphalet and Martha (Webster) Knight, of 
Atkinson. She died April 9, 1849. Their children 
were: Eliphalet Knight, Josiah, Elizabeth Clifford 
(died young), John Calvin, Joseph Dana. Eliza- 
beth Knight and Claudius Buchanan. John Calvin 
graduated at Dartmouth in 1832; Joseph Dana, 
1S32, and Claudius Buchanan, 1836. 

(VII) Eliphalet Knight Webster, M. D., eldest 
child of Rev. Josiah and Elizabeth (Knight) Web- 
ster, was born in Esse.x, Massachusetts, May 3. 1S02, 
and died in Pittsfield, New Hampshire, November 
9, 1881. He received his medical education at Dart- 
mouth College, practiced medicine in Litchfield, Xew 
Hampshire, for a short time; in Hill from 1S33 to 
1844, and from 1844 to 1870 in_ Boscawen. Dr. 
Webster was a prominent man in his profession, and 
was once president of the New Hampshire Medical 
Society. He was active in politics and held the 
office of postmaster in Boscawen. In religion he 
was a Congregationalist, and a loyal supporter of 
the church. He was married August, 1833, to Emily 
Webster, daughter of Colonel Ebenezer Webster, of 
Hill, New Hampshire, and his wife, Sarah, young- 
est sister of Hon. Daniel Webster. (See Webster, 
first family, "V.) Emily Webster was born Febru- 
ary 12, 1809, and died October 19, 1882, at Pitts- 
field. They had four children: Daniel Dana, Sarah 
Elizabeth. "Emily Maria and Edward Knight, 

(VIII) Edward Knight, youngest child of Dr. 
Eliphalet K. and Emily (Webster) Webster, was 
born in Boscawen, August 5, 1848, He was educa- 
ted in the public schools of Boscawen and at Pem- 
broke Academy, and Putnam School, Newburyport, 
Massachusetts, and was a bookkeeper for a com- 
mercial house for a time. In 1872 he engaged in the 
drug business at Pittsfield, which he carried on suc- 
cessfully for twenty years. He is a member of the 
Episcopal Church, and in politics is a Democrat. 
He has held several town offices, was trustee of 
Pittsfield Public Library six years, member of the 
constitutional convention, 1900, and was deputy 
sheriff for Merrimack county for eight years. He 
was made a Knight of Pythias October 15. 1874, 
becoming a charter member of Norris Lodge, No. 16, 
of Pittsfield, was elected keeper of the records and 
seal at its institution, and afterward filled the 
several chairs, and became past chancellor October 
24, 1S83.' He took the Grand Lodge Rank, February 
7. 1S84, and was elected grand outer guard at that 
time. He was made grand master-at-arms, 1885 ; 
grand vice-chancellor, 1886; grand chancellor, 1887: 
elected supreme representative, June 12, 1889; and 
became a member of the Supreme Lodge, August. 
T890, at IMilwaukee, Wisconsin. October 2, 1901, 
was elected grand keeper of records and seal at the 
convention of the Grand Lodge of New Hampshire, 
held at Franklin, and has been re-elected at each an- 
nual convention since that time. He was commis- 
sioned assistant commissary general, with the rank 
of colonel, on the staff of Brigadier-General C. P.. 
Hoyt, commanding the New Hampshire brigade, uni- 
form rank, Knights of Pythias, and held that posi- 
tion until 1905, and was then commissioned colonel 
and assistant adjutant-general on the staff of Briga- 
dier-General Orman T, Lougee, A company of the 
uniform rank. Knights of Pythias, was formed in 
Pittsfield in 1896, and named Edward K, Webster 
Company, No. 16, in his honor. In November, 1905, 



26 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Mr. Webster took up his residence at Concord, 
where the office of the grand keeper of records and 
seal is maintained. 

(IV) Stephen, third son and child of Nathan 
(2) and Martha Webster, was born February 18, 
1718, in Chester, resided for a time in Candia, and 
later in Hollis, where he was selectman in 1762-63- 
65. By purchase of the right of one of the grantees 
of Plymouth, this state, he became a proprietor of 
that town, where he settled about 1765. He was an 
intelligent and useful citizen, and acted as teacher 
in the early schools of the frontier settlement. He 
died in 1798. He married Rachel Stevens, of Ames- 
bury, Massachusetts, probably a daughter of Samuel 
and Rachel (Heath) Stevens, of Amesbury. She 
was admitted to the church there Januai-y 14, 1728, 
was dismissed to the church in Chester, May 10, 
17.39, and died January 3, 1754. Mr. Webster mar- 
ried (second) Sarah, widow of Daniel Clough, of 
Kingston, and daughter of William and Elizabeth 
(Heard) Baker, of Salisbury. The first wife was 
the mother of five children, and the second of two, 
namely : David, Stephen, Lydia, Sarah, Amos, Daniel 
Clough and Rachel. (Mention of Stephen and de- 
scendants follows in this article). 

(V) David, eldest child of Stephen Webster 
and his first wife, Rachel Stevens, was born De- 
cember 12, 1738. He wr.s a colonel and rendered 
conspicuous service in the Revolution. After his 
marriage he- lived for one year in Hollis, New 
Hampshire, but moved to Plymouth in November, 
1764, where he became prominent in town affairs, 
and served as sheriff of Grafton county for many 
years. He was twice married, but his children were 
all by his first wife. On April 20, 1761, Colonel 
David Webster married his step-mother's daughter, 
Elizabeth Clough, daughter of Daniel and Sarah 
(Baker) Clough, who was born in Kingston, New 
Hampshire. September 23, 1745. They had twelve 
children: Sarah, David, mentioned below; Eliphalet' 
William, Josiah, a son who died at birth, Elizabeth, 
menlioned below ; George Washington, Ralph, 
Sarah, a daughter who died at birth, and Walter 
Raleigh. Mrs. Webster died May 22, 1809, and on 
September 3 of that year Colonel Webster married 
Susanna Qiase. who was born in 1749, and died 
April 6, 1821. Colonel David Webster died May 8, 
1824. 

(VI) David (2), eldest son and second child of 
Colonel David and Elizabeth (Clough) Webster, 
was born at Hollis, New Hampshire, November 30, 
1763. The next year his parents moved to Plym- 
outh, where he lived till he was twenty-five years of 
age. From 1789 to 1799 his home was at Moulton- 
boro. New Hampshire, and for the succeeding seven- 
teen years at Haverhill, New Hampshire; but in 1816 
he returned to Plymouth where he lived till his 
death nearly thirty years later. He was an active 
man of ability and influence, and for several years 
was deputy sheriff. He owned two or three farms 
in Plymouth, and was largely engaged in the cultiva- 
tion of hops. He belonged to the state militia for 
some time, and was made captain on July 5, 1794. 
On November 18, 1785, David (2) Webster married 
his cousin, Lydia Cumraings. daughter of Samuel 
and Lydia (Webster) Cummings, and granddaugh- 
ter of Stephen Webster (IV). She was born Au- 
gust 31, 1769. They had thirteen children : David, 
Samuel Cummings, mentioned below; Eliza Clough, 
Lydia, Harriet, Susan Smith. Ralph. Arthur Liver- 
more, Mary Lawrence, Ann Maria, Jane Livermore, 
a daughter, who lived but a few weeks, and Eliza- 
beth Clough. Captain David (2) Webster died at 



Plymouth, June 4. 1844, and his widow died Septem- 
ber 2, 1865, aged ninety-six. 

(,VI) Elizabeth, second daughter and seventh 
child of Colonel David (i) Webster and his first 
wife, Elizabeth Clough, was born at Plymouth, New 
Hampshire, July 8, 1773, On December 23, 1790, 
she married Moor Russell, of Plymouth (see Rus- 
sell, V). 

(VII) Samuel Cummings, second son and child 
of Captain (2) and Lydia (Cummings) Webster, 
was born June 28, 1788. He was graduated from 
Dartmouth College in 1808, and was a lawyer at 
Plymouth, New Hampshire. He was a representa- 
tive to the state legislature in 1822-26-27-30-32, being 
speaker of the house' in 1830. He was a member of 
the governor's council in 1S31. In 1833 he was ap- 
pointed sheriff of Grafton county, and removed to 
Haverhill, New Hampshire, where he spent the last 
two years of his life. On May 5, 1816, Samuel Cum- 
mings Webster married his cousin, Catherine, second 
daughter and third child of Moor and Elizabeth 
(Webster) Russell, who was born at Haverhill, New 
Hampshire. May 28, 1797 (see Russell, V). They 
had ten children : 'Samuel Cummings, Dominicus, 
David Henrj^ Ann Eliza Gushing, Jeremiah Mason, 
Rufus Boliver. Catherine Cabot, Edward Gushing, 
Charles Carroll and Catherine Russell. Samuel C. 
Webster died at Haverhill, New Hampshire. July 21, 
1835, at the early age of forty-seven. In 1844 his 
widow married Joseph Edmonds, of Brooklyn, New 
York, who lived five years. She died in Plymouth, 
New Hampshire, September 24, 1880, at the age of 
eighty-three. 

(V) Stephen (2). second son and child of 
Stephen (i) and Rachel (Stevens) Webster, was 
born probably in Candia, New Hampshire, July 7, 
1 741. He moved from Candia to Plymouth, this 
state, where he was a pioneer settler in 1764, and a 
man of character and influence. On October 21, 
1762, Stephen Webster married Hannah Dolbeer, of 
Chester, New Hampshire, and they had eleven chil- 
dren: Sarah, married Samuel Heath; Lydia, mar- 
ried Nehemiah Phillips : Hannah, married Joshua 
Heath ; Polly, married Christopher Sargent : Peter, 
Moses, Luc.v. married Solomon Sanborn ; Stephen, 
married Pol'lv Fuller; Amos, David, mentioned be- 
low ; and Betsey, born April 30, 1782, married Joseph 
Fletcher, of Rumney (see Fletcher, VII). She died 
March 10. 1863, in Rumney. Of these children the 
eldest was born in Candia, and the other ten in 
Plymouth : and it is interesting to know that Lydia, 
the second child, born June 2, 1765, was the first in- 
fant of white parentage to see the light in the new 
settlement (Plymouth). Stephen (2) Webster died 
in 1 788, at the early age of forty-seven. 

(VI) David (2), fifth son and tenth child of 
Stephen (2) and Hannah (Dolbeer) Webster, was 
born July 6, 1779, at Plymouth, New Hampshire. 
He moved to the neighboring town of Rumney. 
where he reared a large family. He was converted 
to the Christian religion under the preaching of Rev. 
Lorenzo Dow, and joined the Baptist Church. The 
marriage intentions of David (2) Webster to Lucy 
Hutchins were published on January 21, 1S06, and 
they were married five days later. She was a woman 
of strong religious convictions, gave freely to mis- 
sions,, and kepi Fast Day in the early Puritan fash- 
ion. She early espoused the cause of the slave, and 
left a legacy to the Freedman's Bureau, David (2) 
and Lucy (Hutchins) Webster had nine children: 
George Webster, George Hutchins, Selomy, Dardana 
S., Emeline Mary and Adeline Martha (twins), 
David Peabody, Elizabeth Hutchins, and Nancy 
Hutchins, Three of these children, George W. and 




C. C. WEBSTER. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



27 



George H., the two eldest, and Dardana S., died in 
infancy, while Adeline Martha, one of the tw^ins, 
died October 27, 1821, during her seventeenth year; 
but of the five who lived to grow up, three attained 
to extraordinary longevity, and two are now living 
at present (1907). Seloiny, born April 23, 1809, 
married David W. Doe, and died November I, 1907, 
in her ninety-ninth year. Emeline Mao', born May 
I. 181S, married Ichabod Packard Hardy, and is now 
in her ninety-third year. (See Hardy, HI). Eliza- 
beth Hutchins. born April 8, 1S20, married David 
Hadley, of Manchester, and is now in her eighty- 
eighth year. It is doubtful if there is another trio 
of sisters in the state who can show such length of 
years. The youngest sister, Nancy Hutchins, born 
April 22. 1824, married John W. Peppard, of Runi- 
ney, and died in February, 1888, in her sixty-fourth 
year. David (2) Webster, the father, died at Rum- 
"ney. New Hampshire, May 12, 1841, in his sixty- 
second year. 

(VI) Nathan (5), fifth child of Nathan (4) and 
Elizabeth (Clifford) Webster, was born April 9, 
1780, and married Mary Simonds, daughter of 
Widow Simonds. who married Captain Pearson 
Richardson, of Chester. Captain Richardson had 
no children, and Mr. Webster became his protege 
and lived on his farm, where he died March 30, 1815. 
His widow subsequently married John L. Glidden, 
and died December 19, 1863. 

(VII) Nathaniel (6) Webster came from Lon- 
donderry to the eastern part of Manchester, settling 
near Lake Massabesic. Later he moved to the west- 
ern part of the town, near Gofi''s Falls, where he 
died in 1862-63, at the age of fifty-five years. His 
death was the result of exposure and hardship in 
the line of militan,- duty, as a member of the Ninth 
New Hampshire Regiment in the Civil war. His . 
wife, Martha ^Maria Corning, supposed to have been 
a native of Manchester, survived him many years, 
passing away in the spring of 1884. Their home 
was on the farm now occupied by their son's widow, 
near Goff's Falls. They were the parents of seven 
children, noted as follows : Eveline, the eldest, died 
before twenty years old. Caius C. is mentioned at 
length in the succeeding paragraph. Jane became 
the wife of George Durgin, and died in West Man- 
chester, in 1895. Ellen resides in Manchester. Abi- 
gail died in 1S67, unmarried. Josephine resides in 
Manchester. Plumer C, the youngest, is a citizen 
of Hcnniker. thi^ state. 

(VIII) Caius Cassius, second child and elder 
son of Nathaniel and Martha Maria (Corning) 
Webster, was born October 10.'' 1839, and died Oc- 
tober ID. 1897. on the farm in Manchester, near 
Goff's Falls. His education was supplied by the 
common schools of the neighborhood, and most of 
his life was devoted to agriculture. Soon after at- 
taining his majority he went to the defense of his 
country's honor, as a soldier in the Civil war. He 
enlisted August 13, 1862, in Company A. Tenth New 
Hampshire Infantry, and served in the Army of the 
Potomac. His first severe battle was that of Fred- 
ericksburg, and he was soon after detailed as a 
teamster in the army train. He was present at the 
fall of Richmond, and was discharged in June. 1865. 
On his return to his home, he spent three years in a 
flouring mil! at Lawrence, after which he devoted 
his summers to agriculture, and was occupied in 
w-inter in getting out timbers for building purposes. 
l\Ir. Webster was a very temperate man. and knew 
not the taste of liqors. He was a regular attendant 
of the Methodist Church, and was a member of the 
Grand .■\rmy of the Republic and the Improved Or- 
der of Red Men. He was a firm believer in the 



principles enunciated by the Republican party, 
though not a seeker of official honors. In 1894 he 
represented the town of Manchester in the state 
legislature with credit to himself and his consti- 
tuency. He was married, August 10, 1862, to Caro- 
line Calef. daughter of John Calef (see Calef, IV). 
She was born May 17, 1838, and was tw'elve years 
old when she went with her parents to the farm on 
which she has since lived. She is a member of the 
Methodist Churdi. Her son, Frederick Elmer Web- 
ster, died at the age of twenty-six years. A daugh- 
ter Edith Aroline, resides with the mother. 



Representatives of families bearing this 
FROST name came early to America. The first 

of whom we have record was Nicholas 
Frost, who arrived here in 1632 and settled on the 
banks of the Piscataqua, and there is good evidence 
that he was esteemed a trustworthy citizen as he was 
honored with appointments to responsible positions. 
There were also several others of the name who 
later settled in that vicinity and became prominently 
identified with the leading interests of the com- 
munity. 

(I) Edmund Frost, came from England in 1635 
and settled in Cambridge, Massachusetts, which 
was' evidently the home of the family for several 
generations. ]\Ir. Frost was a ruling elder in the 
church, and is said to have been a man of great 
moral worth, "leaving his children the example of 
a Godly life." No mention is made of his wife. He 
died July 12. 1672, in Cambridge. 

(II) Ephraim Frost was a son of Edmund the 
emigrant, and w'as born in Cambridge, but unfor- 
tunately the data is very incomplete concerning him 
and several of his descendants. 

(HI) Ephraim (2) Frost married Sarah Cooper, 
daughter of Deacon Samuel Cooper, of Cam- 
bridge. 

(IV) Samuel, son of Ephraim (2) and Sarah 
(Cooper) Frost, married .A.bigail, daughter of Dea- 
con John Cutter. 

(V) Cooper, son of Samuel and Abigail (Cut- 
ter) Frost, was born in Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
November 3, 1790. and died in Franklin, New Hamp- 
shire, in 1876. He was a hatter by trade, and re- 
moved from Cambridge to Concord. New 
Hampshire, in 181 1, where he carried on 
the business for a large part of the time 
for more than half a century. He was 
a soldier in the war of t8i2. Mr. Frost possessed 
much mechanical ingenuity, and was a man of im- 
mense muscular power. He married. July 18, 1815, 
Sarah Trumbull, daughter of John Trumbull. She 
was born in CoiTcord, and died in Franklin, New 
Hampshire, in 1874, aged eighty-seven years. Her 
ancestors were among the earliest settlers of Con- 
cord. Her grandfather, Judah Trumbull, was one 
of thirteen men w'ho with their families were sta- 
tioned at the garrison around the house of Ebenezer 
Eastman, and his name appears among the officers 
of the town as early as 1740. The children of 
Cooper Frost and Sarah Trumbull Frost were: 
Charles H., Willard, Luther T., George W., Thom- 
as, Mary S. and Lucy A. 

(VI) Luther Trumbull, son of Cooper and 
Sarah (Trumbull) Frost, wasborn in Concord, Nc^v 
Hampshire, about 1824, and died in Franklin. New 
Hampshire, October 24, 1894. He was a practical 
paper manufacturer, and spent nearly fifty years of 
Iiis life in Franklin, where he was manager of one 
of the mills of the Winnepesaiikee paper mills. He 
several times represented Franklin in the legislature 



28 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



in Concord. He was a member of the Mt. Horeb 
Commandery, Knight Templar, of Concord, and a 
Democrat in politics. He was a man of good busi- 
ness ability and a worthy citizen. Luther Trumbull 
Frqst married, March i6, 1845, Lydia G.. daughter 
of Major Samuel and Betsey (Brown) Pike. She 
was born in Franklin, March 14, 1822. Major Sam- 
uel Pike was the son of James and Alice George 
Pike, and was born November 30, 1795, in Goffs- 
town. New Hampshire. His grandfather Simeon 
emigrated from the Highland district of Scotland; 
data is lacking regarding the time of his arrival, 
but it was previous to 1752, as his son James was 
born that year in Goffstown. The family removed to 
Franklin, then Salisbury. New Hampshire, in 1757. 
The name of James Pike appears among the sol- 
diers of the revolution from Salisbury and he was 
wounded at the battle of Bunker Hill. The chil- 
dren of Luther Trumbull and Lydia Pike Frost 
were: Lorenzo L. and Leroy B. Leroy B. Frost 
was born in Franklin and married in November, 
i86g, Eleanor Smith, of Entield, New Hampshire. 
He is a practical paper maker in Brattleboro, Ver- 
mont (1907). 

(VH) Lorenzo L., son of Luther and Lydia 
(Pike) Frost, was born September 27, 1846, in Mill- 
bury, Massachusetts, and died suddenly from heart 
failure at the country home of his son, at Pearl 
River, New York, May id, 1906. He' was educated 
in the public schools, in the academy at Franklin 
Falls, and attended Boscawen Academy at Boscawen, 
New Hampshire. When quite young he learned 
the paper maker's trade, working under his father 
at the Winnepesaukee Paper Company mills long 
before that company was absorbed by the Interna- 
tional Paper Company. He displayed marked ability 
and advanced so rapidly that while little more than 
a youth he was placed in charge of one of the 
mills while his father operated the other. He con- 
tinued as superintendent at Franklin Falls for sev- 
enteen years, with the exception of one year, when 
he was called to Bellows Falls. Vermont,' to put the 
mills of the Fall Mountain Paper Company in order, 
and to adjust certain labor troubles, for which task 
he was admirably fitted. In 1890 Mr. Frost became 
part owner and manager of the Sunapee Paper 
Company at Sunapee, New Hampshire, where he 
remained until 1S94, when he sold his interest. Af- 
ter a few months as manager of the Frontenac 
Paper Company at Dexter, New York, he acquired 
an interest in the Racquettc River Paper Company 
of Potsdam, New York, Avhich he retained until the 
fall of 1901, when Mr. Frost and his two sons or- 
ganized the L. L. Frost Paper Company and built a 
mill at Norwood, St. Lawrence County. New York, 
which on January 4, 1904, was totally destroyed by 
fire. With characteristic energy, which knew no de- 
feat, he directed the increase of the water power 
from 1500 to 3,000 horse power and constructed, of 
steel and concrete, what' is probably one of the 
model newspaper mills of the United States. In 
August, 1905, this property was sold to Northern 
New York capitalists, and Mr. Frost with his sons, 
incorporated the Frost & Son's Paper Company, and 
purchased property at Napanoch, Ulster .county, 
New York. Here mills were built for the manu- 
facturing of jute tissue paper. Mr. Frost was sev- 
eral times urged to accept a nomination to the New 
Hampshire Legislature, but he declined, not caring 
for political office. Lorenzo L. Frost was endowed 
with a unique personality; naturally of a cheerful 
temperament, he m^de friends easily and retained 
them to the last. In his home he was an ideal hus- 
band and father. Mr. Frost also had the rare faculty . 



of considering the subject from the otlier man's 
• standpoint, as well as his own. Hence he knew little 
of labor troubles, and his employers recognized in 
him their best friend. It is said of him that no one 
in need was ever spurned by him. From early man- 
hood he was a member and a most liberal supporter 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He was a force 
for righteousness in every community in which he 
ever lived, and when he passed from earth he left, 
as a benediction, the influence that comes from a 
good man's life. October 31, 1867, Lorenzo L. Frost 
married Harriet L. Hayward. She was born Oc- 
tober 31, 1846, in Alexandria, New Hampshire, and 
was the youngest daughter of Jonas Reed and i\Iar- 
cia (Sleeper) Hayward. Jonas Reed Hayward was 
the son of josiah and Rebecca Hayward, and was 
born in Antrim, New Hampshire, April 25, 1805, and 
died in Alexandria. January 9, 1873. He was a mer- 
chant for many years in Concord, New Hampshire, 
represented the town of Alexandria in the legis- 
lature several times, and was generally a man of 
public affairs. He took a great interest in what- 
ever helped onward the uplift of humanity. He 
married (first), October 30, 1832, Marcia Sleeper; 
(second) in August, 1855, Mary Bodwell, a widow. 
Marcia Sleeper w-as the daughter of Moses West 
and Ruth (Worthen) Sleeper. She was born De- 
cember 26, 1809 ; she was descended on her fathers 
side from Thomas Sleeper, who was born in Eng- 
land, about 1607. He emigrated to this country when 
a young man and settled in Hampton, New Hamp- 
shire, in 1640. The Sleeper and Worthen families 
are very numerous in various parts of the country, 
and have borne well their share in its civic, political 
and military affairs. The grandfather of Marcia 
Sleeper was David Sleeper, who commanded a com- 
•pany of militia in the Revolutionary war. Her 
father, Peter, also a member of the Continental army 
served as sergeant of his company and later became 
prominent in military and civic affairs. The children 
of Lorenzo L. and Harriet L. (Hayward) Frost 
are: Fredric Worthen, Lorena May and Luther 
Hayward, all born in Franklin, New Hampshire. 

Luther Hayward Frost fitted for college in the 
public schools at Franklin, Andover. Massachusetts, 
Academy and Potsdam, New York, Normal School, 
and graduated from Wesleyan University, Middle- 
town, Connecticut. On the death of his father, he 
succeeded him as business manager of the Frost 
& Sons Paper Company, at Napanoch, New York, 
which position he still holds. He married Alice J., 
a daughter of President Bradford P. Raymond, D. 
D., LL. D., of Wesleyan University (recently re- 
signed), and Lula (Rich) Raymond. They have 
one child ; Dorothy Raymond Frost, and reside in 
Ellenville, New York. 

Lorena May Frost graduated from the high 
school in Franklin and attended Tilton Seminary 
one year. Later she graduated from the State Nor- 
mal School in Potsdam, New York, after which she 
took a course of study at Pratt's Institute, New York 
City, and finally was graduated from Columbia 
Colege, in June, 1905. She has been connected with 
the College Settlement in New York City for two 
years, but has recently been engaged as a teacher 
in the schools of Summit, New Jersey. 

(IX) Fredric Worthen, oldest child of Lorenzo 
L, and Harriet L. Hayward Frost, was born January 
8, 1870. He completed the full course of the high 
school in his native town, Franklin, New Hamp- 
shire, and later graduated from Tilton Seminary. 
He was also graduated from Wesleyan University 
in 1894 with honors. The next two years he taught 
in Shady Side Academy, Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. 




ThfLems^iHshiT^ C- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



29 



During the summer of 1896 he acted as tutor for 
two boys, taking them through Europe. Mr. Frost 
then studied law, graduating from the New York 
Law Sehool in 1898, and was admitted to the New 
York bar the same year. He is at present (1907) 
practicing law at 60 Wall street. New York City. 
October 25, 1S99, in Brooklyn, New York, he mar- 
ried Christine Kellogg, daughter of Rev. Charles 
E. and Rosabella (Hallock) Glover. Charles E. 
Glover received -his education in part at the Biblical 
Institute in Concord (later merged into Boston Uni- 
versity), and was ordained a minister of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church. On her mother's side 
Christine Glover Frost is descended from Stephen 
Hcpkins through the line of his daughter Constance. 
Both were passengers on the "Mayflower." She is 
also of the famous Paine family that included Rob- 
ert Treat Paine, a signer of the Declaration of In- 
dependence, and her great-grandmother, Ruth Ad- 
ams, was an own cousin of President John Adams. 
Mrs. Frost is naturally interested in colonial history. 
She is a member of the New England Chapter of 
the Society of the Mayflower Descendants, and on 
the Adams side is eligible to the Society of the 
Colonial Dames. Fredric \V. and Christine (Glover) 
Frost have two children: Fredric W. (2) and 
Constance Hopkins Frost. Their winter home is 
in New York City, and they reside in summer at 
Pearl River, Rockland county, New York. 



The name Slade has an interesting or- 
SL.'\DE igin. It meaning as a common noun is 

"a small strip of green plain within a 
woodland." One of the rhymes about Robin Hood 
runs: 

"It had been better of William a Trent 

To have been abed with sorrowe, 
Than to be that day in ereenwood slade 
To meet with Xittle John's arrowe." 

In England we have the de la Slades of the 
Hundred Rolls. The word is seen in many com- 
pounds like: Robert de Greneslade (of the green- 
slade) ; William de la Morslade (the moorland- 
slade) ; Richard de Wytslade (the white-slade) ; 
Michael de Ocslade (the oak-slade). Sladen, that 
is slade-den, implies a woodland hollow. The name 
Slade in this country has sometimes been written 
Sled and Sleed. 

(I) Stiles' Ancient Windsor gives three resi- 
dents of that town, named Slade, including Wil- 
liam, Junior, from which we may infer that they 
were sons of William. No account of the latter is 
given. His origin is unknown, but he probably lived 
in Windsor where were born to him three sons. 

(II) John Slade, one of these, was married 
September 12, 1751, in Windsor, to the Widow 
Martha Gleason, of Enfield, and their children in- 
cluded: John, Martha, William. Thomas, Daniel 
and Samuel. He settled in Alstead, New Hampshire, 
in 1773. He received a grant of land there and is 
said to have been a revolutionary soldier. The Rev- 
olutionarv Rolls of Connecticut mention a John 
Slade, who served eighteen days from Wallingford. 

(III) Samuel, youngest son of John and Martha 
(Gleason) Slade, was born in Windsor, Connecti- 
cut, and was in the neighborhood of two years old 
when he came with his father to Alstead, New 
Hampshire. He died there September 28, 1S60. at 
the age of ninety-eight years, his death being caused 
by a fall which broke his hip bone. He, and his 
brother remained on the paternal homestead in 
Alstead. They lived and dwelt in great peace and 
harmony, although they held opposing principles in 
both religion and politics. Samuel was an ardent 



Democrat, while his brother was quite as earnest in 
support of Whig policies. Samuel enlisted at Keene, 
New Hampshire. July 6, 1779, for the defence of 
Rhode Island. He was a member of Captain Ephra- 
im Stone's Company of Colonel Bellow's regiment. 
He enlisted July 26, 1799, in Colonel Hercules 
Moony's regiment, and was discharged January 10. 
17S0. He received a bounty of thirty pounds and 
traveling expenses of twelve pounds for his Rhode 
Island service, being credited to the town of Al- 
stead. He married Hannah Thompson, who lived 
to the age of eighty years. They are said to have 
had eleven children', but they do not appear in the 
vital records of New Hampshire. (Mention of their 
son, Samuel, appears in this article). 

(IV) Enoch, son of Samuel (i) and Hannah 
(Thompson) Slade, was born April 12, 1787, in A\- 
stead. New Hampshire, and settled when a young 
man in Brookfield, Vermont. When his children 
had become partially grown he removed to Thetford, 
Vermont, to secure the advantages of the academy 
there in the education of his family. He was the 
owner of a farm, but was kept employed in the trans- 
action of public business, in probate matters and 
other local affairs. Although he was not a licensed 
lawyer, vet he transacted most of the legal business 
in his town. He filled all of the chief oflices, to 
which he was repeatedly elected. He was trustee 
of Thetford Academy, aiid a member of the Congre- 
gational Church. He was a very earnest adherent 
of the principles of the Republican party, and ever 
aimed to promote the welfare of the community in 
which he resided, as well as of the state and nation. 
Mr. Slade was possessed of an unusual degree of 
intelligence and executive ability, and occupied a 
verv influential position in the community where 
he lived. He was a man of large stature and usually 
weighed more than two hundred and fifty pounds. 
He married Penelope Wellington, who was a daugh- 
ter of Palsgrave and .\bigail (Sparhawk) Welling- 
ton. The last named was famed for her beauty, 
and before her marriage to Mr. Wellington was the 
wife of Hall Sewell, a wealthy Englishman, who was 
a graduate of Harvard College, and died early in 
life. Enoch Slade and wife had five children The 
first, a daughter, died in infancy. The second, 
Samuel Wellington, became a distinguished lawyer, 
residing in Saint Johnsbury, Vermont. Laura, the 
third, is the widow of Asa Snow and lives in Bos- 
ton. William lived and died in Thetford, Vermont. 
Hannah, the youngest, is the widow of Governor 
Moodv Currier, of Manchester (see Currier). 

(IV) Samuel (2), son of Samuel (i) and Han- 
nah (Thompson) Slade, was born May lO. 1797, 
in Alstead, New Hampshire, He was a farmer 
in that town. He saw some service in the War of 
1812. He enlisted in Captain James M. Warner's 
company, in the Second Regiment of Detached 
Militia. He enlisted September 25. 1814, for si.xty 
days. Samuel (2) Slade married Emma .A.ngier, 
daughter of Benjamin and Enice (Johnson) Angier. 
Shewas born November 3, 1799, and had the distinc- 
tion of living in three centuries. Her death occurred 
May 12, 190T, at the remarkable age of one_ hundred 
vears, six months and nine days. The children of 
Samuel and Emma Slade were: Lucius, whose 
sketch follows; Eunice, Lora, Ira, Dana, Orrissa 
and Orrilla. 

(V) Lucius, eldest son and child of Samuel 
(2) and Emma (.^ngier) Slade, was born in Al- 
stead, New Hampshire, .April 12, 1818. He attend- 
ed the public schools in Ludlow, New Hampshire, 
and was graduated from the school in Unity, New 
Hampshire, taught bv Dr. .Monzo A. Miner, after- 
wards the noted L'niversalist clergj-nian in Boston. 



30 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



For a time Lucius Slade taught school in Surry 
and other places in his immediate neighborliood. 
At the age of tw^enty-four he moved to Boston, and 
for six months was employed by Aaron Aldrich, a 
butter and egg dealer in Faneuil Hall market. He 
was afterwards employed by John Miller in the same 
business. In 1851 Lucius Slade formed a partner- 
ship with George Rust, for the purpose of conduct- 
ing the butter, cheese, and egg business in Faneuil 
Hall market. Mr. Rust retired in 1851, and Mr. 
Slade removed to Faneuil Hall Square, w'here he 
conducted this business alone for forty-four years. 
In 1896, as Mr. Slade was approaching eighty years, 
he felt the need of an associate, and he took W. J. 
Haves into partnership. The firm then became Lu- 
cius Slade & Company. l\Ir. Slade lived on Poplar 
street, on the lower slope of Beacon Hill, Boston, 
till 1896, when he removed to North Cambridge, 
where he died at the age of nearly eighty-six. Dur- 
ing Lucius Slade's long and active life he served 
as councilman two years and alderman for eight 
years in Boston. He was a member of the Massa- 
chusetts senate from 1862 to 1864. While alder- 
man he was chairman of the committee on sewerage, 
paving and public buildings. He was also a mem- 
ber- of the school board. He made the public good 
his chief object and he w'as a thoroughly upright 
and much respected man. He was one of the oldest 
of the Boston Lancers, being a member for half a 
century. He was captain of the Lancers for eight 
years, and was in command at the time of the Cooper 
street riot, one of the draft riots of the Civil war. 
After the war he was made major of a batallion 
composed of the National Lancers, the Roxbui-y 
Horse Guards, Prescott Light Guards and Dragoons. 
During the Civil war Captain Slade was active in 
forming several companies from the Lancers for the 
Union army. He belonged to the Masons and Odd 
Fellows, and was one of the oldest members of the 
Boston Club. While in Boston Major Slade lost his 
interest in New Hampshire. He bought several 
farms in Walpole, on one of wdiich his daughter, 
Mrs. Sawyer, now lives. Lucius Slade married Lucy 
Rust, daughter of Daniel Rust, who was born in 
Alstead, New Hampshire, December 3, 1817. She 
was the granddaughter of Nathaniel Rust, who had 
a government grant of land in Alstead, and came 
there from Windsor. Connecticut. They had three 
children : Franklin, who lives in Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts ; Carrie, who died young; and Lelia L., 
whose sketch follows. Major Lucius Slade was a 
man of great energy and business capacity, and of 
a kind and genial disposition and, many people have 
reason to remember his generosity. His long and 
useful life ended January 13, 1904. His wife lived a 
little more than a year after her husband, dying 
April 5. 1895, in her eighty-eighth year. 

(VI) Leila L., second daughter and youngest 
child of Major Lucius and Lucy (Rust) Slade, was 
born in Boston, January i, 1S57. On I\Iarch 12, 
1883, she married Henry Holmes Sawyer, who was 
born in Charlestown, Massachusetts. (See Sawyer, 
HL) 



There were several ancestors 
WAKEFIELD bearing this name who settled 

very early in the New England 
colonics, and their descendants have been conspic- 
uous for good citizenship through the numerous 
generations that have taken their turn upon the 
stage of life. A town in Massachusetts has been 
named for the family, and its members have been 
conspicuous in the fields of education, medicine, 
law and the ministry. They have also been active 



as business men and have contributed universally to 
the mental and moral growth of society as well as 
the material development of tlie 'commonwealth 
in which they lived. 

(I) John Wakefield, the progenitor of the fam- 
ily which has been very numerously represented in 
Maine, was a native of England. The first record 
of him found in this country bears date January i, 
1637, when at the town meeting held at Salem he was 
assessed fifteen shillings as an inhabitant of Marble- 
head in the Colony of Massachusetts Baj'. It is 
presumable that he came as early at least as the 
previous summer. On the fourteenth of the same 
month, among the several portions of land laid out 
at INIarblehead. he received four acres "on the Neck." 
Prior to 1648. he lived in Salem, which then includ- 
ed the present town of Marblehead. He first ap- 
pears on record in JNIaine in 1641, when he and his 
brother-in-law, John Littlefield, received a grant of 
what is known as the Great Hill Farm. The hill at 
that time extended much farther into the sea than 
it now does, and with the projecting land at the 
eastern end was called the Great Neck. This was 
in the ligonia patent, and neither of the grantees 
took possession probably on account of the uncer- 
tainty as to their title. John Wakefield settled in 
the town of Wells, where he attained considerable 
prominence. Fie served as commissioner and select- 
man in 1648-54-57. In each instance his father-in- 
law, Edmund Littlefield, served in the same capacity. 
In 1652 John Wakefield purchased Wakefield's Is- 
land and removed to it in that year and there re- 
sided for a time. He subsequently purchased land 
in Scarboro and resided upon it several years. Thence 
he removed to that part of Biddeford which is now 
Saco, where he remained until his death. That he 
was a man of considerable substance, is evidenced by 
the fact of his buying and selling lands, and he was 
frequently called upon to v.-itness deeds for other;. 
In 1670, when he was probably incapacitated by ill- 
ness or the infirmities of age, his wife acted as his 
attorney in selling parcels of land. He died Feb- 
ruary 15, 1674, and was buried at Biddeford. The 
destruction of the records of Wells, Maine, leaves 
us no accurate data as to the time of his marriage 
or his birth or the births of his children. His wife 
Elizabeth was a daughter of Edmund and Annis 
Littlefield. of Wells. Her death is not recorded. 
Their children included: John, James, Henry, Wil- 
liam, Mary and Katherine. 

(II) William, fourth son and child of John and 
Elizabeth (Littlefield) Wakefield, was probably born 
at Biddeford. Maine. He was possessed of some 
property as is shown by the record of a deed of ten 
acres of land in York township. On October 25, 
1707, he went out with his brother James and four 
others in a small sloop tn fish. There was a heavy 
sea at the bar, and as they attempted to drive the 
sloop it was upset and all were drowned. One of 
the bodies was never recovered. Bourne's History 
of Wells says, "These men were all valuable citizens 
and their aid was greatly needed." William Wake- 
field was married at Salem, March 13, 1698, to Re- 
becca Littlefield. There is but one child on record, 
namely : William. Tradition gives three others : 
Joseph, Jonathan and Benjamin. 

(III) Jonathan, third son and child of William 
and Rebecca (Littlefield) Wakefield, was born in 
Maine and settled in Sutton, Massachusetts, before 
1734. He was a soldier in the Colonial wars, and 
died in October, 1765. He was married June 22, 
1732, to Abigail Smith, and his children, born in 
Sutton between 1734 and 1755, were : Abigail (died 
young), Jonathan, Rebecca, Tabatha, Amasa, Sam- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



31 



uel, Silas, Isiah, Luther, Mary and Abigail. 

(IV) Jonathan (2), eldest son and second chdd 
of Jonathan (l) and Abigail (Smith) Wakefield, 
was born October 16, 1736, in Sutton, Massachus- 
etts, and served as a soldier of the Colonial wars 
and also in the Revolution. He was killed in the 
service at Dorchester Heights in March, 1776. Soon 
after his widow and her children settled in Newport, 
New Hampshire. He was married May 21, 1760, 
to Anne Wheeler. Their children were: Jonathan, 
Josiah, Joel, Sarah, Peter, Jesse, Lucy, Chloe and 
Anna. The migration of the family to Newport oc- 
curred in 1779. 

(V) Peter, fourth son and sixth child of Jona- 
than (2) and Anne (Wheeler) Wakefield, was 
born probably at Sutton, Massachusetts, about 1767. 
He came to" Newport, New Hampshire, and lived 
many years in the west part of the town near the 
plumbago mines. He was the father of Methodism 
in this section and built the chapel at Northville, 
near Newport. He also built what was afterwards 
known as the Reed sawmill there; he spent his lat- 
ter years at Northville. He married Hannah, sis- 
ter of William Haven, and they had ten children: 
Nancy, bom May 17, 177S; Lovina, mentioned be- 
low; "Hannah, M'arch 31, 1793, married Cyrus Mc- 
Gregor; Lucy, August 17, 1795, married Jeremiah 
Adams; Simeon, ."^pril 20, 1798: Ruth, September 8, 
iSoi. married. September 22, 1822, Lorenzo Freeto; 
Orpha, October 24. 1804: Mahala, April 26, 1809; 
Peter, June 21, i8ro; Philena, July 31, 1812. 

(VI) Lovina, second daughter and child of Peter 
and' Hannah (Haven) Wakefield, was born March 
8, 1791. She maried, November 16. 1810, Stephen 
'Aeeh, of Newport, New Hampshire. He was born 
December g, 1790, and came from Plainfield, Ver- 
mont, at the age of nine years. They lived at the 
Reed sawmill in the northeast part of the town. 
Thev had five children : Erastus, born March. IS. 
180 : lioena, married .-^zor Paul; Jackson, February 
20, 1819: Rowancy. married Gilman Davis; Rosella, 
became the second wife of .A^zor Paul, of Newport 
(quod z iilt) 



This family is typical of the patient, 
AFRICA persevering, progressive German stock 

which peopled Pennsylvania, cleared 
away the forest, settled farms, developed mines, and 
made it the second state in the Union in point of 
wealth and population. 

(I) Christopher Africa, a native of Hanover, 
now a part of Prussia, came to America about 1750, 
and settled in Germantown, Pennsylvania, from 
which he afterward removed to Hanover, in York 
county. He had two sons, Michael and Jacob. 

(II) Michael Africa, elder son of Christopher 
.A.frica, was born in York county, Pennsylvania, and 
settled in Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, in 1791. He 
became one of the founders of the Lutheran Con- 
gregational Church of that place, in which he was 
an elder. He married Katherin Graflius, of York, 
Pennsylvania. 

(III) Daniel, son of Michael and Katherin 
I Graffius) Africa, was born March 19, 1794, in 
Huntingdon, and passed his entire life in that town. 
He was a man of much intelligence and ability, and 
became prominent and influential in the community. 
He was deputy sur\-eyor of Huntingdon county from 
1824 to 1830, was justice of the peace for twenty-two 
years, and was noted for the extent and accuracy of 
his legal knowledge. He married a daughter of 
John Simpson, a native of Bucks county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and a Revolutionary veteran, probably of 
Scotch ancestry. His wife was a daughter of James 



Murray, who took part in the Revolutionary war as 
captain of the Lancaster company. The latter was 
born in Scotland, and came to America in 1730, 
while still very young, and resided in Paxton, now 
in Dauphin county, Pennsylvania. 

(IV) John Simpson, only son of Daniel .-Vfrica, 
was born September 15, 1832. in Huntingdon and 
died there .August 8, 1900, near the close of his 
sixty-eighth year. He acquired his education in the 
common schools and in the academy of his native 
town. For the pursuit of his chosen profession, 
surveying and civil engineering, he received practical 
training under the instruction of his father, and his 
uncle, James Simpson. In January, 1853. he be- 
came a member of the engineering corps of the 
Huntington & Broad Top Mountain railroad, on its 
organization under Samuel W. Mifflin, chief engineer, 
and assisted in the location of the road. He was 
just twenty-one years old when he received his first 
public office, that of county surveyor of Huntingdon 
county, i;i October, 1853. He was the Democratic 
nominee, and although the normal Whig majority 
was over six hundred, he obtained a majority of one 
hundred and sixty-five. In 1856, a Presidential year, 
he was again a candidate, the vote resulting in a tie. 
But the court six months later appointed his op- 
ponent. In the meantime he kept up his surveying 
and became known as one of the most competent in 
central Pennsylvania In 1853 he and Samuel G. 
Whittaker established a weekly paper called the 
Standing Stone, and for two years he was the pro- 
prietor and one of its editors. In 1883 he edited 
the History of Huntingdon and Blair counties, a 
valuable work. In public addresses, newspaper arti- 
cles, and in various other ways, he largely con- 
tributed to the history of the commonwealth, and 
especially that of the Valley of the Juniata. 

During the sessions of the senate of Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1858 and 1859, he served as journal clerk. 
In October, 1859, he was elected member of the 
house of representatives, serving during the session 
of i860. During the Civil war, while he did not 
forsake the Democratic party, he supported the 
government. When the office of the Monitor, the 
organ of the Democracy of Huntingdon county, 
was wrecked by a mob, he was among the first to 
join in a letter publicly denouncing the outrage, 
and helped to re-establish the paper. In May. 1875, 
he was appointed deputy secretary of internal af- 
fairs, serving until May, 1879. The department was 
created by the Constitution of 1873, and its organ- 
ization devolved upon Mr. Africa. In 1880, at the 
request of William A. Wallace, then United States 
senator, President Hayes appointed him supervisor 
of the census for the seventh district of Pennsyl- 
vania, takin in fourteen counties in the center of 
the state. The duties of this office he discharged 
very thoroughly. Soon after he was appointed 
cashier of the First National Bank at Huntingdon. 
In 1882 he was elected secretary of internal afifairs, 
and resigned his cashiership. His term was for 
four years, which ended in 1887. He was one of 
the incorporators of the Union Trust Company of 
Philadelphia, in 1882, and was one of its directors 
until his death in 1902. October 13, 1887, he was 
chosen president, and held this position until he 
died. He was d'tcctor of the First National Bank 
of Huntingdon, Pennsylvania,, and of the Fidelity 
Mutual Life Association of Philadelphia. He was 
a member of Mt. Moriah Lodge, No. 300, .-Vncient 
Free and Accepted Masons, and of Standing Stone 
Chapter. No. 201, at Huntingdon. He served as 
grand master of Masons of Pennsylvania during 
1891-92, and was on standing committees of the 



32 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Grand Lodge and Grand Chapter. He also be- 
longed to the Engineers' Ckib, the Franklin Insti- 
tute, and the Pennsylvania Scotch-Irish Society. 

On January I, 1S56, Mr. Africa married, at 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Dorothea Corbin Green- 
land, of Huntingdon, who was born 1834, and died 
November 15, 1S86. She was the daughter of 
Joshua and Elizabeth (Wright) Greenland. Five 
children were born of this union, of whom three 
are now living: Benjamin Franklin, the second 
child, is manager of the Gas and Electric Light 
Works at Huntingdon ; James Murray, the third 
child, is a civil engineer and resides at Huntingdon. 
He is a graduate of the Rensselaer Polytechnic 
School at Troy, New York. Walter G., twin 
brother of James, is the subject of the next sketch. 
Benjamin F., the eldest, and Bessie, the youngest 
child of this family, died young. 

(V) Walter Greenland, fourth son and child of 
John Simpson and Dorothea Corbin (Greenland) 
Africa, was born in Huntingdon, April 11, 1863. 
He was educated in the public and private schools 
of that town, and at Huntingdon Academy. After 
graduation he took a place in the First National 
Bank of Huntingdon, where he remained about a 
year and a half, devoting his evenings and other 
leisure time to the study of civil engineering. Leav- 
ing that place he became connected with the firm of 
Elkins & Widener, the well known gas promoters 
of Philadelphia, who with their associates controlled 
the gas franchises of Philadelphia and many other 
cities in the United Slates. In 1885 he leased the 
Huntingdon Gas works, which he successfully oper- 
ated until, June 1887, when he removed to Man- 
chester, New Hampshire, at the time of the organ- 
ization of the People's Gaslight Company, which 
soon acquired control of the Mancliester Gaslight 
Company. He served as superintendent of the new 
company for two years, and was then elected treas- 
urer, and has since filled both positions. Before 
leaving Pennsylvania his abilities and techanical 
knowledge had been recognized by the state author- 
ities, and he was appointed to investigate the glass 
sand mining industry of that state, and at the con- 
clusion of his labors in 1886 published an illustrated 
report upon it. In addition to his work in connec- 
tion with the People's Gaslight Company, he has 
many other cares in his business relations with var- 
ious industries in Manchester. He was treasurer 
of the Manchester Electric Light Company twelve 
years, and was president of the Manchester L^nion 
Publishing Company; is treasurer of the Brodie 
Electric Company; treasurer of the Ben Franklin 
Electric Light Company ; director of the l\Ierchants 
National Bank ; director of the Amoskeag National 
Bank; director in the Elliot Manufacturing Com- 
pany; trustee of the Hillsborough County Savings 
Bank; president of the Manchester Garment Com- 
pany ; treasurer of the Robey Concrete Company ; 
president of the Cohas Building Company; director 
in the East Side Company; and director of the 
Derryfield Company. Mr. Africa is connected ac- 
tively with so many of the leading enterprises of 
Manchester that few have a greater influence upon 
its industrial life than he. He is a comparatively 
young man. an untiring worker, and a success in 
everything he has undertaken. He is an active mem- 
ber and_ first vice-president of the New England 
Association of Gas Engineers, and a member of the 
American Gas Institute and secretary of the Guild 
of Gas Managers of New England. In politics he 
is a Democrat, but not an active personal participant 
in party affairs. He is a member of the Franklin 
Street Congregational Church, and president of the 



Manchester Young Men's Christian Association. He 
is a member of the following named Masonic bodies 
in ^Manchester : Washington Lodge, No. 61, in which 
he is senior deacon ; Mount Horeb Royal Arch 
Chapter, No. 11; Adoniram Council, No. 3, Royal 
and Select Masters ; and Trinity Commandery, 
Knights Templar, in which he is eminent com- 
mander ; of Edmund A. Raymond Consistory of the 
Sublime Princes of the Royal Secret of Nashua; 
and of Bektash Temple of the Ancient Arabic Order 
of the Mystic Shrine, of Concord. He is also a 
member of Wildey Lodge, No. 45, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. 

He married, November 17, 1887, Maud Eva Cun- 
ningham, who was born in Huntingdon, Pennsyl- 
vania, daughter of Robert and Agnes Myton (Oaks) 
Cunningham, of Huntingdon. They have four chil- 
dren : Dorothea Cunningham, born November 18, 
1S88; Esther Bessie, January 21, 1890; Walter Mur- 
ray, April 22, 1892 ; Maud Isabel, April 8, 1907 ; all 
born in Manchester. 



This noted old English name 
WELLINGTON was very early transplanted to 
America in the settlement of 
the New England colonies. It has been worthily 
identified with the settlement and development of 
New England and has spread to the remotest dis- 
tricts of the United States, where it has sustained 
the well known traits of New England character, 
and has contributed by its industry, perseverance 
and sound sense, to the upbuilding and moral worth 
of many communities. 

(I) Roger Wellington, the emigrant ancestor, 
was born about 1610, in England, and came to Amer- 
ica in 1630. He was a planter, and one of the 
founders of Watertown, Massachusetts, his name 
appearing on the earliest list of proprietors. In the 
division of lands he received a home stall of si.\- 
teen acres, four acres of meadow and two of plow- 
land, and the balance distributed in five other parcels. 
To these he added lands and buildings by purchase. 
He was elected to town offices, and shared with his 
associates the duties and privileges of townsmen. 
He married Mary Palgrave, eldest daughter of 
Dr. Richard Palgrave, a physician of Charlestown, 
^Massachusetts. Roger Wellington died ^larch 11. 
1698. His children were : John, Mary, Joseph, Ben- 
jamin, Oliver and Palgrave. Hon. Roger Sherman, 
one of the signers of the Declaration of Indepen- 
dence and later a United States senator of Con- 
necticut, was a grandson of Roger Wellington. 

(II) Joseph, son of Roger and Mary (Palgrave) 
Wellington, was born October 9, 1643, in Watertown, 
and was a farmer of that town. His first wife 
Sarah died childless, February 5, 1683, and he was 
married (second), June 6, 1684. to Elizabeth 
Straight, daughter of Captain Thomas and Elizabeth 
(Kimball) Straight, of Watertown. Both were ad- 
mitted to full communion with the Watertown 
church, July 31, 1687. He died July 30, 1714. Their 
children were : Elizabeth, Thomas, Mary and Sus- 
anna. 

(III) Thomas, only son and second child of 
Joseph and Elizabeth (Straight) Wellington, was 
born November 10, 1686. in Watertown. and lived in 
that part of Cambridge which is now Arlington, 
^Massachusetts. He was one of the prudential com- 
mittee men in 1737, and a foundation member of 
the Precinct Church, of which Rev. Samuel Cook 
was pa'^tor. He married (first), Rebecca Whitteniore. 
who died November 6, 1734, and he married 
(second), in 1735. to Cherry Stone. He died Julv 
3. 1759. and his widow subsequently married Captain 




^i^yf/ax^cz^^ ^cS^ ^^^^4--.--.,,^^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



33 



James Lnnc, of Bedford. Thomas Wellington's 
children were : Rebecca, Joseph, Thomas, Susanna 
and Elizabeth. Susanna married Abraham Hill and 
their son Isaac was a distinguished governor of 
New Hampshire. 

(.IV) Thomas (2), second son and third child 
of Thomas (i) and Rebecca (Whittemore) Welling- 
ton, was born August 6, 1714, in Cambridge, and 
was a farmer and inn holder. He lived in the part 
of Watertown which was incorporated as Waltham 
in 1638. He was married, March 13, 1734, to Mar- 
garet Stone, who was born September 15. 1718, 
daughter of Jonathan and Chary (Adams) Stone 
of Lexington. She survived him nearly seventeen 
years, dying September 7, 1800. He passed away 
November 4, 1783. Their children were: Thomas, 
Elizaljeth, John, Jonathan, Susanna (.died young), 
Sanniel, Jo.^'iah, William, George, Rebecca, Susanna, 
Thaddeus, Sarah and Joel. 

(\') George, seventh son and ninth child of 
Thomas (2) and JNlargaret (Stone) Wellington, 
was born October 21, 1749, in Waltham, and resided 
in that town and Jaffrey, New Hampshire, and 
Cavendish, Vermont. He was a soldier in the Revo- 
lution, participating in the Concord tight, the siege 
of Boston and the battle of Bunker Hill, and was 
later in the Continental regiment. He was married 
in Waltham, December 24, 1772, to Lucy Peirce, 
who was born March 27, 1755, daughter of Ephraim 
and Lydia (White) Peirce. She died in Waltham, 
April 29, 1793, and in 1796 Mr. Wellington removed 
with his children to JafTrey, New Hampshire, and 
thence to Cavendish, Vermont, in 1801. His chil- 
dren were : Ephraim, Lydia, married Richard Wicks 
of Royalton, Massachusetts; Lucy, married Deacon 
David Gilmore, of JafFrey; Leonard; and John and 
George, who settled in Maine. 

(VI) Captain Leonard, second son and fourth 
child of George and Lucy (Peirce) Wellington, was 
born 1780, in Waltham, Massachusetts, and bap- 
tized March 5, of that year. He grew up in his 
native town and settled in Rindge, New Hampshire, 
in 1S03. He was a hatter by trade and established 
a hat shop in Rindge Center, in the wing of his 
house. He subsequently engaged in farming, in 
which he was successful. In the War of 1812 he 
was in command of a company serving at Ports- 
mouth in the autumn of 1814. For many years he 
was an auctioneer, and conducted a majority of 
the local vendues. He was married, December 4, 
1805, to Eunice Earle, who was born September lO, 
I777. daughter of John and Rebecca (Page) Earle, 
of Rindge. She died in 1808 and he was married 
(second), September 6, l8og, to Dorcus Priest, who 
died August 3, 1S17, He was married (third), Jan- 
uary, 1818, to Lucinda Page, who was born January 
26^ 1790, in Rindge, daughter of Abijah and Mary 
(Sautel) Page. She died December 22, 1847, and 
he survived her a year and a half, dying May 22, 
1849. There were two children by the first marriage, 
four by the second, and eight by the third, namely : 
Adeline L., Eunice E.. Eliza G., Leonard W. (died 
young), Charles W., Leonard P., Gilman P., Lu- 
cinila, Gcorgp P., Alary Ann, Lucy G., Joel, John 
and Caroline. 

(VII) Joel, son of Captain Leonard Wellington 
and third son and sixth child of hi.s, third wife, 
Lucinda (Page) Wellington, was born July 7, 1831, 
in Rindge, and grew up in his native town, where 
he early began the manufacture of lumber in the vil- 
lage of East Rindge, In 1870, in connection with 
Colonel Otis Wright, of Nashua, he bought the box 
factory -of Reuben Ramsdell and a productive area 

i— .3 



of timber land. They founded at this time the 
Union Box and Lumber Company, which has long 
been a successful institution of the tow'n. In a few 
years Mr. Wellington purchased the interest of his 
partner, and continued - the business thus auspi- 
ciously begun. He has ably conducted an important 
industry. His factory was burned in 1880 and 
again in 189 — . With fortitude and courage he has 
erected new factories, and was the proprietor and 
active manager of this substantial industry until 
very recently, when he retired from business. He 
has been a useful and interesting citizen in the con- 
duct of town ai?airs, and was a selectman eight 
years, moderator, six years, and representa- 
tive of the town in 1873-4 and 1893. He 
married, November 30, 1854, Harriet Eliza- 
beth Ramsdell, who w-as born JMarch 16, 1837, a 
daughter of Amos and Harriet (Wright) Ramsdell, 
and a lineal descendant of Prudence (Cummings) 
Wright, whose defense of the bridge in Peppered, 
Massachusetts, and the arrest of Leonard Whiting, 
the Tory, is one of the heroic exploits of the Revo- 
lution. Mrs. Wellington died November i, 1902. 
She was the mother of three sons : Herbert D., 
Arthur J. and Elsworth. Tlie youngest died in 
childhood. The others are mentioned at length 
below. 

Herbert D., eldest son of Joel and Harriet E. 
(Ramsdell) Wellington, was born in Rindge, Sep- 
tember 18, 1856. He married, September 15. 1881. 
Harriet A. Wright, born April i, 1862. daughter of 
Laban and Susan Adaline (Sawin) Wright of Ash- 
burnham. Massachusetts. He was supervisor; select- 
man and representative of Rindge, and removed, 
in 1899, from that town to Fitchburg, Massachusetts 
wdiere he now resides. Two of their three children 
died in infancy. Their daughter. Bertha .Elizabeth, 
born June 16; 1884, graduated at the Fitchburg 
high school, class of 1902. 

(VIII) Arthur James, second son of Joel and 
Harriet E. (Ramsdell) VN'ellington, was born Feb- 
ruary 28, i860, in Rindge, and received his primary 
education in the public schools of his native town. 
He was subsequently a student at Gushing Academy, 
Ashburnham, Massachusetts. At an early age he 
became the foreman in the factory of his father and 
for several years conducted a store owned by the 
Union Box & Lumber Company. Trained to the 
business of manufacturing, he easily and naturally 
assumed the management of the lumber trade and 
the manufacture of bo.xes when his father retired 
from the business, and he is now actively carrying 
forward this enterprise which was founded so long 
ago in the town. He was a man of excellent busi- 
ness capacity, has long been a member of the board 
of education, and has served as supervisor and post- 
master at East Rindge since 1897. His energy and 
industry are indicated by the fact that he became 
foreman in the factory while yet a youth, and his 
easy transition from factory to store and vice 
versa. The business requires the employment of 
tw'enty-five hands and is flourishing under his charge. 
He attends the Congregational Church, and is a 
member of Monadnock Lodge No. 90, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, of East Jaffrey, New Hamp- 
shire. In politics he has always been an ardent 
Republican. He is clerk and treasurer of the Me- 
chanics Hall Association of East Rindge. He was 
married in Rindge. June 7. 1886, to Susan Eliza- 
beth Lloyd, daughter of James and Agnes Wilson 
(McAdams) Lloyd. They are the parents of four 
children, all of whom are graduates or students of 
Gushing Academj' — Ida Maud, the eldest, gradu- 



34 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ated in 1904; Alice Georgia in 1907; Beatrice Agnes 
is a member of the class of 1910; Ralph Arthur 
John, is the youngest. 



This family is traced from very 
WILKINS early times in English history, and 

was founded in New England by 
an ancestor who was one of the most prosperous 
men of his time in the Colony. The oldest families 
of this name in the United States are all from one 
ancestor and include many members of promi- 
nence. 

The ancestor of the Wilkins family in Wales, 
Robert de Wintons, went from England to Gla- 
morganshire (now Breckmock county), Wales, in 
the year 1090. He was one of the nobles sent by 
William Rufus, the King, to subdue the Welsh 
who caused him much trouble. The expedition was 
led by Robert Fitz Hamon. After the Welsh had 
retreated to the mountains Robert de Wintons re- 
mained and built a castle and was lord of the 
manor. The line of the Wilkins family in Wales 
is published in several histories of ancient Wales, 
with the crest and coat-or-arms — a Wyvern. 

(I) Bray Wilkins, the ancestor of the Wilkins 
family in New England, was born in 1610. He came 
from Wales and settled in Salem, Massachusetts, 
in 1628 or 1630. There is a record of his being there 
in 1630, and the family tradition in Salem states 
that he came in 162S with Endicott. As the list 
of passengers on that vessel has not yet been found, 
there is no documentary proof that he came with 
Endicott, but it is probably true, as the ancient 
tradition during the generations has so positively 
asserted it to be so. Bray Wilkins went to Dor- 
chester and was one of the first Jand owners, or 
proprietors, as they were called in Colonial times 
in Dorchester. He took the freeman's oath. May 14, 
1634. Fifteen years or more he lived in Dorchester, 
and then returned to Salem and purchased a tract 
of seven hundred acres of land which had been 
granted to Governor Richard Bellingham by the 
general court. Afterward he added smaller tracts 
of land to this until he owned nearly a thousand 
acres, and his domain extended two miles along 
the line of Reading. His estate was known as 
Will's Hill, as the hill on the place had formerly 
been the home of an Indian known as Black Will. 
On this estate Bray Wilkins spent the remainder 
of his life, living, according to the records, "like 
a patriarch surrounded by his children and chil- 
dren's children, and their children," for he died 
January, 1702, at the age of ninety-two, most highly 
esteemed by all. The record of the baptism of 
his children is found in the book of the First 
Church in Dorchester. After returning to Salem, 
he and his wife and older children were mem- 
bers of the First Church in that town, and Bray 
and Anna Wilkins are the first signatures to the 
petition for permission to withdraw from the 
church in Salem for the purpose of forming one at 
Salem Village, as his estate was nine miles from 
Salem and but two and a half miles from Salem 
Village (now Danvers), where a church was founded 
when a sufficient number of families had settled 
in that part of the town. This was the church of 
which the minister, Samuel Paris, took so active 
a part in the witchcraft delusions in 1692. About 
twenty-five years after the death of Bray Wilkins, 
his estate and some of his neighbors were set off 
to form the town of Middleton. Bray Wilkins' 
wife's name was Anna Gingell. and they had eight 
children, six sons and two daughters ; Samuel, 



Jolm, Lydia, Thomas, ^Margaret, Henry, Benjamin 
and James. 

(H) John, second son and child of Bray and 
Anna (Gingell) Wilkins, was baptized March 2, 
1642, and died before the completion of his thir- 
tieth year, in January. 1672. His wife's name ap- 
pears to have been Mary, but no record of their 
children's births has been discovered. 

(Ill) John (2), son of John (i) and Mary 
Wilkins, probably resided for a time in that part 
of Salem now called Danvers, and subsequently 
lived for several years in Middleton, Massachu- 
setts, whence he removed to the northerly part of 
Marlboro, and there resided for the remainder of 
his life, and died May 14, 1763. The church rec- 
ords of Salem show intention of marriage, pub- 
lished October 24, 1713, of John Wilkins and Mary 
Goodale. Their children, born in Middleton, were : 
Josiah, John and Edward. 

(,1V) Josiah, eldest son of John (2) and Mary 
(Goodale) Wilkins, was born July i, 1718. He 
married Lois Bush, who was born March 8, 1721, 
daughter of Jonathan and Sarah Bush. Lois died 
May 25, 1796, surviving her husband, whose death 
occurred August 21, 1784. Their children were: 
John, Jonathan (died young), Mary, Josiah, Jona- 
than, Levi, Lois and David. 

(V) Jonathan, fifth child and fourth son of 
Josiah and Lois (Bush) Wilkins, was born in 
Marlboro, June 19, 1755. He was a student in 
theology at Dartmouth College, from which he was 
graduated in 1779, and subsequently went to Concord 
as a candidate for the pastorate. He continued to 
preach in that capacity until December 17, 1786, 
when he received a unanimous call from the church 
to become its regular pastor, and on the following 
day a similar invitation was tendered him by the 
town, guaranteeing a salary of one hundred pounds, 
with the use of the parsonage (excepting the 
Meadow lot) and the sum of two hundred pounds 
towards a settlement. This offer he declined, and 
abandoning the pulpit he turned his attention to 
agriculture, purchasing a farm at the "Eleven Lots" 
(so called), located at the juncture of the roads 
on the west side, in the immediate vicinity of the 
residence of the Countess of Rumford. His house 
was still standing in 1855. Jonathan Wilkins served 
as a selectman for Concord for the years 1801-03- 
04-05, was commissioned a justice of the peace in 
1802, and frequently officiated as moderator at town 
meetings. In 1797 he was chosen clerk of the 
church, and in 181 1 was made a deacon, in which 
capacity lie continued to serve until his death, which 
occurred March 9, 1830. July 3, 1787, he married 
Sarah Hall, who was born August 29, 1770, daugh- 
ter of Jeremiah and Esther Whittemore (Wood- 
man) Hall, and granddaughter of Deacon Joseph 
Hall, Senior. She became the mother of twelve 
children, namely : Sophia Janette, Jeremiah Hall, 
Joseph H., Sarah, Esther, Fanny, Cynthia, Caroline, 
Rufus, Mary T., Erastus and Charlotte. Sarah be- 
came the wife of Dr. John L. Sargent (see Sar- 
gent, VI). The mother of these children died 
February 16, 1826. , 

■ (VI) Jeremiah Hall, second child and eldest 
son of Jonathan and Sarah (Hall) Wilkins, was 
born in Concord, December 25, 1791. He went from 
Concord to Pembroke about the year 1815, and for 
a period of forty years was a prosperous merchant 
dealing in dry goods, groceries and other merchan- 
dise. At the time of his death, which occurred 
October 20, 1864, he was considered one of the 
wealthiest residents of Pembroke, and he was also 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



35 



one of the ablest business men and astute public 
ofiicials, possessing to the fullest extent the esteem 
and confidence of his fellow-townsmen. As select- 
man, town treasurer and representative to the legis- 
lature, he was instrumental in forwarding the inter- 
ests of the community of which he was for half 
a century a prominent and honorable member. In 
politics he was originally a Whig, but his opinions 
in relation to the slavery question led him into the 
ranks of the Republican party at its formation, and 
he was a loyal supporter of the Union during the 
Civil war. He was a Congregationalist and an 
active church-member. On September i6, 1817, 
he married Mary Thompson, who was born in 
Bow, New Hampshire, December 4, 1799, daugh- 
ter of Robert and Judith (Noyes; Thompson, of 
that town (see Thompson, V). She died in Pem- 
broke, May 19, 1S79, having been the mother of 
fourteen children, whose names are : Sarah, born 
February 28, 1818, married David Austin. Charles, 
December 21, 1819, died November 2, 1820. Alan- 
son, jNIarch 31, 1822, died June 16, 1S63. Sophia, 
August 5, 1824, married Samuel Chandler, of Pea- 
cham, Vermont, June 23, 1847, and died November 
24, 1869. Francis, April 23, 1826, married Ann 
George, of Warren, New Hampshire, July 30, 1854, 
and died March 15, 1901. George, December 29, 
1827, died July 22, 1829. Caroline, September 15, 
1831, married, January 23, 1844, Franklin Hale, of 
Chester, died September 15, 1857. Thompson, De- 
cember 27, 1S32, died October 3, 1833. Henry, July 
7, 1836, served as a marine in the United States 
navy during the Rebellion. Charlotte, June 27, 
1838, died June 13, 1840. Mary Esther, March 23, 
1840, married Dr. John Sullivan, December 7. 1863. 
Hall, September 14, 1S42, married Lizzie H. East- 
man. Joseph, the date of whose birth will be re- 
corded presently. Harriet, April 25, 1848, married 
Dr. Frederick E. Potter, United States navy (see 
Potter, Vni). 

(.VH) Joseph, youngest son of Jeremiah Hall 
and Mary (Thompson) Wilkins, was born in Sun- 
cook, New Hampshire, May 24, 1844. After con- 
cluding his attendance at the public schools he went 
to Chicago, and in the summer of 1864 enlisted as 
a private in Company F, One Hundred and Thirty- 
second Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry, with 
which he served in the Civil war until December of 
that year, when he was honorably discharged and 
mustered out. He participated in the battles of 
guerrilla warfare. Learning the art of photography 
he has followed it continuously from 1867 to the 
present time, and for the past thirty years has 
been identified with that business in Suncook, hav- 
ing attained a most gratifying success. Politically 
he acts with the Republican party. He is a comrade 
of the Grand Army of the Republic and belongs 
to Louis Bell Post, No. 3, of Manchester, New 
Hampshire. On June 23, 1897, Mf- Wilkins was 
joined in marriage with Lora Emery, who was 
born in Allenstown. New Hampshire, daughter of 
Seth and Lorinda H. (Ames) Emery. 

(II) Thomas, third son of Bray and Anna 
(Gingell) Wilkins, was baptized March 16, 1647, 
and died October, 1717. He married Hannah 
Nichols, May, 1667. Their children were : Hannah, 
born 1669, Thomas, Bray, Joseph, Isaac and Henry. 

(III) Bray (2), second son and third child of 
Thomas and Hannah (Nichols) Wilkins, was born 
in Salem, Massachusetts. He married February 
10, 1701-02, Rebecca Knight, of Salem, and they 
had nine children, five sons and four daughters: 
Rebecca, born May 18, 1703; Penelope, Septembel 
22, 1704; Israel, January 6, 1706; Phineas, Decem- 



ber 26, 1708; Ithamar, September 15. 1711; Me- 
hitable, September 6, 1712; Abigail, July 28, 1716; 
Joshua, August 26, 1718; Ichabod, July 7, 1720. 

(IV) Israel, third child and eldest son of Bray 
(2) and Rebecca (Knight) Wilkins, was born in 
Salem, Massachusetts, January 7, 1706. He mar-- 
ried Margaret Case, July 18, 1726, and they had 
children: Israel, Bray, Hannah, ?klargaret, Rachel 
and Mary. 

(V) Bray (3), second son of Israel and Mar- 
garet (Case) Wilkins, was born in Salem, April 
20, 1729. He was a minute man and answered 
the Lexington alarm on the 19th of April, 1775; 
he enlisted for eight months immediately after, at 
Cambridge, and served in the battle of Bunker Hill, 
June 17, 1775, in Captain Archelaus Thomas's com- 
pany. Colonel Ebenezer Bridge's (Twenty-seventh) 
regiment. He married, April 11, 1750, Lucy W'il- 
kins, born March 16, 1729, daughter of Hezekiah 
and Mehitable Wilkins. (i\Iention of sons. Bray 
and Hezekiah, and descendants appears in this 
article.) 

(VI) Bray (4), son of Bray (3) and Lucy 
(Wilkins) W'ifkins, was born April, 1755, in Middle- 
ton, and lived in that town. He was a soldier in 
the Revolution. He was married, jNIarch 6, 1781, 
to Lucy French Blanchard, of New Boston, New 
Flampsiiire, a n' afterwards lived on Wolf Hill, in 
Deering, that 5-ate. She was born April 21, 1755, 
a daughter of Nicholas and Priscilla (French) 
Blanchard, of Hollis. They had children : Lucy, 
Sally, Ann, Betsey, Polly, David, James, John and 
Isaac and Rebecca (twins). 

(VII) James, second son of Bray (4) and 
Lucy French (Blanchard) Wilkins, was born in 
Deering, New Hampshire, November 10, 1791. He 
moved to Henniker, New Hampshire, April 18, 
1831, and erected the buildings near the center of 
the town, where his son James afterwards lived. 
He was a wheelwright by trade, a man of skill 
and an excellent citizen. He was a Republican in 
politics, but never cared to hold office, and was 
a member of the Congregational Church. He was 
a strong advocate of, the temperance and anti-slavery 
movements. He married (first) Abigail Chase, of 
Deering, New Hampshire. They had one daughter, 
Abigail. On November 28, 1820, Mr. Wilkins mar- 
ried his second wife, Sarah Fulton, daughter of 
Alexander and Sarah (Blair) Fulton, the last 
named a native of New Boston. Mrs. Wilkins was 
born in Deering, New Hampshire, February 10, 
1804, and was a woman of fine taste, excellent judg- 
ment and high ideals. Most of her married life 
was spent in Henniker, where she was a member 
of the Congregational Church, and where she reared 
a family of ten children, six of whom she was 
called to bury in infancy and youth. In later years 
Mrs. Wilkins found a home with her daughter, 
j\Irs. Oliver Pillsbury, at Concord, New Hampshire, 
where she was devotedly cared for and where her 
well spent life came to a peaceful close, January 
21, 1892, at the age of eighty-eight years. Mr. 
James Wilkins died June 7, 1869. The ten chil- 
dren of James and Sarah (Fulton) Wilkins are 
thus briefly described: Gawn. born January 16, 
1822, wheelwright, merchant, postmaster, served in 
the Civil war, where he was first lieutenant of the 
Seventeenth Illinois Regiment; married Lucy W. 
Cogswell, November 17, 1870, and resided in Hen- 
niker. Sarah, born July ig. 1824, died October 
21, 1825. Betsey Jane, born January 9, 1827, died 
August II, 1869. Sarah is mentioned below. James, 
born January 10, 1831, married Charlotte A. Abbott, 
December 23, 1858; was a wheelwright, farmer, 



36 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



selectman and town treasurer in Henniker. George 
May, born October lo, 1833, died in the Civil war. 
Charles, born July 7, 1835, died in the Civil war. 
Henrietta, born November 21, 1837, married James 
S. Taylor and (second^ Charles A. Sayward, of 
Ipswich, Massachusetts. William H. (twin of 
Henrietta), born November 21, 1837, died March 
13. 1S39. Mary Childs, borri Alarch 13, 1840, died 
July b, 1859. Few parents made a larger sacrifice 
for their country than iMr. and Mrs. James Wil- 
kins. Of the four sons who lived to maturity three 
served in the Civil war, and two gave their lives 
during the summer of 1863. Lieutenant Charles 
Wilkins enlisted in Company B, Second Regiment, 
New Hampshire Volunteers, June i, 1861, for three 
years. He was severely wounded at the first battle 
of Bull Run. Before his wound was healed he 
received a commission in the First Regiment, 
United States Infantry, and joined his command 
then stationed at Corinth, Mississippi. He took 
part in several battles and skirmishes, was fatally 
wounded during the siege of Vicksburg, and died 
at a hospital in St. Louis, June 20, 1863. His body 
was brought home and was buried with Masonic 
honors amid the mourning of the whole town. His 
was the first body buried in the new cemetery. 
Lieutenant George M. Wilkins enlisted as a private 
in Company K, Sixteenth Regiment, New Hamp- 
shire Volunteers. He entered the service November 
20, 1862, and saw active duty with his regiment 
in Louisiana ; was promoted to quartermaster-ser- 
geant and second lieutenant, and died at Belle- 
fontaine, Ohio, on the return of the regiment by 
way of the Mississippi river. His death occurred 
August 26, 1863, and his body was brought home 
and buried with Masonic honors, barely two months 
after his younger brother had been laid away. 

(VHI) Sarah, third daughter and fourth child 
of James and Sarah (Fulton) Wilkins, was born 
in Deering, New Hampshire, January 6, 1829. She 
was married to Oliver PiUsbury, December 24, 
1850 (see PiUsbury, VH). 

(VI) Hezekiah, son of Bray and Lucy (Wil- 
kins) Wilkins, was born in j\Iiddleton (formerly 
a part of Salem) and baptized May 22, 1763. He 
moved to New Hampshire, and settled in Deering, 
where he died November 10, 1837, aged seventy- 
four years. He married Margaret Armor, born 
1762, daughter of Andrew and Margaret (Spear) 
Armor, of Windham, New Hampshire, who died 
December 26, 1841, aged seventy-nine. Children: 
Gawn, Polly, Sally, Isaac, Rodney and Andrew. 

(VII) Rodney, son of Hezekiah and Margaret 
(Armor) Wilkins, was born in Deering, New 
Hampshire, July 26, 1805, and died at Hillsborough 
Bridge, November 3, 1861. He married, April, 1842, 
Harriet L. EUinwood, daughter of David and Alice 
(Aiken) EUinwood, born August 28, 1819, died 
January 16, 1893. They had four children: Har- 
riet Alice, born September 17, 1843 ; Charles Taylor, 
February 15, 1846; Eudora Calista, December 29, 
1847, died January 13, 1857 ; Clarence Herbert, May 
12, 1855, married, June 11, 1889, Alice Wade, born 
October 19, i860. 

(VIII) Charles Taylor, son of Rodney and 
Harriet L. (EUinwood) Wilkins, was born on a 
farm in Deering, February 15, 1846. He resided 
for a time at Lebanon, and later removed to Man- 
chester where he has since lived. He learned the 
trade of woodmoulder, and is an ingenious man 
and expert w^orkman. He married, December 13, 
1871, Emma A. Stewart, born May, 1850. They have 
one child,. George Clarence. 

(IX) George Clarence Wilkins, M. D., only 



son of Charles Taylor and Emma A. (Stewart) 
Wilkins, was born at Lebanon, New Hampshire. 
]\Iarch 8, 1876, and came with his parents to Man- 
chester ivhen a boy of four years of age. He 
acquired his literary education in the schools of 
Manchester, and graduated from the high school 
in 1894. As a youth he was fond of athletic sports 
and popular among his fellows. He was first lieu- 
tenant of the Manchester High School Cadets, busi- 
ness manager of the school paper and a manager 
of the base ball and football teams. He spent a 
j-ear taking a special course in preparation for the 
Harvard Medical School, having Dr. William W. 
Parsons as his medical preceptor. Entering Har- 
vard in 1895, he graduated M. D. magna cum laude, 
in 1899, being tenth in a class of one hundred and 
ten students. After graduation he was house sur- 
geon to Carney Flospital, Boston, for a year ; then 
house physician to the Boston Lying-in-Hospital 
till June, 1901. Taking the position of assistant 
physician at McLean Hospital he filled that place 
from June to September, when he became assistant 
superintendent and resident physician at the Boston 
Harbor, where he remained till January i, 1903. 
Returning to Manchester at the latter date he 
opened an office and has succeeded in establish- 
ing a paying practice and an enviable reputation 
in the profession. He is vis^iting surgeon to 
Elliott Hospital, member of the New Hampshire 
Medical Society, Massachusetts Medical Society, 
New Hampshire Surgical Club, Manchester Medical 
Association, of which he is secretary, and of Man- 
chester Academy of Medicine. He is also a jSIason, 
a member of Washington Lodge, No. 61, Man- 
chester. He is a political worker, but votes the 
straight Republican ticket. June 17, 1903, Dr. 
Wilkins married Sara L. Stuart, daughter of Zach- 
ariah B. and Rose L. (George) Stuart, born in 
jNlanchester, September 20. 1877. 

(IV) The first of .whom authentic record can 
be found in this line was Stephen Wilkins, who 
was born 1712, in Salem, Massachusetts, as shown 
by his family record. The records of Salem contain 
no mention of him and it is quite possible that he 
was born in some town near Salem. He may have 
been a son of John (2) Wilkins and his w'ife Abi- 
gail, who were married April 10, 1710, in Salem. 
On September 15. 171 1, Nehemiah Wilkins. of Box- 
ford, was married to Susanna Wilkins, of Salem. 
We have no record of their children. It is pos- 
sible that Stephen might have been among them. 
He died April i, 1742, aged thirty years. He was 
married, August 24, 1732, at the age of about twenty 
years, to Hannah Curtis, who was born in 1714. 
Their children were : Phoebe and Stephen. 

(V) Stephen (2), only son of Stephen (i) 
and Hannah (Curtis) Wilkins, .was born May 17, 
I733> in IMiddleton, Massachusetts. He was a sol- 
dier in the French and Indian war and participated 
in the storming of the fort at Ticonderoga under 
General Abercrombie in 1758. At the beginning 
of the Revolutionary struggle he was captain of a 
militia company at Middleton, ^Massachusetts. On 
the night of the i6th of June, 1775, he marched 
with his company to Charlestown arriving there 
on the morning of the 17th after the British had 
placed batteries to attack Charlestown Neck. The 
colonel commanding the regiment of which Captain 
Wilkins' company was a part, refused to permit 
his command to pass over the Neck and join their 
comrades on Bunker Hill in the memorable battle of 
that day. Soon after this Captain Wilkins was made 
lieutenant in the Continental army, and was sta- 
tioned for a period of eight months on Winter Hill 




(7JIl^c.^^ua 4tG ^,i(}^^^-l^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



37 



in Charlestown. He was subsequently commissioned 
captain and ordered with his company to Ticonder- 
oga. Returning from the army in the spring of 
1777, Captain Wilkins sold his farm in Jvliddleton, 
Massachusetts, and purchased one in ^lerrimack, 
New Hampshire. This was situated on the north 
bank of the Souhegan river, there and one-half miles 
above its mouth. His residence on this farm re- 
mained standing until within a short period of 
the present time. It was occupied as a residence 
for more than one hundred years. Previous to the 
construction of a meetinghouse in Merrimack, re- 
ligious meetings were held in this house, then owned 
by Captain Joseph Blanchard. The farm remained 
in the hands of Captain Wilkin's descendants until 
1848, when it was sold. He and his wife were for 
many years consistent members of Rev. Dr. Bur- 
nap's church. Both lived to a good old age and 
were respected and beloved by their contemporaries. 
Stephen (2) Wilkins was married, April 11, 1760, 
to Anna Berry, at Middleton, Massachusetts. He 
died at Merrimack, August 27, 1832, having sur- 
vived his wife more than twelve years. She died 
April 22, 1820. Their children were : Andrew, 
Stephen (died you4ig), Hannah, Lucy, Stephen, 
Levi and James. 

(VI) Levi, son of Stephen (2) and Anna 
(Berry) Wilkins, was born January 23, 1776, in 
Middleton, Massachusetts, and was a child when 
taken by his parents to Merrimack, New Hampshire, 
where he grew up and passed his life. He died 
there August 14, 1845, in his seventieth year. He 
was a farmer by occupation and resided on the 
homestead of his father in Merrimack. He was 
an active member of the Congregational Church, 
and his example was entirely consistent with his 
professions. His nature was 'pleasant and social, 
he was kind to both his family and his neighbors 
and was almost universally beloved and respected 
in the town. For seven years he was elected to the 
office of selectman, which he tilled with credit to 
himself and to the satisfaction of his constituents. 
He was married, January 27, 1803, to Ann Mc- 
Cauley, who was born Sep<sember 15, 1779, in 
Merrimack, and survived her husband more than 
eighteen years, dying at Nashua, November 9, 1863, 
in her eighty-fifth year. They had severt children, 
namely: Alexander ]McC., Roxanna, Levi T. (died 
young), Lucy A., Hannah, Levi and one which died 
unnamed in infancy. 

(VH) Alexander McCauley, eldest child of 
Levi and Ann (McCauley) Wilkins, was born 
February 25, 1806, and died November 28. 1896, 
aged ninety years. He obtained in the district 
school an education that enabled him tO' teach 
winters for many years. He spent the remainder 
of his time in cultivating his farm and in lumbering. 
He owned a mill on Souhegan river, where he cut 
considerable lumber. In 1856 he bought the farm 
on which he spent the remainder of his life. He was 
a man of means and sterling integrity and of much 
influence in his town. He settled many estates 
and was a director in the Indian Head Bank of 
Nashua. In the political affairs of the town he was 
a central figure. He held the office of justice of 
the peace thirty years, town clerk, chairman of 
the board of selectmen five years, and represented 
the town in the legislature in 1855. He was a mem- 
ber of the committees which had charge ol the 
Thornton ^lonument and the Soldiers' Monument. 
He married, December 2, 1834, Caroline Richmond 
Stearns, who was born August 13. 1812, daughter 
of James and (Lydia) (Glover) Stearns, of Am- 
herst. She died June 13, 1894, aged eighty-three 



years. Their children were: Lucy Ann, Frank- 
lin Addison, James M. and i\lary Caroline. 

(VIII) Lucy Ann, eldest child of Alexander 
McG. and Caroline Richmond (Stearns) Wilkins, 
was born in Merrimack, January 22, 1836, and was 
educated in the district schools, at Magaw Insti- 
tute, and at Nashua and Francistown, graduating 
from the McGaw Institute at the age of eighteen. 
She soon afterward began teaching ancf made that 
her vocation in life for several years. She taught 
successfully in every district in Merrimack, con- 
tinuing her labors until 1879, when she left the 
school room to become the housekeeper and com- 
panion of her father who was then seventy-three 
years old. She faithfully discharged her duties 
to him until his death in 1894. December 11, 1895, 
she became the wife of James W. Fosdick, of Msr- 
rimack. 

(I) Aaron Wilkins, son of Uriah and Lydia 
Wilkins, was born in Middleton, Massachusetts, 
October 20, 1745, and was killed in Amherst, New 
Hampshire, by a falling tree, April 23, iSoo, aged 
fifty-five. He settled in Amlierst with his fam.ily 
in 1779. He married Lydia Smith, who was born 
November 9, 1755, and died March 25, 1837, at the 
age of eighty-two. Their children were : Aaron, 
Alexander, Lydia (died young), Naomi, Lydia, 
Uriah, Eliab, Clara Smith and Orpah. 

(II) Aaron (2), eldest child of Aaron d) 
and Lydia (Smith) Wilkins, was born in INIiddle- 
ton. Massachusetts, February 17, 1778, and died 
in Amherst, June 3. 1862, aged eighty-four. He 
succeeded to the paternal homestead, . and was a 
substantial, progressive citizen, and an upright and 
honest man. He married, September 16, 1824, Sarah 
Flint, widow of Simeon Flint, and daughter of Dea- 
con Jacob and Sarah (Lamson) Kendall, of Amherst. 
She was a great-granddaughter of Samuel L;un- 
son, who resided in Reading, Massachusetts, in 1676. 
She was born January 17, 1784, and died September 
14, 1861. They had but one child, Aaron S., whose 
sketch follows. 

(III) Aaron Smith, only child of Aaron (2) 
and Sarah (Kendall) Wilkins, was born in Am- 
herst, January 25, 1827, and died April, 1900, aged 
seventy-three. He resided on the ancestral acres, 
and was a man of substance and influence. Jle 
was selectman in i87S-76-77> was commissi ined 
justice of the peace in 1874, and elected deacon in 
the Congregational Church, April 9, 1874, serving 
until his death. He was a skillful farmer of ad- 
vanced ideas, and a past master of Souhegan Grange, 
No. 10, Patrons of Husbandry. He married, No- 
vember 18, 1852, Martha Abigail McClure, who was 
born in Merrimack, April 15, 1829, daughter of 
Asa and Mary (Allen) McClure. They were the 
parents of seven children : Aaron ^lilton, George 
Henry, Frank Edwin, Charles, Lincoln, Bertha 
Maria, Harry Albert and Lizzie Lawrence. 

(IV) Aaron ^Milton, eldest child of Aaron S. 
and Martha A. (McClure) Wilkins. was born in 
Amherst, January 22. 1854. He was educated in 
the public schools and at McCoUum Institute, j\Iount 
Vernon. He was a teamster for a time, and in 
1S73 began work in the saw mill of Frank Harts- 
horn. He is now a niember of the firm of Wil- 
kins Brothers, box manufacturers, of Milford. For 
years he has been a leading man in the business 
enterprises of Milford. He has been a town super- 
visor, police judge, chairman of the board of edu- 
cation, and was senator from the fifteenth district 
in 1903. He is a moderator of the town, an oflice 
he has filled continuously for eleven years, and is 
a past master of Souhegan Grange. No. lo. Patrons. 



38 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



of Husbandry, and of Custos Morem Lodge, No. 42, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is a deacon 
of the Congregational Church at Amherst, and 
superintendent if its Sunday school for twenty 
years. He married, September 23, 1880, Lucy A. 
Hartshorn (see Hartshorn), who was born in Am- 
herst, December 10, i860, daughter of Frank and 
Elizabeth P. (Knight) Hartshorn, of Amherst. She 
is a member of the Kings Daughters, and active 
in church work. They have three children : 
Harold, born April 25, 1887; Aaron Wallace, Au- 
gust 5, 1889; Miriam E., September S, 1894. 



Several Watsons came to this 
WATSON country prior to 1650. Tradition has 
it that they were brothers, or near 
relatives, but the only fact in corroboration of this 
is the circumstantial evidence of similarity of family 
names, which was maintained for two or three 
generations, and some of them to the present time. 
It is said that they came from England, and it is 
known that Robert, who settled in Windsor, Con- 
necticut, in 1632, was a bellfounder from London. 
John owned an estate in Roxbury, Massachusetts, 
as early as 1638. Thomas was admitted to the 
church in Salem, Massachusetts, in 1639. Another 
John was in Hartford, Connecticut, as early as 
1644. Nicodemus sailed from England for Vir- 
ginia in 1635. 

(I) John Watson, the ancestor of this line, 
resided in Salisbury, jNIassachusetts, and on March 
22, 1687-88, married Ruth Griffin. He died April 
25, 1710. He and his wife were signers of the 
Bradford Petition. Their children, born in Salis- 
bury, were : Abraham, John, Ebenezer, Hannah, 
Jonathan and Ruth. 

(H) Jonathan, son of John and Ruth (Griffin) 
Watson, was born October 12, 1696. When the town 
of South Hampton, New Hampshire was incorpor- 
ated in 1742, it was constituted from a part of Ames- 
bury and Salisbury, Massachusetts, and in the trans- 
action Jonathan's estate and that of several others 
were included in the new town, so that during the 
remainder of his life he was a citizen of the town of 
South Hampton, New Hampshire. His occupation 
was that of a cooper. He saw considerable service 
as a soldier. In 1724 he served in Captain Samuel 
Wheelwright's company, in an expedition against the 
Indians in Maine ; in 1745 he served in Captain 
Ladd's company. Colonel Moore's regiment, in the 
expedition against Louisburg. He was for many 
years a prominent citizen of South Hampton, taking 
an active part in the affairs of the tow-n, particularly 
in the religious controversies of the time with re- 
spect to church affairs in that section of the state, 
as is shown by the numerous documents and peti- 
tions now on file in the state department. He mar- 
ried, in Amesbury, Massachusetts, Eleanor Flanders, 
born January 19, 1701-02, daughter of Daniel and 
Sarah (Colby) Flanders. Their children were: 
Nicodemus, Zebediah, Daniel, Peletiah, Parmenas 
and John, and it is said by some of their descendants 
that there were also an Obediah, a Nathaniel, a Ben- 
jamin, and perhaps others. Of the first six we have 
authentic records, with their family histories. 

(Ill) Nicodemus, son of Jonathan and Eleanor 
(Flanders) Watson, was born about 1725. probably, 
and died in Weare, New Hampshire, in 1812. He 
settled in Hampstead, New Hampshire, where he 
resided until a short time before the Revolution, 
when he removed to Weare. His occupation was 
farming, and he was one of the citizens of the town 
who, in 1776, signed the New Hampshire Declara- 
tion of Independence, known as the ".'^association 



Test." Evidently he was one of the more prominent 
citizens of the town. In 1782 he was elected one 
of a committee of five to report upon a "form of 
government." He married (published January 16, 
1750, marriage recorded, 1754), Elizabeth, born 
August 8, 1732, daughter of Joshua and Elizabeth 
(Simonds) Harriman, and a descendant of Leonard 
Harriman, who emigrated from Rowley, Yorkshire 
county, England, to Salem, Massachusetts, 1638. 
The children of Nicodemus and Elizabeth (Harri- 
man), Watson, all born in Hampstead, New Hamp- 
shire, were: Daniel, Abijah, Caleb and Ithamar. 

(IV) Caleb, son of Nicodemus and Elizabeth 
(Harriman) Watson, was born December 15, 1761, 
died April 28, 1832, at Salisbury, New Hampshire. 
In 1778 he removed with his family from Weare to 
Salisbury where he built a log house and endured all 
the hardships incident to pioneer life; and developed a 
valuable farm, and became a trusted citizen of the 
locality. His chief business was farming, but he 
was a natural mechanic, and was skilled in the mak- 
ing of cart wheels, ox yokes, barrels, boots and 
shoes, and other necessaries of life. He was for 
many, years a deacon in the Freewill Baptist Church. 
He served as a soldier in the Revolution, in "Capt. 
Samuel Runnels' Company of Foot from the State 
of New Hampshire now in the service of the United 
States of America Stationed on the Western front- 
iers under the command of IMajr. Whitcomb," and 
also served as a soldier in 1780 in the Coos country. 
He married, December i, 1781, Lydia, daughter 
of Thomas Howlet, of Hillsborough, New Hamp- 
shire. She was born November 23, 1761, died March 
20, 1842. Thomas Howlet was one of the earlier 
settlers of Henniker, New Haihpshire, having come 
from Massachusetts in 1766. He was a man of 
some prominence in' town affairs. The children of 
Caleb and Lydia (Howlet) Watson were: Thomas, 
Ithamar, Caleb, Lydia, Safford, Moses, Alice, Han- 
nah and Mark K. (Mention of Caleb (2) and his 
descendants is given below). 

(V) Ithamar, son of Caleb and Elizabeth (How- 
let) Watson, was born in Weare, New Hampshire, 
September 7, 1784, died in Salisbury, New Hamp- 
shire, November 2, 1855. He was a school teacher, 
mechanic, and later a farmer. He made wool card- 
ing machines, spinning jennies, etc., and was said 
to be a master workman. In the War of 1812 he 
was captain of a company of minute men, and for 
some years of the Blackwater' militia company at 
Salisbury. His fine physique and military bearing 
well fitted him for a commander. For many years 
he was master of the Warner, New Hampshire, 
Lodge of Masons. On December 25, 1807. he mar- 
ried Dolly (Dorothy), born October 4, 1784, daugh- 
ter of Stephen and Keziah (Cheney) Thurston, of 
Rowley, Massachusetts. She was fifth in descent 
from Daniel Thurston, who emigrated from England 
to New England about 1650. She died June 6, 1859. 
Their children were : Henry Lyman, Malinda 
Cheney, Joseph Warren and Porter Baldwin. 

(VI) Porter Baldwin, son of Ithamar and Dolly 
(Thurston) Watson, w^as born in Corinth, Vermont^ 
July 13, 1825, and died in Littleton. New Hamp- 
shire, January 22, 1894. He settled in Salisbury, 
New Hampshire, and was a farmer by occupation. 
Fle was one of the selectmen of that town in 1858- 
60, and representative to the legislature in 1862-63. 
In 1864 he removed to Newbury, Vermont, and in 
1869 to Littleton, New Hampshire, where for a few 
year he was actively engaged in the manufacture of 
leather and gloves. In 1883-85 he was treasurer of Graf- 
ton county, declining a re-noniination. In 1889 he 
was selectman and overseer of the poor ; was an 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



39 



Odd Fellow, and a member of the Unitarian Clnirch. 
Married, October 17, 1848, Luvia Ellen Ladd. of 
Lunenburg, Vermont, born November 25, 1830, 
daughter of Pascal P. and Catherine (Rice) Ladd, 
being seventh in line of descent from Daniel Ladd, 
who emigrated from England to New England in 
the "Mary and John of London," and took the oath 
of allegiance, March 24, 1633-34, and who became 
one of the original settlers of Haverhill, Massachu- 
setts. He was a soldier in the Narragansett war. 
The children of Porter Baldwin and Luvia Ellen 
(Ladd) Watson were: Irving Allison, Idella, Wal- 
ter Warren, Fred (died young), Alice May, Fred 
Alland, Angle Bell, Minnie Candace and Albert 
Ladd. 

(VH) Irvin Allison, son of Porter Baldwin and 
Luvia Ellen (Ladd) Watson, was born in Salis- 
bury, New Hampshire, September 6, 1849. He re- 
ceived a preliminary education in the common 
schools of New Hampshire, and at the Newbury, 
(Vermont) Seminary and Collegiate Institute; com- 
menced the study of medicine in 1868; attended lec- 
' tures at Dartmouth Medical College, and at the 
medical department of the University of Vermont, 
and was graduated M. D. from the latter institution 
in 1871, receiving from Dartmouth College the 
degree A. M. in 1885. Immediately after graduating 
in medicine. Dr. Watson commenced practice at 
Groveton (Northumberland) New Hampshire, re- 
maining there ten years. During his residence in 
that town he was several years superintendent of 
schools ; was twice, in 1879 and 1881, elected to the 
state legislature ; and was surgeon to the Grand 
Trunk Railway. He was largely instrumental in 
securing the passage of the act creating the state 
board of health, was appointed one of its members, 
and at its organization in September, 1881, was 
elected secretary and executive officer of the board. 
In October of that year he removed to Concord, 
where he has since resided, still holding the office 
of secretary and executive officer of the state board 
of health. 

■ In 1S89 the state board of health was also created 
a state board of lunacy, and the executive work 
of the latter board has also devolved upon Dr. 
Watson. He is registrar of the vital statistics of 
the state; has been president of the state board of 
cattle commissioners since its organization in 1891 ; 
was five times elected secretary of the American 
Public Health Association, holding the office con- 
tinuously from 1883 to 1897, when he resigned on 
account of other duties ; was vice-president of the 
Conference of State and Provincial Board of 
Health of North America in 1894, and presi- 
dent of the same in 1903 ; is a permanent 
member of the American Medical Associa- 
tion ; honorary member of the Academia Nacional 
de IMedicina de Mexico ; was assistant secretary- 
general of the First Pan-American Medical Con- 
gress ; member of the Societe Francaise D'Hygiene 
of Paris; of the Medico-Legal Society of New York; 
of the New Hampshire Medical Society, of which 
he was president in 1903 ; of the Centre District 
(New Hampshire) Medical Society, and of numer- 
ous other organizations. He is also a registered 
pharmacist in the state of New Hampshire. 

December 12, 1884, he was appointed surgeon, 
with rank of major, of the Third Regiment, New 
Hampshire National Guard; May 20, 1889. was pro- 
moted medical director, with rank of lieutenant- 
colonel, of the First Brigade, New Hampshire 
Guard, resigning the commission in 1894. Dr. Wat- 
son has compiled and edited the reports of the state 
board of health, and of the department of vital 



statistics since 1881 ; the report of the state com- 
missioners of lunacy since 1890; the reports and 
papers of the American Public Health Association 
from 1883 to 1897 — a total of over fifty volumes. He 
is the author of numerous papers and articles pub- 
lished in these reports and in the various sanitary 
and medical journals of the country, and editor 
and compiler of "Physicians and Surgeons of Amer- 
ica," 850 pages, illustrated, 1896. In 1891-92 Dr. 
Watson traveled extensively in Mexico and Central 
America. He is a Knight Templar. 

Married, April 17, 1872, Lena Allen, daughter of 
Oilman and Philena (Allen) Farr, of Littleton, 
New Hampshire. She was born, Januar\- 8. 1S49, 
and died January 30, 1901. Has one child, Bertha 
May Watson. 

(V) Caleb (2), third son and child of Caleb and 
Lydia (Howlet) Watson, was born in Weare, New 
Hampshire, February 8, 1787. He moved to War- 
ner. New Hampshire, where he conducted the car- 
riage business. In 1820 he removed to Salisbury, 
New Hampshire, where he died April 12, i860. He 
married, November 24, 1814, Rachel, daughter of 
John and j\Iolly (Gordon) Couch. She died July 
9, 1863. Their children were : Harriet Byron, 
Sophronia Evans, Ithamar Howlet, Louisa Jane, 
John Couch, Lucinda Hayes and Livonia. 

(VI) John Couch, second son and fifth child of 
Caleb 'and Rachel (Couch) Watson, was born in 
Salisbury, New Hampshire, ^lay 13, 1828. He was 
educated in the common schools. In his youth he 
learned the carpenter's trade, and he followed that 
and farming all his life. In politics he was a Re- 
publican. He married Hannah A. !\Iorrill, daughter 
of James Moore and Deborah (Woodman) Morrill, 
of Warner, New Hampshire. Their children were : 
Clarence Herbert, a sketch of whose life follows. 
Mary E., born July 12, 1854. Alma E., June 6, 1S61. 
William W., J\Iay 31, 1864. John C. Watson died 
April 22, 1890, and his wife died ^larch 10, 1902. 

(VII) Clarence Herbert, eldest son and child of 
John Couch and Hannah A. (Morrill) Watson, was 
born April 27, 1856, in Warner, New Flampshire. 
He was educated in the common schools of Warner. 
He first went to farming on his father's farm ; in 
1893, the year of his marriage, came to the hundred 
acre farm, where he now lives. He carries on a suc- 
cessful dairy business, and is also engaged in lum- 
bering. In politics he is a Republican, and was elec- 
ted selectman in 1906. He belongs to Warner 
Grange, No. 90, and attends the Congregational 
Church. January 26. 1893, he married Mrs. Mary 
Bates Morrill, daughter of John and Ann Elizabeth 
(Thompson) Bates, of Wilmot, New Hampshire. 



