(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Genealogical and family history of central New York; a record of the achievements of her people in the making of a commonwealth and the building of a nation"

r — 

974.7 M 

C98g 

v.2 

1136119 



GENEALCCY COLLECTION 



ALLEN COUNTY PUBLIC i IBRAR I 

illlllilSiSISIIIIIIIII! 

3 1833 01148 8001 



GENEALOGICAL 

AND 

FA MILY HISTORY 

OF 

CENTRAL NEW YORK 



A RECORD OF THE ACHIEVEMENTS OF HER PEOPLE IN THE MAKING 

OF A COMMONWEALTH AND THE BUILDING 

OF A NATION 



COMPILED UNDER THE EDITORIAL SUPERVISION OF 

WILLIAM RICHARD CUTTER, A. M. 

corresponding secretary and historian of new england historic-genealogical 

Society; librarian emeritus of woburn Public Library; author 

of "Cutter Family," "History of Arlington." etc.. etc. 



VOLUME I 



LLUSTRATED 



NEW YORK 

LEWIS HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY 

1912 



Copyright 1912 

BY 

Lewis Historical Publishing Company. 



NEW YORK 



1136119 



The immigrant ancestor of the 
HATCH Hatch family of Buffalo, New 

York, herein recorded, was a son 
of Sir Walter Hatch, of England. 

(i) William Hatch, the first of his name 
in America, and one of the earliest settlers of 
Scituate, Massachusetts, was born in Sand- 
wich, Kent county, England, from which place 
he emigrated to America before 1633. In the 
course of a year or two he went back to Eng- 
land for his family, and returned in March, 
1635, in the ship "Hercules," with his wife 
Jane, five children and six servants. He set- 
tled in Scituate in Kent street in 1634, prior 
to his return to England, and on arriving the 
second time, with his family, resumed his resi- 
dence there. He kept a store and was rated 
a merchant of ability. He was a very active 
and useful man in town and church, being 
lieutenant of militia and the first ruling elder 
of the Second Church of Scituate, which was 
founded in 1644. He died November 6, 165 1. 
Thomas Hatch, supposed to have been an 
elder brother of William, lived first in Dor- 
chester, but moved to Scituate, where he died 
in 1646, leaving five children : Jonathan, Wil- 
liam, Thomas, Alice and Hannah. Children of 
William and Jane Hatch, all born in England : 
Jane, married John Lovell ; Annie, married, 
1648, Lieutenant James Torrey ; Walter, of 
further mention; Hannah, married, 1648, 
Samuel Utley ; William, died in Virginia, 
about 1646, married Abigail Hewes, and had 
Phoebe; Jeremiah, died in 1713, married, in 
1657, Mary Hewes, and had fourteen children. 
(II) Walter, eldest son of Elder William 
and Jane Hatch, was born in England, in 
1623 ; died in Scituate, Massachusetts, March, 
1701. He is on the list of those capable of 
bearing arms in 1643. He settled on a point - 
of land in Scituate, southeast of the Second 
Society's meeting house, and spent his life in 
farming. He married (first) May 6, 1650, 
Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas and Jane Hol- 
brook, of Weymouth, who was mother of all 
his children. He married (second) Mary 
, of Marshfield, August 5, 1674. Chil- 
dren, all born in Scituate : Hannah, born 

50 



March 13, 165 1 ; Samuel, December 22, 1653, 
farmer and shipwright; Jane, March 7, 1656; 
Antipas, October 26, 1658, died unmarried, 
December 7, 1705; Bethia, March 31, 1661, 
married, 1683, Michael Ford; John, July 8, 
1664, died August, 1737; Israel, of further 
mention ; Joseph, December 9, 1669. 

(Ill) Israel, son of Walter and Elizabeth 
(Holbrook) Hatch, was born in Scituate, 
Massachusetts, March 25, 1667, died October, 
1740. He married, July 27, 1699, Elizabeth 
Hatch, a kinswoman. Children : Lydia, born 
October 16, 1699; Israel (2), May 5, 1701, 
married Mary Hatch, had Bethial Thomas, 
born October 27, 1725 ; Elizabeth, January 22, 
1704, married Samuel Oakman, of Marshfield, 
January 6, 1725; David, of further mention; 
Jonathan, October 28, 1709. 

(IV) David, son of Israel and Elizabeth 
Hatch, was born April 9, 1707. He married, 
March 7, 1731, Elizabeth Chittenden. Chil- 
dren : Zephaniah, of further mention ; David, 
born May 2, 1735 ; Desire, January 24, 1740 ; 
Thomas, May 20, 1743 ; Lucy, March 29, 1746; 
Rachel, October 12, 1748. 

(V) Zephaniah, eldest son of David and 
Elizabeth (Chittenden) Hatch, was born in 
Scituate, Massachusetts, March 18, 1732, and 
died in Pembroke, Massachusetts, November 
19, 181 5. He married there (second) May 7, 
1771, Mary Vinal. (Published intentions of 
marriage add a "Mrs." to her name. ) This 
is no doubt a second wife. The vital records 
of Scituate do not contain his death nor the 
birth of any of his children, these being re- 
corded at Pembroke, Massachusetts. Three of 
his name, Zephaniah, served in the revolution, 
from Pembroke, Massachusetts, the first two 
in Captain Thomas Turner's company, in 1775, 
three days, and again in 1777, one month and 
three days. This is undoubtedly Zephaniah Sr. 
in both cases. He enlisted again in 1778, in 
Captain Ichabod Bonney's company, serving 
two months and eleven days. (Massachusetts 
Records). The third name is undoubtedly 
Zephaniah (2), son of Zephaniah (1). He 
also served from Pembroke, as sergeant of 
Captain Freedom Chamberlain's company, in 



502 



NEW YORK. 



1775, and served under several enlistments un- 
til 1780. Children of first wife, name not 
known : . Josiah, of further mention ; Deborah, 
baptized May 3, 1761 ; Ruth, September 9, 
1764; Sarah, October 12, 1766. Child of 
second wife : Lucinda, baptized November 8, 
1772. 

(VI) Josiah, son of Zephaniah (1) and 
Mary (Vinal) Hatch, was born 1754, in Pem- 
broke, Massachusetts, and baptized September 
18, 1759. He served in the revolution from 
Pembroke, as a private in Captain Freedom 
Chamberlain's company; marched March 5, 

1776, served five days with the company when 
it marched on the alarm of March 5, 1776, at 
the time of taking Dorchester Heights ; also 
in Captain John Turner's company, Colonel 
Theophilus Cotton's regiment, marched Sep- 
tember 28, 1777, service one month three days. 
Family authorities say that he served as sur- 
geon. He married, in Duxbury, Massachu- 
setts, November 7, 1779, Elizabeth Weston, 
and settled in Granville, Massachusetts. 

(VII) Junius Hopkins, son of Josiah and 
Elizabeth (Weston) Hatch, was born in Gran- 
ville, Massachusetts, about 1795, died in Buf- 
falo, New York, April 20, 1869. He obtained 
a good education, and for several years taught 
school. During these years he prepared for 
the profession of law under the perceptorship 
of Judge. William Van Ness and Ogden Ed- 
wards. He was admitted to the bar, and in 
1839 settled in Buffalo, New York, where he 
engaged in the practice of his profession and 
dealt in real estate, dealing extensively in 
Michigan lands. He not only was instru- 
mental in sending many settlers to that state, 
but with his wife became pioneer settlers. They 
settled near what is now St. Joseph, Michigan, 
where he cleared a farm and founded a set- 
tlement. While he was so engaged his wife, 
who was an earnest missionary worker, opened 
a mission school, the first in the state. After 
enduring the perils and hardships of the pion- 
eer and helping to create a state, he returned 
to Buffalo, which he had always considered 
his home, and passed his last days in that city 
in the enjoyment of the wealth his pioneer 
enterprise had brought him. He was a man 
of great learning and energy. He took a 
leader's part wherever he was, and always 
commanded the respect of his fellows. He 
was elected to the New York state assembly 
and served with credit. He married, in 1835, 
Sarah Catherine Mitchell, of New York City, 



born 1815, died 1847. Children who grew to 
maturity: 1. Junius Hopkins (2), born in 
Monroe. Michigan, April 5, 1837 ; now a resi- 
dent of Lansing, Michigan; married Anna 
Robinson, and has Lottie, Elsie and Roger 
Conant. 2. Edward N., born in New York 
City, February 8, 1841 ; married, February 24, 
1873, Mary Thayer. Children: William, Al- 
bert, Rose and Conant. 3. Albert Gallatin, of 
further mention. 4. William B., born Septem- 
ber 2, 1845, died October 19, 1868; unmarried. 
5. Grace B., born October 27, 1849 ; un- 
married. 

(VIII) Albert Gallatin, son of Junius Hop- 
kins and Sarah Catherine (Mitchell) Hatch, 
was born in Buffalo, New York, February 21, 
1842. His early education was obtained in 
old public school No. 18. He finished his edu- 
cation at Ann Arbor, Michigan, graduating 
from the high school. After leaving school 
his father put him and his brother Edward N. 
on the farm near St. Joseph, Michigan, think- 
ing to give them a good start in life. He sent 
them a large number of peach trees with which 
to start their orchards, but the boys were hav- 
ing a good time fishing and hunting, and left 
the tree planting for another time. When a 
year later their father visited the farm, instead 
of a thriving orchard he found the trees in 
the original bundles, lying on the ground. He 
decided the boys were not intended for farmers 
and all returned to Buffalo. Here Albert G. 
secured a position in the Manufacturers and 
Traders' Bank, which he filled for one year, 
then became clerk in a leather and wool house, 
where he remained for some time, and after 
becoming thorough master of the business en- 
gaged in the same line on his own account. 
He formed a partnership with Hartwell 
Bowen, and as Bowen & Hatch did a very 
successful business for several years. The 
death of Mr. Bowen dissolved the firm, Mr. 
Hatch disposing of his interest. He then be- 
gan dealing in real estate, and for many years 
has been one of Buffalo's energetic and suc- 
cessful operators. His greatest interest is per-' 
haps in the pursuit of the study of archaeology, 
and in the gathering of what is said to be the 
finest private collection in existence. He is 
an authority on this most valuable science that 
supplies the material which neither history nor 
present information can furnish, concerning 
the relics of man and his industries, and the 
classification and treatment of ancient remains 
and records of every kind, historic or prehis- 



NEW YORK. 



503 



toric of ancient places and customs. He has 
devoted a great deal of time and money to 
gathering his collection, which, as stated, is 
considered by experts as one of the finest in 
existence. In politics he is a Republican. He 
married (first), 1866, Charlotte Spicer, who 
died, leaving two children : Katherine, mar- 
ried Baron Alexander Van Schroeder, of Ger- 
many ; and Anna. He married (second), Jan- 
uary 25, 1889, Kate M. Smith, of Orange, 
New Jersey. 

(The Holbrook Line). 
Elizabeth Holbrook, wife of Walter Hatch 
(see Hatch), was of English descent, perhaps 
birth. Her father, Thomas Holbrook, born in 
Brantry, England, came to America in 1635, 
with his wife Jane and four children, two 
more being born in America. He settled in 
Weymouth, Massachusetts, where he became 
a man of wealth and prominence. He was 
one of the original grantees of Rehoboth, Mas- 
sachusetts, but for not removing to his lands 
there they were forfeited in 1645. He owned 
lands in Scituate, Massachusetts, where his 
sons, Captain William and Thomas (2) re- 
moved in 1660. Captain William purchased 
land in Conihassett and made permanent set- 
tlement. Thomas, however, only remained un- 
til after his marriage in Scituate to Deborah 
Daman, then shortly after returned to Wey- 
mouth. Thomas was selectman of Weymouth, 
1645-46-51-54. He was elected representative 
to the general court, 1649, and was one of the 
committee to lay out the highway between 
Weymouth and Dorchester. Thomas and Jane 
Holbrook had three sons and three daughters, 
as named in his will, which was probated 
April 24, 1677, although made December 31, 
1668. with codicil, five years later. His wife 
Jane survived him. The will recites: "To 
wife Jane all my estate during her life," (re- 
questing sons John, William and Thomas to 
be helpful to her) "as she is ancient and weak 
of body." His property was afterward to be 
divided between the three sons and "my three 
daughters, Ann Reynolds, Elizabeth Hatch 
and Jane Drake." Elizabeth married Walter 
Hatch, who was of the second generation in 
America, and progenitor of Albert Gallatin 
Hatch, of the eighth generation. 



On paternal lines this branch 
STRINGER of the Stringer family de- 
scends in comparatively re- 
cent years from English forbears, while the 



maternal line traces back to the earliest settle- 
ment in New England and the early Pilgrims, 
John Alden and Priscilla Mullins, of the 
"Mayflower." George Alfred Stringer of Buf- 
falo is a paternal grandson of John Stringer, 
who was born, lived and died in Dartford, 
county of Kent, England. He had six sons 
that came to the United States : William, the 
eldest, who went out to California in '49 in his 
own vessel, settled in San Francisco, and died 
there many years later ; Charles, a merchant 
of Elmira, New York, whose family now re- 
sides in New Jersey; Frederick, who settled 
in New Orleans, Louisiana, in the clothing 
business, married Miss Howell, a cousin of 
Mrs. Jefferson Davis, wife of the President 
of the Southern Confederacy ; Thomas, of St. 
Louis, Missouri, later of Brooklyn, New York, 
where he died; James, who located in New 
York City, where in company with the Town- 
sends formed the bookselling and publishing 
hou^e of Stringer & Townsend, one of the first 
bookstores in the city, and later published one 
of the first editions of Cooper's Novels. 

(II) George, son of John Stringer, was 
born in Dartford, England, in 1809. He came 
to the United States about 1830 and located 
at Hartford, Connecticut, where he shortly 
afterwards engaged in the mercantile business. 
About 1859 he removed to Buffalo and en- 
gaged in the manufacture of wrapping paper 
and twine, being one of the pioneers in that 
business in Buffalo. He took an active part 
in the business life of Buffalo, and was well 
know?; in church and town. For several years 
he was vestryman of St. John's Episcopal 
Church, and aided in the establishment and 
operation of other institutions of his city. He 
married Clarissa Alden Ellsworth of East 
Windsor, Connecticut, a descendant of John 
Alden, of the "Mayflower," Sergeant Joseph 
Alden, a revolutionary soldier of Connecticut, 
and of Lieutenant Solomon Ellsworth, also a 
Connecticut revolutionary soldier. Children : 
1. George A., of further mention. 2. Clara 
Alden, deceased. 3. Emma Ellsworth, mar- 
ried Nirum A. Lamphear, now of Los An- 
geles, California. 4. John Edwards, married 
a cousin, Clara Stringer, both deceased. 

(III) George Alfred, son of George and 
Clarissa Alden (Ellsworth) Stringer, was born 
in Hartford, Connecticut, October 23, 1845. 
About 1859 his parents removed to Buffalo, 
New York, which has since been his home. 
He prepared for college under private teach- 



504 



NEW YORK. 



ers, but financial reasons turned him to a busi- 
ness career. After a clerkship in an insurance 
office, he became a member of the insurance 
firm of Rounds, Hall & Company. Afterward 
for about twenty-five years he was engaged 
in the same business as senior partner of 
Stringer & Cady. Since the dissolution of 
that firm he has carried on an independent 
business in loans, insurance and brokerage. 
Since 1896 Mr. Stringer has been closely con- 
nected with the work of the Buffalo Historical 
Society, of which he is a trustee, serving six 
year? on the board, and nine years as vice- 
president. He is also a corresponding member 
of the Rochester Historical Society, Rochester, 
New York; Niagara Frontier Landmarks As- 
sociation, for marking historical sites (execu- 
tive committee and chairman financial commit- 
tee) ; president, 1889-1902, 1904-1911, Society 
of Colonial Wars ; now president of the Buf- 
falo Chapter of that Society ; ex-president 
Buffalo Chapter, Sons of the Revolution ; ex- 
president Buffalo Chapter, Mayflower Society ; 
for twenty years a member of the Grolier Club 
of New York (now resigned) : Bibliophile 
Society of Boston, and was one of fifteen 
members selected to contribute to Volume V 
of the superb edition of "Horace" issued in 
1891 (Ode V, "To Augustus," with introduc- 
tion) ; president Browning Society of Buffalo; 
delegate to the "One Hundred Years Peace 
Society" from the Society of Colonial Wars ; 
Hakluyt Society of London; for past fifteen 
years financial secretary Buffalo Society of 
Artists, and member of University Club of 
Buffalo. Mr. Stringer has published "Shakes- 
peare's Draughts From the Living Water." 
(privately printed 1883) ; "Leisure Moments 
in Gough Square" (1888) ; and "The King 
and the Cross" (1901). In 1904 Hobart Col- 
lege conferred upon him the honorary degree 
Master of Arts. For thirteen consecutive 
years he was a vestryman of St. Paul's Epis- 
copal Church of Buffalo. He married, in 
Buffalo, April, 1869, Eliza Coe. daughter of 
Hon. Jesse and Ann Eldridge Walker of Buf- 
falo. Child : Geraldine May Alden. 

Judge Jesse Walker, graduated from Mid- 
dlebury College (Vermont) and after pur- 
suing a course of legal study at Rochester, 
New York, settled in Buffalo in 1835, where 
he resided until his death, September, 1852. 
For many years he gave almost undivided at- 
tention to the duties of the office, master in 
chancery, but at times was engaged in the ac- 



tive practice of his profession. He was a man 
of fine literary tastes, and acquired local 
celebrity as a cultured, finished scholar. In 
185 1 he was elected judge of Erie county, 
being the second to hold that office. During 
his term of service on the bench, so soon cut 
short by death, he discharged the duties with 
great satisfaction to the bar. 

(The Ellsworth Line). 

(I) Clarissa Alden Ellsworth Stringer was 
a daughter of Stoddard and Clarrisa Alden 
Ellsworth, and a lineal descendant of Josias 
Ellsworth, of Windsor, Connecticut, son of 
John, said to have been a descendant of Sir 
John Ellsworth, of the time of Edward III., 
who resided in Cambridgeshire. England. 
Josias Ellsworth was born in 1629. Hinnan 
says he was in Connecticut in 1646. His name 
first appears on Windsor, Connecticut, town 
records, in connection with his marriage, No- 
vember 16, 1654. to Elizabeth Holcomb. The 
same year he bought a house and lot. In 1655 
he bought the property later known as the 
Chief Justice Ellsworth place. In 1664 he 
was a juror; was made freeman, May 21, 
1657 ; in 1676 he was a contributor to the Con- 
necticut relief fund for the poor of other 
colonies. He died August 20. 1689. aged sixty 
years. His estate was valued at i655. His 
widow, Elizabeth, died September 18, 1712. 
She is mentioned as a member of the Windsor 
church in 1666. Children: Josias (2), Eliza- 
beth, Mary, Martha, Thomas. Jonathan, John, 
of further mention; Job and Benjamin. 

(II) Lieutenant John, son of Josias and 
Elizabeth (Holcomb) Ellsworth, was baptized 
October 15, 1671, and was killed by the fall 
of a tree, October 26, 1720. He was the first 
settler in the town of Ellington, where he 
lived on the west side of Town street, nearly 
opposite the old Ellsworth place on the west 
side of the Connecticut river. He married, 
December 9, 1696. Esther, daughter of Daniel 
White, of Hartford. She died September 7, 
1766. aged ninety-five years. Children: John 
(2), of further mention ; Daniel, Esther, Anne, 
Martha and Ann. 

(III) Captain John (2), son, of Lieutenant 
John (1) and Esther (White) Ellsworth, was 
born November 7, 1697, died January 4. 1784. 
He was a captain of militia, and served in the 
Indian wars. He married, November 8, 1734, 
Ann Edwards, born April 28. 1699. died April 
11, 1790, aged within sixteen days of ninety- 



NEW YORK. 



505 



one years, daughter of Rev. Timothy Edwards, 
of East Windsor, Connecticut. Children: 1. 
Captain John (3) ; from a journal kept by 
him it appears he was on an expedition for 
the governor on the Mississippi river in 1774-5 
and for his services was granted a tract of 
land where the city of Natchez now stands. 
2. Solomon, of further mention. 3. Frederick. 
4. Ann, married Colonel Lemuel Stoughton. 

(IV) Lieutenant Solomon, son of Captain 
John (2) and Ann (Edwards) Ellsworth, was 
born April 30, 1737. He served in the revo- 
lutionary war as a lieutenant of Captain 
Lemuel Stoughton's company, of East Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, militia, who marched on the 
Lexington Alarm of April 19, 1775. He died 
October 19, 1822, aged eighty-five years. He 
married, December 27, 1758, Mary Moseley, 
born December 8, 1737, died February 16, 
1823, aged eighty-six years. Children : Mary, 
Ann, Solomon, Elizabeth, Stoddard, of fur- 
ther mention ; Abigail, Abner Moseley, John, 
Marilda, Timothy, Timothy (2), Joseph and 
Ann. 

(V) Stoddard, son of Lieutenant Solomon 
and Mary (Moseley) Ellsworth, was born 
April 14, 1767, died October 31, 1845, a & e d 
seventy-eight years. He married (first) May 
13, 1793, Anna, daughter of Colonel Lemuel 
and Ann (Ellsworth) Stoughton. She was 
born November 7, 1776, died May 24, 1806, 
"a female infant buried in the same grave." 
He married (second). May 21, 1807, Clarissa, 
daughter of Captain Joseph and Lydia (Hyde ) 
Alden, "a lineal descendant of John Alden, of 
Mayflower fame." She was born at Stratford, 
Connecticut, August 12, 1785, died at New 
Britain, Connecticut, March 7, 1881, aged 
ninety-six years. Children of first marriage: 
Ann, died in infancy; Stoddard (2), married 
Aurelia Mather : Ann, died aged forty-one 
years; Mary, died aged ten years; Selene (or 
Selma) , unmarried ; Edwards, died in infancy ; 
Edwards (2), died unmarried. Children of 
second marriage: Clarissa Alden, of further 
mention ; Lydia, married Dr. M. P. Orton ; 
Sarah, married John W. Stoughton ; Cather- 
ine, married Eli Horton ; Hannibal, died aged 
eighteen years ; Mary E.. married John W. 
Stoughton ; child, died at twenty months. 

(VI) Clarissa Alden, daughter of Stoddard 
and his second wife, Clarissa (Alden) Ells- 
worth, was born April 1, 1808, died July 4, 
1888. aged eighty years. She married, 1833, 
George Stringer, of Buffalo (see Stringer). 



(VII) George Alfred Stringer. 
(The Alden Line). 

(I) Clarissa Alden Ellsworth Stringer was a 
granddaughter of Sergeant Joseph and Lydia 
(Hyde) Alden, and a descendant on paternal 
lines of John Alden, of the "Mayflower"; on 
maternal lines, of William Hyde, of Norwich, 
Connecticut. John Alden, believed to be of 
English descent, was not a member of the 
Puritan colony at Leyden, and does not seem 
to have come with the "Mayflower" for re- 
ligious reasons, for Governor Bradford says: 
"John Alden was hired for a cooper at South 
Hampton, where the ship victualed, and being 
a hopeful yonge man was much desired, but 
left to his own liking to go or stay when he 
came here, but he stayed and married here." 
Notwithstanding the prominence he attained in 
Plymouth in his deeds of gift or sale, he in- 
variably describes himself as "cooper," occa- 
sionally as "yeoman," and once as "gentle- 
man." He was educated above the average, 
and tradition says he was "the tallest man 
in the community." He was the youngest 
signer of the "Compact," and was "the last 
male survivor." He was born in 1599, died 
September 12, 1687. He married, in the spring 
of 1621 or 1622, Priscilla Molines (Mullins), 
daughter of William. She is said to have been 
about eighteen at the time of her marriage, 
which was the second or third performed in 
the colony. She does not again appear in the 
records save as the mother of his eleven chil- 
dren, until 1680. At the funeral of Governor 
Josiah Winslow were present "the Venerable 
John Alden, with Priscilla on his arm." He 
held offices of the highest trust. No impor- 
tant measure was proposed or any responsible 
agency ordered in which he did not have a 
part. He was deputy assistant, and from 
1666 to 1687, first on the board of assistants, 
and styled deputy governor. "On him devolved 
the duty of presiding in the absence of the 
governor, and on these occasions he ruled with 
dignity and perseverance." He was often one 
of the council of war, many times an arbitra- 
tor, a surveyor of lands for the government, 
and on several important occasions was au- 
thorized to act as agent or attorney for the 
colony. He was chosen treasurer in 1656, 
holding that office three years. In those days 
the salary of public officials was very small, 
and refusal to serve was met with the penalty 
of a fine. Constant devotion to the public 



506 



NEW YORK. 



service so "reduced his estate" that the court 
took notice of it, and, valuing him so highly, 
felt they could not afford to lose him, and 
took action, as is shown in the following rec- 
ord : "In regard that Mr. Alden is low in his 
estate and occationed to spend time at the 
court on the countreys occations, and soe hath 
done these many years, the court have allowed 
him a small gratuity, the sum of ten pounds 
to be payed him by the treasurer." He divided 
his estate among his children before his death, 
and spent his last days with his son Jonathan. 
He left no will. "The writers who mention 
him all agree as to his industry, integrity and 
exemplary piety, and he has been represented 
as a worthy, useful man of great humility, and 
eminent for the sanctity of his life. He was 
decided, ardent, resolute and persevering, in- 
different to danger, a bold and hardy man, of 
incorruptible integrity, an iron-nerved Puritan 
who could hew down forests and live on 
crumbs. He was always a firm supporter of 
the clergy and the church, and everything of 
an innovating nature met his determined op- 
position." Children : Elizabeth, the first white 
woman born in New England; John, Joseph, 
Sarah, Jonathan, Ruth, Rebecca, Priscilla, 
Zachariah, Mary, David. 

(II) Joseph, son of John and Priscilla 
(Mullins) Alden, was born in Plymouth, 1627, 
after May 22. He was freeman in Duxbury, 
Massachusetts, 1657. He served repeatedly on 
the "grand inquest" until 1685, and was one 
of the surveyors of highways. He had his 
father's share of land in Bridgewater, and is 
third on the lists of grants of lands on the 
north side of the town. 

Joseph Alden married, 1657, Mary Sim- 
mons, daughter of Moses, who came in the 
ship "Fortune." Children : Isaac ; Joseph, 
Sarah, Mercy, Elizabeth (these three prob- 
ably), John, and perhaps Mary. 

(III) Deacon Joseph (2), son of Joseph (1) 
and Mary (Simmons) Alden, was born about 
1667, died 1747. He lived in South Bridge- 
water; married, 1690, Hannah, daughter of 
Daniel Dunham, of Plymouth. Children: 
Daniel ; Joseph, died young ; Eleazer, Hannah, 
Mary, Joseph, Jonathan, Samuel, Mehitabel, 
Seth. 

(IV) Daniel, son of Deacon Joseph (2) and 
Hannah (Dunham) Alden, was born 1690,. re- 
moved to Stratford, Connecticut, where he 
died 1770; married, 1717, Abigail, daughter 
of Joseph Shaw. Children: Joseph, Daniel, 



Abigail, Zephaniah, Hannah. Hannah 
Mehitabel, Barnabas, Ebenezer. Mary. 

(V) Joseph (3), son of Daniel and Abigail 
(Shaw) Alden, was born 1718; married, 1742, 
Susanna, daughter of Solomon Packard. Chil- 
dren: Zenas, Martha, Rev. Abishai, Joseph, 
and perhaps others. 

(VI) Sergeant Joseph (4), son of Joseph 
(3) and Susannah (Packard) Alden, was born 
May 9, 1753, died January 1, 1832. He served 
in the revolution as sergeant of Captain Amos 
Wallbridge's company, Stafford, Connecticut, 
militia, Lexington Alarm. He married, Feb- 
ruary 28, 1782, Lydia Hyde, born at Stratford, 
Connecticut, January 6, 1761, died February 7, 
1839. He was a farmer, and with his wife 
Lydia is buried in the new cemetery on the 
hill in Stafford. Children. Joseph, died in 
infancy ; Joseph. Horatio, Hannibal, Zephinah, 
Levi Harvey, Martha, Clarissa, of further 
mention ; Lydia, Almeda. 

(VII) Clarissa, daughter of Sergeant 
Joseph (4) and Lydia (Hyde) Alden, was 
born at Stafford, Connecticut; married Stod- 
dard Ellsworth, son of Solomon and Mary 
(Moseley) Ellsworth. (See Ellsworth.) 

(VIII) Clarissa Alden, daughter of Stod- 
dard and Clarissa (Alden) Ellsworth, married 
George Stringer. (See Stringer.) 

(IX) George Alfred, son of George and 
Clarissa Alden (Ellsworth) Stringer. (See 
Stringer.) 

(X) Geraldine, daughter of George Alfred 
and Eliza Coe (Walker) Stringer, born 
March, 1879. 

(The Hyde Line). 

(I) Lydia Hyde Alden. grandmother of 
Clarissa Alden (Ellsworth) Stringer, was a 
lineal descendant of William Hyde, of Nor- 
wich, Connecticut, who came from England, 
it is supposed, with Rev. Thomas Hooker, the 
first minister of Hartford ; sojourned a short 
time at Newton, Massachusetts, and removed 
with him to Hartford, Connecticut in 1636. 
He later removed to Saybrook, thence to Nor- 
wich, Connecticut. He was a man of consid- 
erable importance among the settlers of Nor- 
wich, and was frequently elected selectman. 
He died at Norwich, January 6, 1681. No 
record has been found concerning his wife, 
and there is record of but two children, Sam- 
uel ; and Hester, who married John Post. 

(II) Samuel, son of William Hyde, the 
emigrant, was born about 1637, at Hartford, 
Connecticut. He came with his wife to Nor- 



NEW YORK. 



507 



wich, Connecticut, in 1660. He was a farmer, 
and had lines assigned him at Norwich West 
Farms, where he died in 1677, at the age of 
forty years. He married, in June, 1659. Jane 
Lee, of East Saybrook, now Lyme, Connecti- 
cut, daughter of Thomas Lee, who came from 
England in 1641 with wife and three children. 
He died on the passage, his wife and children 
settling later at Saybrook. Children : Samuel, 
John, William, Thomas, Jabez, Elizabeth, 
Phebe, Sarah. 

(III) Thomas, son of Samuel and Jane 
(Lee) Hyde, was born at Norwich, Connecti- 
cut, July, 1672. He was a farmer of Nor- 
wich West Farms (now Franklin), where he 
died April 9, 1755. He married, December, 
1697, Mary Backers, born November, 1672, at 
Norwich, died March 27, 1752, daughter of 
Stephen and Sarah (Gardner) Backers, of 
Norwich. Children : Thomas, Jacob, Abner, 
Mary, Phebe, Jane. 

(IV) Captain Jacob, son of Thomas and 
Mary (Backers) Hyde, was born at Norwich 
West Farms, Connecticut, January 20, 1703, 
died there January 22, 1782. He was a farmer. 
He married, October 11, 1727, Hannah Kings- 
bury, born March 13, 1709, at Haverhill, Mas- 
sachusetts, died at Bennington, Vermont, 
while on a visit there, March 16, 1770. Chil- 
dren: Jacob, Ephraim, Joseph, Jonathan, 
Mary, Hannah, Ruth, Silence, Rebecca, Phebe. 

(V) Ephraim, son of Captain Jacob and 
Hannah (Kingsbury) Hyde, was born at Nor- 
wich West Farms, April 23, 1734. He set- 
tled at Stafford, Connecticut, where he and 
his wife died. He married Martha Giddings, 
of Norwich. Children : Nathaniel, Ephraim, 
Jacob, Jasepr, Eli, Hannah, Lydia, Martha, 
Eunice. 

(VI) Lydia, daughter of Ephraim and 
Martha (Giddings) Hyde, was born at Staf- 
ford, Connecticut, where she died February 7, 
1839. She married, February 28, 1782, Ser- 
geant Joseph Alden. (See Alden). 

(VII) Clarissa, daughter of Sergeant Jo- 
seph and Lydia (Hyde) Alden, married Stod- 
dard Ellsworth. (See Ellsworth). 

(VIII) Clarissa Alden, daughter of Stod- 
dard and Clarissa (Alden) Ellsworth, married 
George Stringer. (See Stringer). 

(IX) George Alfred, son of George and 
Clarissa Alden (Ellsworth) Stringer. (See 
Stringer). 

(X) Geraldine, daughter of George Alfred 
and Eliza Coe (Walker) Stringer. 



The name Bryant can be traced 
BRYANT to Sir Guy De Bryant, who 

lived in the time of Edward 
III., and whose descendants had their seat in 
the Castle of Hereford, Wales. In 1640 there 
were four familes by the name of Bryant liv- 
ing in Plymouth Colony: John Briant, of 
Taunton, John Briant Sr., of Scituate ; Stephen 
Briant, of Plymouth ; and Lieutenant John, of 
Plympton. It does not appear that they were 
related, although tradition has it that John of 
Scituate and Stephen of Plymouth were 
brothers. 

(I) The first mention made of Abraham 
Bryant, progenitor of Warren W. Bryant, of 
Buffalo, is in Reading, Massachusetts, at a 
date sufficiently later for him to have been 
a son of one of the above, but it does not so 
appear on the records. Abraham Bryant was 
a blacksmith, and lived on Elm street, Reading, 
Massachusetts. He was selectman in 1696 
and 1701. He married (first) in 1664, Mary 
Kendall, born 1647, died 1688, daughter of 
Deacon Thomas Kendall, an original settler of 
Reading, removed there from Lynn. He was 
deacon and selectman, and died in 1681. His 
wife Rebecca died in 1703. He had no son 
who lived to adult age, but his eight daughters 
married and transmitted his blood through 
many different families. Abraham Bryant 
married (second) Ruth, widow of Samuel 
Frothingham. She died in 1693. Children by 
first wife : Mary, born 1668, married, 1684, 
John Weston; Rebecca, born 1668, died 1670; 
Abraham, born 167 1 ; Thomas, 1674: Anna, 
1676; William, of further mention; Kendall, 
1680; Abigail, 1683, died 1694; Tabitha, 1685. 

(II) Kendall, son of Abraham and Mary 
(Kendall) Bryant, was born in Reading. Alas- 
sachusetts, 1680. He settled in the town of 
his birth, where he lived his entire life. He 
engaged in farming. He married there, in 
1704, Elizabeth, daughter of Major Jeremiah 
and Mary (Smith) Swaine. Children, born in 
Reading: Elizabeth, 1705; Kendall. 1709; 
Anna, twin of Kendall ; Jeremiah, 1714 ; Mary, 
1717; James, 1719; Hepsibah, 1722: Abigail, 
1724. 

(III) Kendall (2), son of Kendall (1 ) and 
Elizabeth (Swaine) Bryant, was born in Read- 
ing, Massachusetts, in 1709, died at the home 
of his son, John or Thomas, at Jaffrey. New 
Hampshire, November 30, 1797. The "His- 
tory of Jaffrey" states that he came from Mas- 
sachusetts to Jaffrey, and lived on lot fourteen, 



5 o8 



NEW YORK 



range four, of that town. His homestead re- 
mained in the family until the death of Colonel 
George Bryant, in 1865. Kendall Bryant, his 
wife and son John, were charter members of 
the First Church of Jaffrey. He married Mary 
Martin, who died at Jaffrey, March 17, 1794, 
aged eighty-four years. Children, born in 
Reading and Peperell, Massachusetts : 
Thomas; John, 1750, died March 14, 1800, 
married Lucy Lawrence. 

(IV) Thomas, eldest son of Kendall (2) 
and .Mary (Martin) Bryant, was born between 
1730 and 1740. He was living at Concord, 
Massachusetts, from 1762 to 1769, and doubt- 
less for a number of years thereafter, for his 
son, Captain Chandler Bryant, served in the 
revolution from Concord, New Hampshire, as 
late as 1779-80. Thomas settled later in Jaf- 
frey, New Hampshire, with his father and 
younger brother John. He probably also lived 
in other Massachusetts towns before remov- 
ing to New Hampshire, as he was fence viewer 
and taxpayer in Peperell as late as 1794. His 
widow died in Templeton, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 16, 1815, aged eighty-five years. She 
was then living with her son Nathan. Chil- 
dren, born at Concord, Massachusetts: Na- 
than, January 11, 1762, died at Templeton, 
Massachusetts, July 13, 1828; Elizabeth, born 
July 5, 1763; Chandler, November 18, 1764, 
served in the revolution as captain, married 

(first) Elizabeth , (second) Susanna 

Byam ; Daniel ; Samuel, of further mention ; 
Reuben, born March 11, 1769, lived at Con- 
cord. 

(Y) Samuel, son of Thomas Bryant, was 
born at Concord, Massachusetts, May 1, 1767. 
He removed to Woburn, Massachusetts, where 
he married, November 10, 1805, Esther 
Wright, born August 12, 1781, daughter of 
Jonathan and Ruth Wright. Later he removed 
to New Ipswich, New Hampshire, from there 
going to Utica, New York, where he con- 
ducted a general store. Children recorded in 
Woburn-: Charles Austin, born August 17, 
[806; Warren; George H., married Sarah 
Sweeney; Samuel. 

( YI ) Warren, son of Samuel and Esther 
(Wright) Bryant, was born in Woburn, Mas- 
sachusetts, March 24, 1811, died in Buffalo, 
Xcw York, 1893. He came to Buffalo first in 
1827, when but a lad of sixteen years, making 
his first trip by boat and stage. Ik' did nol 
remain in Buffalo, but returned to Woburn, 
where he continued until 183 1, when lie came 



again to Western Xew York, bringing with 
him some cash capital which he invested in a 
general store at Geneva. He did not like his 
location, but soon came to Buffalo and started 
business opposite the First Church. In 1847 
he bought the building north of the corner of 
Main and Exchange, which block has ever 
since remained in the family. In 1848 he 
changed his store from a grocery to a toy 
and novelty store, which prospered exceed- 
ingly. He made several trips to Germany, 
buying his goods and importing them direct. 
For several years his brother, George H. 
Bryant, was associated in business with him. 
George H. was captain of the vessel "St. 
Joseph," trading on the lakes between Buffalo 
and Chicago. He was the organizer of the 
Western Transportation Company, of which 
he was vice-president. As his wealth in- 
creased, Mr. Bryant engaged in outside opera- 
tions. He was largely interested in the West- 
ern Transportation Company. In 1859-60-61 
he was collector of the port of Buffalo. In 
1861, with several others, he purchased the 
old Niagara Street railroad, made needed re- 
pairs and improvements, later selling the line 
to the Buffalo Street Railway Company. In 
1864 he was elected president of the Buffalo 
Savings Bank, an office he held until his death 
in 1893, over a quarter of a century. He was 
a wise and conservative banker, closely safe- 
guarding the depositors' interests, yet extend- 
ing all needed financial aid to men and enter- 
prises that were deserving and substantial. 
He was a member of the Unitarian church, 
and was instrumental in having a congrega- 
tion started in Buffalo, the first in the city. 
He afterward left the congregation, not liking 
the minister in charge. He was active in the 
Yolunteer Fire Department, and for some 
years was superintendent. He was a Demo- 
crat in politics, but never sought or held elec- 
tive office. He married Amelia Stebbins of 
Clinton, New York, who died September 9, 
1890. They had ten children, three of whom 
lived to mature years: 1. Warren Wright, of 
further mention. 2. Joseph, married Sarah 
Taft, of Whitingsville, Massachusetts; chil- 
dren: Warren Taft and Kendall S. 3. Mary 
S., died in 1907, unmarried ; she resided in 
Buffalo with her brothers until her death ; she 
was a most lovable woman, and one deeply 
mourned by her surviving brother and friends. 
(VII) Warren Wright, son of Warren and 
Amelia (Stebbins) Bryant, was born in Buf- 



NEW YORK. 



509 



falo, New York, in 1844. He received his 
early education in the public schools, finishing 
at Antioch College, Yellow Springs, Ohio. He 
was delicate when sent to the latter place, but 
before leaving had regained his health. In 
1865 he entered the employ of the Buffalo 
Savings Bank as clerk, and worked his way 
up through successive grades until he became 
receiving teller. Later he resigned that posi- 
tion and has since lived retired from business 
life. In politics he is a Democrat. Mr. 
Bryant is unmarried. 



The surname Buck is ancient both 
BUCK in England and Germany, and 
seems to have been of German 
origin. The spelling varies greatly ; following 
are some of the forms: Boc, Bock, Boch, 
Bocke, Bok, Book, Bouke, Buc, Buch, Busq, 
Buke, and many others. 

William Buck, emigrant ancestor, came to 
New England in the ship "Increase," sailing 
in April, 1635, from England, and landing a 
month later at Boston, Massachusetts. He 
gave his age as fifty years, and accordingly 
was born about 1585. His son Roger was 
with him, and his age was given as eighteen. 
He settled at Cambridge, and in 1652 had a 
grant of land twenty acres, lot No. 91, in Cam- 
bridge Survey, so-called. Here he built a new 
home for his family, in what was called the 
west field, northeast from Garden street, on 
what is now Raymond street. He was a 
ploughwright by trade. He died intestate 
January 24, 1658, and was buried in the old 
cemetery at Cambridge. His son Roger was 
administrator of his estate. 

(I) The English habitation of Emanuel 
Buck, emigrant ancestor of this branch of the 
Buck family in America cannot be definitely 
stated, but strong proof leads to the conclusion 
he was from the county of Norfolk. Neither 
is the date, ship or place of landing known. 
It is supposed that Emanuel Buck was a rela- 
tive, and many suppose a son of William Buck, 
who came in the "Increase," although there 
is no record. He first appears in the records 
as of Wethersfield, Connecticut. There is con- 
clusive proof that Emanuel and Enoch Buck 
of that place were one and the same. It is 
said that the Puritans objected to his name, its 
meaning, "God with us," being too sacred. 
To please them he took the name of Enoch. 
However, his baptismal name Emanuel will 
here be used. He settled in Wethersfield in 



1647, accompanied by his brother Henry. They 
were respectively twenty-three and twenty-one 
years of age. Emanuel was a miller, Henry 
a blacksmith, and each plied his trade in con- 
nection with farming during the remainder of 
their days. Henry married Elizabeth Churchill, 
and died July 7, 171 2. Emanuel was admitted 
a freeman May 21, 1659; was juror, 1661-62- 
75; grand juror, 1675; elected constable in 
1668; selectman, 1669, and several re-elections. 
He is of frequent mention in Wethersfield rec- 
ords, made many land transfers, and seems 
to have been a good citizen. He died intestate 
in 1700. Nothing is known concerning his 
first wife's name further than that it was 
Sarah. Mary Kirby, his second wife, was a 
daughter of John Kirby, who came from Row- 
ington. near Kenilworth, Warwickshire, Eng- 
land, in the "Hopewell," 1635, aged twelve 
years. He was of Hartford, Middletown and 
Wethersfield, Connecticut. A deed on Middle- 
town records gives several parcels of land to 
"my daughter, Mary Buck." He left a wife, 
Mary, and eight children. Children, three by 
first wife: Ezekiel, born June 15, 1650; John, 
November, 1652 ; Jonathan, April, 1653 ; Mary, 
January, 1659; David, of whom further; 
Sarah, born April, 1669; Hannah, April 12, 
1 67 1 ; Elizabeth, June 4, 1676; Thomas, June 
10, 1678; Abigail, August 1, 1682. Mary sur- 
vived her husband, and her death occurred 
January J2, 1712. 

(II) David, son of Emanuel and Mary 
(Kirby) Buck, was born at Wethersfield, Con- 
necticut, April, 1667. He continued a lifelong 
resident of that town, and was engaged in 
farming until his death, September 20, 1728. 
He married, June 14, 1690, Elizabeth Hub- 
bert, or Hubbard, born 1666, died March 25, 
1735, daughter of Daniel and Elizabeth (Jor- 
dan) Hubbard. Daniel was son of George 
and Mary (Bishop) Hubbard. Tradition says 
George Hubbard came to Watertown, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1633. He is recorded in Wethers- 
field October 15, 1635, where he lived three 
years, then removing to Milford, where he 
joined the church January 15. 1644. He 
bought land in Guilford, September 22, 1648. 
He married Mary, daughter of John and Anna 
Bishop, of Guilford. Children of David and 
Elizabeth Buck: Elizabeth, born February 16, 
1690; Ann, April 25, 1693; Daniel, September 
1 3. ID 95 ; David, November 13, 1698; Mary, 
September 9, 1700; Josiah, of whom further; 
Joseph, born April 5, 1705 ; John, January 18. 



5io 



NEW YORK. 



1707; Eunice, December 19, 1709; Mabel, 
June 5, 1712. 

(III) Josiah, son of David and Elizabeth 
(Hubbert) Buck, was born in Wethersfield, 
Connecticut, January 16, 1703, died February 
8, 1793. He married, May 28, 1731, Ann, 
born 171 1, died November 9, 1772, daughter 
of Charles Deming, of Boston. Children: Ann, 
born February 25, 1732; Mary, October 31, 
1733 ; Elizabeth, April 7, 1735 ; Prudence, De- 
cember 15, 1737; Josiah, April 23, 1742; 
Daniel, of whom further; Mabel, March 12, 
1748. 

(IV) Daniel, son of Josiah and Ann (Dem- 
ing) Buck, was born June 13, 1744, died Jan- 
uary 6, 1808. He married, December 3, 1775, 
Sarah, daughter of General Gurdon Salton- 
stall, of Boston, and descendant of Thomas 
de Saltonstall, 1358. The first of the name 
known in America, Richard Saltonstall, son 
of Sir Richard, was closely identified with 
Connecticut colonial history. He married 
Muriel, daughter of Brampton Gurdon, of 
Suffolk county, England. Their son, Colonel 
Nathaniel Saltonstall, was of Haverhill, Mas- 
sachusetts, was assistant member of the gov- 
ernor's council and judge; he married Eliza- 
beth Ward. Their son Gurdon was born 1666, 
graduate of Harvard College, 1684, and was 
ordained minister at New London, Connecti- 
cut, in 1 69 1. On the death of Governor John 
Winthrop in 1707 he was chosen his successor, 
and became governor of Connecticut in 1708, 
remaining in office until 1724. He married 
(first) Jerusha Richards; (second) Elizabeth 
Rosewell: (third) Mary Clark. General Gur- 
don, ninth child of Governor Gurdon Salton- 
stall, was colonel and brigadier-general in the 
revolutionary army prior to 1776; was first 
collector of the port of New London, 1784; 
married, March 15, 1732, Rebecca, daughter 
of Henry John Winthrop, of New London ; 
they had fourteen children. Their daughter 
Sarah, youngest child, born June 17, 1754, died 
November 19, 1828, married Daniel Buck. 
Children of Daniel Buck : Ann, born Novem- 
ber 28, 1776, died young; Gurdon, born De- 
cember 3, 1777, died August 4, 1852, married, 
April 20, 1805, Susan Manwaring, of New 
York ; Daniel, born October 27, 1779, married 
(first) Julia Mitchell, (second) Elizabeth 
Selden, who died March, 1887, aged one hun- 
dred years one month, twenty-four days ; 
Charles, born November 21, 1782, married 
Sophronia Smith ; Winthrop. of whom fur- 



ther ; Ann, died young; Dudley, born June 25, 
1789, married Hetty G. Hempsted, (second) 
Martha Adams. 

(V) Winthrop, son of Daniel and Sarah 
(Saltonstall) Buck, was born in Wethersfield, 
Connecticut, December 9, 1784, died August 
19, 1862. He was a farmer of Wethersfield 
all his life. His home was one of the two 
houses built by Josiah Buck for his sons, Josiah 
and Daniel. The first was built for Josiah in 
1774 on the east side of the street, and' Daniel's 
in 1775 on the west side at the corner of 
Jordan Lane, directly on the site of the old 
home of his father, which was torn down to 
make way for the new. Both of these houses 
still stand in excellent condition. Winthrop's 
is still occupied by his youngest son Henry, 
whose son will in time inherit it, making five 
generations to own the farm and four to oc- 
cupy the homestead. Daniel's house is occu- 
pied by Edward, grandson of Winthrop Buck, 
making four generations which have occupied 
it, and Edward has a son, who will continue 
the occupancy. Winthrop Buck married (first) 
January 29, 1812, Eunice Parsons, died 
August 5, 1812, aged twenty-four years, 
daughter of Gideon Parsons, of Amherst, 
Massachusetts. He married (second), Decem- 
ber 28, 1814, Eunice, daughter of Dr. Abner 
Moseley, of Wethersfield, a descendant of 
John Moseley, or Maudsley. born in Lanca- 
shire, England, came to America with his wife, 
one account says, in the ship "Mary and John," 
Captain Soueb, which sailed from Plymouth, 
England, March 30, 1629, and landed at Dor- 
chester, Massachusetts, in 1630. Another ac- 
count says they came in the ship "James," in 
1635, and settled at Matapan, near Dorchester. 
John was made freeman March 14, 1639, and 
was granted land in 1656. His wife was Cor- 
nelia or Elizabeth , or perhaps he was 

twice married. His son. Captain John, born 
in Dorchester or Boston, Massachusetts, 1638, 
removed to Windsor, Connecticut, where he 
lived until 1677, when he removed to West- 
field. He returned to Windsor some time be- 
fore his death, August 18, 1690. He married, 
December 14, 1664, Mary Newberry, daughter 
of Benjamin. They had ten children. Their 
son Joseph, third child, was born December 
21, 1670, removed to Glastonbury, Connecti- 
cut, after I7i5,and died there in I7i9;he mar- 
ried, in 1696, Abigail Root; there are eight 
children named in his will. Abigail was 
daughter of John (2) and granddaughter of 



NEW YORK. 



5" 



John Roote ( i ) , who came from England in 
1640. Abner, eldest son of Joseph and Abigail 
(Root) Moseley, was born in Westfield, 1699, 
died February 11, 1766; married Elizabeth, 
daughter of John Lyman, of Northampton, 
June 5, 1722. Their son, Joseph Moseley (2), 
born August 13, 1735, died October 25, 1806; 
married Hopy Robbins, December 10, 1761. 
Their son. Dr. Abner Moseley, born April 13, 
1766, married, November 14, 1792, Eunice, 
daughter of William and Jerusha Welles. 
Their daughter, Eunice, born October 8, 1793, 
died August 24, 1862, married, December 28, 
1814, Winthrop Buck. Children of Winthrop 
and Eunice Buck: 1. Martha, born November 
26, 1815, died August 12, 1900. 2. Winthrop 
(2), born December 16, 1816, died July 28, 
1900; married Charlotte Woodhouse. 3. 
Eunice, born December 21, 18 19, died March 
12, 1897. 4. Maria, born January 30, 1821, 
died December 8, 1894. 5. Robert, born March 
8, 1823, died August 16, 1881 ; married (first) 
at Hastings. Minnesota, Lucina M. Emerson ; 
(second) Helen Frances Jones. 6. Roswell 
Riley, of whom further. 7. Kate Moseley, 
born February 1, 1833, died December 31, 
1907 ; married John Buckingham, of Brook- 
lyn, New York. 8. Henry, born December 6, 
1834; married, November 30, 1875, Theresa, 
daughter of George Robinson ; he occupies the 
old homestead at Wethersfield, built by Josiah 
Buck in 1775 ; children : Henry Robinson, 
John Saltonstall, and Charles Howe. 

(VI) Roswell Riley, sixth child and third 
son of Winthrop and Eunice (Moseley) Buck, 
was born in Wethersfield, Connecticut, Octo- 
ber 21, 1826, died in Buffalo. New York, Sep- 
tember 10, 1904. When about nine years of 
age he became an invalid from complicated 
hip trouble, and until the age of sixteen years 
he was an intense sufferer. Having a naturally 
sensitive disposition and an acquisitive mind, 
he read and studied extensively while confined 
to his bed. After reaching manhood and be- 
coming so far recovered as to engage in busi- 
ness, he found with satisfaction that he was 
fully able to hold his own intellectually with 
those with whom he came in contact. His 
first business experience was with Fales & 
Gray, car builders, of Hartford, to whom he 
went on crutches. He remained five years 
with this firm. In 1854 he went to Chicago, 
where he became associated with the firm of 
Sturges (Solomon) and Buckingham (John). 
George Sturges. an intimate friend of Mr. 



Buck, finally took his father's place in the 
firm. Solomon Sturges was the pioneer in 
building elevators in Chicago for the storing 
of wheat. The growth of his business forced 
the building of elevators at Buffalo, and in 
1864 Mr. Buck was sent there to superintend 
the building of the Sturges elevator. When 
completed he was retained in Buffalo as man- 
ager of the Sturges interests. The elevator 
burned October 27, 1897. In 1874 he returned 
to Chicago and remained two years, then was 
appointed again to Buffalo, where he was in 
charge of the Sturges & Fulton elevators, con- 
trolled by the Sturges Elevator Company, of 
which he was secretary and general manager. 
In 1888 this company was absorbed by the 
Buffalo Elevating Company, and Mr. Buck 
retired from active business life. 

During his active years Mr. Buck was inti- 
mately connected with important Buffalo in- 
terests. During the years 1871-72-73 he was 
a trustee of the Board of Trade, and chairman 
of the reference committee of the Merchants' 
Exchange from 1886-89, and in 1890 was 
elected treasurer. The reference committee 
settled all disputes that arose between mem- 
bers of the Exchange. Here the judicial quality 
of his mind was of the greatest value. His 
rulings were undisputed and gave evidence of 
having been carefully arrived at. His office 
was at No. 16, Board of Trade, until toward 
the close of life, when he had a desk in the 
office of his son, George S. He was generous 
in his dealings with men and liberal in his 
benefactions. He was active in the Charity 
Organization Society, founded December 11, 
1877, and served on its various committees 
during its earlier years. He was a devoted 
member of the First Presbyterian Church of 
Buffalo, which he served as trustee. In poli- 
tics he was a Republican. 

He married, November 8, 1866, at Buffalo, 
Maria Catherine, died May 5, 1905, daughter 
of Dr. Josiah and Delia (Marsh) Barnes. She 
was a most attractive and scholarly woman, 
a graduate of the Buffalo Female Academy, 
class of 1855, holding two medals won in her 
junior year for excellence in mathematics and 
composition, prizes that were supposed to be 
won by seniors only. The family residence 
was at 182 East Swan street until May, 1883, 
when the residence at 513 Franklin street was 
purchased, which is now the home of Miss 
Harriet M. Buck, their only daughter. Chil- 
dren born in Buffalo: 1. Harriet Moseley, 



512 



NEW YORK. 



born August 16, 1867. She graduated from 
Buffalo Seminary, and except for tours of 
travel at home and in Europe has spent her 
life in Buffalo. She is an active member of 
the Graduates' Association, one of the leading 
women's clubs of Buffalo, and served one term 
as president. Since childhood she has been a 
member of the First Presbyterian Church of 
Buffalo, and active in the benevolent work of 
the church. She is president of the Woman's 
Circle of that church, a member of the Twen- 
tieth Century Club and of the Daughters of 
the American Revolution, Buffalo Chapter, by 
right of the patriotic services of her ancestors, 
General Gurdon Saltonstall and Major Moses 
Seymour, of Litchfield, Connecticut. She re- 
sides at the old Buck homestead, 513 Franklin 
street. 2. Winthrop Seymour, born May 13. 
1870, died May 24, 1878. 3. George Sturges, 
of whom further. 

A nephew of Winthrop and Eunice (Mose- 
ley) Buck was the famous organist and musi- 
cal composer, Dudley Buck, son of Dudley and 
Martha (Adam) Buck. He was born in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, March 10, 1839, and died 
October 6, 1909. He early evinced a genius 
for music. At the age of sixteen he was 
organist of St. John's Episcopal Church, and 
in 1858 left Trinity College (junior year) for 
a thorough musical education in Europe. He 
studied at the Leipsic Conservatory under 
Moritz Hauptman and Ernst Friedrich Rich- 
ter for harmony and composition, with Julius 
Rietz for orchestration, with Moschelles and 
Plaidy on the piano, with Schneider at Dres- 
den on the organ. After three years spent in 
Germany he studied another year in Paris. 
Returning to the United States in 1862, he 
was at once appointed organist of the North 
Congregational Church at Hartford, where he 
remained until 1869. He made a national 
reputation in the years 1864- 1879 by a memor- 
able series of organ concert tours in the course 
of which he played in every city of importance 
and in many of the smaller towns. In 1869 
he removed to Chicago, where he became or- 
ganist of St. James Episcopal Church. In the 
great fire of October, 1871, his home was 
destroyed, with the loss of a valuable library 
and many manuscripts, including several un- 
published compositions. He at once removed 
to Boston, where he was appointed organist 
at St. Paul's Church and at the Music Hall. 
In 1875 Theodore Thomas invited him to New 
York as assistant conductor of his orchestral 



concerts at Central Park Garden. Prior to 
this he had been with Mr. Thomas as organist 
during the May Festival at Cincinnati. In 
1876 he became organist and choirmaster of 
Holy 'Trinity Church at Brooklyn, and con- 
ductor of the Apollo Club. In 1876 he was 
appointed by the Centennial Commission com- 
poser of the music for the Festival Ode, "The 
Centennial Meditation of Columbia," the work 
being rendered under Theodore Thomas' di- 
rection by a chorus of one thousand voices, and 
an orchestra of two hundred. Another suc- 
cessful composition was his setting of portions 
of Longfellow's "Golden Legend," which car- 
ried off the prize of one thousand dollars 
offered by the Cincinnati Musical Festival 
Association. Among his large works are the 
"Legend of Don Munio." "The Voyage of 
Columbus," "The Light of Asia," and mam- 
other lighter compositions. Among the most 
effective of his compositions for the church 
are the series of four short cantatas "The 
Coming of the King," "The Story of the 
Cross," "Christ the Victor," "The Triumph 
of David." In the field of male voice music 
he achieved both fame and success. Mr. Buck 
was among the first, if not the first, leading 
American composer, and time but adds to the 
appreciation in which he is held. 

(VII) George Sturges, youngest son of 
Roswell Riley and Maria Catherine (Barnes) 
Buck, was born in Buffalo, February 10. 1875. 
On account of his eyes he was not allowed 
to attend school until he was nine years of 
age. After four years in private school he 
entered the high school, covering the usual ten 
years primary and intermediate work in four. 
Dtiring his high school years he started the 
High School Calendar, a school paper that is 
still continued. He was graduated in 1892. 
He then entered Yale University, whence he 
was graduated A. B., class of 1896. In his 
junior year he was a junior exhibition man 
(oratorical contest), and years later found 
among his father's effects a set of books that 
had been won by his grandfather, Josiah 
Barnes, in the same contest at Yale. George 
S. was also a senior exhibition man. 

Deciding upon the profession of law. he en- 
tered the Law School of the University of 
Buffalo, being graduated LL.B., class of 1898. 
He at once began the practice of his profes- 
sion in Buffalo with Clinton & Clark, remain- 
ing with them until 1899. He then made a 
tour of Europe, and on his return opened a 



NEW YORK. 



513 



law office, September 7, 1899, m Ellicott 
Square, Buffalo, and later in association with 
Almeron H. Cole, as Buck & Cole. Now he 
is in practice alone (1911 ), with offices in the 
Erie County Savings Bank Building. While 
his practice is general, he specializes in the 
care and management of estates. He stands 
high in his profession, and is an especially 
safe counselor. He is a lecturer on "Negli- 
gence" at the Buffalo Law School, and special 
lecturer in the Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation Accou«tancy Course. Mr. Buck is a 
progressive Republican and a vital force in 
city politics. In the fall of 1903 he was elected 
a member of the board of supervisors of Erie 
county, re-elected 1905-07-09. In 1907 he was 
a candidate on both tickets, and in all his cam- 
paigns has had the endorsement of the Muni- 
cipal League. Since 1908 he has been chair- 
man of the finance committee, which implies 
leadership in the board. He has also served 
on the charitable institutions, and laws and 
legislation committees, but his principal work 
has been done in the finance committee. As 
a member of the board of supervisors he has 
been instrumental in securing many needed 
reforms, in the letting of contracts, changing 
compensation from fees to salaries, and in 
giving the widest publicity to all measures 
brought before the board, particularly in the 
matter of appropriations and in the passage 
of the new tax law, and in the establishing of 
the Erie County Lodging House. He is a 
member of the executive committee of the 
Government Association of Buffalo ; was one 
of the organizers of the Hughes Workers, and 
in 19 10 was a delegate from Erie county to 
the Republican state convention held in Sara- 
toga. Mr. Buck is equally active and useful 
as a church worker, belonging to the First 
Presbyterian Church, which he served as 
deacon for two years, and since 1908 as elder. 
For three years he was Sunday school super- 
intendent of the Welcome Hall Settlement, a 
mission maintained by the First Presbyterian 
Church. In 1908-09 he was secretary of the 
Presbyterian Union, and is now its president. 
He is also much interested in the work of the 
Young Men's Christian Association, and is 
vice-president of the Equality Club, a depart- 
ment of the Association work. His college 
fraternities are Beta Theta Pi (Yale) and 
Phi Delta Phi (Legal). He is a member of 
the Erie County Bar Association, and since 
1907 a trustee: in 1909 he was appointed by 



the trustees of the Bar Association chairman 
of the committee to draft a bill to present to 
the legislature to reorganize the inferior courts 
and conduct them in the main upon the system 
adopted by the city of Chicago. This has 
proved of great benefit, and is perhaps the 
most important and far reaching service Mr. 
Buck has rendered his city. He is a member 
of the Buffalo Chamber of Commerce and 
the Manufacturers' Club, two important or- 
ganizations of the business men of Buffalo. 
November 7, 191 1, he was elected auditor of 
Erie county ; this official is in fact, though not 
in name, a comptroller as well as an auditor. 
His social club is the University, which he 
served four years as a member of the gov- 
erning committee, four years on the member- 
ship committee, and one year as chairman. He 
is also a member of the Buffalo Canoe Club. 
He is a member of Ancient Landmarks Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, and Zuleka Grotto. 
He married, October 6, 1903, at Buffalo, 
Ellen Louise, daughter of Elisha P. Hussey, 
M.D. Children: 1. Roswell Seymour, born 
August 22, 1904. 2. Ruth, born May 29, 1906. 

3. Oliver, born April 11, 1908. Mr. Buck re- 
sides at 60 Irving Place, Buffalo. 

(The Barnes Line). 
Stephen Barnes, of Branford, Connecticut, 
settled in that town, coming from Long 
Island, where there is record of the family 
at East Hampton. Stephen and wife Mary 
had: Benjamin, born December 13, 1702, mar- 
ried Hannah Abbott ; Stephen, of whom fur- 
ther ; Sarah, born May 17, 1708, married 
Ezekiel Rogers ; Experience, born December 4, 
1710. 

(II) Stephen (2), son of Stephen (1) and 
Mary Barnes, was born January 2, 1705, died 
March 27, 1777. He removed with his wife 
Mary (or Martha) to Southington, but the 
births of his seven children are recorded in 
the Branford town records: 1. Mary, born 
October 22, 1726, married Jacob Carter. 2. 
Stephen, born December 3, 1728, married 
Sarah Barnes.- 3. Jonathan, of whom further. 

4. Martha, born August 22, 1734. 5. William, 
November 10, 1738 ; married Martha Upson. 
6. Nathan, born August 25, 1742 ; married 
Sarah Byington. 7. Asa, born August 24, 
1745 : married Phebe Atkins. 

(III) Jonathan, son of Stephen (2) . and 
Mary (or Martha) Barnes, was born Feb- 
ruary 21, 1731, died January 7, 1807. He was 



5H 



NEW YORK. 



of Southington, Connecticut. He married, 
August 4, 1757, Elizabeth, daughter of Heze- 
kiah Woodruff. Children: 1. Jonathan, of 
whom further. 2. Elizabeth, born October 21. 
1764. 3. Mary, March 4, 1767, died July 6, 
1772. 4. Stephen, born February 12, 1769, 
married Sally Andrews. 5. Sylvia, born 
August 7, 1771 ; married Roswell Hart. 6. 
Lois, born 1772 ; married Gideon Smith. 
7. Levi, born June 28, 1777; married Kezia 
Woodruff. 8. Joel, born 1779; married Re- 
becca Stephens. 9. Truman, born 1783 ; mar- 
ried Loly Barrett. 

(IV) Jonathan (2), eldest son of Jonathan 
(1) and Elizabeth (Woodruff) Barnes, was 
born in Southington, Connecticut, March 13, 
1763. In 1784 he graduated from Yale Col- 
lege (academic department), studied law and 
settled in Tolland, Connecticut. He became 
county judge and a member of the Connecticut 
legislature. He was a skillful lawyer, pos- 
sessed of a keen sense of humor which often 
enabled him to attain the object sought. He 
married, February 17, 1787, Rachel, daughter 
of Josiah and Elizabeth (Colton) Steele. 
Josiah was a grandson of Mercy, daughter of 
Major Bradford, chief military officer of 
Plymouth Colony, and son of the famous Gov- 
ernor Bradford, of the "Mayflower. - ' Chil- 
dren: 1. Jonathan, born November 21, 1789; 
graduated from Yale College, academic, 1810 ; 
studied law; settled at Middletown, Connecti- 
cut, where he died, December 24, 1861. "Jona- 
than Barnes undoubtedly stood at the head 
of the bar of Connecticut as a counselor at 
law." He studied music from a scientific point 
of view, and said that his best commentary on 
the Bible was that he had read and translated 
it in seven different languages. 2. Julius 
Steele, born February 23, 1792, died November 
11. 1879, at Southington, Connecticut. He 
graduated from Yale Academic School, stud- 
ied medicine, and settled in Southington, 
where he had an extensive practice. 3. Edwin, 
born July 13, 1794, died August 6, 1795. 

4. Randolph, born June 29, 1796, died in Pitts- 
burgh, Pennsylvania, September 4, 1819. 

5. Eliza Woodruff, born September 20, 1799 ; 
married Dr. Alanson Abbe. 6. William, born 
February 8, 1802, died December 22, 1872, at 
Warehouse Point, Connecticut, where he had 
passed his life in successful law practice. 
7. Josiah, of whom further. 

(V) Dr. Josiah Barnes, youngest child of 
Jonathan and Rachel (Steele) Barnes, was 



born in Tolland, Connecticut, March 26. 1804. 
He graduated from Yale Academic School in 
1S25, with high honors. He taught school for 
a time in Tolland county and at Concord, Mas- 
sachusetts, then, as now, a literary centre. He 
studied medicine, and was graduated from the 
University of Pennsylvania, March 21, 1829, 
A. M. and M. D. He located at Litchfield, 
Connecticut, beginning practice with Dr. 
Alanson Abbe, his brother-in-law. He re- 
mained there in practice until after his mar- 
riage, when he removed to Buffalo, New York. 
This was in 1832. In that year Asiatic cholera 
swept over the United States and had its vic- 
tims in Buffalo as elsewhere. The news of 
the pest to which her son was exposed caused 
his ever watchful mother to write, "My dear 
son, you find yourself confronted by a dreadful 
pestilence, but you must do your duty, and if 
in its discharge you should be taken away, 
such is the will of God ; but under no circum- 
stances must you think of coming home." His- 
tory proves that Dr. Barnes performed his 
duties not only in this emergency but ever 
afterward. On May 13, 1834, he purchased 
the frame house on the north side of Crow 
(Exchange) street. About 1845 he moved 
over on the east side of Washington street. 
About 1850, having become prosperous, he 
built a substantial home on East Swan street, 
the Delaware avenue of that period. He was 
secretary in 1840 of the Erie Medical Asso- 
ciation, and in 1848-49 its treasurer, and one 
of its censors. In 1849-50 he was one of the 
four members of the Buffalo Board of Health. 
He was a director of the Clinton and White 
Banks. He was an attendant of St. Paul's 
Episcopal Church upon coming to Buffalo, but 
when St. John's Church was started he was 
one of the many original contributors toward 
the building fund, and with his family con- 
nected with the latter congregation. Toward 
the close of life, Dr. Barnes suffered several 
years of invalidism, during which time he still 
made a few visits to the families among his 
patients who had become endeared to him by 
many ties. He was possessed of wonderful 
psychic force, and was an adept in the power 
of suggestion, as is proved by the skill he dis- 
played in diagnosis and in bringing patients 
out of the depths of disease and dread. His 
presence in a sick room radiated hope and 
was a compelling force of cheer and encour- 
agement. His prescriptions became family aids 
and are to this dav in use among manv of the 



NEW YORK. 



515 



descendants of his early patrons, all of whom 
revere his memory. He died June 1, 1871. 

He married. May 22, 1831, Delia, daughter 
of Rev. Truman and Clarissa (Seymour) 
Marsh. Rev. Truman Marsh was a graduate 
of Yale College, class of 1785. After his 
ordination he was for many years rector of St. 
Michael's, in Litchfield, a town founded by 
his ancestor, Lieutenant John Marsh, of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut. Clarissa (Seymour) Marsh 
was the daughter of Major Moses Marsh, who 
served thoroughout the revolutionary war. His 
figure may be noted in Trumbull's famous 
painting, "The Surrender of Burgoyne." Her 
direct ancestor, Richard Seymour, came to 
America in 1636. She died in Buffalo, Decem- 
ber 16, 1875. Children: 1. Maria Catherine, 
married Roswell Riley Buck; (see Buck). 
2. Dr. Edwin Randolph, born in Buffalo, Sep- 
tember 2, 1838; he was educated in private 
schools in Buffalo, entered Yale College, grad- 
uating in the class of i860, in the academic 
course. He first took up the study of land- 
scape gardening and rural architecture, but 
the breaking out of the civil war changed his 
plans and he began the study of medicine. 
About July 1st, 1862, he shipped as ward 
master on the hospital transport "Daniel Web- 
ster," reporting to General McClellan at Har- 
rison's Landing, on the James river. In 1863 
he was acting assistant surgeon, Eighth Regi- 
ment National Guard, State of New York, at 
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. In 1864 ne was 
acting assistant surgeon, United States Army, 
at Chattanooga, remaining about eight months 
as surgeon in charge of the post dispensary. 
He then returned to Buffalo. In June, 1865, 
he was graduated M. D. at the Long Island 
College Hospital, where he had attended lec- 
tures as well as at the College of Physicians 
and Surgeons. During the cholera epidemic 
of 1866 he served in the Brooklyn Cholera 
Hospital on night duty. In the fall of 1866 
he returned to Buffalo and became associated 
with his father in practice. In the early seven- 
ties he was director and surgeon in the Buffalo 
Free Medical and Surgical Dispensary. From 
1872-78 inclusive he was attending surgeon 
on the staff of the Buffalo General Hospital, 
after which he was in private practice for sev- 
eral years. He married, June 6, 1905, Mrs. 
Theresa (Mitchell) Osborne, and now resides 
at 513 Franklin street. 3. William Josiah, born 
1846, and died November, 1875. 4. Laura Sey- 
mour, born February 14, 1849; married, Octo- 



ber 11, 1876, Frank M. Fisher, of Buffalo. 
Children: Charles Edwin, Marion F., Laura 
Barnes. Beverly Boyd, George Roswell, Elsie 
Seymour and Frank M. (2). 



Elias Child, in a genealogical 

CHILDS work published in 1881 regard- 
ing the Child, Childs and Childe 
family from 1630 to 1881, says of the family 
in general : "They possess enough of the im- 
pulsive element to defy dangers and to grapple 
with difficulties to obtain a manly independ- 
ence, the determination and perseverance with 
which many have met and overcome difficul- 
ties, and the boldness and daring in adventure 
displayed by others will thrill the reader and 
awaken his admiration. We often find the 
love of knowledge drawing them away from 
the bustle and ambition of life into the quiet 
seclusions of the study, where they find their 
sweetest companionship with some history, ro- 
mance or philosophical treatise. A manly in- 
dependence has ever been more to the race 
than fame, wealth or position, while none of 
these would be- despised or rejected if they 
were the legitimate rewards of industry and 
virtue. As benefactors of their race they are 
usually sympathetic and active." 

There are three men of this name who were 
prominent in English history : Sir John Child, 
of Surat, E. J., was well known as a civic and 
military leader; Sir Josiah Child, of London, 
was a merchant, political economist and philan- 
thropist; and Sir Francis Childs, of London, 
was a banker, goldsmith and sociologist. Judge 
Salmon Child, of Saratoga county, New York, 
was the first of the family to bear that title ; 
he was also member of assembly from that 
county in 1820. Orville W. Childs was one 
of the foremost practical civil engineers in the 
United States : the Hon. Calvin Child was a 
graduate of Yale College, and held the office 
of United States district attorney of Connecti- 
cut, receiving his first appointment from Presi- 
dent Grant ; Professor Samuel F. Morse, the 
inventor of the telegraph, was the grandson 
of Sarah Child ; Mayor Jonathan Child was 
first mayor of Rochester, New York, in 1834. 

The coat-of-arms generally used by the 
Childs families is as follows : Gules, a chevron 
engrailed ermine, between three eagles close 
argent. Crest: An eagle, wings expanded or 
elevated argent, enveloped with a snake proper. 
Motto: "Imitari quam invideri." 

(I) William Child, the immigrant ancestor, 



5i6 



NEW YORK. 



settled in Watertown, Massachusetts, where 
he was made freeman in 1634. He is thought 
to have been a brother of Ephraim Child, who 
left parts of his estate to his nephews, sons 
of William Child. William Child doubtless 
came over with Ephraim, or else before him. 
He married in England, and his son Joseph 
was probably born there, as his birth record 
is not found in the Watertown records. He 
seems to have died early, not being accus- 
tomed to the severe climate. His widow is 
mentioned in the will of Mrs. Elizabeth 
Palmer Child, who left her some of her ward- 
robe. Children: Joseph, born about 1629; 
Richard, mentioned below ; John, born in 
Watertown, 1636. 

(II) Richard, son of William Child, was 
born in Watertown, Massachusetts, in 1631. 
He shared with his brothers in the legacies of 
their uncle, Ephraim Child. He took the oath 
of fidelity when he became of age. ■ He died 
November 11, 1694. He married (first) at 
Waltham, Massachusetts, March 30, 1662, 
Mehitable, daughter of Thomas Dimmick of 
Barnstable, Massachusetts. She died August 
1, 1676, and he married (second) January 16, 
1678, Hannah, daughter of John Traine. Chil- 
dren, by first wife, born in Watertown : Rich- 
ard, March 30, 1663; Ephraim, October 9, 
1664, died February, 1665 ; Shubael, born De- 
cember 19, 1665; Mehitable, 1666; Experience. 
February 26, 1669; Abigail, January 16, 1672; 
Ebenezer, twin, November 10, 1674, died 1675 ; 
Hannah, twin of Ebenezer. Children by sec- 
ond wife, born in Watertown : Elizabeth, July 
4, 1681 ; Joshua, mentioned below; Margaret, 
twin, May 16, 1687 ; John, twin of Margaret; 
Rebecca, February 4, 1693. 

(III) Joshua, son of Richard Child, was 
born in Watertown, Massachusetts, December 
30, 1682. He married, about 1720, Sarah 
, and they lived in Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts. Children : Sarah, born February 2, 
1 72 1 ; Joshua, mentioned below ; Thomas, Sep- 
tember 26, 1726; Hannah, October 10, 1727: 
Josiah, twin, December 20, 1728; Mary, twin 
of Josiah ; Abraham, April 26, 1732. 

(IV) Joshua (2), son of Joshua (1) Child, 
was born in Worcester, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 26, 1725. He married in Worcester, 
June 2, 1748. Mary Hinds, born in Shrews- 
bury, Massachusetts, August 18. 1726, died in 
Northboro, Massachusetts. April 11, 1766, 
daughter of Jacob and Grace (Morse) Hinds. 
After their marriage they moved to North- 



boro, where the children were born, except 
Aaron, who doubtless was born in Wor- 
cester. Children : Aaron, died in Northboro 
June 16, 1823; Artemas, mentioned below; 
Abner, born in Northboro, July 29, 1764. 

(V) Artemas Childs, son of Joshua (2) 
Child, was born in Northboro, August 16, 
1762, and died in Ballston Spa, New York, 
November 9, 1839. He added the "s" to the 
name, making it Childs. He married, in North- 
boro, about 1793, Lucy, daughter of Simon 
Keyes, of Wilton, New Hampshire. They 
lived in Dublin, New Hampshire, and in 
Ballston Spa, New York. Children : Mary, 
born April 11, 1794; Lucy, February 13, 1796; 
Sally, October 27, 1797; Harriet, August 31, 
1799; Jane R., March 26, 1801 ; Artemas, 
August 12, 1802; John L., January 20. 1804; 
Levi Lincoln, mentioned below ; Emeline, Sep- 
tember 6, 1807; Leander, October 17, 1812; 
died October 9, 1826; Horace A., July 17, 
1814. 

(VI) Levi Lincoln, son of Artemas Childs, 
was born in Dublin, New Hampshire, Febru- 
ary 23, 1806, and died in Gaines, Orleans 
county, New York, where they lived, May 16, 
1857. He married, about 1832, Ann M., 
daughter of Asahel and Polly Wright ; Asahel 
and Polly Wright came from Vermont to Mid- 
dlebury, Wyoming county, New York, where 
they lived many years, removing finally to 
Gaines, Orleans county, where they both died 
in i860, both of them being eighty-three years 
of age. Children : Louisa F., born Septem- 
ber 30, 1833, married, July 4, 1853, Calvin P. 
Hazard ; Henry A., mentioned below ; Alary 
E., born June 17, 1839, married Edwin Wil- 
son, died July 19, 1865 ; Helen A., born July 
18, 1842, died August 17, 1851; Albert D., 
born November 22, 1844, died January 3, 1847. 

(VII) Hon. Henry Augustine Childs, son 
of Levi Lincoln Childs, was born in Carlton, 
Orleans county, New York, July 17, 1836, in 
a cottage on the shores of Lake Ontario, just 
east of what is known as Point Breeze. When 
he was about ten years of age his father moved 
to Fair Haven, Orleans county. New York, 
where they lived a short time, moving later to 
Gaines, where Levi lived until his death. May 
16, 1857, just forty-nine years even to the 
same day of the month before the time his son 
Henry died. Levi Childs was a blacksmith 
by trade, and was known as an excellent me- 
chanic, with a wide reputation. He was a 
poor man, unable to give his children any 



NEW YORK. 



517 



educational advantages. His son Henry also 
had his mechanical ability, as was often shown 
in the trial of cases involving mechanical prin- 
ciples; he was often consulted about practical 
application of mechanical principles, and his 
knowledge of them was a great help in his 
profession as well as a source of pleasure to 
him. 

Hon. Henry A. Childs received his first in- 
struction in the stone school house now stand- 
ing at Gaines. Some of his schoolmates of 
those days tell of how they would sit around 
the forge tire watching his father make by 
hand the horseshoes for the following day's 
work, and tell stories until the time for wield- 
ing the sledge. One of his boyhood friends, 
Harmon Knickerbocker, says : "Henry never 
went out with the boys stealing early fruit, 
but remained at home to read some new book 
which chance had placed in his hands, or talk 
the politics of that day and age." Another 
instance of the trust in him as a boy was the 
fact that, unknown to the other inhabitants 
of the village, Dr. Gribley, a cripple, and a 
prosperous merchant at Gaines in those days, 
often gave Henry large sums of money to 
bank at Albion, New York. When he was 
seventeen years of age he was employed as 
clerk in a bookstore owned by his brother-in- 
law, Calvin P. Hazard, who married Louisa 
Francis Childs, and who came from Canada 
to Albion, where he owned the bookstore and 
a lumber yard and planing mill on Bank 
street. His work here for about a year gave 
him opportunity to become acquainted with 
all the books he wished for, and he made the 
best of his chances for reading and study. It 
is related that one day a servant girl came 
into the store and asked for a book entitled 
"Perry Go Werry Go Way"; after some 
thought he gave her "Pencillings by the Way," 
by N. P. Willis, and this proved to be the book 
she wanted. This shows how well versed he 
must have been in the literature of the day. 
It is said that he could memorize so much 
of a book by reading it that he astonished his 
hearers. When the bookstore was sold he ob- 
tained work as office clerk and all-round hand 
in the lumber yard of Calvin Hazard. George 
Curran, who worked with him as hostler and 
driver, tells how together they drew some of 
the largest loads of lumber ever drawn in the 
county. After working here for about five 
years, he continued his education at Albion 
Academy, and the fact that he had read so 



much and studied so much was of great help 
in his school work. In 1857, when twenty-one 
years of age, he entered Macedon Academy, 
at Macedon Centre, New York. This school 
was founded for the purpose of giving a prep- 
aration for college, after leaving the district 
schools. He writes of it in 1891, on the occa- 
sion of the fiftieth anniversary of the institu- 
tion : "In recording the events of the past of 
old Macedon Academy I am sure none other 
than pleasant memories will be found in the 
events of her old students, and that such a 
record can contain little not to the credit of 
the institution, and very much tending to place 
it upon the highest plane occupied by those 
of its class." In 1858 he received a teacher's 
certificate, in which he was qualified as a 
teacher of the second grade, and was licensed 
to teach the common schools, but no record 
has been found showing that he took advan- 
tage of the certificate. In 1858 he returned 
to Albion, where he began his law studies in 
the office of Judge B. L. Besack, an office at 
that time noted for having the best law library 
in Orleans county, and there were many who 
wished to get the apprenticeship there. The 
late Hon. Irving M. Thompson at this time 
was practicing at Albion, and he had a case 
for trial at Waterport, New York ; Henry A. 
Childs asked him for the privilege of taking 
the minutes of the case. The request was 
granted, and he took the minutes in long hand 
with such success that Mr. Thompson recom- 
mended him, at his request, for a position in 
the office of Sickels & Graves at Medina, New- 
York. In this office his salary consisted of 
the amounts he obtained from the service of 
legal papers. In i860 he was appointed deputy 
sheriff of Orleans county through the influence 
of John W. Graves, and at the time the 
Medina Tribune said: "Mr. Childs is a young 
man of great energy of character, of undoubted 
business capacity, and well fitted for the place. 
He will make a first rate officer." One of the 
Albion papers said : "He is a deserving young 
man, as we know from having while he was 
yet in his boyhood initiated him into the mys- 
teries of business." One of the first instances 
of his zeal in his profession and of his work 
for advancement is the following from the 
Medina Tribune in i860: "Sent to the Work 
House: Taber Bentley was brought before 
Justice Bullock on Friday last, charged with 
assault and battery upon a Mrs. Fry. He was 
convicted and sent to the Work House for 



5i8 



NEW YORK 



ioo days. Mr. Henry Childs, a young man 
who had just commenced the study of law. 
conducted the prosecution and by his manage- 
ment won much credit." Although he was 
busy in the study of law and in his office as 
deputy sheriff, he still found time to interest 
himself in politics. He was always a great 
admirer of Abraham Lincoln, and never ceased 
his search for books on this famous man, fill- 
ing his library with nearly every volume writ- 
ten about him. On May 7, 1862, his applica- 
tion to practice as an attorney and counselor 
was granted. At that time the Medina Tribune 
said of him: "Mr. Childs has been a student 
in the law office of Sickels & Graves of this 
place for the last three years, and by close 
application to his studies and business has won 
for himself a host of friends and become well 
qualified for the practice of law. The class 
was one of the best admitted in a number of 
years, and we are informed that Mr. Childs 
was conceded by all to stand at the head, and 
by his promptness in answering and readiness 
to give his reasons, exhibited a knowledge of 
the law entitling him to a diploma to practice 
in all the courts of the state. We wish him 
all success in his profession." A Buffalo paper 
printed the following story, told by Justice 
Henry A. Childs to Justice Lambert and a 
representative of the Courier: 

Well, every lawyer's first case is interesting to 
himself, and for that reason I will tell you about 
mine, with the distinct understanding that I am not 
talking for publication. 

There were two other aspirants for admission to 
the bar studying in the same office with me just 
before I was admitted to practice, and I well re- 
member how eager we were for the trial, when an 
old man who had been arrested for some crime 
came into the office and asked us to defend him be- 
fore the magistrate. I worked on that case with all 
my might, and developed a theory for the defense 
which pleased my colleagues so much that they 
thought they could win the case without me, and 
virtually kicked me out of it. Naturally I was in- 
dignant at such treatment. I knew pretty well the 
justice before whom the case was to come, and I 
went to him and told him how I had been treated. 
I asked him if he would appoint me to appear and 
try the case on behalf of the people. I left him 
in a more contented frame of mind. 

On the day of the trial the other fellows appeared 
with their client, and I was a humble spectator in 
the crowd. When the case was called the justice 
looked around, and spying me, asked me if I would 
take the case for the people. Of course I did. and 
if ever I tried a case for all it was worth, that was 
defense, and had prepared myself to defeat it. 
the case. You see I knew already the theory of the 
Well, to make a long story short. 1 won the case. 



The old man was convicted, and when he heard the 
verdict he muttered: 'If I had had that young feller 
for my lawyer. I'd a got off all right!' That pleased 
me immensely. 

His first case before the court of appeals 
was September 28, 1863, and from that time 
on he was engaged in various forms of litiga- 
tion before that court, in all of which he was 
universally successful. In the judicial conven- 
tion in Buffalo, New York, October 4, 1883, 
he was put in nomination for one of the su- 
preme justices in the Western District of 
Xew York, and in the November election he 
won by a very handsome majority. The 
Buffalo Express, October 5, 1883, said of 
Judge Childs: "The nominee for supreme 
court justice is tall, well built, and of pleasing 
appearance. He wears a neatly trimmed light 
brown beard, and his upper lip is clean shaved. 
In speaking he is deliberate. He is an affable 
gentleman, who makes friends with all." He 
was a Republican in politics, and held the 
office of district attorney in 1865 for three 
terms,' with a care and success which prepared 
him for his higher position. In 1874 he formed 
a copartnership with Senator Pitts, and the 
firm was very successful. When he won the 
election for justice, many papers wrote con- 
gratulations, even those which were not Re- 
publican papers, and praise of him was wide- 
spread. One instance of what was written 
of him is the following from the Medina 
Register: "Although we are not of the same 
political affiliation as Mr. Childs, we are 
heartily glad of his election as justice of the 
supreme court in this district. From the time 
of his nomination there has been no doubt of 
his election, and he made a most nattering 
run. It is seldom that any candidate has been 
up for office who has had so much said in his 
favor and so little against him as has Mr. 
Childs; and the reason was plainly, that his 
political opponents had no cause to say aught 
derogatory to him as a man or a lawyer. Mr. 
Childs' career as a lawyer has been an honor- 
able one, and no one doubts that his career 
as a Judge will be the same." 

When he was employed in the office of John 
W. Graves, he became acquainted with his 
niece, Julia Billard Freeman, and after a 
short courtship they were married, November 
16, 1859. She was a daughter of Orin and 
Permelia (Billard) Freeman, who lived in 
Onondaga county. New York. He died May 
ifi, 1906. Children: Carrie, born April 1, 



NEW YORK. 



5i9 



1861, in Medina ; married, October 7, 1885, 
William L. Marcy, and had Henry C, Esther 
and William L. Jr. ; Mary, born December 25, 
1863; John Edward, February 27, 1865, died' 
April 19, 1867 ; Milford W., mentioned below ; 
Anna, September 23. 1875, died May 10, 1882; 
Henry, November 19, 1879, died July 26, 1880; 
Julia, November 15. 1881, in Medina, married, 
October 7, 1908, Charles T. Brimson, and has 
William G. 

(VIII) Milford W.. son of Hon. Henry A. 
Childs, was born in Medina, September 28, 
1869. He received his education at Hawley's 
private school in Buffalo, New York, and then 
took a four years' course at Williams College, 
from which he was graduated in 1893. Two 
years later he received the degree of LL.B. 
from the Buffalo Law School, and was 
awarded the Daniels scholarship prize for an 
essay on "Constitutional Law." He worked 
for a year after his admission to the bar as 
managing clerk for Marcy & Close. In Sep- 
tember, 1896, he formed a partnership with 
Wesley C. Dudley, and began practice in Buf- 
falo. In 1898 the partnership was dissolved, 
and he became a member of the firm of S. A. 
Cook & Co., manufacturers. The firm was in- 
corporated in 1908. and he was made secre- 
tary. He still holds that position, and is vice- 
president of the Buffalo, Lockport and 
Rochester Transit Co. From August, 1909, 
until February. 191 1, he was receiver of the 
Buffalo, Lockport and Rochester Electric Rail- 
road Company, and at present is receiver of 
the Medina Gas Company. He is a Methodist 
in religion, and in politics a Republican. For 
three years he was a member of the Medina 
Board of Education. He is a member of the 
Buffalo University and Buffalo Auto clubs of 
Buffalo ; member and director of the Alert 
Cub of Medina : member of the Medina Lodge 
of Elks ; of the Medina Lodge of Free Masons, 
of which he is past master ; of Royal Arch 
Chapter, No. 281, in which he is high priest; 
of Alpha and Omega Council, Royal and Se- 
lect Masters ; of Geneseo' Commandery, No. 
10, Knights Templar, of Lockport, New York, 
of which he is past commander ; member of 
the Buffalo Consistory, A. A. S. R., and of 
Ismailia Temple, Mystic Shrine. 

He married, June 1, 1898, Pearl Cook, who 
was born in Medina, daughter of Seeley A. 
Cook. Children : Adelaide, born April 5, 1900; 
Carrie, June 19, 1906: Milford W. Jr., Janu- 
ary 18, 1909. 



This name, spelled both How and 
HOW Howe, is found at an early date in 

Massachusetts. The branch herein 
traced seems in all generations to have avoided 
the final "e," and from John, of Marlboro, 
down have given the family name the form 
of How. 

(II) John (2) How was one of the peti- 
tioners in 1657 .for the grant which constituted 
the town of Marlboro, Massachusetts. He was 
the son of John (1) Howe, supposed to be 
the John Howe, Esq., who came from War- 
wickshire, in England, and was a descendant 
of John Howe, son of John Howe, of Hodin- 
hull, and connected with the family of Sir 
Charles Howe, of Lancaster, in the reign of 
Charles I. John How (2) resided first in 
Waterbury, and in 1639 in Sudbury ; died in 
Marlboro, 1687. He was selectman in Sud- 
bury, and in 1655 was appointed by the pastor 
and selectmen "to see to the restraining of 
youth on the Lord's day." He is said to have 
been the first white inhabitant to settle on 
the new grant (Marlboro). He came there in 
1657 and built a log cabin in close proximity 
to the Indian plantation. He was always good 
friends with the Indians and often settled their 
disputes among themselves. In one case a 
pumpkin vine sprang up on the premises of 
one Indian and the fruit ripened on the prem- 
ises of another. The question of ownership 
was referred to John How, who, with the 
wisdom of a Solomon, called for a knife, 
severed the fruit, giving each a half, a judg- 
ment said to have been perfectly satisfactory 
to both parties. His will mentions wife Mary, 
and children : John, killed by Indians ; Samuel : 
Sarah, Mary, died young; Isaac; Josiah, of 
further mention ; Mary ; Thomas ; Daniel ; 
Alexander ; Eleazer. 

(III) Josiah, son of John How, was in 
Marlboro, Massachusetts, in 1675, and served 
in King Philip's war. His estate was settled 
in 171 1. He married, March 18, 1672, Mary 
Haynes, of Sudbury, who survived him and 
married (second) John Prescott. Giildren: 
Mary, died young; Mary, died young; Josiah, 
of whom further; Daniel, born May 5, 1681 ; 
Ruth, January 6, 1684. 

(IV) Josiah (2), son of Josiah (1) How, 
was born at Marlboro, Massachusetts, 1678, 
died September 20, 1766. He married (first), 
at Marlboro, December 14, 1706. Sarah Biglo 
(Bigelow) ; (second) November 22, 1713, 
Mary Marble. Children : Phinehas ; Abraham, 



520 



NEW YORK. 



of whom further ; Rachel ; Sarah ; Mary ; 
Josiah ; Jacob. 

(V) Abraham, son of Josiah (2) How, was 
born in Marlboro, Massachusetts, April 6, 
1709; settled in Brookfield, Massachusetts, 
where he died May 12, 1790. He married 
Martha Potter, born in Marlboro, 171 1, died 
in Brookfield, December 20, 1791. Children, 
born in Brookfield : Ephraim, born November 

23, 1733; Abraham, born January, 1735, died 
January 20, 1756; Abner, of whom further; 
Sarah, October 24, 1738; Rachel, March 19, 
1741 ; Martha, May 15, 1744; Persis, July 23, 
1749; Eli, March 18, 1752; Abraham, March 
4. I758- 

(VI) Abner, son of Abraham How, was 
born in Brookfield, June 28, 1736, died there 
December 20, 1779; married, September 29, 
1757, Sarah Lane, who survived him ; was dis- 
missed from the Brookfield church to the 
church in Jaffrey, New Hampshire, September 

24, 1780. Children, born in North Brook- 
field: Adonijah, born July 24, 1758; Persis, 
September 3, 1760; Abner, January n, 1763; 
Sarah, February 13, 1765; Rebecca, June 21, 
1767; Job Lane, September 18, 1769; Eunice, 
November 16, 1771 ; James, of whom further ; 
Thankful, March 14, 1777. 

(VII) James, son of Abner How, was born 
in North Brookfield, Massachusetts, March 16, 
1774. He married and had a son James, of 
whom further. 

(VIII) James (2), son of James (1) How, 
was born about 1810, died in Brooklyn, New 
York, and is buried in Greenwood cemetery. 
He was a prominent manufacturer and busi- 
ness man of Brooklyn for many years. He was 
president of the Atlantic White Lead Manu- 
facturing Company ; director of the Brooklyn 
City Railway Company ; director of the Brook- 
lyn Gas Company; director of the Brooklyn 
Academy of Music ; trustee of the Brooklyn 
Polytechnic Institute, and of the Packer Insti- 
tute (a seminary for young ladies). He mar- 
ried Celestine Wells of a prominent southern 
family on the paternal side. Her mother was 
of a Massachusetts family, her father of south- 
ern birth. Theirs was a runaway marriage, 
the bride's mother not being willing her daugh- 
ter should marry a slaveowner. Children of 
James and Celestine How: 1. James. 2. Celes- 
tine Wells. 3. Mary Elizabeth. 4. Richard 
Wells, married Mary Brownson ; children : 
Richard Wells, Josephine Wells, Celestine 
Wells, John Brownson, and Kenneth Gyose. 



5. John Laidlaw, of whom further. 6. Susan. 
7. Anne Kent. 8. Sara Kent. 9. Charles. 
10. Child, died in infancy. 

(IX John Laidlaw, son of James (2) How, 
was born in Brooklyn, New York, in 1848. 
He married, June 9, 1869, Sarah Louise 
Brownson, sister of his brother Richard's wife, 
and daughter of John and Caroline (Steele) 
Brownson. Caroline Steele was of Huguenot 
ancestry and daughter of a captain in the revo- 
lutionary army. Children: 1. Sarah Louise, 
born June 24, 1870, died May, 1892. 2. Celes- 
tine Wells, died in infancy. 3. John Laidlaw, 
died in infancy. 4. James, of whom further. 

(X) James, son of John Laidlaw How, was 
born in Brooklyn, New York, September 21, 
1874. He was educated at the Polytechnic In- 
stitute, Brooklyn, and left school to enter busi- 
ness in 1890. He was employed first with the 
firm of Qarkson & Ford, New York City, 
but severed his connection with them in 1896 
to accept a position with the Hartford Rubber 
Company, in their New York establishment, 
and in 1899 was advanced to the manage- 
ment of their branch house at Buffalo, New 
York. In 1906 he resigned his position with 
the Hartford Rubber Company to take the 
management of the firm of S. O. Barnum & 
Son Company, of Buffalo, of which firm he is 
now (1911) a member. Mr. How is a mem- 
ber of the Westminster Presbyterian Church, 
and belongs to the Saturn Club, the Country 
Club, and the Westminster Club. He married, 
April 28, 1903, in Grace Church chantry, New 
York City, Fanny Elizabeth, daughter of 
Theodore D. Barnum (see Barnum IV). 

(The Barnum Line). 

(I) Ezra Barnum was a resident of Dan- 
bury, Connecticut ; married Jerusha 

and had issue. 

(II) Ezra Smith, son of Ezra and Jerusha 
Barnum. was born June 21, 1792, in Danbury, 
Connecticut, died in 1877. He settled in Utica, 
New York, in 1809, and established an im- 
porting business known as Barnum's Bazaar, 
out of which grew the S. O. Barnum business 
of Buffalo. He was a man of importance in 
Utica. When Lafayette made his triumphal 
tour through the United States Mr. Barnum 
was one of the prominent citizens of Utica 
appointed to meet him at Whiteboro and escort 
him into the city of Utica. He was prominent 
in the Masonic Order ; was grand king of the 
Grand Chapter of the Royal Arch Masons of 



NEW YORK. 



521 



New York state, and grand captain general 
of the Grand Commandery of Knights Tem- 
plar of the United States. He was made a 
Mason in 1817. He married, in 1815, Mary, 
only daughter of John and Jane Ostrum. Chil- 
dren : Stephen Ostrum, of whom further ; 
Richard : George ; Sarah ; Jane, married David 
Golden ; Samuel ; Mary ; Ezra ; Eliza, married 
J. C. Mcintosh. 

(III) Stephen Ostrum, son of Ezra Smith 
Barnum, was born in Utica, January, 181 5, 
died in Buffalo, October, 1899, and is buried 
in Forest Lawn cemetery. In 1845 he founded 
in Buffalo the wholesale and retail novelty 
business of Barnum Brothers, at 265 Main 
street, following the same lines that his father 
so successfully followed in Utica. He was 
very prosperous and left a business firmly es- 
tablished. He was a director of White's Bank 
of Buffalo, and a man of influence in the 
Democratic party. He was offered the nom- 
ination for mayor of Buffalo, but would not 
consent to run for office. He married, in 
Utica, in 1841, Elizabeth Chatfield. Children: 

1. Theodore Downs, of whom further. 

2. Henry, died unmarried. 3. Frederick, de- 
ceased; was an active member of the Buffalo 
Volunteer Fire Department, belonging to Hose 
Company No. n. 4. Frank, died at the age 
of sixteen years. 5. Fanny, died at the age 
of thirteen years. 

(IV) Theodore Downs, son of Stephen 
Ostrum Barnum, was born in Utica, New 
York, April 23, 1842, died in Buffalo, 1901. 
He was educated in the Buffalo schools and 
Canandaigua Military Academy. He served 
in the civil war as captain of Company C, 74th 
Regiment. Later he became associated with 
his father in business and on the death of 
the latter succeeded him, but only continued 
same one year after the latter's death. He 
was a Republican and an elder of Westmin- 
ster Presbyterian Church. He was a member 
of the Grand Army of the Republic, and of 
the Buffalo Club. He married, June 21, 1864, 
in Cleveland, Sarah Whitney, born 1843, 
daughter of Rev. John Thomas and Sarah 
Avis (Whitney) Aver)'. Rev. John T. Avery 
was born in New Lebanon, in 1807, died in 
1896; married Sarah Whitney, born 1816, died 
1893, daughter of Harry and Sarah (Canfield) 
Whitney, the latter born 1793, died 1868. 
Rev. John T. Avery was a son of Wil- 
liam Thomas and Phoebe Throop Avery. Wil- 
liam Thomas was a son of Nathan Averv, a 



soldier of the revolution. Children of Theo- 
dore D. Barnum: 1. Fanny Elizabeth, mar- 
ried (first) April 8, 1891, Langford Spencer 
Keating, born in Buffalo, June 2, 1868, died 
May 31, 1899; child: Theodore Barnum, born 
January 5, 1894; married (second), April 28, 
1903, James How, of Buffalo. (See How X). 
2. Evelyn Avery, born July 16, 1880, died 
November, 1899. 3. Stephena Ostrum, mar- 
ried Ralph H. Sidway. (See Sidway). 



The name Spalding appears 
SPAULDING as a patronymic quite early 

in English history. It was 
derived from the town of Spalding, in Lincoln- 
shire, England, but how the name originated 
is a matter of conjecture, possibly from the 
tribal name Spaldas, which may have been 
left by the Romans when they abandoned the 
country in 600 A. D. The name Spalding 
was very early introduced and extensively 
used in England and Scotland, but whether 
the families descended from a common an- 
cestor cannot be stated. The spelling of the 
name is uniformly the same, Spalding, and 
the given names, with the exception of one 
or two in the Maryland branch, are common 
to all the families both in this country and in 
Great Britain. The family in England bore 
arms, the prevailing colors being the same, 
which would suggest a common origin. The 
letter "u" in the name, making it Spaulding, 
was first introduced in America in the wills 
of some of the children of the emigrant an- 
cestor. Nothing can be told of his English 
history, although the tradition is that he came 
from Lincolnshire. 

The first known authentic record of the 
Spalding family in America appears in a Vir- 
ginia state document (Senate Report) entitled 
"Virginia Colonial Records," published in 
1874, and includes an account of the Virginia 
colony. In 1607 the first emigrants to success- 
fully form a permanent colony landed in Vir- 
ginia. For twelve years after its settlement 
the colony was ruled by laws written in blood, 
the colonists suffering an extremity of distress 
too horrible to be described. Of the thousands 
who had been sent to Virginia at great cost, 
not one in twenty was alive April, 1619, when 
Sir George Yeardley arrived. The prosperity 
of Virginia began from this time, when it re- 
ceived as a commonwealth the freedom to 
make laws for itself. The first meeting was 
held July 30, 1619, more than a year before 



NEW YORK. 



the "Mayflower" with the Pilgrims left the 
harbor of Southampton. Conclusive evidence 
proves that Edward Spalding came over from 
England with Sir George Yeardley in 1619, 
or about that lime. Documentary evidence 
proved that he was fully established with his 
family in the Virginia colony in 1623, as his 
name appears in "Virginia Colonial Records" 
previously alluded to, in the "lists of the Liv- 
ing and Dead in Virginia, February 10, 1623," 
under the caption of "Attorney James Citie 
and within the corporation thereof" is to be 
found in "List of the Living," "Edward 
Spalding, uxor Spalding, pucr Spalding, 
puella Spalding" ; and again in the same list, 
under the caption "more at Elizabeth Cittie," 
"Edmund Spalden." 

(I) The supposition is that Edward and 
Edmund Spalding came from England 
together about 1619 ; that some years later 
Edward went to the Massachusetts colony, 
while Edmund joined the Maryland colony 
and was the progenitor of the Maryland 
branch. This record deals with Edward 
Spalding, and the branch settled in Buffalo, 
New York. Prior to settling in Massachu- 
setts, Edward may have lived some years in 
the Bermudas, then called the Summer Islands. 
By what means he reached Massachusetts is 
not positively known, but it may be supposed 
that he was jointly interested in the owner- 
ship of a trading vessel, as Captain Hartt. a 
master mariner, was a member of his house- 
hold. It is also believed that he arrived at 
Braintree, Massachusetts, in 1634, as the first 
permanent records of that town show births 
and deaths in his family from 1640 to 1641. 
He was made a freeman of Braintree, May 13, 
1640, which proves him a member of the Es- 
tablished Church. He next appears as a set- 
tler in Chelmsford, and when Newfield was 
settled he was one of the proprietors. He 
was selectman three years, surveyor of high- 
ways, and in 1664 special mention is made of 
his fine orchards. He died February 26, 1670. 
Two of his sons and seven grandsons emi- 
grated to Plainfield, Connecticut ; others set- 
tled in Vermont, and wherever new towns 
were settled there was a Spalding, until today 
descendants of Edward Spalding may be found 
in every state or territory north, west or east. 
His first wife, Margaret, died in Braintree, 
in 1640. Children : John, Edward, Grace 
(buried in Braintree, May. 1641). By second 
wife, Rachel (mentioned in his will), he had: 



Benjamin, born April 7, 1643 : Joseph, Octo- 
ber 25, 1646; Dinah, March 14, 1649; Andrew, 
November 19, 1652. 

(II) Lieutenant Edward (2) Spaulding, son 
of Edward (1) and his first wife, Margaret 
Spalding, was born about 1635, died January 
1, 1708. He was made a freeman March II, 
1690; representative to the general court in 
1691 ; he is buried in the Chelmsford burying 
ground, where the epitaph reads : "Here lyes 
the body of Lieut. Edward Spolden, aged 72 
years, who deceased on Janry ye 10, 1707-8." 
He married (first), July 6, 1663, Priscilla Un- 
derwood, Governor Endicott performing the 
ceremony; married (second), November 22, 
1681, Margaret Barre^ who died May 25, 
1748. Children: Dorothy, born April 3. 1664; 
Deborah, September 12, 1667; Edward, Au- 
gust 18, 1674; Ebenezer, of further mention; 
Esther, February 11, 1700: Sarah and Mar- 
garet. 

(III) Ebenezer, youngest son of Lieutenant 
Edward (2) and his second wife, Margaret 
(Barrett) Spaulding, was born January 13, 
1683 ; he was a cooper, and removed from 
Chelmsford to what is now Hudson, New 
Hampshire ; also owned land in Nottingham, 
same state, which he conveyed February 3, 

1743. He married Anna ; children: 

Edward, of further mention ; Bridget, born 
December 25, 1709 ; Experience, March 22, 
1711 ; Esther, February 22, 1712; Reuben, died 
young; Stephen, born May 28. 1717 : Sarah, 
November 27, 1719; Mary, May 4, 1724; 
Reuben, July 26, 1728: Anna, November 30, 

1731- 

(IV) Edward (3), son of Ebenezer and 
Anna Spaulding, was born in Chelmsford, 
Massachusetts, March 8, 1708. He resided in 
Nottingham, New Hampshire, where he 
deeded land with his wife Elizabeth in 1766. 
Children : Levi, of further mention : Elizabeth, 
born November 26, 1741 ; Lucy. June 27, 
1744; Esther, August 11, 1747: Sarah, April 
6, 1754- 

(V) Captain Levi Spaulding. son of Ed- 
ward (3) and Elizabeth Spaulding. was born 
in Nottingham West (now Hudson) New 
Hampshire, October 23, 1737; died at Plain- 
field, Otsego county, New York, March 1, 
1825. After leaving the home farm he set- 
tled at Lyndeboro, New Hampshire, continu- 
ing his New Hampshire residence until about 
1800, when he removed to Plainfield. New 
York, where he died twentv-five vears later. 



NEW YORK. 



5^3 



He was a prominent man in his town, serving 
as selectman in 1768 and 1774; moderator of 
town meetings, 1781-82-85-86-91 ; representa- 
tive to general court at Concord, 1784, being 
the second man to be selected for that office 
from his town. He served in the revolution- 
ary war as captain, Third Regiment Volun- 
teers. This regiment was engaged at the battle 
of Bunker Hill, where Captain Levi Spaulding 
was in command of his company, and history 
relates that the New Hampshire troops ren- 
dered gallant and efficient service. He was at 
the battle of Trenton, and at Valley Forge 
during that terrible winter of 1777-78. He 
was afterwards transferred and came under 
the immediate command of General Washing- 
ton, serving throughout the war, and wit- 
nessed the final surrender at Yorktown. He 
received an honorable discharge and was in 
receipt of a captain's pension until his death. 
He married (first) Anna Burns, (second) 
Lois Goodrich, December 30, 1778 ; of his 
eleven children, eight were by his first wife. 
Children: 1. Betsey, born November 18, 1759; 

married Holt. 2. Olive, April 8, 1762 ; 

married Lovell Lewis, and removed to Lewis- 
ton, New York. 3. Edward, of further men- 
tion. 4. George, born September 14, 1766; 
came to his death by drowning, while yet a 
young man. 5. Martha, born April 6, 1768 ; 
married (first) Joseph Knight, of New Ips- 
wich, New Hampshire; (second) April 11, 

1793, Emerson. 6. Esther, born July 7, 

1770. 7. Levi (2), born January 25, 1772; 
killed by being thrown from a sleigh, Feb- 
ruary 26, 1824; married Clara Godard, and 
left issue: Ruth, David, Levi, Dana, Nancy. 
Levi Burns, Clarissa and Sylvester. 8. John, 

born about 1774; married — Putnam; 

they both lived to the great age of ninety-eight 
years, dying the same year, in Marlow, New 
Hampshire; children: John, Putnam and 
Nehemiah. 9. Benjamin Goodrich, born Sep- 
tember 9, 1779. 10. Sewall, born March 1, 
1782; settled in Plainfield, New York, where 
he died August 1, 1825 ; married, January 3, 
181 1, Nancy, daughter of Amos and Phoebe 
(Covey) Burdick; children: Louisa, Amos 
Burdick, Salome and Melissa. 11. Lois Good- 
rich, born February 16, 1784; married Stephen 
Abbott ; settled at Nashville, New York, where 
he died about 1864; she after 1870. 

(VI) Edward (4), son of Captain Levi and 
his first wife Anna (Burns) Spaulding, was 
born in Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, No- 



vember 18, 1764: died in Alexander, New 
York, September 14, 1845. He was a farmer, 
and an early settler at Plainfield, Otsego 
county. New York; later removed to Summer 
Hill, Cayuga county, and thence to Alexander, 
Genesee county, New York, where both he 
and wife died. He married, October 30, 1788, 
Mehitable, born September 25, 1770, died July 
31, 1838, daughter of Rev. Sewall Goodrich, 
of Lyndeboro, New Hampshire. Children: 
1. Anna Burns, born September 15, 1789, mar- 
ried (first) George Gray, died 1814; of Sum- 
mer Hill, New York, April 25, 1808; married 
(second) August 20, 1817, Loren Hodges; 
died October 1, 1846. 2. Phebe Putnam, born 
September 1. 1791 ; died November 26, 1821 ; 
married, April 28, 1808, Sheffield Burdick, 
died November 26, 182 1. 3. Mehitable, born 
November 16, 1793 ; married Samuel Crosby. 
4. Nathaniel, born August 28, 1795; soldier 
of war of 1812, enlisting from Summer Hill; 
received a pension for his services, which con- 
tinued until his death ; was a manufacturer 
of joiners' tools ; married (first) Susan Stage, 
of Groton, New York; (second) Julia Bradley 
Milliken; (third) Esther Jane Johnson; re- 
sided in Ithaca and died in Newfield, New 
York, December 13, 1871 ; by his three wives 
had eleven children. 5. George, born Novem- 
ber 1, 1797; married, February 13, 1828, 
Olive Selover, born November 21, 1802; died 
November 18, 1862. 6. Elbridge Gerry, born 
1802, died young. 7. Lucy, born May 20, 1804; 
married, January 16, 1823, Clark Hammond. 
8. Warren, born November 10, 1806; married 
(first) May 8, 1827, Caroline Stillson, of 
Auburn, New York; (second) November 20, 
1859, Lavinia Chesley, at Burlington. Calhoun 
county, Michigan ; ten children, all by first 
wife. 9. Elbridge Gerry (2), of further men- 
tion. 

(VII) Elbridge Gerry, son of Edward and 
Mehitable (Goodrich) Spaulding, was born 
February 24, 1809, at Summer Hill, Cayuga 
county, New York ; died May 5, 1897. When 
about twenty years of age he commenced the 
study of law in the offices of Fitch & Dibble, 
Batavia county, New York, also teaching 
school and acting as recording clerk in the 
county clerk's office during the first two years 
in order to meet his necessary expenses. In 
1832 he entered the law office of Hon. Harvey 
Putnam, of Attica, where he continued his 
law studies until his admission to the Genesee 
county bar. In 1834 he removed to Buffalo, 



5^4 



NEW YORK. 



New York, where he continued the study and 
practice of law, being connected with the law 
firm of Potter & Babcock. At the May term 
of the supreme court in 1836 he was admitted 
to practice in the supreme court of New 
York state as an attorney and solicitor in 
chancery. In 1836 he formed a law partner- 
ship with George R. Babcock, and later with 
Heman B. Potter, continuing until 1844, and 
later was associated with Hon. John Ganson, 
with whom he continued until 1844. During 
his legal career he enjoyed an extensive and 
lucrative practice, but he is best known for his 
public life and services. In 1836 he was ap- 
pointed city clerk of Buffalo, and in 1841 was 
elected alderman, serving as chairman of the 
executive committee. In 1847 he was elected 
mayor of Buffalo. Among the important meas- 
ures inaugurated during his administration 
was the adoption by the state of the Erie and 
Ohio canal basins for enlarging harbor and 
docking facilities at Buffalo, the organization 
of the Buffalo Gas Light Company, for light- 
ing the city, and the adoption of an extensive 
system of sewerage. In 1848 he was elected 
to the house of assembly, serving as chair- 
man of the committee on canals. In Novem- 
ber, 1848, he was elected a member of the 
thirty-first congress, which met December, 
1849. He supported on every ballot Robert C. 
Winthrop for speaker; served on the commit- 
tee on foreign relations ; opposed the exten- 
sion of slavery on all occasions ; supported the 
policy of President Taylor in admitting Cali- 
fornia as a free state ; and opposed the Fugi- 
tive Slave law and the compromise measures 
adopted in 1850, which received the approba- 
tion of President Fillmore, who succeeded 
after the death of President Taylor. In 1853 
he was elected treasurer of New York state, 
and ex officio a member of the canal board, 
serving two years from January 1, 1854. As 
a member of the canal board he approved the 
plans and let contracts for enlarging the Erie 
and Oswego canals. He opposed the repeal 
of the Missouri Compromise in 1854; took an 
active part in organizing the Republican party ; 
was for several years a member of the state 
central committee, and in i860 was an active 
member of the congressional executive com- 
mittee in conducting the campaign which re- 
sulted in the election of Abraham Lincoln to 
the presidency. In 1858 he was elected to the 
thirty-sixth congress; re-elected in i860, 
serving four years on the ways and means 



committee. As chairman of the sub-commit- 
tee of ways and means he drafted the national 
currency bank bill, and originated the legal 
tender act for the issue of treasury fundable 
notes, to circulate as money, which he intro- 
duced in the house of representatives, De- 
cember 30, 1861. He advocated it as a war 
measure, and opened the debate upon the bill 
in an exhaustive speech, showing the impera- 
tive necessity of the measure to sustain the 
army and navy. While severely criticised, the 
arguments he presented have never been suc- 
cessfully controverted, and had great influence 
in carrying the bill through congress. Nearly 
all the most important loan laws for carrying 
on the war originated with the sub-committee 
of ways and means, of which Mr. Spaulding 
was chairman. In 1869 he issued a financial 
history of the war entitled "History of the 
Legal Tender Paper Money Issued during 
the Great Rebellion." In a letter to him dated 
August 3, 1869, Hon. Charles Sumner, of 
Massachusetts, said, in reference to this his- 
tory, "In all our early financial trials, while 
the war was most menacing, you held a posi- 
tion of great trust, giving you opportunity and 
knowledge. The first you used at the time 
most patriotically, and the second you now 
use for the instruction of the country." After 
the close of the civil war, Mr. Spaulding re- 
tired from public life, devoting his time to his 
banking and business interest until his final 
retirement. He had been engaged in banking 
since 1852. In 1864 he organized the Farmers 
and Mechanics National Bank of Buffalo, 
owned a large majority of the stock, and was 
its president until his death. 

Proud of his revolutionary ancestry, Mr. 
Spaulding erected in 1875 a monument in 
Buffalo dedicated to the honor of the Spauld- 
ings who fought in the battle of Bunker Hill, 
of whom there were seven, as shown on one 
side of the monument: 





LEVI 


SPALDIN 


Joseph 






Thomas 


Jonas 






Uriah 


Eben 






John 


William 






Ebenezer 


I77S 






i87S 




June 


17 




100 years 


of 


progress. 



Mr. Spaulding spent his last years in quiet 
retirement at Buffalo, enjoying his beautiful 
home, with surroundings in accord with his 
cultivated tastes. He was a member of the 



NEW YORK. 



525 



church and of many of the city's leading civil, 
charitable and philanthropic organizations. He 
married (first) September 5, 1837, Jane An- 
toinette Rich, who died August 6, 1841. He 
married (second) September 5, 1842, Nancy 
Selden Strong, who died May 4, 1852; mar- 
ried (third) May 2, 1854, Delia Strong, widow 
of Clark Robinson. Children, all by second 
marriage: 1. Charlotte, born July 17, 1843; 
married, February 27, 1866, Franklin Sidway ; 
residence, Buffalo, New York. 2. Edward 
Rich (see forward). 3. Samuel Strong, born 
in Buffalo, New York, June 26, 1849; mar " 
ried, October 15, 1875, in Buffalo, Annie Mar- 
garet Watson, born September 30, 1852 (see 
Watson) ; children: i. Marion, born November 
24, 1876; married, May 23, 1899, William G. 
Meadows, born November 1, 1870; child: Wil- 
liam G. (2), born March 4, 1901 ; Samuel 
Strong (2), born October 30, 1902; Rufus 
Watson, born July 28, 1908; Ann, born No- 
vember 28, 1909. ii. Charlotte, born November 
11, 1879; married, May 5, 1908, Langdon All- 
bright, born December 15, 1880; children: 
Charlotte, born January 15, 1910; Harriet, 
twin of Charlotte, iii. Elbridge Gerry, born 
August 2, 1881 ; educated at St. Mark's Pre- 
paratory School, Southboro, Massachusetts ; 
Yale University, Sheffield Scientific School, 
graduating class of 1905 ; now of firm of 
Spaulding & Spaulding, wholesale dealers in 
coal and coke ; member of Saturn, Country, 
and Auto clubs of Buffalo, and Yale Club of 
New York City ; married, November 3, 1909, 
Marion, only child of W. Caryl and Grace 
(Keeller) Ely. iv. Stephen Van Rensselaer, 
born February 24, 1884 ; educated at St. 
Mark's, Southboro, Massachusetts ; now of 
firm of Spaulding & Spaulding; member of 
Saturn, Country, and Auto clubs of Buffalo ; 
married, December 29, 1906, Marion, born 
August 27, 1884, daughter of Thomas C. and 
Lizzie (Atwater) Perkins. 

(VIII) Edward Rich, son of Elbridge Gerry 
Spaulding, was born in Buffalo, New York, 
November 7, 1845. He was educated in the 
city schools, and Phillips Academy, Andover, 
Massachusetts. At about the age of eighteen 
he entered the Farmers & Mechanics Bank, 
founded by his father, became cashier, and 
rose to the presidency. He also became presi- 
dent of the Buffalo Gas Light Company and 
held this office until its consolidation into the 
present company in 1897. This year practi- 
cally marked his retirement from active busi- 



ness. He retained his Buffalo residence, but 
occupied it only about two months a year, 
passing most of his time in Santa Barbara, 
California, where he built a handsome home. 
On Saturday, April 4, 1908, he was injured 
in a runaway accident in Santa Barbara, Cali- 
fornia, and died April 8th. Later the remains 
were conveyed to Buffalo and entered in the 
family lot at Forest Lawn cemetery. He mar- 
ried, January 6, 1875, Mary Tenney, daughter 
of Amos A. Blanchard, of Buffalo, and grand- 
daughter of Major William Tenney, of Hano- 
ver, New Hampshire. Children : Bertha, born 
November 27, 1875 ; Edward Blanchard, born 
October 31, 1879, died March 4, 1880; Harry 
Blanchard, of whom further; Samuel Strong, 
born January 1, 1884; Albert Tenney, July 25, 
1886; Ruth Tenney, September 15, 1887; Ed- 
ward Selden, March 7, 1891. 

(IX) Harry Blanchard, son of Edward Rich 
and Mary Tenney (Blanchard) Spaulding, 
was born in Buffalo, New York, October 19, 
1881. 

He was prepared at the Thatcher School, 
Ojai Valley, California, then entered Yale Uni- 
versity, where he was graduated, class of 1905. 
His business life began with the Bell Tele- 
phone Company, with whom he spent one year, 
connected with the purchasing department. He 
was then elected treasurer of the John R. 
Keim Mills Company, of Buffalo, remaining 
in that connection until February, 1910, when 
the company sold their mills and business. In 
the same month and year Mr. Spaulding was 
elected treasurer of the Long Grate Bar Com- 
pany, engaged in the manufacture of revolving 
and rocking boiler grates. He is an Inde- 
pendent in politics, and a member of the Pres- 
byterian church. His clubs are the Saturn, 
Auto, Country of Buffalo, Yale of New York 
City, and the Elihu of New Haven. He mar- 
ried, October 3, 1908, Mary Louise, born Jan- 
uary 27, 1887, daughter of Harry T. Randall, 
cashier of the Manufacturers and Traders 
Bank of Buffalo. 

(The Watson Line). 
John Watson died in 1728 ; he was of North 
Kingston, Rhode Island. May 14, 1683, he 
took John Straight for an apprentice "to serve 
sixteen years from the first of March last to 
learn his master's trade of tailoring." In 1687 
he was constable; 1688, grand juror; 1690, 
conservator of the peace ; 1690, deputy. He 
married (first) Dorcas Gardiner; (second) 



526 



NEW YORK. 



Rebecca Gardiner, supposed to have been 
sister of his first wife; six children. 

(II) John (2), eldest son of John (1) and 
Dorcas Gardiner, was born July 22, 1676; died 
November 18, 1772. He was of South Kings- 
ton, Rhode Island; was deputy, 17 18-2 1-22-23- 
24-25-26; married, April 8, 1703, Hannah 
Champlin; died October 31, 1720; seven chil- 
dren. 

(III) John (3), son of John (2) and Han- 
nah (Champlin) Watson, was born March 13. 
1 7 10; married . 

(IV) John (4), son of John (3), was born 
May 23, 1737; married, October 17, 1764, 
Desire Wheeler, born November 27, 1748. 

(V) Rufus, son of John (4) and Desire 
(Wheeler) Watson, was born 1774; died 1856; 
married Mercy Stanton, born May 22, 1784 ; 
died March 16, 1835. 

(VI) Stephen Van Rensselaer, son of Rufus 
and Mercy (Stanton) Watson, was born June 
13, 1817; died January 15, 1880; married. Jan- 
uary 7, 1847, Charlotte Amelia Sherman. 

(VII) Annie M., daughter of Stephen Van 
Rensselaer Watson ; married Samuel Strong 
Spaulding. 



The first person bearing the 
STOCKTON Stockton name to come to 
this country was Rev. Jonas 
Stockton, M. A., who with his son Timothy, 
then aged fourteen years, came to Virginia 
in the ship "Bona Nova," in 1620. He was 
for many years incumbent of the parishes of 
Elizabeth City and Bermuda Hundred, and be- 
came the founder of a numerous family of de- 
scendants, many of whom have become dis- 
tinguished. His cousin Prudence, daughter of 
Rev. John Stockton, rector of Alchester and 
Kingholt, married, June 18, 1612, Edward 
Holyoke, of Tamworth, later of Lynn, Massa- 
chusetts, and became the foundress of the 
Holyoke family in America. The next Stock- 
tons to emigrate was, according to Hotten's 
"Lists," Thomas Stockton, "aged twenty-one," 
who sailed from London to Boston in the ship 
"True Love," September 16, 1635. Of him 
nothing more is known. Finally, Richard 
Stockton, the founder of the family at present 
under consideration. 

(I) Richard Stockton was found in Charles- 
ton, Massachusetts, as early as 1639, where he 
is witness to a deed. The next reference to 
him is among the original patentees named in 
the charter of the town of Flushing, Long 



Island, where he appears to have been a prom- 
inent man, being rated among the rather well- 
to-do citizens of the place, taking a prominent 
part in the controversies between the town 
and Governor Peter Stuyvesant on religious 
matters, holding the lieutenancy of the Horse 
Guard of Flushing, and declining, with the 
consent of Governor Niccolls, an election to 
the same position in the Foot Guard. Between 
1670 and 1680 he became converted to the 
tenets of the Society of Friends, and selling 
his Long Island property he removed to 
Springfield township, Burlington county, New 
Jersey, where he purchased twelve hundred 
acres of land from George Hutchinson, where 
he lived until his death, between January 25, 
1705-06, and October 10. 1707, the dates of 
the executing and filing of his will. He mar- 
ried Abigail , who survived him, being 

alive April 14, 1714, and who, there is some 
reason to suppose, may have been his second 
wife. Children,, all probably born in New 
England or Long Island : Richard, John, Job, 
Abigail, Mary, Sarah, Hannah and Elizabeth. 
(II) Richard (2), son of Richard (1) 
Stockton, was born about 1650 or 1660, died 
in Piscataway, Middlesex county. New Jersey, 
between June 25 and August 15, 1709. His 
father took him with him to Springfield town- 
ship, Burlington county, New Jersey, where he 
remained until after his marriage, when he re- 
moved to Piscataway. Later he bought from 
William Penn the famous fifty-five hundred 
acres on which the town and university of 
Princeton now stand, making his residence on 
a part of it. In 1705 he was commissioned 
by Lord Cornbury, ensign of the militia com- 
pany of Springfield and Northampton town- 
ships, under Captain Richard Ellison, and in 
June, 1709, he became one of the trustees of 
the Stony Brook Friends' meeting house. He 
married, at Chesterfield monthly meeting. No- 
vember 8, 1691, Susanna (Witharn) Robinson, 
born in Whitby, November 29, 1668, died April 
30, 1749, daughter of Robert and Ann Witham. 
of Whitby, Yorkshire, England, and widow of 
Thomas Robinson, of Crosswicks. After her 
second husband's death she married (third) 
Judge Thomas Leonard, of Princeton. Chil- 
dren, all born in Piscataway: 1. Richard, 
April 2, 1693, died March, 1760; married 
Hester Smith, of Jamaica, Long Island : chil- 
dren : John and Ruth. 2. Samuel (of whom 
further). 3. Joseph. May 5. 1697, died 1770; 
married Elizabeth, daughter of Tacob and Amy 



NEW YORK. 



527 



(Whitehead) Doughty; children: Daniel, 
Joseph, Doughty, Samuel, John, Amy, Eliza- 
beth, Mary, Sarah, married Richard, son of 
Joseph and Mary (Farnsworth) Stockton. 
4. Robert, April 3, 1699, died in 1744-45; mar- 
ried (first) ; (second) Rebecca 

Phillips, of Maidenhead; children: Robert, 
Thomas, Job, Susanna, Eunice, Elizabeth, 
Sarah. 5. John, father of Richard Stockton, 
signer of the Declaration of Independence ; he 
married, February 21, 1729, Abigail, daughter 
of Philip and Rebecca (Stockton) Phillips, of 
Maidenhead, who was born October 9, 1708. 
6. Thomas, born 1703. 

(III) Samuel, son of Richard (2) and 
Susanna (Witham) (Robinson) Stockton, 
was born February 12, 1694-95, died 1739. 
He inherited five hundred acres of his father's 
estate and lived the life of a country gentle- 
man. He married (first) Amy, daughter of 
Jacob and Amy (Whitehead) Doughty; (sec- 
ond) Rachel, daughter of Colonel Joseph and 
Ruth (Horner) Stout. Children by first mar- 
riage, Samuel and Amy ; by second marriage : 
Joseph, who retrained loyal to the King dur- 
ing the revolution; went to the Bermuda 
Islands, where he founded the Bermuda branch 
of the family; Richard Witham (of whom 
further) ; Jacob; Rachel; Ann, married Rev. 
Andrew Hunter, father of the famous revo- 
lutionary chaplain. 

(IV) Richard Witham, second son of Sam- 
uel and Rachel (Stout) Stockton, was major 
of the Sixth Battalion, New Jersey Volunteers 
(Loyalists). He was surprised with sixty-three 
privates of his command and taken prisoner, 
February 18, 1777, by Colonel John Neilson, 
and was sent in irons to Philadelphia by order 
of General Putnam. To this course General 
Washington protested, he considering Major 
Stockton should be treated as a prisoner-of- 
war, not as a felon. He was tried and later 
accompanied the Tory refugees to New Bruns- 
wick, taking with him four of his sons and 
a daughter. Richard Stockton, of Somerset 
county, New Jersey, was advertised August 
28, 1779, as "a fugitive now with the enemy," 
probably the same person. He married Mary 
Hatfield, daughter of Joseph Hatfield, of Eliz- 
abeth, New Jersey. He became one of the 
original patentees of Parrtown, later St. John, 
New Brunswick, where he died. He had twelve 
or thirteen children, and the eldest son was 
Charles Witham (of whom further). 

(V) Charles Witham, son of Major Richard 



Witham and Mary (Hatfield) Stockton, was 
born at Princeton, New Jersey, July 16, 1756, 
died at Walton, New York, December 1, 1822. 
He married (first) January 14, 1779, at New- 
ton, New Jersey, Elizabeth North, born Jan- 
uary 13, 1764, died July 18, 1805. He married 
(second) Elizabeth Coleman, born February 
4, 1777, died April 14, 1848. He had thirteen 
children by his first wife, six by his second. 

