(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Genealogical and family history of southern New York and the Hudson River Valley; a record of the achievements of her people in the making of a commonwealth and the building of a nation;"

Gc 

V.2 
1136098 



fifeNEALOGY COLLECTION 



mmmn 

3 1833 01068 6597 




"d/Uer^ ^^'ff//o 



GENEALOGI CAL 

AND 

FAMILY HISTORY 

OF 

SOUTHER N NEW YORK 

AND THE 

HUDSON RIVER VALLEY 

A Record of the Achievements of Her People in the Making of a 
Commonwealth and the Building of a Nation 



COMPILED UNDER THE EDITORIAL SUPERVISION OF 

CUYLER REYNOLDS 



Curator of The Albany Institute and Historical and Art Society, since 1898; Director of 

New York State History Exhibit at Jamestown Exhibition, 1907; Author of 

"Albany Chronicles," "Classified Quotations," etc., etc. 



VOL. II 



ILLUSTRATED 



NEW^ YORK 

LEWIS HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY 

19 14 



1136098 



PUBLISHERS' NOTE 

In addition to Mr. Cuyler Reynolds, Supervising Editor, the publishers would 
express their obligations to the various estimable gentlemen who have rendered valu- 
able aid in the production of this work — Mr. William Ruchard Cutter, A. M., His- 
torian of the New England Historic-Genealogical Society, of Woburn, Massachusetts; 
Mr. William A. Woodworth, A. B., LL.B., Law Librarian, of White Plains, New York; 
Mr. Edmund Piatt, Editor of the Daily Eagle, Poughkeepsie, New York; Mr. Joseph 
Van Cleft, of Newburg, New York, of the Newburg Bay and Highlands Historical 
Society ; Major John Waller, of Monticello, New York, Editor and Publisher of The 
Sullivan County Republican ; Miss Ida M. Blake, Editor of the Putnam County (New 
York) Republican; Mr. Benjamin M. Brink, of Kingston, New York, former Editor of 
The Leader, publisher of "Olde Ulster" ; Mr. Alonzo Bedell, of Haverstraw, New 
York : Rev. James H. Robinson, D.D., of Delhi, New York ; former Senator Clar- 
ence E. Bloodgood, A. B., of Catskill, New York; Mr. Willard Peck, A. M., LL.B., of 
Hudson, New York. 



OTHER GENEALOGICAL PUBLICATIONS BY THE LEWIS HISTORICAL PUBLISHING 
COMPANY : 

"New England Families, Genealogical and Memorial" ; "Genealogical and Personal Memoirs, Massa- 
chusetts," also similar separate works on Boston and Eastern Massachusetts, Worcester County, and 
Middlesex County; "Genealogical and Family History of Connecticut"; "Genealogical and Family 
History of Maine"; "Genealogical and Family History of Vermont"; "Genealogical and Family History 
of Northern New York," also similar separate works on Southern New Y'ork, on Western New Y'ork, 
and on Central New York; "Genealogical and Family History of New Jersey," etc., etc. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



507 



As previously shown, the 
VAN NAME name of Van Name is an 
old and honored one on 
Staten Island, and derives its origin from the 
locality whence came the founder of the family 
to America. The church records of Staten 
Island contain many references to David Van 
Name, and record several marriages, but none 
corresponding to that given in the family rec- 
ords of this branch of the family. There can 
.be no question, however, that it belongs to the 
old family of that name. 

(I) David Van Name, born 1799, on 
Staten Island, died there in 1879, at the age 
of eighty years. He was a builder and con- 
tractor, and operated exclusively on the 
Island. In early life he was a member of 
the Dutch Reformed church, but later affiliated 
with the Methodist Episcopal denomination. 
Politically he is described by his descendants 
as a Whig, and it is presumable that he acted 
with the Republican party, successor of the 
Whigs. He married (first) Catherine John- 
son, and (second) x\bigail Jane Conklin. 
Children of first marriage were: i. Mary, 
wife of William Cuddy, who had a son Her- 
bert Burton. 2. Cornelius, married Nettie 
Tuttle, and had a son Myers Ludington. 3. 
George Edgar, mentioned below. 4. John, 
died at the age of fourteen years. Children 
of second marriage were : 5. William Conk- 
lin. 6. John Frederick. 

(II) George Edgar, second son of David 
and Catherine (Johnson) Van Name, was 
born August 24, 1839. on Staten Island. He 
was a wholesale and retail dealer in oysters 
for many years at Hartford, Connecticut, and 
is now living there, retired. He enlisted in 
October, 1862, as a member of the One Hun- 
dred and Seventv-sixth Reg-iment New York 
Infantry, under Captain William B. Coe, and 
took part in several engagements, receiving 
his discharge in February, 1864, with the rank 
of corporal. He is now a member of Robert 
O. Tyler Post, Grand Army of the Republic, 
of Hartford, and of the Methodist Episcopal 
church of that city. Politically he has always 
sustained the Republican party. He married 
(first! September, T862, Antoinette Bray, 
born in 1844, in Brooklyn. He married (sec- 
ond! Francps McCune. Issue of first mar- 
riage: I. Frances, born 1864; married Dr. 
F. Taylor. 2. Antoinette, born 1866. died 



in infancy. 3. Frank, twin of Antoinette, 
born 1866, died in infancy. 4. George Edgar 
Jr., born July, 1868; married Emma Hewitt. 
5. Holley, born 1871, died in infancy. 6. 
Joseph Mason, mentioned below. Child of 
second marriage : 7. Frank, born February, 
1884, died in childhood. 

(Ill) Joseph Mason, son of George Edgar 
and Antoinette (Bray) Van Name, was born 
May 27, 1874, in Hartford, Connecticut. He 
was placed in a private school in Brooklyn, 
New York, at the age of six years, and two 
years later entered the public schools of Hart- 
ford, where he continued until fourteen years 
old. He was then apprenticed to George Den- 
nison, of Hartford, a builder, and continued 
five years, after which he entered the employ 
of Herman Mohl, a builder and contractor. 
He later formed a partnership with Peter Zyk- 
kie in the building business, which continued 
two years, and after this Mr. Van Name be- 
gan dealing in coal and building materials in 
the City of New York, and later organized the 
firm of Van Name & Company, which con- 
tinued the business five years After selling out 
his interest, he was appointed superintendent 
of construction for the American Tobacco 
Company. This position he resigned to become 
the general manager of the Church Construc- 
tion Company, of New York City, and con- 
tinued in that position six years. Many pri- 
vate and public buildings in and around New 
York City have been erected by this firm, as 
have also a number of Carnegie libraries in 
various portions of the state of New York. 
Under the recent appropriation of twelve mil- 
lion dollars by Congress for improvements at 
West Point, the firm were employed in the 
construction af new buildings at the Military 
Academy. After resigning, he again organized 
the firm of Van Name & Company, which 
engages exclusively in building construction, 
with offices at No. '80 Wall Street, New York 
City. 

Mr Van Name and family still retain mem- 
bership in the Methodist Episcopal church of 
Hartford. Connecticut, and he is a member of 
the American Society of Civil Engineers, and 
the Engineers Club, of New York. Thou.gh 
he has given little time to politics and has no 
desire for official station, he gives consistent 
support to the principles and policies of the 
Republican party. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



He married, June 6, 1894, at the Dutch Re- 
formed church, in Brooklyn, New York, Net- 
tie AmeHa Hansbrough, born January 22, 
1873, in Woodside, Long Island, daughter of 
Charles Hansbrough. The last named was 
born June 3, 1845, in Manchester, England. 
As a boy he came to America, and served as 
a soldier in the latter part of the civil war. 
Later he became a painter and decorator. He 
married, October 21, 1871, in Red Bank, New 
Jersey, Anne Eliza White, born October 6, 
1849, in Red Bank, daughter of Robert White, 
a native of Birmingham, England, and Mary 
(Coles) W^hite, born at Wadesden, in Buck- 
inghamshire, England. Mr. White emigrated 
to America and settled in Red Bank, New 
Jersey, where he had the following children: 
George, died October 8, 1851 : Harriet Jane, 
wife of Jacob Antonias, of Red Bank; Sarah 
Elizabeth, married (first) George McQueen, 
(second) Thomas Swannell; Mary Hannah, 
married (first) Jeflferson Hillier, (second) 
Oscar Leith ; John R., married Catherine 
Way; Anne Eliza, wife of Joseph M. Van 
Name; William Henry and Lucy Ann, twins, 
the former died October 16, and the latter, 
October 31, 1857; Henrietta, wife of William 
Conklin Van Name. Mr. and Mrs. Joseph 
M. Van Name had a daughter, Edna, born 
May 17, 1896, died in infancy. 



A branch of the Goelet family 
GOELET being Protestants, to avoid per- 
secution, removed from Ro- 
chelle in France in the year 1621 and settled in 
Amsterdam where they remained until 1676, 
and Francis Goelet, the youngest son of the 
family, having lost his wife, with an only child. 
Jacobus Goelet, a boy about ten years of age, 
came to New York. He left his son in the 
care of Mr. Frederick PhilHpse, a merchant 
of New York, and sailed for Amsterdam with 
the intention of returning with his effects, but 
as he was never afterwards heard of, it was 
supposed that he was lost at sea, after which 
Jacobus Goelet married Jannetie, daughter of 
Mr. Coesaar, likewise a Rochelle refugee fam- 
ily, and had six children: i. Jacobus, the 
eldest, married Miss Buller and had children. 
2. James, who died at about twenty years of 
^S^- 3- Jannetie, who married Mr. John 
Dies. They had several children. This family 
moved from New York and settled at Kaats 



Kill. 4. Francis, was a surgeon on an Eng- 
lish man-of-war and was lost in the river 
St. Lawrence in the expedition against Can- 
ada, under Sir Hovenden Walker, a. d. 171 i. 
5. John, married Jannetie Cannon, of a 
Protestant refugee family from France (from 
whom Peter Goelet is descended) and had 
several children : Raphael, married Miss 
Pelse and died without issue. Phillip, married 
Miss Buller, had one son and two daughters. 
The son died in St. Eustatia at about thirty . 
years of age and was not married. Jannetie, 
married Alderman Abraham P. Lott and had 
no children. The other daughter, Catherine, 
married Peter Cartenius and had several 
children. 6. Effe, married Mr. Burger and 
had children. 

It is related, that about 1710, Jacobus Goelet 
went to Amsterdam and was directed by his 
father had built, and that he would know the 
and informed him in what part of the city 
they had lived and also a house his grand- 
father had built, and that he would know the 
house by the family arms being cut in stone 
on the front of it, and to inquire for the 
Spoorinburgh family into which one of his 
father's aunts had married. He found the 
house, it being a very large building and being 
informed where the Spoorinburgh family re- 
sided, he called upon them and found them 
far advanced in life. They had two daugh- 
ters married, and were a wealthy family, 
and one of the Goelets was captain of an 
Indiaman. They were all in the mer- 
cantile business and in the India trade. He 
found that the family in Amsterdam had 
never heard of the family in New York 
since the latter first left Holland, suppos- 
ing them to be lost at sea, there being at 
that time but one American vessel in Dutch 
trade and she very irregular in her voyages, 
sometimes making one in each year, some- 
times one in two years and sometimes one 
voyage in three years. Jacobus Goelet died 
on the 20th of August, 1731, at sixty-six years 
of age, and was buried in the Old Dutch 
Church, about the middle of the left aisle in 
the church when entered from the street, 
called Garden Street. 

John Goelet, the third son of Jacobus Goe- 
let by Jannetie Coesaar, his wife, born Feb- 
ruary I, 1694, married Jannetie Cannon, 
daughter of John Cannon by Mary Le Grand, 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



509 



his wife, descended from a refugee family of 
Rochelle in France, and died July 13, 1753, 
age fifty-nine years. Had thirteen children, 
several of them dying quite young. 

Peter Goelet, the fifth child, was born Janu- 
ary 5, 1727, died October 11, 181 1, age eighty- 
four years. He was married on April 27, 
1755, to Elizabeth Ratsey and had children: 
Alice, Jannetie, John, Peter P., Elizabeth 
On December 6, 1770, Peter Goelet was mar- 
ried to Mary Ludlow, daughter of Henry Lud- 
low Esq., of New York, and had issue: Mary, 
born June 17, 1773, died January 31, 1774, 
age eight months. On October 26, 1775, Peter 
Goelet was married to Elizabeth Farmer, the 
daughter of Thomas and Sarah Farmer, who, 
having inherited the estate of Bentley in 
Staten Island, assumed the name of Billop, 
the old proprietor. They had issue, five chil- 
dren: Sarah, Thomas Billop, Mary, Cather- 
ine, Christopher Billop. February i, 1792', 
Peter Goelet was married to Rachael Farmer, 
the daughter of the aforesaid Thomas and 
Sarah Billop ; had no issue. 

Peter P. Goelet, the son of Peter Goelet by 
Elizabeth Ratsey, was born on August 18, 
1764, and was christened on Friday morning, 
August 24, in Trinity Church by the Rev. Mr. 
Auchmuty. In the Year of Our Lord 1799, 
on the 9th day of May, Peter P. Goelet was 
married to Almy Buchanan, the daughter of 
Thomas Buchanan by Almy Townsend, his 
wife, at the house of Thomas Buchanan in 
Wall Street. They had issue: i. Peter, 
born June 22, 1800, died November 21, 1879. 
2. Jean Buchanan, born February 7, 1802. 3. 
Francis, born March 2, 1804, died July, 1804, 
and was buried in the Goelet family vault in 
Trinity churchyard. 4. Hannah Green, 
born January 19, 1806, at the house of Peter 
Goelet in Water Street, was married, June 30, 
1830, to Thomas R. Gerry, son of Elbridge 
Gerry and Ann Gerry. 5. Francis (2), born 
January 12, 1808, died January 16, 1809, 
buried in Trinity churchyard. 6. Robert, 
born September 19, 1809. Married Sarah 
Ogden, the daughter of the late Jonathan 
Ogden, October 16, 1839 Married by the 
Rev Berrian, rector of Trinity Church ; died 
September 22, 1879. Buried in the Marble 
cemetery. New York City, Second Avenue. 
They had issue : Robert, born September 29, 
1841. Helen, borfi March 8, 1843, died 



March 15, 1844. Ogden, born June 11, 1846. 

Robert Goelet was married to Harriette 
Louise Warren, (the daughter of George 
Henry Warren and Mary Phoenix), by the 
Rev. Dr. Tucker, at No. 520 Fifth Avenue, 
the 17th day of April, 1879. Died April 27, 
1889, at Naples, Italy, on his steam yacht 
"Nahma." Buried in the Goelet family vault 
at Woodlawn. They had issue: i. Robert 
Walton, born March 19, 1880, at 279 Madison 
Avenue. 2. Beatrice, born December 11, 
1885, died February 11, 1902, and interred in 
the Goelet vault in Woodlawn cemetery. 

Ogden Goelet was married to Mary R. Wil- 
son, the daughter of Richard Thornton Wil- 
son. He died August 27, 1897, on board his 
steam yacht "Mayflower" at Cowes, England, 
and was interred in the Goelet family vault 
in Woodlawn cemetery. They had issue: i. 
Mary Wilson, born October 6, 1878. Married, 
November 10, 1903, to Henry John Innes- 
Kerr, eighth Duke of Roxburghe. 2. Robert 
Goelet, born January 9, 1880. Married to 
Elsie Whelen, daughter of Henry Whelen Jr., 
on June 14, 1904, at Wayne, Pennsylvania. 
They had issue: Ogden, born January 17, 
1907, and Peter, born June 8, 191 1. 



It is now a pretty well estab- 
BEEKMAN lished fact that the families 

in New Jersey bearing the 
name of Beekman are descended from two 
distinct sources, one of which is Willem 
Beeckman (Beekman), of New York, who 
emigrated to New Amsterdam in 1647, and 
the other Maarten Beeckman, of Albany, who 
is the progenitor of the branch of the family 
at present under consideration. 

(I) Maarten Beeckman emigrated to New 
Netherland in 1638, and settled in Albany, 
where he plied his trade of blacksmith, and 
died before June 21, 1677. He married Su- 
sanna Jans, and had at least three children: 
Johannes; Hendrick, referred to below; 
Metie. 

(II) Hendrick, son of Maarten and Su- 
sanna (Jans) Beeckman, lived for a number 
of years at Schodack, near Albany, and 
November 13, 1710, purchased from Octavo 
Coenraats, merchant of New York, two hun- 
dred and fifty acres of land on the Raritap 
river in Somerset county, New Jersey, it 
being a part of the tract bought by Coenraats 



5IO 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



from Peter Sonmans, who in turn had pur- 
chased it from the proprietors of East Jersey. 
The deed for this land has never been re- 
corded, and is now in possession of Mrs. 
Elizabeth (Beekman) Vredenburgh, who still 
owns a portion of the land described, which 
she inherited from her father, Benjamin 
Beekman, and her mother, Cornelia Beekman. 
He married Annetje, daughter of Peter 
Quackenbush and among his children was 
Marten, referred to below. 

(III) Marten Beekman, son of Hendrick 
Beeckman, was born in 1685, died October 27, 
1757. The descendants of his three sons are 
very numerous in New York, Ohio, Indiana, 
Illinois, Michigan, Oregon, and elsewhere. 
He married, June 21, 1734, Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Neeltje fBloetjoet) Wald- 
ron. and granddaughter of Resolved Waldron, 
of Harlem, who was sheriff of New York City 
under Governor Peter Stuyvesant. She was 
born in 1700 and died November 27, 1760. 
Children : Elizabeth, Hendrick, Samuel, 
Annatie and Johannes. 

(IV) Johannes (John"), youngest child of 
Marten and Elizabeth (Waldron) Beekman, 
was born November 5. 1741. in .Somerset 
county. New Jersey, where he died March 17, 
1789 He married, July 30. 1769. Arriantje 
Tunison, born October 12, 1753, died Janu- 
ary 31, 1835. They were the parents of four 
children. 

(V) Cornelius, son of John and Arriantie 
(Tunisonl Beekman. was born January 28, 
1772, in Somerville, New Jersey, and died 
July 5, 1850. He married, in 1702, Rebecca 
Sharp, born January 2. 1772, died February 
27, 1844, aged seventy-two years. They had 
three sons and two daughters. 

(VI) Beniamin. son of Cornelius and Re- 
becca C Sharp) Beekman. was born Aoril 27, 
1804, in Si^merville, and died at Dundee New 
York, Aoril 8, 1879. ^^ married, at Plain- 
field, New Tersev. March 21, 1827. Lvdia 
Comnton. born there March 3. i8o5, died in 
Dundee. New York. October 2. i8qt, daugh- 
ter of Toshua and Catherine (Co«ad) Comn- 
ton. He resided in Somerville. New Tersev, 
and New York Citv. and removed to Dimdee 
after T820. Children: i. Corneliiis C, 
born Januarv 27, T828, in New York, now 
resides at Jacksonville, Oregfon ; married, at 
Jacksonville, Julia E. Hoffman. 2. Abram. 



mentioned below. 3. John, born March 9, 
1832, at Dundee; married (first) Elizabeth 
Disbrow, (second) Helena Ackerson, and 
died at Bath. 4. Lydia Ann, May 30, 1834, 
died in Dundee in 1910; married there in 
1853, Marcus T. Seely. 5. Thomas De Witt. 
August 22, 1841, now resides at Dundee, New 
York : married, in 1863, Isadore Fowler, of 
Elmira, New York. 6 and 7. Cyrus and 
Augustus, twins, born August 25, 1844, i" 
Dundee. The former died there in 185 1, and 
the latter when four days old. 

(VII) Abram, second son of Benjamin 
and Lydia (Compton) Beekman, was bom 
December 26, 1829, in New York City, died 
at Bath, Steuben county, New York, May 10, 
1907. He married, October 30, 1861, Sarah 
McKay Fowler, of Bath, born there Novem- 
ber 21, 1843, died there September 27, 1905, 
daughter of John W. and Helen D. (Clement) 
Fowler, who were married November 12, 
1823. Children: i. Lydia, born June 28, 
1863, married George H. Parker, of Bath. 2. 
George N., born September 17, 1865, in Bath, 
now resides there; married there, in 1891, 
Julia E. Averell. 3. John Fowler, mentioned 
below. 4. Edgar, mentioned below. 5. Cor- 
nelius C, mentioned below. 

(A'lII) John Fowler, second son of 
Abram and Sarah M. (Fowler) Beekman, 
was born February 18, 1869, in Bath, where 
he is now living engaged in the manufacturing 
business. He is a Presbyterian in religious 
faith, and a Republican in politics. He re- 
ceived his education in Bath and for a short 
time resided in New York City, returning to 
his native place in 1912. He married, in New 
York City, May 22, i88g, Caroline A. Young, 
daughter of William H. and Polly (Brund- 
age) Young. 

(VIID Edgar, third son of Abram and 
Sarah M. (Fowler) Beekman, was born 
March iq, 1872, at Bath, and now resides at 
Bronxville, New York. He was educated at 
the Haverling Union School in his native 
place and became an expert in corporation 
taxation. He is a Presbyterian in religious 
faith, a Republican in politics, a member of 
the Aero Club of .A.merica, the RTasonic Club, 
and the Bronxville Athletic Association. He 
married, at Jersey Citv, New Jersey, Decem- 
ber 21, 1893, May Hastings Leonard, bom 
August 23, 1869, in Troy, Pennsylvania, 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



5" 



daughter of Solyman and Elizabeth (Hast- 
ings) Leonard. They have one son, Abram 
Leonard, born August 21, 1895, at Forest Hill, 
New Jersey. 

(VHI) Cornelius C, youngest child of 
Abram and Sarah M. (Fowler) Beekman, 
was born August 17, 1880, at Bath, where 
he grew up, receiving his primary education 
at the Haverling High School of his native 
town. He subsequently entered Columbia 
Law School of New York City and is now 
engaged in the practice of law in New York, 
with residence in Brooklyn. He is a Presby- 
terian in religion, and a Republican in his 
political views. He married, in Brooklyn, 
November 8, 191 1, Josephine Estelle Egan, 
born November 9, 1882, in Syracuse, New 
York, daughter of the late William G. Egan 
and Josephine M. Egan, now Mrs. H. R. H. 
Nicholas, of Brooklyn, New York. 



This surname in the old 
WORTENDYKE records is also found in 

the forms of Woorten- 
dyck, Woertendky and Weortendijck. The 
bearers of the name have a common ancestry 
with those who bear the name Somerindyke, 
the other forms of which, found in the old 
records, are: Somerindyck, Somerindyk, 
Somerindick, Somerindicke and Somerindijck. 
The immigrant ancestor, Cornelius Jacobsen, 
is found at an early date bearing the sobriquet 
of Stille (or The Silent), which may have 
been no true surname, but merely an appella- 
tion given to him to denote one of his charac- 
teristics. Cornelius Jacobsen came to this 
country with his brother John, and it has been 
said that the descendants of Cornelius adopted 
the surname of Wortendyke, while the de- 
scendants of John assumed that of Somerin- 
dyke. Cornelius, however, had a large family 
of children, and the descendants of some of 
the sons took the surname Wortendyke, and 
the descendants of the others took that of 
Somerindyke. What were the motives gov- 
erning the choice are not now quite clear. 

(I) Cornelius Jacobsen, alias Stille, the 
immigrant ancestor of the Wortendyke familv. 
came to this country from Amsterdam. Hol- 
land, with his brother, John, in 1639. Shortly 
after their arrival they are said by one author- 
ity to have assumed the name of Somerin- 
dyke, which in the case of Cornelius was sub- 



sequently changed to Wortendyke. Besides 
the sobriquet of Stille, Cornelius also appears 
to have been known as "Van Vreelandt," in- 
dicating from what part of Holland he had 
come. One authority states that Cornelius, 
and perhaps also John, his brother, was in 
New Amsterdam as early as 1631, and re- 
sided at the head of what is now Chatham 
Square. The records indicate that after re- 
maining a short time in New Amsterdam 
(later New York) he bought and located on 
a plantation at Bushwick, Long Island. From 
there he removed to what is now the Williams- 
burg district of Brooklyn. In 1664 he took 
the oath of allegiance to the British govern- 
ment, at which time he was residing on a farm 
of a hundred acres in what was formerly the 
Greenwich district of New York City. He 
married (first) August 24, 1692, Classic 
Teunis; (second) July 28, 1675, Trynte Wait- 
ings Van Winkle, of Amsterdam, Holland, 
Among his children was Jacob, mentioned 
below. 

(II) Jacob, son of Cornelius Jacobsen, 
surnamed Stille, also Van Vreelandt, also 
Somerindyke, and also Wortendyke. and his 
wife, Trynte Wallings Van Winkle, was born 
in New Amsterdam (later New York) in 
1644. Very little concerning the details of 
his career is given in the records, but he prob- 
ably died at a not very advanced age, for his 
children numbered only four. He married, 
March 11, 1671, Aeltje Fredericks, an estim- 
able Brazilian lady. Children : Jacob, Nicho- 
las, Frederick Jacobsen, mentioned below; 
Cornelius. 

(III) Frederick Jacobsen, son of Jacob 
and Aeltje (Fredericks) Wortendyke, was 
born on Manhattan Island, probably about 
1679. He spent his boyhood on his father's 
farm, and seems to have taken advantage of 
the educational facilities then offered. In 
course of time he located on the upper west 
side of Manhattan Island. Concerning him 
it is said by one authority that he and his 
descendants permanently adopted the surname 
of Wortendyke, which had been somewhat 
loosely applied up to that time, while the 
descendants of his brother retained the name 
of Somerindyke, which had till that time alter 
nated with Wortendyke as the family cogno- 
men. The old Somerindyke mansion hoii=e. 
built of stone, stood a few years ago on the 



512 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Bloomingdale road near the west of Seventy- 
fifth Street. About 1722 Frederick removed 
to Bergen county, New Jersey, where he pur- 
chased several tracts of land, the principal 
one of which was nearly five hundred acres 
in area at what is now Park Ridge, formerly 
Pascack. On this tract, lying on both sides 
of Pascack Brook, he built his residence and 
two or more mills. He was founder of the 
Pascack settlement, and left a large landed 
estate. After his death his will became the 
subject of judicial construction in an eject- 
ment suit reported in 7 New Jersey Law Re- 
ports, page 363. He married Divertie Rynear- 
sen Quackenbush. Children : Aeltie, Reynier, 
mentioned below ; Elizabeth, Frederick F., 
Classic. 

(IV) Reynier, eldest son of Frederick 
Jacobsen and Divertie Rynearsen (Quacken- 
bush) Wortendyke, was born in New York, 
and baptized March 14, 1714. His mother 
was the granddaughter of Peter Quackenbush, 
of Oostergeest, Holland. With his brother, 
Frederick F., he obtained part of the home- 
stead farm at Pascack. Reynier was a man of 
considerable varied ability, not content with 
the scope that agricultural interests alone 
offered. He was a successful farmer and 
brought his property to a high state of devel- 
opment. But a good deal of his time was also 
occupied in running a mill and in other avo- 
cations leading him into the industrial and 
commercial field. He married (first) Decem- 
ber 10, 1746, Jannetje Peters Durie. He mar- 
ried (second) March 2, 1752, Jannetje Smith. 
His original will was made February 24, 1799, 
and to this he added a codicil, February 6, 
1799. By this will be bequeaths to his eldest 
son, Frederick, his old Dutch Bible, which 
was to continue in descent to the eldest son. 
This will indicates possession of a large 
amount of real estate and personal property 
Probably not all of his children were living 
at that time, as several are not mentioned in 
the will. To each of the living sons he gave 
valuable lands, and provided for liberal lega- 
cies in cash to his daughter and to the children 
of a deceased daughter. Children : Frederick, 
Peter, Jannetje, Cornelius, died young; Diver- 
tie, Cornelius, Reynier, Jenny, married Fred- 
erick Wortendyke ; John, Jacob, mentioned be- 
low ; Mary, Albert, Aeltje, married John De- 
baun. 



(V) Jacob, son of Reynier and Jannetje 
Peters (Durie) Wortendyke, was born May 
5, 1763, at Pascack, died December 18, 1858. 
From his father he received the land on which 
he was then living in the town of Harring- 
ton, Bergen county, containing fifty acres, and 
three other parcels amounting to eleven acres, 
including three acres of fresh meadow at Tap- 
pan. Besides this he was to receive one-fourth 
of his father's right in the swamp known as 
Bear Gat, lying in the town of Harrington, 
and in consideration of this inheritance he 
was to pay thirty pounds cash to one of his 
sisters. He continued in the cultivation of 
his lands at Pascack, and by his skillful op- 
eration and development his estate became 
very valuable. He married Elizabeth Camp- 
bell, born October 10, 1773, at Pascack, Park 
Ridge, New Jersey, and died March 20, 1862. 
Children : Luthische, Reynier, mentioned be- 
low; Elizabeth. 

(VI) Reynier (2), son of Jacob and Eliza- 
beth (Campbell) Wortendyke, was born De- 
cember, 1792, at Chestnut Ridge, Bergen 
county. New Jersey, died December 3, 1884. 
He was a farmer, and owned several hundred 
acres of land in Chestnut Ridge, where he 
died. He was a Democrat in politics, and a 
member of the Dutch Reformed church. He 
took considerable interest in public afifairs, as 
also in the welfare of his party, and he held 
several local offices in the gift of the town. 
He was a man of considerable ability, and 
much respected throughout his long life. To 
the property that come to him by inheritance 
he added considerably, and greatly developed 
it along various lines. He sought always to 
use the most approved methods in farming, 
and his main farm was one of the model ones 
of the country. He owned a considerable 
amount of live stock as well. He married 
Cornelia Haring. She died August 12, 1891. 
Children : Jacob Reynier, mentioned below ; 
Peter Reynier, Garrett, Elizabeth, who mar- 
ried Peter Merseles Holdrom. 

(VII) Jacob Reynier, son of Reynier (2) 
and Cornelia (Haring) Wortendyke, was 
born at Chestnut Ridge, Bergen county. New 
Jersey, November 18, 1818, died in Jersey 
City. November 2, 1868. He was graduated 
from Rutgers College in 1839, after which he 
read law in the office and became a partner of 
Chancellor A. O. Zabriskie. After his ad- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



513 



mission to the bar he attained great success in 
the practice of his profession and held numer- 
ous official positions in Hudson county. He 
organized the Jersey City water board and 
served as a member of the riparian commis- 
sion. In 1857 he was elected to congress from 
the Hudson district and served two terms in 
that body. In 1868 he was a delegate to the 
Democratic National Convention. His posi- 
tion as a prominent lawyer of New Jersey 
made him well known, and he was held in the 
highest esteem by his colleagues and friends. 
In religion he was affiliated with the Dutch 
Reformed church. He was always a staunch 
Democrat in active public life and remained 
such until his death. He married Susan Jane 
Doremus, born August 18, 1826, in Pompton 
Plains, New Jersey, died August 25, 1910. 
Children : Nicholas Doremus, married Mary 
Elizabeth Quick ; Cornelia Elizabeth, married 
William Perry Watson, M.D. ; Reynier Jacob, 
mentioned below; Jacob, died in 1867; Jacob 
Reynier, married Anna Traphagan. 

(VIII) Reynier Jacob, son of Jacob Rey- 
nier and Susan Jane (Doremus) Wortendyke, 
was born August 24, i860, in Jersey City, New 
Jersey. He graduated from Rutgers College 
in 1882, with degree of Bachelor of Arts. He 
was admitted to the bar of the State of New 
Jersey in the June term of 1885, and has since 
been engaged in the general practice of law 
in Jersey City, becoming a member of the law 
firm of Carrick & Wortendyke, in May, 1890, 
with offices at No. 15 Exchange Place, Jersey 
City, New Jersey. Mr. Wortendyke is a Dem- 
ocrat in politics, and is a member of the First 
Presbyterian Church of Jersey City. He mar- 
ried (first), at Newtonville, Massachusetts, 
October 17, 1893, Carolyn M. Cooley, born 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, October 27. 
1870, died September 22, 1900. He married 
(second) Carolina Laubach, born in Hamil- 
ton, Ohio ; the second marriage occurring at 
Hamilton, Ohio, October 17, 1906. Children 
by first wife : Reynier J., Jr. ; Howard Blakes- 
ley and Carolyn, 



The vast majority of people 
BOGARDUS bearing the name of Bogar- 

dus are descended from the 
Rev. Everardus Bogardus, the minister of the 
Dutch Reformed Church in New Amsterdam, 
who came from Holland in 1633 with Gov- 



ernor Wouter Van Twiller. The church in 
which he preached stood at what is now No. 
33 Pearl Street, and his residence was at No. 
23 Whitehall Street. He married the widow 
of Roeloff Jansen, the famous Anneke Jans, 
and had children: Jonas, Willem, Cornelis, 
Peter. Several branches of the family were 
deeply involved in the well known contest 
between the heirs of Anneke Jans and Trinity 
Church. Anneke came to Rensselaerwyck in 
1630 with her husband, Roeloff Jansen, who 
acted as assistant bouwmeister for the patroon 
at a salary of one hundred and eighty guilders. 
Her marriage w^ith the Rev. Everardus Bogar- 
dus or Bogart or Bogard, took place in 1637. 
There were others of the name at that early 
time and their connection with the Rev. Ever- 
ardus is not very clear. Willem Bogardus, of 
New Amsterdam, in 1656 was appointed clerk 
in the secretary's office in New Amsterdam, 
and in 1687 postmaster of the province. This 
Willem Bogardus married and had eight chil- 
dren. Another Bogardus, Cornelis, married 
Helena Teller, daughter of Willem Teller, of 
Albany. He lived in Albany, where he died 
in 1666. leaving one son, Cornelis, who mar- 
ried Rachel De Wit, and died October 13, 
1707. Peter Bogardus, mariner, resided in 
Albany near the close of his life, and then he 
removed to Kingston where he died in 1703. 
In 1673 he was one of the magistrates of the 
town, and in 1690 was commissioned with 
others to treat with the Five Nations and to 
look after the defense of the town. He made 
his will February 3, 1701. His wife was 
Wyntie Cornelis (Bosch) Borgardus, daughter 
of Cornelis Teunise and Maritie Thomas 
(Mingael) Bosch, who afterwards married 
Jurriaen Janse Groenwout in 1664. Cornelis 
Bogardus was a schoolmaster in Albany in 
1700, and shortly after that year he removed 
with his wife, Rachel Tjerckse (De Wit) 
Bogardus. to Kingston, his wife's native place. 
He died October 13, 1707. Shibboleth Bogar- 
dus and Ann, his wife, lived in Albany. His 
house in 1720 and from that year to 1737 was 
on the north corner of James and Steuben 
Streets. They had nine children, most of 
whom grew up. 

In the annals of Albany at an early period 
we read also of other men of the name of 
Bogardus, Anthony Bogardus, Ephraim Bo- 
gardus, Petrus Bogardus, and others. The- 



514 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



name itself is found in the form of Bogard 
and Bogardus, as well as Bogart. The name 
is, however, distinct from that of Bogert, the 
bearers of which are in the main descended 
from Cornelis Jansen Bogaerdt, who came 
from Holland before 1661, and settled on a 
village lot at Flatbush, Long Island, which 
he shortly sold to Peter Jansen. In 1677 
Cornelis Jansen Bogaerdt was one of the pro- 
prietors of the Flatbush patent, and died at 
that place in 1684. The name of his wife 
who accompanied him from Holland is given 
as Geesie Williams, which indicates that her 
father's christian name was William. They 
had a number of children who settled at Hack- 
ensack, New Jersey. This name of Bogert 
is often found in various spellings resembling 
the variations of Bogardus, and there has been 
a certain amount of confusion in consequence. 
Of the name two distinct forms are widely in 
use at the present day, many employing both 
Bogert and Bogart. There were several im- 
migrants bearing the name among the early 
settlers of New Amsterdam and Long Island, 
and their descendants have scattered over a 
wide region, being especially numerous in 
northeastern New Jersey. 

The conspicuous Dutch traits of industry 
and thrift have been well perpetuated in both 
the Bogardus and Bogart families, who are 
connected in various ways. A great number 
of the members of various branches of the 
family have been engaged in agriculture and 
its allied interests and industries from the be- 
ginning. In later generations many bearing 
the Bogardus name have also been conspicuous 
in the ranks of the professions as well as in 
mercantile life. The family is a fine one, with 
a Dutch ancestry second to none, associated 
for all time with the development of the new 
world, in the founding of whom they bore 
■\ worthy part. 

(I) Stephen H. Bogardus, ancestor of the 
Bogardus family, was born probably near 
Poughkeepsie, New York. The facts relating 
to his life are meagre, but there can be very 
little doubt that he was a direct descendant 
of the Rev. Everardus Bogardus, the first set- 
tled Dutch minister of any religion in the 
New Netherlands. Investigation so far has 
not revealed the name of his wife or any of 
his children except one. He was engaged in 



the leather business, and died in the early 
eighties. 

(II) Stephen H. (2), son of Stephen H. 
( I ) Bogardus, was probably born in Pough- 
keepsie, New York, and died of yellow fever 
in the South. He received his education in 
the public schools, and enlisted as corporal 
in the New York Volunteers in the company 
known as the Duryea Zouaves. He was ad- 
jutant of Purneirs Legion of Maryland Vol- 
unteers, and was captain of the One Hundred 
and Ninety-second Regiment, New York 
Volunteers. He was also second lieutenant of 
the Fourth Infantry Regulars, United States 
Army, and was mustered out in Janu- 
ary, 1871, after he had been wounded. The 
principal items of his military history are set 
forth in "Heitman's Historical Register and 
Dictionary of the United States Army," 1789- 
1903. Captain Bogardus was a Republican in 
politics, and most of his life was spent at 
Poughkeepsie, Dutchess county, New York. 
He married Ellen Mary, daughter of John 
James and Harriet (Willard) Haile, of Platts- 
burg. She was bom at Plattsburg, New 
York, March 19, 1849, and died at Green- 
wich, Connecticut, in January, 1903. Their 
only child was John Haile, mentioned below. 

(HI) John Haile, son of Stephen H. (2) 
and Ellen Mary (Haile) Bogardus, was born 
at Plattsburg. New York, January 29, 1870. 
He received his preliminary education at the 
Plattsburg Academy, New York, at the board- 
ing school at Westport, Connecticut, and at 
the boarding school at Hamden. Connecticut, 
near New Haven. He was also for some 
time at a boarding school at Cornwall-on-Hud- 
son. After leaving school he went into the 
hardware business with Russell & Erwin, who 
were hardware manufacturers, and he re- 
mained with that concern about one year. His 
health, however, was not very strong, and 
he decided that a change of occupation would 
be agreeable He thus came to teach school 
at Lakewood. New Jersey, his subjects being 
mathematics and English, and he continued 
at that occupation for a period of from two 
to three vears. From New Jersey he went 
to San Francisco, California, and there he 
engaged in teaching for about another year. 
At the end of that time he returned to New 
York, and took up the study of law in the 
office of Jay & Candler, at 48 Wall Street. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



515 



He was admitted to the bar of New York in 
October, 1902, and has practiced in New 
York since that time. Mr. Bogardus enlisted 
in the Twenty-third Infantry, National 
Guard, New York, February 7, 1893, and was 
promoted corporal, sergeant, color sergeant, 
battalion sergeant major, battalion quarter- 
master and commissary, with rank of second 
lieutenant, and battalion adjutant, with rank 
of first lieutenant. In politics he is a Re- 
publican, and he is a member of the American 
Bar Association, New York County Lawyers' 
Association, Marine and Field Club, United 
Service Club, National Geographic Society, 
Military Service Institution and United States 
Infantry Association. 

He married, at Brooklyn, New York, Jan- 
uary 17, 1900, Lillian May, born in New York 
City, March 4, 1870, daughter of William 
Henry and Harriet E. (Wiggins) Stewart. 



The Sahler family is of Ger- 
SAHLER man origin and dates back to 
the tenth century when we find 
the record of Heinrich von der Sahle, who 
participated in one of the tournaments of that 
day. The family was noble as well as ancient 
and had its home in that part of the Rhen- 
ish Palatinate that is now in Hesse-Darm- 
stadt. The original name of the family was 
von Heppenheim, derived from their ancestral 
home, but in 1019 Werner von Heppenheim 
removed to Alzey on the Selz, near Mentz, 
and lived in the Saal or "Hall" there, whence 
he received the name Werner von Heppen- 
heim von dem Saale which later on became 
corrupted to von Sahler or Sahler. 

(I) Abraham Sahler, the founder of the 
family in America, emigrated about 1736 and 
settled on the banks of the Perkiomen river 
about twenty-five miles from Philadelphia and 
became a large landowner there. He married 
Elizabeth, daughter of Isaac and Rachel (Du 
Bois) Du Bois, who was born at Perkiomen, 
Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, Septem- 
ber 10, 1724 (see Du Bois V). Children: i. 
Isaac, married Eleanor Hartley, of York 
county, Pennsylvania. 2. Abraham (2), re- 
ferred to below. 3. Elizabeth, married Robert 
Patton,- 4. Rachel, married John Gross. 5. 
Catherine, married Christian Gross. 6. Dan- 
iel, born April 16, 1762, died February 20, 
1834; married, May 8, 1786, Elizabeth Van 



Wagenen. 7. John, born November 23, 1765; 
married Ann Barlow. 

(II) Abraham (2), son of Abraham (l) 
and Elizabeth (Du Bois) Sahler, was born at 
Perkiomen, Montgomery county, Pennsyl- 
vania, in September, 1738, died in the town 
of Rochester, Ulster county, New York, Jan- 
uary 14, 1800, and was buried in the Kyserike 
cemetery. He married first) Tryntje, daugh- 
ter of Solomon and Hannah (Bruyn) Van 
Wagenen, who was baptized at Kingston, 
New York, January 7, 1752. He married 
(second) Hester, daughter of Isaac and Maria 
(Bruyn) Hasbrouck, who was born January 
8, 1760 (see Hasbrouck in Index). Chil- 
dren (two by first marriage) : Abraham (3), 
referred to below ; Solomon, referred to be- 
low ; daughter, who married Louis Stilwell ; 
daughter, who married Simeon Du Bois ; 
daughter, who married Elias De Puy. 

(III) Abraham (3), son of Abraham (2) 
and Tryntje (Van Wagenen) Sahler, was born 
in the town of Rochester, Ulster county. New 
York, and died there. He married Nellie 
Hasbrouck. Children : Abraham Louis ; Jacob 
R. H., referred to below; James B. ; Ann 
Eliza. 

(IV) Jacob R. H., son of Abraham (3^ 
and Nellie (Hasbrouck) Sahler, married El- 
mira, daughter of Henry and Elizabeth (Sah- 
ler) van de Mark, and granddaughter of Dan- 
iel and Elizabeth (Van Wagenen) Sahler, 
referred to above. Children : Abraham J., 
Henry, James, referred to below; Isaac L., 
Daniel, Catherine J.. Elizabeth. 

(V) James, son of Jacob R. H. and Elmira 
(van de Mark) Sahler, married Sarah AUiger. 
Children: Jennie, referred to below; Eliza- 
beth, married Dr. N. A. Monroe, of Stone 
Ridge, Ulster county. New York; Irving, 
James B., Louis D., twin with James B., Har- 
ry, Olive Reid. 

(VI) Jennie, daughter of James and Sarah 
(Alliger) Sahler, married in 1880, Dr. Charles 
Oliver Sahler, son of Solomon and Caroline 
(Winfield) Sahler, referred to below. 

(Ill) Solomon, son of Abraham (2) and 
Tryntje (Van Wagenen) Sahler, was born 
in the town of Rochester, Ulster county. New 
York, November 14, 1775, died there Febru- 
ary 13, 1827. He was a landowner and slave- 
holder, a surveyor and supervisor of the town 
from 1819 to 1827. In 1816 he was appointed 



5i6 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



coroner by Governor Tompkins. He married 
(first) August 25, 1797, Nellie, daughter of 
John and Sophie (Burgess) Perrine, who was 
born June 6, 1777, died February 14, 1805. 
He married (second) Catherine Davis. Chil- 
dren (four by first marriage) : Tryantje Van 
Wagenen, married Andries Roosa; Daniel, 
died in infancy; Abraham, referred to below; 
John Perrine, born January 26, 1805, died 
June 27, 1866, married, February 3, 1830, 
Maria Hasbrouck; Isaac Du Bois, married 
Maria Schoonmaker ; Jacob, died unmarried ; 
Sarah Catherine, married Dr. George 
Chambers. 

(IV) Abraham (4), son of Solomon and 
Nellie (Perrine) Sahler, was born in the town 
of Rochester, Ulster county, New York, Oc- 
tober 14, 1802, died there in March, 1857. 
He inherited his father's homestead near Ky- 
serike and lived there until 1840 when he 
bought and removed to the Van Wagenen 
homestead in the same place. He was super- 
visor from 1839 to 1841 and from 1845 to 
1851. He was a veterinary surgeon and also 
captain of cavalry in the state militia. He 
married, January 3, 1822, Catherine, daughter 
of Judge Richard and Wyntje (Robinson) 
Davis, who was born February i, 1803. Chil- 
dren : Solomon, referred to below ; Isaac 
Robinson, married Kate Schoonmaker; Mary 
Ellen, married Lyman Terpenning. 

(V) Solomon (2), son of Abraham (4) 
and Catherine (Davis) Sahler, was born in 
the town of Rochester, Ulster county. New 
York, December 22, 1827. He inherited the 
Van Wagenen homestead at Kyserike. He 
married, February 24, 1852, Caroline, daughter 
of Casparus and Jane (Van Aken) Winfield, 
who was born February 20, 1832 (see Win- 
field). Children: Charles Oliver, referred to 
below ; Kate Jane, married Luther H., son of 
Abraham J. and grandson of Jacob R. H. and 
Elmira (van de Mark) Sahler, referred to 
above ; Mary Elizabeth, married Lawrence H. 
Swisher; Caspar, died in infancy; Jeannette. 
died in infancy. 

(VI) Dr. Charles Oliver Sahler, son of 
Solomon (2) and CaroHne (Winfield) Sahler, 
was born at the home of his maternal grand- 
father in the town of Esopus, Ulster county. 
New York, June 23, 1854, and is now living 
in Kingston, Ulster county. New York. He 
leceived his early education in the public 



schools, and also under the tutorship of John 
H. Van Wagenen, who was at one time princi- 
pal of the University of Northern Pennsyl- 
vania. He also took up the study of medi- 
cine and at the age of twenty years entered 
the College of Physicians and Surgeons (med- 
ical department of Columbia University), in 
New York City, from which he graduated in 
the class of 1878. He immediately commenced 
the active practice of his profession in Ky- 
serike, and remained there for thirteen years, 
at the end of which time he opened an office 
in Kingston. Early in his career he became 
interested in mental therapeutics, and for 
many years, even as a young physician and 
knowing nothing of the experiments that were 
then being made in Europe, he made use of 
it in his practice, often being himself aston- 
ished at the results that he obtained, and he 
was among the first of the regular practitioners 
in this country to recognize the power of the 
mind as a curative agency, and largely through 
his own experiments discovered that diseases 
could be overcome through the mind, that 
failed to respond to ordinary medical methods, 
and began using mental suggestion in his prac- 
tice with most gratifying results. This fact 
becoming known, his services were sought to 
such an extent that he finally abandoned his 
large lucrative medical and surgical practice 
and opened a sanitarium for the treatment of 
nervous, mental and functional disorders by 
the then almost unknown methods of psycho- 
theraphy. In 1893 he purchased the fine old 
estate of Marius Schoonmaker, in Kingston, 
and in 1898 founded there the first mental 
healing sanitarium in America. From the 
first the success of the undertaking was phe- 
nomenal, and it was but a short time before 
he was compelled to make extensive addi- 
tions to the building, and to erect others, be- 
sides taking in all the available cottages and 
extra rooms in the neighborhood; and in 191 1 
he erected a handsome, five story, stone struc- 
ture to accommodate the patients who came 
to him from all parts of the world. He is 
the author of the book "Psychic Life and 
Laws," is a contributor to several magazines, 
and for a time occupied the chair of Nervous 
Diseases and Suggestive Therapeutics of the 
post-graduate school of Eastern College and 
of the Psychological Medical Society at Phil- 
adelphia. He has been vice-president of the 




^^ 



The Lmis Publishing Cc. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



517 



American Association of Physicians and Sur- 
geons, and is a member of the American 
Psychological Medical and Surgical Society, 
and of the Medico-Legal Society, and has 
lectured before the Phrenological Institute 
and Medical and Psychic Study societies of 
New York and New Jersey. He is a mem- 
ber of Kingston Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Mount Horeb Chapter, and Rondout 
Commandery, Knights Templar. He married, 
in 1880, Jennie, daughter of James and Sarah 
(Alliger) Sahler, referred to above. Child 
(adopted) : Nellie, daughter of Simon Daven- 
port and Jennie (Sahler) Davenport. 

(The Du Bois Line.) 

The Du Bois family is one of the oldest of 
the noble houses of Cotentin, in the duchy 
of Normandy, the heraldic records in Paris 
beginning with Geofifroi du Bois, a knight 
banneret, and a companion of Duke William 
in the conquest of England in 1066. 

(I) Chretien Du Bois, the first member of 
the branch of the family under consideration 
of whom we have any definite information, 
was a Huguenot gentleman of the family of 
Du Bois, seigneurs de Beau-fermez et de 
Bourse, and owned an estate at Wicres, in La 
Bassee, near Lille, in French Flanders, now 
Artois. Among his children were : Louis, re- 
ferred to below ; Jacques, baptized June 18, 
1622, died in 1676, married April 25, 1663, 
Pieronne Bentyn, emigrated to Esopus, New 
York, in 1675; Albert, baptized November 13, 
1625 ; Francoise, married April 20, 1649, 
Pierre Biljouw ; Anne. 

(H) Louis, son of le sieur Chretien Du 
Bois, was born at Wicres, October 27, 1627, 
died in Kingston, New York, in June, 1696. 
He emigrated first to Mannheim, in the Pala- 
tinate, where he married and two of his sons 
were born ; April 27, 1660, came with his fam- 
ily in the ship "Gilded Otter" to New Nether- 
land. He and his father-in-law were granted 
by patent considerable tracts of land in Hur- 
ley where they both lived until their removal 
to New Paltz. June 7, 1663, his wife and 
three sons were captured with others by the 
Indians and held prisoners for three months, 
and the campaign to rescue them resulted in 
the purchase of the Walkill Valley, by the 
Huguenot settlers, from the Indians, which 
purchase was patented to them by Governor 
Edmund Andros, September 29, 1677. Here 



during the following spring they founded "Le 
nouveau Palatinat" or New Paltz. In 1686 
Louis Du Bois and his wife removed from 
New Paltz to Kingston. He married, in the 
French church in Mannheim, October 10, 
1665, Catherine, daughter of Mathew and 
Madeline (Jorisse) Blanchan, who died in 
Kingston, New York, in 1706. Children : 
Abraham, referred to below ; Isaac, born in 
1659, died June 28, 1690, married in June, 
1683, Maria Hasbrouck; Jacob, baptized Oc- 
tober 9, 1661, died in 1745, married, March 
8, 1689, Lysbeth Varnoye; Sarah, baptized 
September 14, 1664, married, December 12, 
1682, Joost Janz, of Marbletown ; David, bap- 
tized March 13, 1667, married, March 8, 1689, 
Cornelia Varnoye; Solomon, referred to be- 
low; Rebecca, baptized June 18, 1671, died 
yotmg; Ragel, baptized in April, 1675, died 
young; Louis, born in 1677, married, Janu- 
ary 19, 1701, Rachel, daughter of Abraham 
and Maria (Deyo) Hasbrouck; Martin, born 
January 3, 1679, married, January 17, 1697, 
Sara Matthyssen. 

(III) Abraham, son of Louis and Catherme 
(Blanchan) Du Bois, was born in Mannheim, 
Germany, December 26, 1657, died at New 
Paltz, Ulster county. New York, October 7, 
1 73 1. He married, March 6, 1681, Margaret, 
daughter of Christian Deyo. Children : Sara, 
baptized June 20, 1682, married, June 13, 1703, 
Roelof Eltinge; Abraham (2), born April 17, 
1685; Lea, born October 16, 1687, married 
Philip Fires or Ferre ; Rachel, referred to 
below ; Mary, twin with Rachel, baptized Oc- 
tober 13, 1689, died young; Catherine, born 
May 21, 1693, married, October 4, 1728, Wil- 
liam Danielsz; Noah, baptized February 18, 
1700, died young; Joel, baptized June 20, 1703, 
died in 1734. 

(IV) Rachel, daughter of Abraham and 
Margaret (Deyo) Du Bois, was baptized at 
New Paltz, Ulster county, New York, Oc- 
tober 13, 1689. She married (first) April 6, 
1713, Isaac, son of Solomon and Tryntje 
(Gerritson) Du Bois, referred to below, and 
married (second) Coats. 

(Ill) Solomon, son of Louis and Catherine 
(Blanchan) Du Bois, was born at Wiltwyck 
or Hurley, about 1670, died at New Paltz, 
Ulster county. New York, between June 26, 
1756, and February 15, 1759. He married 
about 1690, Tryntje Gerritsen, daughter of 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Gerrit Focken and Jacomyntje Sleght. Chil- 
dren: Isaac, referred to below; Jacomyntje, 
baptized November 5, 1693, married, April 
23, 1715, Barent, son of Isaac and Maria 
(Hasbrouck) Du Bois; Benjamin, baptized 
May 16, 1697, married Catrina Zuylant; 
Sarah, baptized February 11, 1700, married, 
November 17, 1720, Simon Jacobse Van 
Wagenen; Catryn, baptized October 18, 1702, 
died in infancy; Cornelis. died in 1798, mar- 
ried, April 7, 1 729. Anna Margaret Hooghtel- 
ing; Magdalena, baptized April 15, 1705, died 
young; Catherine, married December 9, 1722, 
Petrus Matheus Louw ; Deborah, died young ; 
Hendrikus, baptized December 31, 1710, mar- 
ried. May 6, 1733, Jannetje Hooghteling; 
Magdalena, baptized December 20, 1713, mar- 
ried. July 14, 1734, Josiah Eltinge. 

(lY) Isaac, son of Solomon and Tryntje 
(Gerritsen) Du Bois, was baptized at New 
Paltz, September 21, 1691, died at Perkiomen, 
Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, February 
10, 1729. He married, April 6, 1713, Rachel, 
daughter of Abraham and Margaret (Deyo) 
Du Bois, referred to above. Children : Cath- 
erine, born February 13, 1715; Margaret, born 
about 1717; Sarah, born March 19, 1720; Re- 
becca, born August 14, 1722; Elizabeth, re- 
ferred to below. 

(V) Elizabeth, daughter of Isaac and Rachel 
(Du Bois) Du Bois, was born September 10, 
1724. She married Abraham Sahler, the em- 
igrant, referred to above. 

(The Winfield Line.) 

Caroline Winfield, mother of Charles Oliver 
Sahler, M.D., was born February 20, 1832, 
died March 2, 1896. She was married to 
Solomon Sahler, February 24, 1852. 

Casparus Winfield, grandfather of Charles 
Oliver Sahler, was born August 4, 1795, died 
January 15, 1879. His wife, Jane Van Aken, 
was born October 9, 1798, and died June 14, 
1842. She was the daughter of John Van 
Aken and Maria Degruff. Grandmother and 
grandfather Winfield were both from the town 
of Esopus, and buried in the Grand View 
cemetery, town of Esopus. 

John Winfield, great-grandfather of Charles 
Oliver Sahler. was born September 9, 1764, 
died February 5, 1853 ; and his wife, Jane 
Van Nostrand, was born March 12, 1770, died 
October 26, 1849. John Winfield was a soldier 
in the revolution. His gun is now in posses- 



sion of James M. Winfield, M.D., Brooklyn, 
New York. He also was made member of the 
Livingston Lodge, No. 23, December 18, 1799. 
There is a silver medal with name, date of 
initiation and with the dove and olive branch 
on one side, and on the reverse side all of the 
emblems of the Master Mason. This jewel 
was given to his son, Casparus Winfield, who 
was also a member of the same lodge, called 
Kingston No. 10. He, John Winfield, attended 
a banquet given by the city of Kingston to 
its veterans September 10, 1832 ; was over- 
seer for Hurley in 1781 ; assessor for Esopus 
in 181 1 ; trustee of the corporation of Kings- 
ton, 1813-14-15; school commissioner for 
Esopus, 1813-44. Jane Van Nostrand was a 
daughter of Casparus Van Nostrand. a 
soldier of the revolution, and Eva Freling- 
huysen ; and a granddaughter of Judge Van 
Nostrand and Annatie Steimets. Eva Frel- 
inghuysen was a daughter of the Rev. Johan- 
nes Frelinghuysen and Dinah Van Berr, and 
a sister of General Frederick Frelinghuysen. 
Their grandfather, the Rev. Jacobus Freling- 
huysen, was sent by the classes of Amster- 
dam to take charge of the Dutch Reformed 
Church in New Jersey in 1719. He married 
Eva Terhune. 

John Winfield, great-great-grandfather of 
Charles Oliver Sahler, was born March 8, 
1727, died January 9, 1798. His wife. Eliza- 
beth Smit, was born August 11, 1828. 

John Winfield, great-great-great-grand- 
father of Charles Oliver Sahler, was born 

September 6, . He was a soldier in the 

foot militia for the battle of Shawangunk, 
under Colonel Rutsert, in 171 5, Zara Kool, 
his wife, born November 16, 1694. and mar- 
ried in 1716, was the daughter of Simon Kool 
and Biliye Pieters ; granddaughter of Jacob 
Barent Kool, and Maria Simmons, and great- 
granddaughter of Barent Jacobset Kool and 
Marie Leenderts. 

Richard Winfield (Rutsert Wintveld), great- 
great-great-great-grandfather of Charles Ol- 
iver Sahler, was born in Derby, England, in 
1657. He also lived in Albany, New York. 
His wife, Magdalena Schutt, was a widow of 
Gerrit Decker, and daughter of William Jan- 
sen Schutt. Of the family of Winfield. says 
Camden, famous for their knighthood and 
ancient nobility, as stated of them before, 
seated at Wingfield, county of Suffolk, before 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



519 



the conquest of 1066. The castle of Wing- 
field is situated low, without any earthmarks 
for its defense. The ruined walls are still 
standing, the south front or principal entrance 
entire. The chequered fates and fortunes of 
its noble, but often turbulent inmates, ex- 
pressed this term, "Magnificence of feudal 
times." 



Of the many prominent fam- 
ERVING ilies in America none can claim 

a more honorable lineage. They 
trace their ancestry to the Celts, who at an 
early date settled on the east coast of Erin 
and the west hills and islands of Albyn. The 
word was originally written Erevine, meaning 
a stout, westland man, and is derived from 
the Celtic-Scythic words, Erin-vine, or fein, 
Erin meaning west, and the early name for 
Ireland, the westland, and vine or fein, a 
strong and resolute man. The name is vari- 
ously written : Erevine, Erwine, Ervine, Er- 
ving, de Irvin, Irvine and Irving. One of the 
first of the name was Crine Erevine, who was 
Abthaine of Dull and senechal and collector 
of "all the King's rent in the western isles." 
He married the Princess Beatrix, eldest daugh- 
ter of Malcolm II. Their son became Dun- 
can I. of Scotland. Descendants of Crine 
Erevine located in Bonshaw, where about I2q6 
Robert the Bruce found an asylum in the 
castle, when a fugitive from Edward Long- 
shanks. Here he was concealed for some 
time. Sir William Irvine (de Irvine), a son 
of the owner of the castle, became an ardent 
supporter of the cause of Robert the Bruce. 
He was appointed his squire and armor bearer 
and accompanied his royal master in his vari- 
ous wanderings. He shared in his many nar- 
row escapes and took part in his many excit- 
ing encounters and battles, culminating in the 
battle of Bannockburn in 1306, which resulted 
in victory for the heroic Bruce. In 1323 
Robert the Bruce awarded him for his ser- 
vices and fidelity in his support the forest of 
Drum in Aberdeenshire, originally the Royal 
forest, and one of the hunting seats of the 
Kings of Scotland ; also his coat-of-arms. 
which he wore during the time he was con- 
cealed in the Bonshaw castle. William Ir- 
vine was also knighted by Robert the Bruce, 
who gave him for his coat-of-arms : Three 
holly leaves branded together on a shield 



arant ; also his own motto, sub sole sub umbra 
virens. A direct descendant of Sir William 
Irvine located in the Orkneys, and from there 
descendants of the family went to Stromness, 
where John Irving, father of the progenitor 
of the family in America, was born. 

(I) John (2), son of John (i) Irving, born 
in the island of Shapinsha in the Orkneys, in 
1693, came to America about 1700 and located 
in Boston, where he made his home until his 
death, August 30, 1786. He was buried in 
the Granary cemetery on Tremont Street, after 
coming to this country he changed the spell- 
ing of his name from Irving to Erving. At 
an early age he began a mercantile business, 
in which avocation he gained distinction, be- 
coming one of the most prosperous and best 
known merchants in the colonies. He took 
an active interest in the civic and business 
affairs of Boston, serving for twenty years 
as a member of the council of Massachusetts, 
He also took a deep interest in the educational 
system of Boston. His portrait painted by 
Copley is now in the possession of his great- 
great-grandson, John Erving, of New York 
City. He was married in Boston, December 
I, 1725, to Abigail, daughter of John and 
Mary Philips. She died June 20, 1759, and 
was buried in King's Chapel, Boston. Chil- 
dren: I. John, mentioned below. 2. George, 
graduated from Har\'ard University in 1757; 
married (first) Lucy Winslow, (second) Mary 
Mcintosh Royall ; he died in London, Eng- 
land, January 16, 1806; his son, George Wil- 
liam, became American Consul at London and 
minister to Denmark and Spain. 3. Abigail, 
born May 16, 1729, died young. 4. Mary, 
married Governor Scott, of the island of St. 
Christopher. 5. Elizabeth, born September 14, 
1731, died May 5, 1803; married Governor 
James Bowdoin. 6. Abigail, born September 
17, 1733. 7. William, born September 8, 1734. 
died in Jamaica Plains, Massachusetts, May 
27, 1791 ; graduated from Harvard University 
in 1753: he served as major in the British 
army and took part in General Wolfe's cam- 
paign against Quebec; at the commencement 
of the revolutionary war he resigned from the 
army ; the British government, in recognition 
of his services, gave him a grant of land in 
Coos county, New Hampshire, which for 
many years was known as the Erving loca- 
tion ; he bequeathed one thousand pounds to 



520 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Harvard University to found the Erving Pro- 
fessorship of Chemistry. 8. James, born April 
14, 1736. 9. Sarah, born June 8, 1737; mar- 
ried Brigadier-General Waldo. 10. Ann, born 
January 20, 1740; married Duncan Stewart. 

(II) John (3), son of John (2) and Abi- 
gail (Philips) Erving, was born in Boston, 
Massachusetts, January 26, 1727, died in 
Bath, England, July 22, 1816, and was buried 
in Walcot Parish churchyard (St. Swithins), 
Bath. He attended the schools of his native 
city, and in 1747 graduated from Harvard 
University with the degree of A.B. He took 
a prominent part in the civic affairs of his 
native city and the Massachusetts colony. In 
1760 he was one of the fifty-eight who signed 
the "Boston Memorial," thus being one of the 
first in America to oppose the officers of the 
Crown; in 1774 he was an addressor of Hut- 
chinson and in the same year was appointed a 
mandamus councillor. In 1776 he fled to Hal- 
ifax, and from there proceeded to England. 
In 1778 he was proscribed and banished from 
America; in 1779 his property was confiscated 
under the Conspiracy Act. He married, 
April 18, 1754, Maria Catharina, youngest 
daughter of William Shirley, governor of 
Massachusetts Bay, and commander-in-chief 
of the British forces in North America. She 
died March 12. 1816, aged eighty-seven years, 
and was buried in the Walcot Parish church 
yard. Children: I. Maria Catharina, christened 
August 17, 1755. 2. Frances, baptized Sep- 
tember 24, 1756. 3. John, mentioned below. 
4. William, born in 1758, died November 14, 
1772. 5. Shirley, christened November 23, 
1759. 6. Abigail, born April 20, 1760. 

(III) John (4), son of John (3) and Maria 
Catharina (Shirley) Erving, was christened 
in Boston, Massachusetts, November 20, 1757, 
died there about 1847. He received a liberal 
education, and for many years engaged in mer- 
cantile business in his native city. He took 
a prominent part in the civic and social af- 
fairs of Boston. He married, September 24, 
1785, Ann (Nancy), daughter of William 
Sheaffe, collector of the port of Boston, and 
sister of General Sir Robert Hale Sheaffe, 
Baronet. Children: i. John, mentioned below. 

2. William, born in 1790, died June 7, 1791. 

3. Frances Anne, died in Waltham, Massa- 
chusetts, May 12, 1880. 

(IV) Colonel John (5) Erving, son of 



John (4) and Ann (Sheaffe) Erving, was 
born in Boston, Massachusetts, in 1789, died 
in New York City, October 26, 1862. He at- 
tended the schools of his native city. On Jan- 
uary 9, 1809, he was appointed second lieu- 
tenant of the United States army. He then 
for two years at the National Academy 
at West Point. He was promoted first lieu- 
tenant, August 16, 1812, and from April 6, 
1813, to June 15, 1815, during the war of 
1812, served as assistant adjutant-general, 
with the rank of major. He was retained as 
first lieutenant artillery corps. May 17, 1815, 
and from March, 1817, to April, 1818, was 
battalion adjutant. On April 25, 1818, he 
was promoted captain and transferred to the 
Fourth Artillery ; was brevetted major, April 
28, 1828, for "ten years of faithful service 
in one grade." He was commissioned major, 
June I, 1821, and assigned to the Third Artil- 
lery, and on December 2, 1843, was trans- 
ferred to the Second Artillery. He performed 
gallant service in the Seminole and Greek 
wars in Florida. He was commissioned lieu- 
tenant-colonel, August 16, 1846, and served 
with distinction during the Mexican war. On 
October 5, 1837, he was promoted colonel and 
transferred to the First Artillery. He was 
retired from active service because of failing 
health, October 26, 1861. 

