(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Genealogical and family history of the county of Jefferson, New York;"

aass__F" '' ' 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY 

OF THE 

COUNTY OF JEFFERSON 

NEW YORK 

A RECORD OE THE ACHIEVEMENTS OE HER PEOPLE AND THE 

Phenomenal Growth of her Agricultural and 
. Mechanical Industries 



COMPILED UNDER THE SUPERft'ISION OF 

THE LATE R. A. CAKES 
ci'STonnN OK the jefferson county histokicai. soctktv 



'■ h'lio-cj/cifi^f of kindred and tlu gt-malogirs of tlu- ancient families i/c:u-n',t/i t/ic 
/iig/u's/ fruise. Herein consistetli a part of the knowledge of a man's own self. It is a 
great spur to --irtiie to look back on the liwrth of our line.'' — Lord Bacon. 

" There is no heroic poem in the world but is at the bottom the life of a man." — .S» 
IValter .Scott. 



I L L II S T R A T E D 

Volume II 



NEW YORK CHICAGO 

THE LEWIS PUBLISHING COMl'ANY 

1905 



K^^"" 

-s*^ 



/J YfCi 




rrrCt:c.^4^_^ 



HISTORY 



OF 



JEFFERSON COUNTY 



ADDISON WI.GHT GOODALE, M. D., one nf tlie oldest and 
best kiKJwn pliysiciaiis of Jefferson county, lias had a waried profes- 
sional career, and is now enjoying in contentment the fruits of a busy 
life. His ancestry has been traced to an early day in New England, and 
he preserves intact those qualities which were essential in settling a 
wilderness three thousand miles from tlie base of operations and inhab- 
ited by savages. 

(I) Robert Goodale. aged thirty years, came from Ipswich, Eng- 
land, with his wife Catherine and three children, to America, arriving 
April 3. 1634, at Ipswich, Massachusetts, and settled in that part of 
the town now Danvers. They crossed in the ship Elizal>eth, William 
Andrews, master. Five children were liorn to them after their arrival. 

(II) Isaac, son of Roliert and Catherine Goodale, was Ixirn in 
1633, in England, and died at the age of seventy-nine years. His wife 
was Patience Cook. 

(III) Isaac (2), son of Isaac (i) and Patience (Cook) Goodale, 
was bom March 29, 1670, and lived in Salem, where his will was proved 
in 1739. From this document it is learned that his wife's name was 
Mary, and that he had seven children. 

(IV) Enos, son of Isaac (2) and Mary Goodale, was born No- 
vember 2, 1 718, in Salem. He married Mary Angier and lived in Marl- 
borough and Shrewsbury. Massachusetts. He had three children. 

(V) Aaron Goodale, son ol Enos and Mary (Angier) Goodale, 
married Eunice Marshall, of Holden, Massach.usetts, in 1767, and sul> 
sequently settled in Salem, New York. 

(VI) Aaron Goodale, of Salem, New York, married Betsey Rug- 



668 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

gles, February 9, 1802. She was a daughter of Beujamin and Ehzabeth 
Ruggles (the latter, probably, a dauglitcr of Deacon James Fay), the 
former a son of Benjamin Ruggles, who was a son of Benjamin Rug- 
gles (see Ruggles, V). Betsey Ruggles was born August 9, 1780. 
Aaron Goodale was a pioneer settler of Fowler, St. Lawrence county, 
this state, and passed his last fifteen years with a daughter at Hailesboro, 
in that county, where he died at the age of ninety-five years. His wife 
died about 1865-8. They had two sons and four daughters. 

(VII) Ruggles Goodale, eldest child of Aaron and Betsey (Rug- 
gles) Goodale, was born September 10, 1S03, in Salem, New York. 
He settled in Fowler, where he continued farming until 1865, when 
he moved to the village of Antwerp, this county, and passed the balance 
of his life in retirement from the arduous labor of the farm, and died 
December, 1886. In August. 1830, he married Betsey \\'ight, who 
was born September 10, 18 10, in Oppenheim, Herkimer county, this 
state, a daughter of Abner and Polly (Hooper) Wight. She died Sep- 
tember, 1888, in Rutland. She was the mother of fi\e children. Addi- 
son W. is the eldest. Helen married Alvin Conklin, of Rutland. She 
died while visiting a daughter at Carthage. Warren Johnson Goodale, 
the third, resides in Binghamlon, this state. One child died when one 
week old. Estelle E. died, unmarried, in .\ntwerp, aged twenty years. 
Mr. Goodale was a member of the Baptist church at Fowler. He served 
several terms as assessor of his town. A Democrat in early life, he was 
a supporter of the Republican party from its org-anization. 

(VIII) Addison W. Goodale was born August 17, 1831, in Fow- 
ler, St. Lawrence county. He attended the country schools as a boy, and 
later studied at the Gouverneur Wesleyan (subsequently Ives) Sem- 
inary. In 1855 he began the study of medicine in the office of Dr. Ira 
II. Abel, of Antwerp, meanwhile attending lectures at the Albany Med- 
ical College. At the end of three years, in June, 1858, he was graduated 
from the Medical College, and began practice in South Rutland. He 
remained there in successful practice until the outbreak of the Civil war, 
when he enlisted in the Tenth New York Heavy .\rtillery, and remained 
with this organization as assistant surgeon until the close of hostilities. 

After two years more of jiracticc in South Rutland, he removed 
to Watertown and took up practice in that growing city. A year later 
he was engaged by the Phoenix Life Insurance Com])any, of Hartford, 
Connecticut, as adjuster and superintendent of jjbysicians. For the suc- 
ceeding twenty years he was in this service, being located successively 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 66!i 

at Canandaigua, Syracuse and Hartfard, and, for four years following 
1884, in New York city. Since 1888 the doctor has been a resident 
of Watertown, in retirement from active practice, but interested in 
various undertakings for the promotion of the material and moral prog- 
ress of the community. 

Dr. Goodale has lieen a trustee of the Thousand Island Park Asso- 
ciation since 1883, was for several years its treasurer and is now secre- 
taiy. He is also a director of the Alexandria Steamboat Company, and 
president of the Farmers' and Traders' Bank, of Kimball, South Dakota. 
He is one of the censors of the Jefferson County Medical Society and, 
for ten years, has been a health officer at Thousand Island Park. He 
is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic, and has affiliated with 
the Masonic fraternity since 1863. He is a member of the First Pres- 
byterian church of Watertown, and of the Union Club, of which he 
has been president two terms. 

He was married August 12, 1858, to Miss Helen J- Fowler, of 
Antwerp, a daughter of Lester N. Fowler (see Fowler, VIII). Two 
daughters complete the family of Dr. and Mrs. Goodale. Hattie G. 
is the widow of Arthur B. Abernetliy, of New York city. Florence is 
the wife of Francis M. Hugo, an attorney of Watertown. Mrs. Aber- 
netliy has a son, Grenville Goodale Abernethy, who is a student at 
Princeton University, in the class of 1907. 

CEPHAS R. STODDARD, one of the successful fanners of Cham- 
pion, has made his way in the world by industry and intelligent appli- 
cation. He was born December 12, 1840, in the town of Pinckney, 
Lewis county, this state, a son of Levi Stoddard, who was born in the 
same town. 

James Stoddard, a native of Brookfield, ■Massachusetts, was among 
the pioneer settlers of Pinckney. He was a son of Sanniel and Betsey 
(Dunn) Stoddard, of English and Scotch descent, respectively. He was 
married, in 1807, to Huldah Goodenough, a native of Chesterfield, Mass- 
achusetts, and immediately began housekeeping in the town of Den- 
mark, later removing to the frontier home in Pinckney, where he cleared 
land and lived out his days. They had three sons and three daughters. 
The eldest, Levi R., is further mentioned in this sketch. Eliza Dinah is 
the widow of David Richards, residing in Belleville, this county. Amy 
married Eli Penniman, and died in Libertyville, Illinois. Juliana is 
the widow of Dr. N. D. Ferguson, with home in Carthage, New York. 



670 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Justice (lied near Carthage, Missouri, previous to 1S70. JdIiii Blodgett 
was a farmer in Pinckney, where he (hed. 

Levi Robbins Stoddard was born September 29. 1808, in Pinckney, 
where lie foHowed farming during his active hfe, varying this occupa- 
tion by working at liis trade of cooper. His last years were spent in 
Copenhagen, where he passed away Decemljer 28, 1893. at the ad\anced 
age of eighty-iive }ears. He was married June i, 1828. to Alarinda 
Orvis, who was born ]Ma}- 6. 1807. in Champion, and died May 8. 1903, 
at the home of her son. L. ^\'. Stoddard, in Champion. She was a daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Sally (Sage) Orvis, early residents of the town. 
The Orvis family was descended from Roger Orvis. who came to 
America from Wales and settled in Connecticut in th.e seventeenth cen- 
tury. For various services in defense of the colony he was presented 
with a silver-mounted cane by the then ruling King of England. This 
bore a number of inscriptions in royal recognition of such ser\'ices against 
the hostile tribes led liy King Phillip and others, wlm ravagetl the white 
settlements and made women and children the \ictims of their tomahawks 
and scal])ing knives. This cane has been handed down in the family, and 
is now' presiunably in the possession of an Orvis descendant residing iri 
Canada. Roger (2), son of Roger (i), the immigrant, was father of 
Roger (3), who married Ruth Howe, of English descent, and their 
cliildren were: Roger, Lorenzo, Philander, Samuel (who Avas father 
of Marmda, wife of Levi Robbins Stoddard), Ruth, Rachel, L'rana. 
Susie, Elmira, Diantha and Saloma. Roger (3), with his wife and 
daughters Rachel, Urana, Elmira, Diantha and Saloma, settled in Genes- 
see county. New York, and Samuel and Susie settled in Lewis county, in 
the same state. Roger. Lorenzo and Philander lived to be ninetv years 
of age, and Samuel to within twelve days of one hundred years. These 
older men were in the revolutionary war, and Samuel ser\ed m the war 
of 1812. Samuel married Sallie Sage, of English descent, of Sandvs- 
field, Massachusetts. In 1806 their possessions w'ere packed in two loads 
and drawn by ox teams to Lewis county. New York. In 181 3 thev 
moved into the town of Champion, Jefiferson county, same state, set- 
tling near Pleasant Lake, on the ]\Iaple Grove farm, where thev passed 
the remainder of their days. Samuel Orvis became a well-to-do farmer 
and a prominent resident of the town, in which he was among the found- 
ers and first settlers. He was a Methodist in religion and a Rqiublican 
in politics. His children were: Elias. Sallie. ]\[arinda. Fannie. Sam- 
uel, Elmira and Betsey. Levi R. Stoddard and wife were members in 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 671 

good standing of the Methodist church, and he was a RepubHcan from 
the organization of the party. They had fi\-c sons and three daughters. 
Norton Stoddard, the eldest, is a farmer in llie town of Denmark. Em- 
ily, the second, married Jnhn Hodge, and after his death married ^Moses 
Lang, of Copenliagcii ; she died October 4, 1898. Clnrinda died in Ty- 
lerville, this count}-, whde the wife of Henry Hodge. Sarah resides in 
Allen, Michigan, tlie wife of James Clobridge. Cephas R. is the fifth. 
Orvis is a ma.son by trade, with home at Copenhagen. Levi ^^'esley is 
mentioned at length below. Duane is a farmer in the southern part of 
the town of Lowville, near the Harrisburg border. 

Cephas R. Stoddard remained on the home farm in Pinckney until 
he was nineteen years of age. after which he worked out on farms of the 
vicinity. He gave some time to study in the district schnol, and was for a 
short time a student at an academy in Copenhagen, but his school days 
were over when he was nineteen years old. Possessed of manly independ- 
ence he was eavh- resolved to possess a farm of his own, and made such 
use of his opportunities and so husbanded his earnings that he was alile 
in 1869 to assume the responsibility of ownership. At that time he 
bought one hundred and twenty-five acres in the town of Denmark, 
which he owned and tilled until 1880, when he exchanged it for his 
present farm of one hundred and fifty-five acres, on the "State road," in 
the w'estern part of Champion. He illustrates the fact that intelligent 
management leads to success in farming, as in other occupations. Be- 
sides maintaining a dairy of fifteen to twenty cows, he also raises stock 
tor the market, and so varies his interests as to secure an income from his 
lands each year. Mr. Stoddard is a member of Champion Grange, in 
which he has filled nearly all tlie chairs, and is a factor in every intelli- 
gent movement for the betterment of the farmer's condition. He affili- 
ated with the Masonic Lodge at Copenhagen while he lived near it, but 
is not now an active nieml>er. He attends the Methodist church at Cham- 
pion, with his family. 

Mr. Stoddard w^as married. May 10, 1871, to Miss Mary Tracy, 
w ho was born January 10, 1849, '" Bombay, Franklin county. New York. 
a daughter of Noble Everett and Cynthia (Spencer) Tracy, nati\es, re- 
spectively, of Vermont and Martinsburg, this state. Mrs. Stoddartl is 
a cultivated and sensible woman, an able coadjutor of her husband in 
the work of the Grange, and in rearing sons creditable to the family and 
to the town. The elder son, Wilbur Tracy, is his father's capable as- 
sistant in the cultivation of the- farm. The younger. Leon Arcellus. has 



(;72 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

laught four terms of school, and is now a student of the State Normal 
School at Potsdam, New York, in the class of 1904. 

Noble E. Tracy was born in Shelburne, Vermont, and died in Feb- 
ruary, 1899, in Champion. His wife died in Bombay. Noble E. was 
a son of Christopher Tilnian Tracy, who settled early near Black Lake, 
and died in Moira, New York, about i860, aged seventy-five years. His 
ancestors were among the earliest in New England. 

Cynthia Spencer was a daughter of William Spencer, who was born 
in Dutchess county, New York, Septembers, 1795, and died in Martins- 
burg, Lewis county, this state, November 7, 1877. His great-great- 
grandfather came from England and settled in Rhode Island before the 
revolution, and had a son and grandson who served as revolutionary 
soldiers. The name of the grandson was Rufus, and he was the father 
of William Spencer. After the revolution, Rufus Spencer settled in 
Dutchess county, and moved thence to Martinsburg in 1805. He had 
started with a sleigh in March to go to Spencerville, Canada, which was 
founded by his brothers, but the melting of the snow stranded him, and 
he settled in Martmsburg instead. He died there in 1836, over eighty 
years old. His wife's name was Cornelia Christy. William Spencer 
married Diadama Root, daughter of Salmon and Diadama (Byington) 
Root, who came from Salem (now Naugatuck), Connecticut, and set- 
tled in Martinsburg. Salmon Root entered the revolutionary army when 
fourteen years old, and fought through the struggle for independence. He 
was a well-read man and an interesting talker. 

Levi Wesley Stoddard was born September 15, 1847, on a farm in 
Pinckney, whence the family moved to Copenhagen when he was nine 
years old. He attended the village school, and learned the trade of 
cooper with his father. He followed the trade until he was twenty-five 
years old, being a partner with his father in the manufacture of casks 
at Copenhagen from his majority. He then purchased thirty acres of 
land in Denmark, and has been chiefly engaged in farming since. For 
the last twenty-one years he has lived in Champion, and has given his 
time wholly to agriculture during the last fifteen years. He acquired 
thirty acres on the "State road," in the western part of the town, which he 
afterward traded for eighty acres southwest of Champion village, near 
school number 6. where he now resides. Beside tilling this land he has 
rented other ground near by, and is a successful farmer. His dairy in- 
cludes twenty cows, and he is abreast of the time in methods. Mr. 
Stoddard embraces the faith of the Methodist church, and gives support 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 673 

tc all moral and upward movements. He is an earnest believer in the 
principles and policy (if the Republican party, but is not a politician. 

Air. Stoddard was married February 4, 1S74, to Aliss Ella Tracy, 
who was bom in Bombay, Xew' York, and is a sister of Mrs. C. R. Stod- 
dard, \\hose ancestry is given above. Two children complete the fam- 
ih' of yir. and ]Mrs. Stoddard — Eva Luella and W'oolsey Everett, both 
at home. 

JilcALLASTER. This is the name of a very old family of Argyle- 
shire, Scotland, and has been established in this country for seven gener- 
ations. It had numerous representatives among those who tied, for re- 
ligion's sake, to the northern part of Ireland, and established what is 
known as the "Scotch-Irish" people. The IVIcAllasters were numerous 
in Londonderry and Antrim counties, Ireland. 

(I) Richard JMcAllaster, the founder of the tamily in America, 
was a scion of a Scotch family which settled in Northern Ireland. He 
was married about 1735, in Ireland, to Ann ililler, and together they 
came to Londonderry, Xew Hampshire, in tlie winter of 1738-9. Thence 
they went to the settlement called Bedford, in the town of Narragan-" 
sett, New Hampshire, probably in the spring of 1743, and Mr. McAl- 
laster was reckoned among the large landholders of the town in 1750. 
He was elected constable in 1763. His wife died there March 12, 1776, 
in her sixty-seventh year. They were the parents of eight children. 

(II) Richard, seventh child of Richard (i) and Ann (Miller) 
McAllaster, was born October 20. 1749, in Bedford. New Hampshire, 
where he married Susan Dimond. He was last taxed in Bedford in 1772, 
and for two years thereafter was engaged in clearing land in Antrim, 
same colony, and moved thither in 1775. His farm was on the north 
slope of "Meeting-House hill," and he was prominent among the first 
settlers of Antrim, where he was a member of the first board of select- 
men, in 1777, and again a selectman in 1784. He w-as a member of 
Captain Wilkins' company, of Colonel Bedell's regiment of the revolu- 
tionary army, and was among the band surrendered to a force of 
British and Indians at "The Cedars," in Canada, May 19. 1776. These 
prisoners were most brutally treated and suffered great hardships until 
exchanged, through the efforts of Colonel Bedell, who was absent after 
reinforcements w'hen the fort was surrendered. In 1795 Richard Mc- 
Allaster mioved to Alstead, New Hampshire, and was subsequently at 
Springfield, Vermont, whence he came to Antwerp, Xew York, with his 



674 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

son, among tlie pioneer settlers of that town. He died here February 
II. 1813, a httle over two weeks after his wife, who passed away Jan- 
uary 23. Brief mention of his children follows : \\'illiam, the eldest, 
spent his life in Antwerp. Sarah died here, unmarried, at the age of 
eighty-eight years. Susan died, unmarried, at sixty-four. Athildred 
died in Antwerp, at a good age. Elizabeth married Henry Baldwin, 
and died in Antwerp. Francis died in Antwerp in 1841. Richard and 
Ann lived for a time in Springfield, Vermont, where the latter became 
the \\ife of Daniel Heald, and died in Antwerp. 

(HI) Francis, sixth child and second son of Richard (2) and Su- 
san (Dimond) ;\IcAllaster, was born August 16, 1773, in Antrim, Xew 
Hampshire, and died December 25, 1841, in Antwerp. He married 
Anna, daughter of John and J\Iary (Bradford) Averill. She was born 
May. 29, 1777, in Alount Vernon (now Amherst). Xew Hampshire, and 
died December 7, 1862, m the town of Antwerp. ]Mr. INIcAllaster was 
a farmer, a quiet and modest citizen. His life was an industrious one, 
and he aided in reclaiming from the wilderness- the present prosperous 
agricultural region about the thriving ^'illage of Antwerp. The fate 
of his children is herewith indicated. Polly, the eldest, became the wife 
of Francis Butterfield. and mother of William Butterfield, a prominent 
citizen of Redwood, this county (see Butterfield). David died in Erie, 
Pennsylvania. Nancy married Horace Hamlin (see Hamlin. \T)„ and 
lived and died in Antwerp. Emerson died in 1893. at Antwerp. Eliza, 
wife of William Buckley Bostwick, died in Gouverneur. Susan married 
Columbus Pinne}-, and died at Aurora, Illinois, over ninety years of age. 
Eucretia was the wife of Joseph Lyon Wait, and li\ed and died in the 
town of Antwerp. Cordelia married Charles Lewis, and. after his 
death, John Joyce, and is the only survivor of the family, now residing 
in .Aurora. Illinois, a widow. 

The ancestry of Mary (Bradford) Averill is traced back to the 
pioneer period of the Xew England colonies, as follows: 

(I) Robert Bradfoid, emigrant, was born about 1626. and died 
January 13. 1707. 

(II) \\'il]iam. son of Robert Bradford. Ijorn about 1650. married. 
November 14. 1676. Rachel Raymont. of Beverly. ^Massachusetts. He was 
a ropemaker Ijy occupation. 

(Til) \\'illiam. son of William Bradford (i), was born 1686, and 
uiarried. December it,. 1707. Grace Elliot, of Beverly. Massachusetts. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 677 

He was a sailor and removed from Beverly to Boxford in 1721, and 
thence to Middleton, Massachusetts, where he died in 1761. 

(IV) William, son of William Bradford (2), moved from Mid- 
dleton, and settled m Sowhegan West (now Milford), New Hampshire, 
at an early date. His marriage to Mary Lambert is of record in Mid- 
dleton, as occurring January 16, 1737. She was born March 11, 1718, 
and died February 18, 1770. Mr. Bradford marrietl, second, Rachel 
Small, who died in 1802. He died in 1791. His first wife bore him 
nine children, and the second two. Two of his sons, Joseph and W'illiam, 
were soldiers of the revolution, and the former died in the service at 
Medford, Massachusetts, in 1775. The latter served also in the war of 
1812. 

(V) Mary, third child and second daughter of W'illiam Bradford 
(3}, was baptized in 1742, in Middleton, Massachusetts, married John 
Averill, and died August 21, 1814, in Mount Vernon, New Hampshire, 
aged seventy-three years. 

(VI) Anna, daughter of John and Mary (Bradford) Averill, wa.s 
born May 29. 1777, and becnme the wife of Francis McAllaster, as be- 
fore noted. 

GILL. There can be little doubt that this name is of Scotch origin. 
Many worthy citizens of this country are found l:earing the name, in 
various states. 

(I) The first record now known of the family herein traced is 
found at Exeter, Rhode Island, where Daniel Gill married his wife, 
Hannah (surname unknown^, in 1730. The reo.rd shows that they 
had six children born there, namely: John, June 29. 1732: Sarah, Sep- 
tember 30, 1733: Daniel, September 25, 1734: Hannah, April 2, 1740: 
Susannah, June 30, 1746; and Samuel, May i, 1752. 

(II) Daniel, third child and second son of Daniel (ij and Han- 
nah Gill, was born as above noted, at Exeter, Rhode Island. He was 
married there, January i, 1760, to ^lercy Whitford, daughter of John 
Whitford, the ceremori}- lieing performed by a justice of the peace 
named Benjamin Reynolds. Their family included several children. 
In 1770 they moved to Springfield, \'ermont, where the lialance of their 
lives was passed. Mr. Gil! was a colonel in the revolutionary army, 
and in spelling his name used the Scotch prefix. "]Mc." which has been 
dropped by his descendants. 

(III) John, eldest son of Daniel (2) and Mercy Gill, was born 



678 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

in Exeter. He married Thankful Bates, and liad three sons — John, 
Daniel and Bates, but had no daughters. 

(IV) John, eldest son of John (t) and Thankful (Bates) Gill, 
was anidiig the pioneer residents of the town nf Antwerp, this county. 
He was married July 12. 1809, to Theodocia Henry, whuse ancestry is 
traced to about the beginning of the eighteenth century, as follows : 

(1) William Henry was a native of Lunenljurg, Massachusetts, 
and was married. December 6. 1753, to Mary Harper. They settled in 
Charleston, Xew Hampshire, where he dietl Xriveml)er 15. 1807, and 
his wife, September 14, 1818. They had eight children — David, Rob- 
ert B.. \\'illiam. Harper. Hugh, lonathan. Samuel and John. All these, 
save the voungest. who muved to Rockingham. \'ermont. lived in 
Charleston or Chester. \'ermont. 

( n ) William, third son and child of William ( 1 ) and Mary (Har- 
per) Henry, was married, August 30. 1784. to Pnlly Holden. She was 
a daughter of Captain \\'illiam Holilen and Annis Xutting, who were 
married ^lay 10. 1747, in Grotc-n, Massachusetts. I'olly Holden was 
born February 15, 1703, in Charleston, Xew Hampshire. 

(HI) Theodocia, daughter of William and Polly (Holden) Henry, 
became tne wife of John Gill, as alicxe noted. 

John Gill was born about 1781. came to Antwerp in 1808. and be- 
gan clearing land for agriculture, and soon took ]3rominence in the town 
as a business man and citizen. He purchased the stage route between 
Denmark and Ogdensburg. and continued tn operate it until his death, 
which took place January 6, 1838. at the age of fifty-seven years. He 
was survived many years liy his widow. Both were liberal in religious 
views, and did not affiliate with any religinus organization, because they 
could not accept the creed of any church near them. ^Ir. Gill was a 
^Vhig. and passed away before the time of the organization of the Re- 
pul)lican party, with whose principles he was in sympathy. He served 
as highway commissioner and overseer of the poor, and was many years 
a justice of the peace, so continuing up to the time of his death. The 
fate of his thirteen children is herein briefly noted : William, the eldest, 
lived and died in Antwerp. ]Mary. the second, married (first) Ephraim 
Taylor and (second) John Biu'ton, sm"\-iving the latter, and died in 
Philadelphia, this county. Joint died in Hendersi»n and was buried at 
.■\ntwerp. "Fdutheria died and was interred at .\ntwerp. Alarcus set- 
tled earlv in life in Minljurn. Iowa, where he died. James is mentioned 
at length in succeeding paragraphs. Harriet died when eighteen years 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 679 

old. Lucius (lied in Watertow u. aud his reuiains rest in Antwerp. 
Hugh died and was l;uried at Atlanta. Georgia. Fanny, wife of Calvin 
Pier, died January 15. 1903, in Chicago, aged over eighty years. Ralph 
resides near Chamberlain, South Dakota. Susan died at the age of 
thirteen years. Robert kept a Iiotel many years at Carthage, where 
he now resides. 

(V) Janies, son of John and Theodocia (Henry) Gill, was born 
July 19, 1817, in the town of Antwerp, and died July 9, 1899, in that 
town. Being of studious nature, he marie rapid progress in school and 
was given a better education than most boys of his time and locality. 
After leaving the district school, he attended the public schools of Wa- 
tertown and Gouverneiu- W'csleyan Seminary. He settled near the pa- 
ternal homestead in Antwerp, and married, when aliout thirty years of 
age, Sarah Beaman, daughter of Joseph and Annis (Bemus) Beaman, 
of Antwerp. She was born July 28, 1819, and died July 3, 1885, in her 
sixty-fifth year. They were the parents of four children, three of whom 
are now living. Abbie P., the first, resides in Antwerp village, unmar- 
ried. John D. was a citizen of Chicago, Illinois, and now resides in 
Watertown. F'rancis B. was an attorney at Syracuse, where he died 
July 19, 1904, and Bion resides on a farm in the town of Antwerp. 

Janies Gill was a public-spirited citizen, lilieral and well-informed. 
He endeavored to shape his life according to the golden rule, and was 
universally respected and honored. He did not afhliate with any re- 
ligious organization, but w'as a true Christian in his daily walk. He was 
a stanch Republican, but sought no political preferment. At the earnest 
solicitation of his fellows he consented to act as assessor of the town, in 
wliich capacity he served several years. He was a charter member of 
Antwerp Grange, and was master one term. Industrious and careful 
of his resources, he accumulated a handsome property, and was able and 
w illing to aid his fellows in distress. In youth he was apprenticed to a 
shoemaker, and followed the trade in early life, but purchased a farm 
before his marriage and cleared most of it himself. His energies were 
directed in the line of caring well for his family, and his home was the 
dearest place on earth to him. To the interest and general welfare of 
mankind he gave considerable thought, and was ever ready to foster any 
undertaking calculated to improve the condition of society. He viewed 
questions of current interest with a broad intelligence, and his ojiinions 
and advice were often sought. 



680 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

GEORGE ADAAIS TAYLOR, a successful farmer and business 
man, passed away at liis home in Watertown. January 14, 1904, and 
was mourned by a large circle of acquaintances and friends. He was 
descended from the g-ood old New England stock, which has made the 
United States what it is to-day, respected among nat'ons and prosperous 
in its home economy. 

Daniel Taylor, the first of the line known to his descendants in 
Jefiferson county, lived and died in Springfield, Massachusetts, where he 
is supposed to have been born. His wife's name was Eunice, and their 
children were: Daniel, Sally (married Solomon Kellam, of Turin. New 
York), Loami. Eunice (died unmarried), and Fellows, who was a 
farmer in Constableville, Lewis county. 

Loami, second son and third child of Daniel and Eunice Taylor, 
was born November 9, 1784, in Springfield, Massachusetts, and went to 
Turin, New Yoik. when about twenty years old. Soon after he returned 
to his native place and married Betsey Kendall, who was born January 
9, 1784, in that town, and died January 9, 1865, in Harrisburg. To- 
gether they made a home in the wilderness of Lewis county, whence they 
removed to the town of Pamelia, Jefferson county, prior to 1825. In 
the last-named year he settled in Harrisburg, and continued farming 
there during the balance of his life. His remains now rest in the town 
of Denmark. His family included six children, of whom the following 
record is given : Julia died at the age of twenty-six years, while the 
wife of Daniel Bailey, of Edwards. New York. Isabel, married Perry 
Crofoot, and died m Constableville. Elizabeth died in the same town, 
being the wife of Norman Higby. A sketch of Richard, the eldest son, 
forms the succeeding paragraph. Henry, the second son, born October 
5, 1822, died October 15, 1902, in Harrisburg. John, the youngest, 
born March 28, 1825, rn Pamelia, resides near Carthage. He was two 
weeks old when his parents moved to Harrisburg. Loami Taylor was 
a member of the Presb}terian church, and was a Whig and later a Re- 
publican. He served as a soldier at the battle of Sacketts Harbor in 
18 1 3. 

Richard Taylor, eldest son of Loami Taylor, was born August 27, 
1809, on his father's farm near Copenhagen, and his education was such 
as the local school of that day afforded. On attaining manhood he left 
the paternal farm and jiurchased land in the town of Watertown. which 
is now owned and occupied by his grandson. Fred Emory Taylor. Fie 
was a successful farmer, being industrirms and persevering, and ap- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 681 

plied sound judgment to the conduct of his affairs. With an inteUi- 
gent interest in tlie progress of events, and an earnest desire for tiie 
betterment of mankind, he was universally respected and esteemed. He 
died January 13. 1865. 

Mr. Taylor was married, January 25, 1836, to Charlotte M. Twitch- 
eil, who was born July 6, 1806. and died July 25, 1883, in W'atertown, 
aged seventy-eight years. Their children were: Duane De Wm&w born 
January 23, 1837, died November 25, 1892; George Adams, mentioned 
below; and Emma Jane. The last-named was born October 26, 1845, 
married Nathan Rose, and resided at Milford, New York, where she 
died May 15, 1890. 

George Adams Taylor, second child of Richard and Charlotte M. 
(Twitchell) Taylor, was born November 16, 1838, near Copenhagen, 
New York, and was educated in the public schools. With practical 
nu'nd. he made use of the knowledge thus gained, and attained success 
as a business man and respect as a citizen. He purchased a farm adjoin- 
ing that of his father's, in Watertown. being succeeded by his son. He 
was diligent in business, and continued to till his farm with gratifying 
results until 1890, when he moved to tiie city of Watertown and en- 
gaged in the retail harness business. To this he gave the same persistent 
application which gained him success as a farmer, and was thereby 
a gainer, while catering to the wants of his agricultural friends and 
neighbors. At the end of six years of trade he retired from active life 
and enjoyed a few years of well earned rest from toil. 

]\lr. Taylor was a life member of the Jefferson County Agricultural 
Society, to whose welfare he was always devoted, and in politics he 
affiliated with the Democratic party. An advocate of liberal educational 
facilities, he served his district long as school trustee. He was a good 
neighbor, a worthy citizen, and a kind and loving husband and father. 

He was married, January 20, 1864, to Lucinda Ball, daughter of 
John Ballard and Melinda (Bailey) Ball (see Ball). She was born 
March 2, 1840, at Miller's Bay, now Riverview, in the town of Cape 
Vincent, this county. They were the parents of two sons, Eugene 
Richard and George Edgar. 

Eugene Richard Taylor, elder son of George A. and Lucinda 
(Ball) Taylor, was born February 3. 1865, on the farm in Watertown, 
on which he now resides, and which wiis the homestead of his grand- 
father. His educational training began in the public school adjacent 
to iiis home and he subsecpiently graduated from the Watertown high 



682 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

schudl. He lias made farming his dccupatiou, and suceeeded his father 
in tlie ownersliip of tiie homestead, which he devotes to dairy farming. 
Ihe farm is kept under a higli state of cultivation, and is furnished 
with residence and barns as elegant and commodious as any in the town. 
3.1r. Taylor is a n:ember of Watertown Grange Xo. 7, and of the Jef- 
ferson County Agricultural Society. In matters of governmental inter- 
est he follows the traditions of his father, and acts with the Democratic 
party. He is one of the leading agriculturists of his town, and enjoys 
the respect of his townsmen. 

He was married November 22, 1888, to Miss Hattie E. Hardy, 
who was born May i, 1S64, in the town of Leray, a daughter of David 
and Anna (Slack) Hardy. They have a son, Richard Hardy Taylor, 
born November 12, 1893, on the homestead, and now a student of the 
Watertown city public schools. 

George Edgar Taylor, junior son of George Adams and Lucinda 
(Ball) Taylor, was born February 24, 1872, and attended the schools 
of the city of Watertown. He is an expert bookkeeper, and resides with 
his mother in Watertown. Though not an active partisan, he supports 
Democratic policies and candidates. 

THE RUGGLES FAMILY. (I) Thomas Ruggles and Mary 
Curtis were married at Nazing, England, about 1623, and with his wife 
and two children came from England to Roxbury in 1637. A son John 
came over with Philip Eliot. Mr. Ruggles was a son of a godly 
father. Thomas Ruggles and his wife united with the church soon 
after coming to Roxbury, and both were zealous Christians. Mr. Rug- 
gles died 15th day 9 mo.. 1644. His wife was baptized in Nazing in 
April, 1589. She survived her husband, remarried and lived to be 
about eighty-six years of age. Their children were: Thomas, born 
about 1623; John, about 1625; Sarah, about 1627; and Samuel, about 
1629. 

(II) Samuel Ruggles, born about 1629, married (tirst), January 
10. 1654-55, Hannah Fowde, of Charlestown. She died October 24, 
i66g. He married (second). May 26, 1670, Anna, daughter of Deacon 
Henry Bright, of Watertown. His children were: Hannah, born Jan- 
uary 21, ir)55-5C; :\[ary, January 10, 1656-57; Samuel, June i, 1658; 
Joseph, February 12, 1659-60; Hannah (2), December 11, 1661 ; Sarah, 
November 18, 1663; :\Iary, December 8. 1666; Sarah, August 30, 1669; 
Thomas. March 10, 1670-71; Ann, September 30, 1672; Nathaniel, 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 083 

November 22, 1674; Elizabeth, May i, 1677; Henry, July 7, 1681 ; and 
Huldah, July 4, 1684. 

Samuel Ruggles, the father, resided in Roxbury, where he kept a 
tavern. He was very actively engaged in public lite. He served as 
selectman for fourteen years, and was also assessor during the same 
period of time. He was representative for the four critical years preced- 
ing the Revolution. He was for several years captain of militia, and 
when Governor Andros and his associates were seized and imprisoned, 
Joseph Dudley (afterwards governor) was committed to his special 
charge, while temporarily released from prison. He died August 15, 
1692. His wife Anna died September, 171 1, aged sixty-seven years. 

(HI) Samuel Ruggles (2), horn June i, 1658, married, July 8, 
1680, Martha, daughter of the Rev. John Woodbridge, of Newbury, 
and granddaughter oi Governor Thomas Dudley. Mr. Ruggles resided 
in Roxbury, where he was an innholder, and a "set-work cooper." He 
inherited his father's militar}' sjiirit and succeeded him in many of his 
offices, having Ijeen captain of militia, 1702: assessor, 1694; representa- 
tive, 1697; and selectman continuously from 1693 to 1713, except in 
1701 and 1704, nineteen years. He died February 25, 1715-16. His 
wife Martha died in 1738. Their children were: Samuel, born 1681 ; 
Lucy, 1683; Timothy, 1685; Hannah, April 10, 1688; Patience, No- 
vember 9, 1689-90; Martha, February 1, 1691-92: Sarah, June 18, 
1794; Joseph, July 21, 1696; Mary, September, 1698; and Benjamin, 
July 4, 1700. 

(IV) Timothy Ruggles, born November 3, 1685, married, Sep- 
tember 2/. 1 710, Mary, daughter of Benjamin White. She died Janu- 
ary 23, 1749. Mr. Ruggles married, second, (intentions published 
March 26, 1750). Anne \\'ondworth, of Little Compt(in. His children 
were: Timothy, born October 20, 171 1: Benjamin, May 19, 1713; 
Samuel, July, 1715; Josejih, June 13. 1718; Mary, January i, 1719-20; 
Susanna, January 6, 1721-22; Edward, August 30, 1723; Nathaniel, 
April 12, 1725; Thomas, July 13, 1727; Hannah, October 18, 1728; 
Thomas, March 2, 1730; and John, September 2, 1731. 

Timothy Ruggles was graduated from Yale in 1707, and was or- 
dained pastor of the church in Rochester, November 22, 17 10. He held 
high rank in the ministry, and was pre-eminently a man of business. 
He was apparently more active and efficient than any other individual 
in promoting the settlement of Kardwick. Through his influence and 
exertions, six sons and a daughter of his own family, five sons and two 



684 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

daughters of his sister, Patience, wife of James Robinson (also their 
father and mother, later in life) and many members of his parish, were 
among the early settlers. He died as sole pastor of the church, Octol>er 
26, 1768, aged nearly eighty-three years. 

(V) Benjamin Ruggles, born May 19, 1713. married October 19, 
1736, Alice, daughter of Nathaniel Merrick, of what is now Brewster. 
After her death Mr. Ruggles married, for his second wife, December 28, 
1778, Mary Smith. He was one of the earliest pioneers and residents on 
the River Road to Barre. He possessed great vigor and energy, both 
physical and mental, and became the father of three children after he 
was sixty years of age. He was captain of the militia, selectman for six- 
teen years, assessor for eleven years, and was chairman of the committee 
of correspondence in 1774 and 1775. He was one of the most active 
and resolute opposers of his brother, the Tory brigadier, in the stirring 
political contest preceding the Revolution, He died October 11, 1790, 
aged seventy-seven years. His children were: May, born May 7, 1738; 
Benjamin, December 11, 1741 ; Sarah, February 6, 1743-44; Elizabeth, 
April 16, 1746; Elizabeth (2), January 31, 1748-49; Thomas, baptized 
June 24, 1750; Alice, born November 23, 1754; Seth, October 21, 1781 ; 
and David, November 30, 1783. 

(VI) Benjamin Ruggles, son of Benjamin and Alice (Merrick) 
Ruggles, born in 1741, as above noted, married Elizabeth (supposed to 
be), a daughter of Deacon James Fay, and they were the parents of 
(VII) Betsey Ruggles, bom August 9, 1780. She was married Feb- 
ruary 9, 1802, to Aaron Goodale (see Goodale, VI). 

CURTIS CORY. \Miile recognized throughout the length and 
breadth of Jefferson county as an authority on agriculture, Curtis Cory 
is numbered among the most valued citizens of Leray. His grand- 
father, James Cory, was born in 1762, in New Hampshire, wheTre he 
passed the greater part of his life and then moved to Jefferson county 
and settled on the farm which has been ever since in the possession of his 
descendants. Here he built a log house, which was the dwelling of the 
family until a permanent abode could be erected. He married Polly 
(surname unknown) and they were the parents of a large famih'. Mrs. 
Cory survived her husband several years and was ninety years old at 
the time of her death. Both she and her husband represented the best 
element among the pioneers of the county. 

Curtis Cory, son of James and Polly Cory, was born April 30, 1793. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 6S5 

in Sullivan, Cheshire county, New Hampshire, where he passed his early 
life, coming to Jefferson county at the age of eighteen. In company with 
an elder brother, he walked from Keene, carrying an axe on his 
shoulder. His first employment was in the clearing of land in the serv- 
ice of a Mr. Woodruff, at Sanford's Corners. Returning to New Hamp- 
shire, he stayed there four years. About 1820 he purchased a farm, on 
which he built a log house, which he later replaced with a frame dwell- 
ing, at that time the only one in the region. He was one of the found- 
ers of a Methodist Episcopal church at Sanford's Corners, of which he 
W9s a member, and in which, in 1825, he became a class leader, holding 
that office for twenty years. He married (first) Annis Burlingame, of 
Pillar Point, November 5, 1822. She died January 29, 1824. Mr. Cory 
was married, January 31, 1835, to Nancy Parkinson, who was born May 
5, 1795, in Scoharie county, New York, and they were the parents of six 
children, two of whom are living: Curtis, mentioned at length herein- 
after, and Nancy, who makes her home with her brother. A daughter 
of the first marriage, named Lucy, became the wife of John W. Acker- 
man, and died at Houseville, New York, in 1902. Of the second mar- 
riage, Mary J. married Joseph Child, and died May 24, 1862, aged 

twenty-eight years. Aaron settled in , Iowa, where he died. 

Two sons died in boyhood. Mr. Cory, the father of the family, died 
April 30, 1868, leaving behind him the memory of a kind-hearted and 
upright man and a good citizen. The death of Mrs. Cory occurred Octo- 
ber 3, 1872. Like her husband, she was an active member of the Method- 
ist Episcopal church and foremost in every good work. 

Curtis Cory, son of Curtis and Nancy (Parkinson) Cory, was born 
November 22, 1837, received his education in his native town, and was 
early trained to the labors of the farm. On reaching manhood he as- 
sisleil in the care and management of the homestead until the death of 
his father, when he came into possession of the estate. He has culti- 
vated the farm for the purposes of general farming and dairying, ni 
both of which he has been eminently successful. His life has been de- 
voted to agricultural pursuits, in consequence of which he has acquired 
a fund of that skill and knowledge which only experience can bestow. 
The exercise of this practical ability, aided by scientific information, has 
placed him in the front rank of the farmers of the county. As a citizen 
he possesses the fullest confidence and esteem of his neighbors, and for 
three years filled the office of assessor. He is a member of the Watertown 
Grange, and formerly affiliated with the I, O. O. F. His political affil- 



'!5<6 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

iations are with the RepubHcans. He and all his family are members 
of the Methodist Episcopal church, in which he is a class leader, and for 
the support and advancemer.t of which he has always been an earnest 
w orker. 

Mr. Cury married, m 1859, Hannah Burdick, a native of LeRay, 
and they are the parents of the following children: William B., who 
resides in Black River and married Florence Martin: Andrew E., wdio 
lives in \A'atertnwn and married Elizabeth oNIartin, a sister of his lirother's 
wife: Mar_\' J., who is the widow of Simeon W'aful, of Black River, and 
has one son. Clarence: John M., who is employed in \\'atertown. mar- 
ried Ella Roberts and has one son, B_\-ron : Hannah May and Xettie, 
both of whom reside at home. 

^Irs. Cory is a daughter of \\'illiam Burdick, wdio was born Sep- 
tember 30, 1808, in Dutchess county, whence he came to Jefferson county, 
where he took up forty acres of land. He married Rachel Child, a nati\-e 
of this county, and three children were born to them : .Annie, who mar- 
ried \A'inchester Wright and resides in Philadelphia, New York : Hannah, 
who became the wife of Curtis Cory, as mentioned above, and Ephraim. 
who lives on the homestead farm near Mr. Cor}-. Neither iMr. nor IMrs. 
Burdick attained to an advanced age. the former dying at forty-nine and 
the latter at fifty-two. Both are remembered with the feelings of affec- 
tion and respect, which their good and useful lives inspired in all who 
knew them, whether in business, social or church relations. \\^illiam 
Burdick was a son of Ephraim and Nancy (Parsons) Burdick. 

ISAAC McGINNIS. It is probable that no one resident of Jeft'er- 
son county has been longer or more prominently identified with educa- 
tional, agricultural and insurance interests than has Isaac McGinnis, of 
Watertown. He comes of sturdy North-of- Ireland ancestiy, from whom 
he inherited the trails of character which ha\e contributed so largely to 
his success in lile, both as a business man and a citizen. 

His grandfather, \\'illiam McGinnis, was born October 26, 1746, 
in county Down, Ireland, where he received his education. He sailed 
for America, June 3, 1772, in the ship Philadelphia, and landed at New- 
Castle, Delaware, August 22, of the same year. He settled in Marble- 
town, Ulster county. New- York, where he lived till his death. He was 
a weaver by trade. Before his departure from Ireland he married Eliz- 
alicth Bei r_\-, wlio accompanied him to the United States, or the Ameri- 
c'ui C( ill lilies, as thev were then. Vr. and ?ilrs. McGinnis were the parents 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 0S7 

of the following children: John, who was born September 29, 1773: 
JIary, November 24, 1776; Isaac. January 16, 1779; James, August 26, 
1781 ; Alexander, February 21, 1784; William, mentioned at length 
hereinafter; Rachel, born January 31, 1788; Phoebe, February 7, 1790; 
and Ann, May 29. 1792. Each one of these nine children lived to be 
over eighty, and their mother attained to the great age of one hun- 
dred and two years. 

William McGinnis, son of William and Elizabetli (Berry ) JMcGinnis, 
was born August 28, 1786, in ]\Iarbletown, Ulster county. Xew York, 
where he recei\ed his education. He was a weaver by trade, and in 1815 
moved to the Black Ri\er Country and settled in th.at part of Brown- 
ville which is now Pamelia, where he bought a small farm, which he 
cultivated in connection with the practice of his trade. He also owned 
and managed a small dairy. He and all his family attended the Method- 
ist Episcopal church. He married Rachel Harper, a native of New 
York city, and the following children were born to them: Alexander, 
who died, very old, at Oconto, Canada; Henry, who died young: James, 
\\ho resides in Kingston, Canada: Roliert. who settled in Arkansas; 
Catherine, married James Spike, and died at .Vrrowsmith, Canada : ^la- 
ria, wife of Moses Spike, died in August, 1902, in Colfax, California; 
William, Jr.. who lives at Olioji, Iowa: Isaac mentioned at length herein- 
after: Eliza Ann, who is the witlow of Robert iVddison, and now resides 
in Athens, Canada; Phoebe J., who is the widow of Edward Upham, 
of Quebec, Canada : and Sarah Jane, who died when five years old. Mrs. 
INIcGinnis, the mother of this family, died in 1868. at the age of eighty- 
one, and her husband passed away in Januar}-, 1881, having com- 
pleted his ninety-fourth year. Both were sincerely loved and respected 
by all who knew them. 

Isaac, son of William and Rachel (Harper) McGinnis, was born 
May 4, 1825, in Pamelia, where he received his early education in the 
common schools, and at the age of eighteen engaged in teaching, a 
profession which he continued to j.iractice for twenty years. During the 
father's declining years the son became the manager of the farm and 
later purchased the adjoining estate. At the time of his father's death 
the son was in possession of two hundred acres, which, since 1865. he has 
devoted to general farming and dairying, and to the raising of blooded 
stock. He was the first in Pamelia to raise Ayrshire cattle. In 1869 he 
became connected with the Agricultural Insurance Company as an assist- 
ant to the agent at Watertown, and at the end of two vears was made 



688 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

special agent. The business of the company was at this time confined to 
New York state, but Mr. McGinnis soon began appointing agents in 
other states and constantly enlarged the field until, in 1884, when he 
resigned, he had established agencies in sixteen states of the Union and 
in Canada. In 1881 he purchased a cottage in the Thousand Island Park, 
one of the first erected there, which he has made his summer home. 
For some years before he had spent his summers there, beginning with 
the establishment of the park. 

Mr. McGinnis is a member of Watertown Lodge No. 49, F. and 
A. ]\I., with which he has affiliated since 1852, being the only member 
now living out of the number who joined in that year. He is also a 
member of Watertown Chapter No. 57, R. A. M., and Watertown Com~ 
mandery No. 11, Knights Templar. He w-as a charter member of the 
Roque Club of the Thousand Island Park, in which he now holds the 
office of president, and which has very fine grounds, covered with a tent 
In politics he is a Democrat and has frequently been called upon by his 
townsmen to fill positions of honor and trust. In 1850 he was elected 
superintendent of schools and served three years, when he resigned in 
consequence of being chosen supervisor of the town, to which position 
he was elected five times, serving from 1852 to 1857, inclusive. He also 
served two terms of four years each as justice of the peace. He attends 
the State Street Methodist Episcopal church, of which his wife is a mem- 
ber. 

Mr. McGinnis married, in 1850, Lasira, daughter ot Lyman W'hite, 
who was a farmer of Pamelia and an early settler in this region, where 
he and his w-ife, Hannah Wilson, natives of Massachusetts and Vermont, 
lived and died. His family consisted of eight children. Of this number 
only three are living : Mrs. McGinnis and her two brothers : Otis, who 
is a resident of Gladstone, North Dakota, and Morris, who lives in 
Northport, Michigan. Mr. and Mrs. McGinnis are the parents of two 
daughters, the elder of whom, Ida M., is the wife of George A. Fenner, 
of Watertown, one of the trustees and appraiser for the Jeiiferson County 
Savings Bank. Mr. and I\Irs. Fenner are the parents of two children: 
Louis, who is chemical engineer for the New York Air Brake Company, 
and Inez L. Ella, the younger daughter of Mr. and Mrs. McGinnis, is 
the wife of George M. Haven, who is a contractor and builder in Wa- 
tertow-n. and they have one child, Clara Beth. 

Mr. jMcGinnis attended the first world's fair in America, at the 
Crystal Palace, in New York ; also visited the Centennial Exposition in 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 689 

Philadelphia, 187C. In 1893 '^^ crossed the continent, accompanied by 
his wife, visiting the Columbian Exposition at Chicago, en route. After 
stopping at Des Moines, Council Bluffs, Omaha. Denver. Salt Lake City, 
Stockton, Sacramento, San Francisco, Los Angeles and other California 
cities, they visited the ^lidwinter Fair at San Francisco. Since their 
return their winter home has been in Watertown. and they are enjoying, 
in the midst of family and frieiuls, the rewards of long years of 
industry, quietly and contentedly. 

WILLL'\M HENRY UNDERWOOD. It is safe to assert that 
no citizen of Dexter is more generally popular than is William H. Un- 
derwood. He is a great-grandson of Joseph Underwood, a revolution- 
ary soldier, whose son, also named Joseph, was born in 1771, in Ver- 
mont, whence he moved to Jefferson count)' and was one of the first 
settlers of the town of Rutland, where he lived for many years. He 
married Rebecca Hayes, by whom he was the father of seven children : 
William, Elizabeth, Sarah, Clarissa, Joseph, mentioned at length here- 
inafter; Huldah. and Warren. Mr. Underwood spent his last years in 
Brownville, where he died in 1843. He is remembered as a worthy 
member of that pioneer class to which the county is so greatly indebted 
for its worth and prosperity. 

Joseph Underwood, son of Joseph and Rebecca (Hayes) Under- 
wood, was born in 1806, in Vermont, and was educated in the town of 
Rutland, where he learned the shoemaker's trade, which he afterward 
followed for many years in Dexter. He married Louisa, daughter of 
Jeremiah and Sally (Bush) Scott. The former was one of the early set- 
tlers of the town of Brownville, where he cleared eleven farms and was 
a higlily respected citizen. His daughter, Louisa, was born in iSio, in 
Hamsley, Lewis county. New York. The Scotts belonged to a brancli 
of the same family as that of which the late General Scott was a mem- 
ber. Mr. and Mrs. Underwood were the parents of three children : Wil- 
liam H., mentioned at length hereinafter; Charles, who lives in Limer- 
ick; and Morell, who resides in Terre Haute, Lidiana. Airs. Under- 
wood, the mother of these children, who was a most estimable woman 
and a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, died in 1858, at the 
age of forty-eight years, and Mr. Underwood subsequently married 
Julia, daughter of Daniel and Arvilla (Marsh) Whitney, of Brownville. 
Mr. Underwood, at the time of his death, was eighty-two years old. and 
has left the memory of an industrious, worthy man and a good citizen. 



690 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

William H. L'nderwood, son of Joseph and Louisa (Scott) Under- 
wood, was born Aiiril 23, 1843. in Brownville, where he attended the 
district school until reaching the age of eighteen years. In 1862 he en- 
listed in Company I, Tenth New York Heavy Artillery, as a private, and 
for eighteen months was on guard duty in and about the city of Wash- 
ington. In 1863 he was promoted to the rank of corporal, and was sub- 
sequently present at the battles of the Wilderness and Petersburg, after 
which he returned to Washington with a supply train, and later wit' 
iiessed the surrender of General Lee. May 2S. 1S65. he was honorably 
discharged, and retiu-ned to Limerick, where he bought a farm and was 
also the proprietor of a hotel, and was subsequently proprietor of a gen- 
eral store. In 187S he came to Dexter and purchased the hotel in the 
center of the village, now known as the Hotel L'nderwood, which he 
sokl in the summer of 1904. The popularity of the establishment ren- 
ders comment needless, and the simple statement of the fact that Mr, 
Underwood was for twenty-six years its proprietor is sufficient evidence 
of his success. He is now engaged in the construction of boats to be 
propelled by naphtha and gasoline engines. 

He is popular as a citizen, having ser\ed for a number of years as 
a trustee of the village, and w^as president for six years, and is now serv- 
ing his seventh term. He is a charter member of Julius Broadbent Post, 
G. A. R. of Dexter, in which he held the rank of commander three years, 
and is a member of Brownville Lodge, F. and A. M,, of Brownville, 
and of Sacketts Harbor Chapter. Politically he is a Republican, and 
he and his family are members of the Presbyterian church. 

Mr. Underwood married, in 1870, Genevieve Roseboom, and two 
children have been bom to them : May, who is now deceased, and Maud, 
who W'HS born in May. 1875. '" Limerick, and is the wife of E. P. Bin- 
ninger of this town. Mrs. LTnderwood is a daughter of L Alanson and 
Susan (Dw-elly) Roseboom. The former was a native of this town, 
where he passed his life as a prospeious farmer. He and his wife were 
the parents of the following children, all of whom are living: John, who 
resides in Dowagiac, Michigan ; Edgar, who lives in Watertovvn ; Jerome, 
who is a resident of Sacketts Harbor; Nancy, who is the wife of Harri- 
son S. Dean, and resides in Watertowm ; Josephine, who married William 
Hathaway, a banker of Watertown ; Genevieve, who was born in April, 
1848, and became the wife of William H. Underwood, as mentioned 
above: George, who is a resident of Limerick: and Fanny, who married 
Albert Allen, of Petersburg, Virginia. Mr. Roseboom. the father, died 
at the age of fifty-five years. 



GENEALOGICAL AXD FAMILY HISTORY. 691 

FOW'LEK. Tliis is one of tlie oldest New England names, and 
has had man_\- worthy representatives in America, who were active in 
the struggle for American independence, and in various ways ha\-e con- 
tributed to the welfare, prosperity and happy condition of the country 
now the abode of their posterity. 

(I) William Fowler, a nati\e of England, was a member of Rev. 
John Davenport's company, which came to Boston in 1637. In 1592 
he was imprisoned with other Puritans, in the efifort to suppress the 
spread of their religious belief, or heresy, as it was then called, in Eng- 
land. He arrived at New Haven, Connecticut, April 16. 163S, and par- 
ticipated in the famous meeting in Mr. Newman's barn, June 4. 1639. 
In April 01 that year he settled at Milford, same colony, of which place 
he was one of the first trustees and was a magistrate. 

(II) Ambrose, only son of William Fowler, was at Windsor as 
early as 1640. The records of that town mention the burning of his 
house and barn in 1675. He was married there j\lay 6, 1646, to Jane 
Alvord, who died May 6, 1684, at Westfield. He died October 18, 1704. 
His will was made in 1692 and proved in 1706. His children, all of 
whom were residents of Windsor, Connecticut, were : Abigail, John, 
Mary, Samuel, Hannah, Elizabeth and Ambrose. 

(III) Samuel, second son and third child of Ambrose and Jane 
(Alvord) Fowder, w'as born November 18, 1652, in Windsor, and was 
married there November 6, 16S3, to Abigail Brown. He settled in 
Westfield, Massachusetts, in 1684. His children, born in Westfield, 
were : Samuel, Jonathan, Abigail, Hannah, Hester, Isabel, Elizabeth. 

(IV) Samuel, eldest child of Samuel (i) and Abigail (Brown) 
Fowler, was born May 31, 1698, in Westfield, and married Naomi, 
daughter of Luke and Ruth Noble. She was born in August, 1707, and 
died in August, 1797. He died January 6, 1771, in his seventy-third 
year, and was buried in Westfield old churchyard. Ten of his children 
grew to adult age. 

(Y) Silas, son of Samuel and Naomi (Noble) Fowler, was born 
May 23, 1735, in Westfield, and married Keziah Noble. 

(VI) Silas, son of Silas (I) and Keziah (Noble) Fowler, was 
born April 23, 1767, in Southwick, and married Betsey Hough. She 
was bom September 30, 1775, in Meriden, and died May 20, 1835. He 
died August 29, 1839. Their children were: Frances, Lester N., George 
Jarvis, Earl Bill, Laura, Addison, Mary E., and Betsey Elvira. Silas 



692 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Fowler was a farmer in Sheffield, Massachusetts, and a soldier of the 
Revolution. 

(VII) Lester Noble, son of Silas and Betsey (Hough) Fowler, 
was born September 21, 1796, and was married, April 12, 1827, to 
Dolly B. Green. She was lx)rn October 6, 1806, and died September 
27, 1882, m her seventy-sixth year. Her father, Allen Green, was also 
a Revolutionary soldier. Lester N. Fowler was a soldier in the war of 
1812, and soon after the close of that struggle settled in Oneida county, 
New York, where he was a farmer. He was a representative in the 
state legislature in 1S37, and died November 15, 1868, in Jersey City. 
From 1838 to 1858 he resided in Antwerp, this county. Mr. Fowler was 
ail Episcopalian, and a straight-out Democrat in political principle. 

(VIII) Helen J., daughter of Lester N. and Dolly B. (Green) 
Fowler, was born November 10, 1840, in Antwerp, and became the wife 
of Dr. Addison W. Goodale (see Goodale, VIII). 

CHRISTOPHER A. HOLDEN. In the death of Christopher A. 
Holden, which occurred at his late residence on Arsenal street, on Octo- 
ber 30, 1886, in the sixty-fourth year of his age, Watertown lost one of 
its most active and influential citizens, a man who was well and favor- 
ably known in the commercial, political, fraternal and social circles of 
the city, but was fully appreciated only by those who are able to estimate 
true manhood at its real value. The needy and afflicted always found 
in him a practical sympathizer who not only gave words of comfort and 
good cheer, but also rendered substantial assistance. Energ}^ perse- 
verance and thrift were his chief characteristics, and during his active 
business career he amassed a handsome property. 

He was born at North Adams, Massachusetts, October 24, 1823, 
a son of Cliristopher and Sarah (Potter) Holden. Christopher Holden 
was a native of Massachusetts, followed his trade of shoemaker in the 
town of North Adams, and died at the age of about seventy years. His 
wife, Sarah Patter, was a native of Rhode Island, and bore him the fol- 
lowing named children: Lydia, Edward, William, Sarah, Francis, 
Christopher A. and Charles. The mother died at the age of sixty-eight 
years. 

Christopher Anson Holden spent his boyhood and acquired his 
education at North Adams, and upon attaining the age of thirteen years 
went to Northampton in order to learn the trade of tinsmith. In 1843 
he located in Bennington, Vermont, was employed as foreman in the 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. GIJS 

shop of Graves &■ Root, with whom he remained until 1852, when he 
came to Watertown. Ai tiiis time he became a member of the firm, and 
began business m the old Sewall store on Factory Scjnare. under the 
style of Goodnow, Plolden & Company. On a small scale the\- besian 
the manufacture of tinware, disposing of their stuck !)v sendino- nut 
six peddlers" carts, but tiie business increased so rapidly that they so(jn 
outgrew their limited quarters. In 1S53 tli^y commenced the erectiun <if 
a wooden building on the corner of Massey and x^rsenal streets, and the 
following }ear located in their new quarters, which were enlarged from 
time to time, and they finally erected a brick addition three sturies high 
and one hundred and fifty feet in length. In 1859 Air. Root withdrew 
his interest from the firm, and in 1865 Mr. Graves sold his interest, and 
the business was subsequently conducted under the style of Goodnow & 
Holden. In 1870 the firm changed to Goodnow, Holden & C'nmpany, 
through admitting into partnership Mr. J. M. Tilden, who. on the death 
of Mr. Goodnow, in April, 1872, acquired a half interest in the business, 
and the fiim name was changed to Holden & Tilden. In 1882 the com- 
pany required the services of one hundred employes and sent out 
forty-five wagons on the road, and this fact alone fully demonstrates 
the enormous increase in business which the firm enjoyed, and which 
came to it as the result of honorable and straightforward transactions in 
all departnients. The same year Mr. Holden retired from the firm, sell- 
ing his interest in the Watertown business, also a similar business at 
Norwood, St. Lawrence county, but retaining an interest in an establish- 
ment in Syracuse, with C. H. Fisk as a partner, and this connection con- 
tinued through the remainder of his life. 

The estimation in which he was held by his felknv citizens was 
evidenced by the fact that he was chosen from time to time to serve 
as a membier of the cit}' go\'ernment. as supervisor of his ward for sev- 
eral terms, and as a member of the board of education for sixteen con- 
secutive years. He was also one of the directors of the W^atertown Na- 
tional Bank from its organization. He was actively connected with 
the Masonic fraternity, being affiliated with Watertown Commandery, 
Knights Templar, and he also held membership in Jefferson Union 
Lodge and Montezuma Encampment, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows. From the time of its organization he was an ardent supporter 
of the principles of the Republican party. 

At Bennington, Vermont, in 1849, Mr. Holden was united in 
niarriage with Lucy L. Sibley, who was born August 16, 1826. and 



6y4 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

bore him Ihe following named children: Alice D.. who married Samuel 
Forsyth, and (second) Vincent W. Nims, of Painesville, Ohio, and is 
the mother of Louis Woodruff and Walter Holden Xims : Sarina S., 
Jiow Airs. W. F. Bingham, of New York city, who is the mother 
of two children, Anson Holden and Isaac Sabin ; Frances D., 
died in early childhood; Dwight Anson, died at the age of 
twenty-seven years; Flora N., wife of G. S. Farmer, who has 
two living children, Francis and Rosalind. Mrs. Holden died Jan- 
uary 9. 1877, and in November, 1878, Mr. Holilen married Sarina D. 
Sibley, who was born May 8, 1840, in Bennington, Vermont, a sister 
of his first wife, and who survives him. Chester Sibley, father of Mrs. 
Holden. was born and spent bis life in Bennington, Vermont, dying 
there at the age of seventy-six years ; be was a farmer and the son of 
Zadoc Sibley, v.'ho was the first niember of the family to settle in Ben- 
nington. Maria (Lillie), wife of Chester Sibley, was born in Pownal, 
Vermont, daughter 01 Caleb and Amelia ( Bassett ) Lillie. natives of 
Suffield, Connecticut. Caleb Lillie was a farmer during his mature 
life in Pownal, dying there at the age of eighty years. His father, 
Ebenezer Lillie, was a soldier of the Revolution, and drew a pension. 
Chester Sibley and wife were the parents of six children, two of whom 
are living at the present time ( 1904) — Mrs. Christopher .\. Holden, 
and Charles A. Sibley, who now resides with her. ]\Irs. Sibley died 
at the age of seventy-two years. Both she and her husband held mem- 
bership in the Methodist Episcopal church at Bennington. The illness 
which culminated in the death of ^Ir. Holden, despite the skill of physi- 
cians and the tenderest care of faithful nursing, was contracted during 
a tour of the eastern states made by himself and wife about two months 
prior t(5 bis death, when be \-isite(l the home of his childhood and the 
scenes of his struggles as a boy and young man, where he had laid the 
foundation of the success which attended him in bis l)usiness ventures 
and enter]Mnses. He was many years an active member of tlie L'ni- 
versalist church of W'atertown, to whose support he was a liberal con- 
tributor. 

JOSEPH WATSON TAGGART. No name is more closely 
identified with the manufacturmg interests of Jefferson county than is 
that nf ihe fauMly represented by Josejih W. Taggart, of Watertown. 
Hie progenitor of the race in the new world was Henry Taggart. a 
.Scotchman, win emigrated from the Isle of Man before the middle of 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 695 

the eighteenth century. \\\^ son Joseph resided in Newport, ixhode Isl- 
and, where he carried on a shipping trade, which required him to make 
frec]uent trips to Europe in tlie saihng vessels which then afforded the 
only facilities for ocean voyages. Ahout the beginning of the nine- 
, teenth century he came to the Black River country. His son Henry 
was born in LeRay, where he became a prominent farmer. He married 
Julina, daughter of John Dighton, one of the early settlers of Pamelia, 
whose father had come to America as a soldier in Burgoyne's army, but 
after the battle of Saratoga had become a citizen of the United States 
and a sokher in the Continental army. (See \\'. W. Taggart.) 

Joseph B. Taggart. .son of Henry and Julina (Dighton) Taggart, 
was born July 13, 1823, in LeRay, where he received his education and 
for a time engaged in farming. He then went west, where he remained 
three years, and on his return settled in Evans' Mills, where he opened 
a general store. After conduxting this business for some years he 
moved to Erie county. New York, where he again liecame the proprietor 
of a general store, and alter his return to Jefferson cour.ty he C(jntinued 
in agriculture for seven years. He has for some time been engaged 
in general business about the paper mill of which bis son, Joseph \V., 
is superintendent. He married Margaret Bemiit, a native of Chateaugay, 
Franklin county. New York, and they were the parents of three chil- 
dren : Joseph W'., mentioned at length hereinafter; George H., who 
is a portrait painter, and is now located in Paris, France ; and Susie, 
who is the wife of W. C. Jones, of Watertown. ]Mrs. Tag^gart, the 
mother of the family, died August 31, 1875. 

Joseph W. Taggart. son of Joseph B. and Margaret ( Benoit ) Tag- 
gart, was born December 12, 1862, at Evans' ]\Iills, and spent bis early 
childhood on the homestead, obtaining bis education in his nati\'e place 
and also in \Vatertown, whither he went when twelve years of age. His 
first business experience was as clerk in a hardware store, where he re- 
mained two years, anrl Liien obtaineil employment in the paper mill of 
which his uncles, the Taggart Brothers, were proprietors. Here he has 
since remained, advancing, Ijy reason of ability and faithfulness, from one 
post of duty to another, and now holds the p(-)sition of superintendent of 
the mill. As a citizen Mr. Taggart has ever been ready to do all in 
his power for the promotion of the pulilic welfare. He served for four- 
teen vears as a member of the Thirty-ninth Separate Company, enlist- 
ing as a private and afterward being pronKjted to the rank of second 
lieutenant. He belongs to the Masonic fraternity, affiliating with 



696 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Watertown Lod^e and Cliapter. He is a member of the Lincoln League, 
his political principles being tbose of tbe Republican party. 

Mr. Taggart married, in 1894. Caroline, daughter of Robert Rich- 
ardson, a leading manulacturer of Watertown, who died some years 
ago. Of his children only two are now living : John C, who is a resident 
of Rochester. New York: and Caroline, who was born in 1865. in 
Watertown. and became the wife of Joseph W. Taggart. as mentioned 
above. 

ORA LEROY SHELMIDINE. One of those men who in every 
relation of life possess the full confidence of their friends and of the 
public, is Ora L. Shelniidine, of Lorraine. Mr. Shelmidine belongs 
to a family which has l>een for nearly a century and a half resident in 
New York state. 

Benjamin Shelmidine was born in 1775. in Schoharie county, New 
York, and married Polly Judd. by whom he was the father of the fol- 
lowing children: William, mentioned at length hereinafter: Sally, who 
married W. Goodrich : Ehiel : Huldah, w-ho became the wife of John 
Cunningham: Almira. who married George Burton: Rosina, who died 
in Pennsylvania : Datus, who resides in Iowa : and Olive, who died 
young. 

William Shelmidine, son of Benjamin and Polly (Judd) Shelmi- 
dine. was born in 1806, and was a farmer as his father had been before 
him. He married in 1830 Anna, daughter of Isaac and Rosanna (Lown) 
Lampher, and five sons and six daughters were born to them. Rosina, 
who died at the age of twenty-three years: Nancy, who married Samuel 
McCumber: Jerome, who died at the age of three years; John, who 
died in the army in 1862; Jerome L., mentioned at length hereinafter; 
Kiildah, who died in infancy; Lester, who died at the age of six years; 
Huldah, who married A. Wagener; Benjamin B., who resides in Lor- 
raine; Alvira: ]\Iary R., who became the wife of Eli Caulkins, and has 
one son, Willie, born April 30. 1885. The death of Mr. Shelmidine, the 
father of the family, occurred in i860, at bis home in Lorraine. He 
was survived many years by his widow, who passed awav April 25, 
1S98, at the advanced age of eighty-seven. Both possessed the sincere 
respect and cordial regard of all who knew them. 

Jerome L. Shelmidine, son of William and Anna (Lampher) Shel- 
midine, was torn May 9, 1838. in Lorraine, where he was reared upon 
the paternal farm and educated in the common schools. He took for 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 697 

his occupation that of a farmer and stock-raiser, becoming one of the 
largest dealers in the county. He is particularly interested in sheep, 
the number raised by him being exceptionally large. He also deals ex- 
tensively in flour, feed, wood, and groceries, selling over one thousand 
loads of wood annually. He and his wife are members of the Methodist 
Episcopal church. He married, in 1861, Betsey R., who was born in 
1839, in Black River, Jefferson county, daughter of Andrew and Rox- 
iana (Scott) Middleton, the former one of the early settlers of Lor- 
raine. He and his wife were the parents of a large family, only three 
of whom are now living, Margaret married W. V. Walters, of Phila- 
delphia, and James is a resident of Lorraine. Two sons were born to 
Mr. and Mrs. Shelmidine: C)ra L., mentioned at length hereinafter; 
and John D., who was born in 1869, and is a farmer and hide-dealer, 
also a member of the Grange, in which he has held various offices. 

Ora Leroy Shelmidine, son of Jerome L. and Betsey R. (Middleton) 
Shelmidine, was born February 25, 1863, in Lorraine, and received 
his early education in the schools of the township. In 1884 he gradu- 
ated from the Adams Collegiate Institute, after which he was for ten 
years engaged in teaching, five years in Lorraine village school, and the 
same length of time in the district school. In 1891 he embarked in 
the agricultural and lumber business, in which he has been very suc- 
cessful. He has a stock of 800,000 feet of all kinds of lumber, and also 
a full line of every variety of agricultural implements. He deals largely 
in wagons, buggies, harnesses, sleighs, robes, fur coats, and everything 
to be found in a well equipped store. He purchases his buggies by the 
carload, and in 1903 received two carloads of double wagons and three 
carloads of buggies and carriages. He also handles by the carload all 
kinds of grain, grass and clover seeds and shingles. 

As a citizen Mr. Shelmidine is active and public-spirited, and his 
townsmen have on various occasions testified to their appreciation of his 
good qualities. For two years he held the office of town collector, and 
in 1898 was elected supervisor for one year. In 1901 he was re-elected 
for two years, and m 1903 was chosen to serve until December, 1905. 
He is a member of the Grange and of the Maccabees, also of the 
I. O. O. F. of Lorraine, in which he has held all the offices, including 
that of noble grand, and has passed all the chairs. Politically he is a 
Democrat. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, in which he hoUls the offices of trustee and treasurer. He is 



698 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

also supciinteiident of the Sunday schuol, his wife Ijeing a teacher 
therein. 

Mr. Shehiiidine married, August i. 1S95, Jennie, daugliter nf Carl- 
ton iloore, who was for many years a merchant in Lorraine, where he 
held the ofifice of supervisor. He died September 21, 1S99. Of the four- 
teen children born to himself and his wife five are now living: Martha, 
who married Everett Calkins, of Lorraine; Minnie, residing in Lor- 
raine, unmarried; Edward H., a resident of Lorraine; Stephen A., who 
is a merchant at East Rodman; and Jennie, who was born May 16, 1874, 
in Lorraine, and became the wife of Ora L. Shelmidine, as mentioned 
above. Mr. Moore, who was a man much respected in the community, 
IS now deceased, but is survived bj' his widow. Frank A. !Moore, who 
died November 4, 1898. was supervisor of Lorraine two years. 

JOHN NILL. Among the residents of Watertown who have 
served their fellow citizens in positions of trust and responsibility, none 
stands higher in the general regard than John Nill. He is of German 
descent, his ancestors having been respected and prosperous farmers. 

He is a son of Josias Nill, and was born May 7, 1835, in Nehren, 
Tuebingen, Kingdom of Wurtemberg, Germany, and Waldburge Schel- 
ling, his wife, a native of the same place. Josias Nill was a son of Josias 
Nill, a stocking-weaver, and purchased land and became a farmer. His 
wife was a daughter of John Schilling. Josias Nill, Junior, was a 
farmer, and owned his land, and lived and died upon it. 

John Nill received his education in his native land, and in 1853, 
when in his eighteenth }ear, came to seek his fortune in the United 
States. His first place of abode was in Utica, where he worked as 
a candy-maker for seven years. In i860 he came to Watertown and at 
the end of three years found himself in circumstances which justified him 
in engaging in business for himself. In 1863 he formed a partnership 
with Henry Jess and established a bakery. The undertaking prospered 
and in 1897 the Nill & Jess Company was incorporated. The business 
is today one of the most flourishing of its kind in this part of the state. 
The company occupies a large four-story brick building, which was 
erected in 1885, and here conducts a wholesale and retail bakery busi- 
ness. An extensive cigar factory at 35 Fairbanks street is also the 
property of this corporation. The company employs a total of about 
fifty men and disposes of its goods in three or four counties. The 
officers are John Nill, president, and Henry Jess, secretary and treasurer. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 701 

Mr. Nill has always taken a keen interest in public affairs, dis- 
charging with assiduity and faithfulness all the duties of a citizen. 
These traits of character have been highly appreciated by his towns- 
men, who, in 1881, elected him to the office of supervisor, a position 
which he held for seven years. In 1889 he was chosen mayor of Water- 
town and by his administration of the office more than justified the 
selection of those whose votes called him to discharge the duties of the 
mayoralty. He was an abolitionist in early life, and joined the Repub- 
lican party at its organization. He attends the Universalist church. 
He is a Mason of high standing, having taken the thirty-second degree, 
and is also a member of the I. O. O. F. and the Knights of Pythias. 

Mr. Nill married, in February, i860, Dorothy Jess, and they are 
the parents of two daughters : Louisa Caroline and Amelia Paulina, 
who reside with their parents. Mrs. Nill's father was a cabinet-maker, 
who lived and died in Mecklenburg, Germany. 

LINCOLN GRANT HAWN, supervisor of the town of LeRay, 
is a native of this county, born May 16, 1866, in the town of Clayton. 
The earliest ancestor now known was Rev. George Hawn, a German 
minister, who was located in Connecticut, where his son, John H. Hawn, 
was born October 9, 1793. The latter was early located in Herkimer 
county, this state, where he was a popular and influential citizen, and 
served as sheriff of the county. His last forty years were spent in the 
town of Clayton, this county, where he died April -Jy, 1882, in his 
eighty-ninth year. His wife, Phoebe Morse, was born May 5, 1801, in 
Skaneateles, New York, and died November 23, 1880. She was a 
daughter of Dr. Nathan Morse and his wife, Melinda Thompson. Two 
of the five children of John H. Hawn are now living. The daughter. 
Rowena, is the wife of Abial Cook, of Clayton. 

Cyrus J. Hawn, son of John H. and Phoebe (Morse) Hawn, was 
born July 22, 1833, in the town of Ellisburg, where his parents were 
then residing. About the time of his majority he settled on a farm in 
Clayton, where he continued farming until his recent retirement, on 
account of advancing years. His home is now in the town of LeRay, 
where the majority of his children reside. His wife, Sarah Griswold, 
was born in Clayton, a daughter of Joseph Grisw^old, a pioneer farmer 
of Depauville. He was born January 19, 1796, in Herkimer county, 
and died April 29, 1874, at Depauville. His wife, Elsie Bushnell, was 
born in September, 1795, in Saybrook, Connecticut, and died Feliruary 



702 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

22, 1863. They had four (langliters and a son. The last is the only 
one now hving. namely. James H. Griswold, of Watertown. 

Mrs. Sarah (Griswold) Hawn passed away at her home in Clay- 
ton, aged fifty-two years. All of iier eight children are living, as here 
noted: Edwin resides at Evans' Mills. Ida. wife of George W. Harter, 
resides at Lowville. Alice is the wife of M. VV. Doxtater, of LeRay. 
Elbert is a resident of Craig, Montana. Lincoln G. is the fifth. Minnie, 
Mrs. John Linstruth. has her home in Evans' Mills. George is a resi- 
dent farmer of Clayton, and Clarence is at Evans' Mills. 

Lincoln G. Hawn spent his early years in his native town and pur- 
sued his education in the public schools of the locality until about twelve 
years of age, when his inherent industry prompted him to seek a posi- 
tion in the business world. Subsequently he became connected with 
the wholesale hay business, in which he continued for fi\e years, and 
later was proprietor of a flour and feed establishment, which he con- 
ducted until 1S97, when he became proprietor of the Brick Hotel, at 
Evans' Mills. This is one of the largest rural hostelries of the county, 
and has excellent accommodations for a transient trade. 

Mr. Hawn is a Republican in political views and in 1899 was 
elected to the office of justice of the peace. He was appointed town 
clerk of LeRay to fill a vacancy in 1902, and was elected for the suc- 
ceeding year. Li 1903 he was elected supervisor of his town to serve 
during 1904 and 1905. He has frequently been a delegate to the county 
conventions of his party, and is active and influential in the local ranks 
of the organization. He belongs to the Masonic fraternity, and has 
served as senior warden and secretary of his lodge, and is a member of 
the Lidependent Order of Foresters, in which he served as financial 
secretary for ten years. He is identified through membership relations 
with the county Grange, and also with the Presbyterian church. 

In 1890 Mr. Hawn married Miss Louise Linstruth. who was born 
in Lewis county, New York, in 1868, a daughter of John Linstruth, 
one of the early settlers of that county, whence he removed to this 
county, and died May 13. 1904, in Evans' Mills. Mrs. Hawn was one 
of a family of six children, three of whom are yet living, the others 
being : John, who married a sister of Lincoln G. Hawn. as abo\-e noted : 
and Herman H.. of Evans' Mills. Mr. Hawn has two children — Iva 
Minnie and Hazel Esther. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. . 703 

THOMAS JOHNSON ACHESON, supervisor of Philadelphia, 
who is noAv living retired after many years of active connection with 
agricultural pursuits, was born in New York city, September i8, 1852. 
His paternal grandfather, Thomas Acheson, was a native of Scotland, 
born in 1760. He became a farmer by occupation and spent his entire 
life in his native land, passing away at the advanced age of ninety 
years. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Jane Williams, was 
born in Scotland in 1768 and died at the age of eighty-nine. 

George Acheson, father of Thomas J. Acheson, was liorn in Edin- 
burg, Scotland, in 1800, and was one of a family of fi\'e children. He had 
a brother who was killed in the American Civil war. George Aclieson 
was reared and educated in Scotland, and came to America in 1830 
accompanied liy his family. He first located in Carmel, Putnam county. 
New York, wdiere he purchased a farm, making his home thereon for 
a number of years. He afterward removed to New York city, in the 
year 1850, and there engaged in milling business, spending his re- 
maining days in the metropolis. His death occurred in i860, while his 
wife passed away at the age of sixty-four }'ears. She bore the maiden 
name of Catherme Johnson, antl was born in Scotland in 1810. Her 
father, John Johnson, also a native of that country, died there a very 
aged man. T\Irs. Acheson had four children, namely : TliLimas J. ; 
Mary Jane, who is the wife of John Simmonds, of [Minnesota: Susan, 
who died in Colorado : and Anna, who died young. 

Thomas J. Acheson spent the first sixteen years of his life in New 
York city and acquired his education in its public schools. He then 
took up his abode upon a farm in Putnam county, where he remained 
until. 1876, w-hen he settled upon a farm in Philadelphia, Jefferson 
county, working by the month as a farm laborer. When his industry 
and economy had brought to him sutficient capital, he purchased a tract 
of land, upon which he resided until 1883. He then removed to the 
village of Philadelphia, and has since made it his home. 

Mr. Acheson's fitness for leadership has led to his selection for 
many public ofiices. He has been street commissioner for sixteen years 
and justice of the peace for eighteen years. He was superintendent of 
the water works for three years, and in 1899 was elected supervisor. In 
the last named office he discharged his duties with such ability that in 
1901 he was re-elected and again in 1903, so that he will remain as 
the n:cumbent in that position until the 31st of December. 1905. He 
has frec|uently been a delegate to the county and district con\-entions 



704 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

of the Republican party, and his official service has ever been charac- 
terized by the utmost promptness and fidelity in the discharge of his 
duties, so that over the record of his public career there falls no shadow 
of wrong. He is a prominent member of the Lincoln League of Water- 
town, belongs lo the Knights of the Maccabees and the Improved Order 
of Red Men. Li both of these orders he has filled all the chairs and 
of the latter he is a charter member. His religious faith is indicated by 
his membership in the Methodist Episcopal church, in the work of 
which he takes an active and helpful part. He is now serving as a 
trustee and steward of the church, and is also superintendent of the 
Sunday school. His family is likewise connected with this denomina- 
tion. 

December 7, 1877, Mr. Acheson was married to Miss Minnie 
Phelps, who was born August 21, 1859, and is a daughter of Butler and 
Manb C. (Williams) Phelps. Her father was born November 28, 
1830, and became a mechanic of Philadelphia. He died in 1878, and 
his widow is still livmg. Mrs. Acheson was one of their two children, 
and by her marriage has become the mother of five children : Ena, who 
is the wife of William J. Smith, of Great Bend. New York, and has 
one child, \\'ilma; Addie, who is the wife of William Conway, and re- 
sides in Camden, New York; Clarence, who is occupying a position 
as salesman in a store in Philadelphia ; Ola, at home ; and Ruth, who is 
attendnig school. 

KINNE FAMILY. In the year 1624 there was born in Leyden, 
Holland, one Henry Kene. His parents were Puritans from the central 
or northern part of England, the native land of the Pilgrim Fathers, 
v.'ho. like many others of their sect, were obliged to leave their homes 
on account of an unholy persecution, and sought religious freedom in 
Holland. 

In 165 1 Henry Kene located at Salem Village (now Danvers), 
Essex county, Massachusetts. In a deed of Henry Kene he spells 
his name in four different ways, with one "n," with two "n's," and 
twice with a "y" on the end. The name is found in several forms in 
the church records in Danvers, in the records of Salem, and in the docu- 
ments in the State House in Boston. The second generation, in Salem 
and Topsfield (Massachusetts) records, always spelled their name 
"Kenney." In the third generation the name appears as "Kinny." Af- 
ter tlie arrival of the two brothers, Thomas and Joseph, in Preston, 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 705 

Connecticut, tliey invariably wrote their name "Kinne," although their 
two brothers, Daniel and Jonathan, who remained in Massachusetts, re- 
tained the "Kenney; ' so also do many of their descendants today, while 
others have adopted the "i" and write it "Kinney." 

Henry Kene and others of his name lie buried m an old ground in 
Danvers, not far from the house in wdiich General Israel Putnam was 
born in 1718. This ground is in part, at least, made up of land once 
owned by Henry Kene. 

The descendants of Henry Ivene are now to be found in every 
state and territory in the Union. They also represent nearly all of the 
trades and professions. Those of the earlier generations were farm- 
ers, tanners, carpenters, ship-builders, blacksmiths, or mechanics of 
some sort, while among the later generations are included machinists, 
engravers, surveyors, mechanical and civil engineers, bankers, lawyers, 
merchants, ministers and doctors. In times of war they were always 
found ready to do their duty in defense of home and country; the name 
is found among the colonial records of the French and Indian war. In 
the Revolutionary war record of the state of Connecticut appear the 
names of twenty-two persons bearing the name of Kinne, and the rec- 
ords of Massachusetts show a large enlistment. In the records of the 
war of 1812, the Mexican war and the Civil war, there are many of 
the name who fought in them. 

(I) Henry Kene, born in Leyden, Holland, 1624, died in Salem 
(now Danvers), Massachusetts, 1712. Anne, his wife, bore him five 
daughters and three sons, born at Danvers and Topsfield, ^Massachu- 
setts. 

(II) Thomas Kene, second son of Henry Kene. liorn January i, 
1656, died June, 1687. He married Elizabeth Knight, May 23, 1677, 
and they had four sons. The will of Thomas Kenny was dated May 30, 
1687, and the estate was inventoried June 14, 1687. 

(III) Thomas, eldest son of Thomas Kene (i), was born July 
27, 1678. He married Martha Cox, and they had a family of ten sons 
and six daughters. In December, 1715, Thomas Kinne sold his lands 
in Salem, and bought one hundred and fifty acre? in Preston (now Gris- 
woJd), Connecticut, adjoining the land of his brother Joseph, who had 
removed thither from Salem in 1706. This was un the south side 
of the Pachaug river, including the site of the present Glasgo post- 
office. Thomas Kinne was one of the founders and one of the first 
deacons of the "Second Church of Christ in Preston," now the First 



706 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Congregational church of Griswold. and known as the "Pachaug 
Church." He died October i, 1756, and was buried on his own land, 
where were subsequently interred many of his descendants, in the old 
Kinne burying ground, on the banks of the Pachaug. 

(IV) Amos, fifth child of Thomas and Martha Kinne, was born 
September 3, 1708, in Danvers. ^Massachusetts, and was baptized on 
the tenth of the following month, in the "First Church" of that place. 
He died September 19, 1775, in Pomfret. Connecticut. He was mar- 
ried November 15, 1732, to Sarah Palmer, of Stonington, same state, 
and had a family of five sons and three daughters. His land comprised 
a large tract of what is now Elliott station, in the southwest part of 
Pomfret. 

The Connecticut colonial records, volume 9. page 515, say: "This 
assembly do establish and confirm Mr. Amos Kinne to be lieutenant 
of the Thirteenth Company, or trainband, in the nth Regiment in this 
Colony, and order that he be commissionetl immediately." 

Amos Kinne \\'as a man of much wealth and influence for those 
days. Deeds dated from 1741 to 1755 show that he dealt extensively in 
lands, and at his death his estate was \-alued at nine hundred pounds 
sterling. The following extracts from his will are quaint and inter- 
esting: "Item — I give to my son. Roger Kinne, the one-half of the 
farm on which I now li\e, with one-half of the buildings, after my 
debts are paid, he paying to my son, Robert Kinne, the sum of thirty 
pounds, lawful money, the one half in one year after my decease, and 
the other half in two years after my decease." "Item — I give to my 
son. Nathan Kinne, the other half of my home farm, on which I now 
live, with one-half of the buildings. * * * be, the same Nathan 
Kinne, paying out unto the aforesaid Robert Kinne, the sum of thirty 
pounds, lawful money." "Imprimis — I gi\-e and bequeath unto Sarah 
Kinne, my dearly I:>elo\-ed wife, the improvement of one-third part 
of my home farm. * * and also the in.ijjrovement of one-third of 
buddings thereon standing, during her natural life, she keeping the 
same in good tenantable repair, and also my will is that my wife have 
one good cow set off to her, and * * * all my indoor moveables 
during her natural life; and after her decease, to lie equally divided 
among her daughters, except Anne Trowbridge to have ten shillings 
less than either of her sisters." "Item — To my son. Amos Kinne, I 
give and bec^ueath twenty acres of land. * * To him I also give 
my silver shoe buckles." "Item — I hereby instruct my sons, Roger and 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 7(»7 

Nathan, to pro\ ide a g<XKl liurse fur my wife to ride upon at all times 
when she requires." His children were: Simeon, Elizabeth, Robert, 
Roger, Amos, Anne, Nathan and P'reelove. Tlie first died at Fort Edward 
while serving in the French and Indian war, under Sir William John- 
son, in the winter of 1755-6. Amos, the fourth son, served as a soldier 
through the greater part of the Revolutionary war. 

(V) Robert, third child and second son of Amos and Sarah 
Kinne, was born in 1738. and married Abigail Brown. Mav 6. 1766. 
She was a daughter of James Brown and Abigail Watty, his wife. 
In 1767 Robert Kinne was one of tiie committee for bridge-building 
over the Ouinnebaug river, of Plaintield, Connecticut. He was also 
a soldier in the Re\'olutionary war, as a private in Lieutenant CV>n- 
stant Webster's conijiany, enlisted August 15, 1777, discharged Au- 
gust 23, same )ear. His se''vice amounted to twelve days, including 
nmety miles travel to his home. This service was on an expedition 
from Worthington. Massachusetts, to reinforce (ieneral Stark, and 
conducting prisoners from Bennington, Vermont. About 1785, or soon 
after the close of the war, Robert Kinne moved, with his family, from 
Worthington to the town of F'lorida, Montgomery conrity, New York, 
where he died October 24, 1831. His children were: Roger, Percy, 
Polly. Rufus, Robert, James, Amos, Nathan, Anne, Esther, David, 
Stephen, John and 01i\"er. 

(VI) Oliver, youngest of the fourteen children of Robert and 
Abigail Kinne, was born March 2. 1795, in Florida, this state, and 
died March 24, 1846, near Lockport, New York. He was married in 
1823, at Franklin Springs. New York, to Oleva Angeline Amelia 
Pond, who was torn in 1801 (probably at that place) and died May 18, 
1826. In 1828 he moved froin Clinton to Camden. New York, where 
three of his brothers had preceded him. He was a wagonmaker. and 
carried on a large business, and dealt in land extensively, becoming 
quite wealthy. He built a large frame house, which is still standing on 
Main street in Camden. In January. 1833, he married Diana Dodge, 
and six children were born to them, the first five at Camden. About 
1840 he met with reverses m business, and lost the greater portion of 
his property. He then decided to move to Genesee county, wdiere some 
of his brothers were located, hoping to regain his lost fortunes in that 
new part of the country. In June, 1841, he made the removal to Ala^ 
baina Center. New York, and soon aftei-ward to "The Rapids." on 
Tonawanda creek, in Niagara county. Here he engaged in operating 



708 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

a sawmill \vith his nephew, Ebenezer Silliman Kinne. Soon after this 
his wife was taken ill, and died in March, 1843. His own health gave 
out. and after two years of sickness he died March 24, 1846. They 
were buried in Lockport, but the removal of the cemetery caused the 
subsequent location of their bodies to be lost. Their children were: 
George Alfred, Oleva A. E., Angeline E., Helen E., Orlando Wood- 
ruff and Oliver E. P. The first of these was a soldier during the last 
year of the Civil war, and now resides at North Bay, Oneida county. 
The second son enlisted June 30, 1861, served in the Fourteenth Heavy 
Artillery and re-enlisted in the One Hundred and Forty-sixth Regiment 
Volunteer Infantry, and now resides in Denver, Colorado. 

(Vn) Oliver Evelyn Pond Kinne, youngest child of Oliver and 
Diana Kinne, born January 5, 1842. at Alabama Center, was left an 
orphan when very young, and his uncle, Amos Kinne, of Camden, New 
York, gave him a home until eight years old. He then went to live 
with the children of his uncle Nathan Kinne at Clinton, and resided 
there until the outbreak of the Civil war, when he enlisted in l^attery A, 
Captain Bates' First New York Light Artillery. This battery w^as 
lost at the battle of Fair Oaks, which was the second engagement in 
which it took part. Its members were transferred to other companies, 
and Mr. Kinne became a member of Company H. This was known as 
"Mink's Battery," under command of Captain Charles E. Mink, and 
was engaged in some of the most severe battles of the war. Mr. Kinne 
was soon promoted, first to corporal, then sergeant, and became second 
lieutenant of Battery L, First Artillery, This was commanded by Cap- 
tain John Reynolds. Just before the close of the war Mr. Kinne was 
promoted to first lieutenant, and was assigned to Battery E, same regi- 
ment. After being discharged from the service, he returned to his 
home in Clinton, and soon after received a commission as captain by 
brevet. In 1865 he moved to Utica, where, on March 15, 1866, he was 
married to Miss Margaret Anna Cessford. 

Margaret A. Cessford was the daughter of George and Anna Isa- 
bel Cessford. The former was born at Lauder, near Edinburg, Scot- 
land, in the year 1802, and was descended from a very old Scotch 
family. He was educated at Melrose Abbey, to be a Presbyterian 
m.inister, but alx)ut the time he was to be ordained he concluded that 
he was too well fitted for a mechanic to become a preacher. Accord- 
ingly, upon attaining his majority, he entered upon an apprenticeship 
of seven years to learn the trades of machinist and millwright. About 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 709 

1838 he came to America and located in Utica, wlierc he made a spe- 
cialty of pattern-making. He perfected many in\entinns and took out 
numerous patents pertaining to heating furnaces. He was a man of 
high attainments, being an excellent Latin scholar, and a wide reader. 
His family included seven children, two of his sons Ijeing machinists. 
He died, aged ninety-three years, at Utica, September 5, 1S95. His 
wife was Anna Isabel Stephenson, a grandniece of George Stephenson, 
whose engine, the '"Rocket," was the forerunner of our modern locomo- 
ti\es. She was born in Chester-le-Street, Northuml^erland county, 
England, in 1805, and died February i. 1899, aged ninety-four years, 
in Utica. She was a large-hearted, Christian woman, and her kind 
deeds and charities were numberless. 

In the year 1876 Oliver E. P. Kinne and his family removed frou'i 
Utica to Florence, this state, where he was engaged in the lumber Inisi- 
ness with his next older brother, Orlando. He remained there until 
1879, when the family removed to Camden, where he followed his 
trade of a woodworker. He died May 5, 1892, after a sickness of four 
years. His wife removed, in 1894, with her two younger sons, Edwin 
and Harry, to ^^''atertown, where she has since resided with them. Ed- 
win J. Kinne is a machinist, and Harry C. Kinne is a mechanical 
draughtsman with the Bagley & Sewall Company. The children of 
Oliver E. P. and Margaret Cessford Kinne were: Clarence Evelyn, 
born April 16, i86g, at Utica: George Cessford, born April 4. 1873, at 
Utica, died February i, 1878, at Florence; Charles Alfred, born August 
26, 1875, ^^ Utica, died July 2, 1892. at Camden: Edwin Johnson, born 
June II, 1879, at Florence: Harry Cessford, born June 8, 1882, at Cam- 
den. 

(VIII) Clarence Evelyn Kinne attended the Camden union high 
school, but at the age of fourteen years was obliged to leave school on 
account of poor health. For a part of two years he was employed in a 
large dry goods store at Utica, and resided with his grandfather. George 
Cessford. As he was always of a studious and mechanical turn of mind, 
his grandfather urged upon him to follow some mechanical pursuit, al- 
though his father wished him to follow the profession of law. On May 
28, 1885, he began to learn the machinist's trade with the firm of Wood 
& Percival, at Camden. After finishing his apprenticeship of three years 
he worked at various shops in Rome, Schenectady and Little Falls, and 
came to W'atertown on June 20, 1889, where he began work as a ma- 
chinist for the Watertown Steam Engine Company. During the years 



710 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

of his apprenticeship and while he was a machinist, he studied mechani- 
cal drawing and mathematics at night, and while many of his companions 
were enjoying their leisure hours he was burning the "midnight oil." 
In 1892 he took a position as m.echanical draughtsman with the Eames 
A'acuum Brake Company, of Watertown. A year later he left this con- 
cern and took a position as mechanical draughtsman with the Bagley & 
Sewall Company of the same city. Five years later he became designer 
and mechanical engineer for this company, a position which he still 
holds. He has been very successful and has made and developed several 
inventions pertaining to the manufacture of paper-making machines. The 
Bagley & Sewall Company has been in business over fifty years, and has 
built some of the fastest running paper-making machines in use. 

He is a member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 
and a member of Corona Lodge No. 705, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. 

On June 18, 1890, he was married to Miss Delia L. Brewster, of 
Camden. She was a daughter of George J. and Sarah (Schott) Brew- 
ster, and a descendant, of the ninth generation, of Eider William Brew- 
ster, who came over with the Pilgrims on the Mayflow-er. They have 
(Oie daughter, ^Margaret Cessford Kinne, Isorn September 12, 1895. 

FRANK MARCELLUS PARKER, an active and prominent 
citizen of Watertown, for the past eight years treasurer of the county, is 
a worthy representative of a family whose members have been identified 
with Jefferson county through four generations, and with this country 
from the earliest period of its occupation by white people. 

(I) William Parker, was a member of Rev. Thomas Hooker's 
Hartford congregation, and was early in Saybrook, Connecticut. He was 
the father of three sons — William. Ralph and John. 

(H) The last-named settled in New Haven, and had a consider- 
able family, born as follows: John, in 1648; IMary, April 27, 1649, 
married John Hall in 1666; Hope, May 25, 1650, married Samuel Cook, 
May 2, 1677; Lydia, May 26, 1652-3, married John Thomas, January 
12, 1671 ; Joseph, married Hannah Gilbert, 1673. 

(HI) John (2). son of John Parker (i), born 1648. married 
Hannah, daughter of William Bassett, November 8, 1670. He was 
among the early planters of Wallingford, Connecticut, and settled about 
two miles west of the village of that name, giving the name "Parker 
Farm;'" to the localitv. which name it still bears. He was an active busi- 




(^ 



A 



<w 



^^^^^^^ .^^^A'^a.^^ 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 711 

ness man, and did mucl: in advancing the interests of the settlement. 
He died in 171 1, and his widow survived until June 7, 1726. Their 
children were as follows: Hannah, born Augxist 10, 1671, married Will- 
iam Andrews, January 12, 1692; Elizabeth, 1673, married Joseph Royce, 
March 24, 1693; John, March 26, 1675; Rachel, June 16, 1680, married 
Thomas Relzea, of New Haven, in 1700; Joseph, mentioned below; Eli- 
phalet; Samuel; Edward. 1692; Mary, married Joseph Clark, November 
27, 1707; Abigail, March 3, 1710, married Joseph Bradley, December 

8, 1765. 

(IV) Joseph, fifth child and second son of John and Hannah 
Parker, married Sarah Curtis. June 7, 1705, and their children were as 
follows: Joseph, died young; Joseph, July 25, 1707; Andrew, married 
Susannah Blakeslee; Thomas, June 7, 1709; Hannah, August 30, 171 1; 
Ebenezer, March 5, 1713; Joseph (3), April 3, 1716; Ralph, January 

9, 1718; Waitstill, July 24. 1721; Sarah, October 18, 1725, married 
Asa, son of Samuel Cook, January 15, 1744-5. 

(V) Andrew, third and eldest surviving son of Joseph and Sarah 
(Curtis) Parker, married Susannah Blakeslee, and their children were 
as follows: Ambrose, born March 6, 1738; Grace, December 10, 1739, 
died an infant ; Patience, twin of Grace, died when three days old ; Ze- 
ruiah, November 28, 1741, married David ^filler, January 3. 1765; 
Oliver, November 20, 1743: Ezra, mentioned at length below; Susan- 
nah, December 2, 1747; Rachel, December 28, 1749; Sybil, February 9, 
1753 ; Jason, August 17, 1764. Andrew Parker was a farmer in Walling- 
ford, and moved thence to the town of Adams, in Berkshire county, 
Massachusetts, where he died. 

(VI) Ezra, sixth child and third son of Andrew and Susannah 
(Blakeslee) Parker, was born December 13, 1745, in Wallingford. He 
was one of the heroes of the Revolution, and acted as Arnold's orderly 
in the memorable expedition against Quebec, undertaken in the fall of 
1775; through the wilds of Maine. With others he had smallpox during 
the winter, and he was one of the few who succeeded in making their 
way back in 1776. He continued in the service, and fought in the bat- 
tles of Bennington and Saratoga. He was offered a commission in the 
army but declined it. In 1772 he bought land of Samuel Perr)-, at the 
west end of the present Hoosac tunnel. He engaged in farming until 
his removal to Bridgewater, New York, after 1779. In 1802, to settle 
his sons, he purchased two hundred acres of land on Dry Hill, in the 
town of Watertown. Ezra Parker was twice married. His first wife. 



712 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Sarah Tuttie, bore him a daughter, Sarah, who became the wife of Sam- 
uel Day. He married, second, Elizabeth, daughter of Samuel Perry, 
who sold him land, as before noted. She was born May, 175 1, in Strat- 
ford, Connecticut, and died November 8, 1826, in Sangerfield, New 
York. The children of the second marriage were : Samuel, David, 
Ezra, Joel, Hippocratus. William Morse, Ira, Betsey, Abigail, and a son 
whose name is unknown, probably because of early death. Ezra Parker, 
father of these, died July 7. 1842. at the home of his son. William M. 
Parker, m Royal Oak, Michigan. 

(VII) Hippocratus, fifth son and child of Ezra and Elizabeth 
Parker, was born June 17, 17S5. in Sangerfield, and died February 15, 
1844, in Adams, this county, aged fifty-eight years. His educational 
opportunities were small, and his life was devoted to agricultural and 
other labors. He settled on fifty acres of the land purchased by his 
father, on Dry Hill, which he subsequently sold. He was employed 
many years by Joseph Sheldon, who operated distilleries and other 
enterprises, and passed his last days on a farm in the town of Adams. 
He married Olive Fuller, who was born Deceml^er 15, 1793, probably 
in Vermont, whence her father, Abner Fuller, came to this state. She 
died October 14. 1S62. Their seven children are thus briefly accounted 
for : Giles was a farmer at Adams Center, this county, where he died 
about 1890. Jeremiah receives further mention in a succeeding para- 
graph. George died in Russell, Lyon county, Minnesota, about 1898. 
Jemima married Riley Harrington, of Watertown, and lived in Houns- 
field, where he died. She died in 1893, at Thousand Island Park, at 
the home of her daughter. Austin lived to be only twelve years old. 
David lived in Adams and. after spending five years at Belvidere, Illi- 
nois, died of typhoid fever in i860, while on a visit to Adams. Eliza- 
beth became the wife of John Bartlett. of Adams, wliere she died June 
2, i860, aged twenty-six years. 

(VIII) Jeremiah, second son and child of Hippocratus and Olive 
Parker, was born March 20, 18 14. in the town of Watertown. He was 
obliged to care for himself from a very early age, and had small oppor- 
tunity for education. Before he was nineteen years of age he paid for 
fifty acres of land in the town of Adams, out of his earnings as a farm 
laborer, and this afforded a home to his parents in their old age. He 
was a most industrious and successful farmer, being first located in 
the town of Adams, and later across the line in Watertown. and was 
the possessor of i\\t hundred and fifty acres of land at the time of his 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 713 

death, which occurred May 19, 1872. Since 1847 he had resided in 
Watertown. He was a most pubHc-spirited citizen, and distinguished 
himself in the "Patriot War," of 1836, holding a captain's commission 
in the invading army. He affiliated with the Whig party in early life, 
and was among the founders of the Republican party. Though he held 
fixed opinions and was zealous in their support, he took no active part 
in the management of public affairs, preferring the quiet of his home 
and the pursuit of its duties. He was married September 20, 1836, at 
Amsterdam, to Miss Fransina. daughter of Tliomas B. Kenyon, and 
his wife, Rachel Allen, later of Adams. She was born June 18, 1817, 
in Amsterdam, New York, was a faithful member of the Baptist church, 
and died i\Iarch 23, 1891, being survived by two of her three children — 
Frank M., whose name begins this article, and Thomas C, who died 
June 25, 1896. in Paris, Illinois. Ella D.. the youngest, was born Octo- 
ber 2j. 1852, and died in her thirteenth year. 

(IX) Frank M. Parker, son of Jeremiah and Fransina Parker, 
was born January 20. 1842, in Adams, and continued upon his father's 
farm until he was twenty-two years old, gaining, in the meantime, 
together with the muscular development necessary to good health, the 
educational training afforded by the common and select schools in vogue 
at the time in the vicinity of his home. He began his business career 
in 1864, as clerk in a general store at Adams Center, where he remained 
until 1872. Upon the death of his father he resigned this position to 
take charge of the paternal estate, of which he now owns two hundred 
and sixty acres, comprising the original Lamon farm, on Dry Hill, and 
continued farming operations on an extensive scale, on Dry Hill, until 
1896, when he removed to the cit)- of W'atertown. In that }-ear he was 
elected county treasurer, and his faithful and conscientious adminis- 
tration of the duties of the office have been rewarded by election to a 
second and third terms. He had previously served as supervisor of the 
town of Watertown for four terms, covering a period of five years; 
has been a trustee of the schools : and, during his residence in Adams, 
acted as assessor three years. He is a member of the Jefferson County 
Agricultural Society, of which organization he was treasurer fifteen 
years, a meml>er of the Lincoln League and has been a member of the 
Jefferson county Republican committee. He has affiliated with the 
Masonic fraternitv since 1864, is identified with all the local bodies of 
that order, ami holds an exalted position in it. 

Mr. Parker was married October 2. 1861. to iNIiranda H. Wilder, 



714 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

daughter of Abel Wilder (see Wilder, VII ). One son and two daugh- 
ters ha\e been given to ]\Ir. and ]\Irs. Parker. Xettie F., the eldest, is 
the wife of Clinton J. Wadle}', a farmer of Watertown. Charles J. is 
a civil engineer, residing in New York city. He married Edith Clark 
Bowers, and they have a son named Franklin Bowers Parker, born Feb- 
ruar}- 17, 1905. Maud E. is her father's office assistant. 

WILLIAM A. POTTER. No more progressive and energetic 
business man than William A. Potter of Glen Park can be found within 
the limits of JefYerson county. He is a son of Thomas A. Potter, who 
was liorn in 1829, in Ireland, where he received an excellent education. 
When a young man he emigrated to the L^nited States and settled in New 
York city, where he oljtained a position as bookkeeper. After a time he 
went to Mijntreal, whence, after a brief period, he removed to Hartford, 
\'ermont, where he engaged in the lumber business. His next migra- 
tion was to North Mills, Vermont, where he remained some years. In 
TiSgo he disposed of his extensive lumber business and came to Brown- 
ville, where he passed the remainder of his life. 

Mr. Potter married Elizabeth Warren, who was born in 1S35, in 
Brockville, Canada, and thirteen children were born to them, of whom 
the following are living: Arthur, who resides in Glen Park, and is 
engineer in the mill of which his lirother William A. is superintendent; 
Rel.iecca, v\!k) is the wife of George Godsell and lives in Wilder, Ver- 
mont; Thomas, who is employed in a paper mill in Berlin Falls, New 
Hampshire; Leonard, who is engaged in the mill with his brother, ^\'ill- 
iam A.; Ernest, who is employed in a mill at Berlin Falls, New Hamp- 
shire; Isola, who is the wife of Alton Hayes, of Brownville; and Will- 
iam A., mentioned at length hereinafter. The death of Mr. Potter, the 
father of the family, occurred in May, 1902, when he had entered upon 
his seventy-fourth year. He was a successful business man and was also 
possessed of fine literary tastes, while his integrity of character com- 
manded the respect of all. His widow, who is a member of the Protest- 
ant Episcopal church, is still living. 

William Aaron Potter, son of Thomas A. and Elizabeth (Warren) 
Potter, was born Septeml3er 7, 1873, in Stratford Hollow, New Hamp- 
shire, and received his education at Newton Mills, Vermont. Soon 
after leaving school he obtained employment in a sawmill, where he re- 
mained for a time, and in 1890 entered a paper mill at Berlin Falls. After 
working there for eight months he came, early in 1S91, to Glen Park, 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 715 

where he was employed in a paper mih, and by industry and faitlifulness 
worked his way up to the position of foreman. After working tor a 
time in two other mills in the same place he went to Marseilles, Illinois, 
where for eleven months he was employed in a mill as foreman of the 
machine room. He then returned tri Glen Park and took charge of the 
machine room of the Ontario mill of the International Paper Company. 
In July, 1903, he was advanced to the position of superintendent, and 
events have already more than justified his appointment. He is a mem- 
ber of the K. of P. and of the Lincoln League. His political principles 
are those of an earnest Republican, and he takes an active interest in 
the affairs of the organization. He is a member of the Protestant Epis- 
copal church. 

Mr. Potter married, in 1S94, May E. Foley, and they have two 
children: Lillian, who was born August 28, 1896, and James, who was 
born May 30, 1902. Mrs. Potter is a daughter of Patrick Foley, a native 
of Ireland, who emigrated to this country and settled in Adams, where 
he became a successful farmer, and now resides. He and his wife are 
the parents of five children : John, who is employed and resides in Glen 
Park ; Stephen, who works in a carriage factory in Adams ; Frank, who 
is a railroad employe ; Anna, who resides in Adams ; and May E., who 
was born in 1874, in Adams, and became the wife of William A. Pot- 
ter, as mentioned above. 

DEWEV. This name is borne by a large number of the American 
people, and includes many noted in military, naval, religious and civil 
affairs, from the Atlantic to the Pacific. Its representatives were nu- 
merous among the pioneers of different towns in Jeft'erson county, and 
they and their progeny have maintained the good standing of the name. 
The name is said to be of French origin, and has been traced to the ad- 
vent of William the Conqueror in England, in 1066. 

(I) Thomas Dewey, the emigrant ancestor, in early manhood, seems 
to have become a dissenter and emigrated to America from Sandwich, 
Kent, England, as one of the early settlers, under Governor Winthrop 
and Rev. John Wareliam. Mr. Dewey is of record as among those re- 
ceiving grants of land at Dorchester, in 1636. He was married, March 
22. 1639, in Windsor, Connecticut, to Frances, relict of Joseph Clark. 
Their children, all born at Windsor, were: Thomas, February 16, 1640; 
Josiah, baptized October 10, 1641; Ann, October 15, 1643: Israel, born 
September 25. 1645 ; Jedediah. 



716 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

(II) Jedediah. A-oungest child of Thomas and Frances Dewey, was 
born December 15, 1647. and married, about 1670, Sarah Orton, of 
Farmington, Connecticut, daugliter of Thomas and Margaret (Pell) 
Orton. They lived in Farmington, but a short time after their marriage 
removed to Wcstfield, Massachusetts, where he died in 1718, aged sev- 
enty years. Mrs. Dewey died November 20, 171 1. All their children 
were born at Westfield, as follows: Sarah, March 28, 1672; Margaret, 
January 10, 1674; Jedediah, June 14, 1676; Daniel, March 9, 1680; 
Thomas, June 29, 1682; Joseph, 1684; Hannah, March 14, 1686; Mary, 
March i, 1687; James, April 3, 1692; Abigail, November 17, 1694. 

(III) Joseph, fourth son and sixth child of Jedediah and Sarah 
Dewey, was born May 10, 1684, and was married, in 1713, to Mrs. Sarah 
(Warner) Root, widow of Samuel Root and daughter of John and 
Sarah (Ferry) Warner. Mr Dewey was a farmer, and is also referred 
to as a wheelwright, and lived on the south corner of Elm and Frank- 
lin streets, in Westfield. He united with the church in 1727, and served 
as selectman of the town. He died January 3, 1757. He was survived 
by his wife, who passed away in 1769. Their children, born in West- 
field, were: Joseph, October 7, 1714; Sarah, April 15, 1716; Lydia, 
May 25, 1718: Mary, March 21, 1720; Roger, ]\Iarch 17, 1722; Noah, 
May 3, 1724. 

(IV) Deacon Joseph Dewey, oldest child of Joseph and Sarah 
(Warner) Dewey, was born October 7, 1714, and married (January 26, 
1738) Beulah Sackett, who was born January 30, 1714, daughter of 
Joseph and Abigail Sackett, of Westfield. She died October 27, 1767, 
and he married, second, November 25, 1773, Hannah Phelps, daughter 
of Aaron and Rachel (Bragg) Phelps. Mr. Dewey was a farmer in 
Westfield, where he died August 25, 1799. All his children were born 
in Westfield, as follows: Beulah, February 5, 1739; Joseph, March 5, 
1741 ; Benjamin, April 5, 1743; Gad, January 14, 1745; Eliab, Novem- 
ber 2, 1746; Beulah (2), October 12, 1748: Sarah, September 12, 1750; 
Mary, June 23, 1753. 

(V) Eliab, fourth son and fifth child of Joseph and Beulah (Sack- 
ett) Dewey, born November 2, 1746, was married to Lovisa Day, born 
March 15, 1753, daughter of Jonathan and Hannah (Bliss) Day of 
Springfield, Massachusetts. Mr. Dewey was a farmer and miller, and 
served as a soldier of the revclutinn. He was among those who responded 
to the Lexington Alarm, in April, 1775, and was drafted in 1776 to go 
to New York for two months. He died May 31, 1820. Mrs. Dewey 
died Tune 2s. 1806. Their children, all born in Westfield, were: Eliab. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 717 

December 25, 1769; James, August 28, 1772; Louisa, August 4, 1775; 
Martin, March 31, 1778; Silas, August 30, 1780: Edward, February 17, 
17S4; William, July 10, 1786; Jason, May 19. 1789. 

(VI) William, sixth son and seventh child ot Eliab and Lovisa 
Dewey, married Sally Bush, who was born May 3, 17S8, in Westfield. 
Mr. Dewey was a farmer in Westfield, and died April 14, 1817. His 
widow remarried, and died September 28, 1866, in Lowville, New York. 
They had children as follows: Mary Ann, born November 6, 1805; 
Silas B., February 2, 1807; William, died young; Emehne, October 25, 
1812; William (2), November 9, 1813; Clarissa, November 9, 1809; 
Sally, September 21, 1815. 

(VII) William, fifth child and youngest son of William and Sally 
(Bush) Dewey, was married in 1836 to Fanny Seymour, who was born 
December u, 1813, daughter of Matthew A. and Cynthia (Betts) Sey- 
mour, of Greene county, New York. Mr. Dewey was a blacksmith by 
trade, and was an early resident of Lowville, Lewis county, this state, 
where he died February 11, 1890, in his seventy-seventh year. He was 
the owner of a farm there, which he cultivated in addition to the prose- 
cution of his trade. His wife, who was a most exemplary member of 
the Presbyterian church, died March 26, 1880. As pioneers they ren- 
dered valuable service in the upbuilding of the community and the ad- 
vancement of civilization. 

(VIII) Dwight B. Dewey, son of William and Fanny Dewey, was 
born in 1837, in Lowville, where his early life was passed. During the 
civil war he went west, and engaged in the clothing business at Spring- 
field, Illinois, and returned to New York in 1867, settling in Water- 
town. For a number of years he was a partner in the old established 
house of J. C. Streeter & Company, clothiers of this city, and in 1879 
purchased the interest of Mr. Bristol, of the firm of Bristol and Mantle, 
dealers in the same line of wares, and the name of the firm was thereby 
changed' to DcAvey & Mantle. Upon the death of the latter Mr. Dewey 
admitted C. M. Fairbanks as a partner. At the end of five years this 
association was dissolved by the retirement of l\Ir. Fairbanks, after 
which event Mr. Dewey conducted the business alone for the remainder 
of his life. His establishment was at 10 Woodruff House block, where 
he carried on a far-reaching trade. He was an ardent supporter of the 
doctrines and measures advocated by the Democratic party and took an 
active share in the movements of the organization. 

Mr. Dewey married Mary Carey, who was born in 1840. in Ire- 



718 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

land, one of a large family, two of whom are living: Mrs. Alice 
Hines, of Syracuse ; and Thomas Carey, of Watertown. Three children 
were born to ^Iv. and Mrs. Dewey: William H., who is engaged in 
the clothing business in Birmingham, Alabama: Leslie D., who died in 
1881; and Frank S., mentioned at length hereinafter. Mr. Dewey and 
his children were early deprived of the estimable wife and mother, who 
passed away at the age of forty-three. The death of Mr. Dewey oc- 
curred in 1893, while he was yet in the prime of life. He was regretted 
as a loss not only to his family and friends, but to the entire community, 
tc which he had given the example of a business man whose success 
was due no less to integrity of character than to executive talents. 

Frank Seymour Dewey, son of Dwight B. and Mary (Carey) 
Dewey, was born June 4, 1876, in Watertown, where he received his 
education in the common schools. He was a member of the Thirty-ninth 
Separate Company, and upon the outbreak of the Spanish-American 
war enlisted in Company E, Two Hundred and Third Regiment, United 
States Volunteers, in which he served for nine months with the rank of 
corporal. After his return he entered the office of the Jefferson Paper 
Company, of Black River, New York, where he remained two years, and 
at the end of that time v.as appointed manager of the Dexter mill, oper- 
ated by the same owners. His position is an extremely responsible one, 
involving the superintendence of fifty men, this being a fifteen-ton mill. 
He is an energetic participant in political affairs, his principles and the- 
ories being those of an unswerving Democrat, while at the same time he 
is not a strict partisan, and places the public good before party considera- 
tions. 

FRED HOWLAND. Among the farmers of Jefferson county 
there is none more deserving of the name of a successful agriculturist 
and public-spirited citizen than is Fred Howland, of Rutland. The fam- 
ily to which Mr. Howland belongs is of New England origin, but has 
been for a century represented in Jefferson county. 

William Howland was born February 8, 1747. in Rhode Island, 
and died in 1835 in Rutland. He was married in 1769-70 at Gloucester. 
Rhode Island, to Miss Mary Richmond, who was born in 1751, in that 
town, or in Taunton, Massachusetts. They continued to reside for 
many years in Gloucester, where they are of record September 24, 1791. 
on which date they signed a receipt to David Richmond for her share in 
the estate of her father, Seth Richmond. Soon after this they removed 



GENEALOGICAL AXD FAMILY HISTORY. 719 

to Ballston, New York, whence they came to the town of Rutland, in 
this county, in 1806. They belonged to the Society of Friends, and 
died in the town of Rutland, the latter July 3, 1S28. Their children, 
recorded in Gloucester, were: Richmond. John and Oziel, and they 
also had sons Da\id and Rufus. Mary Richmond was a daughter of 
Seth and Esther (Walker) Richmond, and a descendant of John Rich- 
mond, who was born in 1594, and came to America from Ashton Keynes, 
Wiltshire, England, as early as 1637. In that year he was one of the 
original purchasers of Taunton, Massachusetts. From this John Rich- 
mond her lineage was through: (II) John (2), (III) Joseph, (IV) 
Joseph (2), and (V) Seth Richmond. 