(VI) Dr. Charles Lewis Stockton, second 
child of Charles Witham and his second wife, 
Elizabeth (Coleman) Stockton, was born in 
Walton, New York, January 15, 1815, died in 
Capeville, Virginia, May 23, 1874. He was 
reared in the family of Erastus Root, who was 
the husband of his eldest sister. Erastus Root 
was born in Hebron, Connecticut, March 16, 
1773, died suddenly in New York City, while 
en route for Washington, D. C, December 24, 
1846. He was a member of the state assembly, 
1798-1802, and many terms subsequently; a 
Democratic representative in the eighth, 
eleventh, fourteenth and twenty-second con- 
gresses, 1803-05-09-11-15-17-31-33 ; state sena- 
tor, 1818-22-30; lieutenant-governor of the 
state, 1823-25, and again state senator, 1841- 
45. He was the author of "Addresses to the 
People" (1824). 

Dr. Stockton was educated in the public 
schools and Delhi Academy, Walton, Delaware 
county, New York, after which he matriculated 
at Fairfield Medical College, Herkimer, from 
which he was graduated at the age of nineteen 
years. For four years he was engaged in mer- 
cantile business with his kinsmen, the St. 
Johns, in New York. He then renounced 
business life and took up the study of medicine 
with his brothers, William Severyn and Rich- 
ard Witham Stockton, the latter a surgeon in 
the war of 1812, received his degree of M.D., 
and practiced his profession in Chautauqua 
county, New York, and in the states of Ohio 
and Indiana. On horseback, with saddle bags 
filled with drugs and medicine, he traveled 
through the states of Kentucky, Missouri, 
Louisiana, Arkansas and Texas, treating such 
cases as he met with on his journeyings. After 
a few years spent in this migratory fashion he 
returned to New York, settling at Ripley, 
where he married. He again took up his rov- 
ing life; he spent six years in the state of 
Indiana, going from there to Ohio, thence to 
Virginia, where he remained until his death. 
He was a man of decided talent and brilliant 
qualities, but so filled with the spirit of travel 



528 



NEW YORK. 



and adventure that he was not content to settle 
and work upward to the high positions he was 
qualified to fill. He was a strong Abolitionist, 
his southern life having enabled him to see 
slavery as it existed in the cotton states in its 
worst form. He supported the Republican 
party for many years, but subsequently, dur- 
ing the reconstruction period, was affiliated 
with the Democracy. He married, January 16, 
1837, Sarah Shaeffer, of Oneida county, New 
York, born May 23, 1820, died at Buffalo, 
New York, October 11, 1900. Children: Caro- 
line Elizabeth, born January 11, 1838, died in 
March, 1841 ; Henry Eugene, born August 9, 
1839. died on the same day as his sister, Caro- 
line E. ; Mary Gertrude, born January 5, 1846; 
Emma Adalaide, March 15, 1848; Charles 
Gleason (of whom further). 

(VII) Dr. Charles Gleason Stockton, only 
son of Dr. Charles Lewis and Sarah 
(Shaeffer) Stockton, was born in Ohio, 
August 27, 1853. His early education was 
under private tutors in Virginia and Ohio, 
after which he prepared for college at West- 
field Academy, New York. He decided on the 
profession of medicine, entered the medical 
department of the University of Buffalo, 
whence he was graduated M.D., class of 1878. 
For ten years he was engaged in general prac- 
tice in the city of Buffalo. Since 1888 he has 
been Professor of Medicines in the University 
of Buffalo ; was surgeon of the Seventy- fourth 
Regiment, New York National Guard, with 
the rank of major ; past president of the Medi- 
cal Society, State of New York, and Buffalo 
Academy of Medicine; for ten years state 
medical examiner for the Royal Arcanum ; for 
three years physician at the Penitentiary ; 
house physician at the Buffalo General Hospi- 
tal ; attending physician since 1888 ; consulting 
physician at the Erie County Hospital, Ernest 
Wende Hospital, Sisters' Hospital, and at the 
New York State Hospital for Crippled Chil- 
dren, at Tarrytown, New York. Dr. Stockton 
is a member of Trinity Episcopal Church, and 
of the Saturn and Park clubs of Buffalo. 

He married, November 23, 1875, Mary L. 
Taylor, daughter of D. H. Taylor, and grand- 
daughter of Hon. Thomas B. Campbell. Chil- 
dren : 1. Harriet Sarah, born August 30, 1877 ; 
married, September 19, 1901, Maulsby Kim- 
ball ; children : Charles Stockton Kimball, born 
August 17, 1902; Maulsby Kimball (2), May 
20, 1904; Emily Nelson Kimball. February 2, 
1909. 2. Mary Louise, born December 16, 



1883, died April 28, 1905. 3. Lucy Witham, 
born April 19, 1888. 4. Dorothy Taylor, May 
18, 1891. 



This name is found among 
HORNING those of the inhabitants of 

Mechlenburg, Germany, where 
for many years prior to the emigration to the 
United States the family had lived. They were 
industrious, hardworking people, possessed of 
those German elements of character that al- 
ways make for success in life wherever they 
settle. This record begins with John Horning, 
of Mechlenburg, who owned a small farm on 
which he lived and reared a family of eight 
children, six of whom emigrated to the United 
States, namely : John H. (of whom further) ; 
Joseph, William, Sophia, Duretta, Fred. 

(II) John H, son of John Horning, was 
born in Mechlenburg, Germany, 1836, died in 
Otto, Cattaraugus county, New York, January 
10, 1889. He was educated in Germany, where 
he married and worked at farming until 1871, 
when he came to the United States, finally 
settling in Little Valley, New York. He 
worked for the farmers of the town until his 
savings enabled him to purchase a farm of 
fifty acres, which he successfully operated as 
a dairy farm. He prospered and was a highly- 
respected citizen of the town. He was of quite, 
unassuming manner, but full of energy and 
force. He was a member of the Lutheran 
church in Germany, but as there was no church 
of that denomination in Little Valley at that 
time he worshiped with his family in the 
Methodist church. In politics he was a Re- 
publican, but never took active part in public 
affairs. He married Maria Peters, who was 
born in Mechlenburg, Germanv, 1833. died in 
Otto, New York, 1884. Children: 1. Eliza, 
born May 3, 1857; married Richard L. 
Wearne. 2. Henreca, born February 12, 1862 ; 
married Fred B. Herrick; children: Vevah, 
married Harry Abbey ; Arthur. 3. Mary, born 
May 6, 1864 ; married Fred Schmail ; children : 
Beulah and Otis. 4. John David (of whom 
further). 

(III) John David, youngest child of John 
H. Horning, was born in Mechlenburg, Ger- 
many, May 7, 1866. When he was five years 
of age his parents came to this country, set- 
tling in Little Valley, New York. He attended 
the public schools of that place until the re- 
moval of his parents to Otto, and in the schools 
of that town completed his studies. He then 



NEW YORK. 



529 



turned his attention to the occupation of cheese 
making, which line of work he followed in 
various parts of the country from 1885 to 
1903, a period of eighteen years. In the latter 
named year he formed a partnership with C. 
J. Clair under the firm name of C. J. Clair & 
Company, cheese manufacturers, in which en- 
terprise they were highly successful, and this 
connection continued until 1910, when Mr. 
Horning disposed of his interest, retiring from 
the cheese manufacturing business. He then 
devoted his attention to the cutlery business, 
in which he is engaged at the present time 
(1912) and of which he is making a success. 
He is a member and steward of the Methodist 
Episcopal church. 

Mr. Horning is a Republican in politics, 
and for eight years held the office of as- 
sessor in Little Valley, New York. He is a 
member of Little A^alley Lodge, No. 812, Free 
and Accepted Masons. He married Alice 
Elizabeth Briggs, born October 13, 1865, 
daughter of Lewis C. Briggs (see Briggs 
VIII). Child: Cecil LeRoy, born December 
8, 1890. 

(The Briggs Line). 

(I) John Briggs, the first member of the 
line here under consideration of whom we 
have definite information, was in Newport, 
Rhode Island, where he was admitted a free- 
man in October, 1638. He was possessed of 
some fortune, as would appear from his nu- 
merous land purchases in Rhode Island and 
Massachusetts. He moved to Portsmouth, 
Rhode Island, in 1639, was a member of the 
general court and commissioner for the four 
towns of Providence Plantations. He is of 
frequent mention in colonial records, both as 
an official and in land transfers. His will, 
dated April 19, 1690, was probated September 
17, 1690. He does not mention his wife, as 
she had preceded him to the grave. He men- 
tions sons : John, Thomas, Enoch, John ; 
daughter, Susanna. 

(II) John (2), son of John (1) Briggs, 
was a resident of Portsmouth and Little 
Compton, Rhode Island. He inherited land 
from his father and purchased another tract 
at Tiverton. He also received land from his 
father-in-law. He married Hannah, daughter 
of Edward Fisher, of Portsmouth. Sons : Ed- 
ward and John, and possibly Job and William. 
There is no record of daughters. 

(III) Edward, son of John (2) Briggs, was 
a wheelwright, and at various times made land 



purchases in Rhode Island and Massachusetts. 
His wife Sarah survived him and made sev- 
eral land transfers after the death of her hus- 
band, about 1718. Both the wills of Edward 
and his wife are found in Taunton records. 
Children: Deborah, born March 11, 1693; 
Hannah, December 19, 1698; Walter, Febru- 
ary 19, 1701; Josiah, March 4, 1703; Charles, 
February 20, 171 1. Walter, the eldest son, 
settled in West Chester, New York, and is 
the ancestor of a numerous progeny. 

(IV) Josiah, second son of Edward Briggs, 
was born in Tiverton, Rhode Island, March 4, 

1703. He married Lillie . Children: 

Sarah, born February 21, 1752; Ephraim (of 
whom further). 

(V) Ephraim, son of Josiah Briggs, was 
born June 29, 1756, and lived in Massachu- 
setts. He married and has sons, including 
Ephraim (of whom further). 

(VI) Ephraim (2), son of Ephraim (1) 
Briggs, was born in Massachusetts, October 5, 
1785, and at an early date he settled on Black 
Creek, Allegany county, New York. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Cheesman, born November 11, 
1793. Children: Elias, born July 6, 1810; 
Ephraim (3), March 9, 181 1 ; Calvin, Septem- 
ber 27, 1812; Calvin, December 6, 1814; 
Maria; Lucinda; John, born April 12, 1822; 
Elizabeth, September 13, 1824; James H., May 
25, 1827; Lewis C. (of whom further). 

(VII) Lewis C, son of Ephraim (2) 
Briggs, was born May 19, 1829. He is at 
the present time (1912) a farmer of the town 
of Cuba, Allegany county, New York, and al- 
though in his eighty-third year actively man- 
ages his own farm. He married Elizabeth 
Ann Ingalls, born 1832, died April 21, 1910, 
daughter of John W. and Elizabeth (Mar- 
shall) Ingalls. Children: 1. Wallace G., mar- 
ried Ida Pratt ; children : Arthur E., married 
Georgia Rowland and has a son Raymond ; 
Earl, died at the age of ten ; Myrtie, married 
John Lyman and has a daughter Lela ; Maud, 
married Amos Peterson and has Dorothy and 
Arthur; Bertha, married Bertie Roat and has 
Edith and Glenn ; Gladys, married Truman 
Gleason and has Conley Wallace : Ethel, mar- 
ried Wells Cornell ; Hazel ; Grace. 2. Arthur, 
married Mary Jane Greer; children: Lee, 

married Edna ; one child, Russell; 

Cressie ; Wilmah. 3. Alice Elizabeth, married 
John David Horning (see Horning III). 
4. Addis, married Alice Jenks ; children : Mor- 
ris, Lawrence, Bessie. 



53Q 



NEW YORK. 



The genealogy of the Jewett 
JEWETT family has been traced to Henri 

de Juatt, a knight of the First 
Crusade, 1096-1099. In ancient records the 
name appears as Juett, Juit, Jewit, and in other 
varied forms, but in all cases the spelling pre- 
serves the pronunciation. The record of the 
Jewett family in America begins with the set- 
tlement of Rowley. Massachusetts. In 1638 
about sixty families, led by Rev. Ezekiel 
Rogers, came from Yorkshire, England, and 
began the settlement of Rowley early the fol- 
lowing season. Among these pioneers were 
the brothers, Maximilian and Joseph Jewett, 
men of substance from Bradford, Yorkshire, 
England. It is from Joseph that the Jewetts 
of Buffalo descend. 

(I) Edward Jewett, of Bradford, York- 
shire, England, died 1615; married, 1604, 
Mary Taylor. Children : William, Maximilian, 
Joseph and Sarah. 

(II) Joseph, son of Edward Jewett, was 
born in Bradford, England, December 31, 
1609, died February 26, 1660. He came to 
America, landing in Boston, Massachusetts, 
December 1, 1638, accompanied by his brother 
Maximilian. He married Ann Allen, and had 
a son Joseph. 

(III) Joseph (2), son of Joseph (1) Jew- 
ett, was born in Rowley, Massachusetts, Feb- 
ruary 1, 1656. He married Ruth Wood, and 
had a son Joseph. 

(IV) Joseph (3), son of Joseph (2) Jewett, 
married Mary Hibbard, and had a son Nathan. 

(V) Captain Nathan Jewett, son of Joseph 
(3) Jewett, married Deborah Lord; settled in 
Lyme, Connecticut, and had a son Joseph. 

(VI) Captain Joseph (4) Jewett, eldest son 
of Captain Nathan Jewett, was born in Lyme, 
December 13, 1732. He was a captain in the 
revolutionary army, serving in Colonel Hunt- 
ington's regiment. He was in the battle of 
Flatbush, Long Island, and, being taken 
prisoner, surrendered his sword to a British 
officer, who instantly plunged it through his 
body. He died August 31, 1776. He married, 
May 18, 1758, his second cousin, Lucretia 
Rogers, born May 4, 1740, daughter of Dr. 
Theophilus Rogers and Elizabeth Hyde, of 
Norwich, Connecticut. Ten children. 

(VII) Josiah, fourth son of Captain Joseph 
Jewett, was born at Lyme, Connecticut, De- 
cember 29, 1773, died at Moravia, New York, 
February 26, i860. He moved to Aloravia, 
Cayuga county, New York, in 1814, where he 



engaged in farming. He was a deacon of the 
church, and a man of good standing in his 
town. He married (first) November 29, 1798, 
Elizabeth M. Smith, born November 16, 1777, 
at Durham, Connecticut, died in Moravia, New 
York, October 2, 1816. Nine children. He 
married (second) January 16, 181 7, Sophia 
Skinner, born December 17, 1796, daughter of 
Colton and Prudence (Prendegrass) Skinner, 
of Moravia. Six children-, all born in Mo- 
ravia: 1. Sherman S., born January 17, 1818; 
became a leading manufacturer and financier 
of Buffalo, New York ; organized the foundry 
firm of Jewett & Root in 1843, which contin- 
ued thirty years ; also the house of Sherman 
S. Jewett & Company ; was president of the 
Bank of Buffalo from its organization until 
1890; director of the Manufacturers' and 
Traders' Bank, thirty years ; of the Marine 
Bank, twenty years ; of the Columbia National 
Bank from its foundation until his death, also 
director of the Bank of Niagara Falls. He 
was heavily interested in railroads, insurance 
companies, city improvement, and one of the 
founders of the Buffalo Fine Arts Academy, 
which he endowed with a permanent fund 
known as the Jewett fund. He was one of 
the original members of the Republican party ; 
served in Buffalo common council, and several 
times as mayor pro tern. In 1880 he was pres- 
idential elector. He was one of the founders 
of the Buffalo Club, and president of the Park 
Commission. He married, August 14, 1839, 
Deborah Dusenbury, of Buffalo. He died Feb- 
ruary 28, 1897. 2. John Cotton, of whom fur- 
ther. 3. Joseph, died in infancy. 4. Dr. Charles 
Carroll, born June 28, 1827 ; married, January 
17,-1856, Ellen R. Burroughs, of Buffalo. 
5. James Harvey, born October 11, 1830; 
farmer ; married, June 3, 1854, Mary F. Coly- 
com, of Sardinia, New York. 6. Matilda 
Caroline, born December 8, 1824; died May 
17, 1849; unmarried. 

(VTII) John Cotton, second son of Deacon 
Josiah and his second wife, Sophia (Skinner) 
Jewett, was born in Moravia, Cayuga county, 
New York, February 2, 1820, died at Los 
Angeles, California, February 18, 1904. He 
was educated in the public schools and until 
seventeen years of age led the life of a typical 
farmer boy. About 1837 he joined his half- 
brother. Samuel Parson Jewett, who was a 
merchant of Ann Arbor, Michigan. He at 
first occupied a clerical position, but showed 
such business ability that Samuel soon made 



NEW YORK. 



53i 



him a partner. Later John C. retired from 
the firm and established a general store at Al- 
bion, Michigan. In 1849 he returned to New 
York state, locating at Buffalo, where he be- 
gan in a small way the manufacturing of re- 
frigerators. This business grew step by step 
until to-day the John C. Jewett Manufacturing 
Company sends its products all over the world. 
In the building up and conducting this great 
business he was ably seconded by his sons, 
Edgar B. and Frederick A. Jewett. Edgar B. 
was admitted and the firm became John C. 
Jewett & Son. With the extension of their 
business The John C. Jewett Manufacturing 
Company was incorporated. Mr. Jewett re- 
tained an active interest in the company for 
forty years, and was the father of one of the 
great industries of Buffalo and New York 
state, and must always be regarded as one of 
the important pioneers of industrial Buffalo. 
He was identified with the Republican party, 
and the Methodist Episcopal church. 

He married, February 2, 1843, Priscilla 
Boardman, of Ann Arbor, Michigan, then in 
her seventeenth year. She was a woman of 
strong mental powers and every Christian, 
womanly virtue. Children: 1. Edgar Board- 
man, of whom further. 2. Carrie Amelia, born 
October 3, 1847 ; married Hugh McKibbin. 
3. Matilda Caroline, born August n, 1849; 
married Risley Tucker. 4. Ella, born April 7, 
1855, in Buffalo ; married Willis H. Howes. 
5. Frederick Arthur, born in Buffalo, Novem- 
ber 10, 1859, died April 3, 1906; educated in 
public schools and De Veaux College, Niagara 
Falls. Early in 1878 he joined his father and 
brother as clerk in the office of John C. Jewett 
& Son, and three years later was elected treas- 
urer of the John C. Jewett Manufacturing 
Company, an office he held until death. He 
spent a great deal of time after his first years 
of close application to business, in foreign 
travel. He married, June 30, 1891, Anna 
Louise, daughter of Robert W. James, ' of 
Lockport, New York ; children : Robert and 
Katherine. 6. Mabel, born in Buffalo, June 
22, 1864, died January 26, 1866. 

(IX) Edgar Boardman, eldest son of John 
Cotton Jewett, was born in Ann Arbor, Michi- 
gan, December 14, 1843. He was a lad of 
six years when his father came to Buffalo, 
where Edgar B. was educated in the public 
schools. On leaving school he at once joined 
his father in business, and in 1865 was ad- 
mitted to a partnership as John C. Jewett & 



Son. The business of manufacturing refrig- 
erators grew to such immense proportions that 
a corporation became a necessity, and in 1885 
the John C. Jewett Manufacturing Company 
was incorporated. December 7, 1885, he was 
elected president and general manager of that 
company, a position he yet holds (1911) in 
addition to other important official duties. He 
is president of the Jewett Refrigerator Com- 
pany and vice-president of the Cary Safe Com- 
pany, all Buffalo activities. He was also pres- 
ident of Columbia National Bank of Buffalo, 
and has other interests of a minor nature. 

Mr. Jewett has never been so absorbed in 
business as to overlook his duties as a citizen. 
He gave twenty-four years service to his state 
in the National Guard, and wore the blue dur- 
ing the civil war. To his own city he has 
given honorable service as chief executive, 
and his influence always for the public good. 
He enlisted as a private in Company C, 
Seventy-fourth Regiment, New York National 
Guard, in 1861. In 1863 that regiment was 
called out, and he was on duty at New York 
City in the service of the United States during 
the great draft riots, and was instrumental in 
restoring peace and order to that city after a 
week of riot and bloodshed. Shortly after- 
ward similar conditions existing in Buffalo, the 
Seventy-fourth was again called into action, 
their service in the two cities and elsewhere 
covering a period of three months. In May, 
1863, he was elected sergeant, and held that 
rank from June to August of that year, the 
period covering the draft riots, Lee's invasion 
of Pennsylvania, and the campaign imme- 
diately following, in which Sergeant Jewett 
participated with credit. June 29, 1865, he 
was commissioned first lieutenant ; April 3, 
1866, captain; October 9, 1870, inspector of 
the Fourteenth Brigade; April 11, 1877, major 
and also inspector of rifle practice of the 
Eighth Brigade; October 25. 1880, he was ap- 
pointed chief of staff of the Fourteenth 
Brigade ; March 29, 1884, he was elected brig- 
adier-general of the Eighth Brigade, serving 
until December 7, 1885, when he resigned on 
account of his increased business respon- 
sibilities. 

Always a Republican, General Jewett has 
been much in the public eye. March 1, 1894, 
he was appointed by Mayor Bishop, a police 
commissioner of Buffalo. His record in this 
office brought him the nomination for mayor, 
and the following November he was elected 



532 



NEW YORK. 



by the largest majority then ever given a can- 
didate for that office. His administration was 
marked by much needed reform ; twelve new 
school buildings, among them the new Masten 
Park High School, were erected ; street clean- 
ing contracts were let to the lowest bidder, and 
much money saved the city by this rout of the 
hitherto favored bidders. The plan of utilizing 
vacant city lots by allowing them to be culti- 
vated, whereby five hundred and seventy-eight 
families were greatly benefited, was a plan in- 
troduced by Mayor Jewett. He also extended 
the civil service to include the entire city gov- 
ernment, and widely extended the merit sys- 
tem. He managed the business of his office 
with the same care and efficiency shown in 
his private business, and gave Buffalo a prac- 
tical demonstration of clean administrative 
methods. He is a member of the Church of 
the Good Shepherd (Episcopal) and is prom- 
inent in the Masonic Order, holding all de- 
grees up to and including the Thirty-second 
degree, Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite. 
His club is the Otowega of Buffalo. 

General Jewett has always been interested 
in the preservation of the history of his family, 
and on July 7, 19 10. was elected the first presi- 
dent of The Jewett Family of America, an as- 
sociation of the descendants of Edward Jew- 
ett. incorporated under the laws of the State 
of Massachusetts for the "Collection and pres- 
ervation of books, pamphlets, documents, 
manuscripts and other historical and antiquar- 
ian matter ; the publication of historical articles 
from time to time; the protection of records 
and monuments of the forefathers ; and erec- 
tion of suitable memorials and the holding of 
re-unions of the family for promoting ac- 
quaintance and good fellowship." 

He married (first) October 3, 1865, at Ann 
Arbor, Michigan, Elizabeth Foster Danforth, 
born in Ann Arbor, October 26, 1845, died in 
Buffalo, August 9, 1905, daughter of George 
and Mary (Foster) Danforth. He married 
(second) January 6, 1909, Augusta Elizabeth 
Fisher, born at Tionesta, Pennsylvania, May 
9. 1870, daughter of James J. and Nancy A. 
Fisher. Children of first marriage: 1. Maude, 
born January 8, 1868, died June 5, 1868. 
2. George Danforth, born May 21, 1869, died 
August 21, 1869. 3. John Edgar, born Sep- 
tember 2, 1871 : educated in Buffalo schools; 
associated in business with his father, and is 
vice-president and manager of the Jewett Re- 
frigerator Company of Buffalo. He married. 



April 24, 1893, in Buffalo, Marian Lucille 
Comstock; children: i. Edgar Boardman (2), 
born February 11, 1895. ii. Richmond, May 
27, 1896. iii. John Edgar (2), November 24, 
1898. iv. Jesse Armstrong, November 23, 1907. 
4. Mabel, educated in Buffalo schools ; married, 
in Buffalo, June 1, 1899, Charles A. White, 
born in Elmira, New York, August 4, 1869; 
children: Jewett. born May 12, 1904; Priscilla, 
June 2, 1907. 



The first of the Covell family 
COVELL in this country was Ezra Covell, 

who came to Plymouth in July, 
1635, at the age of fifteen years. His name 
was on the list of those able to bear arms in 
1643. The names Covell and Cowell were 
used sometimes interchangeably. There was 
a John Covell, of Marblehead. in 1668, but 
nothing further is known of him. Philip 
Covell or Cowell lived at Maiden, Massachu- 
setts ; married there, November 26, 1687, Eliz- 
abeth, daughter of Philip Atwood, and had a 
daughter Sarah, born April 13, 1689. Joseph 
Covell or Cowell, of Woburn, married, Feb- 
ruary 27, 1685, Alice Palmer and had sons: 
Philip, born February 12, 1692, died young, 
and Joseph, born December 9, 1694. Edward 
Covell or Cowell was in Boston in 1645, died 
there September 12, 1691, and by wife Mar- 
garet had John, Joseph, Elizabeth, William, 
born June 28, 1655. 

(II) Nathaniel Covell is reported of Chat- 
ham, Massachusetts, son-in-law of William 
Nickerson in 1667, but nothing further is 
found. If this record is correct, he must have 
been a son of Ezra Covell, mentioned above. 
William Nickerson was the real founder of 
Monomoy (Chatham). During the first twenty- 
five years it was little more than a Nickerson 
neighborhood. There was no settlement of 
his estate, but he died in 1689-90. Several 
years before he arranged his affairs so that 
the management passed to his daughter, Sarah 
Covell, and son, William Nickerson, Jr. He 
conveyed as early as February. 1685-86, to 
Mrs. Covell all his property, but December 2, 
1687, he and his daughter joined in a deed 
of a tract of land called Monamesett Neck and 
a half-interest in his other property except the 
homestead to William Jr. Sarah was widow 
of Nathaniel Covell. who was deputy constable 
of Monomoy in 1674. Ephraim and Joseph 
Covell, doubtless their sons, conveyed land 
in 1715. Another son Nathaniel was on the 



NEW YORK. 



533 



committee to range and renew the bounds be- 
tween Harwich and Monomoy, May 28, 1703. 
Nathaniel Covell Sr. was with Robert Eldred 
and Tristram Hedges, all sons-in-law of Wil- 
liam Nickerson, sued in October, 1666, by a 
rival claimant to their lands. Nathaniel Covell 
died soon afterward. 

(III) Joseph Covell, of Monomoy, son of 
Nathaniel Covell, married (second) March 1, 
1703-04, Hannah Bassett at Eastham. By his 
first wife Lydia he had Lydia, born July 12, 
1701 ; married May 16, 17 16, Thomas Nicker- 
son, at Chatham. 

( IV ) John, son of Joseph Covell, lived at 
Harwich and in that part of the county ceded 
to Chatham about 1723, when he was school- 
master in Chatham for thirty pounds a quar- 
ter. He married, October 12, 172 1, Thankful 
Bangs and had Elizabeth, born July 9, 1722, 
at Chatham; John (mentioned below). 

( IV ) Nathaniel, son of Joseph Covell. mar- 
ried, at Chatham, May 16, 1727. He appears 
to have had a second wife Mary, and a third 
wife Jerusha, who was living in 1758. Chil- 
dren of Nathaniel and Mary Covell, born at 
Chatham : Joseph, born July 3, 1741 ; Nathan- 
iel ; Obadiah, January 28, 1744; Dorcas, June 
1, 1747; Isaac, April 6, 1749; Judah, March 
2 5> I 75 I '< Ebenezer, December 6, 1752; Dor- 
cas, April 4, 1755. 

( IV ) James, son of Joseph Covell, married 
(first) Mehitable, who died November 26, 
1761, aged fifty-two, at Chatham. He mar- 
ried (second) Ruth . His records are 

given in order to complete all that is found 
of the family practically in this section at an 
early date. For many years he was town clerk 
of Chatham. Children of James and Mehitable 
Covell: Mehitable, born February 15, 1727- 
28; Ruth, March 13, 1729-30, married Prince 
Nickerson; Drusilla, April 23, 1732; Hannah, 
November 13, 1734, died young; Joseph, Sep- 
tember 26, 1736, died young; Joseph, January 
10. 1737-38; Hannah, January 30, 1739; 
James, June 28, 1742; Constant. March 3, 
1744; Samuel, May 22, 1748. Children of 
James and Ruth Covell : Ruth, born Septem- 
ber 13. 1764; Joshua, October 13, 1766; 
Nathan. September 6, 1768. 

(V) John (2), son of John (1) Covell, was 
born about 1733 in Chatham or Harwich. Mas- 
sachusetts. He or a son of the same name 
was a soldier in the revolution. The name is 
not given with a "Jr.", however, and the pre- 
sumption is in favor of the theory that this 



service belongs to this man. He was a private 
in Captain Samuel King's company, Colonel 
Josiah Whitney's regiment, August to Decem- 
ber, 1776; also in Captain Abijah Bangs' com- 
pany, Colonel Nathaniel Freeman's regiment, 
in the secret expedition to Rhode Island in 
l 777- Joh" Covell moved from Massachusetts 
about 1786 to Pittstown, New York, and died 
there in 1806, aged seventy-three years. He 
had a son Benjamin (mentioned below). Ac- 
cording to the census of 1790 he was living 
at Pittstown, Albany county, New York, and 
had in his family four males over sixteen, four 
under that age and five females. At that time 
sixteen heads of Covell families were reported 
in New York state. All were doubtless of 
this family and had moved after the revolution 
in most instances. 

(VI) Benjamin, son of John (2) Covell, 
was born in Harwich or Chatham in 1761. He 
entered the American army very young, as a 
private in Captain George Webb's company, 
and served at Providence, 1777; also in the 
same company, Colonel Holbrook's regiment, 
1777-81. He enlisted in 1777 for the war (vol. 
iv. "Mass. Soldiers and Sailors," p. 24). 
Edward Covell, of Harwich, Ephraim Covell 
of Harwich and Wellfleet, Henry and Thomas 
Covell of Harwich, Joseph Covell of Ware- 
ham, Peter Covell, of Brattleborough. Ver- 
mont, Richard, Samuel, Solomon and William 
Covell were Massachusetts soldiers in the 
revolution. The Covells went to Connecticut 
early, especially to W r indham and Hartford 
counties, and in 1790 fifteen Covell families 
were reported in that state. According to the 
Chautauqua county history Benjamin was at 
the taking of Burgoyne, at Sullivan's defeat 
and at the battle of Monmouth. 

He married, in 1784, Sibyl Durkee in Wash- 
ington, Connecticut. None of this name lived 
in Washington in 1790. He came to New 
York state in 1786, and in 1810 remoyed with 
a large family to the present town of Carroll 
where he spent the remainder of his life. He 
died November 27, 1822, aged sixty-one. At 
that time all of his sons and daughters, his 
brother Seth and nephew Simeon, were living 
in the neighborhood and the settlement was 
called Coveltown. In a sketch of Benjamin 
Covell and his family it has been said they 
"were active in getting the first bridge built 
across the Connewango at Coveltown, by Capt. 
Charles Taylor." From this it is naturally 
inferred that they resided near the Conne- 



534 



NEW YORK. 



wango ; whereas it appears from the land com- 
pany's books that Benjamin Covell took up, 
in December, 1810, lot 2, tp. i., r. 11 on which 
Alexander T. Prendergast and Seth Cheney 
now reside in Kiantone. Benjamin Covell's 
wife died in Covington, Genesee county, New 
York, in 183 1, aged sixty-nine years. 

(VII) Thomas, son or nephew of Benjamin 
Covell. was' born January 14, 1794- He was 
a shoemaker and farmer, and for several years 
was a lock tender in the Genesee canal. He 
served in the war of 1812 and was in the 
battle of Cold Harbor. He was a devoted 
member of the Methodist Episcopal church, 
and of strong Christian character. His wife 
Laura was born October 18, 1796, died in 
1875. Among their children was Edmund R. 
(mentioned below) ; and John Wallace. 

(VIII) Edmund R., son of Thomas Covell, 
was born June 13, 1818, and was killed Octo- 
ber 2, 1889. He was educated in the public 
schools, and learned the shoemaker's trade 
with his father. He also worked on his 
father's farm during his boyhood. He enlisted 
tn Company I, Fourteenth Regiment, Pennsyl- 
vania Cavalry, October 15, 1862, and served 
throughout the war, receiving an honorable 
discharge, June 16, 1865. The Fourteenth 
was one of Sheridan's hard-fighting regiments 
and under that famous commander did valiant 
service in the Army of the Potomac. Mr. 
Covell was a corporal and at the Beverly fight 
he had his horse shot from under him and 
was himself injured. After the war he re- 
turned to his home and engaged in lumbering, 
purchasing standing timber, cutting it and get- 
ting it to water market. He also engaged in 
farming. 

He married, July 4. 1840, Fanny Morrison, 
born December 29, 1825, died November 19, 
1882, daughter of Abel and Lucinda (Rich- 
ards) Morrison, and granddaughter of James 
Morrison* who fought in the revolution. Chil- 
dren: Thomas J. (mentioned below); Abel 
M. (mentioned below). 

( IX ) Thomas J., son of Edmund R. Covell, 
was born July 8, 1844. in Kinzua, Pennsyl- 
vania. He enlisted in an independent company 
in 1862 which served as Company C, attached 
to the One Hundred and Sixteenth Regiment, 
Pennsylvania Infantry, as scouts and sharp- 
shooters. He was also with Battery B, United 
States Light Artillery. At the close of the 
war he was honorably discharged. He re- 
turned to his home and learned the trade of 



carpenter, which he followed for many years. 
In 1900 he located in Salamanca, New York, 
where he has lived since. In religion he is a 
Methodist; in politics a Republican. 

He married (first) December 25, 1869, 
Mary Tomes, born in 1838, died in 1884. He 
married (second) March' 13, 1892, Bertha 
Huntsman, born March 11, 1874. Children 
by first wife: 1. Edmund R., born November 
22, 1870, died 1886. 2. Philip T., born Sep- 
tember 2, 1872; married Catherine . 

3. Guy, born July 10, 1878; was a soldier in 
the Spanish-American war, enlisting in Com- 
pany I, Sixteenth Pennsylvania Infantry, be- 
ing located in Porto Rico; married Bertha 
Johnson. 4. Fred H., born October 24, 1882, 
died April 7, 1883. 

(IX) Abel M., son of Edmund R. Covell, 
and brother of Thomas J. Covell, was born 
at Rushford, New York. He received his 
early education in the public schools, and dur- 
ing his boyhood worked on his father's farm. 
Afterward he worked in a factory manufac- 
turing spokes and handles until 1890, when he 
went to Kent, Ohio, where two years later he 
established a laundry business. Subsequently 
he was in the same line of business in Cleve- 
land, Ohio, continuing until October 2, 1899, 
when he located at Salamanca, Xew York. 
Since that time he has had a large and flour- 
ishing laundry business in that town. He is 
president of the Engine Iron Company, and 
deals extensively in real estate. He is a mem- 
ber of the Methodist Episcopal church, its 
treasurer and member of the board of trustees. 
He is also a member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows of Salamanca. In politics he 
is a Republican. 

He married, October 3, 1880, Josephine 
Wright, born November 11, 1861, daughter 
of Calvin and Nancy (Flagg) Wright, grand- 
daughter of Landrus and Rosanna Wright. 
Her father was born March 12. 1841, died 
August 14. 1905 ; her mother was born in 
1840, died March 14. 1868. Children of Cal- 
vin and Nancy Wright: Josephine, married 
Abel M. Covell, mentioned above ; Orin, mar- 
ried Ida Elson and had a son Robert; Lan- 
drus married Emma Perkins ; Howard, born 
August 21, 1867, married, October 17, 1900, 
Mae Covell, born May 30. 1878, daughter of 
John Wallace Covell. son of Thomas Covell, 
mentioned in generation VII. Children : 
Claude Bernard, born May 29, 1904, and 
Winifred May. November 7, IQOS- Children 



NEW YORK. 



1136119 



of Abel M. and Josephine Covell: Fannie 
Lucinda, born May 24, 1883 ; received her edu- 
cation in the Salamanca high school, from 
which she graduated in 1902, and the Fredonia 
State Normal School, from which she grad- 
uated in 1905 ; she married, November 24, 
1909, Earl D. Smith. 2. Cassie Muriel, born 
June 29, 1888 ; received her early education in 
the Salamanca high school, graduated from 
Salamanca Training School, and specialized in 
music at the Thomas Normal Training School, 
Detroit, Michigan, 1909. 3. Arthur Maynard, 
born October 12, 1895 ; received his early edu- 
cation in Salamanca schools, also at Chamber- 
lain Military School, Randolph, New York. 



This family traces its genealogy 
GORHAM to the de Gorrams of La Tan- 
niere, near Gorram, Maine, on 
the borders of Brittainy, where William, son 
of Ralph de Gorham, "built a castle in 1128. 
During the reign of William the Conqueror 
several of the name removed to England, 
where many of them became men of learning, 
wealth and influence. In America the name 
is ancient and honorable. Although Ralph, 
who first came to America, did not come with 
the Pilgrims in the "Mayflower," the parents 
and grandparents of his son's wife were pas- 
sengers in that famous vessel, so that de- 
scendants of this line have the blood of four 
"Mayflower" passengers as an inheritance. 

(I) James Gorham, of Benefield, Northamp- 
tonshire, England, was born in 1550, died 
1576. In 1572 he married Agnes Bernington. 

(II) Ralph, son (perhaps only child) of 
James and Agnes (Bernington) Gorham, was 
born in 1575, at Benefield, England, died about 
1643, in Plymouth, Massachusetts. He mar- 
ried in England, and came with his family to 
America in the ship "Philip," about 1635. Of 
this family little is known, the only recorded 
child being John, of further mention. It is 
probable he had a brother Ralph, born in Eng- 
land, as the records of Plymouth colony in- 
dicate that there were two persons of that 
name in Plymouth in 1639. At the time of 
Ralph Gorham's death in 1643 ne ^ elt n0 
widow, and an only son John, who inherited 
his estate. No other Gorhams are known to 
have been in the colony during the seventeenth 
century after the death of Ralph, excepting 
Captain John and his descendants. 

(III) Captain John, son of Ralph Gorham, 
was baptized in Benefield, Northamptonshire, 



535 



England, January 28, 1621, died at Swansea, 
Massachusetts, while in command of his com- 
pany, February 5, 1676. He had a good com- 
mon school education, and was brought up in 
the Puritan faith. He came to America with 
his father in the ship "Philip," probably then 
a lad of fifteen years. He learned the trade 
of tanner and currier, which occupied his win- 
ters, his summers being spent in agriculture. 
In 1646 he removed from Plymouth to Marsh- 
field, Massachusetts. On June 4, 1650, he was 
admitted a freeman of the town, having pre- 
viously been chosen constable. In 165 1 he 
was a member of the grand inquest of the 
colony. In 1652 he removed to Yarmouth, 
Massachusetts, purchasing a house lot adjoin- 
ing the Barnstable line. He added to his es- 
tate from time to time until he became a large 
land owner and proprietor of a grist mill, 
also operating a tannery. He was deputy from 
Yarmouth to the general court of Plymouth 
at the special session of April 6, 1653, and 
the following year was surveyor of highways ; 
1673-4 he was a selectman of Yarmouth, and 
during the former year was appointed lieuten- 
ant of the Plymouth forces in the Dutch war. 
During King Philip's war and in June the 
following year his men attacked the village of 
Swansea. On June 24, a day that was ob- 
served as one of fasting and prayer, Captain 
John Gorham and twenty-nine mounted men 
from Yarmouth took their first march for 
Mount Hope. In August the war was trans- 
ferred to the banks of the Connecticut, and 
Captain Gorham and company marched into 
Massachusetts. The results were very dis- 
couraging, and in a letter to the governor, 
still preserved in the office of the secretary 
of state at Boston, Captain Gorham says his 
men are much worn, "having been in the field 
the fourteen weeks and little hopes of finding 
the enemy, but as for my own part I shall be 
ready to serve God and the country in this 
war so long as I have life and health." Octo- 
ber 4, 1675, he was appointed by the court 
"captain of the Second Company of the 
Plymouth forces in King Philip's war." Cap- 
tain Gorham and his company were in the 
bloody fight at the Swamp Fort in the Narra- 
gansett country; fought December 19, 1675, 
which crushed the power of King Philip and 
his allies. There was great suffering and ex- 
posure, besides loss of life. The troops of 
the colonies had to remain all night in the open 
field "with no other covering than a cold and 



536 



NEW YORK. 



moist fleece of snow." On the dawn of the 
19th they started on their march, and at one 
o'clock reached the fort, which was built on 
an island containing five or six acres set in 
the midst of a swamp. Entrance could only 
be effected in two places, by means of fallen 
trees, to cross which meant almost certain 
death from the Indian sharpshooters. After 
three or four hours of hard fighting the Eng- 
lish succeeded in taking the fort, sustaining 
a loss of eighty men, besides the wounded. 
Hubbard estimates no less than seven hundred 
Indians were killed. Captain Gorham com- 
manded his men during the fight, but never 
recovered from the cold and fatigue to which 
he was exposed during this expedition. He 
was seized with a fever and died at Swansea, 
where he was buried the following February 
5th. In 1677, on account of the good services 
of Captain Gorham in the war that cost him 
his life, the court confirmed to his heirs and 
successors the four hundred acres of land at 
Papasquash Neck in Swansea, which he had 
selected in his lifetime. 

The present town of Gorham in Maine (then 
a part of Massachusetts) was also granted to 
Captain Gorham and his company for military 
service and named after him. 

In 1643 ' le married Desire Howland, daugh- 
ter of John and Elizabeth (Tilley) Howland, 
and granddaughter of John and Bridget (Van 
De Velde) Tilley, all of whom came over in 
the "Mayflower." Desire Howland was born 
at Plymouth, 1623, died at Barnstable, Octo- 
ber 13, 1683. Children: 1. Desire, born April 

2, 1644; married John Hawes. 2. Temper- 
ance, born at Marshfield, May 5, 1646; married 
(first) Edward Sturgis, (second) Thomas 
Baxter. 3. Elizabeth, born April 2, 1648 ; mar- 
ried Joseph Hallett. 4. James, born April 28, 
1650; married Hannah Hucekins. 5. John, of 
further mention. 6. Joseph, born at Yar- 
mouth, February 16, 1653 ; married Sarah 
Sturgis. 7. Jabez, born at Barnstable, August 

3, 1656; married Hannah (Sturgis) Gray. 
8. Mercy, born January 20, 1658; married 
George Denison. 9. Lydia, November 16, 
1661 ; married John Thacher. 10. Hannah, 
November 28, 1663 ; married Joseph Wheel- 
ing. 11. Shubael, October 21, 1667; married 
Puella Hussey. 

(IV) John (2), son of Captain John (1) 
and Desire (Howland) Gorham, was born at 
Marshfield, Massachusetts, February 20, 165 1, 
died November 11, 171 5. He was known as 



Lieutenant Colonel John Gorham. He mar- 
ried Mary, daughter of John Otis, the progeni- 
tor of the American family of Otis, of Massa- 
chusetts. She died April 1, 1732, and was 
buried at Barnstable, where their tombstones 
may yet be seen. Children, born at Barn- 
stable: John, born 1675, died in infancy; 
Temperance, born 1678; Mary, 1680: Stephen, 
of further mention: Shubael, 1686; John, 
1688; Thankful, 1690: Job, 1692; Mercy, 

i695- 

(V) Stephen, second son of John (2) and 
Mary (Otis) Gorham, was born in Barnstable, 
Massachusetts, June 23, 1683. He married 
Elizabeth Gardner, of Nantucket, December 
2 5' 1 7°3- He died in Nantucket, in 1743. 
Ihey had eleven children, all born in Barn- 
stable. 

(VI) Nathaniel, eldest son of Stephen and 
Elizabeth (Gardner) Gorham. was born May 
3, 1709; married,. January 6, 1736, Mary, 
daughter of John and Dorcas (Coffin) Soley, 
of Charlestown, Massachusetts, where he went 
to live, and died there December 24, 1761. He 
was known as Captain Nathaniel Gorham. 
Children : Nathaniel, of further mention ; 
Mary, John, Elizabeth, Stephen. 

(VII) Nathaniel (2), son of Nathaniel (1) 
and Mary (Soley) Gorham, was born May 27, 
1738, in Charlestown, Massachusetts, died 
there June 11, 1796. He served an appren- 
ticeship with Nathaniel Coffin at New London, 
Connecticut, and later moved back to Charles- 
town, Massachusetts, where he engaged in 
mercantile life and became one of the most 
eminent public men of his day. He was rep- 
resentative to the general court of Massachu- 
setts, and speaker of the house : delegate to 
Provincial Congress in 1774-75 : member of 
board of war, 1778-81 ; delegate to state con- 
stitutional convention, 1779: state senator; 
member of governor's council ; judge of court 
of common pleas ; member of Continental 
Congress, 1782-83, and again 1785-87, and 
president of that Congress from June 6, 1786, 
to the expiration of his term. He was ap- 
pointed by the governor of Massachusetts a 
delegate to the convention which framed the 
constitution of the United States, took his 
seat May 28, 1787, and performed a very im- 
portant part in the work of the convention. 
During the second day's proceedings of the 
convention he was called to the chair, then 
was elected chairman of the committee of the 
whole, and as such presided over the conven- 



NEW YORK 



537 



tion during the greater part of its delibera- 
tions. The minutes of the convention show 
that he served on many of the sub-committees, 
and that he expressed his views with vigor 
during the many debates. He was contem- 
porary with Adams, Hancock, Washington, 
Jay, Clinton, and other great men of his day, 
and the fact that he held so many important 
public offices at a time when no politics pre- 
vailed, indicates that he was a man of high 
character, strict integrity and strong mental 
characteristics. He retired from public life 
after the adoption of the constitution and in 
1788, in connection with Oliver Phelps, of 
Suffield, Massachusetts, and others, purchased 
from the state of Massachusetts the preemp- 
tion right of that state in and to all that part 
of Western New York lying between Seneca 
Lake on the east, Genesee river on the west, 
Pennsylvania on the south and Lake Ontario 
on the north, estimated to contain about two 
million two hundred thousand acres. This was 
known as the "Phelps and Gorham purchase," 
to which such frequent allusion is made in the 
early history of the counties later erected in 
that section. He died at Charlestown, Massa- 
chusetts, where a eulogy was delivered in his 
memory by Dr. Thomas Welch, June 29, 1796. 

He married, in 1763, Rebecca Call. Chil- 
dren: 1. Nathaniel (3), of further mention. 
2. Rebecca, married Warham Parks. 3. Mary, 
married George Bartlett. 4. Elizabeth. 5. Ann, 
married Peter C. Brooks; their daughter mar- 
ried Charles Francis Adams. 6. John. 7. Ben- 
jamin, an eminent lawyer of Boston, and 
member of congress from that city. 8. Stephen. 
9. Lydia, married John Phillips, and was 
grandmother of Bishop Phillips Brooks, of 
honored memory. 

(VIII) Nathaniel (3), son of Hon. Nathan- 
iel (2) and Rebecca (Call) Gorham, was born 
October 25, 1763, at Charlestown, Massachu- 
setts, died October 22, 1826. He acted for 
his father as agent of the Phelps and Gorham 
purchase, which he frequently visited, al- 
though his father never saw the purchase. His 
residence in Charlestown was on Bunker Hill, 
where two of his children were born. In 1800 
he removed with his family to Canandaigua, 
Ontario county, New York, where he built a 
mansion on the site of the present court house. 
He occupied a prominent position in Ontario 
county, was judge of the court of common 
pleas and president of the Ontario Bank. He 
was an exceedingly portly man, and wore the 



smallclothes and kneebreeches in the style of 
the gentlemen of his period. There is no pic- 
ture of him, but in the court house at Canan- 
daigua there is a copy of a portrait of Hon. 
Nathaniel Gorham, the Continental, the orig- 
inal of which is in the possession of Nathaniel 
Gorham, of Buffalo. He married, February 
ii, 1794, Ruthy Wood. Children: 1. Margaret, 
born November 2, 1796, died in 1806. 2. 
Nathaniel (4), of further mention. 3. David 
Wood, born February 1, 1800. 4. Rebecca, 
born May 20, 1802, never married, died in 
1857. 5. William Wood, born August 22, 
1804. 6. Margaret (2nd), born August 11, 
1807, died in 1826. 7. Mary, born October 
30, 1808, married A. G. Bristol. 8. Sarah 
Stone, born October 11, 181 1, died in 1815. 

(IX) Nathaniel (4), eldest son of Nathan- 
iel (3) and Ruthy (Wood) Gorham, was born 
in Bunker Hill, Charlestown, Massachusetts, 
August 14, 1798, died May 19, 1875. He was 
a merchant of Canandaigua, New York, where 
he maintained a store at the corner of Main 
and Bristol streets for half a century. His 
residence until 1855 was in the north half of 
the double brick house yet standing at the 
corner of Main and Gorham streets. In his 
later years he built a residence further up 
Main street, in which he lived until his death. 
He married, January 16, 1827, Mary Parsons, 
of Hadley, Massachusetts. Children: 1. 
Nathaniel (5), born August 7, 1830. died in 
Detroit, Michigan, unmarried, December 14, 
1853. 2. George Clarke, born September 26, 
1832, died in 1836. 3. George, of further 
mention. 

(X) George, son of Nathaniel (4) and 
Mary (Parsons) Gorham, was born in Canan- 
daigua, New York, May 25, 1837; died at 
Buffalo, June 2, 1906. He prepared at Phillips 
Academy, Exeter, New Hampshire, and en- 
tered Harvard University, from whence he 
was graduated, class of 1857. After finishing 
his studies he returned to Canandaigua, where 
he began the study of law in the office of 
Smith & Lapham. He was admitted to the 
bar in 1858, and in 1861 removed to Buffalo, 
New York. He was clerk of the United States 
District Court in Buffalo until 1867, when he 
resigned and began private practice, making 
at first a speciality of bankruptcy law and 
practice in the United States courts. Later 
he devoted himself more closely to the law of 
real estate and the management of estates and 
other confidential trusts. He was a member 



538 



NEW YORK. 



of the law firm of Bass & Gorham, 1867-1870; 
then of Sprague & Gorham, and Sprague, 
Gorham & Bacon until 1879; then practiced 
alone until 1898, in which year he entered into 
a partnership with his son, Nathaniel Gor- 
ham (6). In 1900 this firm dissolved, Mr. 
Gorham Sr. practicing alone until his death 
in 1906. Among the many tributes to his 
memory is the following from the Erie County 
Bar Association: George Gorham, "a gentle- 
man by birth and character, an incisive and 
logical thinker, a trained lawyer, a sound and 
safe counselor, an honest and earnest man." 
For many years Mr. Gorham was vice-chan- 
cellor of the University of Buffalo ; was a 
warden of Trinity Episcopal Church; at one 
time president of the Buffalo Club, of the City 
Club and Harvard Club of Buffalo, and a 
member of the University Club of Buffalo. 
In politics he was a Democrat. 

He married, October 23, i860, Emily A., 
daughter of Judge N. K. Hall. She died 
May 29, 1863. He married (second) June 14, 
1866, Ellen Augusta, daughter of Edward E. 
Marvine, of Auburn, New York. She died 
January 1, 1887. Child of first wife: I. Emily 
Grace, born August 23, 1861 ; married, Janu- 
ary 22, 1891, Charles Clifton, of Buffalo, New 
York, treasurer of Pierce-Arrow Motor Car 
Company. Children: Katherine Gould, born 
August 14, 1892, died January 30, 1902 ; Gor- 
ham, born November 29, 1893 ; Alice Dor- 
sheimer, May 26, 1903. Children of second 
wife: 2. Frances Perry, born March 16, 
1867; married, September 22, 1892, Dr. John 
Parmenter, formerly of Buffalo, now a resi- 
dent of Geneva, New York ; child : Richard, 
born November 16, 1894. 3. Nathaniel (6), 
of further mention. 4. Marvine, born Novem- 
ber 1, 1870; attended public schools of Buf- 
falo, graduated from the Massachusetts Insti- 
tute of Technology, Boston, 1893 ; was con- 
nected with Yale & Town Manufacturing 
Company at Hartford, the Buffalo Bolt Com- 
pany, and later removed to Detroit, Michigan, 
where he was with the C. C. Wormer Com- 
pany for a number of years, and is now sec- 
retary and treasurer of the Schweppe & Wilt 
Manufacturing Company of Detroit. He is 
a member of the University Club of Detroit. 
He married, June 30, 1909, Sarah Given 
White, of Abingdon, Virginia; child: Eliza- 
beth Gibson, born December 3, 1910. 5. Mary 
Parsons, born June 21, 1875, died October 12. 
1884. 6. Margaret Robertson, born May 29, 



1877; married, October 10. 1899. Earnest Har- 
old Cluett, of Troy, New York, treasurer of 
Cluett, Peabody & Company : children : John 
Parmenter, born September 8. 1900 : William 
Gorham, July 16, 1903 ; Gorham, November 
12, 1907; Margaret Fisher, February 28, 1910. 

(XI) Nathaniel (6), son of George and his 
second wife, Ellen Augusta (Marvine) Gor- 
ham, was born in Buffalo, New York, January 
6, 1869. He was educated in the public and 
private schools of Buffalo, and entered Wil- 
liams College, from whence he was graduated, 
class of 1890. After leaving college he was 
with the Niagara Falls Power Company at 
Niagara Falls, 1890-1895. In the latter year 
he returned to Buffalo, and began the study 
of law in the office of Moot, Sprague, Brown- 
ell & Marcy, and entered Buffalo Law School, 
being graduated in 1897, and was admitted 
to the bar in September of the same year. He 
was in legal partnership with his father, 
George Gorham, until 1900, since which time 
he has practiced alone. He is a member of 
the Lawyers', Saturn and Country Clubs of 
Buffalo. 

He married, April 16, 1907, Yivette Eliza- 
beth Herschede, of Jamaica Plain, Boston, 
Massachusetts, daughter of Frank Herschede, 
late of Denver, Colorado. Children: Nathaniel 
(7), born May 12, 1908; George, born Decem- 
ber 14, 1910. 



The progenitors of Dr. William 
GROVE V. Grove originally settled near 

Reading, Pennsylvania. His 
family was from Germany, and probably were 
known there as Graff, the name becoming 
Grove in translation. 

(I) John Grove is believed to have been a 
resident of Reading, Pennsylvania, for many 
years, dying at Williamsville, New York, in 
1842. He was a hat manufacturer, making 
the olden style "beaver" hats. He was a Bap- 
tist in religion, and a Democrat. He married 
Betsey Carr. Children: David, Peter, John, 
Eliza, Ann, Lucy and Charles Carr. 

(II) Charles Carr, son of John and Betsey 
(Carr) Grove, was born in Williamsville, Erie 
county, New York, September 28, 1828, in a 
house that stood on the site of the present 
SS. Peter and Paul Catholic Church. He 
was educated in the public schools, and grew 
to manhood in his home village : in fact, with 
the exception of a few years. Williamsville 
was his lifelong residence, and the place of 



NEW YORK. 



539 



his death, July 18, 1887. At the age of seven- 
teen years he began teaching school in the 
Getzville district, where the brick schoolhonse 
now stands, continuing three years, 1845-48. 
In the latter year he went to the Island of 
Mackinac, where for six years he was engaged 
in the fish commission business, and in part- 
nership with a Mr. Cautler operated a general 
store. His old partner is now of the firm of 
Cautler & Sons, bankers, of Detroit, Michigan. 
In the winter of 1853 ne formed a partnership 
with his brother, Peter Grove, for the trans- 
action of a quick lime business. They oper- 
ated in Williamsville for several years, then 
locate 1 in Chicago, Illinois, where they built 
up a prosperous business, Peter managing the 
western interests and Charles C. the home 
business. They later sold their Chicago estab- 
lishment to a brother-in-law, W. H. Hutchin- 
son. About the year 1864 Charles C. formed 
a partnership with N. Uebelhoer, and bought 
large stone quarries at Bertie, Ontario, Can- 
ada. From these they furnished the rock for 
building a large portion of the International 
Bridge at Black Rock, and lime stone (used 
as flux) for the Union Iron Works at Buffalo, 
and Pratt's Iron Works at Tonawanda. After 
six years of successful business he sold his 
interest in the quarries to his partner. From 
1870 to 1880 he was largely interested in quick 
lime manufacturing in Williamsville and Buf- 
falo, operating with others as the Williamsville 
Quick Lime Company. In 1881-82 he was 
heavily engaged in oil production in the Boli- 
var and Richburg districts, with Joshua Smith, 
of Buffalo. About 1872 he erected the brick 
block at the corner of Main and Virginia 
streets, Buffalo, which he owned at the time 
of his death. In 1883 he built a brick roller 
flouring mill at Tonawanda, which he man- 
aged for a year with his son, Lafayette L. 
Grove, then sold. He was an energetic, ca- 
pable man of business, prudently and success- 
fully managing his various enterprises. He 
was held in high esteem by his business as- 
sociates and by the public at large in his town 
and city. He was elected supervisor of the 
town of Amherst in 1859 and re-elected suc- 
cessively until 1864. He was chairman of 
the board in 1862 and in 1863 was unani- 
mously rechosen chairman on the first ballot. 
His speech of acceptance on taking the chair 
was so well chosen that it was embodied in 
the minutes of the meeting of the board. On 
November 3, 1863, he was elected superin- 



tendent of the poor for Erie county, but never 
afterward accepted public office. He was a 
member of the Christian church (Disciples of 
Christ) and interested in all good works. 

He married, January 5, 1853, Harriet N., 
daughter of Jonathan Driesbach, of Williams- 
ville, and his wife, Susan (Hershey) Dries- 
bach, of German parentage. Children: 1. Wil- 
liam V. (of whom further). 2. Lafayette L., 
born in Williamsville, April 9, 1859. In 1892 
he became interested in railroading, became 
manager and is now a director and vice-presi- 
dent of the Buffalo & Williamsville Electric 
Railroad. He married, August 6, 1886, Har- 
riet A., daughter of Peter C. Frederick ; chil- 
dren: Bettie Mildred, Charles Carr (de- 
ceased), and Nelson. 3. Edward Brown. 

(Ill) Dr. William V. Grove, eldest son of 
Charles Carr and Harriet N. (Driesbach) 
Grove, was born at Williamsville, New York, 
August 1, 1855. His early education was ob- 
tained in the common and high schools, fol- 
lowing which he entered Michigan University, 
graduating in 1878 with the degree of Civil 
Engineer. He prepared for the profession 
of dentistry at Ohio College of Dental Sur- 
gery, being graduated D. D. S. in 1881. He 
opened an office at Williamsville, where he 
practiced in 1881-82, and in Chicago from 
1882 to 1885. In 1885 he established a prac- 
tice in Buffalo, where he is now located. He 
acted as Demonstrator of Prosthetic Dentistry 
in the Chicago College of Dental Surgery, 
1883-85, and served in the same capacity in the 
dental department of the University of Buf- 
falo, 1895-96. He is a member of the Buffalo 
Dental Association, of the Eighth District 
Dental Society of New York State. He is a 
member of the Buffalo Automobile Club, and 
a Democrat in politics. 

He married, June 25, 1885, at Buffalo, Clara 
Woodbury Thorndike. born in Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of Eckford A. Thorndike, 
born October 13, 1828; married Amanda 
Woodbury. Children of Dr. William V. and 
Clara W. Grove: Amy Walker, born 1886, 
died July 14, 1894; Margaret Thorndike, grad- 
uate of Buffalo high school : William Lowell, 
born September 1, 1891. now located in Cali- 
fornia. 



Essex county, England, is the 

KELLOGG earliest home of the Kelloggs 

so far as traced. The origin 

of the name and family is the cause of much 



54Q 



NEW YORK. 



controversy. It has been spelled in various 
and many ways, Keylogg, a locksmith, and 
Great Britain as the original home of the 
family seems the most probable. Braintree, in 
Essex, about forty miles northeast of London, 
was the earliest home of the Kelloggs whose 
line we trace. The parish register (i860) 
spells the name Kallogg, Kelhogg, Kellog, 
Celog, Callog and Kellock. There being no 
universal orthography, each clerk spelled the 
name as he thought proper. 

Phillippe Kellogg, possibly a son of Thomas 
and grandson of Nicholas Kellogg, of Debden, 
is the first of the name in England from whom 
the Kelloggs of America can with certainty 
trace their descent. He first appears in Bock- 
ing Essex, a parish adjoining Braintree, Sep- 
tember 15, 1583. His son Martin was bap- 
tized in Great Leighs, Essex county, England, 
November 23, 1595. He married Prudence 
Bird. Of their children, John, Nathaniel, 
Sarah and Martin, lived and died in England. 
Joseph, American progenitor, and Daniel and 
Samuel came to America. The first Kellogg 
whose name appears on New England records 
is Nathaniel, son of Phillippe, of Great Leighs, 
Essex county, England. His name, "Natha 
Calaug." is the ninth name in a list of such 
"Inhabitants as were granted lotts to have 
onely at The Townes Countesie with liberty 
to fetch wood & keep swine or cowes By pro- 
portion in the Common. 14 Jan 1639." Hart- 
ford, Connecticut. He was an uncle of Lieu- 
tenant Joseph Kellogg, whom we name the 
immigrant ancestor of the line under consid- 
eration. 

( I ) Lieutenant Joseph Kellogg, son of Mar- 
tin and Prudence (Bird) Kellogg, was bap- 
tized in Great Leighs, England, April 1, 1626, 
died in Hadley, Massachusetts, between June 
27. 1707, the date of his will, and February 4, 
1708. when it was proved. | It is not known 
in what year he came to America. He was 
in Farmington, Connecticut, 1651, where he 
was an early settler and several times select- 
man. He and his wife were "joined" to the 
church, October 9. 1653. His home lot in 
Boston, Massachusetts, consisted of four 
acres; a part of it is now covered by the 
Advertiser building on Washington street, and 
is one of the most valuable parcels of land 
in Boston. He removed from Boston to Had- 
ley and was one of the proprietors. In 1661 
the town made an agreement with him to keep 
the ferry between Hadley and Northampton. 



The agreement is a very curious document, 
stipulating rates on dark nights, stormy 
weather, late hours, etc. This ferry was in 
the control of the family nearly a century. 
He was selectman in Hadley, 1665-74-77-78- 
79-85-92, school committeeman in 1686. The 
general court of Massachusetts appointed him, 
May 9, 1678, ensign in the foot company in 
Hadley, and October 7, same year, lieutenant 
in the same company. He served in that 
office until 1707, making his military service 
cover a period of twenty-nine years. Captain 
Aaron Cook, who was appointed captain when 
Joseph was appointed ensign, served thirty- 
five years, until 1713. This explains why 
Joseph got no higher rank than lieutenant. 
He was in command of the Hadley troops 
at the famous "Turners Falls" fight, which 
broke the power of the river tribes. When 
he settled in Hadley, in 1661, his estate was 
assessed at one hundred pounds ; at the time 
of his death his personal estate alone was in- 
ventoried at four hundred pounds. He was 
the father of twenty children, fourteen of 
whom arrived at maturity. He seems to have 
been an energetic, strong, sturdy character, 
an affectionate, just husband and father. He 
distributed his estate fairly and there was no 
dissension. 

He married (first), in England, Joanna 

■: she died in Hadley, Massachusetts, 

September 14, 1666. He married (second) 
Abigail Terry, born in Windsor, Connecticut, 
September 21, 1646, daughter of Stephen 
Terry, born in Wiltshire, England. Her will 
was proved October 31, 1726. Abigail was 
before the court in 1673 charged as one who 
"wore silk contrary to law." She was ac- 
quitted. Children by first wife : Elizabeth ; 
Joseph, who was fined ten shillings for "hav- 
ing travelled till midnight in the night before 
the Sabbath ;" Nathaniel ; John (see forward) ; 
Martin, Edward, Samuel, Joanna, Sarah. By 
his second wife, born in Hadley: Stephen, 
Nathaniel, Abigail, Elizabeth, Prudence. 
Ebenezer, Jonathan, Daniel, Joseph (on his 
gravestone in Hadley he is called "A worthy 
gentleman"), Daniel, Ephraim. 

(II) John, son of Lieutenant Joseph and 
Joanna Kellogg, was baptized in Farmington. 
Connecticut, December 29, 1656, died in Had- 
ley, Massachusetts, between 1723 and 1728. 
He resided in Farmington and Hadley. He 
succeeded to the ferry in Hadley, founded by 
his father. His name appears in a list of those 



NEW YORK. 



54i 



owning the largest estates in Hadley in 1720. 
At one time he resided in the Hopkins School- 
house in Hadley. He married (first) in Had- 
ley, December 23, 1680, Sarah, daughter of 
Samuel and Sarah (Deming) Moody. She 
died in Farmington, September 10, 1689. He 

married (second) Ruth . Children by 

first wife, all born in Hadley : Sarah, John, 
Joseph (see forward) ; Samuel, and an un- 
named son. Children by second wife : Ruth, 
Joanna, Esther, Abigail, John, James. 

(III) Joseph (2), son of John and Sarah 
(Moody) Kellogg, was born in Hadley, Mas- 
sachusetts, November 6, 1685. He was a 
weaver and resided in South Hadley. In 
1788, several years after his death, his son 
John was appointed administrator of this es- 
tate. He married, March 15, 171 1, Abigail, 
born October 10, 1692, daughter of Ebenezer 
and Abigail (Broughton) Smith. Their chil- 
dren, all born in South Hadley, were : Abigail, 
Sarah, Ebenezer (see forward) ; Ruth, Martha, 
Esther, Joseph (3), John, Rachel, Jabez, 
Eunice. 

(IV) Ebenezer, eldest son of Joseph (2) 
and Abigail (Smith) Kellogg, was born in 
South Hadley, Massachusetts, December 26, 
1715. He resided in South Hadley. His 
name appears in the muster roll of Colonel 
Dwight's regiment on the western frontier, 
August 11 and 21, 1748. He married, De- 
cember 15, 1748, Mrs. Sarah Snow, widow 
of Josiah Snow, of Norwich, Connecticut, 
and South Hadley. Their children were : 
Amos, Lois, Sarah, Josiah, Ebenezer, Seth 
(see forward) ; Ruth, Sallie and Rufus. 

(Y) Seth, sixth child and fourth son of 
Ebenezer and Sarah (Snow) Kellogg, was 
born in South Hadley, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 5, 1767, died in West Galway, New 
York, January 7, 1847. He moved to West 
Galway, New York, about 1792. He was a 
carpenter. He is said to have been about five 
feet eight inches in height, with dark hair, 
broad forehead, black eyes, nose slightly 
Roman. He married, May 3, 1787, Naomi 
Parsons, born August 21. 1768. After her 
husband's death she resided with her son 
Joseph in Springwater. One of their sons, 
James Madison, was a noted lecturer in phren- 
ology and for fifteen years travelled constantly, 
lecturing on that subject. The children, two 
of whom were born in South Hadley, the 
others in West Galway, New York, were: 
Nancy, Supplina (see forward) ; Russell, 



Naomi, Joseph, Silence, Benjamin, Franklin, 
John, James Madison. 

(VI) Supplina, eldest son of Seth and 
Naomi (Parsons) Kellogg, was born in South 
Hadley, Massachusetts, November 27, 1789, 
died in West Galway, February 8, 1845. 
Shortly after his birth it is probable his father 
removed to New York state, as his brother 
Russell, the next eldest child, was born in 
West Galway, January 16, 1794. He was a 
wool carder and cloth dresser. In 1824 he 
began the manufacture of linseed oil in West 
Galway, New York. He began modestly with 
a small hand mill, having a capacity of two 
barrels daily. He increased this output to six 
barrels. This was the foundation on which 
was to be built the present large linseed oil and 
by-products business of his son, John Kellogg, 
of Amsterdam, New York, and of Spencer 
Kellogg & Sons, Buffalo, New York, the lat- 
ter business founded by a grandson, Spencer 
Kellogg, son of Lauren. Supplina Kellogg 
was an important man in Galway. If anything 
unusual was needed "Deacon" Kellogg was 
called on, as he was able to make almost any- 
thing needed in those days. He acted as a 
judge or "peacemaker" for his neighbors, set- 
tling many disputes out of court, thus prevent- 
ing litigation with resultant bitter enmities. 
He was a deacon of the Presbyterian church 
of West Galway, and an upright, christian 
man. 

He married, about 18 12, Susan A. Aldrich, 
born in Kingston, Rhode Island, July 31, 1792, 
died in West Galway, New York, 1870, daugh- 
ter of Dr. John Aldrich, born in Hopkinton, 
Rhode Island, of the famous Aldrich family 
of that state. Dr. Aldrich was a pioneer physi- 
cian of Kingston and of high standing. He 
served in the war of 1812, was taken prisoner 
and sent to England, where he was confined 
on a prison ship. His wife was Elizabeth 
(Thurston) Aldrich, who died in Kingston, 
May 23, 1837. Children of Supplina Kellogg, 
all born in West Galway, New York : 1 . 
Emily, born September 18, 1813, died at Me- 
dina, New York, January 30, 1836. 2. Lauren, 
died aged six years. 3. Lauren (2) (of whom 
further). 4. John, born December 17, 1826; 
is now the only surviving child (1911); he 
succeeded with his brother Lauren to the lin- 
seed oil business established by Supplina Kel- 
logg, and until succeeded by his sons was head 
of Kellogg & Miller, linseed oil manufacturers, 
of Amsterdam, New York ; bank president and 



542 



NEW YORK. 



leading citizen. He married Olive Davis. 
Children : Anna, George, Lauren. The two 
sons are successors of Kellogg & Miller and 
in control of a very large plant and business. 
5. Harriet, born October 13, 1828; married 
Bernard K. Lee. 6. Jane, born November 1, 
1830 : married John Furman Mann. 

(VII) Lauren, eldest son of Supplina and 
Susan A. (Aldrich) Kellogg, was born in 
West Galway, Fulton county, New York, Jan- 
uary 21, 1824, died in Amsterdam, New 
York, in 1853. He graduated from Union 
College; was a brilliant student, being awarded 
the Phi Beta Kappa key for his high standing 
in college. A man of sweet and temperate 
character. After the death of his father he 
continued linseed oil manufacturing with his 
brother John as partner, the firm being L. and 
J. Kellogg, conducted under his leadership. 
The business was removed to Amsterdam, New 
York, in 1852, enlarged, and was in successful 
operation when death removed him in 1853. 
Mr. Kellogg was a most excellent man of 
business, and had not early death interfered 
would have risen to high rank in the commer- 
cial world. 

He married Elizabeth Miller, born in Scot- 
land, June 30, 1823, daughter of Robert Miller, 
born in Scotland, near Glasgow, December 9, 
1774. He was chief officer of the civil govern- 
ment of Glasgow and a man of wealth, which 
was entirely lost by misfortune. He came to 
the United States in 1830, settled in West 
Galway, New York, where he made a brave 
effort to retrieve his fortunes. He failed in 
his efforts, and in 1834 died literally of dis- 
appointment and a broken heart. He married 
Jane Anderson, of Kirkcaldy, Scotland, who 
died April 24, 1856. Of their eleven children 
Elizabeth was the eighth. Robert Miller was 
a son of James (2) Miller, son of James (1) 
Miller, son of William and Marian (Craig) 
Miller. William had two sons, James (1 ) and 
Andrew ; the latter embraced the cause of the 
Stuarts, and for his loyalty to "Prince Charlie" 
had his property confiscated, and became an 
exile in France. Children of Lauren Kellogg : 
1. Marian, married Middleton Warnick : chil- 
dren: Lauren Kellogg, Spencer Kellogg, 
Catherine and Elizabeth. 2. Spencer (of whom 
further). 

(VIII) Spencer, only son of Lauren and 
Elizabeth ( Miller) Kellogg, was born in West 
Galway. Fulton county. New York (Galway 
lies in both Fulton and Saratoga counties) 



June 16, 185 1. He was educated in private 
schools and at Gloversville Seminary, where 
he prepared for college but entered business 
instead. After the death of Lauren Kellogg 
his place in the firm was taken by his wife's 
brother, James A. Miller, and the firm name 
changed to Kellogg & Miller. Spencer Kel- 
logg, at the age of seventeen, began working 
for the firm and displayed so much business 
ability that four years later, in 1872, on his 
coming of legal age, was admitted to the firm, 
as was George Kellogg, son of John, the senior 
partner. In 1877 Spencer Kellogg withdrew 
and went to Des Moines, Iowa, where he es- 
tablished a private bank. In 1879 he sold 
his bank property and returned to New York 
state, locating in Buffalo. His intimate knowl- 
edge of linseed oil manufacturing induced him 
to establish again in that business. He formed 
a partnership with Sidney McDougal. They 
began manufacturing under the firm name of 
Kellogg and McDougal. They continued a 
most successful business until Mr. McDougal 
retiied. The business was continued by Mr. 
Kellogg under his own name until 1909, when 
the firm became Spencer Kellogg & Sons. They 
are the largest manufacturers of linseed oil in 
the world, consuming about one-third of the 
entire flaxseed crop of the United States in 
their operations each year. The oil extracted 
from seven million bushels of seed is all sold 
in the United States, while the oil cake is ex- 
ported to Belgium and Holland. The firm 
has a mill in the latter country for preparing 
the cake to be used as food for cattle, while 
their selling agencies are distributed over both 
countries. Their plant is an immense one, in- 
cluding a separate office building located on 
McKinley square at the foot of Delaware ave- 
nue. Their manufacturing plants are located 
at Buffalo, New York, and Minneapolis, Min- 
nesota. In addition to the linseed business 
Spencer Kellogg & Sons own and operate a 
concrete grain elevator at Buffalo, and are also 
engaged in the production of castor oil, core 
oil and rape seed oil. 

Mr. Kellogg was intimately connected with 
the banking institutions of Buffalo for several 
years, but the press of private business com- 
pelled his resignation from the vice-presidency 
of the Commonwealth Trust Company and 
from the board of directors of the Marine 
Bank. He retains his seat as a director of 
the New York State Steel Company and of 
the Buffalo & Williamsville Railway Company. 



NEW YORK. 



543 



He is a member of Westminster Presbyterian 
Church, of which he has been an elder since 
1898. He is a Republican in politics, and a 
member of the Buffalo, Country, Park and 
Westminster clubs. The best comment upon 
his great executive and business ability is his 
successful management of his vast business. 
Such concerns are not the growth of a day 
nor the result of a lucky speculation, but are 
built on the wisest business acumen of their 
founders, followed each day by careful, con- 
servative management, a wide knowledge of 
the special line manufactured, and a thorough, 
systematic plan of organization in making, sell- 
ing and recording departments. In organiza- 
tion Mr. Kellogg excels, yet in no needed 
qualification is he lacking. 

He married, April 10, 1875, in Amsterdam, 
New York, Jane Morris, daughter of Abraham 
B. and Jane (Vedder) Morris, and grand- 
daughter of Isaac Morris. Children of Spen- 
cer Kellogg: 1. Spencer (2), born in Am- 
sterdam, New York, April 10, 1876. He was 
educated in private schools, the Heathcote 
School of Buffalo ( 1888-94) , followed by a spe- 
cial course in electrical engineering (1894-96) 
at Lawrence Scientific School. In 1896 he be- 
came associated with his father in business 
and is now a member of Spencer Kellogg & 
Sons, in special charge of the sales department. 
He is a Republican in politics, and a member 
of Westminster Presbyterian Church. He is 
active in settlement work, especially in the 
large settlement at Adams and Monroe streets, 
that is under the Westminster Club of his 
church. In 1910 he was elected vice-president 
of the club. He is also a member of the Buf- 
falo and Automobile clubs. He married, May 
30, 1899, at Leavenworth, Kansas, Lida Desh- 
ler Willson, daughter of Edmund Payson 
Willson, a stove manufacturer, born 1827, died 
August, 1910, at Leavenworth. He married 
Olive Links, who survived him, a resident of 
Leavenworth. Child : Lois Dorothy. 2. Eliz- 
abeth, married Stewart R. Mann, of Buffalo, 
now in business at Derbv, New York. 3. How- 
ard, born in Buffalo, March 26, 1881. He 
was educated in private schools, prepared for 
college at Phillips Exeter Academy, Exeter, 
New Hampshire; entered Harvard College, 
whence he was graduated in three and one- 
half years with honor, together with special 
honor in mathematics ; received degree of 
A. B., class of 1903. He was associated with 
his father in business and in 1909 became a 



member of Spencer Kellogg & Sons. He is 
a Republican, and a member of Westminster 
Presbyterian Church. His clubs are the Uni- 
versity and the Wanakah Golf. He married, 
March 27, 1906, at Buffalo, Cyrena Allen, 
daughter of Whitney G. and Martha (Allen) 
Case, of Buffalo. She is a graduate of St. 
Margaret's School of Buffalo and class of 1907, 
Smith College. Children : Martha, born Jan- 
uary 17, 1907; Howard (2), born October 21, 
1908. 4. Gertrude Montgomery, married 
Charles Sprague Clark; children: Morris 
Sprague, born October 7, 1906; Andrew Kel- 
logg, born February 16, 1909. 5. Ruth, spe- 
cially educated in music, finishing at Berlin, 
Germany. 6. Doris. 7. Donald, born January 
27, 1894. 



The Kingstons of Buffalo, 
KINGSTON herein recorded, are of di- 
rect English ancestry. Will- 
iam Kingston (I) was an official of the Eng- 
lish government and resided there near Liver- 
pool. Among his children was William (2), 
supposedly his eldest son, and the American 
progenitor, who settled in Nova Scotia, where 
he lived to the unusual age of one hundred 
and three years. 

(II) William Kingston (2) was born in 
England, which was his residence until he was 
about forty years of age. He then emigrated 
to Nova Scotia, settling in the city of Halifax. 
He owned farm lands, followed agriculture 
and dealt in cattle. He later removed to Dart- 
mouth, Nova Scotia, where he died and is 
buried. His gravestone records his age at one 
hundred and thre'e years, but the family claims 
a birth record in England shows him to have 
reached the age of one hundred and fourteen 
years. He married Mary Leary. Children: 
Paul, lived and died at Dartmouth, Nova 
Scotia; John, of further mention; William, 
settled in New York City, where he died, as 
did his two younger brothers, George and 
Thomas ; Mary, the only daughter, married 
Jerry Donovan, of Dartmouth, where both 
died. 

(III) John, second son of William and 
Mary (Leary) Kingston, was born in Eng- 
land, 1804-5. He married and moved to Ice- 
land, where he lived for a time, and then went 
to Nova Scotia with his family and resided 
there for a period. He was a mason by trade, 
and later came to the United States, locating 
in New York City, where he was employed in 



544 



NEW YORK. 



the building of the Croton Aqueduct for sup- 
plying New York City with water. He was 
thus engaged for six or seven years, then re- 
moved to Herkimer county, New York, pur- 
chasing a farm in the town of Ohio. After 
three years spent in farming he sold and 
moved to Rome, New York. He lived in sev- 
eral New York towns and in Canada, finally 
returning to Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, where 
he died. He was a member of the Established 
Church of England, as his family had been 
for generations. He married, October 6, 183 1, 
Julia Murphy, who died in Halifax, Nova 
Scotia, in 187 1. She was the daughter of 
Thomas Murphy, of Halifax. Children: 1. 
Paul, died in Buffalo, leaving Thomas and 
Elizabeth. 2. Mary, married John Mills, and 
moved to Toronto, Canada ; three children. 
3. William, a paper manufacturer, married 
Mary Perry; died at Little Falls, Herkimer 
county, New York, and left four children, now 
residents of Little Falls. 4. John Clay, of fur- 
ther mention. 5. George, died unmarried at the 
age of forty ; was a veteran of the civil war. 
6. Thomas, a hotel keeper, of Delhi. New 
York, unmarried. 7. Edward, a manufacturer, 
of Little Falls, New York ; married Cora Pin- 
nard and has a son Alfred ; now engaged in 
the plumbing business at Little Falls. 8. Anna. 
9. Jenny. 10. Catherine. The three latter are 
residents of Cornwall-on-the-Hudson, New 
York. 

(IV) John Clay, third son of John and Julia 
(Murphy) Kingston, was born in the town of 
Ohio, Herkimer county. New York, 1842. He 
settled in Buffalo in 1857, where he was en- 
gaged as a manufacturer of shoelasts until 
1906, when he retired from active business 
life. During the civikwar Mr. Kingston was 
four years in government employ, commissary 
department, in Kentucky and Tennessee. He 
is a Republican in politics, and was for many 
years a member of the Buffalo Chamber of 
Commerce. He is a member of the Episcopal 
church. Mr. Clay married, January 7, 1867, 
at Indianapolis, Indiana. Alice, daughter of 
James Murphy. Children: 1. Lucretia Eliza- 
beth, married in 1893, John Robert Ash, who 
died in Buffalo, January, 1902, son of James 
Ash, born in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, 
December 20, 1836, died in Buffalo, April 5, 
1908. He came to Buffalo with his parents 
when a child of six years ; was educated in 
the public schools and began business life with 
Charles E. Evans, coal dealer; later, and for 



fifteen years, was manager of the shipping de- 
partment of Pratt & Letchworth. In 1866 he 
began business for himself. He prospered and 
became a large vessel owner. He was presi- 
dent of the Hand & Johnson tug line, and for 
twenty years manager in Buffalo for the Lake 
Carriers' Association. For forty years he was 
in the coal business at Niagara street and For- 
est avenue, continuing until his death, and 
after he had retired from all other business. 
He enlisted in Company B, Seventy-fourth 
Regiment, New York Infantry, near the close 
of the civil war, but peace was declared before 
he saw actual service. He served for one year 
in the New York state legislature ; was a mem- 
ber of the Buffalo park commission, 1882-3 ; 
alderman from the old Ninth Ward, in 1893, 
serving continuously for twelve years, then de- 
clined re-election ; in 1895 he was president of 
the city council. He married, in 1854, Mary 
Finn, daughter of William Finn, a lumber 
dealer of Buffalo. James was a son of Robert 
Ash, a descendant of Colonel Ash, a revolu- 
tionary soldier. John Robert Ash, third son 
of James and Mary (Finn) Ash, was engaged 
with his father in the coal business until his 
death in 1902. He was a member of Holy 
Angels' (Roman Catholic) Church, and in 
politics was a Republican. Children of John 
Robert and Lucretia Elizabeth (Kingston) 
Ash: i. Robert William, born October 1, 
1894; now (1911) a student in high school; 
two other children, died in infancy. 2. Frank, 
now a bookkeeper in Buffalo. 3. Alice, mar- 
ried George A. Chase and lives in Westfield, 
New York ; child : Mary Louise. 4. Emma, a 
resident of Buffalo. 5. Florence Monica, mar- 
ried Ralph Waldo Pierce, (see Pierce IX). 
6. Arthur, born, 1889 ; senior in the University 
of Michigan, electrical and mechanical engin- 
eering course. 7. Frederick, died in infancy. 

The Welch family of Westfield, 
WELCH New York, is descended from a 

long line of Welsh ancestors. 
The emigrant to America, Abraham Welch, 
settled with his wife and family in Watertown, 
New York, 1831. Here he opened a dry goods 
and millinery store. From 1856 to 1861 and 
again after the death of his wife, Mary (Fus- 
sel) Welch, an Englishwoman, he lived in 
Winona, Minnesota, where he died about 1864, 
aged sixty-six years. They had twelve chil- 
dren, all but the last three being born in Eng- 
land. Children: Mrs. Mary Ann Hughe^ 



NEW YORK. 



545 



Robert: Mrs. Sarah Banister; Alfred; Mrs. 
Susan F. Peck; Thomas B. (of further men- 
tion); Elizabeth; Abraham; Jemima; Kesia; 
Mrs. Hannah P. Sheldon; Mrs. Adelaide 
Hoxie. 

(II) Thomas B., son of Abraham and Mary 
(Fussel) Welch, was born in England, De- 
cember 31, 1825, died in Philadelphia, Penn- 
sylvania, December 29, 1903. He was early 
educated for the Methodist Episcopal ministry, 
and after his ordination preached for several 
years. He was compelled to retire from the 
ministry because of the loss of his voice. He 
then devoted himself to the study of medicine, 
which he later practiced, but not finding this 
to his liking, took up the study of dentistry, 
the practice of which he commenced in Winona, 
Minnesota. He later settled in Vineland, New 
Jersey, where he engaged in the manufacture 
of dental instruments. He continued this busi- 
ness in Philadelphia for several years, during 
which time he established a dentists' trade 
journal, Items of Interest. This was printed 
for ten years, with Dr. Welch as editor, and 
was an authority upon all matters pertaining 
to dentistry. He retired from active business 
and spent the last of his seventy-eight years 
in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Dr. Welch 
originated unfermented wine or grape juice in 
1869. 

He married Lucy M., born July 20, 
1825, died April 30, 1894, daughter of Peter 
Hutt. Children: 1. George B., born in New 
York state; married Flora M. Barker, of 
Washington, D. C. ; now practicing dentistry 
in Washington, D. C. 2. Frederick W., born 
in New York state, died July 20, 1898; he 
was a soldier in the civil war ; married 
Louvinia Yerkes ; two children : Ray W., 
Freda L. Kronenberg. 3. Charles E. (of fur- 
ther mention). 4. Mrs. Emma E. Slade : three 
children : Dr. A. R. Slade, Mrs. Edna Batton, 
Mrs. Lucy Halloway. 5. Mrs. Clara M. Gould. 
6. Mrs. Villa Murray; two children: Elsa, 
Nona. 7. Mrs. May L. Thomas. 

(III) Charles E., son of Dr. Thomas B. 
and Lucy M. (Hutt) Welch, was born at 
Watertown, New York, March 2, 1852. His 
parents removed to Winona, Minnesota, where 
he received his early education. At the age 
of seventeen they moved to Vineland, New 
Jersey, where his education was completed. 
He studied dentistry in Vineland and practiced 
in Washington, D. C, from 1872 to 1877. In 
1877 he returned to Vineland and was asso- 



ciated with his father in the practice of den- 
tistry until 1881. In that year he and his 
father moved to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 
and engaged in the manufacture of dental in- 
struments, also publishing Items of Interest, 
before mentioned. In 1869 he began the manu- 
facture of his now famous grape juice at Vine- 
land, New Jersey. He began in a very small 
way, but as the demand for his product grew, 
the size of the plant was increased by addi- 
tions which were made from time to time. In 
1886 he gave up his other business interests, 
including his dental work, and devoted his 
time entirely to the making of grape juice. In 
1897, because grapes in the Vineland vineyards 
were inadequate to meet the increased demand, 
he moved to Westfield, New York, where he 
erected a larger and better plant. Recently 
he has found it necessary to increase the size 
of this building, and in 191 1 the company pur- 
chased a large factory in North East, Penn- 
sylvania. In 1903 the business was incor- 
porated under the name of the Welch Grape 
Juice Company, with Charles E. Welch as 
president and general manager, and his sons, 
Paul Ross Welch and Edgar Thomas Welch, 
vice-president and secretary and treasurer. It 
is now one of the important industries of the 
county, employing two hundred hands during 
the busy season. In 1906 he organized and 
established the Welch Gas Company, of which 
he is president. They were among the first 
to attempt the exploration of natural gas, and 
have a system which is of great benefit to the 
people of Westfield. They formed an inde- 
pendent system, digging their own wells and 
laying their own pipe lines. He is a member 
and trustee of the Methodist Episcopal church, 
superintendent of the Sunday school, and an 
active worker. He is an Independent in poli- 
tics, and is now ( 191 1) serving his third term 
as president of the village. 

He married (first) Jennie, daughter of 
Recompence Ross, born in Burlington, New 
Jersey, died March, 1884. He married (sec- 
ond) Julia, daughter of John and Annie 
(Culin) Frailey, of Philadelphia, Pennsyl- 
vania. Children of first wife: 1. Edgar 
Thomas, born in Vineland, New Jersey, Janu- 
ary 22, 188 1 ; married Grace Harris ; one child : 
Charles Edgar, born in Westfield, New York, 
August 8, 1903. 2. Paul Ross, born in Phila- 
delphia, Pennsylvania, July 20, 1882. Chil- 
dren of second wife, all born in Vineland, New 
Jersey: 3. John F., October 26, 1886. 4. Jen- 



546 



NEW YORK. 



nie R., April 17, 1888. 5. William Taylor, 
March 21, 1890. 



The Rengel family are of 

REN GEL French ancestry, the grand- 
father, Alexander Rengel, hav- 
ing been a native of Alsace Lorraine when it 
was French territory. 

(II) Joseph, son of Alexander Rengel, was 
born in Alsace, near Strasburg, February 6, 
1837, died at Lancaster, Erie county, New 
York, January 1, 1890. He was educated at 
the "Petit Seminaire" in Strasburg, specializ- 
ing in music, becoming an accomplished organ- 
ist. At the age of seventeen years he came 
to the United States and located first in Wil- 
liamsville, Erie county, New York, where he 
was church organist and school teacher until 
1863, when he moved to Sheldon, Wyoming 
county. Five years later he became organist 
at Lancaster, Erie county, and taught school 
there up to the day of his death. He was a 
devout member of the Roman Catholic church, 
and gave his entire time to church music and 
teaching. 

He married, January 22, 1861, at Williams- 
ville, Victorine Le Brun, born September 27, 
1840. daughter of Jean Baptist Le Brun, born 
April 3, 1803, in Paris, France, died Septem- 
ber 11, 1866, at Eggertsville, New York. He 
was a wealthy wine maker of Nancy, France, 
and came to the United States in 1844. 

In Erie county, upon the old Williams- 
ville road about a mile beyond the Country 
Club, stands a little old stone building which 
is what is left of an American home of the 
Lebruns. The house sets backs from the road 
surrounded by tangled weeds and wild flowers, 
while the driveway now grown over with 
grass is lined with golden-rod and elder 
bushes. In this house lived and died Jean 
Batiste Lebrun, nephew of Charles Francois 
Lebrun, third consul and archtreasurer under 
Napoleon and governor of Holland, who came 
to America in 1844. 

The Lebruns were a powerful family in 
France, a family of genius in the sixteen 
hundreds, but in the days of Louis XVI and 
Napoleon Bonaparte they reached their 
greatest political power. Charles Fran- 
cois Lebrun, uncle of the Jean mentioned; was 
third consul when Napoleon was first, and was 
made duke of Piacenza under the empire. 
Jean Batiste Lebrun, brother of Charles and 
husband of Mme. Lebrun, the painter, was an 



art critic and a painter of no small ability. 
The third brother, Pierre, father of Jean, was 
a military man. A peculiarity of these three 
brothers was their being honored by the Bour- 
bon king, the republic and the empire and 
holding the esteem of all. 

At the downfall and exile of Napoleon they 
left Paris and lived at Nancy, one of the most 
beautiful sections of France, where purple- 
laden vineyards stretch for miles across the 
country, dotted here and there with pictur- 
esque villages, ruins of old feudal castles and 
more modern chateaus. After living at Nancy 
some years a sea voyage was prescribed for 
Jean Batiste, son of Pierre Lebrun, and he 
started to America with his wife and little 
daughter, accompanied by his sister and her 
family, who were bound for the state of Ohio. 

It was before the days of the ocean liner, 
and the Lebruns spent several weeks on a sail- 
ing vessel in crossing the Atlantic. Mr. Le- 
brun, being greatly benefited by the voyage, 
decided to shorten his journey by making the 
trip west as far as Buffalo by way of the 
new railroad (the Erie) : while his sister, de- 
siring to continue the journey by water, trav- 
eled across the state by the Erie canal, which 
at that time was a strong rival of the railroad 
in the passenger business. 

While waiting at Buffalo for his sister to 
arrive by boat, Jean Batiste Lebrun became 
acquainted with the French residents, many 
of whom were people or descendants of peo- 
ple of worth and prominence in the old coun- 
try ; and during that week of waiting he be- 
came so favorably impressed with Buffalo and 
the fine surrounding country that he bought 
the home on the Williamsville road and im- 
mediately made it his residence. It was an 
old-established homestead for those days, hav- 
ing been built long before the War of 18 12. 
The land around it was rolling level country, 
intercrossed by the picturesque ledge of 
quarry stone formation that runs for miles 
through this part of New York. 

The old house has sheltered many noted 
people of both continents. If its walls could 
speak what tales could they relate of talks by 
the old fireside? Stories of the rise and fall 
of the empire — of great minds which used to 
congregate in the Lebrun salon in Paris — of 
exiles in many strange lands — of new peace 
and comfort. It now stands empty and silent, 
while occasionally voices of Eggertsville chil- 
dren are heard playing among the fruit trees 



NEW YORK. 



547 



which have grown up and become old leaning 
trees around the grounds ; and childish faces 
peep in over the old stone steps. It is merely 
an old ruin to them and only that to us.* 

Jean Baptist Le Brun married Marie 
Noirel, born at Nancy, February 25, 1803, 
died December 19, 1872, in Buffalo, New 
York. Children: 1. A^ictorine, married Joseph 
Rengel, whom she survives ; Nicholas, born in 
Eggertsville, December 27, 1846. 

Children of Joseph and Victorine Rengel : 
1. Nettie M., born February 23, 1864; married, 
June 26, 1890, William J. Gordon ; resides in 
New York City. 2. Henry J., born November 
5, 1865 ; married. October 19, 1886, Mary F. 
Fitzpatrick, and has daughter Eugenie, born 
May 15, 1890; resides in Buffalo. 3. Edward 
J., of further mention. 

(Ill) Rev. Edward Joseph, youngest son of 
Joseph and Victorine (Le Brun) Rengel, was 
born in Lancaster, Erie county, New York, 
August 8, 1869. His early education was re- 
ceived in the parochial school taught by the 
Sisters of Miss Nardin's Academy and his 
own father. In 1883 he entered St. Joseph's 
College, Buffalo, and graduated with the de- 
gree of A.B., June 29, 1888, from Manhattan 
College, New York City, both institutions be- 
ing taught by the Christian Brothers. After 
graduation he began his studies for the priest- 
hood at the Seminary of Our Lady of Angels 
(Niagara University), Suspension Bridge, 
New York, remaining with the Priests of the 
Congregation of the Mission for five years, 
going from there to the Catholic University 
at Washington, D. C, where he received the 
degree of S.T.B., in June, 1894, and on June 
29, 1894, was ordained a priest by the late Rt. 
Rev. Stephen Vincent Ryan, at the Bishop's 
Chapel, Delaware avenue, Buffalo. His first 
appointment was as temporary pastor of St. 
Nicholas' Church, Buffalo, during the absence 
of the Rev. Christopher O'Byrne. In Janu- 
ary, 1895, he returned to the Catholic Univer- 
sity at Washington, specializing in psychology 
with the Rev. Edward A. Pace, D.D., Ph.D. 
In June, 1895, he was made permanent pastor 
of the church at East Aurora, New York, and 
remained in charge of that parish and the 
missions of Springbrook, Holland and Marilla 
until 1900, when he was transferred to the 
parish of East Pembroke, with the missions 



* The foregoing narrative is from ; 
article by Miss Jeannette E. Sherman. 
tratcd Buffalo Express. 



illustrated 
the Illus- 



of Crittenden, Corfu and Wheatville. The 
following year he was assigned to Andover, 
Allegany county. New York, from which place 
he came to Ellicottville, Cattaraugus county, 
New York, July 14, 1904. Three years later 
the silver jubilee of the church was celebrated 
after being freed from a debt of a quarter cen- 
tury, and entirely redecorated. On Easter 
Tuesday, April 13, 1909, the church and rec- 
tory were burned to the ground. While the 
fire was destroying the house, the old Harlin 
estate, adjoining the public square, which had 
been under consideration, was purchased, and 
on May 26th the new site was blessed and 
ground was broken for a new church. The 
work of excavating began June 7th, and on 
July 28, 1909, the cornerstone of the new Holy 
Name of Mary Church was laid by the Rt. 
Rev. Charles H. Colton, D.D., Bishop of Buf- 
falo, who had donated the site to the parish 
to encourage the people in the work of re- 
building. The plans of the church and rectory, 
which are connected by a cloister, were drawn 
by the architect, A. A. Post, of Buffalo, and 
erected by the contractor, William Stokes, of 
Ellicottville, at a cost of $35,000, the heating, 
plumbing and electric work adding $5,000 to 
the cost of building. Over $10,000 was spent 
in furnishings and decorating, the altar being 
American marble and the furniture quartered 
oak. The fire had destroyed a copy of the 
original painting of the Crucifixion by Guido 
Reni, in the Church of San Lorenzo, Rome, 
given by Mrs. Devereaux fifty years before, but 
Mr. Kessel, who had restored the picture for 
the silver jubilee, painted a copy which com- 
pares very favorably with the original and 
is a most realistic altar piece. The windows 
are the crowning beauty of the church, and 
help confirm the assertion that it is the "pret- 
tiest, neatest and most complete church" that 
can be found. In the tower is a clock costing 
six hundred dollars, given principally by the 
non-Catholics of Ellicottville. It strikes the 
hours on the church bell, which was donated 
in memory of his father, Michael O'Day, by 
the late Hon. Daniel O'Day, whose boyhood 
days were spent in Ellicottville. The church 
itself is patterned after the church at Deal 
Beach, New Jersey, where Mr. O'Day built his 
magnificent summer home, which he named 
Kildysart after his birthplace in County Clare, 
Ireland. Although the buildings were com- 
pleted a year and a half ago, at a cost of more 
than $50,000, the present debt (1912) is only 



548 



NEW YORK. 



$13,000, half of which is on the church and 
covered by subscriptions payable within three 
years, the entire cost of the church having 
been subscribed by the parishioners without 
solicitation, each coming to make his or her 
offering to the priest. The parish numbers 
about 650 individuals, being mostly of the 
farming class. A fund has been started for a 
parochial school, towards which the pastor. do- 
nates half of the marriage and baptisms, fees. 
Father Rengel made a cruise of the West 
Indies in 1903, went to California by way of 
the Isthmus of Panama in 1906, made a Pil- 
grimage to Rome and through Europe in 1907, 
and again in 1910. including the Passion Play, 
and has had several audiences with the Holy 
Father. 



The Fargo family of Buffalo, so 
FARGO intimately connected with the 
great American and Wells-Fargo 
Express Companies, descends from Moses 
Fargo (or Firgo, as it was often written), 
who emigrated from England to Connecticut 
about 1670, and settled at New London, where 
a house lot was granted him in 1680. In 1690 
he was in Norwich, and in 1694 was granted 
land "on the hill above the rock where his 
house stands." He was one of the proprietors 
of Norwich who came later and were added 
to the original settlers. In 1722 he appears 
among the inhabitants of the North Parish of 
New London, now Montville. His wife was 
named Sarah. He died in 1726. Children: 
Sarah, born June 19, 1680; Mary, June 6. 
1681 ; Ann, March 2, 1684 : Patience, May 9, 
1688: Moses, April 9. 1691 ; Ralph, August 
18, 1693; Robert, September 30, 1696; 
Thomas, November 9, 1699 ; Aaron, December 
9. 1702. 

(II) One of the sons of Moses Fargo. 

(III) William, grandson of Moses Fargo, 
the emigrant, was born in Connecticut, died 
about 1800. He enlisted in the Continental 
army when seventeen years of age. and served 
during the whole war. He became a successful 
trader and shipper of horses and cattle to the 
West Indies, but the loss of two ships during 
a stormy voyage brought financial disaster 
from which he never recovered. He left a 
widow and several children. 

( IV ) William C. son of William Fargo, 
was born at New London, Connecticut, March 
20. 1791. He was early thrown on his own 
resources, and started in life working in a 



distiller}-, where he learned the trade. January 
2^, 1807, he left home with his uncle John 
Ames and came to New York state, settling 
at Plymouth. Chenango county, later going to 
Jamesville, Onondaga county. He worked in 
different towns, always going westward until 
he reached Buffalo in September, 1809. Here 
he was employed until May, 18 12, when he en- 
listed in the Third Regiment Heavy Artillery, 
under Colonel (later General) Alexander 
Macomb. He was in the battle of Queens- 
town, October 13, 1812, and received a wound 
in the right thigh ; in the same battle the 
British General Brock was killed. Mr. Fargo 
recovered and served throughout the war. In 
1 81 5, after peace was established, he continued 
in the army service until May 7, 1817, rank- 
ing as sergeant-major. He was discharged 
at Mackinaw, and on foot returned to Pompey, 
Onondaga county. New York. Here he mar- 
ried, and engaged in farming and distilling. 
He later removed to Cicero Corners, later to 
Manlius, where he lived fifteen years, then to 
Syracuse, where he built a substantial home 
and lived the remainder of his life. He mar- 
ried, August 10, 1817, Tacy Strong, born in 
Hebron, Connecticut, September 14, 1799, died 
November 9, 1870, and is buried in Forest 
Lawn Cemetery, Buffalo, with her husband, 
where their resting place is marked by a beau- 
tiful monument marked "Father and Mother." 
in the lot of their son, William G. Fargo. 
Children : 

1. William George, born May 20, 1818, in 
Pompey, New York; was clerk, freight agent 
and express messenger, and Buffalo agent for 
Pomeroy Express. In 1844, with Henry Wells 
and Daniel Dunning, he organized the Wells 
Express Company, to operate between Buffalo 
and Detroit, gradually extending the business 
to St. Louis. Mr. Dunning withdrew after a 
year, and Mr. Wells sold his interest to Wil- 
liam A. Livingston, the firm becoming Liv- 
ingston & Fargo. In 1850 the American Ex- 
press Company was organized, consolidating 
the several express companies, with William 
G. Fargo as the first secretary. In 1868 the 
American absorbed the Merchants' Union Ex- 
press Company, and Mr. Fargo was elected 
president of the American Express Company, 
retaining that position until his death. In 185 1 
he and associates organized the Wells-Fargo 
Express Company, to operate between Xew 
York and San Francisco, by way of the 
Isthmus, with interior local lines in California. 



NEW YORK. 



549 



With the completion of the Union and Cen- 
tral Pacific railroads the water route was aban- 
doned for rail, and the management of the 
company transferred to San Francisco. Mr. 
Fargo was vice-president and director of the 
company. He was a director and vice-presi- 
dent of the New York Central Railroad and 
other companies; mayor of Buffalo, 1862-- 
1866; died August 3, 1881. He married, 1840, 
Anna H. Williams. 2. Jerome Freeman, of 
whom further. 3. Rufus, born December 26, 
1821, died aged two years. 4. Chancellor L., 
born January 12, 1824; entered Express serv- 
ice and was director of the American Express 
Company and superintendent of the Western 
Division. 5. Sarah Ann, born March 24, 1826; 
married Harvey S. Reed. 6. Maryette, born 
December 18, 1827; married Samuel P. 
Wormley. 7. James C, born May 5, 1829; 
held many responsible positions with the 
American Express Company, general superin- 
tendent and manager ; president of Merchants' 
Dispatch Transportation Company, and was a 
thorough master of the business ; married 
Fannie Stuart. 8. Charles, born April 15, 
183 1 ; also an important character in the Ex- 
press business ; held responsible positions and 
succeeded his brother, William G., as president 
of the American Express Company, in 1881 ; 
he married Mary Jane Bradford. 9. Thomas 
B., born May 7, 1833 ; married Lou Winfield. 
10. Emmeline, born May 17, 1836; married 
Frederick Deese. 11. Willett H.. born Febru- 
ary 15, 1840; married Emmeline Caldwell. 
12. Mortimer H., born September 27, 1843 ; 
agent of American Express Company at Green 
Bay, Wisconsin, and held other offices in the 
Company ; married Mary Drake. 

(V) Jerome Freeman, second son of Wil- 
liam C. and Tacy (Strong) Fargo, was born 
at Jamesville, Onondaga county, New York, 
February 20, 1820. He worked on the farm 
in summer and attended school winters until 
he was fourteen, then hired to a farmer, in- 
tending to remain until he was twenty-one. 
Farm life, however, did not agree with his 
health, and in 1835 he began clerking in the 
Curtis store on Pompey Hill. In 1836 he was 
in Syracuse clerking, but soon apprenticed 
himself to learn the baker's trade. In 1838 
he removed to Weedsport, where he worked 
at his trade a year, then was clerk for a year, 
then engaged in mercantile business with his 
brother, William C. In 1841 he removed to 
Auburn, New York, in the employ of the 



Auburn & Syracuse Railroad Company. For 
two years he was local freight conductor, and 
ran the first through freight train from 
Rochester to Albany without transfer, in the 
winter of 1846. In 1847 ne was promoted 
passenger conductor, and removed to Syracuse 
in 1849. He ran a train from Syracuse to 
Auburn, continuing until the organization of 
the ^ T ew York Central, remaining with them 
until j..' 1 e, 1856, when he removed to Buffalo. 
Here he was junior partner of Williams & 
Fargo, owning and operating the Corn Dock 
Elevator, which he built and managed success- 
fully until its destruction by fire in 1865. He 
then leased, with his partner, the City Eleva- 
tor, which he operated until 1872. In July, 
1873, ne was appointed superintendent of the 
real estate and personal property of the Amer- 
ican Express Company, a position he held 
until his death. 

Mr. Fargo was a Democrat in politics, 
and a devout, active member of the Prot- 
estant Episcopal Church. He was one of the 
early members of the Church of the Ascen- 
sion, Buffalo, one of the largest contributors 
to its building fund, and in 1867 was chosen 
warden. He was president of the Buffalo 
Homoeopathic Hospital ; life member of the 
Young Men's Association ; member of Ancient 
Landmarks Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
and other organizations. He was a man of 
high character and died deeply regretted. He 
married, July, 1839, Hannah Watson of 
Weedsport, New York. Of their seven chil- 
dren, two reached maturity — George W., of 
whom further ; and Bessie, married Stephen 
Sears, and has Jerome, Winthrop, and 
Stephen. 

(VI) George W., son of Jerome F. and 
Hannah (Watson) Fargo, was born in 
Auburn, New York, December 23, 1848. He 
married, June 29, 1870, Alice M. Diller, a 
resident of the old Diller homestead, 464 
Franklin street, built by her father, John 
Diller, in 1850, one of the first residences on 
Franklin street. Children: 1. Fanny Alice, 
resident of Buffalo. 2. Hannah Watson, mar- 
ried, October 14, 1896, William L. Popple ; 
child : Marion Fargo Popple. 3. Emmeline 
Diller, married, July 14, 1908, William John 
Jacob, of Buffalo. 4 Jerome Freeman, born 
June 14, 1884, educated in grammar and high 
schools of Buffalo : was engaged in the Ex- 
press business in Buffalo until 1908, when he 
removed to Pittsburgh. Pennsylvania. 



550 



NEW YORK. 



(The Diller Line). 
The Dillers of Buffalo descend from Fran- 
cis Diller, a Swiss immigrant about whom lit- 
tle is known further than the information con- 
tained in his passport, dated April 10. 1754. 
He was born in Biglen, a village in northwest- 
ern Switzerland. The earlier years of his 
life up to 1743 were spent in the canton of 
Bern. He was a Mennonite. a sect which, on 
account of their hostility to a union of church 
and state, their refusal to bear arms, take the 
oath or hold office, suffered great persecution. 
The persecutions were most intense and long 
continued in Bern, and it seems most probable 
that he was among those exiled from his na- 
tive land, for during the last eleven years 
of his stay in Europe he was resident at La 
Chaux-de-Fonds under the authority of the 
King of Prussia, who had invited the exiled 
Bernese to settle in his own kingdom. His 
passport shows that he leased a considerable 
estate at Chaux-de-Fonds, where he resided 
continuously for eleven years, that he was a 
man of good character, and had a family. As 
his eldest son was born about 1743, possibly 
as early as 1731, he was most likely married 
in Biglen, and that his other three children 
were born at Chaux-de-Fonds. The passport 
was obtained April 10, 1754, and it seems more 
likely that he began his journey down the 
Rhine at once and made no stops of long 
duration in Holland or elsewhere before sail- 
ing for America. There is no record of the 
voyage, but tradition has it that his household 
goods were lost at sea, and that the family 
arrived destitute. This is improbable, as in 
a few years after his arrival Francis Diller 
bought a farm, paying over $2000 cash, and 
assuming a mortgage on the property. This 
farm, which he purchased April 10, 1760, con- 
tained one hundred and forty acres, situated 
on a branch of Muddy Creek, in now Breck- 
nock township, Laneaster county, Pennsyl- 
vania. During his early residence there he built 
the first distillery in Lancaster county, and 
operated it during the revolutionary war. He 
made his will November 12, 1782, and named 
his son Peter as executor. He died ^oon after 
his will was made, and is supposed to have 
been buried at Mennonite meeting house, in 
Bowmansville, about one and three-quarters 
miles from his farm. No trace of his grave 
has been found. His wife Anna, maiden name 
unknown, was born June, 1707. and died be- 
tween 1809 and 181 1. A stone to the memory 



of Francis Diller has been erected in the grave- 
yard of the Diller church in Cumberland 
county. Pennsylvania, with inscription : "Fran- 
cis and Anna Diller of Biglen, Switzerland, 
emigrated in 1754 from La Chaux-de-Fonds, 
to Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, where 
Francis died in 1783, and was buried near 
Bowmansville. Anna died about 1810, lies 
here with her three sons Francis, Peter and 
Abraham." Elizabeth, the only daughter, mar- 
ried David Eshelman, and lived in Berks 
county. Pennsylvania. Three of her six chil- 
dren lived in Niagara county, New York. The 
sons are all the founders of families found all 
over the United States. 

Francis (2), son of Francis (1) and Anna 
Diller, is the ancestor of the Buffalo branch, 
and grandfather of John Diller, father of 
Alice M. Diller, wife of George W. Fargo. 

John Diller, of Plainfield, Pennsylvania, was 
born January 26, 1818, removed to Buffalo 
about 1847. He was one of the organizers of 
the Flollister Elevator Company, and later was 
connected with the City Elevator Company. 
He was a member of the Presbyterian church, 
prominent in the Masonic order, and a Demo- 
crat. He married. April 22. 1847, at Plain- 
field, Pennsylvania, Emmeline Carothers, born 
October 2, 1826, died June 14, 1906, in Buf- 
falo, daughter of William Carothers, born in 
England, in 1787, died October 27. 1838; he 
married, October 26, 1809, Elizabeth Showers, 
born at Plainfield, Pennsylvania, July 15, 1792, 
died December 5, 1874; they had ten children. 
John and Emmeline Diller were the parents 
of two children: 1. Albert John, born Sep- 
tember 5, 1852, died October 28, 1903, at Buf- 
falo ; he was a railroad contractor, and prom- 
inent in the Masonic order. 2. Alice M.. mar- 
ried George W. Fargo. 

Emmeline Carothers Diller, mother of Mrs. 
Fargo, was a member of the Central Presby- 
terian Church, and a woman of great energy 
and force of character. After the death of 
her husband, Mrs. Fargo returned to the old 
Diller home on Franklin street, where she 
cared for her aged mother until the death of 
the latter in 1906. 



The Wilkeson family is of 

WTLKESOX sturdy Scotch Covenanter 
stock. The name first ap- 
pears in history at the time when the laws of 
King Charles II made it a treasonable act to 
attend a conventicle, and commanders of 



NEW YORK. 



551 



troops in Western Scotland were ordered to 
disperse all such meetings at the point of the 
sword. The people took arms in defense of 
their religion, and were defeated by the Duke 
of Monmouth at Bothwell Bridge. January 22, 
1679. Some four hundred Covenanters were 
killed in this battle, among them several 
Wilkesons. As a result of this defeat the 
Wilkeson family, with others, was exiled to 
the North of Ireland. Ten years later these 
Ulster Protestants defended Londonderry 
from an attack by the forces of King James II. 
This event, commonly known as the "Siege of 
Derry," was among the most memorable in 
the annals of the British Isles. Six Wilkesons 
were among those killed during the terrible 
one hundred and five days before the place 
was relieved. The soldier survivors received 
allotments of land in the Pale. 

(I) John Wilkeson, with his wife Mary 
Robinson, emigrated from the North of Ire- 
land in 1760. He settled in Delaware, where 
he was living when the revolution began. He 
immediately enlisted, receiving a commission 
as lieutenant, and fought until the close of 
the war. After the army was disbanded he 
went to Washington county, Pennsylvania, 
where under a soldier's warrant he cleared a 
farm, and in this home remained until his 
death. He had three sons and two daughters. 

(II) Samuel, son of John Wilkeson, was 
born in 1781, at Carlisle, Pennsylvania, where 
his father's regiment was encamped. His 
youth was spent on his father's farm in the 
Pennsylvania wilderness, among all the hard- 
ships of the frontier. His schooling began 
in the nearest log schoolhouse, and ended in 
just two weeks. The education which later 
enabled him to perform the duties of an en- 
gineer, a judge, an editor, a senator and a 
mavor, besides becoming a successful merchant 
and manufacturer, was gained in the rough 
school of experience, supplemented by personal 
study. Soon after his father's death he mar- 
ried Jean (Jane) Oram, daughter of Captain 
Samuel Oram, who had emigrated to America 
with his father, and was John Wilkeson's 
comrade throughout the revolution. Follow- 
ing the pioneer instinct, Samuel removed with 
his wife to Southeastern Ohio, where he began 
to clear for himself another farm. His enter- 
prising spirit, however, soon led him to seek 
an occupation which promised more rapid re- 
turns for his toil. He began to build keelboats, 
and carried on trade between Pittsburgh and 



Buffalo, by way of the Allegheny and Cone- 
wango rivers, Chautauqua Lake, Lake Erie 
and the Niagara river. He transported iron, 
glass, etc., from Pittsburgh to Buffalo and 
Black Rock, where he received return cargoes 
of salt, brought down from Syracuse. He 
built his first vessels himself, with no other 
tools than axe, saw, wedge, auger and ham- 
mer. No iron spikes or nails were used in 
their construction. Occasionally he made voy- 
ages to points up Lake Erie, thus becoming 
one of the first of the lake forwarders. 

He was thus engaged when the war of 1812 
began. His most notable service in this war 
was the building of the transports with which 
General William Henry Harrison crossed the 
lake to fight the battle of the Thames. Gen- 
eral Harrison was encamped on the Maumee 
in the summer of 1813, and the contractor 
whom he had engaged to supply him with 
boats disappointed him. He promptly sent 
for Mr. Wilkeson, whose experience as a keel- 
boatman in the Pittsburgh-Buffalo trade rec- 
ommended him as the man for the emergency. 
Wilkeson hurried to the Grand river, in 
Northern Ohio, with a force of axemen and 
carpenters, where in a very short time he put 
together the necessary craft, mostly from 
green timber. Returning to Portland, Chau- 
tauqua county, where his family was then liv- 
ing, he hurried on to Buffalo, probably as a 
member of the regiment of Chautauqua county 
militia under Lieutenant Colonel McMahon, 
which arrived December 29, 181 3, the day be- 
fore the British forces crossed the river and 
captured and burned the town. The militia 
was dispersed, and Mr. Wilkeson walked back 
to Portland. A few days later, however, he 
returned with one companion, by boat, to learn 
the situation. An early narrative says they 
saw between Pratt's ferry and Cold Spring 
no living thing except a solitary cat wander- 
ing among the blackened ruins. 

The following year Mr. Wilkeson embarked 
his family and household goods on a lake 
boat and removed to Buffalo, where the hardy 
settlers were rapidly rebuilding their homes. 
He built a store at the corner of Main and 
Niagara streets, and a house on the west side 
of Main street, south of Genesee street. In 
the spring of 18 15 his fellow townsmen per- 
suaded him to accept the office of justice of 
the peace. The town was filled with reckless 
characters, discharged soldiers and other drift- 
wood of the war, who were giving consider- 



552 



NEW YORK. 



able trouble, and a strong hand was needed 
to enforce law and order. Judge Wilkeson 
was the man for the time. His discharge of 
his duties as criminal magistrate is one of the 
living traditions of Buffalo. His methods 
may sometimes have been extra-judicial, for 
he knew little of the law, but he was a terror 
to evildoers. Punishment for misdeeds was 
swift and sure, and in a short time he had 
made Buffalo again a law-abiding community. 
But Judge Wilkeson's greatest service for 
Buffalo was the building of the first harbor. 
A law of 1 819 had authorized the state to 
loan the village $12,000 for this purpose on 
the security of a bond of double the amount. 
The Citizens' Association having charge of the 
matter failed to meet the conditions, and 
toward the close of the year it appeared likely 
that the loan would be forfeited. In this crisis 
Charles Townsend, Oliver Forward and Sam- 
uel Wilkeson offered their personal bonds for 
$25,000 to secure the loan. The work was 
begun the following spring under a superin- 
tendent who proved unsatisfactory, and Mr. 
Wilkeson's associates insisted that he take 
charge of it. At that time all of the region 
from the present Mansion House south and 
east to the lake was a swamp which Main 
street crossed as a corduroy road. Trees 
fringed the lake and both banks of the creek, 
which was so shallow at its mouth that Judge 
Wilkeson was accustomed to wade it. In fact, 
it was only waistdeep for this six-foot man. 
Much of his time as superintendent was spent 
in the water. He knew nothing of engineer- 
ing according to books, but he had the fron- 
tiersman's common sense, a powerful voice, 
and the faculty of directing men and getting 
work out of them, and in two hundred and 
twenty-one days this first harbor was com- 
pleted. On a panel of his monument, facing 
the harbor, are these well-merited words: 

Urbem condidit. 
He built the city by building its harbor. 

This harbor made Buffalo the terminus of 
the Erie canal. At that time Black Rock 
was a separate and rival village, and a sharp 
contest between the two towns arose. When 
the canal commissioners came to Buffalo in 
the summer of 1822 to decide the question, 
Mr. Wilkeson made the argument for his 
town ; General Porter spoke for Black Rock. 
Buffalo won. On the completion of the canal 
in 1825, Mr. Wiikeson was chairman of the 



citizens' committee which made the voyage to 
New York on board the "Seneca Chief" in 
celebration of the great event. 

On November 10, 1820, Mr. Wilkeson was 
appointed judge of the court of common pleas 
for Niagara county, and retained the office 
for Erie county after the division in 1821. 
This court was the predecessor of the present 
county court, and, remembering that Mr. Wil- 
keson was not a lawyer, his successful ad- 
ministration of the office is a notable distinc- 
tion. In 1824 he was elected a member of 
the assembly, and in November, 1825, he was 
elected to the state senate, where he served 
until the close of 1829. The senate at that 
time, with the chancellor and the judges of the 
supreme court, constituted the court for trial 
of impeachments and the correction of errors. 
It heard appeals from the court of chancery, 
the supreme court, the court of probate and 
the admiralty court, so that Mr. Wilkeson's 
duties in this office were again largely judicial. 
In 1836 he was mayor of the city. His busi- 
ness activities included those of a merchant, 
forwarder, canal contractor, warehouse man 
and vessel owner. He built the first iron 
foundry in Buffalo, and started here the manu- 
facture of steam engines, stoves and hollow 
ware. He had a charcoal blast furnace in 
Lake county, Ohio, and another in Mahoning 
county, Pennsylvania, where he was the first 
furnace man to use raw bituminuous without 
coking. 

In his later years Judge Wilkeson became 
much interested in the slavery problem. He 
was opposed to radical abolition, but favored 
gradual and compensated emancipation and 
the removal of the free negroes from this 
country. These ideas naturally led him into 
the National Colonization Society of America, 
which founded Liberia, and his energy and 
business experience soon put him at the head 
of that organization. He removed to Wash- 
ington, where in 1840 he was in full charge 
of the society's work. He edited its organ, 
the African Repository, directed the govern- 
ment of the colony, and built up a consider- 
able trade with it from Philadelphia and Bal- 
timore. The nation has had terrible reason 
to regret that his farseeing plans in this matter 
were not fully realized. 

He died in July, 1848, in the sixty-seventh 
year of his age, at a tavern in the mountains 
of Tennessee, where he was traveling to visit 
his daughter. His memoirs are published in 



NEW YORK. 



553 



Volume V of the Buffalo Historical Society's 
Proceedings. By his first wife, Jean Oram, 
he had seven children: Jane, died in infancy; 
Elizabeth, John, Eli Reed, William, Louise, 
Samuel. He married (second) Sarah St. 
John, of Buffalo, and (third) Mary Peters, of 
New Haven, Connecticut. 

(Ill) John, eldest son of Samuel Wilkeson, 
was born at Poland, Ohio, October 28, 1806. 
He was eight years old when the family re- 
moved to Buffalo. In some reminiscences pub- 
lished by the Buffalo Historical Society he 
has left an interesting picture of the Buffalo 
of that day. The region round the Terrace 
and south and west of Court street was a 
swamp into which the family cow used to 
stray, and John has amusingly described his 
youthful terrors in searching for her along 
the treacherous winding pathways, among 
snakes and frogs. He was educated in the 
Buffalo public schools, and at a boarding 
school in Danbury, Connecticut, He entered a 
mercantile house in New York and for a time 
thereafter was in commercial business in 
Tabasco, Mexico. In 1840 he was secretary to 
his father, in charge of the National Coloni- 
zation Society at Washington. President 
Tyler appointed him consul to Turk's Island. 
The post then covered most of the West Indies 
and was nearly as important as a ministerial 
position. On the voyage thither he was ship- 
wrecked and had a narrow escape. He was 
picked up at sea and landed at Newport, 
Rhode Island. He engaged in manufacturing 
in Buffalo, becoming the first manufacturer of 
stoves and furnaces, invented and patented 
several important devices, and also became in- 
terested in timber and oil lands in Pennsyl- 
vania. As the lake trade grew in proportions, 
he became very active in it, and built the Wil- 
keson elevator, one of the first in this port. 
He continued to be an active elevator man 
all his life, serving as chairman of the execu- 
tive committee of the Western Elevating Com- 
pany. He lived in the present Wilkeson man- 
sion, built by his father in 1824, the finest 
house in that part of the country at that time, 
and still one of the historic homes of Buffalo. 
Many distinguished guests have been enter- 
tained there, particularly in early canal days, 
when Governor DeWitt Clinton was a fre- 
quent visitor. Mr. Wilkeson was a warm per- 
sonal friend of President Millard Fillmore, 
and in 1856, accompanied Mr. Fillmore on a 
tour of Europe. 



He married, at Portsmouth, England, in 
1832, Mary Louise Wilkes. They had three 
children : John Wilkes, Samuel H., and Maria 
Louise. The death of the father occurred 
April 4, 1894. Of the remaining children of 
Judge Samuel Wilkeson: 

1. Elizabeth, married Dr. Henry A. Stagg, 
a distinguished Buffalo physician, who received 
a silver vase from the city in recognition of 
his services in the cholera epidemic. Their 
son, Henry R. Stagg, served in the Seventy- 
eighth New York Regiment during the civil 
war. 

2. Eli Reed, became much interested in the 
old volunteer fire department, equipping one 
entire company at his own expense. He died 
in 1850. One son, Allen, died in early man- 
hood, and a second son, William, served in 
the Fourteenth Pennsylvania Cavalry in the 
civil war. After the war he removed to 
Youngstown,- New York. 

3. William, lived in Buffalo all his life. He 
conducted an iron foundry on Court street, 
and had other large business interests. He 
died in 1881. 

4. Louise, married Mortimer Johnson, 
nephew to Ebenezer Johnson, Buffalo's first 
mayor. Their daughter married W. H. Beard, 
the well known artist. Their son Hugh en- 
tered the regular army and fought through 
the civil war. Their second son, Tellice, was 
a well known business man in Buffalo, long 
connected with the Bell Telephone Company. 

5. Samuel, was born in 1817, educated at 
Williams and Union Colleges, and entered the 
newspaper profession, working for twelve 
years on the New York Tribune under Hor- 
ace Greeley. He was the Tribune's war cor- 
respondent with the Army of the Potomac. 
He became owner and editor of the Buffalo 
Democracy, afterward consolidated with the 
Express. In 1865 he bought the Albany 
Evening Journal from Thurlow Weed, and 
edited that newspaper for several years. In 
March, 1869, he became secretary of the 
Northern Pacific Railroad Company. He 
married Catherine Cady, daughter of Judge 
E. R. Cady of Johnstown, New York. His 
son, Bayard, born in 1844, enlisted at the age 
of seventeen as second lieutenant in the Fourth 
United States Artillery, and was killed at 
Gettysburg as captain in command of his bat- 
tery, aged nineteen years. A second son, 
Frank, served as a private in the civil war, and 
wrote a book on his experiences. He worked 



554 



NEW YORK. 



on the New York Times for a while and then 
engaged in stock farming in Kansas. A third 
son, Samuel, went west in early manhood and 
has been prominent in building up Tacoma, 
Washington. 

(IV) John Wilkes, son of John Wilkeson, 
was born August 28, 1834. He was gradu- 
ated from Union College and entered the 
Union army as first lieutenant of Company K, 
One Hundredth New York Volunteers. He 
was killed at the battle of Fair Oaks in May, 
1862. Bidwell-Wilkeson Post, Grand Army 
of the Republic, is named in part for him. 

(IV) Samuel H., second son of John Wil- 
keson, was born June 28, 1836. He was edu- 
cated in private schools in Buffalo, the An- 
dover-Phillips Academy, Yale College, and 
Union College. For two years he engaged 
in ranching in Texas. Returning to New 
York, he was employed in the government 
office as assistant assayer. He enlisted as 
first lieutenant in the Twenty-first New York 
Volunteers, in April. 1861. These were the 
first troops raised in Buffalo. He was sta- 
tioned at Fort Runyon, and later transferred 
to Wadsworth's brigade. After about eight 
months he was mustered out by order of the 
War Department, and on February 22, 1862, 
was commissioned captain of Company C, 
Eleventh New York Cavalry, and was pro- 
moted to major June 24, 1862, and to lieu- 
tenant colonel December 24, 1862. He did a 
great deal of outpost duty around Washing- 
ton. Later he was ordered south and was in 
active field operations in Mississippi, Louis- 
iana and West Tennessee for about eighteen 
months. He acted as inspector general in 
the Davidson raid in Louisiana and Mississippi. 
He took part in the Mobile expedition in 
August, 1864, on the staff of General Gordon 
Granger, participating in the capture of Fort 
Gaines. On March 27, 1865, Governor Fenton 
commissioned him colonel, but the early close 
of the war made it unnecessary to muster. He 
was at Memphis, Tennessee, when peace came. 
Returning to Buffalo, he lived on a farm near 
the city for fourteen years. Later he took 
charge of his father's elevator, which he man- 
aged until 1908, when the property was sold. 
He has since lived in retirement in the family 
home on Niagara Square. He is a member 
of the Buffalo Historical Society and Bidwell- 
Wilkeson Post. Grand Army of the Republic. 

Colonel Wilkeson married, in 1868, Matilda 
Gertrude Franks, born on Mackinac Island, 



in 1848. Her father, Edward A. Franks, kept 
the Mission House at Mackinac for many 
years. He had six children: Mary, married 
Russell Bishop; Matilda Gertrude, married 
Colonel Wilkeson; Grace, married Edward 
Kane; Minnie; Edward, who resides at Macki- 
nac; Salem, died February. 1910. Mrs. 
Wilkeson was an active worker in the Church 
of St. Mary's on the Hill, and a member of 
the managing board of the Church Charities 
Foundation. She died in Buffalo, February 24. 
1903. Children of Colonel and Mrs. Wilke- 
son: 1. John, born September 11, 1869; edu- 
cated at Wheeler's School, DeYoe College and 
Hobart College ; went west and engaged in 
copper mining in New Mexico : married Rose 
Canavan of Toronto ; one child. John. 2. Ed- 
ward S., born 1871 ; educated in private 
schools, studied medicine in Philadelphia : is 
now engaged in forestry. 3. Mary Juana, 
born in 1873. 4. Elizabeth Wilkes, born 
1875 ; married John Knox Freeman, of Buf- 
falo. 5. William, born 1885 : educated in pub- 
lic and private schools ; now a commercial trav- 
eler for a special packing box in the western 
trade. 6. Margaret. 

(IV) Maria Louise, daughter of John 
Wilkeson, was born in 1838, and died in Buf- 
falo, March 24, 1903. She held a brilliant social 
position among the cultured people of Buffalo, 
and was a liberal patron of the fine arts, hav- 
ing a notable collection of paintings ami bric- 
a-brac. She was an honorary member of Bid- 
well-Wilkeson Post, Grand Army of the Re- 
public, which paid her the exceptional honor 
of attending her funeral in a body. She left 
generous endowments to the Children's Hospi- 
tal and the Buffalo Fine Arts Academv. 