(I) Daniel Watson was born and 

WATSON died in Meredith, where he had a 

farm of one hundred acres, and was 

all his life engaged in agriculture. His children 

were : Job, John, Winthrop, Sally and Mary. 

(11) Job Watson, son of Daniel Watson, was 
born in Meredith, January 2. 1781, and died in Gil- 
ford, in 1839. aged fifty-eight years. He had a farm 
of one hundred acres, was a stock raiser of note, 
and took a just pride in the cattle he raised. He was 
a member of the Free Will Baptist Church, and in 
politics a follower and admirer of General Jackson 
and Thomas Jefferson. He married, Feliruary 2, 
1812, Elizabeth Fiske, who was born in Ncwburj'- 
port, Massachusetts, in 1793, and died in Gilford, 
February 9, 1857, aged sixty-four years. Thirteen 
children were born of this union, three of whom 
died in infancy. The other ten living to attain 
more than sixty years each. The children were: 



40 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Eliza, Samuel, Mercy Fiske, Sarah Ann, Nancy, 
Mary Jane, David, John, Elizabeth, Laura, William 
W. and Samuel Orriu (twins), and Charles. 
Chaplin Watson was a successful Congregational 
minister who filled pastorates in Peabody, Dover, 
Warham, ^lalden and Lynn. 

(Ill) William Warren, eleventh child and fourth 
son of Job and Elizabeth (Fiske) Watson, was born 
in Gilford, July 20, 1833, and was educated in the 
district schools of Gilford and at the Laconia Acad- 
emy. Soon after attaining his majority he went to 
New York City, where he was employed two years 
in the manufacture of bolts in the shop of C. H. 
Emerson Screw Bolt Company. Since that time he 
has resided in Gilfprd where he has a farm of 
three hundred acres, and besides carrying on that 
does a large lumber business. He has built a large 
residence, and in summer accommodates a number 
of persons who seek health and recreation amid the 
picturesque scenery of the region of Lake Winni- 
pesaukee. He is a Republican, has held local offices 
and is a Free Will Baptist in religion. He married, 
1866, Mary E. Emerson, who was born in Hebron, 
daughter of Charles H. Emerson. They have seven 
children : Nellie, married Fred Potter. Charles 
Henry, married Clara Gove. Winnie, who died at 
twenty-two years of age. Abbie, married Frank 
Smith. Nathaniel, who died young. John William, 
who died at the age of twenty-one'. Alice, who 
married George Lamprey, all of Gilford. 



Various persons named Shaw settled 

SHAW in the Massachusetts Bay Colony in 

the very early years of its existence. 

All seem to have come from England, but most of 

them were not related to each other. 

(I) Roger Shaw, the progenitor of many of the 
present day families, was born in England. He 
was of Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 1636, where 
he was made a freeman March 14, 1639. He re- 
turned about 1647 to .Hampton, New Hampshire, 
where he bought the right of John Cross to cer- 
tain tracts of land, and also received some grants 
from the town. He soon became a large land- 
holder, and an influential man. He was a select- 
man in 1654: a constable also in the latter year; a 
connnissioner for small cases in 1651 ; and he rep- 
resented the town in the general court (of Massa- 
chusetts) in 1651-52-53. He married (first) Anne; 
and (second) Susanna, the widow of William Til- 
ton, of Lynne. She died January 28, 1655. He 
died May 29, 1662. He is known to have had 
seven children, probably all by the first wife. The 
children were: A daughter (Margaret, probably), 
Joseph, Esther, Mary (died young), Mary, Ben- 
jamin and Ann. 

(H) Benjamin, son of Roger and Anne Shaw, 
was born about 1641, and died December 31, 1717, 
aged seventy-si.x. He was a trader, and lived on 
the homestead occupied by his father. He mar- 
ried. May 25. 1663, Esther Richardson, who died 
May 16, 1736, aged ninety-one years. Their twelve 
children vi'ere : Mary. Esther. Sarah, Abigail. Ruth, 
Benjamin, Roger, Joseph, Edward (died young), 
Edward, Hannah and John. (Mention of Edward 
and descendants forms part of this article.) 

(HI) Joseph, eighth child and third son of Ben- 
jamin and Esther (Richardson) Shaw, was 'born 
in Hampton, New Hampshire. November i, 1681, 
and resided at Hampton Falls. He married, De- 
cember 12, 1705, Hannah Johnson, born about 1684, 
daughter of James and Sarah (Daniels) Johnson, 
of Hampton. Their children were: Gideon. Jer- 
usha, Esther, Elihu, Moses, Caleb, Mary and Sarah. 



(IV) Caleb, probably a son of Joseph and 
Hannah (Johnson) Shaw, was baptized July 14, 
1717, and died in Kensington, December 25, 1791. 
aged seventy-four. He was a patriot soldier in the 
Revolutionary war. His name with others appears 
on a receipt dated Medford, October 4, 1775. for' 
"Four Dollars (each man) in full Satisfaction for 
the regimental Coats which were promised us by 
the Colony of New Hampshire." He was probably 
in Captain Richard Wcare's company, as an order 
on him (then lieutenant) dated Winter Hill, Jan- 
uary 30, 1776, signed "Caleb Shaw." may still be 
seen. His son "Caleb Shaw," Jr., of Kensington, 
aged 20, is named as a soldier, June 3, 1775. A 
clock inscribed "Caleb Shaw, 1749," remains in 
the old home at Kensington, The clock was made 
by him. In his will, made in February, 17S7, he 
mentions children : Caleb, Elijah, John, Nathan- 
iel (married Abigail ). Hannah and Sarah. 

The Hampton Falls Church records contain the fol- 
lowing: Caleb Shaw married, October 16, 1747, 
Elizabeth Kimball, of Exeter, children : Hannah, 
Josiah. Simeon and Hilyard. 

(V) Elijah, son of Caleb and Elizabeth (Kim- 
ball) Shaw, was born in Kensington, in 1760, and 
died in May, 1830, aged seventy. He first resided 
on the place now called the "Tuck farm." from 
which he removed to his homestead on "Orchard 
Hill." He married (first) Deborah Nudd, Ken- 
sington: (second) Sarah Batcheldcr. of North 
Hampton. He had six children by his first wife, 
and two by the second: Mary, Joseph. Elijah, John 
Weare. Sally, Nancy, Nathaniel and Abigail Col- 
ton. 

(VI) John Weare, fourth child and third son of 
Elijah and Deborah (Nudd) Shaw, was born in 
Kensington, June 3, 1788., and died April 23. 
1852. aged sixty- four. He married (first) his 
cousin, Sarah Nudd. daughter of Weare Nudd of 
Kensington, (second) Ruth, dau.ghter of Thomas 
Currier, of Newton, New Hampshire, (third) Sarah 
(Stilson) Goodwin, (fourth) Elizabeth Stilson. sis- 
ter of his third wife. He had one child by the first, 
ten by the second, and four by his fourth wife, as 
follows: John Eherburne. Sallv Nudd. Susan Cur- 
rier, Judith Ann, Elijah Morrill and Thomas Cur- 
rier ftwins), Mary Abigail. Weare Nudd. Gecrge 
Washington. Nathaniel Jackson, Winborn Adams, 
Zachariah and Elizabeth (twins), a child (died 
voung) and Edna Elizabeth. 

(VII) Captain Elijah Morrill Shaw, fourth child 
and eldest son of John W. and Ruth (Currier) 
Shaw, was born July 16. 1S26, in Kensington, New 
Hampshire. He began securing an education in the 
district schools of Exeter, New Hampshire, and the 
periods of attendance on in.struction were inter- 
spersed with terms of labor in the cotton factory 
of that town. He had inherited from his ancestors 
a natural bent for mechanics, and readily actiuired 
n knowledge of the machinery employed about him. 
The great success of his life was due to this tal- 
ent, counled with a capacity for close application 
and a disposition for persistent endeavor. He has 
well been stvled a fine type of the selfmade man. 
After spending a little more than a year at Phil- 
lips-Exeter .Academy, he entered the employ of 
the Exeter Manufacturing Company in 1848. and 
thus began a business career which covered a per- 
iod of more than forty years — and in which he 
attained a steadily increasing prominemce among 
the cotton and woolen manufacturers of New Eng- 
land. When he first entered the mills of the Exeter 
Manufacturing Company, his stipend was fixed at 
eighty-five cents per day. This was gradually in- 
creased until it amounted to seven thousand five 



^, 






J 




^ 



I 





NEW HAAIPSHIRE. 



41 



hundred dollars per annum. During this time he 
never asked for an increase of salary ; he was never 
discharged from any position ; was never heard to 
complain of his work and never abandoned any 
employment except to enter upon a more advanced 
one. He was yet a young man when his practical 
knowledge of every step in the production of both 
cotton and woolen goods was thorough and .com- 
prehensive. Leaving E.xeter. in 1853, he became 
overseer in^ the Victory mills in Saratoga. New 
York, and a'fter four years in' that position, became 
overseer in the Bates mill at Lewiston, Maine. 
When the Civil war broke out in 1861 he was 
among the first to enroll himself as a defender of 
his country's integrity, and he served successively 
in the First, Tenth and Twenty-ninth Maine Regi- 
ments. In the first regiment lie was made second 
lieutenant of Company F., but soon left this posi- 
tion to accept a promotion. On October 3, 1861, he 
was commissioned as adjutant of the Tenth Regi- 
ment of Maine Volunteers. He became a captain 
in the same regiment, March 12. 1863. Hi.s mili- 
tary experience did not begin with the w'ar, as he 
had previously held official stations in both Maine 
and New Hampshire militia. From 1863 to 1866 
Captain Shaw was employed in the Everett mills at 
Lawrence, Massachusetts. During the succeeding 
three years he was agent of the Crocker woolen 
mill in Leominster, Massachusetts : he went from 
there to Lewiston, Maine, becoming superintendent 
in the woolen department in the Bates mill : sub- 
sequently to this he constructed the Farwell mills 
in Lisbon, !\Iaine, and was their agent until 1883. 
He was subsequently agent of the Great Falls, Ver- 
mont, mills, which had been on a commercial de- 
cline, and were placed by him on a paying basis. 
He was called to Nashua, New Hampsln're, in 18S6, 
to becorne agent of the Nashua Manufacturing 
Company's cotton mills, the leading manufacturing 
concern there, and he filled this position until 1891, 
when he resigned and retired from active business 
life. Soon after this he was appointed chairman of 
the board of commissioners of the state of New 
Hampshire to the Columbian Exno?ition held in 
Chicago in i8qs and the duties of this position were 
fullfilled by him in a manner both acceptable and 
creditable to the state. In the midst of his busi- 
ness activities he found time to devote to many 
lines of endeavor, and was much interested in 
schools and church work. He also became inter- 
ested in a business way as a director of the Nashua 
Trust Companv. In 1S04 he was chosen treasurer 
of the New Hampshire Baptist Association, and 
filled that ofiice for five years. He was an active 
member of the First Baptist Church of Nashua, and 
was a liberal contributor to its various branches of 
work, including the building fund for the Crown 
Hill Mission Church, which was located upon land 
donated by him. He was also a warm supporter of 
every movement for the enforcement of the pro- 
hibition law. He was warmly interested in geneal- 
ogical research and aided in 'procuring the publica- 
tion of a history of his family. In iSgg Mr. Shaw 
was elected business manager of Colby .Academy at 
New London, New Hamnsbire. During the' re- 
mainder of his life he held this position, and made 
every effort for the success of the institution. The 
dearest wish of his heart was to sec it free from 
indebtedness, and for this he praved, planned and 
worked untiringly. He often sai'd that he asked 
only to live to see this desired end brou.ght about. 
On February 23. 1903. he attended the Evangelical 
educational loonference held in Manchester, and 
made a most effective appeal before that body in 



behalf of Colby Academy. This appeal was suc- 
cessful and Captain Shaw left the assembly with a 
very light heart. He proceeded at once to the old 
hom.e in Kensington wdierc he was born, and made 
a visit to his twin brother then living there. He 
had had his wish and God took him that night. 

Captain Shaw was not in any sense a politician, 
but he entertained well settled principles on matters 
of public policy as he did upon religion, and he 
was a faithful supporter of the Republican partj'. 
His chief official ser\-ice was in the capacity of 
representative to the state legislature, which he 
held in 1881-83, in Lisbon. Maine. While in Lewis- 
ton he was a member of the common council and 
served as its president. He also filled other official 
stations in that state. He was at one time com- 
mander of the Maine department of the Gi'and 
.Army of the Republic. He was a member of the 
Sons of the American Revolution, and of the Loyal 
Legion; and was affiliated with the orders of Free 
Masons, Patrons of Husbandry, and the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows. He was married -Vpril 
20, 1859, to Amantha C. Sanborn, of Brentwood, 
New Llampshire. She died before 1865, and in that 
year he married Mary H. Davison, of Prince Ed- 
wards Island. There were three children of the 
first marriage: Irving Chase, Annie Elizabeth and 
.Susie Shaler. The son is a carpenter residing in 
Kensington. New Hampshire. The elder daughter 
is the wife of Winfield S. Libbey, of Lewiston, 
Maine. The younger died when two years old. 
The children of the second wife were: Elijah Ray, 
Susie McNeil and Helen Maude. The last two 
died in childhood. Elijah Ray is the subject of the 
succeeding sketch. 

(VIII) Elijah Ray, only son of Captain Elijah 
M. and Mary Helen (Davidson) Shaw, was Iioni 
May I, 1872, in Lisbon, Maine. After passing the 
minor grades he attended the Nashua high school, 
Phillips Exeter Academy, the Berkley School (Brs- 
ton). the New Hampshire State College, and spent 
two years at the Boston University Law School. 
Having decided upon a business career, in 
1900 he engaged in business as a florist witli 
Gaedeke & Company, of Nashua. Lie resides upon 
the paternal homestead in that city, and is well- 
known in business and fraternal circles. He is in- 
terested in the Granite State Knitting Company, of 
Nashua. He is a thirty-second degree Sir Knight 
Mason. ' He is also a member of Granite Lodge, 
No. T. Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Mr. 
Shaw takes an active and intelligent interest in 
questions of public policy, and has been frequently 
selected by his fellow citizens to fill official sta- 
tions. He has served two years as a member of 
the common council of Nashua, and is now (1907) 
aldennan of the second ward of the city. In 1906 
he was commissioned by Governor !\IcLane as 
major and brigade quartermaster of the Brigade 
staff. New Hampshire National Guard. He was 
married in Nashua, June 9, 1904, to Louie Ethel 
'I'olles who was born in Nashua, December 29, 1875, 
a daughter of General Jason E. Tolles of that city 
(see Tolles). 

(Ill) Edward, tenth child and fifth son of Ben- 
jamin and Esther (Richardson) Shaw, lived on the 
paternal homestead. The records of the family 
.show that his house was struck by lightning. He 
married (first), June 27. 1716, Mary Johnson, born 
November 4, 16S8. daughter of James and Sarah 
(Daniels) Johnson, of Hampton. Married (sec- 
ond), July 2, 1727, .Abigail Marshall, of Ipswich, 
who died June 4. 1757. aged seventy-one years. His 
children were : Jeremiah, Samuel, Mary, Ichal)od, 



42 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Edward, and Benjamin. (The last named and de- 
scendants are mentioned in this article). 

(IV) Edward (2). second son and third child 
of Edward (l) and Mary (Johnson) Shaw, was 
born March 2, 1724, and died July 16, 1787, aged 
sixt3'-three. He married, May 7, 1746, Ruth Fel- 
lows, of Salisbury. Massachusetts, and died on the 
homestead. She died May, 1798. aged seventy-five. 
Their children were: Jeremiah, Samuel, Mary, Ich- 
abod, Abigail, Simeon, Levi, and John, whose 
sketch follows. 

(V) John, eighth and youngest child of Ed- 
ward (2) and Ruth (Fellows) Shaw, was baptized 
June 14. 1761, and died August 9, 1844, aged eighty- 
three. He was the successor of his father and 
grandfather on the homestead. He married. No- 
vember, 1801, Zipporah Towle, who was born in 
Hampton, February 5, 1774, and died December 31, 
1850, aged seventy-six. She was the daughter of 
Samuel and Rachel (Elkins) Towle. They had: 
Ruth Fellows, Simeon Brackett, Edward and 
Elizabeth. 

(VI) Simeon Brackett, second child and eldest 
of the two sons of John and Zipporah (Towle) 
Shaw, was born in 1804, and died November 16, 
1871, aged sixty-seven years. He was a steady, 
progressive farmer, and lived on the homestead. 
He was chairman of the b^ard of selectmen several 
years. He married, in 1829, Jane Perkins, who was 
born June 15, 1806. and died January 7. 1878, 
daughter of John and Joanna (Elkins) Perkins, of 
Hampton. Their children were : Simeon and John 
Brackett. 

(VII) Simeon, son of Simeon B. and Jane 
(Perkins) Shaw, was born March 7, 1831. He was 
educated in the common schools and at Hampton 
Academy. He lives on the ancestral acres and in 
many ways has followed in the footsteps of his 
father. For twenty-nine years he was in the em- 
ploy of the Boston & Maine railroad, and a portion 
of that time was section foreman. In politics he is 
a Republican, and has taken some part in town af- 
fairs, having been a member of the board of select- 
men two years. He is a member of the Congrega- 
tional Church. He married, October 26, 1855, Sarah 
Elizabeth Lamprey, who was born October 26. 1835, 
daughter of Captain Jesse and Mary (Johnson) 
Lamprey, of Hampton. Of this union have been 
born ; Simeon Albert, Mary Esther, George Ed- 
ward, Martha Adelaide. Flora Webster. Charles Ed- 
ward and Fred Merrill. Simeon Albert is men- 
tioned below. Mary Esther married John C. Blake. 
George Edward died young. Martha Adelaide mar- 
ried Jotham P. Blake. Flora Webster married Al- 
bert C. Wilbar and lives in Boston. Charles Ed- 
ward, unmarried. Fred Merrill married Emma 
Taylor, of North Hampton. 

fVIII) Simeon Albert, eldest child of Simeon 
and Sarah E. (Lamprey) Shaw, was born August 
23. 1856. After leaving the common schools he at- 
tended Hampton Academy four years and a com- 
mercial school in Boston one j'ear. He resides on 
the farm which has been the homestead of genera- 
tions of Shaws in an unbroken line since 1647. a 
fact that is worthy of particular attention, and has 
scarcely a parallel in the history of New Hamp- 
S'hire. He cultivates the soil, giving special atten- 
tion to growing fruit. For six winters he taught 
school ; since 1S73 he has been town librarian.' In 
politics he is a Republican, and has been selectman 
four years. He is a charter member of Oceanside 
Grange. No. 260, Patrons of Husbandry, of which 
he is a past master. At present he is town agent 
for the Rockingham Farmers' Mutual Fire Insur- 
ance Companj'. He married, in i88r, Abbie Isabel 



Cole, who was born in Portsmouth in 1859, daugh- 
ter of William G. and Hannah T. (Brooks) Cole. 
(See Cole, II). Their children, who are of the 
ninth generation on the same homestead, are : El- 
rov Garfield, Everett Simeon, Ethel Brooks and 
Thelma May. Elroy G., born October 18, 1881, 
married Jessie Crosby, daughter of Charles H. 
Crosby, of Hampton Falls. They have three chil- 
dren: Harold Douglass, Eveline and Isabella. 
Everett S., May 12, 1885, resides at home, is pre- 
paring for college. Ethel Brooks, January 11, 1887, 
married Archibald Lantz, of Hampton Falls, and 
has one child, Eva May. Thelma M. was born June 
17, 1900. 

(IV) Benjamin (2), youngest child of Edward 
(l) and Mary (Johnson) Shaw, was born March 
i;, 1727. He removed to Sandown, New Hamp- 
shire, where he afterward resided. He married, 
August 7. 1747, Rebecca FoUansbee, and they had 
Edward, Benjamin, Thomas, Joshua, Joseph and 
Hannah. 

(V) Lieutenant Benjamin (3), second son and 
child of Benjamin (2) and Rebecca (FoUansbee) 
Shaw, was born at Sandown in 1758, and died in 
1825. aged sixty-seven. He removed to Weare, and 
in 1815 to Salisbury, settling at what was called in 
his honor. "Shaw's Comer." and purchasing the Ed- 
ward Quinby house, which was burned in 1875. He 
married, in Sandown, Sarah, daughter of John and 
Elizabeth (Sargent) Sanborn, who died April 16, 
i860, aged ninety-six. She sat upon the father's 
woodpile at Sandown. and heard the firing while 
the battle of Bunker Hill was in progress. The 
children of this marriage were : John. Elizabeth, 
Benjamin. Sanborn. George, Dimond, Abram. Eli- 
phalet and Ira. (Sanborn and Dimond and de- 
scendants receive mention in this article). 

(VI) John, eldest child of Lieutenant Benja- 
min (3) and Sarah (Sanborn) Shaw, was born in 
Sandown. May 22, 1785, and died March 31, 1869, 
aged eighty-four. He was familiarly known as 
"Farmer John." He purchased, December 10, l8ri, 
lot No. 57. of the first range in Andover. and settled 
upon it. Early in 1815 he removed to Salisbury, 
settling on the farm now (1906) occupied by his 
grandson. Jarvis B.. erecting the present buildings 
in 1831. his being the first family to settle on the 
hill. He was a tall and stoutly built man. an indus- 
trious worker, and a person held in high esteem by 
his fellow townsmen. He was an active member of 
the Baptist Church. He married (first) Abigail 
Nichols, who was born in Bow in 1789, and died No- 
vember 26, 1842, at the age of fifty-three : he mar- 
ried (second) Widow Nancy Philbrick. who died 
.August 7, 1865 '■ and (third) the widow of Stephen 
Sawy-er. His children were : Lorena, Oliver. San- 
born. Eliphalet. Augustus. Eliza and Mary Jane. 

(VII) Sanborn, third child of John and Abi- 
,eail (Nichols) Shaw, was born in Andover. May I, 
1814. and died in Salisbury. December i. 1901, aged 
cight}--seven years. He lived on his father's farm 
until he married. He then bought a farm of one 
hundred and seventy-five acres on Sanborn's Hill, 
where he resided six years, until 1843, and then re- 
turned to Shaw's hill, where he spent the remainder 
of his life. He was a prosperous farmer and stock 
raiser, a respected man. of Baptist Church, and a 
Democrat of the Jacksonian type. He married, No- 
vember 23. 1837, Salina Severance, who was born 
November 12, 1814. and died June 13. 1893. She 
was a daughter of Deacon James and Sarah (True) 
Severance, of Salisbury. Their children were: 
Sarah J.. James S.. Abbie, Ann J., John. Byron and 
True. 

(VIII) John (2), second son and fifth child of 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



43 



Sanborn and Salina (Severance) Shaw, was born 
January 25, 1846. He was educated in the common 
schools and at East Andover Academy, and after 
leaving school worked at farming in Andover for 
two years. He then went to Concord, where he 
was engaged in driving a quarry team until April 
I, 1872, when he returned to Salisbury and in that 
year with his brother, James S., bought the "Gookin 
Mills" ; his brother died the following year, and 
John purchased his interest, and by attention to 
business and keeping a line to the times, he has 
gained a good reputation throughout his own and 
the surrounding towns. It is said "In his mill he 
can grind more flour, and of finer quality from a 
given amount of wheat, than any other flour mill in 
the state." He took his son, Lewis C, into partner- 
ship in 1897, and formed the firm of John Shaw & 
Son, and they conduct a large and profitable busi- 
ness. He owns fifty acres of land at West Salis- 
bury, where he resides. He is a man of energj', 
and his fellow citizens have confidence in his ability 
and integrity, which they have often shown by 
elcL-ting him to various town offices. He has been 
a member of the school board a number of years, 
was town treasurer from iS/S to 1881. selectman 
eleven years, and for twenty years was moderator, 
representative in 18S3, but finally declined to serve 
longer. He has been a justice of the peace since 
1882, and has sotlied a number of estates. In poli- 
tics he is a Democrat, like his father. He is a mem- 
ber of Bartlett Grange. No. 104, Monnamake Lodge, 
Improved Order of Red Men. of Franklin, and 
Blackwater Council, Order United American Me- 
chanics. He married. September 21. 1872. Annie A. 
Stevens, born August 5, 1S47. daughter of Moses J. 
and Phebe W. Rogers, of Salisbury. They have had 
four children: James S.., Abbie F., Lizzie (died 
young) and Lewis C. James S., born November 2, 
1873, is a graduate of Proctor Academy, Andover. 
He studied in the office of Dr. Foster, of Boston, 
received his diploma, and is now an optician in 
Franklin. Abbie F.. born November 28, 1874, mar- 
ried Fred. A. Dunlap ; have had two sons who died 
in childhood, and lives in Antrim. Lewis C. born 
January 12, 1878, is a partner in business with his 
father. He married, October 6, 1904. Alice E. 
Sleeper, of Franklin, and they have one child, 
Mason. 

(VI) Sanborn, third son and fourth child of 
Lieutenant Benjamin and Sarah (Sanborn) Shaw, 
was born February 20 170,3, in Weare, New Hamp- 
shire, and settled in Salisburv', ,on the North road. 
Late in life he removed to Northfield, where he died 
February 5, 1881. He was remarkably sound and 
healthy and never employed a physi'cian during his 
life. He was respected as a thoroughly upright 
man. He was married (first), October 19, 1819, to 
Nancy A. Sherburne, of Salisbury, who died in 1841. 
He was married in October, 1843. to Louisa (Smith) 
Evans, a widow of Northfield, who died June 2, 
i8So. The last named was the mother of two of 
his children. Arabella V. and Warren. The first 
wife was the mother of nine children, namely: 
Elvira, Emmeline. Nancy. Elbridge, Harry. War- 
ren, Sarah, Lucy J. and Peter B. 

(VII) Lucy j., fifth daughter and eighth child 
of Sanborn and Nancy A. (Sherburne) Shaw, was 
born November 22. 7833, and became the second 
wife of Moses F. Little (see Little. VII). 

(VI) Dimond, fifth son and sixth child of 
Lieutenant Benjamin and Sarah (Sanborn) Shaw, 
was born November 5, 1798, in Weare, and settled 
m Sahsburj', in 1826. He removed thence to Hill, 
and died in that town May 13, 1874. He was a 



farmer and a good citizen. His place in_ Salisbury 
is now occupied by his son. He was married (first) 
May 21, 1826, to Rachel Dresser, who was born 
June 9, 179S, in Sutton, and died November 14, 1851, 
in Salisbury. He married (second), February 26, 
1852, Mrs. Sarah Quimby, of Hill. His children, all 
born of the first wife, were: John, Mary C, Fred- 
crick C. and Abigail. 

(VII) INIary C, elder daughter and second 
child of Dimond and Rachel (Dresser) Shaw, was 
born January 6, 1828, and was married February 19, 
1852, to Moses F. Little (see Little, VII). 
(Second Family.) 

No less than thirty-two men by the 
SHAW name of Shaw were among the pioneer 

settlers of New England during the sev- 
enteenth century. The family whose line follows 
is not descended from any of these ; the ancestor 
of the present branch came direct from Scotland 
in 1730. 

(I) William Shaw came in 1730 from the Scotch 
Highlands to Charleston, South Carolina, as aid 
to an English general. Later he settled in North 
Concord. Massachusetts, where he died July 10, 
1S08. At the outbreak of the Revolution he en- 
listed in the Continental army. He married Martha 
Mills and they had one son, William, Jr., whose 
sketch follows. 

(II) William (2), son of William (l) and 
Martha (Mills) Shaw, was born in Concord, Mas- 
sachusetts, February 25. 1778. He was a farmer 
and shoemaker, and came from Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, to Milford, New Hampshire, in 1802. 
His change of location may have been due to his 
marriage, for on November 7, 1802, he married 
Asenath, daughter of William and Abigail (Lewis) 
Hopkins, of Milford. She was born in that town 
August 19. 1869. They had five children, all bom 
in Milford, New Hampshire: William (3), born 
January 4, 1803. Benjamin, February 19, 1805. 
George H., March 20, 1807, married Lydia, daugh- 
ter of Cyrus and Hannah (Berry) Stiles, of Am- 
herst, New Hampshire, was a farmer in Amherst 
where he died November 8, 1895. Abigail, Decem- 
ber 12. 181 1, married George W. Davis, of Prince- 
ton, Massachusetts, and died February IS, i860. 
Olive, June 6, 1813. married Dexter Farwell, of 
Fitchburg, Massachusetts, and died October 21, 
1S57. William Shaw, Jr., died February 25, 1856, 
on his seventy-eighth birthday. 

(HI) William (3). third son of William (2) 
and Asenath (Hopkins) Shaw, -was born in Mil- 
ford, New Hampshire, January 4, 1803. He was a 
manufacturer of violins, a phrenologist and a bo- 
tanic physician. On November 20, 1823, he mar- 
ried Betsey, daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth (Burn- 
ham) Hutchinson, who was born in Milford, March 
21, 180S (see Hutchinson family). They had four 
children, one son and three daughters. The chil- 
dren were : Christopher Columbus, whose sketch 
follow-s. Lutheria Adaline, born October 17, 1837, 
died in Boston, October 4, 1834. Mary Jane, No- 
vember 13. 1841. died September 29, 1843. Ella 
Francilla, July 12, 1846, married Fred. H., son of 
Alfred J. and Ann (Huse) Lj-nch, of Milford, 
died February 4, 1872. William Shaw (3), died 
October 25, 1870. His wife died June 22, 1889. by 
accident on the railroad. 

(IV) Christopher Columbus, only son and eld- 
est child of William Shaw (3) and Betsey (Hutch- 
inson) Shaw, was born in Milford, New Hampshire, 
March 20, 1S24, on the place where he now lives. 
This land was originally granted to the town of 
Charlestown, Massachusetts, for school purposes. 



44 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



It was held in this way from 1659 to 1744, when 
Charlestown sold it to William Hopkins, of Mil- 
ford, New Hampshire, fhe great-grandfather of 
Mr. Shaw. It did not descend directly, however, 
for Mr. Hopkins sold it to Nathan Hutchinson, 
through whom it passed to Jacob and then to Reu- 
ben Hutchinson, the father of Mr. Shaw's wife. 
C. C. Shaw was educated in the common schools 
and at Mil ford Academy. He iirst worked on a 
farm till his health failed : and at about eighteen 
years of age he began retailing dry goods from 
house to house. In 1844 he opened a country 
store at Milford, where he continued till 1848, when 
he closed out and established himself in the dry 
goods business at Lawrence, Massachusetts. In 
1850 he moved to Boston, Massachusetts, where he 
was similarly engaged for a time on Hanover street. 
He then connected himself with the large import- 
ing and jobbing dry goods house of J. W. Blod- 
gett & Company, in which he has continued either 
as proprietor or salesman, most of the time since. 
The firm was burned out during the great fire of 
1872. and for nearly eight years Mr. Shaw .gave 
up his business in Boston and retired to his farm 
in Milford. About this time Mr. Shaw was attract- 
■ed by the Grange movement sweeping over the 
west. Mr. Shaw was one of the first men in New 
Hampshire to see the possibilities of this order, 
and he sent for the first organizer. General Deputy 
Eben Thompson, to visit him at Milford. In two 
days Granite Grange, No. 7. was organized in 
Milford, with Mr. Shaw as master. A few weeks 
later the State Grange was organized, and he was 
elected secretary and appointed general deputy. 
Subsequently he was made purchasing agent for 
the state. In January, 1877, the State Mutual Fire 
Insurance Company was organized with Mr. Shaw 
as president. He held this position for seven years. 
In December. 1884. he was chosen secretary of the 
Patron's Relief Association, of which he became 
president in January. 1893. From 187.3 till t88o, 
at which time he resumed mercantile business in 
Boston, Mr. Shaw was dargely occupied in organ- 
izing subordinate granges and otherwise develop- 
in.g the order in the state. He organized thirty-two 
others in various New Hampshire towns. At pres- 
ent Mr. Shaw is secretary of the State Grange, 
and has been chairman of the executive committee 
for several years (1907'). No man in the state 
has done more for the interests of the order than 
himself, and no one is held in higher esteem by the 
older members. 

Mr. Shaw has been esoecially interested in the 
culture of fruit, and he has sent noteworthy ex- 
hibits of fruit, fancv poultry. Chester swine and 
Jersey cattle to the New England and other fairs. 
He has been a trustee of the New England Agri- 
cultural Society, and for many years has been a 
life member of that society, also of the Massa- 
chusetts Horticultural and .'\merican Pomological 
societies. He was one of the committee in charge 
of New Hampshire's exhibit at the Columbian Ex- 
position in Chicago in 1893. Being dissatisfied 
with the state's display of fruit, he decided to or- 
ganize the New Hamnshire Horticultural Society, 
of which he has been the continuous president. Be- 
sides his other interest? Mr. Shaw is a Mason of 
the thirty-second degree, and is president of the 
Historical and Genealogical Society of Milford. 
In politics he was born a Whig, but he early be- 
came an .'\bolitioTiist. whence he joined the Repub- 
lican partv upon its formation. He represented Mil- 
ford in the state legislature of 1875 and 1876. and 
for seven years was a member of the Republican 



state committee. At one time he received the un- 
solicited nomination for slate senator. In religion 
he is a Liberalist, and is president of the Veteran 
Spiritualist Union of Boston. 

Christopher C. Shaw was united in marriage Au- 
gust 27, 1846, with Rebecca Peabody, eleventh child 
of Reuben and Lucy (Hutchinson) Hutchinson, of 
Milford. New Hampshire. Her great-grandfather. 
Captain Nathan Hutchinson, was a Revolutionary 
soldier, and one of the first settlers of Milford. 
(See Hutchinson family). Three children were 
born of this marriage : Horatio Christopher, born 
in Milford, July 31. 1847, ''^ a salesman and farm- 
er at Milford, married, January 26, 1870, Eliza J., 
daughter of William and Mary (Colby) White, of 
Mont Vernon, New Hampshire. One child. Hattie 
May, born in Wilton, New Hampshire. July 8, 1879. 
Charles Jacob, born in Alilford, December i.S, 
1851. was at the time of his death, November 6, 
1904, a merchant in Philadelphia, he married (first) 
Anna M., daughter cf Joseph A. and Elizabeth L. 
(Plympton) Twitchell of ^lilford, and (second), 
Elizabeth A., daughter of Thomas A. and Sarah A. 
(Perkins) Worden, of Boston. He had two chil- 
dren : Ralph Jacob, born February 5, 1885, and 
Adele Louise, born October 21. 1888, who married 
Emmett E. Boone, of Philadelphia, December 5, 
1906. Hattie Lutheria, born in Boston, Massachus- 
etts, July 14, 1858. died in Milford. New Hamp- 
shire, January 7, 1861. 



Shaw is an old English name, denoting 
SHAW a grove of small trees, and was first 

used in reference to persons in the 
expression "atte shawe," or "at the shaw," and 
finally adopted as a surname by the person living 
"at the shaw," and kept by his descendants after 
all local reference had been lost. 

(I) Benjamin Shaw was born in Hampton. 
New Hampshire. December 25, 1766, and settled 
in Chichester when a young man. being the first of 
the Shaw family in that town. In politics he was 
a Democrat. He was a member of the Congrega- 
tional Church of Chichester. He married (first) 
Abigail Paige, born in 1773, died January 17. 1S31. 
She had two children. John and David P. He mar- 
ried (second) Ruth Sherburne. She died May 4, 
1849. leaving no issue. 

(II) David P., second son and child of Benja- 
min and A'oigail (Paige) Shaw, was born May 27, 
1797. He was educated in the common schools 
and at Pembroke .^^cademy. He was much inter- 
ested in militia matters, and was appointed- .'Xpril 
17, 1826. captain of militia in the Thirty-eighth New 
Hampshire Regiment. He also served in the War 
of 1812. and was stationed at Portsmouth. He was 
like his father a member of the Congregational 
Church, and a Democrat. He married, October 
16, 1823, Clarissa Carpenter, daughter of the Rev. 
Josiah and Hannah (Morrill) Carpenter, of Chi- 
chester (see Carpenter, XV), and they were the 
parents of John, Josiah C, David C, Charles C. 
and Benjamin. 

(III) Josiah Carpenter Shaw, second son of 
David and Clarissa (Carpenter) Shaw, was born in 
Chichester, 1826,. and died in Concord, September 
29, 1886. He left home when of age or sooner and 
took up his residence in Concord. From about 
1850 to 1870 he was steward in the Insane Asylum 
at Concord, where by economy and a careful in- 
vestment of his savings he gained a competency. 
He was a Democrat in politics, and a constant at- 
tendant at the Congregational Church. He mar- 
ried Rosetta R. Danforth, born in the western part 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



45 



of Boscawen, now Webster, March ir, 1843, daugh- 
ter of Edmund and Rhoda S. (Clough) Danforth 
(see Danforth VI). There is one child of this mar- 
riage, Clarence Eugene Shaw, born September 22. 
187s, residing in Concord. 

This name originated in Scot- 
McCLINTOCK land, and the family now being 
considered is descended from 
a worthy Scotch Presbyterian who early in the 
eighteenth century joined his compatriots in the 
nortli of Ireland, whence he came to New England. 
Bearers of this name have acquired distinction as 
scientists on both sides of the Atlantic, notably : 
Sir Francis Leopold McClintock, an Irish Arctic 
explorer, and John N. McClintock, the well known 
civil engineer and sanitary expert of Boston, who 
will be again referred to. 

(I) William McClintock, a native of Scotland 
and a devout Presbyterian, went to the north of 
Ireland early in the eighteenth century in order 
to participate in the freedom of thought and action 
in religious matters enjoyed by his fellow-country- 
men who had previously settled there. After re- 
siding in Londonderry for a time he emigrated to 
New England in 1730, and settled in Medford, 
Massachusetts, near Boston. He was married four 
times, three times in the old country, was (he father 
of nineteen children, and lived to be ninety years 
old. His third wife accompanied him to this coun- 
try. 

(II) William (2), son of William (i) McClin- 
tock and his third wife, was born in Londonderry, 
Ireland, 172Q, and was brought by his parents to 
New England during his infancy. He was a resi- 
dent of Medford, Massachusetts, 1757, but later re- 
moved to Boothbay, Maine. His death occurred 
June 3, 1779. He married second, Margaret Fuller- 
ton, who bore him two children : William of Bris- 
tol, Maine, see forward ; John, of Boothbay. 

(II) Rev. Dr. Samuel, son of William (1) Mc- 
Clintock, the immigrant, and his third wife, and 
brother of William McClintock, abovementioned, 
was born at Medford, Massachusetts, May i, 1732, 
died April 27. 1804, in his seventy-second year. He 
•was a graduate of Princeton College, a resident of 
Greenland, New Hampshire, and served as chap- 
lain of a New Hampshire regiment which parti- 
cipated in the battle of Bunker Hill, commanded by 
General Starke. He married in Portsmouth, in the 
fall of 1754, lived with his wife thirty-one years, 
and they were the parents of fifteen children. Four 
of their sons engaged in the revolutionary war at 
the same time, namely : Nathaniel, Samuel, Wil- 
liam and John. Nathaniel, the eldest of the sons, 
was born Alarch 21, 1757. He graduated from Har- 
vard College. 1775. He was offered an ensign's com- 
mission in the British army, but refused. Soon 
after the battle of Lexington he joined the Ameri- 
can army as lieutenant of one of the companies of 
the New Hampshire line. He was appointed ad- 
jutant in Colonel Poore's regiment and promoted 
to the rank of brigade major when Poore 
was advanced to that of brigadier-general. He 
was with General Washington at the cap- 
ture O'f the Hessians at Trenton in 1776, 
was at Ticonderoga, and in various engage- 
ments with Burgoyne's army until its final capture. 
In 1780 he was killed in an engagement on board 
a man-of-war. Samuel, the second son. was born 
February 21, T758. was a midshipman on board the 
"Rollo," a frigate in. the United States service; 
was afterward a lieutenant of a frigate ship-of- 
war. and was lost at sea on a merchant vessel. 



William, the third son, born Februarv 4, 1759, 
was killed at the battle ^ of Trenton. 'John, the 
fourth son, born August 28, 1761, was in four dif- 
ferent private armed ships, in three actions, and 
was successively mate, prizemaster and lieutenant 
before he was twenty years of age. He was the 
only one of the four brothers who survived the 
war. He resided in Portsmouth. New Hampshire, 
and, served as naval officer for the city for a long 
period of time, during the administrations of Har- 
rison, Tyler, Taylor, Fillmore and Pierce. At the 
time of his death, November 13, 1855, lie was the 
oldest man residing in Portsmouth. 

(III) Hon. William (3), son of William (2) 
McClintock, was born in Boothbay, Maine, Sep- 
tember 29. 1778. For a number of years he fol- . 
lowed the sea as master of a ve'ssel, owned a farm 
in Bristol, of which town he was a resident the 
greater part of his life, and served as land sur- 
veyor. He was quite active in public afifairs, hav- 
ing served as trial justice, in the lower house of 
legislature of Massachusetts and Maine, and as 
a member of the first constitutional convention of 
Maine. He married Fanny Young. 

(IV) Captain John, son of William (3) and 
Fanny (Young) McClintock, was born in Bristol, 
.April 9, 1807. Like the majority of the residents 
of his town, he was a seafaring man. and becom- 
ing a master mariner visited all parts of the world 
as captain of a merchantman. The following in- 
cident will serve to emphasize his ability as a mar- 
iner. While in the port of Yokohama, Japan, he 
found it advantageous to accept a cargo for Callao, 
Peru, and although his chronometer was disabled 
and he was not in possession of the necessary 
charts, with the aid of an atlas of the world and 
his watch he guided his ship accurately across the 
Pacific ocean and brought her safely into port. He 
settled in Hallowell, Maine. He married Mary- 
Bailey Shaw, daughter of William Stanley Shaw, 
and had a family of six children, four of whom are 
living, namely: John N., see forward. Hon. Wil- 
liam E., of Chelsea, Massachusetts, chairman of 
the state highway 'commission. J. Y., county en- 
gineer of Monroe county, New York, resides in 
Rochester. Mary E., w'ho is residing in Read- 
field, Maine. 

(V) John Norris McClintock. A. M.. C. E.. son 
of Captain John and Mary Bailey (Shaw) Mc- 
Clintock. was born in Winthrop, Maine. May 12, 
TS46. HLs early education was acquired in the pub- 
lic schools of Hallowell, and he w-as graduated 
from Bowdoin College, 1S67. later receiving the 
degree of Master of Arts from the same institu- 
tion. Prior to the 'completion of his collegiate 
course he was appointed to the United States 
coast survey, and immediately after leaving college 
he entered the government's service, in which he 
was later advanced to the position of sub-assistant. 
He continued in that service eight years, or until 
1875, w'hen he relinquished his govenmient position 
in order to establish himself as a civil engineer in 
Concord, New Hampshire, in \\-hich city he had lo- 
cated some four years previous. He was, how- 
ever, for some time afterwards connected with the 
United States engineer corps. At Concord he 
built up a large and profitable general civil engin- 
eering business, being employer in several import- 
and undertakings, including electric railways, etc., 
and he was also connected with the geological sur- 
vcv of New Hampshire. In 1879 he became owner. 
publisher and editor of the Granite Monthly at 
Concord, New Hampshire, and he continued to 
direct the affairs of that publication until 1891, at 



46 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



the same time attending to his professional duties. 
In the latter named year he found it advisable to 
transfer his headquarters to Boston, where his rep- 
utation was such as to enable him to comniand a 
large share of general engineering work in that 
city, and he was subsequently employed by the 
city, the state and numerous corporations. 

For the past twelve years Mr. McCHntock has 
devoted his time and energies to the important mu- 
nicipal problems of the proper disposal of sewage 
and the purification of water, with the result that 
he has succeeded in perfecting an improved sys- 
tem of filteration hascd upon a thoroughly scien- 
tific principle. Having purchased certain patents 
which he improved through the introduction of in- 
. ventions of his own, he organized what is known 
as the American 'Sewage Disposal Company of 
Boston, and also the Water Purification Company, 
both of which have become successful enterprises of 
unquestionable sanitary importance. The process 
for the rapid filteration and neutralization of sew- 
age, known as the Biological System, can be ap- 
plied with equal efficacy to the purification of water 
for domestic purposes, and in all probability con- 
stitutes the most important advance in the art of 
filteration yet accomplished. .^s a sanitary im- 
provement its value cannot be too highly estimated, 
and its adoption by the large municipalities of 
America, Europe, including the city of London, 
and cities in the Orient, has been attended with ex- 
cellent results. 

Mr. McCHntock resides in Dorchester. In addi- 
tion to his duties as president and manager of the 
above mentioned enterprises, he has created a large 
business as a consulting engineer, particularly in ref- 
erence to sewage purification, in which science he 
is regarded as one of the leading experts in the 
United States, and at various conventions of scien- 
tific bodies he has read papers which have become ' 
standard authority. He is a memher of the Maine 
and New Hampshire Historical societies, and other 
organizations. Aside from his professional ability 
he is widely and favorably known in New Hamp- 
shire as the author of an excellent history of that 
state. In his religious belief he is a Congregation- 
alist. 

Mr. McCHntock married,, October 3, 1871. Jo- 
sephine Tilton, daughter of Joseph C. Tilton, of 
Concord, and granddaughter of Dr. Timothy Til- 
ton, of Canaan. The children of this union are: 
John Tilton, an architect in Boston. .Edward 
Pratt, deceased, who was a broker in New York 
City, .'\rabella Chandler, resides with her parents. 



A time-honored name in Ameri- 
CHANDLER can annals, among the first in 

New Hampshire, this has been 
conspicuous in many states, and is among the 
most prominent of this commonwealth today. As 
jurists and legislators-, as business men and phil- 
anthropists, its bearers have done service to New 
Hampshire and received honor at her hands. It 
has been said that Roxbury, Massachusetts, re- 
ceived the best of the English emigrants in Puri- 
tan days, and this family has furnished since those 
olden days many of the best pioneers in many 
states of the Union. 

(I) William Chandler, the immigrant ancestor, 
with his wife, .^nnis and four children settled at 
Roxbury in 1637. Annis is supposed to have been 
a sister of Deacon George Alcock, of Roxbury. 
One child was born to them at Roxbury. In a 
list of inhabitants at Roxbury between 1638 and 
1640, William Chandler appears as the owner of 



twenty-two acres of land, with seven persons in 
his family. He was charged with the care on the 
commons of one goat and kid, the least of any of 
the residents. He took tlie freeman's oath in 1640, 
and was at that time stricken with disease which 
caused his demise November 26, 1641. He was 
among the proprietors of Andover, w'ith his son 
Thomas, and tradition says he was the owner of 
the tannery at the corner of Bartlett street and 
Shaw-mut avenue, Roxbury. A chronicler of his 
time says he "Lived a religious & godly life among 
us & fell into a Consumption to which he had, a 
long time, been inclined ; he lay near a yeare 
sick, in all which time his faith, patience & Godli- 
ness & Contentation So Shined that Christ was 
much glorified in him — he was a man of Weake 
parts but Excellent faith and holiness ; he was a 
Very thankful man, and much magnified God's 
goodness. He was poor, but God prepared the 
hearts of his people to^ him that he never wanted 
that which was (at least in his Esteem) Very plent- 
iful and comfortable to him — ^he died in the year 
1641, and left a Sweet memory and Savor behind 
him." William Chandler's widow was married 
Tuly 2, 1643. to John Dane, of Barkhampstead, Eng- 
land, who died in September. 1658, and she married 
(third) August 9, 1660, John Parmenter of Sud- 
bury, Massachusetts. The children of William and 
Annis Chandler were: Hannah. Thomas, William, 
John and Sarah. (Mention of William and John 
and descendants forms an important portion of this 
article.) 

(II) Captain Thomas, second child and oldest 
son of William and ."^nnis (Alcock) Chandler, was 
born in 1630, and died "15 day, 1703." He came 
with his parents to New England in 1637, when he 
was about seven years old. He was one of the 
proprietors and early pioneers in the settlement of 
Andover, and his name is twenty-third "of the house- 
holders in order as they came to town." He was 
employed with George Abbot, senior, and others, to 
lay out lands granted individuals by the general 
court. An old record reads : "It is ordered, that 
Thomas Chandler be leften'nt in ye ffoot Com- 
pany in Andover, John Stephens. Ensign, under 
the command of Dudley Bradstreet, Capt." He 
was representative to the general court in 1678 and 
1679, from Andover. Loring's "History of .\n- 
dover" says : "Thomas Chandler was a blacksmith, 
ultimately a rich man, carrying on a considerable 
iron works." It is a tradition that iron works 
existed where Marland village now is. Thomas 
Chandler's son. Captain Joseph, sold, 1718. "one 
half of ye whole Iron works in Salisbury on ye 
falls commonly called ye Powwow River." Thomas 
Chandler married Hannah Brewer, of Andover. 
She died in .Andover, October 25. 1717, aged eighty- 
seven. Their children were: Thomas (died yohng), 
John, Hannah, William, Sarah, Thomas, Henry and 
Joseph. 

(III) Captain John, second son and child of 
Captain Thomas and Hannah (Brewer) Chandler, 
born March 14, 1655. died in Andover, September 
19, 1721, in the si.xty-seventh year of his age, was 
a blacksmith and landholder. His homestead was 
on the west side of the Shawshin river, in Andover. 
He was chosen moderator for the day at the an- 
nual town meeting, March 6, 1710, and on the same 
date was elected one of the selectman, to which 
office he was several times re-elected. He was 
first selectman in 1715. and subsequently highway 
surveyor. He m.arried Hannah Abbot, third child 
of George and Hannah (Chandler) Abbot, of .An- 
dover (see .Abbott). She was born June 9, 1650, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



47 



and died IMarch 2, 1741, aged ninety. Their chil- 
dren were: John (died young), John, Zebediah, 
Abiel, Hannah and Sarah. 

(IV) Tohn (2), second son and child of John 
(i) and "Hannah (Abbot) Chandler, born March 
14. 16S0, died May .S, 1/41, in Andover, was a 
farmer in West Parish, on "the Chandler Home- 
stead," where his great-grandson. Captain Joshua 
Chandler, resided in 1871. He and his wife were 
admitted to full communion with the church in 
Andover, July 13. 1712. Sergeant John Chandler 
was surveyor 1716-20; selectman 1720. Ensign 
John Chandler was selectman and overseer of the 
poor in 1725-26-28. He ''was chosen a trustee of 
the town, to take out of the Provence Treasury 
their aforesaid part of £60.000," and September 19, 
1732, Captain John Chandler was moderator of a 
town meeting in .-Vndover. The Church Records. 
South Parish, Andover, November 8, 1730, state: 
"Ensign John Chandler was made choice of as a 
messenger to the ordination of Rev. Timothy Wal- 
ker, at Penny Cook, which is to be on the i8th." 
"The great-grandson of Ensign John Chandler used 
to relate that on one occasion, when his ancestor 
Ensign John Chandler, of Andover, w-ent to Nev^- 
burvport, he was impressed by three of the king's 
officials, saying to him, as they laid their hands on 
his shoulder, "the King needs your services." He 
told them he wished to be excused, as his family 
needed his care, u:c., to which the reply was, 'we 
can't help that; the King needs your services; you 
will go with us.' Apparently yielding, he walked 
quietly along until they reached a spot where a 
house had been burned and where there was a 
deep cellar, with ashes and half consumed timbers 
still burning, then turning round quickly he seized 
them, one by one. and threw them all into the cel- 
lar, where he left them and went his way." His 
will was dated April 20, and proved June i, 1741. 
He married, June 4, 1701, Hannah Frye. born April 
12, 1683, died August i, 1727, aged forty-four years. 
She was the daughter of Samuel Frye, born 1650, 
by his wife Mary, daughter of John Aslett or Asle- 
b'ee, granddaughter of Robert Frye. who married 
Ann. who died in Andover, October 23. 1680, and 
great-granddaughter of John Frye, of Basing, 
Hants. England. The children of this union were: 
John. Joshua, Nathan. Hannah. Alary, Phebe. Abiel, 
'Samuel (died young 1, Lydia, Samuel, Isaac and 
Dorcas. Hannah became the wife of Timothy 
Ballard (see Ballard, IV"). (Abial and descendants 
receive extended mention in this, article.) 

(V) Captain John (3), eldest son of Captain 
John (2) and Hannah (Frye) Chandler, born in 
Andover, Massachusetts. 1702. died in Concord, 
July 26, 1775, aged seventy-two, was one of the 
original proprietors of Concord, and a man of much 
influence. In 1733 he was tithingman and treasurer 
of Pennycook. In 1746 he was captain of the gar- 
rison round the house of Rev. Timothy Walker, 
in Rumford (now Concord), and in 1747 captain 
of the garrison round the house of Jeremiah Stick- 
ney. In 1750 he was one of a committee "to advise 
and order Deacon John Merrill how he shall pursue 
and defend the action, brought against said Alerrill 
by the proprietors of Bow," &c. Captain John 
Chandler had command of a company of nine men 
"in his majesty's service" for eight days. 8th to 17th 
of September, 1754. probably scouting for Indians, 
for which he received ii. 2S. lod. October 8, 1771, 
Captain John Chandler, Mr. Philip Eastman, and 
Mr. Abiel Chandler were chosen a committee to 
take a plan and survey the common and undivided 
land and lay out the same to each proprietor "his 



or their equal proportion in a just and equitable 
manner. Captain Chandler was a man of great 
muscular power and a great wrestler. It is related 
"that being informed that Rev. Mr. Wise, of Ipswich, 
excelled in the art of wrestling, and had not been 
thrown, he made a journey on purpose to try his 
strength and skill. Mr. Wise on being requested, 
declined, having relinquished the practice as un- 
suitable to his profession. But being earnestly solic- 
ited by Air. Chandler, they went into a door-yard 
which was fenced by a wall set in the bank, took 
hold, and began to play; when Mr. Wise suddenly, 
with a trip and a twitch, threw him over the wall 
upon his back. Chandler arose and requested another 
trial, but Air. Wise refused. So the Captain re- 
turned home sadly disappointed." He married, 
Tabitha Abbot, daughter of Nathaniel and Dorcas 
(Hibbert) Abbot, (see Abbot, 11) and they were 
the parents of John, Timothy, Daniel, Joshua and 
Hannah. 

(VI) Lieutenant John (4), oldest child of Cap- 
tain John (3) and Tabitha (Abbot) Chandler, born 
in 1731, died Alarch I, 1807, was a prominent man 
in Pennycook (now Concord), of wdiich he was one 
of the proprietors. He drew house lot No. 7. con- 
taining one and a half acres in the first range, and 
lot 68. containing si.x and sixty-six hundreths acres 
in the Great Plain. He was named first of the com- 
mittee of three which laid out the ''Second Division 
of Interval" in 1727, in which he had lot No. 13, 
containing four acres. At a legal meeting of the 
proprietors of Penny Cook, March 26, 1733. it was 
voted "That Lieutenant John Chandler, Mr. .Abra- 
ham Bradley, and Ensign Jeremiah Stickney shall 
be a committee to let out the common meadow be- 
longing to the proprietors (which shall not be laid 
out to particular persons), to the highest bidder for 
the year ensuing." In June, 1734. it was "voted that 
Lieutenant John Chandler and Air. Timothy Clement 
be a committee to be with the clerk whilst he is 
recording the land, and to see that he make a fair 
record of the same." At a legal meeting of the pro- 
prietors of Rumford (now Concord), Alarch 11, 
I735> it was "Voted that (Lieutenant) John Chand- 
ler shall have liberty to build a saw mill on Rattle 
Snake brook, and liberty of a convenient yard for 
his logs and boards, and liberty to flow the great 
pond called Rattle Snake pond, the said Chandler 
to pay what damages he shall do to the proprietors 
by flowing the pond; the said Chandler to enjoy 
the said privileges during the term of fifteen years 
from the twenty-fourth day of February, 1734." In 
the same year Lieutenant John Chandler was on a 
committee "to dispose of the common meadow within 
the township, for the year 1735," and was chosen "to 
assist the proprietors' clerk in recording the house- 
lots and interval six acre lots, and to see that the 
clerk makes a true record thereof." He married, 
1751, Alary Carter, who died June 9, 1793. aged 
sixty-four. Their children were: John, Nathan, 
Isaac, Joseph, Jeremiah and Aloses. (Ihe last 
named and descendants receive notice in this 
article). 

(VII) Captain John (5), son of Lieutenant John 
(4) and Alary (Carter) Chandler, was born in 
Concord. December II, 1752, and died January 24, 
1825. He settled in the village of Penacook, on 
Boscawen side, and built the first tavern in the 
place, now standing (on the corner of Main and 
Water street?") and known as the Penacook House. 
He married Naomi, daughter of Ephraim Farnuni, 
of Concord. She was born April. 1760. died Alarch, 
1832. (see Farnum. IV) and they had John. Nathan, 
Ephraim, Alary, Susannah, Judith H. and Rhoda C. 



48 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(VIII) Nathan Chandler, second son and child 
of John (5) and Naomi (Farnum) Chandler, born 
in Hoscawen, April 15, 1782, died in Concord, April 
I, 1835. He was a farmer and lived in Boscawen, 
his residence being the house next below the hotel 
above mentioned, on Water street. He was select- 
man 1812-13-16. He moved to the Concord side 
in 1829. and settled near the present Penacook rail- 
road station. He married, in 1805, Jane Rolfe, born 
January 21, 1783, daughter of Nathaniel {2) and 
Judith (.Walker) Rolfe, of Penacook. They were 
the parents of Abial Rolfe, Judith Walker, Naomi 
Farnum, Nathan, Harriet, Sarah B. and William P. 

(IX) Nathan (2), second son and fourth child 
of Nathan (1) and Jane (Rolfe) Chandler, was 
born in Boscawen, June 12, 1812, and died at the 
Concord homestead June 21, 1884. In his youth he 
assisted his father on the farm, and got a common 
school education. After arriving at man's estate he 
bought a farm on the interval near the railroad sta- 
tion at Penacook, which he carried on the remainder 
of his active life. He was a man of sound judg- 
ment and highly esteemed by his neighbors'; was 
assessor in ward one for a number of years, served 
on a committee to review valuation, as selectman, 
and representative in 1874-75, and was a prominent 
member of the Congregational Church. He married, 
December 8, 1840, Lovisa W. Ferrin, born in West 
Concord, 1815, daughter of Philip and (Cleasby) 
Ferrin. They had four children : Edward Web- 
ster, now a resident of Denver. Colorado ; Sarah 
Blanchard, died while the wife of James L. Gerrish 
of Webster ; Frederick G. and William Palmer, 
residents of Penacook. 

(X) Frederick Gray, second son and third child 
of Nathan (2) Lovisa W. (Ferrin) Chandler, was 
born at Penacook, December 31, 1845, and educated 
in the common schools of Penacook and the Bosca- 
wen Academy. He taught school winters and worked 
on his father's farm during the summer for several 
years. In 1877 he bought his father's farm, which, 
with other land he has since purchased, makes him 
a fertile interval farm of one hundred and twenty- 
live acres, upon which he resides, and makes a 
specialty of raising a fine quality of hay. He also 
owns a half interest in the Eagle and Little blocks, 
in the village of Penacook, whose ownership is erron- 
eously credited entirely to another in Browns History 
of Penacook. For twelve years he kept a dairy 
herd, and supplied a milk route in Penacook. Like 
his father before him, Mr. Chandler is a man of 
integrity and influence, and has performed public 
service, having been selectman three terms and coun- 
cilman two terms. He and his wife are members of 
the Congregational Church. He married, June 21, 
1877, Mary S. Abbott, born in West Concord, Au- 
gust 24, 1841, daughter of Simeon and jNIary (Far- 
num) Abbot (see Abbot, VI). They have one 
child, Annie Mary Chandler, born July 12, 1880, a 
well known church organist and teacher of music. 

(V) Abiel, seventh child and fourth son of John 
(2) and Hannah (Frye) Chandler, born in Andover. 
November 14, 1717, baptized December i, 1717, 
died before 1754, was an early settler in Rumford 
(Concord), New Hampshire. He was chosen fence 
viewer, March 20, 1740; highway surveyor, March 
31, 1743, in Rumford. In 1746 his family went to 
seek protection from the Indians in Henry Love- 
joy's garrison in the West Parish, Concord. But 
"Jilarch ye 21, 1746-7" Abiel Chandler was ordered 
to do duty round the house (garrison) of Rev. 
Timothy Walker. He owned house lot No. 7 in 
the Second Range and eighty acres of farm land in 
Concord. He married, March 17, 1742, Rebecca 



Abbot, of Concord, born in Andover, 1717, died 
February 13, 1803, aged eighty-six years, daughter 
of Nathaniel and Dorcas (Hibbert) Abbott. They 
had four children: Abiel, died young; Abiel, Peter, 
a soldier at Bunker Hill ; and Sarah. After the 
death of Mr. Chandler, his widow became the wife 
of Amos Abbott. (See Abbott, IV). 

(VI) Major Abiel, second son and child of Abiel 
and Rebecca (Abbot) Chandler, born in Concord, 
New Hampshire, May 11, 1744, died of small po.x 
at Crown Point, July 12, 1776, in his thirty-second 
year. The town of Concord paid Abiel Chandler 
for school-keeping and for surveying from 1771 to 
I775> fifty-five pounds, fourteen shillings and two 
and a half pence; and for "surveying roads and 
taking the number of the people," from 1774 to 1775, 
five pounds, ten shillings. He was commissioned 
captain of the Second Company of militia in Con- 
cord, the Sixth Company in the regiment. February 
26. 1774. As soon as the news of the battle of Lex- 
ington, April 19, 1775, reached Concord. Captain 
Abiel Chandler raised a volunteer company of 
thirty-six men and marched to Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, where they remained a fortnight. The 
town of Concord voted "That Captain Abiel Chand- 
ler and those who went with him to Cambridge, 
upon the alarm of April last, be paid by the Parish 
at the same rate as other troops in this Colony are 
paid." Lieutenant Abiel Chandler was in Captain 
Joshua Abbott's company at Bunker Hill, and acted 
as ensign in Starke's regiment, and that company 
was on the extreme left and had not the slightest 
protection of rail fence or hay even in the fight. At 
Ticonderoga. 1776, he was adjutant of Colonel John 
Stark's regiment, under Brigadier-General Sullivan. 
He died at Crown Point while in the service. He 
married Judith Walker, daughter of Rev. Timothy 
Walker (see Walker, V), of Concord, by his wife 
Sarah Burbeen, daughter of James, of Woburn, 
JNlassachusetts. They were the parents of three 
children: Sarah; Judith, born October 9. 1770. mar- 
ried, June 12. 1784, Timothy Carter (see Carter, 
VII), and Rebecca. 

(II) William (2), second son and third child 
of William (l) and Annis Chandler, was married 
August 18, 1658, to Mary Dame, who was born 1638, 
in Ipswich, and died May 10, 1679, in Andover. She 
was a daughter of Dr. John Dane ("chirergen") 
and his first wife, Eleanor Clark. Dr. John Dane 
was a son of John Dane, of Bishop's Stortford, 
Herts, England, whose second wife was Annis, 
widow of William Chandler (i). Dr. John Dane 
was the author of "A Declaration of Remarkable 
Prouidences in the Corse of my Life." (republished 
in the "New England Flistorical and Genealogical 
Register" for 1S54), in which he declares that he 
was a "Taylor by trade." when residing near 
Bishop's Stortford, England. William (2) Chand- 
ler was married October 8, 1679. to Bridget (Hinch- 
man). widow of James Richardson. She died March 
6, 1731, aged one hundred years. ]\Ir. Chandler was 
admitted a freeman in 1669. He was a brickinaker 
in Andover, and kept an inn on the road from Ips- 
wich to Billerica, being licensed June 17. 169-- He 
died in 1698, in Andover, and left a large estate. 
His children, all born of the first wife, were : Mary, 
William, Sarah, Thomas (died at two years), John, 
Philemon (died at eight months), Thomas, Phile- 
mon, Hannah, Thomas (2), Joseph, Phebe, Joseph 
(2), and Rhoda. 

(III) William (3), eldest son and second child 
of William (2) and Mary (Dane) Chandler, was 
born January 31, 1661, in Andover, and was married 
December 28, 1682, to Sarah Buckminster. They 



NEW HAMPSHIRE 



49 



lived next door to the parsonage in South Andover, 
and the wife was a member of the church. He died 
October 27, 1727, being survived by his wite until 
October 3, 1735, when he was seventj'-four years 
old. Their children were : Josiah, Philemon, Sarah 
and Zachariah. His estate was appraised at three 
hundred and seventy pounds. 

(,IVj Zachariah, youngest child of William (3) 
and Sarah (Buckminster) Chandler, was born May 
I, 1695, and was married in Roxbury, January iH, 
1715, to Mary, daughter of Thomas Bishop of Rox- 
bury. He lived in West Roxbury, on the north side 
of the Dedham road, and was a shoemaker. In 
the record of a sale of land by him he is alluded to 
as one of the Narragansett soldiers. This land was 
in Narragansett township, on the ^ilerrimack river, 
next to Dunstable. He was elected sealer of leather 
in Roxbury, Marcli 3, 1717, and several years there- 
after. In a bill of sale executed at Boston, Novem- 
ber u, 1740, wherein it is shown that he paid one 
hundred and ten pounds for a negro boy, he is re- 
ferred to as a cordwainer. His will was made April 
29, 1750, and his estate inventoried July 14, 1752, 
showing that his death occurred between those dates. 
The will speaks of his "only son Thomas," who 
was the only one then of age, and he was charged 
with the funeral expenses and received the bulk 
of the estate. The funeral charges were five pounds 
five shillings, and the appraisers fixed the value of 
the estate at eight hundred thirty-four pounds, three 
shillings, three pence. His children were : Thomas, 
Mary (died seven years old), Sarah, Mary, Zach- 
ariah (died at two), Mary, William, Hannah, Abi- 
gail and Zachariah. 

(V) Thomas, first child of Zachariah and Mary 
(Bishop) Chandler, was born December 7, 1716, 
in Roxbury, and was baptized when nine days old. 
He was among the pioneer settlers of Bedford, New 
Hampshire, his marriage being the first in that 
town. He built the first frame house in the town, 
having lived some time previously in a log house. 
At the first town meeting, June 6, 1750, he was elect- 
ed selectman. His grandfather, Thomas Bishop, 
had received a grant of land in Bedford, and this 
led to the settlement there of the grandson, who 
died there November 2, 1752. He was possessed of 
six lots of land, and his estate was valued by ap- 
praisers at two thousand eight hundred pounds. 
His wife, Hannah Gofie, of Bedford, was a daughter 
of Colonel John Gofife, who was born 1701, probably, 
at Boston, and participated in the French and In- 
dian war. After the death of Mr. Chandler his 
widow became the second wife of Captain Andrew 
Bradford, and lived in what is now Milford, New 
Hampshire. She bore her second husband five 
children. The children of Thomas and Hannah 
(Gofife) Chandler were: Peggy, Hannah, Sally 
and Zachariah. The mother died December 14, 
1819, aged ninety-six. leaving sixty-three grand chil- 
dren, one hundred and thirteen great-grand children 
and one of the fifth generation. 

(VI) Zachariah, only son and youngest child 
of Thomas and Hannah (Goffe) Chandler, was born 
May 28, 1751, in Bedford, and was among the pa- 
triots of the Revolutionary period. He was select- 
man in 1784, and fish reaf in 1791. By his will he 
divided his farm between his sons, and died April 20, 
1830, at the age of seventy-eight years. He was married 
in Amherst, this state, in 1771, to Sarah Patten, 
who was born March 17, 1749, and died November 
20, 1842. aged ninety-three years. She was a daugh- 
ter of Samuel and .\lar>- (Bell) Patten, the former 
of whom came to America when nineteen years old 
and settled in Bedford, about one-fourth mile west 

i— 4 



of his subsequent son-in-law. During his minority 
Mr. Chandler lived at Roxbury and drove a milk 
cart into Boston. Because of this the Patten family 
objected to him as a prospective husband of their 
daughter, but when he assumed charge of the pa- 
ternal estate these objections were withdrawn. His 
children were named, Thomas, Samuel and Sarah. 
(VH) Thomas, eldest child of Zachariah and 
Sarah (Patten) Chandler, was born August lO, 
1772, in Bedford, where he was a farmer and a most 
active and useful citizen. In 1S03 he began teaching 
music among his relatives, and gradually extended 
this work until he was in demand in many localities, 
and became quite noted as a teacher. He was justice 
of the quorum in 180S, and licensed as publican 1827. 
He was captain of militia in 1815, W'as subsequently 
representative of the town in the legislature, was 
a member of the state senate in 1817-S and 1825-6-7. 
He represented the district in congress from 1829 
to 1833, and was an expounder of old-time Jeft'er- 
sonian Democracy. He was a tall and spare man, 
standing six feet in height, vigorous and energetic, 
and continued to help in the fields until he was in 
his eighty-eighth year. He died in Bedford, January 
28, 18(36, 'in his ninety- fourth year. He was married 
November 26, 1793, to Susannah McAflfet, who 
was born JNIarch 30, 1772, and died Noveml)er 23, 
1857, aged eighty-five. She was the youngest daugh- 
ter of -Matthew McAftee, who was born in Roch- 
ester, New Hampshire, and died April 15, 1797, and 
second wife, Sarah }ilorrison. Mr. and Mrs. Chanil- 
ler had four children, namely : Asenath C, Sarah, 
Hannah and Adam. 

(VIII) Adam, only son of Thomas and Sus- 
annah (McAffee) Chandler, was born June 7, 1805. 
in Bedford, and was a farmer all his active life, on 
the homestead on the river road; he died in Man- 
chester, September, 1887. In October, 1841, he was 
licensed to dispense liquors at his home, was ap- 
pointed a justice of the peace in the same year, and 
a justice of the quorum in 1861. He was married, 
December 21, 1829, to Sally McAllister, who was 
born March I, 1804, and died November 7, 1870. She 
was a daughter of John and Jane (Aiken) j\lc- 
AUister, the latter a daughter of James and ^iary 
(Waugh) Aiken. John McAllister was a son of 
John and Jerusha McAllister, of the sturdy Scotch- 
Irish stock which settled a considerable portion of 
southern New Hampshire. Mr. and Mrs. Chandler 
had three sons and a daughter, namely: Henry, 
George Byron, John McAllister and Sarah H. Tlie 
daughter died at the age of two years. The young- 
est son was a merchant in Manchester. The others 
the subjects of following sketches. 

(IX) Henry, eldest son of Adam and Sally 
(McAllister) Chandler, was born October 30. 1830, 
on the family ancestral homestead in Bedford, 
where he grew to manhood. His education was 
supplied by the local public schools and Gilmanlon 
Academy, supplemented by that school of practical 
experience which is the best tutor for most men. 
Of sound sense and steadfast application he had 
good store, and he achieved the success which awaits 
earnest effort. Like most of those w'ho bear the 
name, he was regarded as a successful and useful 
citizen by his contemporaries. On attaining his ma- 
jority Mr. Chandler went to Nashua and took em- 
ployment as clerk and salesman in a grocery and 
hardware store. Here he came in contact with the 
public and acquired the know^Iedge of busimess 
which laid the foundation of his fortune. From 
October. 1854. his residence w^as in Manchester 
until his death, which occurred October 20, iQrio, 
just ten days before the close of his seventieth vear. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



On coming to Jilanchester he became a clerk with 
Plunitr &. Bailey, clothing merchantf, and in a short 
time became a partner in the concern, which did 
business many years under the style of Plumer & 
Chandler. While continuing in this business jMr. 
Chandler went to Boston and became a partner in 
the tirm of Sibley, Cumner & Company, later and 
long known as Cunuier, Jones & Co., wholesale 
dealers in Jailor's trimmings, but did not remove his 
home from Manchester. After a successful mer- 
cantile career of a quarter of a century 2\lr. Chandler 
disposed of his interests in that line and became con- 
nected with the Amoskeag Savings Bank, of which 
he was elected treasurer in 1884. so continued 
during the remainder of his life. He was also a 
director of the Amoskeag National Bank, treasurer 
of the Manchester & Lawrence Railroad Company, 
and president of the Brown Lumber Company, of 
Whitefield. A strict Democrat of the old school, he 
acted upon his principles, but desired no political 
preferment, though he consented to serve as a mem- 
ber of the board of water commissioners of Man- 
chester as a matter of public duty. He was a mem- 
ber of the Unitarian Church, and of Washington 
Lodge, No. I, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. 
Of genial nature, courteous and affable in manner, 
upright to the last degree, he was a model banking 
officer and enjoyed the respect of the whole com- 
munitv. :Mr. Chandler was married. November 14, 
i860, to Abbie Jane Bond, who was born October 11, 
1840, in Bow, New Hampshire, a daughter of 
Thomas J. and Anna (Brown) Bond, the latter a 
daughter of James Brown of that town. Brief 
mention of Mr. Chandler's children follows : Sally, 
born November 11, 1861, is the wife of James W. 
Hill of Manchester. Annie Bell, January 5, 1864, 
resides in Manchester, unmarried. Alice Maria, 
March 9, 1866, married Joseph Benjamin Hart, 
and lives in Wawbeek, New York. George Henry 
is the subject of the following notice. 

(X) George Henry, only son and youngest child 
of Henry and Abbie J. (Bond) Chandler, was born 
February 18, 1869, in Manchester, and grew up in 
that city, where he received his education, grad- 
uating from the high school in 1887. He at once 
entered the Amoskeag National bank as clerk, and 
has risen by gradual promotion to the place of 
director, being also treasurer of the Amoskeag 
Savings Bank. He was made a trustee of the savings 
bank in 1889, assistant treasurer in 1900, and suc- 
ceeded his uncle as treasurer upon the death of the 
latter in the spring of 1905. He became clerk of 
the Manchester & Lawrence railroad in 1898, and 
succeeded his father as treasurer in 1900. He is a 
director of the Concord Axle Company, the Man- 
chester Gas Light Company and New Hampshire 
Fire Insurance Company; treasurer of the East 
Side Company, a Manchester manufacturing con- 
cern, and Cohas Building Company; and is presi- 
dent of the James W. Hill Company, ^[anchester s 
largest mercantile establishment. It will thus be 
seen that Mr. Chandler is identified with the leading 
interests of his native town, as well as some of 
statewide importance and, being a busy man, he has 
little time for social diversions. He is a member of 
the Derryfield Club of Manchester, and of the Uni- 
tarian Church of that city and endeavors to fill 
the part of a good citizen. His political allegiance 
has been given to the Democratic party until its 
platform made free silver the leading issue, since 
which time he has not supported the national ticket. 
He was married. October 6. 1885. to Mary I. Gould, 
who was born October 6, 1871, at Hillsboro Bridge, 
a daughter of George E. and Addie Augusta (Ells- 



worth) Gould, the former a native of Hillsboro and 
the latter of Deering, New Hampshire. A daugh- 
ter completes the family of Mr. Chandler, namely, 
Marigold, born October 2, 1886. 

(IX) George Byron, second son and child of 
Adam and Sally (McAllister) Chandler, was one 
of the most useful, philanthropic and highly re- 
spected citizens of Manchester. He was widely 
known, his friends being limited only to the extent 
of his acquaintance, and he was honored by niany 
who did not enjoy the pleasure of personal inter- 
course with him. He was born November 18, 1832, 
in Bedford, and passed his earlier years upon the 
home farm there. His parents were determined 
that he should have a good opportunity for educa- 
tion, and he spent some time in academical study at 
Piscataquog, Gilmanton, Hopkinton and Reed's 
Ferry. Having made proper use of these oppor- 
tunities, he was employed three years as a teacher 
in Amoskeag, Bedford and Nashua, before his ma- 
jority, and spent the first year of his manhood as 
a civil engineer in the service of the Boston, Con- 
cord & Montreal railroad. Having decided upon 
a business career, in the spring of 1854 he entered 
the grocery house of Kidder & Duncklee. at Man- 
ichester, as bookkeeper, and there gave such prom- 
ise of his subsequent success as a financier that he 
was invited the next year to take a similar position 
in the Amoskeag Bank. This he accepted, and here 
his capacity was so demonstrated that he was pro- 
moted in eighteen months to the teller's position. 
After more than seven years of faithful and efficient 
attention to duty, upon the organization of the 
Amoskeag National Bank in 1864, he was made 
cashier. As such he was the real executive officer , 
of the institution, and his friends may well be proud 
of the record in growth and strength of this bank 
under Iiis administration. This relation continued 
until 1892, when Mr. Chandler became president of 
the bank, succeeding the Hon. Moody Currier. 
Upon the organization of the People's Savings 
Bank in 1874. Mr. Chandler was made its treas- 
urer, and so continued_ as long as he lived, and dur- 
ing this time its assets rose from one hundred and 
thirty-eight thousand dollars to approximately one 
million. The New Hampshire Fire Insurance Com- 
pany was another of the institutions to prosper 
under Mr. Chandler's fostering care. He was one 
of its incorporators in 1869, and was its treasurer 
while he lived, during which time its capital grew 
from one hundred thousand dollars to one million. 
In speaking of his other interests the Manchester 
Union said: 

"While these have been the interests dearest to 
Mr. Chandler, he was ever inclined to assist other 
worthy enterprises, those calculated to build up 
Manchester having the preference. It would be a 
difficult if not impossible task to enumerate the var- 
ious enterprises in which he was interested. It is 
safe to assert that to Mr. Chandler, more than to 
any other person, is due to the strides taken in the 
shoe industry in Manchester in the course of the 
recent years. Mr. Chandler was a director in the 
Amoskeag Manufacturing Company, the IManches- 
ter & Lawrence railroad, and for several .vears he 
was the railroad's treasurer. He w'as also a direc- 
tor in the Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance 
Company, the Moline Plow Conipany. and ^ numer- 
ous other large enterprises. Aside from his other 
business connections he was entrusted with numer- 
ous trusts, involving wise and skillful management 
of important and extensive interests. His advice 
was often sought in matters pertaining to invest- 
ments and so universal was the confidence in his 




^i 




NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



51 



tact and proper conservatism that a good word 
from him set doubts at rest forthwith. His well- 
known inclination to help home industries resulted 
in a unanimous choice of Mr. Chandler for president 
of the Manchester Board of Trade when that or- 
ganization was formed, and he took hold of the 
work with the vim characteristic in everything he 
undertook, for there was nothing of the lackadaisi- 
cal order in Mr. Chandler. And when he retired 
from the presidency of the board a system had been 
formulated which made the board a most material 
factor in the city's industrial progress. 

"Mr. Chandler was also an organizer and one 
time president of the New Hampshire Club, which 
was recently merged in the New Hampshire Ex- 
change Clui). His love for the arts and sciences 
led him to take a deep interest in the Manchester 
Institute of Arts and Science, of which organization 
he was a benefactor of incalculable value from its 
inception. The Philharmonic Society owed its ex- 
istence to him, and, if he had not been freely dis- 
posed to make good the deficits certainly anticipated, 
the musical festivals, with world-famous artists as 
soloists, would not have been Manchester's portion. 
The Chandler course of lectures, another boon to 
Manchester, was likewise the fruit of his public 
spirit. 

■'For several years Mr. Chandler was an officer 
in the Amoskeag Veterans, which organization was 
formed the same year he came to the city. He was 
a member of Royal Arch Chapter, Adoniram Coun- 
cil, and Trinity Commandery, Knights Templar, 
having joined LaFayette Lodge of Masons in 1854. 
He was transferred to Washington Lodge in 1857, 
and became its first secretary. He was also a mem- 
ber of Wildey Lodge, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and the Dcrryfield Club. Governor Batch- 
elder appointed him on tlie board of trustees of the 
New Hampshire Agricultural College. While Mr. 
Chandler always took an active interest in politics, 
he never sought political preferment. In 1874 the 
Democrats nominated him for State senator and he 
was elected in a nominally Republican district. He 
was also nominated for Congress by the Democrats. 

"Mr. Chandler had read much and traveled ex- 
tensively in this and other countries. He possessed 
a wide acquaintance with distinguished men in all 
walks of life, and had, therefore, a valuable 
knowledge of the resources, customs and character- 
istics of various sections, which stood him in good 
stead in his business transactions, as well as 
furnishing him invaluable material for public ad- 
dresses and private 'conversations. .'Vs a public 
speaker Mr. Chandler was most pleasing." 

Mr. Chandler was married, Mav 20. 1862. to 
Miss Flora Ann Daniels, who died May 3, 1868, 
aged twenty-five years and two months, being sur- 
vived only a few days by her only child, a daughter. 
She was a daughter of Darwin J. and Eliza 
.'\nn (Forsaith) Daniels. On October 27, 1870. Mr. 
Chandler w-as married to Fanny Rice Martin, only 
daughter of the late Colonel Benjamin F. and Mary 
Ann (Rice) Martin, and she survives him, with the 
eldest and youngest of their three sons — Benjamin 
Martin, Alexander Rice and Byron (see Martin, 
VI). Mr. Chandler passed to the reward awaiting 
just men, on Thursday morning, June 29, 1905, at 
8 :5o o'clock in the morning. His demise caused uni- 
versal mourning in New Hampshire, and wherever 
known. The following tribute from the local press 
sums up his character in fitting terms : 

"Mr. Chandler was in many respects the city's 
foremost citizen. -One of the wealthiest men of 
Manchester, he was at the same time one of the 



most democratic. He was public-spirited, and in- 
terested in everything that pertained to the city's 
commercial, industrial and intellectual welfare. He 
prospered in business by the aid of his own ability 
and industry, as did few Manchester men. He was 
charitable, and his 'charity kept pace with his profits. 
There was, probably, no worthy public charity in 
which he did not interest himself. While many of 
his gifts were known to the public, there were many 
more of his charities that were known to no one but 
himself and the beneficiary. Many kindnesses to 
individuals will never be known, in fact his private 
charities were legion. It was Mr. Chandler's cus- 
tom every winter to fit out the men on the Beech 
and Bridge street car lines with gloves. The news- 
boys that delivered him papers were remembered 
by him. Almost everybody who came in contact 
witli him had occasion to know his goodness. 
Though in his own church afiiliations he was a 
L'nitarian almost every church in the city has had 
at one time or another occasion to thank him for * 
some substantial gift. To the rich and the poor, 
Mr. Chandler was the same modest, helpful citizen. 
His conservative judgment, ripened by long and 
wide experience, was highly valued by friends and 
acquaintances, and his advice was never sought in 
vain. His good counsel gave hope and ambition to 
many a young man, and to many an older man, 
pressed by difficulties, as well." 

On the fiftieth anniversary of his connection with 
the -Amoskeag Bank, Mr. Chandler was unable to 
attend the celebration of that event, but he was 
presented with a magnificent loving cup by the in- 
stitution. 

(VII) Dr. Moses, sixth son and child of 
Lieutenant John (4) and Mary (Carter) Chandler, 
was born November 23. 1765, and died September 
to. 1822, aged fiftyvsix years. He practiced his pro- 
fession in Newmarket and Lee. New Hampshire, 
but removed to Fryeburg, Maine, where he died and 
was buried on his own farm. When about fourteen 
years old he ran away from his father and enlisted 
in Concord, in Captain Frye's company of Captain 
Cilley's regiment, and ser\'ed his country in the 
Revolutionary war about one year, for which he 
received in after life a pension of fifty-six dollars 
and sixty-six cents per annum. He was a skillful 
physician, a good citizen, but fond of the sports of 
that day. He married first, Sally Goodwin, of Xcw- 
markct. New Hampshire, who died September 24, 
i8or. in Fryeburg, leaving four children. He mar- 
ried second. Mary Langdon, who was born March 
21. 1782: and died in Ma}', 1S63, aged eighty-one 
years, and was buried beside her late husband. She 
was the dau.ghter of Paul Langdon, long the pro- 
prietor of the academy at Fryeburg, and grand- 
daughter of Samuel Langdon, president of Harvard 
College. Dr. Chandler was the father of fifteen 
children, four by the first wife, and eleven by the 
second, named as follows : Jeremiah, Enoch. Fol- 
som, Mary .Ann. Nathan, David Sewall, Sarah Good- 
win, Samuel Langdon, Joseph, Moses. Betsey 
Chase. Isaac (died young), Judith, Isaac, Paul 
Langdon, and Anna Maria. 

(VIII) Samuel Langdon. third child and sec- 
ond son of Dr. Moses and Mary (Langdon) Chan- 
dler, was born in Fryeburg, Maine, October 7. rSo/. 
and died in Fryeburg, February 16, 1882, aged 
seventy-five. He had an apothecary store and kept 
the postofficc in North Conway, New Hampshire, 
and practiced law there. He removed to Fryeburg. 
Maine, about 1853. where he was lawyer and iustice 
of the peace, insurance and pension agent. He was 
representative from Fryeburg, and selectman. He 



52 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



owned a farm near Fryebiirg and was a member of 
the Grange. He married first, Mary S. Kilgore, of 
Fry-eburg, who was bom December 13, 1S13, daugh- 
ter of Major James Kilgore, who was born May 10. 
I7g2. and married, November 21, 181 1, Mehitable 
Stearns, who was born October 10, 1705, and died 
September 21, 1841, daughter of Timothy Stearns, 
of Billerica, Massachusetts, by his wife Mary, 
daughter of Edward Carlton. Mary Stearns Kil- 
gore was granddaughter of James Kilgore, of 
Lovell, Maine, who stood in his place and fired his 
gun thirty-nine times at the enemies of his country, 
and was "loading the fortieth time when ordered to 
change his place, in one of the fights during the 
Revolutionary war. The children of Samuel L. 
and Mary S. (Kilgore) Chandler were nine, as fol- 
lows: Mehitable Kilgore, Mary Stearns. Maria 
Lord, Paul Langdon. James Everett, Paul Lang- 
don. Mary Abby Lord, Adrianna, and Frederick, 
whose sketch follows. 

(IX) Dr. Frederick, youngest child of Samuel 
L. and Mary S. (Kilgore) Chandler, was born in 
North Conway, New Hampshire, March 27, 1852. 
He was educated in the common schools and at 
Fryeburg- Academy. He was a clerk in Charles- 
town, Massachusetts, and then took one year's 
course in the medical department of Har\'ard Col- 
lege, and then three years at Bowdoin Medical Col- 
lege, graduating in T877. He soon after began 
practice in Minot. Maine, whence a year and a half 
later he went to Scarbbro, and still later settled in 
Mont Vernon, New Hampshire. In 1890^ he re- 
moved to .Amherst, where he has since built up a 
large and lucrative practice. While in Mont Ver- 
non he filled the office of town derk two years. He 
is a member of P_\i:hagorean Lodge, Artcient Free 
and -Accepted Masons, of Fryeburg, and of the 
Congregatinnalist Church of Amherst. He mar- 
ried, November 14, 1878, Ann Eliza Millett. of 
Minot. Maine, who was born June 16, 1856, daugh- 
ter of Lemuel and Mary A. (Milliken) Millett. 
They have one child, Willis Clifford Chandler, born 
August 2. 1879, a dentist in Farmington, New 
Hampshire. He is a graduate of the Milford high 
school, and of Baltimore Dental College. 

(II) Deacon John, fourth child and youngest 
son of William and .'Vnnis Chandler, was born in 
t6to. and removed from Old Roxbury to New 
Roxbury (Woodstock, Connecticut), in 1686; was 
selectman in idg."! and afterward ; deacon of the 
church ; one of six men who bought the Mashamo- 
quet purchase of fifteen hundred acres, and was one 
of the prominent men of the town until his death, 
April 15. 1703. He married Elizabeth daughter of 
William" Douglas and his wife Anna Mattle, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Mattle, of Ringstead, in Northamp- 
tonshire, England. William Douglass was of Ips- 
wich, Massachusetts, in 1641 : in Boston, 1645 ; was 
made freeman, 1646; moved to New London, Con- 
necticut, 1650; and was one of the grantees of that 
place, in 1663. from Charles II. The children of 
Deacon John" and Elizabeth (Douglass) Chandler 
were: John. Elizabeth, John, Joseph, Hannah, Me- 
hitabel, Sarah and Joseph. 

(III) Captain John, son of John and Elizabeth 
(Douglas) Chandler, was born April 16, 1665, and 
at the organization of the town of Woodstock was 
chosen to\vn clerk, and also appointed to "instruct 
the children to read, write and cipher." In 1693-94 
he was one of the town committee, selectman in 
1694, representative to the general court at Boston 
as early as 1711, and for several years. He lived 
several years in New London, and in 1698 was li- 
censed to keep a house of entertainment there. Later 



he returned to Woodstock, and in 1703 was town 
surveyor. During the. period of early Indian 
troubles he was first captain, later major and then 
colonel. He held many offices of trust, and was 
judge of the first probate court in Worcester county. 
Massachusetts, in 1731. In 1735 he was appointed 
to read the address to Governor Belcher and his 
council ; was a commissioner of the peace nearly 
forty years, and seven years a member of his 
majesty's council. He died in Woodstock, August 
10, 1743, in his seventy-ninth year, and was buried 
there, as desired in his will, with a fiat stone to 
cover his remains, without any inscription. He mar- 
ried Mary Raymond, of Woodstock, fifth child of 
Deacon Joshua and Elizabeth (Smith) Raymond. 
Their children were : John, Joshua, William, Mary, 
Elizabeth, Samuel, Sarah, Mehitabel, Thomas and 
Hannah. 

(IV) Captain William, third son and child of 
Colonel John and Mary (Raymond) Chandler, was 
born in New London. Connecticut, November 3, 
1698, and died June 20, 1754; married. May 22, 1725, 
Jemima Bradbury, of Salisbury, Massachusetts, who 
was born in Salisbury, January 25, 1703-04. and 
died June 24, 1779. Captain Chandler was a farmer 
and owned aboa.it one thousand acres extending over 
Chandler hill. He was a surveyor of land, and in 
1724 was 'captain of a company stationed at Leicester 
and Rutland. The children of Captain William and 
Jemima (Bradbury) Chandler were : Thomas Brad- 
bury, William, Lemuel, Theophilus, Jemima, Sam- 
uel, Mary. Mehitable, Henry and Winthrop. 

(V) William, second child and son of Captain 
William and Jemima (Bradbury) Chandler, was 
born March 10, 1728; died February 23. 1756; mar- 
ried, July 5, 1753, Mary Hodges, who died Septem- 
ber 14, 17915. daughter of Captain Williain Hodges, 
of Taunton, by his second wife. William Chandler 
was admitted freeman in Woodstock, April 8, 17S4, 
and his occupation was ship joiner. The children 
of William and Mary (Hodges) Chandler were: 
William and Henry. 

(,VI) Henry, elder of the two children of W^ill- 
iam and Mary (Hodges) Chandler, was born in 
Woodstock, Connecticut, June 17, 1756. and died 
June 5, 1813. He was a tailor by trade, which he 
went toi learn, at the age of fourteen, of Samuel 
Waldo, of Pomfret, Connecticut. He set up in his 
trade in Pomfret, and had for his sign a cabbage 
painted as large as life. He was lame, one leg be- 
ing an inch and a half shorter than the other, caused 
by disease of the hip joint when he was young. 
About 1795 he removed from Pomfret to Hanover, 
New Hampshire, and had a farm about four miles 
east of the college. Henry Chandler married, -April 
10. 1781, Martha Brown, of Pomfret, by whom he 
had nine children: Nancy, William, Henry Hilton. 
Mary, William Brown, Jeremiah, John, Rebecca 
Brown and Nancy. 

(VII) Henry Hilton, third child and second 
son of Henry and Martha (Brown) Chandler, was 
born June 7, 1786, and died in i86g. He was named 
by Mary Hodges, his grandmother, who added the 
name of Hilton for his ancestor, Edward Hilton, of 
Exeter, New Hampshire. He was about ten years 
old when his father removed to Hanover. In 1800 
he went back to Pomfret and worked for his uncle, 
Major John W. Chandler, on the Chandler home- 
stead, but eventually returned to Hanover and car- 
ried on a wool-carding business at Mill Village, 
and also attended a saw and grist mill there, besides 
attending to his official duties as town clerk. He 
was about five feet ten inches high and weighed in 
his best days about one hundred and ninety pounds. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



53 



He married, September li, 1811. Anna Wright, who 
was born May 20, 1790, daughter of David and 
Lydia (Tenny) Wright, of Hanover, New Hamp- 
shire (see Wright, 1). Their children were: Clem- 
entine Celesta, William Henry, David Wright, James 
Hilton. Clementine, and Celestina. , 

(VHI) Clementine, daughter and fifth child of 
Henry Hilton and Anna (Wright) Chandler, was born 
at Hanover, New Hampshire, November 12, 1818; 
married first, January I, 1845, David C. Whipple 
(see Whipple. V) ; married second, July i. 1855, 
John Wright Dodge, who died February, 1897. By 
her first husband, Clementine had two children — 
Henry Chandler Whipple and Maragret Perritt 
Whipple; by her second marriage she had two chil- 
dren—an infant, born January 21, 1857, died Octo- 
ber 2, 1857, and Fanny Louisa Dodge, born April 
30, i8S9- ' 

The Ledoux family, which originated 
LEDOUX in France, was transplanted to Canada 

by an early emigrant who arrived 
there during the period in which Pere Marquette, 
La Salle, Joliet and other venturesome Frenchmen 
were exploring the country and opening its portals 
to European settlers. The posterity of its original 
ancestor in Canada is quite numerous and the 
majority of them are residing in the province of 
Quebec. 

(I) The emigrant above referred to was Louis 
Ledoux of Notre Dame de La Couture, France, who 
came over about the year 1668, and was married in 
Montreal, March 20, 1679. He was forty years of 
age at the time of his arrival in this country. 

(IP) Jacques Ledoux, son of the immigrant, re- 
sided in Boucherville. province of Quebec. 

(III) Jacques (2), son of Jacques (l), was a 
resident of Varennes. 

(IV) Louis Ledoux, son of Jacques (2), also 
resided in Varennes. 

CV) Amable Ledoux, son of Louis, was a native 
of Varennes and established his home at Beloeil; 
later he immigrated to the United States. 

(VI) Marcel Ledoux, a son of Amable, went 
from Beloeil. his native town, to St. Albans, Ver- 
mont. He married Angele Jodoin. 

(VII) Toussaint, son of Marcel (6) and .\ngele 
(Jodoin) Ledoux, was born in St. Albans. October 
27. 1S48. After serving an apprenticeship at the 
machinist's trade he followed it as a journeyman in 
St. Albans until 1879, when he moved to Nashua, 
and has ever since resided in that \hy. He is still 
engaged in the activities of life, and for some years 
has occupied the responsibile position of foreman 
of the International Paper Box Machine Company's 
plant. As a Democrat in politics he has figured 
quite prominently in local civic afifairs. having served 
in both branches of the city government and as rep- 
resentative to the lower house of the state legis- 
lature. He belongs to the Independant Order of 
Foresters and when ever occasion demands he dis- 
plays an earnest interest in Catholic institutions. 
He married Elmira Bourgeois, who has borne him 
eight children, four of whom are now living: Henry 
T., Edmond L., Regis and Elphege. 

(VIII) Henri Toussaint, son of Toussaint and 
Elmira (Bourgeois) Ledoux, was born in St. Albans, 
Vermont. November 4, 1873. His preliminary studies 
were pursued in the public schools, and he was a 
student at St. Therese College in Canada. His 
legal preparations were completed at the Boston 
Univcrsitv Law School, from which he was gradu- 
ated in iRgC. He established himself in the practice 
of his profession at Nashua, in the same year, and is 



now conducting a general law business with gratify- 
ing success. From the time of his majority Mr. 
Ledoux has evinced a lively interest in public affairs, 
having served with marked ability in the common 
council in 1895, was representative to the legislature 
in 1897-99, lia5 served four years upon the board 
of public works, and is now tax collector. In politics 
he is a Democrat. In 1906 he was Democratic can- 
didate for congress from the second district. He 
is president of the Montagnards Club and also 
afiiliates with the Independent Order of Foresters, 
and Knights of Columbus. He married, June 6, 
1904, Agnes Manseau, daughter of John B. Manseau, 
of Nashua. 



This is a name almost unknown 
LANGLANDS in America, though it is probably 
of ancient origin. It dates from 
the time when man, lacking other patronymics, was 
distinguished by his surroundings, and was doubt- 
less first applied to some great landholding English 
squire or Scottish chief. ■ 

(I) William Langlands was born in Scotland,' 
in 1800, and came to America in 1834, settling on 
Indian Hill, Newburyport, iMassachusetts. He was 
a man of ability, was educated at a university in 
France, and studied law. Upon coming to this coun- 
try he made the acquaintance of Major Ben. Perley 
Poore, who was for years the well known 
Washington correspondent of the Boston Journal 
under the signature of "Perley." Major Poore's 
summer residence was at Indian Hill, and Mr. 
Langlands worked for him three years, going thence 
to the town of Newburyport, where he performed 
the legal business for the town until his death. 
In 1824 William Langlands married Catherine 
Campbell, daughter of Daniel Campbell, of Scot- 
lend. They had six children: George Edward, 
Margaret, William E., Hannah, Daniel Campbell, 
whose sketch follows, and Emeline. George Ed- 
ward gave his life to his adopted country. Dur- 
ing the Civil war he enlisted in the Eighth Massa- 
chusetts Regiment, and was at New Orleans under 
General Butler. At Baton Rouge the "Constitu- 
tion" was disabled, and he was helping to get out 
the ammunition wdien he fell down the hold, break- 
ing his kneecap. He re-enlisted after that, but was 
so disabled that he was obliged to give up the ser- 
vice. He returned home, but his death, which oc- 
curred only five ysars later, was due to that injury, 
which he received on board ship. Margaret Lang- 
lands, the eldest daughter, married John Ewins, of 
Newburyport : Hannah married John W. Young, M. 
D., and Emeline married Lemuel Fuller, of Am- 
herst, New Hampshire. William Langlands died 
March 9. 1848, after a residence in America of 
only fifteen years. His wife died July 7, 1907, at 
the age of one hundred and three years. 

(II) Daniel Campbell, third son and fifth child 
of William and Catherine (Campbell) Langlands. 
was born in West Newbury, Massachusetts. May 
13, 1838. He was educated in the public schools of 
his native town, and learned the shoemaker's trade. 
He afterwards went to South Newmarket. New 
Hampshire, where he was foreman for thirty-three 
years of Amos Paul's Machine Company. He re- 
mained there till after Mr. Paul's death, and then 
came to Lancaster, New Hampshire, where since 1895 
he has managed the large farm for the Mechanics' 
National Bank and Merrimack County Savings 
Bank of Concord, New Hampshire. He was one 
of the organizers of the Connecticut Valley Milk 
Producers' Association, and he was unanimously 
elected its first president. He is a Republican, and 



54 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



a very influential man in political circles in the 
northern part of the state. He has held all the 
town otfices; was selectman for ten years and was 
representative in 1883 and 1895. He has never been 
defeated for any office. He attends the Universalist 
Church, and belongs to the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. Daniel Campbell Langlands has been 
twice married. His first wife was Elizabeth R., 
daughter of Captain Cutting and Olive Pettengill, of 
Newburyport. They have one son, Daniel G., born 
March 20, i860, now connected with the firm of 
James B. Roberts Company in Boston. Mrs. Lang- 
lands died October 9, 1885. October 12, 1887, Mr. 
Langlands married Carrey Oaks, daughter of Henry 
and Olive Weitzel. of Newburyport, Massachusetts. 
They have one daughter, Catherine Campbell, born 
September 3, 1888. 

Charles Miller Floyd, one of the most 
FLOYD active, progressive and successful busi- 
ness men of the city of Manchester, 
was, like a large proportion of the prominent busi- 
ness men of the world, reared in the rural districts. 
His grandfather, John Floyd, was a native of the 
town of Derry, where he lived and died, passing 
away in 1829, at the age of about thirty-two years. 
He was a member of the Presbyterian Church, and 
a man of sound character. He had four 'children. 
viz. : Joseph, Sevvall, John and Martha. The elder 
son died in Boston, and the younger in Maine. 

Sewall Floyd lived and died in Derry, where he 
was born August 26, 1820, and passed away January 
5, i88,s. The common schools of his native town 
afforded the limited education which he was privi- 
legerl to enjoy, and though his life was passed in a 
humble way, his integrity was never doubted, and 
he was ever conscious of a moral responsibility to 
himself and his neighbors. His earlier years were 
passed in teaming and farming, and late in life he 
purchased a small farm at East Derry. on which he 
passed his last years. He was a faithful member 
of the Presbyterian Church ; was a Whig in early 
life and a Republican from the organization of the 
party under that title, but never sought or accepted 
any political station. .His tastes were domestic, his 
temper very even, and he was in every way an up- 
right and respectable citizen. He was married in 
1841 to Sarah Sleeper, of Derry, a daughter of John 
and Elizabeth Sleeper, natives respectively of Kings- 
ton and Derry. She was born february 13, 1824, 
and died May 21, 1882. aged fifty-eight years. They 
were the parents of eleven children : Edward, the 
eldest, entered the Union army at the age of 
eighteen, and was one of the martyrs who perished 
in .'Kndersonville prison. Laura, married Martin 
Taylor, and died in Haverhill, Massachusetts. 
Linnae, died at the age of twenty-one years. Will- 
iam H., resides in Haverhill. Joseph, died at the 
age of fourteen years. John, a- resident of Derry. 
Benjamin,- a resident of Boston. Minnie, who 
makes her home in Derry. Ernest, died at the age 
of sixteen years. Charles M., the subject of the 
following paragraph. James Edward, died in in- 
fancv. 