He married, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 
December 6, 1831, Emily Sophia, daughter 
of Thomas Langdon-Elwyn, of Portsmouth, 
New Hampshire, born March 12, 1802. died 
March 13, 1878. Children: i. John, mentioned 
below. 2. Langdon. born November 20. 1834, 
died May 20, 1862 ; married, in Baltimore, 
Maryland, December 18, i860, Sophia Clap- 
ham, daughter of Josiah Pennington. 3. 
Ehvyn, born June, 1839, died November 8, 
1867 ; married, in Baltimore, April, i860, 
Lydia Hollingsworth, daughter of Captain 
Adams, United States navy. Mrs. Erving 
was a granddaughter of John Langdon, born 
in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, June 25, 
1 74 1. He became one of the most prominent 
citizens of the state, serving as delegate to 
the continental congress, 1775-76 and 1783; 
and was for several years a member of the 
house of representatives, being speaker of the 
house, 1776-82, 1804-05. He was president 
of New Hampshire in 1785, and in 1787 was 
delegate to the federal constitutional conven- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



521 



tion. He was governor of the state in 1788, 
1805-09-10-11, and served as United States 
.senator from New Hampshire, March 4, 1789, 
to March 3, 1801, being for some time presi- 
dent of that body. He decHned the appoint- 
ment of secretary of the navy in 181 1. In 
1812 he was the Democratic nominee for vice- 
president of the United States. He died in 
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, September 18, 
1819. Governor Langdon married, February 
3. 1776, Elizabeth Sherburne, and had one 
child, Elizabeth, born December 4, 1777. She 
married, July 16, 1797, Thomas Elwyn, and 
Tiad nine children. A daughter, Emily Sophia 
Langdon-Elwyn, married Colonel John Er- 
ving. United Stales Army, mentioned above. 
(V) John (6), son of Colonel John (5) 
and Emily Sophia (Langdon-Elwyn) Erving. 
was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, July 
6, 1833. After a five years' course of study 
at the Brothers Peugnet School in New York 
City, he entered the sophomore class of Har- 
vard University in 1850, and graduated in 
1853 with the degree of Bachelor of Arts 
In 1858 his alma mater conferred upon him 
the degree of master of arts. He entered the 
Harvard University Law School in 1853 and 
graduated in 1855 with the degree of LL.B 
In 1856 he was admitted to the bar in New 
York City, but for many years has been re- 
tired from active practice. He joined the 
Seventh Regiment New York National Guard, 
in i860, and was honorably discharged in 
1868. In 1861 and 1863 he served with his 
regiment in the war. He is a member of the 
Union League and Harvard clubs, and a 
charter member of the New York Bar As- 
sociation. Mr. Erving married, April 22, 
1862, Cornelia, second daughter of William 
Paterson Van Rensselaer, son of Stephen Van 
Rensselaer, of Albany, the last Patroon (see 
Van Rensselaer V). She was born Septem- 
ber 22, 1841. Children: i. Susan Van Rens- 
selaer, born May 11, 1863, died July i, 191 2 
2. Cornelia Van Rennsselaer, born April 6, 
1865; married (first) John V. L. Pruyn, June 
II, 1895; children: John V. L., Jr., born June 
6,- 1896, died May 17, 1897; Erving, born Oc- 
tober 26, 1897; Hendrik, born December 28, 
1900; she married (second) April 6, 1908, 
Hamilton L. Hoppin. 3. John Langdon, men- 
tioned below. 4. Emily Elwyn, born June 29, 
1868 ; married Henry Woodward Cooper, Jan- 



uary 22, 1895; he died April 30, 1912; chil- 
dren : Cornelia Van Rensselaer, born Febru- 
ary 6, 1896, died July 20, 1899; Lamberton, 
born February 16, 1900; John Erving, born 
September 30, 1905. 5. Sarah Elizabeth, born 
May 4, 1870; married, April 22, 1896, James 
Gore King; children: James Gore, Jr., born 
May 25, 1898. Eleanor Erving, born Novem- 
ber 29, 1900; Edward Ramsay, born May 20, 
1905, died October 21, 1907; Cornelia Van 
Rensselaer, born February 7, 191 1. 6. Wil- 
liam Van Rensselaer, born November 15, 1871 ; 
is a lawyer residing in Albany, where he is 
a representative of the estate of his grand- 
father, the late William Paterson Van Rens- 
selaer ; Mr. Erving was municipal civil ser- 
vice commissioner for ten years, and is now 
commissioner of public safety in Albany. 7. 
Katharine Van Rensselaer, born November 

19, 1873. 8. Eleanor Cecilia, born September 

20, 1875. 9. Frances Shirley, born Novem- 
ber 7, 1877, died September 29, 1878. 10. 
Walter Shirley, born January 3, 1880. 11. 
Justine Bayard, born December 22, 1881. 12. 
Philip Livingston, born March 12, 1884, died 
May II, 1885. 

(VI) John Langdon, son of John (6) and 
Cornelia (Van Rensselaer) Erving, was born 
on Manising Island, Rye, New York, July 
31, 1866. He was educated in private schools 
of New York City, and for twenty years was 
connected with the Mexican Cable Company. 
In January, 1885, he enlisted in the Sixth 
Company, Seventh Regiment New York Na- 
tional Guard. In August, 1887, he was com- 
missioned first lieutenant in the Twelfth Regi- 
ment. In March, 1895, he enlisted in Troop 
A, Second Army Corps, United States Army, 
and served with his troop in the campaign in 
Porto Rico during the Spanish-American war 
in 1898, and in the fall of this year was hon- 
orably discharged. He married, November 3, 
1904, Alice Hanchet Rutherford. Children: 
I. Alice Rutherford, born May 24, 1906. 2. 
Cornelia Van Rensselaer, born November 23, 
1907. 3. John Langdon, Jr., born August i, 
1909- " 

The surnames Dickey, Dick 
DICKEY and the like are manifestly de- 
rived from the personal or bap- 
tismal name Richard. Richard besides being 
itself a surname, like a number of other per- 



522 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



sonal names having the dual capacity, has 
given rise to other surnames. Among the 
surnames that have been derived from Rich- 
ard and its modifications in almost every 
country of Europe, are Richards, Richardson, 
MacRichard, Rich, Riche, Ritchie, Riches, 
Rick, Dick, Hitchin, Dix, Dickinson and so on. 
These names are common, some of them to 
every country in Europe, though Dickey is 
confined for the most part to England and 
Ireland. It is in some cases a rendering from 
the Gaelic term, MacRiocard, which is also 
in many cases rendered as Richardson. The 
Dickey family or rather families bearing the 
name of Dickey were known in America in 
the early part of the eighteenth century. 

(I) Robert Dickey, immigrant ancestor of 
the Dickey family, was born in Ireland, and 
died in New York City. He came from Ire- 
land in 1798 and was a shipping merchant in 
New York. He married Anne Brown. Chil- 
dren : Hugh T., Anne, Elizabeth, Jane, George, 
Robert, John, Charles Denston, mentioned be- 
low : Mary. 

(II) Charles Denston, son of Robert and 
Anne (Brown) Dickey, was born October 8, 
1818, in New York City, and died at Islip, 
Long Island, in 1897. He received his pre- 
liminary education in the schools of the city, 
and in 1835 entered the office of Brown 
Brothers & Company, remaining with the firm 
till his death in 1897. During this period he 
represented the house at various times in Sa- 
vannah, New Orleans and Mobile, and became 
a partner in 1859. In 1850 he married, at 
Greensboro, Alabama, Mary, born October 28, 
1825, daughter of Dr. John and Sophia 
(Graham) Witherspoon. Sophia (Graham) 
Witherspoon, mother of Mary (Witherspoon) 
Dickey, and grandmother of Charles Denston 
(2) Dickey, was a daughter of Governor Jo- 
seph Graham, of North Carolina. Children 
of Charles Denston and Mary (Witherspoon) 
Dickey: Eliza Goldthwaite, born in Mobile, 
Alabama, 1853; Charles Denston, mentioned 
below; Sophia Witherspoon, New York, 1864; 
Mary Witherspoon, New York, 1866. 

(III) Charles Denston (2), son of Charles 
Denston (i) and Mary (Witherspoon) 
Dickey, was born at Mobile, Alabama, May 
8, i860. He was educated in St. Paul's 
School, Concord, New Hampshire, and at Har- 
vard University, graduating in the class of 



1882. After leaving college he entered the 
office of Brown Brothers & Company. In 
1885 he became their representative in Phil- 
adelphia, where he lived for a period of about 
two years, afterwards returning to New York 
as a partner in the New York house. Mr. 
Dickey is a director of the Commercial Trust 
Company of New Jersey, trustee of the Green- 
wich Savings Bank, trustee of the London 
Assurance Corporation, director of the Mer- 
chants' National Bank of the City of New 
York, director of the Niagara Falls Power 
Company, United States trustee of the North- 
ern Assurance Company, Limited, of London, 
trustee of the Ocean Accident and Guarantee 
Corporation, and director of the United States 
Mortgage and Trust Company. Mr. Dickey 
also belongs to a number of leading clubs. 

He married, in New York City, March 14, 
1893, Louise, daughter of Stephen and Mar- 
garet (Johnson) Whitney, of New Haven. 
Children: Charles Denston (3), born Decem- 
ber 3, 1893; Stephen Whitney, January 2, 
1897; Lawrence Witherspoon, April 12, 1906. 



Originally spelled Rosseter, 
ROSSITER this name is of undoubted 
Saxon or Norman origin, and 
probably was carried into England with the 
conquering army of William the Norman. It 
is still a conspicuous one in England, as well 
as in the United States, and has borne its 
part in developing this country in the various 
branches of progress. 

(I) Sir Edward Rossiter, the founder of 
the family in the United States, came from a 
good substantial family of the English gentry, 
and owned a large estate in the county of 
Somerset, England. He was commissioned 
in London in 1629 as one of the assistants to 
Governor Winthrop, and embarked for the 
colonies from Plymouth, England, March 20, 
1630, in the ship "Mary and John," com- 
manded by Captain Syuet, with one hundred 
and forty persons abroad. Their original 
destination was the Charles river, but the cap- 
tain decided to land them at Dorchester Neck, 
at the end of a two months' voyage. In the 
histories of the colonies Edward is spoken of 
as a "godly man of good repute,"' who left 
England for the sake of religion. He lived to 
fill his position but a few months after his 
arrival in this country, and died October 23. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



523 



1630. There is no mention of Sir Edward's 
wife, and it is supposed that she had previ- 
ously died. 

(II) Dr. Brayard Rossiter, son of Sir Ed- 
ward Rossiter, was the only member of his 
family who came with him. He was accom- 
panied by his wife, Elizabeth (Alsop) Ros- 
siter, whom he had married in England. Dr. 
Rossiter is spoken of in history as a finely 
educated man from the best schools in Eng- 
land. He was one of the principal men who 
commenced the settlement of Windsor, Con- 
necticut, in 1636, where he was a magistrate 
for eighteen years, and became widely known 
as a physician. In 1652 he removed to Guil- 
ford, Connecticut. On March 11, 1662, he 
performed the first post-mortem examination 
in the Connecticut colony, and history has it 
that it was the first autopsy of which there 
is any record in New England, antedating by 
a dozen years the one in Boston, in 1674, an 
account of which is given by Dr. Greene in 
his "History of Medicine." Dr. Rossiter died 
in Guilford, September 30, 1672. He had five 
sons and five daughters, but the only son who 
had descendants was Josiah. 

(III) Josiah, son of Dr. Brayard and Eliza- 
beth (Alsop) Rossiter, was born in 1646, in 
Windsor, died January 31, 1716, in Guilford, 
whither he had removed with his father when 
a boy. He was one of the twelve patentees 
of the town of Guilford in 1685, and was a 
very prominent man in that community, fill- 
ing many official positions. He represented 
the town in the state legislature nine times, 
the last year being 1700. He was town clerk 
from 1695 to 17015, and from 1707 to 1716, 
the time of his death. In 1676 he was ensign 
of the local militia company; he served as 
county and probate judge of New Haven, 
Connecticut, and was for ten years one of the 
assistants of the governor, and was also the 
first naval officer of the port of Guilford. He 
married, in 1676, Sarah, daughter of the Hon, 
Samuel Sherman, of Stamford and Wood- 
bury, Connecticut, from whose grandfather 
descended Roger Sherman, one of the signers 
of the Declaration of Independence, General 
William Tecumseh Sherman and Senator John 
Sherman. Children of Josiah Rossiter : Sarah, 
who died young; Elizabeth, born in April, 
1679; Josiah (2), born March 31, 1680; 
Samuel, died young; Timothy, born June 5, 



1683; John born October 13, 1684; Samuel, 
born February 28, 1686 ,■* David, born April 
17, 1687; Jonathan, born April 3, 1688; 
Nathaniel, of whom further; Sarah, born Feb- 
ruary 25, 1691 ; Patience, born April 6, 1692; 
Johanna, born April 23, 1693. 

(IV) Ensign Nathaniel Rossiter, eighth son 
of Josiah and Sarah (Sherman) Rossiter, was 
born November 10, 1689, in Guilford, where 
he died October 4, 1751. He resided in his 
native town, and was a joiner by occupation. 
In 1716 his property was valued for taxation 
at fifty-eight pounds, nineteen shillings and six 
pence. He married Anna, daughter of Lieu- 
tenant Nathaniel Stone. She died April 20, 
1776, having survived her husband about a 
quarter of a century. Children: Nathaniel 
(2), born March 23, 1716; Benjamin, born 
September 25, 1718; Sarah, born June i, 1720; 
Noah, born April 15, 1725, died February, 
1757; David, born in October, 1728, died in 
September, 1731 ; Nathan, of whom further. 

(V) Nathan, youngest child of Ensign 
Nathaniel and Anna (Stone) Rossiter, was 
born October 31, 1730, in Guilford, died in 
1788, in Richmond, Berkshire county, Mass- 
achusetts. He settled in the latter town in 
1775, locating in the western part, a little over 
one mile west of the village of Richmond, at 
the intersection of two roads. He married, 
June 14, 1755, Sarah, daughter of Timothy 
and Bathsheba (Stone) Baldwin, of North 
Guilford, born July 24, 1735, in that town. 
Children: Nathan (2), of whom further; 
Noah, born June 5, 1759, resided on the 
paternal homestead; Abraham, died young; 
Sarah, born August 28, 1763; Abraham, born 
October 20, 1765, resided on the homestead; 
Samuel, born February 26, 1768 ; Benjamin, 
born November 23, 1771, lived in New York; 
Rebecca, born June 20, 1774. 

(VI) Nathan (2), eldest child of Nathan 
(i) and Sarah (Baldwin) Rossiter, was born 
in 1756, in Guilford. He settled in the south- 
ern part of the town of Williamstown, Berk- 
shire county. New York, where he was a 
prominent citizen, and died in 1829. His 
name appears frequently as a witness to deeds 
and other legal documents. He married Han- 
nah, daughter of Timothy and Hannah (Wad- 
hams) Tuttle, of Goshen, Connecticut, born 
there August 10, 1758. Children: Dr. David, 
born in February, 1783, died in February, 



524 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



1870; Timothy Tuttle, of whom further; 
Louis Nathan, born in 1788 ; MeHssa, born in 
1790, died in June, 1859; Edward. 

(VTI) Timothy Tuttle, second son of Na- 
than (2) and Hannah (Tuttle) Rossiter, was 
born in 1785, probably in Williamstown, 
though his birth is not there recorded. He 
died in that town, July 29, 1809, at the age of 
twenty-four years. He married Cynthia 
Powers. She married (second) intentions re- 
corded December 20, 1813, in WilHamstown, 
Charles Bulkeley, of Granville, Massachusetts. 
Son of Timothy Tuttle and Cynthia (Powers) 
Rossiter ; Lucius Tuttle, of whom further. 

(Vni) Lucius Tuttle, only son of Timothy 
Tuttle and Cynthia (Powers) Rossiter, was 
born October 2, 1809, in Williamstown. 
though not recorded there, and died August 
24, 1879, in Guilford, Connecticut. In 1843 
he went to St. Louis, Missouri, where he was 
a dry-goods merchant until 185 — , when he 
retired and settled in Brooklyn, New York. 
He always maintained a summer home in 
Guilford. Owing to business reverses in 1865 
he entered the service of the United States in 
the customs department in New York City, 
where he continued ten years. Following this 
he became secretary of the York County Iron 
Company, of York, Pennsylvania, but did not 
remove his residence from Brooklyn. He 
continued in this capacity until a short time 
before his death, being prevented by illness 
in his last years from further activity. He 
was a regular attendant of the Lafayette Ave- 
nue Presbyterian Church, of Brooklyn, and a 
steadfast supporter of Republican principles, 
but not an active politician. He married, 
August 28, 1843, at Troy, New York, Mary 
Wickes, bom January 30, 1817, at Jamaica, 
Long Island, died January 4, 1907, at the 
home of her daughter in New York City. 
She was a descendant of General Van Wyck 
Wickes, of Jamaica. Children of Lucius Tut- 
tle Rossiter and wife: i. Edward Van Wyck, 
of whom further. 2. Walter King, born 
May 25. 1846, died October i, 1910; married, 
April 26, 1 87 1, Emilie K. Mayo, daughter of 
Joshua C. Mayo. Children : i. Marie Louise 
born February 16, 1872. ii. Ethel Mayo, born 
March 28, 1874, married Peter Duncan Mc- 
Naughton; child, Walter, iii. Helen Wickes, 
born March 14, 1876. 3. William Wickes, of 
whom further. 4. Mary Wickes, bom Au- 



gust 19, 1849, died January, 1852. 5. Frank 
Powers, born August 19, 1852. 6. Anna, born 
October 7, 1853, died February, 1856. 7. 
Elizabeth, born December 12, 1854. 8. Lucius 
Tuttle, born September 4, 1856. 9. Arthur 
Lawrence, born October 18, 1857, died in 
August, 1858. 10. CHnton Lawrence. 

(IX) Edward Van Wyck, oldest child of 
Lucius Tuttle and Mary (Wickes) Rossiter, 
was born July 13, 1844, in St. Louis, Missouri, 
died December 10, 1910, at Flushing, New 
York. He was educated at the Collegiate and 
Polytechnic Institute, of Brooklyn, and upon 
attaining his majority became a clerk in the 
office of the Hudson River Railroad Company, 
where he continued two years. For the suc- 
ceeding seven years he was a clerk in the 
treasurer's ofifice of the same company, and 
from 1867 to 1877 was cashier of the com- 
pany. From 1877 to 1901 he was treasurer 
of the company, and after 1901 was vice-presi- 
dent of the New York Central & Hudson 
River Railroad Company, and from 1883 to 
1900 he was treasurer of the same company. 
After November 9, 1900, was vice-president of 
the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railroad 
Company, and since January 3, 1905, of the 
Michigan Central Railroad Company. He 
was a vice-president of the Cleveland, Cin- 
cinnati, Chicago & St. Louis Railway Com- 
pany, and an officer and director in other sub- 
sidiary companies of the New York Central 
system. He was a vice-president and a di- 
rector of the Lincoln National Bank of New 
York; vice-president and trustee of the Lin- 
coln Safe Deposit Company ; trustee of the 
Bowery Savings Bank ; director of the Queens 
Insurance Company of America; and also of 
many coal and other corporations. He was a 
member of the Chamber of Commerce of New 
York ; New England Society of New York, 
and of the Union League Club ; and for many 
years he was a warden of St. George's Pro- 
testant Episcopal Church, of Flushing. He 
married, at Great Neck, Long Island, June 
16, 1S69, Estelle Hewlett, born 1845. daughter 
of Joseph Lawrence and Mary (Cromwell) 
Hewlett, of Hewlett's Point, Great Neck, Long 
Island. Children: i. Edward Lawrence, of 
whom further. 2. Estelle Hewlett, born Oc- 
tober 6, 1872 ; married, November, 1898, 
Charles Edward Titus, and resides in New 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



525 



York City; children: Arthur Rossiter, born 
November, 1899; Charles Edward, March, 
1902. 3. Arthur Wickes, of whom further. 
4. Frank Herriman, born March, 1878; con- 
nected with the accounting department of the 
New York Central Railroad. 5. Mary Hew- 
lett, residing in New York City. 6. Ernest 
Tuttle, born April, 1884; graduated from a 
school in Pomfret, Connecticut; unmarried; 
resides in New York City. 

(X) Edward Lawrence, eldest child of Ed- 
ward Van Wyck and Estelle (Hewlett) Ros- 
siter, was bom August 14, 1870, at Great 
Neck, Long Island. He was educated in 
Flushing Institute, and in 1887, at the age of 
seventeen years, entered business as a clerk 
in the office of the New York Central & Hud- 
son River Railroad Company. In 1900 he 
became assistant treasurer of the same, and 
in November, 1902, became treasurer. Since 
December, 1910, he has been a director of the 
Lincoln National Bank of New York ; is a 
director in a number of subsidiary companies 
of the New York Central railroad system. 
For two years he was a member of the Seventh 
Regiment, National Guard State of New 
York, receiving his discharge about 1897. He 
is a member of Christ (Protestant Episcopal) 
Church, of Greenwich, Connecticut, and is 
identified with numerous clubs, including the 
LTnion League of New York, Transportation, 
Greenwich Country, and Field of Greenwich. 
Politically he is an Independent. He now 
resides at Greenwich, Connecticut. 

Mr. Rossister married, June 5, 1895, i" 
Brooklyn, Ella Fowler, a graduate of Packer 
Institute, born October 29. 1875, daughter of 
Henry J. and Sarah (Quimby) Fowler, of 
Brooklyn, New York. Children : Lawrence 
Fowler, born March 23, 1896, in Brooklyn, 
now a member of the class of 1913, afthe Al- 
len-Stevenson School, of New York City ; 
Dorothy, a student at the Ely School of Green- 
wich. 

(X) Arthur Wickes, second son of Edward 
Van Wyck and Estelle (Hewlett) Rossiter, 
was born October 8, 1874, at Flushing, Long 
Island. He attended the Flushing Institute 
and Drisler's private school of New York 
City. In 1892, at the age of eighteen, he 
entered the employ of J. W. Davis & Com- 
pany, bankers and brokers (then located at 
No. 66 Broadway, but now at No. 100 Broad- 



way), as a boy, and since then has filled by 
steady advancement every position in the busi- 
ness. In 1900 he became a member of the 
firm. At the present time (1913) he is one 
of the active members of the Stock Exchange. 
He holds membership in the Union Club, 
Racquet and Tennis Club, Automobile Club, 
the Stock Exchange Lunch Club, the Nassau 
Country Club, the Piping Rock Country Club, 
and the Oakland Golf Club. ■ He is a Re- 
publican in politics. He resides at Glen Cove, 
Long Island. 

He married, in 1906, Alice Riggs Colgate, 
of Flushing, Long Island, daughter of Robert 
and Henrietta (Craig) Colgate. Children: 
Henrietta Craig, born March 22, 1907; Arthur 
Wickes, Jr., born March 30, 1908. 

(IX) William Wickes, son of Lucius Tuttle 
and Mary (Wickes) Rossiter, was born in 
Troy, February 9, 1848, and died in Brook- 
lyn, April 27, 1897. As a merchant in general 
produce he began business with the firm of 
Wallace & Wickes ; afterwards the company 
was reorganized under the name of Rossiter & 
Skidmore, and Mr. Rossiter was its principal 
member until the time of his death. He was 
also the president of the Terminal Warehouse 
Company, in New York City. He was a Re- 
publican and a member of the Presbyterian 
church. He was prominent in the social and 
club life of Brooklyn, serving on the boards of 
such organizations as the Hamilton Club, Chil- 
dren's Aid Society, etc. He married (first) 
in Brooklyn, August 2, 1870, Emma L., daugh- 
ter of Robert Richmond, who was born in 
Brooklyn, in 1849, and died October 23. 18S8; 
(second) Helen, daughter of James Hendrick, 
of Albany, New York. All his children were 
by the first wife. Her father, Robert Rich- 
mond, was born in Scotland, and came to 
America at the age of twenty-one, and died in 
1879. Children: Van Wyck, of whom further: 
Julie, born January 21, 1875, married, April 
29, 1896, John J. Hinchman ; William Wickes. 
born November 13, 1877. 

(X) Van Wyck, son of William Wickes 
and Emma L. (Richmond) Rossiter, was born 
in Brooklyn, May 12, 1871. After having had 
a thorough preliminary course of study in the 
Holbrook School, Ossinning, he completed his 
education at the Polytechnic Institute, of 
Brooklyn. His first business experience was 
with H. A. Rogers, at No. 19 John Street, 



526 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



New York City ; but this position he was after 
a time compelled to give up on account of ill 
health, and going out to California for re- 
cuperation, he remained for a year. In 1893 
he organized the firm of Rossiter, McGovern 
& Company, the company being incorporated 
in 1899, and Mr. Rossiter serving as its presi- 
dent until he retired from the business. He 
was also president of the Queensboro Electric 
Light & Power Company, of the borough of 
Queens, New York City; of the Citizens' Elec- 
tric Lighting Company, of Far Rockaway, 
Long Island, New York ; of the Liberty Light 
& Power Company, of Liberty, Sullivan 
county. New York, and a director of many 
other companies. He organized and was for 
six years the president of the Rockland County 
Trust Company ; is president of the Gregory 
& Sherman Company, and of the Braeburn 
Association, all three of these organizations 
being of Nyack, Rockland county, New York, 
Mr. Rossiter making his home at Upper 
Nyack. He is president of the Nyack 
Country Club, and is a member of the Union 
League Club, of New York City. In politics 
he is a Republican, and he has served as 
village trustee of Upper Nyack. 

Mr. Rossiter married, in California, Octo- 
ber 10, 1895, Mabel, daughter of Lewis Cass 
and Anna L. (Davis) Fuller, who was born 
in Portland, Oregon. Her father was a well- 
known banker of that state. Children: Rich- 
mond, born November 8, 1896; Ruth Mabel, 
born September 29, 1897; Van Wyck, born 
May 26, 1900; Margaret, born April 22, 1901 ; 
Elizabeth, born July 23, 191 1. 



This old Dutch family has been con- 
SIP tinuously located in New Jersey for 
two and a half centuries, and seven 
generations have been born in one house, lo- 
cated at the south corner of Bergen Avenue 
and Newkirk Street in Jersey City. This 
house was built by Adraen Hendrickse Sip 
about 1664, and is still occupied by his lineal 
descendant, who was born there. 

(I) Adraen Hendrickse Sip, of Breda, Hol- 
land, came to America in 1641, and joined the 
church in Bergen, November 13, 1666. The 
house which he built there in 1664 is still 
standing in almost its original form. The 
h-omes of that period were usually one-story 



structures built of stone or wood and some- 
times of both, and were comfortable and 
hospitable in appearance. The steep roof 
curved slightly toward the lower part and often 
extended beyond the walls to form a piazza, 
the edge being supported by pillars. There 
were spacious rooms on either side of a wide 
hall which ran through the middle of the house, 
and the attic contained several sleeping apart- 
ments, a spinning and loom room and a store- 
room. A very fair example of one of these 
is the Sip homestead. Adraen H. Sip married 
(first) February 4, 1656, Grietje Warnants 
Van Schonevelt, and (second) Geertje Aur- 
ians, a widow, who survived him and died May 
17, 1691. Children: Henricus, Jan Arianse, 
Antje, became the wife of Symon Jacobse 
Van Winkle ; Maritje, married Sibi Opdyke. 
He was one of the original purchasers on 
January 30, 1658, of the Peninsula between 
the Hudson and Hackensack rivers, south 
from Weehawken to Bergen Point, from the 
Indians, which was finally granted to the in- 
habitants of Bergen in the year 1661. 

(II) Jan Arianse, second son of Adraen 
Hendrickse and Grietje Warnants (Van 
Schonevelt) Sip, was born May 24, 1662, died 
August 12, 1729. He was an important and 
influential person in the town of Bergen. He 
was lieutenant in the Bergen militia under 
Captain John Pinhorne from 1703 to 171 1, 
and later captain. He married, April 22, 1683, 
Johanna Van Vorst. Children, all baptized in 
New York: Arie, born October 25, 1684, bap- 
tized November 11, 1684: Hillegend, bap- 
tized August 28, 1687 ; Ide, twin of Hillegond, 
died in infancy; Margaret, August 17, 1690; 
Annetje, February 22, 1693; Ide, mentioned 
below: Johannis. born May 10, 1698; Abra- 
ham, April II, 1704; Lena, baptized Decem- 
ber I, 1708. 

(III) Ide, son of Jan Arianse and Johanna 
(Van Vorst) Sip, was born September 3, 1695, 
in Bergen, and died February 26, 1762. He 
was commissioned lieutenant of the Sixth 
Company of the Bergen militia under captain 
Michael C. Vreeland. March 13, 17^3, and 
was active in the affairs of the town. He mar- 
ried (first) April 12, 1715, at Hackensack, 
Ariantje Cornelisse Cadmuys, a native of 
Passaic, and (second) June 9. 1725, in New 
York, Antje Van Wagenen, born about 1704, 
daughter of Johannis and Catalyntje (Hel- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



527 



migse) Van Wagenen, died January 25, 1749. 
Children of second marriage : John, Cornelius, 
Annetje, Catalyntje, born August 5, 1731 ; Ar- 
riantje, baptized June 2, 1733; Jannetje, Sep- 
tember 30, 1735; Garret, mentioned below. 

(IV) Garret, youngest child of Ide and 
Antje (Van Wagenen) Sip, was baptized Au- 
gust 21, 1740, in Bergen, and died October 
4, 1775. He married Jannetje Merselis, who 
survived him almost fifty years, dying October 
4, 1775. Children: Antje, born September 6, 
1764; Peter, mentioned below; Jenneke, 
March 12, 1770. 

(V) Peter, only son of Garret and Jannetje 
(Merselis) Sip. was born August 18, 1767, 
in Bergen, and died May i, 1852. He was a 
jurist of the finest type, being judge of the 
Bergen Court of Common Pleas, and in 1840 
was elected county judge of Hudson county 
by the Republican party, of which he was an 
earnest supporter. He was the founder of 
the New Jersey Railroad & Transportation 
Company; Newark Plank Road Company; 
Mechanics Bank, Newark ; Jersey City & Ber- 
gen railroad, which has since grown to enor- 
mous proportions He married, November i, 
1789, Elizabeth Vreeland, who died March i, 
1827. Children: Garret, born March 11, 1791 ; 
Marritje, February 27, 1795 ; Richard, men- 
tioned below. 

(VI) Richard, second son of Peter and Eli- 
zabeth (Vreeland) Sip, was born August 31, 
1800, in Bergen, and died April 10, 1865. He 
was engaged in looking after his father's es- 
tate, and bv his good judgment and foresight 
the value of the property was greatly increased. 
He was a member of the Dutch Reformed 
church of Bergen, now Jersey City, and in 
politics was a Republican. He married, in 
Jersey City, September 5, 1856, Sarah Eliza- 
beth Wayland, born July 31, 1818, in New 
York City, died October 20, 1910, daughter 
of Letitia Wayland, born in Bath, England, 
June 22, 1789, died July 12, 1864. They had 
one son, Richard Garret, mentioned below. 

(VII) Richard Garret, only son of Richard 
and Sarah Elizabeth (Wayland) Sip, was 
born July 2, i860, in Jersey City, New Jer- 

■ sey. He first attended private schools in New 
York City, and later Professor Anthon's 
Grammar School, where he remained until he 
was sixteen years of age, when he entered 
the School of Mines. He studied Chemistry 



and Mining Engineering. He then made an 
extensive tour of the world in a 560-ton bark, 
when he returned to Jersey City He is now 
retired and is living in the old homestead built 
by Adraen Hendrickse Sip in 1664. In poli- 
tics he is a Republican. Mr. Sip is vice-presi- 
dent of the Holland Society of New York, 
president of the Hudson County Holland So- 
ciety, and of the Alpha Beta Delta. He is a 
charter member of the Carteret Club of Jersey 
City, Indian Harbor Yacht Club, Lake Hopat- 
cong YacTit Club, Manhattan Bicycle Club, 
New York, and member of Chamber of Com- 
merce, Jersey City, New Jersey. 

Mr. Sip married, December 31, 1889, in 
Jersey City, Mary Ella Riker, born March 
26, 1863, in Jersey City, daughter of John 
Kidney and Martha Ann (Van Derlinder) 
Riker. The latter was born December 16, 
1832, and died November 9, 1908, in Jersey 
City. John K. Riker was engaged in the hotel 
business. He died April 14, 1867. Mr. and 
Mrs. Riker had children : John Romine, born 
October, 1855; Henry H., December 3, 1857; 
Albert : Mary Ella, above mentioned as the 
wife of Richard Garret Sip. 



Captain John Luther was born 
LUTHER in Shrewsbury, England. He 

set sail from Dorset county, 
England, for the new world, landing in Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts, in 1635. and in 1637 was 
one of the first purchasers and settlers of 
Swansea ; his ninety acres of land were said 
to have been purchased from the Indians for 
a peck of white beans. It is quite probable 
that the land was assigned by the government 
and the peck of beans merely quieted any 
claim made by the Indians. He sold his in- 
terests there and in 1642 became one of the 
fir.st settlers of Gloucester; in the same year 
he was made governor of Rhode Island. He 
was employed by the merchants of Boston as 
captain of a vessel to go to Delaware Bay on 
a trading voyage, and while there was killed 
by the Indians in 1644. Evidently his son was 
captured at the same time, for on May 2, 1646, 
the general court of Massachusetts decreed 
that the widow Luther should have the balance 
of her husband's wages according to the cus- 
tom, after allowing the merchants what they 
paid for the redemption of her son. Children: 



528 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Samuel, of whom further; Hezekiah, of whom 
further, and James. 

(II) Rev. Samuel Luther, son of Captain 
John Luther, was born in 1636, in Taunton, 
and died December 20, 1716, at Kickemuit, 
Rhode Island. He was among the first set- 
tlers of Swansea, Massachusetts, in 1667, and 
made a demand upon the town of Taunton, 
October 19, 1672, for his father's purchase 
rights, but it was shown that his brother had 
been for many years in peaceful possession of 
the property and his appeal was denied. He 
served as selectman of Swansea before 1675. 
His wife bore the baptismal name of Mary, 
and they had children ; Samuel, born October 
25, 1663; Theophilus, October 9, 1665; Mary, 
July 25, 1668; Ebenezer, December 27, 1678; 
Mehitable, married Ebenezer Cole; Martha, 
married Huge Cole. The first four are re- 
corded at Rehoboth. 

(II) Hezekiah, son of Captain John Luther, 
was born about 1639-40, in Taunton, and died 
July 23, 1723, in Swansea, Massachusetts, 
where he was one of the first settlers, in asso- 
ciation with his brother Samuel. His descend- 
ants continued to itside there and in Rehoboth. 
and in Warren and other towns in Rhode 
Island. His first wife bore the name of Eliza- 
beth, and his second that of Sarah, Children 
of first wife, born in Swansea: John, born 
1663, died 1697; Nathaniel, 1664, married, 
June 28, 1693, Ruth Cole. Children of second 
wife: Joseph, born February 12, 1669, died 
March 23, 1736; Elizabeth, December 29, 
1671, married John Kinnicutt ; Edward, April 
27, 1674, married (first) Sarah Callender, 
(second) Elizabeth Mason; Hezekiah, men- 
tioned below; Hannah, married Dr. Richard 
Winslow. 

(III) Hezekiah (2), fifth son of Hezekiah 

(i) and Sarah ( ) Luther, was born 

August 27, 1676. in Swansea, and married. 
March 23, 1704, Martha Gardner. They were 
the parents of twelve children. 

(IV) Hezekiah (3), .son of Hezekiah (2) 
and Martha (Gardner) Luther, was born Feb- 
ruary 19, 1728, in Swansea, where he resided. 
He married, December 23, 1750, Mary Jolls, 
and they were the parents of eight children : 
Hannah, born 175 1 ; William, mentioned be- 
low; Mehitable, 1755; Israel, 1757; Elizabeth, 
1759; Rebecca, 1761 ; Hezekiah and Hopestill 
(twins), 1763. 



(V) William, eldest son of Hezekiah (3) 

and Mary (Jolls) Luther, was born December 
31, 1752, and died at sea, May 11, 1784. He 
was a soldier of the revolution, serving first 
under Captain Ezra Ormsbee, of the town of 
Warren, in 1776, and in 1781 in Captain Cur- 
tis Cole's company of Colonel Nathan Miller's 
regiment. Caleb Salisbury was a soldier in 
the same companies, as was also his relative 
Gideon Luther. He married, about 1774, 
Patience Miller, and they were the parents of 
the following children, born in Warren : James 
Miller, October 23, 1776; Hezekiah, Novem- 
ber 26, 1778 ; Asa, mentioned below ; William. 
April I, 1784. The mother married (second) 
Caleb Salisbury. 

(VI) Asa, third son of William and Pa- 
tience (Miller) Luther, was born April 24, 
1781, in Warren, Rhode Island, and settled 
when a young man in Albany county, New 
York. Thence he removed to Saratoga 
county, where he engaged in the manufacture 
of pottery ware and lived until his death. He 
married Phebe Purinton, a native of Saratoga 
county, and they were the parents of three 
children: John Purinton, George W., and 
Caroline. 

(VII) George Washington, son of Asa and 
Phebe (Purinton) Luther, was born October 
5, 1815, in Saratoga county, New York, and 
died May 10, 1889, in Albany. For more than 
forty years he conducted a retail coal busi- 
ness in Albany, and was successful in business 
and esteemed as a private citizen. He mar- 
ried Phebe Andrews, born March 28. 1813. in 
Stillwater, Saratoga county, and died in Al- 
bany, September 23, 1882, daughter of 
Machiavel Andrews ; her father was a prom- 
inent civil engineer, residing in Stillwater, 
Saratoga county, and constructed vari- 
ous water works in the state of Pennsylvania, 
and was chief engineer in charge of construc- 
tion of the Delaware & Hudson canal. George 
W. Luther and wife have three children: i. 
Ellen Elizabeth, wife of Edward Gary, who 
has been for several years editor of the New 
York Times, and has a daughter Elisabeth 
Luther Gary. 2. John Asa. 3. George Mar- 
tin, mentioned below. 

(VIII) George Martin, junior son of 
George W. and Phebe (Andrews) Luther, was 
born .'\ugust 25, 1849. '" Greenbush, \'an 
Rensselaer countv. New York, and attended 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



529 



Albany Academy. Entering Cornell Univers- 
ity, he graduated in 1870, in his twenty-first 
year, after which he continued to reside at 
home, assisting his father in business until 
1885. In the last named year he removed to 
New York City and engaged in the manufac- 
turing business, becoming treasurer of the C. 
W. Hunt Company of New York, in which 
position he continued until 1890. At this 
time the Nichols Chemical Company was 
formed and Mr. Luther became its secretary, 
and soon after was made secretary and gen- 
eral manager of the Nichols Copper Company 
of New York, in which relation he has con- 
tinued until the present time. He is also presi- 
dent of the Granby Consolidated Mining 
Smelting and Power Company. Ltd., of Brit- 
ish Columbia, and is vice-president of the 
Albert Mines Company of Canada. He is a 
member of the Albany Society of New York. 
He married, February 12, 1873, Mary H. 
Gould, born in Albany, New York, daughter 
of William and Sarah (Hartness) Gould. 
Mr. and Mrs. Luther are the parents of two 
daughters: Mary Gould and Phebe Andrews. 
The" latter is the wife of Philip Lee Gill, of 
Brooklyn, New York, and is mother of Philip 
Lee Gill Jr., born in that borough. 



The Saugerties and Albany 
MYERS families of the Myer or Myers 

name are descendants of Chris- 
tian Myers, who was born in the village of 
Wolferlingen, about six miles northeast of 
Coblenz, in the Palatinate on the banks of 
the Rhine, March 11, 1688, and died in Sau- 
gerties, New York, January 5, 1781. He 
and his wife are buried on the old Christian 
Myers farm at Churchland, town of Sauger- 
ties, New York. He married, 1710, Ann Geer 
trury Theunyes, born May 15, 1690, died Jan- 
uary 9, 1766. Christian Myers and wife, with 
the Palatinate emigration, arrived in New 
York, June 24, 1710, remaining with Governor 
Robert Hunter during the summer, and were 
then transported to West Camp, Ulster county 
New York, the exact date of their arrival 
there not being known, nor the length of their 
stay at that place. We next hear of him as 
the purchaser of the farm at Churchland, just 
west of the village of Saugerties, February 24, 
1724, and there he spent his remaining days. 
In the course of time he added a large tract of 



land to his original purchase, and this was 
later apportioned as farms among several of 
his sons. He also erected a mill on the Mud- 
dah Kill. In 1738 he was named as one of 
the freeholders of Kingston, and he was an 
elder in the Kaatsbaan church. His will, ex- 
ecuted March 15, 1773, proved May 8, 1783, 
bequeaths to his sons Willem, Johannis, Ben- 
jamin (of whom further), Petrus and Tobias; 
and children of his son Christian, deceased, 
and heirs of his daughters, Marytje, Christina 
and Catrina (deceased), and his daughter 
Geertje ; it also liberates and provides for his 
old slave Cut? during his life. 

(II) Benjamin, son of Christian and Ann 
Geertruy (Theuyes) Myers, born October 21, 
1730, died December 12, 1819. He married 
Leah, daughter of Teunis and Catrina (Legg) 
Osterhoudt, the banns of marriage being pub- 
lished August 13, 1756. Children: i. Teunis, 
of whom further. 2. Christian, born June 5, 
1759; unmarried. 3. Stephanus, born Decem- 
ber 27, 1760, died March, 1841 ; married Helen 
Low. 4, Petrus, born November 17, 1762, 
died March, 1841. 5. Catherine, born April 
10, 1769; married David Myer. 6. Annetje 
(or Anna), born June 23, 1772; married Isaac 
Vandenberg. 7. Marytje, born May 10, 1775; 
married Tjerck Schoonmaker, Sr. 8. Solomon, 
born October i, 1786; died unmarried. 

(HI) Teunis. son of Benjamin and Leah 
(Osterhoudt) Myers, was born in 1757, and 
died November 22, 183 1. He resided at Sau- 
gerties, New York, where he owned consider- 
able property, on which was a stone house 
typical of the period and bearing upon its 
portals the date of its erection, 1746. This 
house was not far from Mount Marion, in 
the Catskill mountains, a beautiful location 
for a residence. It was long and low, with 
an unusually steep roof, and was still stand- 
ing in 1910. Teunis Myers married, 1781, 
Cornelia, daughter of John Legg, who resided 
where in 1910 was the Shefifield place, now 
the property of Henry Barclay, of Saugerties. 
Cornelia (Legg) Myers was an intimate friend 
of the wife of George Clinton, and when the 
British proceeded up the Hudson, working 
devastation, she witnessed the burning of 
Kingston, October 13, 1777. Children: i. Ben- 
jamin Teunis, of whom further. 2. Jane, born 
September 17, 1793, died November, 1872; 
married Peter G. Post, born January 19, 1792. 



530 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



3. Solomon, born July 14, 1798; married Eliza- 
beth Goodwin. 

(IV) Benjamin Teunis, son of Teunis and 
Cornelia (Legg) Myers, was born at Platt- 
skill, Ulster county, New York, May 9, 1783, 
died at Saugerties, January 31, 1869. He was 
originally a farmer on a somewhat large scale, 
supplying the neighborhood and river towns 
with the produce from his estate, but in the 
later years of his life he was able to retire 
from business cares and all activities in Sau- 
gerties, where he lived the greater part of his 
life. He married, at Plattskill, September 2, 
1804, Sarah, only daughter of Johannes and 
Leah (Myer) Snyder, and granddaughter of 
Colonel Johannes Snyder, of Ulster county, 
who was colonel of the First Regiment of 
Ulster, May i, 1776, also delegate to the pro- 
vincial congress, member of the council of 
safety, member of assembly, and president five 
terms of the board of trustees of Kingston 
corporation. Sarah (Snyder) Myers inherited 
a number of slaves as a portion of her dowry, 
one of whom (Flora) taught Mrs. S. M. Tay- 
lor to knit, and another was known as "Old 
Rub." 

(V) John Benjamin, child of Benjamin 
Teunis and Sarah (Snyder) Myers, was born 
at Brabant, near Kingston, New York, Febru- 
ary 27, 1806, and died in the town of Mentz, 
near Port Byron, New York, February 27, 
1861, buried in Fort Hill Cemetery, Auburn. 
New York. His birth took place on a farm 
rented of a Mr. Cockburn by his father, who 
soon purchased a farm where the other chil- 
dren were born. He married, at Saugerties, 
August 12, 1828, Arriet, daughter of Captain 
John Gillespy, who had a record as a fighter 
in the American cause, and was son of Major 
John Gillespy, who engaged in the French and 
Indian wars, and afterwards in the war of the 
Revolution as a member of the Fourth Ulster 
County Militia. Captain John Gillespy fought 
at the head of his company in the War of 
1812; for a time he was stationed on Staten 
Island. Children: i. Benjamin Gillespy, born 
at Saugerties, August 20, 1829, died at No. 
372 Clinton avenue, Albany, New York, 
March 5;, 1901 ; married, at Port Byron, New 
York, November 23, 1858: Minerva Kerns; 
children: Howard Gillespy, born at Port 
Byron; Leila Whitney, born in New York 
City; Lotta Wright, born in New York City. 



2. John Gillespy, of whom further. 3. Sarah, 
born September 21, 1833; was residing in Al- 
bany in 1910; married, at Port Byron, May 
28, 1863, Captain David Austin Taylor; chil- 
dren: John Myers, born near Port Byron; 
Lawrence Hartshorne, born at Camden, New 
Jersey ; Grace Brown, born at Oneida, New 
York ; Ernest Chandler, born at Guineys, Vir- 
ginia ; Marion Lee, bom at Albany, New York ; 
Bessie Myers, born at Albany. 4. Jason Gil- 
lespy, born January 25, 1840; unmarried. 5. 
Lavinia, died at Albany, October 29, 1855, 
buried at Auburn, New York. 6. Elizabeth, 
born near Port Byron; died young. 7. Eliza- 
beth (2d), living at present time (1913). 8. 
Selina, married, at Auburn, New York, July 
10, 1878, S. Henry Atwater ; children: Wini- 
fred Moore, born at Windham, New York; 
Reginald Myers, born at Canon City, Colorado. 
(VI) John Gillespy, son of John Benjamin 
and Arriet (Gillespy) Myers, was born in 
Saugerties, New York, August 4, 1832, died in 
Albany, December i, 1901. Until the age of 
eight years he lived with his parents on their 
farm in their typical Dutch farm house in the 
shadow of Mount Marion, in the Catskill 
mountain range. About that time his father 
selected better land than the rocky soil 
of Ulster county, purchasing a tract 
near Montezuma, Cayuga county, and 
here his son aided him in agricultural 
pursuits. When fourteen years old he 
returned to Saugerties and began his business 
career as a store boy and general clerk for 
his uncle, P. M. Gillespy. He had been accus- 
tomed from early youth to dispose of the 
produce of his father's farm, and he acquired 
a strong tendency for trade, made keen by his 
competition with other lads of the neighbor- 
hood. The connection with the store in a 
minor capacity -simply interested and aroused 
him to make more rapid progress in some- 
thing better. But until he became of age he 
remained in the employ of his uncle, except 
such times as he was engaged in study in the 
little red school house. He was fond of read- 
ing and very quick to observe, so that he ac- 
quired much knowledge even when not in 
school, and what he learned in this fashion he 
was clever enough to turn to good account in 
later life. Even in those days he possessed a 
keen insight into character, a faculty for de- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



cision and rapid action, and these governed 
him throughout his life. 

When twenty-one years old he became asso- 
ciated with two men in the conduct of a gen- 
eral country store at Port Byron, Cayuga 
county, but this partnership did not last long, 
and finally he was left in sole possession to 
dispose of the stock for the benefit of the cred- 
itors. He succeeded in doing this by means 
of a trip through the west, and the result was 
that through his ability every creditor was paid 
in full. After this he obtained a position in 
the large wholesale house of Clapp & Kent, 
clothing and dry goods merchants of New 
York City, and was rapidly promoted. At the 
commencement of the rebellion he started in 
business for himself in New York, securing 
for a location the corner of Bleecker and 
Christopher streets, and here he made some 
money. In 1865 he formed a partnership with 
William M. Whitney, in Albany, where they 
succeeded the firm of Ubsdell, Pierson & 
Lenox, in the dry goods business, and the store 
on North Pearl street. Albany, was known 
as the "New York Store." It was by far the 
largest of its kind in Albany, and was a pro- 
nounced success. This partnership continued 
five years, when it was dissolved, each partner 
continuing in business for himself. Mr. Myers 
opened another large store at Nos. 39-41 
North Pearl street. An incident in its his- 
tory was a catastrophe on the morning of 
August 8, 1905, when, during the course of 
repairs and alterations, the floors sank, and as 
a result the handsome new building was erected 
immediately upon the site of the old one, and 
is a leading adornment of the business section 
of the city. But of far more importance than 
a beautiful building in showing the character 
of the merchant, stands the system inaugurated 
by him through which method the employees 
receive each year proportionate financial re- 
turns dependent upon the success of the year, 
and it is safe to say that no employees are 
more interested in doing their best by co- 
operation than are these, and at the same 
time he gained what he most desired — their 
good will and high regard. 

The business career of Mr. Myers knew 
no wavering from that time on. His strict 
attention even to details, and thorough know- 
ledge of the requirements of each depart- 
ment, to make for absolute success, were the 
great factors which brought such excellent 



1136098 



531 



results. As his wealth increased he became 
associated with the development of local en- 
terprise, and his name was valued on dififer- 
ent boards and companies for it was a guar- 
antee of high standard. While aiding many 
institutions liberally, probably more so in 
some instances than any other citizen, he was 
decidedly averse to any publicity. He was 
among the four special commissioners ap- 
pointed from among the citizens by the mayor, 
in 1891, to investigate means by which an in- 
creased and purer water supply could be se- 
cured to the city, which was prior to the 
attempt to acquire a driven well supply and 
the installation of the filtration system. 

He joined the Holland Society, December 
7, 1888, as one of the earliest members, and 
always took a decided interest therein. He 
also joined Philip Livingston Chapter, Sons 
of the Revolution, and aided in all of its 
movements. He was a member of the Fort 
Orange Club, and his religious association was 
with the Presbyterian faith. In politics he 
was a staunch Republican throughout his life, 
and a firm believer in the policies of that 
party. He was president of the Albany Hos- 
pital, which probably interested him more than 
any other institution in the city with which 
he was associated, and it received his most 
liberal support and thoughtful attention. He 
was a governor of the Albany Orphan Asy- 
lum, a director of the Albany railway ; vice- 
president of the Merchants' National Bank 
in 1880; trustee of the Albany Female Acad- 
emy, now known as the Albany Girls' Acad- 
emy, and in the erection of its new and hand- 
some edifice he played an important part ; was 
first vice-president of the newly organized 
Albany Trust Company, and had been a lead- 
ing spirit in its organization as one of the 
foremost business institutions ; vice-president 
of the Commerce Insurance Company ; and 
a trustee of the Albany Rural Cemetery. 

The death of Mr, Myers occurred on a 
Sunday morning, at his home, No. 240 State 
Street, Albany, following an illness of a few 
weeks' duration. In his demise the citizens 
as a body felt that from their midst had been 
removed one who had been respected among 
the best of them, and who had been a pillar 
of strength to many philanthropic institutions. 
His honesty and painstaking measures had 
brought about a success well merited and far 
beyond the average. His mode of living had' 



532 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



been simple, although his home was one of 
the most beautiful in the city, and his bene- 
factions were the unostentatious acts of a 
man bent upon doing good, tlis associates 
in business admired his straightforward, 
manly methods, imd those who met him so- 
cially were impressed by his charming person- 
ality. Both in public and in the privacy of 
his family he lived the conscientious, kindly 
life of a Christian. The Albany Hospital, 
having long received the benefits of his coun- 
sel and benefactions, felt his loss keenly, and 
the board declared that "while his death is a 
loss to the whole city, it falls especially upon 
the hospital board, and on the benevolent work 
in which with them he was so deeply inter- 
ested." He had been governor of this insti- 
tution for many years, and both his wisdom 
and liberality had been of the greatest ser- 
vice, with a record of never having been ab- 
sent from a meeting when possible to attend 
When the work of constructing a new hos- 
pital was begun, his contributions created one 
of the pavilions, and were also an encourage- 
ment to those struggling with the enormous 
undertaking. 

John Gillespy Myers married, at Cayuga, 
New York, August 19, 1857, Mary Augusta 
Young, the Rev. Frederick Starr, of Auburn, 
officiating. She was born at Auburn, Febru- 
ary 22, 1833, died at her home in Albany, 
February 9, 1904, daughter of Jacob Young, 
of Auburn, who enlisted at the age of sixteen 
years, served in the War of 1812, and was 
present at the sortie at Fort Erie ; and grand- 
daughter of Christian Young, who served 
throughout the Revolution, and received his 
honorable discharge, which is signed by Gen- 
,eral George Washington. 

During their long residence in Albany Mr. 
and Mrs. Myers co-operated with each other 
in philanthropic work, she making good use 
of the means placed at her disposal for the 
alleviation of suffering and the comfort of 
the afflicted. But the good accomplished was 
not allowed to reach the public ear, for it was 
her own pleasure akin to her nature. She 
was a woman of sympathetic nature, and 
more than willing to listen to appeals. She 
was a member of the State Presbyterian 
Church, aided in its various interests, belong- 
ing also to a number of local institutions. Of 
her it was said : "When the final honors have 
been paid to her mortality, and her last rest- 



ing place on earth has become a reality, the 
world will know no more a woman who bene- 
fited it by her bemg, and whose memory will 
long be cherished for the good that she did." 
Children of John Gillespy and Mary Au- 
gusta (Young) Myers, are as follows: i. 
Margaret Fuller, born at Mintline, Cayuga 
county, New York, May 6, 1858 ; married, at 
Saugerties, New York, September 2, 1891, 
Henry King Sturdee, born in London, Eng- 
land, August 13, 1859, son of Captain Edwin 
Thomas Sturdee, of the Royal Navy, and had 
children : Georgiana Myers, born at Albany, 
April 7, 1892; Flora Margaret, born at Al- 
bany. November 27, 1894. 2. Jessie Kenyon, 
born at Auburn, October 19, 1859; married 
at Albany, September 14, 1899, Colonel 
George Porter Hilton, son of Charles and 
Mary Etta (MacWhorter) Hilton, born in 
Albany, March 19, 1859, died at his home. No. 
240 State Street, Albany, October 7, 1909; 
had one son : John Gillespy Myers Hilton, 
born in Albany, May 11, 1901. 3. Georgiana 
Seymour, born in New York City, August 14, 
1861, died at Saugerties, New York, June 13, 
1893; married, at Albany, November 24, 1891, 
Walter Launt Palmer, A. N. A., born at Al- 
bany, August I, 1854, son of Erastus Dow 
and Mary (Seaman) Palmer. 



One finds the signifi- 
VAN ALSTYNE cance of the family 
name of Van Alstyne 
in the Dutch, meaning from the old or high 
stone, and therefore those who first bore that 
name as a distinctive family in Holland dwelt 
upon the top of a rocky eminence, or near to 
some enormous boulder which for years had 
been a prominent landmark among all the in- 
habitants of that neighborhood. There have 
been a number of forms for the spelling of 
the name, as the early records show by the 
variety of signatures attached to official docu- 
ments, such as Van Aelsteyn, Van Aalsteyn, 
Van Alstyn, Van Alstein and Van Alstine. 
Since coming to this country the centuries 
have not added to the diversity, but rather 
simplified matters, for at the present time the 
chief forms are Van Alstyne, Van Alstine and 
Van Alstyn. 

Those who have delved deeply into the 
family history have demonstrated that the 
records still preserved in Holland show that 
the line of descent mav be traced tc the vear 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



533 



936, dating contemporaneous with the crown- 
ing of Otho, Henry Van Alstyn was present. 
It may seem peculiar, but the family name 
first appears as Ralsko, which was abandoned 
in order to take that of Wartemberg, which 
it bore for several centuries. Jean Ralsko 
who died in Flanders, in 1236, had built there 
the Chateau de Waldstein, the name of which 
he took in order to distinguish himself from 
his brother, who bore that of Wartemberg. 
The family has been traced under the name 
of Balstein in Spain, Vallenstcin in France. 
Halsteyn in Flanders, and Van Alstein in 
Holland. From Waldstein the name changed 
to Wallenstein, Walstein, Valstein, and finally 
became Van Alstein. Those who located in 
Flanders were loyal to the Church of Rome, 
and those living in Holland allied themselves 
to the Reformation of Martin Luther, and 
displayed the courage of their convictions. 
Those who came to America have particularly 
demonstrated their courage of independent 
thought and action, and were well represented 
in the war of American independence as well 
as in the Civil War. Invariably they have 
been men of middle ground, neither acquiring 
great riches nor suffering poverty, freed both 
from the worries of life and the cares of 
wealth. In like degree they have been prom- 
inent in politics and religion, as well as in 
the professions, 

(I) Jan Martense Van Alstyne was the pro- 
genitor of the family in America. He was 
the son of Marten (or Martin) Van Alstyne, 
of Holland. There is a record to prove that 
he was in New Amsterdam (New York City) 
as early as 1646, the exact date of this entry 
being December T7, 1646, upon a bill of sale 
of a yacht, namely, Thomas Hall and Jan 
Peterson to Hendrick Jansen and Jan Mar- 
tense. It seems evident from what transpired 
later, that he engaged in transportation upon 
the Hudson river, between New York and 
Albany, for within a decade he began buying 
land at the latter place. It is not known just 
how long he remained upon Manhattan, but 
he was recorded in 1657 as owner of a lot 
in Beverwyck, or Albany, New York, located 
upon the east side of Broadway and north of 
Columbia street, which was beyond the north 
wall of the stockade, built to keep out the 
Indians about that time. This land he held 
as late as 1693, and in the meanwhile had be- 
come the patentee of two tracts of land in 



Ulster county. Possibly he had stopped there 
while making one of his trips and had been 
shown good land which was offered to him. 
He likewise purchased a large tract of land 
"behind" Kinderhook, New York, about a 
score of miles from Albany and east of it. 
This became the real home of the family, and 
he the founder of it in every sense. The place 
was so named because in the Dutch it signifies 
"Children's Point," which is thought to have 
been bestowed because of the great number 
of Indian children who ran out on the point of 
land the better to observe the passing of Hen- 
drick Hudson's ships. (Rev. Mr. Collier's ad- 
dress, "Kinderhook.") The first proprietor re- 
sided there until his death, which was about 
1698, and the land continued for more than 
two centuries in the possession of the descend- 
ants of his son Abraham, to whom he con- 
veyed the farm in 1695, conditioned on his 
paying the other heirs certain sums of money 
as provided explicitly. He married Dirckje 
Harmense, a woman endowed with all the 
characteristics necessary to make her a fitting 
helpmate for a pioneer husband. Their chil- 
dren were named Marten, Abraham, Lambert 
and Isaac. 

(II) Lambert Janse, son of Jan Martense 
and Dirckje (Harmense) Van Alstyne, emi- 
grated to this country in 1665, and settled in 
Kings county. New York ; but no record has 
been found of his birth. About 1684 he came 
into possession of a tract of land lying on the 
east side of Kinderhook Creek, and adjoining 
the lands of his father. This he acquired by 
purchase of the patent or lease from the heirs 
of Peter Van Alen. He held it until his 
death, October 13, 1703. About the year 1682 
he married Jannetje, daughter of Thomas and 
Marritje Abrahamse (Vosburgh) Mingael, 
she and her husband being first cousins once 
removed, as her father and her husband were 
first cousins. There is no record of her birth, 
but she was doubtless much younger than he, 
for following his demise she married, Febru- 
ary 2, 1713. Jochem Lambertse Van Valken- 
burgh, and had five sons. As all their chil- 
dren excepting the first-born were baptized in 
Kinderhook, it is safe to believe that the eldest 
was born in Kings county. New York, and 
all the others after his removal, about 1684, 
in Kinderhook. Children: i. Catherine, born 
about 1683; married Bartholomeus Van Val- 
kenburgh. 2. Marritje, baptized December 2y. 



534 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



1685. 3. Thomas (see forward). 4. Johan- 
nes, baptized August 11, 1691. 5. Dirckje, 
baptized May 26, 1695 ; married Pieter Vos- 
burgh. 6. Antje, or Annetje, baptized Janu- 
ary 16, 1698; died young. 7. Annetje, bap- 
tized July 28, 1700. 8. Pieter, baptized Au- 
gust 9, 1702. 

(III) Thomas, son of Lambert Janse and 
Jannetje (Mingael) Van Alstyne, was bap- 
tized in Kinderhook, New York, August 22, 
1688. Upon the death of his father in 1703 
he came into possession of the homestead ly- 
ing along Kinderhook Creek, adjacent to the 
farm of his grandfather, the pioneer settler. 
He was a member of the Dutch church of 
Muitzeskill, where were baptized most of his 
offspring, although one of them. Maria, was 
baptized in Albany. In 1752 he bought a tract 
of land in the district of Claverack, described 
in the records kept at Hudson, New York, as 
lying between the Claverack and Kinderhook 
creeks. His will, dated November 15, 1760, on 
file in Albany, devises the farm occupied by 
William and his big gun to that son, provided 
that he pay off the debt on it, amounting to 
£100, and divided the property among five 
children, after providing for the support of his 
wife during life, and to Pieter his bouwerie or 
whole farm, with all belongings thereto, pro- 
vided that he pay his brother Lambert £400 
in current money within six years of the tes- 
tator's death. He died in August, 1765, at 
Kinderhook. He married, December 12, 1718, 
Maria Van Alen. She was baptized June 21, 
1695, daughter of Willem and Marritje (Van 
Patten) Van Alen. Children: i. Jannetje, 
baptized March 6, 1720; died young. 2. Wil- 
liam (see forward). 3. Lambert, baptized 
October 4, 1724; married (first) Alida Conyn ; 
(second) Aletteka Osterhout. 4. Maria, bap- 
tized September 10 1727; died young. 5. 
Catherine, baptized January 17, 1731 ; married 
Petrus Hoffman. 6. Maria, baptized Novem- 
ber 18, 1733; married Dr. Johannes Paterson. 
7. Pieter, baptized May 16, 1736; married 
Marritje Conyn. 

(IV) William, son of Thomas and Maria 
(Van Alen) Van Alstyne, was baptized at 
Muitzeskill (near Troy), New York, Decem- 
ber 10, 1721. In 1752 he and his wife were 
members of the Dutch church of Kinderhook. 
He probably settled upon the farm which had 
just come into possession of his father by pur- 
chase of the patent from John Van Rensse- 



laer, and which was bequeathed to him out- 
right on his father's death, situate between 
Kinderhook and Claverack creeks. On May 

1, 1772, he leased a house, shop and a fulling- 
mill, with dam and two acres, to Thomas 
Avery, and as much wood as he required for 
burning. In August, 1791, he bought a farm 
in Hillside, from John Collier. A document 
bearing date October 19, 1793, deeds a negro 
boy named Tom to his son Lawrence. On 
July 12, 1799, he sold to the same son the 
farm he had bought of Nicholas and Philip 
Hoffman a few years before. He was com- 
missioned a captain in Colonel Jeremiah Hoge- 
boom's regiment, which served in the revolu- 
tionary war; his commission signed by Gov- 
ernor Cadwalader Colden, preserved by the 
Holland Society, bears date April 4, 1770. 
He died May 22, 1802, and his tombstone was 
found a century ;ater on the farm which he 
had bought of the Hoffmans. William Van 
Alstyne married (first) in 1744, Christina 
Van Alen, baptized June 16, 1723, daughter of 
Stephanus and Mary (Muller) Van Alen, by 
whom he had five children. He married (sec- 
ond) September 17, 1762, Catherine Knicker- 
bocker, who was baptized October 19, 1731, 
daughter of Lawrence and Catherine (Van 
Home) Knickerbocker; by whom he had four 
children. Children: i. Maria, baptized 
March 23, 1745 ; married Richard Esselstyn. 

2. Hilletje, baptized January 25, 1746; died 
young. 3. Jannetje, baptized February 29, 
1749: married William Winne, Jr. 4. Alber- 
tina, born in 1754 ; married John De Forest. 
5. Thomas (see forward). 6. Lawrence, born 
June 22, 1767; married Mary Murdock. 7. 
William, born January 31, 1770; married 
Maria Vosburgh. 8. Mary, born January 6, 
1773; married John Leggett. 