The surname of Parker is de- 
PARKER rived from the Latin "par- 

carus," a park keeper or shep- 
herd. Danes, Saxons and Normans all seem 
to have had the name at an early date. Par- 
cum and De Parco are found in Domesday 
Book. As early as 900-925, in the reign of 
Edward I, a Geoffrey Parker is mentioned, 
even before the common use of surnames in 
England. The family bore arms ; that of the 
Brownsholme family of Parker, the pedigree 
of which is traced to William C. Parker, of 
Witzwestle, Lancastershire, before 1400. is: 
Vert a chevron between three stags' heads ca- 
bossed or; Crest: A leopard's head affrontee 
erased or ducallv gorged gules. Motto : Sem- 



NEW YORK 



555 



pre ande (dare to be just). This coat-of-arms 
descended through the Park Hall and Stafford- 
shire lines, and is that used by Sir Thomas 
Parker, Earl of Macclesfield, England. This 
branch of the Parkers in America springs 
from William Parker. 

(I) William Parker came from England 
in the autumn of 1633, in the ship "J ames -" 
He was an original proprietor of Hartford, 
Connecticut, 1636. About 1649 ne removed to 
Saybrook,- Connecticut, where he was a large 
land owner, also holding a large tract in Heb- 
ron. He probably served in the Pequot war. 
He filled several town offices, served on num- 
erous committees, and was deputy to the gen- 
eral court at the special session of 1652, also 
served 1678-79-80. About 1636 he married 
(first) Margery , who died Decem- 
ber 6, 1680. He married (second) Elizabeth 
Pratt, widow of Lieutenant William Pratt. He 
died at Saybrook, December 28, 1686. He had 
ten children, of whom Joseph (1), Jonathan 
and Deborah died early. They were: Sarah, 
Joseph (1), John, Ruth, William, Joseph (2), 
Margaret, Nathan, David, Deborah, Sarah, 
Ruth and Margaret, married. 

(II) John, son of William and Margery 
Parker, was born at Hartford, Connecticut, 
February 1, 1641-2, died at Saybrook, same 
state, 1706. He was regarded as a proprietor 
of Saybrook, and given one hundred pounds 
accommodation. He was active and influential 
in town affairs. He was deputy to the general 
court, 1686-88-99-1700. He was a large land 
owner at Saybrook and Hebron. He was ap- 
pointed gunner and master of artillery at Fort 
Saybrook, November 30, 1683, and was in 
charge of the fort under Governor Andros, 
with rank of lieutenant. He married, Decem- 
ber 24, 1666, Mary, daughter of Thomas Buck- 
ingham, a settler of Milford, Connecticut, and 
sister of Rev. Thomas S. Buckingham, pastor 
of the Saybrook church in 1670. Children: 
John, Deborah, Ebenezer, Samuel. 

(III) John (2), son of Lieutenant John (1) 
and Mary (Buckingham) Parker, was born 
October 6, 1667, died at Norwich, Connecti- 
cut, December 24, 1709. He served as con- 
stable in 1694, and was one of the first to act 
as attorney-at-law under the act of 1708. He 
married, December 11, 1690, Alary, daughter 
of Lieutenant Samuel and Mary (Bushnell) 
Jones. They had seven children. 

(IV) John (3), son of John (2) and Mary 
(Jones) Parker, was born March 11, 1696. 



He was prominent in the Ecclesiastical So- 
ciety; sergeant of the train band, 1731 ; ensign 
in Cape Breton expedition, and died at Louis- 
burg, May 15, 1746. He married (first) May 
8, 1723, Mary Chapman; (second) Elizabeth 
Dunk ; seven children. 

(V) John (4), son of John (3), Parker, 
and his second wife, Elizabeth Dunk, was born 
in Connecticut, about 1745. He early settled in 
Vermont, where he married and had issue. 

(VI) David Day, son of John (4) Parker, 
was born in West Pomfret, Vermont, 1792. He 
removed to the town of Perrysburg, Cattarau- 
gus county, New York, in 1822, his brother, 
John Parker (5), having settled in the same 
town in 1821. David D. took up land (lot 
49) and resided there for many years. He 
later in life moved to Versailles, New York, 
where he died, December 9, 1875. He mar- 
ried Olive Remington, and had several sons. 

(VII) Myron Marcus, son of David Day and 
Olive (Remington) Parker, was born in 
Perrysburg, Cattaraugus county, New York, 
May 24, 1824, and at the time of his death. 
May 12, 1905, was the oldest native born son 
of that town. He was a farmer, and an active 
man in public affairs, holding many of the 
town offices. He was an active Democrat, but 
joined the Republican party at its organiza- 
tion. He was a zealous member of the Uni- 
versalist church, and a man held in the highest 
esteem. 

Mr. Parker married, December 16, 1855, 
Lydia Maria, daughter of Abiathar Knapp, who 
died at the age of ninety-seven years, in 1870, 
and is buried at Pilot Knob, Missouri, where 
he died while on a visit. He was a member of 
the Presbyterian church. He married, in Ver- 
mont, Annie Hall. Children of Myron Mar- 
cus Parker: 1. Allen Clark, born March n, 
1858 ; now living in Versailles, Cattaraugus 
county, New York ; married Euretta Chapman. 
2. Spencer Blodgett, of whom further. 3. 
Capitola Olive, graduate of New England Con- 
servatory of Music, Boston ; married Bert H. 
Bowen, and resides at Niagara Falls, New 
York, where she is engaged in musical work, 
teaching both vocal and instrumental conven- 
tions and carnival management. 4. Salem Eu- 
gene, born October 27, 1864; resides at Ver- 
sailles ; he is also a musician, and engaged 
with his sister in musical work ; he married 
(first) Maud Nichols, of Jamestown, who died 
one year after her marriage leaving a daugh- 
ter Maud ; he married (second) Jessie Hoyt 



556 



NEW YORK. 



Beach, of Buffalo, daughter of John Hoyt, and 
widow of Louis Beach. 

(VIII) Spencer Blodgett, son of Myron 
Marcus and Lydia M. (Knapp) Parker, was 
born in Versailles, Cattaraugus county, New 
York, July 21, 1859. He was educated at 
Chamberlain Institute, Randolph, New York, 
then began the study of law at Albany Law 
School, from whence he was graduated LL. B., 
1885. He continued his legal studies one year 
after graduation, and in 1888 began practice 
in the town of North Collins, New York. In 
1892 he located at Niagara Falls, New York. 
In 19 10 he formed a law partnership with Al- 
len T. Stewart, and as Parker & Stewart con- 
ducted a general law practice. He served as 
police magistrate in 1896, and is one*of the 
wellknown influential lawyers of his city. He 
is a Republican in politics. He married, June 
14, 1887, Emma Campbell Owen (see Camp- 
bell). Children: 1. Alan Vreeland, born 
April 17, 1888; now a junior at Cornell Uni- 
versity; member of Phi Delta Phi. 2. Owen 
Spencer, born November 20, 1889, died No- 
vember 10, 1895. 3. Helen Louise. 4. Capitola 
Josephine. 

(Campbell-Owen Line). 

Emma Campbell Owen Parker is a daughter 
of Lemuel and Josephine (Campbell) Owen, 
and a granddaughter of Allen Campbell, son 
of John Campbell, of Scotland. Many Camp- 
bells fought in the revolutionary war, and John 
Campbell was a soldier of the war of 1812. 
He married, 1825, Susan Maria Blood. Chil- 
dren: Mary Ruth, Caroline Matilda, Harvey 
Welcome, James Warren, William Henry Har- 
rison, Josephine (of whom further), John 
Deming, Lucy, George Lorenzo and Arpha. 
All are deceased except Josephine, George L. 
and Arpha. 

(Ill) Josephine, sixth child of Allen and 
Susan M. (Blood) Campbell, married, June 
16,(1856, Lemuel Owen, born in Monroe county 
New York, June 26, 1830, died September 
1, 1871, son of Robert C. Owen, born in Eng- 
land, and came to the United States when a 
boy. Lemuel's brother, Robert C. Owen, was 
a member of the New York senate, said 
to have been the youngest man ever elected to 
that body. Lemuel C. Owen was a graduate 
of Oberlin College, where he took a degree. 
He prepared for the ministry of the Methodist 
Episcopal church, but a faulty heredity com- 
pelled him for physical reasons to change his 



profession to that of civil engineer, surveyor 
and farmer. He had a farm in Conewango, 
Cattaraugus county, New York, on which he 
lived until 1868, when he settled in Randolph, 
same county. He taught school several years 
and held principalships in various schools. He 
enlisted in Company Thirteen, Sixty-fourth 
Regiment, New York Infantry, and served 
three years and one month with the Army of 
the Potomac during the civil war. He was 
honorably discharged with the rank of ser- 
geant. He was a man of fine mental equip- 
ment, well educated and capable. Children: 1. 
Ina Mary, died aged twelve years. 2. Flora 
Josephine, born November 17, 1861, died Feb- 
ruary, 1891 ; married, July, 1888, Henry C. 
Pease; children: Charles Owen and Robert 
Campbell, both deceased. 3. Bessie Benton, de- 
ceased. 4. Emma Campbell, married Spencer 
B. Parker (see Parker VIII). 5. Mabel 
Louise, died 1890. 



Mrs. Mary E. (King-Enos) 
DANIELS Daniels, of Buffalo, New York, 

is a descendant of John King, 
who came from England to the American 
colonies in 1645, died 1703, aged seventy-four 
years. He settled at Hartford, Connecticut, 
later at Northampton. He was deputy, 1679- 
89, and captain of militia. He married (first) 
Sarah Holton, who died May 8, 1683 ; (sec- 
ond) Mrs. Sarah (Whiting) Mygatt. Twelve 
children by first wife. 

(II) Thomas, son of John King, was born 
July 14, 1662, died December 26, 1731. He 
was of Hatfield and Hartford, Connecticut. He 
married (first) Abigail Strong; (second) in 
1690, Mary, daughter of Robert Webster. 
Children by both marriages. 

(III) Timothy, son of Thomas King and 
his second wife, Mary Webster, died in 1812. 
He married and had issue. 

(IV) George, son of Timothy King, was 
born 1754, died November 31, 1833. He was 
of Windsor and Sharon. Connecticut. In 1784 
he was connected with the commissary depart- 
ment of the Connecticut revolutionary army 
and after the war established a mercantile 
business at Sharon. He was a successful mer- 
chant and accumulated a large fortune. He 
married and had issue. 

(V) Zadoc, son of George King, was born 
in 1780. He settled in Waterford, New York, 
and became prominent in business. Both he 
and his wife were active members of the Meth- 



NEW" YORK. 



557 



odist Episcopal church. He married Thankful 
Mitchell, of Waterford. Children: Roxana ; 
Villers ; Experience ; David Brainard ; Daniel 
Bromley ; Foster ; John Fuller ; Joseph Mitch- 
ell, of whom further. 

(VI) Joseph Mitchell, son of Zadoc King, 
was born in Waterford, Saratoga county, New 
York, died there 1871. He was a banker and 
an iron manufacturer. He established the J. 
M. King Iron Works at Waterford, one of the 
large industries of Waterford. He was de- 
voted to his business and very successful. He 
married Jane Palmer. Children: Mary E., of 
whom further ; Catherine, died in infancy. 

•(VII) Mary E., daughter of Joseph Mitch- 
ell King, was born at Waterford, New York, 
now (1911) a resident of Buffalo, New York. 
She married (first) December 6, 1854, Lau- 
rens Enos, third son of Joseph B. and Hannah 
Enos, of Birdsall, New York. Laurens Enos 
was a successful business man of Buffalo ; died 
January, 1871. Children: 1. Grace, married 
Harry Hamlin, April 24, 1878; he died June 
3, 1907, leaving an only son, Chauncey Jerome 
Hamlin, a lawyer of Buffalo, (see Hamlin). 
2. Laurens, died in infancy. 3. George, died 
in infancy. 4. Walter M., born January 1, 
1871 ; killed while hunting, at the age of four- 
teen years. 

Mrs. Mary E. Enos married (second) June 
1878, Judge Charles Daniels, of Buffalo, who 
for many years occupied a conspicuous posi- 
tion at the New York bar and on the bench. 
He was the son of Welsh parents and was 
born in New York City, March 24, 1825. He 
died suddenly in his office at Buffalo, New 
York, December 20, 1897. His father was a 
shoemaker and of him the son learned that 
trade. The family subsequently removed to 
Toledo, Ohio, and there both parents died. At 
the age of seventeen years, with limited edu- 
cation, the boy was forced to depend upon his 
own efforts for a livelihood and advancement 
in life. While working as a journeyman shoe- 
maker he stopped in Canandaigua, New York, 
and in the court house there he one day lis- 
tened to a speech by the eloquent Mark H. 
Sibley, which made such a forcible impression 
upon him that he at once formed the de- 
termination to be a lawyer. Great as was the 
task he thus set before himself he attacked it 
with all the zeal of his ambitious nature. By 
reducing his expenses to the least possible 
amount he saved money with which to buy 
books and began study, working over his 



studies late at night and keeping an open book 
on his bench before him through the day. By 
such persistent and unceasing study he ac- 
quired such a knowledge of the classics while 
in Canandaigua that he was permitted to fin- 
ish his course of law study in five years instead 
of seven, as was then required. As he ad- 
vanced in legal learning he entered the law 
office of Clinton & Nichols and also studied 
under Eli Cook, one of the former mayors of 
Buffalo. He was admitted to the bar at the 
age of twenty-two years and was at once taken 
into partnership by Mr. Cook, with whom he 
remained until 1850. Ever after he continued 
in practice alone. From the beginning his 
legal career was brilliant and honorable. In 
1863 he was appointed by Governor Seymour 
to fill the vacancy on the supreme court bench 
occasioned by the death of Judge James G. 
Hoyt. In November, 1863, he was elected to 
fill the unexpired term which ended in 1869. 
He was then re-elected for a full term of eight 
years, at the expiration of which he was again 
re-elected for the term of fourteen years. This 
long term of service expired in 1891. The 
amount of arduous labor performed by Judge 
Daniels as supreme court justice was enor- 
mous, sometimes involving the decision of five 
hundred cases in a year. Yet his judicial abil- 
ity was so great and his knowledge of law so 
profound that his decisions were rarely re- 
versed. He was appointed associate justice of 
the general term, first department, in 1873, by 
Governor Dix, and appointed to the same posi- 
tion in 1880 by Governor Cornell. By this 
time, through his settling on the trial of the 
canal frauds under appointment of Governor 
Tilden, and his decisions in the famous case 
against Tweed, Genet and others of the no- 
torious New York City ring, Judge Daniels 
had acquired a national reputation. In 1892 
he was elected to congress to represent the 
Thirty-third district and was re-elected in 
1894. In that body he added to his already 
high reputation. He was the leading spirit 
in founding the Buffalo Law School, in 1887, 
which later became the law department of the 
University of Buffalo. He was elected dean 
of the school and professor of constitutional 
law, both of which positions he held until his 
death. In private life he was held in equally 
high esteem, being a gentleman of entertain- 
ing qualities and rare charm of manner. He 
was a Republican in politics and a member of 
the old St. John Episcopal Church. He be- 



NEW YORK. 



longed to numerous professional societies and 
delivered many addresses on other subjects 
than pertained to the law. His wife survives 
him, a resident of Buffalo, where she is well 
known among the earlier families and held in 
warmest regard. 



Bennett as a surname, as a 
BENNETT rule, derives from Benedictus 
(the blessed), and is found in 
all European countries. There were several 
distinct families in England, where the family 
herein traced are originally found, later set- 
tling in Scotland, coming from thence to Am- 
erica and settling in the Mohawk Valley, in 
the state of New York. Several coats-of-arms 
were granted to the English families, but the 
Bennetts of Buffalo make no claim to their 
right to use armorial bearings. This particu- 
lar line is traced in detail in the United States, 
Scotland and England, to the year 1432, to the 
borough of Leicester, Leicestershire, England. 

(I) John Benet appears in 1432 among 
the list of bailiffs of the city of Leicester, Eng- 
land. In 1446 he was mayor of that city. 

(II) Edward Bennett, son of John Benet, 
of Leicester, married, about 1499, Margaret, 
daughter of Richard Swan. 

(III) Richard, son of Edward Bennett, was 
born about 1500; married, May 8, 1529, Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Thomas Stevens. Children : 
Edward, Elizabeth, Thomas, of further men- 
tion; Francis, died before November 7, 1567. 

(IV) Thomas, son of Richard Bennett, was 
born 1532 or 1533; married, August 3, 1568, 
Abigail, daughter of John Emot. Children: 
Robert : Henry, of further mention ; and Mar- 
garet, born April 9, 1570, who was the only 
one of the family who remained in Leicester- 
shire, Robert going to Derbyshire, and Henry 
to Northumberland. 

(V) Henry, son of Thomas Bennett, was 
born April 9, 1570; married, June 7, 1599, 
Sarah, daughter of Thomas Short, of Berwick- 
on-Tweed. He lived in Northumberland, Eng- 
land, where he died August 25, 1624. Chil- 
dren : Thomas, of further mention ; Richard 
and Albert. 

(VI) Thomas (2), eldest son of Henry Ben- 
nett, was born in 1600; moved to Swinton, 
Berwickshire, across the Scottish border, 
where he married, March 5, 1623, Katherine, 
daughter of Cromwell Whitehead. Children : 
Cromwell, married Christine Robisone ; Gil- 



bert, died 1688; Katherine, married Malcolm 
Shaw ; Andrew, died 1687 ; Robert, of further 
mention. 

(VII) Robert, son of Thomas (2), Ben- 
nett, was born in Swinton, Berwickshire, Scot- 
land, May 7, and baptized May 9, 1630, died 
1665; married, June 6, 1646, Jonet, daughter 
of James Burne. 

(VIII) Captain James, only son of Robert 
Bennett, was born August 3, 1648; married, 
June 18, 1670, Isabella, daughter of Alex Cook, 
of Petteweim, Fifeshire, Scotland. Children: 
James (2), of further mention; Alexander, 
born June 18, 1676, died in 1695, when James, 
the eldest son, was declared his heir; he nfer- 
ried Elizabeth Stewarde. 

(IX) James (2), son of Captain James (1) 
Bennett, was born May 3. 1673, in Grange, 
Fifeshire, Scotland. He married, June 20, 
1697, Alisone, daughter of Ebenezer Buchanan 
of the parish of Down, Fifeshire. Children : 
1. Cromwell, born April 9, 1698; married 
Agnes, daughter of Charles Smeallie, and had 
four sons who emigrated to the United States, 
all settling in New York state, two of them, 
William and John, serving in the revolutionary 
army. 2. Ebenezer, of further mention. 

(X) Ebenezer, son of James (2) Bennett, 
was born in Grange, Fifeshire, Scotland, Oc- 
tober 3, 1700. He married, June 17, 1738, 
Elizabeth, born June 14, 1706, in Edinburgh. 
Scotland, daughter of Amos Smeallie, and sis- 
ter of Ebenezer Smeallie. whose son, John 
Smeallie, emigrated to the American colonies, 
settled first in East Hoosick, now Adams, 
Massachusetts, later moved to Scotch Bush, 
Montgomery county, New York, where he 
died August 8, 1822, aged seventy years. Chil- 
dren ; 1. Amos, of further mention. 2. Francis, 
born February 22, 1740; settled in Montgomery 
county, New York ; married Margaret Parker. 
3. Albert, born June 19, 1741. 4. Ebenezer, 
born September 5, 1743; was of Burlington, 
Otsego county ; Scipio, Cayuga county : and 
Locke, New York ; held public office in the two 
latter. 5. Thomas, born November 18, 1744; 
married Tabitha Wilson. 6. Henry, born May 
14, 1746, a soldier of the revolution. 7. James, 
born October 18. 1747 ; was declared legal heir 
to his father, Ebenezer Bennett, the elder 
brothers having emigrated to foreign countries. 
With the sons of Ebenezer Bennett the family 
appears in New York state. 

(XI) Amos, son of Ebenezer Bennett, is 
the founder of this branch in the United States. 



NEW YORK. 



559 



He was born in Grange, Fifeshire, Scotland, 
March 26, 1739, died about 1832. He emi- 
grated to America shortly before 1774, as his 
name appears in Montgomery session rolls of 
March 8, 1774, and February 14, 1782. He 
settled first at Williamstown, then called West 
Hoosick, now Hoosick, Rensselaer county, 
New York, removing later to Locke, then 
Montgomery, now Cayuga county, New York, 
where he and his wife both died. He served 
in the revolution, in the Fourteenth Regiment 
Albany county militia, and receipted for his 
pay at Hoosick, Rensselaer county, New York, 
January 17, 1788. He first appears in the rec- 
ords of Locke, April 7, 1812, when he was 
named as overseer of highways. He married, 
in Scotland, September 6, 1760, Jane, daugh- 
ter of Justice (died 1871) and Jane (Scott) 
Shaw. She died in 1871. Children: 1. Jere- 
miah, born June 10, 1761 ; came to America 
with his parents. 2. Nathan, born April 3, 
1762; he settled in Locke; married Lois 

— . 3. Jedediah, born March 6, 1763 ; 

came with his father to Rensselaer county, 
New York, where he continued to reside all 

his life ; he married Lucy . 4. Joseph, 

born February 16, 1764, came with his father 
to Locke, New York ; he was a farmer, and 

owned a saw mill ; he married Nabby . 

5. Ira, twin with Joseph; died in infancy. 6. 
Elizabeth, born June 2, 1765 ; died May 5, 
1774. 7. Joshua, born April 12, 1766; came to 
Locke before 1808, when he was pathmaster 
and overseer of highways; in 1811-13 he was 
constable. 8. Jonathan, born January 23, 
1767 ; commissioner of highways and school 
lots in Locke, 1808 ; overseer of poor, 1807 ; 
justice of the peace, 1809. 9. Daniel, born 
March 2, 1769; married, and had issue. 10. 
Amos, of further mention. 11. John, born 
April 17, 1771. 

(XII) Amos (2), son of Amos (1) Ben- 
nett, was born June 21, 1770, died August 8, 
1840, in Duanesburgh. Schenectady county, 
New York. He was a farmer of Braman's 
Corners, Duanesburgh ; a rigid member of the 
Scotch Presbyterian Church, and a strong 
Democrat. He was captain of the militia com- 
pany, and served at Sacketts Harbor during 
the war of 1812. The sword he carried is 
preserved in the family at Omaha, Nebraska. 
He married Jennett Sterling, born in Scotland, 
May 29, 1771, died April 26, 1862, in her 
ninety-first year. She came to this country 
when a child with her parents, who settled in 



the Mohawk Valley. Children: 1. James, born 
October j6, 1791, died October 15, 1875. 2. 
Amos (3), born February 4, 1793, died Au- 
gust 27, 1872. 3. William, of further men- 
tion. 4. Polly, born June 6, 1796, died Jan- 
uary 12, 1878. 5. John, born March 12, 1798, 
died November 11, 1832. 6. Isabel, born No- 
vember 6, 1799, died January 24, 1875 ; mar- 
ried Henry Ellis. 7. Ira, October 1, 
1 80 1, died May 1, 1879; married An- 
gelica Templar. 8. Sally (Sarah), July 
12, 1803, died November, 1884; married 
a Mr. Morey. 9. Nancy, March 29, 1805, 
died June 19, 1880; married a Mr. Morey. 10. 
Joseph, February 13, 1807, died January 8, 

1874; married Margaret Ann . n. 

Joshua, February 24, 1809, died June 13, 1894. 
r2. Daniel D., October 21, 181 1, died Septem- 
ber 23 1852. All these children grew to ma- 
ture years, married and reared families. 

(XIII) William, third son of Amos (2) 
Bennett, was born in Duanesburgh, New York, 
May 26, 1794, died October 12, 1873. He 
grew to manhood on the home farm, and after 
his marriage settled on a farm in the same 
town. This he later disposed of and moved 
to a farm in the town of Glen, Montgomery 
county, later selling this and purchasing a 
smaller farm in the town of Mohawk, same 
county, where he died. His father, having no 
martial music for his military company, im- 
pressed his boys into the service, bought them 
drums and a fife, had them take lessons from 
Nicholas Harry Hill, old revolutionary music- 
ian of the neighborhood, and with two brothers 
Amos and William, as drummers, and Ira, 
another, as fifer, all took part in the company 
on training days, playing snare drums and fife. 
He was a Universalist in religious faith, and 
in earlier life a Democrat, as were also his 
brothers. In later life he became a Republi- 
can. He married, January 15, 1831, Elma 
Strong, born in Schenectady county, Septem- 
ber 3, 1809, died April 30, 1900, daughter of 
Solomon Strong. Children: 1. Isabella, born 
March 17, 1832; married Jacob Van Epps; re- 
sides in Montgomery county, New York. 2. 
Lewis J., of further mention. 3. Louise 
Janette, January 14, 1836 ; married Alonzo 
Devenbergh, of Montgomery county. 4. Sarah 
Ann, May 9, 1838; married John H. Vorhees ; 
resides in Queens, Long Island, New York. 5. 
Lydia Ann, February 27, 1840, died May 14, 
1856. 6. Francis Marion, July 27, 1842, mar- 
ried Suits, resides in Montgomery 



560 



NEW YORK. 



county. 7. Jane Elizabeth, June 18, 1845 ; mar- 
ried John Hand; resides in Amsterdam, New 
York. 8. Amos (4), April 29, 1848, died 
September 17, 1848. 9. Amos F. (5), Feb- 
ruary 17, 1850; married Elizabeth Vrooman; 
resides in Buffalo. 10. William James, Feb- 
ruary 3, 1852 ; married Hannah Moore ; resides 
in Johnstown, New York. 11. Martha E., 
April 22, 1854, died May 28, 1900; married 
John Dockstader. 12. Maria L., April 13, 
1856: married J. Vedder Morris; resides in 
Amsterdam, New York. 

(XIV) Lewis Jackson, eldest son of Will- 
iam Bennett, was born on the farm in Duanes- 
burgh, Schenectady county, New York, July 
7, 1833. He attended the public schools, and 
being a delicate boy was not considered strong 
enough for farm labor. He began business 
life August 27, 1849, as clerk in a grocery 
store at Fultonville, New York, kept by Chap- 
man & Smith, where he remained until January 
1, 1851. From the latter date until the follow- 
ing April he attended the high school at Fort 
Plain, New York. He then returned to Ful- 
tonville and clerked for Starin & Freeman un- 
til October 1, then worked for Blood & Conyne 
one month in a dry goods store. November 
1, 1851, he became a partner of his old employ- 
er, Chapman, in the firm of Chapman, Peak & 
Company. In the spring of 1853, ne > with Mr- 
Chapman, purchased Mr. Peak's interest, the 
firm then operating until April 1, 1856 as 
Chapman & Bennett. Poor health then com- 
pelled his retirement, his interest in the firm 
being disposed of to William W. Kline. He 
then took a western trip, leaving New York on 
June 5, 1856. going to California, returning 
in October. On November 1, 1856, he re-en- 
tered his old firm, which was reorganized as 
L. J. Bennett & Company. This firm con- 
tinued in operation until April 1, 1866, when 
Mr. Bennett sold out to his partners. On 
May 8, 1866, he located in Buffalo, taking 
charge of contracts held with the state for re- 
pairs on the Erie canal, which work was fin- 
ished January 1, 1868. He then, as a member 
of the firm Spalding & Bennett, engaged in 
contracting harbor work and iron bridge 
building. The firm built many iron bridges for 
the towns of Erie county, being the pioneers 
in iron bridge building in the country towns. 
Mr. Bennett next became, in 1874, treasurer 
of the Buffalo Hydraulic Cement Company, of 
Buffalo, continuing until 1876, when he began 
business in the same line for himself. He pur- 



chased land, erected buildings, and in March, 
1877, organized the Buffalo Cement Company, 
of which he was the first and only president 
(1911). This company were successful ce- 
ment manufacturers for thirty years, then dis- 
continued manufacturing and confined their 
operations to real estate investment and in 
the development of suburban Buffalo. The 
Bennett-Pierce addition to Buffalo, known as 
Central Park, was purchased from a score of 
owners, laid out in streets and placed upon 
the market. This is now one of the city's most 
exclusive residential districts. Mr. Bennett 
has many other important business interests, 
both in and outside Buffalo. He is actively en- 
gaged at his office each day, and as energetic 
in prosecuting his plans as though he were a 
score of years younger. From boyhood he has 
always been deeply interested in the public 
school system. In i860, while a school trus- 
tee of Fultonville, he led the fight that resulted 
in a change from the "rate bill system" to an 
absolutely free public school supported by tax- 
ation. This was probably the first district to 
adopt such a system. In 1861 he was ap- 
pointed by the state canal board collector of 
canal tolls at Fultonville for one year and in 
1862 was reappointed. In February, 1865, he 
was elected supervisor, defeating Andrew J. 
Yates, a well known and popular Democrat. 
During his term of office the covered wood 
bridge connecting Fultonville with Fonda was 
carried away, March 17, 1865, and replaced 
with the present iron structure. During the 
same term the county poor farm, located in the 
town of Glen, was sold and a new system of 
caring for the county poor adopted. 

Mr. Bennett is a Universalist in religious 
belief, and although a member of no church is 
a generous supporter of all. Politically, as 
may have been inferred, he is a Republican. 
He is a charter member and was the first 
treasurer of Fultonville Lodge No. 531, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; a companion of Chap- 
ter No. 71, Royal Arch Masons, Johnstown, 
New York, and a Sir Knight of Apollo Com- 
mandery No. 15. Knights Templar. Troy, New 
York. He is a life member of the Buffalo So- 
ciety of Natural Sciences and of Buffalo His- 
torical Society, formerly holding official posi- 
tion in both ; also a member of the National 
Society of the Sons of the American Revolu- 
tion. He presented the former society with 
a most valuable collection of fossils that is ex- 
hibited at their rooms, the largest and most 



NEW YORK. 



56i 



complete collection in the world. He is also 
a member of the Buffalo Chamber of Com- 
merce, and one of the two hundred and fifty 
honorary trustees of the Lincoln Farm Asso- 
ciation, organized to preserve the birthplace of 
President Abraham Lincoln. 

He married, in Johnstown, New York, Octo- 
ber 6, 1857, Mary F. Spalding, born June 1, 
1840, daughter of Andrew and Emeline (Ham- 
ilton) Spalding, of Johnstown, New York. 
Children (XV) generation: 1. Leslie, born 
May 25, i860, at Fultonville, New York ; edu- 
cated in Buffalo common and high schools, 
and is a graduate of the State Normal Col- 
lege; he is now vice-president, secretary and 
assistant treasurer of Buffalo Cement Com- 
pany. 2. Louisa A., born May 16, 1868 ; mar- 
ried James P. Wood, of Buffalo, November 
16, 1887; children, (XVI) generation: Helen 
B., Frances L., Harriet A., Mildred V., and 
James B. 



But little can be told of the 
HUNTLEY American ancestor of the 

Huntleys of Buffalo. Mrs. 
Lydia Huntley Sigourney, the gifted poetess 
and author, in her "Letters of Life," says : "He 
was a native of Scotland ; emigrated to this 
country in early life and married Miss Mary 
Wallbridge, a woman of consistent, domestic 
loveliness and piety. From the comforts of 
his home he went forth as a colonial soldier 
in the war waged by our motherland with the 
French and Indians. Returning from the com- 
paratively successful campaign of 1760, he be- 
came a victim of the small-pox on the way, and 
never more saw the home of his affections. 
His widow, my grandmother, is among the 
gentle, yet strong, images of my infancy, seat- 
ed by the fireside of her son (Ezekiel), in 
quietness and honor." 

(I) Ezekiel Huntley, father of Mrs. Sig- 
ourney, was born in Franklin, near Norwich, 
Connecticut, April 12, 1752. The probabilities 
all point to him as a brother of James Hunt- 
ley, the founder of the Buffalo family. After 
the death of the father the home seems to have 
been broken up, Ezekiel entering the home of 
Dr. Daniel Lathrop. James finally settled in 
New York state. A tradition of the family is 
that the ancestor was for a time a resident of 
New Bedford, Massachusetts, going from 
there to Connecticut. 

(II) James (1), son of the emigrant Hunt- 
ley and Mary Wallbridge, was born near Nor- 



wich, Connecticut, about 1750. Little can be 
told of his early life. He is next heard from 
in the town of Exeter, Otsego county, New 
York, where he made his will, February 7, 
1809, declaring himself to be "advanced in 
years, but of sound and perfect mind and mem- 
ory." He seems to have been a man of con- 
siderable property which he divided among his 
children prior to his death, as each is given a 
nominal sum "which with what he (or she) 
has heretofore received is in full of his (or 
her) portion." He names in his will "my be- 
loved wife Lucretia," to whom he gave "all 
my personal estate and the use of my real es- 
tate during her life." He names children: 
Phineas, Reynold, Reny, wife of William 
Moor; Iva (a son), Harvin, Anna Lewis, 
James, Elknah, Silas and Lucretia Bebe. 

(III) James (2), son of James (1), and 
Lucretia Huntley, was born about 1772. He 
was a farmer of West Exeter, Otsego county, 
New York, where he died, and is buried with 
his father in the Huntley burying ground. He 
was a deacon of the Baptist church, and was 
generally known as Deacon Huntley. He held 
several of the local offices and was a man of 
prominence in his town. He married Lydia 
Calkins. Children : James Calkins, of further 
mention ; Elisha, Charles, Porter Lester, Ann, 
and several daughters who married. As a 
family the Huntleys were remarkable for long- 
evity and their large stature. One of the 
daughters, Ann Huntley Eldred, died at West 
Winfield, Herkimer county, New York, with- 
in a few weeks of her one hundredth year. 
The sons married and reared families, as did 
the daughters. 

(IV) James Calkins, eldest son of James 
(2) and Lydia (Calkins) Huntley, was born 
in West Exeter, New York, 1796, died at West 
Winfield, Herkimer county, in 1879. He was 
buried in the Huntley burying ground in Exe- 
ter, but later was removed to West Winfield 
by his grandson, Charles Russell Huntley, of 
Buffalo. He was a prominent farmer, major 
of a militia regiment, a Baptist in religious 
faith, and strongly opposed to human slavery. 
At the birth of the Republican party he con- 
nected with that party and strongly espoused 
the cause of abolition. He married Laura 
Wood. Children: 1. Russell, of further men- 
tion. 2. Alonzo, died in California, leaving is- 
sue. 3. George, died in Madison, Wisconsin. 
4. Porter, died in Hartford, Oneida county, 
New York. 5. Carlos, died at San Luis Obispo, 



562 



NEW YORK. 



California. 6. James Floras, M. D., graduate 
of Albany Medical College ; died at Oneida, 
Madison county, New York. 7. Olive, died at 
West Exeter, New York ; married Calvin 
Huntley. 8. Lydia, died at Sweetwater, Mich- 
igan ; married James Tanner. 9. Julia, died in 
Newark, New Jersey ; married E. O. Hovey, 
superintendent of public schools of that city. 
10. Laura, died in Otsego county, New York ; 
married H. H. Babcock. 

(V) Russell, eldest son of James Calkins 
Huntley, was born in Exeter, Otsego county, 
New York, January 5, 1818, died in Ilion, 
New York, December 28, 1900. He was a 
successful merchant of Ilion for many years, 
and of West Winfield, Herkimer county, New 
York, where he was also postmaster. He was 
a prominent member of the Democratic party, 
and of the Methodist Episcopal church. He 
married, 1851, at Manlius, New York, Clorin- 
da, daughter of John and Almira (Adams) 
Talbot. ' 

(VI) Charles Russell, only son of Russell 
Huntley, was born in West Winfield, Herki- 
mer county, New York, October 12, 1853. He 
was educated in the public schools of Utica, 
New York, and began business life as a clerk 
in his father's general store in Ilion. In 1873 
he entered the employ of E. Remington and 
Sons, manufacturers of fire arms, typewriters, 
etc., remaining until 1875. In 1877 he entered 
the employ of the Standard Oil Company, at 
Bradford. Pennsylvania, as bookkeeper, con- 
tinuing until 1882. In the latter year he be- 
came an oil broker, operating on the Bradford 
Oil Exchange until 1888, part of this time be- 
ing agent of the Standard Oil at Bradford. 
In 1888 he located in Buffalo as general mana- 
ger of the Brush Electric Light Company. 
Since that time Mr. Huntley has been contin- 
uously active and prominent in the corpora- 
tions specializing in electric and gas properties. 
In 1893 he was appointed general manager of 
the Buffalo General Electric Company, a mer- 
ger of all the lighting plants of the city, was 
also director and vice-president, and in 1907, 
was chosen president, continuing, however, his 
position as general manager. He is vice-presi- 
dent of the Cataract Power and Conduit Com- 
pany, and general manager of the same ; treas- 
urer of the Buffalo and Niagara Falls Electric 
Light and Power Company ; vice-president 
of" the People's Bank of Buffalo: director 
and member of the executive committee 
of the German American Bank of Buf- 



falo ; director of the United States and 
Mexican Trust Company of New York 
City ; director of Kansas City. Mexico 
& Orient Railroad Company ; director of J. G. 
White Company, limited, (a construction com- 
pany ) ; director of Western New York Water 
Company ; director of Georgia Urban Milling 
Company; director of International Graphite 
Company. International Railway Company, and 
has other important interests in Buffalo and 
abroad. He is a Republican in politics, and 
while resident in Bradford was a member of 
the select council and president of the school 
board. In Buffalo he served as a member of 
the park commission, and has represented New 
York as commissioner at the great expositions 
of recent years, notably the Portland Exposi- 
tion, commemorating the Lewis and Clarke 
expedition ; and the Pan-American Exposition, 
at Buffalo, serving on the executive com- 
mittee of the latter. He was president of 
the National Electric Light Association, 
1890-91 ; president of the Empire State Gas 
and Electric Association, 1910; now vice-presi- 
dent of the Association of Edison Companies. 
In religious faith he is an Episcopalian, be- 
longing to the Church of the Ascension, Buf- 
falo. He is a thirty-second degree Mason, Ac- 
cepted Scottish Rite, and a member of all 
bodies of the York Rite. This includes all the 
Masonic bodies of Buffalo. His clubs : Buf- 
falo, Country and Automobile of Buffalo; 
Railroad and Automobile of New York City. 
He married, June 12, 1878, Ida, daughter of 
William Richardson, of Buffalo. (See Rich- 
ardson.) She was a graduate of Buffalo High 
School, class of 1876. Children, born in Buf- 
falo: 1. William Russell, born May 6. 1879; 
educated at Cornell, now assistant general man- 
ager of the Buffalo General Electric Company; 
vice-president Robertson-Cataract Company, 
director Buffalo General Electric Company, 
Buffalo & Niagara Falls Electric Light and 
Power Company: member (Cornell) Theta 
Delta Chi ; Buffalo, Saturn, Country and 
Automobile clubs : married February 20, 
1907. Janie Spear, of Atlanta, Georgia; 
child: Charles Russell (2), born Decem- 
ber 12. 1900. 2. Walter Wood, born Au- 
gust 26, 188 1 : graduate of Phillips An- 
dover Academy ; now president Public Service 
Contracting Company of Buffalo, mem- 
ber of Buffalo and Automobile clubs. 3. Mary, 
graduate of Pelham Manor. Young Ladies' 
Seminary ; married, December 16, 1903. Rob- 



NEW YORK. 



563 



ert Wheeler Chapin, of Buffalo ; resides in Chi- 
cago, Illinois. 4. Robert, born January 28, 
1890 ; educated in University of Pennsylvania ; 
member of Delta Kappa Epsilon. 



John Spring was born in Eng- 
SPRING land, 1588, and died in Water- 
town, Massachusetts, in 1650. 
He came to America in the ship '"Elizabeth," 
embarking at Ipswich, England, April 10, 
1634, and became one of the original pro- 
prietors of Watertown, Massachusetts, 1636 or 
1637. His wife, Elinor, died prior to March 
21, 1657. Children: Mary, Henry, John and 
William. 

(II) Henry, eldest son of John Spring, the 
emigrant, was born in 1628, in England, and 
came to this country with his parents at the 
age of six years. He was made a freeman of 
Watertown, May 30, 1660, and from 1680 to 
1695 was town "prizer," the duties of his of- 
fice being to settle the value of various com- 
modities used as exchange among the towns- 
people. He also took inventories and settled 
estates. He married (first), January 7, 1658, 
Mehitable, born July 15, 1640, daughter of 
Thomas and Hannah Bartlett. She died in 
1690. He married (second) Susan, widow of 
Gregory Cook, and was her third husband. 
Children by first wife: Elizabeth, Henry, Ann, 
Mehitable, Thomas, and Abiah. 

(III) Henry (2), eldest son of Henry (i) 
Spring, was made a freeman of Watertown, 
Massachusetts, April 18, 1690, and there his 
life was passed engaged in agriculture. He 
married (first) 1662 (name unknown) ; (sec- 
ond) 1685, Lydia Cutting, born September 1, 
1666; admitted to full communion in the 
Watertown church, April 7, 1700. Children : 
Lydia, Anna, Henry (3), Elizabeth, Mehita- 
ble and Susan. 

(IV) Henry (3), eldest son of Henry (2) 
Spring, was born July 19, 1692, in Watertown, 
his lifelong home. He married Keziah, daugh- 
ter of Captain Josiah and Ruth Converse, of 
Woburn. Children : Josiah, Henry (4) , Ke- 
ziah, Samuel, Jedediah, John, Converse, Sarah, 
Alpheus and Marshal. 

(V) Alpheus, seventh son of Henry (3) 
Spring, was born May 10, 1739, in Water- 
town, Massachusetts. He was educated in the 
college of New Jersey (now Princeton Uni- 
versity), graduating in 1766. Dartmouth con- 
ferred upon him the degree of Master of Arts 
1785. He was a minister of the gospel, and 



was in charge of the church in Kittery (now 
Elliott), Maine. He died very suddenly June 
14, 1791, aged fifty-two years. He married, 
May 18, 1769, Sarah, eldest daughter of Simon 
and Mary Sewell Frost, of York, Maine. She 
was born March 21, 1751. They had a large 
family, including Mary and Samuel. 

(VI) Samuel, son of Rev. Alpheus Spring, 
was born about 1790, and became a farmer of 
Vermont. He married Eunice Stowell, and 
had issue. 

(VII) Samuel Stowell, youngest child of 
Samuel Spring, was born in Grafton, Vermont, 
December 25, 1823, died at Dtiluth, Minne- 
sota, July 18, 1875. Prior to his fourteenth 
year his education was that of the average 
farmer boy of that period. At fourteen he be- 
gan study under the tuition of his brother 
Levi, who was a graduate of Amherst College 
and a man of deep learning. He remained 
with him until 1842, then attended the academy 
at Arcade, Wyoming county, New York, one 
year, then entered the office of his brother 
Leverett and began the study of law. In 1845 
he came to Springville, Erie county. New 
York, and continued legal study with Wells_ 
Brooks of that village. After a few months 
he returned to Arcade and spent two years 
more in study with his brother. In the spring 
of 1848 he became a student in the office of 
General Linus W. Thayer, of Warsaw, New 
York, and in the fall of that year was admitted 
to the bar. He at once began practice at 
Franklinville, New York, where after a year 
or two of hard work he became well establish- 
ed. In the fall of 1859 he was elected district 
attorney of Cattaraugas county and in 1862 
was re-elected, serving six years. In 1870, 
with a unanimity scarcely paralleled in the his- 
tory of political contests, he was elected coun- 
ty judge, an office he held until his death in 
1875. He was a wise, impartial judge, and 
held the unfailing respect and confidence of the 
entire bar of his court and of all brought in 
contact with him. His knowledge of the law 
was deep and profound, and with him law 
meant justice. He was liberal and public- 
spirited, fond of the soil, and from 1857 until 
death always owned a farm on which he lived. 
He would go to the hay field for recreation, 
and loved to be around and help in the lighter 
forms of farm work. But his profession was 
his great love, and he was a lawyer in the best 
sense of the word. He was a tireless worker, 
and hastened his death by too great a devotion 



564 



NEW YORK. 



to his duties. He was active in the incorpora- 
tion of Franklinville as a village and the first 
president. 

He married. May 9, 1850. Ellen, daughter of 
William Hogg, 'of Franklinville. She was 
born in Dalkeith, Scotland, 1827, died 1898, 
the youngest of a family of twelve. Children 
of Judge S. S. Spring: I. Alfred, of whom 
further. 2. Levi, born June 28, 1855, died 
1889; married Myra Lyon; child: Blanche. 
3. George E., of whom further. 4. Samuel A., 
born July 4, 1863, died 1909; married Nettie 
Walker ; children : Fred W., married Ida Mc- 
Intyre ; Raymond ; Isadore ; Herbert ; Walter. 

5. Ellen, born 1869; married Clayton Stone, of 
Colorado ; children : Leslie, Allen and Eleanor. 

6. Katherine, born June 28, 1872 ; married 
William A. Murray, of Jerseyshore, Pennsyl- 
vania. 

(VIII) Judge Alfred Spring, LL. D., son 
of Judge Samuel S. Spring, was born in 
Franklinville, Cattaraugus county, New York, 
February 19, 1851. He was educated in the 
public schools and Ten Broeck Academy, being 
graduated from the latter in June, 1870. He 
spent two years at Michigan University, and 
read law with his father until the death of the 
latter in July, 1875. The following October 
he was admitted to the bar and began prac- 
tice in Franklinville. In 1876 he was elected 
supervisor, and in 1879 surrogate of Cattarau- 
gus county and re-elected in 1885, serving in 
that important judicial position twelve years. 
During his term many important and compli- 
cated cases were tried involving large amounts 
of property and presenting intricate and novel 
points of law. He was a partner with his 
brother, George E., in the practice of law at 
Franklinville for several years, but the busi- 
ness of the surrogate's court increased so much 
during his term that it required all his time. 
In January, 1895, he was appointed by Gov- 
ernor Morton, a judge of the supreme court 
of the state of New York to fill out an unex- 
pired term. At the ensuing November election 
he was elected to the same office for a full 
term of fourteen years. In 1899 he was trans- 
ferred to the appellate division of the supreme 
court by Governor Roosevelt, and continued 
by subsequent reappointments by Governors 
Odell and Hughes. In 1909 Judge Spring was 
re-elected supreme court judge for the ensuing 
fourteen years. Too much cannot be said of his 
fidelity to the duties of his high office. He is 
learned in the law as a lawver, skillful in its 



application, and as a jurist is just and im- 
partial. He is held in the highest esteem in 
the profession, while his wisdom and impartial, 
unfailing courtesy and justice are acknowl- 
edged by all. He is a Republican in politics, 
and a trustee of the Presbyterian church of 
Franklinville. He is a member of many state 
and national associations of his profession, 
and is also connected with other organizations, 
literary, scientific and social. His clubs are 
the University and Saturn of Buffalo, and the 
Genesee and University clubs of Rochester, his 
winter home. He spends his summers at the 
old home village. Franklinville, where his boy- 
hood and so much of his life was passed. In 
1901 Michigan University conferred upon 
Judge Spring the honorary degree of Doctor 
of Laws. 

He married, May 9, 1877, Anna A., daugh- 
ter of Dana O. and Maria (Wilder) Tarbell, of 
Farmersville, New York, granddaughter of 
James Tarbell. Mrs. Spring is a member of 
Buffalo Chapter, Daughters of the American 
Revolution, through right of her patriotic an- 
cestors, Gideon Walker and Leonard Proctor. 

Gideon Walker (1737-1800), who had 
fought in the earlier wars, served in a com- 
pany of matrosses in Colonel James Converse's 
regiment of Massachusetts militia in 1776. He 
was born in Brookfield, Massachusetts, and 
died in Vermont ; he married Hannah Billings. 
Leonard Proctor (1734-1827) served on the 
committee of public correspondence of West- 
field in the Massachusetts militia. He was 
born in Chelmsford, Massachusetts, and died 
in Proctorsville, Vermont, a town he founded. 
Billings, son of Gideon Walker, married Han- 
nah, born 1778, daughter of Leonard Proctor 
and Mary Keep, his second wife. Hannah 
Billings, daughter of Billings and Hannah 
(Proctor) Walker, married James Tarbell. 
Dana O., son of James Tarbell, married 
Frances Marie Wilder. Anna, daughter of 
Dana O. Tarbell, married Judge Alfred 
Spring. 

Children of Judge Alfred Spring: 1. Dana 
L., born August 11, 1878; married, July 22, 
1901, Shirley Tilden : he is a graduate of Will- 
iams College, A. B., 1899; Buffalo Law 
School, LL. B., 1912; now practicing law at 
Buffalo; a member of the firm of Norton, 
Penny, Spring & Moore. 2 Ellen, born 
March 27, 1881 ; graduate of Smith College, 
class of 1903. 3. Mildred, born May 31, 1890; 
graduate of Smith College, class of 1912. 



NEW YORK. 



565 



(VIII) George E., son of Judge Samuel S. 
Spring, was born in Franklinville, Cattarau- 
gus county, New York, October 27, 1859. He 
was educated in the public schools and Ten 
Broeck Academy, being graduated from the 
latter, class of 1880. He studied law with 
his brother Alfred, and was admitted to the 
bar at Rochester, New York, in October, 1884. 
He at once began the practice of his profession, 
locating at Franklinville, where he formed a 
partnership with his brother and preceptor un- 
der the firm name of Spring & Spring. He 
served as clerk of the surrogate's court of Cat- 
taraugus county for six years, then returned 
to the practice of his profession at Franklin- 
ville, where he yet continues, engaged in gen- 
eral practice. He was a New York State Com- 
missioner to Paris at the Universal Exposi- 
tion at Paris. He has numerous business in- 
terests outside his profession ; is president of 
the Empire Electric Company, vice-president 
of the Empire Manufacturing Company, and 
director of the Franklinville Canning Com- 
pany. He is a Republican in politics, and a 
member of the Presbyterian church. He is also 
president of the Library Association of his 
village, and interested in all that pertains to 
the common good. He stands high among his 
brethren of the profession, and has a well es- 
tablished legal business. 

He married, February 10, 1884, Rena Allen, 
born January 21, i860, daughter of Andrew 
L. Allen of Machias, at one time member of 
assembly. Child: Harold, born November 
15, 1890, now in Williams College. 



This family is of Welsh descent. 
BOWEN There are the pedigrees of the 
Bowens _ of Wales extant, one 
deposited in the College of Arms, London, be- 
gins with Beli Mawr, king of Britain, fifty-five 
years, B. C, and ends with Griffith Bowen, 
of Barryhead, Wales. The American ancestor 
of this family is believed to be Griffith Bowen, 
who came to America with his wife Mar- 
garet, in 1638. The first trace of him in 
America is that on the "The 6th of ye same 
12th month (1638) Griffyn Bowen and his 
wife Margaret" were "taken in for members 
of ye congregation of the church in Boston." 
He is styled in the records "Gentleman." The 
last record of him is "9th of the 2nd month, 
1649, Mr. Bowen and Peter Oliver is chosen 
for perambulation at Mudye River." Shortly 
after this he sailed for England with his wife 



and some of his children. He died 1675. His 
New England estate was not divided among 
his heirs until 1683. He had ten children. 

(II) Henry, third son of Griffith Bowen, 
was born in Wales, 1633. He married, De- 
cember 20, 1658, Elizabeth, daughter of Cap- 
tain Isaac and Elizabeth (Porter) Johnson, 
of Roxbury, Massachusetts. Captain Isaac 
Johnson was the "brave and intrepid" Captain 
Johnson who was killed in the last battle of 
King Philip's war. Henry Bowen lived in 
Roxbury, Massachusetts, and Woonsocket, 
Connecticut, dying in the latter place "in the 
90th year of his age." 

(III) Isaac, son of Henry Bowen, was 
born in Roxbury, Massachusetts, April 20, 
1676; he resided for a time in Framingham, 
Massachusetts, where he helped to organize 
the First Congregational Church. He mar- 
ried, 1698, Hannah Winchester, of Brookline, 
Massachusetts. 

(IV) Henry (2) son of Isaac Bowen, was 
born June 30, 1700, died January 1, 1758. He 
married, May 10, 1721, Margaret Davis. 

(V) Silas, son of Henry (2) Bowen, was 
born April 7, 1722, died February 16, 1790. 
He lived in Woodstock, Connecticut, and 
North Brookfield, Massachusetts. He married, 
April 17, 1746, Dorothy Lyon. 

(VI) Moses, son of Silas Bowen, was born 
in Massachusetts, 1752, died in Otsego county, 
New York, June, 1830. He was a cooper by 
trade. He served in the revolutionary army 
from Massachusetts, as follows: Private of 
Captain Jonathan Danforth's company, Colo- 
nel David Brewster's regiment, muster roll 
dated August 1, 1775; enlisted May 18, 1775; 
service two months nineteen days ; also com- 
pany return dated October 7, 1775 ; also Cap- 
tain Danforth's company, Colonel Rufus Put- 
nam's Ninth Regiment. After the war he re- 
moved to Otsego county, New York, where 
he followed his trade and farming. He mar- 
ried, in Spencer, Massachusetts, November 21, 
1771, Martha Ball, died 1824. In the marriage 
record his residence is given as Sturbridge. 
As he was only nineteen and the records say 
"intentions not recorded" it is likely that the 
couple went there to be married quietly, with- 
out the knowledge of parents. 

(VII) Moses (2), son of Moses (1) Bowen, 
was born in Massachusetts, February 9, 1796. 
He was a resident of Otsego county until 1830, 
when he settled in the town of Mansfield, Cat- 
taraugus county, New York, where he died in 



566 



NEW YORK. 



1882. He married Betsey Hopkins, born May 
2i, 1797, died 1862. Children: George W. 
G. (of further mention) ; Emily M., born 
March 20, 1825 ; Sarah A., May 20, 1827 ; 
Hopkins, September, 1829; Bird, 1832; Cyrus 
H., April, 1834; Frank M., 1842; Moses (3), 
1844 ; living - in Mansfield, 1879. 

(VIII) George W. G., eldest child of Moses 
(2) Bowen, was born in Otsego county, New 
York, May 27, 1823. He came to Cattaraugus 
county with his father, learned the trade of 
carpenter and settled in the village of Eddy- 
ville, where he was justice of the peace over 
thirty years, postmaster more than ten years, 
and a resident over sixty years. He married 
(first) Lucinda Meacham, who died December 
8, 1863. Children: George H. (of further 
mention) ; Sarah M., born February 6, 1853; 
John M., October 25, 1858; Betsey, October 
3, 1862. He married (second) Mrs. Lydia 
L. Harvey, daughter of William H. and Sally 
Eddy. Children: Fanny B., born October 21, 
1865: Emily A., June 6, 1867; Hattie L., July 
2, 1869; Mabel G., August 10, 1871 ; William 
H., August 25, 1873; Ida V., March 16, 1876; 
Eddy L., June 29, 1879; Bessie L., July I, 
1883. 

(IX) George Hamilton, eldest son of 
George W. G. Bowen and his first wife, was 
born in Eddyville, town of Mansfield, Cat- 
taraugus county, New York, October 4, 1849. 
He attended the public schools, and until he 
became of age worked for his father in the 
saw mill and on the farm. Later he was ad- 
mitted to a partnership with him and for many 
years they did a very successful business. They 
were among the first to manufacture cheese 
boxes in the town and reaped an abundant 
harvest. Mr. Bowen was a Republican and 
served for many years as town clerk and 
supervisor. He married, in Little Valley, Mary 
Jeanette Reynolds. Children : Walter H. (of 
further mention); Freddie, died in infancy; 
Floyd Leroy, born July 2, 1886, died at the 
age of seven years. 

(X) Walter Hamilton, son of George Ham- 
ilton and Mary J. (Reynolds) Bowen, was 
born in Mansfield, Cattaraugus county, New 
York, August 3, 1876. He was educated in 
the schools of Little Valley and after com- 
pleting his studies began learning the trade 
of tailor with George G. Mitchell. After work- 
ing with him for several years he traveled 
around for some time, working in different 
shops, learning different methods of cutting 



and fitting. In September, 1896, he opened 
a custom tailoring shop in Little Valley, where 
he is now (1911) in successful business. He 
has built up a large trade and employs several 
workmen the entire year. He is an accom- 
plished musician and prominent in musical 
circles. He is a member of Lodge No. 812 
and Chapter No. 266 of the Masonic Order, 
and of the Methodist Episcopal church. Po- 
litically he is a Republican. He married, No- 
vember, 1898, Katherine, born January 29, 
1877, daughter of Charles and Sophia (Sweet- 
land) Ansell, of Little Valley. The father of 
Charles Ansell came to Little Valley from 
England, a skilled gardener and farmer. Chil- 
dren: 1. Merton L., born April 23, 1875, now 
cashier of the First National Bank of Sala- 
manca. He married, January 1, 1895, Ella, 
born 1873, daughter of Marcus Merrill. Chil- 
dren: Florence Josephine, born April 23, 
1897; Harold Fenton, March 4, 1899. 
2. Katherine. Children of Walter Hamilton 
and Katherine (Ansell) Bowen: Lola, born 
December 4, 1899; George W. G., April 20, 
1903 ; Charles Hamilton, April 19, 1907. 



The earliest records of this family 
CASE state that in the year 1200 certain 

of its members moved from York 
to Aylsham, England, where they are now rep- 
resented by wealthy tanners and farmers who 
own so much land around Aylsham that it is 
said to be "Cased in." These lands surround 
those which were once the property of Anne 
Boleyn, one of the wives of Henry VIII. The 
Case and Boleyn families were closely con- 
nected by intermarriage. The records are also 
said to show the names of several Cases who 
were locally prominent associates and sup- 
porters of Oliver Cromwell, under whose pa- 
tronage they accumulated much property by 
furnishing leather to the English army. 

(I) Richard Case, ancestor of the American 
family, a native of England, was an inhabitant 
of Hartford, Connecticut. The date of his 
settlement is not certain, but he bought ninety 
acres of land on the east side of the Connecti- 
cut river, June 31, 1669, of William Edwards 
and Agnes his wife, and bounded as follows: 
"North by William Pitkin ; south on John Bid- 
well's ; east on the wilderness ; the rear on 
the swamp." He became a freeman at Hart- 
ford in 1671, and died March 30, 1694. His 
will, made September 8. 1690, was witnessed 
by William Pitkin and Thomas Olcott. The 



NEW YORK. 



567 



executors were "my wife" and "my kinsman, 
Mr. Thomas Olcot." Richard Case married 
Elizabeth, daughter of John and Joan Pur- 
chase. This Mr. Purchase (or Purkas) was 
in Hartford before 1639. Children of Rich- 
ard and Elizabeth Case: Richard, John and 
Mary. 

(II) Richard (2), eldest child of Richard 
(1) and Elizabeth (Purchase) Case, died in 
East Hartford, February 22, 1724. The Hart- 
ford land records show that the estate of Rich- 
ard Case was settled among his heirs by deed 
dated November 6, 1729. He married, before 

1703, Sarah . Children: Sarah, Joseph 

and Elizabeth. 

(III) Joseph, son of Richard (2) and Sarah 
Case, was born in East Hartford, December 
27, 1705, died there May 26, 1791 ; was buried 
in the East Hartford Center cemetery. Like 
his father he was a farmer. He married, 173 1, 
Esther, daughter of Ebenezer Hills, of East 
Hartford. Children : Joseph, David, Richard, 
Abigail, Thomas, Sarah and Hannah. 

(IV) David, second son of Joseph and 
Esther (Hills) Case, was born in East Hart- 
ford. Record, volume 25, page 269, contains 
record of grant of administration on estate, 
of David Case, late of East Hartford, to 
George Griswold. Distribution of the estate 
was made (no date given) to widow not 
named, sons Uriah, William and David, and 
daughters Tryphena and Assenath Keeney. He 
owned land in Glastonbury. He married Abi- 
gail . Among their children were, in 

addition to those above named: Abigail, died 
January 26, 1774, aged three ; Abigail, died 
November 20, 1789, aged sixteen. 

(V) Joseph (2), son of David and Abigail 
Case, was a farmer of the Mohawk Valley, 
near Schenectady, New York. He married a 
Miss Whitney, of Prescott, Ontario, Canada. 
Children : Levi James ; Whitney A. (of whom 
further) ; Lucy, married Robert Bailey; Chloe, 
married James Lewis, the engineer who ran 
the first steam engine, "John Bull" ; when the 
railroad company exhibited the old engine on 
the rails at the Chicago Exposition, Mr. Lewis 
was invited to go to Chicago and ride in his 
old engine ; Cynthia, married John Barnum ; 
Mary, married Stephen P. Porter. 

(VI) Whitney Asa, son of Joseph (2) and 

■ (Whitney) Case, was born at Ogdens- 

burg, New York, 1825, died at Carlsbad, Ger- 
many, July 12, 1892. He was educated in the 
public schools, and after completing his studies 



learned the trade of coppersmith at Schenec- 
tady. In 1850 he located in Buffalo, where 
for three years he was foreman for Dudley 
Brothers. In 1853 he started in business for 
himself at the corner of Washington and Ohio 
streets. He made a specialty of heavy copper 
smithing for steamboats and locomotives. He 
soon established a good reputation for the ex- 
cellence of his work and at one time did all 
the work in his line for the New York Cen- 
tral Railroad. In 188 1 he admitted his son, 
Edward A., to partnership, later his son, Whit- 
ney G, under the firm name W. A. Case & 
Sons, and to his original lines added engineers' 
supplies, wholesale and retail, and later added 
plumbers' supplies. The firm has always been 
a prosperous one, and is now (1911) known 
as the W. A. Case & Son Manufacturing 
Company. In 1892 Mr. Case was ordered to 
take a foreign trip by his physicians, his health 
having broken down. He died at Carlsbad, 
where he had gone for the benefit of the baths 
and treatment. He was a man of good busi- 
ness ability, generous to a fault and highly re- 
garded by his associates. He was a member 
of the Masonic order, the Methodist Episcopal 
church, and a Republican. He married (first) 
Freda Felthausen. He married (second) Mary 
Emigh. Children : Whitney Gaylord (of whom 
further) ; Mary, married William H. Collins; 
Edward A., died at the age of twenty-eight 
years; Lilla, married R. W. McCready; child, 
Florence, deceased. 

(VII) Whitney Gaylord, eldest son of Whit- 
ney Asa and his second wife, Mary (Emigh) 
Case, was born April 21, 1856. He was edu- 
cated in the Buffalo schools and after gradu- 
ating from the high school entered his father's 
shop and learned copper smithing. He was 
a hard worker, often spending from fifteen 
to seventeen hours out of the twenty-four in 
the shop. From the shop he went to the office 
of the firm, then on the road as salesman. 
When he was twenty-five years of age his 
father admitted him to partnership, but this 
did not mean easier times for the young man. 
His father's health was on the decline and 
the extra burden fell on the younger man, who 
bravely shouldered it. After the death of his 
father, Whitney G continued the business, 
which was growing very fast, and in 1903 
formed it into a corporation, W. A. Case & 
Son Manufacturing Company, with Whitney 
G. Case president, J. P. Fell vice-president. 
The business has grown from a total of sixty 



568 



NEW YORK. 



thousand dollars in 1892 to that of two mil- 
lion dollars in 1910, and is the largest store 
in the United States devoted exclusively to 
their line of goods. Since 1906 Mr. Case 
has relaxed his strenuous business somewhat 
and now takes needed recreation. He has the 
satisfaction of knowing that he has borne his 
full share of burden, and to his own energy, 
industry and perseverance he owes the success 
that is his. He is a trustee of the Erie County 
Savings Bank, director of the Commonwealth 
Trust Company, director of the Buffalo Club, 
ex-treasurer of the Ellicott Club, ex-president 
of the Park Club, director of the Buffalo 
Yacht Club and member of the Wanakah 
Golf Club. In the Masonic order he is affil- 
iated with Queen City Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Keystone Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons ; Buffalo Council, Royal and Select 
Masters ; Hugh De Payen Commandery, 
Knights Templar ; Buffalo Consistory, Ancient 
Accepted Scottish Rite, a thirty-second degree. 
He is a member and trustee of Westminster 
Presbyterian Church. In politics he is a Re- 
publican. 

He married, October 26, 1881, Martha Fran- 
ces Allen, born January 17, i860, daughter of 
Wesley D. Allen. Children: 1. Cyrena, born 
June 6, 1884; married, March 27, 1906, How- 
ard Kellogg ; children : Martha, born January 
17, 1907; Howard, born November 4, 1908. 
2. Edward Whitney (of whom further). 

(VIII) Edward Whitney, only son of Whit- 
ney Gaylord and Mary Frances (Allen) Case, 
was born in Buffalo, New York, June 17, 1888. 
He graduated at Heathcote school, 1905, pre- 
pared for college at Lawrenceville, New Jer- 
sey, entered Cornell University, academic 
course, class of 1910, but before graduating 
accepted a position with the Buffalo Radiator 
Company, in the foundry and machine shop. 
He is a member of the Buffalo Canoe and 
Auto clubs, Zeta Psi fraternity of Cornell, 
Westminster Presbyterian Church, and is a 
Republican in politics. He married, April 19, 
191 1, Geraldine Armstrong Thompson, daugh- 
ter of Augustus A. Thompson. 



Charles Stuart Abbott, of 
ABBOTT Jamestown, New York, whose 

death occurred March 1, 1905, 
was a descendant in the ninth generation from 
George Abbott, of Rowley, Massachusetts, 
from whom have descended some of the most 
eminent of their day in the arts and sciences, 



including scholars, divines, jurists, statesmen, 
soldiers, educators, authors, philanthropists, 
business men, diplomats, politicians and trusted 
leaders and representative persons in almost 
every useful occupation in life. 

(I) George Abbott was probably born in 
England and died in 1647, ln Rowley, Essex 
county, Massachusetts, where he had lived 
about five years after coming from England 
with his family about 1642, being one of the 
first settlers. The early records of Rowley 
are missing and not much is known of him. 
The inventory of his effects amounted to £95 
2s. 8d. He had three children born in Eng- 
land : Thomas, died at Rowley, Massachu- 
setts, September 5, 1659; George (see for- 
ward )j Nehemiah. 

(II) George (2), son of George (1) Ab- 
bott, was born in England, about 1631, and 
came to New England with his father's fam- 
ily, probably about 1642. He lived in Rowley, 
Essex county, Massachusetts, about fourteen 
years, and in 1655 he settled in that part of 
Andover afterwards North Andover, but now 
Andover Center. He was a husbandman and 
tailor, very thrifty and industrious, and for 
that day was financially well-off, being, ac- 
cording to the tax list, one of the five wealth- 
iest men in Andover. He was a member of 
Sergeant James Osgood's militia company, 
1658-59. He was made a freeman, May 19, 
1669, and was elected constable, June 3, 1680. 
He was much respected, and for many years 
had charge of North Meeting House, Andover. 
He was married, in Ipswich, Essex county, 
Massachusetts, by "Mr. Bradstreet," April 26, 
1658, to Sarah Farnum, who was probably 
born in Massachusetts about 1638, youngest 
of five children of Ralph and Alice Farnum, 
of Andover. George Abbott and wife had ten 
children, born in Andover, Essex county, Mas- 
sachusetts. George, January 28, 1659; Sarah, 
September 6, 1660; John, August 26, 1662; 
Mary, March 20, 1664-65 : Nehemiah, July 20, 
1667; Hannah, September 22, 1668: Mehitable, 
February 17, 1671 ; Lydia, March 31, 1675; 
Samuel (see forward) ; Mehitable, April 4, 
1680. 

(III) Samuel, son of George (2) and Sarah 
(Farnum) Abbott, was born in Andover, Es- 
sex county, Massachusetts, May 30, 1678, died 
at Sudbury, May 17, 1739. He was eighteen 
years old when his brother John settled in East 
Sudbury, now Wayland. Massachusetts, in 
1696, and doubtless went there with him about 



NEW YORK. 



569 



that time to live. He was constable for the 
east side of Sudbury river, 1717-18; selectman, 
1727-29-30-31-32-33-35-36; highway surveyor, 
1707-22; town treasurer, 1720; fence viewer, 
1724; and assessor, 1730. He was well-to-do, 
highly respected and influential. He married, 
in Sudbury, June 26, 1705, Joyce, born there, 
August 3, 1681, daughter of Deacon Edward 
and Joyce (Russell) Rice. Samuel Abbott 
and wife had five children, born in Sudbury, 
Middlesex county, Massachusetts: Joyce, 
August 13, 1706; Martha, March 10, 1712; 
Samuel, February 25, 1713-14; Samuel (see 
forward) ; George, died in infancy. 

(IV) Samuel (2), son of Samuel (1) and 
Joyce (Rice) Abbott, was born May 24, 1716, 
in East Sudbury, now Wayland, Middlesex 
county, Massachusetts. He virtually inherited 
the homestead farm in East Sudbury, and 
lived in the house built by his father, on the 
left side of the road from Wayland Center 
to Concord, Massachusetts. Owing to his pre- 
mature death, but little is known of him. The 
Massachusetts archives credit him with the 
following colonial war service: According to 
vol. XCV, p. 310, his name appears in a list 
dated April 25, 1757, pertaining to Captain 
Moses Maynard's first Sudbury foot company. 
He was also in Captain Samuel Dakin's com- 
pany of Sudbury, 1758, in General Abercrom- 
bie's expedition against Fort Ticonderoga, and 
as far as known, is numbered among the un- 
known dead, probably in the disastrous and 
unwise assault of July 8, 1758, by Abercrom- 
bie, with about fifteen thousand men, on that 
stronghold, which was garrisoned by about 
three thousand French troops under Montcalm. 
He was about forty-two years old. 

His marriage was published in Weston, 
Massachusetts, in 1737, to Abigail Myrick, 
born April 10, 1719, daughter of John and 
Abigail (Herrington) Myrick, of Weston. 
They had ten children, born in East Sudbury, 
Wayland, Massachusetts ; John (see for- 
ward) ; Ephraim, May 27, 1740; Jason, Octo- 
ber 6, 1742; Samuel, September 27, 1743; 
Sarah, February 27, 1745; Rebecca, March n, 
1748-49; Abigail, May 7, 1751 ; Abraham, 
January 11, 1754; Abijah, July 11, 1756; 
Amos, 1759-60. 

(V) Lieutenant John Abbott, son of Samuel 
(2) and Abigail (Myrick) Abbott, was born 
in East Sudbury, now Wayland, Middlesex 
county, Massachusetts, June 5, 1738. Lieu- 
tenant Abbott is mentioned in old records as 



blacksmith, yeoman, lieutenant, and latterly 
for many years as "gent." He started in life 
as a blacksmith, living in Sudbury until 
twenty-three years of age. He probably moved 
to Holden, Worcester county, Massachusetts, 
about 1 761, as on April 15th of that year 
he bought of Joseph Davis, in Holden, for 
£\y 6s. 8d., about nine acres near the church, 
south of the county road, on which in 1763 
he built the celebrated and now historic old 
"Abbott Tavern," which although one hundred 
and thirty- four years old (1906) is still in a 
good state of preservation. It was at this old 
tavern, and with Lieutenant John Abbott, that 
the covenant entered into by the loyal citizens 
of Holden to sustain the committee chosen by 
them to watch for the public safety, etc., was 
left for a month, during the early days of the 
revolution, for the inhabitants of Holden to 
sign, Lieutenant Abbott being one of the six 
forming the committee of safety. It is stated 
upon good authority that Lieutenant John Ab- 
bott helped to throw the package of tea over- 
board into the waters of Boston Harbor on 
that memorable and historic occasion on the 
eve of the revolutionary war, December 16, 

1773- 

According to Massachusetts archives, 
vol. XXVIII, p. 52, John Abbott was com- 
missioned during the revolutionary war as sec- 
ond lieutenant, March 5, 1779, in Captain Sam- 
uel Hubbell's (Third) company of the First 
Worcester County Regiment, commanded by 
Colonel Samuel Denny. His resignation was 
accepted by the council, March 13, 1780. The 
records of Holden show that he held the fol- 
lowing local public offices: Highway sur- 
veyor, 1769-74-82-83-84-85-86-91-92-93-94-96 ; 
fence viewer, 1770-72-73; warden, 1771 ; 
juror, 1770-74 ; field-driver, 1775 ; constable, 
1777; and sealer of weights and measures, 
1777-81-87-88-89. His will, dated October 22, 
1796, was probated November 5, 1799. Lieu- 
tenant John Abbott died May 23, 1799. His 
widow died in Holden, August 9, 1814. 

He married, September 25, 1760, by Eben- 
ezer Roby, Mary, born in Weston, Middlesex 
county, Massachusetts, October 25, 1734, 
daughter of Isaac and Elizabeth (Glesson) 
Allen. Their children were all born in Holden 
except Sarah, who was born in Sudbury. Chil- 
dren: Sarah, December 16, 1761 ; John, 1762 ; 
Lemuel, November 3, 1763 ; Cyrus, January 
16, 1765 ; Isaac, October 2, 1766; Mary, April 
9, 1768; Elisha (see forward); Jason; June 



5/0 



NEW YORK. 



28, 1772; Abijah, October 3, 1773; Samuel, 
July 25, 1776; Betsey. September 7, 1778. 

( VI ) Elisha, son of Lieutenant John and Mary 
( Allen) Abbott, was born in Holden, Massachu- 
setts, June 6, 1770. He was a blacksmith, and 
lived in Weybridge, Addison county, Vermont, 
where he died May 30, 1822, aged fifty-one 

years. His widow married (second) 

Dixon, and is said to have died at an advanced 
age in Western New York. The records at 
the county seat have been destroyed by fire, 
and but little is known of Mr. Abbott's history. 
He married Mehitable Parmelee, who was 
born in 1773. They had three children : Zenas, 
born 1798, died in Weybridge, Vermont, Feb- 
ruary 7, 1879; Ezra (see forward); Aretas, 
born November 24, 1806. 

(VII) Ezra, son of Elisha and Mehitable 
(Parmelee) Abbott, was born in Claremont, 
New York, January 28, 1801. In 1827 he re- 
moved to Onondaga county, New York, and 
in 1829 to Chautauqua county, where he died 
January 23, 1892, at the venerable age of 
ninety-one years. He was a farmer, and a 
man of great nobility of character. In early 
manhood he united with the First Baptist 
Church of Troy, and on his removal to Chau- 
tauqua county became connected with the Bap- 
tist church in Panama, in which he was for 
many years a deacon, and to the end of his 
life one of its most consistent, useful and 
honored members. He married, April 29, 
1824, in Fair Haven, Emeline Stewart. Their 
children were: Edwin Elisha (see forward) ; 
Samuel H., Elvira E., Sarah M., and Mary 
Eliza, the latter of whom married George W. 
Windsor, and resided in Jamestown, New 
York. 

(VIII) Edwin Elisha, son of Ezra and 
Emeline (Stewart) Abbott, was born in Am- 
ber, Onondaga county, New York, September 
2j, 1827, and died in Jamestown, New York, 
August 31, 1881. When he was two years 
old his parents removed to a farm near Pan- 
ama. He attended the common schools, and 
was a student for two years in Westfield Aca- 
demy. He entered upon his active career when 
twenty years old, and at that early age gave 
striking evidence of the qualities which char- 
acterized him during his whole life. He began 
as clerk in charge of a branch store of Joseph 
Hoyt, at Spring Creek, Pennsylvania, showing 
the confidence even then reposed in him. He 
was afterwards clerk in the stores of John 
Stewart and John Pray, in Panama, until 1850, 



when he became a partner with Mr. Hoyt, his 
first employer, in the firm of Hoyt & Abbott. 
In 1852, when in New York purchasing goods 
for his house, he was solicited to relinquish 
his country business and take a situation in 
that city, which he did, but falling a victim 
to malaria, he was obliged to abandon his po- 
sition, after a long and severe illness. He was 
in business with Stephen W. Steward, at 
Gymer, for two years, and then became asso- 
ciated with Gilbert Smith, at Panama. In 
1859 he entered a large silk house in New 
York, doing an almost exclusive southern 
trade, which failed at the outbreak of the civil 
war. He then went to Jamestown, where he 
engaged with the firm of Kent & Preston. In 
1865 he returned to New York City, and 
formed the hat and fur house of Kingsbury, 
Abbott & Company, which, through deaths 
and retirements, became successively Kings- 
bury, Abbott, Gay & Company, and Kingsbury, 
Abbott & Hulett. The house was very suc- 
cessful until the financial panic of 1873, which 
it was unable to withstand, largely owing to 
the physical prostration of Mr. Abbott, who 
was the guiding spirit in the firm. The books 
of the house on examination by a committee 
of the creditors were pronounced clear and 
honest, and its failure was accepted as un- 
avoidable. So great was the confidence in 
which Mr. Abbott was held, that the creditors, 
with former partners in the firm, and several 
bankers, tendered sufficient capital for resump- 
tion of business, but this generous offer was 
declined by Mr. Abbott. At the time of the 
failure, Air. Abbott held considerable sums 
left with him for investment : these also were 
lost in the failure, but he made repayment as 
he could, the final payment, in one case, being 
made only a short time before his death. In 
1877 he had finally closed up the affairs of 
his defunct firm, and he took charge of the 
sales department of the Jamestown Alpaca 
Mills, and which he conducted successfully un- 
til overtaken by his final illness. His death 
was widely and deeply deplored, and fervent 
tributes to his memory were uttered by both 
pulpit and press. Mr. Abbott married Mary 
Sanderson, who survived him. 

(IX) Charles Stuart, only child of Edwin 
Elisha and Mary (Sanderson) Abbott, was 
born in Panama, New York. December 11. 
1858. In his infancy his parents removed to 
New York City, where he was educated in 
the public schools, and the famous Flushing 



NEW YORK. 



57 ^ 



(Long Island) Institute. He was preparing 
to enter Columbia University when his father's 
financial reverses obliged him to abandon his 
plans and enter upon his life's career. From 
the first he gave evidence of the paternal traits 
— untiring industry, indomitable perseverance 
and unwavering integrity — and he commanded 
the confidence of all with whom he became 
associated. In his youth he engaged in va- 
rious employments, among them being that 
of captain of the "Waukegan," a favorite 
steamer on Lake Chautauqua, and he became 
so enamored with that beautiful region that 
he procured renewal of his license from year 
to year until the end of his life. At one time 
he studied law at Warren, Pennsylvania, and 
was later business manager of The Country- 
side, a weekly educational and agricultural 
journal. He subsequently returned to New 
York City, and for a time was associated 
with Allen Brothers in an advertising agency 
which was afterward removed to Jamestown. 

Mr. Abbott's independent business career, 
however, dated from 1889, when he engaged 
with Hon. Porter Sheldon in the manufacture 
of photographic paper. They later formed 
the American Aristotype Company, with Mr. 
Sheldon as president and Mr. Abbott as sec- 
retary and treasurer. This business they 
rapidly developed, making it one of the leading 
houses in its line in the country, and one of 
the principal industries of Jamestown. In 
1899 the General Aristo Company was formed, 
embracing a number of other similar concerns, 
and which were afterward consolidated as the 
Eastman Kodak Company, of which Mr. Ab- 
bott was vice-president, and to whose interests 
he devoted himself in Europe for two years, 
and with phenomenal success. He was also 
president of the Seed Dry Plate Company of 
St. Louis, Missouri, and a director of the 
Chautauqua County Trust Company. In all 
his business relations he was eminently suc- 
cessful, and he was held in high estimation 
for abilities of a high order, and unflinching 
integrity, and was recognized as a prime leader 
among those whose energy and enterprise gave 
Jamestown its nation-wide fame as an indus- 
trial city. 

While pre-eminently a man of business, Mr. 
Abbott was also favorably known for his fine 
personal traits — kindliness, sympathy and gen- 
erosity — and his home was a center of social 
life. He was a member of Mt. Moriah Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Jamestown Lodge 



of Elks; the Jamestown Club, of which he 
was for several years president; and he was 
for several vears commodore of the Chadakoin 
Boat Club." 

Mr. Abbott married, . February 4, 1880, 
Pauline Allen, of Jamestown. Of this mar- 
riage were born a daughter, Marguerite, and 
a son, Charles Stuart Abbott Jr. Mr. Abbott 
fell into a decline early in January, 1905, and 
went to North Carolina, and while his family 
were solaced with hopes of improvement, he 
suddenly succumbed and died March 1, 1905, 
in his forty-seventh year. The remains of the 
honored dead were brought home for inter- 
ment, and the funeral services were attended 
by a great concourse of mourning friends, and 
signal honors were paid to his memory by the 
officiating clergymen, and subsequently by the 
press and the various business, fraternal and 
social bodies with which the deceased had been 
identified. 



The name Thompson is an 
THOMPSON ancient one in England, 

Scotland and Ireland. In 
England the name was Tom son ; in Ireland it 
was Thompson ; and in the south of Scotland 
Thomson. The American ancestor of the fam- 
ily was born in the north of Wales near the 
border of Scotland and is considered a Scotch- 
man, although the signature to his will has 
the English spelling Tomson. The letter "p" 
was not introduced into the name by any of 
his descendants until a century and a half 
later. The fourth generation in America 
added an "h," making it Thomson, although 
many adhered to the original fqrm. In the 
fifth generation Thompson began to be used 
and is now the almost universal form, and 
will be used in this record as though that had 
been the original form. 

(I) Lieutenant John Thompson was born in 
Wales in 1616. Tradition says his father 
died soon after his birth and that his mother 
married again. He was but a lad when he 
was brought to America, not being more than 
seven years of age, probably coming in the 
ship, "Little James and Anne," which arrived 
at Plymouth in August, 1623, with sixty pas- 
sengers. Nothing is known of his youth, but 
after reaching manhood his career can be 
traced in full from Plymouth records. From 
his will it is learned he was a carpenter, and 
besides building for others he built a house for 
himself in each of the places where he settled 



572 



NEW YORK. 



and one each for his sons John and Jacob. In 
association with Richard Church, he built the 
first framed meeting house in Plymouth in 
1637. As compensation, the town gave a deed 
for a piece of land, now called Spring Hill. 
March 3, 1645, he purchased of Samuel Eddy 
a house and lot in Plymouth near Spring Hill 
and in December of that year was married. 
After removing to Sandwich he abandoned 
his trade and became a farmer. He purchased 
land in Nobscusset, where he lived several 
years, then removed thirteen miles west of 
Plymouth, where he made large purchases of 
land from Welispaquin, the Neponset Sachem. 
He built a log house on this purchase (Mid- 
dleborough). twenty rods west of the Ply- 
mouth line, where he lived until it was burned 
by the Indians. During King Philip's war 
he was appointed lieutenant commandant of 
a small company of men and rendered valu- 
able service. He was equipped with a gun, 
brass pistol, sword, and halberd, now to be 
seen in Plymouth at Pilgrim Hall. The whole 
length of the gun was seven feet four and 
one-half inches, using balls weighing twelve 
to the pound ; weight twenty pounds. The 
sword was three feet five and one-half inches. 
After the war was over John Thompson and 
the other families who had been driven from 
their homes returned. In 1677 he replaced the 
log house burned by the Indians with a frame 
dwelling thirty-eight feet front and thirty feet 
deep with loop holes and lined with brick. 
Here he lived the remainder of his life. This 
house was the residence of his descendants 
unto the fifth generation. It was taken down 
in 1838 after having been inhabited for one 
hundred and sixty years. John Thompson was 
constantly engaged in the public service. He 
was selectman many terms ; deputy to the gen- 
eral court from Middleborough term after 
term ; served on juries, committees, and per- 
formed many public duties. In the church he 
was a faithful, zealous worker, bringing his 
children up according to the strictest interpre- 
tation of the Scriptures. He died June 16, 
1696. aged nearly eighty years, and is buried 
in the first burying ground in Middleborough, 
where a stone marks his grave, bearing this 
inscription: "In Memory of Lieutenant John 
Thompson, who died June 16th ye 1696 in 
ye 80 years of his age. 

"This i< a debt to nature due 

Which I have paid and so must von." 



He married, December 26, 1645, Mary, born 
1626, died March 21, 17 14, in her eighty- 
eighth year (she is buried in the same burying 
ground as her husband), daughter of Francis 
Cooke, a Pilgrim Father, who came in the 
"Mayflower," in 1620. Her mother was Han- 
nah , whom Francis Cooke married in 

Holland. She followed her husband to Amer- 
ica in the ship "Ann." 1623. Francis Cooke 
was a very old man in 1650, "Saw his chil- 
dren's children have children." He died April 
7, 1663. Children of Lieutenant John and 
Mary (Cooke) Thompson: 1. Adam, died 
young. 2. John, born 1648, a carpenter by 
trade; married Mary, daughter of Benjamin 
Tinkham, the emigrant. He died November 
25, 1725; his wife in 1731. 3. Mary, born 
1650, married a Mr. Taber and settled near 
New Bedford. 4. Esther, born July 28, 1652, 
married Jonathan Reed. 5. Elizabeth, born 
January 28, 1654, married Thomas Swift and 
settled at Nobscusset. 6. Sarah, born April 7, 
1657, died unmarried. 7. Lydia, born October 
5, 1659, married James Soule. 8. Jacob, born 
April 24, 1662, a justice of the peace for many 
years ; married Abigail AYadsworth. 9. 
Thomas, born October 19, 1664, a farmer and 
glazier and the wealthiest man in Middlebor- 
ough ; married Mary Morton when he was 
fifty years old and she twenty-five. 10. Peter, 
of further mention. 11. Mercy, born 1671, 
died April 19, 1756. 

(II) Peter, son of Lieutenant John and 
Mary (Cooke) Thompson, was born in Mid- 
dleborough, Massachusetts. Married Rebecca 
Sturtevant.' Children: 1. Peter (2), born 
1700, died November 2, 1791 ; married ('first ) 
Hannah Bolton, (second) Lydia Cowin. 2. 
Joseph, of further mention. 3. James, died 
November 23, 1737, drowned in Crossman's 
pond in Kingston. 4. Hannah, married 
Nehemiah Bosworth. 

(III) Joseph, son of Peter and Rebecca 
(Sturtevant) Thompson, died July 1, 1778. He 
married Elizabeth, daughter of John and Ruth 
(Hooper) Bolton. Children: 1. Betty, mar- 
ried, 17(12. Nicholas Wade and lived in Hali- 
fax. 2. Joseph, died August, 1778. of small- 
pox, at Cambridge, while serving in the revo- 
lutionary army. 3. John, of further mention. 
4. Sarah, born April 17, 1744. married. 1767, 
Luther Keith, of Bridgewater, son of Ebenezer 
Keith. 5. Hannah, died in childhood. 

(IV) John (2), son of Joseph and Eliza- 
beth ( Bolton 1 Thompson, was born October 



NEW YORK. 



573 



14, 1737, died January 19, 1776. He resided 
for a time at Halifax, Massachusetts, then re- 
moved to Springfield, Vermont, thence to the 
town of Kingsboro, Fulton county, New York. 
He married Elizabeth Bisbee, born September 
20, 1741, daughter of John and Abiah (Bon- 
ney) Bisbee, of Pembroke, Massachusetts, a 
lineal descendant of Thomas Bisbee, who came 
to Scituate, Massachusetts, as early as 1634. 
Children: 1. John Bisbee, died in Vermont 
after the removal of his parents to New York 
state. 2. Peter, died unmarried ; a member of 
the Society of Friends. 3. Cynthia, died un- 
married. 4. James, died in middle age, unmar- 
ried. 5. William, of whom further. 6. Bar- 
zillai, went west. 7. Calvin, settled in Western 
New York. 8. Joseph. 9. Sarah, married 
Elijah Foster, and settled in Sherburne, New 
York. 10. Elizabeth, married Peletiah Shep- 
ard, of Kingsboro, Fulton county, New York. 
11. Lucinda, married Jacob Mead and settled 
in Palatine, New York. 12. Chloe, married 
Richard Horth, removed to Cattaraugus 
county, New York, after the death of her 
husband. 

(V) William, son of John (2) and Eliza- 
beth (Bisbee) Thompson, removed with his 
father to Kingsboro, Fulton county, New 
York, where he died. He married Belinda 
Reeve, a relative of Topping Reeve, of Litch- 
field, Connecticut, chief justice of the supreme 
court of Connecticut. Children: 1. Sarah, 
married a Mr. Rowe and removed to the Black 
River country in Northern New York, where 
she died soon after. 2. William, removed to 
the far west. 3. John, of whom further. 4. 
Abner, died in the town of Florida, Mont- 
gomery county, New York. 5. Belinda, mar- 
ried Abner Smith. 6. Mary, removed to Ohio. 
7. Eliza, married Josiah Houghton and settled 
in Ohio. 8. David, removed to Ohio. 

(VI) Rev. John (3) Thompson, son of Wil- 
liam and Belinda (Reeve) Thompson, was 
born in Kingsboro, Fulton county, New York, 
where he was educated in the public schools 
and prepared for college under the tutorship 
of Rev. Elijah Yale, D.D., his pastor. In 
1826 he was graduated from Middlebury Col- 
lege (Vermont). Having chosen the holy call- 
ing of a minister, he spent two years in prep- 
aration at Princeton (New Jersey) Theologi- 
cal Seminary. He was ordained a minister 
of the Gospel in September, 1828, and chose 
as his field of labor the missionary field. He 
was engaged in home missionary work and 



spent several years in Georgia among the In- 
dians of that state. Quitting the missionary 
field, he was engaged during his latter years 
in regular pastoral work, spending the last 
six years of his life as pastor of the Congre- 
gational Church at Winchester, New Hamp- 
shire, where he died April 3, 1846. He was 
a faithful servant of God and did much good 
for the cause he loved. He married, at Shore- 
ham, Vermont, November 28, 1828, Ruth 
Bateman Fosdick, born 1805, died August 3, 
1854, daughter of Mary (Bateman) Fosdick, 
and step-daughter of William Johnson, 
whose name she took. Children: 1. Mary 
Eliza, born December 1, 1829, married, Sep- 
tember 1, 1852, Solomon Burt Saxton, of 
Troy, New York, born January 31, 1827, in 
Willbraham, Massachusetts, son of Gordon 
Bliss and Philena Fletcher (Severance) Sax- 
ton, a lineal descendant of George Saxton, of 
Windsor and Westfield, Massachusetts, 1690. 
Children : Mary Lena and John Gordon. 
2. William Johnson, born October 7, 183 1, in 
Georgia, died in infancy. 3. Edwin J., born 
October 7, 1833, in Middlebury, Ohio. He 
was highly educated ; was for a number of 
years professor in the University of Minne- 
sota ; became a home missionary in Dakota ; 
removed to Salem, Oregon, and in 1887 was 
settled pastor of a church near Albany, Ore- 
gon; married. December 29, 1857, Ella Phelps 
Armstrong, of Shoreham, Vermont. Children : 
George Burt, Clara Ella, John, Mary Saxton, 
Anson Wingate, Annetta, Nellie and Edith. 
4. George Bates, of further mention. 

(VII) George Bates, youngest child of Rev. 
John (3) and Ruth Bateman (Fosdick) 
(Johnson ) Thompson, was born in Middle 
Granville, Washington county, New York, 
January 12, 1839. He was educated in the 
public schools, and began business life as book- 
keeper for the firm of Hamlin & Saxton, flour 
merchants, of Troy, New York, and pro- 
prietors of the Mt. Vernon Flour Mills. In 
a few years he purchased an interest in the 
company from Mr. Hamlin, the new firm be- 
ing Saxton & Thompson. The firm prospered 
and in 1867 purchased the Douglas Mills at 
Lockport, New York, Mr. Thompson settling 
in that city as manager of the firm's business 
and mills. He remained there until the death 
of his senior partner, Mr. Gordon B. Saxton, 
when he returned to Troy and continued the 
business until 1890, in association with his 
brother-in-law, Solomon Burt Saxton, under 



574 



NEW YORK. 



the firm name of Saxton & Thompson. On 
December 8, 1889, their mills were destroyed 
by fire. They did not rebuild but Mr. Thomp- 
son returned to Lockport where in February. 
1890, he organized The Thompson Milling- 
Company with mills at Lockport. He was 
elected the first president of the corporation 
and has continued at the head of this very 
successful company until the present time 
(1911). His natural business capacity, de- 
veloped by long years of experience, render 
him a most valuable head and while the en- 
thusiasm of youth has departed, in its stead 
is the matured mind and ripened judgment. 
His life has not been devoted solely to busi- 
ness, but a large share of it has been given to 
the cause of church and Christianity. He has 
always been an active worker in Sunday school 
and in all forms of church, educational and 
benevolent work. His membership is with the 
First Presbyterian Congregation of Lockport. 
In politics he is an Independent Republican. All 
forms of civic progress have been aided by him 
and a share of Lockport's progress may be 
credited to his efforts. 

He married (first) April 23, 1863. Marv 
Elizabeth, born August 14, 1842, in Troy, New 
York, died September 17, 1892, daughter of 
Lyman Avery, of Troy. He married (second) 
September 21, 1893, Helen Frances, daughter 
of Edwin C. and Mary Catherine (Gooding) 
Williamson. Children by first marriage: 1. 
George Lyman, born in Troy, December 9, 
1864, died June 23, 1866. 2. Alary Ruth, 
born June 16, 1867, in Troy, married Andrew 
L. Draper, of Troy, where they reside. 3. Ger- 
trude Elizabeth, born in Troy, August 10, 
1869, married Howard M. Whitbeck. 4. Grace 
Elizabeth, born November n. 1871, in Troy, 
died March 8. 1872. 5. Annie Sophia, born 
in Lansingburgh, August 21, 1873, married 
Arthur T. Poole. 6. Christine, born Decem- 
ber 25, 1874, in Lansingburgh, married Will- 
iam B. Smith. The married daughters all re- 
side in Lockport except Mary Ruth. Child of 
second marriage: 7. Helen Catherine, born 
August 19, 1903. 

(The Williamson Line). 
There are two separate lines of descent 
to the Williamsons of to-day, one Eng- 
lish, the other Dutch. Of the Dutch line 
Willem Willemsen. the American ances- 
tor, was born in Amsterdam, Holland, 
about the year 1637. He came to New Am- 



sterdam in 1657 ; settled at Gravesend, Long 
Island. He married Mayke Peterse Wychoff, 
of Gravesend, daughter of Pieter Claas 
Wychoff, who came in 1636. In the third 
generation this name became Williamson. A 
distinguished member of the fifth generation 
was Douw Ditmars Williamson, a militiaman 
during the war of 1812, as his father Nicholas 
had been a minute man during the revolution. 
Douw Ditmars Williamson was comptroller of 
New York City under several administrations ; 
for many years was president of the Farmers' 
Loan & Trust Company of New York and 
was an elder in the Collegiate Reformed Dutch 
Church. The English family descends from 
Timothy of Marshfield. Massachusetts, died in 
1676, soldier of King Philip's war, and is sup- 
posed to have been killed in either the Bridge- 
water or "Swamp Fight", July 31 or August 
1, 1676. Paul Williamson was of Ipswich. 
1635 ; Michael, of Ipswich, came in the 
"Planter," 1635 : William came in the "De- 
fence" in 1635, but their records are not to 
be found. Timothy was made a freeman of 
Plymouth Colony in 1647, but when he came 
is not recorded. He married, in Plymouth, 
June 6, 1653, Mary, daughter of the first Ar- 
thur Howland. Children: Mary, born 1654; 
Timothy, born 1655, died at age of twenty- 
seven years ; Joanna, born 1657 : Experience, 
Martha, Abigail. George, Nathan. Timothy 
Williamson died in Plymouth and was buried 
August 6, 1676. His wife survived him and 
married (second) January 22. 1680, Robert 
Stanford. 

(II) George, son of Timothy and Mary 
(Howland) Williamson, was born at Marsh- 
field. Masachusetts, about 1675. died at Mid- 
dleboro, Massachusetts. 1744: married Mary 
Crisp. 

(III) Caleb, son of George and Mary 
(Crisp) Williamson, was born at Harwich, 
Massachusetts, 1715, died at Canterbury, Con- 
necticut. August 9, 1795 : married, 1737, Sarah 
Ransom. 

(IV) George (2), son of Caleb and Sarah 
(Ransom) Williamson, was born January 15, 
1754, died October 10. 1&82; farmer: soldier 
of the revolution ; married, July 9, 1778, Mary 
Foster, born November 17, 1758, daughter of 
William and Hannah (Durkee) Foster. Her 
great-great-grandfather came from Exeter, 
England, to Ipswich, Massachusetts. 

i\ ') George (3). son of George (2), and 
Mary ( Foster) Williamson, was born in Can- 



NEW YORK. 



575 



terbury, Connecticut, 1780, settled in New 
York state. He married and had issue. 

(VI) James N., son of George (3) Will- 
iamson, was born in Stafford, Genesee county, 
New York. He first settled in Lockport, New 
York, from thence going to Paris, a town near 
Brantford, Province of Ontario, Canada, 
where he owned and operated a tannery. After 
several years in Canada, he returned to the 
states, locating in Chicago where he engaged 
in business, a wholesale fruit commission mer- 
chant. He remained in Chicago until after the 
death of his wife when he returned to Brant- 
ford, Canada, where he died about 1880. He 
married Sarah Walker, born in Vermont, died 
in Chicago, Illinois. Children who grew to 
years of maturity: 1. Edwin C, of further 
mention ; Frank, of Chicago ; Helen, married 
Frank C. Mather, of Chicago ; Frances, mar- 
ried Julius Waltrous, of Brantford. 

(VII) Edwin C, son of James N. and 
Sarah (Walker) Williamson, was born at Can- 
ning, Oxford county, Canada, August 15. 
1838, died in New York, October 23, 1897. 
He was educated in Lockport, New York, 
where he also studied pharmacy under Lock- 
port's most prominent pharmacist, Dr. Green. 
He later joined his father in Chicago and as- 
sociated with him in the wholesale fruit busi- 
ness. Later he became a traveling salesman ; 
retired from active business in 1887 ; died 1897. 
He married September 16, 1863, Mary 
Catherine Gooding, born in Lockport, August 
4, 1843, died April 29, 1895, in Buffalo, New 
York. 

'VIII) Helen Frances, daughter of Edwin 
C. and Mary Catherine ( Gooding) Williamson, 
was born December 7, 1869, in Chicago, Illi- 
nois. She married, September 21, 1893, 
George B. Thompson. Child, Helen Cather- 
ine, born August 19, 1903, at Lockport, New 
York. 



There are few names more 
THOMPSON common among the early 

settlers of New England 
than that of Thompson, most of whom came 
from London and Herefordshire, England, al- 
though others were of Scotch and Irish birth. 
The English Thompsons were probably re- 
lated. The principal early families were head- 
ed by David Thompson, who settled in Ports- 
mouth, New Hampshire, in 1622, and in 1623 
removed to an island in Boston Harbor that 
vet bears his name. Others of the name were : 



James Thompson, one of the first settlers of 
Woburn, Massachusetts, 1634; Major Robert 
Thompson, who resided in Boston in 1639, a 
man of great wealth and respectability ; Mau- 
rice Thompson, a merchant of London, gov- 
ernor of the East India Company, who es- 
tablished fisheries at Cape Ann, in 1639; Rev. 
William Thompson, who settled in Maine in 
1637 ; and Anthony Thompson, of New Haven, 
Connecticut, believed to be the ancestor of the 
Buffalo branch herein recorded. 

Anthony Thompson, with his wife, two chil- 
dren and two brothers, John and William, em- 
barked at London, on board the ship "Hector," 
in company with Theophilus Eaton, Rev. Mr. 
Davenport, and others, from Coventry, Eng- 
land. They arrived in Boston, June 26, 1637. 
They were Dissenters from the Church of 
England, and left home to enjoy quietly here 
the principles of their faith, as well as to avoid 
the constant persecutions, taxes and exactions 
which were so frequent during the reign of 
Charles I. The Davenport colony finally set- 
tled in Quinnipiac (New Haven). Anthony 
signed the colony constitution June 4, 1639. 
The Thompson brothers each secured grants 
of land. John lived in East Haven, where he 
died December 11, 1674. William and Anthony 
resided in New Haven all their lives, and died 
there. Anthony died March 23, 1647,, at 
which time he made a nuncupative will in pres- 
ence of Rev. John Davenport and Robert New- 
man, who afterward committed his instructions 
to writing and appeared before the proper 
officer to prove it. May 27, 1650. He be- 
queathed the lands which were set off to him 
originally, and the house he had built there- 
on, to his second son, John, other lands to his 
son Anthony (2), a certain sum to Bridget, 
daughter of his first wife, provided she mar- 
ried in accordance with the wishes of the dea- 
cons of the church, and the remainder of the 
estate to his second wife, Catherine, and to 
his three daughters by her, her share to con- 
tinue during her widowhood only, but as she 
married Nicholas Camp, July 14, 1652, the 
property reverted to the estate. John, son of 
Anthony, seems to have been a sea captain. 
He had a son Samuel who married, November 
14, 1695, Rebecca, daughter of Lieutenant- 
Governor Bishop. They lived at Beaver Ponds, 
now Westville, about two miles from New 
Haven. He was captain of the military in 
New Haven, and a healthy, active man when 
aged eighty-two years. He had eight chil- 



576 



NEW YORK. 



dren, all of whom lived to an advanced age 
except one who died in childhood. Some of 
them settled in Amenia, Dutchess county, New 
York, some in Goshen, and others in Derby, 
Connecticut. The sons of Samuel and Eliza- 
beth Bishop were Samuel (2), James, Amos, 
Gideon, Judah (died young), Judah (2), and 
Enos. Their daughter was Rebecca. One of 
these sons was the father of Captain and 
Major Jabez Thompson, of further mention. 
(V) Jabez, grandson of Samuel and Eliza- 
beth (Bishop) Thompson, was born in Con- 
necticut, settled in the town of Derby, and 
became a man of prominence. He was an offi- 
cer in the French war of 1655-63, serving with 
the colonial troops from Connecticut. He was 
selectman of Derby 1763-64, 1774-75. At a 
town meeting held at Derby, November 29, 
1774, after the "Boston Tea Party," to con- 
sider the proceedings of the Continental Con- 
gress held at Philadelphia, September 5, 1774, 
the plan of association recommended by that 
congress was approved and a committee of 
fourteen was appointed to see the same car- 
ried into execution. On this list the name of 
Major Jabez Thompson stands third. He was 
in command of the first troops sent from 
Derby immediately after the battle of Lexing- 
ton, and this company no doubt was engaged 
at Bunker Hill, June 17, 1775. His commis- 
sion, dated May 1, 1775, "in the fifteenth year 
of the reign of his Majesty King George the 
Third," from Jonathan Trumbull, captain gen- 
eral, etc., appointed him : "First major of the 
First Regiment of the Inhabitants inlisted and 
assembled for the special Defense and Safety 
of His Majesty's said Colony." He served on 
the "committee of inspection" of Derby, ap- 
pointed December 11, 1775 ; his name again ap- 
pears third in the list, but this time with the 
rank of colonel. Tradition says that he was kill- 
ed while in command of his troops on Long Isl- 
and, on the retreat of Washington's army, and 
that his body was buried with honor by the 
English officers who had been his companions 
in arms during the French war. Captain Ja- 
bez married, October 25, 1748, Sarah Gunn, 
of Waterbury, Connecticut. Children of rec- 
ord in Derby: Lois, born December 29, 1749; 
Anne, March 5, 1753; Sarah, February 21, 
1756; Jabez, of further mention; Eunice, Jan- 
uary 5, 1762. His grandson, Sheldon, wrote 
during his lifetime, "My grandfather Jabez 
Thompson, had two sons, Jabez and Abel, and 
six daughters." 



(VI) Jabez (2) son of Major Jabez (1), 
and Sarah (Gunn) Thompson, was born in 
Derby, Connecticut, January 7. 1759. He early 
began a seafaring life, which he continued un- 
til 1794, when he was lost at sea, with his 
eldest son. He was also a ship owner, and 
sailed his last voyage in command of his own 
vessel. He was engaged in the West Indies 
trade, and after sailing on his last trip neither 
he nor his vessel were ever heard of again. 
He was a man of high character, and held in 
universal esteem, as is attested by an oration 
delivered December 23, 1794, on his life and 
service, delivered before King Hiram Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, at Derby, of which 

he was a member. He married Cur- 

tiss, daughter of Oliver and Hannah (Clark) 
Curtiss. Hannah was a daughter of William 
and Hannah Clark, who came to Derby about 
1735, from Lyme, Connecticut. Hannah, wife 
of William Clark, died September, 1801, aged 
ninety-one years. Her lineal descendants, at 
the time of her death, were three hundred and 
thirty-three, viz. : ten children, sixty-two grand- 
children, two hundred and forty-two great- 
grandchildren and nineteen great-great-grand- 
children. Children of Jabez Thompson (2) : 
Jabez, lost at sea ; William ; Sheldon, of fur- 
ther mention; Curtiss, Polly, Sally, Betsey, 
Harry. 

(VII) Sheldon, son of Jabez (2) Thomp- 
son, was born at Derby, Connecticut, July 2, 
1785. By the sudden death of his father his 
mother was left with a large family of chil- 
dren, most of them small. The greater part 
of the property was lost by the sinking of the 
ship and cargo, only a small farm being left. 
The eldest surviving son was a sailor, and it 
became necessary for the boys to shift for 
themselves, leaving the farm for the mother 
and daughters. Hence Sheldon, at the age of 
ten years, went to sea as a cabin boy under the 
charge of his brother William, then master of 
a vessel. In 1798, during our difficulties with 
France, he was in the West Indies, where he 
was taken prisoner, conveyed to Guadaloupe, 
and confined for several months. He rose 
rapidly from a sailor, before the mast to the 
command of a fine ship, the "Keziah," in the 
West Indies trade, at the age of twenty-four 
years. In 1810 he abandoned the sea and 
came to Lewiston, New York, with Jacob 
Townsend and Alvin Bronson. The British 
orders in council, with Bonaparte's Berlin and 
Milan Decrees, make the high seas unsafe for 



NEW YORK. 



577 



merchantmen, neutral rights not being re- 
spected by either England or France. These 
three men, all sea captains, decided to abandon 
the sea and take to the Great Lakes. Co- 
partnership articles were drawn up, providing 
that the firm should be Townsend, Bronson 
& Company ; that it should continue four 
years ; that each should contribute all his capi- 
tal and his whole time, and that the purpose 
of the copartnership should be transacting busi- 
ness in the state of New York and elsewhere 
of a mercantile nature, in the various branches 
of vending goods, shipbuilding and coasting 
on Lakes Erie and Ontario, and any other 
business in which the partners collectively 
might judge best to engage. In March, 1810, 
Bronson cut the frame for a schooner of one 
hundred tons, and had the vessel built at Os- 
wego Falls. She was called the "Charles and 
Ann," and in the fall of 1810 was running un- 
der command of John Hull. Mr. Thomp- 
son took the carpenters, as soon as the first 
vessel was finished, to the Niagara River, 
above the Falls, built the schooner "Catherine," 
at Cayuga creek, the same spot where La 
Salle had built the "Griffin," the first vessel 
that ever navigated Lake Erie, one hundred 
and thirty-two years before. The "Catherine" 
was completed and in commission in June, 
i8ii." Both vessels figured as United States 
gunboats during the war of 18 12. In addition 
to the coasting trade of the Lakes, the firm 
established two stores, one at Lewiston, con- 
ducted by Townsend & Thompson, and one at 
Oswego, conducted by Bronson. Their princi- 
pal trade for two years preceeding the war was 
the transportation of Onondaga salt for the 
lake and Pittsburgh markets. In addition to 
this they transported stores for the military 
posts, the Indian annuities, the American Fur 
Company's goods and peltries, and provisions 
for the frontier settlements. In this day of 
rapid transit the route these goods took is 
full of interest. They came by sloops up the 
Hudson to Albany, thence by portage to 
Schenectady, then shipped on the Mohawk- 
river boats to Rome, thence by canal into 
Wood Creek, through Oneida Lake and down 
Oswego river to the Falls of the Oswego, 
where there was a portage of one mile, and fin- 
ally taking a smaller class of boats to Oswego. 
Here goods destined for the upper coun- 
try took schooners for Lewiston, where they 
were transported by teams to Schlosser, where 
they again took flatboats to Black Rock, there 



took vessel, and aided by what Mr. Thompson 
called a "horn breeze" (a team of several yoke 
of oxen) stemmed the current of the Niagara 
river to Lake Erie. 

Sheldon Thompson married, April 6, 181 1, 
a daughter of Benjamin Barton, of Lewiston. 
Barton was born in Sussex county, New Jer- 
sey, in 1771, went to Geneva, New York, in 
1788, was married at Canandaigua, New York, 
in 1729, and removed to Lewiston in 1807. He 
was a surveyor by profession, and surveyed 
much of the "mile" frontier. In 1805 he at- 
tended the sale of the "Mile Strip" on the 
Niagara river, held in the surveyor general's 
office at Albany. Here he met Judge and Gen- 
eral Porter on the same errand, and continued 
with them in the purchase of several farm lots, 
including the property around the Falls, and 
bid off at public auction the landing places at 
Lewiston and Schlosser, for which they re- 
ceived a lease for twelve or thirteen years. In 
1806, under the firm name of Porter, Bar- 
ton & Company, they commenced the carry- 
ing trade around Niagara Falls, and formed 
the first regular line of forwarders that ever 
did business from tidewater to Lake Erie. 
Benjamin Barton died at Lewiston in 1842, 
aged seventy-two years. The two firms be- 
ing now connected by marriage, formed a more 
or less intimate connection in business. They 
co-operated in their undertakings, harmonized 
in the main, and conducted almost the entire 
commerce of the lakes. Townsend, Bronson 
& Company did the carrying trade to Lewis- 
ton ; Porter, Barton & Company received the 
profits for the portage from Lewiston to 
Schlosser, and both firms were interested in 
the development o'f the business beyond that 
point. The war of 1812 now came on, spread- 
ing desolation and ruin along the northern 
frontier. The letters of Sheldon Thompson to 
his partners give a graphic picture of the 
anxieties and perplexities of the times. It was 
necessary to again and again remove goods 
to places of safety, sickness was prevalent, 
deaths were frequent, there was dissension 
among our own troops, and no one felt safe. 
The culminating point was in December, 1813, 
when the British advanced on Fort Niagara, 
destroyed Lewiston, and devastated the border 
as far as Buffalo, which was burnt. Two let- 
ters announce these events: 

Lewiston, December 17, 1S13. 
Mr. Townsend : 
Dear Sir: I have but one moment to inform you 



5/8 



NEW YORK. 



that Fort George is evacuated and Newark burned. 
We have but about three hundred troops on this 
frontier. We momentarily expect an attack, but 
where we cannot say. but it is generally believed on 
Fort Niagara. I am now moving out our goods, 
eight or ten miles. Harry has gone West. I am 
very anxious for you to return. 

Yours in haste, 

S. Thompson. 

The second letter was posted in Geneva, 
January 6: 

Mr. Townsend : 

Dear Sir : I am happy to have it in my power to 
inform you that our lives have all been spared. They 
have burnt everything belonging to us, except about 
one-third of our dry goods. I hope you will make 
all possible speed to get to me at this place, as I 
am about beat out. Our goods are scattered from 
this, to John Jones. I am getting them on this far 
as fast as possible. I got nothing of any amount 
from my house. Had I been ten minutes later I 
should have fallen into the hands of the Indians, 
together with my family. You will have the good- 
ness to inform my friends that we are all well. 
Yours in haste, 

S. Thompson. 

N. B. — Our buildings on the farm were all burnt. 

After the war closed and shattered homes 
and fortunes were being rebuilt, the two carry- 
ing firms formed in 1816 or 1817 a branch 
firm at Black Rock, Porter, Barton & Com- 
pany furnishing Nathaniel Sill, Townsend, 
Barton & Company, Sheldon Thompson, as 
managers, under the firm name of Sill, Thomp- 
son & Company. Mr. Thompson then changed 
his residence from Lewiston to Black Rock. 
The original firm continued in business until 
1 82 1, Sill, Thompson & Company until 1824. 
S. C. Townsend wrote of the former firm: 

Having had access to the correspondence of the 
partners of the firm of Townsend, Bronson and 
Company, during the eleven years of its existence, 
and having been four years in their employ, it is a 
source of pride and pleasure to be able to say, I 
have never found a word savoring of a desire, by 
fraud or trickery, to obtain an advantage of any 
party. 

When the question whether Black Rock or 
Buffalo should be the western terminus of the 
Erie canal, Mr. Thompson was active in his 
efforts to have the canal stop at Black Rock. 
He was in charge of the construction of the 
harbor and pier at that place, hoping that the 
work would decide the question. When it was 
finally settled at a meeting of the canal com- 
missioners at the Eagle Tavern in Buffalo, in 
the summer of 1822, that the canal should con- 
tinue to Buffalo, he at once saw that the com- 



mercial supremacy of Buffalo was assured. ] 
The same night of the decision he sent his 1 
younger brother Harry on horseback to 
Batavia. There early the next morning, as 
soon as the office of the Holland Land Com- 
pany was opened, Harry purchased and en- 
tered for his brother the land where the Reed 
Elevator now stands. About this time the 
firm of Sheldon Thompson & Company was 
formed, with principal office in Buffalo, con- 
fining the freight forwarding business of its 
predecessors. Mr. Thompson was a great 
friend of the canal, and went east on the first 
boat, to assist in mingling the waters of Lake 
Erie with the waters of the Atlantic. His firm 
owned a small line of canal boats in 1825, be- 
ing one of the first organized lines. This line 
was called at first the Troy and Black Rock 
Line, having its terminus at Black Rock. In 
1826 the terminus was changed to Buffalo, and 
the name changed to the Troy and Erie Line. 
This line grew to be one of the most im- 
portant on the canal. Their boats were built 
with large cabins, carrying from one 
hundred to one hundred and fifty pas- 
sengers, mostly western bound emigrants, 
and two hundred and fifty barrels of 
flour : and constituted regular lines of pas- 
senger packets and of freight boats. The firm 
was also largely instrumental in the early de- 
velopment of steam navigation on the lakes. 
The first two steamboats. "The Walk-in-the- 
Water" and the "Superior," were built by Al- 
bany parties. The "Pioneer" the third steam- 
boat on the lakes, was built by Sheldon Thomp- 
son & Company in 1823, and was a great suc- 
cess. The "Sheldon Thompson" was built at 
Huron, in Ohio, by the same firm, in 1828, 
and was long one of the prominent boats on 
the lakes. Mr. Thompson removed his resi- 
dence to Buffalo in 1830. His firm and that 
of 'Townsend & Coit were for some years the 
principal forwarders. In 1836 the two were 
consolidated under the name Coit, Kimberly 
& Company, the two senior partners. Sheldon 
Thompson and Judge Townsend. retiring into 
the background. 

Mr. Thompson was prominent in most of 
the early enterprises of Buffalo. He was one 
of a copartnership that bought, laid out and 
developed Ohio City, now a portion of the 
city of Cleveland, and also did the same with 
Manhattan, on the Maumee river, an early 
rival of Toledo. He was one of a large land 
company that entered large tracts of land in 



NEW YORK. 



579 



Wisconsin, embracing Milwaukee, Green Bay, 
Sheboygan, the mining regions in Iowa county, 
and other portions of the state. He was one 
of the men of Buffalo who bought out the as- 
sets of the branch United States Bank, one of 
the largest individual investments of the day, 
but which did not result very successfully. He 
finally retired from active business about 1845 
and occupied himself with the management of 
his estate, then of goodly proportions as the 
result of long years of industry and care. 
While he was an active, public-spirited and 
patriotic citizen he was never a politician. Buf- 
falo was created a city in 1832, and for eight 
years the mayor was elected by the common 
council. In the spring of 1840 the first elec- 
tion was held under the law of 1840, by which 
mayors of cities were elected by the people. 
The Whigs nominated Sheldon Thompson, the 
Democrats George P. Barker, one of the most 
popular and brilliant men who ever graced a 
city. The biographer of Mr. Barker, in speak- 
ing of the difficulties of his canvass, says : 
"Added to this, the opposition put in nomina- 
tion their strongest .man, one whose residence 
was coeval with the first settlement of the 
country, whose acquaintances and connections 
were extensive, and whose wealth and weight 
of character added great strength." He fur- 
ther says: "It was without doubt the most se- 
vere contest ever known at our charter elec- 
tions. The friends of each candidate exerted 
themselves to the utmost. Few general elec- 
tions have ever been so warmly contested. The 
eyes of the city, indeed of Western New York, 
were centered upon the issue." The result 
was: Sheldon Thompson, 1135; George P. 
Barker, 1125. Sheldon Thompson therefore 
was accordingly the first mayor of Buffalo 
elected by the people. He filled the position 
with credit, and never again was a candidate 
for office. (It is a coincidence that his old 
partner, Alvin Bronson, was the first mayor 
of Oswego, New York.) 

Mr. Thompson was reared an Episcopalian, 
and never wavered in his allegiance to that 
faith. When the first movement was made for 
the foundation of a parish in Buffalo, he was 
one of those most active and interested, al- 
though at the time a resident of Black Rock. 
February 10, 1817, a meeting was held at the 
house of Elias Ransom, northeast corner of 
Main and Huron streets, in Buffalo, at which 
St. Paul's parish was organized. Mr. Thomp- 
son was chosen a member of the first vestry. 



He continued in this service for many years, 
until he voluntarily retired in favor of younger 
men. His bust in marble on the walls of the 
present St. Paul's Church commemorates the 
fact that he was "One of the founders of the 
parish and a member of the first vestry." He 
died at Buffalo, Thursday, March 13, 185 1. 
His decease was followed by many warm ex- 
pressions of regret and admiration. The com- 
mon council of Buffalo, the vestry of St. 
Paul's, and many other bodies, passed appro- 
priate resolutions. All emphasized his sturdy 
honesty and uprightness. From the most 
widely copied and approved eulogy the follow- 
ing is taken: 

He possessed many noble traits of character, 
which will be long treasured up in the memory of 
those who knew him. His intercourse with the 
younger portion of the community was of the kind- 
est and most agreeable character, and by them he 
was looked up to with affectionate regard. He was 
quick to discern merit, and prompt to extend to it 
a generous aid. We give expression to a fact 
known to so many of our readers when we say 
that he aided in the establishing of more young 
men in business in Buffalo than any other individual 
in the city. During the brief illness that preceded 
his death, he exhibited the same equanimity and 
cheerfulness of temper that were prominent traits 
in his character. He retained perfect consciousness 
to the last, and surrounded by his children and 
relatives, died without a struggle. He was indus- 
trious, temperate and cheerful, capable of great en- 
durance, and quick of resource. While not witty, 
he was full of humor, ready and apt in reply. He 
bore reverses with equanimity, and carried himself 
with steady courage, loyalty and honesty. From a 
humble beginning he achieved for himself a career 
of usefulness and prominence ; through a long and 
eventful life he bore his name without a stain ; he 
did his duty to himself, his family and the com- 
munity; and he died loved and mourned. 

Sheldon Thompson married, April 6, 1811, 
Catherine Barton, born August 31, 1793, died 
at Buffalo, May 8, 1832, daughter of Benja- 
min Barton of Lewiston, New York. Chil- 
dren: r. Sally Ann, died at Buffalo, April 15, 
1839; married Henry K. Smith, a prominent 
lawyer. 2. Agens Latta, married Edward S. 
Warren, a lawyer now deceased. (See War- 
ren.) 3. Laititia Porter, married Henry K. 
Viele, a lawyer now deceased. 4. Augustus 
Porter, of further mention. 

(VIII) Augustus Porter, son of Sheldon 
and Catherine (Barton) Thompson, was born 
at Black Rock, Erie county, New York, Feb- 
ruary 14, 1825, when that settlement was still 
a strong rival of Buffalo, and died in Decem- 
ber, 191 1. He was educated in private schools 



5 8o 



NEW YORK. 



in Buffalo and the academies at Lewiston and 
Canandaigua, New York. After completing 
his studies he began his business career as 
clerk in his father's establishment, spending 
several years and acquiring a thorough knowl- 
edge of business principles and methods. On 
arriving at legal age he was admitted a partner 
in the firm of Thompson & Company, manu- 
facturers of white lead, continuing with that 
firm until i860, when he associated himself 
with Edward S. Warren and DeGarmo Jones, 
and built a large anthracite blast furnace, the 
second of its kind in Buffalo. Later these two 
furnaces were united under the name of the 
Buffalo Union Iron Works. Later a third 
furnace was built and one of the largest roll- 
ing mills ever erected up to that time. In 
1866 Mr. Thompson retired from the company 
and returned to his former business. He pur- 
chased an interest in the lead works of S. 
G. Cornell & Son, which later was incorpo- 
rated as the Cornell Lead Company. Mr. 
Thompson was vice-president and later presi- 
dent of the company, holding the latter office 
until 1887, when the business was absorbed 
by the National Lead Company. From that 
time until his death he was manager of the 
works known as the Buffalo branch. He 
capably administered the duties of his posi- 
tion, as his long tenure of office testified. He 
also had other and numerous outside business 
interests. He was for some years cashier 
of the Buffalo City Bank and a member of 
the board of directors. He was a member of 
the board of directors of the company that 
built the railway on Niagara street in i860. 
In the line of public spirit and education he 
was always active, and bore well his part. He 
was a member of the Buffalo Historical So- 
ciety, life member of the Buffalo Library 
and Buffalo Fine Arts Academy, and 
Buffalo College of Science. He was a warden 
of St. Paul's Episcopal Church, of which his 
father was a founder, and a trustee of St. 
Margaret's School, Buffalo. Politically he 
was a life-long Republican. 

He married, June 9, 1853, Matilda Cass 
Jones, born May 24, 1833, died May, 1895, 
daughter of Colonel DeGarmo and Catherine 
Anna (Cass) Jones, of Detroit. Children : 1. 
Sheldon, born May 26, 1854; married, January 
11, 1888, Fanny Moulton ; child: Sheldon (2), 
born January 3, 1890. 2. DeGarmo, born Au- 
gust 28. 1856; died April 14, 1857. 3. Cath- 
erine, born March 5, 1858; married. January 



5, 1882, W. T. Miller, born May 31, 1851 ; 
children; Katherine T., born October 15, 1882; 
Alice T., May 14, 1884. 4. Alice, born July 
31, i860. 5. Agnes, born January 24, 1863; 
married, June 8, 1893, Frank Talcott : chil- 
dren: Porter T., born March 11, 1894; Frank 
Squire, November 24, 1897; Esther Belden 
March 1, 1901 ; Ruth, April 15, 1904. 6. Au- 
gustus Annin, born July 18, 1865 ; married, 
February 25, 1888, Marian Armstrong; child: 
Geraldine, born July 22, 1891. 7. Laititia, born 
September 21, 1867; married, June 8, 1893, 
Grosvenor A. Gowans ; children : Gladys, born 
February 28, 1894 ; John, September 28, 1899. 
8. Edward Warren, December 5, 1869, died 
December, 1905. 9. Clara Barton, July 15, 
1872, died January 9, 1901. 10. Albert Steele, 
born October 13, 1874; married November 19, 
1901, Louise Foster; children: Augustus Por- 
ter (2), born November 23, 1902, died Feb- 
ruary 18, 1904; Eliot Pierrepont, born De- 
cember 13, 1904; Albert Porter, December 1, 
1906. 11. Matilda Jones, born June 1, 1876; 
married, September 20, 1905. Augustus Mc- 
Nair, born November 18, 1886. • 



Edward Jackson, immigrant 
JACKSON ancestor, was born in London, 
England, about 1602, accord- 
ing to his gravestone. He was the son of 
Christopher Jackson, and was baptized Feb- 
ruary 3, 1604. He lived at Whitechapel. where 
he followed the trade of nailmaker. His first 
wife's name was Frances, by whom he had 
four sons and four daughters. There is a 
tradition in the family that their youngest son, 
Sebas, was born on the passage to this coun- 
try, and if so the wife Frances died on the 
passage or soon after their arrival here. He 
married (second) March, 1649, Elizabeth, 
daughter of John Newgate, and widow of Rev. 
John Oliver, Harvard College, 1645, the first 
minister of Rumney Marsh, Chelsea. He had 
four daughters and one son by the second 
wife. 

He purchased land in Cambridge village of 
Samuel Holley in 1643, and in 1645 took the 
freeman's oath. In 1646 he purchased a farm 
in the same place of five hundred acres, long 
known as the Mayhew farm. This farm had 
belonged originally to Thomas Mayhew, of 
Watertown. and had been bought from him by 
Governor Bradstreet, who in turn sold it to 
Edward Jackson. It commenced near what 
is now the division line between Xewton and 



NEW YORK. 



58i 



Brighton, and extended westward, including 
what is now Newtonville. The original house 
was built before 1638 and stood until 1708. 
Edward Jackson was a deputy to the general 
court in 1647 and was elected annually to that 
office for seventeen years ; chairman of a com- 
mittee to lay out highways in 1653; selectman 
of Cambridge in 1665 ; commissioner to end 
small causes for several years. He was con- 
stantly associated with Rev. John Eliot in his 
work with the Indians. He was one of the 
proprietors and in the division of common 
lands in 1662 he had four acres ; in 1664 thirty 
acres. He was also a large proprietor in the 
Billerica lands, and in the division of 1652 he 
had four hundred acres which by his will he 
gave to Harvard College. In 1678 he was 
the author and first signer of a petition to the 
general court, asking that Cambridge village 
might be set off from Cambridge and made an 
independent town. In "Captain Edward John- 
son's History of New England" he is classed 
.among the leading men of the time. He died 
June 17, 1681. His inventory contained over 
sixteen hundred acres of land and amounted to 
£2,477, 19s. 6d. It also included two men 
servants, valued at five pounds each. He was 
probably the first slaveholder in Newton. His 
wife survived him for twenty-eight years, and 
died September 30, 1709. Children of first 
wife, born in London: Israel, baptized March 
9, 1631, died young; Margaret, baptized Jan- 
uary 1, 1633; Hannah, baptized May 1, 1634; 
Rebecca, baptized October 12, 1636; Caleb, 
baptized October 10, 1638; Joseph, baptized 
September 13, 1639; Frances, died in Cam- 
bridge, 1648 ; Jonathan ; Sebas (mentioned be- 
low). Children of second wife: Sarah, born 
July 11, 1650; Edward, December 15, 1652; 
Lydia, 1656; Elizabeth, April 28, 1658; Ruth, 
January 15, 1664. 

(II) Sebas son of Edward Jackson, is 
thought to have been born on the passage to 
this country, as his name is sometimes spelled 
Seaborn. He married Sarah, daughter of 
Thomas Baker, of Roxbury, April 9, 1671. 
He received from his father by will the house 
in which his father lived with one hundred and 
fifty acres adjoining his own homestead. The 
old house was eighteen feet by twenty-two, 
built about 1670 and torn down in i8o9. He 
died December 6, 1690. His wife Sarah died 
March 25, 1728, aged eighty-four. He left 
a will giving all his estate to his wife for her 
maintenance and the well bringing up of his 



children, and assigning portions to his chil- 
dren in case of her marriage or death. Chil- 
dren: Edward (mentioned below), Sebas, 
March 12, 1673, died young; John, March 1, 
1675; Sarah, November 8, 1680; Elizabeth, 
March 2, 1683; John, March 15, 1685; Jona- 
than, September 10, 1686; Mary, December 
27, 1687; Joseph, March 6, 1690. 

(III) Edward (2), son of Sebas Jackson, 
was born at Newton, September 12, 1672. He 
gave half his homestead in Newton, sixty 
acres that he had from his father, to his son 
Edward in 1734, and the other half that he 
had from his father to his son Michael, the 
house and seven acres. He died intestate; 
March 27, 1748; his wife in 1753, aged eighty- 
eight years. He married Mary ■ — . Chil- 
dren : Experience, born August 9, 1696; Ed- 
ward (mentioned below) ; Isaac, February 2, 
1701 ; Sarah, October 8, 1703 ; Sebas, April 20, 
1706; Michael, February 28, 1709; Jonathan, 
June 25, 1713; Anna, August, 1714. 

(IV) Edward (3), son of Edward (2) 
Jackson, was born October 1, 1698, and died 
July 1, 1738. His widow and Isaac Jack- 
son were administrators of his estate and the 
inventory amounted to ^560. His son Abraham 
took the land on the south side of the high- 
way and paid his brothers and sisters and heirs 
of his brother Jonathan, deceased. He mar- 
ried Abigail Gale, who married (second) 
Joseph Morse. Children : Abraham (men- 
tioned below); Jonas, born March 12, 1723; 
Edward, October 28, 1724; Joshua, April 26, 
1726; Jonathan, April 29, 1727; Ephraim, Oc- 
tober 12, 1729; Mary, October 25, 1731 ; 
Sarah, January 5, 1734; Samuel, April 16, 
I 737> Jonathan, September 29, 1740. 