Richmond Rowland, eldest son of William and Mary (Richmond) 
Howland, was born January 2, 1772, in Gloucester, Rhode Island, and 
subsequently lived in Providence, Rhode Island, removing thence to 
Jefferson county in 1804. He cleared a tract of land which he afterward 
sold for one hundred dollars. He then took another farm, three miles 
south of Felt's Mills, wdiich he also cleared, and which became his home 
for the remainder of his life. Fle became very prosperous, and was much 
esteemed by his neighbors, holding various township offices. During 
the war of 1812 he served in the army and was present at the battle of 
Sacketts Harbor. He married, before leaving Providence, Rachael, born 
January 25, 1769, daughter of James and Phebe (Allen) King. Mr. 
King spent his last days in Pamelia. Mr. and Mrs. Howland were the 
parents of six children, all of whom are deceased, namely : Oziel, Sarah, 
Richmond, James, Hiram and William. Mrs. Howland, who was a 
most excellent woman, and a member of the Society of Friends, was 
eighty-six years old at the time of her death, December 10, 1855. Her 
husband, like his parents, reached the age of ninety, passing away July 
5, 1862. He was in all respects an estimable man and a good citizen. 

William Howdand, youngest son of Richmond and Rachael (King) 
Howland. was born April 22, 1809, in Rutland, where he obtained his 
education and passed his whole life, with the excq^tion of four years' 
residence in Pamelia. In 18G8 he purchased the farm one mile south 
of Black River village, which was his home for the remainder of his 
life. He took an active part in township affairs and held the office of 
assessor. He v^as the only I'^epublican in his family, and is entitled to 
the honor of having been one of the pioneer members who voted for 
Fremont. He died April 29. igoi. at his home, near Black River. 

Mr. Howland married, in 1840, Eunice P.. born in 181 5, in Rut- 



720 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

land, daughter of James Eddy, who was born in 1780, in Rhode Island, 
and settled in Rutland. He was the son of Enoch Eddy, also a native of 
Rhode Island, where he was born in 1750, and whence, in 1801, he came 
to Rutland. The wife of James Eddy was Cynthia Philbrooks, who 
was born in 1795. Of the four children born to herself and her husband 
only one is now living : Egbert H., who resides in Rutland. Mr. and 
Mrs. Howland were the parents of three sons : Cyrus, who died at the 
age of thirty-seven years; Walter, who is a prominent farmer of LeRay; 
and Fred, mentioned at length hereinafter. The mother of these chil- 
dren died October 10, 1898. She was a Universalist in faith, and was 
loved and respected by all who knew her. Her husband maintained the 
reputation of his family for longevity by living to the age of ninety-two, 
and not one of !iis brothers died under eighty. Mr. Howland, both as a* 
man and a citizen, possessed the esteem and confidence of all. 

Fred Howland, son of William and Eunice P. (Eddy) Howland, 
was born March 28, 1862, in Rutland, and received his education in the 
common schools of the township, afterward attending the Watertown 
high school. Upon reaching the nge of twenty-one he went to Pierre, 
South Dakota, where he remained two years. He then returned to his 
native town, and settled on the paternal farm of one hundred and six 
acres, where he has since resided, devoting himself with great success to 
general farming. He has always taken an active interest in public af- 
fairs, and his fellow citizens have not been slow to assure him of their 
appreciation of his character as a leader in politics. In 1898 he was 
elected supervisor, re-elected in 1900 and 1901, and in 1903 chosen to 
serve until 1905. He held the otfice of commissioner of highways for 
six years previous to his election as supervisor. He has acted as dele- 
gate to county conventions and has served as chairman of the Jefferson 
county delegation to the Good Roads Convention at Albany. He is an 
upholder of the political principles advocated by the Republican party. 
He is a member of Watertown Grange and of Riverside Lodge, I. O. 
O. F., of Black River, in which he has passed all the chairs. 

Mr. Howland married. September 3, 1901, Stella C. Hungerford, 
a member of one of the leading families of the county, the genealogy of 
which will be found in the sketch of Orville Hungerford, which appears 
elsewhere in this work. Mrs. Howland is a daughter of Ell>ert Hun- 
gerford. 




"// -w^^^^-W/MW:' 




n 




GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 721 

JOHN CLARKE STREETER. Xo one citizen of Watertown 
has been more strongly identified with its commercial, political and 
social life, during the last half-century, than John C. Streeter. 

Xelson White Streeter. father (jf the subject of this sketch, was 
an early resident of the county and was long distinguished as a leading 
citizen of Watertown. Xelson W. Streeter was born January lo, 1804, 
in Goshen, Hampshire county. ^Massachusetts, a son of Elijah and 
Abigail Streeter, the former a native of Vermont, and the latter of 
Massachusetts. In tlie year 1819 Elijah Streeter settled, with his son, in 
Champion, this county. His wife died May 20, 1806, at the age of 
tv.oity-three years, in Massachusetts. He followed shoemaking until 
a short time before his death, when he moved to Watertown, and passed 
away at the home of his son August 2\, 1830, at the early age of forty- 
nine years. 

In the year 182 1 Xelson W. Streeter was apprenticed to Thomas 
Peck, of Watertown, to learn the tailor's trade, which he completed in 
three years. He at once established himself as a tailor, and was imme- 
diately successful, as he was industrious, and so(3n accumulated means 
to engage quite extensively as a merchant tailor, beginning in 1830. 
After fourteen years he extended his business to include ready-made 
apparel, much of which he manufactured. After twenty years this was 
turned over to his son. John C. Streeter, who continued it su'ccessfully, 
along the lines early accjuired b}- association in the business. One of 
the monuments to the business sagacity and energy of Nelson W. 
Streeter is founti in the Streeter building, on the Public Square, which 
teems with the business life of the city. Being associated with the Whig 
party in early life, he identified himself with the Democratic part}- in 
1856, and continued this allegiance until his life closed. Consistency 
was one of his most prominent traits, and he held tenaciously to a 
course once mapped out for himself. The esteem in Avhich he was held 
is indicated by the fact that he served the city as trustee and the county 
as sherifif. Out of the kindness of his heart, Mr. Streeter became respon- 
sible, by endorsement, for much of the paper of his friends, and his 
son, John C. Streeter, was called upon to meet these obligations to the 
amount of over sixty thousand dollars, which he did, without a dollar of 
discount, and with no compensation from those responsible for the loss. 
In 1828 j\[r. Streeter married Miss Aurelia A. Parsons, of Lewis county. 
She died January 19. 1837. leaving four children — John C, Cornelia, 
Aurelia and Augusta A. On October 22, 1837, Mr. Streeter married 



72i; GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Eunice H. Burpee, of Lorraine, this county, who Ijore him one son, 
Henry \\\, for some years a practicing pliysician of Watertown, and 
who died in 1903. at Rochester, where he had been ten years engaged 
in successful practice. 

John Clarke Streeter, son of Nelson W. Streeter, was born Novem- 
ber 22, 1829, in Watertown. He is the eldest of a family of four 
children and at a very early age was engaged in trade. For a long 
period he was one of the leading business men of Watertown, being 
distinguished not onh- for financial success, but also for honorable deal- 
ing and strict integrity of character. He was one of the first board 
of directors of the Watertown Manufacturers' .\id Association and 
served in the same capacity on the organization of the Watertown board 
of trade. He was one of the incorporators of the Watertown Spring 
Wagon Company and one of the first trustees of the Watertown Sav- 
ings Bank. In 1887 Mr. Streeter retired from business, but continued 
his interest in the many activities by means of which he sought to 
advance in various ways the welfare and prosperity of the community. 

In the sphere of politics Mr. Streeter has always borne a prominent 
part, his personal pojiularity no less tlian his ability and worth being 
attested by the number cd offices of honor and responsibility which he 
has been called uprm to fill. In 1872 he was appointed a member of 
the state board of charities, and served several years in that capacity. 
In 1877 he was supervisor and in 1878 was elected to the mayoralty. 
In discharging the duties of both these offices a strict regard to the 
best interests of the town and city was the object to which all other 
considerations were subordinate. In 1885 he was appointed by Pres- 
ident Cleveland postmaster of W'atertown, a position which he filled 
with credit to himself and satisfaction to the government until 1S89 
Since t86i he has been a member of the Masonic fraternity and has 
been identified with the Union Club since its organiaztion. 

Mr. Streeter has been twice married and is the father of one son : 
Frederick W. Streeter. the present city clerk. The latter's mother. 
Mary, was a daughter of Stephen White, long and favorably known 
as a business man of Watertown. In December, 1900, Mr. Streeter 
married Mrs. Ella A. Phelps, daughter of the late Merritt Andrus, of 
Watertown. 

JOHN D. COLE. !\I. D.. a leading physician and progressive citi- 
zen of Ale.xandna Bay, Jefferson county, New York, is a native of the 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 723 

state, born in Theresa, March 28. 1857. His paternal gran.dfather, Allen 
Cole, was one of the most extensive landholders and farmers of his day 
in that region, owning one thdusand three linndred acres of land in the 
vicinity of Theresa, and to him was due the honor of building the first 
saw mill on Cruoked Creek. He was united in marriage to Hope Jane 

, who was horn in the vicinit}- of Paris, France, and to this union 

was born twehe children, of whnm Alanson Cole, father of Dr. Cole, 
is the onh' survivor. Mr. and ^Irs, Cole were members of the Universal- 
ist church. Their deaths occurred, respectively, when they attained the 
age of sixty and fifty years. 

Alanson Cole (father) was born in the town of Theresa, New 
York, wdiither his parents removed from Massachusetts in 1812. He 
was reared in West Theresa, educated in the common schools, and fol- 
lowed farming as a vocation, clearing the land for that purpose. He be- 
gan life in a log caliin. later built the first frame dwelling in that sec- 
tion, then added to his pro])erty l.iy buying the Plymton farm, and then a 
part of the Wakefield farm, consisting of two hundred and twenty-six 
acres, upon which he erected a second dwelling. There he resided up to 
1886, and in that year removed to the village of Theresa, wdiere he built 
a fine residence in which he now leads a retired life, being in the eighty- 
third year of his age. He has always been considered one of the pro- 
gressive men of his town, aiding to a large degree both educational and 
religious institutions. He married Lucy Makepeace, daughter of Solo- 
mon and Jane Cronkhite (also spelled I-vronkhite) Makepeace. Mr. 
Makepeace, who died at the age of eighty-six. during his early years 
led the life of a farmer, cleared land, built the first sawmill at Joachum, 
and subsequently established a general store, which he conducted for 
many years. He was noted throughout the county as a man of broad 
and philanthropic ideas, who believed in the scriptural adage that "it is 
better to give than to receive.'" and this injunction he followed out to 
the utmost of his ability. From his store he supplied the suffering new 
settlers with many of the necessaries of life, thereby alleviating much 
suffering incident to the hardships and privations of settlers in adverse 
crop seasons. Mr. and Mrs. Makepeace were the parents of a number 
of children, four of whom are living at the present time (1904) : i. 
Lucy, aforementioned as the wife of Alanson Cole: she was born Feb- 
ruary 6, 1825, was married October 27, 1844. and died August 2, 1904, 
at the age of seventy-nine years, after a married life of nearly sixty years. 
2. Ursula, a resident of Illinois. 3. Lydia. who resides at Alexandria 



T24 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Bay and is the widow of Alfred Avery. 4. Solomon, of Alexandria 
Bay. 5. John, of Clayton. 

Dr. Cole received his literary education at Theresa Academy, and 
studied for his profession in the Hahnemann IMedical College of Chi- 
cago, from which institution he was graduated in 1882 at the age of 
twenty-five. After his graduation he located in Clayton, where he re- 
mained in practice for two years, and on April 15, 1884, he removed to 
Alexandria Bay, where he has since resided, and where he has continued 
to conduct a large and remunerative practice. He is a member of the 
Jefferson County Homeopathic iledical Society. He has always taken 
an active interest in educational and religious affairs, and has ever been 
foremost in advancing the measures that have for their object the growth 
and development of the town and the betterment of its people. He has 
served as coroner of Jefferson county for two terms of three years each, 
as deputy collector for a period of three years, and was the first health 
officer to be appointed by the village board but appointed by the state 
board under new law (1904) to serve till 1908. Dr. Cole was instru- 
mental in the organization of the local lodge of the Independent Order 
of Foresters, of which he is a charter member, and also examining 
physician. He is also a member of Alexandria Lodge No. 297, Free 
and Accepted IMasons, in which he has held the offices of junior and 
senior deacon, and junior and senior warden ; a member of The- 
resa Chapter, \\'atertown Commandery, and Media Temple of the Mys- 
tic Shrine. He also holds membership in Hopewell Lodge, Lidependent 
Order of Odd Fellows, of Alexandria Bay, of the Tribe of Ben Hur, 
and is a member and president of the Loyal Legion. Dr. Cole is a Re- 
pttblican in politics and, like his parents, a Universalist in religion. 

Dr. Cole married. May 13, 1885, Adda E. Garrison, born in Nap- 
anee, Ontario, daughter of William Garrison, who was torn in Canada, 
was a prosperous agriculturist of Napanee, and died at the age of fifty 
years. His wife is living at the present time (1904), and they were the 
parents of six children, five of whom are now living: Mrs. Dr. Cole, 
Mrs. Richard Hill, T. L Park. John, a resident of Chatham, Canada, 
and Edward Garrison, an editor of Winnipeg. Dr. Cole and his wife 
have one daughter, Lottie Grace Cole, who is now a student at St. Ga- 
briel's Seminar}' at Peek.skill, New York. 

PORTER. Among those names which have furnishe4 distin- 
guished citizens, in military, naval and business annals, none is more 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 7-25 

noteworthy than this. It \vas estahhshed in America among the earhest, 
and its representatives have been excellent citizens and patriots from 
the beginning. In the revolntion and the late ci\il war it was especially 
noted and active. 

(I) Richarrl Porter, American ancestor of the name, was a pas- 
senger on the ship Susan and Elien, which sailed from W'e^-mouth, 
England, Alarch 20 (or 30), 1635, and was among those who settled in 
that year in \\'eymouth, Massachusetts. He was a memlser of the 
church there nian\- years, ser\-ed as constable and selectman, and kept 
up to the standard of citizenship then in vogue. Xo record is found of 
his marriage, and he died about 1689. 

(II) John Porter, son of Richard, was married, February 9, 1660, 
to Deliverance, daughter of Nicholas and Martha (Shaw) Byrum (By- 
ram). He resided in Weymouth and was said to be one of the most 
enterprising men of his time, a useful, honored citizen, holding all the 
\-arious town offices at different times. He died August 17. 1717. and 
his widow died September 30, 1720. 

(III) Thomas, son of John and Deliverance (Byram) Porter, was 
married, about 1706. to Susannah, daughter of Matthew and Sarah 
(Hunt) Pratt. She was born in 1684. 

(IV j Ezra Porter, son of Thomas and Susannah (Pratt) Porter, 
was born September 8, 1725, and was married, in 1751. to Hannah, 
daughter of Joseph and Ruth (Richards) Lovell. She was Ijorn Decem- 
ber 17, 1723, and died early in life. Mr. Porter subsequently married 
Patience, daughter of Solomon and Temperance Hathawa}'. She was 
born October 21, 1741. They lived in Weymouth. 

(V) Joel Porter, son of Ezra and Hannah (Lovell) Porter, was 
born June 16, 1755, in \\'eymouth, and died in September. 1824. 'He 
married Levina Woods, who was born in 1757. and died about 1819. 
In 1780 he moved to Marlboro, Nev,- Hampshire, where five of his chil- 
dren were born, and in 1792 removed to Dublin, an adjoining town of 
Cheshire county, of that state. He participated in the battle of Bunker 
Hill, and served two years as a soldier of the revolution. At Bunker 
Hill a bone in his ankle was shattered by a musket ball, but he poured 
rum into the wound from his canteen and continued to fight until his 
ammunition was exhausted and the retreat was ordered. He received a 
pension of twenty dollars per month during the last twenty years of his 
life. His children were: Joel, died in infancy; David, resided in Gil- 
sum, New Hampshire; Levina, married (first) Jesse Knowlton, and 



726 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

(second) Chester Lyman, of Swanzey. New Hampshire; James, subject 
of another paragraph ; Joel, died when twenty years old ; Ezra, resided 
in Winchendon. Massachusetts ; Xoah, resided in ^Marlboro, New Hamp- 
shire ; Joseph, lived ni l-'lorida, Massachusetts; Lucy, first wife of Ches- 
ter Lyman ; Hannah, died in Nashua, when fifty-one years old. 

(VI) James, son of Joel and Levina (Woods) Porter, was born 
in July, 1788, in Marlboro, New Hampshire, and married Betsey Will- 
iams, who was born in 1790. When a young man he spent some time 
in Vermont, whence he came at an early day to Norwood, this state, 
where he cleared up and tilled a fine farm, remaining upon it until his 
death. He had a large family of children, only two of whom are now 
living, namely : Susannah, widow of Seth Butler, residing in Como, 
Colorado, and Sophronia. wife of Thomas Ellison, of Colton, New 
York, now residing at Wanakena. 

(VH) Ora Bailey Porter, son of James and Betsey (Williams) 
Porter, was born May 9. 1S27. in Norwood, where he received his pri- 
mary education, afterward attending the Potsdam Academy. After 
graduating from- this institution he engaged for some time in teaching, 
and subsequently spent a few years in Ohio and Wisconsin. Upon his 
return to Norwood he purchased the homestead farm, which he sucess- 
fully managed for a number of years. He was thrice married, the third 
wife beiiig Caroline E. Gibson, daughter of Roswell Gibson, who re- 
sided in Florence. New York, from 1840 to 1857, in which year he died 
(see Gibson, VH). Mr. Porter was sixty-one years old at the time of 
his death, in August, 1888, and his widow reached nearly sixty-three 
years, passing away February 3. 1903. Both were active and respected 
members of the Methodist church. Their children are herewith briefly 
noted: Charles G., the eldest, is mentioned at length elsewhere; Bela 
J. is a bookkeeper in New York city; William R. was for some years 
employed by a hardware manufacturing firm of Bridgeport, Connecti- 
cut, and is now assistant mechanical engineer of the S. S. \\'hite Dental 
Company's works on Staten Island. 

(VIII) Charles Gibson Porter, eldest son of Ora B. and Caroline 
E. (Gibson) Porter, was born October 6. 1864, in Norwood. New York, 
and was educated in the common schools of that town. At the age of 
sixteen years he went to \A'est Camden, New York, and was employed 
nne and nne-half year? in a chair factory there. At the end of that 
period he mo\ed to Theresa, New York, where he was similarly employed 
six years, gaining a thorough knowledge of the business and acting a 




OSGOOD E. HERRICK 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 727 

part of the time a? foreman. He was subsequently employed at Clayton 
an(.l Orwell, Oswego county. In association with A. E. Olmstead, he 
established a factory at the latter point, hut retired from the connection 
at the end of a year. For six months he was an employe of the Excel- 
sior Carriage Company, of Watertown, and returned to Orwell and re- 
mained two years, after which he again spent six months with the Ex- 
celsior Carriage Company. Subsequently he was engaged as superin- 
tendent for F. B. Woodbury in a chair factory at Onvell until 1893, in 
v,'hich year he went to Black River, this county. Since that time he has 
been superintendent of the manufacturing department of the H. C. 
Dexter Chair Compan}-. He is now a stockholder in the plant, which 
employs from seventy-five to one hundred people, and much of the pros- 
perity of the concern is due to his ability and energy. A genial and 
courteous gentleman, of upright character, he enjoys the respect and 
esteem of employes and associates and of the community at large. 

Mr. Porter united with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
at Orwell, and changed his membership on removal to Black River to 
Riverside Lodge No. 334, of that place. He has filled all the chairs, 
serving as noble grand in 1900, and for one year was secretary of Jef- 
ferson District No. 2, of the order. He is a warm supporter of Repub- 
lican principles and policies, but does not seek political position. He 
and his family are affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal church, and 
b.e is active in its work, being now superintendent of the local Sabbath 
school. 

Mr. Porter was married January 18. 1888, to Mercy A., daughter 
of Horace \V. Moore, who has been for many years, and is still, care- 
taker of the Holden property at Thousand Island Park. Mr. and Mrs. 
Porter have a son. Earl M., born August 5, 1889. Mr. iloore and his 
wife, Marcelia Antoinette (Sherman), had four children, of whom 
three are living, namely: Horace, residing at Fine View. New York; 
Carrie. 'wife of W. P. Kippler, of AVells Island: and Mercy A., born 
March 24. 1867. now the wife of Charles G. Porter, as before noted. 

REV. OSGOOD EATON HERRICK, D. D. The Reverend Doc- 
tor Osgood Eaton Herrick, of Watertown. is a representative of an 
ancient family of English origin. The ancestral history can I)e traced 
back previous to the reign of Edward the Third, and it was in 1340, 
during the memorial half-century when this monarch was king of Eng- 
land, that the estate of Leicestershire Park passed into the possession 



728 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

of the Herricks. hv whom it has since been owned without interruption 
down to the present time. 

The founder of the American branch of the family landed in 
1630 in the Massachusetts colony and made liis home at Salem. For 
nearly three hundred years his descendants have been accorded the 
part of good citizens and soldiers — in colonial. Revolutionary and na- 
tional annals. 

(I) From Charles W. Upham's "Salem \\'itchcraft." it is learned 
that "Henry Herrick, who * * * purchased the Cherr3'-Hill farm, 
of Alford, was the fifth son of Sir William Herrick, of Beau Manor 
Park, in the parish of Loughborough, in the county of Leicester, Eng- 
land. He came first to \'irginia, and then to Salem. He was accompa- 
nied to Amerrcan by another emigrant from Loughborough, named 
Cleveland." The name appears to be of Scandinavian origin, and has 
undergone many modifications in its progress from "Eirikr, Eric," to 
Herrick. taking the last form about the middle of the seventeenth cen- 
tury. "Henry Herrick was a husbandman, in easy circumstances, but 
undistinguished by wealth." He married Editha, daughter of Hugh 
Laskin. of Salem. She was born in 1614, and lived to be, at least, sixty 
years old. He died in 1671. They were among the first thirty mem- 
bers of the first church in Salem, founded in 1629. They had seven 
sons and one daughter, and all the sons were farmers. 

(H) Joseph, fifth son and child of "Henerie" and Editha Her- 
rick, baptized August 6. 1645. d'^d February. 4, 1717-18, at Cherry 
Hill. Upham says: "He was a man of great firmness and dignity of 
character and, in addition to the care and management of his large 
farm, was engaged in foreign commerce. * * * He was in the 
Narragansett fight." The state of things at that time is illustrated by 
the fact that "This eminent citizen, a large landholder, engaged in pros- 
perous mercantile affairs, and who had been abroad — in 1692, when 
forty-seven years of age, was a corporal in the village company. He 
was acting constal^le of the place and. as such, concerned in the early 
proceedings connected with the witchcraft prosecutions." His title of 
Governor would indicate that he had been in command of a military 
post or district, or. perhaps, of a West Indiana colony. He married, 
February 7, 1666-7, Sarah, daughter of Richard Leach, of Salem. She 
died about 1674. and he married, about 1677-8. r\Iary Endicott, of 
Salem, who died September 14. 1706. The first bore him four children, 
and the second nine. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 729 

(III) Martyn, sixth child and fifth sun of Joseph Herrick, was 
baptized January j6, 1679-80, and died in 1739. His twin brother. 
Kenry, died young. He settled in Lynn (now Lynnfield). ]\Iassachu- 
setts. on the Burnet Brown farm, given him by his father. He mar- 
ried. July 17. 1710. Ruth Endicott, of Salem, and they liad two sons 
and two daughters. 

(H') Samuel, second son and child of Martyn Herrick. was born 
in 1713. and died in 179^. He resided in Reading. Massachusetts. In 
1742 he married Elizabeth Jones, of \\'ilmington. who died 1759. His 
second wife was a widow, Sarah (Putnam), Whipple, and was the 
mother of his last four children. There were nine of the first wife's 
ofifspring. 

(V) Ebenezer, ninth child and fourth son of Samuel Herrick, 
was born March 12. 1759, and died January 7, 1842. He settled in 
Marlborough, New Hampshire, in February, 1795, and there engaged 
in agriculture. He was married September 26, 1782, to Lydia Eaton, 
of Reading, who was born October 13, 1767, and died September 23, 
1829. They were the parents of ten children. Ebenezer Herrick was 
a soldier of the Revolution. 

(\^I) Samuel, third son and fifth child of Ebenezer and Lydia 
Herrick, was born ]\Iarch 21, 1792, in Reading, Massachusetts, and 
died October 19, 1876, in \^'atertown. New York. He was a merchant 
some years at Boston and subsequently in Windsor, Vermont. He spent 
six years at Pillar Point, this county, whence he removed to Watertown 
in 1846. He was married January i. 1817. in Windsor, Vermont, to 
Eliza Hayes, a sister of Dr. .\. A. Hayes, a distinguished physician and 
chemist, and state assayer of Massachusetts. She was a daughter of 
Allen Hayes, many years the leading merchant of Windsor. 

(VII) Osgood Eaton Herrick, son of Samuel and Eliza (Hayes) 
Herrick, was born April 25, 1826, in Windsor, Vermont. In 1839 the 
family moved to Jefiferson county, and in 1846 took up their abode in 
WatertovvH. June 15, 1851, Mr. Herrick was ordained to the ministry 
of the Protestant Episcopal church by the late Bishop De Lancey, in 
Trinity church, Geneva, New York, and the same year became the first 
rector of Emmanuel church, Adams, New York. In i853Jie became rec- 
tor of Christ church, Manlius, New York, and in 1856 his field of labor 
was changed to the far south. In that year he became rector of St. Paul's 
church. Key West, Florida, an office which he held for thirteen years. 
This included the period of the Civil war and the loyalty of Dr. Herrick, 



730 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

like tliat of every Union man during those dark days, was put to a severe 
test. His courage did not falter, and throughout that time of trial he 
never omitted to ofifer in his church, unchanged, the stated prayers for 
the President and congress of the United States. In 1864 the story of 
his loyalty came to the ears of President Lincoln, who thereupon ap- 
pointed him post chaplain in the United States army. During his resi- 
dence in Key West the place was visited by several epidemics of yellow 
fever, and he was himself twice the victim of the dread disease. In 1870 
he w-as ordered to Fort Warren, Boston, Massachusetts, and upon his 
departure from Key West General Sherman issued an order, of which 
the following is a part : 

"To the Rev. Osgood E. Herrick, Chaplain, U. S. A., and his 
estimable wife, there is, probably, not a single otticer or soldier stricken 
down, who does not feel greatly indebted for their sympathies and their 
kind and constant attentions. 

"The arduous services of the chaplain, both as pastor and friend, 
among the stricken of the city, as well as in garrison, were unremitting 
to the extent of sacrificing his own health for the good of others. Con- 
trary to the advice of the commanding officer and his physician, this, 
oincer insisted upon keeping his post in spite of ill health and continuing 
in the periormance of every duty — official, pastoral and social — until this 
epidemic was stayed, and he has thereby shown how well the great mili- 
tary virtue of self-sacrifice combines with the highest virtues of re- 
ligion." 

In 1875 Dr. Herrick was ordered to Fortress Monroe, Virginia, 
where he remained until retired by operation of law, April 25, 1890, 
In the following year he took up his abode in Watertow'n, where he has 
since remained. For one term he was dean of the first district of the 
Diocese of Central New York. In 1859 he was a delegate to the general 
convention of the Episcopal church at Richmond, Virginia, The degrees 
of Master of Arts and Doctor of Divinity were conferred upon him by 
Hobart College, Geneva, New York. He is a member of the Military 
Order of the Loyal Legion of the United States, of the Commandery of 
the District of Columbia, In closing the order for his retirement from 
the service, the commanding ofificer said : "Chaplain Herrick takes with 
him the affection and regard of all who have been the recipients of his 
faithful ministrations. His nobility of character and devotion to the 
duties of his sacred office will ever make his welfare and happiness the 
object of their most earnest solicitude." 

In 1866 Dr. Herrick delivered at Kev West a sermon commemora- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 731 

ting the tenth anniversary of his settlement there as rector. This called 
forth the following request and testimonial, signed by the wardens and 
vestrymen, who were among the most conspicuous citizens of the town : 
"Reverend and Dear Sir: — The truths set forth and the precepts incul- 
cated in your learned and excellent sermon, delivered on Sunday even- 
ing, November 4, 1866, on the occasion of your tenth anniversary as pas- 
tor of this church, have suggested to the minds of the undersigned to 
request, most respectfully, that you would favor the public by permitting 
its appearance in print. 

"Language fails to express the depth of heartfelt gratitude we feel 
for your many Christian kindnesses, your indefatigable evangelical la- 
bor, in disseminating the knowledge and love of God among us, and the 
exemplifying of practical religion, and we avail ourselves of this oppor- 
tunity to acknowledge it." 

Dr. Herrick married, May 16, 1853, Charlotte Willard Smith, whose 
mother was a sister of the mothers of the late Bishop Whipple, of jMin- 
nesota, and the late General H. W. Halleck, of the United States army. 
Mrs. Herrick has been the efficient helper of her husband in his arduous 
labors, sharing the perils of his heroic ministrations to the yellow fever 
suft'ers and herself sustaining an attack of the scourge. In addition to 
the tribute from General Sherman quoted above. Dr. Herrick has re- 
ceived many others of a like nature from officers high in authority in the 
army and navy. He and his wife have the honor of numbering among 
their friends many of those distinguished in civil as well as in military 
life. As a resident of Watertown it may truly be said of him that he is 
"held in reverence of all them that are about him." 

GIBSON. The founder of this family in America was John Gib- 
son, who is supposed to have been a native of England, born about 1601, 
and was a resident of Newtown, now Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 
1631. He died there in 1694. His first wife, Rebecca, died there, and 
he was married (second), July 24, 1662, to Joan, widow of Henry Pren- 
tice, of Cambridge. 

(II) John Gibson, Jr., of Cambridge, was born about 1641, and 
died October 15, 1679, in Cambridge. He was married December 9, 
1668, to Rebecca, daughter of Abraham and Rebecca (Cutler) Erring- 
ton. 

(III) Deacon Timothy Gibsim, of Sudbury and Stow, Massachu- 
setts, was burn about 1679, in Cambridge, a son of John (2), and died 



T32 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

at Stow in 1757. He married, first, Reliecca, daugliter of Stephen and 
Sarah (Woodward) Gates; and, second, Mrs. Submit Taylor. 

(IV) Isaac Gibson, of Stow and Lunenburg (Fitchburg), Massa- 
chusetts, and Grafton (originahy Tomhnson), Vermont, was born 
April 27, 1 72 1, in Sudbury, Massachusetts, and died in Grafton, June i, 
1797. He married, first, Keziah, daughter of Deacon Samuel and Re- 
becca Johnson, of Lunenburg. He was married, second, at Leominster, 
Massachusetts, to Mrs. Abigail (Darby, or Stearns) Bennett. He was 
a Revolutionary soldier, servmg in Captain Wood's company, of Colonel 
Asa Whitcomb's regiment of militia, that marched to Fitchburg on the 
Lexington alarm of April 19. 1775, and served eleven days. 

(\') Nathaniel Gibson, of Lunenburg, Massachusetts, and Graf- 
ton. Vermont, was born February 22, 1753, in the foi^mer place, and 
died in Salisbury, Vermont, before 1824. He was married, first, June 
25, 1776, to Hannah Brown, daughter of Daniel and Anna (Bright) 
Brown; and, second, July 6, 1791, to Mrs. Keziah Hayward, of Grafton. 
He was a Revolutionary soldier, his first service being as a private in 
Captain Eben Bridge's company, of Colonel John Whitcomb's regiment, 
marching to Fitchburg on the Lexington alarm, and serving six days. 
He was subsequently a private in Captain John Fuller's company. Colonel 
Asa Whitcomb's regiment of militia, serving eight months from April 
25, 1775. He was on duty October 4 of that year at Prospect Hill, near 
Boston. His religious views were in advance of his day, and he was 
fearless in expressing them, though it incurred the ilhvill of some of his 
neighbors, as evidenced by the following statement, dated "Grafton, 
June 21, 1803," and signed by Nathaniel Gibson, attested by the town 
clerk, "1 do not agree in religious opinions with the majority of the in- 
habitants of the town of Grafton." 

(VI) Roswell Gibson, third child of Nathaniel Gibson, was born 
April 24, 1800. in Grafton. Vermont, and died June 28, 1857, in Flor- 
ence, Oneida county. New York, where he settled as early as 1840. He 
u-as for some time a resident of Mendon. Vermont, and was one of the 
organizers of the church at ^lendon, January zt,. 1836. He was married 
January 24, 1824, to Hannah Edson, who was born December 19, 1802, 
at Minot, Maine, and died July 22, 1893, at West Camden, New York. 

(VII) Caroline Elizabeth, daughter of Roswell and Hannah (Ed- 
son) Gibson, was born ^Nlarch 9, 1840, in Florence, New York, and was 
married August 2, 1863, to Ora Bailey Porter. (See Porter, VII.) 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 733 

JAMES ROCiERS SIMPSON, for most of his life connected 
ivith tlie mercantile interests of Jefferson county, died in the town of 
Adams, October 7, 1S82. He was born July 22. 1805, ™ Windham, 
New Hampshire, a son of Alexander and Mary (Rogers) Simpson, of 
undoubted Scotch and English lineage. About two hundred years ago 
the British crown confiscated large areas of land in northern Ireland, and 
offered inducements to its subjects to settle there. A considerable num- 
ber of hardy and enterprising Scotchmen, who sought to spread the area 
occupied by Protestants, moved to these lands, establishing what are 
known as the "Scotch-Irish" class, from whom many pioneers of this 
country were drawn. As early as 17 19 a considerable emigration to 
the American colonies from the north of Ireland took place, and others 
followed during the next thirty years, settling in southeastern New 
Hampshire. Among these emigrants was Alexander Simpson, who had 
distinguished himself at the siege of Londonderry, Ireland, in 1680, and 
was exempted from taxation as loug as the colony remained under Brit- 
ish rule. He was among the founders of Londonderry, New Hampshire, 
rt'hence some of his sons moved to the adjoining town of Windham. 

(I) In 1747 Alexander Simpson came from the linen-producing 
section of northern Ireland and settled in Windham. He was a weaver 
by trade, but purchased land of James Simpson (son of Alexander, above- 
named), and engaged in farming the balance of his life. His wife was 
Janet Templeton, and their children were: William (died young), 
Agnes, William, Janet (bom January 22, 1750, married James Wilson, 
and was the mother of three Rutland pioneers), Sarah. John. Alexander 
and Samuel. 

(II) Alexander, seventh child and fourth son of Alexander and 
Janet (Templeton) Simpson, was born November 28, 1756, in Windham, 
and early in life settled in Bow, New Hampshire, where he married Mary, 
daughter of Samuel Rogers. The Rogers family was of English blood, 
of strict Episcopal stamp, and had a coat-of-arms. Two of its representa- 
tives were in the British army during the Revolution, one being a pay- 
master of troops in Canada. Mr. Simpson was in the Lexington alarm 
service, and participated in the battles of Bunker Hill and Saratoga. He 
enlisted at several times, serving four months in 1775, four months in 
1777, three months in 1778, and in other short periods. He applied for 
a pension September 11. 1832, and it was granted for one year's service. 
He returned to Windham to reside in 1789. One of his children was 
born in Salem, and the others in Bow and Windham, New Hampshire. 



734 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

His wife liecame deranged l>efore her death. Aliout 1806 lie joined in 
the niitjratinn to the "Black River Country," and settled in the extreme 
south end of Champion, this county, where he cleared land and operated 
a sawmill. Late in life he visited his sons, at Lower Sandusky. Ohio, 
and died there. The children of his first wife were so unkindly treated 
by their step-mother that they embraced the first opportunities to care 
for themselves. The children of Alexander and Mary Simpson were: 
[anet Lindsey. horn ^larch 5, 1784, in Bow, married her cousin, John 
Lindsey Wilson, and lived in Rutland. Anna Caldwell, the second, mar- 
ried John King, of Rutland. Alexander and S_\-lvanus Leonard lived in 
Lower Sandusky. Ohio. Samuel Rogers, married Nancv Stoddard, lived 
in Alexandria Bay, and was buried at Whitesville. Isaac was drowned 
at Black Rock, near Buffalo, when nineteen \ears old. Margaret 
Flanders became the second wife of John L. Wilson, whom she siir- 
vived, subsequently marrying Otis Andrus, and died in Rutland Hol- 
low. Elizabeth McConnell was the wife of Patrick Xorris, and died in 
fvutland. 

(Ill) James Rogers Simpson, ninth child of Alexander and Mary 
Simpson, was not of strong build, and was forced to abandon his effort 
to learn the mason's trade. He gave some time to carpenter work, and 
also taugiit school in early life. For a period of twenty-five years Jie 
lived at Sacketts Harbor, where he was employed in a store. He was 
engaged in farming six years, being one-half of the time at Great Bend, 
and the balance of the time in the town of Pamelia. Immediately after 
the close of the Civil war he W'Cnt to the village of Smithville. in the 
towns of Adams and Henderson, where he kept a general store several 
\ears. Having retired from business, he moved one mile east of the 
village, wdiere he died, as above noted. He was married September 7, 
1840. to Hannah Fulton, who was born September 9. 1809. in Champion, 
near Great Bend, daughter of James and Sarah (Choate) Fulton. See 
Fulton III.) Hannah (Fultim) Simpson died January 17. 1871. at 
Smithville. leaving an onh- child — Cleantha, who is now the wife of 
Alonzo P. Hall (q. v.). residing on Ten Eyck street, Watertown. 

Mr. Simpson was a faithful attendant and supporter of the INIeth- 
odist church, ;uid lived his religion, while making few professions. A 
nian of few words, he accomplished much by quiet acti\'ities. A \\'hig in 
early life, he was an earnest Republican, but took no part in active politics. 




^^^f^^^Zj^^"" 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 735 

CHARLES HAMILTON WALTS, ex-county judge of Jefferson 
county, and long prominently identified with its legal and political his- 
tory, IS a descendant of the early Dutch settlers of the state. They lo- 
cated in Otsego county, whence William Walts moved to Jefferson 
county, settling on a farm in the town of Pamelia. His wife, Louisa 
Allen, was. like himself, a native of Otsego county, and they were the 
parents of Charles H. Walts, further mentioned below. William Walts 
was a successful farmer, and retired to the city of Watertown to spend 
his last years. He died there, Decenilier 31, 1898, and his \\idow sur- 
vived him only four days, passing away January 4, 1899. Their remains 
were deposited m North Watertown cemeter}'. 

Charles H. Walts, son of \\'illiani and Louisa, was born December 
7, 1839, in the town of Pamelia, and received his education in the com- 
mon schools and Jefferson County Literary Institute. Deciding to make 
the legal profession his lifework, he entered the office of Clark & Calvin, 
attorneys of Watertown, where he pursued his studies, afterward at- 
tending the Albany Law School, from which he was graduated in 1861, 
with the degree of Bachelor of Laws. He began practice in Theresa, 
but remained there only a short time and removed to Watertown, where 
he has since resided and continued in practice. 

Having formed an association with Judge F. W. Hubbard, Mr. 
Walts became rapidly engaged in much of the important business of the 
courts of northern New York, and has been busily occupied in this man- 
ner down to the present time. In February, 1877, Judge Hubbard with- 
drew from the firm, on account of removal from the county, and Mr. 
Walts was joined by Wilbur F. Porter, and the firm of Porter & Walts 
was a powerful factor in the transaction of legal business for twenty 
years. On the beginning of the year 1897, Mr. Fred B. Pitcher, present 
county attorney, joined Judge Walts, under the style of Walts & Pitcher, 
which connection continues, with mutual satisfaction and advantage. 

Since the beginning of his career Judge W'alts has manifested an 
intelligent interest in public progress and has borne a conspicuous part 
m the conduct of affairs. His energies have always been exerted in be- 
half of the welfare of the community and his efforts have invariably been 
directed toward the abolition of abuses and the reform of existing evils. 
The confidence with which his character and abilities ha\-e inspired his 
townsmen is indicated by the offices of honor and responsibility to which 
he has been called by their votes. In 1874 he was elected city attorney, 
and filled the position three years m a manner which testified his legal 



T36 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

acumen, learning and sagacity, as well as his executive talents. In 1877 
he was chosen county judge, and in 1883 was re-elected. His record 
upon the bench strengthened his ah'eady high standing in the profession 
and increased (if it were possible) the regard in which he had been held 
by the people. He is a staunch Republican and is still active in the coun- 
cils of his party, and his word and influence are always given in behalf 
of that which, in his judgment, stands for what is best, thereby carry- 
ing much weight. He is devoted to his profession, in which he still oc- 
cupies an influential position. 

Judge Walts was married in early life to Miss Rebecca L. Law- 
yer, daughter of Hon. Nicholas Lawyer, of Perch River, this county. 
She died in January, 1895, and on June 2y, 1901, Judge Walts married 
Catherine L. Mitchell, of Watertown. An adopted daughter, leannette, 
completes the family, 

ALONZO P. HALL, a well-known citizen of Watertown, for 
many years in business at various points in Jefferson county, enjoys a 
wide acquaintance, and is respected as a man of worth and character. 
He inherits fnjm many generations of ancestry the Yankee propensity 
fur business activity and the sound mind, body and principles necessary 
to usefulness in the world. The Hall family is one of the oldest in Amer- 
ica, and was established at several points in New England at almost 
simultaneous dates. The origin of the name has been the subject of 
some speculation among its bearers and three probable sources have been 
found. The most probable is the fact that baronial seats in England were 
almost always called Halls, with a title annexed. When men were 
obliged to take surnames, many took the names of their estates, and 
thus many names were made to end with Hall. One authority at- 
tributes it to the Welsh word for salt, which would be attached to a 
worker in salt or a dweller near a salt mine. Again, it is traced to the 
Norwegian word for hero, which is hallr, the last letter being silent and 
only indicative of the nominative case. As the Norwegians overran 
England at one time, many of their words found their way into the lan- 
guage. Hallett is a diminutive of Hall, and was probably given to a 
dwarfed or younger son, only the eldest son being entitled to the paternal 
surname in early times. De la Hall (translated, of the Hall) is a Norman 
or Anglo-Saxon usage, which accounts for most of the occasions where 
this became a surname, without doubt. 

(I) John Hall came from Coventry, Warwickshire, England, in 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 737 

1630. to Charlestown, Massachusetts, probably in the fleet with Governor 
Winthrop. Ci'iventry is about ninety-five miles northwest from London. 
He was born about 1609. His name appears the ninteenth on the list of 
members of the first church of Charlestown, organized July 30, 1630. 
There was then no church in Boston, and this was subsequently moved to 
that place, becoming the first church there. On November 2, 1632, a 
church was again formed at Charlestown, including sixteen men and their 
wives and three bachelors, among them John Hall and his wife, Bethia. 
Mr. Hall had lot number 48 in 1633, and was made a freeman May 14, 
1634. He was an inhabitant of Barnstable after 1647, and of Yarmouth 
in 1653. He died July 22,, 1696, and was buried on his farm, which is in 
that part of Yarmouth now the town of Dennis, and was owned and oc- 
cupied by a lineal descendant as late as 1880. His will mentions eight 
sons, record has been found of ten, and tradition says he had twelve, and 
no daughters. 

(H) William Hall, sixth son of John Hall, was baptized June 8, 
1651, and died June 11, 1727. He was taxed in Yarmouth in 1676, re- 
moved subsequently to Norwich, Connecticut, and thence to Mansfield, 
same colony. He bore the title of captain, earned in militia service. His 
wife's Christian name was Esther, and they had at least four children, 
namely : Isaac, William, James and Theophilus. 

(HI) James Hall, son of William and Esther Hall, lived in Mans- 
field, where he died June 16, 1742. He was married October 15, 1716, 
the Christian name of his wife being Mehetable. She died October 26, 
1758. Their children were: Mary, James, Mehetable, Elizabeth, Jane, 
William, Thomas, Ephraim, Gershom and Josiah. 

(IV) James, second child and eldest son of James and Mehetable 
Hall, was born April 20, 1720. and died February 2, 1807, in Mans- 
field where he spent his life. He was a large, fleshy man. He was mar- 
ried October 24, 1743, to Mary Linnel, and they were the parents of 
ten children, namely: Vine. James, Joel, Lois, Mary, Abel, Peter, Elihu, 
Mehetable and Margaret. 

(V) Elihu Hall, son of James and Mary Hall, was born Decem- 
ber 2S. 1757, in Mansfield, Connecticut, was married June 17, 1778. to 
Elizabeth Davison, and lived most of his life in Mansfield. His children 
were Elizabeth and Elihu. 

(VI) Elihu, son of Elihu Hall, born 1780, married Nancy Maxon, 
a native of Norwich, Connecticut, born September 19, 1779, and moved 
in early life to Bridgewater, Oneida county, this state, where he was 



738 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

a farmer. His children are accounted for as follows : Elihu, born June 

17, 1802, lived and died in Elk Grove, Illinois. Chester, December 20, 
1803, lived at Belleville, this county. Eunice, November 20, 1805, mar- 
ried General Joseph Northrup, and died at Lowville. John Lee is men- 
tioned below. Henry. October 25, 1813, died at Bridgewater. Nancy 
(Maxon) Hall died March 31. 1833, and her husband died September 

18, 1848. 

(VH) John Lee Hall, son of Elihu and Nancy Hall, was born 
December 5, 1808, in Bridgewater. New York, and died September 18, 
1894, on a farm two miles south of Smithvillc. this county. In 1835 he 
came to this county and settled on a farm in the town of Ellisburg, near 
Belleville. For a time he was an innkeeper, being located three years at 
Pierrepont Manor, and two years at Sacketts Harbor. About i860 he 
retired from business and went to Smithville, later going to Butterville, 
where he died. 

Mr. Hall was married, first, January 9, 183 1, to Mary Ward, a na- 
tive of Brookfield, Madison cijunty. New York, who died in February, 
1863, being the mother of two sons and a daughter. The daughter, 
Elizabeth, became the wife of Marcus Manville, and died at Smithville. 
James, the youngest, died at that place about the same time as his 
mother, at the age of twenty-four years. Mr. Hall married, for his 
second wife, Zilpha Thomas, widow of Morton Thomas, who survives 
him and resides in the village of Adams. 

(VIII) Alonzo P. Hall, eldest child of John Lee and Mary 
(Ward) Hall, was torn November 21, 1833, in Bridgewater, New York, 
and was a small boy when his parents brought Iiim to Ellisburg, where 
he grew up. He attended the district school near Belleville, and the acad- 
emy at his native place. He remained with his father on the farm until 
about 1855. and subsecjuently aided in the conduct of the Ontario House 
at Sacketts Harbor during the two years that the senior Hall was pro- 
prietor. He then became a clerk in a general store at Smithville, where 
he continued until August 7, 1862. on which date he entered his name 
as a soldier of the Union army. He was first attached to a light battery 
which afterward became the Tenth New York Heavy Artillery, and con^ 
tinned as a member of that organization two years and eleven months, 
being discharged in July, 1865. Soon after the organization he became 
duty sergeant, and so continued until February, 1865, when he was 
promoted to second lieutenant. Most of the service of the organization 
was rendered in garrison and guard duty, the heaviest engagement in 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 739 

which it bore a part being before Petersburg on April 2. 1865, which re- 
suhed in the capture of that strongiiold. In 'the spring of 1866 Mr. 
Hall engaged in farming, in the town of Pamelia, and sold out his f;irm 
after three years and engaged in mercantile business at Smithville, where 
he remained until 1880. After conducting a similar business at Adams, 
two years, he came to Watertown to take charge of the oyster business 
of J. T. Ross of this city. Since that time he has been employed here as 
a clerk and bookkeeper, and has been clerk in the United States Internal 
Ke\-enue office for the last four years. Mr. Hall attends the Stone Street 
Presbyterian church, and is a member of the Lincoln League, a political 
and social organization of Watertown. He is independent in thought 
and action, and is not a blind partisan, though sound in Republican prin- 
ciple. He served four years as justice of the peace in the town of Adams, 
and was also ixistmaster at Smithville, while a merchant there. An up- 
right, intelligent gentleman, he is respected and esteemed as a man and 
citizen. He was married August 14, 1862, to Miss Cleantha Simpson, 
of Sacketts Harbor. (See Simpson.) Two sons were born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Hall, namely: Fred .\.. June 26, 1867. in Pamelia, and Jesse, 
August 5, 1872, at Smithville. The latter died January- 20, 1S96. The 
elder was married in October, 1893, to Cora A. Carter, daughter of 
Asa L. Carter (see Carter), and resides at Cortland, New York, where 
he conducts a five-and-ten-cent-store. He has a daughter, Ruth Cleanthe, 
l.iorn July 13, 1900, at Elmira, New York, 

CHARLES LELAND ADAMS. Among the active and repre- 
sentative members of the legal profession in the city of Watertiiwn, 
New York, is Charles L. Adams, who was elected surrogate in No\-em- 
her, J 895, and is still the incumbent of that responsible position. He 
was born at Neenah, Wisconsin, (Dctol^er 19, 1852, a son of Charles 
Luther and Amelia Lewis (Leland) Adams, and on the paternal side 
was a descendant of an old and prominent Connecticut family. His 

paternal grandfather. Dr. Adams, was a well-known and 

eminent medical practitioner of Syracuse, New York, and Beloit, Wis- 
consin; his maternal grandfather, Ziba A. Leland, a native of 
Vermont, and long a resident of Bath, New York, served as a member 
of the assembly and county judge of Steuben county. Charles Luther 
Adams was a native of Syracuse, New York, became a noted Presby- 
terian minister, and was one of the pioneer missionaries to carry the 
gospel to the Indians in Wisconsin, where he died in 1853. After this 



740 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

sad occurrence his wife and child made their home with her father, 
Ziba A. Leland, at Mechanicsville, New York. 

Charles L. Adams, son of Charles L. and Amelia L. Adams, grad- 
uated from Hamilton College in the class of 1878, and for several years 
thereafter followed the vocation of teaching. He began the study of 
law in the office of John Lansing, of Watertown, under whose tutelage 
he remained until he was admitted to the Jefferson county bar in 1883, 
and from that year until 1895, a period of twelve years, he was in active 
practice, being six years with Senator E. R. Brown in Watertown. He 
was appointed city attorney in 1884, in 1889, and at the present time 
(1904) is serving his second term as surrogate, having first taken the 
ofiice January i, 1896. He is an active and prominent member of the 
Presbyterian church, a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, a charter member of the Lincoln League, a stanch Republican 
in politics, and for two years served as chairman of the county Repub- 
lican committee. 

Mr. Adams was united in marriage September 29, 1892, to Char- 
lotte Grennell, daughter of George J. and Flavilla Diana Grennell, and 
they are the parents of one child, Leland W. Adams, born June 29, 
1894. 

ISAAC PROCTER POWERS. Among the old residents and 
honored citizens of Watertown Isaac Procter Powers holds a foremost 
place. He comes of both old and new English ancestry, the founder of 
the family having emigrated from the mother country to the New 
England on this side of the sea. 

Leonard Powers was born in Proctersville, Vermont, whence he 
moved to St. Lawrence county. New York. His calling was that of a 
farmer. He was a soldier in the war of 1812, serving at Sackett's 
Harbor. He was an active member of the Universalist church, in which 
he held the office of trustee. He married Diadence, daughter of Cald- 
well, a member of a family which had furnished soldiers to the patriot 
army of the Revolution. Mr. and Mrs. Powers were the parents of 
four children, only one of whom is now living: Isaac Procter, men- 
tioned at length hereinafter. The death of Mr. Powers occurred in 
1883. He was a man whose character commanded the respect and con- 
fidence of all. 

Isaac Procter Powers, son of Leonard and Diadence (Caldwell) 
Powers, was born September 6, 1826, in St. Lawrence county, New 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 7il 

York, and received his education in the common schools. On complet- 
ing his course of study he was for a time a teaclier at Carthage and 
Denmark, where he was also engaged in mercantile business. In Jan- 
uary, 1852, he came to Watertown and was for many years numbered 
among the successful and respected merchants of the city. Sixteen 
years ago he opened a book store, which he conducted for a considerable 
period with the most satisfactory results. He was one of the incor- 
porators of the Watertown Steam Engine Company, of which he is 
now a director. The leading position which this company has always 
held and its increasingly flourishing condition is a sufficient testimony 
to the wisdom and good management of its incorporators and officers. 
Mr. Powers was one of the first trustees of the City National Bank of 
Watertown and a director of the National Union Bank, of which he is 
now ^•^ce-president. He is also a director in the Watertown Carriage 
Company. Mr. Powers recently retired from active business, trans- 
ferring his book store to his son-in-law, and the establishment is now- 
conducted under the proprietorship of E. N. Smith & Compan_\-. Mr. 
Powers has been for fifty years a member of the time-honored Masonic 
fraternity and is also connected with the I. O. O. F. He attends the 
First Presbyterian church. 

Mr. Powers married Lorenda L., daughter of Francis R. Lamoii, 
a member of one of the old famiHes of Watertown. The marriage 
took place in 1858. and three children were born to them, only one of 
whom is now living : Alice, who is the wife of Edward N. Smith, a 
prominent lawyer of Watertown. Mr. Powers is now enjoying the 
fruits of a useful and well spent life, happy in the aft'ection of his family 
and the sincere respect and friendship of his neighbors and townsmen. 

JOSEPH MULLIN. With the country at large, and more partic- 
ularly with the inhabitants of the state of New York, the name of Joseph 
Mullin, father and son, is synonymous with legal acumen, far-sighted 
statesmanship, and all the qualifications, both intellectual and moral, 
which go to the making of an honorable public record. 

The Mullin family is of Scotch ancestry, and remarkable for mental 
culture and attainments. John Mullin, father of Joseph Mullin, senior, 
was born in Ireland about the middle of the eighteenth century and dur- 
ing the greater part of his life was engaged in the work of an educator. 
He was a Presbyterian, and in 1808, while engaged as a teacher, estab- 
lished the first Sunday school in hi? district, in which in course of time 



742 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

two thousand children received instruction. In 1815 Mr. Mullin, who 
was then principal of a school, resigned his position and five years later 
emigrated to the United .States. He was accompanied by his whole fam- 
ily with the exception of one son, Andrew, who succeeded his father 
in the principalship of the school and became a noted educator. Mr. Mul- 
lin settled in Wateitown, New York, where he passed the remainder of 
his life. His wife was Martha Bodel, and they were the parents of 
eleven children, all of whom became useful citizens and rendered good 
service to the land of their adoption. 

Joseph Mulliu, youngest child of John and Martha Mullin, was 
born August (), iSii, in Dromore, County Dowai, Ireland, and was about 
nine years old when brought by his parents to America. He attended 
the common schools and for a time worked in a printing office, but sub- 
sequently attended Union Academy at Belleville. Here he was prepared 
for college under the able preceptorship of Charles Avery, who was then 
principal of the academy. In 183 1 he entered the junior class of Union 
College and in 1833 graduated with honor. For three years thereafter 
he was principal of Union Academy and was for a tune teacher at the 
VVatertown Academy. i\Ieanwhile he read law with the Hon. T. C. 
Chittenden until 1835, when he came tu Watertown as principal of the 
academy and thencefortli studied in the office of Sterling & Bronson, of 
which firm he became a member when admitted to practice in 1837. 
After a time lie began to practice alone and at once took rank with the 
ablest younger members of the county bar, l)ut speedily rose to a position 
of commanding influence in the profession in northern New York. In 
1845 he formed a partnership with John P. Brown, a former student in 
his office, the connection being dissolved in 1847 by the death of Mr. 
Brown. In the autumn following, Lawrence J. Goodale became his part- 
ner and at the end oi five years was succeeded by Milton H. Merw'in. 

In October, 1841, Mr. Mullin was appointed examiner of chancery, 
sujireme court cijinniissioiier and cumniissioner in l)aiikruptcy uniler the 
bankrupt act. In 1843 '^^ ^^'^s elected by the Democrats district attorney 
for Jefferson county, an office which he held until 1845. I" 1846 he was 
elected member of congress serving until 1849. ^" '^'^S7 ^^^ ^^''*s 
elected by the Repul)licar.s justice of the supreme court for the 
fifth judicial district of New York .state, and in 1863 and 1873 was re- 
elected without opposition. In 1870 he was appointed by the governor 
presiding justice <if the general term for the fourth judicial district, and 
was re-appointed after his last election in 1873. Having attained his 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTOR\'. 743 

seventieth year, Judge Alullin was retired from the bench December 31,. 
1881, having served long and faithfully in public office and enjoying the 
admiration and esteem ot the profession throughout the state. In addi- 
tion to the offices in which he had actually served, he was. in January, 
1864, ex-officio a member of the court of appeals. The high regard in 
which he was held, not only as n member of the legal profession, but as 
a man of letters, is evident from the fact that he received from the trus- 
tees of Hamilton College and also from those of Union College the 
honorary degree of Doctor of Laws. 

Arduous and engrossing as were Judge Mullin's professional duties, 
and unremitting as was the attention he bestowed upon them, he yet 
found time to take an active part in local affairs, and in 1853 and 1854 
served as president of the village of Watertown. He was one of the 
incorporators of the A. B. Cleveland Seed Company, and was the first 
president of the Watertown Cemetery Association. He shared fully 
the interest in educational work so characteristic of all his familv, and 
was one of the first trustees of the Adams Collegiate Institute. From the 
time of the incorporation of the Young Men's Christian Association he 
was intimately identified with it. serving on the first board of officers as 
corresponding secretar}-, and delivering the introductory address at the 
first meeting held after its organization. He was also one of those prom- 
inently connected with the Factory Square Lyceum. 

Judge Mullin married, in January, 1839, Lydia M.. daughter of 
the Hon. Egbert Ten Eyck, of Watertown, for many years one of the 
judges of the court of common pleas of Jefferson county. Judge Mul- 
lin and his wife were the parents of five children, all of whom proved 
themselves worthy of their ancestry. Judge Mullin died in June, 1882, 
at Saratoga, but his remains were interred in Watertown, of which city 
for more than half a century he had been an honored citizen. He left 
behind him the memory of an able lawyer, an incorruptible judge, and 
a man truly admirable in all the relations of life. 

Anthony Ten Eyck Mullin, elder son of Joseph and Lydia M. Mul- 
lin, was born January 24, 1841, in Watertown, and died very suddenly, 
at the home of his father, in that city, September 21, 1877. With a 
thorough course in the schools of his native city, he entered the Rensse- 
laer Polytechnic Institute at Troy, New York, from which he graduated 
in June, 1861. In August of th.e same year, he entered the United States 
navy as third assistant engineer. Fie went at once on board the Harriet 
Lane, and participated in the attacks upon tiie forts below New Orleans 



744 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

and the capture of that city, under Admiral Farragut. He was also in 
the terrific battle of Galveston, firing the last gun on the Harriet Lane 
before her capture by the Confederates, and being one of only two officers 
of the ship who escaped injury. His bravery on this occasion elicited high 
praise. After being paroled he walked, with others, from Houston to New 
Orleans, and thence went to his home for a short visit. Being ordered to 
the Agawam, he was one of the three officers of that vessel who grounded 
an old vessel, heavily loaded with powder, under the walls of Fort 
Fisher one dark night and fired it, in the effort to blow up the fort, es- 
caping upon a launch. All the officers were promoted for this act. After 
the war Mr. Mullin spent three years in the cruise of the Hartford, and 
a like period on board the Plymouth, in European waters. Stationed 
on special duty at New Orleans for a time, he was ordered to the Rich- 
mond, on which he spent two years along the South American coasts. 
On his arrival at Boston he was placed in charge of his department for a 
few days and arrived at home on the morning of the day before his death. 
While seated with the family, in the evening, he fell back in his chair 
and ceased to breathe. He had made no complaint and seemed in the 
best of health, and his demise was a great shock to his family and the 
community. In speaking of the event the Watertown Times said : "Mr. 
Mullin's death is a great bereavement to his family and friends, and a 
great loss to the service, of which he was a valuable member. He was 
a kind son, a good friend, and a prompt, brave and capable officer. He 
was exceedingly popular among his brother officers and friends here, 
and his sudden death wi'l be keenly felt by all." 

After Mr. Mullin's death a letter was received from S. D. Hib- 
bard. Chief Engineer, U. S. N., commander of the Richmond, whose 
assistant Mr. Mullin was, stating that he had just written to Secretary 
of the Navy Thompson, recommending him to the favorable considera- 
tion of the department for promotion. 

Joseph Mullin, son of Joseph and Lydia M. (Ten Eyck) JMuUin, 
was born May 29, 1848, in Watertown, and received his primaiy edu- 
cation in the public schools of his birthplace. He afterward attended the 
Troy Polytechnic Institute, where he graduated with honor. He adopted 
as his lifework the profession in which his father had achieved distinc- 
tion, and it was in the office of the latter that the son's preliminary legal 
studies were pursued. They were continued in the office of Judge M. 
H. Merwm, and at an early age Mr. Mullin v.-as admitted to the bar, 
that event taking place in 1871. He was for a time associated in prac- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 745 

tice with Judge Merwin, in 1876 formed a partnership with the Hon. 
Daniel G. Griffin, and the firm of MulHn & Griffin became rapidly 
influential in the practice of the law. Mr. Mullin was appointed attor- 
ney of the New York Central Railroad for the Rome, Watertown & 
Ogdensburg- system. He was a director in the Watertown National 
Bank, the Farmers' National Bank of Adams, the Ontario Paper Com- 
pany, and the Watertown Street Railway Company. 

Mr. Mullin was always an active Republican, served as chairman 
of the Republican county committee, and was a delegate to the Rcpuli- 
lican national convention in 1888. In 1891 he was elected to the state 
senate from the twenty-first district, comprising the counties of Oswego. 
St. Lawrence and Jefferson. He was re-elected to the senate in 1893 
under the new apportionment, in which Jefferson, Oswego and Lewis 
counties were grouped, and in 1895 '^^ '^^'^^ again re-elected under the 
later apportionment which made the district to consist of Jefferson and 
Lewis counties. In the senate he was a member of the senate judiciary 
committee, the committee on privileges and elections, and for se\^eral 
years had been chairman of the finance committee, the leading commit- 
tee in the legislative body. In his senatorial career he initiated many 
important measures, and as chairman of the finance committee his serv- 
ices were most efficient. It may readily be supposed that in a life as 
strenuous as his there was little time for social intercourse or for main- 
taining membership in fraternal organizations, but he was, nevertheless, 
a worthy member of the time-honored Masonic order. 

Senator Mullin married, April 20, 1887, Mrs. Rose Babcock, widow 
of H. P. Babcock, and daughter of John and Marietta (Priest) Monroe. 

The death of Senator Mullin, which was extremely sudden, occurred 
September i, 1897, at the University Club in New York city. The con- 
sternation and grief caused by the sad event were deep and widespread. 
The newspapers, in their biographical sketches, seemed to vie with each 
other in their efi'orts to do justice to his character, both as a man and a 
legislator. The Watertown Daily Times said in part : "Independent 
in his thought and action, he strove for the commendation of his own 
conscience and to represent the people who had chosen him." The Jef- 
ferson county bar adopted resolutions of regret, and men in public life 
all added their words of appreciation of his private and public virtues 
and his helpfulness for good government. 

The funeral of Senator Mullin was attended by the entire com- 
munity, by members of the state senate, Ijy all state officials, and Gov- 



746 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

ernor Black was rejiresemed Iiy his prixate secretary. Senator jMullin 
was survi\-e(l tint dnlv hv liis w idriw, Init also l)v three sisters: Mrs. 
Henr}- Boyer, Airs. Rehecca Baker, hotli nf Watertown, and Mrs. Cath- 
erine Brown, of Nashville. Tennessee. Of all the tributes paid by the 
press to this disting;uished man, that of the Buffalo Comiiicrciai was, 
perhaps, the truest and best eulogy : "Whenever the test of manliness 
and independence has been brought to bear, he has never failed." 

In the state senate at the following session memorial services were 
held in which resolutions of appreciation and svmpathy were passed 
and eulogies delivered by Senator Elon R. Brown, who had been chosen 
as Senatnr Alullin's successor; Senator Cantor, of Xew York, the 
Democratic leader; Senator Stranahan. of Oswego: Senator Guy, Sen- 
ator Coggeshall, Senator Lexnw and others. In the assembly Assem- 
blymen Clark, of Jefferson; Costello, of Oswego; Mills and Ives, of 
St. Lawrence counties, and the Democratic and Republican leaders, 
Messers. Donnelh- and Nixon, all paid warm tributes to the distin- 
guished public services of the deceased. 

January 5, 1898. the senate adopted the following resolution; 

"That the senate of the state of New York received the sad intel- 
ligence (if the sudden death of the Hon. Joseph Mullin with sensations 
of profound grief; that in his death the state of New York lost an 
estimable ser\'ant who, by his public spirit, broad-mindedness, high 
character and ability, has lieen able to and has rendered important serv- 
ices to the state, notably as chairman of the committee of finance of 
this b<uly.'" 

January ^4. 1898, the following additional resolutions were passed; 

"Whereas, it has pleased Divine Providence to remove from this 
life Joseph Mullin, late senator of the thirty-fifth district, this assembly, 
sharing in the general sorrow which the melancholy event has pro- 
duced, is desirous of manifesting its sensibilitv of the same and of 
showing its respect and affection for the memorv of the illustriims de- 
ceased : 

"Whereas, bv the death of Senator Joseph Alullin this state has 
lost one of its most distinguished sons, an eminent citizen and legislator, 
a man of spotless and unstained character, of unwavering integrity, one 
whose genius has left ;m indelilile impress (^f good upon our political 
life and state policies : 

"Resolved, That this assembly give puljlic expression to the pro- 
found sense of loss felt at this time by all classes of his fellow citizens 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. T47 

in the Empire state; their gratitude for his priceless services; their 
sorrow for his death and affection and respect for his memory. 

"Resolved, That these resolutions with the preamble be spread 
upon the journal of the assembly and an engrossed copy of the same 
forwarded to his bereaved family with the assurance of the deep sym- 
pathy felt for them by the individual members of this body." 

To the citizens of Watertown Joseph Mullin was all this and much 
more. To them he was not only the brilliant lawyer and the sagacious 
legislator; but, over and above these, the earnest, public-spirited citizen 
and the warm-hearted, constant friend. In the city which was his birth- 
place and his lifelong home, he was the object, not only of admiration 
and respect, but of true affection and sincere regard. 

COMSTOCK. (I) William Comstock came from England with 
his wife Elizabeth and probably his sons, William and Daniel, and 
resided in Wethersfield, Connecticut, for several years. In 1649 ^e 
removed to New London, Connecticut. Other sons were Samuel, and 
apparently Christopher, tlie latter of Fairfield, Connecticut, in lOOi. 
Daniel Comstock died in New London in 1683. 

(II) Samuel Comstock, son of William and Elizabeth Comstock, 
was a resident of W'ethersfiekl, Connecticut, his native town, and Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island. He purchased in Proxidence, in 1654, a house 
and lot from John Smith, a mason. Mr. Comstock died in 1660. His 
widow, Ann Comstock, married John Smith, the mason, and died in 
1661. The children of Samuel Comstock were: Samuel, born in 1654; 
and Daniel, in May, 1655. 

(III) Samuel Comstock, son of Samuel and Ann Comstock, was 
born in 1654, married, November 22, 1678, Elizabeth Arnold, daughter 
of Th(jmas and Phebe (Parkhurst) Arnold, and resided at Providence, 
Rhode Island, where he was taxed in 1679. He was deputy in 1699, 
1702, '07, '08, '11, and was captain at the time of his death. May 27, 
1727. His widow died October 20, 1747. Their children were: Sam- 
uel, born in 1679; Hazadiah, April 16, 1682; Thomas, November 7, 
1684: Daniel, July 19, 1686; Elizabeth, December 18, 1690: John, 
J\larch 26, 1693; and Ichabod, January 9, 1696. 

Elizabeth Arnold was a descendant of a pioneer Puritan, the gen- 
erations preceding her being represented by (I) Roger, (II) Thomas, 
(III) Richard, (IV) Richard, (V) Thomas, and (VI) Thomas, who 
was born in 1599, and died in [674. His wife, Phebe, was a daughter 



748 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

of George Parkliurst. and the\- were the parents of (VII) Elizabeth 
Arnold. 

(IV) Thomas Comstock, son of Samuel (2) and Elizabeth Com- 
stock, born November 7. 16S4, married, July 9, 17 13, Mercy Jenckes, 
daughter of William and Patience (Sprague) Jenckes, was a resident 
of Providence and West Greenwich, Rhode Island. Mr. Comstock was 
taxed in 1713, was made a freeman of East Greenwich in 1735, and 
subsequently removed to West Greenwich. He died in 1761, and his 
wife died in that same year. Their children were: William, Job, 
Thomas, Patience, Susanna, Esther, Sarah and Lydia. 

(V) William Comstock, son of Thomas and Mercy Comstock, mar- 
ried, February 12, 1740, Ann Spink, and their children, of West Green- 
wich record, were: Thomas, born September 11, 1741 ; Mercy, May 6, 
1743; Deliverance, November 16, 1744; Elizabeth, March 27, 1746; 
Ann, February 2, 174S; Sarah, March 3, 1749; Ishmael, October 9, 
1750; Lydia, April 14, 1752; David, January 25, 1754; John, August 
4. 1756; Susanna, September 2. 1758; and Gideon, April 17, 1760. 

(VI) Thomas Comstock, son of William and Ann Comstock, 
horn September 11, 1741, married, November 20, 1763, Martha Matte- 
son, daughter of Ebenezer Matteson, and their children, of West Green- 
wich record, were: Lydia, born June 6, 1766; William, February 29, 
1768; Ebenezer, November 9, 1770: Stephen, March 22, 1774; and Bar- 
bara, February 25, 1776. 

(VII) William, son of Thomas and Martha (Matteson) Corn- 
stock, born in 1768, as above noted, married Asenath Guilford, and was 
a farmer in Salisbury, Herkimer county. New York. 

(VIII) William Guilford, son of William and Asenath Comstock, 
was born in October, 1809, in Salisbury, New York. He prepared him- 
self for the practice of medicine at Fairfield, New York, paying his way 
by teaching, and practiced a short time at Auriesville, New York, re- 
moving thence, between 1837 ^"<^1 1840, to Evans Mills, in this county, 
where he was the leading physician until his death, June 3, 185 1, at 
the early age of forty-two years. With this he combined the mercan- 
tile business, in partnership with Dr. Ira A. Smith, under the title of 
Smith & Comstock, beginning with drugs, to which the demands of a 
growing community soon caused to be added groceries and general 
merchandise. This partnership was dissolved in 1845, ^"^ Dr. Com- 
stock continued alone until his death. He was highly respected as an 





Holy'Famil.v'Chun-h. Watert..wn 



GEXEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 751 

upright man. A \\"hig in political principle, he desired no official honors, 
and was busy in caring for a large medical practice. 

Dr. Comstock was married November 19. 1832, to Jane Munson. 
of Salisbury-, whose ancestral line is traced in another article in this 
work. Their family included fi\'e sons and two daughters. John Mil- 
ton, the eldest, was engaged several years in mercantile business at 
Evans Mills, succeeding his father, and was subsequently chief of the 
western division of the pension office at Washington for a long period. He 
died July 29, 18S5, in Watertown. George Gordon, the second, died 
at the age of three years and seven months. William Munson was for 
a long period in partnership with his elder brother in business at Evans 
Mills, where he is now living retired. He enlisted in 1862 in the Tenth 
New York Heavy Artiller}-. and went to the front as second lieutenant 
of Company C. ^^'ithin a year he was prostrated by typhoid fever, and 
after a long illness was discharged for disability. Emma Helena be- 
came the wife of Francis A. Simons, a bookkeeper in the United States 
treasurer's office, and resides in Washington. Jane Eliza died before 
two vears old. Clarence Edgar is manager of the Great Northwest 
Telegraph office at Watertown. Charles Guilford is a druggist by pro- 
fession, and resides in W'atertown. Since 1902 he has been connected 
with the New York Air Brake Company. 

MUNSON EAjNHLY. (I) The Munson family was founded in 
America by Thomas Munson, who was born about 1612 and is found 
of record at Hartford, Connecticut, in 1637, where he performed military 
service in the Pequot war. He was then twenty-tive years old. His 
house lot, two and one-half acres, was on the east side of the present 
High street, opposite the head of Walnut. As early as February, 1640, 
he was among those who settled at Ouinnipiac (now New Haven), his 
name appearing sixth in the forty-eight signers of a "Fundamental 
Agreement," as to franchise and other things. In 1645 ^^^ ^^'^^ chosen 
sergeant of artillery, and was subsequently prominent in many ways. 
At one time, when he proposed to spend the winter in the Connecticut col- 
ony, he was forbidden by the authorities, as his services were judged nec- 
essary to the protection of the home colony. He was frequently chosen 
as arbitrator, highway \-iewer, and in other public capacities. In 1655 
he became leader of a movement to found a settlement on Delaware Bay, 
Init did ni)t renio\-e thither. In 1656 he bought a new residence in New 
Ha\en. and in the same vear was chosen one of the seven "townesmen" 



752 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

(now selectmen), being re-elected the following year. In 1662 he ac- 
quired a residence on Temple street, between Grove and Wall. This was 
purchased from the town, at a cost of one hundred and five pounds, 
sterling. In 1663 he was chosen first of the six "townesmen," and deputy 
to the "particular" or town court for the ensuing year. In May of the 
same year he represented the colony at the general court. In 1644 he 
sold his former home, at the corner of Church and Elm streets. In this 
year he was again elected deputy to the general court for a year. He 
had now served for some time as ensign of the military, and was pro- 
moted to lieutenant. In 1665, after the union of Connecticut and New 
Haven colonies, Lt. Thomas Munson was chosen deputy to the general 
court, and was again chosen the following year. He was repeatedly 
selected as townsman, commissioner and deputy. In 1673 he was granted 
one bundled acres of land by the colony for his services in the Pequot 
war. In the same year he was chosen by the general court as one of 
seven, including the governor and deputy governor, as a council of war, 
with ample powers. In 1675 he was in command of troops at Say- 
brook, during King Philip's war, and subsequently commanded the 
dragoons sent up the Connecticut river to aid the settlers at Springfield 
and Hadle}^ Massachusetts. The next year he was made captain in 
command of New Haven county troops, and was also commissioned by 
the general court as captain commanding the seventy-eight men required 
to be furnished by that county as part of the standing army of the col- 
ony. He died May 7, 1685, and was buried on the Green. His monu- 
ment, a sandstone slab, may now be found in the Grove street burial 
ground. His wife, Joanna (supposed to be a second wife), died October 
13, 1678, aged sixty-eight years. His estate was appraised at over two 
hundred seventy-nine pounds. His children were: Elizabeth, Samuel, 
and Hannah. 

(II) Samuel, only son ijf Thomas Munson, was baptized August 
7, 1643, ^"cl was married October 26, 1665, to Martha, daughter of Will- 
ram and Alice (Pritchard) Bradley. (See Bradley.) He died in 1693, be^ 
tween January 10 and March 2. He was a shoemaker and tanner, and 
resided first at New Haven and later in Wallingford, and returned to 
New Haven. His name is nineteenth in the list of thirty-nine who 
signed an agreement in 1670-1 to form a settlement at Wallingford. His 
house lot had a frontage of three hundred feet on Main street, and re- 
ligious meetings were held during the first ten years in his house a part 
of the time. In 1673 he was chosen selectman, and was allowed forty 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 753 

shillings for "maintaining and beating the drum in good order for the en- 
suing" year." In 1675 1^^ became "Ensigne of Wallingford Traine Band." 
He was chosen to ser\-e as the first school master, and was frequently 
elected lister, leather sealer, recorder, auditor, treasurer and selectman. 
In 1682 he returned to New Haven, and filled several offices there. His 
entire estate inventoried over three hundred and eighty-five pounds. He 
had nine sons and one daughter. The youngest died before ten years 
of age. The daughter married John Hitchcock. (2 — See Camp.) 

(III) Joseph, fifth son and sixth child of Samuel and Martha 
Alunson, was born November 6, 1677, i" Wallingford, where he lived. 
By trade he was a joiner. He was married March 10, 1700, to Margery, 
daughter of John Hitchcock, who was born September 9, 1681, and 
died previous to March, 1764. He died October 30, 1725. They had 
nine children. He served as lister, ensign, townsman, grand iuror and 
a member of the society committee of the East Wallingford church. His 
last years were spent on a new homestead in the First parish. 

(IV) Abel, eldest child of Joseph and Margery Munson, was born 
January 10, 1701, in Wallingford, and was a farmer in the southeast 
part of that town, within the parish of Northford, where he assisted in 
founding a church. He was one of the eighteen male members on its 
institution, June 17. 1750, and his wife joined by letter on the first of 
July following. He served the town as lister, grand jin"or, highway 
surveyor and on committee on care of poor. He died Februarv 13, 1779, 
and on the church record of his demise, his name is preceded by the 
title, sergeant. He was married November 7, 1728, to Sarah Peck, who 
died September 22, ijj^. aged sixty-three years. They had fourteen 
children, six sons and eight daughters. 

(V) Joseph, twelfth child and youngest son of Abel and Sarah 
Munson, was born November 16, 175 1, in Wallingford, where he resided 
until 1794, when he removed to the "Royal Grant," in New York, his 
home being from that time in Salisbury, Herkimer county, where he 
died June 29, 1830, in his eightieth year. He bought land near Peck's 
mill, and also purchased a half-interest in the mill. On going to New 
York he sold a third interest to his two partners in the null. He and 
his wife became members of the Northford church in January, 1776, and 
he was entered a freeman in Wallingford in April following. He was 
lister in 1787-89-92, and highway surveyor in 1790. In October, 1792, 
he was chosen a member of the committee to divide the town into high- 
way districts. His migration to New York was made with two horse- 



754 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

teams and two ox-teams, and occupied six weeks. His motive was to 
settle his sons, and he acquired five hundred acres, and gave a farm to 
each of four sons. He is described as an old-school Puritan, a Presby- 
terian. He was married November ii. 1773. to Elizabeth Hart, who 
died July 2^. 1810, aged fifty-eight years, Ijeing the mother of his eight 
children. His second wife was a widow MunsDU. He was a Democrat 
in politics, and was executor of his father's will in 1781. 

(V) Levi, fifth of the fourteen children of Abel and Sarah (Peck) 
]\Iunson, was born August 29, 1738, in \\'allingford, and died in 181 5, 
in Camden, New York. He lived in ^^'allingford until 1782, when he 
moved to Harwinton, Connecticut, where he purchased, on April 13, 
fifty acres with dwelling, barn and cider mill, at a cost of two hundred 
pounds. Within three years he purchased thirty-four and one-half acres 
more, and m April, 1784, he bought a mill privilege, and this he leased 
to another in October, 1792, "as long as trees grow and water runs." 
He was among those who marched from Branford at the Lexington 
alarm. April. 1775, and was subsequenth^ a sergeant in Captain Douglass' 
Company. Colonel \\'ooster"s Regiment. He was among those cap- 
tured near ^Montreal. September 2^. i/J^. and was taken to Falmouth, 
England, returning to Halifax June 21. 1776. and was subsequently ex- 
changed. January i, 1777. he was commissioned second lieutenant in 
the Sixth Regiment, Connecticut Line. He had three sons and a nephew 
in the same regiment. He served along the Hudson and in New Jer- 
sey until September 8, 1780. and participated in the storming of Stony 
Point, as well as in very active movements through the period of nearly 
four years. He was married November 27, 1760, to Mary Cooley, who 
died 1826, at the age of eighty-four years. They were communicants 
of the Episcopal church. Their children numbered nine. Li February, 
t8o2, Mr. Munson sold his mill place, and subsequently lived in Wind- 
bam, Greene county. New York, whence he removed to Camden alx)ut 
1808. 

(AT) Abel, seventh of the eight sons of Levi and Mary Munson, 
was Ix)rn July 22, 1774, in Wallingford. He was married February 
II. 1798, to Lucy Osbnrn, of Waterbury, Connecticut, who died June i, 
1850. He died October 12. 1831, in Camden, He moved there from 
^\'in<lham in 1808. His fnurth son. }ilerritt. was a distinguished citizen 
of Henry county. Illinnis. where a township was named in his honor, and 
where he did much literary work, and owned valuable property. 

(ATI) Seidell, first of the seven children of Abel and Lucv Mun- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 755 

son, was born June 2, 1799. in \\'in(lham. New York, and died January 
22, 1873. at Watertown, New York. He was a farmer, a Republican, 
and a member of Uie Congregational church. He was married May 4, 
1825, to Amanda, daughter of Manning Barnes, who kept the first tavern 
at West Camden. She died December 1, 1869. 

(Vni) Mary Annis. second of three daughters, and third of the 
five children of Selden and Amanda Munson, born January 16, 1836, 
became the wife of John Wesley Gamble, who died in Watertown. (See 
Gamble. ) 

(VI) Jacob, second son and child of Joseph and Elizabeth (Hart) 
Munson. was born October ig. 1776, in Wallingford, Connecticut, and 
lived on a farm adjoining his father's. In January, 1798. he sold land 
in the southern part of Wallingford. and it is probable that he moved 
at that time to Deerfield. Oneida county. New York, where he died 
December 10, 1847. The strict ideas and customs of his father were 
irksome to him, and he embraced the religious ideas of Hosea Ballon, 
becoming a faithful and consistent Universalist. In politics he was a 
Democrat. He was married in 180^ to Lucy Smitli. who was born 
near Littleton. New Hampshire. Their children were born as follows: 
Henry Jacob. June 26. 1807: Erasmus Darwin. April 27. i8og; Isaac, 
March 4. 1812; Lucy. October 31. 1814: Achsah. January 18. i8j8: 
Samuel. June 17, 1821. 

(VII) Isaac, third son and child of Jacob and Lucy Munson. was 
born in Salisbury, Herkimer county, New York. March 4. 1812. He 
remained at home, working upon the farm and attending school, until 
he was seventeen, when he entered Fairfield Academy. He subsequently 
studied medicine in the College of Physicians and Surgons of Western 
New York, at Fairfield (which was then the most noted medical school 
north of Philadelphia), and graduated in January. 1834. Soon after- 
ward he removed to the Black River country, forming a partnership 
with Dr.' Ira A. Smith, of Evans's IMills. this association continuing for 
three years. Having married Miss Cornelia Stebbins, of Rutland. May 
24, 1836, at the solicitation of relatives and friends he located in that 
town, where he followed his profession until 1849. Elected clerk of 
the county, he removed to Watertown in December of that year, and 
entered upon his official duties January i. following. In 1853 he aided 
in the organization of the Agricultural Insurance Company of Water- 
town and was elected its vice-president. This connection may be desig- 
nated as one of the most important events in his life, and in the history 



756 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

of the community. As executive officer of the company, he achieved 
an almost unparalleled success, laying tlie foundation for the large 
insurance interests of the city, the investments of which are now counted 
by millions of dollars. In 1855 Dr. Alunson was the moving spirit that 
effected the radical changes in the company's policy that saved the 
farmers from being taxed upon their premium .notes to pay the losses 
of the company, and wliich would have resulted in the abandonment of 
business and the disbanding of tlie cduipany. In May of the same year 
he was elected secretary, and for ten years practically carried the 
business in his pocket. During that period the company accumulated 
a surplus of more than one hundred thousand dollars, notwithstanding 
that for eight years the business was confined to but a few counties. 
In 1S63 an effort was made to largely increase the business, and in this 
undertaking Dr. Munson gave further evidence of his masterly executive 
ability and unbounded energy. From one of tlie smallest companies in 
the state it became one of the nine of tlie one hundred and four doing 
the largest business, and but two outside the city of New York. When 
the company became so large and its interests so extensive as to demand 
an increased executive force, his influence was potent in selecting able 
advisers and assistants to aid him, and who shared with him the exacting 
labors of that period. As county clerk he discharged his duties with 
consummate ability. During this time he took up the study of law, 
rather as a necessity incident to his official position, and about the time 
of his retirement from office was admitted to practice in all the courts 
of the state. As a physician he enjoyed the respect of his professional 
brethren, and by his kindness and devotion to his duties, combined with 
a well cultivated medical ability, endeared himself to the community in 
which he practiced. He died March 8, 1886. 

(VI) Thaddeus, fourth son and child of Joseph and Elizabeth 
}kIunson. was born July 11. 1784, in Wallingford. About 1808 he mar- 
ried Clarissa Smith, who was born June 9, 1790, in Chesterfield, New 
Hampshire, and died in 1833, in Salisbury. He was a farmer, and 
passed his last years in LeRay, this county, where he died in 1839. His 
children were: Eliza, Jane and Thaddeus William. 

(VH) Jane, second daughter of Thaddeus and Clarissa Munson, 
was born IMarch 16. 18 13, in Salisbury, and was married November 19, 
1S32, to Dr. William G. Comstock, as elsewhere related. (See Com- 
stock.) After his death she married Cleanthus Parker Granger, and 
died August 14, 1883, at Evans Mills. 




Dr. Isaac llun 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 759 

(III) Samuel (J), eldest son of Samuel and ^lartha (Bradley) 
]\Iun.son, was liorn February 2S, lOrig, in W'allingford, and married 
Martha (surname unknown), who died January 7, 1707. He was mar- 
ried (secon<!) March 10, 1708, to ]\Iary, widow of Caleb Alerriman, 
and daughter of Deacon Eliasaph Preston. He died November 23, 1741- 
In 1690 his father deeded to him a dwelling house and barn and one- 
half of the "accommodations," and he subseciuently received thirty acres 
of land from the town, "'gratis." He bought and sold numerous small 
parcels of land, and was a very active man of affairs. On December 25, 
171 T, he was elected town clerk, and at various times served the town 
in almost every official capacitv, such as fence viewer, lister, hay ward, 
town treasurer, rate collector, school committeeman, townsman, ensign, 
recorder, selectman, and proprietors' and society clerk. 

(IV) Waitstill. son nf Samuel (2) and Martha Munson, was 
born December 12, 1697. in Wallingford. and was married December 
10, 1719, to Phebe, daughter of Caleb and Mary (Preston) Merriman, 
child of his step-mother by her first marriage. She was born September 
16, 1699, and was buried December 11, 1772. Mr. Munson died March 
6, 1789, in Wallingford, where he resided. His residence was in the 
eastern part of the town, and he bought and sold much land. In 1729 
he was grand juror, and in 1743 filled that office and that of surveyor 
of highways, simultaneously. 

(V) Reuben, son of Waitstill and Phebe (Merriman) Munson, 
was born May 19, 1721, in Wallingford, and lived in that town and 
Farmington. In 1753 he bought land in what is now Southington, south- 
east of the "Great plains" (now Plainville). He died June 7, 1780. 
He was married December 29, 1741, to Mary Chittenden, who survived 
him many years, passing away January 15, 1801. 

(VI) Martha, ninth child of Reuben and Mary (Chittenden) 
Munson, was born October 12, 1760, in Southington, and was married 
June 26. 1782, to Ezekiel Andrus. (See Andrus, IV.) 

HON. CUSHMAN KELLOCG DAVIS, a lawyer and states- 
man of high ability, who died in St. Paul, Minnesota. November 27, 
1900. was a native of the state nf New York, Ijorn in Henderson, Jef- 
ferson county, June 16, 1838. 

He came of a notable ancestry. In the maternal line he was a lineal 
descendant of Thomas Cushman, a son of Robert Cushman, who was 
the financial agent who fitted out the two historic vessels, the Mayflower 



760 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

and the Speedwell, and who was largely inslrumental in procuring the 
Massachusetts grant from King James I. In the maternal line Mr. Davis 
was a descendant of Mary Allerton, who was last of the Mayflower 
passengers to survive. His parents were Horatio Nelson and Clarissa 
(Cushman) Davis. The father was a pioneer settler in Wisconsin in 
the year in which the son was born. He was a captain in the Union army 
(luring the Civil war, serving during tlie entire duration of the con- 
flict, and for several vears he was state senator from Rock county, Wis- 
consin. 

Cushman K. Davis was but a few months old when his parents 
removed to \A'isconsin, and he was reared and educated in that state. 
His first schooling was in a primitive log schoolhouse, and he was after- 
wards in turn a student in Carroll College, Waukesha, and the famous 
University of JMichigan at Ann Arlxjr, and he graduated from the latter 
named in 1S57 at the age of nineteen. He then studied law, and was 
admitted to the bar in the year of his attaining his majority. He was 
well established in practice in Waukesha when the Civil war broke out, 
and in its first year he laid aside his law books and entered the army 
as second lieutenant in the Twenty-eighth Regiment Wisconsin Volun- 
teers. He subsequently became assistant adjutant general with the rank 
of captain, serving on the staff of Brigadier General Willis A. Gorman. 
He participated in various of the most momentous campaigns of the 
Army of the Mississippi, including the siege of Vickshurg and the Red 
River operations. He performed the full measure of a soldier's duty 
with courage and aliility until late in 1864, when he contracted typhoid 
fe\'er and was of necessitv obliged to resign. 

Having reco\ered his healtli, in 1865 Mr. Davis removed to St. 
Paul, where he was soon activelv employed with a large and important 
practice, which included some of the most notable cases known in the 
judicial annals of the state. His first cause cclchrc was the trial of 
George L. Van Solen, for murder, in which he appeared for the accused, 
whom he successfully defended in face of what appeared at the outset 
and before it was subjected to his keen analysis, an overwhelming mass 
of circumstantial evidence. In 1S78 he defended Judge Sherman Page,, 
who was impeached before the senate of Minnesota, and for whom he 
secured an honorable acquittal. He was concerned in much of the most 
important legislation in the state during the remainder of his life, sus- 
taining to the last the reputation of a thoroughly equipped and unusually 
resourceful lawver, and a brilliant advocate. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 761 

A Republican in politics, he came to a position of leadership in his 
party at the moment of coming to Minnesota. In 1866 he was elected 
to the legislature, and proved himself one of the most able and far- 
sighted members of that body. From 1867 to 1871 he \Yas United 
States district attorney of Minnesota by presidential appointment. In 
1873 he was nominated for governor. In the ensuing campaign he 
went before the people and with great ability and enthusiasm advocated 
various policies which were novel at the time, but time demonstrated 
their value and vindicated his prescience and judgment, .\mong these 
was his contention for the right and duty of the legislature to regulate 
passenger and freight rates on railroads, in which he anticipated the 
national Congress with its interstate commerce laws. Following his 
electitm, he recommended the passage of such an act as he had fore- 
shadowed, and the act formulated after his ideas was passed and re- 
ceived his gubernatorial signature making it a law. On the expiration 
of his term he declined a renomination, and left the executive chair with 
a splendid record for ability and integrity. 

In 1875 and again in 1881 the name of Mr. Davis was presented 
as a candidate for the United States senate, but his canvass was unsuc- 
cessful. He was elected, howe\-er, in 1887, and succeeded himself by 
re-election in 1893. During his entire first senatorial term he was chair- 
man of the committee on pensions, and was author of the act of that 
session which ended the attempts for the enactment of extravagant pen- 
sion legislation. He was an earnest champion of the Sault Ste. Marie 
canal, and it was through his effort that the old-time prodigal and un- 
businesslike methods of work were abandoned, and the contract system 
substituted therefor. For four years he was one of the most active 
members of the foreign relations committee. In this capacity he severely 
criticised the policy of President Cleveland in the Hawaii embroglio. 
His speech on the questions at issue between Great Britain and the 
United States respecting Venezuela was one of tremendous force and 
exhaustiveness, and the principles which he enunciated formed the basis 
upon which the treaty between Great Britain and Venezuela was formu- 
lated. In 1894 he made a vigorous speech in defense of President 
Cleveland for his action in the suppression of \-iolence during the Chi- 
cago riots and in the restoration of order, and his utterance, more than 
that of all others, disarmed the opposition against the chief executive 
in that critical hour. Mr. Davis's last conspicuous appearance in the 
.senate was in a peculiarly dramatic scene. As chairman of the foreign 



762 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

relations committee he reported to the senate, un April 13, 1898, a 
series of resolutions which formed a practical declaration of war against 
Spain. In August following it was his distinction tcj be a principal 
actor in bringing to a close the struggle which he, in a sense, had in- 
augurated, by becoming a member of the Spanish-American Peace Com- 
mission. And this splendid service \vas practically the crowning and 
concluding act of his long, useful and brilliant public career. 

^Ir. Davis was a man of fine literary attainments and instincts. He 
was a deep student of French and English history and literature, and his 
library was unusually rich in Napoleona and Shakespeariana. He was 
author of two valuable works — "Modern Feudalism" (1870), and "Law 
in Shakespeare" (1884). In 1886 the University of Michigan con- 
ferred upon him the honorary degree of Doctor of Laws. 

Mr. Davis was married, in 1880, to Miss Anna Malcom Agnew, 
of St. Paul, Minnesota. 

EDMUND OUINCY SEWALL, who for nearly half a century 
stood in the minds of the citizens of Watertown as a type of all that is 
best in the social, religious and political life of the community, was a 
representative of a family which, from the colonial period down to. the 
present time, has given to the country, and more especially to New 
England, some of its noblest citizens. 

The progenitor of the race was among the knights wdio accom- 
panied Duke William of Normandy to England and 'shared in the con- 
flicts and rewards of the Conquest. On the wall of St. Mary's Hall 
in the old city of Coventry is inscribed the name of Henry Sewall, who 
in the reign of "good Queen Bess" was ma_\'or of the city which was 
then second in importance to London alone. Henry Sew^all was held 
in honor by his fellow citizens, and was several times re-elected to the 
mayoralty. This office was held about 1600 by another Henry Sewall, 
nephew of the preceding. This second Henry Sewall, who was a trades- 
man of Coventry, belonged to the large and constantly increasing body 
of Puritans. It was possibly in consequence of his religious belief that 
he was moved during the latter part of his life to cast in his lot with 
those of his countrymen who had made a home for themselves in the 
American wilderness, and to send his son Henry in advance to the 
Massachusetts colony, well provided with means. This son settled in 
1634 in Newbury, where he was soon after joined by his father. 

(IV) Samuel Sewall, son of the third Henrv Sewall, was born 






(Z.^. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 763 

March j8, 1652, according to some authorities, at Bishopstoke, Eng- 
land, and graduated in 1671 from Harvard College. He afterward 
remained in the institution, studying theology and at the same time 
acting as librarian, but his marriage in 1676 with the daughter of the 
mintmaster, John Hull, diverted the current of his life. After the mar- 
riage (which is the subject of a popular colonial tradition graphically 
related by Hawthorne) , Samuel Sewall became an assistant in his father- 
in-law's business and ultimately acquired a large estate. In 1684 he 
was made assistant governor, and as such in 1686 surrendered the colo- 
nial charter to Sir Edmund Andros. In 1688-9 he visited England and 
during his absence the government of Andros was (Overthrown. In 
1692 he was made a judge and also a member of the executive council. 
He was the only member of that body who consistently advocated the 
rights of the people when they came into collision with the prerogatives 
of the crown. It is a strong pr^of of the prevalence of superstition in 
that age that even his powerful and enlightened intellect was not able 
to resist the baleful and universal influence of the witchcraft delusion. 
In 1692 he presided at the trial of some of the victims. His subsequent 
self-condemnation and noble public confession of wrongdoing have shed 
additional lustre on his name. In religion he was a strong Puritan and 
was an advocate and supporter of Indian missions. To Samuel Sewall 
belongs the undying honor of having been the first to bear witness with 
his pen against the folly anfl wickedness of African slavery. In 17 18 
he was promoted to be chief justice nf the colony and held that office 
ten years. He died in Boston, January i, 1730, leaving a name second 
to none in the colonial annals of New England. 

(V) Joseph Sewall, son of Samuel Sewall, was born in 1688, 
graduated at Harvard College in 1707, and in 1713 became assistant 
pastor of the Old South church. In the course of time he became head 
pastor, and his connection with the church, which covered a period 
of fifty-six years, was terminated only by his death. In 1724, when 
he was called to the presidency of Harvard College, he declined on 
account of the reluctance of his congregation to part with him. In 1727, 
when all the ministers in the colonies preached on the death of George 
the First and the accession of his son, Mr. Sewall in his sermon laid 
greater stress upon the obligations of kings to their people than upon 
the duties of subjects to their sovereign. He was a member of the 
Society for Propagating the Gospel in New England, and in 1740 gave 
his approval to the preaching of Whitefield. He contributed to the 



764 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

support of needy students at Harvard College. His death occurred in 
Boston, June 27, 1769. 

(VI) Samuel Sewall. one of the two sons of Joseph Sewall, grad- 
uated at Harvard College in 1733. He was a Boston merchant, and 
married Elizabeth, daughter of Edmund Ouincy. a member of the 
distinguished family of that name. 

(Vn) Samuel Sewall. eldest son of Samuel and Elizalaeth 
(Ouincy) Sewall. was born in T757 and graduated at Har\-ard College 
in 1776. He adopted tlie profession of the law, was frecpiently elected 
to the state legislature, and in 1797 to Congress. In 1800 he was made 
judg^e of the supreme court of Massachusetts and in 1813 chief justice. 
He married Abigail Devereux, who belonged to a well known family 
of Salem. Judge Sewall died June S, 1814. at Wiscasset. Maine, whither 
he had gone to hold court. 

(VIII) Henry Devereux Sewall. second son of Samuel and Abi- 
gail (Devereux) Sewall, was intended for a mercantile career and was 
not given a college education. In 1807 he went to Portland, where he 
was employed in a branch establishment of one of the business houses 
of Boston. In 181 t he moved the business to Montreal, Canada, and 
in 1813. owing to the war with England, was required either to take 
the oath of allegiance or to leave Canada. He chose the latter alternative 
and abandoned his business. Being obliged to return to Montreal during 
the year, he was arrested as a spy, but succeeded in proving his inno- 
cence. In 1814 he traveled for a time in western New York, collecting 
debts, and was afterward engaged for some years in foreign shipping 
and commission business in New York city. In 1828 he began to build a 
home for himself on Sewall's Island, and, in May, 1829, he and his 
family moved to ^^'atertown, taking ]iossession of their new home on 
October 17th. Mr. Sewall did much to advance the prosperity of 
A\'atertown by his interest in manufactures, and erected the original 
structure of Bagley iS: SewalTs Machine ^^'orks. When the first Trinity 
church was built in Court street the greater part of the expense was 
l)orne by Mr. Sewall. he and his family being members of the congre- 
gation. 

Mr. Sewall married Mar_\- Catherine Norton, who belonged to a 
well known family of Connecticut which was founded in October, 1635, 
by John Norton, who then landed in Plymouth, ^Massachusetts, and 
became a famous preacher in the colony, John Norton traced his de- 
scent from (me De Nor\ille, who was constable under ^^'illiam the 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 7U5 

Conqueror. Mr. and ]Mrs. Sewall were the parents of nine children, 
only one of whom, Walter Devereux Sewall, is now living. Mrs. 
Sewall died in Decemher, 1840, and her hushand passed away in June, 
1846. He is remembered not only as a successful merchant, laut as a 
man of literary attainments and poetic gifts, who counted among the 
names of his friends those of William Cullen Bryant and others dis- 
tinguished in the literary circles of Boston and New York. 

(IX) Edmund Ouincy Sewall, son of Henry Devereux and Mary 
Catherine (Norton) Sewall, was born July i, 1826, in New York city, 
and was three years old when brought by his parents to Watertown. 
Here he attended the common schools, and at the age of fourteen entered 
Harvard University, from which he graduated at eighteen. He applied 
himself to the study of the law and spent two years at Heidelberg, 
Germany. For one year he was associated with the law firm of ^Mullin 
& Goodale, and then, feeling a decided preference for a mercantile 
career, engaged in business with George A. Bagley, under the firm 
name of Bagley & Sewall. This connection was maintained until the 
death of Mr. Sewall. The firm did a flourishing business as manufac- 
turers of machines and other iron products. The works were situated 
on Sewall's Island, a place noted for the number and magnitude of its 
manufactures. The Bagley & Sewall Company was incorporated July 
G, 1882. Mr. Sewall was iine of the incorporators of the National Union 
Bank and was a director in several similar institutions. There were 
few things in which Mr. Sewall took a more li^'el}' interest than in the 
cause of education and the improvement of the school system. This 
object he was ever ready to do^ all in his power to aid, and from 1882 
to 1884 served as president of the board of education. His benevolence 
was great and his works of charity numerous. The old hospital of 
Watertown was much indebted to his beneficence. He was an active 
member of Trinity (Protestant Episcopal) church, in which he served 
as vestryman. He was a fine musician and consecrated his gifts to 
the service of the church, officiating for thirty years as organist without 
compensation. 

Air. Sewall married June 28, 1866. Katherine, daughter of the late 
Major Henrv Smith, a distinguished officer in the United States army, 
who, during the Mexican war, commanded at Vera Cruz. Four children 
were born to Air. and Mrs. Sewall: Grace Foster, who married W. C. 
Stebbins, of Watertown; Edith Norton, who is the wife of Charles W. 



766 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Valentine: Josephine Devereux. wife of Dr. Kendall Emerson, of 
Worcester. jMassachnsetts : and Elizabeth Ouincy. 

The death of ~Mr. Sewall. which took place Angust 21, 1892, at his 
home in Watertown. removed from the community one who will long 
he remembered as an honorable citizen, a true friend and an upright, 
lienevolent man. In his character was seen the rare combination of a 
remarkably successful business man and a ripe scholar. His attain- 
ments as a linguist were great and bis general culture extremely broad. 
There was proliably no citizen whose loss would have been more deeply 
felt. His famil}' were made to realize that tliey were not alone in their 
affliction, but that all classes of the community shared with them, to a 
certain degree, a sense of personal bereaxement. 'Sir. Sewall's widow, 
who still survives him. is one of the directors of the Bagley & Sewall 
Company. 

CRANSOX ORVILLE GATES, one of the nation's brave de- 
fenders during the Civil war. is a native of the town of Wilna, born 
July 3, 1841, a son of one of its pioneer settlers.- His ancestors on both 
sides included soldiers, and he came by his military spirit Ijv inher- 
itance. 

(I) Thomas Gates. Esq.. of Higheaster and Thursteubie. county 
of Essex, England, liorn in 1327. v.as the original ancestor of the family, 
so far as now known. 

(II) William Gates was the father of two children: Geofifrev and 
Ralph Cliies. 

(III) Sir Geoffrey Gates married Agnes, daughter and heiress 
of Sir Thomas Baldington, of Aldersburg, Oxford, England. 

(IV) W'illiam Gates married Mabel, daughter and heiress of 
Thomas Capdow. of Higheaster. and his wife, Ann, daughter of Thomas 
I'leming. of Essex. Their children were: Geoffrey and Anna. 

(Vj Sir Geoffrey Gates married Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Will- 
iam Clapton Knight, of Kantwell. Sussex. Their children were: Sir 
John. Geoffrey, Henry, William and Dorothy. 

(VI) Geoffrey Gates married a ^liss Pascall, of Essex, England. 
Their children wcrt: Geoft'rey. Henry and John. 

(X'll) Geoft'rey Gates married Jean Wentworth. 

(VIII) Peter Gates, of London, married Mary Josselyn. 

(IX) Thomas Gates was a resident of X'orwich, X^orfolk, Eng- 
land. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 767 

(X) Stephen Gates, second son of Thomas Gates, the first Amer- 
ican ancestor of the famil}-, came from Hingham, England, to Hing- 
ham. Massachnsetts, in the ship Diligent of Ipswich, in i('<^8, accom- 
panied by his wife, Ann (Hill) Gates, and two children. He was among 
the first residents of Lancaster, and subsequent to the year 1C56 was a 
resident of Cambridge, where he died in 16G2. \Ye are led to belie\'e 
that he and his family were of stubborn and independent character, from 
facts that he cjuarreled with his neighbor and lost his constable's stafY, 
his daughter Mary contradicted the minister in open meeting, and his 
sons tried to break his will. In 1663 his widow became the wife of 
Richard Woodward, of Watertown. She died at Stow, February 5., 
1683. Their descendants participated in the Indian wars. Revolutionary 
war, and wars of 1812 and 1861 : one enlisted in the Revolutionary war 
at the age of ten years. Their children were : Elizabeth, Mary, Ste- 
phen, Thomas, Simon, Isaac and Rebecca. 

(XI) Simon Gates, third son and fifth child of Stephen and Ann 
(Hill) Gates, was liorn in Hingham. Massachusetts, in 1645, ^nd died 
April 21, 1693. at Brockton. His wife Mary was a native of Cam- 
bridge, where he resided for a time, but subsequently made his home 
in Lancaster and Muddy River. He inherited his father's estate at 
Cambridge. Their children were: Abraham, Simon (died young), 
Simon, George, Amos, Jonathan. Samuel and Mary. 

(XII) Amos Gates, born in 1681, died in 1754. at Framingham, 
Massachusetts. He married. May ig, 1703, Hannah Oldham, daughter 
of Samuel and Hannah (Dana) Oldham, born October 10, 1681. They 
resided at Brookline, Cambridge and Framingham. Massachusetts, his 
death occurring at the latter named place. Their children were : Han- 
nah, Margaret, Abigail. Mary, Amos. Oldham. Susannah. Samuel and 
Sarah. 

(XIII) Amos Gates, eldest son and fifth child of Amos and Han- 
nah (Oldham) Gates, born in 1714. baptized October 3. 1714. died in 
1800. at Marlborough. X^ew Hampshire. He married. November 28. 
1744, Mary Trowbridge, daughter of John and Mehitable (Eaton) 
Trowbridge, of Framingham, Massachusetts, Ijorn June 2y. 1728. He 
served as a sergeant in the French and Indian war. and is supposed to 
have served in the Revolutionary war. though from his age and various 
other things this is somewhat doubtful. They resided in Framingham 
until 1799. and then removed to Marlbomugh. New Hampshire. Their 



768 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

cliildren were ; Amos, Mary, Anna, George. Charles, Henry, Oldham, 
Edmund, JNIartha, Ruth, Susannah and John. 

(XIV) John Gates, youngest child ot Amos and Alary (Trow- 
bridge) Gates, born in 1772, baptized Alay 31, 1772, at Framingham, 
Massachusetts, died in 1844. He married (tirst), January 5, 1795, 
Eunice Winch, born October 26, 1770, died November 16, 1803, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Mary (Beals) Winch, of Framingham, Massachu- 
setts. He married (second), October 21, 1805, Jemima Harvey, daugh- 
ter of Timothy and Martha Harvey, of Marlborough, New Hampshire. 
They resided at Framingham, Massachusetts, for a short time, after 
wiiich they removed to Keene, New Hampshire, and thence to Cornish, 
New Hampshire. His children Ijy his first wife were : Leonard, Susan, 
Eunice and John. The children by his second wife were: Cranston, 
Alvira, JMartha, George. Henry, Timothy, Harvey, Charles, Edmund, 
Lucia and Amanda. 

(XV) Cranston Gates, eldest child of John and Jemima (Har- 
vey) Gates, and fourth child of the former, born May 6, 1810, in Cor- 
nish, New Hampshire, was reared on a farm on Cornish Flats. He . 
had very limited educational opportunities, Ijut withal became a useful 
citizen of Jefferson county. He came to Wilna in 1829, and worked 
through the season in the employ of Edmund Rawson, helping to build 
a dam on the site of the one now maintained at Herring, on Black river, 
between Wilna and Champion. Returning to Cornish, he remained one 
year, and was married to Susan Vinton. In the fall of 1831 he took up 
his residence here permanently, and bought two hundred and sixty 
acres of land, which he began to improve. He became a large farmer 
and sawmill operator, and owned sixteen hundred acres at one time. 
Much of this land was purchased to secure the timber growing upon it, 
and he made large amounts of lumber for building purposes. The son 
helped to haul to Watertown from his father's mills much of the lumber 
now forming a part of the .Arcade in that city. Mr. Gates continued 
in the manufacture of lumber until his death, on July 7, 1873, and was 
survived by his widow until August, 1875. She was a descendant of 
one of the earliest Massachusetts families, including a Revolutionary 
soldier, as shown in the genealogy aijpearing as a part of this article. 

Both Mr. Gates and his wife were among the leading members 
of the Disciples' church at Carthage, of whose Sunday-school he was 
superintendent for many years. He built the church edifice (which was 
afterward destroyed by fire) uiion contract, and donated seven hundred 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 709 

dollars of the cost. In early life he was a Alethodist, but was among 
the chief supporters of the Disciples' church from its organization. He 
was a Whig and abolitionist, and among the most earnest Republicans 
after the organization of the party. He was captain of the local Militia 
company, and served as highway commissioner of Wilna many years. 
His family included five sons and two daughters. Vinton, the eldest, 
is now a resident of Buffalo. Frederick died in Wilna, in 1874. Linus 
lived in the town of Denmark and was a lumber jobber, and died as 
the result of exposure on a log-drive. Julius K. resides upon the home- 
stead, site of the sawmill operated so many years by his father. Maria 
died in 1868, while the wife of Aaron Crane, of Wilna. Susan married 
William Scott and resides on part of the parental homestead. 

(XVI) Cranson O. Gates, youngest of his father's children, grew 
up in Wilna, attending the district school and the academy at Carthage. 
In the meantime he made himself useful on the farm and about the 
sawmill, and continued with his father until he was twenty-three years 
old, renting the home farm during the last year of this time. 

In 1864 he enlisted as a member of Captain H. J. Welch's com- 
pany, namely A, of the One Hundred and Eighty-sixth Regiment, New 
York Volunteers, and was twice wounded in the service. At one time, 
during the capture of Petersburg, he was cut through the lid of the 
left eye by a bayonet, while on a charge, and later in the same engage- 
ment, received a gunshot wound in the left leg, disabling him so that 
he was unable to bear further part in hostilities, and he was discharged 
from Jarvis Hospital at Baltimore. For more than a year he could not 
touch his left foot to the floor, and his escape from permanent disability 
is remarkable. 

After recovering his health he engaged in making charcoal for 
some time, and subsequently purchased his father's sawmill, which he 
operated until 1876. In that year he moved to Carthage, and has since 
been employed at millwright and carpenter work and contracting. He 
has constructed many houses and other buildings, in the village and 
surrounding country, his latest large work being the completion of M. 
P. Alason's factory in West Carthage. He has been a busy man and 
has employed ten men much of the time in his operations. 

]Mr. Gates afSliates with E. B. Steele Post, Grand Army of the 
Republic, of Carthage, and was made a Free IMason in Carthage Lodge 
in 1866. He is a member of the Disciples' church, and an earnest Re- 



770 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

pul)lican in politics. In 1874 he served as collector of the town of 
Wilna. 

He has been married three times, first on ■March 18, 1863, the bride 
being Miss Susan Osborn, who died in 1866, surviving her only child, 
Orville. September 10. 1868, Mr. Gates married Mary McDonald, a 
native of Wilna, daughter of Thomas McDonald, of Irish birth and 
Scotch ancestry. She died December 14, 1874, leaving five children. 
Orville, the eldest, is a carpenter, residing in Carthage. Welton died 
at the age of seventeen years. Deborah died in 1898. being the wife 
of Grant Gardner. Susan died in 1897, and Mary died at the age of 
eighteen. Mr. Gates \\as married, at Croghan, November 30, 1880, to 
Catherine Connolly, \\ho was born in Carthage, daughter of John and 
Bridget (Leonard) Connolly, natives of Ireland. The children of this 
marriage were born as follows: Leonard, April 4. 1S83: Agnes. April 
26, 1885; John Earl, March 31, tS88; Roy, January 24, 1890: Edna, 
November 30, 1892: Donald Morris, August 30, 1903. 

VINTON. The Vinton family is of ancient lineage and distin- 
gm'shed in the colonial annals of this coimtry. 

(I) John Vinton is first of record at Lynn, INIassachusetts, in 
1648. His wife's name was .Ann. 

(II) John Vinton (2). son of John ( i ), was born March 2, 
1650, and married. August 26, 1677, Hannah Green, who was l)orn 
February 24, 1660. He lived at Lynn and Woburn, Massachusetts. 

(III) John Vinton (3) married (first). March 9, 1702-3, Abi- 
gail Richardson, and lived at Stoneham and Wolnirn. 

(TV) Joseph Richardson Vinton, son of John (3), was born 
July 24, 1714, in Stoneham, and married Hannah Baldwin, of that 
place, February 17, 1733-4. Later he moved to Dudley, Massachusetts, 
where the lialance of his life was passed. 

(V) J(jhn Vinton (4) was born Feliruary 14, 1742. and mar- 
ried Dorothy Holmes, of Woodstock, Connecticut. He lived in Dudley 
and tliat part of Charlton which became Southbridge. Mr. \'inton was 
a ])atriot of the Revnhuion. serving in a company of minute-men, com- 
manded I>y Captain Nathaniel Healy. in Colonel Ebenezer Larned's regi- 
ment, that marched to Lexington on the alarm, April 19. 1775. He 
was also in a com])any commanded by the same caj^tain, in Colonel Jona- 
than Holman's regiment, whicli marched on the alarm to Providence, 
Rhode Island, performing twenty-one days' service. Mr. Vinton v.-as 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 771 

one of the largest landholders in Charlton, where he died in 1814. His 
widow snrvived until 1834, reicbing the venerable age (if ninety-nne 
years. 

(VI) Major John Vinton, liorn in 1 7'')0. married Snsanna Man- 
ning, of \\"oodstock, Connecticut, in 1784. He served in the Revolu- 
tion, from 1777 to 1780. In 1787 he moved to Cornish, New Hamp- 
sliire, where he was a i.ilacksmitJi and a prosperous farmer. He was 
a man of considerable note in the town, served as major of militia, was 
deputy sheriff and a large propertydiolder. He was a \-ery large man, 
weighing three hundred and fifty pounds or more. 

(VII) Susan M. Vinton, daughter of Major John an<l Susanna 
Vinton, was born in January, 1799, and was married, in April. 1831, 
to Cranston Gates, with whom she moved to Wilna, Xew VLirk (see 
Gates, XV). 

TOLMAN. This name, for generations in New England and, 
later, in the state of New York, has been borne and honored by patriots, 
pioneers and upright citizens in every walk of civil life. The descend- 
ants in Jefferson county bear the blood of several of the best families 
in America, have kept intact the character of a woithy ancestry, and 
have enjoyed the esteem and friendship of those privileged to know 
them. 

(I) The American ancestor of this family was Thomas Tolman, who 
came to Boston from England, in the year 1635-6, accompanied by his 
wife, Sarah, and their four children. He purchased a large tract of 
land in Dorchester, west of Neponset bridge, and built his residence on 
the north side of the creek. He was made a freeman in 1640, and re- 
sided on this property until his death, rearing a large family of chil- 
dren, several of whom were born there. His will was probated in Bos- 
ton. 

(II) John, son of Thomas Tolman, was born in 1642, in Dorches- 
ter, Massachusetts, and was made a freeman in 1678. He married (first) 
Elizabeth Collins, daughter of John Collins, of Lynn. She was Ixirn, 
probably, April 8, 1656, and died October 7, 1690. He married, June 
15, 1692, Mary Paul, who bore him no offspring. He died January i, 
1725, aged eighty-two years. 

(III) Henty, son of John and Elizabeth (Collins) Tolman, was 
bom March 4, 1679, in Dorchester, where he resided until after his chil- 
dren were born. Removing to Attleborough, he dwelt there until his 



7Y2 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

death, at an advanced age. His wife, Hannah (surname unknown), 
died November ii, 1735. Their children were: Ehzabeth, Henry, 
Hannah and iVlolly. 

(IV) Henry (2), only son of Henry (i) and Hannah Tolman, 
was born February 23, 1709, at Dorchester, and married Mary Slack, 
daughter of Deacon Benjamin Slack, of Attleborough. His home was 
in the latter town, where he died December 25, 1762. His wife passed 
away December 26, 1785, at Fitz-William, New Hampshire. Their chil- 
dren were: Ruth, Thomas, Henry, John, Anne, Ebenezer, William, 
Joseph, Chloe and Benjamin. 

(V) Ebenezer, fourth son and sixth child of Henry (2) and Mary 
(Slack) Tolman, was born May 31, 1748, in Attleborough, Massachu- 
setts, and was deprived of his father by death when only fourteen years 
of age. He resided in the family of his maternal grandfather. Deacon 
Benjamin Slack, who was a wealthy farmer, until of age. In the mean- 
time he learned the trade of carpenter, and on attaining his majority 
removed to Fitz-William, New Hampshire, where he was engaged on 
building operations until the beginning of the Revolutionary war. He 
was one of the early volunteers, and participated in the battle of Bunker 
Hill. In the autumn of 1775, he became a member of Captain Ward's 
company, which was a part of Colonel Benedict Arnold's command 
(consisting of one thousand men) in the desperate expedition against 
Quebec, begim at that time. They made their way from Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, up the Kennebec river, and through the wilderness to 
the Chaudiere, intending to descend that stream to Point Levi. The 
march was one of untold hardship and suffering, through the deep 
snows amid intense cold, and the men were brought to the verge of star- 
vation. They killed and ate dogs, and even devoured their moose-skin 
moccasins, in the extremity of hunger. Finally arriving at Quebec, 
they participated in the assault on that city, on the last day of the year 
1775, and Arnold's men succeeded in getting into the lower town, but 
were overwhelmed by superior numbers and most of the command were 
made prisoners. Among this band of heroes was Ebenezer Tolman, 
who, with others, made an effort to escape, and was detected and kept 
in irons for some time. Upon his release he returned to his home and 
entered the Colonial army as sergeant, but the hardships endured in the 
preceding winter had so undermined his health that he was forced to 
leave the service. He followed farming six years at Fitz-William, New 
Hampshire, and removed to Marlboro, same state, where he continued 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. Tf3 

three years. At the end of this period he settled in Nelson, New Hamp- 
shire, where he continued to dwell until his death, December 27, 1838. 
He was married, at New Ipswich, New Hampshire, in March, 1781, 
to Mary Clarke, who was born February 16, 1756, and died March 18, 
1834. She was a daughter of William and Sarah (Loct^e) Clarke, of 
Townsend, Massachusetts. William Clarke was of the same family as 
Rev. Dr. Adam Clarke, author of Clarke's Commentaries. Sarah Locke 
traced descent from William Locke, who came to America in 1O34. 
Following is a brief account of the children of Ebenezer and Mary 
(Clarke) Tolman : Polly, born February 16, 1782, at Fitz-William, died 
August 18, 1796. Ebenezer, born April 23, 1784, died in 1875. receives 
further mention in this article. George, May 31, 1785, died I^Liy 10, 
1874, in Nelson. Betsey, born at Marlborough, New Hampshire, June 
2, 1788, married (April 27, 1817), Thomas Baker, of the town of Wa- 
tertown, this county. Cynthia, born June 25, 1793, at Nelson, New 
Hampshire, was married in 1816 to Josiah Richardson, of Watertown, 
William, born 1795, in Nelson, receives further mention below. Mary, 
born February 11, 1798, in Nelson, was married September 21, 1836, 
to Captain Christopher C. Rich, of Richville, St. Lawrence county. New 
York. She died August 3, 1870. Cyrus C, March 16, 1800, at Nelson 
married Lucy Abbott, and died on the homestead there, August 15, 1857. 
Ebenezer Tolman, senior, stood over six feet and two inches 
in height, with muscular development in proportion. At one time, 
while going up the Kennebec river on a boat, it was compelled to wait 
for the tide in crossing a bar. A company of roughs on board sought 
to amuse themselves at the expense of their fellow passengers. They 
made a rule that each man must treat or be shaved. This process con- 
sisted in besmearing the face with malodorous grease and scraping it off 
with a wooden razor. When they approached Mr. Tolman to learn his 
choice, he threw them, one after the other, over the rail into the river and 
was not further molested. He built the first house in the present city 
of Haverhill, New Hampshire, for the founder, Colonel Haverhill. 
While he received little education, as far as books go, he possessed un- 
usual intelligence, and was well informed, through experience and ob- 
servation. He believed in education and saw that his children had the 
best opportunities of their time. His service in the struggle which 
freed his country from oppression should make his name honored by all 
his descendants, and he shares in the glory which attaches to the heroes 
of the Revolution in the mind of every patriotic citizen. 