Charles Miller Floyd was born June 5, 1861, in 
Derry, and received his primary education in the 
brick schoolhouse at East Derry. He was subse- 
quently a student at Pinkerton Academy, and the 
last of his attendance at school was at the age of 
fourteen years. During the summers when he was 
twelve and thirteen years old he was ernployed at 
farm labor by Benjamin Adams, a fanner in Derry. 
He subsequently worked in the shoe shop of Will- 
iam S. Pillsbur\'. With the natural Yankee apti- 



tude for trade, he very early began speculating in 
produce, and when twenty years old went to Haver- 
hill, where he was employed in a hardware store 
and remained nearly two years. After the death of 
his parents he returned to his native place and 
bought the home farm, which he cultivated for two 
seasons and then sold. He was subsequently em- 
ployed in Haverhill by his elder brother in the 
clothing store, where he worked two and a half 
years. 

In 1888 Mr. Floyd removed to Manchester, and 
bought the clothing establishment of N. W. Cum- 
ner, which he carried on for five years, on the west 
side of Elm street. At the end of that time he 
bought out the Manchester One Price Clothing 
House, which occupies its present location at the 
northeast corner of Elm and Manchester streets, 
where he has ever simce continued business. Under 
his management the patronage has been greatly ex- 
tended, and he now carries one of the largest 
stocks of clothing and gentlemen's furnishings to 
be found in the state. His business activities have 
not been confine;' to the clothing trade, and he has 
been instrumental in bringing to Manchester sev- 
eral industries, and in their successful operation now 
give employment to several thousand people. In 
1891, in partnership with F. M. Hoyt, he purchased 
sixty-five acres of land in the southern and eastern 
part of the city, and made extensive additions to 
the city streets and blocks, and on these they built a 
large shoe factory which now employs seven 
hundred people. He was a stockholder in the Ken- 
nedy Land Company, and had charge, as treasurer 
and chairman of the building committee, of the con- 
struction of the large manufacturing building sub- 
sequently occupied by the Joslyn Furniture Factory, 
and now the home of a heel factory, employing 
two hundred and fifty people. Mr. Floyd's next in- 
vestment was in the wood-working establishment of 
Austin, Flint & Day, and he formed a stock com- 
pany to operate it, known as the Derryfield Com- 
pany, of which he is the president and one of the 
board of managers. This establishment makes a 
large output of doors, sashes, blinds and interior 
fittings. He was president of the East Side Build- 
ing Company, which erected a large shoe factorv, 
now employing eight hundred hands. He was also 
president of the Cohas Building Company, which 
has erected one of the finest modern shoe manufac- 
turing plants in the state of New Hampshire, where 
seven hundred people are now employed. Mr. 
Floyd was ten years a trustee of the .'Kmoskeag 
Savings Bank, and is a director of the Manchester 
National Bank, of the Manchester Traction, Light 
& Power Company, and of the Manchester Building 
& Loan Association, and is extensively engaged in 
a wholesale way in lumbering. In 1895 he re- 
purchased the homestead on which he was born, 
consisting of one hundred acres, which he managed 
as a fann and where he has his summer home. He 
has been a member of the school board of Man- 
chester, and is now a member of the board of water 
commissioners. 

Mr. Flo3'd has been among the most active and 
influential members of the Republican party of New 
Hampshire, and served as state senator in 1899 and 
IQOO, and became a member of the governor's coun- 
cil, January i, 1905. He was elected governor of 
the state in 1906. The contest for the Republican 
gubernatorial nomination in 1906 was the fiercest 
in the history of the state. It began during the 
session of the legislature of 1905 when several 
men who had long nurtured an ambition to fill the 
executive chair and had been prominent in political 




TIC, Lu 




NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



55 



affairs anounced their candidacy. At that time Mr. 
Floyd was just beginning a term as a member of 
the governor's council, to which he had been elected 
from the Manchester district by a large majority, 
which attested his popularity among his neighbors. 
Outside of that district he was little known. In re- 
mote sections of the state he was not known at 
all even by name. He had been a liberal contrib- 
utor and a zealous worker for his party and his 
friends, many of whom owed their political success 
largely to him, but his activities had been confined 
to a comparatively narrow circle, and beyond this 
he had neither following nor acquaintance, and 
when in the summer he published, over his own 
name, a statement that he would be a candidate 
before the state convention, many of the leaders 
looked upon it as a joke, and other aspirants and 
their supporters were astonished by and afterwards 
savagely resented the audacity of the man, who, 
without official record, wath only a local reputation, 
with the organization nearly solid and the leading 
men of the party nearly all against him, had dared 
enter the lists for the highest office in the gift of 
the people. Later on there was added the hostility 
of those whose battle cry was "revolution" and as 
the canvass went on it increased in rancor, slander 
and recklessness. Never was a candidate more sav- 
agely assailed, more shamelessly villified. publicly 
and privately, than was Mr. Floyd, but the storm 
that swept over him neither stopped nor swerved 
him and it is sufficient to say that when the conven- 
tion met, he went into it with two hundred delegates 
who could neither be bribed, scared or stampeded, 
whose motto was "Floyd Forever." who were there 
to win if it took all summer and who djd win. 
The disappointments and bitterness of the canvass 
remained to some extent during the campaign, caus- 
ing some who had been active workers to sulk in 
the tents, others to give aid and comfort to the 
Democracy, whose campaign consisted in circula- 
ting the insinuations and falsehoods of the struggle 
for the nomination. But it did not avail. Mr. 
Floyd was elected governor. His inaugural was 
awaited with great' interest by his friends, who ex- 
pected it would be a creditable business paper, and 
b}- his opponents, many of whose minds had been 
so poisoned by what had gone before that they 
looked to see it reveal an ignorant, presumptions 
man who owed his elevation to his audacity and in- 
excusable persistency. It surprised his friends, for 
it was better than they had dared to "lope^ for, and it 
converted into friends his candid opponents, for 
disclosed a knowledge of state affairs, an apprecia- 
tion of the dignity and duties of the office, a clear 
conception of what was right and a high purpose 
to bring it about, which was wholly unexpected by 
them. No governor's message was more heartily 
acclaimed by those who heard it, more universally 
applauded by the press or more generally ap- 
proved by the people. The course therein outlined 
by him has been followed w'ith scrupulous fidelity, 
and the people of the state hold him in high regard 
as a strong, self-made, honest and fearless man wlio 
is devoted to their interests and worthy to stand in 
tlie long line of illustrious governors who have 
served the commonwealth to the public good and 
with honor to themselves. He is a member of the 
Second Congregational Society of Manchester. He 
is affiliated with the Masonic Order, with Ridgely 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, with 
the local lodges of the Knights of Pythias and 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, of the 
Thornton Naval Veterans, the Grand Army of the 
Republic and Derryfield and Calumet clubs. 



He was married September i6, i8S6, to Carrie 
E. Atwood, who was born December i6, 1861, in 
Cambridge, Massachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. Floyd 
have a daughter, Marion Beatrice, aged sixteen 
years, who is now a student of the Walnut Hill 
Preparatory School, at Natick, Massachusetts. 



It is not every Arnerican family 
i\IORGAN whose pioneer ancestor is honored by 

a noble statue like that erected to 
Miles Morgan in Court Square, in the beautiful city 
of Spring-field, Alassachusetts. This statute was _n- 
veiled in 1879, just two hundred and ten years after 
the death of the man whose virtues it commemor- 
ates. The Morgan name has been notable in Amer- 
ica in many ways, especially in military records. 
Major General Daniel jNIorgan was one of the 
famous officers of the Revolution. He was voted 
a gold, medal by the Continental congress for his 
victory at the Cowpens, where he met and defeated 
General Tarleton. His corps of riflemen with which 
he marched to join Washington before Cambridge 
were the first skirmishers known to militarv' science. 
When the British troops returned to England they 
carried with tliem the tradition of "Morgan's buck- 
skin devils." Dr. John Jilorgan, of Philadelphia, 
was another distinguished officer of the Revolution. 
At the age of twenty-five he volunteered his services 
in the French and Indian wars. In 1760 he went to 
Europe, where he remained for five years, studying 
his profession at Edinboro, Paris and Padua. In 
1776 he became surgeon-general of the American 
army by appointment of the first Continental con- 
gress, resigning in 1780 to resume practice in Phila- 
delphia. Brigade Major Abner Morgan was another 
Revolutionary patriot. His home was at Brimfield, 
Mas-sachusetts, and he w-as a warm friend of Gen- 
eral John Sullivan, of New Hampshire, in whose 
command he served. In 1783 he built the largest 
house in Brimfield from timbers cut in his own saw 
mills, and he introduced through the heavy masonry 
a rivulet to lave a hollowcd-out rock in which to 
cool his wine. In l8g6 this house was still stand- 
ing in perfect condition, and the rivulet was still 
running. During the second war with England, 
Brigadier General David Banister Morgan, born at 
West Spring-field, JNIassachusetts, w-as second in 
command with Jackson's army at the battle of New 
Orleans. Commodore Charles William Morgan, 
United States navy, of Virginia, was in the engage- 
ment between the "Guerriere" and the "Java" in , 
1812. The family was represented in the Mexican 
war by Colonel ^ Edwin Wright Morgan. United 
States army. During the Civil w-ar Brigadier Gen- 
eral John H. Morgan, of Lexington. Kentucky, was 
one of the most daring officers of the Confederate 
side. He organized a band of guerillas, and "Mor- 
.gan's raid" struck terror to Indiana and Kentucky. 
There were several generals on the Union side. 
General Thomas J. JMorgan, born in Franklin, Indi- 
ana, was but tw-enty-five years of age when the Civil 
war closed, and was one of the 3'oungest men on the 
Union side to be made a brigadier-general for gal- 
lantry and meritorious services. Another Morgan 
who became illustrious during the Civil war was 
Edwin Denison Morgan, the great war governor of 
New York. He later became United States senator, 
and twice declined the secretaryship of the treas- 
ury. During his lifetime and by his will he gave 
more than a million dollars to philanthropic and edu- 
cational work. The Morgans are .scarcely less illus- 
trious as financiers than soldiers. Daniel Nash Mor- 
gan, of Bridgeport, Connecticut, was treasurer of 
the United States from 1893 to 1897. The history 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



of J. Pierpoiit Morgan and his father, Junius 
Spencer Morgan, both eminent bankers, is too well 
known to need further recital here. 

The word Morgan is a Cymric derivative, mean- 
ing one born by the sea (tntiir, sea; gin, begotten). 
The little town of Caermathen in Wales is the place 
where this famous name originated. The town itself 
is supposed to be the IMaridunum mentioned by 
Cfesar in his Commentaries. It may have been the 
place that Shakespeare had in mind as the scene of 
those parts of Cymbeline that are located in Wales. 
It will be remembered that Belarius in the third 
scene of the third act of that play speaks thus : 
"Myself, Belarius, that am Morgan called." Prior 
to the Roman invasion this district was inhabited 
by a warlike tribe called by the Romans the Demetae. 
A chieftain of this tribe, Cadivor-fawr, died in the 
year 1089. His wife was Elen, daughter and heiress 
of another chieftain, Llwch Llawan. The names 
of the two oldest sons are unknown, but the Morgan 
line finds its first ancestral with the third son. Bled- 
dri. Mr. George T. Clark, the antiquary, has pre- 
pared a table tracing the lineage of the ^Morgan 
family in England and Wales to this Bleddri. In 
the sixteenth generation from Bleddri we find Sir 
William Morgan, of Tredegar, knighted in 1633, 
member of parliament from his county, 1623-25. 
He died at the age of ninety-three. His first wife 
was Elizabeth, daughter of Sir William Winter, of 
Sidney. Their daughter Elizabeth, the youngest 
of the ten children, married William Morgan, a 
merchant of Dderw. They went to Bristol, England, 
in 1616, where Elizabeth died in 1638, and William 
died in 1648. Their son. Miles Morgan, born in 1616, 
is the ancestor of the Morgan family in America. 

(I) Miles Morgan emigrated from Bristol, Eng- 
land, to Boston, Massachusetts, in January, 1636. 
Soon after reaching this country, in company with 
a number of other colonists, under command of 
Colonel William Pynchon, he set out for western 
Massachusetts. They were attracted by the reports 
they had heard of the exceedingly fertile meadows 
in the "ox-bows of the long river" (the Connecti- 
cut). Of this company Miles Alorgan, though the 
youngest and the only one under twenty-one years 
of age, soon became second in command. The 
party settled in what is now the city of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. They gave it the name of 
Agawam, which it bore until 1640, when for some 
unexplained reason the name of Springfield was 
bestowed. INIiles Morgan speedily became one of 
the most valued men in the colony, an intrepid 
Indian fighter, a sturdy husbandtnan, and a wise 
counsellor in the government. In the practical di- 
vision of the sumptuary duties of the colony he 
became the butcher, wliile Colonel Pynchon was 
the grocer and justice of the peace. Miles Mor- 
gan's allotment comprised the lands now occupied 
by the car and repair shops of the Boston & Elaine 
railroad, and they remained in the family at least 
two hundred years before the alienation. In the 
early days of our country it was customary to 
seat persons in the meeting-house according to their 
rank ; so when we find that in 1663 Sergeant Miles 
Morgan was given the third seat from the pulpit 
in the Springfield meeting-house, that fact suffi- 
ciently attests his dignity in the infant colony. 
There is a pretty romance connected with Miles 
Morgan's marriage. Captain Morgan, as he soon 
began to be called, came over in the same ship with 
Prudence Gilbert. In fact, there is a tradition to 
the effect that it was on her account that he em- 
barked. It is said that he first saw the fair Pru- 
dence while he was wandering about the wharves 



at Bristol, and that he decided at short notice to 
sail with the ship on which she was going, that he 
did not even have time to send word to his parents. 
Her people_ settled in Beverly, now a suburb of 
Boston. As soon as Captain Morgan had received 
his allotment of land in Springfield he started back 
to Boston on foot with an Indian guide to claim 
his bride. After the wedding the return trip was 
made, also on foot, but, in addition to the bridal 
pair and the Indian, a horse, bought in Beverly, 
was brought along, which like the Indian was loaded 
down with the household goods of the newly mar- 
ried couple. The two burden-bearers walked in 
front while Captain Morgan, matchlock in hand, 
followed with his bride. The town of Springfield 
was sacked and burned by Indians in King Philip's 
war in 1675. Colonel Pynchon being absent, the 
command devolved upon Captain Morgan. Among 
the killed was his own son, Peletiah, only fifteen 
years of age. The houseless colony took refuge in 
the stockade about Morgan's house. A friendly 
Indian in Captain Morgan's employ made his escape 
to Hadley, where Major Samuel Appleton, com- 
mander-in-chief of the Massachusetts Bay troops, 
happened to be stationed at the time. Major Ap- 
pleton was able to spare fourteen men, who re- 
turned to Springfield, and dispersed the Indians. 
Eight children were born to Miles and Prudence 
(Gilbert) Morgan: Mary, Jonathan, David, Pele- 
tiah, Isaac. Lydia, Hannah and Mercy. Mrs. Pru- 
dence (Gilbert) Morgan died November 14, 1660; 
and more than eight years after, February 15, 1669, 
her husband married Elizabeth Bliss, of Spring- 
field. They had one child Nathaniel, born June 
14, i67i._ Captain Morgan died May 28, 1699, aged 
eighty-fo'ur years. 

(II) Nathaniel, only child of Miles and his 
second wife. Elizabeth (Bliss) Morgan, was born 
June 14, 1671. He married Hannah Bird, of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, June 19. 1691, and built a 
house at West Springfield, on the east side of what 
is now Chicago street, where he died August 30. 
1752. Their children were: Nathaniel, Samuel, 
Ebenezer, Hannah, Miles. Joseph; Isaac and Eliza- 
beth. It is from this branch of the family that the 
noted banker, J. Pierpont Morgan, is descended, 
he being the great-great-grandson of Joseph. 

(III) Ebenezer, third son and child of Na- 
thaniel and Hannah (Bird) IMorgan, was born 
March 6, 1696. He married !\Iary Horton. Janu- 
ary, 1719. His second wife was Sarah Warner, 
whom he married June 20, 1737. He had five chil- 
dren, and from the dates of their birth they must 
all have been offspring of the second marriage. 
The children were Ebenezer, Samuel, Sarah, Cather- 
ine, and Chloe. 

(IV) Sarah, eldest daughter and third child 
of Ebenezer and Sarah (Warner) Morgan, was 
born November 18, 1742, and married her cousin, 
Titus (2) Morgan. It has been impossible to trace 
the antecedents of Titus Morgan, but he was prob- 
ably a near cousin of his wife's. They were married. 
^Nlay 19. 1763. and had nine children': Erastus, 
Gains and Quartus (twins). Julius, Pliny. Archip- 
pus, Titus, Sally and Hiram. The classical names 
which distinguished si.x of the children make an 
interesting contrast to the plain Yankee cognomens 
of the two youngest. 

(V) Erastus, eldest of the nine children of 
Titus and Sarah (Morgan) Morgan, was born in 
Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts, March 29, 1764. He 
built the first dam on the Connecticut river at 
Holyoke, Massachusetts. He married Clarissa 

• Chapin, of West Springfield, Massachusetts, De- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



57 



•cember 31, 1789. They had six children: Calvin, 
Clarissa, Warren, Lewis, Huldah and Quartus Miles. 

(VI) Quartus Miles, fourth son and youngest 
child of Erastus and Clarissa (Chapin) Morgan, 
was born in Huntington, Massachusetts, June 17, 
iSio, and was educated at Chicopee Academy. He 
was a veterinary surgeon, shoemaker and farmer, 
and a very successful man. In politics he was a 
Democrat, and he held va-rious town offices. He 
was married (lirst), January 13, 1836, to Lucy 
Horton, and they were the parents of six children, 
namely: Hosea Edward, Laura Jane, Fanny A., 
Mary A. Russell. Charles Louis and Henry Lorell. 
The mother died August 3, 1861, and Mr. Morgan 
was subsequently married to Hannah Mills, daugh- 
ter of Gardiner and Mary JMills, of Warwick, Mas- 
sachusetts. They had six children : Henry, Clara, 
Fanny, Mary, Laura and Edward Myles. Quartus 
M. Morgan died in 1889, and was survived about 
nine years bv his widow, who passed away in 
1898. 

(VII) Edward Miles, only living child of 
Quartus Miles and Hannah (Mills) Morgan, was 
born in Warwick, Massachusetts. May 31, 1867, 
and was educated in the common schools of that 
town. He was always identified with the lumber 
business in his native state. He came to New 
Hampshire in 1902, and to Warner in 1906, and 
operates several large saw mills. In his native town 
of Warwick he served as selectman, assessor, con- 
stable and supervisor of the poor. He is a Republi- 
can in politics, and attends the Congregational 
Church. He married Minnie Louise Jaynes, daugh- 
ter of William D. and Elizabeth L. Jaynes, of War- 
wick, Massachusetts, August 20. 1892. and they have 
eight children : Dorothy L., born April 25, 1893 ; 
Stephen and Rachel (twins), August 25, 1894; 
Miles Edward, November 26, 1895 ; Joseph Giles, 
May 20, 1897; Olive Eleanor, December 21, 1899; 
Clarissa, October 4, 1900; Esther Minnie, November 
€, 1905. 

(Second Family.') 
Another line of this name is traced 
MORGAN from a, very early period in the set- 
tlement of Portsmouth, New Hamp- 
shire, and includes numerous well known and use- 
ful citizens of the state. 

(I) Richard Morgan arrived at Portsmouth, 
New Hampshire, previous to 1659. It is presum- 
able that he was of Welsh birth or at least of 
Welsh ancestry. Probably he was induced to come 
to .America by the freedom here afforded in re- 
ligious matters. He immediatelj' settled at Dover, 
where record of him appears. In the same year 
he finally settled in Brentwood, near E.xeter, and 
a deed given by him to Teter Coffin in 1699, shows 
that he was alive at that time. 

(II) John, only child of Richard Morgan, 
married Mary Powell, and they had two sons, John 
and Simeon. 

(III) John (2). elder son of John (i) and 
Mary (Powell) Morgan, was born in Brentwood, 
where he died in 1786. He married .'\bigail Cove, 
of Salisbury, Massachusetts, and their children 
were ; Joanna, David. Parker, Judith, Elizabeth 
and .^bigail. 

(IV) Parker, second son and third child of 
John (2) and Abigail (Cove) Morgan, was born 
December 12. 1757, in Brentwood. A considerable 
portion of his early manhood was spent in Gil- 
manton. He was a Revolutionary' soldier and in- 
formation at hand states that he enlisted shortly 
after^ the battle of Bunker Hill in Colonel Enoch 
Poor's regiment at Winter Hill, Massachusetts, that 



he was wounded at the battle of Bemis Heights 
and subsequently discharged on account of physical 
disability. He recovered, however, and enlisted in 
the navy at Portsmouth on board of the ship of 
war "General Mifflin," which captured numerous 
prizes. In the New Hampshire Revolutionarj' Rolls 
the name of Parker Morgan cannot be found. Those 
of Massachusetts contain the following entry: 
"Parker JNIorgan, Private, Captain Stephen Jack- 
son's company, Colonel Samuel Johnson's regiment. 
Enlisted August 18, 1777, discharged November 30, 
1777, served 3 mos., 27 days under Gen. Gates in 
the northern department. 14 days (280 miles ) 
travel home, order for payment of amount of roll 
dated at Newburyport and signed by Captain Jen- 
kins." After leaving the Continental service he 
went to reside in Brentwood, but later removed to 
Kensington, subsequently to Gilmanton and finally 
to JNIeredith, where he died October 21, 1821. June 
7, 1781, he married Betsey Sanborn, daughter of 
Richard, Jr., and Elizabeth (Batchelder) Sanborn, 
of Kensington, who were married June 21, 1713. 
and her death occurred September 30, 1S38. Their 
children were: John, born January 24, 1782, died 
September 12, 1795; Jeremiah, April 16, 1784, died 
September 27, 1856; Betsey, January 18, 1789. died 
September 26, 1877; Taffen, April 3, 1793. died 
.August 7, 1793; Nancy, April 7, 1796; died Au- 
gust 14, 1824; Charles, April 30, 1799, died Decem- 
ber 16, 1S82; Fanny. August i, 1801, died Febru- 
ary 3, 1897; John Taffen, January 31, 1805, died 
April 10, 1845. 

(V) Charles, third son and fourth child of Par- 
ker and Betsey (Sanborn) Morgan, was a native of 
Kensington, born April 30, 1799. He was an engineer, 
both civil and mechanical, and actively concerned in 
the building of several important industrial enter- 
prises in New- Hampshire and Maine. He super- 
intended the erection of the first cotton mill in Iilan- 
chester ; was associated with others in erecting the 
Gilford and Meredith Company's mill at Laconia ; 
assisted in surveying the Concord and Montreal 
railway; and was subsequently for a time in charge 
of the Amoskeag Company's machine shops at 
Manchester. He was afterward superintendent of 
the Saco Water-Power Company's plant at Saco, 
Maine. He finally engaged in the furniture busi- 
ness at Biddeford, Maine, which he carried on suc- 
cessfully until his retirement, and he died in Saco 
December 16, 1882. He was a member of the 
Congregational Church and while residing in La- 
conia was actively interested in the erection of a 
church edifice in that place. He married Sar.ah 
Ann Robinson, a descendant of Thomas Wiggin, 
the first proprietary governor of New Hampshire, 
also from the Dudley family which dates its lineage 
from the time of William the Conqueror and was 
of the English nobility. She was a native of Mere- 
dith Village, and a daughter of Colonel Noah Rob- 
inson, who was the son of an officer in the Revo- 
lution. She became the mother of five children, 
three of whom are living, namely: Eustis Parker, 
a resident of Saco, Maine ; Sarah E., widow of 
Hiram M. Goodrich, late of Nashua (see Goodrich) ; 
and Charles Carroll Morgan, a well-known resident 
of Nashua, and a retired lawyer. 

(VI) Charles Carroll, son of Charles and 
Sarah A. (Robinson) Morgan, was born in Mere- 
dith (now Laconia) July 25, 1832. From the Gil- 
ford Academy, Meredith, he went to the Manchester 
high school, and from the latter he entered Brown 
University, remaining there until the close of his 
freshman year. He then began the study of law, 
but relinquished it for a time in order to accept 



58 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



a position as manager of the New England branch 
of a New York publishing house, with headquar- 
ters in Boston, and he later went to the metropolis, 
where for the ensuing five years he as employed by 
the same firm in the preparation of geographies. 
During the progress of the Rebellion he prepared 
a "Battle History" of that memorable civil strife. 
He next became connected in a managerial way 
with the Union Paper Collar Company in New 
York City, having the general care of that concern's 
litigations comprising some three hundred law 
suits. He was engaged in that work for some tinie, 
which necessarily brought him into close touch with 
the legal profession. Resuming his neglected law 
studies he perfected them and was admitted to the 
bar at Indianapolis, Indiana, in the late seventies. 
He shortly afterward returned to Boston, where he 
established himself as a specialist in patent litiga- 
tions, and practiced successfully for many years, 
In 1901, he retired from his law practice, and re- 
moved to Nashua, where he is now residing. 

Mr. Morgan united with the Plymouth Church, 
Brooklyn, in 1863, which was during the most 
vigorous period in the long pastorate of the famous 
Henry Ward Beecher. Since coming to Nashua he 
has evinced an earnest interest in social and liter- 
ary matters, and in the affairs of the First Congre- 
gational Church, of which he is a member. He 
was the principal organizer of the Fortnightly Club, 
which is widely known in New England and other 
states. He married Miss Mary Anna Roliinson 
Gove, daughter of George W. and Nancy (Robin- 
son) Gove, of Exeter, this state. Prior to her mar- 
riage she was engaged in v educational work and 
was an accomplished student in botany. Airs. Mor- 
gan died October 29, 1873. Two children were 
born of this union, Anna May, born December 13, 
1859, was a student at Olivet College, Michigan, 
where she also pursued a post-graduate course and 
was appointed assistant librarian. She later turned 
her attention to vocal music, had charge of a de- 
partment in the conservatory of Albion College, 
Michigan, and later a like position in Wells Col- 
lege, New York. She subsequently studied in Flor- 
ence, Italy. Upon her return to the United States 
she had full charge of instruction in the vocal de- 
partment of Wilson College, Chambersburg. Pennsyl- 
vania, but her career of usefulness was unfortunately 
terminated by her untimely death, which occurred 
February 13, 1896. The second child, Alice Helen, 
was born May 25, i860, and died July 27, 1862. 



Coming as he did in the first dec- 
CHAMPNEY ade of the settlement of Mas- 
sachusetts Bay Colony, there is 
no room to doubt that the first of the Champneys 
in New England was a sturdy, strong-willed man, 
whose love of personal liberty far outweighed his re- 
gard for personal comforts, and sent him across the 
ocean to worship God as he chose, in spite of the 
hardships his act entailed. 

(I) Elder Richard Champney came from Lin- 
colnshire, England, in 1634 or 1635, ^nd settled in 
Cambridge, Massachusetts, and in 1736 was made 
a freeman. He was a man of "good understanding 
and great piety," and was made a ruling elder in the 
church which was organized there. Honorable 
mention is made of him in the "Cambridge Church 

Gathering." He married, in England Jane 

of whose parentage, birth and death nothing is now 
known. He died November 26, 1669. Their chil- 
dren were: F-sther, Mary (died young). Samuel, 
Sarah, Mary, John, and Daniel, whose sketch fol- 
lows. 

(IT) Daniel, youngest child of Richard and 



Jane Champney, was born in Camibridge, in March, 
1644, and died in 1691. aged forty-seven. He re- 
sided in Cambridge. He married, January 3, 1665, 
Dorcas Bridge, who died in 1684, aged thirty-six. 
They had seven children : Dorcas, Daniel, Thomas, 
Noah. Downing, Abigail and Hepzibah. 

(III) Daniel (2), second child and eldest son 
of Daniel (l) and Dorcas (Bridge) Champney, was 
born in Cambridge, in December, i66g, and married 
Bethiah Danforth. Their children were : Thomas, 
Dorcas, Daniel, Solomon, Noah, Downing. Richard 
and Thomas. 

(IV) Solomon, third son and fourth child of 
Daniel and Bethiah (Danforth) Champney, was 
born in Cambridge, in 1702. He was an artisan, 
but became a soldier in the time of King George 
III, and was stationed at Castle William in Boston 
Harbor, where he died in 1760, aged fifty-eight. He 
married, in 1723, Elizabeth Cunning'ham, and they 
had six children: Richard, Ebenezer (died young), 
Nathan, John, Silence, and Ebenezer, who is the 
subject of the next paragraph. 

(V) Judge Ebenezer. the youngest child of Sol- 
omon and Elizabeth (Cunningham) Champney, was 
born in Cambridge, April 3, 1744, and died in New 
Ipswich, September 10, 1810, aged sixty-seven. He 
was a bright young man, and in 1762, at the age of 
eighteen, graduated from Harvard College with the 
de'gree of Bachelor of Arts. He was educated with 
the intention of becoming a minister of the gospel, 
and to that end he studied divinity. After preaching 
for about two years he received a call to settle in 
township No. I, now Mason, New Hampshire, which 
he declined. He soon after abandoned the ministry 
and began the study of law in the office of Hon. 
Samuel Livermore, and was admitted to the bar 
at Portsmouth, New Hampshire, in 1768. In June 
of the same year he settled in New Ipswich and 
entered upon "the duties of his profession. In the 
spring of 1783, he went to Groton, Massachusetts, 
where he remained until 1789: was representative 
in 1784, when he returned to New Ipswich. His first 
commission as justice of the peace was received 
from Governor John Hancock, of Massachusetts, 
the celebrated signer of the Declaration of Inde- 
pendence. In 179s he was appointed judge of pro- 
bate of the county of Hillsborough. The duties of 
this office were appropriately discharged until his 
resignation a few months before his death. 

Judge Champney's course in college, his early 
graduation, and his apparent success in the ministry 
give evidence of superior mental endowment : and 
that he did net attain higher honors is probably 
due to his not seeking them. He was everywhere 
regarded as a man of talents, and where he was 
known he exercised no inconsiderable influence. 
During the earlier years of his practice he was 
the only lawver between Keene and Groton, and 
he had offices" both at the latter place and New Ips- 
wicli, in conjunction with his son. The labor of 
attending the courts at that period was very great, 
the circuit being extensive, and all journeys were 
necessarily made on horseback. 

During the controversy between England and 
her American colonies. Mr. Champney opposed the 
measures that culminated in the Revolution. He 
was a man of peace, a moderate Tory, and depre- 
cated the call to arms, believing that with prudent 
and moderate counsels all causes of disaffection 
might be satisfa(;torily adjusted. He wished to pre- 
serve his lovalty and' the peace of the country, but 
like many others who forebore to take part in the 
contest he lived to acknowledge the beneficent 
effects of that struggle which gave the American 
people liberty and free institutions. 



t 





NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



59 



Judge Champney married (first), at Groton, 
Massachusetts, in 1763, Abigail Trowbridge, born 
November 3, 1740, daughter of Rev. Caleb and Han- 
nah (Walton) Trowbridge. This marriage connect- 
ed him with the distinguished families of Cottons 
and Mathers. Abigail (Trowbridge) Champney 
died in 1775, aged thirty-five. Judge Champney 
married (second), November, 1778, Abigail Parker, 
who died in 1790. aged thirty-eight. He married 
(third), in March, 1796, Susan \V>-man, who died 
the following September. By his first wife he had 
seven children: Benjamin, Francis, Abigail, Han- 
nah, Elizabeth. Sarah and Ebenezer. The last 
three died young. By his second wife, Abigail 
Parker, he had three children : Elizabeth, Ebene- 
zer and Jonas Cutler. 

(VI) Benjamin, eldest child of Judge Ebenezer 
and Abigail (Trowbridge) Champney, was born 
at Groton, Massachusetts, August 20, 1764, and 
died at New Ipswich. May 12. 1827. aged sixty- 
three. He grew up on a farm, and received his edu- 
cation in the common schools of his native town, 
with occasional assistance from his father. Be- 
fore he attained his majority he began the study 
of law in his father's office, and in due time was 
admitted to the bar. In 1786, he became a partner 
in business with his father at Groton, where he 
resided until 1792, when he removed to New Ips- 
wich. New Hampshire. There he continued his 
chosen vocation the remainder of his life. Es- 
quire Champney was well read in his profession, 
and had a good knowledge of English literature. 
As a gentleman he was courteous and afifable, and 
as a man public-spirited and honorable. Few men 
have enjoyed the confidence of the community in 
which they lived to a greater degree than he. 
Possessed of a candid and liberal mind, he saw 
things in their true and just relations, and was 
capable of weighing in his well-balanced judgment 
the various and complicated issues that were offered 
for his advice and adjudication. For many years he 
served the town as a member of the board of select- 
men. He received the appointment of postmaster upon 
the removal of the office to the village, which he 
held for twenty years. He w-as also for a number 
of years president of the Hillsborough bar. As a 
townsman he was one of the foremost in devising 
and executing measures for the promotion of learn- 
ing and the general improvement of the town. He 
was one of the projectors and original proprietors 
of the first cotton factory built in New Ipswich. 
This enterprise he commenced in ^1804. in conjunK:- 
tion with Charles Barrett .and Charles Robbins. 
This factory, together with those which later grew 
out of it, has been of much importance to the 
trade and prosperity of the town. For a time it was 
a great attraction to the neighborhood and even to 
places quite remote on account of its entire novelty. 
For some years it was conducted with much suc- 
cess, but subsequently it proved a source of loss to 
all concerned. 

Benjamin Champney married (first), in 1791, 
Mercy Parker. She died in 1795. aged twenty-nine. 
He married (second), in 1809, Rebecca Brooks. 
■ The children by the first wife were : Sarah and 
Benjamin, and by the second wife: Edward Wal- 
ter, George Mather, Marie Louisa, Ellen Louisa, 
Benjamin Crackbone. Mary Jane, and Henry Trow- 
bridge, whose sketch follows. 

(VII) Henry Trowbridge, youngest child of 
Benjamin and Rebecca (Brooks) Champney, was 
born in New Ipswich. September 19, 1825. After 
obtaining his education in the common scliools and 
at the Academy of New Ipswich, he went to Boston 



where he engaged in mercantile business, and has 
made a competency and retired from active life. 
His home is at West Medford, Massachusetts, and 
there he resides the greater portion of the year, 
spending the warmer season, however, at New 
Ipswich, his boyhood home, where he has a beauti- 
ful summer residence. 

JMr. Champney married (first) Lydia S. Parkley, 
of Stratford, New Hampshire. She died February 
14, 1895. He married (second), April 30. 1896, 
Amelia Knight Hanson, of New York, daughter of 
Vernon and Helen (Smith) Hanson, of St. Johns, 
New Brunswick. One child by the second marriage, 
Edith Trowbridge, born January 17, 1898. 



The Scales family in England dates 
SCALES from the landing of William the Con- 
queror in 1066. The origin of the 
name came from the commander of that division 
of King William's army, which came over to Eng- 
land with him from Normany, whose duty it was 
to scale the walls of a besieged city when the prop- 
er time came to make such an assault. The general's 
name was Hugh ; they had only one name then ; 
in the historj' of the time he is called Hugh de- 
Eschalers ; that is Hugh commander of the Scalers 
of city walls and fortifications ; in the course of 
years the spelling became Hugh de Scales and after 
two or three centuries the de was dropped. 

Burke's Extinct Peerage has the following which 
gives some idea of what place the family held : 
Scales-Baron Scales. By w-rit of summons dated 
6th February 1299 — -7 Edward I, Lineage. Of this 
name and family (anciently written Eschalers and 
Scales) the first recorded is Hugh de Scales, who 
in the time of King Stephen was Lord of' Berk- 
hampstead, in the county of Essex. This feudal 
lord gave to the Monks of Lewes the churches of 
Withial, Wadone, Ruthwall and Berkhampstead. by a 
deed sealed with the impression of an armed man, 
standing on his left foot, and putting his right on 
the step of a ladder with his hands on the same, 
as if he were climbing, around which was the in- 
scription : "Sigillum Hugonis de Scaleriis." And 
following this is the account of many other members 
of the noble family of Scales, who were disting- 
uished in both peace and war. This family resided 
for many generations in great splendor and power 
at the Castle of Middleton, near Lynn Regis in 
the county of Norfolk, about one hundred miles 
north from London. The Scales family, other than 
the barons, lived in the counties on the east side of 
England and north of London, in the the counties 
of Hertford. Cambridge, Huntingdon, Norfolk and 
York. 

(I) William Scales, immigrant ancestor, was 
born about 1612 : the place of his birth is not known ; 
it may have been in London, and his parents may 
have been William and Margaret (Greene) Scales, 
slie daughter of Robert Greene, as they are mentioned 
in the will of "Dame Bennett, widow of Sir Wil- 
liam Webb, mayor and alderman of London," 14 
January, 1604, William being kinsman of the for- 
mer mayor. It is known that he lived in Rowley, 
England, near Hull, in 16.^8, and joined the party 
of which the Rev. Ezekicl Rogers was leader, which 
came to Boston or Salem in '16,39, and in 1640 or- 
ganized the town of Rowley, Massachusetts. Mr. 
Rogers was pastor of the parish of Rowley, but on 
account of religious persecution he and a large num- 
ber of his parish emigrated to New England: they 
named their new town for their old home in Eng- 
land. William Scales was accompanied by his wife 
and three children. He, with the other heads of fam- 



6o 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ilies in the town, was made a freeman by the general 
court, May 13, 1640. His house lot, like his neigh- 
bors, contained one acre of land. He built his 
house on it and resided there till his death in 
1682. the record of which is as follows : "William 
Scales buryed July ye tenth day, anno ; 1682." 
The record of his wife's death is as follows: 
"Ann, widow of William Scales, buryed ye 26 day 
September, anno; 1682." 

William Scales, received numerous grants of 
land from the town ; he was a zealous supporter of 
his pastor, Mr. Rogers ; he was largely engaged in 
lumber business, farming and stock raising. When 
Mr. Rogers and his party came over they brought 
the Rowley parish records with them, so that 
in that old town in England the present parish 
records do not date back of 1650. Unfortunately, 
that first book of Mr. Rogers' English parish is 
lost, and it is not possible to ascertain the parent- 
age of any of that party. Probably there were about 
twenty generations between Hugh de Scales, of 
Berkhampstead. and William Scales, of Rowley. 
William and Ann Scales had three children of rec- 
ord, only one of which lived to marry and leave 
children. 

(II) James, son of William and Ann Scales, 
was bornin 1654, and died in 16S6. He was a farm- 
er and resided on the homestead in Rowley village. 
He married, November 7. 1677, Susannah, daughter 
of Zacheus Curtis. Zachens Curtis was of Rowley, 
and embarked on the "James." April 5. 1635, at 
Southampton, England, as from Donnton. probably 
in county Wilts. He is called husbandman. She 
died in 1691. Their children were : James. Sarah, 
William, and Matthew, wbose sketch follows : _ 

(HI) Matthew, third son and youngest child of 
James and Susannah (Curtis) Scales, was born 
March 29, T685. He was only one year old when 
bis father died ; his mother died when he was 
six years old, and he was left in the care of John 
Harris, of Ipswich, as appears by the probate rec- 
ords of Salem. Soon after 1712 he began house- 
keeping in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. The 
record book of the North Parish of that city has 
the following entry made by the pastor. Rev. John 
Emerson: "April 25, 1714. Matthew Scales owned 
ye Covenant and his son Matthew was baptized." 
in the same book are these further records: "April 
18, 1715. James Scales baptized." "June 2. 1717, 
Mary Scales baptized." "October 26. 1718, .Abraham 
Scales baptized." At Portsmouth Matthew Scales 
was engaged in housebuilding and general carpen- 
ter work; he was a master mechanic, a good citi- 
zen and a devout church member. He does not ap- 
pear to have taken anv part in public office holding. 
In 1718 he went to Falmouth, Maine, and joined 
bis brother William, who had settled there three 
years before. In 171Q he moved his family there, 
where they continued to reside until his_ death, 
at the hands of the Indians, at the same time his 
brother William was slain, Apvil. 1725. .^t Fal- 
mouth he was selectman several years, while his 
brother was representative in the general court of 
IMassachusetts. He served under Major Moody as 
a soldier in the fort there, and was one of the 
leading citizens. Matthew Scales married Sarah 
, of Ipswich. Massachusetts in 1712. She prob- 
ably returned to Ipswich after the death of her hus- 
band. The date or place of her death is not known. 
She had three sons who lived to grow up : Mat- 
thew. .'\braham and Edward. 

(IV) Abraham, son of Matthew and Sarah 
Scales, was born in 1718, and was but seven years 
old when his father was killed. When he was four- 



teen years old he commenced to serve his appren- 
ticeship of seven years with a house carpenter in 
Boston, the trade then being called the "joiners." 
.A.braham and his older brother, who was also a 
carpenter, went to reside in Durham, New Hamp- 
shire, about 1739, and practiced their trade there 
and in the towns around. The fact that they were 
born in Portsmouth and that their mother was ac- 
quainted with Durham people may have been the 
cause of their going there to settle. June 16, 1748, 
Abraham Scales, "joiner," and Theophilus Hardy, 
"feltmaker," both of Durham, bought lot 41 in 
Nottingham, consisting of one hundred acres of 
land, covered with a heavy growth of oak and pine. 
Later Mr. Scales bought Mr. Hardy's half and also 
two other adjoining lots, making three hundred 
acres in all. In 1749 he completed building his house 
On the original purchase, which is standing at the 
present time (1907), perfectly sound and strong. 
It is a large, two-story dwelling, and was the first 
two-story house built in Nottingham. That house 
and farm remained in possession of the Scales fam- 
ily more than a centur.v. Abraham Scales and his 
wife went there to live in 1749, and resided there 
till his death in 1796, when it passed into the pos- 
session of his grandson, Samuel Scales. Abraham 
Scales was not only .an expert house builder, but 
made furniture and about everything that was 
needed or could be used about the house, that 
could be made of wood. He was a man of strong 
personal character of the old Puritan type, inde- 
pendent and progressive. He was selectman of that 
town in 1754-5.S, was moderator at numerous town 
meetings, and held various minor offices. He was 
a zealous churchman, but did not like the Rev. 
Benjamin Butler for pastor of the church in Not- 
tingham, fo joined the Baptists in Lee in 1772, and 
remained a Baptist to the end of his life. July 8, 
1747. he married Sarah Thompson, of Durham, born 
Januarv 5, 1724. and died in 1804, daughter of John 
and Mary (Davis) Thompson, and granddaughter 
of John and Sarah (Woodman) Thompson ; Sar- 
ah Woodman was daughter of Captain John Wood- 
man, of Durham, and Newbury. Massachusetts. 
.Abraham and Sarah had five children who lived 
tn grow up: .Samuel, Hannah, Abigail, Lois and 
Ebenezer. 

(V) Samuel Scales, son of Abraham and Sarah 
(Thompson) Scales, was born September g, 1754, 
and died March 20, 177S. aged twenty-four. He re- 
sided with his father on the homestead. He served 
in the Revolutionary army, on guard duty at Ports- 
mouth, in November and December, 1775, and in 
the siege of Boston, in 1776, until the town was 
evacuated. IMarch 17, of that year. He married 
March. t774, Hannah Langley, daughter of Sam- 
uel and Hannah (Reynolds) Langley, of Lee; they 
had one daughter Mary, who died young: and a 
son Samuel, who was born one month after the 
death of his father. 

(VI) Samuel (2). only son of Samuel (i) and 
Hannah (Langley) Scales, was born April 20. 1778, 
and died September 21, 1840. His father died a 
month before his birth, and he was brought up by 
his Grandfather Scales, and at the death of the lat- 
ter in T70C, he inherited the home farm and resided 
there until his death. He was united in marriage 
with Hannah Dame, daughter of Moses and Anna 
(Hunking) Dame, of Lee, April 20. 1799; she was 
born February 16, 1772, and died July 30, 1847. 
Her mother was daughter of Captain Mark Hunk- 
ing, of Portsmouth, and Barrington, and grand- 
daughter of Colonel Mark Hunking of Portsmouth, 
who was royal councillor with Lieutenant Cover- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



6i 



nor John Wentvvorth, his brother-in-law, 1716, to 
1729. Moses Dame was born in Newington, 
and was fifth in descent from Deacon John 
Dam(e), one of the early settlers in Dover, and 
second deacon of the First Church in that town, 
which was organized in 1638. Samuel and Hannah 
(Dame) Scales were excellent persons, and managed 
the farm and the household in a successful way for 
forty years. It was said of them that no one ever 
heard a cross or uncomplimentary word pass be- 
tween them, and they brought up their children in 
a very exemplary manner. When their children 
attained school age they had the district teacher 
hold the school at their house, and gave them the 
best education that the times afforded. That was 
shortly after the towns in New Hampshire were 
divided into districts for school purposes ; that 
particular district was the "Scales district." To 
them were born two sons and two daughters : 
Samuel, Mary, Nancy and Levi. 

(VH) Samuel (3), eldest child of Samuel (2) 
and Hannah (Dame) Scales, was born July 18. 
1800, and died January 12, 1877. He received a good 
education ; before his marriage he was for several 
winters a successful teacher in district schools in 
Nottingham and Lee ; he took a lively interest in 
military affairs and became captain of a company in 
the state militia. He was a strict disciplinarian and 
popular commander. He was one of the school 
committee of Nottingham for a number of years, 
selectman several years, and representative in the 
general court in 1849-50, in which he served on 
important committees. He was an up-to-date farm- 
er, always raising big crops of corn and potatoes. 
He had a blacksmith shop and a carpenter shop on 
his farm, in which he shod his o.xen and horses, 
and sometimes those of his neighbors. He made his 
own carts and wheels, sleds and yokes, and all the 
sort of tools used on a farm in tliose days. He 
took special pride in having the best stock of cat- 
tle in town, and his ox teams were beautiful to 
every one who admired handsome oxen. He was 
found of music, and had a deep clear bass voice that 
made him the best bass singer in the town ; He 
was choir leader for years. He and his father be- 
fore him were liberal in their religious views, be- 
ing old-fashioned Hosea Ballou Universalists, as 
was his wife. In politics he was a Democrat from 
the days of Andrew Jackson, and was delegate to 
innumerable conventions of that party, and gen- 
erally he was elected chairman, as he was an ex- 
cellent presiding officer, preserving order in the 
most stormy and exciting to^vn meeting or conven- 
tion. It was said that he could make his voice 
heard a mile. He was a justice of the peace for 
half a century, and did much business in that line; 
in all his later years he was known as Esquire 
Scales. He was a genial, kind-hearted man, and 
delighted to relate anecdotes of his wide experience. 
He was a man of much reading and clear intel- 
lect, forming his own opinions and standing by his 
conclusions until strong evidence was presented 
to change his mind, hence, his conclusions as a jus- 
tice were rarely disputed or overturned. He was 
an indomitable worker, and early riser, always busy, 
in storm or in sunshine. He died of heart failure, 
January 12, 1877, though he had been active about 
his work down to the beginning of that winter. 
He was one of the charter members of Sullivan 
Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, at 
Lee Hill. He received his degree of entered ap- 
prentice. May 2g, 182S; fellow craft. November 5, 
1829: master mason, June 3, 1830. He was junior 
warden, i83i-3.{; worshipful master, 1835-36-44-47; 



grand steward of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge 
of New Hampshire, nine years in succession, 1836- 
45; also 1849-50. 

He married, December 23, 1828, Betsey True, of 
Deerfield, January 11. 1805. and died in Dover. Oc- 
tober 4, 1883. She vv-as the daughter of Benjamin 
and Mary (Batchelder) True, of Deerfield, whose 
father. Deacon Abraham True, of Salisbury, Massa- 
chusetts, was one of the first settlers in that town. 
1754. i)eacon True was a grandson of Captain 
Henry and Jane (Bradbury) True, of Salisbury, 
whose father, Henry True, was the immigrant an- 
cestor (See True I and II). Jane Bradbury was 
a daughter of Captain Thomas Bradbury, one of the 
foremost men of Newbury, and Massachusetts Bay 
Colony. Benjamin True, father of Betsey, inherited 
the homestead farm in Deerfield, and was one of 
the leading citizens. He was a soldier in the Rev- 
olution. His wife. Mary Batchelder, was daughter 
of Captain Nathaniel Batchelder of Deerfield, who 
was a private in Captain Henry Dearborn's company. 
Colonel John Stark's regiment, in the battle of Bunk- 
er Hill. His grandfather. Nathaniel Batchelder, 
was a grandson of Rev. Stephen Batchelder, the 
immigrant. (See Batchelder I, II, III.) Samuel 
and Betsey (True) Scales had three sons: True, 
John and George. 

(VIII) True, the eldest son of Samuel (3) and 
Betsey (True) Scales, was born January 20. 1830, 
and died July 27, 1892. He was a brickmason by 
trade, resided in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and 
was a contractor arid builder for many years. 
He was a member of various Masonic fratemities. 
receiving his degree of entered apprentice in Ami- 
cable Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of 
C.-imbridge, January 14, 1865. In 1866 he became 
a member of Cambridge Royal Arch Chapter. In 
1871 he took the degree of Royal and Select Mas- 
ters in Boston Council. In 1873 he became a Knight 
Templar in William Parkman Commandery of East 
Boston. He held the highest offices in these organ- 
izations, ending with that of eminent commander 
in 1879-80. He was in office thirteen consecutive 
years, and was acknowledged to be one of the mosr 
efficient presiding officers in the Masonic Orders. 
He married, October 4, 1853, Mary Bird Shattuck, 
of Burlington, Vermont, who died October 14, 1905. 
They had one son, Frank, born September 26, 
1859; he resides in Cambridge: he married and is 
the father of three children: Marion Bird. Walter 
Francis and George Burton. 

(VIII) John, second son and child of Samuel 
(3) and Betsey (True) Scales, was born October 
6, 1835 ; was graduated from New London Academy 
in 1859: from Dartmouth College in 1863; he en- 
gaged in teaching from 1863 to 1882 ; he was editor 
and one of the proprietors of the Dover Daily Re- 
(inblican and Dover Enquirer (weekly) from 1882 
to 1898 ; since then he has been engaged in literary 
work, and has published a volume of Historical 
Memoranda of Old Dover (New Hampshire), and 
various historical papers. . He has been a member 
of the Dover school committee several years ; trus- 
tee of the State normal school. He is a member 
of the New Hampshire Historical Society: the New 
Hampshire Society Sons of the American Revo- 
lution ; the New Hampshire Society of Colonial 
Wars ; Moses Paul Lodge. Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Belknap Chapter ; Orphan Council ; 
St. Paul Commandery. Knight Templar, and has 
received the Scottish Rite to the thirty-second de- 
gree. He was united in marriage, October 20, 1865, 
with Ellen Tasker, of Strafford, born in Strafford, 
May 30. 1843, daughter of Deacon Alfred and 



62 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Mary Margaret (Hill) Tasker, of Strafford. They 
have two sons: Burton True and Robert Leighton. 
(IX) Burton True, son of John and Ellen (Task- 
er) Scales, was born August lo,, 1873 ; was gradu- 
ated from Dartmouth College in 1895; he was en- 
gaged in newspaper work for two years, then took 
up the teaching of music in the public schools of 
Dover. In 1898 he was appointed instructor rn 
music in the William Penn Charter School for Boys 
in Philadelphia, which position he now (1907) holds. 
He is a fine bass singer and has had marked success 
as an instructor in music. He was united in marriage, 
September 15, 1900, with Kate Hubbard Reynolds, 
of Dover, daughter of Captain Benjamin O. and 
Martha (White) Reynolds. They have one daugh- 
ter, Catherine Bradstreet, born January 11, 1903; 
and one son, Benjamin Reynolds, March 24, 1907. 
_(IX) Robert Leighton, son of John and Ellen 
(Tasker) Scales, was born June 10, 1880; was 
graduated from Dartmouth College in 1901 : he was 
instructor in English literature and oratory at Dart- 
mouth from September, 1902, to Juh'. 1904; he grad- 
uated from Harvard Law School in June, 1907. 
He is the author of a te.xt book on Argumentation 
and Debate. 

(VIII) George, youngest child of Samuel (3) 
and Betsey (True) Scales, was born October 20, 
1840; was graduated from New London (New 
Hampshire) Academy in 1861, and was about to 
engage in the study of law when the Civil war 
broke out, and he enlisted in the First Company of 
New Hampshire Sharpshooters of Colonel Berdan's 
regiment. He enlisted in September, 1861, and 
served in the regiment in McClellan's campaigns in 
Virginia; he was killed July I. 1S62, at the battle of 
Malvern Hill. He was an expert marksman. He 
graduated at the head of his class at New London. 
He was very keen in debate, six feet tall, well pro- 
portioned; black hair and black eyes, with a fine 
looking head and features, genial in his ways and 
generally liked. He was a young man of great 
promise for a brilliant and useful career had he 
been spared in health. 



The progenitor of the numerous Jor- 
JORDAN dan family was a very early settler 
in Maine. He was fortunate in his 
selection of a wife, in his business relations, and in 
most of the other affairs of life, and was the' forbear 
of a race among whose members are many men of 
ability and distinction. 

(I) Rev. Robert Jordan, the immigrant, was 
probably a native of Dorsetshire or Devonshire, 
England, where the Jordan name is quite common, 
and whence came many of the first settlers of Fal- 
mouth. It is probable that he came in 1639, in 
one of the regular trading vessels of .Robert Tre- 
lawney, merchant and landholder of Richmond's 
Island, then a part of ancient Falmouth in Maine. 
He was a clergyman of the church of England, a 
man of superior education, and as early a? 1641. 
succeeded Mr. Gibson in his clerical capacity at 
Richmond's Island. F6r more than thirty years 
Rev. Robert Jordan occupied a large share" in the 
affairs_ of the town and of the province. He was 
an active, enterprising man, and well educated. Al- 
though being a Presbyter of the Church of England, 
he came hither as a religious teacher, the 
affairs of the world in which he lived 
and the achievement of his ambitious de- 
signs appear soon to have absorbed the most of 
his attention, and to have diverted him from the 
exercise of his profession — a result originating and 
hastened doubtless by. the hostility of the govern- 
ment. He and Rev. Richard Gibson were the pi- 



oneers of Episcopacy in Maine, and though Mr. 
Gibson left the country in 1642, Mr. Jordan re- 
mained at the post of duty, and never relinquished 
his stand as a churchman or his professional char- 
acter. He was the soul of the opposition to Massa- 
chusetts, and a chief supporter to the royal com- 
missioners and the anti-Puritan policy. Owing to 
his religious affinities and associations he was an 
object of suspicion and hostility to the Puritan Gov- 
ernment of Massachusetts, who forbade him to marry 
or baptize. He paid no attention to this order and, 
continuing to discharge the duties of his office, the 
general court of Massachusetts ordered his arrest 
and imprisonment in Boston jail. This occurred 
twice, namely, in 1654 and in 1663. For a long 
time he was a judge of the court. Edward God- 
frey, the fir.st settler of York, and for some time 
governor of the western part of the state, was 
long associated with Mr. Jordan as a magistrate, 
and speaks of him in a "letter to the government at 
home, March 14. 1660, as having long experience 
in the country "equal to any in Boston;" and adds, 
"an orthodox divine of the church of England, 
and of great parts and estate." He began early to 
mingle in the aft'airs of the settlers, and in 1641 
was one of the referees in a controversy between 
Winter and Cleaves. 

Robert Trelawney and ]Moses Goodyear were 
granted land and trading privileges in 1631. In 
1636 Mr. Trelawney alone is mentioned as pro- 
prietor of the patent, and on March 26, of that year 
he committed the full government of the plantation 
to John Winter who appears after tliat time to have 
an interest of one-tenth in the speculation, and a 
salary of £40 a year for his personal care and 
charge. In 1645 John Winter died, and three years 
later his plantation and all its appurtenances were 
awarded to Robert Jordan, his .son-in-law. as heir 
and administrator of John Winter. Winter had set- 
tled on Richmond's Island, and as agent for Tre- 
lawney kept a trading house, bought furs of the In- 
dians and dried fish upon the island, having at one 
time sixty men employed in the fishing business, 
and four ships which were loaded at the island 
with fish, oil, furs and pipe-staves for voyages to 
England and Spain. By his marriage with Sarah 
Winter, Mr. Jordan became one of the great land 
proprietors and wealthy men of the region ; "a 
source of influence which he failed not to exert in 
favor of his church and politics." After 1648 he sold 
the property of Trelawney and settled the estate 
of Winter, and soon afterward settled on the main- 
land portion of the estate of Winter, The planta- 
tion there was called Spurvvink, a name which has 
been retained to the present day. It lies in Falmouth, 
now Cape Elizabeth. He resided there until the 
second Indian war of 1676. when he was compelled 
to leave and flee from the Indians. He left home 
hurriedly, and everything about his house was in 
flames before he was out of sight. He went to 
Great Island in the Piscataqua river (now New- 
castle), then part of Portsmouth, New Hampshire, 
and there died in the sixty-eighth year of his age. 
His will was made at Great Island, January 28, 
and proved July i, 1679. He had lost the use of 
his hands before his^ death, and was unable to sign 
his will. He left six sons, among whom his im- 
mense landed estate of ten thousand acres or more 
was divided. 

Rev. Robert Jordan married Sarah Winter, 
daughter of John Winter, who survived him and 
was living at Newcastle, in Portsmouth Harbor, 
in 1686. Their children were: John. Robert, Do- 
minicus, Jedediah. Samuel and Jeremiah. 

(II) Jedediah. fourth son and child of Rev. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



63 



Robert and Sarah (Winter) Jordan, was born be- 
fore 1664, at Spurvvink, now Cape Elizabetli, Cum- 
berland county, Maine ; and died in 1735. He left 
Spnrwink with his father's family on the outbreak of 
the Indian war in 1675, and settled at Great Island, 
now Newcastle, New Hampshire. He afterward 
settled at Kittery, Maine, which is show-n by his 
having given his son Robert a deed to land dated 
at Kittery in 1726. In 1729 he made a w-ill of which 
his sons John and Thomas were the executors. 
There is no record of the marriage of Jedediah Jor- 
dan at Newcastle or Kittery. as no records were 
kept at that early date. It is probable that his chil- 
dren were born in Kittery. One of his daughters 
was married there in 1724. His children were: 
Jedediah, Abigail, Keziah. Mary, Sarah, John^ 
Thomas, and Robert, whose sketch follows. 

(III) Robert, youngest child and fourth son of 
Jedediah Jordan, was born in 1704. probably at 
Kittery. York county, Maine. In 1726 his father 
conveyed land to him in Spurwink, where he after- 
ward lived as a farmer. He married, in Dover, 
New Hampshire, in 1727, Rachel Huckins, and they 
had twelve children : Robert, Edmund, Hannah, 
Abigail, Lucy, Sarah. Olive, Temperance, Rachel, 
Margery, Wealthy and Mary. 

(IV) Edmund, second son and child of Robert 
and Rachel (Huchins) Jordan, W'as born at Spur- 
wink, in 1729. 

(V) Benjamin, son of Edmund Jordan, was born 
in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, in 1760. He served 
one month as substitute for his father, in April and 
May, 1776. under Captain Ray in Colonel Fry's reg- 
iment, and again another month in the same capac- 
ity under Captain Remington, January, 1777. In 
Februar3% 1777, he volunteered as fifer with Captain 
Roy for a month. " He also served another month 
in .-Vpril and May under Captain Bennett. In June, 
1777. he enlisted for ten months under Captain 
Gibbs, Colonel John Topham's regiment. When 
discharged in March. 1778, he immediately re-en- 
listed for one year with Captain Traffern and was 
discharged in March, 1779. His service in the 
patriot army amounted to four years, and he was 
a member of the little band w'hich made the daring 
capture of the British General Prescott on the Is- 
land of Rhode Island. He removed to Plainfield. 
New Hampshire, in May. 1780, and to Columbia in 
1816, where he died in 1S46. He married. May 15, 
1780. Mary Walker, of Rehoboth, a descendant of 
"Molly Walker." She was born in 1760 and died 
in i860. Each was at the time of death a pensioner. 
Their children were : Joseph, Mercy, Ruth, Mrs. 
Sweet. Mrs. Hadley. Johnson, Lyman and Polly. 
When the mother died she had seven children liv- 
ing, the youngest, Polly, being sixty years old. 

(VI") Johnson, son of Benjamin and Mary 
(Walker) Jordan, was born in Plainfield, New 
Hampshire, April 5, 1798, and died in Colebrook, 
.August 16, 1873. in 1818 he settled in Colebrook, 
and spent the remainder of his life there. He was 
a farmer, a strong man physically — subduing forests 
and wild beasts with about equal facility. In re- 
ligious sentiment he was a Congrcgationalist ; in 
politics he cast his lot first with the Whig party, 
and when that gave place to the Republican party 
with its broader views and intenser interest in hu- 
manity, he aligned himself with it. He married, in 
Colebrook, in 1822, Minerva Buel, born in Hebron. 
Tolland county, Connecticut, July 19, 1801, and died 
in Colebrook, March 13, daughter of Captain Benja- 
min and Violetta (Sessions) Buel. She was a 
beautiful woman, lovely in character, refinement 
and disposition. She was a Congrcgationalist, and 



departed this life in the triumph of a faith she 
long had cherished. 

The Buel family was a noted one, of means, 
education and social standing, while the Sessions 
family was equally famed and artistocratic. They 
intermarried with the Bradleys, the Lords and 
others. Captain Buel removed to Colebrook in 
]So2. For several winters he taught school. He 
was a fine scholar for his day, and a most excellent 
gentleman. He was born August 20, 1767, and died 
in Colebrook, in 1826. His wife was born also in 
1767, and died in Connecticut, in 1856. One of their 
daughters, Sharlie Maria, wife of Sidney Allen, 
died in Chelsea, Vermont. Another Abigail, mar- 
ried Daniel Egery, and went with him to Beloit, 
Wisconsin, where she died. The children of John- 
son and Minerva Jordon were: Julia, Mary Ses- 
sions Lord, Benjamin Buel, Malvina, Violetta. and 
Chester Bradley, whose sketch follows. 

(\^II) Governor Chester Bradley Jordan, the 
younge^t and only surviving child of Johnson and 
Minerva (Buel) Bradley, was born in Colebrook, 
October 15, 1839. He wrought on a farm until he 
was twenty-one, early and late for his father and 
others, going to the distant district school winters. 
When he became of age he went to the academy 
spring and fall, working for wages summers and 
teaching school winters until he had taught eighteen 
terms of district and private schools, including two 
terms as principal of Colebrook Academy. He 
graduated from Kimball Union Academy at Meriden 
in 1S66. and previous to that time had served three 
years as superintendent of schools of his native 
town. In 1867 he was one of the selectmen and 
his party's candidate for representative. In }ilarch, 
1868, he w-as appointed clerk of the Supreme Court 
for Coos county, took the office the following June 
and held it till October 23, 1874. He discharged 
his duties with so great fidelity and promptness 
that he received the unqualified approbation of the 
court and the lawyers, and when a change of 
parties in power came and a Democratic administra- 
tion demanded his removal, it was made over the 
protest of nearly every attorney in the county. 
Meantime he had been reading law and observing 
court and court methods, and after going out of 
office continued his reading in the office of Judge 
William S. Ladd, of Lancaster. Subsequently he 
finished his course in the office of Ray. Drew & 
Hey wood, and was admitted to practice in the state 
courts in November, 1875, and in the United States 
courts in May, l88r. Mr. Heywood retired from 
the firm in May, 1876, and Mr. Jordan w-as admitted 
to the new office of Ray, Drew & Jordan. In 
1S82 this firm, by the admission of Philip Carpenter, 
became Ray, Drew, Jordan & Carpenter ; later 
Drew, Jordan & Carpenter : then Drew & Jordan, 
next Drew. Jordan & Buckley, and now Drew, 
Jordan, Shurtleff & Morris. Mr. Drew and ?ilr. 
Jordan were fellow students in Colebrook, Stew- 
ardstown. and at Kimball Union Academy, room- 
ing together, boarding themselves and graduating 
together, and now for over thirty years they have 
practiced law together. In Volume IV of the work 
entitled "The New England States" it is said of 
Mr. Jordan: "Closely attached to his home life, 
in which he is especially happy, and loth to be 
separated for ever so short a time, Mr. Jordan early 
found himself becoming essentially 'the office man' 
of the several firms of which he has been a useful 
member. As a lawyer, therefore, he has devoted his 
attention to the duties of a counselor, and to the 
drafting of legal papers (in which he excels), 
rather than to the trial and advocacy of causes. As- 



64 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



sociated in business with two such noted advocates 
as Hons. Ossian Ray and Irving W. Drew, and 
unwarrantably distrustful of his abilities in this 
direction, Mr. Jordan has seldom ventured into the 
lield of advocacy. When, however, by reason of the 
illness or absence of his partners, or from other 
cause, he has, been impressed into this service, he 
has displayed a power of forensic oratory which was 
a revelation to his professional brethren, and fur- 
nished an occasion of regret to his friends because 
he had not made it his life work. His style of 
address in the argument of causes is ol the rapid, 
ardent, intense, almost vehement, character. rlis 
apt and ready words follow eacli other in ceaseless 
and quick, succession, and go home with the force 
and precision, and rapidity of the Catling's tire. 
And herein lies the secret of his power wncii his 
voice has been heard in advocacy or defense of 
his political faith in the heated campaigns of the 
North country." "f-'oUowing the bent oi his early 
years, Mr. Jordan has sought and found relaxation 
from the burdens of a busy practice in historical 
and political reading and writing. « » * in 
1870, amid the multitudinous duties of clerk of the 
court, he purchased the "Coos Republican,'' be- 
came its editor, and gave it high rank among the 
papers of the state, tor many years he contributed 
political and historical articles to the "Boston 
Journal," "Concord Monitor," the "Statesman," and 
the local press. Few pens have been oftener or more 
potently wielded in defense of the Republican party 
of New Hampshire and of the Nation than Mr. 
Jordan's. The chief charm of his style is its per- 
spicuity and force; and so natural and easy to him 
are both the manual and the mental uses 01 the pen, 
that almost unconsciously — certainly without ef- 
fort — his facts array and arrange themselves in 
fetching and forceful order, and nis hrst dralt is 
almost sure to be the finished product. Epigrammatic, 
perspicuous and forceful in style, accurate in state- 
ments of facts, an adept in the graces of rhetoric, 
he has won an enviable reputation as a writer on 
current political questions. "For forty years he has 
written political matters for the press. But his 
writings have not been confined to one topic. He 
was the mover of the Lancaster town history, and 
he also wrote much and furnished much information 
for the 'Flistory of Coos County.' He wrote an 
essay on the Life of Colonel Joseph Whipple for 
the New Hampshire Historical Society; and among 
his contributions to the Coos County work were 
biographical sketches of Hon. Amos W. Drew, Dr. 
Frank Bugbee, and Philip Jordan. For the Cral- 
ton and Loos Bar Association he wrote the bio- 
graphy of Richard Clair Everett, and other valuable 
papers." 

At the remarkably early age of nine years Mr. 
Jordan began to take a lively and intelligent interest 
in politics, and from that time until now his interest 
in parties and party measures has never abated. In 
early life he espoused the Republican cause and 
has ever since been one of its most active supporters. 
His first vote in Colebrook was for Lincoln, and in 
Lancaster for Grant. In the fall of 1864 he pre- 
sided over the meetings addressed respectively by 
Senator Patterson, Senator Daniel Clark and the 
Hon. Walter Harriman. The famous joint debate 
of Harriman and Sinclair began in Colebrook, and 
Mr. Jordan presided. In Lancaster he was long 
time chairman of the town and county committee, 
and as such showed his ability as a leader by 
triumphs in hotly contested campaigns. 

After a hard fight to redeem his town, in which 
his party had made a gain of over one hundred, 



Mr. Jordan was elected representative to the gen- 
eral court in 1S80. This -was his first term as a 
legislator, but such was his reputation as a fair- 
minded man and as a parliamentarian that he was 
chosen speaker by a very handsome vote. The 
house was a most able one, yet the speaker's keen- 
ness, accuracy of judgment of men and measures, 
alertness, sagacity and general efficiency were so 
conspicuous, his conduct of the business of the 
house so easy and expeditious, and his courtesy and 
fairness so universal that he received the warmest 
commendation not only of his own party, but of the 
leading journal of the Democracy m the state. In 
September, 1882, he presided at the Republican Con- 
vention in the great Hale-Currier campaign, when 
factional feeling ran high between the adherents 
of the rival candidates for the gubernatorial nomi- 
nation. It was a full convention, and three ballots 
were necessary before a choice was made. Mr. 
Jordan was then and there importuned to take the 
nomination from the floor, the delegates to drop 
the other candidates. This he refused to do, and 
by his tact and adroit management the work of the 
convention was successfully and harmoniously ac- 
complished. 

In 1S86 he was unanimously nominated in the 
Coos District, a Democratic stronghold, for state 
senator. He made a vigorous campaign, made a 
gain over his party vote of three hundred, but then 
lacked about one hundred of an election. In 1S96 
he was again unanimously nominated for that ottice, 
conducted a masterl}' canvass, and was elected by 
a majority about as large as his opponent's whole 
vote. At the senatorial caucus he was nominated 
with unanimity for president of the senate for the 
years 1S97-98, and the following day was unanimous- 
ly elected — the two Democratic senators voting for 
him. The honor of an election to this office without 
a dissenting vote had not been given a candidate 
before in this state for more than one hundred years. 
Fie entered upon the discharge of his duties with a 
familiarity born of experience, and proved himself 
an ideal presiding officer. He also made an ex- 
cellent record as a debator on the floor. The re- 
election of United States Senator Gallinger came 
during this session of the legislature, and Senator 
Jordan was designated as the seventh and last 
speaker to present his name to the Republican 
caucus. His eloquent and polished speech was a 
glowing tribute to the character of Senator Gal- 
linger, producing a most favorable impression on 
his audience, which gave expression to its sentiments 
in w-ild enthusiasm. 

Senator Jordan's successful career in politics, his 
distinguished ability, honorable conduct and long 
continued service in public life now began to cause 
him to be mentioned as a candidate for governor. 
Members of his party repeatedly approached him 
on the subject, but he constantly set his face against 
any movement to nominate him. In 1898 he was 
compelled three times to decline to take the nomina- 
tion before his party would accept his refusal. In 
1900 the Republicans again urged him to accept a 
place on the head of the ticket, and he finally said 
that if the nomination could come unsolicited and 
unbought he would accept. It so came through, 
and by a magnificent convention which gave him 
all its votes but about seventy. The candidate then 
appeared before the convention, and in a graceful 
and telling speech accepted the nomination and ap- 
proved the platform. His canvass in the campaign 
that foUow^ed covered about a month, and during 
that time he made logical, forceful and winning 
speeches to large crowds. Election day came an<l 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



at its close his majority was found to be nearly 
twenty thousand. In his town and county his vote 
was unprecedentedly large. He took the oath of 
office in January, 1901, and served two years. Dur- 
ing his administration he was always provident, 
economical, against unwise appropriations and ex- 
travagant expenditure. By a sagacious use of his 
influence, tact and legislative knowledge, he kept 
down useless appropriations by the legislature to 
the minimum, and guided both branches success- 
fully. His message was well received and most 
favorably commented upon. The old court was 
abolished and a dual court established with live 
judges on each bench. The ten judicial appoint- 
ments were all made by Governor Jordan. The 
court bill passed one day, and the judges were 
all named the next, and not a murmur was heard 
or a ripple felt. His choice had been so wisely 
made as to bring universal satisfaction to the citi- 
zens of the commonwealth. Justice Blodgett sub- 
sequently resigned, and it became the duty of the 
governor to name another chief justice and some 
one to succeed him on the bench. These appoint- 
ments were as well received as the first. Gov- 
ernor Jordan's aim and object was to afford the 
greatest good to the greate^t number of his fellow 
citizens — to benefit the people to the furtherest prac- 
tical limit. In order to do this he put himself in touch 
with the colleges of the state, the Prison, the State 
Hospital, the Orphans' Home, the Industrial School 
— in fact with all the state's institutions and inter- 
ests. He familiarized himself with the duties of 
each department and commission or bureau, but 
he did not feel it his duty to visit all the fairs, 
granges and like exhibitions and organizations. He 
attended the annual meeting of the New Hampshire 
Veterans' Association, the State Grange, and the 
State Fair, the commencement exercises at Dart- 
mouth, the New Hampshire College of Agriculture, 
the St. Mary's School in Manchester, and visited 
St. Anselm's College, and at all these he addressed 
the students and faculties. ' He received the statue 
of Commodore Perkins on behalf of the state in an 
address on New Hampshire and the navy in the 
presence of many thousand persons. He also ac- 
companied President Roosevelt from Concord to the 
Weirs, and delivered the address of welcome, and 
then attended him back to the State Fair at Concord. 
He represented the state at the Webster Centen- 
nial in Hanover, and then spoke of w'hat Webster 
was to the state, before a most distinguished as- 
semblage. On this occasion the degree of LL. D. 
was conferred upon him by the college ; that of A. 
M. having been given in 1882, that of B. S. by the 
New Hampshire College in 1901. 

The state debt was reduced over four hundred 
thousand dollars during Governor Jordan's adminis- 
tration, and when he left the office, the treasury 
had reached a plentitude never before attained— 
there being over si.x hundred thousand dollars in 
its vaults. There had been no pleasure tours of 
the governor and his council at the state's ex- 
pense; and at the close of his term over fifty dol- 
lars of the governor's contingent fund of live hun- 
dred dollars was returned to the treasury. Many 
of the old fish hatcheries were sold, and the three 
remaining ones enlarged, and made better and more 
productive — the one at Colebrook having about four 
thousand dollars expended on it. The prison was 
put in better condition, painted and whitewashed, 
and new bathtubs and safe boilers put in. Proper 
insurance was put upon the state house, state library 
and state prison. There was improvement in con- 
ditions at the Industrial School, and Dartmouth 



College received a larger gratuity from the stale 
than ever before. President Tucker introduced the 
governor to the alumni at the Webster cclebratioii 
banquet as "the first governor of the state to fairly- 
state" the true relations between the college anJ 
state. The governor received many letters com- 
mending his message, his state papers, especially his 
thanksgiving proclamation, his letter to Mrs. Mc- 
Kinley, the proclamation on President McKinley's 
death, and his public addresses during his term o£ 
office. 

Ill politics Governor Jordan has been cliar- 
acterized as "u^ close canvasser, a good organizer, 
and a natural leader;" as the chief executive of 
the state it can be said that he was sound, con- 
servative, practical, highly successful, and almost 
without exception on tne right side of public ques- 
tions. 

Although the incumbent of many official pc>- 
sitions. Governor Jordan has not always seen tit to 
accept every office that has been tendered him. He 
was once offered the postmastership of Lancaster, 
also the position of special agent of the United. 
States treasury department, but declined them. He 
has been urged to accept an appointment to the 
supreme bench of the state ; in 1867 he was tendered, 
but was compelled to decline, a position on the staff 
of Governor Harriman ; but the honor was again 
proft'ered in 1872 by Governor Straw, and Mr. 
Jordan's acceptance and service justified his title to 
colonel. 

Governor Jordan has assisted many to official 
positions, and he has kept in touch with men and 
affairs all over the country. He has a large library, 
especially versed in tow'n, county and state history, 
is found of searching out the records and historv 
of the past, and has much interest in and respects 
for the pioneers.- It is a fact worthy of notice that 
he has missed only one town meeting and no state,., 
congressional or presidential election in his forty-- 
six years as an elector.. In Colebrook, before com- 
ing to Lancaster, he was pitted against the late- 
Honorable Hazen Bedel for the moderatorship, a^. 
that was deemed the test vote of the day; and in 
Lancaster against Honorable Henry O. Kent, for 
a like position, sometimes -winning over. Colonel 
Kent being the only man who ever did beat him foe 
the place. 

Governor Jordan's ability in business affairs ha.s 
been recognized from his youth. He has 'been the 
guardian of many private trusts, the administrator 
of various estates and prominent in local banking 
circles, holding the offices of vice-president in and 
director in Lancaster Trust Company, and director 
in Lancaster National Bank and the Siwooganock 
Guaranty Savings Bank. Popular among the mem- 
bers of his profession, he was for years first vice- 
president and then president of the Grafton and 
Coos Bar .Association, and an officer of the State 
Bar Association. He is a. Mason, a member ot 
Evening Star Lodge, No. iT, at Colebrook, where 
he took his degrees and was secretary more than 
forty years ago ; he took the Royal .\rch degrees 
in North Star Chapter, of Lancaster, thirty-eight 
years ago, and the consistory degrfes in Edward .-V. 
Raymond Consistory in Nashua, lu 1902. 

He belongs to no church. Fie was brought up 
in the Congregational faitli and attends that church 
now, yet sees good and evil in all, and outside ot 
all. He has always been bcnificent and charitable, 
helped to found the Orphans' Home, and has con- 
tributed to it nearly every year since its foundation ; 
has given to other institutions as their circumstances, 
seemed to appeal to him, and has helped geiierou-ly 



66 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



in the erection of soldiers' monuments. In short, 
he has tried to do his part in church enterprises 
and for benevolent objects and for education in 
town and state. He is an honorary member of the 
Veterans' Association, and of several regimental 
organizations. 

Governor Jordan married, in Lancaster, July 
19, 1879, Ida Rose Nutter, born in Lancaster, 
March 31, i860, daughter of Oliver and Roxana 
(Wentworth) Nutter, of Lancaster. ilr. Nutter 
was born in Wakefield, and was a merchant, post- 
master, and farmer. His father, Alpheus Nutter, 
was born in Newington. Roxanna Wentworth was 
born in Jackson, and was a descendant of Governor 
Wentworth, a relative of the famous "Long John" 
Wentworth, of Chicago, and a cousin of General 
M. C. Wentworth. As "the first lady of the state," 
Mrs. Jordan won much praise in all her w'ork and 
functions for her whole-heartedness, vivacity and 
simplicity. She was instrumental in organizing the 
Unity Club in Lancaster, and was its first president. 
She is also active in the work of her church (the 
Congregationalist). She is domestic and refined 
in her tastes, possesses rare musical talent, is a 
faithful and devoted wife, -and an indulgent and 
much-loved mother. P'our children have been born 
of this union : Roxannah Minerva, born in Lan- 
caster, January 9, 18S2; Hugo, May 26. 1884, died 
May 2, 1886; Gladstone, May 15, 1888; and Chester 
Bradley, February 15, 1892. Roxanna M. received 
her literary education at Lancaster, New Hampshire, 
and Northampton, Massachusetts, and her musical 
education in Boston. Gladstone, six feet, two and 
one-half inches in height in his stocking feet, and 
weighing two hundred and fifty pounds, is a student 
at Dartmouth, class of 191 1. Bradley, fifteen years 
old, six feet high and weighing two hundred and 
twenty pounds, is a student at Lancaster. 

The Perry name is an old English one 
PERRY and is exceedingly numerous in this 

country, and boasts many distinguished 
representatives. There were no less than ten irn- 
niigrants bearing this surname who had come to this 
country by 1652 or earlier. The-se were Arthur, of 
Boston, a tailor and town drummer in 1638; Francis, 
a wheelwright in 1631 ; Isaac, who was at Boston 
in 1631; John, of Roxbury, Massachusetts, in 1632; 
John, of Taunton, Massachusetts, in 1643 ; and 
Richard, of New Haven, Connecticut, in 1640. 
Others of the name who settled in Massachusetts 
at an early date were William, of Scituate, in 1638; 
Thomas, of Scituate, in 1643; Thomas, of Ipswich, 
in 164S; and Ezra, of Sandwich, who married Eliza- 
beth Barge, on February 12, 1652. From these dif- 
ferent ancestors a numerous progeny has descended. 
Without doubt the most distinguished American 
member of the family is Commodore Oliver Hazard 
Perry, whose famous message at the battle of Lake 
Erie, "We" have met the enemy and they are ours," 
is familiar to every school boy. Other members of 
note are: Commodore Matthew C. Perry, brother 
of the hero of Lake Erie, Bishop William S. Perry, 
Governor Edward Perry, of Florida, Governor Ben- 
jamin F. Perry, of South Carolina, Bliss Perry, 
editor of the Atlantic Monthly, and Nora Perry, 
the author. In our own state Dr. William Perry, of 
Exeter, and his sons Have filled honorable positions. 
Horatio J. Perry, born in Keene, was for many years 
secretary of the legation at Madrid. He mar- 
ried the Spanish poetess laureate, Carolina Cor- 
onado. 

(I) John Perry, the first of the family in this 
country, was born 1613, in London, England, and 



is the progenitor of one of three prominent families 
of the name in New England. He came to America 
about 1605 and settled at Watertown, Massachu- 
setts. His wife, whom he married in England, was 
Joanna, daughter of Joseph Holland. 

(Ilj John (2), son of John (.1) and Joanna 
(Holland) Perry, was a native of England and 
settled in Watertown, Massachusetts. He was mar- 
ried there December 13, 1607, to Sarah Clary, who 
was born October 4, 1647, daughter of John and 
Mary (Cassell; Clary, of Watertown. Of their 
nine children three died j'Oung. The survivers 
were ; John, Joanna, Sarah, Ehzabeth, Josiah and 
Joseph. 

(HI) John (3), eldest son of John (2) and 
Sarah (Clary) Perry, was born March 3, 1670, 
in Watertown, and resided there through life. He 
was married July 19, 1693, to Sarah Price, who 
was born September 27, 1667, daughter of William 
and INlary (Marblehead) Price, of Watertown. She 
died October 11, 1730. 

(IV) James, son of John (3) and Sarah (Price) 
Perry, was born January 27, 1712, and baptized Sep- 
tember I, 1717. He was a chair maker of Charles- 
town, Massachusetts, and later lived in West Cam- 
bridge (now Arlington), Massachusetts. He was 
a precinct collector there in 1770. He was married 
in Charlestovvn, October 14, 1742, to Lydia Tuft, 
who was born 1724, daughter ot James and Lydia 
(Hall) Tuft. He died May 30, 1771, and she was 
married (second), November 29, 1773, to Josiah 
Mixer, who was born November 17, 1716, a son of 
Deacon Josiah and Anna (Jones) Mixer. He was 
a prominent citizen of Walton. The children of 
James and Lydia Perry were: Lydia, Ruth (died 
young), Mercy, James, Ruth, John, Jonathan, Eliza- 
beth, Joseph and Benjamin. The younger of these 
had their home with their step-father. 

(V) John (4), second sun and sixth child of 
James and Lydia (Tuft) Perry, was born Decem- 
ber 9, 1754, and died August 7, 1834, in Rindge, 
New Hampshire. He resided in Lincoln, Massachu- 
setts, until he removed to Rindge in 1789. He 
settled in the northeast part of the town, removing 
a few years later to the farm familiarly called the 
"Perry Farm" and now occupied by his grandson. 
He was a man of superior intelligence and char- 
acter, who commanded the willing confidence and 
respect of his fellowmen. He was married in Wal- 
ton, Massachusetts, February 28, 1775, to Persis 
^lixer, who was born November 6, 1756, a daughter 
of Josiah and Sarah (Mead) Mixer. She died in 

1780. He was married (second), November 21, 

1781, to Abigail Bigelow, daughter of Joseph and 
Abigail (Whit) Bigelow, of Marlboro, Massachu- 
setts. She died in Rindge, New Hampshide, Sep- 
tember II, 1818. He was married (third), February 17, 
1820, to Lucy Weston, who was born March 31, 
1/59. in Wilmington, Massachusetts, daughter of 
Isaac Weston, who died in the army during the Revo- 
lution. She died January 15, 1857, surviving her 
husband more than twenty-two years. His children 
were: Lydia (died young), Percis, John, Betsy, 
Lydia, Benjamin, Chauncey, Abigail, Sarah, Selinda 
and Jason B. Among his descendants are sturdy 
men who have honored their name in business, in 
letters, at the bar and on the bench. 

(VI) Jason Bigelow, youngest child of John 
(4) and Abigail (Bigelow) Perry, was born Septem- 
ber 27, 1801, in Rindge. He was a thrifty farmer, 
tilling the acres of the paternal homestead. In the 
New Hampshire militia he was honored with suc- 
cessive promotion and declined a commission as 
brigadier-general. He retired with the rank of col- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



67 



onel of the Twelfth Regiment. In later life, in the 
speech of his fellowmen, he was Colonel Perry and 
except on a ballot or an antograph he had no other 
name. He was representative in 1852-53 and select- 
man twenty years, a service unequalled in the num- 
ber of years, and unexcelled in efficiency in the town. 
Colonel Perry was an able, reliable and faithful 
man. His character and service was conspicuous 
in the annals of the town. He died February, 1883. 
He was married, November ir, 1828, to Sally Wil- 
son, who was born September 22, 1804, in New Ips- 
wich, New Hampshire, daughter of Major Supply 
(Scripture) Wilson, and granddaughter of Supply 
and Susanna (Cutter) Wilson, of Woburn, Massa- 
chusetts, and New Ipswich. (See Wilson, VI). 
She died November 14, 1875. They were the parents 
of a large family of children, namely : Mary, Eliza, 
Susan, John Wilson, James Bigelow, Harriet, Sarah, 
Jason Stanley and Jane Sophronia. 

(VII) Jason Stanley, third and youngest son 
and eighth child of Colonel Jason B. and Sally 
(Wilson) Perry, was born January 8, 1847, in 
Rindge, New Hampshire, and owns the ancestral 
farm on which he lived until 1902, when he removed 
to the village of East Rindge, but now resides in 
Rindge Center. He was educated in the schools 
of his native town and at Appleton Academy, New 
Ipswich. Mr. Perry is a prominent citizen of Rindge. 
He is a thoughtful student of literature and is well 
informed in public affairs. In the social circles he 
is a genial companion, and in public assemblies a 
ready and convincing speaker. He is a charter mem- 
ber and past master of Marshal P. Wilder Grange. 
He is a justice of the peace, and has been repeatedly 
elected moderator of schools and town meetings. 
He is an efficient member of the board of edu- 
cation, was three years a selectman, and was repre- 
sentative in the legislatures of 1889-1907. In 18S6 
he was appointed by Governor Currier a member of 
the state board of agriculture and was still in this 
service until, at the completion of nine years, he 
declined a reappointment. He is a steadfast Re- 
publican in political sentiment, and entertains strict 
views in matters of religion. Mr. Perry was rnar- 
ried November 8, 1871, to Elsie Augusta Page, who 
was born November 20, 1851, daughter of Joel and 
Sarah (Pierce) Page, of Fitchburg, Massachusetts. 
She died September 3, 1S99. He was married 
(second), January i, 1902, to Martha (Hale) Rice, 
widow of George G. Rice, and daughter of John 
F. and Rebecca (Bailey) Hale. She was born Sep- 
tember 4, 1849, in Rindge. Following is a brief 
account of his children : Mary Gushing, born Au- 
gust 8, 1S72, married Frank A. Tuttle ; four chil- 
dren ; their home is in Temple, New Hampshire. 
Belle Lelia. born August, 1875, married Arthur Z. 
Norcross, three children ; resides in Poinfret, Con- 
necticut. John Wilson, Ijorn May 26, 1879, resides 
in Clinton, Massachusetts, unmarried. James Bige- 
low, born March 21, 1884, graduate of the Highland 
Military Academy, unmarried, in business in New- 
York City. Stanley Jay, born September 6, 1887. 
drowned while skating at the age of nine. Susan 
Pauline, born August 12, 1890, a student at Apple- 
ton Academy. 

Although the Perry family is so numerous, it 
is impossible to trace the present line farther than 
three generations. 

(I) Hosea Perry lived in Woodstock, Vermont. 
He was a farmer and stone mason. He also did 
carpentry work, and was noted for his skill in 
moving buildings. His children were: William, 
John F., Horace A., Charles F., Lucy and Eveline, 
and George and Frank by the second marriage. Wil- 



liam Perry, judge of probate, lived at Woodstock 
.in 1790, and was one of the founders of the Uni- 
versalist Church in that place. It is not known 
whether he was related to Hosea. 

(II) John Frederick, son of Hosea Perry, was 
born at Woodstock, Vermont, in 1822. He attended 
the public schools of that town. He then became 
a stage driver, being one of the last of that section. 
He first drove between Walpole and Claremont, 
New Hampshire, then between Walpole and Keene, 
and after the Cheshire Railroad was built he drove 
for a year between Walpole and Brattleboro, Ver- 
mont. In 1850, he was made ticket agent for the 
old Vermont Valley Railroad Company, subsequently 
absorbed by the Connecticut & Passumpsic Rail- 
road, at \Yestminster, Vermont. On taking this 
position he moved from Walpole, New Hampshire, 
which had previously been his home, to Westminster, 
where he lived the remainder of his life. He was 
a Republican in politics. He married Clarissa Jane, 
daughter of Joshua Whitney, of Bridgewater, Ver- 
mont. They had three children : Horace A., whose 
sketch follows ; Elmira and Edward, both of whom 
died young ; John F. Perry died at Westminster, 
Vermont, September 25, 1878. His wife died Sep- 
tember 28, 1S89. 

(III) Horace Augustus, eldest child of John 
Frederick and Clarissa J. (Whitney) Perry, was 
born at Bethel, Vermont, February 15, 1841. In 
early life he attended the public schools of Walpqle, 
New Hampshire, where his father lived. When the 
family moved to Westminster, Vermont, he studied 
for two years at Professor Ward's college pre- 
paratory school in that town. He then engaged in 
the silver-plating business with E. H. Cook at West- 
minster. He was employed in this work for six or 
seven years, plating all work on harnesses and car- 
riages. He then moved back to Walpole and for ten 
years was in the hotel and express business. In 
1883, in company with Warren W. Porter, he formed 
the firm of Perry & Porter. They carried on a 
general mercantile .business till November i, 1906. 
During this time they were agents for the American 
Express Company, which business they still con- 
tinue. Mr. Perry has been in the express business 
since 1864; he began as agent for the old United 
States and Canada Express Company, and when 
that was merged with the American Express, he 
continued with them. He is a Republican in politics, 
and has held the ofiice of deputy sheriif' or high sheriflf 
since 1880. for fourteen years of which period he was 
high sheriff. He has always declined to hold other 
offices, although frequently urged so to do. He has, 
however, been delegated to the state convention. 
He is a trustee of the Walpole Savings Bank, also 
of the Unitarian Church, of which he is a member. 
He is custodian of various trust funds, amounting 
to fifteen thousand dollars, which belong to that 
church. For more than a quarter of a century he 
has been treasurer of the Walpole Horse Thief 
Society, a very strong organization, one of the strong- 
est of the kind in New England. Its funds now 
(1907) on hand approximate one thousand seven 
hundred dollars. Mr. Perry is a Mason, and be- 
longed to Columbian Lodge of Walpole till it dis- 
banded, of which he was secretary for a period of 
fifteen years. 

Horace A. Perry married Sarah Jane, daughter 
of Captain Edward Bridgeman, of Northampton, 
Massachusetts. She was born at Williamsburg, 
Massachusetts, January 18, 1844, and was married 
February 22, 1863. They have two children : Carrie 
A., born December 9, 1864; and Fred J., April 8, 
1872. Carrie A., married Warren W. Porter, of 



68 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Walpole. (See Porter Genealogy, IV). Fred J. 

is a paper manufacturer at Bellows Falls, Vermont., 

He married Anna B. Williams, and they have one 
daughter, Delia Coy Perry. 



Baldwin is a very old name, and 
BALDWIN was in use a long time before men 
had surnames. It was in England, 
as appears by the records, as early as the year 672, 
and quite common in that country in the days of 
the Conquest. It appears in the roll of Battle Abbey. 
The five Baldwins, earls of Flanders, were men of 
distinction, the fifth marrying the daughter of 
Robert of France. His daughter Matilda married 
William the Conqueror. The name was common in 
Flanders, Normandy and Italy. It is of Saxon ori- 
gin, and signifies "Bold Winner." The general pre- 
valence of the name dates from the crusades, when 
it was taken as a title of honor. Baldwins were 
earls of Devonshire. The family of this sketch is 
one of several which came to New England in 
pioneer days, and from those early settlers have 
sprung numerous noted citizens. 

(I) Nathaniel, probably second son of Richard 
and Isabell Baldwin, of the parish of Cholesbury, 
Buckinghamshire, England, is supposed to have 
been a great-grandson of Richard of Dundridge, of 
the parish of Aston-Clinton, Buckinghamshire, Eng- 
land. The date of the will of Richard of Dundridge 
is January, VI Edward, that is, 1552, and that of 
Richard of Colesbury is May 23, 1630. Nathaniel 
Baldwin was a brother of Timothy and Joseph, and 
came to Milford, Connecticut, in 1639, in the New 
Haven Company. His name appears in the Milford 
records as a "Free Planter." He was a cooper bj' 
trade, and in 1641 a resident of Fairfield, where he 
died in 1650, and where the probate of his estate 
appears. He married (.first), Abigail Camp, who 
joined the church at Milford on June 9. 1644, and 
died there March 22, 1648. The children of this 
union were : John, Daniel, Nathaniel and Abigail. 
He married (second), Joanna Westcoat, widow of 
Richard, of Fairfield, Connecticut, and moved there 
perhaps the second 'ime. By her he had : Sarah, 
Deborah and Samuel. After the death of Nathaniel 
his widow married, third, George Abbott, of Fair- 
field, and died in 1682. She is mentioned in records 
as "Goodwife Baldwin," and was a witness in a trial 
for witchcraft in 1654. An unusual number of the 
descendants of Nathaniel have been emhient, and the 
family generally has been of high respectability. 

(II) Daniel second son and child of Nathaniel 
and Abigail (Camp) Baldwin, was baptized in Mil- 
ford, Connecticut, in June, 1644, and continued to 
reside there. He is said to have died in 1711. He 
married, June 27, 1665, Elizabeth Botsford. daughter 
of Henry, one of the original settlers of Milford. 
He and liis wife joined the church June 27, 1669. 
Their children were: Daniel (died young). Daniel. 
Elizabeth. Mary, Samuel (died young), Nathaniel, 
John and Samuel. 

(III1 Sergeant Daniel (2), second son of Daniel 
(l) and Elizabeth (Botsford) Baldwin, was born in 
Milford, Connecticut, March 3, 1668. He was a 
member of the local military organization, and his 
name appears often on the records, where he is 
referred to as Sergeant Daniel. His will was dated 
March 8, 1719, and probated May 2, 1725. His 
death prnbablv occurred not long before the latter 
date. His wife's christian name was Sarah, but her 
surname is not known. She joined the church. June 
28, 1691, and died December 18. 1710. Her name 
may have been Sarah Camp, as in 1708 Samuel 
Camp conveys to his brother, Daniel Baldwin, and 



Joseph Camp. Their children were : Daniel, Na- 
than, John, Gideon, James, Enos, Sarah, Caleb and 
Jeremiah. 

(IV) Nathan, second son and child of Daniel 
(2) and Sarah Baldwin, was baptized November 23, 
1691, in Milford. May 2, 1720, he is executor of 
the estate of his father, with his brothers John and 
James. In 1756 he was executor of the estate of 
his brother James, of Newtown, where he had set- 
tled. By legislative enactment in 1739 he was made 
captain of the "2nd Company or Train-band, in the 
town of Newtown." His will is dated July 19, 1761, 
and was proved July 4, 1769, between which dates 
he died. His wife's name was Elizabeth. They 
had four children : Nathan, Sarah, Elizabeth and 
Jabez, whose sketch follows. 

(V) Jabez, youngest child of Nathan and Eliza- 
beth Baldwin, was born in Newtown, Connecticut 
April 8, 1733, and died March 31, 1803. He took 
in Newtown, with his brother Nathan, land given 
them by their father. Jabez Baldwin was a man of 
wealth but the great depreciation in Continental 
money and the loss of a ship of which he was part 
owner materially reduced his fortunes, although he 
still owned a residence on Newtown street. As he 
could not live in the manner to which he had been 
accustomed, he determined to join those who were 
forming new homes in the "Upper Cohos," as it 
was termed, of which such glowing accounts were 
given, and where his eldest son had taken up a 
claim as early as 1785. He was one of the grantees 
of Stratford, New Hampshire, and before going 
there selected from the plan of the town the lot now 
included in the interval of the Granite State Stock 
Farm ; but, on arriving there he found that the num- 
ber he had selected designated the lot next below 
the one he had chosen, but eventually the desired 
land came into the possession of his children. 
March 13, 1788, with his wife and children Nathan. 
John, Lucinda, Lucia and Marcia, he left Newtown 
and made his way up the Connecticut river to Strat- 
ford. In January, 1790, he located upon the place 
now known as the Baldwin Homestead, still in pos- 
session of his descendants, where he erected a frame 
house with luntber brought up the river from 
Guildhall, Vermont. This was the first frame house 
in that section of country. He was a man of much 
energy, and cleared the forest away and made a 
farm where he and his family were comfortable 
without the luxuries of the older settlements. Of 
the privations of pioneer life none were so keenly 
felt as the lack of schools. Mr. Baldwin at last 
secured the services of a young student who taught 
in his family for several months. This eagerly 
coveted opportunity was rudely interrupted by the 
advent of smallpox. In 1803, during Mr. Baldwin's 
absence in Connecticut, his family was attacked by 
this disease. When he reached Lancaster he re- 
ceived a message from his wife to remain there, but 
he went home, took the disease and died. Mr. 
Baldwin married (first), in Connecticut, in 1755. 
Mary Peck, of Newtown. The children of this 
marriage were: Heth, born 1756; Mary, 1757; 
Sarah, 1760; Bete, 1762; and Anna, 1766. He mar- 
ried (second), in August, 1770, Judith Brace, of 
Newtown. She was a woman of strong character, 
of great capacity, resource and cheerfulness. Their 
children were: Lucinda, born September 28, 1771, 
died October, 1774; Nathan, born September 28, 
I773i died in Ohio, aged over ninety years; Emmiel. 
born January, 1775, died February, 1775; John, 
born January, 1776. died September 14, 1810: Lu- 
cinda, born November 9, 1779, died January 31, 
1863; Lucia, born January 12, 1782, died September 



"iiil 




Cb^/^^^^^-^^^^W^I^^ALiW^^^^A?^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



69 



4, 1822, married Jonah Grover, 1804 or 1805 ; Marcia, 
born February 17, 1784, died at Jamestown; New York, 
at an advanced age, married Ahaz French; Elisha. 
born September 19, 1788, died August 26, 1875; and 
Charlotte, (Mrs. Enos Alger), born October 8. 1892, 
died June, 1877. Jabez Baldwin adhered to the faith 
of the Protestant Episcopal Church. 

(VI) Elisha Baldwin, youngest son of Jabez and 
Judith (Brace) Baldwin, was born in Stratford, Sep- 
tember 19, 1788, and died there August 26, 1875, aged 
eighty-seven years. He was educated in the public 
schools and those of private tutors, and remained 
as he had grown up, a farmer. He was a Federalist 
in politics, and tilled with tidelity places to which he 
was elected. He was a Baptist in religious faith, 
and prominent in the church at Stratford, of which 
he was one of the original meinbers. He married 
Huldah, daughter of Edmund and Huldah (Loth- 
rop) Alger, of West Bridgewater, Massachusetts. 
March 10, 1818. She was a woman of courageous 
spirit, indomitable energy and excellent executive 
ability, and acquired an education which, though 
limited as compared with, the present standard, was 
considered fine in those days. Hospitable and untir- 
ing in her ministrations to the poor and sick, she 
was the "Lady Bountiful," and for many years, the 
beloved physician of the community, a woman 
who would have been prominent in any place and 
at any time, Mr. and Mrs. Baldwin were among the 
charter members of the Baptist Church and for 
years defrayed a great portion of the expenses for 
sustaining preaching, making many sacrifices in 
order to build the churches at North Stratford. The 
children of Elisha and Huldah (Alger) Baldwin 
were : Elisha Alger, born December ,so, i8t8, died 
May, 1895 ; William Lothrop, born May 18, 1820, 
died December 27, 1878; John Brace, born Novem- 
ber 12, 1822, died September 17, 1842; Edmund 
Willis, born March 24, 1825, died June 12, 1847; 
Jedidiah Miller, born March 9, 1827, died February 
2, 1887; Lucinda Annette (Mrs. Jabez Alger), 
born November 14, 1829, died August 14, 1892 ; 
and Lucia Annie (Mrs. R. R. Thompson), born 
February 27, 1833. 