(V) Abraham, son of Edward (3) Jack- 
son, was born December 4, 1722. He was a 
blacksmith by trade. He and his family moved 
to Brookline and were warned out there. He 
married (first) November, 1744, Mary Hyde, 
who died in 1768. He married (second) 
1769, Widow Margaret Marean. He married 
(third) Widow Hannah Woodward, of Brook- 
line. Children by first wife: Abraham (men- 
tioned below) ; Esther, born December 3, 
1748; Sarah, August 5, 1750; Thaddeus, 1752; 
Jesse, April 13, 1754; Nathan, February 19, 
1758; Asa, November 21, 1761 ; Ezra; Mary; 
Molly. Child by second wife : Royal, 1773. 

(VI) Abraham (2), son of Abraham (1) 
Jackson, was born at Newton, March 1, 1746. 
He was a ship builder. He settled in New- 



582 



NEW YORK. 



buryport about 1773. He married Mary 

. Children, born at Newburyport : 

Samuel, baptized October 10, 1773; Nathaniel 
(mentioned below); Anne, baptized July 4, 
1777; Polly, baptized December 28, 1779, 
Henry, baptized October 1, 1783; Charlotte, 
baptized October 31, 1787. 

(VIIl Nathaniel, son of Abraham (2) 
Jackson, was born at Newburyport. October 
: 3' *775- He married Joanna Todd, at Got- 
tenberg, Sweden, of Scottish extraction. He 
was a mariner. Children, born at Newbury- 
port : Mary Jane, born August 29, 1810; 
Thomas ; Joanna Henrietta, baptized Novem- 
ber 2j, 1825; living at Newburyport (1911) : 
Nathaniel James (mentioned below); Corne- 
lius. 

(VIII) General Nathaniel James Jackson, 
son of Nathaniel Jackson, was born at New- 
buryport, July 18, 1818. He was educated in 
the public schools. He was active during the 
civil war, supporting the government. In 1861 
he was living at Lewiston, Maine, and was 
colonel of the First Maine Regiment, which 
enlisted for three months. After this period 
of service he was commissioned colonel of the 
Fifth Maine Regiment of Volunteer Infantry, 
and continued in the service. He was wound- 
ed in the right arm by a shell at Gaines Mill, 
May 31, 1861, and in the right knee by a 
musket ball at the battle at Campton Pass. 
He was promoted to the rank of brigadier- 
general, September 24, 1862, and placed in 
command of the Second Brigade, Second Di- 
vision, Twelfth Army Corps, October 10, 
1862. He accidentally broke his leg while on 
the way to headquarters with a despatch, and 
during his convalescence was placed in com- 
mand of the department rendezvous at Hart's 
Island, August 14, 1863. He took command 
of the First Division, Twentieth Army Corps, 
at Atlanta, Georgia, November 11. 1864, and 
took part in Sherman's "March to the Sea," 
being at the siege of Bentonville, North Caro- 
lina, March 21, 1865, at the last battle of the 
war. He was commissioned major-general, 
March 23, 1S65, and mustered out in June, 
1865, after the war was ended. He died at 
Jamestown, New York, April 21, 1872. 

He married, about 1845, J"Ha Ann, daugh- 
ter of Timothy H. and Mary (Polly) (Bond) 
Longley (see Longley Bond, VII). Her 
father's brother was a soldier in the revolu- 
tion. Children: James Henry, born February 
9, 1847: hotel proprietor at Jamestown and a 



successful business man ; Charles Edward, 
February 8, 1849; George Augustus (men- 
tioned below). 

( IX 1 George Augustus, son of General Na- 
thaniel James Jackson, was born September 8, 
185 1. He attended the public schools and the 
Waverly Academy at Waverly, New York, 
from which he was graduated in 1867. He be- 
came clerk of the Sherman House at James- 
town, New York, when a young man. in 1887, 
and held this responsible position for ten years 
under the proprietorship of Murphy & Wade. 
Thence he went to Ridgway. Pennsylvania, as 
manager of the Hyde House. At the end of 
ten years he retired from active business. In 
politics he is a Republican, but he has never 
held public office or sought public distinction. 
He is a member of Jamestown Lodge, Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, and is a 
communicant of the Protestant Episcopal 
church of Jamestown. He is unmarried. 

(The Bond Line). 
In the time of Edward the Confessor several 
Bond families held estates in England in the 
counties of Cornwall, Essex, Kent, Hants, 
Berks, Bedford, Suffolk, Gloucester, North- 
ampton and York. The common tradition is 
that three brothers of the Bond family came 
to New England. Thomas, of Virginia or 
Maryland. John of Newbury, Massachusetts, 
Ohio and Michigan, and William, of Water- 
town, Massachusetts, the progenitor of most 
of the New England families of the name of 
Bond. 

(I) Jonas Bond, of Bury St. Edmunds, 

County Suffolk. England, married Rose . 

He probably moved to Bury St. Edmunds 
after the birth of his second child from Haw- 
ley or Woolpit, where he owned houses ac- 
cording to his will. His wife's name was per- 
haps Wood. He was buried August 5, 1601. 
Children: Oliver, the "eldest son;" John, "the 
elder :" John "the younger," baptized Decem- 
ber 26, 1 591 ; Bartholomew ; William, bap- 
tized December 28. 1595: Thomas (mentioned 
below); Elizabeth, baptized March 12, 1599; 
Margaret, baptized December 10, 1600. 

(II) Thomas, son of Jonas Bond, was bap- 
tized September 8, 1597. His father left him 
in his will the house at Woolpit. He was a 
maltster at Bury St. Edmunds. His will was 
dated November 5. 1658. and proved March 
10, 1659, at the prerogative court of Canter- 
burv in London. He married Elizabeth . 



NEW YORK. 



583 



Children and dates of baptism: Thomas, Sep- 
tember 22, 1622 ; John, February 5, 1624 ; Will- 
iam (mentioned below) ; Henry, April 5, 1628; 
Elizabeth, March 12, 1630: Francis, May 31, 
1632; Mary, January 31, 1636; Jonas, August 
5. 1638. 

(III) William, son of Thomas Bond, was 
the immigrant ancestor. He was baptized at 
Bury St. Edmunds, September 3, 1625, and 
died December 14, 1695, intestate, his widow 
surviving him about twenty-five years. It is 
probable that he came to New England when 
very young, in 1630, with Deacon Ephraim 
Child, who is thought to have married his fa- 
ther's sister Elizabeth. The first record of 
him is his marriage in 1649-50, but in a de- 
position that he made when aged fifty-five he 
declared that he had lived in Watertown "fifty 
years agoe" and knew the land well. On 
March 15, 1654-55. Mr. Knowles deeded his 
estate in Watertown for £200 to him, and the 
descendants of William Bond held the land 
for more than one hundred and seventy years. 
He held many public positions and often was 
employed to take inventories, write wills and 
deeds, and settle estates. He served as select- 
man, town clerk, captain, justice of the peace, 
and as a member of the council of safety in 
16S9 : he often represented Watertown ; he 
was elected speaker of the general court in 
1691-02-93-95, the first one under the new 
royal charter uniting Plymouth and Massa- 
chusetts Bay. He was made freeman, Octo- 
ber 11, 1682, and was admitted to the church 
in full communion, March 27, 1687. He was 
on a committee to rebuild Lancaster which the 
Indians had destroyed, October 7, 1679. He 
was on a committee to order and regulate all 
matters concerning the settlement of Worces- 
ter, June 10, 1686. 

He married (first) February 7, 1649-50, 
Sarah, daughter of Nathaniel Biscoe, "the 
rich tanner" of Watertown, and she died in 
February. 1692-93, ("lay dead 15th"). He 
married (second) in the spring of 1695, Mrs. 
Elizabeth Nevinson, widow of John Nevinson, 
of Watertown. Children by first wife: Will- 
iam, born December 1, 1650; John, December, 
1652; Thomas, December 23, 1654; Elizabeth, 
November 30, 1656; Nathaniel, January 19, 
1658-59: Nathaniel, January 9, 1659-60; 
Sarah, July 27, 1661 ; Jonas (mentioned be- 
low) ; Mary. 

(IV) Colonel Jonas (2) Bond, son of Will- 
iam Bond, was born July 13, 1664. For more 



than twenty-four years he was a justice of the 
peace, and because of the large number of wed- 
dings he officiated at he was called sometimes 
the "marrying Squire." He served many times 
as representative to the general court. He 
went with the military force under Sir Will- 
iam Phipps to Canada in 1690. He was on the 
committee appointed by the governor as "com- 
missioners of sewers," June 19, 1721. He was 
a lieutenant-colonel of the militia. On his 
gravestone is a long inscription, part of which 
says: "who was a kind husband, a tender 
father, a steady friend, and a hearty lover of 
good -men." He died, according to the grave- 
stone, April 21, 1727. He was married (first) 
by his father, January 29, 1688-89, to Grace 
Coolidge, who was admitted to the church in 
full communion, April 12, 1690, and died 
April 11, 1699, aged thirty-five years. He 
married (second) Elizabeth, born April 28. 
1658, died January 25, 1740-41, widow of 
John Prentice, son of Captain Thomas Pren- 
tice, and daughter of Edward Jackson, of 
Newton. Children by first wife: Sarah, born 
May 30, 1690; Jonas, December 10, 1691 ; 
Henry, about 1694; Josiah (mentioned be- 
low). 

(V) Josiah, son of Colonel Jonas (2) Bond, 
was born January 20, 1695-96. He married, 
January 31, 1719-20, Elizabeth, daughter of 
Captain Joseph and Lydia (Jackson) Fuller, 
of Newton. He lived in Newton and Weston 
for some time and finally settled in Sutton, 
Massachusetts. Children: Elizabeth, born in 
Newton, March 6, 1720-21 ; Jonas, born in 
Newton, March 6, died June 18, 1722-23; 
Josiah in Newton, June 21, 1724; Jonas (men- 
tioned below) ; Lydia, in Weston, June 28, 
1730; Anna, in Weston, November 9, 1732; 
Esther in Weston, July 6, 1735, died young: 
Henry, in Sutton, February 4, 1741. 

(VI) Jonas (3) son of Josiah Bond, was 
born in Newton, September 7, 1725. He mar- 
ried, October 30, 1755, Hannah Hicks, and 
lived in Sutton. Children : Hannah, born 
March 13, 1759; Esther, October 21, 1761 ; 
Lydia, May 4, 1765 ; Jonas (mentioned below). 

(VII) Jonas (4), son of Jonas (3) Bond, 
was born March 29, 1767. He married, Au- 
gust 6, 1798, Polly Waite. Children : Nancy, 
born March 20, 1799; Amasa, July 6, 1800; 
Mary (Polly), May 17. 1802, married Timothy 
H. Longley and their daughter Julia Ann 
married General Nathaniel J. Jackson (see 
Jackson VIII). 



584 



NEW YORK. 



(The Longley Line). 
Lieutenant Timothy H. Longley, son of 
John and Elizabeth Longley, lived at Mill- 
bury, Worcester county, Massachusetts, where 
he died March 27, 1849, aged fifty-two years, 
five months and eight days. He married, No- 
vember 12, 1820, Mary (Polly), daughter of 
Jonas Bond (see Bond VII). Dr. Phinehas 
Longley and Nypmphas Longley also lived in 
Millbury. Children of Timothy H. and Mary 
(Polly) Longley, born at Millbury: Jonas 
Bond, born December 1, 182 1 ; married Eliza 
Simmons in 1845. 2. Mary Luthera, July 28, 
1823 ; married, June 28, 1842, Ebenezer W. 
Fornes. 3. Elvira Elizabeth, July 2, 1826; 
married, April 28, 1844, Sabin A. Daniels. 4. 
Sibyl Moriah, August 26, 1828 ; married, Sep- 
tember '21, 1847, James F. Colburn. 5. Julia 
Ann, August 15, 1831 ; married, at Sutton, 
General Nathaniel J. Jackson (see Tackson 
VIII). 6. William L. 7. Elijah Augusta, De- 
cember 23, 18^3. 8. Frances Isabel, June 20, 
1841. 



Coenradt Ten Eyck, the found- 
DE NIKE er of this family, emigrated to 
New Netherland from Am- 
sterdam, Holland, about 1650. The name Ten 
Eyck, which means "from the oak," is sup- 
posed by some to have been originally Van 
Eyck. In the early American records the name 
is variously spelled, Ten Eyck, Te Nyck, De 
Nyck, and by one branch of the family Denike. 
Coenradt Ten Eyck settled in New Amster- 
dam, purchasing a plot of land situated on the 
west side of what is now known as Broad 
street. In 1674 he was estimated as worth 
five thousand dollars, which in those days was 
quite a fortune. After his death in 1687, his 
sons, Dirck, Tobias and Coenradt, succeeded 
him in his tannery business in New York, 
while his son Jacob removed to Albany where 
his descendants have been prominent for over 
two centuries. Another son, Mathys, settled 
in Hurley, near Kingston, Ulster county, New 
York, and became the ancestor of the family in 
that region, and his two remaining sons, Hen- 
drick and Andries, are believed to be the an- 
cestors of the New Jersey branches of the 
family. Coenradt Ten Eyck married (first) in 
Holland, Maria Bode or Boele, and (second) 
in New York, April 15, 1682, Annetje Daniels, 
widow of Herman Smeeman. Children, all by 
first marriage, and the first two born in Am- 
sterdam, Holland: 1. Jacob, died in Albany; 



married Gertrude Coeymans. 2. Dirck, died 
in 171 1 ; married. March 14, 1675, Aefje 
Boelen. 3. Marytje, baptized August 20, 165 1 ; 
married, December 17, 1670, Wessel Wessel- 
gen Ten Broeck. 4. Tobias 1 referred to be- 
low). 5. Coenradt, baptized November 23, 
1654; married, May 19, 1675, Belitje Hercks. 
6. Hendrick, baptized April 30, 1656; married, 
March 21, 1676, Petronella DeWitt. 7. Mathys, 
baptized March 20, 1658, died between 1734 
and 1742; married, October 14. 1679, Jannetje 
Roosa. 8. Margreta, baptized October 26, 
1659. 9. Andries, baptized January 15, 1662. 
10. Metje, baptized April 11, 1664. 

(II) Tobias, son of Coenradt and Maria 
(Bode or Boele) Ten Eyck. was baptized in 
New Amsterdam, January 26, 1653, and died 
in New York, between November 29, 1699, 
and December 20, 1700, the dates of the writ- 
ing and proving of his will. He signed his 
own name Tobias Ten Eyck, but many of the 
records of his children use the spelling De 
Nyck, and Denike, and this form of the name 
(De Nike) is not employed so far as is known 
by any other branch of the family. Tobias 
Ten Eyck lived in New York on the north 
side of Pearl street, about thirty feet east of 
Coenties Lane. He married (first) January 
30, 1677, Aeltje Duycking, and (second) 
April 12, 1684, Elizabeth Hegeman, who sur- 
vived him. Children; three by first wife: 1. 
Coenradt, baptized January 20, 1678, died 
young. 2. Maria, baptized' April 30, 1680; 
married (first) January 15. 1704. Jan Dene- 
macker, and (second) May 12, 1705, Wessel 
Wesselgen. 3. Hendrikje, baptized July 1, 
1682. 4. Johannes, baptized May 10, 1685, 
died young. 5. Coenradt, baptized March 4, 
1687. died December 28, 1744: married Sarah 
Van Yorst. 6. Adriaen, baptized January 30, 
1690. 7. Catharina, baptized May 4, 1692. 

8. Aeltje, baptized in Brooklyn. April 20, 1694. 

9. Jacob, baptized July 1, 1696. 

"(Ill) Adriaen and Jacob, sons of Tobias 
and Elizabeth (Hegeman) Ten Eyck. settled 
in Flushing, Long Island, while Coenradt, the 
eldest surviving son, succeeded to his fa- 
ther's business in New York. Coenradt's only 
son that reached maturity, namely Tobias, died 
November 14, 1747, unmarried. Consequently 
the ancestry of John De Nike, of Flushing, 
Long Island, and Peekskill, New York, must 
be among the descendants of either Andriaen 
or Jacob. The records at present available are 
insufficient to decide the question as to which 



NEW YORK. 



585 



son of Tobias is the ancestor, but there is no 
doubt that John De Nike was the grandson of 
one of them. 

(V) John De Nike, grandson of Adriaen 
or Jacob, and great-grandson of Tobias and 
Elizabeth (Hegeman) Ten Eyck, was born in 
Flushing, Long Island, September 26, 1756, 
and died in Peekskill, Westchester county, 
New York, December 15, 1829. He married, 
September 17, 1783, Sarah Lowere (name now 
generally spelled Lowry) born August 4, 1769, 
and died July 31, 1858. Children: 1. Hannah, 
born September 19, 1785 ; married John C. 
Roe. 2. Mary, born August 26, 1788. 3. 
Henry, born June 20, 1792, died February 9, 
1827. 4. Thomas, born April 25, 1796, died 
November 29, 1858. 5. Caroline, born June 
2 5> I 799- 6. Elizabeth, born September 19, 
1800. 7. John (referred to below). 8. Isaac, 
born November 16, 1808, died 1881. 9. Jacob 
twin of Isaac, died September 22, 1887. 

(VI) John (2), son of John (1) and Sarah 
(Lowere) De Nike, was born July 21, 1803, 
died March 3, i860. He settled in the town 
of Gerry, New York. He was a farmer, a 
man of considerable means and of good stand- 
ing in his community. He married, June 9, 
1824, Jane Tompkins, born February 25, 1803, 
died January 19, 1871. Children: Tompkins 
Lowere (referred to below) and two others 
died in infancy. 

(VII) Tompkins Lowere, only son of John 
(2) and Jane (Tompkins) De Nike, was born 

in the town of Gerry, Chautauqua county, New 
York, February 1, 1840, died December 10, 
1907. He was educated in the public schools 
of Gerry and at Fredonia, New York. He 
decided upon the profession of medicine and 
began a course at Michigan University at Ann 
Arbor, after which he entered the medical de- 
partment of Buffalo University, receiving his 
degree of M. D., class of 1865. He at once 
began practice, locating at Frewsburg, Chau- 
tauqua county, New York. After practicing 
for a time he removed to Cattaraugus, Cat- 
taraugus county, in 1866, where he established 
a drug, book and stationery store, which he 
conducted for thirteen years. He sold his busi- 
ness in 1879 and spent the ensuing three years 
in the west, finally locating in Springfield, Mis- 
souri. In 1882 he located in Salamanca, New 
York, purchasing the drug business of A. G. 
Vreeland & Company, Main street, next door 
to the Salamanca Trust Company, and now 
occupied by the Palace Restaurant. In 1884 



Dr. De Nike erected a building on the south 
side of the river at the corner of Broad and 
Main streets, and that same year sold his store 
on the north side of the river and moved his 
business to the south side, occupying his own 
building. In the same year he bought and 
improved his beautiful home on the south side. 
In 1902 he built a brick block on Main street 
and later three houses. He was among the 
first to improve and build on the south side of 
the river, and did much to make that section 
popular. He was a man of enterprise and 
worth; stood high in his community, and al- 
ways could be depended upon when any issue 
of morals or good government was at stake. 
While living in Cattaraugus he was elected 
supervisor from the town of New Albion, 
Cattaraugus county, being one of the few 
Democrats ever elected to the board of super- 
visors from that Republican stronghold. He 
served on the Salamanca board of education, 
and aided in all public improvements. He was 
a Democrat in politics. 

He married, October 2, 1866, Emily Griffith, 
born November 16, 1845, died February 24, 
1907, daughter of Samuel and Eliza (Pardee) 
Griffith of Ellington, Chautauqua county, New 
York. Children: 1. Carrie A., born February 
27, 1872. 2. John G, born March 13, 1878, died 
July 29, 1878. 3. Jane E., born May 28, 1881, 
died June 10, 188 1. 4. Samuel G, born April 
27, 1885. 



Prior to the American 

HARDENBURG revolution a Harden- 

burg emigrated from 

Holland and settled in Ulster county, New 

York. He had a son James. 

(II) James Hardenburg, son of the emi- 
grant, was born September 23, 1774, died 
December 16, 1839, in Chautauqua county, 
New York. His early life was spent in Ulster 
county, New York, later he purchased a farm 
in Oneida county, to which he removed, and 
for a time cultivated. Not being satisfied with 
his environment he sold it and purchased a 
farm in Tompkins county. This he cultivated 
four years, then sold it and removed to Chau- 
tauqua county, settling in the town of Chau- 
tauqua. Here he bought an excellent farm 
which in 1835 he sold to his son Volkert. This 
farm was located about four miles from May- 
ville and was later owned by Nelson Crandall. 
James Hardenburg married Jane Vedder, 
who died in July, 1859. Children : Maria, mar- 



5 86 



NEW YORK. 



ried Jacob Mowers ; Betsey, married Israel 
Denman ; Yolkert (of whom further ) ; John ; 
Judith, married Adam Hoffman; Cornelius; 
James. 

(III) Volkert, eldest son and third child of 
James and Jane (Vedder) Hardenburg, was 
born in Oneida county, New York, January 25, 
1799. He followed the fortunes of his father 
in his several removals, and until 1833 was a 
resident of central and eastern New York. In 
the latter year he came to Chautauqua county, 
settling first on a farm lying three miles east 
of Mayville, which he purchased. He then es- 
tablished and operated the first dairy in Chau- 
tauqua county, making butter which he con- 
veyed by wagon to Buffalo and there marketed. 
He later sold his farm and bought a farm of 
about three hundred acres in the town of 
Stockton. He later moved to the town of 
Portland, where he died March 15, 1892, aged 
ninety-three years, one month and twenty days, 
He was a man of great energy and industry, 
possessed marked business ability and retained 
his faculties long past the allotted years of 
man. He was a member of the Presbyterian 
church, and a Republican in politics. 

He married (first) October 4, 1817, 
Susannah Miller, born May 3, 1796, died Sep- 
tember 1, 1868, daughter of John Miller, who 
was born, lived and died in Oneida county, 
New York. Children: 1. Jane Ann, born in 
Lee, Oneida county, August 9, 1821, died Oc- 
tober 27, 1900: married George W. Munger, 
of Ithaca, New York. Their daughter, Jane 
Catherine, married Newell Philo Hopson. 2. 
John M.. born in Oneida county, October 4, 
1823 ; married Julia A. Denton, September 12, 
1848, daughter of Fowler and Sophia (Cald- 
well) Denton, of Stockton, New York. 3. 
Jacob (of whom further). 4. Catherine, born 
June 13, 1828, deceased; married Thomas 
Ralph,- of Stockton. 5. Cornelia, born June 5, 
1830, deceased; married Stephen Reinhart, of 
Stockton. 6. Henry, born April 10, 1835 ; mar- 
ried Diana Paine. He married (second) Mrs. 
Mary Wilbur ; no issue. 

(IV) Jacob, son of Yolkert and Susannah 
( Miller) Hardenburg, was born in Charles- 
town, Montgomery county, New York, Sep- 
tember 8, 1825. He was seven years of age 
when his parents moved from Oneida to Chau- 
tauqua county. He was educated in the pub- 
lic schools, and early became accustomed to 
holding the plow and working in the fields. 
When he came of age he continued the life 



of a farmer, continuing until 1909, when he 
retired to a comfortable home in the village 
of Westfield. His home farm of one hundred 
and thirty-two acres lies one mile east of the 
village and another of two hundred and sixty- 
five acres, two miles south. This latter farm 
was his home for many years, until his retire- 
ment. He has devoted most of his land to 
grape culture, his vineyards being noted for 
their well-kept condition and abundant yield. 
He also dealt extensively in cattle, both for 
breeding and marketing purposes. His life 
has been an active and successful one, his va- 
rious business ventures having been marked 
with rare judgment and consummate skill. Al- 
though well past the allotted period of life, 
he is active, cheerful and keenly interested in 
current events. He is a member of the An- 
cient Order of United Workmen, the Knights 
of Honor, and in politics is a Republican. 

He married, December 30, 185 1, Antoinette 
R. Hassett, born in Attica, New York, No- 
vember 24, 1831, daughter of John Hassett. 
born January 25, 1786; married (first) Sep- 
tember, 1808; married (second) January 13, 
1824, Eliza Kidney, who bore him five chil- 
dren: Susan, William, John E.. Antoinette R. 
and Ouincy ; married (third) 1843, Fanny 
Belden. John Hassett was a son of James 
Hassett, born April, 1758, died 1817: married, 
1785, Jane Harper, born April, 1766, died 
April 2 1828. They had eight children: John, 
Jane, James, Lucinda, Mary, Diana, William 
and Laban. Children of Jacob and Antoinette 
R. (Hassett) Hardenburg, all born in Chau- 
tauqua county: 1. Earl, born June 18, 1854, 
died October 8, 1907 ; unmarried. 2. Henry, 
born April 14, 1858 ; married Agnes Barton ; 
children : Daisy, Norma, Vera. Enid. Wildy, 
Carl and Harold. 3. Susan, born February 5, 
1862, died unmarried in 1885. 4. Elva born 
June 13, 1866, died 1908: married Delbert 
Arnold ; children : Antoinette and Howard. 
5. Florence, born September 16. 1874; un- 
married. 



The Michael (Michel) family 
MICHAEL came to America from Han- 
over, Germany, and settled in 
Columbia county. New York. (II) Simon 
Michael, son of the emigrant, was born 1751, 
died April 24, 1833. He lived at Livingston 
Manor, Columbia county, and afterward re- 
moved to West Davenport, Otsego county, 
New York. He married Anna Fritts. died 



NEW YORK. 



587 



August 19, 1834. Children : Anna, married 
Jacob Hyser; Betsey, married Peter Frieze; 
John, of further mention; Simeon (2), mar- 
ried Phoebe Brewer ; Margaret, married Peter 
Shufeldt; Catherine, married William Deder- 
ick ; William, married Hannah Wolfe. 

(III) John, son of Simeon and Anna 
(Fritts) Michael, married Hannah Snyder. 

(IV) John (2), son of John (1) and Han- 
nah (Snyder) Michael, died at Oneonta, Ot- 
sego county, New York, 1863. He married 
Almira Fairchild, of an old Otsego county 
family. Children : Thaddeus ; Sarah, mar- 
ried a Mr. Slade, of Oneonta ; Chauncey, a 
lawyer ; Lucy, married Hamilton Slade ; Aaron 
Ford, see forward. 

( V ) Aaron Ford, youngest child of John 
(2) and Almira (Fairchild) Michael, was born 
at Oneonta, New York, November 2, 1848, 
died at Lockport, New York, August 25, 1910. 
He was educated in the public schools of 
Oneonta and at Fairfield Academy, in Herki- 
mer county. In 1866 he located in Lockport, 
where he became a clerk in the City Bank, re- 
maining there until the retirement of W. T. 
Rogers, the cashier. During these years he 
acquired a large controlling interest in the 
Thornton-Chester Flouring Mills, which later 
he disposed of at great advantage to Buffalo 
capital. He then purchased the old Hitchings 
farm, near Lockport, and here was the first 
to introduce registered Holstein cattle for 
breeding and dairy purposes. He conducted 
his farm successfully as a stock and dairy 
proposition until, finding a willing purchaser, 
he sold out both farm and business. For the 
next fourteen years he was connected with the 
Standard Oil Company of Buffalo, after which 
he engaged in mining enterprises of various 
kinds, closing his active business life in Lock- 
port associated with the Corson Manufactur- 
ing Company, of that city. While interested 
in public matters, he would not accept office. 
He was related to Governor Clinton, of New 
York, and to Governor Washington Hunt. He 
was held in high esteem among his business 
associates as one whose advice and counsel 
was worthy of being followed. For twenty- 
five years he was a member of the Episcopal 
church, then became a believer in Christian 
Science, and was most active in establishing 
the Church of Christ (Scientist), in Lockport. 
He was a Democrat in politics, and although 
often offered desirable nomination never would 
consent to allowing his name used for any 



office. He married, June 27, 1872, at Lock- 
port, Annie Rogers, daughter of William 
Thayer and Julia Jackson (Warner) Rogers, 
of Lockport (see Rogers, forward). Chil- 
dren: 1. Warren Rogers, born September 4, 
1814, died in infancy. 2. William Rogers, born 
March 3, 1878 ; graduated from Lockport high 
school, took up the study of law, but relin- 
quished it to accept an appointment from Pres- 
ident Roosevelt as paymaster's clerk with the 
South Atlantic squadron of the United States 
navy. 3. Julia Warner, born February 5, 
1882. 4. Julius Alden, born March 28, 1889; 
engaged in business in Buffalo, New York. 

(The Rogers Line). 

(I) John Rogers, of Rhode Island, was a 
mechanic of great skill and ingenuity. Before 
the outbreak of the revolution he removed to 
Nova Scotia, where he died. His children re- 
turned to Rhode Island. He married, and had 
two sons, Samuel and John. Samuel was a 
sea captain, and served in the revolutionary 
war. 

(II) Lieutenant Colonel John (2), son of 
John (1) Rogers, lived in Cumberland, Rhode 
Island, where he married, afterward removing 
to Holden, Worcester county, Massachusetts. 
He was a land surveyor, and left at his death 
many valuable papers and manuscripts. He 
enlisted as a private in the revolutionary war, 
and was promoted orderly, then lieutenant, of 
Captain Stephen Olney's company, of North 
Providence, Rhode Island ; was later promoted 
to be lieutenant-colonel in a Rhode Island regi- 
ment and a member of Washington's body- 
guard. An epaulet given him by General 
Washington is yet preserved by his Lockport 
descendants. He was at the crossing of the 
Delaware and in the following battle, seeing 
hard service. In one engagement his horse 
was killed under him. He passed safely 
through the war and returned to Massachu- 
setts. He was in receipt of a revolutionary 
pension of five hundred dollars annually as 
long as he lived. He was one of the original 
members of the Society of the Cincinnati, an 
organization composed of officers of the revo- 
lutionary war exclusively. He joined that so- 
ciety from the state of Rhode Island. He died 
at Unadilla, New York, where he settled with 
his family, driving from Holden with his wife 
and some of the children. Both he and his 
wife are buried at Unadilla. He married Sarah 
Ballon, of Cumberland, Rhode Island. His 



588 



NEW YORK. 



sons were among the early settlers of Lock- 
port, New York, where they became wealthy, 
influential men of high repute and standing. 
Children: i. Abigail, born April 25, 1795; 
married Samuel Chappin. 2. Nathan Ballou, 
born February 3, 1797 ; married Lydia Larned. 
3. John A., born February 16, 1799, died July 
18, 1803. 4. George W., born March 27, 1801 ; 
married (first) Amy Com stock ; (second) 
Maria Faxon. 5. Eliza B., born March 22, 
1803 ; married Francis Hall. 6. Eunice C, 
twin of Eliza ; married Thomas J. Davies, of 
Unadilla. 7. James B., born 1705. 8. Maria 
Ballou. 9. John Wilkinson, married Eliza 
Faxon. 10. William Thayer. 

(Ill) William Thayer, youngest child of 
Lieutenant Colonel John and Sarah (Ballou) 
Rogers, was born in Holden, Massachusetts, 
March 11, 1817, died in Lockport, New York. 
He was educated in the Holden schools and at 
Franklin Academy. Two of his brothers, 
Nathan and George, having settled at Lock- 
port, New York, he followed them about 1837. 
He went as far as Albany by rail, by river 
and stage to Rochester, thence by stage over 
the Ridge road, from there to Lockport, that 
conveyance starting from the spot where now 
the Powers Hotel stands. He became a clerk 
for Rogers & Brown, his brother George being 
senior partner of that firm (dry goods) ; later 
he joined his parents at Unadilla, New York, 
where he remained two years clerking for his 
brother, John W., who was a merchant of that 
village. He then returned to Lockport, where 
he became bookkeeper and teller of the Niag- 
ara and Suspension Bridge Bank, then under 
the management of his brother, George W. 
Rogers, and here he found his true vocation. 
More than any other one man he may be 
called the father of the banking business in 
Lockport. His next position was as teller of 
the Canal Bank, resigning that position and 
forming a connection with the Lockport City 
Banking Office as cashier. While in this posi- 
tion his coolness, courage and resourcefulness 
saved his bank from ruin. This was about 
1846, following a run upon the Canal Bank 
that resulted in a run upon his own bank, the 
Lockport City Banking Office. The president 
and vice-president were soon prostrated by 
the strain, but Mr. Rogers was equal to the 
situation. Every night after banking hours 
he drove to Buffalo and obtained kegs of silver 
coin sufficient for the next day's business. As 
the clamoring crowds demanded the settle- 



ment of their accounts, he met them with a 
smile, leisurely balanced their books, and paid 
them off in silver, of which there was a plen- 
tiful supply in full sight. Every man who 
applied got his money in silver, and in a week 
the run was over. In 1852-53 he was vice- 
president of the Exchange Bank of Lockport, 
having served a previous term in that bank as 
bookkeeper. For a time he was cashier of the 
Niagara and Suspension Bridge Bank, of Ton- 
awanda, New York, having previously started, 
in connection with Williard J. Daniels, the 
Niagara County National Bank. The Tona- 
wanda bank was later removed to Buffalo, 
and Mr. Rogers was elected president, and 
until 185 1 he resided in Buffalo. While living 
there he was a member of the Board of Trade, 
and both he and his brother George were 
members of the produce commission firm of 
Bates, Griffin, Livermore & Company, with 
offices in New York City, Troy, and other 
places. After returning from Buffalo he or- 
ganized the Western Bank, in connection with 
Charles A. Morse, with Mr. Rogers as presi- 
dent. Mr. Rogers retained an official connec- 
tion with his banking institution until 1875, 
when he withdrew from active business life, 
retiring to his sightly home on East avenue, 
which he built in 1853. An additional business 
enterprise with which he was connected was 
his partnership with Governor Washington 
Hunt in the manufacture of knit goods, they 
being among the first to establish knitting 
mills. Among their first customers was Alex- 
ander T. Stewart, of New York, the then mer- 
chant prince. 

The Rogers family had many important 
branches, one of which was the Garfields, from 
whom President James A. Garfield descended, 
Mr. Rogers (William Thayer) being a second 
cousin of the martyred president. Mr. Rogers 
was a man of great energy and public spirit, 
courteous and kind to all, was most charitable, 
and dispensed from his home a royal hospi- 
tality. For thirty years he was a member 
and vestryman of Grace Episcopal church. He 
married, August 21, 1848, Julia Jackson War- 
ner, of Vermont, daughter of the noted 
Warner family, of that state, a great-grand- 
daughter of Major Little, who was one of the 
pallbearers at the funeral of President George 
Washington. 

(IV) Annie, daughter of William Thayer 
and Julia Jackson (Warner) Rogers, was born 
in Lockport, New York, October 26, 1853. 



NEW YORK. 



589 



She married, June 27, 1872, Aaron Ford 
Michael. 



The extract given below is 
SHEPARD from the memoirs of Enoch 

Shepard, who was born Octo- 
ber 23, 1742, son of Deacon John Shepard. 
The facts were given him by his parents, and 
were compiled in 1810, when he was sixty- 
eight years old. Except as to the date 1660, 
which was stated as "about" 1660, the facts 
appear to be correct, though no record of the 
death of William Shepard has been found. 
This memoir has been for a long time in the 
hands of the descendants of Enoch Shepard, 
and is now in the possession of Juliana J. 
Shepard, of the family described in this sketch. 

(I) William Shepard, the immigrant an- 
cestor, was born in England. "My great 
grandfather," says Enoch, "with two of his 
brothers, came from Old England to Boston 
in Massachusetts, about the year 1660 (prob- 
ably about 1675). The brothers settled on the 
Connecticut river, and had families. He was 
shortly after overset in a boat in Boston Har- 
bor, and while swimming by the side of a cer- 
tain William Lee, had his thigh bitten in two 
by a shark, and was pulled under the water. 
He arose and said he was a dead man, for a 
shark had bitten off his thigh. Lee heard 
the shark give one more snap and saw him 
no more. My great-grandfather at the time 
of his decease had a wife and two infant sons 
in Boston, one of which was sent to Bruns- 
wick, in the state of New Jersey, where he 
afterward reared a family. The other son, 
John Shepard, my grandfather, was sent to 
Westfield, in Massachusetts, about one hun- 
dred miles westerly of Boston, where he ar- 
rived at manhood. He married a Miss Wood- 
ruff, etc." The memoirs correspond with the 
public records from this point (p. 364, New 
England Hist. Register, 1881 ; p. 333, Register 
for" 1878). It may be added that Walter Lee 
was an early settler of Westfield, and may be 
related to the companion of William Shepard, 
when he was killed. 

(II) Deacon John Shepard, the immigrant 
ancestor, was born at Wetheringset, county 
Suffolk, England, in 1671, a descendant of 
John Shepard, of Mendlesham, county Suf- 
folk, who was living in 1580. Shepard mar- 
ried Elizabeth Woodruff, of Westfield, Massa- 
chusetts, 1703, and settled in that town. He 
was selectman, 1723-1739, and died there 



August 10, 1756. Children: Jonathan, born 
about 1704, married, 1730, Rachel Lankton, 
of Westfield ; John, mentioned below ; Ezekiel, 
born November 23, 1709 ; Elizabeth, February 
14, 1713; Sarah, April, 1715 ; David, 1719; 
Mary, 1725. 

(III) Deacon John (2) Shepard, son of 
John ( 1 ) Shepard, was born in Westfield, No- 
vember 18, 1707, and died there August 8, 
1783, aged seventy-six years. He was a 
farmer, and deacon of the church there. He 
married, May 20, 173 1, at Westfield, Elizabeth 
Noble, born at Westfield, January 3, 1706, died 
there November 12, 1793, aged eighty-seven, 
daughter of Deacon Thomas Noble. (See 
Noble). At the time of her death she had 
180 descendants, 153 of whom survived her. 
Children, born in Westfield: 1. Elizabeth, 
April 24, 1732; married May 2, 1751, Colonel 
Azariah Root of Sheffield, who died in the 
service July 3, 1777. 2. John, born November 

8, 1733; married, March 6, 1752, Elizabeth 
Sacket, and removed to Hebron, New York. 
3. Experience, January 20, 1736; married, 
August 8, 1754, Abner Rice, who removed to 
the Black River country. 4. William, No- 
vember 20, 1737, was a general in the revolu- 
tion, on Washington's staff, and put down 
Shay's rebellion; married Sarah Dewey. 5. 
Silas, October 29, 1739, died young. 6. Enoch, 
July 31, 1741, died in infancy. 7. Enoch, Oc- 
tober 23, 1742, died in Marietta, Ohio, Sep- 
tember, 1821. 8. David, October 23, 1744, a 
physician in Chester, Massachusetts, and Am- 
sterdam, New York, where he died in 1819. 

9. Gideon, mentioned below. 

(IV) Deacon Gideon Shepard, son of 
Deacon John (2) Shepard, was born at West- 
field, Massachusetts, January 6, 1747 ; married 
November 13, 1766, Silence Noble, daughter 
of Samuel and Catharine (Fowler) Noble. 
(See Noble). He died at Westfield, Decem- 
ber 28, 1790, aged forty-three years. In that 
year, according to the federal census, he had 
in his family at Westfield, three males over 
sixteen, one under that age, and five females. 
He was an officer in the American army in 
the Revolution (p. 113, vol. XIV, Mass. Sol- 
diers and Sailors in the Revolution) , a sergeant 
in Captain David Moseley's company, Colonel 
John Moseley's regiment, in 1777 ; second lieu- 
tenant in Third Company, Colonel John Mose- 
ley's regiment, Third Hampshire County ; also 
second lieutenant in Captain John Kellogg's 
company, Third Hampshire County Regiment. 



590 



NEW YORK. 



He was deacon of the Baptist church at West- 
field. His early death was caused by consump- 
tion. Children: i. Silence, born June 2, 1767: 
married. July. 1805, Moses Phelps, of West- 
field, and died March 1. 1827. 2. Gideon, born 
May 15, 1769, mentioned below. 3. Child, 
born March 27, 177 1, died March 29, 1771. 

4. Winthrop, June 20, 1772; captain in war of 
1812: married, August 16, 1793, Achsah 
Loomis, and removed to Turin, New York. 

5. Peletiah. born December 15, 1774. died Oc- 
tober 10, 1777. 6. Eli, born April 7, 1777, 
died August 31, 1777. 7. Sophia, born Janu- 
ary 26, 1779; married, January 23, 1799. 
Nehemiah Carter, of Westfield. 8. Roxena, 
born February 4, 1781 ; married, January 24. 
1799, Horace Holcomb, and died December 30, 
1839. 

(V) Gideon (2), son of Gideon (1) Shep- 
ard, was born at Westfield, May 15, 1769. and 
died at Turin, New York, December 15, 1852, 
aged eighty-one years. He was major in war 
of 1812. He married, October 28, 1791. Eun- 
ice Lampson. 

(VI) Rev. Gideon (3) Shepard, son of 
Gideon ( 2) Shepard, was born between 1795 
and 1800. probably at Turin, New York. He 
became a preacher in the Methodist Episcopal 
church, and when he was a young man located 
in Canada, where he preached for many years. 
His last years were spent at his home in For- 
estville, New York, and he died there in No- 
vember, 1876. He married Elmina Allen, of 
Turin, New York, 1826. 

(VII) Hiram Pliny, son of Rev. Gideon 
(3) Shepard, was born at Turin, New York, 
December 28, 1828, and died at Forestville, 
New York, April 1, 1905. He graduated at 
Wesleyan College in the class of 1858, and 
became professor of ancient languages at 
Belleville Seminary, and Methodist Female 
College, Belleville, Canada, in 1859. In 1865- 
66 he was a member of the Bay of Quinte 
Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 
In 1867 he went abroad and spent the year in 
travel. In 1868 he became professor of Greek 
and mathematics in Baldwin City. Kansas ; in 
1870 he was stationed at Leavenworth, Kan- 
sas. On account of ill health he gave up his 
profession and settled at Forestville, Chau- 
tauqua county, New York, where he became 
a prosperous merchant. He often filled the 
pulpit in various churches in the vicinity as 
a substitute preacher, and his interest in the 
church was maintained to the end of life. In 



politics he was a Prohibitionist. He married 
(first) December 30. 1858, Juliana, born 1828, 
died December 20. 1863. daughter of Rev. 
Julius Minerva (Kellogg) Field. Her father 
was a member of the New York East Confer- 
ence of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
and was a cousin of Cyrus Field. He 
married (second) December 24. 1867, S. Mar- 
garet, daughter of Phineas M. French, of 
Plainfield, New Jersey, granddaughter of 
David and Margaret (Noe) French. Her 
great-grandfather, David FYench, and her 
grandmother's father in the Noe line were 
soldiers in the revolution. Children of first 
wife: 1. Pliny Taft, born February 29, 
i860, died January 8, 1863. 2. Julia Field, 
born August 28, 1 86 1, died November 27, 
1861. 3. Juliana Judd, born October 20, 
1863 ; a teacher of manual training and 
drawing at State Normal School, Fre- 
donia, New York. Children by second wife : 

4. Gertrude, born July 23, 1870 : married 
Elton D. Warner, a prominent lawyer of Dun- 
kirk, New York ; children : Alan and Marion. 

5. Allene, born December 2, 1873, died August 
13, 1876. 6. Marguerite, born October 21, 
1879 ; secretary of Young Women's Christian 
Association at Westfield, New York. 7. Es- 
telle, born December 5, 188 1 : teacher of 
science in Clarion Normal School, Garion, 
Pennsylvania. 

(The Noble Line). 

The surname Noble is of great antiquity in 
England. It appears as early as 1 199 in the 
reign of Richard I, and it has been common 
among English speaking people ever since. 
The name is found in Scotland, and several 
distinguished merchants of the name lived in 
Edinburgh. Branches of the family in Eng- 
land, Ireland and Scotland bear coats-of-arms. 
The principal seats of the family were at Corn- 
wall. Belson and Bishop's Tentor, Devonshire, 
and Manning, near Maidstone, county Kent. 

( I ) Thomas Noble, the immigrant ancestor, 
was born in England, as early as 1632, and 
died in Westfield, Massachusetts. January 20, 
1704, aged at least seventy-two years. He 
was an early settler of Springfield, coming 
from Boston, where he was an inhabitant Jan- 
uary 5, 1653. He had an account at the store 
of John Pynchon in Springfield, and this ac- 
count book proves that he visited England 
soon after removing from Boston. In 1664 
he and others were given leave to set up a 



NEW YORK. 



;.,i 



saw mill on the brook below Ensign Cooper's 
farm, over the Agawam river. He was an ap- 
praiser of the town ; had lands granted him 
in Westfield, July, 1666, on condition that he 
settled there, and this grant was renewed Jan- 
uary 9, 1668. He was located in Westfield as 
early as January 21, 1669, and served on a 
committee to decide the boundary lines. His 
homestead was about two miles and a half 
from the present center of the town. He 
served as constable, and took the oath of al- 
legiance January 23, 1678. He joined the 
Westfield church, February 20, 1681, and was 
admitted a freeman October 12, 1681. He was 
fined five shillings on one occasion for travel- 
ing on a fast day. His home was exposed to 
Indian attacks during King Philip's war. He 
was elected county surveyor March 2, 1696. 
He was a tailor by trade. His will was dated 
May 11, 1697, and proved September 5, 1704. 
He married, November 1, 1680, Hannah War- 
riner, born at Springfield, August 17, 1643, 
only daughter of William and Joanna (Scant) 
Warriner ; she joined the Westfield church 
November 11, 1680. She married (second) 
January 24, 1705, Deacon Medad Pomerov, of 
Northampton. Giildren : John, born March 
6, 1662; Hannah, February 24, 1664; Thomas, 
mentioned below ; Matthew ; Mark ; Elizabeth, 
born February 9, 1673 ; Luke, mentioned be- 
low ; James, October 1, 1677; Mary, June 29, 
1680; Rebecca, January 4, 1683. 

(II) Thomas (2), son of Thomas (1) 
Noble, was born in Springfield, January 14, 
1666, and died in Westfield, July 29, 1750. He 
was ordained deacon of the Westfield church, 
May 25, 1712. He was selectman in 1716, 
1720 and 1722, moderator of most of the town 
meetings from 17 17 to 1726, and served on 
many important town committees. He was a 
farmer. His place was about two miles and 
a half from the present center of the town, 
and was occupied afterward by his son 
Thomas and grandson Stephen, recently by 
Rev. Ambrose Day. Thomas Noble married, 
December 19, 1695, Elizabeth Dewey, born in 
Westfield, January 10, 1677, daughter of 
Thomas and Constant (Hawes) Dewey. She 
died at Westfield, October 2, 1757, aged eighty. 
Children, born at Westfield : Thomas, Sep- 
tember 10, 1696; Job, January 28, 1699; Jona- 
than, May 1, 1700; Seth, October 30, 1702; 
Israel, September 20, 1703 ; Elizabeth, January 
3, 1706; married John Shepard (see Shepard) ; 
Lois, July 4, 1708; Ebenezer, October 11, 



171 1 ; Thankful, May 31, 1714; Anna, October 
30, 1716; Jonathan, May 2^, 1721. 

(II) Luke, brother of Thomas (2) Noble, 
was born in Westfield, July 15, 1675, and died 
there March 21, 1744. He was a farmer in 
his native town. His will was proved April 
16, 1744. He was a sergeant in the military 
company. He married (first) February 1, 
1700, Hannah Stebbins, born December 22, 
1680, daughter of Thomas and Abigail 
(Munn) Stebbins. She died June 26, 1705, 
aged twenty-four, and he married (second) 
May 5, 1708, Ruth Wright, born April 26, 
1687, daughter of Joseph and Ruth (Sheldon ) 
Wright, of Northampton. He married (third) 
Mrs. Sarah Dewey, born about 1682, died 
August 3, 1756. Children by first wife, born 
at Westfield: Luke, October 23, 1700; Sam- 
uel, January 31, 1703. Children by second 
wife: Ruth, January 6, 1709; Moses, April 
1, 1710: Aaron, November 10, 171 1 : Asa, Jan- 
uary 16, 1715; Naomi, March 8, 1717; Sam- 
uel, mentioned below ; Jacob, March 5, 1725 ; 
Ruth, February, 1726; Ephraim, June 25, 
1729. 

( III ) Samuel, son of Luke Noble, was born 
at Westfield, August 5, 1722, and died Novem- 
ber 4, 1773. He was admitted to the West- 
field church November 5, 1749, and was select- 
man in 1760-61. He married, November 24, 
1743, Catharine Fowler, probably daughter of 
Jonathan and Catharine (Marshall) Fowler, 
and born July 1, 1723. She died October 19, 
1806, aged eighty-four years. Children, born 
at Westfield: Catharine, May 1, 1744: Jo- 
hanna, November 8, 1745 ; Silence, born July 
28, 1747, married Gideon Shepard (see Shep- 
ard) ; Lydia, May 11, 1750; Zerviah, Novem- 
ber 25, 1751 ; Samuel, August 27, 1753 ; Grace, 
August 9, 1755; Solomon, January 18, 1758; 
Solomon, May 17, 1760; Jared, November 17, 
1762, killed at battle of Stone Arabia, New 
York, 1780, while in the American army ; 
Lydia, August 11, 1768. 



The G o k e y s of Chautauqua 
GOKEY county, New York, are descend- 
ants of French ancestors. The 
emigrant from France,' Joseph Gokey, settled 
first in Canada, where he was active in com- 
munity affairs. 

(II) Joseph (2), son of Joseph (1) Gokey, 
was born near Montreal, Canada. Later he 
came to the United States, locating in St. 
Lawrence county, New York. He married 



59^ 



NEW YORK. 



Rosa Barney, who was brought to Canada 
from France when eleven months old, of 
French parentage. Among their children was 
Joseph (see forward). 

(III) Joseph (3), son of Joseph (2) and 
Rosa (Barney) Gokey, was born in Montreal, 
Canada, 1797, died in Cornwall, New York, 
1843. He was a shoemaker and ship carpen- 
ter, working principally at the latter occupa- 
tion. He settled, after the birth of his chil- 
dren, in Oswego, New York, removing there 
from St. Lawrence county. He married, in 
Cornwall, New York, 1819, Rosetta Derosia, 
born in Pomtatown, nine miles below Mon- 
treal. Canada, 1799, daughter of Louis and 
Rosetta Derosia, of French descent. Children : 
1. Louis, born 1820, deceased; married Free- 
love Wallem. 2. Eliza, born 1822, deceased; 
married Modesty Bushey. 3. Charles, born 
1823, died 1825. 4. Joseph, born 1825, died 
1880; married Anna J. McCarroll, born 1828, 
died 1874. 5. Margaret, born 1827, died 1895 ; 
married James Edwards, born 1817, died 1893. 
6. Gershom, born 1829, died 1897 ; married 
Nancy Ouain. 7. Adeline, born 1831 ; married 
Thomas™ Bartrim, born 183 1, died 1882. 8. 
Noah W. (see forward). 9. William, born 
1835, died 1895 ; married Anna Kelly, born 
1837. 10. Frank, born 1837; married Adelia 
Kelly, born 1835, died 1899. 

(IV) Noah W., son of Joseph (3) and 
Rosetta (Derosia) Gokey, was born in the 
town of Massena, St. Lawrence county, New 
York, March 10, 1833, died at Jamestown, 
New York, June 16, 1897. When he was 
five years of age his parents removed to Os- 
wego, New York, where he was educated in 
the public schools. On attaining the age of 
sixteen years he became an apprentice in the 
shoe shops of Horace Stone & Company, of Os- 
wego, where he remained one year. He then 
worked another year in the shops of Paine & 
Sullivan, of the same city. He then removed 
to Rathboneville, Steuben county, New York, 
where for the following fourteen years he con- 
ducted a custom shoe shop on his own account. 
In 1865 he removed to Addison, Steuben 
county, where he purchased the retail boot and 
shoe establishment of Thomas Paxton, con- 
ducting business under his own name until 
1867. He then formed a partnership with 
James Curtis, and under the firm name, Curtis 
& Gokey, successfully carried on a general 
harness, boot and shoe store. After two and 
one-half years he sold his interest to Mr. Cur- 



tis and for a year remained in the employ of 
the latter as foreman. In 1872 he associated 
with George W. Farnham and for five years 
they engaged in the wholesale manufacture 
of boots and shoes at Addison. In July, 1877, 
Mr. Gokey purchased his partner's interest and 
removed his entire establishment (including 
employees) to Jamestown, New York. He 
then admitted his son, William N. Gokey, and 
under the firm name, N. W. Gokey & Son, 
carried on an extensive and successful shoe 
manufacturing business until his death. The 
firm erected a large plant and extended their 
business until it was the largest shoe manu- 
facturing plant in Western New York. They 
not only supplied a large local trade but also 
transacted a large business in Ohio, Indiana 
and Michigan. He erected the six-story brick 
building at Third and Cherry streets, known 
as the Gokey block, used as a store and office 
building. He built a large and beautiful man- 
sion on Lake View avenue, which he occupied 
until his death. Mr. Gokey was deeply in- 
terested in the welfare of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church, of Jamestown, of which he was 
an attendant and liberal supporter. He was 
a Whig in politics and later affiliated with the 
Republican party. He was appointed postmas- 
ter of Rathboneville under President Lincoln 
and served four years. In Jamestown he 
served on the common council, and always 
evinced an intense interest in the welfare of 
the city. 

Mr. Gokey's successful career is rendered 
the more striking and wonderful when it is 
known that he was a lifelong cripple, having 
been deprived of the use of his limbs when 
but three years of age, the result, it is sup- 
posed, of the injudicious use of calomel. He 
was compelled to use crutches all his life. He 
often recalled a remark of his mother, who, 
pointing at her crippled boy, said: "There 
is Noah, who will always be dependent on 
me." He was truly a "self-made man," and 
accomplished results little short of marvelous. 
He possessed tireless energy and undaunted 
courage. The latter quality was strikingly il- 
lustrated at Rathboneville when everything he 
possessed was swept away by fire ; home, busi- 
ness and all vanished in an hour. He at once 
began to rebuild, and with a credit that had 
always been maintained inviolate, he retrieved 
his fortune and went forward to greater 
achievement. He was a man of great business 
abilitv and stood high in the commercial world. 



NEW YORK. 



593 



He was not only strictly temperate in all his 
habits, but never tasted strong drink nor to- 
bacco, an example followed to the letter by 
his sons, William N. and George F. 

Mr. Gokey died suddenly at his home on 
Lake View avenue, on Thursday, June 16, 
1897, having taken a drive of thirty-five miles 
in the country the Sunday previous. His death 
was deeply lamented, for he possessed a wide 
acquaintance and won many friends. The im- 
mense business he founded and developed was 
continued by his sons until the destruction of 
the plant by fire; since that time by William 
N. Gokey alone. 

Mr. Gokey married, June 9, 1853, Anna L., 
daughter of Nehemiah and Almira Monroe, of 
Rathboneville, New York. Nehemiah Monroe 
•was born July 4, 1809 ; married Almira Tubbs, 
born September 2, 1814, daughter of Benjamin 
and Lurana Tubbs, the former named born 
May 14, 1772, and the latter born December 
10, 1776. Children of Nehemiah and Almira 
Monroe: William M., born April 6, 1830; 
John S., February 23, 1832 ; Anna L., March 
7, 1834, above mentioned as the wife of Noah 
W. Gokey; Huldah C, February 28, 1836; 
Lucina S., March 23, 1838; Elijah P., Feb- 
ruary 15, 1840; Harriet L., July 27, 1842; 
Diana Adeline, February 1, 1844; Chauncey 
L., November 17, 1845 ! Benjamin E., No- 
vember 22, 1847 ; Levi Leroy, April 20, 1849 ; 
J. Henry, July 1, 1850; Walter M., October 
10, 1852; Margaret L., March 28, 1855. Mrs. 
Anna L. (Monroe) Gokey was an active 
member of the First Methodist Episcopal 
Church ; vice-president of the Ladies' Aid So- 
ciety ; a devoted member of Harmony Circle 
of the "King's Daughters," and one of the 
foremost members of the Home and Foreign 
Missionary societies. She was a woman of 
strong personality, leading an active, useful 
life, devoted to her church and family, but 
generous and helpful to all. Her mental 
equipment was superior, and her character 
deepened and broadened by her work for hu- 
manity. Children of Mr. and Mrs. Gokey: 

1. Charles R., died at the age of thirteen years. 

2. William N. (see forward). 3. Clara R., 
married Charles Stanley Kochersperger, whom 
she survives, a resident of Jamestown (see 
Kochersperger). 4. George F. (see forward). 

(V) William N., son of Noah W. and Anna 
L. (Monroe,) Gokey, was born in Rathbone- 
ville, Steuben county, New York, October 6, 
1855. He was educated in the public schools 



and completed his education in Cornell Uni- 
versity, leaving before graduation to join his 
father in business. He was a partner of N. 
W. Gokey & Son, shoe manufacturers, and 
after the death of his father continued the 
business with his brother until the destruction 
of their plant by fire. The brothers then dis- 
solved partnership, William N. continuing the 
business in a new plant erected on East Sixth 
street. His entire business life has been spent 
in the shoe manufacturing business, and he 
ranks as one of the most capable and success- 
ful men in that line. He is a Republican in 
politics. He is a member of the Masonic fra- 
ternity of Jamestown, also a member of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal church. 

Mr. Gokey married, January 15, 1880, Har- 
riet A., daughter of David R. and Elizabeth 
(Cone) Marvin. Children: 1. Mabel Eliza- 
beth, born July 3, 1881 ; married Nelson W. 
Merritt. 2. William N. Jr., born February 4, 
1884; married Floss G. Duffee. 3. Marvin 
Cone, born September 26, 1890. 4. Clara 
Ruth, born May 31, 1894. 5. Helen Royce, 
born January 29, 1903. 

(V) George F., youngest son of Noah W. 
and Anna L. (Monroe) Gokey, was born at 
Addison, Steuben county, New York, April 
11, 1871. He was educated in the public 
schools of Jamestown and at Eastman's Busi- 
ness College, Poughkeepsie. He entered the 
employ of N. W. Gokey & Son and later was 
admitted to the firm. He continued the shoe 
manufacturing business with his brother until 
the fire of March 12, 1910, which destroyed 
their plant. The brothers then dissolved part- 
nership, William N. continuing the shoe manu- 
facturing business, George F. retiring and de- 
voting himself to the development of his real 
estate interests. He rebuilt the Gokey block 
at the corner of West Third and Cherry streets, 
a modern store and office building. He is an 
attendant of the Methodist Episcopal church, 
and in politics a Republican. 

Mr. Gokey married, April 26, 1893, Louisa 
C. Morse, born in Jamestown, April 27, 1870, 
daughter of Benedict and Rosina Morse. Bene- 
dict Morse was born in Germany, March 20, 
1830, died in Jamestown, November 2, 1904. 
He came to the United States in 1850, lived for 
some years in Brooklyn, New York, where he 
married, July 3, 1853, Rosina Meyer, born in 
Germany, August 3, 1833, who survives him. 
He was a resident of Jamestown thirty-seven 



594 



NEW YORK. 



years, working almost up to the time of his 
death at his trade of cabinetmaker, at which 
he was very expert. In 1902 they celebrated 
their golden wedding. He was an active and 
devoted member of the First Methodist Episco- 
pal church, and a man much loved and re- 
spected. Children of Mr. and Mrs. Morse: 

1. Mary R., born in New York City, April 
8, 1854; married T. J. Buchanan, two chil- 
dren, Harry J. and Foster M. ; this family re- 
sides in Bradford, Pennsylvania. 2. Carrie A., 
born in New York City, June 20, 1859 ; mar- 
ried F. H. Appleby and lives in Jamestown, 
New York ; no issue. 3. Katharine Parr, born 
July 6, 1862, in Poughkeepsie, New York; 
married George Y. Blackstone and had one 
child, William Morse Blackstone. 4. Emma 
Helen, born in 1864, died in 1898, unmarried. 
5. Benjamin F., born in Jamestown, New 
York, March 20, 1867 ; married Elizabeth Lau- 
derbach ; children : Jennette E. and William 
S. ; they reside in Hazelton, Pennsylvania. 6. 
Louisa C. born in Jamestown, New York, 
April 27, 1870; married George F. Gokey, as 
stated above. 7. Alice E., born in Jamestown. 
May 8, 1874 ; married Harry Sidney Stewart, 
no issue ; they reside in New York City. Chil- 
dren of Mr. and Mrs. Gokey: 1. Noah 
Webster, born in Jamestown, May 26, 1895. 

2. George F. Jr., born in Jamestown. Septem- 
ber 16, 1897. 



The founder of this 
KOCHERSPERGER family in America 

was Jacob Kocher- 
sperger, born in Germany, came to the United 
States and settled at Philadelphia. Pennsyl- 
vania. 

(II) Charles, son of Jacob Kochersperger, 
lived in or near Philadelphia, where he is 
buried. The descendants of Jacob Kochersper- 
ger, the emigrant, are numerous in Philadel- 
phia and other parts of Pennsylvania, and in 
the western states. Charles Kochersperger 
married and had three sons and a daughter. 
Two sons and the daughter died in childhood, 
Charles, the other son, is mentioned below. 

(III) Lieutenant-Colonel Charles (2) Koch- 
ersperger, eldest child of Charles (1) Kocher- 
sperger, was a resident of Philadelphia, Penn- 
sylvania. He was born there. February 8, 
1826, died December 26, 1867. He served in 
the civil war with distinction, attaining the 
rank of lieutenant-colonel, serving in that ca- 
pacity in the Seventy-first Regiment, Pennsyl- 



vania Yolunteers. He was wounded in one of 
the battles of the Wilderness. He married 
Sarah, daughter of Colonel William and Lydia 
(Hess) Bozorth, Colonel William Bozorth 
was born on the day Bunker Hill battle was 
fought, and served as a colonel in the war of 
1812. Children of Mr. and Mrs. Kochersper- 
ger: 1. Laura, born February 8, 185 1, died 
March 5, 1872. 2. Irene, born August 6, 1853, 
died October 1, 1907; married, December 27, 
1880, Edwin Hadley, of Springfield. 3. Ella 
Lillian, born July 29, 1855, died September 17, 
1868. 4. Charles Stanley (mentioned below). 
Mrs. Kochersperger is living at the present 
time (1911). and resides in Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania. 

(IY) Charles Stanley, son of Lieutenant- 
Colonel Charles (2) and Sarah (Bozorth)' 
Kochersperger, was born in Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, March 21, 1857. He was edu- 
cated at Chamberlain Institute, Randolph, New 
York, where he resided for several years with 
hiis widowed mother. His early life was 
spent on the farm of his aunt, Mrs. Horace 
Young, of Dewittville. He began business life 
as a merchant, having a store at Randolph, 
which he operated for four years. He then 
disposed of his business and removed to 
Jamestown, New York, where he was employ- 
ed in the office of N. W. Gokey & sons. After 
several years spent in the office he went on 
the road for the same house, as salesman. He 
continued traveling until his death, at Cres- 
ton, Iowa, in 1896, a period of ten years as 
salesman and of twenty-four years in the serv- 
ice of the firm. He was suddenly stricken 
with appendicitis, never recovering from the 
surgical operation. He is buried in Lakeview 
cemetery, Jamestown. The Masonic Order 
performed their solemn burial service at his 
grave. He belonged to Mt. Moriah Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Rising Sun Chap- 
ter, Royal Arch Masons ; Jamestown Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar. He was an at- 
tendant of the Methodist Episcopal church, 
and a man of most excellent character. He 
was one of the organizers and charter mem- 
bers of the Jamestown Sons of Yeterans, in 
which he took a deep interest. While at Cham- 
berlain Institute in 1879 a society was formed 
called the "Brotherhood of Ten.*' He was the 
first of the "Ten" to answer the roll call of 
death. He was a man of man}' friends, and 
the expressions of regret at his sudden death- 
were universal and sincere. 



NEW YORK. 



595 



He married, December 28, 1882, Clara R. 
Gokey, born September 23, 1857, daughter of 
Noah W. and Anna L. (Monroe) Gokey, of 
Jamestown (see Gokey IV). She survives 
him. a resident of Jamestown. She is also a 
graduate of Chamberlain Institute, a mem- 
ber of the class of 1880. Children: 1. Anna 
L., born November 23, 1884, died June 21, 
1887. 2. Josette, born September 28, 1890; 
graduate of Jamestown high school, class of 
1910, now a student at the University of Pitts- 
burg. Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. 



The Mintons of Westfield. New 
MINTON York, are descendants of Ste- 
phen Minton, born about 1750 

in New Jersey. He married and had a son 

James. 

(II) James, son of Stephen Minton, was 
born in 1783, died 1826. He learned the trade 
of stone mason and became noted as a skilled 
workman. He worked in different places and 
was employed in the construction of the old 
State Penitentiary, at Auburn, New York. He 
died in middle life, leaving a widow and five 
children, He married Theodosia Reeves, born 
in Connecticut, died in Brocton, New York, 
in 1856, aged sixty-six years, daughter of 
Israel Reeves, a soldier of the revolution cap- 
tured by the British and held a prisoner for 
several months. After the war he settled in 
New York state and was appointed first jailer, 
or warden, of Auburn prison. Children of 
James and Theodosia Minton: 1. Emily C, 
born in Auburn, New York, August 14, 1808: 
married there, September 4, 1825, Lewis Pull- 
man ; three of their sons have attained unusual 
distinction : the eldest, George M. Pullman, in- 
ventor of the Pullman sleeping and palace cars, 
James Minton and Royal Henry Pullman, both 
distinguished ministers of the Universalist 
church. 2. Hannah Maria, married Richard 
De Lee. 3. James H. (of whom further). 
4. John H., born in Auburn, New York, 
September 2, 1817. died at" Westfield, Chau- 
tauqua county, New York, November 18, 
1867; married, December 17, 1843, Harriet 
L. Coney. 5. William L., married Amelia 
Hull. 

(III) James H., eldest son of James Min- 
ton, was born in Auburn, New York, 1815. 
died in Westfield, New York, in 1893, aged 
seventy-eight years. He was fourteen years 
of age when his widowed mother came to 
Chautauqua county, New York, settling with 



her family in the village of Brocton, town of 
Portland. He attended the village school, cut 
cord wood and did all kinds of work to assist 
his mother in maintaining and keeping her 
family together. At the age of eighteen years 
he began learning the trade of carpenter with 
his brother-in-law, Lewis Pullman. He be- 
came a good carpenter and joiner, following 
his trade for ten years. He then erected a 
hotel and store building in Brocton, where for 
twenty years he was proprietor of the hotel 
and for fourteen years of that time engaged 
in mercantile business with his brother, Will- 
iam L. Minton, who for seven years was post- 
master of the village. During the years 1861- 
65 he was assessor of internal revenue and 
deputy marshal of the town of Westfield. For 
fifteen years he was coroner of Chautauqua 
county. In 1884 he was appointed under sher- 
iff of the county. He spent his latter years 
in retirement in Westfield. He was a man of 
energy and enterprise and could always be de- 
pended on. He was a Republican in politics 
and until his latter years was an active party 
worker. 

He married, in 1836, in Brocton, New York, 
Sarah W. Lake, born in Auburn, died in West- 
field, New York, June 5, 1910, aged ninety- 
one years and sixteen days, daughter of Nich- 
olas and Eunice (Houghton) Lake, of Erie 
county. New York, and granddaughter of Sid- 
ney Lake, a revolutionary soldier. Seven of 
their children were born in Brocton, the eighth 
in Westfield, New York ; 1. Emily C, mar- 
ried James Haight. 2. Frances A., married 
(first) Joseph Josslyn ; (second) Daniel P. 
Havens. 3. Maria, married H. W. Gibbs. 4. 
W r ijliam L., born July 19, 1847; married 
Louise Baldwin ; children : Harry S., Irene F. 
and Florence. 5. John C, married Emma Nel- 
son. 6. James Valentine (of whom further). 
7. Waldo L., married Ella Reed. 8. George, 
died young. 

(IV) James Valentine, sixth child of James 
H. Minton, was born in Brocton, Chautauqua 
county. New York, February 14, 1854. He 
was educated in the public schools and West- 
field Academy, beginning business life as a 
clerk in the drug store of John H. Towle, in 
Westfield, where he remained eight years. For 
three of these years he was manager in charge 
of one of the two stores operated by Mr. Towle. 
He then entered the employ of Alfred Wright, 
of Rochester, the well-known manufacturer of 
perfumes. He was engaged as a traveling 



596 



NEW YORK. 



salesman and for several years covered western 
territory. After his marriage he retired from 
the road and located in Westfield, where he 
establish a drug business on the corner of 
East Main and North Portage streets, which 
he conducted for three years. He then became 
interested in grape culture and at the present 
time (1911) has a fine vineyard. He soon 
after returned to the employ of Alfred Wright 
as traveling salesman, covering New York 
state territory. Later he represented the 
Stevens Perfume Company of Toledo, Ohio, 
with whom he remained four years. He is 
now in a live stock insurance company and 
engaged in grape culture. He resides in West- 
field, which has been his home since 1886. In 
1878 he was commissioned by Governor Cor- 
nell, for bravery and merit during the great 
railroad strike of that year, first lieutenant of 
the Eleventh Separate Company, Thirty-first 
brigade. New York National Guard. He was 
on duty at Buffalo creek with his company, 
where his bravery won him his commission. 
He is a Republican in politics, and for three 
years served as trustee of the village of West- 
field. He and his family are attendants of 
the Presbyterian church. 

He married, January 7, 1886, in Granville, 
Ohio, Mary Lucy Case, born March 2, 1859, 
in Granville, daughter of Lucius and Mary 
(Rose) Case (see Case VIII). Children, both 
born in Westfield, New York: 1. George Pull- 
man, born October 27, 1886 ; married Kathrvn 
Hiller; child: Betty Mary, born in Westfield. 
October 7, 1910. 2. Marjorie Rose, born Au- 
gust 18. 1891. 

(The Case Line). 
John Case, the American ancestor, married 
(first) Sarah, daughter of William Spencer 
of Hartford, Connecticut, about 1657. He re- 
sided in Windsor, Connecticut, until the spring 
of 1669, then moved to Massacoe (now Sims- 
bury). His wife died November 3, 1691, aged 
fifty-five years. He married (second) Eliza- 
beth, widow of Nathaniel Loomis, and daugh- 
ter of John Moore, of Windsor. John Case 
was appointed constable for Massacoe by the 
general court, October 14, 1669, being the fir.~t 
person to hold office in that place. He repre- 
sented his town in the general court in 1670 
and several times thereafter. He died in Sims- 
bury, Connecticut. February 21. 1703-04. His 
wife survived him until July 23, 1728. being 
then aged ninety years. Children of first wife: 



1. Elizabeth, born about 1658; married (first) 
Joseph Lewis; (second) John Tuller. 2. Mary, 
born June 22, 1660; married (first) William 
Alderman; (second) Joseph Hillyer. 3. John 
(of whom further). 4. William, born June 5, 
1665 ; married Elizabeth Holcomb. 5. Sam- 
uel, bom June 1, 1667, married (first) Mary 
Westover; (second) Elizabeth Thrall. 6. Rich- 
ard, born August 27, 1669 ; married Amy Reed. 

7. Bartholomew, born October, 1670; married 
Mary Humphrey. 8. Joseph, born April 6, 
1674; married Anna Eno. 9. Sarah, born Au- 
gust 14, 1676; married Joseph Phelps Jr. 10. 
Abigail, born May 4, 1682 ; married John 
Westover. 

(II) John (2), son of John (1) Case, was 
born November 5. 1662, died May 22, 1733. 
He settled in Simsbury, Connecticut. He mar- 
ried (first) September 12, 1684, Alary Olcott, 
who died 1685, daughter of Thomas Olcott, 
of Hartford, Connecticut. Their one child 
died in infancy. He married (second) 1693, 
Sarah Holcomb. Children: John (of whom 
further) ; Daniel, born March 7, 1696; Mary, 
1698; married Josiah Alford : Jonathan, April 
15, 1701 ; Sarah, 1703, married John Alder- 
man; Hannah, 1709, married Captain Noah 
Humphrey. 

(III) John (3), son of John (2) Case, was 
born August 22, 1694, died December 2, 1752. 
He lived in Simsbury, Connecticut. He mar- 
ried, January 24, 1716-17, Abigail, daughter 
of Lieutenant Samuel Humphrey. Children: 
John (4), born February 19, 1718-19; Noah, 
October 4, 1720; Charles, July 1, 1723; Abi- 
gail, September 14, 1725 ; Mary, December 
20. 1727; Lucy, October 17, 1732, married 
William Wilcox; Martha, July 31, 1735, mar- 
ried Thomas Barber; Job (of whom further) ; 
Lydia, September 1, 1741, married Jonathan 
Painey. 

(IV) Job, youngest son and eighth child 
of John (3) Case, was born June 3, 1737, 
died October 6, 1798. He lived at Ferry's 
Plain, Connecticut. He married Johanna, born 
1740, died December 9, 1812, daughter of 
Amos Wilcox. Children: 1. Job, born July 27, 
1758. 2. Joanna, August 9, 1760; married 
Israel Case. 3. Violet, October 19, 1762. 4. 
Ariel, June 28, 1765. 5. Lucy, February 14, 
1767. 6. Asenath, June 12. 1770. 7. Luke, 
July 1, 1772; settled in Winchester, died 1805. 

8. Betsey, December 23, 1775 ; married Mat- 
thew Adams : both died in Granville. 9. Fred- 
erick, Mav 5, 1777; married Anna • — ■ ; 



NEW YORK. 



597 



both died in Granville. 10. Grove (of whom 
further), n. Friend, November 10, 1781, died 
June 22, 1840. 

( V ) Grove, tenth child of Job Case, was 
born June 29, 1779, died at Granville, Ohio, 
where he settled with others of the family. He 
married Cinderella Adams. Children : Grove 
(of whom further). Norton, born August 23, 
1802, died March 23, 1879; Jarvis ; Lucinda. 

(VI) Grove (2), eldest son of Grove (1), 
Case, was born January 20, 1800, at Sims- 
bury, Connecticut, died February 19, 1885, at 
Granville, Ohio. He was seven years old when 
his parents moved to Ohio where his after 
life was spent. 

Grove Case married Laura Carpenter, 
born in Chenango county, New York, October 
10, 1797, died April 2, 1885, daughter of Cap- 
tain Nathan Carpenter, an officer of the rev- 
olution, born April 12, 1757, died September 
19, 1814; married Irene Reed, born January 
31, 1758, died August 7, 1804. Children of 
Grove (2) and Laura Case: Lucius (of whom 
further) ; Laura Lucinda, born September 18, 
1823, died August 17, 1824; Laura Jane, No- 
vember 11, 1826, died March 5, 1844; Edwin, 
November 12, 1828, died August 5, 1829; 
Celia Charlotte, April 2, 1833, died August 14. 
1857; Lucv C, November 1, 1837, died Au- 
gust 14. 1857. 

(VII) Lucius, eldest child of Grove (2) 
Case, was born in Granville, Ohio, February 
26, 1822, died July 3, 1866. He married. No- 
vember 14, 1843, Mary Rose, born in Gran- 
ville, November 24, 1822, died June 19, 1905, 
daughter of Captain Levi and Polly (Stowe) 
Rose. Captain Rose and wife came from Gran- 
ville, Massachusetts, and were among the first 
settlers of Granville, Ohio, in 1805, naming 
the Ohio settlement in remembrance of their 
former home. Captain Levi Rose served in 
the war of 1812. Mary (Rose) Case survived 
her husband and married (second) Lewis 
Williams. 

The children of Lucius and Mary Case : 
Gilbert Grove, born January 6, 1845, died 
January 9, 1868; Celia Jane, March 1, 1847, 
died July 3, 1871 ; Helen Rose, February 8, 
1849; Burton, July 27, 185 1 ; Mary Lucy (of 
whom further). 

(VIII) Mary Lucy, youngest child of Lu- 
cius Case, was born in Granville, Ohio, March 
■2, 1859; married, January 7, 1886, in Gran- 
ville, James Valentine Minton (see Minton 
IV). 



This name appears in the 
BLACKSTONE early records of Boston 

and Rehoboth, Massachu- 
setts, and of Rhode Island. Rev. William 
Blackstone took his degree at Emanuel Col- 
lege, Cambridge, England, 1621, and was or- 
dained to the ministry of the Established 
Church of England. He did not like the Lord 
Bishop and in 1623 is found in Weymouth and 
in 1625 in Boston, Massachusetts, where he 
located on land now within the city limits. In 
1634 he moved to Rehoboth, locating on the 
banks of the Blackstone river (now in the 
town of Cumberland, Rhode Island) called by 
him "Study Hill." He is of frequent mention 
in the records until May 28, 1675, when he 
was buried. His wife, Sarah (Stephenson) 
Blackstone, died June, 1673. He left a son 

John, who married Catherine and had 

a son, John (2), who died January 3, 1785, 
at Branford, Connecticut, leaving two sons 
from one of whom the Pennsylvania family, 
herein traced descends. 

(I) William Jones Blackstone, a descend- 
ant of Rev. William Blackstone, of Rhode Isl- 
and, was born about 1800 and was a resident 
of Sharon. Pennsylvania. He married Emily, 
daughter of Timothy and Phoebe (Mather) 
Andrews, a descendant of John Andrews, the 
emigrant, and Samuel Andrews, the revolu- 
tionary soldier (see Andrews VIII). 

(II) William Andrews, son of William 
Jones Blackstone, was born in Sharon, Penn- 
sylvania, January 7, 1837, died in Jamestown, 
New York, 1903. He resided in Pittsburg, 
Pennsylvania, later in Bluffton, Indiana, com- 
ing from there in 1875 to Jamestown, New 
York, where he was interested with the Van- 
dergrift Washing Machine Company. He mar- 
ried Rachel, daughter of William K. and 
Sophia (Carver) Vandergrift, and grand- 
daughter of Jacob and Mary (Hart) Van- 
dergrift (see Hart VI). 

(III) George Vandergrift, son of William 
Andrews Blackstone, was born in Oil City, 
Pennsylvania, November 1, i860, died in James- 
town, New York, June 22, 1910. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools of Bluffton, Indi- 
ana, and at the age of about fifteen came with 
his parents to Jamestown. His father was 
connected with the Vandergrift Washing Ma- 
chine Company, and George V. began his 
business life as a workman in the plant of that 
company. He worked there for ten years, 
thoroughly mastering every detail of washing 



598 



NEW YORK. 



machine manufacture, and at the end of that 
period secured an interest in the business. For 
fifteen years he was in charge of the big plant 
at East Jamestown, the last ten years owning 
a controlling interest purchased from the Van- 
dergrift estate and other holders of stock, and 
was elected president. He was successful in 
business to a high degree and won a command- 
ing position among Jamestown business men. 
While his chief business interest was in the 
Blackstone Manufacturing Company (chang- 
ing the name after he secured control of the 
Vandergrift Company) he had other important 
interests. For eight years preceding his death 
he was a director of the Union Trust Com- 
pany and in 1908 elected second vice-president. 
He was also director and vice-president of 
the Citizens' Trust Company of Fredonia, 
serving from its organization until his death. 
He was instrumental in organizing the James- 
town Manufacturers' Association and was 
chosen its first president. He was a Republi- 
can in politics and gave much time to the pub- 
lic service. He represented the fifth ward 
in the city council, serving for several years, 
a portion of the time being chairman of the 
finance committee. In 1903 he was appointed 
a member of the board of water commission- 
ers, serving through successive appointments 
until his death. He served during his earlier 
life as a member of the volunteer fire depart- 
ment of Jamestown. He was a member of 
the board of education, and in all these posi- 
tions served his city with fidelity and gave 
the same careful attention to public business 
that he gave to his own personal affairs. He 
was a member of the First Presbyterian 
Church, and a governor of the Jamestown 
Club. He was held in the highest esteem by 
his business associates, while his relations with 
his employees were always most pleasant. He 
was most modest and democratic in his daily 
intercourse with men, yet of firm, decided 
and fearless action in matters of principle. He 
left behind him a good name and a record of 
a life well spent. 

He married, October 13, 1886, Katharine 
Parr Morse, born at Poughkeepsie, New York, 
July 6. 1862, daughter of Benedict and Rosina 
(Mayer) Morse. Mrs. Blackstone survives 
her husband, and continues her residence in 
Jamestown. Child, William Morse. 

(IV) William Morse, only son of George 
Vandergrift and Katharine Parr (Morse) 
Blackstone, was born in Jamestown, New 



York, February 16, 1888. He was educated 
in the Jamestown high school, and afterward 
The Dr. Holbrook School, Ossinning-on-the- 
Hudson, and finished his studies in New York 
City. He succeeded his father as president of 
the Blackstone Manufacturing Company and 
has developed unusual business qualities for so 
young a man. He is a director of the Union 
Trust Company of Jamestown and of the Citi- 
zens' Bank of Fredonia. He is a member of 
the First Presbyterian Church, and of the 
Jamestown Club. 

(The Andrews Line). 
John Andrews in 1672 was one of the pro- 
prietors of the ancient town of Tunxis, after- 
ward named "Ffarmingtowne," now Farm- 
ington, Connecticut. He married Mary . 

(II) Daniel, son of John and Mary An- 
drews, died April 16, 1731, aged eighty-two 
years. He married and had issue. 

(III) Joseph, son of Daniel Andrews, mar- 
ried Susannah Haugh. 

(IV) Timothy, son of Joseph and Susannah 
(Haugh) Andrews, was born February 23, 
1718, died at Farmington, May 30, 1765. He 
served in the French war of 1755 ; was dis- 
abled and drew a pension of twenty pounds in 
1763. He married Thankful Hunn. 

(V) Samuel, son of Timothy and Thankful 
(Hunn) Andrews, was born at Newington, 
Connecticut. April 27, 1741, died at Burling- 
ton, Connecticut, March, 1808. He was a sol- 
dier in the French war at the age of fifteen 
years and served in the Third Connecticut 
Regiment continental line during the revolu- 
tion. He married Mary Johnson. 

(VI) Samuel Johnson, son of Samuel and 
Mary (Johnson) Andrews, married Nancy 
Taylor. 

(VII) Timothy (2), son of Samuel Johnson 
and Nancy (Taylor) Andrews, married 
Phoebe Mather. 

(VIII) Emily, daughter of Timothy (2) 
and Phcebe (Mather) Andrews, married Wil- 
liam Jones Blackstone (see Blackstone I). 

(IX) William Andrews Blackstone, son of 
William Jones and Emily (Andrews) Black- 
stone, married Rachel Vandergrift. 

(X) George Vandergrift, son of William 
Andrews and Rachel (Vandergrift) Black- 
stone, married Katharine Parr Morse. 

(XI) William Morse, son of George Van- 
dergrift and Katharine Parr (Morse) Black- 
stone, resides in Jamestown (191 1). 



NEW YORK. 



599 



(The Hart Line). 
(II) John Hart, "the signer," was a son of 
Edward Hart, of Stonington, Connecticut, 
from whence he came to Pennington, New 
Jersey, and was baptized at the Presbyterian 
church at Lawrence. Edward Hart was no 
doubt a descendant of Deacon Stephen Hart, 
founder of the Hart family of Connecticut, 
who was born in Braintree, Essex, England, 
about 1605 (see Hart family in this work). 
John Hart was a man of education and prop- 
erty, and in 1761 was chosen to represent his 
district in the colonial legislature of New Jer- 
sey, to which he was annually elected until 
1772. He took a leading part in the delibera- 
tions of that body ; opposed the stamp act ; 
taxation without representation ; and voted in 
favor of the bill refusing to grant further sup- 
plies to the king's troops quartered in New 
Jersey, which last act caused the dissolution 
of the legislature by the angry royal governor. 
In 1774 he was chosen a delegate from Hun- 
terdon county to the Provincial Congress, 
and served on its most important committees 
until its dissolution in 1776. This congress 
framed the state constitution of New Jersey 
under which John Hart was chosen a member 
of the first legislature and without a dissenting 
vote was elected speaker of the house, and sent 
as a delegate from New Jersey to the con- 
tinental congress of 1774-75, and in 1776 he 
was one of the five members chosen from New 
Jersey: Richard Stockton, Dr. John Wither- 
spoon (president of Princeton College), Judge 
Francis Hopkinson, Abraham Clark and John 
Hart, the immortal five representing New Jer- 
sey, whose names were affixed to the Declara- 
tion of Independence at Independence Hall, 
Philadelphia, July 4, 1776. When the army 
of Washington was driven from New Jersey 
the legislature, of which John Hart was 
.speaker, was obliged t o disperse and seek 
safety in flight, but after the victory at Tren- 
ton they were convened at Trenton on the 
summons of the speaker in January, 1777. He 
was again chosen speaker, an office he held 
until failing health compelled his resignation. 
The "prominence of his position and his well- 
known fidelity to the cause of liberty exposed 
him to the vengeance of the British, who rav- 
aged his estates, burned his mills and improve- 
ments, reducing him to a condition of hopeless 
poverty. His life was in danger and he could 
only visit his sick wife by stealth. He did not 
live to see the triumph of the cause for which 



he gave his all, but died in 1780, at the age 
of seventy-two years, honored and beloved. 
The state of New Jersey erected a monument 
to his memory in the burying ground of old 
Hopewell church (where his remains were 
transferred), which was dedicated July 4, 
1865, Governor Joel Parker delivering the 
oration. 

He married Deborah Scudder, who died Oc- 
tober 26, 1776, youngest daughter of Richard 
Scudder. Children: Sarah, Jesse, Martha, 
Nathaniel, John, Susannah, Mary, Abigail, 
Edward Scudder and Daniel. 

(III) John (2), son of John (1) Hart, "the 
signer," was born October 29, 1748. About 
the year 1770 he emigrated to Point Coupee, 
Louisiana, where he became wealthy in slaves 
and property, but was stripped of all by the 
Spanish authorities and confined eight months 
in prison with many others. He went to Cuba 
after his release, again became wealthy and 
again met reverses. He then returned to Hope- 
well, New Jersey, where he again amassed a 
good estate. But no son of John Hart, "the 
patriot," could be allowed to live in peaceful 
plenty. The British burned his buildings, de- 
stroyed his property and compelled him to re- 
move. He sold all his large possessions, tak- 
ing continental money in payment. This so 
depreciated in value that in his declining years 
he was left in poverty. He married Catherine 
Knowles, of Tacony, Pennsylvania. Children: 
Mary (of further mention) ; Susannah, mar- 
ried Joseph Hall, of Philadelphia; Elizabeth, 
married James Bowyer ; Sarah, married Wil- 
liam Reed, of Philadelphia ; John, married 
Mary Shreeves, of Philadelphia. 

(IV) Mary, eldest child of John (2) and 
Catherine (Knowles) Hart, married Jacob 
Vandergrift. 

(V) William K. Vandergrift, son of Jacob 
and Mary (Hart) Vandergrift, married 
Sophia Carver. 

(VI) Rachel, daughter of William K. and 
Sophia (Carver) Vandergrift, married Wil- 
liam Andrews Blackstone (see Blackstone II). 



There are several families 
BATCHELLER of this name in America 
not allied as far as any 
record now attainable would indicate. The 
family of which this article treats is known 
as the "Massachusetts Batchellers." The spell- 
ing found in early records has been changed 
by most of the present descendants. This 



6oo 



NEW YORK. 



family has been noted for men of large stature 
and much physical and mental vigor. While 
the early generation were necessarily engaged 
in agriculture, as that was the chief industry 
of their time, later representatives of the fam- 
ily have found distinction in professional life 
and the various activities of modern times. 

(I) The first of whom any record is now 
found was Daniel Batcheller, who lived and 
died near Canterbury, England. He had four 
sons : Joseph, Henry, Joshua and John. The 
first two and last of these settled in America. 

(II) Joseph, eldest son of Daniel Batcheller, 
was born in Canterbury, and died in March, 
1647, in Wenham, Massachusetts. He came 
to America in 1636 with his wife Elizabeth, 
one child and three servants, being also accom- 
panied by his brothers, Henry and John Batch- 
eller. He was a tailor, and settled first in 
Salem, whence he removed shortly to Wen- 
ham. He was made a freeman of the Massa- 
chusetts Bay Colony in 1637, and was deputy 
to the general court from Wenham in 1644, 
being the first from that town. The inventory 
of his estate, made March 3, 1657, stated that 
he had been dead ten years. His estate was 
settled by his son Mark. He was one of the 
original members of the Wenham church, or- 
ganized October 8, 1644, and his wife was 
admitted to the same church on the seventh 
of the following month. In a record regard- 
ing a matter of church discipline in Wenham 
appears the following: "In ye mesne space 
it pleased God to take to himself brother 
Batchel, a man wise, moderate and very able 
to be helpful in such cases." His children 
were Mark, John, Elizabeth and Hannah. 

(III) John, junior son of Joseph and Eliz- 
abeth Batcheller, was baptized January 20, 
1638, in the First Church of Salem, and died 
December 17, 1698, in Wenham. His will 
was made the day preceding his death, and the 
inventory of his estate made March 20, 1699, 
showing a valuation of £519 5s. John Batch- 
eller was a juror in the lamentable witchcraft 
trials of Salem, and in 1692 signed a state- 
ment asking forgiveness for his participation 
therein. He married (first) July 12, 1661, 
Mary Dennis, who died June 26, 1665, and 
he married (second) May 4. 1666, Sarah, 
daughter of Robert Goodale. of Salem. She 
died March 22, 1729. There were two chil- 
dren of the first wife. John and Joseph. Those 
of the second were: Mark, Elizabeth, Eben- 
ezer, Hannah, Mary, Sarah and David. 



(IV) David, youngest child of John and 
Sarah (Goodale) Batcheller, was born 1673, 
in Wenham, where he died January 29, 1766. 
He was the first to adopt the spelling of the 
name now used by his descendants. He was 
prominent in both church and town affairs of 
Wenham, being town clerk from 1744 to 
1748. From his father he inherited a farm 
of eighteen acres, and he was probably en- 
gaged in agriculture. He married (intentions 
published May 7, .1709), Susannah Whipple, 
of Ipswich, who died June 13, 1764. Chil- 
dren: David, Susannah (died young), 
Joseph, Amos, Nehemiah. Abraham. Mary, 
Susanna. 

(V) Abraham, youngest son of David and 
Susannah (Whipple) Batcheller, was born 
June 5, 1722, in Wenham, and died January 
31, 1813, in Sutton. Massachusetts. He lived 
for a time in Westboro, and purchased one 
thousand acres of land in Sutton at one shill- 
ing per acre. He was a cooper by trade, a 
man of strong will and eccentric character. 
His children were allowed one cup of tea a 
week, on Sunday morning. When desiring 
to reach any point in his large domain he 
hitched up three yoke of oxen and crashed 
his way in a bee line through the underbrush 
without making any previous clearing. In 
1763 he was a selectman of Sutton, at which 
time he was called captain. The next year 
the record of his election as selectman calls 
him ensign, and also in the two succeeding 
years. In 1773 and 1782 he was selectman 
and then was called lieutenant. He married. 
May 17, 1751, Sarah Newton, born July 19. 
1732, in Westboro, daughter of Abner and 
Vashti (Eager) Newton. Children: Abraham, 
Abigail, Vashti, Joseph, Benjamin, Ezra, 
Sarah and Amos. 

(VI) Abraham (2), eldest child of 
Abraham (1) and Sarah (Newton) Batch- 
eller, was born March 26, 1752, in Sutton, and 
died August 14, 1832, in Stockton, New York. 
He received from his father a farm in Sutton, 
on which he lived thirty years. He was a 
revolutionary soldier, serving as a corporal 
in Captain Andrew Elliott's company of Colo- 
nel Ebenezer Larned's regiment. He was fre- 
quently an officer of Sutton, serving as select- 
man in 1781. In 1792 he removed to Paris 
Hill, Oneida county, New York, which was 
then a wilderness, the present city of Utica 
containing at the time only three log houses. 
In 1816 he removed to Stockton, Chautauqua 



NEW YORK. 



601 



county, New York, where he engaged in farm- 
ing until his death. He was an active member 
of the Baptist church, and received the title 
of lieutenant through service in the state mil- 
itia. 

He married, December 28, 1774, Rebecca 
Dwight, born May 19, 1754, died April 5, 
1842, daughter of Samuel and Jane (Bulk- 
ley) Dwight. Children: Paul, Elizabeth, 
Joseph, Dwight, Rebecca, Abraham, Silence, 
Levina, Electa, Charles, Sally and Nancy. 

(VII) Captain Joseph Batcheller, first sur- 
viving son of Lieutenant Abraham (2) and 
Rebecca (Dwight) Batcheller, was born June 
3, 1778, in Sutton, and died July 13, 1871, in 
Pomfret, New York. In the autumn of 181 1 
he went to Chautauqua county and located 
eleven miles south of Dunkirk, where he built 
a log house and barn, and then returned to 
Oneida county for his family. In February, 
1812, he removed to his new location with 
a yoke of oxen and sled, spending two weeks 
on the trip. There he engaged in farming the 
rest of his life. His military title was de- 
rived from service in the militia. He married, 
in Smithfield, New York, January 18, 1810, 
Dorothy Needham, born April 22, 1789, died 
February 20, 1865, in Pomfret. Children: 
1. Julia Ann, married (first) Milo Barley; 
(second) Otis Temple. 2. Elizabeth, wife of 
Joseph Wilson. 3. Yarman Needham, a 
farmer, residing in Stockton. 4. Joseph E., 
died young. 5. George S., died young. 6. 
Joseph E.. mentioned below. 7. George S., a 
farmer of Stockton. 

(VIII) Joseph Elliott, fourth son of Cap- 
tain Joseph and Dorothy (Needham) Batch- 
eller, was born December 26, 1822, in Pom- 
fret, and resided in Stockton, where he was 
a farmer, and died September 22, 1888. He 
married, in Pomfret, in April, 1848, Achsah 
Hunger, born February 12, 1824. Children : 
1. Tower, was a farmer in Stockton. 2. Naomi 
Adele, was wife of Joseph M. Kelly, a farmer, 
of Stockton. 3. Delmer E., mentioned below. 

(IX) Delmer Elliott, junior son of Joseph 
E. and Achsah (Munger) Batcheller, was 
born February 27, 1862, in Pomfret, and re- 
sided on the paternal farm until fifteen years 
of age. He attended the various schools of 
Stockton, and the State Normal School at 
Fredonia, New York, afterwards taking a 
post-graduate course at the Illinois Wesleyan 
University, which institution has conferred 
upon him the degree of Bachelor of 



Philosophy. In the winter of 1881-82 he be- 
gan teaching at Gerry, Chautauqua county, 
and was afterwards employed in the same 
manner at Perrysburg, Stockton and Ripley, 
in his native county. From 1884 to 1886 he 
was principal of the Union School and Aca- 
demy at Mayville, New York. On the organi- 
zation of School No. 39, in the city of Buffalo, 
he was appointed principal and thus continued 
three years. In 1889 he was appointed prin- 
cipal of School No. 45, which included over 
thirteen hundred pupils and twenty-seven 
teachers, and continued at the head of this 
school for thirteen years. Mr. Batcheller is 
a man of large frame, with strong mentality 
as well as physical vigor. He was popular 
with both teachers and pupils in Buffalo, where 
he was so long in active educational work. 
In July, 1902, he was appointed superintend- 
ent of the schools of Olean, New York, in 
which position he continued until February 1, 
1908, with success and manifest benefit to the 
educational system of the city. After resign- 
ing the superintendency in Olean, Mr. Batch- 
eller again returned to Buffalo, having asso- 
ciated 'himself with Mr. C. F. Warner, under 
the firm name of Warner & Batcheller, and 
engaged in the business of real estate and in- 
surance. After one and one-half years of suc- 
cess in this business he was unanimously in- 
vited to accept the position of superintendent 
of schools in Dunkirk, New York. Feeling 
that his calling was to the educational field, 
which was more congenial than that of busi- 
ness, he accepted and has continued in that 
position to the present time. For many years 
he was a member of the Principals' Associa- 
tion of Buffalo, of whose executive committee 
he was a member and refused its presidency ; 
he is a member of the New York State 
Teachers' Association, and an active member 
of the National Educational Association. He 
is an active member of the Masonic brother- 
hood, holding membership in Queen City- 
Lodge, No. 338, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Buffalo; and Keystone Chapter, No. 163, 
Royal Arch Masons. For many years he was 
treasurer of the board of trustees of the 
Richmond Avenue Methodist Episcopal 
Church of Buffalo. 

He married, in Ripley, July 16, 1884, Sa- 
ville H. Rickenbrode, born March 4, 1859, 
who was several years a teacher. Children: 
Pauline Naomi, died in her second year ; Del- 
mer Elliott, born May 18, 1891 ; Margaret 



602 



NEW YORK. 



Elizabeth, September 19, li 
June 19, 1896. 



)2; Carl Arthur, 



(VII) Deacon Charles 
BATCHELLER Batcheller, son of Lieu- 
tenant Abraham (2) (q. 
v.) and Rebecca (Dwight) Batcheller, was 
born in Paris Hill. Oneida county, New 
York, April 23, 1802, died in Colorado, 
Texas, December 25, 1882, and was buried 
in Victor, Iowa. When he was four- 
teen years old his parents removed to 
Chautauqua county, New York, following 
a trail of marked trees, which was the only 
road. Here Charles Batcheller settled later 
on a high hill in Stockton, which commanded 
a magnificent view of the chain of Cassadaga 
lakes, and lakes Erie and Chautauqua. He 
became a wealthy farmer. In 1849 he removed 
to Fredonia, New York, where he conducted 
a retail dry goods business until 1857, when 
he bought a large tract of land in Iowa county, 
Iowa, whither he removed and resumed farm- 
ing. In 1859 he disposed of these interests 
and invested in Texas lands, and while on a 
visit to them he was taken sick and died. "For 
over forty years he was an honored member 
of the Baptist Church, and was most highly 
gifted in prayer." He was a radical in poli- 
tics, an ardent admirer of Wendell Phillips, 
Gerrit Smith and Garrison, and he was most 
active in assisting runaway slaves to Canada, 
via the so-called underground railway. He 
married. May 24, 1826. Eliza Ann, born Sep- 
tember 26, 1809, died June 28, 1859, daughter 
of David Johnson. Children, all born in 
Stocktofi. Chautauqua county, New York: 1. 
Lodoski, born September 5, 1827, died March 
8, 1886; married, June 5, i860, William 
Henkle. 2. Salathiel (referred to below.) 
3. Eliza Ann, born February 19, 1831, died 
March 9, 1852. 4. Mattie Rebecca, born March 
26, 1833, died December 4, 1886; married, 
June 2, 1864, James Yard Elmendorf. 5. Me- 
lissa, born August 8, 1836; lived in Denver, 
Colorado; married, October 15, 1857, Frank 
Jerome, deceased. 6. Eva Ellen, born April 
24. 1846; living in Denver, Colorado; married 
Frank Jerome, 1904, who died May 15, 1907. 
(VIII) Salathiel, son of Deacon Charles and 
Eliza Ann (Johnson) Batcheller, was born at 
Stockton, Chautauqua county, New York, 
March 26, 1829, and died at Victor, Iowa, 
August 14, 1875. He received his education 
in Fredonia. New York, and then entered on 



a mercantile career in that place. Later he 
removed to Iowa City, Iowa, where he studied 
law and also entered the political arena, a 
strong Republican, serving as county clerk 
for many years. At the outbreak of the civil 
war he entered the Union army, but being of 
a frail constitution he was made first assistant 
quartermaster-general of the Department of 
the Cumberland, where he remained until the 
close of the war, when he returned home, 
broken in health. He married, December 2, 
185 1, Marietta P., daughter of the Hon. Sam- 
uel Augustus and Prudence Olivia (Cotes) 
Brown, of Jamestown, Chautauqua county, 
New York. Her grandfather. Colonel Daniel 
Brown, was born in Windham, Connecticut, 
January 13, 1747, and during the revolution- 
ary war was a deputy commissioner under 
General Jonathan Trumbull. He was a de- 
scendant of the Peter Brown who came over 
to America in the "Mayflower." He married 
Anna Phelps. The Hon. Samuel Augustus 
Brown, son of Colonel Daniel and Anna 
(Phelps) Brown, was born in the parish of 
Gilead, Hebron, Connecticut. February 20, 
1795, and died in Jamestown, New York, Jan- 
uary 7, 1863. In 1813 he began the study of 
law at Springfield, New York, and three years 
later removed to Jamestown. In 1817 he be- 
came a member of Mount Moriah Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Jamestown, and in 
1823 was elected treasurer of the lodge. He 
held many offices* of public trust, and was 
commissioner and inspector of common 
schools and assessor of the town of Ellicott. 
In 182 1 he was elected a trustee of the James- 
town Congregational Church. March 28, 1825, 
he was appointed master in chancery and also 
brigade judge advocate of militia. In 1826 he 
was a member of the New York state as- 
sembly, and in 1827 was admitted to the bar 
as counselor in chancery. In 1828 he was dis- 
trict attorney, in 183 1 a director of the Chau- 
tauqua County Bank, and in 1858 special sur- 
rogate of the county. He was also superin- 
tendent of the poor, and after 1840 a member 
of the Chautauqua Bible Society. He was a 
Presbyterian in religion and became an elder 
in 1849. He married, March 7, 1819, Prud- 
ence Olivia, daughter of Captain John Cotes, 
of Springfield, New York, who was born there 
January 18, 1799, and died August 31, 1862. 
Thev had eleven children, five of whom -lied 
in infancy. Children of Salathiel and Marietta 
P. (Brown) Batcheller: 1. Frank, born March 



NEW YORK. 



603 



24, 1855, died July 13, 1855. 2. Mary, born 
February 8, 1858, died in May. 1859. 3. Eva 
Brown, born December 22, i860; living in 
Jamestown, and for the past ten years a 
teacher in the public schools there. 4. Levant 
Bishop (referred to below). 

(IX) Levant Bishop, son of Salathiel and 
Marietta P. (Brown) Batcheller, was born at 
Victor, Iowa, December 3, 1869, and is now 
living at Jamestown, Chautauqua county, New 
York. He graduated from the high school 
of Victor, Iowa, in 1885, and then took the 
course in pharmacy in the University of Buf- 
falo, from which he graduated in 1897. March 
1, 1898, he commenced business with John M. 
Winnberg at 113 Main street, Jamestown, and 
has been there ever since, the firm building 
up a large and prosperous business. He is a 
Republican in politics. He is a member of 
Burd Lodge. Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Jamestown, a Royal Arch Mason, a Knight 
Templar, a member of the Knights of Pythias 
and of the Moose and the Elks. He is a Pres- 
byterian in religion. He married, at Youngs- 
town, Ohio, February 5, 1902, Alice, daughter 
of William Edward and Emeline (Perkins) 
Hughes. Her father was a blacksmith. His 
children are : Alice, referred to above ; Charles 
and Cordelia. Children of Levant Bishop 
and Alice (Hughes) Batcheller: 1. Alice Cor- 
delia, born January 20, 1904. 2. Edward 
Jerome, born April 20, 1907. 



The Herron family of West- 
HERRON field, New York, descend from 

John Herron, a well-to-do 
farmer and land owner, born in the parish 
of Raffery, county Down, Ireland. His fam- 
ily had long been seated in Ireland, where 
they held a good position. John Herron mar- 
ried Elizabeth Watson, of Newton Arde, 
county Down. Both John and his wife died 
in Ireland in the county in which their lives 
had been spent. Children: 1. William (of 
whom further). 2. Jane, born in Raffery, 
county Down, Ireland, January 31, 1828; mar- 
ried, in Ireland, William Johnson. They came 
to the United States in 1850, settled in West- 
field, New York, where she yet resides (1911 ), 
aged eighty-four years. 3. Arabella, died in 
Ireland, unmarried. 4. James, born in Raf- 
fery, Ireland, where he died in 1862. He 
came to the United States in i860, but did 
not long remain, returning to Ireland and his 
native parish, where he died. 



(II) William, eldest son of John and Eliza- 
beth (Watson) Herron. was born in the parish 
of Raffery, county Down, Ireland, August 13, 
1821, died in Westfield, New York, May 23, 
1896. He married in Ireland and in 1850, 
with wife and three children, sister Jane and 
husband, came to the United States. The 
Johnsons settled in Westfield. New York, 
while William and his family chose Baltimore, 
Maryland, for their location. In 1852 his wife 
died and William joined his sister in West- 
field, leaving his children with friends in Bal- 
timore. He purchased a farm in Westfield 
and soon afterward brought his children to 
his Chautauqua county home. He was a very 
successful farmer, and a man held in high es- 
teem. He married (first) in Ireland, about 
1842, Jane Wallace, born in county Down, 
Ireland, about 1824, died in Baltimore, Mary- 
land, 1852. She was a daughter of Robert 
and Margaret Wallace, of Ireland, and a de- 
scendant of the famous Wallace family of 
Scotland. William Herron married (second) 
Cynthia Green, of Westfield, New York. Chil- 
dren of first wife, all but the youngest born 
in Raffery, Ireland: John (of whom fur- 
ther) ; Robert, born September 25. 1845, died 
February 21, 1846; Robert Wallace, born 
January 24, 1847, married Chloe Winter ; 
'I nomas, September 16. 1848, married Mar- 
garet Foskie ; James, born in Baltimore, Mary- 
land, September 27, 1851, died 1852. Children 
of second marriage, all born in Westfield, New 
York : Elizabeth, married William Donngann ; 
William, married Lillian Bloomer; Jennie, 
died young; Frank, died young; Fred, mar- 
ried Amy Bloomer and resides on the home- 
stead farm. 

(III) John, eldest son of William and Jane 
(Wallace) Herron, was born in the parish 
of Raffery, county Down. Ireland, January 
21, 1844. He was brought to the United 
States by his parents in 1850 and joined his 
father in Westfield, New York, in 1853, being 
then nine years of age. He was educated in 
the Westfield schools. He was reared on a 
farm and later purchased a farm of sixty-four 
acres on the Munson road, where he resides 
(1911). He maintains a dairy and has al- 
ways been a large dealer in live stock of all 
kinds. A portion of his farm is devoted to 
fruit culture, including a grape vineyard. He 
has been successful in business and holds a 
good position in his town as an enterprising, 
substantial citizen. He was for five years 



6o4 



NEW Y( IRK. 



quartermaster sergeant of the Eleventh Sep- 
arate Company, Thirty-first Brigade, New 
York National Guard, and served with his 
company in suppressing the great railroad 
strike of 1877, m Buffalo. He is a Repub- 
lican in politics, but has never aspired to pub- 
lic office, although he is deeply interested in 
all that concerns the welfare of nation, state 
and county, being well-read and informed on 
the vital issues of the day. He is one of the 
oldest Free Masons of Summit Lodge, of 
Westfield. where he was made a Mason in 
1870. He is an honored past master of that 
lodge and a companion of Westfield Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons. 

He married, in Westfield, Xew York, Oc- 
tober 12, 1872, Rosabelle Wood, born in Rip- 
ley, Xew York, July 2, 1847. daughter of 
Hiram Wood, born in West Winfield, Herki- 
mer county, New York, August 12, 1808, died' 
189 1. He married Almeda Winter, born 1822, 
died 1904. Hiram Wood was a son of David 
Wood, an early settler and prominent citizen 
of Herkimer county. Children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Herron : 1. Jesse K., born August 27, 
1879. 2. Wallace Wood, born March 25, 1881 ; 
married Ethel Burch, June 20, 1907 ; child, 
Leslie Robert, born in Westfield, New York, 
May 17* 1908. 3. Nellie Leverna, born June 
4, 1883 ; married, June 26, 1907, Gerald Gil- 
man Gibbs. 4. Anna Almeda, born August 26, 
1886. 



The name of Stuart and 
STEWART Stewart has long been asso- 
ciated with Scotland, and 
tales of romantic interest have been built 
around the Highland devotion to the Stuart 
cause and unfortunate "Prince Charlie." The 
lineage of the Stewarts of Silver Creek. New 
York, herein recorded, is traced to the time 
of Cromwell, "The Protector." They were 
one of the many Scotch familes who sought 
refuge in the North of Ireland, from whence 
their descendants came to America, founding 
that race here known as "Scotch-Irish" that 
played so important a part in the settlement 
of Western Pennsylvania, and of whom it is 
proudly boasted "never produced a Tory." 
The founder of this branch in the United 
State-. Adam Stewart, was born in London- 
derry. Ireland, of Scotch parents, in 1756. 
At the age of twenty he came to America. 
settling in Bucks county. Pennsylvania. He 
married in Berks countv. Later he removed 



to Sadsbury township, Crawford county, 
Pennsylvania, where he died at the unusual 
age of ninety-four years. He was a man large 
of stature and known far and near as Squiie 
Stewart from having been justice of the peace 
for many years. For over fifty years he was 
an elder of the Presbyterian church, that office 
in those days having a life tenure. He was 
held in deepest respect during his active years 
and with utmost veneration as his years passed 
man's allotted period and neared the century 
mark. He retained his faculties to the last, 
retaining his interest in the church and in cur- 
rent events until the very last moment of life. 
He was a great reader and fell from his chair 
with a newspaper in his hand. On being raised 
from the floor he was found to be lifeless. 
He married (first) Jane Feister, who died 
about 181 1, the mother of eight children. He 
married (second) Lydia Schuylmacher, the 
mother of five. 

(II) Aaron, son of Adam Stewart, was 
born in Sadsbury township, Crawford county, 
Pennsylvania, October 11, 1801, died there 
October 5, 1871. He was a merchant in the 
town of Evansburg, Crawford county, but in 
his later years retired to a farm, continuing 
there until his death. He was a Democrat in 
politics. He married Margaret McMichael (a 
native of the same town), born June 19. 1802, 
died there March 21, 1847. Children, all born 
in Crawford county, Pennsylvania: 1. Mary 
Crawford, born February 24, 1823. died Feb- 
ruary 21, 1847; married Hiram Stoddard. 2. 
George S., July 3, 1825, died August 23, 1898: 
married Damaris Rooker. 3. Adam, Novem- 
ber 23. 1827, died August 25, 1908; married 
Ellen R. Stevens ; children : Frederick Shat- 
tuck, Franklin Pierce, Altamont Stratton, 
Belle, Margaret and Sadie. 4. Rosanna, Au- 
gust 16, 1831, died September 22, 1905; mar- 
ried David J. Hood. 5. Eliza, September 8. 
1833 ; married, in Cheyenne. Wyoming, July 
21, 1870, Stephen Boyd, born in Ontario, Can- 
ada, near Oxford Mills : came to the United 
States in 1865. going to Denver, Colorado, 
later to Laramie. Wyoming. Children : i. 
Bertha, born April 11, 1872. ii. Minnie, Feb- 
ruary 13. 1874, died March 15, 1874. iii. Lil- 
lian, October 28, 1876; married, October 12, 
1899, Elwyn W. Condit : has a son Elwyn 
Boyd, born April 16. 1901. Mrs. Boyd, now 
seventy-eight years of age, resides in Laramie, 
Wyoming; was one of the first jury composed 
of women in the state of Wyoming. In her 



NEW YORK. 



605 



own handwriting she furnished important data 
for this record. 6. Amelia, May 17, 1836; 
married Peter Conver; died May 14, 1883. 
7. Anna, October 28, 1838 ; married Hamilton 
Armour Adams. 8. James F., March 21, 
1841 ; married Mary McElhenny ; children : 
William W., George S. and Blanche. 9. Theo- 
dore (of further mention). 

(Ill) Theodore, son of Aaron Stewart, was 
born in Evansburg, Crawford county, Penn- 
sylvania, October 28, 1844. He was educated 
at Evansburg and at Meadville Academy, 
Meadville, Pennsylvania ; also at Poughkeep- 
sie, New York, Business College. At the age 
of eighteen he went to Franklin, Pennsylvania, 
where he entered a banking office which after- 
ward became the Venango National Bank of 
Franklin, Pennsylvania, remaining there until 
it failed in 1866. In that year he came to 
Silver Creek, Chautauqua county, New York, 
to take a similar position with the Bank of 
Silver Creek, continuing until 1876, when that 
institution discontinued business. He engaged 
in mercantile life in Silver Creek as senior 
member of Stewart & Company, which firm 
conducted a successful business until 1899, 
when he again entered the financial field. In 
May, 1899, he organized, with others, the 
State Bank of Silver Creek. He was chosen 
cashier and ts now vice-president. He has 
other important business interests, one being 
the Columbian Postal Supply Company, manu- 
facturers of cancelling machines used in the 
postoffices for the cancellation of stamps. He 
also holds official position in the Silver Creek 
Sand Company, Silver Creek Gas and Im- 
provement Company, and the People's Electric 
Light and Power Company. He is an Inde- 
pendent in politics, considering the man more 
than his party. For several years he has been 
treasurer of the village corporation of Silver 
Creek. He has always been active in the Pres- 
byterian church and for some time has filled 
the office of elder. 

He married, November 29, 1882, Antoinette 
More, born at Silver Creek, New York, Sep- 
tember 28, 1864, daughter of Henry D. and 
Elizabeth More (see More V). Children: 
1. Vernon Theodore, born November 13, 1883 ; 
educated in Silver Creek schools ; graduate of 
high school, 1900; graduate of Syracuse Uni- 
versity, class of 1905, and soon after entered 
the National City Bank of New York City. 
In 1910 he became cashier of the State Bank 
of Silver Creek, of which he has been a di- 



rector since 1905. He is a member of Beta 
Theta Pi (college fraternity), and April 14, 
1895, became a member of the Presbyterian 
church of Silver Creek. He married. Septem- 
ber 8, 1908, Helen L., daughter of Ralph J. 
and Corinne (Howes) Quale, of Buffalo, New 
York ; child : Richard More, born March 29, 
1910. 2. Ethel, born July 10, 1885, at Silver 
Creek, New York ; united with the Presby- 
terian church of Silver Creek, January 2, 
1898 ; graduate of the high school, 1904, and 
president of her class ; graduate of Elmira Col- 
lege, 1908 ; was president of her class during 
her freshman year; graduate of Fredonia 
State Normal School, 1910, and since 1910 a 
teacher in the Silver Creek high school. 

(The More Line). 

(II) John (2) More, of Roxbury, Delaware 
count)', New York, was the son of John (1) 
and Isabel (Buncan) More. He was born in 
Forres, Elginshire, Scotland, February 24,1745, 
died in Roxbury, New York, January 1, 1840. 
In 1772 he came to America, settling in Dela- 
ware county, New York, where he cleared 
ground, built a log cabin and passed through 
all the bitter experiences of the pioneer. He 
was driven from his home by Indians and 
spent some years in Catskill, New York, later 
returning to Delaware county. He served in 
the revolutionary war when necessary for 
home defense. He was the first postmaster at 
Moresville, Delaware county ; was appointed 
magistrate by the governor, and for a long 
time was the only man in his district author- 
ized to perform the marriage ceremony. He 
married, in Elgin, Scotland, June 9, 1770, 
Betty Taylor, born in Elgin, 1738, died in 
Roxbury, New York, October 13, 1823. Chil- 
dren, first two, John and Robert, born in Scot- 
land ; Alexander Taylor, in Delaware county, 
New York ; Jonas, Jean, James and David in 
Catskill, Greene county, New York ; Edward 
Livingston, in Moresville, Delaware county, 
New York. 

(III) Robert, son of John (2) More, the 
immigrant, was born in Rothiemurchus, Inver- 
ness, Scotland, July 8, 1772, died February 
19, 1849, in Prattsville, New York. He mar- 
ried (first) Susanna Fellows, born January 
30, 1776, in Old Canaan, Connecticut, died 
August 18, 1824, in Roxbury, New York, 
daughter of David and Lois (Stevens) Fel- 
lows. He married (second) Polly Moffatt, 
born October 5, 1787, died August 18, 1829. 



6o6 



NEW YORK. 



Children by first wife : David Fellows, Eliza- 
beth and Lois (twins), Alexander, Edward 
A., William, Henry Fellows, James and Lois 
Ann. 

(IV) William, son of Robert More, was 
born in Roxbury, Delaware county, New 
York, September 4, 1804, died at Avon 
Springs, New York, September 23, 1848. He 
was successively clerk at Leeds, New York ; 
merchant at Holly, New York ; cashier in a 
bank at Geneva, New York ; cashier at Water- 
loo : cashier at Conneaut, Ohio ; cashier in a 
bank at Buffalo, New York; banker and 
broker at Albany, New York ; wholesale fruit 
merchant, New York City, and bookkeeper. 
He married Catherine Hasbrouck, born Octo- 
ber 9. 1803, in Kingston, New York; died 
there March 10, 1884. Children: James Has- 
brouck. Henry Dwight, Susan Frances and 
William Linus. 

( V I Henry Dwight. son of William More, 
was born in Geneva, Ontario county, New 
York, September 18, 183 1, died in Brooklyn, 
New York, May 2, 1889. He married, June 
19, 1856, Elizabeth Cockburn, born August 9, 
1835, in Kingston, Ulster county, New York, 
died December 4, 1880, at Silver Creek, Chau- 
tauqua county. New York, daughter of Lucas 
Keersted and' Maria (Shaw) Cockburn. Chil- 
dren: 1. William, born in Brooklyn, New 
York, June 14, 1861 ; married, October 11, 
1883, Alary E. Winters ; children : Jessie and 
Grace. 2. Antoinette, born in Silver Creek, 
New York, September 28, 1864; married, No- 
vember 29, 1882, Theodore Stewart (see 
Stewart III). 3. Edwin W., born in Brook- 
lyn, New York, May 20, 1870; married, Janu- 
ary 22, 1906. Isabel'le Hildagarde Sheehan, at 
Atlanta, Georgia. 



Among the early proprietors of 
NELSON Brimfield, Massachusetts, were 

John, William and Moses Nell- 
son, or Nilson, as written in the early records, 
later their descendants appear in the same 
town records as Nelson. The Buffalo family 
herein recorded descend from William Nelson, 
a supposed descendant of Thomas Nelson, 
who came with Rev. Ezekiel Rogers from 
Rowley, England, in December, 1638, settling 
at Rowley, Massachusetts, where he held many 
positions of trust. He was called to England 
on business, was taken sick there, and died 
in 1648. His wife was Joan Dummer. 
(I) William Nelson, of whom the first rec- 



ord appears in America, was one of the first 1 
proprietors of Brimfield, Massachusetts, with 
wife Elinore. Their parentage is unknown. 
He died at Brimfield, in October, 1750; she 
died there, October 16, 1757. 

(II) John, third son of William Nelson, a 
resident of Brimfield. died in 1783, at Whit- 
ingham, Vermont. He married Abigail. Chil- 
dren : 1. John, born October, 1749; settled 
in Whitingham, Vermont, where he died : 
married (first) Mary Fenton, (second) Eliza- 
beth . 2. Andrew, born April 14, 1757. 

3. Benjamin, born April 23, 1758, died in At- 
tica, New York, October 10, 1842 ; married, 
February 26, 1779, Anne Fenton. 4. William. 

5. George, of whom further. 6. Edward, born 
February 22, 1765, died at Bernardston, Mas- 
sachusetts, December 10, 1862; married, 1790, 
Hannah Ranger. 

(III) George, son of John Nelson, was born 
in Brimfield, Massachusetts, May 13, 1762, 
died there October 14, 1842. He was a farmer 
all his active life. He moved to Attica, New 
York, where his elder brother Benjamin had 
settled, but after a few years returned to Mas- 
sachusetts. He married, June 1, 1789, Susan, 
daughter of David Fenton. Children: 1. Eu- 
nice, born February 1, 1790, died June, 1841 ; 
married Willard Thompson. 2. Andrew, born 
February 2, 1793, died September 11, 1794. 
3. Willard, born May 9, 1795, died in Massa- 
chusetts, about i860; married Orilla, daughter 
of Daniel and Abigail Moulton (see Moul- 
ton). 4. John, of whom further. 5. Adin, 
born March 5, 1799, died at Wales, Massachu- 
setts, August 14, 1867; married Sally . 

6. Andrew, born May 26, 1801, died at Hen- 
derson, Illinois, August 26, 1868. 7. Ruea, 
born September n, 1804, died July, 1893, an d 
is buried at Wales, Massachusetts. 8. Free- 
man, born October 5, 1805. died at Stevens 
Point, Wisconsin, April 15, 1883. 9. Louisa, 
born December 14, 1812, died at Wales, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1892. 

(IV) John (2), third son of George Nel- 
son, was born in Brimfield, Massachusetts, 
August 28, 1796, died September 6. 1868, at 
Attica, New York. In the year 1818 he re- 
moved with his wife, one son and what few 
belongings they had, in an ox cart, to Attica, 
New York, then practically a wilderness, and 
settled upon a piece of heavily timbered land, 
clearing off thirty acres of solid timber with 
an ax. fencing same in with a six-rail fence, 
the rails and stakes being of his own splitting, 



NEW YORK. 



607 



building his own cabin on this place. During 
the early part of his residence here, which 
was before the days of railroads or even the 
Erie canal, he walked back to his old home in 
Massachusetts four times, a distance of eight 
hundred miles on each round trip, which dis- 
tance he covered in sixteen days actual walk- 
ing time. He was a farmer during his active 
years, and in politics a Whig, later a Repub- 
lican. He married, September 13, 1816, 
Fidilla Moulton, born May 12, 1796, at Mon- 
son, Massachusetts, died at Attica, New York, 
May 31, 1874, daughter of Daniel and Abigail 
(Blodgett) Moulton (see Moulton). Chil- 
dren: 1. James Lawrence, born February 27, 
181 7, in Massachusetts, died in Attica, New 
York, August 15, 1896; married, October 13, 
1856, Emily Lindsay. 2. Adin, born at At- 
tica, New York, May 5, 1819, died there De- 
cember 8, 1906; married, January 13, 1848, 
Eliza Gardner, born September 5, 1828. 3. 
Fenton, born January 24, 1821, at Attica, died 
in Wisconsin, June 14, 1893 ; married Irene 
Phillips. 4. Abigail, born in Attica, June n, 
1823, died there unmarried, November 25, 
1846. 5. George, born in Attica, November 
12, 1825, died there May 12, 1905 ; married, 
October 22, 185 1, Ann Banta Nelson, who 
died June 6, 1866. 6. Olive, born December 
19. 1827, at Bennington, New York, died 
March 30, 1904, at Varysburg, New York; 
married Sylvester Hauver, March 15, 1855. 
7. Luvan, born December 19, 1829, at Ben- 
nington, died at Batavia, New York, February 
7, 1869; married Penrose Garrett. 8. Francis 
Bolivar, born June 27, 1832, at Attica, New 
York; married, October 31, 1861, Melissa 
Gorton. 9. John Seaward, of whom further. 
10. Mary, born June II, 1838, at Attica, died 
there February 21, 1872; married Lathrop 
Blodgett. 

(V) John Seaward, son of John (2) Nel- 
son, was born in Attica, New York, October 
17, 1835, died there January 1, 1903. He was 
educated in the public schools, and spent his 
business life engaged in agriculture. He was 
a Republican in politics. He married, March 
2, 1859. Emmeline Locke, born at Bennington, 
New York, June 5, 1836, died at Attica, Sep- 
tember 28, 1901. Children: John Moulton, 
of whom further ; Addie L., born December 
10, 1867, married, January 1, 1893, Edwin P. 

"Burr. 

(VI) John Moulton, only son of John Sea- 
ward Nelson, was born in Attica, New York, 



October 31, 1861. He was educated in the 
public school, finishing his studies at Attica 
high school. He began business life as a book- 
keeper for John Belden at his coal and lum- 
ber office, remaining three years. In 1884 he 
embarked in the same business in Attica for 
his own account, continuing until 1889. He 
then became a salesman for the Whitney Kem- 
merer Coal Company of New York City. In 
1895 he came to Buffalo as resident manager 
of the Buffalo branch of the Rochester-Pitts- 
burgh Coal and Iron Company, and so con- 
tinues (1912). He is an independent Repub- 
lican, and with his family is an attendant of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church. He mar- 
ried, at Attica, New York, February 7, 1883, 
Ella, daughter of Chauncy G. and Marcia 
(Gregory) Rykerd. They have no children. 

(The Moulton Line). 

This name figures prominently in English 
history from the year 1066, when Sir Thomas 
De Moulton fought with his King, William 
the Conqueror, at the battle of Hastings. In 
1 100 the town of Moulton was founded in 
England. The family was noble and bore 
arms of generally the same design. In 1571 
was granted the arms borne by ancestors of 
the American family : Argent three bars gules 
between eight escalop shells sable: three, two, 
two and one ; crest, on a pellet a falcon rising 
argent. In 1664 a Robert Moulton was an 
admiral in the British navy. The American 
ancestor and emigrant is Robert Moulton, son 
of Rev. Robert Moulton, of the Established 
Church. He was a son of Sir Thomas Moul- 
ton. 

(I) Robert Moulton landed from England 
in 1629, accompanied by his brother James, 
and a son Robert, a clergyman of the Church 
of England. He was made a freeman May 
18, 1 63 1, and from a letter to Governor Endi- 
cott it is learned that Robert Moulton was 
entrusted with all the shipwright tools and 
supplies sent to the colonies, the letter stipu- 
lating that Robert Moulton was to have 
"cheife charge." He was probably the first 
well-equipped shipbuilder that ever landed in 
New England. He built the first vessels in 
Salem and Medford. He was a member of 
the colonial legislature, representing the town 
of Salem. He lived in Charlestown 1630-1635, 
where the navy yard now stands, and had 
a home there. The place was called Moulton's 
Point, and it was there that the British landed 



6o8 



NEW YORK. 



when they crossed from Boston to fight the 
Americans at Bunker Hill. He afterward 
moved to Salem, where he built a house which 
is yet in good condition and was continuously 
in the Moulton name until 1904, the last male 
owner also being Robert Moulton, who willed 
it to a daughter. On her death in 1904, her 
husband sold the property out of the family 
name. He died in 1655. The name of his 
wife is not known. Children : Robert, and 
Dorothv, married Rev. Gasman Edwards. 

(II) 'Robert (2), son of Robert (1) Moul- 
ton, was born in England, and came to Amer- 
ica with his father in 1629. He was a min- 
ister of the Church of England, and attempted 
to establish that church in Salem, but was 
opposed by Governor Endicott and others in 
authority as not in accord with the ideas of 
the colonists. He was rector of the Salem 
church in 1640. He died in the autumn of 
1665, leaving a will. He married, 1640, Abi- 
gail Goode, niece of Emmanuel Downing, who 
married Lucy, a sister of Governor Winthrop. 
Children: Abigail, born December 25, 1642, 
married Benjamin Bellflower ; Robert, of 
whom further: John, born April 25, 1654, 
married Elizabeth Corey; Samuel, died 1667; 
Joseph, born January 3, 1656; Menani, born 
January, 1659, married Joseph Bachelor ; 
Mary, born June 15, 1661, married William 
Lord (2) ; Hannah, married Thomas Flint. 

(III) Robert (3), eldest son and second 
child of Rev. Robert (2) Moulton, was bap- 
tized in Salem, July 17, 1672, died at Brim- 
field, Massachusetts, between 1725 and 1731. 
He married Mary Cook, in Salem, July 17, 
1672, daughter of Henry and Judith Birdsall 
Cook. Children : Mary, born January 2, 1673, 
married Thomas Mackintire ; Robert, of whom 
further; Ebenezer, April 23, 1678; Abigail, 
December 28, 1681, married Zechariah Marsh; 
Samuel, married Sarah Green ; Martha, mar- 
ried Thomas Green ; Hannah, unmarried. 

(IV) Robert (4), eldest son and second 
child of Robert (3) Moulton, was born in 
Salem, July 3, 1675, died August 25. 1756, 
leaving a will. He lived in Salem, Windham, 
Connecticut, and Brimfield, Massachusetts. He 
married, in Beverly, April 11, 1698, Hannah 
Groves. Children: 1. Hannah, born August 
1, 1699: married Stephen Fuller. 2. Robert, 
December 18, 1700; married Elizabeth Baker. 
3. Mary. September 30, 1702 ; married An- 
thony Needham. 4. Abigail, married Abel 
Bingham. 5. Lois, married Dunkee. 



6. Lydia, born January 13, 1708; married 
(first) Thomas King, (second) Mer- 
rick. These six children were born in Salem, 
those following in Windham. Connecticut: 

7. Ebenezer, December 25, 1709; married Eu- 
nice Hall. 8. Mehitable, March 24, 1712; 
married John Perry. 9. Samuel, June 15, 1714; 
married Mary Haynes. 10. Susan, June 15, 
1714. 11. Joseph, August 24, 1716, died Sep- 
tember 13, 1735. 12. Freeborn, of whom fur- 
ther. 13. John, February 1, 1720-1721 ; mar- 
ried Ruth Bound. 