774 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

(VI) Ebenezer, eldest son and second child of Ebenezer and Mary 
(Clarke) Tolman, was born April 23, 1784, in Fitz-William, New Hamp- 
shire, and passed his early life after the manner of New England farm- 
ers' sons in the town of Nelson, same state. He became a resident of 
Jefferson county in 1817, accompanying his younger brother, William, 
and three sisters in the migration. He located on land in the southeastern 
part of the town of Watertown, near the present school house number 
10, and cleared up and developed a farm in the wilderness. This farm 
is now occupied by his grandson, Charles A. Tolman, and is one of the 
best in the town. Mr. Tolman was a thorough-going man, industrious 
and attentive to his own concerns, and became successful as a farmer and 
was respected as a citizen. His integrity of character and honesty of 
purpose were never successfully assailed, and he led a life worthy of emu- 
lation, ever ready to meet every duty and obligation in a manly way, 
without ostentation. 

Mr. Tolman was married,. May 5, 1816, to Miss Hopeful Randall, a 
native of Massachusetts, who died IMarch 23, 1845. She was a woman 
of amiable and consistent character, a faithful member of the Burrville 
Congregational church, as was also her husband. He survived her 
many years, passing away P'ebruary 7, 1875. They were the parents of 
seven cluldren. 

(VH) Augustus Tolman, son of Ebenezer (2) and Hopeful (Ran- 
dall) Tolman, was born January 4, 1818, on the homestead where his 
father settled the previous year. He passed his life upon that farm, at- 
tending the local public school in his boyhood. Habits of industry and 
frugality were early inculcated and adopted, and he became a successful 
agriculturist, succeeding his father in the ownership of the farm. This 
he tilled throughout his active life, and enjoyed the confidence and es- 
teem of those who had opportunity to know his character. A Whig in 
early life, he continued steadfast in support of his principles when they 
became the basis of organization of the Republican party. He was nf 
quiet disposition, and sought no part in the management of public af- 
fairs, but was firm in adherence to principle and took a keen interest in 
the progress and welfare of his town and the whole country. 

Mr. Tolman was married February 16, 1853, to Sarah Louisa God- 
dard, who was born May 25, 1825, in the town of Clayton, a daughter 
of Nathan F. and IMatilda (Joddard. Mr. and Mrs. Tolman were the 
parents of a son and had an adopted daughter, Charles A. and Luella 
A. The latter died August 25, 1897, in Ogdensburg. :Mr. Tolman died 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 775 

December i8, i8S8, on the old family homestead, and his wife survived 
him more than three years, passing away at the same place, April 15, 
1892. 

(VIII) Charles Augustus, only son of Augustus and Sarah L. 
(Goddard) Tolman, was born November 4, 1853, on the farm where he 
now resides, which was located by his grandfather in 18 18, and on which 
his father dwelt all his life. He attended the local school, the Water- 
town high school and Hungerford Collegiate Institute at Adams. He 
Remained at home and assisted in the cultivation of the farm, to whose 
ownership he succeeded in time. He is one of the prosperous dairy 
farmers of the town, and an active member of Watertown Grange No. 
7. He has ever cast his influence and vote with the Republican party. 
Mr. Tolman inherits in marked degree the traits of a worthy ancestry, 
and fills an important place in the affairs of his home town. 

He was married, j\Iay 12, 1880, to Emma Augusta Wilder, daugh- 
ter of George Joselin and Marcia Victoria (Sheldon) Wilder (see 
Wilder, VIII). Three children, all born on the homestead, complete 
the family of Mr. and Mrs. Tolman. Lena Louise, the eldest, was born 
May 30, 1883, and was educated at the local public school and the Car- 
thage high school. She resides at home with her parents. Win Augustus, 
born January 19, 1890, and Lenore Marcia, October 6, 1891, are stu- 
dents of the public schools. 

(VI) William Tolman, third son and si.xth child of Ebenezer and 
Mary (Clarke) Tolman, was born November 7, 1795, in Nelson, Che- 
shire county, New Hampshire. He was educated in the schools of his 
day, and remained upon the paternal farm until he was twenty-two 
years of age. At that time, in 1817, he came to this cnunty and was 
employed on farms, and took up land in what is now the town of Alex- 
dria, which he subsequently disposed of. After remaining for a period 
of three years, he went to Pawtucket, Rhode Island, where he cared for 
and took charge of the affairs of an aged great-uncle. He continued to 
save hrs earnings, with a view to the establishment of a home in the 
new country. Returning to his native town, after six years' stay in 
Rhode Island, he was married, and in 1827 he again came to this 
county and purchased land in the southern part of the town of Water- 
town, on what is known as the "Sandy Creek road." After living there 
six years he purchased a farm a little farther north, where his son, 
W'illiam O. Tolman. now lives, and here he continued farming until 
his death, August 3, 1892, near the close of his ninety-seventh vear. 



776 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

A\' illiam Tolman was married October 9, 1827, to Mary Bancroft, daugh- 
ter of Timothy and Abigail Bancroft. She was born May 9. 1796. in 
Nelson, New Hampshire, of one of the oldest American families. 

.(I) Thomas Bancroft, born near London, England, came to Bos- 
ton early in the seventeenth century and settled at Lynnfield, Massa- 
chusetts, where he died in 1691. 

(II) Ebenezer Bancroft, son of Thomas Bancroft, was the father 
of. 

(III) Timothy Bancroft, whose son, 

(IV) Timothy Bancroft (2), was born in the year 1759. in Dun- 
stable, Massachusetts. The last named was the father of (V) Mary 
Bancroft, who became the wife of William Tolman. as above recorded. 

Mr. and Mrs. Tolman were the parents of five children, namely: 
Solon B., Cornelia A., Henry, Mary Amanda and William Orville. The 
third died in infancy. Extended mention of the eldest and youngest 
appears in this sketch. Cornelia A. married L. T. Sawyer (see Saw- 
yer). Mar}' Amanda, born July 9. 1834, resides with her brother, Solon 
B. The mother died March 19. 188 1. She had been a member of the 
Presbyterian church at Burrville since 1835. 

William Tolman was a man of the highest type of character, and 
exercised a most beneficent influence upon the life of his time and com- 
munity. He was a member of Trinity (Protestant Episcopal) church 
of the city of Watertown. and at the time of his death was its oldest 
member, having united with it in 1841. In political principle he was 
steadfast, affiliating at first wath the Federalist party, later with the 
Whigs, and was among the first to join the Republican party upon its 
inception. In all these changes, he did not alter his opinions, but 
accepted new names for their exponents, as the mutations of political 
afifairs brought them forward. A man of sterling worth, with charac- 
ter above reproach, he was identified with the best interests of his town. 
By his industry and prudent management, he became the possessor of 
over three hundred acres of valuable land in the town, and his advice 
was often sought by others in practical affairs. He was frequently made 
the arbiter of disputes among his neighbors, and his adjustments were 
always accepted as satisfactory by those interested. He was a kind 
husband and father, and his memory is held sacred by his children. 

(VII) Solon Bancroft Tolman, eldest child of ^^^illianl and Mary 
(Bancroft) Tolman, was born July 27. 1828, in Watertown. He was 
educated in the public school near his home, at Rodman Seminarv and 




S^^.<r^^^< 



'Z^/^y^i^ 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 777 

Black River Institute at Watertown. He continued to be liis father's 
assistant -in tilling the homestead farm until he was twenty-two years 
of age, receiving wages during the last year. He then leased the pater- 
nal farm and continued to manage it until i860, when he purchased the 
Peck farm, a little more than a mile northward from his native spot. 
For three years he tilled both places, and since 1863 he has resided on 
and tilled the new purchase, which is productive and a profitable prop- 
erty. Conveniently and handsomely located on the Sandy Creek road, 
he has christened it "Greenwood Farm,"' a most appropriate title. Here 
his active years were passed, in application of the principles of success- 
ful agriculture, and he is now enjoying, in the ripeness of years and 
experience, the rewards of intelligent industry. Here he delights to 
entertain his friends, whose number is limited only by the scope of his 
acquaintance. He is a charter member of Watertown Grange and of 
the Jefiferson County Pomona Grange, having held office in the former 
for nine years, including that of master. His interest in agricultural 
progress is indicated by the fact that he has always been a yearly mem- 
ber of the Jefferson County Agricultural Society. His first presidential 
vote was cast for General Zachary Taylor, and ever since the formation 
of the Republican party he has been a supporter of its principles. He 
has served as inspector of elections, and was nine years an excise com- 
missioner, going out of ofiice when the position was abolished. 

Mr. Tolman was married March 16, 1854, to Lodusta Archer, 
daughter of Abram and Hannah (Underwood) Archer. She was born 
August 4, 1834, in the town of Rutland, and died March 4, 1866, at 
her home in Watertown. Since that sad event, Mr. Tolman's home 
has been presided over by his sister, Mary Amanda, an amiable and 
estimable lady. 

Mr. Tolman is one of the representative citizens of his native town, 
a man of excellent judgment, a true and tried friend, and a most worthy 
successor of a long line of exemplary ancestors. 

(Vn) William Orville Tolman, youngest child of William and 
Mary (Bancroft) Tolman, was liorn Octoljer i, 1837. on the paternal 
farm in the town of Watertown, and attended the public school near 
his home and the Jefl^ersnn County Institute, at Watertown. He was 
bred to the life of a farmer, remaining with his father until after he 
was of age. He located on the original farm of his father, near the 
south line of the town, where he continued ten years. .\t the end of 
this time he returned to the paternal home, on account of the advancing 



778 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

years of his parents, who wished to relinquish their cares to younger 
minds and bodies. Here he has since continued to the present time, 
cind is reckoned among the most substantial and progressive farmers 
of the town. His present home, opposite tlie stone house which was the 
residence of his father, was erected by him in 1876. He is a member 
of Watertown Grange No. 7, in wliich he was the first secretary, con- 
tinuing four years, was subsequently overseer and master, member of 
the executive Ijoard. and is now a trustee. He has served as master 
of the Jefferson County Pomona Grange, and is an active worker in 
the interest of the organization. His religious faith is indicated by 
his membership in the Congregational church at Burr's Mills. He is 
a strong adherent of the principles of the Republican party, and sup- 
ports every movement for the advancement of mankind in general and 
of his home community. For several years he has filled the office of 
justice of the peace, with satisfaction to his townsmen and honor to 
himself. 

Mr. Tolman w'as married November 12. 1863, to Miss Mary Ophe- 
lia Bailey, daughter of Lyman and Susan (Bull) Bailey. She was born 
April 16, 1839, in W'hitestown, Wayne county. New York, and is the 
mother of three children, noted below. I. Mary Louise, born Sep- 
tember 5, 1864, in the town nf Watertown, was married October 8, 
1890, to Fred D. Simmons, and resides on the paternal farm. They 
have one child. Ethel Ophelia, born October 15, 1891. 2. Susie Luella, 
second daughter of William O. Tolman, born May 11, 1869, was mar- 
ried November 21, 1894, to Albert L. Spink, and resides on a farm in 
the town of Rodman. Her children were: Seward Tolman. born Sep- 
tember 8, 1898, died when four months old; Sewell Laban, November 
28, 1899, died before two months old; Susie Gwendolyn, September 9, 
1903- 3- Hattie Ophelia, the youngest, died in her fourth year. 

LYMAN BAILEY, long a respected farmer of the town of Water- 
town, was born September 29, 1803, in Stephentown, Rensselaer county, 
New York, where he grew to manhood, receiving his education in the 
district school. His father, Silas Bailey, born May 19. 1770, is sup- 
posed to have been also a native of Stephentown, where he was a farmer, 
and died June 30. 1841. He was married to Olive Sweetland, who was 
born December 19, 1776, and died June 17, 1868. 

Lyman Bailey's first independent effort was put forth as a teacher 
in the public schools of his home county, which he continued until 1837. 
In the meantime, his vacation seasons were spent in farming. For a 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 779 

time he resided in Wayne county, this state, and removed to Watertown 
about 1840. Here he purchased the Johnson Bull farm, two miles south 
of Burrville, and continued to derive his livelihood from its tillage until 
his death, January 15, 1877. He was a member of the Baptist church, 
and a Democrat in political principle. 

Mr. Bailey was married January i, 1837. to Miss Susan Bull, 
daughter of Johnson and Nancy (Brown) Bull. The last named was a 
daughter of Ichabod Brown. The children of Lyman and Susan Bailey 
are noted as follows: Louisa Ann, born December 11, 1837, resides 
in Watertown with Iier sister, Mrs. W. O. Tolman. ]\Iary Ophelia, 
April 16, 1839. is the wife of William O. Tolman, as elsewhere noted. 
Dwight L., July 12, 1847, married Hattie Waite, and died October 27, 
1903, in the town of Watertown. Isidore S., November 18, 1857, is 
the wife of Orville M. Rexford, residing in the town of W^atertown. 

HARDY. This name has been traced back about two hundred 
years, and includes one of the brave soldiers of the Revolution, who 
bore many hardships and exposure to the danger of a violent death, in 
order that we might enjoy the blessings of a free government, in com- 
mon with all their posterity. 

(I) The location of Phineas and Al>igail Hardy is not now 
known to their descendants in this section, but records show that they 
had a son Thomas who was a soldier of the Revolution. 

(H) Thomas Hardy, son of Phineas and Abigail, was born in 
June, 1756, in the town of Hollis, Hillsborough county, New Hamp- 
shire. Before he was twenty years old he was among the defenders 
of colonial rights, and participated in the battle of Bunker Hill, June 
I7> 1775- ^oi" three years he was a non-commissioned officer, under 
General Slark"s command, fought at Bennington and Trenton, and took 
part in General Wayne's gallant attack on Stony Point. His service 
was contemporaneous with the duration of the war, and he was at \\'est 
Point at the time of Arnold's treachery, served under General Greene 
in his southern campaign and was present at the surrender of Lord 
Cornwallis at Yorktown, which closed the memorable struggle of the 
colonies for independence. 

After peace came Mr. Hardy settled in the town of Dublin, Che- 
shire county, in his native state, cleared up land and erected bukldings 
thereon, and followed agriculture during the balance of his life. He 
died there July 25, 1816, respected and honored for his service in behalf 



780 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

of his native land, as well as his upright character as a citizen in time 
of peace. In that day every one appreciated the fact that the patriots 
of the Revolution gave the best period of their lives and their best 
energies to the struggle for independence, and were factors in the estab- 
lishment of a nation, out of which has grown what is now recognized 
as the greatest republic the world has ever known — the United States 
of America. 

In January. 17S4, Thomas Hardy was married to Lucy Colbourn, 
daughter of Lieutenant Robert Colbourn, and they were the parents of 
nine children, born as follows: Thomas, October 23, 1784 (graduated 
at Dartmouth College in 1812) ; Moses, September 14, 1786; Elias, 
April 3, 1788, died in infancy: Robert, March 23, 1789; Lucy, Novem- 
ber 25, 1792: Phineas, January 2^. 1795; Elizabeth, November 28, 
1796: Elias, December 19, 1798; and Anna, May 14. 1801. 

(Ill) Robert Hardy, fourth son and child of Thomas and Lucy 
(Colbourn) Hardy, was born March 23, 1789. in Dublin, New Hamp- 
shire, and his education was such as the common schools of that town 
afforded. He remained at home with his father, assisting in the culti- 
vation of the homestead. Wishing to become independent, and secure 
a home for himself, he set out in the year 181 1 for the Black River 
country, and settled at once in the town of \Vatertown, near Burr"s 
Mills. In company with his brother Phineas he purchased one hundred 
and twelve acres of land, which they proceeded to clear up. The latter 
gave his entire time to the cultivation of the farm, while Robert did 
much at his trade of builder. He employed several men, and many 
buildings are still standing in this section as evidence of his skill. After 
a few years he bought his brother's interest in the farm, which he man- 
aged, while still engaged in building operations. In 1836 he was in- 
jured by the fall of a building frame in process of "raising,'' and from 
that time he abandoned building and gave his entire attention to agri- 
culture. About 1818 he moved to the town of Rutland, where he lived 
the balance of his life. A man of devout Christian principles, he car- 
ried out in his every-day life his professions as a Christian. He died 
November 30, i860, at his home in the northern part of Rutland. 

Mr. Hardy was married February 2, 1815, in Dublin. New Hamp- 
shire, to Miss Abigail Stone, who was born in that town. November 
LS- 1793- She survived him over seven years, passing away IMarch 15, 
1868. Following is a brief mention of their children: Thomas, born 
November 7, 1815. m Watertown. died September 24. 1841. Lovilla, 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 781 

Tune 25, 1817, married James Hunt, of Champion, and died Alay jg, 
t868. Abigail, laorn February 16, 1819, in the town of Rutland, mar- 
ried Daniel Patton, of Lowvillc, and died February 28, 1847. Robert 
C, October i, 1820, resides in Rutland. Gustavus, August 3, 1823, 
is a resident of Watertown. Lucy Ann, November 19, 1825, married 
Samuel Frink, whom she survives, and resides in Rutland. William 
Addison, December 29, 1827, married Sarah Jane Warner, and died 
March 20, 1895, '" Rockford, Illinois. Charles Carroll, March 31, 
1830, receives farther mention below. John Calvin, April 7, 1833, 
married Julia Scott, who is now deceased, and he resides in Copen- 
hagen. Arthur Livermore, January 22, 1835, died in 1842. 

(IV) Charles Carroll Hardy, fifth son and eighth child of Robert 
and Abigail (Stone) Hardy, was born March 31, 1830, in the town 
of Rutland, and attended the local school and Lowville Academy. At 
the age of nineteen years he left home and engaged with Benjamin 
Gibbs, of Watertown, to learn the trade of carpenter and builder. Two 
years of labor at this occupation revealed to him the value of archi- 
tectural drawing, and his talent in that direction, and he took up its 
study with Otis L. Wheelock. In 1853 he joined the course of travel 
to the Californian Eldorado. Having safely crossed the Isthmus by 
the Nicaragua route, be sailed on the ship Independence, which was 
wrecked and burned near "the island of Santa Margarita, off the Mex- 
ican coast, and one hundred and fifty of the four hundred persons on 
board were lost. Mr. Hardy was among the survivors, who were taken 
off the barren island and carried to San Fr.ancisco by the whaling ship 
Meteor. Having tried mining with indifferent success, Mr. Hardy 
turned his attention to his trade, and did much building at the mining 
town of French Gulch. Later he obtained an appointment as master 
mechanic and builder on the government work at Fort Walla Walla, 
Washington territory, and continued in this position until his return to 
his native town in 1859. After the death of his father, in the following 
year, he purchased Ihe interests of the other heirs and became sole 
owner of the homestead, on which he erected new buildings, the house 
being one of the finest in the town. Here he was successful as a farmer, 
his principal products being those of the dairy and maple syrup and 
sugar. In 188 1 he moved to a farm on the "South Road," where he 
followed agriculture and bee-culture, and died December 6, 1901, near 
the close of his seventy-second year. 

Mr. Hardy was a steadfast supporter of the principles enunciated 



782 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

by the Republican party, and the confidence in which he was held by 
his townsmen is indicated by the fact that he served eight years as 
assessor, and was also town collector. He was two years master of 
South Rutland Valley Grange and also a member of Jefferson County 
Pomona Grange and a life member of the Jefferson Countv Agricult- 
ural Society. 

He was married January i, iS6i, to Miss Emily Caroline Scott, 
daughter of Ste])hen and Mary B. Scott. She was born August 8, 1837, 
in the town of Antwerp, this count}'. Stephen Scott was a son of 
Gideon and Mary Scott, and was liorn June 4, 1806. in the town of 
Remsen, Oneida county. New ^'ork. He was married in 1835 to Mary 
Bullock Carpenter, who was born December 4, 1806. By trade he was 
a shoemaker, and engaged in farming during most of his acti\'e life. 
He settled in Fairfield, Herkimer comity, whence he remo\'ed upon re- 
tirement, to Collinsville. Lewis county, where he died ^lay 13, 1888. 
His widow- died November 3, i8g6, at the home of her daughter, Mrs. 
Charles C. Hardy, in the town of Rutland, aged eighty-nine years. Mrs. 
Hardy is the eldest of their children. Mar\- Julia, the second, born 
May 27, 1839, was married December 25, i860, to John Calvin Hardy, 
resided at Copenhagen, Lewis county, and died Septemlaer 13, 1003. 
They were the parents of eight children: Emma L., Marion (died in 
1904), Gustavus, Millicent, Helen. Jay C, Lucy and Ethelwyn. 

Mr. Charles Carroll Hardy was a well informed man. much aljo\-e 
the average in exjierience and observatiim. beside being a student. By 
means of travel he gathered that practical wisdom which men do not 
secure in any other way. Actuated by the highest business integrity, 
he was a worthy citizen of his town, a trusted neighbor, and a loving 
and thoughtful husband and father. His widow survives and resides 
in the beautiful home which he had provided. She is a remarkable 
woman for her age, with an active mind and a memorv that a much 
younger person might be proud of. She was a fit and appreciated com- 
panion for her noble husband. They were the parents of a S()n and 
three daughters, David R., Fannie J.. Jennie S. and Mary S.. of whom 
further mention follows. 

(V) David Rogers Hardy was born October 25, 1861. on the 
paternal homestead in the town of Rutland, and was educated in the pub- 
lic schools of his native town and. the city of \\'atertown. He remained 
on the home farm until he was of age. when be took uji and mastered 
the art of photography, wdiich he followed in the city of Watertown un- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. Ts3 

til his father's death in 1901. He then returned to the farm, which has 
since lieen under his charge. Beside farming, he gives some time to his 
profession. He is a member of South Rutland Valley Grange, and also 
of Watertown Lodge Xo. 49, Free and Accepted Masons, and is a sound 
Repuhlican in political principle. 

He was married, January 17, 18S4. tu Miss Emily Grace Wilson, 
daughter of Gcdrge A. and Geraldine (Collins) Wilson, of T-5urrville. 
She was born February 17. 1864. in the town of Watertown. Her chil- 
dren are: Raymond Wilson, born Deceml)er 8, 1884. in Rutland; 
Charles Millar, December 9, 1891, in Clayton: and Walter Collins, Feb- 
ruary 27, 1898. The eldest was educated at the pui)lic schools and is 
now a clerk at Burrville. 

(V) Fannie Jennette, second child of Charles C. and Emily C. 
Hardy, was born October 31, 1S64, in the town of Rutland, and was 
educated at the local public school and Watertown high school. She was 
married March 16, 1893, to Arthur L. Williams, a druggist of Clayton, 
where they reside. 

(Vj Jennie Sarah Hardy was born December 30. 1865. and com- 
pleted her educati(jn at the Watertown high school. She was married. 
October 17, 1894, tO' Grant L. Lewis, and resides in the tow n of Rutland. 
where he is a farmer. They are the parents of a daughter, Ida Roberta, 
born March 23, 189G. 

(V) Mary Scott Hardy was born November 10, 1874, and received 
the same educational advantages as her sisters. She was married, June 
iG, 1902, to Harry Stewart Bandfield, a bookkeeper, and resides in 
Brooklvn, Greater New York. 

( HI) Phineas Hardy, fifth son and sixth child of Thomas and Lucy 
(Colljourn) Hardy, was born January 2t„ 1795, in Dublin, New Hamp- 
shire. At the age of eighteen years he set out to join bis brother, Robert 
Hardy, who had settled in Watertown two years previously. His posses- 
sions at that time consisted of an axe and a small amount of clothing, 
iuit he vias in good health and possessed those qualities of energy, deter- 
mination and fortitude which have ever paved the way for the advance 
f.f civilization since the Puritan Pilgrims landed at Plymouth in 1620. 
For a few seasons he worked for farmers in this section, being for some 
time in the employ of the late John Sterling, whose farm was witiiin the 
present lines of the city of Watertown. By industry and frugal care of 
his earnings he was sr)()n enabled to ])urchase land, which he did in Rut- 
land, three miles south of the village of Black Ri\cr. between the state 



784 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

ruad and the Rutland Hollow road. He immediately began to develop 
a farm, and continued to make his home there until 1832, four of his 
children being born there. Having sold his land to advantage, he 
bought land in Lorraine, and lived one year in that town. Again selling 
out, he moved to Leray and purchased the old county farm at Sanford's 
Corners, April 15, 1834. His home continued to be on this farm until 
1869, when he sold out to his son and moved to the village of Black 
River. He was the pioneer cheese-maker of his town, and kept from 
forty to sixty cows, whose product was marketed at Albany and Boston. 
Mr. Hardy was always active in promoting the welfare of the Jefiferson 
County Agricultural Society, and he was among the largest recipients of 
premiums. He was among the extensive dealers in lands, as shown by 
the records of the county. 

Mr. Hardy was an earnest member of the Presbyterian church dur- 
ing most of his life, and was many years one of the pillars of the society 
at Evans ]\Iills. After his removal tn Black River he united with the 
Stone Street Presbyterian church of Watertown. He was always inter- 
ested in the progress of his home community and of the nation, and took 
an active part in the conduct of local affairs. He was an ardent Repub- 
lican, and was defeated when a candidate for supen'isor because of the 
Democratic majority in his town, but was elected and served many years 
as justice of the peace, a tribute to his ability and worth. He acted as 
chairman of county conventions. 

Phineas Hardy was married March 24, 1822, to Sarah Howland, 
only daughter and second child of Richmond Howland (see Howland). 
She was born April i, 1798, in Providence, Rhode Island, and died Janu- 
ary 13, 1887, in Black River, near the close of her eighty-ninth year. 
Brief mention of her children follows: David, born November 19, 1823, 
married Anna Slack, was a farmer in Leray, and died November 2, 1S89. 
Elias, November 16, 1826, has been very successful as a fanner in the 
town of Throop, Cayuga county, this state, and now resides in the city 
of Auburn. Maria, December 11, 1828, in Rutland, became the wife of 
Simeon Dexter, whom she survives (see Dexter, VH). Lucy, April i, 
1S31, in Rutland, died in childhood. Phineas, February 21, 1838, in 
Leray, was a farmer there all his life and died there July 24, 1895. He 
was an active Republican, but refused to be a candidate for office, and 
was a Universalist in religion. He was married, April 5, 1866, to 
Eunetia Earl, who survives him and now resides at Sanford's Corners. 
They were the parents of two children: George L.. the elder, is treas- 
urer of the Hunting Company of Watertown, a prosperous business con- 



f 




j^^ J.di^c 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. T85 

cern. Tiie voiinger. Mary Gertrude, is tlie wife of Will Ballard Ball of 
\\'aterto\vn. 

JOHN STERLIXG SILL. The progenitor of the American 
branch of the Sill family was John Sill, a native of England, who emi- 
grated from thence to Cambridge, Massachusetts, in i''i37- 'The line 
of descent is traced through his son. Joseph Sill, who \Vas the father of 
a son. Joseph Sill, and among the children liorn to him was a son. 
Lieutenant John Sill, of Lyme. Connecticut, who in turn was the father 
of a son. Colonel David Fithen Sill, who participated in the French and 
Indian war as a lieutenant, was captain of a company at the battle of 
Lexington, in 1775. and afterward was promoted to the rank of colonel 
for gallant and meritorious service. His son. William '\l. Sill, was the 
grandfather of John Sterling Sill. 

W'illiam Sill, son of William ]M. Sill, was born in Lyme, Con- 
necticut, February 8, 1792. During the year 1812 he came to Jeffer- 
son county, Xew York, locating in the village of Brownville, and shortly 
afterward he became a merchant in the town of Rodman. In 1825 he 
began farming operations in the town of Henderson, and in 1836 he 
purchased the farm in Rodman, upon which he resided for the remainder 
of his days. This property consisted of two hundred and eighteen 
acres, to which seventeen more was subsequently added, making two 
hundred and thirty-five acres, all of which is under a high state of culti- 
vation. During the early years of his manhood he upheld the principles 
of Democracy, but in after years he became an active supporter of the 
Republican party. He served as supervisor of the town several terms, 
performing the duties to the satisfaction of the entire community. In 
183 1 he became a member of the Congregational church, in which he 
held membership up to his death, and in which he served as trustee. On 
October 2, 18 16, he married Sophia Hopkins, who died May 16, 1851, 
aged fifty-nine years, and in 1853 '""^ married for his second wife Mrs. 
Sarah Isham. By the first marriage he was the father of four children — 
two sons and two daughters — Mary, deceased, was the wife of the late 
Horace Brown, of Henderson, and later a resident of Adams, where 
their deaths occurred ; John Sterling, mentioned hereinafter : Edward, 
who died in 1893, was a physician, practicing his profession in the towns 
of Dexter and Watertown; and Elizabeth, wife of Erastus Kelsey, of 
Le Ray, New York, a farmer. William Sill, father of these children, 
died August 8, 1869. 



780 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

John Sterling Sill was born in the village of Rodman. New York, 
October 27. 1820. He attended the common schools of the neighbor- 
hood, and the knowledge thus obtained was supplemented by a course 
at the Black River Religious and Literary Institute of Watertown. Hav- 
ing been reared on a farm he was familiar widi all the details of farming, 
Axhich occupation he chose as his lifework. He is now the owner of 
the old homestead, upon which he has conducted extensive operations, 
and the neat and thrifty appearance of liis broad acres, together with his 
commodious and substantial outbuildings, denote the supervision of a 
careful and practical man. He erected a handsome house thereon, which 
is one of the finest in the town, and here his days are spent in quiet and 
contentment, as he is now reajjing the reward of his years of unceasing 
and tireless activity. He has served as assessor of the town, having 
been elected on the Republican ticket, the principles of which party 
he has always adhered to. He has lieen a member of the Congregational 
church since bo\-ho(]d. and fur many )ears ser\-ed in the capacity of 
deacon and trustee. He has been a wortliy and respected citizen, and 
the example of his life is a lienefit to any community. His wife died 
March 20. 1900. aged eight}" years. 

On June ig. 1850. Mr. Sill married .\rletta V. Winslow. of Rod- 
man, Xew York, daughter of William Winslow. Their children are: 
John Sterling. Jr.. born August i. 1858. a member of the wholesale and 
retail hardware firm of Weeks & Company, of Watertown. William 
Elisha, born December 24, i860, a progressive farmer, employed on the 
home farm. He is a Republican in politics, and has served his town 
as assessor. On March 21. 1900, William Elisha Sill married Anna 
Gates, daughter of Simeon Gates, of Rodman, who was born October 
27. 1868. and they are the ].iarents of one child. He and his wife are 
members of the Congregational church. 

GEORGE SUMMERFIELD WALKER, one of the genial and 
intelligent citizens of W'atertown. whose friends are numbered by the list 
of his acquaintances, is a native of the county and a scion of one of the 
earliest American families. The records of Rehoboth, Massachusetts, 
show that one of the original proprietors of the town was "Widow 
Walker." whose projjertv in 1643 ^^'^^ valued at fifty pounds sterling. 
After 1646 the name disappears from the records, which may have been 
due to her removel to another town, with her sons. 

(TI) James Walker, bom 1619-20. in England, appears at Taun- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 787 

ton. ?^Iassacinisetts. as anmng thuse able to bear arms in 1643. He was 
achnilted a freeman tbere June 4. 1O50. He married EHzaljetb I'billips. 
daughter of \\'ilHam and Ebzaljeth (Parker) Philb'ps. Her brothers, 
\\'iniam and Jolm. were among the prominent men of the colony, the lat- 
ter doing valiant service as a captain of troops in the expedition against 
Quebec in 1690, for which the colony granted him several fifty-acre 
"rights'" to lands then unsettled. Elizabeth (Phillips) Walker died Au- 
gust 14. 1678. aged fifty-nine years, leaving five children — James, Peter, 
Eleanor, Hester and Deborah. Mr. Walker married (second), November 
4. 1678, Sarah Rew, widow of Edward Rew, one of the proprietors of 
Taunton, and daughter ot John Richmond, of that town. James Walker 
died February 15. i6yi, aged seventy-three years. He was a large land- 
holder, and interested in the iron works and saw mill. 

(HI) James, eldest child of James and Elizabeth Walker, born 
ir)45-6. died June 22, 1718, at the age of seventy-two years. He was 
married, December 23, 1O73. to Bathsheba, daughter of Gilbert Brooks, 
of Rehoboth. She was born in. 1655, and died February 23, 1738, in 
her eighty-third year. I\lr. Walker was constable in 1689. He lived at 
"The Weir." and had fifty acres of land. In 1697 he was granted fifty 
acres. 

(IV) David Walker, son of James (2) Walker, died in 1765. He 
was married October 18, 1703. His wife, Maiy, died May 19, 1750, as 
recorded in Scituate, and he married (second) Esther Dillingham, daugh- 
ter of Edward Paul, of Berkeley. Mr. \\'alker lived in Dighton. and 
was selectman in 173.2 and representative in 1721 and 1745. and was 
captain of militia. He had nine children. 

{Y) David (2), son of David and Mary Walker, was born May 
24, 1717, and died about 1781, in which year the inventory of his estate 
shows him to have been worth 1,262 pounds sterling. He was married, 
April 5, 1755, to Mary Wilmarth, of Taunton, who died June 9, 1756, 
leaving a child. Mr. Walker married, second, March 25, 1758, Sarah 
Richmond, of Little Ccmpton, Rhode Island, daughter of William and 
Anna (Gray) Richmond. She was bom January 8, 1738. They lived 
ill Dighton, three-fourths of a mile from Three-Mile River, on the Bris- 
tol road. There were twehe children. 

(VI) Sylvester, son of David (2) and Sarah Walker, was burn in 
1769, and died February 28, 1836, in the town of Adams, this county. 
The time of his marriage is indicated by the publication. May 19, 1792, 
of his intention to wed Sally Burt, of Taunton. She died of smallpox 



788 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

at their liome in Dighton, and he later married ]\Iary, daughter of John 
and Ruth (Tahnan) Pullen, of Somerset. She was born in 1774. In 
the autumn of 1791, ^Ir. Walker accompanied a friend to Charleston, 
South Carolina, where they did a profitable business in the boot and shoe 
trade during the winter, returning in the following spring to their homes 
in Massachusetts. In December, 1799, he went to Havana, Cuba, and for 
three succeeding winters he was engaged in the stove trade there, with 
success. On his last voyage he was made prisoner by a French priva- 
teer and set ashore at Matanzas, after being stripped of all his possessions. 
In June, 1802, he went to Brattleboro, Vermont, and IxDught a farm, and 
in April, 18 15, came to Adams, where he passed the balance of his days. 
He was a religious and highly respected man. One of his nine children 
— Nancy — became the wife of James Neelon, and their son, Sylvester, 
was a large shipper and merchant of St. Catherine's, Ontario, and a 
member of the Canadian parliament. 

(VII) David, son of Sjdvester and Mary (Pullen) Walker, was 
born October 28, 1799, in Swansea (now Somerset), Massachusetts, and 
was married in ]\Iarch, 1820, to Eunice Thomas, daughter of Ira Thomas 
(see Thomas). She died August 3, 1824, in Adams, leaving two daugh- 
ters. On September 19, 1826, Mr. Walker married Lucy Thomas, a 
sister of his first wife, who also bore him two children. He was a local 
preacher of the Methodist Episcopal church, and conducted many funer- 
als among his fellow pioneers, and otherwise ofificiated among them. 
He was also a competent civil engineer, and surveyed most of the lands 
in the southern part of the county. He took the first level in the pre- 
liminary surveys for the construction of the Rome, Watertown & Og- 
densburg Railroad, at Rome. He was largely self-educated, though he 
had some academic training. In early life he owqed and tilled a farm of 
one hundred and seventy acres in the town of Ellisburgh, near the 
"Thomas Settlement," but moved in 1839 to the village of Adams, where 
he resided until old age. His death occurred at the home of a son in 
Cape Vincent, September 3. 1883, when almost eighty-four years old. 
He was an active Whig, and an earnest supporter of Republican prin- 
ciples from the birth of the new party. He was for some time superin- 
tendent of schools in the town of Adams. His first child, Lucy Elmira, 
died at the age of sixteen years, and the second, Eunice, in childhood. 
Sarah Janette, the third, married Jonathan Hall, of Smithfield, Penn- 
sylvania, whom she survived, and died at Adams in the autumn of 1862. 

(VIII) George Summerfield Walker, youngest child of David and 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 789 

Lucy Walker, was born Xovemljer 27. 1830. in the tnwn ui EUishurg. 
and was reared in Adams. He attended the Incal imliHc schools and 
Black River Institute, at W'atertown. Illness compelled him to abandon 
the course begun at the Albany Normal School, and he subsequently 
attended an academy at East Smithfield, Pennsylvania, for a time. He 
taught school in Rodman. Adams and Mannsville. and liecame agent of 
the railroad company at .Vdams, continuing a long time in its service, 
there, at Clayton. Brownville and Potsdam, remaining at the last named 
post thirteen years. He opened the station, organized the fdrce and sold 
the first ticket at Clayton. After farming a short time in .\dams. he 
engaged with A. B. Cleveland & Company, seed growers of that towq, 
with whom he removed to Cape Vincent, and was superintendent of one 
of their departments there ten years. During the last seventeen years 
he has resided in Watertown, and is now engaged with the \\'atertMwn 
Carriage Company. His home is on Cadwell street, where quiet hos- 
pitality and culture rule. Mr. Walker adheres to the faith of the Meth- 
odist church. He was made a Free Mason in Racquette River Lodge 
No. 213, of Potsdam, in which he subsequently served as warden, and is 
a member of St. Lawrence Chapter No. 24, same order, in which he was 
king, and affiliates with Canton Commandery No. 28, Knights Tem- 
plar. Being independent of party organizations in politics, he has escaped 
much ofiicial service, though he acted as collector of the town of Adams 
and was postmaster at Castorland while station agent there. 

Air. Walker was married April 11, i860, by Rev. B. S. W'right, of 
the State Street church, Watertown, to Miss Ellen E. ^^"illiamson, who 
was born February 22. 1835, in Rodman, daughter of Samuel and Anna 
(Williamson) Williamson. The last-named was born in Rodman, a 
daughter of Christopher Williamson, one of the first settlers of that 
town. His wife, Eleanor Heustis, was the only daughter in a family of 
six brothers who came from England. Samuel ^^'illiamson was born 
August 21, 1799, and lived in Rodman and Adams. He died August 6, 
1899, aged ninety-nine years and fifty weeks, at the home of a daughter, 
in Rochester, this state. His wife died May 28. 1883, in New Haven, 
Oswego county. 

The children of George S. and Ellen E. Walker are noted as fol- 
lows: Lillian J. is the wife of Daniel Marks, a dentist of Bridgeton, 
New Jersey. Leone Lunette is at the head of the .schools of New Rochelle, 
New York. Lucy Ellen is the wife of DeWitt L. Parker, a doctor of 
medicine and also of dentistry, of Brooklvn, this state. Herbert D., a 



790 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

large advertising publisher, resides at Xew Rochelle, and George Samuel 
at Xew Brunswick, Xew Jersey. Anna M., the youngest, died at the 
age of twenty-three, unmarried. 

HON. HARRISON FULLER, of Adams, was during his lifetime 

one of the most eminently progressive and useful men in his community. 
He served several terms in the legislative assembly of the state, and was 
primarily instrumental in formulating and securing the enactment of 
some of the most salutary measures which have contributed to the ad- 
vancement of the commonwealth in educational, agricultural and other 
affairs affecting the best interests of the people at large. 

He traced his ancestr\' to \\'illiani Fuller, whose son, Samuel Ful- 
ler, was born in \\'hitingham, A'ermnnt, in 1775. was a farmer by occu- 
patinn, and during the early part of the nineteenth century became a 
pioneer settler of the town of Adams, where he purchased a tract of 
land upon which his descendants now reside. He was successful in his 
business operations, and his standing in the community was of the best. 
His death occurred October 4, 1857, at the advanced age of eighty-two 
years. He married Anna Phillips, and they were the parents of seven 
children — two sons and five daughters — William, Royal, Huldah, Rhoda, 
Sophia, Diana and Maria. 

William Fuller, father of Harrison Fuller, settled" on the farm 
(later occupied by his son) which is located about two miles northeast 
of Adams Centre, on what is known as the Old State Road. He owned 
a large number of acres, was a successful farmer, and accumulated a 
comfortable fortune for those early days. On September 10. 1837, he 
married ?klartha Keep, a sister of the late Henry Keep, and four chil- 
dren were born to them, three daughters and one son. Two of the 
daughters died, one at five and nne at twelve. The other daughter. Mary, 
became the wife of Jcjhn A. D. Snell. of Adams Centre, where she now 
resides. Their only son was Harrison, mentioned hereinafter. ]\Irs. 
Fuller was a faithful member of the State Road Baptist church, and 
Mr. Fuller was a liberal supporter of all churches, and was greatly 
esteemed in the community for his many nol)le characteristics. He died 
at his residence in .\dams Centre. April jo. 1884, aged seventy-two 
vears. His wife, whose decease was mourned by all who had the honor 
of her ac(|uaintance, passed away January 18, 1883. ]\Irs. Fuller re- 
ceixed a muniiicent legac_\- from her brother. Henry Keep, — eloquent 
evidence of the affection which suljsisted between them. In her hour of 




7fu 



■r 



S4ylyX,'UlLi>^-Y' '^' 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. T91 

prosperity. !Mrs. l"iiller exemplified in lier cnncluct the splendid traits 
of character whicli she possessed. .\s a farmer's wife she had toiled 
early and late and practiced the utmost economy and self-denial in the 
rearing of her family. Many cnuld not have been introduced thus sud- 
denly to a condition of affluence without serious detriment to dignity 
and sincerity. To her the transition gave no excuse for alteration of 
conduct. She remained the modest, kindly hearted, sincere woman 
she had been in her davs of comparative poverty, and this same disposi- 
tion was reflected in her son. Harrison, who when, in turn, he came into 
the piissession of the fine estate received from his mother, refused to be 
drawn into a life of ease and ])leasure by the allurements of the city and 
its money-fed society, but remained in the old home, endeared by count- 
less tender associations, and. identifying himself with his fellows, in all 
sincerity devoted himself to the interests of bis home and of the com- 
munity. When called by his neighbors to important official position, 
he remained the same simple, modest man, exemplifying in his every 
word and act the creed u]K>n which bis daily conduct was based : 
"He praveth best who loveth best 
All things both great and small." 

Harrison Fuller was born August i. 1845, on the homestead in 
Adams, and received his preliminary education in the public schools in 
the home neighborhood, and pursued ach-anced liranches in Union Acad- 
emy, at Belleville. On coming to manhood he gave himself industriously 
to the care of the property committed to him. and to which he added 
largely as the fruits of his persevering and intelligent effort. In course 
of time he had come into the ownership of about fourteen hundred 
acres of rich and productive land immediately adjoining his residence, 
and a farm in the town of Orleans, making in all nearly seventeen hun- 
dred acres, and constituting him one iif the largest holders of cultivated 
land in Jefferson county. His Imme was the object of bis most careful 
solicitude, and he made it one of the most delightful residential places 
in all the region. Overshadowed by the stately trees wbicli he had 
planted, 't was e\en nmre beautiful within, — an abude of culture and 
domestic happiness, ancl whose inmates clispensed their hospitalities 
bountifully and in unaff'ected sincerity. 

Mr. Fuller was throughout his life actively identified with al! that 
enhanced tlie interests of the town and vicinage. He was vice president 
of the Farmers' National Bank of Adams, and a director in the Water- 
town National Bank. Educational and other community concerns of 



792 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

moment always recei\ed his most cordial and sagacious support. A 
Republican in politics, he was always regarded as one of the most po- 
tential figures in the councils of his party in the county. In 1891 he 
was elected to the general assembly of the state, and his wise and judi- 
cious course as a member of that body so commended him tO' his con- 
stituency that he was returned to his seat at the succeeding three elec- 
tions, extending his legislative term to the period of four sessions. In 
his first term he introduced a bill which was of commanding import- 
ance, one providing for the compulsor}' education of children. This was 
warmly supported by the state superintendent of public instruction and 
by the leading educators throughout New York, as well as by the great 
m:'?s of the people, whose interest was amply compensated by the 
beneficent results which proceeded from the enactment of Mr. Fuller's 
most salutary measure. He also introduced a bill placing upon the 
state the exepnse of keeping in repair the state armories, thus relieving 
from an irksome and unjust confiscation of their own funds the counties 
in which these edifices are situated. Other meritorious subjects of legis- 
lation to which J\Ir. Fuller gave his attention by the introduction of 
bills were the restoration of water diverted from Black river for canal 
purposes; and regulating speed of cars on the Watertown street railway. 
In the session of 1893 Mr. Fuller introduced bills making an appropria- 
tion for the construction of a bridge over Black river: declaring that 
stream a public highway : and enlarging the scope of investments author- 
ized to be made liy sa\'ings banks. In the session of 1894, he was 
chairman of the committee on banks, and a member of the committee 
on ways and means, and that on trade and manufactures. In this ses- 
sion he introduced wirious important bills : for regulating the fees 
of medical examiners; for establishing a fish hatchery at Clayton; for 
taxing the capital of foreign corporations doing business in the state of 
New York; concerning mortgages, and in relation to the water power 
of Black river. It is not too much to say that during the four sessions in 
which Mr. Fuller sat in the assembly, there were few. if any, who 
surpassed him in industry and sagacity and none to whom he was 
second in honest devotion to pul)lic interests. 

Mr. Fuller was married, Octolier 25, 1865, to Miss Ella Snell, 
a lady of beautiful character and disjiosition, and who proved a devoted 
lielpmeet tc him and a sympathetic ally in all pertaining to his relations 
with others, whether in public or social concerns. To them was born 
a daughter, Martha Annette, who has but fairly entered upon young 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 793 

womanhood, and in whom is discernible the traits wliicli mark the 
mother, whose helpful assistant she already is in domestic matters. 

Mr. Fuller was a prominent member of Rising Sun Lodge. Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Adams; Adams Chapter No. 205, Royal Arch 
Masons; Watertown Commandery No. 11, Knights Templar: and Media 
Temple of the Mystic Shrine, of Watertown. He was a man of kindly 
and generous disposition, and was a liberal contributor to the churches 
and to charities calculated to benefit the poor. His death, as a result 
of being thrown from his carriage on the hard pavement of Washington 
street, Watertown, occurred June .2. i9c^4, at the city hospital of that 
city. 

ABXER TREMAINE, who died in the town of Rodman, this 
county, June 9, 1870, was a son of Solomon Tremaine, one of the pioneer 
settlers of this county. The latter married Lucy Brainard, and lived 
for some years in Paris, Oneida county, whence he moved to the town 
of Rodman, this count}-, about 1S21. He cleared land there and became 
a successful farmer, and the location is still known as Tremaine's Cor- 
ners. He had four sons, and Abner early resolved to strike out for 
himself. 

Abner Tremaine was born November 11, 181 1, in Paris, New 
York. At the age of nineteen years he went to Brownville, and first 
found employment as gardener and useful man about the estate of a 
merchant there. He learned the tinner's trade, and followed it most of 
his life. For a few years he conducted a grocery store at Brownville, 
and following that kept a meat market. Before the close of the civil 
war, he went to St. Joseph, Michigan, where he was employed some six 
years in a tin shop. About this time he invested in a fruit farm near 
there, which was sold after his death at double the cost to him. Be- 
cause of failing health he returned to Jefferson county, in May, 1870, 
and died, in the following month, as aliove noted, while on a visit to 
relatives in Rodman. He was a Methodist in religious faith, and was a 
member of the Odd Fellows' lodge at Brownville, until it was disbanded. 
While a resident of Brownville, he served several years as constable. He 
al\va\'s acted politically with the Democratic party. 

Alxjut 1838 Mr. Tremaine was married to Cordelia Kane, who died 
in April, 1844, leaving one daughter, Adelaide. The latter is now the 
wife of John Bronson, residing at Eau Claire, Michigan. On April 18, 
1849, Mr. Tremaine married Mahala Hatch, who was born Julv 21, 



Ttti GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

1S19, in ihc town of Watertown (sec Hatch). Two of the five children 
of this union are lix'ing — three sons having dieil. one WilHs, at the age 
of twenty years ; Charles when sixteen years old. and Everett died at 
the age of two years. Henry Abner. born June 7. 1852, is now a manu- 
facturer of electric light supplies at Cleveland. Ohio, and a prosperous 
business man. Clara Lorania. Octoljer 24, 1858. married James A. 
Horton. and resides on Orchard street. \\'aterti.nvn. She is the mother 
of t\\o children. Lulu Jean and Nellie !May. The former of these is the 
wife of Royal Wight, a dentist of Park City. Utah, and has a daughter, 
Eleanor Jean, and son. Guy Horton. The latter resides with her parents 
in Watertown. 

HATCH. Henry, son of Isaac and brother of Willard Hatch, was 
l.Kirn October 2, 1783, in New Milford, Connecticut, and was brought 
up in the tijwn of Kent. Litchfield county, same state. In the fall of 
18 10 he visited JetYerson county on a prospecting tour and purchased a 
farm in the northwestern part (jf the town of Watertown, on which he 
settled the next spring. He clearetl off the forest and developed a farm, 
becoming a successful farmer and an exemplary citizen. His first pur^ 
chase was one hundred acres, to which he sulisecjuently added sixty acres 
by purchase, making one of the finest farms in the tcnvn. He was a 
^Vhig in early life, and was among those who fostered the movement 
leading to the organization of the Republican party, though he did not 
live to participate in its action and triumphs. He passed away July 13, 
1856. in his seventy-third year of age. He married Laura Everett, whose 
ancestry follows : 

( I ) Richard Everett came to New England as early as 1636. It 
is surmised that he was born in county Essex, England, the home of the 
Everard family. He is first of record, with William Pynchon and other 
settlers, at Springfield. Massachusetts, in 1636. He was married June 
29. 1643. to Mary Winch and. from this time on. made his home in 
Dedham. Among the forty-two names recorded at a town meeting in 
Dedham, 1644-5, ■^'^'^■'^ Richard Everett. John Dwight and Ralph 
\\'heelock, ancestors of five subsequent college presidents — Edward 
Everett, of Harvard; Alexander H. Everett, of Jefferson; Timothy 
Dwight. of Yale; and Eleazer and John Wheelock, of Dartmouth. Both 
Richard Everett and wife were admitted to the Dedham church in 1646. 
Mr. E\erett was active and jirominent in town affairs, was constable, 
surveyor, and filled other positions. He died July 3. 1682. His children 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. T;t5 

of record at Dedham, were: John, Israel, Mary, Samuel, Sarah and 
James ; and the children of a second wife were : Sarah, Abigail, Israel, 
Ruth and Jedediah. 

(II) Captain John Everett, baptized fifteenth day of first month, 
1646, in Dedham, Massachusetts, married there, May 13, 1662, Eliza- 
beth Pepper, daughter of Robert and Elizabeth (Johnson) Pepper. She 
was born May 25, 1645, and died April i. 1744, at Dedham. Captain 
Everett's name first appears in Dedham records in 1662. He held a num- 
ber of local offices, and received grants of land in 1668 and 1674. Dur- 
ing King Philip's war he was captain of a company stationed in the 
colonies of New Hampshire and Alaine. He died in Dedham June J 7, 
1715. His children were: Elizabeth, Hannah. Bethiah, John, William, 
Israel and Richard. 

(III) Israel Everett, burn August 8, 1681. in Dedham, married, 
November 9, 1710, in Lebanon, Connecticut, Sarah Culver. She was 
born in 1694, in Norwich, Connecticut, daughter of Edward and Sarah 
(Backus) Culver. Mr. Everett, in 171 3, was a citizen of Lebanon, and 
in that year sold land in Coventry. Connecticut. In 1721 he was of 
Windham, Connecticut, and both himself and wife were members of 
the Windham church in 1726. He died in Windham. February 6, 1751. 
His children were: Israel. Daniel, Elizabeth, Hannah, Sarah, Sarah (2), 
Ebeneezer, Bethiah, John, Mary, Jonathan, Ann, Jeremiah and Abner. 

(IV) Ebeneezer Everett, born in 1722, in Windham, Connecticut, 
married Lucy ^loulton, who was baptized in 1728, and died at Sharon, 
Connecticut, September 28, 1813. aged eighty-five years. Mr. Everett 
lived in early life in Hebron, Connecticut, and moved to Sharon in 1745, 
and lived m what was the parish of Ellsworth. Both he and his wife 
were among the original members of the church organized there in 1802. 
Mr. Everett enlisted in 1776 in a company of minute-men under Captain 
Caleb Jewit. His children, born in Sharon, Connecticut, were: Lucy, 
Jacob, Ebe (Ebeneezer), Eliphalet, Olive, Mehetabel, Sylvia. Lois and 
Irene. The father died July 24, 1810, at Sharon. 

(\') Eliphalet Everett, born December 3. 1757. in Sharon, mar- 
ried Rhoda Peck, a descendant of the "Massachusetts Pecks," and was 
a farmer, living many years in Sharon (Ellsworth Society). Later he 
moved to W'atertown, New York. On March 3, 1777, he enlisted as a 
private soldier for three years, and in April, 1778, was transferred to 
General Washington's Life Guards and remained with them until 1780. 
Familv tradition savs he was for two vears steward of Washington's 



796 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

military famih'. His children were: Elias. Austin, Laura. Mary and 
Hampton. He died in 1816 and was buried at Brownville. 

(VI) Laura (or Loraina) Everett, born September 19, 1787, in 
Sharon, Connecticut, was married October 18, 1806, to Henry Hatch, of 
Kent, Connecticut, with whom she removed to Watertown, New York, 
in 181 1. She died February 4. 1882. Six of their children grew to 
maturity. Maria, the eldest of these, married Amasa Powers, and lived 
in Hounsfield. where she died. Mary married (first) Jesse Aj-ers, and 
(second) Elisha Wakefield, and died in Watertown. Abiah married 
William Brown, and made her home in East Arlington, Vermont, where 
she died. Laura Ann became the wife of Nathan Coffeen, of Watertown, 
where she died. Mahala is the widow of Abner Tremaine, residing in 
Watertown (see Tremaine). George Whitfield died in May, 1903, at 
Watertown. 

JARED CANFIELD TUBES. Jared Canfield Tubbs, for many 
years a most active factor in the business circles of Watertown, and a 
thorough business man, was a native of this county, born June 30, 1827, 
at Evans Mills, and died February 11, 1901. 

Alanson Tubbs, father of Jared C, was a son of Asa and Philette 
Tubbs, early settlers of New York state, and his birth occurred in 
Chatham, New York, February 15. 1801. He was a hatter by trade 
and after conducting a small business in the town of Champion and in 
Evans Mills, he removed to Watertown in 1827, and for almost half a 
century was engaged continuously in the same line of trade. He began 
manufacturing hats in the old red hat factory which stood upon the 
river bank at the foot of Arch street, below \^'hittlesey point, Water- 
town, but the building has long since disappeared. He made his own 
hats, and year by year the business increased in volume and importance, 
and his goods were regarded by critical judges as the best on the 
market. He gained the confidence of the public by his honest and fair 
dealing, and, being an expert mechanic, he accumulated a competency, 
and was regarded as one of the leading merchants of his day. for he 
was contemporaneous with Safford, Ely, Farwell, Peck, and others, 
and he left a memory of which his descendants may well be proud. He 
was married in September, 1826. to Camilla Canfield, of Champion, 
New York, daughter of Jared Canfield, one of the prominent agri- 
culturists of the county. Three sons were born of this marriage — 
Tared Canfield, mentioned hereinafter; Sanford Alanson, who was a 





<^-^U 



^ (^ O^^c/^-'Za^ 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 797 

teller in the Black River Bank, and died in 1S54, at the age of twenty- 
two years; and Charles Hobart, who was in partnership with his 
father until the death of the latter, and continued the business, and is 
still the owner of the building, which is located at No. 18 Public Square. 
Alanson Tubbs died in February, 1874. His wife survived him until 
August 12, 1876. 

In speaking of Jared C. Tubbs, the Watertown Times said, on the 
evening following his death: 

••The death of Jared Tubbs, an esteemed lifelong resident of this 
city, occurred at his home on Ten Eyck street at 12:30 this afternoon, 
in his 74th year. 

"Mr. Tubbs came to this city with his parents when he was but 
six months old and has ever since resided here. For twenty years he 
was connected with the treasurer's ofifice of the R., W. & O. Railroad 
Company when R. E. Hungerford and" Colonel J. A. Lawyer were 
treasurers of that company. For a short time after that he was in the 
insurance office of Henry S. Munson. He has not been actively engaged 
in business for the past fifteen years, and for many years has been an 
invalid. He had grown up with the city of Watertown, and among 
its older citizens he was well known and was highly esteemed for his 
many sterling qualities of personal worth." 

He was a modest man, of progressive ideas and keen sensibilities, 
and possessed many excellent traits of character. He was a member of 
Trinity (Episcopal) Church, and supported Democratic principles in 
government affairs. In 1896 and 1901 he voted the Republican ticket, 
on account of the currency issue. He was a constant reader, and ahvays 
kept abreast of the times until his death. 

Mr. Tubbs was married October 22, 1855, to Maria Canfield, 
daughter of Stephen and Sally Canfield. She was born in Morristown, 
New York, June 2t„ 1830, and now resides in Watertown. Two 
children were born of this marriage: Sanford Ernest, Septemlaer i, 
1856, died January 30, 1863; and Anna Gertrude, April 10, i860, died 
December, i, 1861. 

Stephen Canfield w'as born November i, 1796, in Sandisfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, and died May 3, 1874, in Watertown. He was a son of 
John' Canfield, who was born January 18, 1774, and died February 14, 
1853, ^t Morristown, New York. Rebecca (Smith), wife of the latter, 
died July 25, 1825. John Canfield built a hotel in Morristown, which 
he kept many years, and served as justice of the peace. He was a son 
of John and Deborah Canfield. The former died July 30, 1834. and 
his wife July 10, 1817. 



798 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Stephen Canfield was married February i, 1824. in Champion, to 
Sally (Harmon), widow of Jared Kilbourn. She was born March 7, 
1801, in New Marlborough, Massachusetts. Mr. Canfield was a farmer 
in early life, and subsequently kept a store and hotel at "Honest Cor- 
ners," near Morristown. He continued to till the soil until his retire- 
ment, in 1862, when he moved to Watertown. His wife died there 
March 21, 1863. ]\lrs. Tubbs is the onh' one of his children who grew 
to maturity. 

HADCOCK. This is an oUl English name, which has conferred 
credit upon Jefferson county through its representatives, who have been 
known for their industry, business ability and upright lives. 

(I) John Hadcock came from Norwich, England, in 1718. and 
settled in the interior of this state, in Herkimer or Oneida county. He 
was accompanied Ijy two l.injthers. Thomas and Daniel, but neither of 
them left any progeny, and all of the name in this part of the state are 
believed to have descended from John. His wife was a Helmer, a mem- 
ber of one of the old Dutch families which settled eastern and middle 
New York. 

(H) John, son of John Hadcock (i), married a Kane, also of 
Dutch lineage. They had eight sons and two daughters. 

(IH) Jacob, fourth child and third son of John Hadcock (2), 
was born March 20, 1785, in Herkimer county, and married Catherine 
Kisner, daughter of William Kisner, of Dutch ancestry. She was born 
October 4, 1786, and died February 11, 1868, in Harrisburg. Lewis 
county, this state. 

Jacob Hadcock died at Harrisburg March 4, 1S61. the day on which 
Abraham Lincoln was inaugurated president. His children are noted 
as follows: Simeon, the second, born in 1810, died in Copenhagen, 
Lewis county. Emanuel, born in 1811. was a tailor by trade, and died 
in the town of Rutland. Hiram, born in 1S14. died in \\'atertown. 
Philo, 1816. died near Brandnn. Wisconsin. William. iSig. li\-e(l in 
Pamelia. and died there, near the city fif Watertown. John. 1823. died 
at Mechanicsville. Iowa. Jacob), 1824. died in Cojienhagen. Joseph, 
1827. was a farmer in Rutland, where he died. 

(IV) Benjamin Hadcock. eldest child of Jacnl) and Catherine, 
was born March 10, 1808, in Frankfort, Herkimer county. New York, 
:md was tweh'e years old when his parents moved to Harrisburg. where 
lie matured, gaining Iiodily strength and \-igor by helping in the clearing 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 709 

and tillage of a farm in the wilderness. In the meantime his mental 
activities were directed by study in the frontier district school. Soon 
after attaining his majority, he bought a small piece of land, to which he 
added at various times until he had a fine farm of one hundred and 
fifty acres. This he sold and then bought a farm in the town of Lowville, 
near the Denmark line. In 1863 he retired from active farm labor and 
moved to W'atertown. He purchased five acres of land rmd a lnjuse 
on the outskirts of the city where his only son now resides. This is on 
upper State street, and is no longer on the outskirts, being known as 
No. 105. Here a handsome modern house has l>een erected by the son, 
and affords the abode of hospitality, good cheer, peace and contentment. 
Benjamin Hadcock died in Watertown December i, 1891, in his eighty- 
fourth year. He was a Universalist in religion, and always supported the 
Democratic party in political contests. 

Mr. Hadcock was married, December 30. 1834, to Mary Pickert, 
who was born in ]\Iannheim, Herkimer county, daughter of Frederick 
Pickert and wile, whose maiden name was W'indecker. Mary (Pickert) 
Hadcock died May 8, 1858, in Lowville. Subsequently Mr. Hadcock 
married Almeda Tuttle, of Rutland, who left no issue. A daughter and 
son came of the first union. The former. Catherine A., is the widow of 
Stephen Howard, residing in the town of Denmark, Lewis county. 

( \' ) George Benjamin Hadcock, son of Benjamin, was born June 
18, 1843, ''i Harrisburg. New "\'ork. and grew up on his father's farm, 
in whose cultivation he bore an active part from an early age. He con- 
tinued upon this place until his marriage, after which he tilled the Jesse 
Fulton farm, in the town of Rutland, which is now the property of his 
wife. Being industrious and energetic, he realized a deserved gain by 
his labors, and is now in independent circumstances, and retired from the 
personal cultivation of the farm. He applied sound sense to the manage- 
ment of the farm, and so diversified his products as to keep the farm in 
good condition, and realize good crops at the same time. Among his in- 
terests were dairying and stock growing, and the farm usually supported 
a herd of t\venty-fi\e cattle, mostly milch cows. In December. 1892, he 
moved to his ])rcseiit home in Watertown. and is reckoned among the 
substantial citizens nf the city. He is a memljer of Watertown Grange 
No. 7, of which he has been overseer and is now trustee. During the 
existence of the first Odd Fellows' lodge at Black River he retained fel- 
lowship with it. but has never rejoined since that lodge was disbanded. 
He is an independent thinker and accepts in general the faith of the Uni- 



800 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

versalist church. While he classes himself as a Democrat, he is not bound 
by partisan behests, and votes according to his own judgment, which is 
usually found to be sound. 

On December 20, 1870, Mr. Hadcock was married to Miss Ida Eu- 
dora Fulton, who was bom September 7, 1849, in Rutland, a daughter of 
Jesse Fulton (see Fulton, IV). Their children are: Jesse Benjamin, 
born August 8, 1872; Lynn George, March 31, 1875; ^^nd Jerome Ful- 
ton, March 26, 1880, all at home with parents. 

JOHN CLARKE, who died at his home in Watertown, April 12, 
1S65, was one of the most prominent lawyers of northern New York, a 
man highly respected for his integrity and ability and, therefore, trusted 
with great interests, and he never betrayed a trust. From a long line 
oi New England ancestors he inherited those traits w^hich have distin- 
guished the American people, both individually and as a nation. 

(I) John Clarke, a native of Great Mundon, Hertfordshire, Eng- 
land, came to America in 1632 and settled, first, at Cambridge, Massachu- 
setts. Four years later he removed to Hartford, Connecticut, and in 
1046 to Saybrook. where he became an extensive landholder. In his old 
age he removed to Milford, where he had a brother George Clarke, and 
died there in 1673. In company with Captain Mason, under the author- 
ity of the general court, he built the fort at Saybrook. His wife is sup- 
posed to have been a Coley, and their children were : John, Joseph, 
Elizabeth and Sarah. The second son was lost at sea. The elder daugh- 
ter married William Pratt, of Saybrook, and the younger became the 
wife of William Huntmgton. 

(II) John, eldest child of John Clarke, married Rebecca Porter 
and lived in Saybrook. 

(III) Major John Porter Clarke, son of John and Rebecca (Por- 
ter) Clarke, was born in 1655, at Saybrook, and died in 1736. He mar- 
ried Rebecca Beaumont, and had a numerous family — Abigail, Rebecca, 
John, Joseph, Nathaniel (a graduate of Yale), Temperance and Samuel. 

(IV) Samuel, youngest child of ^Major John P. and Rebecca 
(Beaumont) Clarke, was born in 1702, and when twenty years of age 
married iMary Minor. Their children were: Samuel, Joanna, Stephen 
and Titus. 

(V) Samuel, eldest child of Samuel and Mary (Minor) Clarke, 
was born in 1723. and died in 1798. He married Patience Pratt, who 
died early in 1761. and before the close of the year he married Azubah 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 801 

King-, who died in 1810. He had a large family uf children, namely: 
Patience (born in 1748, died young), Minor (died in infancy), Rebecca, 
(died young), Samuel (who was drowned in 1786), Mary, Patience, 
Ezra, Azubah, Rufus, a son unnamed. Nathaniel, Elizabeth, and another 
5on unnamed. 

(VI) Ezra, son ot Samuel Clarke (2), was born and lived and died 
in Saybrook. He married Betsey Whittlesey. 

(VH) Jidin Clarke, son of Ezra and Ltetsey (Whittlesey) Clarke, 
was born Ma}- i. 1799. in Saybnxjk, where he grew up. He attended 
the village school until sixteen years old. w;!s early put to work, being 
employed in a store. His thirst for knowledge was not easily quenched, 
and he prepared for college by studying during every leisure hour and 
reciting at night, after his duties at the store were over, his preceptor 
being Parson Hotchkiss. a learned man uf Saybrook. In 1820, having 
attained his majorit)-. he went to 0\-id, Xew York, where he taught 
school. Late in that year he came to Watertown, where his elder 
brother, Charles E. Clarke, has establi.shind a law office, and began the 
study of law with his brother. In the meantime, to support himself, he 
taught in the Factory District school during part of the year 182 1-2. 
Near the close of the last-named year he went to New York city and en- 
tered the law office of Fessenden & Ketchani, and was admitted to the bar 
in 1824. In the autumn of that year he started for Savannah. Georgia, in 
a sailing vessel, to establish himself in practice. Through unflagging 
industry and rigid economy he had secured a small stock of law books, 
clothing and other necessities, all of which were swept away in the wreck 
of the vessel near Darien, Georgia, m a terrific storm. But the measure 
of his misfortunes was not yet full, and he was seized with an attack of 
yellow fever. After a partial recovery, acting under the advice of his 
physician, he made his way back to New York. Here were friends to 
welcome and aid him in a new start in the world, and he set resolutely 
to work to obtain a new footing. Being blest with a sound constitution, 
and having recovered his health, he soon repaid those who had aided 
him, and' rapidly established himself in a lucrative practice. He came 
to Watertown and became a partner of his brother, and his close appli- 
cation to the duties of his office nnd the interest of his clients brought 
him a brilliant professional reputation in all courts. He was thorough 
in research, and had an immense capacity for work, and his kindness of 
heart and fine mind and character won and retained friends. Though 
somewhat abrupt and brusciue in manner, his warm heart and generous 



802 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

nature were apparent to all who were privileged to know him well. He 
continued in active practice until his death. April u. 18O5. At the time 
of his funeral the city was draped in mourning on account of the death 
of President Lincoln. 

Mr. Clarke was a regular attendant of the First Presbyterian 
church, and was acti\-e in establishing and supporting the Jefferson 
County Orphan's Home, and in the general promotion of education. He 
was a stern opponent of slavery, being a lover of justice, and was in 
succession a Whig, "Knowncthing." Abolitionist and Republican. 
While loyal to the last-named, he was conservative, and did not be- 
lieve the civil war necessary. During the last ten years of practice he 
was a partner of Delano C. Calvin. He was attorney for large land 
owners of this section in the early dax-s, and defended many persons 
accused of particii)atioii in (.r ai'ling the i)Vosecution of the "Patriot" 
War. In h'eliruary. 1(840. he was appointed surrogate, to fill a vacancy, 
and served subseciuently liy election until 1844. His successor died be- 
fore the close of his term, and Mr. Clarke again fulfilled the duties of 
the office until a new election. At one time he was considered by the 
Democratic leaders as a candidate for judge, because of his well-known 
ability and conservative character, but he did not desire the position, 
preferring the emoluments and honor of a successful practice. In 1840 
Yale College conferred upon him the degree of Doctor of Laws. 

John Clarke was married. October 5. 1830. to Elizalieth Smith, who 
was born in 1809, in Watertown. a daughter of William and Ellice 
(Xasli) Smith, of Great Barrington, Massachusetts. She died April 
25. 1840. sur\i\Td l)y three of her four children. Elizabeth, the eldest 
of these, resides in Watertown, unmarried. Mary Louise is the wife of 
Le\'i A. Johnson (q. v.). Juliet died at the age of fourteen years. 

In 1841 Mr. Clarke married Cornelia Catherine Ranney. who was 
Frances Grace l^ecame the wife of George W. Knowlton. and died in 
1868 (.see Knowlton). 

born at Adams, this county, a daughter of Butler and Orra (Heath) 
Ranney. natives of Connecticut. She died October 14, 1892. aged eighty 
Years, and her memory is as dearly clierished by her foster children as 
bv her own surviving ciiild. The younger. Helen Minerva, died at the 
age of one vear, and the elder. Cornelia, is the wife of Frederick ^I, Sey- 
mour, of Watertown. 

(VTI) CH.XRLES E. CL.\RKE was a native of Saybrook, Con- 
necticut, born about 1789. Shortly after his graduation from Yale Col- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. m>3 

lege lie began a cnurse oi stud}- in the law in Greene connty, Xew York, 
continued the same in Jefferson count\-, and was there admitted as an 
attorney in 1813. His career as a lawyer was distinguished by sterling 
character, a display of comprehensi\-e knowledge of the law. and a 
steady devotion to the best interests of his numerous clients. Having a 
command of language that was truly remarkable, and being specially 
endowed with a \ast store of wit. humor and eloquence, be achieved suc- 
cess in his chosen calling and gained a prominent position at the bar. 
Subsequent to the year 1S25, when bis brother. John Clarke, was ad- 
mitted to the bar, a copartnership was ft.irmed b}- the two Ijrotbers un- 
der the name of C. E. & J. Clarke, and this connection continued until 
about the A'ear 184S. 

About 1830, or later, Charles E. Clarke purchased a gristmill, 
sawmill and distillery at the Great Bend, the greater part of which was 
formerly the property of Angel Potter, rmd in the management and 
operation of the same he spent the larger part of his time thereafter. 
During the terms of the court be came and assisted his brother in the 
preparation and trial of cases, taking the leading part until after 1S48. 
and assisting in important cases until 1850. He was elected to the as- 
sembly in 1839 and 1840, and in 1848 was elected to congress, and in 
these important oftices his record was conspicuously meritorious. He 
enjoyed the confidence of his constituents and the esteem of his col- 
leagues for the energy and fidelity he displayed in contending for the 
interests of the people. In ^^'atertown. New York, where he resided 
for many years, he was held in peculiar honor, anrl there set an example 
of citizenship which was well worthy of emulation. His death occurred 
in 1863, at the age of seventy-four years. 

(Vnr) John Victor Clarke, son of Charles E. and Hannah (San- 
ford) Clarke, was born Xovember 14, 1859, in Great Bend, Xew York, 
and went to Watertown with his mother after bis father's death. He 
was educated in the public schools of Watertown, and set about his own 
support at an early age. Entering the employ of George B. Phelps, an 
extensive railroad contractor, he rapidly acquired a knowledge of civil 
engineering, and in 1886 became a member of the firm of Moffett, Hodg- 
kins & Clarke, contractors. This included John F. Moffett and H. C. 
Hodgkins, well known in connection with railroad and other construc- 
tion contracts. During his connection with this firm it remo\-ed head- 
quarters to New York city, where it was dissolved. 

Mr. Clarke went to White Plains, where he became interested in 



804 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

the Le A'alley Carbon Brush Company, of which he was made president. 
Through his energy and good Ijusiness management, it was made a suc- 
cess, and he was cut off by death in tlie midst of a most useful and prom- 
ising career, June g, 1904. He was a vahied member of the Larchmont 
Yacht Chib and the Colonial and Knowlwood Clubs, and his kind na- 
ture, affable manners and unimpeachable integrity lirought to him and 
retained many warm friendships. A true and worthy representative of 
a noble ancestry, his demise was a distinct loss to the community at 
large, as well as to a sorrowing family. 

Mr. Clarke was married in 1884 to Aliss Lucile Copley, daughter 
of Hiram Copley (see Copley, VI). Mrs. Clarke is a lady of good busi- 
ness f^uaiifications, as well as graceful accomplishments and fine per- 
sonality, as is shown by her successful management of the business be- 
queathed to her by her lamented husliand. Three children remain to 
comfort her in her bereavement, namely : John Victor. Copley and Car- 
ree Rosalind. 

JOHN JAY LAMON, who died at his home on Paddock street, 
Watertown. April 21, 1903, was among the successful business men of 
that city, a descendant of one of the first to locate in Jefferson county. 

(I) Francis Lamon was the first of the name known to his 
descendants in this section. His Avife was Elizabeth Ray. Not far 
from 1780 they moved from Salem. Washington county, this state, to 
Bridgewater, Oneida county, taking some live-stock. It is said that 
they were not well-to-do at that time, and moved to the newer country 
to improve their prospects. They had seven sons and one daughter. 
One of the sons, Francis, was a small boy when they moved, and could 
not keep up with the party on foot, so he was placed on the back of 
one of the steers and got along comfortably. Those were pioneer times, 
and none of the conveniences of to-day were available, in travel or 
almost any undertaking. Francis Lamon died in Hounsfield at the 
age of one hundred and three years, and his wife about ten years younger. 
Their remains are supposed to rest in Sulphur Springs cemetery. Fol- 
lowing is a brief account of their children : John, the eldest, settled in 
the western part of this state, where he reared a family. Isaac, the 
second, lived at Lyons, New York. James settled in Hounsfield, where 
his father gave him fifty acres of land. Justice settled at Manyunk, 
Pennsylvania, where he died, and had a family of eight children. Noah 
lived and died in Belleville, this county. Levi lived in the town of 




1^ 





9 



^i^^^^uzty^^ 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 805 

Hounsnelil, between Sackets Harbor and Dexter. Francis, tbe youngest 
son, is nientioned hereinafter. Anna Ijecame the wife of Timothy 
Andrus, and Hved in Hounsfield. 

(II) Francis Lamon, son of Francis and Ehzaljeth. was born 
April 19, 1775, in Salens, New York. After he came of age, his father 
gave him a small piece of wild land, which he cleared up and impruved. 
About 1802 he traded this for one hundred acres on iJry Hill, in the 
town of Watertown, and brought his family here in the following spring. 
He had only one child then. The remo\al was made on snow, in the 
month of March, and was attended with many difticulties and hard- 
sh.ips. He had an ox-team, a cow, pig and a few sheep. The latter 
animals caused much trouble, on account of their aversion to turning 
out in the deep snow, in passing or meeting teams. On reaching Dry 
Hill, they found a log hut erected the previous year by Samuel Knapp, 
in the deep forest. No roof had yet been put on, and Mr. Lamon went 
three miles with his oxen to a small sawmill, where he obtained a few 
boards. With these he placed a roof on the cabin and settled his 
family there until he coukl get on his own land, alnjut a mile away, 
and provide some shelter. On the arrival of Knapp, a few days later, 
the latter was pleased to know that he would have a neighbor, and 
made Mr. Lamon and family welcome. As soon as he could chop out 
space for and erect a cabin, Mr. Lamon moved to his land and hastened 
to clear as much as possible, in order to raise something for the suc- 
ceeding winter. It was with ditTiculty that he kept his stock from wan- 
dering back toward their former home, during the first year, and a 
sharp ear was needed in listening for the bell which was hung on the 
neck of one of the oxen. Wild animals stole his young stock, and his 
experience, like that of other pioneers, was somew'hat unpleasant, while 
laying the foundation of the present civilization enjoyed by his (.le- 
scendants. He was married in Bridgewater, March 23, 1797, to Philena 
Crane, who was born March 26, 1779, and died Septemlier 22. 1844, in 
the village of Watertown, whither they moved in 1836. At that time his 
lands amounted to four hundred and fifty acres, and he sold out on 
removing to the village. He died July 29, 1862, aged eighty-seven 
years. Francis and Philena Lamon had two daughters and two sons. 
Huldah, the first, married Alpheus Wilson, when she was fourteen years 
of age and died at twenty-one, having borne four children. Lorinda, 
the second, married Garrett Ives, and died at the birth of her son, 



606 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Francis Ives, now deceased. Joel married Phebe Jacquitli, and settled 
at Sycamore, Ohio. 

(III) Francis Ray, youngest son of Francis (2), was born Jnne 
24, 1807, in the town of Watertown, where he grew up on his father's 
farm. His health w'as feeble for many years in early life, but he lived 
to a great age, being eighty-three years old when he died, February 14, 
1 89 1. \Mien a young man he made fishing trips to the banks of New 
Foundland, and worked one winter in a store in New York city. After 
keeping a grocery in Watertown a year or two, about 1833, he bought a 
hotel, the "Center House," in that village, which he conducted several 
years. At one time he sold it and subsequently re-purchased, finally 
selling out about 1844. He also kept a livery, in connection with the 
hotel. After buying and selling several farms, he settled on State 
street, about a mile from "the Square." where he built a house and 
lived a few years. About i860 he sold out and moved to \'ineland, 
New Jersey, to enjoy a milder climate. He returned to Watertown in 
1873, and purchased a home on Academy street, where he died. He 
attended the Universalist church, of which he was a liberal supporter. 
A Whig in early life, he was among the first supporters of the Repub- 
lican party. 

He was married May i, 1833, to Susan Miles, who was born 
August 3, 181 1, in Watertov.n, a daughter of Jonathan E. and Lucinda 
(Sheldon) Aides, pioneer settlers of that town, coming in 1804. Mrs. 
Susan Lamon died October 27, 1854, and about 1859 Mr. Lamon mar- 
ried Esther Cobb, who survived him, dying in Watertown, December 
JO, 1899. She was born August 9, 1824, in Marcy, Oneida county. 

Air. Lamon's children were all born of the first marriage. The 
eldest, Francis Aides, long a merchant of Watertown, now resides in 
that city. Lorinda Ives is the wife of Isaac Proctor Powers, of Water- 
town. Plmy Eugene, born September 26, 1843, died April 5, 1903, 
in Watertown. John J. receives further mention below. 

(IV) John Jay, youngesi child of Francis R. and Susan (Allies) 
Lamon, was born November 2, 1845, in a house fronting the Public 
Square, in Watertown. He was educated in the public schools of Water- 
town ana the seniniary at Clinton, Oneitla county. New York. Soon 
after attauiing his majority he became a partner of the late Henry AI. 
Ball, in conducting a grocery business at numlier 4 Washington street, 
and suljscqucntly jjurchased the interest of his ]]artner and continued 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. So7 

the business alone. _\fter eight years in this hne, he kept a meat market 
on Frankhn street hfieei: years. 

In the meantime Air. Lamon acquired some real estate and, on 
disposing of iiis mari^et, gave his entire attention to his realty interests, 
buying and selling property as long as he continued to do anything. 
While conducting a market, he also dealt largely in cattle and farm 
machinery, and was widely known among the rural population of this 
and neighboring counties. During the last ten years of his life his health 
was not good, and he attempted no new enterprises. 

In speaking of Air. Lamon's character, the Watertown Statidard 
of the day following his death said : "He was noticeable among men 
for the independence and strong force of character which shone through 
his striking personality, making him a man once seen not easily for- 
gotten. He was passionately devoted to his family. A man of sound 
judgment, he always had the hearty support of the best people of the 
city. His infinite love for luimanity was a very prominent point in 
his character. Mr. Lamon served several years as a member of the 
board of public works of this city, and received much praise from the 
city officials and the general public, for his very efficient work in that 
capacity." 

John J. Lamon was married December 12, 1867, to Miss Helen 
Medora Ball, daughter of H. M. Ball (see Ball, VII). Four children 
survive him, with the widow, all residing in Watertown, namely: 
Selma G., Alice AL, Harry AI. and Fred R. 

W hile somewhat eccentric and independent in character. Air. La- 
mon's heart and purse were open to e\-erybody, and he often assumed, 
through sympathy, much of the burdens of others. He was always inter- 
ested in the welfare of the Universalist church, which he sought to pro- 
mote in every way. The Utica Globe said of him : "He was a faithful 
official and a man who, though brusque in manner and positive in con- 
victions, counted everybody his friends. A large proportion of the 
• ilder residents of the city knew him and \alued highly his acquaintance." 

PEXNIAIAX. The name of Penniman was early planted in this 
countr}-. and figures extcnsi\-ely in the history (jf Bijston and its neigh- 
boring tcnvns. It is al^-o found in \vestern Alassachusetts, and in Xew 
Ham]3shire and Xew \'ijrk. One nf the early settlers of this county 
was Zuriel Penniman. who receives further mentiim belnw. 

(I) James Penniman was .'idmitted a freeman at Boston in 1631. 



808 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



Witli his wife Lydia he settled in Braintree in 1639. and died there De^ 
cember 26, 1664. He had ten children. 

(II) Deacon Joseph Penniman, son of James and Lydia Penni- 
man, was born August i, 1639. in Braintree. and married Waiting ■Rol> 
inson, daughter of William Robinson, of Dorchester. She died August 
21. 1690, and he subsequently married Widow Sarah Stone, daughter 
of Deacon Samuel Bass, of Braintree. He died November 5. 1705. and 
his widow was living in 1739. 

(III) Moses, son of Deacon Joseph Penniman and his first wife, 
Waiting (Robinson), third of their seven children, was born February 
14, 1677, in Braintree. His will, dated July 9. 1718. mentions his wife, 
Mary. He died ten days after making his will. 

(IV) Moses (2), son of Moses (i) and Mary Penniman. was 
born June i, 1715, the last of six children of his parents. He ^as mar- 
ried, in Boston. April 7. 1737, by Rev. Dr. Cutler, rector of King"s 
Chapel, to Rebecca Edmonds, both of Braintree. 

(V) William, son of Moses (2) and Rebecca (Edmonds) Penni- 
man. was born in 1738. in Braintree. and lived Si>mt time in Chester. 
Massachusetts, whence he went to Xorth Adams, same state, where he 
died in 18 10. He was married, in Boston. January 12. 1769. by Rev. 
\\'illiam Walter, to Catherine Hivell. 

(VI) Zuriel Penniman was born I-'eliruary. 13. 17S8. in Keene. Xew 
Hampshire, and was very early at Black River and Great Bend, in this 
county. He was married, June 12, 182 1, to Almira Freeman, daughter 
of Colonel Alfred Freeman, a pioneer settler of Wilna. After her death 
he married Nancy Everett, who was born March 12, 1795, in New 
Hampslure. Mr. Penniman purchased land in Wilna, which he 
cleared, and on which his descendants now reside. It is located about 
four miles in a northerly direction from the village of Carthage, and now 
includes some of the finest sugar trees for which that town is famous. 
The present farm covers one hundred acres, and has a fine brick house 
and other first-class farm buildings. 

(\^II) Guy Earl Penniman. son of Zuriel and Nancy (Everett) 
Penniman. was born January 4, 1827. in the town of Rutland, and was 
reared in Wilna on his father's farm. He attended the district schimN 
of his time, and made farming his business through life. When the 
farm came to his hands by inheritance it had forty-five acres of cleared 
land, and he continued to improve and till it until old age. He ilied Jan- 
uary I, 1903, being only three days short of seventy-six years old. He 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 809 

'•ttended the Universalist church, and was a Repubhcan in politics. An 
industrinr.s and (juiet farmer, he (Hd not care for ofhcial honors, and 
filled only minor offices which duty seemed to recjuire of him. 

He was married, on the day he was twenty-tvvO' years old. to Made- 
line. daui^lUer of John and Susan Smith, who receive further mention 
in this article. His children were Guy and Carrie, the latter now the 
wife of Dexter Crowner, residing on the parental homestead in Wilna. 

John Smith was employed when a young man by Stephen Girard, 
the noted Philadelphia philanthropist, and was married in New Jersey 
to a native of that state. In the earliest days he came with teams to 
W'ilna, making" his way through the v.'ilderness by the guidance of blazed 
trees, and settled five miles northeast of the present village of Carthage. 
He was possessed of some means at the time of his arrival, and brought 
iiis large family with him. He also brouglit some stock, and was soon 
engaged in successful farming. He built by far the most pretentious 
house in the town, of stone, and it is still standing and occupied. He was 
a highly respected citizen, and wielded considerable influence in local 
affairs in his time. All of his family, save one, are now deceased. His 
sons were: John, Alonzo and Joseph. The first two died in Wilna, 
and the last resides in Hailesboro, St. Lawrence county, this state. Of 
th:e daughters. Lorissa became the wife of Simeon Fulton (see Fulton, 
IV). Emeline married John Twining, of Denmark. Lewis county. 
Madeline was the wife of Guy Earl Penniman. Susan, wife of Eber 
Mayhew, lived near Sterlingville, in Wilna. Julia married Henry Pearce, 
and lived near the center of Wilna. Cora died unmarried, and Almini 
married Warren Crowner, of Wilna. 

(VIII) Guy Penniman, elder child and only son of Guy Earl and 
Madeline (Smith "I Penniman, was born October 29. 1830, in Wilna. 
where he grew up, remaining on the home farm until twenty-three years 
of age. He attended the common school and spent one term at Low\-ille 
Academy.' Ha\ing an active mind, he has kept abreast of the times, and 
is well informed on topics of usual interest in his community. For ten 
years he tilled land adjoining the home farm, and was suljsequently en- 
gaged in farming m the eastern ])art of the town. He sold this place 
and purchased one hundred and fifty acres, which he still owns, near 
Natural Bridge, and tilled it until 1888. when he moved to Carthage. 
Since that time he lias 'neen engaged in the livery business, with success, 
in that ])lace. In T()03 he enlarged his jiroperty on Schno] street, by pur- 
chase, and now maintains large 'ibeds fur the accommoilation of farmers' 



810 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

teams and \ehicles. Of genial ami geneiMus nature, he makes and re- 
tains friends. ;\ir. Penniman attend? and suppt.irts the Universalist 
church, and is a substantial and sound Republican. While attentive to 
his business, without desire for public responsibility, he has served very 
acceptably as collector of his native town, and is frecjuently called upon 
to assist in the duties of the collector, Ijecause of his success in that line 
of effort. 

Mr. Penniman was married, November 6, 1873, to Miss Cornelia 
M. Colburn, a native of Wilna. daughter of Orlin and Eliza (Gates) Col- 
bum, of Champion and Wilna. Her grandfather, Amos Colburn, and 
his brother, Asa, were among the pioneers of Champion. Orlin Col- 
burn sawed by hand the plank used in making the first bridge over Black 
river, at the present village of Deferiet. Two children complete the fam- 
ily of Guy and Cornelia M. Penniman — Phila P. and Eber Guy. The 
former is now the wife of Elias Wagar, of Shenandoah. Dutchess county, 
this state. The latter conducts a harness store on School street, Car- 
thage. He was married, June 4. 1902, to Annah Claude Gardner of 
Utica. 

GEORGE BRAGG MASSEY. Xo name in the annals of Water- 
town holds a more conspicuous or more honored place than Massey. The 
family has been represented there since the earliest settlement of the 
town, and has been a virile element in its development and growth. Hart 
Massey, who pushed across the Vermont frontier into the northern 
wilderness, was himself of strong and pioneering ancestry. He was a 
descendant of one of the earliest comers to New England, Jeffrey 
Massey (I), who was born in 1593, in England, and died in 1677, in 
Salem, Massachusetts, where he was i.me of the first settlers. The first 
white male born in that town (1631) was his son, John Massey (H). 
The latter had a son, John Massey (HI), who was born in 1668. 

(IV) Deacon Jonathan Massey, son of John (HI), was born 
July 6, 1 747. and was one of a family of eight sons and three daughters. 
He was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, serving with the New 
Hampshire militia, and in 1776 being a lieutenant in the continental 
armv. He died in Watertown March 30, 1830. 

(V) Hart, son of Jonathan Massey, was born December 5, 1771, 
in Salem, New Hampshire. In 1792 the family moved to Windsor, 
Vermont, where Hart married Lucy, a daughter of Deacon Nathaniel 
Swain, in 1795. She was born in 1771. in Reading, Massachusetts. 




C?^AC^2;,^z,<z_^. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. *n 

Hart Massey went to Watertown in 1800. his family following the next 
year. On the land he bought the town grew up. His first purchase 
was ninety acres, to which he soon added a hundred more. In 1808 
he was appointed colonel and inspector of state troops, having previously 
been in service as quartermaster in Colonel Abijah Putnam's regiment, 
and as adjutant to Colonel Gershom Tuttle. He was also a collector 
of customs at Sackets Harbor during the war of 18 12, when that port 
was an important post. Two war ships were built there of timbers 
taken from the forest, and put in commission, one within forty-five, 
and the other within eighty days. He received a number of appoint- 
ments to civil office, being deputy collector of the county when it was 
attached to Oneida county, and in 1820 was made common pleas judge. 
In any capacity he was a noteworthy man, and always held the high 
regard of the community. He was a Quaker, and the first religious 
services of the town were held in his cabin on the first Sunday after his 
arrival with his family. He died in Watertown March 20, 1853, the 
half centur)' of his life there being marked by great industrial devel- 
opmeHt. 

(VI) Edward Swain Massey, son of Hart JMassey, was born in 
Watertown. October 18, 1806. He was a farmer, and in 1828 built the 
house where his son George B. now lives. He was active in business 
circles and local public life, inheriting much of his father's energy'. He 
was the first coal dealer of the town, and was a director of the Jefiferson 
County Bank. He was adjutant in the military service, when the troops 
were called out at the time of the Fenian invasion of Canada. He 
was a prominent member of the Presbyterian church, and was twice 
married. The first wife, Nancy Kilbourn, of Champion, was wedded 
May 28, 1828, and died April 17, 1832, being the mother of two chil- 
dren, Fred K. and Emma S. The second wife, Esther Bragg, was a 
daughter of Jairus Bragg, of Newport, Herkimer county, this state, 
and bore him six children, Maria E., George B., Mary E., Jairus Ed- 
ward, Albert P., and Annie M., of whom George B., Mary E., wife of 
George Munson of New York, and Anna M. are now living. Edward 
S. Massey died July 14, 1876, in Watertown. 

(VTI) George B. Massey was born January i, 1836, in the 
house which has always been his home, and educated in the public schools 
and Homer Academy. .\t the age of fourteen he entered the drug 
store of T. H. Camp, as clerk, and slinwed such adaptability and indus- 
try that eight years later he was made junior partner. In the meantime, 



812 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

his education iiad been completed at Homer. Soon after the firm name 
was changed to Camp and Massey, under wliich name it was conducted 
until 1899, though in 1889 Mr. Massey l:iecame sole owner. He has 
been in some manner connected with all W'atertown's more important 
financial enterjjrises. He is \ice jiresident of the New York Air Brake 
Company, the largest manufacturing cr)ncern in the city, and president 
of the Excelsior Carriage Company, a concern famous throughout the 
country for the superior quality of its output. He is also president 
of the Jefferson County National Bank, of which he has been a director 
for thirty years, and was over six years vice president; was a director 
of the Watertown Street Railway Company, is a director of the Water- 
town Steam Engine Company, and was, during its existence in Water- 
town, a director of the Davis Sewing Machine Company. He has up- 
held the interest which his father had in church work, having been 
treasurer of the Sunday school and of the Jefferson County Bible Society 
for many years. He has also felt great interest in the Young Men's 
Christian Association and done much constructive work for the organi- 
zation, in which he has held the ofiice of treasurer over twenty-five 
years. He was among the founders of tlie Jefferson County Historical 
Society, and has been its secretary four years. 

In 1861 he married Sarah H. Thompson, who died the next year, 
lea\"ing no children. 

ALBERT PARSON MASSEY, who died June 5, 1898, was a 
representati\'e of one of the oldest families of Watertown, and a man of 
marked mechanical genius. His natural ability was developed by a 
thorough scientific education, and he was the inventor of industrial appli- 
ances of great moment. His ancestors were among the first to push 
across the New England frontier into tlie wilderness of northern New 
York, and they were of a fibre and a temper to make themselves felt as 
a benignant and constructi\-e force in the industrial upbuilding of the 
community, and the formation of its social traditions. For account of 
the line of descent, see .sketch of George B. Massey. 

Albert Parson Massey was liorn March 30, 1842, in Watertown, 
and recei\-ed his preliminary education in the public schools there. The 
unusual order of his mind was early evident, and he went to Yale Col- 
lege, where he was graduated in the scientific course. He went to San 
Francisco and afterward to the Sandwich Islands in the course of his 
professional work. Returning to Cleveland, Ohio, he liecame a member 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. .^15 

of the firm of Younglove & Massey. manufacturers of agricultural im- 
plements. He invented a straw-cutter, among other pieces of valuable 
machiner\-. In 1887 he came back to Watertown, and became an expert 
for the New York Air Brake Company, perfecting for it many important 
inventions. The company was in litigation with the Westinghouse Air 
Brake Company, and his mechanical knowledge and expert testimony on 
the stand at the trial turned the decision in favor of the former. The 
business of the company was not in a prosperous state when ^Nlr. ]\Iassey 
became its mechanical expert. Init with the Massey air brake, which was 
his invention, also engineer's \-al\e, the company made a great success. 
He had a fine mind that reached beyond his special field, and found 
pleasure in all lines of liberal culture. While at Ceveland he served 
as librarian of the Case Public Librar}^ He died at sea while seeking 
to restore his broken health, and he literally gave his life for the New 
York Air Brake Company. Mr. Massey was known as a Christian man 
and he was active in the work of the local Presbyterian church, in 
which he was manv years a trustee. 

He married, October 18, 1870, Phoebe Scott Griffith, daughter of 
Walter S. Griffith, of Brooklyn, president of the Home Life Insurance 
Company. He was de\'Oted to family life, a considerate and helpful 
friend, and a man of wide and generous sympathies. His wife is active 
in the work of the church and of the Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion, interests to which her husband gave his cordial support. Five 
children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Massey, namely : Frank L. : Eliza- 
beth Griffith, who died in infancy; George B., a graduate of Yale Uni- 
versity: ^^'alter G., a graduate of Cornell: and Clara E., at home with 
her mother. 

In the spring of 1903 the sons incorporated the Massey Machine 
Company, and built a plant on Pearl street, where they are turning out 
lathes and other heavy machine work. Tlie president is George B. 
Massey ; vice president, Frank L. Massey : secretary, W. G. Massey ; 
and treasurer, George B. Massey, second. The last-named is a veteran 
of the Cuban and Philippine wars, having served as ensign in the 
navy. 

In speaking of Mr. Massey 's career, the IVaterto'iiiih Times said : 

"It was his genius that turned defeat into success when the New 
York Air Brake Conipnny's powerful ri\al. the Westinghouse Company, 
jirocured an injunctinn which declared that a certain principle invnl\-ed 
in the cnnstruction of the Watertcwn brake was an infringement on tiie 



816 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Westinghouse patent. 'Mv. ]\Iassey at that time devised a new valve 
entirely different from the Westinghouse pattern, and operating even 
more effectually than the old valve, practically nullifying the injunction 
and placing his company's product at the front again. This, though 
perhaps his most notahle achievement of its kind, is only an indication 
of the strength and versatility of his mechanical genius. Unlike many 
inventors, there was nothing vague or visionary in the mental concepts 
that he brought to such successful conclusion. His ideas were sound 
and practical and were nearly always successfully executed. 

"He was essentially a busy man and could spare but little time to 
society, but his home life was his rest and solace, the atmosphere in 
which he was relieved from the mental strain and constant thought of his 
life-taxing work and where he found his greatest pleasure." 

FRA\'CIS W. H. MASSEY, M. D. In no other county of the 
Empire state has the medical profession been more ably represented 
than in Jefferson county. During the lapse of a century skilful and 
honorable physicians have, in each generation, taken their places in 
the ranks of the cnunty practitioners. In none of these have the peculiar 
and distinguishing characteristics of the profession been more worthily 
exemplified than in Dr. Francis W. H. Massey of Brownville. He is 
a lineal descendant of Jeffrey ]\Iassey, wdio was born in England in 
1593, and was one of the original settlers of Salem, Alassachusetts. 
(For complete genealogy, see George B. Masse}', in this work.) 

(V) Hart Massey, third son of Jonathan ]Massey, purchased a 
tract of land on which a portion of the city of Watertown is now situ- 
ated. Here in 1801 he brought his family, and first resided in a house 
where the Paddock Arcade now stands, removing thence to the lot 
now owned by E. L. Paddock, on Washington street. In 1S12 he 
built the first brick house erected in the county, an edifice which is still 
standing on Massey avenue. He is remembered as one of those who 
have sat with honor on the bench of Jefferson county. 

(VI) Solon Massey, second child and elder son of Hart Massey, 
was born July 29, 1798, and was but three years old wdien brought by his 
parents to Watertown. He was a man of literary ability and was the 
author of a series of articles in the Watertown papers, signed "A Link in 
the Chain," which describe the early settlement of Jefferson county. The 
name of his wife was Alary Esther Boalt. Mr. Massey passed his life 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 817 

as a fanner on the homestead, his death occurring when he liad reached 
the age of seventy-two. 

(VII) Wilh'am Penn Ivjassey. son of Solon and ^lary Esther 
(Boalt) Massey, was liorn September 23, 1824. in the town of Water- 
town, and at the age of nine years went to hve with his uncle by mar- 
riage. Dr. James K. Bates, who conducted a drug store at Brownville 
and also for some years held the office of postmaster. ]\Ir, Massey re- 
ceived his education in the select schools of Brownville and at the 
Black River Literary and Religious Institute of Watertown. During 
the winter of 1843-44 he taught school near Cape \^incent, and then 
regxilarly commenced the stud}' of medicine with Dr. Bates, attended 
lectures at the University of New York during the sessions of 1846-47 
and 1847-48, and graduated with the degree of Doctor of Medicine in 
1848. Returning to Brownville, he succeeded to the practice of Dr. 
Bates, who removed to Watertown shortly after. He built up a large 
practice and gained the confidence, respect and esteem of the community 
in which he lived, his advice being frequently sought in matters political, 
as well as professional, by eminent men in all parts of the county. In 
August, 1855, while returning from Perch River, he was thrown from 
his carriage and was found lying in the road unconscious, his shoulder 
broken, his spine injured and his limbs paralyzed. He was disabled 
until the next November, and was then not fully recovered, overexertion 
or anxiety causing attacks which on several occasions threatened his 
life. This accident, by prostrating his nervous system, was the main 
factor in shortening his career, but his energy and ambition triumphed 
over his bodily ills, notwithstanding which he led an active life. The 
winter of 1860-61 he spent in New York, attending lectures and visit- 
ing the various hospitals of that city. In 1881 he was appointed exam- 
ining surgeon for pensions, and with Drs. C. AI. Johnson and J. Morti- 
mer Crawe constituted the board of pension surg'eons for Jefferson 
county. Dr. Massey held the office of treasurer of the board and was 
also a member of the Jefferson County Medical Society. In politics 
he was a stanch Republican. He was a member of the Presbvterian 
church of Brownville, in which for many years he served as elder. 

Dr. Massey married, ]\Iay 8, 1848, Adeline, born in 1822, in Coop- 
erstown, Otsego county. New York, daughter of Charles and Abigail 
Robinson (Macomber) Smith, of Utica, New York. Charles Smith 
was a cotton manufacturer. He spent his last years and died in Coopers- 
town, being seventy-two years old at the time of his death. Of the 



818 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

children born to him and his wife only two survive : C. W. Smith, of 
Brooklyn, New York ; and Mrs. S. W. Paine, of Rochester, New York. 
Dr. and Mrs. Massey were the parents of two children : Frederick, who 
is extensively engaged in business as a dry-goods merchant in Rochester, 
Minnesota ; and Francis W. H., mentioned at length hereinafter. 

Dr. Massey was a lifelong resident of Brownville, and died there 
May 22, 1883, under circumstances of singular and striking interest. 
While engaged in dressing the wound of a patient who had just been 
injured, he fell, and in a few minutes expired. Although the suddenness 
of his death was a shock, not only to his family and friends, but to the 
entire community, to which he had so long ministered and in which 
he was so greatly belo\-ed, it was felt to be fitting that he should close 
his long career of bene\-olence and usefulness while in the active dis- 
charge of those duties to which he had so constantly and unselfishly 
devoted himself. 

Francis W. H. Massey, son of William Penn and Adeline (Smith) 
Massey, was born June 16. 1853. in Brownville. where he received his 
primary education in the common schools, afterward attending the 
Adams Collegiate Institute. In 1S74 he entered the University of Mich- 
igan, Ann Arbor, jNIichigan, graduating in pharmacy in 1876. and later 
began a course of medical study under the guidance of his father. In 
1884 he received from the medical department of the University of 
New York the degree of Doctor of Medicine, and entered upon the dis- 
charge of his professional duties in Brownville, succeeding, on the death 
of his father, to the latter's practice. Of the position which Dr. Massey 
has for many years held in the ranks of the medical profession of Jeffer- 
son county, it is sufficient to say that it is worthy of the son of such a 
father. He has served as president of the Jeft'erson County jNIedical 
Society. Politically he is a Republican. In the Presbyterian church, 
of which he is a member, he also serves as elcler, an office in which 
every generation of the family has been re]iresented for more than a 
hundred years. 

Dr. Massey married, September 2^, 1878, Nellie Torrey, and they 
are the parents rif fi\-e children : Mary, who is now studying art in 
Brooklyn, New York; Jennie; Torrey: Ruth: and Francis. Mrs. Massey 
is the daughter of Silas H. Torrey, a prominent lawyer of Saratoga 
countv. He and his wife Marion were jiarents of six children: Nellie, 
who was born in 1838, in Saratoga cnunty, and became the wife of 
Dr. Francis W. H. ]\Iassey. as mentioned above; Julia; Jennie; Belle, 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. S19 

who resides in California, as clo her two sisters liereinbefore mentioned: 
Cora, who lives in Philadelphia: antl lunily. who is a resident of Oberlin, 
Ohio. Both Mr. and I\Irs. Torrey ilied at the cnniparatively early as^e 
of fifty-five years. 

ALFRED LIXLEY GRAXGER. one of the successfnl farmers and 
good citizens of Champion, is a scion of one of the oldest families in 
northern N'ew York, a family that distinguished itself in the war for in- 
dependence, as well as in civil life. 

(I) The founder of the family was Launcelot Granger, a native of 
England, who was among the settlers of X'ewbury. Massachusetts. He 
was one of the one hundred persons who received a grant of land in 1680 
in what is now Suffield, Connecticut, then called Southold, and a part of 
Massachusetts. He died in that town in 1689. 

(H) Abraham Granger, son of Launcelot, born April 17, 1^173, in 
Newbury, married (first), in 1706, Hannah, daughter of Deacon John 
and Esther (Prichet) Hanchett, of Suffield. She died in 1718, and he 
married (second), Hannah (surname unknown), who died June 7. 
1726. Mr. Granger was a farmer and resided in Suffield, where he died. 
One child, Benjamin, was born of the first marriage. Januarj- 15. 1708. 
Two sons and a daughter were the fruit of the second union, born as 
follows: AJjraham, January 5, 1720: Seth, May, 1723: Hannah. May 
25, 1726. 

(HI) Seth Granger, second son of Abraham and Hannah Granger, 
born in Suffield, was married. May 4, 175 1, to Ruth, daughter of 
Ebeneezer Allen, and resided in Granville, Massachusetts. Their chil- 
dren were: Abigail, born January 18, 1752; Seth, August 18, 1754: 
Sebra, January 31, 1763, died March 4. 1848; Levi, Ruth. December 
23, 1770: and Thankful. 

(IV) Sebra Granger, second son and third child of Seth and 
Ruth (Allen) Granger, was born in Suffield, and died in 1840 (or 1848), 
in Rosebrom, formerly Cherry Valley. Xew York, where he engaged in 
agricultural pursuits. His widow passed away March 12, 1852. Their 
children were: Allen, born May 23, 1787; Abner, July 20, 1789; John, 
May 6, 1791 ; Lucy, September 25, 1792; Bela, October. 1794; Clare, 
November 20, 1798: Julius. May 22, 1801 : Seth. 1802; Joette. August 
28. 1803; Luranah. October 20, 1807; and Oliver. 

(V) Seth Granger, born 1802. was married, August 17, 1823, to 
Belinda Miner, and became a pioneer settler of Martinsburg, this state. 



820 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

in which town he hved and died. He was a shoemaker by trade, and 
tilled o\-er one hundred acres of land with the aid of his sons. His first 
child, Olive, married Nathan Satterlee, with whom she settled in Ran- 
dolph Center, Wisconsm. Alfred, the second, died in his twenty-first 
year. Clarissa died while the wife of Franklin Wheat, of Manchester, 
New York. Lewis, the fourth, receives further mention below. Henry 
H. is now a resident of Glenfield. 

(VI) Lewis, son of Seth and Belinda Granger, married Melissa, 
daughter of Noadiah Kulburt, bom March i, iSio, in Lowville, Lewis 
county, this state. The last-named was a son of Josiah Hulburt, a na- 
tive of Massachusetts, and one of the pioneers of Lewis county. Har- 
riet, born May 3, 1818, in Martinsburg, wife of Noadiah Hulburt, was 
a daughter of John Mott and his wife, Electa Steuben. Melissa (Hul- 
burt) Granger died December 4, 1904, at the home of her second son in 
Cnampion. Her children are : Marion Adella, wife of Richard Dawson, 
residing in Lyonsdale, New York; Alfred L., who receives further men- 
tion in following paragraphs ; William Steuben, a farmer of Champion ; 
and Hubert Noadiah, of Lowville. Two others died in childhood. 

(VH) Alfred L., eldest son and second child of Lewis and Melissa 
(Hulburt) Granger, was born February 14, 1859, in Glendale, now Glen- 
field, Lewis county, this state, whence he moved, when six years old, 
to Brantingham, and was later in ]^,Iontague townships of his native 
county. He had meager opportunity for improving his mind, being early 
forced to become self-supporting. At the age of seventeen he counted 
a full man at farm labor, which occupied his time for a period, and he 
was subsequently employed three years in the lumber woods. 

Li 1S84 he purchased a farm in Champion, this county, but received 
an offer for it which afforded a good profit, and immediately sold it. 
For five years subsequently he worked the Miller farm, in Rutland, as 
a tenant. His present farm of one hundred and ninety-three acres in 
Champion, was acquired in February, 1889. He conducts business on 
a large scale, keeping forty-four cows, and produced over one thousand 
bushels of potatoes in 1903. Mr. Granger is a shrewd and most indus- 
trious farmer, and his prosperity is due to his intelligent and persevering 
efforts, aided by his good wife. Both are members of South Valley 
Grange, of Rutland, and keep in touch with every improvement in agri- 
culture. Mr. Granger speculates in wood in winter, buying up timber, 
which he cuts and markets. Thus he has no season of idleness, but 
utilizes all seasons in accumulating a competency. He is a member of 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 821 

the Copenhagen Tent. Knights of the Maccabees, takes no part in poli- 
tics, preferring his own interests to those of the pubHc. and is usually 
found in pursuit of home industries. 

He was married September 8, 1885, to Abbie, adopted daughter 
of Harvey Loomis (see Loomis). She was born iNIarch 2. 1S39. a 
daughter of Joseph and Angeline Geroy, of French extraction, antl was 
early left an orphan, her father having died when she was se\-en years 
old. B'or a time she was an inmate of the JefTerson County Orphan's 
Home, and left there June 10, 1867, being taken by a family in St. Law- 
rence county. Not being kindly treated she was returned to the home 
and on December 31. 1868. entered the home of Air. Loomis. where she 
found kind parents and was well reared. Her elder brother, John Ge- 
roy, left the home May 27, 1867, and no record can now be found of his 
whereabouts or fate. One son completes the family of Mr. Granger, 
namely, Clai'ence, now fifteen years old. 

ROOT. The Root family is among the oldest in America. an<I 
was conspicuous in the furmative period of Jeffersi>n county history. It, 
has suppned successful attorneys, luiilders and business men to numerous 
states, and the name is now prominent in New York city and other points 
of this state. 

(I) Thomas Roote, believed to be the son of John Roote and Ann 
Burrell, of Badby, England, born January 16, 1605, came to this coun- 
try about the year 1637, and was among the first settlers of Hartford, 
Connecticut, where he lived many years, and where his children were 
liorn. Thomas Roote, of Hartford, went to Pequot in 1637 ^^ a soldier. 
He was a considerable land owner there. After a residence of ab(iut fif- 
teen years in Hartford he remoxed. witli his six sons and one daughter, 
and settled m Xorthampton, Massachusetts, on the 9th day of i\Iay, 
1655, as one of the planters of what was then called Nonotuck. and was 
appointed selectman in 1659. He was one of the church in 1661. 
Thomas Roote died at a very advanced age on the 17th of July, 1694. 
He lived with his son Jonathan on the old homestead. 

(II) Thomas Roote, son of Thomas, grandson of John of Badby, 
was born in 1644 in Hartford, Connecticut. He married (first), July 
3, 1666, xA.bigail, eldest daughter of Alexander and Mary (Hoar) Al- 
vord. She was born October 6. 1647, in Windsor, and died June 17, 
1699. He lived in Northampton until after the death of his wife, and 
then removed to Boston, and thence to Lynn, Massachusetts, where it is 



822 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

recorded that "Thomas Roote, late of Boston, married Mary Cox, De- 
cember 4, 1701." She was a widow, her maiden name being Krilland, 
daughter of Philip Krilland. She was born June 3, or 8, 1640. 

(III) Deacon Thomas Roote, son of Thomas, grandson of 
Thomas, born April 11, 1667. in Xorthampton, ^Massachusetts, married, 
March 4. 1691, Thankful, daughter of Jedediah and Freedom (Wood- 
ward) Strong, of Xorthampton. He went to Coventry, Connecticut, 
in the }ear 1709, and was the first town clerk and the first deacon in 
Coventry. The second child of English parents born in that town was 
his son Ephraim, born 1709. Deacon Thomas died January 19 or No- 
vember 13, 1758, aged ninety-one years. 

(IV) Eliakim Root, son of Thomas, grandson of Thomas, born 
December 28, 1696, in Xorthampton, Massachusetts, removed with his 
father to Coventry, Connecticut, where he lived. He married (first), 
December 15, 1724, Mercy, who died March 27, 1728. He married 
(second), August 15, 1731. Joanna Allis, daughter of Xathaniel and 
^lary Aliis, of Hatfield, Massachusetts, born January 20, 171 1. He 
died January 19, 1759, aged sixty-three years. His children, of first 
marriage: i, Asahel, born April 13, 1726; 2, liliakim. Children 
of second marriage: 3, Joseph; 4, ]\ledad : 5, Jonathan; 6, Miriam; 
7, Jonathan ; 8, Jemima. 

(V) Joseph Root, son of Eliakim, grandson of Thomas, born 
July 5 or [3. 1732, in Xorth Coventry. Connecticut, married December 
-O. 1753- Salc.me Curtis. He lived in Xorth Coventry, Connecticut. 
Children (born in North Coventry. Connecticut) : i, Jerusha; 2, Bille; 
3, Xaomi ; 4. Elijah. 

(VT) Bille, eldest son and second child of Joseph and Salome 
(Curtis) Root, was born August i, 1756. in Xorth Coventry. 

(VII) Alpheus, son of Bille Root, was born April 4. 1785, in 
Coventry, and married Electa Eardwell, who was born August 20, 
X792, in Denmark. Lewis county, Xew York. Mr. Root was an early 
resident of Deer River, in Lewis county, and passed the last five years 
of his life at Carthage, this county, where he died April 16, 1879. 
His wife died about four years before him, being nearly eighty years 
of age. .'Sir. Root held most of the town offices in Deer River, and 
wa-; a soldier in the \var of 181 2. He was a carpenter by occupation, 
and built I'lanv farni buildings in bis neighborhodd. He accepted the 
faith of the ^ilethodist church, and was a Repulilican from the organ- 
ization of the party. He had six sons and two daughters, briefly 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 823 

accounted fur as fullows: Ali'licus Fnrtune dieil at Riicktunl, IIHikhs, 
lea\ing two children. Recellus was many years a resident of Rax'enna, 
Ohio, \\here he died. Juseph H. receives extended mention in a later 
paragraph. J(jhn S. died at Qnincy, Plumas county, California. 
Wealthy hecame the wife of Mr. Morse, and died in Fond du Lac, 
Wisconsin. Hiram H. died in Carthage, in 1901. William was leader 
of a cavalry regiment from Mobile, Alabama, in the Confederate army 
during the Ci\il war, and never communicated with his family there- 
after. Nancy, wife of J. Wesley Horr. died in Carthage. 

(VIII; Joseph 11. Root was born Septemiier 2(>. icSiy, at Deer 
River, where he grew up, recci\ing his education in the district school. 
\\"hen a boy he was ajiprenticed to the trade of carpenter and joiner, 
which he continued t(.) follow until five years before his death. He 
passed away in Carthage b'ebruary jo, 1S92. in his seventy-fourth 
year. Most of his work \\as clone in and about Carthage, and many 
houses and farm buildings of that vicinity are of his handiwork. He 
spent two summers at his trade in Canada. 

Mr. Root was a member of the Methodist church of Carthage, in 
which he served as trustee, steward and class leader. He affiliated with 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and in early life was a Son of 
Temperance, and never used tobacco in any form. He was a strong 
Republican, and ser\'ed in various capacities in the local office. He was 
several terms a trustee of the village of Carthage, and was two years 
superintendent of the Black River canal between Carthage and Lyons 
Falls. He married Cynthia, a sister of the late Jesse Willes, whose 
ancestry will be found on another page. She was also an active member 
of the iMethodist church, and died June 3, 1854. Of their three sons, one 
died at liirth, and another at the age of seven years. 

(IX) Arthur Chester Root, youngest and only surviving son of 
Joseph H. and Cynthia Root, grew up in Carthage, where nearly all his 
life ha-s lieen spent. He attended the village school until seventeen years 
old and in meantime gave much time to work wnth his father, from 
whom he acquired the builder's trade, ^vhich h.as occupied most of his 
time. On account of poor liealth he spent three vears as clerk in stores, 
but with that exception he has been jjretty busily employed in building. 
He is a member of the Ei)isco])al churcli, ami of the local lodge and 
encampment of the Independent Order of Odd I*"ellows, as well as the 
Daughters of Rebekah, in which his wife is als(j acti\e. He is a charter 



824 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

meml>^ of the encampment, in which he has held several official posi- 
tions, and was two terms secretary of the lodge. 

j\Ir. Root was married December 8. 1880, to Miss Luella D. Hutch- 
inson, a native of Deer River, and daughter of William and Almira 
(Ball) Hutchinson. A daughter was born to ^Mr. and Mrs. Root on 
September iS, 1S82, and named Grace Almira. She married Francis M. 
Jeffers, a reporter of the Watertown Tiiiws. and has a son. George 
Arthur, born August 8, 1903. Mrs. Jeffers has been an active member 
of the Daughters of Rebekah. 

DRESSOR. This name has been identified with American his- 
tory for nearly three hundred years, and is prominently identified with 
the pioneer period of JetYerson county's development. As business men 
and citizens, the representatives have been respected and esteemed. 

(I) John Dresser, the founder of the family in America, came 
from England and settled at Rowley. Massachusetts, as early as 1639. 
He is of record there in 1643, as the owner of a houselot of one and 
one-half acres, on Bradford street. He brought with him his wife, 
Mary. He was a shoemaker by trade and occupation, and died in 
Rowley, 1672, the records showing his burial on April 19th of that 
year. His children were : John, Mary, Samuel, Jonathan and 
Elizabetli. 

(II) Lieutenant John Dresser, eldest child of John and Mary 
Dresser, was born about 1640, in Rowley, and was married November 
27, 1662, to Martha, daughter of Richard Thorley. She died June 29, 
1700, and he was married, second, January 7, 1702, to Rebecca, widow 
of James Dickmson. She died April 2, 1718. and was survived almost 
six years by her husband, who passed away ^Nlarch 14, 1724, in the 
eighty-fifth year of his age. His children were: John, Mary, Martha, 
Jonathan, Jane, Sarah, Richard, Nathaniel, Lydia and Elizabeth. 

(III) Jonathan, second son and fourth child of John and Martha 
(Thorley) Dresser, was born June 27, 1674, and was married October 
31, 1695, to Sarah, daughter of Thomas Leaver. Their children were: 
Jonathan, born August 6, 1700 (died young); Jonathan (2), July 23, 
1702; Thomas, November 7, 1704; Sarah. December 2, 1706: Richard, 
December 17, 1708 (died in 1709); Hannah, August 19, 1710: and 
Nathan, February 23. 1716. Jonathan Dresser bought land, in 171 7, 
in the Mashamoquet Purchase, where his brother Richard had pur- 
chased in 1706, This tract became the town of Pomfret, in Windham 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 825 

county, Connecticut, where Jonatlian Dresser settled and died. Ricliard 
spent a short time there and then located in the adjoining town of 
Thompson. 

(IV) Jonathan, second son of Jonathan (i) and Sarah (Leaver) 
Dresser, was born July 3, 1702, in Pomfret, where he spent his life 
and died in 1790. His wife was Elizabeth Warren. 

(V) John, son of Jonathan (2) and Elizabeth (Warren) 
Dresser, was bom August iS. 1735, in Pomfret, where he died June 24, 
1814. He was married September 24, 1759, to Sarah, whose surname 
has not been preserved. His education was in advance of many men 
of his generation, as evidenced by letters now preserved by his great- 
grandson in Watertown. The penmanship and composition of these 
letters are good, the thoughts expressed are those of a Christian and a 
lover of the truth. They also indicate that he was a kind father and 
exemplary husband. While others of the family writing at the same 
time (1795) spell the name according to the records as now appear- 
ing in New England, John Dressor signed his name as last alx>ve 
shown, and this form has been followed by some of his descendants 
to the present time. The letters give the names of following children, 
and there may have been others : John, Alanson, Tanforth, Rowland, 
Polly, Mrs. White and Mrs. Tucker and Samuel second. 