(V) Thomas (2), son of William and Cath- 
erine (Knickerbocker) Van Alstyne, was born 
at Kinderhook, New York. February 18, 1765, 
In the Columbia county records, under date 
of May 7, 1795, it is stated that he and his 
wife, together with other owner<;hip claim- 
ants, deeded the farm which ■>rently 
the property of the first Thomas van .-vlstyne 
secured from John Van Rensselaer, in 1752, 
to Thomas Goldthwait. He died September 
10, 1838. Thomas Van Alstyne married Ma- 
bel Butler, born January 3, 1768. died January 
10, 1832, daughter of Ezekiel and Mabel 
(Jones) Butler. Her father displayed so much 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



535 



zeal in the American cause for liberty that 
the British offered a reward for his head, 
dead or alive, and it is probable that he died 
before the close of hostilities, because he was 
privately buried for fear that his body would 
be disinterred for the sake of the reward. 
Mabel Butler was a lineal descendant of 
Colonel John Jones, one of the regicides of 
Charles I., whose wife Henrietta was sister 
of Oliver Cromwell. Children: i. William, 
born November 12, 1791 ; died October 12, 
1867; married Polly Ostrander. 2. Maria, 
married February 14, 1815, Martin Barton. 
3. Catherine, married, March 13, 1819, Scovil 
Martin. 4. Thomas Butler (see forward). 5. 
John Thomas, born September 28, 1800; mar- 
ried, February 8, 1826, Jane Ackerman ; died 
February 10, 1876. 6. Temperance, born in 
1802; died October 29, 1877. 7. Jane, born 
March 4, 1805 ; died December 18, 1886; mar- 
ried, December 27, 1827, Dr. Levi B. Skinner. 
8. Lawrence, born February 16, 1807 ; died 
January 18, 1835 ; married, March 28, 1829, 
Eliza Van Hoesen. 9. Sally, married John 
Van Bramer. 10. Ezekiel Butler, born No- 
vember 6, 181 1. II. Louisa, born November 
27, 1813; died February 11, 1871 ; married, 
December 14, 1839, Rev. Nicholas Van 
Alstine. 

(VI) Dr. Thomas Butler Van Alstyne, son 
of Thomas (2) and Mabel (Butler) Van Al- 
styne, was born in Ghent, Columbia county, 
New York, July 27, 1797, and died at Rich- 
mondville, Schoharie county, New York, Octo- 
ber 26, 1867. He was a well-known physician of 
Richmondville, Schoharie county, New York. 
After attending school in his native place he 
went to Hudson, near there, as a clerk in a gen- 
eral merchandise store. This work was not con- 
genial, hence he decided to follow his inclina- 
nation, which was for the medical profession. 
With this in view he began his studies under 
Dr. Samuel White, of Hudson, and graduated 
in 1818 from the Fairfield Medical College. 
The following year, according to the advice 
of his forrner friend, Dr. White, he located 
at Rio'' Jlle, and continued . to practice 

there •. .-^^.^vi forty years, making consider- 
able success and gaining a reputation through 
out a wide area. He was often summoned in 
consultation cases, and was offered a medical 
professorship, which he declined. He was a 
forceful advocate of the abolition of slavery, 
and not only practiced what he preached in 



that line during the civil war; but was also a 
strong advocate on the platform in the move- 
ment for abstinence from intoxicants. 

Dr. Thomas B. Van Alstyne married, Au- 
gust 10, 1820, Eliza Shepard Giles, who was 
born October 28, 1799, and died at Richmond- 
ville, New York, May 13, 1877. Children; 
I. Jane Ann, born May 22, 1821 ; died De- 
cember 4, 1853 ; married, October 8, 1839 
Rev. Joseph Kingsley Barry. 2. Thomas W., 
born December 12, 1822; died A.pril 25, 1825. 
3. Thomas Jefferson (see forward). 4. Syl- 
vester Memford, born February 28, 1833; 
died October 28, 1882; married, July 9, 1855, 
Cynthia E. Whitney. 5. Fayette Edgar, born 
June 15, 1837; died September 30, 1905; mar- 
ried, August 19, 1857, Rose M. Markel. 6. 
John Lawrence, born October 8, 1840; mar- 
ried, October 8, 1868, Carrie A. Shults. 7. 
Mary Eliza, born March 18, 1846; married, 
November 7, 1873, J. Leslie Multer. 

(VH) Hon. Thomas Jefferson Van Alstyne, 
son of Dr. Thomas Butler and Eliza Shepard 
(Giles) Van Alstyne, was born in Richmond- 
ville, Schoharie county, New York, July 25, 
1827, where his father was practicing medi 
cine, and died at his home. No. 289 State 
street, Albany, of heart failure, October 26, 
1903. He first attended the public schools, 
but his strong inclination for knowledge and a 
desire for success in life's work led him to 
prepare for higher education. At the age of 
thirteen, while visiting at the home of his 
brother-in-law, a Baptist minister in Cayuga 
county, he conceived the purpose of 
acquiring an education which would place 
him in position to make his mark, if 
backed by serious effort, so he entered 
the Moravia Academy. After that he pre- 
pared for college at Hartwick Seminary, 
and with six companions matriculated at Ham- 
ilton College, from which he was graduated 
in 1848, receiving the degree of Bachelor of 
Arts, and in 185 1 that of Master of Arts. He 
was especially excellent in mathematics, and 
had a high general standing He then took up 
the study of law under Professor Theodore 
W. Dwight, who was prominent later on at 
Columbia College. Having graduated, he en- 
tered the law office of Harris & Van Vorst. 
at Albany, and by diligent application, com- 
bined with his previous study of the law, was 
able to pass a most satisfactory examination 
before the close of the year, the examining 



536 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



committee consisting of the well-known attor- 
neys, Hon. John H. Reynolds, Hon. John K. 
Porter and Orlando Meads. He was admitted 
to the bar on March 6, 1848, and in 1850 
opened his office, continuing to practice alone 
until 1853, when he formed a partnership with 
Matthew McMahon, which firm continued 
four years, when Mr. Van Alstyne formed a 
partnership in 1858 with Winfield Scott Heve- 
nor, of Albany, and they opened their office 
in the old Douw Building, at the southwest 
corner of Broadway and State street, Albany. 
From 1858 until he died in 1903, or for forty- 
five years, he practiced there. 

Mr. Van Alstyne had a noteworthy political 
life, and ranked high in the councils of the 
Democratic party, at whose hands he received 
a number of offices, each of which he filled 
with a noble record for efficiency and integ- 
rity. He was elected judge of Albany county 
in 1871, and presided for twelve years. In 
1882 he was elected congressman, taking his 
seat in the Forty-eighth Congress, and was 
appointed a member of the committee on 
claims, and also on that of expenditures of 
the department of justice. To his constitu- 
ents he gave thorough attention to their needs, 
and he furnished entire satisfaction to friends 
and foes alike. His party renominated him, 
but dissension in the ranks ruined his chances. 
Judge Van Alstyne was elected mayor of 
Albany on November 2, 1897, and served 
from January i, 1898, to 1900. His oppo- 
nents were General Selden E. Marvin, of the 
Republican party, who received 6,014 votes ; 
Alderman George H. Stevens, Independent, 
who received 6,012 votes; Robert H. Moore 
and George Du Bois ; and the judge received 
8,172 votes. Judge Van Alstyne was a prom- 
inent Mason, associating himself with that 
body when a young man by entering Mount 
Vernon Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
October 4, 1855; made master mason, Novem- 
ber 19, 1855; master, 1858-61; marshal, 1865. 
He officiated frequently on various commit- 
tees and often rendered excellent service by 
sound advice. In his religion he was a mem- 
ber of the Emmanuel Baptish Church at Al- 
bany, and along the lines of Christian work 
he became a life member of the Young 
Men's Association, organized for the upbuild- 
ing of the youth, in those days conducting the 
only city library and educating by the medium 
■of platform lectures addressed by lyceum 



speakers. He was particularly concerned in 
the work of the Albany Institute, and the 
preparatory work of its curator, Cuyler Reyn- 
olds, in combining that old organization with 
the Albany Historical and Art Society, was 
only carried through by the vigorous speech 
in the advocacy of the plan made by Judge 
Van Alstyne, for there was almost overwhelm- 
ing opposition to what has since proved a prac- 
tical combination of societies performing simi- 
lar work. He had the faculty of being aggres- 
sive in the right, along logical lines, and his 
arguments were always convincing. He was 
impatient at delay in discussions at meetings 
of any sort, when lay members talked around 
the subject, and when satisfied he saw the 
features would introduce his views through 
the medium of a resolution which usually 
closed the matter immediately. In this man- 
ner he would have made an exceedingly able 
executive official of a big corporation ; but he 
enjoyed the practice of law, and maintained 
in his office an ample library of legal 
works. He was very fond of his well stocked 
home library of more than 10,000 volumes, 
which contained mostly histories, biographies 
and works pertaining to America. One of his 
greatest pleasures was to gather them where- 
ever he traveled. He was a man of more 
than ordinary physique both in stature and 
power of frame, with a bright, piercing eye, 
and a firm, elastic step. His ready wit and 
delightful conversational powers were charm- 
ing attributes of one who was welcomed so- 
cially everywhere he went. Best of all there 
was no hypocrisy about him, and those who 
were his friends and family could ever rely 
upon his deep affection and help. In a word, 
he was a good official and citizen. 

Judge Thomas J. Van Alstyne married 
(first), at Albany, September 2. 1851, Sarah 
Clapp ; she was born at Albany, February 29, 
1832, died there, September 25, 1859, daughter 
of Reuel Clapp, of the Albany firm of Clapp 
& Townsend. and Sarah Coon, of Dorchester, 
Massachusetts. He married (second), at Al- 
bany, New York, September 2, 1875. Nancy 
Louisa Peck, of Albany, New York ; she was 
born July 14, 1842, died at Albany, New York. 
November 12, 1884, daughter of Samuel S 
Peck and Eliza M. (Collum) Peck. He mar- 
ried (third), at Washington, D. C, February 
17, 1886, Laura Louisa, daughter of Williani 
and Lydia (Van Derbilt) Wiirdemann, of 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



S37 



Washington. D. C, the former having been a 
noted manufacturer of astronomical and 
mathematical instruments. Children: i. 
Thomas Butler, born at Albany, June 3, 1852 ; 
married, May 7, 1879, Anna Richards, daugh- 
ter of Lysander and Content (Clapp) Rich- 
ards, of Washington, D. C. 2. Charles Edwin, 
born at Albany, July 18, 1855 ; died at Albany, 
New York, July 10, 1858. 3. William Thomas 
(see forward). 

(VIII) William Thomas Van Alstyne, son 
of Hon. Thomas Jefferson and Laura (Wiir- 
demann) Van Alstyne, was born at Albany, 
New York, in his father's home, No. 289 State 
street, July 28, 1887. He received his prepa- 
ratory education at the Albany Academy, un 
der a private tutor, and then entered Yale 
University. While there he belonged to the 
Yale Chapter of the Acacia fraternity, and 
graduated Ph.B., in 1910. He studied law at 
Columbia University, having selected upon 
the profession in which his father had made 
his mark, graduated February, 1913, LL.B., 
and November 10, 1913, it was announced that 
he had passed his examination for admission 
to the bar of New York State. He associated 
himself with Charles Oakes, formerly of Al- 
bany, at No. 2 Rector street. New York City. 
He joined the Seventh Regim.ent in April, 
191 1, and in December, 1913, was promoted 
to the grade of second lieutenant and assigned 
to the First Regiment Field Artillery, N. G. 
N. Y. He is a member of Mount Vernon 
Lodge No. 3, Free and Accepted Masons; in 
politics he is a Democrat and attends the 
Baptist church. He is a member of the Uni- 
versity Club of Albany, and the Yale Club, 
of New York City, where he resides. 



The highly distinguished fam 
CLINTON ily of Clinton traces its ances- 
try in America to Charles 
Clinton (1690-1773), who in 1729 came from 
county Longford, Ireland, and with other 
Protestant immigrants organized a settlement 
at Little Britain in what was then Ulster (now 
Orange) county. New York. A descendant 
in a cadet branch of Edward Clinton (1512- 
85), ninth Baron Clinton and first Earl of 
Lincoln, he belonged to that historic house of 
Clinton, which was established in England at 
the Norman conquest, received extensive 
grants of estates, and, enjoying constantly in- 
creasing dignities, with the highest distinction 



for public services and the fairest pedigree 
and reputation, came down to his time in an 
unbroken male succession for six centuries. A 
man of character, attainments and ability 
Charles Clinton was a useful and influential 
citizen of New York, commanded a regiment 
in the French and Indian war (participating 
in the capture of Fort Frontenac), was a com- 
missioner for the settlement of the boundary 
dispute with New Jersey, and was judge of 
his county. 

He had four sons, two of whom left issue 
and to-day have posterity. These were James 
Clinton (1736-1812), the eminent revolution- 
ary general, and George Clinton (1739-18 12), 
the first governor of the State of New York, 
for twenty-one years the incumbent of that 
office, and for eight years vice-president of 
the United States. Arms: Argent, six 
crosses crosslet fitchee sable ; on a chief azure 
two mullets pierced or. Crest: Out of a 
coronet gules five ostrich feathers argent, 
banded azure. Motto: Patria cara carior 
libcrtas. In a British work of eminent au- 
thority occurs the following striking charac- 
terization of the Clinton family: 

"It is really a great house, . . . and fot 
seven hundred years has thrown a scarcely in- 
termitted succession of men who have spent 
their lives in the furtherance of England's 
greatness and policy. If it has never had 
genius it has also never produced a traitor, and 
if it has never risen to the lofty position of 
one or two of its rivals, it has not in its records 
chapters which it would give estates to conceal. 
Always in front but never in command, this 
great house had the clearest pedigree in all 
England." 

This expresses in brief the conclusions of 
all writers who have given critical attention to 
the Clinton family history. The pedigree is 
one of the most remarkable to be found in the 
whole scope of genealogical science. It is 
completely and precisely traceable from the 
Norman conquest to the present time, a most 
exceptional fact, as every j^eneilogist knows. 
As long ago as 1558, in an examination by the 
House of Lords to determine the exact status 
(as to precedence) of the th^n head of the 
Clinton house, reference was made to the 
"great antiquity" and "long continuance" of 
his ancestral line, and he was declared the 
"second lord of the realm." Moreover, the 
Clinton descent — embracing at the present time 



538 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



some twenty-five generations — has never suf- 
fered any interregnum in the male stem (re- 
medied by subsequent resumption of the fam- 
ily name in the female succession), as is so 
often the case in pedigrees of such length. 
There is historical evidence that the Clinton 
name existed in England before the conquest. 
In 1592 John Hakluyt, the antiquarian, dis- 
covered in the church of Loominster a brass 
tablet which perpetuated, in the Saxon lan- 
guage, the memory of one Kenelm, of the 
Saxon royal house, who was buried in that 
place in 1060. The inscription included the fol- 
lowing: "My fathers did build upon this, my 
town, and at Kenelmsford, Kenelmswearth 
(Kenilworth) and at Clint . . and 

Reinelmebald at Clinton is my kinsman." The 
early adoption after the conquest of the sur- 
name de Clinton by the Norman founders of 
the family in England indicates the pre-exis- 
tence there of the name and probably the 
blood. The most authentic genealogists of the 
peerage — Dugdale Collins, and others — trace 
the ancestry of the Clintons to the ducal house 
of Normandy. A progenitor was William, 
Earl of Arques, son of Richard, second Duke 
of Normandy (known as Richard the Good). 
William, Earl of Arques, had a daughter, 
Maud, who married William, Earl of Tancker- 
ville. Of their grandsons w^ere the brothers 
Geoffrey and Osbert, who, established in Eng- 
land on estates inherited from their father 
(the gift of his kinsman, the Conqueror), took 
the surname of de Clinton. GeoiTrey de Clin- 
ton the elder brother, is in most American ac- 
counts of the ancestry of the Clinton family 
designated as the founder of the line, but this 
is erroneous, as his branch soon expired 
through the failure of male succession. He 
was lord chamberlain and treasurer to Henry 
I., and afterward chief justice of England. 
The manor of Kenilworth in the county of 
Warwick was bestowed upon him by the king, 
and he built the great and strong castle of 
Kenilworth, so famous in English history. 
He married Agnes, daughter of Roger, Earl 
of Warwick, and was succeeded by his son, 
Henry de Clinton. The latter married Amicia 
de Bidun and had a son, Henry de Clinton, 
who died without issue in 1233. 
(English Lineage.) 
(I) Osbert de Clinton, brother of Geoffrey, 
left four sons: Osbert, Roger (who as bishop 
of Coventry died in 1148), Hugh, Maurice. 



(H) Osbert (2) de CHnton, eldest son of 
Osbert ( i ) de Clinton, was granted the lord- 
ship of Coleshill by his kinsman, Geoffrey de 
Clinton, and he was denominated as of Coles- 
hill. He married Margaret, daughter of Wil- 
liam de Hatton, who was the son of Hugh, 
founder of the priory of Wroxhall. 

(HI) Osbert (3) de Clinton, son and heir 
of Osbert (2) de Clinton, received, in addi- 
tion to the lordship of Coleshil! that of Am- 
ington in County Warwick, as the inheritance 
of his mother. Living in the reign of John 
he was one of the insurgent barons who 
wrested from the king the Magna Charta. In 
consequence of his rebellion his lands were 
seized, but upon the accession of Henry III. 
(1216) he "made his peace'' and they were 
restored to him. He died in 1223. His wife's 
name was Elisant. 

(IV) Thomas de Clinton, son and heir of 
Osbert (3) de Clinton and his wife Elisant, 
was resident at Amington in Warwickshire; 
justice of assize for County Warwick. He 
married Mazera, daughter and heir of James 
de Bisege, of Badsley, Warwick, and had five 
sons : Thomas, mentioned below ; Sir John de 
Clinton, of Coleshill; Osbert de Clinton, lord 
of the manor of Austrey, County Warwick, 
no issue; William de Clinton, rector of Aus- 
trey ; James de Clinton, seated at Badsley, the 
inheritance of his mother, which to the present 
time has retained the name of Badsley Clin- 
ton. His son and heir, Thomas, was survived 
by daughters only — Joan, who married (first) 
John Coningsby, and (second) John Fowkes; 
and Petronilla, who married John Woodward, 
of Solihull in Warwickshire. 

(V) Thomas (2) de Clinton, son of Thomas 
(i) and Mazera (de Bisege^ de Clinton 
(first Baron by tenure), married Maud 
Bracebridge, of Kingsbury, and was succeeded 
by his son. 

(VI) John de Clinton, son of Thomas (2) 
and Maud (Bracebridge) de Clinton, resided at 
Amington and later at Maxtock Castle, which 
he had from his wife. On February 6, 1298, 
he was summoned to parliament as Baron 
Clinton. In 1301 he was "specially summoned 
among divers great men to attend the king 
(Edward I.) at Berwick-upon-Tweed on June 
25. the feast day of St. John the Baptist, to 
march against the Scots, at which time the 
king, invading Scotland with his royal army, 
as a particular badge of his favor to him for 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



539 



his special services in that expedition, called 
him his beloved Esquire. He, by letters patent 
dated August 2, at Glasgow, granted him lands 
in that kingdom which were part of the pos- 
sessions of Malcolm Dromond (ancestor of 
the family of Perth), then in arms against 
Edward." In 1305 he participated in another 
Scottish expedition, and in 1308 by the king's 
special command, accompanied Edward, 
Prince of Wales, to Pronthieu. During the 
latter year the castle and honor of Wallingford 
were committed 10 his keeping. He married 
Ida, eldest of the four daughters and coheirs 
of Sir William de Odingsells, lord of Maxtock 
Castle and other possessions in Warwickshire 
whose wife was Ela, daughter of William 
Longspee (second of that name), Earl of 
Salisbury. Two sons were born of this mar- 
riage : John, mentioned below ; William. 

( VII) Sir John de Clinton, second Baron 
Clinton, eldest son of John and Ida (de Oding- 
sells) de Clinton, was knighted before 1325, in 
which year he was returned among the prin- 
cipal knights of the county of Warwick, who 
bore ancient arms from their ancestors. As a 
baron of the realm he was summoned to par- 
liament. In 1326 he accompanied John, Earl 
of Warren, in the expedition for the relief 
of the duchy of Guyen. He died after 1333 
He married Margery, daughter of Sir Wil- 
liam Corbet, of Chadsley Corbet in Worcester- 
shire. Children : John, mentioned below ; 
Mary, married Baldwin de Mountfort, of 
Coleshill. 

(VIII) Sir John de Clinton, third Baron 
Clinton, son of John, second Baron Clinton, 
and Margery (Corbet) de Clinton, was born 
1326. From youth he fought in the wars 
under his uncle, the Earl of Huntingdon. 
Later he participated in the glorious French 
campaigns of Edward the Black Prince, and 
he was at the great historic battle of Poictiers 
in 1356. Upon his return to England, his 
father being deceased, he was summoned to 
parliament by virtue of his position as a 
baron of the realm. In the French military 
expeditions of Thomas Beauchamp, Earl of 
Warwick, Thomas of Woodstock, and several 
others he performed conspicuous services. He 
was the Lord Clinton who. as observed by 
Froissard, in the English invasion of Brittany 
"rode with his banner displayed and performed 
certain feats of arms at Nantes with Sir 
Galoys D'Aunoy." When Thomas Beauch- 



amp, Earl of Warwick, was attainted and ban- 
ished (1397), the custody of Warwick Castle 
and all the manors and lands belonging to it 
was confided to him. He died September 8, 
1399. He married (first) Idonea, eldest 
daughter of Jeffery, Lord Say, and grand- 
daughter, maternally, of Guy Beauchamp, Ear! 
of Warwick. She was coheir with her brother, 
William, Lord Say, cousin and heir of Wil- 
liam de Say, Baron of Sele. As the result 
of the failure of male issue in the Say line, she 
became the eldest coheir of this noble family, 
which from the time of the conquest had pro- 
duced men of distinction. Children: Cather- 
ine de Clinton, married Thomas, Lord Berke- 
ley; Sir William de Clinton, mentioned be- 
low ; Sir Thomas de Clinton ; Edward de Clin- 
ton, died unmarried 1400. Sir John de Clin- 
ton, the third Lord, married (second) Eliza- 
beth, daughter and at length heir of William 
de la Plaunch, of Haversham, County Buck- 
ingham (cousin and heir of Sir Roger Hillary, 
knight), and widow of Sir Robert Grey, of 
Rotherfield, knight. No issue. 

(IX) Sir William Clinton, eldest son of Sir 
John, third Baron Clinton, and Idonea (Say) 
de Clinton, died during the lifetime of his 
father. He married Elizabeth, daughter of 
Sir William Deincourt, knight, by Alice his 
wife, who was the daughter of Lord John 
Nevile, of Raby, and sister of Ralph, first Earl 
of Westmoreland. 

(X) Sir William Clinton, fourth Baron 
Clinton, eldest son of Sir William and Eliza- 
beth (Deincourt) Clinton, succeeding his 
grandfather in the estates, title and arms, was, 
like his ancestors, summoned to parliament as 
a baron of the realm ; his name appears in this 
connection continuously from 1400 to his 
death. During the reigns of Henry IV. and 
Henry V., and a portion of that of Henry VI., 
much of his time was engaged in the wars 
After serving in expeditions to Ireland and 
Scotland, he took part in the campaigns in 
France, where he was concerned in many no- 
table sieges and engagements. At various 
times he was "retained by indenture" to serve 
the king with his followers, who on one occa- 
sion consisted of thirty-eight men at arms and 
three hundred archers. In addition to his 
hereditary dignity of Lord Clinton, he bore 
the title of Lord Say by virtue of his heirship 
to William de Say and to his grandmother, 
Idonea. His landed possessions, as enumer- 



540 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



ated by Collins, consisted of manors and ham- 
lets in the counties of Kent, Sussex and War- 
wick. He died July 30, 1432. He married 
Anne, daughter of William, Lord Botreaux. 
and widow of Sir Fouke Fitzwaryn, knight. 

(XI) John Clinton, fifth Baron Clinton, son 
of Sir William, fourth Baron Clinton, and 
Anne (Botreaux) Clinton, was born about 
1410. In 1438 he exchanged with Humphrey, 
Earl of Stafford, his castle and manor of Max- 
stock for the manors of Whiston and Wood- 
ford in County Northampton. To his kins- 
man. Sir James Fynes, knight, he resigned, in 
1449, his title of Lord Say. From early man- 
hood he fought valiantly in the French wars. 
In 1441, while serving in the retinue of Rich- 
ard, Duke of York, he was taken prisoner by 
the French and he remained in captivity for 
six years, when he bought his ransom for six 
thousand marks. Returning to England he 
received from the king a special license to buy 
and sell wool and woolen cloths as a means of 
reimbursing himself. He was one of the no- 
bles (1459) who revolted against Henry VI. 
and sustained the pretension of Richard, Duke 
of York, to the throne. He was consequently 
attainted and his estates were seized, but upon 
the accession of Edward IV. (Richard's son) 
in 1461 his property was restored to him. He 
afterward served in another expedition to 
France and in a successful campaign made by 
Edward against the Lancastrian party in the 
north of England. He died September 25, 
1464. He married Elizabeth, daughter of 
Richard Fynes, Lord Dacre of Hurst-Mon- 
ceaux in Sussex. 

(XII) John Clinton, sixth Baron Clinton, 
only son of John, fifth Baron Clinton, and 
Elizabeth (Fynes) Clinton, was born about 
1434, died February 29, 1488. He married 
Anne, daughter of Sir Humphrey Stafford. 

(XIII) John Clinton, seventh Baron Clin- 
ton, son of John, sixth Baron Clinton, and 
Anne (Stafford) Clinton, died June 4, 1515 He 
was with Sir Henry Poynings in the expedition 
in aid of Margaret, Duchess of Savoy, against 
the Duke of Guelders and in 15 14, "with 
divers other persons of honor and four hun- 
dred men at arms, went over to Calais for the 
better defense of that garrison." He married 
Elizabeth, daughter of Sir John Morgan, 
knight, of Tredegar, Countv Monmouth. 

(XIV) Thomas Clinton, eighth Baron 
Clinton, son of John, seventh Baron Clinton, 



and Elizabeth (Morgan) Clinton, was born | 
1491. He "succeeded to the manor of Folke- i 
stone in Kent with other large possessions, and 
having summons to parliament took his place 
among the barons of the realm. But two years 
after a distemper called the sweating sickness 
raging with that malignity as to kill in three 
hours divers knights, gentlemen, and officers 
of the king's court, the Lord Clinton and 
others of quality, who are recited by Lord 
Herbert in his life of Henry VIII. as of the 
king's court, died thereof (August 7, 1517)- 
He married Mary, daughter of Sir Edward 
Poynings, baronet and knight of the Garter. 

(X\') Edward Clinton, ninth Baron Clin- 
ton and first Earl of Lincoln, son of Thomas, 
eighth Baron Clinton and Marv (Poynings) 
Clinton, was born 1512. His career, beginning 
in the time of Henry VIII., extended through 
the reigns of Edward VI. and Mary I. and a 
portion of Elizabeth's; and under all these 
sovereigns he served with distinction in mili- 
tary, naval and civic employments, becoming, 
says Collins, "one of the most en inent persons 
this nation has produced." An infant at his 
father's decease, he was reared as a ward to 
the king (Henry VIII.) and received a care- 
ful and polished education At the age of 
twenty he attended the king in his memorable 
interview with Francis I. of France at Sand- 
ingfield and in the subsequent entertainments 
at Boulogne and Calais. Mention of him ap- 
pears frequently in connection with the con- 
cerns of the court. In 1541, "a great joust 
at tourney and barriers having been pro- 
claimed in France. Flanders. Scotland, and 
Spain for all comers, to be holden at West- 
minster May I, the Lord Clinton was the third 
of the forty-six defendants who very richly 
apparelled, appeared on that occasion, which 
continued five days, the king, queen, and whole 
court being present." 

Having at an early age contracted an inti- 
macy with John, Viscount of Lisle, Lord High 
Admiral, he entered the naval service, in 
which he rose rapidly to distinction. He was 
with the fleet which in 1544 escorted the Earl 
of Hertford, general of the army, to Scot- 
land, and after the successful assault on the 
Canongate he was the first of those who for 
meritorious conduct received the honor of 
knighthood. The fleet then scoured the coasts 
of Scotland and besieged and took Boulogne, 
of which he was made governor; and in con- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



541 



junction with Lord Lisle he was a witness to 
the resulting agreement signed by the French 
king to observe the treaty (June 7, 1546). At 
the funeral of Henry VHI. (1547) he was 
one of the twelve principal peers who were 
appointed chief mourners. After the accession 
of Edward VL he was appointed admiral of 
the fleet which was to assist the Duke of Som- 
erset in the expedition against Scotland for 
refusing to comply with the treaty that pledged 
the young Mary (Mary Queen of Scots) to 
marry King Edward. With fifty men-of-war 
and twelve galleys, he rode into Edinburgh 
Frith, greatly contributing to the memorable 
victory of Musselborough ( September 10, 
1547). On his return he was the object of 
marked evidences of favor, being granted ex- 
tensive estates in the County of Lincoln. He 
was next sent to Boulogne as the ablest person 
to defend that place against a threatened siege 
by the French. This trust he discharged with 
signal courage and skill, only surrendering the 
town when ordered to do so by the king and 
council pursuant to the treaty of peace. For 
his great services at Boulogne he received the 
personal thanks of the king and council, was 
made one of the privy council and a lord of 
the bedchamber with the title of Edward, Lord 
Clinton and Say, was appointed for life lord 
high admiral and chief commander of the 
fleets and seas, and was endowed with numer- 
ous other estates and manors. On April 24, 
1551, he was elected a knight of the Garter 
with Henry H., king of France, and about the 
same time he was appointed, with the Earl of 
Rutland, lord Heutenant of Lincolnshire and 
Nottinghamshire. Being designated to receive 
the embassy (1552) which came to propose a 
marriage between Edward and the Lady Eliza- 
beth of France, he personally conducted the 
ambassadors to the king. Afterward he was 
sent on a special mission to France, bearing 
costly presents, and concluded the negotiations 
for the marriage. Other honors which he en- 
joyed under Edward were those of sole lord 
lieutenant of the County of Lincoln and gov- 
ernor of the Tower of London. During the 
reign of Mary L he also rendered conspicuous 
services, retaining his previous dignities. He 
was present at the marriage of that sovereign 
to Philip of Spain. Upon the breaking out of 
war in 1557 he was appointed general of the 
army, and subsequently was lieutenant-general 
and chief commander of the fleet and forces 



against France and Scotland. He was in chief 
command of the military and naval expedition 
against Brest in 1558. During the same year, 
becoming involved with Lord Stafl^ord in a 
dispute as to precedence, the matter was re- 
ferred to the peers, and after an exhaustive 
examination of all the records it was decided 
"that the Lord Clinton had place next above 
the Lord Audley and next to Lord Abergave- 
ney, and that he was the second lord of the 
realm because of the long continuance of the 
Lords Clinton and of the great antiquity of 
the family, and that the Lord Stafi^ord was 
eleventh in rank or order of precedence." 
When Elizabeth came to the throne in 1558 
she appointed him privy councillor and con- 
tinued him as lord high admiral. In the sixth 
year of her reign he attended her to the Uni- 
versity of Cambridge, and there received the 
degree of master of arts as a person of the 
highest rank. With other lords he was ap- 
pointed during the eleventh Elizabeth to "hear 
and examine matters brought against the 
Queen of Scots by the Earl of Murray, regent 
of Scotland." In conjunction with the Earl 
of Warwick he marched against the rebellious 
Earls of Northumberland and Westmoreland 
(1569) and dispersed their forces. In recog- 
nition of his prolonged and eminent services 
he was elevated by Elizabeth to the peerage, 
May 4, 1572, as Earl of Lincoln. The next 
year, "attended by a great train of noblemen," 
he was sent to France to receive from Charles 
IX. the ratification of the treaty of Bloise. 
He was one of the commissioners named by 
the queen to treat of her proposed marriage 
to the Duke of Anjou. He died January 16, 
1585. "Always of unspotted report, specially 
for allegiance," says Hollinshead, "and there- 
fore singularly beloved in his life, so accord- 
ingly he was bemoaned in his death." He was 
buried in the south isle of the Chapel of St. 
George in Windsor. The tomb is a sumptuous 
monument of alabaster, with pillars of por- 
phyry. The Earl "lies in armor with his lady 
by him, in full proportions, their heads on a 
pillow and their hands uplifted as praying; 
on one side three sons in armor kneeling, and 
on the other five daughters in the same atti- 
tude." There is an elaborate Latin inscrip- 
tion. 

He married (first) EHzabeth, daughter of 
John Blount and widow of Gilbert, Lord Tal- 
boys. She was known as "the beautiful Eliza- 



S42 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



beth Blount." Children: i. Bridget, married 
Robert Dymock, Esq., of Scrivelby, County 
Lincoln. 2. Catharine, married William, Lord 
Brough. 3. Margaret, married Charles, Lord 
Willoughby of Parham. The Earl married 
(second) Ursula, daughter of William, Lord 
Stourton. Children : 4. Sir Henry Clinton, 
tenth Lord Clinton and second Earl of Lin- 
coln. He married (first) Catherine, daughter 
of Francis Hastings, Earl of Huntingdon. 
Two sons, of whom the elder, Thomas, suc- 
ceeded as third earl ; but owing to ultimate 
failure of male issue in the line ci this Thomas 
the succession to the earldom finally reverted 
to the descendants of his younger brother, Sir 
Edward, who married Mary, diughter of Sir 
Thomas Dighton, Esq., of Stourton, county 
Lincoln. A descendant of this Sir Edward 
was Henry Clinton, ninth Earl of Lincoln; 
married, 1744, Catherine, eldest daughter and 
heir of Rt. Hon. Henry Pelham. Her uncle. 
Thomas Pelham Holies, was created duke of 
Newcastle-under-Lymp on the 17th of No- 
vember, 1756, with special remainder to the 
Earl of Lincoln ; and upon the death of this 
Thomas, first duke, in 1768, Henry Clinton, 
ninth Earl of Lincoln, succeeded as seconJ 
Duke of Newcastle-under-Lyme, assuming by 
royal license the surname of Pelham — whence 
the present family name, Pelham-Clinton. The 
head of this house is now Henry Pelham 
Archibald Douglas Pelham-Clinton, seventh 
Duke of Newcastle and fourteenth Earl of 
Lincoln, born September 28, 1864. Another 
present representative is Mr. Charles Staple- 
ton Pelham-Clinton, of Moor St. Stoud, Eng- 
land, born 1857, giandson of the fourth duke, 
who married, in 1886. Lizzie, only daughter 
of Louis di Zeresra, of New York City. Re- 
curring to the Clinton line previous to the 
merging of the earldom of Lincoln in the 
dukedom of Newcastle, we find that Francis 
Clinton, sixth Earl of Lincoln, died 1693, 
aged fifty-eight, was the father, by his sec- 
ond countess, Susan, daughter of Anthony 
Penniston, Esq., of Hon. George Clinton, 
royal governor of the province of New York 
from 174-^ to 1753. This provincial governor, 
George Clinton, who died July 10, 1761, mar- 
ried Anne, daughter and heir of Hon. Peter 
Carle, major-general, their onlv surviving son 
being the distinguished Sir Henry Clinton, 
born 1738. died December 23, 17Q5, wlio was 
Knight of the Bath, member of parliament. 



lieutenant-general, and commander-in-chief of 
his majesty's forces in America during the 
revolutionary war, with headquarters in New 
York City. It was he who led the brilliant 
and successful expedition against Forts Clin- 
ton and Montgomery on the Hudson (1777), 
defended by his American kinsmen, General 
James Clinton and General George Clinton 
(then governor of the State of New York). 
Sir Henry left descendants in England. 5. 
Edward, unmarried. 6. Thomas, mentioned 
below. 7. Anne, married William Ascough, 
son and heir of Sir Francis Ascough, knight 
of Kelsy, county Lincoln. 8 Frances, mar- 
ried Gyles Bruges, third Lord Chandos. Ed- 
ward Clinton, first Earl of Lincoln, married 
(third) Elizabeth, daughter of Gerald Fitz- 
gerald, ninth Earl of Kildare, and widow of 
Sir Anthony Browne, knight. This was the 
lady celebrated by Henry, Earl of Surrey, as 
the Fair Geraldine. No issue. 

(X\T) Sir Thomas Clinton, third son of 
Edward, ninth Baron Clinton and first Earl 
of Lincoln, and Ursula Stourton, inherited 
estates in Ireland; in 1618 was seated at 
Dowdston in that country. He married Mary, 
daughter of John Tirrell, Esq., of Warley, in 
county Essex. England. Children : William, 
mentioned below ; Margery, married James 
Crelie, of the Newry, Ireland, who was 
drowned at Ringshead, April 2, 1618. 

(XVII) Sir William Clinton, son of Sir 
Thomas and Mary (Tirrell) Clinton, like his 
father, resided in Ireland. In the civil wars 
he supported the fortunes of Charles I. and 
was an ofiicer in the royalist armies. It may 
be remarked that the head of the Clinton house 
at that period, Theophilus, fourth Earl of 
Lincoln, was also a royalist, and for his ac- 
tivity in the cause his estates were seized. 
.^fter the triumph of Cromwell. Sir William 
Clinton went into exile on the continent, liv- 
ing in France and Spain. Later he was for 
some time in Scotland, where he married. He 
died in Glenwharry, Ireland. He married 
Elizabeth, daughter of Sir John Kennedy, 
Earl of Cassilis in the Scotch peerage, known 
as "the grave and solemn earl." Kennedy, 
and the Earls of Cassilis, were descended from 
Duncan de Carrick, who lived in the reign of 
Malcolm IV. of Scotland (beginning about 
1150). The grandson of Duncan, Roland of 
Carrick, had a grant of the country of Car- 
rick from Neil, Earl of Carrick, and was de- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



543 



clared chief of his name, this grant being 
confirmed by Alexander III. Sixth in descent 
from Roland was Sir John Kennedy (desig- 
nated as son of Sir Gilbert de Carrick in many 
writs), who had a confirmatory charter from 
David II. of the lands of Castlys, county Ayr, 
with other lands which came to him from 
his wife, Mary, daughter of Sir Neil Mont- 
gomery. Descended from him in a distin- 
guished line was Lord David Kennedy, who 
was created Earl of Cassilis by James IV., 
1509. The earldom of Cassilis is now sub- 
ordinate to the marquisate of Ailsa, Archi- 
bald Kennedy, twelfth Earl of Cassilis, having 
been created, 1831, marquis of Ailsa. This 
Archibald, twelfth earl, was the son of Archi- 
bald, eleventh earl, who married (first) Cath- 
erine Schuyler, daughter of Peter Schuyler 
of New Jersey, and (second) Anne Watts, 
daughter of Hon. John Watts of New York 
(the descent being through the second mar- 
riage). Children of Sir William Clinton and 
Elizabeth Kennedy: i. Margaret, married John 
Parks ; children : John Parks ; Jane Parks, 
married John Young; Barbara Parks, married 
John Crawford. 2. James, mentioned below. 

(XVTII) James Clinton, son of Sir Wil- 
liam and Elizabeth (Kennedy) Clinton, was 
an infant at his father's death. He was born 
in Ireland and continued there, residing in 
county Longford, where he had considerable 
estates. A portion of his life was passed, 
however, as an officer in the military service 
under Queen Anne in England, where he made 
an effort to recover patrimonial lands, in which 
he was unsuccessful on account of the limita- 
tion of an act of parliament. He died in 
■county Longford, Ireland, January 24, 1718. 
He married Elizabeth Smith, of an English 
family, daughter of William Smith, a Crom- 
wellian officer. She died December 5, 1728. 
Issue: Christina, Mary, Charles, mentioned 
below. 

(The Family in America.) 

(I) Charles Clinton, son of James and Eliza- 
beth (Smith) Clinton, the founder of the 
family in America, was born in Ireland about 
1690 According to a letter brought by him 
to. America from Rev. James Bond, pastor 
of the dissenting (Presbvterian) congregation 
at Corbay, countv Longford, both he and his 
wife lived "within the bounds" of that con- 
gregation "from their infancy." He was active 
and prominent in the afifairs of the church, 



occupying the position of ruling elder. After 
his mother's death (1728) he made prepara- 
tions for removal to the colonies and was the 
leading spirit in organizing a company hav- 
ing for its object the founding of a settlement. 
On the 20th of May, 1729, with his wife and 
three young children, his two sisters, and his 
associates, he sailed from Dublin on the ship 
"George and Ann," bound for Philadelphia. 
The party numbered ninety-four persons, in 
whose behalf he paid the passage money. The 
voyage, chronicled in his diary, which is now 
preserved in the New York State Library in 
Albany, was one of the most unfortunate and 
distressing in colonial records. There was a 
shortage of supplies, the vessel was over- 
crowded, and many died of disease and 
famine, including two of Clinton's children. 
It was not until October 4, four and a half 
months, that land was seen, and instead of 
Philadelphia, whither the emigrants were 
destined, they were put ashore on Cape Cod, 
the master, who appears to have been a man 
of the greatest barbarity, positively refusing 
to carry them further. The Clintons passed 
the winter in Massachusetts. After due in- 
vestigation land for a settlement was selected 
in the province of New York some six miles 
southwest of the present city of Newburgh. 
The tract, about four miles square, received 
the name of Little Britain, also being called 
the "precinct of the Highlands." Though 
within a short distance of the Hudson river 
and only sixty or seventy miles from New 
York City, it was wholly unsettled, "border 
land to the Indians" In a petition asking 
for protection, which was addressed to the 
colonial legislature after this period by some 
inhabitants of Ulster county, it was stated 
that they were bounded on the west by the 
desert, where only the wild Indian made his 
home and grave. Here Clinton and his com- 
panions from Ireland built their homes, and 
the country being fertile and salubrious, grad- 
ually advanced to prosperity. His house was 
very strongly constructed as a frontier post 
and fortification for security against the 
Indians, and was often called "the fort." From 
an early period of his settlement Clinton, 
known for energy and ability, exercised a 
marked influence. Being a proficient surveyor 
and mathematical scholar, he was employed in 
various important matters in this connpction 
and so came into association with the officials 



544 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



of the provincial government. In November, 
1736, he joined with a son of Governor Cosby 
in petitioning for a grant of land extending 
on both sides of the Mohawk river around 
Fort Stanwix. He was appointed in 1738 
clerk of a military organization in the pre- 
cinct of the Highlands. During the admin- 
istration of his relative, George Clinton, royal 
governor of New York from 1743 to 1753, he 
formed an acquaintance with him which rip- 
ened into intimacy. Continuing his identifica- 
tion with the militia, he was promoted to lieu- 
tenant-colonel and colonel, and in 1758 he led 
in person a regiment against the French, which 
marched to the Mohawk Valley and was sta- 
tioned at Fort Herkimer, where he was for a 
time in command. Soon afterward he joined 
with his forces the main army under General 
Bradstreet and participated in the taking of 
Fort Frontenac on Lake Ontario, one of the 
most brilliant and important events of the 
war. In this campaign he was near seventy. 
Two of his sons, James and George, were of- 
ficers under him, the former as captain, the 
latter as lieutenant. For manv years he oc- 
cupied the position of justice of the peace 
In 1764 he was one of the commissioners 
named to settle the controversies as to the 
New Jersey boundary line and similar vexed 
matters resulting from the confusion of the 
old Dutch grants. His last public employment 
was that of county judge of Ulster county 
(1769). He died at his residence, Little 
Britain, New York, November 19, 1773. In 
his will he directed that he be buried in the 
graveyard on his farm beside his daughter 
Catherine, and added the following request: 
"That my executors procure a suitable stone 
to lay over my grave, whereon I would have 
the time of my death, my age, and coat-of- 
arms cut. I hope they will indulge me in 
this last piece of vanity." Charles Clinton 
was distinguished for dignity and refinement 
of manners, purity and elevation of character, 
sincere devotion to the interests of religion, 
and earnest attachment to his adopted country. 
He lived to witness the events which fore- 
shadowed the conflict with Great Britain, and 
his dying injunction to his sons was to main- 
tain the liberties of America 

He married, in Ireland, Elizabeth Dennis- 
ton, born about 1705. died December 25, 1779. 
She was of the very ancient Scottish family 
of Dennistoun, from which Robert II. was 



descended ; over the mantel in the hall of the 
ancestral castle were inscribed the words: 
"Kings came of us, not we of kings." An 
exceptionally accomplished and intelligent 
lady, she gave every encouragement to her 
husband and sons in their various activities, 
and shared in their patriotic ardor. Issue: i. 
Catherine, born in Ireland, August 11, 1723, 
died in Little Britain, New York, November 
28, 1762 ; she married, June 22, 1749, Captain 
James McClaughry, who came to America 
with the Clinton party in 1729; no issue. 2. 
James, born in 1726, died on the passage to 
America, August 28, 1729. 3. Mary, born in 
Ireland, July 11, 1728, died on the passage, 
August 2, 1729. 4. Alexander, born in Little 
Britain, New York, April 28, 1732, died in 
Shawangunk, New York, March 11, 1758; he 
was graduated from Princeton College in 1750, 
studied medicine under Dr Peter Middleton 
in New York City, and practiced his profes- 
sion in his native neighborhood; no issue. 5. 
Charles, born in Little Britain, July 20, 1734, 
died April 3, 1791, unmarried. 6. James, men- 
tioned below. 7. George, born in Little Britain, 
July 26, 1739, died in Washington, D. C, 
April 20, 1812. 

(II) James, sixth child of Charles and 
Elizabeth (Denniston) Clinton, was born 
August 9, 1736, in Little Britain, Ulster coun- 
ty (now Orange county). New York. During 
his entire life he resided in his native locality. 
"With a hardy and vigorous constitution, ac- 
customed to alarms and Indian incursions, he 
became in early life attached to the profession 
of arms," and it is as a soldier that he is 
chiefly remembered. In 1757, at the age of 
twenty-one, he was commissioned ensign, and 
the following year was made first lieutenant 
with power to enlist troops in the war with 
France. He commanded a company of his 
father's regiment in the expedition against 
Fort Frontenac (1758), and with his brother, 
George, exhibited an intrepidity in the result- 
ing attack which gained him great credit. On 
the same occasion the brothers further dis- 
tinguished themselves by the capture of a 
French vessel on Lake Ontario Continuing 
in the army until the peace of 1763, he was 
variously employed throughout these five 
years as an ofiRcer at frontier posts, in border 
skirmishes, and in enlisting new recruits under 
orders from the colonial governors, achieving 
a high reputation for soldierly qualities. In 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



545 



1763 he organized and commanded a corps 
of two hundred frontier guards. After the 
war he resumed the duties of peaceful Hfe 
at his native place, but, retaining his military 
enthusiasm, was active in promoting the effi- 
ciency of the local militia, in which he was 
advanced to lieutenant-colonel. In the devel- 
opments which led up to the separation of the 
colonies from the mother country he took an 
intense interest, and his name appears prom- 
inently in the early movements both for mili- 
tary and civil preparation. After the battle 
of Lexington, April 19, 1775^ he, with his 
brothers. Dr. Charles and George, and brother- 
in-law, Captain McClaughry, was instrumental 
in the formation of the committees which met 
at New Paltz on May 11. He was one of the 
delegates from Ulster county to the first 
provincial convention, held in New York City, 
and signed the strong document promulgated 
by that body on May 26. Later he was 
conspicuous in circulating the "association" 
agreements for support of the continental 
congress and in organizing forces. On 
June 30, 1775, he was unanimously ap- 
pointed by the provincial congress colonel of 
the Third New York Regiment; and in the 
fall he was made colonel of one of the new 
regiments which had been raised in Ulster 
county. With a portion of his command he 
accompanied General Montgomery to Canada, 
and he was with the army before the walls of 
Quebec when that heroic leader fell. In June, 
1776, Colonel Clinton was stationed at Fort 
Montgomery on the Hudson. Under his 
supervision the works there and at the neigh- 
boring Fort Clinton were completed, and with 
great energy he labored to put them and their 
garrisons in readiness for defense. Only 
scanty munitions being sent him, he manufac- 
tured his own powder and ball. He was pro- 
moted to brigadier-general in the army of the 
United States in August. Possessing the 
especial confidence of General Washington, 
who regarded the security of the Hudson as of 
the very highest importance, he was continued 
in the command at Fort Montgomery. 
The next year occurred the memorable 
descent of Burgoyne's army from Canada, 
the prime object of this invasion being 
the mastery of the Hudson, which if realized 
would have isolated New England and 
have prevented all future conjunction be- 
tween the eastern and western colonies. At 



the same time that Burgoyne advanced from 
Canada, Howe, the British commander in New 
York, sailed with a formidable expedition for 
Philadelphia, thus engaging the main Ameri- 
can army under Washington in that quarter. 
Thereupon Sir Henry Clinton, Howe's suc- 
cessor in New York, proceeded to carry out 
that very vital part of the British plans which 
involved forcing the defenses of the lower 
Hudson and effecting a junction with Bur- 
goyne. On the 4th of October, 1777, Sir 
Henry embarked his forces, some four 
thousand men, at New York, sailed up the 
Hudson, and landed at Verplanck's Point be- 
low Peekskill in Westchester county. Peeks- 
kill was at that time the headquarters of the 
military district of the Highlands, which com- 
prehended Forts Montgomery and Clinton. 
The command of the district was held by 
General Israel Putnam at Peekskill, subor- 
dinate to him being the brothers. General 
(Governor) George Clinton at Fort Mont- 
gomery and General James Clinton at Fort 
Clinton. (In the very grave military situation 
Governor George Clinton had leemed it his 
duty to take the field in person, and had come 
to the support of his brother in the Highland 
forts.) General Putnam, at Peekskill, mis- 
apprehended Sir Henry's object, supposing it 
was to attack his main position in force, and 
he not only neglected to strengthen the Clinton 
brothers in the forts, but even sent to them 
for troops. In the night the British com- 
mander transferred some three thousand of 
his men to the west bank of the river, leaving 
the remainder of Verplanck's Point to con- 
tinue the ruse. Everything worked to his sat- 
isfaction ; Putnam still thought the objective 
of the enemy was Peekskill, and it is said that 
though he received early intelligence of the 
passage of a body of the British to the other 
•,ide, he concluded this was only a detachment ; 
certain it is he took no measure to reinforce 
the brothers, for which he had ample time after 
hearing of the new movement. On the morn- 
ing of October 5, the three thousand British 
who had landed on the west side took up the 
difficult march northward through the moun- 
tain passes. About five o'clock in the after- 
noon they arrived in the vicinity of the forts,, 
and, surrender being refused, divided into two 
columns and stormed them from the rear. The 
forces under the brothers did not exceed five 
hundred, but a terrific resistance was made 



546 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



which lasted till after nightfall, when the 
overwhelming power of numbers prevailed. In 
the fight General James Clinton suffered a 
severe bayonet wound. The last to leave Fort 
Clinton, he escaped down a precipice, one 
hundred feet high, fronting the river, and 
made his way to his home at Little Britain. 
The governor crossed in a rowboat to the op- 
posite shore. The taking of the Highland 
forts was one of the most sensational events 
of the revolution, standing as much to the 
credit of the British general who planned and 
executed the enterprise as did the subsequent 
capture of Stony Point, a few miles below, 
to that of the American General Wayne. Sir 
Henry Clinton, having an unobstructed path 
before him (West Point had not then liieen 
built,) immediately marched to assist Bur- 
goyne. but was too late, and so, after burning 
Kingston and committing other ravages, re- 
turned to New York. Forts Montgomery and 
Clinton were demolished and never recon- 
structed. For this disastrous afifair Putnam 
was sharply criticised but the conduct of the 
Clinton brothers was regarded by both Wash- 
ington and congress with unmixed approba- 
tion. Against odds of six to one their situation 
was hopeless unless reinforced ; but as help 
miglit still come from Putnam, and as in any 
case it was their duty to maintain the honor of 
the American arms, they made a desperate 
defense, prolonging it in sheer heroism until 
further fighting could have had no other issue 
than the mere massacre of their little remnant. 
After recovering from hi? wounds. Genera! 
James Clinton returned to the army and was 
stationed at the new post of West Point on 
the Hudson. As a result of the Wvoming 
and Cherry Valley massacres it was decided to 
di=patch a strong expcd'tinn against the 
Indians. To the details of this matter ^^''ash- 
ington gave very particular attention, and the 
preservation among Tames Clinton's papers of 
the original letter of the commander-in-chief 
shows that it was referred to him General 
Sullivan was placed at the head of the expedi- 
tion, with Clinton second in command. In 
June, 1779, Clinton moved with his division 
of two tliousand from Albany, proceeded up 
the Mohawk Valley, crossed to Lake Otsego, 
and there embarked in two hundred and 
eighteen boats which had been carried over- 
land with great labor. At the lower extremity 
of the lake, where it has its outlet in the east- 



ern branch of the Susquehanna river — ordin- 
arily an unnavigable stream — he built a dam, 
elevating the water several feet. Men were 
sent ahead to clear the river of driftwood, the 
flood was released, and the troops rode quickly 
and safely down, reaching the point of ren- 
dezvous in the Susquehanna Valley before 
the main army. On the 29th of August, Sul- 
livan having arrived, the united forces en- 
countered the Indians at Newtown (now El- 
mira, New York), and completely defeated 
them. The object of the campaign being re- 
■ tributive, an extensive march was then made 
through the country of the Onondagas, Cayu- 
gas and Senecas. which was thoroughly laid 
waste, villages, stores and crops being de- 
stroyed. This was one of the most comprehen- 
sive and successful expeditions ever under- 
taken against the savages. Years afterward 
General Clinton, revisiting the scene, was re- 
membered by the chiefs of the tribes and was 
offered large donations of land (which he 
declined) because of their admiration for him 
as a brave man. In 1780, after the treason of 
Arnold, Washington wrote to Clinton, then at 
West Point: "As it is necessary there should 
be an ofificer in whom the state has confidence 
to take the general direction of afifairs at Al- 
bany and on the frontier, I have fixed upon 
you for this purpose, and request you will 
proceed to Albany without delay and assume 
command." He administered this post — the 
northern department — very efficiently until 
August, 1781. when, with his troops, he joined 
Washington and accompanied him in the York- 
town campaign. It was his brigade which 
received the colors of the British army at the 
surrender of Cornwallis. Afterwards he was 
for several months in command of the Ameri- 
can forces at Pompton, New Jersey. He was 
one of the distinguished officers present at the 
evacuation of New York in November, 1783. 
LTpon his retirement from the army he held the 
rank of maior-general. 

The remainder of his life was for the most 
part passed in the privacy of his home, al- 
though on several occasions he was summoned 
to the public service in honorable position. 
In 1784 he was appointed regent of the LTni- 
versity of the State of New York. He was 
a delegate to the famous Pous^hkeepsie con- 
vention of 1788. held to consider the Ignited 
States constitution, and strongly supported his 
brother in opposition to that instrument : but 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



547 



after its ratification he defended it with his 
accustomed sincerity and energy. At various 
times he was a member of the assembly and 
state senate, and he also was a commissioner 
on the New Jersey boundary and sat in the 
convention of 1801 which revised the state 
constitution. He died in Little Britain, New 
York, December 22, 1812. 

In person General Clinton was one of the 
most striking individualities of his times — of 
commanding stature and powerful physique, 
finely proportioned, and with features of re- 
markable beauty, indicative of the greatest 
dignity, resolution and candor. As a military 
leader he was above all distinguished by ef- 
ficiency — self-possessed amid the most serious 
dangers, a firm disciplinari?cn, and absolutely 
loyal to every trust. These qualities led to 
his constant employment by Washington in 
responsible commands on the Hudson river, 
where unquestionable reliability, incessant 
alertness, and administrative vigor were the 
prime requirements. On the other hand, his 
campaign of 1779 to the Indian country, in- 
volving an extraordinarily toilsome march and 
a delicate engineering feat, executed with pre- 
cision of detail and surprising dispatch, dem- 
onstrates that as a field commander he also 
possessed exceptional abilities. His son. Gov- 
ernor De Witt Clinton, in a tribute to his 
character said: "He was ?. p^ood man and a 
sincere patriot, performing in the most ex- 
emplary manner, all the duties of life, and he 
died as he had lived, without fear and without 
reproach." 

He married ffirst) February t8, 1761;, Marv 
(baptized Maria) De Witt, onlv daughter of 
Egbert De Witt, of Naoonach, Ulster county. 
New York, and Mary (Nottingham) De Witt. 
Her ancestry was as follows : Tjerck Claesen 
De Witt, from the Netherlands ; married, in 
the Reformed Dutch Church, New Amster- 
dam, April 24, 1656, Barbara Andriessen ; 
fourteen children, of whom the eldest was 
Andries De Witt, born in New Amsterdam, 
1657. died July 22, T710: lived for some years 
in Marbleton, New York, later removing to 
Kingston ; married. March 7, 1682, Jannetje 
Egbertsen, daug-hter of Egbert Meindertse and 
Jaepe Tans : twelve children, the tenth of whom 
was Esjbert De Witt, born March 18. i6qq; 
lived in Naponach, Ulster county, married, 
November .1. 1726, Mary Nottino-ham, daugh- 
ter, of William and Margaret (Rutsen) Not- 



tingham ; nine sons and one daughter, Mary 
De Witt, married James Clinton, mentioned 
above. Issue of James and Mary (De 
Witt) Clinton: i. Alexander, born in Deer- 
park, Orange county. New Y'ork, 1765, 
drowned in the Hudson river, March 15, 1787; 
he served as lieutenant in Colonel Lamb's regi- 
ment of artillery during the revolution, and 
was for a time private secretary to his Uncle 
George ; unmarried. 2. Charles, mentioned be- 
low. 3. De Witt, governor of New York, etc., 
born in Little Britain, March 2, 1769, died in 
Albany, New York, February 11, 1828. 4. 
George, born July 6, 1771. 5. Mary, born 
July 20, 1773; married (first) Robert Burrage 
Norton, (second) Judge Ambrose Spencer; no 
issue. 6. Elizabeth, born January 15, 1776; 
married Lieutenant WilHam Stuart, who 
served in the revolutionary army ; seveil chil- 
dren. 7. Katherine, born September 24, 1778. 
died 1837; married (first) Samuel Lake Nor- 
ton, brother of Robert Burrage Norton, her 
sister Mary's first husband ; no issue ; married 
(second) Judge Ambrose Spencer, her sister'.'; 
widower. General James Clinton married 
(second) Mrs. Mary (Little) Gray, widow 
of Alexander Gray. .She was born in county 
Longford, Ireland, August 22, 1768, died in 
Newburgh, Orange county, New York, June 
22, 1835. Issue: 8. James, died young. 9. 
Caroline H., born March 27. 1800; married 
Judge Charles A. Dewey, of Northampton, 
Massachusetts. 10. Emma L., born February, 
1802, died July 6, 1823 ; unmarried. 11. James 
Graham, born January 2, 1804, died May 28, 
1849, "Honored, loved, lamented." 12. Leti- 
tia, born April 12, 1806. died April 23, 1842, 
aged thirty-six ; married Dr. Francis Bolton ; 
children: Thomas Bolton, died young; James 
Clinton Bolton, lawyer in New York; married 
Laura Tallmadge. 13. Anna, born July 26, 
1809, died December 11, 1833, aged twenty- 
four ; married Lieutenant Edward Ross, of 
the LTnited States army. 

(Ill) Charles (2), second son of James and 
Mary (De Witt) Clinton, was born February 
t8, 1767, in Little Britain, and died in New 
York Citv, April 20, T829. He prepared for 
the practice of law, was admitted to the bar, 
and gave much of his time to his profession. 
He had a particular taste for surveying, in 
which he was very skillful and devoted consid- 
erable time to that occupation. His home was 
in Newburgh, New York, where he filled vari- 



548 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



ous positions of irust and responsibility. In 
1802 he represented his district in the state 
assembly. He married, in 1790, Elizabeth, 
daughter of William and Mary (Denniston) 
Mulliner, of Little Britain, born there April 
27, 1770, died August 15, 1865, in New York 
City. Children: Maria, born March 26, 1791, 
married Robert Gourlay Jr. ; Alexander, men- 
tioned below. 

(IV) Dr. Alexander Clinton, only son of 
Charles (2) and Elizabeth (Mulliner) Clin- 
ton, was born April 7, 1793. in Newburgh, 
and died February 16, 1878, in New York 
City. He studied medicine and engaged in 
practice. He joined the United States army 
in which he attained the rank of lieutenant 
He married Adeline Arden Hamilton, daugh- 
ter of ^Captain James and Mary (Dean) Ham- 
ilton, natives of Scotland. Captain Hamilton 
was a descendant of the ancient family of 
that name of the Baronage of Innerwick. 
Children : Mary Elizabeth, married John 
Rhinelander, of Bleecker ; Adeline Arden, wife 
of Thomas E. Brown ; Alexander James, many 
years president of the Eagle Fire Insurance 
Company, of New York City ; Ann Eliza, 
Mrs. Thomas A.. Wilmerding; Charles Wil- 
liam, a noted architect of New York City 
De Witt, mentioned below ; Katherine Spen- 
cer, died in childhood. 

(V) De Witt, third son of Dr. Alexander 
and Adeline Arden (Hamilton) Clinton, was 
born July 5, 1835, in New York City. He re- 
ceived his education in private schools of his 
native place. From i860 to 1897 he was a 
member of the New York Stock Exchange 
and is now retired from :ictive business, re- 
siding in Ridgewood, New Jersey. He is not 
affiliated with any religious body. During 
the first thirty-three years of his life his home 
was in New York City, and from 1868 to 1897 
he resided in South Orange, New lersey, 
whence he removed to Ridgewood. Politically 
he is a Republican. He served a term of en- 
listment in the Seventh Regiment, National 
Guard, State of New York, during the period 
of the civil war and the draft riots. He was 
married in St. Anne's Church, New York City. 
September 25, 1862, to E'izabeth Sigourney 
Burnham, born August 9, 1840. in New York 
City, died at Ridgewood, New Jersey. Janu- 
ary 9. 1912. daughter of Michael and Jane 
(Carter") (Si.Erourneyl Burnham, of New York 
City. Children: Alexander, born August 11, 



1863, in New York, died at Norwalk, Connecti- 
cut, July 23, 1864; De Witt, mentioned below; 
Jennie Sigourney, born September 14, 1867, 
in New York ; Roland Burnham, mentioned 
below; Elizabeth Sigourney born December 13, 
1880, at South Orange, New Jersey. 

(VI) De Witt (2), second son of De Witt 
(i) and Elizabeth Sigourney (Burnham) 
Clinton, was born October 23, 1864, in New 
York City. He attended private schools in 
South Orange, New Jersey He is connected 
in business with the firm of Clinton & Russell, 
architects, with offices in Liberty street. New 
York City, practicing architecture. He is also 
a professional musician and church organist, 
and has been director of various choruses and 
church choirs, though not connected otherwise 
with any religious organization. He is a mem- 
ber of the Architectural League of New York, 
and the Manhattan Single Tax Club and Sun- 
rise Club of the same city. He has long en- 
gaged actively in the single tax propaganda, 
and other economic and social reform work, 
and is politically independent. He was reared 
at South Orange. New Jersey, and now resides 
at Ridgewood. same state. 

(YD Roland Burnham, third son of De 
Witt (i) and Elizabeth Sigourney (Burnham) 
Clinton, was born October 14, 1878, in South 
Orange, New Jersey. He attended public and 
private schools in that place. Since attaining 
manhood his time has been devoted principally 
to literary work. He is not connected with 
any religious organization, and is politically 
independent. His home is now at Ridgewood, 
New Jersey, where he was married, November 
8. 191 1, to Pauline L. Provine, born Novem- 
ber 2, 1887, in New York City, daughter of 
James Edwin and Stella Mary (Bates) Pro- 
vine. They have one son • De Witt Provine 
Clinton, born October 18, 1912. in Brooklyn. 
New York. 



In preparing the gene- 
FLOYD-JONES alogy of the Floyd- 
Jones family it becomes 
necessary to take into consideration two fam- 
ilies which for centuries have been of fore- 
most account in the State of New York, and 
with an influence much wider. For genera- 
tions the Jones family, settled on Long Island, 
has contributed a line of distinguished legisla 
tors and jurists, and has maintained promin- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



549 



€nce in political life under both British and 
American rule. The Floyd family was among 
those of this state which were held in esteem 
before the revolution, gained distinction at 
that period, and since then its members have 
invariably been worthy. 

The line of descent to be considered here 
is traced separately through the Floyd and 
Jones families. In the year 1757 they were 
united by an important intermarriage, and the 
united strains became known as Floyd-Jones 
by the legislative enactment of 1788, which 
enabled Colonel David Richard Floyd to add 
the name of Jones to his surname, hence he 
and all of his descent since then to the present 
day have borne the name Floyd-Jones. As 
the male line was that of the Floyd family, at 
tention will first be paid to it. 

(I) Colonel Richard Floyd was the first of 
this family in America. He was born about 
1620, and was a native of Brecknockshire, 
Wales. He came to this country in 1656, set- 
tling in Setauket, Long Island. There he be- 
came one of the fifty-five original proprietors 
of Brookhaven, was made a justice, and ap- 
pointed a colonel of the Suffolk militia com- 
pany. His wife, Susanna , was born in 

1626, and died in 1700. They had one child, 
who bore the name of its father. 

(II) Colonel Richard (2) Floyd, son of 
Colonel Richard d) Floyd and his wife Sus- 
anna, was born May 12, 1661, and died Febru- 
ary 28, 1737. He was appointed county colonel 
m the days when King William's war made 
troubled times, and by the grace of Anne be- 
came a judge of the court of common pleas. 
He married, September 10. 1686, Margaret, 
daughter of Colonel Matthias Nicoll, secre- 
tary of New York colony, and many years 
judge of Sufifolk county, anci his wife Abigail. 
Margaret Nicoll was born in 1662 and died 
in 1718. The inscription upon Colonel Floyd's 
tombstone, still in a state of preservation at 
Setauket, Long Island, reads: "Here lies ye 
body of Richard Floyd, Esqre.. late Collonel 
of this County, and a Judge of ye Court of 
Common Pleas, who deed. Febry 28, 1737, in 
ye 73 year of his age." Children : i. Su.sannah. 
born 1688; married Edmund Smith, son of 
Adam, son of Richard, of the "Bull" Smith 
family of Smithtown. 2. Marg-aret, born 1690: 
married Rev. John Thomas, of Hempstead. 3. 
Charity, born 1692, died in 1758; married 
(first) Benjamin Nicoll; (second) Dr. Samuel 



Johnson. 4. Eunice, born 1694; married Wil- 
liam Stephens. 5. Ruth, born 1699; married 
Walter Dongan. 6. Richard, born 1703 (see 
forward). 7. Nicoll, born 1705, died 1752; 
married Tabitha Smith. 