(V) Freeborn, twelfth child of Robert (4) 
Moulton, was born in Windham, Connecticut, 
in 1817. He settled in the town of Monson, 
Massachusetts, where he purchased a tract of 
land four miles square. Near the centre of 
his tract he built in 1763 the famous mansion 
"Moulton Hill," which stood until 1895, when 
it was sold out of the family and torn down. 
He lived there until a very old man, bequeath- 
ing the homestead to his son Daniel. Although 
then an old man and exempt from military 
duty, he shouldered his musket and responded 
to the Lexington Alarm, April 19, 1775. He 
married Rebecca Walker. Children : Joseph, 
born January 15, 1738; Rebecca, November 
29, 1740, died young; Rebecca (2), born Sep- 
tember 30, 1742; Hannah, November 29, 
1743; Freeborn, April 9, 1746; Abner, June 
27, 1749; Phineas, May 15, 1751 ; Elijah, Au- 
gust 10, 1753; Calvin, 1758; Daniel, of whom 
further; Luther, 1763. Abner, Elijah and 
Calvin were soldiers in the revolutionary war. 

(VI) Daniel, tenth child of Freeborn Moul- 
ton, was born in Monson, Massachusetts, 
March 12, 1762, died there March, 1849, aged 
eighty-seven years. He inherited the paternal 
mansion on Moulton Hill and the homestead 
farm. He was a man of education, strong 
character and sound judgment. He taught 
school for forty years and held many of the 
town offices of Monson. At the age of seven- 
teen years he enlisted, July 12, 1779, in Cap- 
tain Joshua Shaw's company (Sixth Hampden 
County Regiment), and served at New Lon- 
don. He married Abigail Blodgett, born in 
Stafford, Connecticut, daughter of Joshua 
Blodgett, also a revolutionary soldier, and 
granddaughter of Daniel Alden, a direct de- 
scendant of John and Priscilla Alden of the 
"Mayflower." Daniel Alden served in the 
revolution, from Bridgewater. joining Wash- 
ington's army at Valley Forge. Children of 
Daniel Moulton, all born in Monson: 1. Har- 



NEW" YORK 



609 



rison, October 20, 1782 ; married Polly Riddle ; 
children : Elbridge G., William H., John W., 
Susan and Mary. 2. Daniel, July 7, 1784; 
studied divinity and became a minister of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, located in Chi- 
cago; married and had: James Madison, Levi, 
Daniel and Levant. 3. Violata, February 20, 
1786; married John Gardner, of Brimfield, 
who died in 1827 ; they lived in De Ruyter 
and Cazenovia, New York ; children : Alfred 
and Daniel. 4. Lucinda, born December 12, 
1787. 5. Levi, October 28, 1789. 6. Oril, 
April 21, 1792. 7. Olive, twin of Oril. 8. Asa, 
born March 26, 1794. 9. Orilla, May 12, 
1796; married Willard, son of George and 
Susan (Fenton) Nelson (see Nelson (III); 
children: i. Susan, born 1820, married Cal- 
vin Skinner, and had Nelson, James, Adelaide 
and Fred ; ii. Maud, born 1824, married Tyler 
Smith, died November, 1865, had Fred, born 
1 861, married May Field, and Nora, born 
1865, married Charles Chamberlain; iii. Orilla, 
born August 21, 1825, married Warner Ben- 
nett, child Cornelius, born August 1. 185 1 ; 
iv. Augusta, born 1829, married (first) Albert 
Dunbar, and had Charles and Adelaide; she 
married (second) Roswell Moulton ; v. 
Samantha, born 1832, died September, 1886, 
married George Shaw, and had William ; vi. 
Cornelius, born 1834, died 1880, married 
Lauriston Moulton, and had : Mabel, married 
Dr. Webber, and Samuel ; vii. Willard, born 
1840, served three years in the civil war, child, 
Willard. 10. Fidilla, of whom further. 11. 
Tamar, born May 18, 1798, died August 2, 
1849; married 1792, died September 6, 1847. 
12. Electa, born October 23, 1800. 13. Maria, 
November 22, 1802. 

(VII) Fidilla, twin of Orilla. and tenth 
child of Daniel and Abigail (Blodgett) Moul- 
ton, was born in Monson, Massachusetts, May 
12, 1796, died May 31, 1874, at Attica, New 
York. She married, September 12, 1816, John, 
son of George and Susan (Fenton) Nelson 
(see Nelson (III). 



The Nelson family of Dunkirk, 
NELSON New York, is of Scotch-Irish 

and English ancestry, descend- 
ing in the paternal line from Joseph Nelson, 
of Ireland, and in the maternal line from Wil- 
liam Bartholomew. The family was originally 
Scotch, and in religion Covenanters. At the 
restoration of the monarchy under Charles II, 
this sect was made the object of bitter perse- 



cution, and thousands took refuge in the north 
of Ireland. Forming a distinct people, they 
came to be known as Scotch-Irish, a people 
of strong character and peculiarly devoted to 
their religion. Among them was numbered 
the Nelson family. 

Descended from the stock above mentioned 
was Joseph Nelson, whose mother was a di- 
rect descendant of John Knox, the famous 
Scotch divine and reformer. Joseph Nelson's 
native place was Dromore, county Down, 
whence he removed to Banbridge, Ireland, 
where he died. He was a manufacturing 
jeweler and a noted clockmaker. One of his 
specialties was the making of the old tall 
clocks known as "grandfather's clock," many 
of which he exported to the United States. 
He married Mary Jane Gilbert, whose father, 
Rev. Adam Gilbert D. D.. was a Scotchman 
and Covenanter, who became a Presbyterian 
when the two churches merged, and was sent 
to Ireland as a missionary by the Scotch Pres- 
byterian church. Children of Joseph and 
Mary Jane (Gilbert) Nelson: Robert, Ann, 
and Joseph. 

Joseph Nelson, youngest child of Joseph 
and Mary Jane (Gilbert) Nelson, was born in 
Dromore, county Down. Ireland. August 7, 
1832. He was well educated, and at the age 
of eighteen years came to the United States 
with his elder brother Robert, aged twenty- 
two years, and their sister Ann, after the 
death of their mother and their father's sec- 
ond marriage. They arrived at Dunkirk on 
May 4, 1850. The brothers had a perfect 
practical knowledge of the jeweler's business, 
gained with their father in Ireland, and de- 
cided to establish in that line in Dunkirk, 
which they did most successfully. After a 
partnership for several years in the retail busi- 
ness, they finally decided to abandon it and 
confine themselves entirely to wholesale 
jewelry business, and having dissolved part- 
nership, Robert went to Toledo, Ohio, where 
he successfully established himself. Joseph 
remained in Dunkirk, continuing in the whole- 
sale jewelry business and with much success, 
until his retirement. The business which he 
founded was conducted under the firm name 
of Joseph Nelson & Company, wholesale 
jewelry and silverware dealers, and is notable 
as the oldest in its particular line of all firms 
in the United States operating continuously 
under the same firm name, and will live after 
him. In its making and in all the events of 



6io 



NEW YORK. 



his life, he made for himself a name and a 
reputation for the strictest integrity, lofty 
character, public spirit and well planned phil- 
anthropy. 

He had been a member of his mother's 
church (the Presbyterian) in his early years, 
but for the last fifty-four years of his life 
he was a devoted member of the Dunkirk Bap- 
tist church. He was most liberal in his sup- 
port of his own church and of all Christian 
organizations and benevolences of whatever 
denomination. He was intensely public- 
spirited and gave loyal support to every enter- 
prise for the advancement of Dunkirk's ma- 
terial and moral interests. He was the soul 
of business integrity, and held in universal 
esteem in his city. He had no club or secret 
order affiliation, being a man of quiet domestic 
tastes, devoted to home and family. His only 
sister Ann was an inmate of his home until 
her death, unmarried. He married, in Sheri- 
dan, New York, June 29, 1858, Julia Ann Bar- 
tholomew, born in -Sheridan, December 12, 
1840. daughter of Henry (see Bartholomew). 
Children, all born in Dunkirk: 1. Isabelle, 
married Frank Gilbert. 2. Leah, married 
Henry Van der Voert ; children, born in Dun- 
kirk: Hildegarde, married Daniel W. 
Lathrop; Joseph Nelson, and Henry Ferdi- 
nand. 3. Julia, married James Lyman Van 
Buren, who died February 26, 1910; children, 
born in Dunkirk : Josephine Nelson, Nellie 
Caroline, James Henry, Joseph Nelson (twin 
of James Henry), James Lyman, and Robert 
Nelson, died aged two years. 4. Josephine, 
died in infancy. 

Mr. Nelson died at his home in Central- Ave- 
nue, Dunkirk, June 28, 1909. His death was 
sincerely deplored by the entire community, 
and during the funeral hour all places of busi- 
ness in the city stood closed. 

(The Bartholomew Line). 

This surname was derived from the ancient 
Hebrew or Syriac personal name Bartholmai. 
modified in Greek and Roman spelling. Like 
the other names of Christ's Apostles, Bar- 
tholomew came into use as a baptismal name 
in every Christian country, even before the 
use of surnames. 

The Bartholomew family in England ap- 
pears to date back to the origin of the use of 
surnames. The ancient coat-of-arms : Argent 
a chevron engrailed between three lions 
rampant sable. One branch of the family 



bears this : Or three goats' heads erased 
sable. Crest: A demi-goat argent gorged 
with a chaplet of laurel vert. 

John, Robert and Richard Bartholomew 
were living about 1550, in Warborough, Ox- 
fordshire, England. Robert and Richard 
were brothers, and from the fact that John's 
son was an overseer of Richard's will it is in- 
ferred that John was a brother also. They 
were landowners, church wardens and men 
of consequence in the community. They fre- 
quently used the term, "alias Martyn," after 
Bartholomew, presumably having adopted the 
name of a maternal ancestor, as was frequently 
the case, to secure an inheritance. Oliver 
Cromwell's name is given in early records 
alias Williams, his paternal ancestors being of 
the Williams family. 

(I) John Bartholomew lived in Warbor- 
ough, England. He married there, November 
22, 1 55 1, Alice Scutter, who was probably 
his second wife. 

(II) John (2), son of John (1) Bartholo- 
mew, married, in Warborough, November 6, 
1552, Margaret Joyes. He was made overseer 
of his uncle Richard's estate in 1577. His 
four sons apparently all settled in the neigh- 
boring towns of Oxford and Burford. Chil- 
dren : John, baptized June 19, 1556, married 
Ales Vicarage ; Rowland, baptized December 
5. 1561. (twin), died 1587; Richard (twin), 
baptized December 5, 1561, buried in Burford, 
April 29, 1632 ; William, of whom further. 

(III) William, son of John (2) Bartholo- 
mew, was baptized in Warborough, February 
7, 1567, and buried May 6, 1634. He settled 
in Burford, where he was a mercer, a dealer 
in silks and woolens. His will was dated 
April 25, 1634. He married Friswide. daugh- 
ter of William Metcalfe, mayor of New 
Woodstock, a neighboring town. She was 
buried in Fulbrooke, December 10. 1647. Chil- 
dren: Mary, married, June 28, 1620, Richard 
Tiilmarsh ; John, inherited father's estate and 
business, and died November 15, 1639; Wil- 
liam, born 1602-3, of whom further; Henry, 
born 1606-7, died November 22, '1692, in 
Salem, Massachusetts ; Richard, supposed to 
have died in London, or on a return trip from 
London to Massachusetts : Francis, baptized 
in Burford. February 13, 1613-14: Thomas, 
baptized June 30, 1616; Abraham, died in Bur- 
ford. March 22, 1646-47: Sarah, baptized 
April 14, 1623. 

(IV) William (2), son of William (1) 



NEW YORK. 



611 



Bartholomew, was born in Burford, England, 
1602-3. He received a good education. He 
went to London, and married Anne, sister of 
Robert Lord, afterward his next neighbor in 
Ipswich, Massachusetts. Before September, 
1634, he had entertained the famous Mrs. 
Anne Hutchinson at his London home. On 
September 18, 1634, he arrived in Boston, 
Massachusetts, in the ship "Griffin," in the 
same company with Anne Hutchinson, Rev. 
John Lothrop and others. He was admitted 
a freeman March 4, 1634-5. and at the same 
time was given permission to trade with ves- 
sels at Ipswich, where he settled. He received 
several grants of land there in 1635, and was 
deputy to the general court the same year, 
serving again in 1636-37-41-47-50. He was 
often on the jury ; was commissioner, town 
clerk, assessor, selectman, treasurer of the 
county, and 'often on important committees. 
He removed to Boston about 1660, and in 
1662 was overseer of the mill of William 
Brown, of Boston. He is called a merchant, 
of Boston. He died in Charlestown, at the 
home of Jacob Green, January 18, 1680-81. 
His grave is in the Phipps street cemetery, 
Charlestown, near that of John Harvard. His 
wife Anne died in Charlestown. January 29, 
1682-3, and her gravestone is still standing. 
Children: Mary, married (first) in Glouces- 
ter, December 24, 1652, Matthew Whipple, 
(second) Jacob Greene; Joseph, born about 
1638, resided in London, England, in 1693 ! 
William, of further mention. 

(V) Lieutenant William (3), son of Wil- 
liam (2) Bartholomew, was born at Ipswich, 
1640-1, and died in the spring of 1697. He 
learned the trade of carpenter, and settled first 
in Roxbury. He sold his Roxbury land in 
1676-7, and removed to Deerfield, Massachu- 
setts, where he bought the home lot of Peter 
Woodward. At the time of the raid of the 
Indians on Hatfield, September 19, 1677, he 
was there with his family. His daughter Abi- 
gail, aged four, was among the captives taken 
to Canada and was ransomed eight months 
later. In 1679 he removed to Branford, Con- 
necticut, where he was granted twenty acres 
of land, built a saw mill and kept an ordinary 
or inn. He was elected surveyor and fence 
viewer. In 1687 the town of Woodstock re- 
quested him to build a mill in their town and 
offered him a grant of land. He was com- 
missioned ensign of the New Roxbury com- 
pany, as Woodstock was then called (July 13, 



1689), and in 1691 became lieutenant. In 1692 
he was the first deputy to the general court 
from Woodstock. He died in Woodstock, in 
1697. He married, in Roxbury, December 17, 
1663, Mary Johnson, born April 24, 1642, 
daughter of Captain Isaac and Elizabeth (Por- 
ter) Johnson, granddaughter of John Johnson, 
who held the title of "Surveyor of all ye 
King's armies in America." Her father was 
killed in the Narragansett fight, December 
19, 1675, as he was leading his men over the 
bridge (a fallen tree) into the enemy's fort. 
Children: Isaac, born November 1, 1664, died 
October 25, 1727; William, October 16, 1666; 
Mary, October 26, 1668; Andrew, December 
11, 1670, of whom further; Abigail, December 
8, 1672, married (first) January 11, 1691-2, 
Joseph Frizzel, (second) 1709, Samuel Paine, 
died 1732: Elizabeth, March 15, 1674-5, mar- 
ried November 21, 1699, Edmund Chamber- 
lain; Benjamin, born about 1677; John, about 
1679; Joseph, about 1682. 

(VI) Andrew, son of William (3) Bar- 
tholomew, was baptized December 11, 1670, 
in Roxbury. He managed his father's mills 
in Branford after the latter's removal to 
Woodstock, and after his father's death owned 
and operated them in company with his brother 
Benjamin. On January 11, 171 1-2, the prop- 
erty was divided and Andrew bought large 
quantities of land in Branford, Wallingford, 
and adjoining towns. He removed to Wall- 
ingford before 1729, and continued there the 
remainder of his life. He was a leading citi- 
zen, and often held positions of trust. He was 
admitted to the church there in 1701. He 
married Hannah Frisbie, died February 2, 
1741, daughter of Samuel Frisbie, of [Iran- 
ford. Children: 1. William, born February 
2, 1699. 2. Susannah, February 4, 1701-2. 3. 
Hannah, August 17, 1704; married. Novem- 
ber 19, 1724, Joseph Barker. 4. Samuel, Sep- 
tember 12, 1706; died 1795. 5. Daniel, Octo- 
ber 16, 1708: died October 25, 1777 6. Re- 
becca, March 28, 1712 ; married, October 19, 
1732, Peter Hall: died October 3, 1791. 7. 
Rev. Andrew, November 7, 1714; graduated 
at Yale College, 173 1, was settled minister at 
Harwinton, Connecticut, October 4, 1738, and 
continued as pastor thirty-five years. 8. Tim- 
othy, February 28. 1716-7; died April 27, 
1749. 9. Joseph, of further mention. 10. John, 
February 8, 1723-4. 11. Martha. 

(VII) Lieutenant Joseph, son of Andrew 
and Hannah (Frisbie) Bartholomew, was born 



612 



NEW YORK. 



in Branford, Connecticut, May 6, 1721, died in 
Wallingford, Connecticut, October 27, 1781. 
He marched on the Lexington alarm of April 
l 9- 1 775- an( l served eight days. His com- 
mission of lieutenant from the general court 
placed him in command of all the men in town 
subject to military duty. He married, Janu- 
ary 13. 1741, Mary Sexton. Children: Han- 
nah, Andrew, Joseph, died young ; Jonathan, 
and Joseph (2). 

(VIII) Joseph (2), son of Joseph (1 ) and 
Mary (Sexton) Bartholomew, was born at 
Wallingford, Connecticut, 1748, died April, 
1 82 1. His farm was on what was called 
"Whirlwind Hill," now known as East Farms, 
in Wallingford, a large part being yet owned 
in the family. He married (first) Martha 
Morse, who died about 1781 ; (second) about 
1784, Damarius Hall, who died November 6, 
1819. Children, first three by first wife: Isaac 
(2), married Lydia Curtiss ; Levi Moss, mar- 
ried (first) Lucy Ives, (second) Pamelia Pot- 
ter ; Joseph, of whom further ; Samuel, mar- 
ried (first) Sylvia Hood, (second) Hannah, 
widow of Stoddard Neal ; Ira (2), married 
Eunice Hall ; Orrin, married his second 
cousin Emmeline Bartholomew. 

(IX) Joseph (3), son of Joseph (2) Bar- 
tholomew, was born in Wallingford. Connecti- 
cut, settled in New York state, first at Sheri- 
dan, where he was an early settler. The tract 
of land he purchased was virgin wilderness, 
but he erected a log cabin, cleared a farm. 
and prospered. He lived and labored there 
the remainder of his life. He married, March 
18, 1804, Julia Howd. Children : 1. Eliza, 
married W. H. Parker. 2. William, died aged 
nineteen years. 3. Polly, married Harry Hall. 
4. Sylvia Ann, married Ives Andrews. 5. 
Stephen Decatur, died young. 6. Almon, died 
aged nine years. 7. Henry, of whom further. 
8. Joseph, a prominent dry goods merchant of 
Dunkirk ; married (first) Cornelia Herten, 
(second) Elizabeth Pearson. 9. Nelson, asso- 
ciated with his brother in the dry goods busi- 
ness : he built and managed the Dunkirk Opera 
House, which after his death came under the 
management of Joseph Nelson ; died unmar- 
ried. 10. William A., died unmarried. 11. 
Stephen Decatur (2), married Julia E. Allen. 

(X) Henry, eldest son and seventh child of 
Joseph (3) and Julia (Howd) Bartholomew, 
was born in Wallingford, Connecticut, June 7, 
18 18, died in Dunkirk, New York, November, 
t 87 1 . He came to Sheridan, New York, with 



his father, and for several years followed 
farming. He then removed to Dunkirk, where 
he was a successful manufacturer of boxes of 
various kinds. In his later years he retired 
from business and returned to Sheridan, re- 
siding on a farm of about three hundred acres, 
where his last years were spent, dying in Dun- 
kirk. He married Isabella Paterson, born in 
Oneida county, New York, July 7, 1819, died 
1854; children, a son dying in infancy and 
three daughters: 1. Julia Ann, married Joseph 
Nelson (q. v.). 2. Mary, married (first) Wil- 
liam A. Post, a captain in the civil war, and 
killed while employed on Erie railroad as en- 
gineer ; child : William (2 ) Post. She mar- 
ried (second) Charles Van Wagner. 3. Helen 
Isabella, married William L. Slater, of Dun- 
kirk, now a resident of Jamestown (see 
Slater VI). 

Mrs. Julia A. Bartholomew Nelson survives 
her husband, and resides at Dunkirk, where 
she is held in the highest esteem. 



This branch of the Gilbert 
GILBERT family in the United States is 

of English ancestry. Its Eng- 
lish progenitors were of the working class 
who, as one descendant writes, "lived peace- 
ful, honest lives." Samuel Gilbert was an 
English working man, who, with wife Susan- 
nah, belonged to the Episcopal church. They 
had children: John, Arthur, Henry and 
Susan. The family home was in Cornwall. 
John, born 181 1, was the first of the family 
to come to the United States. He married, 

in England, 1833, Mary , born 1814, 

and in 1840 he left England for the United 
States. In 1843 his wife, with four children 
and her brother-in-law, Henry Gilbert, fol- 
lowed, making the journey from England to 
Ravenna, Ohio, in thirteen weeks. 

(II) Henry, son of Samuel and Susannah 
Gilbert, was born in Cornwall, England, about 
1815. He learned the cabinetmaker's trade, 
and in 1843 came to the United States with 
his brother Henry's family. He first settled 
at Ravenna, Ohio, later in Londonville, Ash- 
land county, Ohio. He was a Baptist in re- 
ligion, and a Republican, holding the offices 
of councilman and member of the school board 
at Londonville. He married, about 1850, Eliz- 
abeth Sprague, born in Londonville. Ohio, 
daughter of William Jasper Sprague, born on 
a farm near Fly Creek, Chautauqua county. 
New York. He was a gunsmith, and in early 



NEW YORK. 



6r 3 



life lived in Dunkirk, New York. He married 
Rebecca Jones, of Londonville, Ohio. Chil- 
dren : Ann. Margaret, Louisa, James and 
Elizabeth, who married Henry Gilbert. Their 
children : Henry Washington, born February 
22, 1852 ; John Franklin, of further mention ; 
William Jasper, born August 26, 1856; Clem- 
ent Girard, October 8, 1858 ; Thomas Burton ; 
Lou Harriet; George; Benjamin; Joseph 
Nelson. 

(Ill) John Franklin, son of Henry and 
Elizabeth E. (Sprague) Gilbert, was born in 
Londonville, Ashland county, Ohio, June 30, 
1854. He was educated in the public schools. 
He came to Dunkirk and became employed 
with Joseph Nelson, where he learned the 
jewelry business, continued in his employ, and 
in June, 1898, was made a member of the 
firm, continuing in partnership with him up 
to the death of Mr. Nelson, June 28, 1909. 
Since that time he has continued in business 
alone. The firm has been very successful, and 
is well known to the trade. Mr. Gilbert has 
given close attention to business and ranks 
high in commercial circles. He is a stock- 
holder in the Citizens' Savings Bank of his 
native town, Londonville, Ohio, and has other 
business interests. He has been a member of 
the Masonic order for many years, and an 
active worker in his lodge. He was formerly 
a member of clubs and societies in his city, 
but for many years has held no club member- 
ships. He married, at Dunkirk, New York, 
October 15, 1896, Isabelle Bartholomew Nel- 
son, born in Dunkirk, July 3, 1859, daughter 
of Joseph and Julia Ann (Bartholomew) Nel- 
son, of Dunkirk (see Nelson and Bartholo- 
mew ) . Airs. Gilbert is a leading member of 
the Church of Christ, Scientist Mr. and Mrs. 
Gilbert have no children. 



This family is of Welsh ances- 
SLATER try, the name originally being 

Slaughfter, also Slafter and 
later Slater. The first settlement in America 
was about 1680, when John Slaughfter settled 
in Lynn, Massachusetts, removing to Mans- 
field, Connecticut, as early as 1716, and was 
an original settler in 1721 of Wellington, Con- 
necticut, where he was the first grand juror 
for that town. He died there before 1754. 
He married and had a son Samuel. 

(II) Samuel, son of John Slater (as the 
name is now spelled), of Mansfield and Wel- 
lington, Connecticut, was born August, 1696, 



died at Mansfield, July 31, 1770; married, 
January 24, 1721-22, Dorothy Fenton, and had 
a son John. 

(III) John (2), son of Samuel and Dorothy 
(Fenton) Slater, was born at Mansfield, Con- 
necticut, May 26, 1739, died at Norwich, Ver- 
mont, October 8, 1819. He, with two com- 
panions, made the first settlement at Norwich. 
He married (first) March 26, 1767, Elizabeth 
Hovey; (second) October 5, 1815, Priscilla 
Hovey. Among the children of first marriage 
was a son Elihu. 

(IV) Elihu. believed to be a son of John 
( 2 ) and Elizabeth ( Hovey ) Slater, was born 
at Norwich, Vermont, between 1777 and 1779. 
He married Sarah Beach, and had children : 
Orin, Eben, Susan, Mary, Hugh. William, a 
veteran of the civil war ; Aremus (of whom 
further ). 

( V ) Aremus, son of Elihu and Sarah 
(Beach) Slater, was born at Cairo, Greene 
county, New York, July 25, 1820, died March 
30, 1873, at Dunkirk. New York. He received 
a good education, and early in life entered the 
railroad employ. He finally became a locomo- 
tive engineer and for thirty years was in ac- 
tive service, principally with the Erie Railroad 
Company. He lived at Hornell. New York ; 
Williamsport, Pennsylvania, and Dunkirk, 
New York, the latter being his home for many 
years. He was a member and trustee of th£ 
Methodist Episcopal church at Dunkirk, and 
a man of high standing. His manly, upright 
character made him many friends who sin- 
cerely mourned his death. In political life he 
took little part, but was a supporter of the 
Republican party always. He was a member 
of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows in 
his younger years and quite active in the or- 
der. He married, Mary Jane Feroe, born 
April 29, 1830, at Buffalo, New York ; died 
February 17, 1880, and is buried beside her 
husband in the cemetery at Fredonia, New 
York. She grew up in Cairo, New York, 
where she was educated. Children: 1. Mary 
Melissa, born February 12, 1847; married 
(first) Henry Tyler ; child, Mary L. ; married 
(second) Melvin G. Hill; residence, Addison, 
New York. 2. William Lewis (of whom fur- 
ther). 3. Delia Ann, born April 20, 1850, 
died 1906; married Frank Bliss. 4. Adelbert, 
born October 10, 1853, died November 19, 
1875. 5. Edward Scott, residence. Los An- 
geles, California ; married and had one son, 
deceased ; and two daughters. 



6i 4 



NEW YORK. 



(VI) William Lewis, son of Aremus and 
Mary Jane (Feroe) Slater, was born in Cairo, 
Greene county, New York, April 25, 1848. 
He was educated in the public schools of the 
towns in which his father resided: Hornell, 
Williamsport and Dunkirk. At the age of 
eighteen years he began business life for him- 
self as proprietor of a book, news and sta- 
tionery store, which he continued for six years. 
He then entered the employ of the Erie rail- 
road, remaining two years. He then estab- 
lished in the grocery business, which he con- 
tinued for four years, when he sold out and 
went to Arizona. After two years spent in 
mining he returned to New York state and 
located in Buffalo. Here he remained for 
twenty-three years engaged in contracting and 
building. He then removed to Adams, New 
York, as superintendent of a planing mill. 
Later he removed to Jamestown, New York, 
where he is now connected with the Warren, 
Ross Lumber Company, and resides on Fair- 
mount avenue. He was made a member of 
Parish Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Buffalo, later demitting to Mt. Moriah 
Lodge, No. 145, of Jamestown. He also is a 
member of Buffalo Chapter, No. 71, Royal 
Arch Masons. He is a member of the Church 
of Christ, Scientist, and in politics is a Re- 
publican. He married, November 11, 1869, at 
Sheridan, New York, Helen Isabelle Bartholo- 
mew, born at Dunkirk, January 24. 1850. (see 
Bartholomew X). Children: 1. Henry Lewis, 
born October 6, 1870, died August 22, 1905 ; 
he was a traveling salesman for Joseph Nelson 
& Company, of Dunkirk, a young man of good 
business ability and reputation. He belonged 
to the Masonic order at Dunkirk, and was a 
Republican in politics. 2. Joseph Nelson, born 
at Dunkirk, July 11, 1878; received a technical 
education, graduating from Cornell with the 
class of 1903, and is a civil engineer by pro- 
fession, and connected with the good roads 
work in the state of New York. He is a 
member of the Masonic order, belonging to 
Lodge, Chapter, Commandery and Shrine. He 
married Elizabeth Conine. Children: Eliza- 
beth Helen and Alice Gray. 3. Leah Helen, 
born in Dunkirk, September 19, 1882; mar- 
ried. September 12, 1910, Howard Raymond 
Black, born at Oakland, Genesee county. New 
York. November 14. 1S81. son of John C. and 
Ethel A. (Alorsman) Black. He is secretary 
of the Warren, Ross Lumber Company, of 
Jamestown. One child. Howard Black. 4. 



William Adelbert, born at Buffalo, New York, 
June 13, 1891. 



This is an ancient name in 
HARVEY England, where it was brought 
with William the Conqueror 
by Hervens de Bourges ( anglicized Hervey of 
Bourges). He is shown in Domesday Book, 
and in 1086 held a great barony in Suffolk. 
In 1485 Turner Harvey was born, who be- 
came a noted archer and warrior. His arms 
were : Sable on a chevron between three long- 
bows argent, as many pheons of the field. 
Crest : A leopard or, langued gules, noling in 
paw, three arrows proper. Motto : "Faites ce 
que le honneur exige." William Harvey, 1554- 
67, was high in roval favor, and there is con- 
stant mention of the family in English records. 
( E) Thomas Harvey died in Somersetshire, 
England, prior to 1647. About the time of 
the birth of Thomas Harvey's first child. King 
James' declaration that he would make all men 
conform to the Established Church or drive 
them out of England, was having its due 
effect, and in due time the pilgrims in the 
"Mayflower" landed in New England. Thomas 
Harvey's sons, William and Henry, joined the 
emigration in 1636, and his daughter married 
Anthony Slocum, and with him came to Amer- 
ica, settling in Taunton. The name of Thomas 
Harvey's wife is not known, but he had an- 
other son James, besides the two mentioned. 

(II) William, son of Thomas Harvey, was 
born in Somersetshire, England, about 1614. 
In company with his brother Thomas he came 
to America in 1636 and settled at Dorchester. 
In 1637 he was one of the company of forty- 
six "first and ancient purchasers," so called, 
who, "feeling much straitened for want of 
room," purchased from Massnsoit, Sachem of 
the Wampanoag tribe of Indians, whose seat 
was at Mount Hope, the Indian title to Cohan- 
net, lying thirty-two miles south of Boston, in 
the colony of New Plymouth. In the summer 
of 1638 the proprietors removed to their pur- 
chase, to which they gave the name of Taun- 
ton, the English home of many of them. Mr. 
Harvey was the owner of eight shares in 
the new purchase. His is the second recorded 
marriage in the town, and is thus shown upon 
the court records: "At a court of Assistants, 
William Harvey and Joane Hucker of Cohan- 
net were maryed the 2nd of Aprill, 1639." In 
late 1639 or early in 1640 he removed with 
his wife to Boston, where thev remained until 



NEW YORK. 



6i5 



1646, during which period four children were 
born to them. He then returned to Taunton. 
In 1659 he shared in the general distribution 
of land, receiving a home lot on what is now 
Cohannet street. In 1661 he was appointed 
excise commissioner. In 1664 he was repre- 
sentative to the general court, and again in 
1677. For many years he was selectman, and 
his name is of frequent mention in connection 
with important affairs of the town. He died 
in the summer of 1691, leaving a will. His 
children: 1. Abigail, born April 25, 1640; 
died August 20, 1691. 2. Thomas, of further 
mention. 3. Experience, born March, 1644; 
married her cousin, Thomas Harvey. 4. Jo- 
seph, born December 8, 1645 > died 1691 ; mar- 
ried Esther . 5. Jonathan, born 1647; 

died 1 69 1 ; unmarried. 

(III) Thomas (2), son of William and 
Joane (Hucker) Harvey, was born in Boston, 
December 18, 1641. In 1646 he settled with 
his parents in Taunton, and in 1667 became 
the owner of a right of land thereby pur- 
chased from Richard Stacey. In 1678 he was 
described as a "husbandman," and was the 
owner of land in the "South Purchase." His 
name appears on the list of "the four squa- 
drons ordered to bring their arms to meeting 
on the Lordsday" in 1682. In 1689 he was 
one o'f the grantees named in the Bradford 
deed. In 1700 he was a member of the "First 
Military Company or Train band" of Taunton. 
In 1708-9 he was selectman of the town, and 
held that office for several years. He is of 
frequent mention in the records until his death 
in Taunton in 1728, in the eighty-seventh year 
of his age. He married, December 10, 1679, 
Elizabeth, daughter of Deacon John and Eliza- 
beth (Hodgkins) Willis. Deacon John came 
from England to America, and was an original 
proprietor and one of the first settlers of 
Bridgewater, Massachusetts. Children: 1. 
William, born January 2, 1681 ; died 1733. 2. 
Thomas, of further mention. 3. John, born 
February 4, 1684. 4. Jonathan, born April 30, 
1685. 5. Joseph, born January 14, 1688. 6. 
Hannah, born 1690; unmarried in 1716. 7. 
Elizabeth, born 1692 ; unmarried in 1716. 
8. Abigail, born 1694 ; married, 1739, James 
Latham, of Brjdgewater. 

(IV) Thomas (3), son of Thomas (2) and 
Elizabeth (Willis) Harvey, was born in Taun- 
ton, Massachusetts, September 17, 1682. He 
lived at Norton, where his children were born. 
About T724 or 1725 he removed with his fam- 



ily to Nine Partners, Dutchess county, New 

York. He married, in 1706, Sarah . 

Children, born in Norton, Massachusetts: 1. 
Thomas, February 18, 1707. 2. Elijah, Octo- 
ber 20, 1708. 3. Zechariah, May 21, 171 1. 
4. Joel, of further mention. 5. Sarah, born 
July 2, 1716. 6. Zebulon, May 20, 1719. 7. 
Obed, March 10, 1722. 

(V) Joel, son of Thomas (3) and Sarah 
Harvey, was born at Norton, Bristol county, 
Massachusetts, in April, 1712, and in 1724 or 
1725 removed with his parents to Nine Part- 
ners, Dutchess county, New York. Later he 
lived at New Milford, Litchfield, Connecticut, 
and in 1742 removed to Sharon, where he set- 
tled in what was called "the valley." He built 
there a grist mill that stood for more than 
sixty years, and a substantial stone house 
which stood for a longer period. He was also 
a large land owner. He died December 26, 

1776. He married Sarah . Children, 

born in Sharon: 1. Sarah, July 31, 1744. 2. 
Joel, of further mention. 3. Cynthia, June 8, 
1749. 4. Zilphina, November 4, 1750. 5. 
James, February 23, 1753. 6. Esther, March 
5> I 755- 7- William, May 23, 1757. There 
were probably others born in other towns. 

(VI) Joel (2), son of Joel (1) and Sarah 
Harvey, was born February 11, 1746, at 
Sharon, Connecticut. He removed to Wash- 
ington county, New York, where he settled 
in the town of Fort Ann. A relative, Medad 
Harvey, had settled there prior to 1784, who 
was one of the first supervisors of the town, 
justice of the peace, and a farmer. Joel Har- 
vey married, and had a son Medad. 

(VII) Medad, son of Joel (2) Harvey, 
was born in the town of Fort Ann, Washing- 
ton county, New York, March 22, 17 — . He 
served in the war of 18 12, and later removed 
to Onondaga county, New York, where he 
engaged in farming, later, in 1823, removing 
to Herkimer county. He married Mary Fos- 
ter, and had issue: William F., of whom fur- 
ther; and Oliver H. 

(VIII) William F., son of Medad Harvey, 
was born in Onondaga county, New York, 
April 5, 1822; died February 15, 1901. In 
1823 his parents removed to Herkimer county, 
where he was educated in the public schools 
and at Fairfield Academy. He remained there 
until 1845, becoming a farmer and lumberman. 
In 1879 he settled in Lockport, New York, 
where he became a contractor and builder, also 
an extensive dealer in real estate, continuing 



6i6 



NEW YORK. 



the lines of activity until his death. He was 
an attendant of the Reformed Church and 
member of the Masonic order. He married 
(first) Sarah Brown and had three daughters, 
Jane, Ellen, and Isabel. He married, (second) 
in Herkimer, New York, 1874, Elisabeth 
(Jones) Spinner, widow of Charles Spinner, 
of Herkimer, New York. 

(The Spinner Line). 

(II) Rev. John P. Spinner, son of John 
Peter Spinner, was born in Baden, Germany, 
and died in Herkimer county, New York. He 
was educated in the Gymnasium of Bishopeim 
and the University of Mentz. In 1789 he was 
consecrated to the Roman Catholic Church. 
He married Mary Magdale Fedelis Brumante, 
a native of Loire; and in 1801, accompanied 
by his wife, emigrated to the United States. 
having renounced his priestly vows. He landed 
in New York City, and in 1802 was called to 
the pastorate of the Reformed Protestant 
Dutch Church of German Flats (town of Mo- 
hawk ) . Herkimer county, New York. Here 
he ministered to the spiritual welfare of his 
people for forty-six years, broken only by a 
short period of teaching. Nor were his serv- 
ices confined to this particular congregation, 
for he preached to the people at Columbia, 
Warren, Indian Castle, Manheim, Schuyler, 
and in some of the towns of adjoining coun- 
ties, and at the church in Herkimer village. 
He was thoroughly educated, and his sermons 
are said to have been eloquent and masterly. 
He died at his residence in Herkimer, May 
27, 1848, aged eighty years. Children: Fran- 
cis E., John D., Peter B., Catherine L., Jacob 
W., Charles, Amelia, Christian F., Mary A. 

(III) Francis E., son of Rev. John P. Spin- 
ner, was born at German Flats, Herkimer 
county ; was educated mostly under his father's 
instruction ; was for twenty years executive 
officer of the Mohawk Valley Bank; held all 
commissions from the governors of New York, 
from lieutenant to major-general of the state 
artillery; was sheriff of Herkimer county; 
commissioner for building the State Lunatic 
Asylum from 1845 to x ^49 ; was auditor in the 
naval office at New York City in 1854; was 
elected representative from New York to the 
thirty-fourth and thirty-fifth congress, serving 
as a member of the committee on accounts ; re- 
elected to the thirty-sixth congress; serving 
as chairman of the committee on accounts. 
In 1861 he was appointed treasurer of the 



United States by President Lincoln, continu- 
ing in that position until 1875, when he re- 
signed. His signature was better known than 
any other in this country, as it was borne upon 
every bank note issued by the government be- 
tween the years 1861 and 1875. 

(Ill) Charles, son of Rev. John P. Spinner, 
was born at German Flats ( where the town 
of Mohawk now stands), Herkimer county, 
New York, December, 1810. died October 27, 
1872, and, like his brother Francis E., received 
most of his instruction from his father, who 
was a highly educated German minister. He 
was engaged in the real estate business and 
was a leading business man, and a leader in 
the Democratic party. He married. May 17, 
i860, Elisabeth Jones, of Herkimer, New 
York. Children: 1. Charles C, born June 26, 
1 861, now a resident of Herkimer, New York; 
married Harriet Ames, of Herkimer, August 
19. 1881, and has three children: Charles F., 
Willis A. and Elizabeth. 2. Ernest F., born 
March 27, 1867, died in New Mexico, Decem- 
ber 11, 1903; he went to Largo, New Mexico, 
in 1887, engaged in the merchandise and cattle 
business ; married Lena Rosenburg, of Lock- 
port, New York, September 25, 1889; they 
had two sons : Carl R. and Harvey. 

(The Jones Line). 

Elisabeth (Jones) Spinner is a granddaugh- 
ter of John Jones, born in Wales, came to the 
United States, where he settled in Greene 
county, New York, and founded a family. 

Lewis, son of John Jones, was born May 
15, 181 1, died January 11, 1883; married 
Sarah Kelsey, born February 12. 1812. died 
at Lock-port, 1905. Sarah Kelsey was a daugh- 
ter of Robert Kelsey, born April 12. 1784. died 
September 30, 1866. Elisabeth, daughter of 
Lewis and Sarah (Kelsey) Jones, was born 
in Greene county, New York. She married 
(first) Charles Spinner; (second) William F. 
Harvey (see Harvey YIII). She survives her 
second husband also and resides in Lockport, 
New York. 



Tan Dobs or Dopse, immigrant 
DOBBS ancestor of the Dobbs family of 
New York, was living in Tarry- 
town, Westchester county. New York, as early 
as 1698 "en zyn buys vrous Abigail", and 
both were members of the Dutch church at 
Sleepy Hollow. He had sons, William and 
Thomas, born 17 12. William Dobbs. son of 



NEW YORK. 



617 



Jan Dobs, or Dopse, was born in Philadel- 
phia, according to various accounts, and he is 
presumed to have been of Swedish ancestry, 
from the New Jersey colony, but his father 
was Dutch, according to very positive evidence 
(see Bolton, vol. I, Records of the Dutch 
Church of Tarrytown). Jan and Abigail Dobs 
were sponsors at the baptism of a child of 
William and Leah Dobs in 1730. William 
and Leah Dobs were sponsors at various bap- 
tisms of children of relatives at Sleepy Hol- 
low, Tarrytown. Jan and Abigail Dobs were 
sponsors in 1706-10-30. William Dobbs lived 
at Tarrytown and married there, according to 
the records of the Dutch church, Leah Van 
Waert, of Philadelphia. Among their children 
were: Abram, baptized April 11, 1730. at 
Tarrytown, and Jeremiah (mentioned below). 

Jeremiah, son of William Dobbs, married 
Jane Le Vines and had two daughters, a son 
Peter, whose descendants lived at Greenburg, 
near Tarrytown, and Jeremiah Jr. Jeremiah 
Dobbs Sr. was a fisherman and settled near 
the southern part of what is now Dobbs Ferry 
in the town of Greenburg. He "added to his 
meagre income by ferriage of occasional 
travelers across the Hudson. He used a style 
of boat known at that day as a periauger, a 
canoe hollowed out of a solid log." The canoe 
was propelled by a single long oar by sculling 
at the stern. From this primitive ferry the 
village took its name. 

In 1790 the first federal census of New 
York state gave as the heads of families of 
this surname, Jarvis, Jeremiah. Abraham, 
Peter, John and Daniel, several of whom have 
been mentioned. Daniel Dobbs was living at 
Kinderhook, then Columbia county, and had 
four sons under sixteen and two females in 
his family. Abraham, son of William Dobbs. 
was living at Greenburg and had four males 
over sixteen, one under that age and three 
females in his family. Jeremiah Dobbs was 
of New York City, as was also Peter, men- 
tioned above. John Dobbs lived in Haver- 
straw, Orange county. 

We find also in New York City in ea;:ly 
days William Dobbs, a member of the old 
Dutch church. He was born in 1718, died in 
New York City, September- 6, 1781. and is 
buried in Trinity churchyard, Broadway. He 
married Catherine Van Size, who was born 
in New York City, January 25, 1710, died May 
4, 1799. Children: Ann, Polly, Catherine. 
William and eight others. It is thought that 



this William was a son of William, mentioned 
above, and grandson of Jan. William Dobbs, 
of New York, has descendants at Danbury, 
Connecticut. 

(I) Zachariah Dobbs, a member of the fam- 
ily here under consideration, lived in Dutchess 
county, New York. He married Loretta Cox. 
The}- had children : Zachariah, Jordan, Mar- 
tin (mentioned below). 

(II) Martin, son of Zachariah Dobbs, was 
born in Dutchess county, New York, March 
23, 1801, died April 24, 1872, at Somerset, 
New York. He was educated in the district 
schools. About 1834 he moved to Monroe 
county, New York, where he carried on a 
farm on shares for three years. In 1837 he 
settled in Niagara county, in the town of Som- 
erset, and bought a farm of sixty acres on 
the Lake road and afterward he bought an- 
other farm of one hundred acres on the same 
road and conducted both places, raising grain 
and conducting general farming for many 
years. In politics he was a Republican. He 
married, November 3, 1824, Ann Albertson, 
born in June, 1801, in Dutchess county, New 
York, died at Somerset, April 19, 1873. Chil- 
dren : 1. Lydia A., born November 13, 1825. 
2. Harriet A., July 13. 1829 ; married James 
Thorn. 3. Susan Mary, August 28, 1830; 
married (first) John Wilson, and (second) 
George V. Meseroll. 4. Edward. December 5, 
1834, died young. 5. Albert N., January 31, 
1837 : married Addie Pettit. 6. S. Theron 
(mentioned below). 7. Homer J., July 3, 
1845, died young. 

(III) S. Theron, son of Martin Dobbs, was 
born October 17, 1840, in Somerset. He at- 
tended the public schools of his native town 
and the Lockport union school. During his 
boyhood he assisted his father on the farm, 
and in 1865 took over the management of one 
of his father's farms on shares, and in 1872 
bought a farm of eighty-nine acres known as 
the old Bangham farm on the Lake road. In 
addition to general fanning, he has made a 
specialty of fruit and has an apple orchard of 
sixteen acres besides other small fruits. In 
politics he is a Prohibitionist, and in religion 
a Methodist. 

He married, January 18, 1865, Hannah M. 
Pease, born February 10, 1839, daughter of 
Adam and Margaret (Patten) Pease. The 
Pease and Patten families were early settlers 
in Somerset and prominent among the found- 
ers of the town. Children, born at Somerset : 



6i8 



NEW YORK. 



i. Walter T., died in infancy. 2. Lillian A., 
born February 28, 1873 ; married Glenn F. 
Hood, November 9, 1910. 3. Josephine M., 
March 8, 1875 ; married Wilfrid Frost, March 
17, 1897, and had Clifford E. Frost, born 
December 28, 1899; Lillian A. Frost, born 
May 28, 1902, and Elizabeth H. Frost, born 
May 25, 1905. 



While this family has been in 
RUSZAJ the United States and Buffalo 

but two generations, they have 
taken a leading position in the business and 
professional life of the Polish Colony. Martin 
Ruszaj, born in Germany, Province of Poland, 
November 12, 1851, came to the United States 
in 1872 to avoid military duty in the German 
army. He is the son of John and Mary S. 
(Majchrzycki) Ruszaj, of Poland, a farmer. 
He settled in Buffalo, where in 1885 he estab- 
lished a book and stationery store, specializing 
in church supplies used by those of the Catholic 
faith. His store on Peckham street was the 
first of the kind kept by a Polish Catholic, and 
has always been a successful one. He still 
continues the business. He is a Democrat in 
politics, and a member of Saint Stanislaus 
Roman Catholic Church and Society. He 
married, September 18, 1875, Anna, daughter 
of Adelbert Fronczak, of Poland, and only 
sister of Dr. Francis E. Fronczak, the well- 
known physician and health commissioner of 
the city of Buffalo. Children: 1. Joseph, born 
February 9, 1878 ; resident of Buffalo ; mar- 
ried Anastasia Kaleta ; they had four children : 
Leon, Mary, Alexander, Cecelia. 2. Mary, 
married Frederick Grobelski ; they had two 
children: Leon and Sophie. 3. Katherine, 
married Stanislaus Wawrzyniak ; they had 
three children: Celia, Lucy, Florence. 4. 
Stanley Eustace (of whom further). 5. Agnes, 
married Anthony Tabolski ; child. Flora. 6. 
Walter. 7. Jennie. 8. Helen. 

(II) Stanley Eustace, son of Martin and 
Anna (Fronczak) Ruszaj, was born in Buf- 
falo, New York, February 24, 1884. He was 
educated at Saint Stanislaus parochial school, 
the public school of the ninth ward of Buf- 
falo, and the Masten Park high school, from 
which he was graduated, class of 1904. He 
chose the profession of dentistry, entered the 
University of Buffalo, was graduated D.D.S., 
1907, and licensed to practice by the state of 
New York the same year, and at once began 
practice at No. 1012 Broadway, Buffalo, and 



so continues. He is a Republican in politics, 
and a member of the Church of the Trans- 
figuration (Roman Catholic), and of the 
Eighth Dental District of the State of New 
York. He married, August 5, 1908, Angeline 
L., daughter of Marcelli and Mary (Pronobis) 
Smeja. Child: Eugene, born November 11, 
1910. 



This is an ancient and hon- 
RATCLIFFE orable family of England. 

The family herein recorded 
was long seated in Yorkshire, where they 
were land owners. In America the name is 
found among the early pilgrims. Robert Rat- 
cliffe was living in Plymouth, Massachusetts, 
in 1623, while Rev. Robert Ratcliffe was the 
first rector of King's Chapel. Boston, 1686. 
King's Chapel was fifth in the order of Boston 
churches. In 1686 the first Episcopal service 
was held in Boston in the "old Town House." 
Rev. Robert Ratcliffe came over May 14, 1686, 
in the frigate "Rose," and held the first Epis- 
copal service. King's Chapel was originally 
a small wooden structure, but was soon re- 
placed by a more pretentious one of stone. 

(I) John Ratcliffe. the progenitor of the 
Medina Ratcliffes, lived and died at Hains- 
worth, near Bradford, Yorkshire, England. 
He was a cattle drover and farmer. His busi- 
ness in cattle called him to different parts of 
England and frequently to Ireland. He was a 
man of substance and good standing in his 
town, well known, energetic and thrifty. He 
married Mary Rhodes, of the same shire. Chil- 
dren : William, Thomas, Abram. John, of fur- 
ther mention ; Susanna, and Betty, who mar- 
ried a Mr. Hartlev. 

(II) John (2).' son of John (1) Ratcliffe. 
was born December, 1820, near Halifax. 
Yorkshire, England. He was well educated in 
the county schools, and learned the butcher's 
trade in the town of Preston, in Yorkshire. 
In 1850, with his wife, he sailed for the United 
States, landing in New York City after a 
seven weeks' voyage. He came to Batavia. 
Genesee county, New York, by rail, and from 
there overland by team to Medina. Orleans 
county, where he settled. In a short time he 
began business for himself, opening a com- 
bined meat market and grocery store, which 
he successfully and profitably conducted until 
his death, June 15, 1861. He was a man of 
good business ability, upright and honorable 
in all his dealings. He was a Democrat in 



NEW YORK. 



619 



politics, and a member of the Protestant Epis- 
copal church. He married, in Yorkshire, in 
1848, Hannah Bland, born June 20, 1820, 
christened at the old Bradford Episcopal 
Church, Yorkshire, died at Medina, New 
York, September 19, 1910, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Mercy (Spencer) Bland, of Brad- 
ford, in Yorkshire. William Bland was one 
of the founders of the Wesleyan church of 
Kingsbury, in Yorkshire, a church that has 
since benefited by the generosity of his de- 
scendants in Medina. Children: 1. Thomas, 
born June 1, 1849 ( tne on ty English-born 
child of his parents), died March 12, 1850. 
2. John T., born in Medina, March 28, 1851, 
died August 23, i860. 3. Mary Hannah, of 
further mention. 4. Rhodes Edward, born 
February 25, 1857, in Medina, died there Feb- 
ruary 11, 1901. He was educated in the pub- 
lic schools, learned the trade of harness 
maker, and maintained a place of business on 
East Center street. He was a member of the 
First Baptist Church of Medina, of which 
he was trustee and treasurer for many years. 
He was a Republican in politics. 

(Ill) Mary Hannah, only daughter of John 
and Hannah (Bland) Ratcliffe, was born in 
Medina, New York, February 28, 1854. She 
was educated in the public schools and at the 
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michi- 
gan, where she matriculated in 1887, pursued 
the medical course, and was graduated M. D. 
in 1891. Although fully equipped for her pro- 
fession, Miss Ratcliffe has never practiced. 
She is a member of the First Baptist Church 
of Medina, and active in the work of that 
church, especially in the Social Union and the 
missionary societies. After the death of her 
mother, she visited England and the old Wes- 
leyan church at Kingsbury, in Yorkshire, of 
which her Grandfather Bland was a founder, 
and to which she made a generous donation 
as a memorial. Miss Ratcliffe resides in Me- 
dina, New York, where she is well known 
for her good works. 



The Moshers of Westfield, 
MOSHER New York, are of English an- 
cestry, descendants of Hugh 
Mosher, who came, from England in 1632, 
landing at Boston from the ship "Jane," and 
was of Newport and Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island, and Dartmouth, Massachusetts. 

(II) Hugh (2), son of Hugh (1) Mosher, 
was born in 1633, died 1713. In 1660 he was 



one of six men who bought certain lands at 
Westerly, Rhode Island, of the Indian Sachem, 
Socho. In 1684 he was ordained pastor of 
the First Baptist Church, of Dartmouth, Mas- 
sachusetts. He married (first) Rebecca Harn- 
del. His second wife was named Sarah. He 
had eight children, all by first wife. 

(III) Nicholas, eldest son of Hugh (2) 
Mosher, was born 1666, died August 14, 1747. 
He was of Dartmouth, Massachusetts, and 
Tiverton, Rhode Island. His wife Elizabeth 
died in 1747. They had ten children. 

(IV) Nicholas (2), sixth child of Nicholas 
(1) Mosher, was born January 17, 1703. He 
was left five pounds in his father's will, and 
when married and settled in life was of 
Tyringham, Connecticut. He married Eliza- 
beth Crandall and had fourteen children. 

(V) Francis, son of Nicholas (2) Mosher, 
was born in Connecticut, about 1750. He 
moved to New York state, settling in the 
town of Pittstown, Rensselaer county. He 
married and had three children : Frances (of 
whom further) ; George, of Lockport, New 
York ; a daughter, who married Robert Mc- 
Kay and settled in Fulton county, New York. 

(VI) Francis (2), son of Francis (1) 
Mosher, was born in 1786. He married and 
had six children: 1. Daniel, married and had 
children : Lydia, Emma and Jay ; all lived 
in Fulton county. 2. Abram (of whom fur- 
ther). 3. Phila, married Madison Hall, of 
Red Creek, Wayne county, New York. 4. 
Abbie, married Benjamin Hunt, of Wayne 
county. 5. George, married Lydia Ann San- 
ford. 6. Lydia. 

(VII) Abram, son of Francis (2) Mosher, 
was born in Rensselaer county, New York, 
1816, died in Westfield, Chautauqua county, 
January 4, 1858. He came to Chautauqua 
county about 1840, settling in the western 
part of the county near the Pennsylvania state 
line. Here he followed agriculture for sev- 
eral years, spending his last years in West- 
field. He married Amirilla Welch, born in 
Wayne county, New York, died in Westfield, 
New York, September 26, 1887, aged eighty- 
four years. Children: 1. Francis Reed (of 
whom further). 2. Horatio M., born in Rip- 
ley, Chautauqua county, August 30, 1846. He 
was educated in the public schools of Penn- 
sylvania, and has for the past twenty-five years 
been employed by his brother in his lumber 
business at Westfield. He is a member of the 
Masonic Order and a Republican. He mar- 



620 



NEW YORK. 



ried. November g, 1870, in Westfield, Mary 
Elizabeth Timson, born there 1851, died 
March 24, 1910, daughter of Isaac and Mar- 
garet (Snowden) Timson, and granddaughter 
of Charles and Irene (Whipple) Timson. 
Irene Whipple was a descendant of Matthew 
Whipple, of Ipswich, Massachusetts. 

(VIII) Francis Reed, eldest son of Abram 
Mosher, was born in Ripley, Chautauqua 
county, New York, February 26, 1843. He 
received a good education in the public schools 
and in 1862 settled in Westfield, New York. 
He was energetic and industrious and worked 
at any honest labor that presented itself, hus- 
banding his earnings with the purpose ever 
in view of engaging in business on his own 
account. In 1878 he felt that he had sufficient 
capital to engage in the lumber business in a 
small way. He purchased a modest stock and 
established his yard on the west side of Chau- 
tauqua creek. He prospered and gained not 
only a foothold in the business world but a 
sure place in the regard of the business men 
of his section. Four years after, in 1882, he 
purchased the coal business of R. L. Adams, 
on the Lake Shore and Michigan Southern 
railroad. This business also prospered under 
Mr. Mosher's able management, who later 
merged his two lines, coal and lumber, into 
one concern, The Westfield Coal and Lumber 
Company, which still transacts a large and 
profitable business. Mr. Mosher began his 
business career on the sure foundation of 
fair dealing with every one and has all his 
life maintained the high ideals with which 
he started. No man stands higher in the 
esteem of his circle of acquaintance. He was 
elected village trustee and gave efficient serv- 
ice for four terms. He was then chosen a 
member of the board of water commissioners, 
having in charge the gathering and distribu- 
tion of Westfield's water supply. In 1901 he 
was elected president of the village corpora- 
tion of Westfield and to this office, as he did 
to the others, he gave the same careful atten- 
tion and devotion that characterizes his con- 
duct of his private business. He is now serv- 
ing as assessor of the village. He is a mem- 
ber of the Presbyterian church, past master of 
Summit Lodge, No. 219, Free and Accepted 
Masons, member of Westfield Chapter, No. 
239, Royal Arch Masons, and of Dunkirk 
Commandery, No. 40, Knights Templar. Po- 
litically he is a Republican. 

He married, in Westfield, December 11, 



1872, Grace Harper, born in county Down, 
Ireland, daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth 
Harper. Her father came from Ireland to 
the United States with wife and child, settling 
in Chautauqua county. New York. He was 
a shoemaker in Ireland, but on coming to 
Chautauqua county engaged in farming. Chil- 
dren : James, married Jane Strain ; Nancy, 
married Samuel Thompson ; Sarah, married 
Archibald McDougal ; Grace, married Francis 
R. Mosher; Thomas, a veteran of the civil 
war ; John. Children of Francis R. and Grace 
Mosher : Rilla, deceased : Agnes ; Thomas 
W., married Marica Jones, and has one child, 
Walter. 



The name of Morton, Moreton 
MORTON and Montaigne is earliest 

found in old Dauphine, and is 
still existent in France. In family annals 
there is a repeated statement that one of the 
family emigrated from Dauphine, first to Brit- 
tany, then to Normandy,, where he joined Wil- 
liam the Conqueror. The family in England 
was noble and held exalted position in both 
church and state. Prominent among the Eng- 
lish Mortons who came to America were 
Thomas Morton, Esq., Rev. Charles Morton, 
Landgrave Joseph Morton, proprietary gover- 
nor of South Carolina, and George Morton, 
ancestor of the Albany family of Warner 
Groom Morton. In America the family has 
achieved prominence in every department of 
life, public and private. Perhaps the best 
known of the name is Levi Parsons Morton, 
former member of congress, former foreign 
diplomat, former governor of New York and 
former vice-president of the United States. 
A branch of the family early settled in Scot- 
land, from whom the Mortons of Great Val- 
ley, New York, descend. 

(I) The first of this branch to come to the 
United States was John Morton, of Edin- 
burgh, Scotland, who came to Cattaraugus 
county, New York, at an early day, with one 
son. 

(II) John (2), son of John (T) Morton, 
was born in Scotland, where he married. He 
followed his father to Cattaraugus county. 
New York, where he purchased land of the 
Holland Land Company, located in Great Val- 
ley. He owned a tract of one hundred and 
thirty-seven acres, which he cleared and 
brought under cultivation. He married and 
had two children: William (of whom fur- 



NEW YORK. 



621 



ther) ; Alexander, married and had a daughter 
Elizabeth, who married Milton Fobes. 

(III ) William, eldest son of John (2) Mor- 
ton, was born in Scotland, in 1816, died in 
Great Valley, New York, in 1899. He came 
to Cattaraugus county with his father in 1854 
and was also a farmer. He married Margaret 
Scott, of Edinburgh, Scotland. Children: 
Mary, married Joseph Green ; William S. (of 
whom further) ; Robert, married Lana Ste- 
vens ; children : Gilbert, Lester and Charles. 

(IV) William S., eldest son of William 
Morton, was born in Great Valley, Cattarau- 
gus county. New York, June 19, 1858. He 
was educated in the public schools, and was 
his father's farm assistant in his earlier years. 
He began mercantile life as a clerk in the Elli- 
cottville store of Havenor Brothers, where he 
remained one year. He then went to Bordell, 
Pennsylvania, where he remained for a year, 
from thence went to East Bradford, Pennsyl- 
vania, where he remained for another year. His 
clerkships in these different places gave him 
a practical experience in mercantile methods 
and decided him to become a merchant him- 
self. He formed a partnership with Joseph 
Green (his brother-in-law) and in 1882 es- 
tablished a grocery business in Salamanca. 
They continued in successful operation for 
two years, then sold out and dissolved part- 
nership. 

In 1884 he located in Great Valley, 
where in company with his brother, Robert 
Morton, he purchased the store of J. E. Chase, 
and until 1901 conducted a successful general 
merchandising business. In 190 1 they sold 
their interest to Arthur Bonstell, but two 
vears later William S. Morton repurchased the 
entire business, which he has since con- 
ducted alone. Mr. Morton is and has been 
for many years prominent in public life. He 
has been supervisor of Great Valley for fifteen 
years : clerk of the town five years ; member 
of the board of education. He is a leader in 
town, county and state politics, and, although 
quiet and unassuming, is a man of great force 
of character, and usually carries his political 
plans to a successful issue. He is a member 
of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows ; 
Ellicottville Lodge, No. 307, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Salamanca Chapter, No. 266, 
Royal Arch Masons ; Salamanca Commandery, 
No. 62, Knights Templar. He married, Octo- 
ber 24, 1883, Etta Weeger, and has a son, 
Howard, born June 4, 1886. 



The Fitzgeralds of Sala- 
FITZGERALD manca descend from a 

famous Irish family that 
has long been seated in that land of famous 
families. They date back to the days of clans 
and tribes who ruled by might of valor and 
strength. The name is of frequent occurrence 
in Ireland and has been borne by distinguished 
men in every generation. The founder of the 
family in the United States, Edward, is a 
son of Michael and Ellen Fitzgerald, both of 
county Limerick. 

(II) Edward, son of Michael and Ellen 
Fitzgerald, was born in county Limerick, Ire- 
land. He came to the United States after his 
marriage, settling in New York state, at Ad- 
rian, where he lived until the birth of one 
child. He was in the employ of the Erie rail- 
road for a time, but later removed to Sala- 
manca, where he conducted a store. He mar- 
ried Bridget, daughter of Thomas and Bridget 
(Connors) Broderick, all of county Limerick, 
Ireland. Children: 1. Nellie, born in Adrian, 
New York, November 23, 1864 ; married, 
April 21, 1885, Fred Sander; children: Eddie, 
born January 10, 1886, died August 31, 1886; 
Eva, July 10, 1888; George W., July 12, 1890; 
Mary Frances, July 23, 1892, died November 
5, 1900: Hazel A., April 22, 1894. 2. Delia, 
born February 22, 1866, died June 16, 1885. 
3. Mary Catherine, born October 1, 1867. 4. 
Thomas J., born June 30, 1869. 5. Edward B. 
(mentioned below). 

(III) Edward B., youngest child and second 
son of Edward and Bridget (Broderick) Fitz- 
gerald, was born in Salamanca, New York, 
June 3, 1870. He attended the public school, 
and in early life began working in the store 
of W. T. Fish, commencing in 1887, con- 
tinuing until 1897. He was of such value to 
his employer that he received several promo- 
tions ; he resigned at the end of ten years' serv- 
ice. In 1897 he formed a partnership with 
his brother, Thomas J. Fitzgerald, and started 
in business in a small way at No. 22 Main 
street. The brothers, both capable business 
men, prospered and were compelled to seek en- 
larged quarters. They are now located in 
a three-story brick and stone structure on 
the corner of Main and Maple streets, where 
they conduct a modern dry goods and house 
furnishing department store, excluding, how- 
ever, furniture and groceries, the building be- 
ing known as the Fitzgerald Block. Edward 
Fitzgerald is a director of the Salamanca Trust 



622 



XEW YORK. 



Company and the First National Bank. He 
is a Democrat in politics, and served one term 
as village trustee. He is a charter member of 
the Salamanca Lodge, Knights of Columbus, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and 
of the Country Club. His religious faith is 
Roman Catholic. 

He married, October 4, 1892, Nettie May 
Kenengar, born May 27, 1874, eldest daughter 
of Andrew and Nettie (Wyman) Kenengar. 
Children of Mr. and Mrs. Kenengar: John 
K. ; Nettie May, married Edward B. Fitz- 
gerald ; Jennie, married John Maher. 
Children of Edward B. and Nettie May (Ken- 
engar) Fitzgerald: Eugene Raymond, born 
November 29, 1893 1 Leo Bernard, Decem- 
ber 1, 1895; George Edward, September 3, 
1897; Thomas Frederick, April 27, 1901 ; Mary 
Frances, April 1, 1907; Charles Richard, No- 
vember 5, 191 1. 



The Emerlings of Buffalo, 

EMERLING New York, descend from a 
German family long seated 
in Altenburg, Germany, where it is numer- 
ously represented. The name is not a familiar 
one in the United States, in which it has few 
representatives except this. 

(I ) William Emerling, grandfather of Daniel 
W. Emerling, was born in Altenburg, where 
he lived and died. He married and had five 
children, all of whom died in Germany except 
Henry John, the third child. 

(II) Henry John, son of William Emerling, 
was born in Altenburg, Germany, August 9, 
1824, died in Buffalo, New York, December 
17, 1910. He received a good education in the 
schools of his native province, where he re- 
mained until 1855, when he came to the United 
States. He settled in Buffalo, New York, with 
his wife and two children. He was engaged 
in various enterprises in Buffalo, finally en- 
gaging in the produce commission business, 
later in business in the Washington street mar- 
ket, wholesale and retail. He retired from 
active business about 1895. He was success- 
ful in his various enterprises and bore an ex- 
cellent character in the city. He was a de- 
voted church worker, and was one of the 
founders and charter members of St. Luke's 
Evangelical Church, corner of Richmond ave- 
nue and Utica street. He was trustee at 
various times and in earlier years deacon and 
elder. He was a Republican in politics. 

He married, in Altenburg, Germany, about 



1851, Rosina Bechtel, born August 2, 1831, in 
Altenburg (or near there), died in Buffalo, 
October 18. 1897. Her mother Augusta mar- 
ried a second husband, a Mr. Ehrlich. Chil- 
dren : 1. Amelia, married John Small, now in 
business at Ellicott and Tupper streets, Buf- 
falo : three children. 2. Herman Frederick, 
superintendent for W. A. Case, Perry and Mis- 
sissippi streets, Buffalo ; married and has 
one child. 3. Pauline, married George Frank, 
deceased, whom she survives, a resident of 
Buffalo; four children. 4. Charles, died in in- 
fancy. 5. George, died in infancy. 6. Eliza- 
beth, died in infancy. 7. Henry, with the Will- 
iam Hengerer Company ; married and has two 
children. 8. Daniel W., married and has no 
children. 

(Ill) Daniel W., youngest child of Henry 
John Emerling, was born in Buffalo. New 
York, December 25, 1871. He was educated 
in Buffalo schools, graduating from public 
school No. 16, and, in 1887, from Bryant & 
Stratton's Business College. He took up the 
study of law with Fred Greiner, of Buffalo, 
continuing four years. He never followed that 
profession but entered the employ of the Third 
National Bank of Buffalo as draft clerk, work- 
ing up to head individual bookkeeper. In 1900 
he resigned and took a position with Marshall, 
Clinton & Rebadow, attorneys and counselors, 
as private secretary to Charles D. Marshall. 
Mr. Marshall died April 22, 1908. and Mr. 
Emerling was appointed secretary of the Mar- 
shall estate. In April, 1910, he established a 
general real estate and insurance business, 
which he still continues. He is a most capable, 
energetic man of business and has ably ad- 
ministered the trusts committed to his care. 
He is a Republican in politics, was formerly 
district committeeman for the twenty-second 
ward of Buffalo, but of later years has not 
taken an active part in political affairs. He 
is a member of St. Luke's Evangelical Church, 
of which his father was a founder ; member of 
Buffalo Chamber of Commerce : member of 
Manufacturers'. Automobile. Acacia and Mo- 
tor Boat clubs of Buffalo and of the Masonic 
order. In the latter fraternity he belongs to 
and is past master of Highland Lodge, Com- 
panion of Keystone Giapter. a Sir Knight of 
Lake Erie Commandery and a Noble of Is- 
mailia Temple. 

He was married in St. Luke's Church. Oc- 
tober iS. 1898, to Maud Lewis King, daughter 
of Henry L. King, of Buffalo. New York. 



NEW YORK. 



623 



The Christeys are of English 
CHRISTEY descent, the family having 
long been seated in that 
country. They were people of standing and 
wealth, among their holdings being St. Cath- 
erine's Docks, Liverpool, an entailed property 
that was held in the family three hundred 
years. The Christeys of Buffalo, herein traced, 
descend from Joseph Christey, born in Eng- 
land, died in Buffalo, where a monument in 
Forest Lawn marks his resting place. He was 
a banker and broker in England, and an officer 
in the Home Guard. He came to America 
in 1832, settling in Toronto, Canada. He did 
not long remain there, but with his family 
came to the United States, living in New 
York City and at Albany, New York, where 
his youngest child, Arthur, was born. He 
intended to return to Toronto with his family, 
but changed his plans and came to Buffalo, 
where he lived a retired life, dying in 1856 at 
the age of seventy-five years. He was reared 
in the Church of England, and in Buffalo was 
connected with St. Paul's Protestant Episcopal 
Church. He married, in England, Ann Chiper- 
field, daughter of Everard John and Ann Ol- 
landsby, who bore him eleven children, born 
in England, one in the United States, and 
she died in Toronto in 1834, aged thirty-seven. 
(II) Arthur, youngest son of Joseph and 
Ann (Chiperfield) Christey, was born in Al- 
bany, New York, July 12, 1833. He attended 
the public school, and at an early age was ap- 
prenticed to the printer's trade. From that 
time until his retirement from business he was 
identified with the printing and publishing 
business. Until he was twenty-two years of 
age he was connected with Thomas & 
Lathrop's printing house, but the failure of 
the concern threw him out of employment. 
While with this company he became acquaint- 
ed, through business dealings, with the L. L. 
Brown Paper Company, of Adams, Massachu- 
setts, who, after the failure referred to, 
brought him in contact with E. D. Jenks, of 
Adams. They formed a partnership and es- 
tablished in Buffalo a wholesale paper house. 
The firm of Christey & Jenks became well 
known in Western New York as the largest 
concern of its kind in the state. They con- 
tinued in successful business until about 1861, 
when Mr. Christey bought his partner's in- 
terest and continued business under the firm 
name of Arthur Christey. Mr. Christey was 
also heavily interested in the printing and 



publishing business of Buffalo. He published 
the Live Stock Journal, and was connected 
with the firm of Haus, Kelly & Company, 
later Haus, Kelly & Christey, later Haus, 
Nauert & Klein, who founded the paper that 
has since developed into the Buffalo Times. 
He was a principal owner in the Christey 
Stationery Company, and invented many de- 
vices in the way of clasps, filing devices, and 
a perpetual calendar. He printed and copy- 
righted a great many pamphlets on various 
subjects. He retired from business in 1891, 
and still (1911) continues his residence in 
Buffalo. He led an active business life and 
accomplished an immense amount of work. 
He was highly regarded in business circles, 
and is known as one of Buffalo's pioneer busi- 
ness men in the paper, printing and publish- 
ing business. He was a Democrat until i860, 
when he voted for Abraham Lincoln, and has 
ever since acted with the Republican party. 
He was for many years a member of St. Paul's 
Church, and was married there by the Rev. 
Dr. Shelton, but in later years connected with 
the Church of the Ascension, of which he was 
a vestryman. 

He married, December 19, 1854, Fanny 
Lance Bryant, who, like himself, was the 
youngest of a family of twelve. She was born 
in Toronto, Canada, July 28, 1835, youngest 
child of Joseph and Elizabeth Lance Bryant, 
and died in Buffalo, June 22, 1904. Joseph 
Bryant and his family came from England in 
1832. Mr. Bryant was a banker and broker 
in England, but did not engage in any busi- 
ness after coming to the United States. He 
is buried in Forest Lawn, as is his daughter, 
Mrs. Christey. Children of Arthur and Fanny 
L. Christey: 1. Elizabeth Anstey, married Wil- 
lard Way Hodge ; children : Elizabeth and 
Shurly Christey Hodge. 2. Fanny Augusta, 
died in infancy. 3. Ella Gertrude. 4. Arthur 
Bryant. 

(IV) Captain Arthur Bryant Christey, only 
son of Arthur and Fanny Lance (Bryant) 
Christey, was born in Buffalo, August 6, 1868. 
He was educated in the public schools, and 
the Buffalo Classical School, kept by Professor 
Horace Briggs. He was for a time in his fa- 
ther's employ, and in 1891 was cashier and 
bookkeeper for the R. W. Bell Manufacturing 
Company, of Buffalo. In 1892 he entered the 
employ of the Empire State Savings Bank, as 
general bookkeeper. In 1898 he served in the 
Spanish-American war, returning to the em- 



624 



XE\Y YORK. 



ploy of the Empire Bank. From 1 899-1 901 
he was in the Philippines (see forward). In 
1903 he was appointed deputy comptroller of 
the city of Buffalo, holding the same until the 
close of 1905. Owing to a change in the city 
administration he was not reappointed, but 
served as chief bookkeeper in the comptroller's 
office continuously, 1906-09 inclusive. In 19 10 
he was again appointed deputy comptroller, 
which office he now holds (1911). 

Mr. Christey enlisted in the New York Na- 
tional Guard in Company F, Sixty-fifth Regi- 
ment. December 1, 1885. On March 19, 1888, 
he was commissioned first lieutenant ; May 24. 
1893. adjutant of the regiment. He resigned 
from the Guard, June 11, 1896, re-entering the 
Guard on March 4, 1897, as captain of com- 
pany G, Sixty-fifth Regiment. May 17, 1898, 
he was commissioned captain of Company G, 
Sixty-fifth Regiment, New York Yolunteer 
Infantry, for service in the war with Spain. 
The regiment was mustered out from the serv- 
ice of the United States, November 19, 1898, 
and Captain Christey resigned his commission 
in the New York National Guard on July 12, 
1899, after having been commissioned by every 
governor from Governor Hill to Governor 
Roosevelt. He entered the United States Vol- 
unteer service August 1, 1899, an d was com- 
missioned by President McKinley first lieuten- 
ant of the Forty-first Regiment, United States 
Volunteers. He served in the Philippines with 
the Forty-first, and was mustered out of the 
service with his regiment in San Francisco, 
July 3, 1901. Captain Christey is a Republi- 
can in politics, and a member of the Episcopal 
church. 

Members of the Pren- 
PRENDERGAST dergast family were 

prominent in the early 
history of Chautauqua county. The American 
ancestor, William Prendergast, was born in 
Ireland, and after coming to the United States 
he with others explored many sections of 
northern New York and states lying south 
and west, finally settling along the shores of 
Lake Chautauqua. The story of their wan- 
derings in search of a favorable location, their 
adventures with the wild things of the forest, 
their hardships and privations would make a 
wonderful story of adventure. One of the 
family, James Prendergast. became the founder 
of Jamestown. New York, where numerous 
memorials to his memory are found. 



(II) William, son of Thomas and Mary 
Prendergast, was born in Waterford. Ire- 
land. February 2, 1727, died in the town of 
Chautauqua, Chautauqua county. New York. 
February 14, 181 1. He had uncles, James, 
Robert and Jeffrey Prendergast, all of whom 
lived in Ireland. On coming to America he 
settled in Pawling, Dutchess county. New 
York, where he followed farming and lived 
for many years. Late in life he moved to 
Rensselaer county. New York, some of his 
sons living there and in Washington county. 
When he was seventy-eight years of age he be- 
came a settler of Chautauqua county. This 
was in 1806, the family holdings in the town 
of Chautauqua aggregating about thirty-five 
hundred acres, lying along the shores of Lake 
Chautauqua, near the present grounds of the 
world famous Chautauqua Assembly. Chau- 
tauqua county was not the intended destination 
of the old pioneer when he left Rensselaer 
county in 1805, but the state of Tennessee was 
his objective point. The party included four 
sons of William Prendergast, five daughters, 
sons-in-law. grandchildren, and a slave, Tom, 
led by this wonderful man of seventy-eight 
years. They numbered twenty-nine persons 
and traveled in canvas wagons, some requiring 
four horses to draw. They took a course 
across New York and Pennsylvania to Wheel- 
ing, West Virginia, where they took flat boats 
and descended the Ohio to Louisville, from 
there went overland to a point near Nashville, 
Tennessee, their intended destination. After 
their long journey it was a great disappoint- 
ment to find conditions so unfavorable that 
the thought of remaining was not for a mo- 
ment considered. They took their course 
through Kentucky, Ohio and Pennsylvania to 
Erie, which they reached in the late fall of 
1805. In 1806 they settled in the town of 
Chautauqua, although William Prendergast 
and several of the family had passed the pre- 
vious winter in Canada. The sons each took 
separate tracts of land, much of it heavily- 
timbered, but all adjoining. 

William Prendergast married Mehitable 
Wing, born March 20. 1738. died September 
4, 1812, daughter of Jedediah and Elizabeth 
Wing, of Beekman. New York. Children, all 
born in Dutchess county. New York, but prob- 
ably not in order of birth: 1. Matthew (of 
win mi further). 2. Thomas, born September 
15, 1758. died June 3. 1842. 3. Mary, married 
William Bemus, of Ellery. Chautauqua county. 



NEW YORK. 



625 



New York. 4. Elizabeth, died unmarried, Au- 
gust 20, 1824. 5. James, founder of James- 
town, New York. 6. Dr. Jedediah, born May 
13, 1766; married Penelope Chase. 7. Martin, 
born April 22, 1769; married Martha Hunt. 
8. John Jeffrey. 9. Susanna, married Oliver 
Whiteside. 10. Eleanor, died aged thirteen 
years. 11. Martha, died unmarried, Decem- 
ber 9, 1849, aged seventy- four years. 12. Will- 
iam, a major in the war of 1812. 13. Minerva, 
married Elisha Marvin. 

(III ) Matthew, eldest son and child of Will- 
iam and Mehitable (Wing) Prendergast, was 
born in the town of Pawling, Dutchess county, 
New York, August 5, 1756, died in the town 
of Chautauqua, Chautauqua county, New 
York, February 24, 1838. He grew up in 
Dutchess county, later lived for many years 
in Washington county, New York, and in 
Pittstown, Rensselaer county, leaving the lat- 
ter town when well advanced in years. He 
did not accompany the family in their southern 
journeyings, but came to Chautauqua county 
in 1807 with his brother James and settled 
on the west side of Lake Chautauqua, six 
miles from Mayville. He was the first super- 
visor of the town of Chautauqua after the 
county was fully organized in 181 1, Pomfret 
having been taken from Chautauqua in 1808. 
He was appointed justice of the peace in 1808, 
served in that office for many years and was 
also associate judge of the county. He died 
at his pioneer home on Lake Chautauqua, aged 
eighty-three years. He married (first) in 
eastern New York, Abigail Akin; (second) 
Anna Hunt. Children by first wife: Lillian, 
married Jared Irwin; Dr. William '(of whom 
further ) . Children by second wife : James 
and Arthur. 

(IV) Dr. William Prendergast, only son of 
Judge Matthew and Abigail (Akin) Pren- 
dergast, was born in Pawling, Dutchess 
county, New York, February 28, 1791, died 
in Chautauqua, New York, March 11, 1857. 
He grew up in Washington county, New 
York, and in 1807, being then sixteen years of 
age, came with his father to Chautauqua 
county. He studied medicine and when only 
a stripling served as a surgeon during the war 
of 1812-14. He practiced his profession in 
Mayville, New York, for many years and was 
a well-known practitioner and highly respected 
citizen. His uncle, Jedediah Prendergast, set- 
tled in Mayville in 181 1, and Dr. William 
was his successor. He retired from practice 



and spent his latter years on his farm in the 
town of Chautauqua. He owned at the time 
of his death about one thousand acres of 
farm land. He was a Whig in politics, and 
a member of the Episcopal church. He mar- 
ried, in 1815, Elizabeth, born June 24, 1797, 
died September 15, 1881, daughter of Martin 
Prendergast. Child. Martin (of whom fur- 
ther). 

(V) Martin, only child of Dr. William 
and Elizabeth (Prendergast) Prendergast, 
was born in Mayville, Chautauqua county, 
New York. He was a clerk for many years. 
Inheriting the old homestead, he spent the 
remainder of his life in farming. He was 
well-known in his town, and for fifteen years 
served as supervisor. He was a Republican 
in politics, and a man of high character. He 
married Phoebe Holmes, born March_3, 1823, 
died January 23, 1899, daughter of Seth W. 
Holmes, of Oneida county, New York, who 
emigrated to Erie county. New York, settling 
near Buffalo : later came to Mayville where 
most of his after life was spent. He was 
sheriff of Chautauqua county prior to 1849, 
and was for some years a successful specula- 
tor in the state of California, later returning 
to Mayville. His wife was Sarah Stone. 
Children of Martin and Phoebe (Holmes) 
Prendergast. all born in Chautauqua county: 
1. Martha, born August 26, 1842; married, 
January 20, 1869, William M. Whallon, who 
died January 3, 1899 ; child, Martin Prender- 
gast, born January 17, 1870; married May 
Herrick, and has a son, William Prendergast, 
born January 8, 1897. 2. John H. (of whom 
further). 3. William, born May 13, 1848, 
died April 21, 1852. 4. Helen, born June 4, 
1850, died unmarried, May 2, 191 1. 5. Dr. 
William, born March 20, 1854 ; graduated. M. 
D.. from Jefferson Medical College, Phila- 
delphia, 1883 ; located at Mayville, where he 
is the third Dr. Prendergast and the second 
Dr. William to successfully practice medicine. 
He is unmarried. 

(VI) John H., eldest son of Martin and 
Phoebe (Holmes) Prendergast, was born in 
the town of Chautauqua, New York, Novem- 
ber 5, 1844. He received his education in the 
Mayville schools, and has always followed 
agriculture as a business. He owns a farm 
in Chautauqua on which he now resides 
(191 1). He is a Republican in politics. He 
married, February 23, 1876, Antoinette Hunt, 
born May 13, 1841, daughter of James M. and 



626 



NEW YORK. 



Rhoda Ann (Hewes) Hunt; child, James 
Hunt. 

(VII) James Hunt, only child of John H. 
and Antoinette (Hunt) Prendergast, was 
born in the town of Chautauqua, New York, 
January 2, 1878. He attended the Mayville 
union school whence he was graduated with 
honor in June, 1896. In the fall of that year 
he entered the Hawley Preparatory School at 
Buffalo, being graduated June 18, 1898. He 
decided upon the profession of law and entered 
Cornell University, being graduated from the 
law school, LL. B., class of 1902. He was 
admitted to the bar in June, 1902, and on 
• July 24 of that year took up his residence in 
Westfield, New York, and at once began the 
practice of his profession. He formed a law 
partnership with Gerald G. Gibbs, of Sherman, 
New York, which was dissolved in 1904. Since 
the dissolution of Prendergast & Gibbs, Mr. 
Prendergast practiced alone for a while and 
then formed a partnership with James Robin- 
son Douglas, law and insurance. In 1905 he 
was elected justice of the peace, an office in 
which he still continues. For some years he 
has been member of the Republican county 
committee. He also served as overseer of the 
poor for two years. Politically he is a Re- 
publican, and a member of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, in which he filled 
the position of chaplain for a time. He is 
highly regarded in his town and commands a 
good law practice. 

He married, June 17, 1908, in Westfield, 
Clara S. Fay, born in that village, daughter of 
John R. and Emma J. (Niel!) Fay. 

The Lautz family is one that long 
LAUTZ existed in the kingdom of Ba- 
varia, now part of the great Ger- 
man empire. The immediate progenitor of 
the Buffalo family, Martin Lautz, was a man 
of wealth and position, but through a series 
of circumstances and the chicanery of those 
whom he trusted, his fortune was lost and 
the family scattered, four of his eleven chil- 
dren coming to the United States, one of these, 
William Lautz, coming to Buffalo. 

(II) William, son of Martin Lautz, was 
born in Bavaria, Germany, May 1, 1815, died 
in Buffalo, New York, 1868. He came to the 
United States in 1853, landing in New York 
City after a voyage of ninety-two days, with 
a cash capital of five dollars, and subsequently 
settled in Buffalo. He first began the manu- 



facture of candles, which business later grew 
into the great soap manufacturing business of 
Lautz Brothers & Company still a highly suc- 
cessful, well-known manufacturing firm of 
that city. He married Elizabeth Hienenz. 
Children: 1. William, born in Bavaria, Ger- 
many, April 20, 1838; engaged with his 
brothers in soap manufacturing for a time, 
and in 1872 started the marble and stone busi- 
ness in Buffalo, which still exists as The 
Lautz Company, of which he is the active 
head (1911). He married (first) Maria Lie- 
ben; sons: William J., of Buffalo; Fritz J., 
vice-president of The Lautz Company, Arthur. 
He married (second) Amelia Bank, who died 
May 1, 191 1, leaving a daughter, Amelia. 2. 
John Adam, born in Dieburg, Germany, May 
14, 1840, died in Buffalo, August 16, 1894. 
He came to the United States in 1853 with 
his parents, later coming to Buffalo. He en- 
listed in June. 1861, in the Twentieth Regi- 
ment, New York Volunteer Infantry, serving 
two years, nine months. After the war he re- 
turned to Buffalo, where with his brothers he 
engaged in soap manufacturing as Lautz 
Brothers & Company. He married, November 
16, 1865, Catherine Bardol, who survives him. 
She is the daughter of Joseph Bardol, of Buf- 
falo. Children : i. Carl A. ; ii. Katherine L., 
married John A. Rose; children: John A. and 
Dorothy ; iii. Otto John ; iv. Amelia Frederica, 
married, September 26, 1894, John Lorenz 
Chittenden : v. Martin, died in infancy ; vi. 
Hortense, married Clifford DeWitt Coyle. 3. 
Charles, deceased. 4. Elizabeth, married Will- 
iam Schweigert (deceased). 5. Frederick C. 
M. (of whom further). 6. Anna (deceased), 
married Joseph Chretien. 7. Margaret, mar- 
ried George Munschauer (deceased). 8. Kate, 
married Julius Georger. 9. Martin, died July 
1, 1893; married Ella Bank, who survives 
him ; children : Martin and John. 

(Ill) Frederick Christopher Martin, 
fourth son and fifth child of William Lautz, 
was born in Germany, March 5, 1845, died in 
Buffalo, December 22, 1905. He came to the 
United States with his parents and was edu- 
cated in the public schools. He engaged with 
his father in candle manufacturing and later 
with his brothers in soap manufacturing, be- 
ing a member of Lautz Brothers & Company. 
He had other extensive business interests ; was 
interested in The Lautz Company (marble and 
stone), and in the Machine and' Tool Works. 
He was a director of the Commonwealth Trust 



NEW YORK. 



627 



Company, and of other corporations of Buf- 
falo. He was a successful man of business 
and held high position in the city. He was 
under twenty years of age when in February, 
1865, he enlisted in Company E, Eighty-first 
Regiment, New York Volunteer Infantry. He 
served with his regiment through the closing 
campaigns of the Army of the Potomac, fac- 
ing both victory and defeat in many of the 
hard-fought battles of the war. He was hon- 
orably discharged and mustered out of the 
service, August 31, 1865, at Fort Monroe, 
Virginia. He was a member of the Church 
of the Blessed Sacrament (Roman Catholic). 
He was an accomplished musician, and organ- 
ized the Buffalo Symphony Orchestra, which 
he maintained for twelve years, and which, 
while entirely successful along artistic lines, 
proved a most costly venture for Mr. Lautz, 
who expended upon it the large sum of $100,- 
000. He possessed a beautiful voice, finely 
trained, and he was for fifteen years and until 
nearly the close of his life principal solo singer 
in St. Paul's Cathedral and the Church of 
the Blessed Sacrament. He was a member of 
the Buffalo Club and the Country Club. He 
was a Republican in politics. 

He married, April 22, 1874, Amelia Kath- 
erine, born May 23, 1854, in New York City, 
daughter of John Trageser, who was born 
in Bavaria, Germany, July 25, 1822, died in 
New York City, October 23, 1891 ; he came 
to the United States where he became a suc- 
cessful copper manufacturer. He married, 
April 12, 1841, Augustine Kramer, born Jan- 
uary 28, 1826, died June 20, 1907. Children 
of Mr. and Mrs. Trageser: 1. John, born 
Anarch 11, 1845, died September 5, 1902, at 
Sacramento, California. 2. Adelaide, married 
Edward E. Welcke; children: Edward, Will- 
iam R., Adelaide and Lester. 3. Lester (de- 
ceased). 4. Augusta, married Joseph J. Wer- 
rick, whom she survives without children at 
Mt. Vernon, New York. 5. Amelia Katherine, 
married Frederick C. M. Lautz. 6. William 
Celestin, born May 19, 1857; a resident of 
New York City, 328 West 87th street: he 
married Marie Williams, of Buffalo : two chil- 
dren : Thecla M., Emma M. 7. Albert Ferdi- 
nand, born March 16, i860 ; married Bertha 
Heidt ; resides at 305 105th street, New York 
City ; three children : Grace, Gertrude and Al- 
bert. 8. Emma Marie, married Samuel J. 
Taylor, resides at Mt. Vernon, New York; 
three children : Augusta, Samuel J. and Mat- 



thew. Children of Frederick C. M. and Amelia 
Katherine Lautz: 1. Amelia, died in infancy. 
2. Augusta Joan, married George A. Austin; 
children : Frederick C. M. Lautz and Spencer 
Trageser Austin. 3. Emma Matilda, born April 
16, 1878, died September 6, 1902. 4. Eliza- 
beth Caroline. Mrs. Frederick C. M. Lautz 
survives her husband and continues her resi- 
dence in Buffalo. 



The name Barr is evidently of 
BARR Hebraic origin, in which Bar means 
"son," and Baar "was famous." In 
Arabic the word Barr means "wheat," in 
Persian means "fruit," and the Irish word 
Bar means "excellence." The name as well 
as the bearers thereof evidently has come 
through Celtic or Gallic and Teutonic families, 
as the spelling of the name would indicate. 
In the Gallic the name is spelled Barre; Teu- 
tonic, Barry or Barrh, and when anglicized it 
is Barr. In religion the Barrs have always 
been Protestants. As Huguenots or Re- 
formers they fled from persecution in France 
to Scotland and England, in 1572-1681 they 
were refugees in the north of Ireland from 
Scotland. The American ancestor settled in 
Connecticut, a branch of the family later set- 
tling in Vermont, from whom the Buffalo 
family descends. 

(I) William Barr was born in Rutland, Ver- 
mont, about 1781, died in Orleans county, New 
York, in 1835. He was the son of a farmer, 
and his early life was spent on the farm; in 
1814 he was hired by a representative of the 
United States government to go to Troy, New 
York, there load his teams with provisions and 
carry them to the soldiers at Fort Porter, Buf- 
falo. While on this trip he was deeply im- 
pressed with the advantages western New 
York offered to settlers, and on his return to 
Rutland, sold his farm and emigrated to west- 
ern New York. He made this trip with his 
wife and five children in covered wagons, 
carrying a complete camping outfit and mak- 
ing the journey very comfortably, breaking 
his own road part of the way and keeping 
his course by means of blazed trees marked on 
his former journey, and by others who had 
passed that way. He settled near Albion, 
Orleans county, where he purchased a tract 
of land which he cleared and there erected a 
home in the then wilderness. He found the 
soil fertile, and by hard labor he maintained 
his family in comparative comfort. He resided 



628 



NEW YORK. 



on the Albion farm until his death. He mar- 
ried, in Rutland, Malinda, daughter of John 
Gordon, who survived him and made her home 
with her son, John C, in Erie, Pennsylvania, 
where she died about 1858, aged seventy-six 
years. Of their ten children, five were born in 
Rutland and five in Orleans county: 1. Ma- 
linda, married Hugh McCendy, of Albion, 
New York ; moved to Wisconsin, where she 
died, aged sixty-eight years. 2. William, died 
in Chicago, Illinois, aged eighty years ; mar- 
ried Hannah Parmalee, of Orleans county, 
died in Chicago, aged seventy years. 3. John 
Gordon, married Mary Ann Rathbun, born in 
New London, New York, died in Buffalo, 
May 6, 1892, daughter of Acors Rathbun, a 
pioneer farmer of central New York, who died 
1855, aged eighty-four years ; children : i. Cor- 
nelia, married Francis Wilder, of Buffalo, and 
had Charles Dudley and Frank L. ii. George 
Dudley, born March 30, 1846, married April 
20, 1 87 1, Sarah Susan Jones, born in Buffalo, 
New York, February 22, 1848, daughter of 
Nathaniel Jones (2), born in Burlington, Ver- 
mont, January 2, 181 1, died May 24, 1880, 
married Emily Harris, born in Buffalo, Janu- 
ary 29, 1819, died February 15, 1887, daughter 
of Asa and Mary Harris; Asa was born in 
Hartford, Connecticut, April 15, 1795, died 
June 28, 1874; Nathaniel Jones (1) was born 

October 28, 1779, married Susan , born 

August 14, 1785. iii. William H. D., of Erie, 
Pennsylvania. 4. Kate, died unmarried. 5. 
Lucy, married William H. Watson. 6. Cather- 
ine, died aged seventeen years. 7. Alfred, 
died in Wisconsin. 8. Dewitt, an early Cali- 
fornia pioneer, died unmarried. 9. Robert W., 
of further mention. 10. Ann. married a 
Thompson. 

(II) Robert W., ninth child of William and 
Malinda (Gordon) Barr, was born in Orleans 
county. New York, near Albion, August 29, 
1829. He was educated in the public school 
and worked on the farm until he arrived at a 
suitable age to learn a trade. He worked for 
four years learning the harness maker's trade, 
then began working as trainman on the Buf- 
falo & Rochester railroad, continuing until 
1862. He began as trainman, but was rapidly 
promoted until he became a passenger conduc- 
tor. In 1862 he resigned his position with the 
railroad company and entered upon a long and 
successful career as a hotel proprietor. His 
first house was "The Bane." of Buffalo, fol- 
lowed by "The National," of the same city. 



He sold the latter property and purchased the 
"Judson House," at Lockport, New York, and 
afterward was proprietor of the "Reed 
House," at Erie, Pennsylvania, and "Stanwix 
Hall," at Rome, New York. After disposing 
of the latter he returned to Buffalo, where he 
conducted the "Tucker House." He was en- 
gaged in the hotel business for thirty years 
and was a well known and popular landlord. 
Later for twelve years he was salesman for 
H. Messersmith, of Buffalo, and for the past 
five years (1906-11) has been actively engaged 
in the development of Buffalo city and subur- 
ban real estate. In politics he is a Democrat, 
and he attends the Methodist Episcopal church. 
He married, February 1, 1849, Eunice Ade- 
laide, born in Oneida county, New York, De- 
cember 15, 1829, daughter of Lyman and Bet- 
sey (Mower) Littlefield. Children: Eugene 
Leslie, born February 21, 1850, died May 9, 
1857, at Buffalo; George Washington, born 
March 24, 1852, died in Buffalo. January 28, 



This is an old German family that 
HESS for many generations was seated in 
the duchy of Baden, Germany. The 
first of this branch to settle in the United 
States was Francis (or Francis Joseph) Hess, 
born in Baden, died in Buffalo, New York, 
July, 1882. He was a carpenter and builder 
and was well known to the trade in Buffalo. 
He was an active member of the Evangelical 
Society and prominent in the work of the mis- 
sion conducted by his church. He was a Re- 
publican in politics, but took little active part 
in public affairs. He was an upright, christian 
citizen, much respected by his friends and by 
those with whom he held business relations. 
He married Fanny Echardt. born in Switzer- 
land, August 19, 1826, died December 23, 
1901. Children: 1. Frank Benjamin (of 
whom further). 2. Lydia. married Charles 
Heist and resides in Buffalo. 3. Clara Matilda, 
a missionary, now residing in Washington ; 
married John M. Foster, now in China. 4. 
Anna Martha, married G. W. John. 5. Daniel 
Adam Andrew, now living in Buffalo ; married 
Helen G. Geltz. 6. George Whitfield, died in 
infancy. 

(II) Frank Benjamin, eldest son and child 
of Francis and Fanny (Echardt) Hess, was 
born in Buffalo, May 5, 1853, died April 28, 
191 1. He passed through the city public 
schools, graduating from the Central high 



NEW YORK. 



629 



school, class of 1871. He began business life 
as a bookkeeper for a lumber firm, then en- 
tered the employ of the Erie Railroad Com- 
pany as clerk. He worked his way up through 
successive promotions to be chief clerk in the 
Buffalo shops, and about 1890 was made divi- 
sion clerk and assistant superintendent. While 
Mr. Hess was the practical man of business 
and a trusted official, he was a great lover of 
music and made more than a local reputation 
as a composer. He was an accomplished per- 
former on the pipe organ and was organist 
for a church of the Evangelical Society and 
for thirty years organist of the Zion Reformed 
Church on the east side, and also choirmaster. 
He was a voluminous composer and published 
a book of church music that is extensively 
used. His ability as an organist as well as a 
composer was fully recognized in musical cir- 
cles, where he was held in highest appreciation. 
A more perfect illustration of the practical, 
trained business man and the cultivated, tal- 
ented man of music and art was rarely found. 
For a short time Mr. Hess was a private of 
the Sixty-fifth Regiment, New York National 
Guard. He was a member of Zion Reformed 
Church, and a Republican. He belonged to 
the Masonic order, but his greatest interest 
was in his music. 

He married, March 6, 1873, Emily C, 
daughter of Adam Reinhard, a piano maker, 
born in Baden, Germany, died in Buffalo, New 
York, aged eighty-one years : he married 
Henrietta Geid, also a native of Germany. 
Frank B. and Emily C. Hess were the parents 
of the following children : 

1. Frank William, connected with the pur- 
chasing department of the Erie railroad, at 
New York City, as chief clerk ; resides at Clif- 
ton, New Jersey ; married Mary Schroeder ; 
children : Frank Joseph, Robert Lewis, Ada 
Emily and Alfred Benjamin, two dying in 
infancy. 2. Clara Amelia, married Frank 
Muller; resides in Montana; child: Robert 
M. 3. Ruth Charlotte, married Theodore W. 
Mayer ; resides in Buffalo ; children : Emily- 
Charlotte and Theodore William. 4. Henri- 
etta, married Dr. Robert C. Maynard. 5. 
Olive, died in infancy. 6. Lucy Ada, died 
aged eleven years. 7. Benjamin Robert, re- 
sides in Buffalo ; married Irene Regina Roth ; 
children : Lyndon Hess and Lorenzo Charles, 
8. John Carl, resides in Buffalo. Mrs. Hess 
survives her husband and continues her resi- 
dence in Buffalo. 



Though of comparatively re- 
SPEIDEL cent settlements the Speidels of 
Buffalo have earned a substan- 
tial position in the business circles of that 
city. The family is of German lineage, trac- 
ing many generations of worthy ancestors in 
the "fatherland." 

(I) George Speidel, born 1820, died 1902. 
grandfather of Charles G. Speidel, was a mil- 
ler of Wiirtemberg, Germany. He married 
Barbara Metzger and had seven children: 1. 
Mary, married Rev. Berner, of Buffalo. 2. 
Coenrad, died aged eighteen years. 3. Bal- 
thasar (of whom further). 4. Rosa, died De- 
cember, 1890. 5. Rev. Peter, a minister of the 
Lutheran church. 6. Jacob, married Rose 
Klink ; six children. 7. Katherine, born i860, 
died 1910: married Charles Matter. When 
forty-two years of age, George Speidel spent 
one year in the United States, visiting his 
children. 

(II) Balthasar, son of George Speidel, was 
born in Wiirtemberg, Germany, October 24, 
1847. He learned the trade of baker, master- 
ing it in all its varied details. In 1872 he 
came to the United States, settling at once in 
Buffalo, New York. He worked at his trade 
and after studying trade conditions determined 
to establish in the baking business for him- 
self. On July 18, 1872, he opened Speidel's 
Bakery, at 639 Michigan street. He prospered 
and enlarged his business, and in January, 
1904, the Speidel Vienna Bakery Company 
was incorporated by Mr. Speidel and his sons, 
of which he is vice-president. He married, in 
Germany, June 11, 1872, Annie Blockenger, 
and embarked for the United States for their 
wedding tour. Children: 1. Charles, died in 
infancy. 2. Rosa, married George P. Riter ; 
has child, Dorothy. 3. Charles Godfrey (of 
whom further). 4. Fred William, president 
of the Speidel Vienna Bakery Company ; mar- 
ried Mamie L. Stokes. 5. Wilhelm Bernhardt, 
died in infancy. 6. Emma, married John Fritz : 
has child, Helena. 7. William, married Ellen 
Kruce ; has child, Frederick William, born 
January 27, 1906. 

(Ill) Charles Godfrey, third child of Bal- 
thasar and Annie (Blockenger) Speidel, was 
born in Buffalo, New York, April 21, 1875. 
He was educated in the public schools, and 
was taken into the bakery business with his 
father, who thoroughly prepared him for the 
important positions he now holds, secretary, 
treasurer and manager of the Speidel Vienna 



630 



NEW" YORK. 



Bakery Company, one of the large baking 
companies of the city. He is a member of 
St. Paul"s German Lutheran Church and takes 
active interest in its prosperity. In politics 
he is a Republican. He married. September 
23, 1897. Edith Gifford. 

Dr. Moore, of Westfield, New 
MOORE York, descends, through both 

paternal and maternal lines, 
from Irish ancestry of good position. His 
father, Edward J. Moore, although born in 
England, was the son of William J. Moore, a 
barrister, of Dublin, Ireland. 

(II) Edward J. Moore came to the United 
States from England, in 1850, and settled in 
Westfield, Chautauqua county, New York. He 
continued there until after his marriage, then 
moved to Detroit, Michigan, where he engaged 
in the drug business. At the outbreak of the 
civil war Mr. Moore sold his drug store and 
going abroad remained until peace was de- 
clared, then returned to Westfield, where he 
engaged in agriculture until the death of his 
father-in-law, then removed to the McClurg 
homestead in the village of Westfield, where 
he died about 1888. He married, in Westfield, 
in 1 85 1, Catherine McClurg, and had one son, 
William J. (of whom further). 

Catherine ( McClurg) Moore was the daugh- 
ter of James McClurg, born in Londonderry, 
Ireland, 1785, died in Westfield, New York, 
May 26, 1872. He came to America with his 
father in 1798, being then in his thirteenth 
year. His father had been engaged in the 
Irish rebellion which culminated in disaster 
in 1798. Being on the losing side Mr. Mc- 
Clurg Sr. came to the United States, settling 
first in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Father 
and son later removed to Pittsburgh, Pennsyl- 
vania, where they engaged in the iron busi- 
ness, having foundry and furnaces. About 
1807 James McClurg came to Westfield, New 
York, remaining until the war with England 
in 1812. He then returned to Pittsburgh, 
where he utilized his knowledge of the iron 
business and the McClurg furnaces in the 
casting of cannon for the United States gov- 
ernment. This is said to have been the be- 
ginning of cannon making in this country. 
After the war James McClurg returned to 
Westfield. where he remained until his death 
in 1872. He opened a small store in West- 
field during his first residence and is noted in 
the histories of Chautauqua county as the first 



merchant in Westfield and a financier of great 
ability. On his return in 1814 he again opened 
a store in the village and for many years 
thereafter was a leading merchant. His store 
was in a building that stood at the corner, 
now the Common, and is said to have been the 
first frame building erected in the village. In 
1818 he built the first brick house ever erected 
between Buffalo, New York, and Erie, Penn- 
sylvania. It was built so substantially that 
now, nearly a century later, it is occupied by 
his grandson, Dr. William J. Moore. In as- 
sociation with Judge Campbell and George 
Hall, Mr. McClurg built the Westfield mill, in 
the village, on the site of an old mill. He 
built the "Westfield House" and the McClurg 
brick block that stands on South Portage 
street. 

He also dealt heavily and profitably in 
village and town real estate. He purchased 
what was known as the Eason farm, divided 
it into village lots, and added what is now an 
important part of Westfield. He contributed 
liberally of this land for village improvement, 
donating the "Common" on the corner of 
South Portage and Main streets, also the land 
on which the South Portage street Presby- 
terian church is built. During his merchandis- 
ing days he had a large trade with the Indians, 
exchanging his store goods for their furs, etc. 
For thirty years he was a prominent, public- 
spirited and useful citizen of Westfield. Busi- 
ness was his ruling ambition and he was ever 
alert for any remunerative undertaking. He 
took a lively interest in public men and af- 
fairs and contributed his full share to the up- 
building of Westfield. He was a member of 
the Presbyterian church, and very strict in 
his observance of the Sabbath day. In his 
business dealings he was most methodical and 
upright. During the latter years of his life he 
lived retired from business cares, having am- 
ply provided for the future of himself and 
family. 

Mr. McClurg married Martha Eason, a 
niece of John Eason, an early settler, and 
daughter of David Eason. the first sheriff of 
Chautauqua county and state senator in 1823- 
24. Children, all born in the McClurg home- 
stead in Westfield: 1. Alexander, married 
Mrs. Maria Lambert, widow of a United 
States naval officer. 2. James, died unmarried, 
at the age of forty-two. 3. Julia Ann, married 
Dr. Davidson, of Chicago, Illinois. 4. Cather- 
ine, died in Westfield, in 1909. in her eighty- 



NEW YORK. 



631 



ninth year; she married, in 185 1, Edward J. 
Moore, of previous mention. 

( III ) Dr. William J. Moore, only child of 
Edward J. and Catherine (McClurg) Moore, 
was born in Detroit, Michigan, April 26, 1852. 
The family later settled in Westfield, where 
the lad was educated in the public schools. He 
attended Cornell University, then deciding 
upon the profession of medicine entered Jef- 
ferson College, whence he was graduated, 
M. D., class of 1874. He went abroad after 
graduation and continued his studies in the 
hospitals of London, England. On his return 
from abroad he located in Cleveland, Ohio, 
where lor ten years he was in active practice. 
After his father's death, in 1888, Dr. Moore 
closed up his business in Cleveland and retir- 
ing from practice went to Westfield, where he 
took up his residence in the old McClurg 
homestead. He settled the affairs of the estate 
and has since lived a retired life devoted to 
the management of his private affairs. He is 
an Independent in politics. 

He married Helen, daughter of John Sut- 
ton, a prominent citizen of Indiana, Pennsyl- 
vania. Dr. Moore has no children. 



Among the very oldest fami- 
OTTAWAY lies of the town of Mina, 

Chautauqua county, New 
York, is the Ottaway, their settlement being 
but seven years later than that of Alex Find- 
ley, the first settler in that part of the town 
of Clymer, afterward Mina. The Ottaway 
family were for many generations native to 
the county of Kent, England, where James, 
the American ancestor, was born. He was a 
miller by trade and operated a mill in his na- 
tive county. He was of an adventurous dis- 
position, and the reports from the United 
States, and Western New York especially, 
which he received, determined him to emi- 
grate. Accompanied by his wife, children and 
brother, Horatio, he sailed in 1823, arriving 
at New York City six weeks later. His des- 
tination seems to have been decided on before 
leaving England, for he at once proceeded up 
the Hudson river to Newburg, where he pur- 
chased a team and wagon. Soon afterward, 
with such supplies as were needed, he began 
the long, lonely and often dangerous journey 
to Western New York. He finally reached 
Buffalo, where he left his family and began 
his search for suitable land in that vicinity. 
Not finding a location to his liking, he again 



took up his journey, going to Chautauqua 
county over the Buffalo & Erie road to West- 
field, thence to Maryville, and from there over 
the Waterford road to Mina. Although this 
was then virgin forest, he found signs of fer- 
tility in the soil, and, purchasing- a part of lot 
thirteen, built a log cabin and began a clearing. 
His was the first deed given for land in the 
western part of Mina, and he was the first 
of the many English families that settled in 
that section, his house being the rendezvous 
for those following. He was very hospitable 
and his latchstring was always out for his 
countrymen until their own log houses could 
be built. He finally cleared and brought under 
cultivation a good farm, upon which his chil- 
dren were born, and which is still owned by 
his son. 

He was three times married. His children 
were : James, William, Horace, Ann, Charles, 
Edmund, Joseph, Henry, John E. (of further 
mention ) ; Susan, Horatio. 

(II) John E., son of James Ottaway, the 
emigrant, was born on the homestead farm 
in Mina, Chautauqua county, New York, June 
20, 1827. He was educated in the district 
schools, and has always resided upon the home 
farm in Mina. He aided in its development 
and later in life became its owner by purchase 
from his father. There he celebrated his gold- 
en wedding, October 17, 1899, and still con- 
tinues his residence. He has followed agri- 
culture throughout his active years, and be- 
came one of the most influential and trusted 
men of his town. He was named as executor 
of many estates and became guardian of many 
trust funds. For many years he represented 
Mina on the board of supervisors, and was 
for a great many years a director of the State 
Bank of Sherman. He grew in mentality 
and in the rugged virtues of honesty and up- 
rightness as the years progressed until he 
ranked with the best of his day. Modest, yet 
unafraid, he has passed through the rugged 
scenes of a pioneer's life holding his integrity 
above reproach, and now looking back over 
his eighty-three years sees nothing but hon- 
est achievement and a life well spent. He has 
kept pace with modern development and is 
keen in his enjoyment of the daily paper, tele- 
phone and other modern inventions that have 
come into daily use during his lifetime. He is 
a staunch Republican in politics. 

He married, October 17, 1849. Sarah Boor- 
man, born in Sherman, Chautauqua county, 



6 3 2 



NEW YORK. 



New York, daughter of Benjamin and Sarah 
(Hosmer) Boorman, of England, who were 
among the early settlers of the town of Sher- 
man, coming there in 1825. She has been a 
worthy helpmeet and contributed her full share 
to her husband's success in life and to mould- 
ing the character of her children. Children: 
Osmer J., of Sherman, New York ; Arthur B. 
(of further mention) ; G. Fred, of Mina, New 
York ; Susan A., married Lester Jones, of 
Mina ; Cora E., of Westfield, New York. 

(Ill) Arthur B., son of John E. and Sarah 
(Boorman) Ottaway, was born on the home- 
stead in Mina, Chautauqua county, New York, 
May 8, 1854. His early education was ob- 
tained in the public school and Sherman Aca- 
demy. In 1873 he came to Westfield, where 
he entered the academy, graduating at the 
age of twenty-one years. He prepared for col- 
lege, but circumstances interfered and the col- 
lege course was abandoned. In the intervals of 
school life he assisted on the farm, but his 
first employment after leaving school was 
teaching. He taught for a number of terms, 
in the meantime devoting himself to reading 
law, having determined to fit himself for that 
profession. He prepared under the preceptor- 
ship of William Russell, of Westfield, and af- 
ter the required time spent in the latter's office 
was admitted to the bar in 1879. He at once 
began practice as junior of the law firm of 
Russell, Deckerman & Ottaway, and after its 
dissolution practiced alone. Later he became 
senior of the legal firm of Ottaway & Mun- 
son. 

Mr. Ottaway was elected district attor- 
ney of Chautauqua county in 1884. He held 
this office three years, winning the commenda- 
tion of both bench and bar. He then retired 
to private practice, which has always been 
large and important. He was for several years 
attorney for the board of supervisors and was 
retained in many cases of importance. On 
January 1, 1906, he was appointed county 
judge of Chautauqua county by Governor 
Higgins, and elected to the same position at 
the ensuing election, which high position he 
most worthily fills at the present time (191 1). 

Judge Ottaway is learned in the law and as 
a practitioner most skillful in its application. 
As a judge he is fair and impartial, giving to 
each attorney his legal rights, and to each de- 
cision most careful study. He is a Republican 
in politics. He is public-spirited and progres- 
sive, aiding in every way to further the inter- 



ests of Westfield and to advance the cause of 
the public good. He is unmarried. 



This name, written Rumsey 
RUMSEY and Rumsie, first appears in 

New England with Robert 
Rumsey, who was of Fairfield, Connecticut, 
where his name appears on town records, Jan- 
uary 23, 1664. He married Rachel . 

Children: Benjamin, Isaac, Robert (of fur- 
ther mention) ; Rachel, Abigail, Elizabeth and 
Daniel. 

(II) Robert (2), son of Robert (1) Rum- 
sey, was a resident of Fairfield, Connecticut. 
He married and had issue: Joseph, John (of 
further mention) ; William and Nathan. 

(III) John, son of Robert (2) Rumsey, 
was born in Fairfield, Connecticut, 1726, died 
at Hubbardton, Vermont, December 28, 1790. 
He lived at Redding, Connecticut, removing 
from there to Hubbardton, in 1784, after a 
residence in Redding of seven years. He mar- 
ried, in Fairfield, March 19, 1752, Esther 
Jones, born 1732, at Elizabethtown, New 
York, died at Hubbardton, July, 1808. Chil- 
dren: Abigail, born January 12, 1753, died 
at Warsaw, New York, 1826; Rachel, January 
22, 1754; Nathan, June 15, 1756; David (of 
further mention) ; Mary, 1761 ; Esther, 1764; 
Ebenezer, 1768; Polly; Ellen. 

(IV) David, son of John Rumsey, was born 
at Redding, Connecticut, November 21, 1758, 
died at Westfield, Chautauqua county, New 
York, January 2, 1849. He served in the war 
of the revolution, enlisting March 1, 1778, to 
serve ten months, and received a revolutionary 
pension for his services. He moved from 
Connecticut to Hubbardton, Vermont, in Feb- 
ruary, 1792, and from there to Westfield, New 
York, in 1831. He married, at Roxbury, Con- 
necticut, May 9, 1781, Hannah Bronson, born 
October 2, 1760, at Woodbury, Connecticut, 
died at Westfield, February 14, 1841. Chil- 
dren, first five born in Roxbury, Connecticut, 
last five at Hubbardton, Vermont : Philo, 
June 9, 1783, died at Westfield, April 23, 
1840: Esther, born March 4. 1784, died at 
Troy, New York; Stephen (of further men- 
tion) ; Zalmon, March 3, 1789, died at Hub- 
bardton, Vermont, January 13, 1813; Mary, 
January 24, 1791, died in Westfield, New 
York ; Catrina, February 24, 1793. died at 
Randolph. New York, March 9, 1854: Laura. 
March 7, 1795 ; Aaron, May 6. 1797, died at 
Buffalo, New York, April 6.' 1864: Olive, Feb- 



NEW YORK. 



633 



ruary 28, 1799, died at Tonawanda, New 
York, September 7, 1861 ; Anna, January 8, 
1801, died at Hubbardton, February 23, 1823. 

(V) Stephen, son of David Rumsey, was 
born in Roxbury, Connecticut, June 1, 1785, 
died at Westfield, New York, July 31, 1873. 
He lived at Hubbardton, Vermont, and in 
1827 removed to Washington county, New 
York; thence in 1831 to Westfield. Chautau- 
qua county, New York. He was a captain in 
the war of 181 2. He was a merchant in 
earlier life, and after settling in Westfield was 
engaged in merchandising for many years and 
was also engaged in the manufacture of 
leather, owning a tannery which he operated in 
partnership with his brother Aaron. Later, 
in 1849, he purchased a farm of one hundred 
and thirty acres from his nephew, Fayette 
Rumsey, whose father, Calvin Rumsey, pur- 
chased it from the Holland Land Company. 
Here he lived the remainder of his days. The 
farm passed to his son, Argyle Z. Rumsey, 
and is now (1911) the property of his grand- 
son, Argyle W. Rumsey. He joined the Bap- 
tist church when fifteen years of age and was 
always an active church worker, especially de- 
voted to work in the Sunday school. In the 
summer of 1833 ne was superintendent of four 
Sunday schools in the hill country and in 1834 
added a fifth. In 1834 he changed his mem- 
bership to the Presbyterian church, where he 
was equally active. He married, in Hubbard- 
ton, February 11, 1813, Rachel Norton, born 
February 27, 1790, at Ballston, Saratoga 
county, New York, died in Westfield, April 1, 
1868. Children, first four born in Hubbard- 
ton, Vermont, the fifth at Hebron, New York : 
Return Norton, born May 20, 1814, died at 
Westfield, July 2, 1841 ;Ann Matilda, Septem- 
ber 2, 1816, died at Westfield, August 19, 
1839; Carlisle T., August 24, 1818, died at 
Westfield, July 9, 1839; Argyle Zalmon (of 
further mention) : Marietta Marvin, August 
18, 1829. 

(VI) Argyle Zalmon, son of Stephen Rum- 
sey, was born in Hubbardton, Vermont, May 
25, 1820, died at San Antonio. Texas, July 9, 
1862. He was educated in the public schools, 
and until 1857 lived on the home farm. He 
bought the tannery of his father, which he 
operated for some time. On account of poor 
health he was obliged to seek another climate. 
He removed to Texas, where he was engaged 
in the sale of agricultural implements, being 
the first dealer to have such goods shipped into 



that state. He continued in business until his 
death at San Antonio, in 1862. 

He married, in Westfield, Mabelia Bliss, 
born in that town, November 9, 1827, daugh- 
ter of Elam C. and Mary (Harmon) Bliss. 
She survives her husband and resides (1911) 
in Westfield, New York. Children: 1. Walter 
Bliss, born in Westfield, June 28, 1853, died 
there February 23, 1894. He married (first) 
January 24, 1878, in Albany, New York, Nel- 
lie Nicholas, born June 5, 1855, at Ripley, New 
York, died at Westfield, January 5, 1885. He 
married (second) May 28, 1890, in Emporia, 
Kansas, Mary Cowan. Children of first wife : 
i. Mabel C, born June 2, 1879, at Albert Lea, 
Minnesota, ii. Edith B., born April 5, 1881, 
married Fred Bull ; two children, born in 
Provo, Utah; Walter B. and Paul. Children 
of second wife : iii. Walter, born in Emporia, 
Kansas, iv. Florence P., born in Westfield, 
New York. 2. Argyle W. (of further men- 
tion). 

(VII) Argyle Warren, son of Argyle 
Zalmon Rumsey, was born at Waxahachie, 
Texas, August 8, 1861.- In 1862 his father 
died, and, the country being then in the midst 
of the great civil war, his mother experienced 
great difficulty in getting through the confed- 
erate lines to her friends in the north. She 
had many influential friends, however, who 
assisted her, and finally, after two years' effort, 
she reached Westfield with her two sons and 
her husband's remains, which were finally laid 
to rest in Westfield cemetery. 

Argyle W. was educated in the Westfield 
schools and grew to manhood on the farm 
of his maternal grandfather, Elam C. Bliss, 
who was a noted farmer of Chautauqua 
county. Mr. Bliss was a successful exhibitor 
at fairs and exhibitions and often took Argyle 
W. with him on his trips. After the death of 
Mr. Bliss, in 1882, Argyle and his brother, 
Walter B., continued the stock raising busi- 
ness for twelve years as partners, and during 
that time they continued the exhibitions of 
their stock upon a much more elaborate plan, 
making large exhibitions at state fairs 
throughout the LTnited States, from Maine to 
Texas and from Minnesota to South Caro- 
lina. Their stock became widely known and 
they were given credit for having the finest 
herd of Devon cattle in the United States. In 
1880 Mr. Bliss had set out his first vineyard 
and to this Mr. Rumsey has added until now 
he has one hundred and twentv-five acres of 



634 



NEW YORK. 



bearing vineyards. The stock farm and busi- 
ness were sold and in 1905 he purchased his 
present fine residence in Westfield. He was 
one of the principal movers in the organization 
of the Citizens' Bank, of Westfield, in 1908, 
of which he is a director and one of the largest 
stockholders. He is prominent in the Masonic 
order, belonging to Summit Lodge, of West- 
field, of which he is past master; Mayville 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, and Dunkirk 
Commanderv. Knights Templar. He is also 
a member of the Knights of Pythias of West- 
field, and is past commander and past deputy 
commander of the district. 

He married, in Ripley, New York, March 4, 
1891, Almira M. Rose, born in Sherman, New 
York, March 4, 1866. 



making grape growing his chief occupation. 
He is a member of the Presbyterian church, 
and is held in high esteem by the citizens of 
Westfield. 

He married (first) in Strathbury, Ontario, 
1879, Anna, daughter of Joseph and Mary 
Buttery, born in Strathbury, Ontario. He 
married (second), 1893, Charlotte Buttery, a 
sister of his first wife. Children of first wife : 
Harry, Paul B., Joseph Ernest, died young. 
Children of second wife: Charlotte, born in 
Cleveland, Ohio ; Marion, born in Cleveland, 
Ohio ; Catherine, born in Westfield, New 

York ; , died in infancy ; a boy (not yet 

named). 



This is an Irish family which 
ALLEN has been closely connected with 

railroads in Ireland. Henry- 
Allen, born in county Down, Ireland, after 
spending his life in the railroad service, dur- 
ing which time he attained the high office of 
inspector, died in the United States while on a 
visit to his children. He married Rachel 
Lowry, born near Belfast, Ireland. She died 
in Ireland. They were the parents of eight 
children, the following three coming to 
America: Henry (of whom further); Mar- 
garet; Elizabeth. 

(II) Henry (2), son of Henry (1) and 
Rachel (Lowry) Allen, was born in Belfast, 
Ireland, February 28, 1849. He was educated 
in the Royal Academic Institute of Belfast. 
In 1863 he was employed by the Great North- 
ern Railroad of Ireland. Subsequently he be- 
came agent for the northern part of Ireland 
for the" London & Northwestern Railroad of 
England. He received an appointment in 
England as the agent of the Great Western of 
Canada Railroad, and for two years was lo- 
cated at Strathbury and Hamilton, Ontario. 
He filled this position so satisfactorily that he 
was made inspector of the railroad and for 
six years was in the office at Hamilton, On- 
tario. His next position was with the Nickel 
Plate Railroad, and for twenty-six years he 
was at Cleveland, Ohio, in the capacity of 
traveling freight agent. He had always been 
of a frugal turn of mind and had always in- 
vested his salary in good, sound ventures, and 
consequently he was able to retire at the age 
of fifty-five. He came to Westfield, New 
York, in 1897, where he has lived ever since, 



The progenitor of this branch of 
MASON the Mason family and the first to 

settle in New York state was 
Thaddeus Mason, a pioneer settler of Clinton 
county. He was born in New England, of 
Scotch-Irish ancestry, whom available records 
do not disclose. Thaddeus Mason served in 
the war of 1812, and after settling in Clinton 
county was extensively engaged in lumbering. 
He owned and operated saw mills, converting 
his heavily-timbered lands into lumber. He 
was twice married, descent being traced 
through a son of his second wife, who had a 
daughter Priscilla, who died at the age of 
eighteen years, and sons Luther M. and Silas. 
(II) Luther M., eldest son of Thaddeus 
Mason, was born in Plattsburg, Clinton 
county, New York, September 27, 1802. died 
in Westfield, Chautauqua county, New York, 
March 17, 1886. He learned the trade of mill- 
wright, and for several years was extensively 
engaged in Clinton county in lumbering and 
the erection of saw and grist mills. About 
1832 he moved to the town of Ellery, Chau- 
tauqua county, where he owned a farm and 
worked at his trade. He erected several flour- 
ing mills in Chautauqua county and established 
the first ferry (under license) to operate 
across Lake Chautauqua at what is now 
Bemus Point or the Narrows. He operated 
this ferry for several years. He was well 
known in the county and bore a high reputa- 
tion. He was a strong Democrat in politics. 
He married, 1823, at Fort Ann, Washington 
county, New York, Ann Haskins, born Octo- 
ber 14, 1805, daughter of Ira Haskins, born 
in New York state, of English parentage. 
Children, first five born in Clinton, the others 
in Chautauqua county. New York (town of 



NEW YORK. 



635 



Ellery J : 1. Charles, born October 26, 1825, 
died in California, unmarried. 2. Ira, born 
October 21, 1827, died in Harmony, New 
York, unmarried. 3. Luther (2), born No- 
vember 29, 1829, died in Harmony, New York, 
January 16, 1907; married Emily Gould. 4. 
James, June 14, 1832, died unmarried. 5. Gil- 
son, May 13, 1834 (deceased) ; married Eliza- 
beth Benthy. 6. Melchert D., December 5, 
1836. 7. William, August 6, 1839, died at 
Glade, Pennsylvania, March 20, 1901 ; married 
(first) Maria Clark; married (second) Viola 
Smith. 8. Silas W. (of whom further). 9. 
Emmett, November 20, 1843 ; married Carrie 
Caromy. 10. Emma Ann, twin of Emmett, 
died at Bemus, March, 1867; married Alfred 
Field. 11. Maria C. July 9, 1847; married 
DeWitt Atherly. 

(Ill) Silas W., eighth child of Luther M. 
Mason, was born in Ellery, Chautauqua 
county, New York, November 21, 1840. He 
was reared on the Ellery homestead and at- 
tended the public school. He spent one year 
at Westfield Academy, then taught in the pub- 
lic school for one term, returning to the acad- 
emy, whence he was graduated in 1859, at the 
age of nineteen years. After being variously 
employed for two years he entered Bryant & 
Stratton's Business College, at Cleveland, 
Ohio, graduating in 1861. In 1862 he went 
to Venango county, Pennsylvania, where for 
the ensuing six years he was engaged in the 
real estate business very extensively. In 1870 
he moved to Chautauqua county, New York. 
He was then thirty years of age. He began 
the study of law with Austin Smith, of West- 
field, and two years later entered the Albany 
Law School, from whence he was graduated 
in 1872 and admitted to the bar. He at once 
began practice, locating in Westfield, where he 
yet continues. He has proved a capable, suc- 
cessful lawyer and has also large business in- 
terests outside his profession. He is interested 
quite heavily in coffee and rubber plantations 
in Mexico, and in other enterprises nearer 
home. 

Mr. Mason is one of the leading Pro- 
hibitionists of his state. In 1887 he was the 
Prohibition candidate for the assembly from 
Chautauqua county : in 1889 candidate of the 
same party for judge of the supreme court 
of New York, and the next year their candi- 
date for judge of the court of appeals, and 
has also been their choice for lieutenant-gov- 
ernor of the state. Although his party is in 



such a hopeless minority, he has always polled 
their full strength, and at each succeeding elec- 
tion shown an increased vote. He has served 
two terms as president of the village of West- 
field, been president of the board of education 
several years, and is now village trustee, an 
office he has long held. He is a member of 
the Presbyterian church, which he has served 
for several years as trustee, and also a mem- 
ber of the Masonic order. 

He married, March 5, 1862, Amanda F. 
Persons, born in Westfield, daughter of Paul 
and Susan (McGill) Persons. Children: 
George P., born 1863 ; Louie, died in mfancy ; 
Clara, married Harry L. Sears, of New York 
City ; children : Mason O. and George. 

John Sheldon, an inhabitant 
SHELDON of Providence, Rhode Island, 
was born in England in 1630, 
died in 1708. He settled at Providence, where 
he was a tanner. He was deputy in 1702. He 
deeded his homestead, March 20, 1708, to his 
son Nehemiah on condition that he would 
maintain his father the remainder of his life. 
He married, in 1660, Joan Vincent, who died 
in 1708. Children: 1. Timothy, born March 
29, 1661, died 1744: married Sarah, daughter 
of Alexander and Jane (Holbrook) Balcom ; 
children: Martha, born May 5. 1687; Tim- 
othy, March 1, 1689: Samuel. January 29, 
1691 ; Mary, August 1, 1693. 2. John (of 
whom further). 3. Mary, died April 28, 1735; 
married, January 12, 1688, Stephen, son of 
Stephen and Sarah (Smith) Arnold : children: 
Stephen; Philip, born February 12, 1693; Ed- 
ward; Phoebe, born March 5, 1695; Sarah; 
Penelope, born 1701 ; Savana, born 1703. 4. 
Nicholas, died November 23, 1747: married 
Abbie Tillinghast, born March, 1674, daughter 
of Purden and Lydia (Taber) Tillinghast; 
children : Mary, Nicholas, Joseph. Abigail, 
Lydia. 5. Nehemiah, born 1672, died 1754; 
married Rachel Mann, born April 15, 1679, 
daughter of Thomas and Mary (Wheaton) 
Mann ; children : Abraham ; Philip : Mary, 
married, December 18, 1721, William Rhodes; 
Rachel, born 1705, married, March 6. 1728, 
Pearnot Packer ; Wealtherm, married, June 6, 
1 73 1, John Williams. 