(VII) William Lothrop. second son and child 
of Elisha and Huldah (Alger) Baldwin, was born 
on the ancestral acres in Stratford, May 18, 1820. 
He attended the common schools and Lancaster 
Academy, and acquired a good education. While 
still a youth he developed a strong love for agri- 
culture and a capacity as a judge of cattle; but 
over-work impaired his health, and before he at- 
tained his majority he was compelled to .abandon 
farming. For several years he taught successfully 
in New Hampshire, Rhode Island and the province 
of Quebec, and also gave lessons in vocal music. 
About 1848 he returned to Stratford, and in connec- 
tion with his brother, Elisha A., he engaged in 
building mills. This was before railroads had been 
run into the upper country, and the machinery had 
to be hauled from Portland, i\Iaine, a distance of 
one hundred and thirty miles. On Mill brook they 
constructed a saw and grist mill ; then added a 
turning lathe, shingle and clapboard machines, and 
manufactured machinery. Thus the Baldwins' mill 
was the first of modern pattern in that section. They 
afterward built many more mills in the Upper Coos 
country. In 1849 the Baldwin Brothers built a mill 
on the Vermont side of the Connecticut, at the 
mouth of the Nulhegan river, which was destroyed 
by fire, February 20, 1885. It stood on the site now 
occupied by the immense mills of the Nulhegan 
Lumber Company. William L. Baldwin removed 
to Bloomfield, and resided there fourteen years. 



The first lumber this firm sawed there was rafted 
in May, 1851, and was the first sent to Massachusetts 
through the canal at Fifteen-mile falls, and also 
was the first lumber rafted for transportation down 
the Upper Connecticut. The flourishing village of 
North Stratford grew up around the site of this 
industry, which gave employment to many persons. 
Under a charter granted July, 1850, the Baldwin 
Bridge Company erected the toll-bridge across the 
Connecticut at Stratford, which was opened for 
travel in June, 1852. Mr. Baldwin's identification 
with the development of business in Stratford was 
highly important in many ways, as the above state- 
ments show. From 1865 to the date of his death, 
December 27, 1878, his business life was in Strat- 
ford, and comprised lumbering, merchandising and 
farming. He was a man of warm heart and gener- 
ous impulses, and in order that his employes might 
have work and not suffer he operated his mill at 
a loss from 1856 to 1858, during a period 
of great depression consequent upon scarcity 
of money, and the worthlessncss of the paper cur- 
rency of that day. In politics he was a staunch 
Republican, and served as selectman and justice of 
the peace in Bloomfield, and was the first postmaster 
at North Stratford. He gave evidence of his acumen 
as a business man by buying timber lands before 
most men had any conception of the value they 
would soon attain. He was one of the original 
thirteen charter members of the Baptist Church in 
Stratford, and was a markedly consistent and prac- 
tical Christian. He married, February 8, 1850, 
Maria Jane Holmes, born in Colebrook, New Hamp- 
shire, December 17, 1822, daughter of John and 
Sarah (Towne) Holmes, of Colebrook. (See Holmes 
elsewhere in this work). She died June 12, 1904, 
aged eighty-two years. She was a woman of strong 
individuality and great executive ability. Her en- 
ergy and capability were powerful factors in the 
household, and to her husband she was an efticient 
helpmeet, a wise councillor and an intelligent com- 
panion. The six children born of this union were : 
Edmund William, John Holmes, Mary Annette, 
Mira Agnes, Isabella Sarah and Jane Maria. All 
except the eldest of these died young. 

(VIII) Edmund William, eldest and only sur- 
viving child of William and Martha' J. (Holmes) 
Baldwin, was born in Stratford. May 7, 1852, and 
was educated in the common schools and at Kimball 
Academy, and as he grew up became familiar with 
the different lines of business in which his father 
was engaged. After leaving school he taught in 
Colebrook Academy, and then went to Manchester. 
Delaware county, Iowa, and was in the grain and 
stock, lumber and coal business thirteen years, a 
part of the tiine on a salary and a part of the time 
for himself. In 1884 he returned to New Hampshire 
and settled at North Stratford, and has carried on 
farming and also dealt in farm machinery. He is a 
member of Stratford Lodge, No. 30, Knights of 
Pythias, and Coos Grange, No. 256, Patrons of Hus- 
bandry, of Stratford. He married, August 14, 1878, 
at Rock Island. Illinois, Flora R. Madison, who was 
born May 16, 1852, at Elizabeth, Illinois, and edu- 
cated in the public schools of Galena, Illinois, and 
Dubuque, Iowa, daughter of John R. and Susanna 
(Smith) Madison, of Dubuque. Iowa. John R. 
Madison was captain of Company I. Nineteenth 
Regiment, Third Infantry, during the Civil war. and 
was a great-grandson of Colonel James Madison, 
of Virginia, who, being unable to go into the field, 
was commissioned colonel of militia for home de- 
fense and chairman of the first committee of safety 
of Orange county, Virginia, during the Revolution. 



^o 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Five children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Baldwin: Mary A., born July ii, 1879, died August 
28, 1881 ; Flora E., born August 5, 1881, died April 
2, 1885; Berta Edith, born May 6, 1884; Jeanelte 
Holmes, born September 28, 1886; and William 
Lx)throp, born November 19, i88g. All these chil- 
dren were born at North Stratford, with the excep- 
tion of Berta Edith, who was born at Newell, 
Iowa. William Lothrop is a studei;t at Dartmouth 
College, and Berta Edith and Jeanette Holmes are 
students at the Brown University. 
(Second Family.) 

There are various reasons for sup- 
BALDWIN posing that the Baldwins are of 

Norman origin, and one of them 
is the fact that the first earl of Devonshire, who 
received his title from William the Conqueror, bore 
that name. The name was prominently identified 
with the ancient nobility of France, and antedates 
the period of the first crusade, during which Bald- 
win (1058-1118) was made king of Jerusalem. 

(I) Henry Baldwin, the emigrant ancestor of 
the family now being considered, was of Devon- 
shire, and arrived at Charlestown, Massachusetts, 
prior to 1640, in which year he signed the order 
for the settlement of Woburn. In- 1652 he was 
admitted a freeman in Woburn ; was a selectman 
there in 1681 ; and a deacon of the First Church 
from 1686 until his death, which occurred February 
14, 1697-98. He resided at New Bridge in North 
Woburn. November l, 1649, he married Phebe 
Richardson, daughter of Ezekiel and Susanna 
Richardson, who were also among the original set- 
tlers of Woburn. Phebe was baptized in Boston 
June 3, 1632, but may have been born in England. 
She became the mother of eleven children : Su- 
sanna (died young), Susanna, Phebe, John, David, 
Timothy, Mary, Henry, Abigail, Ruth and Benja- 
min. The mother died September 13, 1716. 

(II) Henry (2), fourth son and eighth child 
of Henry (i) and Phebe (Richardson) Baldwin, 
was born in Woburn, September 15, 1664, and died 
there January 17; 1739. He was married ilay 4, 
1692-93, to Abigail Fiske, daughter of David and 
Abigail (Seaborn) Fiske, who subsequently settled 
in Lexington, Massachusetts. Abigail Baldwin, who 
survived her husband, was the mother of Henry, 
David, Isaac, Abigail (who died young), James 
(who died young), Abigail, James and Samuel. 

(III) James, fifth son and seventh child of 
Henry and Abigail (Fiske) Baldwin, was born in 
Woburn, October 19, 1710. He resided on the 
family homestead all his life, which terminated 
January 28, 1791. May 29, 1739, he married Ruth 
Richardson, who was born in Woburn, June 17, 
1713, daughter of Joseph Richardson, granddaughter 
of Samuel Richardson and great-granddaughter of 
Samuel Richardson, the latter a brother of Ezekiel 
Richardson, previously referred to (see Richardson, 
I). She was the mother of Cyrus, Ruel (died 
young), Loammi and Ruel. Ruth survived her hus- 
band but a short time, her death having occurred 
May 13, 1791, in her seventy-eighth year. 

(IV) Ruel, youngest son and child of James 
and Ruth (Richardson) Baldwin, was born in Wo- 
burn, June 30, 1747. He spent his entire life in his 
native town, but the date of his death does not 
appear in the records at hand. October 4, 1769, 
he married Keziah Wyman, who bore him four 
children : Ruel, Ruth, James and Josiah. Keziah 
married for her second husband a Mr. Johnson, by 
whom she had six children. 

(V) Lieutenant James, second son and third 
child of Ruel and Keziah (Wyman) Baldwin, was 



born in Woburn, October 7, 1773. He resided for 
some time in Dunstable, Massachusetts, from whence 
he removed to Westford, same state, and he died 
November 24, 1827. He was a prominent church- 
man and a deacon. His marriage took place in De- 
cember, 1798, to PrisciUa Keyes, who was born in 
Westford, December 26, 1772, daughter of Issachar 
Keyes. She died August 11, 1849. Their children 
were: Stephen Keyes, Josiah, Josephus, who were 
born in Dunstable; Eliza. 

(VI) James, fifth son and eighth child of 
James and Priscilla (Keyes) Baldwin, was born 
in Westford, May 13, 1812. In early manhood he 
entered the employ of his brothers Josephus and 
Edvyin, who were engaged in the manufacture of 
textile mill appliances in Nashua, such as spools, 
bobbins, shuttles, etc., and remained there until 
about the year 1859, when he established the present 
James Baldwin Bobbin and Shuttle Company of 
Manchester under the name of James Baldwin & 
Compatiy, and engaged in the manufacture of bob- 
bins, spools and shuttles. This business has ex- 
panded into large proportions, becoming one of the 
most important industrial enterprises in that city. 
When the U. S. Bobbin and Shuttle Company was 
organized, this company was among those whicli 
constituted the combination, and it is now known as 
the James Baldwin Company Division of that con- 
cern. Mr. Baldwin died in Manchester, May 22, 
1893. He was one of the most able and successful 
business men of his day, and is justly entitled to an 
honorable place among the pioneer manufacturers 
of that city, whose foresight and perseverance made 
possible the development and present magnitude of 
its industrial activities. Like his ancestors he par- 
ticipated conspicuously in religious affairs and was 
a deacon of the First Baptist Church of Nashua, 
and later of the First Baptist Church in Manchester. 
His first wife, whom he married October 12, 1834, 
was Harriet Robbins, of New Ipswich, New Hamp- 
shire; she died March i, 1835. He married (sec- 
ond), April 9, 1S40, Mary Buttrick, of Concord, 
Massachusetts, who died July 30, 1857, aged forty 
years. He married (third), August 4, 1858, Julia 
Ann Hiinton, of Nashua, who died October 28, 
1877. He married (fourth), February 22, 1880, Mrs. 
Eliza W. Brown, of Manchester. His first wife 
died childless. The children of his' second union 
are: i. James Francis, who will be again referred 
to. 2. Mary Emily, born July 25, 1846, and is now 
the wife of John C. Littlefield, of Manchester (see 
Littlefield, VHI). 3. Harriet Ella, born July 16. 
1848, deceased ; she married Ludger Vincent and 
had two children. 4. Isadora, born December 15, 
1851, died January 2, 1852. 5. Luther Chase, born 
July 17, 1854, is now general superintendent of the 
U. S. Bobbin and Shuttle Company's general ofhce 
in Providence, Rhode Island. He married Julia A. 
Dearborn. 6. Charles Henry, born June 10, 1857, 
died .September 9, 1857. The children of his third 
union are: Frederick Charles, born May 11, 1859. 
graduated from Dartmouth College, and is now 
principal of the Foster School, Somerville, Massa- 
chusetts. David C, born December 25, 1870, died 
young. 

(VII) James Francis, eldest son and child of 
James and Mary (Buttrick) Baldwin, was born 
in Nashua, July 12, 1843. He was educated in the 
Nashua public schools, and at an early age began 
to assist his father, under whose direction he 
rapidly acquired a good knowledge of the business. 
He has been actively connected with the Bobbin 
and Shuttle industry in Manchester from its estab- 
lishment to the present time, and when it was in- 





-^t-^'-^-Zj;^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



71 



corporated (about 1887) with the elder Baldwin 
as president, he assumed the responsible position 
of treasurer and manager. These arduous duties 
he performed with such superior ability as to greatly 
enhance the importance and prestige of the enter- 
prise, and at the consummation of the merger (1S9S) 
already noted, he became superintendent of the U. 
S. Bobbin and Shuttle Company (James Baldwin 
Company Division). In that responsible capacity 
he _ is pursuing the same liberal and progressive 
policy as that which characterized his efforts under 
the old regime, and the INIanchester plant, which 
employs an average force of three hundred and 
fifty skilled workmen, is well abreast of its associate 
concerns as regards the quality and quantity of its 
output. 

In addition to his industrial activity Mr. Bald- 
win is prominently identified with the financial inter- 
ests of the city, and is a director of the First Na- 
tional Bank. He has rendered his share of service 
in a public capacity as a member of the common 
council, the board of aldermen and the state legis- 
lature; in politics he is a Republican. In the Ma- 
sonic order he has taken thirty-two degrees, being 
affiliated with Lafayette (Blue) Lodge; Mount 
Horeb Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Adoniram 
Council, Royal and Select ISIasters; Trinity Coxn- 
mandery. Knights Templar; Becktash Temple, An- 
cient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; 
and Edward A. Raymond Consistory. He is also 
a leading member and past officer of both the lodge 
and encampment. Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows. For many years he has been a member of 
the First Baptist Church. 

Mr. Baldvt'in married (first), July 12, 1864, Mary 
Elizabeth Palmer, daughter of Oilman Palmer, of 
Chicago, Illinois. She died in 1900. He married 
(second) Isabella McPherson, who was superin- 
tendent of the Elliot Hospital while he was a 
trustee of that institution. Of his first union there 
is one daughter, Stella Mabel Baldwin, who married 
Mitchell Ward, of Manchester, receiving teller in 
the Manchester Savings Bank. 



The first of this name of whom there 
HERSEY is any record is Hughe de Hersey, 
who was governor of Frau. Nor- 
mandy, in 1204. There is mention of a certain Sir 
Malvicius de Hercy in the year 1210. The family 
appears to have come originally from Flanders. 
Edward I of England held another Hugh de Hercy, 
that is, took his rents during his minority. Sir 
Malvicius de Hercy married Theophania, daughter 
of Gilbert de Arches, Baron of Grove, and from him 
have descended the family of Hercy of Grove, one 
of the first families in the county of Nottingham. 
Branches of this family appear to have settled in 
several of the counties of England ; one in Oxford- 
shire, another in Berks, and so on. Persons of this 
name \yere in Sussex, England, from 1376 to 1482, 
possessing an estate seven miles in circumference. 
The Herseys of Grove show direct descent in the 
male line down to 1570 only, but branches of the 
family in Oxfordshire and Berkshire continue as 
late as I794- The name in early records is written 
Hersee, Harsie and Hearsey. 

(I) William Hersey is said to have been the 
son of Nathaniel Hercy. who died in Reading, 
Berkshire county, England, in 1629, and whose chil- 
dren were:_ William, born 1596, and Thomas, 1599! 
From William sprang all the Herseys of Hingham, 
Massachusetts, and many more. He came to New 
England in 1635. and early in the autumn of that 
year located in Hingham with others who were pas- 
sengers on the ship he came in. July 3. 1636, he 



had a house lot of five acres granted to him, on 
what is now South, nearly opposite West street. At 
the time of the trouble about the election of officers 
for the train band 1644-1645, William Hersey was 
assessed a heavy fine for supporting the views of 
Rev. Peter Hobart and his friends ; and the family 
rate towards the erection of the new meeting hou.-e 
was the largest but one upon the list. In deeds he 
is described as a ''husbandman." He was made 
freeman in March, 163S, and selectman, 1642, 1647, 
and 1650; and was a member of the artillery com- 
pany in 1652. He died March 22, 165S. His will, 
dated March g, 1658, was proved April 29. following. 
The appraisement of his property in the inventory 
thereof was four hundred nine pounds, thirteen shill- 
ings, sixpence. The christian name of his wife was 
Elizabeth. She died in Hingham, October 8, 1671. 
The children of William, probably born in England, 
were : Gregory, Prudence, Nathaniel, William, 
Frances and Elizabeth, the three last named accom- 
panying him to America. Three others, Judith, John 
and James, were born in Hingham. 

(II) William (2), eldest son of William (i) 
and Elizabeth Hersey, was born in England and 
came to New England with his parents in 1635. He 
was made a freeman in 1672 ; was constable in 1661 ; 
and served as selectman in 1678-82-90. He died 
September 28, 1691. His will made in 16S9 was 
proved January 27, 1692, He married (first), about 
1656 or 1657, Rebecca Chubbuck, who was born in 
Hmgham, in April, 1641. and died June i, 1686, 
aged forty-five years. She was the daughter of 
Thomas and Alice Chubbuck. The christian name 
of his second wife, as appears by his will, was 
Ruhamah. There is no entry of this marriage, how- 
ever, nor of ner death, on the Hingham records. 
The tivelve children, all by wife Rebecca, were: 
William, John, James, Rebecca. Deborah, Hannah, 
Elizabeth, Ruth, Mary, Joshua, Judith (died young), 
and Judith. 

(III) James, third son and child of William 
(2) and Rebecca (Chubbuck) Hersey, was born in 
Hingham, December 2, i66i, and died May 23, 1743. 
aged eighty-one years. He was a farmer and re- 
sided on South street, in West Hingham, He was 
a man of good parts, and was constable in 1694; 
selectman 1719 and 1721, and represented the town 
in the general court in 1734-35-36. In his will made 
May 27, 1739. mention is made of land purchased of 
his brother William and of land owned in Abing- 
ton; and bequeathes all his property to his wife 
Susanna, including "my negroes, to her and her 
heirs forever." He married his wife Susanna, 
whose surname does not appear, at a place and date 
both of which are missing. She died in Hingham, 
Jun^ 10. 1762, in the eighty-fourth year of her age. 
But two children are credited to them in the "His- 
tory of Hingham" : Susanna, who died at sixteen 
years of age : and James, who died at eight years of 
age. A manuscript history of the family says: 
"James had three sons : James, John and Peter." 

(IV) James (2), a grandson of William (2), 
and perhaps a son of James Hersey (i), moved 
from Hingham to that part of Exeter which is now 
New Market, having first explored the country for 
the purpose of cutting ash and oak timber, as he 
was a carpenter or cooper. He afterwards took up 
land, and settled there, in company with the father 
or grandfather of Nathaniel Burlcy. 

(V) James (3). "an immediate descendant" of 
the preceding, was of New Market. He met with 
an accident which resulted in the loss of a leg. and 
afterwards of his property, so that he was unable to 
complete the education of his sons. 

(VI) Jonathan, second son and child of James 



./- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(3) and Jemima (Burley) Hersey, was born, says 
the family records, December 22, 1746. He and his 
sister. Jemima, who married John Piper, settled in 
Wolfboro: the other brothers and sisters set- 
tled in Sanbornton. Jonathan Hersey. in 1771, re- 
ceived of Daniel Pierce, of Portsmouth, a deed of 
one hundred and forty acres of land, a portion of 
the "Great Lot'' which contained one- thousand acres. 
This farm adjoined Tuftonboro. Jonathan was 
a stirring man. and held several minor offices. He 
speculated considerably in land and eventually be- 
came a large landholder, and several of his sons 
followed his example and settled in Tuftonboro 
;ind Wolfboro. Jonathan married, February 15, 
1772, Mary Wiggin, and they had eight sons and 
two daughters : Samuel W., James. William, John. 

Elijah, Polly. Jonathan, Nabby, Jacob and . 

(Vn) John B., son of Jonathan and Mary 
•< Wiggin) Hersey, was born in Wolfboro, October 
18, 1779, and died August 21, 1853, aged seventy- 
four years. He followed the traditions of his fathers 
and cultivated the soil, and was a well-to-do and 
intelligent citizen. He married, March 14, 1813, 
Ruth Nudd. who was born in Greenland, New 
Hampshire, February 14. 1788, and died May 2, 1847. 
They had seven children: Mary. John. William H., 
James P.. Eraslus, Hannah, and Samuel N., whose 
sketch follows. 

(Vni) Samuel Nudd, seventh and youngest 
child of John B. and Ruth (Nudd) Hersey, was 
born in Wolfboro, June 11, 1831, and died April 
27. 1907, aged seventy six years. He was a mer- 
chant* and manufacturer of clothing, starting in 
business in 1857. at Diamond Corner, and in 1873 
removing to Wolfboro. where he continued until 
1895, when he turned his attention to the excellent 
farm which he owned at Wolfboro. He was edu- 
cated at Wolfboro and Tuftonboro Academies, 
and during his life continued to keep in touch with 
the world's progress by reading. He also devoted 
his attention to the genealogy of his family and 
made some progress in discovering its early history. 
He was a member 'of Lake Council, No, 247. Royal 
Arcanum, and his funeral was conducted by that 
order. He married. May 9. 1857, Susan E. Copp, 
•by whom he had one son. Omah. who died young. 
He married (second). June 6. 1877, Catherine M. 
t Laighton, of Portsmouth, the daughter of John and 
Lucy (Trundy) Laighton. The children of the sec- 
ond marriage were: Parry T. and Ralph Samuel, 
who died June 25, 1902, aged nineteen years, eleven 
months. 

(IX) Parry Trundy, son of Samuel N. and 
Catherine M. (Laighton) Hersey, was born in Wolf- 
boro, January t6, tSSo, and was educated at the 
Brewster Free Academy, and at Nichols Acadetjiy. 
Dudley, Massachusetts. He worked five years at 
the printer's trade, and has been in that business for 
bimself since August, 1906. He is a member of 
Morning Star Lodge, No. 17, Free and .Accepted 
Masorts : and of Fidelity Lodge, No. 71. Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and Myrtle Rebekah Lodge, 
No. 48. He married. September 27. i8qq Edna E. 
Sanborn, who was born in Wakefield. February 9, 
i88o, daughter of John I. and Ella C. (Grant) San- 
born* They have two children: Louise Elizabeth 
and Donald Samuel. 



In the year 1S71 the number of Hovts 
HOYT in the Llnited States who had descended 

from John and Simon Hoyt was esti- 
mated at about nine thousand. That number has 
probably since doubled. The name has many varia- 
tions, all coming from the spelling Hoit, or Hoyt. 
Some now use the spelling Hoitt. The members 



of the Hoyt family in this country generally belong 
to the middle classes, but there are among them 
men of wealth. Many are in the learned profes- 
sions, divinity, law and medicine, the latter en- 
gaging much the larger number. Military titles are 
common; there are many captains, majors and 
colonels, and in New Hampshire there were at one 
time three generals named Hoit. In the French 
and Indian and Revolutionary wars the family took 
an active part. A large number served as soldiers, 
and many thereby lost their lives. 

(I) The earliest information concerning John 
Hoyt which has yet been obtained, is that he was 
one of the original settlers of Salisbury, Massa- 
chusetts, and also of Ame^^bury. It seems probable 
that he was born about 1610 or 1615. Whether he 
came directly from England or had previously lived 
in other towns in America is uncertain. His name 
has not been found among those of passengers of 
any of the early emigrant ships. John Hoyt was 
almost the only individual who received all his earlier 
grants at the "first division" of land in Salisbury. 
This would seem to indicate that he was one of the 
first to move into the town (1640). He early re- 
moved to the west side of the Powow river. His 
narne appears on the original articles of agree- 
ment between Salisbury and Salisbury New-town, in 
1654; and he was one of the seventeen original 
"comenors" of the new town whose names were 
recorded March 16. 1655. In the divisions of land 
he received several lots in the "Great Swamp," 
"on the River," at the "Lions Mouth," and in other 
parts of the town. One of these contained two 
hundred acres, and was styled the great division. 
"Goodman Hoget" was one of those chosen to lay 
out land in "Lion's Mouth," etc., February, 1661. 
John Hoyt is also frequently mentioned on the old 
.'\mesbury records as prudentialman, selectman, 
constable, juryman, moderator, etc. He was a man 
of independent thought, and often had his "con- 
trary desent" entered on the records of the town, 
in several instances alone, one of them being on the 
question of his serving as selectman in 1682. He 
was a sergeant of the Salisbury military company, 
and is frequently called "Sargent Hoyt." He was 
also one of "the commissioned and other officers 
of the Militia in the County of Norfolk," in 1671. 
The town records of Amesbury state that he died 
February 28, 1688. He had two wives, both named 
Frances. He probably married his first wife about 
1635. She died February 23, 1643. and he married 
his second wife in 1643 or 1644. She survived him 
and was living in 1697. His children were : Fran- 
ces, John, Thomas. Gregorie. Elizabeth, Sarah. 
Mary, Joseph (died young). Joseph, Marah, Naomi 
and Dorothie. (An account of Thomas and de- 
scendants appears in this article.) 

(II) John (2), second child and eld(;st son of 
John (i) and Frances Hoyt, was born about 1638. 
and as he always signed his name in full (did 
not write his initials or make his mark) he evi- 
dently had a very good education for a common 
man in those times. In old deeds, of which he gave 
and received a large number, he is sometimes called 
a "planter." and sometimes a "carpenter." He re- 
ceived his first lot of land ("on the River") in 
Amiesbury, October. T658, and was admitted as 
a "townsman," December 10, 1660. On the records 
of Salisbury, Massachusetts, 9, 2m, 1667, we find 
the three following entries : "Jno. Hoyt Jun : tooke 
ye oath of fidelitie : att ye prsent Court." "Jno. 
Hoyt jun: upon ye request & choyce of \-e New- 
towne is admitted by this present Court to keen 
ye Ordinary at ye Newtown of Salisbury, & to sell 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



7i 



wine & strong waters for ye yeare ensuing." Also. 
"Jno Hoyt jun; is dismist by this Court from all 
trainings : until such time : as he shall be cuered of 
yt inrtrniity wch doth att prsent disinable him fro 
trayning." He had a seat assigned him in the 
meeting house, July 9, 1667. His name frequently 
appears on the Amesbury records as lot-layer, con- 
stable, etc. He was imprisoned in Salem "Gaol," 
March. 1694, for failing to discharge his duty as 
constable, and in his petition for release he states 
"That Your Petitioner has Lately mett with great 
losses, haveing his house plundered by the Indians. 
and has been visited with much sickness through 
the holy afflicting hand of god upon him — besides 
sundry of the persons from whume many of sd 
arreares be due are both dead & removed out of 
ye Towne." etc. "The Great and General Court 
of the Province of Massachusetts Bay in New Eng- 
land, sitting in Boston," granted his petition and 
released him from prison. He was killed by the 
Indians, in Andover, on the road to Haverhill, 
August 13, i6g6. He married, June 2t„ 1659, Mary 
Barnes, daughter of William and Rachel Barnes, who 
survived him and was living in 1704. Their children 
were ten: William. Elizabeth, John, Mary, Joseph, 
Sarah* Rachel, Dorothie, Grace afid Robert. 
(.Sketches of John, Joseph and Robert, and de- 
scendants form a part of this article.) 

(III) William, eldest child of John (2) and 
JMary (Barnes) Hoyt, was born September 5, 1660, 
died July 19. 1728. His grandfather, William 
William Barnes, for whom he was probably named, 
deeded him two or three pieces of land. From the 
Old Norfolk records we learn that he took the oath 
of allegiance and fidelity December 20, 1677. The 
town records state that he was chosen tithing man 
1693-94 a'ld 1697-98. He probably lived at the 
"Lion's Mouth." The amount of inventory of his 
property at his death, 1728, was three hundred and 
twenty-three pounds. He married. January 12, 1688, 
Dorothy Colby, daughter of Samuel Colby, Sr., who 
survived him and was living in 1740. They had 
nine children : Elizabeth. Dorothy, Abner. Alaria, 
Susanna, Philip, William, Hopestill and Aliriam. 

(IV) Abner, third child and oldest son of Wil- 
liam and Dorothy (Colby) Hoyt, was born in 
Amesbury, January 25. 1693, and died in Rumford 
(now Concord) in 1747 or 1748. He was a car- 
penter. His name is mentioned on the Amesbury 
records in March, 1729. The next year he sold 
his house and land immediately nortfi of his father's 
homestead, "near Lion's Mouth," a-nd immediately 
after March 9. 1730, removed to "Penny Cook" 
(now Concord), New Hampshire, being one of the 
proprietors and earliest settlers of the place. His 
name is one of ten signed to a request dated Sep- 
tember 18, 1732, to Benjamin Rolfe, proprietor's 
clerk, to call a meeting of the proprietors "to con- 
sider of what is proper to be done concerning build- 
ing a mill, and to agree with some man or men 
to do the same and also to raise one hundred pounds 
for the support of the Rev. Timothy Walker." 

Among the garrisons established in 1746 was one 
around the house of Jonathan Eastman, on the Mill 
road, and Abner Hoit and Jacob Hoit and their 
families were assigned to it. At that time the 
inhabitants were in great fear of an attack from 
either their French or their Indian enemies or both. 

Abner Hoyt owned land on "The Mountains" on 
what is now East Penacook street, in East Concord. 
"On one occasion." says Bouton. in his "History of 
Concord," "his daughter Betsey went out to milk 
the cows, just at twilight. She was accompanied 
by a soldier named Roane for a guard. While she 



milked the cows Roane sat on the fence ; but in- 
stead of looking out for Indians his eyes were at- 
tracted toward Betsey. She. observing his gaze, 
said. 'Roane, you better look the other way. and 
see if there are any Indians near.' Turning round 
at that moment, he saw an Indian with tomahawk 
in hand, creeping slyly toward him. Roane 
screamed, leaped over the fence, and ran, gun in 
hand, leaving Betsey to do the best she could for 
herself. Fortunately, however. Betsey regained the 
garrison in safety." Abner Hoit married. Novem- 
ber 14, 1717. Mary Blaisdell, who died about 1747. 
Their children, of whom the youngest only was born 
in Concord, were: Jacob. Zeruiah, Betsey, Stephen. 
.Apphia. Philip, and John. Zeruiah was married 
(intentions published January 27, 1741), to Joseph 
Farnum (see Farnum HI). 

(V) John (3), seventh and youngest child of 
Abner and, Mary (Blaisdell) Hoyt. is said to have 
been the second male 'child born in Concord, Sep- 
tember 10. 1732. He died February, 1804, or 1905. 
In September, 1754, Captain John Chandler had 
ciinimand of a company of nine men, "in His Ma- 
jesty's service," for eight days, from September 8 to 
16. probably on scouting service, and John Hoyt as 
one of these was allowed pay to the amount of fif- 
teen shillings eight pence. 'The great highway be- 
tween Plymouth and Portsmouth ran through San- 
bornton, Canterbury and the north east part of Con- 
cord. In that section of the town John Hoyt built 
a log house and kept a tavern that was very cele- 
brated in that day. The oven in it was so spacious 
that a boy twelve years old could go in and turn 
around. All the transportation of merchandise in 
those days was done by means of horse or ox- 
power, and many teams were employed. Mr. Hoyt 
charged half a pistareen, or about nine cents, for 
keeping a yoke of oxen over night ; one night thirty- 
three teams, or sixty-si.x oxen, put up there. The 
barn was large and well filled with hay. which was 
chiefly cut from a meadow of natural mowing be- 
longing to the farm. Mr. Hoyt also raised his own 
stock — cattle, sheep, etc.. and his table was well sup- 
plied with fresh meat; but travellers usually carried 
their own bread and cheese. This tavern was kept 
there from 1780 till Mr. Hoyt's death in 1805. John 
Hoit married. Jidy 2, 1755. Abigail Carter, who 
when a 'little girl saw one Indian or more in the 
bushes on the SaWjath before the Massacre." She 
died May 25. 1824. aged eighty-seven. Her de- 
scendants were thirteen children, eighty-two grand- 
children, one hundred and five great-grandchildren, 
and five of the fifth generation. The thirteen chil- 
dren were : Marv, .-Cbigail. Abner, Martha. Sarah, 
John. Susanna. Ezra, Jacob, William. Ruth, Betty, 
and William 2d. 

(VI) Jacob, ninth child and fourth son of John 
(.^) and Abigail (Carter) Hoyt, was born March 
28, 1772, in the old tavern. He resided after 1819 
on the east side of the Merrimac river, on "the 
Mountain." as it was called. He was a farmer and 
brid.ge-builder. and was very vigorous in mind and 
body long past his eightieth year. The house he 
occupied was first erected at "the Fort." by Captiiin 
Ebenezer Eastman, before 1748. and afterward taken 
down and moved to the Mountain. Mr. _ Hoyt 
bought the farm of two hundred acres on which the 
house stood in t8i9. and spent the remainder of his 
life there, making great improvements on his farm, 
and keeping the old mansion in good repair. The 
site is one of the most desirable, and furnishes one 
of the most extensive and beautiful prospects on the 
east side of the river. Jacob Hoyt married (first), 
October 27, 1800, Ruth Virgin, and they were the 



74 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



parents of one child, Prudence V. Mrs. Hoyt died 
July 28, 1803, and he married (second) Fanny 
Tucker, February 7. 1805. Their children were: 
Sophia, John, Daniel Vose, Rachel. Fanny Jane, 
Jedediah T., William, Ruth E., and Jacob N., only 
one living, residing in Illinois. 

(VII) John (4). second child and oldest son 
of Jacob and Fanny (Tucker) Hoyt, was born in 
East Concord, November 10, 1807. After acquiring 
a common school education he learned the art of 
paper making, and went into business, for himself at 
Peterboro, New Hampshire. Afterward he went 
to Ohio and established himself in business in Cleve- 
land, and later in Delaware, Ohio. In 1875 he re- 
turned to New Hampshire and carried on the busi- 
ness of paper making in Manchester, in company 
with his son William, under the firm name of John 
Hoyt & Co. The business was large and profitable, 
and was kept going until 1886. Mr. Hoyt died in 
1891. He was an industrious man, careful and at- 
tentive to business, depending for success on his in- 
dustry and the good quality of the articles he made. 
He married Margaret Morrison Jewett, of Peter- 
boro, New Hampshire. They were the parents of 
children : Elizabeth, died 1901, married Elias S. 
Root, had two children, Margaret, married Arthur 
B. Claflin, now resides in Beverly, Massachusetts : 
and Orville, now in Paris ; William Jewett. and 
Fanny H., born August 21, 1843, now the wife of 
John C. Sawyer, of Manchester. 

(VIII) William Jewett, only son of John (4) 
and Margaret Morrison (Jewett) Hoyt, was born in 
Delaware, Ohio, April i, 1842. and educated in the 
public schools of his native town. At the age of 
eighteen years he entered his father's mill to learn 
the art of manufacturing paper. The following fif- 
teen years he devoted to perfecting his knowledge 
of the business, becoming an accomplished and 
skilled man in the business. In 1875, on removing 
to Manchester, New Hampshire, he became a part- 
ner with his father, and bought out the plant of the 
Martin Paper Company, and continued the business 
under the name of John Hoyt & Company for ten 
years. In 1885 the company was incorporated, John 
Hoyt becoming president, and William Hoyt secre- 
tary and treasurer. The health of both father and 
son failing, the business was sold the following year, 
and after that time neither was in active business. 
Mr. Hoyt is a stockholder and d^ector in the Man- 
chester National Bank, a position for which his 
wide experience well qualifies him. He is a popu- 
lar man with his associates, and a member of the 
Calumet, the Derryfield, and other clubs. Though 
a strong Republican and interested in politics, he 
has never cared to hold office. He is a member of 
the Franklin Street Church Society. He married, 
February 3, 1875, Emma A. Cobb, daughter of 
Ahira and Maria Cobb, born March 25, 1S54, died 
January 3, 1897. 

(Ill) John (3), third child and second son of 
John (2) and Mary (Barnes) Hoyt. was born 
March 28, 1663, and died intestate August 24. l6gi. 
In the year 1686 his father deeded him land in 
Jamaica, now West Amesbury, formerly the prop- 
erty of John (l) Hoyt. He probably lived in the 
west part of the town. Among the items mentioned 
in the inventory of his estate were three acres 
meadow. £15; "two lots in the Lyon's Mouth." £15; 
"one Lott in Children's Land," £13 ; "land at the 
Countrey pond," £6 : "House and Land at Jamaicoe," 

£60; — total. £153, los. He married Eli^^abeth , 

who survived him and married John Blaisdell. Jan- 
uarv 6, 1693. She was living in 1744. The children 
of John and Elizabeth Hoyt were: Lydia, Mary, 
and Daniel. 



(IV) Daniel, third child and only son of John 
(3) and Elizabeth Hoyt, was born in Jamaica (West 
Amesbury), March 2, i6go, and died March 3. 1743. 
In the settlement of his father's estate, 1720 and 
1722, Daniel had the "homestead at Jamaica, on the 
road to Haverhill." His tombstone is still to be 
seen in the West Amesbury cemetery. His will was 
proved March 10, 1743. He married (first) Sarah 
Rowell, marriage intentions filed December 9, 1710. 
She died January 2, 1729. and he married (second), 
July 24, 1729, Elizabeth Baxter, who survived him. 
The children by the first wife were: Mary, Reuben, 
Jethro, Eliphalet (died young), Lydia, John, Eli- 
phalet, and Sarah. (Eliphalet and descendants re- 
ceive mention in this article). 

(V) John (4), sixth child and fourth son of 
Daniel and Sarah (Rowell) Hoyt, born December 
20, 1720, died about 1795 ; and was called "Deacon" 
and "Captain." He built and lived in a house still 
standing in West Amesbury, at a place called the 
"Highlands." He married (first). November 4, 
1745, Meriam Currier. She died October is, 1787, 
and he married (second), November 27, 1788, 
Widow Mary (Kelly) Moulton. The eleven chil- 
dren by the first wife were : !Merriam. Anne, died 
young; Daniel, died young; John, Anne, Sarah, 
Daniel. Joseph. Hannah, Lois, and Molly. 

(VI) Joseph, eighth child and fourth son of 
John and Merriam (Currier) Hoit, was born in 
West Amesbury, June 7, 1762. He was lame. After 
living some time on his father's place, he removed 
to New Chester, or Hill. New Hampshire. He 
married, December 4. 1792. Hannah Rowell, whose 
name appears as Sally Rowell on the publishment. 
Their children were : Anna, Hannah, Polly, Joseph, 
John, Lydia. and Merriam. 

(VII) Lydia. sixth child and fourth daughter 
of Joseph and Hannah (Rowell) Hoyt, was born 
April 12, 1806, in Amesbury, and married Franklin 
Moseley, of Concord. (See ^loseley). 

(V) Eliphalet Hoyt, fifth son and seventh child 
of Daniel and Sarah (Rowell) Hoyt, was born June 
2, 1723. in West Amesbury. He resided in that 
parish until 1751. and afterwards lived in the south 
part of Kingston, New Hampshire, and vi-as hay- 
ward there in 1769. He married, August i, 174S, 
Mary Peaslee, and their children were: Anne, Mary, 
Eliphalet, Peaslee, Ruth, Lydia, Ebcnezer, Simeon, 
Daniel and James. (Mention of the last named and 
descendants appears in this article). Eliphalet Hoyt 
died about the tlose of the year 1794, and his son 
Simeon was appointed administrator of his estate, 
January 9, 1795. (A sketch of Simeon appears 
below ) . 

(VI) Ebenezer, third son and seventh child of 
Eliphalet and Mary (Peaslee) Hoyt, was born June 
15, 1754. probably in Kingston, and lived for a time 
in Amesbury or Newburyport, but finally settled in 
Hampstead, New Hampshire. He was a soldier in 
the Revolutionary war. He married. July 8, 1779, 
Sarah Nichols, of Amesbury. Their children were : 
Mehitable, William H., Daniel, Eliphalet, Joseph 
and Moses. 

(VII) William Howard, eldest son and second 
child of Ebenezer and Sarah (Nichols) Hoyt. was 
an early settler in Sandown, New Hampshire, where 
he lived and died. He married Betsey French, of 
South Hampton, and their children were: Sarah 
N.. William, Mehitable, Ebenezer, Rhoda, Betsey 
and Nathan. 

(VIII) Nathan, youngest child of William H. 
and Betsey (French) Hoyt, was born November 
27, 1817, in Sandown. He married Sally Hook, 
whose father. Moody Hook, kept the old Hook 
Hotel, a noted tavern in its day. They had four 




Thu Lcivis Puhli'ih: 




NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



/D 



children : Francis Moody, now deceased, whose 
sketch follows. Laura, who married Perley Cur- 
rier, now deceased ; she has land in Freemont, New 
Hampshire. Lotta, who died young. Belle, who 
married Aldine Johnston, and resides in South Dan- 
ville, New Hampshire. The daughters taught school 
prior to their marriage. 

(IX) Francis Moody, only son of Nathan and 
Sally (Hook) Hoyt, was born in Danville, New 
Hampshire, March 2Q. 1841. He was educated in 
the public schools of his native town. He early 
showed mechanical tastes, and later, when fully de- 
veloped, they aided materially in the success which 
attended his well-directed efforts, and earned for 
him a place among representative business men of 
Manchester. In early life he thoroughly mastered 
the trade of shoemaker, serving an apprenticeship 
in the city of Haverhill, Massachusetts. He began 
the manufacture of children's shoes in Haverhill, 
but at the time of the union troubles he moved his 
well-established business to Raymond, New Hamp- 
shire, in the development of which town he was an 
active factor, his factory being the chief business 
therein. Subsequently he sought wider and larger 
fields for his business career, and the city of Man- 
chester, New Hampshire, offered him inducements 
by building a factory especially for his business and 
exempting him from taxes for ten years, and ac- 
cordingly he moved there in 1889. This factory, 
situated on the corner of Silver and Lincoln streets, 
is one of the best in New England, and is thor- 
oughly equipped with all modern machinery for the 
manufacture of shoes. Among their manufactures 
are the Hoyt's .^moskeag. Hoyt's Byron, Hoyt's 
Slayton and the Hoyt's Custom Shoes, in men's, 
youths' and little gents', the special shoes being 
called the Beacon Light shoe. The factory gives em- 
ployment to about seven hundred hands, thus mak- 
iilg it one of the leading industries of the city. In 
July, 1902, the firm decided to sell their shoes direct 
to the retail trade, and this change was watched very 
closely by the trade. In six months 'the entire busi- 
ness had been changed without stopping the factory 
a single day or reducing the output a single case. 
In fact they had more orders than they could take 
care of and were obliged to run the factory over- 
time. At that time Mr, Hoyt said: ''For twenty- 
five years I have made shoes, commencing from the 
bottom. I have built my business up to its great 
volume of to-day by using plenty of sole-leather. It 
is the best agent I ever had and to-day my hope of 
making 10,000 pairs of shoes a day, is based on my 
judgment that merchants who have bought my shoes 
will recognize and appreciate this. I am going to 
do my business with progressive merchants and I 
shall spare no cost to meet their requirements. I 
have secured thirty of the most intelligent salesmen 
I could procure to show Hoyt'.s shoes to the trade 
I have associated with me in every department the 
best men I could secure. On these lines I am ex- 
pecting to win the confidence of the shoe merchants 
of the entire country." The company, which was 
known as the F. M. Hojl Shoe Company, is now in- 
corporated and conducting an excellent business, 
which is the direct result of the work of its 
founder, who was a man of executive ability, meth- 
odical habits and untiring industry, and who labored 
late and early in the interests of the business. Upon 
the incorporation of the company Mrs. Francis M. 
Hoyt became vice-president and one of the directors, 
which offices she still holds. Mr. Hoyt was a Dem- 
ocrat in politics, but he never aspired to or held of- 
fice, preferring to devote his entire time and at- 
tention to his business interests. He was a mem- 



ber of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, hav- 
ing joined the lodge in Haverhill, Massachusetts. 

Mr. Hoyt married, November 27, 1866, at^ Haver- 
hill, Massachusetts, Eliza A. Meserve, born in Free- 
dom, New Hampshire, April 9, 1839. daughter of 
Edward O. and Eliza (Sanborn) Meserve. Ed- 
ward O. Meserve w-as a farmer and drover; he 
was the eldest child of Nathaniel Meserve. Francis 
M. and Eliza A. (Meserve) Hoyt were the parents 
of three children : Ida and Eva, twins, who died in 
infancy, and Luella, mentioned at length in the fol- 
lowing paragraph. Francis M. Hoyt died at Sugar 
Hill in the mountains where they w^ere stopping for 
a few days' rest, of heart trouble, August 14, 1903. 

(X) Luella. only child of Francis M. and Eliza 
A. (Meserve) Hoyt, was born at Haverhill, Mass- 
achusetts, December 12. 1876. She was educated in 
the schools of her native city and at a school in 
Boston, Massachusetts, conducted by a Miss Hescy. 
She married. June 12, 1900, Hovey E. Slayton. son 
of Edward M. Slayton. and grandson of Hon. Hiram 
King and Eliza Amanda (MitchelH Slayton, of 
Manchester. Hovey E. and Luella (Hoyt) Slayton 
have four children: Hoyt Carl, born November 26, 
1901 ; Hovey Edward, born November 22, 1902; Vir- 
ginia, borii March 22, 1905; Eleanor, born 
September 28. 1906. Mr. and Mrs. Slayton 
and their children reside with Mrs. Francis 
M. Hoyt, in the Hoyt mansion, 1799 Elm street, 
Manchester. This home, with its large handsome 
rooms, is one of the most attractive at the North 
End, the finest residential quarter of the city. 
Hiram King Slayton. grandfather of Hovey E. 
Slayton, was one of the prominent men of Manches- 
ter. He was born at Calais. Vermont, .August 14. 
T825, and was a direct descendant of Captain 
Thomas Slayton, who came from England to the 
Massachusetts Colony in 1790. He was a delegate 
to the first national convention in Philadelphia 
which nominated the first Republican ticket. He 
was also a delegate to the convention which nomi- 
nated Abraham Lincoln for the presidency. He was 
in the state legislature of 1871-72. and in the state 
senate of 1877-78. He was the last senator under 
the old constitution which gave Manchester but one 
of the twelve senators. His writings against the 
Bland bill were copied into all the New Vork 
dailies, and his resolutions against the Bland bill 
were passed both in the Vermont and New Hamp- 
shire legislatures. He was much interested in pa- 
triotic societies, and was made vice-president general 
of the first national convention of the Sons of the 
American Revolution. 

(VI) Simeon, fourth son and eighth child of 
Eliphalet and Mary (Peaslee) Hoyt. was born 
March 17, 1757, probably in Kingston, and was the 
administrator of his father's estate there in 1795. 
He subsequentlv settled in that part of Gilmanton 
which is now Gilford, and died there April 9. 1824. 
He was a tall and stout man, and was noted for his 
strength. It is said that he weighed at one time 
exactly four hundred pounds. In connection with 
Rhenezer Smith, in 1779, he erected mills at Gilford 
village, on Gunstock brook. He was one of twelve 
men from Hawke. now Danville. New Hampshire, 
in Captain Moses McFarland's company, of Colonel 
John Nixon's regiment, in camp on Winter Hill. 
September 30, 1775. The Massachusetts Revrlution- 
ary War Rolls give his residence also as Goffstown. 
His name and those of others is found on a receipt 
for advance pay, dated Cambridge, June 10, 1775. 
He is given as private of the same company and 
regiment; muster roll dated August r, 1775. enlisted 
April 2S, 1775, service three months, fourteen days. 



76 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



He was married, September 23, 1777, to Miriam 
Morrill, of Hawke, who died in March. 185 1. Their 
children were : Joseph, James, Susan, Sally, Henry, 
Miriam, Polly, Simeon and Nathaniel Morrill. 

(VH) Susan, eldest daughter and third child of 
Simeon and Miriam (Morrill) Hoyt. was born in 
1782-8.3, and became the wife of Joseph Sleeper 
(see Sleeper, VI). 

(VH) Miriam, sixth child and third daughter 
of Simeon and Miriam (Morrill) Hoyt, married her 
cousin, Thomas Hoit. (See Hoit, VH). 

(VH) Henry, third son and fifth child of 
Simeon and Miriam (Morrill) Hoyt, was born 
about 1785, probably in that part of Gilmanton now 
included in Gilford. New Hampshire. He married 
Betsey Cotton, and they had eight children : Jason 
Taylor, born May 26, 1812, lived in Charlestown, 
Massachusetts. John Cotton, born November II. 
181.3, married Polly Swain, and lived in Manchester, 
New Hampshire. George, whose sketch follows. 
Polly J., born February 5. 1818, died unmarried. 
May 22, 1842. Betsey Abigail, born September 18. 
1820, married Fernando A. Pierce, lived in New- 
buryport, Massachusetts, and died at Manchester, New 
Hampshire, August 14, 1855. Jonathan James, born 
May 24, 1824. married Lucy G. Fuller, and lived in 
West Chelmsford, jNIassachusetts. Edward, born 
January 10, 1826, died October 9, 1827. Henry Ed- 
ward, born June 9, 1828. married Susan M. De- 
meritt. and lived in Manchester. New' Hampshire. 
Henry Hoyt, the father, died about 1843. 

(Vni) George, third son and third child of 
Henry and Betsey (Cotton) Hoyt, was born De- 
cember 30, 1817, in Gilford, New Hampshire. He 
moved to the neighboring town of Holderness 
where lie was a manufacturer of straw hoard. He 
was a Republican in politics. On April 25, 1852, 
George Hoyt married Frances Moody Smith, daugh- 
ter of Obadiah and Eliza (Moody) Smith, of West 
Newbury. Massachusetts. They had one child, 
Frances Anna, born June 15, 1857, m Holderness. 
She married. December 25. 1876, Dr. Ashley Cooper 
^V'hipple, of Ashland. New Hampshire (see Whip- 
ple, IX). George Hort died August 9. 1882, and 
his wife died November 22. 1900, at Ashland. 

(VI) James, tenth child and sixth son of Eli- 
phalet and IMary (Peaslee) Hoyt. was born ^ larch 
28, 1762. He resided all his life and died in Gil- 
ford. He married (first) Mehitable Saltmarsh. of 
Goffstown : (second) .•\bigail Whittier, of Canter- 
bury: (third) Huldah Field. The children, all by 
the first wife were: Sally, Betsy. Ehphalet, 
Thomas, Nathan and Peaslee. 

(VII) Thomas, fourth child and second son of 
James and Mehitable (Saltmarsh) Hoyt, was born 
in that part of Gilmanton which is now Gilford, 
.'\ugnst 4, 1796. and died there. He was a farmer 
and resided in Gilford. He married his cousin, 
Miriam Hovt, daughter of Simeon and ^Miriam 
(Morrill) Hoyt, of Hawke. (See Hoyt, VII). 
Their children were: Abigail, William S.. Nathan 
and Almira. 

(VIII) William Saltmarsh. second child of 
Thomas and Miriam (Hoyt) Hoyt. was born De- 
cember 2. 1821. and died October 9, 1901, aged 
seventy-nine. He was a farmer and carpenter, a 
Republican in politics, and a Universalist in reli- 
gious faith. He married- October, 184S. Lois .\da- 
line Jewett. daughter of Smith and Statia (Glines) 
Jewett. Smith Jewett was born July 21, 179,3. and 
died February 17, 1868, aged seventy-four. Statia 
(Glines) Jewett w-as born May 20. 1799. The chil- 
dren of this union are: Helen Frances, George 
William and Henry Grant. Helen F. died in 1869, 



aged twenty. George William, born June 9. 1854. 
married, November 30, 1878, Mary Ann Blaisdell. 
They have one son. Park Rowe Hoyt, who gradu- 
ated from Dartmouth Medical College, and is now 
one of the medical staff of Worcester City Hospital. 
(IX) Henry Grant, third child of William S. 
and Lois Adaline (Jewett) Hoyt, was born May 27, 
1864, in Lakeport, then in Gilford, now Laconia. 
He was educated i" ''""^ common schools, and is by 
occupation a farmer and musician, residing on the 
old Hoyt homestead in Gilford. He married, July 
7. 1895, Ora Alzuma Blaisdell. daughter of Jacob 
M. and Ann S. (Munsey) Blaisdell, of Gilford. 
They have two children : Marian Francis, born in 
Gilford, June 12, 1896, and John Barton, November 
I, 1897. 

(III) Robert, tenth child and fourth son of 
John (2) and Mary (Barnes) Ho>-t, was a farmer 
and lived near "Pond Hills," perhaps on the home- 
stead of his father, as his mother. Widow Mary 
(Barnes) Hoyt, deeded her "youngest son Robert," 
"my homestead or tract of land whereon I now 
dwell * * * being in quantity, Twenty acres of 
upland Meadow and Swamp, as also my Orchard, 
dwelling house, barne and other buildings, and out- 
housing and fences thereon" ; signed December 23, 
1701, acknowledged May 13, 1704. Robert Hoyt 
was chosen liighway surveyor in 1703 and 171 1, as- 
sessor in 1714-15, and juryman in 1720, and is sev- 
eral other times mentioned on the Amesbury rec- 
ords. He died in 1741 : his will dated March 18. 
1741, was proved June i. 1741. Among the items 
in the inventory are : homestead living, twenty acres, 
200: other land, 123: dwelling house, 50; barn, 25; 
Mill-pond grant at Kingston, New Hampshire, .^o: 
whole amount, 535. 5s. He married (first), De- 
cember 4, 1701, Martha Stevens: and (second), 
March 17. 1707, Mary Currier, who died about 1766. 
He had nine children : Hannah and Abigail, by the 
first wife ; and Martha, Mary. Theodore. Dorothy, 
Aaron. Anne, and Merriam. by the second wife. 

(IV) Dorofhy, sixth child and fifth daughter of 
Robert and Mary (Currier) Hoyt. was born .^pril 
22, 1714, and married Barnes Jewell (see Jewell. 
IV). 

(II) Thomas, second son and third child of 
John (l) and Frances Hoyt, was born January x, 
1641. His name stands first on the list of those 
who took "ye oath of allegiance and fidelity" before 
Thomas Bradbury, captain of the military company 
of Salisbury, December 5. 1677. His residence is 
given as Amesbury, in 1686, when he deeded to his 
"son Thomas," land at "Bugsniore." in Amesbury. 
He died January 3. 1691, and letters of administra- 
tion were granted March 31, 1691, at a court held at 
Ipswich. He married Mary, daughter of William 
and Elizabeth Brown, of Salisbury, and they had 
children: Thomas. William (died young), Ephraim, 
John. William, Israel, Benjamin, Joseph, a daughter 
(died 3'oung), Deliverance, and Mary. (Mention 
of Benjamin and descendants forms part of this 
article). 

(HI) Lieutenant Thomas (2), eldest son and 
child of Thomas and Mary (Brown) Hoyt, was a 
farmer by occupation, but did considerable business, 
and gave and received a number of deeds. He was 
chosen viewer of fences, 1695-96. constable, 1704- 
05; moderator. May. 1705. and March, 1705-06; 
juryman, 1708-09 and 1714. and at a later date 'his 
name -frequently appears on the Amesbury records, 
with the title of "Lieft." On the Massachusetts 
records of November 11, 1724, is found the mention 
of a memorial of Thomas Hoyt, representative for 
the town of Amesbury, respecting a wounded soldier. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



77 



He deeded a pew in the East Meeting-House, Ames- 
bury, to his son Thomas, May 8, 1740. His resi- 
dence and farm were at Pond hills, and a part of 
the farm was lately owned and occupied by his de- 
scendant, Thomas Hoyt. His will was dated in 1734 
and proved in 1741. His inventory, dated March 31. 
1742, amounted to six thousand two hundred and 
seventy-tive pounds, nineteen shillings. His wife Mary 
mentioned in his will, probably survived him. He 
married (first), May 22, 1689, Elizabeth Hunting- 
ton, who died January 29, 1722; married (second), 
November 18, 1722, Widow Mary Barnard, probably 
the widow of Joseph, who died in 1740 or 1741. 
The children, all by the first wife, were :_ John, 
Jacob, Mary, David, Sarah, Timothy, Elizabeth, 
Thomas, Micah, Daniel and David. 

(IV) Lieutenant Timothy, sixth child and 
fourth son of Thomas (2) and Elizabeth (Hunting- 
ton) Hoyt, was born in Salisburj-, June 24, 1700. 
He lived in the West Parish, on the "Children's 
Land," or "Highlands." His name does not ap- 
pear on the parish tax lists after 1774. He married, 
February 15, 1722, Sarah Challis, daughter of Will- 
iam' and Margaret Challis. She joined the Second 
Amesbury Church, December 10, 1726. Their chil- 
dren were: Judith, Timothy (died young), Timo- 
thy, Sarah, ^lathias, Jonathan, Moses. Lydia, Mary 
and Eunice 

CV) Timothy (2) third child and second son 
of Timothy (i) and Sarah (Challis) Hoyt, was 
born June 2, 1728, and died about 1794. He was a 
shoemaker, and lived in West Amesbury. He mar- 
ried (first), July 2, 1751, Lois Flanders, who died 
December 30, 1754: married (second) name un- 
known; married (third) Widow Elizabeth Stevens, 
of Hampstead, publication being made August 24, 
1787. Hannah was received into the Second Ames- 
bury Church from Salisburj- church in 1775. The 
children by the first wife were: Lois, Timothy, and 
William ; and by the second wife: Richard, Ephraim, 
Thomas, Hannah and Mahitable. 

CVI) Ephraim, second son and child of Tim- 
othy (2) and Lois (Flanders) Hoyt, was born in 
Amesbury, January 20, 1758, and died in Alexan- 
dria, New 'York, September 15. 1841. He removed 
from Amesbury to Salisbury, New Hampshire, and 
afterward to Alexandria, New York. He married, 
in Amesbury, August 31, 1788, Sarah Stevens, who 
died August 30. 1849. Their children were ; 
Patience. Wait (died young), Timothy, Samuel, 
Mahitable, Wait S., Sarah, Elizabeth, and Daniel S., 
whose sketch follows. 

(\TI) Daniel Stevens, ninth and youngest child 
of Ephraim and Sarah (Stevens') Hoyt. was born in 
Danbury, New Hampshire. April 17, 1808, and died 
in Lowell, Massachusetts. February 12, 1894. He 
WR? educated in the district schools and worked on 
his father's farm, and later had a small place of his 
own. He was a brick and stone mason by trade, 
and removed to Alexandria. New York, where he 
lived thirteen years. In 1847 he removed to Lowell, 
Massachusetts, and worked at his trade until a 
short time before his death. He married. March 25, 
1827, Dorothy B. Gale, who was born March 25. 
1808, and died August 10, 1888. daughter of Reuben 
Gale, of Alexandria New Hampshire. Their chil- 
dren were : Ephraim. Reuben G., Eli Wait and 
Jonn D. 

CVIII) Reuben Gale, second sou and child of 
Daniel S. and Dorothy B. (Gale) Hoyt, was born 
in .'Mcxandria. Jefferson county. New '\'ork, Jan- 
uary 6, 1835. He spent his early boyhood on his 
father's farm, and attended the district and later the 
grammar school in Lowell. At the age of fourteen 



he became an apprentice to a baker and confectioner, 
and worked at that trade for three years. Later he 
cultivated a farm in Sherman, Maine, three years. 
November. 1863. he enlisted in the Seventh Mass- 
achusetts Batterj-, and served two years, being dis- 
charged December. 1865. He took part in the Red 
River campaign and the Mobile expedition. After 
having six years experience as a traveling salesman 
for cigars and confectionery, he opened a general 
store in Belmont. New Hampshire, which he con- 
ducted until 1893. when he retired from active life. 
He married (first), 1859. Mary Heath, who was 
born in Northfield. New Hampshire. 1837, and died 
in 1873. They had one child, Mary Mandana, born 
March i, i860. He married (second), in Laconia, 
August 31, 1876, Emma F. Dow. who was born in 
Laconia, November 16, 1S46, daughter of Charles D. 
and Meribah (Cotton) Bryant, of Laconia. and 
widow of G. L. Dow. who served in the Fourth 
New Hampshire regiment. Mrs. Hoyt had by her 
first husband one child. Etta Bell Dow. born in 
Lakeport, New Hampshire. October 17. 1867, mar- 
ried, June 29. 1892, H. IM. Grant, of Berwick. 
Maine. . 

(III) Benjamin, seventh son and child of 
Thomas and Mary (Brown) Hoyt, was born Sep- 
tember 20. 1680. He was a tanner and lived in Sal- 
isbury and Newbury. At the Salisbury "March 
Meeting. 1732," it was "'Voted by ye town that 
Beniamin Hoyt be Dismissed this year from being 
constable by reason of the Lameness of his hands." 
Many of his descendants, for two or three genera- 
tions, were much noted for their great stature, and 
still more for their strength. He died in 1748. His 
wife Hannah survived him. His will, dated De- 
cember. 1748. was proved February 6. 1749. and the 
inventory of his estate was taken May 6, 1749. 
"The homestead with ye Orchard and buildings 
thereon." i6oo. He married Hannah Pillsbury, their 
intentions being filed Februray 19, 1704. Their chil- 
dren were: Benjamin. Moses. Hannah, Enoch. 
Daniel and Joseph. (Mention of Daniel and Joseph 
and descendants appears in this article). 

(IV) Benjamin (2). eldest child of Beniamin 
(i) and Hannah (Pillsbury) Hoit. born .\pril 29. 
1706, died as early as 1746. Soon after the settle- 
ment of the boundary line of Massachusetts and New 
Hampshire. Benjamin Hoyt signed the petition of 
those who "did not belong to the Easterly Part of 
Salisbury." showing that he did not wish to be 
joined to the township to be formed of the westerly 
part of Salisbury and a part of Amesbury. as they 
were six miles from the meeting-house, "and re- 
questing to be joined to Hampton Falls." Benja- 
min Hoyt was a tall and strong man. It is said that 
he was a carpenter, and the story is that he once 
held the whole side of a building and prevented it 
from falling upon other individuals. James Hoyt, 
of Concord. New Hampshire, related the following 
traditions respecting a brother of his grandfather, 
evidently Benjamin : He and a neighbor were once 
hoein.g in adjoining fields. After they had worked 
awhile the neighbor said to him: "I have hoed as 
many hills as you larking two." It turned out, how- 
ever, that Benjamin had hoed two rows at a time, 
and had thus done more than double the work of 
his neighbor. .At another time he carried a heavy 
stone into a mill, where it remained for a long time, 
serving as a test of strength. At last a man carried 
it out, though not sO' easily as Benjamin had carried 
it in. It is also said that while at Cape Breton, 
during the French war. the soldiers were obliged at 
one time to supply the fort with water by carrj-ing 
it in barrels, two men to a barrel. They complained 



7^ 



NEW PIAMPSHIRE. 



of it as being too heavy work, but Benjamin took 
up two barrels and carried them into the fort, a dis- 
tance of twenty rods, and back on a wager. He 
was taken sick shortly after with a "nervous fever," 
and soon died — from the effect of carrying the 
water, as some supposed, and from hardships and 
exposure. Most of his children were noted for 
their great strength. His widow, Mary, lived 
among her children, and died at the house of her 
son Abner, at Weare, early in i8or, probably be- 
tween ninety and one hundred years of age. Ben- 
jamin Hoyt married. March 25, 1730. Mary Collins, 
and they were the parents of : John, Abner, Martha, 
Jabez, Anna, Mary, Samuel, Hannah, and Benja- 
min. (Jabez and the last named and descendants 
receive mention in this article). 

(V) Abner (i), second son and child of Ben- 
jamin (2) and Mary (Collins) Hoyt, was born Jan- 
uary 25, 1732, baptized April 2, 1732, and died Octo- 
ber 22, 1S07. In 1753, his residence is given as 
South Hampton ; but his marriage and the births 
of his two older children were recorded at Hampton 
Falls, and he was living there as late as October, 
1760. He bought land in Chester in October, 1760, 
and was living there in 1762-64, and 66, but was 
taxed in Poplin in 1769, removed soon after to Hop- 
kinton, and afterward to Weare. The birth of one 
of his children is recorded in Weare in 1771. The 
history of Weare states : "Abner Hoyt, originally of 
Poplin, now Fremont, bought Jacob Straw's home 
farm, lot 93, range 7, (in 1774) and spent the rest of 
his days there." A list of those men that did half a 
term going to Ticonderog:a, in 1776, for a term of 
four months and twenty-six days includes the name 
of Abner Hoit. Under the heading, "those men 
that went with Col. Stark for 2 munth are allowd 
— Dolls pr munth year 1777," we find the name of 
Abner Hoit with others. Another Revolutionary 
entry refers to Abner Hoyt and others as being 
"two months to benington." In July, 1783. Abner 
Hoit was credited for beef furnished for Conti- 
nental soldiers ii7, 5s, id. 

Abner Hoit was a very strong man. It is said 
that he was a carpenter, though he usually worked 
on his farm. Tradition says that he and two sons 
"spotted" forty acres to clear in one year. It used 
to be jokingly remarked that he had only to take 
hold of one end and his two sons of the other, and 
pile logs up without any trouble. He married, No- 
vember I, 1753, Hannah Eastman, of Salisbury, who 
died February 19, 1813, and they were the parents 
of nine children: Jacob, Benjamin, Betsy, Abner, 
Mary, Hannah, Aaron, Moses, and Abigail. 

(VI) Abner (2) Hoit, third son and fourth 
child of Abner (i) and Hannah (Eastman) Hoit, 
was born probably in Chester, March 30, 1760, and 
lived in Weare. where he died, September 13, 1829. 
He married (first) Joanna Craft, of Manchester, 
Massachusetts, and (second) Widow Lucretia 
Haskell, and was the father of sixteen childrerL 
Those by the first wife were : Betty, Samuel, Joanna 
(or Hannah), Abner, Francis, Sarah, Abigail, John, 
Asenath, Susan, Eleazer, and Luke; and by the sec- 
ond marriage : Warren, Susan, Plummer and Abi- 
gail. 

(VII) Abner (3) Hoit, second son and fourth 
child of Abner (2) and Joanna (Crafts) Hoit, born 
in 1790, died at Oil Mill Village, Weare, April 3, 
1855. He married, 1812, Abigail or Asenath IJailey, 
who died January !2, 1858. They were the parents 
of ten children : Sally, Joseph, Amos, John, Daniel 
B., Abner, Ziba A., Mary Ann, Hiram and Hannah. 

(VIII) John, third son and fourth child of 
Abner (3) and Asenath (Bailey) Hoit, was born in 



Weare, March 7, 1819, and died February 11, 1853, 
in that town, where he passed his life. He mar- 
ried Mrs. Sarah Ann (Gove) Bartlett, of Deering, 
and they were the parents of five children : Eliza 
Ann, John Clinton, Lewis B., Abbie B. The eldest, 
wife of William Eaton, died in Weare. The fourth 
married Frank Mills, and resides in Goffstown. Mr. 
Hoit owned saw mills, was a large dealer in lum- 
ber and a successful busuiess man, widely known 
and respected as a citizen. 

(IX) Lewis Benjamin, second son and third 
child of John and Sarah Ann (Gove; Hoit, was 
born September 10, 184S, in New Boston, and re- 
ceived a good business training, attending the com- 
mon schools, FrancestO'wn Academy and Bryant & 
Stratton's Business College. In his seventeenth 
j'ear, in 1865, he began his business career as an 
employe of J. Frank Hoyt, a grocer of Concord, and 
continued with him several years. In 1882 he be- 
came proprietor of a store and continued in the 
same line for a few years. Relinquishing that line, 
he engaged in the real estate and lumber business, 
with great success, and gradually came into posses- 
sion of considerable city holdings. He also owned 
and handled lumber and farming lands, and was 
widely known in the state. He bought and ship- 
ped to all parts of the United States great quan- 
tities of apples, and thus extended his business ac- 
quaintance. He was the first in Concord to un- 
dertake this speculation, and met with gratifying 
recompense. When the Concord State Fair was 
organized, in 1899, Mr. Hoit was made manager of 
the corporation, a position which he filled until his 
death, to the satisfaction of exhibitors, stockholders 
and the general public. His recognized executive 
ability, and pleasing personality contributed very 
largely to the success which has come to this en- 
terprise. In 1874 he was a member of the city 
council. It goes without saying that he was a Re- 
publican. He was a member of the First Baptist 
Cliurch of Concord and was superintendent of its 
Sunday school for several years. 

He married, January 20, 1873, Mary Eaton 
Boynton. daughter of Lyman E. Boynton, of Con- 
cord, born August 14, 1850 (see Boynton, XXIX). 
They have one son, Howard Leroy, born April 7, 
1876. After being connected for some years with 
banks in Concord and New York City, he succeeded 
to the business of his father. For some time before 
his death, which occurred September 19, 1907. Mr, 
Hoit had been in ill health, from weakness of the 
heart. Though he knew that his death might oc- 
cur at any moment, he maintained a most cheerful 
demeanor and went about his daily business with 
his usual energy. Flis hearty laugh was a lamp of 
cheerfulness to many and a source of great surprise 
to those who knew his condition. The Concord 
Monitor said of him : 

"Mr. Hoit was a man of very wide acquaintance 
and one whom all loved and esteemed. While such 
an end of his life was not unexpected, yet the shock 
was great. As an agent for the sale of real estate, 
particularly timber lands and farm properties, his 
fame had gone beyond the borders of his city, county 
and state, and many were the important transactions 
of this kind in which he had a hand. Because of 
his reputation in this line he was called upon fre- 
quently by the Boston & Maine railroad to assess 
damages in claims upon them because of fire and 
was much in demand, also, for the valuation of es- 
tates. He firmly believed in the future of the city 
of Concord, was always ready to proclaim his be- 
lief and to back up his words by deeds.* In every 
movement for increased business activity or munici- 




C^Q^yn^ //V^^^Z — ^ 




% 




^^-^^^ 




NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



79 



I 



pal improvement in any line, he was a leader. From 
the organization of the Concord Commercial Club 
he was one of its most active and influential_ mem- 
bers. 'There was not a man in our ranks,' said Sec- 
retary Metcalf of that organization this morning, 
'whose individual loss the club would feel so severely 
as that of Lewis Hoit.' 

"He was a member, also, of the recently formed 
Public Improvement Society: of the Wonolancet 
Club: of White iNIountain Lodge, Independent Or- 
der of Odd Fellows : and of the Concord Driving 
Club. He had long been active in the support of 
the First Baptist Church and was an officer of its 
society. A Republican in politics, he ^ had never 
sought or held office, save for a term in the com- 
mon council in 1876. 

"His love for horjes. together with his desire to 
boom the city of Concord, were among the causes 
which led Mr. Hoit to take a principal part in the 
organization and subsequent management of the 
Concord State Fair. For eight years he lias^ borne 
the lion's share of the burden of this institution 
and was in charge, as general manager, of the suc- 
cessful exhibition of last week. It is not too much to 
say that the fair is a monument to his memory." 

(V) Jabez, fourth child and third son of Ben- 
jamin (2) and Mary (Collins) Hoitt, was born No- 
vember 8, 1734, and baptized January 12, 1735, in 
Salisbury. East Parish. He was a joiner by trade. 
As early as 1750 he was living in Chester, New 
Hampshire. In 1775 he removed from the north 
part of Chester to that part which adjoins Derry 
and Sandown. Tradition says that he served for 
some time under Colonel Rogers, during the Indian 
wars, and was present when Putnam was taken 
prisoner by the French and Indians. He e.xerted 
all his influence in favor of the Revolution, and 
served several times himself for short periods. He 
was a member of the committee of safety, was a 
justice of the peace, and selectman for many years, 
in Chester, also a representative, and a delegate to 
the convention to draft the constitution of New 
Hampshire, in 1783. He married, April 17, 1760, 
Abigail Hasseltine. who died May i, 1817. They 
were the parents of nine children : Abigail, Thomas, 
Jabez, Benjamin (died young), Benjamin, Josiah, 
Captain Moses. Captain Jesse and Samuel. 

(VI) Lieutenant Thomas, second child and 
eldest son of Jabez and Abigail (Hasseltine) Hoitt, 
was born December 10. 1762, and resided in San- 
down. He served at Rhode Island in the Revolu- 
tion, and his name appears on, the roll as ensign in 
the company of Captain Samuel JlcConnel, at the 
battle of Bennington. He taught school after the 
close of the war, and sailed from Portsmouth as a 
lieutenant of mariners on board the United States 
warship "Portsmouth." He died shortly after of 
yellow fever, at Paramaribo. Surinam, September 
21, 1799. Fie married Hannah Stevens, w-ho after 
his death married Moses Rand, and moved to 
Barnstead, where she died in 1842. The children of 
Lieutenant Thomas and Hannah Hoitt were: 
Thomas, Benjamin, Sally, Hannah, Colonel James 
Stevens and Sophia. 

(VII) Benjamin, second son and child of 
Lieutenant Thomas and Hannah (Stevens) Hoitt, 
was horn in Hampstead, .August II, 1788, and died 
in Barnstead, March 6, 1S60. He was a farmer of 
good ability, and in comfortable circumstances, and 
possessed the confidence and respect of his neigh- 
bors. He held the office of selectman and other 
town offices. He married (first), January 25, 1815. 
Mehitablc Babson, daughter of Isaac Babson, of 
Dunbarton. a graduate of Harvard College in the 



class of 1779, and Nelly (Stark) Babson, daughter of 
General John Stark (q. v.). She was born April 
'3, 1793, in Hopkinton, and died October 17, 1S58. 
He married (second) Abigail Twombly. who died 
November 14, 1874, aged seventy-nine years, in Bar- 
rington, and was buried in Dover. There were 
twelve children, all of the first wife. Of these Ellen, 
Charlotte H.. John Stark, Henrietta, Harriet 
Newel, Thomas Lewis, Elizabeth Frances, William 
Augustus, Sarah Babson and Horace grew up, and 
two died young. Ellen, born Octdber 25, 1816. in 
Dunbarton, married Joshua B. Merrill. Thomas died 
young. Iilary died- aged four years. Char- 
lotte H., born May 17, i8l8, m'arried Calvin 
Sanborn, and died January 13, 1898. John 
S., born January 22, 1821, died January 13. 1905. 
He married Fanny P. Woodhousc. born February 
20, 1829. Henrietta, born April 23, 1823, died in 
1902, aged seventy-eight. She married Frederick 
Warland, who was born in 1823, and died in 1863, 
aged forty. Harriet N. is mentioned below. Thomas 
L., is the subject of extended mention below. Eliza- 
beth Frances, born June 21, 1829, married John 
Johnson, whom she survived, and died June i. 1906. 
William A., born October 12, 1831, died in New Or- 
leans, October 8, 1858, aged twenty-seven, Sarah 
B., born July 24, 1833, died September 22, 1905; 
she married Hiram Thompson. Horace born July 
I, 1841. died April 15, 1869. 

(VIII) Harriet Newell, fifth child and fourth 
daughter of Benjamin and Mehitable (Babson) 
Hoitt, born in Barnstead, March 22, 1825, married 
Deacon Hiram Rand, of Barnstead. (See Rand 
VIIFK 

(VIII) Thomas Lewis, second son and sixth 
child of Benjamin and Mehitable (Babson) Floitt, 
was born in Barnstead, near the parade ground, 
April r. 1827. He remained on the home farm do- 
ing such work" as was suited to his strength, and 
attending school until 1842. Then, being fifteen 
years old, he entered the employ of Baily Parker, a 
merchant of Pembroke, where he worked several 
years, and was carefully instructed in the practical 
features of mercantile business. He left this em- 
ployment to take a place in a woolen factory con- 
ducted by J. B. Merrill, the husband of his sister 
Ellen. He also became associated with Mr. Merrill 
in the ownership of a general store in Barnstead. 
In 1S5S he went to Salmon Falls, where for several 
years he conducted a brisk and prosperous business 
in the dry goods trade, from which ill health com- 
pelled him to retire. At the outbreak of the Re- 
bellion in iS6i,- impelled by the same spirit which 
has put the Floitts in the front in everj' war this 
country has had since they settled in it, he promptly 
supported the war measures of President Lincoln, 
and by voice and example encouraged enlistments 
for the Union army, .although he was not in sym- 
pathy with the new administration, having been a 
decided and active Democrat. He joined the band 
of the "Fighting Fifth" Regiment. New Hampshire 
Volunteers, and followed tlie fortunes of his com- 
mand till the close of McClellan's peninsula cam- 
paign, when he was discharged for disabilities re- 
ceived in that famous retreat, for which he has 
since received a pension. After leaving the army 
he engaged in trade for a time at North Berwick, 
Maine. He next took charge of a business which 
required him to travel much of the time, and in the 
transaction of which he traversed a large part of 
the United States, taking ample time and pains to 
examine and inform himself as to subiects and 
[)laces of interest. It was his fortune to be present 
on many remarkable occasions, and to witness many 



8o 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



striking and peculiar occurrences. One of these 
events he witnessed while traveling on business be- 
tween the city of Washington and the army. He 
arrived in the vicinity of Fortress Monroe just in 
time to be a witness of the destruction of the 
frigates "Cumberland" and "Congress" by the iron- 
clad "Merrimac," and the conflict of the following 
day between the "Merrimac" and the "Monitor." 
Mr. Hoitt was the first postal agent between Boston 
and Portland, Maine, and when others were ap- 
pointed he was 'made chief. For several years he 
owned and managed a shoe factory in Lynn, 
Massachusetts. After passing through many 
changes, reverses and successes, in 1880, he did 
what he had long desired to do. returned to his 
native town, and with two widowed sisters estab- 
lished a pleasant home at the Parade, on the bank of 
the Suncook river, where for years he has enjoyed 
a life of ease and the society of his neighbors amidst 
the scenes and associations of his boyhood. Mr. 
Hoitt has been a very active man, and by travel, ob- 
servation, and study has become a very intelligent 
and well-informed citizen. Soon after attaining his 
twenty-first year he became a member of Mount 
Lebanon Lodge, No. 32, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Laconia, New Hampshire, and subsequently 
joined the Chapter, and St. Paul Commandery of 
Knights Templars, at Dover, New Hampshire, being 
one of the early members of St. Paul Commandery. 
joining in 1858. and is now a Knight Templar de- 
gree member of that great fraternal organization, 
in which he has always taken a just pride, and of 
which he has now been an honored member for 
fifty-nine years. He is a skillful vocalist and in- 
strumental musician, and has freely used his talent 
for the entertainment of his friends, and for the 
promotion of benevolent objects. For over fifty 
years he has been a chorister; he led a well trained 
choir at Salmon Falls, and until comparatively 
recent years enjoyed taking a part in the Barn- 
stead brass band, of which he became a member 
nearly sixty years ago. In addition to the great 
amoiunt of travel he performed in his younger years, 
he has made more extended journeys in recent 
years, and has visited Cuba and seen and studied 
the beauties and the prospects of the "pearl of the 
Antilles." Although now (1906) seventy-nine years 
old. Mr. Hoitt is not an ancient man, but is active 
and alert, and represented his town in the lower 
house of the state legislature in 1901-03. The old 
Congregational Church near his home has always 
been an object of peculiar regard with Mr. Hoitt 
and other members of his family, and once it was 
saved from destruction by his efforts. Extensive 
improvements have been paid for by him and his 
sisters. Among these adornments and embellish- 
ments are windows to the memory of Charlotte 
(Hoitt) Sanborn, to John S. Hoitt, to Henrietta, 
to Harriet N. and her husband Deacon Hiram Rand, 
to Sarah, and to Samuel Freeman, the son of Ellen 
Hoitt, and her husband, J. B. Merrill, and to 
Fannie E. Johnson. Thomas L. Hiott married, in 
Lynn, Massachusetts, .April 10, 1871, Martha Seavey, 
born June 25, 1S33, daughter of Rufus Emerson and 
Eleanor Stacey (Edgecomb) Seavey, of Saco, 
Maine. Rufus E. Seavey was born in Saco. 
Maine. December 23, 1795. and died there, Decem- 
ber 29, 1886, aged ninety-one years. His father was 
Job Seavey. of Scarboro, who died in 1839. Job 
married Jennie Burnham, of Marblehead, Massachu- 
setts. Eleanor Stacey Edgecomb was born in Saco, 
Maine, September 18, 1797, and died January i, 
1882, aged eighty-five. Her father, Elias Edge- 
comb. of Saco, Maine, died February, 1826. His 



vyife was Abigail Woodsum, of Buxton, Maine. 
She was born in 1772 and died in Tulv, i8i6, aged 
eiglity-four. Mr. and Mrs. Hoitt are the paVents of 
one child, a daughter, Henrietta Babson Hoitt, born 
November 26. 1876. He is a skilled musician both 
ni vocal and instrumental music, and is the organist 
of the Congregational Church at Barnstead Parade, 
and a 'competent teacher of both vocal and instru- 
mental music. 

(IV) Daniel, fifth child and fourth son of Ben- 
jamin (i) and Hannah (PillsburyJ Hoitt, was born 
March 25, 1715, was baptized June 5, 1715. and 
"owned "Xe covenant," November 6. 1737. He and his 
wife were taken into the Salisbury Church. August 
26, 17+4, and "dismissed to ye Chh. of & at Epping," 
August 30, 1752. In January, 1743, he bought of 
his brother iMoses (both then living in Salisburv) 
land in Epping, and soon went thither to reside. He 
and his wife were both members of the church in 
Epping in 1755, and Daniel Hoitt is mentioned as 
a member of the church in 1757. Administration 
was granted on his estate the same year. He mar- 
ried, June 24, 1736, Judith Carr (of Carr's Island, in 
the Merrimack river). Their children were: Judith, 
Richard, Benjamin, Daniel, Stephen, Moses and 
Joshua. (The last named and descendants receive 
extended mention in this article). 

(V) Stephen, fifth child and fourth son of Daniel 
and Judith (Carr) Hoitt, was baptized at Epping 
by JMr. Cutler. He lived in Northwood, New Hamp- 
shire most of his life, but died in Canada. He served 
in the revolution. He married (first), Lydia Bos- 
well; (second). January 10, 1795, Rachel Piper, of 
Pembroke, and (third), December 7, 1809. Widow 
Hannah Clapliani, of Lee. The children of Stephen 
and Lydia (Boswell) Hoitt were ; Samuel,' Richard 
Carr, John, Sally, Lydia and Nancy. 

(VI) Samuel, eldest child of Stephen and Lydia 
(Boswell) Hoitt, died May 3, 1819. He moved from 
Northwood probably to Portsmouth in 1809, to 
Madbury in 1814, and to Lee in April, 1816. He 
married Betsey Piper, who outlived him and became 
llie wife of Abraham Batchelder in 1829. The chil- 
dren of Samuel and Betsey Hoitt were ; Gorham 
W., Alfred. Joseph R. W., Mary E. and William 
K. A. Captain Gorham W. was sheriff of Strafford 
county. General Alfred was prominent in legis- 
lative and military circles in New Hampshire. 

(VII) William King Atkinson, fifth child and 
fourth son of Samuel and Betsey (Piper) Hoitt, 
was born in Madbury, November 7, 1S15, and re- 
sided in Dover. He married, March 30, 1843, Sarah 
C. Swain. 

(VIII) Judge Charles W., son of William K. A. 
and Sarah C. (Swain) Hoitt, was born in New 
Market, New Hampshire, October 26, 1847. He at- 
tended the public schools of Dover, was fitted for 
college at Franklin Academy in that city, and by a 
private tutor, and entered Dartmouth College" in 
1867, graduating with the class of 1871. Entering 
the law office of Samuel M. Wheeler, Esq., of Dover, 
in February, 1872, he read law there until the latter 
part of the next August, and then went to Nashua 
as principal of ]Mt. Pleasant school. There his 
record as an instructor and a disciplinarian was an 
enviable one, and he brought an unruly and dilatory 
school up to the standard in all that was essential 
to ample success. In 1874 he resigned his position 
there, and became usher in the Lincoln grammar 
school in Boston, where he served until October. 
1875. He then returned to Nashua and entered 
upon the study of law in the office of Stevens & 
Parker. In 1877, at the September term of the 
supreme court sitting at Nashua, he was admitted to 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Sr 



the Hillsboro bar. July l8 of the preceding year he 
had been appointed clerk of the Nashua police court, 
and he continued to hold that position until Oc- 
tober I, i8Sl, when he resigned. In 1885 he was 
elected city solicitor and re-elected the three follow- 
ing years. April 25, i88g, he was appointed justice 
of the Nashua police court, and held that position 
continuously until he resigned to accept the position 
of United States district attorney. Judge Hoittis 
a well read and successful lawyer, and as a judicial 
officer his course has been such as to make him a 
favorite for the position he holds for the past eight- 
een years. In addition to the positions mentioned 
which Judge Hoitt has held is that of engrossing 
clerk of the legislature, which he filled in 1872 and 
1873, and clerk of the board of education of Nashua, 
in which place he served eight years. In the halls 
of the fraternal and beneficial societies he is well 
known, and is a member of numerous orders. He 
is a thirty-second degree INIason, and a member of 
Rising Sun Lodge, No. 39, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Meridian Sun Royal Arch Chapter, 
No. 9; Council No. 8, Royal and Select Alasters; 
St. George Commandery, Knights Templar; and 
Edward A. Raymond Consistory, thirty-second de- 
gree, Sublime Princes of the Royal Secret, also of 
Pennichuck Lodge, No. 44, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, and Indian Head Encampment, No. 
20, Watananock Tribe No. 14, Improved Order of 
Red iNIen, in which he has held the office of" great 
sachem of the state; governor of Wentworth Colony, 
No. 76, of Pilgrim Fathers ; Lowell Lodge, No. 87, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, at Lowell, 
Massachusetts ; and the City Guard's Veterans Asso- 
ciation. In religious affiliation he is an Episcopal- 
ian. He married, January 14, 1875, Harriette Louisa 
Gilman, who was born in Nashua, October 21, 1853, 
daughter of Virgil C. and Sarah L. (.Newcomb; 
Gilman, of Nashua. Two children were born of 
this marriage : Richard Oilman, born November 
I, 187s, died October i, 18S0; and Robert Virgil, 
born November 19, 1882, died August 22, 1S89. 

(IV) Joseph Hoit, fifth son and sixth child of 
Benjamin (i) and Hannah (Pillsbury) Hoyt, was 
born September 20, 1717, baptized March 19, 1727, 
died 171S. He was taken into the first Salisbury 
Church June 27, 1742. Tradition says that he 
studied medicine a while, but, the physician dying 
with whom he read, he did not continue his studies 
further. He afterwards taught school, and also 
went to sea. He was a stout, heavy man, though 
not very tall, and was much noted fqr his strength. 
It is said he carried a barrel of water from the 
river to his house (in Boscawen) about thirty rods, 
when he was over sixty years old. He was a soldier 
in the Indian war, and many stories are still told 
of his strength and courage. His descendants say, . 
that while stationed at Saco he was once on a scout 
below, when his party discovered an Indian. The 
captain, sergeant, and Josegb immediately started in 
pursuit, but the latter soon distanced the others, and 
overtook the Indian. At another time he and his 
captain were out alone after the cows, when the'ir 
dog began to bark, and they became aware that a 
number of Indians were lurking behind the log 
"where (Major) Sorrel's grave was." The captain, 
however, frightened them by stouting: "if you see 
an inch of their heads, put a bullet in !" and the two 
retreated with their faces to the log, and their guns 
ready to fire, till it was safe to turn and run towards 
their encampment. One of the Indians afterwards 
said to the capt.Tin, "Me might kill you and yaller- 
headed man,'' meaning Joseph who had light hair. 
"You out after cows, little ellamoose (dog) say 'ya ! 
i— 6 



ya ! ya !' " "You cowardly dog, you didn't dare to," 
answered the captain ; to which the Indian only re- 
plied, "Me no orders kill captain." According to the 
statement of the Indians there were fourteen others 
with him behind the log. Amos Hoit states that 
Joseph was one of the rangers under Captain Brad- 
ford, at Saco, in the French and Indian war, and 
thinks he was a clerk or orderly sergeant. He was 
once o,ut with the captain's son, and fell in with a 
party of Indians, yet they were not harmed, as the 
captain's son had previously done the Indians a kind- 
ness. Joseph removed to Boscawen, New Hamp- 
shire, about September, 1761, and was a deacon of 
the Congregational Church there. His name heads 
the "Association Test'' from that town, 1776. Pie 
married (l) Naomi Smith of Exeter, the intentions 
of marriage being filled October 17, 1741 ; and 
(second), Susanna French, who survived him some 
eight or ten years. There was one child by the first 
wife, which died young. Those by the second wife 
were : Oliver, Susanna, James, Jedediah and Jo- 
seph. (The last named is mentioned at length, 
with descendants in this article). 

(V) Oliver, oldest child of Joseph and Susanna 
(French) Hoit, was born November, 1747, baptized 
November 22, 1747, died in Concord, September 11, 
1827, aged eighty. Pie moved with his father to 
Boscawen when about thirteen. He married, when 
eighteen years old, his wife being still younger. In 
1772, he removed to "Plorse Hill," in the northwest 
part of Concord, being the first settler in that part 
of the town. March 7, 1775, the parish of Concord 
voted to lease him for nine hundred years the eighty 
acre school lot, he paying six dollars annually; but 
this vote was reconsidered J\larcli 4, 1777, and the. 
selectmen were "directed to receive of him iioo in 
full consideration for said lot," the money to be 
laid out for a town stock of ammunition. In 1785. 
a part of this powder was used in firing a grand 
salute in honor of the new-born Dauphin of France. 
He subscribed to the Test Oath in 1776. He was one 
of the earliest members of the Baptist Church at 
Concord. Plis daughter Rebecca was the first per- 
son buried in the burying ground at Horse Hill,, 
in 1819. He married (first), Rebecca Gerald, whi> 
died in 1808, aged fifty-eight; and (second), Rhoda 
Hoit, of Newton, widow of Whittier. The children 
of Oliver and Rebecca (Gerald) Hoit were: Sus- 
anna, Moses, Anna, Polly, Phebe, Plannah, James, 
Joseph, Enoch, Sally, ISIehitabel, lizra and Rebecca. 

(VI) Ezra, fifth son and twelfth child of Oliver 
and Rebecca (Gerald) Hoit, was born in Concord, 
July IS, 1789, and resided on Horse Hill, West 
Concord, until his death. He married (first) Abi- 
gail Ferrin, and (second) Fanny Call. His chil- 
dren by the first wife were: Betsy, Albert and 
Isaac F. ; and by the second wife : Cyrus G. died 
young; Francis F. and Cyrus. 

(VII) Francis F., second son and child of Ezra 
and Fanny (Call) Hoit, was born in Concord. He 
was educated in the common schools, and at different 
times was farmer, butcher and proprietor of a livery 
business in Penacook. He was an active and success- 
ful man. He was a Democrat in politics, and liberal 
in his religious views. He married Mandy L. 
Swain, and they had five children: Elizabeth (died 
young). Amanda Livona, residing in Penacook, Mrs. 
Michael Glenn of Penacook, Jeanette Dimond, Lizzie 
Jane, wife of Arthur Wilson of Woodsville and Jud- 
son Frank, whose sketch follows. 

(VIII) Judson Frank Hoit, youngest child of 
Francis F. and Mandy L. (Swain) Hoit, was born 
in Meredith,- September 25, 1864, and educated in 
the schools of Concord, Webster, and the Laconia 



82 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Academy. He has always been a farmer and owns a 
tine farm of two hundred acres in East Concord, 
which he cultivates with profit, and on w'hich he 
keeps twenty cows to supply a milk route in Con^ 
cord. He attends the Congregational Church, is a 
Democrat, active in political circles, and has been a 
member of the school board since 190J ; road over- 
seer since 1900; and police officer suice May 17, 
1901. August 27, 1889, he married Annie M. Hoit, 
daughter of George A. and Addie ^I. Hoit of Con- 
cord. They have three children: Howard Frank, 
born July 6, i8go; Ethel George, September 25, 1892; 
and Lueila Addie, July 2, 1894. One Lewis Judson, 
died in infancy. Mrs. Hoit is a woman of liberal 
education, an active worker in the Congregational 
Church and its societies, and possesses an excellent 
collections of stamps, coins, ancient crockery and 
many antiques of various kinds: (.See Hoit, VHI). 

(.V) Joseph (2), fifth child and fourth son of 
Joseph (l) and Susanna (French) Hoyt, was born 
July 19, 1761, and died April 17, 1839, aged sixty- 
eight years. He removed from I5oicawen after 1788 
to Horse Hill, Concord, where his son Amos subse- 
quently lived. He served in the latter part of the 
Revolution, and was with the traitor, Arnold. The 
name Joseph Hoit appears on various military rolls 
of Xew Hampshire. Joseph Hoit enlisted on or 
before September 9, 1777, in the militia. "Now rais- 
ing to ioyn General Starke at Bennington," in Cap- 
tain Sanborn"s company, of Colonel McClary's reg- 
iment, and was discharged November 30, his time of 
service being two months and twenty-three days, and 
his wages and travel money amounting to ii7 2S 9d. 
Among the state papers of this period is also found 
one of which the following is a copy : "State of 
New Hampshire to the Town of Boscawen, Dr. 
To paying the Travel money of Joseph Hoit, Jere- 
miah Carter, Nathan Carter, and Dan. Shepard from 
Boscawen to Springfield, in September, 1781 a 3d 
per mile, £6 10." He married, April, 1786, Polly 
Elliot, of Concord, who died December 17, 1839, 
aged seventy-four. Their children were: Hannah, 
James, Polly, Benjamin, ^Martha, Joseph, Amos and 
Ruth (Amos and descendants are noticed in this 
article). 

(VI) James, second child and eldest son of 
Joseph and Polly (Elliot) Hoit. was born Septem- 
ber 17, 1788. He owned and operated a blacksmith 
shop in Concord. He married, }vlarch 30, 1818, 
Nancy Abbott. Their children were : Hilary M., 
Rhoda Ann, James Franklin and .Amanda P. 

(VH) Mary M., eldest child of James and 
Nancy (.\bbott) Hoit, was born in December, 1818, 
and married Gilbert Bullock in 1842. (See Bul- 
lock, vni), 

(VH) Rhoda Ann, second daughter and child of 
James and Nancy (Abbott) Hoit, was born in Con- 
cord, September, 1821, and married, 1841, Stephen 
Sewall. (See Sewall, H). 

(VI) Amos, fourth son and seventh child of 
Joseph and Polly (Elliot) Hoit, was born February 
20. 1800, and lived on his father's honistead at Horse 
Hill, where he was a prosperous farmer. He mar- 
ried, April 9, 1822, Betsy Abbott, daughter of Ezra 
Abbott of Concord. They had a family of nine 
children: Martha Jane (wife of Timothy Dow), 
Rose Anna, Polly Elizabeth (Mrs. John Sawyer), 
Harriet Emeline (died in infancy), Sylvester Goin, 
Sarah Eveline, George Abbott, Ruth .Ann Seniira 
(wife of Daniel Tenney) and Joseph Sullivan. 

(VII) George Abbott, second son and seventh 
child of Amos and Betsy (.\bbott) Hoit, was born 
on his father's farm in Concord. .April 14, 1834, 
was educated in the public schools, and learned the 



trade of stone mason. After working at his trade 
for a time he carried on the business of butcher, 
and subsequently bought a farm of two hundred 
and forty acres in East Concord, where he was 
profitably engaged in supplj-ing milk to Concord. 
He is the owner of land at West Yard. In 1861, 
he enlisted in Company E, Seventh Regiment New 
Hampshire Infantry, and participated in twenty 
battles ; was wounded at New Market Road, Vir- 
ginia, October 7, 1864. He was promoted from 
private to first sergeant. He is a member of Wil- 
liam I. Brown Post, Grand Army of the Republic, 
at Penacook; is a Democrat; has held the office of 
alderman and member of the council ; was six years 
selectman of ward two, and in 1899 represented 
his ward in the state legislature. He was married, 
April 29, 1858, to Adeline Mahaia Holmes, who 
was born January 8, 1840. at Boscawen, daughter of 
Ezra and JNIahala E. (Colby) Holmes. She died 
March i, 1892, in East Concord and was buried at 
Penacook. They had two children — Willis Henry, 
the elder, born May i, i860, resides in East Con- 
cord. He married Hannah Letitia Home, and his 
six children living, namely : Jerome Wilson, Mil- 
dred Addie, Georgia Alma, Ruth Annie and George 
Willis (twins) and Leon Wilbarth Sawyer. The 
sixth, Sarah, died before two years old. 

(VIII) Annie M., daughter of George A. and 
Addie M. (Holmes) Hoit, was born April 2, 1866, 
in West Concord, and married Judson F. Hoit (see 
Hoit, VIII). 

(V) Joshua Hoitt, si.xth son and seventh and 
youngest child of Daniel and Judith (Carr) Hoitt, 
was born in Salisbury, Massachusetts, August 15, 
1750, and baptized in Epping, New Hampshire, by 
Rev. Mr. Cutler. Joshua followed his two older 
brothers. Lieutenant Daniel and Stephen, from 
Salisbury, and settled in Northwood, New Hamp- 
shire. He purchased the land and mill privilege near 
the Narrows, upon which he cleared up a farm, 
erected mills, and operated a grist mill, to the 
last of his days. He was a man of means and 
respected by his townsmen. Being a successful mill 
owner and operator, he was well known, and was 
called into the public service, and served as select- 
man from 1792 to 1800. He married Betsy Ger- 
rish, and they were the parents of three sons and 
three daughters : Daniel, Paul Gerrish, Polly, Betsy, 
Judith and Benjamin. 

(VI) Daniel, eldest child of Joshua and Betsy 
(Gerrish) Hoitt, was born in Northwood, October 
7, 1783, and died in Rochester. December 23, 1759, 
aged seventy-six. He was a farmer and lived the 
most of his life in Northwood, but resided a while 
in East Rochester before his death. He married 
(first), December 9, iSog, Rhoda Rawlings; (sec- 
ond) Nancy Shorey. He died December 23, 1859, 
aged seventy-six years. His children, all by the first 
wife, were : Betsey Judith, Joshua, Paul G., Phineas 
D., Mary R., Dolly A. and Fanny J. 

(VH) Joshua (2), third child and eldest son 
of Daniel and Rhoda (Rawlings) Hoitt, was born 
in 'Northwood, March 30, 1812, and died in North- 
wood in March, 1901, aged ninety years. He was a 
cabinet maker by trade, and was known as Joshua 
Hoitt. Jr., of East Northwood. In August, 1862, 
he enlisted at the age of fifty, in Company G, Tenth 
Regiment New Hampshire Volunteers, under the 
command of Captain G. W. Towle, was wounded in 
the battle of Fredericksburg, December, 1862, con- 
tinued in the hospital for a time, came home on a 
furlough, and June 20 following was discharged, 
and was afterward pensioned. In political faith 
he was a Democrat. He married, November 16, 







^^H 


■ 




11 


Bifl^K ^' ^^^^1 


1 




^ 


^^Hk'\^ <^^^| 


k 


^^^^B 


pv 


r • 












;■ 








\ 


, 






, 




■ 




i 









^^jLAy^ u(r> H' (hU.^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



83 



1836, Theodatlia B. Pillsbury, daughter of James 
Pillsbury. They had eight children : Frances Jane, 
Betsy Ann, Charles Henry, James William, jilary 
* Elizabeth, Augustus Joshua, Lewis Alfred and John 
Parker. 

(.VIII) Charles Henry, son of Joshua (,2) and 
Theodatha B. (.Pillsbury) Hoitt, was born March 
II, 1841, in Nottingham. He enlisted in the navy 
in 1861, and served on board of the "Brooklyn'' 
at the mouth of the ^lississippi. After being dis- 
charged from that vessel, he returned home, and 
August 14, 1862, enlisted as a private in Company 
G, Tenth New Hampshire Volunteers. He was 
mustered in September 4, 1862, appointed sergeant 
October 18, 1863, was made first sergeant Way 14, 
1864, and took part in the battle of Drury's Bluff, 
Virginia, where he was wounded. He was carried 
to Point Lookout, Maryland, where he died June 
29, 1864. For gallantry in action he was appointed 
-econd lieutenant, July 13, 1864, and notice of his 
death was officially received at the war department, 
July 20, 1864. 

(VllI) James W., son of Joshua (2) and 
Theodatha B. (.Pillsbury) Fioitt, was born in Not- 
tingham, October 23, 1842, and enlisted in Company 
]'!, Second New Hampshire Volunteers, May 25. 
1861, as a private, and was discharged on account 
of disability July 3, 1861, at Washington, D. C. 