(VI) Alanson Dresser, son of John and Sarah Dressor, was 
born June 11, 1768, in Pomfret, Connecticut, and he was well advanced 
in the common branches of learning in the schools of his native town. 
He was married February 7, 1793, to Elvira Lothrop, a member of one 
of the oldest and best America^ families. She was born June 13, 1768. 
Immediately after his marriage, Mr. Dressor settled in Tunbridge, Ver- 
mont, where he continued farming until 1804, when he removed to the 
Black River country. He secured land in the town of Watertown, 
within the present limits of the city, where he remained three years, 
and then moved, in 1807, to Huntingtonville, near his former location, 
where he died October 6, 1S08, at the early age of forty years. His 
widow subsequently married William Huntington, by which marriage 
she had a daughter, Lucia, who died in her twentieth year. Mrs. Hunt- 
ington died December 5, 1836. The children of Alanson and Elvira 
(Lothrop) Dressor were : Leonard. Elvira, John Gray. Chauncey, Row- 
land, Laura and William. 

Leonard Dressor was born November 30, 1794. in Tunbridge, 
Vermont, and was married September 28, 1824, to Melora Doty, who 



>:'26 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

died May j. 1S77. He died January 23, 1878. Their children were: 
Charlotte Jane, died a.ged one year; Lucia Jane, Ixirn September 14, 
1S28, died September 13, 1895; George Morton, October 7, 183 1, mar- 
ried, April 22, 1857, Martha Jane Chellis, and had a daughter. Hattie 
Melora. George Morton died December 16, 1871. 

Elvira Dressor, born December 30, 1796, was married December 
25, 1823, to George Pike. She died April 13, 1881. She was the 
mother of six children — Henry Alanson, William Harrison, Caroline, 
Elvira, Chauncey Jackson and Charles George. 

John Gray Dressor, born January 28, 1799, w-as married, Decem- 
ber 4. 1824, to Charlotte Sawyer, wdio soon died, and on October 17, 
1827, he married her sister, Sylvia Sawyer. He died February 4. 1S83, 
and was survived over five years by his widow, who passed away July 5, 
1888, aged seventy-seven years. 

Rowland L. Dressor was born November 29, 1802, in Tunbridge, 
Vcimont, and died in October, 1862. He was married June 5, 1828, 
to Emily Harris, and they had ten children, of whom two are now living, 
namely: Laura A., wife of Michael Way Llewellyn, of Sterling, Illi- 
nois, and Mrs. Mary J., wife of S. C. Robinson, of Tama, Iowa. 

Laura Dressor, born January 2y, 1805, in Watertown, was married 
in December, 1832, to William Murray, and they were the parents of 
four children — Minerva Sylvia, Mary, Mattie and Wilniina. She mar- 
ried, second. May 3, 1859, Lester Forward, who died March 6, 1889. 
She died three days previously. 

\Villiam Dressor, born March 6, 1807, died when four years old. 

Alanson Dressor, junior, born March 17, 1809, more than iive 
months after tiie death of his father, died June 8, 1846. He was mar- 
ried January 15, 1834, to I'hebe Roxcelia Sawyer, who was bnrn [May 
17, 1809. Their children were: Lucia Roxcelia, Adelia S., and .Man- 
son Sawyer. The eldest was married September 10, 1871, to David 
D. Curtis. Adelia S. married a Mr. Stoneman, and was the mother of 
four children — Frank, Charles, Edwin and Estella. Alanson Sawyer 
Dressor married, September 16. 1867, Almeda Dye, and they were the 
parents of ten children, bom as follows: Guy Alanson, December 31. 
1868; Dallas Reuben, February 16, 1873 (died September 25, 1884); 
Lucia Roxcelia, August i, 1874; Frank Thomas. December 27, 1876; 
Herbert Wort, August 16, 1878; Sylvia May, January 29, 1880: Hattie 
A., April 8, 1882; Edith Gladys, April 16, 1884 (died before three 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. ^27 

months old); Rena Barbara, July i, 1886; and Bayard. February 27, 
1888, died aged eight days. 

(VII) Chauncey Dressor, third son and fourth child of Alanson 
and Elvira (Lothrop) Dressor, was born November 9, 1800, in Tun- 
bridge, Vermont, and was in his fourth year when brought to Water- 
town by his parents. His father died when he was not quite eight years 
old, and he was early accustomed to care for himself, thus developing 
the self-reliant character for which he was subsequently noted. He 
contrived to secure a practical education, and became one of the most 
useful citizens of his town. He was employed in farm work during 
the summers, and began teaching at an early age, during the winter 
months. He thus continued until he was about twenty-six years of 
age, when he entered the employ of John Felt, at Felt's Mills, where 
he was a foreman in the lumber business for eight years. For the next 
ten years he was general manager, bookkeeper and salesman for Keyes & 
Hungerford, lumbermen at Dexter. Being industrious and steady, he 
was enabled to save from his earnings enough to buy one hundred and 
twenty acres of land at Huntingtonville, to which he added by various 
purchases until it amounted to twO' hundred acres. In 1848 lie settled 
on this land and continued farming there untfl his death, whicii occurred 
there July 20, 1876. He was a successful farmer, applying intelligent 
methods and industry in tilling his land. A Democrat of the old school, 
he was a firm supporter of the government during the Civil war. He 
appreciated the value of education, and was deeply interested in the 
welfare of the public schools. He was a member of the Watertown 
Light Infantry militia company in 182 1, and a certificate of that fact 
by his captain, A. S. Dygette, under date of May 7th of that year, is 
preserved by his son, George F. Dressor. In this he is reported to be 
fully armed and equipped on the date thereof. As a business man Mr. 
Dressor commanded the highest respect of his associates for his sterling 
honesty and promotion of justice and fairness. As a citizen he was 
universally esteemed for his correct and manly example, and as a hus- 
band and father he was kind and considerate. 

He was married December 6, 1838, to Lydia Spencer Stiles, who 
was born June 10, 1817, in Watertown, a daughter of Farrington and 
Emily (Kelsey) Stiles. She survived her husband twenty-eight years 
and died Januaiy 24, 1904. Their children were: Alanson Lothrop, 
George Farrington, Albert Marian, John Wesley, William Henry, Car- 
oline Elizabeth, Josephine Ella, Emmogene Ellen and Jenette Elvira. 



828 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Alanson Lcthrop Dressor was born January ii, 1840, in the town 
of Hounsfield, and died January 10. 1903. He served three years in 
Company 1, Seventh Vermont Regiment, in the Civil war, and was 
shghtly wounded at the battle of Baton Rouge. He was married July 
21, 1865, to Eliza Hastings, who was born September 7, 1841. Their 
children were : William Lemuel and Nellie Eliza. The former was 
born January 24, 1867, and was married in 1897 to Helen Dressor. 
They have three children, namely : Helen Lucy, Wilfred Dressor, and 
Margarette Irene. 

Albert Marian Dressor was born Maixh 19, 1843, iii Hounsfield, 
and married Mary Wolsencraft Adams. The mother and their chil- 
dren — Mary, Josephine A. and Matie L. — are deceased. 

John Wesley Dressor lived only three months. 

William Henry Dressor, born September 12, 1847, in Hounsfield, 
married Mary Ely, and they were the parents of the following children ; 
Nettie (now deceased), Chauncey Ely, Anna; Clara, Emma and Oliver, 
deceased ; Helen and John. The last named resides in South Bethlehem, 
Pennsylvania. 

Caroline Elizabeth Dressor, born June 16, 1851, at Huntington- 
ville, was married August 28, 1872, to Melvin Chapman, and resides at 
Pendleton, Indiana. 

Josephine Ella and Emmogene Ellen Dressor, twins, were born 
May 26, 1852, at Huntingtonville. The former was married October 
2C, 1873, to Ithai Thomson, and resides in Watertown. Their children 
are : Ithai Ira, who married Sena Gonyea ; Irene Josephine, wife of 
Jean Shaffrey; and William Chauncej'. 

Emmogene E. Dressor was married July 27, 1874, to David M. 
Holbrock, of New York city. They have four children, namely : Fred- 
erick Montgomery, Arthur Chauncey, Edwin Almus and .A.nna Stiles. 
The eldest married Jessie Johnson, and resides in Chicago. 

Jenette Elvira Dressor, born September 11, i860, married Wilbur 
F. Woodworth, a farmer of East Watertown. Their children were 
born as follows: Henry Dressor, July 26. 1885: Clarence Wilbur, 
March 12, 1887; Helen Lydia, November 28. 1889; Laura May. April 
2, 1893; s^"d Amy Lovina, April 24, 1894. 

(VIII) George Farrington Dressor, second son and child of 
Chauncey and Lydia S. (Stiles) Dressor, was born August 11, 1841, 
in the town of Hounsfield. and his education was received at the public 
schools. He remained with his parents until twenty years and one 




J2^^^ /i^uk^-^-r- 




Universalist Church. Waterto 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 831 

month old, when he entered the mihtary service in defense of the Union. 
He enlisted September 14, 1861, at Watertown, in Company A, Thirty- 
fifth Regiment, New York Volunteer Infantry, for two years, under 
Colonel Newton B. Lord. He was a faithful and exemplaiy soldier, 
participating in all the skirmishes and battles of the regiment until the 
engagement at Fredericksburg, Virginia, December 13, 1862, when his 
left leg was carried away by a cannon ball. The same Ijall cut off both 
legs of the man on his right and both, of those of the one on his left, 
resulting fatally to both. The regiment was exposed for two hours to 
close-range artillery cross-fire, being on the extreme left of General 
Burnside's command. One battery was in front nf them, another on 
the left and a third on the left oblicjue, and all kept up a severe attack. 
In due time, Mr. Dressor recovered from his wound, and was honorably 
discharged at Washington, December 14, 1863. 

Returning to Watertown, he was employed as a traveling sales- 
man and subsequently purchased land in the town of Watertown, on 
which he resided engaged in gardening until 1881, when he purchased 
property in the city of Watertown, and took uyi his residence there. 
By industry and prudent management he was enabled to retire from 
hard labor upon his removal to the city, and he is now occupied with 
the care of his investments. He supports the principles of the Repub- 
lican party, and takes part in the social and religious life of the com- 
munity. He is a member of Joe Spratt Post No. 323, Grand Army of 
the Republic. He united with the Baptist church at Poughkeepsie, 
New York, in May, 1864, and subsequently received a letter by which 
he joined the First Baptist church of Watertown, September 24, 1876. 
For five years he was a deacon of this society. In February, 1904, he 
was one of twenty-five members to obtain letters of dismissal, and on 
the fourth day of that month they organized a second society in Water- 
town, known as Calvary Baptist church. A lot of land was secured 
at the corner of Academy and Clay streets, upon which a chapel was 
erected during the season of 1904, and which was dedicated November 
27, 1904. Of this society Mr. Dressor is a deacon and most active 
member. He is a wortJiy representative of a long line of honorable 
ancestors, an upright and respected citizen, a faithful Christian, a con- 
siderate parent and a loving and true husband. As one of those who 
gave of their blood for the integrity of the nation, he receives the honor 
and gratitude of everv patriotic citizen. 

He was married July 26, 1866, to Helen Lucy Wilson, daughter 



832 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

of Samuel and Lucy (Woodward) Wilson (see Wilson'). She was 
born in Rutland, and is a member of Calvary Baptist church and the 
local Relief Corps, auxiliary to the Grand Army of the Republic. 

(IX) Walter William Dressor, only child of George F. and 
Helen L. Dressor, was born May 25, 1867, in Poughkeepsie, New 
York, and was educated for a civil engineer, which occupation he follows. 
He is quartermaster cf General Bradley W^inslow Camp, Sons of Vet- 
erans, and is a staunch Republican, as indicated by his membership in 
the Lincoln League. He was married November 20. 1888, by Rev. 
L. J. Dean, to Jessie Maria Paige. 

EDWARD G. SHORTT, a successful inventor and patentee of 
many useful appliances, including engines and airbrakes, is a native 
of Ireland, and a patriotic citizen of Jefferson county. He was born 
May 26, 1846, in Rathsvilla. Kings county, Ireland, and was about one 
year old when he came with his parents to America. His grandfather, 
Edward B. Shortt. was a hatter in Rathsvilla, and died there in 1825, 
at the age of twenty-five years. His widow, Bridget (Doran) Shortt, 
came to America and died m the town of Worth, this county, aged 
seventy-one years. She had two sons and a daughter — John B., Thomas, 
and Bridget. The last named is the wife of Michael Conroy, residing 
at Worthville, this county. Thomas died in Watertown in 1899. 

John P. Shortt was born August 15. 1823, in Rathsvilla, where 
he was married to Esther Goonan, who was born in the same place, 
daughter of James and Ann Goonan. In 1847 he set out for the United 
States and located at Philadelphia, New York, in 1850. Here he learned 
the work of carriage-making, and was subsequently employed by the 
Jefiferson Iron Company, being superintendent of its iron furnaces at 
.-\ntwerp and Sterlingbush for a period of fourteen years. For a time 
he was associated with Archie Hilton in a store at Antwerp, and was 
a merchant at Sterlingville and Sterlingbush, being postmaster at the 
latter point five years. He also served as school trustee at Sterling- 
ville. Since 1893 "'''^ '''^s been retired from active business and has 
WvtA in Carthage. He is a member cf St. James's Roman Catholic 
church, and is a Democrat in political principle. The subject of this 
sketch is the eldest of his six children. James, the .second, is a citizen 
of Fine, St. Lawrence county. New York. Bridget died at the age of 
thirty-nine years, unmarried. \Villiam resides at Carthage. Mary is 
the wife of Joseph Miner, an innkeeper of Carthage. Theresa resides 
with her sister in Carthage. The mother died October 28, 1879. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 833 

Edward G. Shortt lias known no otlier counlry than this since the 
period of liis earliest recollection. Previous to the age of foiu'teen 
years he attended the pul)lic schools of Redwood and Philadelphia, and 
then assisted his father in the operation of wagon shops, where his 
mechanical genius found occupation. In 1864 he came to Carthage and 
entered upon a three-years' apprenticeship with Brown, Winch & Bliss, 
to learn the trade of machinist. After his term was completed he 
remained three years as a journeyman with the s;une firm. During 
this time he invented and perfected a shaft-coupling, which was a 
great improvem.ent over those previously in use, and he formed an asso- 
ciation with Minor Guyot under the style of the Giant Coupling Com- 
pany, and carried on its manufacture four years, at the same time doing 
any machinery jobl>ing which came their way. A part interest was 
sold to William Rulison and soon after the failure of Guyot caused 
a suspension of the concern. In 1876 Mr. Shortt went to Seneca Falls 
and entered the employ of the Rumsey Manufacturing Company, mak- 
ers of pumps and engines. Returning to Carthage on the organization 
of the Empire Steam Pump Company, whose pumj} he had invented, 
he had charge of its shops four years. For twelve years, in association 
with Charles G. Emery, he has operated an experimental shop in Carth- 
age, developing his air-brakes. He now has more than one hundred 
patents covering air-brakes, which have been assigned to the Interna- 
tional Air-Brake Company, a corporation with two and one-half mil- 
lions of capital. Mr. Shortt's most recent achievement is the perfection 
of a gas engine much simpler and more convenient of operation than 
any previously in use. This, amply covered by patents, is now being 
made for the market by the Ryther & Pringle Company of Carthage., 
He also has numerous patents on engines, pumps, harvester cutters, and 
other practical appliances, and his fertile brain is continually designing 
improvements, upon old and staple implements of utility. 

In 1887 Mr. Shortt erected his handsome home at the corner of 
Budd and Church streets, in Carthage, where hospitality, good taste 
and cheer obtain. He is a demitted Mason, and a member of St. James's 
church. In politics he might be termed an independent Democrat, as 
lie is not wholly bound by party associations, as in 1900 he supported 
President Roosevelt by his vote. He was married July 5, 1868, to 
Catherine McGowan. who was born July 18, 1849. in Boonville, New 
York, a daughter of Michael and Maria (Hyland) McGowan, the 
former a native of Ireland, and the latter of Canada, of Irish descent. 



834 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Three sons complete tlie family of Mr. Shortt : i. Frederick, a 
moulder: he married Annie O'Keefe. and they have two children, Be- 
ronica and Francis. 2. Howard, a draughtsman ; he married Rose 
Leach, and they have two children, Alice and Catherine. 3. Frank, 
who is engaged in an insurance business. 

LEVI A. JOHNSON, a retired business man of Watertown, is a 
scion of an ancient English family, and his ancestors were among the 
pioneers of northern New York. 

(I) William Johnson, son of \\"illiam and Irena Johnson, was 
born in Elizabethtown, Canada, July 29, 1800. He was the great- 
grandson of Sir \\'illiam Johnson, Baronet, who was born at Warren- 
ton, county Down, Ireland, in 1715. Sir William was the eldest son of 
Christopher Johnson, Esquire, of the same county, of a family ancient 
in its descent and honorable in its alliances. His mother was Anne 
Warren, sister of the brothers, Oliver and Peter Warren (afterwards 
Sir Peter Warren, K. B.). whose names are identified with the naval 
glory of England. The \^'arrens were of an old and honorable family, 
possessing an estate in the county of Down, Ireland, from the first 
ariival of the English in Ireland. Sir William Johnson came to America 
when twenty-three years of age as agent for his uncle Warren, who 
had large landed estates in this country, north of Albany, New York. 
He became very prominent in tlie management of Colonial and Indian 
affairs, and was created a baronet of the English realm in 1755. In 
1756 he was commissioned sole superintendent of all the affairs of the 
Six Nations and other northern Indians. In 1769 the king, by Royal 
Letters Patent, granted Sir William one hundred thousand acres of 
land lying north of the Mohawk river, long known as Kingsland, of 
the Royal Grant, in the county of Tryon, which included all of northern 
and western New York. In 1772 Sir William was the most influential 
mai) in the provinces, a baronet of the British realm, superintendent of 
the Indian department, a member of His Majesty's council and major- 
general of the militia. He was courted, admired and respected. He 
built Johnson Hall, at Johnstown, in 1764. also built the court house, 
jail and Episcopal church in the same place. He died there. July 11, 
177.4.. The exact date of Sir William's marriage is not ascertained, but 
was probably about 1740. His wife was a German woman by the 
name of Catherine Weisenberg. The date of her death is not known, 
but is believed lo have been as early as the summer of 1745. Three 




LEVI A. JOHNSON 



GENEALOGICAL ASD FAMILY HISTORY. S35 

cliildren were born to them — a son, Sir John, and two daugliters. Anne 
and Mary. Anne married Colonel Claus. Mary married her cousin, 
Colonel Guy Johnson, in 1763. After the death of Sir William, they 
went to Canada. Mary was the grandmother of William Jnhnson. 

William Johnson came from Canada when a young man. and pur- 
chased land on Point Salubrious, in the county of Jeffersi.in. Xew 
\'ork, where (May 6, 182c) he married Caroline Smith, the daughter 
of Eben and Martha vSmith, who were early settlers in that section, and 
came from New York city. William Johnson and wife Caroline died 
in 1842, at which time they had living five sons and three daughters, 
viz.: Lorenzo, born February 29, 1824; Herbert. January 19, 1829; 
Levi A., October 2. 1831; Eli. January 29, 1834; William N., October 
14, 1839; Irena, August 7. 1821 ; Anna Maria, March 2, 1837; Caro- 
line E., December 16, 1841. Three ot the .sons and one daughter are 
now living (1904): Lorenzo on the old homestead on Point Salu- 
brious; Levi A. in the city of Watertown ; William N. in the city of 
Denver, Colorado; and Anna ]),Laria Farrington in the city o{ Water- 
town. 

Levi Arthur Johnson, son of William and Caroline Johnson, was 
born at Point Salubrious, October 2, 183 1. When about sixteen years 
of age he entered the employ of the Ontario Cotton Mills Company in 
Brownviile. May 12, 1852, he married Mary Dawes Strong, youngest 
daughter of Arba and Amy P. Strong, of that village. One daughter 
was lx)rn to them, and named Mary Strong Johnson. The mother lived 
but a few days after the birth of the daughter. Early in 1856 Mr. 
Johnson went to Chicago and entered the employ of Hunt, Wiggins & 
Company, wholesale clothiers, formerly of Watertown. In 1857 he 
returned to Watertown, and with Mr. George W. Wiggins established 
the Great Wardrobe Clothing Store. January 12, i860, Mr. Johnson 
married Mary Louise Clarke, daughter of John Clarke, an eminent 
lawyer of the city, who died in 1865 (see Clarke). By this marriage 
were born William Clarke Johnson and Edward Arthur Johnson, and 
two daughters, Helen Louise Johnson, and Frances Grace Johnson. In 
1872 Mr. Johnson disposed of his interest in the Great Wardrobe busi- 
ness, and was elected treasurer of the Davis Sewing Machine Company, 
and became its general manager, continuing as such until 1896. Mean- 
time the company had removed to Dayton, Ohio, from v^fhich place Mr. 
Johnson returned to his home in Watertown, having disposed of his 
interest in the company. Lender his personal management it had estab- 
lislied its inisiness in all of the principal countries of the world. 



836 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Ft LTOX. Tliose of tliis name in this country have contributed 
mucli to the honor and gloiy of America. Among tlie most noted 
belonging to the family of which this article treats was Robert Fulton, 
inventor of the steamboat. Its representatives in Jefferson county have 
been known as honorable, industrious and generous-hearted people. 

(I) Among the founders of the town of Colerain, Massachusetts, 
was Robert Fulton, who was born in Colerain, county Antrim, Ireland. 
The northern portion of Ireland was largely settled and developed by 
immigrants from Scotland, and its people have been said by a Scotch- 
man to be "more Scotch than the Scotch," meaning that they preserved 
unmodified the characteristics of their early ancestors. They have 
always been found thrifty, intelligent and well settled in their principles 
and opinions. The Fulton family, belonging to this class, had several 
representatives in the northeastern part of Colerain, Massachusetts, the 
names of William, John and Robert being found in accounts of early 
times there. 

(II J James, son of Robert Fulton, was born May J4, 1749, and 
died March 20. 1834, in Colerain. He was a farmer in the northeastern 
part of that town, and reared a family of ten children. He was tall 
and large, weighing about two hundred pounds, with blue eyes, fair 
complexion and curly hair. This he wore in the Continental style, 
done up in a queue. His wife, Hannah Ellis, was born Octolier 13, 
1750, in Ashtield, Massachusetts, which town was first settled by her 
father, Richard Ellis. The last-named was born August 16, 1704, 
in Dublin, Ireland, being the son of a Welshman, who was an officer 
in the British army then stationed at Dublin. Richard Ellis came to 
America in 1717, and was bound out to a miller, in eastern Massachu- 
setts. In 1728, at Easton. Massachusetts, he married Jane, datighter 
of Captain John Phillips, who received from the colony several fifty- 
acre "rights" of land, as compensation for service in the expedition 
against Quebec in 1690. Some of these "rights" came into possession 
of Richard Ellis, who located them in Ashfield. This land was in 
possession of Mr. Leonard D. Lanfair in 1888. Mr. Ellis was loyal 
to the British king, and served three years as an officer in the French 
and Indian war, in New England and New York. After this struggle 
he kept a store and ashery in Colerain, near its eastern line, and his 
daughter, Hannah, then about fifteen years old, was his housekeeper, 
his wife having died about 1760. The latter was born July i, 1709, 
in Easton or Weymouth. Her mother was Elizabeth Drake, and her 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 837 

father was a sun of Richard and Elizabeth (Parker) I'liiHips. the for- 
mer of these two being a son of Nicholas PhilUps. who was made a 
freeman at Weymouth, May 13, 1640. and (bed in 1672. Richard 
Eilis died October 7. 1797. in his n-nety-fourth year, lie cuuld mount 
a horse from the grtmnd wiien eighty years ohi. and appeared well the 
day before his death. 

After the death of her husband, Hannah (Ellis) Fulton lived with 
her daughter in the adjoining town of (juilford, Vermont, where she 
tlied in 1839. She was short in stature, weighed about (jue bundreil 
and sixty pounds, and bad fair complexion. Her children were: Rob- 
ert, James, Caleb, David, Lucretia, Daniel, Elijah, Nathan, Jesse and 
Sarah, must of whom became pioneers of Jefferson county. Robert 
settled in Thetford, Vermont, where he lived to an old age. Lucretia 
married Abel Carpenter, and li\'cd in Rutland, this county, where both 
died. They had ten childreri, ami only one of their descendants is left 
in this vicmity. Jesse li\ed anil died in Colerain. Sarah became the 
wife of Jabez Franklin, and lived and died in Guilford, \ ernu)nt. The 
others are mentioned in following paragraphs. 

(HI) James b'ulton, second son of James and Hannah Fulton, 
was born May 7. 1775. m Colerain, and married Sarah Choate in 1799. 
She was born October 17, 1777, and died April 11, 1851, in Champion. 
He settled in Champion in 1806, engaged in farming, and died June 
20, 1838, in Rutland, wdiere he bought the Carpenter homestead. He 
was a soldier in the war of 1S12, participating in the battle of Sacketts 
Harbor. His children were: Samuel, George, Lucy, Richard, Hannah, 
Jesse, Nathan. Maria and Eleanor. 

(HI) Caleb Fulton, third son of James and Hannah, was born 
May II, 1777, in Colerain, and was among the pioneer settlers of 
Wilna, coming thither from Guilford, Vermont, in 18 10. He was a 
soldier in 1812, and participated in the battle of Sacketts Harljor. His 
farm' was among the best in W'ilna, and is still in possession of his 
descendants. His wife, ]\Iary Barnes, died March 4, 1865, surviving 
him about one and one-half years. He died October 8, 1863, in his 
eighty-seventh year. Their children were : Fanny, Simeon, Mary, 
James, Sally, Lydia, Filura and Elisha. Sketches of Simeon, James 
and Elisha follow. Fanny married Jeremiah Lanpbear (see Lanphear). 
Filura married Henry Gustin, and bore him two sons. After his death 
she became the wife of Charles Hosford. bv whom she had two daugh- 



838 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

ters. Maiy married Samuel Keye.=. of Wilna. where she lived and 
died, being tlie mother of five children. 

(Ill) David, fourth son and child of James and Hannah (Ellis) 
Fulton, was born December 25, 1779. in Colerain, ^Massachusetts, and 
was married in Guilford, Vermont, to Jane Taggart, daughter of 
Thomas Taggart, who was among the early residents of Ellisburg, and 
without doubt, of Scotch ancestry (see W. H. Green, for further ac- 
count of Taggart). Soon after his marriage (probably about 1806), 
David rulton settleil on a farm in Champion, or rather what became 
a farm after it was cleared of the primeval forest. Previous to 1817, 
he removed to the town of Henderson, and in 1836 to Ellisburg. The 
last location was about three miles from the Henderson farm, and em- 
braced one hundred and ten acres, being near the northern border of 
the town and about five miles west of the village of Adams. This he 
continued to till until his death, June 5, 1856, and was a successful 
farmer. His wife sur\'ived him over eighteen vears, passing away 
October 13, 1874, at the age df ninety-one years. She was a member 
of the ^^lethodist church. While not affiliated with any religious body, 
Mr. Fulton embraced the faith of the b'ree Will Baptists, and was an 
upright. Christian man, respected and esteemed b}- all. He was a Whig 
in early life, and lived to see the Republican party organized, but died 
before the election in which its first national ticket figured. Of modest 
and retiririg disposition, he refused to be a candidate for any office. 
A short account of his eleven children follows : Betsey became the 
wife of Jabez H. Felt, a farmer, and lived in the town of Adams, but 
died in W'atertowji. Hannah married Aloses Barrett, a farmer of Ellis- 
burg, whom she sin-vi\es arid now resides on the paternal homestead. 
Susan died unmarried, at the age of twenty-four years. Jane married 
Marlin Wood, (jf A\oi)dville, where «he died. Phebe was the second 
wife of 3,iarlin XA'nnd. John was a Baptist clergyman, and died in 
Abilene, Kansas. David lived and died on the homestead. Sally mar- 
ried Xewell Felt, .-ind died in Kansas. Laura is the widow of Warren 
B. Felt, and lives in Fort Wayne, Indiana. Luke is mentioned in later 
paragraphs. Alary married Everett Barney, and died on a farm near 
Fort Wayne, 

(III) Daniel Fulton, fifth son and sixth child of James and Han- 
nah (Ellis) Fulton, was born March 21, 1784, in Colerain. He mar- 
ried Pollv W'oiul and came to Champion in i8io. and began the busi- 
ness (it cluth-dressing and wool-carding at. what is now West Carthage, 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. S39 

then having unly one honse. Three years later he went tu W'atertuwn 
and continued that occniialion. He was in the battle of Sacketts Har- 
bor, and located on a farm in Champion in 1815, continuing there until 
1S36. when he moved tii a farm near Elyria, Ohio, and died there in 
1875. His wife died in 1864. Two of their, nine children died in 
mfancy. The others were : Hiram, Ruel, Elijah, Robert, Gaylord, 
Ann and Roxana. The eldest remained in Champion, and all the 
others went to Ohio. 

(HI) Elijah Fulton, sixth son of James, was born February 2, 
1788. in Colerain. Aljout 1810 he married Phebe Bennett, and settled 
in tiiat year at Carthage, where he started a woolen mill. He was 
subsequently in the same business at Plattsburg. this state, and died 
about 1829, at Great Bend, this county. 

(HI) Nathan Iniiton. seventh son (jf James, was born April 25, 
1790, in Colerain. and married I'hilena Hastings. He operated a cloth 
mill at Burr's Islills, in the town of W'atertown, and moved thence tO' 
knva, where he died about 1844. 

(I\") Jesse, fourth son and sixth child of James and Sally 
(Choate) Fulton, was Ijorn March 5, 1812, upon his father's farm, 
on ^lartin street. Champion, not far from the present village of Great 
Bend. There he grew up. receiving such educational training as the 
frontier schools afforded. When a young man he went to Ohio, along 
".ith other Fultons then moving there, his parents being among the 
number. After one season in that state James Fulton and family re- 
turned to Champion, and about 1838 Jesse purchased a farm of about 
one hundred acres in Rutland FIollow. He was a shrewd, industrii^us 
farmer, and reaped the rewards of his diligence. After buying and 
selling land, he was in possession of two hundred acres at the time of 
his death, wdiich is still in possession of his daughter. In his later 
years this farm supported a large dairy, and he was regarded as one 
of the most successful and substantial citizens of the town. He at- 
tended the Methodist church, with his wife, who was a member of that 
body. A Democrat in early life, Mr. Fulton was among those who 
formed the Repnljhcan party, in the days preceding the Civil war, 
but he was not a blind jiartisan, and supported Grover Cleveland for 
the presidency at one time. For himself he desired no official honors, 
and ever found at his own fireside a contented existence, with no affilia- 
tions binding him outside of that. 

ilr. Fulton married, August 2, 1847, Miss Mary Scott, a native 



840 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

of Rutland, daughter of Reuben and Sarah (Golding) Scott, pioneer 
settlers of that town. She died Januar\- 20, 1889, and in December, 
1892, Air. Fulton accompanied his daughter's family to W'atertown, 
where he died on the twelfth of March, following, being just one week 
over eighty-one years of age. 

(\') Ida Eudora, only child of Jesse and Mary (Scott) Fulton, 
was born September 7, 1849, '" Rutland, where her home continued 
until the close of 1892. She was married December 20, 1870, to George 
B. Hadcock, of \\hom extended mention is made in this work, under 
the proper heading. 

(IV) Simeon, eldest son and second child of Caleb Fulton, was 
born April 4, 1809. in the town of Guilford. \'ermont. which adjoins 
Colerain. and was one year old when his parents came to Wilna. His 
educational pri\ileges were limited, as far as schools were concerned, 
but riature did something for him, and his powers of ubservation. keen 
perceptions and studious mind were ever acti\e, and he became one of 
the Ijest informed men of the town. \\'ith sound judgment, and con- 
servati\e of action, he was uni\-ersally respected, and his advice was 
frequently desired and usually acted upon. For many years he acted 
as justice of th.e peace and notary public, and was supervisor of the 
town of \\"ilna in 1847-8-9. By industry and prudent management 
he accumulated a considerable property, and enjoyed the fruits of his 
labors in a green old age. He was very active up to a few days before 
his death, and visited the place of his birth in 1889. One Sunday morn- 
ing, at the end of April. 1894. while brushing his hair, he received a 
stroke of paralysis, from which he died on the sixth of May following. 
A remarkable man in many ways, he was widely mourned. A true 
representative of his Scotch and New England ancestors, he was, like 
them, distinguished for his intelligent interest in human affairs, his per- 
severing industry, high moral principles and good will toward all man- 
kind. His religious faith gave him hope of the final happiness of all 
human beings, and he passed away with no regrets of a misspent life. 
In politics he iKver changed, beginning his adult life and ending as a 
Democrat. 

Mr. Fulton was married May 30. 1838, to Larissa M. Smith, who 
was born April 15. 1816. in Bordentown, New Jersey. Her parents. 
John and Susan (Ranier) Smith, came to Wilna in 1818. and receive 
more extended notice elsewhere in this work. Mr. and Airs. Fulton 
adopted a daughter, having no offspring of their own blood, but neither 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. S41 

daughter nvv parents e\er felt any realizatiuii tliat she was nut their* 
by birth. She was born in Wilna, and is now the wife uf Myrun 
Lewis, and resides on the Simeon Fulton homestead, which embraces 
one hundred and seventy acres, and adjoins the homestead of Caleb 
Fulton, on lot 24, range 7. (See Lewis.) 

(IV) James, second sou and third child of Caleb Fulton, was a 
farmer on lot 904,. in the town of Wilna, near the present village of 
Natural Bridge, where he died in June, 1868. He married Caroline 
Nichols in 1S43, and they had five children. z-\ sketch of the eldest, 
John Caleb, follows. Francis, the second, married Sarah Brnwn, a 
native of Canada, and left a daughter, Lucy, who is now teaching- 
school near Carthage. Simeon B., the third, died unmarried. Mary 
N., the fourth, married Theodore W'ilkinscjn, and now li\-es in Carth- 
age, with two sons and two daugliters. Larissa, the youngest, dietl 
unmarried. 

(IV) Elisha branklin, youngest son of Caleb Fulton, was born 
j\lay 17, 1823, in a house still standing, on the farm occupied b_\- his 
children. It must have been among the earlier frame houses of the 
town of Wilna, and was among the most substantial, doing service for 
the family of Calel) l-'ulttm throughout his life. Caleb Fulton acquired 
fifty acres of land, which he cleared and developed. To this his son 
atlded forty-eight acres, and the whole is a]iplied to dairy farming, as 
it was in his last years, supporting twelve to fourteen cows. The son. 
Elisha F., was a member of the Baptist church at Carthage, and was 
a Democrat in politics. He grew up on the home farm, and always 
lived upon it, becoming its owner upon the death of his parents, for 
whom he tenderly cared in their old age. He died No\-emijer 11, 1886, 
in his si.xly-fourth }-ear. and is sur\-i\-ed by his widow and two sons 
and a daughter. 

Elisha F. Fulton was married ]March 3. 1852. tu Angelica Clear- 
water, who was born October 20, 1827, in Johnstown, New York, a 
daughter of Jacob Clearwater. The last-named was born in ^larble- 
town. Ulster cuunty. this state, a son of Daniel Clearwater. About 
1836 Jacob Clearwater moved to Carthage, with his family, and some 
si.x years later settled un a farm on the eastern border of Wilna, where 
he died Septeml;er 4. i85C). His wife. Hester .Shelex'. was alsu a native 
of Johnstown. She sur\i\e(l him several years, dying in Croghan. at 
the home of her son. They had seven children. Abraham, the eldest, 
was 1)1, rn Alav . ^. 181S. li\ed in Ontario. Illinois, and died there. 



842 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Alaria. the second, died in girlhood. Daniel, born December 2. 1822, 
lived on the W'ilna homestead, where he died January 14, 1S91. John, 
born March 3, 1825. died a yi.amg man. Angelica is mentioned abo\e. 
Joseph, born July 16, 1^30, settled in Croghai!, operated a sawmill and 
farm, and died there. Luke, September 30, 1833, lives on a farm in 
Mexico, Otsego county. 

Five children came to Elisha and Angelica Fulton. Maria L.. the 
first, married Charles Devois. and died, of consumption, within a few 
years thereafter. Sedate, born March 9, 1856, married E. G. Lewis 
(see Lewis). Joseph and Jane, twins, were born September 22, 1858. 
The first is a farmer, residing on the homestead. The second was a 
teacher, and died unmarried. Clark, born January 2t„ 1867, resides 
on the homestead with his mother and brother. 

(IV) Samuel, eldest child of James and Sarah (Choate) Fulton, 
was born October 7, 1799, in Colerain, Massachusetts, and was in his 
seventh year when his parents settled in Champion, this county. There 
he grew up, and attended the district school near Deer Lick creek, and, 
having mental capacity, he made the best use of his opportunities, and 
was known among his contemporaries as a good mathematician and 
speller. His nature and tastes were refined, and he preferred the com- 
panionship of good books to that of many of the youth of the day. 
At an early age he engaged with his uncle, Elijah Fulton, at the cloth- 
ier's trade, at Great Bend, and in time became his partner in operating 
a cloth mill. He was also associated with his uncle at Plattsburg. 
After the mill at Great Bend was burned Samuel Fulton bought two 
hundred acres of land on the west side of Deer Lick creek, adjoining 
his father's farm, in partnership with his younger brother, George 
Fulton. This was subsequently divided, and Samuel had a farm of 
one hundred acres, which he tilled the balance of his life, dying No- 
vember 13, 1881, at the age of eighty-two years. The primitive con- 
dition of the countn- when he engaged in agriculture may be imagined 
from the fact that during the Civil war he killed a "olack bear weighing 
over two hundred pounds, near his house. 

:Mr. Fulton was a modest and quiet man, having large, dark eyes 
arid dark hair. Fie was a Democrat all his life, and accepted the relig- 
ious faith of the Baptists. He was married in 1834-5 to Avastia Waldo, 
who was born February 28, 1S13, in Rossie. New York, a daughter 
of Jarem and Lois (Kinne) Waldo, who came from Herkimer county 
(see Waldo, V). Mrs. Fulton died September 6, 1876, at her home 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. S43 

ill Champion. Of her six children, two died in infancy. The others 
were; Ameha Lois, now the widow of De Marquis LaFayette Lewis, 
who Hved and died in Champion. They had no children. James, who 
was an inventor and manufacturer at Carthage, died there, soon after 
getting under way the production of a hay fork designed hy him. An- 
other successful invention of his was a fire escape. Jerome, the third 
child and second son of Samuel Fulton, is a resident of Linilen, Illinois. 
A sketch of the youngest follows, in a later paragraph. 

(IV) David, seventh child and second son of David and Jane 
(Taggart) F'ulton, was born November 15, 181 7. in Henderson, and 
taken by his parents to Ellisburg when a child. He grew up and lived 
all his life on the paternal homestead, above Belleville, anil died there, 
October 9, 1886. A modest and unassuming man, he gave his attention 
to the cultivation of the homestead, was a successful farmer, and cared 
for his parents in their old age. He was a faithful member of the 
Methodist church, of Belleville, and did much to promote its welfare. 
He was a Republican in political principle, and was noted as an unu- 
sually kind-hearted man. 

He was married, January 13, 1841, to Sarah, eldest daughter and 
third child of Thomas Ellis, of Ellisburg. Mr. Fulton and wife were 
second cousins. In the history of the second generation of the Fulton 
family in this article, appears the history of Richard Ellis, of Ashfield, 
Massachusetts. Caleb, ninth and youngest child of Richard Ellis, was 
born August 16, 1754, and died March. 1813, in Ellisburg, where 
he was a pioneer settler. It is possible that he was not born in Ashfield, 
as his parents, in common with all in the newer settlements, were 
obliged to seek safety from the Indians in fortified places at the time 
of his birth, but they returned to Ashfield thereafter. Soon after, Rich- 
ard Ellis moved to Colerain, and Caleb is mentioned in his books in 
1777. Calel> served through most of the Revolutionary war, being 
under Generals Gates and Allen at Lake Champlain, Ticonderoga, and 
at the surrender of Burgoyne. He married Mary Crouch about 1779, 
and lived for a time in Vermont, probably in Guilford, and was later 
in Oneida county, this state. He was the first actual settler in Ellis- 
burg, and built a grist mill below Ellis village in 1798. Like his lather 
and m.any of the Ellis family, he was a miller by trade, and he must 
have been a man of much industry, courage and perseverance, as evi- 
denced by his military career and pioneer service in tlie wilderness. 
He reared a familv of eleven children, of whom Thomas was the fifth, 



844 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

being tlie third son. The last-named was burn June 19. 17S8. and 
was a soldier in the war of 181 J. His farm in Ellisburg was on the 
opposite side of Sandy creek from the Fulton place, lower down the 
stream, and near to Belleville. In 181 2 he married Hannah Salisbury, 
who was born in 1793, and they reared ten children. Thomas Ellis waS 
a man of good mental endowment, an ardent Methodist and strict 
temperance man, and gave his children good educational opportunities. 
He died in 1869. 

Sarah, daughter of Thomas Ellis, and wife of David Fulton, was 
born in 1816, and was the mother of four sons. James, the eldest, 
married Frances Grant, of Belle\'ille. and resides near the paternal 
homestead. Thomas E. married Abbie Evans, of Belleville, and re- 
sides in that village. David receives further mention in a following 
paragraph. Charles N. was a conductor on the New York Central 
Railroad and died in BufTalo. .August i, 1895. 

(I\^) Luke Fulton, tenth child and third son of David and Jane 
(Taggart) Fulton, was born August 18, 1824. in the town of Hender- 
son, and reared in Ellisburg, upon his father's farm. In his early boy- 
hood days he attended the district school and was subsequently a stu- 
dent at Union Academy, Belleville, not far from his home. In the 
meantime he assisted in the cultivation of the home farm, and early 
acquired habits of industry and of stud}- and intelligent observation, 
which have come down from the New England fathers. He has always 
done honor to these, as well as the remoter Scotch ancestors, and has 
been a very useful and progressive citizen. His farewell was paid to 
the schoolhousc at the age of twenty-two years, and he remained upon 
the home farm until his marriage, wdien he purchased a farm adjoining 
and entered upon its cultivation. In 1862 he sold this farm and bought 
one in the Iwrcugh of Belleville, which he disposed of in 1877, and 
' moved to his present location in the town of Pamelia, which was for- 
merly the home of Silas Terry. This comprised one hundred and six- 
teen acres, to which he subsequently added twenty-one acres. Though 
now incapacitated by the infirmities of age for the active labors of the 
farm, he still manages its operation, .and possesses the same clear mind 
w hich has been long applied for the l.enefit of his fellow men. 

Mr. Fulton was very acti\e for many years in Grange work, and 
was a charter memlier of Union Grange, at Belleville. For o\er twenty 
years he was deputy, and organized or reorganized twenty of the thirty- 
two Granges now existing in the county. He was the first chaplain 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 845 

of tlie State Grange, was tour years its treasurer, and six years a meni- 
l>er of its executive committee. He is now affiliated with Watertown 
(irange, of which he was two years master, and was two years master 
of the County Grange, which he organized. For a period of fourteen 
years he was president of the Patrons" Fire Rehef Association, and 
only abandoned Grange work when advancing age made it difficult or 
impossible. This record testifies to the energy, integrity and executive 
ability of Mr. Fulton, and gives some conception of the high regard 
in which he is held by the agricultural interests of the ccnmty and state. 
He became a member in earh' life of Rising Sun Lodge of the Masonic 
fraternity at Adams, in wliich he acted four years as senior warden, 
and was a charter member ol Rising Light Lodge, at Belleville, of 
which he was eight years master. He attends religious services at the 
Baptist church, and has always supported the principles of Repulilican- 
ism. For two terms he was highway commissioner of Pamelia, and 
has served as justice of the peace during the last eight years. An intel- 
ligent reader and observer, with a heart large enough to include all 
mankind, he has ever sought to promote the elevation of humanity, 
and his friends are limited only to the number of those who know him. 

Mr. Inilton was niairied June 28, 1849. to Lydia A. Terry, who 
was born November 14. 1831, in Pamelia. a daughter of Silas and 
Julia (Webb) Terry, who came from Long Lsland to this location 
alx)ut 1830. Mrs. Fulton passed away June i. 1884. Her children 
reside in the \icinity of their birth. Hannah Jane, the eklest. is the 
wife of Wihard E. Saxe, of Watertown. Ella J. is lier father's aid 
on the homestead, and Inez E. is the wife of William H. b"ox, of Manns- 
ville, this county. 

(FV) Elijah Fulton, son of Daniel, was b(irn in 181 1, in Cham- 
pion, New York. From eleven to eighteen years of age he was with 
his uncle, Nathan Fulton, at Burr's JNIills, learning the cloth business, 
and then went to .\ntwerp. where be worked at the trade. In 1840 
he married Betsey Hale, who died about 1855. In 1865 be married 
Lavina A. Ellis, of Antwerp, a daughter of Joseph P. Ellis, of that 
place, anci his wife Almira Steel. Joseph was a son of Luke Ellis, of 
Wareham. Massachusetts, not of the same family as Richard Ellis. 

{\) Haskil Bramard Fulton, third son of Samuel and Avastia 
(Waldo) Fulton, was born October 8, 1849. "'"• the paternal farm on 
Martin street. Champion, and has always lived in that town. He 
attended the district school near his home until eighteen years old, and 



846 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

succeeded his father in possession of the liomestead. whose cultivation 
occupied him. whcjll)- or in part, from an early age. Of retiring nature, 
he has never sought for public position, and has been content to reap 
the Iruits of his toil from season to season. He continued upon the 
home farm until 1890, when he sold it and moved to his present loca- 
tion, on the road from Great Bend to Deferiet. This farm comprises 
one hundred and eight acres, extending from the road to the river, 
and aftords excellent facilities for dairy farming. From twelve to 
fifteen cows are kept, and tlie place presents a thrifty appearance, with 
good buildings suitable to their use. His conservative nature led Mr. 
Fulton to espouse the political principles held for a lifetime by his 
.father, and no change has occurred in his allegiance. His only official 
service has been rendered in the capacity of election inspector, and hfe 
is not allied with any organization, though formerly a member of Great 
Bend Grange. 

He was married December 26, 1879, to Matilda, daughter of 
Moses Flubbard (see Hubbard). She was born in July, 1859. in 
Champion, and is the mother of a son and daughter, namely : George 
Samuel and Mabel, both residing with their parents, the son assisting 
in the cultivation of the farm. 

(V) THOMAS ELLIS FULTON, who has gained a remark- 
able degree of prosperity through his well directed and reliable methods 
in agricultural pursuits, was born on the old homestead farm in Ellis- 
burg, north of the \illage of Belleville, May 15, 1849, the second son 
of David and Sarah (Ellis) Fulton. The educational advantages en- 
joyed by him were obtamed in the common schools adjacent to his home 
and Union Academy at Belleville. By close application to his studies 
he became proficient enough to accept a position as teacher, in which 
capacity he served for a period of more than six years. He then pur- 
chased a farm which was in close proximity to Mathers Mills, and this 
he cultivated and improved, receiving large and excellent crops as a 
reward for his labor. The whole appearance of the farm indicates the 
supervision of a master hand. In politics he follows the example nf his 
father, casting his vote for the candidates of the Republican ])arty, 

'y\\\ Fultcm married. September 18. 1877. Abbie Evans, who was 
born in Boston, ?\Lissachusetts. September 21. 1850. a daughter of 
Horatio and Ellen M. (Mayo) Evans, whose ancestors resided in 
Massachusetts and Connecticut, respectively. Horatio Evans, a .son of 
Moses Evans, a soldier m tlie war of the Revolution, was a contractor, 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 647 

and removed to Belleville, New York, about the year 185S. Ellen 
(]Mayo) Evans was a daughter of Elijah Williams and Rebecca (Arm- 
strong) Mayo, the latter named having been a daughter of Captain 
John Armstrong, who participated in the Revolutionary war. 

(V) David, third son of David and Sarah (Ellis) Fulton, was 
born May 15, 1852. on the paternal farm, where he lived all his life. 
His education was supplied by the home schools and Belle\-i!le Acad- 
emy, and he taught several terms of school, in winter, always attending 
to his farm duties in summer. 

He was married November 2^,. 1880, to Ella ]\L Young, who was 
born in Clay, Onondaga county. New York. September 28, 1852, 
daughter of Joseph and Eliza E. (Clark) Young. She is a descendant 
of German ancestors, her grandfather and his two brothers having 
come from Germany and settled at what is now Canastota, New York, 
where they were recognized as trustworthy and reliable business men. 
One daughter is the issue of this union — Nina E., born March 13. 
1882. She is a graduate of Belleville Union Academy, class of iqoi. 
On November 24. 1903. she became the wife of Alfred W. Emerson, 
who was born at I'illar Point, Jefferson county, New York, March 21, 
1870, a son of Sumner Emerson, a brother of Judge Emerson. Alfred 
W. Emerson owns the farm where his father resided and this he oper- 
ates, also the L'ulton farm, and in addition he carries the United States 
mail from Adams to Belleville. 

The death of David Fulton, who was a worthy man in e\'ery re- 
spect, possessing a large amount of enterprise and energy, which he 
ever put to the best advantage, ocurred January 26, 1894. He accepted 
the faith of the Methodist church, and was a member of Rising Light 
Lodge of the Masonic order at Belleville. Of domestic nature, he pre- 
ferred his home and its duties before any public station, and kept aloof 
from political office, though a faithful supporter of Republican prin- 
ciples. He was a tborougli and energetic Inisiness man. a kind husband 
and father, and was successful in his undertakings. 

(V) John Caleb, son of James and grandson of Caleb Fulton, 
was born August 14. 1844, in Wilna, and was reared on u. farm there. 
His primary educational training in the common school was supple- 
mented by attendance at Lowville Academy. He was ambitious for a 
professional career, and taught seventeen terms of school, chiefly in 
Jefferson county and in Lewis county, as a stepping stone thereto. 
While teaching he pursued the study of law. and in the intervals, while 



m^ GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

working on the farm, was often seen with a law-book in study. After 
a term in tlie office of Starbiick & Sawyer, attorneys of Watertown, 
he was admitted to the bar in 1868. He began to practice at once in 
Philadelphia, and removed to Carthage in 1870, continuing practice 
there nineteen years, until his death, September 8, 1889. He had an 
extensive practice and enjoyed distinction as a criminal lawyer. At 
one time he was a partner of A. E. Kilby, now in practice at Carthage, 
and was assisted by him in the conduct of the Salter damage case, 
against the Utica & Black River Railway Company, which l>ecame 
famous as a pioneer m winning against that company. He was a mem- 
ber of the Episcopal church, and of Watertown Masonic Lodge, and 
was identified with the Republican party in politics. 

Mr. P^ulton was married November 13, 1869, to Miss Mary L. 
Woodward, a native of Philadelphia. New York, daughter of Erasmus 
U. and Eunice C. (Crandall) Woodward, the latter born in Norway, 
Herkimer county, and the former (probably) in Lorraine, this county. 
Erasmus D. Woodward was a son of Dr. Caleb Woodward, a native 
of this state, who practiced medicine many years at Evans Mills. Eu- 
nice C. Crandall was a daughter of John and Mary (Browning) Cran- 
dall, of Rhode Island. Of the five children of John C. and ]\Iary L. 
Fulton, the last two — Beth \\\ and Herbert — died at the respective 
ages of nine and six years. Carrie E., the eldest, has been many years 
a teacher, and is now a student at the Potsdam Normal School. Edwin 
\A'. is a machinist, and resides at Watertown. Mabel married Charles 
W. Gleason, a mechanical engineer, wdiose headquarters are in Greater 
Xew York. 

WILLLA.M H. CONSAUL. Foremost among the enterprising 
and successful merchants who have aided so largely in building up and 
maintaining the material prosperity of Jefferson county is William H. 
Consaul, of Clayton. His grandfather, Matthew- Consaul, was a resi- 
dent of Amsterdam, New York, and married, Hannah Lewis, a native 
of that place. They were the parents of a large family. Mr. and Mrs. 
Consaul both died in Amsterdam, the latter attaining to the remarkable 
age of ninety years. 

Lewis Consaul. son of Matthew and Hannah (Lewis) Consaul, 
was born October 4, 181 1, in Amsterdam, whence he came to Clayton 
in 183 1 as a pioneer, and settled on a tract of land four miles from 
the village. He married Jane Ann Lingenfelter, who belonged to a 




^/^^^ ~Zalt^^<'-<-/ ^!2-<-<w^ 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. S49 

numerous and respected family of German origin which has heen for 
nearly a century and a half residents in New York state. 

Michael Lingenfelter was a native of Germany who came to 
America before the revolutionary war, and settled in Montgomery 
county, New York, where he died. He had nine children, among them 
a son John, who was born in Montgomery county and in 183S w'ent to 
Clayton. He married Elida, daughter of Conrad Winnie, of Mont- 
gomery county, and their children were: i. John. 2. Jane Ann, 
mentioned above as the wife of Lewis Consaul. 3. Conrad. 4. 
Catharine. 5. William H., who is now living in Clayton and a sketch 
of whom is tc be found on another page of this work. 6. Obadiah. 
7. Susan. 8. Daniel H., who resides in Lafargeville, New York, 
sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. The death of Mr. 
Lingenfelter took place the year of his coming to Clayton, at the com- 
paratively early age of fifty-eight. 

Mr. and Mrs. Consaul were the parents of the following children : 
I. Matthew, deceased. 2. Alida, who married Enos Hudson, de- 
ceased, of Clayton. 3. Delia, deceased. 4. Catherine, wife of Levi 
Derosia, of Minnesota. 5. W'illiam H., mentioned at length herein- 
after. 6. Silas \V., died April, 1902. 7. Joseph, who served during 
the civil war in western waters on the gunboat "Mound City," and died 
in the service. 8. John V., deceased. 9. Enos, died November 10, 
1903. Mr. Consaul, who possessed the esteem and cordial regard of 
his townsmen for his many admirable qualities both as a man and a 
citizen, died at his home in Clayton in 1874, at the age of sixty-two. 
His widow, who is still living, affords a remarkable example of 
longevity, having been born in 181 1, and now ( 1904J being ninety- 
three years of age. 

William H. Consaul, son of Lewis and Jane Ann (Lingenfelter) 
Consaul, was born May 17, 1840, in Clayton, and recei\-ed his primary 
education in the common schools, afterward attending a select private 
school. His early years were spent on the paternal farm, and at the 
age of twenty he began life for himself by operating a threshing 
machine. For twelve years he plied this industry in such a manner as 
to render it highly profitable, and in 1872 came to Clayton village, 
where he engaged in busmess as a grain merchant, finding much patron- 
age among the farmers. Li 1888 he bought the ground whereon he 
afterward erected his present ofSce and warehouse, where he conducts 
an extensive and profitable business, dealing in grain of all kinds, flour, 



S50 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

mill feed, bran, hay, salt and cement. He is largely engaged in the 
coal and wood bnsiness. and in 1903 erected the most spacious coal- 
sheds to be found in this vicinity, capable of holding three thousand 
tons of coal, using his own vessels in transporting it from various 
points on the lakes and river, having a large trade, not only in Clayton 
and vicinity, but also supplying a large number of private yachts belong- 
ing to the summer residents. He has also dealt very extensively in 
hay, in 1903 buying fourteen hundred tons. He is actively identified 
with various interests which form an important part of the business life 
01 the community. He was a charter member of the Thousand Island 
Publishing Company of Clayton, in which he is now a director and 
president ; was among the organizers of the Telephone Exchange, of 
which he is a stockholder and director and is also a director and vice- 
president of the First National Bank. 

As a citizen j\Ir. Consaul has e\'er been alert, earnest and con- 
scientious, keenly alive to everything w'hich concerns in any way the 
well-being of the town and county, and the number of positions of 
honor and trust to whicii he has been called afTord ample evidence of 
the high estimate placed upon his abilities and character by his fellow- 
citizens. He served as commissioner of highways for six years, deputy 
collector of customs for two years, and assessor for one year. In 1890 
he was elected supervisor of the town of Clayton, and by successive 
annual re-elections his tenure of office was extended to 1901, his pro- 
tracted incumbency exceeding that of any of his predecessors in the 
township, and, with one exception, that of any supervisor in Jefferson 
county. Mr. Consaul was a prominent factor in the incorporation of 
the village of Clayton, and is now serving his sixth year as a member 
of the board of trustees. He has served as president at various times, 
his last election to this position being in 1904. His political affiliations 
are with the Democratic partv, and he has frequently sat as a delegate 
in its state, congressional district and county conventions. In religious 
belief he is a Baptist, and he lias served for many years as a trustee 
of his church. He holds memliership in Clayton Lodge, No. 339. I. O. 
O. F.. of which he has been treasurer for some years; and is also a 
member of the Improved Order of Red Men. 

In his varied relations with the community, Mr. Consaul's conduct 
has ever been characterized by the highest ability and scrupulous fidelity 
to the trusts committed to him. and the interests of his county and 
town have been greatly advanced through his ente; prise, public spirit 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 851 

and sagacity. In his personal dealings with his fellows, frankness. 
sincerity and absolute fairness have marked his every act, while his ex- 
cellent social qualities ha\-e endeared him to all his associates in the 
fraternal and other circles in which he moves. 

Mr. Consaul married, April 9, 1863, ]\Iiss Julia M. Barrett, a 
daughter of Francis and Eliza (Webb) Barrett. Her father combined 
the occupations of farmer and miller. He was, besides, a man of edu- 
cation and culture, and was for many years a school teacher. Mr. and 
Mrs. Barrett were the parents of ten children: i. Cornelia, who mar- 
ried (first) a Mr. Fuller, and (second) James Hammond. 2. Julia M.. 
who became the wife of William H. Consaul. 3. Mary, who married 
William N. Wright, and resides in Oklahoma.. 4. Hattie. who married 
John Kelly, deceased. 5. Kendrick, deceased. 6. Carrie, who mar- 
ried Jacob Mitchell. 7. John. 8. Charles. 9. Nellie, who married 
(first) a Mr. Jarvis, and (second) DeWitt Hollenbeck. 10. Frances, 
who is the wife of the Rev. Mr. Fletcher. 

Mrs. Consaul (nee Julia M. Barrett) was born in Clayton in 1838. 
She bore to her husband two daughters, Eliza and Cornelia, both of 
whom are deceased, and she passed away April 15. 1893. Her death 
was an indescribable loss to her family and friends, and was felt as a 
personal bereavement by all who had been in any way associated witli 
her. She had been a member of the Baptist church from her twelfth 
year, and had always taken an ardent interest in all its affairs and in 
promoting its various benevolences. In all her relations she exhibited 
the best qualities of Christian womanhood, and with such unassuming 
modesty that she was unconscious of the beautiful influence which she 
exerted. 

LEWIS CASS WATSON, M. D., deceased, for many years an 
eminent and skillful medical practitioner of Alexandria Bay, Jeft'erson 
county, New York, was born June 14, 1S36, at Watertown, New York, 
a son of Alonzo M. \\'atson, who in turn was a son of Samuel Watson. 

Samuel Watson (grandfather) was Ixirn in Connecticut in 1780, 
and subsequently he came to Herkimer county. New York, accom- 
panied by his two brothers — Eli, who later went to Nebraska, where 
he married and reared a large family of children, a number of whom 
are still living — and John, who studied medicine and later moved to 
Pulaski, New York, where he practiced his profession up to the time 
of his death. Samuel Watson was the proprietor of a hotel for many 



852 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

years, which was located on the Pamelia side of the Black ri\-er, and 
from this section of the country he removed to Cape Vincent, where 
the remainder of his days were spent. He enlisted in the war of iSu, 
and assisted at the arsenal in Watertown, where he gave out the guns 
to those who went to the fight at Sacketts Harbor. He was an expert 
horseman. His political affiliations were with the Democratic party. 
He was married twice; his first wife, Miss Acker, bore him one son, 
Alonzo AI. \\'atson. His second wife, Miss Shield, bore him three 
children : Samuel, James, and Sarah,- who became the wife of the late 
Judith Ainsworth, of Cape Vincent, New York. At the time of his 
death, which was the result of an epileptic fit. Samuel Watson was 
serving as street commissioner at Cape Vincent. 

Alonzo M. Watson (father) was born in the central part of New 
York state, near Herkimer county, in 1810. While a resident of 
Watertown, in 1837, he was admitted to the bar and three years later 
he entered mto partnership with John F. Hutchinson, a man of eccen- 
tric character, at one time postmaster at Watertown. Prior to the 
death of IMr. Hutchinson Mr. Watson became infatuated with Four- 
ierism, and with many other able men had attempted to reduce Fourier's 
principles to practice. The association which he aided in getting to- 
gether at Cold Creek, two niiles east of Watertown, was short-lived, 
continuing only a year, and then Mr. Watson went to Sodus Bay, in 
\\ ayne county, where the Fourierites had a second establishment on a 
farm of eleven hundred acres. There he remained one year, and then 
removed to Rochester, New York, and shortly before his death, which 
occurred December 31, 1847, of pneumonia, at the early age of less 
th.an forty years, he established a flour, feed and grocery store, with 
a hotel in the same building. While residing at Evans Mills Mr. Wat- 
son served in the capacity of constable, and at the same time he pur- 
sued his studies with John Clark. It was the custom in those days to 
be admitted to each court separately — county, circuit, and court of ap- 
peals — and the various diplomas which were granted to him are now 
in the possession of his son, Don Alonzo D. M. Watson. His wife, 
Malona M. (Martin) Watson, born in Washington county. New York, 
was one of ten children. She attended the Presbyterian church, and 
later the Episcopal church, was a noble, self-sacrificing. Christian 
woman, who reared her family to lead lives of usefulness and respect- 
abilitv, and died at the age of eighty-seven years. She was the mother 
nf ten children, three of whom are living at the present time (1904) : 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 853 

Don Alonzo D. M., a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this \vori< , 
Albert M., of Detroit, Michigan, an expert on safe and bank locks: and 
Emma, wife uf Geiirge Snell, of Batavia, New Y<jrk. 

Lewis C. Watsem was a pupil in the high school at Theresa. Xew 
York, which was under the persmial supervision of W. T. G(-iodnough. 
and among his school companions were O. L. Haddock, and one or two 
members of the Flower family. Upon the completion of his studies he 
at once entered upon a course of reading in medicine with John U. and 
Nathan Davidson, with whom he remained until the Ci\il war Ijmke 
out. when he immediately went to the front and was placed on a trans- 
port hospital boat, where he remained until 1863. when he enlisted as 
hospital steward of the Twentieth New York Cavalry, with which 
regiment he remained until the close of the war. making in all almut 
four and a half years of continuous work among the sick and wounded. 
The clinics of no medical college could present such a variety in surgery 
or disease. Dm^ing his term of service he was promoted to the rank 
of lieutenant. 

Immediatel}- after his discharge from the service of bis country 
Dr. Watson entered the jMedical College at Geneva, New York, and 
after pursuing the regular medical course in that institution he was 
graduated with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. In 1867 be estab- 
lished an office for the practice of bis chosen profession at Alexandria 
Bay, New York, being the on!v physician in that town for a number of 
years. Owing to his skill and ability in the diagnosis and treatment 
of disease, and the mterest he manifested in the welfare of bis patients, 
bis patronage steadily increased in volume and importance, extending 
all over the section in which be resided, and also among the islands 
of the St. Lawrence. With the exception of one winter (1892-93) 
spent in Chicago. Illinois. Dr. Watson resided in Alexandria Bay. He 
was a member of the Medical Society of Watertown. New York, a 
member of the Free and Accepted Masons, of Alexandria Bay. and 
with Mrs. Watson held membership and was baptized in the Episcopal 
church of Alexandria Bay. 

In 186S Dr. Watson married Elizabeth Camiibell. who was born 
in New Jersey, but early in life removed with her parents to Jefferson 
county, New York, attended the public schools in this section, and for 
a number of years prior to her marriage she taught school in the village 
of Alexandria Bay, being a resident there since 1859. Dr. Watson 
died August 30. 1893. and was survived l)y his wife and two children, 



854 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

namely ; Margie, wife of Jolm ]\I. Cutler, uf Trenton, New Jersey, 
and tliey are the parents of one son, Louis ^vlorrell Cutler, ]\Ir. Cutler 
formerly being vice-president and general manager of the Elgin Watch 
Company, and now general manager of the Trenton Watch Company. 
Lovine, wife of Norris A. Houghton, a furniture dealer and undertaker 
of Alexandria Bay, has one child, Elizabeth Candice. Henry Campbell, 
father of Mrs. Watson, removed from New Orleans to Redwood, Jef- 
ferson county, in 1846, and here he followed his trade, that of glass- 
blower, for a number of years. He then removed to Alexandria Bay, 
and until his retirement from active pursuits he served in the capacity 
of light-house keeper, having charge of the lower light for many years. 
He died in 1897, at the age of eighty-two years. His wife, Susan 
(Hartman) Campbell, fiorn in Holland, but of German descent, bore 
him ten children, the surviving members of the family being as follows: 
John, a resident of Oneida ; Mrs. Elisha Cole, of St. Thomas, Canada ; 
Mrs. Lewis C. Watson, widow of Dr. Watson ; Mrs. Mary Ellen ; and 
Dr. Campbell, a practicing physician of Alexandria Bay. Mrs. Camp- 
bell died in the year 1893, aged fifty-seven years. Mr. and Mrs. Camp- 
bell were members of the Methodist Episcopal church, in which Mr. 
Campbell took a prominent part, lieing a class leader and exhorter. 

BYRON FOX, an esteemed resident and sterling citizen of Depau- 
viile. Jetierson county. New York, is a representative of one of the 
pioneer families in that northern region of the state. He has shown 
the determined spirit of his ancestors in meeting and overcoming the 
many discouragements and hardships of his own experience, and has 
sustained the high regard of the community which his forefathers won. 

His grandfather, Elijah Fox, who was born in Connecticut in 
1770, came to Clayton. He lived there for more than twenty years, 
dying in 1853, at the age ijf seventy-three. His four children became 
prominent in the town and community, and they antl their children have 
contributed largely to its industrial and social development. The children 
were Hubljel, the first super\isor of Clayton, Phila, Emily, and Alfred. 

Alfred Fox, father of Byron, was born at Pompey Hill, Onondaga 
county. New York, January 30, 1807. He spent his early years in 
Cortland county, where he attended school, and where he was for a 
time a teacher. In 1S32 he moved to Clayton and began farming. He 
became a large landholder, and besides the management of a farm of 
eight hundred acres, dealt in live stock. He was an authority on horses. 





^ 0'ir\p 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. ^55 

and often liad as many as fifty on hand. He was a man of large capac- 
ity, a wide reader, antl an intelligent observer of events. He had strong 
opinions and the ability to snstain them in argument. He attended the 
Universalist church, was a Democrat, and an opponent of secret societies. 
He was prominent in local politics, having served ten years as super- 
visor and fifteen years as justice of the peace, besides being elected 
member of the Assembly in 185 1 and serving four years as customs 
officer at Cape Vincent, and was also school commissioner for a number of 
years. In 1852 he was a delegate to the national Democratic conven- 
tion at Baltimore, Maryland. His first wife was Lucy Harris of 
Cortland county, who was Iicirn in Fabious. and died at twenty-six; 
she was the mother of four children, namely, James H., now of Depau- 
ville; Mary J., now in Buffalo, New York; George, deceased; and 
Byron, already mentioned. The second wife of Alfred Fox w-as Olive 
C. Bent, of Watertow-n, who became the mother (if five children, Charles 
A., Hattie, Nellie, Frank C, and Alfred, Jr. The father died March 
13, 1880, at tlie age of seventy-three years, and his wife two weeks 
later, both from, pneumonia. 

Byron, youngest child of Alfred Fox by his first marriage, was 
born in Depauville, Jefferson county, October 10, 1840. He w-as reared 
in the town, and his education in the public schools was supplemented 
by study at Faii-field Academy. He began work as a farmer, and man- 
aged the homestead until 1872, when he formed a partnership in gen- 
eral merchandising with R. Terry. The firm conducted business for 
five years in the village of Depauville and then Mr. Fox carried it on 
independently for a year more, when he was burned out. Following 
this misfortune, he lived until 1885 on the old farm, consisting at that 
time of four hundred acres. He then went to Ellisburgh and began 
dealing in cattle. He did a large business, handling from one thousand 
to fifteen hundred head of cattle in a year. In 1896, however, he took 
advantage of a business opening in Depauville, and traded his farm 
for a grist mill there. The mill has a large capacity, having five run 
of stone for custom grinding, ami he has a wide field of customers. 
He makes a specialty of buckwheat flour, and his brand is well known 
and popular in this section. Fie is also a member of the firm operating 
the Potsdam pant works at Potsdam, New- York, one of the largest 
houses of its class in this section, and which in IQ03 transacted a busi- 
ness of $ioo,ooc. He has always taken active interest in local affairs, 
and for eight years he was justice of the peace, and for thirty years 



856 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

trustee of the school district and also served as treasurer. He is a 
Democrat, and has been a delegate to many county conventions, in 
1889 being himself nominated for member of Assembly. He was rail- 
road commissioner from 1889 to 1895. He is a charter member of 
Depauville Grange. Patrons of Husbandry, and a member of Depau- 
ville Lodge, No. 688, Free and Accepted Masons, and has been one of 
the trustees for many years. 

In January, 1867, Mr. Fox married Sarah Gloyd, born in Clayton, 
in 1844, a daughter of Gordon Gloyd. His wife was Sarah Rogers, 
born in New Hampshire. They were members of the Baptist church, 
and Gordon Gloyd was a farmer; his wife died in 1881. Their chil- 
dren were as follows : Marion, living in Watertown, the widow of 
B. A. Shedd, now deceased; Helen, of Brownville. the wife of Simeon 
Allison; Chester, of Brownville; Sarah, wife of Byron Fox; Charles, 
of Depauville. Byron and Sarah (Gloyd) Fox are the parents of four 
children, namely: i. Mary J., who married Charles Durfee, of Water- 
town, now living in Depauville, and is the mother of three children, 
Byron, Katie and Bradford. 2. Grace G., who married Dr. Dale of 
Depauville, and has one daughter Josephine. 3. Wilbur A., who 
married Augusta Blume. and has one child. Helen. 4. Harrv, who 
lives at home. 

SCOTT. This name i'^ found frequentl_\- among the pioneers of 
Jefferson county, and seems to have sprung from different points in 
New England, before coming here. The late Ross C. Scott, for man}' 
3'ears surrogate of Jefferson county, came of ancient ^Massachusetts 
lineage, and carried well the reputation for business acumen and prob- 
ity, as well as energ)- and intelligence, for which the line has been 
noted. There can he no duubt that the name is of Scotch origin, and 
the ancestors of this line came to Boston in 1633-4. from Scotland. 

(I) The first nf present k-n(j\^n record was William Scott, who 
was a member of Captain Turner's company at the "Falls Fight," above 
Deerfield, Massachusetts. He married, January j8, 1670, Hannah. 
dau,L;hter of Lieutenant William Allis. and they had eleven children. 

(II) Josiah, eldest child of William and Hannah Scott, was Ijorn 
June 18, 1671, in Hatfield, Massachusetts, where he married, in 169S, 
Sarah, daughter of Benjamin and Sarali ( Cira\'es) Barrett, of Deer- 
field. He was one of the ten jiroprietors of the "Governor Bradstreet 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 857 

grant," and m 1718 Iniilt a house and farm buildings in what was 
known as "the straits." on the Old Orchard or Deerfield road. 

fill) Captain Moses Scott, son of Josiah and Sarah, born Feb- 
ruary 3. 1713, was a pioneer settler of Bernardston, where he worked 
on the forts erected for defense against the Indians and French, who 
soon began to invade the English colonies from Canada. He was a 
carpenter and builder by trade, and became a surveyor. On August 
24. 1742, he married Mu-iam, daughter of Ebenezer Nash, of Hadley. 
About 1746 the settlers took refuge in Fort Massachusetts, being threat- 
ened bv a force of French and Indians, numbering nine hundred, under 
General de Vendreuil. Among these were Moses Scott and his wife 
and two children. The colonists were under command of Lieutenant 
Colonel John Hawkes. and held out against attacks on the fort until 
their ammunition and provisions were consumed, when they were com- 
pelled to surrender. August 20. 1746. Captain Scott and family werer 
taken to Quebec, where the wife and younger son (Moses) died in 
captivity. The elder son was sold to an Indian, and spent three years 
in the wilderness, forgetting his mother tongue and becoming accus- 
tomed to Indian ways. Captain Scott returned to Bernardston August 
26 1747. and as soon as he could accumulate the ransom demanded, 
went back to Oueliec after his son. Ebenezer. The latter did not recog- 
nize his parent and fled into the woods upon his approach. He was 
finally captured and brought home, but it was some time before he 
was w^eaned from Indian habits. He was the first white male liorn in 
Falltown, and lived to serve his country well in the Revolution. He 
was a corporal at the battle of Bunker Hill, and fought all through 
the Revolutionary struggle. Captain Moses Scott married for second 
wife, Elizabeth, surname unknown, who bore him Moses, a soldier 
of the Revolution, Miriam, Elihu and Anna. He was a farmer during 
most of liis life in Bernardston. and was selectman in 1762-3. 'jt,. '78, 
'80. He was a man of powerful build, six feet tall, and strong in pro- 
portion. His last days were saddened by blindness, and he died July 
23. 1799, and was buried in tlie military cemetery at Bernardston. He 
was a member of the Congregational-Unitarian church of Bernardston. 
later known as the Church cf Christ, Congregational. 

(TV) Elihu. vnungest son of Moses and Elizabeth Scott, was 
born in 1764. in Bernardston, was married October 17, 1792, to Han- 
nah Andrus, of Guilford, \'ennont. daughter of Lieutenant Nehemiah 
and Hannah (Fox) Andrus. He died April 22. 1840, aged about 



858 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

se\enty-six years, and his wife surviveil until March 24, 1851. He 
was a farmer in liernardstmi. and a member uf the Congregational 
cliurch. His children were: Zorah, Oreb, Henry, Philena, Roxana, 
Enierancy Cliniena and James Sullivan. 

{V ) Henry Scott, third child of Elihu and Hannah, w-as Ijorn 
October j, ijcjO. in Bernardston. In iSu lie was a member of Captain 
David Strickland's company. Lieutenant Colonel Longley's regiment 
of infantry militia, stationed at Camp Commercial Point, Dorchester, 
going as a substitute for his brother, Zorah. After the war, being then 
eighteen years old, he left Iiome and went to Newport, Herkimer 
county. New York, where he learned the carpenter's trade. About 1820 
he came to Rutland, in this county, and was engaged in building for 
some ten years. He purchased a farm near Black River, on which 
he lived until 1859. He then retired from active labor and moved to 
Watertown, purchasing a place on upper State street, where he con- 
tinued to reside until his death, April 7, 1S62. He took the premium 
offered liy the iVgricultural Society for the best kept farm, on several 
occasions. The stone walls built by him upon his Rutland farm, five 
miles in length, are still standing. The Methodist church being the only 
one near him after he came to this county, he united with it, and con- 
tinued a faithful member through life. Mr. Scott was a trustee of the 
Methodk-l church at Black River, elected in 1845, and was assessor and 
commissioner of highways of the town of Rutland. In politics he was 
independent in early life, and was among the founders of the Repub- 
lican party. He was married January 2, 1823, to Margaret Pierce, 
daughter of Nathaniel Pierce, a soldier of 1812, and his wife. Renewed 
Weeks. Nathaniel Pierce was the seventh child and sixth son of Ben- 
jamin Pairce (or Pearce), who came fnjin England (his ancestors 
being French) and settled in life at Halifax, Vermont, having pre- 
viously married Margaret Allen, in Boston, and lived some years at 
Exeter, New Hampshire. He was a soldier of the Revolution, in Col- 
onel Samuel Fletcher's regiment of Vermont militia. The children of 
Henry and Margaret (Pierce) Scott are accounted for as follows: 
Emerancv Climena married Sidney Sternburg, and their descendants 
are now found in Oswego county. Martha Ann was three times mar- 
ried. Her first husband was John Scott, the second Henry Sternburg, 
and the third Henry A. Scott. She now resides, a widow, in Colerain, 
Massachusetts. Sherman Wooster is now a resident of Estervan, 
Assiniboia, Canadian Northwest Territorv. Charlotte Pierce married 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 859 

Warren \V. Johnson, whom slie survives, now residing em State street, 
Watertown. 

(VI) Ross Clark Scott, fifth and youngest child (if Henry and 
Iviargaret Scott, was born October 19, 1838, in Rutland, and had just 
attained his majority when he moved with his parents to Watertown. 
His early education was supplied by the public schools of his native 
county, and he prepared for college at the Gouverneur Wesleyan Semi- 
nary. In i860 he was graduated with the degree of Bachelor of Sci- 
ence, from Genesee College, then located at Lima, New York, and 
which is now Syracuse University. After leaving college he studied 
law witli Bagely & Wright, attorneys of Watertown, and in 1863 he 
was adnntted to the bar. From that time until his death he was 
engaged in the acti\'e practice of his profession except when his time 
was fully occupied w'ith the duties of public office. He served as town 
clerk, justice of the peace, and as a memlier of the common council of 
Watertown, and in 1868 was appointed clerk of the surrogate's court. 
In the fall of that year he was elected special surrogate, and served in 
that capacity until 1877, when he was elected surrogate of Jefferson 
county. He held this office for three terms of six years each, retiring 
from office in 1895. During these long years of public service he 
enjoyed as high regard as a man as he won as an official. , He joined 
the Methodist Church \\hen a boy, and continued this relation througli 
life, acting as trustee of the State Street Church twelve years. He was 
one of the leaders of the Republican party in the county. He was con- 
nected with various financial interests in Watertown, and was for a 
long period of years a director of the National Union Bank and secre- 
tary of the Jefferson County Savings Bank, which positions he held at 
the time of his death. In 1864 he became a member of Neptune Hose 
and Steamer Company No. i of the Watertown Fire Department, and 
was soon afterward elected a director of the company. In 1865 he was 
made secretary, and held that office at the time of his death. He was 
historian of the department, and had, probably, seen a longer term of 
continuous ser\ice than any other fireman in the state. In 1895 he was 
elected as the first president of the Jefferson County Volunteer Firemen's 
Association, and served three successive terms. He was a trustee of 
Syracuse University, and vice president of its Alumni Association in 
1876-7. In 1873, this institution conferred upon him the degree of 
^Master of Science. His affability and kindliness made him popular 
among any body of men with whom he was thrown, and his manage- 



860 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 



nient added materially to the progress of any movement with which he 
was connected. 

jN'Ir. Scott married Fannie A., daughter of Judah and Almira 
(Smith) Lord (see Lord, VII). Three sons were born to the couple, 
namely: Evarts Lord, in 1866, who died in his tenth year; Allyn Ross, 
November 23, 1874: and Charles Henry, August 15, 1882. 

Mr. Scott died at his heme in Watertown, September 20. 1898, 
and in his death the city lost a sterling citizen, and Jefferson county 
one of its best known public men. His widow survi\-ed until Sep- 
tember I. 1903, when she passed away peacefully at her \A'atertown 
home. Their mortal remains were deposited in beautiful Brookside 
cemeteiy. Watertown. 

LORD. This is among the oldest New England names, and has 
had to do with the formative period in the history of many localities 
in the LTnited States, including this county, where it has numerous 
creditable representatives. 

(I) The first of record in America was Thomas Lord, a smith, 
v,-ho sailed April 19, 1635, from London, England, in the ship Eliza- 
beth and Ann, being then fifty years old. He was accompanied by his 
wife, Dorothy, aged forty-six, and children: Thomas, aged sixteen; 
Ann. fourteen; William, twelve; John, ten: Robert, nine; Ayrae, six; 
and Dorothy, four. An adult son, Richard, was one of the passengers 
in the same ship. They located at Newtown (now Cambridge), Mas- 
sachusetts, but soon removed to Hartford, Connecticut, where father 
and son W'Cre among the original proprietors. Thomas Lord's home 
lot was on Little river (now Park river), about where Wells street is 
now located, and Richard's was the next lot west. The parents were 
married in 1610. and the mother died in 1676. Xo record exists of 
the father's death. ^Irs. Lord's will was sealed with the coat-of-arms 
of Laward, which name was shortened l;et\veen 1380 and 1635 to 
Lord. Richard Lord was distinguished as an Indian fighter and was 
tl;e first to organize a troop of horse for offensive action in the Indian 
wars. His son was subsecjuently secretary of the colony. Thomas, 
tlie second son, was a physician, the first in the colony, and was em- 
ployed under contract by the general court to treat the people of the 
Connecticut river settlements. He was to receive fifteen pounds 
sterling from the general treasury, and his fees were regulated by law, 
according to distance traveled — twelve pence in Hartford and up to 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. .^61 

eigiit shillings to Aliddletowii ( then called Alattabeseckj. This was in 
1652, and he was exempted from trainings, watching and warding", but 
not from "finding armes," according to law. He died in 1662. 

(II) William, third son and fourth child of Thomas and 
Dorothy Lord, was born in 1623, in England, was reared in Hartford, 
from the age of fifteen, and settled in early manhood in that part of 
old Saybrook which is now called Lyme, where he died May 17, 1678. 
His children were : William. Thomas, Richard, Mary, Robert, John, 
Joseph, Benjamin, Daniel, James and Samuel, beside three daughters 
whose names are not recorded. 

(III) Thomas, second son of William Lord (i), born 1645, 
settled in Lyme, Connecticut, married Mary Lee, and died 1730. 

(IV) Joseph, son of Thomas and Mary Lord, was born 1697, 
in Lyme married Abigail Comstock, and died 1736. 

(V) Joseph, son of Joseph and Abigail Lord, was born 1730, 
in Lyme, and married Sarah Wade. He served as a soldier of the 
Revolution, in the Connecticut militia, and died 1788. 

(VI) Captain Elisha Lord, born 1764, in Lyme, married there, 
January 25, 1786, Lydia Hayes. He died in Woodstock, Vermont, 
December 11, 1818, aged fifty-four years. He was a private in Enoch 
Reid's company of the First Connecticut militia, commanded by 
Colonel Josiah Starr, and ir. Captain Da\id Beebe's company. Colonel 
Roger Enos' regiment. Subsequently he v.as captain of the Fourth 
Company, Third Regiment, Vermont Infantry ^^lilitia. First Brigade, 
Fourth Division. On May 29, 1788, he bought of Jonathan Grout 
one hundred acres of land, three and one-half miles south of the court 
house in Woodstock, Vermont, where he lived until his death. His 
children were: Phcebe, Fanny, William, Betsey, Azubah, Elisha, 
Elisha (2), Judah, Lydia, Henry and Louisa. Their mother died 
April 19, 1813, and on October 28, 1813, he married :Mrs. Lydia (Fay) 
Upham, who bore him two daughters and a son — Julia :\Iaria, Laura 
Lavina and Albert Elisha. 

(VII) Judah Lord, fourth son and eighth child of Elisha and 
Lydia Lord, was born July 2, 1802, in Woodstock, Vermont, where he 
grew to man's estate. Whde yet a youtli he was employed in making 
plows, and m 1820 he came to Brownville, in this county, to join an 
older brother, Colonel William Lord, long a prominent citizen of that 
town. Here Judah Lord w^ooded the first plow constructed in northern 
New York, in his brother's establishment. In 1823 he came to Water- 



862 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

town and purchased land on Sewall's Island and built a shop where 
the works of the Bagley & Sewall Company are now located. He 
began the manufacture of plows and other tools, and continued success- 
fully until his plant was washed away by a freshet. He rebuilt at once, 
and was subsequently driven out of business by fire. From 1828 to 
1835 he lived at Juhelville. and then moved to Brownville. From 1839 
to 1841 he li\-ed on a farm in the town of Hounsfiekl, and then re- 
tui'ued to W'atertown. He had retained his property on Sewall's 
Island, and now took up his residence there, being employed for some 
years as a pattern-maker by one of the manufacturers of the town. 
In 1847 'is rented ground on Beebe's Island and again began the manu- 
facture of plows and various agricultural implements, and the business 
grew rapidly under his skillful hands. After three vears his nephew, 
Gilderoy Lord, and Mr. Frank Gregory became associated with him, 
forming the firm of J. & G. Lord & Company. With enlarged capital 
a shop was built, and a large variety of products was turned out. Mr. 
Lord invented a rotary stove, which was made by the firm and largely 
sold in this section. He also made many improvements in plows, and 
in mowing machines, and the '"Young America" mower was an im- 
portant part of the output, which included wood furnaces. The plows 
are still made in the same shop, by George Lance. In 1865 Judah 
Lord sold out to his nephew, and soon after joined with Judge Charles 
D. Wright, John Sheldon and the inventor, in making the Davis sewing 
machine, Mr. Lord acting as superintendent of the plant. Failing health 
finally compelled him to retire from active business, and he died Febru- 
ary 29, 1876. at his home, on State street, in Watertown. He was 
thoroughly possessed of the Yankee ingenuity which will undertake to 
make "anything an3'body else can make," and also had the habits of 
industry and steady application which have made his confreres pre- 
eminent all o\'er the world. That he was not easily disheartened is 
shown by his frequent resumption of business, after being once almost 
ruined by flood and twice by fire. An unassuming but public-spirited 
citizen, he was genial and lovabjle by nature, and was respected by all. 
iMir more than forty-four years he was a member of the Methodist 
church, and was one of the charter members of the State Street con- 
gregation and long one of its trustees, serving also as steward. In 
183 1-2 he w-as drum major of the Continental Band, a local organiza- 
tion. A Whig in early life, he became a Republican upon the organiza- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. s63 

tion of the party. He was justice of the peace in the town of Pameha 
about 1832, and a trustee of the village of Brownville in 1837. 

I\Ir. Lord was married September 22, 1825, to Miss Almira, 
daughter of Benjamin and Polly (Morris) Smith, who came from 
Chester, Vermont, and settled in the town of Hounsfield, this countv. 
Five daughters were born to Jndah Lord and wife. Mary Jane. Sep- 
tember 6, 1826, resides in Watertown, the wife of James DeLong. 
Cornelia Juhel, April 14, 1829, the first child born in Juhelville. was 
named by Madame Juhel. She died at the age of twenty-five years, 
unmarried. Frances Louisa, August 10, 1831, died when one year old. 
Lydia Caroline. June 23, 1834, resides in Watertown, having been long 
the companion of her younger sister, Mrs. Ross C. Scott (Frances 
Amelia), who was born December 25. 1841 (See Scott. VI). 

STERNBERG FAMILY. The first of the Sternbergs to arrive 
in America was one Lambert, in 1703. He came from Saxony, Ger- 
many, and settled in Albany county. New York. Of his history but 
little is known except that he had four sons — Nicholas, Lambert, Adam 
and David. The family record of Nicholas, in German text, is in pos- 
session of feroine L. Sternberg, of Erie, Pennsylvania, and as rendered 
into English at that time, is as follows: 

Nicholas Sternberger, born January 13, 1723: married Catherine 
Rickart, October 4, 1758, to whom were born the following named 
children: Lambert, born August 22, 1759; Elizabeth, born May 22, 
1761 ; Catherina, born July 9, 1763 : Nicholas, born November 30, 1765 ; 
Johannes, born February i, 1768: Pifl'er (Peter) born June 30, 1770; 
Marcus, born March 12, 1773; Adam, born March 21, 1775; Abraham, 
born March 3, 1777: David, born July 7, 1779. 

Of the other three brothers no authentic histor}' has been obtain- 
able, except that of J. H. Sternbergh. an extensive manufacturer of 
Reading, Pennsylvania, who claims to be the great-grandson of Adam. 

.The occupation of Nicholas was that of farmer and dealer or spec- 
ulator in landed property. There is now in possession of the descend- 
ants of Nicholas Sternberger the original grant of nine thousand acres 
of land to the Sternl>ergers and others in Schoharie county (then knowii 
as Albany county), and which grant was called New Dorlock. The 
patent is dated 1766, and bears the seal of King George III. The 
name also appears upon the records in the comptroller's office of New 
York on an account of persons who were qualified to the losses sus- 



864 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

tained on said landed property by the army of the revolution. In the 
office of the secretary of state he is recorded as having served in the 
Albany county militia, Fifteenth Regiment, in the war of the revolu- 
tion. A section of the above nine thousand acres grant is hqw owned 
and occupied by the descendants of Johannes, who was the son of 
Nicholas, and is located in Seward, Schoharie county. In the history 
of Schoharie county the Sternberg's have the credit of building the 
first grist or flouring mill. The original translation of the name from 
German into English was Sternberger, but Rev. Levi Sternberg, D. D., 
who was a grandson of Nicholas, declared that Sternberg was a better 
translation than Sternberger, and, being a very learned man of his day, 
his spelling has been adopted by the generations following. He was 
principal of tlie Hartwick Seminary, Otsego county, for manv years, 
and father of George M. Sternberg, surgeon-general of the United 
States army and navy. General Sternberg was born June 8, 1838 ; was 
appointed assistant surgeon May 28, 1861 ; was appointed surgeon- 
general May, 1893, and continued to perform the duties of that office 
untd retired, about 1902. 

Jerome L. Sternberg, to whom the writer owes much for his 
assistance in compiling this history, is a banker of Erie, Pennsylvania. 
He is the son of Abraham, who was the son of Johannes (now called 
John), who was the son of Nicholas. His mother, with her son, now 
resides upon a section of the original grant from King George to the 
Sternbergs and others, bearing date of 1776, and located in Seward, 
Schoharie county. 

Abraham, son of Nicholas, and grandfather of the subject of 
this sketch, was born March 3, 1777. He married Margaret Stern- 
berg, born February 25, 1777, in the town of. Palatine, Montgomery 
county. To them were born the following children: i. David, born 
May 23, 1801 : died March 4, 1803. 2. • Caty, born May 12, 1803, died 
May 21, 1813. 3. Archibald, born May 20, 1805; died December 25, 
1889. 4. Darwin, born July 11, 1807; died August 4, 1827. 5. 
Gabriel, born March 10, 18 10 (record of death ha? not been obtained). 
6. Margaret, born July 23, 1813: died February 13, 1845. 7. Eliza- 
beth, born February 2, 1816; yet living with Elias G. 8. Maria, bom 
July 2, 1818, died June 5, 1889. 

Dr. Abraham Sternberg was a skillful physician, with a large prac- 
tice at the time of his death, which occurred Feliruary 6, 1833, ^^ the 
early age of fifty-six years. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 865 

Archibald, father of EHas, was born May 20, 1805. He received 
his education in the common and select schools of Montgomery county. 
At an early age he commenced teaching school, and for nine consecu- 
tive years he taught in the district in which his father resided. During 
this tune he studied medicine with his father, and at an early age as- 
sisted his father to amputate a limb. The ghastly appearance of the 
removed limb haunted his mental vision so that he was tuiable to 
sleep for many days, and on this account he was dissuaded from the 
further study of medicine. About this time he was elected town clerk 
of the town of Palatine. Being the oldest son he assumed the care of 
his father's family after his death, and on account of his inability to 
follow the medical profession, as mentioned above, he came to Jefferson 
county and purchased a farm, to which he moved in the spring of 1835 
with his wife and family of four children, his mother, one brother and 
two sisters. Here he spent the remainder of his life in the pursuit 
of agriculture. Being an expert penman and accountant, he was much 
employed by the people of the vicinity and surrounding towns to settle 
up accounts and mortgages of long standing, and to draft deeds, wills, 
contracts, etc. He was a member of the Masonic fraternity ; was master 
of the Stonemills Lodge for many years, and afterward organized a 
lodge at Depauville, of which he was master for a number of years. 
He took great interest in all matters connected with Masonry, and by 
request frequently took charge of funerals of deceased brothers. Mr. 
Sternberg and his wife were members of the Lutheran church, and he 
was one of the committee to build the Union Church at Perch River 
of which tie was deacon and trustee to the time of his death. 

Mr. Sternberg married Maria Brower, of the town of Palatine, 
Montgomery county, and to them were born the following children : 

1. Darwin, born February 7, 1829; died February 16, 1830. 

2. Lany Ann, born July 2, 1830; married Charles Calkins, and 
to them were born tv/o daughters, Eva and Addie; died June 8, 1884. 

3. Luther G., born August 7, 1832 ; married ?\Lartha Zimmer- 
man, and to them were born two- children, Emma and Perlie. He now 
resides upon his farm in the town of Brownville. 

4-5. Margaret and Abraham D. (twins) born December 11, 1834. 
Margaret married Henry Witt, and to them were born three children, 
Lambert, Abraham and Almira. She is still living upon the old Witt 
homestead in the town of Brownville. 

Abraham D. Sternberg was educated in the common and select 



866 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

schools of the toAvn, at the Jefferson Count}^ Institute, and at the State 
Normal School in Albany. He taught school in W'atertown for a 
number cf years. He studied law with the firm of Brown & Beach, 
was admitted to the bar, and practiced law in Watertown. In politics 
he was a Democrat, and was often engaged to speak at political meet- 
ings in ihe county. He was an interesting speaker, of fine personal 
figure and commanding address. He assisted in recruiting the One 
Hundred and Eighty-sixth Regiment New York Volunteers for service 
in the war of the rebellion, of which regiment he was appointed major. 
He was nominated for sheriff of Jefferson county upon the Democratic 
ticket in 1887. The Republican majority on the state ticket that }'ear 
was 1.346, yet ]\,Iajor Sternberg was defeated by only eighty-three votes. 
He was a man of great force and energy. Whether he was hoeing a 
row of corn upon his father's fann, engaged in a wrestling match (of 
which lie had many in his younger days), or trying a lawsuit before 
a stupid justice of the peace, he could brook no defeat. He married 
Sarah Smith, April 15, 1889, and to them was born a daughter, Ethel, 
June 20, 1890. He died February 18, 1891. 

6. Elias G., mentioned hereinafter. 

7. Mary, born August 14, 1839: married G. A. Bradner. and to 
them was born one son Braj^ton, who now resides in Syracuse. She 
died February 13, 1858. 

8. Sarah, born July 27, 1842. She taught school a number of 
terms. S!ie married A. L. Grant, and to them was born one son, Alva. 
They novv own and occupy the old Sternberg homestead in the town 
of Brownville. 

Q. .\lmira, born November t, 1847, married Stephen Smith, and 
to tliem were born three children — Sada, Ward and Herman. She died 
in June, 1893. 

Airs. Sterni^erg, the mother of this family, passed away June 6, 
1876, and the death of Mr. Sternberg occurred December 25, 1889. 
Botli are remembered w ith love and gratitude by their children and 
grandchildren, and with sincere affection and respect by those who 
enjoyed their friendship. 

Elias G.. son of Archibald, grandson of Abraham, great-grandson 
of Nicholas, and great-great-grandson of Lambert Sternberg, who came 
from Germany in 1703. was bom May 6, 1837, upon his father's farm, 
where he resided until he was seventeen years old. His opportunities 
to this time for an education were very meagre, the nearest school being 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. S67 

alidiit three miles distant. The years of his ycmth were therefore occu- 
pied in assisting his father to clear the farm of its dense forest, and to 
raise the crops necessary for the supi^irt of a large family. The only 
source for recreation or enjoyment for a boy in those days was in hunt- 
ing or trapping, and his only source of income was the sale of pelts thus 
obtained for the purchase of tra])s and ammunition. An event of his 
youth which is most \i\id in his recollection occurred when he wris 
about twelve years old. While standing upon a platform in his father's 
barn, in the act of gathering eggs, the scaffolding gave awa\' and he 
was precipitated twelve feet upon the bare barn floor. For many hours 
he was unconscious, and for many days in the balance between life and 
death, and it was many months before he regained his usual good 
health and vigor which has served him so well during his eventful life. 
At the age of sc\'enteen he commenced the study ui grammar at the 
Jefferson County Institute in Watertown. He ronmed and btiarded 
himself at the rear of the institution, in a building which was erected 
to accommodate students who were unable to hire their board, and 
whicli was known b}- the very appropriate name of "Pancake Hall." 
He attended school here during the winter terms for about three years, 
working upon his father's farm during the summers. At the age of 
twenty he taught school. At the age of twenty-two he attended the 
State Normal School at Albany for one year of two terms of five months 
each. At the closing exercises of each term he was chosen by the liter- 
ary society of the school to deliver the oration. He taught school for 
a number of years in Watertown -md other towns of the county, during 
which time he took great interest in the proper management and disci- 
pline ot schools, and was a successful teacher. He freciuently lectured 
upon scientific and educational subjects at school picnics and other 
gatherings. He was one of a committee to build a Good Templars" 
hall at Perch River, and he was chosen chief templar for a number of 
terms. He furnished substitutes in the war of the Rebellion for himself, 
his brother Luther and many others. He also assisted his brother 
Abraham D. in recruiting the One Hundred and Eighty-sixth Regi- 
ment, of which h.e was appointed major. About this time he purchased 
a farm of one hundred and forty acres adjoining his father's old home- 
stead, and gave his attention to agriculture. He was one of the first 
to own and operate a haypress in Jefferson county. He purchased large 
ciuantities of hay and grain, which he shipped to the markets in the 
eastern cities. In 1873 he purchased two hundred acres in addition 



868 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

to the farm he already had, making three hundred and forty acres in 
ail. Soon thereafter the law to return to specie payment after the war 
of the Rebellion began to have its depreciating effect upon the market 
value of all kinds of property, and in 1876 occurred his financial failure, 
in which he lost about ten thousand dollars, including fourteen hundred 
dollars of his wife's money. There being no bankrupt law at the time 
by which he could relieve himself from the greed of his creditors, he 
was forced to abandon business and support himself by day's work as 
a common laborer. In 1882, by the aid and assistance of his father, 
he purchased the sawmill property and waterpower in Depauville. 
After a few years of successful management in the manufacture of 
lumber and shingles, he built a cheese-box factory and commenced the 
manufacture of cheese boxes. Jefferson county being noted for its 
manufacture of cheese both in quality and quantity, he was enabled by 
industry and fair dealings, with the assistance of his son, W. Frederick, 
to increase the business from two thousand boxes in 1892 to eighty-five 
thousand boxes in 1903, including both English and limburger boxes. 
They are also engaged in the manufacture of screen doors and windows 
and bob sleighs, as well as domg job work and repairing. They have 
built many dwellings in Depauville for their employees and others, and 
the village owes much of its recent rapid growth to the firm of Stern- 
berg Brothers. 

In politics he has always been an earnest Democrat, but not an 
offensive partisan nor an aspirant to otKce, preferring to know the truth 
and do the right as he saw it, rather than by prevarications to obtain 
the patronage of those who differ with him in their views. He was ex- 
ecutor of his father's will, which was settled to the satisfaction of all 
concerned. 

In October, 1866. ]\Ir. Sternberg married Millie, daughter of John 
H. Zimmerman, of the town of Pamelia. She died in October, 1867. 
He afterward married Lestina S. York, daughter of John O. Spencer, 
of the town of Clayton. To them were born the following children : 

I. Edwin G., born April 20, 1871. He was educated in Depau- 
ville common school and Watertown high school. He taught school m 
Brownville. He was a fine musician, and taught and composed music, 
and organized the Depauville Brass Band, of which he was leader. He 
was a young man of fine abilities, exceptional good habits, and enjoyed 
the good opinion of all who knew him. He was the leading member 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 869 

of the firm of Sternberg Brothers at the time of his death, which occurred 
March 23. 1898, from typhoid fever. 

2. W. Frederick, born June 14, 1872. He is now in business 
with his father. He married Errmine Ea.ston, h(irn February 17, 1880, 
a native of the same town as himself. Tliey had two children : Edwin 
G., born September 16. 1900: and \\\ Frederick, horn September 18, 
1902, died September 30, 1903. 

3. Nehie, born INIarch 13, 1876: married. January. 1900, Dr. B. 
B. Davis, a graduate from the Dental College of Buffalij. New York. 

4. Marcus D., born October 27. 1904. 

Mr. Sternberg, during his entire life, has been a careful and indus- 
trious reader, and has taken a lively interest in the business and political 
afifairs of the country at large. \A'^ith a frank, outspoken manner and 
cordial hospitality, the visitor at hi? home is soon at ease, and in the 
presence of a most interesting host. His portrait appears on an adjoin- 
ing page. 

SPICER GEXE.\LOGY. The Spicers came from England to \'ir- 
ginia in 1635. The first, Edward, probably about twenty-one years of 
age, came in the ship "Safety." He had one son, Silas Spicer. Henry 
came in the ship "David Joe," and William in the ship "Assurance." 
Silas Spicer, great-grandfather of Hon. Heniy and Edward Spicer, 
sketches of whom follow this, was born January 22, 1745. 

Silas Spicer (grandfather) was born in Stonington, Connecticut, 
July 4, 1765. He spent his early years in his native state, engaged in 
farming, and then came to Cooperstown, Oneida county. New York, 
where he died. He married Nanc}- Fish, and the following named nine 
children were born to them: i. Silas F., born February 20. 1792. 
mentioned at length in the following paragraph. 2. Erastus, born 
December 22, 1793, married (second wife) Wealthy Adams: he was a 
minister in the Methodist Episcopal church. 3. Jason, who was killed 
by the fall of a tree. 4. Nancy, married (second) a Davis. 5. Clar- 
rissa, born January, 1806; married in 1829, Melzer Fowler; she died 
November 4, 1842, and left two children — Mrs. Cyrus McCormick, of 
McCormick Reaper fame, and Eldridge M., now a resident of Pasadena, 
California, but for many years vice-president of the McCormick Har- 
vester Company. 6. Lovina. married an Oliver. 7. Jemima, born 
January 29, 1799, married Sweet Allen. 8. Luna, married (first) a 
Carpenter, and (second) a Cooper. 9. ]\Iary, married an Andrews. 



870 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Silas F. Spicer (father) was born in Stonington, Connecticut, Feb- 
ruary JO, 1792. He came with his parents to Oneida county. New 
York, and previous to the year 18 12 located in Sackets Harbor, and 
resided there during the famous battle. After completing a common 
school education he served an apprenticeship at the trade of tanner, 
currier and shoemaker, two branches of the leather trade that usually 
went together in the early days of settling the county. He then came 
to Brownville, New York, and worked for General Loomis for some 
years. He was also actively interested in agricultural pursuits, and, 
being a man of sound judgment and strict integrity, he achieved a large 
degree of success throughout his active career. In 1816 Mr. Spicer took 
up his residence in Perch River, but after a time returned to the village 
of Brownville, where he remained some two ,(.ir three years, and in 1821 
located permanently in Perch River, where he conducted an extensive 
tanning and shoemaking business, making boots for fine trade for many 
years. For a numlier of years he was the incumbent of the office of 
justice of the peace, discharging his various duties with promptness and 
efficiency. He was an honored and consistent member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church, with which Ixnly he united during his residence in 
Brownville, and served as class leader for many years. 

During the famous [Morgan excitement he was known as an "anti- 
]\Iason," antl took a decided ground in the controversy which then 
raged throughout the states. Subsequently and until 1840 he advocated 
the principles uf the Whig party, but in that year became identified 
morally and politically with the abolition ni'Dvement, which was then 
beginning to develop, and whiise principles found in him a prompt and 
determined advocate, he having l)een lirought up in an atmosphere 
which was permeated \Aith the ti'ue spirit of ci\-i] and religious freedom, 
and was one of the instigators of the first abolition organization in the 
trnvn of Brownville, and was the agent of the "Underground Railroad." 
He was steadfast in his allegiance to that party until 1864, when Presi- 
dent Lincoln's emancipation proclamation obviated the necessity of fur- 
ther agitation. Both he and his wife were deeply interested in the tem- 
perance cause, as also in e\ery worthy enterprise and movement, and 
were noted for their hospitality, their home serving as a resting" place 
fur the regular and itinerant preachers of the ^Methodist Episcopal 
denominatiiin. 

On M.arcli 5, 18 15, ^Ir. Spicer was united in marriage to Charlotte 
W'escott, 1 nin July 20, 1707. in Deerfield, Oneida count}-. New York, 



GEXEALOGICAL A\D UAMILY HISTORY. .s71 

and fourteen children were the issue nt this uninn: i. Charlotte. \'et 
li\"ing. was horn in Phiundslield, December 0. 1815. who liecame the 
wife of Hugh Smith, who was Ixjrn in Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
January 27. iSii. a descendant of good old Quaker stock; for many 
years he was the l.nisiness partner of Henry Spicer. his brother-in-law. 
He held the office of jiostmaster of Perch Ri\'er for twentv-one vears, 
and in 1873 was elected to the assembly. He died at his home in Perch 
River, June 15. 1887. age<l seventy-six years His wife bore him fi\e 
children, of whom two dieil in infancy: three daughters are now living — 
Hannah, Sarah and Al.ary. _>. Silas, born January 20, 18 17, died May 
12, 1867; he married Hannah Rouse, and to them were born three chil- 
dren — Helen, deceased : Webster, deceased, and Gilbert. 3. Mercy, 
born April 10, i8iy. died October 13, iSg^); she married Cornelius Van 
Camp, who died in 1859: their six children were: Cornelius, Da\id, 
Herbert, Deelton, Clara, and Jenny Alay. 4. Henry, born October 20,' 
1820, a sketch of whom follows this. 5. Fanny, b(irn August 22, 1823," 
died February 8, 1895: she became the wife of Henry S. Archer. 6. 
Maria, born September 29. 1825, died December 24, 1900; she became 
the wife of John Baxter. 7. Edward (first), bom February 10, 1827, 
died in infancy. 8 and 9. Caroline and Clarrissa, twins, born January 
5, 1830: Caroline died October 29, 1882, the wife of Otis Oconner: and 
Clarrissa died June 30, 1903, wife of James B. Webb, of Oak Park, 
Illinois. 10. Mary, born August 12, 1831. who is now living (1904), 
the wife of I. O. Bouks, of Cbauniount, Xew York. 11. Jane, born 
April 12, 1833, died IMarch 16, 1904; she marrieil Orrin Barns, a promi- 
nent citizen, who died June 29, 1879, and she afterward married Miles 
Crandall, of Oak P'ark, Illinois. 12. Edward ( second ), born November 
23, 1834. 13. Sarah, born Xovember 16, 1836, became the wife of 
Rev. George Calkins. 14. George, born '5\Iay 11, 1839; he enlisted 
in Company A, Thirty-fifth Regiment, New York Volunteers, and was 
killed on the eve of the battle of Antietam, September 16, 1862. These 
children were all afiforded a good common school education, and of the 
nine girls eight were teachers. Mr. Spicer died at his home in Perch 
River. July i, 1865, aged seventy-three years, having passed the allotted 
age of three score years and ten. His wife survived him. passing away 
on August 7, 1882. 

HON. HENRY SPICER. a well known politician and prominent 
business man of Perch Ri\'er. Jefferson countv. New Y<irk, who pos- 
sessed in a marked degree those characteristics which win and retain 



< 



872 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

the esteem and respect of all who know him. and whose influence has 
ever been upon the side of moral and social progress, was born October 
20, 1820, at Brownville, New York, second son of Silas F. and Char- 
lotte (Wescott) Spicer. whose history, together with the genealogy of 
the Spicer family, precedes this narrative. 

He was reared in the town of Perch River, and had the advantage 
of a good English education, Ijeing a pupil in the district schools from 
the age of fourteen to twenty-one, the summer months being devoted 
to working on a farm. Upon attaining his majority he occupied himself 
with teaching in district schools during the winter sessions, and with 
work at his trade of carpenter and joiner during the summers, and he 
built a number of houses in Brownville which are yet standing. For 
eighteen months of the time he worked in Canada. In the fall of 1846 
he entered into partnership with his brother-in-law, Hugh Smith, having 
a large general store at Perch River. Hugh Smith was a member of 
assembly in 1S74, and a prominent Pennsylvania Quaker. The firm of 
Smith & Spicer was well known throughout the northern part of the 
county, being ever a synonym for honesty and fair dealing, and con- 
tinued for eighteen years, or until the retirement of Mr. Spicer in the 
fall of 1864. During these years they conducted a very successful busi- 
ness. After his retirement fnjm this firm Mr. Spicer devoted his atten- 
tion to farming, buying and shipping cattle and the breeding of horses. 
In the last named pursuit he has achieved great success. Among the 
fine animals reared by him was the famous "Gold Dust," which brought 
the large sum of $10,500. In 1870 he began buying, pressing and ship- 
ping hay, handling from 10.000 to 12,000 tons a year for over thirty 
years. In addition to this he has been engaged in various financial 
enterprises, in all of which he achieved a large degree of success and 
won recognition as a prud^t. reliable and sagacious business man. 

He was a member of the supervisors" committee which was formed 
to take action cm the erection of tlie county buildings at Watertown, 
New York. On Decemljer lA. 1860, the committee assembled and re- 
cei\ed plans and specifications and appointed a sub-committee to visit 
tlie several courthouses in the state, or as many as they deemed neces- 
sary, and examine the same, and confer with \\'. N. \Vhite, an architect 
at Syracuse. The sub-committee procured plans and drafts from 'Sir. 
White and reported at a special meeting of the board, January 7, 1861, 
recommending the adoption of White's plans, which placed the cost of 
a new Ijuilding. erected in accordance therewith, at the sum of $2^,000. 



p^ 







/(/^^:. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. s73 

The report of the committee was adopted hy tlie board, and after a 
brisk and animated struggle the present site, corner of Arsenal and 
Benedict streets, in Watertown. was selected, the same being donated 
by the citizens of the city. A loan of $25,ocx) was authorized and made 
from the state at seven per cent, and a contract made with John Hose 
and Joseph Davis to erect the building for $24,000. and W. N. White 
was appointed supervising architect, and the following named super- 
visors a building committee : Joseph Atwell, A. W. Clark, A. C. Mid- 
dleton. C. A. Benjamin. John H. Conklin. Henry Spicer, and Jacob 
Putnam. The building was completed in 1862, at a cost of $23,488.89. 
The entire expense of the courthouse as it now stands is not far from 
$35,000. It is built of brick, with stone trimmings and portico, and 
has an area of about seventy feet front on Arsenal street by 120 feet 
rear on Benedict street. It has two stories, and is provided with a fire- 
proof clerk's ofifice in the rear of the building, and is surmounted with 
a tower in good proportionate dimensions to the balance of the edifice, 
and, with a well-kept lawn (one of the features of Watertown), is an 
ornament to the city and a credit to the county. 

For many years Mr. Spicer was a director of the National Union 
Bank, which w^as organized originalh' as the Union Bank of Watertown, 
and was one of the original directors of the Black River Insurance Com- 
pany, the name of which was Subsequently changed to the Northern 
Insurance Company. Politically Mr. Spicer was a staunch Whig until 
the formation of the Republican party in 1854. since which time he has 
advocated the principles and voted for the candidates of that great 
organization. He was for many years chairman of the Republican 
county committee, and a delegate to a large number of district, county, 
congressional and state conventions, and has an extensive acquaintance 
among the leading politicians of Jefferson county, where his influence 
has been felt to a large extent for over fifty years, an illustration of 
this fact being that although one of the oldest men of the county he 
was elected as a delegate to the congressional convention in 1904, and 
took an active part in the proceedings of that body. He represented 
the town of Brownville as its supervisor four terms. (1858-59-60-69) ; 
was the presidential elector from his congressional district when Gen- 
eral Grant was elected for his second term : and was elected to the 
assembly in 1876. acting as chairman of the committee on internal 
affairs. Mr. Spicer has attended every Re]iul)lican presidential inau- 
guration since President Lincoln's first term, and has \-(^ted fur every 



.ST4 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Repulilican president since Ji)hn C. Fremont, in 1856. for whom he also 
voted. Probal^ly few men in this country and none in northern New 
York have attended so many presidential inaugurations. In 1897 he 
was the only representati\e of JetYerson county present at the inaugura- 
tion of President William jMcKinley, and although eighty-five years 
of age, if alive, will in 1905 attend the inauguration of President Roose- 
velt. At the congressional convention in 1904 he was one of two men 
present mIio had voted for John C. Fremont in 1856. Mr. Spicer is 
a thorough temperance man. and during his term as member of the 
legislature rendered valuable service toward the furtherance of that 
cause. 

September 2, 1848, ]\Ir. Spicer married Delia E. Allen, born in 
Oneida county, New York, daughter of Captain Beriah Allen, he from 
Rome, Oneida county, New York, and Diana (Prior) Allen, of Brown- 
ville. New York. Captain Allen was connected with the state militia, 
served the town for several years as supervisor, was a prominent man, 
and died at the age of seventy-five years. He was a man of irreproach- 
able character, who took an active part in all affairs of his day and time, 
and was highly respected by all who knew him. His wife, Diana (Prior) 
Allen, was born in Rhode Island. She was the mother of three children, 
now deceased, and she died at the age of seven.ty years. Mrs. Spicer, 
who died in 1879. aged fifty-two years, bore her husband the following 
named children : 

1. Fremont W., who was a resident of Dexter, New York, where 
he served as manager of the Frontenac Paper Company. He also for 
four vears represented the foreign business of the International Paper 
Company. Since leaving Dexter he has been extensively engaged in 
the building of pulp mills, representing and interested in a large syndi- 
cate, and at the present time (1904) has a force of five hundred men 
engaged in building a large plant, including a pulp mill, in lower Canada, 
to utilize the wood from spruce forests of a million acres. This plant, 
when completed, will be capable of making two hundred tons of pulp per 
day. He married [Minnie A. Wood, daughter of Oscar M. and Mary 
L. (Easterly) Wood, of Dexter, in 1881, and their children are: i, 
]\Iollie, now twenty-one years of age, a student in Wellesley College, 
class of 1907: IMuriel D., in school in New Jersey; Allen S. 

2. Carrie E., who became the wife of Frank T. Watson, of Rome, 
New York, and died in 1902, aged forty-two years. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. S75 

3. Henrietta, wlio became the wife of Fred E. Wood, a merchant 
of Dexter, and tiiey have one daughter, Deha. 

4. George E., born August 2j. 1861 : he is engaged in the toliacco 
trade in Carthage, New York. He married Agnes Xcjrmander, a daugh- 
ter of Dr. Normander, of Cartilage, and they are the parents of one 
daughter, Edna. 

The daughters of Hon. Henry Spicer were educated at the Chnton 
Liberal Institute, Oneida county, and the sons at the St. Lawrence Uni- 
versity, Canton, New York. 

EDWARD SPICER, a veteran r.f the Civil war, and now actively 
and successfully engaged in agricultural pursuits at Perch River. Jeffer- 
son county. New York, was born Xnvember 23, 1834. 

He spent the early years of his IflFe in his father's shop and on a 
farm, was educated in the comnnin schouls of his native county, and 
for several years after the completion of his studies devoted his atten- 
tion to the vocation of teacher in the winter in the schools of Brownville 
and adjoining towns, and working on a farm in summer. For two years 
from i860 he carried on his father's tannery, and in 1862 began farming 
as a means of livelihood. The following year he joined Company G, 
Tenth Regiment, New York Hea\-y Artillery, and participated in all 
the field service of his company, beginning" at Cold Harbor, and the 
first advance made on Petersburg". Later the regiment was sent to 
Washington city to aid in the repulse of Early's raid upon tlie national 
capital, and subsequently ser\ed under General Sheridan in the Shenan- 
doah Valley, and was in the battle of Cedar Creek. He was then on 
detached service at the head(|uarters of the brigade, and with liis regi- 
ment served on the James River, performing outpost picket dut}" for a 
time. He was honorably discharged in September, 1865, after the close 
of the war. He has in his possession more than a hundred letters writ- 
ten during his service, which contain many items of importance, and 
by their aid and his excellent memory he has assisted materially in 
securing pensions for several of his comrades. 

After his return to his home Air. Spicer taught school during the 
winter season, and made cheese during the summer months, for three 
years, and for many years served in the capacity of secretary and sales- 
man of the Excelsior Cheese Factory. He was one of the original in- 
corporators of the Watertown Produce Exchange, and during his mem- 
bership, was one of its vice-presidents. In February, 1869, he pur- 
chased his present farm near Perch River, New York, which he has 



876 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

since conducted. (le\-oting his entire time and attention to general farm- 
ing and dairying. 

Mr. Spicer is a Republican in politics, has served as justice of the 
peace for a number of years, as supervisor of his town for four years, 
was nominated for the assembly in 189 1, and has acted as delegate to 
many nominating conventions of his party. The interest he has taken 
in agricuhural matters is evinced by the fact that he was chosen the 
first master of the Grange at Perch River. Mr. Spicer takes much 
interest in all Grand Army affairs, and is a member of J. Bradbent Post, 
of Dexter, New York. He holds membership in the Methodist Epis- 
copal church, in which he has served as class leader, trustee, steward, 
and Sunday school superintendent for many years. He has always 
maintained a high position as a citizen, and as a business man has won 
a reputation for integrity and honorable transactions. 

Mr. Spicer married (first) Februar}- 2, i860. Hannah Allison, born 
May 21. 1S36, in Limerick, New York, and one child was born to them 
— Jessie, born in 1867 — who died in 1878, aged eleven years. Mrs. 
Spicer died April 26, 1869. Mr. Spicer married (second) March 15, 
1 87 1, Frances Loucks. born in Manheim, Herkimer county. New York, 
January 8, 1840, daughter of Levi and Nancy (Snell) Loucks. Mr. 
and r^Irs. Spicer's children were: Howard, born October 25, 1875, died 
October 13, 1878; Irene, born December 5, 1880, who became the wife 
of Frederick J. Casler, of Dexter, New York. 

Levi Loucks was born November 18. 1808. in Herkimer county, 
New York, son of George Loucks, also a native of Herkimer county. 
He was reared in Manheim, New York, and followed farming in that 
town. In 1843 lie came to Lafargeville. New York, and there devoted 
his attention to the tilling of the soil until the year of his death, 1886. 
His wife. Nancy (Snell) Loucks. born in 1810. was also a native of 
Herkimer county. New York, and died in the fifty-sixth year of her 
age. She bore him ten children, seven of whom are living at the 
present time "(1904). namely: Romain. born January 22. 1836, mar- 
ried Mary Grey; Mrs. Jane Dorr, of Lafargeville: Frances, aforemen- 
tioned as the wife of Edward Spicer: Walter, born May 18, 1841 ; 
George, born March 29. 1845: ^Irs. L. S. Strough. born September 10, 
1847; Lourette, born November 21. 1851. wife of M. J. Jerome, of 
Lafargeville, New York. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 877 

DON ALONZO D. M. WATSON, of Redwood, Jefferson 
county, New York, who enjoys tlie reputation of being a brave soldier, 
an able and eloquent judge and a public-spirited and exemplary citizen, 
was Ixirn at Evans Mills, New York, March 5, 1835. His peculiar 
name dates back to the eighteenth century, and has been borne bv three 
individuals, one of whom was his father. 