(II) John (2), son of John (1) and Joan 
( Vincent) Sheldon, was born in Rhode Island, 
died at Pawtucket, that colony, August 16, 
1741. He was a tanner and cordwainer. He 
married and reared a family of ei°dit children: 



6 3 6 



NEW Y< )RK. 



Roger, married Mercy 



2. John (3). 



3. William (of whom further). 4. Edward. 
5. Patience, married Thornton. 6. De- 
liverance. 7. Ezekiel, married Joanna . 

8. Sarah. 

(III) William, son of John (2) Sheldon, 
was born in Pawtucket. Rhode Island, about 
1710. He married Rebecca Rhodes, 1737. 
Children: 1. Deliverance, born 1740; married 
Xathan Jillson. 2. Robert, born 1741 ; mar- 
ried Hill. 3. Roger, born 1745 ; was 

of Cumberland, Rhode Island. 4. William (of 
whom further). 5. Benjamin, born 1750; set- 
tled at Unadilla, New York. 6. John, born 
1752: settled in the northern part of Adams, 
Berkshire county, Massachusetts. 7. Rebecca, 
born 1754 ; married John Philips. 8. Susanna, 
married Nathan Jillson. 9. Anna, married 

Potter, of Cranston, Rhode Island. 10. 

Mercy, married Randall. 11. Daugh- 
ter, married Ezra Day. 

(IV) W'illiam (2),- son of William (1) and 
Rebecca (Rhodes) Sheldon, was born in Paw- 
tucket. Rhode Island, 1747. He lived in Cum- 
berland, Rhode Island, and in Stephentown, 
Rensselaer county, New York. He married 

Abigail . Children: Diana, married 

Charles A. Calkins ; Benjamin (of whom fur- 
ther 1 : William ; James. 

(V) Benjamin, eldest son of William (2) 
and Abigail Sheldon, was born in Stephen- 
town. New York. January 5, 1785, died May 
3, 1854. He was a blacksmith, and became 
one of the pioneer settlers of Monroe county, 
New York, settling in the town of Sweden, 
about seventeen miles from Rochester. He 
worked at his trade and also owned farming, 
land. He married, January 24, 1805, Anna C. 
James, born July 3, 1784, at Stephentown, died 
at Sweden, New York, October 1. 1873. Chil- 
dren, first two born in Stephentown, the others 
in Sweden: Benjamin Lee, December 24, 
1805: Arthur Anna, November 6, 1806; May 
Julia. November 29, 1808 ; James Alson, Feb- 
ruary 2. 181 1 : Phoebe Eliza, February 13, 
1813: Electa Calista. May 14, 1815; Harriet 
Adeline, November 26, 1817; Abigail Elvira, 
January 12, 1820: Eleanor M., May 1, 1822; 
DeWitt Clinton (of whom further). 

(VI) DeWitt Clinton, youngest child and 
fourth son of Benjamin and Anna C. (James) 
Sheldon, was born in Sweden, Monroe county, 
New York, October 14, 1825, died at Holly, 
Orleans county. New York. June n, 1896. 
He was educated in the public schools. He 



was reared a farmer and inherited the home- 
stead farm in Sweden, which he cultivated 
until his retirement. He was a capable man 
and held in high esteem. He was a member 
of the Baptist church, and in politics a Demo- 
crat. He married, January 1, 1846, in Holly, 
New York. Elvira Pennell, horn in that town, 
1827. died there March, 1903, daughter of 
Epaphras and Sarah (Bradley) Pennell. Chil- 
dren, all born in Sweden : Helen M., married 
George Pennell ; Adelaide, died aged eighteen 
years ; Charles B. (of whom further) ; Harriet 
P., married Walter Beadle; Ada M., married 
John M. Brown. 

(VII) Charles B., eldest son and third child 
of DeWitt Clinton and Elvira (Pennell) Shel- 
don, was born in Sweden. Monroe county, 
New York, June 9, 1856. He was educated 
in the public schools, finishing his studies at 
Brockport State Normal. He was reared on 
the farm and followed agriculture as a busi- 
ness for some time, later becoming a traveling 
salesman, continuing on the road several 
years. He then located in Buffalo, where he 
established a successful wholesale commission 
business under the firm name of Charles B. 
Sheldon. He continued this until he was suc- 
ceeded by his son, Leland L. Sheldon, by 
whom it is yet conducted. Mr. Sheldon 
(senior) then located in Westfield, Chautau- 
qua county, New York, where on April 1, 
1906, he purchased an established hardware 
business, which he has since very successfully 
conducted. He is a member and trustee of 
the Baptist church, and a Republican in poli- 
tics. His career has been a successful one 
and he has established an enviable reputation 
for upright dealing. 

He married, December 15, 1881, Frances 
Louise Beadle, born in Sweden, New York, 
August 4, 1857, daughter of Almond D. 
Beadle, born in Sweden. May 4. 1830, died 
February, 1909. He married Abigail Avery, 
born August 6, 1832. died May 2, 1885. 
Almond D. was a son of Rev. John Beadle, 
a Methodist minister, who was born in New 
Hampshire, and married Abigail Bentley. of 
Rhode Island. Children of Charles B. and 
Frances Louise Sheldon, first two born in 
Sweden, New York: 1. Leland Locke, born 
Ma> 22. 1883 : wholesale commission merchant 
of Buffalo. He married. August 15. 1908, 
Virginia, daughter of John E. and Ella 
(Barker) Taylor. 2. Edith Gertrude, born 
June 12, 1885. 3. Clinton Almond, born in 



NEW YORK. 



637 



Brockport, New York, July 27, 1892. 4. Mar- 
garet Elizabeth, born in Erie, Pennsylvania, 
May 14, 1896, died there April 19, 1897. 



The first Cowen of record in 
COWEN New England is John Cowen 
"from Scotland," who was of 
Scituate, Massachusetts, in 1656. He pur- 
chased lands and built a house. An entry in 
the colony records, 1670, shows his Scotch 
spirit : John Cowen appeared in court to 
answer for his contemptible words against 
royal authority, to wit: That he scorned to 
be in subjection to an Englishman, and that 
there never was any king in England that 
was an Englishman save one, crooked-backed 
Richard, a crooked rogue just like such a one 
(naming a well-known hunchback). Cleared. 
He spelled his name Cowen, as did the New 
York family for three generations. Some 
branches spell it Cowan. 

He married Rebecca, widow of Richard 
Man, 1656. Children: Joseph, born 1657; 
was killed in the Rehoboth battle, 1676: Mary, 
born 1659; John, 1662; Israel, 1664, married 
anl left a family ; Rebecca, 1666. 

(II) John (2), son of John (1) Cowen, 
was born in Scituate, Massachusetts, 1662. 
He married, 1687, Deborah Litchfield. Chil- 
dren: Sarah, born 1688; Joseph, 1690; John, 
1692; Joshua, 1694; Caleb, 1696; Israel, 1701 ; 
Mary, 1705. 

(III) John (3), son of John (2) Cowen, 
settled in Rhode Island, where he married and 
had issue, including a son John (4). 

(IV) The pioneer Cowen in Cattaraugus 
county, New York, was John (4) Cowen, born 
in Rhode Island, served in the revolutionary 
war and came to Cattaraugus county in 1833, 
settling in the town of Conewango, where he 
died at the age of ninety-one years. He mar- 
ried Olive Smith. Children: Eddie, John, 
Arthur F., Sally, Esther and Waity. 

(V) Eddie, son of John (4) and Olive 
(Smith) Cowen, was born in Rhode Island, 
settled in Tolland county, Connecticut, where 
he died. He married Griggs. Chil- 
dren, not in order of birth : Jane, Theodore, 
John Madison (of further mention) ; Olive, 
Norman E. G,, born in Connecticut, 1833 ; 
married Hattie A. Metcalf ; he resided on the 
homestead of his grandfather ; Sarah. 

(VI) John Madison, son of Eddie Cowen, 
was born December 12, 1826, and when six 
years old came to Conewango with his grand- 



father, John Cowen. He grew up to farm 
labor, and on arriving at man's estate cleared 
a farm, which he cultivated all his active life. 
He yet resides in Conewango (1911), aged 
eighty-five years. He married, August 3, 1847, 
Rachel A. Seager. Children: 1. Adeline, de- 
ceased. 2. Josephine W., married George J. 
Mason, son of Charles and Ann Mason; 
Charles was of English descent and a veteran 
of the civil war. 3. Sally A., married David 
(3) Loop, son of David (2), son of David 
(1), born and died in Columbia county, New 
York. David (2) came to Conewango in 1840 
and for many years operated the Holdridge 
Mills at East Randolph, and owned three 
farms. He married Mary Winter. David (3) 
and Sally A. Loop have three children : Claude 
A., Josephine and Mary R. 4. John Norman 
(of further mention). 5. Esther, married 
(first) Charles Carr ; (second) David Whit- 
ford ; child, Emily, married Stanley Aldrich. 
6. Jane M. (Jennie), married Willard Bab- 
cock. 7. Orastus S., deceased. 8. William S., 
deceased. 

(VII) John Norman, fourth child of John 
Madison Cowen, was born in Conewango, Cat- 
taraugus county, New York, December 23, 
1854. His early education was obtained in the 
public school, after which he pursued a course 
at Chamberlain Institute. He then attended 
the State Normal School at Ypsilante, Michi- 
gan, then entered the University of Michigan, 
at Ann Arbor, pursuing a four years' course 
in the dental department. He was graduated, 
D. D. S., class of 1878, and at once began 
the practice of his profession at East Ran- 
dolph, continuing until 1884, when he located 
in the village of Randolph, where he is yet 
in successful practice, and an influential, highly 
regarded citizen. He has served as village 
trustee and is a trustee of Chamberlain Insti- 
tute. He was a director of the Bank of Ran- 
dolph and since 1894 has been president of 
that most excellent institution, succeeding 
President Crowley. He is past master of 
Randolph Lodge, No. 359, Free and Accepted 
Masons, and a Republican in politics. 

Whether considered as a professional man, 
financier or public official Dr. Cowen meas- 
ures up to the full standard expected and 
rarely are all the qualities necessary to a suc- 
cessful career in all three so abundantly found. 
Pie is public-spirited and liberal-minded and 
has many friends. 

He married, October 23, 1881, Mrs. Emma 



6 3 S 



NEW YORK. 



(Fenton) Crowley, daughter of John Fenton 
and a descendant of Governor Reuben Fen- 
ton. She died July 2, 1886. 



John Douglass was kidnapped 
DOUGLAS in London, England, and 
brought in a ship to Boston, 
Massachusetts. He became a settler of Mid- 
dleboro, Massachusetts, where he married 
about 1719. He purchased a small farm, 
where he died at an advanced age. He mar- 
ried Eunice Rattleaf (or Ratliffe). Children: 
Elijah, of further mention; John, born 1722, 
married Mary Braley ; George, born 1725, 
married Prudence Caswell. 

(II) Elijah, eldest son of John and Eunice 
(Rattleaf) Douglass, was born in Middleboro. 
Massachusetts, about 1720, died 1807. He set- 
tled in .Maine, where he became a large land 
owner and well-to-do citizen. He was totally 
blind fourteen years before his death. He 
married (first) Phebe Taylor ; (second) Eliz- 
abeth Estes. Children: Martin, Daniel, Cor- 
nelius. Children of second wife : Joseph, Job, 
Israel, Sarah, Patience, Mary, Elijah, John. 

(III) Daniel, second son of Elijah and his 
first wife, Phebe (Taylor) Douglass, was born 
in Middleboro, Massachusetts, 1747. He was 
a farmer of Maine. He married, June 9, 1779, 
Sabry Russell. Children : Daniel, of further 
mention ; Cornelius, Nabby, Sylvania, Annie, 
Phebe. 

(IV) Daniel (2), son of Daniel (1) and 
Sabry (Russell) Douglass, was born in Maine 
in 1780, died in Saratoga county, New York. 
He resided for a time in Connecticut, then 
came to New York state, settling in Saratoga 
county, where he was an extensive dealer in 
lumber, owning and operating a saw mill. In 
1836 he came to Niagara county. He married 
(first) Sarah Bailey: married (second) Lydia 
. Children : Milton, of further men- 
tion : John, born 1816, died 1889, was a civil 
engineer, surveyor and school teacher ; he 
was county surveyor of Dane county, Wis- 
consin, where he was an extensive land owner, 
and resided at Token Creek, Wisconsin ; he 
married Amy Aldrich, of Olcott, New York ; 
Martin. 

( V ) Milton Douglas, eldest son of Daniel 
1 2 1 and Lydia Douglass, was born in Sara- 
toga county, New York, October 19, 1808, 
died in Niagara county, 1887. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools of Saratoga county 
and worked with his father there until 1836, 



when Daniel and his two sons came to Niag- 
ara county, settling in the town of Somerset, 
where Milton followed farming for four years. 
About 1843 ne bought a farm of eighty-five 
acres in Newfane on the Coomer Road. This 
tract was then covered with timber. He began 
a clearing, which continued until sixty-five 
acres were under cultivation. Here he resided 
until his death. He was a hard working man 
of good standing in his community. He was 
a Presbyterian in religion, and a Republican 
in politics. He married (first) Caroline Smith, 
in Saratoga county, 183 1 ; married (second) 
Caroline Bennett Austin, 1842, born in Ticon- 
deroga, New York, 1818, died 1898. Chil- 
dren: 1. William A., born 1843, in Somerset, 
New York, died, 1887, in Newfane; he was 
a veteran of the civil war; married (first) 
Olivia Stratton, (second) Jennie C. Palmatier, 
(third) Alice Bixler. 2. Martin Van Ness, 
of further mention. 3. Mary, born 1850, mar- 
ried J. F. Smith, of Lansing, Michigan ; child, 
Mabel, married W. Swick. 

(VI) Martin Van Ness, youngest son of 
Milton and Caroline Bennett (Austin) Doug- 
las, was born July 20, 1846, on his father's 
farm, Coomer Road, Newfane, Niagara 
county, New York. He received his educa- 
tion in the public school, Lockport Union 
School and Eastman's Business College, 
Poughkeepsie, New York, finishing his studies 
in 1866. For a year he was with his uncle 
in Wisconsin farming. In the fall of 1867 
he came to Lockport, where he engaged as a 
.teacher of bookkeeping and penmanship in the 
public schools. He remained in this position 
for thirteen years, establishing a reputation as 
an instructor. In 1880 he resigned and until 
1885 was engaged in the insurance business. 
In 1885 he entered the employ of the Lock 
City Brewing Company as accountant. He 
is now (1911) secretary of the company and 
general manager. He is past master of Niag- 
ara Lodge, No. 375, Free and Accepted 
Masons, of which be was secretary from 1888 
to 1898; past high priest of Ames Chapter, 
No. 88, Royal Arch Masons, of which he was 
secretary from 1872 to 1898 : member of Bruce 
Council, No. 15, Royal and Select Masters, 
(if which he was recorder from 1874 to 1898; 
past eminent commander of Genesee Com- 
mandery, No. 10, Knights Templar, of which 
he was recorder from 1885 to 1898: member 
of Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks ; 
was first master workman of John Hodge 



NEW YORK. 



639 



Lodge, No. 69, and treasurer since 1890. He 
married (first), October 16, 1867, Mary 
Morse, of Wisconsin, who died at Lockport, 

1872. He married (second), December 1, 

1873, Almeda Armstrong, born 1846, at Lock- 
port, died there 1888 ; before marriage a 
teacher in the public schools ; child, Camille 
D., born June 29, 1876. 



This family descends from 
DOUGLAS Thompson Douglas, a well- 
to-do farmer of county Down, 
Ireland, where he died in 1889. He never 
came to the United States, but lived and died 
on his homestead in Ireland. His wife, Anna 
(Shaw) Douglas, survived him and spent her 
last years on the home farm. Thompson 
Douglas had fifteen children : Agnes, married 
a Mr. Brown and resides in Ireland ; John, 
died in California; Margaret, married a Mr. 
Whiteside, deceased ; James ; William R. (of 
whom further) ; Hugh, lives in Ireland; Davis, 
died in California; Sarah Mary, married a 
Mr. Brown, deceased ; Thomas ; Thompson ; 
Brown ; Grace, died unmarried ; three others 
supposed to have died in infancy. 

(II) William R., son of Thompson Doug- 
las, was born in county Down, Ireland, Janu- 
ary 30, 1847, died in Westfield, Chautauqua 
county, New York, January 6, 1910. His boy- 
hood days were spent on the farm and in at- 
tendance at the government schools. At the 
age of sixteen years he came to the United 
States, settling in the village of Westfield in 
December, 1863. He learned the trade of 
marble cutter, but at the end of his years of 
apprenticeship was compelled to abandon it 
on account of ill health caused by inhaling the 
dust raised in chiseling the marble. He then 
learned the trade of moulder, which he fol- 
lowed until the shut down of the Lock foun- 
dry in 1870. In that year he began working 
as a clerk in the grocery store of his uncle, 
Robert Shaw, continuing in that capacity until, 
1874, when he was admitted to a partnership, 
forming, with his uncle and J. R. S. Cosgrove, 
the grocery firm of R. Shaw & Company. Dur- 
ing the next eight years there were several 
changes in the personnel of the firm, but Mr. 
Douglas remained during that entire period. 
In 1882 he purchased the interests of all his 
partners, becoming sole owner and proprietor. 
He continued in most successful and lucrative 
operation of the same business until his death 
in 1910. He was a most capable, courteous. 



upright and generous man of business. His 
integrity was proverbial, all agreeing that his 
word indeed was "as good as his bond." He 
was warm-hearted and generous, giving freely 
to the relief of those in distress. He was 
truly mourned by a host of friends. On be- 
coming a voter Mr. Douglas at once affiliated 
with the Republican party, and, while never 
seeking office, took the liveliest interest in 
the success of his party and in the public 
welfare of his village. He was elected a mem- 
ber of the board of education in 1888 and 
was annually re-elected (often without oppo- 
sition) until his death. His services to the 
cause of education were invaluable and fully 
appreciated by his townsmen. He was a mem- 
ber of the Presbyterian church, which he 
served for many years in an official capacity. 
He was a member of Summit Lodge, No. 219, 
Free and Accepted Masons, and of Westfield 
Council, No. 81, Royal Arcanum. 

He married, November 19, 1873, Mary 
Winsor, of Westfield, who survives him. 
Children: John Robert (of whom further); 
Harry Winsor, born June 2, 1877 ; married 
Myrtle Sutherland ; William Minford, born 
November 14, 1880; Elizabeth A., born March 
26, 1883, died 1886; James Robinson, born 
January 5, 1886, married Clara Mary Kent ; 
Alice Ruth, born February 22, 1889; Grace, 
April 1, 1 89 1 ; Margaret, March 28, 1895. 

(Ill) John Robert, eldest son of William 
R. Douglas, was born in Westfield, New York, 
July 27, 1875. He was educated in the public 
schools, and began business life as a clerk in 
his father's store. He was interested in pub- 
lic men and affairs and for nine years was 
private secretary to S. Frederick Nixon. 
speaker of the New York house of assembly, 
and a noted Republican leader. During the 
intervals when the legislature was not in ses- 
sion he returned to his old position in the 
store at Westfield. After the death of Mr. 
Nixon, Mr. Douglas received the appointment 
of assistant librarian at Albany, a position he 
held until January 1, 191 1, when he resigned 
to accept the postmastership of Westfield, as- 
suming control of that office the same day. 
He has always been an active party worker, 
served for eight years on the Republican 
county committee and was for six years its 
secretary, resigning that office in 191 1, on be- 
coming postmaster. He served two terms 
of three years each as trustee of the village 
corporation of Westfield, and has always 



640 



NEW YORK. 



shown a deep interest in the welfare of the 
village and town. On the death of his father, 
in 1910, he was appointed administrator of 
and continued the mercantile business for the 
estate, assisted by his brothers, one of whom, 
James R., is also assistant postmaster. Mr. 
Douglas is unmarried. 

Anna (Shaw) Douglas, wife of Thompson 
Douglas, and grandmother of John R. Doug- 
las, was a daughter of James Shaw, a large 
linen manufacturer of Ireland. He owned a 
farm of one hundred and sixty-seven acres 
in county Down, on which his linen mills were 
built. He gave employment to from four 
to six hundred hands, also operating a general 
store for their convenience. He was well 
known for his energy and enterprise and was 
a leading man in his section. He died No- 
vember 9, 1849, aged fifty-seven years. He 
married Margaret Robinson, who died in 1837. 
His father, William Shaw, was a lifelong resi- 
dent of county Down, where he died, aged 
eighty-seven years. 

Mary (Winsor) Douglas, wife of William 
R. and mother of John R. Douglas, was born 
in Westfield, New York, November 17, 1854, 
daughter of David Winsor, born in the county 
of Kent, England, in 1814, died in Westfield, 
1863. He came from England to the United 
States in 185 1 with wife and three children. 
On the passage his daughter Anna, aged two 
and one-half years, died and was buried at 
sea. He settled in Chautauqua county, New 
York, where he continued his English occupa- 
tion, farming. His farm was in Westfield. 
After several years he abandoned farming and 
secured employment in the Lock foundry. His 
wife, Serenia (Hollands) Winsor, born De- 
cember 16, 1 82 1, died in 1904. She was a 
daughter of John and Elizabeth (James) Hol- 
lands. Children of David and Serenia Win- 
sor : Mrs. Elizabeth Phillips, deceased ; John, 
lives in Corry, Pennsylvania ; Anna, died at 
sea ; Marv, married William R. Douglas. 



The first record found of this 
SEAGER family in Connecticut is at 

Simsbury, as follows: "Richard 
Segar and Abigail Griffin were joyned to- 
gether in marriage March the twentieth one 
thousand six hundred eighty-two." This is 
followed by : "Richard Segar dyed March 19, 
1697-8, and his wife Abigail dyed March 31, 
1697-8." The next entry is: "John Segar, 
Richard Segar's son, was born March 1687-8. 



Joseph Segar, Richard Segar's son, was born 
in the year 1692." The Cattaraugus county 
family descends from Joseph ( 1 ) Seager, who 
was a brother of Richard and uncle of the 
Joseph born 1692. There is no record of him 
found further than that of the birth of his 
son Joseph (2). His wife was Mehitable, 
daughter of John Parsons. She was born 
1682, died November 27, 1725. 

(II) Joseph (2), son of Joseph (1) and 
Mehitable (Parsons) Seager, was born in 
Simsbury, Connecticut, December 30, 1704. 
He married, March 26, 1730, Dorothy Alford. 
Children: Joseph (3), born March 23, 1731 ; 
Dorothy, January 27, 1734; Mica (Micah) 
(of further mention). (Perhaps others.) 

(III) Micah, son of Joseph (2) and Dor- 
othy (Alford) Seager, was born in Simsbury, 
Connecticut, April 22 r 1736. He married and 
had a son Micah (2) (of further mention). 

(IV) Micah (2), son of Micah (1) Seager, 
was born in Simsbury, Connecticut, about 
1765. He married (first) Lois Graham; (sec- 
ond ) Susan . He settled in Phelps, 

Ontario county. New York, about 1812, with 
his family. His sons became land owners of 
that town and his descendants yet possess the 
lands they cleared. Orestes, Hector and An- 
son Seager later settled in Cattaraugus county. 
Children, order of birth not known: 1. 
Aurora. 2. Anson, born 1805 : settled in 1833 
in Conewango, Cattaraugus county, New 
York, where he was a land owner and justice 
of the peace ; married Aurora Harmon ; chil- 
dren : Caroline, Charlotte, Delia, William H. 
and Micah (3). 3. Schuyler. 4. Hector. 5. 
Orestes, married Lucinda Ashley : children : 
Rachel A.. Schuyler, Adeline and Edward. 
6. Maria. 7. Michael. 8. Levi, married 
Sophia Streeter. 9. Philomena. 

(V) Hector, son of Micah (2) Seager. was 
born March 14, 1793. in Simsbury, Connecti- 
cut, died in Conewango, Cattaraugus county, 
New York, 1859. He came with his father 
to Phelps, New York, where he remained un- 
til 183 1, then in company with his brother 
Orestes, came to Cattaraugus county, settling 
in the Conewango valley. Hector owned a 
farm of two hundred acres and became an in- 
fluential man of his day. He was a warm 
friend of the cause of education, taught school, 
did conveyancing and served in a high official 
position in the county school board of educa- 
tion, and as supervisor. He was a Democrat 
in politics, and a member of the Methodist 



NEW YORK 



641 



Episcopal church, serving as class leader for 
many years. He married, November 14, 181 1, 
Sarah, daughter of Captain Woodward. Six 
of their children were born in Phelps, two 
in Conewango. 1. David, born 1815, died 
1832. 2. Fidelia, married Jason Gould ; two 
children : i. Frank, married Lewis Carr ; his 
son Jason married Olive Mason, ii. George 
Green, married Aurilla Saunders. 3. Julia 
Ann, married Edwin Pinney ; one child, Eliza, 
died aged seventeen years. 4. William Nor- 
ton, married (first) Sophia Eldred ; three chil- 
dren : i. George, married Elizabeth Gage ; 
four children : Grover Cleveland, Earl, Alida 
and Mabel, ii. Foster V. iii. Elizabeth. He 
married (second) Caroline Crum ; three chil- 
dren: iv. Lida. v. Harriet, vi. Cora. 5. Lois. 
6. Alvina, married Daniel Bowen ; one child. 
Hector M., married Etta Woodworth, and has 
Hester. 7. George E. (of further mention). 
8. Charlotte, married Darwin Carl ; one child, 
Nettie C, married Edwin Payne, and has 
Florence and Darwin. 

(VI) George E., son of Hector and Sarah 
(Woodward) Seager, was born in Cone- 
wango, Cattaraugus county, New York, Feb- 
ruary 6, 1833. He was educated in the public 
schools and during the winter terms of 1850- 
51 attended Chamberlain Institute. He worked 
on the homestead farm until he became of 
legal age, then purchased a farm for himself. 
After the death of his father he purchased the 
interest of the other heirs and became owner 
of the old- homestead. This property he still 
owns and has cultivated for him on the share 
plan. In 1870 he became a manufacturer and 
purchaser of cheese and butter, a business that 
developed to immense proportions. Although 
now seventy-eight years of age, Mr. Seager 
is in daily management of a business upwards 
of $200,000 yearly, and in earlier days it ex- 
ceeded $300,000. He is a thorough man of 
business and gives little evidence that years 
are upon him. In 1874 he located his resi- 
dence in the village of Randolph, where he 
now lives (1911). He was made a Mason 
in 1871 and is a past master of Elk Creek 
Lodge, No. 359, Free and Accepted Masons. 
He has taken the degrees of Capitular 
Masonry, but the charter of his chapter being 
surrendered he never affiliated with any other. 
He organized the fire department of Randolph 
and was chief for many years. He was presi- 
dent of the village corporation five years and 
a member of the school board nine rears. He 



was chiefly instrumental in organizing, finan- 
cing and building the water works system of 
Randolph, and in every way furthers the in- 
terests of his town. He is also a director of 
the State Bank of Randolph. In politics he 
is a Democrat, and in religion a Congrega- 
tionalist. For business activity and intense 
public spirit Mr. Seager may well be styled 
Randolph's "grand old man." 

He married (first) Ruth Myers, born 1836, 
died 1859. He married (second) Nettie Bige- 
low, born September 17, 1839, daughter of 
John (2) and Caroline (Wells) Bigelow, and 
granddaughter of John (1) and Temperance 
(Spencer) Bigelow. Caroline Wells was a 
daughter of Asa and Betsey Wells. Children 
of first wife: 1. Minnie L.. born March ifi. 
1868; graduate of Allegheny College, of 
Meadville, Pennsylvania ; married Leland Van 
Rensselaer. 2. Frank L., born in Conewango, 
New York, March 23, 1876 : was educated'in 
the public schools and Chamberlain Institute. 
He began business life as a clerk, then entered 
the State Bank of Randolph, as messenger 
and clerk, and is now assistant cashier and a 
director. He has served as president and trus- 
tee and treasurer of the village corporation, 
trustee of the fire department and treasurer 
of the school board. He is a member of the 
Congregational church, and of Elk Creek 
Lodge, No. 359, Free and Accepted Masons. 
He is a public-spirited citizen, a "worthy son 
of a worthy sire." He married Elizabeth 
Crowley. Child, Kate Crowley, born August 
31, 1907. 



The Keep family of Lockport, 
KEEP New York, are lineal descendants 

of John Keep, of Longmeadow and 
Springfield, Massachusetts. John Keep is first 
mentioned in the records of Springfield as a 
resident there in 1660. In 1663 he was elected 
selectman, and seems to have been a man of 
a good deal of importance in Springfield at 
that time, serving on many committees and 
juries. In 1667 he was hay ward of Long- 
meadow, and in 1668 was surveyor of high- 
ways in Springfield town. He appears fre- 
quently in the records until 1676, when he 
met his tragic death. On Sunday, March 26. 
he was on his way to church in Springfield 
with several others, and was attended by sev- 
eral troopers of the colony. Notwithstanding 
their protection, they were attacked by In- 
dians and several were killed, including John 



642 



NEW YORK. 



Keep, his wife, and son Jabez. This is known 
in history as the "Longmeadow Massacre." 
John Keep married, December 31, 1663, Sarah 
Leonard, born in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
December 13. 1645, daughter of John and 
Sarah Leonard, of an important colonial fam- 
ily. Children: Sarah, born December 5, 1666; 
Elizabeth, November 15, 1668; Samuel, of 
further mention ; Hammond, born June 28, 
1673; Jabez, born December 11, 1675, mur- 
dered by Indians. 

(II) Ensign Samuel, eldest son of John and 
Sarah (Leonard ) Keep, was born August 22, 
1670. at Longmeadow, Massachusetts, died 
August 23, 1755. After the loss of both father 
and mother, when he was but six years old, 
he was taken by his grandmother Leonard, 
who lived in Springfield, and afterward was 
reared on the farm of an uncle. He became 
himself a farmer, and served in the militia 
with rank of ensign. He married, February 
27, 1695, Sarah Holton of Longmeadow, born 
September 25, 1678, died June 20, 1754. Chil- 
dren : John, of further mention : Samuel, born 
November 12, 1700; Sarah, August 23, 1703; 
Jabez, March 10, 1706; Elizabeth, May 22, 
1709; Jemima, July 17, 171 1; Josiah, Novem- 
ber 30, 1713; Abiah, December 11, 1715 ; 
Stephen, October 26, 1717; Eunice, March 3, 
1720. 

(III) John (2) eldest son of Ensign Sam- 
uel and Sarah (Holton) Keep, was born June 
22, 1698, died July 28. 1757. He settled at 
Brimfield (now Monson), Massachusetts, 
where he was one of the first settlers. At the 
first town meeting held there he was chosen 
fence viewer, later was assessor, and was se- 
lectman in 1749-54. He died and is buried at 
Rrimfield. He married Abigail Munn, born 
October 17, 1700, died October 5, 1787. daugh- 
ter of James and Mary Moody Munn. Chil- 
dren : John (2), born March 15, 1725; Eliz- 
abeth, August 6, 1726; Jabez, March 2, 1728; 
Abigail, March 28, 1730; Sarah, September 
27, 1732; Eunice, September 9, 1734; Eunice 
(2), January 3, 1736; Simeon, February 15, 
1737: Mary, January 28, 1739; Caleb, of fur- 
ther mention ; Seth. 

(IV) Captain Caleb Keep, tenth child and 
fourth son of John and Abigail (Munn) Keep, 
was born at Springfield. Massachusetts, De- 
cember 10, 1 741, died at Homer, Cortland 
county. New York. He was a farmer, and when 
the revolutionary war began at once took an 
active part with the colonies. He marched as 



sergeant with Captain Freeborn Moulton's 
company, Colonel Danielson's regiment, on the 
Lexington alarm, April 19, 1775, from Mon- 
son to Cambridge, and took part in the stir- 
ring events of that day. He appears as lieu- 
tenant of Captain Joseph Thompson's com- 
pany. Colonel Danielson's regiment. August 
i, 1775. He continued in the service and be- 
came captain of the Ninth Company, First 
Regiment, Hampshire county, Massachusetts 
militia. After returning from the army he set- 
tled at Monson and resumed his occupation 
of farmer. He had as distinguished a civil 
career as he had military. In 1794 he was 
elected selectman and served several terms. 
In 1793-94-97 he was elected to the general 
court of Massachusetts from Monson, and 
held other positions of trust. Late in life he 
removed to Homer, Cortland county. New 

York, where he died. He married . 

Children: Mercy, born March 17, 1771 ; 
Clarissa, October 6, 1772: Martin, December 
20, 1774; Rhoda, March 19, 1779: Chauncey, 
of further mention. 

(Y) Chauncey, youngest child and second 
son of Captain Caleb Keep, was born Novem- 
ber 5, 1784, died in Homer, New York, Octo- 
ber 12, 1853. He settled in Cortland county, 
where he became a man of prominence and in- 
fluence. He was a Whig in politics, and in 
1830 was elected a member of the New York 
house of assembly, serving with distinction 
until 1836. He was one of the first board of 
trustees of Cortland Academy in 18 19, and 
always maintained his interest in that institu- 
tion. He was connected with various business 
enterprises of his section, and aided in the de- 
velopment of Cortland county. He married 
Prudence Wolcott. born May, 1789. died No- 
vember 28, 1869, at Homer, New York, 
daughter of Parmenis and Mary Wolcott, and 
a direct descendant of Roger Wolcott, one of 
the early colonial governors of Connecticut. 
Children: 1. William, born May 11, 1812, died 
at Lockport, New York. July 29, 1865 : he 
was a banker, presidential elector in 1857 : 
married Frances Rhodes of Syracuse. New 
York. 2. Sophia, born 1813. died 1854. 3. 
Mary Wolcott, born 1817. died May 20. 1884. 
4. Chauncey (2), born June 29, 1819. died No- 
vember 10. 1874. at Lockport, New York. 5. 
Henry, born October 20. 1820. died May 4, 
1897, at Chicago, Illinois. 6. Charles, born 
April 4. 1823. died August 30. 1893. 7. Al- 
bert, born April 30, 1826. 8. Augustus, born 



NEW YORK. 



643 



August 29, 1829, died August 22, 1906. 9. 
George R. (of further mention). 

( VI ) George R., youngest child and seventh 
son of Chauncey and Prudence (Wolcott) 
Keep, was born at Homer, New York, April 
3, 1832, died at Lockport, New York, August 
23, 1903. He was educated at Cortland Acad- 
emy. Homer, and in 1849 joined his brothers 
in Lockport, New York, and with them was 
engaged in merchandising, conducting a gen- 
eral and clothing store. He remained in mer- 
cantile life in Lockport until 1877, when he 
disposed of his interests and removed to Chi- 
cago, Illinois, where he established in the 
manufacturing of boots and shoes. He con- 
tinued in active successful business life until 
1893, when he retired. He was a man of great 
executive ability, and handled successfully the 
various enterprises with which he was con- 
nected. He was a member of the Protestant 
Episcopal church, and a Republican. He mar- 
ried, June 7, 1865, Jennie M. Roberts, who 
died June 3, 1899. Children: Ralph S., of 
further mention ; Augustus Wolcott, born 
February 16, 1880. died March 5. 1881. 

(VII) Ralph Spencer, eldest son of George 
R. and Jennie M. (Roberts) Keep, was born 
in Lockport, New York, March 20, 1874. He 
was educated in private and public schools of 
Chicago, prepared at St. Paul's School, Con- 
cord. New Hampshire, and entered Williams 
College in 1893. After completing his college 
studies he entered the employ of the National 
Exchange Bank of Lockport, New York, re- 
maining three years. He then became con- 
fidential secretary to his uncle, Augustus Keep, 
continuing with him until his death in 1906. 
Mr. Keep is a director of the National Ex- 
change Bank, and since 1906 has not been en- 
gaged actively in any business. He is a ves- 
tryman of Grace Episcopal Church, Lockport. 
His clubs are: The Buffalo, Buffalo Country, 
Lockport Country and Tuscarora. His col- 
lege fraternity is Zeta Psi, Zeta Chapter, of 
which he is trustee. 

He married, June 15, 1904, at Lockport, 
Gertrude Ingersoll Van Epps, born June 5, 
1880, daughter of Robert T. and Belle (Inger- 
soll) Van Epps. Child : Wolcott Keep, born 
December 5, 1906. 



This family settled in the 

SHAFER American colonies prior to the 

revolution, coming from 

Sweden, where the family had been seated for 



rnany generations. The emigrant ancestor, John 
Shafer, was born in Sweden, came to Amer- 
ica and settled in Fredericksburg, Maryland. 
He served as a private in the revolution, and 
in 1804, with his family, removed to the town 
of Rush, Genesee county, New York, where 
he purchased a farm and conducted it with the 
aid of his sons. He lived to be an old man 
and reared a large family. He married Eliza- 
beth Steele, born 1760, died 1864, at the great 
and unusual age of one hundred and four 
years. She was well known in the neighbor- 
hood, and retained unusual vigor until well 
along toward the century mark. 

(II) Peter, son of John and Elizabeth 
(Steele) Shafer, was born in Fredericksburg. 
Maryland, 1799, died in Niagara county, New 
York, March, 1885. He was taken to Rush, 
Genesee county, New York, with his father 
in 1804, He grew up to farm labor, an occu- 
pation he always followed. He settled in the 
town of Yates, Orleans county, and in 1849 
moved to the town of Olcott, Niagara county, 
New York. He married Eleanor Fenton, of 
Orleans county, New York. Children: Sid- 
ney, died at Battle Creek, Michigan, in 1907 : 
Ira, died young, in Olcott, New York ; Electa, 
born 1824, now (191 1) living in Olcott; 
Sophronia, died in 1862, at Olcott; Belinda, 
now living in Olcott, aged eighty years ; James, 
a farmer, now aged seventy-eight years ; Hor- 
ace, died 1856; Homer, a farmer of Olcott, 
now aged seventy-four years ; Esther, now liv- 
ing at Ransomville, New York, aged seventy- 
two years; Franklin, born April 24, 1841, in 
Orleans county, now living in Olcott ; Eugene, 
of further mention. 

(III) Eugene, eleventh child and seventh 
son of Peter and Eleanor (Fenton) Shafer, 
was born in the town of Yates, Orleans county, 
New York, August 19, 1843. He was six 
years of age when his parents removed to Ol- 
cott, Niagara county, where he remained on 
his father's farm until his marriage. He was 
educated in the district schools, and has de- 
voted his life to fruit farming. The homestead 
farm in Olcott, where he worked with his 
father, was the place of the first experiment 
in grafting apple trees, and was a point of 
a good deal of interest at that time. Having 
retired from the farm, he is now living in Ol- 
cott, making a specialty of fruit culture, mostly 
different varieties of the apple, for which the 
farm is famous. He is an ardent Republican 
and much interested in public affairs. 



644 



NEW Y< IRK. 



He married, October I, 1867, Lydia S. 
Meseroll, born April 23, 1843, daughter of 
Philip H. and Hannah (Stratton) Meseroll. 
Children: Philip, born December 14. 1S71, 
died January 2, 1882 ; Minnie, born May 9, 
1869, now residing with her parents in Olcott. 
An interesting feature of this family is their 
great longevity. While none have reached 
the great age of Elizabeth, of the first genera- 
tion, there are several of the second that have 
passed eighty, and are advancing closely to 
the age of ninety years. 



This surname comes 
VAN WAGONER from the habit among 

the early Dutch set- 
tlers of affixing to their own names that of 
the place in Holland from which they came. 
Aert Jacobsen, the emigrant ancestor of the 
line herein traced, came from Wageningen. 
Jacob, his son, wrote his name Jacob Aertsen 
Van Wageningen, meaning Jacob, son of Aert, 
from Wageningen. This being difficult to 
pronounce soon became Wagenen, the "Van" 
meaning from was, however, retained. From 
this have come the various spellings: Wag- 
enen, Wagnen, Wagoner and Wagner, all be- 
ing descendants of the Dutch immigrant, Aert 
Jacobsen, from Wageningen, Holland. For 
convenience the name will be written in its 
present form. Van Wagoner, although the 
earlier generations wrote it Van Wagenen, as 
many branches still do. 

(I) Aert Jacobsen probably came from 
Wageningen, a town near the Rhine ten miles 
west of Arnheim in Gelderland. This is sur- 
mised, as his grandchildren adopted the name 
of that town as a surname, prefixing Van 
(from). He was probably a son of Jacob 
Aertse Wagenaar, who came to Albany. New 
York, in 1642, with Evart Pels and others. 
The Kingston church records show that Aert 
Jacobsen died before 1668. His wife's name 
was Annetje Gerrits. The earliest documen- 
tary evidence of him is in 1653, when he with 
several others took the oath of allegiance to 
the Patroon at Albany. In 1660 he purchased 
a piece of land in Esopus, New York. He 
left his property to his five children by a will 
that was probably never recorded, as there are 
on record at Kingston five quitclaim deeds 
executed by his children to each other, all 
dated November 6, 1710. Children: 1. 
Neeltje Aertsen, married. June 6, 1667, Cor- 
ners Aertsen Tynhont. 2. Grietje Aertsen, 



married Jacobus Coenradt Elmdorf, February 
28, 1668, "with the consent of her mother." 
( Both of these marriages are recorded in 
Kingston church records). 3. Elizabeth, mar- 
ried Cornelis Masten. 4. Jacob Aertsen. of 
further mention. 5. Gerrit Aertsen. married 
Clara, daughter of Evart Pels. 

(II) Jacob Aertsen Van Wagoner, son of 
Aert Jacobsen, was born February 14, 1652. 
(O. S.) He married, February 25, 1677, 
Sara, daughter of Evert Pels. She was born 
July 3, 1659 (Bible record). They lived at 
Wagendale, now Creek Locks. Ulster county, 
New York. His will, written in Dutch, dated 
October 5, 171 5, is recorded at Kingston. Chil-. 
dren, all baptized at Kingston except Jacob: 
Annatje, married Jan Hermans : Aert. married 
Marytje Blansham ; Evert, of further men- 
tion : Gerrit, died young : Rebecka, married 
Jan Freer : Geertje, married Jacob Gerritse 
Decker; Jannetje, died young: Jannetje (2). 
married Johannis Turk: Gerrit (2), died aged 
eighteen years : Symon. married Sara Dubois ; 
Jacob Aertse, baptized at Albany, February 
20, 1695 ; Benjamin, married Elizabeth Yen 
den Berg ; Abraham, married Hillegond Cris- 
pell ; Sara, married Solomon Deyo : Isaac, 
married Catrina Freer. 

(III) Evert, third child of Jacob Aertsen 
and Sara (Pels) Van Wagoner, was born 
April 12, 1684. He married, 1709. Hillegond. 
baptized in New York, November 14. 1686. 
daughter of Claes Jansen and Janneken ( Kier- 
sen) Van Heyningen. They removed to 
Dutchess county at an early date and settled 
near Poughkeepsie. Children : Jacob, mar- 
ried Helena Van de Bogaard : Nicholas, of 
further mention : Sara, married Tennis Van 
Vliet ; Gerrit, married Sara De Graft" : Jan- 
neken, born February 12, 1719 ; Maretjen. 
married Abraham De Graff. 

(IV) Nicholas, son of Evert and Hillegond 
(Van Heyningen) Van Wagoner, was bap- 
tized in New York, April 5, 1713. He mar- 
ried, at Poughkeepsie. September 6, 1735, 
Hester, baptized at Kingston, October 12, 
1710, daughter of Jan and Maria (Peacock) 
De Graff. His will, dated November 6, 1769, 
proved at Fort George, New York. December 
11, 1772. is recorded in New York, liber 28 
of wills, page t,t,j. In it his residence is given 
as Charlotte precinct. Dutchess county, New 
York ; his wife Hester is named : sons. Evert. 
John and Nicholas: daughters. Hellegontie. 
wife of Johannis Bush. Elizabeth, wife of Jo- 



NEW YORK. 



645 



seph Hagaman, Sarah, wife of Johannis Van 
Enden, and Janneke. Also grandchildren, 
John, Hester and Elizabeth Alden, children 
of his deceased daughter, Maria. 

(V) Nicholas (2), youngest son and child 
of Nicholas (1) and Hester (De Graff) Van 
Wagoner, was born in Dutchess county, New 
York, May 15, 1748, died at Rhinebeck, New 
York, January 7, 181 1. He married, at Rhine- 
beck, November 25, 1770, Elsie Ostrander, 
born October 20, 1743, died April 26, 1832, 
daughter of John and Elizabeth (Van Ben- 
schoten) Ostrander. Nicholas and wife are 
both buried at Pleasant Valley, Dutchess 
county, New York. 

(VI) Captain Evert (2) Van Wagoner, son 
of Nicholas (2) and Elsie (Ostrander) Van 
Wagoner, was born in Dutchess county, New 
York, February 2, 1776. He enlisted a com- 
pany of men, was chosen their captain and 
commanded them at the battle of Plattsburg 
fought during the war of 1812. He married 
Sarah Albertson. 

(VII) Solomon, son of Captain Evert (2) 
and Sarah (Albertson) Van Wagoner, was 
born in Dutchess county, February 16, 1802, 
died in Lockport, Niagara county, New York, 
July 31, 188 1. Early in life he came by way 
of the Erie canal to Rochester, where he en- 
gaged in teaming and distilling. He contracted 
fever and ague there, which compelled him to 
seek another location. He bought a farm in 
Wyoming county, near Attica, which he oper- 
ated as a dairy and live stock farm. He was 
in successful business there until 1840, when 
he sold out and removed to Niagara county. 
He purchased a farm of one hundred and 
fifteen acres in the town of Somerset on the 
Lake road. There he remained engaged in 
general farming and live stock dealing until 
1871. In that year he sold all his farm in- 
terests and retired to Lockport, where he pur- 
chased a comfortable home and lived until 
his death. He was originally a Whig in poli- 
tics, joined the Republican party on its forma- 
tion, but later became a Democrat. He was 
an energetic, industrious man and a good citi- 
zen. He married Catherine Buckbee, born 
April 18, 1802, died April 24, 1850. Children : 
Nancy E., died in infancy ; Gilbert M., born 
February 27, 1828, died December 12, 1864; 
Henry J., of further mention ; Jane Eliza, born 
June 14, 1834, died August 30, 1841 ; Almon, 
born April 10, 1841, now a resident of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. 



(VIII) Henry J., son of Solomon and 
Catherine (Buckbee) Van Wagoner, was born 
in Rochester, New York, July 26, 1830. He 
was educated in the public schools of Wyom- 
ing and Niagara counties, with one term at 
Yates Academy, Yates, New York. He was 
reared a farmer and until 1858 was his father's 
chief assistant. In the latter year he went to 
Michigan, where he purchased and cleared a 
farm of eighty acres. After three years spent 
in Michigan he returned to Niagara county. 
In 1864 he purchased a farm of eighty-six 
acres from his father, in the town of Newfane, 
which has been his home for half a century. 
The farm is well planted with fruit trees and 
makes a most desirable residence. Mr. Van 
Wagoner is a Republican in politics and an 
attendant of the Universalist church, of Ol- 
cott. He is highly respected in his town, his 
long years of residence having proved his 
good qualities as a friend and neighbor. 

He married, May 28, 1863, Sarah Jane 
Shedd. born September 12. 1840, daughter of 
Charles Shedd, a veteran of the civil war, and 
his wife, Dorothy (Folts) Shedd, of Newfane, 
New York. Child, Harry Alonzo, born Au- 
gust 13, 1872; educated in the district school, 
Yates Academy and Lockport high school. He 
now manages and cultivates the home farm. 



Few men have been held in higher 
RICE esteem or died more deeply mourned 
than Dr. Alvin B. Rice, of James- 
town, New York, son of Stephen and Louisa 
P. (Lewis) Rice, of Panama, Chautauqua 
county. New York. , 

Dr. Rice was born near Panama, October 
22, 1841. died in Jamestown, New York, May 
7. 1903. His early education was obtained 
in the public schools, after which he entered 
Amherst College, from whence he was grad- 
uated. He chose medicine as his profession 
and began study under Dr. H. H. Glidden, of 
Panama. He attended a course of lectures 
at Michigan University, Ann Arbor, afterward 
entering Bellevue Medical College, at New 
York, from whence he was graduated, M. D. 
He returned to Panama, where he practiced 
for a time according to the teachings of the 
allopathic school of medicine. Later he be- 
came impressed with the virtues of the 
homoeopathic system and after a course of 
study and lectures in New York began the- 
practice of homoeopathy, which he ever con- 
tinued. He practiced in Panama until 1889, 



6 4 6 



NEW YORK. 



then located in Jamestown, New York, where 
he ever afterward lived and practiced, winning 
wide and honorable fame for his medical skill 
and for his devotion to his profession. 

He was vice-president of the New York 
State Homoeopathic Medical Society, and was 
highly regarded among his professional 
brethren. He was an exceedingly modest man 
and never sought preferment, but in various 
capacities his sterling worth and ability were 
recognized by his associates and he was chosen 
to positions of honor and trust. He was prom- 
inent as a citizen, as a physician, as a church- 
man and in his fraternity. His rare skill and 
sympathetic nature gave him strong hold upon 
the confidence and affection of his patients, 
who looked upon him not only as a healer 
but as a friend. 

From early life he was a devoted member 
of the Baptist church. For many years he 
was superintendent of the Sunday school at 
Panama, and after coming to Jamestown was 
one of the most active, earnest members of 
the First Baptist Church. At the time of his 
death he was corresponding secretary of the 
Chautauqua County Baptist Association. He 
was always a strong advocate of the cause of 
temperance, not only advocating but practicing 
it. He was a political Prohibitionist and was 
several times the nominee of his party for pub- 
lic office. His devotion to the cause of Free 
Masonry was well known. He belonged to 
Mt. Moriah Lodge, Western Sun Chapter and 
Jamestown Commandery, but it was to the 
latter that he was particularly devoted. He 
was for many years prelate and at the time 
of his death was eminent commander. It was 
only the evening of the night he died that a 
meeting of Sir Knights was held in his office 
to arrange plans for the funeral of Sir Knight 
Phillips, a departed member. But a few days 
later and his brethren of the order were per- 
forming their beautiful burial rites beside the 
grave of their honored commander. Dr. Rice 
accomplished so much good in his community 
that his name will be honored as long as mem- 
ory remains to those who knew his great and 
unselfish nature. 

He married, February 23, 1868, Helen M. 
Davis, bom at York Mills, now known as 
Yorkville. daughter of Nathan and Mary Ann 
(Ford) Davis. Children: Lottie J., married 
.Charles E. Treat: Vincent M.. Charles R. 
Mrs. Charles E. Treat has two children : C. 
Vincent and Helen Doris Treat. 



The Pratt family is of Norman 
PRATT stock, the name appearing in 
anglicized form in France early 
in the Middle Ages. It is derived from the 
Latin "Pratum," a meadow: Spanish, Prade; 
French, Pre, Preaux, Prairie. The barony 
of Pratella existed near Rouen, on the Seine 
below Paris, early in the eleventh century. Its 
lord, Le Sire de Preaux, followed William 
the Conqueror to England in 1066, his name 
being found on the Roll of Battle Abbey as 
having been present at the battle of Hastings. 
Thirty years later, in 1096, a Sire de Preaux 
followed Duke Robert of Normandy, the eld- 
est son of William the Conqueror, on the 
First Crusade. Two of his kinsmen. William 
and John, accompanied him. John de Pratelles 
was a favorite minister of King Richard the 
First (Cceur de Lion). Two brothers, Wil- 
liam and Peter de Pratelles, followed Richard 
on the Third Crusade in 1 189-91. William 
saved the king from capture in a skirmish 
with the Saracens by allowing himself to be 
captured, pretending that he was the king. 
He was later exchanged for ten emirs, and 
was knighted for his valor. Documents con- 
nect him with Rouen, where the barony of 
Pratella was located. A Seigneur de Preaux 
was killed at the head of his household in 
the battle of Agincourt in 141 5. 

The anglicized form of the name. Pratt, 
begins to appear frequently in the thirteenth 
and fourteenth centuries. There are nine ar- 
morial bearings extant among different fami- 
lies of this name. Its frequent occurrence on 
Norman rolls proves the Norman origin of 
the family. While it is found in nearly every 
county in England, it is particularly identified 
with Herts and Norfolk. 

(I) The first of the name from whom the 
American Pratts can trace direct descent was 
Thomas Pratt, who lived at Baldock, county 
of Herts, England, about thirty-four miles 
from London, in the early part of the sixteenth 
century. His will is dated February 5, 1538- 
39. His wife's name was Joan, and he had 
three sons: Thomas, James, Andrew, and one 
daughter, Agnes. 

(II) Andrew, son of Thomas Pratt, had 
three children: Allen, baptized 1561 : William, 
October, 1562: Richard, June 27. 1567. 

(III) Rev. William Pratt, son of Andrew 
Pratt, was rector at Stevenage. Hertfordshire, 
for thirty years, and died in 1629, aged sixty- 
seven vears. He married Elizabeth . 



NEW YORK. 



647 



Children: Mary, February 6, 1605; Elizabeth, 
April 2, 1613; Richard, baptized February 16, 
1618; John, November 9, 1620; William; 
Sarah. 

( IV ) John Pratt and his brother William, 
sons of Rev. William Pratt, were the founders 
of the Pratt family in America. John appears 
in the records of Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
as owner of a home lot, and as one of the orig- 
inal members of the Rev. Thomas Hooker's 
church. This would fix the date of his immi- 
gration as prior to 1636, when Hooker and 
Samuel Stone led their flock through the 
wilderness to found Newton, or, as it soon 
became, Hartford, Connecticut. The fact that 
these two sons of a clergyman of the Church 
of England were at this time living in a Puri- 
tan colony and were members of a Puritan 
church may explain the omission of their 
names from their father's will. John and 
Lieutenant William Pratt appear among the 
original proprietors of Hartford. They drew 
home lots in the first division of land in Feb- 
ruary, 1639, and their names occur frequently 
in the records of the colony. John married 

Elizabeth , and died July 15, 1655, and 

had two sons, John and Daniel. 

(V) John (2), son of John (1) and Eliza- 
beth Pratt, married (first) Hannah Boosey ; 
(second) Hepsibah Wyatt. He died Novem- 
ber 23, 1687. Children: Hannah, born 1658; 
John. 1661 : Elizabeth, 1664; Ruth, 1667 
Sarah, 1668; Joseph, 1671 : Susannah, 1680; 
Jonathan. 

(VI) Jonathan, son of John (2) Pratt, born 
November 23. 1687, married Mary Benton, 
and died in 1755. They lived at East Hart- 
ford. Children : Elizabeth, Jerusha, Daniel, 
Moses, Jonathan, Eliab, Aaron, Mary, Hep- 
sibah. 

(VII) Aaron, son of Jonathan and Mary 
(Benton) Pratt, was born about 1725-26. He 
married Mary Clark, of East Hartford, in 
1756. and removed to Westminster, Vermont. 
In 1805 he came to his son's home in Buffalo, 
where he died February 9, 1806. His widow 
died in Buffalo, November 20, 1809. Both 
were buried in the village cemetery, where is 
now Franklin square. He was a member of 
the Congregational church. Children : Eliza- 
beth. Aaron, Mary, Samuel, William, died in 
infancy ; William. 

(VIII) Aaron (2) and William (2) Pratt 
were sons of Aaron (1) Pratt, of Westmin- 
ster, Vermont. 



(IX) Samuel (in some records given as 
Lemuel), grandson of Aaron (1) Pratt, came 
to Little Valley, Cattaraugus county, New 
York, from Tinmouth, Vermont, in 1838. He 
had been preceded by his son, Lyman S., who 
had secured for his father seventy acres of 
land by contract from Nicholas Devereux. 
Samuel Pratt spent nearly a year in clearing 
fifteen or twenty acres, erecting a log house 
and a frame barn. In September, 1839, he 
was joined by his family. Prior to coming 
to New York state he had lived in Hubbard- 
ton and Tinmouth, Vermont. He married and 
had issue. 

(X) Lyman S., son of Samuel Pratt, was 
born in Hubbardton, Vermont, December 17, 
1813. In 1841 he married and settled in Little 
Valley, Cattaraugus county, New York, and 
built a house and opened a wagon shop in 
part of it. Upon the death of his father he 
purchased the homestead, which he cultivated, 
also carrying on his carriage and wagon build- 
ing. In 1864 he sold the homestead and 
moved to Randolph, where for five years he 
engaged in the same business, purchasing and 
operating a wagon shop. In the spring of 
1877 he returned to Little Valley, where he 
died April 26, 1895. He married Martha 
Smith. Children: Mortimer X. (of further 
mention) ; Jerome I.: Alice, married Stephen 
A. Markham ; children : Winfield and Lina. 
This family resides in Ellington, Chautauqua 
county, New York. 

(XI) Mortimer N., eldest child of Lyman 
S. and Martha (Smith) Pratt, was born in 
Little Valley, New York, January 28, 1845, 
died November 28, 1902. His early education 
was obtained in the public school, after which 
he studied and was graduated at Randolph 
Academy. At the age of seventeen he began 
teaching in the public schools, continuing for 
thirteen consecutive winters. He gave much 
of his time to the public service. In Febru- 
ary, 1867, he was elected justice of the peace, 
and held that office sixteen years. He also 
served three terms as assessor of the town 
of Little Valley, and one year as justice of 
sessions. January 1, 1883, he was appointed 
deputy sheriff by John Little, and January 1, 
1886, was reappointed by Mr. Little's succes- 
sor, A. E. Darrow. In November, 1888. he 
was elected sheriff of Cattaraugus county, 
serving a full term of three years. He was 
the owner of a farm of one hundred and 
eighty acres, which included the two acres 



6 4 8 



NEW YORK. 



on which his father, Lyman S., first settled 
and had his carriage shop. Besides his farm- 
ing and public interests, Mr. Pratt was presi- 
dent of the Kellogg Manufacturing Company, 
makers of all kinds of washing machinery. 
He was a loyal, steadfast Republican, influen- 
tial in the party and a willing worker for 
party success. He held office continuously 
from the time he was twenty-two years of 
age. He married, November 28, 1866, Har- 
riet Huntley, born 1844, who survived him. 
Children: Rollin H, Arthur J., and Howard 
S. (see forward). 

(XII) Rollin Huntley, oldest son of Morti- 
mer N. and Harriet (Huntley) Pratt, was 
born in Little Valley, Cattaraugus county, 
New York, March 28, 1868. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools, finishing at the 
Fredonia State Normal School. After leav- 
ing school he was appointed deputy sheriff 
of Cattaraugus county, serving under his 
father, and continued in the sheriff's office 
until 1892. He then entered the employ of 
the Kellogg Manufacturing Company as book- 
keeper, remaining four years. In 1897 he ac- 
cepted a position in the office of the county 
clerk of Cattaraugus county, where he still 
continues as assistant (or deputy) county 
clerk. He has been justice of the peace since 
1895, and since 1900 clerk of the village cor- 
poration. He is a most careful, experienced 
man of business, and a valued public official. 
He is a trustee of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, a Republican in politics, and a mem- 
ber of the Royal Arcanum. He married, De- 
cember 5, 1893, Georgianna M., daughter of 
John A. and Ellen Seekins. 

(XII) Arthur Jerome, second son of Mor- 
timer N. and Harriet (Huntley) Pratt, was 
born in Little Valley, New York, August 4, 
1871. He was educated in the public schools, 
and at Bryant and Stratton Business College, 
Buffalo, New York. He has been connected 
with the wholesale and retail hardware busi- 
ness all of his business life, being with Weed 
& Company, of Buffalo, New York, five years. 
In May, 1905, he purchased the general hard- 
ware business of Mr. Parsons, at Little Val- 
ley, and conducted the same for five years. 
He is now a travelling salesman for Dwelle- 
Kysor Hardware Company, Buffalo, New 
York. He married Addie Sweetland. 

(XII) Howard Smith, youngest son of 
Mortimer N. and Harriet (Huntley) Pratt, 
was born in Little Valley, New York, January 



24, 1888. He was educated in the public 
schools, and graduated from the Jamestown 
Business College in 1909. He was for a time 
bookkeeper for the Merrell-Soule Powdered 
Milk Company, at Little Valley, New York, 
and is at present instructor in general business 
methods and banking in the Jamestown Busi- 
ness College. He is unmarried. 



This family settled in 
SWEETLAND New England but a few 
years later than the Pil- 
grims at Plymouth Rock. While not a numer- 
ous family, they are found in Massachusetts 
and other New England states at early dates. 
A branch of the early family settled in Ver- 
mont, where Asa Sweetland was born in 1784. 
He married Tabitha Houghton, born Septem- 
ber 2, 1788, and in 1816 moved to New York 
state with wife and four children, settling in 
Elba, Genesee county. In 1828 he moved to 
Little Valley, Cattaraugus county, and in 1821 
his children were also living near him. He 
was a leading member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church, which he served as class leader 
until old age compelled him to forego church 
work. He died March 8, 1867. Children: 
1. Lewis (of further mention). 2. Asa, born 
in Vermont, June 6, 1812, died December 18, 
1887; married, March 8, 1832, Matilda, daugh- 
ter of William Fisher, a pioneer of Napoli. 
Asa was a devoted member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church over sixty years, twenty-five 
of which he was class leader. His wife died 
December 18, 1887, leaving a daughter Al- 
theda, married Horace Hart and died March 
8, 191 1 ; had a son Henry M. 3. Laban. 4. 
Prusia. 

(II) Rev. Lewis Sweetland, son of Asa and 
Tabitha (Houghton) Sweetland, was born in 
Vermont, January 2, 1810. He settled in Gen- 
esee county, New York, with his parents, and 
in 1830 came to Little Valley, Cattaraugus 
county, where he erected a homestead in the 
western part of the town, consisting of one 
hundred acres of timber land, which he cleared 
and improved. 

Mr. Sweetland was for several years a 
local preacher of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, later was ordained and became an itin- 
erant preacher, dying while actively engaged 
in the ministry, September 17, 1873. He mar- 
ried Drusilla Palmer. Children : John Wes- 
ley (of further mention) ; Laura J., born 1832 : 
Emory, October 4, 1835; Orlando, 1845; So- 



NEW YORK. 



649 



phia, 1847; Maria, twin of Sophia; four other 
children, died young. .* 

(Ill) John Wesley, eldest son of Rev. 
Lewis and Drusilla (Palmer) Sweetland, was 
born in Little Valley, Cattaraugus county, 
New York, April 9, 1831, died September 7, 
1884. He was well educated in the public 
schools of Little Valley, and for several win- 
ters taught in the town schools, spending his 
summers on the farm. In September, 1862, 
he enlisted in Company B, One Hundred and 
Fifty-fourth Regiment, New York Volunteers. 
He was stricken with fever at Arlington 
Heights and sent to the hospital. On becom- 
ing convalescent he was retained at the hospi- 
tal as assistant, continuing until the expiration 
of his term of service. He returned to Little 
Valley, where he engaged in farming until 
1876, when he moved to the village of Little 
Valley and took a clerkship in the office of the 
county clerk, also continuing to operate his 
farm. In the spring of 1879 he formed a part- 
nership with W. C. Parker, and engaged in 
the hardware trade as Sweetland & Parker. 
After about two years he bought Mr. Parker's 
interest, continuing business alone until the 
spring of 1884, when he admitted his son, 
Seneca L., as partner, under the firm name of 
J. W. Sweetland & Son. He was assessor of 
Little Valley for many years, and a deacon of 
the Congregational church. He stood high 
in his community and was a man of good 
business ability. He married, January 4, 1854, 
Melvina F. Short, born in Richmond, Ontario 
county, New York, November 4, 1833, died 
March 6, 191 1, daughter of Rev. Seneca M. 
and Mary (Gregg) Short, whose children 
were: Melvina F., Laura J., Mary M. and 
Rosalie R. Children of John Wesley Sweet- 
land : 1. Seneca Lewis (of further mention). 
2. Frank A., born May 12, 1857, died March 
19, 1859. 3- Mary Ida, born July 2, i860, died 
July 3, i860. 4. Morton L., born July 17, 
1866, died October 3, 1866. 

(IV) Seneca Lewis, eldest son of John Wes- 
ley and Melvina F. (Short) Sweetland, was 
born in Batavia. Genesee county, New York, 
September 8, 1855. When two years of age 
his parents moved to Little Valley, Cattarau- 
gus county, which has ever since been his 
home. He was educated in the public schools, 
finishing with a two years' course at Chamber- 
lain Institute, then conducted by Professor 
Edwards. After leaving school he entered the 
employ of the Cattaraugus Republican, where 



he learned the trade of printer, remaining five 
years. He then spent a year on the Bradford 
Era. In 1883 his father's health failed and 
the son gave up his own business, returned 
to Little Valley and became an assistant in 
the hardware store. In 1884 he was admitted 
a partner in J. W. Sweetland & Son. The 
firm bought the Dinsmore block, extended 
their lines and conducted a most successful 
business. On the death of John Wesley 
Sweetland, in 1884, the firm was reorganized 
as S. L. Sweetland & Company, his mother 
being the company, continuing until 1907, 
when the firm was dissolved. In May, 1909, 
Mr. Sweetland established a store for the sale 
of tobacco, school supplies, etc., which he still 
continues. He is a Republican in politics and 
was town clerk of Little Valley, 1884-89, and 
is now again holding that office. He served 
as school trustee two years, and was a 
member of the board of commissioners that 
established the Water and Electric Light Plant 
in Little Valley. He is a member of the Con- 
gregational church, and of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. 

He married, January 4, 1879, Ella R. Bailey, 
born March 10, 1856, daughter of Gamaliel 
and Marietta (Evarts) Bailey, whose children 
were : Austin, married Frances Henderson ; 
Oel, married a Miss Milks ; Ella R., Norman, 
Grant, Cortes, Cora and Claude. Children of 
Seneca L. Sweetland: 1. Lee Wesley, born 
June 9, 1882; graduate of Little Valley high 
school ; was for a time bookkeeper in the Lit- 
tle Valley Bank, now cashier in the main office 
of the Oliver Typewriter Company, at San 
Francisco, California. He is a member of the 
Masonic order and a young man of good busi- 
ness ability. 2. Seneca Lewis Jr., born De- 
cember 28, 1883; graduate of Little Valley 
high school; member of the Masonic order, 
and a farmer. 



Edwin, son of Otis Hitch- 
HITCHCOCK cock, was born in 183 1, 

died 1910. He came to 
the town of Randolph, Cattaraugus county, 
New York, when a boy, and, after attending 
the public school, worked at farming. He was 
thrifty and in due course of time became a 
land owner. He owned a farm of one hundred 
and sixty-six acres on which he established a 
dairy. He prospered in business and became 
one of the substantial men of his town. He 
was one of the organizers of the Farmers' 



650 



NEW YORK. 



Mutual Insurance Company, a member of the 
school board and a most influential, public- 
spirited citizen. He was an Independent in 
politics, and while a liberal supporter of all 
churches gave particular allegiance to none. 

He married Ellen, daughter of Peter Ben- 
son, who survives him, a resident of Randolph. 
Children: 1. Luella J., married George 
Ropps : children : Ruth, Louis and Lee. 2. 
Clarence, married Lizzie McGinity ; children : 
Genevieve and Gertrude. 3. Charles. 4. Alvin 
E. (of further mention). 5. Otis, married 
Vail Anderson : children : Harold ; Edward, 
married Ella Parsons and their children are 
Helen, Leo and Arthur ; Paul ; Glenn, married 
Addie Cool and their children are Louise. Rob- 
ert. Marian and Maud; Rebecca, married Guy 
Porter and their children are Lyman, Elva and 
Laura. 

(Ill) Alvin E., fourth child and third son 
of Edwin and Ellen (Benson) Hitchcock, was 
born on the Hitchcock homestead farm in 
Randolph. January 25, 1868. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools, and worked on the 
farm after completing his studies. He saved 
his earnings and invested in a machine for 
baling hay and began business for himself. 
He prospered and soon began buying loose 
hay, pressing it and shipping to market. As 
his business became more profitable he ex- 
tended his operations to the buying and sell- 
ing of livestock of all kinds. He was a good 
buyer and by close attention developed a prof- 
itable business. He later took in a partner, 
established a livery and bought a hotel prop- 
erty, operating both for several years. The firm 
then dissolved, his partner taking the livery 
and Mr. Hitchcock the hotel business. He 
has large farming interests that he oversees, 
and is also the popular host of the Farmers' 
Hotel in Randolph, a resort much frequented 
by automobilists and the traveling public. 
The hotel is well kept and caters to a liberal 
patronage. 

Mr. Hitchcock is well known in the county 
and has a host of warm friends. He is liberal 
in his benefactions, public-spirited and pro- 
gressive, aiding in all that is for the benefit of 
his town. He is a member of the Congrega- 
tional church, and of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. In politics he is a Repub- 
lican ; served three years as trustee of the vil- 
lage corporation and three vears as deputy 
sheriff. 

He married, May 5, 1897, Ida Anderson, 



born November 17, 1879, daughter of Augus- 
tus and Christina Caroline (Carlson) Ander- 
son, and granddaughter of August Anderson, 
from Sweden. Children : Raymond 'Walter, 
born June 4. 1898: Herbert A.. May S, 1902. 



The earliest traces of the Mead 
MEAD family are to be found. in a history 

of "The Norman People and Their 
Existing Descendants in the British Domin- 
ions and the United States of America," pub- 
lished in London, England, 1874. From that 
volume, it appears that the name Mead is the 
English form of the Norman "de Poato," 
which, translated into the English, is Mead, 
Meade. Mede and Meads. In 1635 there ar- 
rived in Massachusetts many ships from Eng- 
land, and among those arrivals is found the 
name of "Goodman" Mead (called Gabriel 
Mead). He is the ancestor of the Massachu- 
setts branch. The most recent discoveries 
strongly indicate that he was accompanied by 
his brother, William Mead, ancestor of the 
Greenwich (Connecticut), Meads, from whom 
the family in Troy descends. William and 
"Goodman" Mead sailed from Lydd, county 
Kent, England, in the ship "Elizabeth" in 
April, 1635. The Mead coat-of-arms, to which 
it is believed they were entitled, is thus de- 
scribed : Sable, a chevron between three peli- 
cans, or vuln, gules, crest : an eagle displayed : 
motto, Semper paratus (always ready 1. 
Goodman Mead remained in Massachusetts. 
William, however, followed the tide of emi- 
gration, which at that time was toward the 
Connecticut valley. The first English settle- 
ment was made at Windsor in 1633, and an- 
other settlement was made about the same 
time at Wethersfield, where William Mead set- 
tled first, and in 1641 he removed to Stamford 
with others from Wethersfield. December 7. 
1641. "William Mayd (Mead) received from 
the town of Stamford a homelot and five acres 
of land." 

This William is the ancestor of the 
Fairfield county, Connecticut, family, although 
family tradition declares that John Mead was 
also one of those of eastern Xew York, west- 
ern Yermont and Meadville, Pennsylvania. 
He was born about 1600. He married, in 1625, 
and died in Stamford, Connecticut, about 
1663. There is no record of his wife, but 
there is of his three children. 1. Joseph { see 
forward). 2. Martha, born 1632: married 
Tohn Richardson, of Stamford. ?. Tohn. born 



NEW YORK 



651 



about 1634; married Hannah Potter; died 
February 5, 1699. 

(II) Joseph, son of William Mead, was 
born 1630, died May 3, 1690. He married 
Mary Brown, of Stamford; children: 1. Zach- 
arias, died in 1703, unmarried. 2. Joseph 
(see forward). 3. Daniel, born 1659; married 

Hannah . 4. Elisha, born about 1661, 

died 1727; married, in 1683, and had issue. 

5. Richard, born 1664. 6. Mary. 

(III) Joseph (2), son of Joseph (1) and 
Mary (Brown) Mead, was born about 1657, 
died in 1714. He married Sarah Reynolds; 
children: 1. Sarah, born November 3, 1695; 
married. August 14, 1718, Benjamin Stebbins ; 
eight children. 2. Joseph, born May 3, 1698. 
3. Theophilus.* born July 3, 1700, died 1760; 
married Abigail Westcott, and settled in Nor- 
walk, Connecticut ; eight children. 4. Jeremiah, 
born August 6, 1702, died 1742; married, 
1725. Hannah St. John; his oldest son, Cap- 
tain Thaddeus, was killed in the French and 
Indian war. 5. Zachariah, born March n, 
1704. died 1 761 ; married, but left no issue. 

6. Xehemiah (see forward). 7. Israel, born 
March 14, 1708; married and left issue. 

( IV ) Nehemiah, son of Joseph (2) and 
Sarah (Reynolds) Mead, was born January 
20, 1706, died 1784. He married Mehitable 

, and settled in Xorwalk, Connecticut. 

Children : Joseph, David ( see forward ) . 
Zachariah, Nehemiah. Deborah, Mary, Lydia 
and Abijah. 

( V ) David, son of Nehemiah and Mehitable 
Mead, was born 1714: married Isabella Knapp 
and settled in Westchester county, New York. 
Sons: David (2), Michael (see forward), and 
others. 

(VI) Michael, son of David and Isabella 
(Knapp) Mead, was born in 1740. He settled 
in Vermont, where he followed farming. He 
married Tryphena Burton. Children : Isaac, 
born December 20, 1760; Silas, born May 6, 
1762; Lydia, May 20, 1763; Rufus, October 
15, 1764; Ezra, August 9, 1766; Tryphena, 
October 10, 1767; Solomon, January 30, 1769; 
Michael (of further mention) ; Lydia, Janu- 
ary 12, 1772; Mary, October 13, 1773: Sophia, 
April 13, 1775; Dorcas. December 16, 1777; 
Peter, March 27. 1779: Cvnthia, September 4, 
1780. 

(VII) Michael ( 2 I, son of Michael (1) and 
Tryphena (Burton) Mead, was born in Ver- 
mont, died March 7, 1834, at Ovid, Seneca 
county. New York. He owned several large 



farms, most of which he cleared from the vir- 
gin timber. He married Abigail, daughter of 
Moses and Mary (Seeley) Cole, born 1783, 
died April 28, 1853, at Somerset, New York. 
Children: Ezra C. (of further mention) ; Be- 
linda, born December 18, 1803; Lewis, No- 
vember 14, 1805; Fannie, March 2, 1808; 
Henry, May 28, 181 1; Stephen (of further 
mention ) . 

(VIII) Ezra C, son of Michael (2) and 
Abigail (Cole) Mead, was born March 11, 
1802, at Ovid, Seneca county, New York. He 
received his education at the country schools, 
and worked on his father's farm until a young 
man. After his marriage he and his wife 
journeyed from Seneca county to West Som- 
erset, Niagara county, behind a yoke of oxen. 
Here he purchased a farm of one hundred 
and eight acres, which he devoted to general 
farming. He was a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church and was one of its strongest 
financial supporters. In politics he was a 
Democrat. He married, October 11. 1820. 
Jane, daughter of James and Hannah Nelson, 
born June 11, 1803, died August 8, 1887. 
They had eleven children, eight of whom ar- 
rived at maturity. Children : Lydia, born 
February 22, 1822; Hannah, March 7, 1825; 
Philina. July 22, 1824; Abigail, April 15, 1827; 
Michael, June 11, 1829, married Mary E. Mil- 
ler; George W., April 6, 1831. married Julia 
Clark: Henry, August 29, 1833; Ezra Jr., 
June 16, 1835, married Lodena Rising; Jane 
R.. May 30, 1837, married Josiah D. Webster; 
Anna E.. May 3, 1839, married Andrew 
Stickles; M. Mandana, August 9, 1844, mar- 
ried Dudley H. Mead (see Mead). 

1 YIII ) Stephen, son of Michael (2) and 
Abigail (Cole) Mead, was born February 28, 
1819, at Ovid, New York, died January 18, 
1898, at Somerset, New York. He was edu- 
cated in the district schools of Ovid, and be- 
fore attaining his majority settled in Somer- 
set, after purchasing a farm of seventy-five 
acres. Here for a time he tried general farm- 
ing and afterward devoted his time to raising 
live stock and fruit farming. Finally he sold 
the farm, purchased another, and in time be- 
came a large land owner. During war times 
he dealt with considerable profit in wool. He 
was a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, and a Democrat. He married Phcebe 
Prime, of Allegany county, in 1840. Chil- 
dren: 1. Homer D., born 1842, died June 30, 
1902; married Julia Van Wagoner. 2. Dud- 



6 5 2 



NEW YORK. 



ley H. (of further mention). 3. Augusta, 
born 1846, died December 14, 1872. 4. Ele- 
nora, died at the age of eight years. 5. Helen, 
married S. Delos Davis. 

(IX) Dudley Henry, son of Stephen and 
Phoebe (Prime) Mead, was born at Somerset, 
New York, October 20, 1843. He was edu- 
cated in the district schools of his native town 
and was also at Albion high school. At this 
time he was living at home, and at the age 
of eighteen became a dealer in live stock, which 
business he still continues. In 1878 he pur- 
chased the old Mead homestead of one hun- 
dred and eighteen acres, which had been oc- 
cupied and cultivated by his father for fifty 
years. He has fifty acres of his farm in fruit, 
the remaining sixty-eight acres he devotes to 
general farming. He is also the owner of an- 
other sixty-acre farm. He is a trustee and 
strong supporter of the Somerset Methodist 
Episcopal Church, a member of Somerset 
Lodge, Xo. 639, Free and Accepted Masons, 
and a Democrat. He married, April 21, 1886, 
at Somerset, Xew York. M. Mandana Mead, 
seventh daughter of Ezra C. and Jane ( Nel- 
son) Mead, of Somerset. 



The Corson family settled in 
CORSON York county, Maine, and east- 
ern New Hampshire, in the 
middle of the eighteenth century, at the time 
the Scotch-Irish were coming in large num- 
bers to this section. The name was often 
spelled Courson and Coursen, perhaps because 
of the Scotch way of pronouncing the word. 
Ichabod Corson, who settled at Rochester, 
Xew Hampshire, was a soldier from that town 
in the French and Indian war in 1759; was 
an assessor in 1767 and on the committee to 
recruit volunteers for the continental army in 
1779, though in 1775 he had refused to sign 
the association test. Joshua Corson, of the 
same family, was a sergeant, and Ebenezer 
Corson was a private from Rochester in the 
revolution. In 1790 Ichabod Corson, with 
two males over sixteen, two under sixteen, 
and one female, was living at Rochester, and 
David Corson was also head of a young family 
in that town. In 1790 no less than eleven 
families, presumably of the same stock, were 
reported in the census, viz : Nathaniel, John, 
John, Ichabod, Aaron, Daniel, Isaac. John, 
Lemuel, Samuel and Samuel. There were 
none of the name at Hallowell, now Augusta, 
and none in Lincoln county, in which Augusta 



is situated. Ebenezer and Samuel Corson, 
both of Maine, served in the revolution. ( See 
"Soldiers and Sailors of the Revolution," p. 19, 
vol. IV.) Aaron Corson came to Lebanon, 
Maine, from Rochester, Xew Hampshire, 
about 1769; his brother Samuel came about 
1760 and died in 1785. Aaron Corson was a 
corporal in Captain Jedediah Goodwin's com- 
pany of Colonel Edward Wigglesworth's regi- 
ment, in 1776. He was an original settler of 
the farm lately owned by William A. Corson. 
He had sons, John and Enoch, and a daugh- 
ter, Dorcas. John Corson and Moses Corson, 
of Lebanon, near relatives of Aaron and Sam- 
uel, were also soldiers in the revolution. (See 
pp. 13-14, "Lebanon in the Revolution.") 

(I) Dexter Foster Corson, a -descendant of 
the Maine pioneers of this family, settled in 
Augusta, Maine. He was born in Maine in 
1 812, died in 1S88 at Monroe, Wisconsin. He 
was an extensive dealer in lumber at Augusta, 
and was engaged in the harness and saddlery 
business at Monroe. In politics he was a Re- 
publican ; in religion, a Methodist. He was a 
highly respected citizen. He married (first) 
Deborah Norton. The name of his second 
wife is not known. 

(II) Frederick Wallace, sixth child of Dex- 
ter Foster Corson, was born September 17, 
1847. at Augusta, Maine, died October 2, 1907, 
at Lockport, New York. He was taken by his 
parents to Monroe. Wisconsin, when three 
years of age and attended the public and high 
schools of Monroe. When he was twenty-one 
he went west with a party of thirty, which 
settled in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, where he 
is counted among the founders of that town. 
After three years he engaged in the printing 
business and became manager of the Elk Point 
Leader, of Elk Point. In 1871 he purchased 
the Mound City Patriot, which he conducted 
for two years. He then sold out and returned 
east. He was for a time on the staff of the 
Citizen, of Rome, Xew York, then was man- 
ager of the Republican, of Johnstown, New 
York, and afterward of the Ogdensburg Ad- 
vance. In 1883 he purchased the Wappinger 
Falls Chronicle, which he edited and published 
for seven years. In 1890 he sold it and in the 
same year bought the Courant. of Newcastle, 
Pennsylvania. He later disposed of that paper 
and came to Lockport, New York, where, in 
association with Obadiah C. Cutler, he pur- 
chased an interest in the Union-Sun. After a 
three years" partnership, he purchased Mr. 



NEW YORK. 



653 



Cutler's interest and those of the other owners, 
thus becoming sole owner of the Union-Sun. 
He remained proprietor and editor of this, 
one of the most influential newspapers of 
Niagara county, until his death. While jour- 
nalism was his chosen profession and the 
greatest interest in his life, Mr. Corson was 
also an influential, most capable man of busi- 
ness. He founded the Corson Manufacturing 
Company, incorporated in 1906. This com- 
pany was organized to do a general printing 
business and for the manufacture of folding 
boxes of all kinds. This enterprise,, one of 
the largest of its kind in western New York, 
has been a very successful one, and is now 
managed by Egbert Corson, son of the 
founder. 

Air. Corson was also at the time of his death 
a director of the H-O Company, of Buffalo. 
His life was a useful, busy one, and he won 
success by timely, well-directed effort. He 
was a Democrat in politics and in the com- 
munities mentioned exerted a wide, deep and 
lasting influence in behalf of his party and for 
the good of all the people. He held various 
public offices of trust and responsibility in his 
different places of residence, and, always de- 
serving, always secured public confidence and 
respect. He was a member of the Protestant 
Episcopal church and a liberal supporter of all 
public charities. He was a prominent mem- 
ber of the Masonic Order, belonging to Lodge, 
Chapter and Genesee Commandery of Knights 
Templar. His club was the Ellicott, of Buf- 
falo. 

He married, September 9, 1873, Alice H. 
Carr, daughter of Egbert Eugene and Cor- 
nelia Alice (Loomis) Carr, of Rome, New 
York. Children: 1. Egbert, born November 
30, 1884; educated in the public schools, Lock- 
port high school and the University of Penn- 
sylvania. Upon the death of his father he 
left college and assumed the management of 
the Union-Sun and of the Corson Manufactur- 
ing Company. Under his management both 
have been very successful and grown to 
greater proportions. He is a member of the 
Masonic Order and of the Benevolent Protec- 
tive Order of Elks, and of the Town and 
Country Club and Tuscarora Club, of Lock- 
port. 2. Marjorie, born February 13, 1890, 
at Marlboro-on-the-Hudson ; educated in the 
Lockport high school, at the Castle, Tarry- 
town. New York, and Buffalo Female Semi- 
nary. 



Mrs. Alice H. (Carr) Corson, since the 
death of her husband, has been president of 
the Corson Manufacturing Company and pub- 
lisher of the Lockport Union-Sun. She is an 
editorial writer of ability and versatility, her 
political leaders being widely quoted by other 
editors throughout the country. Her ideals 
are high and her purpose, the public good. 
She is a member and an ex-president of the 
New Century Club ; member of the Study 
Club and of the City Federation of Lockport. 
The family home is at 261 Genesee street, 
Lockport. 



Eleven centuries ago a sol- 
DICKINSON dier of fortune named Ivar 

made his appearance at the 
court of Halfdan Huilbein, king of Norway. 
He had been a shepherd boy. captured one day 
by a band of Northmen and carried away by 
sea. He drifted into a life of adventure and 
became a great favorite at the Norwegian 
court. The king made him general of his 
army and in 725 gave him his daughter Euri- 
thea in marriage, with the title Prince of the 
Uplands. When the king died the son of Ivar 
became heir to the throne and during his 
minority Ivar was regent. This son, Eystein, 
reigned until 755 and was succeeded by his 
son, Harold Harfager. Rollo, a prince of this 
line, overran Norway in 910. His sixth and 
youngest son, Walter, received the castle and 
town of Caen, as an inheritance. His great- 
grandson, Walter de Caen, accompanied Will- 
iam the Conqueror to England at the time of 
the conquest. From this nobleman the Dickin- 
sons, of Ely, in Cambridge, England, de- 
scended, thirteen generations of direct descent 
later. The name passed through many 
changes, Dykonson, Dykinson, Dykensonne, 
Dickerson and Dickinson being the more com- 
mon forms. William Dickinson, of the four- 
teenth generation, settled in Ely, Cambridge- 
shire, England, and married, 1594. Sarah 
Stacey. Their son. Nathaniel, is the Ameri- 
can ancestor of this branch of the Dickinson 
family. 

(I) Nathaniel, son of William Dickinson, 
was born in Ely, England, 1600. He married, 
in 1630, at East Bergolat, Suffolk county, 
England. Anna, widow of William Gull. They 
emigrated to America and in 1636 or 1637 
settled in Wethersfield, Connecticut. Nathan- 
iel was one of the leaders in that colony, 
and deputy. In 1647 ne removed to Hadley. 



654 



NEW Y< >KK. 



Massachusetts, where he was deacon of the 
church and first recorder of the town : also 
selectman, assessor, town magistrate and a 
member of the first board of trustees of Hop- 
kins Academy. He died at Hadley, June id, 

1676. He married a second wife, Anne . 

By first marriage he had ten children. 

(II) Joseph, son of Nathaniel Dickinson, 
the emigrant, was born 1632 and was slain in 
King Philip's war, September 4, 1675. He 
married Phcebe Bracy. Five children. 

(III) Deacon Nathaniel (2) Dickinson, 
son of Joseph Dickinson, was born May jo. 
1670. He married Hannah White. Nine chil- 
dren. 

(IV) Jonathan, son of Deacon Nathaniel 
(2) Dickinson, was born in Hatfield, Massa- 
chusetts, November 7, 1699. He married, 
April 2, 1724, Mary Smith. Five children. 

(V) Noah, son of Jonathan Dickinson, was 
born about 1729, died March 28, 1815. He 
served in the revolutionary war with the rank 
of lieutenant. He married (first), April 28, 
1757, a kinswoman, Mary Dickinson, who 
died June 1, 1791. He married (second) Su- 
san Ward. Children by both wives. 

(VI) Philemon, son of Noah Dickinson, 
was born August 20, 1761, in Dutchess 
county, New York. On February 2, 1800, he 
with his brothers, John and Samuel, moved 
to the town of Bolton, Warren county, New 
York. He married Martha Trumble, born 
September 1, 1774; children of Philemon and 
Martha were: Lyman, born October 11, 1793 ; 
Debora, August 28, 1795; Sarah, February 26. 
1796; Silas, December 30, 1800; Electa. Au- 
gust 20, 1802 ; Hosea, February 9, 1803 ; 
Rachel, October 3, 1805 ; James, November 16, 
1807; Eliza, January 11, 181 1; Emma, April 
13, 1813; Barber, September 4, 1815. (An- 
other son of Noah Dickinson, a brother of 
Philemon, moved to Cherry Valley, New 
York, about 1798; no trace of him after that 
time. 

(VII) Hosea, son of Philemon Dickinson, 
was born in Bolton, Warren county. New 
York, February 9, 1803. Moved to town of 
Yates, Orleans county. New York, about 1825 ; 
about 1836 he moved to Newfane, Niagara 
county. New York, where he died December 
2, 1848; he owned a small farm on the Bate- 
man road, just south of the Ridge road. He 
married (first), January 21, 1828, Sophronia 
R. Stockwell, born 1805, died January iS. 
1836. The children of Hosea and Sophronia 



R. were: 1. Daniel, torn December 1. iS.s, 
died March, 1903, at Charlotte. Eaton county, 
Michigan. He married Hannah Levings, at 
Albion, New York ; their children were : Mar- 
vin. Deone, widow 7 of Frank Mikesel. and 
Luron D., all now residing at Charlotte, Eaton 
county, Michigan. 2. Emarilla, born July 21, 
1830, died at Charlotte, Michigan, May, 1888. 
Joseph, born June 24, 1832, at Lyndonville, 
( h'leans county, New York, moved to Cali- 
fornia about 1856, employed on the Leland 
Stanford estate, at Mayfield, California; he is 
married and has four daughters : Maude, Jose- 
phine, Emma and Lillian, now living with 
their parents. 3. Sophronia, born December 4, 
1835, at Lyndonville, New York, where she 
now resides; in March, 1859, she married Dr. 
Nathan P. Johnson, who died January 9, 1888. 
In 1837, Hosea Dickinson married (second) 
Joanna Lindsey, of Newfane, New York, who 
was born December 25, 1813, died March 27, 
1888, in Newfane, New York; their children 
were: 4. George, born May 23. 1838, died as 
the result of an accident while working in a 
factory at Chicago, and was buried in New- 
fane, New York. 5. James, mentioned below. 
6. Adelaide, twin of James, born August 13, 
1843, at Newfane, New York, married Ste- 
phen S. Wilson, in December, 1863, who died 
in 1902; she now resides in Newfane, New- 
York; their children are: Allen, Emma and 
Burt, all married and live with their families 
in Newfane, New York. 

(VIII) James, son of Hosea Dickinson, 
born August 13, 1843, died in the town of 
Somerset, New York. January 16, 1907; 
buried in Wright's Corners Cemetery, New- 
fane, New York. He married, August 4, [864, 
Harriet J. Branch, youngest daughter of Jef- 
ferson Liberty and Sarah (Meader) Branch, 
who was born in Warren county. New York, 
June 11, 1846, and now lives in the city of 
Lockport, New York. James Dickinson re- 
ceived a good education, and after reaching 
manhood taught school during the winters 
and boated on the Erie canal during the sum- 
mer. He began to accumulate and judiciously 
invested his savings in Niagara county farms, 
of several of which he became the owner. On 
one of these, the Philip Hoag farm of ninety- 
six acres, lying in the town of Somerset, he 
made his home and cultivated general crops. 
This farm is now owned by his son. Jay L. 
He was a thrifty, industrious man of high 
standing in his town. He was a Democrat. 



NEW YORK. 



(IX) Jay L., only child of James and Har- 
riet J. ( Branch ) Dickinson, was born in New- 
fane, Niagara county, New York, August 24, 
1867. He was educated in the public schools 
of Newfane and at Lock-port high school. 
After completing his studies he became his 
father's assistant on the Somerset farm, con- 
tinuing until 1893, when the father retired. 
Mr. Dickinson has made many improvements 
and has made the property a very desirable 
one. He makes a specialty of fruit culture, 
having twenty-eight acres of apple trees, twen- 
ty-five acres of peaches and eight acres in 
other small fruits. Beside his home farm he 
owns an interest in another three miles distant 
from Lockport. He is modern in his methods 
and is a man of success. He is a member of 
the Methodist Episcopal church and chairman 
of the board of trustees. He is interested in 
the work of the Patrons of Husbandry and a 
member of the New York State Grange. His 
fraternal orders are the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, Barker Lodge, No. 877, and the 
Masonic, Somerset Lodge, No. 639, both of 
Barker, New York. 

He married, March 4, 1890, Mary J. Frost, 
born March 22, 1870, daughter of Albert E. 
and Elizabeth (Atwater) Frost. Children: 
1. Bertha C, born December 4, 1890; educated 
at Lockport high school and Grand Prairie 
Seminary, Onarga, Illinois. 2. Raymond A., 
August 13, 1892. 3. Dorothy E., October 27, 
1895. 



"A Phillips crossed the water 
PHILLIPS with John Winthrop, and 
from him descended a long 
line of ministers, judges, governors and coun- 
cillors. A sterling race, temperate, just and 
high minded." (A writer in Harpers). Fami- 
lies and individuals of this name began to 
emigrate from the old world to America as 
early as 1630 and some a little earlier. The 
name is of ancient and classical origin, being 
derived from the Greek Philos-trippos, or 
horse lover. In Wales and Great Britain its 
use as a surname has continued for a long 
period, evidently for five centuries and per- 
haps much longer. It is said that Phillipse is 
Welsh and that Phillips is from Worcester- 
shire, England. Authorities state that the 
Watertown family (from whom the Phillips 
of Mercer county, New Jersey, descend) were 
of the "Philips" of Worcestershire. Some au- 
thorities are positive that all of the English 



655 

families of this name had their origin in 
Wales and subsequently spread over Great 
Britain. Several different ways are employed 
in spelling, as Phillips, Philips, Phillipse. 
Philipps, and others, some of them so peculiar 
as hardly to be recognized as having a com- 
mon origin. 

The patriarch of the Phillips family of 
Lawrence township, Mercer county, New' Jer- 
sey, was Philip Phillips, born December 27. 
1678. He was a son or grandson of Rev. 
George Phillips, of county Norfolk, England, 
graduate A. B.. from Gonville and Caius Col- 
lege, Cambridge, 1613, and received the de- 
gree of M. A., 1617. Suffering from the storm 
of persecution then threatening the very exist- 
ence of the non-conformists of England, he 
determined to leave the mother country and 
cast his lot with the Puritans. He embarked 
for America, April 12, 1630, in the "Arabella" 
with his wife and two children, fellow passen- 
gers with Governor Winthrop and Sir Richard 
Saltonstall, arriving at Salem, June 12. Here 
his wife soon died and was buried by the side 
of Lady Arabella Johnson, both evidently be- 
ing unable to endure the hardships and ex- 
posure. Before the final embarkation from 
England, which had been considerably de- 
layed, Governor Winthrop wrote to his son 
John: "From aboard the Arabella, riding be- 
fore Yarmouth, April 5, 1630: Yesterday we 
kept a fast aboard our ship and in the Talbot. 
Mr. Phillips exercised with us the whole day, 
and gave very good content to all the com- 
pany, as he doth in all his exercises, so we have 
much cause to bless God for him." His piety, 
talent and learning, especially in theology, 
marked him for the ministry and he was soon 
settled over the church at Watertown, which 
was called together in July, 1630. His salary 
was settled by the court of assistants, August 
23, when it was "ordered, that Mr. Phillips 
shall have allowed him 3 hogsheads of meale, 
1 hogshead of malte, 4 bushells of Indian corn. 
1 bushell of oat meale, halfe an hundred of 
salte fish." Another statement from the same 
source says: "Mr. Phillips hath 30 acres of 
land graunted him opp. Charles River on the 
South side." His first residence was burned 
before the close of the year. There is a tradi- 
tion in the family that his later residence is 
still standing "opposite the ancient burial 
ground back from the road." The history of 
Middlesex county, Massachusetts, says : "This 
old house whose solid oaken frame is said to 



656 



NEW YORK. 



have been brought from England by Sir R. 
Saltonstall, has a projecting second story 
partly concealed by a modern piazza, and 
stands well back from the street. Externally 
there is nothing to indicate great age, but its 
interior retains many marks of antiquity." He 
continued pastor over the Watertown church, 
greatly respected and beloved, till his death, 
fourteen years after his arrival, dying at the 
age of fifty-one years. "He was the earliest 
advocate of the Congregational Order and dis- 
cipline." His views were for a time regarded 
as novel, suspicious and extreme, and he with 
his ruling elder, Richard Brown, stood almost 
unaided and alone, until the arrival of John 
Cotton, maintaining what was and still is the 
Congregationalism of New England. It is 
not now easy to estimate the extent and im- 
portance of the influence of Rev. Phillips in 
giving form and character to the civil and 
ecclesiastical institutions of New England. His 
estate inventoried five hundred and fifty 
pounds. His library was valued at seventy- 
one pounds. This would indicate that he had 
other property and sources of revenue other 
than his salary of "malte and salte fish." By 
his two wives he had ten children. 

Theophilus Phillips, either a son or grand- 
son, was one of the grantees of Newtown, 
Long Island, under the new charter granted 
in 1686 by Governor Dongan, of New York. 
His name also appears in the records of New- 
town in 1676. He was thrice married, his 
first wife being Ann, daughter of Ralph Hunt, 
of Newtown, one of the company of English- 
men who came to Long Island, New York, in 
1652, and planted the settlement of Newtown. 
One of Theophilus Phillips' sons was Philip 
(see forward). 

Philip Phillips was born December 27, 1678, 
and with his elder brother, Theophilus, re- 
moved to Lawrence township, New Jersey, as 
early as 1698, as their names are among the 
grantees of a tract of land for a church. Philip 
Phillips married Elizabeth Hunt and they had 
twelve children, six of whom, with his wife 
Elizabeth, survived him and are named in his 
will dated August 22, 1740. 

Joseph Phillips, a descendant of Philip Phil- 
lips, was the historical Colonel Joseph Phillips 
mentioned by Stryker in "New Jersey in the 
Revolution" as Major Joseph Phillips of the 
New Jersey Battalion. This was the first mili- 
tary organization of New Jersey and was com- 
manded at the battle of Long Island by 



Colonel Philip Johnson, who was killed in that 
battle. Major Joseph Phillips was then pro- 
moted to be lieutenant-colonel and afterward 
colonel of the regiment. Later he was colonel 
of the First Regiment of Hunterdon county 
and participated with his regiment in the bat- 
tles of Trenton, Assanpink, Princeton, Ger- 
mantown, Springfield and Monmouth. Colonel 
Joseph Phillips died in the stone house in 
Lawrenceville, New Jersey. The remains of 
the old patriot rest in an unmarked grave 
(1883), although he has a numerous posterity. 
Many others of the name of Phillips served 
•in the revolution, from Lawrenceville and vi- 
cinity. Many noted physicians have gone 
forth on their errands of healing from the 
Lawrenceville branch, namely: Dr. Joseph 
Phillips, Dr. Theophilus Phillips (perhaps one 
of the most eminent of the family), Dr. Wil- 
liam W. L. Phillips, of Trenton, Dr. John H. 
Phillips, of Pennington and Beverly, New Jer- 
sey, medical director of the United States 
hospitals at Nashville and Chattanooga during 
the civil war, and many others. The family 
were also large land owners and held many 
fine estates in the township of Lawrence and 
county of Mercer. 

Abraham Phillips, of the seventh genera- 
tion in America, was born April 5, 1796, died 
April 10, 1866. He settled in Niagara county, 
New York, in the town of Newfane, on what 
is yet known as the "Phillips" road. He 
owned a large amount of real estate in the 
town including his home farm of four hundred 
acres and several other farms in the neighbor- 
hood. At the time of his death he was rated 
the wealthiest man in that section of the state. 
He served in the war of 1812, although then 
but a young man of sixteen or eighteen years 
of age. He married (first) Betsey Wisner ; 

(second) Sarah ; (third) Elizabeth 

Barrow. Children of first wife: David (of 
further mention). Daniel, Jerome, Chase, 
Frank and Lucinda. 

(VIII) David, son of Abraham Phillips and 
his first wife, Betsey (Wisner) Phillips, was 
born on the old Phillips homestead in New- 
fane, New York, October 22, 1817, died March 
17, 1874. He was educated in the public 
schools of Newfane and institutions of learn- 
ing elsewhere. He began business life as a 
clerk in a Niagara county store, but early 
became a land owner and a farmer. He pur- 
chased one hundred acres of the Pease farm, 
lying on the Creek road, which was his home 



NEW YORK. 



657 



until death. He served in the civil war, en- 
listing in the Twelfth Independent Battery at 
Lockport, New York, January 14, 1862, serv- 
ing with honor until discharged at the close 
of the war, June 14, 1865. He was engaged 
in many of the severest battles of the war, 
among them the Wilderness, Spottsylvania 
Court House, Cold Harbor, the battles before 
Petersburg, Welden Railroad and the fall of 
Petersburg. He was a Democrat and a mem- 
ber of the Baptist church. He was a brave 
soldier and a citizen whose character was 
above reproach. He married, March 16, 1842, 
Catherine M. Smith, born December 22, 1825, 
died January 22, 1881, daughter of Jonas and 
Clarissa Smith, of Oswego, New York. Chil- 
dren : Emily, born October 26, 1844, died 
October 20, 1862 ; Amanda, born February 6, 
1845, died March 11, 1848; Mariette, born 
September 11, 1846, died April 17, 1847; 
Frank W. (of further mention) ; Fred, twin 
of Frank W. 

(IX) Frank W., son of David and Cath- 
erine M. (Smith) Phillips, was born on the 
old Phillips homestead in the town of New- 
fane, Niagara county, New York, February 
19, 1865. He attended the public schools in 
his earlier youth, but the death of his father 
when Frank W. was but nine years of age, 
brought his school years to a close. He did 
a boy's work about the farm for the next few 
years, then until he was twenty took a man's 
part, becoming well versed in agriculture and 
fruit growing. The home farm was left to 
his brother and himself jointly, but Frank W. 
soon purchased his brother's interest and has 
since conducted it alone. He has one of the 
model fruit farms of Niagara county and is 
a thoroughly well-informed, modern farmer. 
He is a member of New York State Grange, 
Patrons of Husbandry, and interested in all 
that pertains to the welfare of his town. He 
is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, Red Jacket Lodge, No. 646, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and a Democrat in political 
faith. He married (first) August 25, 1886, 
Jessie M. Ferguson, born 1865, died December 
4, 1889, daughter of William and Emily Fer- 
guson, of Lockport, New York. He married 
(second) April 18, 1892, Sabra Farley, born 
May 15, 1870, daughter of Elmer and Eliza- 
beth (Harrington) Farley. Child of first 
wife : Harry, born July 29, 1887. Children of 
second wife : Willis, born January 2, 1893 ; 
Elton, June 24, 1894; Dayton, June 9, 1907. 



The Meserolls of Niagara 
MESEROLL county, New York, descend 

on the paternal side from 
Charles Meseroll, of New Jersey, a soldier 
of the revolutionary war. On the maternal 
side from Baron Walden, one of the early 
grantees of the Island of Manhattan, a branch 
of which settled in New Jersey at an early 
date. Charles H. Meseroll was born in New 
Jersey prior to 1760, died there in 1842. He 
was a soldier in the revolutionary war, and 
was with the army of Washington at Valley 
Forge, and also with him in many of his sub- 
sequent battles. He married and had issue. 

(II) Cornelius, son of Charles H. Meseroll, 
was born in New Jersey in 1795, died June 23, 
1828, in Niagara county, New York. He 
served in the war of 18 12 and was engaged 
in the battle at Lundy's Lane, Queenstown, 
where Brock was killed, and at the siege of 
Fort Erie. After the war he returned to New 
Jersey, where he engaged in farming until 
1827. In that year he removed with his fam- 
ily to Niagara county. New York, settling in 
the town of Newfane, where he died the fol- 
lowing year, aged thirty-three years. He mar- 
ried Lydia Phillips, born in Salina, New York, 
in 1800. 

(III) Philip H., son of Cornelius and Lydia 
(Phillips) Meseroll, was born in Seneca 
county, New York, October 4. 1820, died at 
Olcott, Niagara county, New York, March 23, 
1899. He received a good common school 
education, and after his removal to Niagara 
county, purchased a farm of two hundred 
acres. He was a veteran and an officer of 
the civil war, enlisting August 27, 1862, in 
Company K, One Hundred and Fifty-first 
Regiment, New York Volunteer Infantry, at- 
tached to the Army of the Potomac. He be- 
gan his military career as sergeant, and June 
3, 1864, was promoted on the field of battle 
to the rank of first lieutenant. He was com- 
missioned as officer, July 1, 1864, and honor- 
ably discharged and mustered out June 26, 
1865. With his regiment he served in the 
following battles: Wopping Heights, Mc- 
Lain's Ford, Kelly's Ford, Locust Grove, the 
Battle of the Wilderness, Spottsylvania. Han- 
overtown, Cold Harbor, Petersburg, explosion 
of the Mine, Monaccy, Charlestown, Smith- 
field, Winchester, Fisher's Hill, Cedar Creek 
and Appomattox. After the war he continued 
his military career in the New York National 
Guard, serving as captain of the Sixty-sixth 



658 



NEW YORK. 



Regiment, Thirty-second Brigade, Eighth 
Division. From the close of the war until 
his death Mr. Meseroll was largely engaged 
in farming and fruit growing. He was a 
strong Republican and one of the organizers 
of that party in Niagara county in 1856. He 
was popular in his neighborhood and held 
many of the town offices. He was an attend- 
ant of the Universalist church, and a liberal 
contributor to church and charitable societies. 
He was an active member of the Grand Army 
of the Republic, and attended as a delegate 
many of their national conventions held in 
different parts of the country. He married, 
October 20, 1842, Hannah E. Stratton, born 
December 15, 1825, died May 19, 1908, daugh- 
ter of Levi and Hannah Stratton, of an old 
New England family. Children: 1. Lydia, 
born July 31, 1843, married Eugene Shafer, 
of Olcott, New York. 2. Hannah Jane, born 
January 16, 1846, a resident of Olcott. 3. 
Emmeline M., born November 20, 1848. mar- 
ried George Lombard, of Olcott, New York. 
4. Mary C., born November 28, 1850, married 
Solomon Eshbaugh, of Olcott. New York. 



The family of Arnold is of 
ARNOLD great antiquity, having its ori- 
gin among the ancient princes 
of Wales. According to a pedigree recorded 
in the College of Arms, they trace from Ynir 
of Gwentland, who flourished about the mid- 
dle of the twelfth century and who was pa- 
ternally descended from Ynir. second son of 
Cadwalader, King of the Britons, which Cad- 
walader built Abergavenny, in the county of 
Monmouth, and its castle which was rebuilt 
by Hamlet, ap (son) Hamlet, ap Sir Druce of 
Balladon, in France. From this Ynir, King 
of Gwentland, the line is traced through ten 
generations of nobles in Wales to Arnholt ap 
Gwillim, of Meirie, Esquire. In the twelfth 
generation, Roger, grandson of Arnholdt (3) 
and son of Arnholdt (2), adopted Arnold 
as a surname. He is called Roger Arnold, of 
Llanthony. in Monmouthshire, Esq. This 
brings the family to England. Roger Arnold 
married Joan, daughter of Sir Thomas 
Gamagn Knight. Lord of Coytey. Their son 
Thomas succeeded to the family estates in 
Monmouthshire; married Agnes, daughter of 
Sir Richard Warnestead, Knight. Their son 
Richard removed to Somersetshire, in the par- 
ish of Street: married Emmote. daughter of 
Pearce Young, of Wiltshire. Their son Rich- 



ard removed to Dorsetshire, where he was 
Lord of the Manor of Bagbere and possessed 
many estates. He was twice married and 
had four sons. Of these Thomas Arnold set- 
tled in Cheselbourne, England, and is the an- 
cestor of the Arnolds herein recorded. Wil- 
liam, son of Thomas, came to America and 
settled at Providence, Rhode Island, where he 
became associated with Roger Williams, and 
filled many offices of trust. His son Benedict 
served ten years as governor of the colony 
of Rhode Island between 1663 and 1678. 

(I) Thomas (2), youngest son of Thomas 
( 1 ) Arnold of Cheselbourne, England, came 
to America in the ship "Plain Joan," and set- 
tled in Watertown. Massachusetts. May, 1635 ; 
made a freeman May 13, 1640. He seems to 
have been very remiss in attending church 
worship, as he was fined on three separate 
occasions, once fined twenty shillings for '"of- 
fence against the law concerning baptism" ; 
fined five pounds for "neglecting public wor- 
ship twenty days" : and ten pounds for 
"neglecting same for forty days." He after- 
ward removed to Providence, Rhode Island, 
where he became prominent. He was admitted 
a freeman of the Rhode Island Colony, May 
18, 1658. In 1666-67-70-71-72 he was deputy 
to the general assembly. In 1672 he was 
member of the town council ; died September, 
1674, aged seventy-five years. The name of 
his first wife is not known: he married (sec- 
ond) Phcebe, died 1688, daughter of George 
and Susanna Parkhurst. Children by first 
wife: 1. Thomas, died young. 2. Nicholas, 
died young. 3. Susanna, married, 1654, John 
Farnuin. Children by second wife: 1. Icha- 
bod, died young. 2. Richard, married Mary 
Angell : he was deputy thirteen terms be- 
tween 1671 and 1708. assistant to the gover- 
nor nine years, speaker of the house 1707-08; 
resided in Providence. 3. Thomas, member 
of town council, and deputy five terms, 1667- 
1685. 4. John, of further mention. 5. Eleazer, 
married Eleanor Smith ; was deputy eight 
terms between 1686 and 1715. 6. Elizabeth, 
married Samuel Comstock. 

(II) John, son of Thomas and Phoebe 
(Parkhurst) Arnold, was born February 19. 
1648 ; died in Providence. Rhode Island. June 
5, 1723 : was deputy to the general assembly 
of Rhode Island, 1716: married Hannah . 

(III) Jonathan, son of John and Hannah 
Arnold, was born in Providence, Rhode 
Island : died in 1770. He resided in Provi- 



NEW YORK. 



659 



dence and Johnston, Rhode Island ; married, 
1727, Elizabeth Matthewson (Matthews). 
Children: John; David, married Mary West- 
cott ; William ; James ; Alice, married Ames 
Mann, and removed to Greenfield, New York; 
Jonathan ; Thomas, married Austis Thornton, 
and had eleven children. 

1 IV) William, son of Jonathan and Eliza- 
beth (Matthews) Arnold, was born in Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island. He removed to the 
Black River country, New York, after resid- 
ing in New Hampshire, where he married 
and had issue. 

(V) Abraham (Abram), son of William 
Arnold, was a resident of New Hampshire, 
his native state. He later removed to New 
York, settling in West Bloomfield, Ontario 
county. He was twice married, and reared a 
family of seven sons and five daughters. He 
died May 24, 1825. His second wife, Sarah, 
died September, 1859. 

(VI) William (2), son of Abraham Arnold 
by his first wife, was born in the town of 
Keene, New Hampshire, March 28, 1774; died 
at West Bloomfield, Ontario county, New 
York, February 28, 1853. He settled in New 
York, where he followed the business of a 
tanner and currier. He married (first) No- 
vember 6, 1800, Elizabeth Cobb, born March, 
1780, died May 9, 1815. Children: 1. Eliza- 
beth, born July 6, 1802 ; married Colonel 
Ezekiel Jewett, of the United States regular 
army, and commandant at Fort Niagara dur- 
ing the exciting anti-Masonic period called the 
"Morgan Exposure." 2. William, of further 
mention. 3. Mary, born April 20, 1806; mar- 
ried Bailey Ayres, of West Bloomfield, New 
York. 4. Emmeline, born March 10, 1809. 
He married (second), January 2. 1817, Mar- 
garet Sargent. He had another son. Joseph, 
who died in Washington, D. C. 

(VII) William (3), son of William (2) 
ami Elizabeth (Cobb) Arnold, was born in 
Westmoreland, New Hampshire, July 3, 1804; 
died July 3, 1876, at Lima, Livingston county, 
New York. He was educated in the district 
school of West Bloomfield, New York, where 
he settled while he was a boy. He grew up 
in his father's business and was associated 
with him for many years. Later he removed 
to Lima, New York, where he established 
a factory for the manufacture of boots and 
shoes, and conducted a retail store in connec- 
tion. He was a prosperous merchant and 
manufacturer of Lima for nearly half a cen- 



tury, and was actively engaged in business 
until his death. He was active and prominent 
in public affairs as well as in business ; was 
justice of the peace a quarter of a century, 
and captain of Ontario county militia at one 
time. Politically, he was a Whig, and he at- 
tended the Presbyterian church. He married 
'first) September 1, 1831, Emily Eliza Peek, 
lied February 13, 1845; one child only grew 
to mature years, Maria Emily, born June 3, 
1832, died October 5, 1900 ; married, Decem- 
ber 13, 1 85 1, Charles H. Warner of Lima, 
New York. He married (second) December 
31, 1845, Eliza Bishop, born August 13, 1809, 
at Montville. Connecticut, died at Lima, New 
York, March 2, 1896, daughter of Thomas 
Bishop, who settled in Western New York 
prior to 1823. Child, John B., of further 
mention. 

(VIII) John Bishop, son of William (3) 
and Eliza (Bishop) Arnold, was born at Lima, 
New York, May 11, 1848. He was educated 
in the public schools, Genesee Wesleyan Sem- 
inary, and Genesee College at Lima, the latter 
institution later being consolidated with Syra- 
cuse University. He early became interested 
in milling, and in 1864 located in Lockport, 
New York, where he erected mills and en- 
gaged in the manufacture of flour, continu- 
ing in successful business until 1888, when 
he retired from active life. He has given a 
good portion of his time to the public service, 
having served two terms as a member of the 
board of education and two terms as police 
commissioner of the city. In 1884 he was 
elected treasurer of Niagara county, serving 
in 1885-86-87. In 1908 he became a director of 
the Farmers' and Mechanics' Savings Bank 
of Lockport, and still serves. Politically, he 
is a Democrat; in church fellowship a Pres- 
byterian. He has borne an honorable part 
in all his public and private business affairs 
and ranks with the solid, substantial men of 
his city. 

He married, October 17, 1878, Eugenia 
Flagler, daughter of Cornelius W. and Jennie 
Thorn (Flagler) Adriance of Lockport, Niag- 
ara county. New York. 



The Niskayuna family of Yed- 
VEDDER der herein recorded descends 

from Harmen Albertse Vedder, 
the first settler of the name in the Mohawk 
Valley. He was a trader in Beverwyck before 
the year 1657. In 1660 he returned to Hoi- 



0, . , 



NEW YORK. 



land. In 1661, as agent for Dirk De Wolfe, 
merchant of Amsterdam, he erected a salt ket- 
tle on Coney Island, New York, which being 
claimed by the people of Gravesend he brought 
suit before the governor and council to make 
good his claim, and being beaten abandoned 
the enterprise. In 1663 he leased his 
"bouwery" at Schenectady to Simon Groot 
for six years. In 1668, being in Holland with 
other merchants from the province of New 
York, he purchased goods and chartered the 
ship "King Charles," and obtained permission 
from the King of England to send the ship 
and goods to New York. In 1667 he lived 
in Albany. In 1672 he bought land in Schen- 
ectady. In 1673 he was one of three magis- 
trates for Schenectady. He purchased the 
village lot of the heirs of Reiner, son of 
Dominie Schaets, of Albany, after his massa- 
cre by the Indians in 1690. The following 
children of Harmen Vedder were living in 
1715: Harmanus. Arent, Albert, Johannes, 
Corset. Angenietje. wife of Jan Danielse Van 
Antwerpen. 

(II) Albert, son of Harmen Albertse Ved- 
der, was born May 10, 1671. He was carried 
away by the French and Indians to Canada, 
February 9, 1690, but returned to the Mohawk 
Valley, where he died prior to 1715. He mar- 
ried Maria, daughter of Tohannes Sanderse 
Glen. 

Children: Anna, Johannes (of further 
mention), Harmanus, Catherina. Alexander, 
Arnout and Arent. 

(III) Johannes, son of Albert Vedder, was 
born August 20, 1702. He married, February 
1, 1 73 1, Maria, daughter of Pieter Lymouse 
Vedder. She was born November 29, 1706, 
and died March 27, 1731. Child: Albert (of 
further mention). 

(IV) Albert (2), son of Johannes Vedder, 
was born July 27, 1732. He married. October 
30, 1756, Hester, daughter of Frans Van Der 
Bogart. He died November 18. 1805. She 
died May 12, 1813, in her eightieth year. Chil- 
dren : Johannes, Maud, died young; Maria, 
Hester, Frans Van Der Bogart (of further 
mention), Barber, Neeltje, Engeltje Class, 
Annatje. 

(V) Frans Van Der Bogart, son of Albert 
(2) Vedder, was born January 1, 1764, died 
April 3, 181 1. He married, December 15, 
1788, Lena, daughter of Thomas Bronwer. 
born May 5, 1769, died April 7, 1834. Chil- 
dren: Annatia, Albert, Jacob (of further 



mention), Johannes, Esther, Margarieta, 
Nicholas, Elizabeth C. 

(VI) Jacob, son of Frans Van Der Bogart 
Vedder, was born April 30, 1796, died Janu- 
ary 17, 1855. He married Margaret Gouver- 
neur and settled in Ellicottville, Cattaraugus 
county, New York, where he died. Among 
his children was a son, Commodore Perry (of 
whom further). 

(ATI) Commodore Perry Vedder, son of 
Jacob and Margaret (Gouverrjeur) Vedder, 
was born in Ellicottville, Cattaraugus county, 
New York, February 23, 1838, died there De- 
cember, 1910. His career was a most re- 
markable one. Born in a log house on a newly 
settled farm, he obtained such education as the 
district afforded and worked at home until 
he was thirteen years of age. At that age 
he became a driver boy on the Erie canal and 
a year later was raftsman on the Alleghany 
river, going to Pittsburg and down the Ohio 
to Cincinnati. From the latter city he made 
his way to Cleveland, Ohio, where he shipped 
before the mast on the brig "Alert," bound 
for Chicago. He followed the life of a sailor 
on the lakes for three years, becoming first 
mate, and in 1858 and 1859 commanded a ves- 
sel, being yet under legal age. He saved his 
money and, returning to New York, entered 
Springville Academy to complete his prepara- 
tory education, intending later to enter college. 
During the winters of 1859-60-61-62 he taught 
school, and in 1861 began the study of law 
with Judge David H. Bolles. The civil war 
changed all his plans, and leaving all his pros- 
pects behind he went to the defense of his 
country's flag. He enlisted in August. 1862, 
as a private in. the One Hundred and Fifty- 
fourth Regiment, New York Infantry, and 
for gallant conduct was promoted first lieu- 
tenant and later captain. At the battle of 
Lookout Mountain he was brevetted major by 
President Lincoln in the regular United States 
army "for gallant and meritorious conduct," 
and also received four other commissions for 
bravery. At the battle of Rocky Face Ridge 
he was wounded, but declined to accept a fur- 
lough after leaving the hospital. Not being 
able yet for field duty, he was appointed by 
President Lincoln to examine applicants for 
commissions in colored regiments, with head- 
quarters at Chattanooga, Tennessee. Again 
taking the field with his regiment, he was in 
the bloody battle of Chancellorsville. where he 
was taken prisoner and for two weeks was 



NEW YORK 



661 



confined in Libby prison at Richmond. He was 
paroled and while under parole was detailed 
by the secretary of war to take charge of the 
camp of paroled prisoners near Alexandria, 
Virginia. In the fall of 1863 he was trans- 
ferred with the Army of the Cumberland. 
He participated in the battles : Chancellors- 
ville, Wauhatchie, Lookout Valley, Lookout 
Mountain, Mission Ridge, Rocky Face Ridge, 
siege of Savannah, and was with Sherman on 
his celebrated march from Chattanooga to 
Knoxville, Tennessee, to relieve General Burn- 
side. He was also with Sherman from "At- 
lanta to the Sea." He was promoted as before 
stated, and for "bravery in battle" in the cam- 
paign from Chattanooga to Atlanta was com- 
missioned lieutenant-colonel. He was honor- 
ably discharged at the close of the war and 
returned to more peaceful pursuits. 

He resumed the study of law and during 
the winter of 1865-66 attended Albany Law 
School, and on May 7, 1866, was admitted to 
the New York bar at Buffalo. His success 
in civil life as a lawyer and a legislator and a 
business man was as complete and conspicuous 
as his record in the army was honorable and 
brilliant. In May, 1867, he was admitted in 
the district court of the United States for 
the northern district of New York. In the 
same year he was appointed register in bank- 
ruptcy, resigning that appointment in 1875 to 
enter the state senate. From 1872 to 1875, 
inclusive, he was a member of the assembly. 
In 1869 he had been appointed United States 
assessor of internal revenue, holding that office 
for two years. In 1872, as a member of the 
judiciary committee of the house, he assisted 
in investigating the charges against the unjust 
judges of New York City, Cardozo. McCunn 
and Barnard. He was chairman of the com- 
mittee to draft articles of impeachment against 
Judge Barnard and was appointed one of the 
managers on the trial of that official before 
the high court of impeachment for maladmin- 
istration in office. In 1875 he was elected 
state senator, serving during the sessions of 
1876-77, holding the chairmanship of the com- 
mittees on Indian affairs and internal affairs. 
In 1880 he was appointed state assessor by 
Governor Cornell, holding office three years. 
It is asserted that no man ever did more to 
lighten the burdens of taxation upon those 
least able to bear them. In 1884 he was 
again elected to the senate, holding under 
three consecutive re-elections. During his last 



eight years in the senate he was chairman of 
the committee on taxation and retrenchment. 
At all times he took a leading part in the de- 
bates and deliberations of the senate. Hold- 
ing membership on several important commit- 
tees, he influenced much legislation besides the 
bills that bore his name. He introduced the 
bill to tax gifts, legacies and collateral inheri- 
tance that became a law in 1885. Also the 
bill amending the collateral inheritance act, 
which amended act became a law in 189 1, 
under which the succession by death of per- 
sonal property of $10,000 or more is taxed 
one per cent. He drafted and introduced a 
bill taxing corporations for the privilege of 
organizing, which became a law in 1866. As 
a result of these acts millions of dollars have 
been paid into the treasury of the state and 
a permanent source of revenue provided. In 
1894 he was chosen a delegate-at-large to the 
constitutional convention held at Albany, of 
which Joseph Choate was president, and after, 
by his solicitation, Senator Vedder was presi- 
dent pro tern.; he served on several important 
committees. Of the thirty-three amendments 
proposed by the convention and adopted by 
the people, he drafted and introduced four. 
Too much cannot be said of the sagacity, zeal 
and untiring devotion to the public interest 
displayed by Mr. Vedder in every position of 
public trust and responsibility to which he 
has been called. The constitution and laws of 
his state alike attest his wisdom and his worth. 
Another bill which does not bear his name but 
which was a modification of a bill he had 
ready to introduce is the liquor law, known as 
the "Raines Law." Many conferences were 
held at Ellicottville between Senators Vedder 
and Raines, the result being the bill introduced 
by the latter. 

In the business world Colonel Vedder was 
an important factor. He was president of 
fourteen corporations and maintained a busi- 
ness office in New York City. For twenty 
years he was president of the Bank of 
Ellicottville, and for twenty-four years 
president of the Bank of Norwood in 
St. Lawrence county, New York : also 
president of the New York and New Jersey 
Ice Lines, of New York, and of Elko Milling, 
Mining and Manufacturing Company, of Ran- 
dolph. He was professionally associated as 
partner with William Manley, of Ellicottville, 
for several years ; with Judge Rensselaer 
Lamb from 1869 until the judge's death in 



662 



NEW YORK. 



1871 ; with George M. Rider from 1876 until 
1884 as Vedder & Rider, and with James O. 
Clark, of Ellicottville. Having accumulated a 
large fortune, his latter years were spent in 
comparative retirement, surrounded by all that 
makes life pleasant. He held membership in 
many societies, clubs and institutions of va- 
rious kinds and was everywhere treated with 
distinguished consideration. He held member- 
ship in the Grand Army of the Republic and 
was ever the friend of the old soldier. He 
was devoted to the interests of his native town, 
which he furthered in every possible way. His 
useful, honored life closed with about the 
allotted scriptural period "three score years 
and ten." 

He married (first) in 1862, Betty E. Squires, 
of Springville, who bore a son, who died in 
1882. She died 1884. He married (second), 
1892. Mrs. Genevieve A. (Hill) Wheeler, 
daughter of Thomas A. and Hannah (War- 
ren) Hill, of Chicago, and granddaughter of 
Arthur Hill, of Baltimore. Her maternal 
grandparents are Cotton Mather and Annie 
(Fairfield) Warren. Mrs. Genevieve A. Ved- 
der survives her husband and resides in New 
York City. 



This name dates to a remote period, 
FAY even to the days of mythology. 
Fays or fairies would seem to 
have always existed if ancient writings 
can be trusted. As a surname it is frequently 
found in France, also in Ireland, Germany, 
Spain, Italy, Switzerland, although less fre- 
quently in the latter countries. The family is 
believed to be of French origin. They are 
said to have been Huguenots, who to escape 
persecution fled to England and Wales, from 
there settling in Ireland and New England. 
The name as a patronymic first appears in 
English records in 1173, has existed in Ireland 
for an indefinite period, and is occasionally 
met with in Scotland. The Fays, like many 
other ancient families, possess special char- 
acteristics, prominent among them being men- 
tal and physical strength, untiring energy and 
remarkable executive ability. 

The New England Fays descend from John 
Fav, who arrived in Boston in the "Speedwell" 
from Gravesend, England, June 27, 1656. 
Savage says he was eight years old, but other 
authorities state he was probably eighteen. He 
was born in England and is thought by some 
writers to have been a son of David Fay. then 



a resident of Sudbury, Massachusetts, and 
that he came from England to join his father. 
This cannot be established and John Fay must 
be considered the emigrant ancestor. He went 
to Sudbury and afterward to the new town of 
Marlboro, where he was admitted a free- 
man in 1669. At that time he was married 
and had one child. His name first appears in 
the town records of Marlborough in 1671 as 
a petitioner for a grant of land. In 1675 he 
was one of the proprietors of Worcester, 
Massachusetts, and had a lot assigned him in 
the eastern squadron, lying next to the county 
road to Boston. He, however, continued his 
residence in Marlborough until its dangerous 
situation during King Philip's war compelled 
the settlers to seek safety in larger, better de- 
fended towns. John Fay retired to Water- 
town, where his first wife died and he again 
married. While living there he was made a 
trustee of the estate of Reynold Bush, of Cam- 
bridge, who was about to marry Susanna 
Lowell, of Beverly, Wiltshire, England. He 
was one of those who in 1678 attempted to 
settle Worcester, but did not remain, returning 
to his old home in Marlboro, where he died in 
that part of the town now Southboro, Decem- 
ber 5, 1690. He appears to have been a man 
of character and standing in the community, 
where he held positions of public trust. His 
widow, Susanna, administered an inventory 
with the statement that her late husband, John 
Fay, had by will disposed of the rest of his 
property in providing for his children. This 
will is not on record and may have been 
verbal. As he gave to each of his sons large 
tracts of land, he must have been for his day 
quite a large land owner. 

He married (first) Mary, born in Water- 
town, 1638-39, died there 1676, daughter of 
Thomas Brigham, the American ancestor of 
the New England family. He was born in 
England, 1603, came to America, 1635, in the 
ship "Susan and Ellen," settled in Watertown, 
where he held several town offices. He mar- 
ried Mercy Hurd, born in England. Mary 
was the first child born to her parents in 
America ; her marriage to John Fay was the 
first of a series of nearly thirty marriages 
between the Fays and Brighams. He married 
(second) July "15, 1678, Susanna (Shattuck) 
Morse, daughter of William Shattuck. the 
pioneer of Watertown, Massachusetts, where 
she was born in 1643. She survived her 
second husband and married a third, July 30, 



NEW YORK. 



663 



1695, Thomas Brigham (2), a brother of 
John Fay's first wife. She had seven chil- 
dren by her first husband and four by her 
second. Children of John Fay and his first 
wife. Mary Brigham, all born in Marlboro: 
I. John, born November 3, 1669; married 
Elizabeth Wellington ; eleven children. 2. Da- 
vid, died young. 3. Samuel (of further men- 
tion). 4. Mary, born February 10, 1675 ; mar- 
ried Jonathan Brigham ; ten children. 5. 
David (2), born April 23, 1679; married 
Sarah Larkin ; twelve children. 6. Gershom, 
born October 19, 1681 ; married Mary Brig- 
ham; seven children. 7. Ruth, born July 15, 
1684 : married Increase Ward, seven children. 
8. Deliverance, born October 7, 1686; married 
Benjamin Shattuck ; two children. 