(VIII) Augustus Joshua, son of Joshua (2) 
and Theodatha B. (Pillsbury) Hoitt, was born in 
Northwood, New Hampshire, December 18, 1845, 
and educated in the common schools. September 
26, 1861, he enlisted in Company A, and was mus- 
tered into the United States service as a private, 
October 12, 1861. He re-enlisted and was mus- 
tered in January i, 1864, and was wounded at Cold 
Harbor, Virginia, June 3, 1864. He was appointed 
captain of Company I, October 28, 1864, and mus- 
tered out June 28, 1865. He served through the 
war, participating in si.xteen battles, and at the sur- 
render of General Lee at Appomattox, the regi- 
mental commander being absent, he, as the senior 
captain in point of service, took command of the 
regiment, and brought it to Washington, w'here it 
participated in the "Grand Review" by the general 
officers. On leaving the army Captain Floitt settled 
in Lynn, Massachusetts. On account of his fitness 
and also on account of his war record, he was 
place in various responsible offices. He was elected 
to the common council, was city marshal two years, 
was appointed postmaster of Lynn by President 
Harrison, and was appointed by Pfesident Mc- 
Kinley, July, 1898, pension agent for the states of 
Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut, which 
position he has ever since hlled. He also has 
charge of the payment of all naval pensions in New 
England, annually disbursing the sum of eight mil- 
lion dollars. Captain Hoitt's career has been active, 
prolonged and useful, and by his honorable conduct 
in the discharge of his duties and his afTfable and 
genial manner, he has surrounded himself by a 
large circle of admiring friends. It goes without 
saying that he is a lifelong Republican. In re- 
ligion he is a member of the First Universalist 
parish of Lynn. He is active in Grand .-Xriny 
circles, and has been commander of General Lander 
Post, No. 5, of Lynn, three times, and he was for- 
merly commander of Post No. 26. Department of 
Vermont, at Bennington, in wdiich place he resided 
for a short time. He married Augusta Howard, 
daughter of Alfred P. Floward, of North Benning- 
ton, Vermont. They lost two children as infants. 

(Ill) Joseph, fifth child and third son of John 
(2) and ISIary (Barnes) Hoyt, was born July 14, 



i6(j6, and died intestate in 1719 or 1720. He was 
chosen tithingman,' March 9, 1710; selectman, 1712; 
and a member of the grand jury, 1713. He probably 
lived on the homestead of his grandfather John 
(I) Hoyt, somewhere near the Pow'wow- river. His 
widow's third included the house and one acre of 
land on the west side of the country road, land 
on the Powwow, six acres at "Lyon's Mouth," on 
the Powwow, and other land. The inventory of his 
estate amounted to three hundred seventeen pounds 
and twelve shillings. He married, October 5. 1702, 
Dorothy Worthen, who married Daniel Flanders, 
in 1724. The children of Joseph and Dorothy were : 
John, Mehetable, Joseph, Ezekiel, Judith, Nathan, 
Moses and Dorothy. 

(IV) John, eldest child of Joseph and Dorothy 
(Worthen) Hoyt, was born July 2, 1703, and died 
intestate, in South Hampton, as early as 1754. He 
bought the shares of Mehetable, Joseph, and Dor- 
othy, in his father's estate. John and wife J\Iary, 
were dismissed from the First Church in .\mes- 
bnry (East Parish) to the South Hampton Church, 
March 18, 1744. His children were all born in 
Amesbury, except possibly the youngest. The in- 
ventory of his estate was dated April 19, 1754. He 
married, December 15, 1726, ]\Iary Eastman, of 
Salisbury, and they had seven children : Joseph, 
John, Jonathan, David, Benjamin, Samuel and East- 
man (the last two and descendants receive further 
mention in this article). 

(V) Captain Joseph (2), eldest child of John 
and ]\Iary (Eastman) Hoyt, was born at Lyon's 
Mouth, 1727, and died about 1808. As early as 
1752 he was living in that part of Brentwood, New 
Hampshire, incorporated as Poplin in 1764. He 
was taxed in Poplin as late as 1772, out very soon 
afterward removed to Grafton, where he was one 
of the earliest settlers. Tradition says that the 
first orchard set out in Grafton consisted of one 
hundred trees carried there from Poplin by Joseph's 
wife. It as said that Joseph raised twenty men, 
and went as captain, when the Indians burned 
Royalton, but did not reach the place. He paid 
all the expenses himself, but when his son Ebenezer 
was a member of the legislature, the money was 
refunded. An old arm chair, silver shoe buckles, 
and several other ancient relics, some of which are 
said to have been brought from England, are pre- 
served in the family. It will be seen that he was 
the oldest son of the oldest son of Joseph (3), and 
as Joseph (3) probably occupied the homestead of 
John, the inmugrant, it is possible some of these 
things may have been quite ancient. He married 
(first) Sarah Collins, and (second) Widovv Ruth 
(Clough) Brown, of Poplin. His children, all by 
the first wife, were : Elizabeth, John, Joseph, 
Ebenezer, Sarah, Apphia. Dorothy and Jerusha. 

(VI) Joseph (3), third child and second son 
of (Zaptain Joseph and Sarah (Collins) Hoyt, was - 
born October 11, 1754, and died April 8, iSoi. He 
lived in Grafton until about 1800, then removed to 
Bolton, Lower Canada. Fie married, August 11, 
1774, ^lary Cass, died February 2, 181 1. and they 
were the parents of fifteen children : Joseph, Han- 
nah, Polly, Benjamin, Ebenezer, Chandler, Sarah, 
Nason, John, Sanniel. .\mherst, Dorothy, Moses 
Lewis, -Asa and Sherburn. 

(VII) Amherst, eleventh child and eighth son 
of Joseph (3) and Mary (Cass) Hoyt, born July 
12, 1789, and died in 1852, removed to Missouri 
in 1850. He married Sarah Chapman, who died 
in 1851. Their children were: Washington, Am- 
herst, Joseph, Sarah, Stephen, Susan, Amos, Asaliel 
and ?lazen. 



84 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(VIII) Joseph (4), third son and child of Am- 
herst and Sarah (Chapman) Hoyt, was born Au- 
gust 3, 1817. He had a large amount of land, and 
was a wealthy farmer in Magog, Province of Que- 
bec. He married, June 21, 1S40, Susan Currier, 
daughter of Henry Currier, and they had live chil- 
dren, all born in Magog: Wallace N., Ahvilda 
A., Arreta F., Alfaretta J. and Adrian Hazen, next 
mentioned. 

(IX; Adrian Hazen Hoyt, M. D., youngest child 
of Joseph (4) and Susan (Currier). Hoyt, born at 
Magog, Province of Quebec, i\Iarch 7, 1862, at- 
tended the public schools of his native town, and 
the business college of Davis and Dewie in Mont- 
real, and subsequently matriculated at Dartmouth 
College, from which he was graduated with the 
class of 1S87, with the degree of M. D. Returning 
to Magog he began the practice of his profession 
there, but finding it not congenial to his bent of 
mind, he went to St. Johnsbury, Vermont, where he 
entered the employ of the Standard Electric Com- 
pany. A year and a half later he removed to Alan- 
chester, New Hampshire, and engaged in electrical 
experimental work for several years. Later he ac- 
cepted the position of manager of the Whitney 
Electrical Instrument Company, when it began to 
operate in Manchester, and when it removed to 
Penacook he contmued as superintendent and man- 
ager of the company, tilling those positions until 
1905. In that year he built his present residence 
in Penacook, and engaged in business for himself. 
He has since erected a shop and employs a number 
of mechanics in the manufacture of electrical instru- 
ments and automobiles, and m doing repair work. 
In addition to his other work, in the year 1905 he 
was instructor in manual training and electrics hi 
St. Paul's School. Dr. Hoyt displays the same 
energy and enthusiasm in his industrial employ- 
ment and in inventing, that his forefathers, "the 
fighting Hoyti," did in subduing the wilderness, 
and carrying on war against the enemies of their 
country. He has secured twenty-five or more pat- 
ents on electrical measuring instruments and scien- 
tific apparatus. A number of these devices are 
used in the construction of automobiles, in which 
Dr. Hoyt has always taken a deep interest, he be- 
ing the first owner and user of an automobile in the 
state of New Hampshire. He is the inventor of 
the alternating current ammeter, and was one of 
the first in America to make practical use of the 
X-ray. He is a member of the Methodist Church, 
and votes the Republican ticket. He is also a mem- 
ber of Contoocook Lodge, No. 26, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows; of Hannah Dustin Rebekah Lodge, 
and a thirty-second degree Mason, having received 
the degrees of both the Scottish Rites and the 
Kinghts Templar. 

He married, in Magog, Province of Quebec, 
June 13, 1887, Lizzie C. Schedrick, born at Magog, 
November 28, 1S68, daughter of Daniel and Almeda 
Schedrick. They have one child, Wallace, born 
October 15, 1888, now (1906) a student in the high 
school. 

(V) Samuel, sixth of the seven sons of John 
and Mary (Eastman) Hoyt, was born in Amesbury, 
Massachusetts, January 24, 1739-40. He lived in 
Poplin, now Fremont, New Harnpshire, in 1764, 
and his name appears on the tax list of that town 
in 1765; but he was living in Chester, New Hamp- 
shire, in June, 1765. He came to Hopkinton, New 
Hampshire, as early as February, 1767, where he 
lived till his death, which occurred November 22, 
1S21. He was thrice married. His first wife was 
Joanna Brown, who died January i, 1778. They 



had six children : Jonathan, who moved to Pom- 
fret, Vermont; Joanna, who married Samuel Blais- 
dell ; Samuel; John, who moved to Canada; and 
Lydia, who died in 1777, the year of her birth. 
His second wife was Mrs. Anna (Sibley) Stevens, 
who died September 14, 1792. They had four chil- 
dren: Lydia, who married Jonathan Bean, of Salis- 
bury, New Hampshire ; Anna, who married Dorcot 
Paul Tenney, and lived at first in Wilniot, New 
Hampshire, and then went West; William, who 
lived in Hopkinton, New Hampshire ; and Sarah, 
who married John Hoit. Samuel Hoyt's third wife, 
who survived him, was Mrs. jNIehetabel Kilborn, of 
Weare, New Hampshire, who- died November 15, 
1833. Samuel Hoyt was nearly eighty-two when 
he died, and he had been a resident ot Hopkinton 
for almost fifty-five years, where his whole married 
life was spent. 

(VI) William, only son and third of the four 
children of Samuel Hoyt and his second wife, Mrs. 
Anna (Sibley; Stevens, was born in Hopkinton, 
New Hampshire, July 24, 1783. He married Polly 
French, ot Weare, New Hampshire, on February 
28, 1805. His home was in Hopkinton, New Hamp- 
shire, where he died February 19, 1S13, before 
he had completed his thirtieth year. His widow af- 
terwards married Enoch Hoit, a remote cousin, who 
spelled his name dilterently, and moved to Horse 
Hill, West Concord, New Hampshire, where she 
died August 2, 1848. William and Polly (French) 
Hoyt had five children : Freeman, who went to 
Sumterville, South Carolina; Sewel, who lived in 
Concord, New' Flampshire; Mary French, who mar- 
ried a man by the name of Lynam K. Cheney; Wil- 
liam, who also went to Sumterville ; and French, who 
died young. By her second marriage !Mrs. Mary 
(French; Hoyt (she seems to have dropped the 
diminutive "Polly" after she became a widow; had 
nine children : Robert B. ; Oilman T., who died 
at twenty-four; Oliver, who died at twenty-five; 
and a twin sister who died in babyhood; Priscilla 
M., who lived to be ten years of age; Rosette and 
Jennette, another pair of twins ; Henriette and a 
sister who died at birth, the third pair of twins ; 
and Enoch Wyette, who died at the age of five 
years. 

(VII) Sewel Hoit, who spelled his name with 
an i, after his stepfather's fashion, was the second 
son and child of William and Mary (French) 
Hoyt. He was born in Fiopkinton, New Hampshire, 
February 2, 1807. He was twice married. His 
first wife was Catherine PiUsbury, from that part 
of Concord, New Hampshire, now called Penacook. 
She died October 19, 1843, aged twenty-three. There 
were no children. He married his second wife, 
Hannah Elizabeth Nichols, daughter of Luther 
Weston and Hannah (Tompkins; Nichols, at Am- 
herst, New Hampshire, March 4, 1852. There were 
two children : An infant, who was born and died 
in 1856; and Jane Elizabeth, the subject of the 
succeeding sketch, who was born September 23, 
i860. 

Mrs. H. Elizabeth (Nichols) Hoit belonged to 
one of the old New England families. Her grand- 
father, Timothy Nichols, was third in descent from 
Richard Nichols, the original immigrant, who came 
from England to Ipswich, JMassachusetts, and later 
settled in Reading. See Nichols family. (IV) Tim- 
othy Nichols, Jr., second son and youngest of the 
three children of Timothy and Mehitabel (Weston) 
Nichols, was born in Reading, Massachusetts, 
February 16, 1756. He was a soldier in the Revo- 
lution. In the year 1778 a brigade of New Hamp- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



85 



shire militia was sent to Rhode Island under the 
command of General William Whipple. Colonel 
Moses Nichols, of Amherst, New Hampshire, com- 
manded one of the regiments, and Timothy Nichols, 
Jr., then of Amherst, served in the company com- 
manded by Captain Josiah Crosby. The latter part 
of the next year Timothy Nichols, Jr., married 
Susannah, daughter of Captain Archelaus Towne, 
of Amherst, New Hampshire. She was born De- 
cember 29, 1762, and they were married October 21, 
1779. They settled in Amherst, but later moved 
to Norwich, Vermont, where she died December 2, 
1840. Mr. Nichols lived till August 22, 1846. They 
had nine children, two of whom married and went 
to live in Concord, New Hampshire, where they held 
leading positions. One of the sons, John Perkins, 
went to Boston where his son. Dr. Arthur H. Nichols, 
has been for several years a noted physician. Dr. 
Nichols' winter home is on Mount Vernon, street, 
but he has a summer place at Cornish, New Hamp- 
shire, where his daughter. Miss Rose Elizabeth 
Nichols, has a famous garden. Miss Nichols has 
travelled and studied much in Europe, and is an 
authority on landscape gardening. She has re- 
cently published a book on "Famous Gardens in 
Europe." The children of Timothy Nichols, Jr., 
and his wife, Susannah Towne, were : Susannah, 
who married John Smith, of Bradford, and died 
without children; Grace Gardner, who married 
William Low, Jr., lived in Concord, New Hamp- 
shire, and died without children ; Sophia, who mar- 
ried Deacon Benjamin Damon, Jr., and lived in 
Concord, New Hampshire ; Luther Weston, who is 
mentioned in the succeeding paragraph ; Leonard 
Towne, who married Fanny Blanchard ; Lattin j\lor- 
ris, who married Clarissa Safford ; John Perkins, 
who married I\lay Ann Clark; Robert, who mar- 
ried Betsey Ainsworth ; and Charles, the youngest, 
who was born December 9, 1808. 

(V) Luther Weston, eldest son and fourth 
child of Timothy, Jr., and Susannah (.Towne) 
Nichols, was born in Amherst, New Hampshire, 
April 22, 1789. He married, in Boston, Massachu- 
setts, July 19, 1812, Hannah Tompkins, seventh of 
the fourteen children of Gamaliel and jNIary 
(Church) Tompkins, of Little Compton, Rhode 
Island. She was born April 18, 1790. Luther W. 
and Hannah (Tompkins) Nichols had four chil- 
dren : Jane Franklin, born March 12, 1813 ; Charles 
Hambleton, born December 31, 1814; Luther Wash- 
ington, born December 4, 1818; Hannah Elizabeth, 
born July 12, 1828. Mr. Nichols was for many 
years a dry goods merchant in Bostoii, Massachu- 
setts. His store was in Washington street, and 
his home from 1832 to 1850 was on Gooch street. 
In the latter year the family removed to Amherst, 
New Hampshire, where they lived in a fine old 
mansion, formerly the Hillsborough County Bank, 
in which the original formidable safes still remain. 
Mrs. Hannah (Tompkins) Nichols died December 
25, 1S52. Her husband subsequently married Mrs. 
Lucy R. Home, who lived till June 17, 1878. He 
died April 9, 1866. 

Hannah Elizabeth, youngest of the four chil- 
dren of Luther Weston and Hannah (Tompkins) 
Nichols, was born in Boston, Massachusetts, July 
12, 1828. Upon her marriage to Sewel Hoit, March 
4, 1852, she came to Concord, New Hampshire, to 
live, and that city was ever alter her home save 
for a few years subsequent to her second marriage 
when she lived in ^larlboro, New Hampshire. 
Sewel Hoit learned the carpenter's trade, and in 
early life he located in Concord, where many sub- 
stantial buildings still testify to the . excellence of 



his work. About 1840 he built the dignified dwelling 
on the corner of State and Maple streets which has 
always remained in the possession of the family 
and is now the home of his daughter. One of the 
most important of his works was the building of 
the third house of worship of the First Congrega- 
tional Church, or Old North, as it is usually called. 
This structure was completed in 1842 and stood 
on the corner of Main and Washington streets until 
it was destroyed by fire in July, 1873. It was a 
wooden building, painted white, with pillars in 
front, and is pleasantly remembered by our older 
citizens. Mr. Hoit did some farming in later life 
on a large tract of land which he owned, between 
what is now the Reservoir and Bradley street. He 
was a Republican in politics, and served as as- 
sessor from Ward Four in 1858 and 1859. He was 
a member of the Governor's Horse Guards, a noted 
military company with resplendent uniforms, which 
flourished in Concord from i860 to 1865, inclu- 
sive. Mr. and jNlrs. Hoit were members of the 
First Congregational Church. Mrs. Hoit was an 
interesting woman, of agreeable social qualities, ac- 
tive in church and missionary work, fond of travel 
and given to hospitality. Sewel Hoit died at Con- 
cord, New Hampshire, January 22, 1875, and was 
buried in the family tomb in the Old North Ceme- 
tery. Four years later his widow married Frank- 
lin R. Thurston, of Marlboro, New Hampshire. 
They were married on Thanksgiving Day, 1879, 
and went to live in Mr. Thurston's home at I^Iarl- 
boro, where they remained till 1885, when they re- 
turned to the Hoyt homestead in Concord, New 
Hampshire. JNlrs. H. Elizabeth (Nichols) Hoit 
Thurston died at Concord, New Hampshire, April 
30, 1S97. Mr. Thurston died at the home of his 
daughter in Concord, Massachusetts, January 4, 
1901. 

(VIII) Jane Elizabeth, only living child of 
Sewel and H. Elizabeth (Nichols) Hoit, was born 
in the old homestead which her father built and 
where she now lives, on Sunday,' September 23, 
i860. She was educated in the public schools of 
Concord, and was a student at Wellesley College 
from 1879 to 1883. She began her medical course 
in the autumn of 1886 at the Woman's Medical 
College of the New York Infirmary (the Black well 
College) in New York City. She was graduated 
in medicine May 28, i8go. During her last year 
of student life she held the position of second as- 
sistant in the New York Infant Asylum. The po- 
sition has only twice been given to an undergradu- 
ate. Dr. Hoyt (she has reverted to the original 
spelling of the surname) spent the summer of 1890 
in England and Scotland, and in September she re- 
turned to this country to assume the duties of 
resident physician at Lassell Seminary, a noted 
school for girls at Auburndale, Massachusetts. 
While here she gave daily morning service in the 
surgical room at the Boston Dispen.sary in Bennet 
street. She served as interne in the New England 
Hospital for Women and Children at Boston for 
one year, beginning June i, 1891. 

In June, 1892, Dr. Hoyt sailed again for Europe 
to pursue a- year's study in the hospitals. The 
summer months were spent at Heidelberg in the 
acquirement of the German language. In the au- 
tumn she began work at the University of Vienna 
under Professors Schauter, Hertzfeld, Kaposi and 
Lukasieweiz. Upon her return to Concord, New 
Hampshire, June, 1893, she began the practice of 
medicine at her old home, being the first woman 
of Concord birth to establish herself as a physician. 
She had a successful practice for six years, and 



86 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



then decided, after the death of her mother, to make 
a third visit to Europe. She left Concord in Janu- 
ary, iSgp, and remained abroad nearly three years. 
About half of this period was given to lectures in 
the University of Leipsic. Nine months were spent 
in Italy in the study of the history of art, and three 
months were given to travel in North Africa, where 
she visited Tunis, Algiers, and the Desert of Sahara. 
In June, 1902, Dr. Hoyt again resumed the prac- 
tice of her profession in Concord. In April, 1906, 
she went abroad for the fourth time, remaining 
three months. On this occasion she went as dele- 
gate from New Hampshire to the International 
Medical Congress, which met at Lisbon, Portugal. 
She then travelled through Spain, which country 
she had not previously visited, and again went to 
North Africa, including Tangier in her trip. Upon 
her return to Concord in July she brought with 
her a little Spanish boy, Abelardo Linares, of 
Granada, Spain, whose parents wish him to have 
an American education. He is a member of her 
household at North State street. Dr. Hoyt's home 
is filled with souvenirs of foreign travel. Among 
other valuables she has a collection of over three 
thousand photographs. She has always had a strong 
interest in art, and has occasionally lectured on the 
subject. She has one of the largest general libraries 
in town, with a fine collection of books in various 
languages. She has written much for publication ; 
newspaper letters of foreign travel, and reports em- 
bodyhig scientific research. The latter articles have 
appeared in the Transactions of the New Hamp- 
shire Medical Society and in various medical jour- 
nals. 

Dr. Hoyt is a woman of intense activity, and 
has many and varied interests. She is a life mem- 
ber of the New Hampshire Historical Society, of 
the Woman's Hospital Aid AsstJciation, the New 
Hampshire Cent Union and the New Hampshire 
Bible Society; also of the Seaman's Friends Society 
and the Concord Female Charitable Society, founded 
in 1812, and of ihe Woman's Medical Association of 
New York City. She is a member of the New 
Hampshire Medical Society, the Center District 
Medical Society, the National Medical Association, 
the New England Hospital Medical Society, and 
the New Hampshire Equal Suffrage Association. 
Doctor Hoyt belongs to many local clubs,- literary, 
philanthropic and special. She was a charter mem- 
ber Of the Outing Club, founded in 1896, whose 
country house. Camp Weetamoo, was the first in 
the state to be established for the out-door recre- 
ation of women. She was chairman on the building 
cojnmittee of same. Dr. Hoyt has always been 
deeply interested in religious matters. From infancy 
she was called "one of Dr. Bouton's girls." She 
was the last person outside the immediate family 
to speak with him before his death, and this was 
in response to his expressed wish. Deacon William 
G. Brown, from the year 1S76 to the year of his 
death (and this occurred at the Hoit home April 
5, 1892), made his headquarters here whenever his 
duties in behalf of the Bible Society called him to 
Concord. His death was occasioned from angina 
pectoris. He was found in tie morning — having 
failed to appear at breakfast— dead in his bed. At 
the age of fourteen she joined the North Congrega- 
tional Church of Concord, under the pastorate of 
Rev. Franklin D. Ayer, D. D. She continued her 
membership in this church till 1897. After her re- 
turn from her third and longest sojourn in Europe 
she became a communicant of St. Paul's Church, 
Protestant Episcopal, of Concord, New Hamp- 
shire. 



On June 26, 1907, at her home in Concord, Dr. 
Jane Elizabeth Hoyt was married to George Wash- 
ington Stevens, of Claremont, New Hampshire. 
Mr. Stevens is the eldest of the seven children of 
William Jackson and Cynthia (Young) Stevens, 
and was born at Acworth, New Hampshire, Novem- 
ber 10, 1843. His grandfather, David Stevens, who 
married Abigail Foster, lived at Salisbury, this 
state, which place was at one time called Stevens- 
town, from the original grantee, Ebenezer Stevens. 
While still an infant George W. Stevens moved 
with his people to Salisbury, where he remained till 
he reached his majority. He then returned to 
Acworth for a few years, and lived in Unity from 
1874 to 1876, in Charlestown during 1876 and 1S77, 
and for the next thirty years in Claremont, bemg 
for forty-five years a respected citizen of Sullivan 
county. Mr. Stevens is highly esteemed by the 
people of Claremont, where the most active half 
of his life has been passed, and where he has al- 
ways been an active promoter of the public weal. 
He is an active member of the Methodist Church 
there, and has been class leader thirteen years, 
superintendent of the Sunday-school eighteen years, 
trustee of the church twenty-five years, and for 
nineteen years treasurer of the Claremont Junction 
Union Camp Electing Association. In politics Mr. 
Stevens is a strong Republican, and was road com- 
missioner of Claremont for eight years between 
1895 and 1905, tree warden from 1901 to 1905, and 
a representative to the legislature in 1905. Mr. 
Stevens is interested in the Patrons of Husbandry, 
and belongs to the Claremont Subordinate Grange, 
the Sullivan County Pomona Grange, and the State 
and the National Grange. George W. Stevens 
married for his first wife, January 12, 1874, Mrs. 
Julia R. (Bailey) Neal, daughter of Ucal and Chloe 
W. (Twitchell) Bailey of Unity, New Hampshire. 
Her first husband. Ransom JMerritt Neal, was one 
of the earliest volunteers of the civil war, and 
died of diphtheria in the fall of 1861. Mrs. Julia 
(Bailey) (.Neal) Stevens died in Claremont, Sep- 
tember I, 1903, leaving no children. 

(V) Eastman, seventh son and child of John 
and Mary (Eastman) Hoit, was living in South 
Hampton in 1765. His name is on the Poplin tax 
list for 1766-67 and 69; but the records of Hop- 
kinton state that his oldest child was born at South 
Flampton, February, 1767, and the second one at 
Hopkinton, January, 1769. He was probably still 
living at Hopkinton in 1791, but removed with his 
family to Windsor', Vermont, and died in West- 
moreland, New Hampshire. He married Martha 
Clough, daughter of Sarah and sister of Theophilus. 
their children were : Hannah, Sarah, John, iNlartha, 
Theophilus, Molly, Richard, Jonathan and Joseph. 

(VI) Richard, third son and seventh child of 
Eastman and i^Iartha (Clough) Hoit, was born 
July 23, 1779, and died September 4, 1852. He was 
a farmer and moved to Candia, where he built a 
large house which is still standing. It is said that 
the frame of this house was made and erected by a 
neighbor, who received as payment for his work 
a colt valued at twenty dollars. Mr. Hoit was a 
member of the Baptist Church, and in politics a 
Democrat ; was prominent in town affairs, and is 
said to have filled nearly all the town offices. He 
married (first) Rhoda Merrill, June 16, 1803; and 
(second), 1812, Margaret Wilson, daughter of 
Colonel Wilson, one of the pioneer settlers of 
Candia. His children, all by the second wife, were : 
Rhoda, Mercy, Margaret W., William, Sarah J., 
Lorenzo and Ariann. 

(VII) Lorenzo, second son and sixth cliiUl of 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



87 



Richard and Margaret (Wilson) Hoit, born in 
Candia, March 30, 1824, was educated ni the com- 
mon schools, and engaged in farmnig with his 
father. In early life he bought a house in Sun- 
cook, where he died January, 1896. He and his 
wife were members of the Baptist Church. He 
was a Republican, took an interest in public affairs 
and filled town offices. He married, 1850, Alary Ann 
Maria Bartlett, born in Epsom, died in Bedford, 
April, 1903, and they had four children: Mason 
R., John Dayton, Abbie, and Henry W., whose 
sketch follows. 

(Vni) Henry Wilson, youngest child of Lor- 
enzo and Mary A. M. (Bartlett) Hoit, was born 
in Candia, June 8, 1868, and educated in the dis- 
trict schools and the Candia high school. He suc- 
ceeded his father on the homestead, which he car- 
ried on several years and then sold; he removed to 
Bedford in 1898 and bought a farm where he now 
lives. He is a farmer and a dealer in horses and 
cattle, and keeps a herd of milch cows. In politics 
he is a Republican, and has held the office of auditor 
two terms. He is also a member of the Methodist 
Church, and is a member of Oak Hill Lodge, No. 
97, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in which 
he has been an officer. He married (first), May 
27, 1892, Myrtle Colby, born in Boston, JSIassachu- 
setts, daughter of George and Anne (Wilson) Colby, 
of Candia. She died May 8, 1901, and he married 
(second), August 2, 1903, Emma jNIcGibbon, daugh- 
ter of William and Katherine (Burns) JMcGibbon, 
of northern New York. There is one child by the 
first wife, Elsie Vilena, born June 20, 1895. 

This is one of the oldest New Eng- 
BICKFORD land families which has been lo- 
cated from the beginning within 
the limits of New Hampshire, and has been honor- 
ably identified with the progress of the state in its 
material and moral development from shortly after 
the first settlement to the present time. 

(,1) John Bickford, born in England, was liv- 
ing at Oyster River, in Dover, New Hampshire, 
as early as July 17. 1645. on which day "Darbey 
Field of Oyster River, in the River of Piscataquay, 
county of Norfolk, planter," sold John Bickford his 
dwelling house at Oyster River, then "in the tenure 
of the said Bickford," w^ith a lot of five or six 
acres adjoining on the land towards the creek on 
the side towards Little Bay, except the strip on 
said creek in possession of Thomas Willey. On 
June 23, 1684, John Bickford, with tlie consent of 
his "wife Temperance," conveyed to his son, 
Thomas, "all his house lands lying at ye poynt of 
Oyster River." After selling or rather presenting 
this land to his son, John Bickford went to New- 
ington Shore, where he owned several tracts of 
land, one near Bloody Point, one at Fox Point and 
the third one along the point where he established 
himself. His children and grandchildren intermar- 
ried with the chief families of Newington, Harri- 
sons, Dowings, Knights, Pickerins, Goes, Furbers 
and others. His wife's name of Temperance was 
perpetuated by her descendants through many gen- 
erations. They were probably the parents of John 
Bickford, who is mentioned at length in this 
article. 

(,11) Captain Thomas, son of John and Tem- 
perance Bickford, w-as born 1656, in Dover, and lived 
and died in that town. 

(III) Joseph Bickford was born 1696, in Dover, 
and lived and died in that town, where he was 
a farmer. He married .'\licc Edgerly. 

(IV) Ephraim, son of Joseph and .\lice 



(Edgerly) Bickford, was born 1743, in Dover, and 
was a farmer in that town, where he died May 
31, 1783. He was married, March 22, 1772, to 
Sarah Bickford. He lived at Durham Point and 
maintained a garrison there, which was success- 
fully defended against an attack of the Indians 
in 1694, at the time when so many other garrisons 
were destroyed. He was alone at the time accord- 
ing to the provincial papers, and later soldiers were 
quartered there by the provincial government. Dur- 
ing the attack in 1794 he had sent his family ott 
by water, and remained to defend the place or die 
in the attempt. He shouted forth his commands 
as though he had a squad of soldiers, and presented 
himself every few moments in a change of uniform 
to appear like another man, and blazed away at the 
enemy, wounding some of their number. This ruse 
so elt'ectually deceived them, that they speedily gave 
up the attempt to destroy the garrison, apparently 
so well manned. The children of Ephraim and 
Sarah Bickford were: Aaron, Deborah, Joseph, 
Ephraim, Susanna and Thomas. 

(V) Thomas, son of Ephraim and Sarah (Bick- 
ford) Bickford, was born August 8, 1791, in Dover, 
and lived in that town. He was a farmer by oc- 
cupation, and died October 9, 1865. He was one 
of the reputable citizens of Dover. He was married, 
1816, to Olive Ann Estes. 

(VI) Dr. Alphonsus Bickford, son of Thomas 
and Ann (Estes) Bickford, was born in 1S17, in 
Dover, and continued to reside in that town 
through his life, dying December 31, l86g. He was 
educated in the common schools of the town and 
Franklin Academy, and read medicine with Dr. 
George Kittre3ge, oji Dover. He graduated in 1S37 
from Bowdoin Medical College, and began practice 
at once in Durham. In 1848 he moved to Dover, 
and very soon entered upon an extensive practice 
which continued until his death from consumption. 
He was very skillful and successful, and stood at 
the head of his profession in Dover, being at the 
same time popular with all classes. In i860 he was 
elected mayor of Dover, and entered upon his 
duties the following January. By re-election he 
served a second term. During his incumbency in 
that office the great civil war began, and on .\pril 
15, 1861, Mayor Bickford called a public meeting 
of the citizens to see what should be done. The 
meeting was held in the court room in the city 
building, and was crowded to overflowing. The 
leading men of both parties were present, and Mayor 
Bickford made a patriotic address, urging im- 
mediate action in aid of the president in his pur- 
poses to suppress rebellion. Ten vice-presidents 
were elected from among the leaders of both the 
Republican and Democratic parties, and patriotic 
re'solutions were unanimously adopted, pledging sup- 
port to President Lincoln. A committee w^-is ap- 
pointed to raise volunteers, and George W. Col- 
bath, who enlisted at this time, was the first volun- 
teer from the state of New Hampshire. In a very 
short time a company of one hundred men was 
ready to march to Concord to be mustered into the 
service. Within three days Mayor Bickford had 
a meeting of the city council called to ratify the 
plans made, and at its suggestion an appropriation 
of ten thousand dollars was made to aid the 
families of any volunteers who might be in need 
while their heads w-ere at the front in defense of 
their country. In less than a week the committee 
had enough names for a second company of volun- 
teers. The mayor continued in vigorous support 
of any war measures that were necessary through- 
out his term of office. When the diflicult matter of 



88 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



city finances were to be handled after the war, 
Dr. Bickford was elected alderman and served in 
1866-67, aiding very much by his experience and 
judgment in solving these matters. He was popular 
with his fellow physicians as well as with the 
general public. He was a fellow of the New Hamp- 
shire Medical Society and a member of the Straf- 
ford District Medical Society, of which he was presi- 
dent at the time of his death. He was married. 
May 29, 1S39, to Mary Johanna Smith, and their 
children were : Mary Ellen, Elizabeth and Frances. 
(.VII) Frances, youngest daughter of Dr. Al- 
phonsus and Mary J. (.Smith) Bickford, born 
February 14, 1850, was married October 18, 1870, 
to Elisha Rhodes Brown (see Brown, VIII). 



Among the proprietors of Roches- 

BICKFORD ter, 1722, was John Bickford, who 

was a whole-share proprietor ; and 

Jethro Bickford, who was a half-share proprietor; 

and another John Bickford, a half-share proprietor. 

These Johns were probably father and son. 

(II) John (2) and Elizabeth Bickford were 
living in Dover, New Hampshire, and were the 
parents of the following children, born from 1692 
to 1705 : JNlartha, Thomas, John, Henry and Jo- 
seph. 

(III) John (3) Bickford was born March 10, 
1698, and was a prominent citizen of Rochester. 
John Bickford was proprietors' selectman in 1732-42- 
50, town selectman, 1/37-38-43-45-50-52-53-55-59, and 
clerk 1738-43-46-47. October 21, 1751, the pro- 
prietors appointed Walter Bryant, John Bickford, 
and John Leighton "to lay out all the lands above 
the second division." ITe was also' prominent in 
church matters as early as 1734! 

(IV) John (4), son of John (3) Bickford, 
born March 10, 1648, was town clerk of Rochester 

1/45-52-55- 

(V) Jethro was the son of John (4) Bick- 
ford. 

(VI) Jethro (2), a son of Jethro (i) Bick- 
ford, was born and died in Rochester, where he 
■was a farmer. He had two children: John and 
Isaac. 

(VII) John (5), son of Jethro (2) Bickford, 
was. born January 4, 1762, and died November 15, 
1827. He was a life-long farmer. His wife's name 
is not known. He had nine children: James and 
Isaac (twins), Ezra, Hannah and Elizabeth (twins), 
Patience, Mary, John and Abigail. 

(VIII) John (6), eighth child and fourth son of 
John (s) Bickford, w-as born in Rochester, De- 
cember 22, 1814, and died February 10, 1901, aged 
eighty-seven. The place of his birth was the farm 
settled by his father in 1798, on the road which 
frqm its width was called the teii-rod road. There 
he resided during his entire life. In politics he 
was a Democrat, and served as selectman for several 
years. He married Hannah M. Demeritt, born 
January 19, 1S20, died December 2, 1892, daughter 
of Mark and Abigail (Leighton) Demeritt. Of this 
marriage were born five children : Charles W., 
Daniel C, John H., Herbert F., and Edwin R. 

(IX) Charles Woodbury, eldest child of John 
(4) and Hannah M. (Demeritt) Bickford, was 
born in Rochester, January 20. 1S43. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools, Lebanon .A-cademy. wolf- 
boro Academy, and Eastmans Business College, 
Poughkeepsie. New York, teaching during vaca- 
tions. In 1866 he took the position of night clerk 
in the Morton House, corner of Fourteenth street 
and Broadway, New York, where he was employed 
two years. Returning to Rochester he became a 
partner in the firm of W. B. K. Hodgdon & Com- 



pany, and remained there until 187 1, when the estab- 
lishment was burned. From there he went to Bos- 
ton and was steward of the Evans House seven 
and one-half years; and subsequently of the United 
States Hotel of Boston one year. He then managed 
the Ottawa House in Portland, Maine, one year, 
and the Narragansett Hotel, Providence, Rhode 
Island, three years. He was then successively stew- 
ard of Willard's Hotel, Washington, D. C, five 
years; the Ocean View House, Block Island; and 
the Boston Tavern, two years. In 1890 he opened 
the Hotel Champlain, at Plattsburg, on Lake Cham- 
plain, for O. D. Seavey, and was steward for both 
the following four years, and at the Ponce De Leon, 
Florida, winters. In May, 1894, he gave up this 
position to become postmaster of Rochester under 
the second Cleveland administration. In 1898 his 
term as postmaster expired and he returned to the 
employ of Mr. Seavey, and was employed as stew- 
ard of the Magnolia Springs Hotel, Florida, where 
he remained three seasons, and then went to Au- 
sable Chasm, where he remained five years as general 
manager of the Flotel Ausable. In the summer of 
1907 he was manager of the jNIasconomo Hotel at 
Manchcster-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts. 

In 1903, at the earnest request of his friends, 
he returned to Rocjjester a second time and was 
nominated for mayor, and at the election following 
received all the votes cast but one. He was sub- 
sequently twice elected to that office. While he 
was mayor the public library and central fire sta- 
tion were built, and the plans were made and the 
contract let for the construction of the new city 
hall. In politics he affiliated with the Democratic 
party until the nomination of Bryan in l8g6. Since 
that time he has been identified with the Republican 
party. He was town clerk of Rochester 1870-71, 
member of the common council of Rochester 1896- 
97-98, and chairman of the board of supervisors 
six years. In 1869-70-71 he was chief engineer of 
the Rochester fire department, and in his honor 
the new chemical engine was named the C. W. 
Bickford. He was initiated into the mysteries of 
Free jNIasonry by Charter Oak Lodge, Effingham, 
New Hampshire, at the age of twenty-one, in 1864. 
Since that time he has been accepted into the fol- 
lowing bodies of the order : Temple Royal .\rch 
Chapter ; Orient Council, Royal and Select JN^asters ; 
Palestine Commandery, Knights Templar; and 
Aleppo Temple of the .Ancient Arabic Order of 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Boston, Massachu- 
setts. 

He married (first). May 28, 1868, in Rochester, 
Mary Louise Henderson, who was born in Roches- 
ter, May 3, 1842, and died December 11, 1903, daugii- 
ter of Charles and Mary (Tibbetts) Henderson, of 
Rochester ; second, July 9, 1906, Frances Hussey, 
born July 14, 1862. daughter of George D. and 
Mary (Foss) Hussey, of Rochester. 

(V) Wilmot Bickford was born in Dover, .\n- 
gust 24, 1771, and settled in Wolfboro, New Hamp- 
shire, where he died. His children were: William; 
Farzina ; John Wilmot, see forward ; Sarah ; Han- 
nah ; Alva and Horace. 

(VI) John Wilmot, second son and third child 
of Wilmot Bickford, was born in Wolfboro, New 
Hampshire, April 4, 1803, and died July, 1891. He 
was a farmer by occupation, and by hard work and 
good management secured a competency and spent 
the last years of his life in comfortalile reiirenient. 
He married Abra Lord, born in 1801, daughter of 
Joseph and Hannah Lord, of Lebanon, I\Iaine, She 
died in 1880. They had three children : \\'ilmot J., 
Mary and John Calvin. 

(VII) John Calvin, second son and third and 



i 





^^^/ir^ cJy ^WJ^^^^-7-2i/ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



89 



youngest child of John Wihnot and Abra (Lord) 
Bickford, was born in Wolfboro. New Hampshire, 
December iS, 1842. He grew up on the farm of 
his father and was educated in the common schools 
and at the academy of his native town. At the 
age of twenty years he accepted a clerksliip in the 
business of his brother, Wilmot J., who carried on a 
store in Ossipee. Shortly afterward, 1862, Wilmot J. 
died, and John Calvin assumed sole control of the 
business, which he carried on until 1868. He was ap- 
pointed postmaster of Ossipee, and filled that office 
from 1862 until 1864. He engaged in business as 
a solicitor for the Massachusetts Life Insurance 
Company, in Dover in 1S68, and continued in the 
life insurance business until September, 1871, when 
he removed to Manchester and took charge of a 
crew of men engaged in the construction of asphalt 
roofs. While thus employed, in June, 1872, he 
fell and was seriously injured, and as a result of 
this accident resigned his position. He was ap- 
pointed a ganger in the United States Internal 
Revenue service in 1874, and held that office for 
two years, when it was abolished. While still en- 
gaged in the last named office he commenced the 
study pf law which he completed in the office of 
Sulloway & Topliff, and was admitted to the bar 
in May, 1877. The following month he was ap- 
pointed a clerk of the police court of Manchester, 
and retains the place at the present (1907) time. 
He is a Republican and has taken an active part in 
political matters. For a time he filled the office of 
moderator in the Fourth ward ; was elected to the 
house of representatives in 1881, and was a member 
of the committee on the revision of statutes ; in 
1900 he was chairman of the house committee ; 
was re-elected in 1900; was elected to the state 
senate in 1903 and was chairman of the judiciary 
committee; for six years was chairman of tho board 
of health of Manchester. jNIr. Bickford was made 
a Mason in 1S64, in Charter Oak Lodge, No. 58, 
Free and Accepted Masons of Eppingham, and was 
later its worshipful master ; one year later he be- 
came a charter member of Ossipee Valley Lodge, 
No. 74, and served as worshipful master for a period 
of five years. After settling in Manchester he be- 
came a member of Washington Lodge, No. 61. He 
is also a member of Mount Horeb Royal Arch Chap- 
ter, No. 11; and of Adoniram Council, No. 3. He 
joined the Ancient Order of United Workmen in 
1883, has filled all the chairs of the subordinate 
lodge and was a delegate to the grand lodge in 
Helena, Montana, in 1892. He served^ as councilman 
in the supreme lodge until 1887, when, at the ses- 
sion in Milwaukee, he was elected supreme over- 
seer; the following year, supreme freeman; the 
next year, supreme master workman; since retiring 
from this office he has served continuously as a 
member of the committee of arbitration. He is 
also a member of the Knights of Pythias, the (Golden 
Cross Society, The Royal Arcanum and the Derry- 
field Club. Mr. Bickford married (first), Janu- 
ary 20, 1S63, Pamelia S. Thurston, died 1878, daugh- 
ter of Isaac and Maria (Dodge) Thurston, of Os- 
sipee. They had one son, Charles Wilmot, see 
forward. He married (second), 1880, Emma S. 
Fitts, daughter of Benjamin and Clymena (Green) 
Fitts, of Manchester. The former died in 1S54, 
a victim of cholera, while engaged in nursing those 
stricken with that disease. jNIrs. Bickford is a mem- 
ber of the Congregational Church, the .Audubon 
Society, the Woman's Federation, and other organ- 
izations for the promotion of human welfare. She 
is also a member of the Degree of Honor, and for 
a period of ten years was treasurer of the largest 
branch of tliis order. 



(VIII) Charles Wilmot, only child of John 
Calvin and Pamelia (Thurston) Bickford, was 
born in Ossipee, December 20, 1865. His early 
education was received in the common schools, and 
he was prepared for college at the Manchester 
high school. He entered Dartmouth College in 
1883, and was graduated from that institution in 
the class of 1887. Immediately following his gradu- 
ation he entered upon the profession of teaching 
and was successfully engaged in this at Meredith 
and Raymond. ' He went to Manchester in 1S90 
and continued in his calling in the schools of that 
city until 1900, when he was elected superintendent 
of schools, in which office he has since that time 
served. Through his efforts the efficiency of the 
schools has been greatly increased from year to 
year. He is widely known in this and adjoining 
states as an educator, and as such has responded 
to many invitations for papers and lectures on edu- 
cational subjects in various parts of the United 
States, as far west as Chicago, Illinois. Mr. Bick- 
ford is a member of the National Educational As- 
sociation, the American Institute of Instruction, and 
various local educational bodies. He is an attend- 
ant at the Congregational Church and has been a 
teacher of the Sunday-school connected with that 
institution. He is a Thirty-second degree Mason, 
and a member of the following orders : Mount 
Washington Lodge, No. 61, in which he has passed 
all the chairs and is now past master; Mount Horeb 
Royal Arch Chapter, No. 11; Adoniram Council, 
No. 3, also passed all the chairs and is now an 
officer of the Grand Council ; Royal and Select 
Masters ; Trinity Commandery, Knights Templar ; 
Edward A. Raymond Consistory, Sublime Princes 
of the Royal Secret; Golden Cross Society; and the 
Deerfield Club. He married, July 19, 1893, Anna 
Maude Sleeper, daughter of Levi H. and Susan S. 
(Sampson) Sleeper, of Manchester. 

(I) Thomas Bickford settled on Putney Hill 
in Hopkinton, and later served as a soldier under 
Colonel John Stark in the expedition against Ti- 
conderoga. He had four sons, Samuel, John, Jo- 
seph and Thomas. 

(II) Joseph, third son of Thomas Bickford, 
served a seven year apprenticeship at the carpen- 
ter's trade in Salem, Massachusetts. He was very 
skillful, and was the first man to use an edgetool 
in the construction of the New Hampshire stiite 
capitol building, at Concord. Some time after the 
completion of the capitol he removed to Hillsboro 
and settled in the north part of the town, where 
he continued to work at his trade, and built sev- 
eral houses, and the church at Francestown. The 
last year of his life he spent working as a wheel- 
wright. He married Sallie Doak, of Marblehcad, 
Massachusetts, the daughter of a naval officer. They 
had three children barn on Putney Hill in ITopkin- 
ton, two of whom were twins and survived their 
infancy. They were James D. and Eliza Fosdick. 

(III) James Doak, son of Joseph and Sallie 
(Doak) Bickford, was born in llopkinton, Febru- 
ary IS, iSii, and died near Hillsboro Upper Vil- 
lage, April I, 1905. He first lived at Hillsboro 
Upper Village, and later bought what is known as 
the old David Goodell farm, a pleasantly situated 
place near the Upper Village, where he resided 
until his death. He was a gifted musician, both 
instrumental and vocal, and taught singing school 
for years. He played in his church and led the 
choir for thirty years. April 26, 1828, he became 
a member of the Hillsboro Instrumental Music 
Band, which was incorporated by act of the legis- 
lature under this ;iame in 1825. He married, Oc- 



9° 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



tober I, 183s. Elizabeth Ann Conn, who was born 
in Hillsboro, October 16, 1816, daughter of William 
and Sally (Priest) Conn. They had three children: 
I. Sarah Fuller, born June 25, 1838. She grew up 
on the farm and was educated in the town schools, 
Tubbs Union Academy, Washington, New Hamp- 
shire, Francestown Academy, Francestown and 
David Crosby's Academy, Nashua, New Hampshire. 
Later graduating from Worthington and Warner's 
Commercial College, of Concord, New Hampshire. 
She taught penmanship in a number of the leading 
select schools in the vicinity of Boston for some 
years, and was located in the city of Boston for 
ten years, where she conducted her own school 
(Madam Hafey's Writing Academy). She married, 
February 25, 1879, Charles iM. Hafey, who was born in 
Cincinnati, Ohio, and educated at Chickering Academy, 
Cincinnati ; Groton, iMassachusetts, White Plains, New 
York, and graduated at Columbia Law School' New 
York City. They had one child, Frank B., who died 
young. 2. John Willard, born December 10, 1841. He 
grew up on his father's farm, attended the common 
schools and the Henniker and Francestown acade- 
mies. He taught school for a number of years, 
and read law in the office of F. M. Blood, of Hills- 
borough. He entered the law department of Har- 
vard, and while a student there was drowned, June 
26, 1866. Th law class was suspended to asjist in 
searchmg for the body. 3. Frank James, ne.xt men- 
tioned. 

(IV) Frank James, youngest child of James 
p. and Elizabeth A. (Conn) Bickford, was born 
in Hillsboro, January 27, 1849. He grew up a fanner 
boy, and attended the public schools of Hillsboro, 
where he acquired primary education which he sup- 
plemented with higher instruction at the academies 
of Henniker and Francestown. He taught school 
about Hillsboro for several winters, and assisted 
his father on the farm the remainder of the year. 
Since giving up teaching he has devoted all his 
attentions to farming, living on the place which his 
father formerly owned. This is one of the largest 
farms in Hillsborough county, and contains one 
hundred and thirty-hve acres of land which Mr. 
Bickford cultivates with skill and profit. There is 
also about five hundred acres of pasture land. In 
addition to the usual routine work of farming he 
deals in cattle, and not infrequently has from forty 
to sixty head of neat stock on his place. JNIr. Bick- 
ford IS an intelligent, energetic and prosperous 
farmer, who is widely known and highly respected. 
He is a Democrat, but confined his efforts in politics 
to voting and occasionally working to elect the 
best man to office. He has served on the school 
board for eleven years. 

(I) Thomas Bickford was a farmer, shoemaker 
and tanner, and lived in Epsom. At one period of 
his life he was a prosperous and successful man, 
but most of his property was spent before his 
death. He married Olive Haynes, and they had 
seven children : John, Mehitable, Samuel, Nathan, 
Daniel, Olive and Dearborn. 

(II) Nathan, fourth child and third son of 
Thomas and Olive (Haynes) Bickford, was born 
at the old Bickford homestead near the present 
village of Grossville, Epsom, December 2, 1797, 
and died in 1879, aged eighty-two years. He grew 
up on the farm until thirteen years of age. when he 
went to serve an apprenticeship with a clothier 
named Currier at Epsom. He finished his appren- 
ticeship at the age of nineteen and went to Boston, 
where he remained until his twenty-third year, 
when he returned to Epsom and purchased a cloth- 
ing and carding mill on Suncook river. He was 



successful in this business, which he carried on for 
more than twelve years, and then leased his mill 
and engaged in the lumber business, rafting logs 
down the Suncook and Merrimack rivers, and carry- 
ing on a trade of considerable magnitude. In 1830 
he had bought a farm adjacent to his mill, and 
afterward did a considerable amount of farming. 
After a time he abandoned the lumber business and 
gave his entire attention to the farm to which he 
made several additions. He was highly esteemed 
by his townsmen, by whom he was elected to po- 
sitions of trust. He was selectman, and held minor 
town offices for many years. He was a meniDer of 
the New Hampshire legislature in 1836, and through-' 
out a long and busy life he retained the implicit 
confidence and sincere respect of those who knew 
him. In politics he was an advocate of the prin- 
ciples of the Free Soil party up to the formation 
of the Republican party, when he joined that or- 
ganization and affiliated with it until his death. In 
reHgious belief he was a Free Will Baptist, and 
contributed liberally to the support of this church, 
of which he was a charter member, one of 
seven. He was a just man, believed in the neces- 
sity of education in religious as well as secular 
matters, and generally assisted many beneficent 
enterprises. He married. May 12, 1823, Eliza W. 
Dickey, of Epsom, who was born in 1807, and died 
in Epsom in 1893, in the eighty-seventh year of her 
age. She was the daughter of Robert and Hannah 
(Osgood) Dickey, of Epsom. Five children were 
born to them : Susan G., Salina O., Eliza A., Mor- 
rill D. and Alfred P. The last named was born 
in 1846, on the old home farm in Epsom, where he 
now resides. He married Elizabeth Goss. and five 
sons were born to them — William P., Nathan A., 
Alfred G., Harry M., and John G.— all of whom are 
now living. 

(Ill) Morrill D. Bickford, fourth child and 
eldest son of Nathan and Eliza W. (Dickey) Bick- 
ford, was born on his father's farm in Epsom, Oc- 
tober 3, 1836. He got his education in the public 
schools of Epsom and Pembroke Academy, and at 
the age of eighteen began the active work of a 
busy life. He was brought up to the lumber busi- 
ness, which under his father's supervision he 
throughly learned, and in which for many years 
he was actively engaged. He owns a small farm 
in Epsom, where he has resided for several years. 
He built a dwelling in Gossville, and in 1881 erected 
a residence on his home farm. He has always been 
a stalwart Republican, and was elected to represent 
the town of Epsom in the state legislature in 1SS5. 
In religious belief he is a Free Will Baptist. He 
married, November 28, 1862, Eliza J. Hoyt, born 
in Northwood, December 30, 1840 daughter of 
Morrill Hoyt of Epsom. Two children were born 
to them— Siisie A., born in 1866, died in 1S97, aged 
thirty-one years ; Addie E.. born in 1868. died in 
1903, aged thirty-five years. 

This is one of the early Ne\v 
BURNHAINI England names, of English origin, 
among the foremost in New Hamp- 
shire (both in point of time and importance), and 
distinguished in military annals from the earliest 
colonial period. Not only in military but in civil 
affairs it has been pre-eminent, and has furnished 
leading agriculturists, merchants, clergymen, edu- 
cators, jurists and legislators to this commonwealth. 
The name was established in England in the time of 
William the Conqueror. In the conquest of Eng- 
land this ruler was accompanied by Walter le 
"Ventre, who was made a lord in 1080, and received 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



91 



the Saxon village of Burnham as a part of his 
estate. At this time he assumed the name of 
Walter de (of) Burnham, and the estate contuiued 
to be held by his descendants until after 1700. The 
ancient seat, "Burnham Beeches," is mentioned in 
one of Tennyson's poems. 

(I) The tirst whose line has been continuously 
traced to descendants now in New Hampshire was 
Robert Burnham, born 1581, at Norwich, Norfolk 
county, England. He married Mary Andrews, in 
1608, and had seven children, including three sons 
who came to America, namely : John, Robert and 
Thomas. They were minors at the time of arrival 
1635, and are supposed to have come under charge 
of their maternal uncle, Captain .Andrews, com- 
mander of the ship "Angel Gabriel," which was 
wrecked on the Massachusetts coast. Perhaps they 
had not intended to remain, but set out as mariners. 
They settled in Ipswich, where Thomas became very 
prominent, taking part in all public affairs. (Fur- 
ther mention of Robert and Thomas, with descend- 
ants, appears in this article.) 

(H) Deacon John, son of Robert and Mary 
(Andrews) Burnham, was born 1618 in Norwich, 
and was seventeen years old when he came to 
Massachusetts. At nineteen he joined the Pequot 
expedition, for which the town granted him eight 
acres of land in 1639. He became an extensive land- 
holder, and was a highly respected citizen. He was 
one of the original members of the church at Che- 
bacco, organized August 12, 1683, and was one of 
its first deacon?. August 13, .1O94, the bounds of 
his property adjoining the common were settled by 
a committee appointed by the town, and it was 
found that he had not encroached as reported. He 
died November 5, 1694. His children were : John, 
Josiah, Ann and Elizabeth. 

(HI) Deacon John (2), son of Deacon John 

(1) Burnham, followed the occupation of farming. 
He died in 1716, leaving a large family. His farm 
was at Chebacco (now Essex), and he received a 
concession for building a grist mill on the Chebacco 
river in 1693. His wife's name was Sarah, and 
their children were : John, Thomas, Jonathan, 
Robert, Sarah, Mary, Elizabeth and Hannah. 

(IV) Deacon John (3), son of Deacon John 

(2) Burnham, occupied a similar position in the 
town and church of Chebacco to those held by his 
father and grandfather. He was made a deacon 
in 1732, and was allowed the use of the school 
pasture in 1734, being the schoolmaster. He mar- 
ried (first) Ann, daughter of Captain Thomas 
Choate. She was born May 22, 1691, and died 
August 15, 1739. He married (second), in 1740, 
Mrs. Elizabeth Goodhue. His children, all born 
of the first wife, were : John, Samuel, Jeremiah, 
Ann, ]\Iary, Abigail, Sarah and Nehemiah. 

(V) Samuel, son of Deacon John (3) and Ann 
(Choate) Burnham, was married in Ipswich. No- 
vember 17, 1743, to Martha Story, and had nine 
children, namely: Samuel, Martha, Sarah, John. 
Ebenezer, Hannah, Susannah, Elizabeth and Jabez. 

(VI) Deacon Samuel (2). eldest ciiild of 
Samuel (i) and Martha (Story) Burnham, was 
born October 5, 1744, in Ipswich, and was married 
there November 27, 1766. to Mary Perkins. About 
1770, after two of his children were born, he settled 
in Dunbarton, New Hampshire, where several of 
his kindred and townsmen located between 1765 
and 1770, and cleared up a farm, becoming one of 
the most subsfanlial citizens. He was a deacon 
of the church, much respected, and died April 4, 
1811, in his sixty-seventh year. He was spoken 
of by his pastor, Rev. Dr. Harris, in his funeral 



address, as "a wise, safe and very valuable counsel- 
lor." Following is an extract from the sermon : 
"He was a man of sound judgment and of tenacious 
memory; moderate and grave in his natural de- 
portment; a kind husband, a tender parent, an oblig- 
ing neighbor, a useful citizen, kind to the poor, 
and a friend to mankind. * * * He was one of 
the main pillars in the church. He did much, and 
prayed fervently, for its peace, good order and en- 
largement. The doctrines of grace were his theme. 
He contended earnestly for the faith once delivered 
to the saints, and he contended not in vain," His 
widow survived him more than seven years. She 
was born May, 1745, and died in October, 1818. 
Professor Noyes, ot Dartmouth College, said of 
her : "She was a woman of very uncommon ex- 
cellence. Her spirit seemed imbued with a most 
ardent love of God, of souls and of heavenly things. 
She seemed to have but very little to do with 
this lower world. Her tears and prayers and warm 
exhortations made a deep and abiding impression 
on all the family, that she was supremely devoted 
to their spiritual welfare." All of the thirteen 
children were present at the funeral of the father. 
The records of Dunbarton show that one Samuel 
Burnham paid ten pounds one shilling for rent of 
a floor pew in the church in 1789, and another paid 
five pounds twelve for a gallery pew. These are 
supposed to have been Deacon Samuel (2) and his 
eldest son, Samuel (3). His children were: Samuel, 
Jacob Perkins, William, Elizabeth, Abraham, Mary, 
John, Sarah and Susannah (twins), Martha and 
Hannah (twins), Bradford and Amos Wood. The 
first was the first college graduate in the town. He 
fitted for college "on the plow beam," and finished 
at Dartmouth in 1795. He was the first principal 
of the Academy at Derry, and died in 1834, aged 
sixty-seven years. Abraham graduated at Dart- 
mouth in 1804, became a Doctor- or Divinity, was 
pastor at Pembroke forty-two years, and died 1852, 
' aged seventy-seven. John graduated in 1807, was a 
lawyer and scholar, and died 1826, aged forty-five. 
Amos Wood, the youngest, graduated at Dartmouth 
1815, and from Andover Theological Seminary in 
1818. He was the first preceptor of Pembroke 
Academy, and was pastor of the church at Rindge 
until dismissed at his own request, after a service 
of fort}'-si-x years. 

(VH) Bradford, sixth son and twelfth child 
of Samuel (2) and Mary (Perkins) Burnham, was 
born February 14, 1787, in Dunbarton, where he 
resided and was a progressive and successful farmer 
upon the ancestral homestead, and died August 
28, 1865. He was married, March 3, 1814, to Han- 
nah Dane, daughter of Thomas Whipple. She died 
July 10, 1847. Their children were : Henry L., 
Fannie L., Hannah D., William B., I^Iary E., Abi- 
gail D., Abraham, an infant (died at twelve days), 
Ann H. and Louisa W. (Mention of William and 
descendants occurs in this article.) 

(VIII) Henry Larcom, eldest child of Brad- 
ford and Hannah D. (Whipple) Burnham, was 
born November 25, 1814, in Dunbarton, where he 
was a farmer and one of the most useful and intel- 
ligent citizens. He was a man of sterling integrity, 
and excellent disposition, Henry Putney said he 
kiiew of no man of such character, ability, and real 
natural strength. He served as county commis- 
sioner, representative in the state legislature, as 
as senator and high sheriff. He was a constant 
attendant at the Congregational Church, and was 
liberal in its support. He died April 30, 1893, in 
Manchester, surviving by only eight days his wife, 
who passed away April 22. He was married, IMarch 



92 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



28, 1842, to Maria A. Bailey, daughter of Josiah and 
Sarah (Kimball) Bailey, of Dunbarton. 

(IX) Henry Eben Burnham, United States 
senator from New Hampshire, only child of Henry 
L. and Maria A. (Bailey) Burnham, was born 
November 8, 1844, in Dunbarton. He prepared for 
college at Kimball Union Academy, j\ieriden, and 
entered Dartmouth College at the age of seventeen 
years, in i86l. Four years later he graduated with 
the honors of his class, and had already demon- 
strated those powers of mind and character which 
were bound to develop his subsequent successful 
career. 

Senator Burnham began his study of law in the 
office of Minot and Mugridge, in Concord, and was 
subsequently associated as student with Hon. E. 
S. Cutter, then of Manchester, finishing his prepara- 
tion under the direction of the late Judge Lewis W. 
Clark, at Manchester. He was admitted to the bar 
in April, 1868, and at once commenced the practice 
of his profession in Manchester. To this he brought 
an exceptional ability, trained by long and careful 
study, and his unceasing industry made him a 
useful and successful advocate, so that he quickly 
gained reputation and profitable clients. The in- 
crease of his business caused him to admit partners 
in his practice, and in time he became the head of 
the firm of Burnham, Brown, Jones & Warren, one 
of the strongest at the New England bar. 

As judge of probate for Hillsborough county 
from 1876 to 1879 he served his fellows faithfully 
and acceptably, but the demands of his large private 
practice caused him to resign the station. How- 
ever, his distinguished talents and undisputed 
probity made him a desirable agent for the trans- 
action of public business, and he was elected to 
the state legislature in 1873 and 1874. In 1889 he 
was a delegate in the convention called to revise 
the state constitution, and was again called to legis- 
lative service in 1900. In that year he became 
a candidate for the office of United States senator, 
and was triumphantly elected after a trying cam- 
paign, in which other able men were contestants. 
He took his seat March 4, 1901, and by his con- 
servative and sound position on public questions 
has shown himself well qualified for the post. Though 
a comparatively new member in a body of conserva- 
tive traditions and dominated by the shrewdest and 
most able minds of the nation, he preserves the 
credit and honor of his native state. When the 
late Senator Piatt of Connecticut gave up the chair- 
manship of the committee on Cuban relations to 
succeed the late Senator Hoar on the judiciary com- 
mittee. Senator Burnham took the Connecticut 
statesman's place. He is also a member of the 
committees on agriculture, claims, forest reserva- 
tion, pensions and territories. He has made 
thorough investigation of the subjects coming be- 
fore these committees, and few men in the national 
legislature are better qualified to discuss and judge 
of conditions in the territories. His ' interest in 
the White Mountain reservation bill has drawn 
him near to every lover of his native state, and 
his activity during the discussion of the statehood 
bill in 1903 attracted attention throughout the coun- 
try. The Boston Herald said of him in a recent 
issue: "Scholarly and dignified, Senator Burnham 
enjoys the confidence and respect of every one with 
whom he comes in contact. He is a very hard 
worker in committees, and probably no other mem- 
ber of the senate is more constant in his attendance. 
His speech for the statehood bill elicited marked 
commendation, and his thoroughness in obtaining 
all the information possible on matters in which he 



is interested inspired the greatest respect on the 
part of his colleagues." He was re-elected for the 
term of six years, beginning March 4, 1907. 

Mr. Burnham is deeply interested in the Masonic 
and other fraternal bodies. He is affiliated with 
Washington Lodge. No. 61, of Manchester, in which 
he has passed the chairs; with the superior bodies 
including the Consistory, and is an honorary thirty- 
third degree member, Scottish Rite. In 1885 he 
was elected grand master of the Masonic jurisdic- 
tion of New Hampshire. He is also a prominent 
Odd Fellow, and has passed the chairs in the sub- 
ordinate bodies. 

Mr. Burnham was married October 22, 1874, to 
Miss Elizabeth H. Patterson, of Manchester. She 
was born January rg, 1850. in Candia, New Hamp- 
shire, only daughter of John Duncan and Hannah 
(Eaton) Patterson (see- Patterson). John D. Pat- 
terson was born April 13, 1S21, in Londonderry, 
and his wife was born April 7, 1823, in Candia. 
He died June T2. 1897. They have one son, Will- 
iam Wallace Patterson, born September 29, 1847, in 
Candia. Mr. and Mrs. Burnham are the parents of 
three daughters : Gertrude Elizabeth, born January 
28, 1876, in ^Manchester, was married. October 14, 
1903, to Charles Maurice Baker, of Manchester; 
Alice Patterson, born February 9. 1878, was married. 
October 18. 1899, to Aretas Blood Carpenter of 
Manchester; Edith Duncan Burnham, born March 
16, 1885. in Manchester, resides with her parents. 

(VII) William, second son and fourth child of 
Bradford and Hannah D. (Whipple) Burnham, was 
born August 25, 1820, in Dunbarton, and died in that 
town April 2. 1899. He was educated at Pembroke 
Academy, and taught school a short time in Bow 
and the neighboring towns. He was principally a 
farmer throughout life, and was engpged to some 
extent in lumbering. During and about the time of 
the Civil war he was a selectman several years, and 
represented the town in the legislature in 1872. 

Mr. Burnham married (first), Harriet P. Kim- 
ball, and their children were : Emma M., married 
Clinton .D. Grant, of Goffstown ; and Mary A. He 
married (second), Asenath Hoyt, of Weare, and 
they were the parents of William, who died young. 
Mr. Burnham married (third), Martha J. Hoyt, 
sister of his second wife, and two children were 
born of this union : Walter H., and Abraham 
Lincoln. The mother of these children died in 
August, 1904. 

(VIII) Abraham Lincoln, second child of Wil- 
liam and Martha J. (Floyt) Burnham, was born 
April 15, 1865, on his father's farm, on the day of 
the foul assassination of the r^Iartvr President, whose 
name was given to him. The greater part of his life 
life was passed in Dunbarton, and his educational 
opportunities were limited, he being his father's 
principal assistant in tilling the farm, from a very 
early age. This homestead property he subsequently 
purchased, and in addition to caring for it he is en- 
gaged to some e.xtent in lumbering operations, his 
properly containing a good grovi'th of timber. He 
gives little attention to politics, but has served as 
selectman. He married (first), October 2. 18S8, 
Nellie A., daughter of John H. Bishop, of Groton, 
Massachusetts, and they had two children: Philip 
H. and William B., who are of the fifth generation 
who have lived upon the Burnham farm. The mother 
of these children died November 19, 1894. Mr. 
Burnham married (second), Alice E. Webster, of 
Methuen, Massachusetts. The Burnham homestead ' 
is one of the famous properties of this region. Upon 
it is an old oak tree measuring nineteen feet in cir- 
cumference which Mr. Burnham's grandfather re- 




J'XjU^^A^^i.yuu' ^ ' ^ 'S^^^K.yi.yL^cyix^a. 




WILLIAM BURNHAM. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



93 



membered as a small sapling. From a point on this 
farm may be seen land in every county in New 
Hampshire, and the distant mountains of jMassachu- 
setts. 

(.II) Robert (2), second son of Robert and Mary 
(Andrews) Burnham, was born in England in 1614, 
and came to America in company with his brothers, 
as above related. He settled in Dover, where he 
was an active citizen, and died at the home of his 
brother Thomas, in Chebacco in 1691. The record 
of his will and settlement of estate are found at 
Salem, Massachusetts. He married Frances Hill, 
and they have live children: Robert (died young), 
Elizabeth, Samuel, Jeremiah and Robert. 

(III) Samuel, second son and third child of 
Robert (2) and Frances (.Hill) Burnham, had a 
son James, but there is no record of births or deaths 
or other facts concerning Samuel. 

(IV) James, son of Samuel, had four sons: 
Samuel, Nathaniel, Joshua and James. There is no 
record of his wife, the mother of these sons. 

(.V) Nathaniel, second son of James Burnham, 
was born in Dover, in 1719. He married Mehitable 
Colbath, of Newington, and their children were : 
George, Enoch, Temperance, Joseph, Abigail, Dud- 
ley, Susanna and James. The father died in Feb- 
ruary, 1797, at Somersworth, New Hampshire. His 
wife died June 17, 1794. 

(VI) George, eldest child of Nathaniel and 
Mehitable (.Colbath) Burnham, was born Novem- 
ber 8, 1742, and died March 25, 1805, in New Dur- 
ham, New Hampshire, where he was a pioneer 
settler. He was a soldier of the Revolution, and 
served as ensign under Washington. He married 
Sarah Rogers and had children : Mehitable, John 
and Sally. 

(Vil) John, only son of George and Sarah 
(Rogers) Burnham, was born December 15, 1774. 
and was reared in New Durham, where he died 
January 23, 1S54. He married, January 18, 1796, 
Martha Berry, of New Durham, and their children 
were : Betsey, Experience, George, Lydia, Polly, 
Martha, Sarah, Joseph and Hannah. 

(VIII) George (2), eldest son and third child 
of John and Martha (, Berry) Burnham, was born 
April 18, 1803, in New Durham. He was a builder 
by occupation, and was very successful in this work 
in various towns in New Hampshire and Massachu- 
setts until 1S55. In ^larch of that year with two 
of his sons, George and Henry, he removed to 
Freeport, Illinois. In the fall of that year he sold 
his home in Farmington, New Hampshire and re- 
moved his entire family to Illinois. The following 
two years were spent in Sterling and Morrison, 
Illinois, and in Lyons, Iowa. In 1857 he 
moved to Comanche, Iowa, where he built 
a residence and continued to occupy it dur- 
ing the remainder of his life. Both he and 
his wife died from injuries received in a great 
tornado which swept over that section, Sunday 
afternoon, June 3, i860. More than two hundred 
people lost their lives in that disaster. Mrs. Burn- 
ham died the same evening, and her husband lingered 
until Tuesday, the fifth of June following. Their 
bodies were brought to New Durham, New Hamp- 
shire, where they now rest in the same grave in the 
family burying ground. It was the oft-expressed 
desire of Mr. Burnham that he might rest when 
he fell asleep, in the old orchard on what is now 
known as the Davis farm. It was also his desire 
and frequently expressed that he might pass away 
when "Sally" did. He was married in 1S27 to Sarah 
Davis, daughter of John Davis of New Durnham, 
the ceremony being performed by Elder Joseph 



Boody. She was born March 29, 1809. They had 
six children, namely : Charles F., George W., James 
M., William H., Albina J., and Hannah (.changed 
to Isabel). 

(,IX) Charles F., eldest child of George (2) and 
Sarah (Davis) Burnham, was born January 28, 1828, 
in New Durham, and died September 28, 1894, '" 
Farmington. He was a carpenter and shoemaker, 
and his life was passed in these occupations in Farm- 
ington and New Durham. He was a Republican 
in politics, and a member of the Farmington Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He was mar- 
ried, jMay 15, 1858, to Betsey Tufts, daughter of 
David Tufts of Meaderboro, New Hampshire. They 
had three children : Ronello DeWitt, Florence Ade- 
laide and Alice Carrie. 

(X) Ronello DeWitt, only son of Charles F. 
and Betsey (.Tufts) Burnham, was born October 5, 
1859, in Farmington, New Hampshire, and there 
grew to manhood. He completed the courses of the 
public schools in that town, graduated from the 
high school. In 1884 he went to Rochester, New Hamp- 
shire, was employed four years by S. F. Sanderson 
in a drug store, and subsequently opened a drug 
store of his own which he has since successfully 
conducted. He is an active member of the com- 
munity, in which he exercises considerable influence. 
He is a Republican in politics, and represented' ward 
six <)f Rochester in the state legislature in 1905-6. 
He is a member of Humane Lodge, No. 21, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, and is also affiliated with 
Temple Chapter, Royal Arch Masons., and with 
Palestine Commandery, Knights Templar. He is 
also a member of Oriental Council, Royal and 
Select Masters, and of AUeppo Temple, Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine, of Boston. He is a member of 
Motolinia Lodge, No. 18, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. Air. Burnham is a thorough believer 
in the broad and fraternal principles of these orders, 
and is a willing contributor to their noble work. 

He was married, November, 1885, to Mary Etta 
Twombly, and they have daughters — Florence M., 
born February, 1888, and Alice J., May, 1890. The 
elder is now a student at Plymouth, New Hampshire. 

In 1644, Robert Burnham went to Boston, and 
soon after his marriage to Frances Hill. In 1654 he 
was one of the company organized to purchase and 
settle the town of Dover, New Hampshire, and there 
he passed the balance of his life. His children 
were : Robert, who died in his si-xteenth year, 
Samuel, Elizabeth, Jeremiah and Robert. The re- 
cords of this family in and about Dover do not 
seem to have been well preserved. The first, now 
known in the line herein followed was Paul Burn- 
ham, who resided in that part of Dover which is now 
Durham, New Hampshire. 

(.VI) Jacob, son of Paul Burnham, was born 
October 20, 1748, in Durham, New Hampshire, and 
died April 30, 1838, in Nottingham, same state, on 
the border of Northwood. Early in life he settled 
in Nottingham, where he cleared out a farm in the 
wilderness and became a prosperous citizen. He 
was of liberal religious faith and was a Federalist 
in politics. He married (first), in 1773-4, Lydia 
Burnham, born ;\lay 13, 1749, died May 19, 1784. He 
married (second), Mary McDaniel, of Barrington, 
New Hampshire, born July 3, 1768, died October 30, 
1818. His children are briefly noted as follows : 
Anna, born March S, 1775, died at the age of thirty 
years, February i, 1805 ; Drucilla, born December 4, 
1777, died young; Sarah, born March 29, 1780, mar- 
ried Paul Davis and lived in Nottingham; she died 
March 19, 1847; Susanna, born May 29, 1782, was the 
wife of Benjamin Magoon, and died April 25, 183S, 



94 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



in New Hampton ;, Lydia, born April 22, 1784, died 
in childhood; Jacob, born February 11, 1786, resided 
in Nottingham, where he died June 4, 1S40; Asa, 
born December 8, 1787, died October 7, 1834, m 
Northwood; Nathan, born March 27, 1790, resided 
in Windham, New Hampshire, where he died m 
March, 1881, at the age of ninety-one years ; tire 
ninth died in infancy; Miles, receives further men- 
tion below; Noah, born November 30, 1795, died 
August 27, 1857, in Concord; Uamel, born Novem- 
ber 30, 1798, died in February, 1885, in Portland, 
Maine; Betsey, born April 19, 1801, was the wife 
of David Marsh of Nottingham, and died there; 
Sabra, born September 4, 1S03, became the second 
wife of Benjamin Magoon, and died in .May, 1852, in 
New Hampton; Irene, born June 23, 1809, died m 
Eppiiig, August 3, 1874, while the wife of David 
Fogg; Pamelia, born December 6, i8n, died unmai"- 
ried, in 1858. The lirst of the five mentioned above 
were children of the first wife, Lydia Burnham. 

iVH) Miles, fourth son of Jacob and Mary 
(jNlcDaniel) Burnham, was born May 24, 1793, in 
Nottingham, and received the meagre education 
supplied by the schools of his time and locality. He 
was apprenticed as a boy to Moses Hesselton of 
Derryheld, to learn the trade of carpenter and 
builder, and in due time became a journeyman and 
was thus employed in Roxbury, ^Massachusetts. He 
subsequently went to that part of Chester which 
is now Auburn, New Hampshire, and opened a 
countrj- store in partnership with his brother Noah, 
and also carried on contracting and building in the 
surrounding towns and in Manchester during the 
early forties. He died there September 30, 1850. 
He was a successful merchant and builder, and in 
addition to his other work built for himself a hand- 
some residence in Auburn. In religious faith he was 
a Universalist and was active in support of the 
church, and in politics a Democrat. Fie was a popu- 
lar citizen of the town and was the second in wealth 
in it. He was captain of militia. He usually at- 
tended worship at the Presbyterian Church which 
was more convenient, and when the parish was di- 
vided in factions on account of the salary issue 
previous to the Civil war, he furnished a house for 
the clergymen who had been deposed by the Pro- 
slavery faction, and also a hall in which religious 
services were held by the Anti-Slavery wing of the 
Church. This faction, in time became a strong 
body and was organized as the Second Congrega- 
tional Church of Auburn, to which Mr. Burnham 
gave the site for a building and contributed one 
hundred dollars toward the erection of its house 
of worship. He was an energetic and industrious 
man and his success was secured through his own 
prudence and thrift. He married, August 13, 1823, 
Salome Hall, who was born April 7, 1803, in Auburn, 
and died September 29, 18S1, in Epping, New Hamp- 
shire. She was the daughter of David and ^lartha 
(Graham) Hall and was born in Chester, now Au- 
burn. David Hall was a son of Caleb Hall, who was 
a soldier at the battle of Bunker Hill and son of 
Isaac of Bradford, ilassachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. 
Burnham were the parents of six children. Harri- 
son, born August 13, 1824, the eldest, died May 22, 
1903, on the old homestead, in Auburn; Elizabeth 
Ann, July 23, 1827, the second, died January, 1829, 
was fatally burned by the overturning of a pot of 
tea; Hosea Ballou is the subject of the succeeding 
paragraph; Farnsworth, born October 16, 1831, was 
a machinist and died February 12, 1856, in Epping; 
Martin V. B., born February 14, 1835, died March 
II, 1899; and Daniel, born November 30, 1841, died 
April 4, 1842. 



(.VIII) Hosea Ballou Burnham, M. D. was born 
October 15, 1829, in Chester (now Auburn; and 
grew up there. He attended the common schools, 
ijilmanion Academy and Pembroke Literary Insti- 
tute. He was also a student at the New Hampshire 
Conference School, now Tilton Seminary, and VVes- 
leyan University, at Middletown, Connecticut. He 
left the latter institution in his junior year on ac- 
count of ill health and subsequently took up the 
study of medicine at iManchester with Dr. William 
D. Buck. He was later a student at the Berkshire 
Medical Institute, at Pittsfield, Massachusetts, then 
at Harvard Medical College of Boston, and was 
graduated from the Vermont Medical College, at 
VV'oodstock in 1853. He afterwards pursued a post 
graduate course at the College of Physicians and 
burgeons in New York. Dr. Burnham began the 
practice of his profession at Epping, New Hamp- 
shire, and continued there for a period of thirty- 
three years, during which time he rode over a wide 
extent of country, and had a large practice. In 1S87 
he removed to Manchester, where he has already 
built his residence in Brook street. For a period of 
seventeen j'ears he was the county physician of 
Rockingham county and for twenty years served 
on the examining board of the United States Pen- 
sion Department. For eleven years he was the sup- 
erintendent of schools in Epping, and represented 
that town in the state legislature in 1885. He has 
always taken a warm interest and pride in the prog- 
ress of his state and has contributed liberally there- 
to. He is past master of Sullivan Lodge, No. 19, 
Ancient -Free and Accepted Masons, of Epping, and 
is now affiliated with Lafayette Lodge, of ^lan- 
chester, with Saint Alban's Chapter, No. 15, Royal 
Arch Masons, of E.xeter. He is a member of the 
Rockingham and Hillsboro County Medical Asso- 
ciations and was president of the former. He has 
been a member of the New Hampshire ^Medical As- 
sociation since 1856 and of the American Medical 
Association about thirty years. He was a member 
of the first staff of physicians of the Elliot Hospital, 
of iManchester, the oldest in the state, and 
for some years was president of that board. 
He is at present examiner for six life in- 
surance companies doing business in that city. 
Dr. Burnham is a Unitarian in religious belief. Like 
his ancestors, he has adhered continuously and con- 
sistently to the Democratic party. Dr. Burnliam, is 
still the owner of the paternal farm in Chester. He 
,is a genial and affable gentleman, well informed 
upon the leading questions of the time and may well 
be counted among the foremost citizens of Man- 
chester. He was the first treasurer of the Epping 
Savings Bank and then vice-president and chairman 
of the investments committee until leaving the lown. 
He was made justice of the peace in 1855 and served 
in that capacity for some time. He has achieved 
considerable reputation as a surgeon, having per- 
formed many difficult operations. He has always 
been a dilligent student and has kept abreast of the 
progress made in medical science, through reading 
the best literature bearing on this subject, and for 
some years had entire charge of the Rockingham 
County Institution and the Insane Asylum con- 
nected therewith. During his student days he was 
a teacher, and was employed in the public schools 
of Manchester. As a business man, as well as a 
physician, he is shrewd and successful, entertaining 
broad and liberal views, and conceding to others 
the right to their opinions but holding with 
firmness to his own. He married, January 29, 1892, 
Lilla D. True, widow of George M. True, and 
daughter of Anson H. and Esther M. (Brown) 




/T. JU. ' 0/(y(A/2A, A 



dycy^ lA^ayHA. 



The Z^ii/is PnbJishmc, . Cr. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



95 



Hartshorn. She was born October 3, 1855, in 
Nashua, Xew Hampshire. Anson H. Hartshorn 
was born March 8, 1827, in Lunenburg, Vermont, 
and Esther M. (Brown) Hartshorn was born June 
14, 1827, in Iilanchester. 

(H) Thomas, son of Robert Burnhani, was born 
in Norwich, England, about 1619. He deposed that 
his age was about fort}', March 29, 1659. He calls 
Simon Tuttle brother (i. e. brother-in-law), and 
mentioned his uncle John Tuttle (.probably his 
wife's) in England. His wife Mary, aged thirty- 
five, deposed concerning her mother, Mrs. Tuttle, 
at the same time. He was a carpenter by trade, 
and became lieutenant of the militia company ; was 
Deputy to the General Court in 1683, 1684 and 1685 ; 
was selectman in 1647 and on various town com- 
mittees ; in 1664 was sergeant of the Ipswich com- 
pany, ensign in 1665, lieutenant in 1683. In 1667 
he was granted the privilege of erecting a saw 
mill on the Chebacco river, near the falls. He was 
a freeman and commoner of Ipswich. His houses 
and farms were divided between his sons Thomas 
and James. His land in 1648 adjoined that of his 
brother John. His will was dated January 10, 
1693-94, and proved September of the same year. 
He married, 1645, Mary, daughter of Richard 
Tuttle. He bequeathed to his wife Mary the residue, 
and to his surviving children : Thomas, John, James, 
Mary, Hannah, Abigail, Ruth (died young), Ruth, 
Joseph, Nathaniel, Sarah and Esther. 

(III) John, son of Thomas Burnham, was born 
ia (ihebacco, in 1648, and died January 12, 1704. He 
married, June 6, 1668, Elizabeth Wells, who died 
in 1717. From him 'descended most of the Essex 
Burnhams. He settled in Chebacco, first near the 
head of Whittridge creek, and afterwards at the 
Falls. He became in 1689 proprietor of the grist 
mill at the falls, and much of this property that 
he owned in the vicinity has remained to the present 
time in the possession of his family. In 1687 he 
was given permission to move his mill. His chil- 
dren were : John, Thomas, Jacob, Joseph, Abigail, 
Jacob, Jonathan, David and JMary. (Mention of 
David and descendants forms a part of this article.) 

(IV) Thomas, second son of John and Eliza- 
beth (Wells) Burnham, was born in 1673 and died 
in 1748. The land on which he settled was a 
part of his father's estate in Essex, and still remains 
m possession of his descendants. The family name 
of his wife is not known, but he married and had 
six children. 

(V') Stephen, son of Thomas Biirnham, mar- 
ried Mary Andrews, and settled in. Gloucester, Mas- 
sachusetts. The dates of his birth, marriage and 
death or unknown, but he had a large family of 
thirteen children, some of whom came to New 
Hampshire and were among the lirst settlers there. 

(VI) Joshua, son of Stephen and Mary (An- 
drews) Burnham, was born in Gloucester, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1754, and afterward lived in the town 
of Milford, New Hampshire. He had ten children, 
among them a son Thomas. 

(VII) Thomas, son of Joshua, was born in 
Milford, New Hampshire, in 1783, and died in 
Hillsborough, New Hampshire, in 1856. He" was 
a substantial farmer and a man of considerable 
consequence in the town, although he appears not 
to have taken much interest in public affairs. He 
continued to live in Milford until 1821, then re- 
moved to Antrim and occupied what was known as 
the Madison Tuttle farm until 1S37, when he moved 

■ to Hillsborough. In 1807 Mr. Burnham married 
Rachel Conant, who died in Nashua. New Hamp- 
shire, in 1871, at the age of eighty-seven years. 



They had eight children : Albert G., Selina D., 
Dr. Abel C, Orna B., Henrietta B., G. Erickson, 
E. Hatch and Oramus W. Burnham. 

(VIII) Dr. Abel Conant Burnham was in many 
respects one of the most notable and noble char- 
acters in Hillsborough history. A self made man 
himself, and knowing by his own experience some- 
thing of the obstacles to be met and overcome in 
establishing a comfortable condition of things in 
domestic life, he was ever considerate of the cir- 
cumstances of those about him and very frequently 
during the course of his long and honorable career 
as a physician gave medical attention and often 
material aid with no thought of compensation or 
reward other than the consciousness of having done 
some good. 

Dr. Burnham was the third child and younger 
of the two sons in the family of Thomas and 
Rachel (Conant) Burnham, and was born in the 
town of Amherst, New Hampshire, j\lay 12, 1812; 
and he died in the town of Hillsborough, New 
Hampshire, May 26, 1896, in the house now occu- 
pied by his adopted daughter. Much of his young 
life was passed in the family of his mother's 
brother. Rev. Abel Conant, of Leominster, Massa- 
chusetts, under whose direction he was given pre- 
liminary instruction in order to lay the loundation 
of his later education. He afterward was a stu- 
dent in the academies in Francestown, Pembroke 
and Hillsborough, and having acquired a good edu- 
cation he went to Watervliet, New York, and taught 
school there for a year, then returned to Hills- 
borough and took up the study of medicine with 
Dr. Elisha Hatch, in winter seasons devoting his 
attention to school teaching. After two years he 
placed himself under the immediate instruction of 
Dr. Amos Twitchell, of Keene, New Hampshire, a 
surgeon of wide renown, and with whom he had 
the best of opportunities for gaining a thorough 
knowledge of surgery, and often accompanied his ' 
preceptor when the latter was called to operate and 
acted as his assistant. In after years Dr. Burnham 
himself became a skillful surgeon and was called 
to operate in many difficult and sometimes serious 
cases, requiring not only surgical ability but much 
courage ; but in this quality he never was wanting, 
and while he was perfectly fearless in his opera- 
tions in capital cases he always vigorouslj' opposed 
reckless use of the instruments. His knowledge 
of anatomy was remarkable and in the study of 
that branch he was much of the time in the dissect- 
ing room. He studied modern works and methods, 
both in medicine and surgerj', and employed every 
opportunity to be present at demonstrations and 
clinics, although his time was earlier than that in 
which clinical instruction became a leading part of 
the medical college course. Dr. Burnham's medi- 
cal education included three courses of lectures^ 
one at Woodstock, Vermont, and two at Dartmouth 
I\IedicaI College, Hanover, New Hampshire, where 
he was graduated with the degree of M. D. in 
November, 1839. After leaving college with his 
prized "sheepskin" he went to Lowell, Massachu- 
setts, and spent one winter in the office of Drs. 
Kimball & Bartlett, then returned to Hillsborough, 
and in February, 1S41, began active practice as 
assistant to Dr. Hatch, his old preceptor. In the 
following fall he located at the village known as 
Hillsborough Bridge, and after six years there took 
a post-graduate course in tlie medical department 
of the University of New York, and also attended 
at several of the large city hospitals. He then 
came back to Hillsborough Bridge and established 
himself in the practice which continued through a 



96 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



period of fifty-five years, until the time of his^ 
death, in 1896. In connection with a large general 
practice Dr. Burnham was for many years promi- 
nently identified with the history of the town of 
Hillsborough and its institutions. For four years 
he held the office of superintending school commit- 
tee, and for fifty years held a commission as justice 
of the peace. He was twice elected representative 
of Hillsborough to the general court, three years 
a member of the Hillsborough Board of Education, 
thirteen years a member of the board of directors 
of the First National Bank of Hillsborough, many 
years a member of the American Medical Associa- 
tion and the New Hampshire State Medical So- 
ciety. He w-as made a iNlason in Harmony Lodge 
of Hillsborough in i860, and for several years was 
secretary of that body. 

Dr. Abel Conant Burnham married, November 
9, 1849, Caroline Dascomb, daughter of George and 
Mary (Steele) Dascomb of Hillsborough. She 
was born July 27, 1823, and died December 24, 
1898. Their daughter by adoption, Emma Jack- 
man, of Hillsborough, was born in Brighton, Illi- 
nois, March 6, 1S70, and from the time she became 
a member of the Burnham household was the doc- 
tor's efficient helper and chief dependence in his 
later professional and domestic life. She mar- 
ried, December 31, 1895, John Conway Warne, who 
was born in Birmingham, England, August 12, 1872, 
and came to this country in 1893. In England he 
served a full apprenticeship to the tailor's trade, 
and now is engaged in business in Boston. Mr. 
and Mrs. Warne have two children : Alma Monroe 
Warne, born April 17, 1899, and Nerine Warne, 
born February 18, igoi. 

(IV) David, sixth son of John and Elizabeth 
(Wells) Burnham, was born in Chebacco, October 
20, 1688; died February 2, 1770: married (first), July 
2, 1711, Elizabeth Perkins; married (second), August 
18, 1740, Elizabeth Bartlett, born 1703; died Oc- 
tober 16, 1794. Children of David and Elizabeth 
(Perkins) Burnham: I. Elizabeth, born June 3, 
1712; married February 25, 1733, Samuel Webster. 

2. David, born June 17, 1714; mentioned below. 

3. Sarah, born December 28, 1715; married De- 
cember 9, 1736, Solomon Giddings. 4. Abigail, born 
August 31, 1717; married 1740, Daniel Dane. 5. 
Westley, born October, 17 19. Children of the second 
wife: 6. Isaac, born August 31, 1741 ; died August 
8, 1819. 7. Joseph, born January 3, 1743. 8. Wil- 
liam, born August 10, 1746. 

(V) David (2), son of David (i) Burnham, 
was born at Essex, Massachusetts, June 17, 1714; 
died December 27, 1802 ; married September 25, 
1734, Elizabeth Marshall, born 1715, died 1801. 
Children, born in Essex: i. Amos, born 1735, 
mentioned below. 2. Benjamin, baptized December 
5. 1736. 3. David, baptized November 19. 1738, 
died in infancy. 4. David, baptized August 10, 
1740; married December 21, 1764, Ann Grover. 
S. Elizabeth, baptized October 10, 1742. 6. 
Moses, baptized January 6, 1745, died young. 7. Han- 
nah, baptized March 25, 1747 ; married November 
3, 1768, Thomas Story. 8. Enoch, baptized 1749; 
married February 11, 1779, Hannah Bennett. 9. 
Susannah, born 1750. 10. Benjamin, born 1755: 
married May 24, 1778, Susanna Day ; died April 
14, 1847. II. Moses, born 1757: died April 22, 
iSoi ; married March 9, 1799, Eunice Andrews. 
12. Parker, baptized in 1764; Ui^rried March 8, 1787, 
Tabitha Day, second November 16, 1804, Martha 
Lufkin ; he died February 20, 1856. 

(VI) Amos, son of David (2) Burnham, was 
born in Essex, 1735, and died at Ipswich, November 



28, 1788. He married first, January 27, 1757, Sarah 
Giddings, who died January 20, 1782. He married 
second, October 4, 1782, Mehitable Foster. He was 
drowned while fowling in Chebacco Pond. Chil- 
di-en : I. Amos, married January 3, 1782, Abigail 
Goodhue; he died April, 1834. 2. Thomas M., born 
about 1760; married November 28, 1784, Mary 
Marshall. 3. Sarah, married November 27, 1783, 
Charles Burnham; she died May 3, 1851. 4- Eliza- 
beth, born about 1765; died August 11, 1846. 5. 
Aaron, born May 25, 1767; died December 16, 
183s; married October 26, 1790, Lucy Poland. 

6. Daniel, born September 6, 1768; died April 29, 
1849; married June 29, 1789, Elizabeth Giddings. 

7. David, born June 10, 1770; mentioned below. 

8. Robert, born 1772; married January 3, 1793, 
Eunice Emerson. 9. Susan, married September 13, 
1794. Jonathan Burnham. 10. Martha, married 
April 21, 1806, Ira Percival. 11. William, mar- 
ried August 10, 1798, Eunice Story; he died No- 
vember 29, 1848. 12. Judith, married April 5, 1799, 
Joseph Allen. Child of second wife : 13. Rosanna,, 
born about 1783, married July 14, 1804, Phineas 
Story. 

(VII) David (3), son of Amos Burnham, was 
born in Essex or Ipswich, Massachusetts, June 10, 
1770, and died December 8, 1863. He was a sea 
captain. He married first, December 19, 1789, Polly 
Noble. Children: May, born 1790; Olive, Hepze- 
bath, Fidelia, Lucinda, Elinor, Thomas Choate,, 
mentioned below, and Matilda. 

(VIII) llionias Choate, son of David Burnham, 
was born in Essex, September i, 1810; died October,. 
1895. He married Sallie Gove. He resided in 
Enfield, New Hampshire, where many of the Burn- 
ham lamily have settled. Children: i. Elijah Gove, 
born June 9, 1841, mentioned below. 2. Mary Jane,, 
born February 28, 1848, died March 11, 1862. 

(IX) Elijah Gove, son of Thomas Choate 
Burnham, was born in Enfield, New Hampshire. 
June 9, 1841, and died August 19, 1900. He was 
educated in the public schools of his native town, 
and learned the trade of tinsmith in his youth, 
following it as ■ a trade and business during his 
active life. At one time he carried on a hardware 
business also. In politics he was a Republican. He 
enlisted in 1862 in the union army in the Eleventh 
New Hampshire Volunteers, and owing to bad 
health was detailed to do special service, such as 
clerking, etc. He was a man of much natural ability 
and achieved success in business by constant in- 
dustry and untiring energy. He married Addie 
Lorentine Moody, born at Stowe. Vermont, Sep- 
tember 2, '1841, daughter of John and Louisa 
(Towne) Moody. Her father was born at Stowe, 
February 28, 1816, and died January 10, 1881 ; her 
mother was born July 5, 1819, and died June 11, 
1849. Children of John and Louisa Moody : Jessie 
Towne JNIoody ; Addie Lorentine Moody; Priscilla 
R. Moody ; Erminie L. Moody and Nathaniel R. 
Moody. John Moody was a farmer and "stone ma- 
son; a Republican in politics; a Universalist in re- 
ligion. He was the son of John Moody, also of 
Stowe. 

(I) John, son of Thomas Burnham, was born 
at Scarborough, Maine, in 1779. He was educated 
at Phillips Academy, Exeter, New Hampshire, af- 
terwards settling in Limerick, Maine, where he was 
the first lawyer and a member of the legislature 
which set off Maine from Massachusetts. John 
Burnham married Susannah Hill, daughter of Cap- 
tain Jeremiah Hill, of Biddeford, Maine. Her 
father. Jeremiah Hill, was commissioned a captain 
by John Hancock about the time the Declaration 



NEW HAMPSHIRE 



97 



of Independence was signed. John and Susanna 
(Hill) Burnham had eleven children, among them 
Mark L,,, whose sketch follows. 

(II) Mark L., son of John and Susannah 
(Hill) Burnham, was born at Limerick, Maine, in 
July, 1815. He spent three years in Boston in early 
life, and then returned to Limerick, where he be- 
came a farmer. He was an active member of the 
Congregational Church, a Democrat in politics, and 
served as deputy sheriff a number of years. He 
married Susan Lord, daughter of Thomas Lord, of 
Limerick. They had seven children : John, de- 
ceased; Charles Henry, whose sketch follows; 
James O., deceased; Sarah Bradbury, deceased; 
Susannah, widow of John Forber, of Limerick; 
Oscar D., who lives at Limerick ; Abbie H., widow 
of Thurston Day, who lives at Revere, Massacliu- 
setts. Mark L. Burnham, and his wife died in 
1895. 

(III) Charles Henry, second son and child of 
Mark L. and Susan (Lord) Burnham, was born 
at Limerick, Maine, January 20, 1837. He was edu- 
cated in the common schools and at the academy, 
and was graduated from Bowdoin Medical College 
in 1867. He practiced medicine at Weston, Alaine, 
one year, and at Denmark, JMaine, six years, and 
came to Jefferson, New Hampshire, in November, 
1875. f-*!"- Burnham is a Democrat in politics, and 
was chairman of the board of selectmen in Jeffer- 
son from 1878 to 1900. He represented his town 
in the New Hampshire legislature during 1889 and 
1890. He is now a member of the school board 
(.1907). Dr. Burnham belongs to the -Coos County 
Medical Society, and to the Alasonic fraternity, be- 
ing a member ot North Star Blue Lodge at Lancaster. 
New Hampshire. He has an attractive home at 
Jefferson Hill, and is one of the most valued citi- 
zens of the town. 

Dr. Charles Henry Burnham married, 1871, Jen- 
nie S., daughter of Lorenzo D. and Angeline 
(Howard) Berry,' of Denmark, Maine. There ai-e 
no children. 



This old Scotch name has long 
MITCHELL been conspicuous in the history of 

New England, and its bearers have 
been noted for those Scotch qualities of industry, 
thrift and stern adherence to principle which are 
proverbial. In the early settlement of New Hamp- 
shire and the development of its industries past and 
prejent, it has borne no mean part, and is now 
known honorably throughout the United States, 
many of its representatives being descendants of 
those stern old New Hampshire pioneers. These 
last mentioned, as well as their progenitors, have 
been noted for their feats of physical strength and 
qualities of endurance. 

(.1) The founder of the family in America 
was a native of Scotland, and Captain Mitchell 
(probably ftamed Philip) held a commission under 
the Duke of Marlboro in the British army. He 
was sent to, America in Queen Anne's reign to 
assist the colonists in their struggles with the In- 
dians. This company consisted of one hundred men, 
and included a contingent of a.xemen who cut 
their way through the wilderness along the frontiers 
under guard of their companions in arms. This 
Captain Mitchell received from the colony of Mas- 
sachusetts, in compensation for his services, a grant 
of one thousand acres of land. He settled in what 
is now Haverhill, and built a block house for the 
protection of himself and neighbors in case of In- 
dian outbreaks, and this continued a long time a 
landmark of the locality. His residence was on 
i— 7 



the north side of the Mcrrimac river, in the west 
parish of Haverhill, and he built a house about 
1730 which is now standing. This was at Mitchell's 
Falls, formerly known as "Mitchell's Eddy," near 
Scotland Hill. This hill was so named in honor 
of the native land of Captain Mitohell. He had 
sons John and George. 

(li) John, elder son of Captain Mitchell, re- 
sided through life in Haverhill, and had sons : 
Nathaniel, Ebenezer, Thomas, Daniel and one who 
was accidentally shot in childhood. One of the 
sons married a Johnson, of Hampstead, and the 
other a Gordon. 

(III) Nathaniel, eldest son of John ^Mitchell, 
was born 1732, on Scotland Hill, near "Mitchell's 
Eddy," and died there _in 1797. Fie was a tanner 
and currier, and resided in what is now Dracut 
until 1767, when he removed to the eastern part 
of Bradfort, transporting his family and effects 
down the Merrimac River on a raft. He married 
Abigail, daughter of Deacon John and Abigail 
(Bailey) Day, who was born January 24, 1733 (see 
Bailey, HI). Their sons were: Nathaniel, Captain 
Day, Joseph and Peter. There were also two in 
succession named James who died in infancy and 
also twin daughters, who died young. 

(IV) Nathaniel (2), eldest son of Nathaniel 
(i) and Abigail (.Bailey) Mitchell, was born Au- 
gust 23, 1758, in Flaverhill, and resided in Brad- 
ford, Massachusetts, until after two of his children 
were born. He subsequently lived twenty years in 
Hampstead, whence he removed to Hooksett, and 
died there August 31, 1838. He was a soldier ot 
the revolution, serving under Stark at Bennington, 
and after the war was over he was a partner of 
Stark in the 'operation of a saw mill at Amoskeag, 
and lived in that village for a time. He married, 
about 1790, EUice;. daughter of Abraham and Su- 
sannah Parker. The latter was a daughter of 
Timothy Burbank, and widow of Benjamin Green- 
ough. Mrs. Mitchell was born August i, 1769, 
and survived her husband about seventeen Vears, 
dying in August, 1855, at Manchester. Their chil- 
dren were: James, Abraham, Nathaniel, Benjamin, 
Joseph, Retier and Peter. (Retier and descendants 
are noticed in a later paragraph in this 'article.) 