Samuel Watson (grandfather) was born in Connecticut in 1780, 
and with his two brothers — Eli and John — came from his native state 
to New York state, locating in Herkimer county ; later they resided in 
Black River, whence Samuel removed to Watertown. John Watson 
became a member of the medical profession, and conducted his practice 
for many years in Pulaski, New York, where his death occurred. Eli 
Watson went to Nebraska, and reared a large family of children, a 
number of whom are still living. For many years Samuel Watson 
conducted a hotel on the Pamelia side of Black River, and from there 
removed to Cape Vincent, serving in the capacity of street commissioner 
of that town up to the time of his death, which was the result of an 
epileptic fit. He was an expert horseman, and derived much pleasure 
from this exercise. He was a Democrat in politics. He was an active 
participant ni the war of 1812. and assisted at the arsenal in Watertown, 
where he gave out the guns to those who went to the fight at Sacketts 
Harlior. Mr. Watson was married twice. His first wife. Miss Acker, 
was the mother of one son, A. M. His second wife, Miss Shield, was 
the mother of three children, .Samuel, James, and Sarah, who became 
the wife of Judith Ainsworth, of Cape Vincent, now deceased. 

A. M. Watson (father) was born in the vicinity of Herkimer 
county, New York, in 1810. While a resident at Evans Mills, New 
York, he was the incumbent of the office of constable, and later went 
to Watertown and studied law with John Clark. It was customary in 
those early days to be admitted to each court separately, and Mr. 
Watson, of this review, has in his possession the diplomas entitling 
his father to practice in the county, circuit, court of appeals, and 
supreme court of the United States. He was admitted to the bar in 
1837, and in 1840 was a law partner with John F. Hutchinson, at one 
time postmaster at Watertown. Mr. Watson became infatuated with 
Fourierism, and in association with several notable men attempted 
to reduce Fourier's principles to practice. After an unsuccessful 
attempt at Cold Creek, Mr. Watson went to Sodus Bay, in Wayne 
county, where the Fourierites had a second establishment on a farm 



878 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

of eleven hundred acres. He remained there one year, and then re- 
moved to Rociiester. New York, where he resumed the practice of 
law . He also conducted a flour, feed and grocery store, which he estab- 
lished, also a hotel in the same luilding. He was united in marriage to 
Malona M. Martin, born in Washington county. New York, one of a 
family of ten children. Ten children were liorn to 'Sir. and ]\lrs. 
^\■atson, three of whom are living at the present time: Don Alonzo 
D. IM., mentioned in the following paragraph : Albert ;\I., a resident of 
Detroit, Michigan, who is an expert on safe and bank locks ; and Emma, 
wife of George Snell. of Batavia. New York. A. M. Watson died 
suddenly of pneumonia. December 31. 1847, at the early age of less than 
forty years. He was survived by his wife, who was a noble Christian, 
a member of the Presbyterian church during the early years of her life, 
and later affiliated with the Episcopal church : she attained the venerable 
age of eighty-seven years. 

Don Alenzo D. M. Watson spent the most of his early life in 
Watertown. attending school in the old stone schoolhouse at the corner 
of Jay and Sterling streets. By the early death of his father he was 
deprived of a collegiate education, but when twenty years of age he 
commenced attending a school 'at Theresa, New York, conducted by 
W. T. Goodnough, where he had as a fellow-student Orison Lull 
Haddock, the boy orator. He attended this school for several terms, 
in the meantime taking up the study of law with Hon. David Bearup, 
of Theresa, and in order to rqjlenish his finances he taught school. 
His first and second year as teacher were in the school at Ox Bow ; he 
was at Hernman one year, at Theresa one year, had a private school 
one term at Shurtleff, at Theresa a private school one term, and at 
Alexandria Bay one year. During the period of time that elapsed 
between attending the public school and the school of Mr. Goodnough 
lie learned the trade of moulder, at which he worked for six and one-half 
vears. The follownig two and a half years he spent in Wisconsin. He 
settled the claims of his brother. George Watson, in a newspaper printed 
in Marquette. Michigan, northern peninsula. He then returned to 
Theresa, New York, and in 1859 he serx'cd in the capacity of teacher 
in a school there, having under his control one hundred and eighteen 
pupils. In August. 1862. during the second year of the rebellion, he 
enlisted as a private in Company F. Tenth New York Heavy Artillery, 
was i^rcmioted to the rank of commissary sergeant, then first sergeant, 
then to that of lieutenant, and he was recommended for promotion by 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. Mi* 

Major Campbell, on the field, for bravery at Petersburg. Compan_v F, 
under the command of Captain J. F. Vandenberg. was recruited princi- 
pally from the towns of Alexandria and Theresa, was mustered with the 
battalions September ii. 1S62, at Sacketts Harbor; moved with the bat- 
talions to the defense of Washington: and when ordered in acti\e 
service participated in the siege of Petersburg, and tiie operations at 
Bermuda Hundred. They were mustered out of service June 23, 1865. 
At the close of the war Mr. Watson torik up his residence in Red- 
wood and taught school for nine years. Five years of this time he 
taught private school during the fall, and in winter taught public 
school. During this period of time, up to 1874. and in fact since 1856 
he had studied law as opportunity would allow, reading at times with 
Anson Harder. He went tn Watertown as a student in the law office 
of Hubbard & Wright, and in 1868 was admitted to the bar. He was 
at a later day also admitted to practice in the national court.s in South 
Dakota. Since being admitted to the bar he has taught school at 
intervals, and liolds a state certificate. In addition to his practice he 
is pension attorney of Redwood, to which town he returned in 1884, 
and is probably the oldest in point of service of any justice in Jefferson 
county, New York, and also among the oldest school teachers in the 
county. In 1S73 Mr. Watson was elected justice of the peace of the 
town of Alexandria, and has been the incumbent of the office ever since 
with the exception of about five years — three of these years (1881 to 
1884) being spent in Dakota — where he also served in a similar posi- 
tion, and in the year 1884 was a territorial delegate to the Chicago con- 
vention. He has also served three years as school commissioner of the 
third district 01 Jefiferson county, and his labors in behalf of the higher 
elevation of the common school system of the state have been constant 
and efficient. He is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic, and 
for forty-two years has been a member of the Masonic fraternity, being 
affiliated for a number of years with Lodge No. 297, of Alexandria Bay. 
On February 12. 1862. Mr. \Vatson married Julia Haskill. born in 
Vermont, daughter of Thomas Haskill. who came as a pioneer from 
\'ermont to Xew York state. Two children were the issue of this 
union, both of whom are now deceased. Mrs. Watson died June 30. 
1866. Fie married for his second wife. December 26. 1867. Nancy 
Cosgrove, born in Alexandria Bay. a daughter of James and ]Mary 
Cosgrove. the former named ha\-ing come to Redwood in 183 1. and 
remained there untd his death at the advanced age of eighty-fnur years. 



880 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

and the latter named attained the extreme old age of eighty-seven years. 
Mr. and Mrs. Watson are the parents of two children : John G., an 
electrician and competent mechanic; he married Carrie Border, and 
one child is the issue of this union — Don F. Watson. Arthur M., who 
is engaged as a steam shovel engineer in Canada; he married and 
has two children, De Etta and Garret Arthur. 

LOLOXEL ELIAS SAGE, for many years a successful 
farmer of the town of Champion, passed away at his home in 
the southern part of that town, August 25, 1884. He came of a long 
line of honorable American ancestry, established for several generations 
in iNliddlcsex county. Connecticut, where many creditable representatives 
are now found. The name is of Norman origin, and originated in the 
wise man or historian of a tribe. It is first found in the Battle Abbey 
Roll made by William the Conqueror after the battle of Hastings in 
1066, when he divided the lands of England among his followers. 

1. The name is first found in America at Middletown, Connec- 
ticut, where David Sage settled in 1650-52, coming from Wales, accom- 
panied by his mother. Elizabeth, then a widow and having resumed her 
maiden name of Randall. She married John Ivirby in 1652, and 
again resumed her maiden name after his death, as shown by land con- 
veyances. David Sage was born in 1639, and died in 1703, leaving four 
sons, namely: David, born 1665: John, 1668; Timothy, 1678; and 
Jonathan. 1680. The first left no family. 

2. John Sage, son of David, born 1668, died 1 750-1. He had six 
sons and one daughter — John, David, Benoni, Nathaniel, Ebenezer, 
Comfort and Gideon. 

3. Nathaniel, fourth son of John Sage, was born in 1707, and had 
three sons— Samuel, Jedediah and Nathaniel. 

4. Samuel, eldest son of Nathaniel Sage, was born in 1730, and 
had three sons, namely: Enos, born 1757; Elias, 1759; Samuel, 1763. 

5. Elias, second son of Samuel Sage, born 1759, had eight sons and 
four daughters, namely: Martin, born 1784; Roswell, 1786; Bernard, 
1788; Harvey. 1794; Elias, 1799 (Mrs. Woolworth's father); Norton, 
1804; Wesley, 1806; William D. L. F., 1809; Sally, 1782; Hannah, 
1790; Elizabeth, 1796; and Rhoda, 1800. 

6. Elias, son of Elias Sage (5), was lx)rn February 27, 1799, in 
Sandisfield, Berkshire county, Massachusetts, and was one year old 
when his parents moved to Lewis county, in this state. His schooling 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 881 

was limited tn tliat furnished by the crude district schools of the fron- 
tier, from which he "graduated" at the early age of sixteen years, but 
he was possessed of the hard sense of the Xew England Yankee, and 
supplemented by reading and observation the knowledge obtained in his 
youth. At the age of sixteen he began an apprenticeship to the trade of 
carpenter, which ended un his arrival at his majority. Equipped with 
sound health, an ambitious mind and a thorough knowledge of his 
trade, he set out to earn his fortune, in which he was eminently success- 
ful. His preceptor lived in Champion, and his home continued in that 
town from the beginning of his apprenticeship. As soon as he was his 
own master he began taking jobs of building, and succeeded from the 
first. His earnmgs were prudently hoarded and invested, his first land 
purchase being made when he was twenty-four years old. To this he 
gradually added, and he became in time one of the largest landed pro- 
prietors in the town, owning over one hundred acres. After following 
carpenter work for nearly two-score years he settled upijn his land, and 
continued its cultivation the remainder of his days, achie\-ing the same 
success which had attended his earlier efforts. His home, built over 
eighty years ago, was one of the handsomest in location and general 
character to be found in the county. It is now occupied by his daugh- 
ter, Mrs. Seymour A. Woolworth (see sketch of Woolworth), and re- 
tains its desirability in every way, being the abode of cultivated taste and 
generous hospitality. Air. Sage himself did most of the interior work 
on the house. 

\\'hen a young man JMr. Sage joined the militia as a corporal in 
the Fourteenth New York Cavalry, was soon promoted to sergeant, and 
so on through the several gradations until he was colonel in command, 
so continuing three years. He was a Whig in early life, and was among 
the first supporters of the Republican party, to which he continued to give 
allegiance. With an intelligent interest in public affairs, he might have 
had many official positions, but steadfastly refused to be a candidate. 
He was a member of the Congregational church of Champion from 1846 
to the- time of his death, and was many years one of its trustees. 

Colonel Sage was first married January 7, 1827, to I\Iiss Hannah 
White, of Rutland, who died October 25, 1844. In the city of Troy, 
New York, on January 18, 1847, ^^r. Sage married (second) Emily 
O. Rundall, who bore him three children, of whom two survive. They 
are: Martha J., wife of S. A. Woolworth, and Emily G., now Mrs. 
Chauncey Looniis, residing in Copenhagen, Lewis county, not far from 
her birthplace. Mrs. Woolworth's mother died December 28, i8g6. 



882 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

LOOMIS. The Loomis family is a most numerous one in America 
and has many representatives in every state and territory. Its members 
have been characterized by industry, thrift and sobriety, and those estab- 
lished in Jefferson county have lieen reckoned among its best citizens. 

( I ) The first in this country was Josejih Loomis. a woolen draper 
of Braintree county of Essex, England, who was born in the latter part 
of the sixteenth century. He sailed from England. April ii, 1638, on 
the ship Susan and Ellen, and arri\'ed at Boston July 17. following. 
The records show that he purchased a piece of land in Windsor, Con- 
necticut, February 24, 1640, and he must have settled in that town on or 
previous to that date. His wife died August 23. 1652. and he died 
November 25, 165S. They had five sons and three daughters. 

ill) Joseph, son of Joseph Loomis (i), born in England, mar- 
ried (first) Sarah Hill, September 17, 1646, and she died August 27,, 
1653. He married ]\Iary Chauncey, June 2S. 1659. He was made a 
freeman in 1(^)54, and died June 26, iCx^y. 

(HI) James, sixth son of Joseph Loomis (2) and fourth son 
and fifth cliild of his second wife, was born October 31, 1669, in ^^'ind- 
sor, and settled in Bolton, same colony. In 1696 he married ]\Iindwell 

■ , wliii dierl ]\Iarch i, I73''i, in her sixty-fifth year. He died 

in Bolton December 29. 1750. 

( IV) Xatlianiel, son of James and IMindwell Loomis, born Feb- 
ruary 15. 1712, married Sarah Ryley November 11. 1742, and resided 
in Coventry, Connecticut. L^p to this time this line of the family had 
been moving eastward from the original location. As the first settle- 
ments of the colony were planted in the Connecticut river valley, these 
movements were proliably made into newer and unsettled districts, Init 
in Nathaniel's day the country was pretty well taken up. and from this 
time onward the people of the New England coast colonies are found 
to ha\-e mo\ed on to possess unsettled portions of the continent. 

(\ ) Jonathan, son of Nathaniel and Sarah Loomis. was born in 
1753. presumably in Coventry, and he was among those who penetrated 
westward in search of a home. For a time be was located at Pittsfield. 
Massachusetts, whence he came to Champion, this county, in 1804. He 
had served as a soldier in the Revolutionary army, and participated in 
the battle of Bunker Hill. He married (first) ^lartha Blackman, and 
(second) a ]\Irs. Pelton, and died in Champion December 12, 1832. in 
his eightieth year. He lirougbt six sons to Champion, five of whom 
settled here and reared families. Eljer. the eldest, exchanged his Cham- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 883 

l)ion prupertv fnr land at LaGrange. (Jliin, whither he moved ami there 
passed the rest of his davs. Samuel, John and Al\in are mentioned at 
length in following paragraphs. Anna and Patty went tn Oliin. where 
they married and died. Otis, mentioned at length elsewhere, died No- 
vember 21, 1868, and Horace died in Champion July 7, 1S80. 

(VI) Samuel, second son of Jonathan Loomis. was horn Decem- 
ber 22, 1780, in Pittsfield. Massachusetts, and lived for a time at Ben- 
nington, Vermont, where he was married to Sally Sanders, who was 
horn in that town May 5, 1785. He joined his father in Champion, 
where he engaged in farming the balance of his life. \\'hile crossing 
a creek on a load of hav. Fehrnar^' 2'^, 1843, the Iciad was capsized into 
the creek and he was drowned beneath the load. He was a very quiet 
man, intelligent and well informed, lieing stutlious of the current liter- 
ature, and was a faithful member of the Methodist church at Chami:)ion. 
Of his five children, one died in infancy. Corinna, the first, liorn in 
December. 1807. married Hiram Lanphear. of ^^'ilna (see H. K. Lan- 
phear). After the death of Hiram Lanphear bis widow married Will- 
iam Bassett. of Denmark, and she died April 30, 1883, in Carthage. 
Samantha married Abraham Smith, whom she sur\-ived o\-er fortv-four 
years, dying in Carthage (see N. W. Lanphear). Sarali M., born IMay 
30. 1815, died September 14, 1844. unmarried. Steel Warren, born 
September 22, 1817, married Martha N)'e, and succeerled to the paternal 
farm, on which he died June i, 1848. He left a daughter. Elizabeth, 
who marrietl Fred Salter, and was soon left a widow, ]Mr. Salter's death 
being caused by the cars, in Carthage. His widow now resides in 
Natural Bridge, with her unmarried daughter, Rachel B. 

(VI) John, third son of Jonathan Loomis, was born October 29, 
1782, in Pittsfield. Massachusetts, and died October 12, 1867. in Cham- 
pion. He was married December 5, 1805, to Achsah Turner, who was 
born August 5, 1781. in Windham, Connecticut, and died May 23, 1859. 
in Champion, Immediately after his marriage Mr. Loomis settled near 
the head of Pleasant Lake, in Champion, where he purchased one hun- 
dred acres of land. To this he subsequently added thirty-six acres by 
purchase, and was a thrifty farmer, respected by his townsmen. Both 
he and his wife were members of the Methodist church at Champion. 
He was a Democrat in early life, and became a Republican when the 
latter party was formed. 

John and Achsah Loomis were the [larents of eight children. The 
first, Alphonse, Iiorn August 29, i8ci8, was a farmer a short distance 



884 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

south of his father, where he died. Hannah, born ilarch 22, 18 10, mar- 
ried Levi Warren and Hved in Champion, where she died. BeHnda, 
April II, 1812, became the wife of Joab Miller, and lived and died in 
Champion. Alvira, February 28, 1814, married (first) Tracy Carter, 
second, a man named Boomer, and third ]\Ir. Taylor, and died in Ellis- 
burg. John Wilson, born January 19, 1S15, married Sarah Potter, and 
died October 19, 1849. Rufus, born January 21, 1818, is a farmer 
upon his father's homestead, to which he has added. Huldah, May 7, 
1820, died October 6, 1843. Achsah. April 6, 1823, died when eleven 
years old. 

(YII) Alphonso Loomis was bom in the town of Champion, Jef- 
ferson county. New York, August 29, 1808, and was the eldest son of 
John Loomis. The first record of the family in America is that Joseph 
Loomis came from Braintree, Essex county, England, and settled at 
Windsor, Connecticut, in 1638, where many of his descendants still 
reside. John Loomis came from Connecticut and settled in Champion 
during the earliest settlement of the county. Alphonso made his home 
with his father until he was about thirty years of age, although he had 
previously purchased for himself a farm. On the 21st of March, 1838, 
he united in marriage with Lucinda Carter, and immediately afterwards 
removed to the farm where he lived during the remainder of his life, 
and where his estimable widow now resides. He died there on the 15th 
of December, 1875, leaving a wife and two children to mourn his loss. 
They had three children, namely: Selinda C, wife of Egbert S. Flint; 
Sanford C, deceased; Mary L., wife of Wayne A. Humphrey. 

Li politics Mr. Loomis was an outspoken Republican. In religion 
a sincere and devoted member of the Congregational church at Cham- 
pion, to which he was united more than thirty years ago. He was an 
honest man, a kind and accommodating neighbor, an affectionate hus- 
band and indulgent father, and a Christian gentleman. Lucinda Carter, 
widow of the above, was born November 22, 1812. Her father, Asa 
Carter, came from Connecticut and settled in Jefferson county about the 
year 1800. Her mother was a native of Massachusetts. She lived at 
home until her marriage with Mr. Loomis. She is now in her sixty-fifth 
year, is quite active and enjoys good health. She has been a member 
of the Congregational church for more than half a century. In her do- 
mestic relations she has ever been a kind mother, a true and dutiful wife, 
and an admirable housekeeper. 

(VI) Alvin, fourth child of Jonathan Loomis, was born July 28, 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORi. S85 

1783, in Pittsfield, ^Massachusetts, and was about at his majority when 
he came to Champion with his fatlier. He married Nancy Waite April 
13, 1809, and settled down to farming in that town, where he died 
April ig, 1858. Both he and his wife were members of the Methodist 
church at Champion village. Of kind and genial nature, he reared a 
large family to become good citizens and was himself a most hospitable 
and useful member of society. Alvin's children are accminted for as 
follows : Laura, the first, died at the age of twenty-two years. Pbilane\' 
married Hublianl Sprague, and subsequently Amos CuKin, and li\-ed 
and died in Champion. Fiana, wife of Charles Hubl)ard, born Feliruarv 
28, 1815, died in Champion, in Janu;u"y, IQ02. Charlotte, widow of 
Stoel Warner, resides in \^'est Carthage, being in her ninetieth year. 
Manley is mentioned hereinafter. Henry A. died at the age of fourteen 
3'ears. Israel Hammond lived and died in Champion, and John B. is 
now a resident of Rochester, this state, being eighty years of age. Hiram 
A. is a resident of Champion, where Samuel, William and Clark died. 

(VI) Otis Loiimis. seventh child and fifth sr)n of Jonathan 
Loomis, was born March 7, 1790, in Pittsfield, Massachusetts, and was 
fourteen years old when his father moved to Champion. He received 
a fair educatiou fur those davs and was apprenticed at an early age to 
learn the tanner's and shoemaker's trade (in those days combined), with 
his elder brother, Eber Loomis. About the time of his marriage he 
bought land of Champion, the original owner of the town, and began 
farming. The deed to the first fifty acres, lying west of the road, bears 
date of October 10, 1825. Here he built a log house and a part of the 
present barns. By subsequent purchase he acquired a total of one hun- 
dred and eighteen acres, and in 1833 he built the large stone house on 
the west side of the highway, which still shelters his descendants, and 
is one of the creditable landmarks of the town. Here he was a most 
genial host, honored and respected bv all who knew him, and here his 
son crmtinues the kind hospitality taught him by example. Mr. Loomis 
attended the Methodist church, and was a member of the Masonic lodge 
at Champion village, now extinct. In early life he was a Democrat, 
but became a Republican upon the organization of the party, being a 
stern opponent of slavery and oppression. He served his town several 
years as assessor and also as supervisor. He was married September 
26, 181 1, to Rachel Harris, born August 9, 1794. in Schenectady county, 
a daughter of Asa and Rachel Harris, early settlers of Champi(^n. Mr. 
and Mrs. Loomis were the parents of six sons and five tlaughters. 



8»6 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Chauncey, the eldest. lived some years in Whiteside coiintv, lihnois, 
and died in California August 2, 1853. Leonard lived and died in 
Rutland, this county. Charles resides in Denmark, the Lewis county 
town adjoining Champion. Asa lived in Illinois and California, and 
died in Champion. Egbert lived many years in Troy, New York, and 
passed his last days in Champion, Harriet is the widow of William 
Clark, now residing in Denmark; Marietta, widow of John Wright, 
resides at Colorado Junction, Colorado. Sylvester is mentioned more 
fully in this sketch. Almira died at the age of sixteen years, and Martha 
when a young lady. Rachel is the wife of Chester Carter, of Hannibal, 
Missouri, 

(VI) Horace, sixth son and youngest child of Jonathan and Mar- 
tha (Blackman) Loomis, was born IMay 27,. 1794. in Pittsfield, Massa- 
chusetts, and was ten years of age when he accompanied his parents to 
Champion. He attended the district schools, and grew up on the farm, 
imbibing unconsciously a knowledge of agriculture and the spirit of 
-American institutions. About 1825 he Ijought land east of Champion 
village, on which he erected a log house. His first purchase included 
fifty acres, to which he subsequently added eighteen by purchase. He 
was an intelligent and successful farmer, and respected by his neighbors. 
In 1841 he erected the frame house, on the opposite side of the road 
from the first log house, and now occupied liy his son, Clark Loomis. 
The latter has added buildings and land, the farm now covering one 
hundred and twenty acres. Mr. Loomis did not enjoy rugged health 
after he w;is fifty years old, and his life was a very quiet one. Though 
nut on the membership roll of any religious organization, he was a 
strictly moral and upright man, and attended the Methodist church, 
of which his wife was a member. In earlv life a Democrat, he was 
a supporter of the Reiniljlican party from its organization. He was 
interested in e<lucati()n, and his infiuence was used in support of good 
••.chools. 

His wife, Fanny Flarris, daughter of Asa and Rachel Harris (see 
Harris), was born February 14, 1796, in Brattleboro, Vermont, and 
died July 7, 1872, in Champion. Mr. Loomis died July 7, 1880. Their 
family included seven sons, accounted for as follows: Eber lived and 
died in W'ilna. .Vshley receives extended menti(in below. Lewis lived 
and dieil at Lyndon\ille. Orleans cmmty. this state, b'osket is a resi- 
dent of Portland, Oregon. Ward lives at Craig, Nebraska. Wesley, 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. bs7 

formerly a farmer at Cincinnati, luwa, miw li\es retired at Chillicotlie, 
jMissouri. Clark resides on the paternal homestead, in Champion. 

(VII) Sylvester Locimis, sixth son and eighth child of Otis and 
Rachel Loomis, was burn September 15. 1829, on the farm where he 
now resides, in Champion, which has ever been his h(ime. His primary 
education was supplied by the district school of the neighborhood, whose 
opportunities he utilized fully, and subsequently attended Bush's Acad- 
emy at Carthage, where Jere Coughlin, editor of the Watertown Herald, 
was a classmate. At the age of twenty he left the classroom to take 
up the arduous lalnirs of the farm, which was nijt wholly unknown to 
him at that time, as he was early intniduced to the habits of industry 
and thrift brought to tliis location by his New England ancestors. 

In 1850 he took charge of the home farm and ever after cultivated 
it and cared f(Tr his ]3arents when age caused them to need a filial care, 
and the farm became bis by will. For many years it has been devoted 
to dairying, maintaining usually sixteen cow-s. Mr. Loomis attends the 
Methodist church, and is a member of Champion Grange, in which he 
has filled most of the offices, having been master several years. Though 
an intelligent and well informed man, he prefers the quiet of domestic 
life to the thankless task of administering public affairs, and has thus 
far escaped the responsibilities of political office. He is a conscientious 
Republican in principle. One of bis most creditalile acts was the set- 
ting of maple trees along both sides of the highway running through 
his farm, which now^ aft'ord ample shade t() the wayfarer and make beau- 
tiful the drive along bis premises. 

He was married February 11. 1S57, to Miss Amelia Freeman, wdiO' 
was born in Wilna, daughter of Erastus Freeman and Abi Strickland, 
natives, respectively, of Wilna and Philadelphia. New York. Her grand- 
father. Colonel Alfred Freeman, was a pioneer settler of Wilna, a 
militia officer, who built the "Checkered House," a hotel which served 
many years as one of the landmarks of the tiiwn. Three of the children 
of Mr. and Mrs. Loomis sur\'i\e. Erastus, the first born, died before 
three years old. The second child was Ralph Clarence. Emma died 
December 15, 1891. near Gouverneur. Iieing the wife of Frank Parks, 
aged twenty-nine years. Frances is the wife of Sanford Rice, of West 
Carthage. Asa was a cheesemaker, and died at home, aged twentv- 
seven. Rachel married Arthur Woolwortb, now a merchant residing 
in :\Iuskegon, Michigan. Florence S. is the wife of Evan H. Clemons. 



888 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

The children were educated in district sciiool and the high school at 
Carthage. Emma taught some years in Champion. 

(VII) Manley, fifth child and eldest son of Alvin and Nancy 
Loomis, was born September 7, 18 17, in Champion, and learned the 
blacksmith's trade at Albany. New York, which he followed through 
life. In 1839 he married Rachel Baldwin, who was born July 6, 182 1, 
in Canaan, Connecticut, daughter of Sylvester and Candace (Ives) 
Baldwin. Her parents settled on a farm near Chenango Forks, this 
state. Of their thirteen children all lived until after the first was fifty 
years old, and two are now living. Mrs. Loomis was the fifth. 

In October, 1841, Manley Loomis took up his residence in Carth- 
age, and thereafter made his home on Spring street in that village, 
where he built a house. During the Civil war he erected a brick house 
on that street, which is now the home of his daughter. He did a large 
business in building carriages and all kinds of vehicles, and was a pros- 
perous business man of his day. Industrious and energetic during busi- 
ness hours, he spent much time in reading and was a progressive thinker, 
always in advance of the times. He was an unflinching abolitionist in 
the days when such a position invited contumely, and promptly joined 
the Republican party upon its organization. Of radical opinions and 
outspoken in their expression, he was never popular politically, but that 
did not annoy him. as he desired no official position. He was firm in 
support of prohibition and never wavered in his efforts to bring about 
the abolition of the licjunr traffic. His religious faith was represented 
by the Disciples' church, whose local society he assisted. He died Jan- 
uary 9, 1896, and was survived by his wife until December i, 1902. 
They were the parents of five children, deorge I., the eldest, served 
three years as a sildier in the Ci\il war, whereby his life was shortened, 
and died in Carthage, September 5, 1894. Stoel ^^'. is further men- 
tioned on another page. Laura A. resides in Carthage. Lecelia, wife 
of Franklin Eugene \A"illes, is in Evansville, Indiana, and Jay A., the 
youngest, lives on \\'ater street. Chicago. On July 3. 1889, Mr. and 
Mrs. Loomis celeljrated the fiftieth anniversary of their wedding, amid a 
large company of relatives and appreciative friends. 

(VII) Ashlev Lu(,mis. second son of Horace and Fanny (Har- 
ris) Loomis, was I)orn July 15. 1821, in Champion, and remained on the 
home farm until twenty-four years of age. He received a fair educa- 
tion at the local school and academy, and subsequently attended an 
academy at Evans Mills. At the age of twenty years he began teaching 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 889 

winter school and was thus employed in his native town and in Har- 
risville, Lewis county. In 1845 he went to Felts Mills, and operated 
a blacksmith shop there. He seemed to have the Yankee gift of turning 
his hand to various occupations, for we find him later in Henderson, 
superintending the manufacture of cheese from sixty cows" milk. He 
became an expert in cheese-making, and was employed two years at 
Dickinson's landing, Canada, in teaching farmers the art. He was sub- 
sequently engaged for five years in blacksmithing at Felts Mills. He re- 
moved to Carthage in 1854. and purchased a sawmill and built a tannery, 
in partnership with his cousin Israel H. Loomis and with Orlin Hol- 
comb. After two years I. H. Loomis sold out to his partners, who con- 
tinued the business until 1869. In that j^ear Ashley Loomis went to 
Hannibal, Missouri, where he was a dealer in coal until his death, 
January 6, 1897. His body was brought to Carthage for burial. Mr. 
Loomis was a lifelong member of the Methodist church, in which he 
was active and influential. He often filled several official stations in 
the church, being trustee, steward, class leader and superintendent of 
the Sunda3'-school. Being a foe to sla\-ery and all forms of wrong 
and oppression, he was one of the first to advocate the suppression of 
sla^'ery in his country, and was a staunch supporter of the Republican 
party from its inception, but did not desire any official honors. 

Mr. Loomis was married May 2, 1844, to Harriet Francis, a native 
of Champion, born March 29, 1826. daughter of one of the pioneer 
settlers of that town. Two children were born to this couple, Louise 
Harriet and Horace Ashley. The former is the wife of Duane Dun- 
ham, of Antrim, New Hampshire. A sketch of the latter appears here- 
inafter. 

(VIII) STOEL WARNER LOOMIS, a veteran of the Civil 
war and an intelligent and useful citizen of Carthage, is carrying 
forward the industry planted by his father, Manley Loomis (mentioned 
at length on another page), and in which he was associated many years 
before- the retirement of the father. He was born September 2, 1841, 
in the village of Champion, where his great-grandfather was a pioneer, 
and was an infant in arms when his parents settled in Carthage. Here 
he grew up, receiving some mental discipline in the public school and 
Bush's Academy. Always slender, he was not fitted for a laborious 
occupation, but he inherited his father's ambition, and entered the shop 
at the age of sixteen years. He became a wnodwinker. and alsiT did 
painting and carriage trimming, becoming a \-ery useful man in the 



690 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

business. In a country carriage sliop. where joblDing forms the larger 
portion of the ijusiness. his \ersatility is especially desirable. 

September 24, 1861, before he was twenty years old, young Loomis 
enrolled his name among the defenders of the national integrity, and 
served three years, chiefly in the Army of the Potomac, in doing garri- 
son duty in the defenses before Washington. He was a member of 
Company H, Second New York Artillery, so-called, but the regiment 
was never equipped and w-as utilized as infantry throughout its service. 
It w-as sent out to take part in the second battle of Bull Run, and cov- 
ered the retreat, in guard of wounded, after that disastrous meeting with 
"Stonewall" Jackson. While on this service, five companies, including 
Air. Lo(imis', were on continuous duty for three days, while the wounded 
were being moved, and he fell down, exhausted, in the woods as soon 
as relieved from duty. There he slept all night, without a guard, and 
returned to the fortifications in the morning. Going out as a corporal, 
j\Ir. Loomis returned as sergeant. When urged to take an examination 
for a commission, he replied that he had no ambition for a higher office. 
On account of his superior penmanship he was assistant to the orderly 
sergeant a year before his promotion from corporal. He was a student 
of the regulations, and was employed much of the time in drilling raw 
recruits sent to reinforce the garrisons. At one time, while officer of 
the guard, he was placetl under arrest for alleged failure in duty, but 
he showed that he had strictly carried out the regulations, and his pro- 
motion to sergeant foll(3wed immediately. While strict in living up 
to the letter of the military law, he never had any trouble with those 
in his charge. In 1864 he was detailed as clerk of the general court 
martial, and so serxed during the trial of ninety cases at Fort Whipple. 
He was discharged October 13, 1864, refusing to re-enlist because he 
had been deceived and compelled to serve as an infantryman, after 
enlisting as an artilleryman. 

Returning to Carthage. Mr. Loomis soon opened a grocery store, 
which he conducted twelve years, and then joined his father, whose ad- 
vancing years made the assistance of the son desirable. Together they 
conducted the carriage and wagon making until death closed the career 
of the senior. At ].)resent he is doing a successful business in jobbing, 
and built twenty-si.x wagons in 1902. an output which might be easily 
increased but for the unsettled condition of the labor market. 

Mr. Loomis is fond of his home, and spends little time elsewhere 
outside I if business hours. For the last thirtv vears he has resided in 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. «91 

the house which he erected on Liberty street, West Carthage. He is 
a reader and keeps abreast of the thought of the day, and is a most 
agreeable conversationaHst. He has never used tobacco, and is a worthy 
example for the youth of the land. 

He was married November 26, 1872, to Ellen L. Frink, who died 
January 27, 1875, aged thirty-one years. September 8, 1875, Mr. Loo- 
mis was married to Ellen I. Stark, who was bom October 3, 1849, ■''' 
Champion, a daughter of Allen Newell and Angeline (Clark) Stark. 
The only child of Mr. and j\Irs. S. \V. Loomis, Marion, Ixirn April 7, 
1880, is the wife of Albert Parker, and mother of Carlyon Parker, born 
March 22, 1903. residing in \\'est Carthage. 

( VHl) Horace Ashley Loomis, D. D. S., son of Ashley and Har- 
riet (Frances) Loomis, was born in Carthage, New York. He was 
educated at an academy at Malone, at Ives Seminary, Antwerp, New 
York, and by private tutors. He is a student, an intelligent reader, and 
is among the well informed and useful citizens of his time. He pursued 
his professional studies at the Philadelphia Dental College, of Philadel- 
phia. Pennsylvania, and kept uji a course (jf study at the same time in 
a school of rhetoric and oratory in that city. He graduated in dentistry 
in 1883, and immediately began practice at Hannibal, Missouri. 

In 1885 Dr. Loomis located in New- York, and has long enjoyed 
the clientage of manv of the liest people of that city, having his office 
in the vicinity of Fifth avenue and Thirty-fifth street. For the last 
thirteen years he has been located on Thirty-seventh street, not far from 
Fifth avenue. His success as a practitioner is testified in more ways 
than one. \\'hile the financial returns have been flattering, he has at- 
taineil a commanding position among his professional brethren. He 
is a member of the Odontological Society of New York, and is fre- 
quentlv called upon tn prepare and read papers on dental science by 
societies with which he holds no membership. In 1904 he was invited 
to appear before the Dental Society of London, England, but declined to 
go abroad. Dr. Loomis has always been industrious in application, and 
his success has been truly earned. He is a charming conversationalist, 
and his subjects of discussion are not limited to those appertaining to 
his professional labors. Like all of his blood, he is independent in thought 
and action. He attends Saint Bartholomew's (Protestant Episcopal) 
church, and sustains Republican principles, but is not allied with any 
organizations, other than the scientific one mentioned. 

WILBUR HARVEY LOOMIS, a farmer of South Champion, is 



892 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

a descendant of Joseph Loomis. who came from England in 1638, the 
line being separate, after the first generation, from tliat of otliers of the 
same name in the town, elsewhere mentioned. 

(II) Deacon John Loomis, fourth child of Joseph, was born in 
England in 1622. He was admitted to the church at Windsor, Con- 
necticut. October 11. 1640, and married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas 
Scott, of Hartford, Februar}- 3. 16-J8-9. He was granted a plantation 
of forty acres May 3. 1643. From 1652 to 1660 he lived in Farmington. 
and returned to Windsor, where he was long a deacon in the church. 
He was deputy to the general court in 1666-7. 'ind again from 1675 to 
1687. He died September i, 1688. at his mansion in Windsor. His 
will, dated August 27. 1688, is signed "John Loomys." and mentions 
land lying on both sides of the Connecticut river. 

(III) Sergeant Daniel Loomis. son of John and Elizabeth, was 
born June 16. 1657. in Farmington. Connecticut. His first wife. Mary, 
daughter of Josiah Ellsworth, was born May 7. 1660. and died before 
1713. July 9. 1713. he married widow Hannah Drake. He died June 
25. 1740. 

(IV) Benjamin, son of Daniel and Mary (Ellsworth) Loomis, 
was born February 7. 1698-9, and died January 2. 1763. He was mar- 
ried December 9, 1725. to Joanna Alford. who was born ]\Iarch i. 1701. 

(V) Serajah. son of Benjamin Loomis. was born December 4. 
1740, and died in 181 1. in Windsor. He married Sybil Loomis October 
21, 1760. 

(VI) Horace, son of Serajah Loomis. was born August 4, 1774, 
in Windsor. He was among the early settlers in Champion, New York, 
where he died January 3. 1827. He married L^rsula Cook, April 22, 
1800. She died June 4, 1815, aged thirty-six years and one month. 
His second wife, Hannah Hine. died August 13. 1824. aged fortA^-four 
years. He did not long survive the third marriage, but his widow. Amy 
(born Clark), lived until 1848. Headstones mark the graves of him- 
self and first wife, in the field on his farm opposite the house. 

(VII) Harx'ey Loomis. son of Horace and L'rsula Loomis. was 
born in 18 15, and his mother's death followed in a few days. He was 
less than twelve years old when his father died, and he was early com- 
pelled to rely upon himself. He had a limited district school education 
rmd when still young worked as a laborer upon farms. For a few years 
he worked at cabinet-making at Smithville. and lived for a time in the 
town of Denmark, Lewis countv. In earlv life he bought out the other 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. S93 

heirs to his father"? estate, and continued the balance of his life to own 
and till it. There \\ere originally one hnndred fifty acres, and he sold 
a part and added more, making one hundred eighty acres at the time 
of his death, May lo, 1887. In his later years this was chiefly devoted 
to dairy farming. ' He was a Whig in early life, and became a Repub- 
lican on the organization of the party, but never desired any official 
honors. He was devoted to his farm and his family and pre- 
ferred domestic quiet. In his last years he was a sincere believer in 
Spiritualistic doctrines. 

He married Laura Ann Herrick, who was born March 26, 1831, 
in the town of LeRay, daughter of Frederick Herrick, of that town. 
She died October 3, 1903. Like her husband, she was a Spiritualist. 
They had three children, Ervin, Flora and Wilbur Harvey. The eldest 
resides at Elkton, Minnesota, and the daughter died on the home farm, 
being the wife of Charles Clark. 

(VIII) Wilbur H. Loomis was born January 31, 1849, on the 
farm where he now lives, in the southern part of the town of Chatnpion, 
and where he has always lived. He attended the common school of the 
district, and early began to aid in the cultivation of the farm, which he 
purchased upon his father's death. On account of the scarcity of farm 
labor he has abandoned dairy farming and is giving considerable atten- 
tion to the growing of cattle for beef. He is industrious and progressive, 
and may be found at almost all times attending to the duties of the 
farm. He is still a bachelor. A steadfast Republican he does not fail 
to express his will at the Iiallotbox. but leaxes the excitement of the 
political campaign to those who find it congenial. 

(III) Joseph Loomis (3), eldest son and second child of Joseph 
Loomis (2) and his first wife, Sarah Hill, was born July 15, 1649, i" 
Windsor, Connecticut. He was first married April 10, 1681, to Lydia, 
daughter of John Drake. She died May 7, 1702, and he was married 
February 11, 1703, to (widow) Abigail Birge. ]\Ir. Loomis died Feb- 
ruary 26, 1715, in his- sixty-sixth year. His children were: Joseph 
(died young), Joseph, Caleb, Lydia, Martha, Rachel, Enoch, Damaris, 
Isaac and Abigail, the last two being the offspring of the second wife. 

(IV) Lydia, fourth child and eldest daughter of Joseph and 
Lydia (Drake) Loomis, was born February 17, 1688, and was married 
January 6, 17 14, to Isaac Hinsdale (see Hinsdale, III), as elsewhere 
noted, and lived in Hartford, Connecticut. 



894 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

MICHAEL GLEASOX, postmaster at Carthage, is a man of the 
people. wlioUy self-made, and popular wherever known. He was Ijorn 
]\Iarch 4. 1S61. in Lyonsdale. Lewis county. Xew York, a son of 
Thomas Gleason. The latter named was born in county Tipperary, 
Ireland, and was bereft of his father when an infant, being the only 
child of his parents. With his widowed mother he came to America 
when a child, ajid was reared at Boonxille, Xew York, where his mother 
passed tlie remanuler of her lite. She readied a great age. being about 
one hundretl years old at the time of her demise. The son attended the 
public schools in early youth, and was early compelled to maintain him- 
se'.t. He formed haijits of industry and thrift which enabled him to rear 
a family of twelve children to become useful and honorable citizens. He 
married Mary, daughter of Bernard and Julia (Eddy) IMcLaughlin. of 
Horseheads, Xew York, where Mrs. Gleason was born, and settled in 
Lewis county, Vv'here he became a contractor in getting out stone and 
other jobbing. He died there in 1891, aged eighty-two years, and did 
not relax his industrious habits until shortly before his death. A brief 
recortl of his children follows : Anna, the eldest, is the wife of \Varren 
Gilbert, residing at (31d Forge. Xew York. Julia, the second, died un- 
rnarried, Mary, deceased, formerly of Utica. and John, reside at Low- 
\"ille, Xew York, where the latter is proprietor of the Windsor Hotel. 
Catherine, wife of Henry Brown, is at Old Forge. Rosa was drowned 
at the age of fourteen years in Black ri\-er. Alichael is the seventh, 
and IS further mentioned hereinafter. Lucy died while the wife of Oscar 
Wood, at Utica. Xew York. Thomas is a rancher in Oregon. Bernard 
died while an infant. William is a citizen of Boonville, and Xellie 
riiarried and li\'es in Iowa. 

Michael Gleason jiassed his tender years at Lvonsdale and received 
a little schooling there, but most of his education has been acquired in 
the broad school of experience and contact with the world. At the age 
of eleven years he went on the canal as a driver, and was gradually pro- 
rnotetl until he Ijecame a steersman, in which capacitv he passed the 
last seven of his twelve vears of canal life. During this period he made 
many trips along the Black River and Erie Canals, going to Albany and 
Xew York city. On leaving the canal he l:)ecame clerk in a hotel at 
Moose river, where he ctJUtinued four years, and was ne.xt employed in 
the same capacity for a period of two years at the Levis House in Car- 
thage. He then leaded what \\as then known as the Dougherty Hotel, 
now the Xalioiial, in this village, and conducted it two years. Having 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 895 

lieen well acquainted witli llie lintel trade and finding himself popular 
with the traveling puhlic, Mr (ikasnn hegan the erection of the Grand 
Union Hotel, on State street. Carthage, which he opened as soon as it 
was ready for occupancy, and operated four years. At the end of this 
period he was appointed postmaster, and took possession of the ot¥ice in 
February. 189S. His popularity is indicated by the fact that he was re-ap- 
pointed without opposition in 1902. Always a courteous gentleman, those 
who have business to transact with him find him pronijit and efficient. 
In the year ending December 31, 1897. this office did a business of 
$5,500. In the year ending December 31. 1903. it was over $11,000. 
and there has been established six rural free delivery routes, and also 
free delivery service in the village. On February i. 1903. the interior 
of this office was rebuilt, and tlie finest and most complete set of fixtures 
used in the postoffice department was installed. For its size there is 
now no more complete or handsome office in the country. Postmaster 
Gleason emplovs an assistant and three clerks to handle the mail, and a 
number of carriers. 

He was married. May 2, 18S9. to Miss Mate, daughter of Edward 
Bishop, a farmer of Watson. Lewis county. New York, where he died 
in 1902, and where Mrs. Gleason was Ixjrn. The first child born of 
this marriage, a daughter. Ethel, died at the age of seven years and one 
month, bringing deep sorrow to the hearts of the parents. Another daugh- 
ter. Mabel E.. was born January 2^. 1904. Mrs. Gleason is a member 
of the Methodist church, and Mr. Gleason aids in supporting both this 
and the Presbyterian church, often attending the latter. Always a Re- 
inililican in political princi])le. he is e\er ready to adwance any mo\e- 
ment calculated to promote the general welfare. He is a member of 
several fraternal organizations, being affiliated with Carthage Lodge 
No. 138. F. and A. IM. ; Carthage Chapter No. 259. Royal Arch Ma- 
sons; Watertown Comniandery No. 11. K. T. ; Media Temple of the 
Mystic Shrine: Carthage Lodge No. 365. and Oriental Encampment 
No. 135. Independent Order of Odd Fellnws. and Knights of Pythias 
Lodge No. 222. of W'atertdwn. New Vnrk. He is also a memljer of the 
Roval Arcanum and the Improved Order of Red Men, of Carthage. 
New York. With a large heart and an open hand for his fellowmeii he 
endeavors to carrv out the noble and philanthropic principles inculcated 
in these orders. 



B9C GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

L\]MAN H. DUNLAP, an industrious and successful business 
man of Carthage, is a son of John W. Dunlap, one of the pioneer busi- 
ness men of that village. 

John '\^'. Dunlap was born in 1810 in Cherry Valley, this state, 
and was engaged in the tanning business and the operation of a shoe, 
leather, and harness store at Carthage in 1835, having a partner named 
Barney. One of the posters announcing the opening of their store is 
still preserved, and is an interesting exhibit of the advertising methods 
of that day. Their tannery was located on the island now occupied by 
the Island Paper Company, in Carthage. In 1842 or 1843 Mr. Dunlap 
went to Green Bay, Wisconsin, where he established a large tannery, 
and continued to operate it imtil his death, which occurred in 185 1, at 
the age of forty-one years. He was a man of much business ability 
and enterprise, and took an active part in the life of the then frontier 
town of Green Bay. He was a member of the Masonic order, and a 
Democrat in politics. His wife, Penelope D., was a daughter of Lvman 
Holcomb, who operated a brewery and tannery at Champion village in 
the early days, and she was born there. Mr. Holcomb also owned and 
operated a tannery at Carthage, the one formerly owned and operated by 
our subject's father at one time. Mrs. Dunlap was a member of the Epis- 
copal church, and continued to reside at Green Bay until her death, in 
December, 1892, at the age of eighty-four years. She was the mother of 
three children — Gilbert L.. Cornelia, and Lyman H. The eldest was 
employed by the Green Bay, Winona & St. Paul Railroad Company (at 
first the Green Bay & Western) from its organization, in charge of 
bridges and wrecking trains, and died February 6, 1902, in Green Bay. 
The daughter. Cornelia, is the widow of Charles Lyons, residing in Green 
Bay, Wisconsin. 

Lyman H. Dunlap was born July 31, 1848, in Green Bay, Wis- 
consin, and was deprived of a father before he was three years old. 
He was reared by an uncle. Orlin Holcomb, of Carthage, a prominent 
business man of the town and a colonel of state militia. The youth grew 
up here, attending first the public school of the village, and subsequently 
the Falley Seminary at Fulton. New York, and the Fairfield Seminary, 
at Fairfield, Herkimer county. At the age of twenty years he left school 
and was employed as clerk in various stores in Carthage, among them 
those of Chester Francis and John L. Norton. He was also a clerk in 
the private bank of his uncle. Colonel Holcomb, then of the firm of 
Horr & Holcomb. In 1873 he embarked in the tanning business, being 




J^^ )y^ ,S^>-i<i^t^Coy^ ~ 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 8'J7 

for a time associated with Thomas Revell, under the title of Dunlap 
& Revell. They occupied a tannery in West Carthage, on the site now 
occupied by the Carthage Sulphite Pulp Company. Subsequently Mr. 
Dunlap carried on operations at Philadelphia and Constableville, this 
state, having sold his interest in the West Carthage tannery to his part- 
ner. About this time he was also largely interested in cattle raising 
in the Black Hills, and lost heavily through the death of his partner. 
In common with other tanners of this section, he was a heavy loser 
through the effort to raise the price of leather by holding stock, and 
was obliged to abandon the business. Turning his attention to the life 
insurance business, he became one of the most successful solicitors of 
the state, and has since continued in that line of endeavor, though he 
has been successful in other business dealings. For a period of fourteen 
years he represented the Connecticut General Life Insurance Company 
up to 1903. For a period of ten years he was engaged in securing title 
to lands and water rights on Black river, near Great Bend, this county, 
and this he sold in 1898 to the St. Regis Paper Company, which has 
erected large mills at that point, now known as Deferet. He is now the 
owner of similar property on the west branch of the St. Regis river, 
and is negotiating for its disposal to parties who will improve it. He 
is thus contributing to the industrial development of this section of the 
state, at the same time that he is improving his own estate. In 1901, 
Mr. Dunlap erected the Dunlap Block, on State street, Carthage, which 
is thoroughly modern, with a frontage of one hundred feet, and contain- 
ing six stores and numerous offices. His handsome home on Budd 
street was built by himself in 1885. He is a demitted Mason of the 
local lodge and chapter, and the council at Utica, and a member in good 
standing of the First Presbyterian church of Carthage. In politics, he 
sustains the Republican party, Init he is not an office-seeker, and has 
never accepted a political position. 

Mr. Dunlap was married February 13, 1877, to Miss Belle M. 
Smithy, who was born January 9, 1849, ^" Lamartine, Fond du Lac 
cotmty, Wisconsin. Her father, Andrew Smith, born 1813, was a 
native of New Hampshire. He was a schoolmate of John Wentworth, 
one of the early mayors of Chicago, known to all his associates as "Long 
John." Mr. Smith could see no advantages in the muddy marsh which 
Chicago then occupied, and pushed on to Wisconsin, where he could 
buy solid agricultural land. He became the owner of a large farm, and 
died there, December 12, 1893, aged eighty-four years. Two children 



898 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

complete the family of Mr. and Mrs. Dunlap, namely : John Norris and 
Ruth 'M. The son graduated in 1903 from the Cheltenham Military- 
Academy at Ogontz. Pennsylvania, and the daughter is a student, resid- ' 
ing with her parents. 

Mrs. Dunlap was one of six children, of whom five are living, she 
being the eldest. They are: Mrs. Annis, living in Minnesota; Fred, 
of Lamartine, Fond du Lac county, Wisconsin; ]\Irs. Ed. Crosby, of 
Lake Charles, Louisiana: I\Irs. John Kellogg, of Eden. Fond du Lac 
countv. Wisconsin. The mother of this family is living on the old 
homestead at Fond du Lac. Her father was from Granby, Connecticut, 
and died at the age of sixty years. Mrs. Dunlap"s grandmother was a 
Dorwin. 

D.VXIEL D\MGHT LYON, an energetic and successful business 
man of Watertown. esteemed as a citizen, is a native of the city, whose 
development and growth are sources of pride and satisfaction to him, as 
to many others of her loyal citizens. His ancestors came from Leeds, 
England, and were early in Rhode Island. Dr. Benjamin Lyon, a na- 
tive of Rhode Island, was born April 5, 1770. and died October 24, 
1826, in Russia, Herkimer county, this state. His father is supposed 
to have come from Leeds. England. He was married in iSoi, to Mar- 
garet Duncan, who was born December 23, 1780, of Scotch ancestry, 
and died July 5. 1820, m Oppenheim, New York, where Dr. Lyon prac- 
ticed medicine all his active life. She was the mother of nine children. 
Dr. Lvon married. May 26, 1822, Rosannah Hall, who died in Russia, 
New York, leavmg four children. The children of Margaret (Duncan) 
Lyon were: Charles \V.. Lienor, Julia Ann, Eliza, Charlotte, Mary, 
Frances, John and George Duncan. Those of Rosannah (Hall) Lyon 
were: Margaret M.. Lucretia C, and Benjamin and Elisha, twins. 

Cliarles W. Lvon, eldest child of Dr. Benjamin Lyon, was born 
Marcii 4, 1802. in Opjienheim. Fulton county, this state, and died Feb- 
ruarv i. 1866. in Ogdensburg. He lived some years at Hammond and 
-established a trucking business here about 1840, which has since been 
<:cn(lucte(l, in turn, by his son and grandson. He was married. May 15, 
1822, t(i Lydia Woodin. who was born April 18. 1799, in Herkimer 
county, and died February 2-. 1837. in Hammond, being the mother of 
seven children. On June 24. 1837. Mr. Lyon married Sally Taplin, 
who died within a year. He was married, February 22, 1841, to Par- 
thenia Chase, who was born February 6. 1805, and died June 25, 1853, 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 809 

having borne four children. Septemljer ii. 1853. ^Ir. L_\('n married 
Harriet Turner, I.Kjrn ALiy 5, 1821, who hore liim two chilihen. and now 
resides in Watertown. Following appears brief mention of Mr. Lyon's 
children : Eleanor Cornelia is the widow of Fred Litzenthaler, residing 
in Minneapolis. Minnesota. James Bela, died in Watertown. Sarah 
Eliza, widow of \\'illiam Gleason. lives in Chicago. Ann Maria, wife of 
Gilbert Burnham, died at Coopersville, Michigan. Lydia Rebecca 
died early. Lucretia Sylvia, widow of Justus Ferguson, lives in Coop- 
ersville, Michigan. Benjamin George, died in boyhood. Margaret E., 
eldest of Parthenia (Chase) L>on's children, died unmarried. Mary J. 
died in childhood. Frances A. is the wife of William C. Easterly, of 
^^'atertown. George S. did not survive the period of childhood. Charles 
W. died at the age of eight years, and William H. is a resident of Wa- 
tertown. 

James B. Lyon, eldest son and second child of Charles W. and 
Lydia (Woodin) Lyon, was horn October 13, 1824, in Herkimer 
county, and died February 27, 1891, in Watertown. He was a very 
estimable man and useful member of society. He carried on the busi- 
ness established by his father in Watertown, where he was an active 
member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and a member of its choir. 
He married, January 26, 185 1. ]\Iartha, daughter of Sanford and 
Elizabeth (Garej-) Rickerson, who survives him and resides 
in \\'atertown. aged seventy-two years. Of their eleven children, 
fi\e are now li\ing, namely: Mary, wife of George Balmer, of Min- 
neapolis, Minnesota: George W., a resident of Watertown: Daniel D., 
mentioned further below: Carrie C, Mrs. William Hatch, of Syracuse; 
and Frances B., wife of John Kirkpatrick, of Tannvorth, Ontario. Five 
died in childhood. Addie V., wife of John Donaldson, died in Water- 
town, leaving a son, Charles Lyon. 

Daniel D. Lyon, son of James B. and Martha (Rickerson) Lyon, 
was born July 20, 1857, in Watertown, and received his education in 
the public schools of the village and city. He spent eighteen years in 
Dakota, where he took up land before it was surveyed. During most 
of his stay in the west he conducted a mercantile business at Rapid City, 
and returned to Watertown in 1885. Thirteen years later he took charge 
of the trucking business established more than sixty years ago by his 
grandfather, which he has since conducted in such a manner as not 
only to maintain it in its former flourishing condition but to greatly in- 
crease and strengthen its profits and connections. In 1899 '^^ added 



900 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

the storage business, renting an abandoned malt house, on Court street, 
and this feature of the business has grown greatly and is still increas- 
ing. He employs about a dozen men and several teams of his own, and 
does an extensive freight transfer business, handling many carload lots. 
Mr. Lyon is not actively engaged in politics, having little time to spare 
from the demands of his business, but he is ever ready to act the part of 
a good citizen and never fails to show an interest in every project hav- 
ing for its object the welfare of the community. He is a member of the 
Knights of Pythias, affiliating with Watertown Lodge No. 222, of 
Watertown. 

Mr. Lyon married, June 20, 1900, Dora, daughter of Edward and 
Laura (Perkins) Ball, and granddaughter of Charles Ball, a farmer, 
who resided near Boonville. Laura Perkins was born at Boonville, a 
daughter of James Perkins. 

WILDER. Numerous representatives of this name are now found 
in Jefferson county, and descendants bearing other names are also found. 
The name is a most ancient one, and was prominent in England long 
before the Puritan movement to New England. 

Thomas Wilder, son of John, grandson of John, and great-grand- 
son of Nicholas Wilder, was of Shiplake, Oxon, proprietor of the Sul- 
ham estate, in Berkes county, England. His wife's name was Martha. 

Sulham House and Church are of peculiar interest to the Wilders. 
The Sulham estate is the inheritance given by Henry VIL to Nicholas 
Wilder in April, 1497. Around that church lie the remains of the suc- 
cessive inheritors of the estate. Four of the line have been rectors of 
the parish. John, the grandson of Nicholas, and grandfather of the 
emigrant ancestor, Thomas, first above-named, married the only daugh- 
ter and heiress of Thomas Keates, Esquire. He built the Sulham house. 
It was given, in 1582, by entail, to William Wilder, their son. It has 
ever been in the possession of the Wilder family, and is now occupied 
by John W'ikler, D. D., rector of the parish, who on his accession to 
the rectorship greatly improved the church and grounds. 

(I) On the list of passengers of the ship Confidence, which sailed 
in 1638 from Southampton for Massachusetts Bay, were Widow Mar- 
tha Wilder and daughter, Mary. It is represented that they landed at 
Hingham. The town records show that the town made grants of land 
to M.^rtha and Edward Wilder. Thomas Wilder and wife Martha, of 
Siiiplake, had children ; John, Thomas, Elizabeth, Edward and Mary. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 901 

Thomas Wilder (2), son of Thomas and :\Iartha. born in 1618, 

married (in 1640-1) Anna . He was received into the church 

at Charlestovvn, Massachusetts, in 1640, and was made a freeman in 
tiie following >ear. He was a man of good Christian character and 
business talents and while in Charlestown was connected with positions 
of trust. In 1659 he removed, with his family, to Nashawena, now 
Lancaster, Massachusetts, and was a leader in the town until his death, 
in 1667. His widow died in 1692. Their children were: Mary, born 
June 30, 1642; Thomas, September 14, 1644: John. 1646: Elizabeth, 
1648; Nathaniel, November 3. 1650. 

(II) Thomas (3), son of Thomas and Anna Wilder, born Septem- 
ber 14, 1644, married (June 17, 1668) Mary Houghton. Mr. Wilder 
was executor of his father's will, and succeeded to his estate in Lan- 
caster. His eldest child knnwn was born in 1680, and it is thought not 
improbable that other children were lost in Indian massacres. Those 
known were: James, born in 1680: Joseph, July 5, 1683: Mary, Janu- 
ary 22, 1685; Elizabeth, in 1687: Anna, in 1689: Sarah, in 1691. 

(III) Joseph, second known son and child of Thomas and Mary 
Wilder, married, in 1702, Lucy Gardner, who was born in 1679, daugh- 
ter of Captain Andrew Gardner. Mr. Wilder, though he had only or- 
dinary advantages for obtaining an education and means of culture, 
was a man of great intellectual power. At an early day he was judge of 
the courts in the pro\ ince of Maine, then a part of jMassachusetts. In 
1720, 1725-6, he was a representative in the general court, and in 1732 
he was appointed judge of the common pleas court for Worcester county, 
and from 1741 until his death he was its chief justice. In 1739 he was 
made judge of probate for Worcester county, which office he also held 
until his death. He was a man of incorruptible piety and integrity, and 
left his impress upon the church and the community to a most remark- 
able extent. His four sons were all eminent men. They were : Thomas, 
born 1704; Andrew, December 28, 1706; Joseph, December. 1708; Ca- 
leb, 1710. 

(IV) Thomas, eldest son of Joseph and Lucv Wilder, married, 
in 1730, j\Iary White, eldest daughter of Deacon Josiah and Abigail 
(Whitcomb) White. She was born March 31, 1707, in Lancaster, 
Massachusetts, and died there at the age of eighty-four years. Mr. 
Vv^'ilder settled in the northwestern part of the "New Purchase." now 
Leominster, as a farmer, and was a successful one. His children were 
born as follows: Mary, September 12, 1733: Sarah. May 10. 1735; 



902 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Thomas, September 15. 1737; Anna, June 10, 1739; Abel, September 
7. 1741 , Eunice, in 1743; and Joseph, of Winchendon. 

(\ ) Tliomas, eldest son and third child of Thomas and Mary 
\\'ilder, married, in 1759, Abigail Carter, born ^^larch, 1741. They set- 
tled in Winchendon, where they resided until the contest with England, 
which ended in the revolution, waxed warm and portended war, when 
they returned to Leominster. Their children were: Abel; Peter An^ 
drew, August 12, 1761 ; Elizabeth, born 1762; Vashti, 1764; Lucretia, 
in 1767; Abigail, David and Susannah. 

(VI) Abel, eldest child of lliomas and Abigail Wilder, born 
September 7, 1760, in Winchendon, Massachusetts, and passed his life 
as a farmer in East Charlemont, Franklin county, Massachusetts, where 
he was the owner of about one hundred and fifty acres on the Deerfield 
river. For many years he acted as justice of the peace, and was a man 
highly respected by his neighbors. His wife, Dorothy Kemp, was a 
native of New. Hampshire, and died April 14, 1839, having survived her 
her husband more than fourteen years. He passed away January 29, 
1825. They had two sons and four or five daughters. The younger 
son, Peter Wilder, lived and died in East Charlemont. He was twice 
married, and had a son and a daughter. The son was a soldier in the 
civil war and lost his life in the country's service. 

(VII) Abel Wilder, elder son of Abel and Dorothy Wilder, was 
born September 7, 1793, in East Charlemont, Massachusetts, and was 
reared upon his father's farm there. He was married, October 23, 1817, 
to Miss Hannah Johnson, who was born November 3, 1795, in Colerain, 
Massachusetts. He continued farming in East Charlemont until 1856, 
when he removed to Watertown, New Y(irk, and lived in retirement 
from active life, on account of failing health, until death terminated his 
pilgrimage, December 12. 1865. His demise was probably hastened 
Ijy the death of his wife, which occurred iNlay 20, of the same year. She 
was a niemljer of the Presbyterian church at Charlemont, Ijut he ne\er 
avowed any particular religious faith. He was a \Vhig in early life, and 
espoused the name of Republican on the organization of the party of 
that name. A man of upright character, he lived a quiet and peaceful 
life and attaine<l more than the allotted years of man. A brief men- 
tion of liis ten children follows: Nancy Maria became the wife of Ken- 
ilrick Ware and lived and died in Buckland, Massachusetts. Emily Au- 
gusta mairied Willi;un \\'eek';. of ^^'are, Massachusetts, and died in 
1847. ?vt(ises Jnhnsnn died while a resident of Palmer, Alassachusetts. 




unity Court House. Watertow-n. N. Y. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 905 

Wales Tylster is a resident of Spencer, Massachusetts. Adelia Melissa 
died in Paris, Illinois, March 15, 1900, being the wife of John Cushman. 
Charles Henry left home when seventeen years of age. and was last 
heard of at Marysville, California, more than forty years ago. Lucy 
Ann, wife of Noadiah E. Smith, died in Mittineague, Massachusetts, 
January 12, 1897. George Joslin is mentioned at length below. Frank- 
lin Abel died February i, 1896, at Lansingburg, New York. Anna 
Miranda resides in Watertown, New York, the wife of Franklin M. 
Parker. 

(VIII) George J. Wilder was born January 3, 1835, in East 
Charlemont, Massachusetts, and passed his early years upon a farm 
there, receiving his education in the district school. Despite his limited 
opportunities he has become a well informed man through reading and 
observation and has filled a useful position in society. At the age of 
sixteen years he left home and found employment in a woolen mill at 
North Amherst, Massachusetts, and was later a cotton mill worker at 
Mntineague, same state. 

In 1855 he became a resident of Jefferson county, settling on a farm 
in the town of Watertown. and continued as a tiller of the soil and in 
kindred vocations until 1899, when he moved to Carthage. For a long 
period he operated a cheese factory in Watertown. For a long term 
of twenty-eight years he served as justice of the peace in that town, was 
many years a school trustee, and was a member of the board of health 
from the time that iiistitution was first maintained in town until his re- 
moval to Carthage. Since his location in the latter place he has acted 
as shipping clerk at the Carthage Sulphite Pulp Mill. The Republican 
party was organized in the year that Mr. Wilder attained his majority, 
and it has ever received his earnest support. For many years he has 
affiliated with the fraternity of Free Masons, being a member of Rod- 
man Lodge No. 506, A. F. and A. M. ; Watertown Chapter No. 49, R. 
A. M. ; Watertown Commandeiy No. 11. K. T. ; and Media Temple, 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Watertown. 

Mr. Wilder was married, January 14, 1857, to Miss Marcia Vic- 
toria Sheldon, a native of Watertown. daughter of Tilly R. Sheldon, 
of that city. The five children of Mr. and ]\Irs. Wilder are living, as 
follows: Emma Augusta, wife of Charles A. Tolman, of \\'atertown 
(see Tolman) ; Mark S.. secretary of the West End Paper Company, 
of Carthage: George D.. proprietor of a saw and grist mill at East Rod- 



906 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

man, tliis county; Franklin P., secretary of the Carthage Sulphite Pulp 
Company; and Mabel, unmarried, and residing with her parents. 

(IX) MARK SHELDON WILDER, one of the most active 
business men of Carthage, was born July 7, 1862, in Watertown, New 
York, son of George J. Wilder. Mark S. Wilder grew up on a farm in 
Watertown, attending the district school and the Watertown high school. 
In the meantime he performed the home duties usually expected of 
farmers" sons, and was early introduced to habits of industry and thrift. 
At the age of twenty years he left the farm and engaged as bookkeeper 
for the Davis Sewing Machine Company, then located in Watertown. 
After remaining in this position two years he went to Adams, in 1885 
as bookkeeper in the Adams National Bank. Having developed a ca- 
pacity for bank work, Mr. Wilder came to Carthage, May i, 1887, be- 
coming one of the organizers of the Carthage National Bank, in which 
he continued as cashier for the first fifteen years of its existence, and is 
now vice president. In the meantime he has been an active factor in 
the organization and successful establishment of many industries, both 
here and in other parts of the state. With Hon. James A. Cutterson he 
established the Carthage Machine Company, of which he was vice pres- 
ident. He was vice-president and director of the Carthage Pulp Com- 
pany and the Champion Paper Company, both of which he was instru- 
mental in organizing, and was secretary and treasurer of the West End 
Paper Company, one of the latest industries established at Carthage. He 
was also a director of the Malone Paper Company, of Malone, New 
York, and the De Grass Paper Company, of Pyrites, same state. He 
was one of the organizers and assisted in building the Glenfield & West- 
ern Railroad, of which he was secretary and treasurer. All of these have 
been in successful operation from their inception, a testimonial to the 
sagacity and business capacity of Mr. Wilder and his associates. In 
1904 he sold his interest in all these industries, except the West End Pa- 
per Company, and retired from official connection with that. 

In the multitude of his business cares INIr. W'ilder does not forget 
the demands upon a patriotic and progressive citizen. He is a friend of 
education, and is serving as trustee of the Carthage school district. He 
has been an elder and trustee of the First Presbyterian church of Car- 
thage for a number of years, and is a sound Republican in political prin- 
ciple. While he is content to leave official position to those who may de- 
sire it, his counsel is appreciated by his fellow citizens. He is a meni' 
ber of Carthage Lodge No. 158, and Carthage Chapter No. 259, Water- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 907 

town Commandery No. ii and Media Temple, all of the Masonic fra- 
ternity, and endeavors to inculcate, by example, the teachings of this 
noble order. 

Mr. Wilder was married, October i8, 1887, to Miss Marietta May 
Converse, who was born October 18, 1865, in Woodville, town of Ellis- 
burgh, this county, a daughter of James F. and Marietta (Bull) Converse 
(see Converse). Her mother died very soon after her birth, November 
17, 1865, and her father is now a resident of Woodville. Two chil- 
dren have been given to Mr. and Mrs. Wilder : Harry Converse, born 
December 8, 1892, and Helen, February 6, 1901. 

(IX) FRANK PARKER WILDER, secretary and treasurer of 
the Carthage Sulphite Pulp Company, and an active promoter of other 
industries, was born August 5, 1873, in the town of Watertown, this 
county. He attended the district school of his native locality, and the 
high school and Northern Business College, of Watertown. He re- 
mained upon the paternal farm until he attained his majority, assisting 
in the usual labors of rural life, and left sch.ool at the age of eighteen 
years. For the four }ears succeetling his majority he represented the 
Liggett-Alyers Tobacco Company of St. Louis, as traveHng salesman 
tln-ough the New England states. 

He assisted m the formation of the Carthage Sulphite Pulp Com- 
pany in 1898, was elected its secretary and two years later became treas- 
urer, and has filled these positions since with satisfaction to his asso- 
ciates and advantage to the business. Since his coming to Carthage 
j\Jr. Wilder has been active in the promotion of industries that are a 
credit and beneiit to the village, employing a large number of people. 
He is a stockholder of the Champion Paper Company, the West End 
Paper Company, the Glenfield & Western Railroad Company, and the 
De Grass Paper Company, in all of which he is a director except the 
last. He fills a useful place in the social life of the place, is a member 
of Carthage Lodge and Carthage Chapter of the Masonic fraternity, 
and of the Presbyterian church. He supports Republican principles in 
governmental afifairs, but is no politician, content to leave official posi- 
tions to others. 

He was married, December 15, 1898, to Miss Bessie Marguerite 
Bence, who was l_)orn November 17, 188 1, in Chicago, where her father 
was then in business. Her parents, Lyal B. and Grace (Linden) Bence, 
are memoers of old Jefferson county families, and now reside in Carthage. 
For many years Mr. Bence was engaged in the cigar and tobacco trade in 



908 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Chicago. One son enlivens the home of ]Mr. and Mrs. ^^'ilder. born 
September 6. 1901, and named Lyal George. 

GILBERT BRADFORD, late of Watertown, who died April 4, 
1885, at his home in that city, was among the most enterprising and 
public-spirited citizens of the town. He was a scion of an historic 
family, which furnished the second governor of Plymouth colony, and 
exemplified the energy-, industry, probity and natural ability for which 
our New England ancestors were noted. 

(I) The first of the name, of whom record is here known, was 
William Bradford, of Austerfield, England, who died January 10, 1596. 

(II) William, son of William Bradford (i), married Alice, 
daughter of John Hansom, and died in July, 1591. 

(III) William, son of William Bradford (2), was born in 1588, 
in Austerfield. Yorkshire, England. About 1608 he went to Holland, 
and was among those who set out from that country in 1620, on board 
the historic Mayflower, to settle the Puritan colony across a broad ocean. 
He was accompanied in this voyage by his wife, whose maiden name 
was Doroth}^ May. This lady never reached shore, being accidentally 
drowned on the seventh of December. 1620. during the absence of her 
husband with an exploring party, in the wilderness adjoining Cape Cod 
Bay. With the exception of five years. Mr. Bradford was chosen 
governor of the colony from 1621 to 1657, the year of his death. He 
was one of the most efficient in directing and sustaining the new settle- 
ment, and a writer of those times said of him : " He was the very prop 
and glory of Plymouth colony, during the whole series of changes that 
passed over it." He was married August 24, 1623, to Alice Southworth, 
a widow whose maiden name was Carpenter. She came to Plymouth 
in the ship Anne, and was among the most highly respected residents, 
dying March 26. 1670. at the age of eighty years. She was the mother 
of three children — \\^illiam, ]\Iercy and Joseph Bradford. Governor 
Bradford died May 9. 1657, and was lamented lay all the New England 
colonies as a common father. The bodies of himself and wife were 
entombed at Plymouth. 

(IV) William Bradford (4). .son of Governor William, was born 
June 17, 1624, and married (first) Alice Richards, (second) widow 
Wiswall, and (third) Mrs. Mary (Wood) Holmes. His biographer 
says : "Mr. Bradford was, next to Miles Standish, a chief military man 
of the colony. In Philip's war he was commander-in-chief of the Plym- 




.^'^^•^^^^^^.^^^ Vl^- ^^. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 909 

outh forces and often exposed himself to all its perils. At the Narra- 
gansett Fort fight, he received a musket ball in his flesh, which he car- 
ried the remainder of his life. In that desperate, midwinter encounter, 
when both parties fought for their very existence, nearly a thousand 
Indians fell a sacrifice, and about one hundred and fifty of the English 
were killed or wounded." In the war with the Indians Mr. Bradford 
held the rank of major ; and was assistant treasurer and deputy gov- 
ernor of Plymouth from 1682 to 1686, and from 1689 to 1691 ; and 
in the latter year he was one of the council of Massachusetts. His 
residence was in Kingston, Rhode Island, on the north side of Jones 
river. He died February 20. 1703-4. His children, of the first mar- 
riage, were : John, William, Thomas, Samuel, Alice, Hannah, Mercy, 
Melatiah, Mary and Sarah ; of the second marriage : Joseph, Israel, 
Ephraim, David and Hezekiah. 

(V) Samuel Bradford, fourth son of William Bradford (4), was 
born in the year 1668 and in 1689 married Hannah Rogers, who bore 
him seven children. He had the title of "Lieutenant." and lived in 
Duxbury, about one-third of a mile northeast from the mouth of Island 
creek. After filling numerous local nftices, he died in April, 1714, aged 
forty-six years. 

(VI) Peres Bradford, third son of Samuel and Hannah Brad- 
ford, was born December 28, 1694, and resided at Attleboro, Massachu- 
setts, where he died June 19, 1746, in his fifty-second year. He was a 
student at Harvard College in 1713, and was later a member of the 
council of Massachusetts. His wife, Abigail Belcher, bore him nine 
children. 

(VII) George, third son oi Peres and Abigail Bradford, was 
born in 1732, at Attleboro, and died April i, 1795, when about sixty- 
three years of age. He married Sarah Carpenter, and lived in Wood- 
stock, Connecticut. He had nine children, the eldest of whom, George, 
was a soldier of the Revolution. After the last-named was disabled by 
a wound-, his place was taken by his younger brother, Peres. 

(VIII) Peres, third son and fourth child of George and Sarah 
Bradford, was bom July 25, 1764, in Woodstock. He served a few 
months in the Revolutionary army, in place of his oldest brother, before 
he was eighteen years old. After the war he was employed at Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, in the manufacture of cards for carding wool. 
There he was married December 9, 1793, to Sally Newton, and soon 
after moved to Hartwick, Otsego county, this state, where his wife died 



910 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

March 2^. 1S07. at the age of forty years. He was again married. 
September 6. 1807. to Polly Nickerson. His first wife bore him six 
children, and the second nine. During the war of 1812 he was engaged 
in tlie manufacture of cards and wire, and thenceforward followed 
mechanical and agricultural pursuits, residing, successively in Otsego. 
Tompkins and Onondaga counties. He died August 2, 1847, ™ Caze- 
novia, aged eighty-tliree years, and was survived six years liy his widow, 
who passed away at Watertown. 

(IX) Gilbert Bradford, seventh son of Peres Bradford, and 
fifth child of his second wife (Polly Nickerson), was born September 
8, 1814, in Hartwick, New York. He early learned the business of 
card-making, with his father, and was apprenticed when eighteen years 
old to the blacksmith's trade, which he mastered. Having the proverbial 
Yankee mechanical genius, he also became an expert machinist, and this 
gift was turned to advantage, both to himself and to the community in 
W'hich he made his home. For one year he was in charge of a cotton 
factory at Butternuts, and immediately upon the expiration of that period 
settled in Jefferson county. He first located at Clayton, but removed to 
\\'atertown in the spring of 1838. He came here on account of the 
larger opportunities afforded for mechanical employment, and at once 
took charge of the erection and repairs of machinery in the Hamilton 
woolen mills. For several years, up to 1850, he was in charge of the 
machine shops of G. Goulding & Company, on SewalFs Island. He 
conceived the idea of making a portable labor-saving machine, and pro- 
ceeded to construct two portable steam engines, which proved a success 
at once, being the first of the kind produced in the United States. He 
immediately formed a partnership with Charles B. Hoard, and began 
the manufacture of his invention, which sprang into instant demand, 
and after a few years sold out his interest to his partner. In 1865 the 
Portable Steam Engine & Manufacturing Company was organized, and 
Mr. Bradford was installed as its superintendent and general manager. 
This was later christened the Watertown Steam Engine Company, and 
Mr. Bradford acted se\"eral \ears as its president. The business has con- 
tinued to grow and prosper down to the present time, and yielded its 
originator a handsdme competence. 

Mr. Bradford earned his good fortune by diligence in the use of 
both hands and brains, and was a valuable member of the community. 
He constructed the suspension bridge across Black river at Watertown. 
and in manv wavs contributed to the growth, welfare and good name 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 911 

of the (Hty. He was a charter member of the Homestead Insurance 
Company of Watertown, and continued a director and member of its 
executive committee during its existence. A lifelong Democrat, he never 
neglected business for active political life, and refused every proffer of 
official position. 

Mr. Bradford was first married in 1841, to Miss Adeline Thornton, 
who passed away March 14. 1874. and he subsequently wedded Myra 
(Woodward), widow of Ely S. .\dams. One child came to the second 
union — Sarah Myra, who was born ]May 7. 1875. ^'^^ '* ''"^^^' ^'^^ \\\iQ 
of Dr. F. C. Peterson, whose liingraphy and portrait appear in another 
part of this work. Mrs. Bradford passed away at Watertown. June 7. 
1894. at the age of sixty-one years. 

(V) Joseph, eleventh child and fifth son of William Bradford 
(4) and first child of his second wife, was born about 1674, and married 
(first), October 5. 1698, Anna, daughter of Rev. James Fitch and his 
wife Priscilla Mason. She died at Lebanon October 17. 1715, and he 
married (second) Mary (Sherwood) Fitch, widow of Captain Daniel 
Fitch. ■ Mr. Bradford removed from Lebanon, Connecticut, to the North 
Parish of New London, same colony (now Montville), about 171 7. He 
was veiy active in business affairs of the parish, and was chosen elder 
of the church in 1724. He died January 16, 1747. aged seventy-three 
years. ^Irs. Bradford passed away September 16, 1752. Anna (Fitch) 
Bradford bore her husband the following children : Anna, Joseph, 
Priscilla, Althea, Irena, Hannah, Elizabeth. Althea (2). and Irena (2). 
The only child of the second marriage is the subject of the following 
paragraph. 

[\Y) John, youngest child of Joseph Bradford, was liorn Mav 20, 
1717. and was married December 15, 173''). to Esther Sherwood. He 
was a farmer, and resided in North Parish, now Montville, where he 
died ]\Iarch 10, 1787, in his seventieth year. His children were: Samuel, 
John, Joseph, Sarah, Perez. Benjamin. Eleanor. Rebecca and Mary. 

(Vn) Jolm Bradford (2) second son and child of John and 
Esther Bradford, was burn Deceml)er 7, 1739, and married Mary, daugh- 
ter of Daniel Fitch and Sarah Sherwood. Mr. Bradford was a farmer, 
and resided in North Parish until about the year 1782, when he reiuoved 
to Cornwall. Litchfield county, same state, and died there about 1819, 
aged eighty years. His wife passed away November 15. 1780, aged 
tiiirty-five vears, and was Iniried in the Ravmond Hill cemeterv. in the 



912 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

town of Montville. Their children were : James Fitch, Rachel, Mary, 
Abigail, Rebecca and Eleanor. 

(VIII) Mary, second daughter and third child of John (2) and 
Mary (Fitch) Bradford, became the wife of Daniel Sterling (see Ster- 
ling, VII). Her mother, born July, 1744, daughter of Daniel and Sarah 
(Sherwood) Fitch, was a great-granddaughter of Rev. James Fitch, 
who was born in Bocking, Essex county, England, in 1622, and came 
to America when sixteen years old. His son, Daniel, was the father of 
Daniel, who married Sarah Sherwood. 

REMINGTON. As evidenced by their business careers and well 
known characters as citizens, the Jefferson county representatives of this 
name have preserved in remarkable degree those qualities of their New 
England ancestry which led to the establishment of a mighty nation, 
from humble beginnings, in a forest inhabited by savages, and widely 
remote from any supporting influences. The Remingtons of this sec- 
tion are also descended from some of the best blood of New England, 
through the Denison family. 

(I) Lieutenant John Remington, one of the early settlers of Row- 
ley, Massachusetts, was first of Newbury, where he was made a freeman 
in 1639. He had lots of land in Wethersfield, Connecticut, in 1643. 
He described himself in 1662 as late of Rowley, now of Roxbury. He 
was a lieutenant of militia. He brought with him, from England, his 
wife Elizabeth, who died in 1657. His second wife's name was Rhoda. 
His children were: Jonathan, born 1639, settled in Cambridge; Daniel, 
1642; Hannah, 1643; Elizabeth, 1645; Mary, 1653, all born in Rowley, 
and Thomas and John, born before going to Rowley. 

(II) John Remington (probably a son of Lieutenant John), was 
of Rowley, Haverhill, Jamestown and Warwick. He was of Haverhill 
in 1661, and perhaps earlier. His wife's name was Abigail, and his 
children, born in Rowley, were: John, 1650; Abigail, 1652; Prudence, 
1657; Daniel, 1661. Probably Thomas was born after Abigail and be- 
fore Daniel, of which no record appears. A daughter, Hannah, was 
born 1664, in Haverhill. John married Abigail Richmond, and they 
resided in Newport and Kingstown. Joseph, Daniel, Hannah and 
Stephen lived m Jamestown. The last-named served as ensign and 
also captain of militia. The father of these became an inhabitant of 
Portsmouth, Rhode Island, in 1669 and later of Warwick. 

(III) Thomas, son of John Remington, settled at Portsmouth, on 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 913 

Prudence Island, but subsequently located in Warwick, Rhode Island, 
where he purchased two hundred acres of land in 1692-3. His wife, 
Mary, was a daughter of William and Elizabeth Allen. Thomas Rem- 
ington was made a freeman of Warwick in 1704. Both he and his wife 
died in the year 1710. His eight sons and two daughters were : John, 
Thomas, William, Daniel, Joseph, Stephen, Matthew, Jonathan, Pru- 
dence and Mary. The first three of these inherited their father's lands. 
From Thomas Remmgton of Warwick (third generation) descended a 
number of men of prominence. One, John Remington, of Warwick, was 
a captain m the revolutionary army and settled in ]\Iassachusetts, as did 
also his brother Jonathan, the latter being several times a member of 
the Massachusetts assembly. Henry Remington filled important offices, 
and became a judge of the supreme court. Four brothers from War- 
wick served in the revolution. 

(IV) Thomas, son of Thomas Remington, was married Decem- 
ber 28, 1710, to Maplet, daughter of Benjamin Gorton, and died Sep- 
tember 25, 1723, aged forty-one years. 

(V) Thomas, son of Thomas and Maplet Remington, married, 
December 14, 1744, Abigail Eldred. 

(VI) Ruel Remington, a descendant of Thomas, was a resident 
of Warwick. 

(VII) Samuel, son of Ruel Remington, married, July 17, 1790, 
Almy, daughter of Thomas Arnold, and their children were: Lustrus, 
born 1791 ; Israel, September 18, 1793; Arnold, January 2j, 1795; 
Lloyd, October 24, 1796; Robey, May 9, 1798; Fannie, April 4, 1801. 
Almy Arnold was born October 7, 1764, in Warwick, and died Octo- 
ber 17, 1841, in Manlius, New York. 

(VIIIj Illustrious Remington, son of Samuel and Almy Reming- 
ton, was born October 27, 1791, in Warwick, and about 1S20-22 became 
a resident of Manlius, New York, where he died May 12, 1883, in his 
ninety-second year. He came from Cherry Valley to Manlius, where 
he conducted a cotton mill for a number of years. He was a ship car- 
penter by trade, serving an apprenticeship under the tuition of his father, 
and at one time he was engaged in a paper manufacturing enterprise at 
Fayetteville, near Syracuse, the firm name having been Remington & 
Son. He was a man of exceptional ability and business acumen, and 
achieved a large degree of success in his various undertakings. He was 
prominent in the Masonic order, w-as a Whig and Republican, and an 
active member of the Protestant Episcopal church. In 1854 he joined 



914 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

with ins sons m leasing the old Juhelville critton mill property in North 
W'atertown, wliich the stms set in operation as soon as equipped for 
making paper. Four rag-beating engines and an eighty-four-inch Four- 
drinier macliine were installed, and the manufacture of paper was begun 
in 1855. The mill was run entirely on newspaper and had a capacity 
of nearly two tons per day. which was then considered a large output. 
The development of this industry, by these pioneers and their subse-' 
quent contemporaries, is the foundation of the present prosperous con- 
dition of the Black Ri\er \alle_\-. They were not only pioneers in paper- 
making but in advanced methods of production. Illustrious Remington 
married, about the time of his majority, Eunice, daughter of Beebe and 
Prudence ( Flolmes) Denison. The Denison lineage appears at the close 
of this article. Eunice Denison was born July 21, 1791, in Stoning- 
t(jn, Connecticut, and died June 24, 1870, in Manlius, New York. She 
v.as the mcitbei of five children. Nancy, the eldest, was the wife of 
Miram \\'i)<jd, and died in 1897, in Watertown. Hiram is a resident of 
that cit_\-. where Robey Caroline, wife of Nelson Caswell, died in 1903. 
Extended mention of the others follows. 

(IN) ALFRED D. REMINGTON. Among the manufacturers 
of Jefferson county should Ije mentioned the name of Alfred D. Rem- 
ington, lie was Lorn at ^lanlius, Onondaga county. New York, April 
13, 1827. He was reared in his nati\-e village and received the educa- 
tional advantages offered Ijy the ]\lanlius Academy, at that time a noted 
institution of learning. 

Later he engaged in paper manufacturing at Eayetteville, New 
York, in connection with his father under the firm name of I. Reming- 
t<in & Son. In 1855, associated with his father and brother Hiram, 
under the firm name of I. Remington & Sons, a mill was built in Juhel- 
\ille, which was operated in conjunction with the plant at F^ayetteville, 
New York. During the summer of 1861 the dam across the south 
branch of Black River at the head of Sewall's Island was rebuilt by Mr. 
Remington as an indi\-idual enterprise. b\ the construction of which he 
liecame the owner of the mill property on Sewall's Island, now owned 
by tilt Watertown Pai;er Company, and by the International Paper 
Company, also of the property formerly o\vne<l by Watertown \\'oolen 
Comi)any. and others, on Huntington street, a part of which is owned 
liy the Internatio!ial Paper Company. Later the subject of this article 
bought the interests of his father and brother and conducted the busi- 
ness individually until September, 1865, when a corporation under the 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 915 

name (jf Remington Pa]ier Ciim])any was formed, of which A. D. Rem- 
ington was president, and so remains up to the present day. i\Ir. Rem- 
ington, as president of the Remington Paper Company, was the pioneer 
of the wood pulp incUistry in nortiiern New York, and the Remington 
Paper Companv was the first to manufacture, in this country, paper ex- 
clusively from wood, namely ground wood and sulphite, therehy making 
the present low price of pai>er possihle. This was accomplished during 
the year 1887 in Remington ?\IiII B. now owned by the International 
Paper Company. This method was at the time regarded as impractic- 
able by a majority of paper manufacturers, but later has been adopted 
universally by mills making paper for newspapers and cheap publica- 
tions. 

INIr. Remington's interest in public affairs is shown b}' his fifteen 
3'ears of service as a member of the water bijard, jiart of which time 
he served as president, b'raternally he is a member of the P. & A. AL. 
of Watertown, New York. 

(IX) Charles Rollin Remington, youngest child of Illustrious and 
Eunice Remington, was born October 18, 1835. in Manlius, OnondagJi 
county, New York. As president of the City National Bank, as well as 
of several paper companies, he is widely known and respected for his 
upright business methods and various contributions to the public wel- 
fare. 

j\lr. Remington pursued his studies at Hobart College, and after 
his graduation in 1854 he began his business career in the paper mill 
owned and operated by his father and brother in Watertown. The 
Watertown Paper Com];any was organized September 20, 1864, by 
Charles R. and Alfred D. Remington and Walter D. Sewall. with a cap- 
ital of fourteen thousand dollars, and continued to do a prosperous busi- 
ness under their management. On July 5, 1881, C. R. Remington sold 
his interest to his brother. Hiram Remington. He then entered into 
partnership with his son, Charles H. Remington, and erected a paper 
mill at Wood's Falls, now Glen Park, a suburb of Watertown. After 
eighteen years of successful operation this property was sold to the In- 
ternational Paper Company, in 1899. The Aldrich Paper Company was 
formed in 1900, with Charles R. Remington as president, and operates 
a paper mill at Natural Dam, near Gouverneur. St. Lawrence county, 
and the Remington-Martin Company was subsequently established. This 
has mills at Norfolk, the active management being in the hands of 
Charles H. Remington, wdiile his father is president of the company. 



916 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

In 1885 ^'^1'- Remington joined his brother, A. D. Remington, and 
Edward M. Gates in building the City Opera House, of Watertown, one 
of the most complete, attractive and commodious buildings of its kind 
in this section of the state. Throughout his entire business career Mr. 
Remington's operations conformed to honest and straightforward 
standards, and he is reckoned among the most substantial and reliable 
citizens of Watertown. He is a communicant of Trinity (Protestant 
Episcopal) church, and an honored member of the Union Club of Wa- 
tertown. 

Charles R. Remington was married September 16, 1858, to Helen 
M. Warren, a daughter of Gorham Warren, of Manlius, New York. 
Two of the four children of Mr. Remington and wife are living, namely: 
Charles H. and Marion R. The latter is the wife of George B. Kemp, 
01 Watertown. 

DENISON. Among the finest families that first trod the soil of 
New England and bore a conspicuous part in subduing the savage and 
the establishment of the civilization of its time, was that of Denison. 
Its representatives are now' found in every part of the United States, 
and are noted for fine minds and fine character. The ancestor of most 
of those bearing the name had a most romantic career, and left an indel- 
ible impress upon tlie formative history of New England. He was 
of vigorous physical, as well as mental, makeup, and his posterity is 
numerous and of credit to its noble origin. 

(I) John Denyson was living in Stortford, in Hertfordshire, 
England, in 1567, and died there, of the plague, in 1582. 

(II) William, son of John Denyson, was baptized at Stortford, 
February 3, 1571, and was married, November 7, 1603, to Margaret 
(Chandler) Monck. He was well seated at Stortford, but hearing of the 
promise of the New England colonies, decided to cast his lot with the 
Puritans there. His eldest son, James Denyson, was a clergyman, and 
remained in England. The parents, with three sons, Daniel, Edward 
and George, crossed the ocean in 163 1, and settled at Roxbury, Massa- 
chusetts, in 163.4.. They boie a prominent part in social and religious 
life there. John Eliot, the apostle, was a tutor in their family. William 
Denison died at Roxbury, January 25, 1653, and his wife, February 
23, 1645. 

(III) Captain George Denison, fourth son of William and Mar- 
garet C. (Monck) Denison, was born at Stortford in 1618, and was 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 917 

baptized there December lo, 1620. He married (about 1G40) Bridget 
Thompson, who was born September 11, 1622. daughter of John and 
Alice Thompson, of Preston, Northamptonshire, England. Bridget 
died in 1643, leaving daughters, Sarah and Hannah, born 1641 and 
1643, respectively. After the death of his wife Captain Denison went 
to England and joined Cromwell's army. He was severely wounded 
in the battle of Kaseby, and was nursed back to health l.iy Eady .\nn 
Borodel, at the home of her father, John Borodel. As soon as his 
strength was restored he married her, and in 1645 '^'^^Y came to Xew 
England, and lived in Roxbury, Massachusetts, continuing their resi- 
dence there until 1651, when they located, with their family, in Xew 
London, Connecticut. Captain Denison distinguished himself as a sol- 
dier in the Pequot war, and again rendered valuable service to the col- 
ony after liis return from England, rising to the rank uf colonel. He 
was also prominent in civil life. His children, liijrn of the second mar- 
riage, were: John. Ann. Borodel. George, William, Margaret and 
Mary. 

(IV) Captain William Denison, fourth son of Captain Ge^irge and 
Ann Denison, was born 1655, '^"'^ married Mrs. Sarah (Stanton) Pren- 
tice, widow of Thomas Prentice (2). and daughter of Thomas Stanton. 
Captain Denison served in King Philip's war, and died ]\Iarch 2, 171 5, 
and his wife died August 7, 1713. Their children were : William. Sarah 
and George. 

(V) William Denison (2), eldest son of William and Sarah Den- 
ison, was born ]NL'irch 24. 1687, and was married, May 10, 1710, to 
Mercy Gallup. He resided in Stonington, where he died February 24, 
1724, and his wife March 2, 1724. just a week apart, aged thirty-seven 
and thirty-five )-ears respectively. Their children were: ]\Iercy, Sarah, 
Esther, William, Plannah, Benadam, Jonathan and Martha. 

(VI) William Denison (3). eldest son of William and Mercy, 
was born December 9. 1716. and married, June 23, 1737, Prudence 
Denison. They lived in Stonington. Their children were : William, 
Prudence, Andrew", Beebe, Harris, Mercy (or Mary) and Alice. The 
father died July 7, 1779. His widow remarried, and lived to February 
II, 1812. 

(VII) Beebe, third son of William and Prudence Denison, was 
born January i, 1744. He was married, October 13, 1774, to Prudence 
Holmes, who was born November 2. 1755, daughter of Joshua ami Pru- 
dence (Wheeler) Flolmes. Joshua was a descendant of (i) Robert 



918 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Holmes, an inhabitant uf Stonington. as early as 1670, through (II) 
Joshua and (III) Joshua. 

(\'1II) Eunice, daughter of Beebe and Prudence Denison, became 
the wife of Illustrious Remington, as above noted. 

(V) George Denison, youngest son of Captain William and 
Sarah (Stanton) Denison, was baptized February 28, 1692, married 
Lucy Gallup, and resided at Stonington, Connecticut. 

(VI) David, son of George and Lucy (Gallup) Denison, of Ston^ 
ingtun and Xew London. Connecticut, was liorn January 29, 1736, in 
Stonington, and was married, December 30, 1756, to Keziah Smith, of 
Groton, formerly a part ijf Xew London. Mr. Denison was an officer 
of the Revolutionary army, and after the close of that struggle moved to 
Xew Hampshire, whence he removed in 1785 to Guilford, Vermont. He 
died there January 24, 1808, and his widow survived until June 28, 
1S15. They were the parents of ten children. 

(VII) David (2), son of David (i) and Keziah (Smith) Deni- 
son, was born JMarch 16, 1761, in Xew London, Connecticut, and resided 
in Leyden, ^Massachusetts. He married Mary Babcock, and they were 
the parents of nine children, namely: David. ]Mary, Clarissa, Charles, 
Xancy, Desire, Elizabeth, Joseph and Sophronia. 

(X'lII) David {3), eldest child of David (2) and Mary (Bab- 
cock j Denison. was born April 5. 1780. in Leyden, and lived in the ad- 
joining town of Colerain, ^Massachusetts, where he died May 4, 1847. 
He was married ( first j, in 1802, to Huldah Crandall, who bore him two 
children, and died August 20, 1805. He married (second), in 1807, 
Lucy Avery, who was the mother of ten children, and died January 13, 
1830. For his third wife Mr. Denison took Lucy Burt Cooley, who 
died October 31, iSCn). aged eighty-two years. 

( IX) Jiihn, son of David Denison (3), was born in Colerain, and 
married ]\Iary Ann Searles, in that town. She was born ^vlarch 18, 
1795, in Smithfield, Rhode Island, a daughter of James and Abigail 
(Thurston) Searles (see Searles). They resided in Colerain. Their 
eldest child. Eunice, married George FIa}nes. and resided in [Monte- 
zuma. Xew York. Henry David went (in a whaling voyage and no tid- 
ings of him reached his family after he left the \essel in X^ew Zealand. 
Charles Edward, spoken of further below, was third. John M. died at 
Auliurn. this state. Mary Lucretia. wife of Henry Hines, resided at 
.\ul.urn, .Mary Ann (Searles) Denison died June 28. 1833. 

(X) Charles Edward, second son and third child of John and 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 919 

Mary Aim (Searles) Denison, was honi February 28, 1826, in Cnleraiii, 
At the age of thirteen years he came to Ellisburgh, where he Hved with 
an uncle, William T. Searles, a merchant of Ellis village. Mr. Deni- 
son's educational oiiportunities were limited, in so far as attendance at 
school is concerned, l.nit he possessed native shrewdness, and profited 
largely by experience and observation. He began life as a peddler, and 
bv integrity and force of character won success. On attaining his major- 
ity he became a partner of his uncle in the operation of a store at Ellis- 
burgii, and for many years wa-. known as a successful and trustworthy 
business man. He died September 9, 1863, at the early age of thirty- 
seven years. His wife, Hannah Persons, was a daughter of Hosea Bal- 
lou and Hannah (Martin) Persons. The last-named died December 
31, 1874, aged seventy years. Hosea B. Persons was a native of Ver- 
mont, a son of Rev. Cornelius Persons, one of the first Universalist 
clergymen in this section. The latter died in 1849, aged seventy-eight 
years. 

Charles E. and Hannah Denison had two sons and three daugh- 
ters. Emma and Delia died in infancy, and Mary at the age of twelve 
years. William. .Vltcm is mentioned at length luereinafter. .\ustin 
Persons resides at Adams Center, where he is manager of a branch estab- 
lisliment for his brother. 

(XI) William Alt(in Dcn'-oi., elder ''■•' of Charles Edward and 
Hannah (Persons) Denison, was born ?\Iarch 28, 1853, in Ellisburgh, 
and completed his education in Union Academy, at Belleville. After 
leaving school he was employed on the farm of his uncle, .\ustin I^er- 
sons, and at the end ot five years began farming c>n the estate of Aaron 
B. W'odell, his father-m-law. In 1884 he came to Ellisburgh village, 
and engaged in business as a wholesale grower of peas and beans and of 
high class seeds. He is doing an extensive business with the Ijtst houses 
of this ctjuntry, and also engaged for a time in exportation. He main- 
tains a branch establishment at Adams Center. He is now the owner of 
the farm, l)elo\\ the village of Ellisburgh, on which the first settlement 
in the town was made and the first mill was built by Caleb Ellis in 1798. 
Mr. Denison has always taken the interest of a good citizen in pulMic 
affairs and possesses in a high degree the esteem an.d confidence of his 
townsmen. He served for a time as president of the village and was 
subsecpiently elected to the legislature. In both instances the honor came 
to him unsought, inasmuch as he has never been an aspirant to office. 



920 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

He is now serving his second term in the legislature, having been re- 
elected in 1903. In politics he is a Republican. 

Mr. Denison \vas married, September 10, 1873, to Ada I., daugh- 
ter of Aaron B. Wodell. of the town of Ellisburgh. She was born March 
17, 1855, near the village of Ellisburgh. Her father was born in the 
town, son of ^^''illiam and Sally Wodell. who came from Hoosick Falls 
to Ellisburgh in 1798. William Wodell built the first mill of Caleb 
Ellis, a mile below Ellis village. The wife of Aaron B. Wodell was 
Aurora Curtis, a native of Ellisburgh. Two children of William A. 
and Ada I. Denison died in infancy. 

ESSELSTYX' FAINHLY. The "Ysselstein" family is a very 
old family, originally from the Netherlands, which later, however, 
spread into other countries. 

In the " Vienna Table of Xoble Families " it appears as a low 
Dutch family of nobility whose original representative existed in the 
time of King Clovis, that is, about the year 500 A. D. He lived in 
a secluded and swampy region, on a rocky place surrounded far and wide 
by water and morass, called at that day " Ysselstein." i. e. "Insel 
stein" (island rock). He chose this spot as protection against the 
Franks, and he was called " \'eltin von Ysselstein." Here he built for 
himself and for his numerous dependents homes and dwellings sur- 
rounded by bastions and moats, and married " Chlotilda," a Frank of 
noble birth whom he had taken prisoner in an engagement with her na- 
tion. His coat-of-arms was a white sea gull, the idea of eager desire 
for combat. The coat-of-arms was sanctioned and acknowledged by 
the German Emperor Conrad, as well as later on by Emperor Albrecht 
of the Hapsljurg line. The full particulars are recorded in the Vienna 
archives. In 13:2 they were conferred upon Cornelius von Ysselstein, 
the second l)ranch of tb.is family. He lived at Gonda. in Holland, on 
the Ysselstein place, which had, however, by his predecessors been 
filled up and dyked and ccn\-erted into a fertile district. Cornelius was 
judge of this district. His wife was Lucia van der Decken. He died 
in 1352, very wealthy. Four sons survived him, viz: John. Balthazar, 
Isaac and Bartholomew. Isaac and Balthazar followed the sea. and 
probably settled in quite strange countries, or perhaps perished on the 
high seas, for nothing is left on record about them. John and Barthol- 
omew became rich land-owners and tradesmen in Gonda. Only John, 
however, had anv sons: at his death in 1401 two sons survived, viz: 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 921 

Eulagius and Hugo. Eulagius married Hannah Sleiders of East Fries- 
land and of his descendants there were living about the year 1700 Al- 
brecht, \\'illiam, Daniel, and Casper. They lived, some at Gonda and 
others at Dordrecht. Their descendants are now to be met in various 
parts of Holland. Hugo was called by the German Emperor Sigis- 
mund in 1415 to Prague to develop the resources of that rich empire, 
Bohemia. Here b.e settled and married Sylvia Vester, and died 1444. 
His descendants spread through Bohemia. Silesia and Saxony. There 
is no further record about the Ysselstein family, as all traces are lost 
since the stormy war times which soon followed. 

The preceding sketch of the Ysselstein (as the name was formerly 
spelled) family is from records found in Europe. That the family 
still existed in Holland is evidenced by the fact that Martin Cornelius 
Esselstyn. as the name was later spelled, came to New Netherlands, 
now New York, and settled at Claverack, on the Hudson, in 1660. 
Subsec|uently he had patents to land granted him by the government 
in the Mohawk country, where he lived some time, but later returned 
to Claverack. The time of his death is not known. He had two sons, 
the eldest of whom was Jacob. He went to Pennsylvania, and all trace 
of that branch of the family was lost. The younger son, Cornelius, mar- 
ried Cornelia Vredenburg. and there were born to them eight children, 
seven of-whom were sons, and only one of these, Jacob, left male issue. 
In 1 710 Jacob Esselstyn, the son of Cornelius, settled upon a farm near 
the center of the town of Claverack, Columbia county. He married 
Magdalena Broadhead, and had seven children, two sons and five 
daughters. One of these scuis. Richard, was a major in the Continental 
army, and his commission bearing the signature of Washington is a 
treasured heirloom of his descendants. Major Richard Esselstyn was 
marrie<l June 2~. 1755. to Majeke Bloom, who died in 1767. Of this 
marriage three daughters and a son were born. December 23, 1767, 
he married for his second wife Mary Van Alstyne by whoin he had 
nine children. The fourth of these was Richard Morris Esselstyn, born 
May I J, 1778, grandfather of Sherman Esselstyn, of this sketch. His 
birthplace was Claverack. then in Albany county. At the age of tweh-e 
he mo\-ed to Massachusetts, where he resided six years and returned. 
In 1801 he accompanied ^lessrs. Smith and Delamatcr to Chaumont as 
a surveyor. The next year he returned to Claverack, and in 1806 came 
back to Cape Vincent and settled with his brother John B. on a farm 
below Fort Putnam. 



!»22 GENEALOGICAL AXD FAMILY HISTORY. 

Jiilin B. Esselstyn was one of the pioneer settlers who spent his 
days and strength for tlie good of the town, and (hed upon its soil. He 
settled on Cape \'incent territory, history tells us, in 1803. Six years 
later he fi:a-nied a partnership with Richard ^I., who built a store and 
commenced trade. The Esselstyn brothers and Henry Ainsworth were 
the only merchants in Cape Vincent for many of the first, years. The 
name of the firm was J. B. «S: R. M. Esselstyn and the store stood at 
the f(jot of James street. R. AI. Esselstyn was postmaster as early as 
182.2. The brothers also acted as agents for Count Leray de Chau- 
m(int. (ioods brought from New York in a month, so late as 1820, 
made a (|uick passage. Sometimes R. M. Esselstyn would go in a 
luiuber wagon to Hudson, his wife accompanying him, and bring 
h<ime such merchandise as had been transported for him to that jwint 
nn a sloop from the metropolis. During one of these overland trips 
he carried a heavy bag of specie under some straw on the bottom of 
his wagon. Whenever he stopped for the night he would carelessly 
throw his harness over the straw and bag, to disarm suspicion, and 
this mav teach our generation that the ftirmer times were better than 
these. In a letter Mr. Esselstyn wrote home in those days he mentions 
a trip on the " Clermont," Fulton's first steaiuboat, that then made the 
mar\'elous speed of four miles an hour directly against the wind. He 
died at L'tica, October 2, 1S22, of yelUnv fever, contracted on the trip 
he was then making. 

The luisiness ijf manufacturing staves was begun in iSog by R. 
Al. E'^selstyn and a Mr. Murray from Augusta, Canada. They bought 
their lumber and manufactured it into staves and hewn timber, and 
exported it to Montreal. This traffic gave employment to many men 
and increased the growth of the village rapidly. The business ex- 
tended as far as the Genesee and Niagara regions. J. B. Esselstyn 
seems to have had an interest in this business, for it has been recorded 
that "The barracks, a store belonging to Henry Ainsworth, another 
store of J. B. and R. M. Esselstyn, two or three small vessels that 
had been built here, the house of ]\Iajor Esselstyn, which stood below 
Fort Putnaiu, se\eral Ixarns, and considerable lumber, were burned by 
the enem}', at different times during the war." Also, that " Gen. 
Wilkinson's armv, as well as the troops encamped there, burned a 
large (|uantity of staves Ijelonging to the Esselstyns to cook their 
messes and keep themselves warm." For this loss of property con- 
gress seems to have granted only partial remuneration. In a letter 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 923 

written in January, 1821, R. M. Esselstyn complained to congress 
through Hon. W. D. Ford that the losses should be met, inasmuch as 
they could not have been averted l.)y him at the time. The claim 
amounted to $630.25. which was a large sum of money to lose at that 
day and in that new country. At the outbreak of the War of 18 u, 
Major John B. Esselstyn was directed to assemble a body of militia, 
and three companies were placed under his command. On the 23d 
of August, 1 813, Major Esselstyn was taken prisoner on the State 
road, near Chaumont, while escorting several relatives and friends to 
a place of safety. He was removed to Canada, held about two weeks, 
and then exchanged for a British officer of equal rank. He li\-ed for 
years after the war was over, anil died at a good old age. Kis memory 
will long be cherished. At the opening of hostilities Richard M. Essel- 
styn moved to W'atertiiwn, and was appointed county clerk, the duties 
of which position he performed with much ability. 

Richard Morris Esselstyn (1) married Charity Van Hoesen and 
had five S(jns and four daughters. The sons were Justus, John N., 
James, Henry and Richard ^birris (2). The l3<iard nf supervisors of 
which R. M. Esselstyn, senior, was a member, at their meeting soon 
after his death, passed a series of resolutions expressive of their re- 
spect to his memory. He was a useful member of society and a man 
of large intiuence. His wife died at Cape Vincent. 

Richard Morris (2) was born December 9, 1822, and when of age 
became connected with the hrm of Merrick, Fowler «& Esselstyn, lum- 
ber dealers and ship builders, located at Clayton, later at Detroit. Rich- 
ard AI. Esselstyn was the only member of the family to remain in Clay- 
ton. He subsequently became deputy collector oi customs, president 
of the village, and supervisor and justice of the peace. He was a Re- 
publican and took an active part in politics and filled the positions he 
held with credit to himself and to the satisfaction of his constituency. 
He was the first Republican elected to the office of supervisor in Clay- 
ton. He enjoyed the confidence of every one. He married INIargaret 
Reade, a native of Belfast, Ireland, who came to America at sixteen 
years of age. Her father, Thomas Reade, after the death of his wife, 
in Ireland, came to America and settled in Clayton, and was subse- 
quently joined by his daughter. Mr. Reade was a merchant in Clay- 
ton many years, and died at an advanced age. 

The clilldren of Mr. and Mrs. Esselstyn are Thomas M., Charles 



924 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

H., and Sherman. Mr. Esselstyn died May i. 1903. His wife's death 
preceded his, occurring April 4. 1898. 

Sherman Esselstyn, son of R. M. and Margaret (Reade) Essel- 
styn, was born at Clayton, January 8, i860. He attended the public 
schools of Clayton until fourteen years of age, and then went to Trin- 
ity school at Tivoli-on-the-Hudson, and later to Columbia college, 
leaving there at the end of his sophomore year on account of illness. 
Later he secured a position with the Commercial Union Assurance 
Company of London, first being employed in the main office in W'a\[ 
street. New York, where he was a clerk. In 1886 he was transferred 
to Brooklyn and became assistant tri tlie manager of the Brooklyn of- 
fice, and finally manager. He also was made manager of the Brook- 
lyn branch of the Hartford Insurance Company. Mr. Esselst3-n now 
directs the business of both in Brooklyn, a profitable position which 
he has filled with much ability. He is a Republican in politics, but 
active only for the benefit of the party. He is a member of the Hol- 
land Society and of the Underwriters Club of New York. 

In 1888 J\Ir. Esselstyn married Jessie McCombs, daughter of 
Herkimer S. and Sarah (Savage) McCombs, of New York. Mr. Mc- 
Combs was formerly a woolen merchant of Manhattan. His wife was 
a native of Geneva. New York. Mr. and ^Irs. Esselstyn have one 
child. Richard Herkimer. 

CURTIS UTLLIAM CORY. Few residents of Jefferson county 
have jjeen more widely or more deservedly respected and beloved than 
was Curtis W. Cory, of LeRay. On the paternal side he was of New 
England lineage, the branch of the family to which he belonged having 
its home among the snow-capped mountains of the "old Granite State." 

Joseph Cory was born in 1789 in Keene, New Hampshire, and 
in 1809 settled in Le Ray. Jefferson county, where he took up a tract 
of land. As a farmer he was very successful, not only in the cultiva- 
tion of his land, but in the advantageous manner in which he was en- 
abled to dispose of several of his farms. His chief occupation for nearly 
forty years was the manufacture of lime. He built the first patent lime 
kiln in this county. During the v.^ar.of 1S12 he served in the army and 
participated in the battle of Ogdensburg. He married, about 1816, 
Jane ^MciNIullen. of Rodman, by whom he was the father of seven sons 
and two daughters : George C, Sarah \\'.. Mary, Curtis \\'., Charles B., 
Josiah C. Henry S.. Albert P. and Daniel M. Joseph Cory was a man 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 025 

who in all his deahngs adhered to the strictest principles of rectitude, 
thereby earning the respect of all. His death occurred when he had 
readied the age of fifty-nine. 

Curtis W. Cory, son of Joseph and Jane (]\Icj\Iullen) Cory, was 
born February 15, 1820, in LeRay, and passed his early life on the pa- 
ternal farm, receiving his education in the common schools. After com- 
pleting his course of study he assisted his father for some years in the 
care and management of the homestead, after which he spent some 
time in the west. On his return he decided to make agriculture the 
business of his life, and thenceforth was numbered among the most en- 
terprising and successful of the county. In 1873 '''^ purchased the estate 
which was his home for the remainder of his life and is now in the 
possession of his descendants. It comprised two fine farms of three 
hundred acres, which he maintained in a high state of cultivation and 
devoted to the purposes of general farming. About thirty years ago 
he built the brick house on his farm, where his widow resided until her 
death in 1904. Mr. Cory was a director in the Merchants' Bank, of 
Watertow-n. He w^as an influential citizen, using his influence always 
in the cause of right and with a view to the promi.ition uf the welfare 
of the community. For fortv years he was a regular attendant of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, of which he and his wife were members. 
An ardent Republican, he always supported his principles, but did not 
take an active part in political movements, and shunned ofticial honors. 

Mr. Cory married, January 20, 1845, Charlotte Waters, and of 
the six children born to them two died in infancy, four reached ma- 
turity, and two are now livmg: A daughter, Caroline E., who became 
the wife of George Fisk, died May 4, 1904, leaving two children, George 
and Charlotte; Oscar E. married Delia, daughter of Henry Sharp, of 
Antwerp, and had three children — Edith C, Frank C. and Maud E. — the 
second now deceased : George F. married Jennie Iile, and has one child. 
Bertha. The elder son lives in W'atertown, and the home of the other 
is situated not far from the late residence of their mother. 

The death of Mr. Cory, which occurred Jul}- 16, 1883, when he 
had reached the age of sixty-three, while an irreparable loss to his 
family and near friends, was mourned by the whole community as that 
of so good a man and upright a citizen deserved to be. 

The family to which Mrs. Cory belonged is one which has been 
for three-quarters of a century well known in Jefferson county. Cor- 
nelius Waters was a native of Russia, New York, whence he moved to 



92(3 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

this \icinitv. tmik up land in wliat was then a wilderness, and had a farm 
of two hundred and fifty acres. He married Sarah Fletcher, a native of 
Ant\ver]x and they were the parents of six children, two of whom are 
living: Charlotte, who was horn in i8j2, in the ttjwn of Russia, and 
became the wife of Curtis W. Cory, as mentioned above, died May i8, 
1904; Emeline, who is the widow of Lucius Treadway. resides near 
Sac City, Iowa ; and sons. John and David, the latter now a resident of 
Black River. The mother 01 these children died at the early age of 
twenty-nine. 

(ieorgc Francis Cory was born August 4, 1853. on his father's 
farm, and has always lived here. He was married, IMay 7, 1879, to Jen- 
nie Ide, daughter of Harvey and Lucinda (Swan) Ide, of Fowler, St. 
Lawrence county. New York. Bertha, daughter of George F. Cory, 
was horn July 5, 1884. 

CHARLES EDWARD BESHA. a successful business man of 
West Carthage, is a desendant of JeiYerson county pioneers, and may 
take a just pride in his ancestry, as can also his wife. The first record 
now attainable regarding Mr. Besha's paternal forebears is found in 
the i)assport of his grandparents, Francis and Mary Jane Bichet, who left 
Mozer, Maine, de la Commune de Rouchamp, France, in 1828, the pass- 
port bearing date March 15. They were among the people induced 
by Le Ray de Chaumont to come to this country and settle on his lands 
in the town of Le Ray. and here they died, the wife dying January 15, 
1 8^9. and Mr. Bichet subsequently married Susan . 

Joseph Victor Bichet, son of Francis and Mary Jane, was born 
June 8, 181 5, in France, and came with his parents to Le Ray. They 
first located in the northern part of the town, known as the "Dutch Set- 
tlenient." where Joseph found occupation in helping to make a home. 
He engaged in farming, renting land, and had just purchased the farm 
on which his widow and son and daughter now live two weeks before 
his death. Xo\emlier J4. 1883. This is located northeast of the village 
of Evans Mills, and north of -the ancient village of Slocumville. and in- 
cludes one hundred acres of fine farming land. That he was a successful 
fymer is e\-idenced by the fact that he was able to purchase this prop- 
erty out of his savings. He was an active Democrat and a leading 
member of St. Mary's ( Roman Catholic) church, at Evans Mills, \vhich 
he was instrumental in organizing, and in which he was a trustee and 
one of the builders of its house of worship. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 927 

He was married, February 4, 1841, to Alniira, daughter of Robert 
Sixbury, who is mentioned further at the close of this sketcli. She was 
born December 16. 1817, in Le Ray, and is still living in that town. ]\lr. 
and Mrs. Bichet were the parents of ten children, noted as follows ; 
Mary Victorine became the wife of Nicholas Crouch, and died in Crog- 
han, Lewis cminty. Sarah Jane married Theodore Favret, and died 
in Evans ]\lills. Melinda. wife of John Fraley. li\es in the town of Le 
Ray, near the Philadelphia line. Joseph Louis went west, and died in 
Detroit, Michigan. Charles is tlie fifth, h'erdinand is a resident of Co- 
penhagen. Julia Annette li\-es, unmarried, with her mother and young- 
est brother, in Le Ray. Peter Joseph died in Detroit. George went 
west, and was last heard of in Blackhawk ci.nmty, Iowa. William oc- 
cupies the homestead farm, and is unmarried. 

Charles E. Besha was born July 17, 1850, near Evans Mills, in the 
town of Le Ray, where he grew to manhood. (During his time the 
English spelling of the iiame has been adopted liy the family.) During 
fi\e years of his boyhood the family li\'eil at Cape Vincent, and he had 
the advantage of the sclnjols of that place. s[iending one term in. the 
high school. In his seventeenth year he bade farewell to the schoolroom, 
and for the next two years assisted his father in the tillage of the farm. 
He then went to De Kalb Junction, in St. Lawrence county, and began 
work in a cheese factory to learn the art of making cheese, of which he 
soon became master. I'\)r eighteen years he made cheese at the Deer 
Ri\er factory, in Lewis county, on contract, which fact testifies to his 
iuflustrv, integrity and skdl in his line of business. In 1895 he pur- 
chased the factory at West Carthage, and has since made his home there 
and continued to operate the plant. He built an addition for his dwell- 
ing and has remodeled the factory until it is practically a new one. His 
output is now o\er one hundred anil twenty-five thousand pounds of 
cheese, and is steadily increasing. On the first day 'of No\ember, 1902, 
Mr. Besha also took charge of the shipping station at Carthage. His 
genial and sunny nature, together with a disposition to treat e\'erv one 
fairly, makes him popular with the public, as well as the receivers of milk 
in New York, and his business and importance in the community seem 
to be on the increase. He is the owner of the homestead in Le Ray, and 
is one of the substantial citizens of the county. Mr. Besha still retains 
membersliip in the clnu'ch where he was christened, St. Mar_\''s, at E\'ans 
Mills, and also adheres to the uolitical teachings of his father. He has 



!>28 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

never been ambitious for public station, and continues along his quiet 
way, attending to the exacting details of his vocation. 

Charles Edward Besha was married, April 19, 1898, to Miss Alice 
Hathaway Miller, who was born February 4, 1862, in West Turin, Lewis 
county, a daugbiter of John Aimer and Mary Eliza (Hathaway) Miller, 
both of whom were natives of West Turin. 