(IF) Samuel, third son of John Fay and 
his first wife, Mary (Brigham) Fay, was born 
in Marlboro, Massachusetts, October 11, 1673, 
died November 10, 1732. He settled in that 
part of the town now Westboro, being one of 
the first residents there when it was set off 
from Marlboro in 17 17. He and his wife 
offered themselves for baptism in the Marl- 
boro church in 1701. He was chosen surveyor 
of highways in 1718, served to 1720, and in 
1721 was tythingman. He succeeded his broth- 
er John as town clerk and in 1728-29-30 was 
sealer of leather. He owned land in South- 
boro and a large tract in Brookfield. He left 
a will that was not probated, the estate being 
settled by agreement of the heirs. He married 
May 16, 1699, Tabitha, born May 16, 1675, 
daughter of Increase and Record Ward. Their 
first six children were born in Marlboro, the 
seventh in Westboro. Children: 1. Rebecca, 
born February 19, 1700 : married William 
Nurse, of Shrewsbury. 2. Tabitha, born Au- 
gust 14, 1702 : married William Maurey, of 
Brookfield. 3. Samuel (2), (of further men- 
tion). 4. Jeduthan. born June 7, 1707; mar- 
ried Sarah Shattuck, of Watertown. 5. Abi- 
gail, born January 19, 1709; married Thomas 
Converse, of Connecticut. 6. Ebenezer, born 

April 12, 1713 ; married (first) Abigail 

: (second) Thankful Hyde: (third) Mary 

Mason, who survived him ; eighteen children. 
7. Mary, born March 28, 1720, died unmar- 
ried. 

(Ill) Samuel (2), eldest son and third child 
of Samuel (1) Fay, was baptized in Marl- 
boro, Massachusetts, May 6, 1705, died 1788. 
He ceased to be of record in Marlboro after 
1775, and then settled at or near Reading, 



Vermont. He married (first) December 15, 
1726, his cousin, Deliverance, born December 
22, 1707, died 1754, daughter of Benjamin and 
Deliverance (Fay) Shattuck, of Watertown. 
Morse says : "His first wife died after deliver- 
ing to him fourteen children in twenty years." 
He married (second), 1756, Mrs. Elizabeth 
(Hastings) Cutler, of Cambridge. She died 
at Reading, Vermont, 1796; eleven children. 
He was over seventy years of age when his 
twenty-fifth child was born. Children, all born 
in Southboro: 1. Deliverance, born Novem- 
ber 15, 1727. 2. Ruth, February 4, 1729. 3. 
Persis, May 18, 1730. 4. Abigail, August 26, 

173 1, died in infancy. 5. Sarah, November 3, 

1732, died in infancy. 6. Solomon, February 
17, 1734; married Mary Pratt; eleven chil- 
dren. 7. Samuel, August 29, 1735 ; was a sol- 
dier in the French war in the Crown Point 
expedition, as was his brother Solomon. He 
married (first) Betsy Carroll; (second) Mary 
Kimball; twelve children. 8. Susannah, born 
February 18, 1737, died 1755. 9. Levinah, 
January 21, 1738, died young. 10. Benjamin 
August, 1740, died in infancy, n. Joseph (of 
further mention). 12. Hannah, born Septem- 
ber 2, 1743, died young. 13. Ebenezer, April 
17, 1745. 14. Nehemiah, July 4, 1747. 15. 
Seth, May 14, 1757, died 1779; a lieutenant 
in the revolutionary army. 16. Sherebiah, 
born June 29, 1758; was an early settler of 
Watertown and served three years in the 
revolutionary war; he married Eleanor Stan- 
ley. 17. Hepsibah, born October 1, 1760; 

married (first) Whitney; (second) 

Samuel Hale. 18. Annie, born August 5, 
1761, died 1813, unmarried. 19. Ezra, July 
1, 1765 ; married Sarah Newton ; fourteen chil- 
dren. 20. Moses, born May 27, 1767; mar- 
ried Polly Goddard. 21. Abigail, December 
31, 1768, died 1845, unmarried. 22. Noadiah, 
born November 25, 1770; married Catherine 
Walker. 23. Hananiah, born August 25, 1772; 
married Rebecca Mansfield ; seven children. 
24. Sarah, born February 12, 1775; married 
Joshua Hyde. 25. An infant, died unnamed. 

(IV) Joseph, eleventh child of Samuel (2) 
Fay and his first wife, Deliverance (Shattuck) 
Fay, was born December 22, 1741, died Janu- 
ary 2, 1824. 

He settled at Athol, Massachusetts; 
served as a private in Captain Dexter's 
company of minute men, Colonel Doolittle's 
regiment, which marched in response to the 
Lexington alarm, 1775, and again in Captain 



66 4 



NEW YORK. 



Lord's company, Colonel Sparhawk's regiment, 
1777, on tne Bennington alarm. 

He married, at Athol, in 1762, Abigail 
Twitchell. Children born in Athol: 1. Josiah, 
born March 16, 1774, died on his birthday, 
1834; married Molly Ward. 2. Nehemiah (of 
further mention). 3. Dorothy, died 1833; 
married Daniel Ellenwood. 4. Matilda, died 
1856; married Seneca Ellenwood. 5. Benja- 
min, born September 14, 1783 ; settled in Con- 
cord, Erie county, New York, in 1817; he was 
a soldier of the war of 1812 and after that 
war was elected colonel of militia ; was active 
in town affairs and always held office ; un- 
married. 6. Abigail, died 1810, unmarried. 
7. Sally, born July 17, 1788; married (first) 
John Ewers; (second) Joseph Yaw, of Spring 
field, New York, and Niles, Michigan. 8. 
Seth, married Lucy Adams. 9. Hannah, died 
1826; married George Mason. 10. Lucinda, 
died 1856, at Athol, Massachusetts, a teacher. 

(V) Nehemiah, second son of Joseph and 
Abigail (Twitchell) Fay, was born in Athol, 
Massachusetts, December 10. 1776, died at 
Little Valley, Cattaraugus county, New York, 
May 23, 1856. He was educated in the district 
school, and in his youthful manhood spent 
several years traveling about the country, 
threshing, etc. He was a natural musician 
with a good voice and a great fund of anec- 
dote. This made him a welcome visitor every- 
where. He was a member of the militia and 
served during the war of 1812 at Boston, 
when that city was believed to be in danger of 
attack. In 1803 he married, and in 1815, in com- 
pany with his brother Benjamin, he removed 
to Boston Corners, near Springville, Erie 
county, New York, where they cleared a farm, 
where Nehemiah resided until 1837. The jour- 
ney was made with ox teams, and family tradi- 
tion says the journey consumed but little over 
a month's time. He worked at shingle mak- 
ing, continuing this work until almost the day 
of his death. In his later years he became 
almost blind. As an old man he retained his 
love of song, anecdote and jest, and was a 
great favorite among the children and young 
people. He sold his interest in the farm at 
Boston Corners to his brother, in 1837, and 
removed to Little Valley, Cattaraugus county, 
and in a few years to Great Valley, in the 
same county. He always maintained that 
when he should lose his voice he would be 
ready to die. During his last illness he awoke 
one morning to find his voice almost gone. 



Turning to his daughter-in-law he said, 
"Lecta, I can't live long, I can't sing any 
more." Before night he breathed his last. 
He was an industrious, kind-hearted man, with 
hosts of friends and no enemies. In 1849 he 
went to Illinois, but did not long remain, re- 
turning to Little Valley. 

He married, in 1803, Achsah Stratton. of 
New Salem, Massachusetts, born 1772, died 
in Great Valley, New York, June, 1870, hav- 
ing survived her husband fourteen years. 
Children: 1. Abigail, born in Athol, Massa- 
chusetts ; married Obadiah Russell : nine chil- 
dren. 2. Fanny, born in Athol, died in Great 
Valley, New York ; married Ashael Field ; 
eight children. 3. James S., died in 1810, at 
Salamanca, New York ; married Mary Ferry ; 
six children. 4. Alcander (of further men- 
tion). 

(VI) Alcander, youngest child of Nehemiah 
and Achsah (Stratton) Fay, was born at Con- 
cord, Erie county, New York, September 29, 
1816. He was educated in the public schools 
of Springville and Great Valley, coming with 
his parents to Cattaraugus county, in 1837. 
He was a farmer and cooper, and in 1856 
purchased a large farm at Elkdale. He was 
a great lover of the chase, being one of the 
hunters of western New York. During the 
civil war he enlisted in the Ninety-fourth 
Regiment. New York Volunteer Infantry, but 
owing to illness saw little actual service. He 
was a member of the Baptist church, the In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows, and a Re- 
publican in politics. Excepting two years spent 
in the west, his whole life after 1837 was 
spent in Cattaraugus county. 

He married (first) May 14. 1839, Electa 
Clement, born 1814. died in Great Valley. New 
York, April 1, 1886. He married (second) 
April 2-j, 1892: Mary Chase. Children, all 
by first marriage: 1. Adrian, born in Little 
Valley. New York, May 19. 1840: served four 
years during the civil war, in the One Hun- 
dred and Eighth Regiment. New York Volun- 
teers : was captured and confined in the Ander- 
sonville prison pen for nine months ; married, 
April 12, 1865. Sarah Flint. 2. Mary, mar- 
ried Clark Wilder: one child. 3. Marcus 
Montrose (of further mention). 4. Charles 
Willis, born August 16, 1848: married. Janu- 
ary 1. 1873, Betsey E. Childs : two children. 
5. Asa Clement, born in De Kalb. Illinois, 
December 18, 1850: married. July 4, 1877. 
Marv E. Hitchcock ; three children. 6. Fannv 



NEW YORK. 



665 



Clement, born in Little Valley, New York, 
April 15. 1854; married, June 8, 1874, Fred 
Eugene Longee : three children. 7. Henry 
Franklin, born August 17, 1857; married, 
March 24, 1884, Mary Church; one child. 

(VII) Marcus Montrose, second son and 
third child of Alcander and Electa (Clement) 
Fay, was born on the Elkdale farm, Cattarau- 
gus county, New York, June 6, 1844. The 
house in which he was born is still standing 
on the old farm. He was educated in the 
public schools, and until he was seventeen 
worked on the home farm. He enlisted (Jan- 
uary 16, 1864) as a bugler of Company F, 
Ninth Regiment, New York Cavalry, serving 
under General Sheridan until the close of 
the war, being honorably discharged June 17, 
1865. He saw a great deal of active service 
but escaped unhurt. On his return from the 
war he brought with him a fine horse, a most 
intelligent animal, which he kept for twenty 
years. Mr. Fay bought a farm on Fish Hill, 
which he cultivated for some time, then went 
to Des Moines, Iowa, where he worked at 
carpentering for three years. On his return 
in 1872 he settled in Mansfield, thence re- 
moved to Otto, remaining until 1892, when he 
removed to Salamanca, his present home. He 
is a most interesting, lovable man, and like his 
grandfather, Nehemiah Fay, full of fun and 
greatly beloved. 

He is a member of the Masonic Order, and 
an Independent in politics. He married, Feb- 
ruary 2~, 1868,. Kate Elizabeth Johnston, born 
in New York, May 29, 1846, daughter of 
Henry and Jane (Barnet) Johnston, born in 
Dalkieth, Scotland, and moved to Dungannon, 
Ireland, with their parents, when small chil- 
dren. Children: 1. Jane E., born in Adell, 
Iowa, October 28, 1869, died there February 
17, 1870. 2. Frank Irving (of further men- 
tion). 3. Mary Ethel, born in Mansfield, New 
York, April 28, 1876; married George Wil- 
son. 4. Laura Euphemia, born in Mansfield,- 
New York, May 29, 1878; married J. Harold 
Morton ; children : Katherine, Addalissia and 
Laura. 5. Gustave Burleigh, born in Otto, 
New York, October 20, 1887. 

(VIII) Frank Irving, eldest son and second 
child of Marcus Montrose and Kate Elizabeth 
(Tohnston) Fay, was born in Great Valley, 
New York. October 1, 1873. He attended the 
public schools, and after completing his studies 
there entered the drug store of B. L. Maltbie, 
at Otto, New York, where he remained two 



years, 1889-90. On September 16, 1891, he 
came to Salamanca, where for five years he 
was in the employ of T. L. Denike ; the next 
four years were spent with John C. 
Krieger, after which he went to Bolivar, where 
he spent a year in the employ of Louis Sei- 
bert. He then returned to Salamanca, New 
York, entered the employ of Krieger Drug 
Company, remaining until 1908, when he pur- 
chased the drug business of his old employer, 
T. L. Denike, and has since that date been 
successfully engaged in conducting the drug 
business under his own name. He is a most 
energetic, capable man of affairs, and is very 
popular in his village. He has fairly earned 
prosperity, and in the conduct of his business 
displays the characteristics of his seven gen- 
erations of American ancestors, "mental 
strength, untiring energy and remarkable exe- 
cutive ability." He is a Republican in politics. 
He married, June 12, 1902, Katherine As- 
enethe Williams, born December 6, 1876, 
daughter of Charles W. and Polly (Scott) 
Williams, of Bolivar, Allegany county, New 
York. Children of Mr. and Mrs. Williams: 
1. Fred, married (first) Carrie Watrous ; 
(second) Anna Wood; child, Glenn W. 2. 
Erastus Goodrich, married Amanda Osborn ; 
children : Maud, Maier and Dana. 3. Walter, 
married Lena Elliot; children: Harold, Leon, 
Milly, Rupert and Genevieve. 4. Herbert, 
married Addie Jackson ; children :Trena, Wini- 
fred and Victor. 5. May, married Clayton C. 
Mead ; child, Cleo E. 6. Katherine A. , mar- 
ried Frank I. Fay. 7. Burl Nicholas, married 
Jessie Fay; child, Fay Williams. Child of 
Frank I. and Katherine A. Fay: Vera Jane, 
born June 12, 1904. 



The Merows of Cattaraugus 
MEROW county, New York, herein men- 
tioned, descend paternally from 
a well-to-do German family who lived near 
Hamburg. On maternal line they descend 
from Robert Daye, who came from England 
to America in 1634. Carson Merow, scion of 
an old German family, was born, lived and 
died in Klein Serker, near Hamburg, Ger- 
many. He was a farmer in good circum- 
stances, married and had a family of thirteen 
children. 

(II) John H., son of Carson Merow, was 
born in 1823, on the Merow homestead, near 
Hamburg, Germany. He worked at farming 
in his native land until his marriage and birth 



666 



NEW YORK. 



of two children. Then gathering his savings 
together, in 1858, he secured passage for the 
United States for self, wife and two children. 
The vessel being a slow sailer, twelve weeks 
were consumed in making the passage. He 
found his way to Cattaraugus county, New 
York, settling in the town of Little Valley, 
where he purchased land in the west part of 
the town, and prospered. He later added to 
his original purchase until he had two hundred 
and twenty-five acres nearly all under cultiva- 
tion. 

He was a hard working man and a 
good citizen. He had hosts of friends and 
seemed to be one man for whom everybody 
had a good word. He met his death, May 6, 
1890, crushed by a heavy log which acciden- 
tally rolled over, while assisting in building 
a log fence. He married . Children : 

1. John C. (of further mention). 2. Sophia, 
born 1852; married Spencer Holdridge ; chil- 
dren : i. Cora, married George Osterstrick and 
has Velona and Wesley, ii. Homer, married 
Edith Taylor, iii. William, iv. Jennie, mar- 
ried Louis Yates, and has Florence, Marian 
and Olive. 3. William, born February 8, 
1859; married, March 14, 1883, Mosella 
Whipple, born December 27, 1857; children: 
i. Bert M., born May 15, 1885, married 
Blanche Guile, ii. Hazel Sareppa, born June 

2, 1890; married, October 28, 1907, William 
Carr. 4. Mary E., born April 21, 1861 ; mar- 
ried, March 28, 1883, Henry A. Marsh, born 
December 2, 1855. Children : i. Minnie, born 
September 4, 1884, married, December 25, 
1907, Albert Woulff, and has Marshall, born 
April 25, 1909. ii. Mabel, born March 25, 
1889. iii. Mamie, November 6, 1894. 

(Ill) John C, son of John H. Merow, was 
born in Little Valley, Cattaraugus county, 
New York, 1850, died there May 15, 1908. 
He obtained his education in the public schools, 
at Chamberlain Institute and at a German 
school in Otto, New York. After leaving 
school he worked first at farming, finally go- 
ing to Olean, New York, where he was em- 
ployed in Butler's dry goods store. In 1883 
he came to Little Valley, where he first clerked 
in the store of E. N. Lee for about seven years, 
when he purchased the Rock City Hotel. He 
rebuilt and enlarged the building, and at the 
time of his death the Rock City was known 
as the best kept family hotel in the county. 
He was a Republican in politics and served 
on the board of education. He was a mem- 



ber of the Lutheran church, and of the Ma- 
sonic order. 

He married, December 11, 1878, Estella 
Day, born September 17, 1857, daughter of 
Orrin and Brooksanna (Jones) Day, of New 
Albion (see Day VII). Children: Clarence, 
born September 12, 1879, died 1880; Eva M., 
born June 28, 1889; married, October 1, 1907, 
John R. Hout, and has Frances M., born De- 
cember 15, 1909. 

Mrs. Estella (Day) Merow survives her 
husband, a resident of Little Valley. 

(The Day Line). 
Estella (Day) Merow is a descendant of 
Robert Daye, born in England, August, 1604, 
died in Hartford, Connecticut, 1648. He came 
from England in 1634 with wife Mary, in 
the ship "Elizabeth," and owned a house on 
the west side of Garden street, Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, in 1635. He soon after moved 
to Hartford, Connecticut, where his name ap- 
pears on a monument erected in that city to 
the memory of the first settlers there. He 
left a goodly estate for his wife and several 
children. He was the ancestor of all the Days 
claiming early Connecticut ancestry. The 
mother of his children was his second wife, 
Editha, sister of Deacon Edward Stebbins. 
She is named in his will, May 20, 1648. Chil- 
dren : Thomas, Sarah, married (first) Na- 
thaniel Gunn, (second) Samuel Kellogg; 
Mary, married (first) Samuel Ely, (second) 
Thomas Stebbins. (third) John Coleman; 
John. Mrs. Editha Day married (second) 
John Maynard, of Hartford. 

(II) John, son of Robert Day, married 
Sarah Raynard (or Butler?), of Hartford. His 
will was dated, November 16, 1725, when he 
was "advanced in years," and proved May 
5, 1730. He owned a share in a grist or saw 
mill, which he bequeathed to his son William. 
Children: 1. Joseph, died 1726. 2. John (of 
further mention). 3. Thomas. 4. Mary, 
married, November 14, 1699, William Clark. 

5. Maynard, married, 1714, Elizabeth Marsh. 

6. Sarah, baptized September 19, 1686; mar- 
ried, June 10, 1708, Spencer. 7. Wil- 
liam, baptized April 24. 1692. 8. Joseph, bap- 
tized June 14, 1699. 

(III) John (2), son of John (1) Day, was 
born in 1677, died November 4, 1752. He 
moved to Colchester, Connecticut, about 1701. 
He married (first) January 21, 1696, Grace 
Spencer, of Hartford, who died May 12, 1714, 



NEW YORK. 



667 



in Colchester. He married (second) Mary 

. who died November 2, 1749, aged 

seventy-four. Children, all of his first wife, 
the first three born in Hartford, Connecticut: 

I. Lydia, born April 11, 1698; married Joseph 
Fuller. 2. Mary, born August 14, 1699 ; 
married, December 20, 1722, Jonathan North- 
am. 3. John, born in Colchester, June 6, 
1701. 4. Joseph, born September 27, 1702. 
5. Benjamin, February 7, 1704. 6. Editha, 
born September 10, 1705 ; married, December 

II, 1729, David Bigelow. 7. Daniel, born 
March 9, 1709, died 1712. 8. David, July 18, 
1710. 9. Abraham, March 17, 1712. 10. 
Isaac, May 17, 1713. n. Daniel, died 1746. 

(IV) A son of John (2) Day, name not 
known, married and among his children was 
Noah (of further mention). 

(V) Noah Day, grandson of John (2) Day, 
married Ann Loomis, and had a son Erastus 
(of further mention). 

( VI ) Erastus, son of Noah and Ann 
(Loomis) Day, was born March 4, 1787. He 
was an early settler in the town of New Al- 
bion, Cattaraugus county, New York, and a 
farmer of that town. He married, in 1812, 
Marion Lee. Children : Asahel, born June 4, 
1813; Eli, May 10. 1815: Hudson, August 
28, 1816; Wealthy, July 11, 1818; Orrin (of 
further mention) ; Elias, born July 18, 1827. 

(VII) Orrin, son of Erastus and Marion 
(Lee) Day, was born January 10, 1821, died 
1868. He was a farmer of New Albion, cul- 
tivating the homestead farm, and a man of 
high character. He married, 1845, Brook- 
sanna Jones, of Cattaraugus, who was born in 
Milford, New York, December 16, 1825, still 
living in October, 191 1, at eighty-five years of 
age, daughter of Moses J. Jones, of Otsego 
county, prior to settlement in New Albion. 
Children : Alvin C, born April 18, 1848, died 
aged fourteen. 2. Frances E., August 3, 
1851; married Cornelius Spore; children: 
Ernest, Luella, Frank and Jessie. 3. Estella, 
born September 17, 1857; married John C. 
Merow. 4. Rosella, twin of Estella, died 
January 8, 1878. 5. George B., born August 
20, 1862. 



Eminent authority, in contrib- 
WILLIAMS uting to the name of Williams, 

states that the family is one 
of the most noted of the early New England 
settlers for intellectual ability and the social 
and public standing of its members. They 



antedated the Christian era, flourished, and 
came down through the mediaeval reigns. 
Burke's "Book of Peerage and Baronetage" 
says of the house of Williams, of Penrhyn, 
the most ancient family of the northern prin- 
cipality of Wales, that it deduces its pedigree 
with singular perspicuity from Brutus, son 
of Sylvius, posthumous son of Acencus, son 
of Acucus, which Brutus was first King of 
Britain, and began to reign about eleven hun- 
dred years before the birth of Christ. Other 
authorities trace them back to several years 
before the Norman Conquest ( 1066) from a 
Welsh chief. From Marchudel of Cyam, 
Lord of Abergelin, in Denbighshire, one of 
the fifteen tribes of Northern Wales, is de- 
scended Endyfid Vycham, Lord of Brynfrenigl 
in Denbighland, a powerful noble of his time, 
and from whom the royal house of Tudor 
is claimed to have descended. The eminent 
family, in common with the royal house of 
Tudor. Lloyds of Plymog, Lord Moslyn, and 
other distinguished lines, derive from Mar- 
chudd ap Cynam, Lord of Carnarvon, founder 
of the eight noble tribes of North Wales and 
Powys. contemporary with Rhodri Mawr 
(Roderic the Great), King of Wales, who 
succeeded to the throne in 843 and died in 
877 A. D. 

The first to adopt the name of Williams as 
a surname was Roger Williams, of Llangibbv 
Castle and the Priory at Uske, county Mon- 
mouth. England. He was said to be a direct 
descendant of Brychan Bricheininish, prince 
and lord of Brecknock, who lived about the 
year 490. The pedigree also shows the name 
of Roger Williams, of Flint. Wales, from 
whom descended John Williams, receiver of 
Flintshire in the reign of Edward IV., which 
extended from the year 1461 to 1483, who 
married for his first wife the daughter and 
heir of Edward Matthews, of Yorkshire. Their 
son George assumed the name of Matthew, 
which has continued to be a family name ever 
since. The Welsh coat-of-arms has the in- 
scription : "He beareth sable," showing royalty, 
and is as follows: Arms, lion rampant argent, 
armed and langued, gules. Crest: A moor 
cock or partridge. Motto: Cognosce occa- 
sioncin ("Watches his opportunity"). The 
Welsh motto: "Y fyno Dwy Y. fidd" ("What 
God willeth will be."). 

(I) Matthew Williams, progenitor of the 
Essexcounty, New Jersey, families, born about 
1605, was according to the best authority the 



NEW YORK. 



eldest son of Richard Williams, who descend- 
ed from the Williams family of Glamorgan- 
shire, Wales. Authority further states that 
Richard was a kinsman of Oliver Cromwell, 
a traditional claim of Richard Williams as 
well, and, moreover, which is not common to 
other pioneer Williams families of New Eng- 
land. It is claimed that Oliver Cromwell was 
a Williams by birth. Coyle states that Crom- 
well descended from General Williams, of 
Berkshire, or from Morgan Williams, of 
Glamorganshire, and called him Cromwell, alias 
Williams, he having assumed the name from 
his maternal uncle, Thomas Cromwell, secre- 
tary of state to Henry VIII., on account of 
estates to him. Matthew Williams for a time 
seems to have been at Watertown, Massa- 
chusetts, from whence, like many other settlers 
there, allured by the attractive reports of Old- 
ham and Hall, the pioneer traders and ex- 
plorers of the Connecticut valleys, came to 
Pyquaug, the old Indian name of Wethers- 
field, in 1642. He was doubtless a brother of 
Thomas, who later settled at Rocky Hill (Old 
Wethersfield) and a cousin of Richard Wil- 
liams, of Taunton, born January 28, 1606, son 
of William Williams, who descended from a 
family of that name in Glamorganshire, Wales. 
William Williams was of Synwell, a hamlet 
in Wotten-under-Edge. According to his will, 
he speaks of his brother, Mr. Richard Wil- 
liams. 

Matthew Williams, of Wethersfield, was a 
brickmaker by trade, and a yeoman, which 
is proved by the earmarks of his cattle, which 
were recorded in the records. After 1655 he 
was for a time at Long Island, and eventually 
at the Barbadoes, though still a householder 
at the Wethersfield colony, where his family 
were still living. January 14, 1678, according 
to Hutton's emigration records, he was grant- 
ed a ticket-of-leave back to the colony with 
his servant, a slave. His death probably oc- 
curred the following year (1679), for in 1680 
his widow, Susanna Williams, asked the court 
at Wethersfield to appraise the estate and di- 
vide between the sons, and this step on her part 
probably fixes a conclusive date for the depart- 
ure of the widow and her three sons, as fol- 
lows : Amos, now thirty-five years of age, with 
his wife and three children; Matthew, twenty- 
nine years of age ; Samuel, twenty-seven, all 
coming to Essex county. New Jersey, in the 
sen 'iid Branford emigration. Samuel settled 
at Elizabethtown, and Amos nearby; Samuel 



died in 1706. Matthew Williams Sr., mar- 
ried, about 1644, Susanna Cole, of English 
birth, probably a sister of James Cole, an 
early settler there, and in 1639 an original 
settler and planter of Hartford, Connecticut. 
Children : Amos, born March 14, 1645 ; Mat- 
thew, October 27, 1647, died an infant; Mat- 
thew, born May 14, 165 1 ; Samuel, January 
4. 1653-4, died at Elizabethtown, 1706. 

(III) John, grandson of Matthew Williams, 
and son of Amos or Samuel Williams, died 
February 22, 17 19. He married, and had a 
son George. 

(IV) George, son of John Williams, was 
born about 1685. He married and had issue: 
Obadiah, of whom further ; Hezekiah, born 
1713, died 1715 ; George., born 1714, died 
1750; Hezekiah, 1716, died about 1806; John, 
1719, died 1788; Experience. 1721 ; Elihu, 
1726; Hannah, 1743. 

(V) Obadiah, son of George Williams, was 
born 1710, died 1748. He married Catherine, 
daughter of Humphrey Wady, of Long Plain, 
Massachusetts. Children : John, of whom 
further ; Sarah, born at Shrewsbury, New Jer- 
sey, November 10, 1745 ; married Nicholas 
Davis (2) ; Ann, born October 26, 1747, died 
in infancy. 

(VI) John, son of Obadiah and Catherine 
(Wady) Williams, was born in Shrewsbury, 
New Jersey, July 26, 1743, died at Troy, New 
York, September 18, 1818. He lived for a 
time in New Bedford, Massachusetts. He 
married (first) Mary Davis ; six children. He 
married (second) Martha Peabody, daughter 
of John Russell, no issue. He married (third) 
Jane Allen, who died in 1812; nine children. 
Children by first wife: Obadiah (2), of whom 
further mention ; David, born 1769, died 1825 ; 
Jonathan, twin of David, died 1799; Cather- 
ine, born 1771 ; Nicholas, 1773, died 1837; 
John Wady, 1775, died 1776. Children of 
third wife: John, born 1783, died 1855 : Elihu, 
1785, died in infancy; Hezekiah, twin of Eli- 
hu, died 1849; Mary, 1787, living in 1857; 
Elizabeth, 1788, living in 1857: Elihu, (2), 
living in 1857; Ruth, 1790, died in infancy; 
Ruth (2), died in infancy; Thomas, 1793, 
living in 1857. 

(VII) Obadiah (2), son of John and his 
first wife, Mary (Davis) Williams, was born 
February 10, 1767. in New Bedford, Massa- 
chusetts, died 1848. He lived for a time at 
least in the state of Rhode Island, where at 
least one of his children was born, but later 



NEW YORK. 



669 



removed to Tompkins county, New York ; 
where he died. He married Dorcas Earl, who 
died June 24, 1805; (second) Ruth Hadwin, 
who died March 20, 1855. Children of first 
wife: Samuel, born February 22, 1791, died 
March 26, 1875 ; James, of whom further ; 
John Earl, born August 18, 1794, no living 
descendants; Sarah, October 8, 1796, no living 
descendants ; Eliza, July 3, 1799, died April 
22. 1890, married John Mott, and had chil- 
dren ; no descendants ; Henry, August 5, 1801 ; 
Ann, September 21, 1803, no living descend- 
ants. Children of second wife: Dorcas, June 
7, 1805, married John Purdy, and had chil- 
dren ; Catherine, January 10, 1810, married 
Thomas Carman, died July 8, 1890, no living 
descendants; Francis, September 16, 181 1, 
married and had children; Margaret, 1817, 
died February 26, 1875, married also Thomas 
Carman, and had children. 

(VIII) James, second son of Obadiah (2) 
and his first wife, Dorcas (Earl) Williams, 
was born in Newport, Rhode Island, Septem- 
ber 20, 1792, died September 9, 1872, at Sin- 
clairville, Chautauqua county, New York, 
where he is buried with his wife in Ever- 
green Cemetery. He resided in Tompkins 
county, New York, later in the city of 
Ithaca, New York, removing to Chautauqau 
county. New York, 1834, settling on a farm 
in the southwestern corner of the town of 
Charlotte, where he was a well known and 
greatly respected citizen. He married, at 
Ithaca, April 17, 1817, Esther, daughter 
of John and Esther (Pride) Tracy. 
Children: 1. Frederick Tracy, born at 
Ithaca, New York, February 3, 1818, 
died at Ellery, New York, April 3, 
1853; married, at Ellery, October 24. 1841. 
Ann H. Aldrich, born at Ithaca, November 5, 
1817, died at Ellery, March 15, 1882, daughter 
of Tillson Aldrich; children: Sarah M., mar- 
ried Gustavus A. Bentley, and Frederick Till- 
son married Mary Rogers. 2. Susan, born 
at Ithaca, New York, June 9, 1819, died at 
Bayonne, New Jersey, January 3, 1879; mar- 
ried Willard Tracy Eddy, her cousin ; chil- 
dren : i. Harriet Emily, died at Washington, 
D. C, October 22, 1901, unmarried; ii. Su- 
san Maria, married William J. Savoye ; iii. 
Willard Tracy, married Harriet Louise Sa- 
voye ; iv. Alice, married Robert A. Smith. 3. 
Emily, born in Bucks county, Pennsylvania. 
August 25, 1821, died at Lind, Wisconsin, 
July 11, 1886; married, at Charlotte, New 



York, August 25, 1840, Josiah Fisher, who 
died November 30, 1881 ; children: i. Mary, 
died unmarried, ii. Henry H., married Mary 
L. Randall, iii. Esther Ella, married George 
R. Lollin. iv. Jennie M., married George F. 
Pope. v. George W., married Thirza Mill- 
man. 4. Henry, born August 12, 1823, died 
in infancy. 5. Maria, born April 29, 1826, 
died in infancy. 6. Henry Hudson, born in 
Hudson, New York, September 26, 1828, died 
in San Diego, California, in March, 1906; 
married, in Osawatomie, Kansas, February 
23, 1859, Mary A. Carr, born in Perry, New 
York, August 9, 1841 ; children : i. John Carr, 
born and died in Kansas, aged sixteen years, 
ii. George Henry, died in childhood, iii. Min- 
nie Esther, married George William Walrod, 
and died May 21, 1902. iv. James Walter, 
married Josie D. Burroughs, v. Charles Lin- 
coln, married Pearl Ray. vi. Fannie Sarah, 
married Charles L. Burns, vii. Mary Henry. 

7. Maria, born in Ithaca, New York, Decem- 
ber 31, 1830, died in Sinclairville, New York, 
February 16, 1879; married, in Charlotte, New 
York, May 21, 1855, Lorenzo Sornberger, died 
at Osawatomie, Kansas, January 26, 1861. 

8. George Tyler, born in Ithaca, New York, 
July 28, 1833; married, Freeport, Illinois, Au- 
gust 24. 1865, Sarah A. Clark ; he was a prom- 
inent telegraph operator, becoming district su- 
perintendent, with offices at St. Louis, Mis- 
souri, and Cleveland, Ohio ; children : i. 
George Hicks, married Eva Mills, ii. Clara 
Esther, married Charles Shackleton. iii. Ed- 
ward Hall, married Mary Jane Nichol. iv. 
Grace Joy. v. Tracy Clark, married Harriet 
M. Richards, vi. Sanborn Edgell, died in in- 
fancy. 9. Edwin, of further mention. 

(IX) Edwin, ninth and youngest child of 
James and Esther (Tracy) Williams, was born 
on the old Williams homestead in the extreme 
southwestern corner of the town of Charlotte, 
Chautauqua county, New York, September 19, 
1837. He was educated in the public schools 
and Fredonia Academy. His early life was 
spent on the farm, which was his home until 
he reached manhood. He was for a time em- 
ployed in the neighboring town of Sinclair- 
ville (two miles east of the Williams farm). 
Later he removed to Michigan, where others 
of his wife's family had settled. He pur- 
chased a farm at Armada, remaining thereon 
for five years, when he sold out and returned 
to New York state. For the next seven years 
Mr. Williams was engaged in merchandising 



6/0 



NEW YORK. 



in Sinclairville, Chautauqua county. New 
York, having as partner R. E. Sheldon. The 
firm was successful, and transacted a large 
volume of business along the lines of a general 
country store. At the end of seven years they 
dissolved, and two years later Mr. Williams 
resumed business in the same village. For 
twelve years he continued in general merchan- 
dising, conducting business under the name of 
Edwin Williams. He then sold out, and two 
years later removed to Jamestown, and made 
his home at 214 Clinton street, where he has 
since lived a retired life. Mr. Williams has 
spent an active, busy life, and has won a repu- 
tation for good business ability, uprightness 
and square dealing. He has a large circle of 
warm friends with whom his declining years 
are spent. He is a member of the Congregational 
church, having joined the Sinclairville church 
in early life. He was elected trustee of that 
church when but eighteen years of age, and 
when living in Michigan served the Armada 
church as deacon. He has been a lifelong 
advocate of temperance, belonging in former 
years to the Good Templars, and supports the 
Prohibition party with vote and influence. 
While living in Sinclairville he served as vil- 
lage trustee, and took an active part in village 
public life. At the age of seventy-three 
(1911) he is active and vigorous, keeping in 
touch with matters of public importance and 
retaining his interest in church, city and daily 
neighborhood happenings. He married, Jan- 
uary 1, 1862, Calista T. Dorsett, born in East- 
ford, Connecticut, September 8, 1843, daugh- 
ter of Daniel B. and Harriet F. Dorsett. They 
have no children. 

( The Tracy Line ) . 

( I ) Ecgberht, first King of England, 
reigned 800-838, he married Lady Redburga, 
and had: Aethelwulf, Aethelstan, and Eadith 
(St. Edith). 

(II) Aethelwulf, son of Ecgberht and Lady 
Redburga, married (first) Osburga, daughter 
of Oslac, and had: Aethelstan, Aethelbald, 
Aethelbert. Aethelbald (2), Aelfred (the 
Great), and Aethelswitha. He married (sec- 
ond ) Judith, daughter of Charles the Bald, 
Emperor and King of France, and great-grand- 
daughter of Emperor Charlemagne. Judith 
married (second) Baldwin, first count of 
Flanders, and became the ancestress of Ma- 
tilda, wife of William the Conqueror. 

(III) Aelfred (the Great), son of Aethel- 



wulf and Osburga, married Ealswitha, daugh- 
ter of the Earl of Lincolnshire, and had : Ead- 
mund, Eadward (see forward), Aethelwald, 
Aethelfleda. Aethelgida and Aelfthryth. 

(IV) Eadward (the Elder), married (first) 
Ecguina, and had three children; (second) 
Ealfleda, and had eight children: (third) Ead- 
gina, daughter of Earl Sigeline. and had : 
Eadmund (see forward), Eadred, Eadburga 
and Eadgina. 

(V) Eadmund (1) married Aelfgifu, and 
had : Eadwig, Eadgar. 

(VI) Eadgar, son of Eadmund (1) and 
Aelfgifu, married (first) Aethelflaeda (the 
Fair), daughter of Earl Ordmar, and had: 
Eadward. He married (second) Aelfthryth, 
daughter of Ordgar. Duke of Devonshire, and 
widow of Earl Aethelwold. Children: Ead- 
mund and Aethelred (see forward). 

(VII) Aethelred II. (the Unready), mar- 
ried (first) Ealfleda, daughter of Earldorman 
Thored. Children: Edmund (Ironsides) and 
eight others. He married (second) Emma, of 
Normandy. Children : Aelfred, Eadward ( the 
Confessor), Goda (see forward). 

(VIII) Princess Goda, daughter of Aethel- 
red II. and Emma, of Normandy, married 
(first) Dreux, Count of Yexin, in France, 
called by English historians Count of Mantes, 
and said to be a descendant of Charlemagne. 
Children: Gauthier, sometimes called Walter; 
Rudolf (see forward) ; Foulgues, Poutoise. 

(IX) Rudolf, son of the Count of Mantes 
and Princess Goda, also called Rudolph or 
Ralph de Mantes, was lord of the manor of 
Sudeley and Toddington, and was created 
Earl of Hereford by his uncle, Edward 
the Confessor, and deprived of his earldom 
in the reign of William the Conqueror. He 
married Gethe, and had one son, Harold. 

(X) Harold, only son of Rudolf and Gethe 
de Mantes, married Matilda, daughter of 
Hugh-Lupus, first Earl of Chester and nephew 
of William the Conqueror. Children: John 
de Sudeley and Robert de Ewyas. 

(XI) John de Sudeley, son of the preced- 
ing, married Grace, daughter and heiress of 
Henri de Traci. feudal Lord of Barnstable, in 
Devonshire. Children : Ralph, who became the 
heir of his father, and William de Traci, con- 
cerning whom see forward. 

(Nil) William de Traci inherited the lands 
of his mother and assumed her family name, 
becoming, as a knight of Gloucestershire, Sir 
William de Traci, and held the lands of his 



NEW YORK. 



671 



brother by one knight's fee. He married 
Hawise de Born, and left one son and two 
daughters. 

(XIII) Sir Henry de Tracy, of Todding- 
ton, died about 1246, leaving: Margery, Henry 
and Thomas. 

(XIV) Sir Henry de Tracy, of Toddington, 
had children : William and Eve. 

(XV) Sir William Tracy (the "de" being 
omitted in this generation), of Toddington, 
had command in the Scottish war in the reign 
of Edward I. 

(XVI) Sir William Tracy, of Toddington, 
held high offices. Children: Margery and 
William. 

(XVII) William Tracy, Esq., was of Todd- 
ington. 

(XVIII) Sir John Tracy, of Toddington, 
was sheriff of the county five years in succes- 
sion, and died in 1363. He left children : 
John, Margaret and Dorothy. 

(XIX) Sir John Tracy, of Toddington, was 
a member of parliament and sheriff. Chil- 
dren : William and Margaret. 

(XX) William Tracy, Esq., of Toddington, 
was high sheriff of Gloucestershire in 1395, 
and died in 1399. 

(XXI) William Tracy, Esq., of Todding- 
ton, was called to the privy council of Henry 
IV., and was high sheriff during the reign of 
Henry V. He married Alice, daughter of Sir 
Guy de la Spine, and widow of William Gif- 
ford. Children : William, John and Alice. 

(XXII) William Tracy, Esq., of Todding- 
ton, was sheriff of Gloucestershire during the 
reign of Henry VI. He married Margery, 
daughter of Sir John Pauncefort Knight. 
Children: Henry, Richard and Margery. 

(XXIII) Henry Tracy, Esq., of Todding- 
ton, died about 1506. He married Alice, 
daughter of Thomas Baldington, Esq., of Al- 
derley, county of Oxford. Children : William, 
Richard, Ralph, Anne, Elizabeth. 

(XXIV) Sir William Tracy, of Todding- 
ton, was sheriff of Gloucestershire during the 
reign of Henry VIII. He married Margaret, 
daughter of Sir Thomas Throckmorton, of 
Cross Court, Gloucestershire. Children : Wil- 
liam, Robert, Richard and Alice. 

(XXV) Richard Tracy, Esq., of Todding- 
ton, was the sheriff of Gloucestershire during 
the reign of Queen Elizabeth. He married 
Barbara, daughter of Sir Thomas Lucy, of 
Charlecote, Warwickshire. Children : Hester, 
Nathaniel, Susan, Judith, Paul and Samuel. 



(XXVI) Nathaniel Tracy, of Tewkesbury, 
received lands at that place from his father. 

(XXVII) Lieutenant Thomas Tracy, son 
of Nathaniel Tracy, of Tewkesbury, was born 
at Tewkesbury, about 1610, died at Norwich, 
Connecticut, November 7, 1685. He came to 
Salem, Massachusetts, in April, 1636, removed 
to Wethersfield, and was one of the original 
proprietors of Norwich in 1660. He married 
(first) at Wethersfield, 1641, Mary, widow of 
Edward Mason; (second) at Norwich, prior 
to 1679, Martha, daughter of Thomas Bourne, 
of Marshfield, and widow of John, son of 
Governor Bradford; (third) at Norwich, 
Mary, daughter of Nathaniel and Elizabeth 
(Demming) Foote, of Wethersfield, and 
widow of (first) John Stoddard, (second) 
John Goodrich. Children, all by first mar- 
riage: 1. John (see forward). 2. Thomas, 
married and had: Nathaniel, Jeremiah, Daniel, 
Thomas, Jedediah, Sarah, Deborah and Jeru- 
sha. 3. Jonathan, married (first) Mary, 
daughter of Lieutenant Francis Griswold, and 
had: Jonathan, Christopher, David, Francis, 
Samuel, Hannah, Mary, Mariam and Sarah. 
He married (second) Mary Richards, who 
married (second) Eleazer Jewett. 4. Dr. 
Solomon, married (first) Sarah, daughter of 
Deacon Simon Huntington, the first, and had : 
Simon, Solomon and Lydia ; married (second) 
Sarah Bliss, widow of Thomas Soluman, and 
had one son. 5. Daniel, married, (first") Abi- 
gail, daughter of Deacon and Mary 

(Bushnell) Adgate, and had: Daniel and Abi- 
gail; he married (second) Widow Hannah 
(Backus) Bingham, and had: Samuel and 
Elizabeth. 6. Samuel, died without issue. 7. 
Miriam, married Lieutenant Thomas, son of 
Robert and Elizabeth (Bourn) Waterman, of 
Marshfield. 

(XXVIII) Captain John Tracy, son of 
Lieutenant Thomas and Mary (Mason) Tracy, 
was born at Wethersfield, in 1642, died at Nor- 
wich, August 16, 1702. He was one of the 
original proprietors of Norwich, justice of the 
peace, represented his town in the legislature 
at six sessions, and was prominent in all pub- 
lic affairs. He married, August 17, 1670, 
Mary, born 1646, died July 21, 1721, daughter 
of Josiah and Margaret (Bourne) Winslow, 
and niece of Governor Winslow of the "May- 
flower." Children: 1. Josiah, died young. 2. 
John (see forward). 3. Joseph, married Mar- 
garet Abel; children: Joseph, Dr. Elisha, 
Phineas, Mary Margaret, Zervia, Lydia, Irene, 



6/2 



NEW YORK. 



Jerusha and Elizabeth. 4. Winslow, married 
Rachel, daughter of Joshua and Hannah 
(Bradford) Ripley, and had: Joshua, Perez, 
Josiah, Eliphalet, Nehemiah, Samuel, Solo- 
mon. 5. Elizabeth, married Nathaniel, son of 
William and Elizabeth (Pratt) Backus. 

(XXIX)) John (2), son of Captain John 
(1) and Mary (Winslow) Tracy, was born 
about 1675. He married Elizabeth, daughter 
of Thomas Leffingwell. Children: John (3), 
of further mention ; Hezekiah, died without is- 
sue : Joshua, no record, perhaps died young ; 

Isaac, married Bushnell ; Ann (or 

Anne) married Richard, second son of Will- 
iam Hyde (2), of Norwich; Ruth, married 
Elijah, third son of Samuel Hyde (2) ; Eliza- 
beth, no record. 

(XXX) John (3), son of John (2) and 
Elizabeth (Leffingwell) Tracy, was born June 
27, 1700, died at West Farms, now Franklin, 
August 20, 1786. He married, January 21, 
1724, Margaret, daughter of John Hyde (1), 
of Norwich. Children: John (4), of whom 
further ; Eleazer, Josiah, Hezekiah, Daniel, 
Theophilus, Joshua. Elizabeth, married Zebe- 

diah Edgerton, Margaret, married 

Bentley, and Rachel, married Ezekiel Hyde. 

(XXXI) John (4), eldest son of John (3) 
and Margaret (Hyde) Tracy, was born at 
Norwich, Connecticut, February 11, 1725, died 
at Franklin, March 28, 1810. He married, Oc- 
tober 13, 1747, his third cousin, Margaret 
Huntington. Children: John (5), of whom 
further ; Oliver, married Lydia Rudd : Erastus, 
married Sally Prentice; Lydia, married An- 
drew Hyde; Margaret, married Benjamin 
Storrs : Mary, died unmarried. 

(XXXII ('John (5), eldest son of John (4) 
and Margaret (Huntington) Tracy, was born 
December 21, 1755. He settled in Columbus, 
New York, where he died January 14, 1821. 
He married, May 24, 1780, Esther Pride, died 
June, 1838. Children: 1. Rachel, born at 
Norwich, Connecticut, August 22, 1781, died 
in Wisconsin, October 29, 1852 ; married An- 
drew Palmer, of Mansfield. Connecticut. 2. 
John (6), born at Norwich, October 25, 1783 ; 
settled at Oxford, New York, and became a 
very prominent and influential citizen ; he was 
a member of New York legislature, lieutenant- 
governor of the state, and president of the 
constitutional convention of 1846; married a 
distant kinswoman, Susannah Hyde ; both died 
in Oxford. 3. Zedediah, born in Franklin, 
Connecticut, October 8, 1786; settled at Dur- 



hamville, New York,, where he died. Married 
(first) Dorothy Robinson; (second) Frances 
Hubbard. 4. Ulysses, born August 13, 1790, 
died in infancy. 5. Harriet, born at Franklin, 
May 16, 1792, died at Ithaca, New York ; mar- 
ried Otis Eddy. 6. Bela, born at Franklin, 
April 19, 1794, died at Titusville. Pennsyl- 
vania ; married Calista Spurr. 7. Esther, of 
whom further. 8. Emily, born at Franklin, 
November 10, 1798, died at Jamestown, New 
York, September 30, 1838 ; married Dr. Wil- 
liam Hedges, a physician, of Jamestown. 9. 
Ulysses (2), born at Franklin, January 4, 1803, 
died at Sinclairville, New York, August 19, 
1840; married. October, 1835, Jane L. Bunker. 
(XXXIII) Esther, seventh child and second 
daughter of John (5) and Esther (Pride) 
Tracy, was born at Franklin, Connecticut, No- 
vember 8, 1796, died at Sinclairville, New 
York : she married, at Ithaca, New York, 
April 17, 1817, James Williams, and is buried 
with him in Evergreen Cemetery, at Sinclair- 
ville. ( See Williams). 

(The Dorsett Line). 
( I ) Mrs. Calista T. ( Dorsett ) Williams is 

a descendant, on the paternal side, of 

Dorsett, residents of Acadia, Nova Scotia, 
from whence they were exiled with other resi- 
dents in 1754-55, being placed in the town of 
Union, Connecticut. They were the parents 
of a large family, among whom was Joseph 
(see forward ). 

(II) Joseph Dorsett, grandfather of Mrs. 
Williams, was born June 1, 1775, died May 
29, 1855. He married Abigail Hanks, born 
February 23, 1780. died April 16, 1820. daugh- 
ter of Benjamin Hanks. They were the par- 
ents of eight children, the youngest of whom 
was Daniel Brewster (see forward). 

(III) Daniel Brewster Dorsett, father of 
Mrs. Williams, was born June 12, 1816, died 
August 15, 1892. He married, at Eastford, 
Connecticut, November 16, 1841, Harriet Fox 
Preston. "In 1849 they moved to Sinclairville, 
Chautauqua county. New York, and there re- 
sided until 1890, when they removed to James- 
town. Xew York. Their children were: 1. 
Calista T., born in Eastford. Connecticut, Sep- 
tember 8, 1843: married. January 1. 1862, Ed- 
win Williams (see Williams, IX). 2. Daniel 
H., born in Eastford, Connecticut, July 6, 
1845, died in Salt Lake City, Utah, November 
12, 1907. He married (first) Ellen R. Shep- 
ard, of Marshalltown, Iowa, who bore him 



NEW YORK. 



673 



two children : Rae Shepard. now a physician 
in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and Leonard 
P., who is engaged in business in Washington, 
D. C. He married (second) Marie Anderson, 
who bore him five children. 3. Charles W., 
born in Sinclairville, New York, September 28, 
1850; married, June 29, 1876, Martha Angle, 
of Randolph, New York ; they have two 
daughters married and living in Minneapolis, 
Minnesota, and three adopted children. 4. 
Hattie Preston, born in Sinclairville, New 
York, October 15, 1857, died January 24, 1863. 
5. Minnie F., born in Sinclairville, New York, 
April 22, 1865 ; married. May 14, 1885, at Sin- 
clairville, Dr. George F. Smith ; children : 
Charles, born July 15, 1887, died August 31. 
1908; D. Burt, born May I, 1891. 

Mrs. Harriet Fox (Preston) Dorsett was 
a granddaughter of Esek Preston, who was a 
resident of Eastford, Connecticut. He mar- 
ried Sally, born October 20, 1769, daughter of 
Major Earl Clapp, of Rochester, Massachu- 
setts. They were the parents of ten children, 
the eldest of whom was Earl Clapp (see for- 
ward ). 

Earl Clapp Preston, son of Esek and Sally 
(Clapp) Preston, and father of Mrs. Dorsett, 
was born November 25, 1796, died in Sin- 
clairville, Chautauqua county. New York, May 
5, 1890, having almost attained the century 
mark. He married, March 29, 1821, Harriet 
Fox, daughter of William and Mary Fox, of 
Woodstock, Connecticut. She died in Sinclair- 
ville, New York, February 5, 1875. They 
were the parents of four children, among 
whom was Harriet Fox, the second child, born 
April 27, 1824, died November 11, 1904, afore- 
mentioned as the wife of Daniel Brewster Dor- 
sett and mother of Mrs. Williams. 



This family is of great 
WILLIAMS antiquity in England and 

Wales, and the name is de- 
rived from the ancient personal name William. 
Like many other possessive names, it arose 
from the Welsh custom of adding to a man's 
name the name of his father in the possessive 
form, as William John's, from which quickly 
came Jones, David Richard's, Thomas David's 
(Davie's Davis), and kindred forms. Sir 
Robert Williams, ninth baronet of the house 
of Williams of Penrhyn, was a lineal descend- 
ant of Marchudes of Cyan, Lord of Aberglen, 
in Denbighshire, of one of the fifteen tribes 
of North Wales that lived in the time of Rod- 



erick the Great, King of the Britons, about 
A. D. 849. The seat of the family was in 
Flint, Wales, and in Lincolnshire, England. 
Oliver Cromwell, the Protector, was a Wil- 
liams by right of descent, and was related 
to Richard Williams, who settled in Taunton, 
Massachusets. Alden de Cromwell lived in the 
time of William .the Conqueror, and from him 
descended in succession ten Ralph de Crom- 
wells, the last dying without issue. The 
seventh Ralph de Cromwell married Amicia, 
daughter of Robert Berer, member of par- 
liament. Robert Cromwell was a Lancastrian 
killed in the wars of 1461. His son William 
(2) left a daughter Margaret, who was an- 
cestor of both Cromwell and Williams. John 
Cromwell (3) married Joan Smith, and had 
son Walter (4), who married a Glossop. 
Katherine ( 5 ) , daughter of Walter Cromwell, 
married Morgan Williams, fifth from Howell 
Williams, mentioned below. Sir Richard (6), 
son of Morgan and Katherine, born about 
1495, married Frances Murfyn. After reach- 
ing mature years he took the name of Crom- 
well, under tl^e patronage of his mother's 
brother, Thomas Cromwell, and lived in 
Glamorganshire, Wales. Sir Henry (7), son 
of Sir Richard Cromwell, alias Williams, was 
called the "Golden Knight" of Hinchenbrook, 
Huntington, and married Joan Warren. Rob- 
ert (8) Cromwell, alias Williams, was of 
Huntington, a brewer, and married Elizabeth 
Stewart. Their first child was Oliver the 
Great Protector, who used the alias in his 
youth, his name appearing on deeds as Oliver 
Williams, alias Cromwell. (I) Howell Wil- 
liams, Lord of Ribour, was progenitor of the 
Williams family of Wales. (2) Morgan, son 
of Howell Williams, married Joan Batten. (3) 
Thomas, son of Morgan and Joan Williams, 
was of Lancashire, and died in London. (4) 
John, son of Thomas Williams, married Mar- 
garet Smith and died at Mortlake, 1502. 
(5) John, son of John and Margaret Williams, 
born 1485, married Joan, daughter of Henry 
Wykis, of Bolley's Park, Certney, and sister 
of Elizabeth Wykis, who married Thomas 
Cromwell (brother of Katherine, mentioned 
above), secretary to Henry VIII, Lord Crom- 
well of Oakham, Earl of Essex. (6) Richard, 
son of John and Joan Williams, born 1487, at 
Rochampton, settled at Monmouth and Dexter, 
and died 1559. (7) John, son of Richard Wil- 
liams, was of Huntingdonshire, near Wotton- 
under-Edge, Gloucester, died 1577. (8) Wil- 



674 



NEW YORK. 



Hams, son of John, was also of Huntingdon 
and married (first) November 15, 1585, Jane 
Shepherd; (second) December 4, 1603, Jane 
Woodward. His first child by the second mar- 
riage was Richard Williams, who settled at 
Taunton. The Williams families of America 
descend from more than a score of different 
ancestors. That several of them were related 
to Richard of Taunton seems certain, but the 
degree has not been traced in various instances. 

(I) Stephen and Mary (Cook) Williams re- 
sided in England, whence their son came to 
America, and among the descendants was the 
founder of Williams College. 

(II) Robert, son of Stephen and Mary 
(Cook) Williams, was born 1598. and baptized 
at Great Yarmouth, England. He came from 
Norwich to Roxbury, Massachusetts, where 
he was made a freeman in 1638. He sailed 
from Great Yarmouth in 1635. in the ship 
"Rose," and died at Roxbury, September 1, 
1693. He was a member of the Ancient and 
Honorable Artillery Company of Boston in 
1644. He married (first), December 11, 1628, 
in England, Elizabeth Stahlman, who died 
July 28, 1674; (second) Martha Strong, who 
died December 22, 1704. Children : Elizabeth, 
Deborah, John, Samuel, Isaac, Stephen and 
Thomas. 

(III) Samuel (1), second son of Robert 
and Elizabeth (Stahlman) Williams, was born 
in England, 1632, died September 28, 1698; 
married, March 2, 1654, Theoda, daughter of 
Deacon William and Martha (Holgrave) 
Parke, of Roxbury, who married (second) 
Stephen Peck. Children : Elizabeth ; Samuel 
(2); Martha; Elizabeth (2); Theoda; John; 
Deborah, married Joseph Warren, grandfather 
of General Joseph Warren, who was killed at 
Bunker Hill ; Martha, Abigail and Park. One 
of his sons, Rev. John, was a graduate of 
Harvard College, 1683, and the first minister 
of Deerfield, Massachusetts. The story of his 
captivity among the Indians is a familiar one. 

(IV) Samuel (2), son of Samuel (1) and 
Theoda (Parke) Williams, was born in Rox- 
bury, Massachusetts, April 15, 1655, died in 
Brooklyn, Connecticut, August 8, 1735 ; mar- 
ried (first) Sarah May, February 24, 1679. 
She died December 29, 1712. He married 
(second), April 28, 1720, Dorothy (Weld) 
Denison. Children: Samuel (3); Theoda, 
married Samuel Scarborough ; John ; Sarah, 
married John Polly; Ebenezer; Elizabeth, 
married Rev. Samuel Ruggles ; Eleazer ; Wil- 



liam, of whom further ; Martha, married 
Thomas Colton. Descendants of first and sec- 
ond Samuel have been noted in the Christian 
ministry. 

(V) William, son of Samuel (2) and Sarah 
(May) Williams, was born in Brooklyn, Con- 
necticut, April 24, 1698, died June 21, 1766; 
married, 1720, Sarah Stevens, of Roxbury, 
and removed to Pomfret the same year. He 
was a deacon of the Roxbury church, and 
was also connected with the church at Pom- 
fret. His wife died June 6, 1786, aged eighty 
years. Children: Samuel, of whom further; 
William, married Martha Williams ; Thomas, 
graduate of Yale College; Nathan, died aged 
twenty-nine years ; Timothy and Eliakim, 
drowned in a mill pond in 1796, aged fifteen 
and sixteen years ; Joseph. 

(VI) Samuel (3), son of William and Sarah 
(Stevens) Williams, was born in Pomfret, 
Connecticut, 1721, died February 4, 1805, aged 
eighty-four years. He was a prosperous farm- 
er. He had three wives, and seven children, 
who grew to adult age, four by first wife, 
three by second. 

(VII) John, son of Samuel (3) Williams, 
was born March 28, 1768, died March 5, 1832. 
He resided in Brooklyn, Connecticut, and at 
the time of the controversy between his church, 
the Congregational, and the Unitarians, he 
espoused the cause of the latter. The contro- 
versy split the Brooklyn church, and since 
that time the family have been Unitarians. 
He married, December 25, 1793, Susan Far- 
rington, of Boston, born about 1778; eight 
children, one of whom, Daniel, after going 
to Michigan settled in Buffalo. 

(VIII) John R., third child of John and 
Susan (Farrington) Williams, was born at 
Brooklyn, Connecticut, July 20, 1800, died at 
Buffalo, New York, August 12, 1849. He 
followed farming in Connecticut until 1838, 
when he emigrated to Buffalo, where he was 
engaged in the grocery business and in the 
lumber trade. He was an ardent Abolitionist, 
and followed closely that movement through 
the columns of The Liberator, to which he 
was a subscriber, and an intimate friend of 
the Whig and Abolition leader, Samuel J. 
May. He was a devoted Unitarian and a 
strict temperance man. At the time of his 
death he held an office under the city govern- 
ment. He married Louisa Upham, born in 
Leicester. Massachusetts, July 12. 1804, died 
in Buffalo, March 13. 1863. daughter of Bar- 



NEW YORK 



675 



nard and Betsey (Hubbard) Upham, and 
granddaughter of Captain Daniel Hubbard, 
who fought at Bunker Hill, and, tradition 
says, carried from the field an American offi- 
cer of high rank. 

Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 
Office of Secretary. 

Boston, Mass., March 7, 1894. 
Revolutionary service of Daniel Hubbard: Daniel 
Hubbard appears with rank of private on Lexing- 
ton Alarm Roll of Captain Seth Washburn's com- 
pany, Colonel Jonathan Ward's regiment. Marched 
in the Alarm of April 19, 1775, from Leicester. 
Served seven days. Appears with the rank of cor- 
poral on Muster Roll of Captain Seth Washburn's 
company, Colonel Ward's regiment, August 1, 1775. 
Enlisted April 26, 1775, served three months, twelve 
days. Also appears with rank of corporal on com- 
pany return of Captain Washburn, Colonel Ward's 
regiment, dated October 8, 1775. He appears on 
Leicester Rolls, credited with eight months service. 
William M. Olin, Secretary. 
(See ''Massachusetts Soldiers and Sailors in the 
Revolution.") 

Children of John R. Williams: 1. Frank- 
lin, of whom further. 2. Robert L., born De- 
cember 20, 1829 ; married Levina Steel, of 
Buffalo, September 15, 1854; four children. 

3. Elizabeth Hubbard, born July 18, 1831, died 
June 25, 1908 ; married E. Carlton Sprague. 

4. Barnard, born May 9, 1833, died March 13, 
1869. 5. Daniel R., born March 29, 1835, 
married Mary W. Moulton. 6. Lucy B., born 
May 12, 1836. died July 25, 1852. 7. Amelia 
L., born September 15, 1839: resides in Buf- 
falo. 

(IX) Franklin, eldest son of John R. and 
Louisa (Upham) Williams, was born in 
Brooklyn, Connecticut, August 7, 1827, died 
in Buffalo, New York, August 13, 1884. He 
was educated in the public schools and at Buf- 
falo Academy. He was about ten years of 
age when his father located in Buffalo, and 
that city was ever afterward his home. He 
became a surveyor and civil engineer, and 
laid out the old Attica & Buffalo railroad, 
now a part of the Erie system. About 1866 
he became interested in transportation business 
on the great lakes. Later he engaged in coal 
mining at Oak Ridge, Pennsylvania, where the 
firm of Frank Williams & Company were 
known as extensive and successful operators. 
This business is yet continued by his sons, as 
is the wholesale and retail coal business he 
established in Buffalo. Mr. Williams was an 
energetic, admirable man of business, yet 
keenlv alive to his duties to church and state. 



He served as engineer in the Seventy-fourth 
Regiment during the civil war, and from 1880- 
82 as alderman of the Ninth Ward of Buffalo. 
He was one of the incorporators of the Charity 
Organization Society, the first society of its 
kind organized in the United States. He was 
an active, independent Republican, and a warm 
friend of Grover Cleveland, whose early poli- 
tical-career was greatly influenced by Mr. Wil- 
liams and others of the opposite party. He 
was a member and trustee of the First Uni- 
tarian Church of Buffalo, to whose service he 
gave freely of his time and means. 

He married, December 2, 1852, Olive 
French, of Plainfield, Connecticut, born there 
May 16, 1828, died in Buffalo, December 11, 
1908, daughter of Hezekiah French, born in 
Voluntown, Connecticut, a school teacher and 
farmer ; served in the war of 1812, and re- 
ceived a land grant for his services ; married 
Olive, daughter of John Hall, a soldier of the 
revolution, who marched from Connecticut on 
the Alarm at Lexington, and later served with 
Connecticut troops on Long Island. Hezekiah 
was a son of Nathaniel French. Children of 
Frank and Olive Williams: 

1. John Ruggles, born in Buffalo, August 
7, 1853; a coal merchant of Buffalo, member 
of Frank Williams & Company. Is an active 
Republican, member of the First Unitarian 
Church, Buffalo, Chamber of Commerce, 
Saturn and Ellicott clubs. 

2. Frank French, born in Buffalo, Novem- 
ber 20, 1855; graduate, A. B., University of 
Michigan, 1877 : studied law with E. Carlton 
Sprague, of Buffalo, and was admitted to the 
bar, 1880. He began the practice of law in 
Buffalo immediately after his admission, and 
there continues in successful general practice. 
He is a member of the First Unitarian Church ; 
Buffalo Chamber of Commerce ; Erie County 
Bar Association ; New York State Bar Asso- 
ciation ; Phi Beta Kappa fraternity : and in 
politics is a Republican. He married Ruth, 
daughter of Joseph Churchyard, of Buffalo ; 
children : Olive and Roger Churchyard. 

3. Robert Hall, died December 13, 1906. 
He was a member of the coal firm, Frank Wil- 
liams & Company, and a thorough man of 
business, who stood high in the commercial 
world. He was equally prominent in Pitts- 
burgh business circles. He was a leading 
member of the First Unitarian Church, and an 
independent Republican. His clubs were the 
Saturn and Ellicott. He married Elizabeth. 



676 



NEW YORK. 



daughter of George and Emily (Marshall) 
Wadsworth. 

4. Grace, now a resident of Buffalo. 

5. Arthur Henry, graduate, A. B.. Univer- 
sity of Michigan, 1885. Studied law and was 
graduated. LL.B., Law Department, Univer- 
sity of Buffalo, 1894. He is now in general 
practice in Buffalo. He is a member of the 
First Unitarian Church, Buffalo Chamber of 
Commerce, Erie County Bar Association, 
Lawyers' and Saturn clubs. Alpha Delta Phi 
fraternity, and an independent Republican. He 
is associated with the reform element in city 
politics, and is secretary of the Good Govern- 
ment Club. 

6. Herbert Upham, educated in the Uni- 
versity of Michigan and University of Buffalo, 
being graduated from the latter, M. D., 1891 ; 
also graduated, M. D., from University of 
Pennsylvania. He is a skillful and learned 
physician, and since 1895 professor of pathol- 
ogy and bacteriology, University of Buffalo. 
He is a member of the leading medical and 
scientific societies, and holds high rank in his 
profession. He married, June, 1909, Mary 
Carver, daughter of William P. Stoddard, of 
Plymouth, Massachusetts. 

7. Elizabeth Sprague, graduate of Smith 
College, M. A., 1891 ; now a well known phil- 
anthropic worker and head of a college settle- 
ment in New York City. 



Robert Williams, son of 
WILLIAMS Stephen and Margaret 

(Cook) Williams, was born 
1598, baptized December 11, 1608, in Great 
Yarmouth, England. He came to America in 
the ship "Rose," from Great Yarmouth, land- 
ing in the year 1635. He died at Roxbury, 
Massachusetts, September 1, 1693. He was a 
member of the Ancient and Honorable Artil- 
lery Company of Boston, 1644. He married 
(first) Elizabeth Stahlman, of Great Yar- 
mouth, died July 28. 1674. aged eighty years. 
Children: 1. Elizabeth, born in England; 
married Richard Cutter. 2. Deborah, born in 
England ; married John Turner. 3. John, born 
in England, died unmarried. 4. Samuel, born 
1632, see forward. 5. Isaac, born 1638: mar- 
ried Martha Park. 6. Stephen, born 1640; mar- 
ried Sarah Wise. 7. Thomas, died young. He 
married (second), it is supposed, Martha 
Strong. 

(II) Deacon Samuel, son of Robert and 
Elizabeth Stahlman Williams, was born 1632, 



in England, died September 28, 1698. He 
was a deacon of the church at Roxbury, Mas- 
sachusetts, and a farmer. He married Theoda, 
daughter of Deacon William and Martha 
(Holgrave) Park, of Roxbury. Children: 
Elizabeth, born February 1, 1654, died young; 
Samuel, born April 15, 1655, see forward; 
Martha, born April 29, 1657, died young ; Eliz- 
abeth, born February 11, 1659, married 
Stephen Paine; Theoda, born July 27, 1662, 
died at age of seventeen years ; John, born 
December 10, 1664, first minister of Deerfield, 
Massachusetts; Ebenezer, born December 6, 
1666; Deborah, born November 10, 1668, 
grandmother of General Joseph Warren ; 
Martha, born May 19, 1671, married Jonathan 
Hunt; Abigail, July 12, 1674, married Exper- 
ience Porter. 

(III) Ebenezer, son of Samuel and Theoda 
(Park) Williams, was born December 6, 1666, 
died February 15, 1746. He removed to Ston- 
ington, Connecticut, about 1685. and settled on 
lands he purchased of the Winthrops, just 
north of what is now "Old Mystic." He mar- 
ried, January 24, 1687, Mary Wheeler, died 
November 3, 1709, daughter of Isaac and 
Martha (Park) Wheeler. Children: Theoda, 
born October 29, 1687, died young; unnamed 
child, born September 17, 1691 ; Mary, born 
January 7, 1694. died aged twenty years ; Sam- 
uel, born February 3, 1696. twice married ; 
Theoda, born January 3, 1701, unmarried; 
Selina, born December 18, 1703. married Alvin 
Grant; Ebenezer, born October 21, 1705, twice 
married ; Elizabeth, twin of Ebenezer, married 
Jonathan Smith; Martha, born April 3, 1708, 
married Jeremiah Price. He married (sec- 
ond), July 12, 171 1, Sarah, daughter of 
Nathaniel and Mary ( French ) Hammond. 
Children : Unnamed child ; unnamed child ; 
Nathaniel, born July 24, 1715 (see forward) ; 
Elisha, born January 12, 1718, had four wives. 

(IV) Nathaniel, son of Ebenezer and his 
second wife, Sarah (Hammond) Williams, 
born July 24, 1715, died December 19, 1773. 
He lived all his life a farmer of Stonington, 
and is buried with both wives in the burying 
ground on the farm of Elias Brown at "Old 
Mystic." He married (first), July 1. 1731,1. 
Amy Hewitt, died March 16, 1756: (second) 
at Stonington, Connecticut, September 19. 
1756, Abigail Eldridge, died July 13, 1818. 
Children: 1. A daughter, died day of birth. 
2. Sarah, born October 4. 1742, died October 
(1. 1744. 3. Anna, born October 2, 1744; mar- 



NEW YORK. 



677 



ried Colonel William Ledyard, who was killed 
at Fort Griswold, September 6, 1781. 4. Amie, 
born January 14, 1746; married John Sell; 
(second) Job Stanton. 5. Israel, born August 
4, 1749. Children of Nathaniel Williams and 
his second wife, Abigail (Eldridge) : 6. 
Nathaniel, born August 3, 1757. 7. Abigail, 
born August 25, 1758, married Christopher 
Cheesebrough. 8. Ebenezer. born December 
24, 1759. 9. Sarah, born June 3. 1761 ; mar- 
ried Andrew Denison. 10. Thomas, married 
Abigail Hempsted. 11. Elijah, married 
Mehitable Rossiter. 12. Peleg (see forward). 

(V) Peleg, son of Nathaniel and Abigail 
(Eldridge) Williams, was born December 17, 
1767, at Stonington, Connecticut, died August 
29, 1849. He married Dorothy Denison, of 
Stonington, died February 27, 1836. Children: 
Alary Ann. married John Harris; Eliakim, 
married Sarah Ann Wrightman ; Erastus, mar- 
ried Mary Wrightman ; Dudley Denison (see 
forward) ; Charles D., married Aurelia Gore; 
Jane D., married Barton Sanders ; Betsey, 
married Captain Thomas Eldridge ; Nancy, 
married Nathan Saunders ; Clark, unmarried ; 
Fanny. 

(VI) Dudley Denison, son of Peleg and 
Dorothy (Denison) Williams, was born Feb- 
ruary 19, 1800, in -Stonington, died in Buffalo, 
New York, March 3. 1875. He removed to 
Preston, Connecticut, later to Royalton, New- 
York: he was a farmer in New York, and in 
Connecticut he is believed to have been a hat 
manufacturer. He married, January 19, 1829, 
Lydia Lathrop, daughter of Dr. Benjamin and 
Sarah (Baldwin) Harris. She was born Sep- 
tember 30, 1800, died July 1, 1889. (Dr. Ben- 
jamin Harris, son of Benjamin, son of Lieu- 
tenant Gibson, son of Samuel, son of Gabriel, 
son of Walter Harris, the emigrant, 1632). 
Sarah Baldwin was daughter of Oliver, son of 
Ebenezer, son of Thomas, son of John Bald- 
win, the emigrant, 1653. Lieutenant Gibson 
Harris married Phebe Denison, daughter of 
George and Mary (Wetherall) Denison, Mary 
Wetherall was daughter of Daniel and Grace 
(Brewster) Wetherall. Grace was daughter 
of Jonathan Brewster, son of Elder William 
Brewster, of the "Mayflower." Children of 
Dudley Denison and Lydia ( Harris ) Wil- 
liams : Benjamin Harris, born September 30, 
1830; Anna S., born February 12, 1832, died 
November, 1889; Josephine E., born January 
30, 1844; Jane. 

(VII) Benjamin Harris, son of Dudley D. 



and Lydia Lathrop (Harris) Williams, was 
born in Preston, Connecticut. September 30, 
1830, died in Buffalo, New York, December 8, 
1896. He was educated in the public schools, 
and after preparatory courses entered Union 
College, Schenectady, New York, from which 
he was graduated, class of 1854. The follow- 
ing year he came to Buffalo and began the 
study of law with Solomon G. Haven." After 
satisfactory examinations he was admitted to 
the bar and began the practice of his profession 
in Buffalo, becoming a well-known lawyer and 
public official. In 1870 and 1871 he was city 
attorney of Buffalo, and, 1872-73-74, district 
attorney of Erie county. In November, 1879, 
he was elected state senator from the thirty- 
first district, defeating Delevan F. Clark, his 
Democrat opponent. In 1890 he was the Re- 
publican candidate for congress from the 
thirty-second congressional district, but was 
defeated by Daniel N. Lockwood. He mar- 
ried, January 3, 1872, Charlotte A. Stoneman, 
born May 22, 1844, died in Buffalo, June 27, 
1903. (See Stoneman forward). Children: 
1. Harris Stoneman, of whom further. 2. 
Katherine S., born May, 1875 ; married Henry 
R. Ford, an electrical engineer, of Buffalo; 
children : Elizabeth and Henry R. 3. Alice 
C, born May, 1877. 4. Lucia R., born De- 
cember 31, 1881 ; married William A. Faxon, 
of Buffalo. 

1 VI 11 ) Harris Stoneman, only son of Ben- 
jamin Harris and Charlotte A. (Stoneman) 
Williams, was born at Buffalo, New York, 
February 17, 1873. He was educated at pri- 
vate schools, graduating from the Central 
High School, 1891 ; graduated from Cornell 
University, 1895, with the degree of Ph. B. ; 
Buffalo Law School, 1896, LL.B. He prac- 
ticed in Buffalo for two years, then was ap- 
pointed clerk of the United States circuit court, 
western district of New York. He is a mem- 
ber of the Lawyers' Club ; Buffalo Canoe Club ; 
Sons of the American Revolution, by right of 
Daniel Denison (2nd) ; Parish Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons; Delta Epsilon (Cor- 
nell) : Phi Delta Phi (Law School). He mar- 
ried, October 24, 1901, Maude I., daughter of 
Lester B. and Nellie (Cash) Smith. (See 
Merritt). Children: Dorothy Charlotte, born 
June 24, 1903 ; Lee Harris, July 2, 1908. 

Charlotte A. (Stoneman) Williams is a 
granddaughter of Richard Stoneman, born in 
the parish of Drews, Garrington, eleven miles 
west of Exeter, county of Devon, England, 



6/8 



NEW YORK. 



died November 2. 1821. He was killed by the 
falling of a tree and is buried at New Berlin, 
New York. He had a brother, George, who 
was a lieutenant in the British navy under Ad- 
miral Nelson, and was killed at the battle of 
the Nile. There were also three sisters : Ann, 
Elizabeth and Charlotte. Richard Stoneman 
came to the United States soon after the revo- 
lution, with means furnished him by an Aunt 
Grace, who had married an Englishman of 
wealth and rank. Returning to England, he 
visited his sister Elizabeth in the garb of a 
common sailor, in which capacity he had made 
the return voyage. She requested him to get 
better clothes before she would present him to 
her friends. Being independent in spirit, he 
shook the dust from his feet and went to his 
sister Charlotte, who received him with open 
arms. In memory of the episode he named 
his first daughter Charlotte. His Aunt Grace 
again furnished him with funds, with which 
he bought a cargo of wool and returned to 
America. He there built a woolen mill and 
became a manufacturer. He married, Decem- 
ber 31, 1797, Mary Perkins, from Foster, 
Rhode Island, at New Berlin, New York. 
They had ten children. 

(II) George, eldest child of Richard and 
Mary (Perkins) Stoneman, was born at New 
Berlin, Chenango county, New York, January 
9, 1799, died August 6, 1877, at Busti, Chau- 
tauqua county, New York. With his brother 
Richard he started out to seek his fortune. 
They parted at a cross road, one going to Os- 
wego, George going to Chautauqua county, 
and never met again. George Stoneman be- 
came a farmer of the town of Busti. He mar- 
ried Katherine Cheney, July 22, 1821. They 
had eight children, the youngest of whom was 
Charlotte A., who married Benjamin Harris 
Williams. 

Maude I. Smith Williams is a descendant 
of James Merritt, who was born at Canton, 
Connecticut, August 24, 1744, died 182 1, at 
Barkhampsted, Connecticut. He served in the 
revolutionary war. (See "Connecticut Men 
in the Revolution.") He married, June 16, 
1768, Hannah Phelps, born at Simsbury, Con- 
necticut, May 29, 1749, died 1825, daughter 
of Thomas and Margaret (Watson) Phelps. 
They had ten children. 

(II) Peter, son of James and Hannah 
(Phelps) Merritt. was born October 31, 1788, 
died October 14. 1867. He married Sylvia 
Merrill, born 1792, died January 15, 1852, 



daughter of John and Elizabeth (Shepard) 
Merrill. They had eight children. 

(III) Elizabeth, daughter of Peter and 
Sylvia (Merrill) Merritt, was born 1825, died 
January 21, 1895. She married, January 25, 
1845, ^ sa W. Cash, born 1824. died December 
25, 1907. They had two children. 

( IV) Nellie, daughter of Asa W. and Eliza^ 
beth (Merritt) Cash, was born July 12, 1854, 
died September 11, 1893; married, April 24, 
1874, Lester B. Smith. 

(V) Maude I., daughter of Lester B. and 
Nellie (Cash) Smitb, married Harris S. 
Williams. 



This is a well-known name in 
FRANCIS this country and is borne by 

men of high rank in the pro- 
fessions, in business and in public life. The 
family first appears in Western New York, in 
Cayuga county, later in Orleans county, where 
Elihu Francis lived in the town of Ridgeway, 
about one mile east of Ridgeway Corners. He 
was of an unsettled disposition and travelled 
extensively. He died at the home of his daugh- 
ter, Mrs. Jacques, at the foot of Hemlock Lake 
in Livingston county. He married and had 
children : Amanda, married (first) a Mr. 
Sweetland, married (second) a Mr. Allen; 
Harriet, married Russell Jacques ; Lydia, mar- 
ried Alfred Kendall ; Sylvester and Harvey. 

(II) Harvey, son of Elihu Francis, was 
born in the state of Connecticut in 1806, died 
in Middleport, Niagara county, New York, 
November 24, 1869. His father, who was a 
native of Connecticut, began his travels in 
New York about 183040 and took his son 
Harvey with him. After a short residence 
in Cayuga county, New York, he removed to 
Ridgeway, Orleans county, where they re- 
mained until the spring of 1847. Harvey set- 
tled at Johnson's Creek, Niagara county, and 
in 1864 removed to Middleport in the same 
county, where he died five years later. He 
was a farmer and operated country stores in 
several different localities. He was a good 
business man and during his life possessed a 
generous estate. He was a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal cburch and lived a life 
consistent with his profession. He married 
Elizabeth P. Hooker, born 1810. died October 
2, 1872, at Middleport. daughter of David 
Hooker, of Ridgeway, Orleans county. New 
York. Their children : Three who died in 
infancv : Harriet, died in Hartland. Niagara 



NEW YORK. 



679 



county, at the age of thirty-two years; mar- 
ried Frank B. Seeley ; left a son and daughter ; 
Charles S. and Harriet E. Seeley; Charles H. 
(of further mention). 

(Ill) Charles H., only son of Harvey and 
Elizabeth P. (Hooker) Francis, was born at 
Ridgeway, Orleans county, New York, Sep- 
tember 6, 1835. He was educated in the vil- 
lage school, and after leaving school became 
clerk in his 'father's store at Johnson's Creek. 
He remained in that employ for three years, 
and in 1857 he purchased of his father the 
store and business. He remained there in 
successful business until 1864, when he sold 
his property and business and removed to Mid- 
dleport, where he has ever since resided. For 
six years after locating in Middleport he en- 
gaged in milling, then for several years en- 
gaged in mercantile life until 1878, when 
he engaged in farming, continuing until 1884. 
In that year he became interested in the can- 
ning and preserving of fruits and vegetables, 
operating canning factories at Middleport, 
Batavia and Brockport until 1905, when he 
retired from all active participation in busi- 
ness. He is a Democrat in politics, and for 
six terms (not consecutive) served as presi- 
dent of the Middleport village corporation. 
In religious faith the family are Universalists. 
He is highly esteemed in his community and 
is one of the substantial men of his town. 

He married, February 4, 1873, at Middle- 
port, Sarah Southwick, born in Orleans 
county, New York, October 28, 1844, daugh- 
ter of Alfred and Ann (Watson) Southwick, 
of Orleans county, New York. Children : 
Anna, born May 30, 1878, died March 8, 1888; 
Dora, born May 4, 1883; married, March 4, 
1909, Fred J. Haist, formerly of Buffalo, now 
engaged in the drug business in Middleport. 



The history of the Warren 
WARREN family is exceeded in interest 

and antiquity by none in Eng- 
land. The surname is derived from Garenne 
or Varenne. a small river in the old country 
of Calais, or Caux, in Normandy, which gave 
its name to the neighboring commune. There 
is at present a village called Garenne in the 
same district, and it is here that the origin 
of the family has been fixed by historians. 
On the west side of the River Garenne was 
the ancient baronial seat of the de Warrenes, 
and ruins were standing in 1832. The sur- 
name has assumed different forms from time 



to time — Gareyn, Wareyn, Waryn, Warin, 
Warynge, Waryng and Warren. The Nor- 
man ancestry of the family is traced to Rollo, 
Rolf, or Rov, 860 to 930, the great-great- 
great-grandfather of William the Conqueror. 
About 1060 the Norman line unites with the 
Saxon by the marriage of William de War- 
ren to Elizabeth of the twelfth Saxon genera- 
tion, beginning with Ealhmund of Kent, King 
of England, great-grandfather of King Al- 
fred the Great. 

(I) Rollo Rolf, or Rov, a Scandinavian 
rover, born A. D. 860, died 930, made him- 
self independent of Harold of Norway, vis- 
ited Scotland, England and Flanders, in plun- 
dering expeditions, and about A. D. 912 es- 
tablished himself on the River Seine and laid 
the foundation of the Duchy of Normandy, 
through grants obtained through rulers in 
France. He was the first Duke of Normandy ; 
and had a son 

(II) William, second Duke of Normandy, 
surnamed "Longsword," ruled from 927 to 
943; he had a son (III) Richard the Fear- 
less, third Duke of Normandy, from 943 to 
997; he had a son (IV) Richard the Good, 
fourth Duke of Normandy, 997 to 1027, who 
had a son (V) Robert the Magnificent, fifth 
Duke of Normandy, died 1035 ; he had a nat- 
ural son (VI) William the Conqueror, King, 
born in Falaise, Normandy, 1027, died Sep- 
tember 9, 1087, whose mother, Helena, was 
daughter of Fulbert, a tanner of Falaise. Oc- 
tober 14, 1066, William declared himself King 
of England, and ruled from 1066 to 1087. 
In 1052 he married Matilda of Flanders, 
daughter of Baldwin V. One of William's 
daughters was 

(VII) Gundreda, married William de War- 
ren (1), a kinsman of her father, and who 
was in command at the battle of Hastings. 
As a reward of his valor, he was made earl 
by William, and granted a large estate in 
lands. He selected a site for his castle on 
an eminence near the village of Lewes, in Sus- 
sex. He erected a cluniac priory, or convent, 
in the town of Lewes, and he and his wife 
were buried in the priory, side by side, and 
in 1845, when laborers were excavating 
through the site for the purpose of building 
a railroad, their remains were discovered, each 
enclosed in a leaden box or coffin, and sur- 
rounded with rock pebbles of small size. On 
one of these boxes was the name "William," 
and on the other the name "Gundreda." both 



68o 



NEW YORK. 



perfectly legible, although they had lain bur- 
ied more than eight centuries, for the earl 
died 1088, and the princess 1045. They had a 
son 

(VIII) William de Warren, second Earl 
of Surrey and Mortimer, in Normandy, born 
about 1 1 14, died 1138, and after 11 18 was 
Robert, Earl of Leicester. He married Eliza- 
beth (Isabel), daughter of Hugh, Count of 
Vermandois, son of Henry I of France, a 
descendant of Henry the Great. (See XII, 
Saxon line, where this line merges). 

(Saxon Ancestry). 
(I) Ealhmund of Kent, King of England, 
founder of the Saxon line, had a son (II) 
Egbert, succeeded Brithric in the kingdom of 
Wessex, A. D., 800. He married Raedburk, 
and died 836, leaving a son (III) Ethelnolf, 
reigned from 836 to the time of his death, 
856; married Osburh, daughter of Osalf, his 
cup-bearer, and had a son 

(IV) Alfred the Great, born 849, died Oc- 
tober 24, 901 ; crowned King of England, 
March 23, 872. During his reign he formed 
and promulgated a code of laws, established 
a system of trial by jury, organized an army 
and navy, caused the kingdom to be surveyed 
and subdivided, adopted measures for the en- 
couragement of learning, and thus brought 
about the culminating power and glory of 
Saxon England. In 869 he married Ales- 
witha, of the royal house of Mercia, by whom 
he had three sons and three daughters. His 
second son, 

(V) King Edward the Elder, became King 
of the West Saxons and died 924. He mar- 
ried three times, and by his first wife had 
a daughter (VI) Princess Edguia, married 
Charles III, King of France, who died Octo- 
ber 27, 982, and had a son (VII) Louis 
D'Outremer (Louis IV), King of France, 
married Gerberger, daughter of Henry I, of 
Germany, and died September 10, 954, leav- 
ing a daughter (VIII) Princess Gerberger, 
married Albert I, Count of Vermandois, born 
943, died 983, leaving a son (IX) Herbert, 
born 968, died 993, leaving a son (X) Her- 
bert, Count of Vermandois and Valois, died 
1080, leaving a daughter (XI) Adela de Ver- 
mandois, married Hugh the Great, son of 
Henry II, of France, and Count Vermandois 
and Valois. They had a daughter 

(XII) Elizabeth (Isabel), married William 
de Warren, second Earl of Surrey, and War- 



renne and Mortimer in Xormandy. He was 
born about 1040 and died 1130. They had 
a son (XIII) Reganal de Warrenne, married 
Adela, daughter of Roger de Mowbray. 
They had a son (XIV) William de Warren, 
married Isabel, daughter of Sir William de 
Hayden, and had a son (XV) Sir John de 
Warren, who married Alice, daughter of 
Roger de Townshend, and had a son (XYI) 
John de Warrenne, married Toan, daughter 
of Sir Hugh de Post, and had' a son (XYII) 
Sir Edward de Warrenne, married Maude, 
daughter of Richard de Skeyton, and had a 
son (XVIII) Sir Edward de Warren, mar- 
ried Cicely, daughter of Sir Nicholas de Ea- 
ton, and had a son (XIX) Sir John de War- 
ren, married Agnes, daughter of Sir Richard 
Wynnington, and had a son (XX) Sir Laur- 
ence de Warren, married Margery, daughter 
of Hugh Bulkley, Esquire, and had a son 

(XXI) John de Warren, married Isabel, 
daughter of Sir John Stanley, and had a son 

(XXII) Sir Lawrence de Warren, married 
Isabel, daughter of Sir Robert Leigh, in 1458, 
and had a son (XXIII) William de Warren, 
by wife Anne, had a son (XXIV) John de 
Warren, by wife Elizabeth, had a son (XXV) 
John Warren, of Headbury, Devonshire, Eng- 
land, who had a son (XXVI) Christopher 
Warren, who had a son (XXYII) William 
Warren, married Anne Mable, and had a son 
(XXVIII) Christopher Warren, married 
Alice Webb, and had 

(XXIX) John Warren, married, in Eng- 
land, Margaret , and came to New 

England in 1630, in the same fleet with Sir 
Richard Saltonstall, and settled at Watertown, 
Massachusetts, where he died in December, 
1667. He was made freeman, 1631, was a 
selectman, 1636-40, and commissioner for lay- 
ing out roads in the town. He owned a 
houselot of twelve acres, and other lands to 
the extent of one hundred and seventy-six 
acres. In October, 165 1, John Warren was 
fined twenty shillings for not complying with 
the law relating to baptism, and in 1661 the 
houses of "Old Warren" and "Goodman 
Hammond" were ordered searched for Quak- 
ers. John and Margaret Warren had chil- 
dren : John, born 1622; Mary, born in Eng- 
land, 1625, married, October 31, 1642, John 
Bigelow ; Daniel, born in England, 1628 ; 
Elizabeth, born in England, 1630, married, 
about 1654, James Knapp. 

(XXX) Tohn (2), son of John (1) and 



NEW YORK. 



68 1 



Margaret Warren, was born in England in 
1622, came to Xew England with his father 
in 1630, and married, July n, 1667, Michal, 
daughter of Robert Jennison and widow of 
Richard Bloise. Children : Margaret, born 
May 6, 1668; Sarah, January 25, 1671, died 
young; Eliza, July 18, 1673, married, October 
18, 1705, Daniel Harrington; Mary, May 25, 
1675, married. December 30, 1690, Joseph 
Pierce; John, May 21, 1678; Grace, March 
12, 1680; Samuel, January 23, 1683, was 
called captain, died 1703. 

(XXXI) John (3), son of John (2) and 
Michal (Jennison-Bloise) Warren, was born 
May 21, 1678; married (first) Abigail Hast- 
ings, died July 19, 1710; (second) May 14, 
171 1, Lydia. daughter of Nathaniel Fisk. 
John Warren had five children by his first 
and four by his second wife: 1. John, born 
April 3, 1 70 1. 2. Sarah. September 20, 1702. 
3. Samuel, March 18. 1704. 4. Thomas, De- 
cember 11, 1706. 5. David, June 22, 1708. 
6. Benjamin. April 4, 1715. 7. David, Janu- 
ary 8, 1717. 8. Abigail, October 28, 1719. 
9. Lucy, October 26, 1721 ; married, June 21, 
1744, James Leland, of Grafton, son of James 
and Hannah ( Larned ) Leland, and brother 
of Phineas Leland, who married (second) 
Sarah, daughter of Samuel Warren, half- 
brother of Lucy W r arren. 

(XXXII) Samuel, son of John (3) and 
Abigail (Hastings) Warren, was born March 
18, 1704, died January 26, 1776. In 1730 he 
removed from Weston to Grafton, and died 
in the latter town. He married, August 26, 
1728, Tabitha Stone, born 1702, died Grafton, 
April 21, 1765. Children: Samuel, born 
April 20, 1730; Sarah, December 24, 1731, 
first child baptized in Grafton ; Rebecca, April 
16, 1733; Abigail, April 29, 1735; John, Au- 
gust 8, 1736; Tabitha, August 6, 1739; Will- 
iam,- May 29, 1740, settled in Conway; David, 
March 24, 1742; Joseph, April 22, 1745; 
Martha, May 31, 1749. 

(XXXIII) David, son of Samuel and Tabi- 
tha (Stone) Warren, was born March 24, 
1742, died at Weathersfield, Vermont, about 
1826. He removed from Massachusetts to 
New Hampshire, settling first at Croyden, 
and later removed to Vermont, where he 
died. He married, at Newport, New Hamp T 
shire. Prudence, daughter of Jacob and Je- 
rusha (Leland) Whipple, and maternal 
granddaughter of James Leland. She was 
born in Grafton, Massachusetts, died in New- 



port, New Hampshire, 1820. Children : 1. 
Moses, born 1762; died in Cape Breton. 2. 
Aaron, born 1763; died in New York state. 
3, Tabitha, born 1764; died in Pomfret, Ver- 
mont. 4. David, of further mention. 5. Pru- 
dence, born 1768; died at Newport, New 
Hampshire ; married Abel Wheeler. 6. Polly, 
born 1770; died in Newport, New Hampshire. 
7. Isaac, born 1772; died in Newport, New 
Hampshire. 8. Samuel, born 1775; died in 
Ohio. 9. Louise, born 1777; died in Morris- 
town, Vermont. 10. Asahel, born 1778; died 
in Weathersfield, Vermont; married Huldah 
Leland. 11. Jemima, born 1781 ; died in Mor- 
ristown, Vermont; married Lyrell Goodell. 

(XXXIV) David (2), son of David and 
Prudence (Whipple) Warren, was born 
March 13, 1766; died at Rochester, Vermont 
October 24, 1832. He married Anna Bullen 
born February 1, 1771 ; died August 7, 1838 
Children: 1. David (3), born October 9 
1791 ; died in Brandon, Vermont, December 5 
1868. 2. Anna, born September 5, 1793 ; died 
in Rochester, Vermont, January 6, 1826. 3, 
John, born October 17, 1796; died July 27, 
1853. 4. Daniel, of further mention. 5. Hor- 
ace, born October 11, 1800; died July 11, 1803, 
6. Polly, born July 8, 1803. 7. Olive, Decem- 
ber 4, 1805 ; died April 10, 1897. 8. Lothera 
January 24, 1809; died April 12, 1898. 9 
Eliza, September 10, 181 1; died March 26, 

1855- 

(XXXV) Daniel, son of David (2) and 
Anna (Bullen) Warren, was born near 
Rochester, Vermont, March 3, 1798; died 
near Rochester, January 29, 1864. He was 
a farmer, cultivating a farm in the town of 
his birth, also a Congregational minister. He 
married Priscilla Sparhawk. Children: 1. 
Elizabeth, married (first) a Mr. Bassett ; (sec- 
ond) Kettridge Goodnow. 2. Joseph, of fur- 
ther mention. 3. Henry D., born 1834, died 
1885. 4. Evarts E. S., born 1836, died 1880. 
5. Ellen Priscilla,' born 1839, died 1882; mar- 
ried Luther B. Hunt. 

(XXXVI) Joseph, eldest son of Daniel and 
Priscilla (Sparhawk) Warren, was born in 
Waterbury, Vermont, July 24, 1829 ; died in 
Buffalo, New York, September 30, 1876. He 
was educated in the district schools, and by a 
great display of energy and ambition pre- 
pared for college, later literally working his 
way through the University of Vermont, 
graduating Bachelor of Arts, 185 1, receiving 
from his alma mater three years later the de- 



NEW YORK. 



gree of Master of Arts. After graduation 
he removed to Albany, New York, where he 
was employed ior a time on the Country Gen- 
tleman and Cultivator. Here his natural quali- 
fications for journalism and editorial work 
were made manifest and satisfactorily demon- 
strated. During his sojourn in Albany he was 
an instructor at the Albany Boys' Academy, 
occupying the chair of ancient languages. In 
October, 1854, he came to Buffalo to accept 
the position of local editor of The Courier, and 
at once made his department attractive, re- 
liable and popular. In 1857 he was elected 
superintendent of schools. In 1858 he asso- 
ciated himself with Gilbert K. Harroun in 
the purchase of The Courier, and began his 
connection with Buffalo journalism, which 
continued for more than eighteen years, and 
gave him a conspicuous position among the 
newspaper workers of the country. He was 
first assistant to the editor, but soon assumed 
chief editorial control, and maintained that 
position until his death in 1876. In i860 the 
firm became Sanford, Warren & Harroun, 
later changed to Joseph Warren & Company. 
January 1, 1869, this firm and Haward & 
Johnson consolidated, the proprietors forming 
a joint stock company with the title of The 
Courier Company, with Joseph Warren, presi- 
dent. The company then published the Daily, 
Evening and Weekly Courier and The Re- 
public. They also did a very large job print- 
ing business, and had the largest show printing 
establishment and business in the country. 
After the death of Dean Richmond, in 1866, 
the leadership of the Erie county Democracy 
fell upon Mr. Warren by general consent. He 
was made member at large of the Democratic 
state committee and for ten years previous to 
his death he was the recognized leader of the 
party in Western New York. For six suc- 
cessive years he was chosen president of the 
State Associated Press, and held other posi- 
tions of responsibility. He was a member of 
the Board of Park Commissioners that inaug- 
urated the present park system of Buffalo, by 
the employment of Frederick Olmstead, the 
famous landscape architect, upon whose report 
the law of April 14, 1869, was passed, which 
gave the necessary powers to the board. He 
was a member of the first local board of the 
Buffalo State Normal School, founded in 
1870; was a member of the first board of 
school commissioners of Buffalo, elected by 
the people ; was a member of the first board 



of managers of the Buffalo State Hospital, the 
corner stone of which was laid with Masonic 
ceremonies, September 18, 1872. He was one 
of the founders of the Buffalo Club, the first 
meeting being held and organization effected 
in his office. He was a man of high ideals, 
and lived an honorable, useful life. 

He married, at Albany, New York, in 1854, 
Jane Vail Goold, born September 30, 1834, 
died January 27, 1908 ; daughter of James 
and Elizabeth Vail Goold. Children: James 
Goold, of whom further; Gilbert Holland, 
born August 1, 1861, died July 11. 1869. 

(XXXVII) James Goold,' eldest child of 
Joseph and Jane Vail (Goold) Warren, was 
born in Buffalo, New York, September 12, 
1858. He was early educated in the Heath- 
cote School, and in 1876 entered Phillips 
Exeter Academy, preparing for college and 
intending to enter Harvard. The death of his 
father changed the family plans, and instead 
of entering the university he obtained an ap- 
pointment as cadet at the United States Mili- 
tary Academy, West Point, entering July 1, 
1877, and was graduated June 11, 1881, and 
commissioned in the army to additional sec- 
ond lieutenant. Corps of Engineers : served 
with the Battalion of Engineers at Willets 
Point, New York; April 5, 1882, promoted 
second lieutenant, Corps of Engineers, and 
served until August 4, 1884, on detached serv- 
ice at Creedmoor, New York. March 26, 1883, 
he was advanced to the rank of first lieutenant. 
In 1884 and 1885 he was assistant to Major 
King at Chattanooga, Tennessee ; from Octo- 
ber 1, 1885, to August 20, 1886, assistant in- 
structor of civil and military engineering in 
United States Military Academy, West Point, 
New York; from January 15, 1886, to Decem- 
ber 3, 1887, assistant instructor of practical 
military engineering in same institution, on 
duty with Company E, Battalion of Engineers, 
and in charge of Post schools. December 6. 
1887, he was assigned to duty at Willets 
Point, with the Battalion of Engineers, on va- 
rious staff duties, and as inspector of small 
arms practice, December 17, 1887. to August 
17, 1891. In July, 1890. he was the inspector 
of the Encampment of Pennsylvania National 
Guard at Mount Gretna. Pennsylvania : from 
August 12, 1891, to December 2J, 1893, as- 
sistant in local charge of construction of for- 
tifications at southern entrance to New York 
Harbor. From September 20 to December 15, 
1892, he was a member of the board of en- 



NEW YORK. 



683 



gineer officers to test gun lift mechanism at 
Sandy Hook, New Jersey. From January 1, 
to May 10, he was secretary and disbursing 
officer of the Missouri River Commission ; 
from June 13, 1894, to August 15, 1898, was 
stationed at Louisville, Kentucky, in charge 
of various works of internal improvements at 
the Falls of the Ohio and vicinity. From 
May to June, 1897, he was on duty at the 
lift-lock at Colbert Shoals, Tennessee river ; 
in December, 1897, on bridge across Ohio 
river at Marietta, Ohio ; June to November, 
1898, on harbor lines at Wheeling, West Vir- 
ginia; August 16, 1898, assigned to duty at 
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, in charge of various 
works of river and harbor improvement ; in 
October, 1898, was in addition engineer in 
charge of the Ninth Lighthouse District, in 
charge of construction and repairs ; also mem- 
ber during same period of the Board of En- 
gineers on harbor lines at West Superior, 
Wisconsin. In 1905 he was assigned to duty 
at Cincinnati, Ohio, and in 1910 to Buffalo, 
where he is now stationed. In June, 191 1, 
Lieutenant Colonel Warren will complete 
thirty continuous years of army service, chiefly 
spent in river, harbor and lake engineering 
work and improvement. 

Lieutenant Colonel Warren is an active 
member of the Mississippi River Commission ; 
the Association of Graduates of United States 
Military Academy: Western Association of 
Civil Engineering ; Army and Navy Clubs 
of Washington and New York City, Buffalo 
and Saturn Clubs of Buffalo. 

He married, July 6, 1881, Sarah Clifton 
Wheeler, born November 2.7, i860; died May 
4, 1901, daughter of Col. Junius B. Wheeler, 
late professor of civil and military engineer- 
ing, United States Military Academy, West 
Point, New York. Children: 1. Jennie, born 
February, 1882 ; died July, 1882. 2. Emily, 
born April 6, 1883. 3. Wheeler, June 19, 
1886. 4. Josephine, February, 1889 ; died 
July, 1889. 



(XXXII) John Warren (4), 
WARREN son of John (3) (q. v.) War- 
ren and his first wife, Abigail 
Hastings, was born April 3. 1701. He mar- 
ried Zippora Brigham, who died December 27, 
1783. Children: Elizabeth, born March 31, 
1734; John (5), 1735, died young; Anne, born 
August 27, 1737: John (6), June 19, 1739; 
Persis, April 9, 1741 ; Hastings, February 20, 



1743; Catherine, November 3, 1745; Thad- 
deus, of further mention. 

(XXXIII) Thaddeus, youngest child and 
fourth son of John (4) and Zippora (Brig- 
ham ) Warren, was born March 20, 1747 ; died 
June 12, 1 82 1. He married Lucy Stevens, 
who died June 17, 1821. Children: Lydia, 
born January 28, 1773; John, December 2, 
1774; Samuel, June 1, 1777; Hastings, of fur- 
ther mention; Lucy, October 18, 1781 ; Sarah, 
July 5, 1784; Edward, August 4, 1786; Eliza- 
beth, March 19, 1789; Sophia, February 16, 
1792; Millicent, March 23, 1797. 

(XXXIV) Hastings, third son of Thaddeus 
and Lucy (Stevens) Warren, was born July 
20, 1779, died May 6, 1845. He resided at 
Middleboro. Massachusetts, and from 1800 
at Middlebury, Vermont. He was a man of 
commanding presence, of high honor and 
great energy. In the war of 1812, when there 
was a call for troops to defend the Niagara 
frontier, he raised a company, was elected 
captain, and marched to Plattsburgh. He was 
promoted and at the battle commanded a wing 
of the American army. Shortly after the war 
he acquired cotton milling interests in Au- 
gusta, Georgia, which necessarily called him 
there for several winters. During these ab- 
sences the care of his business interests in 
Middlebury and of his family of young chil- 
dren devolved upon his wife. He died in Mid- 
dlebury, where he is buried. He married 
Janet Young, who died August 17, 1839. Chil- 
dren : William Young, born February 13, 
1806; Jane Betsey, February 2, 1808: Thad- 
deus Hastings, February 13, 1810; Edward 
Stevens, of further mention ; Henry John, 
born January 21, 1815. 

(XXXV) Edward Stevens, third son of 
Hastings and Janet (Young) Warren, was 
born in Middlebury, Vermont, May 16, 1814, 
died in Buffalo, New York, May 20, 1863. 
He prepared for college at Wilbraham Acad- 
emy, Wilbraham, Massachusetts ; entered the 
Middlebury College, ■ Middlebury, Vermont, 
whence he was graduated, class of 1833. He 
chose the profession of law, and prepared 
under the preceptorship of Judge Samson, at 
Rochester, New York. He removed to Buf- 
falo in 1834, where he continued his legal 
studies under Hon. Israel T. Hatch. In Jan- 
uary, 1837, he was admitted to the bar, and 
later, in association with Henry K. Smith and 
George W. Clinton, formed the law firm of 
Smith, Clinton & Warren, which connection 



68 4 



NEW YORK. 



existed for a short time ; then as Smith & 
Warren until about 1844. Mr. Warren stood 
high among his legal brethren and conducted 
an honorable, successful practice. The dull 
routine of professional life was distasteful to 
his active temperament, and in 1844 he aban- 
doned the law, and henceforth his splendid 
talents and energies were wholly directed to 
large business enterprises. In connection with 
his father-in-law, Sheldon Thompson, and 
Henry Roop, he organized the Buffalo White 
Lead Works, with factory at Sixth and 
Georgia streets, Buffalo, an enterprise then al- 
most novel in Western New York. To his 
sagacity and active management is largely due 
the success of this enterprise. In i860 he 
withdrew from the white lead business, but to 
engage in larger enterprises. He lent his in- 
fluence and energy to the organization of the 
Niagara Street Railroad Company, became its 
first president, and by his industry, activity 
and tact accomplished many things essential 
to its success. The railroad having been 
placed upon a solid basis, he was ready for 
any new enterprise of promise to Buffalo, be- 
ing one of those true benefactors who have 
the courage to invest their capital in new ven- 
tures. There was an opening for a plant for 
the manufacture of iron, and in this business 
he was one of the pioneers. The Buffalo 
Union Iron Works was formed, which has 
had a lasting and salutary influence upon the 
prosperity of Buffalo. He was one of the 
original incorporators, and to his indomitable 
energy and liberal action much of the final 
success of this important experiment is due. 
The triumph of this enterprise demonstrated 
the superior natural advantages of Buffalo as 
not only an iron manufacturing city, but paved 
the way for other important manufacturing 
establishments that have made this city their 
home. He retained his active interest in the 
Iron Works until his sudden death, in 1863, 
aged forty-nine. 

Lack of political ambition alone kept him 
from high civic position ; the only office he 
ever consented to accept was that of alderman 
of Buffalo, an office he held at the time of 
his death. He was a Democrat in politics, but 
too whole-souled to be a mere partisan. He 
was a member of St. Paul's Episcopal Church, 
and a most devoted and liberal supporter. Dr. 
Shelton, his venerable pastor, spoke in his fun- 
eral discourse "of his keen sense of honor, 
his devotion to the public interest, his kind- 



ness of heart, his frequent and unostentatious 
charities, his liberality to the church and his 
many social virtues." He had a soul attuned 
to nature and he loved all things, particularly 
such as needed protection. He delighted in 
watching the birds and provided dwellings for 
them about his residence, and shielded them 
and their nests from injury in adjacent 
grounds. But his kindliness was not limited 
to birds and animals. He loved his fellow- 
men, and used his means for their betterment. 
He had a talent for nursing, and some of the 
poor whom he visited thought him a regular 
physician. His family were ignorant of many 
of his kindly deeds and were surprised when 
some of those he had tended in sickness and 
helped in other ways asked to look upon the 
face of their dead friend and benefactor. To 
quote from his friend, Judge Clinton (as we 
have heretofore), who used this quotation 
from Shakespeare : 

He was a man, take him for all in all, 
I ne'er shall look upon his like again. 

He married. August 6, 1839, Agnes Latta 
Thompson, born January 19, 1819, died De- 
cember 17. 1899, daughter of Sheldon Thomp- 
son, of previous mention, an early pioneer, 
prominent citizen and churchman, of Buffalo. 
Children : 

1. Sheldon Hastings, born May 10, 1840; 
died young. 

2. Henry Porter, born November 22, 1841, 
died young. 

3. Catherine, October 25. 1843, died young. 

4. William Young, of further mention. 

5. / met, born December 19, 1847 ; married 
George Brydges Rodney, I*. S. A., now re- 
siding at Hollywood. California. General 
Rodney enlisted as a private in the First 
Pennsylvania Artillery, in April, 1861, and 
soon received a commission as second lieuten- 
ant in the regular army, and was assigned to 
the Fourth Regiment." U. S. Artillery. He 
served with distinction during the entire civil 
war. being brevetted captain at the battle of 
Stone River, and major at the battle of 
Chickamauga for gallantry in action. He 
served in many Indian campaigns, notably the 
Nez Perces and Bannock uprisings. He re- 
ceived successive promotions to brigadier-gen- 
eral in the regular army, and was retired in 
1905, his entire term of service from second 
lieutenant to colonel having been with the 
Fourth Regiment, U. S. Artillery. Children : 



NEW YORK. 



685 



Warren and Walter Henry ; the latter was a 
graduate of Lehigh University ; he was ap- 
pointed second lieutenant First United States 
Cavalry and was promoted first lieutenant 
Second United States Cavalry. Lieutenant 
Rodney was assassinated in the Philippines, 
April 16, 191 1, by a fanatical Mohammedan 
Moro, whose crazed brain conceived bliss in 
paradise if he shed Christian blood. He mar- 
ried Gladys E. Helliwell, and left a daughter, 
Janet Warren. 

6. Edward Stevens, of further mention. 

7. Laetitia Viele, born April 15, 1856, mar- 
ried Henry Cornelius Hasbrouck, U. S. A., 
died at Newburg, New York, December 17, 
19 10. She survives her husband, and resides 
at Newburg. Brigadier-General Henry Cor- 
nelius Hasbrouck was born in Newburg, New 
York, October 26, 1839, second son of Hon. 
William Cornelius and Mary Elizabeth Roe 
Hasbrouck. He entered the United States 
Military Academy, West Point, July 1, 1856. 
was graduated in the May class of 1861, going 
immediately to the front with Griffin's West 
Point battery. He served with the Army of 
the Potomac during the civil war ; was in- 
valided home in 1863 ; when convalescent, de- 
tailed to West Point as assistant to Professor 
Bartlett, and rejoined the army before Peters- 
burg. After the war he was in command 
of Battery B, Fourth Artillery, and partici- 
pated in several Indian campaigns ; Arapahoe, 
in 1870; Modoc, in 1873; Nez Perces, 1877, 
and Bannock, in 1878. In the Modoc cam- 
paign he particularly distinguished himself and 
received a brevet for "gallant service in action 
against the Indians." He was commandant of 
cadets at West Point, 1882-88, and in 1887, 
with Inspector-General Absalom Baird, repre- 
sented the United States at manoeuvers of the 
French army. He was a member of the board 
that prepared the drill regulations adopted 
by the War Department for use in the United 
States army ; on duty at artillery school, For- 
tress Monroe, Virginia, as director of the de- 
partment of artillery ballistics, chemistry and 
explosives, and artillery practice exercise for 
the First Battalion, from September 28, 1892, 
until appointed May 27, 1898, brigadier-gen- 
eral L T nited States Volunteers, serving in vol- 
unteer army as commanding Second Brigade, 
Second Division, Seventh Army Corps. He 
was military governor of the province of Pinar 
del Rio during the American occupation of 
the island of Cuba until its evacuation. From 



1899 to 1903 he was in command of the Nar- 
ragansett artillery district, and directed the 
army and navy maneuvers in the vicinity of 
Newport; in 1900-02 was a member of the 
commission to decide what lands were required 
for the use of the army and navy in the island 
of Porto Rico ; in 1902 was appointed briga- 
dier-general in the regular army, and retired 
in 1903. He was a member of the Military 
Order, Loyal Legion of the United States; 
Lafayette Post, Grand Army of the Republic; 
Lawton Post, Army and Navy Union ; St. 
Nicholas Society of New York ; Holland So- 
ciety of New York ; Army and Navy Club 
of New York; University Club of New York; 
vice-president of the board of trustees of 
Washington Headquarters, Newburg, New 
York ; Historical Society of Newburg Bay, 
and the Highlands. 

(XXXVI) William Young, son of Edward 
Stevens and Agnes Latta (Thompson) War- 
ren, was born in Buffalo, New York, August 
30, 1845. His early education was obtained 
in public and private schools of Buffalo. He 
prepared for college at Walnut Hill School, 
Geneva, New York, after which he entered 
Sheffield Scientific School, Yale University, 
whece he took a special course in chemistry 
with a view of entering the Iron Works 
founded by his father and others. After fin- 
ishing his college years, Mr. Warren at once 
began an active business life. He was con- 
nected with the manufacturing department of 
the Union Iron Company for a few years; 
was with Palmer & Company, and until 1872 
was treasurer of the Akron Cement and Plas- 
ter Company. As junior of the firm of Phil- 
lips & Warren he was engaged in the manu- 
facture of opaque shade cloths, a business that 
was terminated by the destruction of their 
factory by fire. Subsequently he was again 
connected with the Union Iron Works, re- 
signing to accept a position in the office of 
the county treasurer of Erie county. On re- 
tiring from that position he became associated 
with the Barber Asphalt Paving Company as 
cashier of the Buffalo office, continuing in 
that position until his retirement from active 
business. He is a Republican in politics, and 
a member of St. Paul's Episcopal Church. His 
clubs are the Saturn and the Ellicott. He 
married, November 26, 1872, Clara Barton, 
daughter of William and Eliza P. (Whitte- 
more) Barton, of New York City. 

(XXXVI) Edward Stevens (2), son of 



NEW YORK. 



Edward Stevens (i)' and Agnes Latta 
(Thompson) Warren, was born in Buffalo, 
New York, April 6, 1850. His early education 
was obtained in public and private schools, 
after which he attended The Rectory School, 
near New Haven. Connecticut. After com- 
pleting his studies he was for fifteen years 
engaged as an iron manufacturer in Buffalo. 
He then became district manager of the Mu- 
tual Life Insurance Company of New York, 
for the territory in and around Buffalo, con- 
tinuing in the successful management of this 
office until 1891. In 1896 he became treasurer 
of the dry goods corporation of Flint & Kent, 
of Buffalo. He remained as treasurer of this 
corporation until 1910, when he resigned and 
retired from active business life. He was 
connected with the New York National Guard 
for several years as captain, serving in various 
departments, later assistant adjutant-general 
of the Fourth Brigade, resigning the latter 
position in 1898. He is a member of St. 
Paul's Episcopal Church, and an Independent 
in politics. His club is The Saturn. He mar- 
ried, June 1, 1886, Alida, daughter of Derick 
Lane and Mary Noble Boardman ; her father, 
born in Watertown, New York, son of a Pres- 
byterian minister. Children: Derick Board- 
man Warren, born March 27, 1887; Edward 
Hastings, born May 15. 1892, died August 27, 
1893. 



This family is of Scotch 
McLOUTH origin, but a search of Scotch 

records indicates that it was 
not numerous. From Scotland one branch re- 
moved to Ulster Province, north of Ireland, 
and according to tradition and direct evidence 
came to Taunton, Massachusetts, perhaps land- 
ing at Boston and remaining there a short 
time. In the early records we find the name 
spelled McCloth, McCloath, McClouth, and in 
other forms. 

(I) Lawrence McLouth, the first settler, 
was born probably as early as 1725, and was 
living in Taunton in 1775, when his son was 
called "Jr." On account of the loss of the 
Taunton vital records, we know little about 
the immigrant and the birth of his children. 
His sons made a magnificent record as sol- 
diers in the revolution. All the family left 
Taunton and settled in Lewisborough, Berk- 
shire county, soon after the close of the revo- 
lution. We give a paragraph to each son. 

(II) Lawrence (2), son of Lawrence (1) 



McLouth, and doubtless the eldest, was born 
probably as early as 1750. As Lawrence Jr. 
he was a soldier in the first year of the revo- 
lutionary war, in Captain Hodge's company, 
December, 1775, two months, and in 1776 is 
reported in Captain Noah Hall's company. He 
was also in Captain Edward Blake's company, 
Colonel George Williams' regiment, in the 
Rhode Island campaign of 1776. He was cor- 
poral in Captain Joshua Wilbur's company, 
Colonel John Hathaway's regiment, in Rhode 
Island, in April and May, 1777, and corporal 
in the same company under Colonel Josiah 
Whitney in September. 1777: also in Captain 
Caleb Richardson's company. Colonel Danforth 
Keyes' regiment, in 1777-78, and sergeant in 
December, 1777, at Providence. His name 
is on the list of men who went with Captain 
Fales in January, 1778, for three months at 
Slade's Ferry. He was sergeant in Captain 
Samuel Fales' company, Colonel J. Daggett's 
regiment, from January to April, 1778. in the 
Rhode Island campaign. ( See vol. x. p. 437, 
etc., Massachusetts Soldiers and Sailors in the 
Revolution). Under the spelling McClouth, 
he is recorded also as in Captain Mathew Ran- 
dall's company, Colonel Thomas Marshall's 
regiment, June to August, 1776. He was 
also a private in Captain Randall's company, 
same regiment, August to November, 1776; 
also in Captain Thompson J. Skinner's com- 
pany, Colonel Barnes' Berkshire county regi- 
ment, November 1 to 10, 1781. This company 
marched to western frontiers by order of Gen- 
eral John Stark on an alarm. The record 
was short, but shows that Lawrence had 
moved to Berkshire county before the close 
of the war and that his father was living 
during the revolution. Lawrence was in the 
war continuously, we conclude from the rec- 
ords, from 1775 to 1778. In the first federal 
census we find three of the family in Massa- 
chusetts, all then living in Lanesborough. 
Lawrence had two males over sixteen and 
five females in his family ; Solomon and John, 
the others, are mentioned below, but Lewis 
was also living, as proved by other records. 
The census was not complete and the name 
may have been misspelled. The census spells 
it McCloth in these three cases. The town 
of Cheshire was set off from Lanesborough. 
(II) John, one of the elder sons of Law- 
rence ( 1 ) McLouth. was a soldier in the revo- 
lution as early as 1776. He was from Taun- 
ton, served with Lawrence in Captain Noah 



NEW YORK. 



Hall's company at Winter Hill, in February, 
1776; went to the Castle with Captain Ran- 
dall in May that year, serving six months ; 
was fifer in Captain Edward Blake's company, 
Colonel George Williams' regiment, of Bristol 
county, in alarm of 1776; also fifer in Cap- 
tain Joshua Wilbur's company, Colo'nel John 
Hathaway's regiment, in Rhode Island, April- 
May, 1777 ; also in Captain Caleb Richardson's 
company. Colonel Danforth Keyes' regiment, 
and sergeant in Captain Jacob Haskin's com- 
pany, Colonel Hathaway's regiment. He moved 
to Lanesborough during the last of the revo- 
lution or directly afterward. In 1790 the cen- 
sus showed that he was living in Lanesbor- 
ough, and had one son under sixteen and two 
females in his family. 

(II) Solomon, son of Lawrence (1) Mc- 
Louth, was a soldier in the revolution, from 
Taunton, in Captain Josiah Crocker's com- 
pany, Colonel Carpenter's regiment, in the 
summer of 1776; also in Captain Jacob Has- 
kins' company, Colonel John Hathaway's regi- 
ment, March 13, 1779, to April 15, 1779; also 
in Captain Edward Blake's company, Colonel 
Mitchell's regiment, in August, 1780, on the 
Rhode Island alarm, and other service. In 
the vital records of Lanesborough we find but 
one record of the family, and that is the mar- 
riage, November 2, 1788, of Solomon Mc- 
Louth and Charity Mason. Solomon had in 
1790 one son under sixteen and two females 
in his family, in Lanesborough. 

(II) Lewis, son of Lawrence (1) McLouth, 
was a soldier in the revolution. He went with 
Captain Wilbur and Captain Leonard's party 
to Howland's Ferry in April, 1777, for three 
weeks. He was also in Captain Caleb Rich- 
ardson's company. Colonel Danforth Keyes' 
regiment, August 26, 1777, to January 1, 1778, 
in the Rhode Island campaign; also went with 
Captain Fales to Slade's Ferry; also in Cap- 
tain Samuel Fales' company, Colonel J. Dag- 
gett's regiment, January 6 to April 1, 1778, in 
Rhode Island, and he was with Captain 
Crocker and others in the six weeks campaign. 
Lewis McLouth and his son Lewis Jr. signed 
the petition of the inhabitants of Cheshire, 
Berkshire county, Massachusetts, July 8, 1814, 
requesting the punishment of British prisoners 
for misdemeanors (p. 205, Cheshire history). 
Lewis removed to Lanesborough with his 
brothers, as shown by this record, but was in 
Taunton as late as 1778, as other revolution- 
ary records show. He was in Captain Eben- 



ezer Dean's company, Colonel Thomas Car- 
penter's regiment, in 1777, and in Captain 
Nathaniel Snow's company, Colonel George 
Williams' regiment, from Taunton, under 
General Sullivan ; in Colonel Wade's regiment 
at Providence in 1778; also in Captain Josiah 
King's company, Colonel John Daggett's regi- 
ment, August 25, 1778, and later. Roll dated 
at Taunton. 

(II) Peter, son of Lawrence (1) McLouth, 
was in Captain Haskins' company in March, 
1781, in Rhode Island; no further trace of 
him. 

(III) Lawrence (3), son of Lawrence (2) 
McLouth, was born at Taunton, before 1770, 
and removed with the family to Lanesborough, 
afterward to Cheshire, Massachusetts. Thence 
he moved to Ira. Rutland county, Vermont, 
where in 1790 he had two sons under sixteen 
and three females in his family. Most of the 
McLouths soon went to the westward and 
branches are now living at Palmyra, New 
York ; Sandusky, Ohio, and Ray, Indiana. A 
picture of Lawrence has been preserved by 
descendants. 

(IV) Dr. Charles McLouth, son of Law- 
rence (3) McLouth, was born in Cheshire, 
Massachusetts. He attended the winter terms 
of the district school in his native town, and 
worked on his father's farm in summer. After 
he removed with the family to western New 
York he entered upon the study of medicine 
in the office of Dr. Smith, of Clyde, Wayne 
county. In 1819 he was licensed to practice 
by the Seneca County Medical Society, and 
opened his office in Aurora, Erie county, New 
York. His original certificate has been pre- 
served, as well as a later one issued by the 
Cattaraugus County Medical Society, and both 
are in possession of descendants. In 1821 he 
located in Frankiinville, Cattaraugus county, 
where he continued in active practice until his 
death, July 26, 1870. In 1825 he was sur- 
geon of the One Hundred and Seventy-third 
Regiment, New York militia. In 1837 he was 
vice-president of the Cattaraugus County 
Medical Society. He became one of the best 
known physicians and surgeons of this section 
of the state, and in many cases was family 
physician in the same homes for more than 
half a century. 

Possessing a robust constitution, a fine in- 
tellect and natural skill as well as thorough 
knowledge of his art, he gave freely of his 
ability and was held in the highest regard 



NEW YORK. 



both as a physician and as a citizen. Some- 
what careless in dress and brusque in manner, 
he was withal a man of wit and humor, a 
cheerful influence in the sick-room, and a 
jovial companion among his fellows. In short, 
he was of the highest type of the old-time 
country doctor, with his multifarious and 
arduous duties and responsibilities. He was 
a member of the Masonic fraternity. He mar- 
ried Anna McNett, of a Scotch-Irish family 
that came soon after 1700 to Massachusetts. 
The name is also spelled McNight, McNutt 
and McNitt by other branches. By his first 
wife he had three children, and one by a sec- 
ond wife. 

(V) Dr. Charles Darwin McLouth, son of 
Dr. Charles McLouth, was born in Franklin- 
ville, Cattaraugus county, New York, April 
14, 1829, and died there July 7, 1902. He 
attended the public school, and studied medi- 
cine under the instruction of his father, being 
licensed to practice August 12, 1874, by the 
Eclectic Medical Society of the Thirty-Second 
Senatorial District of New York. He opened 
an office in Franklinville and practiced there 
all his life. Like his father, he was naturally 
skillful and well suited to his profession, and 
likewise won the confidence and esteem of the 
entire community. He was a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics he 
was a Democrat. He married, March 22, 
1848, Pauline Shepard, born-October 31, 1830, 
died February 26, 1883. 

(VI) Lawrence E., only child of Dr. 
Charles Darwin and Pauline (Shepard) Mc- 
Louth, was born in Franklinville, May 25, 
1850, and died there July 1, 1909. He was 
educated in the public schools. He was a 
farmer, cattle dealer and salesman. In religion 
he was a Presbyterian, and a trustee of the 
church. In politics he was a Democrat. He 
was a member of the local lodge of Odd Fel- 
lows. He married, January 10, 1876, Isabel 
Burlingame, born August 18, 1848, daughter 
of Selah and Hannah (McClure) Burlingame, 
granddaughter of Ira and Elizabeth (Lyon) 
Burlingame. Hannah McClure, born 1814, 
was a daughter of David McClure, a soldier 
in the revolution, who was once sent out as a 
scout on Washington's own white horse. He 
was captain of a company at the defense of 
Niagara in the war of 1812, and was a cousin 
of General Joseph McClure. agent of the Hol- 
land Company. The McClures were also 
Scotch-Irish, coming early in 1806 to this sec- 



tion from Vermont. In 1770 James, John 
and Thomas McClure were heads of families 
at Middleton, Rutland county, Vermont, for- 
merly in part Ira, where the McLouths lived 
also. 

Selah Burlingame. born in 1807, was a 
farmer in Franklinville, a man of great 
strength and agility, one of the famous wrest- 
lers of this section at a time when that sport 
was at the height of its popularity, and it is 
said that he never met his match. He was a 
member of the Baptist church and held various 
offices of trust and honor. Children of Selah 
and Hannah Burlingame : Amelia, married 
David Sill, and had Lena, who married Tony 
Werries ; Addison, married Harriet Priest, 
lives at Findlay, Ohio, and has children : Piatt, 
Howard, Marshall. Harry and Helen ; Ellen, 
married Hawley Starr, resides in Bradford, 
Pennsylvania, and has children : Blanche, Isa- 
bel, Harriet and Harold ; Marshall, died aged 
sixteen years ; Adele, married Fillmore But- 
ton, and had a daughter, Grace ; Ira, married 
Ann Yandewater. Children of Lawrence E. 
and Isabel McLouth: Charles L., mentioned 
below : Claude, born January 17, 1880, died 
January 25, 1883; Earl A., born January 31, 
1882, married. November 30, 1905, Georgia 
Hout. 

(YII) Charles Lawrence, son of Lawrence 
E. McLouth, was born in Farmersville. Cat- 
taraugus county, New York, February 9, 1878. 
He obtained his education in the public schools 
and at Ten Broeck Academy. He began busi- 
ness life as clerk in a drug store, and studied 
pharmacy at the University of Buffalo, from 
which he graduated in 1900. He was a phar- 
macist for a time at Watertown, New York, 
and at Cuba, in that state. He afterward 
bought the drug store of D. F. Rundell, in 
Little Valley, New York, and since 1901 has 
been in business in that town. He has achieved 
a marked success in mercantile life, and ranks 
high among the business men of the com- 
munity. He is a member of Arion Lodge, No. 
812, Free Masons; Salamanca Chapter, No. 
266, Royal Arch Masons ; Salamanca Com- 
mandery. No. 62, and Ismailia Temple. Mystic 
Shrine. In politics he is a Republican, active 
in public affairs and imbued with public spirit 
and enterprise. 

lie married. September 5, 1900, Fanny Eliza 
Green, daughter of Charles and Eva ( Grover) 
Green, of Little Valley. New York, and grand- 
daughter of Judge Charles B. and Lydia 



NEW YORK. 



(Kent) Green. (See Green, elsewhere.) They 
have one child, Royal L., born June 23, 1902. 

(The Lyon Line). 

(I) Henry Lyon, the immigrant ancestor, 
was one of the family of Lyons of Glen Lyon, 
in Perthshire, Scotland, and he came to the 
colonies with his two brothers, Thomas and 
Richard, in 1648. The three brothers had been 
soldiers in Cromwell's army, and were on 
guard before the Banqueting House at White- 
hall. January 31, 1648, when Charles the First 
was executed. Immediately after they fled to 
America. Henry went to Milford, Connecti- 
cut, where he is first on record February 24, 
1642, when he was admitted to the church. 
In 1652 he married Elizabeth, daughter of 
William Bateman, of Fairfield, Connecticut, 
and was granted a house lot there. On May 
28, 1654, he was dismissed from the Fairfield 
to the Milford church. In 1666 he came to 
Newark, New Jersey, as one of the founders 
with the Milford colonists. He was the first 
treasurer of Newark, 1668-73, ar, d nrst keeper 
of the ordinary. In 1673-4 he removed to 
Elizabethtown, where he was a large land 
owner and a merchant of extensive interests. 
He was a member of the general assembly 
November 5, 1675; August 11, 1681, he was 
appointed justice of the peace ; February 4, 
1681, he was made judge of small causes, and 
February 28, 1681, a member of the gover- 
nor's council; December, 1683, commissioner; 
November 26, 1684, representative in council 
of the governor. Among his lands were one 
hundred acres of upland, since known as Lyon 
Farm. He married (second), 1669-1700, Mary 

. He returned to Newark in 1696, and 

died there in 1703. Children of first wife, 
born in Fairfield, Connecticut : Thomas, born 
1652-3: Mary, 1654-5; Samuel, mentioned be- 
low; Joseph, 1658-59; Nathaniel, 1663-4; 
John, 1665-6; born in Newark, New Jersey: 
Benjamin, 1668; Ebenezer, 1670. Children of 
second wife, born in Elizabethtown, New Jer- 
sey: Mary, 1690-1 : Dorcas, 1692-3. 