(III) Colonel Richard (3) Floyd, son of 
Colonel Richard (2) Floyd and Margaret 
Nicoll, was born December 29, 1703, and died 
April 21, 1771. He married Elizabeth Hut- 
chinson, born in 1709, died in 1778, daughter 
of Benjamin and Martha Hutchinson, large 
property owners bordering on Long Island 
sound. Children: Richard, of whom further; 
Elizabeth ; John ; Margaret ; Benjamin ; Gil- 
bert : William ; Samuel ; Mary ; Anna. 

(IV) Colonel Richard (4) Floyd, son of 
Colonel Richard (3) and Elizabeth (Hutchin- 
son) Floyd, was born February 26. 1731, and 
died February 6, 1791. He settled upon the 
estate left to him by his father at Mastic, Suf 
folk county. Long Island, where he was re 
garded by all as the most generous man who 
had ever resided within that county. He en- 
tertained all ranks of neighbors not only 
courteously but cordially, and sustained the 
reputation of keeping the most hospitable table 
on the entire island. Needless to say, these 
characteristics of his nature made him num- 
erous friends and precluded enemies. To the 
poor he likewise extended unstinted generosity, 
and all those in distress lived to revere his 
memory as their best friend. He was a Tory 
of the deepest dye throughout the revolution, 
and became one of the proscribed individuals 
who came under the Act of Attainder. For 
this reason he was obliged to leave the country 
in order to save any portion of his valuable 
property. The remainder, including the fine 
family place at Mastic, Long Island, was con- 
fiscated, and his wife fortunately succeeded 
to the property bequeathed b^ her father 
Colonel Richard Floyd was also related to 
General Nathaniel Woodhull, of the American 
army, who married Ruth Floyd, first cousin of 
Richard, and they were near neighbors at 
Mastic. The battle of Long Island was fought 
August 27, 1776, in which the British arms 
were victorious. Nathaniel Woodhull was ap- 
pointed brigadier-general and commander-in- 
chief of all the militia on Long Island. Before 
he reached Jamaica, with less than one hun- 
dred men, the battle was decided, so he re- 
mained there at an inn kept by a man named 
Carpenter, about two miles east of the village. 



550 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



for reinforcements, which he could not get, as 
the American army had escaped from Long 
Island, leaving the enemy in possession. The 
British received information where he was, 
and surrounded the house, making him and all 
his party prisoners. This happened on the 
night of August 28, 1776, and not a gun was 
fired. The general, favored by darkness, at- 
tempted to escape; but being discovered by 
sentries while attempting to get over a fence, 
he received a number of strokes from their 
.swords, particularly a severe one upon the 
arm. He was carried aboard a man-of-war, 
and treated with hospitality. The surgeons 
advised amputation, but he would not give his 
consent, and hence the wound mortified, caus- 
ing his death, which occurred September 20, 
1776. 

Colonel Richard Floyd married, November 
2, 1757, Arabella Jones, born December 7, 
1734, died May 29, 1785, daughter of Judge 
David Jones and Anna Willett. The judge 
amassed a fortune of considerable size, being 
a large property owner on Long Island. His 
daughter Arabella thus became wealthy by 
inheritance, and through her issue the property 
was to descend provided a child of hers would 
carry down the name of Jones. In order to 
take the best of care of the will of her father, 
in 1783 she desired Ruth Woodhull, widow 
of the general, to take care of it. The will was 
delivered to her by Mrs. Floyd sealed in a 
paper, with the declaration *hat it was the will 
of Judge David Jones. This was placed in a 
sealskin trunk by Mrs. Woodhull for safe- 
keeping with the will of General Woodhull ; but 
on April 5, 1784, Mrs. Woodhull's house 
caught fire and the trunk, with its valued con- 
tents, was destroyed. Colonel Richard Floyd 
left his home on Long Island in 1783, for Con- 
necticut, and from there went to Nova Scotia. 
He died at Maugerville, New Brunswick, June 
30, 1791, where he was buried. His wife was 
buried at Mastic, Long Island. Children: i. 
Elizabeth, born August 8, 1758, died May 7, 
1820; married. September 28, 1785. John P. 
De Lancey. 2. David Richard, born November 
14, 1764. later known as David Richard Floyd- 
Jones (see forward"). 3 Anne Willett, born 
August 17, 1767, died June 8, 1813; married, 
December 3, 1784, Samuel Benjamin Nicoll. 

As David Richard Floyd, son of Colonel 
Richard Floyd and Arabella Jones, became 
known as David Richard Floyd-Jones by Act 



of Legislature of New York State in 1788, the 
Jones line will be considered. 

(The Jones Line.) 
By its very name, the family proclaims itself 
of the country of Wales. Johnes is the style 
of the primitive orthography, although the 
contracted form of Johns is equally correct 
and Jones the modern form, now in common 
use in America. Besides consideration of the 
name, students of the family history assert 
that traits and characteristics of the Welsh as 
a race stand out in succeeding generations ever 
since the arrival of the first of the name in 
this country, and they even go so far as to 
point out the transmission of these traits in 
the female line, when reflecting on the quali- 
ties of allied families Edward F. de Lancey 
has defined them. "The distinguishing char- 
acteristics of the family are penetration, judg- 
ment, independence, resolution, clearness of 
intellect, strength of memory, coolness, de- 
termination of action and high honor, united 
with a temperament sanguine and choleric, 
great fearlessness, and a disposition extremely 
social and hospitable " Another has said : 
"Other characteristics of the family, those not 
based upon the ideas of any one individual, 
are its longevity, the excellence of its matri- 
monial alliances, the great eminence which 
many of its members have obtained in legal 
jurisprudence, and the continuance of the 
latter through successive generations." Were 
either of these views half right, one would have 
abundant reason to be proud if a member of 
the family, which for righteous reason finds its 
name recorded on numerous pages of Ameri- 
can history. In substantiation of this a single 
paragraph will make the matter perfectly 
clear. Commencing with Major Thomas 
Jones, the first of the name in this country, 
one finds that shortly after his arrival on Long 
Island, about 1695, he held the official position 
of high sheriff, and in 1710 was justice of the 
peace for Queens county. After his decease 
his eldest son David became judge of Queens 
county, in 1734, and was made the second 
justice of the Supreme Court of New York 
in 1763, sitting for ten years, when he was 
succeeded by his son Thomas, who filled the 
offices of recorder of the City of New York 
and judge of the Supreme Court, holding the 
latter office until the end of the revolution, 
when, because of his adherence to the Crown, 
he was forced to lea\-e the country for Eng- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



551 



land, where he wrote his vyell-known history, 
"New York During the Revolutionary War." 
These facts not alone seem to, but actually 
do prove, the previous declaration regarding 
this family's standing in the community. 

(I) Major Thomas Jones was the progenitor 
of this family in America. It is a matter of 
tradition that the family was descended in 
remote times from a good family resident of 
Ireland who intermarried with another of 
Wales, supposed to have originated in Merion- 
etshire or Glamorganshire. But. as previously 
stated, the blood of the Wel.=;h family seems to 
have been predominant and has given the 
name. 

Thomas Jones, after the king's defeat at 
the battle of the Boyne, fought between the 
English under William III. and the Irish 
under James II., 1690, emigrated to America 
from Straubane, Ireland, in 1692', his title 
of major having been bestowed when he was 
an officer in the army of the dethroned mon- 
arch. He was a Protestant gentleman of 
Straubane, in county Tyrone, Province of 
Ulster, Ireland, some one hundred and fifty 
or more miles to the northwest of Dublin, 
where he was born about the year 1665 The 
family had come there, the north of Ireland, 
from England. He landed at Port Royal, in 
the island of Jamaica, where he was at the 
time of the great earthquake in June of that 
year. It is unverified tradition that he com- 
manded one . of the vessels in the harbor 
whither the people then flocked for safety — the 
"Swan" and the "Siam Merchant." Thomas 
Jones figures in history as a regularly com- 
missioned privateer under King James II., 
for there is record of a trial for being a pirate, 
whereas his business differed essentially as 
may be shown. In his testimony he avers : 

"We accepted the King's commission and acted 
under it, and for which we were condemned as 
traitors, and we never received any protection from 
King William; but served all along as subjects to 
King James II., etc., etc., and that after the sur- 
render of Limerick we (and thousands more) were 
conveyed as enemies into France, with our arms, 
brass guns and ammunition, and that being thus 
convej-ed to France, continued to act under King 
James II., as our King, and he all along, while we 
were in Ireland and after, commissioned us as his 
subjects, and that the ship and goods we took by 
virtue of a commission as privateers, etc., etc., and 
that thereafter we ought to be treated as only ene- 
mies and prisoners of war, etc. Some of these 
men were executed, not all." 



The above shows the activity of the man in 
adventure and a portion of his life in following 
the sea. When he arrived in Rhode Island 
he held a commission as captain. This was 
in 1692. The governor of New York colony 
from 1692 to 1698 was Colonel Fletcher, and 
he it was most likely who allowed him the com- 
mission or recognized him as a captain to 
cruise against Spain while that country was 
at war with England. While in Rhode 
Island, he became associated with Captain 
Thomas Townsend, who was an active trader. 
He participated in his numerous enterprises 
and married his daughter Freelove. Captain 
Townsend was son of John Townsend and 
his wife Elizabeth, and had come to Rhode 
Island from their place on Long Island. The 
latter colony had proved a refuge for the 
Quakers when persecuted, and there Thomas 
Townsend, his father-in-law, died in or about 
1712. Thomas Townsend gave to Major 
Thomas Jones and Freelove Townsend Jones, 
his wife, in 1695, a large tract of land which 
had formerly belonged to the Massapequa 
Indians at Fort Neck, on the south side of 
Long Island. He had previously offered it 
to his son, John Townsend ; but the land 
seemed so distant from other built-up places 
that the son refused it, saying: "Does father 
want me to go out of the world?" 

Seven Indians from this place had come 
on November 27, 1655, fo f^^^' with Peter 
Stuyvesant, the Dutch governor at New Am- 
sterdam, representing the Marsepain, or Mar- 
sepingh tribes, whose chief was Tachpausaan, 
alias Meautinnemin, Fort Neck, Queens coun- 
ty, Indians. To this vast estate Major Thomas 
Tones and his wife removed in 1696 There 
he built a substantial house of brick, at the 
head of the creek, on the portion now known 
as the Massapequa Farm. Many relics of the 
tribes liave been dug up at this locality, and 
it is believed by what has been discovered that 
the Indian cemetery was on the north side of 
the turnpike, just west of Little Massapequa 
creek. Lord Cornbury, governor of the 
province of New York, commissioned Thomas 
Jones a captain of militia in Queens county, 
October 20, 1702. On October 14, 1704, he 
was appointed high sheriff of Queens county, 
and on April 3, 1706, he was made major 
of the Queens county regiment. Governor 
Hunter of New York appointed him ranger 
general of the Island of Nassau. The last- 



552 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



named commission bears date September 4, 
1710. Rangers general were sworn officers of 
the Crown, to whom were granted by the 
sovereign or his representative the royal rights 
or franchises, of waifs, estrays, hunting royal 
fish, treasure trove, mines, deodands, forfei- 
tures and the like. This particular office gave 
Major Jones the monopoly of the whale and 
other fisheries from both the north and south 
shores of Long Island Subsequent to Thomas 
Jones' settlement upon this domain, he ac- 
quired from the Indians and other owners, as 
well as by inheritance by his wife from her 
father, various tracts which included the West 
Neck and Umqua properties. By accumula- 
tion he was eventually the possessor of about 
6,000 acres of land, all contiguous, which at 
a later date was designated as follows : "That 
part extending from or near the Jerusalem 
South Creek, later called 'Verrity's,' or At- 
ianticville creek, now designated as Seaford 
creek, to the Little West Massapequa creek, 
was denominated 'West Neck From the 
West Massapequa creek to the east branch of 
Fort Neck creek was called Fort Neck, and 
from there east to Carman's creek, running 
south to Umqua Point, was designated as 
Umqua. The northern boundary of the es- 
tate ran very close to the village of Hard- 
scrable. now Farmingdale." The dwelling 
which he erected was for many years the 
wonder of the age, its cognomen being the 
"Old Brick House." Many strange and weird 
stories are told about it, one to the effect that 
after the death of Major Jones, strange noises 
were heard there, and that a small, cir- 
cular window, seen in the gable, could never 
be closed, for sashes, boards and even bricks 
held by mortar, placed over or in it, were in- 
stantly removed by an invisible power. This 
house was demolished in 1837, and for a long 
time afterward any negro passing by would 
shrink with terror, expecting the appearance 
of a ghost. The inlet from the Great South 
Bay into the ocean has for a long time been 
known as Jones" Inlet, and the long sand dune 
as Jones' Beach, taking the name directly 
from the progenitor of the family and original 
owner. Freelove Townsend Jones also re- 
ceived from her father a house and two lots 
in Oyster Bay, which Major Jones sold to 
George Townsend in 17 12. 

When Major Thomas Jones died, Decem- 
ber 13, 1713, he was buried in a small grave- 



yard on the bank of what was then called 
Brick House Creek, now known as Massa- 
pequa Creek. A brownstone headpiece marks 
the spot, on which was carved the inscription 
which he wrote: "Here Lyes Interd The 
Body of Major Thomas Jones, Who Came 
From Straubane, In the Kingdom of Ireland, 
Settled Here and Died December, 1713." Be- 
neath that : 

"From Distant Lands to This Wild Waste He Came, 
This Seat He Choose, And Here He Fixed His 

Name. 
Long May His Sons This Peace Full Spot Injoy, 
And No 111 Fate his Offspring Here Annoy." 

On May 21, 1709, Major Thomas Jones, 
Colonel Henry Smith, and Colonel Richard 
Floyd were ordered by Lieutenant-Governor 
Ingoldesby "to engage the Long Island In- 
dians to join the expedition into Canada.'' In 
171 1 he subscribed £2 Eng'ish towards build- 
ing Trinity Church steeple in New York City. 
As early as 1710 he held the office of super- 
visor of Oyster Bay, and was annually re- 
elected until he died. September 2, 1709, he 
was appointed assistant justice of court of 
common pleas for Queens county. His wi- 
dow, who was born December 29, 1674, mar- 
ried Major Timothy Bagley (no issue), and 
died July, 1726. Children: i. Sarah L., born 
1695, died August 18, 1696. 2. David, of 
whom further. 3. Freelove, born 1700, died 
before 1768. 4. Thomas, born 1701, died 
November 13, 1741. 5. Sarah, born 1703. 6. 
Margaret, born about 1706, died before 1768. 
7. William, born April 25, 1708, died August 
29, 1779 8. Elizabeth, born about 1710, died 
after 1768. 

(II) Judge David Jones, son of Major 
Thomas Jones and Freelove Townsend, was 
born at Fort Neck, Long Island, September 
16, 1699, and died there'^ in the "Old Brick 
House," October 11, 1775. As early as 1734 
he had from Governor Cosby, of New York, 
the appointment of judge of Queens county, 
fitting in the court of common pleas. On 
June 2, 1737. at an election for members of 
assembly, he had 390 votes and Colonel Isaac 
Hicks 432, the latter supported by the Quak- 
ers, who were of course numerous. From 
1737 to 1758 he was member of assem- 
bly and also in 1761. For thirteen years 
he presided as speaker of the house. It 
was here he made a decided mark in his- 
tory. On December 15, 1737, he introduced 
a bill to repeal so much of the law of this 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



553 



colony concerning the Quakers as required 
them to produce certificates. This bill was 
lost, Chief Justice de Lancey dissenting. Oc- 
tober 20, 1737, he introduced a bill "to restrain 
tavern keepers from selling strong liquors to 
servants and apprentices." It was passed. 
September 14, 1738, he, with Colonel Isaac 
Hicks and others, were appointed by the legis- 
lature as a committee to prepare an address 
of condolence to His Majesty on the lamented 
death of her late Majesty Queen Charlotte. 
November, 1739, a bill was introduced by him 
and passed, to prevent setting fire or burning 
the old grass on Hempstead Plains. October 
4, 1752, he was chosen speaker. July 4, 1753, 
he and John Townsend and others were ap- 
pointed commissioners to examine the en- 
croachments made on this province by neigh- 
boring colonies. 

Although Judge David Jones was an Epis- 
copalian, he was not of the high church party 
favored by his son, Thomas, and it is inferred 
that he inclined somewhat to the Presbyte- 
rians, because they were so largely his con- 
stituents. In 1754, while speaker of assembly, 
he had much to do in procuring the charter 
for King's College in the city of New York, 
now Columbia University. A clause in this 
charter provided that its president should al- 
ways be a member of the Church of England. 
This created a serious storm of opposition, and 
he was roundly abused for favoring it. His 
son has left a statement regarding the incident 
in these words : "It threw the whole Province 
into a ferment, and Presbyterian pulpits thun- 
dered sedition." In the election for Assembly, 
February 24, 1761, David Jones received 382 
votes ; Thomas Cornell 363 : Thomas Hicks 
342; and Zebulon Seaman 217. He was first 
appointed judge in 1758, and although the 
rule that an office-holder went out on the death 
of the monarch, he was reappointed in 1761, 
arid he continued to hold the position until, 
wishing to resign in 1773, his son Thomas took 
his place. 

He built a large house on his estate at Fort 
Neck, which he called Tryon Hall, in honor 
of the governor. He possessed the clearness 
of mind and incisiveness of character which 
is so marked a characteristic of his race, never 
"hesitating in doing anything he believed to be 
right, regrardless of consequences, and alwavs 
commanded the confidence of the public 
throughout his career. While speaker of as- 



sembly, he had the firmness to order the doors 
of the chamber closed against the governor 
until a bill, then under discussion, was acted 
upon, it being known that the governor was 
opposed and had determined to prevent action. 
Throughout his life he was an imyielding ad- 
vocate of the rights of the people against every 
species of royal encroachment. 

To Judge David Jones and his heirs in taile 
was devised the greater portion of his father's 
large estate located at South Oyster Bay, who 
by sufifering a common recovery the life estate 
thus devised to him was changed into a fee, 
which he devised to his son Thomas during 
his life, with remainder on failure of issue, 
to his daughter Arabella and her issue in- 
tail-male. The entailment of the property by 
Judge David Jones saved it from being for- 
feited, as he adhered to the royal cause during 
the revolution, and on the restoration of peace 
was "attainted" and forced to leave the coun- 
try for England, where he died without issue. 
The estate thus devised him under his father's 
will was by a provision in that will vested in 
the testator's daughter, Arabella, and her heirs 
in-taile-male. An abstract of this important 
will states : 

"All his beaches, lands, marshes and grounds cov- 
ered with water in Queens County, he gives to his 
son, Thomas, for his use during his life, and after 
his death to the use of the first son of his said son 
Thomas, and the heirs male of such first son, etc., 
and in failure of such issue to the use of the second 
son, and sons of his Said son Thomas during their 
lives. On the failure of heirs male of his son, 
Thomas, he gives all the said real estate to and for 
the use of the oldest daughter of his said son, 
Thomas, during life, etc. In case of a total failure 
of issue of his son Thomas, he gives the same to 
and for use of his grandson, David Richard Floyd, 
the oldest son of his daughter Arabella, for his life, 
and after his death to and for the use of the first 
son of his said grandson, in-tail forever, they taking 
the surname of Jones." 

Judge Jones made further provision, in case 
there was no male heir and no one of his fam- 
ily took the name of Jones. In either event 
the said lands were to go to King's College, 
New York; the rents and issues to be applied 
yearly to the maintenance of charity schools, 
two of such schools always to be in Queens 
county — one at Jamaica and the other in the 
town of Oyster Bay. 

Judge David Jones married, November 22, 
1722, Anna, then aged eighteen years, called 
the second daughter of Colonel William Wil- 
lett, of Willett's Point, Westchester county. 



554 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



New York, great-granddaughter of the settler, 
Thomas WiUett, of Bristol, England, who 
married Sarah Cornell, of New York, in 1643. 
She died January 31, 1750, and he later mar- 
ried Margaret, widow of John Treadwell, by 
whom no issue. She was a daughter of 
Colonel William Willett and- his wife Alice, 
daughter of Governor CoMen, therefore a 
niece of his first wife. Children: i. Anna, 
born May 11, 1724. 2. Sarah, born February 
12, 1728, died April, 1828. 3. Thomas, born 
April 20, 173 1, died July 25, 1792. 4. Ara- 
bella, born December 7, 1734, died May 29, 
1785 ; married, November 2, 1757, Colonel 
Richard Floyd (see foward). 5. David, born 
April 30, 1737, died September 9, 1758. 6. 
Mary, born April 29, 1743. 

(The Floyd-Jones Line.) 

(V) David Richard Floyd-Jones (formerly 
David Richard Floyd), son of Colonel Rich- 
ard Floyd and Arabella Jones, was born No- 
vember 14, 1764, and died February 10, 1826. 
He took possession of the Fort Neck estate 
about 1782 to 1783, it being with his mother's 
consent, and that of his uncle. Judge Thomas 
Jones, when the latter became civilly dead by 
reason of the Act of Attainder. As his grand- 
father. Judge David Jones, by his will entailed 
his Fort Neck property in-tail male upon his 
only son, Judge Thomas Jones, and in default 
of issue to his daughter Arabella in-tail male, 
by reason of such default David Richard 
Floyd inherited. But there was another pro- 
vision in the will, and that was to the effect 
that the son inheriting must take the surname 
of Jones or annex it. He therefore appealed 
to the legislature to be allowed to affix the 
name of Jones to his own. The Act of the 
Legislature reads : 

"Chap. 75, of the New York Laws of 1788; an Act 
to enable David Richard Floyd to add the name of 
Jones to his surname, passed March 14. 1788: 
Whereas, David Richard Floyd by his petition to 
the Legislature has prayed that the surname Jones 
may be added to his present name. Therefore. Be 
it enacted by the People of the State of New York, 
represented in Senate and Assembly, and it is hereby 
enacted by the authority of the same, that the sur- 
name of Jones be and the same is hereby added to 
the name of David Richard Floyd and that at all 
times hereafter he shall and may take upon himself 
the name David Richard Floyd-Jones, and by the 
same name be known and called in all cases what- 
soever," 

Shortly after his succeeding to the estate, he 
was admonished by his uncle. Judge Thomas 



Jones, as follows : "Behave with caution and 
prudence, and let me beg of you by your con- 
duct never to disgrace the families of your 
two grandfathers. Always remember one was 
first in Queens, the other in Suffolk." There 
is every evidence that he regarded this ad- 
vice, and lived Vifith probity and honor, as 
had his ancestors. It is known that he was 
a most faithful churchman, never failing to 
drive on Sunday mornings ten miles to St. 
George's Church at Hempstead, which was 
the nearest in the parish. 

David Richard Floyd-Jones married, Sep- 
tcinber 20, 1785, Sarah Onderdonk, born 
March 26, 1758, died February 29, 1844, 
daughter of Hendrick and Phoebe (Tread- 
well ) C)nderdonk. Her father-in-law was of 
the third generation in this country, being the 
son of Andries .and his wife, Gertrude Lott. 
He was born December 11, 1724; died March 
31, 180C); married May 20, 1750; and she was 
born July 12, 1730, died December 19, 1801, 
Children: i. David Thomas, born April 25, 
1787, died June 12, 1787. 2. Thomas, of 
whom further. 3. Arabella born February 6, 
1790, died May 5, 1790. 4. Henry Onderdonk, 
born January 3, 1792, died December 20, 1862; 
became a major-general ; married Helen, 
daughter of Charles Watts, of South Caro- 
lina, who was born November 24, 1792, and 
died July 18, 1872; seven children. 5. An- 
drew Onderdonk, born January 9, 1794, died 
February 11, 1794. 

(VI) Brigadier-General Thomas Floyd - 
Jones, son of David Richard Floyd-Jones and 
Sarah Onderdonk, was born July 23, 1788, 
and died August 23, 185 1. On the death of 
his father he succeeded to the estate at Fort 
Neck, which was in 1826, and was the last 
owner under the entail created by his great- 
grandfather. Judge David Jones. \\''hen the 
law of entail was abolished in 1830 he be- 
came possessor of the entire estate in fee 
simple. When he died in 185 1, intestate, his 
estate was divided among his four children so 
that each was the recipient of about 1,200 acres 
of the land which had been left from father 
to son since the time of the Indians. He was 
one of those contributing to the erection of 
Grace Church, at Massapequa, Long Island; 
in fact, he was the one to give the land there- 
for and was one of the two coninrising the 
building committee. Because of his love and 
affection for his brother, Henry Onderdonk 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



555 



Floyd-Jones, he deeded to him a good farm 
on the eastern part of the Fort Neck property, 
between the two branches of Fort Neck creek, 
on which a house of some size then stood, 
which was rebuik and the place named "Rose- 
dale." This brother was a member of assem- 
bly in 1829-30, and a member of the State 
senate in 1836-40, besides which he held the 
position of major-general of Queens county 
militia. Both the brothers received exceed- 
ingly long and interesting epistles from James 
Fenimore Cooper, which were published in a 
book entitled "England by an American." 
General Floyd-Jones commanded a company 
of detached militia in the Second Regiment 
of New York State Infantry, commanded by 
Colonel Daniel Bedell, at Fort Green, Brook- 
lyn, in the war with England, 1812-1815. He 
was regarded as a thoroughly representative 
man of the gentry of Queens county, and was 
esteemed by his neighbors. In 1837, he re- 
ceived the letters mentioned from his friend 
Cooper, who was making an extensive tour 
abroad and was a connection by marriage. 
General Thomas Floyd-Jones married January 
z8, 1812, Cornelia Haring Jones, born April 
22, 1796, died December 29, 1839, daughter of 
Major William and Kezia (Youngs) Jones, of 
Cold Spring Harbor, Long Island, and thus a 
third cousin of her husband. Children: I. 
David Richard, of whom further. 2. William, 
born March 10, 1815, died February 7, 1896; 
married Caroline Amelia, daughter of Robert 
Blackwell, of New York, and who was born 
July 31, 1822, died December 9, 1886. 3. El- 
bert, born February 7, 1817, died February 
17, 1901 ; married (first) June 5, 1838, Emily, 
born 1815, died April 29, 1845, daughter of 
Plunket F. Glentworth, M.D., of Philadelphia, 
and Harriet Bostock, his wife. 4. Sarah Ma- 
ria, born December 10, 1818, died January 2, 
1892: married, 1854, Coleman Williams, born 
1805, died December 27, 1891, and formerly 
resided in Halifax Court House, Virginia. 

(VII) Lieutenant-Governor David Richard 
Floyd-Jones, son of Brigadier-General Thomas 
Floyd-Jones and CorneHa Haring Jones, was 
born at Fort Neck. Long Island, April 6, 1813, 
and died at the old homestead, January 8, 1871. 
He was buried in the ancient family burial- 
ground at Massapequa, Long Island. 

He received his early education at a public 
school near his father's residence at Fort Neck, 
and commenced his classical studies in Christ 



Church School at Manhasset. He then entered 
the sophomore class of Union College, gradu- 
ating in 1832. After that he studied law in 
the office of Judge Samuel W. Jones, of 
Schenectady, and began practice in 1835, with 
James P. Howard, in New York City. He 
started his political career in 1840, and identi- 
fied himself with the Democratic party. In 
1840 he was chosen a member of assembly of 
New York, and was re-elected in 1841, and 
again the following year. In 1843 he was 
elected to the senate from the first district, 
which then comprised the counties of New 
York, Kings and Richmond. He was a prom- 
inent and influential member of the constitu- 
tional convention of 1846 from New York 
City. On the close of his senatorial term, 
1847, and following the death of Jesse Oakley, 
he was appointed clerk of the superior court 
of New York City, by Chief Justice Oakley, 
Judges Sandford and Van der Poel, which 
office he filled faithfully until the death of his 
father, 1852, when he returned to his native 
place. Through 1858-59 he held the position 
of president of the Queens County Agricul- 
tural Society, for he had been as successful as 
a country gentleman as in politics. 

In 1856 he was lured from a pleasant retire- 
ment to be assemblyman and in the subse- 
quent session filled the speaker's chair. He 
was nominated with great unanimity of senti- 
ment for secretary of state by both wings of 
the Democratic party in the fall of 1859, and 
was triumphantly elected, holding the position 
at the breaking out of the civil war. He co- 
operated with Governor Morgan in enlisting 
and sending forward troops, and was a pa- 
triotic figure along these lines. He took a 
most decided stand against the dissolution of 
the Union, and made a ringing speech July 4, 
1862, which attracted wide attention and was 
published. It brought him more into the 
limelight of public life, and in the fall of that 
year he was elected lieutenant-governor on the 
ticket with Horatio Seymour heading it for 
governor. His oration upon assuming office, 
January 5, 1863, when he was the acting cx- 
officio president of the senate, was a burst of 
patriotism which stirred the souls of listeners. 
One who had known him intimately and had 
been his political opponent, spoke of him in thi? 
strain after his death : 

"He passed through life from the beginning to 
the end of it, I believe, without a single blemish 



556 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



upon his reputation or standing before the entire 
communitv of this State. No man in the heat of 
partj- strife or conflict, no man in the heat of debate 
upon the floor in either branch of the Legislature, 
was ever heard to say aught against his pure and 
upright character, and no man who watched him 
can say aught than that he worked with his whole 
heart and soul for the benefit of those who had 
placed him in position." 

In the work of the Episcopal church he was 
a devout and consistent helper. The Church 
Journal of 1871 has this to say: 

"His influence and usefulness in the councils of 
the church need no other record than the important 
positions which he filled in the Diocese of New 
York previous to its recent division, and subse- 
quently in the Diocese of Long Island. In the new 
diocese his important services were immediately rec- 
ognized and acknowledged at its primary convention 
by his being elected a member of the standing com- 
mittee, a deputy to the General Convention, and also 
a deputy to the Federal Council. He was appointed 
on the Special Committees on Canons, and on the 
Revision of the Constitution and Canons, in both of 
which he served with marked ability." 

Lieutenant-Governor David Richard Floyd- 
Jones married, at Albany, New York, June 25, 
1845, Mary Louisa Stanton, born August 14, 
1818, died at Massapequa, Long Island, July 
22, 1906, daughter of George W. Stanton, of 
Albany, and his wife Sally, daughter of Theo 
philus Morgan, of Killingworth, Connecticut 
Children: i. Stanton, born June 11, 1846, 
died February 17, 1848. 2. George Stanton, 
of whom further. 3. Thomas Richard, born 
December 15. 1851, died February 4, 1857. 4. 
Mary Louisa, born September 29, 1853. 5 
Henrietta, born October 22, 1855, died No- 
vember 13, 1897; graduate of St. Mary's Hall, 
Burlington, New Jersey; joined Sisterhood of 
St. John the Baptist. 6. Sarah Hall, born Sep- 
tember 18, 1857; married, June 28, 1892, Cap- 
tain Nathaniel W. Barnardiston, an officer in 
the Duke of Cambridge's "Own Middlesex 
Regiment," England, eldest son of Colonel 
Nathaniel, of the Ryes, Sudbury, Suffolk 
county, England, and Lady Florence Barnard- 
iston, daughter of the fourth Earl of Dart- 
mouth ; by whom : Joan, born January 31, 1897, 
at Colchester, England. 7. Thomas Langley, 
born October 7, 1859, died August 30, 1861. 

(VIII) George Stanton Floyd-Jones, son of 
Lieutenant-Governor David Richard Floyd- 
Jones and Mary Louisa Stanton, was born at 
Albany, New York, December 25, 1848. He 
received his early education at the Albany 
Academy, then at the Walnut Hill Academy 



in Geneva, New York, and followed this course 
with studies in the Oak Hill Academy at 
Yonkers. He became associated with the At- 
lantic Mutual Insurance Company, September 
25, 1865, and in 1913 was secretary of that 
corporation, having succeeded Mr. J. H. Chap- 
man in 1902. He is a member of the Demo- 
cratic party, and was an attendant of St. Igna- 
tius Episcopal Church in New York City and 
of Grace Church, Massapequa, and was a 
member of the vestries of each until 1894, 
when he and his wife joined the Roman Cath- 
olic church, attending St. Martin's Church, 
Long Island, and the Church of the Blessed 
Sacrament in New York City. His summer 
home is at Massapequa, Long Island, and is 
called "Seawan," and his city residence is at 
No. 207 West Seventieth Street, New York 
City. He is a member of several clubs and 
societies, among them the Union Club, Cath- 
olic Club, Automobile Club, Society Sons of 
the Revolution, Union Society of the Civil 
War, Society for the Protection of Game, etc. 

George Stanton Floyd-Jones married, at 
Christ Church, New York City, February 4, 
1880, Anita Owen. She was born in New 
York City, May 3, 1855, and was the daughtet 
of Thomas Jefferson Owen and Emilie Ket- 
cham Piatt, of New York City. 

(VI) Henry Onderdonk Floyd-Jones, son of 
David Richard and Sarah (Onderdonk) 
Floyd-Jones was born January 3, 1792, and 
died at his home in South Oyster Bay, Long 
Island, New York, December 20, 1862. He 
was member of assembly from Queens county 
in 1829 and 1830, and from 1836 to 1840 was 
State senator for the First District, compris- 
ing then Long Island, Staten Island and New 
York City. He was major-general of the 
Queens county militia. 

General Henry O. Floyd-Jones married 
Helen, daughter of Charles Watts, of Charles- 
ton, South Carolina, who was born Novembe; 
24, 1792, and died at South Oyster Bay, July 
18, 1872. Children: i. Charles, born 1817, 
died 1874; married Isabella M. Semple, who 
died November 3, 1888, by whom: Robert, 
Semple and Edgar. 2. Sarah, born October i, 
181S, died August 10, 1900; unmarried. 3. 
Henry, born March 10, 1820, died February 
20, 1849; unmarried. 4. Edward, of whom 
further. 5. De Lancey, born January 20, 
1826, died January 19, 1902, New York City; 
married, June 24, 1852, Laura Jeannie Whit- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



557 



ney, daughter of Warcham Whitney, of Ro- 
chester, New York ; no issue. He was a West 
Point graduate, June, 1846, when twenty years 
old, and commissioned second Heutenant in 
the Seventh U. S. Regiment of Infantry, 
served under General Zachary Taylor in Mex- 
ico; in 1848 was made lieutenant because of 
his gallantry in the battle of Molino del Rey, 
and July 31, 1854, was commissioned cap- 
tain; was sent to California in 1856 to serve 
against the Kalmath Indians, and May 14, 
1861, was commissioned major of the Eleventh 
Infantry, serving in the battle of Yorktown, 
Gaines Mill and Malvern Hill. In 1863 he be- 
came lieutenant-colonel of the Nineteenth In- 
fantry, and on June 25, 1867, was made colonel 
of the Third Regiment Infantry, serving 
against the Indians during the period of terri- 
torial expansion, 1868 to 1879, when the red- 
man was supreme the breadth of the western 
prairies. In the latter year he retired, and 
living in New York City the remainder of his 
life was held in highest esteem. 6. Helen 
Watts, born December 9, 1827, died July 25, 
1855 ; unmarried. 7. Josephine K., born Au- 
gust, 1832, died November 15, 1905; married 
John D. Jones. 

(VII) Edward Floyd-Jones, son of Major- 
General Henry Onderdonk and Helen (Watts) 
Floyd-Jones, was born at South Oyster Bay, 
Long Island, New York, January 26, 1823, 
and died at New York City, January 23, 1901. 
He was buried in the ancient family burial- 
place at Massapequa, Long Island. 

He was educated at Easthampton and at 
the Union Academy, Jamaica, Long Island. 
Civil engineering was adopted for his profes- 
sion, and he followed this calling some years, 
being engaged in building railroads. In 1849, 
when the gold fever possessed so many and 
the people of the Eastern States were flock- 
ing in numbers to the gold lands of the Pacific 
coast, he made the trip by vessel around Cape 
Horn and landing in California engaged first 
in engineering work and afterward in the sale 
of agricultural implements and general mer- 
chandise. The firm was known as Jones & 
Hewlett, and was located at Stockton, Califor- 
nia. Later on Mr. Hewlett became president 
of the Bank of Stockton. Returning to the 
East in 1862 Mr. Floyd- Jones lived for a few 
years at Hempstead, Long Island, returned to 
Stockton in 1869 and came East permanently 
in 1872, living at Greenport till the death of 



his wife in 1874, when he settled in the old 
homestead at South Oyster Bay. He was 
chosen supervisor of the town of Oyster Bay 
in 1886, and in 1891 was elected State senator, 
receiving in Queens county 11,537 votes, while 
Roswell P. Flower, who was elected governor, 
received 11,543 votes. His district comprised 
Queens and Suffolk counties. 

Edward Floyd-Jones married, at Greenport, 
Long Island, December 10, 1862, Mary Smith 
Lord, of Greenport, Long Island. She was 
born at Sag Harbor, Long Island, December 
14- 1839, died at San Francisco, California, 
May 23, 1874, and was daughter of Dr. Fre- 
derick W. Lord and Louisa Ackerley. 

(VIII) Edward Henry Floyd- Jones, son of 
Edward Floyd-Jones and Mary Smith Lord, 
was born at Hempstead, Long Island, New 
York, January 2, 1869, and resides at Massa- 
pequa, Long Island, on the old estate of his 
ancestors. 

He received his preparatory education at 
St. Paul's School, in Garden City, Long Island, 
1878-1883, and at St. Paul's School, Concord, 
New Hampshire, 1883-1888. He then at- 
tended Yale University, 1888-1892, and gradu- 
ating, entered the New York Law School, 
where he studied, 1892- 1894, and entered the 
practice of law in New York City, with office 
at No. 49 Wall Street. He entered Squadron 
A, National Guard, New York, serving from 
1895 to 1897. He has usually voted the Demo- 
cratic ticket; is a member of the Protestant 
church, and a vestryman of Grace Church, 
South Oyster Bay, New York. Before resid- 
ing in Massapequa he had lived some time in 
Hempstead, Long Island, Stockton, California, 
and at Greenport, Long Island. He is a mem- 
ber of several clubs in New York City, among 
them the University, Yale, Graduates Club (of 
New Haven), City Midday, New York Bar 
Association, Automobile Club of America and 
the Aztec Club of 1847. He is also a member 
of the South Side Sportsmen's Club of Long 
Island. 

Edward H. Floyd-Jones married, November 
22, 1905, at the home of the bride's father. 
No. 33 West Forty-sixth Street, New York 
City, Miss Edith Carpender, who was born 
at No. 16 East Forty-second Street, April i, 
1880, and was the daughter of William Car- 
pender and Ella Floyd-Jones, daughter of 
William Floyd- Jones. 



558 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



This name is of English origin, and 

FISH was very early identified with Long 

Island. Little trace of it is found 

in New England, but it has long been well 

known in New York. 

Nathaniel, John and Jonathan Fish were, as 
early as 1637, among the founders of Sand 
wich, on Cape Cod, coming there from Lynn, 
Massachusetts. 

(I) Jonathan, the youngest of them, later 
moved to Oyster Bay on Long Island. He 
again appears in Middelburg, or Newtown, 
Long Island, as early as 1659, and was evi- 
dently a man of worth and standing. The 
records of that town show frequent mention of 
his name in official capacities as a magistrate. 
He was owner of a twenty-shilling right in the 
town lands, which secured him a share in the 
various divisions of the common lands. He died 
about 1663, leaving a widow, Mary, and three 
sons (John, Samuel and Nathan), all of whom 
were among the patentees of Newtown in 
1686. Samuel died in 1700 without issue, and 
John removed to New Jersey. 

(II) Nathan, son of Jonathan and Mary 
Fish, inherited from his father a right in the 
undivided lands of Newtown and continued to 
reside there, where he died August i, 1734. 

(III) Jonathan (2), eldest child of Nathan 
Fish, was born'October 11, 1680, in Newtown, 
and died there in November, 1723. He in- 
herited the ancestral homestead and other 
lands in the village of Newtown, where he re- 
sided. He occupied, and perhaps built, the 
house afterwards kept as an inn by his son, 
and long known as the "Corner House." In 
1715 he gave to the "Dissenting Presbyterian 
Congregation of Newtown" the land on which 
the old Presbyterian church stood until the 
present church was built in 1895 He served 
fifteen years as town clerk. He was survived 
by his wife Mary, but only two of his seven 
children appear to have reached maturity: 
Samuel, mentioned below, and Jane, born May 
26, 1721, married Charles Palmer. 

(IV) Captain Samuel Fish, only surviving 
son of Jonathan (2) and Mary Fish, was born 
November 24, 1704, in the village of New- 
town, and inherited from his father the "Cor- 
ner House," which became noted as an inn 
during his lifetime. He seems -to have been a 
useful citizen in various ways, and died Au- 
gust 27, 1767. He married (first) June 21, 
1727, Agnes, daughter of John Berrien; (sec- 



ond) April 22, 1748, Abigail, daughter of Ed- 
ward Howard; (third) November 19, 1752, 
Anna Betts, who survived him. Of his fifteen 
children the following appear in the records: 
Jonathan, mentioned below; Ruth, born May 
7, 1730; Samuel, April 13, 1734; Mary, July 
9, 1736; Sarah, February 24, 1739; Richard, 
August 9, 1743; Abigail, August 27, 1749; 
Elizabeth, August 24, 1753. 

(V) Jonathan (3), eldest child of Samuel 
and Agnes (Berrien) Fish, was born May 11. 
1728, in Newtown, where he died December 
26, 1779. He owned the homestead in New- 
town, on which he dwelt, with the exception 
of some years when he was a merchant in 
New York City and there resided. He mar- 
ried (first) October 5. 1750, Elizabeth, 
daughter of Joseph Sackett, who died April 9, 
1778; and (second) Elizabeth, daughter of 
Thomas Whitehead, who died October 26, 
1798. There were two children, both of the 
first marriage: Sarah, born October 22, 1755. 
married Terence Reilly; and Nicholas, men- 
tioned below. 

(VI) Nicholas, only son of Jonathan (3) 
and Elizabeth (Sackett) Fish, was born Au- 
gust 28, 1758, in New York City, and died 
there in his house. No. 21 Stuyvesant street, on 
June 20, 1833. He studied law in the office 
of John Morin Scott On the breaking out 
of the Revolutionary War he entered the ser- 
vice of the Colonies as a lieutenant in the 
First New York Regiment. On November 21, 
1776, he was appointed by Congress major of 
the Second New York Regiment of the Con- 
tinental army, and served with that rank 
throi'gbort the war. .A^t its close he was. by 
a resolution of Congress, commissioned as 
lieutenant-colonel. He participated in the bat- 
tle of Long Island, the battle of Monmouth, 
and General Sullivan's expedition against the 
Indians. He took an active part in the battles 
which led to the capture of Burgoyne at Sara- 
toga, and the surrender of Cornwallis, and 
with his lifelong friend, Hamilton, was in the 
final assault at Yorktown. He enjoyed the 
confidence of General Washington and of all 
his contemporaries, and was by him appointed 
a division inspector of the army in 1778 under 
General Steuben, who was inspector-general. 
He continued in the regular army for a few 
years after the close of the Revolutionary 
War, commanding a regiment of infantry at 
Fort Mcintosh and other points on the Ohio 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



559 



river in 1785-6. He was one of the original 
members of the Society of the Cincinnati, and 
assistant treasurer of the New York State So- 
ciety at its organization, and president thereof 
from 1797 to 1804. In 1786 he was appointed 
as the first adjutant-general of the State of 
New York, serving in that capacity until 1793. 
He was appointed Supervisor of the Revenue 
by President Washington in 1794, and served 
for several years. He was alderman of the 
Ninth Ward of the City of New York, 1806 to 
181 7, serving on the committee of defense dur- 
ing the War of 1812 with Great Britain. He 
was chairman of the board of trustees of Col- 
umbia College from 1824 to 1832, and in 1831 
was the last president of the Butchers and 
Drovers Bank. He was a devout communi- 
cant of the Protestant Episcopal church, 
and for some years a member of the 
standing committee of the Diocese of New 
York. As Colonel Fish's epitaph in St. 
Mark's Church in the Bowerie aptly rec- 
ords: "He was the faithful soldier of Christ 
and of his Country." He married, April 30, 
1803, Elizabeth, daughter of Petrus Stuyve- 
sant, a great-grandson of the last Dutch Gov- 
ernor of New Netherlands. Children: Susan 
Elizabeth, born July 25, 1805, married Daniel 
Le Roy, of New York ; Margaret Ann, Febru- 
ary II, 1807, married John (2) Neilson, of 
New York ; Hamilton, mentioned below ; 
Elizabeth Sarah, May 25, 1810, married Dr. 
Richard L. Morris; Petrus Stuyvesant, May 
13, 1813, died unmarried, November i, 1834. 
(VH) Hon. Hamilton Fish, eldest son of 
Colonel Nicholas and Elizabeth (Stuyvesant) 
Fish, was born August 3, 1808, in New York, 
and graduated from Columbia College in 1827. 
He was admitted to the bar in 1830, but early 
turned his attention to political affairs. He 
became prominent in the Whig party. In 
1842 he was elected to the National Congress 
from the Sixth New York District. In 1846 
he was the nominee of his party for the office 
of lieutenant-governor, with the Hon John 
Young as candidate for governor. Although 
the head of the ticket was elected, the oppo- 
sition of the anti-renters, whose plans Mr. 
Fish emphatically condemned, prevented his 
election. His successful competitor, Addison 
Gardner, .'^oon resigned the office to accept the 
position of judge of the Court of Appeals, and 
Mr. Fish was elected in 1847 ™ his place. In 
1848 Mr. Fish was elected governor of the 



State by a plurality of nearly 100,000, and in 
185 1 was chosen United States Senator and 
served for six years, following which he made 
an extended tour of Europe. While he was 
in the Senate, the Republican party was or- 
ganized, and Governor Fish, as he was always 
called, became one of its loyal supporters. On 
the outbreak of the Civil War he took a de- 
cided stand in defense of the Union and at- 
tained a commanding influence. In 1862 
President Lincoln appointed him a member of 
the Commission to visit the Union prisoners 
confined in Richmond, with a view to obtain- 
ing an exchange, which was eventually ef- 
fected. He also was chairman of the Union 
Defense Committee. In 1869 he was called 
to the cabinet of President Grant, hold- 
ing the high position of Secretary of 
State for eight years. Through his skill- 
ful and untiring efforts a peaceful settle- 
ment of the Alabama claims was made, 
through the Treaty of Washington in 1871 and 
the subsequent Geneva Arbitration in 1872. 
He became president general of the Order of 
the Cincinnati in 1854, and so continued until 
his death. He was also president of the New 
York Historical Society, of the Union League 
Club, and of the United Railroad and Canal 
Company of New Jersey, and from 1859 until 
1893 chairman of the board of trustees of 
Columbia College. Governor Fish served re- 
peatedly as a delegate from the Diocese of 
New York to the Triennial Conventions of the 
Protestant Episcopal Church and devoted 
much of his time to the study of and became 
an authority in respect to the canon law of the 
church. After a long, extremely active, and 
useful life, Mr. Fish passed awav at the age of 
eighty-five years, on September 7, 1893, at his 
country seat, "Glenclyffe," near Garrison, in 
Putnam county. New York, leaving behind 
him the memory of a patriotic citizen and 
an upright, able and honorable man. Mr. Fish 
built and for more than forty years lived in 
a house at the corner of Second avenue and 
Seventeenth street, fronting on Stuyvesant 
Square, the land occupied bv which public 
park had been given to the city by his uncle, 
Mr. Peter G Stuyvesant. The site of Mr. 
Fish's house and garden is now that of the 
Maternity Hospital. His country seat. "Glen- 
clyffe," embraced the famous "Beverley 
House," which had been the headquarters of 
General Benedict Arnold at the time of the 



56o 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



detection of his treason and from which he 
had fled to the British. 

Hamihon Fish married, December 17, 1836, 
Julia, daughter of Peter Kean, of Ursino, near 
Ehzabeth, New Jersey. Children: Sarah 
Morris, married Sidney Webster; Elizabeth 
Stuyvesant, married Frederic S. G. d"Haute- 
ville; Julia Kean, married Colonel S. N. Ben- 
jamin,' of the United States army; Susan Le- 
Roy, married William E. Rogers; Nicholas; 
Hamilton; Stuyvesant, and Edith Livingston, 
married Oliver Northcote. 

(Vni) The eldest son, Nicholas, born in 
New York, February 19, 1846, graduated from 
Columbia College in 1867 and from the Dane 
Law School of Harvard in 1869. In 1871 he 
was second secretary of the United States 
legation in Berlin, and first secretary in 1874. 
From 1877 to 1881 he was charge d'affairs to 
the Swiss Confederation, and Alinister to Bel- 
gium, 1882-86. He was subsequently engaged 
in banking and financial affairs in New York. 
He married Clemence S. Bryce, and had chil- 
dren : Elizabeth S. Claire, who was married 
to Robert Burnside Potter ; and Hamilton. 

(Vni) The second son, Hamilton {2) Fish, 
was born April 17, 1849, in Albany, while his 
father was governor, and graduated from Col- 
umbia College in 1869. For two years he 
served as secretary to his father, who was then 
Secretary of State. In 1873 he graduated 
from the law school of Columbia College, and 
ser\'ed several terms as member of assembly 
from Putnam county, New York. He was 
aide-de-camp on the staff of Governor John 
A. Dix, and was a leader in the Republican 
party, serving repeatedly as chairman of im- 
portant committees of the legislature, and in 
1895 ^"<^ 1896 as speaker. In 1884 he was a 
delegate to the National Republican Conven- 
tion. He was United States Assistant Treas- 
urer at New York from 1903 to 1908, and 
Member of Congress from 1909 to igii. He 
married (first) in 1880, Emily M., daughter 
of Hon. Francis N. Mann, of Troy, New 
York, and they had five children. He married 
(secondly) in 19 12, Florence Delaplaine, the 
widow of Gustav Amsinck. 

(VIH) The youngest son, Stuyvesant, was 
born June 24, 185 1, in New York, and gradu- 
ated from Columbia College in 1871. In Oc- 
tober, 1871, he became a clerk in the New 
York office of the Illinois Central railroad, 
serving as private secretary to W. H. Osborn, 



chairman, and later in Chicago to John Newell, 
president of that company. From 1872 to 
1876 he was connected with the banking house 
of Morton, Bliss & Company in New York, 
and Morton, Rose & Company, in London. 
From 1877 onward he devoted himself chiefly 
to railroad affairs. He became a director of 
the Illinois Central railroad, March 16, 1877, 
vice-president in 1883, and advanced to the 
presidency May 18, 1887, and continuing in 
that position until November 7, 1906. He is 
now interested in other railroads. Like his 
father, he has long been a trustee of the 
New York Life Insurance and Trust Com- 
pany. He is a director of the National Park 
Bank and other financial corporations. He 
was a member of the Monetary Commission 
created by the Indianapolis Monetary Con- 
ference in 1897; was president of the Ameri- 
can Railway Association in 1904-6, and chair- 
man of the Seventh International Railway 
Congress, held at Washington in 1905. Mr. 
Fish is identified with many clubs, including 
the Union, Metropolitan, Downtown, and is 
a member of the St. Nicholas Society of New 
York, of which his father was one of the 
founders. 

He married, June i, 1876, Marian G. An- 
thon, and they have three children. Mrs. Fish 
is the daughter of William Henry Anthon, one 
of the prominent members of the New York 
bar, born 1827. in New York, died in 1875 
In 185 1 Mr. Anthon was a member of the New 
York Assembly, and during the Civil War, 
judge advocate general on the staff of Gov- 
ernor Edwin D. Morgan. His grandfather. 
Dr. George Christian Anthon, was a native of 
Germany, who entered the British army and 
attained the rank of surgeon-general, serving 
from the commencement of the French War 
until after the close of the Revolutionary War. 
In 1784 he resigned from the British service 
and settled in New York. His son, John 
Anthon, was born in 1784, in Detroit, Michi- 
gan, and died in New York in 1863. Graduat- 
ing from Columbia College m 1801, he studied 
law, and was one of the founders of the New 
York Law Institute, which he served as presi- 
dent, and was author of numerous law re- 
ports and treatises. It was largely through his 
efforts that the Supreme Court of New York 
City was established. During the War of 
1812 he commanded a company of militia and 
served in defense of the city. His son. Wil- 





'O^^/li^ 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



561 



liam Henry, was father of Mrs. Stuyvesant 
Fish, as above noted. 



George SulHvan Ludlow was 
LUDLOW born at Neshanic, Somerset 
county, New Jersey, Septem- 
ber 16, 1873. His family removed to New 
Brunswick, New Jersey, in 1888, where 
he prepared for college and entered Rutgers 
in 1891. In college he v/on distinction in 
athletics, particularly in football, and also in 
his studies, and graduated with honors in 1895, 
taking the degree of A.B. He entered the 
New York Law School in the fall of 1895, 
and was graduated therefrom in 1897 with the 
degree of LL.B., and was admitted to the bar 
of New York State shortly thereafter. In 
1898 he received the degree of A.M. from 
Rutgers College. Since his admission to the 
bar Mr. Ludlow has devoted himself to the 
practice of law in all the New York State 
and United States Courts. He married, De- 
cember I, 1908, Grace D. Fackler, daughter 
of George W. and Fanny (Trimble) Fackler. 
and has one daughter, Hope Ludlow, born 
January 4, 1913. Mr. Ludlow is an enthus- 
iastic golfer and is a member of the Engle- 
wood Country Club and the Deal Golf and 
Country Club. He is also a member of the 
Bar Association of the City of New York 
and of the Manhattan Club. Mr. Ludlow 
comes of a very r)1d and distinguished English 
family, which first came to New York City 
in 1694, and he is the first of his direct line 
to return to New York City as a place of resi- 
dence since his ancestor, John Ludlow, re- 
moved to New Jersey in 1734. Few families 
in the United States, certainly none in this 
state, can trace their descent back to noble 
and even royal ancestors with more certainty 
than the Ludlows. The genealogy, descending 
from King Edward III. of England, is clear 
and exact. 

The name "Lude-lawe" in Saxon means 
"lude," a ford, and "lawe" or "lowe," low 
ground. In the reign of Edward the Confes- 
sor "Ludelawe" was held by "Saisi the Sax- 
on," and at Domesday Survey it was held by 
Roger de Laci from Osberne Fitz Richard, 
who held it in chief from the crown. Lude- 
lawe Castle was built by Roger de Laci about 
the year 1086, and stands on a hill just above 
the old town of Ludelawe, which is clustered 



on low ground just around the ford from 
which it derives its name. The present family 
of Ludlow appears to owe its origin to (I) 
Simon de Ludelawe, who flourished in the 
reign of Stephen, 1135-1154, and was father 
of (II) Turstino (Thurstan), filius Simonis, 
castellan of Ludelawe Castle in 1177. His 
successors, and, presumably his eldest male 
line, as the office appears to have been heredi- 
tary, were (III) Willelmus, (IV) Rogerius, 
(V) Rogerius Tunerius, (VI) Willelmus, 
(VII) Henricus; and (VIII) Matthew de 
Ludelawe, castellan of Ludelawe Castle in 
1229, who married Petronilla, daughter of 
Norman de Swineton and Matilda de Misec, 
feudal lords of Ludelawe Castle at that time 

(IX) Nicholas de Ludelawe, son of Mat- 
thew de Ludelawe, was a merchant and a man 
of great wealth. He was much thought of by 
Edward I. who, in 1276, appointed him one 
of the special proctors to receive the sum of 
£4755 17s. sterling from Margaret, Countess 
of Flanders, due to merchants of England for 
wool exported into Holland. Ilis son, John, 
was burgess of Shrewsbury and Coventry, and 
Chancellor of the University of Oxford. His 
son, Thomas, was knighted by Edward I. for 
distinguished services in the Welch and Scot- 
tish wars. 

(X) Lawrence de Ludelawe, son of Nicho- 
las de Ludelawe, succeeded his father in busi- 
ness as a wool merchant. He became very 
wealthy, and in 1281 purchased the manor of 
Stoke Say, County Salop. He was appointed 
one of the three commissioners to take 4,000 
marks to France to Henry, Count de Bar, 
brother-in-law of Edward I. 

(XI) William de Ludelawe, son of Law 
rence de Ludelawe, was a member of Parlia- 
ment from Salop in 1307, assessor for the 
counties of Hereford and Salop, burgess of 
Shrewsbury, justice of the peace for Salop, 
and a judge oi Oyer and Terminer from 1313 
to his death in 1316. His son, Thomas, was 
appointed recorder of the City of London, 
November 20, 1362. and Baron of the Ex- 
chequer, May 7, 1378. 

(XII) Sir Lawrence de Ludelawe of Stoke 
Say, Hodnet and Great Merkeley, son of Wil- 
liam de Ludelawe, was born March 2, 1301. 
He was appointed one of the commissioners of 
the wool trade by Edward III. In 1349 he 
founded the House of St. Mary's of the 
White (Carmelite) Friars. He died October 



S62 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



14, 1353. His son and heir, Sir John de Lude- 
lawe, was born May 6, 1320, and died Febru- 
ary 17, 1382. He was high sheriff of Salop, 
justice of the peace for Worcester, one of 
the assessors and commissioners of array for 
Salop and was knighted by Edward HI. for 
long and faithful service to the king. 

(XHI) Roger, or Robert, de Ludelawe, sec- 
ond son of Sir Lawrence de Ludelawe, was 
high sheriff of Salop in 1379 and 1388, and 
justice of the peace in 1389 

(XIV) Sir William de Ludelawe, son of 
Roger or Robert de Ludelawe, was one of the 
deputy butlers to Henry IV., 1399-1412. His 
son, Richard, was made a Knight of the Bath 
by Henry VI. 

(XV) William de Ludlowe, son of Sir Wil- 
liam de Ludelawe, was one of the "Servitors 
of the Cellar" to Henry V. in 1414, and "Yeo- 
man of the Cellar" to Henry VI. in 1427. He 
acquired the estate of Hill Deverell, which 
remained in the family for over two centuries. 
He was parker of the Royal Park at Ludgers- 
hall, and represented that borough in Parlia- 
ment. He also occupied many other positions 
of honor and trust. 

(XVI) John Ludlowe, of Hill Deverell, son 
of William de Ludlowe, was constable of 
Carrisbroke Castle, parker of the Isle of 
Wight, assistant parker of Ludgershall, and 
mayor of Southampton in 1478. 

(XVII) John Ludlowe, of Hill Deverell, 
son of John Ludlowe, married Philippa, 
daughter of William Bulstrode, of London, 
and died in ISI9- 

(XVIII) William Ludlowe, of Hill 
Deverell, son of John Ludlowe, married Joane, 
daughter of Nicholas Moore, of Withford, 
County Hants, and died in 1533. 

(XIX) George Ludlowe, of Hill Deverell, 
son of William Ludlowe, was high sheriff 
of Wilts in 1559 He married Edith, third 
daughter of Andrew, first Lord Windsor, who 
through her mother could trace a lineal descent 
from Edward III. and Philippa of Hainault. 
Their third son, Lionel, Duke of Clarence, 
married Elizabeth, daughter of William de 
Burgh. Earl of Ulster, and had PhiHppa Plan- 
tagenet who married Edmund Mortimer, Earl 
of March. Thev had Elizabeth Mortimer, 
who married Sir Henry Percy, surnamed 
Hotspur," whose son Henrv. second Earl of 
Northumberland, married Eleanor, daughter 
of Ralph Neville, first Earl of Westmoreland, 



and had Henry, third Earl of Northumber- 
land, who married Eleanor, daughter of 
Richard, Lord Poynings, and had Eleanor 
Percy who married Sir Reginald, fourth Lord 
West and seventh Lord De la Warr. Lord 
West was also of royal descent in the direct 
line from Edward I. and Margaret, daughter 
of Philip IV. of France. Their daughter, 
Margaret West, married Thomas, Lord Ech- 
ingham, and had Margaret Echingham, who 
married William Blount and had Elizabeth 
Blount, who married Andrew, first Lord 
Windsor, and had Edith who married, as 
stated above, George Ludlowe, who died in 
1580. His eldest son was Sir Edmund Lud- 
lowe from whom descended the Earls of Lud- 
low, and the famous Lieutenant-General Ed- 
mund Ludlow, who was one of the judges who 
tried and condemned Charles I., and Lieuten- 
ant Philip Ludlow, who served in Admiral 
Blake's fleet and was buried in Westminster 
Abbey. 

(XX) Thomas Ludlowe, the younger son 
of George Ludlowe, acquired the estate of 
Baycliffe in the parish of Dinton, County 
Wilts. He married Jane, daughter of Thomas 
and sister of Sir Gabriel Pyle. He died in 
1607. His third son, Roger, came to New 
England with his youngest brother, George, 
in the "Mary and John" in M.iy, 1630. He 
was assistant to Governor Winthrop, 1630- 
34, deputy governor of Massachusetts Bay 
Colony, 1634-35, first deputy governor of Con- 
necticut, 1636, and member of Council of 
United Colonies of New England, 1651-53 
He married Mary, daughter of Governor John 
Endicott. He was the ancestor of Israel and 
John Ludlow, the founders of Cincinnati, 
Ohio, and of Governor and Supreme Court 
Justice, George C. Ludlow, of New Jersey. 
His youngest brother, George, went to Vir- 
ginia, where he was a member of the Gov- 
ernor's Council from 1642 unti' his death in 
1656. He owned 17,000 acres in York and 
Gloucester counties, and in his will he be- 
queathed his sixteenth part of the ship "May- 
flower" to his nephew, Thomas Ludlow, and 
ten pounds to Captain Augustine Warner, 
great-grandfather of George Washington. 

(XXI) Thomas Ludlow, son of Thomas 
Ludlowe, married Jane, daughter of John 
Bennett, of Steeple Ashton and Smallbrooke, 
County Wilts, and died in 1646. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



563 



(XXII) Gabriel Ludlow, son of Thomas 
Ludlow, married Martha Gary at Gastle Gary, 
County Somerset, in 1662. 

(XXIII) Gabriel Ludlow, son of Gabriel 
Ludlow, was born at Gastle Gary, November 
2, 1663, and came to New York, November 
24, 1694. He was a merchant and also clerk 
in Governor Bellomont's office in 1698. He 
was clerk of the Assembly in 1699, a vestry- 
man of Trinity Parish, 1696-98, and a revenue 
officer of the Port of New York in 1722. He 
married, in Old Trinity, on April 5, 1697, 
Sarah Hanmer, daughter of Rev. Joseph Han- 
mer, D.D., the first Episcopal minister in New 
York. This lady was also of royal lineage 
by direct descent from Humphrey, fourth son 
of Henry IV. 

(XXIV) John Ludlow, third son of Gabriel 
Ludlow, was born January 20, 1706. He mar- 
ried Susannah, daughter of Gornelius Brad- 
bury. In 1734 he removed to New Jersey, 
and in 1739 Governor Lewis Morris appointed 
him one of the justices of the peace and 
quarter sessions for Essex county. He died 
November 4, 1775. 

(XXV) Richard Ludlow, fifth son of John 
Ludlow, was born August 17,. 1745. He served 
during the Revolutionary War as Major and 
Gornmissary of Issues, Commissary General's 
Department, New Jersey Militia. He mar- 
ried (first) Jane, daughter of John Van Nos- 
trand. He married (second) Elizabeth Van 
Camp, and died November 20, 1820. 

(XXVI) John Richard Ludlow, eldest child 
of Richard Ludlow, was born August 5, 1769. 
He married (first) Elizabeth Vreeland. He 
married (second) Catalina Ditmars, and died 
April 14, 1849. 

(XXVII) Gabriel Ludlow, third son of 
John Richard Ludlow, was born April 23, 
1797. He was graduated from Union College 
in 1817, and later from the New Brunswick 
Theological Seminary, which conferred on him 
the degree of Doctor of Diviniti' in 1850. He 
was ordained and installed as pastor of the 
Dutch Reformed Church at Neshanic, New 
Jersey, September 5, 1821, and held the pas- 
torate until his death, February 19, 1878. It 
is one of the record pastorates of the Dutch 
Reformed Church and it is remarkable that he 
ministered to the children, grandchildren and 
great-grandchildren of those who were present 
at his ordination. He married Susan Rapelyea, 
June 22, 1820, and had the follov/ing children: 



Elizabeth Vreeland Ludlow, Dr. Jacob Rapel- 
yea Ludlow, Mary Rapelyea Ludlow, Dr. John 
Richard, Anna Phoebe, Susan, Dr. Richard 
Gabriel Ludlow, and Caroline. His brother, 
John Ludlow, was also a celebrated divine 
in the same church. He was graduated from 
Union College in 1814 and from the New 
Brunswick Theological Seminary in 1817. He 
was professor of Biblical Literature and Ec- 
clesiastical History in the New Brunswick 
Theological Seminary, 1819-23, and Provost of 
the University of Pennsylvania from 1834 to 
1854, and later again professor in the New 
Brunswick Theological Seminary and in Rut- 
gers College. Union College gave him the de- 
gree of D.D. in 1827, and LL.D. later on. 
James Reily Ludlow, son of John Ludlow, was 
graduated from University of Pennsylvania in 
1843, which institution gave him the degree 
of LL.D. in 1870. He was admitted to the 
Philadelphia Bar in 1846, and in 1857 was 
chosen Judge of the Court of Common Pleas, 
serving until 1875. Although a Democrat he 
was twice elected by votes of all parties. In 
1875, under the new constitution, he was trans- 
ferred to the President Judgeship of the Court 
of Common Pleas, serving until his death in 
1886. 