John Aimer Miller was born April i, 1831, and died July 12, 1902, 
at Leyden Hill. He came of sturdy old Revolutionary stock, and was 
a credit to his ancestry, a man universally respected and loved. His 
father, Jeremiah Miller, died in 1857, in West Turin, and was prob- 
ably a native of Dutchess county, this state. His wife, Sarah Rea^ was 
born December 13, 1804, in that county, a daughter of Peter Rea, who 
was born December 25, 1776, in Dutchess county. He was married, 
February 11, 1798, to Elizabeth Hoysradt. of old Dutch stock, and lived 
in Hillsdale, Columbia county, previous to 1822. In that year he moved 
to Turin, Lewis county. New York, where he passed away July 22, 1862. 
His wife died April 14, 1843, ^^^'^ '^'''^y were buried on his farm. He 
served as highway commissioner, supervisor, assessor and justice of the 
peace, and kept a hotel on the west road. Of his fourteen children, Sarah, 
wife of Jeremiah Miller, was the third. 

Peter Rea was a son of Hugh Rea, who was born November 17, 
1 74 1, in northern L-eland, and came to America in 1764. He was mar- 
ried, March 22, 1767, to Margaret Knickerbocker. He was a farmer 
and also kept a store near Jackson Corners, and enjoyed a large trade 
with the armies during the Revolution. One day, while plowing in his 
field he was seized and bound by a body of British soldieiy, who then 
proceeded to ransack the store in alleged search of contrabrand goods. 
His wife, who was in charge of the store, was also tied, and much of the 
goods was carried off. At the same time the spring nearby, on which 
the family depended for water supply, was filled up with refuse. This 
illustrates the hardships endured by the brave spirits who struggled 
through eight years of war in order that we, they and their posterity 
might enjoy the blessings of freedom. 

Aimer J. Miller was married, in 1849, to Mary E. Hathaway, who 
was born July 8, 1831, and now resides with her children in New York. 
Mr. Miller was many years a cheesemaker and farmer. He was a lover 
of fine horses, and known as a very good judge of horseflesh. His last 
days were spent in Deer River and Lowville. where he lived retired 
from active business, until he was over seventv-one years old. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 9i!9 

John Wesley Hatliaway, father of J\Irs. ]\Iary E. IMiUer, was born 
]\Iarch Q, 1800, in Herkimer county. He was married. November 17, 
1818, to Sally Mitchell Lyman, who was born June 13, 1802, a daugh- 
ter of Ezekiel and ]\Iabel (;Mitchell) Lyman, of Connecticut. Mr. and 
Mrs. Lyman were pioneer residents of Le Ray, this county. John W. 
Hathaway died JNLarch 21, 1862. His wife died December 6, 1848. 
They were the parents of six children, of whom ^Nlrs. IMiller is the fifth. 

ROBERT SLXBURY. father of :\Irs. Joseph V. Besha, was a must 
remarkable man, and lived to be almost one hundred and ten years old. 
From a local journal is taken the following account of his life, which is 
the best now attainable : 

"In the town of Le Ray, ab(jut five miles from Theresa, on the road 
to Evans Mills, in a little house by the roadside, last week, Thursday, 
Robert Sixbury died. A large majority of the readers of the Post 
never before heard of this remarkable man. Few of our people would 
have believed that there was a man in Jefferson county who had lived 
here for ninety-five years; yet such was really the case. In 1778, at 
the age of fourteen years, Robert Sixbury came to this section of the 
country from Amsterdam, Montgomery county, where he was born on 
the 6th day of March, 1763. His favorite hunting and fishing ground 
was in what was afterward LeRay and finally divided and now com- 
poses the towns of Alexandria, Theresa, and LeRay. Upon the banks 
of Indian river all kinds of game did then abound for trappers and 
hunters, and its waters were filled with fish and covered with Indian 
canoes, while the dense forests swarmed with the treacherous savages 
and no permanent white habitation was known nearer than the Mohawk 
Valley. After spending a number of years in this wilderness, with 
no local habitation and no companion but his musket and traps, he 
went to Herkimer county, where he married Miss Betsey Hoover, and 
the loving couple returned to his lodge in the vast wilderness and 
doubtless enjoyed the contigriity of shade. He became the companion 
of Foster the Indian hunter, and many an Indian has gone to his 
"happy hunting ground" as the penalty for stealing their traps. Six- 
bmy built a log house about tw-o miles north of Evans M\\\s and there 
for years he supported his family by hunting and fishing. For over 
sixty years he lived at this place, outliving two log houses which rotted 
down, and then he moved into his shop, where he has lived until the 
past few months. He had eight children, four boys and four girls, who 



930 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

are all living but one son, who died alx)ut thirty years ago, aged thirty- 
seven years. His wife died about twenty-five years ago. Since which 
time the old gentleman has lived by himself in his old log house, cooking 
his own victuals except bread, positively refusing all assistance or to 
move from the home where he brought his young bride and where 
together they commenced life nearly ninety years ago; and where their 
children had grown up around them. Where he had slept so many 
anxious nights fearful that the tomahawk and the torch would deprive 
him of the ones dearer than life, if not life itself, he determined to 
remain. Not until the old shop, too, rotted down would he consent to 
occupy the little house near his son where he died. 

"His three sons live in LeRay. John is about seventy-five years 
old: Jacob, seventy-two, and Isaac, the son who took care of the old 
gentleman, is alaout fifty-six. Of his daughters, Betsey married A. J. 
Shattuck, and lives ivi St. Lawrence county: ;\Iary married Isaac 
Cushman of Cape \"incent; Cushman died very suddenly while on a 
visit to his fatlier-m-law, and his widow still lives; Annie was a twin 
of Alexander — the son who died at the age of thirty-seven — and she 
married Isaac \\'alradt and lives near Evans jNIills; Almira married 
Joseph Bichei. and lives near Lafargeville. The old gentleman had 
sixty-five grandchildren, fifty of whom are living. There were thirty 
great-grandchildren and three great-great-grandchildren. About thirty 
years ago the old gentleman fell in the fire-place and burned his foot 
so badly that his leg was amputated just above the knee; although about 
eighty years old it healed up and he has ever since traveled about with 
a wooden leg. Last spring he was out shooting at a mark with some 
friends, but did not like the Springfield rifle. He retained his hearing 
and eye-sight until he died. He always expressed a dislike for civiliza- 
tion, often wishing the country was just as he found it ninety-five 
years ago. He took no interest in any of the three wars through which 
he lived, and \\ ithout doubt was at his death the oldest man in the 
state, and if half the stories about him are true the most remarkable 
man that ever lived. The world has witnessed many great changes 
during his life but of them he knew or cared nothing." 

.MAITLAXD BASCOM SLOAT, treasurer of the New York & 
Pennsylvania Company of Xew York, is among the sons of Jefferson 
county who ha\e made good use 'if ll'.eir opportunities and conferred 




,;^^^^^?^^-??Cj^^,^^^ 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. »3l 

credit iipmi their names and nati\'ity. He was Ixjrn Decemlier jy, 
1S46, in W'atertown, only child uf Harrison Sloat of that city. 

Harrison Sloat was horn April 17. 1814. in the town of Orleans, 
Jefferson county, a son of Heln■^■ Sluat. an early resident nf the connt_\'. 
A fnrther account tA him will he found in connection with the history 
of Charles W. Sloat, in this work. Harrison Sloat grew up on the 
paternal farm in Orleans, and attended the common school of his neigh- 
borhood. On attaining his majority he went to Watertown and began 
working about machinery, and soon engaged in the manufacture of 
lumber. He was a \-ery industrious man and scarcely had a holiday 
until his retirement, about 1886. He was of yery quiet disposition, 
and found satisfaction in his work and his home, hence did not attempt 
to take any part in public afifairs. Possessed of sound judgment, lie 
was successful in business, was respected by his contemporaries, and 
held settled convictions on all subjects. A Whig in early life, he was 
among the founders of the Republican party, and with his wife was 
affiliated with the Uniyersalist church of Watertown. On his retire- 
ment from business he was succeeded in business by his nephew, 
Charles W. Sloat, who has continued in its management, the concern 
being now owned l>y the Sloat & Greenleaf Manufacturing Company. 
Mr. Sloat passed away in Watertown, August 9, 1891. 

He w-as married Marcii 22, 1846, to Elizabeth M. Bascom, daugh- 
ter of John and Abigail (Dickinson) Bascom, the former a nati\'e of 
Massachusetts, and the latter of A'ermont. 

Maitland B. Sloat passed his youth in his native city, attending 
its public schools, and graduated from the Jefiferson County Institute 
in 1865. He at once entered the service of the Rome, Watertown & 
Ogdensburg railroad as clerk in the treasurer's office, and rose through 
its gradations until he was cashier on its removal to New York in 
1884. He continued with the same employer, and was auditor when 
the office was remo\ed to Oswego in 1889. He continued in the Xew 
York office two years after the line was leased by the New York Cen- 
tral road in 1891. In 1893 he became treasurer of the International 
Pulp Company, with headquarters in New York and, one year later, 
he was appointed treasurer of the New York & Pennsylvania Com- 
pany, which position he still holds. He is also secretar}- and treasurer 
of the Armstrong Real Estate Improvement Company, another Penn- 
sylvania corporation. It will be seen that Mr. Sloat has had success 



932 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

in his chosen profession, that of finance and accounts, his services hav- 
ing been sought by important corporations. 

Mr. Sloat"s liome is in Mount Vernon, Xew York, where he is 
an attendant of the UniversaHst church. He is a sturdy supporter of 
Repubhcan- principles, but finds no time for practical politics. A firm 
believer in the Christian principles of true fraternity, he retains mem- 
bership in Watertown Lodge, Chapter and Commandery of the Ma- 
sonic brotherhood, and is also a member of the Jefferson County So- 
ciety in Xew York, of the Transportation Club of the same city, and 
the Royal Arcanum. 

He was married September 4. 1877, to !Miss Lunette Greenleaf, 
who was born December 22, 1846, in Lafargeville, a daughter of John 
Dickinson Greenleaf .(see Greenleaf, VIH). Two sons complete the 
family, namely, Harrison Greenleaf and Halbert ]\Iaitland. The elder 
passed through the Mount Vernon grammar and high schools and the 
Homoeopatliic ^iledical College of Xew York, and is now practicing 
medicine at Xorwalk, Connecticut. He was recently married to Miss 
Edith W. Hubbard. The second son received the same primary train- 
ing, graduated at Cornell University in 1904, and is now pursuing a 
post-graduate couise in mechanical engineering at Columbia L'niver- 
sity. 

.\4ILLARD FILLMORE PERRY, principal of the Carthage 
High School, was born February 28, 1852, in Moira, Franklin county, 
X'ew York, and has devoted his life to teaching school. 

His grandfather, Aaron Perry, was a native of Vermont and 
settled as a pioneer in the town of Moira in 1824. He cleared land in 
the wilderness, and died there at the early age of forty years. His 
widow survived to the age of eighty-seven years, dying about i860. 
They had three sons, Aaron, Gilman and Spencer, and two daughters, 
Lydia and Lucy, the former of whom married X'elson Stimpson, and 
the latter became the wife of Aaron Fisk. 

Spencer W. Perry was born January 31, 1809, in Shoreham, Ver- 
mont, and was fifteen years old when his parents moved to Moira. 
He received a good education for the day and region, and became a 
teacher in the public schools, conducting a dozen or more terms. A 
man of sound judgment and a student, he exercised considerable influ- 
ence in the community where he lived. He cleared land and became 
a farmer in Moira, where he died and was buried in April, 1889. ^^ 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 933 

was a Democrat in politics and. with his wife, a memher of the Methud- 
ist church. He was married in 1845 to Lucinda, daughter of Tihnan 
Tracy, a pioneer larmei' of ;\loira. of Enghsh birth. She sustained 
a brol<en hip from a fall, and died in the same year as her husband. 
They were the parents of five children, of whom the subject of this 
sketch is the second. The eldest, Wellington 3.1. , is now a resident of 
Ranier. Oregon. John \\'esley, the third, resides on the parental home- 
stead in Moira. Wilna T. is a citizen of Flandreau, South Dakota, 
and Amy L. is a teacner at Los Angeles, California. 

Millard F. Perry attended the Lawrenceville Academy, and after 
leaving that institution taught a winter term in the ilistrict school. 
Entering the Potsdam Normal School, he graduated in 1870. and 
immediately began a most successful career as a teacher. k'(_ir four 
years he was principal of the Fort Covington Academy, and subse- 
cjuently taught in the Brooklyn Polytechnic Institute three years. He 
was principal of the public schools at G(ju\-erneur one year, at Cba- 
teaugay six }-ears. and at Brnsher Falls two years. In 1892 he was 
elected principal (if the Carthage High School, and has since continued 
to fill that responsible position to the advantage of the school and the 
approval of the school authorities and parents of the village. He is 
ec[tially popular with his pupils, which is a flattering testimonial to 
his executive ability and his genial and kindly nature. Mr. Perry is a 
member of the Jefferson County Teachers' Association, of the Princi- 
pals' Council of the same territory, and the State Association of Aca- 
demic Principals. He is affiliated with the Presbyterian church, and 
is an ardent supporter of the principles and action of the Republican 
party in governmental affairs. 

He was married in 1884. tu 3Iary Chisholm, who was born in 
Fort Coventry, New York, a daughter of Donald and Annie (McLean) 
Chisholm, natives of Scotland. Mr. and Mrs. Perry are the parents 
of a son and three daughters — Leslie Donald, Annie Chisholm, Frances 
Amy and Edna Elizabeth. The son has completed his first year at 
Cornell University, and the daughters are students of the Carthage 
schools. 

JAMES PRINGLE, president of the Carthage National Bank 
and a leading manufacturer and business man of Carthage, was born 
June 8, 1833, at Napanee, Province of Ontario, Canada. 

His father. Daniel Pringle. was a native of Canada, as was his 



934 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

father before him, the family having emigrated from Scotland among 
the earlier settlers of the province. Daniel Pringle kept a hotel at 
Belleville, Canada, and, later, at Napanee, where he died soon after the 
American civil war, at the age of sixty-five years. His wife Sarah 
was a native of Canada, a daughter of Colonel Bell, an officer of the 
British army who settled in Canada after the close of his military 
service, and passed many years there before his death. Airs. Pringle 
died at Xapanee in 1S65, aged about sixty years, so it appears that 
both she and her husband were contemporary with the nineteenth cen- 
tury. They were the parents of nine children. Sarah Jane, the eldest 
of these, is now the widow of George H. Davy, residing in Napanee. 
!Mary Ann, widow of Dr. Thomas Shirley, also resides there. Rachel 
is the wife of George Jackson, and lives in Michigan. James is the 
fifth. Janet, Mrs. Charles Rol^lin, resides in Wilmington, Illinois. 
Henrietta died at Napanee, while the wife of John Van Alstine. Amelia, 
widow of Edward Walker, lives in Chicago. Charlotte is the wife of 
Roljert Webster, of Napanee. 

James Pringle is essentially a self-made man. He attended the 
public schools of his native village in boyhood, and early set out to 
make his own way in the world. At the age of sixteen years he secured 
employment in a general store in bis native village and held this position 
seven years. The stability and industry indicated by this fact are the 
qualifications which have made him foremost among the manufacturers 
<m' the thrifty manufacturing village of Carthage. 

In 1856 Air. Pringle came to the United States, and for three 
years thereafter conducted a livery business at Watertown, this county. 
This business was moved to Carthage in 1859, and here continued four 
years. For the next five years he was employed as salesman in stores, 
part of the time in the general store of Ralph Hooker, and part in the 
clothing store ot Horace Hooker. In i8f>8 Mr. Pringle became a clerk 
in the ofilce of Bmwn & Bliss, foundrymcn of Carthage. Witliin a 
short time thereafter the late Charles P. Ryther purchased the interest 
of Bliss, and the firm became Brown & Ryther. Mr. Pringle continued 
with the firm, and in 1869 bought an interest in the business, the style 
tiien becoming Brown, Ryther &• Pringle. This continued until 1S76, 
v.- ben Brown sold out to the others, antl the business was continued 
under the 'wncrship and management of Ryther & Pringle. After 
the death of Mr. Ryther in 1897. the firm continued with his son 
(who had Iieen manager of his interest for some time) as successor. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 035 

Julv I, 1900. ihe ccaicern was incorporated, under the name of tlie 
Ryther & Prin^le Cijmpany, and Mr. Pringle became president of the 
Company, with George D. Ryther as vice-president, and Fred W. 
Coburn, secretary and rreasurer. Beside doing a general jobbing in 
foundry and machine work, a large business is kept up in the manu- 
facture of paper mill machinery, and this plant has grown and pros- 
pered, along with, others in Carthage. To the conservative character 
of Mr. Pringle and to his industry and upright business methods may 
be ascribed much of the prosperity of the business. 

On the incorporation of the Carthage National Bank in 1887, Mr. 
Pringle became one of the larger stockholders, and was shortly after 
made vice-president of the institution, so continuing until the death of 
its president, the late Gilbert B. Johnson, in 1900, when Mr. Pringle 
became president. Under the careful supervision of its president, with 
the able assistance of its cashier, Mr. Fred W. Coburn, the bank main- 
tains the honorable prestige which it attained under the charge of Mr. 
Johnson, and is reckoned among the most solid financial institutions 
of northern New York. At the outset it had a capital of fifty thousand 
dollars, which was subseciuently doubled, and its loans and discounts 
now amount to about one-half million dollars. At the last report 
(1903) it had twenty thousand dollars surplus and seventeen thousand 
dollars undivided profits, and its deposits averaged over four hundred 
thousand dollars. 

Mr. Pringle has taken no active part in partisan struggles, but sus- 
tains the Democratic party in c|uestions of national principle. He has 
served as trustee of the village of Carthage, and is now treasurer of 
the Union School of this village. He is a member of Grace Episcopal 
Church, in which he holds the office of warden. He is a member of 
Carthage Lodge, No. 158, and Carthage Chapter, No. 259, of the 
Masonic order, and has been eleven years master of the former, and two 
years high priest of the latter body. 

. He was married in 1856 to Mary, daughter of Asa and Electa 
Karris, of Champion, in which town -Mrs. Pringle was born. Asa 
Harris was a farmer in Champion, and passed his last years on a small 
farm adjacent to the citv of Watertown, where he died at the age of 
eighty-four years, in 1888. Electa Harris died in October, 1857, and 
Mr. Harris was twice married after that. One of his sons, A. ]\I. 
Harris, is a resident of 'U'atertown. Another. Zebediah, lives in Roch- 
ester, this state, and a third, George, is a farmer of the town of Russell, 



936 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

this county. A daughter, Amelia, is the widow of George Freeman, 
residing in the town of Wilna. An invalid son, Eugene, completes the 
family of Mr. Pringie. 

ALLEN EUGENE KILBY, a leading attorney of Carthage, is a 
native of Jefferson, grandson of one of its pioneers. Allen Kilby, born 
near the citv of Boston, lived for some years in Farmington. Connecti- 
cut, whence he moved, m 1810, to Henderson, this county. There he 
cleared a farm and passed the remainder of his life, dying at the age 
of eighty-tw'O years. His wife, Theda Darin, reached the age of eighty- 
four years. They were the parents of ten children, several of whom 
settled in the west. Those who remained in this vicinity were: George, 
Sylvester, Theda, iVllen. Austm, and Eben. All are iiow deceased. 
Sylvester was a shoemaker. Theda was the wife of Captain Henry 
Warner, of Henderson Harbor, who passed his life on the lakes. 
Allen was an mvalid iov many years, and not acti\e in any pursuit. 
Austm was a captain on the lakes. Lucy was married, and died in the 
west. Eben was a tanner and also did some farming, and died in 
Henderson. 

George Kilby was born in 1798, ni Farmington, Connecticut, and 
was twelve years 01 age when he came with his parents to Henderson. 
Here he grew to manhood, receiving such education as the common 
schools of the day afforded. On arriving at man's estate he engaged 
in farming on his own account, but his chief occupation was building 
vessels for the lake trade. Li this enterprise he was associated many 
years with Elihu Joiner and they placed many craft upon the lake. He 
lived to a good old age. and was honored and respected by his contem- 
poraries, servii.g eight years as a justice of the peace. He was many 
years a staunch supporter of the political principles maintained by the 
W'hig party, and became a Republican upon the organization of the 
party of that name. In religious faith he was a Universalist. His 
wife, Ann Hitchcock, was a native of this county, and bore him eight 
children. The first of these, Lydia, is now the widow of David Thomp- 
son, and resides in Henderson. Adelbert died there several years ago. 
Mahlon was drowned on Lake Ontario, in the wreck of a \-esseI in 
which he was a part owner. Theda is a resident of Henderson. Lorin 
lived many years al Sheridan, Waupaca county, Wisconsin, and died 
in Henderson. Arthur now resides upon the paternal homestead with 
his sisters. Caroline died in Flendcrson in iSgi. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 937 

Allen E. Kilb_\ was born August i6, 1843, in Henderson, and 
passed his boyhootl m that town, where he received his primary educa- 
tion. After completing the course at Union Academy, Belleville, he 
graduated in the classical course at St. Lawrence University, Canton, 
New York, in 1869. He immediately took up the law course in the 
same instituticm, and was graduated in 187 1. When he had completed 
his academic course he thought of going on the lakes, as he was with- 
out means and his father was not in position to aid him in taking a 
college course. A friend in whose judgment he placed much confidence 
advised him to go to college and work his way through. Acting on 
this suggestion he entered St. Lawrence with eleven dollars in his 
pocket. At the end of a year he was appointed a tutor in the institu- 
tion, and so continued throughout his attendance there, graduating as 
valedictorian of his class. This involved much hard labor on the part 
of the young student, and won the competition over students who had 
no work save their studies. When he left the University he had seven 
hundred dollars as his earnings abo\e the expense of his education, and 
this was at once in\-ested in a law library. One year after graduating 
he was elected professor of pure mathematics in his alma mater, but 
declined the position, as he was established in a growing law practice 
and did not wish to abandon his prospects in this connection. Thus 
was a good educator lost, and a good lawyer given to the state. 

Locating in Carthage in 1869, Mr. Kilby at once entered upon the 
diligent labors which make a successful lawyer, and his progress has 
justified these labors and his determination to stick to the law. His 
practice is general, except that he has for many years declined to 
handle criminal cases. His practice has included some celebrated 
actions, notable among them the Salter case, which was an action to 
recover damages from the Utica & Black River Railroad Company for 
a death caused by one of its trains. This was the first of the kind 
against this corporation, antl was stulibornly contested, Iieing tried fi\'e 
times, and taken before the court of appeals seven times, on appeal 
from orders and judgments, but was finally won for Mr. Kilby's client 
after ten 3'ears' litigation. Another notable matter was the contests 
over the Hepvv'orth estate, which caused three and one-half years of 
litigation, and Mr. Kilby turned over to the English heirs one-fourth 
of a million dollars. 

\\niile not a politician, Mr. Kilby is a firm adherent of Republican 
principles, and there is no uncertainty about his position in any matter 



938 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

of principle. He represented his county in the legislature two terms. 
He was made a ]\Iason in Sacketts Harbor Lodge, Xo. 135, at the age 
of twenty-one years, and has recently affiliated with Carthage Lodge, 
No. 1 58. 

He was married December 6, 1871, to Miss Alice A. Johnson, 
who was born April 17, 1850, in Henderson, a daughter of Fales and 
(Harris) Johnson, of that town. Two children complete the family 
of Mr. Kilby — RalpJi L. and Bertha A. The latter is now pursuing a 
post-graduate course in the Gardner school for young ladies, on Fifth 
Avenue, New York. The former graduated from the Cheltenham 
Military Academy at Ogontz, Pennsylvania, and from the classical 
course of Princeton University in 1902, and is now engaged in financial 
business m New York City. 

LEWIS SPENCER DILLENBACK. The period from 1702 to 
1727 marks an era in the early German emigration, in which period 
betw-een forty and fifty thousand left their native country. The terri- 
ble ravages and desolations by the troops (under Turenne) of Louis 
XIV. were the stern prelude to bloody persecutions and, to escape 
these, Germans and other Protestants emigrated to America. 

Jn 1708 and 1709 thirty-three thousand on invitation of Queen 
Anne left their homes in the Rhine country for London, where some 
twelve thousand arrived in the summer of. 1708. Books and papers 
had been circulated in the Palatinate, with the queen's picture on the 
books and the title page in letters of -gold (on that account called 
" The Golden Books ") to encourage the Palatines to come to England 
so they might be sent to her majesty's colonies to be settled there. As 
stated above, thousands were induced to abandon their Vaterland lit- 
tle dreaming of the trials, privations and hardships so soon to fall to 
their lot. Of this large number coming to England in 1708-9, seven- 
thousand, after having suffered great privations returned half naked 
and in despondency to tiieir native country. Great numbers died for 
want of sustenance and medical attention and some perished on ships. 
The survi\ors were transported to British colonies in America. Ten 
sailing vessels, freighted with upward of four thousand German Pala- 
tines, left England December 25, 1709, and after a six months' tedious 
vovage reached Xew York in June, 17 10. On this passage and imme- 
diately after landing, seventeen thousand died, and the survivors were 
encamped in tents they had brought w'ith them, on wdiat is now Gov- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 939 

ernor's Island. Here they remained till late in the autumn, when about 
fourteen hundred were removed one hundred miles up the Hudson 
river to a point called Livingston Manor. These were under indenture 
to serve Queen Anne as grateful subjects, to manufacture tar in order 
to repay the expense of their transportation, which had been advanced 
by parliamentary grant. Being unjustly oppressed they became dis- 
satisfied and Governor Hunter resorted to violent measures to secure 
obedience, but in this he failed. One hundred and fifty families to 
escape famine left late in the fall of 1712 for Schoharie valley, some 
sixty miles northeast of Livingston ]\Ianor. Many others found their 
way into the state of Pennsylvania. 

(I) Among this colony of German Palatines settled at Living- 
ston Manor appears the name of Martinus Dillenback, the ancestor of 
all that name who had their origin in the Mohawk valley. During the 
year 171 1 Martinus Dillenback volunteered in Captain Johan Conrad 
Weiser's company for the expedition against Canada commanded by 
Colonel Nicholson. This was known as the Queensburg Company. 
The next trace in history of this party occurs in the " Frontiersmen " 
of New York — his name appearing with those of twenty-seven others 
as recipients of a grant of land in Montgomery county, known as the 
Stone Arabia Patent, October 19, 1723. In 1744 the "Frontiersmen" 
also records the building of the Lutheran church at Stone Arabia by 
^lartinus Dillenback and otiiers. The name appears also as " Trus- 
tee ■' of Lutheran church, in deed of conveyance to Dutch Reformed 
church at Stone Arabia, and recorded in the records of that church 
]\[arch 7, 1744, seventeenth year of the reign of King George II. The 
record of the Lutheran church gives the names of children of Martinus 
Dillenback as follows; Baltus, Dietrich, Alartinus, Andrew, Johannes 
and Christian. 

(II) The members of the family who afterward became resi- 
dents of Jefferson county are traced from Baltus, the eldest son of 
Martinus Dillenback. He married Mary Metzger, a daughter of one 
of the early settlers of Albany, who came from Holland; so the Dillen- 
backs came from both the high and low Dutch. This marriage took 
place on the 5th of August, 1763, and of their family is found the fol- 
lowing record from the old Lutheran church at Stone Arabia: John 
B.. born June 2-. 1764: Jacob, January 16, 1767: Elizabeth, May 28, 
1769: Martinus. January 12. 1776; :Mary, December 26, 1785. 

(III) John B. Dillenback, oldest of the family of Baltus, mar- 



940 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

ried Susanna ?iIoak. He became a resident of Herkimer county, in the 
neighborhood of Little Falls, where he owned a large farm. His chil- 
dren were: Peter, married Delilah ShuU; John, born December 15, 
1796, married Catherine Snyder: Fanny married David Hammond; 
Jacob, born 1803, married Catherine Ostrander: Solomon, born March 
I. 1805, married Amy McMullen: William, December 24, 1807, mar- 
ried '\Iargaret Ann Jenkins: Hannah married William Jenkins: Amy, 
Ijorn ]\Iay 7, 1809. married Jacob Bort; Susan married Jacob Klock, 
and (second) Edward Freeman: Mary married Nicholas Lawyer. 

John B. Dillenback and the entire family became residents of Jeffer- 
son county in about 1830. with the exception of John, who remained 
at the old homestead in Herkimer county. Of the sons, Jacob settled 
in the town of Pamelia, Peter in Alexandria, and Solomon and Will- 
iam in Orleans near Stone Mills. 

(IV) Solomon Dillenback grew to manhood in Herkimer county, 
and was married in Canajoharie to Amy McMullen. He continued 
on the home farm until about 1830, when he moved to Jefferson county. 
He purchased over one hundred acres near Stone Mills, in Orleans, 
whicl; he cultivated twenty years. This he sold, and subsec^uently he 
tilled a farm belonging to Alexander Coplay, at Chaumont. Late in 
life he bought a small farm at Omar, where he died December 27, 
1863. His wife passed away February 12, i860. They were Meth- 
odists in religion, and were among the most upright citizens of the 
community. Mr.. Dillenback was a Whig in early life, and was one 
of the most ardent supporters of the Republican party, but did not 
care for official station. 

Of the family of Solomon Dillenback and Amy McMullen, fol- 
lowing is the record: Adelia, born Noveml^er 11, 1830. married Erwin 
S. Collins: Alvah, February 27, 1833, died Decem.ber 24, 1864, mar- 
ried Amelia McCombs. George, October 31, 1835, married Ellen 
Hoxie: Mary Martha, born February 22, 1838, died April i, 1896, 
married ^Milton Keech. John. April 17, 1840. died April 27, 1841. 
John Wesley, May 9. 1842, married Pauline Herring; Lewis Spencer, 
December 3, 1844, married Harriet C. Close: Emily Celestia, Novem- 
ber 16, 1847, married William Frost. 

Of the surviving members of this family. Adelia resides at Omar; 
George at Chaumont: John W. at Watertown: Emily C. at Dexter, 
and Lewis Spencer m New York city. Of die male members. George 
was engaged in the !i\e stock commission luisiness in Albany for sev- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 041 

eral years, subsequently removing to New York, where he conducted 
tlie same business until 1900, when he returned to Jefferson county. 
John Wesley was a \oluntcer in the Tenth New York Artillery, a 
regiment raised in Jefferson county during the Civil war. Shortly 
after going to the front he was commissioned a captain in the Army 
of the James, and at the close of the war was commissioned in the 
regular service, subsequently rising to the rank of major. Major Dil- 
lenback was chief of artillery during the Santiago campaign of the late 
Spanish war, retiring in 1900 after thirty-seven years' service. His 
wife is a daughter of William Herring (see Herring). 

(V) Lewis Spencer, fifth son and seventh child of Solomon and 
Amy Dillenback, was born near Stone Mills, in the town of Orleans, 
and grew up there on a farm. After a course in Falley Seminary at 
Fulton. Xew York, he took up the study of medicine with Dr. Jewett 
of Chaumont. In his nineteenth year he went on board the United 
States monitor " Alahopac," as hospital steward, and was with the 
North Atlantic scpiadron at Hampton Roads. James ri\er, Bermuda 
Hundred and Dutch Gap. After one year at the latter place he was 
offered the appointment of chief clerk of the commissary department, 
Twenty-fifth Army Corps, Army of the James, which he accepted and 
continued in this position until the fall of Petersburg and Rich- 
mond. On the night of the surrender of the Confederate army at Ap- 
pomattox, he issued supplies to it. 

On returning to his home, Mr. Dillenback became a traveling 
salesman, covering twenty-three states twice a year, in the interest of 
the Northfield Knife Company, of Northfield, Connecticut, and con- 
tinued three years. He was subsequently with the Corning Iron Works 
at Albany, as shipping clerk. While there he became associated with 
his brother, George Dillenback, in the live stock commission Business 
at West Albany and continued about seven years. In 1876 he trans- 
ferred his headquarters to New York city, and added hay to his list 
of products. For some years he was a member of the firm of Close & 
Dillenback, but now operates with Charles J. Austin, under the title 
of L. S. Dillenback & Company. He is a large exporter of sheep and 
cattle to [Mexico and the West Indies, and alsn deals in the home cattle 
market extensively, together with hay and other produce. He is a 
sound business man, and has achieved success by industrj', and the ex- 
ercise of upright methods in business, thus securing the confidence of 
shippers over a wide area. Mr. Dillenback is a Free Mason of high 



942 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

degree, aftilialing with Capital City Chapter, No. 242, and Palestine 
Commandery, DeWitt Clinton Council, R. & S. M., and the local Tem- 
ple. X. 'Si. S.. of Albany. He was a memher of the Colonial Club of 
New York tlnrin.g its existence, but has joined no other on account 
of not residing in the borough of Manhattan. His home is in River- 
dale, one of the must beautiful suburban sites on the New York Cen- 
tral railroad. 

He was married in 1876, to IMiss Harriet C. Close, who was born 
in l•"rem(^nt, Ohio, daughter of Perry and Sarah L. ( Britton) Close, 
of Pennsylvania Dutch and New York ancestiy. One son completes 
the family of Mr. Dillenback, namely, George Perry, born February 
19, 1881. 

JAY WILLIAM WALDO, one of the most substantial framers 
of the town of Champion, is descended from an old New England 
family, which has given many good citizens to the state and nation. 

(I) Tradition traces the origin of the name to France, but noth- 
ing positive is known of its planting in England. The first of record 
in this country was Cornelius Waldo, born about 1624, and died Janu- 
ary 3, 1 700-1, in Chelmsford, Massachusetts. The town records give 
the year of his death as 1701, and the tombstone places it 1700, due, 
perhaps, to the difference between old style and the new. The first 
reference to hmi is found in the Essex county court records. May 6, 
1647. As he was "farmer" for John Cogswell, senior, whose daughter 
he married, and correspondence by John Cogswell, junior, refers to 
Cornelius Waldo's mother, l\\mg at Berwick, in England, it is probable 
that the latter came from the same district and the families were 
acquainted in the mother country. By a town order February 14, 
1664, in Ipswich, he was granted a share and a half in lands belonging 
to inhabitants of Plum Island, Castle Neck and Hog Island, and it is 
probable that lie settled in Ipswich soon after his arri\-al in the colony. 
He married Hannah, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Thompson) 
Cogswell, who was born in 1624. in Westburj' Leigh, county of Wilts, 
England, and came with her parents to New England in the ship Angel 
Galiriel, which sailed from Bristol May 23. 1635. This vessel was 
flung upon the shore at Pemaquid in a gale. August 15, and several of 
her passengers and crew were lost. John Cogswell was a native of the 
same place as his daughter, and his wife was a daughter of Rev. \Y\\\' 
iam Thompson, vicar of Westbury parish, by his first wife, Phillis. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. It43 

The marriage of Cornelius Waldo occurred previous to January 2, 
1651, as indicated by a deed of that date. His wife survived him, 
dying December 25, 1704, aged eighty years. It is indicated by records 
of Ipswich and Chelmsford that they moved from the former to the 
latter town in the autumn of 1665, and he bought land in Chelmsford 
August 12. 1670. The next year he bought a mansion near the 
Chelmsford "meeting house," and here is where he died, without doubt. 
In 1678 he was elected selectman in Chelmsford, and was made a 
deacon in the first church of Dunstable, in 1685. In 1690 he kept a 
licensed tavern in Chelmsford, and in 1698 he was again chosen as 
selectman of that town. He v.-as an extensive landowner, and disposed 
of his property to his sons and son-in-law, Edward Emerson, the last 
conveyance bearing date of August 4, 1699. His children were: Eliza- 
beth, John, Cornelius, Daniel, ^Martha, twin sons buried three days 
after birth, Deborah, Rebecca, Judith, Mary and Jonathan. 

(II) John, eldest son of Cornelius and Hannah Waldo, died 
April 14, 1700, at Windham, Connecticut. The date of his birth is 
not recorded, but it is probable that he was born in Ipswich, and it 
must have occurred as early as 1654-55. He was a soldier in King 
Philip's war, serving under Captain Thomas Wheeler in the "Ouaboag 
fight," August 2, 167:;. and recei\'ing a wound in that struggle. For 
this service he was credited four pounds, and he is again credited one 
pound, I2s and lod, for service under the same commander, at Groton, 
February 29, 1676. In 1682, with his brother Daniel he was among 
the mounted guards employed In' the town of Dunstable. He repre- 
sented the town of Dunstable in the general court in 1689. Previous 
to this time he was a half owner, with Mr. Jonathan Tyng, in a grist 
mill on Nacooke brook. In 1695 his name appears among the in- 
habitants of ward four, Boston, and two years later he sold a mill 
and five acres of land in Hingham to Nathaniel Beale. On November 
29, 1697, he purchased of John Broughton, in Windham, a grist mill, 
dwelling house and one acre of land, for thirty-fi\-e pounds. On Jan- 
uary 3, following, he was aamitted a freeman in Windham, and the 
next day bought for thirty pounds an allotment of a thousand-acre 
right in \\'indham, from Richard Egerton, of Norwich. On the day 
of liis admission he was made one of a committee, with Joseph Hall 
and John Backus, to gather the rate and agree with workmen to build 
a meeting house. A deed of land sold liy him in Chelmsford, in 1697. 
shows that his wife. Rebecka, was a daughter of Samuel Adams. The 



944 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

inventory of his estate places its value at 292 pounds and seven shil- 
lings, from which was deducted, for debts and funeral expenses, 29 
pounds, five shillings and six pence. In 1710 his widow married 
Deacon Elizer Brown, 01 Canterbury, Connecticut, formerly of Chelms- 
ford, Massacluisetts, and she died in Canterbury, September 17, 1727, 
having been then a widow seven years. Her mother was Rebecca 
(Graves) Adams, of Charlestown, where the death of her eldest child 
is recorded, in 1677. In 1716 one-half of the grist mill was sold to 
Ephraim Sawyer, of Hansfield, who purchased the other half in 1734. 
The children of John and Rebecca Waldo were : Rebecca, John, Cath- 
erine, Edward, Rebecca (2), Ruth, Sarah and Abigail. 

(Ill) Edward, second son of John Waldo, was born April 23, 
1684, in Dunstable, Massachusetts, and died August 3, 1767, in Wind- 
ham. Ke was educated in the Boston schools and taught school several 
years in Windham. He lived in that part of the town now Scotland, 
and built a house in 1714, near the county line, which is still standing 
and inhabited by a descendant. Scotland parish, the third Windham 
society, was established in May, 1732, and at the first meeting, June 
22, Mr. Waldo was moderator, and made one of the society committee. 
On September 20 he was placed on a committee to secure a minister, 
and on June 25, 1735, he was one of the committee, with John Bass 
and Joseph Meacham. to agree with suitable men to build a meeting 
house. March 27 of the next year he was on a committee to provide 
a permanent minister. November 19, 1734, he was chosen deacon, 
with Nathaniel Bingham. He and his wife were members of the Wind-, 
ham church in 1726, and were transferred formally to the Scotland 
church October 22, 1735. He was a strong supporter of the separatist 
movement begun in 1746, and with his wife and three sons became 
a member of the separate church in that year. He was one of the 
signers of a petition, dated April 16, 1653, praying for the benefit of 
the "toleiation act." Ten years later he was restored to his former 
standing in the first church. Mr. ^\'aldo represented the town at 
general court in 1722, 1725 and 1730. He was confirmed a lieutenant 
in October, 1722, and m 1726 filled that position in the company com- 
manded by Captain Eleazer Carey. He was the owner of numerous 
parcels of land in Windham and Norwich. In 1735 he gave most of 
his land to his sons, Edward and Shubael, and in 1748 sold part of the 
remainder to "his loving son." Zacheus. Deacon Waldo married, first, 
Thankful, daughter of Deacon Shubael and Joanna (Bursley) Dim-. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. it^S 

mock, of Manslield, Connecticut. She was born in ]Marcli, 1682, in 
Barnstable, Massachusetts, and died December 13, 1757, in Windham. 
Both she and her husband were Ijuried in Pahnerto\\n cemetery, Scot- 
land. His will shows that his second wife's name was Mary, and she 
is supposed to have been a daughter of Elisha and Rebecca (Doane) 
Paine, of Eastham, Massachusetts, wdio moved to Canterbury, Con- 
necticut, in 1700. She was the widow of Robert Freeman at that time. 
Thomas, father of Shubael Dimmock, was a prominent man in Barn- 
stable, Massachusetts, where he lived from 1640 to his death in 1659. 
The children of Edward and Thankful Waldo were : Shubael, Edw'ard, 
Cornelius, Anne, John, Bethuel, Thankful, Joannah, Zacheus and 
John (2;. 

(IV) Shubael, oldest child of Edward Waldo, was born April 7, 
1707, in Windham, and died May 12, 1766, in Alstead, New Hamp- 
shire. He lived in that part of Norwich, Connecticut, now Lisbon, and 
was chosen "lister" at a town meeting December 31, 1736. He sold 
his farm there in 1738, and bought an estate in the northeast corner 
of Mansfield, March 19, 1738-9, to which he added more land in 1739, 
1745 and 1753. In 1754 and 1763 he conveyed land to his sons, Samuel 
and Edward, in all these transactions being named as of Mansfield. 
About 1769 he moved to Alstead, New Hampshire, where he passed 
the balance of his days. May 22, 1769, he purchased from Timothy 
Delano, for three hundred pounds. Lot 4 in the fifth range, and part 
of Lots 3 and 4, in the second range. In August of the same year he 
sold one half of these lands to his son, Edward, and subsequently deeded 
parcels to his sons, Daniel and Calvin. Having disposed of most of his 
property in life, he died intestate, and his estate was inventoried at 
twenty-three pounds, six shillings and eight pence, all personal. The 
town meetings of Alstead were frecjuently held at his house, and he 
was elected selectman in 1772. He was married October 14, 1730, at 
Bndgewater, Massachusetts, to Abigail, daughter of Samuel and Mary 
(Alden) Allen, of that town. She was born in 1712, in East Bridge- 
water, and died September 6, 1799, at the home of her son, Abiathar, 
in Shaftsbury, Vermont. Her children were Samuel, Shubael, Abia- 
thar, Jesse, Jonathan, Thankful, Edward, Daniel, Mary, Abigail, 
Beulah, Ruth, Rebecca, Ruth (2) and Calvin. 

(V) Shubael, second son and child of Shubael and .Abigail 
Waldo, was born January 10, 1733, in Lisbon, Cnnnecticut, baptized 
on the twenty-fifth of the following month, and died September 4, 



946 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

1807. in Herkimer, Xew York. Records of Alstead, New Hampsliire, 
siiow that he was with liis father in that town, whence he mo\-ed to 
this state. He was married Octoher 2, 1754, in Mansfield, Connecticut, 
to Priscilla. daughter of Samuel and Betty Smith, of that town. She 
was h(.irn January 4, 1734, in Colchester, in that state. ^Ir. \\'aldo"s 
first child was horn in i\Iansfield. He was a tanner hy occupation, 
and li\ed in se\eral ])laces. His children were: Tahitha, Joseph, 
Nathan, Cahin, Jaram, Shubael and Elizabeth. 

(\'l) Jaram, fourth son and fifth child of Shuliael antl Priscilla 
Waldo, was Ijorn in May, 1772, in Herkimer, and died in 1841, at 
Great Bend, this county. He was a farmer and shtiemaker. and a 
respected citizen. He was married at Rossie, St. Lawrence county. 
New York, to I.ois Kinne, who was born in 1775, and died in 1855, 
in Rutland, this county. Their children were named: Sally, Jonathan 
Haskell, Shubael, Daniel, Harriet, Huldah, Sophia, Avastia and 
Nancy. 

(VH) Avastia, daughter of Jaram and Lois Waldo, became the 
wife of Samuel Fultcm (see Lulton, VV). 

(V) Jnnathan. fifth son a.nd child of Shubael and Abigail Waldo, 
was born August 17. 1738. in what is now Lisbon, Connecticut, and died 
July 17, 1821, at Western, Xew \'nrk. He was a Baptist preacher, and 
li\"ed many \-ears in \'ermi_int, whence he was compelled to move by 
losses due to the depreciation of Continental money, after the close of 
the Revoluticin. He was married. May 25, 1762, to Ann Palmer, whose 
parentage is unknovxu. She was liorn September 2(k 1742, and died 
March ii, 1804. iiri.bably at Western. Their children were: Jnnathan, 
David, Gershom. ^Ln-y, Allen, Anna, Phipps. Anna (2), Aliiathar and 
Abigail. 

(Vi) Jonathan, first child of Jonathan ( 1) and Ann Waldn. was 
born A])ril 11. 1763, and died Feljruary 5, 1833. at Western, this state. 
Thei'e ho engaged ni agriculture and passed his life. He \\as a private 
in the Sixteenth New York militia, under Colonel Lewis Van Woert, and 
was in the field from August 13, 1779, until November 30, 1780. He 
was married (first) March 2. 1786, at Western, to Lucy, daughter of 
Thomas and Sarah Mattison, of Shaftsbury, \'ermi)nt. She was born 
April 2^), i7f)0, an<l died March 12, 1821, at Western. ;\[r. Waldo 
married (second) January 14, 1823, at Western. Diadama, widow of 
Ezra Barnard, whose maiden name was Porter. With his two wives, he 
was buried in the cemetery at Western. On September 2t,. 1795, he 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. U47 

bought seven hundreii ami three acres of land at Western, ami this gives 
an idea of the date of his removal thither. The children of Jonathan ( 2 ) 
and Lucy W'aldi^ were: Jonathan. Lucy, Allen, Tlmmas Alattison, 
Pamela, Anna, Phips. Ira. Sarah. David Jonathan and Isaiah Asa 
(twins), and Laura. Children of Diadama (Porter) Waldo: Ira and 
Susan. Pamela Waldo married, Octuber 5. 1819, at \\'estern, David, son 
of Philip and Louise (Utley) Smith. David Smith was born (October 
13, 1793, at \\^estern. and died February 25, 1864, in \\'atertown, where 
his wife passed away July 14, 1870. They were farmers and lived at 
South Champion untd old age, and were buried there. 

(^VII) Jonathan ^3), son of Jonathan (2) and Lucy Waldo, was 
born January 19, 1787, at Shaftsbury, Vermont, and dieil .\i)ril 29, 1841, 
in Rutland, this county. He was a farmer in \\'estern. later in Rutland, 
where he had nearly three hundreii acres, and married ]\Iary, daughter 
of William Olney, of Stillwater, New York. She was born June 30, 
1790, at Stillwater, and died April 16, 1867, in South Champion, where 
both are buried. She was married in 1844 to Isaac Myers, of Stillwater, 
where she subseciuently li\ed until old age. The children of Jonathan 
and Mary Waldo were: William Olney, Allen, Mary Olney, Theodore, 
and Mortimer — the last two being twins. Jonathan Waldo ( 3 ) was, 
affiliated with the Methodist ch.urch. 

(VIII) William Olney. first child of Jonathan (3) and Mary 
Waldo, was born March 10, 1813, in Western, and died April 30, 1850. 
in Rutland, where lie held ]jart of the paternal homestead, dividing it 
with his Ijnjthcr Allen. The latter died there July 29, 1878, aged sixty- 
fr)ur years, nine months ami four tlays. Marv O. married Elon Brown, 
and died in Cliampion January 25, 1859, aged thirt_\-iiine years. Theo- 
dore is now living m Rutland, and Mortimer died INIarch 12, 1888, in 
the town of Watertowii, where he was a farmer, aged sixty-se\'en years, 
two months and four days. 

W'illiam Olney Waldo continued farming on the homestead in Rut- 
land until his death, April 30, 1850, at the early age of thirty-seven 
years. He was married March 8. 1843. ^^ Martinsburg. New York, to 
Jane, daughter of Luke Searl, of Martinsburg. The last-named was born 
March 3, 1797, and died November 9. 1866. His wife. Alma Cook, was 
born June 5. 1801. and died December 14. 1890. Jane Searl was born 
April 20. 1821. and died March 6. 1864. William O. and Jane Waldo 
had two children. The eldest. Jay William, is mentioned at length here- 
inafter: and the younger. Rebecca, born in Rutland, died April 28. 1873. 



94S GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

aged twenty-three years, while the w'ife of her cousin, Charles Waldo, 
son of Allen Waldo, in Rutland. She left a son, Allen Waldo, now a 
bookkeeper in the office of Viles & Robbins, Chicago. 

(IX) Jay William, elder child of William O. and Jane Waldo, 
was born October 25, 1846, in Rutland, where he grew up, attending the 
district school w'ithin sight of his present residence, until he was seven- 
teen years old. Having been endowed by nature with a sound mind 
and body, he developed into a successful farmer and man of business, 
commanding the respect of his fellows. By studious habits he has become 
well informed, and bears no mean part in the life of his day. At the 
age of twenty years he took charge of the paternal homestead, and soon 
after bought out his sister's interest in the same. This patrimony of one 
hundred and fifteen acres he still holds, togetlier with two hundred and 
fifty acres in the town of Champion, which he purchased soon after his 
marriage. For a period of fifteen years he operated a sawmill at Tyler- 
ville, and made butter on a large scale nineteen years. Subsequently he 
gave attention to the manufacture of cheese, having a factory on his 
farm, wdiich was consumed by fire in the summer of 1903. He keeps 
ninety head of Holstein grade cattle, and milked sixty-tw-o cows in the 
season of 1903. While not affiliated w^ith any religious organization, 
Mr. Waldo endeavors to conform his life to the golden rule, and his 
harmonious relations with mankind at large indicate approximate suc- 
cess. He is an independent Democrat, and exercises considerable influ- 
ence in the conduct of town and county afifairs. He served as supervisor 
of Rutland four terms, w^ith satisfaction to his constituency. 

Mr. Waldo was married February 26, 1867, to Miss Margaret 
Matilda Bush, who was born January 22, 1846, in Turin, Lewis county. 
She is a daughter of George and Martha C. (Speed) Bush. A daughter 
and a son came to Mr. and Mrs. Waldo, namely, Martha J. and George 
W'illiam. The former died April 27, 1885, aged seventeen years, two 
months and eighteen days. . The latter is his father's assistant on the 
home farm. He was born February 16, 1874, married Elizabeth Plank, 
and resides with his father. 

George, son of Jonathan and Matilda (Pelton) Bush, was born 
November 26, 1817, in Turin, New York, and died January 14, 1892, in 
Champion. His first wife. Martha C. Speed, was born January 17, 1815, 
and died March 2, 1864, aged forty-nine years. Mr. Bush subsequently 
married INIary L. Ely, who died February 28, 1902, at the age of sixty- 
one years, six months and tw^enty-five days. Mrs. Waldo is the only one 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. '."iO 

of her mother's children now h\ing. her sister Mary iTrning died iri 
early life. 

NOAH CHAMBERLAIN, an industrious and successful citizen of 
Carthage, has conquered the way to success from very humble liegin- 
nings. He was born May 31, 1858, in the city of Montreal, Canada, a 
son of Theophile and Clotilde (Marcile) Chamberlain, of French descent. 
The parents died in Montreal at the ages of fifty-six and forty-three 
years, respectively. For nearly a quarter of a century the father was a 
trackman on the line of the Grand Trunk Railroad, and for a few }-ears 
subsequently was employed in the Montreal freight house of the same 
road. The parents were faithful members of the Roman Catholic church, 
in which they reared their children. The family was large, but only four 
of the children grew to maturity. The eldest. Clotilde. is the wife of 
Lewis Dagas, residing at Otter Lake, near Ottawa. Canada. Harriet 
married John Cumberland, and resides at St. Lambert. pro\ince of 
Quebec. Noah is tlie fourth, of \\h()m further mention occurs here- 
inafter. Isaac died June 17. 1887, at the age of twent)' years. 

Noah Chamberlain remained in his native city until he was eighteen 
years old, receiving instruction from the good priests of the "Brothers 
School." In 187G he came to Carthage, and has ever since been a resi- 
dent of this place, where he is reckoned among the substantial citizens. 
For the first two years he worked as a trackman on the local railroad, 
receiving ninety cents a day as wages. Upon this he married, and wdth 
the aid of a faithful helpmeet lias prospered and reared a family of bright 
and promising children. He soon learned the trade of carpenter, and 
for twenty-two years has been a contractor and jobber in building. He 
has constructed many of the homes of Carthage, and has contributed his 
share in various \vays to the growth and progress of the village. 

For a time Mr. Chamberlain gave some attention to electric con- 
struction, and built, installed and operated the electric light plant at 
Adams village, this county. He also built the plants at Alexandria Bay 
and Clayton, and operated the Carthage plant for some time. In 1902 
he turned his attention to the construction of cement walks, for which 
there is great demand in the village, and has done a very successful 
business in this line, having all the work he can take care of with the 
asfiistance of four men. He is now one of the principal house owners in 
the city. He built his present block on Church street, 26 feet bv 103 
feet, two stories high, and accommodating five families. This was the 



950 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

first flat-iiou^e tliat was built in Cartilage. It was erected in 1900 and 
was a new idea in this town. He has also huilt nine other houses which 
he rents to families. In 1890 he built his pleasant home on Adelaide 
street, where he is ever ready to entertain his friends in a most hos- 
pitable manner. His good humor never lapses, and he is an interesting 
conversationalist, as he endeavors to keep well informed, and is a man 
of sound judgment and keen insight. When he arrived in this state he 
had no kncwledge whatever of the English language, and was forced on 
this account to accept very humble employment, but he is one of these 
enterprising spirits who cannot be kept down, and he soon began to 
advarxe along the hues of modern progress. He became a naturalized 
citizen as soon as he attained his majority, and has always supported 
the Republican party. For more than fifteen years he has been a member 
of the local volunteer fire department, and is now assistant chief engineer. 
He is a member of the Royal Arcanum, Knights of the Maccabees, and 
Knights of Columbus, being master of the guards in the last named, and 
second master of the guards in the Maccabees. With his wife and family 
he holds membership in St. James' Roman Catholic church of Carthage. 
Air. Chamberlain was married December 25, 1879, to Miss Rosa 
Kimball, who was born at Redwood, this state, daughter of Neldo and 
Julia (Mallette) Kimball, who were born in Vermont and Canada, re- 
spectivelv, of English and French descent. Eight children complete 
y[r. Chamberlain's familv. namely : Harriet. Frederick, IMinnie, Ger- 
trude. Rose, Xoah, Wellington and Lilian. 

HARRY AXSOX ]MOODY. a prominent business man of New 
York city, is a scion of one of tlie first families of Jefferson county, and 
bears the Christian names of the three preceding generations of paternal 
ancestors. His family is among the earliest in New England, and has 
contributed man\- noted clergymen to that section, as well as men and 
women prominently active in social and business life. 

(I) The progenitor of all bearing this name in America was 
William ^iloody. who came from Wales in 1633. and spent the first 
winter in this country in Ipswich. ^Massachusetts. He moved to New- 
burv, same cnUmv. with the first settlers of the place in the spring of 
1635, and was there adnntted as freeman and received a grant of ninety- 
two acres of land. He. as well as his three sons, w^as of considerable 
note both in ecclesiastical and secular affairs of the town. The names 
of William, Samuel and Calel) Aloodv often occur in the various com- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. Stol 

mittees of the cluircli, irom whicli we may infer tliat they were pious 
men and possessed mucli practical wisdnm and general intelligence. 
There is a traditicm that William Moody was a blacksmith, and that he 
was the first in Xew England who adopted the practice of shoeing oxen 
to enable them to walk on ice. His wife's name was Sarah, and their 
sons were: Samuel, Joshua and Caleb. 

(II) Samuel, eldest son of William Moody, married Mary Cut- 
ting, and died in Xewbury, April 4, 1673. His widow subsequently 
married Daniel Lunt. Samuel's children were : Mary, William. Sara, 
Mary (j), Lydia, Hannah and Samuel. The last-named, born 1671, 
was grandfather of Rev. John M^iody, first minister of Newmarket, 
New Hampshire, and great-grandfather of Rev. Anms Moody, minis- 
ter at Pelham, same state. Another grandson was Re\-. Joshua Moody. 

(II) Joshua, second son of William and Sarah Moody, gradu- 
ated at Harvard College in 1653, and was ordained as the first Con- 
gregational minister of Portsmouth, New Hampshire, in 1671. He 
was minister of the First church in Boston from 16S4 to 1692, and died 
in that city July 4, 1697, in the sixty-lifth }ear of his age. He mar- 
ried (first) Miss Collins and (second) W'idow Ann Jacolis of Ipswich, 
who survived him. His son, Samuel ]\Ioody, graduated at Harvard 
College in 1689 and was settled as minister of Newcastle, New 'Hamp- 
shire. 

( II ) Caleb, third son of William and Sarah ]\Ioody, married 
Sarah Pierce, August 24, i'i59, and she died August 2^. 1665. He mar- 
ried for second wife Judith Bradliury, No\-ember 9, 1665. He died in 
Newbury August 25, 1698, aged sixty-one years, and his widow died 
January 24, 1700. His children were: Daniel, Sara, Caleb, Thomas, 
Judith, Joshua, \\'illiam, Samuel, ]\Iary and Judith. 

Anson Moody and his wife, Candace Carpenter, were among the 
pioneer settlers of Rodman, this county, arriving in 1801. Candace 
Carpenter (see Carpenter, XI\') was a daughter of William Carpenter, 
wjio was Ijorn in Coventry, Connecticut, and is supposed to have lived 
there at the time of the daughter's liirth. Tradition says that Anson 
]\lciiidv and wife came frrmi A'ermont tn Xew Yijrk. and it is prolial^le 
that they were married in that ^tate, where William Carpenter lived. 
His parents '^lied at Hartford, \'erm<int. 

Harry Ogden Hofifman ]\Io<idy, son of .\nson and Candace (Car- 
penter) Moody, was born June 15, 1802, in Rodman, being among the 
earliest natives of the county. He grew up there, and there received 



952 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

his education, which would not be measured as a hberal one by present 
standards. On attaining man's estate he married Caroline Ann Bibbins, 
who was born i\Iav 19. 1805, in Stillwater, Saratoga county. New York, 
a daughter of Arthur Bibliins, another pioneer of Rodman (see Bib- 
bins). Mr. Moody engaged in farming at Stone Mills, in Jefferson 
county, whence he moved soon after 1830 to Pulaski, Oswego county, 
and continued to engage in agriculture during the balance of his life. 
He w?as a member of the Methodist church and a Royal Arch Mason, 
and lived to aid in establishing the Republican party. One of his sons, 
Delano Gibson Moody, now occupies the paternal homestead at Pulaski. 

Anson Moodv, son of H. O. H. and Caroline A. (Bibbins) Moody, 
was born October 18, 1827, at Stone Mills, New York, and was a 
small child when his parents removed to Pulaski. Here he grew up 
and attended the public schools. He engaged in farming in the town of 
Brownville, and was thus engaged when the Civil war broke out. 
Among the first to respond to the call for troops to suppress the rebel- 
lion, he joined Company H, First New- York Heavy Artillery, under 
Joe. Spratt, and was soon in active service. His life was given up on 
the altar of freedom, and he passed away June 17, 1862, in hospital at 
Annapolis, as the result of wounds received at the battle of Fair Oaks, 
Virginia. His wife, Ellen L. McKee, was a daughter of Jason and 
Olive B. (Ransom) IMcKee. The}' were the parents of three children. 
The first two — Belle F... wife of John R. Easley, and Frank M. Moody 
— reside at Newark, New York. 

Harry Anson Moody, youngest child of Anson and Ellen L. (]Mc- 
Kee) Moody, was born September 10, 1858. in Brownville, and was 
reared in Watertown. His attendance at school was cut short at the 
early age of eleven years by the necessity of earning something toward 
his own support. By subsecjuent study at night schools, wdiile at work, 
and by private study and travel and observation, he has become one 
of the best-infi)rmed men of his time, outside of professional life. After 
spending t\\o years, from eleven to thirteen years of age, in the book- 
store of Hanford & Wood, in \\'atertown, he was sent to the country 
on account of feeble health. A year on the farm of his grandfather 
served to make him robust and prepare him for the acti\'e business career 
which has taken up his time since. Entering the dry goods store of A. 
Bushnell & Company, at Watertown, as check boy, he continued twelve 
years in that establishment and occupied the position of head salesman 
when he left it. The first years brought plenty of hard work, wath what 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. rt53 

seemed then like little reward, liut he regards his training under the 
strict eye of Mr. Bnshnell as a most valuable experience and the foun- 
dation of his success as a business man. On leaving Watertown Mr. 
Moody went to Rochester, with the intention of studying stenography, 
but soon went on the road as a salesman, continuing thus one }'ear. Dur- 
ing the next nine years he was a salesman in the dry goods store of 
Sibley, Lindsay & Kerr. For the next three years he was manager of 
the Rochester store of F. \\'. W'oolworth, and was called from there in 
1896 to become a buyer for the Woolworth syndicate stores, with head- 
quarters at the New York office. He has since continued in that posi- 
tion. Upon the incorporation of F. W. Woolworth & Company, Feb- 
ruary 16, 1905, Mr. Moody became one of the directors nf the concern, 
whose success in the business world is in considerable measure due to 
the faithful and efficient efforts of Mr. Moody. 

He continues the filial and patriotic remembrance of his father by 
maintaining membership in the Pulaski Camp, Sons of Veterans. As 
an attendant and supporter of the Central Congregational church of 
Brooklyn, he aids in maintaining the gospel, and is active in supporting 
his political principles at the polls, acting with the Republican part}- in 
national and state affairs, but independent in local matters. 

Mr. Moody was married September i, 1887, to Miss Anna B. 
Douglass, a native of Pulaski, daughter of Isaac P. and Martha J. 
(Moody) Douglass, ]\trs, ^Momly being a distant relative of her hus- 
band. They are the parents of a daughter, Doroth_\- Douglass Abjody, 
born .\ugnst 31, 1895. 

CARPENTER. This is one of the ancient names which have 
figured in the settlement and development of Jefferson county, and 
it still has prominent representatives among its citizens. It has been 
scattered throughout the United States and has carried with it New 
England standards and gwen its sons to the public service in many 
commonwealths. 

ri) The first of the name <if whom record has been found was 
John Carpenter, born al.iout 1303, who was a member oi parliament 

ill 13-3- 

(II) Richard, scm of John Carpenter, born about -1335, married 

Christina . He resided in London, was a " chaundeler," and 

possessed of wealth for his day. 



954 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

(Ill) and (IV) The succeetliiig generation in this line were rep- 
resented hy John Carpenter. 

(V) Wiiiiani Carpenter, son of John (2), horn ahout 1480. 
died 1520, was known as " W'ilHam of Homme." 

( \'I ) and (VII) James and John iiH in the sixth and seventh 
generations. 

(\ III) Wilham, son of Jijhn Carpenter, had sons — James, Alex- 
ander, William and Richard. 

(IX) William, third son of William (i). was born in 1576, 
was a carpenter by trade and resided in London. He rented tenements 
and gardens in Houndsditch. Being a dissenter he was driven to 
Whirwell to escape persecution, and took the opportunity to join his 
sons in emigrating to America. He was not contented on this side, 
however, and returned to England on the ship which brought him. 

(X) W'illiam (3), son of William (2) Carpenter, was born 
May 25, 1605, and came to America on the ship "Bevis," from South- 
ampton. He was made a freeman in Weymouth. Massachusetts, in 
1640. and was representative from that town in 1641 and 1643. He 
filled the same position in Rehoboth in 1645. He died in Rehoboth 
February 7, i6<:)7. and his wife, Abigail, passed away February 7, 
1659. Three of their children were born in England, three in Wey- 
mouth and orie in Rehobt)th. namely: John. William. Joseph. Hannah, 
Abiah and Abigail (twins) and Samuel. 

(XI) William (4). second son and child of William (3) and 
Abigail Carpenter, born about 1631. in England, married Priscilla 
Bennett October 5. 165 1. She died October 20. 1663, and he was 
married December 10, 1663, to Marion Searles. who survived him 
many years, dying ]\Iay i, 1722, aged ninety-three years. He died 
lanuary 26, 1703, in Reholioth. He was a farmer, and was town 
clerk from I\Iay 13, 1668, until his death, except in 1693. He was 
representative in the general court in 1656 and 1668, and was made 
deacon of the church in the latter year. In 1685 he was surveyor of 
the " Xortb Purchase," and laid out eighty-three fifty-acre lots. He 
was a fine writer, a man of superior ability, and exercised great in- 
rtuence in the community. His estate was appraised at two hundred 
and fifteen pounds, five shillings and four pence. He had fourteen 
children, named as follows : John, W^illiam. Priscilla, Benjamin, 
Josiah, Xathaniel, Daniel, Noah. Miriam. Obadiab. Epbraim (died 
young). Ephraini. Hannah and Abigail. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. '••55 

(XII) Benjamin, third son and fourth child of William and 
Priscilla (Bennett) Carpenter, was bereft of his mother on the day 
of his birth. October 20, 1663. in Rehoboth. He was married March 
14, 1 69 1, to Hannah Strong, daughter of Jedediah and Freedom 
(Woodward) Strang, and granddaughter of Elder John Strong. He 
was a farmer, and in 1708 moved to Northampton. Massachusetts, 
soon after going to Coventry. Connecticut, where he died April 18, 
1738. His wife survived him. ijassing away INIarch 20, 1762. aged 
ninety-one years. Their children were named : Prudence. Freedom. 
Amos, Benjamin, Jedediah, Hannah. Eliphalet. Elizabeth (died young). 
Noah, Elizabeth. Ebenezer and Rebecca. 

(XIII) Ebenezer. seventh son and eleventh child of Benjamin 
and Hannah (Strong) Carpenter, was born November 9, 1709, the first 
white born in Conventry. and was married June 19, 1739, to Eunice 
Thompson, who was born in 1722 and died January 21. 1777, aged 
fiftv-tive years. He died January 30. 1777. and both were buried in 
one grave in Hartford. Vermont. They fell victims of spotted fever. 
Mr. Carpenter was a farmer and shrewd business man. dealing largely 
for his time in real estate. He held the office of constable and other 
responsible positions. His children were: Asa. James. William, 
Bridget. Josiah. Catherine. Eunice, Phebe. Ebenezer. Amos and Betsey. 

(XIV) William, third son and child of Ebenezer and Eunice 
(Thompson) Carpenter, was born October, 1742, probably in Coven- 
try, and died December 24. 18 14. He was married February 19. 1767, 
to Rachel Badger, who died January 30. 1830. aged eighty-three 
years. He was a farmer. His children were: William. Rachel. John, 
Tirzah. Candace. David. ]\Iary. and Jerome. ]Mary married Xoah Mer- 
win. and lived in Rodman. New York. 

(XV) Candace. fifth child and third daughter of William and 
Rachel (Badger) Carpenter, was born May 15. 1779. and died No- 
vemlier 18, 1828. in Rodman, being the wife of Ansiin Aloody (see 
Moody). 

JAMES ANDREW OUTTERSON, one of the largest manufac- 
turers of paper in northern New York, the leading paper-producing sec- 
tion of the United States, is also identified as a promoter and stockholder 
in many other industries employing the artisan and mechanic. Mr. 
Outterson is a native of Binghamton. New York, born Octol^er 18, 1858. 
His grandfather. Andrew Outterson. was a native of Scdtland. and is 



956 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

mentioned more at length m another place in this work. Colonel James 
T. Outterson, father of the subject of this sketch, is a well-known paper 
manufacturer, and receives proper notice in this work. 

James A. Outterson grew up at Pulaski, Oswego county, which 
is the native place of his mother. Frances Elizabeth Jones. He was 
somewhat wayward as a boy, and could not be kept steadily at his books. 
As a consec[uence he was put to work in a paper mill at Rainbow, Con- 
necticut, at the early age of ten years. His father was superintendent of 
the mill there at that time. ]'"rom this time on his attention has been 
pretty steadily given to the art of producing paper of all grades, and he 
became proficient in every department of the work, having been con- 
nected with several mills in time. In the summer of 1884 he set out in 
business on his own account b}' rentmg a paper mill at Fayetteville. near 
Syracuse, where he met a discouraging misfortune at the end of six 
months' time, the mill being destroyed by fire, together with much stock 
and tools and materials which he had accumulated. In June, 1885. Mr. 
Outterson became associated with two others in the operation of a paper 
mill. Since that time he has been active in extending the operations of 
the pai)er industry in Jefferson county, with the exception of three years 
spent at Potsdam, St. Lawrence county, during which time he organized 
the Rncquette l\i\er Paper Company, and constructed and set in opera- 
tion its extensive plant. He is now president of the Champion and W^est 
End Paper Companies, of Carthage, the Carthage Sulphite Pulp Com- 
pany and the Carthage Machine Company, of the same place; of the 
De Grasse Paper Company and Malone Paper Company : and is manager 
of the Dexter Sulphite Company of Dexter, and the Orr Pulp and Paper 
Company of Troy, New York. He gives much of his time to the last 
named, one of the most extensive plants of its kind anywhere. All these 
institutions are in successful operation, and much of their prosperity is 
due to the luitiring energy, executive ability and industry of James A. 
Outterson. The Carthage Machine Company is a most valuable adjunct 
of his other interests, being employed in the production of paper-making 
machinery and tools. 

Of social and genial nature. Mr. Outterson counts his friends by 
the number of his accjuaintances. and in the midst of his multitudinous 
interests and duties finds time to cultivate social interests. With nO' 
ostentation he goes quietly about his work, and the humblest employe 
may approach him with assurance of a courteous hearing" and just treat- 
ment in all things. He is frequently called upon to address labor assem- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 957 

blits, and enjoys the respect and confidence of all with whom he may 
be in any way associated. He has attained high degree in the Masonic 
fraternity, being a member of Carthage Lodge and Chapter; Watertown 
Commandery, Knights Templar; Media Temple, Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine, of Watertown. Norwood Lodge of Perfection, and Central City 
Consistory, of Syracuse. He is also a member in good standing of Car- 
thage Lodge and Oriental Encampment, of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, of Carthage, and the local camp of the Liiproved Order of Red 
Men. He is a past master of Carthage Masonic Lodge. He attends and 
supports Grace Episcopal church of Carthage, and has always been 
known as a steadfast and consistent adherent of Republican principles. 
He has served as president of the village of Carthage three years, and 
as supervisor of the town of Wilna one term. He was representative of 
the Carthage district in the state assemblies of 1902 and 1903. Always 
alert and guided by sound judgment, he is ever prompt in action, and 
gave the same attention to the public interests while in official position 
v.'hich has characterized his private business career. 

Mr. Outterson was married, October 28, 1886, to JNIiss Eva S. 
Peck, who was born at Ticonderoga, New York, a daughter of Horace 
and Mary E. (Coburn) Peck, of old Crown Point families. Two of the 
three children of Mr. and Mrs. Outterson are now living — James Neil 
and Geraldine Eva. Donald C. died at the age of two years and eight 
months. The elegant home of the family was purchased in 1900, and is 
the abode of good taste, cheerful hospitality and the kindliest courtesy. 
It stands on the principal street of Carthage, in the midst of spacious 
grounds, seeming to smile a w-elcome to all. 

COLONEL JAMES THOMAS OUTTERSON, the gentleman 
whose name mlroduces this narrative, one of the leading paper pro- 
ducers of Jefferson county, has passed most of his life in connection 
with that industry, in this state, and the greater part of his active ca- 
reer, has been pursued in this county. He was born November 6, 1836, 
at Poquonock, in the town of Windsor, Hartford county, Connecticut, 
where his father was then superintendent of a paper mill. 

His grandfather, Andrew Outterson, was the only son of a miller, 
living in northern Scotland. Andrew received an excellent education, 
and was able to speak seven languages sufficiently well for business pur- 
poses. He became expert in the art of making paper, and spent five years 
in this country, after his son had immigrated, being among the first 



95S GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

to ci)!(jr paper in America. His descendants preserve with a natural pride 
a letter w ritlen by him on a composite slieet showing the fourteen colors 
he made. From here he went to German}-, to instruct in the coloring 
of paper, and died in that country. His widow survived him some years, 
li\ing with her son James in Ireland, and after her death the last-named 
came to America. The mother hore the maiden name of Isabella Thomp- 
son, and the fannly mcluded six children. .Vndrew. the eldest, is men- 
tiiiued at length in a ft)llowing paragraph. Alary, the second, married 
Richard Brooks, and lived in Rainbow, Connecticut. James lived in 
the same locality, and was killed In' the cars near Richland. New A'ork, 
while en route to \'isit his relati\'es in Jefferson county. John liveil and 
died in Connecticut. Jane, wife of John West, resides in Lynn, Ahissa- 
chusetts. Llsie died at the age of fourteen years. 

Andrew, son ot Andrew and Isabella Outterson, was born Novem- 
ber 14. 1805, near Edmburgh. Scotland, and early turned his attention 
to paper making. When a young man he was employed in this ca- 
pacity in Ireland, and was married, in Octoljer, 18 — . at Dublin to Eliz- 
abeth Josephine Carmll, the youngest of the sixteen children of Jiiseph 
and Bridget Carroll, who lived and died there. Joseph Carroll was fore- 
man of one paper mill fur twenty years, and spent h.is life in the paper 
making industry. In 1834 Andrew Outterson came to America and was 
joined by his family eighteen months later. He at once became super- 
intendent of the Hudson paper mills in Manchester, Connecticut, and 
was later installed in the same capacity at the Poquonock mills. Suljse- 
quently he was the owner of mills at Dansville and Pulaski, in this 
state. The latter was swept away by a flood, and for a period of seven- 
teen years thereafter he was superintendent of the Hitchcock paper 
nulls, near Westchester. Pennsylvania, making bank paper exclusively. 
Retiring from active life on account of advancing years, he lived sume 
time at Watertown. and died at Lyonsdale, Lewis county, h'ebruary 5, 
1888, in his eighty-third year. His wife died March 10, 1881, in Penn- 
svlvania, and l)oth were buried at Pulaski. Of their thirteen children, 
six were born in Ireland. Two among the older ones died in childhood, 
and nine are still living. Of the eleven who grew to maturity, the eld- 
est, Andrew, has lived at various points in Connecticut and New \'()rk, 
and novr resides at Port Ley<len. Joseph died in February. 1904. at 
Svracuse. Lsabella is the widmv of Eugene Lane, residing in \\'ater- 
town. ]\larv married Orrin Redway. and li\es at Boise. Idaho. Fliza 
resides in Pulaski, the wife of Thomas Wallace. James T. is the sixth. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 959 

William is a citizen of Pulaski, where John Simon Harrison, the eighth, 
died soon after the civil war from the effects of a wound received in 
that struggle, while a member of the One Hundred and Xinth Regiment 
New York Infantry. Frank is a resident of Carthage, Xew York. 
Charles is a paper maker, located at Holyoke, Massachusetts. Caroline, 
wife of William X_\e, lives at Syracuse. The father of this family took 
no part in pulilicai matters, but was an acti\'e member of the Protestant 
, Episcopal church, in which he filled sex'eral offices, and was also a Free 
Mason and Odd Fellow — all e\'idencing his interest in human welfare 
and a desire to perform his duty toward his fellows. His nature was 
generous, and he had many friends wherever he lived. 

James T. Outterson came with his parents to this state Ijefore he was 
ten years old, and received most of his public school education in Dans- 
ville and Rochester, Xew York. Besitle his stud}- of books he began 
when ten years old to assist in the operations of paper making, and 
early gained a practical knowledge which, onlv experience can give. 
from the age of nineteen he has Ijeen self-supporting, and has received 
the emoluments ot his industr\-. enterprise and executive abilitv. After 
working as a journeyman in mills at Pulaski, Little Falls and Bingham- 
ton, he took charge as superintendent of the paper mills at Rainbow, a 
village a short distance above his native village, on Farmington river, 
in Windsor, Connecticut. After about three years in this position be 
went to Palmer's Falls, on the Hudson, as superintendent of the Hudson 
River Paper Company's plant, and remained nearly five years. In asso- 
ciation with others be perfected a new process for making pulp paper, 
and built mills at \\'arrensburg for its operation. They also erected 
shops at Sandy Hill, Washington county, Xew York, for the production 
of the machinery required in their ])rocess, and did an extensive busi- 
ness in that section of the state. He has been interested in various paper 
making plants, and came to Brownville with his sons in 1886. They 
erected pulp and paper mills there, and subsequently at Dexter, and 
I\Ir.' Outterson has given his entire time to the operation of plants be- 
low Watertown, on Black river ever since. He is now treasurer of the 
Dexter Sulphite Pulp and Paper Company, and has maintained bis resi- 
dence in W'atertown for the last fourteen years. 

During the ci\il war Colonel Outterson recruited a company wdiich 
went out in 1864 as a part of the One Huntlred and Eighty-fourth Regi- 
ment Xew York Infantry, under bis command as captain. This regi- 
ment was immediatelv placed, at the front, and was much of the time 



960 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

under lire, tliuugh it did not take part in any heavy engagement. It 
was tlie first tci enter the Confederate capital after its evacuation by the 
rebel forces. Through his connection with the Grand Army of the 
Republic, Captain Outterson is now known by the title of colonel. He 
affiliates with Joe. Spratt Post No. 323, of that order, in Watertown, 
having served several times as its commander, and in other official con- 
nections. He is a member of the Watertown Lodge, Chapter and Com- 
mandery of the Masonic fraternity, and the Scottish Rite bodies of the 
same order. He is a faithful member of Trinity (Protestant Episcopal) 
church, and of the Lincoln League, the last indicating the stability of 
his Republicanism. 

Mr. Outterson has been three times married. His first .vedding 
occurred in 1S56, the bride being Miss Frances Jones., a native of Pu- 
laski, daughter of Chauncey and Susan Jones, old residents of that town. 
Mrs. Outterson died in 1878, and in 1880 i\'Ir. Outterson mairied Mar- 
garet Weaver, who was born at Sandy Hill, this state, and died b'ebiu- 
ary^ 1890. The third marriage took place in 1896, to Eudora Pelton, 
of Chautauqua county. Five children were given to Mr. Outterson and 
his first wife. Chauncey R., the first, died when seventeen years old. 
Proper mention of the second, James A., appears on another page. 
Charles is a resident of Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, where he operates 
a pulp and paper mill. Frances Mabel married W. H. T.Ionty, of Albany, 
and Catherine is the wife of Alvin Bernier, of New York city. An 
adopted daughter, Blanche, resides with her foster parents. 

CAPTAIN JESSE EDWIN WILLES, deceased, one of the most 
highly respected and honored citizens of Carthage, passed away at his 
home in that village May 12, 1889, and his demise was regretted and 
mourned by all classes of citizens. 

He was born March 14, 1821, at Berne, Alliany county. New York, 
being the son of Chester and Sally (Gallup) Willes, the former of 
English descent and the latter of Dutch ancestry, born in Berne, Albany 
county, this state, where she was married. Chester Willes was an early 
resident of Carthage, coming from Dexter, and was engaged in the man- 
ufacture of axes, at which his son was employed. At about the age of 
eighteen, Jesse E. Willes went to Antwerp, this county, where he learned 
the trade of blacksmith, with one Hill, serving until he was twenty-one 
vears of age. There he met and married Miss Betsey Seymour, daugh- 
ter of a native Scotchman, Asher Seymour, in 1844. She was born 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 961 

August 22, 1S22. at Antwerp, and died at Carthage, November 16, 
1875, leaving a son — Franklin Eugene Willes, now a prominent busi- 
ness man of Evansville, Indiana. Jesse E. Willes, operated a l)lacksmith 
shop at Somerville, St. Lawrence county, for about two years, and then 
moved to Antwerp, JeiTerson county, .where he continued in the black- 
smithing business for several ^•ears. He finally traded his shop for a farm, 
which he successfully conducted until iS()i, when he sold out and re- 
moved to Carthage, New York. 

Early in i86j he enlisted as a soldier and raised a cnuipany of men 
which was mustered into the United States service, but he himself 
was rejected on account of physical disability. He was, however, ap- 
pointed a regimental quartermaster with the rank of captain, June 24, 
1864, and sent to Keokuk, Iowa, where he remained until February, 
i860, closing up the affairs of the military post after the war, and re- 
ceiving his discharge at the latter date. 

Soon after this he became interested in the manufacture of iron 
nails and axes at Carthage, in association with Miles Gardner, but their 
mill was swept away by high water in 1869, destroying in one night the 
savings of years of toil and industry. Mr. Willes was not one to sul>- 
mit idly to misfortune, and after going through bankruptcy he subse- 
quently paid every dollar of honest debt and left a clear record as a most 
valuable heritage to his son. In February, 1869, he was appointed 
postmaster at Carthage, and continued to fill that position for twelve 
consecutive years. It is notable that his accounts always balanced to a 
permy, and he was frequently complimented by the postoffice officials 
for the excellent state of affairs under his administration. This was 
th.e result of constant personal attention to his official duties, and was a 
fair illustiation of the character of the man. In his old age misfortune 
continued to pursue him, and his home and all his papers were de- 
stroyed in the "great fire" of October 20, 1884. In the following year 
he erected on the site the handsome home now occupied by his widow. 
He also built the first brick block in Carthage. 

Mr. Willes was always active in promoting the best interests of the 
community and took an active part in political affairs. In 1853 he was 
elected to the assembly from the Jefferson county district on the Prohibi- 
tion ticket, defeating Whig and Democratic opponents, and served with 
credit to himself and his district. On the organization of the Republican 
part} he was one of its ardent supporters, and never wavered in alle- 
giance to its principles. In Carthage he worshiped at the Presbvterian 



1)6-2 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

ciunxh. He was a meniber of the Masonic fraternity, and ui the Inde- 
pendent (Jrder of Odd Fellows, holding membership at Antwerp, and 
was often called upon to act as chaplain with the local lodge at funerals. 
In his last years he was somewhat disabled as the result of a fall of 
twenty-five feet from the tower of the Presbyterian church, and was 
compelled to decline the offer of the Republican nomination for sheriff 
(practically equi\'alent to an election) because his health would not per- 
mit him to serve. He was ever independent, refusing to submit to 
"boss" rule, and stood honest and fearless before men. and was honored 
and beloved for his spotless integrity. He was industrious and tem- 
perate, his word was his bontl. and no stain l.ilots or mars his name or 
character. 

December 2^, 1876, ;\Ir. Willes married Miss Mary E. ]\Iiller, a 
native of Morristown, New York, daughter of Paschal and Emily 
(Canfield) Miller. Paschal Miller was born October 10, 1797, and 
died August 8, 1846. He was a son of Rev. Alexander Miller, of Hack- 
ensack, New Jersey, who was married April 26, 1786, to Elizabeth 
Avers, went to Albany county, this state, and moved thence to Ogdens- 
burg in 1810. Emdy Canfield was a daughter of John and Rebecca 
(Smith) Canfield, of Sandisfield. ]Massachusetts. She was b(irn Au- 
gust 8. 1815, at Cnpenhagen, New York, was married to Paschal Miller 
July 23, 1838, and died April 9, 1892, at Hammond, St. Lawrence 
county, New York, aged seventy-six years. After the death of ]Mr. ]\Iil- 
ler she married John Grifiin. The ancestry of Rebecca (Smith) Canfield 
is traced as follows : 

1. Ralph Smith, born about 1600. came from Hingham. Norfolk, 
England, about 1635. '^^'^^ moved from Hingham, ■Massachusetts, to 
Easthaiu, Cape Cod. in 1645. There he died in 1685. His first wife. 
HKither of his children, was Rebecca Hobart, and his second wife bore 
the name of Cirace. 

2. Samuel, second child and eldest son of Ralph Smith, was born 
in 1641, at Hin.gham, and died March 22, 1697, at Eastham. He mar- 
ried. January 3, 1665. Mary, daughter of Giles Hopkins, a son of 
Stephen Hopkins. She was liorn at Yarmouth in 1640. and died March 
20, 1696. 

3. John, fourth child and third son of Samuel and Mar\- Smith, 
born March 26, 1673, at Eastham, died in Chatham about 1717. He 
married, May 14, 1694, at Eastham. Bethia Snow, a descendant of 





'C)^>~t>*^~i2--^ 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 963 

Nicholas and Constance Snow, the last-named a daughter of Stephen 
Hopkins. 

4. Samuel, second child and second son of John and Bethiah Smith, 
born May 21, 1G96. at Eastham. married. July 19. 1718, Mercy Hig- 
gins. of Eastham. Sh.e died September 25, 1736. and he subsequently 
married Sarah Snow, a descendant of Stephen Hopkins. 

5. Stephen, fourth child and third son of Samuel and Mercy 
Smith, born September .?<S. 1744. at Eastham, died in Sandisfield, Alas- 
sachusetts, about 1839. He n-iarried, at Eastham. January 18, 1766, 
Sarah Pepper, a descendant of Isaac Pepper, an early settler of Eastham. 
She died at Sandisfield, August 16, 1796. 

6. Rebecca, third child and second daughter of Stephen and Sarah 
Smith, married John Canfield. as above related. She was born April 
14, 1775, in Sandisfield. 

JOHN RUFUS VAN WORMER was born in Adams. Jeffer- 
son county. New York, Marcli 14, 1849, ^'^^'^ ^'''^s educated in the 
schools of his native village. Shortly after the outbreak of the Civil 
war he learned telegraphy and soon became an expert operator, work- 
ing in many of the i)rincipal cities of the state, alsij writing for the 
newspapers on political subjects, and finally becoming actively inter- 
ested in politics. Mr. \'an Wormer was studious, industrious, per- 
sistent, far-sighted, and had a decided preference for the study and in- 
vestigation of economic, philosophical and historic sul>jects. Before 
arriving at the years of maturity he was proficient in the discussion 
of public c|uestions. From the moment his means permitted he became 
a collector of fine books, a habit which strengthens with his years. 
While in the employ of the Western Union Telegraph Company at Al- 
bany, New York, during the winter of 1876-77, ]\Ir. Van Wormer 
was the private secretaiy of the Hon. George B. Sloan, of Oswego, 
speaker of the assembly. Shortly after the close of the legislative ses- 
sion he went to- Washington as the private secretary of the Hon. Ros- 
coe Conkling and clerk of the committee on commerce of the United 
States senate. For two years Mr. Van Wormer was associated in a 
confidential capacity with Hon. Thomas L. James in the New York 
postoffice, and when this gentleman became postmaster-general in the 
cabinet of President Garfield, in 1881, again returned to Washing- 
ton as his secretary. Soon after he was made chief clerk of the de- 
partment and its executive oflicer. in which capacity he served through- 



964 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

out the brief but notable administration of Mr. James. The reorganiza- 
tion of the postoffice department proper, and the celebrated " Star 
Route " exposures and investigations which promptly succeeded Mr. 
James's incumbency of the office of postmaster-general, afforded an ad- 
mirable opportunity for Mr. Van Wormer to display his business abil- 
ity, his great capacity for work, his wide knowledge of men and things, 
and his promptness and fearlessness in meeting emergencies. After 
the tragic death of President Garfield, Mr. Van Wormer decided to 
retire from politics. In 1882 he accepted the position of teller of the 
Lincoln National Bank, which had just been organized. The bank 
was situated at the corner of Forty-second street and Vanderbilt ave- 
nue, opposite the Grand Central Station, in the city of New York, and 
the Hon. Thomas L. James was its president. Later Mr. Van Wormer 
became secretary, treasurer and general manager of the Lincoln Safe 
Deposit and Warehouse Company. 32-42 East Forty-second street and 
45-55 East Forty-first street, which in 1883 became the permanent 
home of the bank. The large group of buildings of the Safe Deposit 
Company, opposite the Grand Central Station, was the first structure 
devoted to banking and fine warehouse purposes which was built en- 
tirely without the use of wood. The business of the " Lincoln " em- 
braces the warehousing of household effects and works of art, the stor- 
age of silver-plate and bullion, the care of furs, rags, carpets, tapes- 
tries and personal apparel in cold storage compartments, and the guar- 
anteeing of the same against loss from Ixirglaiy, fire or moth, the 
renting of safes in burglar-proof vaults, etc. The volume of the busi- 
ness is very large, and the personal property in the custody of the com- 
pany amounts in value to hundreds of millions of dollars. From the 
early days of its career the Lincoln was financially successful. In re- 
spect to the policy of its management its up-to-date methods and the 
perfection of its equipment, it is regarded by the warehousemen of the 
country as being a model of its kind. The Brooklyn Warehouse and 
Storage Company, on Schermerhorn street, near Third avenue and 
Nevin street, in the borough from which its name was derived, was 
organized and the first fireproof warehouse built some fifteen years 
ago. It has lieen enlarged since, and is in every way a successful 
enterprise. Mr. \'an Wormer was one of the principal organizers of 
this company, and was chairman of the building committee, and from 
the outset has been its vice-president. 

In 188G Mr. \'an \\V)rmer joined the Union League Club of his 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 9(>o 

adopted city. In iScjj and 1893 lie was secretary nt the clulj. For three 
years thereafter he was a meniher of the executive committee and 
chairman of the liouse committee. The New York Athletic Club was 
organized in 186S by a few enthusiastic oarsmen, gymnasts and amateur 
de\-otees of field sports. In 1885 it was strong enough to build, at the 
corner of Sixth avenue and Fifty-fifth street, the first im]iortant struc- 
ture designed for and exclusively devoted ti> athletic jnu-poses. Every- 
where in the w>trld where interest was taken in amateur' athletics this 
achievement was regarded as phenomenal. By 1S95 the board of gov- 
ernors was satisfied that this building was obsolete and inadequate, and 
that immediate steps must lie taken to provide more cnmmodious and 
modern cjuarters. In 1892 a fine pint rif ground had been purchased 
on the corner of Sixth a\'enue and b'ifty-ninth street, overlooking Cen- 
tral Park. A building and finance committee of eleven members of the 
clul) was appointed, clothed with authority to manage the finances of 
the enterprise and o\-ersee the construction of one of the largest and 
most unique club liouses in the country. Mr. James \Mfitney. the presi- 
dent of the club, was chairman of the committee, and Mr. Van Wor- 
mer. then vice-president, was a member. The new house was completed 
and occupied March 2(\, 1898. At the end of the year 1899 the finances 
of the organizatir:n were in an unsatisfactory condition ; the income did 
not meet the expenses and fixed charges, and the Habilities were abo\'e a 
million of dollars. E\'ery person who is experienced in the manage- 
ment of club affairs, and particularl}- of club finances, is aware of the 
inherent difficulties which characterize them even in prosperous times. 
]\Ir. Van Wormei" was unanimously elected president, and began his 
administration earlv in Januar\'. 1900. In January. 1905. he was 
elected president for the sixth time. During the five years and more 
of his administration the liabilities ha\-e been decreased over .S 150.000. 
and will be further decreased in 1905 by some $75,000. During the 
same period more than $190,000. were spent on the property for repairs, 
betterments and equipment. The city club house is absolutely com- 
plete in its appointments; it has a large swimming pool, Turkish and 
Russian baths, a two-story gymnasium, boxing, wrestling and fencing 
rooms, tennis and squash courts, bowling alleys, a billiard and pool 
room, a large library, eighty fine sleeping rooms, kitchens and laun- 
dries on the roof, and facilities to serve dinner to five hundred people 
at one sitting. 

On Long Island Sound, near New Rochelle. the club owns Traver's 



i»66 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Island, wliich is used as a cimntry Imuse and for the purpose of training 
rowing- crews and a large number of young athletes in the various 
phases of field sports. The membership of the Xew York Athletic Club 
is over four tlmusand six hundred, and its income in 1904 was above 
$758,000. 

In addition to the athletic cluli, ^Ir. Van Wormer is a member of 
the Union League, ^Magnetic, Manhasset, New York Yacht and Larch- 
niont Yacht Clubs: and of the following societies: Holland. Saint 
Nicholas. New England, and the Sons of the American Revdlution. In 
1904 Colgate University conferred upon Air. Van \Vormer the honor- 
ary degree of Master of Arts. 

'\\r. Van Wormer's Dutch ancestors arrived in New Amsterdam 
from Holland in 1630. They were from the small village of Wormer, 
on a canal near Amsterdam. His great-great-grandfather, Henry Van 
Wormer. married Catalina Brow-er. who was descended in a direct line 
from the Rev. Everardus Bogardus and the famous Anneke Jans ; his 
great-grandfather, wdio married INilly Oiler, was born in Schaghticooke, 
Alban_\- county. New '^'ork, later Rensselaer county. Schaghticooke was 
situated on the Hoosic ri\er. which empties into the Hudson, and was 
in pre-revolutionary times the Imme of a tribe of Indians of that name 
which adhered to the colonial cause and a jiart of whom were captured 
In- the British and their Indian allies and taken to Canada. For many 
years before as well as during the Revolutii^n, the region in cjuestii^n 
was disputed and sanguinary ground, and its inhabitants never knew 
what the feeling of absolute security was. Even the boys were taught 
woodcraft, a knowledge of the habits and warfare of the Indians, and 
how to load f|uick and shoot straight. One of the numerous children of 
Jacob Wan ^^^)rmer and Polly Oiler was Abraham, born in 1789. He 
went til Jefferson county as a soldier during the war of iSij. Early in 
181 5 he married Clarissa Richardson and settled in Ellisburg. of the 
same count}', where some of his kindred had been for several vears. 
Clarissa Richardson was a daughter of Rufus Richardson and Sarah 
Holden, of Barrie, Massachusetts. The l\ichar(lsons came to New Eng- 
land from Essex, b'ngland. in 1^130. Rufns \'an \\'ormer married 
Eunice Al. Bullock, of South Trenton, ()neiila count\'. New York, where 
her father. Royal Bullock, a nati\e of C.uilfortl, \\'yndham count}-. Ver- 
mont, settled in 1804. Her niother was Eunice Pennell. whose father, 
.Andrew W. I'ennell. emigrated from Halifax. \'ern-iont. to Belle\-ille. 
Jefferson count}-, Xew York, in 1805. Rufus Richardson \''an Wormer 



GENEALOGICAL AND EAMILY HISTORY. ' 967 

and Eunice M. BuUuck had Juhn Rufus \im Wcirmer. The emigrant 
Pennell came to Pelham. Massachnsets, from Yorkshire. England, in 
1728. In 173S, with his family, he settled in Colrain. Massachusetts, 
a frontier town near Deertield, in the valley of tlie Connecticut river. 
On both sides the ancestors of Mr. Van Wormer were pioneers accus- 
tomed to exposure, physical hardships, and the dangers of Indian inva- 
sion. In the early days the men. long before they reached manhood, 
bore arms against the Frencli and Indians, and later helped to defend 
their homes against the British and dieir allies. 

In course of the Revolutionary war this singular coincidence hap- 
pened: At the battles of Beniis Heights and Stillwater, usually referred 
to as the battle of Saratoga, the following ancestors (jf Mr. Wan Wor- 
mer participated: John Pennell. grandfather of his mother, who was 
captain of the Halifax company of the Cumberland county militia, New 
Hampshire Grants, afterward \'ermont ; Shuljael Bullock, his mother's 
great-grandfather, a corporal in the Guilford company, Cumberland 
county militia; Rufus Richardson, his father's maternal grandfather, 
of Barrie, Massachusetts, of the Massachusetts Line, and, for a brief 
time a member of \\'ashington's life Guards; Henry Van Wormer, of 
Schaghticooke. Xew York, his paternal great-great-grandfather, and 
Jacob Van Wormer. a lieutenant in the Tliird Company of Van Rens- 
selaer's Allianv County Regiment. i\lr. \'an A\'ormer is a single man 

HON. WILLIAM W. TAGGART and HENRY W. TAGGART. 
Conspicuous among tlie leading and prominent families of Jefferson 
county, New York, is the Taggart family, represented in the present 
generation by the Hon. William W. and his son Henry W. Taggart, 
who have contributed in a large degree to the distinction Watertown 
enjoys in being the most important industrial city in northern New 
York. On the paternal side he is a descendant of Henry Taggart, who 
immigrated to this country from the Isle of iNIan and settled in Newport, 
Rhode Island, where he was a wholesale merchant, engaged in the West 
India trade almost two centuries ago. His son, Joseph Taggart, was 
born in Newport, and became a pioneer in the Black River countrv. He 
came t.j this region with his family during the opening years of the 
nineteenth century, and engaged in farming in the town of Le Ray. 
Henry Taggart, son of Joseph Taggart, married Julina Dighton, daugh- 
ter of John Dighton, of Oxford, England, who came to this country as 
a soldier in General Burgoyne's army, and after the first battle of Sara- 



968 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

toga, deserted and ser\ed for some time in the American army during 
the latter part of the revolutionary war. He subsequently became a res- 
ident of Pamelia, where he died. 

William \\'. Taggart, fourth child of Henry and Julina Taggart, 
was born in Le Ray, Xew York, December 28, 1825. His early edu- 
cation was acquired in the common schools and the academies at Evans 
Mills, Gouverneur and W'atertown. In 1846 he became a student at 
VVesleyan University, Aliddletown, Connecticut, from which he was 
graduated in the class of 1849. He then went west and remained in that 
section of the country a few years, but, determining to enter profes- 
sional life, he returned home and studied law in the office of Mullin & 
Merwin. He was admitted to practice in 1856. began professional work 
at Terre Haute, Indiana, but after less than two years' residence in that 
city circumstances at home required his return to the east, and he again 
took up his abode on the old farm in Le Ray. Subsequently he en- 
gaged in law practice in the office of David M. Bennett, in Watertown, 
New York, but after a period of years circumstances, aided by personal 
inclination, drew him away from this vocation and turned his energies 
in another direction. In 1866 he was one of the factors in the organiza- 
tion of a company for the manufacture of manila paper, the first enter- 
prise of its kind on the river. The industry' was established and put 
into successful operation, and after a period of five j-ears Byron B. and 
William W. Taggart became sole proprietors, thus originating the firm 
of Taggart Brothers, which was afterward so conspicuously and promi- 
nently identified witli many of the most extensive and successful manu- 
facturing enterprises in the Black River region until the death of Byron 
B. Taggart, January 20, 1897. 

In 1886, for business convenience, the old firm of Taggart Brothers 
was converted into a stock company, under the style of Taggart Broth- 
ers' Company, taking into partnership Henry W. Taggart, son of Will- 
iam W. Taggart, and George C. Siierman, son-in-law of ^^'illiam W. 
Taggart. He has also given considerable attention to other business 
undertakings, taking a leading part in the organization of the Taggart 
Paper Company at Felt's Mills, was a director and president of the 
National Union Bank, president of the Watertown Savings Bank, i)res- 
ident of the Taggart Paper Company and the Taggart Brothers Com- 
pany, succeeding to these positions on the death of his brother. In 1859 
Mr. Taggart was elected to the assembly, serving during the legislative 
session of i860, in 1863 became special surrogate, succeeding Judge 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. "JeS 

Sawyer, resigned, and in the fall of 1867 was elected surrogate of the 
county, serving in that capacity two terms, one of four and one of six 
years. His church relations are with the Presbyterian denomination, 
holding membership in the Presbyterian church of Watertown for more 
than thirty years, and his political affiliations were formerly with the 
Whig, but later with the Republican party. He enjoys the distinction 
of having encircled the globe, the journey occupying nearly a year, and 
included visits to all the oriental countries along the route of travel — 
Japan. China, the Enghsli Straits settlement, Ceylon, India, Constantin- 
ople, Greece and Sicily. He has also traveled over all the states and 
principal cities of the Union, the Dominion of Canada, Alaska. Mexico 
and Cuba. 

On December 19, i860, Mr. Taggart married Susan S. Lee. a daugh- 
ter of Daniel Lee. a prominent citizen and public official of the county 
seat. Tw'O children were born of this union — Alice L., wife of George C. 
Sherman, and Henry W. Taggart. Mrs. Taggart died August 20, 1866. 

Henry W. Taggart, only son of William W. and Susan S. Taggart, 
was born in the house where he now resides in Watertown, New York. 
After completing the regular course of instruction in the schools of 
Jefferson county, being then eighteen years of age, be began his busi- 
ness career by entering the employ of the firm of Taggart Brothers, man- 
ufacturers of manila paper, and hy faithful and efficient service and close 
application to business he earned and received the appointment, in 1889, 
of secretary of the incorporated company, conducting business under 
the firm name of Taggart Brothers Company. Mr. Taggart is an hon- 
ored member of the Union Club of Watertown, New York. 

Mr. Taggart was united in marriage, June 28, 1893, to Anna A. 
Marcy, daughter of Richard Marcy, of Watertown. New York, and 
thev are the parents of two children — Lydia W. and Mary Lee Tag- 
gart. 

DEXTER VAN OSTRAXD. deceased, for many years one of the 
leading and influential citizens of Watertov.-n. where he was regarded 
as a man of great business abilit}- and broad resources, and who 
achieved success through hi> well directed, energetic efforts, was a na- 
tive of Evans Mills, Xew York, a son of Dr. Alnnzo and Cordelia 
(Smith) Van Ostrand, the former ha\ing been an eminent medical 
piactitioner of Troy, Evans ]\Tills and Watertown. Xew York. The 
latter was a daughter of Dr. Smith, an early physician of Evans Mills. 



!'70 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Tlie comiiKjii >cliuols ot Evans Alills affunJeil Dexter Van Os- 
trand a thonnigh kudwledge of the fundamental principles of an English 
education, but at the age of fifteen years his ccjurse of instruction was 
suddenly terminated by the death »i his father. Thus thrown upon his 
own resources, he began his business career by entering the employ of 
the Western Union Telegraph Company, serv^ed faithfully and effi- 
ciently in the capacity of telegraph operator for a number of years, and 
suLsecjuently was promoted to the responsible position of superintendent 
and manager for the company, the area of his service extending over 
a large district of New York state. At the same time he was superin- 
iendent of the Great Northwestern Telegraph Company, which operates 
in connection with the Western Union. He was als(j actively and 
prominently identified with the Bell Telephone Company, and placed the 
first telephones in Watertown. 

in November, 1875, ^^^- ^'^^ Ostrand married Agnes Law Phelps, 
a daughter of George B. Phelps, of Watertown, New York, whose 
genealogy and biography appear in this work. Their children are — 
Agnes and Kate Van Ostrand. The death of Mr. Van Ostrand, which 
occurred at his home in Watertown, New York, January 4, 1885, was 
sincerely mourned by a wide circle of personal friends and acquaint- 
ances, as well as business associates. 

ELISHA D. EAAIES, of Watertown, is a representative of a 
family which has been justly celebrated for two generations for inven- 
tive genius. He traces his descent from English ancestors, through Con- 
necticut. 

tl) Thomas Eames, the founder of the family in America, was 
born in 1618. According to the history of Framingham, Massachusetts, 
he came to America at ihe age of twelve years, about 1630. He was 
married in 1640, his wife's christian name being Margaret, and settled 
in that year at Dedham, where three of his children were born. His 
wife died in 1660, and two years later he married Mary Paddleford, 
and mo\-ed to the town of Sherburne, which was soon sffter made a 
])art of Framingham. and where six children were born to him. On the 
first of Februar-/, 1675-6, while he was absent at Boston securing a sup- 
ply of ammunition, all his buildings were destroyed, his wife killed and 
his children carried into captivity by a band of Indians, who had their 
home three miles away. For this act three of the Indians were subse- 
quentlv executed, and two sons and one daughter were ultimately re- 



■ GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. I'Tl 

stored to their friends. Tradition surrounds the fate of the daughter 
witli much romance. Among the agents sent by the colony to Canada 
to obtain the release of captives was Mr. Joseph Adams, wlio married 
Margaret, daughter of Thomas Eames (whose release he was instru- 
mental in securing) in 1688. This marriage is shown liy the Cam- 
bridge records. The inventory of property lost by Mr. Eames at the 
time of the savage raid foots up over three hundred thirty and one-half 
pounds in value, and includes " a house. 34 feet long, double floores, 
and garret and cellar, and a barn 52 foot long, leantir'd one side and two 
ei'.ds," placed at one hundred pounds. As an indemnity the general 
court granted him two hundred acres of land, and he obtained a tract 
of two hundred acres from the Indians by suit at law. "But no recom- 
pense, in land or treasure, could restore to him his desolated home." He 
died inside of four years after the calamity, January 25, 1680, aged 
about sixty-two years. 

(II) Nathaniel, seventh child and fifth son of Thomas Eames, 
and f(^urth child and third son of the latter's second wife. Mary, was 
born December 30, 1668, and was the youngest surviver from the In- 
dian attack of 1676. The mother sold her life dearly, being engaged in 
making soap when surprised by the Indians and causing them such in- 
jury as she could by throwing the hot liquid upon them. Nathaniel died 
Januarv i, 1746, having outlived his wife, Anna, who passed away 
March 12, 1743. They were the parents of seven children. 

(lllj Daniel, third son and youngest child of Nathaniel and 
Anna Eames, was born March 20, 1712, and died in 1780. He mar- 
ried Silence Leland in 1739, and they were the parents of six children. 

(IV) Daniel, eldest child of Daniel and Silence (Leland) Eames, 
was born April S, 1740, and died June 22, 1812. He was married No- 
vember 25, 1 761, to Mary Cutler, who was born September 18, 1744, 
and died Novemlier 26. 1S22. She bore lier husband six children. 

(V) Daniel (3), third child and son of Daniel and Mary (Cutler) 
Eames, was born March 11, 1767, and died September 13, 1855, over 
eighty-eight years old. He was married, February 19, 1788, to Molly 
K. Wright, who was born August 7, 1768, and died February 4, 1842, 
in her seventy-fourth year. She was the mother of thirteen children, of 
whom ten were sons, two of the latter being twins. The twelfth. Moses. 
M-as long an active and prominent citizen of Watertown, and spent con- 
siderable time and money in tracing out the ancestry, as here given. 

( VI ) Lovett, youngest of the children of Daniel and Molly 



972 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

(Wright) Eanies, was born September 22, iSio, in Rutland, this 
county. He was married, May 23, 1833. to Lucy C. Morgan, who was 
born June 22, 181 1, daughter of Rev. EHsha Morgan, a man of marked 
ability, unusual balance of judgment, strong convictions and conscien- 
tious devotion, which characteristics were inherited by the daughter. 
Mr. Eames died September 6, 1863, when his business in Watertown was 
only successfully launched. He was a mechanic and inventor and went 
in early life to Kalamazoo, Michigan. In 1861 he came to Watertown 
and put in pumping machinery for the water works. In the same year, 
in company with Moses Eames, he bought Beebee's Island, where he 
built his machine shops for the production of his numerous inventions. 

Elisha D. Eames, son of Lovett and Lucy C. (Morgan) Eames, was 
born May 2t„ 1S36, in Kalamazoo. Michigan, and educated in the local 
schools. His calling was that of an ironworker and engineer. In 1861 
he came to Watertown vvith his father as the latter's assistant in busi- 
ness. He aided his brother, Frederick W. Eames, in the invention of 
the celebrated vacuum brake. In 1875 the Eames Vacuum Brake Com- 
pany was incorporated, with Mr. Eames as vice-president, upon whom 
the management almost immediately devolved in consequence of the sud- 
den death of his brother. After a long and arduous career Mr. Eames 
some time since retired from active business. He is a member of the 
Baptist church, in which he holds the office of clerk. His record, both as 
a business man and a citizen, is unblemished. In 1863 he married Mary 
Robinson, who died July i, 1898. On June 17, 1903, he married Alice 
Waltz, who was born at Lafargeville, a daughter of Simeon Waltz 
and Alice Nash, the latter of Massachusetts ancestry, and the former of 
German. Mrs. Eanies is a noted soprano singer, formerly connected 
with the choir of Plymouth church, Brooklyn, and many others. 

Frederick W. Eames, son of Lovett and Lucy C. (Morgan) Eames, 
and brother of E. D. Eames, was born in November, 1843, i" Kalama- 
zoo, Michigan, where he was educated in the common schools and in 
Kalamazoo College, where he had scarcely entered upon his course of 
study when the civil war broke out and he promptly responded to the 
call for volunteers. He was the second man to enlist in the first com- 
pany raised in his town. He was subsequently mustered out of the 
Second Michigan Infantry to accept a lieutenancy in another Michigan 
regiment. In 1863 he was honorably discharged by General Grant from 
this regiment and appointed aide in the revenue service, serving on the 
Mississippi ri\-er until the close of the war, and was subsequently in the 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 073 

United States internal revenue department under President Grant. In 
1874 he came to WatertGwn with the micleus of the great invention which 
bears his name, tlie Eames Vacuum Brake. In 1876 the company was 
incorporated, with Mr. Eames as president, but speedily became in- 
volved in long and serious litigation. This resulted in a verdict in favor 
of President Eames, the plaintiff in the action, who was sincerely con- 
gratulated by his many friends and seemed upon the point of entering on 
a prosperous career after his long and heroic struggle. But it was or- 
dered otherwise. On taking possession of the company's works on 
April 20, 1883, President Eames was fatally shot. The grief and con- 
sternation caused by this tragedy were indescribable. Mr. Eames was 
loved most by those who knew him best, and his great genius and in- 
domitable energy had given promise of the largest results. His great 
invention is now in the hands of the New York Air Brake Company. 
It was very successfully introduced in Europe by Mr. Eames previous 
to its establishment here. 

Mr. Eames married, in 1870, Martha Shilling, of his native state. 
Two children were born to them, neither of whom survives. The elder, 
who bore the name of Lovett, was killed by lightning at the age of 
nineteen years. 

KENDALL FAMILY. The name Kendall has a record that can 
be traced to early Saxon days. In 1600 we find them in Westmoreland, 
England, engaged in manufacturing fine cloth. 

During the year 1700 John, William and Henry Kendall came to 
America and settled in I\Iassachusetts, X'ermont and Connecticut — states 
that still hold in honor their name and struggles. Their homes served 
as meeting houses, town hall and school h(.)use_, where without recom- 
pense they sowed the seeds of education and culture. It has ijften been 
said " Music and literature are inseparable from the name Kendall,"' and 
in those early days of New England their houses were often referred to 
as ".the Sanctuary," " Temple of Knowledge," and " Shrine of Music." 
From these homes we trace the lives of great men — Amos Kendall, 
General William, Dr. James V.. George Watkins, Dr. J. B., and Isaac 
Barnes. 

Isaac Kendall was born at Enosburg Falls. Vermont, in April, 1775. 
His father was one of the historic "Green Mountain Boys." During 
the ^■ear J 795 he came to Jefferson county. New York, making the en- 
tire journey from \'ermont in a cart drawn by oxen. In Jefferson 



974 GEXEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

county lie limk u\> the trade of carpenter, devoting his spare hours to 
music. Here, in ahin'st a wilderness, he estahhshed a class of music 
among- the solitarv homes of that region. The charts he used were of 
his own manufacture, and the songs. l)oth music and words, were his 
own comixjsition. He was in every sense a musician, and many of his 
compositions in the mimir mode seemed to vil)rate the solitude and 
mvsteries of the wilderness. 

In 1797 Isaac Kendall married modest Suzanne Goodale. of Ply- 
mnuth origin, and to them were horn the following children: i. Charles, 
horn 1799 (one of the early ministers of the county), died about 1884. 
2. Almira. born 1801. who taught the first sclnml in Clayton, Xew 
York. 3. Lorinda. h.orn 1803. 4. ^IWo, l.Mirn 1809. whose son was 
an accomplished musician, a teacher and composer, whose distinction 
it was to plav before Queen A'ictoria and to receive from the royal hand 
a gold bugle. 5. Aldridge Stetson. Imrn 18 13. tn be further men- 
tioned. 6. Katherine. born 18 15. who married David Alvord. of 
Florida. 

In 1 81 3 Isaac Kendall was taken prisoner by the British and 
lodged a prisoner in the tower at Kingston, Canada. With him was Gus 
Stetsrm. The two managed to escape on a raft made out of the floor 
of an unused cabin they found. This they paddled across the foot of 
Lake Ontario to freedom. His declining days were passed in Clay- 
ton. Xew York, where lie died at the advanced age of ninety-five years. 

Captain Aldridge Stetson Kendall, fiftli child in the last named 
family, spent his entire life in the region of the Thousand Islands. He 
was reared in the towns of Clayton and Pamelia (now Watertown, 
New York), where he received an education common to that day. At 
an earlv age he began life on the river, that he followed for sixty years 
- — a period of service pro1>ably not exceeded in length by any pilot on 
the St. Lawrence river or Great Lakes. He was familiar with the 
river at all jioints. discovered many intricate channels, and was the 
first to pilot vessels through them. His courage was indomitable as 
his skill was masterlv. The year in which the city of Buffalo was in- 
undated, during a gale that swept down the lake, a \essel was driven 
on shoals iti the Canadian Channel. She had been aliandoned by her 
pilot. Ca])tain Kendall rowed to the vessel, which he took in charge, 
and saved, with the cargo, safely landing her in the harbur. He jiur- 
chased land when the Islands were in their primitive state, when an 
occasional canoe shot across the current of the river, or weird light fell 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. !»T5 

from some hidden wig'wam. He was known as a man of superior judg- 
ment and fine heart qualities. In religious faith he was a Baptist, and 
in politics a staunch Republican. He died October 31, 1S90, at the 
Kendall homestead, one of the most beautiful residential properties in 
all the Thousand Island region. 

Captain Aldridge Stetson Kendall was twice married. The issue 
of his first marriage were the following children: i. Mrs. Sarah Van 
Cowghnett, now living in Clayton, Xew York. 2. Mrs. Merritt Gurn- 
sey, also living in Clayton. 3. Captain Eli Kendall, whose life was 
one of honor, and wiiose memory is deeply revered. Captain Kendall's 
second marriage was to Zuba, a daughter of Solomon Gotham and 
Elizabeth King, who were the parents of the following children: i. 
Permilia, who married David Rhines. 2. JNIaria. 3. Rebecca, who 
became the wife of William Latimer. 4. Mary. 5. Martha, who 
married Warren Howe. 6. Fidilla, wife of James Howe, of Michi- 
gan. 7. Zuba, wife of Captain Aldridge Stetson Kendall. 8. Bvron, 
who noljly served the Union and was shot at Richmond, Virginia. 9. 
Francis F., one of our country's most noble sons, who volunteered his 
service and nolily fell at Petersburg, Virginia, aged twent}' years. 
Eliabeth King G(^tliam, mother of the abo\e mentioned children, died 
at the home of Ca])tain Aldridge Stetson Kendall in iSqo, aged eighty- 
two years. 

Zuba, seventh child in the family aljove named, was born at De- 
, pauville. New York. May 16. 1835. She is a niece of Colonel Gotham, 
of Sackets Harbor fame, and a cousin of the statesman, Roscoe Conk- 
lin, and her husband a cousin of the world-famed authoress, Louise 
Chandler Moulton. She is a woman whose justice in all things and 
beautiful traits of character ha\e made her the idol of home, where 
her children " rise up to call her blessed." She still lives at Red Gables, 
blessed with the tender care of her two youngest sons. Grant and Bird, 
a devoted daughter. Miss Belle, and a sweet gentle granddaughter, Ethel. 
■ The fruits of the union of Captain Aldridge Stetson Kendall and 
Zuba (iotham arc five sons and five daughters, all talented and pos- 
sessed of fine musical tastes and ability. The entire family is popular 
and well known 10 many visitors of that lively region so dear to tour- 
ists both American and foreign. The family is as follows: i. Ald- 
ridge. sketch of whom follows this narrative. 2. Mary Augusta, who 
married Lucius Hutchinson, a lioat Iniilder in Clayton. New York: Mr. 
Hutchinson was awarded first diiiloni.-i at the Chicago Exposition for 



'••~6 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

l:is models and workmanship. 3. Ida ^May, wife of Captain Josiah 
I\IcAvoy, a masterly pilot on the St. Lawrence. 4. Frank, a sketch 
of whom appears on another page. 5. Ziiba Alveretta, wife of Will- 
iam Ward Hutchinson, of Grindstone Island. 6. Charles Henry, a 
sketch of whom follows. 7. Nellie M., the wife of Hon. Joseph Mc- 
Cormic Brazier, supervisor of the city of Poughkeepsie. 8. Cora Isa- 
helle. g. Grant. 10. Bird. 

All this family are still living, and the three last named reside 
with their mother at their lovely island home, which is one of the finest 
estates along the St. Lawrence. Both young men have true musical 
talent, and play the violin with sweet expression. In politics they are 
Republican. Mrs. Kendall is a member of the Baptist church, as are 
all her children. 

To Ida ]\Iay, third child above mentioned, and her husband, Cap- 
tain Josiah William ]\IcAvoy, were born the following children, all in- 
tellectual and gifted in music: i. Ethel Belle. 2. Karl Kendall. 3. 
Byron Gotham. 4. Charles Henry. 5. Zuba. 6. Ruth. 7. Josiah 
William. 

Etta, fifth child above mentioned, who married \\'illiam \\'ard 
Hutchinson, has one beautiful child, Winifred, to everyone known as 
" the fairy." 

Nellie M., seventh child above named, on September 8. 1897, mar- 
ried Hon. Joseph M. Brazier, supervisor of the city of Poughkeepsie, 
a gentleman of education and culture, held in high esteem by the citi- 
zens of the " Queen City " of the state. On a marble slab at the en- 
trance to the magnificent new Dutchess county court house may be 
found the name of Mr. Brazier, a tribute of honor for all time. Mrs. 
Brazier is the possessor of fine musical and literary ability, and the 
following of her poems have brought her special recognition as a writer : 
" Wreckage," " The Dear Dead Past," " Retrospect," " Eventyde," and 
" The Garden of Weeds." 

CAPTAIN ALDRIDGE KENDALL. For three-quarters of a 
centun- the name of Kendall has been intimately associated with the 
navigation of the Great Lakes and the St. Lawrence river, and for years 
it has been said that no matter in what channel or position upon these 
waters a boat might be seen, she was ahvays safe with " a Kendall at 
the wheel." For over a quarter of a century the intrepid navigator 
Avhose name introduces this article has ably sustained this reputation. 

Captain Aldridge Kendall, of Clayton, New York, was born in 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 977 

that village on December lo, 1851, and was the eldest child of Captain 
Aldridge S. and Zuba (Gotham) Kendall. He passed his earl)- years 
at home, receiving his education in the common schools. He early 
acquired a knowledge of the river and its channels, and by virtue of this 
experience, at twenty-mie years of age, he was appointed first officer 
and pilot, being probably the youngest pilut tn receive a license to navi- 
gate the waters of the St. Lawrence and the Great Lakes. 

His first vessel was the " T. S. Faxton," a passenger Ijoat plying 
the river an<_l Lake Ontario. He served for three years in this position 
(first officer and pilot), when he was jirnmoted to master and pilot, and 
so acted fur three years, when the Ijnat was sold. He then engaged for 
one seas(3n on a private yacht, the " Cayuga." which had been pur- 
chased by the company in order to retain his ser\-ices. This vessel failed 
to pass inspection, and he was transferred to a passenger boat, the "J. 
F. Maynard," Captain Sweet, with wdiom he remained that season. 
During this time the " Cayuga '" was purchased by Alden F. Barker, and 
after being thoroughly fitted up was placed in charge of Captain Ken- 
dall, who commanded her for two )'ears, wdien she was sold. Captain 
Kendall then took a jjosition with Wilbur & Packer, the great railroad 
magnates of Bethlehem, Penns^dvania, as captain of their private xacht 
" Sport," remaining with them twi> years, wdien he resigned. He was 
immediately re-engaged by Alden F. Barker as commander of the 
" Island Belle." plying between Alexandria Bay and Cape Vincent. 
Here he remained four years, when this boat was sold, and he engaged 
as second officer on a vessel running from Ogdensburg to Chicago, 
remaining one season. He then accepted a position as captain of the 
sidew-heel steamboat " Ontario." plying on Lake Ontario and the St. 
Lawrence river, upon which he served one season, when he resigned, 
and entered into an agreement with Charles G. Emory to take charge of 
his yachts, and beautiful summer home and grounds on Calumet Island, 
and also Picton Island. This engagement continued for eight }'ears, 
wdien he resigned and entered the employ of the Thousand Island Steam- 
1:>Dat Company as commander of the steamer " Islander." He was thus 
engaged for four }-ears, when he was transferred to the palace steamer 
" St. Lawrence," which he commanded for three _\ears. At the end of 
this time he was engaged by J. \\'. Jackson, of Plainfield, Xew Jersey, 
as captain of his private yacht, " Ella," and was so employed for two 
years, when he signed a contract with P)rigadier-General J. A. Johnston, 
of Washington, D. C, to command his magnificent steam vacht " Win- 



9TS GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

ona," and lia\'e charge of his ri\er business on the St. Lawrence, and 
he is now ( 1904) thus employed. 