(II) Samuel, son of Henry Lyon, was born 
about 1655-6, in Fairfield. Connecticut. He 
married (first) Sarah Beach, born 1654, 
daughter of Zopher and Sarah (Piatt) Beach, 
of New Haven, Connecticut; (second) Han- 
nah, daughter of Thomas and Mary (Harri- 
son) Pierson. In 1666 Samuel Lyon received 
a lot in the distribution of lands. On June 24, 
1667, when he could have been only about 



twelve or thirteen years of age, he signed the 
"fundamental agreement" with the Milford 
colonists, and February 25, 1683-4 he sold two 
acres of land to Zopher Beach. His will, 
dated August 20, 1703, proved at New York, 
February 26, 1707, mentioned wife Hannah 
and children, making his brother Benjamin 
executor. Children of first wife : Samuel ; 
Henry, born 1682 ; Joseph ; Mary ; Sarah. Chil- 
dren of second wife : John, mentioned below ; 
James, born October 5, 1700; Hannah. 

(III) John, son of Samuel Lyon, married 
Elizabeth, daughter of Edward and Mary 
Riggs. Edward Riggs was descended from 
Edward Riggs, who came in 1633 with his 
family to Boston. John Lyon's descendants 
have not been traced definitely, but it is pos- 
sible that he had sons Joseph, John and 
Thomas. 

(IV) Thomas, son of John Lyon, married, 
in 1760, Huldah, sister of Martha Burlingame, 
who married John Lyon ; she was daughter of 
Daniel and Rose (Briggs) Burlingame. Sam- 
uel, Alexander, and Major Thomas Lyon were 
probably his sons. One reason for this state- 
ment is that Cyrus, a son of John, brother of 
Thomas, named his oldest son Alexander in 
1797, and there can be no doubt that Cyrus 
and Alexander were cousins. Also, a daugh- 
ter of Samuel Lyon married a Burlingame. 

(V) Samuel, son of Thomas Lyon, came 
to Chenango county, New York, in 1791, with 
his brothers Alexander and Major Thomas. 
Samuel and Alexander are said to have served 
in a Connecticut regiment in the revolution ; 
Alexander never married. Major Thomas 
Lyon was killed at Little York in 1812, in a 
fight with the British. He led a regiment 
of state troops from Chenango county in 1812. 
"Towards the close of 1813, General Dear- 
born, under whom Major Lyon served, crossed 
Lake Erie with seventeen hundred men with 
the intention of attacking York, now Toronto, 
and then the chief depot of the British depots 
in the west. A landing was made before Ygpj 
on the 27th of the month (April) undc. . ■ 
fire, but the Americans pushed on and tYic 
enemy were driven from the works. The 
Americans were still pressing toward the main 
works when a magazine exploded, a plot of 
the British. Two hundred Americans were 
killed and wounded, among the mortally 
wounded being Major Lyon, who was carried 
on board the Commodore's vessel and there 
died the death of a hero." 



690 



NEW YORK. 



Samuel Lyon and his brothers bought land 
of Benjamin Hovey, Governor Clinton's land 
agent, for one shilling an acre, and built a 
grist mill, lumber and woolen mill. He set- 
tled in Oxford in 1792, and made his home at 
Lyon Brook, near Lyon Brook Bridge, on the 
New York, Ogdensburg & Western railroad. 
He came from Great Bend, Pennsylvania. He 
is said to have had a brother, Dr. Daniel 
Lyon. Children : Daniel ; Huldah, married 
Charles Smith ; Sally, married a Rathbone ; 
Betsey, mentioned below ; Polly, married 

Samuel Pollard; Samuel, married 

Eddy ; Lovina and Lucina, twins, Lovina mar- 
ried John Pollard, Lucina married 

Baker ; Ira ; Lovica, married William Smith ; 
George Rowley, born August 16, 1800. 

(VI) Betsey, daughter of Samuel Lyon, 
married Ira Burlingame. Their son, Selah 
Burlingame, married Hannah McClure. Isabel, 
daughter of Selah Burlingame, married Law- 
rence E. McLouth (see McLouth). 



George A. Moore, a resident of 
MOORE Buffalo, New York, from 1835 

to 1891, was born in Fabius, 
New York, March 27, 1814. He was of revo- 
lutionary descent, also descended from Thomas 
Moore, born in England, died in Windsor, 
Connecticut, 1645, an d h' s son - John Moore, 
born in England, died in Windsor, Connecti- 
cut, September 17, 1677. His wife. Abigail 
Moore, was still living according to church 
records, December 22, 1677. These men came 
to America in the "Mary and John," with 
others, from Devonshire, Somersetshire and 
Dorsetshire. Two famous ministers came with 
them, Mr. John Maverick and Mr. John War- 
ham. They set sail from Plymouth, England, 
March 30, 1630, and arrived at Nantasket, 
May 30, 1630. They began a settlement at 
Mattapan, now called Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts. In the summer of 1635 Mr. Warham's 
people, sixty men, women and children, re- 
moved to Connecticut and settled at Windsor. 
Thomas Moore and John Moore remained at 
p' cU 'i Chester until 1639. 

(II) January 2, 1637, John Moore was one 
of twenty men at Dorchester, chosen to gov- 
ern all of the affairs of the plantation. They 
were made freemen at Windsor, Connecticut, 
April 9, 1641. John Moore was ordained 
deacon, January 11, 1651. His accounts as 
deacon were granted February 10, 1673. At 
the court of election at Hartford, May 16, 



1661, John Winthrop was elected governor, 
and John Moore deputy. The house which 
Deacon John Moore built in those early days 
is still standing in Windsor, Connecticut. 
Deacon John Moore had one son, John Moore, 
Junior, and four daughters, mentioned in his 
will published in the Hartford probate records, 
vol. 1, page 195. P. 222: Nathaniel Loomis 
married, November 24. 1653, Elizabeth Moore ; 
Thomas Bissell married, October 11, 1655, 
Abigail Moore ; Nathaniel Bissell married, 
September 25, 1662, Mindwell Moore; John 
Drake Jr. married, November 30, 1648, Han- 
nah Moore. 

(III) John Moore Jr., born December 5, 
1645, son °f Deacon John Moore, died June 1, 
1718. He married, September 21, 1664, at 
Windsor, Connecticut, Hannah Goffe, born in 
Cambridge. Massachusetts, March 23, 1644, 
died in Windsor, April 4, 1697. Seven sons: 
John, Thomas, Samuel, Nathaniel, Edward ; 
Josiah and Joseph, twins. By second wife, 
Mary Farnsworth, one daughter. Martha 
Moore, married Job Drake (2). 

(IV) Joseph Moore, born July 5, 1679, son 
of John Moore Jr., died August 15, 1713. He 
married, 1702, Sarah Browne, of Windsor, 
Connecticut, granddaughter of Peter Browne, 
of the "Mayflower," 1620. Children : Four 
daughters and one son: Sarah, Deborah, 
Phcebe, Lydia, and Joseph Moore Jr. 

(V) Joseph Moore, only son of Joseph and 
Sarah (Browne) Moore, was born August 11, 
1712, at Windsor, Connecticut, and died May 
5, 1790. He married, May 29. 1735, Elizabeth 
Allyn. born November 22, 1712, died May 11, 
1790. Six sons and four daughters: Joseph, 
Josiah, Elisha, Theophilus, Asa. Abijah, Han- 
nah, Elizabeth Wakeman. Anna and Sarah. 
The father of this family and his eldest son, 
Joseph, were in the French war ; also the 
father and five of the sons and the husbands 
of the four daughters were revolutionary 
soldiers. 

(VI) Lieutenant Josiah Moore, born Sep- 
tember 17, 1737. second son of Lieutenant Jo- 
seph Moore, died in New Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, February 28, 181 1. He married, at Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, November 18. 1762, Anna 
Gillette. Children, mentioned in his will: 
Susanna, Carina, Anna, Prudence. Laura, 
Josiah Moore( deceased), Elihu, and Theron. 

(VII) Josiah Moore Jr., born September 
28, 1765, son of Lieutenant Josiah Moore, died 
April 29, 1802. at Fabius, New York. He 



NEW YORK. 



691 



married, 1788, at Hanvinton, Connecticut, 
Abigail Dewey, born 1769, died September 
3, 1853, at Fabius, New York, daughter of 
Captain Daniel Dewey, revolutionary soldier. 
"Centennial History of Onondaga County, 
New York, Town of Fabius" : "In the spring 
of 1794 Timothy Jerome and Josiah Moore, 
of Stockbridge, Massachusetts, moved in and 
erected log cabins. Josiah Moore settled on 
lot fifteen on the old Chenango road. He 
sowed the first wheat, brought the first farm 
implements into this section, became the first 
town clerk, built the first frame house in 1800, 
and died there April 29, 1802, being the first 
one of the pioneers to cross to the other 
shore." Five sons and one daughter: John, 
Josiah, Henry, Charles, Augustus C. and 
Maria Abigail. The youngest son, Augustus 
C. Moore, born 1799, came to Buffalo in 1831, 
died 1883. 

(VIII) John Moore, born June 7, 1789, at 
Torrington, Connecticut, eldest son of Josiah 
Moore Jr., died September 24, 1872, at Tully, 
New York. He married, April 2, 1808, Mary 
Lerana Middlebrook, born in Trumbull, Con- 
necticut, October 2, 1790, died February 1, 
1854, at Fabius, New York, granddaughter 
of Lieutenant Ephraim Middlebrook, killed 
April, 1777, in the "Danbury Raid." John 
Moore was a soldier in the war of 1812. Chil- 
dren : Josiah Beach Moore, George Augustus 
Moore, John Osborne Moore, Mariette L. 
Moore, Norman Titus Moore, Maria Abigail 
Moore, Ann Elizabeth Moore, Theodore Mid- 
dlebrook Moore. 

(IX) George Augustus Moore, son of John 
Moore, was born March 27, 1814, in Fabius, 
New York, died in Buffalo, New York, De- 
cember 28, 1890. He married, January 1, 
1839, at Buffalo, Catherine A. Brown, born 
in Attica, New York, March 12, 1819, died 
in Hamburg, New York, March 16, 1884, 
granddaughter of John Nichols, revolutionary 
soldier, Brimfield, Massachusetts. Five sons 
and six daughters: Theodore Middlebrook 
Moore, born 1839, died 1900 ; Mary Louise 
Moore, born 1841 : Norman Titus Moore, born 
1842; Frederick Brown Moore, born 1844; 
George Barnard Moore, born 1847, died 1888 ; 
John Henry Moore, born 1849 1 Kate Eliza 
Moore, born 1851, died 1853; Emma Caroline 
Moore, born 1853 : Anna Maria Moore, born 
1855; Marion Isabel Moore, born 1857; Alice 
Olivia Moore, born i860. 

(X) John Henry Moore, son of George A. 



Moore, was born in Buffalo, New York, Feb- 
ruary 18, 1849; married. March 5, 1878, Kate 
Victoria Bullymore, born April 7, 1853, in 
Buffalo, New York. He graduated from the 
United States Naval Academy, June, 1869 ; 
retired as commander United States Navy, 
June, 1899. Two sons: 1. Langdon Moore, 
born January 8, 1879, Washington, D. C. ; 
married, in Baltimore, Maryland, March 4, 
191 1, Minda Ellenworth Gottlieb, born April 
12, 1886. 2. Theodore John Moore, born Oc- 
tober 23, 1891, Washington, D. C. 



The surname Hodge had its 
HODGE origin in the name Roger. It is 
supposed to be of Norman- 
French origin, brought into England by a 
"Roman knight and valiant follower of Wil- 
liam the Conqueror." From Roger came 
Oger, then Odger, Hodger, and finally Hodge. 
He settled in Scotland and the name is now 
common in every civilized country. The Eng- 
lish-Teutonic meaning is "Spear of fame." 
The family bore arms in both Scotland and 
England. The English coat is : Crest : An 
eagle rising, looking at the sun. Arms: A 
chevron surmounted by a pale. The Scotch 
crest : A garb entwined with two serpents. 
Arms : A chevron between two amulets. 

The Buffalo family of Hodge herein re- 
corded descends from John Hodge, born about 
1643, died in Lyme, Connecticut, 1692 or 1694. 
He was an early settler of Killingworth (now 
Clinton), of Windsor and of Suffield, Con- 
necticut. He married, August 12, 1666, Sus- 
anna Denslow, born September 3, 1646, daugh- 
ter of Henry Denslow, who was killed by the 
Indians at Windsor, Connecticut, April 4, 
1676, son of Nicholas Denslow, the emigrant. 
Of his eleven children the first was born at 
Killingworth, five at Windsor and five at Suf- 
field : John, Thomas, Mary, Joseph, Ben- 
jamin, Henry, William, Elizabeth, Susanna, 
Abigail and Samuel. 

(II) Samuel, youngest child of John Hodge, 
was born October 4, 1686, died in Glastonbury, 
Connecticut, May 8, 1764. He was a land 
owner of that town as early as 1712. There 
is no record of his marriage yet found, but 
there was a widow Sarah Hodge, who died in 
Glastonbury, May 31, 1781, supposed widow 
of Samuel Hodge. Some of his descendants 
claim that she was Sarah Dustin before her 
marriage, born July 4, 1688, daughter of 
Thomas and Hannah Dustin, of Haverhill, 



6 9 i 



NEW YORK. 



Massachusetts, whose Indian fame is histori- 
cal ; but this claim is not allowed by Orlando 
John Hodge in his "Hodge Genealog_y," 1900. 
Children: Samuel (2), John and Benjamin. 

(III) Benjamin, youngest son of Samuel 
Hodge, was born 1731, died at Glastonbury, 
Connecticut, July. 1799. He served in the 
French and Indian war from May 29 to Octo- 
ber 25, 1758, in Captain Samuel Gay lord's 
company, Fourth regiment, and received as 
pay nine pounds twelve shillings ten pence. He 
was on town patriotic committees during the 
revolution, and was of help to the revolution- 
ary cause in many ways. He married, No- 
vember 2T, 1751, at Glastonbury, Lydia 
Welles, born May 24, 1728, died 1810, daugh- 
ter of Ephraim (2), son of Ephraim (1), son 
of Thomas, son of Hugh Welles, who came 
from England to America in the ship "Globe," 
in 1635, landing at Boston. Children: Ben- 
jamin (2), of further mention: William, 
Lydia, Ann, Jerusha, Asahel, Lois and Eunice. 
His daughters all married revolutionary 
soldiers. 

(IV) Benjamin (2), son of Benjamin (1) 
Hodge, was born in Glastonbury, Connecti- 
cut, February 1, 1753, died February 23, 1837, 
in Buffalo, New York. In 1775 he made a 
whaling voyage, and on his return enlisted in 
Captain Jonathan Hale's company, Colonel 
Erastus Wolcott's regiment, and was sent to 
a point on Lake George, New York, to defend 
the frontiers. The extreme cold and hardship 
caused him to fall ill, and the next year he 
was sent home. In 1777 he went to sea on a 
merchant vessel, which was captured by a 
British vessel, the crew escaping to the shore. 
In 1783 he taught school in Glastonbury, for 
which he was paid a pound. In 1786 he bought 
land, and in the years following he appears 
in several real estate transactions. In 1793 
he moved to Richfield. Otsego county. New 
York, where he resided until 1798, when he 
sold and moved to Exeter in the same county. 
In 1806 he sold his lands in Exeter and started 
for a home farther west, with several of his 
neighbors. In July, 1806, the party made its 
way on the Mohawk river to Oneida lake, by 
Oswego river to Lake Ontario, on the lake 
to the mouth of the Niagara river, which they 
ascended to the falls. Here their flatboat was 
loaded on a wagon, drawn around the falls, 
and again placed in the river. They reached 
Buffalo creek, where William Hodge, elder 
son of Benjamin (2) was located at Cold 



Springs, three miles from the mouth of the 
creek. Buffalo was then known as New Am- 
sterdam, afterward Buffalo, and contained 
about a dozen white families. Before leaving 
Exeter Benjamin had purchased, for $23, the 
title to lot 35, containing forty-seven and 
three-tenths acres, just outside the village of 
Buffalo, which has long since become a part 
of the city. This he exchanged with his son 
William for a farm the latter owned at Eden, 
a few miles from Buffalo. He lived on the 
Eden farm until December, 1812, when he 
moved to Cold Springs, near his son. Here 
he engaged in farming, trading in cattle, and 
other pursuits. December 30, 1813, he was 
an eyewitness to the burning of Buffalo by 
the British. Hearing the British were com- 
ing, he hastily sent his family in a wagon 
drawn by a yoke of oxen to Harris Hill, now 
Clarence, while he remained to watch his 
property. The following day a patrol of Brit- 
ish sent to destroy the residence of his son 
William (in the cellar of which was stored 
merchandise valued at $50,000, belonging to 
the merchants of Buffalo) saw Benjamin and 
another man in the street near William's house 
and ordered them to surrender. Instead, they 
both ran. Benjamin halted, while his com- 
panion kept on and was shot. Benjamin was 
directed to get an axe and break in the heads 
of some of the liquor casks stored in William's 
cellar. While an officer was filling his can- 
teen with spirits, a sentry cried "the Yankees 
are coming." The officer fled in such haste 
that when Mr. Hodge reached the floor above, 
the officer had disappeared. The building had 
been fired in several places, however, and was 
soon in ruins. Mr. Hodge was a member of 
the Masonic order, which fact, it is said, saved 
him from being carried away prisoner with 
his son Benjamin (3), who was taken to Can- 
ada and held prisoner. Benjamin lived 
through two wars with Great Britain and 
much early frontier life. He wore knee 
buckles after the Continental style, long after 
they had gone out of general use, and was 
probably the last man in Buffalo to discard 
them. He died greatly respected by his busi- 
ness and social acquaintances. He is buried 
with his wife in Forest Lawn Cemetery, Buf- 
falo. 

He married, April 9, 1780. Sarah Churchill, 
born November 25, 1757, in Chatham, Con- 
necticut, died in Buffalo, May 20. 1837, daugh- 
ter of Daniel, son of Nathaniel, son of Joseph, 



NEW YORK 



son of Josiah Churchill, who came from Eng- 
land about 1636, settled in Wethersfield, Con- 
necticut. They lived a happy married life, 
continuing fifty-five years. Children : William, 
of further mention ; Clarissa, Philander, Al- 
fred, Lorin, Sarah, Clarissa, Alfred, Ben- 
jamin (3) and Velorius. 

(V) William, son of Benjamin (2) Hodge, 
was born in Glastonbury, Connecticut, July 2, 
1781, died in Buffalo, September 18, 1848. 
When he was thirteen years of age his parents 
moved to Otsego county, New York, where 
for several years William taught school. On 
June 16, 1805, he entered Buffalo Creek and 
began life at Cold Springs, now a part of 
Buffalo. He bought land, built a house, en- 
gaged in mercantile trade, kept a tavern, 
manufactured bricks, and followed other pur- 
suits. It was his house and goods that the 
British were after, as described in preceding 
generation. After the war Mr. Hodge rebuilt 
his house, using the old brick walls, which 
had not been materially damaged by the fire. 
After many years this building was torn down 
and replaced by the widow with the fine struc- 
ture now standing at the southwest corner of 
Main and Utica streets, Buffalo. December 
26, 1838, the Buffalo Bank was organized, with 
William Hodge (1) and William Hodge (2) 
as two of the incorporators. Philander, an- 
other son of William Hodge ( 1 ) , had an in- 
terest in the bank and was one of its officers. 
Pierre A. Barker, vice-president, was not 
equal to the task of carrying the bank through 
the great financial panic which soon after 
swept over the country, and the bank failed. 
William Hodge ( 1 ) was much the largest 
stockholder in the bank, in fact had furnished 
most of the capital, and in the failure neces- 
sarily lost largely. In time he recovered from 
his reverses and at his death left a large es- 
tate, much of it in land now within the city 
limits. A tract of thirty acres lay between 
Elmwood avenue and a line halfway between 
Hodge and Bryant streets (on the south), on 
the north Utica, on the east Main. His brother 
Velorius owned a large tract adjoining. 
Hodge avenue is named after his son, William 
Hodge. 

William Hodge married, March 25, 1802, 
Sally Abbott, born April 3, 1787, died March 
9, 1868, daughter of Daniel Abbott, of Exeter, 
Otsego county, New York, who moved to 
Hamburg, Erie county, New York, in 1810. 
Children : Sarah, William, of further men- 



693 

tion; Sophia, Philander, Sabrina, Julia, Ade- 
line, Sally Abbott, Mary Beaufort, Joseph, 
Jasper, Susan Maria, Helen Louise and Ben- 
jamin Franklin. 

(VI) William (2). son of William (1) 
Hodge, was born in Erie county, New York, 
December 20, 1804, died in Buffalo, April 24, 
1887. In 1805 he accompanied his parents 
on their removal from Otsego to Erie county. 
He was nine years old when Buffalo was 
burned by the British and his father's house 
destroyed. He was a man of good education, 
and more the scholar than the business man. 
He laid out Hodge avenue on land he owned, 
and erected thereon many fine buildings. The 
property he inherited from his father, to which 
he added by wise management, made him a 
man of large means with which to gratify his 
intellectual tastes. He was at one time presi- 
dent of the Buffalo Historical Society, and 
wrote for the newspapers of Buffalo many ar- 
ticles in regard to the early settlement of that 
city. In 1885 he published a very interesting 
volume entitled "Memoirs of the late William 
Hodge, Senior," -which contains many facts 
about the older inhabitants of Buffalo. In 
speaking of the battle of Black Rock, when 
the British burned Buffalo, he says : "Two of 
my uncles, Lorin and Alfred Hodge, were 
in that battle." He was a member of West- 
minster Presbyterian Church, and of other 
leading organizations of the city. 

He married. November 24, 1848, Arrietta 
A. Hodge, born October 18, 18 15, died De- 
cember 14, 1883, daughter of Lorin Hodge, 
son of Benjamin (2). Children: 1. Mary 
Davis, born January 8, 1850, died 185 1. 2. 
William Churchill, of further mention. 3. Wil- 
liard Way, born April 15, 1853; married, June 
12, 1879, Elizabeth Anstey Christey ; children : 
Elizabeth and Shurly Christey. 4. Charles 
Jones, of further mention. 

(VII) William Churchill, eldest son of Wil- 
liam (2) Hodge, was born in Buffalo, July 4, 
1 85 1. For many years he was partner in a 
large gentlemen's furnishing store, retired and 
devoted himself to real estate and fire insur- 
ance with Armstrong, Roth & Cady Co. He 
is much interested in the preservation of our 
forests and game : he was appointed game pro- 
tector in 1907 for Western New York, and is 
a director of the Forest. Fish and Game Club. 
He is a member of the Westminster Presby- 
terian Church and of the Park Club. Politi- 
cally he is a Republican. He married, Octo- 



694 



NEW YORK. 



ber 18, 1876, Helen Maria Hopkins, born Oc- 
tober 20, 1857, daughter of Nelson Kerr and 
Louise Ann (Pratt) Hopkins. Nelson K. was 
son of Timothy S. and Nancy Ann Kerr Hop- 
kins. Timothy S. was son of Ichabod and 
Sarah Hopkins. Nancy Kerr comes from the 
Kerr family of England and Scotland, whose 
history is traced to the year 495. Louise Ann 
Pratt was the daughter of Hiram and Maria 
Fowle Pratt, of Northampton, Massachusetts, 
and great-granddaughter of Captain Samuel 
Pratt, a captain of the revolution, buried in 
Forest Lawn cemetery, Buffalo. These mar- 
riages join the five ancient families. Pratt, 
Hodge, Hopkins, Bigelow and Warren. Chil- 
dren of William Churchill and Helen Maria 
Hodge: 1. William Churchill (2). born Oc- 
tober 24, 1877; prepared for college at An- 
dover, graduating in 1895, and graduate of 
Yale University, 1899, A. B., in 1903 as mas- 
ter of forestry ; is a linguist, speaking fluently 
Latin. Greek, German, French and Italian. In 
1899 he entered the service of the United 
States Forestry Department, and in 1907 
moved his residence to Cali-fornia. He is an 
authority on red woods and forestry. He is 
a valuable man to the service and stands high 
with his superiors in office. His interest in 
forestry was among the first, he having made 
a study of the subject in French before there 
were any books printed in English, Mr. Hodge 
translating several of the French books into 
English for the use of American students. 
2. Helen Marguerite, born May 30, 1879, died 
May 5, 1891. 3. Harold Hodge, born March 
29, 1882; graduate of Andover (preparatory), 
and a student two years in Yale University. 
He is now sales manager of the King Sewing 
Machine Company, having formerly been with 
the Needham Company, the Larkin company, 
and with Jones Brothers, of Kansas City. He 
has made a specialty of advertising methods 
and stands high in that profession. He is very 
fond of athletics, and has held the tennis cham- 
pionship of Buffalo, New York state, and of 
the Missouri valley. 4. Sheldon, born April 
23, 1883 ; graduate of Andover ; now manager 
of the architectural department, Pratt & Lam- 
bert : married. February 8, 1910. Helene, 
daughter of Cassius A. Lockhart, of Buffalo. 
(VII) Charles Jones, youngest son of Wil- 
liam (2) Hodge, was born February 18. 1856, 
in Buffalo, New York. He was educated in 
the public and high schools of Buffalo, and 
began business life in care of his father's es- 



tate for several years, then engaged in the 
real estate business in California, having offices 
in Los Angeles. His family remained in Buf- 
falo, which city is his home. He is a Repub- 
lican and a member of Westminster Presby- 
terian Church. He married, October 22, 1879, 
Annie Emily Belton, born July 21, 1859, 
daughter of Webster Belton, of London, Can- 
ada, who married Jane Scatcherd, born in 
Canada, now a resident of Buffalo. Webster 
was a son of George Belton, a farmer of Can- 
ada, who married Alita Philpot. Children of 
Charles J. and Annie E. Hodge, all born in 
Buffalo: 1. Charles Lansing, born April 7, 
1 88 1 ; now engaged in construction work; 
married, June 7, 1907, Florence Tupper, and 
has a daughter, Jane Belton. 2. Gilbert 
Scatcherd, born March 28, 1884; now on a 
ranch in California. 3. Nelson Webster, born 
May 19, 1887; now with the Aluminum Cast- 
ing Company of Cleveland, Ohio. 4. Robert 
Belton, born January 11, 1889: now a ranch- 
man of California. 5. Eric Lawrence, born 
January 17, 1894: graduate Lafayette high 
school (1911). 



The progenitor and American 
HOPKINS ancestor of this branch of the 
family is Stephen Hopkins, 
who settled at Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 
1634; was made a freeman in 1635: removed 
to Hartford, Connecticut, in 1636, where he 
became a juror in 1643. It is not known what 
relation, if any, he bore to Stephen Hopkins, 
who came to Plymouth in 1620, or to Edward 
Hopkins, who arrived in Boston in 1637, and 
afterwards became governor of Connecticut, 
although he could not have been a near rela- 
tive of the last. Stephen Hopkins died in 1654. 
His will was dated 1648 and an inventory of 
his estate was taken April 15. 1654. He left 
a widow Jane, who married (second) Nathan- 
iel Ward. Children: Stephen ; Bethiah, mar- 
ried Samuel Stocking, of Middletown, Con- 
necticut. 

(II) Stephen (2), son of Stephen (1) and 
Jane Hopkins, was born either in England or 
shortly after the arrival at Cambridge, Mas- 
sachusetts. He came to Hartford with his 
father and was made a freeman in 1656. He 
was a farmer and a miller. His will bore 
the date of September 28, 1680, and the in- 
ventory (amounting to 591 pounds) Novem- 
ber 6, 1689. He married Dorcas, daughter 
of John Bronson, of Farmington, Connecticut. 



NEW YORK. 



695 



Children: 1. John, became one of the most 
respected and influential of the early settlers 
of Waterbury, Connecticut. He was one of 
the youngest of the original proprietors, and 
ran the mill at Mattatuck. He was constable, 
grand juror, deputy many times, justice of 
the peace, town clerk, kept an "ordinary," ser- 
geant, ensign, lieutenant, and a large land 

owner. He married Hannah and had 

five children. 2. Stephen, born 1665, died 
1704; married Sarah, daughter of Lieutenant 
Thomas and Hannah Judd. 3. Ebenezer, of 
whom further. 4. Joseph, married, April 27, 
1693, Hannah, daughter of Paul Peck, of 
Hartford. 5. Dorcas, married, May 11, 1681, 
Jonathan Webster. 6. Mary, married Samuel 
Sedgwick. 

(Ill) Ebenezer, son of Stephen (2) and 
Dorcas (Bronson) Hopkins, was born in 
Hartford, 1669. He became one of the early 
settlers of Harwinton, Litchfield county, Con- 
necticut, in 1730, and had land granted him 
in 1732. There were then living in the same 
town, Ebenezer (1), Ebenezer (2), Jonathan 
(1), Jonathan (2), Stephen and Hezekiah 
Hopkins. The records of the first town meet- 
ing show Ebenezer Hopkins appointed to be 
one of the surveyors of the highway, "Hez 
Hopkins to be constabool." Both Ebenezer 
and son Ebenezer were signers of the petition 
to have a new county erected (Litchfield). He 
was a grantor of the part of the town called 
"East Harwinton." The records show that at 
the town meeting held September 17, 1745, it 

was voted "Ebenezer Hopkins and 

shall sit in ye pew under ye stares at the West 
end of the meeting house," and voted De- 
cember 31, 1750, "Ebenezer Hopkins and 

shall be a committee to appoint 

the places for the schools and dispose of the 
school money for the purpose for which it 
was voted." These two items doubtless refer 
to Ebenezer (2), as Ebenezer (1), the father, 
would have then been an old man. Ebenezer 
(1) Hopkins married, January 21, 1691, Mary, 
daughter of Samuel Butler, of Wethersfield, 
Connecticut. Children: 1. Ebenezer, died 
young. 2. Jonathan, baptized June 28, 1696. 
3. Ebenezer, of whom further. 4. Mary, born 
January 30, 1705. 5. Stephen, born August 
6, 1707: settled in Waterbury: married 
Jemima Bronson. 6. Isaac, born November 
28, 1708; settled in Waterbury; married Mary, 
daughter of Thomas Hickox. 7. Sarah, born 
June 20, 1710. 



(IV) Ebenezer (2), son of Ebenezer (1) 
and Mary (Butler) Hopkins, was born June 
25, 1700. He removed to Pittsford, Vermont; 
died at Shaftsbury, 1784, while returning from 
a visit to Massachusetts. He married and had 
sons: James, of whom further; Nehemiah, 
deacon in the church, died at Crown Point, 
New York, 1814; Elias; Tabitha, married Dr. 
Abithar Willard. Deacon Nehemiah had a 
daughter, Susannah, who married Elijah Kirk- 
ham, and some time after both she, her hus- 
band, and child were drowned in Lake Cham- 
plain. 

(V) James, eldest son of Ebenezer (2) 
Hopkins, removed to the state of New York 
and settled in the Genesee Valley. He mar- 
ried and had sons, James and Caleb, and two 
daughters, one, Rhoda. married Elias Hopkins. 

(VI ) Caleb, son of James Hopkins, was 
born in 1770. reared near Pittsford, Vermont, 
on the farm, died 1818. In 1791, with Gen- 
eral Jonathan Fassett and others, he removed 
to Western New York. He was then twenty- 
one years of age. In 1791 he built his log 
house on land he had secured, and in 1800 
was the first settler in Penfield, Monroe 
county, New York. Soon afterward he re- 
moved to Stonetown, nearby, where he erected 
a mill. He became a large land owner and 
spent his time between his mill and overseeing 
his farms. He was appointed by Governor 
Madison collector of the port of Genesee and 
commissioned in 1804 lieutenant of militia by 
Governor George Clinton. In 1807 Governor 
Morgan commissioned him major, and in 1812 
he received a colonel's commission from Gov- 
ner Tompkins. He was in the service during 
the war of 1812-14 as colonel of the Fifty- 
second Regiment, New York state militia. In 
1816 and 1817 he was elected a member of 
the New York state assembly. The following 
is an extract from a letter written by Gover- 
nor Tompkins, dated Albany, February 21, 
1817: 

I recall the distinguished part you took in the 
militia and volunteers of the war and the intrepid 
conduct exhibited by you in the various battles 
of that memorable struggle. I cannot communicate 
ah acceptance of your resignation, without adding 
personal acknowledgment of my gratitude and ap- 
provation. Your friend and servant. 

Daniel D. Hopkins. 



In the early settlement of Pittsford he was 
a member of the first board of assessors in 



6q6 



NEW YORK. 



1796 and supervisor in 1804. In 1806 he be- 
came interested in manufacturing, but his 
death, January 14, 1818, prevented his engag- 
ing to any great extent. 

He married, about 1795, Dorothy, daughter 
of Jacobus Mabee, who came from Vermont 
with Colonel Hopkins. She died August 20, 
1847, ar >d is buried at Pittsford, Monroe 
county, New York. Among their children was 
Marvin, of whom further. 

(VII) Marvin, son of Colonel Caleb and 
Dorothy ( Mabee) Hopkins, was born at Pitts- 
ford, New York, 1805, died there in 1867. He 
was educated at Canandaigua, New York, and 
after completing his studies returned to the 
farm and ever after followed that occupation. 
He was a successful man of business, of high 
character, and of considerable influence in his 
town. 

He was a Democrat in politics, and 
served the town of Pittsford as supervisor in 
1840-42-46-50-62. He was a member of the 
Episcopal church, and active in good works. 
He married, in 1830, Jane Phelps, born No- 
vember 1, 1812, daughter of Josiah and Rox- 
cena (Newcomb) Phelps (see Phelps III). 
Children of Mr. and Mrs. Hopkins: James, 
removed to St. Louis, Missouri ; Clarissa M., 
married (first) Lyman M. Barkers: (second) 
Orlando Austin ; Dorothy, married Charles W. 
Rogers: Robert M., of whom further: George, 
of Akron, Ohio ; Chauncey, of Granger, Ohio ; 
lared W., a farmer, of Pittsford, New York, 
and member of the assembly of New York 
from there. 

(VIII) Robert M., son of Marvin and Jane 
(Phelps) Hopkins, was born at Pittsford, 
Monroe county, New York, August 22, 1847. 
He was educated in the public schools and at 
Ohio Academy. After completing his studies, 
he settled on" a farm at Pittsford and until 
1903 was engaged in agriculture. In the lat- 
ter year he retired from business and took up 
his residence at Lockport, New York, where 
he now resides. He is past master of North- 
field Lodge, No. 420, Free and Accepted 
Masons. He is a member of the Presbyterian 
church, and a Republican in politics. He mar- 
ried (first) Laura Kent: she died January 14, 
1S74: married (second) Emma E. Hayner 
Day: married (third) October 15, 1903, Jo- 
sephine Lapp Day, daughter of Jacob and 
Sarah Lapp, of Niagara county, New York. 
Child by second marriage, Jared R., born July 
6, 1886! 



(The Phelps Line). 

(I) John Phelps, the first of the line here 
under consideration of whom we have definite 
information, married Polly Converse and 
among their children was Josiah, of whom 
further. 

(II) Josiah, son of John and Polly (Con- 
verse) Phelps, married Roxcena, daughter of 
Silas and Susan (White) Newcomb; Susan 
White was a daughter of John White. Rox- 
cena (Newcomb) Phelps died November 13, 
1812, aged forty-three years. Children of Mr. 
and Mrs. Phelps : John, Silas, Orenda, Sarah, 
Janet, Jane. 

(III) Jane, youngest child of Josiah and 
Roxcena (Newcomb) Phelps, was born in 
Pittsford, Monroe county, New York, Novem- 
ber 1, 1812. She married, in 1830, Marvin 
Hopkins (see Hopkins VII). 



This name, also written Clarke, 
CLARK Clerk, Clerke and Clearke, is a 
name of great antiquity in Eng- 
land. Originally any person who could read 
or write was given the name, and it came to 
be the surname of learned persons generally, 
but particularly of officers of ecclesiastical 
courts and parish churches who were entrusted 
with recording and preserving the records. In 
medieval days the name was one to be re- 
spected, hence it is of frequent use in "Domes- 
day Book," either written in one of the va- 
rious spellings given above, or Clericus, "clerk 
or clergyman," "one of the clerical order." In 
the early settlement of New England by the 
English Puritans, 1625 to 1640, we find men 
of the name who became founders of large 
and distinguished families, not only in the 
New England colonies, but in Virginia, Mary- 
land and New York. In the southern section 
of the United States they generally spelled 
the name with a final "e." The most numer- 
ous of the christian names appear to have been 
William, with John, Thomas and Samuel in 
abundant evidence. Irish emigrants to Amer- 
ica have added to the name either from Scotch- 
Irish or from the families of O'Clery or 
O'Clersach, not only common but distinguished 
names in the Emerald Isle, and literally indi- 
cating "the son of the cler." 

Four brothers from Bedfordshire, England, 
came to New England in the first quarter of 
the seventeenth century — John, Joseph, 
Thomas and Carew Clark. John was a 
founder of Rhode Island with Roger Wil- 



NEW YORK. 



697 



Hams, and the founder of the Baptist church 
in Newport, 1638, and has numerous descend- 
ants. Thomas Clark (1593-1697), a carpen- 
ter, in Plymouth colony, 1623, and Susannah 
Ring, his wife, have among their illustrious 
descendants Alvan Clark (1804-87) of tele- 
scope fame, and his son, Alvan Graham Clark 
(1832-97), the lens maker of Cambridge, 
Massachusetts ; Alonzo Howard Clark, born 
1850, the scientist ; George Bassett Clark 
(1827-91), the mechanician; James Freeman 
Clark (1810-88), the clergyman, author and 
anti-slavery advocate ; Samuel F. Clark 
(1851), the naturalist. Nathaniel Clark, of 
Newbury, 1642, and Elizabeth (Somerby) 
Clark, his wife, have among their descendants 
Thomas March Clark (1812-1903), second 
bishop of Rhode Island ; Rufus Wheelwright 
Clark (1813-86), Yale, 1838, clergyman and 
author; Samuel Adams Clark (1822-79), 
clergyman, and others equally notable. Wil- 
liam Clark (1609-90), Nantucket, Massachu- 
setts Bay Colony, 1630, Dorchester, 1636, 
Northampton, 1659, is the progenitor of the 
Clarks of Western Massachusetts and Con- 
necticut and has numerous descendants in the 
far west. Among his more distinguished de- 
scendants we may name General Emmons 
Clark (1827-1905), commander of the 
Seventh Regiment, National Guard, N. Y. S. 
M., 1864-89; Edson Luman Clark, born 1827, 
clergyman and author, Yale, 1853 ; Ezra Clark 
(1883-96), representative in the thirty-fourth 
and thirty-fifth congresses, and president of 
the Hartford Water Board ; Myron H. Clark 
(1806-92). governor of New York, 1854-55, 
and others. 

There were a number of Clark families in 
Dorchester, Roxbury, Boston, Dedham, Water- 
town, Blanford and other Massachusetts 
towns before and after the year 1700. From 
one of these the Clarks of Ellicottville, Cat- 
taraugus county. New York, descend. The 
name of the emigrant is not known, but he 
was of the English family. The first of whom 
there is positive knowlelge is Wells Clark, of 
English parents, who lived probably in Blan- 
ford, Massachusetts, where he married and 
had a family. 

(II) Wells (2) Clark, of Blanford, Massa- 
chusetts, was a son of Wells (1) Clark, a 
revolutionary soldier from Berkshire county, 
Massachusetts. He was in Captain John Col- 
lar's company, July 19 to August 2J, 1779, 
Lieutenant-Colonel Powell's regiment. He 



was also a private in Captain Samuel War- 
ner's company, Colonel John Brown's regi- 
ment, Berkshire county, July 18 to October 
22, 1780; also in Captain Ezekiel Herrick's 
company, Colonel John Ashley's regiment 
(Berkshire county, Massachusetts), in Octo- 
ber, 1781. (See Clerk and Clark, vol. iii., 
"Mass. Soldiers and Sailors in the Revolu- 
tion"). 

(III) William, son of Wells (2) Clark, was 
born in Massachusetts, in 1814, died 1894. He 
came to Cattaraugus county in 1841, settling 
in Ellicottville, where he purchased one hun- 
dred and twenty acres of wild, uncultivated 
land. Here he erected his house, and as the 
years passed added to the cultivated area of 
his fields and became a well-to-do farmer of 
the town. The farm he wrested from the 
wilderness is now owned by his unmarried 
children. He served the town as highway 
commissioner, was a Whig and Republican, 
and a member of the Baptist church. He mar- 
ried Caroline M. Stewart, born 1816, died 
1894. Children: 1. George F., resides on the 
original Clark farm, in Ellicottville ; unmar- 
ried. 2. Charles, married Adelia Smith, and 
resides in the town of Mansfield. 3. Harlan 
M., resides on the home farm, unmarried. 
4. Caroline L., resides on the home farm, un- 
married. 5. James O. (of further mention). 
6. Mary, died aged twenty-nine years. 7. Wells 
W., married Bertha B. Beach. 

(IV) James O., son of William Clark, was 
born in Ellicottville, Cattaraugus county, New 
York, October 1, 1856. He received his early 
education in the public school's, then entered 
Ten Broeck Academy, whence he was grad- 
uated, class of 1877. He commenced the 
study of law, and at the same time taught 
school in the villages of East Otto, West Sala- 
manca, Ellicottville and numerous outlying 
districts. During the years so employed he 
practiced strict economy, and when a sufficient 
amount had been accumulated abandoned 
teaching and gave all his time to his legal 
study in the law offices of C. P. Vedder and 
George M. Rider. In 1883 he was admitted 
to the bar. and at once formed a partnership 
with his former preceptor under the firm name 
Vedder & Clark. In 1887 he entered the em- 
ploy of the Ellicottville Bank, becoming later 
assistant cashier and vice-president. He re- 
turned soon to the practice of his profession, 
continuing until failing health compelled him 
to desist. He went south, spending two years 



NEW YORK. 



in the state of Texas, returning to Ellicottville 
in 1908, greatly improved in health. He again 
resumed practice and is now so engaged. For 
twenty years he held the office of justice of 
the peace, and is one of the best known men 
of his town. He is a Republican in politics, 
and a member of the Presbyterian church and 
of the Masonic Order. 

He married, July 18. 1883, Kathryn M„ 
born January 21, 1859, daughter of Philo and 
Sarah (Barnard) Harrington. 



The house of Argyle, head 
CAMPBELL of the Scottish Clan Camp- 
bell, has an authenticated 
history extending back to the great Diarmid 
MacDwibhne, who was contemporary with the 
seventy-ninth King of Scots, Anno Domini 
977. From him, through lyric odes of the 
bards and tradition, it traces thirteen genera- 
tions further back into antiquity to Constan- 
tine, who came over from France A. D. 404, 
and died A. D. 420. In the seventeenth gen- 
eration from Constantine, the whole Clan 
O'Dwibhne in Argyleshire assumed the name 
of Campbell, in courtesy to their chief, Archi- 
bald, whose name or title was in the Latin 
Campus Belhis, and Campbell has been the 
name ever since. The family were noble for 
ten generations to Archibald, tenth earl, who 
in 1 701 was created Duke of Argyle by Wil- 
liam III. He was of the fortieth generation. 
The present Duke of Argyle is the thirty-first 
Campbell in direct descent to hold the title of 
this important house. 

The first of the Clan Campbell to come to 
America and settle in Northern New York 
was Captain Laughlin Campbell, a soldier of 
great courage, who visited Washington county 
in 1737, in response to the invitation of the 
New York authorities to Scotch Highlanders 
to settle here. He was a younger brother 
of the then Duke of Argyle. Being pleased 
with the country, and being promised a grant 
of 30,000 acres for colony use, for survey fees 
and quitrent, by Lieutenant Governor Clark, 
he returned to Scotland, sold his property 
there, raised a colony of four hundred and 
twenty-three adults, and with a party of them 
came 'the next year (1738) to New York, 
where Governor Clark insisted on full fees 
and a share in the land. Campbell refused his 
demands, and Clark recommended the legisla- 
ture to grant the colony assistance, but that 
body, being at war with the governor, de- 



clined, suspecting that the money would go to 
the colonial officials as fees. The colonists 
were obliged to separate, and Campbell, with 
the remains of his broken fortune, purchased 
and settled down upon a small farm. In 1745, 
when the rebellion broke out in Scotland, he 
went back and served under the Duke of Cum- 
berland until the close of the war. He then 
came back to New York, and soon afterward 
died from the effects of wounds received in 
the war. In 1763, after his death, his children 
were granted a tract of 10,000 acres in Wash- 
ington county, in the town of Argyle, now 
Greenwich. 

(I) Undoubtedly belonging to the above 
line, but not distinctly identified, was the im- 
migrant ancestor of the family here considered 
— John Campbell, son of Robert. He was of 
that branch of the Scotch family which settled 
in the North of Ireland, and known in history 
as Scotch-Irish. He came from county Ul- 
ster, Ireland, and settled in New London, 
Connecticut. It is presumed that he served 
in the revolution. 

(II) Lieutenant James Campbell, son of 
John Campbell, is borne on the revolutionary 
rolls as serving at Newport, Rhode Island, in 
1778, under General Sullivan. He had three 
sons — James, John, and Allen. 

(III) Dr. Allen Campbell, son of Lieuten- 
ant James Campbell, was born February 24, 
1749, and died March 6, 1829. He was a 
physician, and served as a surgeon under Gen- 
eral Sullivan at Newport, Rhode Island. He 
was also a lay preacher, and a meeting house 
was built for him near Voluntown, or New 
London, Connecticut. He married. January 
18, 1778, Sarah Kime, born August 1, 1759, 
died 1834. 

(IV) John Allen, son of Dr. Allen Camp- 
bell, was born in Voluntown. Connecticut. 
March 31, 1781, and died August 27, 1844. 
He married, November 25. 1802, Mollie 
Wylie. 

(V) John, son of John Allen Campbell, 
was born in 1805, and died in 1883. He mar- 
ried 1825, Susan Maria Blood. Children : 
Harvey, Matilda, Mary, James Warren, Lucy, 
Harrison, George, Josephine, and Alphia. 

(VI) James Warren, son of John and Susan 
Maria (Blood) Campbell, was born in 1833, 
and died January 1, 1892. He was a lumber 
dealer. He married Adaline Holmes, born 
1844, died 1905. Children: 1. Emmett L.. 
of whom further. 2. Bertha, married Thomas 



NEW YORK. 



699 



Waters; children: Irene, Anna and Edna. 
3. Edna. 

(VII) Emmett L., only son of James War- 
ren and Adaline (Holmes) Campbell, was 
born in South Valley (now Elko), Cattarau- 
gus county, New York, March 18, 1872. He 
was educated in the public schools and at 
Chamberlain Institution. He began business 
life as a clerk in a lumber yard at Quaker 
Bridge. After a term of service there he 
went to Jamestown, and pursued a course of 
study in the Jamestown Business College. 
During the years 1893-94 he was bookkeeper 
in a knitting mill in Jamestown, and for a 
year was in a lumber business. In 1895 he 
located in Little Valley, Cattaraugus county, 
and opened a grocery store. The telephone ■ 
company installed a pay station in his store, 
and he thus became familiar with that busi- 
ness, with the result that he disposed of his 
store and entered the employ of the telephone 
company in order to build up its rural busi- 
ness. How well he succeeded is made ap- 
parent by the fact that in a remarkably short 
time he established in the territory committed 
to his charge five offices numbering one thou- 
sand subscribers — a result far surpassing the 
expectations of his superiors, and winning for 
him high commendation for his ability and 
energy. Mr. Campbell is a member of the 
Masonic order, the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, a communicant of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, and is a Republican in 
politics. 

He married, February 25, 1897, Adelene L. 
Burrell, born July 13, 1875, daughter of Wil- 
liam H. Burrell, of Cattaraugus county, and 
granddaughter of Adonijah Burrell, of New 
Albion, born 1799, died 1878, a farmer, held 
in good repute, married Betsey Gilleland, born 
1801, died 1876. William H. Burrell was born 
in Otsego county, 1835, died in Cattaraugus 
county, 1902. He came early in life to New 
Albion, where his father had taken up land. 
He was educated in the public schools, and 
was a farmer, and later kept a hotel in Little 
Valley. He was a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church, and in politics was a Demo- 
crat. He married, July 29, 1874, Almeda 
Ridout, born September 18, 1852, a daughter 
of Hiram Ridout, born July 29, 1824, died 
May 12, 1878, married, November, 1848, Julia 
Filley, born April 1, 1832, died January 29, 
1886, daughter of Austin and Martha (Flan- 
ders) Filley, who came from Vermont, and 



settled in the town of Leon. Hiram was a 
son of Ezra and Mahala (Dye) Ridout, old 
settlers in Cattaraugus county. Children of 
William H. Burrell: Maude, died aged two 
years ; Adelene L., wife of Emmett L. Camp- 
bell ; Harold W. 

Children of Emmett L. and Adelene L. 
(Burrell) Campbell: Burrell, born December 
28, 1897 ; Malcolm, April 29, 1903 ; Corydon, 
January 31, 1906. 



This name was well known in 
GIBBS England prior to the emigration 
of the Puritans to America. Wil- 
liam Gibbs, of Lenharn, Yorkshire, England, 
for signal service, received a grant from the 
King of England embracing a tract of land 
four miles square in the centre of the town. 
Tradition says he had three sons, the eldest 
of whom inherited the paternal estate and re- 
mained thereon ; the younger learned the trade 
of ship carpenter, and on arriving at maturity 
received funds from his elder brother, with 
which he and the other brother came to Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts, where they separated. 
Matthew Gibbs, the third son, is the American 
ancestor of a large family. 

The family of Gibbs, whose descendants are 
herein traced, was founded in Chautauqua 
county by Preserved Gibbs. He had brothers, 
William, Harris and Guy, who came from 
England together. The three brothers settled 
in the west while Preserved located first in 
Chautauqua county. New York. He purchased 
wild land, on which he lived for a time, later 
settling near Batavia, New York, where he 
engaged in agriculture until his death. His 
wife was Hannah Wood ; his children : Daniel, 
Delos, Betsey, Erastus and Hannah. 

Erastus, youngest son of Preserved and 
Hannah (Wood) Gibbs, was born near Ba- 
tavia, New York, February 26, 1810, died in 
1876 in Chautauqua county. He was a man 
of education and well read in the literature of 
his day. He settled in Chautauqua county, 
where he was a prosperous farmer. He mar- 
ried Xancy E. Eades, born in Batavia, New 
York, died in Chautauqua county, April 3, 
1893, aged seventy-six years, eight months and 
twenty-two days, daughter of Elisha A. and 
Sophia (Dorman) Eades. who came to Ba- 
tavia from Vermont, settling in Chautauqua 
county, in 1822. Her father was a soldier in 
the war of 1812. Her mother, Sophia (Dor- 
man) Eades, was born in New Haven, Con- 



/OO 



NEW YORK. 



necticut, daughter of Captain John Dorman, 
a mariner. Children of Mr. and Mrs. Gibbs: 

1. Helen, born May I, 1837; married, May 
14, 1871, in Chautauqua county, New York, 
Lyman White Skinner, of Chautauqua county, 
born in Pomfret, April 21, 1829, died in Sher- 
man. May 4, 1910. He was educated in the 
public schools anil in early life learned the 
trade of carpenter ; he also engaged in farm- 
ing, devoting his life to these occupations. He 
was a man of upright character and highly 
esteemed in the county. He was a member 
of the Methodist church, and a Republican 
in politics. He is survived by his wife Helen, 
who continues her residence in Sherman. 
Child : Alice Martha, born in Chautauqua 
county, December 8, 1878 ; married Clifford 
H. Nevvall, of Sherman ; children : Lyman 
Thomas, born May 30, 1905 ; Helen Julietta 
and Elizabeth Jean, twins, born August 26, 
1907. 

2. Alice, born August 26, 1841, died in 
Sherman, August 26, 1903. She married De- 
Witt Clinton Pratt, of New York. Children : 
i. Lee Sheldon, born 1878 ; married Olive 
Page: child, Leland DeWitt, born 1910. ii. 
William Fred, born July 30, 1880. iii. James 
Gibbs, born July, 1882 ; married Susan Thay- 
er ; children : Philip, born 1908, and Julia 
Alice, born August, 1909. 

3. Sophia, born July 29, 1845 ; married, 
March 19, 1863, in Chautauqua, New York, 
Charles Murray Harrington, born in West- 
field. New York, November 9, 1839; he is a 
well-known auctioneer and a farmer. He is 
a Republican in politics, and a man highly re- 
garded in his county. The family residence is 
in Westfield. They have no children. 

4. George Washington, born February 21, 
1841;. He is a leading dairy farmer of Chau- 
tauqua county and an extensive cattle dealer. 
He married, September 24, 1878, in Westfield. 
Anna Jane Reid, born there September 22. 
1856. Children: i. Charles Erastus, born 
June 3, 1879 : married. September, 1904, Clau- 
dine Kidder ; children : Geraldine, born Octo- 
ber 16, 1906, and Anna Kathlyn, born Febru- 
ary 22. 1910. both born in Fredonia. New 
York. ii. Alice Helen, born November 17, 
1882. iii. Emma Martha, born July 30, 1887 ; 
married, August 26, 1908, Hugh C. Howe. 

5. Charles Franklin, born March 26, 1853, 
died May 24, 1904; he was a farmer and an 
extensive dealer in agricultural implements. 
He married. December 1, 1875, Mary Stan- 



ton, born in Ripley, New York, 1855, died 
September, 1909, daughter of Charles and 
Martha Maria (Aspinwall) Stanton. Five 
children : i. Gerald Gilman, born August 25, 
1876; educated in the public schools; graduate 
of Sherman high school and of Cornell Uni- 
versity, class of 1902 (law school). He was 
admitted to the bar the same year, and at 
once began practice in Westfield, New York. 
His first partner was James H. Pendergast; 
later he associated with Henry C. Kingsbury. 
Upon the death of the latter he formed a law- 
partnership with Henry C. Williamson, under 
the firm name of Gibbs & Williamson, which 
still continues, they being engaged in success- 
ful practice. He married, June 26, 1907, Nel- 
lie L. Herron, born in Westfield, June, 1883, 
daughter of John and Rose (Wood) Herron. 
ii. Sophia, born March 8, 1880; married, De- 
cember 30, 1907, Charles Harvey ; children : 
Franklin DeWitt, born 1908, and Mary Ann, 
born 1910. iii. Glenn Stanton, born Septem- 
ber 25, 1889; married, July 18, 191 1, Nellie 
Irene Bates, of Westfield. iv. George David, 
born August 31, 1894. v. Murray, died in in- 
fancy. 



This name appears in early 
STEVENSON colonial records as both 
Stevenson and Stephenson, 
with other occasional variations of spelling. 
Stevenson families in New York state spring 
from both Scotch and English ancestors, but 
the family herein recorded are of English de- 
scent. It is not possible from available rec- 
ords to give the line in detail, but all evidence 
points to Edward Stevenson, a freeholder of 
Southold, Long Island, in 1686, as the Ameri- 
can ancestor. From Long Island members 
of the family crossed the Sound, settling in 
Connecticut, where Edward Stevenson, found- 
er of the Buffalo family, was born in 1770. 
The Stevenson family of Salem, New York, 
descend from James Stevenson, of Ayrshire, 
Scotland, 1746. 

( 1 ) Edward Stevenson was born June 1, 
1770, at Greenwich, Connecticut, died in Buf- 
falo. New York, October 5, 1834. After his 
marriage he came with his wife to New York, 
settling at Auburn. Cayuga county. He was 
a prosperous merchant in Auburn for many 
vears, retiring from business and coming to 
Buffalo about 1822. He did not engage in 
any business in Buffalo, but served the city 
in several public capacities. He married, Jan- 



NEW YORK 



701 



uary 16, 1805, Ann Lockwood, Jx>rn August 
13, 1786, in Massachusetts, died in Buffalo, 
November 7, 1862. Children, all born in Au- 
burn, New York: 1. Edward L., March 31, 
1806, died May, 1890. He was for many years 
associated with Chauncey H. Coe, of Auburn 
and Buffalo, and in charge of a division of 
the great stage route between Buffalo and 
Albany, an enterprise in that day of consider- 
able magnitude. At one time four regular 
lines of coaches left Buffalo, making the dis- 
tance to Albany in forty-eight hours and 
charging fifteen dollars fare. He invested 
largely in real estate, and for twenty-five years 
was engaged with his brother, George Piatt 
Stevenson, in the livery business in Buffalo. 
He was alderman of the Third ward ; trustee 
of the Buffalo Savings Bank ; vestryman of 
St. Paul's Episcopal Church, and a man of 
high character and standing. He married, in 
1832, Amelia S., daughter of William and 
Sally Geer, of Shelburne, Vermont : children : 
Edward Henry, died in childhood, and George 
Piatt (2), born May 9, 1849, died May 23, 
1878. 2. Henry E., born July n, 1807; died 
unmarried, in Buffalo. 3. George Piatt (q. 
v.), August 11, 1812, died May 17, 1864. 4. 
John Savage, March 31, 1819; married Han- 
nah Richardson. 5. James Isaac, of whom 
further. 

(II) James Isaac, fifth son of Edward and 
Ann (Lockwood) Stevenson, was born in 
Auburn, New York, March 5, 182 1, died in 
Buffalo, New York, November 27, 1897. He 
came to Buffalo when a boy. and nearly 
seventy years of his life were spent in that 
city, and for nearly fifty years he lived at 203 
East Eagle street. He was connected early 
in life with the stage lines that crossed the 
state, but his entire life was spent in the livery 
business, the Stevensons at one time having 
a practical monopoly of that trade in the city, 
occupying the present site of the J. N. Adam 
stores, the partners being George, John and 
James Stevenson. This was his life work and 
continued till about ten years prior to his 
death, when he retired. He was a staunch 
Republican, but would never accept office. He 
was a member of St. Paul's Episcopal Church, 
and in his quiet way did a great deal of good. 
He was a greathearted, generous man, and 
quick to relieve distress, doing a great deal 
of charitable work in his business at funerals, 
etc. No one ever knew of his giving, as it 
was done quietly and where it was both needed 



and appreciated. In his younger days he was 
a member of a military company, but aside 
from that belonged to no clubs or societies. 
His genial, kindly manner won him a host of 
friends. 

He married, September 7, 1845, Eliza Avery 
Sage, born October 22, 1822, at Ypsilante, 
Michigan, died at Buffalo, January 19, 1878, 
daughter of Abraham (2) Sage. Children: 
1. Kate, married, December 30, 1870, Augus- 
tus Van Cleve ; children : Kate and Antoin- 
ette, both students of music in Boston ; this 
family resides in Michigan. 2. Ann Lock- 
wood, a resident of Buffalo. 

(The Sage Line). 

The Sage family without doubt is of 
Scandinavian origin, and the name at first was 
Saga. When the Norsemen conquered Nor- 
mandy, in France, they generally softened the 
final "a" tone, thus making Saga, Sage, and 
added a French suffix to denote landed occu- 
pation. To the first Norman Saga or Sage 
was added "ville," thus making it Sageville, 
or Sagetown, or Sageland. As the name 
spread to other countries it was subjected to 
other changes — in Germany, Saige or Sauge; 
in Switzerland the same, while in France it 
became Le Sage. The name first appears in 
England on the roll of Battle Abbey, pre- 
pared by the monks of Battle Abbey at the 
command of William the Conqueror, to per- 
petuate the names of those who took part in 
the battle of Hastings, which gave him the 
English throne. It is there recorded Sageville. 

(I) David Sage, American ancestor of Ann 
Lockwood Stevenson, was born inT639, a na- 
tive of Wales. He was one of the first set- 
tlers of Middletown, Connecticut, where he is 
of record in 1652. He settled upon a tract 
of land now part of the town of Cornwell, 
upon the banks of the Connecticut river, where 
some of his descendants yet reside. His will, 
dated March 27. 1703, is in the probate office 
at Hartford, Connecticut. The stone marking 
his grave is still standing in Riverside ceme- 
tery, on the bank of the Connecticut, at the 
north end of Main street, Middletown. It 
gives the date of his death as March, 1703, 
O. S., and his age as sixty-four years. He 
married Elizabeth, daughter of John Kirby, 
in February, 1664. He married (second) in 
1673, Mary Wilcox. Children by first wife' 
David, born 1665 ; John, 1668 ; Elizabeth, 
1670: Mary, 1672. Children of second wife: 



NEW YORK. 



Jonathan, born 1674; Timothy, 1678, ancestor 
of Russell Sage, the great financier who left 
a fortune of $70,000,000; Nathaniel, 1680, and 
Mercy, twin of Nathaniel. 

( II ) John, son of David Sage, the emigrant, 
was born in 1668; married Hannah Starr. 
Children: Hannah, born 1694; John, 1696; 
Elizabeth and Mary (twins), 1699; Elizabeth 
(2), 1701 ; Ann, 1702; David and Benjamin 
(twins), 1703; Jemima, 1704; Nathaniel, 
1707; Ebenezer, 1709; Comfort, 1710; Prud- 
ence, 1713; Thankful, 1717 ; Gideon, 1718. 

(III) Captain David Sage, son of John 
Sage, was born in 1703 ; married Bathsheba 
Judd. Children: David (2), born 1732; 
Rhoda, 1734; Solomon, 1737; jedediah, 1739; 
Bathsheba, 1743; Mindwell, 1746; Zaddock, 
1748: Candace, 1762. 

(IV) David (2), son of Captain David (1) 
Sage, was born 1732 ; married Lois Harris. 
Children: Lois, born 1752; Abraham, 1754; 
David, 1756; Ann, 1757: Haines, 1759: David 
and Jonathan (twins). 1761 : Ann (2), 1763; 
Mehitable, 1765: Bathsheba, 1768: Seth, 1770: 
Ruth. 1772: Lois (2), 1775: David (2), 1778. 

( Y) Abraham, son of David (2) Sage, was 
born 1754: married Candace . Chil- 
dren: Harris, born 1779; James, 1780; Ruth 
(married a Thompson). 1787; Betsey (mar- 
ried an Avery), 1789; Abraham (2), 1793; 
Emily (married a Martin), 1794: George, 
1799. 

(VI) Abraham (2), son of Abraham (1) 
Sage, was born 1793 ; married Patty Luce. 
Children: Morris, born 1818; Seth, 1823; 
Robert, and Eliza Avery. 

(VII) Eliza Avery, only daughter of 
Abraham (2) and Patty (Luce) Sage, mar- 
ried James Isaac Stevenson. 

(YIII) Ann Lockwood, daughter of James 
Isaac and Eliza Avery (Sage) Stevenson. 

Line of descent of Russell Sage: (I) David 
Sage, married Elizabeth Kirby. (II) Timothy 
Sage, married Margaret Holebert. (Ill) 
Amos Sage, married Rebecca Wilcox. (IV) 
Elisha Sage, married Martha Montague. (V) 
Elisha (2) Sage, who married Prudence Ris- 
ley. of an old family. 

(VI) Russell, youngest son of Elisha (2) 
Sage, was born in 1816. He became one of the 
leading and wealthiest financiers of New York 
City, and at his death left his immense for- 
tune to his widow, who is dispensing it in 
charitable and philanthropic benevolences. He 
was a Member of Congress from New York 



City. In private life he was most unassuming 
and democratic. He left no children. 



(II) George Piatt Steven- 
STEVENSON son, third son of Edward 

(q. v.) and Ann (Lock- 
wood) Stevenson, was born in Auburn, New 
York, August 11, 1812, died in Buffalo, May 
17. 1864. He came to the latter city with his 
father and brother in 1822, and soon after es- 
tablished in the livery business, continuing un- 
til his death. He had as partner for twenty- 
five years his brother, Edward L., and at one 
time they practically controlled the livery busi- 
ness of Buffalo. His place of business was 
on Main street, where the stores of J. N. 
Adam now stand. He was a man of good 
business and executive ability, active and ener- 
getic, with an agreeable, kind manner that en- 
deared him to all. He was social in disposi- 
tion, and a man held in high esteem. He was 
a Republican in politics, and held several city 
offices. He was a member of the Masonic 
fraternity. He married Ruth Ann Thayer, 
born in Palmyra, New York, April 22, 1817, 
died in Buffalo, June 29, 1864, daughter of 
Amasa Thayer, a descendant of Richard 
Thayer, who came from England and settled 
in Braintree, 1640. Children : 1. George L., 
born September 1, 1839. died March 14, 1844. 
2. Edward L., born April 21, 1841, died June 
14, 1849. 3. Joel Thayer, born April 11, 1843, 
died July 26, 1877, at Toledo, Ohio. 4. Amelia, 
born January 18, 1845 ; a resident of Buffalo. 
5. Georgianna, born October 24. 1846, died 
at Ashville, New York, in August, 1899 ; mar- 
ried Francis Shaw Thorn, of Utica, New York 
(see Thorn). 6. Amasa, born April 24, 1849, 
died August 30. 1849. 



William White was born in Mas- 
W'HITE sachusetts in 1742, and died in 

Bainbridge, New York, in April, 
1827. According to family tradition he was 
a descendant of Peregrine White, the first child 
born in Plymouth, of the "Mayflower" colony, 
but his ancestry has not been traced definitely 
as yet. He married, May 12, 1767, at Guil- 
ford, Vermont. Eunice Rogers, who was born 
February 6, 1745, and died in 1818, daughter 
of Abijah Rogers, a descendant in the seventh 
generation from John Rogers, the English 
Puritan. William White was a soldier in the 
revolution, from Guilford, Vermont, a private 
in Captain David Stowell's company, Colonel 



NEW YORK. 



703 



William Williams' regiment, in the fall of 
1777; also in Captain William Dyer's com- 
pany, Colonel Ebenezer Walbridge's regiment, 
in 1781. He was lieutenant of the First Guil- 
ford Company in the same regiment in 1782. 
He was granted, on account of his revolution- 
ary service, a section of land, 640 acres, in 
Chenango county, New York, where he lo- 
cated and cleared a farm. He became well- 
to-do for his day, and was highly respected 
in the community. He was well educated, a 
lifelong student and reader of books, and one 
of the best-informed and most influential men 
of the county. The Guilford history states 
that in 1772 he had a family of five children 
(p. 19, vol. v). Children: 1. Eunice, born 
February 6, 1768; died October 14, 1776. 
2. Isabelle, born August 14, 1770; died Octo- 
ber 10, 1776. 3. Asa, born April 30, 1772; 
died in 1818-9. 4. Ezra, born March 30, 1774. 
5. William, born May 20, 1776 ; died July 4, 
1803. 6. Eunice, born June 18, 1778; died 
December 14, 1827. 7. Royal, born July 29, 
1780; died 1848. 8. Garner, born December 
21, 1781, died in 1825. (Royal and Garner, 
the two last mentioned, were early settlers of 
Binghamton, New York, and owners of land 
now in the heart of that thriving city.) 9. Dr. 
Squire, mentioned below. 

(II) Dr. Squire White, son of William 
White, was born in Guilford, Vermont, No- 
vember 20, 1785. He attended the public 
schools, and under the instruction of Dr. Pet- 
til, of Cazenovia, New York, began the study 
of medicine. Afterward he was a student un- 
der Dr. Joseph White, of Cherry Valley, New 
York, and at the medical school of Columbia 
College, now Columbia College of New York, 
where he received his degree of doctor of 
medicine. In 1808 he came to Fredonia, New 
York, to practice his profession. For a time 
he taught school at Sheridan township, but 
his practice grew so large that he had to de- 
vote all his time to it. For fifty years he was 
in active and successful practice, and he was 
highly esteemed not only for his professional 
ability but for his kindness, charity and up- 
rightness. Hezekiah Barker, whose daughter 
Dr. White married for his first wife, in 1804 
purchased four hundred acres of land in Fre- 
donia. situated in what is now the village, and 
in 181 1 Dr. White purchased of Mr. Barker 
twenty-five acres of that tract, part of which 
now comprises Forest Hill Cemetery. In the 
same vear Dr. White erected a frame building 



on the corner of Main and White streets, and 
there all his children were born. In 1868 this 
building was moved back on White street, and 
Devillo Asa White, the doctor's son, built the 
present home of the family. The old house 
was afterward demolished. Dr. White was 
the first surrogate of Chautauqua county, New 
York, being appointed February 9, 181 1, by 
Governor David D. Tompkins, and he filled 
the office with fidelity for several years. He 
was elected to the New York state assembly 
in November, 1830, and served with credit. 
At the time of the burning of Buffalo in 1812 
by the British forces, he was there on business 
and was impressed into service by the United 
States army, and made surgeon of the 169th 
Regiment of New York Infantry. 

Dr. White died at Fredonia, April 2, 1857. 
He married (first) Sarah Barker, who was 
born February 1, 1795, and died July 13, 1823, 
a daughter of Hezekiah and Sarah (Wood) 
Barker. The Wood family came originally 
of Rhode Island stock. The Barker family 
was among the pioneers and founders of Fre- 
donia, New York. Hezekiah Barker was a 
leading man in Fredonia, and was the donor 
of the ground for the public park, the old 
cemetery, and the academy. The family came 
of old New England ancestry. Dr. White 
married (second) Lydia Cook Cushing, born 
March 14, 1798, died January 2, 1886, daugh- 
ter of Judge Zatter Cushing. Children by first 
wife, born at Fredonia: 1. William D., born 
September 10, 1814: died October 18, 1892; 
married Susan Blondel, of Kentucky. 2. 
Devillo Asa, mentioned below. 3. Julia Scully, 
born March 3, 1819; died September 14, 1856; 
married Francis Edwards. 4. Edward, born 
June 25, 1823 ; died July 13, 1825. Children 
by second wife, born at Fredonia: 5. Ellen 
Douglas, born June 20, 1827: died December 
19, 1887. 6. George Hinckley, born Septem- 
ber 11, 1829; died 1906. 7. Mary Sturgis, 
died young. 

(Ill) Devillo Asa White, son of Dr. Squire 
White, was born at Fredonia, New York, July 
2, 18 16. He was educated in the public schools 
and at Fredonia Academy. He studied medi- 
cine, and engaged in business as a druggist 
at Fredonia for many years, retiring on ac- 
count of age a few years ago. He is now 
(1911) in his ninety-fifth year, well preserved 
mentally and physically. His mind is a store- 
house of early history of the town of Fre- 
donia. With the entire history of the town 



7°4 



NEW YORK. 



he is personally familiar, and in most of the 
events of the community he has been an actor 
or witness. In 1849, when gold was dis- 
covered in California, he joined the "Argo- 
nauts," but remained in the gold fields but 
a short time. He has invested his money 
largely in real estate, and has built many resi- 
dences in Fredonia. He married Lamaria 
Jones, who died December 20, 1892, aged 
seventy-one years, daughter of Harry and 
Laura (Tucker) Jones. Laura Tucker was 
a daughter of Samuel Tucker, a soldier in the 
revolution. Children : Child, died in infancy ; 
Mary, married George S. Josselyn, of Fre- 
donia, now engaged very extensively in the 
nursery business ; Isabelle, unmarried, regis- 
trar of the Benjamin Prescott Chapter, 
Daughters of the American Revolution, Fre- 
donia. 



The Storm family of Westfield, 
STORM New York, represented in the 

present generation by Captain 
Stephen Y. Storm, descends from Dirck Storm, 
who came from Utrecht, Holland, to Harlem, 
New York, in 1662. The family in Holland 
bore arms: Field, A ship at sea under storm 
sail.. Crest: The helm of a knight visor 
closed, afrronte surrounded by eagle's wings. 
Motto: Vetrouwt. (In God we trust). Dirck 
Storm came from the district in or near the 
province or diocese of Utrecht, in Holland, 
sailing from Amsterdam, September 2, 1662, 
with his wife, Marie (Pisters) Storm, and 
three young children. In 1670 he succeeded 
Carel de Bearevoks, deceased, as secretary at 
Brooklyn ; afterward served nine years as town 
clerk. at Flatbush ; was made clerk of the ses- 
sions for Orange county, in 1691, holding that 
office until 1703. In 1697 he and his family 
were living at Phillips Manor, Westchester 
county, where his descendants became numer- 
ous and noted. Children : Gregoris (of whom 
further) ; Peter, David, Maria, married Cas- 
par Springsteen. 

(II) Gregoris, son of Dirck and Marie 
(Pisters) Storm, came to America with his 
parents in 1662. He was commonly known 
as "Goris." He married Engeltic, daughter 
of Thomas Yan Dyck, who survived him and 
married (second) Jacques Tourneur, of Har- 
lem. Children: Derick, born 1695, and 
Thomas (of whom further). 

(III) Thomas, son of Gregoris and Engel- 
tic (Van Dyck) Storm, was born 1697. His 



will was proved January 15, 1770. He re- 
mained at Phillips Manor, holding a farm un- 
der Colonel Frederick Phillips, but he made 
several purchases of land in Rombout precinct, 
Dutchess county, on which he settled his sons, 
Gerritt, Goris, Abraham and John. His son 
Isaac inherited his place at Phillips Manor; 
other sons, Thomas, his eldest, and Jacob, were 
dead when he made his will, June 28, 1763. 
He was twice married, his second wife being 
a daughter of Adolph Meyer, of Harlem, and 
widow of Johannes Sickles. Children : Ger- 
ritt, Gregoris, Abraham, John (of whom fur- 
ther) : Isaac. 

(IV) John, son of Thomas Storm, was 
given land in Dutchess county, New York, 
where he probably lived and died. He mar- 
ried Catherine Van Anden, of Fishkill, New 
York. Children: 1. Susan, married (first) 
John Conkling; (second) a Mr. Van Wagner; 
(third) Montross Thurston. 2. Peggy Polly, 
married Abraham Halenback, of Greene, 
Chenango county, New York. 3. Abraham 
(of whom further). 4. Betsey, married Caleb 
Hill, and removed to Waterloo, New York. 
5. Agnes, married Isaac Roosa, and settled in 
Waterloo. 6. John, settled in Chenango 
county, New York ; later removed to Wil- 
loughby, Ohio. 7. James, settled in Greene 
county, later in Monroe county, New York. 
8. Engeltic, married Joshua Badgley, of 
Dutchess county. 9. Catherine, married 
Stephen Truesdale, of Coxsackie, New York. 
10. Annetje, married Abraham Delamater, and 
settled in Duanesburg, Schenectady county, 
New York. 

(V) Abraham, son of John and Catherine 
(Van Anden) Storm, married Eva Roosa and 
settled in the town of Greene, Chenago 
county, New York. Children : Barnick, Isaac, 
Jane, Polly, John, DeWitt and James Tour- 
gest (of whom further). 

( VI ) James Tourgest. son of Abraham and 
Eva ( Roosa) Storm, was born in Chenango 
county, New York, died near Colesville, town 
of Bennington, Wyoming county, New York, 
aged about eighty. He was a farmer and 
fought in the defense of the Niagara Frontier 
in 1812, participating in the battle of Lundy's 
Lane. There is no obtainable record of his 
wife's name. Children: Anson (of whom 
further) ; Sophronia, Lucinda, Otis, Ambrose 
and Amny. 

( \TI ) Anson, son of James Tourgest Storm, 
was born in Greene, Chenango county. New 



NEW YORK. 



705 



York, 1799, died at Alden, New York, 1878. 
He was a merchant in Colesville, New York, 
for several years, later removing to Alden, 
where he owned and cultivated a farm until 
his death. Although only a boy at the time 
of the second war with Great Britain, he drove 
a transport team on the Niagara frontier and 
was at the battle of Lundy's Lane. He mar- 
ried Harriet Caldwell, of English descent, 
born near Hartford, Connecticut, died in 
Alden, New York, aged about fifty-five years. 
Children: 1. Stephen V. (of whom further). 
2. Gains, born in Bennington, Wyoming 
county, New York, 1829, died in Wisconsin, 
about i860. He married Calista Ann Mercer, 
born in Alden, New York, died there August 
22, 1858, aged twenty-six years, ten months 
and twenty days, daughter of Sinaster and 
Mary Mercer. Her father died December 10, 
1859, her mother April 18, 1856. Their only 
child, Jennie Blanche, born in Alden, July 4, 
1856, died there February 28, 1900 ; married. 
November 19, 1874, in Alden, George Hutch- 
inson. Five children : i. Helena Mabel, born 
September 2, 1875. ii. Grace Estelle, born 
July 25, 1880; married Raymond S. Elwell ; 
child, Mildred Grace, born June 17, 1905. iii. 
Grover P., died aged four years, iv. Nellie 
June, born June 10, 1890, died November 27, 
1910. v. Ruth Fern, born August 19, 1895. 
(VIII) Captain Stephen V. Storm, eldest 
son of Anson and Harriet (Caldwell) Storm, 
was born in the town of Bennington, Wyo- 
ming county, New York, December 20, 1826. 
He was educated in the pubHc schools, and 
began his business career as a clerk in a whole- 
sale grocery house in Buffalo, New York. In 
1849 l ie l elt Buffalo to join the army of the 
United States in Mexico, but before arriving 
at the scene of action the war was over. He 
continued his journeying until he reached Cali- 
fornia, where for six months he prospected 
and mined for gold. He then became a sailor 
on a vessel running from San Francisco, Cali- 
fornia, to Portland, Oregon. He continued 
his career on the sea for several years, finally 
becoming master of a vessel and owner of 
several vessels engaged in the Pacific coast- 
ing, trade. For eighteen years he followed a 
seafaring life, the period during which trad- 
ing posts were being established on the Pacific 
and coasting vessels much in demand. He 
closed out. his California interests, and going 
to Guatemala, Central America, established a 
mercantile business that he operated very suc- 



cessfully until 1888, when he retired, and 
coming north settled in Westfield, Chautauqua 
county, New York, where he has since resided. 
Captain Storm has passed an eventful life and 
has a rich fund of experience gained amid 
scenes now past and gone forever. The early 
rush of the gold seekers in 1849, the wild 
scenes incident to the seaman's life, and his 
business experience in the tropics, called for 
the best attribute of manhood. He met each 
emergency manfully and came through his 
varied experiences most successfully. That 
hardship and active life do not shorten one's 
days is fully proven in the life of Captain 
Storm, as he has long passed man's allotted 
years and is still active and maintains a keen 
interest in current events. He is a Republican 
in politics. 

He married, December 20, 1855, in Buffalo, 
New York, Elizabeth Brown, born near Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, January 1, 1828, died at 
Westfield, New York, February 4, 1906. She 
shared much of her husband's eventful life 
and was a tried and trusted helpmeet. Cap- 
tain Storm has no children. 



Burke states in his "Landed 
KELLEY Gentry" that the Kelley family 

may look back beyond the Con- 
queror and derive themselves from the ancient 
Britons. The Kelley family from Devonshire, 
England, were undoubtedly of Celtic origin, 
as Irish families were settled in South Wales, 
Devonshire and Cornwall, descendants, it is 
believed, of "fighting King Kelley," whose 
manor was in the possession of the family 
from the time of Henry II. The earliest 
mention of the name in Irish history was 
A. D., 254, when Ceallach MacCormac is re- 
corded as son of the monarch, Cormac Ne- 
fadha. The king of Connaught had a son 
Ceallach, in 528. The Irish Archaeological So- 
ciety, in 1843, published Customs of Hymany, 
who lived A. D. 874, and bore the name Cel- 
laigh. His grandson, Muechaddo O'Callaigh, 
was the first to use the surname, the law being 
made by the celebrated Irish king, Brian 
Baroimbe, that "everyone must adopt the 
name of his father as a surname". Thus the 
grandson of Callaigh became O'Callaigh, and 
the name simplified to Kelley about 1014. 
Queen Elizabeth requested Cola O'Kelley to 
discard the "o," as it tended, by keeping up 
the clanship in Ireland, to foster disaffection 
in England. In Scotland, in Fifeshire, is a 



7 o6 



NEW YORK. 



district called Kellieshire, and various branches 
of Kelleys were dispersed through England. 
The most probable signification of the name 
is: War, debate, strife. The spelling has 
been much varied, but its origin is undoubtedly 
as given above. Many of the name who came 
to this country, and their descendants, take 
greater pride in their ancient Irish descent 
than in their English. The arms granted the 
family in Ireland are: A tower triple tow- 
ered supported by two lions rampant or. Crest : 
a greyhound statent proper. Also : Gules 
on a mount vest, two lions rampant: and 
azure in chief, three estoiles argent. Crest: A 
hand holding by the horn a bull's head erased 
or. A coat-of-arms granted to Hon. Robert 
Kelley, of Doncaster, 1473, bore the motto: 
"We sacrifice our goods for the cause of 
right". The family herein recorded are be- 
lieved to descend from William Kelley, a de- 
scendant of the above family who came from 
Cape Cod to Phippsburg, Maine, in the seven- 
teenth century. The meagre records, how- 
ever, do not establish the line of descent. 

(I) Jacob Kelley was born in New Sharon, 
Maine, about 1827, died at Gainesville, Flor- 
ida, in 1893, having gone there for the bene- 
fit of his health. He was educated in the 
public schools and so well improved his op- 
portunities that he became a teacher, continu- 
ing for seven years in the Maine schools. He 
had brothers : Isaac, William, John, George, 
and a sister, Deborah, all born in Maine, who 
did not remain there but dispersed to other 
parts of New England. Jacob, however, re- 
mained with his parents on the farm until 
the death of his father. He then sold the 
homestead, and in 1856 settled in Lowell, 
Massachusetts, where he engaged in the plan- 
ing mill business, manufacturing sash, doors 
and blinds, having as partners his brothers. 
William and George. After two years the 
firm was dissolved. About the year 1858, 
with his brother George and another, he 
formed the firm of Kelley, Wentworth & Com- 
pany, and began the manufacture of staves 
and headings in Lockport, New York. The 
business was a successful one and resulted in 
Jacob Kelley coming to Newfane, where a 
branch was established. In i860 he disposed 
of his entire interest in Kelley, Wentworth & 
Company, and purchased a small farm in 
Newfane, Niagara county, on which he de- 
voted himself to fruit culture until his death. 
He married, in 1847, at Lowell, Massachu- 



setts, Mary White, who died in 1895. Chil- 
dren : 1. James A., of further mention. 2. 
Abbie, born December 8, 185 1, at New Sharon, 
Maine; married Frank Goodrich, of Pendle- 
ton, Niagara county. 3. George, born 1855, 
died 1864. 4. Ella, born at Lowell, Massa- 
chusetts, 1857 : died at Lockport, New York. 
5. Willis, born 1861, at Newfane, New York; 
now a resident of Lockport. 

(II) James A., son of Jacob and Mary 
(White) Kelley, was born at New Sharon, 
Maine, February 16, 1849. He was educated 
in the public schools of New Sharon, Lowell, 
Massachusetts, and Newfane, New York. He 
was his father's assistant until he reached the 
age of eighteen years, then was apprenticed 
to learn the carpenter's trade. After four 
years' service as apprentice and journeyman 
he started in business for himself as contrac- 
tor and builder, in the town of Newfane, New 
York. He was a very capable and successful 
builder, continuing fully employed until 1887. 
During these years he erected many buildings 
of various kinds and purposes in Newfane, 
Olcott and adjacent towns. In 1887 he formed 
a connection with the Newfane Basket Manu- 
facturing Company, becoming manager of 
their plant. This company was incorporated 
in 1887 and for twenty years he was manager 
of the mill department. He has served as 
secretary and treasurer, now occupying the 
office of vice-president of the company. This 
has been a very successful corporation, well 
officered and managed. Mr. Kelley is second 
vice-president of the Newfane Hardware Com- 
pany, and interested in other town enterprises, 
including the ownership of two small fruit 
farms. He is a Republican in politics and 
has held the office of supervisor continuously 
since 1908. Fraternally he is connected with 
Cataract Lodge, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, of Lockport. He is a man of public 
spirit, progressive, and can always be relied 
upon to champion the cause of improvement 
in whatever form it may be presented. The 
motto of the ancient family, "We sacrifice for 
the cause of right," justly applies to the repre- 
sentative of the present family. 

Mr. Kelley married (first), December 26, 
1872, at Newfane, Mary E. Ketchum, born in 
Newfane, 1851. died 1899, daughter of George 
Ketchum, who was a pioneer and one of the 
first settlers of Newfane, coming when the 
country was a forest. He married (second), 
April 28, 1904, Mrs. Millie (McKee) Lough- 



NEW YORK. 



707 



liri, born January 26, 1866, daughter of James 
McKee, who cleared a farm and with his yoke 
of oxen drew in the first pair of millstones 
in the town of Xewfane ; this was in 1836 
and they were placed in the old Charlotte grist 
mill. Mrs. Kelley had one son by her first 
marriage, Van S. Loughlin, born February 1, 
1890, a graduate of Lockport Union School 
and past his second year in the Buffalo Medi- 
cal University. 



This is a family name more 
MELDRUM frequently found in Scotland 

than in the United States. 
The Buffalo branch descend from a grandsire, 
Thomas Meldrum, born in .Scotland, in 1801, 
died there in 1881. He was a land owner, and 
interested in the manufacture of gas for il- 
luminating purposes. He held the position of 
manager of the works supplying the town of 
Kennoway, Fifeshire, where he died. He 
was a member of the Presbyterian church, and 
ordered his life according to the strict tenets 
of the Scotch church. His wife was Janet 

, whom he survived. Children : Ann, 

married John Husband, in Scotland, came to 
the United States, and is now a widow resid- 
ing in Sumner, Bremer county, Iowa ; Alex- 
ander, of whom further ; James, died in Lin- 
coln. England: George, a successful manufac- 
turer of linseed oil, later settled at Brighton, 
England ; married late in life and has no issue ; 
Kate, married and resides in Fifeshire, Scot- 
land, has child, Arthur, a resident of London, 
England, where he is general manager of a 
gas company. 

(II) Alexander, son of Thomas and Janet 
Meldrum, was born in Scotland, November 
21. 1833, died in Buffalo, New York, October 
21, 1891. He came to the United States in 
1853 and settled in Boston, Massachusetts, 
where he remained until 1867. When a lad of 
eleven years he had been apprenticed to the 
mercantile business, and in Boston continued 
in the same line. He entered the employ of 
Hogg, Brown & Taylor, general merchants, 
and was advanced until he became head of a 
department. In 1867 he removed to Buffalo, 
where he laid the foundations for the present 
modern department stores, in the family name. 
He first opened a drygoods store at No. 400 
Main street, which soon outgrew its original 
quarters. As he prospered, more space was 
added and new departments established. He 
was an energetic, capable man of business, 



and from his beginnings grew the present im- 
mense stores of Adam, Meldrum & Anderson. 
He stood high in business circles, and was 
one of the men who contributed so largely 
to Buffalo's mercantile supremacy, building 
both wisely and well. He mingled little in 
concerns outside of business life, but supported 
with his influence and means all good causes. 
He was a member of the Lafayette Presbyter- 
ian Church, and of the Republican party. He 
married Ann Elizabeth Webster, born in 
Charlestown, Massachusetts, who survives 
him. She is a member of the same New Eng- 
land family of Webster from which Daniel 
Webster, the statesman, descends. Children: 
1. Thomas, died in infancy. 2. Arthur Ross, 
of whom further. 3. Alice Elizabeth, married 
Thomas P. Daniels, son of Judge Charles 
Daniels of Buffalo, an eminent jurist (see 
Daniels): child: Charles Meldrum Daniels, 
born May 10, 1883, married Florence, daugh- 
ter of Frank H. Goodyear of Buffalo (see 
Goodyear). 4. Thomas Alfred, born June 14, 
1866, died June 19, 1886: graduate of Buf- 
falo high school, class of 1884: he met his 
death by drowning while canoeing on the 
James river, Virginia. 5. Herbert Alexander, 
of whom further. 6. Jessie Pollock, graduate 
of Buffalo high school, 1891 ; married, June 
13, 1896, Frank Perew Van Denburgh. 
7. Florence Janet, attended Buffalo Female 
Seminary ; married, December 23, 1909, Harry 
Lawrence Brown, a mining engineer of 
Arizona. 

(Ill) Arthur Ross, son of Alexander and 
Ann Elizabeth (Webster) Meldrum, was born 
in Maiden, Massachusetts, July 26, 1861. He 
was six years of age when his father located 
in Buffalo, where he was educated in the 
grammar and high schools. He began busi- 
ness life with the firm of Barnes, Bancroft & 
Company, of Buffalo, and later was associated 
with Adam, Meldrum & Anderson until 1892. 
One of the lines established by Alexander 
Meldrum was a mill for the manufacture of 
underwear, and after leaving Adam, Meldrum 
& Anderson, Arthur R. continued the opera- 
tion of this plant until 1896. He was also 
during this period a partner of Francis H. 
Crafts in the manufacture of wood working 
machinery in Buffalo, and interested in the 
manufacture of windmills at Blaisdell, New 
York. From 1896 to 1898 he was engaged 
in the development of Florida real estate. In 
1898 he associated with his brother, Herbert 



NEW YORK. 



A., in the department store. He is a Repub- 
lican in politics and attends St. John's Episco- 
pal church. 

He married, July 18, 1888. Eva Mary, 
daughter of John H. and Jane Smith of Buf- 
falo ; her father is Buffalo manager of the 
R. G. Dun Company. Children: 1. Alfred 
Smith, born May 10, 1889 ; educated in gram- 
mar and high schools of Buffalo ; entered Cor- 
nell University, and graduated in class of 191 1 
with degree of Mechanical Engineer. 2. Eliz- 
abeth Jane, born July 28, 1891 ; graduate Buf- 
falo Seminary, 191 1. 3. John Alexander, born 
March 1, 1893. 

(Ill) Herbert Alexander, son of Alexander 
and Ann Elizabeth (Webster) Meldrum, was 
born in Buffalo, New York, February 15, 
1870. He was educated in the public schools, 
and was graduated from the feiigh school, class 
of 1890. He was at once admitted to business 
with his father, continuing until the death of 
the latter in 1891. For the next seven years 
he continued with Adam, Meldrum & Ander- 
son, and was connected with different depart- 
ments during these years. In 1897 the H. A. 
Meldrum Company was incorporated. On Sep- 
tember 23, 1897, their new store on Main 
street was opened, with all the departments 
of a modern establishment, and has since been 
in successful operation. Mr. Meldrum is a 
most capable and energetic man of business 
and measures up to the full standard his posi- 
tion requires. He was one of the organizers 
of the American Savings Bank of Buffalo, 
and chosen its first president, July 1, 1907, 
the date of organization. Under his guidance 
this bank has had a most rapid advance not 
exceeded by any similar institution in the state. 
He also serves the bank as trustee. He is 
one of the managers of the State Hospital at 
Buffalo, appointed by Governor Hughes, June 
13, 1907. He is prominent in the club organi- 
zations of Buffalo ; he was president ( 1896) 
of the Automobile Club, also president of the 
State Automobile Association, 1909; charter 
member and first treasurer of the Park Club, 
and member of the first board of trustees ; di- 
rector of the Buffalo Club, member of the 
County and Saturn clubs ; vice-president of 
tin- Buffalo Aero Club, and member of the 
Aero Club of America (New York City ). Po- 
litically Mr. Meldrum is a Republican, and a 
member of the Lafayette Presbyterian Church. 

He married, September 23, 1895. Louise 
Reese, daughter of Edward Jenkins Hingston. 



Children: Herbert Alexander Jr.. born Sep- 
tember 5, 1897; Alan Hingston, December 31, 
1899: Esther Louise. 



This family was for many gen- 
MARSH erations native to Germany, 
where Henry Marsh was born in 
1824, died in 1905. He was well educated in 
the German schools, and was apprenticed to 
a shoemaker, with whom he served seven 
years. He was then qualified to become a 
journeyman shoemaker. He worked at his 
trade in Germany until 1853, when he came 
to the United States with his wife. He set- 
tled in East Otto, Cattaraugus county, where 
he made his first purchase of fifty acres. Then 
he moved to Mansfield, where he purchased 
land and later added thereto until his holdings 
totaled four hundred acres. His homestead 
was on the Mansfield and Ellicottville line, and 
he owned land in both towns. While he pros- 
pered in his adopted land he was always quiet, 
unassuming and industrious. He was a Re- 
publican, serving as commissioner of high- 
ways, and a member of the Lutheran church. 
He married, in Germany, Minnie Merow (not 
related to the Little Valley family). Children : 
Charles ; Henry A. ; Mary, deceased ; Augus- 
tus, deceased ; Frank, deceased : two other chil- 
dren died in infancy. 

(II) Henry A., son of Henry and Minnie 
(Merow) Marsh, was born in East Otto, De- 
cember 2, 1855. He received a good common 
school education, and has so conducted his 
affairs that he possesses a handsome compet- 
ence. He owns one of the finest farms in 
the county, but has retired from active life 
to a comfortable home in the village of Little 
Valley. His farm is worked for him on the 
share plan. He is a Republican in politics and 
has served as assessor of the town of Little 
Valley for some fourteen years. He is an at- 
tendant of the Lutheran church, and is held 
in high esteem by his friends and neighbors. 
He married, March 28, 1883, Mary E., born 
April 21, 1861, daughter of John H. Merow, 
of Little Valley, born in Germany, 1823, came 
to the United States, 1858 : killed accidentally 
on his farm in Little Valley, May 6, 1890. Of 
the children of John H. Merow, John C, mar- 
ried Estella Day : Sophia, married Spencer 
Holdridge : William, married Mosella Whip- 
ple, and Mary E., married Henry A. Marsh. 
Children of Henry A. and Mary E. (Merow) 
Marsh: 1. Minnie, born September 4, 1884; 



NEW YORK. 



709 



married Albert C. Woolf, deceased ; has a son, 
Marshall L. Woolf, born April 25, 1909. 2. 
Mabel, born March 25, 1889. 3. Maurice, 
born November 6, 1893. 



This branch of the Adams fam- 
ADAMS ily descends from Abraham 

Adams, born at Wilton. Con- 
necticut, April 5, 1774, died February 3, 1858. 
He was a son of Nathan and Rhoda (Scrib- 
ner ) Adams, of Wilton, Connecticut. Abraham 
Adams was a resident of South Salem, New 
York. He married Betsey Bouton, born at 
Poundridge, New York, March 17, 1774, died 
March 5, 1869. She was a daughter of Daniel 
Bouton, who served in the revolutionary war 
in Captain Crane's regiment of New York 
militia. The regiment was composed of men 
from Westchester county, Daniel Bouton giv- 
ing his residence as Poundridge. While the 
British were in that section of the state all 
the valuables in the home were hidden in the 
rocks, and Betsey, then a child, was hidden 
under a large iron cauldron kettle for safety. 
Children of Abraham and Betsey Adams: 1. 
Edwin (of further mention). 2. Philo, born 
in South Salem, New York, March 22, 1799, 
died March 26, 1832. 3. Rhoda, born at Cairo, 
New York, July 15, 1801, died September 30, 
1900. 4. Clarissa, born at Greene, New York, 
September 4, 1803, died January 27, 1900, at 
Oshkosh, Wisconsin. 5. Moses, born in 
Greene, New York, November 3, 1805, died 
in 1873. 6. Charles, born in Greene, New 
York, December 8, 1807. 7. A. Marlin, born 
in Greene, New York, May 27, 181 1, died 
June 25, 1885. 8. Lucinda, born in Greene, 
New York, June 26, 1812, died May 9. 1833. 
9. James, born in Greene. New York, May 23, 
1814, died in 1891. 10 and n. Henry and 
William, twins, born November 26, 1816; 
Henry, died October 23, 1857; William, died 
July 8, 1817. 

(II) Edwin, son of Abraham and Betsey 
(Bouton) Adams, was born in South Salem, 
New York, August 11, 1797, died January 27, 
1 88 1. He settled first in Greene, Chenango 
county, New York, remaining until about 
^830. He then moved to Corydon, Pennsyl- 
vania, and later to Kent's Corners, in town 
of Cold Spring, and engaged in the lumber 
business ; from the latter named place he 
moved to Conewango, and in 1865 came to 
Randolph, Cattaraugus county, where he en- 
gaged in lumbering and farming. He mar- 



ried, February 10, 1823. China Phelps, born 
in Cambridge. Saratoga county, New York, 
October 3. 1799, died April 10, 1881. Chil- 
dren: 1. Charles Palmer, born in Greene, 
Chenango county. New York, December 3, 
1825; now (1911) living retired in James- 
town, New York; he married, August 31, 
1852, Cornelia Crane, who died January, 1909, 
daughter of Judge Crane, of Fredonia ; chil- 
dren : i. Frances M., married Harry Lewis, 
of Jamestown, New York : ii. Douglass Crane. 
2. Julia A., born November 27, 183 1. 3. Susan, 
born June 14, 1836. 4. Theodore Edwin (of 
further mention ) . 

(Ill) Theodore Edwin, youngest child of 
Edwin and China (Phelps) Adams, was born 
at Corydon, Pennsylvania. October 26, 1839, 
died in Randolph, New York, June 17, 1910. 
He attended the public school until attaining 
the age of fourteen years, then began clerk- 
ing in a general store in Fredonia. He soon 
realized the need of further education, left 
the store and pursued courses of study at El- 
lington and Randolph academies. After com- 
pleting his studies he entered the employ of 
William H. Camp as clerk in his Randolph 
store. Later his brother. Charles Palmer 
Adams, bought an interest in the business, 
which was continued under the firm name of 
Camp & Adams. Later Charles Palmer 
Adams became sole proprietor. Theodore E. 
Adams continued as clerk during these 
changes, and until 1865, when he became a 
partner under the firm name of C. P. Adams 
& Brother. The brothers continued in suc- 
cessful business until 1874, when Charles 
Palmer withdrew and assisted in the organi- 
zation of the State Bank of Randolph, of 
which he was the first cashier. Theodore E., 
after the retirement of his brother, became 
sole proprietor, and although at subsequent 
times he had partners in the business he re- 
mained the active head of the establishment 
until his death. At the time he became sole 
owner the store building was located on the 
site of the present post office, but about 1890 
he purchased a new brick block on the opposite 
side of the street. Later this was enlarged 
to accommodate his growing trade, which be- 
came the largest in any village of similar size 
in Western New York. February 1, 1906, the 
business was incorporated as The T. E. Adams 
Company, Mrs. Adams, Theodora C, -Percy 
C. and Florence C, their children. R. T. 
Searle, Charles Woodruff and George L. 



7io 



NEW YORK. 



Bowen, employees, being taken into the com- 
pany. 

Although Air. Adams never sought or would 
accept public office, he was public-spirited to 
a high degree, and every enterprise promising 
to advance the interests of Randolph received 
his hearty personal and financial support. He 
was one of the trustees of the Merchants' and 
Manufacturers' Association, director of the 
State Bank of Randolph, and interested in 
other enterprises in Randolph and elsewhere. 
While perfectly open and frank by nature, in 
his business dealings he was most secretive, 
and in his benevolences few knew the extent 
of his private charities. It is said of him that 
no needy person ever went from his store 
without a garment required for comfort, 
whether the money was forthcoming or not. 
He was a great sufferer in his last years, but 
gave daily attention to his business as long 
as strength remained and ever turned a smil- 
ing face tojthe world. He died in New York 
City, at a private sanitarium, where he was 
being treated by the best medical experts. He 
is buried in Randolph cemetery, his funeral 
being attended by a large gathering of his 
friends, including his brethren of Randolph 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, who 
marched in a body. 

Mr. Adams married, December 15, 1865, 
Mary Lenett Crowley, born February 16, 
1844, daughter of Asahel Crowley (see Crow- 
ley line). Children: 1. Theodora Crowley, 
born June 23, 1867; married William L. 
Rathbone. 2. Percy Crowley, born April 4, 
1869; married, June 22, 1899, Amy Farmer, 
of Oil City, Pennsylvania ; children : i. Theo- 
dora, born December 12, 1901 : ii. Thomas Ed- 
win, born December 26, 1910. Percy C. 
Adams is now residing in Washington, D. C, 
and is a member of the well-known firm of 
architects, Averill & Adams. 3. Florence 
Crowley, born May 19, 1881 ; married Robert 
T. Searle, her father's business associate ; chil- 
dren : i. Robert, born May 13, 1905; ii. Wil- 
liam Adams, born June 10, 1906: iii. Alary 
Lenett, born March 7, 19 10. 

(The Crowley Line). 
Alary Lenett ( Crowley ) Adams, wife of 
Theodore Edwin Adams, survives her hus- 
band, and is a resident of Randolph. Her 
grandfather, Walter Crowley, was a native 
of Connecticut and emigrated to Vermont 
long before it became a state. He married 



Mary Todd, also of Connecticut, whose par- 
ents also emigrated to Vermont at an early 
date. Walter Crowley cleared a farm from 
the then almost unbroken wilderness on the 
summit of the Green Alountains, where his 
family of four sons and three daughters were 
born. They remained in Vermont until 1839, 
when they came to Randolph, New York, and 
passed their remaining years there with their 
sons, all wealthy and influential citizens of 
that town. He died in 1851, his wife in 1855. 

Asahel Crowley, father of Airs. Adams, 
was born in Mt. Holly, Vermont, February 
14, 1809. He came to Randolph in 1831, 
where for half a century he was actively en- 
gaged in business life, and at the time of his 
death. January 30, 1901, was the oldest resi- 
dent. On first coming to the town he taught 
school for two winters, then engaged in lum- 
bering. In 1833 he first engaged in mercan- 
tile life, admitting to a partnership three years 
later his brother, Addison Crowley, and Jo- 
seph Stanley. They erected a large store 
building which at that time was the largest 
in the country. They conducted a general 
store and dealt extensively in cattle and lum- 
ber. After four years' association Air. Stan- 
ley withdrew and the firm continued as A. and 
A. Crowley. A younger brother, Alvin Crow- 
ley, was admitted and had charge of the lum- 
ber business at Cincinnati, the firm then be- 
coming A. Crowley & Company, continuing 
until i860, when Alvin withdrew, the firm 
name reverting to its former name, A. and A. 
Crowley. In 1868 a general division of the 
business was made, Asahel Crowley then es- 
tablishing a general farming, lumbering and 
cattle dealing business, which he continued 
until his final retirement. He was one of the 
incorporators of the State Bank of Randolph 
and a director. He was treasurer of the 
Western New York Home for Homeless and 
Dependent Children, a charity to whose in- 
terests he was devoted. He took a deep in- 
terest in the building of the Erie railroad and 
was one of the original directors of the com- 
pany, a position he occupied seven years. He 
was a highly respected gentleman and was 
ever devoted to the best interests of the town. 
He bore a blameless reputation and lived a 
business and private life free from blot or 
stain. 

He married, in Alt. Holly, Vermont, Octo- 
ber 6, 1836, Clarissa AI. Johnson, born May 
3, 1815, daughter of Alarvel and Julia 



NEW YORK. 



711 



(Mason) Johnson, of Mt. Holly. Children: 
1. Julia M., born September 1, 1837; married, 
May 16, i860, Charles M. G. Chase. They 
have one daughter, Mary, born July 26, 1862; 
married Dwight Rundell, of Randolph. 2. 
Ellen A., born August 26, 1839 ; married, Oc- 
tober 10, 1859, Alexander Wentworth ; chil- 
dren: i. Isabel, born September 13, i860; 
ii. Crowley, born May 8, 1868. 3. Marvel J., 
born August 3, 1841 ; married, August 29, 
1865, Adelaide Weed, of Franklinville. 4. 
Mary Lenett, married Theodore Edwin 
Adams. 5. Genevieve, born October 31, 1858; 
married, in 1883, Edwin Terhune. 



The name Matthew, hav- 
MATTHEWS ing belonged to one of the 
Twelve Apostles, was 
adopted by a great number of persons in early 
Christian times, and with its variations and 
derivations is borne today by many families 
who are wholly unrelated. The Matthews 
family with which this narrative is concerned 
was located in the county of Kent, England, 
in the latter part of the eighteenth century, 
and has been prominently connected with the 
printing business for four generations. 

(I) Edward Matthews was born at Seven- 
oaks, county of Kent, the son of a steward 
to the third Earl of Stanhope. This was the 
Earl Stanhope who invented or at least de- 
veloped and applied what came to be known 
as the "plaster process" of stereotyping. He 
also invented the Stanhope press, still known 
in the printing trade, and was otherwise fa- 
mous as a practical scientist. Edward Mat- 
thews learned stereotyping under Earl Stan- 
hope, and thus became one of the earliest 
and most skillful masters of the art. He was 
sent by the Earl over various parts of the 
United Kingdom to install and teach the 
Stanhope process of stereotyping. He en- 
countered the bitter hostility that the intro- 
duction of labor-saving devices often pro- 
vokes, and at times went about in hourly peril 
of assassination. Some of his most trying ex- 
periences were in Glasgow, where he installed 
the stereotyping process for the famous firm 
of Black & Company. Though a small man, 
he was full of energy and courage, and he 
persevered in his task until it was completed. 
Returning to England, he was sent to intro- 
duce the stereotyping process at the printing 
works of Robert and John Childs, at Bungay, 
county of Suffolk. This establishment did 



fine book work for London publishers, notably 
the Douay and other Bibles, dictionaries, and 
numerous historical works. The firm after- 
ward became John Childs & Son. The firm 
made him so advantageous an offer that he 
remained with it permanently, being granted 
a pension in his old age. He married Har- 
riet Newson, by whom he had many children. 
The following lived to maturity: 1. George, 
entered the printing business and became an 
expert compositor, pressman, stereotyper and 
finisher, and was employed by the Hebrew 
Society of London many years. He married 
Susan Knight. His son William became the 
principal stereotyper for the London Times, 
in which work he was succeeded by his son 
George. 2. Simon, became chief engineer in 
the British navy, served in the Crimean war 
on the battleship "Magnificent," also in the 
Chinese war, and received a medal for sav- 
ing his captain's life, and another for meri- 
torious service. The war office loaned him 
to the Italian government, and he served as 
chief engineer on one of Italy's first warships 
in a voyage around the world. He was af- 
terward for many years engineer on the 
Queen's yacht. He married (first) Lucy Hay- 
ward, of Ipswich; (second) Elizabeth Fitch. 
He had two sons, Henry and George, by his 
first wife, and three daughters, Susan, Louise 
and Pauline, by his second. Henry was a 
schoolmaster on board the training ship "St. 
Vincent," and afterward became connected 
with the London Fire Brigade. He married 
Minnie Jenkins. Two sons, Cecil and Earn- 
est, are both warrant officers in the royal 
navy. George was a commissary officer, and 
served under Lord Kitchener in Egypt, South 
Africa and India, where he died. His widow 
is matron of the military school at Cairo, 
Egypt. 3. Mary Ann, married James Barber 
and had eighteen children, of whom Susan, 
Betsey, Austin and George survived. 4. Eliz- 
abeth, married George Helsdon, an artist 
colorist in the employ of Sir John Kelk and 
E. M. Ward ; children : John Edward, came 
to America in 1871, and has since worked 
in the printing business in Buffalo; married 
Maria Forsyth ; his son, James Newson Mat- 
thews Helsdon, married Margaret Hebard, 
and they have a daughter, Elizabeth Ann ; 
other children of George and Elizabeth Hels- 
don were James and Harriet. 5. James New- 
son, mentioned below. 6. Susan, died of con- 
sumption at age of twenty. 7. Henry, born 



712 



NEW YORK 



1834; removed to America in 1852, and fol- 
lowed the printing trade in Buffalo; was for 
ten years superintendent for the firm of Mat- 
thews & Warren, proprietors of the Commer- 
cial Advertiser, and afterward member of the 
firm of Matthews Brothers & Bryant, which 
established the printing house now known as 
the Matthews-Northrup Works. He married, 
1857, Ellen S. Glover, of Bungay; children: 
Frank Russell, born February 4, i860 ; Har- 
riet Wells, born May 26, 1861, married Edgar 
J. Nelson, and has children, Ellen Olive and 
Hazel Annette, of whom Ellen Olive married 
Edward R. Earle, and has one child, Nelson 
Matthews, born August 8, 1903 ; Fanny Au- 
gusta, born April 24, 1870, married Herbert 
Spinney; Harry Newson, died in infancy. 8. 
Edward, married Anna Mobbs ; children : Ed- 
ward, Anna and Harriet. 

(II) James Newson, son of Edward and 
Harriet (Newson) Matthews, was born at 
Bungay, county of Suffolk, England, Novem- 
ber 21, 1828. While thoroughly grounded in 
the elementary branches, he was unable to 
obtain an advanced education, and at an early 
age was apprenticed in the printing and book- 
binding business. As the trade was then 
taught, this experience in itself gave him the 
best kind of education for a man who was 
later to become a great newspaper editor. 
When seventeen years old he emigrated to 
America, coming directly to Buffalo, where he 
made his home for the remainder of his life. 
He obtained employment in the printing office 
of Jewett, Thomas & Company, who were 
concerned in the publication of the Commer- 
cial Advertiser, and his superior technical 
training and efficiency made him foreman of 
the shop before he was twenty, while he was 
still an apprentice. The managing partner, 
C. F. S. Thomas, had a national reputation 
as a printer. He was very proud of his 
young foreman, but differences arose between 
the two men, and in 1848 young Matthews 
gave up his position to become foreman in the 
office of the Buffalo Republic. After a short 
experience there, he opened a printing office 
of his own on the southeast corner of Wash- 
ington and Exchange streets, directly opposite 
the site where he afterward erected what is 
still known as the Matthews Building, and is 
occupied by the great business which he 
created. In 1850, with some associates, he 
established a daily paper called the Journal of 
Commerce, which lived but a short time. He 



then became foreman of the job-printing office 
connected with the Buffalo Express, of which 
Almon M. Clapp and Rufus Wheeler were 
owners. A year later he was admitted into 
partnership, the firm becoming Clapp, Mat- 
thews & Company. This connection lasted 
until i860, when political differences caused 
Messrs. Clapp and Wheeler to dissolve part- 
nership. Mr. Wheeler joined James D. War- 
ren and Joseph Candee in buying the Com- 
mercial Advertiser. In 1862 Mr. Candee re- 
tired and Mr. Matthews was taken into the 
firm, which became known as Wheeler, Mat- 
thews & Warren. Mr. Matthews took charge 
of the job-printing branch, which soon be- 
came famous, and acquired a virtual monop- 
oly in fine color work for railroads. In 1864 
Mr. Wheeler retired on account of ill health. 
His partners bought his interest and continued 
the business under the name of Matthews & 
Warren. Mr. Matthews at this time as- 
sumed charge of the editorial management of 
the paper. In 1872 the firm purchased The 
Express, and conducted it during the Grant- 
Greeley campaign, when they sold it again. 
In 1877 political differences arose between 
Messrs. Matthews and Warren and they de- 
cided to dissolve partnership. They had al- 
ways made their investments together outside 
as well as within the printing business. On 
going over their accounts they found that the 
value of their outside investments about 
equalled that of the printing business, and 
Mr. Matthews offered Mr. Warren his choice 
between the two. After a day's consideration 
Mr. Warren chose the business. Mr. Mat- 
thews believed at the time that the step which 
he was talking would mean his retirement 
forever from journalism, but it was charac- 
teristic of the man that he preferred to give 
up an honorable and lucrative profession 
rather than make any concession of principles 
which he believed to be right. It so happened, 
however, that the fortunes of The Express 
were then at a very low ebb. Mr. Matthews 
was asked to take hold of the property and 
attempt its rehabilitation. After due consid- 
eration he consented. Failure and personal 
ruin were predicted as the inevitable conse- 
quence of what to many appeared a rash en- 
terprise. But Mr. Matthews was not a man 
either to fail in any undertaking to which he 
put his hand or to be easily discouraged. The 
first number of The Express under the new 
management came out January 7. 1878. Mr. 



NEW YORK. 



713 



Matthews's announcement declared that it was 
his settled purpose to make The Express "the 
neatest and brightest, bravest and best news- 
paper ever published in Buffalo, steadfastly 
Republican as to political principles, but ab- 
solutely independent in reference to our mu- 
nicipal government — the organ of no man or 
set of men, but, in fact, worthy to be styled 
'The People's Paper.' " The announcement 
continued : "If our interpretation of the 
party's faith is not very well known already, 
the fault is not ours. At any rate it will ap- 
pear soon enough in these columns. We do 
not conceive, however, that political princi- 
ples have anything whatever to do with mu- 
nicipal affairs, but we do most sincerely be- 
lieve, on the contrary, that municipal affairs 
should be absolutely divorced from political 
manipulation. And this is just what we pur- 
pose doing so far as The Express can effect 
the separation. We shall run no caucuses. 
If any man hereafter pretends to represent 
The Express in any political convention, he 
may be set down as an impostor. It will have 
no delegates. It will seek no official patron- 
age. If it is approached with promises or 
threats of exclusion from political papers, it 
will invite those who think they control this 
business to place it wheresoever they think it 
will do them the most good. We do not want 
it." 

Here was a revolution, not only in the 
character of The Express as it had recently 
been conducted, but in Buffalo journalism 
generally. And it is but just to say that the 
standard which Mr. Matthews set on that 
first day of his editorship was adhered to by 
him throughout his life and by his successors. 
The public appreciation of this kind of a 
newspaper was attested by a rapid growth in 
circulation and advertising until the property 
was soon on a profitable basis. The occasion 
for Mr. Matthews to prove his sincerity was 
not long in coming. The administration of 
the city at that time was Democratic, but in 
the fall of 1879 it shifted to Republican 
hands, but without effecting any material 
improvement in government. There was an 
antiquated charter dating from country-vil- 
lage days, a wide and virtually irresponsible 
distribution of powers, and the time was one 
of rapid railroad building, sewer building, 
street paving and other improvements involv- 
ing large contracts and valuable franchises. 
The Express attacked various features of the 



city government, bringing about some inves- 
tigations on its own account, and when in the 
fall of 1881 the reform elements obtained con- 
trol of the Democratic city convention and 
nominated Grover Cleveland for Mayor, The 
Express promptly declared for him, saying 
that every honest citizen could vote for him 
without doubt or misgiving and that the city 
would be to him as a client. The famous 
Stalwart-halfbreed war was also waging at 
this time, and The Express became the 
most prominent of the Halfbreed organs 
in the western part of the state. Sherman S. 
Rogers, one of Mr. Matthews's most valued 
friends, became a candidate before the legis- 
lative caucus for United States senator after 
Conkling and Piatt resigned. In addition to 
the mayoralty contest, the election of that 
year centered on the candidacy of William B. 
Sirret for re-election as county treasurer and 
of Arthur W. Hickman for assemblyman. 
The Express had attacked and had brought 
about an investigation of Sirret, who had been 
Republican state committeeman and was one 
of the principal party leaders in the county. 
It now opposed him for re-election and he 
was defeated. Mr. Hickman had been in the 
assembly, where he had voted with the Half- 
breeds. He had withdrawn as a candidate 
for the regular renomination, alleging that the 
caucuses had been fixed against him. He af- 
terward accepted an independent nomination 
with Democratic indorsement. The Express 
supported him and he was elected. It also 
bolted the nomination for Senator of Harvey 
J. Hurd, who had been a Stalwart assembly- 
man. Hurd was beaten. The short adminis- 
tration of Mr. Cleveland as mayor, with his 
numerous vetoes, particularly the "Plain 
Speech" veto of a street-cleaning contract, was 
one of the stirring periods in the city's politi- 
cal history. The Express supported him heart- 
ily, not as a partisan, but as an independent 
reform newspaper, and when he was nomi- 
nated for governor the following year, it car- 
ried its independence into state politics by de- 
claring in his favor. Its loyalty to the na- 
tional principles of the Republican party, how- 
ever, was too strong to admit of its support- 
ing him for president. In the two Demo- 
cratic city administrations which followed 
Mr. Cleveland's retirement, The Express 
again maintained the attitude of a critical in- 
dependent Republican newspaper. This was 
a time when the first civil service reform laws 



7H 



NEW YORK. 



were given effect. Mr. Matthews became 
much interested in the merit system and 
heartily supported it. With the nomination 
of Philip Becker for mayor by the Republi- 
cans in 1885, The Express gave him earnest 
support, which was continued throughout his 
two administrations. An exciting fight oc- 
curred at this time on the granting of a natu- 
ral gas franchise by the common council over 
the mayor's veto without compensation to the 
city, almost without restrictions, without 
limitation as to price to be charged consum- 
ers, and even with the privilege of discrimina- 
ing in price between different classes of con- 
sumers. The Express declared that this grant 
was a betrayal of the city into the hands of 
the Standard Oil Company ; that it was the 
street-cleaning steal of 1882 over again, only 
''bigger, bolder and in every way worse." It 
even went so far as to charge that the grant 
had been put through by bribery, and in con- 
sequence a committee of the legislature came 
to Buffalo and investigated it, but reported 
that it found no evidence that the alleged brib- 
ery had occurred. By withholding his ap- 
proval of the company's bond, the mayor was 
able to finally secure some modification of the 
worst features of the franchise. Another 
crusade undertaken by The Express in 1887 
was against the administration of the school 
department, which had become a political ma- 
chine. While the superintendent was not re- 
moved, the agitation resulted in some new or- 
dinances regulating the appointment of teach- 
ers, and later in the creation of a board of 
school examiners to determine by fair writ- 
ten examinations the qualifications of candi- 
dates. 

The career of Mr. Matthews as a printer 
was no less distinguished than as an editor. 
Immediately after buying The Express he es- 
tablished in connection with it the art-printing 
plant of the Matthews-Northrup Company. 
Under his skilled direction this establishment 
attained a national reputation for the printing 
of high-class railroad folders, advertising 
booklets, maps. etc. On one occasion it com- 
peted successfully with firms in Paris and 
London for a contract for maps for the Mexi- 
can government. On September 30, 1883, the 
first number was issued of The Illustrated 
Express, a Saturday and Sunday edition of 
the daily. This was the pioneer newspaper 
in issuing a half-tone supplement. The ex- 
cellence, number and variety of illustrations 



soon made it the admiration of the trade as 
well as of its patrons, and no small part of 
the reputation of its founder rests upon its 
success. Mr. Matthews never held a political 
office. He served by appointment of Govern- 
or Hoffman as one of three inspectors of the 
special election ordered by the legislature for 
the Erie railway when the Gould-Fiske con- 
trol was upset, and he was a delegate-at-large 
to the Republican national conventions of 
1872 and 1876. He first voted for John C. 
Fremont, and he voted for every Republican 
electoral ticket thereafter so long as he lived. 
He was at one time president of the Church 
Charity Foundation, and was connected with 
the vestry of St. John's Church. The Express 
gave vigorous support to the Republican na- 
tional ticket in 1888, but at the height of the 
campaign its editor was stricken with Bright's 
disease, complicated by abscess of the kidney, 
and his powerful pen was laid aside forever. 
He lingered until December 20th. when he 
breathed his last, at his home on Delaware 
avenue. 

He married, July 24, 185 1, Harriet, daugh- 
ter of Austin L. Wells, of Westfield, New 
York. She was born at Westfield, July 6, 
1830, and died in Buffalo, February 21. 1888. 
Children : George Edward, mentioned below : 
Frances Amy, born March 13, 1867, married 
(first) Charles Buckingham Graves, (second) 
Ernest G. Boon, of London, England. 

(Ill) George Edward, son of James N. and 
Harriet (Wells) Matthews, was born at 
Westfield, Chautauqua county, the home of 
his mother's parents, March 17. 1855. He 
grew up in Buffalo, where he attended the 
Heathcote School and was prepared for col- 
lege by the Rev. Dr. Theodore M. Bishop. 
He was ready for Yale by the time he was 
sixteen years old, but his parents thought him 
too young to enter college, so he spent the 
next two years in travel and in acquiring some 
knowledge of the printing business in the 
office of the Commercial Advertiser, of which 
his father was then editor and part owner. 
He was kept at practical work like an ordi- 
nary apprentice, and this instruction in the 
business which he was to take up was con- 
tinued during his college vacations. Thus he 
gained a very comprehensive knowledge of 
the fundamental details of the various 
branches of the printing trade. He was grad- 
uated from Yale with the class of 1877, gain- 
ing the degree of Bachelor of Arts. The fol- 



NEW YORK. 



lowing year his father bought The Express, 
and he became a clerk in the counting room, 
and rose through various grades to be busi- 
ness manager. He served the same practical 
apprenticeship in the editorial department, be- 
coming successively telegraph operator, city 
editor and literary editor. Ultimately he was 
given the position of treasurer of the Mat- 
thews-Northrup Company. Upon the death 
of his father, Mr. Matthews succeeded to the 
management of the business, becoming editor 
of The Express, and president of the Mat- 
thews-Northrup Company, which was at that 
time organized as a separate firm. The part- 
ners were mostly men who had worked up in 
its employ. This policy of taking the older 
employees into the business was extended to 
the newspaper firm, which became George E. 
Matthews & Company, the junior partner be- 
ing Charles E. Austin, who had begun work 
for the elder Matthews as a carrier boy. Some 
years later James W. Greene, who had grown 
from copyholder to managing editor, was ad- 
mitted to the firm, and in 1901 the two 
branches of the business were consolidated 
into the J. N. Matthews Company, in which 
most of the older employees were allowed to 
become stockholders, and George E. Mat- 
thews was president from its organization un- 
til his death. 

In addition to his newspaper and printing 
business, Mr. Matthews was at one time in- 
terested in the Buffalo Printing Ink Works. 
He also gave a great deal of time and hard 
work to developing the invention known as 
the noiseless typewriter, and to the organiza- 
tion of the company which manufactures and 
sells it. He was himself the inventor of the 
prismaprint process for which the Matthews- 
Northrup works is famous — a four-color proc- 
ess designed to take the place of the more 
familiar three-color process. He also invented 
and patented an improved method for index- 
ing books, and some other devices. He was 
the first publisher in Buffalo to introduce 
typesetting machines, of which his subscribers 
were given the benefit in the reduction of the 
price of the paper to two cents. At a later 
period the price was further reduced to one 
cent, but without in any way lowering the 
high standards which The Express had set for 
itself. To Mr. Matthews' practical knowl- 
edge of the mechanics of printing was due 
in large part the brilliant success of The Il- 
lustrated Express. As the first newspaper to 



demonstrate the practicability of high-class 
illustration under the management of the 
elder Matthews, it had this field virtually to 
itself for some years, but with the appearance 
of competitors steady improvement and en- 
largement were necessary to maintain the 
primacy which has led its friends to declare 
it equal to the high-grade magazines. Only 
a publisher who knew the printing processes 
thoroughly, who had the taste of an artist 
and the literary judgment of a scholar, could 
have led in this field as Mr. Matthews did. 
But while so much of his energy was given 
to these branches of his business, he never 
neglected his duties as an editor. The inde- 
pendent tone of The Express never weakened. 
An early test came in 1889 when it felt 
obliged to bolt the nomination of James H. 
Carmichael for mayor and to support the 
regular Democratic nominee, Charles F. 
Bishop, who was elected. It supported vig- 
orously the movement for a new charter, 
which was adopted in 1891, although not fully 
satisfied with all the details of the instrument. 
It was strongly opposed to the domination of 
the Republican state organization by Thomas 
C. Piatt, which it criticised unceasingly for 
years, but, being ever more strongly opposed 
to the methods and policies of the Democratic 
organization under David B. Hill, it usually 
supported Republican state candidates. It 
was at the front of the fight in 1893 when 
the people arose and overthrew the Demo- 
cratic regime to the amazement of the politi- 
cians of both parties. In the following year 
it heartily approved the nomination of Edgar 
B. Tewett for mayor, and gave energetic sup- 
port to his administration. At the beginning 
of 1896 the Republican state organization de- 
clared for the nomination of Governor Levi 
P. Morton for president, and set to work in 
the usual manner to elect delegates for him. 
The Express declared that the popular choice 
was unquestionably William McKinley, that 
with him the party could be sure of winning, 
and that it was folly to ignore a popular de- 
mand for the sake of creating a local candi- 
date or of giving the political leaders a dele- 
gation which could be used in the convention 
for trading purposes. The response was im- 
mediate and inspiring. Business men, who 
never had shown any activity in politics ex- 
cept to vote, rushed to The Express office and 
urged that it take the lead in organizing a 
movement for the election of McKinley dele- 



7i6 



NEW YORK. 



gates in Erie county, at least. Mr. Matthews 
consented. Caucuses had been called by the 
organization early in March and on very short 
notice, with a view to heading off opposition. 
But the independent forces refused to be 
overawed. Mr. Matthews and Wesley C. 
Dudley were elected delegates to the national 
convention from the Thirty-third district, and 
nineteen other delegates from Western New 
York and Brooklyn were elected for McKin- 
ley. Contesting delegations were sent to the 
state convention in New York, and the Mc- 
Kinley League was organized throughout the 
state, with Mr. Matthews as president, and he 
stumped the state for the league. At the con- 
vention in St. Louis he became involved in 
a sharp debate with Senator John Raines, an 
organization delegate. He was chosen to lead 
the cheering when the demonstrations for Mc- 
Kinley began. The work of the McKinley 
League was continued during the campaign, 
and it had no small part in piling up the ma- 
jority by which the state was carried. This 
was Mr. Matthews' only venture in practical 
politics. His only political office was that of 
delegate to the St. Louis convention of 1896. 
President McKinley intimated a personal de- 
sire to have him in the cabinet, but Mr. Mat- 
thews did not believe that an editor should 
be an office-holder. The Express continued to 
bolt Republicans and to support Democrats 
on occasions. It continued to fight strongly 
for Republican candidates when they were of 
the right kind. Mr. Matthews was always 
for the better man for local office, regardless 
of politics. He was always opposed to per- 
sonal machines, depending on patronage. 
When the independents pitted Joseph H. 
Choate against Thomas G. Piatt as a candi- 
date for United States senator, Mr. Matthews 
made a canvass of Erie county which showed 
that local sentiment was strongly against 
Piatt, and he fought the election of Piatt 
fiercely. It was sometimes said sneeringly 
that The Express was always beaten. That 
was not true, but it went into many fights with 
full knowledge that they were hopeless, 
merely because its principle was to support 
what it believed to be right rather than to try 
to pick winners. Despite its admiration for 
McKinley, it was unable to follow him in the 
policy of annexing the Philippines, although 
it was less radical than were most of the anti- 
imperialists, and it supported McKinley for 
re-election in 1900. It was an admirer and 



supporter of Roosevelt, both as governor and 
as president. As an editorial writer, Mr. Mat- 
thews had his father's vigorous style com- 
bined with a felicity of phrase that made de- 
lightful reading. He was an omnivorous 
reader and was gifted with a memory which 
made all his sources of information imme- 
diately available. There were few subjects 
that did not interest him and he was able to 
turn nearly everything which he saw or 
thought to newspaper account. He originated 
many of the most successful departments and 
features of The Express. His rule for a busi- 
ness manager was: "In conflicts between my 
interests and those of others, be just; but if 
there is a doubt, give the benefit of the doubt 
to the other party." He was charitable even 
when he knew his charity was being imposed 
on. He was for several years president of 
the Buffalo Typothetse and of the Buffalo 
Newspaper Publishers' Association. He was 
secretary to the McKinley Monument Asso- 
ciation, a member of the Buffalo, University, 
Country and Ellicott clubs, the Historical So- 
ciety, the Fine Arts Academy, and was at one 
time president of the local Yale Club. 

He married, July 12, 1887, Mary Elizabeth, 
daughter of George H. and Mary (Cook) 
Burrows, of Buffalo, who was born Novem- 
ber 24, 1866. Mr. Matthews' health began 
to break down in 1910, and he died at his 
home at Falconwood, Grand Island, June 11, 
191 1. Children: George Edward, born May 
11, 1888; married, April 20, 191 1, Frances, 
daughter of William T. and Anna (Baker) 
J ebb, of Buffalo ; Harriet Wells, born Septem- 
ber 17, 1889, married June 11, 1911, J. Ran- 
dall Williams Jr., of Philadelphia ; Burrows, 
born January 27, 1893. 



The surname Lockwood is 
LOCKWOOD of very ancient origin, and 

is mentioned in the Domes- 
day Book. It is a place name, and the family 
has several branches in England, in Stafford- 
shire, Yorkshire, Essex and Northampton. 
Burke's "General Armory" gives the arms of 
Lockwood : "Argent, a fesse between three 
martlets, sable. Crest, on the stump of an 
oak tree erased proper a martlet sable. Motto : 
Tutus in undis ('Secure against the waves')." 
(I) Robert Lockwood, immigrant ancestor, 
came to New England about 1630, and set- 
tled in Watertown, Massachusetts, where six 
of his children were born. He was made a 



NEW YORK. 



717 



freeman March 9, 1636. About 1646 he re- 
moved to Fairfield, Connecticut, where he died 
in 1658. He was made