(XXVIII) Richard Gabriel Ludlow, third 
son of Gabriel Ludlow, was born May 29, 
1840. He entered Rutgers College in the class 
of 1862 but left before graduat'on to take up 
the study of medicine at the University of 
Pennsylvania, from which he received the de- 
gree of Doctor of Medicine in 1863. After 
graduation he served as resident physician at 
the Blockley Hospital in Philadelphia for a 
year, and thereafter served the Union cause 
in the Civil War as surgeon for over a year. 
After the war he settled at his old home in 
Neshanic, New Jersey, where he practiced his 
profession until his untimely death by accident 
on December 5, 1879. He married Jeannette 
Rapelyea Van Camp, daughter of Tunis and 
Ida (Schenck) Van Camp, in 1868, and had 
the following three sons : John Van Camp 
Ludlow, born April 29, 1870, and died just 
after he had entered Rutgers College in 1889; 
Gabriel Ludlow was born May 29, 1872, and 
was graduated from Rutgers College in 1895. 
He married Louise Richards, daughter of Wil- 
lard and Anna (Randolph) Richards, in 1900, 
and has two sons, Willard Richards Ludlow, 
born March 15, 1902, and Richard Gabriel 



5^4 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



He resides at 



Ludlow, born May 23, 1912. 
Macon, Georgia. 

(XXIX) George Sullivan Ludlow, third son 
of Richard Gabriel Ludlow, the subject of 
the above sketch. 



Hon. Alphonso T. 

CLEARWATER Clearwater, of King- 
ston, New York, prom- 
inent as a lawyer and jurist, historian and an- 
tiquarian, is descended from ancestors long 
prominent in the annals of Holland and 
France, who were noted for their patriotism 
and liberal contributions to the cause of re- 
ligion and learning. 

The present form of the name (Clearwater) 
was adopted in this country about the begin 
ning of the nineteenth century, being angli- 
cised from the original form of Klaarwater, as 
it exists in Holland at this day. There are as 
well changes in the spelling of the family 
names of his other ancestors. In France, Deyo 
was spelled Doiau, and the American patentee 
used the latter form. The original form of 
Tromper is yet in use in Holland, though there 
it frequently appears as Tromp ; it was angli- 
cised to Trumpbour about the time that 
Klaarwater became Clearwater. The original 
French name of Boudouin is retained in 
France ; here it was anglicised to Bowdoin in 
the eighteenth century. There are many vari- 
ant spellings of these names, there being 
twenty-seven different ways of spelling Deyo, 
and almost as many of spelling Clearwater, 
Boudoin and Tromper. 

In the fifteenth century the Clearwaters had 
large and valuable possessions in the vicinity 
of Hattem, Holland, where .a. d. 1414 they 
built a castle, and with it a cloister which was 
'dedicated by Roedericus, Bishop of Utrecht, 
and devoted to the Sisters of the Order of St 
Benedict. It was known as the Kloster Klaar- 
water, and was the home of the Benedictines 
until late in the seventeenth century. At the 
time of the Reformation in Holland it was 
the only cloister Ihe inmates of which escaped 
the censure of the Reformed Church. An in- 
teresting historical account of it has been 
published in Holland. 

Theunis Jacobson Klaarwater, a member of 
this ancient family, left Holland in the latter 
naif of the seventeenth century and with his 
son Jacob came to America, settling in Ulster 
county. New York. On May 24, 1709, with 



Colonel William Peartree, Governor Rip Van 
Dam, Adolphus Philipse, Dr. Gerardus Beek- 
man, Hendrick Vernooye and Abraham Deyo, 
he and his son Jacob obtained from Queen 
Anne the grant of a patent of four thousand 
acres of land in what was then the town of 
Shawangunk. Jacob married Marie, daughter 
of Pierre Deyo, one of the Huguenot patentees 
of New Paltz, he being the first Dutchman to 
marry into the Huguenot families of that set- 
tlement. Their son A.braham, who was bap- 
tized by the pastor of the Huguenot Church 
of New Paltz, July 3, 1699. was Judge Clear- 
water's great-great-grandfather. 

On his mother's side, Judge Clearwater is 
descended from Jacob Tromper, who was a 
great Dutch ship owner, and a city counsellor 
of Rotterdam, Holland, from 1524 to 1540; 
schepen, 1527-29-32; city treasurer from 1535 
to 1539; and burgomaster of that city from 
1527 to 1532. In 1533 he was unanimously 
chosen head of the Orphans Commission of 
Rotterdam, which looked after its still famous 
orphan asylums, the homes of the orphan 
children of the soldiers and sailors of Holland. 
He discharged these public and official duties 
without compensation, quietly; and quaintly 
saying, "Heaven and Holland have done much 
for me, and I must do a little bit (kleyn 
beetje) to help pay back.'' The Trompers 
were regarded as among the most public spir- 
ited and enterprising citizens of the Nether- 
lands. 

Nicolas Tromper came to America late in 
the seventeenth century, and married Jeanne 
Boudouin, a descendant of Pierre Boudouin, 
the distinguished Huguenot who've estates were 
confiscated and who was exiled from France 
at the time of the revocation of the Edict of 
Nantes in 1685, and from them Judge Clear- 
water's mother, Emily Boudouin. daughter of 
Peter Tromper and Jeanne Corquet, was de- 
scended. Among other descendants of Pierre 
Boudouin were James Boudouin, founder of 
Bowdoin College; and Robert C. Winthrop of 
Massachusetts. 

Judge Clearwater was born at West Point, 
New York, September 11, 184S, his father, 
Isaac Clearwater, being there under designa- 
tion by the Secretary of War to superintend 
the buildings then being constructed at the 
Military Academy under the Act of Congress. 
He was educated at the f.imous old Anthon 
Latin Grammar School in the City of New 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



565 



York, and at the Kingston (New York) 
Academy. He studied law at Kingston, with 
Senator Jacob Hardenburgh and Judge Au- 
gustus Schoonmaker, and was admitted to the 
bar in November, 1871. His notable public 
career began in 1877, when he was elected dis- 
trict attorney of Ulster county; he was re- 
elected in 1880 and a third time in 1883. In 
1884 and 1886 he declined the nomination for 
congress in the Ulster-Greene-Delaware dis- 
trict. In 1889 he was elected county judge of 
Ulster county, and re-elected in 1895. In 
1898, Alton B. Parker, having been elected 
chief judge of the Court of Appeals, Judge 
Clearwater was appointed by Governor Black 
to be justice of the Supreme Court in Judge 
Parker's stead. In 1909 he was appointed by 
Governor Hughes a member of the New York 
State Probation Commission to fill the va- 
cancy created by the resignation of Felix 
Warburg, was reappointed by Governor 
Hughes for the full term, and subsequently 
appointed for another full term by Governor 
Sulzer in 1913. 

Judge Clearwater has been notably active 
in public aiifairs aside from his professional 
and ofificial career. He is a trustee of Rutgers 
College, and chairman of the library commit- 
tee of the board ; he was a delegate of the 
New York State Bar Association to the Uni- 
versal Congress of Lawyers and Jurists, held 
in connection with the Louisiana Purchase Ex- 
position at St. Louis in 1904; he is and has 
been for several years chairman of the law 
reform committee of that association ; is 
chairman of its committee to suggest reform in 
the introduction of medical expert testimony 
in civil and criminal trials ; and at the request 
of the editor of the North American Review 
wrote an article upon "Medical Expert Tes- 
timony," which appeared in the June, 1909, 
number of that publication. He is chairman 
of the joint committees of the New York 
State Bar Association, the New State Medical 
Society, the Homoeopathic Medical Society of 
New York, the Academy of Medicine of New 
York City, and the Society of Medical Juris- 
prudence, to urge the passage by the legisla- 
ture of New York of a law regulating the in- 
troduction of such testimony in courts of jus- 
tice ; is chairman of the committee of the 
New York State Bar Association, to suggest 
matters to be brought to the attention and for 
the consideration of the aproaching Constitu- 



tional Convention to be held in 19 16 to re- 
vise the Constitution of the State of New 
York; and is a member of the committee upon 
workmen's compensation of the Association. 
To the subject of workmen's compensation, 
he has devoted much time and thought, fami- 
liarizing himself with the workmen's compen- 
sation acts of the different states of the Union, 
and of Great Britain and the countries of con- 
tinental Europe. He made strong addresses 
upon this subject at the annual meetings of 
the New York State Bar Association in 1912 
and 1913. 

Judge Clearwater was appointed by the gov- 
ernor of New York a member of the Hudson- 
Fulton Celebration Commission in 1906, and 
in 1907 edited an authoritative history of Ul- 
ster County. At the request of David Dudley 
Field, he prepared many of the provisions of 
the Penal Code and the Code of Criminal 
Procedure of New York. In 1895 he was ap- 
pointed commissioner to super\ise the trans- 
lation from Dutch into English of the Dutch 
records of Ulster county (1664-84), and 
completed the work in 1898. He was one of 
the founders and the first vice-president for 
Ulster county of the Holland Society, was 
president of that society in 191 1, and now is 
one of its trustees. He was one of the found- 
ers and since its formation has been a vice- 
president of the Huguenot Society of America : 
is president of the following organizations : 
The Farm Bureau of Ulster County, the Old 
Senate House Association of Kingston, the 
Ulster Historical Society, the Ulster County 
Bar Association, the Ulster County Bible So- 
ciety, and the Wiltwyck Rural Cemetery Asso- 
ciation. He is a member and one of the man- 
agers of the St. Nicholas Society of the City 
of New York; member of the American Bar 
Association, and of the Society of the Sons of 
the Revolution ; an honorary member of the 
St. Andrew's Society of Charleston, South 
Carolina ; a life member of the Huguenot So- 
ciety of South Carolina, and in 191 1, at the 
request of that society, delivered at Charles- 
ton the commemorative address on the occa- 
sion of the celebration of the two hundredth 
anniversary of the founding of civic govern- 
ment by the Huguenots in South Carolina ; is 
a member of the Huguenot Society of New 
Paltz ; a member of the Ex Libris Society of 
London ; a member of the American Peace 
Society, the New York Peace Society, the 



566 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



American Scenic and Historic Preservation 
Society, the Historical Society of Newburgh 
Bay and the Highlands, the Minnisink His- 
torical Society ; and is a corresponding member 
of the historical societies of many states. In 
191 1, he was made an honorary fellow for life 
of the Metropolitan Museum of Art of the 
City of New York, in recognition of his loans 
of old American silver to that museum, and a 
like member of the American Numismatic 
Society. 

He has delivered and is the author of many 
valuable monographs He delivered the ad- 
dress at the opening of the great Protestant 
Mission at Menilmontant, Paris, France, in 
June, 1888; and the response to the address 
of welcome to the Holland Society made by 
the burgomaster of Rotterdam, Holland, on 
the occasion of the visit of the Holland So- 
ciety to that country in the same year. He 
is a contributor to the North American Re- 
view, and is and has been an extensive con- 
tributor to the historical literature of New 
York. He is author of : "The Influence of the 
Dutch and Huguenots in the Formation of the 
American Republic," "Louis XIV. and the 
Revocation of the Edict of Nantes," "The 
Huguenot Settlement at New Paltz, in Ulster 
County," "Huguenot Medals in the British 
Museum," "Founders of New Amsterdam," 
"The Dutchmen of Albany and the Iroquois," 
"Dutch Governors of New York," "The Jur- 
ists of Holland," "Lord North and the Ameri- 
can Colonists," "Ulster in the War of the 
Revolution," "The Adoption of the First Con- 
stitution of New York, at Kingston, 1777," 
"The Struggle for the Highlands During the 
War of the Revolution," "The Inaugural of 
George Clinton, the First Constitutional Gov- 
ernor of New York, at Kingston." He has 
delivered notable memorial addresses upon the 
life and services of Abraham Lincoln, General 
Ulysses S. Grant, and William McKinley ; an 
address upon "Ulster in the War of the Re- 
bellion." "Protest Against the Destruction of 
the City Hall of New York," "The Significance 
of Dutch Local Names," "Antiquity of Free 
Masonry," "The Trial of Christ From the 
Standpoint of a Roman Lawyer of the Time 
of Tiberius." He has written extensively on 
criminological, legal and public matters, includ- 
ing "Heredity and Criminal Propensity," 
"Lombroso, and the Danger of Sentimental 
Criminology," "Moral Accountability of Crim- 



inals," "Goethe and the Sentimentalists," "The 
Disregard of Law," "The Deterioration of the 
Trial Jury." At the request of the New 
York Historical Association he prepared and 
in September, 1913, delivered the annual ad- 
dress at its fifteenth annual meeting at Os- 
wego, the subject being "The Undervaluation 
of American Citizenship." He was one of the 
founders and has been president of the King- 
ston Club; was one of the founders and is 
president of the Twaalf skill Golf Club; is a 
member of the Union League, Metropolitan 
and Grolier Clubs of New York City, and of 
the Automobile Club of America. He is and 
for many years has been a collector of early 
American silver; much of his collection he 
has loaned to the Metropolitan Museum of Art 
of the City of New York, and to the Museum 
of Fine Arts of the City of Boston. He has 
repeatedly been a delegate to national, state, 
judicial, congressional and senatorial conven- 
tions of the Republican party, with which he 
has always been identified. 

Judge Clearwater has twice been invited by 
Presidents of the United States to accept 
diplomatic positions abroad, and frequently 
asked by the Republican party to become a 
candidate for political office. He always has 
declined to accept any position not connected 
with the administration of justice, having fully 
determined when he entered the bar never 
to embark upon a political career. It is at 
the bar, and upon the bench, therefore, that 
his most important work has been done, the 
record of which appears in the annals of the 
Ulster Bar, in the records of the courts, and 
in the volumes published by the state of 
New York, which contain the decisions of the 
old, general term, the Appellate Divisions of 
the Supreme Court and of the Court of Ap 
peals. In 1903 he received the honorary de- 
gree of Doctor of Laws from Rutgers College 
for distinction in the public service 

He married, in 1875, Anna Houghtaling 
Farrand, daughter of Colonel William D. Far- 
rand, of San Francisco, California, and grand- 
daughter of Henry Houghtaling of Kingston. 
New York. 



This is one of the early Dutch 

CRUM names of this State and is now 

spelled differently from the form 

used in the early church records, where it 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



567 



occurs first as Krom and Crom. There are 
numerous descendants bearing the name now 
Hving in this State and New Jersey, who have 
done credit to a worthy ancestry. 

(I) According to the church records of Tap- 
pan, New York, Floris Willemsen Krom Hved 
at one time in Flatbush. His wife was Cata- 
lyntie Ariaens and they had baptized at the 
Dutch church in New Amsterdam (New 
York) May 3, 1685, a daughter, Willemyntie. 
Their son Dirck (Richard) was baptized No- 
vember 14, 1694, It is evident that they lived 
somewhere outside of New York at this time. 
A record at Hackensack shows that their son, 
Willem Florisse Crom, was married there in 
1699. 

(H) Dirck Crum, son of Floris Willemsen 
and Catalyntie (Ariaens) Krom, baptized as 
above noted in New York, resided at Tappan, 
New York. His wife, Catriena Kuyper 
(Cooper) Crum, was a daughter of Cornelius 
Kuyper and his wife, Aeltie (Bogert) Kuyper 
of Tappan and Schraalenburg. Cornelius 
Kuyper was a son of Claes Jansen, who came 
in 1647 from Permerond, a village near the 
Zuyder Zee, between Amsterdam and Hoorn, 
Holland, and settled at Brooklyn, where he 
married (first) Pietartie Brack Hoengie. of 
Gowanus. She died soon after and he re- 
moved to Bergen, New Jersey, where he mar- 
ried (second) November 11, 1656, Anna Van 
Vorst. He received a patent, January i, 1662, 
for a tract of land near Harsemus, New Jer- 
sey, on which he settled and remained until 
his death, November 20, 1688. His widow 
survived him many years, dying January 12, 
1726. He was an active and prominent citi- 
zen, a cooper by trade, hence is often referred 
to in the records as Kuyper, and from this 
time on the family adopted the surname now 
rendered Cooper. On April 10, 1671, he re- 
ceived a deed of two hundred and forty acres 
of land on the Hudson River, where the village 
of Nyack now stands. Subsequently he pur- 
chased four hundred and sixty-eight acres of 
meadow north of Nyack, being a partner in 
part of these lands with the Tallmans. He had 
fifteen children. The eldest son Cornelius set- 
tled at Tappan in 1689, but soon sold to Tall- 
man, and removed to Schraalenburg, New 
Jersey, where he bought two hundred and 
sixty-six acres on the Hackensack River. His 
daughter Catriena became the wife of Dirck 
Crum, as above noted. Children : Helena, born 



October 12, 1718;' Katharyna, August 15, 
1723; Willemyntie, October 9, 1725; Dirck, 
December 16, 1728; Cornelius, mentioned be- 
low; Maria, December 26, 1735; Johannes, 
January 5, 1740. 

(HI) Cornelius, second son of Dirck and 
Catriena (Kuyper) Crum, was born April 27, 
1 73 1, and baptized May 30, of the same year, 
at Tappan, where all of his father's children 
were baptized, and settled at Haverstraw, 
New York. 

(IV) Richard, son of Cornelius Crum, 
was born February 4, 1763, in Haverstraw, 
New York, where he grew to manhood. He 
was a soldier in the Revolutionary War, serv- 
ing first as a drummer boy and later becoming 
a matross in the Continental artillery. New 
York line, throughout that struggle. He was 
a member of Captain John Doughty's com- 
pany, under Colonel John Lamb, and saw many 
hardships. At one time he was stationed with 
a force at Fort Herkimer, during a severe 
winter, with the snow attaining a depth of 
more than four feet. The soldiers were forced 
to carry wood on their shoulders from the 
timber a half mile distant to keep from freez- 
ing. Because of the great depth of snow their 
food supply was very much reduced and many 
were glad to get a crust of bread. After the 
winter had somewhat moderated a supply of 
cattle was driven in and the soldiers fared bet- 
ter. Their clothing was ragged and filthy and 
when warmer weather came every one engaged 
in washing. Two members of his squad, Jacob 
Van Wart and John Paulding, were members 
of the party which captured Major Andre, and 
Richard Crum was present at the execution of 
that unfortunate officer. He witnessed the de- 
parture of General Arnold in his boat when 
he went on board the English frigate on the 
Hudson. He was a member of the party of 
ten men which defended a fort on the bank of 
the Hudson from an attack of Hessian soldiers, 
during which two field pieces in the fort 
mowed down the assaulting party with grape 
shot and successfully repulsed two attacks in 
this manner. Their fire was held until the 
Hessians were so close that they could see 
them wink their eyes, and the suddenness and 
deadly character of the fire caused a panic and 
compelled a retreat. After darkness came on 
the cannons were spiked and the little garrison 
fled up the river. At the same time the sol- 
diers were frequently attacked by Indian allies 



568 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



and British, and Mr. Crum was wont to say 
that they were "between the devil and the 
deep sea," with red coats on one side and In- 
dians on the other. He often engaged in 
friendly conversation with Indian girls, who 
passed the fort, and on one occasion one of 
these gave him an implement used by the In- 
dians for skinning deer and preparing the 
hides for tanning. This implement is now in 
possession of his son, and no one to whom it 
has been shown has been able to name the ma- 
terial of which it is made. The powder horn 
in which he carried his priming material for 
the artillery is also preserved by his son. After 
the men were discharged a barrel of whiskey 
was rolled out for their use, the head knocked 
out and the men helped themselves with their 
cups. This resulted in much fist fighting and 
General Lamb remarked that he "thought the 
war was over, but the hard fighting seemed to 
have just begun." After the war Richard 
Crum returned to his father's home at Haver- 
straw, but soon after went to New York 
There he boarded a schooner for Eatontown, 
New Jersey, whence he proceeded to what was 
at that time called the Liberty Pole in Shrews- 
bury township, Monmouth county, now the 
city of Long Branch. 

There he settled and married Elizabeth Gard- 
ner, born September 14, 1768, died 1827. He 
died in 1847. Children: i. Deborah, married 
Joseph West, a farmer and fisherman of Long 
Branch. 2. Nancy, married a Throckmorton. 
3. Hannah, became the wife of Joseph Brown, 
and resided in Long Branch. 4. John, a very 
powerful man, standing six feet, four and a 
half inches in his stockings. 5. Catherine, wife 
of Hugh Read, lived in Long Branch. 6. 
Gardner, was for some time a clergyman of 
the Methodist Episcopal church and later en- 
gaged in the practice of law. 7. Jacob. 8. 
Susannah, married a Baldwin. 9. Richard, men- 
tioned below. 10. Elizabeth, married Hugh 
Managhan. 11. William W., mentioned below. 
12. Sarah, married Barnabas Clark, who was 
a fish dealer in New York City. 13. Rebecca, 
wife of Isaac Emmons, a sailor, was the 
mother of Edward Emmons, of Long Branch. 
(V) Richard (2), fourth son of Richard 
(i) and Elizabeth (Gardner) Crum, was born 
March 31, 1803, at Long Branch, New Jer- 
sey, died September 19, 1847. He married, at 
Long Branch, July 26, 1831, Mary Brooks, 
born at Doylestown, Bucks county, Pennsyl- 



vania, died April 23, 1873, daughter of Ben- 
jamin and Rebecca (Harkins) Brooks. 

(VI) Richard Benjamin Brooks, only child 
of Richard (2) and Mary (Brooks) Crum, 
was born November 23, 1832, at Long Branch, 
New Jersey, where he remained until he came 
of age. He then removed to Pennsylvania, 
where he was employed in the lumber woods 
for several years and settled in Gibson town- 
ship, Cameron county, Pennsylvania. Through 
successive changes in boundaries, although 
remaining on the same farm, he has lived suc- 
cessively in Lycoming, Elk and Cameron coun- 
ties. He has been quite active in public affairs, 
serving as school director, three years as con 
stable, four years as supervisor, and also as 
justice of the peace. For several years he 
travelled in the interest of the nursery busi- 
ness. He married, August 11, 1853, Sarah 
Jane Miller, born April 25, 1836, at Sinema- 
honing, Pennsylvania, daughter of John and 
Elizabeth (Loque) Miller. Children: i. Mary 
Elizabeth, widow of George H. Boardman. 2. 
Martin Luther, a real estate broker in Chicago, 
Illinois. 3. Charles Washington, a railroad 
engineer. 4. Victor Emanuel, resides in Si- 
nemahoning, Pennsylvania, where he is as- 
sistant superintendent of the Keystone Tire 
Company. 5. Richard McClelland, an exten- 
sive farmer, and state forestry warden of 
Pennsylvania. 6. Martha Rebecca Victoria 
Lucinda, wife of James W. Montgomery, a 
Pennsylvania railroad engineer. 7, Nancy 
Jane, married Abel Dent, a merchant and hotel 
proprietor. 8. John Calvin. 9. Roscoe Al- 
bert, a railroad conductor. 10. Melancthon 
Vespasius, engaged in business at Sinemahon- 
ing. II. James Harrison, was accidentally 
killed at Butte City, Montana, August i, 1902. 

(V) Rev. William W. Crum, fifth son of 
Richard (i) and Elizabeth (Gardner) Crum, 
was born January 24, 1807, at Long Branch, 
New Jersey, where he grew up and learned 
the blacksmith's trade. Having adopted the 
religion taught by the Methodist Episcopal 
church, he became a clergyman, and thus con- 
tinued until the end of his life. He was a 
pioneer minister in Western New York, es- 
tablishing many churches, and was later con- 
nected with the Michigan Conference. Dur- 
ing the civil war he served on the Christian 
Commission, bringing comfort to many soldiers 
of the Union army. He died September 16, 
1866. He married Sarah, daughter of Henry 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



569 



Latham, who was an earnest religious worker 
in co-operation with her husband, and held in 
high esteem on account of her excellent 
Christian character and earnest labors in every 
enterprise of the church. She was born Feb- 
ruary 13, 1808, in New York City, died Oc- 
tober 16, 1891. Her father was commander 
of the brig "Delia," and was lost at sea. Chil- 
dren: I. John, born November 26, 1828; was 
a soldier in the First Michigan Cavalry during 
the civil war, and served five years, dying as 
a result of that service ; he married, Decem- 
ber 22, 1855, Harriet Johnson. 2. Richard 
Donly, mentioned below. 3. William Henry, 
born November 23, 1832 ; has a large stock 
farm in Missouri, and is an honored citizen ; 
married, December 18, 1857, Ann Totten. 
4. Delia, born October i, 1834; married, Sep- 
tember II, 1851, William Hibbard, and was 
the mother of four children. Mr. Hibbard 
was a Union soldier, and died from wounds 
received in battle. 5. Sarah Elizabeth, born 
December 11, 1837; married, December 30, 
1855, George Sherman, and died without is- 
sue. 6. Ruth, born January 23, 1843 ! was a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal church, 
and a devoted Christian woman ; married, July 
31, 1858, Jerome Biteley. who was an officer in 
the First Michigan Cavalry, and served with 
distinction through the civil war ; he established 
the town of Biteley in Michigan, where he 
operated large lumber mills. 7. Hannah B., 
born January 17, 1845 • married, January 22, 
1863, Rev. M. H. McMahon, and now resides 
in Portland, Oregon, where in 1913 was cele- 
brated the golden anniversary of their mar- 
riage. Mr. McMahon is a veteran of the civil 
war, having served in Company G, Fifth New 
York Duryea Zouaves, one of the famous 
fighting regiments ; he was severely wounded 
at the second battle of Bull Run ; was dis- 
charged from the army at the age of twenty, 
and entered the ministry in 1878. Their daugh- 
ter, an accomplished artist, is the wife of Hon. 
Elisha A. Baker, formerly prominent in In- 
diana, and now residing in Portland, Oregon. 
8. George Latham, mentioned below. 

(VI) Richard Donly, second son of Rev. 
William W. and Sarah (Latham) Crum, was 
born February 11, 1831, in New York City, 
and was a small child when his parents settled 
in Schuyler county. New York. It was diffi- 
cult for a struggling clergyman in a pioneer 
region to sustain his increasing family, and 



Richard D. was bound out to a Methodist 
brother by the name of Archibald Tilford. 
Here he was reared in the fear of God, with 
plenty of work and little schooling thrown in, 
the latter consisting mainly of the double rule 
of three and the multiplication table. At the 
age of fifteen years he determined to learn a 
trade, and going to Watkins, the county seat, 
he served an apprenticeship for several years 
as wheelwright. In time he constructed a 
buggy, which he thought good enough for a 
bride, and with it drove back over the hills to 
a cross road named Oak Hill, where lived 
Mariah R. Du Vail, who was a descendant of 
the Mohawk Valley Dutch. On December 22, 
1852, they were married, and have dwelt in 
peace and harmony over sixty years. In 1853, 
on account of precarious health, Mr. Crum 
abandoned his trade, and engaged in photo- 
graphing. This business he followed for more 
than fifty years, when he retired. He was 
one of the pioneer photographers of views in 
and about Watkins Glen, in the days when 
the developing outfit must be carried to the 
scene of operations. He very greatly aided 
in making that section the popular resort which 
it is today. In the spring of 1898 he removed 
with his family to Long Branch, New Jersey, 
where he now resides. Children: i. Adelaide, 
born January 31, 1854; a talented musician 
and gifted artist in oils ; she married, Febru- 
ary 25, 1892, Levi H. Bower, formerly of 
Watkins, now of Long Branch ; they have one 
son, Richard Crum Bower. 2. Fred, born 
July 21, 1858, in Watkins; is a photographer 
in Syracuse, New York ; he married, in 1879, 
Sadie Bedient. 3. Ellen Gertrude, born March 
16, 1865 ; graduated, 1886, from the Woman's 
College of New York City ; died August 3, 
1898, at Long Branch. 4. Delia, born Decem- 
ber 12, 1873; now the wife of John Henry 
Brown, a merchant of Long Branch ; children : 
Joseph, Duvale, Helen Gertrude. 

(VI) George Latham, youngest child of 
Rev. William W. and Sarah (Latham) Crum, 
was born February 28, 1847, in Beaver Dam, 
Schuyler county. New York. 

He attended the public schools at Watkins, 
Schuyler county, New York, up to the age 
of twelve years, at which time his school days 
ended and he became a workman in the Fall 
Brook Company shipyard at Watkins, engaged 
in making coal barges for carrying coal down 
Seneca lake and Erie canal. He was employed 



570 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



at this until he was fifteen years and six months 
of age, when at the breaking out of the civil 
war he enlisted in Company B, One Hundred 
and Sixty-first New York Infantry Regiment, 
and served for three years and two months. 
His regiment was in the First Division, Third 
Brigade, Nineteenth Army Corps, under Gen- 
eral Banks, commander of the Department of 
the Mississippi Valley, and served through all 
the operations below Vicksburg, including the 
siege of Port Hudson, which continued forty- 
five days. On July 13, 1863, he participated 
in the battle of Donaldsonville, Louisiana, in 
which he lost a brother-in-law, William Hib- 
bard, husband of his sister Delia. After that 
battle he returned to Baton Rouge, Louisiana, 
and in the spring of 1864, when the Red River 
campaign was organized and troops assembled 
at Algiers, he was among the sharpshooters 
assigned to gunboats, attached to the gunboat 
"Arizona," and took part in the engagement 
of Sabine Pass, where the gunboats, "Sachem" 
and "Clifton" were destroyed. As soon as the 
tide permitted, the gunboats withdrew, and the 
"Arizona" returned to Algiers, whence all the 
forces organized for the Red River campaign, 
marched about four hundred miles up and 
back. They came back to Morganza Bend, and 
at this point word was brought that the enemy 
was driving cattle across the river by the 
thousands for supplies for their army, and a 
detachment was sent out against them by Gen 
eral Guppy of the Twenty-third Wisconsin 
Regiment, its brigade commander. When 
some fourteen miles from headquarters, Gen- 
eral Guppy found it necessary to make another 
day's march into the interior to reconnoiter. 
Finding it necessary to send a messenger back 
to headquarters through an enemy-infested 
country, with orders for the wagon-train to 
come up with supplies, and after others re- 
fused to undertake the errand without an es- 
cort, which was practically impossible, young 
Crum was recommended by Colonel Kinsey 
of the One Hundred and Sixty-first New York 
State Volunteers. Readily accepting the com- 
mission, he made the dangerous trip, without 
mishap. This feat of courage was widely 
spoken of and commended in army circles. 
After leaving Morganza Bend, his regiment, 
the One Hundred and Sixty-first New York 
State Volunteers, was ordered to Vicksburg, 
and being largely made up of mechanics, was 
set to work repairing the rolling stock on the 



Jackson & Eastern Mississippi railroad. Here 
Mr. Crum was detailed on the staff of Major 
Alexander Shaler, who was put in charge of 
the Department of Arkansas, with headquar- 
ters at Duvall's Bluff. In the spring of 1865, 
the Mobile campaign being organized, he was 
directed to return to Carlton to his own regi- 
ment, and there was placed on the staff of 
Major-general Steele, in which capacity he re- 
mained until after the fall of Fort Blakley. The 
army was then ordered to Spanish Fort, thence 
to Mobile, Alabama. While on the march 
news of General Lee's surrender reached the 
troops. Finding that the fort had been eva- 
cuated, the troops moved against the city of 
Mobile, and after its evacuation marched into 
the city at night and went into camp in the 
suburbs. After several weeks his regiment 
was sent to Apalachicola, Florida, with other 
troops, to take care of the cotton which had 
accumulated there during the war, in hopes 
that the blockade runners might get in to carry 
it away, but which had not been done. This 
cotton was seized in the name of the govern- 
ment. Colonel B. Kinsey being detailed as 
judge advocate, under Major-general Ashboth, 
Mr. Crum assisted in trying cases against 
delinquent soldiers and officers. Here he spent 
two months, when he came home and was 
mustered out of service, October 25, 1865. He 
participated in thirty-three engagements dur- 
ing the war ; Avas on the staffs of Major-gen- 
eral Shaler, Major-general Steele, Brigadier- 
general Guppy and Colonel Kinsey; was con- 
tinuously under fire for forty-five days at the 
siege of Port Hudson. He fervently believes 
that his life was spared in answer to the fer- 
vent prayers of his righteous parents. 

After the war, he entered the New York 
Fire Department, and became a member of 
Engine Company No. 35, with which he re- 
mained nearly three years, when he became 
assistant foreman of Engine Company No. 7, 
and four months later was made foreman in 
command of Engine Company No. 4, at 39 
Liberty Street, New York City, with which 
he served fourteen years and seven months. 
He then became connected with the Mutual 
Life Insurance Company as assistant super- 
intendent of the real estate department of New 
York City, holding this position for two years, 
when he was sent to Boston to take charge of 
the real estate department of the same company 
in that city. He remained there three years, 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



571 



when failing health caused him to retire from 
active business for some time. When he re- 
signed his position with the Mutual Life, the 
company accepted his resignation and pre- 
sented to him a check amounting to three 
thousand dollars in evidence of appreciation 
of his long services. After regaining his health 
he became connected with the Equitable Life 
Assurance Society as a solicitor, and for the 
past twenty-four years has been acting in the 
capacity of agency manager. During this time 
he has probably written some twelve million 
dollars worth of policies. His offices are in 
the Singer Building, Broadway, New York, 
and he is a well-known figure in the insurance 
line, and most highly esteemed by every ex- 
ecutive officer of the company. This is evi- 
denced by the following letter : 

THE EQUITABLE LIFE ASSURANCE SO- 
CIETY OF THE UNITED STATES. 

June 17, 1913. 
My Dear Financier : 

I have followed your career with interest and 
pride for a quarter of a century or more. At one 
time I see you breaking into politics and making an 
impress on affairs of State— at another time, as the 
present, I see you breaking into the financial affairs 
of the world, vide your interest in the Long Branch 
Banking Company, "tlie pioneer concern along the 
Jersey coast," and all the while I know your heart 
is true to your first love, the Equitable, 'and I see 
you continuous in your endeavors to give your fellow 
men "protection that protects" by insuring them in 
the greatest company in the world. 

So here's to j-ou ! and long life, happiness and 
content to you ! 

Sincerely yours, 

(Signed) Geo. T. Wilson, 

GiiORGE L. Crum, Esq. Second Vice-President. 

Mr. Crum is a man of strong force of char- 
acter; is a director in several large corpora- 
tions and banks. He is a member of A. E. 
Kimball Post, Grand Army of the Republic, 
of New York, and of the Board of Trade at 
Long Branch, which is his home, and where 
he was candidate for mayor in 1910. In pol- 
itics he is a Republican. He has been a mem- 
ber of Harlem Lodge, No. 201, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, since 1868, and is also 
a member of what is known as the Half Mil- 
lion Club in insurance circles. He and his 
family attend the Methodist Episcopal church. 

He married (first) in 1866, Mary Lanzer, 
daughter of Frederick and Elizabeth (Mar- 
jory) Lanzer; she was born in New York City. 
Of this marriage two children were born: i. 
William K., born in New York City, August 



II, 1868; married Mamie Pasterelle, and they 
have four children : John, William, Patrice, 
George L. ; his residence is at College Point, 
Long Island ; he is a machinist, and employed 
by the Auto-Press Company there. 2. Ella 
Frances, married William G. Colling, of 
Brooklyn, New York ; they have a daughter, 
Marion. Mr. Crum married (second) Fannie 
L. Rabb, of New York City, a native of Aus- 
tria, who came to this country when a child. 
She is the mother of three children : 3. Maurice 
R., born in Boston, April 16, 1888, died at the 
age of two years. 4. Mercedee Latham, born 
November 11, 1890, in New York City; she 
was educated in the Long Branch high school, 
and was selected by the Long Branch Board 
of Trade as Queen of the Carnival of 1912, 
she is an ardent student of music. 5. Ortrude 
Latham, born in New York City, October 7, 
1893 '• she is a graduate of the Long Branch 
high school, and is an ardent student of music, 
and an elocutionist and vocalist of high order. 



Willem Florisse Crum, son of 
CRUM Floris Willemsen (q. v.) and 
Catalyntie (Ariaens) Krom, was 
probably baptized somewhere on Long Island, 
born about 1677-78. He was a small child 
when his father removed to Tappan, and there 
resided. He married, at Hackensack, Sep- 
tember 29, 1699, Geritje Van Houte, and the 
marriage record at Tappan describes him as 
a native of Flatbush, and his wife as a native 
of Harsamus. They had children baptized at 
Tappan: Floris Willemse, mentioned below; 
Theunis, April 14, 1703; Willem, July 4, 1705. 
Willem F. Crum died before October 15, 1707, 
on which date his widow married Jan Hogen- 
canb. 

(HI) Floris Willemse, eldest child of Wil- 
lem Florisse and Geritje (Van Houte) Crum, 
was born October 16, 1701, at Tappan, New 
York, and resided in that vicinity. He mar- 
ried Cytie (Seitje) Brouwer, and they had 
children baptized at Tappan : Johannes, men- 
tioned below ; Samuel, born May 14, 1731 ; 
Geritje, July 24, 1733; Willem, March g, 
1739; Margrietje, March 17, 1741 ; Theunis, 
November 27, 1743. 

(IV) Johannes, eldest child of Floris Wil- 
lemse and Cytie (Brouwer) Crum, was born 
July 31, 1728, baptized August 23, same year, 
at Tappan, New York, and resided in Upper 
Nyack. He married, at Clarkstown, Lena 



572 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Benson, daughter of Johannes and Lena Ben- 
son, and was described at the time of his mar- 
riage as a resident of Clarkstown. Only one 
of his children is recorded there and he evi- 
dently moved up the river in 1751-52. 

(V) Johannes (John) Benson, son of Jo- 
hannes and Lena (Benson) Crum, was bap- 
tized March i, 175 1, in Clarkstown, New 
York, and resided at Spring Valley, in the 
town of Ramapo. He was probably twice 
married. The family records show that he 
married Katee Sarvent, December 31, 1782. 
All of his children were born previous to that 
date. No record of the former marriage has 
been discovered. The Sarvent family is of 
French origin and- the name appears on the 
Dutch records of Tappan in various forms, the 
most usual being Server. It is also found as 
Sarven. Philip Sarvent, born about 1720-21, 
is described as coming from Holland at the age 
of thirteen years. He worked thirteen years 
for Cornelius Cooper in Clarkstown, whose 
farm of fifty-five acres he purchased in 1747. 
This is in Upper Nyack, and the stone house 
on the farm contains a chimney made of bricks 
brought from Holland. He died August 15, 
1786. His wife was Maria (Onderdonck) 
Crum, and they had children : Philip, Adrian, 
Garret, Abraham, born May 22, 1752, and 
probably Katee, wife of Johannes B. Crum 
The birth of the oldest son is recorded at 
Clarkstown, August 5, 1748. Katee was prob- 
ably born about 1752-53. Jacob Sarvent and 
Catrina De Beer had a son Abraham, born 
November 25, 1760. baptized December 7, at 
Clarkstown. Katee may have been theii 
daughter. Children of Johannes B. Crum : 
Elizabeth, born February 22, 1767; James, 
December 25, 1768; Thomas, January 27, 
1771 ; Katie, March 20, 1773; Jacob, January 
18, 1776; Henry, January 17, 1778; John, Jan- 
uary 12, 1781 ; Abram, mentioned below. 
These records are supplied by the family and 
cannot be found in any of the Rockland county 
or New Jersey churches. The family may 
have crossed the river for church privileges. 

(VI) Abram, son of Johannes (John) Ren- 
son and Katee (Sarvent) Crum, was born 
September 29. 1783, in Nyack, New York, 
died March 24, 1858. He probably resided in 
the town of Ramapo, as his marriage was per- 
formed bv Rev. George Brinkerhoff, pastoi 
of the Kakiat Dutch Church of that town. 
He was born just at the close of the revolu- 



tionary war, was imbued with the patriotic 
spirit of his ancestors, and served as a soldier 
from Rockland county in the war of 1812. He 
married, September 11, i8o8, Peggy (Mar- 
garet) Sarven. They had children: i. Mary, 
born August 30, 1810, married Levi Spring- 
steen, November 3, 1829; their children were: 
Theodore and Levi Jr. 2. John Abram, merv 
tioned below. 3. Abram Sarven, born Decem- 
ber 12, 1814; married, January 2, 1840, 
Uphemia Sickles ; they had one child, Martha 
Blanch, born December 28, 1840; married Dr. 
Alonzo C. Rembaugh in 1874, and has one 
child. Bertha, born in 1876, unmarried. 4. 
Theodore, born October 26, 1826, died in in- 
fancy. 5. Cyrus Mason, born September 29, 
1831 ; married (first) Laura Ann Dickey, 
September 29, 1857; married (second) Edith 
Mathilda Hope ; his children by first marriage 
were : Margaret and Florence. Children of 
second marriage: Margaret, Elizabeth, Helen, 
Louise, Harold. 

(VII) John Abram, eldest son of Abram 
and Peggy (Margaret) (Sarven) Crum, was 
born June 16, 1812, and baptized July 10, fol- 
lowing, at the Kakiat Church. He resided 
for many years in New York City, where he 
was a dry goods merchant, and retired upon 
a competence. Religiously he was a Presby- 
terian, and in politics acted with the Republi- 
can party. He married, October 25, 1870, at 
the Brick Church, New York City, Janet Mac- 
donald Rait, born March 22, 1836. died April 
^^. ^^77' daughter of James and Margaret 
(Dean) Rait. They had two children: Emma, 
born March 27, 1874; John Egbert, mentioned 
below. 

(VIII) John Egbert, only son of John 
Abram and Janet Macdonald (Rait) Crum, 
was born in Nyack, Rockland county. New 
York, March 26, 1876 When quite young 
he received private tuition in Nyack and was 
prepared to enter the public school. He finally 
attended the high school and in 1889 he grad- 
uated with his class with honors. He was 
then thirteen years old. Immediately upon 
his graduation he entered the employ of the 
Rochester Lamp Company in New York City 
as a clerk and salesman, and remained with 
them for about six years, when he resigned 
and accepted a position in the Shoe & Leather 
National Bank in New York City. LTpon the 
consolidation of the bank with the Metropoli- 
tan Bank in 1906. he became its general audi- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



573 



tor and is still connected with it, and is highly 
respected. John Egbert Crum is a Republican 
in politics, but has never held any public of- 
fice. He is a notary public and a commissioner 
of deeds of New York county. He is a mem- 
ber of Doric Lodge, No. 280, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, New York City ; Phoenix 
Chapter, No. 2, New York City; Sons of the 
Revolution; and is also an honorary member 
of the Orangetown Fire Company, No. i, 
Nyack, New York. He is a member of the 
First Presbyterian Church of Nyack. He 
married, June 12, 1906, in Tacoma, Wash- 
ington, Marie Agnes, born November 27, 
1874, in Coldwater, Mercer county, Ohio, 
daughter of George Rosenbeck. George Ro- 
senbeck was born August ig, 1836, in Ham- 
burg, Germany. He emigrated when young 
to America and finally became a prominent 
dry goods merchant in Coldwater, and also 
owned a large farm in the same place. He 
has now disposed of all his interest in Cold- 
water and leads a retired life in Los Angeles, 
California. He married Marie Elizabeth, born 
in Bantzen, Germany, daughter of Frederick 
Kalkhofif. Their children were: Catherine, 
born in 1872; Marie Agnes, mentioned above; 
Elizabeth, born in 1876; Josephine, born in 
1878. 



Gysbert Crum appeared in New 
CRUM York City when it was under 

English rule. The first mention 
of him is found in the land records at Albany, 
showing that he received a deed of confirma- 
tion of thirty acres at Marbletown, Esopus, 
October 11, 1671. He appears to have been 
living in New York in 1677, when he had a 
child baptized there. Possibly he may have 
been living at Marbletown at this time and 
brought the child to New York for baptism. 
The survey of one hundred and fifty-eight 
acres on the south side of Esopus Creek, in 
Marbletown, for him, was recorded April 13, 
1686. No record of his marriage is found in 
New York or Kingston but his wife was 
Giertie (Van Vliet) Crum. Their oldest child, 
Mayken, was baptized in New York, October 
31, 1677. Others, recorded in Kingston, are: 
Gysbert, born February 9, 1679; Henric, De- 
cember 9, 1683; Archie, January 31, 1686; 
Zacharias and Elizabeth (twins) March e,. 
1688. 

(U) Dirck, or Richard, undoubtedly the 



son of Gysbert and Giertie (Van Vliet) Crum, 
born about 1681, resided in the vicinity of 
Marbletown or Rochester, near Kingston. 
New York, where the baptisms of his chil- 
dren are recorded. No record of his own birth 
or baptism appears, or of his marriage. He 
married Eva de la Montanjen, baptized March 
23, 1683, in New York, daughter of William 
and Leonora (de Hooges) de la Montanjen. 
Children: Willem, baptized September i, 1709; 
Gysbert, mentioned below ; Geertjen, March 
I, 1713 ; Johannes, March 13, 1715 ; Elehonora, 
June 3, 1716; Henderick, January 12, 1718; 
Abraham, February 5, 1721 ; Elizabeth, March 
10, 1723; Lydia, January i, 1727. 

(HI) Gysbert (2), second son of Dirck 
or Richard and Eva (de la Montanjen) Crum, 
was baptized at Kingston, New York, No- 
vember 12, 1710, and appears to have been 
baptized a second time at Rochester, October 
18, 1724. He married, at Kingston, October 
2^1 > ^737 > Zara Bogaard, both being residents 
of Marbletown, where she was born. They 
had children baptized at Kingston: Marthen, 
February 26, 1738; Dyne, April 6, 1740; 
Henry, mentioned below; Anneke, December 
17, 1749; Marte, February 11, 1759. 

(IV) Henry, eldest son of Gysbert (2) and 
Zara (Bogaard) Crum, was born at Marble- 
town, New York, baptized September 4, 1743, 
at Kingston, and made his home in Marble- 
town. He married, at Kingston church, May 
4, 1777, Janneke Phoenix, a native and resi- 
dent of Hurley, baptized September 3, 1758, 
at Kingston, daughter of Matthew and Mary 
Phoenix. He was a soldier of the revolution, 
was shot in the legs and always a cripple there- 
after. He resided in the vicinity of Kingston 
until 1785, or later, and had children baptized 
at Kingston: Mathias, October 3. 1779; Re- 
becca, September 29, 1782; Willem, May i, 
1785. Tradition says he resided in Kingston 
or Saugerties. He brought no more children 
to Kingston for baptism. 

(V) Henry (2), son of Henry (i) and 
Janneke (Phoenix) Crum, was born in the 
vicinity of Kingston, New York, and died 
August 20, 1834, in Bergen county, New Jer- 
sey, where he was a farmer. For a time he 
lived in New York City. He was a Democrat 
politically, and affiliated with the Dutch Re- 
formed church. He married, March s, 1814. 
Maria Becker, who married (second), in 1839,. 
William Wyley. She died May 20, 1881. 



574 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Children : Henry, mentioned below ; Mary 
Ann, married George Bloomer; Peter James, 
born May 17, 1822; John William, February 
22, 1828; Theophilus Hanford, August 12, 
1830; Andrew Jackson, June 26, 1834. 

(VI) Henry (3), eldest child of Henry (2) 
and Maria (Becker) Crum, was born July 
27, 1815, in New York City, died there July 
19, 1849. He married, November 3, 1846, i'l 
New York City, Henrietta Frances Garns, 
born April 23, 1827, died February 11, 1906, 
daughter of Henry and Eliza (Herring) 
Garns. The last named was a daughter of 
Benjamin Herring, who was an officer under 
Washington and one of the Cincinnati Society. 
His wife, Catherine (Myers) Herring, was a 
daughter of Benjamin Myers, who was put 
aboard the prison ship "Jersey," and never 
heard of after. Children: Frederick Henry, 
mentioned below ; Emma Frances, born Ma> 
4. 1849, unmarried. 

(VH) Frederick Henry, only son of Henry 
(3) and Henrietta F. (Garns) Crum, was 
born September 27, 1847, at No. 83 Charlton 
Street, New York City. In 1862 he graduated 
at the Dutch Collegiate Institute of New York. 
In his sixteenth year, on March 9. 1863, he 
entered the employ of the North River Fire 
Insurance Company as a clerk and has risen 
through various positions in that establish- 
ment, being now its vice-president and secre- 
tary. He is also president of Crum & Forster 
fire underwriters; vice-president of the Hut- 
chins Security Company; director of the Nas- 
sau Fire Insurance Company; the United 
States Fire Insurance Company ; the Williams- 
burg City Fire Insurance Company; and ot 
the People's National Bank of Hackensack, 
New Jersev. Mr. Crum is a life member of 
the New York Historical Society, a member 
of the Economic Club of New York, and of 
the Episcopal church at Oradell. New Jersey 
He is active in the local councils of the Dem 
ocratic party, and is an esteemed and useful 
citizen of his home town. 

He married (first) February iq. 1871. Marv 
Laura Petrowitch. born in 1844. in New York 
City, died April 6. 1883. daughter of Chris- 
tian Petrowitch. He married (second) Feb- 
ruary II. 1903, Louise M'altbie Wortendyke. 
born June 9, 1869. Children of first wife: 
I. Frederick Henry, born November 3. 1871, 
died December 15, 1882. 2. Mary Laura, 
born June 3. 1873. 3. Helen Louise, born 



January 15, 1878; married, June, 1903, S. A. 
Van Der Water, M.D., of Oradell, and has 
a daughter Helen, born September 27, 1904. 
4. Hubert, born August 20, 1882; married, 
February 28, 1906, Lucy Sparks, and they 
have one child, Edith Lucile, born January 
22, 1907. Child of second wife: 5. Frederick 
Davenport, born August 20, 1904. 



Rev. William Leverich, the 
LEVERICH founder of this family, first 

appears as a student at 
Emanuel College, Cambridge, England, where 
he graduated in 1625. He died in Newtown, 
Long Island, before June 19, 1677, when letters 
of administration on his estate were granted 
to his son Eleazer. He came over to America 
in the ship "James." as minister to the church 
in Dover. New Hampshire, arriving at Salem, 
Massachusetts, October 10, 1633. Two years 
later he removed to Boston, and about 1637, 
he became assistant to the Rev. Mr. Partridge, 
at Duxbury. Massachusetts. Three years 
later, he accepted the charge of the church at 
Sandwich, on Cape Cod. and in 1653 he be- 
came a purchaser and settler of Oyster Bay, 
Long Island, the inhabitants agreeing to give 
him £15 a year as their minister among them. 
Here and at Huntington and Newtown. Long 
Island, he spent the remainder of his life. 
His wife's name is unknown. Children, so 
far as known : Caleb, referred to below ; 
Eleazer. married Rebecca Wright. 

(II) Caleb, son of Rev. William Leverich, 
came with his father to Newtown, Long 
Island, where he acquired much land and was 
one of the original members of the Presby- 
terian church. He died in 1717, aged seventy- 
nine years. He married Martha , who 

survived him. Children: John, referred to 
below ; Mary, married Job Wright ; Eleanor, 
married Joseph Reeder. 

(III) "John, son of Caleb and Martha 
Wright, was born in Newtown. Long Island, 
died there about 1705. He married Hannah 

. Children : John, born about 1696. died 

in 1780, married (first) December 14. 1720, 
Amy Moore, (second) Susanna, widow of 
John Sackett. and (third) Sarah (Titus) 
Cornish; William, died March 25, I7.=i4. mar- 
ried. July 23. 1722. Martha Way; Beniamin, 
referred to below ; Hannah, married James 
Way; Martha, married John Way. 

(IV) Benjamin, son of John and Hannah 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Leverich, was born in Newtown, Long Island, 
died there about 1732. He married Mary 
. Children: Caleb, referred to below. 

(V) Caleb (2), son of Benjamin and Mary 
Leverich, was born at Newtown, Long Island, 
died July 6, 1758, at Sabbath Day Point, on 
Lake George, while accompanying the ill-fated 
expedition of General Abercrombie. He be- 
gan business life early as a painter in New 
York City, but was induced to enlist for the 
French and Indian wars. He married Sus- 
anna, died September 11, 1814, aged eighty- 
eight years, daughter of William Burch. Chil- 
dren: Benjamin, referred to below; John, born 
September 4, 1758, died July 28, 1812, mar- 
ried Ann Chase. 

(VI) Benjamin (2), son of Caleb (2) and 
Susanna (Burch) Leverich, was born in New 
York City, and died in Cortlandtown, near 
Peekskill, Westchester county, New York, 
after 1790, in which year the census of the 
township, gives him three white males over 
sixteen years, including heads of families, 
three free white males under sixteen years, 
and four free white females over sixteen 
years, including heads of families. He is the 
only Leverich in Westchester county at that 
time except his third cousin John, who at that 
time was living at North Castle, but later wenl 
back to his paternal home in Newtown. 

(VII) John (2), son of Benjamin (2) Leve- 
rich, of Cortlandtown, Westchester county, 
New York, was a farmer in that county. His 
wife's name is unknown. Children : Benjamin, 
referred to below ; Caleb ; a daughter. 

(VIII) Benjamin (3), son of John (2) 
Leverich, was born in Cortlandtown, West- 
chester county, New York, January 22, 1793, 
died there April 14, 1878. He was a carpenter 
by trade and had a shop in Cortlandtown. He 
was somewhat of a lawyer and was looked up 
to by his neighbors, who would ask his advice 
as to the settling of their disputes. He was 
a Whig in politics, and served as justice of 
the peace and also as poormaster of the town. 
He served on Long Island in the war of 1812. 
He married (first) August 27, 1814, Eunice 
Outhout, who was born May 6, 1791 ; married 
(second) in 1856, Hannah Purdy. Children, 
all by first marriage : Hattie Ann, married 
George Cruger ; John W., born in 1819, died 
about 1880, married Elizabeth Ryder; Caleb; 
Mary Jane, married Gilbert Treadwell ; Wil 
liam, referred to below; Benjamin; George. 



(IX) William, son of Benjamin (3) and 
Eunice (Outhout) Leverich, was born in 
Cortlandtown, Westchester county. New York, 
October 26, 1822, and is now living in Kings- 
ton, Ulster county, New York. He received 
his education in the country schools of Cort- 
landtown, and learned the trade of mason, 
which he followed in that section of the 
country until 1848, when he removed to Tomp- 
kins Cove, Rockland county, New York, to 
set up an engine and boiler for the Tompkins 
Cove Stove Company, and to do other work 
for them. He remained here until 1850, when 
he went to Rondout, Ulster county. New York, 
where he did all the mason work for the 
Newark Lime and Cement Company, building 
all of their kilns, which are still standing. He 
also did numerous other masonry jobs, among 
them being the school house at Tompkins 
Cove, the Children's Church and the district 
school at Rondout, and for fifty-six years he 
was the boss mason of the town. He was a 
Republican in politics, and cast his first vote 
for Harrison and Tyler. He married, in 
Peekskill, Westchester county. New York, in 
1842, Catharine, daughter of James Gale, of 
Oregon, Westchester county, New York. Chil- 
dren: Minnie D., born in 1864; William H., 
referred to below. 

(X) William H., son of William and Cath- 
arine (Gale) Leverich. was born in Kingston, 
Ulster county, New York, May 9, 1866, and 
is now living with his father at Kingston. 



Captain John Seaman, the 
SEAMAN founder of this family, was 

with six of his sons one of the 
patentees of the town of Hempstead, Long 
Island. He was born about 1610, and died 
after August 5. 1694, the date of the writing 
of his will. He married (first) Elizabeth, 
daughter of John Stricland. and (second) 
Martha, daughter of Thomas and Martha 
(Youngs) Moore. Children by first marriage: 
John, married Hannah Williams; Jonathan, 

married Jane ; Benjamin, married 

Martha Titus; Solomon, died in 1743, married 
Elizabeth Linnington ; Elizabeth, married 
Colonel John Jackson ; Samuel, married Phebe 
Hicks; Thomas, married Mary ; Na- 
thaniel, mentioned below; Richard, born in 
1673, rnarried Jane Mott; Sarah, marrie-j 
John Mott ; Martha, married Nathaniel Pear- 
sail ; Deborah, married Kirk ; Hannah, 



576 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



married 



Carman ; Mary, married 



Pearsall ; daughter, died before 1694, 

married Carman; daughter died un- 
married. 

(II) Nathaniel, son of Captain John and 
Martha (Moore) Seaman, was born in Hemp- 
stead, Long Island, and died there October 9, 
1759. He married there, 9th mo., 8, 1695, 
Rachel, daughter of Henry and Mary 
(Pearce) Willis, who died August 20, 1759. 
Children: Rachel, born 5th mo. 26, 1696, died 
unmarried; Nathaniel, born nth mo. 18, 1699, 
died June 14, 1774, married, in 1722, Sarah 
Powell; Hester, born 9th mo. 8, 1701, mar- 
ried John Whitson ; Jacob, born 8th mo. 10, 
1703, died April 4, 1759, married, in 1726,, 
Mercy Powell; Abraham, born nth mo. 10, 
1706, married Deborah Townsend; Rachel, 
born 1st mo. 9, 1708, married, in 1738, Jere- 
miah Elfreth; Hezekiah, born 3rd mo. 11, 
171 1, married a daughter of Isaac Doughty; 
Thomas, born nth mo. 2, 1713, married, in 
1 741, Hannah Willets; Samuel, mentioned be- 
low. 

(HI) Samuel, son of Nathaniel and Rachel 
(Willis) Seaman, was born in Hempstead, 
Long Island, 4th mo. 13, 171 5. He married 
Martha, daughter of Obadiah and Martha 
(Willets) Valentine. Children: Willet, mar- 
ried Mary Searing; Valentine; Obadiah, mar- 
ried Deborah Valentine; Rachel, born in 174Z, 
died in 1797, married, February 3, 1762, Silas 
Hicks ; Martha, married Henry Titus ; Phebe, 
married Samuel Hicks; Miriam, married 
Stephen Robbins ; Samuel, mentioned below; 
Esther, married Samuel Sands ; Abigail, mar- 
ried Richard Willets; Marmaduke. 

(IV) Samuel (2). son of Samuel (i) and 
Martha (Valentine) Seaman, was born in 
Hempstead, Long Island, and died in Corn- 
wall. Orange county. New York. He married 
Kezia, daughter of Thomas and Martha 
(Powell) Titus, who was born in 17.^7. Chil- 
dren : Thomas, mentioned below ; Silas, mar- 
ried Hannah Green ; Martha, married Josiah 
Hazard; John, married Amy Pearsall;" Wil- 
liam ; Isaac ; Rachel, married Joseph Marshall ; 
Samuel, married (first) Anna Pearsall, (sec- 
ond) Phebe Pearsall. daughters of Wait and 
Hannah Pearsall. 

(V) Thomas, son of Samuel (2) and Kezia 
(Titus) Seaman, was born in 1780, died in the 
town of Monroe, Orange county. New York, 
February 23, 1848. He married Sarah Brown, 



who was born in 1780, died in May, 1864. 
Children : Jacob, mentioned below ; Kezia, 
married Daniel Cornell ; Martha ; Keturah, 
married Peter S. Titus. 

(VI) Jacob, son of Thomas and Sarah 
(Brown) Seaman, was born in Cornwall, 
Orange county. New York, in 1803, died in 
1888. He married, in 1826, Hannah Cocks, 
who was born in 1804, died in 1889. Chil- 
dren: Sarah Brown, born in 1827; Thomas, 
died in infancy ; Edmund, born in 1832, died 
in 1888, married Mary Willets; Thomas, bora 
August 17, 1835, died in November, 1886; 
Jacob T., November 26, 1838, died in 1864; 
Elizabeth K., September 24, 1841 ; James, 
referred to below ; Hannah Townsend, Janu- 
ary 20, 1848. 

(VII) James, son of Jacob and Hannah 
(Cocks) Seaman, was born in Cornwall, 
Orange county. New York, June 30, 1844, and 
is now living at Woodbury Falls, New York. 
He was born on a farm which was owned by 
his grandfather and part of which is still in 
his own possession. He received his educa- 
tion in the district and private schools of 
Mountainville, New York, and has been a 
successful farmer all his life. He is a Repub- 
lican in politics, and for six years, from 1900 
to 1902, and from 1904 to 1906, served as 
supervisor of the town of Woodbury. At one 
time he was postmaster at Woodbury Falls. 
He is a justice of the peace for Woodbury; 
a member and trustee in the Religious Society 
of Friends. He married, January 14, 1874, 
Elizabeth, born November 10, 1848, daughter 
of Charles Townsend and Martha (Weyant) 
Ford. Children: i. Charles Ford, born Jan- 
uary 29, 1875 ; married Lulu M. Viele, of Har- 
riman, New York; children: James and Mil- 
dred. 2. Jacob Townsend, born January 30, 
1877; married Mae L. Greenleaf ; children: 
Melissa G., Elizabeth and Elaine. 3. Mari- 
anna, born October 12, 1879; living' at home, 
unmarried. 4. Edmund, born May 20, 1883; 
married Edna Smith, of Harriman ; child: 
Elizabeth Meta, born August 4, 1913. 5. 
James Pierre, born March 6, 1885; a civil en- 
gineer in New York City. 



Under the fierce per • 
GIRAUD-GEROW secution following the 

Revocation of the 
Edict of Nantes, October, 1685, many of the 
nobility, and over three hundred thousand of 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



■577 



the most skillful artizans and leaders in indus- 
tries found refuge in America, which was 
benefited by what was lost to France. From 
the folk lore of this family we learn they fled, 
leaving all possessions behind them, some com- 
ing in slippers and laces. Candles were left 
burning in silver candle-sticks, and food left 
untouched on the table. 

At New Rochelle, New York, the two hun- 
dredth and twenty-fifth anniversay of the land- 
ing of the French Huguenots in America was 
celebrated. By pageant the scene was repro- 
duced, an exact replica of the caravel in which 
they came floated in the harbor, realistic In- 
dians surrounded the strange ship as when 
she appeared in the waters years ago. Among 
the invited guests were the President and Vice- 
President of the United States, Secretary of 
War Garrison, Secretary of Navy Daniels, the 
French Ambassador Jusserand and M. Chato- 
net, delegate from France to the celebration. 
In one of the addresses on "The Huguenot 
in America," it was said in closing: "The 
Huguenot was one of the most valuable agents 
God ever furnished for American Liberty and 
American Independence." In Hudson Park, 
New Rochelle, a granite monument has been 
erected by descendants of these early settlers, 
and on the bronze tablet are to be found the 
names of Giraud, Coutant, Chadeyane and 
others. From available records we have : 

(I) Etienne Giraud, of whom we have no 
information. 

(II) Daniel Giraud, who came from La 
Rochelle, France, in 1688, to New Rochelle, 
New York. He married and had three sons ; 
Daniel, of whom further ; Andrew, of Fish- 
kill, New York; Benjamin. 

(III) Daniel (2), son of Daniel (i) Giraud, 
born in 1724, was a resident of Cortland 
Manor. During the revolutionary war he ob- 
tained a pass to go through the lines and pur- 
chased a large tract of land from King 
George's agent, which is now known as Platte- 
kill, Ulster county. New York. The tract was 
then known as the "Ten Stone Meadow." The 
"Pass" and deed for the land is now in pos- 
session of a descendant. The deed was signed 
by "John Lake, Agent." Daniel Giraud mar- 
ried Elizabeth Coutant, sister of Jacob, Gilbert 
and Henry Coutant, and settled in Westchester 
county. New York. Children: Elias, of 
whom further; William, married Esther Cha- 
deyane; John, married Elizabeth Palmer; 



James went to St. John's, New Brunswick; 
Daniel went to St. John's, New Brunswick; 

Catharine married Yerksie; Deborah 

married James Denton ; Esther, married Wil- 
liam Clark; Betsy married James McCallum; 
Sarah married Jacob Russell; Jane married 

(first J Isaac Brown (second) Coutant; 

Mary married Adolphus Shuart. 

(IV) Elias Gerow, son of Daniel (2) and 
Elizabeth (Coutant) Giraud, was born April 
9, 1765, died 1838. He married Elizabeth, 
born May, 1768, daughter of Jacob Coutant. 
Children: Gilbert, of whom further; Annie 
married Ebenezer Cooley; Daniel married 
Lucy Haviland ; Phebe, deceased ; Hannah 
married Samuel P. Birdsall; Catherine mar- 
ried Smith Pine; Deborah married Daniel 
Birdsall, cousin of Samuel P. Birdsall; Wil- 
liam, deceased; Jacob married Jane Thorn; 
Lydia H., married Samuel Heaton ; Elias mar- 
ried Sally Ann Barber ; Isaac married Cornelia 
Ann, daughter of Adolphus and Mary 
(Giraud) Shuart. Elias Gerow had twelve 
children and sixty-four grandchildren, whose 
descendants are many, scattered far and wide, 
many of them living in the Hudson river 
towns, as also do the descendants of William, 
John, Sarah and Mary. The French Hugue- 
not name, Giraud, is still held with pride by 
many, others have accepted the name as pro- 
nounced, Gerow. At an early period the 
Christian fellowship of this family was with 
the Society of Friends (often called Quakers) 
and their influence for righteousness has left 
a benediction on succeeding generations. 

(V) Gilbert, son of Elias and Elizabeth 
(Coutant) Gerow, married Anna, daughter of 
Justus and Mehetable Cooley. Children: 
Louise married Harry Seeley; Emma Jane 
married John Jackson; Elias, mentioned be- 
low; Justus married Phebe Yoimg; Asahel 
married Mary Townsend ; John C, deceased; 
Mehetable married John Deming, of Cali- 
fornia. 