On July iTi. iSjfj. Captain Kendall married ]\Iiss \'ictoria C. Bear- 
up, of Cape \'incent. daughter of Joseph Bearup. and who, like her 
father, was horn in that \'illage. Jacob Bearup was the son of Andrew 
Bearup, a pii meer settler of Jefterson county, who located in Plessis, 
New York: later went with the " 49'rs "" tij California, where he 
remained for a time, then returned east, and subsequently to California, 
where he died at the age of ninety years. Joseph Bearup was a car- 
penter in Cape \"incent for some years, and later went to River \'iew, 
where he died in January, IQ04, at eighty-two }'ears. 

Joseph Bearup married IMary Hazzard. born in Pamelia, New 
York. She was the mother of eiglit children, of whom se\-en are hy- 
ing: I. George ]M.. a farmer in Cape \'incent, Xew York. 2. \\'ill- 
iam A., a gardner near Syracuse, Xew York, who served in the Ci\'il 
war. entering the army at the age of sixteen. 3. Emily J., married 
Jonas Couch, of W'atertown. Xew York. 4. A'ictoria C. wife of Cap- 
tain .Mdridge Ken<lall. 5. Clinton, living in Syracuse, New York. 6. 
Dr. Anson A., resi<ling in Calsberg, Xew Mexico. 7. Hattie M., 
married Fred J. Morgan, of Detroit. Michigan. The mother of these 
children died in 1900, at seventy-four years of age. 

Captain .Mdridge and \"ictoria C. ( Bearup) Kendall are the parents 
of four children : Clarence L.. who, like his father, is a steamboat cap- 
tain on the river: Florence L., who married Herbert W. Rogers, of the 
firm of ^McCirady & Rogers, of W'atertown. Xew York, dealers in 
plumbers' supplies : the}- have one child. Mabel L. Leola F. and Calu- 
met G., at home. The children were educated in the graded schools 
of Clayton, and Florence L. took special instruction in music. Too 
much praise cannot be given ]Mrs. Kendall for her influence in the 
home and in the rearing of her four children. An evening spent with 
the family will at once indelibly impress any one with the great \-alue 
of her training as seen in her children. 

While taking no acti\-e part in political affairs. Captain Kendall is 
an adherent to the principles of the Republican party. In the various 
fraternal organizations both Mr. and ]\Irs. Kendall have taken an active 
part and interest. Captain Kendall holds membership in Lodge No, 
2()Ci, V. and A. ]\I.. of ClaMon, Xew A'ork, to which he took a demit, 
from the Alexander Ba\' Lodge Xo. 297, of which he was formerly a 
member: Theresa Chapter Xo. 149, R. A. ]\I., and was formerly a mem- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. OTit 

ber uf W'atertowii Comandery. Xo. ii. K. T., ami als<i a member ut 
the auxiUarv of this order, tlie Eastern Star, to which Mrs. Kendall 
also belongs, and in which she has held a number of offices. Captain 
Kendall was formerly a member of Lodge No. 339. I. O. O. F.. of 
Clayton, and is now a member c.f the Daughters of Rebekah, to which 
Mrs. Kendall belongs, and in which she has held all offices. Both were 
formerly members of the l^ribe nf lien Hur, to which the captain still 
belongs. He is also a member of the blasters" and Pilots" Association, 
Harbor No. 62, of Clayton, New York, and was a member of Corinthian 
Yacht Club of New York city. Captain and Mrs. Kendall are both 
members of the Baptist church of Watertown. Captain Kendall was in 
early life a teacher in the Baptist Sunday school of Clayton, later its 
superintendent, and a trustee of the church. 

The foregoing mav con\•e^• some idea of the success which has been 
achieved bv Captain Kendall. Init a brief allusion to the important 
facts which he has demonstrated may not be amiss. Beginning as a 
boy, he Ijelieved that !)y conscientious devotion to duty success must 
necessarily follow. He made it a point to lose no opportunity to pro- 
mote the interests of his employers, and in his nearly thirty-three years" 
service he has lost but one week of time, and in all kinds of weather 
the various boats commanded by him have been delayed but three hours 
owing to storms, nor have they ever been in collision with another boat 
or ran upon a rock or shoal. In the seventeen years in which he ran 
passenger boats he ne\'er missed connection with any train, and during 
this time, although carr^•ing on an a\'erage o\'er one hundred thousand 
persons a season, no jierson ever met with an accident. Such a record 
is unsurpassed, if indeed equaled, by an}- other officer in command upon 
the St. Lawrence river, and shows the extreme care, caution, and un- 
tiring \'iligance. which he has displayed at all times. His habits of so- 
briety have gone far to assist him in achieving his purpose. No matter 
what his surroundings or company, whether in the presence of his men, 
or in the home circle, he is always the same quiet, unobtrusive, cultured 
gentleman, displaying the highest virtues of mankind. Truly his is an 
example well worthy of emulation. 

CAPTAIN FRANK KENDALL. Among the well known 
pilots of the St. Lawrence river may be mentioned Captain Frank Ken- 
dall, one of the Kendall brothers, born on Grindstone Island, in the 
St. Lawrence river, October 21, 1858. A full account of the history 
of this family precedes this sketch. 



980 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Captain Frank Kendall is indebted to the common school system 
for the educational privileges he enjoyed during his boyhood. After 
completing hi« studies he accompanied his father on trips in the var- 
ious vessels in which he was employed, and thereby gained a thorough 
knowledge of seafaring life. At the age of twenty-one he passed an 
examination as a pilot, and for a number of years afterward was em- 
ployed in that capacity on vessels of the Folger line, and for several 
years thereafter was captain of some of the finest yachts on the river. 
He possesses an intimate knowledge of all the intricate channels of 
the nver. and during his career gained an enviable reputation as a safe 
and conservative pilot. He is a member of the Tribe of Ben Hur. the 
Modern Woodmen of America, the Independent Order of Red ^Nlen, 
in which he is a charter member, and has held a number of offices, and 
Pilots' Association. Harbor No. 67, Clayton, New York. 

On ]May 12, 1888, Captain Kendall married Adelaide Birdsall, 
born in Fenton. [Michigan, daughter of Maurice and Jane (Bailey). 
Birdsall. Maurice Birdsall was a son of James Birdsall, who was sur- 
rogate of Chenang'o county. New York : member of the fourteenth 
congress representing the Fifteenth New York District; and member 
of assembly in 1827. He married Rizpah Steere, born in Gloucester, 
Rhode Island, her ancestors having been residents of that state, and 
twelve children were the issue of this union, two of whom are living 
at the present time ( IQ04) : ]\Irs. Elizabeth Henry, and ]\Irs. Rizpali 
Kellogg, residents of San Francisco. California. James Birdsall died 
in the town >A Flint. ^^lichigan. aged about eighty years, and his wife 
died at the age of seventy-eight. Maurice Birdsall was born in Nor- 
wich. Chenango county. New York, and upon attaining young man- 
hood went west, with a brother and engaged in mercantile pursuits. 
His death occurred in the sixty-second year of his age. His wife, 
jane (Bailey) Birdsall. who is living at the present time (1904). aged 
seventv-one vears. was torn in Fishkill Landing, New York, a daugh- 
ter of Al)raliam Bailey, and Susan Larned. They soon went to Michi- 
gan where they are remembered as pioneer farmers of Genesee county. 
Maurice and Jane (Bailey) Birdsall were the parents of eight children 
of whom six are living in California, and one in Heidelberg, Germany. 
Of these is Adelaide, aforementioned as the wife of Captain Frank 
Kendall living in Clayton. New York. 

Captain Kendall and his wife have traveled extensively through- 
out the United States and Canada, visiting all the principal places of 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 081 

nnte cTiid interest, therein- gaining an extensive aiiKnint of knowledge 
and informati. m wliicli cannot be detained in any otlier manner. Mrs. 
Kendall also spent the greater part of a year traveling in Japan. 

CAPTAIN CHARLES H. KENDALL, of Clayton. New York, 
was born in that town, Eebruary 4. 1863. a son of Captain Aldridge 
.Stetson and Znha (Gotham) Kendall. He is a man of keen discrim- 
ination, sound judgment. executi\e aliilit_\- ruid excellent management, 
and in the \'Ocation which he chose for his life-work, that of ]iilot. suc- 
cess depends .so entirely uijon individual merit th.at when one has at- 
tained a position of pniminence. as has Captain Charles H. Kendall, it is 
an unmistakable evidence of abilit}'. natural and acrpiired. 

He recei\e(l a ]iractical education in the schools of Clayton, and 
at an earlv age began sailing \\ ith liis father, v.hose period of service as 
pilot was probaljiv not exceeded in length Ijy an_\- other on the St. Law- 
rence or the Great Lakes. With this experienced teacher he learned 
the shoals of the rixer and also its intricate channels, and when quite 
j'oung assumeil charge of his first steamer, the "T. R. Proctor," run- 
ning from Schuyler to Richfield Springs. He then came to Cla\ton 
with the Thousand Lsland Steamlioat Company as a wheelman under 
Captain M. D. Estus. remaining in that capacity for three years. The 
following three }ears he filled a similar position with Captain C. \\'. 
Reese, after which he was with Captain Miller on the steamer "Empire 
State" for one year. .\t the expiration of this period of time he ac- 
cepted a ])osition as captain on the " Jessie Bain." remaining four vears, 
and was then captain of the famous steamer " Islaniler " for four \'ears, 
his term of serxice in this company e.xtending o\er a period of fourteen 
years. He then accepted a position on the private }'acht " \'enice." 
owned by Lyman Smith, of " Smith-Premier " typewriter fame, re- 
maining one year. His next ])osition was with Alfred Costello as cap- 
tam of his private yacht " Jule." which position he accepted in 1901 
and has retained up ti' the present time (1904). Captain Kendall is a 
member of the following organizations: Free and Accepted ]\Iasons, of 
Clayton; Order of ^Maccabees ; Improved Order of Red Men, in which 
he held office; Tribe of Ben Hur. in which he held a number of offices; 
Modern ^^'oodmen of America, in which he held offices; and Harbor 
No. 67, American xA.ssociation of ^Masters and Pilots, of Clayton. He 
attends the services of the Baptist church. His political aftiliations are 
with the Republican part}-. 

On August 6, 1895, Captain Kendall married Sarah J. Potter, and 



982 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

two children ha\e l^een born to tlieni ; William Horace and Adelaide 
JNIaryen Kendall. Mrs. Captain Kendall was l)orn on Grindstone 
Island, danghter of ( )rlandii and Eleanor ( Aliller) Potter. Orlando 
Potter is a son of Dr. William and Elizabeth (Bnshnell) Potter, the 
former named having Iieen born in Oneida cnunty. New. York, where 
he practiced his profession, and in Gananocjue for over fifty years, and 
died on Grindstone Island at the age of eig"htv-fi\-e vears, and the latter 
was a native of Herkimer connty. Dr. William and Ehzabeth ( Bnsh- 
nell ) Potter were the parents of the folldwing named children: Or- 
lando, Dr. William, Dr. Hanley, Angnstus, Albert, and Jidia. who was 
drowned at the age of fourteen years. Mrs. Potter, the mother of 
these children, died in 1871. Orlando Potter, father of Mrs. Captain 
Kendall, was born in Gananoqne, Canada, acquired his education in the 
schools of that town, and resided there until he attained his majority. 
He then came to Grindstone Island, purchased a farm of two hundred 
and fifty acres, and has since devoted his attention to agricultural pur- 
suits. He married Eleanor Miller, horn in Corsican, Canada, daughter 
of Martin ]\liller, who was born in iM-anklin county. New York, was -a 
carpenter and contractor for a number of years, went to California in 
the early history of gnld mining, and after .spending three years there- 
returned east and followed carpentering and contracting in connection 
with running vessels on the Great Lakes, taking grain, etc., to all points. 
Later he settled on Grindstone Island, where his death occurred at the 
age of eighty-four years. Mr. ]\Iiller was the father of three children : 
George H., Sandi Jane, and Eleanor, who liecnme the wife of Orlando 
Potter. 

DR. CHARLES FRANCIS ADAMS, a successful physician and'' 
surgeon of Carthage, is a nalive of this state, born February 24. i868', 
in Martinsburg, Lewis county. His great grandfather, Joseph Adams, 
came from England, anrl was for a short time a resident of Champion, 
Jefferson county, where he engaged in farming. He married in this 
country and li\-ed in various localities, dying on Long Island. 

William, son of Joseph Adams, married Hannah Gates, a native of 

Windsor, Verm.ont, a daughter of Abraham and (Rumry) 

Gates. He died at Genesee, New York, in 1825, being about thirty 
years of age at the time. 

\\'illiam, son of Willia.m and Hannah (Gates) Adams, was born 
August 23. 1824, in Champion, .\fter the death of his father be re- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 983 

turned to that tuwn witii Iiis mother. His education was completed at 
Lowville Academy, and he engaged in teaching at an early age, and 

also in surveying in Lewis county. His mother married Graves, 

and went to live at Martinsburg, where the son mjkle headquarters for 
some time. During the civil war he was in the employ of Sydney Syl- 
vester, who operated a sawmill and store at Martinsburg, and during his 
residence there he served six years as school commissioner. Being an in- 
telligent reader and having an active brain, he was often employed in 
literary work, and edited several local histories. His "Directory of Lewis 
County" is the only work of its kind there, and was cjuite recently pub- 
lished. Mr. Adams has been an enthusiastic Republican since the in- 
ception of .the party, and has always wielded considerable influence in 
its local councils. He was captain of state militia, in the Thirty-sixth 
Regiment, Sixteenth Brigade, Fourth Division, his commission bearing 
date July 20, 1850, and signed by Washington Hunt, governor, and 
L. Ward Smith, adjutant general. 

Mr. Adams was thnce mnrrie<l. His first wife, Ann L. Bingham, 
was born in October, 1824, in West Martinsburg, and died April, 1865. 
She left a son, Isaac Bingham Adams, now proprietor of a stove and 
tin store in Rome, New York. The second wife, ]\Iary Johnston, was of 
Scotch-L'ish descent on the paternal side, and of L'ish maternity. She 
was left an orphan in early youth, and was reared in Highmarket, 
Lewis county. She died in September, 1876. Mr. Adams afterward 
married Ida Dugas, -w ho was born in St. Johns, Province of Quebec, a 
daughter of Leon and Aurelia (Holmes) Dugas. The last-named was 
a daughter of Benjamin and Mary Louise (de Palteault) Holmes, of 
English and Canadian birth, the latter's father ha\-ing come from France 
to Canada. Leon Dugas w-as a son of Pierre and Anna (Aeillat) Du- 
gas. Peter (or Pierre) Dugas was a son of Jacques Dugas, whO' reached 
the remarkable age of one hundred and eleven years, nine months and 
eleven days. 

Charles Francis, son of William and Mary (Johnston) Adams, re- 
ceived a high-school education. He came to Carthage when nineteen 
years old, becommg a clerk in the grocery store of L. D. Thompson, 
where he continued three years. His inclination led him to the study 
of medicine, and he entered Bellevue Hospital Medical College, of New 
York, from w'hich he was graduated in 1893. He began practice at 
Carthage, and has steadily grown in public favor through his continued 
success in both medicme and surgery. He engages in general family 



084 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

practice, but has a siiecial fondness for surgery, and is employed as 
surgeon by the New Yori< Central & Hudson Ri\er Railroad Company, 
in charge of cases in his neighborhood. Dr. Adams is a member of the 
Jefferson County Medical Society, and keeps abreast of progress in the 
healing art. He is a past master of Carthage Lodge No. 158. of the 
Masonic order, and a member of Carthage Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons. Ide al'riliates also with Carthage Lodge No. 365, Lidepend- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows, and Court No. 1580, Improved Order of 
Foresters, in which he is a charter member, and of which he has been 
court physician from its organization. He is a Republican in jjrinciple, 
but has ne\"er de\-oted attention to politics. However, he was con- 
strained by the urgency of friends to accept the office of president of 
the village, to which he was elected by a handsome majority in a close 
political struggle in the spring of 1904. Of genial and easy manners 
and possessing high skill in his profession. Dr. Adams is deservedly pop- 
ular with all classes of his townsmen and with his fellows of the med- 
ical fraternity. 

He w'as married, September 4, 1895, to Miss Edith Farrar, daugh- 
ter of Harvey D. Farrar. of West Carthage (see Farrar). One son was 
Ixirn to Dr. and ]Mrs. Adams. September 21, 1897, and is named William 
Darwin. 

EDWARD :\I. GATES, of Watertown, New York, who has con- 
tributed in the highest degree to tlie advancement of the commercial 
and financial interests of the city through his active participation in 
business and public affairs, is a native of the state, born in Lewis county, 
in February, 1S43. 

Mr. Gates was ti\-e years of age when his parents rem<.ived to \\'ater- 
trwn, where he was reared and educated in the ptdjlic school. At an 
early age he entered the employ of A. M. Ultey, with whom he re- 
mained for ten years m the capacity of clerk, and it was while thus em- 
gaged that he acquired those habits of business and discriminating 
observation which served him so well in the career upon which he was 
.soon to enter. While with INIr. Utley he practiced a strict economy, 
and saved a neat little sum, with which he opened a dry goods store in 
San Francisco, California, in 1861, when only eighteen years old. Not- 
withstanding his extreme youth, he conducted this business with grat- 
ifying success for three years, and in 1864 disposed of it and ' re- 
turned to Watertown. For four vears he carried on a grocery business 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 9S5 

on Court street, which he rehnquishecl in 1873 to fnrni the hnn nf 
Gates & Spratt, and founded a hardware business, which was success- 
fully prc'secuted for se\'enteen years. Meantime and afterward he en- 
gaged in numerous large enterprises to which he devoted his excellent 
abilities, and which in large degree became successful through his effort. 
Among these were the Jefferson County Bank and the W'atertuwn 
Spring Wagon Company, in b.oth of which he is a large stockholder 
and director. He was also one of the leading promoters of the Water- 
town .Street Railway Company. 

Mr. Gates, in various public positions of honor and trust, has ren- 
dered services of great value to the community. In 1869 he was elected 
city clerk, and he was afterward called to other important posts, in all 
of which he acquitted himself most creditably and usefully. In 1872 lie 
was appointed deputy collector of internal revenue under the United 
States treasury department. In 1882 he was appointed postmaster by 
President Arthur and was remo\-ed by President Cleveland. His dis- 
missal involved no reflection upon his personal or official character or 
conduct, but was made under the policy of the administrati(.in. which 
sought to fill every avadable position with its own political friends. 
Mr. Gates was reappointed postmaster in 1890 by President Harrison. 
It was during this term of office that Mr. Gates rendered to the com- 
munity a service of great magnitude, in securing from congress an ap- 
propriation of $75,000 for the erection of a postoftice building. The 
edifice was completed in 1893, and is known as one of the most beautiful 
specimens of architecture in northern New York, and for usefulness not 
to be excelled by any governmental building of its class in the country. 
Mr. Gates is a Republican in politics, and is one of the most influential 
figures in the councils of his party in the state. 

JOHN C. THOMPSON. The magnitude of the operations of 
John C. Thompson, secretary and treasurer of the New York Air Brake 
Company, with offices at 66 Broadway, New York city, entitles him 
to rank among the captains of industry. In common with many of them, 
he was early thrown on his own resources and gained his commanding 
position by sheer force of nati\-e talent. He is descended from early 
American ancestors, and inherited their sturdy character, signalized by 
industry and strict integrity. 

(1) Jacobus Shuuiman settled on Three ^lile ri\-er, near New 
Brunswick, New Jersey, in 1720-1. His wife. Antje Terhoun. was a 



t'86 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

daughter of Alljeri Tcrhoun, of l"!atbush. Lcmg Island. He was a 
schoolmaster and voorlcser, and was admitted to the church at Three 
Mde river, April 15, ijp.o. His children were: Anne. Jacoba, :\Iar- 
garet. John, Ferdinand, Jacob and Albertus. 

;,n) Jacoba, daughter of Jacobus and Antje Shuurman, baptized 
February 2, 1724, died before 1760. She was admitted to the church 
Kovember 9, 1750, being then the wife of Archibald Thompson. The 
latter was of Scotch ancestry and probably Scotch by birth, and be- 
longed to Perth-Ambo}-, but no trace of his forebears or date of birth 
can be found. His children were : John, George, Anna and Jacob. 

(III) Captam John Thompson, eldest child of Archibald and 
Jacoba (Shuurman) Thompson, was married, June 30, 1760, to Jane, 
daughter of Pieter and Antje (De Riemeer) Strycker. Both he and 
his wife were members of the church October 2, 17/2. In 1767 he was 
the only navigator between Amboy and New York, and in 1775 com- 
manded a packet making regular trips between those points. He was 
first lieutenant of John Lyle's Company, Third Regiment of Middlesex 
County, in the revolutionary war, and was one of the British captives 
confined in the infamous Sugar House prison in New York. His chil- 
dren, all born in New Brunswick, New Jersey, were; Peter, Margaret, 
Archibald, Jane, John, Anne, Elizabeth, Isaac, George and Philip. 

(IV) Dr. John Thompson, fifth child and third son of Captain 
John and Antje (Strycker) Thompson, was baptized July 2^, 1775, 
and died July 11, 1850. He was married, April 13, 1798, to Mary 
Lyell, daughter of Thomas Lyell, a sea captain and descended from a 
settler at Perth Amboy in 1697. She died in February, 1853, aged sev- 
enty-eight years and four months. Dr. Thompson graduated from 
Queen's College in 1794, and in 1798 occupied lands belonging to his 
father's estate at Aalplalz, Schenectady county. 

(V) Thomas Lyell Thompson, son of Dr. Jolm and Mary (Ly- 
ell) Tb.ompsori, was born March 20, 1799, near Schenectady, where he 
d'ed in 1S51. He served as postmaster of that city, and was a useful and 
respected citizen. His wife, Helen, was a daughter of Daniel Coolidge, 
a banker and prominent man of Poughkeepsie, whose mother was a mem- 
ber of the noted Van Rensselaer family, one of the most distinguished 
in Albany and extensive owners of lands in the Hudson river valley. 
Daniel Coolidge is said to have built the first brick house in Pough- 
keepsie, New York. 

(\'I) John C. Thompson, son of Thomas L. and Helen (Coolidge) 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 9^7 

Thoippson, was born at Schenectady, New York, April 15, 1S45, ^ncl 
his father died when he was only six years old. As a young man he 
attended a private school at Ridgefield, Connecticut, but at the age of 
twelve he went to work in a general store in Freehold. New Jersey, 
where he worked from four o'clock in the morning until eleven at night 
for fifty dollars a year and board. He had similar employment in New 
York city and elsewhere until i86t, when, at the age of sixteen, he took 
a position in Cooper's large general merchandise establishment in Wa- 
tertown. The concern was doing a business of half a million dollars a 
year, and he kept the books, changing them from single to double en- 
try. He was there only fourteen months, but so well was his employer 
pleased with his work that his pay was advanced several tiipes. When 
he left Watertown, Mr. Thompson went to West Virginia, where he 
began work for a salt and coal mine company at small pay. But he was 
a remarkable boy, and at nineteen was made superintendent of the 
works at a salary of five thousand dollars a year. His ambition, how- 
ever, urged him on, and he took a position with a Cincinnati commis- 
sion house, following which he made a venture for himself in the whole- 
sale grocery business at Mobile, where he made and lost a fortune in 
two years. His next attempt was in the insurance business. He became 
manager of the Continental Life Insurance Company in the territory ex- 
tending from Georgia to Texas, and in five years he wrote policies to 
the amount of fifteen million dollars. He then was given charge of the 
company's interests in the western states, but the concern failed in 
1875, and he entered the employ of the Northwestern Mutual Life In< 
surance Company, New York state being his field for a year and a half. 
Thereafter until 1881 he was manager of the Union Alutual Life In- 
surance Company for Massachusetts, with headquarters in Boston. The 
Eames Vacuum Brake Company had been organized in 187O, but it 
had been badly managed, and in 1884 its affairs were at a low ebb. Mr. 
Thompson saw the possibilities of the enterprise and bought a controll- 
ing' interest in the concern, later changed to the New York Air Brake 
Company. Under his management all the buildings now in use at the 
Watertown plant have been erected. Fifteen hundred men are em- 
ployed at Watertown, and the company operates a large plant in Russia. 
1 heir goods are in use all over the world wherever railroads are known. 
He is connected socially with the Law-yers' Club of New York, the New 
York Athletic Club and is a member of St. Bartholomew church. New 
^'ork citv. 



!»88 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Mr. Thompson married Julia Boj-er, whose father, Joseph Beyer, 
bom in France, was a lawyer and at one time private secretary to Joseph 
Bonaparte, as well as to La Ray de Chaumault. who owned large tracts 
of land in northern New York. 

\\ . W. HAW'ES. The Johnston family is numbered among the 
most prnmiuent pioneer families of Jefferson county and was established 
here in 18 1 J by William Johnston, who was Ijorn in Lower Canada in 
1782. He was a lo\-er of liberty, and was always deeply interested in 
every movement which tended to secure freedom for the people from 
oppressive go\-ernmer,tal rule. He came to the United States in 1812, 
settling in Jefferson county at about the time of the outbreak of the 
second war with Great Britain, becoming an employe of the United 
States government and rendering valuable service upon the frontier dur- 
ing the continuance of hostilities. He was afterward connected with 
another military movement which appears now most curious and inex- 
cusable. It was a pcipular effort on the part of American citizens on 
the northern frontier to overthrow the go\-ernment of Canada by an 
unwarranted invasion of the frontier towns. This movement took place 
in 1837. \\'illiam Johnston, who became an intimate friend of William 
Lyon McKensie. a leader of the Reform party in Canada, was also 
[irominent in that part}-. He became the recognized patriotic com- 
mander of the people who desired that Canada should be freed from 
British rule, and he and a band of followers fortified themselves on one 
of the Thousand Islands, within the Jefferson county boundary line. 
His intrepid daughter, Kate (or Katherine) Johnston, held communi- 
cation with them arid furnished them with provisions and supplies. It 
wa-^ at that time that Johnston issued the following curious manifesto, 
which is jirobaljly the only instance in which an outlaw ever dared to 
declare war from his place of hiding, against a friendly nation: 

" I. William Johnst<m. a natural Ixirn citizen of Ujjper Canada, do 
hereby declare that I hold a commission in the Patriot service as com- 
mander-in-chief of the naval forces and flotilla. I commanded the ex- 
pedition that captured and destroyed the ' Sir Robert Peel.' The men 
under my command in that expedition were nearly all natural born Eng- 
lish subjects. The exceptions were ^'olunteers. Aly headquarters are 
on an island in the St. Lawrence, without the line of the jurisdiction of 
the United States, at a place named by me l*"ort Wallace. I am well 
acquainted with the boundary line, and know which of the islands do 
and which do not I'elong to the United States. Before I located mv 




'^Tf^Or'H^^u^.iyzJ^ 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. itM» 

headquarters I referred to the decisions of the commissioner made at 
Utica. under the sixth article of the treaty of Ghent. I know the num- 
Ijer of the island, and know that hy the division of the commissions it is 
British territory. I yet hold possession of the station and act under 
orders. The object of my movement is the independence of the Can- 
adas. I am not at war with the commerce or the property of the United 
States. 

" Signed this loth day of June, in the year of our Lord one thousand 
eight hundred and thirty-eiglit. 

" William Johnston." 

It is unnecessary to state that William Johnston and his followers 
put forth ef^Virt th;it was of little avail, yet they were prompted by 
patriotic motives and an earnest love of liberty. His daughter Kate, 
after the war was o\-er, was gi\-en by her friends, in recognition of the 
aid which she rendered, a fine canoe, four feet long, and a beautiful 
ebony paiidle, with a siher plate on it, as a token of the esteem of the 
givers, and these are now in possession of her son, W. W. Hawes. 

William Johnston was married to INliss Ann Randolph, who was 
born in 1784, and they were the parents of seven children: James J.; 
Alaria. who became the wife of a Mr. Reed, of Detroit, [Michigan; Na- 
poleon B. ; John ; Katherine. or Kate, before mentioned, and who be- 
came the wife of Charles L. Hawes: Stephen D., of Clayton, New York; 
and William J. 

Of this family John Johnston was bom in Watertown, New York, 
in 1816, and his education was acquired at Sackets Harbor. In 1834 
he became a resident of Clayton. He was then eighteen years of age, 
poor but ambitious, and he scorned no labor that would yield him an 
honest living. In the early days he was frequently employed to row a 
l)oat for a dollar per day, antl he soon demonstrated that he was worthy 
of the public confidence and public trust, and that he was capable in 
business life. His industry and economy at length brought him capital 
that enabled him to engage in business on his own account about the 
time he attained his majority, and he established a little store at the 
foot of James street, in Clayton. In the rear of the building was the 
steamship wharf, over which crossed the passenger and freight traific 
of the town, thus making the situation a uK^st desirable one for Imsiness 
purp(5ses. In this mercantile enterjirise My. Johnston was very success- 
ful. His worth and abilit}- were also recognized by his fellow citizens, 
who called him to public ot¥ice, and in every public trust he was found 
faithful and loyal to the best interests of the community. He served 



990 GEXEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

as supervisor of his town for many years, and during the administra- 
tions of Presidents Poli<, Pierce and Buchanan he was deputy collector 
of the port of Clayton. His political allegiance was given the Democ- 
racy, and he always had firm faith in its principles as containing the 
best elements of good government. In the latter vears of his life, after 
he had put aside business and official cares, he was a familiar and hon- 
ored figure on the streets of Clayton, and when he passed awav the 
community mourned the loss of a \'alued citizen. 

Mr. Johnston was married in 1845 to Miss Emily Jane Hawes. a 
daughter of William W. and Ann (^^^^itney) Hawes, and a sister of 
Charles L. Hawes. She was born September 13, 1817, and she, too, 
has passed away. Like her parents, she was liorn in Canada, and the 
famih' was founded in Jefferson countv in the earlv part of the nine- 
teenth century. There were four children, three daughters and a son : 
Harriet, born in 1S12: Julia Ann. in 1814: ]\Irs. Johnston: and Charles 
L.. who married his cousin, Katherine Johnston. 

The Hawes family is also descended from Canadian ancestors, and 
from an early pioneer epoch in the history of JefYerson county has been 
represented in this part of the state. William ^^^ Hawes, born in Can- 
ada, came to the United States near the beginning of the nineteenth 
centur_\', and established his home in Jefferson county. He became 
highly respected throughout the community by reason of his business 
integrity, his fidelity in citizenship and his loyalty to the ties of the 
home and of friendshi]i. He married IMiss Ann \\niitney, wlio was 
also born in Canada, and like her husband sharerl in the esteem of all 
who knew them. They became the parents of three daughters and a 
son: Harriet, born in 1812: Julia Ann, in 1814: Emily Jane, in 1817, 
who became the wife of John Johnston: and Charles L. 

Charles L. Hawes, the last named of the above mentioned family, 
was Ijorn in Canada, rmd at an early age was brought by his jjarents to 
Jefferson county, so that he was reared here amid tlie scenes and environ- 
ments of pioneer life. He continued to reside in this county until his 
death. His wife also passed away here, and lioth, liy reason of their 
many excellent traits of heart and mind, left behind them a memory 
which is still cherished ancl revered by their descendants and h\ those 
who were their friends while the}' were still acti\-e factors in the busy 
affairs of life. They were the ])arents of five children: \\'. \\'., who 
is now living in Clayton and is engaged in the jewelry and optical 
business: Kate, who died in childhood: Jennie, who is a widow and 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. '.»'.»! 

resides in Bn;>oklyn, Xew York ; Josephine, who married John Unser, 
of Carthage. Xew ^'ork; and ]\Irs. Anna Belle Jones, who is now a 
widow. 

ISAAC HUBBARD FTSKE, The Fiskes in America are de- 
scended from an ancient family of that name which for centuries and 
until a recent period had a seat and manorial lands in Laxfield, in the 
county of Suffolk, England. During the reigns of Henry \ . and \T. 
(1399-1422) Lord Symond Fiske A\as Lord of the jNIanor of Stad- 
haugh, parish of Laxfield, county of Suffolk, England. His coat of 
arms bore chequer, argent and gules, upon a pale sahle. three mullets 
pierced, or : with the motto : Alacte \"irtute sic itur ad astra. 

Of Lord S)'mond's fi\e children, the oldest, William, lived through 
the reigns of Henry VI., Edward IV., Richard III., and Henry VII. 
He married Joan Lynn, of Norfolk, who bore to him eight children. 
Of these Simon died about 1537, leaving a family of ten children. Eliz- 
abeth, his wife, w^as the mother of eleven children. The father died in 
1505, leaving to his brother John a bequest of ten marks "to sing to his 
soul one year." Simon's eldest son Robert was born at Stadhaugh. date 
unknown, and married Mrs. Sybil (Gould) Barber. Their lives were 
unhappily cast during the reign of Queen Mary of blood}' memory, and 
they suffered from religious persecutions. Isabella, a sister of Sybil, 
was confined in the castle at Norwich, and only escaped through the 
intervention of her brothers, who were men of great influence in the 
country. Robert fled from the papal wrath to Geneva, but returned to 
England on the accession of Queen Elizabeth. Of his five children, the 
youngest, Elizabeth, was the mother of John Locke, the illustrious Eng- 
li.sh philosopher. Robert's oldest son, William, was born in 1566, and 
shared his father's exile in Geneva. He married Anne Anstye. His 
daughter, Hannah, married \\'i!liam Chandler, and the compiler of the 
Chandler manuscript in the Britisli Museum was born of this mar- 
riage. Seven children were born to ^^'illiam Fiske. and the line of de- 
scent is through the second child and oldest son Nathaniel. He was born 
at Weybred. England, and married Mrs. Alice (Henel) Leman. He 
had but two children. Of these Nathaniel, the first born, married Doro- 
thv Symonds. There is a tradition in the family that he died on the 
passage to New England. He was the father of ten children, of whom 
the second child, John, was born in England about 1619. The latter 
married Sarah Wyeth. and came to America, settling at Watertown, 



992 GEXEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

iMassacliKsetis. where he purchased six acres of land. Of his ten chil- 
dren, John (second) was born in W'atertown in 1655. He married, in 
1679, Abigail Parks, who bore him nine children. The third of these. 
Lieutenant John Fiske, was born in W'altham. 16S7. He was twice 
married, first to Alary W'hitnej' in 171 1, and (second) to Elizabeth Chin- 
ery in 1727. Of his seven children, Daniel, the youngest, was born in 
W'altham about 1730, and died in Wendell. [Massachusetts, on Thanksgiv- 
ing day, 1799. He married Sarah Kendall, of Lexington. Of their ten 
children. Amos, the third, was born in Wendell, ]\Iay 26, 1780. Li 1807 
he married, at Trenton, New York, Mar\- Hubbard, who was born Au- 
gust 26, 1789. at Aliddletown, Connecticut. He located at Erie, Penn- 
sylvania, moving from there in 1810 to Ashtabula, Ohio, taking up land 
which that city now occupies. In 1833 he was a member of the Ohio 
state legislature. He died in 1836 after a busy and successful life, de- 
voted to farming, stock raising and general merchandise. 

The Hon. Amos Fiske kept up the goodly record of the family, and 
of his eleven children, Isaac Hubbard Fiske. the subject of this sketch, 
was the oldest son. He was born at Ashtabula, Ohio, Octolser 9, 181 1. 
and at his father's death, at the age of twenty-five, succeeded to a multi- 
farious business which included an extensive trade in country produce 
and the shipment of live stock to eastern markets, the then recent open- 
ing of the Erie canal making such shipments easy and remunerative. 
In 1 84 1 Mr. Fiske removed to Watertown, New York, where he en- 
gaged in business with his father-in-law, and from that date until his 
death his business relations were far-reaching. With Samuel F. Bates 
he operated a tannery on Newell street, and ran a boot and shoe store; 
with Hiram Holcomb he was interested in the Black River Woolen 
Ailills. and as a member of Horr, Fiske & Company, he engaged exten- 
sively in the manufacture of clothing for the wholesale house of Hunt, 
Wiggins & Company, of which he was also a partner. 

He was a very active member and for many years president of the 
city water commissioners, being one of the original board. In 185 1 he 
was one of the trustees of the then village of Watertown, and at the 
time of his demise was vice-president of the Jefferson Count}' National 
Bank, a trustee of the Jefferson County Savings Bank, and vice-presi- 
dent of the Watertown Steam Engine Company. He was one of the 
electors for the state of New York on the ticket elected in i860. For 
several years prior to his death, which occurred February i, 1877, he 
was a member of the First Presbyterian church. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 9y3 

From an obituary published at the time of his demise we take a 
well merited summary of his character; "j\Ir. Fiske was an energetic 
business man whose honesty, fearlessness and good judgment were best 
appreciated by those who knew him well. His independence and deter- 
mination were always tempered by a patient consideration of all opin- 
ions opposed to his, and no selfish motives were allowed to sway his 
judgments." 

Mr. Fiske married, in 1836, Mary Saii'ord. ilrs. Fiske was pro- 
foundly, but not ostentatiously interested in all good works. With 
Mrs. Robert Lansing she was prominent in the founding of the Jeffer- 
son County Orphan's Home, and was for many years secretary and 
treasurer of the board of directresses. She was a daughter of Dr. John 
Safford, who m. 1807 moved from Salem, New York, to Martinsburg, 
where he was actively engaged in the medical profession. In 1826 he 
removed to Watertown and established a mercantile business in his 
block on Court street. Mrs. Fiske's mother was a daughter of General 
Walter Martin, one of the most noted of any of the pioneers of the 
north country. He was the son of Captain Adam Martin, and was 
born in Sturbridge, Massachusetts, December 15, 1764. After living 
for a short time in Salem, New York, he removed to the Black River 
country in 1801, having purchased of James Constable eight thous- 
and acres of land, including the east subdivision of township 
five of the Boylston tract. General Martin held successively the 
ot^ices of assistant justice of the Oneida court, town commissioner, 
state road commissioner and state senator. He was a brigadier 
general, in which capacity he served on the frontier in 1S14. He built 
at Martinsburg an imposing stone house nearly fifty feet square, which 
was modeled with but little change from the famous Johnson Mansion 
built at Amsterdam by Sir William Johnson. The four children of Mr. 
Fiske are living: John S. resides at Alassio, Italy. Susan M. is the 
wife of John C. Knowlton (see Knowlton). Isaac R. and Mary H. 
reside in Watertown. 

JABEZ FOSTER, a former substantial and respected resident of 
Watertown, now deceased, was a pioneer of the city and town, and 
active in promoting the commercial, moral and social welfare of both. 
He was born August i, 1777, in Lebanon, Connecticut, where his youtli 
was passed upon a farm. In early manhood he set out for the then west, 
and w'as located for a short time in Oneida countv, this state. He was 



994 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

married, at Paris, in tliat county, July 24, 1800, to Hannah Hunger- 
ford, who was born September 13, 1777. in Farmington, Connecticut, 
and died October 16, 1826. in Watertown (see Hungerford, V). From 
Oneida county I\Ir. Foster moved to Turin, Lewis county, and all along 
Ins way to Jefferson county was engaged in making potash for the 
market, the chief cash-producing industry of the pioneers of northern 
New York. 

In 1805 jMr. Foster took up his residence in the town of \\'atertown, 
at Burr's Mills, and shortly after removed to the site of the present city, 
then largel}- a wilderness. Here he was a foremost figure in the business 
circles of that early day. He built and operated a grist mill on the north 
side of the river, and soon added to his enterprises a general store, and 
was long engaged in business with success. His accumulations were in- 
vested largely in lands and village lots, and his own residence stood where 
Edwin Paddock now resides, on Washington street, between Stone and 
Clinton streets. He built other houses on that street, and was an e.x- 
tensive real estate operacor in liis day. His last years were spent at the 
home of his daughter, wife of Major Henry Smith, at Monroe. Michi- 
gan, where he died December 10. 1847. He was one of the founders 
of the First Presbyterian church of Watertown. and among its most 
faithful members. He was commonly kno\\n as Judge Foster, through 
his long ser\'ice as associate judge of the county court. 

Of the thiiteen children of Mr. Foster, five grew to maturity, and 
are noted as follows: Gustavus A. settled in Cleveland, Ohio, in early 
manhood, and died at Oconomowoc, Wisconsin. Elvira Lorraine be- 
came the wife of Major Henry Smith, of the United States army, who 
receives further mention in this work (see Story). E\-alina, lx)rn July 
I. 1806, at Burrville, married Adriel Ely (see Ely V). Jabez married a 
daughter of Judge Egbert Ten Eyck, and died of consumption in Jack- 
sonville, Florida. Abirrls died of the same malady in Dayton. Ohio. 

JOSEPH ALLEX. son of Daniel and Elizabeth Seabury Allen, 
was born at ^\'estport. [Massachusetts, November 14, 1758. He was a 
descendant of George Allen, who was born in England about 1568, and 
came to Mas.sachusetts from Weymouth, England, in 1635. and from 
Lynn settled in Sandwich in 1636, where he lived until his death in 1648. 
He was a prominent official of FMymouth colony, and a member of the 
Friends' Society. The line of descent is as follows : Ralph, son of 
George, married Esther Swift, died in 1698; Joseph, born 1642; Joseph, 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. i'95 

liorn 1667: Joseph, bdni 1704, married Ivuth Smith; Danieh hnrn 1729. 
married Ehza1)eth Seahury. 1751. died 1822. The names of the cliiUh'en 
horn to Daniel and wife are: Humiihrey. (iideon, Joseph. Jiilin, Mary 
( ]\Irs. Cornwell). I'ardon, Weston. Rlnxla (Mrs. ]\Iaconi1;er ). Rutli 
( ;\Irs. Shearman ) . 

Joseph Allen was apprenticed to a blacksmith for four years, and 
when a young man worked at vessel hlacksmithing at Providence. Rliode 
Island. He was a minute-man two years and nine months during- the 
Re\olutionar\- war, was attaclied to a jiiece of artillerw and was called 
out on active dut_\- sexeral times. Prudence Earl, liorn J;uiuary 14, 1768. 
at Dartmouth, jMassachusetts. was married to him June 2j. 1 784. She 
was an only daughter of Calel) and Elizabeth Brightman Earl, and a de- 
scendant of Ralph Earle. who came from England about 1634 and set- 
tled in Rhode Island. Prudence had three brothers. James. Xaj(ir and 
Arnold. After marriage Joseph Allen lived in Dartmouth until 1793, 
when he remo\-ed to Gadway, Saratoga county. Xew ^'ork. He owned 
a farm there, and also worked at his trade. Ten years later the tide of 
emigration was to the Black River country, and Mr. Allen went to the 
town of Ellisburg in the fall of 1804, purchasing three hundred and 
twent}' acres of land at Bear Creek, and built the first house there on the 
site where the Allen blacksmith shop stands. The place was a wilder- 
ness and two miles from any haliitation. .\t this time Joel Brown, to 
whom the oldest daughter of ]\Ir. .\llen was married, was living two 
miles north of Bear Creek, on what is now the Adams road. Mr. Allen 
iuo\-ed to Bear Creek in March. 1805. in company with Arnold Earl 
and Pardon Earl. They came by the way of Redfield and .\dams. and 
blazed trees ser\-ed as a guide part of the distance. The first season, 
as late as July. ^Ir. Allen sowed oats, wdiich ripened. Soon after he set- 
tled he built a frame addition to his house and opened an inn. He also 
built a small shop in which to work at his trade; the site it is thought 
was north of the creek. Afterward he' built a shop on Lorraine street, 
and 'carried on business there a number of years, when he was succeeded 
by his son Elihu. A few years after he settled he gave to the public a 
lot for a bur\'ing ground and also laid out the public square or " green." 
which was part of his original purchase. About 181 8 he built the hotel 
which is still in use. and kept public house there until 1823. wlien he was 
succeeded by Joel Brown, and moved to the corner house b(jught of 
Oliver N. Snow, where he lived until his death, September 2t,. 1838. He 
was supervisor of the town of Ellislnu-g in 1808 and 1809. and also 



996 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

held the office of magistrate. His wife, a very bright, active woman 
and of keen wit, snrvived him until December 27, 1843. Ten chil- 
dren were born to them: Nancy, born in 1785, married Joel Brown, 
1803. and died in 1844; James, born in 1786, died in 1788; Betsey, 
born in 1788, married Henry King, 1809, and died in 1871 ; Joseph, 
born in 1791, married Phebe Williams. 1820, and died in 1864; John, 
born in 1793, married Melissa Dewey, 1823, and died in 1S76; Rhoda, 
born in 1795, married Roswell Marsh, 1834, and died in 1835, at 
Hebron, Ohio; Harvey, born in 1798, married Lucy N. Freeman, 1826, 
and died in 1879; Rtith, born in 1802, married S. J. Stebbins, 1826, 
and died in 1838; Elihu, born in 1806, married Almira Andrus, 1839, 
and died in 1886: Hiram, born in 1810, married Fanny Taylor, 1837, 
and died in 1891. John Allen held the office of magistrate over forty 
years. Eight of the children lie buried in the village cemetery. Joseph 
Allen was of medium stature, well informed, of an even temperament, 
honorable and much respected. In religious faith he was a Restora- 
tionist. and somewhat in accord with the Society of Friends. One of 
his rules was never to sue to collect a debt. A postoffice was estab- 
lished at Bear Creek about 1840 with the nalne of Pierrepont Manor, 
and since then the place has been known by that name. 

ARCHIE C. RYDER, a leading attorney of Watertown and prom- 
inent in political circles, is well known throughout the county and state. 
He comes of old Massachusetts stock, and exemplifies the sturdy sense 
and physique of the New England blood. The family is said to be of 
Welsh origin. 

(I) Joseph Ryder, of Boston, married a Miss Amadon. He died 
early, leaving" his widow with four small children, Joseph, David, Polly 
and Betsey. The elder son was crippled by a falling tree and died when 
quite young. Both the daughters died young, of consumption. 

(II) David Ryder, second son of Joseph Ryder, was torn May 
6, 1757, and was only six years old when his father died. He was reared 
by a wealthy man named Hills. The latter entered the Revolutionary 
army as captain, and took along young Ryder as a waiter. The latter 
married Esther Jocelyn, and seems to have lived in Vermont, as his 
children are recorded as having been born there. They were: Benja- 
min. Joseph, Esther and Deborah. The elder son died unmarried. The 
elder daughter married H. S. Pomeroy, and the younger became the 
wife of Silas Greenman. Esther Jocelyn was the voungest child of her 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 'M)7 

parents. Her father was an eccentric man. though finely educated and 
one of the best readers of his da}-. Her mother. Mar\- Eirown. was of 
Irish birth and noble blood. 

(HI) Joseph, son of David and Esther ( J'-'celyn) Ryder, was born 
in December, 1780. in Boston, and married Mary Hill. She was a scion 
of the same family as David B. Hill, ex-governor of New York. Mr. 
Ryder died in 1871, aged ninety-one years and one month. They "were 
the parents of nine children, as follows: David, born January 13, 1804. 
in Boston, Massachusetts; Clark, born ]May 4, 1805, in Vermont: Benja- 
min, December 31, i8of^ in Vermont: Mary. December 19, 1808. in Mil- 
ford, Oswego countv, New ^'ork: Joseph, Xo\-ember 22, 1810, in Mil- 
ford; Betsey, May 6, 18 13, in Chaumont. New ^'ork ; Louise. June J3. 
1815; John. May 25. 1817: Ellis, January 28. i8i(). 

(IV) David, eldest chikl of Joseph and Mary (Hill) Ryder, was 
born in 1804, as abo\-e noted, and was about nine x'ears old when his 
parents settled in the town of Lyme, this county. He grew up here, and 
was engaged in farming in that town. His first wife, Alzada Bacon, of 
Watertown, bore him three children : Celestia, Van Buren, and Duane. 
He married, second, Aniiah Jackson, and had five children by the second 
marriage, namely: Lucina, James, Emily, and Ellis and Dallas, twins. 
Annah Jackson, of Onondaga, was a granddaughter of Stephen and .\nn 
(Davis) Jackson, the former a farmer and woolen manufacturer of 
Delphi Flats, New 'Wirk. He served seven years as a soldier in the 
Revolution. His sons were James and William. The elder was a 
farmer of Onondaga \'alley. New York, and died in Syracuse. He 
married Tryphena Howe, and they were the parents of AnnalT Jackson, 
who became the wife of David Ryder. Tryphena Howe was a daughter 
of Daniel and Sarah (Rose) Howe, of New Haven, Connecticut. Tra- 
dition relates interesting statements of the experiences of Stej^hen Jack- 
son ant! his family during the Revolution. While he was away in his 
country's service his family was reduced to great privations, and it is 
related that his two sons had only one pair of shoes between them during 
the seven years cjf their father's absence, and were accustomed, while 
cutting wood for fuel in the winter, to heat chips on which they stood 
with bare feet. By burying silver and other valuables the mother man- 
aged to preserve them until peace came, and the prosperity attendant 
upon the labors of the husband and father. 

(V) Dallas Ryder, son of David and Annah (Jackson) Ryder, 
was born April 28, 1845, i" Lyme, and was sixteen years old at the out- 



998 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Iireak of the ci\il war. Xotwithstanding liis youth lie enhsted as a sol- 
dier in defense of the Union, thus adding another generation in the mil- 
itary annals of the family. He was enrolled October i8. 1861, at Water- 
town, and became a private in Company B, Thirty-fifth Regiment, New 
York Volunteers, known as the Jefferson County regiment. He served 
twenty-two months with this organization in the field, participating 
in the battles of INIanassas Junction. Cedar ]\Iountain, Rappahannock Sta- 
tion. White Sulphur Springs, second Bull Run. South ]\Ioimtain, An- 
tietam. Fredericksburg, and Chancellorsville. Upon the expiration of 
his term he re-enlisted in the Twenty-sixth Regiment, Frontier Cavalry, 
and at the close of the war was honorably discharged as second lieuten- 
ant of Company H. Iiaving won promotion by efiicient service. On the 
return of peace he returned to Lyme and took up his residence at Three 
Mile Bay. where he still makes his home. Since 187 1 he has been em- 
ployed on the Anchor line of steamers, plying l.ietween Buffalo and 
Dukith and Chicago, as captain. He is now in command of the 
" Muncy." said to be the largest steamer on the lakes. ]\Ir. Rvder is 
a member of E. V. Mayhew Post. Grand Army of the Republic, of Three 
Alile Bay. and holds high (_|egree in the Masonic nrder. He was made 
a Mason in Chaumont Lodge Xo. 172, of which he is ])ast master, and 
afiiliates with Cape Vincent Chapter. Ro^al Arch Masons; Watertown 
Commandery, Knights Templar : and Media Temple. Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, of Watertown. 

Mr. Ryder was married to Ann Janette, daughter of Aura and Lois 
Janette Wilson, of Lyme. Aura Wilson was born October 10, 1817, and 
was early a resident (~if Ellisburg, whence he removed to Lvme. He was 
a blacksmith and shipwright, and fiecame the owner of a fleet of fishing 
floats. His brothers. William. John and Hiram, were also residents of 
this county. His wife. Louisa Geanet Fenton. was liorn Octolier i. 1822, 
and died February 18. 1857. She was a daughter of Fleazur Fenton. a 
farmer of the town of Lyme, and his wife. Loraina Townsend. After 
the death of his first wife. Mr. Wilson married Harriet Newell Buc- 
hanan, and a son of this marriage. William Alexander Wilson, is now a 
resident of \\'atertown. The father died at the age of sixty-three years. 
The children of the first wife, who died at the age of thirt\'-five. were: 
Helen M.. wife of George Perry, residing in Oswego, New York; 
Cecelia, who became the wife of Henry Swackhamnier, and is now 
deceased: Delmetia, who married Charles Eigenbrodt, of St. Johnsville, 
New \'ork : Ann Janette, wife of Dallas R_\'der, as before noted: and 
.Alice Tane, who died \oung. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 999 

The children uf Dallas and .\nn Janette ( Wilson) Ryder were three 
in numher : Willie, the eldest, now deceased; Archie C, who receives 
extended mention hereinafter; Myrtle Annah. 

(VI) Archie C. Ryder was liorn October J3. 1873. in Three Alile 
Ba^•. where he received his ]irimar}- eiUication in the common schools. 
He graduated fmni the high school in 1890. and from the Adams Colle- 
giate Institute in 1893. Desiring io take up the legal profession, he 
entered the Buffalo Law School, from which he was graduated in 1898, 
and was admitted to the l>ar in 1S99. He immediately began the gen- 
eral practice of the law, in association with Loren E. Harter, and is now 
a partner in the law firm of Harter, Phelps & Ryder. This combination 
is a strong one, and enji')ys a lucrati\-e practice, and Mr. Ryder holds 
the confidence and respect of the general public and his professional 
contemporaries. He takes an actixe interest in jiublic affairs, and is 
prominently identified with political m(i\ements. In 1900 he was elected 
a member of the Repulilican cnunt}' cimimittee fmm the town of Lyme, 
and is now chairman (if that liody. In the jiresidential campaign of 1904 
he rendered valuable service to the part}", and aided in securing its phe- 
nomenal triumph. Lie is chairman of the memliersbip committee of the 
Lincoln League, a powerful political and social organization of Water- 
town, which has grown from a membership of eight hundred to fourteen 
hundred under his aggressive policy. 

.Mr. Ryder has won laurels in the field as well as on the rostrum. 
Carrying out the spirit of his fathers, he enlisted as a soldier at the out- 
break of the S])anish-American war, becdming a memlier of Company A, 
Sixty-fifth Regiment Xew York \'nlunteer Infantry, with which he 
served until the close of the war, earning the reputation of a faithful 
soldier. He is a trustee of Bradley Winshnv Post. Sons of Veterans, 
and affiliates with several Masonic bodies, namely : Cbaumont Lodge 
No. ij2. Free and Accepted Masons, in which he has held the office of 
secretary ; Cape Vincent Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; and Water- 
town Commandery, Knights Templar. He also belongs to Court Lyme, 
Independent Order of Foresters, and Corona Lodge, Knights of Pythias, 
of Watertown. 

He was married August 26, 1903, to Emma L., daughter of David 
and Lnvina ( Hunt ) Resseguie, of Sulphur Springs, town of Hounsfield, 
this county. (See Resseguie). 

I\T{S. This is one of the oUlest New England families, and 
has numerous representatives in Jefferson county, among whose pio- 



1000 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

neers were several of the name. They and tlieir descendants have 
been reckoned among the thrift}', upright and industrious citizens, 
most of whom ha\-e been tillers of the soil. All of the name in the 
United States are believed to be of one great family, the progenv of a 
pioneer at New Haven, Connecticut. 

d) William Ives sailed from England in the ship "True Love" 
in 1635, being then twenty-eight years of age. and landed at Boston. 
He was a member of the Davenport colony which settled at New Haven 
in 1637-8, and was one of the signers of the Civil Compact in 1639. 
He died there about 1648, and his widow Hannah subsequently mar- 
ried a Dr. Bassett. Of William Ives' children there were four, namely : 
John, Joseph. Phoebe and Daniel. 

(II) John, eldest child of William and Hannah Ives, was the 
first of the name to settle in ^^'allingford. where he was one of the early 
residents, the settlement being effected in 1671. He was a farmer in 
that part of the town which is now the town of Meriden. Connecticut. 
His wife was Hannah Merriman. from one of the first families at New 
Haven. Their children were : John. Hannah. Joseph, Gideon, Na- 
thaniel, Ebenezer, Samuel and Bejamin. 

(III) Gideon, fourth child and third son of John and Hannah 
Ives, was married February 20, 1706, to Mary Royce, a daughter of 
Joseph and jNIary (Porter) Royce, and granddaughter of Robert 
Royce, who was early in Massachusetts and a pioneer at Stratford, 
Connecticut. He finally settled at New London, where he was promi- 
nent for many years and lived to a great age. Mary (Royce) Ives 
died October 15. 1742. aged fifty-six years. Their children were: 
Sarah. Jotham. Amasa. Rhoda, Martha, Amasa (2). Gideon. Joel. 
]\Iary. Susannah, and Esther. 

(IV) Jotham. second child and eldest son of Gideon and ]^Iary 
Ives, was born September 20, 17 10. in Wallingford, and was married 
February 28, 1736, to Abigail Burroughs. He died September 2. 1753, 
being eighteen days short of forty-three years old. INIost of his chil- 
dren settled in Cheshire, then a part of Wallingford, and were farmers. 

(V) Jotham Ives was liorn in 1743, in Cheshire. Connecticut, 
and removed early in life to Torringford, Litchfield county, same col- 
ony, where he spent his days almost exclusively in agricultural pursuits, 
and died in April, 1823. He married Anna Foster, and the following 
cliildren were born to them : Joel, born in Torrington, died in Brook- 
field, New York. He married Anna Goodwin, who was born in Tor- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. lOol 

rington, and they had a daughter Juha. The last named, born in Brook- 
field, married a Scott, and had a daughter Lucy born in 1S02. Lucy 
Scott married Benjamin ]\Iaxon and resided in Houndsfield, this county. 
Their daughter, Sophia, married Jay Dimmick, and they were the par- 
ents of Rufus Maxon Dimmick, now a resident of Houndsfield. 

Anna, second child of Jotham and Anna Foster Ives, was born 
September 26, 1773, in Torrington, and died August, 1859. She be- 
came the wife of Samuel Hall, who was borii April 3, 1771, in W'alling- 
ford, Connecticut, and died 1S41. Their children were: Levi, born 
September, 1796, in Brookfield, New York, and died at the age of ten 
years: Martin. April 14, 1798: Ira, August 26, 1800; settled in Hounds- 
field; Hiram, June 27, 1802, died in Houndsfield, in 1835; Joel, Feb- 
ruary 16, died at twelve: Anna, June, 1S07, died 1831; Samuel, Jan- 
uary 26, 18 10. 

Lucy, third child of Jotham and Anna (Foster) Ives, was born 
in Torrington, in 1775. 

(VI) Jotham, fourth child and second son of Jotham and Anna 
(Foster) Ives, was born June 8. 1777. in Torrington, Connecticut, and 
died in the town of \\'atertown, April 5, 1841. He married Amy Scott, 
who was born June 6, 1777, and died in Watertown, September 20. 
1864. Their children were: Amanda, born March 2. 1802, married 

Henry White, and died : Garrett, born January 8, 1806, in the 

town of Watertown: Ann- Ann, Ixirn August 6, 1816. died April 25, 
1831. 

Jotham Ives during the year 1800 came from Connecticut and lo- 
cated land in the eastern part of Watertown, near the present village 
of Burrville. He returned to Torrington in the following winter and 
came again to Watertown in 1801. He located permanently in that 
year in the extreme western part of the town, in the district now called 
"Field's Settlement." He jjurchased his land by contract in 1801. and 
received his deed August 20, 1802. It is claimed that this is the first 
deed issued in the town. He became a large land owner, and it is said 
raised the first wheat in the town. Mr. Ives was a man of strong will 
and great industry, and became prominent not only in the town but in 
the county. He made a success where others might fail, and left his 
impress upon the young community. 

(VH) Garrett Ives, the eldest son and second child of Jotham 
and Amy (Scott) I\'es, was born January 8. 1806. in the town of 
Watertown, on his father's homestead. His education was supplied 



1002 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

by the cumnidii sclmcils ui his nati\e town and at Luwxille .Xcadeniy. 
He assisted his father on the Imme farm and folldwed farming all his 
life. He was a breeder (if tine Imrses and an extensi\'e dealer in cattle, 
whicli he prepared for the market. For a number of years he was the 
owner and operator of the grist mill in the village of Watertown, and 
be took part in the establishment of early financial institutions, being 
a stockholder of the Jefferson County Bank, and the present prosperous 
condition of that institution may be attributed to the conservative man- 
agement of such men as Mr. Ives in its initial progress. He was a 
Democrat in politics, and was the noiuinee of his party at one time for 
member of assemlily, but was defeated because of the strong opposi- 
tion majority in the district. He was respected by bis townsmen as a 
man of strong personality and upright career, a sound and successful 
citizen. 

He married (first) Lorinda Lann^n, born in 1812, daughter of 
Francis and Pbilena Lamon (see Lamon). She died January 20. 1831, 
leaving an only child, Francis Ives, born December 25, 1830. He died 
January 7, 1897, '" Watertown. Mr. Ives married (second) Louisa, 
widow of Elihu Sheppard, born Read. She was born in 1806, and died 
in August, 1847. Her children were: Brayton Charles, Titus and 
Lewis G. The first was born July 28, 1834, died near Fort Clark, 
Texas, June 20, 1837: his education was received at the common 'school 
near his home, the Black River Institute at Watertown, and at the 
National iNIilitary College at West Point, from which he graduated, 
and was commissioned a lieutenant in the regular army. While on 
the wav to his post of duty at Fnrt Clark, he was stricken with fever 
which terminated his life. He was brilliant and handsome, standing 
six feet in height, and his untimely death was regretted by many out- 
side of his immediate family. Garrett Ives married for his third wife 
Eliza Stewart, daughter of John and Olive Stewart. She was born 
December 2, 1824, in the town of Pamelia, and died May 7, 1894, at 
the home of her son in Watertown. A sketch of the son appears in a 
later paragraph. 

(VIII) Titus, son of Garrett and Loui.sa (Read) Ives, was born 
October 2, 1836, on the parental homestead and became a farmer and 
breeder of fine horses. He died unmarried April 19, 1903. 

(VIII) Lewis Garrett Ives, third son of Garrett and Louisa 
(Read) Ives, was born July 20, 1847, in the town of Watertown. The 
schools- of his home and the city of Watertown supplied his education, 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. l«i)3 

and he remained upon the home farm until he attained his majority. 
He then located on his present extensive farm on the road between 
Rice's Corners and Field's Settlement. He dwelt upon and tilled this 
place twenty-nine years and still manages it, though his residence has 
been recently mo\ed to Rices. In 1898 he juirchased the cheese fac- 
tory at that point, which he has successfully conducted to the present 
time. Mr. Ives aims to keep abreast of progress in agricultural 
methods as in everything else, and is a useful member of Star Grange, 
No. 9, (if Houndsfield. In politics he follows the traditions of the fam- 
ily and adheres to the Democratic part>-, but gives little time to political 
movements, being fullv occupie<l in caring f(ir his numerous business 
interests. He is one of the most substantial and worthy citizens of 
his town, and is held in respect by his neighbors. 

He was married December 25, 1873, to Mary Jane Livermore, a 
daughter of Fred M. and Mary A. (Frost) Livermore, of the town of 
Houndsfield. She was born December 12. 1849, and is the mother of 
a son, Lewis Garrett Ives, born October 14, 1874, on his father's farm 
in the town of W'atertown. He received his education in the l(ical ])ul)1ic 
schools at home and in the city of W'atertown, and resides with his 
father and assists in the conduct of the farm and factory. He also 
adheres to the political principles of the family, and is a young man of 
energy and business aliility. He was married November 12, 1896, to 
Emma May, daughter of Harvey Collins and Emma Herrick Rice. She 
was born November Jd. \SJC^, and they have one child, Mabel Grace, 
born July 3, 1898. 

(VIII) Fred Stewart Ives, only child of Garrett and Eliza 
(Stewart) Ives, was born August 18, 1856, near the city line of Water- 
town, on the road from that city to Brownville. His education was 
received at the public schools of the town and city oi Watertown. In 
the vacation periods he was busy in the labors of the farm, and was thus 
early accustomed to the use of his hands and bodv, as well as of his 
miud. He inherited the sound qualities that have made the Ives family 
noted amiing the thriftv and respectable citizens of this republic. In 
time he purchased a farm for himself, nn which he now resides. It is 
located in the southwestern part of the town of Watertown. on the road 
from Rice's to Field's Settlement, and here he was successfully engaged 
in farming and the breeding of fine horses and cattle. These command 
the best prices in the market, because of his care and judgment in selec- 
tion. He is an industrious and prudent business man, a good citizen, 



1004 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

and has the respect of those who know him. In pohtics. he acts with 
the Democratic party. 

Mr. Ives was married October 28, 1886, to ]\liss Martha Ann 
Fields, who was born January 12, 1867, in Sackets Harbor. She is a 
granddaughter of John Fields, who was torn in Scotland and located 
at Sackets Harbor on coming to America. John, son of John Fields, 
was born January 17, 1845, i" Sackets Harbor, and was married Octo- 
ber 31. 1865. to Anna Stokes, who died January 13, 1893. Her 
daughter, Martha A., is the wife of Fred S. Ives as above noted. The 
only child of 'Mv. and Mrs. Ives. Grovine Sadie, was born December 
10, 1902, in the house where her parents now reside. Two adopted 
children complete the family, namely: Maud Spooner, born March 
23, 1891, in the city of Watertown, and Arthur John, born September 
23, 1893, in the same place. 

MILON BAKER, one of the efficient assessors of the town of 
Champion, and a progressive and prosperous farmer, residing in the 
southern part of that town, is a native of Jefferson county, born April 
15, 1846, in the town of Philadelphia. His parents, Perry and Mar- 
garet Baker, were born in Russia, Herkimer county, this state, the 
mother being a daughter of Nathaniel Tompkins, a prominent farmer of 
Herkimer county. 

Perry Baker was born :March 2^. 1822, and was the only son of his 
father's family to strike out from the native locality and make a home. 
About 1844 he came to Philadelphia, this county, with a capital consist- 
ing of good health and a determination to succeed. He first bought 
sixty acres of land which he soon sold, and then bought a farm of one 
hundred and twenty-three acres on which he lived at the time of his 
death, April 20, 1857. Besides farming he dealt considerably in farm 
stock, in which he was very successful. It was his custom to purchase 
cattle and horses in Canada and sell them to farmers in Philadelphia. 
He also drove stock to New England, disposing of it to farmers along 
the road. By his energ)- and industry he accumulated an estate of over 
eight thousand dollars in the thirteen years that he lived in Philadel- 
phia. While not a member of any church lie was a Ijeliever in religion, 
and gave his support to the Baptist church. His widow, born May 9, 
1825, died June 9, 1895. They were the parents of two children, Milon 
and Emily Jane, the latter hemg now the wife of Elisha Shurtleff, of 
Philadelphia. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1005 

Milon Baker grew up on tlie Imme farm in Philadelphia, receiving 
his primary education in the district school of the neighborhood, and 
finishing at a select school in the village of Philadelphia. He was only 
eleven years of age when death robbed him of his father, and his self- 
reliance was thus cultivated at an early day. He continued to reside 
on the homestead, which he tilled until 1898, when he sold it and moved 
to his present farm in Champion. Here he acciuired one hundred and 
fourteen acres of the finest land in the town, and is now busily engaged 
in its cultivation, maintaining a small dairy. He is a member of Phila- 
delphia Grange, of which he was master two years, and also continues 
his connection with the Philadelphia Court, Independent Order of For- 
esters, in which he has served as chief ranger. He is a member of 
Copenhagen Lodge, No. 831, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in 
whose benevolent and fraternal principles he feels a deep interest. Mr. 
Baker is a reliable Republican in political principle. For the last three 
rears he has acted as assessor, and was re-elected in 1903. 

Mr. Baker was married October 29, 1868, to Miss Catherine 
Strickland, who was born in Philadelphia, a daughter of John and Lucy 
(Freeman) Strickland, the former named, now deceaseil. having been a 
prosperous farmer. Her grandfather. John Strickland, was among the 
first settlers of the town of Philadelphia. John and Lucy (Freeman) 
Strickland were the parents of the following named children : George. 
a resident of Philadelphia; Caroline, deceased, was the wife of Charles 
Roberts; Charles, a resident of Deer River; Catherine A., aforemen- 
tioned as the wife of Milon Baker; Pitt, a resident of Philadelphia; 
Martha, who became the wife of Dr. D. F. Lucas, and they now reside 
in Brooklyn, New^ York; John, a resident of Wilna ; Miles, a resident 
of Mendon. Michigan ; Lucy, who died in infancy. Mrs. Baker had 
also two half brothers, namely: Albert, who met bis death bv drown- 
ing in the winter of 1903 ; and Everitt, a resident (jf California. 

Two children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Baker, as follows,: Mar- 
garet, wife of \\'illiam Lovejoy, a hardware merchant of Philadelphia; 
and Perry, who resides with bis parents; he married Carrie Baxter, a 
native of Philadelphia. October 28, 1903. 

CAD WELL. This name has been identified with the growth and 
development of Jefferson county, New York, from an early period of 
its history. 

(I) Thomas Cadwell came early to New England, and is first of 



10U6 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

record at Dorchester, in 1630. He was at Hartford in 1652. In 1658 
he married Ehzaheth, widow of Robert Wilson, and hved on tlie corner 
of Front and State streets. He was constable in 1662. and in 1681 was 
licensed to kee]) ferry. He died October 9. 1^194. and was buried in 
the okl graveyard at Centre Church. His children were: Edw'ard, 
Thomas. Samuel. Elizabeth, Mary. Mathew. Hannah. Abigail, Mehita- 
bel, and William. 

(11) Mathew Cadwell. smi of Thomas, was born Oct<ilier 3, 
1668. In 1695 '"1^ married Abigail, daughter of John Beckley. He 
died April 22. 1719, and was buried in the Centre Church graveyard. 
His children were: ]\Iathew. Juhn. Aliel. Daniel and Abigail. 

(HI) Mathew Cadwell ( secon<l ) was l)orn in 169C). He mar- 
ried in 1720 Esther Burnham. and their children were: Amelia and 
Mathew. The father settled in West Hartford. Connecticut and was 
buried there. 

(TV) Mathew Cadwell (third) was born in 1724. In 1747 he 
married Elizabeth Hubbard, and they settled in the town of Bloomfield, 
Connecticut, and the remains of both rest in the Centre Church burying 
ground there. Their children were: Mathew, liorn 1748: Elizabeth, 
1750; Anne, 1752; Peletah, 1734; Huldah, 1736: Theodore, 1739: John, 
1760: Lois and Elizalieth. All are of baptismal record in the "W" 
Church, the latter two on ]\Iarch 18, I7<">4. and Augu.st. 1763, respect- 
i\ely. 

It is stated in Stiles" "History of Windsor" (Connecticut) that 
the Cadwell family mristl}- resided in that p:\vt of Bloomfield in Hartford 
count}-. Connecticut, that was taken from Simsbury. Of the family 
Hinsman says they were good men, and ijrominent in church and town. 
It has been stated by a member of the family that the Cadwells were 
from Scotland, where they were manufacturers. 

The founder of the fan_iily in Jefferson county. Xew York, was 
Austin. Cadwell. who was bom May 2^. I78ri, pnjbably in or near 
Granby. Connecticut. He was married October 3. 1806. his wife's 
christian name being Anna. The family record does not give her 
maiden name. Soon after 1813 Austin Cadwell located in Brownville, 
this countv. where the remainder of his life was passed, engaged in con- 
ducting a foundrv, :md where his bmly was interred after his death. 
His children were: Austin Edson. born June 12. 1808: Anna Eveline, 
December 3, 1809: Mercy Paritta, October 7, 181 1; Kellogg Holcomb, 
March 7. 1813; James Smith, November 17. 1813: Edmund Jay. Feb- 



GEXEALOGICAL AXD FAMILY HISTORY. 1<>07 

ruary 2, 1819: Annis Adeline, Septemlier 26, 1S23; Row!an<l Pettibone, 
December 24, 1825. 

James Smith Cadweli was Ixirn in 181 3. as above noted, in Granby, 
Connecticut, and was educated in the cummnn schools of Brownx'ille. 
He learned the tra<le of liaker and confectioner, in which he became an 
expert, and conducted business successfully for seven years at Ogdens- 
burg-, whence he went to Belleville, Canada, in 1848. There he pros- 
pered until 1855, when he returned to Watertown and continued in his 
calling until within ten years of his death, at the age of seventy-two 
years. He was industrious and thrifty, and did much to build up the 
city. He invented the first cracker making machine, and advised the 
establishment of the first steam bakery in this section, and which is yet 
in successful operation. He invested in real estate, opened up streets 
and built many houses, developing the second ward rapidly, and was 
regarded as one of the most enterprising and public-spirited citizens 
of the town. He was among the active members of the .\rsenal Street 
Methodist Church, serving as class leader and steward, and was ever 
readv to further anv good work. He was a prominent and widely 
known Odd Fellow. 

He married February J=,. 1838, Huldah Hills Whitcomh, who 
was born in Granville, \^'ashington county. New York, March 8, 1820, 
daughter of Rew Lewis and Elmira (Hills) Whitcomb. Her father 
was born April 10, 1800, in Windsor, Vermont, and her mcjther on 
September 8. 1802, in Hartford, Washington county, New York. 
Elmira Hills was a daughter of Jesse Hills, born in Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, and died in East Hartford, January 7, 1859. His wife, Huldah 
Standish, was a direct descendant of Captain Miles Standish, of "^lay- 
flower" fame, through William, son of Miles Standish. Jesse Hills 
was a son of Nathan Hills, who ser\-ed in the war of the Revolution, 
enlisting February 12, 1778, and was promoted to corporal September 
I, 1780, He \\as in the First Regiment Connecticut Line, 1781-83, 
serving until December 31 of the latter year, and dying in the army 
from smallixix. The record of his service is on page 175, "Connecticut, 
War of the Revolution." in the military division of the State capitol at 
Hartford, Connecticut. His sons were Jesse, Moses, Aaron. Nathan 
anfl John. His son Jesse moved to East Hartford, New York, where 
he married Huldah Standish, and tliey had three children : Elmira, 
Maria and Julia. The children of Re\". Lewis and Elmira (Hills) 
Whitcomb were Huldah Hills and Lucv Elmira. 



1008 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

James Smith- and Huldah Hills (Whitcomb) Cadwell were the 
parents of five children: i. Lewis Austin, born in Ogdensburg. De- 
cember 23, 1838; 2. Henry Van Rensselaer, born in Pulaski, New 
York, October 3, 1840; 3. Lucy Elmira, born November 4, 1844; 4. 
James, died in infancy; 5. Huldah Paritta. 

Huldah Paritta, youngest child of James Smith and Huldah Hills 
(Whitcomb) Cadwell, was born October 5, 1852, in Belleville, Ontario. 
She was educated in the public schools, passing through the high school, 
and later graduated with honors in the four years course of the C. L. 
S. C. In 1873 she became the wife of Merritt De Long, who was born 
March 10, 1857, in Watertown. He was there educated, and at Caze- 
nnvia Seminary, and has been for many years one of the business men in 
his native city. Of this marriage were born two sons. John Milton, 
the elder, and the only one living, was born Septeinber 6, 1874. He was 
educated in the common schools of Watertown, and graduated from 
the high school. He took a position with the Agricultural Insurance 
Company, and has been with the company continuously to the present 
time. He married Harriet O. Fox, a native of Watertown, daughter 
of Frank C. and Rose Fox. The younger son of Mr. and Mrs. De 
Lung, INIerritt E., was born February 2, 1878. He was educated in 
the common schools, and was one of the brightest of his class. He 
came to an untimely death by drowning at the age of sixteen, and was 
mourned by a large circle of friends who looked forward to his just 
opening career with fondest hope and confidence. 

Mrs. De Long early developed literary tastes and ability, and has 
for years been known as a ready writer. She has written many news- 
paper and magazine articles, and her notes of a trip to California brought 
her the highest commendation. She is a woman of good business abil- 
itv. and for years has dealt cpiite largely in real estate in Watertown, 
and for two years was interested in a factory for ladies' wear in Kings- 
ton, Canada. 

ANDRUS. This is among the earliest English names transplanted 
to New England in the pioneer period of that region, and its represen- 
tatives bore no mean part in the transformation of a savage wilderness 
to the abode of civilization. They were an industrious, moral and intel- 
ligent people, and their descendants in Jefferson county need not hesitate 
to honor their memory. The sound and substantial character of the 
colonial fathers has been well preserved in their descendants. 




^-^^^>^c^r- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1009 

(I) John Andrews (Andru?. Andros, etc.) was among the orig- 
inal settlers at Farmington, Connecticut, in 1640. , His farm was on the 
east side of the river, two miles ahove the present village of Farmington. 
It is supposed that he and his wife Mary came frcmi Fssex county, Eng- 
land. They were the parents of nine children, and were mcmhers of 
the church at Farmington. He died in 1681, and his wife in if'194. 

(II) Benjamin, youngest child of John and ;\Iary Andrus, mar- 
ried ^Nlary Smith in i6Sj. She died in 1707, and he subsequently mar- 
ried the widow, Dorcas W'etmore, of Aliddletown, Connecticut, who died 
in 1716. His third wife's name was Sarah. He died in 1727. 

(III) Samuel, son of Benjamin and ^lary (Smith) Andrus, was 
horn Xovemher 20, 1695, and married in 172 1 ]\Iary Scott. She died 
in 1741 and he married (second) Widow Sarah Hubbard. He resided 
in Southington. and was a lieutenant in the militia. Southington 
adjoins Farmington, and was originally a ])art of the latter Unxn. 

(IV) Ezekiel, son of Samuel and Sarah Hulihard Andrus, was 
born in Southington, Connecticut, in 1745. He was married June 26, 
1782, to Martha Munson, daughter of Reuben INIunson (see Munson), 
and resided first in Farmington, later in the adjoining town of Bristol 
or Burlington, whence he removed to Kinderhook, Columbia county, this 
state. Here one of his children was born, and he soon thereafter moved 
to Utica, where the death of his wife occurred. August 20, 1799, from 
accidental poisoning. Through sickness and other causes, he suffered 
the loss of nearly all his property there, and resolved to make a new 
start in the "Black River Country." In the spring of iSoo he came to 
Rutland and located on a tract of one hundred and forty-four acres of 
land, in the wilderness, midway lietween the state road and the "IMiddle 
Road," as they were located in the following summer. This he set 
about clearing and improving at once. .A part of his children acciim- 
panied him, and the others followed in the fall of the same year. His 
belongings were brought on a two-wheeled cart drawn by a }-oke of 
oxen, -and one horse was also included in his live stock. This animal 
carried part of the time, two and sometimes three of the daughters of 
his family. He built a log house with a cobblestone floor, and rapidly 
developed his estate into a fine farm, on which he continued to dwell 
until his death. ]\Iarch 14, 1828. His body rests in Brookside cemeterv', 
W'atertown. He was a worthy scion of a worthy ancestry, with the 
Puritan simplicity and love of justice which characterized his forefathers. 
He was the father of eleven children and grandfather of sixty-seven per- 



1010 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

sons. His children were named as follows: Samuel and Sally (twins), 
Polly, Reuben, Phebe D., Lodema and Diadama (twins), Ezekiel, Elisha, 
Uriah and Benjamin. Polly married M'arren Spaulding, and Phebe D. 
became the wife of Danforth Earl. Lodema was the wife of Frederick 
Woodruff. 

fV) Ezekiel (j), third .son and eighth child of Ezekiel and Mar- 
tha (Munson) Andrus. was born May 17, 179.2. in Farmington. Con- 
necticut, and was nearly eight years old when he came with his father to 
the town of Rutland, this county. He assisted in the clearing and de- 
velopment of the paternal farm, receiving in meantime such education 
as the frontier schools supplied. He ser\ed at Sackets Harbor, in the 
war of 18 1 2. On attaining his majority he located on a farm in the 
same town, on which his grandson, Elon O. Andrus, now resides. He 
was an industrious and successful farmer and became one of the leading 
citizens of his part of the town. He was married January 16, 1816, to 
Tryphena Gilbert, who was born Feliruary 24, 1789, and died July 17, 
1872, in her eighty-fourth year. He survived her seven years, passing 
awav August 5. 1879, in his eighty-eighth }ear. Their children were: 
Lodema. bom December 21, 1816. died ^larch 18. 1841. Diadama, 
born June 17. t8i8. was married Xijvember 13, 1861, to T. X. Clark, 
who died July i. iSi;3: she died October 2t,, 1901. David, born Jan- 
uary 24, 1820, married Fanny Chase, March 27, 1842. His second 
marriage occurred May i, 1858, the bride being Roxy Hitchcock. He 
was married a third time. May 29, 1S70, to Mrs. Amelia (Potter) Boyn- 
ton. He died May 2, 1887. Alcesta G., born February 4, 1824. was 
married February 10, 1847, to Jason B. Johnson, who died October 16, 
1891. She resides at Copenhagen, New York. Phebe. Iiorn Decem- 
ber 20, 1826. was married May 14, 1851, to Philo C. Scott, and died 
Decemlter 13, 1878. 

(\'I) Stillman. youngest child of Ezekiel (2) and Tryphena (Gil- 
bert) Andrus. was Ixirn ]\Iarch 8, 1833, in Rutland, in which town his 
life has been passed. His primary education was afforded by the public 
schools of the town, and was supplemented by attendance at the Black 
River Literary Listitute at Watertown. Li meantime he was busied in 
vacation periods in the labors of the home farm, to whose ownership he 
dulv succeeded and which he tilled continuously until 1884, when he re- 
moved to tlie adjoining farm, on the " Middle Road," and turned over 
the original homestead to his son, who now occupies it. He has been a 
general farmer, successful and respected, and is now enjoying the fruits 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. K'll 

(if an iiKlustrinus and upriglit life, sound in mind and liody and at peace 
with all the world. His religious faith is indicated by the fact that he 
is a regular attendant of the L'ni\'ersalist church of W'atertown. He is 
not a strict partisan in politics, and supports the candidates who are in 
his opinion best qualified for official station. A member of South Rut- 
land Valle\- Grange, he is also a member of the Jefferson County Po- 
mona Grange. A man of independent thought, he is a staunch temper- 
ance advocate, and a supporter of all measures having for their object 
the betterment of mankind, both mentally and physically, and possesses 
the esteem of his fellow townsmen as a citizen and as a man. 

Mr. Andrus was married (first) May 29. 1837. to Araminta J., 
daughter of Nathaniel Rudd. She died in January. 1862. leaving two 
sons. William Nye and Elon Oscar. The father's second marriage oc- 
curred February 15. 18C15. to Mary A. Warner, who was born March 
30, 1832. a daughter of Deacon Alexander and Urettie (Conklin) 
\\'arner. .\ son and daughter were born to the second marriage of 
Mr. Andrus, namely : Clinton Ezekiel and Marv Araminta. The par- 
ents reside near their children, surrounded by numerous tokens of aft'ec- 
tion and filial kindness. 

Elon Oscar Andrus. elder son of Stillman and Araminta J. Andrus, 
was born August 27, 1838. in Rutland, and began his educational train- 
ing in the local public school. He was subsequently a student of the 
Watertown High School and Cornell Uni\-ersitv. and for twelve vears 
engaged successfully as an instructor in the public schools of the state. 
In 1883 he returned to the b.omestead and took up agriculture. Tn this 
intelligent application has achieved for him success, and he is now 
the owner of the farm on which lie was born. Its buildings show the 
benefit of a wise care, and the fields bear evidence of thorough cultiva- 
tion. Mr. Andrus is a leading man of his town, respected as a citi- 
zen and public official, and a staunch supporter of Republican principles. 
He has served several years as a member of the town excise board, and 
as school trustee, and for eight years was assessor. He is a member of 
Court Belding. Independent Order of Foresters, of South Rutland : of 
Valley Grange. No. 33, of which he was five years master; of Pomona 
Grange, in which he served one year as master, and of the state grange. 
He was married February 20, 1884. to ]\Iary Emma Scanlan. daughter 
of David and Susan P>. (Sullivan) Scanlan. She was born April 4. 
1836. in the town of Cape ^''incent. Their children are: Leland Har- 
rison, born August i. 188C1. and died .\pril 12. 1880: and Milton Har- 



1012 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

rison, June 24. iSgi. Tlie latter is a student of the public school near 
his home. 

William Xye Andrus. second son of Stillman and Araminta T. 
(Rudd) Andrus. was born September 8, i860, on the homestead of his 
grandfather, in Rutland. He married Abby j\I. Woodruff in 1880, and 
died December 18, 1894. His son. Ulmont Stillman Andrus, born in 
August. 1883. resides in Chicago. 

Clinton Ezekiel Andrus. son <if Stillman and Mary (Warner) An- 
drus. was born ]\Iay 18. 18G6. and was educated in the local public 
school. He continued upon the paternal farm until 1883, when he lo- 
cated upon a farm near the old home and is a successful dairy farmer. 
He is a member of South Rutland Grange, as is also his w^ife, who is 
the lecturer of that body. yir. Andrus is a worthy representative of an 
honorable ancestry, a citizen of worth and stability of character. He 
is a Republican in political principle. He was married February 14, 
1893. to Anna Josephine Scanlon, daughter of David Scanlon. before- 
mentioned. She was born August 9. 1866. in Cape Vincent. The'ir 
children are: Ross David, born August 27, 1896. in Rutland; and Flor- 
ence Marguerite. April 8. 1900. 

Mary Araminta, daughter of Stillman and iSIary A. Andrus, was 
born December ^o. 1867, in Rutland, and was educated in the public 
schools and Potsdam Normal School. She was married jMarch 31, 
1897, to Hiram I. Bronson, and resides on a farm in her native town, 
where Mr. Bronson is one of the most progressive agriculturists. Their 
children are: Anna Lillian, born Januar\- 24. 1898, and Marcus Ed- 
ward, ^larch 30, 190 1. 

(V) Elisha. foiu'th son and ninth child of Ezekiel and Martha 
(Munson) Andrus, was born June 2. 1794, at Kinderhook, New York, 
and came to the town of Rutland when six years of age with his father. 
His educational opportunities were such as the pioneer schools of the 
period afforded. He assisted his father in carving out a home in the 
wilderness, and by industry and economy secured means to settle on a 
farm in the neighborhood, where he continued to reside for many years. 
At one time he kept a hotel, and was considered one of the leading agri- 
culturists of the town. He possessed the qualifications requisite for a 
pioneer, and was one of the finest appearing men in the county, as he 
was one of the finest in character. His first wife was Nancy Fish, who 
was born about 1798, in Bozrah, Connecticut, daughter of John Fish, 
who moved from Bozrah to Bloomfield. Hartford countv, Connecticut. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1013 

His wife, Lydia Lathrop, died at the age of eighty-nine years. Nancy 
(Fish) Andrus died July 18. 1841. Her chil(h-en were named Ezekieh 
Merritt Munson and Ehzaheth. The first (hed in early manhood, and 
the last died in Watertown, while the wife of Hiram Mills, leaving two 
daughters and a son. Mr. Andrus helped huild the Universalist church 
of Watertown, of which he was a faithful attendant, and was a lifelong 
Democrat. After living many 3'ears at what is now No. 4Q State street. 
he spent a short time at Elyria, Ohiti. and returned to the Water- 
town home, where he died. After the death of his first wife. ]\Ir. An- 
drus was twice married, hut there were nn children h_\' either union. He 
died February 15, 1884. 

(VI) Merritt Munson Andrus. second son and child of Flisha 
and Nancv (Fish) Andrus, was horn Decemlier q. 1824. in Rutland, 
where he grew up and received his primarx- education. For a lime he 
was a student at Lowville Academy, and was well equipped hoth hv na- 
ture and training for the acti\'e and successful life which ensued. In 
1842 he came to Watertown and began the study of law in the office 
of Judge Joseph ]\Iullin, and was admitted to the bar in i84(). He did 
not engage in practice, howe\-er, as his taste led to mercantile life. In 
1848, in company with W. N. ^^'oodruff, under the style of \\'oodrufif 
& Andrus, he established a successful grocery business which continued 
three )-ears. .\t the end of that period the firm was dissoh-ed and Mr. 
Andrus was joined by Francis R. Lamon (see Lamon), and another 
three years was passed under this arrangement. kno\An as Lami)n & 
Andrus, with gratifying results. From that time until his death Mr. 
.\ndrus continued the business independently and was known as one of 
the most successful business men of the citv, as he deserved to be, for 
his transactions were signalized Ijy strict integrity and fairness toward 
others. He i^assed away Aijril 18, 1892. He was a supporter and at- 
tendant of the Presbyterian church, and a lifelong Democrat. 

Mr. Andrus was married March 20, 1850, to Angelica Dickerson, 
who .was born Novemljer 6. 1833, '^'i'^ "^'i^fl December 2, 1897. Her 
father, Hannibal S. Dickerson. son of David S. Dickerson, was born 
January 27, 1808, and was granted a diploma by the Medical Society 
of the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Fairfield, New York, De- 
cember 25, 1826. He was licensed to practice July 26, 1828, bv the 
Herkimer County Medical Society, and located in practice at Rice's 
Corners, in the town of Watertown, where he died August 19. 1845. 
He was highly regarded as a physician and a man. His wife, Abi Rich- 



luu GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

ardson, was a daughter of Sylvester and Abigail (Scott) Richardson. 

The children of Merritt M. and Angelica Andrus are noted as 
follows : Sherwood D. and Seward A. are engaged in business in Chi- 
cago. Illinois. Ella A. is the wife of John C. Streeter (see Streeter), 
and shares her home with her maiden sister. Grace. Maude M., the 
youngest, is the wife of Harry P. Babcock, of Watertown. 

(\'II") Sherwood Dickerson Andrus, third eldest child of Merritt 
;\I. and Angelica F. Andrus, was born April 5, 1855, in Watertown, 
and received his primary education in the public schools of that city. 
He subsequently attended Hope College at Holland, Michigan. In 
October. 1871. he became a clerk in the office of the Black River (after- 
ward Northern ■) Insurance Company, at Watertown, and continued in 
this capacity until May, 1878. Thus he liegan his business career, which 
has been a busy and a successful one. 

Removing to Chicago at this time, he has since been prominently 
identified with insurance interests (if that city, with the exception of 
four vears. He was at first assistant cashier of Sprague, Warner & 
Company, wholesale grocers of Chicago, for a period of one year, and 
was thereafter engaged in general merchandising at Leadville, Colorado, 
for three vears. Returning to Chicago in May, 1883, he became special 
agent for Illinois of the Sun Fire Office, and was afterward special 
agent for Indiana and Illinois of the Norwich Union Fire Insurance 
Company of England. In 1890 he engaged with the National Fire In- 
surance Company rif Hartford, Connecticut, as daily report examiner 
in its western department at Chicago. ^Ir. Andrus is now state agent 
(if the Providence Washington Fire Insurance Company of Rhode 
Island, with headquarters at its western office at Chicago. He occupies 
a desirable position among western insurance men, being vice-president 
of the Fire Underwriters' Association of the Northwest. For three 
years he was secretar}- of the Illiudis State Board of Fire Underwriters, 
and is a member of se\-eral clubs composed largely of insurance men, 
including the Round Table, .\delphian, and Friendship Clubs of Chi- 
cago, and also of the New Illinois Athletic Club of that city. In fra- 
tcnal bodies be affiliates with Fidelity Council, Nn. 74. Royal League, 
and Auburn Park Lodge and Chapter of the Alasonic fraternity. He 
was made a Mason in \\'atertown Lodge, and is still held in loving re- 
meml;rance I'y his lirethren nf that body. 

In politics .Mr. Andrus is a consistent Republican, but has no de- 
sire for official ])referment. and ccnfines his activities chiefly to the per- 



GENEALOGICAL AXD FAMILY HISTORY. 1015 

fonuance of that duty which m i true patriot ignores, namely, the expres- 
sion of his choice at the polls. He is an Episcopalian, and attends the 
worship of the church representing his creed. Mr. Andrus was mar- 
ried June 18, 1888, to ]Mrs. Laura J. Stebbins. a native of Troy, New 
York. 

(Vin Seward E. Andrus was born June 23, 1857, in Water- 
town, and attended the public schools of the city until fifteen years of 
age. His first Ijusiness undertaking was in his father's store, where he 
continued as clerk from twelve to fifteen years of age. He then became 
a clerk in the office of the Black River (afterward Xorthern ) Insurance 
Company of ^^'atertl)wn. In the spring of 1893 he went to Chicago 
and became a clerk in the office of the Home Insurance Company of 
New York, where he remained six years. Subsecjuent to that and until 
March, 1904, he was employed in the office of the North British and 
Mercantile Insurance Conipatu' of England, at Chicago. In the mean- 
time he had invested in Indiana oil lands, which he has now closed out 
with profit. He was m;irrie<l in 1886 to ]\Iiss Sarah Alton Richard- 
son, who is a native of Brownville. New ^'ork, a daughter of James 
H. and Jane (Alton) Richardson, the former a native of New York 
and the latter of England. One child was Iiorn to ]\Ir. and Mrs. An- 
drus, and died in iufancv. 

DAVID IRA ANDRUS was born in 1766 in the state (if Con- 
necticut, the family lieing of English descent. He enlisted from South- 
ington as a soldier in the Revolutionary war, January i, 1781, to serve 
as a fifer in the Sixth Company, Fourth Connecticut regiment, com- 
manded by Colonel Zebulon Butler: was transferred to Captain Robert- 
son's Company, Second Connecticut regiment, commanded by Colonel 
Heman Swift, November i, 1782; served as private to March i, 1783, 
and his name appears on the rolls to ^lay 26. 1783. Mr. Andrus 
about the year 17S9 went to what now comprises Oneida county, New 
York, to make his home, his outfit for commencing life in the new coun- 
try I:)eing an axe he carried w ith him. About this time he married Sally 
Ranney, also of a Connecticut family. She was a daughter of Willet 
and ]\Iary Butler Ranney. and a de.scendant of Thomas Ranney, born 
in Scotland in 161 6, who came to America in 1650 and settled in Con- 
necticut. He married ]\Iary Hulibard. daughter of Governor Hubbard, 
in 1659 and died in 1713. Four of the ancestors of Sally Ranney An- 
drus were in the colonial wars, namelv : Her grandfather. Beniamin 



1016 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Butler, ^VilIianl Goodrich. Thomas Starr and Captain Joseph Weld. 
The Andrus, Ranney, Butler, Gilbert and Wright families who settled 
at or near Rome, were from Middletown, or nearby towns, in Connecti- 
cut. Mary Butler was a sister oi the wife of Ebenezer \\^right and of 
the wife of Thomas \\'right. 

Mr. Andrus leased and lived on a farm of one hundred and thirty- 
eight acres in Wright settlement, near Rome, and in 1804 carried on a 
meat shop in what was then Rome village. He was one of the charter 
members of Roman Lodge of Freemasons in 1799 and treasurer in 
1S02. He came to the Black River country at an early day in company 
with Daniel Fox. the centenarian, who settled in the town of Adams 
aliout ]8oo. 'Mr. Andrus removed about 1805 to the town of Ellisburg, 
and acted as agent for Colonel Samuel Wardwell, of Rhode Island, 
who had made an in\-estment in land in the town. He made improve- 
ments at \Vardwell settlement, where he settled, and soon after com- 
menced improvements at Andrus settlement ( now Giddingsville) to 
which James Constable in his journal of August, 1806, refers. Improve- 
ments at Little Sandy ( ^lannsville) were begun liy him as early as 
181 1. He built the first sawmill there, which stood on the site of the 
present main street gristmill. The first dwelling was erected by him 
on the site of the present hotel ; he also built a house where the Shepard 
house stands, and at one time was the owner of several hundred acres 
of land south of Mannsville. His business interests at Andrus settle- 
ment were extensive. He built the large Andrus hotel about 18 12, a 
t\\o and one-half story wood structure which was destroyed by fire in 
1890. Mr. Andrus was the proprietor many years, and the hotel was 
a favorite stopping jilace with the public, the stage line making a change 
of horses there, and in the thriving hamlet was the center of much activ- 
ity. He had a famil\' of children full of fun and frolic, and the hotel 
was the scene of man}' balls and merr\--makings. The old bar-room at 
evening was a resort for the men emplo^'ed in the mills and shops, as 
well as others in the neighborhood, and they would meet there to talk 
over the latest news or of e\ents in the neighborhood, the occasion often 
enli^■ened b_\' music on the violin by George Andrus, who was a fine 
musician. Mr. .Vndrus also built a sawmill and gristmill, distillery, 
ashery and lilacksmith shop, carrying on the se\'eral branches of busi- 
ness and employing many men. His farm of four hundred acres fur- 
nished clav of superior cpiality for a lirick yard which was in use be- 
fore the hotel was finished. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORV. 1017 

In conipanv with his son George he was in the mercantile business 
as earlv as 1810, antl in 1S25 biiiU the Iirick sti ire nn the curner which 
was taken down ahnut 1S55. Alidut 1812 he huih the army liarracks 
at Sachets Harhnr. and in 1817 the Jefferson County Bank building at 
Adams, he having been one (Tf the directors of the bank. He was elected 
member of assembly in i8oc) and 1812. and sheriff in 1812-13. and 
again 1815-18. His wife, a woman of rare excellence, died July 22, 
18 18, at the age of fifty-fi\-e years. There were born to them four sons 
and four daughters: George, born 1789, at Rome; Lydia, 1791; Al- 
mira, 1793: Chauncey, 1796: Ira, 1799; Fanny, 1801 : Sally, 1803: 
Samuel who died at about the age of fourteen years. Mary Jane was 
born in 1822. after his marriage to Mrs. Esther Hinman. Mr. Andrus 
died August 21, 1831, after a few days' illness, at the age of sixty-five 
years. For se\'eral vears preceding his death his sons Chauncey and 
Ira carried on the hotel. In 1833 Joseph Giddings came into posses- 
sion and continued public house until about 1832, when the railroad was 
completed. Mr. Andrus was a portly built man: in business showed 
much energy, and had executive ability of a high order, and is well re- 
membered for his fine social qualities and his readiness to assist others. 
He was one of positive convictions and in religious faith a Universalist. 
His father died at Andrus settlement alx)Ut 1823, and father, son, and 
other members of the family are Inu-ied in the cemetery near. 

George Andrus, son of David Ira Andrus, was married August 
iTi, i8to, to Angelina Betts, daughter of Captain Jesse Betts and Polly 
Jarvis Betts of Norwalk, Connecticut. He was paymaster of the regi- 
ment of militia in Jefferson county in 1808, and again in 1812: was a 
merchant at Fllisburg (Andrus settlement) 1810-T3; in 1814-15 had 
charge of his father's interests at Little Sandy (Mannsville) ; was magis- 
trate in Fllisburg, 1813-20: was a merchant in Adams in the early twen- 
ties; was appointed clerk of Jefferson county in 1820 by Governor De- 
Witt Clinton; was member of assembly in 1822, and apjiointed post- 
master at Adams the same year; in 1824-23 was a merchant at Fllis- 
burg, in company with his brothers, Chauncey and Ira. He owned a 
large farm at North Adams, and was there in 1826-29, and after, living 
in Watertown and in Fllisburg a few years, again made his home in 
Adams, where he held the office of magistrate for eight years, ending 
in 1845. H^ ''''^''' Ji-inc 8, 1846). at the age of fifty-six years. His wife 
died February 13. 1843. Tweh-e children were born to them: Mary 
Esther, born 1812; George, 1813; Almira, 1813; Frances L., 1817; 



lOis GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

David Ira, 1819; Angeline. 1821; Louisa. 1823 : William H., 1825; 
Jesse B.. 1828: Tlieudure. 1830; Thomas J., 1832: Emily, 1835. Mary- 
Esther married Sherman S. Barnard; Almira married Elihu Allen; 
Frances L. married Sherman S. Barnard ; Angeline married David 
Gaylord ; Louisa married Corydon Allen. David Ira was a soldier in 
the Civil war in the Twelfth Regiment New York Volunteers. George 
Andrus was a tall, tineh' proportioned man. dignified in manner, of 
wide information, and correct and thorough in husiness. As a magis- 
trate he was one of the best. He wrote a firm plain hand, and his dock- 
ets were said to be the finest in the county. Lie was a Freemason ; in 
religious faith a L'ni\ersalist. and in politics a Democrat. 

Chauncey Andrus was a merchant many years, and in business at 
Andrus settlement, Sandy Creek, Union Square and Pierrepont Manor. 
Abiuit 1S54 he bought a farm two miles south of Mannsville, and lived 
there a few years. The family removed about 1860 to Montclair, New 
Jersey, where he died in 1871. He married Nancy Lord, born in 
Hartford, Connecticut, who died in 1877. Seven children were born 
to them: John H.. Antoinette. Cornelia, Delia, married to Horace 
Barnes, James. Jay, and Frances, married to John Lord. John H. was 
a wholesale dry g"0(ids merchant in New Ycirk during the sixties, and 
died in Hackensack, New Jersey. 

Ira Andrus married ^Melinda Taft, of a Vermont family. With 
his Ijrother Chauncey he succeeded his father in the management of 
the Andrus hotel. He lived in Wardwell settlement many years, and 
had an interest in a distillery there. An excellent horseman, he always 
drove a spirited team and made a fine appearance on horseback at gen- 
eral trainings. Six children were born to Ira and wife: Samuel J., 
Sarah married Andrew \\'ebster, Charles, David. William, Reuben. 
]Mr. Aridrus died in 1842 of small]50x. to which he was exposed in 
Kingston. Canada, while on a trip to buy cattle. His youngest son 
Reuben was taken with the same disease and died. His widow survived 
him until 1888. Samuel and David were for many years proprietors 
of the hotel at Pierrepont Manor. 

L}dia Andrus married, about 1830. Josiah Cornwell. and died in 
1873 at the age of eighty-tw-Q years. Mr. Cornwell carried on the brick- 
yard at Andrus settlement many years. 

Almir:i Andrus married Jnseph Giddings. wlm was fmm X'ermont, 
and (lied in 1828. Fciur smis were liorn to them: Legrand ; John Jay, 
who died ■voung; Henrv and Benjamin. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. loU) 

Fanny Andrus. of \ery pleasing address and a fine singer, married 
Homer Hunt, and died in 1838. Two sons were Viorn to tliem : George 
and Edward. 

Sally Andrus married J(iseph Girldrngs, and died in 1873. They 
lived many years at the Andrus hotel. 

JNIar}' Jane Andrus died in 1884. 

CLARK GILES MERRIMAN, a successful farmer of the town 
of LeRay, brings intelligence to bear upon the exercise of his calling, and 
his industry and sound business methods have brought him their sure 
return. His family was among those early located in northern New 
York, and is of New England ancestry. The name of ilerriman (or 
Merriam, all of same ancestry), was one of the earliest in New Eng- 
land, and one of the name was an original proprietor of New Haven, 
Connecticut. 

Amos Merriman, a native of IMassachusetts, was a pioneer settler 
in Russia, Herkimer county, this state, where he lived and died. He 
was twice married, and the children of the second wife included Lyman, 
Joel, Orrey and Roxana. The latter was never married. 

Orrey, youngest son of Amos Merriman, was born May 20, 1796, 
in Massachusetts, whence he went with his parents wdien a small boy to 
Russia, where he grew up. Before he w'as married he settled in the 
town of Gouverneur, St. Lawrence county, and bought land there. 
After a time he sold this and bought a farm in the town of LeRay near 
Sterlingville. His stay here was short, and he sold and again purchased 
a farm in Gou\-erneu.r, near the Oswehatcbie river, between Gouverneur 
and Ox Bow. He was married in 1824, in St. Lawrence county, to 
Amanda Van Namee, a native of Norway, Herkimer county. New 
York. She was born August 20, 1807, and died April 8, 1880, in 
Gouverneur. Mr. Merriman died in 1876 in the same town. He was 
a strong Universalist in religious faith, and an uncompromising Demo- 
crat in political principle. He had five sons and two daughters. The 
eldisst, Orlando Crosby, has been a resident of Minneapolis, Minnesota, 
during the last forty-five years. William Addison, the second, died at 
Spragueville. Salh- Ann married William Herring, and both died in 
Gouverneur. Lucina Amanda is the widow of George Fredenburg, 
residing in the village of Gouverneur. Stephen A. receives farther men- 
tion below. Oscar Erastus resides in Richville, and Lyman Giles died 
in Gouverneur in 1887. 



1020 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Stephen Amos, son of Orrey and Amanda Merriman. was born 
July 2, 1837, '1"^ the town of Gonverneur, where he grew up on a farm, 
receiving his education in the local district schools. He continued in 
school during the winter terms until he was twenty )'ears of age. and 
then came to Black River, in this county, and liought land in the 
town of LeRa}-. near that village. This he tilled seventeen years and 
then sold. Within a short time he purchased the farm on which his 
son, Clark G., now resides, paying ten thousand dollars for it, and which 
he still owns. After managing this property nine years he turned it 
o\er to his son and moved to the village of Black River, where he has 
since resided. For some years he was employed in the chair shop on 
the south side of the river, and in 1890 he acquired an interest in the 
Black River Bending Company, and has since been one of its directors 
and gives his time to the operation of its plant. Mr. Merriman is a 
member of the Methodist church, and of the Watertown Grange. In 
politics he is a Prohibitionist, as he is in practice and principle. Al- 
ways industrious and energetic, he has achie\'ed success, and is in a po- 
sition to enjoy the fruits of past toils. 

Mr. Merriman was married October 12. 1858, to Mandana Clarke, 
who was born January 9, 1839, in Rutland, a daughter of Asa and 
Betsey (Poor) Clarke, early residents of the locality. Mrs. Merriman 
died February 22, 1901, and Mr. Merriman married, February 26, 1902, 
Mrs. Elizabeth Lanphear. widow of Perry Lanphear, and daughter of 
Jacob Vroman. Mr. Merriman's children are noted as follows : Lor- 
etta Mandana, the eldest, died when one year old ; Nettie Arvilla is the 
wife of Myron Schofield, of Black River: Clark Giles; Stella Belle mar- 
ried Rev. Clarence V. Haven, now pastor of the Methodist church at 
Great Bend; Ida May, Mrs. George Kimball Oakes. resides at Black 
River; Asa DeWitt is a merchant at Great Bend. 

Mrs. Elizabeth Merriman. wife of S. A. Merriman. died at Black 
River, February 5, 1905. 

Clark Giles Merriman was born on his father's farm in the town 
of LeRay, in 1863. He was married in 1885 to Miss Minnie Edith 
Springsteen, daughter of Charles and Caroline (Corwin) Springsteen, 
of Watertown. On his marriage he took his father's farm, upon which 
he continues to reside. Besides managing that propert}-. he has an 
interest in the cheese factory on the farm, and in the Black River Bend- 
ing Comjiau)-. and holds some outside real estate. He is a member of 
the ]\letho(list E]iiscopaI Church of Black River, and of the \\'atertown 
Grange, and in politics is a Prohibitionist. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1021 

]\lr. and Mrs. Merriman are the parents of six cliiUlren ; Charles 
Stephen. Har\-e}- Merle, Muriel Rnma. Carolyn Mandana. Hazel Eula, 
and George DeW'itt, all at home. 

DAVID HICKS WHEELER, a lifelong resident and farmer of 
Mannsville. Jefferson county, comes of New England stock. His 
grandfather. Jonathan \\'heeler, was h(irn :\ugust 19. 1733, at Lanes- 
boro, Massachusetts, and during the Revrilutionary war served in the 
continental army. He was twice married, his first wife being Priscilla 
Hicks, bom July 2t,, 1743. He was the father of nineteen children. 
His death occurred January 9, 181 5, at Lanesboro, Massachusetts. 

Hicks Wheeler, youngest of the nineteen children of Jonathan and 
Priscilla (Hicks) Wheeler, was born April 8. 1790. at Laneslxsro, Mas- 
sachusetts, and in early manhood went to West Galloway, Saratoga 
county. New York, whence he removed about 181 1 to Jefferson county. 
He purchased a tract of wilfl land consisting of about one hundred and 
fifty acres in Ellisburgh. near the village of Mannsville. and paid for it 
with the money which he earned by working at the shoemaker's trade. 
\Ahich he had followed for some years. During the war of 1812 he 
served in the American army at Sackets Harbor. In politics he was a 
Democrat in early life, and from the organization of the party an active 
Republican. He was one of the organizers of the Methodist Episcopal 
church at Mannsville. to the financial support of which he was the larg- 
est contributor. It was chiefly owing to his appeal to the conference 
that that body supplied the church with its first pastor, the Reverend 
Moses Lyon. He married Sarah James, who was born June 10. 1794, 
in Galloway. New York, daughter of Edward James, and thev were 
the parents of the following children: Lucinda \l., born September 
17, 1813, married, at the age of sixty-two years. Norman Thompsi^n, 
of Oswego county; Anna. July 2^,, 1816, married Edmund Remington, 
a farmer of Lorraine; Diana June 8, 18 19, became the wife of Nelson 
Adsit of Orwell, Oswego county; Jonathan E. J., born August 19. 1820, 
died at Sandy Creek, New York; David H.. mentioned at length here- 
inafter; Luther N. and Mary M.. both died young; George N., born De- 
cember 28, 1834. is a farmer of Ellisburgh ; and Melissa J., born May 
24. 1837. married John Woodall, and lives with her son at Canastota, 
New York. Mr. Wheeler, the father of this family, a man sincerely 
lo\-e<l and respected by all who knew him. died August 21. 1865. at the 
age of seventy-five years. 



1022 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

David H. \\'heeler, son nf Hicks and Sarah (James) Wheeler, was 
hijrn December i8, 1S23, in Elhsburg. near the village of IMannsville. 
and from bovhond was trained to agricultural pursuits. Until middle 
life he was a farmer, hut since 1875 ^'^^ '^^^^ ^^ traveling salesman. 
Prior to 1S56 he was a Jeffersonian Democrat, hut in that year voted 
for Tohn C. Fremont, when the latter was nominated for the Presidency, 
and since that time has affiliated with the Republicans. About 1894 
he became a Prohibitionist. He and his family are memlaers of the 
Baptist church, in which Mr. \\'heeler has always held office. 

'Mr. Wheeler married. September i, 1847, Hannah Janet Marsh, 
and the following children were born to them: i. Emma Jane, born 
August, 1849, became the wife of the Rev. Silas W. Hatch, a Baptist 
clergy-man of Ashland, Nebraska ; he was for a time pastor of a church 
at Smithville, and later editor of the Adams "Journal :" he went to the 
west in consequence of ill health, and his death occurred at Colorado 
Springs. 2. Rosa May. born September 28, 1855. and died at the 
age of fifteen years. 3. Florence Addie. born January 14. 1863, is 
the wife of Frank Dee Penney, a Baptist clergyman of Burlington, 
Vermont. 

Mrs. Wheeler is the daughter of William Marsh, who was a farmer 
of Lorraine, and one of the pioneers of the township. He was a Demo- 
crat, but later became a Republican. He and his family were Baptists 
and were among the original members of the church of that denomina- 
tion at Manns\-il!e. He married Hannah Gardner, and they were the 
parents of two sons and four daughters. One of the latter, Hannah 
Janet, who was horn March 12, 1830. became the wife of David H. 
\Mieeler, as mentioned above. 

JAMES F. STARBUCK, whose brilliant professional and pub- 
lic career honored and elevated the bar of JefYerson county for a period 
of almost four decades, was born in Cayuga county. New York, Sep- 
tember 5. 18 1 3, hut shortly afterward his parents removed to Niagara 
county, same state. 

Tn the spring of 1839 he came to Watertnwn and began the study 
of law in the office of Lansing & Sherman, and was admitted to practice 
in the common pleas in 1843. and in the supreme court in 1844. The 
following year lie opened an office for the practice of his profession, and 
was soon recognized among the leading lawyers of the county, and 
espcciallv in WatertoAMi, a standing he maintainetl throughout the long 




(XyOUJ^ 



(UC^i 



Thi> Jj^Ji^S I^.il>l. -'■'!"!■' ' 



GENEALOGICAL AXD FAMILY HISTORY. 10-2Z 

period of his professional life. In \S4f1 he was elected secretary of the 
first convention that formed the constitution of that year. In 1850 he 
was elected district attorney, and held the office three years from Jan- 
uary I, 1851, his ser^'ice in this capacity proving of value to his subse- 
c^uent career. In iS'io he was nominated for congress, but was de- 
feated at the polls, and in 1876 he was elected to the state senate from 
the district comprising JefYerson and Lewis counties. He was one of 
the managers of the Young Men's Association of Watertown, which 
was organized Decemlier 3, 1S40, and incorporated April 17, 1841, and 
which from a literary standpoint was for se\-eral years one of the noted 
institutions of the village. 

In May, 1855, Mr. Starhuck luarricd Sarah Eurchard, a daughter 
of Peleg Burchard. who died in 1857, leaving a daughter surviving her 
— now the wife of E. S. (ioodale, a merchant in Watertown, In 1861 
Mr. Starhuck married Mrs. Bo}-er, the widow of Judge Joseph Boyer. 
Mr. Starhuck died at his lirmie in \\'atert(iwn. New York, December 11, 
1880. 

FRANK DEE PENNEY, son-in-law of David Hicks Wheeler, 
was born in Adams, Jefiferson county. New York. April 26, 1857. a son 
of Alva and Helen (Stanbro) Penney, and grandson of Amial and Lucy 
(Crumb) Penney, natives of Unadilla Forks, Otsego county. New 
York. Alva Penne}' (father) was born in Unadilla Forks, Otsego 
county, NeAv York, 1S24. He acquired an academic education, and 
throughout his active career followed the occupations of school teacher, 
mechanic and farmer. Fie was a man of prominence and influence, 
held all the honorable positions in the gift of his town, and served a 
term as member of assembly in Albany, New York. He was an ad- 
herent to the doctrines of the Baptist church, and a Republican in 
politics. He married Helen Stanbro, who was born in LInadilla Forks, 
New York, 1829, daughter of Orville and Susan (Way) Stanbro, of 
that town, and after completing the regular course at the common and 
high select schools served in the capacity of teacher prior tn her mar- 
riage. She was a noble wife and a dexoted mother to her four sons. 

Frank Dee Penney attended the common schools, West Winfield 
Academy, Colgate Academy at Hamilton, New York, three years' 
course, Colgate University, four years" course, graduating in the class 
of 1885, and Hamilton Theological Seminary, graduating in the class 
of 1888. Throughout the years of his ministr)- he preachetl in Mans- 



1024 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

ton, Juneau ounty. \\'isccinsin. was a student sujiply one )ear in Delhi, 
New York, pastor five years in Auburn, New York (1888- 1893), three 
and a half years in North Adams, Massachusetts ( 1893-1897), this 
being the seci:)nd church in size in New England, five vears in Wor- 
cester, Massachusetts (1897- 1902). and from Worcester the First Bap- 
tist Ch.urcli in Burlington, Vermont, this being the leading Baptist 
church in that state. Mr. Penney is. at tliis writing, happilv and suc- 
cessfully laboring here. Since 1888 he has lieen active in great revivals 
of religion, in which he has witnessed the conversion of thousands of 
people. Mr. Penney has been an extensive traveler, his journeys ex- 
tending into nineteen states of the Union, Canada, Egypt, Palestine, 
Syria, Damascus, Constantinople, Greece, Italy, and various other coun- 
tries. He is a life member of the American Baptist Missionary Union 
and the American Baptist Plome Mission Society. He was a member 
of the board oi directors o{ the Baptist Ycnuig People's Union of 
America one term, and is now filling a similar position in the Vermont 
State Convention. He has taken an active interest in the cause of 
temperance, using his voice and pen vigorously in adv(5cacy thereof. 
His political \-iews coincide with those of the Republican party, but in 
great political issues he casts his vote for the candidate who in his 
opinion is best qualified for office irrespective of party. 

In Mannsville, New York, July 2j. 1887, ?ilr. Penney married 
Florence Addie Wheeler, who attended the common and graded schools 
of her birthplace, "H. C. I." Adams, New York, Oswego Normal 
School, and Hamilton Seminary for Ladies. Mrs. Penney modestly 
enjoyed the praise and admiration of her associates as being highly 
popular, and most successful as teacher, artist, and social and Christian 
leader. She has been so efficient in her life work, that to her belongs 
an equal share with her husband in all the results of their successful 
endeavors; a wife and mother of rare intellectual powers, and self- 
sacrificing devotion ; and unexcelled by the lovers of the great Christian 
and philanthropic movements of the church. Their children are: Ster- 
ling Wheeler, born in Auburn, New York, June 19, 1892; Frank Dee, 
Jr., born in North Adams, Massachusetts. March 4, 1896; and Julian 
Lorimer born in Burlington, Vermont. June 11, 1904. 

JERRY W. CRANDALL. One of the oldest families in Jeffer- 
son countv is that of which Jerry W. Crandall, a prosperous farmer of 
Lorraine, is a representative. ]\Ir. Crandall comes of a race which 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1025 

during the colonial period furnished loyal subjects to the British crown, 
helped to recruit the army of freedom while the Revolutionary strug- 
gle was in progress, and at a later epoch in our history gave good citi- 
zens to the United States. 

William P. Crandall was horn September 5, IJJT,. in Stonington, 
Connecticut, and was one of the thirteen children of Jared Crandall, 
who for eighteen years followerl the sea as captain of a ship. In earlv 
manhood he moved to Herkimer county. New York, and then, animated 
bv the desire to still further jienetrate and subdue the wilderness — a 
desire characteristic of the true pioneer — he came, accompanied by his 
brother Naboth. to Jefferson county, making the jnurney with an ox 
team in the autumn of 1800. He settled on a farm in \Vaterti:)wn, and 
in April of the following year brought his family ti> their new home. 
He was a successful farmer and an influential citizen. He married, 
in 1795. Content, daughter of Alpheus Barstow, of Leyden, Massachu- 
setts, who was a member of the legislature when John Hancock was 
governor of the state, and a Miss Carter, his wife. Mr. and Mrs. 
Crandall were the parents of seven sons and one daughter : William, 
who was a farmer in Jefferson county, and attained to the great age of 
ninety-three years; Orinda, who became the wife of Oliver Way; 
Jared, who died at the age of five years; Barstow, who was three years 
old at the time of his death; John, who was a farmer in Watertown; 
Isaac, who died unmarried at the age of twenty-se\'en; Jeremiah, men- 
tii)ned at length hereinafter; and Reuben, whn lived as a farmer on the 
homestead and died unmarried in i(S88 at the age of seventy-two. Mr. 
Crandall, the father, died in 1843, having entered his seventieth year, 
and long before reaped the reward of his early struggles, not only in 
his individual prosperity, Init in seeing a region, which he remembered 
as little better than a trackless forest, covered with fruitful farms and 
thriving villages. The devoted wife, who had shared his hardships 
and rejoiced in his success, survived him nearlv a cjuarter of a century, 
passing away in 1867 at the venerable age i)f ninet}--one years. 