(V) James, eldest child of Nathaniel (2) and 
Alice (Parker; Jilitchell, was born November 25, 
1788, in Bradford, Massachusetts, and removed with 
his father to Hampstead, and thence to Hooksett. 
For some years he lived at Amoskeag, now a part 
of Manchester, and with his brother Nathaniel 
owned a water power there, on which they operated 
a saw mill for two years. In 1819 he removed to 
Hooksett and engaged in farming on the River 
road, on land now owned by Scott S. Eastman. In 
1838 he removed to Aianchester, and in 1839 built 
a house on Merrimack street. He subsequently 
built at the corner of Merrimack and Pine, and 
afterward resided on Central street. From 1828 
to 1840 he kept a boarding house. He w-as an 
active member of the Methodist Church, and a 
vigorous opponent of human slavery. He was 
politically identihed with the Whig and Free Soil 
parties, and was naturally among the founders of 
the Republican party. He was married in 1814 
to Isabel Mitchell, of Kiltery, Maine. Their chil- 
dren are as follows: Martha Ann, the eldest, mar- 
ried Luther B. French, and resided in Du Quoin, 
Illinois. James established one of the earliest shoe 
stores in Manchester, where he lived and died. 
Nathaniel is the subject of the succeeding para- 
graph. Isaac resided in St. Louis, Missouri. Alice 
became the wife of Isaac Noycs, and died in Man- 



98 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Chester, New Hampshire. George was a soldier in 
the civil war, and gave up his life in the battle of 
Shiloli. Emily married Horatio Stevens, a sea 
Captain, and died at iNIalden, Massachusetts, June 
2, 1S94. Elizabeth married Rev. James Gridley, 
a Presbyterian, clergyman, and resided in Illinois. 
Abraham is a prominent railroad man, whose home 
is at Hyde Park, now in the city of Chicago, Illi- 
nois. Jacob resides at Englewood, also in Chicago. 
Beside these one died in infancy. 

(VI) Nathaniel, second son and third child 
■of James and Isabella Mitchell, was born October 
32, 1S17, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, and 
reared in Manchester and Hooksett, receiving his 
education in the common schools. He was a farmer 
on the River road in the latter town, on the home- 
stead formerly owned by his father-in-law, William 
Parker, and continued in that occupation until ad- 
vancing years compelled his retirement. His last 
.years were passed at the home of his daughter in 
Amesbury, Massachusetts, where he died November 
22, 1900, aged eighty-three years. He was a regular 
attendant and supporter of the ]\Iethodist Church, 
and a steadfast Republican, having accepted the 
foundation principles of his party long before its 
■organization. He was married, about 1S45, to Ade- 
4ine Parker, second daughter of William Parker 
<see Parker, VI). She was born in 1S24, in Hook- 
sett, and died July I, 1884, at the age of sixty- 
two years. Their children were : William, died at 
■the age of thirty-two years ; Henry Clinton, last 
iheard of in Colorado; George Edward, a resident 
■of Sacramento, California; Frank Albert, who re- 
ceives further mention below ; Elizabeth Belle, wife 
•of Arthur Congdon, residing in Amesbury, Massa- 
•chasetls; Charles Everett, a resident of Hooksett; 
■ and Frederick, who died at the age of one year. 

(,VII) Frank Albert, fourth -son and child of 
^Nathaniel and Adeline (Parker) JNIitchell, was born 
JMay 26, 1858, in Hooksett, and was reared on 
ihis father's farm in that town. He attended the 
■common school at Hooksett Village, continuing dur- 
ing the winter terms until he was seventeen years 
old. In the meantime he w-as early introduced to 
the duties and labors of a farmer's son, and con- 
tinued an active assistant of his father until, he was 
.twenty years of age. At that time he went to 
Hannibal, Missouri, and began his railroad career 
as a fireman on the Missouri, Kansas & Texas 
railroad. Before three years had rolled around he 
was promoted to the position of locomotive engineer. 
In 1882 he came to I\lanchester, this state, and 
■was employed four years in Blood's locomotive 
•shops, becoming thoroughly familiar with the con- 
■struction of the machines which he formerly oper- 
.^ted. In 1886 he went to Duluth, Minnesota, and 
•was employed on the Northern Pacific railroad, and_ 
^operated a locomotive used in the construction of 
vthe Ashland branch of that road. At the end of 
-.two years he returned to ^lanchester and has been 
:a resident of that city during the last seventeen 
-y-ears. For some time he was employed in operat- 
Ting a stationary engine for the electric light com- 
pany of that city, and for twelve years past has been 
•2mployed by the Amoskeag Corporation. He now 
controls an engine of forty-five hundred horsepower 
which drives the electric motors used in 'the enor- 
:mous plant of that concern. Mr. Mitchell is a mem- 
.'.ber of Friendship Lodge, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, of Hooksett, and is an attendant of 
the Christian Science Church at Manchester. Like 
liis father and grandfather, he is an ardent be- 
liever in the principles and public policy of the 
Republican party. He was married, June 1,. 1893, 



to Susie Brown, born March 19, 1872, at St. Johns- 
bury, Vermont, daughter of Thomas and Mary 
(Murtage) Brown, of Scotch ancestry. Mr. and 
Mrs. Mitchell have one son, Frank Edward, born 
October 13, 1900. 

(V) Abraham, second son and child of Na- 
thaniel (2) and Alice (Parker) Mitchell, was prob- 
ably a native of Hampstead. He settled opposite 
Martin's Ferry, in the town of Hooksett, where he 
had an intervale of farm of two hundred acres. 
His wife Judith Moulton, of Hampstead, was born 
January 4, 1790, in Hampstead. She survived him, 
and died at the home of William H. Wheeler, in 
Hooksett. Mr. Mitchell was a deep student of 
theology, and pursued the study so far that his 
mind became unbalanced. Following is a brief 
mention of his children. Nathaniel, the first, is 
noticed in the next paragraph. William died at the 
age of thirty-eight years. Sarah became the wife of 
Rev. Joseph Hayes, a Methodist clergyman who 
attained great age, dying at Newburyport, Massa- 
chusetts, when about one hundred years old. John 
was a merchant at Hooksett and JNIanchester, and 
died at the latter place. Jane, the wife of Wallace 
Rogers, resided in and died in Bow, as did, also, 
Abigail, the wife of Charles Wheeler. Alice mar- 
ried Ira Prescott, and lived and died in Deerfield. 
Abraham died in Hooksett. 

(VI) Nathaniel, eldest child of Abraham and 
Judith (Moulton) Mitchell, was born May 20, 
1814, in what is now Hooksett. He was married, 
November 13, 1836, to Sallie Leavitt, who was born 
December 10, 1810, daughter of Josiah and Susan 
J. (Copp) Leavitt. Josiah Leavitt was born March 
14, 1783. and his wife November 25, 1786. They 
were married August 9, 1804. Nathaniel Mitchell 
owned and operated flatboats on the Merrimack 
river, and with his brother, J. IT. Mitchell, kept a 
large country store from 1838 until 1S44. He was 
a selectman and tax collector for many years in 
his native town. He was engaged to some extent 
in the lumber business, and owned and managed a 
farm. He died November iS. 1867, and his wife 
died July 30, 1902. Their children were: Hope, 
Annie H., Ruth, Seth, Mary and Fred. 

(VII) Annie H., second daughter of Nathaniel 
and Sallie (Leavitt) Mitchell, became the wife of 
Norris C. Gault (see Gault, VI). She died January 
18, 1900. 

CV) Rev. Retier, fifth son and child of Na- 
thaniel and Alice (Parker) Mitchell, was born July 
30, 1798, in Hampstead, New Hampshire. His early 
education was obtained in the common schools, and 
supplemented at Wilbraham Academy and by private 
study and extensive reading, and he was widely 
known as a cultivated man. He became a deacon 
of the Methodist Church, a rank which is seldom 
accorded to laymen in that organization. He was 
a farmer in Hooksett, and engaged largely in rear- 
ing cattle and sheep. His farm was on the .west 
side of the river, on what is known as the River 
road. He removed to Manchester about 1840 and 
purchased a tract of ground on which he engaged 
in gardening and fruit culture, and also realized 
an income from the sale of city lots. He often 
supplied the pulpit in churches of the vicinity, and 
held membership with St. Paul's ^Methodist Episco- 
pal Church of Manchester. In politics he was an 
old-line Whig, and affiliated with the Republican 
party upon its organization. He was a representa- 
tive. Of studious and domestic tastes, he attained 
the great age which is usually the result of temper- 
ate living and non-participation in strifes. He died 
at Manchester, iSf^J. He was married to Nancy 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



99 



Hayes, who was born in Allenstown, the eldest of 
five famous sisters in the family of John Hayes of 
that town. Their cliildren were Oliver N. and 
Emma F. The latter became the wife of M. V. B. 
Smith, and died in Manchester, childless. 

(.VT) Oliver Newland, only son of Rev. Retier 
and Xancy (Hayes^ jNlitchell, was born January 
29, 1831, in Hooksett, and was about nine years old 
when his parents removed to Manchester. His 
education was supplied by the public schools of 
that city, and he early began to assist his father in 
gardening and horticulture, and continued that busi- 
ness after his father's death until old age compelled 
him to cease his activity. He died March 12, 1905. 
He was a man of quiet tastes, and did not mingle 
in public life, although he was was a man of settled 
convictions and sustained the principles of the Re- 
publican party. He was fond of his home, was 
well-read, and universally respected. Although his 
name was not on the roll of any church, he was a 
regular attendant and supporter of St. Paul's So- 
ciety of Manchester. jNlr. Mitchell was married, 
November 7, 1854, to Sarah P. Thompson, who 
was born March 14, 1829, in Burrellville, Rhode 
Island, a daughter of Lewis and Sarah B. (Aid- 
rich) Thompson. She survives her husband, and 
flow resides in South Manchester. She is a mem- 
ber of the Society of Friends, or Quakers. Fol- 
lowing is a brief account of their children : Mary 
Wing, the eldest, is a teacher in the public schools 
of Manchester. Park, the second, is the subject 
of the succeeding paragraph. Lewis Thompson is 
a resident of Candia, this state. Hiram Wing is 
somewhere in the west, and was, when last heard 
from, in British Columbia. Peter Olney and Wil- 
fred S. Thompson are residents of South Man- 
chester. 

CVH) Park, eldest son anJ second child of 
Oliver N. and Sarah P. (Thompson) JNlitchell, was 
born November 16, 1856, in Manchester, where he 
grew up, beginning his education, so far as schools 
may go, in the primary and grammar schools of 
South Manchester. Extensive travel, together with 
reading and observation during the years that have 
since passed, have made of him a well-informed 
man, and this coupled with his native intelligence 
have made him a worthy descendant of worthy 
sires. For a short time he attended the Friends' 
boarding school in Weare, known as Clinton Grove 
Seminary. His school days were over at the age 
of sixteen years, when he entered the office of The 
Manchester Union to acquire the printer's trade. 
Since that tiifle he has been a newspaper com- 
■positor, and has worked in many states of the 
Union. At one time he was one of the proprietors 
of a morning paper at Lynn, Massachusetts, whose 
plant was destroyed in the great fire of Lynn. 
For some years he has been settled down in Man- 
chester and held up to 1907 a desirable position in 
the office of the Union, where he first began his 
career. Since then he has been editing and pub- 
lishing the New Ha)nfshirc Trades Union. Since 
1880 he has been a member of the Typographical 
Union, which he joined in New Haven, Connecticut, 
and has held all the offices in- that body. He was 
three years president of the Central Labor Union 
of Manchester, and in 1904, was president of the 
State Federation of Labor. He is also a member 
of the Patrons of Husbandry. Mr. Mitchell has 
done much speaking in the interests of organized 
labor in many parts of the state, and has been 
pleasantly received. ' In the spring of 1906 he was 
appointed state organizer of the American Fed- 
eration of Labor, and has since given his time to 



the interests of that organization, with much suc- 
cess. He was married, June 25, 1885, to Flora A. 
Hartwell, who was born m Claremont, New Hamp- 
shire, daughter of Rev. Henry H. and Sarah (Sar- 
gent) Fiartwell. The latter was a daughter of 
Sterling Sargent (see Sargent, VH). Mr. and 
Mrs. Aiitchell are the parents of tlvee children, 
namely ; Emma Mary, Florence Sargent and Henry 
Oliver. The family attends the F'riends Church. 

I, Second Family.) 

(.1) Experience Mitchell and his 
jNHTCHELL brother 'ihomas were members of 

the original company of worship- 
pers who went from England to Leyden, Holland, 
prior to establishing themselves in New England, 
but neither of them accompanied the pilgrims in 
the "Mayflower," and Thomas died in Holland. 
In 1623 Experience Mitchell sailed in the "Anne," 
which was the third ship to arrive at Plymouth, 
Massachusetts, where he shared in the first division 
of land the same year, and he also received his 
portion of the live-stock which was distributed in 
1O27. Lt 1637 he sold his land on Spring Hill, 
Plymouth, to Samuel Eddy, and moving to Dux- 
bury, he purchased the William Paybody farm on 
Blue Fish river. Fie was one of the original pro- 
prietors of Bridgewater, Massachusetts, selling his 
proprietory rights to Thomas Hayward, but in his 
declining years he went to reside in that town with 
his son Edward, who settled m the locality known 
as Joppa, where he died in 1689, aged eighty years. 
He is said to have had a sister Constant, who be- 
came the wife of John Fobes. He is supposed to 
have married for his first wife Jane Cook, daugh- 
ter of Francis Cook, who was one of the original 
"Mayflower" pilgrims, and the christian name of 
his second wife was Mary. The names of his chil- 
dren, as gathered from his will, deeds and other 
recorded documents, were : Thomas, John, Jacob, 
Edward, Elizabeth, Mary, Sarah and Hannah. As 
it is impossible to identify with certainty the parents 
of Joseph jNIitchell, said to have been the founder 
of the family in New Hampshire, it has been found 
necessary to omit the second generation. 

(HI) Joseph, probably a grandson of Ex- 
perience Mitchell, was a native of Duxbury and 
an early settler in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. 
He was a charter member of the first church in 
that town. The maiden name of his wife is un- 
known, but her christian name was JNiary. 

(IV) Joseph (.2), son of Joseph (i) and Mary 
Mitchell, was born in Portsmouth. Irt 1726 he 
married Isabel Bragdon, and about the year 1730 
removed from Portsmouth to Kittery, Maine. His 
children were : Sarah, John and Jeremiah. 

(V) Captain Jeremiah, youngest son and child 
of Joseph (2) and Isabel (Bragdon) .Mitchell, was 
born (.probably) in Kittery in 1731. He became 
a master mariner, and was lost at sea in 1785. In- 
formation at hand states that Jeremiah and his wife 
Mary were the parents of Joseph, Maisie, Eunice, 
Sarah, Hannah and Lucy. 

(VI) Joseph (3), eldest child and only son 
of Captain Jeremiah and Alary Mitchell, was born 
in Kittery in 176S. He married Dorothy Blaisdcll, 
and reared a family of eight children, namely : 
Mary, Jeremiah, Ezra, Joseph, Hannah, Theodore, 
Elijah and Benjamin. All lived to a ripe old age 
and when Benjamin, the youngest, was seventy-two 
years old, all of his brothers and sisters were in 
good health. 

(VII) Ezra, second son and third child of 
Joseph (3) and Dorothy (Blaisdell) Mitchell, was 
born in Kittery, November 18, 1799. Lie learned 



lOO 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



the tanner's trade, which he followed in Water- 
ville, Maine,' for a time, and removing to Mechanic 
Falls, same state, he established himself in busi- 
ness in that town. He subsequently sold his tannery, 
and erecting the first paper mill in the Pine Tree 
state he was identified with that industry for many 
years. The' latter portion of his life was spent in 
retirement on a farm; he died at the age of ninety 
years. He married Mary Perry, of Sidney, jNIaine, 
and she died in 1851, leaving one son, Ezra. 

(VIH) Ezra (.2; Mitchell, M. D., only son of 
Ezra and Mary (Perry) Mitchell, was born ni 
Minot, Maine, November 12, 1841. After graduatmg 
from the Mame State Seminary, Lewiiton (.now 
Bates College), he entered the Harvard iledical 
School, from which he withdrew at the breakmg 
out of the Civil war and enlisted as a private m the 
Eighth Regiment, Aiaine Volunteer Infantry, lie 
was, however, appointed a medical cadet m the 
United States army, and he served as such until 
mustered out in November, 1865, on account ot a 
serious pulmonary affection which threatened to 
cut short his career of usefulness. Firmly believing 
that he would ultimately recover, he became a medi- 
cal student at Dartmouth College, from which he 
was graduated m 1867, and his determination to 
conquer his malady, as well as the diseases of his 
fellowmen, seems to have been realized, as he is 
now practicing his profession m Lancaster, where 
he located shortly atter his graduation. The hand- 
ling of his own case, necessitating an exhaustive 
investigation as to the most effectual means ot 
treating what has since been termed the "great 
white plague," naturally prompted him to become 
a specialist in tuberculosis and kindred diseases, and 
his success m this particular held of practice attests 
the fact that he has not labored in vain. He does 
not, however, confine his practice exclusively to this 
specialty, having attained substantial success as a 
general physician and surgeon, and he ranks among 
the most able medical practitioners m the state. 

In 1903 Dr. Mitchell was elected to the lower 
branch of the state legislature, solely for the pur- 
pose of assisting in the passing of an act appropriat- 
ing a large sum for the building of a state sani- 
tarium, and the bill passed both houses without 
opposition, but was vetoed by Governor Batchelder 
Re-elected in 1905, he renewed his efforts in behalt 
of the sanitarium bill with increased vigor, and 
once more secured its passage in the lower house. 
This tim^ the act was opposed in the senate, but 
a compromise, in which the Balch estate hgured 
prominently, was finally effected, stipulating that the 
bill become a law on May i, 1907- Having thus 
accomplished his purpose he declined further nomi- 
nation for public office, and retired permanently 
from politics. He was appointed chairman ot the 
board of trustees to locate and build the sanitarium. 
Dr Mitchell is a member of the Coos County, the 
New Hampshire and the National Medical societies, 
and of the Masonic Order. From 1882 to 1S85 he 
served as surgeon-general of the state militia, and 
attended as a delegate the dedication of the national 
monument at Yorktown, which took place on the 
centennial anniversary of that decisive battle. He 
is now president of the Lancaster Savings Bank, 
and vice-president of the Lancaster Trust Company. 
In his religious faith he is an Episcopalian, and is 
junior warden of St. Paul's Church. 

Dr Mitchell married Abbie E. Potter, Decem- 
ber 5 1867, daughter of Albert Potter, of Gardiner, 
Maine Dr. and Mrs. jMitchell have had three chil- 
dren only one of whom, Ernest H., is now living. 



A daughter died in infancy and a son met an ac- 
cidental death at the age of two years. 



Within a few years after the landing 
SAWYER of the Pilgrims at Plymouth there 

appears in the records ■ of the settle- 
ments of Massachusetts Bay Colony the name Saw- 
yer, a name which for centuries in the United 
States has been borne and honored by men who 
have been successful leaders in nearly all the walks 
of life. As governors, congressmen, and senators, 
as lawyers and jurists, as manufacturers and mer- 
chants, agriculturists and skilled artisans, as pio- 
neers they have shown those qualities of character 
which planted civilization in a land inhabited by 
savages, and under conditions that would have dis- 
heartened any but the strongest and bravest. Their 
hardihood and christian fortitude made them the 
fit instruments for the advancement of civilization 
upon the underlying foundation principles, the ob- 
ject which is the enjoyment of "life, liberty, and the 
pursuit of happiness." As defenders of these prin- 
ciples there were ever ready to face death, as the 
records of the early Indian wars in New England 
show, as well as those of the Revolution, and in 
later years when their country required defenders. 
It is a matter of record that eighteen members of 
the Sawyer family from Lancaster, Massachusetts, 
alone were in the military service at the same time 
during the Revolution, and that one company re- 
cruited in that town was officered from captain down 
by Sawyers. 

John Sawyer was a farmer in Lincoln- 
shire, England, where he is supposed to have been 
a landholder also. He was the father of three 
sons : William, Edward and Thomas, who left 
England on a ship commanded by Captain Parker, 
and settled in Massachusetts about i6j6. (The 
last named and descendants receive extended men- 
tion in this article.) 

(I) William Sayer, the immigrant ancestor, 
was born about 1613, probably in England. He was 
in Salem, Massachusetts, and later in Wenham, from 
1640 to 1645. His name at that time was spelled 
Sayer. He subscribed to the oath of allegiance in 
1678, and became a member of the First Baptist 
Church in Boston, with his wife and several otners 
of Newbury in 1681. It is probable that he had 
then resided in Newbury for forty years. A branch 
of the First Baptist Church was formed in New- 
bury in 1682, and William and John Sayer and 
others were among its members. He was still 
living in 1697, and his estate was administered by 
his son-in-law. John Emery, in March, 1703. The_ 
name of his wife was Ruth, and his children were : 
John, Samuel, Ruth, Mary (died young), Sarah, 
Hannah (died young), William, Frances (died 
young), Alary, Stephen A., Hannah and Frances, 
(ilention of William and Stephen and descendants 

'forms a part of this article.) 

(II) Samuel, second son of William and Ruth 
Sawyer, was born November 22, 1646, in Newbury, 
where he lived. He was made a freeman. May 12, 
1675, a"d died February n, 1718. He was married 
in Newbury, March .13, 1671, to Mary, daughter of 
George Emery. Their children were : Mary, 
Samuel, John (died young), Joshua, Hannah, Jo- 
siah, John, a daughter who died in infancy, and 
Benjamin. 

(III) Joshua, third son and fourth child of 
Samuel and Mary (Emery) Sawyer, was born about 
1677 or 1678 in Newbury and there lived. No 
record of his death has been discovered. The name 
of his wife was Elizabeth, as shown by the record 




LEVI D. SAWYER. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



lOl 



of the births of their children, who were : Joseph, 
Mary, Joshua, Nathan, Sarah and Anne. 

(.IV) Joseph, eldest child of Joshua and Eliza- 
beth Sawyer, was born November 19, 1706, in New- 
bury, and settled at Falmouth, JNlaine. He mar- 
ried Joanna, daughter of Ebenezer and Mary Cobb, 
and lived in what is now known as Cape Elizabeth. 
From him is descended nearly all of the Saco val- 
ley families of that name. His children were : 
Ebenezer, iNlary, Jabez, John, Rachael, James, Mercy, 
Lemuel and Rebecca. 

(V) John, third son and fourth child of Jo- 
seph and Joanna (Cobb) Sawyer, Was born De- 
cember 24, 1745, at Cape Elizabeth, and settled with 
his brother near Duck pond in that town. He 
is described as a large rnan, having curly hair. 
He died December 3, 1S05. He married Isabella 
Martin, of Bu.xton, who survived him thirty-four 
years, dying December 6, 1839. Their children 
were : Rebecca, Hannah, John, Robert, Abigail, 
David, Molly, Rachael, Joanna, Sally and Lemuel. 

(VI) David, third son and si.xth child of John 
and Isabella (.Martin) Sawyer, was baptized Oc- 
tober 3, 1783, and settled m Standish, Maine, and 
there owned a farm of four hundred acres which he 
cultivated. He married Betsy Allen and they had 
several children, including Thomas, Lemuel and 
George A. 

(VII) George Alvin, son of David and Betsey 
(Alien) Sawyer, was born April i, -1823, at Cape 
Elizabeth, Maine. He was one of the "forty- 
niners" and went to California for a year or two. 
He then returned east, and was in the cooperage 
business in Boston for a few years. He then formed 
a partnership with an uncle, W. H. Kinsman. To- 
gether they owned several vessels engaged in the 
sugar trade with Cuba. These interests Mr. Sawyer 
retained till the close of his life. He was a Re- 
publican in politics, and he attended the old Harvard 
Church in Charlestown, Massachusetts, the city 
that was so long his home. George Alvin Sawyer 
married Elizabeth Varney, daughter of Ezekiel Var- 
ney, of Windham, Maine. They had four children : 
George, who died young ; Eca A., now living in 
California; Henry Holmes, whose sketch follows; 
and Harriet, who married G. L. Goulding, of Lex- 
ington, Massachusett*. George A. Varney died in 
1S90, at Charlestown, Massachusetts. 

(VHI) Henry Holmes, second son and third 
child of George A. and Elizabeth (Varney) Sawyer, 
was born June 24, 1854, at Charlestown, Massachu- 
setts. He attended the common and-high schools 
of Charlestown, and Eaton's Business College, in 
Boston. He was first employed by the Continental 
Sugar Refinery of East Boston. He then went into 
the employ of his uncle, G. L. Goulding, in the 
cotton waste business at Maiden, Massachusetts. 
Later he went to Somerville, Massachusetts, and 
was employed by J. P. Squire and Company, till he 
removed to Walpole, New Hampshire, in 1901. 
Since then he has carried on general farmin.g on 
the estate of one hundred and fifty acres, left by 
his wife's father. Major Lucius Slade. Henry H. 
Sawyer married, May 12, 1883, Leila L., daughter 
of Major Lucius and Lucy (Rust) Slade, of Boston. 
They have three children : Robert S., attended the 
high school in Somerville, Massachusetts, and was 
graduated from the New Hampshire State College 
at Durham, in 1906. Franklin L.. employed at the 
-Mgonquin Machine Works at Westminster, Ver- 
mont. Arthur H. attends the high school at Wal- 
pole. (See Slade Family, VI, for Mrs. Sawyer's 
ancestry.) 

(in William (2), son of William (i) and 
Ruth Sawyer, was born February i, 1655, in New- 



bury, Massachusetts, and lived in that town. He 
was married March to, 1670, to Mary Emery, who 
was born June 24, 1652, daughter of John and Mary 
Emery, of Newbury (see Emery). All of their 
si.x children were born in Newbury, including sons, 
Samuel, John and Josiah. 

(HI) Josiah, youngest son and child of Wil- 
liam (2) and Mary (Emery) Sawyer, was born 
January 20, 1681, and is believed to have been in 
some prominent manner connected with the military 
organizations of the province as he always was 
known as Captain Sawyer. He married and had 
five children, but the family name of his wife is 
unknown. Their children were : Josiah, born 1708, 
died June 10, 1792. Moses, born 171 1, died August 
25i 1778. Terzah, born 1715, died 17S2 ; married 
twice. Gideon, born 1719, died December 26, 1806. 
Hannah, born 1735, died September 24, 1759. 

(IV) Josiah (2), eldest son of Josiah (i) 
Sawyer, was born in 1708, and married, about 1735, 
Mary Ordway of Newbury, daughter of Deacon 
John Ordway. Josiah was a farmer, and lived in 
Newbury until 1746, when he purchased and re- 
moved to a farm in South Hampton, and died there 
June 10, 1792. His children were: Josiah, Israel, 
Miriam, John, Hannah, Richard, Matthias, Moses, 
Terzah and Molly. 

(V) Josiah (,3), eldest son and child of Jo- 
siah (2) and Mary (Ordway) Sawyer, was born in 
Newbury, New Hampshire, in 1737, and died in 
Deerfield, New Hampshire, June 19, 1812. He was 
one of the original proprietors of Nottingham, New 
Hampshire, where he lived near the' line between 
that town and Deerfield. His wife, Miriam, born 
February 28, 1740, was a sister of Jeremiah East- 
man, who made the survey of the town of Deer- 
field, and daughter of Jeremiah and Lydia (Brown) 
Eastman (see Eastman, IV). Josiah Sawyer's chil- 
dren were : Josiah, who removed to Gilford, New 
Hampshire. Jeremiah, who removed to Gilmanton 
and died there. David, who settled in Deerfield 
and removed thence to Lee, New Hampshire. John, 
who lived and died in Andover, New Hampshire. 
Israel, who spent his life on the old homestead. 

(VI) Josiah (.4), eldest of the children Fast 
above mentioned, settled in Gilford and was the 
founder of one of the prominent families in that 
town. Sawyer genealogy gives no account of the 
life of Josiah after his removal to Gilford, and 
family history only records that he was born about 
the year 1760, married an Eastman, and had eight 
children, among whom were : Dr. Josiah, John, 
Sarah, Patty, Miriam and Israel. 

(VII) Israel, son of Josiah and (Gil- 
man) Sawyer, was born in Gilford, New Hamp- 
shire, March 3, 1803, and married Miriam Davis, 
daughter of Melcher and Anna (Jewell) Davis. 
Their children : Levi, born June 26, 1828. Salina, 
born October 26, 1833. Pamclia, born July 7, 1835. 
John, born December 13, 1837. Albert, born Janu- 
ary 7, 1843. 

(VIII) Levi Sawyer was born in Gilford. New 
Hampshire, June 26, 1828, and died there July 7, 
1903. His entire life was spent in the town, and 
he is remembered as a substantial farmer, a man 
of e.xcellent character, and ' one who believed in 
and advocated temperance in all things. His wife 
was Mary Ann Dame, who was born October 29, 
1830. Their children : Luther C, born August 12, 
1852, deceased in 1875. Ora Anna, born May 21, 
18.SO, wife of Charles H. Gove, resides in Gilford. 
.■\nsel B., born August 11, 1863, married ."Mice 
.'\dams, resides in Gilford. Ernest P., born No- 
vember 6, 1S70, 

(IX) Ernest P., youngest child of Levi and 



I02 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Mary Ann (Dame) Sawyer, was born in the town 
in which he now lives, and like his ancestors for 
several generations before him has engaged in 
farming pursuits. He also is engaged in poultry 
raising, and markets the product of his yards chiefly 
in Boston. On September i, 1897, Mr. Sawyer 
married Miss Sadie E. Adams, by whom he has 
had two children : George Levi Sawyer, who died 
in extreme infancy, and Ruth E., born April 21, 
1907. 

(II) Stephen A., fourth son and tenth child 
of William and Ruth Sayer, was born April 25, 
1663, in Newbury, and resided there where he died 
June 8, 1753, being then the oldest man in New- 
bury, over nmety years of age. His will was dated 
February 20 of the same year and allowed July 
23 following his death. He was a member of the 
Society of ir-riends. He niserted a "w" in spelling 
his name. He married, March 10, 16S7, Ann, 
daughter of William and Elizabeth (Bitfield) Tit- 
comb. She was born July 7, 1666, in Newbury, and 
died September 7, 1750, in her eighty-fifth year. 
Their children were : Ann, Daniel, Stephen, Enoch, 
Sarah and Elizabeth. (Stephen and descendants 
are mentioned in this article.) 

(III) Daniel, second child and eldest son of 
Stephen and Ann (Titconib) Sawyer, was born 
in Newbury, Massachusetts, January 28, 1689, died 
October 22, 1781. He married Sarah Moody, and 
they had children, among them a daughter Anne 
and a son Humphrey. 

(IV) Humphrey, son of Daniel and Sarah 
(Moody) Sawyer, was one of the first of his name 
to settle in New Hampshire, having come from 
Massachusetts to the town of Wtare in Hills- 
borough county in 1788. He married Mary Phillips, 
of Lynn, Massachusetts, and they had three chil- 
dren, two of whom, Phillips and Humphrey, settled 
in Weare. 

(V) Humphrey (2), son of Humphrey (i) and 
Mary (Phillips) Sawyer, was born in Massachu- 
setts, and was a young man when his parents settled 
in the town of Weare, New Hampshire. He is 
said to have been a man of great activity, and for 
a time held the office of deputy sheriff. He was 
a sieve maker by occupation, and during the eni; 
bargo, when the importation of foreign-made goods 
was entirely prohibited, he invented and operated a 
machine for making wire, an article which had 
almost gone out of the market. His wife was Mary 
Hoag, who bore him three children : James, born 
June 7, 1793, married (first) Nancy Tewksbury, 
(second) Polly George, and had four children, two 
by his first and two by his second wife. Peace, 
born November 15, 1797, died unmarried. Allen, 
born June 27, 1803. 

(VI) Allen, youngest son and child of Hum- 
phrey and Mary (Hoag) Sawyer, was born in 
Weare, New Hampshire, June 27, 1S03, and died 
April 15, 1866. In 1S28 he opened a custom shoe 
shop, for he was a practical workman in that line. 
He soon took in several apprentices and began 
making ladies' shoes to sell in the neighboring 
towns, and made the first shoes ever sold in any 
store in the town of Pittsfield. He continued gradu- 
ally to increase the business until his shop gave 
employment to forty workmen and produced an- 
nually from eighteen to twenty thousand pairs of 
shoes, worth in the aggregate about thirty thousand 
dollars. For the time this was considered an im- 
mense business and yielded a good income to the 
proprietor. At one time Mr. Sawyer was in partner- 
ship with Ira Gove at the crossroads at the place 
called Slab City, and still later was a partner with 



his son, Lindley M. Sawyer, at North Weare. JNIr. 
Sawyer was a man of sterling integrity, universally 
respected and contributed much to the prosperity 
of his native town. He was a member of the So- 
ciety of Friends, and originally a Whig and after- 
ward a Republican. He married (first), in 1828,- 
Annie Osborne, of Loudon, New Hampshire, and 
(second), in 1845, Mary B. Peaslee, of Henniker, 
New Hampshire, and had in all eight children, 
viz.: John O., born September 12, 1829, died in 
1856. Eliza L., born tJctober 10, 1830, married 
D. Warren Cogswell, of Henniker, New Hampshire, 
died July, 1905. Mary Jane, born May 13, 1832, 
married John Winslow Hanson (see Hanson, VII). 
Lindley M., born September 25, 1833, died Novem- 
ber 12, 1872; he married Ellen R. Dickey, of Man- 
chester, New Hampshire. Anna JNI., the eldest 
child of second wife, born May 3, 1847, married 
Charles A. Jones, in Hillisborough, New Hamp- 
shire. Hannah E., bom May 12, 1850, died young. 
Abbie E., born September 8, 1854, died young. 
Addle E., born August 27, 1858, married Lindley 
M. Farr, in Weare. 

(III) Stephen (2), second son and third child of 
Stephen (i) and Ann (Titcomb) Sawyer, was 
born about 1692, in Newbury, and continued to re- 
side in that town where he died October 22, 1781. 
He married, April 2, 1714, Sarah, daughter of 
Thomas and Judith (Hale) Moody. She was born 
February 11, 1695, and died August 21, 1790. Their 
children were; Humphrey, Anne, Elijah and Ju- 
dith. 

(IV) Humphrey, eldest child of Stephen (2> 
and Sarah (Moody) Sawyer, was born February 
12, 1716, and resided on High street in Newbury. 
He married Hannah Phillips, of Lynn, Massachu- 
setts, and they had ten children, born between 1744 
and 176S. 

(V) Phillips, son of Humphrey and Hannah 
(Phillips) Sawyer, was born April 23, 1746, in 
Newburyport, Massachusetts, and settled in Weare, 
New Hampshire, in 1788. He married Jilary Breed, 
of Lynn, daughter of Nathan Breed, of that town. 
Their children were : John, Judith, Ezra, Abigail, 
Ruth and Nathan. He died in Weare, August 31, 
1S21. 

(VI) John, eldest son of "Phillips and Mary 
(Breed) Sawyer, was born June 25, 1774, in New- 
buryport, and was but a lad when he came w-itli 
his parents to Weare, New Hampshire. On at- 
taining manhood he purchased a lot of land in 
Henniker, on which he settled and became a promi- 
nent citizen of that town. He was a member of 
the Society of Friends, and represented the town 
in the legislature in 1812. He was selectman in 
1808-09-10-11-12, and in 1818 and 1824. He mar- 
ried, August 19, 1799, Eunice Gove, of Weare, who 
died April 22, 1S76. Their children were : Mary, 
Moses, Nathan, Daniel and Albert. 

(VII) Moses, eldest son and second child of 
John and Eunice (Gove) Sawyer, was born October 
26, 1803, in Henniker, and became one of the lead- 
ing citizens of the town of Weare, New Hampshire. 
He very early in life set out to earn his own living, 
therefore had little time to give to study in the 
ordinary way. Fie was, however, a student all his 
life and by reading and observation became pos- 
sessed of a fund of useful information, and was 
respected and esteemed as a citizen wherever he 
lived. He was brought up under the tutelage of 
the Society of Friends, and was thoroughly estab- 
lished in correct principles of life at the outset. 
When he was but fourteen years old he left home 
to serve an apprenticeship to the trade of dressing. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



103 



cloth, and afterwards went to Amesbury, JMassachu- 
setts, where he became conversant with every de- 
tail in the manufacture of woolen cloth. While there 
he made the acquaintance of John G. Whittier and 
William Lloyd Garrison and was ever a supporter 
of the latter in his efforts for the promotion of 
human liberty. At the age of twenty-eight years 
Mr. Sawyer went into business for himself, pur- 
chasing a water privilege in North Weare and here 
he erected a mill. A company was formed for the 
manufacture of woolen goods and in this Mr. Saw- 
yer was the moving spirit. His capital did not 
extend far'beyond his own knowledge and industry 
and a thoroughly established character. This enter- 
prise was one of the first woolen mills in New 
Hampshire, if not the firsts At the time it was 
established there was only one house in the present 
city of Manchester. Mr. Sawyer continued for 
some years in the successful operation of the mill, 
and then became the agent of a new company which 
enlarged the facilities of the plant and conducted 
an extensive business. He continued as agent of 
the company for some years, when they sold out in 
the eighties. He then lived retired till his death, 
which occurred January 27, 1892. 

Mr. Sawyer was prominent in the church work 
of the Friends, and was active in every philan- 
thropic and benevolent movement. He was an 
abolitionist from the first and prized and cherished 
the first number of the Liberator, published by 
William Lloyd Garrison, to which he was a sub- 
scriber. No one ever felt more keenly the injustice 
of human slavery than he, and he let no opportunity 
pass to do all in his power toward securing the liberty 
of the southern, slaves. His house was one of the 
stations of the "underground railway" and it was 
in that house that Frederick Douglass commenced 
writing his autobiography. jNlr. Sawyer was a strong 
friend of the temperance movement and gave freely 
of his means for the support of temperance work. 
It was his nature to champion the cause of the 
unfortunate and their relief was never to him a 
burden. He was a man of quiet domestic nature 
and did not seek part in the conduct of public affairs, 
but he felt it his duty to perform such labors as 
naturally fell to his lot, and in 1S66 was the repre- 
sentative of Weare in the state legislature. He was 
the first president of the Hillsboro Bridge County 
Bible Society, and was one of the trustees of the 
State Orphan's Home. He married (first), in 1833, 
Rebecca B. Morrill, of Seabrook, New Hampshire, 
who died in 1848. In 1852 he marrjed (second), 
Hannah B., daughter of Daniel Bassett, of Wolfboro, 
this state. The first wife was the mother of a son, 
John Edward ; the second wife was the mother of 
Henry A., Rebecca E. and Mary E. 

(VIII) Henry Abbott, second son of Moses 
Sawyer and eldest child of his second wife, Hannah 
B. (Bassett) Sawj;er, was born August i, 1853, in 
Weare. He married. May 29, 1878, Elizabeth A. 
Matthews, daughter of Joseph H. and Adeline M. 
(Adams) Matthews. She was born April 27, 1S5S. 
He graduated from the State College at Hanover, 
New Hampshire, 1874, and was in the woolen mill 
for a time, later farming, later owned and managed 
a steam laundry at Far Rockaway, Long Island. 
He returned to Weare and died there December 24, 
1892. 

(IX) Moses H., only child of Henry A. and 
Elizabeth A. (Matthews) Sawyer, was born Febru- 
ary 14, 1S81, in Weare. He graduated from the 
New Hampton Literary Institute of New Hampton, 
and was president of his class, in 1901, and is now 
engaged in the poultry business in Weare, residing 



with his mother. He is a member of the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows, of Weare; also William 
Lodge, No. 37; also the (irange of Weare. He is, 
a Republican in politics. 

(Second Family). 

This is one of the surnames which 
SAWYER probably arose from an occupation,., 

and has been honored in Americai 
since its transportation by many leading citizens ot 
various states. It has figured conspicuously in the 
United States senate, in the ministry, in law and 
in the various callings pursued by the American 
people. It is ably and numerously represented ia 
New Hampshire, and has contributed its proportion, 
to the progress and development of the state. It is 
shown that eighteen members of the Sawyer family 
from Lancaster, Massachusetts, alone were in mili- 
tary service at the same time during the Revolution; 
and one company, recruited in that town, was oift- 
cered from captain down by Sawyers. 

(.1) Thomas Sawyer, the American ancestor,, 
son of John Sawyer, of Lincolnshire, England, was 
born about 1626, in Lincolnshire, and came to Mass- 
achusetts in 1636, with two elder brothers, and 
they settled in Rowley in 1639. As early as l647> 
when he was twenty-four years of age, he became 
one of the first si.x settlers of Lancaster, along with 
the Prescotts, Wilders, Houghtons and two other 
families. In May 1653, the general court, in answer 
to a petition of the inhabitants of Lancaster, ap- 
pointed Edward Breck, Nathaniel Haddock, William 
Kerley, Thomas Sawyer, John Prescott and Ralph 
Houghton, "prudential managers," "both to see alii 
alotments to be laid out for the planters in diie 
proportion to their estates, and also to order their 
prudential affairs." During this same year these 
managers allotted a part of the lands of the town- 
All divisions of land subsequent to the first, whether 
upland, intervale, meadow or swamp, were to be 
"accorded to men's estates," on the valuation of the 
taxable property which they brought into the settle- 
ment. Thomas Sawyer's property was valued at 
it 10, which was about one forty-second part of 
the property held by the thirty adult male inhabit- 
ants of the town. Thomas Sawyer was made a 
freeman in 1654. He settled near the south branch 
of the Nashua river, and not far from the junction 
of that stream with the North branch. Here h'e 
built a house which was a garrison, and the scene 
of the most conspicuous events in the town's history. 
In 1704 this garrison with nine men was commanded 
by Thomas (.2) Sawyer, and was the place of de- 
fense of the families in the vicinity, in case of an 
attack by Indians. Thomas Sawyer and his family 
passed through some of the most horrible experi- 
ences of Indian warfare in this home of theirs. 
King Philip's war, which began in 1675, raised a 
storm which broke in great fury on Lancaster, 
.August 22, 1675 (o. s.), and eight persons were 
killed in the town that day. February 9, 1676, 
King Philip, with fifteen hundred warriors attacked 
Lancaster, and fifty persons, one-sixth of the 
inhabitants of the town, were captured or killed. 
Among the latter was Ephraim, the son of Thomas 
Sawyer, who was killed at Prescott's Garrison, ia 
what is now the town of Clinton. The town in- 
cluded fifty families, and they made a heroic resist- 
ance, but overpowered by numbers they could not 
prevent the enemy from destroying a large number 
of their cattle and all but two of the houses in the 
settlement. After having been abandoned four years,, 
the resettlement of the town was undertaken by the 
survivors of the massacre, one of wliom was Thomas 
Sawyer. He was a blacksmith, and after participat- 



J04 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ing in the struggles and trials of fifty-three years he 
died in Lancaster, at the age of eighty years. He 
was buried in the old burying ground on the bank 
of the Nashua river, and his headstone still stands 
inscribed : "'Thomas Sawyer, DecM, September 12, 
1706." Thomas Sawyer married, in 1647, Mary, 
daughter of John and Mary (Platts) Prescott. John 
Prescott, blacksmith, was a native of Lancaster, 
England, and the first permanent inhabitant of Lan- 
caster. He was the progenitor of Colonel William 
Prescott, of Bunker Hill fame, and William H. 
Prescott, the historian. The children of Thomas and 
Mary Sawyer were : Thomas, Ephraim, Mary, Eliza- 
beth, Joshua, James, Caleb, John and Nathaniel. 

(II) Caleb, seventh child and fifth son of 
Thomas and iNIary (Prescott) Sawyer, was born in 
Lancaster, April 20, 1659. He outlived all -the 
Harvard pioneers, dying February 13, 1755, aged 
ninety-six years. He received a special grant of 
thirty acres from the Lancaster proprietors, as well 
as lands from his father, laid out upon the east side 
of Beare Hill, afterwards included in the town of 
Harvard, and probably built upon his lot shortly 
after the massacre of 1697. Near his home was the 
famous "Rendezvous Tree." often mentioned in old 
records of land and highways, tantalizing us with 
suggestions of romance, no detail of which has been 
preserved by history or tradition. His dwelling is 
still standing, and is occupied as a residence. This 
house was one of the garrisons of the town during 
the Indian wars, and here he lived for more than 
fifty years, and here he died. In the town and church 
affairs of his time he was an active and useful man. 
He divided the home acres several years before his 
death between his sons Jonathan and Seth, the lat- 
ter living with his father in the old house, and 
Jonathan building a short distance to the north. 
Caleb Sawyer married, December 28, 1687, Sarah 
Houghton, born Februarj' 16, 1661, the daughter of 
Ralph and Jane Houghton, granddaughter of James 
Houghton, thus effecting an alliance between two 
of the most prominent families which organized 
the town of Lancaster. She died November 15, 1757, 
in the ninetieth year of her age. The children of 
this union were : Hepsibah, Abigail, Jonathan, John, 
and Seth, whose sketch follows. 

till) Seth, (probably) the youngest of the chil- 
di-en of Caleb and Sarah (Houghton) Sawyer, was 
born December 31, 1704, baptized at Lancaster in 
1708, and died March 29, 1768, aged sixty-three. He 
was one of the leading citizens in the town of Har- 
vard, and served as selectman in 1755. He is re- 
ferred to in the church records as iMr., a title be- 
stowed only on men of influence in those days. In 
the assignment of seats in the church, in 1766, he 
was given a place in the "Fore Seat Below." The 
committee which assigned the seats was instructed 
"that the foremost Seats Be seated .by aged 
and pay * * * that the Rest of the Seats be 
seated by pay only." He married, in Lancaster, 
October 12, 1732, Hepsibah Whitney, 'tlie ceremony 
being performed by Rev. John Trentice. She was 
born 1710, daughter of Richard and Elizabeth 
(Sawtelle) Whitney, of Stowe, and she died of 
debility in May, 1797, at the age of eighty-seven. 
Their children were : John, Caleb, Dinah, Betty and 
Phineas. 

(IV) Caleb (2), second son and child of Seth and 
Hepsibah (Whitney) Sawyer, wis born in 1737. in 
Harvard, a part of Lancaster, which in 1732 had 
been incorporated as a town by itself. Here on what 
was an outlying piece of land belonging to his grand- 
father he built, in 1761, a house, no trace of which 
except the cellar, now remains. He married, De- 



cember 9, 1760, Relief Fairbank, born December i, 
1739, daughter of Joseph and Mary (Brown) Fair- 
bank, of Harvard. She died December 2, 1764, 
leaving sons, Seth and Caleb. He married, in 176(3, 
Sarah Patch, by whom he had two sons, Phineas 
and Jonathan. Jonathan remained on the home 
farm at Harvard, which is still occupied by his 
descendants. Betsey Townsend, perhaps his third 
wife was the mother of William Sawyer, who is 
mentioned at length, with descendants in this article. 
(V) Phineas, oldest son and child of Caleb and 
Sarah (Patch) Sawyer, was born in Harvard, May 
23, 1768, and died in Marlborough, in i82d. In 1800, 
w^hen thirty-two years of age, he moved to JNIarl- 
borough, Massachusetts, and in that part which is 
now Hudson he erected, in 1806, a cotton mill in 
which he carried on the manufacture of cotton yarn 
and cloth until the close of the war of 1S12, when 
foreign competition compelled him to quit the busi- 
ness. He married, in Harvard, May 17, 1791, Han- 
nah Whitnev, born April 23, 1773, in Bolton, daugh- 
ter of Deacon Israel and Hannah (Mead) Whitney, 
by whom he had fourteen children, the first of 
whom were born in Harvard. Their names are: 
Hannah. Eusebia, Sarah, Sophia, Alfred I., Ira, 
Arethusa. Eliza, Mary, Zenas, Edmund, Francis A., 
Weslev and Jonathan. Mrs. Sawyer lived in Marl- 
borough nine years after the death of her husband. 
In 1829 she went to Lowell, where she lived twenty 
years, dying there in 1849, greatly respected by all 
who knew her, and held in honor and affection by 
her many children. 

(VI) Jonathan, the fourteenth child of Phineas 
and Hannah (Whitney) Sawyer, was born in ilarl- 
borough, June 17, 1817, died in Dover, June 20, 1891, 
aged seventy-four. He was educated in the public 
schools of his native town until he was twelve years 
old. His father died when he was two years old, 
and the lad's mother moved, in 1829, with her family 
to Lowell. There he continued his studies, and was 
a member of the first class which entered the high 
school of that town. - T. IL Clark, afterward bishop 
of Rhode Island, was at that time principal of the 
high school. Among his classmates were General 
Benjamin F. Butler, Gustavus V. Fox, assistant 
secretary of the navy during the Civil war, and 
Ezekial A. Straw, governor of New Hampshire in 
1873. He next went to live in the family of his 
brother. Alfred I., who at that time operated a plant 
at Dover, New Hampshire. Here he remained two 
years, attending school part of each year and work- 
ing in the mill the remainder of the time. In 1833 
he returned to Lowell, and then went to the Wes- 
leyan Academv at Wilbraham. After leaving the 
academy he learned the art of dyeing m a woolen 
mill in Lowell, and then began dyeing on his own ac- 
count, carrying on the business until 1839. In that 
year he went to Watertown, New York, wdiere for 
two and one half years he was employed as super- 
intendent of the Hamilton Woolen Company. After 
the conclusion of his service with that company, he 
manufactured satinets on his own account in Water- 
town until 1849. In that year Alfred I. Sawyer died 
and left a family of young children, and Jonathan 
Sawyer removed to Dover, where he and his brother 
Zenas associated themselves together under the firm 
name of Z. & J. Sawyer. They continued the opera- 
tion of the mills conducted by Alfred I. Sawyer, 
which have undergone various changes since they 
came into the hands of this family. Altred I. Saw- 
yer operated a grist mill and a custom carding and 
clothdressing mill. In 1832 the old woolen mill 
was enlarged and adapted to the manufacture of 
flannels, which manufacture was continued by Z. & 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



10 = 



J. Sawyer. At the end of two years Francis A. 
Sawyer, another brother, took the place of Zenas, 
and the name of the firm became F. A. & J. Sawyer. 
Until 1858 the flannel manufacture was carried on in 
a woolen mill erected in 1S32. but in that year a 
structure near the old one, known as the jMoses mill, 
was bought, and in i860 enlarged to a four-set mill, 
in 1863 eight sets, and in 1882 sixteen sets. The 
old mill was used until 1872, and then a new build- 
ing for forty sets of cards was erected. In 1S66 the 
company began to sell its own goods. 

Jonathan Sawyer, with his enterprise, skill and 
e.xccutive ability, was the principal factor in success- 
fully establishing the Sawyer Mills and carrying 
them through the trying experiences encountered by 
the textile manufacturers. in his time. He was far- 
sighted, prudent, provident, cautious, untiring in his 
activity, and withal a man of sterling integrity 
whose personality lent stability to any enterprise 
with which he was connected. His relations with his 
employes were such as a sense of justice and fair 
dealing demanded. He fully understood and acted 
on the principle that the laborer is worthy of his hire; 
and at the same time he demanded competency, faith- 
fulness, and a fair day's work from every one in his 
employ. He exemplified in an eminent degree the 
theory of a square deal. In the accumulation of 
money he was successful, and in the disposal of it 
he was not only just, but charitable. He regarded 
his prosperity as a means for helping others, and 
gave to the needy and distressed with a generous 
hand. In all that concerned the public welfare he 
was an interested partaker, but he had no time for 
and no interest in politics beyond a care for the per- 
petuity of our free institutions in their purity. 
Offices and honor were offered him, but always de- 
clined. He did no believe in human bondage, was 
an early supporter of the antislavery movement, and 
at a later date was one of the founders of the Free 
Soil party. After the organization of the Republican 
party he was one of its strongest supporters. He 
loved books, and his conversation showed an unusual 
breadth of reading in science, history and politics. 

Jonathan Sawyer married, in Barnard. Vermont. 
June 25, 1839, Martha Perkins, daughter of Cyrus 
and Martha (Childs) Perkins, of Barnard, Ver- 
mont. The children of this union are : Charles H., 
Mary Elizabeth, Francis Asbury, Roswell Douglas, 
Martha Frances, Alice May and Frederick Jonathan. 
Charles H., is the subject of the next section of this 
article. INIary E., died unmarried, in 1899. Francis 
A., married Emma K. Smith, daughter of Hon. 
Perry Smith, of Chicago, and died in 1889. Roswell 
D., artist, married Edwina Dean Lowe, of St. Louis, 
Missouri, and died in Rome, 1894. Martha F., mar- 
ried W. S. Bradley, of Fairfield, Vermont, now at 
Dover. Alice M.. married Dr. Frederick W. Payne, 
of Boston. Frederick J., married Isabella Dootsen, 
and died in 1902, at New Bedford, Massachusetts. 

(VII) Hon. Charles Henry Sawyer, eldest child 
of Jonathan and Martha (Perkins) Sawyer, was 
born in Watertown, New York, March 30, 1840. 
He was educated in the public schools of Watertown, 
New York, and Dover, New Hampsliire, the removal 
of his father and family to the latter place having 
been made in 1849, when Charles H. was about nine 
years old. When seventeen years of age he entered 
the Sawyer Mills as an ordinary operative to learn 
the business of flannel making in its different 
branches, acquiring a thorougli knowledge of all the 
processes through which the material passes from 
the raw state to the finished product. At twenty- 
six he W'as made superintendent of the mills, at the 
time when the company was extending its sphere of 



operations and adapting its machinery to the manu- 
facture of a high grade of woolens for men's wear, 
and upon the incorporation in 1873 was made agent, 
and from 1881 to 1898 was president of the company. 

At an early age Mr. Sawyer's ability and posi- 
tion made him conspicuous and an available party 
leader. He was offered, accepted and was elected 
to seats in both branches of the city council of Dover, 
and in 1869-70, and again in 1876-77, he was elected 
to the lower house of the New Hampshire legisla- 
ture, where he served his constituency in such a 
manner as to secure their hearty approval and at- 
tract the attention of the state. He was appointed 
on the stafi^ of Governor Charles H. Bell, in 1881, 
and was a delegate to the National Republican Con- 
vention held in Chicago, 1S84, when James G. Blaine 
was nominated for the presidency. Though a polit- 
ical career was not the course j\Ir. Sawyer had 
started out in life to pursue, circumstances had 
made opportunities for him, and his service in public 
life had been such as to make him conspicuous 
among the Republicans of the state as an available 
and sagacious leader, and in 1886 he was nominated 
for governor by nearly a three-fourths vote of the 
delegates to the gubernatorial convention. There 
was no choice by the people and the legislature 
elected him. During his term of office various cen- 
tennial celebrations were held which he, as the ex- 
ecutive head of the state, attended. Notably among 
these was the centennial celebration of the promul- 
gation of the Constitution of the United States, held 
at Philadelphia; the centennial celebration of the 
inauguration of President Washington in New York, 
and the laying of the corner stone of the Bennington 
Monument at Bennington, Vermont. 

During Governor Sawyer's term of office arose 
the memorable struggle over the "Hazen Bill," a 
measure designed to facilitate the leasing of certain 
railroads. One powerful railroad corporation cham- 
pioned the bill, another opposed it, and arrayed on 
one or the other of the sides were all the politi- 
cians in the state, and much feeling was displayed. 
It was proved by testimony given before a legis- 
lative committee that questionable methods had been 
used both for and against the measure. In view of 
these facts when the bill reached the governor he 
vetoed it, not basing his action upon any objections 
to its intrinsic merits, but upon the unfair methods 
used in support of it, and active on the principle 
which prompts courts of justice to refuse to help 
either of the parties to an illegal proceeding; the 
court refused "not for the sake of the defendant, 
but because they will not lend their aid to such a 
plaintiff." The governor in summing up his objec- 
tions to justify his refusal and express his dis- 
approval of the methods of the parties said in his 
veto message : "The most effectual way to check 
such practices is to have it understood that no bill 
attempted to be passed by such means can become a 
law. When the promotors of a measure see fit to 
offer bribes to members, they cannot be allowed 
to excuse themselves on tlie ground that their 
offers were not accepted. If it comes to be under- 
stood that successful attempts of this nature will 
not imperil the passage of a bill, such offers will 
become much more frequent. If the offer is ac- 
cepted, neither party will be likely to disclose the 
fact. If it is rejected, it is, in this view, to be con- 
sidered of no consequence, and hence no harm 
could be done to the prospects of the bill. The bare 
statement of such a doctrine is its best answer." 
This CQura.gcous, wise and patriotic stand in favor 
of legislative purity taken by the governor was 
wortliy of the commendation of every fair-minded 



io6 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



person in the state; but instead of approbation it 
drew a storm of denunciation from certain sources, 
especially from newspapers retained to advocate the 
passage of the bill. 

Governor Sawyer has been connected with many 
business enterprises, both in Dover and in other places, 
and in most of them he has been a leading member: 
He is an attendant of the First Church in Dover 
(Congregational), and is a prompt and generous 
giver whenever it needs financial support. Since 
1S65 he has been a member of the Free and .A.ccepted 
Masons, has been twice master of Strafiford Lodge, 
No. 29, Free and Accepted Masons, of Dover, and 
is also a member of Belknap Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons, No. 8, of Orphan Council, No. i. Royal 
and Select Masters, and of St. Paul Commandery, 
Knights Templar, of which he was for many years 
eminent commander. 

Mr. Sawyer married, in Dover, February 8, 1865, 
Susan Ellen Cowan, daughter of Dr. James W. and 
Elizabeth (Hodgdon) Cowan, of Dover. Their chil- 
dren are: William Davis, Charles Francis, James 
Cowan, Edward and Elizabeth Coffin. 

(VIII) William Davis, eldest son of Charles H. 
and Susan Ellen (Cowan) Sawyer, was born No- 
vember 22, 1866. He was educated at Phillips 
Academy, Andover, and was graduated from Yale 
College, class of 1889. He was connected with the 
Sawyer Mills until 1899, when they were acquired 
by the American Woolen Company. He was a mem- 
ber of the Republican State Committee of New 
Hampshire, 1890-99, and delegate to Republican 
National Convention at St. Louis in 1896. Re- 
ceived degree LL. B. from New York Law School 
and admitted to New York bar, 1901. Corpora- 
tion counsel. City of New Rochelle. New York, 1903. 
In general practice of law at 26 Liberty street. New 
York City. Member of New Hampshire Society, of 
the Cincinnati, Colonial Wars, secretar}' of New 
Hampshire Society of New York. Member Uni- 
versity, Republican and Yale Clubs of New York 
City and Republican Club of New Rochelle, of which 
latter he has been president. 

He married, November 12, 1890, Susan Gertrude 
Hall, daughter of Hon. Joshua G. Hall, of Dover 
(see Hall), and has children: Jonathan, born Au- 
gust 21, 1891 ; Elizabeth Bigelow, born Januarv 24, 
1898. 

(VIII) Charles Francis, second son and child of 
Hon. Charles H. and Susan E. (Cowan) Sawyer, 
was born in Dover, January 16, 1869. He obtained 
his education in the public schools of Dover, at 
Phillips Academy, Andover, and in Yale College, 
where he took a course in the Sheffield Scientific 
School. Immediately after leaving college he en- 
tered the Sawyer Woolen Mills, where he was em- 
ployed in subordinate positions until 1895, when he 
was appointed general superintendent, which po- 
sition he held until 1899. The mills were then sold 
to the American Woolen Company, and Mr. Sawyer 
was appointed resident agent, and he has ever since 
filled that place. He is a staunch Republican, and 
as a member of that party has served in both 
branches of the city government. In 1S99 he became 
a member of the state militia, was lieutenant and 
later captain on the First Brigade staff, holding the 
latter office until 1895, when he resigned. He was 
made a Mason in 1S90, and is now a member of 
Moses Paul Lodge, No. 96, Belknap Royal Arch 
Chapter, No. 8, Orphan Council, No. i. Royal and 
Select Masters, St. Paul Commandery, Knights 
Templar, all of Dover, and is a thirty-second 'degree 
Mason, Ancient and .Accepted Scottish Rite, Con- 
sistory of New Hampshire. 



He married, in Honolulu, January 26, 1893, Ger- 
trude Child Severance, daughter of Hon. Henry W. 
and Hannah (Child) Severance, of San Francisco. 

(VIII) James Cowan, third son of Hon. Charles 
H. and Susan E. (Cowan) Sawyer, was born JNIarch 
30, 1872. Educated at Phillips Academy, Andover, 
and graduated from Yale in 1894. Is treasurer of 
Phillips Academy, at Andover, Massachusetts, and 
is a director of the Andover National Bank and the 
Merrimack Mutual Fire Insurance Co. 

He married, June 10, 1897, Mary Pepperrell Frost, 
daughter of George S. Frost. Their children are : 
George Frost, born June 25, 1902, and Charles^ 
Henry, born October 20, 1906. 

(VIII) Edward, fourth son of Hon. Charles H. 
and Susan E. (Cowan) Sawyer, was born July 24, 
1874. educated at Andover and graduated from Yale 
in 1898. Is president and treasurer of the Atlantic 
Insulated Wire & Cable Company, operating a large 
plant at Stamford, Connecticut. Member of Uni- 
versity and Yale Clubs of New York City, and Su- 
burban and Stamford Yacht Clubs of Stamford, 
Connecticut. 

He married, April 28, 1906, Leslie, daughter of 
the late Phineas Sprague Tobey, of Boston. 

(VIII) Elizabeth Coffin Sawyer, born March 8,- 
1880, lives at home. She was educated at Mrs. 
Stearns' School, Amherst, Massachusetts, and is 
corresponding secretary of the Colonial Dames of 
New Hampshire. 

(V) William, probably son of Caleb (2) and 
Betsey (Townsend) Sawyer, born in Boxborough, 
Massachusetts, in 1772, was a farmer and cooper by 
occupation. He moved to Bethlehem, New Hamp- 
shire, where he lived till his death which occurred 
in 1859, when he was eighty-seven years old. He 
married Dolly Burt, daughter of Simeon and Mary 
(Clark) Burt, born in Lunenburg, Massachusetts, 
December 14, 1781. died in Bethlehem, New Hamp- 
shire, April 17, 1844. They were the parents of 
eight children. 

(VI) Eli Davis, son of William and Dolly (Burt> 
Sawyer, was born in Bethlehem, New Hampshire, 
June 4, 1815. and died November 29, 1905. In 1854 
he went to live at Littleton, New Hampshire, and 
was a hotel keeper there for many years. He was- 
a Democrat and took a prominent part in political 
affairs. August 9, 1845, he was appointed pay- 
master of the Thirty-second Regiment, New Hamp- 
shire militia. He wjts elected selectman in 1863 and 
re-elected the three years next following. He mar- 
ried, December 19, 1848, Sarah Oakes Pierce, daugh- 
ter of John and Rebecca (Cushman) Pierce, born in 
Bethlehem, February 22,. -1830. She was a descend- 
ant of the famous Robert Cushman, who preached 
the first sermon in Plymouth. Massachusetts, 1620. 
There were six children of this marriage : Elmah 
G., born November, 1849, died October 12, 1850; 
John Pierce, October 12, 1851 : Frank Pierce, June 
28, 1854, died in Littleton, February 6, 1855 : Hat- 
tie Grace, October 30, 1857 ; Charles Martin Tuttle ; 
and William Henry. The three older children were 
born in Bethlehem and the others in Littleton. 

(VII) Charles Martin Tuttle, son of Eli Davis 
and Sarah Oakes (Pierce) Sawyer, was born Feli- 
ruary 18, 1865. was educated in the public schools 
of Littleton, studied law with W. W. Haralson and 
Luke Moore, was admitted to practice law in De- 
kalb county, Alabama, February 9, 1896, and has 
since that date been practicing his profession at 
Fort Payne, Alabama, where he has been a member 
of the city council for two years. He is fraternally 
a Mason and an Odd Fellow, and in politics a Demo- 
crat. He married. September 30, 1888, Annie Frances, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



107 



Harper, and they have two children : Sarah Pierce 
and Hattie Grace. 

(VII) William Henry, youngest child of Eli 
Davis and Sarah Oakes (Pierce) Sawyer, was born 
in Littleton, August 18, 1867. His literary edu- 
cation was obtained in the public schools of Little- 
ton. He studied law in the office of Bingham, 
Mitchell & Batchellor. Graduated from the law 
department of Boston University in 1890, and was 
admitted to the bar of New Hampshire July 25th of 
the same year. He opened^ an office in Concord 
soon after and has since practiced there. From 189S 
to 1905 he was associated in business with Joseph 
S. Matthews. Mr. Sawyer's attention takes a 
broader range than that which comes within the 
mere practice of the law. He looks to general 
principles and the results of litigation. Along these 
lines was the address he delivered in 1895 before 
the Grafton and Coos Bar Association, entitled 
"Historical Review of the Legislation of New Hamp- 
shire, regulating the Sale of Intoxicating Liquors," 
which attracted considerable attention among the 
lawyers at that time. Mr. Sawyer is a Democrat, 
and a member of Capital Grange, No. 113, Patrons 
of Husbandry. He has been a member of the South 
Congregational Church of Concord many years, and 
has been superintendent of its Sunday school. He 
married, November iS, 1891, Carrie Blanche Lane, 
daughter of Benjamin Franklin and Julia (Farr) 
Lane, born in Littleton, April 6, 1867. They have 
four children : Howard Pierce, born August 13, 
1892 ; Helen Lane, March 13, 1895 ; Marion Farr, 
July 22, 1896; Robert Cushman, March 13, 1899. 



The branch of the large family of 
SAWYER Sawyer mentioned in this article is 
descended from an early settler in 
western New Hampshire, but the defective records of 
the towns where the family lived in Revolutionary 
times have not furnished data to connect it with 
other branches. 

(I) Ephraim Sawyer was a non-commissioned 
officer in the Revolutionary war. He appears as 
sergeant on the pay roll of the second company in 
Colonel Ashley's regiment of militia, which company 
marched from Westmoreland, Chesterfield and Hins- 
dale to Ticonderoga on the alarm of May 8, 1777, 
Waitstill Scott, captain ; time of service one month 
and ten days. He was an ensign in Captain John 
Cole's company in Colonel Ashley's regiment of 
militia, which company marched from Westmore- 
land (on the alarm, June 28, 1777), and according 

.to the pay roll served thirteen days. He was a 
sergeant in Captain Kimball Carlton's company, in 
Colonel Moses Nichols regiment and General Starks 
brigade of New Hampshire militia, which company 
marched from Chesterfield and towns adjacent, July 
22, 1777, and served two months and two days; all 
of which appears on the pay roll. His name is also 
on the list of soldiers raised by the state of New 
Hampshire to fill up the Continental army in 1779. 
He enlisted July 6. 1779, for one year;, was engaged 
from the town of Westmoreland ; and served in the 
Sixth Regiment of militia. The muster and pay 
roll of officers and men belonging to Colonel Samuel 
Ashley's regiment of militia in the state of New 
Hampshire, who marched from the county of Ches- 
shire on the requisition of Major-General Gates 
to re-inforce the army at Ticonderoga, contains his 
name ; it gives him the title of corporal, and states 
that he was engaged October 21, and returned No- 
vember 16, 1776. service twenty-six days. 

(II) Rev. Ephraim (2), son of Ephraim (l) 
Sawyer, was a minister of the gospel of the Metho- 



dist denomination. He moved to Wilkes Barre, 
Pennsylvania, where he spent the latter part of his- 
life. 

(Ill) John, son of Rev. Ephraim Sawyer, was 
born in Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, 1815, and 
died 1865. He was a millwright by trade, and re- 
sided in Washington, in Wyoming county. He was- 
a stirring energetic man, and held several town offi- 
ces. He married Amy Lypham, who was born in 
Bavaria, Germany, 1827, daughter of Peter and 
Catherine Lypham, of Washington, natives of Bavaria,. 
Germany. Peter Lypham was with Napoleon on 
his fateful march to Moscow and other campaigns, 
and saw much service. He was a cavalry man, and 
in one battle all but twelve of the company to which 
he belonged were killed or captured. He was one 
of those who escaped. His face was much scarred 
by sword cuts received in battle. He was a farmer, 
and settled with his wife in Washington, Pennsyl- 
vania, about 1815. He died in 1870. aged about 
seventy. At the death of her husband Mrs. Sawyer 
was Iqft with a family of eight children, the eldest 
eighteen years of age and the youngest an infant- 
Their names are : Frances E., married Clark B. 
Hall, of Manchester, New Hampshire. Catherine, 
married Will C. Brenton. Hattie E., married Albert 
P. Smith. Stephen D., lives in New York state. 
John W., resides in Davenport. Washington. An- 
drew J., mentioned below. Margaret Isabel, mar- 
ried Dr. O. H. Johnson, of INIanchester. Dora, 
married Walter Seymour, of Newark, New Jersey. 
One child died young. IMrs. Sawyer, realizing that 
her children would be better off and better able to 
assist in supporting themselves on a farm than they 
were in town, prchased, in 1865, a place near Dimock, 
and there her younger children grew up. Being a 
woman of superior ability and a good manager, she 
succeeded in raising her children well, giving each 
a good education and seeing them all well settled 
in life. She is still living and resides with her 
daughter, Mrs. Brenton. 

(TV) .Andrew Jackson, seventh child of John and 
Amy CLypham) Sawyer, was born in Washington,. 
Pennsylvania, June 8, 1859, and was educated in the 
common schools of Dimock, the high schools at 
Montrose and the Pennsylvania College of Dental 
Surgery, graduating from the latter with the degree 
of Doctor of Dental Surgery in the class of 1882. 
Immediately after taking his degree he opened an 
office at White Haven. Pennsylvania, where he prac- 
ticed his profession one year. He then practiced in 
Newmarket, New Hampshire, six years. In 1889 
he settled in Manchester, and now (1907) has been 
a successful practitioner there for eighteen years,, 
and numbers among his patrons many of the prin- 
cipal citizens of the town and surrounding region. 
For three years past, he has been secretary ofthe 
State Board of Registration in Dentistry. He is a 
member of the New Hampshire Dental Society, of 
which he has been vice-president and president, and 
has been chairman of its executive committee; also 
a member of the North Eastern Dental .Association, 
and the Vermont State Dental Association. He 
was brought up a Baptist, but now attends the Con- 
gregational Church, and is a contributing member 
of the Young Men's Christian .Association. He is a 
member of Washington Lodge. No. 61, Free and 
Accepted IMasons; Mt. Horeb Royal Arch Chapter, 
No. 11; Adoniram Council, No. 3, Royal and Se- 
lect Masters : Trinity Commanden,-, Knights Tem- 
plar, and Bektash Temple of the Ancient Arabic 
Order of the Mystic Shrine. Dr. Sawyer was one 
of a company of sixty persons constituting a club 
organization by the members of De Molay Com- 



io8 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



niandery. Knights Templar, of Boston, which visited 
points of interest in England, France, Belguim, 
Switzerland, Germany and Italy, in the fall of 1906. 
He married, in Newmarket, September, 1900, 
Elizabeth Small, horn July 2, i86r, daughter of the 
late Congressman William and Ellen M. (Burt) 
Small. They have one daughter, Marion. Mrs. 
Sawyer is a member of the Congregational Church, 
and also of the Current Events Club. 



This is an adopted name taken by 
SAWYER one born Peacock. It is claimed that 
the Peacock family is of French de- 
scent, and that it dates its origin in England from 
the Norman Conquest, 1066. In all probability it 
profited through favor of the Conqueror and attained 
considerable prominence. In 1444 Reginald Pea- 
cock was appointed bishop of St. Asaph, and five 
years later was transferred to the see of Chichester, 
but during the decline of transubstantialism he suf- 
fered official degradation, was subjected to banish- 
ment in 1457 and his books were publicly burned. 
He died in i486. 

The first of the name in America, of whom there 
is any record, was John Peacock, who settled at New 
Haven, Connecticut, in 1638 or '39. William Pea- 
cock, probably of Nazing or some nearby parish in 
the neighborhood of Stanstead on the border of 
Hertfordshire, came in the ship "Hopewell," Cap- 
tain Bundock, from London in 163S, in company 
with the Eliots. the Ruggleses and other Roxbury, 
Massachusetts, settlers. A' Richard Peacock, glazier, 
who was made a freeman in Roxbury. May 22, 1659, 
was not, as far as can be ascertained, a relative of 
AVilliam. The latter was twelve years old when lie 
arrived in Roxbury. He married, April 12, 1653, 
Mary Willis, and was the father of William, died 
young; another William, and Samuel. William 
Peacock (2), son of William and Mary (Willis) 
Peacock, was born in Roxbur>', July 6, 1657. He 
married. August 3, 1681, Sarah Edsall, and had 
Mary, Sarah, Elizabeth, William and Samuel. The 
third William Peacock was born in Roxbury in 
1688. 

Thomas Peacock, said tn have been descended 
from the same family as that of Bishop Peacock, 
previously mentioned, was born in Ireland, of Eng- 
lish parents, abotit the year 1730. Emigrating to 
New York he settled first on Long Inland and later 
in Newburg. In the war for national independence 
he sided with the Americans and served under Gen- 
eral Washington. He lived to be ninety-eight years 
old, and his death occurred in Maryville, New York, 
July 3, 182S. In October, 1777, he married Margaret 
Anderson, a native of Scotland. Although the 
writer is unable to identify with certainty the early 
ancestors of the Amherst Peacocks, about to be 
considered, it is quite probable that they are the 
posterity of William Peacock, of Roxbury. 

(I) William Peacock settled in .'\mher5t. New 
Hampshire, prior to the Revolutionary war, and he 
died in that town, October 20. 1824, aged seventy- 
five years. The christian name of his wife was Abi- 
gail, and he reared a familv of five children, namely: 
Abigail, born in 1771 : William, who w-iU be again 
referred to: Daniel, born in 1776; Betsey, born in 
177S: and Sally, born in 1783. 

(in William (2), second child and eldest son 
of William and Abigail Peacock, was born in Am- 
herst, October 24, 1773. He was a prosperous 
farmer, residing in the southerly part of the town 
of Amherst, near the Hollis line, and his death oc- 
curred June 5, 1846. On November 2, 179S, he mar- 
ried Huldah Hood, born in Topsfield, Massachu- 



setts, November 28, 1775, and died September 17, 
1861. She became the mother of ten children, name- 
ly: William, see succeeding paragraph; Kendall, 
born in 1798; Henry and Huldah, twins, born in 
1800; Freeman, born in April. 1802; John, born in 
1804; Rufus, born in 1807; Nancy, born in 1809; 
Julia Ann, born in 1815; and Ezra Wilmarth, born 
in 1818. 

(HI) William (3), eldest son and child of Wil- 
liam and Huldah (Hood) Peacock, was born in 
Amherst, December 13,^1796. He was a fanner and 
a mechanic, residing for a time in Milford, and also 
in Brookline, but the greater part of his life was 
spent in his native town, where he died in 1886, at 
the advanced age of ninety. He married Fanny 
Burnham. and of this union there is one son now 
living. (N. B. By a special act of the legislature 
the latter has changed his family name from Pea- 
cock to Sawyer. He changed his name because of 
confusion in mail). 

(IV) Andrew Freeman Sawyer, son of William 
and Fanny (Burnham) Peacock, was born in .\mherst, 
March 11, 1835. He pursued the usual studies 
taught in the public schools, and when old enough 
to begin the activities of life he served an appren- 
ticeship at the blacksmith's trade, which he followed 
as a journeyman for some years. Abandoning the 
forge in order to engage in the lumber business he, 
in due time, became an extensive manufacturer in 
Amherst, operating three sawmills. twO' of which 
were propelled by water-power and the other by 
steam. He also carried on a generfil store, and 
for many years was one of the leading business men 
in Amherst. In 1890 he established his residence in 
Nashua, where he engaged in mercantile business 
and he also entered the real estate business, making 
a specialty of purchasing farms and selling the lum- 
ber therefrom on the stump. For the past ten 
years he has devoted his energies exclusively to 
real estate. Mr. Sawyer was made an Odd Fellow 
in Milford, this state, and still affiliates with his 
mother lodge. In his religious belief he is a Chris- 
tian Scientist. He married Harriett E. Bartlett, 
daughter of Lemuel Bartlett, of Londonderry, and 
the only child of this union was Anna Eveline, who 
became the wife of Charles H. MacKay, of Bridgton, 
Maine, and died leaving one child, Fred L. Mac- 
Kay. 



This family of Sawyers is supposed 
S.\WYER to be of German origin. The date of 
the arrival of the immigrant ancestor 
is not known. The name has undergone consider- 
able change in its orthography in America. 

(I) Jabez Sawyer, who was born in Salem, 
Massachusetts, married Hannah Emerson, of New- 
bury, Massachusetts, and settled in Bradford, New 
Hampshire. There he and his wife spent their re- 
maining years. They had four children : Jerome, 
Charles P., Frederick T... who is the subject of the 
following sketch, and Harriet M. 

(II) Frederick T. Sawyer, son of Jabez and 
Hannah (Emerson) Sawyer, was born in Bradford, 
May 13, 1S19. and died in Milford, July 14, 1898, 
aged seventy-nine. He spent his boyhood in Brad- 
ford, and there started in life on his own account 
as a clerk in a general store. In 1840 he went to 
Nashua, and was similarly employed for some years. 
About 1845 he formed a partnership with a Mr. 
Roby. and under the firm name of Roby & Sawyer, 
they engaged in the manufacture of scythes in 
Chelmsford, Massachusetts, until 1850. In 1854 
Mr, Sawyer went to Milford, New Hampshire, 
where for two years he w-as employed as station 




C^Ly?^ cl/z^cco^ fi. ^a 



CL'U^^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



109 



agent of the Nashua & Lowell railroad. At the 
end of that time he and the late William R. Wallace 
formed the firm of Wallace & Sawyer, dealers in 
general merchandise, which did a prosperous busi- 
ness for some years. In 1869 the firm dissolved 
and Mr. Sawyer was made cashier of the Souhegan 
National Bank, an office which he filled to the time 
of his death with efli-ciency and conscientiousness 
that was a credit to him and gave satisfaction to 
bank officials and patrons alike. From the date of 
its organization till his death he was a director of 
the bank. October ig. 1874, the Souhegan National 
Bank was robbed in the following manner : About 
one o'clock in the morning six men, masked and 
heavily armed, eft'ected an entrance into Mr. Saw- 
years' residence on the east side of the river and 
bound and gagged him and the members of his fam- 
ily. Leaving three of their number there, the re- 
mainder of the robbers took Mr. Sawyer across the 
river on a footbridge to the bank, and by torture 
compelled him to open the vault. There the rob- 
bers seized spoils tO' the value of one hundred and 
thirty-five thousand dollars, mostly non-negotiable 
bonds. They then conveyed Mr. Sawyer to his 
home, bound him in a chair and fastened it to the 
floor. The children of the family were locked in 
closets ; and about three o'clock in the morning the 
robbers departed. As soon as they were out of 
hearing Fred W. Sawyer, then a boy of twelve 
years, broke out of his place of confinement, gave 
the alarm, and then liberated the other members of 
the family. The burglary made a great sensation, 
and the selectmen of the town offered a reward of 
three thousand dollars, and the bank a like sum. 
for the capture of the criminals, but they were never 
caught. A few months later the most of the stolen 
bonds were recovered by the bank on payment of 
a reward for their return. Mr. Sawyer was elected 
town treasurer in 1871, and continued to fill that 
office by consecutive annual elections the remainder 
of his life, a period of twenty-seven years. He was 
also notary public for many years. Iii politics he 
was a Republican, but his political belief was not of 
the rancorous type that denies the existence of any 
merit in other parties. He was elected to the state 
legislature in 1864, and re-elected in 1865. He was 
elected moderator in 1873. Air. Sawyer's long resi- 
dence in Mil ford, nearly forty-five years, had given 
him an intimate acquaintance with the people of 
that town. He was a man of sterling character, 
good judgment, familiar with the best business 
methods, attentive to duty, a firm, true friend and a 
valued citizen. He married, January y, 1859, Sarah 
S. Lovejoy, who was born in Amherst, August 22, 
1833, died October, 1905, daughter of William H. 
and Hannah (Shedd) Lovejoy. Four children were 
born to them : Bertha Caroline, Frederick Willis, 
Chester Ayer, and Gertrude. Bertha C, born June 
22, i860; married, July 28, 1881, David S., son of 
John and Sophia (Dolbear) Blanpied, and resides in 
Newton, Massachusetts. Frederick W. is mentioned 
below. Chester A., born July 16, 1868. is a finisher 
in a Nashua furniture factory. Gertrude W., born 
August 4, 1874; married, April 17, 1900, George D.. 
son of James T. and Florence (Derby) White, of 
New York City, and resides in Brooklyn, New 
York. 

(Ill) Frederick Willis Sawyer, second child and 
eldest son of Frederick T. and Sarah S. (Lovejoy) 
Sawyer, was born in Milford, April 16. 1862, and 
educated in the conmion schools of Milford and at 
Chauncey Hall School in Boston. Flis first busi- 
ness position was as clerk for the Palmer Manu- 
facturmg Company of New York City in 1880-81. 



In the latter year he went to Boston and became ex- 
change clerk in the Blackstone National Bank, 
where he was employed part of that and the 
following year. He then returned to Milford and 
became assistant cashier in the Souhegan National 
Bank, and served in that capacity until the death of 
his father in 1898, when he succeeded to his father's 
place as cashier of the bank and as town treasurer. 
In private and public business Mr. Sawyer has 
proved himself a worthy successor of his honored 
father, and has been called to serve the public in 
political life. He is a Republican, and in 1901, and 
again in 1903, he was elected to the state legislature. 
He was the author of the bill requiring United 
States flags to be placed on the public school build- 
ings of New Hampshire, and carried the measure 
through the house. He had a place on important 
committees, and was chairman of the coinmittee on 
banks. In religion he is a Congregationalist, and 
is a liberal contributor to the support of the 
church of that denomination in Milford, and its 
auxiliary societies. He is a Thirty-second Degree 
Mason; a member of Benevolent Lodge, No. 7, of 
which he is a pastmaster; of King Solomon Royal 
Arch Chapter, No. 17, of which he is a past high 
priest; of Israel Hunt, Council, Royal and Select 
Masters ; oi St. George Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar; and of Edward A. Raymond .Consistory, 
.Thirty-second degree. Mr. Sawyer is (1907) de- 
puty grand master of New Hampshire. He mar- 
ried, October 26. 1893, Bertha M., widow of Joseph 
W. Hyde, -and daughter of Aaron S. and Martha 
A. (McCluer) Wilkms, born in Amherst, Decemljer 
17, 1863. They have three children: Grace Miriam, 
bora August 10, 1894; Marguerite, February 19, 
1899; and Donald Frederick, February 12, 1900. 



The virility, energy, industry and 
CURRIER moral stamina which characterized 

the pioneers of New England have 
been distinguishing traits of the family herein noted. 
They were early in Massachusetts, aided in clearing 
away the wilderness, in the establishment of religion 
and education, and in the material development of 
a nation. One of her ablest Governors was given to 
New Hampshire by this blood. 

(I) Richard Currier, millwright and planter, 
the emigrant ancestor, was born about 1616 in Eng- 
land, and was not very remotely removed from an 
ancestor who took a surname from his occupation. 
He was among the founders of Salisbury, Massachu- 
setts, receiving land there in 1641 and 1642. He 
w-as a commoner and taxed there in 1650, but soon 
after removed to Amesbury, where his name heads 
the list of first commoners in 1654-55. He received 
lands in 1654, 1658-59. 1662, 1664 and 1668. He was 
a large landholder and dealer, and many deeds made 
by him are on record. One was made in 1685 and 
acknowledged the day of his death. He was the 
second town clerk of Amesbury, and was authorized 
in 1656 to build a saw mill in company with his 
predecessor, Macy. In 1675 Richard Currier owned a 
saw mill right. His name heads the list in seating 
the Amesbury meeting house in 166^, among those 
to "Set at the tabell." He appears to have been a 
member of the Salisbury Church ten years later. 
Evidently he was one of the most prominent men 
in the new town of Amesbury. Though sixty years 
old at the time of the Narraganselt war, he appears 
to have been a soldier in that struggle. He died in 
Amesbury, February 22, 1687. The baptismal name 
of his first wife was Ann, and they w-ere probably 
married in England. She was living in 1662, and 
probably in 1667. as Goodwife Currier was assigned 
a scat in the .Amesbury Church in that year. He 



no 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



■was married (second), October 26. 1676, to Joanna 
Pindor, who had previously been successively the 
■wife of Valentine Rowell and William Sargent. 
She was a member of the Salisbury Church in 1687, 
and died in October, 1690, Richard Currier's chil- 
dren were : Samuel, Hannah and Thomas. 

(II) Thomas, youngest son of Richard and 
Ann Currier, was born March 8, 1646, in Salisbury, 
and resided in Amesbury, where he received a 
"'township" of land in 1666. He subscribed to the 
oath of fidelity in 1670, and was town clerk in 1674 
and later. He made his will August 25. 1708, and 
lived more than four years after, dying September 
2.1, 1712, in Amesbury. He was married December 
9, 1668, to Mary Osgood, daughter of William and 
Elizabeth Osgood of Salisbury. In 1697 William 
Osgood deeded to his daughter, Marj^ one-fourth 
•of his saw mill in Salisbury. She died November 
2, 1705. Their children were: Hannah, Thomas, 
Richard, Samuel. Mary, Anne, William, John, 
Joseph, Benjamin, Ebenezer and Daniel. (Mention 
of Richard and Joseph and descendants forms part 
of this article). 

(III) Thomas (2), eldest son and second child 
of Deacon Thomas (i) and Mary (Osgood) Cur- 
rier, was born November 28, 1671, and died in Ames- 
bury, Massachusetts, in 1749 or 1750. He was dis- 
missed from Salisbury to Amesbury Church Febru- 
ary 8, 1700. He was married, September 19, 1700. 
to Sarah Barnard, born March 23, 1676-77, daughter 
of Nathaniel Barnard, of Nantucket. 

(IV) Ezekiel, son of Thomas and Sarah 
(Barnard) Currier, was born in Amesbury, Mass- 
achusetts, April 29, 1707; married, January 15, 1733, 
Mehitable Morrill, born March 20, 1709-10, daughter 
of John and Mary (Stevens) Morrill. 

(V) William, son of Ezekiel and Mehitable 
<Morrill) Currier, was born May 12, 1737, and died 
in Plymouth, New Hampshire, in i8og or 1810. 
Previous to 1760 he settled in Concord, New Hamp- 
shire, and lived there more than thirty-five years. 
He was a surveyor of highways, surveyor of lumber, 
constable and tithingman, and one of the signers in 
Concord of the association test. He is believed to 
have been the William Currier who served in Cap- 
tain Marston's company in the Rhode Island ex- 
pedition in 1777. In the same company was Bruce 
Walker, his son-in-law. In 1794 William Currier 
removed from Concord to Plymouth, and lived in 
that' town until his death. While living in Concord, 
in 1760, he married Mary Carter, born in South 
Hampton, New Hampshire, May 6, 1742, daughter 
of Daniel and Hannah (Fowler) Carter. Their 
children: Mehitable, who married Bruce Walker, 
of Concord, and afterward of Hebron, New Hamp- 
shire. He was a soldier of the Revolution. Daniel, 
mentioned below. John, born October 4, 1770, and 
lived in Concord. He married (first) Bridget 
Chamberlain, and (second) Betsey Cochran. Mary, 
who married Samuel Abbott, of Concord, and re- 
moved to Erie county. New York. Henry Morrill, 
born in Concord, died in Plymouth, March 24, 1815. 
Ruth, who became the wife of Richard Holden. 
Nancv, married Joseph Kimball. 

(VI) Daniel, second child and eldest son of 
William and Marv (Carter) Currier, was born in 
Concord, October 26, 1766, and in 1795 removed to 
Plymouth, w'here the remainder of his life was 
spent. He died June 4, 1848. He is remembered 
as a substantial citizen, and a successful farmer on 
what is known as the lower intervale. In 1784 he 
married (first) Mary Smith, of Bow, New Hamp- 
shire. She was born August 11, 1763. and died 
September 19, 1832. After the death of his first 



wife Mr. Currier married Joanna Pillsbury. All his 
children were by his first wife, viz. : Abigail, born in 
Concord, married Noah Chapman. Nathaniel, born 
in Concord, October 6, 1791. Moses, born in Plym- 
outh, April 18, 1794. Daniel, born 1797. died 1847. 
William, born March 21, 1800, died March 13, 1897. 
Samuel, born June 11, 1802, died May 2, 1897. Mary, 
born August 27. 1805, married Alfred Kelley ; died 
November 30, 1893. 

(VII) William, fifth child and fourth son of 
Daniel and Mary (Smith) Currier, was born in 
Concord and died in Holderness. He was a farmer 
in the locality in which his father lived, but later 
on left Plymouth and took up his residence in Hold- 
erness, where he lived from 1848 to the time of his 
death. During the last twenty years of life he was 
totally blind. On February 22, 1827, William Cur- 
rier married Sophia Robinson Doyen, born in Pem- 
broke, New Hampshire, daughter of Nathaniel and 
Deborah (Smith) Doyen. Their children : William 
Wallace, born 1S28, died about 1844. Edwin Bruce, 
a farmer now living in New Hampton, New Hamp- 
shire. Mary Annis, married Alson L. Brown, son 
of Joseph Brown, and lives at Whitefield, New 
Hampshire. Ann French, married Frank B. Cox, 
and died in Laconia, 1S97. Maria George, married 
Alphonzo F. Jones, and lives at Plymouth. New 
Hampshire. 

(VIII) Edwin Bruce, second child and son of 
William and Sophia Robinson (Doyen) Currier, 
was born in Plymouth, New Hampshire, September 
9, 1830, and was educated in the common schools of 
that town. Like his ancestors for several genera- 
lions before him his chief occupation has been that 
of farming, although he is an extensive cattle raiser 
and owner of considerable timber land. He re- 
moved from Plymouth to Ashland about 1857, and 
in the latter town held the offices of selectman and 
collector of taxes. He is now a resident of New 
Hampton. He is a member of the Free Will Bap- 
tist Church, and in politics is a Republican. Mr. 
Currier married Mary A. Smith, who was born in 
New Hampton, 1833. They had children : William 
Crosby. Jessie Maria, May Etta, John Sherman, 
Nettie Louise. Alson Brown, Jennie Augusta, Fred 
Edwin and Alice Maude. 

(IX) John Sherman, son of Edwin Bruce and 
Mary A. (Smith) Currier, was born in Ashland, 
New Hampshire, July 10, 1864, and was given a 
good education in the public schools of Ashland, 
New Hampshire, and the New Hampton Institute. 
After leaving school he was for eight years book- 
keeper for a paper mill company, and since then has 
devoted his attention to farming pursuits. He is a 
member of the Congregational Church and poli- 
tically is a strong Prohibitionist. Mr. Currier has 
been twice married ; first, in Tilton, Mav 12, 1888, 
to May Louise Nichols, daughter of James and 
Elizabeth Nichols. She died October 27. 1899. He 
married (second), in Salmonton, New Hampshire, 
May 20, T903, Vienna Smith, daughter of Zebulon 
Smith. She was born in Gilford. New Hampshire, 
April 12, 1878. They have one child, George Smith, 
born April 27, 1904. 

(Ill) Richard (2), second son and third child 
of Thomas and Mary (Osgood) Currier, was bOrn 
•April 12, 1673, in Amesbury, where he was a yeo- 
man and died February 8, 1748. It is evident that 
he was a careful and painstaking man, for his will 
was made nearly four years previous to his death. 
He was married August 29, 1695. in Salisbury, to 
Dorothy Barnard, who was born about 1677, daugh- 
ter of John and Frances (Hoyt) Barnard, and 
granddaughter of Thomas Barnard, fhe patriarch 




A.^ 





—c.CA.'lyU^ ^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Ill 



of that family in Amesbury. She was the only 
child of her parents in 1718, and no record of other 
children appears. She survived her husband nearly 
seventeen years and died March 2, 1765. in her 
ninety-hrst year. Her children were : David, Jon- 
atkan, Hannah, John, Dorothy. Richard, Miriam, 
Aaron, Barnard, Mary and Moses. 

(IV) Richard (3), fourth son and sixth child 
of Richard (2) and Dorothy (.Barnard) Currier, 
was born February 12, 1708. He was married No- 
vember 25, 1731, in the second Salisbury Church, to 
Sarah ^Morrill, and they settled in South Hampton, 
Xew Hampshire. Among their children were : 
James, Ruth, Barnard, John and Richard. (Barnard 
and descendants receive mention in this article). 

(V) James, son of Richard (3) and Sarah 
(Morrill) Currier, was a native of Massachusetts, 
but the date of his birth is not at hand. He went 
from Newburj'port, Massachusetts, to Salisbury, 
New Hampshire, where he erected the dwelling- 
house now or formerly occupied by I\Irs. Farnum, 
and he built the first grist-mill in Salisbury, which 
stood opposite the mills now owned by John Shaw. 
He afterward removed to Enfield, New Hampshire, 
where he spent the remainder of his life. The chris- 
tian name of his first wife, who died November 13, 
1S02, was Lydia, and he was again married, but 
neither the christian or the surname of his second 
wife appears in the records consulted. He was the 
iather of Nathan, Gideon and perhaps others. 

(VI) Nathan, son of James Currier, remained 
on the homestead farm in Salisbury and died No- 
vember 6, 1844. On May 13, 1802, he married Sally 
Carter, of Canterbury, New Hampshire, who died in 
Wilmot, this state, December 7, 1845. The children 
of this union were : Nathan, who will be again re- 
ferred to; Thomas W., who resided in Wilmot; and 
Sarah E., who became the wife of Jesse Stevens, 
and died May 24, 1851. Thomas W. Currier, who 
died in Wilmot, married Elmira Bixby. She sur- 
vived him and became the wife of Cyrus Hobbs, of 
Wilmot. 

(VII) Nathan (2), eldest child of Nathan (i) 
and Sally (Carter) Currier, was born in Canter- 
bury, iNIarch 4. 1S05. He was a prosperous farmer. 
His death occurred August 31, 1851. On October 
4. 1835, he married Mary Jane Frazier, daughter of 
Benjamin Frazier, of Salisbury. She became the 
mother of three children, two of whom are now liv- 
ing, namely : Marj' Jane and George Washington. 
Mary Jane Currier married John Allen Cross, and 
has one daughter, Anne, who married Euzeb G. 
Hood, of Nashua. The mother of these children 
died in Weare, New Hampshire. 

(VIII) Dr. George Washington Currier, only 
son of Nathan and Mary J. (Frazier) Currier, was 
born in Wilmot, March 8, 1S41. He attended the 
public schools of Wilmot and Andover Centre, and 
was graduated from Crosby's Academy, Nashua, in 
1864. He studied medicine at the College of Physi- 
cians and Surgeons in New York City, and after the 
completion of his professional preparations he lo- 
cated for practice in Nashua. He was prominently 
identified with the medical profession of that city 
for upward of thirty years, or until his retirement 
some eight years ago, and he is now engaged in the 
drug business as a member of the firm of Blanchard 
& Currier. He is extensively interested in the 
financial affairs of the city and is president of the 
Nashua Trust Company. 

Dr. Currier has always evinced an earnest inter- 
est in public educational affairs, and at one time 
was a member of the school board. He was made a 
Mason in iS'X) and has been a very active and earn- 



est worker in the several bodies continually since. 
He was at the head of the several local bodies sit- 
uated at Nashua, and grand high priest in 1879; 
grand master of the Grand Lodge in 1888-89 ; grand 
commander in 1891 ; was made an honorary member 
of the Supreme Council in the Ancient Accepted 
Scottish Rite in 1887; an active member in 1889 and 
deputy for New Hampshire in 1891, which office he 
has held continually since that time. To his wise 
judgment and earnest endeavors the Rite is largely 
indebted for its present prosperous and harmonious 
condition throughout the state. He was the first to 
advocate the building of a Masonic Temple at 
Nashua, and spent nearly a year of his time in or- 
ganizing a corporation and building the beautiful 
Alasonic Temple at the corner of Main and Pearl 
streets, which has been the home of the Masonic 
bodies since 1890. TwO' years later, with two others, 
he erected the building which bears his name im- 
mediately adjoining the Masonic Temple. Both 
these buildings have added greatly to the beauty of 
the city and have proved to be a profitable invest- 
ment for the owners. Although he has retired from 
active business, he is still treasurer and manager of 
berth these building associations, president of the 
Nashua Trust Company, a trustee of the Masonic 
Home at Manchester, and was appointed on the 
board of trustees of the New Hampshire Agricul- 
tural College at Durham by Governor McLane in 
1906. His first wife, who was before marriage Abby 
S. Walker, died in 1888, and he subsequently mar- 
ried Emily V. Walsh. 

(V) Barnard, second son and third child of 
Richard and Sarah (Morrill) Currier, was born Jan- 
uary 23, 1752, in South Hampton, and seems to have 
passed his life in that town. His wife's name was 
Abigail, but the vital records of New Hampshire 
do not show her maiden name. They do give the 
births of the following children : Sarah, Ephraim, 
Molly, Barnard and William. 

(VI) William, youngest child of Barnard and 
Abigail Currier, was born November I, 1785, in 
South Hampton, and settled in Danville, New 
Hampshire. He married Sally Haynes, of North- 
field, New Hampshire, who was born 1790 and died 
April 18, 1856. He died August 6, 1854, at the age 
of sixty-nine years. A record of five of their chil- 
dren has been found, namely: Stephen H., Samuel 
M., Thomas, Charles H. and John. 

(VII) Stephen H., eldest child of William and 
Sally (Haynes) Currier, was born in Danville, New 
Hampshire, and engaged for some years in trading 
with the Indians. For over half a century he lived 
at Penacook, being a portion of the time on the 
Concord side. No mention of him appears in the 
vital records of the state. He married Clarisa El- 
liott, of Northfield, New Hampshire, who lived to 
a great age. 

(VIII) John Albert, son of Stephen H. and 
Clarisa (Elliott) Currier, was born July 14, 1848, 
and resided for many years in Northfield, New 
Hampshire, whence he removed in 1870, to Manches- 
ter, and died there February i, 1896. He was mar- 
ried in Penacook, to ]\Iary Elizabeth Ludlow; she 
had one son, Arthur. Mrs. Currier is still living, 
residing in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. 

(IX) Arthur, only child of John A. and May 
E. (Ludlow) Currier, was born August 13, 1868, in 
Northfield, New Hampshire, and was but two j-ears 
old when his parents settled in Manchester. He at- 
tended the public schools of that city, and on attain- 
ing his majority apprenticed himself to learn the 
machinist's trade with the .Amoskeag Corporation. 
At the completion of his term of three years, he 



112 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



continued some time as a journeyman with the 
same employers. On September II, 1895, he en- 
tered the service of the Dodge Needle Company as 
machinist, and by his efficient activity and faithful- 
ness quickly earned promotion. In 1900 he was 
made superintendent of the factory, and now has 
about forty men- under his supervision. He is a 
thoroiigh mechanic and nothing is so small as to 
escape his eye, not even a needle. Mr. Currier 
takes an intelligent interest in the progress of events 
and endeavors to perform his share of the duties of 
a citizen. That his nature is a generous one, is 
denoted by the fact that he has allied himself with 
the great Masonic fraternity, Washington Lodge, 
No. 61, of Manchester, having been raised to the 
third degree, June 13. 1902. He was married, De- 
cember 30, 1896, to Mabel D. S'haw, daughter of the 
late Arthur Shaw and his wife, Ella (Kelly) Shaw. 
Mr. and Mrs. Currier have had three children : Lillian, 
Olive May, and Arthur S. The first died in in- 
fancy. The others were born respectively in 1902 
and 1905. 

(HI) Joseph, sixth son of Thomas and Mary 
(Osgood) Currier, was born about 1685, in Ames- 
bury, and spent his life in that town, where he was ' 
a "yeoman." His will was executed July 21, and 
proved Decen»ber 5, 1748. He was married De- 
cember 9, 1708, to Sarah Brown, elder daughter 
of Ephraim and Sarah Brown of Salisbury. She 
was born ]March 5, 1687, in Salisbury, and probably 
survived her husband. Their children were : Na- 
than, Joseph, Ephraim, Abner, Sarah, Hannah, Anne, 
Mary and "Merriam." 