(VI) Elias (2), son of Gilbert and Anna 
(Cooley) Gerow, married Sarah Cooper. 
Children : Charles Cooley, married Margaret 
Culbert; Gilbert Haviland, mentioned below; 
Henrietta Van Cleft, married Charles Hull; 
Mary, died in early life ; Emma Jane, married 
William V. Many; Joseph Cooper, married 
Jennie Hathaway, and occupies the homestead 
at Blooming Grove, Orange county. New 
York. 



578 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



(VII) Gilbert Haviland, son of Elias (2) 
and Sarah (Cooper) Gerow, was born in the 
town of Blooming Grove, Orange county, New 
York, August 12, 1844, died at Washington- 
ville, Orange county, New York, March 19, 
191 1. He was educated in the district schools 
of Blooming Grove and at Antioch College, 
Ohio. W'ith his brother, Charles C. Gerow, 
and William Beattie, he was engaged in mill- 
ing and coal business at Salisbury Mills, New 
York. Later he purchased property at Vail's 
Gate, New York, where for about twenty-five 
years he conducted a general store, coal yard, 
and lumber and feed business. After this he 
formed a partnership under the name of 
Gerow & King, and continued the business for 
several years, and this was followed by the 
firms of Gerow & Son, Gerow & Stone, Stone 
Brothers, the latter for a term of ten years. 
Mr. Gerow was one of the organizers of the 
Newburgh Carpet Company, of Newburgh, 
New York, of which he was treasurer. He was 
an honorary member of the Tenth Separate 
Company of New York State, having served 
the required term of years, also honorary 
member of the Fire Department, \Vashington- 
ville. He was early a member of the Congre- 
gational church of Blooming Grove, and later 
of the First Presbyterian Church of Wash- 
ingtonville. 

He married, October 23, 1872, Alletta Rem- 
sen, daughter of the Rev. James Rapelye and 
Catherine (White) Lente, who was born at 
Napanoch, Ulster county. New York ( see 
Lente VIIL). Children: i. Charles Halcott, 
born December 31, 1873, died March 16, 1875. 
2. James Frank, born May 6, 1876, died May 
19, 1878. 3. Arthur Riker, born April 8, 1879 ; 
now with the Newburgh Carpet Company, 
Newburgh, New York. 4. Lyman Abbott, 
born October 4, 1880; graduate of Rutgers 
College, 1906. 5. Walter Haviland, born July 
16, 1884; now at Young Men's Christian As- 
sociation at Poughkeepsie, New York. 6. Gil- 
bert Westcott, born April 25, 1886; now en- 
gaged in coal and feed business at the original 
Vail's Gate stand which was established in 
i860 by the late Gilbert H. Gerow. 
(The Riker-Lent Lines.) 

From European genealogy we learn that the 
Rykers were located at a very remote period 
in Lower Saxony, where they enjoyed a state 
of allodial independence, at that day constitut- 



mg nobility. There they possessed the estate 
or Manor of Ryken, from which they took 
their name, written von Ryken. Subsequently 
the name suffered changes: de Ryke, de Ryk, 
Rieche, etc., von Lentum, von Lent, Lent, 
Lente. 

Hans von Ryken, with his cousin, Mel- 
choir von Ryken, a valiant knight, who 
lived in Holland, went in the First Crusade to 
the Holy Land in 1096, heading eight hundred 
crusaders in the army of Walter the Penniless. 
Melchoir von Ryken lived to return, but Hans 
von Ryken perished in that ill-fated expedi- 
tion. The coat-of-arms borne by the family 
is thus explained : The shield azure, em- 
blematic of knighthood ; the horns, indicating 
physical strength ; the golden stars, a striving 
for glory, and the white roses, symbol of dis- 
cretion and fidelity. Ln time the descendants 
of Melchoir von Ryken extended from Hol- 
land to Switzerland and America. Before the 
family is mentioned in America we learn they 
occupied places of public trust for two cen- 
turies, until the Spanish war occasioned great 
reverses in their fortunes. Captain Jacobus 
Simonsz de Ryken. of Amsterdam, a warm 
partisan of the Prince of Orange, distin- 
guished himself by military services when that 
Prince defended Dutch liberty, and the family 
for successive generations during the struggle 
with Spain followed a military career. ( Rik- 
er's Annals of Newtown.) 

(I) Gysbert or Guisbert Rycken, founder of 
the family in America, emigrated to New Am- 
sterdam from Holland about 1630. Prac- 
tically all that is known about him is the in- 
scription on the gravestone of his grandson, 
Abraham, son of Abraham and Margaret 
Riker, which reads : "The grave of Abraham 
Riker, son of Abraham and Margaret Riker; 
born 1655. died August 20, 1746, in the 91st 
year of his age ; and in memory of his grand- 
sire, Guisbert Riker, a native of Holland, who 
came to America in 1630, obtained a patent 
for land at the Bowery bearing date 1632." 

(II) Abraham, son of Gy.sbert or Guisbert 
Rycken. was born in 1619, died in 1689. He 
married Grietje Hendrickse, daughter of Hen- 
drick Harmensen. In 1642 he purchased prop- 
erty on the Heeren Gracht, now Broad street. 
His children were baptized in the church at 
Fort Amsterdam. Children : Ryck Abraham- 
sen, mentioned below: Jacobus, born 1640, 
died in infancy; Jacobus, born 1643; Hen- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



579 



drick, born in 1646, died young; Marytje, born 
in 1649, married Sibout Krankheyt ; Jan, born 
in 1651, married Sara Schouten ; Alletta, born 
in 1553, married Captain John Harmensen; 
Abraham, born in 1655, died August 20, 1746, 
married Grietje Janse van Buytenhuysen ; 
Hendrick, born in 1662, joined his brothers, 
Ryck A. and Jacobus, in Westchester county. 
New York, and changed his name to Lent, 

(III) Ryck Abrahamsen, son of Abra- 
ham Gysbrechtsen and Grietje (Hendrickse) 
Rycken, was born on Long Island, died in 
Westchester county, New York. He changed 
his name to Lent, and with his brother Hen- 
drick became the ancestors of the family of 
that name. In 1685 he bought from the In- 
dians an extensive tract of land, eighteen hun- 
dred acres, in Westchester county, which sub- 
sequently became famous under the name of 
"Ryck's Patent." He was an elder in the 
Dutch Church at Sleepy Hollow, and died 
between March 30, 1720, and March 28, 1723, 
the dates of the writing and proving of his 
will. He married Catrina, daughter of Harck 
Siboutsen and Wyntje Teunis. Children: 
Elizabeth, married Thomas Hyers ; Abraham, 
mentioned below; Ryck, born in 1678, married 
Marytje Blauvelt ; Harck or Hercules, born 
in 1681, died in 1766, married Cornelia Van 
Wart ; Margaret, married Thomas Bepson ; 
Catharine, married Joseph Jones. 

(IV) Abraham Lent, son of Ryck Abra- 
hamsen and Catrina Lent, was born in West- 
chester county. New York, March 10, 1674, 
died in Newtown, Long Island, February 5, 
1746. He lived for some years in Westchester 
county, and in 1729 settled in Newtown. He 
married, late in 1698, Anna Catrina, daughter 
of Adolph and Maria (Verveelen) Meyer, 
who died July 2'i, 1762, aged eighty-six years. 
Her father was a deacon in the church at 
Sleepy Hollow. Children : Ryck, died in 
1732, married, December 26, 1722, Cornelia 
Waldron ; Adolph, born in 1703 ; Isaac, mar- 
ried Sara Luyster; Abraham, married Mar- 
garet Snediker ; Jacob ; Jacobus, mentioned be- 
low; Catrina, married Elbert Herring; Eliza- 
beth, married Jacob Brinckerhoff ; Maria, mar- 
ried John Rapelye; Wyntje, married Jeromus 
Rapelye; Ann, married Jan BrinckerhofT. 

(V) Jacobus, son of Abraham and Catrina 
(Meyer) Lent, was born in Westchester 
county. New York, July 3, 1714, died in New- 
town, Long Island, December 13, 1779. He 



married Margaret, daughter of Daniel Rape- 
lye, who died September 11, 1794, in her 
seventy-fourth year. Children : Abraham, 
born February 15, 1745, died April 13, 1816, 
married Diana Lawrence; Alletta, born April 
24, 1747, married George Rapelye; Daniel, 
mentioned below. 

(VI) Daniel, son of Jacobus and Margaret 
(Rapelye) Lent, was born in Newtown, Long 
Island, May 31, 1754, died there, April 20, 
1797. He was the last of the family to live on 
the original Rycken-Lent estate at Armen 
Bouwerie. He married, December 9, 1792, 
Rensie, daughter of Martin Rapelye. Child: 
Daniel, mentioned below. Four children died 
in infancy. 

(VII) Daniel (2), son of Daniel (i) and 
Rensie (Rapelye) Lent, was born in Newtown, 
Long Island, August 30, 1797, died in Flush- 
ing Bay, Long Island. He was a merchant in 
New York City, and in later life bought a 
farm at Flushing Bay. He married, June 6, 
182 1. Jane Catharine, daughter of Cornelius 
Rapelye Remsen. Children: James Rapelye, 
mentioned below ; Cornelius Remsen, married 
Ama Nafis ; Charles Henry, married Ama 
Thorborn ; Elizabeth Catharine, married 
Charles Halcott, deceased; Theodore, died in 
infancy. 

The name of van Lente was retained 
by some of the family until the last century, 
when it was dropped and the plain Lent was 
i^sed. A few also spelled their name with a 
final "e," Lente, as the best abbreviation of the 
name at one time taken, van Lenten, from a 
maternal inheritance. The Rev. James Ra- 
pelye Lente, of Washingtonville, of more than 
ninety years of age, and his son, Edward 
Prime Lente, are probably the only ones bear- 
ing this rendering at the present time. It is 
recorded that the Lents lived friendly with 
the native Indians, no record of any trouble 
arising between them having been found. The 
Lents were numerous in the Continental army 
They voluntarily took up arms and fought 
bravely for freedom from the yoke of Great 
Britain. Sir Henry Clinton said he could 
neither "buy nor conquer these Dutchmen." 

(VIII) The Rev. James Rapelye Lente, son 
of Daniel (2) and Jane Catharine (Remsen) 
Lent, was born in Flushing, Long Island, 
April 18, 1822, and is now living at Washing- 
tonville, Orange county. New York. After 
being tutored by Rev. Garrett J. Gar- 



S8o 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



retson, pastor of the Reformed Dutch 
Church of Newtown, Long Island, he 
prepared for college at Erasmus Hall 
and graduated from Rutgers College in 
1842. After teaching at Erasmus Hall (Pre- 
paratory School) for three years, he entered 
the New Brunswick Theological Seminary and 
graduated in 1850. He took charge for a few 
months of the Reformed Dutch Church at 
Coxsackie Landing, Greene county, New 
York, in the absence of the pastor, then be- 
came pastor of the Reformed Dutch Church 
at Napanoch, New York. Two years later he 
became pastor of the Collegiate churches at 
Bloomingdale and Rosendale, New York, and 
ten years later, in 1864, he retired on account 
of ill health and has since lived at Washing- 
tonville, New York. He married Catherine. 
daughter of Colonel John White, who was 
born January 22, 1825, died May 27, 1887. 
Children: Alletta Remsen, born September 
23, 1853, married, October 23, 1872, Gilbert 
Haviland Gerow (see Gerow VH) ; Edward 
Prime, born November 5, 1857, unmarried. 



The name Thornton is 
THORNTON said to have been derived 
from Thor, the ancient 
northern deity. A different origin is, however, 
suggested by the coats-of-arms of two of the 
oldest Thornton families of England, the 
Thorntons of Yorkshire, and the Thorntons 
of Tiersall, which bear upon them three haw- 
thorn trees or bushes which suggest the com- 
bination of the "thorn" and "town." The 
name de Thornton also appears in the early 
annals, indicating a possible Norman ancestry. 
There are many families in Ireland and Scot- 
land bearing the name of Thornton, but in 
these cases it is said that the patronymic is 
usually an English rendering of the Gaelic 
Mac Skenaghan or Mac Sceinaghan, the root 
of the name being from the Gaelic word 
"sceine," a knife. Lower derives the English 
name in some cases from parishes and places 
in the counties in England of Buckingham- 
shire, Durham, and adjacent districts. York- 
shire abounds with places so-called. Thome 
appears to have been an old Anglo-Saxon per- 
sonal name ; and hence Thornton may have 
been in some cases the homestead of Thorne. 
There are numerous families bearing the 
name of Thornton in the United States. One 
of the earliest Thornton emigrants to America 



was William Thornton, who came from York- 
shire, England, prior to 1646, and settled in 
York county, Virginia. This William Thorn- 
ton was the ancestor of a large number of 
prominent descendants, some of whom became 
connected by marriage with the family of 
George Washington, and some with the family 
of President Zachary Taylor. Dr. John N. F. 
Thornton, who married Mary, daughter of 
President William Henry Harrison, was prob- 
ably of this family. Another early immigrant 
to America was John Thornton, who was one 
of the founders of the First Baptist Church 
of Newport, Rhode Island, in 1648. The Rev. 
Thomas Thornton, who came from England 
in 1663, and settled at Yarmouth, Massachu- 
setts, was the ancestor of descendants of emi- 
nence. James Thornton, father of the Hon. 
Matthew Thornton, one of the signers of the 
Declaration of Independence, emigrated from 
Ireland to America in 1718. There were other 
Thornton families that settled in Massachu- 
setts, Connecticut, New York, Pennsylvania 
and Virginia. 

( I ) James Thornton, the immigrant ances- 
tor in America of the Thornton family here 
dealt with, was born near Londonderry, Ire- 
land, in 1684, died November 7, 1754, at East 
Derry, New Hampshire. The family of James 
Thornton lived on a farm about a mile from 
the city of Londonderry and were subject to 
frequent visits from King James's troops. 
James and his family is said to have been one 
of one hundred and twenty families, who in 
five small ships arrived at Boston, Massachu- 
setts, August 5, 1718, and in the fall of that 
year went to Falmouth, now Portland, Maine, 
where they spent the winter on shipboard, en- 
during great hardships. They then went to 
Wiscasset, Maine, and after a stay there of a 
few years they moved to Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts. In Worcester they lived on a farm 
near Tactknuck Hill, adjoining the town of 
Leicester. The only record that has been 
found of the wife of James Thornton is in 
the deed of the Worcester family, dated Feb- 
ruary 14, 1730-40, in which "Keturah" Thorn- 
ton joins. In 1740 James Thornton moved 
from Worcester to Pelham, Massachusetts, 
of which town he was one of the founders 
and principal proprietors. He remained in 
Pelham, where he held various town offices, 
until 1748, when he moved to Londonderry, 
New Hampshire, where he r-sided until his 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



581 



death, November 7, 1754. He is buried in 
Forest Hills cemetery, East Derry, New 
Hampshire, beside his daughter, Hannah Wal- 
lace. He married Nancy Smith. Children; 
I. James. 2. Andrew. 3. Matthew, born near 
Londonderry, Ireland, in 1714, died June 24, 
1803 ; he was the most prominent member of 
the Thornton family; he settled in New 
Hampshire, where he became distinguished as 
a physician, judge, statesman, and patriot in 
the revolution ; he was one of the signers of 
the Declaration of Independence for the State 
of New Hampshire, and the history of his life 
is to be found among the Lives of the Signers. 
He was buried at Thornton's Ferry, New 
Hampshire, where a monument to his memory 
was erected in 1872 by the State of New 
Hampshire. 4. Agnes. 5. William, mentioned 
below. 6. Samuel. 7. Hannah. 8. Esther. 

(H) William, fourth son of James and 
Nancy (Smith) Thornton, was with his father 
one of the settlers of Pelham, Massachusetts, 
in 1740, and as a surveyor he assisted in the 
laying out of the town. In 1744 he left Pel- 
ham and moved to Kingsfield (now Palmer), 
Massachusetts,, where he had a farm on the 
east side of Dumplin Hill. Here his sons, 
William, Matthew and James, were probably 
born. In March, 1748, William sold his farm 
at Palmer and became the first settler of Dub- 
lin, New Hampshire, which town was granted 
in 1749 to the Hon. Matthew Thornton and 
others. The farm in Dublin on which William 
Thornton, settled was owned by the Hon. 
Matthew Thornton and was subsequently sold 
by him to Deacon Isaac Appleton. A small 
monument has been erected on this farm to 
mark the settlement of the town. Two chil- 
dren were born to William Thornton during 
his residence in Dublin, a daughter, Molly, in 
1749, said to have been the first white child 
born in the town, and a son, Thomas. William 
Thornton remained in Dublin until about 1753, 
when he left on account of the Indians, and 
with his family moved to Schenectady, New 
York, where his son John was born in 1753. 
William Thornton and his sons, Matthew and 
James, served in the border warfare, their 
names appearing on the muster roll of Captain 
Daniel Campbell's company, of Schenectady, 
on May 12, 1767. From a deed dated Febru- 
ary 3. 1770, it appears that William Thornton 
was then of Curry's Brook or Bush, near 
Princeton, Albany county. New York. He re- 



turned to New Hampshire, and after living in 
Londonderry in 1773 and 1774, he went to 
Thornton, New Hampshire, where he re- 
mained until his death. Children: i. William, 
born in 1745, married Dolly Bayley, of Can- 
dia. New Hampshire ; they had seven children 
born between 1784 and 1799. 2. Matthew, born 
December 6, 1746, undoubtedly at Palmer, 
Massachusetts, where his father then lived ; he 
was probably with his father when the latter 
became the first settler of Dublin, New Hamp- 
shire, about the year 1748, and moved with 
him to Schenectady, New York, in 1753; he 
married, March 30, 1768, Mary Crawford, and 
their first child, Dorcas, born March 12, 1770, 
was baptized at Schenectady, New York, June 
12, 1770. 3. James, born about 1747, probably 
at Palmer, Massachusetts, went with his 
father's family to Dublin, New Hampshire, 
about the year 1748, and moved with them to 
Schenectady, New York, in 1753 ; the muster 
roll of Captain Dan Campbell's company, of 
Schenectady, May 12, 1767, gives the names of 
James Thornton and of his father and brother, 
Matthew ; James also served in the war of the 
revolution in the Second Regiment, Albany 
county; he married Antje Schermerhorn and 
had three children, May, William, Margarieta. 
4. Molly, born in Dublin, New Hampshire, 
about the year 1749. 5. Thomas, born in 1751, 
probably in Dublin, New Hampshire; he 
moved to Schenectady, New York, with his 
father in 1753; he was a school teacher and 
served in the war of revolution in the Second 
Regiment, Albany county ; he married Eliza- 
beth Richardson, sister of Paris Richardson, 
aide to General Washington; they had seven 
children, William, Euretta, Elizabeth, Thomas, 
Charles, Wallace, George. 6. John, mentioned 
below. 

(Ill) Major John Thornton, youngest son 
of William Thornton, was born at Schenec- 
tady, New York, in 1753. He served with dis- 
tinction in the war of the revolution. He was 
first lieutenant in Captain Thomas Wasson's 
company in the Second Regiment, Schenec- 
tady division. His brothers, James and 
Thomas, served in the same war. Captain, 
later Major, John Thornton served with 
Colonel Willets along the Mohawk Valley, and 
as major he commanded the escort to General 
Washington and General Clinton from Fort 
Plain to Cherry Valley and Otsego Lake and 
return, during the summer of 1783. On Jan- 



c82 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



uary 25, 1786, Major Thornton purchased a 
farm of one hundred acres at Curry's Bush 
(or Brook) in the town of Princeton, Albany 
county, New York, which farm had been 
owned by Daniel Clyde in 1771. He married 
Ann (Adelia) Clyde, daughter of Colonel 
Samuel Clyde, born October 25, 1764. Chil- 
dren : William A., mentioned below ; George, 
died young; Adelia, married Volney Freeman, 
of Schenectady ; Catherine, who died un- 
married. 

(IV) William A., eldest son of Major John 
and Ann or Adelia (Clyde) Thornton, was 
born August 29, 1802, at Albany, New York, 
died April 6, 1866, on Governor's Island. He 
attended the public schools of Albany, and was 
appinted cadet at West Point in 1821, gradu- 
ating in 1S25. He was appointed lieutenant of 
artillery on the staff of General Scott in the 
Black Hawk campaign, and later served in the 
Seminole Indian war, Florida. When the 
ordnance corps was created by congress, he 
was assigned to that corps, where he remained 
until the time of his death. He was made 
brevet-major for meritorious service in the 
Mexican war and brevet-brigadier-general for 
distinguished service in the civil war. His 
rank was colonel of ordnance, United States 
Army. At different times he was stationed at 
Watervliet, New York, Watertown, Massa- 
chusetts, and on Governor's Island, New York 
Harbor. He married, in 1833, Helen, daughter 
of Dr. Gilbert Smith, of New York City. Mrs. 
Thornton's mother was Helena De Witt, and 
connected with the De Witt family of revolu- 
tionary fame along the Hudson. Children : 
Adelia, married Colonel James S. Casey, 
United States Army, died in 1875 ' William A., 
who was a paymaster during the war and died 
in 1872; George De Witt, who died in 1883; 
Nora, who married John H. Walsh, died in 
1904; Howard, mentioned below. 

(V) Howard, son of William A. and Helen 
(Smith) Thornton, was born on Governor's 
Island, New York, February 25, 1849. He 
was educated in the public schools of New 
York City, and for a time was a student of the 
College of the City of New York, later of 
Union College, Schenectady, where he gradu- 
ated in the class of 1872 with the degree of 
A.B. He then settled in Newburgh, where he 
read law in the office of Eugene A. Brewster, 
and in 1874 graduated from the Albany Law 
School with degree of LL.B. He continued 



in his profession for a number of years in 
Newburgh, where he still retains an office. In 
1892-93-94 he was a member of the New York 
State assembly and chairman of the judiciary 
committee in 1894. He is a member of the 
Military Order of the Loyal Legion, Sons of 
the American Revolution, University and 
Transportation clubs, of New York City, 01 
the City and Powelton clubs of Newburgh. 
He was a member of the board of education 
of the city of Newburgh from 1906 for four 
years. In 1909 he was elected president of 
the National Bank of Newburgh, a position 
he still holds. He was trustee of the Washing- 
ton Headquarters, and part of the time presi- 
dent of the board. He is a past master of 
Hudson River Lodge, No. 607, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons.. He married, October 19, 
1897, Julia B. Sterling, daughter of Charles H. 
Burr, of Astoria, Long Island. 

Colonel Samuel Clyde was born at Wind- 
ham, Rockingham county. New Hampshire, 
April II, 1732. The family of Clyde were 
originally from the banks of that river in Scot- 
land, whose name they bore. They had set- 
tled in Ireland in the time of Cromwell and a 
branch came to this country in that large emi- 
gration from Londonderry in Ireland, which 
settled the town of the same name in New 
Hampshire. They were mostly farmers. The 
father of Colonel Clyde owned and cultivated 
a small farm on which the son labored until 
he was nearly twenty years of age. He was 
well educated for a farmer's son in those times, 
and being of an enterprising character sought 
a wider field of labor. He first engaged in 
the trade of shipbuilder and later joined in 
the war in this country between England and 
France. Captain Clyde was in the disastrous 
attack on Ticonderoga. In 1761 he married 
Catherine Wasson at Schenectady. He was 
prominent in the war of the revolution, and 
one of the small forts in the Mohawk Valley 
was named Fort Clyde in his honor. He was 
appointed high sheriff' of the county of Mont- 
gomery in 1785 and this office he held for 
several years. The county seat was at John- 
ston, and the office of sheriff of such an ex- 
tensive county was one of great labor and 
responsibility. He was greatly beloved by his 
fellow-officers and soldiers and a vacancy hav- 
ing happened in the office of brigadier, in the 
brigade to which his regiment was attached, 
he was earnestly urged by those under his im- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



583 



mediate command to accept the appointment, 
but he dechned, giving the honor to men hold- 
ing older commissions. He was from the 
commencement to the close of the war chair- 
man for the committee of safety for the 
county, and he was also elected a member of 
the legislature from the county of Tryon. 
Colonel Clyde died on his farm at Cherry Val- 
ley, November 30, 1790, in his fifty-eighth 
year. 



The surname, Seeger, is Ger- 
SEEGER man in origin. It is pronounced 

"Sager" in that language. The 
name is well known in Germany, but it is not 
what could be called a popular name. There 
is also an English form of the name derived 
from Segar and Seager. This name is derived 
from the Anglo-Saxon word, akin to that of 
German, namely, "sigora," meaning a "con- 
queror," or "sigor," meaning "victorious." 
In this form it was an ancient personal name 
before surnames came into use, and occurs in 
the Domesday Book under the forms of Segar, 
Sigar and Sigarus. Another derivation of the 
English name is from the northern counties, 
pronunciation of or rather provincialism for 
"sawyer," from the Anglo-Saxon "saga," 
meaning "a saw." In Poiton, moreover, there 
is a local surname — De Segur. From this 
Norman surname it is possible that the English 
form or variation may be derived. Of course 
it is not contended that there is any relation- 
ship between the bearers of this surname. 
They have in all cases come by it by chance 
and there is no more connection between them, 
beyond similarity of the name, than if one 
had fallen into the name of Baker, and the 
other had taken that of Butcher. This may be 
said of nearly all occupational names. They 
were assumed in an entirely independent and 
arbitrary manner, and there is consequently no 
sense whatever in such phrases, common 
among those who try their hand at genealogv. 
as "the Smith family" or the "Tanner family," 
and so on. The German Seegers were of good 
social standing in the old country, and many 
of them had the right to bear arms. 

(I) Louis Seeger, M.D,, the ancestor in Ger- 
many of the Seeger family in America here 
dealt with, was a practising physician in his 
own country, but died early in life in the village 
of Feldrennach on the borders of the Schwarz- 



wald, or Black Forest. Among his children 
was John, mentioned below. 

(II) John, son of Louis Seeger, M.D., was 
born in the kingdom of Wurtemberg, Ger- 
many, in the year 1835, and died at Newburgh, 
Orange county, New York, in 1888. He was 
a cabinetmaker by trade, and he was a member 
of a sharpshooter corps in Germany before 
coming to the United States. He came to 
America in the year i860, and he was engaged 
at his trade in Goshen, and later at Newburgh, 
Orange county. New York, where he became a 
stair builder for Charles Volckmer. In reli- 
gious faith he was a Lutheran. He married 
Louise Hammer, who was born at Laufen, on 
the Neckar, in the kingdom of Wurtemberg, 
Germany. Children: Albert H. F., mentioned 
below, and several daughters. 

(III) Albert H. F., son of John and Louise 
(Hammer) Seeger, was born at Stuttgart, in 
the kingdom of Wurtemberg, Germany, Feb 
ruary 20, 1859. He came to the United States 
in April, 1861, at the age of two years, with 
his mother, his father having come over from 
Germany six months previously. Young See- 
ger and his mother made the trip from Bremen 
to Baltimore, Maryland, in a sailing vessel 
The ship encountered calm weather, and the 
trip occupied seventy-two days. For some 
time Mrs. Seeger and one of her daughters, 
Catherine M. Seeger, made their home at No. 
247 First street, Newburgh, Orange county. 
New York, where Albert H. F. Seeger also 
at one time resided. 

The Seeger family first resided in Goshen, 
Orange county, New York, but came to New- 
burgh in 1867. Young Seeger saw the founda- 
tion of the third ward grammar school (now 
the South Street school) laid, living near the 
site of the building, which he saw erected, and 
where he afterwards attended school, starting 
the first day the school was opened. After his 
graduation from there he attended the New- 
burgh Academy, from which he was graduated 
in 1875. The same year he entered the law 
office of Colonel William D. Dickey in the 
Stern Building at Water and Third streets, 
in Newburgh. He was clerk for Colonel 
Dickey until 1886, and was admitted to the 
bar. May 14, 1880. In 1886 he entered into 
partnership with the- late L. W. Y. McCrosk- 
ery, a son of former Mayor John J. S. Mc- 
Croskery. This partnership continued two 
years, and after that Mr. Seeger and the late 



584 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



i-'rank H. Cassedy became partners in the prac- 
tice of the law, the partnership continuing for 
six months. Since that time Judge Seeger has 
practiced alone. One of Judge Seeger's stu- 
dents was Henry Kohl, a prominent and suc- 
cessful lawyer of Newburgh, later its corpora- 
tion counsel. Another was Addison C. Orms- 
bee, a graduate of Cornell University, who 
after leaving Judge Seeger's office entered into 
partnership with Mr. Kohl. They practiced 
law for some years together, and then Mr. 
Ormsbee went to New York, where he prac- 
ticed until his death in 1908. Another student 
of his was Edward J. Collins, formerly of Port 
Jervis, who is a successful practicing lawyer 
in Newburgh. Still another was Peter Can- 
tine, a rising lawyer of the city of Newburgh, 
and at present its recorder. 

During these years Judge Seeger did not 
make speciahies, but engaged in all branches 
of the law, both civil and criminal. He has 
been counsel for a number of towns in Orange 
county, also for Newburgh City and Town 
Home and the Board of Education of the same 
city. Judge Seeger was admitted to practice 
in the district court of the United States and 
the United States circuit court in 1886. He 
has been engaged in the trial of many impor- 
tant cases. In 1886 he tried the case of Town- 
send versus George in the United States cir- 
cuit court in New York City. This was stub- 
bornly contested and he was successful in re- 
covering some mining leases on the Townsend 
farm, in the town of Cornwall. In 1888 the 
failure of the firm of John R. Willsie & Son 
occurred in Newburgh. John M. Pollock, of 
the firm, had been a schoolmate of Judge 
Seeger, and appealed to him for assistance, 
and Judge Seeger defended him. Although 
Pollock was at first convicted and sentenced to 
five years' imprisonment in Sing Sing prison. 
Judge Seeger took an appeal and succeeded in 
securing a reversal of judgment and the dis- 
missal of several indictments against Pollock. 
Since that time Judge Seeger has had numer- 
ous important cases. One of his most cele- 
brated cases was that of Quackenbush versus 
the Hon. William P. Richardson, who was 
formerly state senator from the district of 
Newburgh. This was an action to recover for 
alleged malicious prosecution. The plaintiflF, 
who was a debtor of the defendant, on account 
of the illness of his wife, left the state with 
her, the impression following that he had ab- 



sconded. Senator Richardson, who was a resi- 
dent of the town of Goshen, subsequently had 
Quackenbush arrested. Judge Seeger, who up 
to that time had not held any public office, se- 
cured the release of Quackenbush, and then 
had what proved to be a clear case against 
Senator Richardson. He conducted the case 
to a speedy finish and secured a judgment for 
his client against the senator for a considerable 
amount, in fact for the largest sum ever real- 
ized in a similar case in that county up to that 
time. 

Judge Seeger has always been a Republican. 
He has held elective office but twice, having 
been chosen district attorney to succeed A. V. 
N. Powelson, in 1903, he having been Mr. 
Powelson's assistant for seven years previously 
by appointment. While the number of con- 
victions secured by District Attorney Seeger 
was large, he takes pride in the fact that he 
has never procured the conviction of an inno- 
cent person. As district attorney he gave such 
satisfaction that he was elected county judge 
in 1900 by a large majority for a term of six 
years. He is making a fine record in the posi- 
tion. 

Judge Seeger is a member of Hudson River 
Lodge, No. 607, Free and Accepted Masons 
("raised" in 1895) ; also of Highland Chapter, 
No. 52, Royal Arch Masons, and of Hudson 
River Commandery, No. 35, Knights Templar, 
and Mecca Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is a member 
of Bismarck Lodge, No. 420, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows (of which his father 
was a charter member, besides being a 
D.D.G.M. of that Odd Fellows district), 
and a member Newburgh Lodge, No. 247, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 
Among the other organizations in which Judge 
Seeger holds membership is the Republican 
Club of the City of New York, the Newburgh 
Mannerchor, the Newburgh Turn Verein, the 
Newburgh City Club, the Newburgh Wheel- 
men, the Newburgh Canoe and Boating Asso- 
ciation, the Ringgold Hose Company, the New 
burgh Volunteer Firemen's Association and 
Brookside Grange, Patrons of Husbandry. 
Judge Seeger is one of the most genial and 
approachable of men. He is affable and plea- 
sant to everybody. He is not only learned in 
the law and successful, but he is a man among 
men, whom it is a delight to know and one 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



585 



whom his fellow citizens are likely to honor 
to an extent still greater than they have al- 
ready done. 

He married," in Newburgh, Orange county, 
New York, in 1884, May E. Riker, of New- 
burgh, a former resident of Chester, where she 
was born. They have one son, John Albert, 
who has been studying law with his father. 

The original name of the Ryker (Riker) 
family was Rycken. In the first crusade in 
the Holy Land Hans Von Rycken, Lord of 
the Manor of Rycken in Saxony, was accre- 
dited the honor of being the first to establish 
a perfunctory form of emancipation. His 
coat-of-arms was a shield, horns, stars and 
roses. As the family name was changed to 
De Ryck, the insignia was changed to a heap 
of bears. In 1329 Louis the Fifth, Emperor 
of Germany, presented the family with a new 
coat-of-arms, bearing crossed spears and a 
fish. Jacob Simonez de Rycke, grandfather of 
Abraham de Rycke, is accredited with being 
the head of the family in America. Passing 
on down to 1614, we find four brothers of 
the de Ryckes in New Netherlands : Abraham, 
Geysbert, Rynier, and Hendrick, bringing with 
them much wealth and honor. Abraham de 
Rycke was the progenitor of the family in 
America ; and they assumed the name of Riker 
and were the first owners of Ricker's Island. 
His son, Abraham, married Elizabeth Conkhn ; 
their issue being John, Sophia, Abraham, Mar- 
garet, Mathias, Gerardus, Maria, James, 
Henry, Peter, Samuel, Tunis. Tunis was born 
August 10, 1770. He married Ellen Moore. 
He was commissioned as major in the United 
States militia under James Madison, and 
served as such in the war of the United States 
and Great Britain at Mexico in the years 1812 
and 1813. At the close of that war he was 
honorably discharged, then retiring with a life 
pension of three hundred dollars annually. 
The issue of his marriage was Abraham. 
Thomas, Samuel, Anthony, Perry, James, 
Maria, Jane, Eliza, all of Spencer, New York! 
where he died in 1863. His son, Abraham, 
married Ellen Sackett and their issue was 
Jane,_ Wesley, Ellen, Eliza, Jackson. Wesley 
married Hannah Ackly, and their issue was 
Catharine, Robert, Augustus, Wheeler and 
May E., mentioned above, who married Tudee 
Albert H. F. Seeger. 



Allan Ainsworth was 
AINSWORTH born in Denton, Lan- 
cashire, England, in 1841. 
The Ainsworth family undoubtedly takes its 
name from the chapelry Ainsworth (i. e., 
Aynes or Haynes enclosure) commonly called 
Cockey Moor, situated in the parish of Mid- 
dleton, Salford hundred, in the county pala- 
tine of Lancaster, England. So long ago as 
1639 ^•i-'v John Ainsworth was of that ilk and 
owned lands there, but "Bayne's Directory" 
for 1825 gave no one of the name as an in- 
habitant; there were then no Ainsworths or 
Ainsworth, The place was always small, and 
the census of 1881 states its population as only 
1,729 and its area as 1,309 acres. Burke's 
"General Armory" gives four coats-of-arms as 
those of Lancashire Ainsworths that are prob- 
ably ancient, two of these differ only as to 
their tincture (i. e., colors). The description 
given by Burke in the technical language of 
heraldry is as follows: i. Gules, three battle 
axes argent ; Crest — two battle axes in saltire 
proper. Motto — Courage Sans Peitr. 2. 
Azure, three spades argent, another within a 
border. Crest — two battle axes in saltire 
proper. 3. Azure, on a bend sable three cres- 
cents of the first. 4. Sable, on a bend argent 
three crescents of the field. In view of the 
later American history of the family, these 
coals-of-arms are not inappropriate ; spades 
are emblematic of the agricultural occupation 
of the great majority of the individuals repre- 
senting the name, the battle axes symbolizing 
their aptness and devotion to military service. 
Every war here has seen the name of Ains- 
worth repeated on its muster rolls, and the 
number who died in the French and Indian 
war and in the revolutionary war seems out of 
proportion to the number who have borne the 
name. The motto, "Fearless Courage," has 
evidently been sustained by the family in 
America. 

Allan Ainsworth received a common school 
education in Denton, and afterward learned 
the manufacturing of hats as a trade. He was 
a very young man when he came to this coun- 
try and established himself in Yonkers, later 
in Newburgh, and subsequently in Matteawan, 
New York, continuing the hat manufacturing 
trade. He married Delia Carey, in New 
York City, about 1870; Delia Carey was born 
in New York City, about 1850. There were 
six children to this union : Lena, Arthur, 



586 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Edith, Ida, Walter F. and Harry. They be- 
longed to the Episcopal church. 

Walter Francis, fifth child of Allan and 
Delia Ainsworth, was born July 31, 1878, in 
Newburgh, Orange county, New York. He 
went to public school and later to high school 
in ]Matteawan. After graduating he entered 
De Garmo Institute, and subsequently Spen- 
cer's Business College, Newburgh, from 
which he was graduated in 1895. He 
was employed by the West Shore Rail- 
road Company at Newburgh as a clerk 
for three years ; later he was transferred 
to the superintendent's office, where he 
remained about one year; after that he was 
employed by the New York, New Haven & 
Hartford Railroad Company at Fishkill, 
where he remained for one year. After that 
he entered in the coal business for himself for 
four years at Fishkill Landing. He sold out 
his business and accepted a position with the 
Matteawan Savings Bank as assistant treas- 
urer for two years, when he came to New 
York and re-entered in the coal business with 
Whitney & Kemmerer, and finally entered the 
firm of W. A. Marshell & Co. as secretary, 
and was also secretary and treasurer of the 
Lincoln Coal Company and the Maple Ridge 
Coal Company. Mr. Ainsworth is owner and 
operator of the Belmont Ouemahoning Coal 
Company. He is founding a settlement at 
Acosta, Pennsylvania, near one of his proper- 
ties. Mr. Ainsworth lives in New York City. 

He married Beatrice Martin, in New York 
City, in 1892 ; she was the daughter of Charles 
Martin and Minnie Raynor. Mr. Martin was 
a wholesale produce merchant. 



There has been much specula- 
ODELL tion concerning this surname, 

which first appears in American 
records as borne by William Odell, who came 
to New England in the early part of the sev- 
enteenth century. Some genealogists give the 
name an English origin. According to these 
the name is said to have been variously writ- 
ten in the public records of England as Wade- 
helle, Wahulle, de Wahul, Wodhull. Wood- 
hull. Wodell, Odell, Odill and Odle. The 
parish registers of Bedfordshire, England, 
show a very extensive settlement of the family 
in that county and the name appears to have 
undergone many variations in spelling, such 



as Wodell, Woddell, Woodell, Woddle, Odill. 
Odell and Odle. The seat of the families 
bearing these variegated surnames was origin- 
ally the ancient castle and barony of Wahull, 
also called Wodhull, Woodhull, Woodhill, 
etc. This place is now described as Odell on 
the maps of the county, this being a later 
orthography. In the parish registers of Then- 
ford, Northamptonshire, and MoUington, Ox- 
fordshire, the common spelling of the name 
is Wodhull and Woodhull ; in MoUington 
Church, however, is a tomb to the memory of 
Mrs. Elizabeth (Merse) Woodhull, late wife 
of Richard Woodhull, of MoUington. In 
America the families of Woodhull have not 
traced any relationship, though Richard 
Woodhull. born about 1620, who is considered 
the progenitor of most of the Woodhulls in 
this country, was sometimes described on the 
public records as Richard Odell, and William 
Odell, Jr., of R3'e, New York, signed as Wil- 
liam Woodhull in 1668. 

The Q'Dells or Odells of Ireland are a well 
known Milesian family of the race of Heber. 
a branch of the family of Ring or O'Villrin. 
The surname is derived from Dall ("dall" in 
Gaelic meaning "Wind"), the christian name 
of a military commander who is the hundred 
and second on the O'Mllrin or Ring pedigree. 
It has been variously anglicised O'Dally, 
O'Dell, Odell and Dale. The family is of dis- 
tinguished ancestry, Dall, who appears to 
have been present at the battle of Clontarf 
(1014 A.D.), having been a descendant in the 
fourteenth generation of Daire Cearb a 
brother of Lughaidh, son of Olioll Flann-beag, 
king of Munster for thirty years, and great- 
grandson of the celebrated Olioll Olum, king 
of both Munsters in the third century, from 
whom were descended all the Heberian nobil- 
ity and gentry of Thomond and Desmond. 

(I) William Odell, the founder and first 
immigrant ancestor of the Odell family here 
dealt with, was born either in Britain or Ire- 
land, died in Fairfield, Connecticut, in 1676. 
He came to New England in the early part of 
the seventeenth century, and he is first traced 
at Concord, Massachusetts, where his name 
appears in the town records as early as 1639. 
He removed to Fairfield, Connecticut, about 
1644, and became the owner of a large estate. 
His name appears there in the probate records 
with the comparatively rare prefix of "Mr.," 




"W. ^. ^immcKd 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



587 



which in those early days was a distinctive 
and honorable title. His will, recorded at 
Fairfield, Connecticut, and dated June 6, 1676, 
mentions his sons William and John, his 
daughter Rebecca, who had married Thomas 
Moorehouse, his daughter-in-law, Mary 
Odell, and others. In this will he bequeathed 
lands in Concord and Fairfield and makes 
his son, John Odell, and his son-in-law, Sam- 
uel Moorehouse, his executors. William 
Odell married before coming to America, it 
is thought, but the name of his wife has re- 
mained unknown. There is no trace of Mrs. 
Odell's residence in Concord, the first book 
of the records of that town having been lost. 
In the early records of Boston, however, may 
be found "A Register of the births and burials 
in Concord for the years 1639 until the first 
month of 1644, according to Or account." In 
this register are the following entries : 
"James the sonne of William Odle was born 
the 2 of the 11 month 1639, and was buried 
4 (2) 1 64 1." "Rebecca, the daughter of Wil- 
liam Odle was borne the 17 (5) 1642." It is 
supposed that Mrs. Odell died before 1644, 
the year of her husband's removal to Fair- 
field, Connecticut, as the records of the town 
make no mention of her name, nor does Mr. 
Odell's will, made in 1676, refer to her. Chil- 
dren : William, mentioned below; James, 
born in 1639, died in 1641 ; John, married 
Abigail Walker; Rebecca, married Thomas 
Moorehouse. 

(II) William (2), eldest son of William 
(i) Odell, was born about 1634, died about 
1700 at Rye, New York. In 1659 he pur- 
chased land in Fairfield from Thomas Moore- 
house, and in 1668, when he appears to have 
been residing at Rye, he signed a petition as 
"William \^'oodhull."' such a name appearing 
on the record and considered to have been 
signed by him. In 1681 he owned about four 
hundred acres in Fairfield, and in 1684 he 
gave a deed of land in Rye, New York, to his 
son Samuel. There is also a record of his 
giving a deed of land to his eldest son, John 
Odell, in 1693. He married a daughter of 
Richard Vowles, Esq.,' of Rye, New York, 
who was of Fairfield, in 1650, and was a Free- 
man in 1662. Children: i. John, mentioned 
below. 2. Samuel, who lived at Rye, New 
York, and in 1700, gave Abraham Smith a 
deed of land which formerly belonged to his 
father. 3. Jonathan, who was of White Plains 



in 1697 and signed the oath of allegiance to 
King William. 4. Sarah, married, in 1686, 
John Archer, Esq., lord of the manor of Ford- 
ham, New York, and had issue. 5. Hackahal, 
who is mentioned in Rye town records as wit- 
nessing Robert Bloomer's deed. 6. Isaac, lived 
at Eastchester, New York, and gave to Misses 
Hoit a deed of land in Eastchester. 7. 
Stephen, who is said to have removed to 
Dutchess county, New York. 8. Michael, who 
is said to have married one Bussing. 

(III) John, eldest son of William (2) and 

(Vowles) Odell, was probably born at 

Fairfield, Connecticut, died at Fordham, New 
York. There is a record of his signing as a 
witness in 1683, and in 1706 he sold to George 
Knififen, of Rye, New York, his interest in 
the undivided lands "below the marked trees 
which belong to the eighteenth," being a thirty- 
sixth part of the land which belonged to his 
deceased father, William Odell. He married 
Joanna Turner, who in 1688 was mentioned 
as Hannah, wife of John Odle, in an account 
of the attempt of Nicholas Bayard to take pos- 
session of the Dutch church of New York. 
Lawrence Turner was the founder of this 
family in Westchester county; his estate was 
administered by his widow Martha and her 
children in 1688. Children: i. Johannes, 
mentioned below. 2. Michael, of whom no 
trace has been found beyond the mention of 
his name as an executor of the will of Johan- 
nes Odell, of Fordham, New York, in which 
instrument he is called by the testator "My 
brother, Michael Odell." 

(IV) Joannes, eldest son of John and 
Joanna (Turner) Odell, was born probably at 
Rye, New York, and died about 1738. He 
lived at Fordham Manor, New York. His 
will in New York City dated September 25, 
1735. and proved July 27, 1738, mentions his 
"honored father" John Odell, and appoints 
his wife, his brother Michael, and his son John 
as executors. He married Joanna, daughter 
of Joannes and Altien (Waldron) Vermelje 
(Vermilye) of Harlem. Joannes Vermelje 
was in 1670 magistrate and in 1689 member of 
the committee of safety and of Leisler's coun- 
cil. Isaac Vermeille, the founder of the fam- 
ily in this country, was the son of Jean and 
Marie (Roubley) Vermeille, who were among 
the Walloon refugees in London in the latter 
part of the sixteenth century. Children of 
Mr. and Mrs. Odell: i. John, married Anne, 



588 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



daughter of Benjamin and Mary Benson, of 
Harlem. 2. Isaac, married Lena Devaux and 
had three sons : Isaac, who served in the revo- 
lutionary war; John, Jonathan. 3. Abraham, 
born April 22, 1725, died 1819; married Re- 
becca, daughter of Joseph and Jannetje (Kier- 
sen) Dyckman. 4. Jonathan, mentioned be- 
low. 5. Hannah. 6. Altien. 

(V) Jonathan, son of Joannes and Joanna 
(Vermilye) Odell, was born December 26, 
1730, died September 23, 1818, at Tarrytown, 
New York, being buried in Sleepy Hollow 
cemetery in that neighborhood. He lived at 
Tarrytown, New York, and owned a large 
estate in Westchester county. New York. He 
served in the revolutionary war and was im- 
prisoned by the British for loyalty to the 
American cause. His will is dated May 29, 
1812, and mentions his sons and daughters. 
He married Margaret, daughter of Jacob and 
Jannetie (Kiersen) Dyckman. She was born 
in 1736, died March 20, 1783, granddaughter 
of Jan Dyckman, the founder of the family, 
who came from Bentheim, Westphalia, and 
was a landholder in Harlem as early as 1666. 
Children: i. Jacob, born February 26, 1752, 
died October 15, 1798; married Hannah, 
daughter of Jasper and Auly Stymus, of 
Greenburg, New York. 2. Lieutenant John, 
born October 25, 1756, died October 26, 1835 ; 
was an officer in Colonel Morris Graham's 
regiment and mounted guide to the American 
army during the war of the revolution ; mar- 
ried Hannah, daughter of John and Ann Mac- 
Chain, of Cortlandt, Westchester county, 
New York. 3. Abraham, born January 4, 
1760, died February 26, 1820; married Anne, 
daughter of Cornells and Rachel (Horton) 
Mandeville, of Cortlandt Manor, New York : 
he served in the American army in Colonel 
Van Bergen's regiment during the war of the 
revolution. 4. William, mentioned below. 

( VT) William, youngest son of Jonathan and 
Margaret (Dyckman) Odell, was born in New 
York, December 18, 1762, died at Kendall, 
Orleans county. New York, February 14, 
1856. He served in Colonel Van Bergen's 
regiment during the war of the revolution and 
later held a colonel's commission in a West- 
chester county regiment. In 1812 he was 
named in his father's will with a bequest of 
an estate called the Homestead. He was for 
some years proprietor of the Bull's Head 
Tavern. In 1835 he settled at Kendall, 



Orleans county, New York, buying a tract of 
land for the purpose of improving it. He 
married Johanna, born December 30, 1769, 
daughter of Daniel S. and Rebecca (Brown) 
Willsea, of Greenburg. Children: i. Isaac, 
mentioned below. 2. Abram, who settled in 
Little Britain, near New Windsor, Orange 
county. New York. 

(VII) Isaac, eldest son of William and 
Johanna (Willsea) Odell, was born in New 
York City, about 1799, died at Newburgh 
Orange county, New York. He went with his 
father to Orleans county, New York 
and afterwards settled in Little Britain, near 
New Windsor, Orange county. New York, 
where they settled on the De Witt Clinton 
farm. He married Mary Ann Barker, born 
in Westchester county, New York, died in 
New York City at the age of eighty-one. 
Children: i. Benjamin, mentioned below. 2. 
Caleb, born at New Windsor, Orange county, 
New York, June 28, 1827, died on Thanks- 
giving Day, 1 88 1. 

(VIII) Benjamin, eldest son of Isaac and 
Mary Ann (Barker) Odell, was born at New 
Windsor, Orange county. New York, Septem- 
ber 10, 1825, in the same house in which 
Governor Clinton was born. He attended 
school as a boy, and at the age of fifteen 
was bound out to Abram Weller of the 
town of Montgomery, as a farm hand. He 
remained with Mr. Weller three years, and in 
the meantime attended school part of the time 
at the Clineman school house, near Walden. 
Mr. Odell went to Newburgh in 1843 and en- 
tered the employ of Benjamin W. Van Nort, 
with whom he remained four years, when he 
began business for himself. In 1863 he bought 
from J. R. Dickson the Muchattoes Lake ice 
property. In 1886 he organized the Muchat- 
toes Lake Ice Company, of which he is still 
president. He was a trustee of the former 
village of Newburgh and has been an alder- 
man in the third ward of Newburgh and a 
supervisor of New Windsor. He was sheriff 
of Orange county in 1880-83, and has served 
six terms of two years each as mayor of New- 
burgh. He has always faithfully fulfilled 
every trust reposed in him. He is a staunch 
Republican, and has been ever since the open- 
ing of the rebellion in 1861. He has always 
been a farseeing and capable politician. As 
regards religion Mr. Odell belongs to the 
American Reformed church, of which he is 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



589 



an elder. He married, in 1850, Ophelia, 
daughter of Hiram Bookstaver, of Newburgh, 
New York. Children: i. Benjamin B., men- 
tioned below. 2. Hiram B., mentioned below. 
3. George C. D. 4. Clara. 5. Ophelia. 

(IX) Benjamin B., eldest son of Benjamin 
and Ophelia (Bookstaver) Odell, was born at 
Newburgh, Orange county, New York, Janu- 
ary 14, 1854. He was educated in the public 
schools of Newburgh and at Bethany College, 
West Virginia. From 1873 to 1875 he was a 
student at Columbia College. He engaged for 
a number of years in banking, electric light- 
ing and other commercial enterprises in New- 
burgh with his father. He was a member of 
the Republican State committee from 1884 to 
1900, and chairman of the Republican state 
executive committee from 1898 to 1900. He 
was a member of congress from the seven- 
teenth district of New York from 1895 to 
1899, but declined renomination. He earned 
considerable distinction as governor of New 
York from 1901 to 1905. He married (first) 
in 1877, Estelle Crist, who died in 1888; (sec- 
ond) in 1891, Mrs. Linda (Crist) Traphagen, 
widow of Mr. Traphagen, and sister of the 
first Mrs. Odell. 

(IX) Hiram B., second son of Benjamin 
and Ophelia (Bookstaver) Odell, was born in 
Newburgh, Orange county. New York, Au- 
gust 21, 1856. He was educated in the public 
schools of his native city. Soon after leaving 
school in 1871 he began work with his father 
in the ice business, the elder Odell being presi- 
dent of the Muchattoes Lake Ice Company. 
He has remained in that business and has long 
been an officer in the company. In 18S0 he 
was appointed under sheriff in charge of the 
Goshen court house and jail by his father, who 
had been elected sheriff of Orange county the 
previous November. He served in that office 
during a term of three years and his work 
gave general satisfaction. On March 7, 1893, 
Mr. Odell was elected alderman in the New- 
burgh common council to represent the third 
ward. He served in that office one term of 
two years and declined re-election. The next 
office held by Mr. Odell was that of postmas- 
ter of Newburgh, in which he served his third 
term of four years. He was first appointed 
in March, 1900, by President McKinley and 
was reappointed by President Roosevelt in 
1904 and again in 1908. Mr. Odell, it is said 
locally, has made an admirable postmas- 



ter and there have been many improve- 
ments made in the postal system of the 
city since he began to hold the position. 
He has been connected with the fire 
department for seven years, and was secre- 
tary of the Ringgold Hose Company sev- 
eral years. He was a charter member of Com- 
pany E, Seventeenth Battalion (now the 
Tenth Separate Company) in 1878. He was 
appointed first corporal by Captain Joseph M. 
Dickey, and took rank as second lieutenant, 
February 8, 1884, and as first lieutenant, May 
22, 1885. He served seven years in the Na- 
tional Guard, and left the company August 10, 
1886. He married, in April, 1886, Edith, 
daughter of James Ashley and Catherine 
Booth, of Wilbur, a suburb of Kingston, 
Ulster county, New York. Children: Mil- 
dred, Edith, Hiram B., Jr. 



(VIII) Caleb Odell, second son 
ODELL of Isaac (q. v.) and Mary Ann 
(Barker) Odell, was born at New 
Windsor, Orange county. New York, June 28, 
1827, and died on Thanksgiving Day in 1881, 
at Newburg, Orange county, New York. He 
attended the district schools in the vicinity of 
New Windsor and later in life settled in New- 
burg, where, with his brother, Benjamin B. 
Odell, he conducted a restaurant. Later he 
was proprietor of the old Van Ort House, 
one of the leading hotels of that day. He 
managed the Van Ort Hotel for a number of 
years, and when it was torn down he engaged 
again in the restaurant business, though he did 
not continue very long in this second venture. 
He was a very genial man and his jovial 
character and conversation had much to do 
with his success in his catering business. Gay 
as he was he retained a firm belief in the value 
of practical religion and was a regular at- 
tendant with his family at the Old Dutch 
church. He married, June 25, 1849, J^"^' 
daughter of Joseph and Ann (Dunning) Cas- 
telline (see Castelline VI). Children: Mary 
Ann, who married William Ernest; George 
W. ; Ophelia, who died in infancy ; Caleb ; Wil- 
liam; Adelaide, who married William Corn- 
wall; Katherine, who married H. E. Limmer; 
Laura V., mentioned below ; Harriet E., who 
married (first) Clarence Whitehill, and (sec- 
ond) Dr. J. L. Rathburn ; and Cora, who died 
in infancy. 



590 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



(IX J Laura V., daughter of Caleb and Jane 
(.Castellmej Odell, was born in Newburg, 
Orange county, New York. She married, No- 
vember 2^, 1898, Samuel L. Carhsle, who was 
born at Newburg, Orange county. New York, 
June 30, 1832, and died at Newburgh, Novem- 
ber 9, 191 1. Beginning hfe in Newburgh in 
obscurity, he died one of the most honored 
citizens of the district, having been a represen- 
tative in tlie state legislature, where he served 
un important committees during the term of 
1884-5. Mr. Carlisle's early education was 
secured in public schools and while attending 
school he was employed as a newsboy by 
Stephen Hoyt. After leaving school he started 
a brush factory and later went to New York 
City to learn the dry goods business, but left 
It to enter the service of the Singer Sewing 
Machine Company, at their works in Brook- 
lyn, New York. He entered the establish- 
ment as an office boy, worked through the sev- 
eral grades to that of buyer, and then became 
a stockholder and director, holding a position 
on the board of directors at the time of his 
death. 

After becoming associated with the Singer 
Company in an official capacity Mr. Carlisle 
organized in Brooklyn what was for years 
known the country round as the "Carlisle Bat- 
tery," an organization used exclusively for 
political purposes. After Mr. Carlisle went to 
Newburg to live a retired life in 1881, the 
battery was reorganized and is now known as 
the "Francis William Battery." In 1884 when 
the Blaine and Logan campaign was on Mr. 
Carlisle entered the political field locally, and 
one of the largest demonstrations ever given 
in the district was brought about at his sug- 
gestion and with his assistance. This was the 
occasion of visits from clubs representing all 
river cities and towns. The closing years of 
Mr. Carlisle's life were somewhat over- 
shadowed by illness. He was a member of 
Newburg Lodge, No. 308, Free and Accepted 
Masons, and of Hudson River Commandery, 
No. 35, Knights Templar. Mr. Samuel Lud- 
low Carlisle, by his first marriage, had one son, 
William, who died in December, 1910. Wil- 
liam married Anna P. Daly, of Brooklyn, and 
had three children : Avrill, who has been pri- 
vate tutor to a son of Mr. William Randolph 
Hearst, the newspaper proprietor ; SamueJ Car- 
lisle, who is with the Remington Typewriter 
Company, and Emilie. who married Martin C. 



Stewart, professor of German at Union 
College. 

(The Castelline Line.) 
The name Castelline is manifestly Latin in 
origin, and particularly French. In America 
it has appeared in various forms, the chief be- 
ing the ordinary and probably correct form of 
Castelline, and the still prevalent form of Cas- 
terline, which is simply an anglicised form of 
the other. The tradition is that the family 
arrived on the coast of New Jersey from 
France at an early period in the seventeenth 
century. The name Castelline has reference 
to some castle or stronghold apparently con- 
nected with the original family. This was a 
very common form for French or Norman 
names to assume, surnames in France being 
usually taken from the appellation of some 
town or territory or district or feature of the 
landscape, more particularly in the case of 
families having pretensions to wealth and 
social position. 

(I) Francis Castelline or Casterline, the 
founder of the family in America bearing the 
name and its variations, was born in France, 
probably about 1672, and died at Rockaway, 
Morris county. New Jersey, December 16, 
1768, aged ninety-six. According to the tradi- 
tion handed down in the family he arrived 
in New Jersey from France and settled near 
Union or Franklin in that state, about the 
year 1690. His son Francis is said to have 
been a mere babe at the time and had to be 
carried in his mother's arms. There is no 
record as to the name of the mother. Francis 
was probably a farmer and he seems to have 
owned some land in the place where he set- 
tled, near Rockaway, Morris county, New 
Jersey. 

(II) Francis (2), son of Francis (i) Cas- 
telline, was probably born in France about 
1690. and died in 1796 at Rockaway, Morris 
county. New Jersey, at the age of one hundred 
and six. He married three times and had 
twenty-six children. The records as far as 
known give : Abraham, Amariah, Jacob, 
Stephen. Benjamin. Samuel, Francis, Phebe, 
James, and Joseph, mentioned below. 

(III) Joseph, son of Francis (2) Castelline, 
was born at Rockaway, Morris county. New 
Jersey, June 10, 1736, and died at the same 
place April t8, 1832. He lived at Rockaway 
and was a farmer. He married (first) Mav 
16, 1772, Susannah Lyon, by whom he had 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



591 



eleven children; and he married (second) 
Penniah Searing, March 24, 1799; by this 
marriage he had ten children. Children: 1. 
Daniel, mentioned below. 2. Sarah. 3. Susan, 
who married Stephen Freeman. 4. Hannah, 
who married (first) one Tompkins, (second) 
one Harris. 5. Phebe. 6. Huldah. 7. Simeon, 
who died March 14, 1888, married (first) Re- 
becca Duly, of Minkey, (second) Eveline 
Atno of Succasunna, and (third) Susan 
Sharf of Madison, born September 25, 1799, 
died April i, 1879. 8. Jane, died July 7, 1875 ; 
married (first) Hiram Henry Baxter, August 
2, 1822, and had two children, one of whom 
died young, and the other, William Henry, 
born June 10, 1825, died in California; mar 
ried (second) a Mr. Harrison of Caldwell. 
Penniah Searing, the second wife of Joseph 
Castelline, was the daughter of William and 
Penniah { Burnett ) Searing, the seventh 
daughter of a seventh daughter, and was pos- 
sessed, according to the belief of some, of 
great healing powers by the "laying on of 
hands." 

(IV) Daniel, son of Joseph and Susannah 
(Lyon) Castelline, was born at Rockaway, 
Morris county. New Jersey, in 1774. He mar- 
ried a lady whose first name was Elizabeth, 
but whose maiden surname remains unknown. 
They had several children, but the records 
contain the name of only one of them. There 
is no means of surmising the probable date 
of the death of Daniel or his wife, or of any 
special incidents in their lives. 

(V) Joseph, son of Daniel and Elizabeth 
Castelline, was born in Rockaway, Morris 
county, New Jersey, May 26, 1798, and died 
at Dover, November 26, 1852, being buried 
in Berkshire Valley. He settled in Orange 
county, New York, and married Ann Dunning. 
One of their children was Jane, mentioned 
below. 

(VI) Jane, daughter of Joseph and Ann 
(Dunning) Castelline, was born November 
19, 1827, and died February 11, 1903, at New- 
burg, Orange county, New York. She mar- 
ried, June 25, 1849, Caleb Odell. son of Isaac 
and Mary Ann (Barker) Odell, (see Odell 
VIII). 



It is claimed that the surname 

HOPPER Hopper is of French origin and 

was originally spelled Hoppe. 

There are in America three distinct Hopper 



families. One is of Irish descent, another 
came from the county of Durham, England, 
and the third, by far the most numerous, is 
of Dutch ancestry. The immigrant ancestor 
of the Holland Hoppers was Andries Hopper, 
and the New Jersey and New York Hoppers 
are descended from him. Members of the 
family have represented their districts in the 
legislature, others have worn the judicial 
ermine with dignity and respectability, still 
others have held from time to time county and 
township offices, and some have become fam- 
ous as physicians, clergymen, lawyers, mayors 
of cities, publicists, mechanics, sailors, soldiers 
and agriculturists. 

(I) Andries Hopper came from Amster- 
dam, Holland, in 1652, accompanied by his 
wife and two or three children, and settled in 
New Amsterdam (now New York City). In 
1657 he was granted the privileges of a small 
burgher. He acquired considerable property 
but did not live long to enjoy it, as he died in 
1659. He had entered into an agreement with 
one Jacob Stol to purchase the Bronx lands, 
but owing to the death of both, the trans- 
action was not completed. The maiden name 
of his wife was Giertie Hendricks, and she 
bore him several children. Those born in 
America were: i. William, 1654; 2. Hendrick, 
mentioned below. 3. Matthew Adolphus. 
(N. B. The Hoppers of Saddle River, Ridge- 
wood and Midland townships, Bergen county, 
are all descended from these brothers.) In 
1660 Andries Hopper's widow married (sec- 
ond) Dirck Gerritsen Van Tricht, thereby 
securing to each of her three children the sum 
of two hundred guilders. 

(II) Hendrick, second son of Andries and 
Giertie (Hendricks) Hopper, was born in New 
Amsterdam, New Netherland, in 1656, re- 
moved to Bergen, East Jersey, with his 
parents in 1680, and was married, March 14, 
1680, in the Dutch church in New Nether- 
lands, to Maria Johns Van Barkum (or 
Maria Jans, as the name is written in the mar- 
riage record). They removed to Hackensack, 
North Bergen, in 1687. Children: i. Andrew, 
born 1681 ; married, July, 1707, Abigail Ack- 
erman and had three daughters. 2. Johannes, 
born 1682; married, July, 1707, Rachel Ter- 
hune. 3. William, born 1684. 4. Catherine, 
1685. 5. Garret, mentioned below. 6. Ger- 
trude, 1699. 7. Lea. 

(III) Garret, fourth son of Hendrick and 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Maria (Jans Van Barkum) Hopper, was bap- 
tized December 25, 1696, in Hackensack, New 
Jersey, and was an elder of the church there 
in 1748 and 1758. He married (first) about 
1725, Catherine Kejoyne, who left one son, 
Jacob G., mentioned below. He married 
(second) in Hackensack, October 31, 1741, 
Hendrickjen Terhuen, both described as resi- 
dents of Paramus. A careful search of the 
church records of New York, Hackensack, 
Schraalenburg and Tappan, discovers record 
of only two children of this marriage, namely > 
Andries, baptized November 19, 1742, and 
Lidea, August 5, 1744, at Hackensack. There 
were undoubtedly several others, not recorded 
in any of the records just mentioned. 

(IV) Jacob Garretson, only son of Garret 
and Catherine (Kejoyne) Hopper, was born 
in 1727, on his father's farm near Saddle 
River, and died in 1815. He married, at 
Hackensack, September 22, 1750, Cornelia 
Ackerman. The following children are men- 
tioned in his will: Catrina, Cornelius, Garret, 
Elizabeth. Henry and John J. Four of these 
are recorded as baptized in Hackensack. It 
is presumable that his eldest son, Jacob, left 
home in early life and so was not named in 
the will. 

(V) Jacob, son of Jacob Garretson Hopper, 
born about 1768, resided in New York City, 
where his children were born. He married, 
in 1795, Lydia Manwaring, born March 31, 
1768, daughter of John and Lydia (Plumb) 
Manwaring. of New London, Connecticut. 
Their children, born in New York, were : Ja- 
cob Mulford, March 7, 1797; James Manwar- 
ing, mentioned below ; Lydia Ann, June 4, 
1804; Daniel Manwaring, March 10, 1807. 
Lydia Plumb was born June 10, 1732, and was 
married at New London, February 4, 1762, 
to John Manwaring. She was descended from 
John Plumb, of county Essex, England (see 
Plumb VIII). 