Jeremiah Crandall, son of William P. and Content ( Barstow > 
Crandall. was born January 9, 18 15, in Watertown. and as a farmer's 
son was trained from linylKjod in a practical knowledge of agriculture. 
On reaching manhood he naturally adopted for his calling the piu'suit 
for which his education had best fitted him. and in the course of time 
received by inheritance a portion of the homestead, where he led the 
life of an industrious, thrifty and prosperous farmer. In 1868 he dis- 



1026 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

posed of the property and Ijecame the owner nf a farm in Rutland, 
where he passed the remainder of his hfe. He married. May 13. 1836, 
Malvina, daughter of Bechus and Sally (Bettis) Babcock. of Copen- 
hagen, who died ]\Iay 21. 1877: the following children were born to 
them: Octavia. who was born March 6, 1837. and married Olney 
Staplin. a farmer of Spirit Lake. Iowa: Eunice, who was born August 
24. 1838, became the wife of M. H. Allen, of Clifton Spriiigs, New 
York, and died March 7, 1901 : Content, who was born September 5, 
184 1, and married Chauncy Bull, a farmer of Lincoln, Nebraska: Imo- 
gen, who was l)orn April 13, 1843, 'became the wife of Samuel Wet- 
more, and now resides in Clifton Springs, New York: and Jerry \\'., 
mentioned at length hereinafter. Mr. Crandall, the father of the fam- 
ily, furnished another instance (if the l<nige\'ity which was so striking 
a characteristic of this race, having reached his eighty-eighth year at 
the time of his death, which occurred in 1902, He was mourned as 
a man so unostentatiously good and useful deserved to be mourned. 

Jerry \\'. Crandall, son of Jeremiah and ]\Ialvina (Babcock) Cran- 
dall, was torn Jul\- 29, 1845, aufl has added another to the long line of 
farmers from which he sprang. His entire life thus far has been spent 
"in agricidtural pursuits, and has given aliundant evidence that the abil- 
itv. and with it the success of his ancestors, has descended to him in 
full measure. In ]\larch. 1881. he purchased the old "Beaver iMeadow 
farm." in Lorraine, one mile south of Adams. The estate consists of 
one hundred and nineteen acres, and is in all respects one of the finest 
in the townshiix It is maintained by the owner in a highly flourishing 
condition, being contlucted chiefly as a dairy fanu. ]Mr. Crandall is a 
member of the Grange, and in politics affiliates with the Republican 
part\'. Lie and his famih- are members of the Baptist church of Adams. 

^Ir. Crandall married. October 10. 1878. Ida Kellogg, and they 
have line son. Ross, who was born March 26. 1889. Mrs. Crandall is 
a lineal descendant i;)f Lieutenant Joseph Kellogg, who was Ijorn in 
Scotland about 1627. and in iri62 emigrated to .\merica. settling at 
Hadlev. Massachusetts, where his son. John Kellogg, resided, and was 
the father of another John Kellogg, who was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tionarv armv. His name appears as captain of Com]iany Three. Third 
Regiment. Hampshire County. Massachusetts, commanded liy Colonel 
John Mosley ("Hampshire County History." vol. 43, p. 210). He 
also served as captain in the regiment commanded by Colonel Leonard. 
He married Lucv A. Terry, and they were the parents of a son, Josiah, 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1027 

wliose wife was Lcis IXiv. Silas iKellngQ-, s(jn nf Insiali ami Lois 
( Da_\' ) Kelliigg, married Julia Lnomis, a descemlant of Joseph Loomis, 
wlio emigrated from England to America in 1634. Their son. Frank- 
lin Kellogg, was horn in W'estfield. Massachusetts, and mo\ed to Jeffer- 
son count}', where he became a farmer in Rutland. He married .\1- 
bina Staplin. a direct descendant of Isaac Staplin, who. at the time of 
the Revolution, came with the P)ritish army to this countr\- and sul>se- 
f[uently became an American citizen. !\Ir. and ]\Irs. Kellogg were the 
parents of a daughter. Ida. who was born January 18. 1S55, in the 
town of Turin. Lewis countv. Xew York, and became the wife of Jerry 
\\'. Crandall. as mentioned aho\-e. ^Irs. Crandall is a memlier of the 
Daughters of the Re\olution. 

WILLIAM R. EMERY, an able and experienced farmer and re- 
spected citizen of Lorraine, Jefferson county, belongs, on the jiaternal 
side, to a family of English origin and through his mother is the de- 
scendant of Welsh ancestors, 

Rowland Emery was born May 22. ij^(\ and always led the life of 
a farmer. He married Elizaljeth J(.)nes, wdio was born iNIay JO, 1791, 
and they were the parents of the following children: Serena, born 
August 9, 181J, married Cornelius Hallenbeck, a farmer, and died Xo- 
vember 2, 1871 : Margaret Ann. born No\-emlier 22. 181—. married 
Francis Hallenbeck, a farmer of Missouri, antl died June 7, 1883; 
Eliza, born August 24, 18 16, became the wife of Thomas Kittle, of 
Herkimer county. New York, and died March 24, 1881 ; Lydia Cath- 
erine, born December 4, 1822, married John Williams of Herkimer 
county, Ohio, and died August 8, 1856; John, born November 23, 1824, 
was a farmer, and married Mary Ann Curtis, of Poland, New York; 
Sally Maria, Ixirn October 28. 1826, died in childhood: Gitty Maria, 
born March 26, 1832, became the wife of William Irvine, of Deerfield. 
Oneida county. New York: and William R., mentioned at length here- 
inafter. Mrs. Emery, the mother of these children, died June 12, 1842, 
and her husband expired December 14, 1849. 

William R. Emery, son of Rowdand and Elizabeth (Jones) Emery, 
was born May 4, 1S37, in Herkimer county. New York, and was trained 
from boyhood to agricultural pursuits. In 1867 he came to Jefferson 
county and purchased part of the farm in Lorraine which he n(iw owns. 
It consists of one hundred and five acres, and he has caused it to be the 
means of furnishing him with a thriving dairy business. He and his 



1028 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

wife are members of the Protestant ^Methodist church of North Boyls- 
ton, and I\Ir. Emery was one of the organizers of a church of that de- 
nomination at Winona, in which he held office. 

Mr. Emery married, February 27,. 1858, Esther Ostrom. and they 
have two cliildren : Roxina, who was bom December 28. 1859, is the 
wife of \\'illiam H. Rudd. a farmer of Lorraine, and has two children: 
Maddie B.. born October 19, 1880; and Emery J., born October 18, 
1885: and Jessie M., who was born July 9, 1879, married George E. 
Bowman, and has one child, Ruth E.. born August 8, 1899. 

Airs. Emery is the daughter of Richard Ostrom, who was born 
Alarch 14. 1815. in Montgomery county, and subsequently moved to 
Jefferson county, where he was one of the pioneers. He married Maria 
Fuller, also a native of ^Montgomery county, born Alarch 2j. 1818, and 
the following children were born to them: James, born October 31, 
1838, served in the Civil war, and died March 22. 1862; Esther, liorn 
July 26. 1841. married William R. "Emery, as mentioned above; Jean- 
nette. l)orn July 10. 1845, died September 7, 1832; Caroline, bom Jime 
10, 1848, became the wife of Alfred Ash, of Herkimer county. New 
York; Mary Dette, bom September 13. 1851, married Theodore Ash- 
lev, of Utica. New York; Alfred, born June 25, 1855, resides in Michi- 
gan; and Rozell, born November 11, 1858, lives at Saginaw, Michigan. 

WILLIA:\I HORATIO GRENELL, an intiuential and public- 
."spirited citizen of Pierrepont Manor, Jefferson county. New York, in 
which village he was born on Januar}- 26, 1846, is a lineal descendant 
of Nathan Grenell, a native of England, who was made freeman at 
Plymouth, Massachusetts, in 1628. The line of ancestry is as follows: 
(II) Daniel Grenell, son of Nathan, born in 1636, married Mary 
Wodell. who was born in 1640. (Ill) Daniel Grenell, born in 1665, 
died in 1740; he married Lydia Peabody, born in 1667 and died in 
1748, a daughter of William and Elizabeth (Alden) Peabody, the latter 
named having been a daughter of John and Priscilla (MuUins) Alden. 
(IV) George Grenell. born in 1686, married Mary Bull, who was 
born in 1708. (V) Daniel Grenell. born in 1729, died in 1801. was 
a soldier in the American Revolution from Saybrook, Connecticut; he 
married Ann Chapman, whose death occurred in 1814. (VI) Ezra 
Grenell. born July 29, 1766, married, January i, 1789, Olive Parker, 
who was born April 10, 1768, and died November 8, 1837. (VII) 
Benjamin Persons Grenell born January 5, 1790, died July 8, 1864; he 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1029 

married. Februar}- 9. 1813. Kezia Freeman Grenell. l)urn August 3, 
1786, died October 14, 1872. (V'lII) Ezra Orosco Grenell was born 
July 2, 1815, on Manor Farm, which is located in the vicinity of Pierre- 
pont Manor, New York. He was a farmer by dccupation and resided 
on the homestead during his entire lifetime, this property having lieen 
settled upon him by his great-grandfather, Ezra Grenell. He was a 
man of excellent habits and good education, was a member and deacon 
of the Congregational church at Mannsville, New York, fi ir many 
years prior to his death, and his political affiliations were with the Re- 
publican party. In October, 1839. he married Abby Monroe Ward- 
well, who was born in Bristol, Rlmde Island, Xovemlier 27,. 1814. a 
daughter of Samuel Wardwell. jr.. and his wife Haimah (Monroe) 
W'ardwell. Mrs. Grenell was descended from an old famil}- who orig- 
inated from William Wardwell, who came over from England with 
the early Pilgrims in 1620; the family resided in Bristol. Rhode Island, 
for many years, whence her father removed to Mannsville. New York. 
Mr. Grenell died on the old homestead on January 18. 1898, having 
survived his wife almost two years, her death occurring on February 
20, 1896. 

William H. Grenell was a student at Union Acatlemy. Eastman's 
Business College at Poughkeepsie, New York, and Cazenovia Seminary. 
He then engaged in various business positions until his marriage, after 
which he resided on the Manor Farm for several years, and in 1873 
engaged in the seed business, which he has followed since residing in 
Pierrepont Manor. For thirteen years he served as captain of Com- 
pany A, Thirty-fifth Regiment New York State National Guard, is a 
Democrat in politics, and a member of the Masonic order, being attili- 
ated with Rising Sun Lodge, Adams Chapter, Watertown Commandery 
and Media Temple, Mystic Shrine. 

At Pierrepont Alanor, New ^'ork. jNIarch 19. 1867. Mr. Grenell 
was united in marriage to- Adelaide E. Allen, who w^as born August 9, 
1847, a daughter of Jerome and Olive (Castor) Allen, and her educa- 
tion' was acquired at the Parish school and a school for young ladies at 
Troy, New York, conducted by Madame Willards. Their children 
were: Helen Allen, born at Manor Farm, Pierrepont Manor, New 
York, in 1868, and died in 1870: Anna Wardwell, born in 1873 ^^ 
Manor Farm, Pierrepont Manor. New York, educated at St. Agnes' 
School in Albany, New York, and the Irving School in \\'atertown. 
New York. In 1897 she became the wife of Matthew J. Huggins. of 



1030 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

I\Ianns\'ille. Tliey nre the parents of two children: Marjorie Alarv. 
born in iQoo, died in IQ02: and W'ilHam Grenell, Ijorn ^lav 9, 1901. 

ROBERT D. GOODENOUGH. The name of Goodenough, with 
other forms of the name (Goochiow and Goodenow). has been common 
in Sndbnry. Alassachnsetts. since tlie first settlement of tliat town. Two 
forms of the name are well established bv general nsage among the 
descendants, the second in the parenthesis above l.ieing cjnite as numer- 
ous as the form used by the descendants in Jefferson county. 

On April 11. iCijS. the ship "Confidence" left Southampton. Eng- 
land, and arri\e<l at Boston. ^Massachusetts, in due time, which meant 
a period many times the space now required for the voyage. Among 
its passengers were Thomas and Edmund Goodenow. The former 
was from Shaftesbury, on the liorder of Dorset and Wilts, England, 
and the latter was credited to Dumhead, \\'ilts, which does not appear 
in the present gazetteer of England and was no doubt a suburb of 
Shaftesbury in the days of the Puritans. 

( I ) Thomas Goodenow was thirty }'ears of age on his arrival in 
America, and was accompanied by his sister Ursula, his wife Jane, and 
son Thomas, then one year old. He settled in Sudburv. ^lassachusetts, 
l_)eing one of the proprieturs in 1^139. in which year he served as select- 
man, and subsecjuently filled other official stations. He was one of 
the pro])rietors of Marlboro in \()^(\. and moved there and was a resi- 
dent at its incorporation. He was selectman in 1661-62-64. His will 
was dated September 29. 1666, and probated October 24 following, 
indicating that his death occurred between these dates. His second 
wife's name was Joanna, and his children were: Mary, Abigail, Su- 
sannah, Sarah. Samuel, Susannali (j). and Elizabeth. 

(II) Samuel, onlv son of Thomas Goodenough, was born De- 
cember j6, 1645. in Sudliury, and li\-e(l in that part of ]\Iarlboro which 
is now Xorthbiiro. In 171 1 his dwelling was used as a garrison house 
for defenders against Indian incursions. His wife's name was Alarv, 
and their children were: Thomas. ]\Iary. and Samuel. The daughter 
was killed and scalped by the Indians in 1707. 

(III) Samuel, youngest chikl of Samuel and ]\Iary Goodenough, 
was born Xovemlier 30. 1675. '" Marlboro, and on the division of the 
town his residence was in what is now Westboro. wdiere he died about 
1720. His wife, Sarah, l^M-e him the following children: David, 
Jcnathan. Thomas, and Marv. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. K'31 

(IV) Jiinatlian, secninl sdii nf Samuel ami Sarah (ioodcnough, 
was h(irn July id. i^ofi, in Westhnrci, and died Septemlier 25, 1803, in 
iiis ninety-eightli year. He was married February 20, 1727. t(^ Lydia 
Rice, wh(.i died December 4, 1747. Their children were: Itliamar, 
Lydia, Marv. Jonathan, Levi, Samuel, Tabitha, and Seibert. 

(V) Levi, fifth child and third son of Jonathan and Lydia (Rice) 
Goodeudugh. was Imrn April 21. 1737, in \\'estboro, and was married 
June 8, 17O2. til ^lilicent Ke\cs, who was b<irn June 2. 1741. a ilaugh- 
ter of James Keyes. The last named was burn in 1696. and married 
(second) in 1739, Abigail Rugg, of Su<.lbur\'. whu was the mother of 
Milicent. Le\'i Goodenough mo\-ed to Shrewsburv, Massachusetts, 
whence he went to Brattleboro. \'erniont. and passed- his last days in 
Derliv, same state. His first three children are of record in Shrews- 
bury, namely: Elam. liorn January 2y, \y(^: James Keyes. baptized 

"April 19. 17^17: Jonas, liaptized October 25. 1768. The records of 
\'ermiint are conspicurms Iiy their non-existence, and many lines of 
genealogv are utterly lost thrnugh temporary or permanent sojourn in 
that state. 

( \ I ) Levi. SI 111 iif Le\i and Milicent (Keyes) Gootlennugb, was 
a blacksmith and farmer, and moved from Brattleboro to Derljy, Ver- 
miint, where he died. One of his sons, a namesake, was a physician 
of Sudbury, Vermont, and was vice-chancellor of Burlington College, 
now the L'niversity of \^erniont. 

(VH) John Goodenough, son of Le\i and Alilicent (Keyes) 
Goodenough, was born August 15, \jcj(^\ at Brattleboro, Vermont. 
When nineteen years of age he came to Jefiferson county. New York, 
traveling on foot in company with a mnnber of other settlers. Two 
older brothers. Caleb aiul Daniel, had preceded him; both settled in 
W'atertown. where the former soon died, and the latter became a farmer. 
John Goodenough settled in the wilderness two miles west of Manns- 
ville. where he took u]i and cleared fifty acres of land, subsequently 
liecoming the owner of three hundred and thirty-nine acres. In the 
autumn of the year in which he came to Jefferson county he returned 
to Vermont and married Betsy Colileigb. who was born March 13. 
1796. in Marlboro. Vermont. They were the parents of eleven chil- 
dren, six of whom reached maturity: Helen Ann, who became the wife 
of Daniel Strait, of Ellisburg. a soklier of the civil war; W'illard .\., 
who married Jane Hull, of Morrison, Illinois, and is miw a widower; 
Roswell P., who married Melissa Trink, of Alorrison, Illinois, who is 



1032 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

now deceased; Liirissa A., wlio became the wife of Kneeland Ellsworth, 
of Ellisburg, New York, and is deceased, as is her husliand: Robert D., 
mentioned at length hereinafter: and Lauriette, who married Arthur 
King, of Morrison. Illinois. Mrs. Goodenough. the mother of this 
family, died in 1855. and was survived many years by her husband, 
who passed away in 1878. 

(VIII) Robert Devereaux Goodenough. son of John and Betsy 
(Cobleigh) Goodenough. was born February 22. 1836, in the town of 
Ellisburg. where he has led the happily uneventful life of a prosperous 
farmer, active in all the duties of a neighbor and citizen. His political 
opinions and pi'inciples are those maintained and advocated by the Re- 
pulilican party, and he is honorably distinguished for his strong advo- 
cacy' of the temperance cause. He and his wife are members of the 
Church of the Disciples. 

Mr. Goodenough married. September 22. 1864. Helen Wheelock, 
born October 30, 1839. daughter of Nathan and Maretta (Sawyer) 
Wheelock. Mr. and Mrs. Goodenough are the parents of four children, 
three of whom arrived at years of maturity, namely : Robert S., born 
May 14, 1866. is a farmer in Ellisburg, and married Clara James; Mary 
M.. born October 13. 1869, died at the age of twenty years; and John 
\\'.. born May 6. 1872. died at the age of thirty years. 

The founder of the Wheelock family in America was the Re\-. 
Ralph ^Vheelock. born in Shropshire. England, in the year 1600. He 
was educated in Caml:)ridge University, England, became a dissenting 
minister, and came to America when the tide of persecution ran highest 
in 1637. He came first to Dedham. Massachusetts, and afterward went 
with a few others to Medfield, Massachusetts, and founded the first 
settlement in the township. He is styled in town history as the 
" I'ounder of Medfield." He was elected as representative to the Gen- 
eral Court of Massachusetts, first from Dedham. and then from Med- 
field for many terms. He was also a surveyor of lands, and was given 
authority by the General Court of Massachusetts to settle disputes within 
the township, and. quoting from the " History of Medfield." was given 
exery office of iidte in the gift of the ti.nvn. His will, which is still 
among the records of the prribate courts of Massachusetts, is quite a 
remarkable document. gi\'ing an insight into the high character of this 
stern old-time Puritan, whose achie\ements entitled his descendants to 
membership in the Society of Colonial Dames and the Founders and. 
Patriots. He died in Medfield. where he is liuried. He was also one 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1033 

of those wlio undertook to aid in the estal>hshment of Harvard College, 
and one of his descendants, the Rev. Eleizer Wlieeloclv, was the founder 
and first president of Dartmouth Cohege. He was alsn active in the 
founding of the church in Medfield. The surname of liis wife is not 
known. Her first name was Rebecca. 

The next in Hne of descent was Gershom Wheelock, eldest son of 
Ralph and Rebecca Wheelock. He also resided in Medfield. Massachu- 
setts, and was prominent in town and church affairs. The next in line 
was Samuel, son of Gershom, who resided in Marlboro, Massachusetts, 
was a deacon in the church and prominent in town afifairs. The next 
was his son, also named Samuel, who was a resident of Marlboro, Mas- 
sachusetts. The next was his son. Timothy, who resided in Shrews- 
bury, Massachusetts, served in the Revolutionary war. was out at Lex- 
ington, and was conspicuous in town affairs. The next was his son, 
Joseph, who married Judith Foster, and came to Jefferson countv. New 
York, in 1819, settling in Ellisburg, near Mannsville, where lie died. 
Mrs. Joseph Allen, now living in Mannsville. New York, is the onlv re- 
maining child of Joseph and Judith Wheelock, but a great number of 
descendants are scattered throughout the various states. Nathan Whee- 
lock, son of Joseph and Judith (Foster) Wheelock, and father of Mrs. 
Goodenough, was born January 25, 1812, in Worcester, jMassachusetts. 
and at the age of twelve years came with his parents from Brattleboro, 
Vermont, to Jefferson county. New York. He married Maretta Saw- 
yer, a daughter of Joseph Sawyer, a soldier in the war of 18 12. and 
was born January 23, 1816, in Keene, New Hampshire. Her maternal 
grandfather, John Harper, served in the patriot army of the revolution. 
Mrs. W^heelock died in 1897. Mrs. Robert D. Goodenough and Mrs. 
Herbert Brown, of T'ulaski. daughters of Nathan Sherman Wheelock. 
also Miss Marion Wheelock. reside in the vicinity. There are interest- 
ing incidents connected with the pioneer life of the family, whose his- 
tory was interwoven with the earliest records of the settlement of south- 
ern Jefferson county. Joseph Wheelock was a man of considerable 
culture and education, and at times a teacher of the school in his vicin- 
ity. His wife, Judith (Foster) Wheelock, was the best type of the New 
England women, whose strong common sense and high character won 
alwavs the respect and esteem of the communit}', a respect and esteem 
which their large family of children inherited. 

FREDERICK MONROE. Among the respected citizens and en- 
terprising business men of Pierrepont Manor. Frederick Monroe holds 



1"34 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

an uii(lisi)ute(l place and is the liearer of a name wliich is an honored 
one in Jefferson county. He is a direct descendant of General Alc^reau. 
and the faniilv name has since taken the present form of Monroe. 

Frederick Alonroe. son of Louis and Elizabeth (San Jule) Monroe, 
was born January 7. 1871, in Ellisbnrgh, and accjuired a thorough Eng- 
lish education in the common schools of the county. As a preparation 
for beginning life on his own account he received instruction from his 
father in the details of the latter's trade, a knowledge which has no 
doulit been practically beneficial to him. Mr. Monroe has been engaged 
in business, and as such has built up a reputation for executive talents 
no less than for rigid adherence to the principles of honesty and fair 
dealing. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. of Belleville. While pre- 
ferring not to take an active part in public affairs, Air. Alonroe is keenly 
ali\e to the obligations of citizenship, is punctilious in the discharge of 
his political iluties, and takes a deep interest in e\erything pertaining 
to the welfare and advancement of the community in which he resides. 
His political affiliations are with the Democrats, as he has a natural and 
deep aversion to everything partisan and always looks rather to men 
than to organizations or political parties. This attitude of mind is ap- 
preciated by his fellow-citizens, by whom he is respected no less as a 
citizen than as a business man. 

]\Ir. Monroe married Miss Ida Short, daughter of Thomas H. 
Short, of Xew York city, September 4, 1891. ]\Ir. Short was for 
nianv \'ears managing man for E. W. \"anderbilt. and a director of the 
Brookhn Bridge and South Ferry Railroad Company, and a prominent 
citizen and member of the [Masonic fraternity. Mr. and [Mrs. [Monroe 
are the parents of two children : Clarence and Maurice. [Mr. [Monroe 
has a sister who is the wife of Dr. C. J. Hull, a highly esteemed physi- 
cian of Carthage. Both [Mr. and [Mrs. IMonroe are members of the 
Protestant Episcopal church, and are very popular socially. Their 
prettv semi-rural home is the center of attraction and the gathering- 
place for a large circle of sincerely attached friends who are always sure 
of a warm welcome. 

DR. EUGEXE A. CHAPMAN, of Belleville, is a grandson of 
Le\i Chapman, who was l)orn at Lyme. Xew Hampshire, and moved 
to St. Lawrence county in 18 17. His son John was born in 1814, 
learned the blacksmith's trade, and settled at Roberts Corners, town of 
Henderson, in 1S35. He married [Miranda X. Congdon, and five chil- 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1035 

dren were bom to tliem ; Julian E., Eugene A., mentioned at length 
hereinafter; EngeHa A.. Florence L, and Washington I. 

Eugene A. Chapman, son of John and Miranda X. (Congdon) 
Chapman, was horn in 1839 in Belleville, Jefferson county. New York, 
and received his education at the Union Academy. Deciding to devote 
himself to the work of a physician, he entered the medical department 
of the University of Michigan and in 1862 received from the medical 
department of the University of Buffalo the degree of Doctor of Medi- 
cine. He liegan his practice in Clayton, and in June. 1862, enlisted in 
Company G. Tentli New York Heavy .\rtillery. .\fter serving for one 
year with the rank nf adjutant he was prdmoted to that of cajitain in 
June. 1863. In Xoxemher. 1864. he liecame assistant surgeon. United 
States Army, and was assigned to Point of Rocks (Virginia) Hospital, 
where he remained during the winter of 1864 and 1865. During the 
summer of 1865 he served as quarantine officer and post surgeon at 
Brazos Santiago. Texas, and in No\-ember of that year his term of 
office expired. 

On his return to ci\il life I^r. Chapman practicefl in Henderson 
until 1873. when failing health obliged him to relinquish professional 
duties for a time, and he accepted a position in the railroad office at 
Salamanca. New York, .\fter remaining there one year he settled in 
1875 in Belleville, where he has since resided and practiced his profes- 
sion. In 1869 he was admitted to membership in the Jefferson C(iunty 
Medical Society, of which he was president from i8gi to 1892. He 
takes a deep interest in the cause of education and is president of the 
board of trustees of Union Academy. He is active as a citizen, and 
was elected coroner in 1870 and again in 1886. In 1872 and 1873 he 
held the office of postmaster at Henderson. In 1898 he was supervisor 
of the town of Ellisburgh. He now holds the office of county clerk ami 
resides at Watertown. New York. In politics he is a Republican. 

Dr. Chapman married in i8()5 Pliilinda M., daughter of Philo and 
Caroline (Davis) Hungerford. Three children were born to them: 
Clara M.. who graduated from Cook .\cademy. class of 1885. and died 
at Grand Junction. Colorado. September 13. 1897: Florence L.. who is 
a graduate of Union .\cademy. class of 1887; ami \\'alter E. Mrs. 
Chapman died in 1874. and in 1877 Dr. Chapman married Agnes G. 
McClure. They are the parents of the following children : Ross McC, 
born in 1881 ; John H., born in 1884. and died at W'atertown. New 
York. April 20, 1901 ; Margery C. born in 1888: Sanford T.. born in 
1893: and Donald C, liorn in 1895. 



1036 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

IRA GOODEXOUGH. now deceased, was one of the pioneers of 
Jefferson county. Xew York. He was liorn Alarch 23. 1798. in Guil- 
ford. \"ermont. a son of Liberty and Susannah (Barney) Goodenough. 
His fatlier was a member of tlie patriot army in the Revolutionary war, 
and died of pleurisy while in the service. She was a daughter of Deacon 
Edward Barney and widow of Elijah Gore. (See Barney Genealogy.) 

Ira Goodenough spent his early boyhood days in Vermont, but lie- 
fore he attained the age of nineteen he walked from his native town to 
Ellisburgh. New York, driving cattle on the way. In 1824 he purchased 
a farm of one hundred acres near the village of Belleville, where the 
remainder of his da}s were spent. He was an influential and repre- 
sentative citizen of this communitw In his work he was extreme! v 
practical and systematic, and in all of his business relations was honor- 
able and straightforward. For many years he served as trustee of 
Union Academy, and he put forth earnest and effective effort in behalf 
of the schools of the district. His influence was felt on the side of re- 
form, improvement and progress, and he left the impress of his indi- 
viduality upon the public life of his community. He held membership 
in the Baptist church of Belleville, and the cause of religion found in 
him a warm and stalwart friend. In his political affiliations he was 
an independent Democrat, usually voting for the men and measures of 
that party, and yet on occasions supporting the Republican candidate 
for president as he felt that the interests of the country justified such a 
course. 

On March 20. 1823, Ira Goodenough was united in marriage to 
Polina Scott, who was born in Middleton, Rutland county, Vermont, 
January i, 1803. a daughter of Oliver and Dorcas (Prior) Scott, the 
former named ha\-ing been born in Rupert, \^ermont, July 2, 1792, and 
the latter in Norwich. Connecticut. September 21, 1777. In 1804. the 
year following her birth, the parents of ]\Irs. Goodenough mo\-ed to 
Jefferson county. New York, and settled near the place subsequently 
built up and called W'oodville. At this time almost the entire country 
was an unbroken wilderness : Sackets Harbor had only two houses, and 
between the harlior and ^Ir. Scott's residence, a distance of about four- 
teen miles, there \\as not a single house. The nearest grist mill was 
at Brownville and grain had to be carried to this place on horseback, 
as wagon mads were almost unknown at that time. Later a grist mill 
was built on the south side of the creek at \\'oodville. and those living 
on the north side, until a bridge could be built, were obliged to swim 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. K'37 

tlie stream on hdrselaack, tlie bag of grain being laid lengthwise upon 
the horse to prevent wetting. Deer at this time were abundant, but Mr. 
Scott made it a matter cf conscience ne\er to kill (jne except for food, 
and he has often been heard to say that a kind Providence always seemed 
to send one along just when needed, so that for }-ears liis table was never 
without a supply of venison. Polina Scott was the fifth child in a fam- 
ily of fourteen children. 

After her marriage Airs. Goodenough went to live on the farm 
near Belleville, which was always thereafter her home and where she 
was the central light and attraction. This home, made comfortable and 
pleasant by her own and her husband's industry and economy, was the 
birthplace of all of their children, and was one of those homes which a 
large circle of relatives and friends always delighted to visit, because 
they were always made welcome. From her home to her father's, a 
distance of five miles, she often went on horseback in those early days, 
with her two oldest children on the same horse as there was only a bridle 
path through the forest. Mrs. Goodenough was converted in early life, 
and united first with the church at Woodville, and, shortly after her 
marriage, with the Baptist church at Belleville. Xot only was she a 
mother in Israel, but a mother to the sick and afflicted for miles around 
her home. Her experience, skill and good judgment in the sick-room 
caused her assistance to be in great demand, and in many a family will 
she be long remembered as a ministering angel. The old home is still 
the property of their immediate descendants, and it is their wish, as it 
was their parents, that it always be kept in the family as a home to which 
any member may return and live out in peace and comfort the declining 
years of life. 

This beautiful old homestead, surmunded with stately maples, 
seems a part of the family itself. For many, many years, planted by 
their owner seventy-five years ago. their spreading branches have 
guarded the old home, and under their friendly shelter the children and 
grandchildren have spent the happy days of childhood, watching the 
little minnows dart out and in among the rocks in a ne\-er-failing spring 
of purest water, and drinking from its crystal depths the health-giving 
beverage. The family always considered that they owed in a great 
measure their good liealth to this pure water. Very dear to the hearts 
of its children is the old home, with its sacred memories, for there their 
childish hearts found a wealth of mother love that only went out with 
her life. Fight children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Goodenough, 
namely : 



1038 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

1. Alalvina ]\I.. horn January 13, 18J5, died of consumption Janu- 
ary 22. 1850, aged iwenty-tive years. 

2. Mvron M., Imrn Feliruary 13, 1828. His preparatory educa- 
tion was received at Belleville Acailemy, and he then entered Madison 
Universitv (now Colgate), from which he was graduated in 1830, tak- 
ing his degree of Bachelor of ,\rts in that year, and two years later his 
degree of Master of Arts. He chose teaching as a profession, believing 
that in this capacity he could accomplish the greatest amount of good 
in the world, tie married Miss Mary G. Brigham, wdio ably assisted 
him in the forty-two years wdiich he taught school, twelve years of which 
were in Claverack College as instructor in Latin and Natural Sciences. 
In 1866 they came to Hamilton, Xew York, wliere he was both principal 
and ])roprietor of the Hamilton Ladies' Seminary, and where he made 
an en\iahle reputation for himself among the foremost educators of his 
time. He died June (>. 1901. His years were full of great usefulness, 
and he exerted a wide influence over a large nuniljer who came in touch 
with him as a teacher. He was well known and revered. Two chil- 
dren were horn to Mr. and Mrs. Goodenough : 1, Mary B., who died at 
the age of two years, in 1869, at Hamilton. New York; 2, Louis Agassiz, 
born in Saratoga, New York, November 25, 1864. He obtained his 
erlucation in Hamilton, New York, graduating from Colgate Univer- 
sity in 188^). He was a man of strong personality and strong social 
instincts, and of splendid mental endowments, and it was but natural that 
his progressive ideas and great executive ability found for him appre- 
ciation in the educational world from the first. He was a successful 
teacher, and was the principal of schools in Jersey City, New Jersey, 
when he was chosen superintendent of schools in Paterson. New 
lersev. in which capacity he served during the last three years of his 
life. During that period of time he won for himself public esteem and 
general admiration from teachers and pujjils alike. .Vt a banquet given 
in his honor, he received a tribute of the esteem of the principals of the 
Paterson schools in a beautiful Tiffany gold watch, chain and diamond 
charm. He endeareil himself to the entire community and was beloved 
by everybodv. Mav i i, 1901, he was united in marriage to Miss Mary 
Burgess, who bore him one child, Louis Burgess Goodenough. Mr. 
Goodenough died suddenly of hemorrhage complicated with heart 
trouble, August 2, 1904, in the fortieth year of his age, at the old 
G(K)denou,gh home, where he had spent a jiart of his vacation every year 
of his life but one — when he was aljroad. His sudden demise caused 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1039 

sincere and universal mourning, and tlie city of Paterson demonstrated 
her grief by putting the flags at half-mast. His wife. Mary (Burgess) 
Goodenough. died of heart failure January 24. 1903. 

3. iNlarilla M.. horn at Belle\'ille. resides on tiie old farm, and 
when her parents heg;in tn gr("iw feeble from old age she successful!}' 
directed all farm (Operations with an intelligence erjual to that of the other 
sex. She was ably assisted in all domestic duties bv her sister, ]\Iar\' 
D. Goodenough. 

4. Gilbert C., born at Belle\-ille. He is a Baptist clergyman, and 
his home is in Farmington, bnva. ?{e married Victoria I. Brayman, 
of Ohio, and their children are: Xettie, Ijorn in Livingston, Iowa, 
was united in marriage in Hamilton, Illinois, to John Gordon, and 
they now reside in that city. Their children are: Pearl Avis, born 
May 13, 1881 : Bessie Bell, born September 14, 1883; Earnest Bray- 
man, horn February 13, 1888; Roger Alvord. horn August 18, 1893; 
Donald. Linnie G.. who becaiue the wife of Solomon Crown, and they 
are the parents of one son : Harold Crown ; the\- reside in Farmington, 
Iowa. Ira Otis, born in Centerville, Iowa: married Delia Freshwater, 
who bore him one daughter. Hazel Goodenough. 

5. Mila P.. born at Belle\-ille. She is the widow of Frank Deisz 
and resides in Pierce City, Missouri. Their children are: Mila D., 
liorn in Mazomanie, Dane county, Wisconsin, received her education in 
Hamilton, New York, married in Pierce City, Missouri. ^^^ W^ood, and 
died in 1897. Tlie\" were the parents of fdur children : Opal, born Oc- 
tolier 3, 1889: Cliola, born .-\ugust 31. 1891 : Harvey D.. born Decem- 
ber IT,. 1894; and Frank, born in .\pril, 1897, died the same year. ^Nly- 
ron Deisz, l^orn in Alazomanie, Wisconsin, died at Belle\ille, New 
York, aged four years, hdora D., liorn in Mazomanie, \\'isconsin, be- 
came the wife of .\. Key, in Pierce City, Missouri, and th.eir children 
are: INIyron, Frank, Clarence, and Harold. 

T). Mary D., liorn at ISellexille. She has cultivated a taste for 
art, and some of her fine paintings would adorn any home in the land. 

7. Matilda P., born December Ji, 1841. She was educated at 
Union Academy, Belle\'ille, as were all of the children of her parents. 
At Belleville, New York, in 1867, she became the wife of D. L. .\ngle. 
Tlieir hospitable home is in Syracuse, New York. Like her luother 
she is often found at the bedside of sickness and death. 

8. Miranda A., born August 12, 1846, died at the age of three 
years, August 15, 1849. 



1040 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Ira Goodenongh, father of these children, died at his home in the 
village of Belleville, New York, November lo. 1882, aged eightv-four 
years. He survived his wife a little over a year, \itr death having oc- 
curred ]\Iay 25, 1881. 

SOLOMON ]\IAKEPEACE, one of the representative citizens 
of Plessis. Jefferson county. New York, who is recognized as a man of 
sterling integrity whose word is as good as his bond, was born in the 
town in which he now resides, I\Iay 17, 1837. 

Solomon Makepeace, father of Solomon Makepeace, was born in 
Worcester, ^Massachusetts, a son of Elliot ]\Iakepeace. In company 
with his parents he came to Jefferson county. New York, settling at 
Perch Lake, and later at Brownville. Both he and his father manu- 
factured potash in connection with farming, conducting the latter pur- 
suit on land which they cleared off. He built the first sawmill at 
Joachum. and subsequently established a general store there, which he 
conducted for many years, supplying the new settlers gratis with many 
of the necessaries of life during their adverse crop seasons. He was 
a sincere Christian, a type of the better class of emigrants to the Black 
River country, who "first explored, through perils manifold, the 
shores and mountains, the valleys and plains of this new land: who 
leveled forests, cleared fields, made paths by land and water, and 
planted commonwealths."' Mr. Makepeace married Jane Cronkhite 
(also spelled Kronkhite) and they were the parents of a number of 
children, among whom were: Lucy, who became the wife of Alanson 
Cole: Ursula, a resident of Illinois; Lydia, who resides at Alexandria 
Bay : Solomon, mentioned hereinafter, and John, a resident of Clayton. 
Solomon ^lakepeace, father of these children, died at his residence in 
Alexandria, New York, January 24, 1869, in his eighty-seventh year. 

After completing a common school education Solomon ^lake- 
peace, Jr., followed the great lakes for four years. In 1S62 he enlisted in 
Company F, Tenth Regiment New York Heavy Artillery, and after 
two years" service received an honorable discharge in 1864 with rank 
of corporal. He then returned to Plessis. New York, and engaged in 
mercantile pursuits, first as clerk with ^Ir. Farrman, of Plessis, where 
he remained for a period of time. He then formed a partnership with 
Mr. McAllister, and later with 'Sir. Ogsbury, of Plessis, and they con- 
ducted business for a number of years under the firm name of Make- 
peace & Ogsbury. In 1884 he purchased the interest of his partner, 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. lOil 

and has since continneil al^ne in the general merchandise trade. The 
.esteem and appreciation in which he is lield b}" his fellow citizens is evi- 
denced by the fact that he was chosen for the office > if postmaster, in which 
capacity he gave entire satisfaction to all concerned for four years, and 
at the end of this time he retired and turned the business over to his 
two sons, Claude J. and Frank S., the latter being now (1904) post- 
master. Th.e postoffice was placed in Plessis during the administration 
of President Harrison. 

During" the many years of his business career, Mr. Makepeace 
was noted fur his honorable and upright methods and his reputation is 
above reproach. He was a keen, shrewd, progressive business man, 
always carefully considering the wants of his customers and aiming 
to keep in stock everything which they might possibly desire, having 
all that is to be found in an up-to-date country store. He carried a full 
line of dry goods, notions, hardware, boots and shoes, groceries, etc. 
He retired from business in 1901, and the business so well founded by 
him has been ably conducted by his two sons, Claude J. and F"rank S., 
who have well sustained the reputation made by their father. Like him 
they are potent factors in the political field, sustaining the principles 
of the Republican party. 

In 1858 Mr. Makepeace was united in marriage to Lucinda 
Forbes, born March 30, 1840, daughter of Francis and Betsy Forbes, 
wdiose ancestors came here from England and resided in this country 
imtil their death : she was one of a number of children. Si.x children 
were born to Mr. and Mrs. Makepeace: i. Elbert E., born January 
9, i860, married Ethel Ballentine, of Smith's Falls, Canada, and they 
have one child, Gerald T. Makepeace. 2. Frank S., born January i, 
1865. 3. Frederick, born March 27, 1867, died August 27, 1869. 
4. Fanny Adele, born August 3, 187 1, became the wife of Lewis 
Pickert, and their son, Harry M. Pickert, now resides in Alexandria 
Bay. 5. Lydia J., born February 2^, 1874, resides at home. 6. 
Claude J., born May i, 1878, a resident of Plessis, in which town his 
birth occurred. 

CHARLES LINGENFELTER. Foremost among the enterpris- 
ing and influential residents of Clayton, Jefferson county. New York, 
who have aided materially in building up and maintaining the prosper- 
ity of that section of the state, is Charles Lingenfelter, who was born 
in the village in which he now resides, Januarj' 10, 1847. 



1042 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

John Lingenfelter, fatlier of Cliarles Lingenfelter. was born in 
Montgomery county. New York, in 1815. He was reared in the vicin- 
ity of his birtiiplace. educated in the common schools adjacent to his 
liome. and iov a numl^er of years followed farming there as a means 
of livelihood. He was the first captain of the first canal boat on the 
Erie Canal, in which capacity he ser\'ed for ten years, and at the expira- 
tion of this period of time he came to Clayton. Xew York, making the 
journey on a sleigh, and settled on the farm now owned b\- his son 
Charles, which then contained but sixty acres. This lie cleared off, 
and drew the timlier into the \-illage of Clayton and floated it down the 
St. Lawrence river. Later he purchased one hundred and fifty-three 
acres of land. seventy-fi\-e acres of which he cleared off. whereon he 
liuilt a fine house and barn, and on this tract he resided until his re- 
tirement from acti\e business pursuits, when he removed to Lafarge- 
\-ille. Xew ^'ork. where he spent his last years, his death lieing caused 
by cancer. He ser\ed as road commissioner three years, being elected 
thereto on the Democratic ticket. He married INIagdeline Consaul. who 
was born in jNhintgomery county. New York, a daughter of ^latthew 
and Hannah ( Lewis) Consaul. residents of .\msterdam. Xew York, 
the latter named having laeen a native of that place. They were the 
parents of a large family. ^Ir. and ]Mrs. Consaul botli died in Amster- 
dam, the latter attaining to the remarkable age of ninety years. 

The following named children were born to John and Alagdeline 
Lingenfelter: i. Matthew, deceasefl ; 2. Elida. who became the wife 
of Mr. Henry, of Lafargeville. Xew York, where they now reside : 3, 
Louis, who resides near Clapton Center: 4. Joseph, who died; 5, 
Susan, who became the wife of Albert Putnam; 6. Rufus. who died; 
7. Sarah J., who became the wife of Wendell Heyle, further mention 
of whom is made in the sketch of George Heyle. found elsewhere in 
this work: S. Lucira: 9, Charles mentioned hereinafter: 10. George, 
deceased: 11. Melzer, deceased. The mother of these children, who 
was a regular attendant of the Methodist Episcopal church, attained the 
ad\anced age of ninety-three years. 

Charles Lingenfelter resided in his native town. Clayton, until 
he was fifteen years of age, in the meantime obtaining a good educa- 
tion in the common schools. During the following nine years he was 
emploved on the great lakes, after which he returned to Clayton and 
located on his present farm ni one hundred and fifty-three acres, which 
is devoted to general farming purposes. In 1888 he opened a quarry 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1043 

on his property, which he has since conducted, this containing a fine 
qnahty of stone for which he finds a ready market in aU the nearliv 
towns and villages. He suppHed a large quantity of fine stone for the 
handsome summer residence of George C. Boldt, on Hart Island, in 
the St. Lawrence river. In connection with this enterprise he also 
conducted the operations on his farm up to 1900, when he rented his 
farm and purchased his present homestead of twenty-three acres and 
rebuilt the house and liarn. He has served as secretary of the cheese 
factory, and for fourteen }ears has disposed of the [iroduct of the same, 
h'or one term he acted as collector of taxes for the \-illage r)f Clayton, 
and he has heen appointed a delegate to several county con\entions. He 
is a regular atterulant upon the services of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, a Democrat in politics, and a memher of Cla^'ton CI range. 

In 1870 Mr. Lingenfelter married Elizabeth Harter. a native of 
Clayt(in and daughter of Peter Harter. now deceased, wdio was a pros- 
perous farmer. One child was the issue of this union — Howard A., 
born December 4, 1872, now a ])hysician in New York city. Mrs. 
Lingenfelter died aged forty-two years. For his second wife Mr. Lin- 
genfelter married Thankful Halliday, also a native of Clayton, and 
daughter of Shunian Halliday, a farmer. She was the eldest of two 
children, the other being Joseph Halliday, a farmer, residing near by. 
Three children were l)orn to Mr. and Mrs. Lingenfelter. namely: Shu- 
man Adelhert, Hazel Bernice, and Charles Don. 

STEPHEN R. RYAN. The name which introduces this sketch 
is that of one of the most substantial business men and highly respected 
citizens of Watertown, Jefferson county. New York. He was born in 
the town of Osceola, New York, December 26, 1849. 

His father. Michael Ryan, was born in Ireland in 1809, and re- 
ceived his education in the national schools. He came to America in 
1833 and located first in St. Catharine's, Canada, and later removed to 
Lewis county. New York, settling in the village of Osceola, where he 
was a pioneer. He spent his last years at Maple Hill, a small hamlet 
in Williamstown, New York, where he died in 1876, aged sixty-seven 
vears. He married Mary Ann Sweeney, born in Ireland, in 18 10, and 
they lived together more than fifty years and reared a family of thir- 
teen children. The eldest, Patrick, enlisted in the Fourteenth Batter\- 
of New York Artillery, and was wounded at the second battle of Bull 
Run and died on the field. Stephen R. Ryan's mother died about fi\e 



1044 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

months before her husband. She was a fine specimen of womanhood, 
and her memory is deeply cherished by her surviving children. 

Stephen R. Ryan when but eleven years old moved with his par- 
ents to the town of Williamstown. Oswego county, Xew York, to a lit- 
tle placed called Maple Hill, where his father took a contract for get- 
ting out wood for the New York Central & Hudson River Railroad, 
the wood being delivered by the contractors to Williamstown and then 
drawn from there by the Rome, Watertown & Ogdensburg Railroad 
to Rome, a distance of twenty-eight miles. Mr. Rj'an lived with his 
parents, and in 1865 entered the company's store and worked there for 
four years. So well was he thought of by the proprietors, John P. 
Wardwell. of Rome, New York, and Dr. Sutherland, of Steuben county, 
that they sent him to night school during the winter months. In 1869 
he went to his brother, Hugh Ryan, of Croghan, New York, and 
learned from him the millwright, carpenter and joiner trade. In 1873 
he came to \\'atertown, where he worked as a carpenter and wagon 
maker. In 1880, with ^lort Hardy, he opened a saloon on Court street. 
In 1881 he bought out Mr. Hardy's interest, and in 1882 sold his saloon 
to McCutchin and Fowler, and entered into the soft drink business with 
John Winslow, afterward Ryan & Williams. In 1885 Mr. Ryan as- 
sumed absolute control, and in that same year bought what was then 
known as the Walsh Block, where he has remained ever since, and 
which is now known as the Ryan Block, the business occupying the two 
first floors, the largest concern of its kind in northern New York. Mr. 
Ryan is a Democrat in politics, and has been a delegate to the city and 
county conventions for many )'ears. In 1877 he was elected constable 
in the second ward, and he was twice re-elected, his popularity being 
indicated by the fact that the ward was strongly Republican. He is 
a member of the Hibernians, of the C. M. B. A., and of the B. P. O. E., 
in which he was exalted ruler in i8gi and 1892. 

On September 2, 1873, Mr. Ryan married Miss Caroline Clod- 
wick, eldest child of Mr. and j\lrs. Moritz Clodwick, of Belfort, Lewis 
county. New York. Mr. Clodwick came to this country from Ger- 
manv. was one of the pioneer settlers of Lewis county, and established 
the first grist and saw mill in Belfort, town of Croghan, New York, 
which he conducted for twenty years, when he retired to a farm where 
he spent the remainder of his life, and died in 1895 at the age of seven- 
tv-two vears. His wife passed away in 1869 at the age of thirty-six 
years. This to some extent broke up the home, and 'Sir. Ryan aided 
materiallv in rearing and educating the younger children. 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1045 

Three children were the issue of the marriage (if ]\lr. and ^Irs. 
Ryan, of whom two are living: i. George W., born in 1875, "o^'^' ^'i" 
gaged as a commission merchant in Pittsburg. Pennsyh'ania ; he mar- 
ried Hattie A. Gallagher, youngest daughter of Richanl Gallagher, of 
Carthage. New York: 2. Albert H.. Ijorn in 1876, was educated in tlie 
common and high schools, later at Fort Plain. New York, and then at 
Georgetown College, Washington. D. C. After graduating frdui the 
last named institution he entered Cornell University, from which he 
was graduated with the class of 18S8. when he was admitted to the bar, 
and is now a practicing lawyer of New York city. 

Mr. Ryan and his family are active and prominent in Catholic 
church circles, holding membership in St. Patrick's church of Water- 
town, New York. In 1S92 Mr. Ryan purchased his handsome and com- 
modious home, which is located at Nm. 41 Stone street. Watertown. 

As may readily be seen by reading the foregoing. Mr. Ryan has 
demonstrated beyond question of iloubt. what may be accomplishei.l by 
perseverance and a fixed purpose. Upnn his arrixal in Watertown he 
stood even with the world. F>ut while poor, as men are reckoned, from 
a financial standpoint, he was rich in the materials which have ever 
been the foundation of success. Among the foremost of these may be 
mentioned his unswerving honesty. Realizing fully \\hat his exact 
condition was, he determined to li\'e within his means, and. while improv- 
ing every opportunity to ad\'ance, to incur no obligations wdiich he 
could not meet when due. Pursuing the course which he had marked 
out, he soon found himself enjoying the confidence of those with whom 
he became associated, and who respected his methods, and who were 
ever ready to assist him in any way. This has continued to the pres- 
ent time, and we now find him in the foremost ranks of the successful 
business men of Watertijwn. 

ADELBERT A. SCOTT, who is now serving as supervisor of 
Henderson, was born in Jefiferson count}- on the 12th of December, 
1847. His ancestral history can be traced liack to Connecticut, and to 
a period antedating the Revolutionar}- war. Enos Scott, the great- 
grandfather, was born in Connecticut in 1745. and aided the colonists 
in their struggle for independence, serving valiantly as a soldier in 
the Revolutionary war. He was a cooper by trade, and became the 
founder of the family in New York, residing in Lewis count}-, where 
occurred the birth of William Scott in the year 1785. He was there 



1046 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

reared and educated, attending the conmiijn schools. He followed 
farming as a life work, and after his marriage, which occurred when 
he was eighteen years of age. he removed to St. Lawrence county, New 
Vork. where he purchased a tract of land of three hundred acres. To 
its development and improvement he devoted his energies for ten years, 
and then sold the property for just what he had paid for it. At that 
time he removed to Brownville. and subsequently took up his abode at 
Henderson, where he died at the advanced age of seventy-eight years. 
His wife, who bore the maiden name of Mabel Buck, was born in 
Lewis countv in 1790, and died at the very advanced age of ninety-two 
vears. In their family were five children, of whom one yet survives, 
\\'illiam Scott, a resident of W'atertown. From the same ancestry was 
descended General W'infield Scott, the distinguished commander of 
-American troops in the Alexican war. 

Alonzo B. Scott, the father of .\delbert Scott, was born in Ham- 
mond, St. Lawrence county. New York, in 1817, and there spent the 
iirst ten years of his life, when he accompanied his parents on their re- 
moval to Brownville. Later the family home was established at Hen- 
derson, and there Alonzo Scott continued to make his home until his 
life's labors were ended in death. He liecame a very extensive farmer 
of that localitv. and prospered in his undertakings. At the same time 
he found opportunitv to take an active part in public affairs relative to 
the welfare and progress of his locality, and his co-operation in this 
direction proved of value in promoting the general good. He married 
Miss Lovina Templeton. wdio was born in Orleans. New York, in 1820. 
Her father. James Templeton. was a native of New Hampshire, and 
emigrated from the Granite state to Jetf'erson county, New York, be- 
coming one of its jiioneer settlers. He spent his remaining days in 
Orleans, and died at the advanced age of eighty years. His wife passed 
away at the age of seventy-eight years. In their family were five chil- 
dren, of whom two are now living. Mrs. Eliza Graves, of W'atertown, 
and Aaron B.. who is a resident of Indianapolis. Indiana. It was to 
this family that Mrs. Scott belonged. She was a member of the Bap- 
tist church. By her marriage she had three children, of whom Adel- 
bert A. is the only one now living. 

'Mr. Scott, whose name introduces this record, spent his early years 
in Henderson, and acquired his preliminary education in the common 
schools, after which he continued his studies in the Union Academy at 
Belleville. New Y(_irk. thus gaining a good literary education. Later 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 10-47 

he devoted his attentim! ti> teaching schciol. which he fnhnwed for nine 
years, sjieiKhng six terms in a (hstrict schncil. His summer months were 
(le\'(ited to farm wnrk up(in his father's land, and lie later began farm- 
ing on his own account, purchasing one hundred acres of land which 
he has since devoted to general agricultural pursuits. He is also en- 
gaged in buying cattle and sheep and to some extent has engaged in 
speculating. His business affairs are capably managed, and his keen 
discernment antl sagacity supplementing his unflagging industry have 
made him one of the prosperous residents of his community. He is 
connected with the W'atertown Produce Exchange, with which he has 
been associated for four years, and he has represented one of the largest 
industries in this section of Jefferson county. 

That JMr. Scott is one of the most jjopular and influential residents 
of this community is shown hv the fact that he has again and again 
been elected to the office of su|ier\isor, serving continuously in this posi- 
tion from 1890 until the present writing" in 1904. In 1901 he was 
electetl chairman of the lioard without opposition, and his influence has 
been a potent factor in shaping the affairs of the country through his 
connection with the office. He is the oldest supervisor in term of serv- 
ice ijii the hoard which has just finished its annual work, and he has 
occupied nearly every position on the board, from that of footing assess- 
ment rolls to chairman. His townsmen have elected him for two years 
more, beginning with the first of January. 1903. Several times his 
name has been prominently mentioned, and twice at least he would have 
been sent to Albany had he consented to go, but the opportunities came 
when he could not without too great a sacrifice leave home. Before the 
adjournment of the board the slate makers were anxious to find out 
how he would stand on the assembly matter this year, but if they suc- 
ceedeil the)- ha\-e not made it known. He has been a delegate to the 
county and district cijuventions of his party, and his opinions carry 
weight in its councils. Socially Air. Scott is connected with Rising 
Light Loilge. No. 667, F. and A. ]M., of Belleville, in which he has 
passed all of the chairs and is now past master. He also belongs to 
the chapter, R. A. AL, at .\dams. Xew York, is master of the Grange, 
and is a director of the Fair Association at Center. Holding member- 
shi]) with the Baptist church, he co-operates heartily in its work, con- 
trilnites liberally to its support, and is serving as clerk of the church. 

Mr. Scott was married in 1S73 to Aliss Clara E. Green, wdio was 
born in Ellisburgh, New ^'ork. in 1830, and is a daughter of Daniel 



1048 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Green, a farmer of that town. In the famil}- were three children, all 
of whom are yet living, namely : James Green, a resident of Water- 
town; Mrs. Scott: and Willis E., who resides in Ellisburgh. Mr. and 
Mrs. Scott now have two children, Daniel G.. who married Ida \^'ild; 
and Bessie. The son and daughter still reside at home. 

SETH MATHER, a retired contractur and builder living at Or- 
leans, was born in Frankfort, Herkimer county. New York. October 
28, 1838. His paternal great-grandfather, Asa Mather, was proprietor 
of a hotel in Schuyler, New York, at an early period in the develop- 
ment of that part of the state. His children were Joshua, Samuel, 
John and Reuljen ]\ lather. Of this number Joshua iMather, the grand- 
father of Seth blather, was born in \'ermont and was a farmer by 
occupation. He removed from the Green Alountain state to Schuyler, 
New York, where he spent his last years, his death occurring at the age 
of seventy-seven. He was a man of public spirit, prominent in local 
affairs and held many positions, including that of justice of the peace. 
He belonged to the Methodist Episcopal church. 

Seeley B. Mather, the father, was reared to farm life, and pursued 
his education in Schuyler, New York. Learning the carpenter's trade, 
he afterward removed to Utica, New York, in 1844, and carried on 
business there as a contractor and builder until his death, which occurred 
when he was sixty-six years old. He married ^Nlaria Salisbury, who 
was born in Jefferson count}-. New York, in 181 5, a daughter of George 
Salisbury, whose birth occurred in Rhode Island, and who came to Wa- 
tertown. New York, in 1804, being one of the early settlers of that 
place. Later he removed to Sterlingville, where he died at the ad- 
vanced age of se\-enty }"ears. By her marriage she had three children, 
of whom two are living: Seth and Orvilla. a resident of Philadelphia. 
New York. 

Seth ]\rathcr sjient his early years in L'tica. where he acquired his 
education and followed the carpenter's trade from 1872 until 1882. In 
the latter year he came to Orleans and purchased his farm of one hun- 
dred and eightv-se\-en acres. He formerly engaged in contracting and 
building, but nn coming to Jeffer,son county turned his attention to ag- 
ricultural pursuits, which he now follows. In addition to carrying on 
general farming he keeps a dairy of thirt}' cows. 

I\Ir. Mather gives his political allegiance to the Republican party, 
and has l:)een called to fill several local positions. He has served as as- 




TT^Jy^Z^^ 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1019 

sessor. in i8qi was elected supervisor, and in 1903 was again chosen 
for that of¥ice for a term of two years. He belongs to the Methodist 
Episcopal church. At the time of the Civil war he manifested his loy- 
alty to the go\'ernment l)y enlisting in McOuade's regiment, l^eing as- 
signed to Company E. Fourteenth Regiment New York Infantry. He 
was made first sergeant, and remained at the front for two years, par- 
ticipating in fourteen important engagements, including the battles of 
Gaines' Mills, White Oak Swamp and Malvern Hill, where the regi- 
ment lost five hundred men. He Avas also in the battles of Fredericks- 
burg, White House, and the second battle of Bull Run. 

Mr. Mather was married in 1865 to Lucy Duncan, who was born 
in Canada, a daughter of Dr. Alexander Duncan, who in early life took 
up his abode at Mather's Mills, near Adams. New York, and there en- 
gaged in the manufacture of furniture. He died at the age of ninet}- 
years, and his wife died at the age of ninety-one. In the family were 
three children: INIrs. IMather; Reuben, who is living in Adams. New 
York : and Grace, who resides in Belleville, New York. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Mather were born four children : Bert, who is living in Lafarge- 
ville. New York; Newell, a resident of Utica : Frank, who resides on 
the home farm ; and Lee. in Utica. Frank married Jessie Ford and 
they have two children. 

WALTER BRY.\NT HOTCHKIN, one of the successful bro- 
kers of New York city, is worthy of note in the annals of Jefferson coun- 
ty people. He was horn July 30, 1865, in Auburn, New York, a son 
of \\'illiam H. Hotchkin. and was reared in Watert(iwn. his father's 
native place. 

The first of the name of whom reci ird is now found was Eli Hotch- 
kin. \\ho was born July 6. 1772. and died November 26. 1858, at \\'a- 
terville, Oneida county. New York, where he lived for many years. 
His wife, Betsey Drury, was born January 8. 1786, and passed much 
of her youth in Dedham. IMassachusetts. She died June 30, 1869, at 
Waterville. Their son, Josiah B. Hotchkin. was born about 1808. at 
Waterville, and died there at about the age of fifty years. He was 
twice married, his second wife being Keziah Austin, of Norway. Herki- 
mer county, who sur\i\-efl him some thirty years. There were four 
daughters by the first marriage, and two sons and three daughters of 
the second. Helen, the eldest of these, married Isaac P. Odell. and 
died in Watertown in 186:;. ^^■illianl H. receives extended mention 



1050 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

in succeeding paragraphs. Julia died at the age of fifteen years. Emily 
died in Watertuwn. where Herhert B. now resides. The last named 
lias twn children. 

William Henry Hotchkin. eldest son and sixth child of Josiah B. 
Hotchkin (second child of his second wife), was horn September 12, 
1840. in Watertown, where he grew up. After attending the public 
schools there, he was a student at Sand Lake .\cademy. On leaving 
school he went to Xew York city and became a reporter on the " New 
York Sun." Subsec|uently he read law in the ofiice of Sherman & 
Lansing, the leading attorneys of Watertown, and was admitted to the 
bar at Rochester in 1872. His practice began at Watertown imme- 
diately after his admission to the bar, and he served some years as jus- 
tice of the peace. He was a good law'yer, a fine linguist and a skilled 
chess-player. After his marriage he was baptized in tlie Episcopal 
church. In politics he was a Democrat. Mr. Hotchkin enlisted as a 
soldier at the outbreak of the Civil w-ar, and set out for the front on the 
day following his marriage, as a member of the Eighth New York 
regiment. He became assistant regimental quartermaster, with rank of 
first lieutenant, and was discharged with the regiment at the end of 
three months' service, after participating in the first battle of Bull Run. 

In November. 1883. Air. Hotchkin purchased a ticket at Water- 
town for New York city, to join his family, already located there, and 
no trace of him has since been found. It is presumed that he met with 
foul play after his arrival in the metropolis, and that his body lies 
among the hosts of unidentified or undiscovered dead of a great city. 

Mr. Hotchkin was married April 22. 1861, to Miss Julia Pratt 
Cook, who w-as born in Rochester, New York, and survives her hus- 
band, residing in New York city. She is a daughterof Phineas Bald- 
win and Mary Burr (Pratt) Co.jk (see Cook, VIII), both of old New 
England families. Three children were born to William H. Hotchkin 
and wife. William Herbert, the first, died in Watertown, June 3. 1883, 
aged twenty-one vears. The name of the second heads this article. A 
daughter. Caro Sherman, died at the age of fifteen years, in New York. 
Mrs. Hotchkin is regent of Colonial Chapter, Daughters of the Revo- 
lution, of New ^'(jrk city, and is a member of the New England Society. 

\\'alter B. Hotchkin is largely self-educated, and has been identified 
with \\'all Street since 1883. As a boy he attended the public schools 
of Watertown until he was seventeen years old. and then set out to 
make his wav in the world. For about one year he was employed in 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1051 

the W'atertown steam engine works, and went to Xew York in 1883. 
He immediately entered upon a clerkship in a broker's office, and rap- 
idly acquired a knowledge of financial operations and the bus'-iess of 
" the street." Since June, 1889, he has been a member of the Consoli- 
dated Stock Exchange, and since 1903 of the Chicago Board of Trade, 
and has conducted a successful brokerage business. • In 1899 he formed 
a partnership with Joseph H. Stoppani, under the title of Stoppani & 
Hotchkin, with offices at 66 Broadway, and this connection has since 
continued, a large volume of business being handled annuall\-. They 
deal extensively in railroad stocks and grain and cotton. 

^Vhile taking an active part in the financial affairs of the metrop- 
olis. Mr. H(_itchkin has also borne his part in the S(icial and nulitary 
life. Coming of several lines of cnlonial and Revolutionar}' ancestors, 
it is natural that he should ally himself with the Sons of the Revolu- 
tion and the Society of Colonial Wars, and his active participation in 
military affairs makes him a useful and honored member of the Order 
of Foreign Wars, the Naval and Military Order of the Spanish-Ameri- 
can War, and the United Spanish War Veterans. He is a member of 
the New York Athletic Club, Army and Navy Clulj, Jefferson County 
Society in New York, and the New York Historical Society. He is a 
member of All Angels' (Protestant Episcopal) Church of Manhattan. 
Previous to 1896, Mr. Hotchkin adhered to the Democratic party in 
political matters, but the financial plank of the national platforms of 
his party has kept him aloof since that date. 

.\t the age of seventeen years Mr. Hotchkin began to develop the 
military spirit inherited from a brave ancestry, and in 1882 he joined 
the Thirty-ninth Separate Company, National Guard of New York, at 
Watertown. In 1884 he became a member of the Twenty-second regi- 
ment, in which he has risen from private to major. He went out as 
major with the regiment in i8g8 in the Spanish-American war, and re- 
mained with it until mustered out i.^f the United States service in No- 
vember of that year. He continued in Cuba, entering the Twelfth New 
York regiment as first lieutenant, and was mustered out as captain in 
April, 1899. He immediately returned to the Twenty-second, in which 
he is now serving as major, and in which he is deservedly popular. 

Mr. Hotchkin was married April 13, 1903, to Miss Mabel L. Hall, 
who was born in Xew York, a daughter of Henry B., junior, and Em- 
ma (Lord) Hall, the former a native of England and the latter of New 
York city. Mr. Hall is widely known as a skilled steel engraver, mem- 



1052 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

ber of the famous firm of H. B. Hall & Sons. His wife is a grand- 
daughter of Hezekiah Lord, who came from England. 

Mrs. Julia P. (Cook) Hotchkin is descended from two of the old- 
est and best families of Connecticut, and the lines are given below. 

(I) Major Aaron Cook, born 1610, in England, came from Dor- 
chester. Massachusetts, and settled in Windsor, Connecticut, in 1636. 
His wife was a daughter of Thomas Ford. He was a farmer in Wind- 
sor, and his posterity is found throughout the United States, many of 
them holding honored positions in society and public life. 

(H) Captain Aaron Cook (2), son of Aaron and 

(Ford) Cook. \Aas horn February 21, 1641. in Windsor, and was mar- 
ried in Hadley, JNIassachusetts, May 30. 1661, to Sarah, only child of 
William Westwood. She was born 1644, in Hartford, and died March 
24. 1730, aged eighty-six years. 

(HI) Aaron Cook (3), son of Aaron (2) and Sarah (West- 
wood) Cook, was born in 1663 in Hadley, and was a resident of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, in 1680. He was married there January 3, 1683. to 
Martha, daughter of Hon. John Allyn. and granddaughter of Matthew 
Allyn. 

(IV) John, son of Aaron (3) and Martha (Allyn) Cook, was 
born December 23, 1696, in Hartford, and married Elizabeth Marsh. 

(V) Abigail, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Marsh) Cook,, 
was born June 29, 1729, in Hartford, and was married January 23, 
1 75 1, to Zacariah Pratt (see Pratt, VIII). 

(IV) Aaron Cook (4), son of Aaron (3) and Martha (Allyn) 
Cook, was born September 23, 1689, in Hartford, and married Hannah 
Wadsworth, daughter of W'illiam ^^'adsworth, who concealed the Char- 
ter of Connecticut in the historic " Charter Oak," when the English 
sovereign sought t(i take it away from the colony. Hannah (Wads- 
worth) Cook was burn in the same year as her husband. They set- 
tled in Harwinton. Litchfield county. Connecticut. 

(V) Aaron (5). son of Aaron and Hannah (Wadsworth) 
Conk, was linru Jul_\- 7. 1716. His wife's name was Charity. 

(VI) Lieutenant Jnseph Cook, son of Aaron (5) and Charity 
Cook, was born February 3. 1735. in Harwinton, and was lieutenant of 
militia in 1785. He married Lucretia Post, who was lx)m January 13, 
1739, in Hartford. He was a member of the general court in 1774-5, 
1 777-8-9-80- 1, 1783-4-5-6-7-8-9-90 and 1793-4. 

(VII) Nathan, son of Joseph and Lucretia (Post) Cook, was 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1053 

1)iirn March 19, 1777. in Harwinton, and married Abigail Beckwith, 
Avho was born June 12, 1775. in Southington, Connecticut. 

(VIII) Phineas Baldwin Cook, son of Nathan and Abigail (Beck- 
with) Cook, was born November 24, 1803, in Litchfield, Connecticut, 
and married Mary Burr Pratt, who was born September 18, 1807, in 
Hartford. She was a daughter of Harry Pratt (see Pratt, X) and his 
wife, Susan Cleveland and died December 30, 1901. Mr. Cook re- 
sided in Rochester, New York, and died February 7, 1887, in New 
York city. 

(IX) Julia Pratt Cook, daughter of Phineas B. and Mary B. 
(Pratt) Cook, was born June 18, 1838, in Rochester, and was married 
April 22, 1861, to William H. Hotchkin, as previously noted in this 
article. 

The Pratt family was prominent in the twelfth century in Eng- 
land, at which time the nam.e had many representatives in that king- 
dom. The first of the line descending to Walter B. Hotchkin of whom 
record is now found was Thomas Pratt of Baldock, Hertfordshire, 
England, who made his will February 5, 1539, and mentioned therein 
his wife Joan and children — Thomas. James and Agnes. 

(II) Andrew, son of Thomas Pratt, had children, Ellen, Will- 
iam and Richard. 

(III) William, son of Andrew Pratt, was baptized in October, 
1562, m Baldock, and died in 1629, at Stevenage, in Hertfordshire, 
where he had been rector of the parish for thirty years. His wife 
was named Elizabeth, and his children Sarah, Elizabeth, Richard, John, 
Alary and William. The second and third sons accompanied Rev. 
Thomas Hooker to Hartford, Cunnecticut, in 1636. and William re- 
moved to Saybrook in 1645. 

(IV) John, second son and fourth child of William and Eliza- 
beth Pratt, was baptized November 9, 1610, at Stevenage, England, 
and is supposed to have come to Massachusetts with Rev. Thomas 
Hooker's congregation. In 1634, he received a grant of land in New- 
town (now Cambridge), Massachusetts, and was made a freeman there 
in the same year. He sold his house there in 1635. and his name ap- 
pears on the list of proprietors of Hartford, Connecticut, in 1639, in 
which year he was elected a representative to the general court. He 
was an acti\e, prosperous and useful citizen, serving frequently on pub- 
lic committees, and was grand juror and constable. He was a carpen- 
ter by trade, but was occupied much of the time with public business. 



1U54 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

He owned three liouse lots, and Pratt street was cut through his prop- 
erty, thus deriving its name. His will, made Octol:>er 14. 1654. names 
his wife, Elizabeth, and children, John, Daniel and Hannah. 

(V) John, eldest child of John and Elizabeth Pratt, was born 
abciut iC)38 in Hartfurd. where he was made a freeman February 26, 
]()^6. He was constalile in 1660. 1669. 1678 and 1698. and from 1653 
to 1665 was otherwise active in town affairs. He married (first) Han- 
nah Boosev. who was born in 1641, a daughter of Lieutenant James 
and Alice Boosev of \\'ethersfield. She must have died soon, as his 
children were all born of the second wife. Hepsibah Wyatt, daughter 
of John Wvatt of Farmington. His will was executed April 19. 1689, 
and he died November 21,. of the same year. His widow was married 
■March 10, 1691. to John Sadd. She died December 20. 171 1. Her 
children were: Hannah. John. Elizabeth. Sarah, Joseph, Ruth, Susan- 
nah and Jonathan. 

(\'I) John, second child and eldest son of John and Hepsi- 
bah (Wyatt) Pratt, was born May 17, 1661. in Hartford, where he 
li\-ed and died. He served as selectman, constable, and in numerous 
public capacities. He married Hannah Sanford. daughter of Robert 
Sanford, whose parents were Robert and Anne (.Adams) Sanford, the 
last named being a daughter of Jeremy Adams of Hartford. Mr. Pratt's 
will was dated March 15. 1741. and was proliated exactly three years 
later. His children were: John. William. Hannah and Esther. 

( A'H) William, second son and third child of John and Hannah 
( Sanford) Pratt, was born in 1691 in Hartford, where his life was 
passed. Pie lived in front of the state house, and was elected constable 
in 1729. The principal duty of that office in his day was the collection 
of taxes and. in 1739. his house was broken into and his collections of 
one hundred and seventy-seven and one-half sovereigns carried off. He 
was buried January 19. 1753, in the Center churchyard, where his wid- 
ow was interred June 10, 1772. His first wife's name was Hilary (sup- 
posed to have been Cadwell). who died in February, 1727. His second 
wife. Amy Pinney, was born October 6. 1704. a daughter of Xathaniel 
T^inney and his wife. Martha Thrall, daughter of Timothy Thrall. 
Xathaniel Pinney was born ]\Iay 11. 1^71, and died January i. 17^)4. He 
was married September 21. i'^i93- His lirother. X'athaniel Pin- 
nev, was born in December, 1641, in ^^'indsor. Connecticut, 
and married Sarah, widow of Samuel Pheljis. and daughter of Ed- 
ward Griswold. He was a son of Nathaniel Pinnev, who came with 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1055 

Rev. Humphrey to America in 1630, in the ship " INIary and John." and 
settletl at Dorchester, Massachusetts. He married Mary HuU, a fel- 
low passenger. i\Ir. Pratt"s children, born of the first wife, were 
named: Mary, ]\Iabel. Zachariah; of the second wife, Hannah, Esther, 
W'illiam, Martha, Susannah and Joseph. 

(Vni) Zachariah. eldest son and third child of William and 
Marv Pratt, was baptized in the First Church at Hartford, February 
25, 1726. He was commissioned as ensign of the first militia company, 
or train band of Hartford in iNIay, 1772, and in 1784 was a member 
of the first court of common council of the city. His residence was on 
the west side of INIain street, on a lot purchased by John Pratt (of the 
fourth generation, an original proprietor of Hartford) from Governor 
Haynes. He was married January 23. 1751. to Abigail Cook, who was 
born June 29. 1729, in Hartford, daughter of John and Elizabeth 
(Marsh) Cook (see Cook, V). 

(IX) Captain James, son of Zachariah and Abigail (Cook) 
Pratt, was born October 19, 1753, in Hartford, and married Mary 
Burr, who was liorn January 20. 1754. in the same city. He was a 
soldier in the ReNolulinn, from Hartfi:rd. 

(X) Harry, son of Captain James and Mary (Burr) Pratt, was 
born June 9, 1778, in Hartford, and married Susan Cleveland of X^or- 
wich, who was born September 26, 1784. Their daughter. Mary Burr, 
became the wife of Phineas B. Cook, as hereinbefore related (see Cook, 
VUl). 

VIRGIL J. DEMARSE. foreman of the painting department 
of the \\'atert(nvn Carriage Company, was born in Kingston. Can- 
ada. May 10. 1846. His father. John Demarse. was born in 
Toronto, Canada, August 10, 1810, and was there reared and edu- 
cated. In 1844 he crossed the border to the ETnited States, locating 
in Norfolk, Connecticut, but later returned to Canada, where he en- 
gaged in farming until 1849, when lie came to Watertown. X"ew York, 
and entered the mill of E. H. Kimball, in which he was employed for 
ten years. He spent his remaining days in Watertown, passing away 
at the ad\-anced age of eighty-three. His wife. ?ilrs. ]\Iar}- Demarse, 
was born in Canada in 1809, and is now fixing at the age of ninety- 
four years, a remarkably well preserx-ed woman. She was a daughter 
of John and Mary Stewart: the former nf whom was born in 1779. 
His \\ife li\ed to the extreme old age of one hundred and seven vears. 



1056 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORV. 

dying in 1885. To Mr. and ilrs. Demarse were born twelve children, 
of whom three are living : Mrs. R. L. Harris, of Fort Leyden. New 
York ; Virgil J. and Mrs. W. J. McCutchney, of Watertown, with 
whom the mother is li\'ing. 

Virgil J. Demarse was brought to Watertown in his boyhood days, 
attended its public schools in his youth, and when he had finished his 
education began learning the carriage-painter's trade under the direc- 
tion of Harmon Scoville, with whom he worked as a journeyman for 
eleven years. He then went to Brownville, New York,, where he en- 
tered the employ of Wilder & Smith, having charge of their painting 
department for three years. In 1878 he was given charge of the paint- 
ing department of the Watertown Carriage Company, in which capac- 
ity he has since served. Employment is furnished to thirty-five work- 
men throughout the entire year, and at times the number is increased, 
and in this department the painting is done on four thousand carriages 
annuallv. ^Ir. Demarse's practical knowledge of the business enables 
him to so direct the labors of those who serve under him as to produce 
the best results for the company, and at the same time he is ever just 
and considerate of his employes. 

Mr. Demarse has been married twice. In 1868 he wedded Miss 
Addie Smith, who was born in Watertown in 1848, a daughter of 
Stewart Smith, who was born in 1819, and for many years served as 
deputy sheriff of Jefferson county, and died in Brownville. In the 
family were four children, but only two are living: Mrs. O. W. House 
and Mrs. Seth Hunter. Mrs. Demarse passed away at the age of twen- 
ty-nine years. She had four children, but three died in childhood. The 
other is Amelia, the w-ife of George Drew, an inspector in the shop of 
which ^Ir. Demarse is the head. They have two children, Blanche 
and Harlan B. In 1879 ]Mr. Demarse was married to California De 
Long, who was born in Watertown, in 1855. and is one of two chil- 
dren. Her mother is still living. 

Mr. Demarse gives his political allegiance to the Democratic party, 
and has served as inspector of elections. He belongs to Watertown 
Lodge, No. 291, I. O. O. F., and to the encampment; Crotonia Lodge, 
K. P. ; Cayuga Lodge, No. 185, I. O. R. M., and the Masonic fraternity. 
He has served as an officer of the tribe of Red Men and in the Odd Fel- 
lows societv, ha\ing been district deputy of the patriarchs militant of 
the uniformed rank of the Odd Fellows, and also a lieutenant. He. 
likewise belongs to the Carriage JNIakers' Mutual Aid Association. In 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1057 

his religious views he is liberal, liut the rules of his daily conduct are 
such as command for him respect and confidence among those with 
whom he is associated biith socially and in a business way. 

BAKER. This name had several representatives among the first 
settlers of Massachusetts, and has been prominently identified with the 
development of the colonies and the United States. Every state has 
citizens of the name, and they ha\e usually been fcjund of worthy and 
exemplary character. 

(I) John Baker came from England in the ship " Rose," and 
settled at Ipswich, Massachusetts, in 1C38. Edward and Francis Baker 
were also among the founders iif Massachusetts, the former locating on 
the south side of Baker's Hill, in that part of Lynn now Saugus, in 
1630. It is C|uite probable that John was a younger brother and came 
with or followed the others. The first record of him is found at Ips- 
wich in 1638. His wife's name was Elizabeth, and their children were 
Elizabeth, John, Thomas and Martha. 

(II) Thomas, second son and third child of John and Elizabeth 
Baker, married Priscilla, daughter of Hon. Samuel Symonds, of Ips- 
wich, then assistant and the following year deputy governor of Massa- 
chusetts Colony. Thomas Baker was lieutenant and later captain of 
militia. 

(III) John, son of Thomas and Priscilla (Symonds) Baker, 
was born January 6, 1691, in Topsfield, Massachusetts, and married 
]\Iarv Perley. He died at Ipswich, August i, 1734. leaving a widow 
and four children: John, Samuel, Thomas and Mary. 

(IV) John, son of John and Mary (Perley) Baker, born in Ips- 
wich, resided at jMarlilehead, Cape Ann and Andover, Massachusetts. 

(V) Jonathan, son of John Baker, lived for a short time in Tops- 
field, Massachusetts, whence he remo\-ed soon after his marriage (about 
1775) to Keene, New Hampshire. Three of his children are supposed 
to have been born there, and he soon removed to that part of old Gil- 
sum, New Hampshire, which is now the town of Sullivan. He was 
born June 15, 1749, at Cape Ann, Massachusetts, and died in Sullivan, 
October 13, 1833. He was married May 4, 1775, to Sarah Holt, who 
was born February 3, 1758. Their chililren were as follows: Betsey; 
.Sally, born .April 2^, 1778, married Thomas Powell; Jonathan, born 
August 15, 1779. died November 24. 1863, in Watertown ; Polly, born 
1781, died 1869; Phebe, 1784, married Joseph Smith and died at Hop- 



1058 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

kiiiton. New York, in 1880; Aaron, July 10, 1786, died 1849; Thomas, 
born April 30, 1788. in Sullivan, married .Xpril 27, 18 17, Betsey Tol- 
man, died February 10, 1841, in W^atertown, Xew York (see Tolman, 
Ebenezer ( Y) ; Rebecca and .\bigail. twins, Imrn Sullivan 1790. mar- 
ried Solomon Smith and Xye, respectively: ]\Iahala, 1792, 

married a Jiihnsim: George, 1794, married Eunice W'hittemore; Da- 
vid, 1796: William, 1797: Emerson, 1798-9; and Elijah, 1800. mar- 
ried Laura IMascjii. 

(Vlt Jonathan, eldest son and third child of Jonathan and 
Sarah (Holt) Baker, was born in 1779. as aliDve nuted, in Keene. Xew 
Hampshire, and his boyhood and youth were passed in Sullivan, the 
adjoining town, whither his parents removed soon after his birth. At 
the age of nineteen years Jonathan Baker set nut to make his own 
way in the world, and proceeded to the pro\ince of nuebec. By teach- 
ing and other emplovment he earned and sa\'ed a little money, and early 
in t8oo started for the "Black River Country.", On the thirteenth of 
Februar}- in that _\ear he arri\-ed in \\';itertown, then having three fam- 
ilies, and in the same year purchased the farm on which he made his 
home during his remaining years. It is located in the northeastern part 
of the present town of Watertown (which then included Rutland), and 
J\Ir. Baker cleared and developed a fine farm. He was inured to se- 
vere labor in earl_\' life and was never known to shirk any duty that 
devolved upon him. His farm bore e\ery evidence of diligent and in- 
telligent culture, rmd he was respected wherever known, A kind neigh- 
bor and friend, he was ever liberal in support of progressive public and 
private enterprise, but had the utmost contempt for the idler. As a 
result of his industry and economv he became independent, and, while 
prompt in meeting his oliligations. was lenient with his debtors and was 
ne\'er party to a suit at law. He was a volunteer soldier in the war 
of i8i_'. and served with his neighbors at the battle of Sackets Har- 
bor. .\lwa}s a good citizen, he appreciated his responsibilities and 
\Tited at every town meeting and general election during sixty-two con- 
secutive }-ears, and died November 24, 1863. 

Mr. Baker was married February 26, 1807, to Dorcas Fellows, 
who was born Se])tember 2. 1787, in Deerfield or Shelliurne, Massa- 
chusetts, and died August 24, 1877. The_\- were the ])arents of six chil- 
dren, noted as follows: i. George \\'., born November 5, 1809, and 
died Feliruary 28, 1S38. 2. Dajibne, Imrn Ma\' 3 i, 1812, married Elisha 
Wakefield, and had a daughter, Lucia. ^. h'ranklin, liorn Julv > 1816, 






W- 






w 




Jk^lm-^- 






"'" 


^k ^ i^aj 






Ife 




wu 






1 


1 



HART V. BAKER 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1059 

died in 1879. He niarrietl S(.iphia \\ ebber. of Boston, and had a son, 
F"rank, who now resides near Benton Harbor, Michigan. 4. Hart \'ol- 
ney, mentioned at length below. 5. John Leonard receives extended 
mention in suljsequent paragraphs, d. Caroline Amelia was Iiorn De- 
cember IQ. 1829, and l)ecame the wife of Jackson Woodruff. Their 
chiklren are Caroline and George. The latter resides at Stor_\' City, 
Iowa, and the former is the wife of George C. Ball, of Chicago. 

Dorcas Fellows was a daughter of \\'illis Fellriws and his wife 
Sarah Hart. Willis Fellows was born October 5, 1758, a son of Sam- 
uel and Eunice Fell<iws. Another son, John Fellows, was a captain 
in the RcAolutionarv armv, and was jjresent at the battle of Stillwater 
and the surrender of Burgoyne. \\'illis Fellows built a gristmill at 
Shelburne, Massachusetts, and his son, Le\-i Fellows, erected the first 
frame building in Cincinnati, Ohio, Samuel Fellows was a member of 
the third Provincial congress and of the first Continental congress, 

(A^H) Hart V'olney Baker, third son and fourth child of Jon- 
athan and Dorcas (Fellows) Baker, was born September 28, 1821. on 
the paternal homestead in W'atertown, and received his education in 
the public school of his home district. He remained with his father 
until of age and then made a trip to the west, spending about a ^•ear 
in Chicago. Subsequent to this he made a voyage at sea in the codfish- 
ing industry. After this experience he decided to engage in farming, 
and returned to his native place and took charge of the home farm. 
Here he passed the rest of his days, and was known as one of the most 
progressive and successful of his class. He affiliated some years with 
the Republican party, but, believing in the prohibition of the liquor traf- 
fic, he voted according to his convictions and was a staunch supporter 
of the Prohibition party through all his later }-ears. He exemplified his 
principles in his daily life, and furnished a most worthy example for 
emulation. He passed away July 11, IQ03, and his departure was wide- 
ly mourned. 

He was married March i, 1858, to Adelia S. Burnham, daughter 
of the late Stephen and Maria (Webber) Burnham (see Burnham. VI). 
One child came to Mr. and Mrs. Baker. December 15, 1870, and was 
named Carrie Dorcas. She was married August 4, 1888, to Herbert 
Stanley Miller, and died December 17. 1892. 

Mr. Baker was a man of sterling qualities and great strength of 
character, was influential in his town, esteemed by his associates, and 
respected by a wide circle of acquaintance. He is survived by his wife, 



1060 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

a most estimable woman, who has been a worthy helpmate of her noble 
husband, whose memory she reveres and honors. She resides at the 
old homestead, where years of congenial associations have gladdened 
her heart, and whose memories will ever be a cheer and comfort. 

(VI ) Thomas, third son and seventh child of Jonathan and Sarah 
(Holt) Baker, was born in 178S, as before noted, in Sullivan, New 
Hampshire, where he grew to manhood. His education was such as 
the common schools of his generation afforded, and he w-as bred in 
habits of industry and self-reliance such as was characteristic of his 
forbears. He was married April 27, 1817, to Betsey Tolman, born in 
the neighboring town of Marlboro, New Hampshire, a daughter of 
Ebenezer Tolman (see Tolman, V). In company with two of his wife's 
brothers and a sister he came to the town of Watertown in 1-817, and 
located on land in the Sandy Creek valley, in the southern part of the 
town. Here he cleared up land and engaged in agriculture until his 
death, which occurred in 1841. His was one of the finest farms in the 
town, and is now owned and occu.pied by his grandson. He pos- 
sessed the requisite qualities of a pioneer — determination, perseverance 
and industry — and he did no small part in establishing civilization in 
the wilderness. His wife was a woman of courage and fortitude, and 
was his aid in making a home, a fit companion for the hardy pioneer. 
She was a scion of one of the strong old New England families, a 
daughter of a revolutionary hero who bore many hardships and expos- 
iu"es in tlie defense of his countrv in time of war. Their children 
were: ^^'ilIiam Clark, Orson M., George, Ely Collins, Nancy and 
Mary. All are deceased except Orson M., who resides in Clark, Clark 
county. North Dakota. 

(VII) John Leonard Baker, fourth son and fifth child of Jona- 
than and Dorcas (Fellows) Baker, was born November 26, 1824, on 
the homestead, located in the eastern part of the town of Watertown. 
He remained on the home farm until 1844, receiving such education 
as the local school supplied. In May following the completion of his 
nineteenth year, he engaged as clerk at four dollars per month, in the 
old Franklin House, which occupied part of the present site of the 
Woodruff House, east of tlie archway. On accoimt of failing health 
he set out [March 20, 1845, ^'^^ the seacoast to enter upon a sea voyage. 
Reaching Marblehead he was employed on the fishing boat " Beverly," 
of one hundred tons, and sailed August 11. He continued on a 
voyage of one hundred and twenty days, fishing for cod, after which 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 10«1 

he returned to his native place and was employed for some time as 
clerk in the dry goods store of Truman Keeler. In 1849 he joined 
Jackson F. Woodruff in buying out the grocery Ixisiness of Gill^ert 
Woodruff, at No. 5, Exchange Block. On May 13 of that year they 
were Ijurned out. and moved the store to the basement of the Paddock 
Block. In August. 1832, Mr. Baker sold his interest to his jiartner 
and joined his former employer, Truman Keeler, with whom he cim- 
tinued one year under the style of Keeler & Baker. They opened an 
auction store at the corner of Franklin street and the public scjuare, 
and Mr. Baker sold out to his partner in 1853. He made a trip to the 
west with a view of locating" in business, but decided to return to 
Watertown, and took the position of foreman for J. Ball & Company, 
in trenching for the waterworks of the city of Watertown. In 1854 
he was superintendent of construction on the waterworks of Jersey 
City, and in the next year took the contract for construction of water- 
works for Pittsfield; Massachusetts. On June 6. 1856, he was elected 
water commissioner for the city of Watertown, and continued in that 
position five years and se\en montlis. In i860 he executed the con- 
struction of a pumiiing main from Beebe"s Island to William street, 
under contract. 

In 1 86 1 Mr. Baker opened a ticket and insurance office in W^ater- 
town. and in the following year bought out McComb & Chittenden, 
manufacturers of cigars and dealers in hunting and fishing goods. In 
May, 1863. he was joined by Thomas Chittenden as partner. In the 
same year yir. Baker was made a director of the Jefiferson Counts- 
Savings Bank, and in 1864 was appointed under-sheriff by Sheriff' 
Nathan Strong. He continued to serve in that capacity under two 
successors, James Johnson and A. W. Wheelock. In March, 1872. 
he was elected director and vice-president of the Black River Insurance 
Company, and in 1873 was again appointed under-sheriff by George 
Babbitt. His partnership with Chittenden was dissolved in 1879, the 
ticket and insurance business being retained by Mr. Baker, who admit- 
ted to partnership his' son, Frank L., and they continued the establish- 
ment at No. 3 Arcade, until the death of the father, which occurred 
April 12, 1883. From its organization Mr. Baker was a strong sup- 
porter of the Republican party. He was a member of the ]\Iasonic 
order, holding the rank of Knight Templar. 

]\Ir. Baker was married October 4, 1848, to Cornelia Lydia Hew- 
itt, daughter of David and Elsie (Goodah) Hewitt. She was Imrn 



1062 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

Octoliei 12. 1 825, in the town i>f Denmark, Lewis cnunty, and died 
June 2J. 1875, in Watertown. She was the mother of a son and two 
daughters, mentioned as follows: Anna Enielia, horn Alarch 15, 
1851. resides in W'aterown. Franklin L., January 13, 1853. Alice 
Martha, November 26, 1862, resides with her sister in Watertown. 

(VIII) Franklin Leonard Baker, only son and second child of 
John L. and Cornelia L. (Hewitt) Baker, was horn in the city of 
Watertown. and educated in its puljlic scho(ils and at Hope College, 
Holland, Michigan. His first important employment was in the 
capacity of civil engineer hv the Sackets Harlior & W'atertown rail- 
road Company. In 1885 he organized the Watertown Electric Light 
Company, of which he was treasurer. Suhsecjuently, in company with 
DeW^itt C. Middleton, he purchased the plant, and they continued the 
business until the death of Mr. Baker, October 28, 1895. He was 
previously associated ^^■ith his father in business, as hereinbefore noted. 
Mr. Baker bore his part as a citizen in social and military circles as 
well as along business lines. He was a member of the Union Club, 
and a volunteer fire company, and enlisted in 1875 in Company C, 
Tbiry-fifth Battalion of the Xew York National Guard, now known 
as the Tbirtv-Ninth Se]:iarate Comjiany. in which he was first ser- 
geant. 

]\Ir. Baker was married June 26, 1878, to Aliss Jennie K. Buck, of 
Pi^irt B}ron, Xew York. They had <^ne son, Daniel Howland, born 
April 17, 1879. and died August 7, 1887. 

MICHAEL J. FOLEY. If faithfulness, enterprise and business 
ability are sufficient to insure success, few men seem more likely to 
acbie\'e that end than does Michael J. Foley, of Watertowm. He is a 
son of ,\ndrew Eole}-, who was born in ^larch. 1830, in Ireland, where 
he was educated and learned his trade, applying himself to its accjuire- 
ment during the school \acations. In the autumn of 18^17 he sailed 
with his family for the United States, and on his arrival settled in 
Brown\ille, Xew York. Lie married Catharine Kernan, a native of 
Ireland, liy wdiom be was the father of nine children, of whom are liv- 
ing: Bridget, who married John Burnes, of Hartford, Connecticut; 
Anna, who Ijecame the wife of Mr. ]\lcMann. of the same place; May, 
who married Patrick Clement; Andrew; Catharine; Michael J., men- 
tioned at length hereinafter. ?ilrs. Foley, the mother of these children, 
died at the age of sixtv-fi\e. and her bu.'^band at the time of his death 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1063 

was sixt\'-eiglit }'ears old. Bdth possessed the sincere respect and cur- 
dial regard nt their friends and neighl.xirs. 

Michael J. Folev, son of An(h"e\v and Catliarine (Kernan) Foley, 
was born October 22. 1S66, in Ireland, and was an infant when brought 
bv his parents to the United States. His boyhood and youth were 
spent in Brookside. Connecticut, where he obtained his education and 
learned the papermaker's trade. As a boy he entered a mill where, by 
dint of steadiness and industry, he gradually worked his way up. At 
the age of twenty he went to Middle Falls, New York, whence at the 
end of a year he remmed to Malone, and later came to Watertown, 
where he worked for a time. Tn 18S7 he went to Stocktnn, Califcirnia, 
wh.ere he was employed in a paijer-mill. His next removal was to Ore- 
gon, and thence he went td the state of Washington, where he remained 
seven vears. After returning to California he recriisserl the continent 
and found himself in Rumforcrs F'alls, Maine. He worked for a time 
as foreman at Pentield, Xew York, as assistant superintendent in Den- 
ver, Colorado, and then as superintendent, a position he retained for 
three years, and in 190J, after his many migrations, once more returned 
to Jefferson county. Flere he accepted the position of superintendent 
of tlie mill of the Dexter Sulphite Pulp and Paper Company, which is 
the largest mill now manufacturing that grade of paper, and gives em- 
ploynient to eighty men. Tn addition to his ability as a manager, Mr. 
Foley has the great advantage of being a superior workman, having a 
thorough knowdedge of every detail of the business. He is a member 
of the T. O. H. of \\''atertown and of the Alaccabees. in which he is 
past commander and now holds the (iffice of treasurer. He is trustee 
and court deputy of Alexandria Bay. His ]iolitical principles are those 
advocated and upheld by the Democratic party. 

Mr. Foley married in 1887, Emma, born in 1868, in New York 
cit)', one of the twelve children of Josq^h Lynch, a successful merchant 
of Watertown. Mr. and Mrs. Foley are the parents of four children, 
three sons and one daughter : Frank ; Michael : Catharine, who bears 
the name of her grandmother; and .\ndrew, who was named in memory 
of his Internal grandfather. 

\\'ILLI.\]\I NORWOOD. To few residents of Jefferson county 
is the advancement of the paper-making industry more indebted tlian 
to William N(irwood, of ("den Park. He is a son of Thomas Norwood, 
who was born in 18^0, in Ireland, whence he emigrated to Canada. 



1064 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

where he owned and culti\-ated a large farm. He married Anna John- 
son, wlio was born in 1835. in Canada, and they were the parents of 
seven children, five of whom are hving: Maggie, who married Fred- 
erick Cross, of Brownville; William, mentioned at length hereinafter; 
John, James, and Frederick, all of whom are residents of this town. 
Mr. Norwood, the father, spent his last days in Oswego county. New 
York, where he died at the age of sixty-two. having always borne the 
reputation of an honest man and a good citizen. His widow, who is 
still living, resides in this town. 

William Norwood, son of Thomas and Anna (Johnson) Nor- 
wood, was born April 27, 1866. in Canada, and received his education 
in Oswego county. New York, where he afterward learned the paper- 
maker's trade and for a time practiced it. Later he came to Glen Park, 
where he found employment in one of the mills of the International Pa- 
per Company. His first position was that of foreman of the machine 
room, from which he was promoted in 1898 to the office of superintend- 
ent of the mill. In 1901 he was given the superintendence of another 
mill, this additional responsibility involving the direction of about two 
hundred and fifty men. The two mills under the charge of Mr. Nor- 
wood are in all respects among the finest in this vicinity, and their flour- 
ishing condition is due in no small measure to the ability and industry 
of the superintendent. 

Mr. Norwood married in 1893. Lena, who was born in 1870. in 
this town, daughter nf Seth Satamore. a machinist. I\Ir. and Mrs. 
Norwood are the parents of two sons. Holly and Merrill. 

COPLEY. This is one of the oldest and most honored names in 
America, and has had creditable representatives in every generation. 
It is conspicuous in the pioneer annals of Lewis and Jefferson counties, 
this state, and those of the name and their connections are still active 
in the business affairs of the county. The most conspicuous individual 
of the name in American history is probably John Singleton Copley, 
the noted portrait painter. He left no male posterity. Daniel Copley 
was another talented painter, much of whose work is still extant. 

(I) Thomas Copley, of Springfield, Massachusetts, appears to 
have been the first male of his race to come to America. His mother, 
a widow, was married in 1650 to Nathan Phelps, of \\''indsor. Con- 
necticut, and removed to Northampton, Massachusetts, whither Thomas 
Copley accompanied her. The latter was a resident of Springfield in 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1065 

1672. He married at Westfield. November 15, 1672. Ruth Denslow, 
and removed to Suffleld. Connecticut, in 1679. A few years later he 
went to Northampton. IVIassachusetts. where he died Novemlier 29, 1712. 
His wife. Ruth, died October 5, 1692, and he married. May 25, 1693, 
Ruth Taylor, who died November 3. 1724. Mr. Copley was selectman 
and constable at Suffield as late as 1686-8, and surveyor of highways 
in 1689. His children were: Matthew (died an infant). Thomas, 
Matthew, and Samuel. 

(H) Matthew, third son of Thomas and Ruth (Denslow) Cop- 
ley, was born April 14. 1679. probably in Springfield, and was married 
February 20. 1702. to Hannah Huxley, of Suffield. He died February 
18, 1763. His children were: Nathaniel. Matthew, Thomas, Hannah, 
Thomas (2), Moses, Noah (died young), Sarah, Elizabeth and Noah. 

(HI) Noah, youngest child of Matthew and Hannah (Huxley) 
Copley, was born November 28, 1721, probably in Sufiield. He was 
still living in 1783, in his sixty-second year, at Springfield, where most 
of his life was passed. 

(IV) William Coplev. born in Springfield, served in the Amer- 
ican navv during the Revolution, on the ship Trumbull. He settled 
earh- in life on the border between Hancock. Massachusetts, and Leb- 
anon, Columbia county, this state. He was married in Hancock. 
March 3. 1785, to Hannah Hand, who was born May 19. 1767, in 
Lebanon. Her father was a most remarkable man, of much ability as 
a financier, and exercised great influence upon the subsequent history 
of the Copley family in this line. The Hand family is. like that of 
Coplev. an old one in America, and its history' is briefly told herewith: 

(I) Tohn Hand, of Stanstede. County Kent. England, came early 
to Massachusetts, and is found of record on the whaling list in 1644. 
Like the Copley family he had a coat-of-arms. He married Alice, sister 
of Josiah Stanbrough. and died in 1663. 

(H) Joseph, son of John and Alice Hand, was born in 1638. 
and died in January. 1724. He was' married in 1664 to Jane, daughter 
of Benjamin and Jane \A^right. of Killingworth. Connecticut, which indi- 
cates his place of residence. 

(HI) Stephen, son of Joseph and Jane Hand, was born in 1673-6. 
and died in 1755. in Guilford. Connecticut. He was married November 
6. 1700. to Sarah Wright. 

(IV) Joseph, son of Stephen and Sarah Hand, was born January 



1066 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

lo, 1703. and was married in 1731, to Hannah, daughter of Nathaniel 
Hollabird. 

(V) Samuel, sun of Joseph and Hannah ( Hollaliird ) Hand, was 
born in 173O. and married ^Nlary Slooper. He settled in the town of 
Lebanon. Columbia county, this state, and was among the most prom- 
inent and successful citizens of that town. His children were: Mary, 
Samuel and Hannah. The last named became the wife of William 
Copley, as above noted. 

William Copley was a pioneer in the town of Denmark. Lewis 
county, and was nicely started in making a home when he was killed 
on the highway by a falling ti'ee, June 18, 1818. His wife survived him 
many years, passing away April 2C, 1853, i" Parish, Oswego county. 
(V) Alexander, son of William and Hannah (Hand) Copley, was 
born September 10, 1805, in Denmark, Lewis county, and was near the 
close of his thirteenth year wdien death robbed him of his father. He 
subsequently spent four years with his maternal grandfather in New 
Lebanon, and his life was largely influenced by this association. The 
aid received from his grandfather later in life enabled him to carry on 
extensive operations in business. He first demonstrated his independ- 
ence of spirit and executive ability, sagacity and industry, and he be- 
came the most extensive landholder in Jefiferson county. His charities 
were numerous but never ostentatious. His education was obtaiped in 
the common schools of the day and at Lowville Academy, wherein he 
paid his own way by serving as janitor of the building. At an early age 
he became a clei-k in the store of William K. Butterfield, at Felt's Mills, 
but soon changed to the store of Jason Francis, at the same place, later 
entered into partnership with his employer, wdiom he subsequently 
bought out, and finally disposed of the business to Francis & Butterfield. 
He was also associated with John Felt and William Coburn in the lum- 
ber business, and after contmuing this connection for three years his at- 
tention was called to a tract of over four hundred acres of woodland for 
sale in the town of Lyme, owned by parties in New York city. This he 
purchased with the money w^hich had been intended to renew his stock 
of mercantile goods, and before spring came he had thirty acres of his 
pine forest cleared. The following summer he purchased two thousand 
five hundred and sixty-two acres of the Vincent Le Ray lands in Lyme. 
He then moved to Chaumont, purchasing a house, store, saw and grist 
mill of William Clark, making that his subsequent home. Three years 
later he purchased a large tract of sixteen thousand nine hundred and 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1067 

sixty-one acres of Gouverneiir Morris, these lands being located in the 
towns of Clayton, Brownville and Lyme, and later in life he added to 
his purchases ten thousand acres in the town of Antwerp, making in all 
thirty-five thousand acres. This large property was successfully man- 
aged, and greatly increased in value as the county became settled. In ad- 
dition to the management of this vast property he dealt in lumber, grain, 
stone from the quarries, conducted a store, engaged in the building of 
vessels, and was a director of the National Union Bank, of Watertown, 
which adopted the following resolutions at the time of his death : 

"Whereas, Alexander Copley, one of the directors of this bank, 
and one of the foremost citizens of our county, has, in tlie maturity of 
his manhood and in the midst of his usefulness^ been suddenly removed 
by death, therefore 

"Resolved, That in the death of Alexander Copley we ha\e lost a 
vakied associate and friend — this mstitution has lost one of its ablest 
and safest officers and advisors, and the community in which he lived a 
useful, high-minded and honorable man, whose place in society and busi- 
ness will not be readily filled." 

He was averse to political life or official position, liut during the 
years 1843-4S-51 served the town of Lyme in the capacity of super- 
visor. He was a warm supporter of the temperance cause, and was in- 
terested in the spread of education and religion, contributing liberally to 
the support of both. He was a thoughtful reader of Shakespeare, and 
also of the Bible, and a believer in its precepts. Abstemious in habits, 
he set a worthy example for the emulation of the young. A Whig in 
early life, he was among the founders of the Republican party. 

Mr. Copley passed away February 5, 187 1, in his sixty-sixth year, 
and v;as sincerely mourned by many of his contemporaries. While he 
had not much patience with the idle and dissolute, he was ever helpful 
to those who tried to help themselves, and many oweil a start in life to 
his kind consideration and extension of credit. 

He was married, October 30, 1833, to Lucy Kelsey, a native nt 
Champion, this county, daughter of Charles Kelsey, a pioneer of that 
town. Mrs. Copley vvas born June S, 1815, and survived her husband 
twenty-five years, passmg away May 15, 1896. They were survived 
by four sons — Hiram, DeWitt, Alexander and Eugene, and a daughter, 
Maria. The third child, who was drowned June 27, 1841, was born 
April 6, 1840. The youngest died in Antwerp, February 20, 1889, aged 
forty-two years. Fie was born January 25, 1847, 'i"'-! was a farmer and 
lumber manufacturer. He also dealt in flour and feed, in partnership 



106S GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

with his brother, Aiexanf:ler. The eldest is a. resident of Chaumont. and 
the second Hves at Seneca Falls, New York. 

(VI) Alexander, third son of Alexander and Lucj- (Kelsey) Cop- 
ley, was bom January 14, 1844, in Chaumont, and has proved an emu- 
lative son, engaging extensively in farming and lumbering. He at- 
tended school at Gouverneur, Lowville, and at Ives Seminary, Antwerp. 
At the age of eighteen years he left school and has since been engaged 
continuously in business. At first he was associated wath his father and 
brothers, later with his younger brother, until the death of the latter, and 
for some years has operated independently. He is now the owner of 
several farms, well stocked with cattle, and tilled by tenants. His pres- 
ent saw mill, built in 1891, is the third on the same site, located alx>ut 
two miles above Antwerp, on the Indian river, and he is the owner of the 
original tract purchased by his father, who built the first mill. In 1904 
his output amounted to about two million feet of lumber, marketed chiefly 
at Ogdensburg, Watertown, Cape Vincent and Clayton. For over thirty- 
five years he operated the grist mill at Sterlingburg, and did a general 
flour and feed business, selling out in 1903. He endeavors to improve 
the stock on his farms, and is now experimenting with Jersey, Holstein 
and Ayrshire grade cows. 

In other than business ways, Mr. Copley obser\es the precepts and 
practice of his honored father. He accepts the faith and is a liberal sup- 
porter of the Congregational church, and is a living example of the happy 
effects of temperance in all things. Having an abiding faith in the polit- 
ical principles of the Republican party, he has ever been a sturdy sup- 
porter of those principles. With no desire for public station, he has 
acted many years as a trustee of the village of Antwerp, in response to 
the demands of his fellow citizens and his sense of duty. 

He was married, August 26, 1863, to Miss Eva (christened Eva- 
line") Shepard, a daughter of Edwan James and Selina (Keerre) Shepard, 
of the town of Lyme, where she was born August 26, 1846. She died 
April I, 1873, and Mr. Copley was married June 18, 1874, to Lettie 
(christened Celestine), a sister of his first wife. Two of the four children 
of Mr. Copley died in early childhood. The living are Harriet Eva and 
Irene Shepard, the former being the child of Eva (Shepard) Copley. 

The Shepard family is among those early planted in Massachusetts. 
Thomas Shepard, a native of New Marlborough, Massachusetts, came 
to Lewis county, this state, between 1800 and 1807. His wife was Marj; 
Baldwin. Thev settled in the town of Denmark, at the \-iIlage of Co- 



^ar fSS^ 









GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. lOOD 

penhageii. Their son, Amos, with his wife, Phebe Heady, removed from 
Copenhsgen to the town of Lyme, in this county, after the war of 1812, 
in which he served as a soldier. His son, Edwin J., was born February 
21, 1813, in Denmark. The latter's wife, Sehna, was born August 16, 
1S21, in Brownville. Her father. Captain Wilham Keene, was born 
December 21, 1798, in Chesterfield, Massachusetts, where his wife, Lu- 
cinda Whiton, was born October 10, 1796. 

(VI) Hiram Copley, eldest ?on of Alexander and Lucy (Kel- 
sev) Copley, was born in May, 1834, in Chaumont, where his life has 
been chiefly spent. His education was completed at Rensselaer Poly- 
technic Institute, at Troy, New York, where he spent two years. He 
was associated with his father in business at Chaumont, and purchased 
the business from his father in 1871. He continued it many years, and 
is now retired. He has never sought or accepted any political station, 
but is an active Republican, taking prominent part in the local councils 
of his party. He built a chapel at Chaumont and was largely instru- 
mental in the completion of the Presbyterian church there, though not 
a member. 

Mr. Copley married Miss Mary Enos, a native of Depauville, 
daughter of Gavlord and Camline Alinerva (Sperry) Enos of that vil- 
lage. Eollowing is a brief account of their children : Two daughters 
died in infancy. Allen E. was engaged in business at Chaumont, where 
he died in 1903. Caroline W. is the widow of Edwin C. Wemple, re- 
siding in Brooklyn, New York. George \\'. resides in the same city. 
Lucille is the widow of John V. Clarke (see Clarke, VIII), and resides 
at White Plains, where her sister, Marjorie R., also lives. The latter 
was the wife of lames O'Conuiir, now deceased. 

PATRICK B. CANTWELL, one of the enterprising and well 
known farmers. of Clayton, Jefferson county. New York, is of the 
fourth generation of his family to occupy the land he now owns. He 
has improved and added to the ancestral acres, and his farm is one of 
the largest and best cultivated in his locality. He sustains the fam.ily 
reputation for thrift, and upholds the integrity and good repute of the 
name. 

His great-grandfather, Patrick J., was born in Ireland in 1760, 
and came to America when a boy of fifteen. He worked on a farm, 
and the first one hundred dollars that he saved from his small earn- 
ings were paid in on the farm wdiich he afterward cleared of debt, and 



1070 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

which lias since been in possession of his descendants. He was snc- 
ceede(.l by his son Patrick, born in Clayton in 1790, who carried on tb.e 
farm dnring his hfetinie. He was an energetic farmer and a good citi- 
zen, possessed of the \\arm heart and genial hunmr of his race. His 
wife was Elizabeth Foley, born in 1795. and five children were born 
of the marriage, two sons and three daughters. 

Of the children of Patrick and Elizabeth (Foley) Cantwell, John 
O., l)orn in 18^3. came into possession of the homestead. He was al- 
ways handicapped by frail health, and thi:nigh an intelligent manager he 
was unable himself to do any heavy work. He was a staunch friend 
and a helpful neighbor, and stood for the best in local citizenship. He 
married Ella Barney, born in 1830, and became the father of two chil- 
dren, of whom only Patrick B., whose name appears at the heading of 
tliis article, is living. The son, orphaned at the age of three years, was 
brought up under the care tif his grandfather and of his aunt, Airs. De- 
laney of Clapton. 

Patrick B. Cantwell was liorn on the old homestead in Clayton, 
October 3, 1865, and received his education in the village of Clayton. 
The farm represented more to him than the means of a livelihood; it 
embodied the best thought and the strenuous labor of his forefathers, 
and he early determined to continue it as a family homestead, and to • 
lea\e on the place the impress of his own effort. By careful manage- 
ment he has been enabled to add to the original holding of ninety-six 
acres until he now has a farm of two hundred and twenty acres of well- 
tilled land. He maintains an interest in the public affairs of the town- 
ship, and has been elected to the collectorship. He is a memlier of the 
Independent Order of Foresters, and is a member of the Patrons of 
Husbandr}-. 

He married, February 27, 1886, Florence McCann, a daughter of 
Michael and Clarissa (AIcNeal) McCann. Her father died in 1895, 
and her mother is now living in Minnesota. Nine children have been 
horn to Patrick B. and Florence (McCann) Cantwell, namely: John 
M., born March 2'/. 1887: Frank: Lucy, deceased: Carl, \\'illiam, Ruth, 
Ella, Robert and Laurence. 

WILLIAM J. I'ATCH, secretary and a memljer of the bdard of 
directors of the Otis Brooks Lumber Company of Clayton, New \ork, 
one of the pmminent industrial enterprises of that city, is a representa- 
tive citizen, and has always labored to advance the l)est interests of 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. H>71 

the comniunitv in which he has since resided during his entire hfetime. 
He was Iiorn in Cla_\-tnn. Jeffersnn count}-. New York, March i6, 1872. 

The pioneer ancestor of the family on the paternal side was a na- 
tive of Yarmouth. England, whence he emigrated at the end of the 
eighteenth century to Vermont, where he made his home and where 
some of his descendants still reside. 

Ephraim Patch, son of the emigrant ancestor, was horn Fehruary 
12. 1785, in Vermont. He was a farmer and a pioneer, heing one of 
the first to settle in tlie northern jiart of the state. He made his home 
near Hyde Park, where he was the owner of a large tract of land, 
which he cleared and cultiwated. He married Sarah Cram, who was 
born in Vermont. .Vugust 8. 1789. The family to which she belonged 
was a numerous one. but the records regarding it are meagre. Mr. 
and Mrs. Patch were the parents of the following children: Thomas, 
Leiand, Ephraim. Jr.. Joseph. Asa. Betsy. Huldah. Lydia. Hannah, 
Lucinda, and William, mentioned at length hereinafter. 

William Patch, son of Ephraim and Sarah (Cram) Patch, was 
born May 19. 181 1, in Johnson. Vermont. He received his education 
in Ware, New Hampshire, where he passed his early life as a farmer. 
He afterward moved his family to Depauviile, New York, to a farm 
now owned by Prescott Patch. He married, in 1832. Elizabeth, born 
in 1803. in New Boston. New Hampshire, daughter of Thomas Gid- 
dings, a merchant of that place, and the father of a large family. The 
following children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Patch: i. Salomie, 
born December 18, 1837, became the wife of George Haas; he is now 
deceased, and she resides with Prescott Patch, her brother. They were 
the parents of two sons, one of whom died in infancy, and the other, 
Charles, married Eliza Houghton, and now resides at Alexandria Bay. 
2. John, born May 5. 1840, in Ware. New Hampshire, was six years 
old when his parents came to Depau\'ille, where he obtained his edu- 
cation in the common schools, and he is now a \'ery successful farmer 
and the possessor of a desirable home in the center of the \'illage. He 
married Jane, born Januar_\- 25. 1843. daughter of John and Alice 
(Bichford) Somers. who were the i)arents of nine chiklren. only three 
of whom, including Mrs. Patcli. are now living, the two others being 
William, born in Brockville. Can.ada. married Mary Ransom; and Eliza, 
born in Junetown. Canada, married Thomas Franklin. John and Jane 
(Somers) Patch have three children living: Edna. l)orn December 14. 
1870. married (first) Charles Dewey, and they were the parents of 



1072 GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY, 

one child, Harriette; Edna was left a widow, and married (second) 
Charles Norton, of Depauville; Minnie, born December 19. 1881, was 
educated in the common schools, and is now a clerk in the store of Wal- 
ton & Potter, of Depauville; Adelaide, born February 9. 1883, received 
primary education in the common schools, graduated in 1901 from 
Clayton Academy, went through the training class, taught for two 
years, and is now taking a higher ci:)urse in Potsdam (New York) 
Normal School. 3. Allen, mentioned hereinafter. 4. Prescott, born 
March 12, 1844. married, March 7. 1871. Olive C. Bent, of Depauville. 
A sketch of Prescott Patch appears elsewhere in this work. William 
Patch, father of these children, died March 5. 1888. aged seventy-seven 
years, and his wife passed away in the seventy-first year of her age. 
Mr. Patch and his wife held membership in the Baptist church of De- 
pauville, New York. 

Allen Patch, second son of William and Elizabeth (Giddings) 
Patch, was born in Ware, New Hampshire, Alay 17, 1842. During 
his early childhood his parents removed to New York state, and his edu- 
cation was acquired in the common schools of Depauville. Being 
reared upon a farm he naturally chose that occupation for his life work, 
which was on the whole successful and remunerative owing to his 
energy, enterprise and perseverance. He conducted a general line of 
farming operations on a tract of land four miles from the town of 
Clayton, and in this section of the state he continued to reside for the 
remainder of his days. He was a director in the National Exchange 
Bank, and the incumbent of several important local offices, the duties 
of which he performed in a highly creditable and efificient manner. Mr. 
Patch was united in marriage to Saphronia Gloyd, born in Clayton, 
New York. December 22. 1843, ^ daughter of James D. and Lucinda 
(Rogers) Gloyd, and three children Avere born of this union. William 
J., Bertha and Salome. The family held membership in the Baptist 
church, Mr. Patch serving in the capacity of deacon and member of 
the committee that was appointed to superintend the erection of the 
new church. Mr. Patch died September 30, 1901, aged fifty-nine years; 
he was survived by his wife, who is now residing with her daughter. 
James D. Gloyd, father of Mrs. Patch, was a native of Vermont, be- 
came one of the pioneer settlers of New York state, spent his life on a 
farm, and died at the age of seventy-five years. His wife, Lucinda 
(Rogers) Gloyd, was born September 22. 1809, in Massachusetts, was 
a member of the Baptist church, and died at the age of seventy-five 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 1073 

years. They were the pr.rents of one chikl, Saphronia Gloyd, who be- 
came the wife of Allen Patch. 

The educati(_inal advantages enjoyed hy William J. Patch, only 
son of Allen and Saphronia (Gloj'd) Patch, were obtained at the high 
school of Clayton and the Rochester Business College, entering the lat- 
ter named institution at the age of eighteen. For a number of years 
following his graduation he served as teacher in the schools of Clay- 
ton and Brow-nville. after wdiich he accepted a position as bookkeeper 
in the ofifice of Strough and Brooks, Clayton, Xew Yurk, remaining in 
their employ for three A'cars, from 1895 to 1898. He then removed to 
jMassena, St. Lawrence county. New York, in order to enter the serv- 
ice of the firm of The T. A. Gillespie Companv, contractors, and after 
a period of three years, during which time he assumed ct.miplete control 
of the office, he became manager of the Massena Construction Com- 
pany. While serving in this capacitv he instituted the Electric Light 
and Telephone Company in Massena. Air. Patch then returned to Clay- 
ton, and in February, 1903, accepted the secretaryship and also became 
one of the directors of the Otis Brooks Lumber Company. They are 
contractors, builders, dealers in lumber, builders' hardware, masons' 
supplies, paints, feed, manufacturers of doors, wdndows, blinds, mould- 
ings and standard and special styles of joinery g(_)ods. They also con- 
duct a, shipyard, wdiere skifYs, }'achts and launches are built and re- 
paired, Mr. Patch is a Democrat in his political affiliations, and an 
honored member of tiie ^Masonic order, being connected with Clayton 
Lodge. 

September 4, 1902, Mr. Patch married Harriet Haywood, who 
was born in Massena, New York, February 14, 1869, daughter of 
George Haywood, born in Massena, April 12, 1826, who died July 10, 
1893. and Lovina (Patterson) Haywood, who was born in Moscow, 
Province of Quebec, Canada, April 19, 1830, and now resides with 
her son in Massena, New York. Mr. and Mrs. Haywood wei^e the 
parents of eight children, three of wdiom are living at the present time 
(1904); Joseph, a resident of Massena; George, a resident of Greene; 
and Harriet, wife of William J. Patch. Mr. Patch and his wife hold 
membership in the Protestant Episcopal church of Massena. 

BRO\\'N. Among the pioneer families of JeiTerson county 
were many individuals bearing this name, located in widely separated 
districts, and many of them bearing a conspicuous part in the forma- 



107i GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY HISTORY. 

ti\e period of the histijr}' of tliis region. Xot all have been traced to a 
common ancestry, but the family of which this article treats has borne 
no small part in the conduct of local affairs. It includes some of the 
ablest lawyers, clergymen, farmers, officials and business men. 

( I ) Among the signers of the Alayflower Compact, November 
II, 1620, on board the historic "Mayflower." in Cape Cod Bay. Peter 
Brown was the thirty-third. He is said to have l.ieen a son of Thomas 
and great-grandson of Sir Anthony Brown, who was created Knight 
of the Bath at the coronation of Richard I