(IV) Abner, fourth son of Joseph and Sarah 
(Brown) Currier, was born October 25, 1716, in 
AmesbuTy and resided in the west parish of that 
town. Administration of his estate was granted 
March 30, 1768, and the division was made the 
next year. He was married February 16, 1737, to 
Mary Harvey, and both renewed the covenant about 
1738 and were received in the Second Amesbury 
Church June 12, 1763. The widow was living in 
1769. Their children were: Dorothy, David, Jo- 
seph, Abner, Mary, Moses, Jonathan, Sarah and 
Jacob. 

(V) David, eldest son of Abner and Mary 
(Harvey) Currier, was born May 4, 1740, in Ames- 
bury and settled in Bradford soon after 1769. He 
may have lived a short time in Boxford, JNIassachu- 
setts, as family tradition says he went from there 
to Peachain, Vermont, about 1787. The balance of 
his life was spent in Peacham. He was married 
May 30, 1780, in Boxford, Massachusetts, to Eliza- 
beth Peabody, who was born February 14, 1758, 
in Boxford, a daughter of Jonathan (2) and Mary 
(Ramsdel) Peabody. Jonathan (2), son of Jona- 
than (i) and "Alliss" Peabody, was born in Box- 
ford and was married February 20, 1752, in that 
town to Mary Ramsdel. 

(VI) David (2>, son of David (l) and Eliza- 
beth (Peabody) Currier, was born June 25, 1795, 
in Peacham, Vermont, where he resided. 

(VII) Lyman Currier, son of David Currier, 
was born August 16, 1838, in Peacham, Vermont, 
where he received his education in the .public 
schools. He was a stone cutter by occupation. He 
learned the trade of stone mason, and alter living 
in Peacham and Danville, Vermont, moved to Con- 
cord, New Hampshire, where he worked at his 
trade for ten years. He then removed with his 
family to Andover, New Hampshire, where he was 
a resident for thirty yeafs, and died July 29, 1907. 
He was a man of quiet and unassuming nature, 
though of social disposition, and hospitable to all. 



He was a lover of inusic, and for many years held 
the position of chorister in the church at Andover, 
which he attended as long as his health would 
permit. Although not a full inember of this so- 
ciety, he was an earnest worker in its behalf, and 
was much respected by all. He was a Republican 
in politics. He was married, September 2, 1802, 
to Lucy Maria Smith, \vho was born July 6, 1839, 
in Cabot, Vermont, daughter of Benjamin and Bet- 
sey (Grant) Smith. He was survived by his wife 
and three sons, Elbert D. of Franklin, and Eugene 
B., and Harry L. of Andover. An only daugliter 
died in infancy. Betsey (Grant) Smith was born 
June 25, 1S04, in Berlin, Vermont, a daughter of 
Thomas and Lydia Grant. Thomas Grant was born 
September 29, 1778, in East Windsor, Connecticut, 
a son of Azariah and Abigail Grant, and was mar- 
ried, February 28, 1801, to Lydia, daughter of James 
and Sarah Crowninshield. She was born in 1778 
in Killingly, Connecticut. 

(VIII) Elbert David, son of Lyman and Lucy 
M. (Smith) Currier, was borji August 7, 1867, in 
Concord, New Hampshire. He attended the public 
schools of his native town until his parents moved 
to Andover, same state, about 1877, and was sub- 
sequently a student of the village school there, and 
attended the School of Practice in Wilmot, and 
finished his schooling at Colby Academy, New Lon- 
don, New Hampshire. He made a special study 
of organ and vocal music and art under private 
teachers, and for a little more than a year he was 
employed in Gillett's Copying House, Concord. He 
began work as a photographer in Andover, New 
Hampshire, in 1886, and there continued until 1899. 
Going to Boston, he continued his professional work 
until the summer of ipoi. In October of that year 
he purchased the studio of George Hale, in Frank- 
lin Falls, New Hampshire, and has since continued 
business there. He is a member of the Village 
Congregational Church of F'ranklin, New Hamp- 
shire. He is a steadfast Republican in political 
principle. He is a member of the Photographers' 
Association of New Hampshire. He was married 
October i, 1902, in Hebron, New Hampshire, to 
Lucy May Hardy, daughter of David P. and Sarah 
D. (Fox) Hardy. (See Hardy, IX.) 

It is extremelv difficult to 
MOODY CURRIER express in "words the 
value to the world 6f 
such a man as Moody Currier, Governor of N(^w 
Hampshire, and long one of the most successful 
and prominent men of the commonwealth. As a 
business man, a scholar and philanthropist, he ren- 
dered distinguished service to his native state and 
to humanity in general. Born amid conditions of 
poverty and misfortune, he rose superior to en- 
vironment and achieved a success in his chosen lines 
which is vouchsafed to but few men even when 
blessed with every advantage at the start. His 
example will ever remain among those most worthy 
of emulation, as an inspiration and encouragement 
to ambitious youth everywhere. His fame was not 
confined to one state, but extended over many, and 
the great final reckoning of mankind alone can tell 
the benefits to the world of his unblemished life. 
He was born April 22, 1806, in Boscawen, Merri- 
mack county, and died at his home in Manchester, 
August 23, 1898, in his ninety-third year. To him 
was given length of days and wisdom of a high 
order. His boyhood was passed in an agricultural 
community where books were rare, but he used his 
few leisure hours in the pursuit of knowledge. 
Compelled to labor diligently and almost incessantly 




^(AoCX-Cnl-y^ ^DLC-'lyX^A,^' 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



i'3 



in order to live, from a very carl}- age, he yet 
established tlie basis of that wide inforraatioii wliich 
made his mature years so bright and useful lo both 
himself and the country. A few weeks at the 
rural winter school enabled him to gain a footing 
at the base of the tree of knowledge, and by his 
own efforts he secured a preparatory training at 
Hopkinton Academy, and he finally entered Dart- 
mouth College, where he paid his way by leaching 
and farm work, being graduated from the classical 
course in 1834. tie was the honor man of his 
class, delivering the Greek oration, and none dis- 
puted his title to honors so nobly earned, lie now 
set about preparation for adnnssion to the bar, en- 
gaging as a means to that end, in the work of 
teaching, for which he was litted by nature, and 
like all his undertakings, this was carried on with 
enthusiasm and thoroughness. He was employed 
in a school at Concord, was principal of the Hop- 
kinton Academy and of the Lowell (Massachu- 
setts) High School. Having pursued his legal 
studies successfully while teaching, he was ad- 
mitted to the bar at Manchester in the spring of 
1841 and immediately set about the practice of his 
cliosen profession, locating in that city. For two 
years he was associated with Hon. George W. 
Morrison, and subsequently pursued his profession 
alone, acquiring a handsome and valuable prac- 
tice and continuing until 1848, when he entered 
the held of finance, for which he was so admirably 
fitted. He was the moving spirit in the organization 
of the Amoskeag Bank, of which he was cashier 
until its reorganization as a National Bank, be- 
coming at that time its president. This responsiule 
position he held until failing health compelled his 
resignation in 1892. He was the first treasurer and 
subsequently president of the Amoskeag Savings 
Bank, and was the founder and one of the di- 
rectors of the People's Savings Bank. In the broad 
field of industrial and financial development, he was 
a master, and his connections extended to nearly 
every useful and growing institution of his home city. 
He was a director of the JNianchester Mills cor- 
poration; was treasurer of the Concord Railroad 
Company, and of the Concord & Portsmoutli rail- 
road ; was chosen president of the Eastern rail- 
road in New Hampshire in 1877; was a director of 
the Blodgett Edge Tool Company and director of 
the Amoskeag Axe Company during its existence ; 
was president and director of the Manchester Gas 
Light Company ; and was for many years treasurer 
of the New England Loaij Company,^ the first to 
issue debenture bonds. 

It was natural that such a forceful mind should 
take an active interest in the conduct of public 
business, and we find him on record as clerk of 
the state senate in 1843-44, to which position he was 
chosen as a Democrat. The slavery agitation caused 
him to join the Free Soil party, and he was among 
those who aided in the establishment of the Republi- 
can party in 1856. In that year he was elected to 
the Senate, and was president of that body in the 
latter part cf its session in the succeeding winter. 
In 1860-61 he was a member of the Governor's 
Council, and as chairman of the committee charged 
with filling the state's quota of soldiers for the 
Union armies, he rendered the state and nation 
most valuable service. In 1876 he was chosen as 
presidential elector, and was urged to become a 
candidate for governor in 1879. To this he would 
not then consent, but in 1884 he became his party's 
leader and was triumphantly elected to that high 
office. His administration was characterized by 
dignity, success and honor to all concerned. Be- 
i— 8 



side an intimate knowledge of Greek and Latin, 
he possessed a knowledge of French, Spanish, 
Italian, German, and other modern languages, in 
which he read frequently in order that his ac- 
quaintance with them might not lapse. In recogni- 
tion of his learning and distinguished services, both 
Dartmouth and Bates College conferred upon him 
the degree of Doctor of Laws. While teaching 
in Concord he edited a literary journal and, for some 
years after locating in Manchester, he edited and 
published a newspaper. He was an able w'riter 
of both prose and verse, and was a deep student of 
religious and scientific questions. His state papers, 
published since his death, furnish edifying reading 
for those who appreciate pure and classical Eng- 
lish. In speaking of Governor Currier, a local his- 
torian says : "A distinguished classical scholar," 
he was "learned in the literature and proficient in 
many of the languages of modern Europe. * * * 
For elegant expression and polished style and fit- 
ness for the occasion, his address accepting in 
behalf of the State the statue of Daniel 'Webster has 
never been excelled." His proclamations, though 
without formality or dogmatism, were religious in 
lone and moral in sentiment. The following short 
stanzas disclose the soul of a poet, and are given 
as one of the gems from Mr. Currier's pen : 

''When one by one ttie stars go out. 

And slow retires the night, 

In sbinint; robes the sun appears 

And pours hisKolden light. 

So. one by one, we all depart. 

And darkness shrouds the way; 
But hope lights up the sacred morn 

Of Life's eternal day." 

JNIr. Currier was ihrice married but left no oft'- 
spring. His first wife was Lueretia Dustin ; the 
second was Mary Kidder; the third. Hannah A. 
Slade, daughter of Enoch and Penelope (Welling- 
ton) Slade (see Slade), survives him and treasures 
most worthily his honored memory. The best 
summary possible of the noble life and services of 
Governor iMoody Currier is supplied by the follow- 
ing paragraphs, which were written by one who 
knew intimately all the phases of his long life and 
noble character : 

"The long list of New Hampshire's successful 
and eminent men contains few if any names that 
are entitled to precedence over that of ex-Governor 
Moody Currier, who died at his residence ' in this 
city Tuesday noon, and there is certainly no other 
whose career illustrates more strikingly the rewards 
that are open to ability, integrity, industry and 
perseverance. His home reflected his large means, 
great learning and cultivated tastes. His house and 
grounds were ornaments of the city and the delight 
of all admirers of substantial architecture and 
floral beauty. His family idolized him and in his 
declining years ministered to him with the greatest 
watchfulness and tenderest care. He lived almost 
a century with his mental faculties unimpaired and 
enjoyed as few can the old age which crowned his 
long life. He leaves to his family and friends a 
record which is to them a precious legacy and to all 
an inspiration. He was the most learned man 
with whom we were ever acquainted. For more 
than eighty years his books were the constant com- 
panions of his leisure hours. He never read merely 
for amusement, but always for instruction. Prob- 
ably in all his life he did not read ten works of 
fiction. He read slowly, passing nothing wliich he 
■ did not understand, and when once he had finished 
a volume he never forgot what it contained. His 



114 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



knowledge of the Bible surpassed that of ahiiost 
any New Hampshire man of his time. He could 
read and write several languages, ancient and 
modern, and was a master of pure English. He 
knew science, art and literature. He was versed 
in philosophy, astronomy, geology, botany, and na- 
tural history. He was a mathematician of a high 
order. The geography of the world was in his 
■mind and the worlds history was familiar to him. 
He was always informed upon current events and 
new inventions were the subjects of his constant 
study. He studied social, moral, theological, in- 
dustrial and political problems, and was always able 
to discuss them intelligentlj'. His mind was a store- 
house of rich and varied knowledge upon nearly 
every subject. And yet he never displayed his learn- 
ing, and only his intimate friends knew how pro- 
found and extensive it was. 

"•A.s a financier he had no superior in the state. 
In the investment and management of capital his 
judgment was seldom at fault. The moneyed insti- 
tutions which he founded prospered from the first 
and grew steadily in size and strength until they 
stood unshaken monuments to his courage, wisdom, 
prudence and skill against panics and depressions 
and all other adversities. 

"Among all the corporations in which he has 
been a controlling director there is not one which 
has proved a disappointment to those whose money 
was invested in it. There are no wrecks along 
the paths through which investors followed Moody 
Currier. He was a public-spirited citizen. He 
helped lay the foundations of Manchester and build 
the superstructure upon them, and whatever in his 
judgment promoted her prosperity commanded his 
support. He never gave because others did. He 
never tried to buy notoriety. He never placated 
opposition by bribes, but for the causes in which he 
believed he had a willing hand and an open purse. 
He was a man of very decided opinions and there- 
fore a strong partisan. From the birth of the 
Republican party he was one of its most courageous 
leaders, wisest counselors and most liberal con- 
tributors. He held many public positions and dis- 
played in all of them the same ability which was 
so conspicuous in his private affairs. 

"During the war of the rebellion he was a 
member of the governor's council and in this po- 
sition his financial and executive ability con- 
tributed immensely to the advantage of the state 
and nation. Probably New Hampshire was more 
indebted to him than to any other man for her 
honorable record in providing money and men 
in response to the repeated calls of the govern- 
ment. 

"As governor of the state he won a national 
reputation. His state papers are the classics of 
our official literature, and all his acts were such 
as to steadily strengthen him in public confidence 
and esteem. 

"He was a generous patron of art and literature. 
In his religious views he was a liberal. Far from 
being an infidel he rejected the creeds and cere- 
monies and superstitions of past ages and found 
his religious home in the Unitarian Church, of 
which he was a firm supporter. He was not an 
effusive or demonstrative man. His self control 
was perfect at all times and under all circumstances. 
He W'as always calm, deliberate and quiet. He 
never sought popularity. He never contributed to 
sensations. He was always the thoughtful, earnest, 
steady-going, self-reliant and reliable citizen. Un- 
til wathin three days before his death his mind was 
as strong, as well balanced and as active as ever. 



He was an ardent lover of nature and a worshiper 
of her truth and beauty. He hated shams, hypocrisy 
and pretenses and abominated Pharisees and dema- 
gogues. He had strong likes and dislikes. He 
remembered his friends and did not forget his 
enemies. His companionship was delightful and 
helpful to all who appreciated solid worth and en- 
joyed sound instruction. None could be much 
with him without growing wiser. His advice was 
sound. His example showed the road to honorable 
success and was an invitation to whoever was 
strong, ambitious and determined." 

MRS. MOODY CURRIER. 
(Written by Moody Currier in 1895.) 
Mrs. Moody Currier was the youngest daugh- 
ter of Enoch Slade, Esq., a distmguished citizen 
of Thetford, Vermont, and sister of General Samuel 
Slade, an eminent lawyer of St. Johnsbury, in the 
same state. She received her early education in 
Thetford Academy, at that time one of the most 
famous institutions in New England. Here many 
of the sons and daughters of New Hampshire and 
Vermont resorted to prepare for college, or to 
obtain a higher education than, could be gained 
elsewhere. In this celebrated school Miss Slade 
early found herself ranking among the foremost, 
not only in the ordinary studies, but also in the 
higher branches of Greek, Latin and mathematics, 
which she pursued far into the college course. 
After leaving the academy with the highest repu- 
tation . for scholarship, Miss Slade went to Boston, 
where, under distinguished teachers, she continued 
her studies in music, French and other branches 
of polite literature, thus adding a metropolitan 
finish not easily acquired in rural institutions. After 
her marriage, in connection with her husband, she 
continued her literary and scientific pursuits, keep- 
ing up with the progress of the age, adopting in 
their broadest and most liberal sense the best 
thoughts of modern research. Although she has 
never given to the public any of her literary pro- 
ductions, her education and critical tastes would 
warrant success in such an undertaking. She does 
not seek distinction by a display to the world of 
her charities and benefactions, which are many, and 
known only to those who receive them. She be- 
lieves that the proper sphere of woman is her 
home, which she renders happy, and adorns by 
devoting to it the best energies of her life. By 
her care and watchfulness she threw around her 
husband's declining years a mantle of joy and glad- 
ness. 



Among the English patronymics adopted 
B.\KER from callings, this is one of those early 

planted in New England, and has con- 
tributed in many ways to the advancement of 
civilization and all that improves the race. In all 
the profession and honorable walks of life it has 
been well known, and is especially conspicuous to- 
day for the achievements and discoveries of modern 
times. The most widely known and honored is 
the discoverer and founder of Christian Science, 
Mary Baker Eddy. One of the most beloved of the 
past generation was Bishop Osman Baker, of Con- 
cord. 

(I) John Baker was a freeman in Charlestown, 
Massachusetts, 1634. 

(II) Thomas Baker, supposed to be a son of 
John, was born in Kent, England, and settled in 
Roxbury, Massachusetts, where he was a respected 
and honored citizen. His name is given in the 
list of members of First Church, Roxbury, 1650. 
He was a friend and loyal supporter of Rev. John 




'^-JH (i^u^i^T.-t.'CiyCu LL. L^ 



■i^AyL^i^&± 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



I i: 



Eliot, the apostle to the Indians. He purchased 
an estate at Boston Neck, and there built the rirst 
tide mill. His death occurred January 28, 1683, 
and the church records written by his pastor refer 
to him as the "godly father Baker, buried January 
JO, 1683." 

(Ill) John (2), son of Thomas Baker, was 
born 1644, and died 1722. 

(,1V) Thomas (2), son of John (2) Baker, was 
born May 26, 1676, in Roxbury, and was married 
May 28, 1702, to Sarah Pike. He lived in Rox- 
bury, a respected citizen, and died May 10, 1761. 
His second wife, Hannah, died JNIarch 6, 1776. 

(.V) Captain Joseph, son of Thomas and Sarah 
(Pike) Baker, was born January 25, 1704, in Rox- 
bury, and was one of the early settlers in Pembroke, 
then called Suncook, New Hampshire. This town- 
ship was granted to the soldiers who served under 
the gallant Captain John Lovewell, who was re- 
nowned in the annals of the Indian wars, and fa- 
mous in song and story in early colonial days. 
Hannah Lovewell, born July 23, 1721, in Dun- 
stable, the daughter of Captain Lovewell, became the 
wife of Captain Joseph Baker, May 31, 1739. She 
inherited' one-third of her father's estate, includ- 
ing tlie lands assigned to him in Pembroke. Cap- 
tain Baker bought from her brother the other two- 
thirds and thus became full owner. He married 
(second), November 11, 1790, Mrs. Morrill, of 
Canterbury. His first wife bore him eleven chil- 
dren. (Mention of Lovewell and descendants ap- 
pears in this article.) Captain Joseph Baker was 
a private in Captain Thomas Tash's company in 
the regiment commanded by Colonel Jtihn Hart, 
enlisting April 27, and serving until November 21, 
1758. His regiment was raised for the Crown 
Point expedition, but a part of it went to Louis- 
burg, and the others, under Lieutenant-Colonel 
Goffe, did duty on the western frontier. On May 
31, :758, while on this expedition, he was ap- 
pointed by Governor Benning Wentworth the cap- 
lain of the foot company (in Colonel Z. Lovewell's 
regiment), located at Suncook, New Hampshire. 
Captain Baker was the surveyor of several town- 
ships in southern New Hampshire, and was one of 
the foremost men in his neighborhood in all that 
made for the welfare of the province.' Pie was a 
member of the committee -of safety of Pembroke 
in 1774. He was also a member of the third pro- 
vincial congress of New Hampshire, which met at 
Exeter, April 21, 1775, and was active in helping the 
province take its stand for the new republic. He 
was an ardent supporter of religion, and was a 
deacon of the Congregational Church in Pembroke. 

CVI) Joseph (2), eldest son of Captain Joseph 
O) and Hannah (Lovewell) Baker, was born in 
Pembroke, New Plampshire, Novemlber 7, 1740, 
and died February 27, 18x6. He removed about 
1762 to Bow, where he was collector of province 
taxes in 1764, and selectman in 1771 and 1804. He 
was a member of the committee of safety of Bow 
ill 1777. and was a soldier at Fort Washington 
(Portsmouth Harbor), in the revolution. In the 
tax list of 1790 he appears as one of tjie heaviest 
taxpayers in the town. He married Mary Ann 
Moore, of the same town, probably in 1762. She 
was born probably in Pembroke, and died January 
27, 1835. Both were buried in the River Road 
•cemetery. Their children were : John, James, 
Daniel, Jesse, Hannah, Joseph, Mary Ann, Philip 
C. and Mark. (Mention of Philip C. and the last 
named and descendants appears in this article.) 

.(VII) James, second son and child of Joseph 
(2) and Mary Ann (Moore) Baker, was born in 



Bow, March 8, 1765, and died May 24, 1808. He 
married, November 14, 1793, Judith Whittemore, 
who was born in Pembroke, November 5, 1771, 
daughter of Aaron and Sarah (Gilman) Whitte- 
more of Pembroke. Aaron Whittemore was a 
soldier in the revolutionary war, and the first set- 
tled minister in Pembroke. Sarah Gilman was a 
daughter of Peter Gilman, one of the early New 
Hampshire families. She died March, 1840. James 
and Judith Baker were buried in the River Koad 
cemetery. Bow. Their children were : I. Aaron 
Whittemore. 2. Luke. 3. Harriet, who married 
Philip Sargent of Bow. 4. Susan, who married 
Peter Whittemore, of Salisbury, New Hamp.^hire. 
. 5. Lydia, who married Plenry M. Moore, of Con- 
cord. 6. James, a successful leather merchant in 
Boston. James married (first) Olive Greenleaf, of 
Wiscasset, Maine. After her death he married 
(second) her sister, Rachel Greenleaf, by whom 
he had one daughter, Evelyn Greenleaf, now a well 
known literary critic and playwright, wife of Dr. 
John. P. Sutherland, of Boston. (Luke and de- 
scendants are mentioned in this article.) 

(VIII) Aaron W., eldest child of James and 
Judith (Whittemore) Baker, was born April 10, 
1796, and was only twelve years old when his father 
died. The farm was new and rough and required 
hard and continuous labor. This Mrs. Baker and 
her small children were compelled to render. Thus 
from boyhood Aaron W. Baker was accustomed to 
the hardest of farm voDrk. Early morning found 
him in the field, and darkness closed the labors of 
the day. His advantages for education were very 
limited. During the winter time only could he 
secure even an irregular attendance upon the pub- 
lic schools. By the instruction there received and 
by his home studies he acquired a fair common- 
school education. To this he added a knowledge 
of vocal music, which he taught for several terms. 
He had a good voice, which he retained until old 
age. As he attained manhood he helped his brothers 
and sisters to better educational op^portunities than 
he enjoyed, and by constant labor improved and 
enlarged the cultivated portions of the farm. He 
bought out the heirs and became its owner. In his 
latter years he added to it until his farm included 
nearly all the land originally owned by his father 
and grandfather and many acres besides. 

In politics Mr. Baker was first a Whig. When 
the Democratic party became the exponent of more 
liberal principles he joined it, and when it became 
allied with the slave power of the south he as 
promptly abandoned it. He was an original Abo- 
litionist, and acted with the Free Soil party from 
its organization. When the Republican party was 
formed he, with the Free Soilers generally, united 
with that party and he ever after remained a Re- 
publican. In religion as in politics, he was though- 
ful, studious, and progressive. He was trained in 
the faith of orthodox Congregationalism, and until 
middle life never attended any other preaching, but, 
as he read his Bible and pondered over the great 
questions of duty and destiny, he found both heart 
and mind protesting against its harsh doctrines and 
inadequate statements of goodness, mercy, and love 
of the Infinite Father. He became a Univcrsalist. 
His wife, w-ho had been educated a Baptist, joined 
him in his studies and reflections, and she, too, 
became a Univcrsalist. Both died, consoled and 
sustained by that cheering faith. He passed away 
July 12, 1876, and his widow May 20, 1881. Long 
before total abstinence, or even temperance prin- 
ciples were popular, Mr. Baker became their earnest 
advocate. He aided the circulation and adoption 



ii6 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



of temperance pledges, and by his influence many 
signed them. By example and encouragement he 
assisted in their maintenance and helped to render 
social or habitual drinking disreputable. In all the 
transactions of his life Mr. Baker was noted for 
his honesty, integrity, energy and faithfulness. He 
followed his convictions of duty, the logic of events 
and of principles, to their legitimate conclusions, 
and did not flinch from their results. He enjoyed 
society, liked company and loved his friends and 
relatives. Although in the political minority of 
his town, he held the offices of selectman and treas- 
, urer and other positions of responsibility and trust. 
He was married, March lo, 1825, to Nancy Dustin, 
a descendant of the "heroine, Hannah Dustin. Their 
children were four sons: P'rancis i\l., Rufns, John 
B., and Henry M. 

(IX) Henry Moore, youngest son of Aaron 
W. and Nancy (Dustin) Baker, was born in Bow, 
January 11, 1841. He attended the public schools 
of Bow, which he left to attend, lirst Pembroke 
Academy, then Hopkinton Academy, and hnally the 
New Hampshire Conference Seminary at Tilton, 
where he completed his preparation for college, and 
entered Dartmouth in. 1859. There he sustained the 
character of an industrious and well beloved stu- 
dent, and graduated Bachelor of Arts in 1863. 
Three years later he received the degree of JNIaster 
of Arts. Immediately after leaving college he en- 
tered the office of Judge Minot, of Concord, where 
he began the study of law. A year later, 1864, he 
was appointed to a clerkship in the War Department 
at Washington, D. C, from which he was after- 
ward transferred to the Treasury Department, 
where he tilled different positions of trust and re- 
sponsibility until 1874. While a clerk he continued 
his law studies, a part of the time at the Law 
Department of the Columbian University, from 
which he graduated in 1SG6, and was soon after 
admitted to the bar of the supreme court of the 
District of Columbia. In 1882 he was admitted to 
practice in the supreme court of the United States. 
In 1874 he resigikd his clerkship and opened a law- 
office in Washington, where there is a large number 
of lawyers. To succeed there a lawyer must possess 
a good legal mind, be studious, exercise care in 
the preparation of his cases and energy in the 
prosecution of them, and be ever on the elert for 
any advantage that may offer itself. That Mr. 
Baker possessed all the qualifications required is 
proved by the success he attained. He early made 
for himself a reputation that brought a large 
clientage and an extensive and profitable business. 
"His practice ranged from cases in the inferior 
courts and before the departments to final appeals 
taken to the supreme court of the United States. 
Large sums of money and valuable property were 
involved in some of the litigation which fell to 
his lot to conduct to a successful termination. In 
two of his cases in the United States court of 
claims there were at stake directly not less than 
one hundred and eighty-four thousand dollars, while 
indirectly the amount exceeded half a million. 
Another case carried to the supreme court of the 
United States determined the title to three millions 
of property. He is considered a safe counselor and 
a good advocate. His success in his profession is 
due to his industry, to his perseverance, and to his 
thorough knowledge of legal principles. He has a 
good standing at the bar of the District of Co- 
lumbia, which includes in its membership men of 
national reputation." 

During his residence in Washington Mr. Baker 
maintained his legal residence in Bow, and never 



failed to attend the annual town meeting, regard- 
less of the expense in time and money such at- 
tendance might necessitate. A Republican from. 
boyhood, he has alwavs been a staunch supporter of 
his party and an aggressive campaigner. All the 
time he was in practice in Washington his law- 
office was headquarters for all New Hami)shire 
Republicans who gathered at the capitol and wanted 
to hold political conferences. There arrangements 
were made to insure the attendance of all New 
Hampshire clerks at closely contested elections at 
home. 

In 1886 Mr. Baker was made judge advocate general 
of the New Hampshire National Guard, with the rank 
of brigadier-general, and filled that office two years. 
In 1890 he was nominated by acclamation as the 
candidate of his party in the jNIerrimack district 
for the state senate. In the campaign which fol- 
lowed he w-as recognized as one of the principal 
contributors to the success of the Republican ticket 
in the commonwealth and its control of the legis- 
lature. An evidence of his popularity was the num- 
ber of votes he received, which amounted to a 
plurality of one hundred and fifty and a majority of 
seventy-five, wdiile in his .district the candidate for 
governor received only a plurality of seventy-,six 
votes. In the senate he was chairman of the ju- 
diciary committee, and a member of several other 
important committees, as well as chairmaii of its 
joint special committee on the revision, codification, 
and amendment of the public statutes. His critical 
judgment and efficiency made him one of the lead- 
ers of his party in the upper house. The great 
mass of crude and unwise legislation which found 
its way from the house into the senate in that 
particular session was very much feduced in volume 
through Senator Baker's efforts. In regard to one 
measure in particular, he made the ablest speech 
of the session, on the bill to give the Mount Wash- 
ington railway the right to buy land and conduct 
a hotel on the summit of Mount Washington. This 
speech was afterward printed in pamphlet form 
and widely circulated. It was delivered March 18, 

1891, and" is a good illustration of the Senator's 
ability to oppose measures he can not approve. 

Senator Baker's successful canvass in his sena- 
torial district and his wise course as a legislator 
made him the logical candidate of the Republican 
party in the Second Congressional district, where 
the strength of the Democracy was so great that 
none by a man of first class ability and reputation 
could oust them from their stronghold; hence, in 

1892, he was made the nominee of his party for 
congress, and went into the contest determined to 
win : and win he did, although it was a Democratic 
year throughout the country. Mr. Cleveland was 
elected president and a strong Democratic house, 
in which j\Ir. Baker became one of the active and 
aggressive minority. He frequently participated in 
the general discussions of the house, and the Con- 
gressional Record shows his views as sound upon 
every important subject of legislation, where Demo- 
cratic unsoundness and heresy were rampant dur- 
ing Mr. Cleveland's term of four years. iNIr. 
Baker's ■ ten years experience in the departments 
of war and the treasury, and his experience gained 
in the practice of law in Washington, gave him a 
knowledge of methods, customs and usages i)OS- 
sessed by only a few on their first entry into con- 
gress, aiid materially aided him in the performance 
of his official duties. 

In 1894 he was a candidate for re-election, and 
where he had received a plurality of three hundred 
and twenty-nine votes, he made a gain of thirteen 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



117 



liimdred per cent. In the Fitty-third Congress he 
was assigned to tlic committees on ngriciilture and 
militia. In the Fifty-fourth Congress he became a 
member of the committees on judiciary, and the 
election of president, vice-president, and representa- 
tives in congress. He was chairman of one of the 
standing sub-committees of the judiciary committee. 
His principal speeches were in opposition to the 
repeal of the federal election laws, on the methods 
of accounting in the treasury department, in favor 
of the purchase and distribution to the farmers of 
the country of rare and valuable agricultural and 
horticultural seeds, on the tariff, on protection not 
hostile to exportation, on the necessity of adequate 
coast defense, on the criminal jurisdiction of the 
United States supreme court, and on civil service 
reforms, many copies of which were printed in 
pamphlet and extensively circulated. Mr. Baker 
has been frequently heard on the stump, and is 
noted for his fair and argumentive speeches. He 
endeavors to convince rather than to amuse. Wher- 
ever his voice or intluence is needed to advance the 
principles of his party, he is present. He stand? 
firmly for the right as after a careful study and 
investigation he sees it, but is always respectful and 
considerate of the opinions and feelings of others. 
H-e seeks harmony and not discord in the party, 
and is a safe counselor at all times. 

"On November, 1902, Mr. Baker was elected 
delegate from Bow to the convention to revise the 
constitution of New Hampshire, and in the work of 
that convention he took a conspicuous and honorable 
part, not only in introducing amendments, but in 
the discussions, and work on committees. 

"The first amendment he offered was to article 
six of the Bill of Rights, with the design to se- 
cure absolute equality to all in the state as to re- 
ligious belief, not inconsistent with the peace and 
safety of the state. His proposition was adopted in 
a modified form. His second proposition was to 
restrict the legislature so that it should be unable 
to pass any local, special or private laws, where 
a general law applicable to all persons and con- 
ditions could be made applicable. This was not 
adopted, owing to the short time the convention 
had to consider it. Had this been adopted it would 
have saved the state a good deal of expense, and 
the legislature much time. His third proposition 
wa_s to so amend the constitution that all future 
amendments should be prepared and submitted to 
the people by the legislature, instead of by con- 
vention as now. This was not adopted. j\Ir. Baker 
favored the district systerri for choice of representa- 
tives, and advocated a substantial reducton of th5 
house and a proportional increase of the senate, 
but these views did not tmd favor with the ma- 
jority. He advocated all these propositions with 
great force and clearness of statement. He also 
advocated strongly the amendment granting women 
suffrage, and making plurality instead of majority 
the rule for electing public officers. Mr. Baker 
was chairman on rules, and a member of the com- 
mittee on future amendments to the constitution 
and other matters. In all his work and arguments 
he displayed a clear and comprehensive knowledge 
of parliamentary law, and held his own equal to 
the best in debate." 

In 1904 and again in 1906 he was elected to 
represent Bow in the lower house of the legislature, 
and in each session he championed the measures 
to which he gave his support with the same 
earnestness and sincerity that always marks his 
course. In the season of 1905 he was on the com- 
mittees on national affairs and judiciary, and in 



1907 he was chairman of the judiciary committee, 
and in that position proved very efficient in ex- 
pediting the consideration of meritorious measures 
and in retiring unwise and unimportant bills. He 
favored the erection of a new state house, the 
enactment of a law restraining the sale of liquor 
by druggists in no-license places, the passage of. 
a law providing for woman suffrage, a tax on rail- 
road earnings, and the abolition of the present rail- 
road free pass system and introduced a bill for that 
purpose. 

Air. Baker's active participation in the affairs 
of the state have. led him in many cases to search 
for the underlying causes and fundamental prin- 
ciples of things, and in this way he has become 
a profound student of many features of New Eng- 
land history, and has responded to requests to de- 
liver historical and literary addresses on several 
important occasions. On the occasion of the celebra- 
tion of Forefathers' Daj', December 22, 1889, he 
delivered an able and scholarly address on "The 
Pilgrim Puritans," in All Souls' Church, Washing- 
ton, D. C, in the presence of a large and apprecia- 
tive audience. In this he clearly delineated the 
causes which made the settlers of Plymouth Pil- 
grims, and showed the powerful and controlling 
influence which the principles they promulgated have 
exercised over New England, and finally over the 
whole American Nation. In June, 1902, he delivered 
at Concord before the New Hampshire Society of 
the Sons of the American Revolution an address 
on the subject: "New Hampshire at Bunker Hill," 
taking for his motto "Justia, et praeteria nihil." 
In this discourse he showed the falsity of the 
claims put forth by Massachusetts that that colony 
furnished the most of the men and was entitled to 
the lion's share of the glory for the part she took 
in the battle. Mr, Baker showed by figures whose 
correctness could not be challenged that New Hamp- 
shire furnished two-thirds of the men and did more 
than three-fourths of the successful fighting, de- 
stroying or putting to fight the flower of the British 
troops in that action. 

Mr. Baker has cultivated an inherent love of 
literature and many an otherwise idle hour he de- 
votes to the perusal of the classics, ancient and 
modern. He is a member of the New Hampshire 
Society ; is a Son of the American Revolution, and 
the president of the New Hampshire Society ; a 
member of the New Hampshire Club ; has been 
president of the Alumni Association of Dartmouth 
College ; also of the Alumni of Pembroke Academy. 

He resides on the ancestral acres in Bow, which 
he cultivates (sometimes with his own hands) with 
the same care, skill and success, that his fore- 
fathers before him did. He pays the largest tax 
in the town, is heavily interested in industries out- 
side of the town, and is accounted a man of large 
means. He is a member of Bow Grange. No. 189, 
Patrons of Husbandry, and frequently attends its 
meetings, in which he takes as much interest as 
any other member. He is not a member of any 
church, but gives of his means to further church 
work and to every deserving petitioner for charily 
as his needs require. 

CVIII) Luke, second son and child of James 
and Judith (Whittcmore) Baker, was born in Bow, 
February 9, 1798, died in Dunbarton, August 27, 
1884, and is buried at East Weare. His father died 
when he was ten years old, and he and his brother 
Aaron were obliged to carry on the farm and sup- 
port the large family of children. In his early life 
he built a mill for carding and coloring wool and 
fulling cloth at Bow Mills, which he operated until 



ii8 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



about 1837, when he removed to Dunbarton and 
was a farmer in the northwest part of the town 
for the remainder of his life. He married (first), 
May 23, 1823, Ann, daughter of Moses Carter, of 
Concord, who was born- March 19, 1801, and died 
April 6, 1833. She is buried in the Wheeler ceme- 
tery in Bow. He married (second), January 19, 
1834, Martha, daughter of Alexander and Margaret 
(i\loore) Gilchrist, of Goffstown, who was born 
December 5, 1804, and died March 14, 1879. She 
is buried in East Weare. (See Gilchrist, IV.) 
Luke Baker had four children by his first wife, 
Ann Carter, viz.: i. James Wallace, who died 
young. 2. .Moses Carter, born in Bow, January 25, 
1825, a successful grain merchant in Chicago ; he 
married Laura A. Morse, of Akron, Ohio, and died 
in Chicago in 1893. 3. Adaline W., born in Bow, 
March 12, 1827, married Henry A. Sargent, of 
Hillsborough, New Hampshire. She is now living 
in Concord. 4. Luke N., born in Bow about 1829, 
married Laura A. Abbott, of Concord. He died 
in San Francisco, California, in 1892. He was a 
carpenter by trade. The following children were 
born to Luke and JMartha (Gilchrist) Baker: 
I. James A., born June 17, 1838, enlisted in the 
Sixteenth Regiment New Hampshire Volunteers, 
and died in the service in General Bank's army at 
Brazier City, Louisiana. 2. Frances Ann, born July 
19, 1841 ; she never married and is now living in 
Concord. 3. Helen M., the subject of the next para- 
graph. 

(IX) Helen M., second daughter and tliird 
child of Luke and Martha (Gilchrist) Baker, was 
born in Dunbarton, March 4. 1843. She received 
a good common school education, and for many 
years in her early life taught school in Dunbarton, 
Weare, Goffstown and Bradford, Vermont. She 
married at Dunbarton, April 15, 1869, John H. 
Burroughs, of Bow (see Burroughs. IV). She 
is a member of the Protestant Episcopal Church. 

(VII) Philip Carrington, sixth son and eighth 
child of Joseph (2) and Mary Ann (Moore) 
Baker, was born INIarch 16, 1782, in Pembroke, and 
resided in Bow, whence he removed to' Sanbornton, 
New Hampshire, and there died ]\Iay 10, 1837. 
He was by trade a shoemaker, and was also en- 
gaged in farming. On September 25, 1835, he 
purchased a farm in Sanbornton, one mile north 
of the square, and moved upon it in the spring 
of 1836. He was married December 10, 1806, to 
Mary Dow, of Concord, who was born March 24, 
1780, and died June 28, 1865. Their children were : 
Clarinda, Timothy Dow, Amos Morgan and JNIary 
Ann. 

(VIII) Clarinda, eldest child of Philip C. and 
Mary (Dow) Baker, was born August 3, 1808, in 
Bow, and became the wife of Fenner H. Emerson 
.of Sanbornton (see Emerson). 

(VH) Mark, youngest son of Joseph and Mary 
Ann (Moore) Baker, was born May 2, 1785, in Bow. 
He lived in the place of his birth until 1836, when 
in order to better educate his children he removed to 
Sanbornton, New Hampshire. He was always a 
constant attendant and a faithful servant of the 
church. He was a close friend of Governor Pierce, 
the father of President Franklin Pierce. He was 
married in May. 1807, to Abigail Ambrose, in Pem- 
broke, a daughter of Deacon Nathaniel and Phcbe 
(Lovejoy) Ambrose. He married (second), in 1850, 
Mrs. Elizabeth (Patterson) Duncan, of London- 
derry, who died June 6, 1875. surviving her hus- 
band nearly ten years. Mark Baker passed away 
October 6, 1865, in Tilton. He was the father of 
six children. 



Abigail Ambrose, wife of Mark Baker, was bom 
in Pembroke, April 18, 1784. She died at Sanborn- 
ton Bridge (now Tilton), New Hampshire, No- 
vember 21, 1849. From an extended article which 
appeared in the press of that day, is extracted the 
following eloquent tribute to her rare virtues bv the 
Rev. Richard S. Rust, D. D. : 

"The character of Mrs. Baker was distinguished 
for numerous excellencies, and these were most 
happily blended. She possessed a strong intellect, 
a sympathizing heart, and a placid spirit. Her 
presence, like the gentle dew and cheerful light, 
was felt by all around her. She gave an elevated 
character to the tone of the conversation in the 
circles in which she moved, and directed attention 
to themes at once pleasing and profitable. The oft- 
repeated expressions of that sainted spirit on the 
hearts of those especially entrusted to her watch- 
care can never be effaced. No sacrifice was esteemed 
too great, could it subserve their interests. Kind 
and conciliatory in manner, wise and prudent in 
counsel, at all times cheerful and hopeful, she was 
the presiding genius of a lovely circle and a happy 
home. The bereaved husband laments the loss of 
a devoted wife, mourning children an affectionate 
mother, the church one of its brightest ornaments, 
and the community one of its most valued mem- 
bers." Her children were : Samuel Dow, Albert, 
George, Sullivan, Abigail Beman, Martha Smith 
and Mary (Mrs. Eddy), all of whom are mentioned 
at length below. 

(VIII) Samuel Dow Baker was born July S, 
1808, in Bow, and died September 23, 1868. His^ 
first wife was Eliza Ann Glover. His second wife 
was Mary Ann Cook. She was for many years a 
well known missionary. She was principal of the 
Pine Ridge Seminar}', Indian Territory, and wrote 
the "History of tlie Judsons." 

(VIII) Albert Baker was born in Bow, New- 
Hampshire, February 5, 1810, and died October 17, 
1841, at the early age of thirty-one years. He was 
graduated from Dartmouth College in 1834. with 
the reputation of being one of the finest students- 
who had ever attended the institution. He im- 
mediately entered the law office of Franklin Pierce, 
afterward president of the United States, and then 
a resident of Hillsborough. He studied with Mr. 
Pierce two years, and then spent a year in the 
law office of Hon. Richard Fletcher, of Boston. In 
1837 he began the practice of law in Flillsborough. 
Ini839 he was chosen to the state legislature, and 
re-elected in 1840 and 1841. In an appreciative 
and extended review of his brilliant career. Gov- 
ernor Isaac Hill, in the Nezu Hamj^shire Patriot, 
among other things said : "Mr. Baker was a young- 
man of uncommon promise. Gifted with the high- 
est order of intellectual powers, he had trained and 
schooled them by an intense and almost incessant 
study during his short life. He was fond of in- 
vestigating abstruse and metaphysical principles, and 
he never quit them until he had explored every 
nook and corner, however hidden and remote. Had 
life and health been spared to him, he would have 
made himself one of the most distinguished men 
in the country." 

(VIII) Colonel George Sullivan Baker was- 
born August 7, 1812. He married I\Iartha Dew 
Rand, and died November 21, 1867, in Sanbornton. 
They had one child, George Washington Baker 
(now surviving). 

(VIII) Abigail Beman Baker was born Janu- 
ary IS, 1815. She was married to Alexander H. 
Tilton, a large woolen manufacturer, from whose 
family the town of Tilton, New Hampshire, was 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



119 



named. Tlicy had tliree cliildi'cii : Albert Baker, 
Alfred Edwin, and Abbie Evelyn, all deceased with- 
out issue. 

(VIII) Martha Smith Baker was born January 
16, 1819. She married Luther C. Pilshury, of Cou- 
corn. They had two children, Mary B., and Ellen 
C, both deceased without issue. Mr. Pilsbury was 
widely and favorably known because of his eminently 
successful work in the conduct of slate prisons. 
He was deputy warden of the New Hampshire 
state prison at Concord, and warden of the Xew 
York state prison. 

(VHI) Mary Baker Eddy (See frontispiece, VoI._ 
III). Great nations fulfill great missions. Greece is 
synonymous w'ith philosophy, Rome with adminis- 
tration, France with liberty. For the achievement 
of its appointed task, history records that there 
has always been provided the right leader. Greece 
had her Socrates, Rome her Caesar, France her 
Lafayette. The accepted mission of our loved Re- 
public is the enthronement of right, the fulfilment 
of the Master's prayer, "Thy kingdom come. Thy 
will be done in earth as it is in heaven." Among 
a large body of careful thinkers there is a growing 
conviction that the commonwealth of New Hamp- 
shire is the birthplace and the home of the befitting 
leader, through whom the sacred mission of our 
great nation is finding its consummation. 

The historic White Mountain State is rich in 
all that typifies spiritual leadership. Her endur- 
ing granite is a fitting symbol of that strength of 
character and heroic firmness which characterizes 
every great leader. Her heaven-kissing mountains 
typify that lofty idealism which alone can lift mor- 
tals from the valleys of selfishness and sin to the 
uplands of true manhood. Her placid lakes and 
swift flowing rivers, with their clear crystal waters, 
betoken the purity of thought which eliminates 
sordid materialism and establishes the spiritual life 
manifested by the great Master. 

Mary Baker Eddy's earliest progenitor in New 
Hampshire was John Lovewell, the grandfather of 
her great-grandmother, Hannah Lovewell Baker, 
the heroic wife of the gallant Captain Joseph 
Baker, the original ancestor of that name in the 
Granite State. John Lovewell was one of the fore- 
most men in the colony. He was merchant, mill 
ow-ner and landed proprietor. New Hampshire his- 
tories say that he was an ensign in the army of 
Cromwell, and that he came to America in 1660 
because of the restoration of Charles II. His deep 
religious convictions are shown by Hhe following 
anecdote recorded of his in the "Town History of 
Dunstable'': "One Sabbath morning Parson Swan 
forgot the day and ordered his hired men to their 
work. They objected, telling him it was Sunday. He 
would not believe it, but finally said, 'If it is Sun- 
day we shall soon see Father Lovewell coming up 
the hill ;' and sure enough, punctual as the clock 
to the hour, the aged man, then more than a hun- 
dred years old, but who never missed a Sunday, 
was seen making his way to church." 

It is related of the celebrated Hannah Dustin, 
who was captured by the Indians at Haverhill, 
Massachusetts, in 1697, and escaped by killing her 
captors, ten in number, that in her lonely wander-' 
ings down the Merrimack, from the mouth of the 
Contoocook in Concord, New Hampshire, the first 
house she reached was the home of this ancestor of 
Mrs. Eddy. 

Ancient manuscripts quaintly relate, "Between 
1752 and 1756 died John Lovewell at the great 
age of one hundred and twenty years, the oldest 
person who ever deceased in New llanipshire." 



Mrs. Eddy's great-great-grandfather, the illus- 
trious Captain John Lovewell, son of the former, 
is famed in colonial song and story for his valor 
and patriotism. The safety of the entire New 
Hampshire colony was menaced by the rapine and 
butchery of the cruel savages. In the crisis, when 
others had failed and all efforts resulted only in 
disaster. Captain Lovewell organized a brave com- 
pany, went forth into the wilderness, met and de- 
feated the enemy, and bestowed lasting peace upon 
the struggling colony. The peace was, however, 
dearly bought, for the intrepid warrior sacrificed his 
life for his country's welfare. The grateful com- 
monwealth of Massachusetts bestow-ed upon him 
and his brave band of heroes the town of Pem- 
broke (now in New Hampshire), and hither Cap- 
tain Joseph Baker brought his bride Hannah, the 
fair daughter of the well loved Captain Lovewell, 
who inherited her father's broad acres in the val- 
ley of the iMerrimack. 

Hannah Lovewell Baker, Mrs. Eddy's great- 
grandmother was a worthy daughter of her heroic 
sire. A tribute to her character is quoted from the 
"History of Pembroke," page 59 : "These were 
times that tried men's souls. They were led to de- 
velop those strong and sterling qualities of char- 
acter, which made conspicuous the nobilities of their 
manhood and patriotism. Nor were the women 
behind the men in the display of those qualities. 
We give an illustration. It is said that Hannah, the 
daughter of the brave Captain John Lovewell, and wife 
of Captain Joseph Baker, was washing by a spring 
Or stream, when an alarm was given of the pres- 
ence of Indians in the neighborhood. The men oil 
their way to a place of safety, found her at work, 
and urged her to flee for shelter. But she was 
resolute and persistent. Having work in hand, she 
would not move until she had finished, Indian or 
no Indian. The men in their hurry to reach the 
fort left her. Telling there the story, a rescuing 
party was sent after her, and found her leisurely 
comin,g to the garrison with her basket of clean 
clothes." 

We have already transcribed the written records 
of the historic 'Baker family in New Hampshire. 
The brief sketch herein given is an eloquent witness 
to a race of men who were lovers of liberty, heroic 
defenders of their homes and native land. They 
were of that class of sturdy, self-reliant men wdiose 
self-sacrificing labors gave birth to these United 
States of America, and whose indomitable energy 
and strict integrity established and have preserved 
those inalienable rights which have found a glorious 
expression in the free school, the free ballot, the ■ 
free press and the free church. Both sides of Mrs. 
Eddy's family were founders of local churches. Her 
mother's father was Deacon Nathaniel Ambrose, and 
through his generosity and labors was founded the 
North Congregational Church of Pembroke, New 
Hampshire, known as Deacon Ambrose's Church. 
The historian also tells us that so largely was the 
Baker family interested in founding the ?iIcthodist 
Church of that town that "with propriety it might 
have been called the Baker Meeting House." 

High on file hills of Bow. above the misls of 
the winsome valley of the Merrimack, somewhat 
apart from the dusty highway, in a home where 
family prayers began each day's activities, where 
a mother's love was radiant as the summer sun- 
shine, gentle as the falling dew that bathes the 
roses of June, was born the Discoverer and Founder 
of Christian Science, Mary Baker Eddy. She was 
the last welcomed member in this family of three 
sons and three daughters. The Baker homestead 



120 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



was a favorite resort for leaders in church and state. 
The clergy found here a . cordial welcome, and 
teachers and scholars, governors and at least one 
president of the United States, were wont to fre- 
■quent it. From birth Mary Baker was different 
from other children. It was her joy to be in the 
mother's presence, and the slightest wish of her 
loved one called forth immediate obedience. She 
was as shy and retiring as the fawn of the wood- 
land, as meek and modest as the arbutus of spring, 
as pure and chaste as the blue skies of New Hamp- 
shire. So little tainted was the child with the things 
of earth, so true and loving, so kind and gentle, 
that a well-known minister of the Gospel said of 
her that "she was sanctified before she had birth." 
Yet she was always doubting her own goodness, 
and praying for deliverance from the bondage of 
sin. 

As ]\Iary Baker grew older, in so far as her 
strength w'ould permit, for she was a frail child, 
she became the helper and the friend of all. To 
her tender care the father entrusted the neglected 
nestlings and the motherless lambs, and under her 
gentle ministration they grew well and strong. With 
her less fortunate playmates she gladly shared her 
childish treasures and even her wardrobe, so for- 
getful of self, so thoughtful of others, so rare and 
radiant was the spirit of this child. 

She was gifted with unusual and extraordinary 
mental powers. Her father believed that her brain 
was too large for her body, and so kept her much 
■out of school, but she seemed to gain knowledge 
intuitively. A private tutor declared that she had 
mastered studies, which, as a matter of fact, she had 
never entered upon, so quick was she in compre- 
hension. She was blessed with a marvelously re- 
tentive memory. No more than a second reading 
of a long poem was needed in order that she might 
repeat it entire. On returning from church she 
-was able to recall the leading points of the sermon, 
which she pondered throughout the week. At ten 
years of age she was a reader of philosophical 
works which puzzled her elders. The son of Rev. 
Enoch Corser, A. M,, who was a neighbor friend, 
lias written of her, "She was about fifteen when I 
first knew her. She and my father used to con- 
verse on deep subjects frequently, too deep for me. 
She was always pure and good, and she stands 
out in my mind as my father's brightest pupil." 

In 1836 Mark Baker moved his family from Bow 
to Sanbornton, New Hampshire, to give them w'ider 
educational advantages. Mary Baker hfccame a 
pupil in the Sanbornton .•\cademy. Among her 
teachers were Professor Ira Sanborn, author of 
Sanborn's Grammar. Rev. Enoch Corser, A. M., 
Sarah J. Bowdell Lane, and her scholarly and dis- 
tinguished brother. Albert Baker, Esq., a foremost 
member of the New Hampshire bar. At ten years 
of age she was as familiar with Lindley Murray's 
grammar as she was with the Westminster Cate- 
chism, and the latter she read every Sunday. Her 
favorite studies were natural philosophy, logic and 
moral science. In addition she received lessons 
from her brother Albert in Latin, Greek and 
Hebrew. She was happy in readftig the great 
masterpieces. The Bible, Milton, Shakespeare, Mrs. 
Hemans, and Young's "Night Thoughts," were help- 
ful in forming her clear and forceful style of writ- 
ing and speaking. At an early age she evinced 
marked literary ability. In childhood her thought 
naturally expressed itself in poetry,' and verses 
flowed from her pen with all the sparkle and free- 
<\<<m of mountain streams. Her modesty and re- 
liiciance to appear before the public caused her 



to write under different noms des filuinc. At si.x- 
teen years of age she was a regular contributor to 
public press and magazine. Her writings were 
of such a high order of merit that selections ap- 
pear in a volume of Prose and Poetry from well 
known New England authors, published in 1850, 
twenty-five years before the publication of her text- 
book of Christian Science, "Science and Health with 
Key to the Scriptures." During her residence in 
the south she wrote frequently for southern maga- 
zines, and on her return to the north, so widely 
and favorably known had she become as an author 
of merit, that her compositions were eagerly sought 
by leading magazines both north and south. Those 
who study her writings are impressed .by the 
thorough familiarity with the best in literature, 
which is therein displayed. 

Mrs. Eddy early allied herself with the moral 
forces arrayed for the public good. The "National 
Encyclopedia of American Biography" says of this ' 
religious reformer: "Her spiritual ideal is in- 
separable from her life, and reflects the true di- 
vinity, not in creeds and codes, but facts and quali- 
ties inherent in her own noble character. Her life 
is one of noiseless charities, of gentleness and 
tenderness of indefatigable toil and unparalleled 
self-immolation ; yet she unsparingly rebukes sin 
in all its forms and phases." 

Her brother Albert was one of the earliest 
temperance workers and orators of New Hampshire. 
He gave the first address and drew up the first 
temperance pledge in the- state. Mrs. Eddy signed 
it, and when in Lynn, Massachusetts, while a mem- 
ber of the Good Templars, reformed many drunk- 
ards, and saved the Women's Branch of the Temple 
of Honor from being a complete wreck, in one year 
adding to its number seventy-five members. When 
the civil war broke out she rendered loyal service 
in behalf of the brave soldiers. Her effective labors 
were recognized by General Benjamin F. Butler, 
and his aide-de-camp wrote ; "The General be- 
lieves that with tlie aid of such women the war 
would soon be over." 

It was not a flower-strewn pathway over which 
^Irs. Eddy passed to her great discovery. The 
story of those eventful years suggests the poet's 
lines: 

"The good are better made by ill. 
As odours crushed are sweeter still," 

In the springtide of a noble womanhood she 
was claimed as the bride of a southern gentleman. 
Major George W. Glover, of Charleston. South 
Carolina. Major Glover was a successful archi- 
tect, in charge of large government contracts. He 
was a Master Mason, and was the soul of honor. 
While superintending his important interests in Wil- 
mington, North Carolina, he was stricken with a 
fatal fever, and the bride of a few months was left 
a widow. 

Faithful and true were the jioble-hearted Ma- 
sonic brethren of the south. They reverently per- 
formed the last sad rites for their departed brother, 
and tenderly cared for his stricken widow. No 
service was left undone, no detail forgotten. With 
all the chivalry of southern gentlemen, with all the 
historic devotion of true Masons, they satisfactorily 
adjusted all business affairs, provided for her needs, 
accompanied her to the railway station, a com- 
mittee journeyed with her to the north, and only 
bade her farewell when she was within the shelter 
of her father's home. Mrs. Eddy wrote tenderly 
of this trial hour in her Dcdic:itory Messatio to 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



121 



the church at Atlanta. "Did that midnight shadow, 
falling upon the bridal wreath, bring the recom- 
pense of human woe, which is the merciful design 
of divine Love, and so help tct evolve that larger 
sympathy for suffering humanity which is emanci- 
pating it with the morning beams and noonday 
glory of Christian Science." 

Four months after her return to the north, her 
only child was born, George Washington Glover. 
Into her night of sorrow there came this glad ray 
of sunshine. She loved her child as only a true 
mother loves, and gave to him her heart's de- 
votion. Her long continued illness necessitated the 
placing of the child in the hands of a nurse. Un- 
known to the invalid mother, the child was removed 
to the distant west. Through a false report he was led 
to believe that his mother was dead. At the breaking 
out of the civil war he served with distinction, and 
at its expiration he was appointed United States 
marshal of Dakota. Learning by a strange provi- 
dence of his mother, he returned to Boston with 
his family, and they were her welcome guests. 
Though he went back to the west to superintend 
his business enterprises, he has returned from time 
to time to find the mother's love unchanged. 

Mrs. Eddy's second marriage was not so for- 
tunate as the first, and from it she was compelled 
to seek a legal separation, which was granted her. 
One motive of this union was to provide a home 
for her child. In this desire she met with disap- 
pointment, as her husband was not willing to carry 
out her wishes in this respect. He has since ac- 
knowledge that his wife was a pure Christian 
woman, that he was wholly to blame for the separa- 
tion, and that if he had done as he ought he might 
have had a happv home. 

Nor were these fiery trials the only ones through 
which she passed. The furnace of affliction spared 
not this gentle woman in the preparation for the 
mighty mission entrusted to her keeping. When 
most she needed her beloved brother Albert's pro- 
tecting care, death parted them. Close were the 
ties which bound them. ' Theirs was a mutual love 
for the best in literature, and a common interest 
in profound philosophical and metaphysical subjects. 
llis manly strength was her strong support ; her 
versatile and brilliant gifts were his delight. With 
a bright career before him, recognized as one of 
the ablest lawyers of New Hampshire, esteemed 
as a statesman of spotless integrity, beloved by his 
friends and honored by his foes, -such was Albert 
Baker, and bj' none was his loss so deeply felt as 
by his sister jMary. Reiiiembering her long life 
of devotion to the cause of her great Master, one 
is led to ask if this great sorrow may not have 
brought its teaching that "there is a friend that 
•sticketh closer than a brother." 

In a peaceful spot in the village cemetery of Til- 
ton, New Hampshire, there is a simple shaft with 
the name of Abigail Baker, died November 21, 
1849. What the world owes to the sainted mother 
buried there is little known. It was she who helped 
she child Mary to that undying love for the sacred 
Scriptures, and first inspired her with the faith 
that God is "a very present help in trouble." This 
mother was her refuge and strength, her shield and 
support. Yet in the hour when she seemed of 
most help, she was taken from her. Jesus taught 
his disciples that his departure would bring to 
them the Comforter. Likewise the departure of the 
beloved earthly mother may have led the Discoverer 
of Christian Science to rely more i;losely upon 
'Go<], the infinite Mcllier Lnvc. I'mfnundlv true 



are Shakespeare's words when applied to Mary 
Baker Eddy : "Sweet are the uses of adversity." 

Concord's ex-mayor and former postmaster, the 
Honorable Henry Robinson, who has long known 
Mrs. Eddy, has eloquently written of her: "From 
infancy her life has been a marked one. Even in 
girlhood she was far in advance of others of her 
age. One of the favorite pictures in her home is 
that of Jesus, the youth, debating with the wise 
men, and as she stood for a moment near it, the 
thought came to the writer's mind — how much like 
the Great iNIaster." 

In childhood's sunny hours, mysterious voices 
called her as they did the child Samuel. Their 
meaning was not then revealed. To the higher 
voice she has listened, and with loyal obedience has 
given earnest heed. 

When four or five years of age she attended 
school. A childish game was played by the little 
ones at this time, in which they separated them- 
selves into groups and confided to each other their 
hopes and expectations. When it was Mary's turn 
to answer, she would say decisively, "/ sJiall Zi'rite 
a book," and no amount of disapproval from her 
school mates, who thought this a very stupid am- 
bition, could make her change this decision. At 
an early age she wrote verses which express 
thought that are akin to the teaching of Christian 
Science. 

When the hour arrived in which she was to 
unite with the Christian Church, her loving, Christ- 
like nature rejected the rigid Calvinistic doctrine 
of foreordination and election. So disturbed was 
she at the direful fate to which her own brothers 
and sisters were relentlessly consigned that she was 
thrown into a fever. Her mother turned her 
thoughts to God in prayer, and the answer came 
in a great peace and calm. She had been healed 
through no earthly agency. Perfect love had cast 
out fear and God was found a present help. 

Though reasoned with by pastor and deacons, 
the youthful applicant for church membership con- 
tinued steadfast in her conviction of the loving- 
kindness of God. When brought before a church 
meeting and questioned as to her attitude, she 
replied. "1 can only answer in the words of the 
Psalmist, 'Search me, O God, and know my heart. 
Try me and see if there be any wicked way in me, 
and lead me in the way everlasting.' " With tears 
in their eyes, pastor, deacons and church members, 
despite her strict adherence to her convictions, 
unanimously welcomed her into the church coven- 
ant. 

Mrs. Eddy's brother Albert was an earnest stu- 
dent of metaphysics, and she shared his researches 
and investigations. The material philosophy of the 
age did not satisfy those advanced thinkers, and 
together they were working their way out of the 
old toward the new. With a hope to improve her own 
health, Mrs. Eddy studied Homoeopathy. She was 
deeply impressed by the fact that the higher the 
attenuation the better seemed the results. She saw 
that the less there was of the material medicine 
the better the healing. She found that patients were 
cured with unmedicated tablets, or with a tea- 
spoonful of water given every hour; even thoiigh 
devoid of the drug. Her aversion to the dissecting 
room prevented her from obtaining an expert 
knowledge of surgery and from completing her 
course, but her experiments in Homeopathy were 
valuable in directing her attention to the proposition 
that all causation is mental. 

While Mrs. Eddy was an inmate of Dr. A'ail's 
Hydropathic Institute in New Hampshire, in the 



122 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



j-ear 1862, a patient, therein considered incurable, 
left the institute, and a few weeks later returned 
apparently well. He said he had been healed by 
one P. P. Quimby, of Portland, Maine. This inci- 
dent led ]\Irs. Eddy to visit Portland and receive 
treatment from Mr. Quimby. His methods seemed 
at first to bring relief, but he failed to heal the case. 
She found him to be a magnetic practitioner. In 
response to a question as to how manipulation 
could benefit the sick, he replied substantially : 
"Because it conveys electricity to them." He was 
not an educated man, and could give no intelligent 
explanation of his cures. There is absolutely no 
room for skepticism as to the author of "Science 
and Health with Key to the Scriptures." In all 
history there is not one fact more indisputably at- 
tested, not one more certainly verified, than the 
fact that the Discoverer and Founder of Christian 
Science is also the sole author of its text-book. 

History records that Mrs. Eddy"s sincere de- 
sire has been to make the healing ministry of 
Christ Jesus and his church available for present 
human needs. From earliest childhood she was a 
devout student of the Bible, and pondered earnestly 
the Tilaster's mighty works and his command to his 
followers to heal the sick. In the life-giving words 
and healing Gospel of the great Physician, she 
sought long and prayerfully for the balm where- 
with he cured diseases and overcame death. 

God surely meant that the search of this faith-' 
Tul disciple should be richly rewarded. J\Irs. Eddy 
thus speaks of her discovery of Christian Science 
in her book, "Retrospection and Introspection" : 

"It was in Massachusetts, in February, 1866, that 
I discovered the Science of Divine jNIetaphysical 
Healing, which I afterwards named Christian 
Science. The discovery came to pass in this way. 
During twenty j-ears prior to my discovery, I had 
been trying to trace all physical effects to a mental 
cause ; and in the latter part of 1866 I gained the 
scientific certainty that all causation was mind, and 
every effect a mental phenomenon. My immediate 
recovery from the effects of an injury caused by 
an accident, an injury that neither medicine nor 
surgery could reach, was the falling apple that led 
me to the discovery. 

Mrs. Eddy did not retain for personal advan- 
tage this spiritual under standing of God — the cura- 
tive principle of sickness and sin — through whom 
all the healing in Christian Science is wrought. 
She spent the next three years after her healing 
in retirement, studying the Bible and finding therein 
the principle and rule of her own healing. She 
then tested this pathological system in every pos- 
sible way, and gladly revealed the divine way to 
students who at length spread the good tidings. 
Eager that the world might farther and more freely 
possess the sacred discovery entrusted to her keep- 
ing, in 1875, after long years of profound study of 
the Bible, she sent forth on its mission of love 
the text-book of Christian Science, "Science and 
Health, with Key to the Scriptures." 

Thus Mrs. Eddy, in the latter half of the nine- 
teenth century, discovered the Science of Christianity 
which she named Christian Science. She healed 
the first case in this century by Christian Science. 
She taught the first student in Christian Science' 
Mind-healing. She was the author and publisher 
of the first books on this subject; obtained the first 
charter for the first Christian Science Church, 
originated its form of government and was its 
pastor; and donated to this church the land on 
which in 1894 was erected the first church edifice 
of this denomination in Boston ; obtained the first 



and only charter for a Metaphysical medical, college- 
^was its first and only president ; was editor and 
proprietor of the first Christian .Science periodical^ 
and has established all its succeeding periodicals; 
organized the first Christian Scientist Associaticit 
and gave it the Christian Science Journal; founded, 
the Board of Lectureship; planned and established 
the Christian Science Publication Committees in this 
and foreigh lands; inaugurated the denominational, 
form of Sunday services, Sunday school, and the 
entire system of teaching and practicing Christian 
Science. (See "Miscellaneous Writings," page 
382.) 

In 1889 Mrs. Eddy closed the ]\Iassachusetts 
Metaphysical College, notwithstanding that hundreds 
of applicants were awaiting admission, and retired 
to Concord, New Hampshire. Her purpose in doing 
this was to secure seclusion and time in which to 
revise Science and Health, and further extend her 
field of labor. Later she established a Board of 
Education, based on the College, which board is 
now in active operation. 

Forty eventful years have passed since Mary 
Baker Eddy made her great discovery of Christian 
Science. Its garnered harvests include more than 
a million persons healed of sickness and advancing 
spirituality. Forty years ago there was but one 
Christian Scientist. To-day it has representatives 
in every state and territory of America, and in 
seventy-five foreign countries. Her first church was 
organized in 1879. To-day (1906) it has more than 
a thousand worshipI)ing congregations in this and 
foreign lands. The text-book of the denomination 
has reached its four hundredth edition of one thou- 
sand copies, and Mrs. Eddy's writings havd a 
circulation approaching one million copies. The 
Publishing House in Boston distributes more than 
five million pages of printed literature each month, 
and there were published during the past twelve 
months three times as many copies of "Science and 
Health" as were sold during the first twelve years- 
of its history. 

The Mother Church in Boston, The First Church 
of Christ, Scientist, was built in 1894, at a cost 
of more than $200,000. To this church Mrs. Eddy 
gave the land, valued at $20,000. The church edifice 
became entirely inadequate to accommodate the 
throng of worshippers, and in 1906 the magnificent 
extension to The Mother Church of Christ, Scien- 
tist, was completed, which seats over five thousand 
persons, and two million dollars were already paid 
for it. Both structures were not only dedicated 
free of debt, but in each case, before the day of 
dedication, the treasurer requested that no more 
contributions be forwarded, as sufficient funds were 
already in hand to meet all obligations. 

This religion is confined to no state or nation. 
Its churches and members are to be found through- 
out the United States and in Canada, England, 
Scotland, Ireland, France, Germany, Switzerland, 
Italy, Holland, Denmark, Australia, China, India, 
South Africa, South America, the Bahamas. Hawaii, 
Cuba, the Philippine Islands, the Republic of Mexico, 
Alaska, and in many of the English colonies. 
Beautiful and commodious edifices for worship are 
owned and occupied by this rapidly growing de- 
nomination in nearly all the large cities of the 
United States and Canada. Chicago has six large 
churches, with five handsome edifices. The city 
of Greater New York has nine churches and five 
church buildings, two of which are distinguished. 
Concord, New Hampshire, has a strong organization 
and a beautiful granite church, a gift from Mrs. 
Eddy, which cost- over two hundred thousand dol- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



123. 



lars. :Mrs. Eddy located this church, bought the 
land, started the building, and paid for it, part of the 
money having been contributed to her for this especial 
purpose by Christian Scientists in all parts of the 
world, who wished to have a share in the work. 
There are influential Christian Science Churches in 
San Francisco, Los Angeles, San Jose, Minneapolis, 
Milwaukee, Brooklyn, Philadelphia, Washington, 
Cleveland, Detroit, St. Louis, Buffalo, Pittsburg, 
Cincinnati, Atlanta, Providence. Toronto, and many 
other places on this continent. There are three 
firmly established churches in London, England ; its 
First Church was recently completed a fine edifice 
at Sloane Terrace, S. W. The organization at Man- 
chester, England, also has its own church edifice. 

Besides her manifold activities in guiding and 
supervising her church of more than forty thouiand 
comnumicants, Mrs. Eddy has been a prolific writer. 
Her literary output comprises books, sermons, essays, 
poems, magazine articles, editorials, etc. Her chief 
books, in addition to the text-book of the denomi- 
nation, "Science and Health with Key to the Scrip- 
tures," are, "Miscellaneous Writings ;" "Christ and 
Christmas," an illustrated poem ; "Retrospection and 
Introspection;" "Pulpit and Press;" "Unity of 
Good;" "Rudimental Divine Science;" "Xo and 
Yes;" "Messages to the Mother Church;" "Christian 
Healing;" "People's Idea of God;" and "Manual of 
the Mother Church." 

.\lthough the youngest among the great Christian 
denominations, it is seen that Christian Science is 
completely organized and widely and firmly estab- 
lished. Among Mrs. Eddy's helpers and followers, 
in this and in other lands, are eminent men and 
women, who have rallied to her standard from llie 
ranks of religion, business, the professions, and tlie 
nobility. 

Mrs. Eddy has been from early years a devoted 
member and loyal supporter of the Evangelical 
Church. She was received into the Congregational 
Church in Tilton, New Hampshire, July 26, 18,58. 
She continued her membership therein for tliirty- 
seven years, and her relations with this historic 
communion have ever, been cordial and fraternal. 
After Mrs. Eddy had left the state and confessed 
to him the enlargement of her spiritual sense in the 
direction of her discovery of the power of Christi- 
anity to heal the sick, and after she had submitted 
to him her published work, "Science and Health," 
for examination, the Rev. Theodore C. Piatt, pastor 
of this church, under date of January 13, 1875. 
gave to her the following letter of dismissal : "This 
certifies that Mrs. Mary M. Glover is a member of 
this church in good and regular standing. At her 
own request she is dismissed from this and recom- 
mended to any evangelical church in Lynn. When 
received there, her particular connection with us will 
cease." 

In the year 1878 Mrs. Eddy was called to preach 
in Boston, at the Baptist Tabernacle of the Rev. 
Daniel C. Eddy, D. D., by the pastor of that church. 
She accepted the call, and during her ministry there 
the congregation so increased that the pews were 
not sufficient to seat the audience, and benches were 
used in the aisles. At the close of her engagement 
she parted with her friends there in Christian fellow- 
ship, although not in full unity of doctrine. She 
W'as ordained a minister of the Gospel in 1879, and 
the same year organized the Fir.-t Cliurch of Christ, 
Scientist, in Boston. Massachusetts, and became its 
pastor. In 1895, by the unanimous wish of the entire 
membership of the church, she was made the Pastor 
Emeritus. 

In 1877 Mrs. Eddy was vniited in marriage to 
Asa Gilbert Eddv. in I.vun. Massachusetts, bv the 



Rev. Samuel Barrett Stewart, and it was a richly 
blessed and spiritual union. She has thus honored 
his hallowed memory : "Dr. Eddy was the first 
student to announce himself publicly as a Christian 
Scientist and place those symbolic words on his 
office sign. He forsook all to follow in this line of 
light. He was the first organizer of a Christian 
Science Sunday school, which he superintended. He 
also taught a special Bible class ; and he lectured so- 
ably on spiritual topics that clergymen of other 
denominations listened to him with deep interest. 
He was remarkably successful in mind-healing, and 
untiring in his chosen work. In 1882 he passed 
quietly away, with a smile of peace and love resting 
on his serene countenance." 

In her pioneer days there were noble men and 
women who cordially extended to Mrs. Eddy the 
right hand of fellowship. When "Science and Health 
with Keys to the Scriptures" was assailed by some 
mistaken critics, A. Bronson Alcott, the founder of 
the Concord School of Philosophy, sought out and 
introduced himself to the author, saying, "I have 
come to comfort you." The distinguished clergy- 
man and scholar. Rev. A. P. Peabody, D. D., while 
chaplain at Harvard University, and occasionally 
supplying Mrs. Eddy's pulpit in Boston, in a letter 
to her wrote : "Do not liesitate to call on me for any 
assistance that I can give }'0u. I enjoy speaking to- 
your people; they are good listeners and earnest 
seekers." 

!Mrs. Eddy's teachings beget a clearer understand- 
ing and a better appreciation of the Bible, of God,, 
and of Christ Jesus. She has repeatedly said : "There 
never was, is not now, and never will be but one God, 
one Christ, one Jesus of Nazareth. To think of or 
speak of me in any manner as a Christ, is sacrilig 
ious. Such a statement would not only be false, 
but the absolute antipode of Christian Science, and 
would savor more of heathenism than of my doc- 
trine. All Christian Scientists deeply recognize the 
oneness of Jesus — that he stands alone in word and' 
deed, the visible discoverer, founder, demonstrator, 
and great Teacher of Christianity, whose sandals 
none may unloose." 

The effect of iMrs. Eddy's writings is to beget 
peace and harmony. She is not and never W'as a- 
believer in. Spiritualism or Mesmerism, but she and 
her followers have no contention with those holding 
opposite views. Her teachings exalt the home, 
strengthen the sacred attachment between husband 
and W'ife, promote harmony and unity in the family, 
and tenderly provide for the children, of whom 
Jesus said, "Of such is the kingdom of heaven." 

Mrs. Eddy is the gladly accepted Leader of 
Christian Science, because of her eminent fitness 
and her long-tested qualifications. During forty 
years of successful leadership, every enterprise she 
has inaugurated has prospered. She has many 
times sought to resign to others the post she has so 
illustriously filled, but no one has yet been found to 
whom could be assigned the sacred task. In the 
"History of Christian Science," Judge Septimus J. 
Ilanna writes : "Mrs. Eddy exercises no power 
over her church apart from compliance with its 
by-laws which the church adopts, and she declines 
to receive even a salary. Her large income is the 
result of her growing popularity as an author and 
the increasing demand for her books all over the 
continent. Self-deification or worship she abhors 
— as all know who have a true knowledge of her, 
and whose honesty keeps pace with their convictions. 
The hundred of thousands who "adhere to her do 
this simply from love, because of the benefit they 
have received from her work." 

I'or more than forty years Mrs. Eddy has given 



124 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



her entire time to this great ethical and religious 
reform. Except for a short drive each afternoon, 
she takes no time for recreation or social enjo>'ment. 
But it is not to be inferred that Mrs. Eddy lives an 
isolated life. She is citizen and friend, alive to 
the public interest, and greatly beloved in Concord 
Under her incentive and generous support some 
good roads have been "substantially advanced, public 
institutions have been liberally remembered, and 
many there are among the worthy poor who "rise 
up and call her blessed." 

Mrs. Eddy is a life member and associate of the 
Victoria Institute, London, England ; a life member 
of the Daughters of the American Revolution. 
Washington, D. C. ; a life member of the Society 
for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children, Boston ; 
a member of Mr. Comstock's Society for the Sup- 
pression of Vice, New York. 

JNIrs. Eddy's charities are numerous and gener- 
ous, but quiet and unobstrusive. She has silently 
given to numberless institutions and to a host of in- 
dividuals of which no public mention has been or 
ever will be made. To the JMother Church of Christ. 
Scientist, she donated the real estate and all the 
property of the Christian Science Publishing House, 
valued at $90,000. She gave to the church in New 
Berne, North Carolina, for its church home, three 
thousand dollars. She presented the city of Concord 
with five thousand dollars for good roads, and she 
is continually giving to its various institutions, 
without regard to , sect or creed. To perform gra- 
tuitous tasks she has deferred remunerative work 
for months at a time. She has healed the sick and 
the sinner without price, and in her classes has taken 
many free students. Her secretary has said that 
for many years her benefactions averaged annually 
more than eighty thousand dollars. She is simple 
in her tastes and habits, punctual and systematic in 
ler work. 

The standard modern biographical works, en- 
cyclopedias and dictionaries contain carefully pre- 
pared reviews of Mrs. Eddy and of Christian 
Science. A few appreciative extracts from these 
works conclude this brief and incomplete biography 
of Mary Baker Eddy. A recent biographical work 
truly says of her : "The organization, nature, con- 
stitution and government of The ilother. Church of 
Christ, Scientist, its Tenets, its Church ^Manual and 
its special form of public service, are all of Mrs. 
Eddy's devision. They are in most respects unique, 
without precedent in church economy, proofs of 
her wisdom and evidence of her ability as a leader. 
While the business of the Church of Christ, Scient- 
ist, is conducted by a board of directors, the in- 
spiration and fountain head of the series of remark- 
able steps which have brought Christian Science to 
the front so unswervingly and so rapidly, can be 
traced to this modest and unassuming, but strong 
and resourceful woman. Tt is impossible to investi- 
gate the far-reaching effects of the majority of her 
acts, without coming to the inevitable conclusion 
that she has been and is divinely directed.'' 

A thoughtful reviewer thu*: succinctly writes : 
''Christian Science is a religious' system based upon 
spiritual interpretation of the Scriptures. Its pur- 
pose is not to supplant primitive Christianity, but 
to render it more practical by reason of an enlarged 
and more comprehensive understanding of God." 

A careful writer observes : "The work of this 
great religious leader are the outcome of her pure 
and holy life. All that characterizes true citizen- 
ship, unsullied patriotism and spotless Christian vir- 
tue, are as native to Mrs. Eddy as the granite to 
New Hampshire hills." 



The "Encyclopedia Americana" thus concludes 
a discriminating article upon Mrs. Eddy : "Be- 
loved and honored by all who know her, Mrs. Eddy 
lives in modest retirement in her country home in 
Concord, New Hampshire, where, with unabated 
vigor and with untiring devotion, she continues to 
direct that beneficent movement with which her 
name will ever be associated.'' 

(VI) Captain Lovewell, son of Captain Joseph 
(i) and Hannah (Lovewell) Baker, was born 
September 18, 1743, in Pembroke, where his life 
was passed, in the enjoyment of the respect and 
confidence of his fellows. He was married, Sep- 
tember 25, 1766, to Alary Worth. 

(VII) Richard, son of Captain Lovewell and 
Mary (Worth) Baker, was born February 17, 1771, 
in Pembroke, and was married, October 27, 1793, to 
Lydia Robinson. Soon after his marriage he set- 
tled in Goshen, this state, where he engaged in farm- 
ing and ended his days. 

(VHI) Lovell (2), eldest child of Richard and 
Lydia (Robinson) Baker, was born September II, 
1794, in Goshen, and was a farmer in Croydon. He 
died about 1858, in Chesterfield, New plampshire. 
He married Nancy Lane, who was born November 
22, 1796, and their children were : Rufus, Albert 
and Lydia. The daughter married, successively, 
Jonathan Tasker and Elbridge Hubbard, and died in 
Chesterfield, New Hampshire. Rufus was a farmer 
in Croydon, and died in Lebanon. 

(IX) Albert H., second son and child of Lovell 
and Nancy (Lane) Baker, was born July 14, 1825, 
probably in Croydon, and before 1852 was a resi- 
dent of the town of Concord. He was employed 
in a kit factory at West Concord, and became su- 
perintendent of the establishment. On account of 
failing health he returned to the paternal farm in 
Croydon, where he died January 25, 1863, in his 
thirty-eighth year. He was an attendant of the 
church at Croydon Flat. He was married, January 
27, 1852, in Concord, to Alvira Humphrey, who was 
born in Croydon, a daughter of John and Charity 
(Darling) Humphrey of Concord. She died before 
her husband, passing away June 17, 1S62, aged 
thirty-one years. They were the parents of a son 
and daughter. The latter. Harriet, was adopted 
by Jesse Gibson, and now resides in Derry, unmar- 
ried. 

(X) Stillman Humphrey, eldest child of .Mbert 
H. and Alvira (Humphrey) Baker, was born Sep- 
tember 28, 1853, ill Croydon, and was left an orphan 
soon after he was nine years old. After the death of 
his mother, he was taken by an uncle for whom he 
was named. Stillman Humphrey, of Concord, and 
attended school at intervals until he was fifteen 
years of age. He began to earn his way by working 
in a mill at the age of thirteen years, and has ever 
since manifested the energetic and independent char- 
acter thus developed. He is to-day one of the most 
substantial citizens, of his home town. At the age 
of fifteen years he went to Hillsboro Bridge and took 
employment in a general store, where he continued 
three years. When only nineteen years of age he 
engaged in business on his own account, forming 
a partnership with a practical tailor to carry on a 
clothing store. He went to New York and perfected 
himself in the details of the tailor's trade, and soon 
added to his business the sale of ready-made goods. 
After twelve years of successful business, he was 
forced to abandon it on account of ill health. He 
went to Jamaica, West Indies, where he soon estab- 
lished himself in business, and rapidly regained his 
vigor. His energy and success soon led to more 
advantageous conditions, and he was induced to 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



12 = 



go to Port Limon, Costa Rica, where he engaged in 
tlie interest of the Philadelphia Fruit Company, in 
shipping fruit to the United States. Having closed 
up a successful business, he returned to Hillsboro 
Bridge, where he has resided since. Here he en- 
gaged in real estate and auctioneer business, with 
great success, and is still so interested, though his 
public duties take up much of his time. He has rilled 
most of the town offices, including selectman, and 
was representative in 1893. He was chairman of the 
committee on public improvements of the house. 
For the last ten years he has been one of the county 
commissioners of Hillsboro county, and for six 
years chairman of the board. He is a member of 
Harmony Lodge, No. 38, .Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Hillsboro. and Valley Lodge, No. 43, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of the same 
place. He has passed the principal chairs of the 
latter lodge and also of the local encampment of 
the same order. Like most selfmade men, ^Ir. 
Baker sympathizes with all honest effort, is genial 
and approachable, honest and industrious, and en- 
joys the respect of all who are privileged to know 
him. He is a worthy representative of worthy sires. 
He was married, September 28, 1887, -to Mary Belle 
Abbott, who was born April 20, 1861, in Henniker, 
this state, a daughter of Edwin R. Abbott, a widely 
known hotel manager and proprietor. During the 
administration of the celebrated "Jim" Fiske, IMr. 
Abbott was manager of hotels along the line of the 
Erie railroad, and was later manager of the Profile 
House in the White Mountains. Mr. and Mrs. 
Baker have a son and daughter, namely, Albert 
Humphrey, born May 6, 1890, and Dorothy Ellen, 
May 26, 1893. 

(Second Family). 
(I) Joseph, son of Geoffrey Baker, was 
BAKER born June 18, 1655, in England, and 
came to America about i6"0. settling in 
Connecticut. He is the ancestor of many men dis- 
tinguished in the professions and other pursuits. 
He was married January 30, 1677, to Hannah Cook 
Buckland. 

(H) Joseph (2), son of Joseph (i) and Hannah 
C. (Buckland) Baker, was born .April 13. 1678, and 
was married, July 8, 1702, to Hannah Pomeroy, who 
died leaving sons Joseph and Samuel. The father 
married (second), Abigail Bissell, who was the 
mother of John, Hannah, Jacob, .\bigail (died 
young), Ebenezer, Daniel, Heman, Titus and Abi- 
gail. 

(III) Heman, son of Joseph (2) -and Abigail 
(Bi-sell) Baker, was born .April 27. 1719, and mar- 
ried, November 24, 1747, Lois Gilbert. They lived 
in Tolland, Connecticut, and their children were: 
Heman, Anna, Deborah, John, Oliver, Abigail, Lois, 
Delight and Lydia. 

(IV) Oliver, third son and fifth child of Heman 
and Lois (Gilbert) Baker, was born October 5. 1755, 
in Tolland, Connecticut, and received a medical 
education. He was a physician and farmer, locating 
in Plainfield, New Hampshire, where he died Oc- 
tober II, 181 1. He was married, March 23, 1780, to 
Dorcas Dimmick, who was born September 23, 1760, 
and survived him thirty-eight years. Their children 
were : Heman. Diantha, Zina, Lina, Oliver, Saman- 
tha, Dimmick, Dorcas, Lodemia, Elizabeth and Mary. 

(V) Dimmick, third son and seventh child of 
Oliver and Dorcas (Dimmick) Baker, was born 
March 18, 1793, in Plainfield, New Hampshire, 
wher£ he was a properous farmer, merchant and 
stock dealer. He was a member of the Congrega- 
tional Church, and an ardent Republican in politics. 
He died March 19, 1876. He was rnarried June 
2, 1822, to Hannah Colby, who was born Feb- 



ruary 7, 1794. in Plainfield, New Hamp- 
shire, and died March 17, 1856. They were the 
parents of five children : Elias, Edward D., Han- 
nah H., Helen F. and Cyrus E. The Baker home- 
stead is located near Kimball L'nion Academy, and 
all Dimmick Baker's children received a liberal 
education at that institution. The property is now 
(1907) owned by the fifth generation. 

(VI) Hannah A., eldest daughter and fourth 
child of Dimmick and Hannah (Colby) Baker, 
was born October 4, 1S32, in Meriden, New Hamp- 
shire, and became the wife of Francis M. Cutting. 
(See Cutting, VIII). 

(Third Family.) 
There were several brothers of this 
BAKER name who settled in Massachusetts in 
the early period of the formation of 
that colony. The bearers of this name have con- 
tributed their share to the growth and develop- 
ment of many states in the union. 

(I) Cornelius Baker, a blacksmith, was living 
in Salem, Massachusetts, as early as 1658, and in 
1668 removed to Beverly, Massachusetts. He mar- 
ried, April 26, 1658, Hannah Woodbury, of Salem, 
daughter of John Woodbury, a pioneer settler of that 
town. Their children were : Hannah, Samuel, Cor- 
nelius, Jonathan, .Abigail, Priscilla, Bethiah and 
Jabez. 

(II) Jonathan, third son and fourth child of 
Cornelius and Hannah (Woodbury) Baker, was 
born 16(39, and resided in Beverly, where he had a 
house and land and was a weaver by occupation. 
He died in 1706. His widow, Mary, married 
(second), November 21, 1710, Samuel Balch. Jona- 
than Baker's children were : Robert, John, Mary, 
Jonathan and Cornelius. 

(III) Robert, eldest child of Jonathan and Mary 
Baker, was born Ap-ril 23, 1698, in Beverly, and lived 
in that town and in Salem. He died 1775. He mar- 
ried, July I, 1723, Abigail Trask, and their children 
were: Jonathan, Robert (died young), Benjamin, 
Nathan, Abigail, Mary, Anna, Simeon, Lydia, Rob- 
ert and Hannah. 

(IV) Jonathan (2), eldest child of Robert and 
Abigail (Trask) Baker, was born ]March 15, 1724, 
in Salem, ^lassachusetts, and resided for a time in 
Beverly. In 1758 he removed from Beverly to Haver- 
hill, Massachusetts, where he continued to reside 
nearly half'a century and died March 9, 1805. While 
living in Beverly he was called Jonathan Baker, 
Junior, to distinguish him from' an uncle living in 
ihe same town. He married, April 22, 1745. Mary 
Conant, born April 15, 1722. daughter of Daniel and 
Lucy (Dodge) Conant. Her children were: Be- 
thiah, Benjamin (of Salisbury, New Hampshire), 
Lydia, Simeon, Asa, Anna, Abigail and Sarah. 

(V) Abigail, fifth daughter and ninth child of 
Jonathan (2) and Jlary (Conant) Baker, was born 
May 26, 1767, in Haverhill, Massachusetts, and 
married, in 1788, John Smith, of Beverly, ^lassachu- 
setts. (See Smith, I). 

(Fourth Family.) 
This is a Connecticut family, but there 
BAKER seems to be no record to indicate from 
what portion of that state this branch 
came. The name Osman is a common one among 
the Connecticut Bakers, and there is no question 
that the pioneer of this line in New Hampshire be- 
longs to that stock. 

(I) Osman Baker, the first of whom any 
knowledge is possessed by his descendants in New 
Hampshire, is said to have been a seafaring man 
who retired from the ocean after amassing a good 
property and .spent the remainder of his life in (Ton- 
necticut. 



126 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(II) Osman, son of Osman Baker, was born 
1734, in Connecticut, and came from that state on 
horseback to Charlestown, New Hampshire, before 
1767. His possessions were carried in a pair of 
saddle bags and among other items he had the fore- 
sight to carry glass and nails for use in construct- 
ing a house. He immediately began clearing land 
and made him a home in that town, where he passed 
the remainder of his life. He was a colonel of the 
militia, served as town clerk and county treasurer, 
and was many years a deputy sherifif. He was in- 
terested in the establishment and progress of 
schools, and in the temperance movement. During 
his last years he was engaged in the mercantile busi- 
ness, and died August 18, 1802. He was married in 
Charlestown,_ March 2, 1767, to Mary Farnsworth. 
daughter of 'Aaron and Hannah (Baron) Farns- 
worth, who were also pioneers in Charlestown. She 
was born January 29, 1732, in Groton, Massachu- 
setts, and died September 19, 1796, in Charlestown. 
Their children were : Jonathan, Isaac, John and 
Elizabeth. The elder son was a prominent citizen 
of Charlestown. and a major of the militia. 

(III) Isaac, second son and child of Osman 
(2) and Mary (Farnsworth) Baker, was born in 
Charlestown, New Hampshire, February 7, 1770, 
and died October 16, 1847. He studied medicine 
and became one of the prominent physicians of his 
day. He settled in Marlow, New Hampshire, and 
he and his wife are said to have been people of 
more than ordinary cultivation and intelligence, and 
their home was one of quiet refinement and unos- 
tentatious wealth. He married, May 7. 1797, Abi- 
gail Kidder, who died July 16, 1832, daughter of 
James and Deborah (Wood) Kidder, of Spencer, 
Massaichusett?, and granddaughter of Ezra and 
Anna (Chapin) Wood, the former a colonel dur- 
ing the war of the Revolution. Dr. Isaac and Mrs. 
Baker had children : Betsey, Willard, Abigail, Isaac 
Kidder and Osman Oleander. 

(IV) Osman Cleander. third son and fifth and 
youngest child of Dr. Isaac and Abigail (Kidder) 
Baker, was born in Marlow, New Hampshire, July 
30, 1812. His early education was acquired in the 
public schools of his native town and in the Chester- 
field Academy, and in 1828 he became a student at 
Wilbraham . Academy, Wilbraham, Massachusetts. 
He joined the Methodist Episcopal Church in April 
of the same year, and soon began to seriously con- 
sider the study of theology, with a view of adopting 
this as his life work. He matriculated at Wesleyan 
University in Middletown, Connecticut, in the fall 
of 1830, but owing to an attack of illness was un- 
able to complete his course at this time. Later he 
again took up his studies, completed them, and the 
degree of Master of Arts was conferred upon him 
in 1837 ; later he received the degree of Doctor of 
Divinity. When the seminary in Newbury, Ver- 
mont, was _ opened in 1834, he was elected to a 
professorship and served the institution in that 
capacity for a period of five years, and upon the 
resignation of the principal he was elected to fill 
that honorable and responsible position. He was 
noted for his clear and concise methods of teach- 
ing, bringing to his work a devotion and thorough- 
ness which made him at once the master as well as 
the friend of his pupils. The church, however, was 
the great object of his desire. He was already a 
member of the New Hampshire conference, and in 
1844 he applied for a pastoral appointment and was 
given one at Rochester. Later he was transferred 
to the Elm Street Church in Manchester, and was 
appointed presiding elder of the Dover district. 
Before his term of office had expired he was elected 
to a professorship in the Biblical Institute, which 



had just been removed (in 1847) from Newbury, 
Vermont, and located as an independent institution 
in Concord, New Hampshire. He had been the 
prime mover in organizing the theological depart- 
ment in Newbury, and in the board of trustees that 
elected the first faculty in Concord it was said 
"Professor Baker has done more to organize and 
give shape to this new institution than any other 
man ; and he is now looked to as one of the chief 
men to fashion its future." It was the first theolo- 
gical school of the church, and was the parent of 
similar institutions, still in existence at Boston, 
Evanston. Illinois, and Madison, New York. His 
business ability was recognized in Concord, where 
he resided for over twenty years. He was a di- 
rector in the State Capitol Bank and his counsels 
were sought far and wide. During the five years 
he spent with the Biblical Institute he accomplished 
a vast amount of literary work. While visiting the 
Kansas, California and Oregon Conferences, early 
during his Episcopal duties, he wrote and published 
a series of letters descriptive of that portion of the 
country, particularly of whatever pertained to the 
missions of the Methodist Episcopal Church. At 
the general conference held in Pittsburg, Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1848, he was elected a member, and at the 
general conference held in Boston, Massachusetts, 
in 1852. he was elected bishop. For his work in the 
Episcopal Church he possessed almost every quality 
necessary to render his labors successful. He was 
possessed of rare judgment, keen sympathy, and a 
refinement of feeling which was combined with ease 
and dignity of bearing. He was a most superior 
presiding officer, and none were his equals in 
knowledge of parliamentary laws and usage. As a 
preacher his discourses were strong, clear and con- 
vincing, and couched in the most elegant English. 
The greatest work of his life was the establishment 
of the Biblical Institute. Among his later publi- 
cations, "Baker on the Discipline" involved extended 
research and critical judgment, and is considered a 
standard work in his denomination, a lasting monu- 
ment to his memory, and a rich tribute to his intel- 
lectual worth. Fourteen years after his election to 
the Episcopacy, in June, 1866, W'hile traveling in 
Colorado to meet the conference at Empire City, he 
was stricken with partial paralysis, particularly of 
the vocal organs. He had traveled si.x days and six 
nights over a difficult and dangerous stage route, 
with little rest prior to his attack, but he recovered 
partially and was able to visit and attend his home 
church in Concord until within a few days of his 
death, which occurred December 20, 1871. 

Rev. Baker married, at Lempster, New Hamp- 
shire, July 24, 1834, Mehitabel Perley, of that town. 
(See Perle}-, VI). They had children: i. Maria 
Louisa, born November 3, 1837. ' 2. Louisa Maria, 
December 22, 1841. 3. Osman Perley, May 16, 1844. 
These three died in childhood. 4. Mary Frances, 
October 20, 1848, died a few weeks after the death 
of her father, March 27, 1872, She was a fine mu- 
sician, both vocal and instrumental, and married 
Rev. Edward F. Pitcher. 5. Osma Cornelia, March 
7, 1855, married. May 22. 1883, Shadrach Cate Mar- 
rill, _M. D. (See Marrill, VIII). She is a talented 
musician. She is a charted member of the Strat- 
ford and Women's clubs of Concord, is a member 
of the Baker Memorial Church, and very active in 
church work. She is a trustee of the Margaret 
Pillsbury Hospital. 

(Fifth Family). 

(I) John Baker, his wife Elizabeth, and 
BAKER two sons, John and Robert, came from 

Bristol, England, about the year 1720, 
locating first in Charlestown, Massachusetts, and 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



127 



latter settling in Concord, same province. In addi- 
tion to the two sons who accompanied them from 
tlie mother country they had eight children born 
on this side of the ocean. 

(II) Robert, second son and child of John and 
Elizabeth Baker, w'as born in England, in 1720, and 
consequently arrived in New England during his in- 
fancy. He was reared in Charlestown and Concord, 
from which latter place he went to Marlboro, Mass- 
achusetts, and about the year 1775 removed to West- 
minster, probably residing there with one of his sons. 
The christian name of his first wife was Lydia, and 
slic died leaving one child. For his second wife he 
married Elizabeth Adams, daughter of Dr. George 
and Judith Adams, of Le.^ington, and a sister of 
Daniel Adams, of Westminster. His children were : 
Patience,, Elizabeth, Jonas, John, George and Na- 
than, 

(III) George, third son and fifth child of Robert 
and Elizabeth (Adams) Baker, was born either in 
Concord or Marlboro. About 1775 he settled in 
Westminster, locating in that part of the town which, 
ten years later, was included within the limits of 
Gardner. He married Mary Pratt, of Framingham, 
who, according to the record at hand, "seems to 
have died soon," and his second wife was before 
marriage Dinah Pannenter, daughter of Joshua and 
"Perces" Parmenter, also of Framingham. She was 
a desce\,idant in the eighth generation of John Par- 
menter, one of the first settlers in Sudbury, Massa- 
chusetts, through: (II) John, (IV) Amos, (V) 
Phineas, (VI) Amos, (VH) Joshua. She became 
the mother of si.x children, namely : Artemas, Perces, 
tieorge, Nancy, Dinah and Amos. 

(IV) Amos, youngest son and child of George 
and Dinah (Parmenter) Baker, was born in Gard- 
ner, July 23, 1794. When a young man he engaged 
in the lumber business at Bethleliem, New Hamp- 
shire, whence he removed to Whitefield, this state, 
and was similarly occupied some four years. The 
remainder of his active life was devoted to farming, 
and his death occurred August 22, 1870. For a 
period of forty years he was an active member of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church. He married (first), 

ilary , of Bethlehem, and had three children : 

George P., of Whitefield, aged eighty-eight in 1907; 
James Isaac and Delia C. For his second wife he 
married Phebe Guernsey, of Whitefield. For his 
third wife he married Christina Bray, daughter of 
Nicholas Bray, of Harrison, Maine, and had a family 
of seven children, namely : Mary Jane, who died 
;it the age of twenty-one years ; ^lartjia F., Albion 
P., Julia E., deceased; Amos F., also deceased; 
Timothy T. and William G. His wife died March 
10, iS8g. 

(V) William Gardner, youngest son and child 
of .-Vmos and Christina (Bray) Baker, was born 
in Whitefield, July 15, 1S53. Having concluded his 
attendance at the Whitefield high school, at the 
age of seventeen he took a position as a store clerk, 
,;utd two years later engaged in business for himself. 
In 1875 liE settled in Lancaster and conducted the 
store which is now occupied by the postofficc until 
1881, when he disposed of the business and purchased 
a farm. In connection with agriculture he deals 
in real estate, cuts and hauls timber for manufacture, 
and operates a stone-crusher, which supplies the 
material for macadamizing the principal highways. 
In 1902 he purchased an interest in a granite shop, 
wliich was carried on under the firm name of Hartley, 
Baker & Cummings until Mr. Timothy T. Baker 
acquired Mr. Hartley's interest, since which time 
the firm has been known as Baker, Cummings & 
Baker. This concern is now carrying on quite an 



extensive business, handling granite and marble of 
an excellent quality. His fraternal affiliations are 
with the Independent Order of Odd Fallows. In his 
religious belief he is a Methodist, and he is offici- 
ally connected with that church. 

Mr. Baker married for his first wife Ella M. Mc- 
Intire, daughter of James Mclntire, and she bore 
him one son, Fred W. His present wife was before 
marriage Alice C. Cummings, daughter of George 
W. Cummings, born in Northumberland, but reared 
in Lancaster. The children of this union are : Carrie 
Ella and Amy Bray. Fred W. was graduated from 
Dartmouth College in 1903, where he was a mem- 
ber of Chi Phi fraternity ; he is now a student at 
the Harvard Law School, and is already one of the 
honored men of his class. Carrie Ella, who was 
valedictorian of her class at the Lancaster Academy, 
is a graduate of Boston University; she was presi- 
dent of the Society of Gamma Delta and was elected 
a member of the Phi Beta Kappa fraternity. She 
is now teaching school in New Jersey. Amy Bray, 
who is a graduate of the Lancaster Academy, was 
also valedictorian of her class ; she is now a student 
at Boston University. 



This old New England name has been 
IIOVEY prominent in many ' sections of the 

United States, and was especially active 
in the settlement and development of the colony 
of Massachusetts. It has been identified with New 
Hampshire from an early period, and is still con- 
nected with various worthy lines of endeavor in this 
jtate. 