(VI) James Manwaring, second son of 
Jacob and Lydia (Manwaring) Hopper, was 
born March 26, 1798, in New York, where 
he resided. He superintended the loading and 
unloading of ships along the North river docks 
in New York City. He was a member of the 
Dutch Reformed church, and lived to see the 
organization of the Republican party, which 
he supported to the time of his death. He 
married. September 5. 1820, Mary Faulkner. 
a native of New York City, and they had 



children : Jacob Manwaring, born July 24, 
1822, died May 17, 1890; George Faulkner, 
April 26, 1824; Mary Faulkner, January 25, 
1826; Eliza Parker, May 17, 1828; James 
Alexander, mentioned below. 

(VII) James Alexander, third son of James 
M. and Mary (Faulkner) Hopper, was born 
July 17, 1831, in New York City, and died 
December 11, 1900, in San Francisco, Cali- 
fornia. He became a brass turner, locksmith 
and gunsmith, and was highly skilled as a 
mechanic. In 1855-56 he was engaged on the 
famous "'Hobb's Lock," which was sent to 
London in 1856 and successfully competed in 
the great World's Fair. His employers were 
Day & Newell, who finally secured a number 
of contracts. Following this Mr. Hopper and 
his family sailed from Boston. Massachusetts, 
in 1859, to Honolulu, via Cape Horn, the 
voyage taking one hundred and fourteen days, 
where he established a brass and machine 
foundry and began manufacturing whaling 
guns and general ship work. After the loss 
of the Arctic fleet he turned his attention to 
the production of sugar and rice milling ma- 
chinery and was very successful in that line of 
industry. He invested in rice fields and plan- 
tations, and by his thrift and energy built up 
a successful business as a rice merchant. In 
political principles he was a Republican. He 
married, October 4, 1853, in New York City, 
Ellen Lewers, born April 12. 1832, in New 
York, died August 5. 1910. in San Francisco. 
Children: i. William Lewers. mentioned be- 
low. 2. Mary Jane, born August 9, 1859. mar- 
ried Elisha Wells Peterson and had children : 
Margaret Lewers. James Hopper. Dorothy 
Faulkner. Ernest Wells and Lewers Clark. 

3. Margaret Lewers, born December 19, 1861, 
in Honolulu, resides in Honolulu ; unmarried. 

4. Ellen Reaney. born February 3. 1873, in 
Honolulu : married Willard Elias Brown and 
had children: Willard Everett and Winifred 
Lewers. 

(VIII) William Lewers, eldest child of 
James A. and Ellen (Lewers) Hopper, was 
born February 20, 1856, at his parents' resi- 
dence on Elizabeth street. New York City, 
and was a small child when his parents located 
in Honolulu. There he continued under the 
instruction of public tutors until i86q, when 
he entered in the Oahu College at Honolulu 
and remained until 1871. Following this he 
was a student in grammar school number 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



593 



thirty-five of New York City, and passed a 
successful examination in 1872 for entry in 
the College of the City of New York. He 
then pursued a course in Bryant, Stratton & 
Clark's Business College, of Brooklyn, grad- 
uating April 18, 1873, receiving a diploma as 
an accountant. Upon leaving school he went 
to Honolulu and was employed in his father's 
business as a clerk of the machine shop and 
foundry. He was admitted into partnership 
with his father in the rice business, and con- 
tinued actively engaged in this business until 
1907, when it was discontinued. He is now 
president of the James Alexander Hopper Es- 
tate, Limited, and is chiefly engaged in the 
care of his properties. Politically, he has al- 
ways been a Republican, but has never sought 
any connection with public afifairs. He is a 
member of the Hawaiian Sugar Planters' As- 
sociation. 

He married, September 14, 1882, in Os- 
borne, Osborne county, Kansas, May Temple- 
ton, born September 16, 1862, in West Middle- 
ton, Washington county, Pennsylvania. Chil- 
dren : I. Elizabeth Templeton, born Decem- 
ber 25, 1883, graduated at Washington (D. 
C.) Seminary in May, 1904. 2. Katherine 
Matthews, October 6, 1886, graduated at Oahu 
College, Honolulu ; became the wife of Chester 
Gilbert Livingston and is the mother of one 
child, William Hopper. 3. Mary Ellen, April 
24. 1888, died two weeks old. 4^ Alice Lewers, 
June 20, 1890. 

(The Plumb Line.) 

The origin of the surname Plumb (Plume, 
Plumbe and its other variations) is unknown, 
but it was in use in England among the earliest 
family names. The American family of Plumb 
is descended from the English family of 
county Essex. There are numerous coats-of- 
arms of this family, but that to which the 
Essex branch has claim is described: Ermine 
a bend vaire or and gules cottised vert. Crest: 
Out of a ducal coronet or a plume of ostrich 
feathers argent. The name of Robertus 
Plumme appears in the Great Roll of Nor- 
mandy, in A. D. 1 180; also Robert Plome. 
John Plume was in Hertfordshire in 1240, 
and in 1274 the surname is found in Somerset- 
shire, Cambridge and Norfolk. One branch 
of the Connecticut Plumbs traces its ancestry 
direct to John Plumb, or Plume, of Toppes- 
field, county Essex, England, born about 1505 ; 



of this line, John Plumb, of Wethersfield, 
was the immigrant and progenitor of a widely 
dispersed hne. 

(I) John Plumb, of Terling, county Essex, 
was born about 15 10, and was doubtless closely 
related to the other John. He married Johana 

, and he was buried January 25, 1548-49. 

Children : Elizabeth ; Jane, baptized February 
23. 1538-39; Margaret, baptized May 18, 1540; 
Philip, May 4, 1542; Johana, May 22, 1543; 
Thomasin, April 4, 1545; George, mentioned 
below. 

(H) George, son of John Plumb, was bap- 
tized at Terling, April 23, 1547; was buried 
there October 11, 1586, aged thirty-nine years, 
five months and eighteen days. The names of 
his children are not known, but there is good 
reason to believe that he and his sons lived at 
Inworth, the register of which is lost. 

(IV) George Plumb (or Plume), grandson, 
it appears to be proved, of George Plumb, 
was born about 1607. His will, dated July 
25, 1667, bequeathing to wife Grace and sons 
John and Timothy, was proved July 18, 1670, 
and shows that he was father of Timothy, of 
Hartford and Wethersfield, and of John, men- 
tioned below. He had a second wife Sarah, 
who proved the will. George was buried in 
June, 1670, at Inworth, Essex, England, 
where he lived. 

(V) John (2), son of George Plumb, was 
born in Essex, England, in 1634, and died 
about 1696. He deposed at Hartford, Con- 
necticut, July II, 1666, that he was about 
thirty-two years old. He lived many years 
at Hartford, but moved to New London, 
Connecticut ; was constable there in 1680 and 
also inn-holder there. His wife joined the 
church in 1691. He was a shipowner and 
master and owned the ketch "Hartford." His 
wife was fined for selling liquor to the 
Indians. He was a bearer of dispatches from 
New London to the governor at Hartford, 
in January, 1675-76, in King Philip's war, and 
was afterward granted land for service in this 
war. He was given power of attorney, when 
he was of Hartford, to collect debts at Charles- 
town, Massachusetts, for creditors in England, 
and was named a son of George Plumb, of 
Inworth, Essex. He married Elizabeth 
Green. Children : John, mentioned below ; 
Samuel, born about 1670; Joseph, about 1671 ; 
Green, about 1673; Mercy, 1677; George, 
1679: Sarah, 1682. 



594 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



(VI) John (3), eldest son of John (2) and 
Elizabeth (Green) Plumb, was born about 
1666, and resided in New London, where he 
died in the latter part of the year 1732, his 
will being proved December 4, of that year. 
With his wife he joined the New London 
church in 1693, was judge of the county 
court in 1710-12, and had long been probate 
judge at the time of his death. He married, 
December 13, 1689, Elizabeth Hempstead, 
who died in September, 1733. Children: Eliza- 
beth, born February 27, 1691 ; John, Novembei 
21, 1692; Abigail, January i, 1695; Joshua, 
August 3, 1697; Sarah, December 22, 1699; 
Peter, mentioned below ; Lydia, April 24, 
1703 ; Hannah, July 10, 1705 ; Daniel, June 
12, 1708; Patience, March 4, 1710; Elisha, 
March 10, 1712. 

(VH) Peter, third son of John (3) and 
Elizabeth (Hempstead) Plumb, was born De- 
cember 26, 1701, in New London, and there 
resided, where the inventory of his estate wa? 
made, February 21, 1749. In 1732 he was 
associated with others in forming a stock com- 
pany to engage in trade by sea. He married, 
about 1729, Hannah Morgan, born December 
17, 1706, daughter of Captain John (2) and 
Ruth (Shapley) Morgan, of New London 
(see Morgan IV). Children: Lucretia ; Ly- 
dia, mentioned below ; Peter, born about 1733- 
34; Green, about 1735-36. 

(VIII) Lydia, second daughter of Peter 
and Hannah (Morgan) Plumb, became the 
wife of John Manwaring. Their daughter, 
Lydia, married Jacob Hopper (see Hopper 
V). 

(The Morgan Line.) 

(I) James Morgan, immigrant ancestor, 
was born in Wales, probably at Llandaff, 
Glamorgan county, but the family appears to 
have removed to Bristol, England, before 
1636. The name of his father is unknown. 
but there is some traditionary evidence that it 
was William. In March, 1636, he and two 
younger brothers, John and Miles, sailed from 
Bristol and arrived in Boston, Massachusetts, 
in April. John Morgan, who appears to have 
been a High churchman, soon left Boston for 
the more congenial society of Virginia. Miles 
Morgan settled in Springfield. James Mor- 
gan settled at Roxbury before 1640 and lived 
there for ten years or more. He was admitted 
a freeman May 10, 1643. Early in 1650 he 



was granted land at Pequot, later called New 
London, Connecticut, and soon occupied by 
him as a homestead, on the path to New street 
(now Ashcraft street), near the present third 
burial ground in the western suburbs of the 
present city. He continued to occupy this 
homestead on the path to New street, or Cape 
Ann Lane (as it was called, in honor of the 
Cape Ann Company, who chiefly settled there) 
until about March, 1657. He sold his home- 
stead, however, in December, 1656, and re- 
moved with others across the river to sites 
granted them in the present town of GroTon. 
That town and Ledyard, set off in 1836, hav: 
been the places of residence of his descendants 
to the present time. He was a large owner 
and dealer in land and distinguished in public 
enterprises ; he was often employed by the 
public in land surveys, establishing highways, 
determining boundaries, adjusting civil diffi- 
culties as a magistrate, and ecclesiastical diffi- 
culties as a good neighbor and Christian. He 
was one of the townsmen, or selectmen, of 
New London, and one of the first deputies to 
the general court at Hartford (May, 1657) and 
was nine times afterward elected a deputy. 
In 1661 he was one of a committee to seat 
the meeting house, a difficult task, because the 
seating determined the social standing of all 
the people. The spot where he built his house 
in Groton in 1657 and ever afterward resided, 
and where he died, is a few rods southeast 
of the Elijah S. Morgan house, three miles 
from the Groton ferry, on the road to Po- 
quonoc bridge, and this homestead has de- 
scended down to the present generation by in- 
heritance. He died in 1685, aged seventy-eight 
years, and his estate was soon after divided 
among his four surviving children. 

He married, August 6, 1640, Margery Hill, 
of Roxbury. Children, born in Roxbury, ex- 
cept perhaps the youngest: i. Hannah, born 
May 18, 1642; married, November 20, 1660, 
Henehiam Royce. 2. James, March 3, 1644; 
married, in November, 1666, Mary Vine. 3. 
John, mentioned below. 4. Joseph, Novem- 
iaer 29, 1646. 5. Abraham. September 3, 1648. 
died August, 1649. 6. Daughter, November 
17, 1650, died young. 

(II) Captain John Morgan, son of James 
Morgan, was born March 30, 1645. He was 
a prominent man and served as Indian com- 
missioner or advisor. He was deputy to the 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



59S 



general court from New London in 1689-90, 
and from Preston in 1693-94. He removed 
to Preston about 1692. His will was dated 
August 23, 171 1, proved February 12, 1712. 
The probate of the will was appealed from, 
as he made no mention of his son Joseph, who 
appeared as a party in the proceedings. He 
married (first) November 16, 1665, Rachel, 
daughter of John Dymond. He married (sec- 
ond) Elizabeth (Jones) Williams, widow, 
daughter of Lieutenant Governor William 
Jones, of New Haven, and granddaughter of 
Governor Theophilus Eaton. Children of 
first wife : John, mentioned below ; Samuel, 
born September 9, 1669; Isaac, October 24, 
1670; Hannah, January 8, 1674; Mercy, May, 
1675; Sarah, April 13, 1678; James, about 
1680. Children of second wife: Elizabeth, 
born about 1690, died young; William, 1693; 
Rachel, baptized April 19, 1697 ; Audrea, bap- 
tized same day ; Margery, baptized July 9, 
1699 ; Joseph, April 27, 1701 ; Theophilus. 
May 16, 1703; Mary, married John Norton. 

(HI) Captain John (2) Morgan, eldest son 
of Captain John (i) and Rachel (Dymond) 
Morgan, was born June 10, 1667, in Groton, 
and died about the age of seventy-nine years, 
between May 30, 1744, and March i, 1746, 
the respective dates of making and proving his 
will. He was lieutenant of the first train band 
or militia company of Groton, being commis- 
sioned April 30, 1692, at the same time that 
his uncle, James Morgan, was made captain of 
the company. The nephew succeeded the lat- 
ter, October 8, 1714, as captain, and continued 
in that office until October 12, 1730. He left 
a large estate in both real and personal prop- 
erty. The latter was bequeathed to his daugh- 
ters, while the lands descended to his only 
son. He married Ruth, daughter of Benjamin 
and Mary (Rickett) Shapley, of Groton, whom 
he survived. Children: Ruth, born August 
29, 1697; Mary, December 18, 1698; John, 
January 4. 1700; Sarah, February 24, 1702; 
Experience, March 24, 1704; Hannah, men- 
tioned below; Rachel, July 5, 1709; Martha, 
December 12, 171 1; Elizabeth, June 12, 1713; 
Jemima, May 5, 1715. 

(IV) Hannah, fifth daughter of Captain 
John (2) and Ruth (Shapley) Morgan, was 
born December 17, 1706, in Groton, and he 
came the wife of Peter Plumb, of that town 
(see Plumb VII). 



This family is one of the old- 
DOLSON est in Manhattan, coming to 
New Amsterdam from Holland 
before 1648. Riker's History gives space to 
the family and has something to say of the 
Dutch town in Holland of similar name where 
the family came from. 

By chance Captain Dolson, progenitor of 
the family in America, came from Workum 
on the coast of Friesland instead of direct 
from the home town in Holland. At New 
Amsterdam, in 1667, he built the first vessel 
of size put upon the stocks here; it was ,a 
merchant yacht for Captain Thomas Bradley. 
Captain Dolson married the daughter of 
Teunis Kray (Grey), who returned to New 
Amsterdam in 1658. where he had already 
lived for several years. Teunis Kray went 
over to bring back his family, and in 1660, 
at New Amsterdam, his daughter, Gerritee. 
and Captain Dolson were married. They 
lived in New .'Xmsterdam until the Dutch lost 
New York, and then for a time in New Eng- 
land where their daughter Gerritee was born, 
later returning to New Amsterdam and the 
adjoining town of New Harlem. Their chil- 
dren, omitting the first two who died young, 
were: Teunis, born 1664, married, in 1696, 
Sarah Vermilie ; Gerritee, born 1667, married, 
in 1685, Jans Kiersen ; Annetie, born 1669, 
married, in 1690, Johannas Waldron ; Peter, 
born 1671 ; Tryntie, born 1674, married John 
Meyer; Jacob, born 1679; Lyabet, born 1682; 
Jannetie, born 1685. 

In 1670 Captain Dolson sold his residence 
to Resolved Waldron, but subsequently owned 
another and appears among the feofholders, 
1681-83, having his home here and sailing an 
open boat out of New York. It is recorded 
in the council's minutes of January 28, 1684. 
that he desired some land at Harlem, where 
he formerly had owned land. It was agreed 
by those of Harlem to give him a piece of 
ground for him and his heirs provided he 
would not sell it. but for want of heirs it 
should relapse to the township. After this he 
and his son-in-law, Jans Kiersen, got a lease 
of the Great Maize Land, an Indian clearing 
not far from Fort Washington, on March 30, 
1686. These lands were laid out and allotted 
in 1691, and Kiersen on July 2, 1694, bought 
for 1,000 guilders in money the lots Nos. 16 
and 18 from Thomas Tourneur as purchased 
by him from Holmes and Waldron, the 



596 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



original drawers. In March, 1696, Kiersen 
obtained the signature of every inhabitant of 
the town to a paper granting him a half mor- 
gen of land from the common woods, lying 
at the southeast hook of the land that Samuel 
Waldron has drawn out of the common woods, 
which half morgen of land he (Kiersen) may 
build upon, thereon setting a house, barn and 
garden, for which he promises to let lie a 
morgen of land upon the northeast hook of 
the aforesaid lot, leaving a suitable road or 
King's way between his house and the lot of 
Samuel Waldron. Kiersen built his house, 
and on March 7, 1700, the town officer gave 
him a deed. Here Kiersen and his wife, who 
was Gerritee Dolson, lived. This was the 
first settlement on the now well known Jumel 
Homestead and believed to be the first spot 
permanently occupied on these heights. 

In 1690 Johannes Waldron. son of Resolved 
Waldron, married Annetie, daughter of Cap- 
tain Dolson. To begin housekeeping he bought 
from his brother, Samuel Waldron, the new 
house the latter had just completed west of 
the road. This modest home was just north 
of One Hundred and Thirty-third Street. 
Johannes Waldron added to this property by 
purchasing more ground, from the town, run- 
ning back to the Hills. From this fact he and 
his wife became known, as they prospered, 
as the Waldrons of the Hill, and in 1748 sold 
all their lands to their son Samuel for £400. 
Samuel Waldron's daughter, Angel, the wife 
of Samuel Myer, sold the farm in July, 1776, 
to John De Lancey for £1,720. He was a 
grandson of the great Huguenot merchant 
who built and occupied the old building known 
as Fraunce's Tavern at the corner of Pearl 
and Broad streets. This property passed into 
the hands of Archibald Watts in 1826, and has 
become well known as the Watts- Pickney es- 
tate. Thus it will be seen that two of Captain 
Dolson's children were the original residen- 
tees on two estates destined to become of the 
best known of the old estates of New York. 

As proof of the high esteem that his fellow 
citizens had for Captain Dolson it is interest- 
ing to note that Lubbert Gerritsen who de- 
parted this life on November 21, 1673, and 
who had held several public offices in the 
town, being chosen adelborst in 1663, and serv- 
ing as overseer the year before he died, chose 
Captain Dolson as guardian of his children's 
inheritance. 



Captain Dolson appears in the tax list of 
February 14, 1682, and in 1683 he with Jo- 
hannes Vermilye and Jan Dyckman and others 
paid a total of 608 guilders for the estate of 
the deceased Thomas Hedding. 

Captain Dolson's son Teunis received the 
appointment of constable, September 29 1697. 
He is credited with being the first male child 
born in this city (New York) after it was 
ceded to the English by the Dutch. He mar- 
ried Sarah \'ermilye, daughter of Captain 
John Vermilye, in New Amsterdam (New 
York) in 1696 and later lived in W'estchester 
county and advancing to different localities 
up the Hudson river, finally locating in and 
about Goshen, New York, where is established 
the town of Dolsontown. He resided here 
until his death, August 30, 1766, at the age of 
one hundred and two years. The Dolsons of 
Orange county, New York, are his descend- 
ants. 

Some of his children were baptized at 
Poughkeepsie and others at Fishkill. The 
first house at Dolsontown was a log house 
loopholed for musketry and this was followed 
by a stone house which was used as a forti- 
fication as well as the block house when the 
Indians were troublesome and during the 
French and Indian war of 1756. Near this 
fortification the Indians had had an apple or- 
chard, one of the very old trees of which was 
still standing in 1846. At times travel between 
Goshen, Dolsontown and Napanoch was only 
possible under an escort of soldiers on account 
of the lurking savages. 

Teunis Dolson had several children among 
whom were: i. Johannas, who married Eliza- 
beth Buys; children: Maria, born 1731 : Joh- 
annis, born 1735; Isaac, born 1739; Abraham, 
born 1741 ; Samuel, born 1744: Peter, Sally, 
Betsey. 2. Jacob, married Maria Buys, Janu- 
ary 12, 1734, having children: Teunis. born 
r)ctober 6. 1735; Johannas. born May 15. 
1737: Isaac, born May 27, 1739; Aeltie. born 
April 28, 1745. 3. Abraham, married 
Marytje Slot, having children : Jannetje, born 
1739; Margaret, born 1740; Abraham, born 
1741 : Aeltje. born 1743: Marytje. born 1745. 
4. Isaac, married Polly Hussey, having chil- 
dren : James, married Phoebe Meeker : Isaac, 
said to have never married. James, son of 
Isaac, was living in 1846, aged eighty-two 
years. 

Of Jacob Dolson's sons. Teunis and John, 



SOU'JJJERN NEW YORK 



597 



we are now chiefly interested ; they lived in 
and about the vicinity of Newburg-Ivlarlboro, 
where they signed the revolutionary pledge 
in 1767. They and their children served in 
the American army during the revolution. 
Teunis Dolson, after the war was over, took 
up lot No. 118, three hundred and ninety acres 
in town of Chemung-Big Hats, 1788, his son 
John accompanying him. This John also 
served in the revolution and also in the war 
of 1812. He was born in 1752, married, in 
181 1, and lived at Big Hats, moving in 1837- 
38 to Battle Creek, Michigan, and in 1913 his 
daughter, a Mrs. Andrews, still resides in Des 
Moines, Iowa, aged eighty-four years ; she 
says her father, John Dolson, son of Teunir 
Dolson, died at age of eighty-six years ; that 
there were nine children by his last wife, in- 
cluding herself, and that her mother died in 
November, 1849. 

John Dolson, born 1737, brother of Teunis, 
born 1735, and uncle of the younger John, 
born 1752, continued after his servi,ce in the 
revolutionary army to live in the Newburg- 
Marlboro vicinity. His last wife was named 
Sarah and outlived him. His son, Teunis, born 
1783, married twice and had a total of ten 
children, one of them, James, born 1812, liv- 
ing to very old age at Tuttletown, Ulster coun- 
ty. New York; he remembered his step-grand- 
mother, Sarah Dolson. Teunis, born 178^, 
had half-brothers, Jacob, born 1791, and Wil- 
liam, born October 28, 1794. William mar- 
ried Lydia Polhemus. born June 29, 1804, died 
March 4, 1869, and buried at Haverstraw, 
New York, in the J W. Dolson plot. She 
was the daughter of Cornelius Polhemus, who 
had a brother, Josiah Webb Polhemus. Their 
children were: Hiram, born July 11, 1819; 
Sarah, born March 18, 1821 ; Anna, born 
March 22, 1823; Dorcas; born May 13, 1825; 
Josiah W., born July 27, 1827, died January 
21, 1890; Catherine M., born February 13, 
1830; Margaret, born June 30, 1832; Charles 
M., born September 23, 184^. Sarah, who 
was named after her grandmother, remem- 
bered her very well and told Josiah's sons 
many facts of interest about her grandparents. 

Josiah W. and his brother, Charles M. Dol- 
son, could not both go to the civil war and 
they arranged for the younger brother, Charles 
M., to go, Josiah W. endeavoring to support 
the families of each. Charles M. served from 
start to finish, was a prisoner in Libby Prison 



and when freed through an exchange of 
prisoners he re-enlisted at Haverstraw, New 
/ork, the Edward Pye Post Company. Josiah 
W. later paid draft money as an operation on 
his jaw made him unfit for army service, and 
supported the two families through the means 
of the brick business in which he was then 
engaged. The last brick manufacturing ven- 
ture of Josiah W. Dolson was at Haverstraw, 
New York, about 1890, in partnership with 
his brother-in-law, Hon. Samuel Carlisle, of 
Newburg, New York. To get their brick to 
New York they built what was at that time the 
largest brick barge sailing on the Hudson 
river, a boat capable of carrying about 300,000 
bricks as one load. This boat was named 
"Josiah W. Dolson"' and is still in service. 

Josiah W. Dolson married several times, hii 
first wife being Phoebe Ann Loveless, born 
May 7, 1832 ; they were married December 5, 
1849; she died May 27, 1856. Their children 
were: Cornelius, born July 7, 1850, died De- 
cember 4, 1853; Josiah W., born December 
7, 1851, died September 6, 1859; Samuel Car- 
lisle, born September 28, 1853, still living in 
1913; Frederick B., born May 8, 1856, died 
August 8, 1856; Lucy C, twin of Frederick 
B., died October 13, 1856. Mr. Dolson mar- 
ried (second) Jane Constant, born October 
31, 1821, died November 25, 1867. He mar- 
ried (third) Cornelia M. Constant, born April 
13, 1840, died February 16, 1873. Children 
by these marriages: Anthony Constant, born 
June 4, i860, died same day; Lewis Constant, 
born May 23, 1861, died April 27, 1865 ; 
Frank, born July 26, 1863, died August 10, 
1863. He married (fourth) Anna Hamilton 
Conklin, born October 17, 1845, died Novem- 
ber 9, 1895, daughter of Mannings Conklin 
and the widow of Alfred Conklin, who was 
also her second cousin. She was the mother 
of two children by her first husband, namely 
Abram J., born January 31, 1865, living at 
the present time, and Alfreta, born June 10, 
1868, died July i, 1903. On July 19. 1874, 
she married Josiah W. Dolson, and their chil- 
dren are : Josiah W., Florence Jones, William 
Hamilton, Esther Phoebe Carlisle, all born 
at Haverstraw, New York. These children are 
all living at the present time and reside in 
New York City with the exception of Florence 
J., who is married to Walter Rauscher and 
resides in Bloomfield, New Jersey. William 
H. Dolson is the founder of the Rockland 



59^ 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



County Society and Josiah W. is at present 
the secretary of that organization. 

This is a Dutch name con- 
SIMONSON forming to the usual custom 

of adding "son" to the bap- 
tismal name of the father for a surname. It 
was of French origin, and begins with one 
who fled from persecution in France to Fries- 
land in Holland. His son, Simon La Blau 
(also written Blan and Blant), was born about 
1590 in Friesland, and went to Amsterdam, 
where he settled and married. 

(I) Willem, son of Simon La Blau, born 
in 1632, in Amsterdam, was the ancestor of 
a very large progeny, now scattered ovei 
America. He was entered on the passenger 
list of the ship "Fox," Captain Jacob Jans 
Huys, master, which sailed from Amsterdam, 
August 31, 1662, and lived in and about New 
Amsterdam, finally settling on Staten Island. 
He first wrote his name William Simon's son, 
which soon came to be written Simonson, and 
thus the name has remained in this country. 
But few records concerning him can now be 
found. He married, in 1662, Janneken Bar- 
entsen, widow of Jan Quistout, and accord- 
ing to the records of the Dutch church in New 
York died in 1664. The Dutch church record, 
of New Amsterdam show that he had a daugh- 
ter, Lysbeth, baptized June 16, 1663. Records 
furnished by the family indicate that he had 
a son, Aert, born 1664. 

(II) The records of Long Island show that 
Aert Simonson took the oath of allegiance as 
a native of Brooklyn, in 1687. Nothing fur- 
ther concerning him has been discovered. From 
the next generation forward the line seems 
to be clearly established. Aert Simonson had 
four sons : Barnt, Aert, Simon and Isaac. An 
original tract of land of one hundred and 
sixty acres was granted to Aert ( i ) Simonson 
in 1 72 1, by Queen Anne, at Carls Neck, now 
known as New Springville, Staten Island. 

(III) Isaac, son of Aert Simonson, was 
born about 1690. He appears to have had two 
wives; married (first) Antje Van Der Vliet, 
daughter of Jacob Janse and Marretje (Der- 
ickse) \'an Der Vliet, who was the mothei 
of Jeremias, baptized June 12, 1720, and Maria 
Simonson, July 8, 1722. The Dutch church 
records of New Amsterdam show that Isaac 
Simonson's wife, in 1732. was Neeltje Cortel- 
you. a granddaughter of Jacques Cortelyou. 



who came to America about 1652, died 1693. 
His son, Peter Cortelyou, born about 1664, 
died April 10, 1757, married Deborah De Witt, 
and they were tne parents of Neeltje Cortel- 
you, who became the wife of Isaac Simon- 
son. 

(IV) Isaac (2), son of Isaac (i) and Neel- 
tje (Cortelyou) Simonson, was born August 
4 1732, and baptized December 17, 1732, at 
the church in New Amsterdam. He was an 
officer of the old Dutch Reformed church, at 
Port Richmond, and in 1795 signed the call of 
the Rev. Thomas Kirby as pastor. He mar- 
ried, July 28, 1757, Elizabeth Wood. 

(V) Joseph, son of Isaac (2) and Eliza- 
beth (Wood) Simonson, was born on Staten 
Island, and purchased forty-one acres of land 
at what is now New Springville, Staten 
Island. He probably owned other lands in 
that vicinity. He married Elizabeth Winant, 
born July 29, 1774, daughter of John and 
Hannah Winant. They had children: John. 
David ; i^raham ; Joseph ; Jacob, of whom 
further ; Eliza ; Joanna, married John B. Hill- 
yer, born 1808, died 1908, aged over one hun- 
dred years, their marriage taking place in 
1829, at New Springville. Staten Island, and 
they became the parents of James Hillyer, of 
Port Richmond ; Mary ; Jemima. 

(VI) Jacob, son of Joseph and Elizabeth 
(Winant) Simonson, was born in 1798, on 
Staten Island, and settled on the original home- 
stead of his father at New Springville, where 
the records show he purchased twenty-three 
acres of land. He was supervisor of the town 
of Northfield from 1833 to 1840, again in 1849, 
and was elected sheriff of Richmond county 
in 1840. He located at New Spring\'ille, Sta- 
ten Island, where he died April 4, 1883. He 
was a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, and was a Republican in politics, aftei 
the organization of the party of that name. 
He married (first) Ann Eliza Bedell, daugh- 
ter of Israel and Lena (Crocheron) Bedell, 
and (second) Caroline Jacques. By the first 
marriage he had a son, John William, of whom 
further. By the second marriage he had chil- 
dren : Isaac Jacques, Joseph, Eliza Jane, Jacob, 
the daughter married Philip Waters, of New 
York. 

(VII) John William, son of Jacob and Ann 
E. (Bedell) Simonson, was born December 
23, 1826, died December 28, 1882, at West 
New Brighton. He became agent of the Con- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



599 



tinental Fire Insurance Company in i860, and 
soon after was made secretary of the old New 
York & Yonkers Fire Insurance Company. He 
was afterward president of the New York City 
Fire Insurance Company, which was ulti- 
mately absorbed by the Standard In- 
surance Company, of London, England. 
Following this he was resident manager 
of this concern until his death. He filled 
various offices of trust in political affairs, was 
an ardent Republican in politics, and a mem- 
ber of the Episcopal church. He married, 
January 18, 185 1, Charlotte Ann Stephens, 
born February 24, 1832, daughter of Stephen 
Dover and Elizabeth (Johnson) Stephens. The 
latter was born January 28, 181 1, daughter of 
WiUiam and Elizabeth (Latourette) Johnson. 
Stephen D. Stephens was a great-grandson of 
John Stephens, born about 1714, married 
April 2'6, 1736, Mary Harding. Their son, 
John (2) Stephens, born 1743, married, De- 
cember 8, 1763, Elizabeth DeBow. They were 
the parents of Stephen, born December 31, 
1774, married, March 5, 1803, Ann Dover, 
born Actober 17, 1781. Stephen Dover 
Stephens, their son, was the father of Char 
lotte Ann, wife of John W. Simonson, as above 
noted. They had children : Stephen Dover, 
born August 20, 1853, died unmarried, Octo- 
ber 4, 1905 ; John William, July 14, i860, died 
in his fifth year; Ann Eliza, July 20, 1862, died 
unmarried at the age of thirty-seven years ; 
Charles Edgar, of whom further. 

(VIII) Charles Edgar, youngest child of 
John William and Charlotte A. (Stephens) 
Simonson, was born July 7, 1871, in Richmond. 
He early received private tuition at West New 
Brighton and entered Trinity School, New 
Brighton, where he graduated, after which ho 
received private instruction of Rev. Dr. Al- 
fred Demarest, minister of the Dutch Re- 
formed church of Port Richmond. At the 
age of seventeen years he entered the employ 
of Miller & Simonson, who succeeded Johii 
William Simonson, in the agency of the Con- 
tinental Insurance Company. By close ap- 
plication and industry he built up a large busi ■ 
ness. and after several changes in the person 
nel, became its sole owner in 1908. Conduct- 
ing the business under the title of C. E. Simon- 
son & Company. Owing to the great increase 
of business a corporation seemed advisable 
and in 191 1 this was accomplished under the 
title of C. E. Simonson & Company, In- 



corporated. It is now the largest insurance 
brokerage and agency on Staten Island, repre- 
senting twenty-nine fire insurance companies 
and several casualty companies and having 
five offices, the home office located at 1595 
Richmond Terrace, West New Brighton. An 
extensive real estate business is conducted, and 
the concern acts as appraiser for several title 
and trust companies. In 1904 Mr. Simonson 
was elected a vestryman and treasurer of the 
Church of the Ascension (Protestant Episco- 
pal), in which position he continued several 
years. He is a trustee of the Richmond 
County Savings Bank, and a director of the 
Staten Island Building, Loan & Savings As- 
sociation, a member of the Holland Society oi 
New York, and the Staten Island Club. Poli- 
tically he is a Democrat, but has never aspired 
to or accepted any political office. 

He married, January 19, 1899, in New York 
City, May Sexton, born May 20, 1870, in 
Brooklyn, New York, daughter of William 
Libby and Mary (Ladd) Sexton. Mr. and 
Mrs. Charles E. Simonson have a son, Cortel- 
you William, born December 15, 1902, in West 
New Brighton. His early instruction was pro- 
vided by private tutors and he is now a student 
of the Staten Island Academy at St. George. 



Robert R. Livingston, 
LIVINGSTON jurist, son of Robert and 
Margaret (Howerden) 
Livingston, was born in New York City, in 
August, 1718, died at his country seat, Cler- 
mont, New York, December 9, 1775. He ac- 
quired an excellent education which thor- 
oughly prepared him for the active duties of 
life, and he devoted his attention to the prac- 
tice of law in New York City. He was a 
member of the provincial assembly. 1759-68. 
and also served in the capacity of judge of the 
admiralty court, 1760-63; justice of the co- 
lonial supreme court, 1763 ; a delegate to the 
stamp act congress of 1765 ; commissioner to 
decide upon the boundary line between New 
York and Massachusetts, 1767, and again in 
1773, and a member of the committee of one 
liundred in 1775. He married Margaret, 
daughter of Colonel Henry and Janet (Living- 
ston) Beekman. 

Robert R. (2), son of Robert R. (i) and 
Margaret (Beekman) Livingston, was born 
in New York City. November 27, 1746, died 
suddenly at Clermont, New York, February 26, 



6oo 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



1813. He was a student at King's College, 
which institution conferred upon him the de- 
grees of A.B., 1765, and A.M., 1768, after 
which he pursued the study of law under the 
preceptorship of William Smith and William 
Livingston. He was admitted to the bar in 
1773, and formed a partnership with John Jay, 
with whom he practiced in New York City, and 
upon his retirement from public life removed 
to Clermont, New York, where he engaged in 
agriculture and stock raising, being the first 
to introduce gypsum in agriculture, and also 
introduced Merino sheep west of the Hudson 
river. Being a man of scholarly attainment 
and wide influence, he was chosen for posi- 
tions of public trust and responsibility, fulfill- 
ing the duties thereof with ability and credit. 
He served as recorder of the city of New 
York by appointment of Governor Tryon, 
1773-75, but was obliged to relinquish the posi- 
tion on account of his outspoken espousal of 
the patriot cause in the latter-named year. He 
was a member of the provincial assembly in 
1775; was a delegate to the continental con- 
gress, 1775-77 and 1779-81, and was a mem- 
ber of the committee of five, comprised of 
Adams, Jefiferson, Franklin, Livingston and 
Sherman, appointed to draw up the Declara- 
tion of Independence, but was obliged to re- 
turn to his duties in the provincial assembly 
without signing the instrument. He was a 
member of the committee that drafted the 
state constitution adopted at the Kingston 
convention in 1777; he was chancellor of the 
state under the new constitution, 1785-1801, 
and in that capacity he administered the oath 
of office to President Washington, April 30, 
1789; he was secretary of foreign affairs for 
the United States, 1781-83, and was chair- 
man of the state convention at Poughkeepsie 
in 1788, to consider the adoption of the United 
States constitution. He declined the office of 
United States minister to France proffered by 
President Washington iii 1794, and in 1801 
the portfolio of the navy from President Jef- 
ferson, who also offered him the mission to 
France, which latter he accepted, resigning 
his chancellorship. While in France he formed 
a strong friendship with Napoleon Bonaparte ; 
he also made the initial movement that re- 
sulted in the purchase of Louisiana from the 
French in 1803. He resigned from the office 
of United States minister to France in 1803, 
after which he spent some time in traveling 



through Europe, and while in Paris became 
interested in the invention of the steamboat of 
Robert Fulton, whom he assisted in his en- 
terprise with his counsel and money, eventu- 
ally becoming his partner. The first steamboat, 
owned by Livingston and Fulton, was built in 
France and was launched upon the Seine, but 
was a failure, and on returning to America 
they built and launched on the Hudson an- 
other steamboat, the "Clermont," in 1807, 
which was named in honor of the Livingston 
home in New York. 

The honorary degree of LL.D. was con- 
ferred on Mr. Livingston by the regents of the 
University of the State of New York in 1792. 
He was a founder of the American Academy 
of Fine Arts in New York in 1801, and was 
its first president; was president of the New 
York Society for the Promotion of Useful 
Arts, and upon the reorganization of the New 
York Society library in 1788, he was ap- 
pointed a trustee. He published many essays 
and addresses on fine arts and agriculture. 
His statue, with that of George Clinton, form- 
ing the group of the most eminent citizens of 
New York, was placed in the capitol at Wash- 
ington by act of congress. In the selection of 
names for a place in the Hall of Fame for 
Great Americans, New York University, 
made in October, 1900, his was one of the 
thirty-seven names in "Class M, Rulers and 
Statesmen," and received only three votes, 
his votes in the class equalling those for 
Richard Henry Lee and Stephen A. Douglas, 
and exceeding those for Martin Van Buren, 
Charles Carroll, of Carrollton, John J. Crit- 
tenden and Henry Wilson. 

Mr. Livingston married Mary, daughter of 
John Stevens, of New Jersey. Children : 
Elizabeth S., married Edward P. Livingston. 
Margaret M., married Robert L. Livingston. 



This name is supposed to have 
DeBAUN been originally DeBaen, and to 

be derived from Baen, a village 
in France. In the Dutch records, the spelling- 
ings DeBaen and DeBaan are of frequent oc- 
currence. The family is undoubtedly of 
French origin, and from this it is natural to 
suppose that they were Huguenots. It is not 
at all out of accord with this that the name 
should be found in the Netherlands, especially 
on the north side of the river Rhine, in the 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



6oi 



lower Palatinate, and thence following the 
course of immigration that built up New 
Netherland and New Amsterdam. Although 
these passed into the possession of the English 
in the year 1664, this change of proprietor- 
ship did not stop the flow of immigration from 
France to Holland, Belgium and England, and 
and from these countries to America. The 
DeBauns were among the later Huguenots, 
and came to New York or its vicinity about 
1683. They may have lived before that time, 
for two generations, in Holland, and had, 
doubtless, acquired the habits and language of 
the Dutch. 

The following is a probable account of the 
descent from the immigrant to certain of the 
present Rockland county. New York, De- 
Bauns. It has a background of careful and 
extensive searching in the printed Dutch 
church records of Hackensack and Schraalen- 
burg, New Jersey; the printed baptismal rec- 
ords of Tappan and Clarkstown, in Rockland 
county, and in the manuscript copies of the 
marriage records of Tappan and Clarkstown. 
The records of Kakiat, Rockland county, 
Tarrytown, Westchester county, and Flatbush, 
Long Island, have also been consulted, but in 
these little or nothing has been found. The 
entries are mostly in the Tappan, Clarkstown, 
Hackensack, and Schraalenburg records, but 
distributed among these in a bewildering man- 
ner. Conjecture has been used only when cer- 
tain fact was not accessible. Former printed 
accounts of the family, of which there are 
several, have furnished some guidance, but the 
account given herewith supplies a number of 
deficiencies in these accounts, and casts doubt 
on some of their statements, so that we are 
confident that this is the fullest and most ac- 
curate account of the family history in the 
early generations which has yet been published. 

(I) Joost DeBaun, the founder of this fam- 
ily, is said to have been a native of Brussels, 
in Flanders (Belgium), and to have come to 
New Amsterdam in 1683. He was clerk of 
the town of Bushwick, Long Island, in 1684, 
and in 1685 was the schoolmaster and clerk of 
the town of New Utrecht, Kings county, New 
York, south of the Wallabout. The position 
of schoolmaster was, in those times and places, 
second only to that of the minister. Evidently 
he was a supporter of the policy of the lieu- 
tenant governor, Nicholson, for when the 
•democratic colonists, under the lead of Cap- 



tain Jacob Leisler, took possession of the state 
house in the name of William of Orange, and 
Captain Leisler was appointed lieutenant gov- 
ernor by the committee of safety, Joost De- 
Baun was deposed from his offices as clerk 
and schoolmaster. Afterward, having taken 
the oath of allegiance to the new rule, he was 
reinstated in these positions, and continued to 
reside at New Utrecht. He probably resided 
at that village until early in the eighteenth 
century. Early in the year 1704 he sold his 
lands and removed to Bergen county. New 
Jersey, where he joined the Kinderkamack 
settlement, near Hackensack. In November 
of that year his name appears as witness of a 
baptism in his new home. From May, 1708, 
to May, 1710, he was one of the churchmas- 
ters of Hackensack; according to the church 
records, he and the other churchmaster of the 
time (in 1708) "in this year caused the steeple 
to be built upon the Ackinsack church, which 
has here been recorded in their praise." He was 
an elder, from 1716 to 1718. Thus we have 
a fair picture of the personality of this man ; 
he was an educated man, for the time, a leader 
in the community, though hardly to be deemed 
aggressive, and strongly attached to the Dutch 
Reformed church. From him, it is natural to 
suppose, all the DeBauns of Bergen county, 
New Jersey, and of Rockland county, New 
York, are descended. His death seems to have 
occurred about 1718 or 1719. It is just possi- 
ble that he once returned to Holland after his 
settlement in America, for against the mar- 
riage record of his son Jacobus, in the Tappan 
register, is set a note that this son was born 
in Middleburg, a place in Holland. Yet the 
Dutch dominies, with all their painstaking care, 
were certainly human, and liable to make oc- 
casional mistakes ; their records are of hisrh 
value as evidence, but this statement is prob- 
ably erroneous. He married, probably in Hol- 
land, Elizabeth Drabba. Children : Matie, 
married, registered November 10, 1705, David 
Samuelse DeMaree ; Christian, baptized May 
15, 1687. died before January 21, 171 1, mar- 
ried, registered January 29, 1700, Judith Sam- 
uelse DeMaree; Meyke, baptized May 4, 1690; 
Carel, of whom further; Christina; Jacobus, 
married (date probably that of registration), 
January 12, 1709, Antje Cenneff (this is the 
spelling in the Tappan register, in the Hacken- 
sack records the name appears as Kennis ; our 
conjecture is Kenneth) ; Margarietje, married 



6o2 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



(date probably that of registration), June 22^. 
1738, Theodorus Remsen. 

(II) Carel, son of Joost and Elizabeth 
(Drabba) DeBaun, removed with his family 
to Hackensack. Perhaps, however, he lived 
for a time in Rockland county, New York, 
near Rockland Lake. The baptisms of his 
children are scattered among the three regis- 
ters, Hackensack, Schraalenburg and Tappan. 
He is named in the list of the original mem- 
bers of the church at Schraalenburg and those 
transferred from Hackensack before 1733. In 
1748 he was an elder of the Dutch Reformed 
church at Schraalenburg. His marriage is re- 
corded at Tappan, and the date, February 14, 
1714, is probably the date of registration 
rather than of the actual marriage. He mar- 
lied Jannetje Haringh, who was born at Tap- 
pan. Children : Joost, baptized February 6, 
1715; Margritie, baptized August 18, 1717; 
Petrus, baptized October 9, 1719; Elisabeth, 
baptized November 19, 1721 ; Jan, baptized 
April 5, 1724; Jacob, baptized October 9, 
T726; Isak, baptized February 14, 1729; Abra- 
ham, baptized December 12, 1731 ; Christiaen, 
of whom further ; Cornelia, baptized August 
14. 1737: Maria, baptized April 6 1740. 

(III) Christian, whose name is noted above 
as spelled in the baptismal record, son of Carel 
and Jannetje (Haringh) DeBaun, was born at 
Schraalenburg; his baptism is recorded at 
Hackensack, under date of January 26, 1735. 
He married, registered November 7, 1761, 
Rachel Helm, who was born at Paramus, Ber- 
gen county. New Jersey. Children : Jannetie, 
baptized October 19, 1762 ; Fransytie, born 
March 8, 1764; Fransytei, born January 9, 
1766: Abraham, baptized May 10, 1767, died 
young; Samuel, baptized December 18, 1768; 
Elisabet, born October 11, 1771 ; Abraham 
Christian, born August 20, 1773; Rachel, born 
May 9. 1775 ; Petrus, born May 5, 1779; Cor- 
neles, baptized November 25, 1781 ; Maria, 
born August t, 1783; Christian (2), of whom 
further. 

(IV) Christian (2), son of Christian (i) 
and Rachel (Helm) DeBaun, was born March 
22, 1787. Although his baptism is recorded in 
Bergen countv. New Jersey, he may have been 
born in Rockland county. New York, and was 
living there by the time of his marriaee, for 
in the entry of his marriage in the Tappan 
register he is said to be of Clarkstown. He 
was a farmer, and in politics followed the 



principles of the Democratic party. In re- 
ligion he adhered to the True Reformed 
church. He married (date probably being that 
of registration) December 4, 1806, Elizabeth 
llutton, of Clarkstown. Children: Cornelia; 
Sarah; Christian C, of whom further; John; 
Henry ; Mary ; Cornelius. 

(V) Christian C, son of Christian (2) and 
Elizabeth (Hutton) DeBaun, was born at 
Clarkstown, January 31, 1812. He was a 
builder and contractor. After the formation 
of the Republican party he followed its prin- 
ciples. In religion he was a member of the 
Dutch Reformed church. He married at New 
City, Rockland county, New York, Catharine 
Maria, daughter of Henry Resolvert and 
Maria (Tallman) Stephens, who was born at 
New City, March i, 181 5. Her father was a 
farmer, born January 19, 1789, died March 8, 
1868; her mother was born in 1787, died in 
October, 1868. Children of Christian C. and 
Catharine Maria (Stephens) DeBaun: Eliza- 
beth, born August 3, 1835 ; Matthew Watson, 
of whom further; John, born July 5, 1841, 
died in 1887; Henry, born July 12, 1844, 
served throughout the civil war; Margaret 
Jane, born November 18, 1846; Charles, born 
June 20, 1857. 

(VI) Matthew Watson, son of Christian C. 
and Catharine Maria (Stephens! DeBaun, 
was born at Nyack, Rockland county. New 
York, November 3, 1838. At the age of nine 
he went to live with his grandfather, Henry 
Resolvert Stephens, at New City. His school- 
ing was received at the public schools of Ny- 
ack and New City, and he then learned the 
trade of a carpenter. In 1859 he returned to 
Nyack and entered into business with his 
brother Henry, and this partnership has con- 
tinued to the present day. Under the firm 
name of Matthew Watson & Henry DeBaun 
they are builders and contractors on a large 
scale and have built up a profitable business 
and gained a high standing in the community. 
They have erected about two thousand build- 
ings of many kinds and sizes. Their place of 
business is at No. 28 Jackson avenue. Nyack. 
Matthew Watson DeBaun is one of the di- 
rectors of the Nyack Board of Trade, and is 
a trustee of the Oakland cemetery. He is a 
member of Rockland Lodge, No. 723. Free 
and Accepted Masons, and of Rockland Chap- 
ter, No. 204, Royal Arch Masons, both of 
Nyack. He is a Republican, and from 1883 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



603 



to 1887 was trustee of the village ; he has also 
been president of the school board for two 
terms, and is a trustee of the Nyack public 
schools. The family are members of the Pres- 
byterian church at Nyack, of which Mr. De- 
Baun has been a trustee for over thirty years, 
and is also an elder of the church. He mar- 
ried, at Nyack, April 23, 1862, Catharine 
Amelia, daughter of Edward and Marion 
(House) Perry, who was born at Nyack, in 
August, 1842. Her father was a captain of 
freight and passenger vessels, and navigated 
the Hudson river. Children of Edward and 
Marion (House) Perry: lona ; Catharine 
Amelia, married Matthew Watson DeBaun. 
Children of Matthew Watson and Catharine 
Amelia (Perry) DeBaun: Annie, born Feb- 
ruary 4, 1863: Ella, born October 12, 1864; 
Alice, born December 4, 1867; Florence, born 
March 11, 1875, married Rev. George John- 
son, now a professor in Lincoln University, 
Pennsylvania. 



(IV) Abraham Christian De- 
DeBAUN Baun, son of Christian (q. v.) 

and Rachel (Helm) DeBaun, 
was born August 20, 1773. He was a farmer 
at Nanuet, Rockland county. New York, and 
a member of the Dutch Reformed church. He 
married, it is said at Saddle River, Bergen 
county. New Jersey, but the marriare is re- 
corded in the register of Tappan, Rockland 
county. New York, with the date, probably 
that of registration rather than of the actual 
marriage, March 18, 1798, Anna Van Buskirk, 
of Clarkstown, Rockland county. New York. 
Children : Christian Abram, of whom fur- 
ther ; Rachel ; Christiana. 

(V) Christian Abram, son of Abraham 
Christian and Anna (Van Buskirk) DeBaun, 
was born at Nanuet, New York, about 1804. 
After the formation of the Republican party he 
adhered to its policies. He was a member of 
the Dutch Reformed church. He married 
(first) (date probably of registration) October 
i.S, 1825, Hannah, daughter of James D. and 
Hannah Blauvelt, who was born at Clarks- 
town, Rockland county. New York, June i, 
1808, died December 17, 1846; (second) Janu- 
ary I, 1850, Sally Ackerman. Children, all by 
first marriage: Abram, of whom further: 
Rachel, born December ig. 183 1. died August 
28, 1849; Christian, born December 20, 1834. 

(VI) Abram, son of Christian Abram and 



Hannah (Blauvelt) DeBaun, was born at 
Nanuet, New York, January 21, 1827, died at 
Wyandotte City, Kansas, May 21, 1857. Hav- 
ing first attended public school at Nyack, 
Rockland county, New York, he entered the 
normal college at Albany, New York, and 
from this he graduated in the class of 1848. 
Later he taught school at Haverstraw, and 
was finally made principal of the school. Also 
at Haverstraw he learned the business of mak- 
ing brick, and in 1852 he went into the busi- 
ness of brick manufacture, and also built an 
iron foundry, wherein he made the castings 
for brick forms and molds. This grew into a 
very large business, and so continued until his 
death at Wyandotte City. He was a member 
of Seguel Lodge, No. 542, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. He was a Republican, and 
one of the founders of this party, which came 
into existence only a few years before his 
death. In 1855 he was elected county clerk 
of Rockland county, and he served for one 
term, but he refused a second election. A 
member of the Presbyterian church, he was 
for many years the leader of its choir. He 
married, at Haverstraw, Jane, born at Middle- 
hope, Orange county. New York, January 15, 
1828, daughter of Levi Quimby and Lucretia 
(Purdy) Fowler. Her father was a manu- 
facturer of brick and a merchant ; he was born 
December 22, 1790, died December 13, 1853. 
Children of Levi Quimby and Lucretia 
(Purdy) Fowler: David, died in Baltimore, 
Maryland, November 10, 1873 ; Mordecai, 
born in 1821, died August 28, 1847; Denton, 
born December 6, 1825, died January 5, 1904; 
Louisa, married John W. Gilles ; Jane, born 
January 15, 1828, married Abram DeBaun, of 
whom herein : Sarah, married Uriah F. Wash- 
burn ; Charlotte, married, October 26, 1S56, 
Daniel O. Lake Children of Abram and Jane 
(Fowler) DeBaun: Ruth, married Rodney 
Winans Milburn; Abram Melville, married 
Carrie Fort, cousin of Franklin Fort, formerly 
governor of New Jersey ; Anna, married Wil- 
son Perkins Foss. 



The name Stoddard is de- 
STODDARD rived from the office of 

standard bearer, and was 
anciently written De La Standard. The coat- 
of-arms is thus heraldically described : Sable 
three estoiles and bordure gules. Crest : Out 
a ducal coronet a demi horse salient, ermine. 



6o4 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Motto: Festina lettte. William Stoddard, a 
knight, came from Normandy to England, 
1066, A. D., with William the Conqueror, who 
was his cousin. Among his possible descend- 
ants appears the name of Rukard Stoddard, 
of Nottingham, Kent, near Elthan, about 
seven miles from London Bridge, where the 
family estate of about four hundred acres was 
located. This came into possession of the 
family in 1490 and continued until the death 
of Richard Stoddard, a bachelor, in 1765. 
Other descendants are Thomas Stoddard of 
Royston ; John Stoddard of Gundon ; William 
Stoddard of Royston ; Anthony Stoddard of 
London ; Gideon Stoddard of London ; An- 
thony Stoddard of London, and William Stod- 
dard of London. The derivation of the name 
Stoddard from the phrase De La Standard 
does not seem impossible or very far fetched, 
as the name is known under a variety of 
forms, such as Stodard and Stodart. In 
Wethersfield (Connecticut) records the name 
frequently appears as Stodder, Stoder, Stod- 
ker, Studder and Stoddard. John Stoddard, 
born about 1620, was an early settler in 
Wethersfield, and was a juror in 1643. He 
figures in the court records both as plaintiff 
and defendant. He married Mary Foote, was 
a well-to-do farmer, and left an estate of four 
hundred pounds. There may have been a con- 
nection between the family of John Stoddard 
and that of Anthony Stoddard of Boston, but 
the links have not been found. 

(I) Anthony Stoddard, immigrant ancestor 
of this Stoddard family, came from England 
to Boston about 1639 He was admitted a 
freeman in 1640, a representative in 1650- 
1659-1660, and during twenty successive years 
from 1665 to 168.S. He married (first) Mary, 
daughter of the Plonorable Emmanuel Down- 
ing, of Salem, Massachusetts, and his wife 
Lucy, daughter of George Downing, and sister 
of Sir George, afterwards Lord Downing. 
The Honorable Emmanuel Downing and his 
wife were admitted to the church in Salem, 
November 4, 1638. Anthony Stoddard mar- 
ried (second) Barbara, widow of Captain Jo- 
seph Weld of Roxbury; she died April 15, 
1654. He married (third), about 165;.=;. Chris- 
tian . He died March 16, 1 686- 1687. Chil- 
dren by first marriage: Solomon, mentioned 
below; Samson, December 3, 1645; Simeon, 
1650. Children by the second marriage: 
Sarah, October 21, 1652; Stephen, January 6, 



1654. Children by the third marriage : Chris- 
tian, March 22, 1657; Anthony, June 16, 1658; 
Lydia, May 27, 1660; Joseph, December i, 
1661 ; John, April 22, 1663; Ebenezer, July i, 
1664; Dorothy, November 24, 1665; Mary, 
March 25, 1668; Jane (twin), July 29, 1669; 
and Grace (twin), July 29, 1669; all born at 
Boston. 

(H) Rev. Solomon Stoddard, eldest son of 
Anthony and Mary (Downing) Stoddard, was 
born October 4, 1643, and died February 11, 
1729. He graduated at Harvard in the year 
1662 and was afterwards elected "Fellow of 
the House," and was first librarian of the col- 
lege, which office he held from 1667 to 1674. 
About this time, on account of ill health, he 
accompanied the governor of Massachusetts to 
the Barbadoes, in the capacity of chaplain, and 
remained nearly two years, preaching to the 
dissenters. In 1669 he received a call to the 
church in Northampton and settled there as 
minister, September 11, 1672. In 1726 his 
grandson, Jonathan Edwards, was elected his 
colleague. Among his publications are the fol- 
lowing: "The Trial of Assurance," 1696; 
"The Doctrine of Instituted Churches," 1700, 
written in answer to the work of the Rev. In- 
crease Mather, entitled "The Order of the 
Gospel," which occasioned exciting contro- 
versy. Other works were "The Danger of 
Degeneracy," 1702; "Election Sermon," 1703; 
"Sermon on the Lord's Supper," 1707: "Ser- 
mon, Ordination of the Rev. Joseph Willard, 
Swampfield," 1708; "Inexcusableness of Ne- 
glecting the Worship of God," 170S; "False- 
ness of the Hopes of Many Professors." 1708; 
"An Appeal to the Learned on the Lord's Sup- 
per," 1709; "A Plea for Tithes"; "Divine 
Teachings Render Persons Blessed," 1712; "A 
Guide to Christ." 1713; three sermons: "The 
Virtue of Christ's Blood," "Natural Men Un- 
der the Government of Self Love." "The Gos- 
pel a Means of Conversion," and a fourth, "To 
Stir up Young Men and Maidens." 1717; 
"Sermon at the Ordination of Mr Thomas 
Cheney," 1718; "Treatise Concerning Conver- 
sion," 1719; "Answer to Cases of Conscience," 
1722; "Inquiry whether God is not Angry 
with this Country," 1723: and "Safety of Ap- 
pearing in Christ's Riehteousness," 1724. 
Solomon Stoddard married, March 8. 1670, 
Mrs. Esther Mather, widow of Rev. Eleazar 
Mather, and originally Esther Warham of 
Windsor, Connecticut. She died February 10, 



t^ 



<pf^ 




y^^/^^te^J ^^th^c/r/a f^ri 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



60s 



1736, aged ninety-two. Children: Mary, bom 
January 9, 1671 ; Esther, June 2, 1672; Sam- 
uel, February 5, 1674; Anthony, June 6, 1675, 
died the following day; Aaron (twin), August 
23, 1676, died the same day; Christian (twin), 
August 23, 1676; Anthony, mentioned below; 
Sarah, April i, 1680; John, February 17, 
1682; Israel, April 10, 1684; Rebecca, 1686; 
Hannah, April 21, 1688. 

(HI) Rev. Anthony (2) Stoddard, son of 
Rev. Solomon and Esther (Warham-Mather) 
Stoddard, was born August 9, 1678, and died 
September 6, 1760. He graduated at Harvard, 
1697, and settled as minister in Woodbury, 
Connecticut, where he continued sixty years. 
He married (first) Rev. Stephen Mix, offici- 
ating, October 20, 1700, Prudence Wells, of 
Wethersfield, who died May, 1714. He mar- 
ried (second) January 31, 1715, Mary Sher- 
man, who died January 12, 1720. Children 
by the first marriage: Mary, June 19, 1702; 
Solomon, October 12, 1703; Eliakim, April 3, 
1705; Elisha, mentioned below; Israel, August 
7, 1708; John, March 2, 1710; Prudence, Oc- 
tober 12, 171 1 ; Gideon, May 27, 1714. Chil- 
dren by the second marriage : Esther, Octo- 
ber II, 1716; Abijah, born February 28, 1718; 
Elizabeth, November 15, 1719; all at Wood- 
bury. 

(IV) Elisha, son of Rev. Anthony (2) and 
Prudence (Wells) Stoddard, was born at 
Woodbury, Connecticut, November 24, 1706, 
and died in 1766. He resided at Woodbury, 
where also lived his brother Eliakim, whose 
death preceded his by sixteen years. Elisha 
Stoddard married Rebecca Sherman. 

(V) Elisha (2), son of Elisha (i) and Re- 
becca (Sherman) Stoddard, was born Novem- 
ber 4. 1735, at Woodbury, Connecticut. He 
married Anna Hunt, May 29, 1760. 

(VI) Elisha (3), son of Elisha (2) and 
Anna (Hunt) Stoddard, was born May i, 
1765, and died February 8, 1833. He married 
Mary Crane, November 22, 1791. She was 
born August 7, 1767, and died September 11, 
1843. 

(VII) Phineas, son of Elisha (3) and Mary 
(Crane) Stoddard, was born July 7, 1797, and 
died in 1879. He spent his younger days in 
Massachusetts, and in early manhood went to 
Greenfield, Ulster county, New York, where 
he assisted his uncle in agricultural pursuits. 
After his marriage in 181 5 he purchased a 
farm of his own, where he followed farming 



all his life, while engaging in various other in- 
terests. He worked a good deal in the lumber 
business, buying and selling timber property 
on the land he bought while clearing it, and 
became a large land owner in Sullivan and 
Ulster counties. On his land he built first a 
log house of the old type, and later a structure 
of the modern style. He was a strong mem- 
ber of the Friends Society, and took a great 
interest in all the public movements of the 
day, though usually too busily engaged in his 
own business affairs to have an active partici- 
pation in them. Mr. Stoddard was a citizen 
greatly honored in the community in which he 
resided. Courtesy and gentleness were habit- 
ual characteristics of his deportment in the 
bosom of his family and in his dealings with 
other men in the conduct of his affairs. He 
was a man of considerable and varied ability, 
but he put the larger part of it into the energy 
he expended in building up a suitable prop- 
erty for himself and his family. He married, 
October 18, 181 5, Marilda Fair, born October 
20, 1798, and died October 30, 1848, at Green- 
field, Ulster county. New York. Children: 
I. Mary Eliza, born October 29, 1819, died 
May 29, 1839. 2. Elisha, born June 2, 1823 ; 
married, March 2, 1844, Mary Frear; chil- 
dren: i. Mary E., born July 15, 1845. ii. 
Phineas, Jr., born January 24, 1847, died in 
1882, married Gertrude E. O'Neil ; children: 
Floyd J., Nellie Marilda, Edith, Lizzie M., 
Frank P. 3. John F., born in Greenfield, New 
York, July 20, 1825 ; married, October 18, 
1865, Eliza A. Piatt; one daughter died at the 
age of seventeen. He was noted as the author 
of Stoddard's "Arithmetic." 4. Perry C, born 
October 30, 1827; a successful farmer; mar- 
ried July 15, 1850, Hannah W. Southwick; 
children: Stephen W., born October 14, 1851 ; 
Zadoc S , born February 18, 1858, married 
Dora M. Winters, one child, Mildred Nor- 
bury. 5. Henry, born March 5, 1831, died 
June 19, 1852 ; a teacher. 6. Sarah, born Oc- 
tober 26, 1835, at Greenfield, New York; mar- 
ried October 23, 1856, John F. Norbury, M. 
D., of New York City ; one child, Fannie Stod- 
dard Norbury, born May 4, 1866, died Janu- 
ary 22, 1882. 



This name is English and 
WHEELER appears to be a name of oc- 
cupation, the word being 
equivalent in meaning to wheelwright. It is 



6o6 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



curious to note that, reversing the common 
procedure, the name seems to have passed 
from England into Normandy, and the form 
which it has assumed in France is also curious 
to English eyes — Houelleur. In England, 
county Kent and Hertfordshire have been 
special abodes of Wheelers, and persons of 
this name have been numerous in London for 
the last four hundred years. The name in 
England is sometimes spelled Wheler, and in 
this way it was spelled in the early days in 
America. Kent county, England, is supposed 
to be the place of origin of many of the 
American Wheelers. The number of Ameri- 
can families of this surname was very great 
at an early day. Thirty families of the name 
of Wheeler are said to have resided at Con- 
cord, Massachusetts, between 1650 and 1680. 
Although Wheelers are found very early in 
Virginia, and the name has been handed on in 
that state, it is, in America, distinctively a 
Connecticut and Massachusetts name. His- 
torically, the best known of this name has been 
Major General Joseph Wheeler of Alabama, 
the distinguished Confederate cavalry officer, 
who was afterward a patriotic member of the 
house of representatives of the reunited coun- 
try, and finally was made an officer in the 
regular army. Yet his case does not even 
modify the statement that the name is distinct- 
ly a New England name, for he was de- 
scended from Moses Wheeler, who lived in 
the colony of New Haven in 1641 ; the family 
has continued in Connecticut, and General 
Wheeler's father was born in Connecticut. 
From about 1700 Wheelers (with various 
Dutch spellings of the name), some of them 
marrying Dutch women, and some of them 
bearing Dutch Christian names, have been 
found in Albany, New York, but they were 
also of New England descent. In the present 
family similarity of names suggests a con- 
nection with the Fairfield (Connecticut) 
Wheelers, but a very strong argument cannot 
be built on this. A Daniel Wheeler was in 
Rockland county. New York, by the year 1781. 

(I) Isaac Wheeler, the first member of this 
family about whom we have definite informa- 
tion, was a Democrat, and his religion was the 
Presbyterian. He married Sarah Remsen, 
Among their children was Aaron Remsen, of 
whom further. 