(I) Daniel Hovey, born about 1618, probably in 
England, was an inhabitant of Ipswich, Massachu- 
setts, as early as 1637. He was one of Major Deni- 
son's subscribers in 164S, and had a share in Plum 
Island and other lands in 1664. He is found of 
record as a voter in town affairs in 1679, and died 
April 24, 1692. The account of his executor shows 
his estate to have been valued at si-x hundred and 
six pounds and ten shillings, out of which were paid 
debts amounting to more than two hundred and 
twenty-seven pounds. His will was made March 

,21, 1692, at which time he describes himself as "aged 
seventy-three and going into seventy-four." His 
wife was Abigail /Andrews, but ro record appears of 
their marriage. Their children were : Daniel, John, 
Thomas, James, Joseph, Nathaniel, Priscilla and 
Abigail. The elder daughter became the wife of 
John -Vyer, and the younger married Thomas 
Hodgkins. 

(II) John, second son and child of Daniel and 
.-Vbigail (Andrews) Hovey. lived at Topsfield, Mass- 
achusetts, where he was one of the early settlers. 
He married (first), August 13, 1665, Dorcas Ivory, 
of Topsfield. Her surname has come down through 
the generations to the present time as a baptisimal 
name. She died before 1712, and in that year he 
married Mercy Goodhue. He died in 1787, and his 
descendants have continued to reside in Topsfield 
to the present time. His children were : John, 
Dorcas, Elizabeth, Susanna, Luke, Ivory and Abi- 
gail, besides one that died without naming in 1671. 
(Luke and descendants receive mention in this 
article). 

(III) John (2), eldest child of John (i) and 
Dorcas (Ivory) liovey, was born December, 1666, 
in Ipswich or Topsfield, and lived in the latter town, 
wliere he died May 31, 1751. He married, Jamiary 
II, 1691, Mary Dwinncll, born January 2t, i668, in 
Topsfield, daughter of Michael Dwinnell. Slic died 
May 7, 1737. Their children were: Dorcas, John, 
died young; Mary, John, Joseph and Susanna. 



128 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(IV) Joliii (^), eldest son and second child of 
John (2), and Mary (Dwinnell) Hovey, was born 
August 27, 1699, and lived in Boxford, Massachu- 
setts, where he died March 14, 1787. His wife Mary 
(whose surname has not been discovered), died 
September 22,, of the same year. Their children 
were : John, Richard, Abigail, Mercy and Susanna. 

(V) Richard, younger son and second child of 
John (,3) and Mary Hovey, was born August 3, 1733, 
in Boxford, jNIassachusetts. He was a noted keeper 
of honey bees, and resided in his native town, where 
he died February 14, 1818. He married, November 
10, 1/57. Sarah Wood, of Andover, Massachusetts, 
who died Jaiuiary 18, 1818, less than a month before 
her husband. Their children were : David, Sarah, 
Richard, Jonathan, John, Betty, Stephen and Han- 
nah. 

(VI) Richard (2), second son and third child of 
Richard (i) and Sarah (Wood) Hovey, was born 
February 4, 1762, in Boxford, Massachusetts, and 
was one of the first settlers of Peterboro, New 
Hampshire. He served three months in the war for 
National Independence, and was at West Point when 
Benedict .\rnold committed his odious act of high 
treason. In 1789 he married Rebecca Roberts, who 
died May 25, 1807. aged thirty-seven years. May 
29, 181 1, he married for his second wife Mrs. A-en- 
ath Hall (nee Baxter), a widow of Francestown, 
born in Methuen, Massachusetts, November 10, 1769. 
He died May 10, 1842, and his second wife died 
November 26, 1853. The children of his first union 
were : Sarah, Stephen, Joseph, Jonathan and Re- 
becca and Robert, wdio were twins. His second wife 
bore him one son, Timothy L. 

(VII) Stephen, second child and eldest son of 
Richard and Rebecca (Roberts) Hovey, was born in 
Peterborough. June 19. 1794. He was a farmer and 
in 1839 moved to Carroll, New Hampshire, but sub- 
sequently resided for a year in Littleton, this state. 
In 1845 '"^ removed to Lancaster and his death oc- 
curred in that town, March 15, 1S49. He married 
Martha McPherson, of Francestown, a native of 
Scotland, and the "History of Peterborough" states 
that he was the father of seven children : Oracy, 
Joseph, Luther, Martha Jane, Betsy, Richard and' 
Jonathan. 

(VIII) Richard, son of Stephen and Martha 
(INIcPherson) Hovey. was born in Peterborough, 
September 7, 1S34. Left fatherless in his boyhood 
he began at an early age to make himself useful as 
a farm assistant, and his education was acquired in 
the district schools. When sixteen years old he 
became a blacksmith's apprentice, and after learning 
the trade he established himself as a blacksmith and 
tool-makcr in Lancaster. In 1872 he entered the 
employ of tlie Fairbanks Standard Scales Company, 
at St. Johnsbury, Vermont, in the same capacity, and 
he continued in the service of that well-known con- 
cern for thirty-five years, relinquishing the activities 
of life after having labored at the forge and anvil for 
a period of fifty-four years. During his earlier years 
as a journeyman he forged the iron work for the 
old Tip Top House on the summit of Mount Wash- 
ington. Mr. Hovey is a member of North Star 
Lodge, .-Vncient Free and Accepted Masons ; and 
North Star Chapter, Royal Arch Alasons ; and North 
Star Commandery, Knights Templar. He also be- 
longs to St. Johnsbury Lodge, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. His religious affiliations are with 
the Congregationalists. 

Mr. Hovey married. December 27, 1857. Ruth 
Greenleaf, daughter of Bennett Greenleaf, of White- 
field, this state, and a distant relative of John Green- 
leaf Whittier, the poet. Their only child, Lucy, is 



now the wife of Frank Spooncr, M. D., of Lan- 
caster. (See Spooner). 

(Ill) Luke, second son of John and Dorcas- 
(Ivory) Hovey, was born in Topsfield, May 2, 
1676, and died in Boxford, Octoljer 31, 1751. aged 
seventy-five years. He moved to Boxford after the 
birth of 'his first child, and built the Hovey house, 
which was taken down by a descendant in the latter 
part of the nineteenth century. It was situated on 
the Bradford road, aboilt a quarter of a mile north- 
of the Second Church. The site 'chosen for his 
residence was on the southerly slope of a hill at the 
base of which was a stretch of meadow and pond. 
He was a prominent citizen in both the religious- 
and the secular aifairs of the town, and was a mem- 
ber of the board of selectmen in 1 708-09- i9-36-:i3- 
48. Until September 25, 1702, tlie Boxford people 
continued to belong to the Topsfield' Church. Or 
this day the church convened "to consider the ap- 
plication of sundry persons belonging to Bo.xford,. 
who had asked their dismissal from the church 
preparatory to being organized into a church in their 
own town" Upon this application the church voted 
to dismiss the Boxford people when they should have 
paid up all arrears. The result was that on the 4th 
of the follnwing month Luke Hovey and others- 
were dismissed and formed the proposed new- 
church. In June, 1735, various inhabitants of Box- 
ford petitioned to be set oflf into a second precinct. 
In the same month the petition was granted, and irs 
the 'house of representatives, Wednesday, July 2,, 
I73S> it was ordered "that Mr. Luke Hovey, one of 
the principal inhabitants of the new precinct, be 
authorized and empowered to assemble the free- 
holders and other qualified voters, as soon as may be, 
in some convenient place, to make choice of principal 
officers to stand till the anniversary meeting, i\Iarch 
next." Luke Hovey and other members of the 
Hovey family were among the earliest members of 
the church which was incorporated in this precinct. 
Luke Hovey married, October 25, 1698, Susana 
Pillsbury, who was born February, i. 1677, and died. 
December 22, 1767, aged ninety years, ten months 
and twenty-one days. She was the daughter of 
Moses Pillsbury. Their children were: Susanna^ 
Dorcas, Hannah. Elizabeth, Luke. Abigail, Joseph 
and Abijah. Luke, Jr.. was prominent in the town 
in Revolutionary times; Joseph was a soldier of 
many campaigns, and rose to be a brigadier genera! 
of militia; Dorcas died in .\ugust, 1793, aged ninety- 
two. 

(IV) Aljijah, third son and ninth child of Luke 
and Susanna (Pillsbury) Hovey, was born Decem- 
ber 9, 1719, in Boxford. where he died in 1783, aged' 
si.xty-four. He married Lydia Graves, of Haverhill, 
Massachusetts. 

(V) Solomon, son of Abijah and Lydia (Graves) 
Hovey, was born in Boxford, November 18. 1748. 
and died in Bo.xford. September 19, 1825, aged' 
seventy-seven. He was prosperous in his business. 
He married Jerusha Wyman, of Burlington. 

(VI) William, son of Solomon and Jerusha 
(Wyman) Hovej', was born December 27, 17S5. in 
Lunenburg, and died in Cambridge, February 19,, 
1852, aged sixty-seven. He lived in Cambridge the 
greater part of his adult life and was a flourishing 
bookseller there. He married Sally Howe, who was 
born September 24, 1793. in Northboro, and died in 
Cambridge, December 15, 1874. aged eighty-one 
years. 

(VII) Charles, son of William and Sally (Howe) 
Hovey, was born in .•\cton. November 17, 1817, and 
died in Lowell, May 4, 1886, aged si.xty-nine. He 
was one of the early settlers and business men of 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



129 



the city of Lowell, and for half a century the firm 
of Carlton & Hovey, druggists, of which he was the 
junior partner, was a leading concern in Lowell and 
did a large business with the Sandwich Islands. 
Mr. Hovey was prominent as a business man, and 
equally so in church affairs. For forty years he was 
treasurer of St. Ann's Church (.Episcopal) and one 
of its most trusted advisors and liberal supporters. 
He married Katherine Smith, who was born in Dover, 
New liampshire, Septembei- 15, 1824, daughter of 
Joseph and Mary ^Emerson) Smith, of Dover. 
The children of this union were : Henry E., Kate 
S., Alice C, Charles W. and William C. 

(.VIHJ Rev. Henry Emerson, eldest child of 
Charles and Katherine (Smith) Hovey, was born in 
Lowell, Massachusetts, November 23, 1S44. After 
leaving the public schools of his native city he 
passed through Trinity College, Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, graduating with the class of 1866. From this 
he went to New York City where he matriculated 
in the General Theological Seminary, from which 
he graduated in 1869, and in the same year vvas 
ordained deacon in St. Ann's Church, Lowell. The 
following year he was ordained priest of the Church 
of the Holy Trinity of Brooklyn, New York. In 
1869-71 he was rector of St. John's Church, New 
York harbor; 1871-73 rector of the Church of the 
Ascension, Fall Kiver, Jvlassachusetts ; 1873-S3, rec- 
tor of St. Barnsby's Church, Brooklyn, New York; 
and from 18S3 to the present time (1907) rector 
of St. John's Church, Portsmouth, New Hampshire. 
For thirty-seven years Air. Hovey has sustained the 
rectorate of various churches, and by his devotion 
to the work of his calling and the persistent and 
effectual exercise of his natural gifts as a preacher 
of the word and a church worker, he has attained a 
place of much influence not only among the members 
of his own church and faith, but among the members 
of other churches and among those who are mem- 
bers of no church. He has always been among the 
foremost to comfort the sick and relieve the dis- 
tressed, and by reason of these things he has been 
made president of the Cottage Hospital, and presi- 
dent of the Chase Home for Children, which he 
has served faithfully and still holds. He is a mem- 
ber of the Sons of the Revolution, having a right 
to his honor as a descendant of Captain Nehemiah 
Emerson of th« Tenth Massachusetts Regiment, 
who took part in the great struggle for freedom. 
He was made a Mason in 1879. 

He was married in St. George's Church, New 
York City, to his distant cousin, Sarah Louise Fol- 
som, daughter of Charles J. and Sarah (Downing) 
Folsom. They have six children : Sarah W., 
Catherine E., Ethel VV., Louise F., Ethel D. and 
Charles E. 



The American family of Clement is 
CLEMENT traced back to the immigrant an- 
cestor Robert, who being a wealthy 
man, came to these shores in his own ship to Ips- 
wich, Alassachusetts in 1638. The social position 
of the family in the old country is indicated by the 
fact that one of the judges of Charles the First was 
Gregory Clement, and the wife of William Penn, 
the founder of Pennsylvania, was a Clement. Job 
Clement, the oldest son of Robert, was the first 
of the family to settle in New England, and it was 
probably on his recommendation that the father and 
mother and their family followed him. Their finan- 
cial condition had enabled thcni to live in comfort 
and enjoy luxuries in the old country; but in Amer- 
ica, to which they had come, no doubt that they 
might enjoy religious freedom and worship God 
i— 9 



according to the dictates of conscience, they found 
a vast wilderness in a state of nature, inhabited by 
savage beasts and more savage men. They must 
have shared with the hardships and privations of 
the pioneers of their time and locality. They lived 
in a log house, hastily and rudely constructed, the 
interstices filled with mud and utterly insuflicient 
against the rude blasts of winter, and though they 
must have been hourly reminded of the absence of 
the comforts they left behind in their native home, 
they never thought of giving up what they had found 
here for what they had left there. They were hardy 
and energetic leaders of men and in Newbury they 
engaged m tanning and in the town of Flaverhill, 
where they were pioneers, they were the. first to 
construct and operate that very essential thing in a 
new country, a grist mill. The first of the immi- 
grant Clements was the first representative of 
Haverhill in the general court in 1645 and held that 
office several consecutive years. The Clements of 
succeeding generations have inherited the good quali- 
ties of their forbears, and have maintained excellent 
reputations for good judgment, good morals and 
patriotic faithful citizenship and a personal and 
family pride which has kept them afront of the times 
in thought and action. Clement signifies mild, and 
the name seems generally to express the charactec 
of this family whose ways are peace and industry. 

(I) Robert Clement, from whom many of the 
Clements of this country trace their descent, was 
born in England in the year 1590. He lived in 
Coventry, Warwickshire, England, and came to 
this country in 1642, landing in Salisbury, Massa- 
chusetts. He went to Haverhill, Massachusetts, 
with his wife and four of his children, his daughter 
I\Iary, the youngest child, remaining in England 
until 1652. Robert settled near the mouth of Mill 
Brook, Haverhill, Massachusetts, and built the first 
grist mill in the town. He was prominent and iii- 
fiuential in the colony, and was one of the five to 
take the deed of the town from the Passagut and 
Saggahew Indians, in 1642. He was the first repre- 
sentative of the town to the general court, in 
1645, and held the office nine consecutive years, be- 
ing then succeeded by his son John. He was 
county commissioner and associate judge, appointed 
and empowered by the general court to administer 
the oath of fidelity to the inhabitants of Haverhill ; 
appointed to set off the public lands, 'designate their 
limits, etc. He was a man of great force of char- 
acter and energy, combined with executive ability; 
as is proven by the offices he held. He presented 
a petition to the general court, from the inhabitants 
of Haverhill, for the grant of an island lying in 
the i\Ierrimack. This petition was granted, and 
the land is still called Clement's Island. He died 
on the ground where he had first settled, September 
29, 1658, at the age of sixty-eight years. His 
estate amounted to about five hundred and fifty 
pounds. He married in England, but the place at 
which his marriage occurred and the name of his 
wife cannot be traced. His children were: Job, 
John, Lydia, Robert, Sarah and Mary. 

(II) Robert (2), third son and fourth child 
of Robert (i) Clement, was born in England about 
1624, and came to this country with his father in 
1642. He was a cooper by trade, and made Haver- 
hill, Massachusetts, his home. His residence was 
situated where the Exchange Building now (1906) 
stands. He was a large land owner, and a man of 
influence in the community. He held several town 
offices, among them being that of recorder of deeds 
and all legal papers. At the September court, in 
1660, he asked to be appointed administrator o£ 



I30 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



the estate of his brother John. This is the first 
record of administratorship in Haverhill. His death 
is not recorded, but it is known that he was living 
in 1684. He married, December 8, 1652, Elizabeth 
Fane, daughter of John Fane, and their children 
were: John, born 1655; Daniel, 1656; Abraham, 
1658; Hannah, 1660; Fane, of whom later; Na- 
thaniel, 1664; Robert, 1665; Lydia, 1667; Mary, 
1669; Jonathan, 1672. 

(III) Fane, fourth son and fifth child of Robert 
(2) and Elizabeth (Fane) Clement, was born in 
Haverhill, March 2, 1662. He was a ship carpenter 
by trade, and settled in Newburyport, Massachu- 
setts. He was thrifty and industrious and became 
a land owner of prominence. He was the .first 
owner of the Clement farm in West Amesbury, 
now Merrimack. This he deeded to his son, Jona- 
than, in March, 1719. There is no record of his 
death. He married (first), 1688, Sarah Hoyt, of 
Amesbury, Massachusetts, and their children were: 
Jonathan, of whom later; Sarah, born 1697; Tim- 
othy, May I, 1699; Joseph, April I, 1701. He mar- 
ried (second), Mrs. Dorothea Freez, March 7, 1717, 
and they had one child: Benjamin, born January 
7, 1718. 

(IV) Jonathan, eldest child of Fane and Sarah 
(Hoyt) Clement, was born in Newburyport, Massa- 
chusetts, January 11, 1696. He was a ship carpenter 
by trade but later turned his attention to farming 
and settled in West Amesbury, Massachusetts, about 
1725, on the tract of land which had been deeded 
him by his father. On this land he built a large 
and commodious two-story house which is still 
in good preservation. This farm is now in the 
possession of one of his descendants, and the 
original deeds are still in existence. Jonathan died 
on this farm in December, 1761. He married, No- 
vember 3, 1721, Mary Greenleaf, of Newburyport, 
who died September 7, 1791. Their children were : 
Mary, born September II, 1722; Jacob, of whom 
later; Jonathan, January 29, 1725; Prudence, 1727; 
Sarah, who married a Greeley. 

(V) Jacob, second child and eldest son of 
Jonathan and Mary (Greenleaf) Clement, was born 
on the Clement farm in West Amesbury, May 2, 
1724. He was a man of considerable note in the 
community, and was appointed crown constable in 
1766. His death occurred on the home farm, where 
he was living, December 10, 1796. He married Han- 
nah Chellis, of Danville, New Hampshire, who 
died, after a lingering illness, November 25, 1796. 
Their children were : Stephen, born February 12, 
1751 ; John, of whom later ; Moses, March 22, 1755 ; 
Hannah, November 17, 1757; Sally, March 30, 1759; 
Anna, January i, 1763; Jacob, July 3, 1765. 

(VI) John, second son and child of Jacob and 
Hannah (Chellis) Clement, was born in West Ames- 
bury, Massachusetts, March 17, 1753. He removed 
-from Amesbury to Salisbury, New Hampshire, in 

2789, was one of the first settlers in that town 
and was held in high esteem. His household effects 
were transported by a team of oxen, while his wife 
rode on a horse. After the revolutionary war, the 
title of captain was conferred upon him because of 
■militia service, and he was always so addressed. 
He sold his farm, in 1803, to Samuel Eaton, for 
twenty-five hundred dollars, removed to Warner, 
New Hampshire, and purchased a farm there, lo- 
cated on Tory 'Hill. During the revolutionary times 
this farm was the property of a Tory family, hence 
■the name. His death occurred April 12, 1827, and 
■was caused by heart disease. His estate was settled 
in 1828. The farm was sold several times, being 
ifinally purchased by John W. Clement, a grandson 



of Captain John, thus bringing the property again 
into the possession of the Clement family. He was 
a man of influence in his township. He married 
Elizabeth Stevens, of Atkinson, New Hampshire, 
who died February 6, 1827, at the age of seventy- 
six years, and they had children : Hannah, born 
September i, 1776; Joseph, August 15, 1777; Abigail, 
1779; Moses, March 20, 1780; John, of whom later; 
Nancy, September 7, 1784; Mary, December 3, 1788; 
Sally, June 22, 1791 ; Betsey, 1794; Lois, July 15, 
1798. Moses was a physician in Coeymans, New 
York, where he died December 3, 183 1. 

(VII) John (2), third son and fifth child of 
John (i) and Elizabeth (Stevens) Clement, was 
born, probably in West Amesbury, Massachusetts, 
May 27, 1782. He settled in Warner, New Hamp- 
shire, and purchased a part of the farm of his 
father on Tory Hill, and erected a number of build- 
ings on this land. He had the reputation of being 
very prudent and industrious, and was much re- 
spected. He died December, 1859, in his seventy- 
eighth year. He was remarkably spry in his last 
years, and prided himself in his activity. He mar- 
ried, first, November 24, 1812, Rachel Rowe, daugh- 
ter of John Rowe, of Wilniot, New Hampshire. 
None of their children lived to maturity. She 
died August 9, 1820. He married, second, Janu- 
ary 10, 1822, Lydia Watson; who died January 17, 
1854, aged sixty-five years. She was the daughter 
of Caleb Watson, of Salisbury, New Hampshire 
(see Watson). Their children were: Rachel R., 
born March 25, 1824, and became the wife of Mar- 
cellus M. Flanders, and (second) George S. East- 
man; John W., of whom later; Lydia H., born April 
13. 1831, died in her sixth year. Mrs. Eastman 
died in 1900, leaving a daughter, Clara S. 

(VIII) John Watson, only son and second child 
of John and Lydia (Watson) Clement, was born 
August 2, 1827, in Warner. He was educated in 
the common and select schools of his native town, 

•and settled in Grantham, New Hampshire, in 1851, 
and bought a farm on Howe Hill. He came to 
Warner, New Hampshire, in 1853, in order to take 
care of his father and mother on Tory Hill. He 
bought the southern half of the old homestead in 
December of the same year, and thus brought this 
into the family again. He was a farmer, and made 
a specialty of grafting and fruit-growing. He and 
his cousin, Daniel C. Colby, in the winter of 1845, 
and succeeding winters, traveled about the country, 
exhibiting and putting into operation the Morse 
telegraph, which was one of the great wonders of 
the age. He was in the mercantile business for 
three years, from 1878 to 1881, in the old Robinson 
store, but since that time has devoted himself to 
farming. He bought property in Warner village in 
1880, and, in 1882, a farm near St. Johnsbury, Ver- 
mont, which he sold after occupying ten years as 
a summer home. He has filled a number of public 
offices: Deacon of the Congregational Church; on 
the board of selectmen in 1868-69; represented the 
town in the general court in 1873-74. Mr. Clement 
has given much time to research in the history of 
his family, and the family tree shown in an ad- 
joining page was designed and drawn by him. At 
a family reunion held at the Revere House in 
Boston, June 26, 1891, he read a paper giving a 
thorough account of the founding of the family in 
America. This was much appreciated and ap- 
plauded. He was married. May 8. 1850, to Almira N. 
Sargent, youngest daughter of Moses Sargent, of 
Grantham, New Hampshire. They had two chil- 
dren: Luther J., the elder, mentioned below; 
Moses, born July 2, 1856, died August 28, 1856. 




vh^Tun-J<^. V''j I'' '10 1^ run., an'\.ni uvv) Su -^.o^v^vi^/ 





COAT OF ARMS AND FAMILY TREE. 
THE LATTER ORIGINATED AND DRAWN BY J. W. CLEMENT. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



131 



(IX) Luther John, elder and only surviving 
son of John W. and Ahnira N. (Sargent) Clement, 
was born August i, 1852. His education was ac- 
quired in the district and select schools, Contoo- 
cook Academy, and Simonds Free High School. 
When he w?s but seventeen years of age, he com- 
menced teaching school during the winter, and also 
gave instruction in writing and drawing. He then 
went to Boston, where he obtained a clerkship with 
the Boston & Maine Railroad Company, returning 
to Warner in 1S75, and purchasing the Palmer 
property on Tory Hill. He sold this in 1878 and 
removed to the village, where he opened a grocery 
and general store in partnership with his father, 
under the firm name of J. W. & L. J. Clement. 
Later this was sold out to Upton Brothers. In 
1881 he went to Littleton, New Hampshire, where 
he was the head clerk in a large store, and later 
went into the meat business in Bethlehem. He went 
to Whitefield, New Hampshire, in 1S87, and pur- 
chased a farin there in 1897, which he subsequently 
sold. He now resides in Whitefield village, where 
he is in the meat and grocery business. Between 
1889 and 1897, he lived for a time in Dalton, New 
Hampshire, where he bought a farm, and was 
elected selectman for thrfie years. He was elected 
representative to the general court there in 1895. 
He was town treasurer of Warner in 1878-79. He 
married, November 3, 1874, Ella J. Savory, only 
daughter of John Savory, of Warner. Their chil- 
dren are: i. George Morris, mentioned below. 
2. A daughter, born 1884, died in infancy. 3. Mur- 
ray L., May i, 1886, now a street car conductor in 
Boston. 4. Millard Fane, August 28, 1887, now 
attending the Polytechnic College at Worcester, 
Massachusetts. 

(X) George Morris, eldest child of Luther J. 
and Ella J. (Savory) Clement, was born January 

13. 1S77, and resides in Whitefield, assisting his 
father in business. He was married, November 18, 
1899, to Ida May Webb, of Whitefield. Their 
children are: Ella Mae, born June 17, ipoi ; and 
Harold John, July 22, 1904. Mr. Clement is promi- 
nent in the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 



The first definitely known of this 
CLE?\IENT line in America was Godfrey Cle- 
ment, who became a freeman at 
Watertown, Massachusetts, in 1634, and prior to 
the year 1700 no less than fourteen other immigrants 
named Clement had established themselves in dif- 
ferent parts of New England. Although , the original 
American ancestor of the Clements of North Weare 
has not thus far been definitely determined, it is 
quite probable that they are descended from Robert 
Clement, who was born in Coventry, Warwickshire, 
England, in 1590, and arrived in Massachusetts 
about 1642, settling in Haverhill, He was one 
of the first settlers to purchase land of Passage 
and Saggahem, the Indian chiefs of that locality, 
and he was prominently identified with the early 
settlement of Haverhill, serving for the first nine 
years of its existence as its representative to the 
general court, in which capacity he was succeeded 
by his son John. 

(I) Carlton Clement, a descendant of Robert, 
went to Weare, from Dcering at about the beginning 
of the last century, accompanied by his brother 
Richard, and two or more sisters, and purchased the 
south end of lot No. 43, range 6. After residing 
there a few years he returned to Deering. The 
maiden name of his wife was Kczia Dow. 

(II) Jonathan Dow, son of Carlton and Kezia 
(Dow) Clement, was a native of Deering. When 
a young man he settled on what is now known as 



the Hodgdon farm in South Weare. He married 
for his first wife Charlotte Merrill, of Deerhig, 
who bore him two children, Jonathan Dow, Jr., 
born in 1827, married Vienna Dickey, and settled 
in Antrim; and Charlotte M., who became the 
wife of Horace O. Gould, of Hillsboro. For his 
second wife he married Cynthia I. Hanson, of 
Madbury, New Hampshire, born in August, 1800, 
and of this union there was one son — Moses H. 

(III) Moses H., only child of Jonathan D. 
and Cynthia I. (Hanson) Clement, was born in 
South Weare, June 29, 1839. At an early age 
he learned the shoemaker's trade but soon relin- 
quished it and served an apprenticeship at the ma- 
chinist's trade, and settling in North Weare he 
followed it there for the rest of his life. He 
was at one time a member of the Society of Friends 
but married outside of the sect and did not take 
the necessary steps to secure his reinstatement. He 
died December 15, 1893. He was twice married, 
first to Aura A. Dow, daughter of Josiah Dow of 
Weare, and she died in 1862, leaving one daughter, 
Julia E., who was born September 29, 1859, and died 
in Februao', 1863 ; second, to Eliza C. Dow, who 
bore him six children, namely: Loren D., who 
will be again referred to; Orison, born August i, 
1867 (died March 28, 1868) ; Archie W., born Janu- 
ary 31, 1870; Arthur, born December 13, 1873 
(died October 9, 1876) ; Frederick D., born October 
5, 1877; and Bertha, born July 10, 1887. 

(IV) Loren Duane, eldest child of Moses H. 
and Eliza C. (Dow) Clement, was born in North 
Weare, September 4, 1865. After concluding his 
attendance at the public school he served an ap- 
prenticeship at the machinist's trade and followed 
it as a journeyman some three years. He then en- 
tered the employ of J. H. Wallace, a well-known 
toy manufacturer of North Weare, and after the 
death of the proprietor, which occurred a year later, 
he undertook the management of the business in 
the interest of the widow. He subsequently pur- 
chased the business and carried it on with profitable 
results until the destruction of the plant by fire 
in 1902, causing a loss of about five thousand dol- 
lars. He immediately rebuilt upon a much more 
extensive scale which enabled him to install ma- 
chinery and other equipments of a more modern 
type, thereby providing facilities for the constantly 
increasing expansion now going on in his business. 
At the present time he is employing twenty opera- 
tives, who are turning out toys of a unique as 
well as of an attractive and superior quality, and his 
products find a ready sale in the various centers of 
trade throughout the United States. 

In politics Mr. Clement is a Republican. He 
attends the Friends' Meeting. He was married, 
December, 1887, to Miss Belle Simpson, daughter 
of Jonathan Simpson, of Orange, Vermont, and 
has one son, Moses M., who was born March 27, 
1894. 



The subject of this sketch is born 
CLEMENT of a family which was among the 
hardy pioneer stock of Salisbury, 
New Hampshire, and endured the hardships and 
privations with the early settlers whose courage 
and endurance were often tested by the severity 
of winter cold and the attacks of the savages who 
infested that locality for years after its first set- 
tlement. 

(I) John S. Clement was born in Salisbury, of 
pioneer parents, and there he married Lucinda 
Elliott and raised a family. 

(II) Nathan B., son of John S. and Lucinda 
(Elliott) Clement, was born in Boscawen, and 



13^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE 



died in 1868. He was a machinist. He married 
Augusta Dana, daughter of Augustus Dana, who 
was a soldier in the Revolution. Four children 
were born of this marriage. 

tni) Wallace Ballard, son of Nathan B. and 
Augusta (Dana) Clement, was born in Manchester, 
January 24, 1866. He received his earlier education 
from private tutors in iVianchester, Bedford and 
Mont Vernon. He later attended the Franklin 
Street School in Manchester, and the McCoUom 
Institute in Mont \'ernon, and went from the last 
named school to Harvard and to Vale Universities. 
He began the study of law in the office of the late 
James F. Briggs, where he read one year, and 
subsequently pursued the study one year in the 
office of United States Senator Henry Burnham. 
In 18S8 he was admitted to the bar and opened 
an office in Manchester, where he has since been 
engaged in the general practice of law. Mr. Clement 
has a suave manner and a kindly disposition that 
make friends for him wherever he goes. He mar- 
ried, in Manchester, Etta Augusta Canis, who was 
born in Manchester, September 3, 1860, daughter 
of Augustus and Frances (Durginj Canis, and 

great-granddaughter of Canis, who was 

a soldier with Napoleon in the famous Russian 
campaign. Two children have been born of this 
imion : George A. Canis, and JNlamie E. 



This was an early name in Alassachu- 
COREY setts and it has been identified with the 

development of that state and of New 
Hampshire. Its bearers have been people of high 
character and great moral worth, and may be 
fitly spoken of with commendation in the annals 
of New Hampshire. Many of the family were men 
of prominence about Boston during the eighteenth 
century. In the early records the name is variously 
spelled Cory, Coree, Couree and Corey. Several 
bearing the name were soldiers of the Revolution. 
James Corey, of Groton, Massachusetts, was killed 
in the battle of Bunker Hill. Ephraim Corey, of 
Groton, was a captain in the Revolutionary army, 
as was also Timothy, son of Isaac Corey, of 
Weston. 

(I) The first on record in this country was 
Giles Corey, who was residing in Salem, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1649, with his wife Margaret. Their 
daughter Deliverance was born there August 5, 
1658. The mother died previous to 1664, and on 
April II of that 3'ear Giles Corey married (sec- 
ond) Mary Britz. She died August 28, 1684, at 
the age of sixty-three years, and he had a third 
wife, Martha, who was admitted to the church in 
Salem Village (now Danvers), April 27, 1690. She 
was the victim of the terrible witchcraft delusion 
in Salem, and was apprehended in March, 1692, 
and hung on the following Thursday. In a very 
short tmie her husband was also arrested and was 
imprisoned, in April. He was kept in confinement 
and moved about from one jail to another, going 
to Boston and back again to Salem, and was finally 
executed on September 19, 1692, in the most hor- 
rible manner ever used on the continent. He was 
pressed to death, being the only one who ever 
suffered that form of execution in Massachusetts. 
He was a member of the first church of Salem, 
from which he was excommunicated the day pre- 
ceding his death. Such was the tenacity of the 
execrable witchcraft delusion in Salem that this 
sentence was not expunged from the church record 
until twenty years after, and a period of eleven 
years elapsed before justice was done to the memory 
of his wife in the Danvers church. Though a 



petition for relief appears in the Essex records 
on behalf of the children, no mention of their names 
is found except of Martha, who made the petition 
in behalf of the family, and Deliverance before 
mentioned. It is probable that there were several 
sons. Jonathan and Thomas Corey ar? mentioned 
as having been at Chelmsford at an early period. 

(II) Thomas, probably son or grandson of 
Giles Corey, resided in Weston, Massachusetts. 
The time of his arrival does not appear on record. 
He was married there to Hannah Page, who was 
born Februar\' 10, 1678, in Concord, daughter of 
Samuel and Hannah Page, and granddaughter of 
John and Phebe Page, emigrant ancestors to Water- 
town, Massachusetts. He died in Weston, March 
22, 1739. Their children were Joseph, Thomas, 
Samuel, Ebenezer, Jonathan, Hannah, Abigail and 
Isaac. With the exception of the oldest all were 
baptized at one time, December 29, 1723, in Weston, 
the youngest then being several years of age. 

(HI) Isaac, youngest child of Thomas and 
Hannah (Page) Corey, was born about 1717, in 
Weston, and resided in that town, where five chil- 
dren are recorded from 1740 to 1751. He was 
married April 12, 1739, to Abigail Priest, who was 
born July 31, 1719, in 'Watertown, daughter of 
James and Sarah Priest. Their children were 
Isaac, Timothy, Eunice, Nathan and Elisha. 

(IV) Nathan, third son and fourth child of 
Isaac and Abigail (Priest) Corey, was born May 
18, 1747, in Weston, and did honorable and valuable 
service as a soldier in the Revolutionary war. He 
was a minuteman and was present at the battle of 
Concord. He subsequently served an enlistment 
beginning April 25, 1775, under Captain Asa Law- 
rence, in Colonel William Prescott's regiment, 
which continued ninety-eight days. In 1777 he 
served two months and nme days including travel- 
ling in Rhode Island under Captain John Minot 
and Colonel Josiah Whitney. He served nine 
months beginning from the date of enlistment at 
Fishkill, New York, June 17, 1778; in the muster 
roll his age was given at thirty-three years and 
his height as five feet nine inches ; there was, 
however, an error as to his age as he was then only 
thirty-one years old. He probably passed the re- 
mainder of his life in Groton. He was married, 
December 27, 1770, to Mary Green, born August 
15. 1751. a daughter of Eliah and Sarah (Parker) 
Green. 

(V) Nathan (2), son of Nathan (l) and Mary 
(Green) Corey, resided in Pepperell and in Brook- 
line, New Hampshire. He was married to Devard 
Wright, who was born February 10, 1776, in Pep- 
perell, daughter of David and Prudence (Cum- 
mings) Wright. Prudence Cummings, the mother 
of Mrs. Corey, was the heroine of an episode dur- 
ing the Revolution which indicates the brave char- 
acter of the women of those days who ably seconded 
their husbands, fathers and brothers in the struggle 
for independence. Through her efforts a British 
officer was apprehended at the bridge in Groton, 
an incident which is well known to readers of the 
American History. The children of Nathan (2) 
Corey were Devard, Susan Jane, Mary Jane, Wilkes 
Wright. The eldest daughter became the wife 
of James Parker, and the mother of Judge Ed- 
ward E. Parker, of Nashua. (See Parker, VI.) 

(VI) Wilkes Wright, only son of Nathan (2) 
and Devard (Wright) Corey, was born January 
10, 1813, in Brookline, New Hampshire, and was 
a good townsman and prosperous farmer there all 
his life. He served as town treasurer and select- 
man, and was otherwise prominent in the conduct 




A ^.^/(JL^h^-^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



of town affairs. He was married October 14, 1841, 
to Sophia Rachel Shattucl<, who was born April, 
181S, in the same town, a daughter of Ashtir and 
and Rachel Shattuck. They were the parents of 
two children, Albert Wilkes and Charles Nathan. 

(.VII) Charles Nathan, second son of Wilkes 
Wright and Sophia Rachel ( Shattitck) Corey, was 
born August 2, 1843, and died in 1902 in Brookline. 
He was a useful citizen in that town. He was a 
man of good intellect and made the best of his 
opportunities. He filled many important town offices 
and was representative in the legislature. He was 
married to Sarah Jane Sawtelle, daughter of E. 
and Mercy A. (Peterson) Sawtelle, of Brookline. 
They had six children: Herbert, who died young; 
Ellen, Herbert S., Walter Ellsworth, whose sketch 
follows ; and Walter E. 

(Vni) Walter Ellsworth, son of Charles N. 
and Sarah Jane (Sawtelle) Corey, was born in 
Brookline, New Hampshire, November 28, 1881. 
He was educated in the public schools and then 
entered a grocery store as clerk, which position 
he has held since 1903. He is a member of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. ' In politics 
he is a Republican. He married, October 24, 1905, 
Helen B. Lawrence, daughter of Kirk Lawrence, 
of Pepperell, Massachusetts. They have one child, 
Lawrence Ellsworth. 



The first of this name, wliich was 
MERRILL originally Merle, and signifies "black- 
bird," was a native or at least a resi- 
dent of France, and took his name from' the figure 
of a blackbird displayed upon the sign at his door. 
The earliest generations of the family in France 
used a seal on which is displayed three blackbirds. 
In the persecutions following the revocation of the 
Edict of Nantes, a Merle, being a Protestant, fled 
to England to save his life, and cast his lot with 
the Puritans. Some of the family still remain 
in France and are still Huguenots, the most dis- 
tinguished member of recent years being Merle 
D'Aubigne, the historian. As the Huguenots were 
of the best people of France, so their descendants 
in England and America have been numbered with 
the most industrious, the most thrifty, the most 
moral, and the most law abiding of those countries. 

(I) Nathaniel Merrill, born in England in 1610, 
died in Newbury, Massachusetts. !March 16, 1655. 
With his brother John he emigrated from England 
and came to Massachusetts, landing at Ipswich 
about 1633. He removed to Newbury -in 1635, at 
the first settlement of the town, and settled on land 
at the junction of the Parker and Plum rivers, 
which was recently owned by a descendant, Tyler 
Merrill. In his will, dated March 8. 1655, he gives 
his farm to his eldest son upon payment by him of 
five pounds to each of his brothers, and furnishing 
a residence for the testator's wife and daughter. 
Nathaniel Merrill married Susannah Wellerton, 
whose name is otherwise spelled Wiltertnn and 
Williston. After the death of her first husband 
she married a Jordan, and died January 25, 1673. 
Nathaniel and Susannah Alerrill were the parents 
of six children : John, Abraham, Nathaniel, Susan- 
nah, Daniel and Abel, who is mentioned at length 
in a later paragraph. (Nathaniel and descendants 
receive notice in this article.) 

(II) Abraham, second sou and child of Na- 
thaniel and Susanna (Jordan) Merrill, was born 
about 1636. probably in Newbury, and was a weaver 
by occupation, residing in that town. He sub- 
scribed to the oath of allegiance there in 1678. He 



was married January 18, 1661. in Newbury, to Abi- 
gail, daughter of John and Alary (Shatswell) 
Webster, of Ipswich (see Webster, second family). 
In 1674 Abraham Merrill and wife were members 
of the Newbury church, of which he was deacon. 
Both were living in 1712. Their children were: 
Abraham, Abigail, Mary, Elizabeth, Hannah, John, 
Jonathan, David, Sarah. Susanna and Prudence. 
(Mention of David and descendants forms part of 
this article). 

(HI) Jonathan, third son and seventh child of 
Abraham and Abigail (Webster) Merrill, was born 
January 19, 1676, in Newbury, and resided in Brad- 
ford from 1699 to 1701. He w-as later a citizen of 
Amesbury, and about 1715 settled in Plaistow, New 
Hampshire. He married Mary (supposed to have 
been Brown), who died in Plaistown, May 13, 1759. 
Their children were : Sarah, Mary, Abraham and 
Nathaniel (twins), Judith and Prudence. 

(IV) Sergeant Abraham (2), eldest son and third 
child of Jonathan and Mary ^lerrill, was born May 
-9, I/07 (recorded at Newbury), and resided for a 
time in Haverhill, Massachusetts, and Plaistow, New 
Hampshire. His first two children were born in 
Haverhill, and the next three in Plaistow, New 
Hampshire. They were presumably born on the 
same homestead, which was set off to New Hamp- 
shire in 1741. About 1745 he removed to Derryfield, 
now Manchester, where he was an influential citi- 
zen. He settled at what _was known as JNIerrill's 
Falls or Merrill's Ferry, just below the old Granite 
Bridge, and on or near the site of the present gas 
works in j\Ianchester. He was among the petitioners 
for setting off a tract of land, lying partly in Chester 
and partly in Londonderry, and including other lands 
not previously appropriated, to be united and form a 
new tow-nship. This petition was granted, and the 
new town was incorporated under the name of Der- 
ryfield. in 1751. He was married June 20, 1734. in 
Haverhill, to Mehitable Stevens, of that town, and 
the record of this marriage is found in Plaistow. 
Their children, born from 1735 to 1758 were: Me- 
hetable. Sarah. John. Abraham. Jonathan. Ruth, 
Mary, David. Nathaniel and Elizabeth. (Mention 
of Natlianiel follows in this article). 

(V) Jonathan, third son and fifth child of Abra- 
ham (2) and Mehitable (Stevens) Merrill, was 
born October 26. 1743, in Plaistow, being the last 
of his father's children born before the removal of 
the family to Derryfield. He was married, December 
29, 1774, in Derryfield. to .\biah Staveirs. and settled 
soon after in Newbury. New Hampshire, where he 
was a pioneer and died in 1816. His children, born 
from 1775 to 1769, were: Mary, Sarah, Abijah, 
Betsey, Samuel, Jonathan, .Abraham, Mehetable, 
Jenny and Ruth. 

(VI) Samuel Stevens, the fifth child and second 
son of Jonathan Merrill, was born .April 7, 1787, in 
Fishersfield, now Newbury, New Hampshire. He 
married Frances Bancroft, daughter of Caleb and 
Susanne (Toy) Bancroft, who was born in Dun- 
barton, New Hampshire. January 20, 1789. Their 
children were Sherburn R.. Joshua, Alary Jane, 
Frances. Hannah. Susanne and Seneca. 

(VII) Sherburn Rowell, eldest son of Samuel 
and Frances (Bancroft) Merrill, was born in 
Fishersfield, now Newbury, New Hampshire, Jan- 
uary 2, i8ro. In 1818 his parents moved to Croyden, 
New Hampshire, where they lived until 1825, when 
they moved to Peeling, jiow Woodstock, New Hamp- 
shire. The following year while on a visit to .Ames- 
bury. Massachusetts, Samuel Merrill died very sud- 
denly, leaving a wife and seven children, the eldest 



134 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



of whom was Sherburn. Samuel ]\Ierrill was a man 
of sterling integrity, industrious, hard working, and 
the hardships of pioneer farm life on the rugged 
hills of New Hampshire broke down a naturally 
strong constitution. Both he and his wife were de- 
voted Christians and members of the Free Will 
Baptist Church. Sherburn, now sixteen years of 
age, found himself thrown upon his own resourcces, 
and, young as he was, he assumed the responsibility 
of helping to care for his mother and younger 
brothers and sisters. An account of his struggles 
for the next ten years would be the history of many 
in those days in New England. It suffices to say, 
that he despised no honest labor, was industrious 
and careful in his associations. In 1833, after a 
serious illness, Sherburn decided to make a voyage 
to New Orleans on a merchant ship owned and com- 
manded by his future wife's uncle. Captain Samuel 
Merrill. They left Boston on January 15, 1834. 
Sherburn had invested a large part of his savings in 
furniture which he hoped to sell at a profit in the 
South. The eighth day out, they encountered a 
severe gale which disabled the brig and left them at 
the mercy of the waves. Having lost their reckoning, 
they drifted about until the ■morning of the thirteenth 
when the ship struck the northern reef of the Ber- 
mudas, in a heavy storm. They took to the boats 
and after several hours were picked up, taken to the 
Islands and kindly cared for, having lost all but their 
lives. JNIarch 31, 1836, in Boston, Massachusetts, 
Mr. Merrill married Sarah Blackstone Merrill, 
daughter of William Merrill of Noblesborough, 
Maine, a woman of strong character, superior in- 
tellect, and refined tastes. They settled in Wood- 
stock, New Hampshire. During the next few years 
Mr. Merrill met with some successes and many 
failures in his business enterprises, but through all, 
he showed such pluck, such determination to succeed 
that, at last, fortune began to smile upon him. In 
1847 he went to Colebrook, New Hampshire, bought 
a water-power at Factoryville and contracted for 
lumber to build a starch mill. At the same time he 
contracted with the farmers to plant and deliver 
potatoes the following year at the projected mill. 
In 1848 Mr. Merrill began the manufacture' of potato 
starch, which he continued until 1884. At one time 
owning in whole or in part seven different mills. 
This business was not only profitable to himself, 
but it developed and enlarged the resources of the 
farmers of Colebrook and the adjoining towns. In 
1852 he moved his family to Colebrook, where he 
made a permanent home. In 1859 ^Mr. Merrill 
bought a store at Colebrook, and became a member 
of the firm of Cummings & Co. He continued in 
trade under the firm names of S. R. IMerrill, S. R. 
Merrill & Co., S. R. & S. S. Merrill, Merrill Brothers 
& Co., until 1880. This house did a large and profit- 
able business. In early life, Mr. Merrill took an active 
interest in the old militia system. He was captain of a 
company from 1841 to 1849. He was promoted to 
the office of major of his regiment in 1850. and the 
following year was made colonel. In politics he 
was always a strong Democrat, and at various times 
rendered good service to the Democratic cause in 
New Hampshire, but he preferred to give his time 
and attention to his business, rather than to seeking 
and holding office. He, however, frequently served 
as delegate to state and congressional conventions. 
He represented Woodstock in the legislatures of 1850- 
1851, Colebrook in 1872-1873, his senatorial district 
two terms, from 1879 to 1883. He was a member of 
Governor Goodell's council, 1889-1891. Although at 
the beginning of his term of office he was seventy- 



nine years old, he performed its duties in an efficient 
and energetic manner. Mr. Merrill was interested 
in the advancement of education and religion. For 
many years he was trustee of Colebrook Academy 
and was one of the trustees of the Methodist Society 
of his town. Sarah Blackstone (Merrill) Merrill, 
wife of Sherburn Rowell Merrill, died at Colebrook, 
September 27, 1877. Of their six children five lived 
to maturity. The first of these : Lucretia Frances, 
born at Woodstock, New Hampshire, April 7, 1838, 
married Edward Norris Cummings, son of Archelaus 
and Mary Fletcher Cummings of Colebrook, New 
Hampshire. He resided at Colebrook, New Hamp- 
shire, and Lynn, Massachusetts, and was a merchant. 
He died at Lynn, February I, 1901. Their children 
are: l. Edward, born at Colebrook, New Hampshire, 
April 20, 1861 ; graduated at Woburn high school, 
1879; Harvard College 1883; professor of sociology 
at Harvard University 1891-1900; a Unitarian clergy- 
man, settled in 1900, at the South Congregational 
Church, Boston, Massachusetts ; married, 1891, Re- 
becca Haswell Clarke, Roxbury, Massachusetts. 
Their children are : Estlin, born at Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, October 14, 1894; Elizabeth Frances, 
born April 29, 1901, Cambridge. 2. Jane, born at 
Colebrook, New Hampshire, December 27, 1863 ; 
graduated Lynn high school, residence Lynn and 
Cambridge. 3. John, born at Colebrook, New Hamp- 
shire, May 18, 1868; graduated at Lynn high school, 
1887 ; Harvard College, 1891 ; Ph. D. at Chicago Uni- 
versity ; instructor at Harvard College, department 
of Political Economy; in 1902 became assistant pro- 
fessor of Political Economy at Chicago University ; 
married December 3, 1900, Carrie Rebecca Howe, 
of Indianapolis, Indiana ; their daughter, Frances 
Ellen, born at Chicago, Illinois, August 18, 1901. 

Sarah Louisa, the second, born at Woodstock, 
New Hampshire, December 14, 1840, died at St. 
Paul, Minnesota, October 12, 1S71 ; married at Cole- 
brook, April 14, 1859, Ira Allan Ramsay, son of 
Robert Ramsay; lawyer at Colebrook, New Hamp- 
shire, and St. Paul, Minnesota. He died at St. Paul, 
November 18, 1871. Their children were : Sherburn 
Merrill, Ira Allan, and Louis. 

Ellen Louvena, the third, born at Woodstock, 
New Hampshire, January 5, 1843; married January 
7, 1863, Joseph Erastus Lombard, son of Dr. Lyman 
and Betsey (Loomis) Lombard, Colebrook, New 
Hampshire; business, farmer; their children: i. 
Darwin, born June 9, 1864, Colebrook, New Hamp- 
shire; married January 7, 1891, Rosa, daughter of 
Alfred and Sarah (Chase) Capen ; their daughter, 
Ellen, was born at Charlton City, Massachusetts, May 
13, 1894; residence, Colebrook, New Hampshire^ 
business, merchant. 2. Lyman, born at Colebrook, 
New Hampshire, November 6, 1869; married De- 
cember 5, 1891, Angeline, daughter of Fayette and 
Martha (Reed) Marshall. Their children are: 
Merrill, born April 6, 1894 ; Marshall, born April 18, 
1898. Residence, Colebrook, New Hampshire ; busi- 
ness, merchant. 

Caroline Hatch, the fourth, born at Woodstock, 
New Hampshire, August 14, 1845 ; married Irving 
W. Drew, November 4, 1869. (See Drew, IV). 

Mary Jane, the fifth, born at Woodstock, October 
22, 1846, died at Boston, Massachusetts, November 6, 
1906; married Tune, 1869, William Henry Shurtleff, 
son of Otis and Eliza (Penmoyer) Shurtleff. Law- 
yer, residence Colebrook and Lancaster, New Hamp- 
shire. Died at Lancaster, April 18, 1902. Their chil- 
dren are: i. Merrill, born at Colebrook, March 10, 
1870; graduated at Holderness School, 1888; Dart- 
mouth College, 1892; married June 14, 1S97, Emily 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



I3S 



Porter, daughter of Horace and Abby (Stnall) 
Porter, Lancaster, New Hampshire. Lawyer, of the 
law firm of Drew, Jordan, Shurtleff & Morris, Lan- 
caster, New Hampshire. Their children are : Porter, 
born April 28, 1898; JNIerrill, born June 11, 1902. 
2. Harry, born at Colebrook, June 25, 1871 ; married 
September, 189S, Louisa Wright, of Battle Creek, 
iMichigan. Residence, Lisbon. Business, merchant. 

A boy, Sherburn Samuel, died in infancy. 

In 1879 Mr. IMerrill married Mrs. Sarah Butler 
McDole. She died at Concord, New Hampshire, iri 
March, 1906. All his life 2ilr. Merrill was an in- 
defatigable worker ; he gave the strictest attention 
to all the details of his diversified business interests; 
he was frugal and prudent in his way of living; he 
was public spirited, and took a keen interest in town, 
state and national affairs. By care and temperate liv- 
ing he retained good health and an unimpaired in- 
tellect to the ripe age of eighty-one years. He died 
April 9, 1891. 

The following tribute to his worth is quoted from 
a letter written by former Governor Goodell, in 
whose council Mr. Merrill served the last two years 
of his life. 'Tf ever a man deserved the title of 
Honorable, he is that man. A good, great, broad, 
honorable, honest man is gone." "He served his day 
and generation well." 

(,V) Nathaniel, youngest son of Abraham (2) 
and i\Iehetable (Stevens) Merrill, was born Sep- 
tember IS, 175s, in Derryheld (Manchester), and re- 
sided there. He settled in what is now called Halls- 
ville, ill East Manchester, where he engaged in agri- 
culture. He was a soldier of the Revolution, serving 
three years, 1777-8-9. He married (first), Mary, 
daughter of Israel and Mary Young, who was the 
mother of five children ; and his second wife was a 
widow, Mrs. Anna Davis. His children were : 
Lovina, Israel, Mehitable, Ezekiel, Nathaniel and 
Rebecca. 

(VI) Israel, eldest son of Nathaniel and Mary 
(Young) Merrill, was born June 24, 1788, in !Man- 
chester, where he was a farmer, and died March 31, 
1872. He settled on the east bank of the Merrimack 
river, just below Amoskeag Falls, and was employed 
by a boating company on the river, and subsequently 
on his own account, covering a period of many years, 
and was universally known by the title of Captain 
Merrill. It is said that he possessed a more compre- 
hensive knowledge of the- JNIerrimack river, its depths 
and currents, between Lowell and Concord, than any 
other man of that period. There is a record of a 
boat race — his boat and another — covering the entire 
distance from Boston to Concord, and Captain Mer- 
rill won the contest by only the "length of a boat or 
so." He was pilot of the steamer which made its 
first trip to Concord, in 1817. A man of great muscu- 
lar strength and wholly without fear, he rescued 
numerous persons from drowning, to the imminent 
danger of his own life. The Massachusetts Humane 
Society presented him an elegant and valuable gold 
medal, suitably inscribed, for saving the lives of two 
men and a boy on one occasion. This is still pre- 
served by his descendants. After boating on the 
river was superseded by the railway, he purchased 
a farm on the Merrill road, in what is known as the 
Harvey district of Manchester, where he resided 
until his death. He was a devoted member of the 
Congregational Church, and was warmly interested 
in the general welfare and prosperity of his home 
town. He was married January 30. 1816, to Nancy 
Farmer, of ALinchester, who died July 15. 1854. 
Their children were : Mary Ann, Henry Clinton 
(died young), infant daughter died young, Israel, 



Henry Clinton, Eliza Jane, Sophia Maria, Williaiii. 
Parker and Ann Johnson. 

(VII) JMary Ann, eldest child of Israel and 
Nancy (Farmer) Merrill, was born July i, 1817, 
and became the wife of Rev. Elisha Adams. (See 
Adams, VII). 

(III) David, fourth son and eighth child of 
Abraham and Abigail (Webster) Merrill, was born 
February 20, 1677, in Newbury, and resided in that 
town and Amesbury. He was married December 
18, 1706, to Mary Morse, daughter of Benjamin and 
Ruth (Sawyer) Morse and granddaughter of An- 
thony Morse, of Newbury (see Morse). David 
Merrill died about the beginning of the year 1760, 
surviving his wife more than five years, she having 
passed away August 18, 1753. Their children were : 
David, Stephen, Benjamin, Moses, Eliphalet, Mary 
and Abraham. 

(IV) Eliphalet, fifth son and child of David 
and Mary (Morse) Merrill, was born about 1717, 
residing first in Amesbury, and later in Kensington 
and South Hampton, New Hampshire. According 
to the records of Amesbury he was married, July 
10, 1736, to Lydia Clough, who must have died 
within a very short time. The records of South 
Hampton show his marriage June 7, 1744, to Mary 
Clough. Neither of these appear on the roll of 
members of the South Hampton church, but all of 
their children were baptized at that church as shown 
by the records. In the records of all the baptisms 
the mother's name is given as Anna, and since this 
is multiplied so many times it is assumed that the 
name was erroneously entered at the time of their 
marriage. Their children were: Joseph, Eliphalet,. 
Mary, Thomas, Sarah, Nathaniel, Enos, Parker, 
Lydia and John. 

(V) John, seventh son and youngest of the ten 
children of Eliphalet and Anna (Clough) Merrill, 
baptized August 23, 1766, in South Hampton, re- 
moved from that town in early life to the town of 
Weare, New Hampshire, and lived on Barnard 
Hill. He was married in South Hampton, January 
21, 1796, to Anna Perkins, and they were the parents 
of several children. According to the history o£ 
Weare there were only four, three of whom were 
born in Weare. 

(VI) Enos, eldest son of John and Anna (Per- 
kins) Merrill, was born in South Hampton in 1803, 
and died in Concord in January, 1896, aged ninety- 
three years. He accompanied his parents to Weare, 
was in trade in East Weare for many years, and 
was the first postmaster at that place. He re- 
moved to Concord, and in company with Mr. Harris 
formed the firm of Harris & Merrill, dealers in gen- 
eral merchandise. Some years later he removed to 
Boston, where he was a successful merchant. After 
retiring from business he returned to Concord and 
resided w'ith his son. He was a man of integrity, 
and highly respected. In politics he was a Whig 
and afterward a Republican, and was a member 
of the city council while residing in Boston. He 
was a member of the Baptist church, and a deacon 
of that organization in New York. He married 
Harriett Cross (see Cross), daughter of David 
Cross, of Manchester, and they had four children, 
all born in Weare : Darius, Horace K., Nelson, 
and Harriett. 

(VII) Darius, eldest son and child of Enos and 
Harriett (Cross) Merrill, was born in Weare, Au- 
gust II, 1827, and died in Concord, March 29, 1900. 
aged seventy-three years. He attended the common 
schools, and was some years a clerk in a book- 
store conducted by his uncle, Nathan Merrill, in 



136 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Charlestown, Massachusetts. Soon after his return 
from a sojourn of some years in California, he en- 
listed September 5, 1861, in Company D, Seventh 
Regiment New Hampshire Volunteer Infantry, and 
was mustered into service as a private December 
31. On JNIarch 12, 1863, he was appointed quarter- 
master sergeant, and served in that capacity until 
he was mustered out, December 27, i86x In June, 
1865, he was appointed to a clerkship in the United 
States pension office at Concord, where he served 
thirty-three years. In 1SS7 he was deputy secre- 
tary of state of New Hampshire. He was an at- 
tendant of the Baptist Church and in political senti- 
ment a Republican. He was a very methodical 
and reliable man and highly esteemed as a citizen. 
His pleasant manner and fraternal spirit made him 
many friends. He was past master of Eureka 
Lodge, No. 70, Free and Accepted Masons, of Con- 
cord, and was its treasurer twenty-six years. He 
was treasurer of the Masonic Association fourteen 
years. He married, January 15, 1866, Sarah Ann 
D. Peabody, born in jNIeredith, February 11, 1837, 
daughter of Asa and Sallie (Young) Peabody. 
Asa Peabody was born in Meredith in 1805. and died 
there in 1857, aged fifty-two years. He was a car- 
penter by trade. Sallie Young was born in Gilman- 
ton in 1798, and died in Laconia in 1864. aged 
sixty-six years. 

(II) Nathaniel (2), third son and child of Na- 
thaniel (i) and Susanna (Jordan) Merrill, was 
born about 1638, in Newbury, and died in that town 
January i, 1683. He subscribed to the oath of 
fidelity and allegiance in 1668 and again in 1678. 
His will was made December i. 1682, and probated 
on April 10 following. This will disposes of lands 
in Haverhill, and his sons Nathaniel and Peter were 
the heirs. He was married October 15, 1661, in 
Newbury, to Joanna Kinney. Their children were: 
John, Nathaniel, Peter, Joanna (died young), Jo- 
anna, Hannah and Mary. 

(III) Jonathan, eldest child of Nathaniel (2) 
and Joanna (Kinney) Merrill, was born January 16, 
1663, in Newbury, and lived for a time in that town, 
removing thence to Haverhill in 1697. He was in 
Bradford in 1699, returning to Haverhill the next 
year. He was a house carpenter and no doubt 
moved about somewhat on account of his occupa- 
tion. Administration of his estate was granted July 
9. 1705. and his widow was administratrix. He 
married Lucy Webster, daughter of John and Ann 
(Batt) Webster, of Haverhill, and granddaughter 
of John Webster, of Ipswich. (See Webster.) She 
was still living in Haverhill in 1718. Their children 
were: Nathaniel, Abel, Lucy. Abigail. John, Han- 
nah, Stephen, Enoch and Nathan. (John and de- 
scendants receive notice in this article.) 

(IV) Nathaniel (3). eldest child of John and 
Lucv (Webster) Merrill, was born July 26, 1687, 
in Newbur}', and resided in Haverhill. His will, 
made in 1837, mentions his wife Ruth (Walling- 
ford) and children: Daniel, Nathaniel, James, 
Anne. Lucy and Sarah. 

(V) James, third son of Nathaniel (3) and Ruth 
(Wallingford) Merrill, settled in that part of 
Haverhill which be'-ame the town of Atkinson, New 
Hampshire, He was married in Atkinson, in 1759, 
to Mary Emerson, of Atkinson, and their children, 
recorded in that town were : James, Nathaniel, 
Joshua. John, Stevens, Sarah, Ruth and Jeremiah. 

(VI) Stevens, fifth son and child of James and 
Mary (Emerson) Merrill, was born January 22, 
1767, in Atkinson, and settled in Thornton, New 
Hampshire, where he was a farmer and cattle 



dealer. He owned a farm of one hundred acres, 
and took a great pride in raising sheep. He was 
a Democrat in politics, and a Calvinist Baptist in 
religion. He married and had nine children : 
George, Thomas, Daniel, Edward, Priscilla, May 
and Charles Stevens, and two who died in infancy. 
Stevens Merrill died in Laconia. 

(VII) Charles Stevens, son of Stevens Merrill, 
was born in Thornton, New Hampshire, October 
6, 1800. He was educated in Weare, New Hamp- 
shire. He engaged in farming and owned a farm 
of one hundred acres in Woodstock. He was a 
successful stock raiser, and took great pride in his 
cattle. He was a Democrat in politics, and be- 
longed to the Free Will Baptists. He married 
Nancy, daughter of Edward Dowse, who was born 
at Thetford, Vermont, May 3, 1807. They had 
nine children : May, Emily, Daniel, Charles, Palmer 
Wood, Jane, Nellie N., widow of Eben Blake, George 
and Lucy. Charles Stevens Merrill died November 
9, 1S81. and his wife died November 29, 1895. 

(VIII) Palmer Wood, third son and fifth child 
of Charles Stevens and Nancy (Dowse) Merrill, 
was born in Woodstock, New Hampshire, February 
8, 1838. He was educated in the district schools 
of Woodstock, after which he took up farming 
and lumbering. For twenty-five years he did an 
extensive lumber business, and owned a hundred- 
acre farm. At present his farm, near Lakcport, 
New Hampshire, has but sevent)' acres, and he has 
gone into stock raising. He operates a small milk 
route, deals in cattle, and takes great pride in horses. 
He is a Democrat and belongs to the Baptist Church. 
He married, November 27, 1864, Marie S, Davis, 
born at Gilford, New Hampshire, August 13. 1S39. 
They have three children : Mamie A., born Febru- 
ary 4, 1868, married Sidney Buchannan, of Lebanon, 
New Hampshire; Laura B.. born November 6, 1871, 
married Frank Johnson, of Maiden, Massachusetts; 
Herbert, born May II. 1875, married ]\Iabel G. Pit- 
man, has three sons — Raymond H., Glendon S., and 
Stanley A. 

(IV) John, second son and fifth child of Jona- 
than and Lucy (Webster) JNIerrill, was born April 
2, 1696, in Newbury, and was reared in Bradford 
and Haverhill. He went to York, Maine, for a 
short time, and was there in 1718. Soon after this 
he settled in Concord, New Hampshire, where *he 
was one of the pioneers and was an active and 
useful citizen of the infant colony. He maintained 
a ferry over the Merrimack river, and built his 
house at the lower end of Main street, where the 
roads part. The location of the house is described 
as on a hill. This was probably at the corner of 
Main and West streets. The original well con- 
tinued in use as late as fifty years ago. !Mr. Merrill 
was chosen a deacon of the church December 17, 
1730, and was ever thereafter known by the title 
of Deacon Merrill. He married Lydia Haynes, and 
the baptism of his first three children is recorded 
in Haverhill. The names of his children were : 
Moses, Thomas, John, Hannah (died in infancy). 
Jonathan, Hannah, Nathaniel, Sarah, Ann, Abigail 
and Lydia. He had forty-three grandchildren bear- 
ing the name of Merrill. Among his descendants 
were seven ministers, two lawyers and two physi- 
cians. 

(V) John (2), third son of John (l) and Lydia 
(Haynes) Merrill, was born November 25. 1725. 
in Haverhill. JNIassachusetts, and died in 1760, in 
Bow, New Hampshire. He was a farmer, and had 
land lying in Concord, Pembroke and Bow. He 
married Rebecca Abbott, daughter of Captain Xa- 



k 









"^ K * V v^ ^ 




^ 



1 



w 

< 
U 

H 
Dei 
W 
L> 

CO 

Di 
W 
K 
u 

< 
w 

H 
O 
O 

I— t 

H 
U 

P 
O 
Pi 

Ph 

W 



- - ■ '" 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



137 



thaniel and Penelope (Ballard) Abbott, of Concord, 
and they were the parents of four children, all born 
in Concord, namely : Rebecca, Lydia, Penelope and 
John. 

(VI) John (3), youngest child of John (2) 
and Rebecca (Abbott) Merrill, was born June 14, 
1756, in Concord, and resided in that town and 
in Bow. He married Sally Robertson, of Bow, and 
their cliildren were: John, Moses, Eben and James. 

(VII) James, son of John (3) and Sally (Rob- 
ertson) Merrill, was born June 17, 1793, in Bow. 
He was a successful farmer, also a carpenter and 
wheelwright. He married. April 18. 1816, Suian 
Silver, of Bow. They had nine children, the first 
three born in Bow, three in Wentworth, the seventh 
in Wilmot and the ninth in Salisbury : Moores 
Corliss, born in Salisbury, New Hampshire, .\ugust 
18, 1817; Elihu, born July 22, 1820, married Harriet 
M. Batchclder in 1849; Willard, born December 2, 
1822, died in 1833; Lydia. born August 7, 1824, 
married B. P. Fifield, in 1S47 ; Judith, born Alay 
15, 1827, married M. L. Walker, son of Israel and 
Phoebe Cross Walker, in April, 1847; Mehitabel 
M., born May 2, 1829, married E. Busiel, in 1846; 
Benjamin, born May 12, 1831, married Abigail E., 
daughter of Thomas K. and Susan Swett, January 
20, 1856; one child who died in infancy; James H., 
born July 10, 1837, married Eliza Jane Sleeper, 
April 24, 1859. 

(VIII) Moores Corliss, eldest of the nine chil- 
dren of James and Susan (Cilley) Merrill of Bow, 
was born in Salisbury, New Hampshire, August 18, 
1817. He was educated in the common schools of 
Salisbury. He was a successful farmer all his life. 
In 1840 he bought a hundred-acre farm in North 
Sutton, and carried it on until his death, September 
iSi 1873. 3t the comparatively early age of fifty- 
six. He was a Democrat in politics, and at one 
time was a member of the Know-nothing party. 
He attended the Baptist Church, and was respected 
and bleed by all who knew him. He married i\Iary 
Jane Cunningham Tucker, daughter of Jonathan 
and Susannah Rowell Tucker, on Christmas Day, 
1844. She was born February 16, 1819, and sur- 
vived her husband twenty-one years, dying Febru- 
ary I, 1894, aged seventy-five. They had one child, 
John Taylor Merrill. 

(IX) John Taylor, only child of IMoores Cor- 
liss and Mary J. C. (Tucker) Merrill, was born 
in North Sutton, New Hampshire, May 16, 1847. 
He was educated in the common schools of North 
Sutton. In early life he learned the carpenter's 
trade, in which he became very competent. He did 
much work for the late John Hay at his summer 
home on Lake Sunapee. John T. Merrill's farm 
has one hundred and seventy-five acres, and he 
has carried on a successful dairy business. He is 
a Democrat in politics. He has been constable for 
several years, and in 1890 was ta.x collector. He 
was selectman for several terms, in 1900 was chair- 
man of the board, and received every vote in town 
but two. While selectman he made several im- 
provments in town. He built a fine iron bridge over 
the river at South Sutton and completed a cemetery 
there. He is on the board of health at South Sut- 
ton, and was formerly a Granger. For many years 
he taught singing-schools in the surrounding towns. 
For fifteen years he was leader of the old Kear- 
sargo Band of Wilmot, New Hampshire. He mar- 
ried, January i, 1871, Eflie VioIe.t Johnson, daughter 
of Joseph and Hannah (Peaslee) Johnson. She 
was born August 24, 1854. They have six children: 
Carl Gilmore, born May 3, 1872, married Luvie 



Edith Hazen of North Sutton on March 19, 1905. 
Elwin Lee, born December 25, 1882, married on De- 
cember 25, 1904, Genevieve M. Ellis ; they have 
one child, Clara G.,'born April 18, 1906. The other 
four children of John T. and Effie V. (Johnson) 
JMerrill are: Fred Elgin, born September 28, 1885; 
Reba Effie, born July 17, 1886, died the same year ; 
Orra Johnson, born July 5, 1889; Ethel Olive, born 
April I, 1899. 

(II) Abel, fourth son and youngest child of 
Nathaniel (l) and Susannah (Willerton) i\Ierrill, 
was born February 20, 1644, in Newbury, Massa- 
chusetts, and died October 28, 1689. He was mar- 
ried February 10, 1671, to Priscilla Chase, who was 
born in Newbury, March 4, 1649, daughter of Aquila 
and Anne (Wheeler) Chase (see Chase V). Anne 
Wheeler was the daughter of John Wheeler, of 
Hampton, New Hampshire, who was born in Salis- 
bury, England, and moved to Newbury, where he 
was granted land in 1646. He was a mariner, and 
is said to have brought the first vessel over the 
Merrimac bar. The children of Abel and Pris- 
cilla ]Merrill were : Abel, Susannah. Nathan, 
Thomas. Joseph, Nathaniel, Priscilla and James. 

(III) Nathan, second son and third child of 
Abel and Priscilla (Chase) Merrill, born in Nevv- 
burj', April 3, 1676, died in 1742, resided in West 
Newbury. He married (first), September 6, 1699, 
Hannah Kent, born September 10, 1679. After her 
death he married (second) Elizabeth Willet. The 
children by the first wife were : Hannah, John, 
Priscilla, Nathan, James, Stephen, Mary, Richard 
and Sarah. 

(IV) Nathan (2), second son and fourth child 
of Nathan (i) and Hannah (Kent) Merrill, was 
born May i, 1706. and died November 22, 1745. He 
married. November 22, 1731, Dorothy Carr, born 
in Salisbury, and they had six children : Richard, 
Nathan, Moses, Joseph, John and James. 

(V) Richard, eldest child of Nathan (2) and 
Dorothy (Carr) Merrill, who was born in New- 
bury, November 6, 1732, and died in 1791. was a 
housewright. He married, 1755, Mary Pillsbury, 
of Newbury, and they were the parents of eleven 
children : Mary, Dorothy, Nathan, Eunice, Rhoda, 
and Hannah (twins), Sarah, Joseph, Anne (or 
Sally Anna), Lydia and Lois. 

(VI) Nathan (,3), eldest son and third child of 
Richard and Mary (Pillsbury) Merrill, was born 
in Newbury, January 6, 1761, and died August 29, 
1836. He was in the war of the revolution, and 
served as a private in Captain Moses Little's com- 
pany of minutemen, which marched to Cambridge 
on the alarm of April 19, 1775. He was also in the 
service in Rhode Island in 1778. He moved to 
New Hampshire in 1804, and established a tavern 
on the turnpike near Bakers river in Rumney. He 
married 1785, Sarah Lowell Merrill, born March 
II. 1765. died July 13, 1822, granddaughter of Ben- 
jamin Lowell, and they had nine children: Mary, 
Nathan, Sally. Priscilla, Henry, Lydia, Phoebe, 
Jeremiah, and George. 

(VII) Captain Jeremiah, third son and eighth 
child of Nathan (3) and Sarah Lowell (Merrill) 
Merrill, was born September 7, 1803. in Newbury, 
and when a young child was taken by his parents 
to Runniey. New Hampshire, where he spent nearly 
his entire life, and died October 30, 1851. He ob- 
tained a better education than was usual at that 
time, and was a school teacher and civil engineer. 
The followin.g is a copy of the certificate issued to 
him by Dudley Leavitt, the noted almanac-maker 
and a leader in educational work of his time : 



138 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



In August, 1826, before he was twenty-three 
years old, Mr. Merrill was commissioned a lieu- 
tenant in the Third Company, Fourteenth Regiment 
of New Hampshire Militia, and on April 28, 1828, 
he was commissioned captain of the same company. 
This position he resigned at the end of four years. 
July I, 1834, he was commissioned captain of a 
rifle company of the same regiment. His superior 
ability and attainments made him a man of large 
influence in his town, and his untimely demise was 
widely regretted. He was married November I, 
1831, to Mary Ann George, who was born No- 
vember 2, 1812, in Plymouth, daughter of Robert 
and Sarah (Dearborn) George, and died Septem- 
ber 14, 1877. She was a teacher in early life, and 
was a lady of retinement and many Christian vir- 
tues. She survived her lamented husband almost 
twenty-six years. Their children were : Byron 
(died in infancy), Byron G., Adelaide, Jennie and 
Henry. 

(VIH) Byron Gustavus, second son and child 
of Jeremiah and Mary Ann (George) Merrill, was 
born in Rumney, April 21, 1834, and died at Frank- 
lin, Pennsylvania, May 12, 1902. He was born and 
grew up on a farm, and was educated in the com- 
mon schools. It is said that he was a well grown 
boy before he saw a locomotive, and at the first 
sight of one his mind was instantly made up as to 
what his life work should be — employment con- 
nected with railroads. When the Boston, Concord 
& Montreal railroad was surveyed he entered the 
employ of that road as a rodman, and later served 
as a fireman on an engine and machinist in its 
shops at Lakeport, where he was associated with 
James T. Gordon, later master mechanic of the 
Boston & Maine. In 1862 he was employed by the 
Boston Back Bay Company, under James Foss, on 
the work of filling in the Back Bay district in Bos- 
ton. From July I, 1865, he served as master me- 
chanic of the Syracuse & Binghamton railroad for 
a few years. In 1871 he became interested in oil 
wells at Franklin, Pennsylvania, and in June, 1872, 
he was in partnership with Dr. Gibson ("Doc", in 
Mark Twain's "Innocents Abroad"). In 1875 he 
became superintendent at Franklin of the mechani- 
cal department of the Galena Oil Company. Being 
one of the best qualified experts on lubricating oils 
and their proper use, he travelled and sold very 
large quantities of oils for his employers. His last 
service for the company was as consulting mechani- 
cal expert. For thirty years preceding his death 
Mr. Merrill was a legal resident of Concord, New 
Hampshire, and during that time took an active 
part in municipal afliairs, and was elected a member 
of the board of aldermen from ward six in 1876 
and 1877. Together with Mayor George A. Pills- 
bury and Hon. George A. Cummings he was 
charged in 1876 with superintending the construc- 
tion of the sewerage system, expending some fifty- 
two thousand dollars in that work. Mr. Merrill 
considered Concord his home, and regularly re- 
turned there to vote until 1899. He began life as a 
farmer boy, and achieved success by his own efforts. 

Mr. Merrill married (first), January 23, 1856, 
Esther Houston, of Plymouth, born July 6, 1835, 
died September 29, 1861, daughter of Gilmore and 
Sarah (Griffin) Houston; and (second), August 
8, 1869, Martha J. Hall, of Belmont, born December 
23, 1842, died May 18, 1874. There was born to 
the first wife one child, Adelaide Louisa, whom her 
father cherished with deep and unfailing tender- 
ness, and who has erected and given to his native 
town a handsome and costly library building, as 
a monument to his memory. 



The following tribute to the character and worth 
of Mr. Merrill is taken from the resolution adopted 
by his co-workers of the Galena-Signal Oil Com- 
pany, immediately after his decease : 

"His nature was cast in no common mould. He 
began life in poverty, and by his own efforts gained 
great wealth. Injustice never tainted his business 
transactions, and he had an honest title to all he 
gained. The secret of his business success lay in 
the fact that nature gave him a clear and discern- 
ing mind and an infle.xible will. His industry was 
tireless and obstacles in his path only urged him 
forward. He admitted few men to his confidence 
and friendship, and his true qualities were known 
only to his close friends. He was absolutely honest 
and scorned flattery and deceit. He knew his rights 
and maintained them, but his nature was kindly. 
Bereft of his wife in early manhood, he cherished 
his daughter, his only child, with deep and un- 
failing tenderness. He took leave of life as be- 
comes a brave man. In his final illness when suf- 
fering with pain, he kept a cheerful temper and a 
smile often lighted his face. We offer this tribute 
to our departed brother and have comfort in the 
knowledge that we do it in absolute sincerity and 
truth." 

(I) James A. Merrill was born in Corinth, Ver- 
mont, September 13, 1835. After the conclusion of his 
studies he served an apprenticeship at the cooper's 
trade, and locating in Brookline, New Plampshire, 
he followed it as a journeyman until the commence- 
ment of the Civil war. Enlisting as a private in 
Company C, Sixteenth Regiment, New Hampshire 
Volunteer Infantry, he spent the major part of his 
term of service in Louisiana, and after his return 
from the army he resumeld his trade in Nashua. 
In Masonry he had advanced as far as the Blue 
lodge. He married Mary Law, daughter of John 
and Ellen Law, and had a family of six children, 
four of whom are living, namely: Ida, wife of H. 
G. Manville, of Nashua ; Kate F., wife of Bert 
Harwood, also of Nashua ; Fred C, of Nashua ; 
and Frank H., who is at the present time serving 
as secretary of the Young Men's Christian As- 
sociation in Norwich, Connecticut. 

(II) Fred Corydon, son of James A. and Mary 
(Law) Merrill, was born in Nashua, December 9, 
1872. He attended the public schools, including 
the high school, and after completing his studies 
entered the service of the Boston & Maine Rail- 
way Company, in the office of the freight depart- 
ment, in which he remained for a period of four 
years. He became bookkeeper for the Roby & 
Swart Manufacturing Company, and later secretary 
and superintendent of the company, who conduct 
an extensive box factory and are dealers in dressed 
lumber, and still retains that position. Mr. Merrill 
is one of the most active and progressive young 
business men in Nashua, and is highly esteemed by 
his associates. He is a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. 

He married Rosy Clement, daughter of C. H. 
Clement, of Derry, this state. 



This is one of the many Scotch-Irish 

COX families which have contributed to the 

general development of New Hampshire, 

and its descendants are now widely scattered 

throughout the country. 

(I) Edward Cox, the immigrant ancestor, set- 
tled in Londonderry, New Hampshire, and was sub- 
sequently a resident of Nottingham West, now 
Hudson. His wife's name was Molly Mitten. 

(II) Charles, son of Edward and Molly (Mit- 




BYRON G. MERRILL 




^: ,#• 



^ ^'§^ 




\.>A\.W 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



139 



ten) Cox, was born in 1746, presumably in Hudson, 
and was one of the early settlers of Holderness, New 
Hampshire. He married Mary Elliot, who was 
probably a member of the old Chester family of 
that name. 

(HI) Thomas, son of Charles and Mary 
(Elliot) Cox, was born August 11, 1782, in Holder- 
ness, and was a farmer residing in that town, where 
he died May 3, 1830. He was married May 28, 
1807, to Miriam Dearborn, daughter of Samuel 
and Abigail (Ward) Dearborn, of Plymouth, New 
Hampshire. She was born August 10, 1787, and 
died April i, 1873, '" New Hampton, New Hamp- 
shire. After the death of Thomas Cox, she mar- 
ried (second), in 1834, Ezekiel Hoyt, of Sandwich, 
whom she survived more than eleven years. The 
children of Thomas Co.x were: Mary (died young), 
Daniel Harris, Mary, Charles, Abigail, Walter 
Blair, Eliza Ann, Caroline, Abigail Dearborn and 
Amanda. 

(IV) Walter Blair, third son and sixth child 
of Thomas and Miriam (Dearborn) Cox, was born 
April 15, 1816, in Holderness, and lived in Barn- 
stead and later in his native town, where he died 
October 5, 1878. He was a prosperous farmer, and 
for years took an active part in the management 
of public affairs in Holderness, and was at one time 
representative of that town in the state legislature. 
He was married, June 21, 1842, to Nancy Nutter, 
who was born July 24, 1823, in Barnstead, daugh- 
ter of Eliphalet and Love (Locke) Nutter. The 
children who attained years of maturity were : 
Charles Edson, mentioned below. Nellie, married 
Levi Fifield, of Worcester. Annie B. Harry. Sines. 
Ernest. 

(V) diaries Edson, eldest son of Walter B. 
and Nancy (Nutter) Cox, was born in Holderness, 
in December, 1848. After concluding his studies at 
the New Hampshire Institute he turned his atten- 
tion to mercantile pursuits, and for a number of 
years was a produce commission merchant in Man- 
chester, devoting his energies principally to the 
handling of beef. For four and one-half terms or 
a period of nine years he served as warden of the 
New Hampshire state prison, and resigning that 
position he retired permanently from active busi- 
ness pursuits. Mr. Cox resides in Manchester, 
where he is highly esteemed for his unimpeachable 
integrity as well as other commendable qualities, 
and he was at one time the Republican candidate 
for mayor. He is far advanced in the Masonic 
order, affiliating with several of the higher bodies, 
including the Order of the Mystic Shrine, and he 
is a prominent member of the Free Will Baptist 
Church, contributing liberally toward its support. 
He married Evelyn Mary Randall, daughter of 
Thomas B. and Mary (Pickering) Randall, the 
latter a daughter of John Pickering, was descended 
from one of New Hampshire's most prominent 
colonial families. Mr. and Mrs. Cox are the 
parents of four sons, namely : Walter, a resident 
of Manchester and a well-known equine expert; 
Louis S., who is residing in Lawrence, Massachu- 
setts, an ex-senator : Channing, a successful Boston 
lawyer; and Guy W., who is referred to at greater 
length in the succeeding paragraph. 

(VI) Guy Wilbur Cox, A. M., LL. B., son 
of Charles Edson and Evelyn M. (Randall) Cox, 
was born in Manchester, January 19, 1871. While 
pursuing his preliminary branches of his education 
he gave evidence of an inherent capacity for learn- 
ing which he afterward displayed during his 
Collegiate and professional studies. At Dartmouth 



College, where he took his Bachelor degree in 1893, 
and that of Master of Arts in course, he not only 
acquired distinction for general scholarship, but at- 
tained high rank in Latin, physics and chemistry, 
won special honors in mathematics and was vale- 
dictorian of his class. For some time after con- 
cluding his classical studies he was a member of 
the force of instructors in the Manchester high 
school, but educational pursuits merely served him 
as a stepping-stone to the legal profession, and 
he relinquished them entirely after having taught 
for one or more terms at the evening high school 
in Boston. His diligent application to his studies 
while a law student at the Boston University, with 
the class of 1896, resulted in his receiving, in ad- 
dition to the degree of Bachelor of Laws, the 
coveted Magna cum Laude, and his graduation was 
followed immediately by his admission to the Suf- 
folk county bar. Becoming a partner in the Boston 
law firm of Butler, Cox & Murchie, the senior 
member of which, Hon. William M. Butler, was for 
several sessions president of the Massachusetts 
senate, he began the practice of his profession with 
the spirit of energy which must invariably lead 
to a substantial success, and although fully equipped 
for the transaction of a general law business he 
devotes his particular attention to corporation, in- 
surance and street railway laws. 

In politics Mr. Co.x is a Republican. In 1902 
he served in the Boston city council from ward 
ten and was re-elected for the following year; was 
representative to the lower branch of the state 
legislature in 1903 and again in 1904, and in 1906 
he was elected a state senator from the tenth Suf- 
folk district, and was re-elected for 1907. In the 
lower house he was chairman of the committee on 
probate and chancery, also a member of a special 
committee on relations between employees and em- 
ployers, and as a member of the committee on 
cities, one of the busiest committees in that body, 
he not only took charge of its principal measures, 
but acted as its spokesman on the floor of the 
house. While a first year member he was accorded 
the unusual honor of being selected by the leaders 
of both parties as one of the speakers at the closing 
exercises. In the senate he was assigned to the 
chairmanship of the committees on election laws, 
metropolitan affairs and taxation, and to member- 
ship of those on military affairs and education. 
At the close of the session, 1907, he was appointed 
chairman of the state commission on ta.xation to 
certify and revise the laws on taxation. Later he 
"was appointed by the governor chairman of the 
commission to represent Massachusetts at the Na- 
tional Tax Conference. l\Ir. Cox is secretary of the 
Dartmouth Alumni Association, and a member of 
Putnam Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
Boston, the Republican Club of Massachusetts, the 
Republican League of Ward Ten, Boston, the Uni- 
versity Club of Boston, the WoUaston Club, the 
New Hampshire Club and the University Club. 



This name has been honorably as- 
DUTTON sociated wMth the history of New 
Hampshire from a very early period 
and is found among the pioneer settlers of Massa- 
chusetts, being especially prominent in the town of 
Billerica. In the early Colonial wars with the 
Indians it bore conspicuous part, and it has been 
no less worthy in the civilizing arts of peace. 

(I) Thomas Dutton, probably a native of Eng- 
land, was among the early residents of Reading, 
Massachusetts, and was a short time in Woburn. 



I40 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



He is supposed to have been a son of John Dulton, 
and to have been born soon after 1620. He was 
accepted as an inhabitant of Billerica, November 22, 
1669, and Hved on the south side of Fox brook 
by an old road long since abandoned, leading to 
the "great plain." His first wife, Susannah, died 
August 27, 1684, and he married (second), Novem- 
ber ID, 1684, Ruth Hooper, said by one authority 
to have been a daughter of William Hooper, of 
Reading, and by another to have been his widow. 
Hooper died about 1678, and left both widow and 
daughter by that name. All of Mr. Button's chil- 
dren were born before his arrival in Billerica, the 
last five in Woburn. They were ; Thomas, born 
September 14, 1648; Mary, Susannah, John, Eliza- 
beth, 1658-59; Joseph, Sarah, James, and Benja- 
min, 1667. 

(II) John, second son and fourth child of 
Thomas and Susannah Button, was born March 2, 
1656, probably in Reading, and lived in Billerica, 
on the north side of the Andover road. He died 
April 7, 1735, and was survived more than three 
years by his widow. He married, September 20, 
1681, Sarah, daughter of Daniel Shed, one of the 
early residents of Billerica. She died February 

27, 1721, and he married in May, 1721, Ruth Frost, 
probably widow of Dr. Samuel Frost. She died 
July iS, 1738. His children were: Sarah. John, 
died at three days old; Hannah, Abigail, Samuel, 
John, Jonathan and James. 

(III) Jonathan, fourth son and seventh child 
of John and Sarah (Shed) Dutton, was born 
February 10, 1700, and resided in Billerica. He 
married, June 22, 1722, Sarah Levistone, daughter 
of John and Margaret (Ross) Levistone, natives of 
Scotland. His children were : John, Sarah, Jona- 
than, David, Mary and Joshua. 

(IV) Jonathan (2), second son and third child 
of Jonathan (l) and Sarah (Levistone) Dutton, 
was born March 29, 1727, and resided in Billerica. 

(V) Jonathan (3), son of Jonathan (2) Dut- 
ton, was born July 4, 1750, and was drowned in the 
Merrimack river in 1785. 

(VI) Deacon Roger, son of Jonathan (3) 
Dutton, was born September 8, 1785, and died May 

28, 1855, in Hooksett, where it is supposed that he 
was also born. He was a cooper nearly all his life, 
and resided first in the southern part of the town 
of Hooksett, and later settled in the village of 
Hooksett. During the last years he attended the 
toll bridge at that point. He was one of the first 
deacons of the Congregational Church of that place, 
and was a highly respected citizen. His wife, Rachael 
(Sawyer) Dutton, died there ^larch 22, 1850, at 
the age of sixty-four years. She was born Oc- 
tober 5, 1785. Their eldest child, Rachael, mar- 
ried Seth K. Jones, and has descendants now re- 
siding in Concord. Jacob S., the second, is the 
subject of the succeeding paragraph. Eben died in 
Epsom, where some of his descendants are now 
living. Rebecca died unmarried. Betsey became 
the wife of Rev. Joseph \V. Tarleton, a Congre- 
gational clerg}-man. and died in Epsom. 

(VII) Jacob Sawyer, eldest son of Deacon 
Roger and Rachael (Sawyer) Dutton, was born May 

29, 181 1, in that part of Chester which is now 
Hooksett, and died January 18, 1863. He married, 
October 25. 1829, Alice Hanscomb, of Barrington, 
this state, born November 25, 1810, in Dunbarton, 
New Hampshire, and died March 21, 1882, in Hook- 
sett. Their eldest child, Roger, is now a resident 
of Cadyville, near Plattsburg, New York. Daniel 
Sawyer, the second, receives extended mention be- 



low. Jacob Sylvanus is further noticed in this 
article. Mary E. is the widow of Benjamin A. Ham, 
and lives at Winthrop Beach, Massachusetts. Mr. 
Dutton was a farmer, his land lying south of the 
present Pinnacle Park, and he resided in the house 
now occupied by Nathaniel Clark in Hooksett, 
which was built more than a hundred years ago. 
He was an attendant of the Congregational Church, 
and a straightforward Democrat in political affilia- 
tions. 

(VIII) Daniel Sawyer, second son and child 
of Jacob S. and Alice (Hanscomb) Dutton, was 
born November II, 1834, in Hooksett, where he 
passed his life and died January 14, 1889. He 
learned the trade of collar-maker, and was em- 
ployed at it during his active life. He was an 
industrious and successful man, and engaged in 
the manufacture of horse collars upon his own 
account for many years. He was an attendant of 
the Congregational Church with his wife, though a 
Universalist in religious faith. He was a steadfast 
supporter of the principles of the Republican party, 
and did some service to his native town in various 
capacities, being many years prudential school com- 
mittee of the town. He married, November i, 
1855, Susannah Dorman Ham, born August 15, 1837, 
in Newfield, Maine, daughter of John, Jr., and 
Paulina H. (Dorman) Ham, both of whom were 
natives of that town (see Ham, VII). 

(IX) John Calvin, only child of Daniel S. 
and Susannah D. (Ham) Dutton, was born De- 
cember 19, i860, in Hooksett, and has always re- 
sided in his native town, receiving his education 
in the local schools. At any early age he was 
accustomed to assist his father and thus acquired 
habits of industry which have formed the foundation 
of his success, and his intelligent observations and 
persistent efforts have enabled him to take up and 
successfully fill the responsible positions which he 
now holds. For ten years he was employed by 
S. D. McAfee & Company in a grocery store, and 
for the succeeding seven years was employed by 
the Hooksett Manufacturing Company about its 
mills. With a natural taste for machinery, he 
observed the working of the mills and became fa- 
miliar with the operation of various heavy ma- 
chines. Under several employers he has been en- 
gaged about the electrical plant at Hooksett. and 
helped install what is now the plant of the I\Ian- 
chester Traction, Light & Power Company, and 
for the last nine years has had charge of its 
dynamos. Mt. Dutton has always taken an intelli- 
gent interest in the progress of aflfairs, and has 
been active in furthering the best interests of 
his native town to the extent of his ability. In 
1886 he served as selectman, and has been town 
clerk continuously since 1887. During the last 
three years he has also acted as treasurer of the 
town, and treasurer of the school district in which 
he resides. He has been a member of the town 
board of health from its organization, and repre- 
sented the town in the legislature in 1907-08. He 
is a supporter of the Congregational (Thurch, and 
was a regular attendant upon its worship until the 
duties of his present position prevented. He is a 
member of Friendship Lodge, No. 19, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, of Hooksett. having been in- 
itiated in January, 1882, and has passed the principal 
chairs, and is now ser\'ing as treasurer of the Lodge, 
having filled that position since April 24, 1889. 
For about twenty years he has been a member of 
Jewell Lodge, No. 94, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Suncook. ]\Ir. Dutton is an enthusiastic be- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



141 



liever in and supporter of the political principles 
promulgated by the Republican party. He is a well- 
informed and intelligent citizen, and his services as 
a citizen and ofiicer are appreciated by his com- 
patriots. 

(VIII) Jacob Sylvanus, third son and child 
of Jacob S. and Alice (.Hanscomb) Dutton, was 
born in Hooksett, December 30, 1837. He left 
school at fifteen years of age and took employment 
in the cotton factory at that place and worked there 
a number of years. In 1858 he became an employe 
in Hill's harness shop in Concord, where he re- 
mained seven years. At the end of that period he 
bought the Elm House, an establishment of forty 
rooms, which stood on the corner of Maine and 
Pleasant streets, where he provided "bed and 
board, for the traveling public for tw'elve years. 
Subsequently he resided in New York six years 
and again kept the hotel two years. For the pur- 
pose of widening ]Main street the building was 
tlien condemned and torn down. He then built on 
the site of the old hotel the present Dutton Block. 
The same year he also built a block on Beacon 
street, and in 1887 purchased his present residence 
on Lyndon street. In 1905 he built another resi- 
dence on Lyndon street. Mr. Dutton is a Republi- 
can, but occasionally, in a spirit of fairness and 
liberality, casts a ballot for a candidate on the 
Democratic ticket. He was made an Odd Fellow 
in 1866, joining White Mountain Lodge, No. 5, 
of which he is still a member, and was one of the 
first members in Concord of the Patriarchs Militant 
of that order. He attends the North Congregational 
Church. 

September 18, 1856, he married Nancy L. Dow, 
daughter of Israel and Abigail Dow, born Febru- 
ary 27, 1S38, near VVilmot. Three children were 
born of this marriage: i. Hattie, January 20, 1866, 
died young. 2. Edward William, September 18, 
1S68, is a nurse in Concord. He married Grace 
Ordway, daughter of John Ordway, of Loudon, aiid 
they have a son Earl and a daughter Louise, both 
living in Concord. 3. Nancy Bertha, born July 
5, 1877, at Corning, New York. 



Tradition states that Roger Ama- 
AMIDON downe was a French Fluguenot, w'ho, 
after the revocation of the Edict of 
Nantes, was compelled to flee from France, and 
that he went to England and spent several years, 
and finally emigrated to America. Nothing is 
known of the place or date of his ^ birth or of 
his parentage. The majority of his descendants 
spell the name Amidon, while others of the family 
spell it Amadon, Araedon, Amidown, Ammidon and 
Ammidown. In the records of Plymouth Colony 
and Rehoboth the name generally appears in the 
form of Amadowne. 

(I) Roger Amadowne is first mentioned in the 
records of Salem, Massachusetts, in 1637, where on 
the 25th day of the loth month he is allotted half 
an acre of the marsh and meadow land then divid- 
ed among two hundred and twenty-four persons. 
He is next found in Weymouth in 1640, where a 
portion of the town record reads : ''Sara, daughter 
of Roger Amadowne, born 10(6) 1640." Three 
years later he is next noted in Boston as follows : 
"Lida, daughter of Roger and Sara Amadowne 
27 Feb. 1643." 

In the year last mentioned a company of per- 
sons from Weymouth formed a settlement at Reho- 
both. In 1648 Roger Amadowne appears at Reho- 
both, being the forty-third on the list of proprietors. 
He resided in that part of the town which after 



the division was called Seekonk, and in the record 
he is referred to as "Goodman" Amadowne. July 
18, 1648, he was granted by Rehoboth a house lot 
between Walter Palmer's house lot and the mill. 
June 3, 1662, he was granted a tract of land by 
the Plymouth court, and June 7, 1665, he was 
granted fifty acres lying at a place called the Ten 
Alile river. In 165S he was granted more land, 
and in 1671 had a grant of one hundred acres. In 
1057 his name appears on the list of freemen, and 
in 1658 he first served on the coroner's jury, in 
which capacity he afterwards served several 
times. 

The name of Roger Amadowne's first wife was 
Sarah, and she died at Rehoboth, June 30, 16O8. 
He married (second), December 27, 1608, Joanna, 
daughter of George and Jane Harwood. he died 
(probably), November 11, 1673, and was buried 
November 13, 1673. His wife Joanna survived him 
and died July I, 171 1. His children by the first 
wife were : Ebenezer, Sarah, Lydia, Hannah ; and 
by the second wife: Philip, Henry and -Ue- 
hitable. 

(,11) Philip Amidown, eldest child of Roger 
by his second wife, Joanna, was born at Rehobotn, 
January 2b, 1670, and died at Oxford, iNlarch 15, 
1747, aged seventy-seven. He resided at Rehobotn 
until alter the death of his first wife, when he 
removed to Mendon. In 1704 his minister's rate 
at Alendon was one shilling, and he had a share in 
the sixth division of the lands there in 17 13. In 
1717 he removed to Oxford, wdiere he died ten 
years later. In 1720 he and his wife united with 
the church on its organization in Oxford. In 1730 
he served as selectman, and in 1735 as constable. 
He married (first;, at Rehoboth, i\lay 2y, 1O98, 
i\iehitable Perry, born at Rehoboth, April 30, 16S0, 
and died there July 4, 1O99, daughter of Samuel and 
iSIary (Millard; Perrj-. He married (second;, Sep- 
tember 16, 1700, Ithamar Warfield, born March 28, 
1676, daughter of Deacon John and Hannah (Ran- 
dall) Warfield, of Mendon. Philip Amidown had 
by his first wife one child, Henry; and his second 
wife, eight : Roger, Ichabod, Mary, Philip, Ephraim, 
Ithamar, John and Hannah. 

(ill; Lieutenant Ichabod, second son and child 
of Philip and Ithamar (Warfield; Amidown, was 
born in May, 1704. He was a farmer and resided 
in Mendon. He served as selectman in 1756, was 
on the grand jury in 1758, and as he is called lieu- 
tenant in the records of the town, he was prob- 
ably an officer in the militia. He married. May 
7, 1732, Margery Aldrich, born March 14. 1714, 
and died in 1753, daughter of Jacob and .Margery 
(Hayward) Aldrich, of JNIendon. Their children 
were: Ichabod, tlannah, JMargery, died young; 
Ebenezer, jNlargery, Mary, Philip, Hannah and Ja- 
cob, whose sketch follows. 

(FV) Jacob, youngest child of Ichabod and 
Margery (.A.ldrich; .-^midon, was born at Mendon, 
Massachusetts, September 15, 1753, and died in 
Chesterfield, New Hampshire, February 11, 1839, 
aged eighty-six. His name appears in the catalogue 
of Harvard among the graduates of the class of 
1775. He enlisted in the patriot army and served 
during a large part of the Revolutionary war. For 
twenty-eight months he was a prisoner of war on 
a British prison ship. The Revolutionary war rolls 
of Massachusetts give his record : "Jacob .Ammi- 
don, jMendon, Private in Captain Andrew Peter's 
Company, Colonel Joseph Read's Regiment ; muster 
roll dated August I, 1775; enlisted May 13, 1775; 
served two months and twenty-four days; also 
company return dated Roxbury, September 25, 1775. 



142 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



In another paragraph Jacob Ammidown's record 
reads: Captain's clerk; list of prisoners sent from 
Newport, Rhode Island, in the prison ship, "Lord 
Sandwich," and landed at Bristol, March 7, 1778." 
His name was placed on the pension roll in 1833. 
December 23, 1782, he purchased in Chesterfield, 
New Hampshire, a portion of lot No. 5, in the 
Eighth Range, and probably settled in the town soon 
afterwards. He resided near the Central Village 
on the farm after owned and occupied many years 
by his son Otis, and built the house now owned 
by the Methodist Society in Chesterfield, and used 
as a parsonage. He probably engaged in trade for 
a time after settling in Chesterfield, as he was 
styled "trader" in the deed of the land he pur- 
chased in the town. In 1785 he was chosen town 
clerk, and held the office by successive elections 
till 1800. He was selectman in 1785 and 1797. He 
married Esther Ladd, born September 26, 17O2, and 
died March 26, 1S52, in the ninetieth year of her age. 
She was the daughter of Timothy and Rachel 
(Spencer) Ladd, of Chesterfield. Their children 
were: Lucretia, Harriet, died young; Rachel, died 
young; Otis, Rachel, Jacob and Harriet. 

(V) Otis, fourth child and eldest son of Jacob 
and Esther (Ladd) Amidon, was born in Chester- 
field, April 26, 1794, and died there July 22, 1866, 
aged seventy-two. He lived on the homestead his 
father bought, and was engaged in agriculture. For 
many years he was prominent in the affairs of town 
and church. He served as selectman from 182S 
to 1831 inclusive, and represented his town in the 
general court in 1833-35-38-56. For a long time he 
held the office of justice of the peace, the duties 
of which he was well qualified to perform, and he 
was one of the veteran "squires" of the town, as 
well as one of the most substantial and influential 
citizens. He married, March 16, 1825, Nancy Cook, 
born in Cambridge, Massachusetts, February 3, 
1795, and died in Hinsdale, New Ha