(II ) Aaron Remsen, son of Isaac and Sarah 



(Remsen) Wheeler, was born about 1820, and 
died about 1889. For many years he was a 
steamboat engineer. He long had in charge 
the "Isaac P. Smith," one of the swiftest 
steamers then plying between New York City 
and Albany. After giving up steamboat en- 
gineering he became, in 1865, chief engineer 
and master mechanic of the Hoppe sugar re- 
finery, at Hastings, Westchester county, New 
York. Here he remained for about twenty 
years; in 1885 he retired, continuing to live at 
Hastings, where he died at the age of sixty- 
nine. He was a Democrat in political belief, 
and was also active in church and Sunday 
school work, where he had a special sphere of 
service and usefulness, by reason of his mu- 
sical ability. He was a thorough musician, 
had a fine tenor voice, and for many years was 
leader of the choir of the Reformed church at 
Nyack, Rockland county, New York. His 
own denomination, however, was the Presby- 
terian. He married, in Nyack, Eliza Taylor, 
who was born at Clarkstown, Rockland county. 
New York ; she survived him several years. 
Children : Jacob Taylor ; Alonzo, of whom 
further ; William Francis ; Theodore Freling- 
huysen. 

(Ill) Alonzo, son of Aaron Remsen and 
Eliza (Taylor) Wheeler, was born at Nyack, 
April 29, 1844. He attended the public school 
at the place of his birth, and also the Ruther- 
ford Military Institute at the same place. From 
his youth he was striving to enter the legal pro- 
fession, and availed himself of every means 
to accomplish his purpose, often under most 
discouraging circumstances. For a time he 
was a student in the law office of Van Vorst 
& Beardsley, at the corner of Broadway and 
Pine street, in New York City. Afterward he 
studied at Nyack with Marcena M. Dickinson. 
He was admitted to the bar from this office 
December 16, 1868, at the general term of the 
supreme court, in Brooklyn, New York. He 
at once opened an office at Nyack, and soon 
went into partnership with his preceptor, un- 
der the firm name of Dickinson & Wheeler, at 
Nyack. This partnership was dissolved in 
1S70, and Mr. Wheeler removed to Haver- 
straw, Rockland county. New York, where he 
began practice on the second of March. Five 
years later he formed a partnership at Haver- 
straw with Irving Brown, which continued 
until 1883 ; from the latter year Mr. Wheeler 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



60; 



has practiced alone, living continuously at 
Haverstraw. He was the first president of 
the Rockland County Bar Association. When 
Stony Point was finally dedicated and set apart 
as a state reservation, and turned over by Gov- 
ernor Odell to the National Scenic and His- 
toric Preservation Society, Mr. Wheeler de- 
livered the address of welcome. He was ap- 
pointed by Governor Odell one of the com- 
mittee of fifteen "to examine into the condi- 
tion of the statutes and laws of the state," of 
which committee Alton Brooks Parker was 
chairman. He is a member of Stony Point 
Lodge, No. 313, Free and Accepted Masons, 
and in 1876, 1877 and 1901 he was master of 
this lodge, which is at Haverstraw ; he is also 
a member of Haverstraw Lodge, No. 877, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. In 
politics he is a Republican, and has been active 
in public affairs. In 1878 he was the inde- 
pendent candidate for the district attorneyship 
and was endorsed by the Republican party. 
He was elected and on the expiration of this 
term was re-elected as a strictly independent 
candidate, over the nominees of both the par- 
ties. In 1880 and 1881 he served as surrogate 
of Rockland county, by appointment of the 
general term of the supreme court. In 1896 
he was again elected district attorney, being on 
this occasion the Republican nominee ; but he 
resigned in 1898 and accepted the office of 
county judge, to which he was appointed by 
Governor Black. As district attorney he tried 
several homicide indictments, and in four- 
fifths of all criminal cases he obtained convic- 
tions. He has been one of the counsel for the 
village of Haverstraw. Judge Wheeler and 
his family are members of the Central Presby- 
terian Church at Haverstraw. For many years 
he has been a ruling elder and an active 
worker in the Sunday school. He married, at 
Grassy Point, Rockland county, New York, 
May 9, 1876, Mary Serena, daughter of Wil- 
liam Henry and Mary Elizabeth (Fredericks) 
Wiles, who was born at Haverstraw, April 8, 
1856. Her father was a manufacturer of brick 
machines and moulds. Children of William 
Henry and Mary Elizabeth (Fredericks) 
Wiles : Mary Serena, mentioned above ; John 
Jacob, Frederick J., Lydia A., Martha L., 
Frank E., Emma L. Children of Alonzo and 
Mary Serena (Wiles) Wheeler: Jeanie Suf- 
fern, Jessie Louise, Ethel May. 



Like most of the old Dutch 
TALLMAN names founded at New Am- 
sterdam and now located in 
many sections of the state, this was adopted 
some time after the location of the family in 
this country, and its origin is hidden in the 
mysteries of early days. The family is today 
conspicuous in northern New Jersey and 
southern New York, and is contributing to the 
progress and development of the nation. The 
name appears on the church records of New 
York, Hackensack and Tappan as Taelman, 
Talema, Taelma and Tallman. The last form 
has been adopted generally by recent genera- 
tions. 

(I) The first of this family of whom any 
definite knowledge can be obtained was Har- 
man Douwenszen, who was early in what is 
now New York City, and probably came with 
his children to the new world when he was 
well advanced in life. It is apparent from his 
name that his father's Christian name was 
Douwe; beyond that it is impossible at this 
time to learn anything. 

(II) Douwe Harmsen (Harmanszen, etc.), 
born about 1625, in the province of Friesland, 
Holland, came in the ship "Brown Fish," in 
June, 1658, with his wife, Dierckje Theunis, 
and four children to New Amsterdam. After 
his arrival he had baptized in New York, Jan- 
netie, February 5, 1662; Anthony, February 

8, 1665 ; Douwen, September 29, 1669. About 
167 1 he settled at Bergen, New Jersey, and at 
the same time was owner of a patent at Nyack 
in what is now Rockland county. New York. 
He died at Bergen, March 25, 1678, or May 

9, 1678, according to one authority. Another 
authority states that he was buried at Bergen, 
June 19, 1687, being the eleventh buried in 
the church and the thirty-fifth in the "Pall," 
showing that his funeral was among the most 
costly at that time. His sons, Theunis and 
Douwe, removed to Nyack after his death and 
were the progenitors of all the name in Rock- 
land and Bergen counties. They received his 
property in Bergen by will and sold it in 1705. 

(HI) Theunis Douwese Talema, son of 
Douwe and Dierckje (Theunis) Harmsen, 
may have been born about 1672 at Bergen, and 
resided at Nyack until his death, July 17, 1739. 
He was the first high sheriff of Orange county, 
which then included the present Rockland 
county. New York, serving as such until 1702, 
and owned about thirty-six hundred acres of 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



land at Nyack. He married (first), in 1694, 
Brechtje Haring, and had children: Dirck, 
born April 11, 1695; Grietje, January 13, 
1697; Dierckje, April 13, 1700; Douwe, Feb- 
ruary 13, 1703; Marytie, April 17, 1706; 
Breckje, Harman and Jan (triplets), January 
12, 1709, all baptized at Tappan. He married 
(second) January 11, 1710, Margritie Hogan- 
kamp, born in New York, and they had chil- 
dren baptized at Tappan ; Brechie, born July 6, 
171 1 ; Jannetie, August 30, 1712; Theunis, 
September 16, 1714; Harne, November 25, 
1716; Antje. 

(IV) Jan Tallman, son of Theunis Douwese 
and Brechtje (Haring) Talema, was born 
January 12, 1709, at Nyack, and resided in 
Orangetown, Orange county, New York, 
where he was a farmer, described in the rec- 
ords as a yeoman. He married, about 1735, 
Helena Blauvelt, born June 27, 1715, and bap- 
tized on the twenty-eighth of the same month, 
daughter of Garret and Marytie (Krom) 
Blauvelt. Children : Theunis, born May 22, 
1737; Gerret, November 23, 1740; Breckje, 
October 8, 1745; Jan, mentioned below. 

(V) Jan (2), youngest son of Jan (i) and 
Helena (Blauvelt) Tallman, was born Sep- 
tember 3, 1751, in Orangetown, died February 
7, 1839, at Tallman's, in the town of Ramapo, 
same county, his body being deposited in Sad- 
dle River cemetery. He resided at Greenbush, 
a small settlement near Tappan, during the 
revolutionary war, and afterward-s settled at 
what is now called Tallman's, a station on the 
Erie railroad, and by occupation was a farmer. 
During the revolutionary war he was a scout 
in the service of the American army and a 
reward of thirty-five guineas was offered by 
the British authorities for his capture. He is 
recorded as a private soldier in Captain Wil- 
liam Sickel's company, belonging to the 
Orange County Regiment, from the Haver- 
straw precinct, under the command of Colonel 
A. H. Hay. This was a portion of the New 
York state militia which was employed in ac- 
tive service during the war. He received a 
commission from Governor George Clinton, 
dated September 28, 1786, as ensign. No. 2, 
in Captain Cornelius J. Blauvelt's company of 
the corps of state militia of the precinct of 
Tappan. Jan, or John Tallman, purchased a 
farm of one hundred and fifty-seven acres, re- 
ceiving a deed March 23, 1797, at Tallman's. 
for which he paid one thousand five hundred 



and twenty-five pounds. Immediately he 
erected thereon a dwelling house, which is still 
standing. The homestead farm and house are 
now in the possession of two of his lineal de- 
scendants. James Cornell Tallman and Mrs. 
Harry Sutherland. At the time of this pur- 
chase the neighborhood was known as Masoni- 
cus. and the new name Tallman's was prob- 
ably received on his locating there. He was 
the progenitor of all bearing the name now liv- 
ing in that vicinity. He married Frinckye 
(Fanny) Mabie, born March 27, 1757, bap- 
tized April 2, of the same year, at Tappan, 
daughter of Abraham and Maria (Van Are- 
lant) Mabie, and granddaughter of Peter and 
Callyntie (Bogart) Mabie. Children: Brid- 
get, born August 9, 1778; Mary, February 13, 
1781 : John, October 16. 1783: Tunis, May 17, 
1790; Abraham J., mentioned below. 

(VI) Abraham J., youngest son of Jan (2) 
(John) and Fanny (Mabie) Tallman. was 
born July 14. 1793, at Tallman's. and died 
there June 4, 1884. He lived in the house built 
by his father, and like him was a farmer. 
September 3, 1814, he was appointed a cor- 
poral in the Fifth Company, Eighty-third 
Regiment, Twenty-Ninth IBrigade of the In- 
fantry Militia of the State of New York, un- 
der Lieutenant Colonel G. A. Blauvelt. He 
married, September 14, 1814, Maria Deronde, 
born February 18, 1794. died April 3. 1878, at 
Tallman's, daughter of Henry and Heleche 
(Van Nostrand) Deronde. Among their chil- 
dren was John Abraham, mentioned below. 

(VII) John Abraham, only son of Abraham 
J. and Maria (Deronde) Tallman. was born 
May 16, 1815, at Tallman's, and died there 
April 16, 1888. He was a farmer and drover. 
He married, December 8, 1842. Caroline Conk- 
lin, born March 26, 1824, died June 15, 1886, 
at Tallman's. daughter of WilHam and Ann 
(Wilson) Conklin. William Conklin was a 
son of William Conklin, born February 21, 
1751, who resided at Tappan, where he died 
May 19, 1825, being a tailor and farmer by 
occupation. He married, in 1773. Elizabeth 
Hunt, of Hunt's Point on Long Island, and 
they were the parents of Margaret, William, 
Mary, Ann, Abraham, John, David, Elizabeth, 
Benjamin, Rachel. William (2) Conklin, born 
August 27, 1775, was a farmer at Ramsey's, 
New Jersey, where he died October 25, 1859* 
He married. July 4. 1802', at New Prospect, 
Ann Wilson, born November 23, 1783, died 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



609 



October 12, 1870, at Ramsey's, New Jersey, 
daughter of Albert \^'ilson, born February 14, 
1755, at Woodbridge, New Jersey, and died 
November 13, 1834. His wife, Mary, died 
September 18, 1818. Ann, their fourth 
daughter, became the wife of William Conklin, 
as above noted. Children of John A. Tallman : 
John Harvey, born October 3, 1843; Abram, 
mentioned below; William Henry, February 
25, 1851; Anna Maria, February 23, 1855; 
James Cornell, March 29, i860; Caroline 
Louise, May 16, 1866. 

(VHI) Abram, second son of John Abra- 
ham and Caroline (Conklin) Tallman, was 
born May 6, 1846, at Tallman's. He resided 
at Englewood, New Jersey, where he was a 
carpenter and builder. His early life was 
spent on the paternal farm at Tallman's, and 
he attended school at Sufifern, New York. In 
1862, when sixteen years old, he taught school 
for a few months at Tallman's, his first ven- 
ture in life on his own account. In 1863 and 
1864 he was employed in a photograph gallery 
in New York City, but this work proved in- 
jurious to his health, and he returned to his 
native place and spent six months on the farm. 
Following this he was employed for two years 
in the shops of the Erie Railroad Company at 
Ramapo, where he learned the building trade. 
Afterwards he worked as a carpenter in Suf- 
fern and Middletown, New York, and Pater- 
son, New Jersey, and in 1867 settled in Engle- 
wood, New Jersey, where for many years he 
was engaged in business as a builder, con- 
structing many of the finest residences in the 
city. He has always taken an active interest 
in the welfare of Englewood and saw it grow 
from a village of about fifteen hundred peo- 
ple, when he settled there, to nearly two thou- 
sand inhabitants in 1913. From 1889 to 1893 
he was a member of the township committee, 
and was also a member of the citizen's com- 
mittee formed in 1895, to promote the move- 
ment for the incorporation of the city, and 
when this was accomplished in the following 
year he was elected a member of the first com- 
mon council, and served as chairman of that 
body from 1896 to 1898. He was regarded as 
a faithful municipal officer, who gave strict 
regard to the public interest in the perform- 
ance of his duties. Since his retirement from 
active business, several years ago, Mr. Tallman 
las devoted his attention to the development 
of his real estate interests in Englewood, being 



the owner of several acres of land, upon which 
he has erected a number of houses, and 
through which a street has been opened, which 
has been named Tallman Place by the Engle- 
wood common council in recognition of his 
services to the community. He married, Sep- 
tember 2-j, 1870, at Englewood, New Jersey, 
Maria Zabriskie, born February 26, 1849, near 
New Milford, Bergen county. New Jersey, 
daughter of William Henry and Effie (De- 
marest) Zabriskie, descended from one of the 
oldest families of Bergen county. New Jersey 
(see Zabriskie VH). Children: Abram Zab- 
riskie, born April 3, 1872 ; William, mentioned 
below; Margaretta, December 20, 1877; John, 
February i, 1885, died April 20, 1893; James 
Albert, March 19, 1892. 

(IX) William, second child of Abram and 
Maria (Zabriskie) Tallman, was born March 
3, 1875. in Englewood, New Jersey. He 
graduated from the public schools of that 
city in 1891. Following this he graduated 
from Drake's Business College of Jersey City, 
in 1892, and entering the New York Law 
School was graduated in 1897 with the de- 
gree of LL.B., being admitted to the bar 
in the same year in New York City. From 
1897 to 1902 he practiced law in New York 
City. On November 12, 1912, Mr. Tallman 
was appointed by the four judges of the 
United States district court for the southern 
district of New York in New York City, first 
deputy clerk of that court, which position he 
now holds. He is also a standing examiner in 
equity and has served as special commissioner 
in bankruptcy of that court. He is a past mas- 
ter and also historian of Tuscan Lodge. No. 
115, Free and Accepted Masons, of Engle- 
wood ; a thirty-second degree and Royal Arch 
Mason, and a member of the Mystic Shrine. 
He was one of the organizers of the City Club 
of Englewood, of which he is historian, and 
has served several times as a member of its 
executive committee. He is also a member of 
the shade tree committee of the City Club of 
Englewood and one of the organizers and sec- 
retary and treasurer of the Shade Tree Fed- 
eration of New Jersey. In this connection he 
has been active in movements leading to the 
preservation of shade trees in Englewood. 

He married, August 8, 1907, in Whitehall, 
New York, Isabelle Jean Sleight, born Janu- 
ary 3, 1876, in Dresden, Washington county. 
New York, daughter of David and Jean 



6io 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



(Stuart) Sleight. David Sleight came from 
Northumberlandshire, England, about i860, 
and was a prominent farmer of Dresden. 
(The Zabriskie Line.) 
John Sobieski, John III., king of Poland, 
1674-96, was one of the greatest warriors of 
the seventeenth century. His father, James 
Sobieski, castillion of Cracow, was a man of 
virtuous character, and in behalf of his fellow 
countrymen he developed a warlike spirit 
which secured to him the throne of Poland. 
He brought up his sons, Mark and John, born 
between 1624 and 1629, with the utmost care, 
and they completed their education by travel 
and observation in France, England, Germany 
and Italy. On the death of their father, in 
1648, they were recalled home, and after the 
defeat of the Polish army by the Russians in 
the battle of Pilawieez, the brothers Sobieski 
took up arms to restore the fortunes of their 
countrymen, and Mark fell in the battle on 
the banks of the Bog. This spurred John to 
greater valor, and he became the admiration 
of the Poles and the dread of the Tartans and 
Cossacks. He received the highest military 
rank in the army, and on November 11, 1673, 
in the great battle of Choezin, he defeated the 
Turks, who left twenty-eight thousand men 
dead and wounded on the battlefield. This led 
to his unanimous election of king of Poland, 
May 21, 1674, and he was crowned at Cracow. 
In 1683 the Turks beseiged Vienna, and King 
John HI., with twenty thousand Poles, aided 
by the German auxiliary, raised the siege by 
the victory of September 12, 1683, in which 
battle he took the banner of Mohammed and 
sent it as a trophy to the pope. His entry into 
Vienna was that of a conqueror, and the citi- 
zens of the besieged city showed every demon- 
stration of joy and thanksgiving their ingenu- 
ity could devise or their glad hearts express. 
John Sobieski was not only a warrior and 
ruler, but a lover of science and a man of 
gentle disposition and agreeable manner. His 
constant wars did not allow him, however, to 
attend to the industrial needs of the citizens at 
home, and the want of such fostering care 
hastened the downfall of Poland. He died of 
apoplexy June 17, 1696. His ancestors had 
been for two centuries Palatine nobles of Po- 
land and famous soldiers and statesmen. It 
is from such ancestors with such records ol 
military and executive greatness that the Zab- 
riskies of New Jersey and New York are de- 



scended, and the cognomen has, through the 
German, Holland and English spellings, 
evolved from Zobrieski, Saboroweski, So- 
brisco, Zabrioski to Zabriskie. 

(I) Albert Saboriski, son of a brother of 
James Sobieski, and cousin of King John III., 
of Poland, who, like his nephew, was a fa- 
mous soldier, was born in Zolkwa, Poland 
(or Enghsburg, Prussia), probably in 1638. 
He was given a liberal education, being sent 
by his father to Amsterdam, Holland, with 
the hope that he would enter the ministry, and 
he directed his studies to that end for a time, 
but the preparation proved distasteful and he 
abandoned theology; subsequently he was 
pressed into the Prussian army. To fight for 
the old enemy of Poland was far more dis- 
tasteful, and he determined to seek his for- 
tune in the new world and join his friends 
who had gone from Upper Palatinate to New- 
Amsterdam and made homes there and in New 
Jersey. He took passage in the Dutch ship 
"D'Vos" (the "Fox"), Captain Jacob Hansz 
Huys, at Amsterdam, Holland, August 31, 
1662, and landed in New Amsterdam, where 
he lived for ten or more years without set- 
tling in any one place or engaging in any set- 
tled business. We find him in Bergen (now 
Jersey City) about the time of his marriage, 
which is registered in the books of the Dutch 
Reformed church of Bergen, December 17, 
1676, and the marriage certificate recorded as 
issued January 8, 1677. He married Mach- 
telt (Matilda), daughter of Joost Van der 
Linde, whose brother, Roloff Van der Linde, 
became one of the largest land holders in Ber- 
gen. Upon his marriage he took title to a 
tract of land, patent 20, 21, 22. In 1682 he 
obtained patents from Lady Carteret of sev- 
eral adjacent tracts, thus extending his estate 
from the Hudson river on the east to the 
Hackensack river on the west. The Indians 
also bargained with him for land at Tappan, 
higher up the river, which, in 1702, he nomin- 
ally exchanged for twenty-one hundred acres 
owned by the Indians adjoining his original 
purchases, and this second purchase became 
known as the New Paramus Patent. (See 
map of Perth Amboy.) He erected a house 
at Old Ackensack (now near Ridgefield Park), 
and his eldest sons, Jacob and Jan (John), 
and probably all his children, were born there. 
He helped to organize the church on the green 
at Old Hackensack in 1696, his name appear- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



6ii 



ing on stone in present church wall, and was 
the leading member and supporter of that 
church for over twenty-five years. He was 
also the first justice of the peace of Upper 
Bergen county (his original signature appear- 
ing on deed held by Wesley Van Emburgh of 
Ridgewood, New Jersey), his commission 
having been signed by Governor Hamilton in 

1682. He died in Hackensack, and is sup- 
posed to have been buried there September 
II, 171 1, according to the record of the Luth- 
eran churches in and about New York, and 
his age is stated as between seventy-two and 
seventy-three years. His widow, born in 1656, 
died in 1725. In the record of his death his 
name is written "Albert Saboriski." 

Children of Albert and Matilda (Van der 
Linde) Saboriski, born in or near Hackensack, 
Bergen county. New Jersey: i. Jacob A., 
April 12, 1679. 2. Jan (John), born in Hack- 
ensack, about 1682; married (first) Septem- 
ber 20, 1706, Elizabeth Cloes Romeyn, of 
Gravesend, Long Island, New York, born 

1683, died in Hackensack, in 1712; he married 
(second) December 6, 1712, Marguaretta du 
Rij (Durie), and lived on the old homestead 
facing the green alongside the church in Hack- 
ensack, which he inherited, and besides being 
a farmer he was active in public affairs ; he 
had four children by his first wife and nine 
by his second. 3. Yost. 4. Christian. 5. 
Hendrick. There is a tradition in the family 
that Jacob A., eldest son of Albert, was stolen 
by the Indian sachem when seven years old and 
carried to the Indian village nearby, and that 
some time elapsed before his whereabouts be- 
came known. As his father was a true friend 
to the Indians, the sachem at last disclosed the 
secret of taking the child, and he expressed 
the wish that he be allowed to keep the boy 
until he became versed in the Indian lan- 
guage, that he might be able to maintain the 
friendship established by the father, and like 
him, act as an arbitrator and interpreter in 
any trouble that misrht come up between the 
Indians and their white neighbors. The boy 
consented and when he had returned to his 
father's home he had acquired the language, 
and his friendship for the Indians was a fixed 
principle of his life. The tradition adds that 
in consideration of allowing the boy to re- 
main, the second erant of Upper Paramus was 
secured. The fact, however, remained that 
valuable merchandise, wampum and money 



was paid the Indians by Albert Saboriski for 
the land. 

(II) Christian Zabriskie, fourth son of Al- 
bert and Machtelt or Matilda (Van der Linde) 
Saboriski, was born in Hackensack, Upper 
Bergen, New Jersey, was baptized in the 
church at Hackensack, Upper Bergen, July 3, 
1696, and died 1774. He married, May 28, 
1714, Lea Hendricksje Hoope (Hooper). He 
lived in Lower Paramus, and was received in 
the church at Hackensack, as a member, July 
13, 1723, when he appears to have spelled his 
name '"Zabbroski." He was probably a far- 
mer, as his father had large estates in New 
Jersey, which afforded the best of land for 
carrying on the business of cultivating the soil, 
and in fact the early Hollanders and Palatin- 
ates were farmers and both men and women 
were accustomed to working in the fields, and 
the women universally were the chief depen- 
dence in milking and caring for the butter and 
cheese. Children of Christian and Lea Hen- 
dricksje (Hooper) Zabriskie, born in Lower 
Paramus, New Jersey: i. Albert, baptized 
September 2, 1716; married, October 26, 1739, 
Aeltje, daughter of Abraham and Aeltje 
(VanLeer) Ackerman ; her parents removed 
from New York City to Bergen, New Jersey, 
in 1694, and settled on a large tract of land 
lying between the Hackensack and Saddle 
rivers in Bergen county. (The chart of the 
Zabriskies, prepared by Chandler Zabriskie 
gives Tjilletji Ackerman to this Albert ; but the 
record of baptism of Jacob, son of Tjilletji, 
has the father's name "Albert Hen," and not 
"Albert Christ." She must therefore have 
been the wife of Albert, son of Henry and 
Gertrude H. (Hooper) Zabriskie. 2. Hen- 
drick, baptized May 22, 1718. 3. Jacob, bap- 
tized January 22, 172 1 ; died young. 4. Jacob, 
baptized January 20, 1725 ; married, August 
7, 1747, Lena Ackerman. 5. Andries, men- 
tioned below. 

(HI) Andries (Andrew), fifth son and 
youngest child of Christian and Lea Hen- 
dricksje (Hooper) Zabriskie, was born in 
Lower Paramus. January 3, 1729, according 
to records of the Schraalenburg church. He 
was a farmer. He married, in 1750, Eliza- 
beth Ackerman, of Paramus: i. Christian A., 
born in Paramus, and baptized in the church 
there, February 24, 1751. 2. John A., men- 
tioned below. 3. Jane, January i, 1761 : mar- 
ried Corponas Bogert; children: Cornelius C. 



6l2 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Bogert, Elizabeth Bogert, who married Will- 
iam Pell and had six children. 

(IV) John A., son of Andrew and EHza- 
beth (Ackerman) Zabriskie, was born about 
1752 in Lower Paramus, and died in 1824. 
He was a farmer, residing on the west side 
of the road in what was known as the Flats, 
near New Milford, New Jersey. He married 
Christina Zabriskie, born November 5, 1752, 
died January 13, 1831. They had sons, John 
and Henry J. 

(V) Henry J., son of John and Christina 
Zabriskie, was born January 29, 1787, at the 
Flats, where he lived, engaged in farming until 
his death, January 7, 1861. He married, 
March 9, 181 1, Anna Sickels, born November 
15, 1790, died February 18, 1876, daughter of 
William N. and Elizabeth Sickels of Sickel- 
town, Rockland county. New York. They had 
sons, John H. and William Henry. 

(VI) William Henry, son of Henry J. and 
Anna (Sickels) Zabriskie, was born August 
9, 1820, at the Flats, where he lived until his 
death, December 6, 1859. He was an exten- 
sive dealer in timber and also a farmer. He 
married, November 3, 1841, at Schraalenburg, 
Effie Demarest, born September 7, 1821, a; 
Schraalenburg, died July 2, i860, at the Flats, 
daughter of Abraham J. and Rachael (Blau- 
velt) Demarest, of Schraalenburg. Children: 
Henry, Eliza, Ann, Rachel, Maria. Abraham, 
Margareta, Euphemia. 

(VII) Maria, third daughter of William 
Henry and Effie (Demarest) Zabriskie, born 
February 26, 1849, i" New Milford, became the 
wife of Abram Tallman (see Tallman VIII). 



There were numerous immigrants 
PECK of this name in the early days of 
Connecticut, and Massachusetts, 
and their progeny is now widely scattered 
throughout the nation. The first in America 
of the line traced below was a direct descend- 
ant in the twenty-first generation of John 
Peck, of Belton, Yorkshire, England. This 
family is often referred to as the "Massachu- 
setts Pecks," to distinguish it from descend- 
ants of settlers at Hartford and New Haven, 
Connecticut. They have been distinguished 
for their sound sense and keen business abil- 
ity, and are nearly always found in good finan- 
cial circumstances. 

(I) Joseph Peck was the son of Robert, 
born 1546, died 1593, and Helen (Babbs) 



Peck, of Beccles, Suffolk county, England, 
and was baptized there April 30, 1587. He 
settled in Hingham, Norfolk county, England, 
and in 1638 he and other Puritans, with his 
brother, Robert Peck, their pastor, fled from 
the persecutions of the church to this country. 
They came in the ship "Diligent," and settled 
in Hingham, Massachusetts, where Joseph 
Peck received a grant of land in 1638. He 
remained there about seven years, and was 
justice of the peace, assessor, selectman, repre- 
sentative to the general court four terms. In 
1641 he became one of the principal purchas- 
ers of that tract of land called by them 
Seekonk, afterwards incorporated as Reho- 
both, and removed there in 1645, ^^''d became 
one of its prominent men, as well as one of its 
wealthiest. He died December 23, 1663. He 
married (first) in Hingham, England, May 21, 
1617, Rebecca Clark, who died and was buried 
there, October 24, 1637. The name of his 
second wife is unknown. The marriage was 
probably in another parish, where the records 
were not preserved. The records of the town 
clerk at Hingham, Massachusetts, show that 
"Mr. Joseph Peck, his wife, three sons and 
a daughter settled there," so it is known he 
married a second time before leaving Eng- 
land. His children were : Anna, baptized in 
Hingham, England, March 12, 1618, buried 
there, July 27, 1636: Rebecca, baptized in 

Hingham, May 25, 1620, married 

Hubbert; Joseph, August 23, 1623; John, bap- 
tized about 1626; Nicholas, mentioned be- 
low : Samuel, baptized in Hingham, Massa- 
chusetts, February 3, 1639; Nathaniel, Octo- 
ber 31, 1641 ; Israel, March 4, 1644. 

(II) Nicholas, third son of Joseph Peck, 
was baptized April 9. 1630, in Hingham, Eng- 
land, and was about eight years of age when 
he came with his parents to America. He set- 
tled in the southeastern part of Seekonk, and 
there died May 27, 1710. He was often one 
of the raters, or assessors, and selectmen of 
the town. In 1669 he was elected deputy to 
the general court, and also served from 1677 
to 1690, with exception of 1687-8, when the 
town elected no representative. From 1677 to 
1684 he is called Ensign Nicholas Peck, later 
lieutenant, and finally captain. He married, 
about 1655, Mary, eldest daughter of Alexan- 
der Winchester. He had a second wife, Re- 
becca, who died November 2, 1704. Children: 
Joseph, born October 27, 1656: John. August 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



6ii 



8, 1660; Hezekiah, April i, 1662; Mary, Sep- 
tember 15, 1664; Jonathan, November 5, 1666; 
Nicholas, June 6, 1669; Elisha, mentioned be- 
low. 

(III) Elisha, youngest child of Nicholas 
and Mary (Winchester) Peck, was born 
April II, 1673, in Rehoboth, and resided for 
a time on the homestead there, and subse- 
quently in Attleboro, Massachusetts, and 
Providence, Rhode Island. He removed from 
Rehoboth to Attleboro about 1718. He mar- 
ried, December 24, 1703, in Rehoboth, Martha 
Lake, "both of Rehoboth." Children: 
Martha, died young; Joel, born June i, 1707; 
Jerusha, January i, 1709; Eunice, March 12, 
171 1 ; Inspection, March 22, 1713; Constan- 
tine, mentioned below; Martha, April 8, 1717; 
Nicholas, April 30, 1719; Mary, August 31, 
1724; Elijah, September 7, 1729. All except 
the last two are recorded in Rehoboth, and 
the last three in Attleboro. 

(IV) Constantine, second son of Elisha and 
Martha (Lake) Peck, was born May 26, 171 5, 
in Rehoboth, and resided for a time in that 
town, later removing to Providence. He mar- 
ried Priscilla Peck, of that town. Children : 
Joel, born September i, 1735; Susannah, May 
13, 1738; Benoni, November 25, 1739; Abra- 
ham, May 30, 1742; Inspection, July 6. 1745; 
Nicholas, October 2, 1746; Elisha, mentioned 
below; Eleazer, March 7, 1750; Martha, Au- 
gust 8, 1752; Abiah, December 18, 1755; 
Mary, May 19, 1758; Gershom, July 20, 1760; 
Anne, January 10, 1762. 

(V) Elisha (2), sixth son of Constantine 
and Priscilla (Peck) Peck, was born Novem- 
ber 25, 1747. He resided for a time in Pro- 
vidence; soon after 1773 he settled in Lenox, 
Massachusetts, where he was a farmer. He 
married, in Providence, March 11, 1773, Free- 
love Knight, of Cranston, Rhode Island. No 
record of children is available beyond that 
furnished by the family records. 

(VI) Elisha (3). son of Elisha (2) and 
Freelove (Knight) Peck, was bom March 4, 
1789, in Lenox, and died in 18.SI. at his resi- 
dence on Fourth street. New York City. He 
was reared upon the farm, and early in life 
went to Berlin, Connecticut, where he became 
interested in the manufacture of metal ware. 
Later he removed to New York City and there 
formed an association with Anson G. Phelps, 
under the firm name of Peck & Phelps, for 
dealing in metals. He immediately proceeded 



to Liverpool, where he opened a foreign 
branch of the business and continued four- 
teen years. In August, 1830, he returned to 
America, bringing with him the machinery for 
a rolling mill. Mr. Phelps had already pur- 
chased land and a water privilege on Minis- 
ceongo creek, in Rockland county. New York, 
where they established a rolling mill wire 
works and kindred industries. A village 
sprang up about these mills, which was named 
Samsondale by Mr. Peck, in honor of the ves- 
sel which brought him from Liverpool in 
1830. Here was manufactured what was 
known as the E. P. brand sheet iron, which 
had a high reputation among dealers. The 
partnership between Messrs. Peck and Phelps 
was dissolved and Mr. Peck retained the shops 
at Samsondale, while Mr. Phelps took the mer- 
cantile business in New York. About this 
time Mr. Peck erected a screw factory and 
chemical works, where was carried on chiefly 
the production of sulphuric acid. In 1833 he 
opened a new road, which is now the thor- 
oughfare from Minisceongo creek to the rail- 
road station at Haverstraw. The new plants 
were established on what was known as the 
Allison farm, which Mr. Peck purchased for 
that purpose, and removed the old mansion, 
in whose place he erected a handsome resi- 
dence. His eldest son, Shubael, who possessed 
an inventive mind and was of much assistance 
to his father, was killed by the explosion of 
a boiler in a vessel which he was navigating 
on the Hudson. After this a younger son, 
John Peck, became his father's partner. 
About 1842 the industries began to feel the 
injurious effects of changes in the tariff, and 
the mills were closed. They were reopened 
during the civil war and did a prosperous 
business for a time, and have since been occu- 
pied by various industries. Mr. Peck was a 
man of keen foresight and great executive 
ability, and became interested in various large 
enterprises. He was one of the original pro- 
moters of the Somerville & Easton railroad, 
and of the Elizabeth & Easton, both of which 
became part of the New Jersey Central sys- 
tem, in which Mr. Peck was a large stock- 
holder and director. At one time he was the 
principal owner of the Providence railroad, 
which under his direction as president proved 
to be one of the most profitable enterprises of 
the kind in this section of the L^nion. He was 
a director of the Hudson River railroad, and 



6i4 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



when he retired from the board resolutions 
of regret were passed by his contemporaries. 
He was interested in various other industries, 
and it is a remarkable fact that none of those 
in which he invested ever proved unprofitable. 
Mr. Peck was a man of genial nature and 
very liberal, and when the Presbyterian church 
established at Samsondale, he donated the lot 
upon which its house of worship was located, 
and also contributed generously in cash to- 
ward its completion. 

He married, June 30, 1814, Chloe, daughter 
of Shubael Pattison, of Berlin, Connecticut. 
Children : Shubael, born April 10, 181 5 : Har- 
riet, Januarv 22. 1817; John, born No- 
vember 12, '1818; Edward, June 3, 1822; 
Mary Ann, December 16. 1823. The 
youngest son was born in Liverpool, England, 
and the youngest daughter in West Darby, 
England. The others were born in Berlin, 
Connecticut. Of these only the second son 
and youngest daughter survived their father. 
The latter became the wife of George Gordon. 



Alexander Hamilton, dis- 
HAMILTON tinguished soldier and 
statesman, was born in the 
Island of Nevis, West Indies, and was of a 
Scotch family. He was instructed under the 
tutorship of a Scotch Presbyterian minister, 
and in young manhood was in charge of a 
mercantile business in his native place. In 
1772 friends induced him to go to Boston, 
whence he went to Elizabethtown, New 
Jersey, where he attended a preparatory 
"school, thence entering King's College, New 
York, but after two years his education was 
interrupted by the occupation of the college 
buildings by the British troops. At the open- 
ing of difficulties he took an emotional part, 
and at the early age of seventeen, voluntarily 
ascended a platform in New York City and 
delivered a fiery phillipic against British op- 
pression. Subsequently he issued a couple of 
pamphlets, which were of such force and 
literary merit that they marked him as a 
revolutionary leader. Early in 1776, when 
not nineteen years old, he had command of 
an artillery company, which he made the 
model of its kind in General Greene's com- 
mand. His military behavior in the battles 
of Long Island and White Plains brous;ht him 
a commission as lieutenant-colonel in the Con- 
tinental army, and assignment to the stafi^ 



of Washington as military secretary. Taking 
ofifence at a reproof from his chief, he re- 
signed his position and entered the field as 
lieutenant-colonel of New York artillery. At 
Yorktown he led a successful storming party 
upon a redoubt, and was breveted colonel. 
He served in the New York assembly and in 
congress, and also in the national constitu- 
tional convention. When Washington was 
elected to the presidency, he made Hamilton 
first secretary of the United States Treasury. 
Hamilton's services at this period were con- 
spicuously useful : he inaugurated a system 
of internal revenue, a protective tarifi^. regu- 
lated the currency, established navigation 
laws and laws regulating the coasting trade, 
the post offices and the disposition of public 
lands, and procured the purchase of land at 
West Point for a military academy. He re- 
signed the secretaryship in 1795 and resumed 
his law practice in New York City. He main- 
tained close relation with Washington, and 
was an influential factor in public affairs. In 
1798 he was made major general and inspec- 
tor general of the army, and the following 
year was made commander-in-chief. On July 
II, 1804, at Weehawken, New Jersey, he fell 
in a duel with Aaron Burr. He married Eli- 
zabeth, daughter of General Philip Schuyler, 
of Albany. 



The origin of this name seems 
TELLER uncertain ; it was employed by 

the first Dutch immigrant and 
has been continually used by his descendants, 
among whom have been many conspicuous 
and useful citizens in Albany and Kingston, 
and all along the Hudson river valley. 

(I) William Teller, born 161 6, in Holland, 
arrived in the province of New Netherlands, 
in the year 1639, and was soon sent to Fort 
Orange by Governor Kieft with the rank of 
corporal. He was probably a soldier before 
his arrival in America, and was made wacht- 
meister of the fort at Albany by Governor 
Kieft soon after his arrival there. He con- 
tinued to reside at Albanv until 1692, except 
while on trips to New York, the Delaware 
river, and one voyage to Holland. For about 
fifty years he was a trader at Albany, whence 
he removed to New York in 1692 with his 
sons, and died in 1701. In 1656 he was one 
of the collectors of taxes, and in 1684 was 
made alderman of the first ward of Rensselaer- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



615 



wyck (Albany) upon the first division of that 
village into wards. In that year he was also 
a justice of the peace. In 1678 he accidentally 
killed an Indian woman with a gun which he 
was taking from the wall just as she was 
entering the door, and was tried for this on 
May 6 of that year before the governor and 
council and was acquitted. In his will, made 
March 9, 1669, proved 1701, he spoke of six 
of his nine children as then living, namely: 
Andries, Helena, Elizabeth, VVillem, Johannes 
and Jannette. It is probable that he had dis- 
posed of much of his property before his 
death, when the inventory amounted to nine 
hundred and ten pounds, ten shillings and 
two pence. He was one of the early proprie- 
tors of Schenectady in 1662, though probably 
never a resident there, and was one of the 
patentees mentioned in the first patent of the 
town in 1684. His first wife, Margaret Dun- 
cassen, died before 1664, in which year he 
made a marriage contract with Maria Varleth, 
widow of Paulis Schrick. She survived him, 
dying in 1702, when an inventory of her estate 
was made, amounting to one thousand, two 
hundred and seventy-five pounds, twelve shill- 
ings and nine pence. She was a daughter of 
Casper and Judith Varleth, early residents of 
Port Good Hope, Hartford, Connecticut, be- 
ing there as early as 1633. Children of first 
marriage: Andries, Helena, Maria (Marga- 
rette), Ehzabeth, Jacob, William, Johannes (or 
John). Children of second wife : Janette (or 
Janneke) and Casper. 

(II) William (2), third son of William (i) 
and Margaret (Duncassen) Teller, was born 
in 1657, at Albany, and settled in New York, 
where he made his will June 25, 1710. He 
married (first) November 19, 1686, Rachel 
Kierstead, of New York, daughter of Hans 
Kierstead and Sarah Rolffsen, who died before 
1705. He received a license, January 19, 1705, 
to marry his cousin, Maria Van Tricht. Chil- 
dren of first marriage, baptized in New York: 
Margarita, August 17, 1687; William, died 
young; William, December 25, 1690; Hans (or 
John), mentioned below; Margaret, February 
2, 1696; Jacobus, died voung; Andries, Janu- 
ary 25, 1702; Jacobus, August 29, 1703. 

(III) Hans or John, third son of William 
(2) and Rachael (Kierstead) Teller, was bap- 
tized March 12, 1693, in New York. He mar- 
ried (first) April 23, 1719, Catherine Van Til- 
burgh, and had sons, baptized in 1720 and 



1722. He married (second) before 1728, Au- 
lie Vermilyea. Children of second marriage: 
Catherine, born 1728, married John Stouten- 
burgh; Isaac, born 1730; John, born 1733, 
married Margaret Stoutenburgh ; Jacobus, 
born 1736; Rachel, born 1741, married Luke 
Stoutenburgh; Dr. Abram, born 1744, mar- 
ried Margaret Driemer; Cynthia, married 
Jacobus Stoutenburgh; Luke, mentioned be- 
low. 

(IV) Luke, son of John and Aulie (Ver- 
milyea) Teller, resided in Dutchess county 
and died there. He married Sarah Snedeker, 
November 10, 1765, and had ten children, 
namely : James, Elizabeth, Sarah, Abram, 
Rachel, Catherine, born June 16, 1778; Rich- 
ard, John, Auley, Theodora. 

(V) James, probably eldest son of Luke and 
Sarah (Snedeker) Teller, died young. He 
was a farmer and lived a short distance north 
of Poughkeepsie, New York. Where the house 
stood is still known as Teller's Hill. He mar- 
ried, January 6, 1796, Sarah Smith, who died 
January 3, 1847. Children: WilHam S. and 
Caroline. The latter died at the age of eight 
years. 

(VT) William Smith, only son of James 
and Sarah (Smith) Teller, was born February 
24, 1807, and died January 21, 1892, in King- 
ston. He and his mother lived in Poughkeep- 
sie, where he learned the tanner and currier's 
trade. He later joined his brother-in-law in 
Newburgh and engaged in the leather busi- 
ness for several years, then removed to King- 
ston and formed a co-partnership with An- 
drew Near, purchasing the Kingston Tannery 
of A. H. Bruyn, and for twenty-five years car- 
ried on the tanning and leather business. He 
was a member of the First Methodist Episco- 
pal Church from 1846 until his death and was 
an officer of this body. He married (first) 
October 27, 1831, Maria Broomfield, born 
January 25, 1812, died June 15, 1844. He 
married (second) September 17, 1846, Esther 
M. Hoyt, born September 15, 1824, died 
March 6, 1865. He married (third) April 25, 
1867, Rebecca Montayne, born November 20, 
1823. died February 24, 1889. Children of 
first marriage: James G., born July 20, 1833, 
died December 16, 1892, in Saugerties, New 
York, Caroline, August 5, 1836, died in her 
sixth year ; William H., February 20, 1839, 
died in his twenty-fifth year; Elizabeth. Octo- 
ber 20, 1841, married Oliver C. Webster, and 



6i6 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



lived until her death in Kingston. Children 
of second wife: George, born November 12, 
1848, married Sophia E. Brill, two children, 
Myron S. and Janette B. ; Myron, mentioned 
below ; Charles, died in infancy. 

(VII) Myron, fourth son of William Smith 
Teller and second child of his second wife, 
Esther M. Hoyt, was born January i, 185 1, 
in Kingston, New York, where he now re- 
sides. He is a member, with his family, of the 
First M. E. Church of that city. He mar- 
ried, September 18, 1873, in Kingston, Jennie 
Frances Romer, daughter of William F. and 
Jane (Baldwin) Romer. Children: Marian, 
married October 23, 1906, Edward Dunscomb 
Ibbotson ; Caroline, died May, 1905 ; William 
Romer; Jennie (Jane R.), married January 
30, 1 009, Charles Bruyn, and lives in New 
York'Citv. 



The name of Romer is one which 

ROMER has been identified with many 
important interests in the state 
of New York, and the most recent bearer of it 
in the family here under review was William 
F. Romer, head of the Albany and Newburgh 
Day Line of boats. 

(1) Jacob Romer married, August 20, 1754, 
Fannie Erlacher, and they had children : Hen- 
drick, born June 17, 1755; Elizabeth, born 
May 3. 1757 ; Frena, born September 13, 1760; 
Catrina, born April 30, 1763 ; Jacob, see for- 
ward : Johannes, born 1767: Maritie, born 
Tune 25, 1760: .\nnette, born May 20, 1770; 
Sara, born November 16, 1773; Femmetje, 
born February 20, 1777. 

(Ill Jacob (2), son of Jacob (i) and Fan- 
nie (Erlacher) Romer, was born November 4. 
T764. He married Hannah Henderson and 
had children as follows : Benjamin ; Sarah ; 
James H.. see forward: Fannie; Nancy; John, 
married Fannie Mead, of Tarrvtown ; Char- 
lotte. 

(Ill) James H., son of Jacob (2) and Han- 
nah (Henderson) Romer, was a Methodist 
minister, who had been pastor of a church in 
Putnam county, and his last charge was in 
New York City, died in Kingston. New York. 
He married Abigail Du Bois, daughter of 
Peter and Mary (Coutant) Du Bois. grand- 
daughter of Louis and Elizabeth (Souliss) 
Du Bois, and sister of John, William, Peter, 
David, Esther, Mary, Stephen. Elizabeth and 
Phoebe. James H. and .Abigail ( Du Bois) 



Romer had children: i. James L., married 
Juliette Young, daughter of Lewis W. and 
Marjante R. (Dubois) Young, and had chil- 
dren: William; Maggie E. ; James L. ; John; 
Frank R. ; Caroline L., who married Roger 
Williams, and has a son, Roger Williams, Jr. 
2. William F., see forward. 3. Phoebe D. B., 
never married. 

(IV) William F., son of James H. and Abi- 
gail (Du Bois) Romer, was born at Tarry- 
town, New York, in 1820, died at Kingston, 
New York, August 3, 1885. He received the 
education which the common schools of the 
day afforded, and being an apt and attentive 
scholar he acquired a fund of useful knowl- 
edge. In 1840 he commenced teaching in 
Marbletown, New York. When General 
Joseph Smith was cashier of the Kingston Na- 
tional Bank, application was made by Mr. 
Ferguson for the appointment of William F. 
Romer as discount clerk and, upon the recom- 
mendation of Judge Hardenburgh, and other 
prominent residents of Marbletown, Mr. 
Romer received the appointment. In 1841 he 
was appointed teller and bookkeeper, and a 
few years later was made cashier, an office 
he was filling at the time of his first connec- 
tion with the freighting business in Rondout. 
He resigned from his official position in the 
bank in 1848, and formed a partnership with 
Nathan Anderson and- his son under the firm 
name of Anderson, Romer & Company, and 
a third interest in the steamer "Highlander" 
was purchased. In 1853 Captain Tremper and 
Mr. Gillett bought out the interests of the 
Andersons, and the firm name became Romer, 
Tremper & Gillett. They were the owners of 
two steamers, the "Rip Van Winkle" and the 
"North America." In i8s6 Mr. Romer and 
Mr. Tremper bought the interest of Mr. Gil- 
lett and the firm name was changed to read 
Romer & Tremper, under which style it was 
known until 1883, at which tiirie the firm was 
incorporated as the Romer &• Tremper Steam- 
boat Company, and they became the owners 
of the Albany & Newburgh Day Line. While 
his connection with the bank was still in force 
Mr. Romer married Jane R., daughter of 
James \\'. and Mary ( Newkirk I Baldwin, of 
Kinffston, and thev had children: i. Mary 
De A\'itt, who died Sentember 12, 1866. 2. 
Jane F.. who married Mvrnn Teller, and had 
children : Marian, married E'hva'-d D, Ibbot- 
son : Caroline, deceased ; \Ml!iani Romer, mar- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



617 



Tied Adelaide Hardenburgh ; Jane R., married 
Charles D. Bruyn. 

Mr. Romer in all his business affairs was 
an honest, upright man, noted for his integrity. 
In social life he had many and sincere friends, 
and he was a kind husband and an indulgent 
father. When a young man he identified him- 
self with the St. James Methodist Episcopal 
Church, was a prominent member and held 
official position during the greater part of his 
life. He was one of the main supporters of 
this church and gave liberally to it, and to 
every benevolent project which it furthered. 



This name appear.-; in the early 
CORSA Dutch records of the state of 
New York in a variety of forms, 
such as Corse, Corsa, Corsse, Corssen, and 
Coursen, and appears to have been derived 
from Cornelius. In comparatively recent 
times members of the fainily in Westchester 
county. New York, wrote it Cursa, and the 
will of Benjamin Corsen, of the fourth gener- 
ation below is recorded under the name Cour- 
son. The Dutch had a great habit of abbrevi- 
ating names and frequently called Cornelius 
"Cors," and it was a very simple step to call 
his sons Corssen. An effort has been made to 
connect this family with Hendrick Corstiansen 
or Christiansen from Clieves, Holland, who is 
said to have been a mate with Hudson on the 
"Half-moon" and who made several voyages 
between Amsterdam in his native land and 
New Amsterdam, now New York. He had a 
comrade, Cornelius Hendricksen, who may 
have been his son or merely a friend and co- 
voyager. He was killed by one of two Indians 
whom he had captured and carried to Holland, 
and returned to Manhattan Island. This was 
at the beginning of the year 1614. This much 
is certain, that the first ancestor from whom 
this family can be continuously traced was the 
son of a man named Peter. The family has 
been long identified with the state of New 
York, and for some time was in possession of 
landed propertv at Fordham. the title to some 
of which is still in dispute, 

(I) The first of whom any record is dis- 
covered was Cornelis Pieterse \^room Corssen, 
who resided in New Amsterdam, where his 
children were baptized. He married Tryntje 
Hendricks, and died before 16^7. She mar- 
ried (second), August 17, 1657. Frederick 
Lubbertse, of Brooklyn. Children of Cornelis 



P. V, Corssen were: Cornelis, baptized April 

23, 1645 ; Pieter, March 5, 1651 ; Hendrick, No- 
vember 30, 1653; and Catherine, who married 
John Stats. 

(II) Cornelis, son of Cornelis Pieterse 
Vroom and Tryntje ( Hendricks) Corssen, was 
baptized April 2;^. 1645, i" New York, and re- 
sided in Brooklyn, where he was on the assess- 
ment rolls in 1675-6, and constable in 1677. 
He was a member of the Reformed Dutch 
church of Brooklyn, and described as of Wala- 
bocht (Wallabout). By 1680 he removed to 
Staten Island, where he took title, December 

24, of that year, to three hundred and fifty-two 
acres on the west side of Mill Creek, and on 
the 28th of the same month an additional one 
hundred and eighty acres. Both these tracts 
were purchased for himself and three asso- 
ciates, and his share of the last named was 
sixty acres. He also secured thirty-two acres 
of salt meadow "where most convenient." He 
was appointed justice of the peace for Rich- 
mond county, April 2, 1685, was later captain 
of militia, and in 1689 held both positions. In 
1 68 1 he bought land on the Raritan river in 
New Jersey for three cents per acre. His 
will, made December 9, 1692, was proved Au- 
gust I, 1693. He married, in New Amster- 
dam, March 11, 1666, Marrytje Jacobs, van 
der Grist (Grift). In the record he is de- 
scribed as a young man of Brooklyn and she 
as a young woman of New York. He had 
sons: Jacob: Cornelius, baptized August 13, 
1681, 'who was many years a justice of the 
peace of Staten Island : Christian, a second 
judge and lieutenant-colonel in 1738; and 
Daniel, baptized February 8, 1690. in New 
York. Benjamin, another son, removed in 
1726 to Northampton, Bucks county, Pennsyl- 
vania, where his descendants have resided until 
very recent time. 

(III) Jacob Corsen, eldest son of Cornells 
and Marrytje (Jacobs) Corssen, was born 
about 1668, and resided on Staten Island, 
where he made his will, October 8, 1742. By 
this instrument his homestead was bequeathed 
to his son Jacob, and seventy pounds to each 
of his children, including: Suster, wife of 
Johannes Simonson : Mar}', Mrs. Joshua Mer- 
sereau ; Douwe, Benjamin, and Rebecca, wife 
of John Blom. Very little mention of this 
family is found in the records of Staten Island 
at a later day. 

(IV) Benjamin Corsa, son of Jacob Co: 



6i8 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



sen, was born before 1700, and the family tra- 
dition says he was named in honor of Gover- 
nor Benjamin Fletcher, whose jurisdiction be- 
gan with the year 1692. He probably resided 
about the time of his majority at Fordham, 
which was then under the jurisdiction of New 
York. He married, April 17, 1718, in New 
York, Jannetje Reyers, daughter of Reyer 
Michaelson Reyers. In the records she is de- 
scribed as a young woman from the Manor 
of Fordham and he is called a young man from 
New York. His will, made October i, 1770, 
is on record in Westchester county, and he 
died before December 22, of the same year, 
when the will was proved. It disposed of 
lands now occupied by Fordham University 
and the homestead mansion is still standing on 
the grounds of the University and used as an 
infirmary. Southern boulevard now crosses 
the old graveyard in which many of the Corsa 
family are buried. The will mentions sons 
Tunis, John, then deceased, and Isaac, and 
daughter Jane Lent. Isaac was made execu- 
tor of the will. 

(V) Captain Isaac Corsa, youngest son of 
Benjamin and Jannetje (Reyers) Corsa, was 
born about 1735, at Fordham, and was com- 
missioned as captain of a company of ninety- 
five men in an expedition against the French 
in 1755. As already noted, he was made ex- 
ecutor of his father's estate and during his 
lifetime the property passed out of the family. 
He married Mary, daughter of Andrew Gibb, 
of Fordham Manor, who made his will Decem- 
ber 24, 1761, in which twenty-five pounds was 
bequeathed to his daughter Mary, wife of 
Isaac Corsa. They had children : John, An- 
drew, Isaac, Richard and Hannah. " The first 
renaoved to Nova Scotia. The second, Andrew, 
resided in the vicinity of Fordham. He was 
a soldier of the revolution and was the last 
survivor of Washington's Scouts, dying at the 
age of ninety-one years. The other sons re- 
.sided in the vicinity of Fordham, and the third 
married Helena Bussing, of Harlem, for his 
first wife, and Mary Poole, second. 

(VI) Richard, fourth son of Captain Isaac 
and Mary (Gibb) Corsa, was born February 
Q, 1793, in Fordham, where he resided and died 
December 26, 18.S3. He married. December 
27, 1817, Esther Crawford, born May 4, 1799, 
died January 24, 1870. They had children: 
Louisa A., born December 24, 1818: James C, 
mentioned below; Andrew J., April i, 1822; 



Rachel, April 30, 1825, and Armenia, June 11, 
1830. The second son married (first) Octo- 
ber 7, i860, Jane Van Riper, and (second) 
November 10, 1869, Araminta Jackson. He 
was long engaged in business in Williamsburg, 
in association with his elder brother. 

(VII) James Crawford, eldest son of Rich- 
ard and Esther (Crawford) Corsa, was born 
May 7, 1820, on the Corsa homestead in Ford- 
ham, and attended the public schools in the 
neighborhood of his home. While still a boy 
he was apprenticed to the cooper's trade and 
after becoming a journeyman located in Wil- 
liamsburg, where he was employed in making 
casks for a sugar refining company. He was 
subsequently engaged in business on his own 
account with a man named Flynn, and they 
were the first in Brooklyn to use machinery 
in the manufacture of casks. They also manu- 
factured kegs for the Atlantic White Lead 
Company, and continued in this line of busi- 
ness until about 1877. Mr. Corsa was after- 
ward employed by the sugar refining company 
of Crabb & Company, in which his brother 
Andrew J. was a partner, among the first im- 
porters of raw sugar. He continued in this 
association until his death, April 30, 1890, near 
the close of his seventieth year. He was afifili- 
ated with the Dutch Reformed church, whose 
house of worship was located in the rear of 
the present Borough Hall, Brooklyn, and was 
also a member of the Order of American Me- 
chanics. He married, March 26, 1850, Sarah 
Garretson, daughter of Garret and Mary (Ro- 
maine) Garretson, and had two children; 
Andrew Jackson and Mary Jane. The latter 
became the wife of William Hooker Meeteer 
and now resides in Brooklyn. 

(VIII) Andrew Jackson, only son of James 
Crawford and Sarah (Garretson) Corsa. was 
born December 4, 1856, at his father's home 
on President street, in Brooklyn, and attended 
the Wilson street public school of that city 
until he was fifteen years old. He was then 
employed as office boy by the Exchange In- 
surance Company of New York City, and 
since that time has been continuously identified 
with insurance interests. He was soon ad- 
vanced to a clerkship and at the age of twenty- 
five was made assistant secretary of the com- 
pany. At the age of thirty years he became 
secretary of the Mechanics' Insurance Com- 
pany of New York and in 1885 became man- 
ager of the .Alliance Insurance Association of 




HENRY HUDSON 



An Intrepid English navigator who made trips In 1607 and 1608 seeking an ArcUC 
India, and on the third sailed Into the Hudson River. On Jan. 8. I 609, he 
signed a contract with the Dutch East India Co. to sail the Half Moon (60 tons) to 
America; started from the Texel, Holland, March 25th, entered The Narrows Sept. 
6th, anchored at 42° 40' (Albany) Sept. 19th; sailed for England Oct. 4th. On sub- 
sequent voyage his crew mutinied and he was set adrift In Hudson's Bay, June 
23. 1611. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



619 



New York, in which position he continued five 
years. At the same time he was made man- 
ager of the Queen Insurance Company of 
America and located his offices in Brooklyn, 
where he has since continued. Since 1908 he 
has also represented the Sun Insurance office 
of London and conducts a general insurance 
brokerage. He was one of the organizers and 
first president of the Brooklyn Underwriters' 
Association, formed in 1896, and became presi- 
dent of the Nassau County Board of 1 rade, 
organized in 1906. He is at present president 
of the Brooklyn Business Men's Association 
and a member of the Merchants' Association 
of New York, representing in that body the 
Sun Insurance office of London and also the 
Insurance Society of New York. For five 
years he was secretary of the Brooklyn Salvage 
Corps and is now a member of the commission 
for locating and constructing a new municipal 
building for Brooklyn and also chairman of 
the commission for the Marginal Railroad, 
which goes along the river front of Brooklyn. 
He is a past master of Aurora Grata Lodge 
No. 756, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Brooklyn, in which he was raised, and is now 
affiliated with Chrystal Wave Lodge. He is 
at present grand representative of the Grand 
Lodge of California in the Grand Lodge of 
New York. Mr. Corsa was reared under the 
teachings of the Dutch Reformed church, with 
which he is still in active sympathy. Politically 
he is independent of partisan rulings. He has 
always been active in political, civic and religi- 
ous interests for Brooklyn's good. He mar- 
ried, November 4, 1885, in Brooklyn, Eliza- 
beth Steimle, born November 24, 1868, in 
Brooklyn, daughter of Andrew and Jannette 
(Cook) Steimle. They have only one child, 
Stanley J., mentioned below. 

(IX) Stanley James, only son of Andrew 
Jackson and Elizabeth (Steimle) Corsa, was 
born October 17, 1886, in Brooklyn, and began 
receiving private instruction at the early age 
of six years. He subsequently attended the 
Brooklyn public school until twelve vears of 
age, when he entered the Brooklyn Polytech- 
nic Institute and remained one year. In 1900, 
he was sent to Major Holbrook's Military 
Academy at Ossining, New York, where he 
remained for one year, subsequentlv becoming 
again a student at the Brooklyn Polytechnic 
Institute, where he finished in 1905. He im- 
mediately entered the fire insurance business 



of his father as a clerk, and in 1910 he was 
admitted to partnership in the business, which 
has since been conducted under the firm name 
of Andrew J. Corsa & Son, with offices on 
Remsen street. They transact a general fire 
insurance business, covering a wide range of 
country, representing the Queens Fire Insur- 
ance Company of America, the Sun Insurance 
Company of London, England, and various 
other responsible underwriters, besides con- 
ducting a general brokerage business in in- 
surance. Mr. Corsa is a member of the Beta 
Phi fraternity of Brooklyn, the Insurance So- 
ciety of New York, and Bedford Conclave 
No. 850, Improved Order of Heptasophs. He 
attends religious services at the Dutch Re- 
formed or Episcopal church, and is a stead- 
fast Democrat in political principle. 

Henry (or Hendrick) Hud- 
HUDSON son, famous explorer, was 
probably born in London, Eng- 
land, about 1775. He was bred to the 
sea, and in 1609 he was engaged by the Dutch 
East India Company to discover new whale 
fishing grounds. On April 4 that year he 
sailed in the "Half Moon," an eighty-ton ship, 
with a crew of sixteen men, about equally 
divided between Englishmen and Dutchmen, 
with the intention of reaching Nova Zembla, 
and was prevented by ice. Bearing west he 
passed the Newfoundland banks, thence pass- 
ing by Penobscot Bay and Cape Cod. Arriv- 
ing at the James river, Virginia, he decided 
not to meet Captain John Smith, and sailed 
north. Entering Delaware Bay, he concluded 
he could make no passage to the East Indies, 
and following the Jersey coast reached Sandy 
Hook on September 3. He sailed 150 miles 
up the river which bears his name, and then 
returned to England. He was ordered by his 
employers to return to Holland. In the sum- 
mer of 1610 he sailed in an English ship, the 
"Discovery," and in Hudson's Bay (which 
received its name from him), he and his son 
John and five of his seamen were cast adrift 
by mutineers, and all miserably perished. 

The family tradition states that 
FURMAN this name is of Welsh origin 
and it may be true that it orig- 
inated in the English from someone who dealt 
in furs, but the stronger supposition is that it 
came from the German Fuhrman, the man 



620 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



who made journeys or carried other people on 
their journeys. At any rate, people bearing 
this name have been prominently identified 
with the history of the state of New York 
from a very early period. While not numer- 
ous they have borne their proportionate share 
in the struggles of pioneer life and in the 
building up of communities morally, socially 
and materially. 

{I) John Furman, born 1600, came from 
Wales, according to the family tradition, and 
was made a freeman of the Massachusetts 
Colony in 163 1. Soon after this he probably 
removed to Long Island and little further con- 
cerning him is known. 

(IIj Josiah and John Furman, sons of John, 
removed from Hempstead, Long Island, to 
the town of Newtown, where they purchased 
land and where John died in 1677, aged about 
forty-six years, leaving a son Jonathan. Jo- 
siah Furman, born 1635, in Massachusetts, 
died in 1705 in Newtown, leaving sons, John, 
Josiah, Joseph, David, Samuel and Jonathan. 

(Ill J John (2), apparently eldest son of 
Josiah Furman, born in Newtown, died there 
in 1726. He was one of the twenty-four pat- 
entees of Jamaica by grant of Governor Don 
gan made May 17, 1686. He married Mar- 
garet Lynch. 

(IV) Gabriel, son of John (2) and Mar- 
garet (Lynch) Furman, was born 1690, in 
Newtown, and owned a farm in the locality of 
that town, known as Whitepot. He died there 
September 23, 1768. He married, August 19, 
1 713, Abigail, daughter of William and Abi- 
gail Howard, of New Lots, born about 1692. 
They had sons : William, John, Samuel, How- 
ard, Nathan, Joseph and Benjamin. 

(V) Benjamin, youngest son of Gabriel and 
.'\bigail (Howard) Furman, was born about 
1726-30 in Newtown, and settled early in life 
in the town of Ramapo, Rockland county, re- 
moving later to Haverstraw. He married 
Mary, daughter of Rem and Mary (Letten) 
Remsen, born May 4, 1732 in Newtown. 

(VI) William, son of Benjamin and Mary 
(Remsen) Furman, was born February 21, 
1771, in the town of Ramapo. and died Novem- 
ber, 1824, having there engaged in farming. 
He was a Methodist in religion and is de- 
scribed by his descendants as a Republican. 
He probably belonged to a party under that 
name which flourished for a short time in the 
early part of the nineteenth century. He mar- 



ried Elizabeth Cooper, born June 16, 1780, a 
Lumber of a large and influential family of 
Rockland county. Children : Elizabeth, John, 
Abram, Gilbert, Martha, William F., Eliza- 
beth and George. 

(VII) Gilbert, third son of William and 
Elizabeth ( Cooper) Furman, was born Novem- 
ber 28, 1807, in Rockland county. New York, 
and settled in Haverstraw, where he was a 
farmer and lumberman, and died May 5, 1889. 
He was a member of the Methodist church, in 
which he held various official positions, and 
was a man of high character, noted for his 
industry and upright life. He was buried 
from the Mechanicsville Methodist Episcopal 
Church and was borne to his last resting place 
by six of his sons, Henry, George, John, Mon- 
roe, Benjamin and Harmon, while the other 
son, William G., supported his widowed 
mother. He married Sarah Van \^'aert, born 
November 17, 1815, in Little Falls, New Jer- 
sey, died September 22, 1893, in Haverstraw. 
She was a descendant of the old Dutch fami- 
lies of \'an Waert and Dey, located in New 
Jersey. She was possessed of many Christian 
virtues, ever ready to relieve suffering and 
deeply revered by her family. After her death 
her body was borne to the grave by her sons, 
William G., Henry, George, Monroe. Benja- 
min and Harmon (John being ill at the time), 
and deposited beside that of her husband. 
Children: John. Catharine, William G., 
Abram, Sarah Mancell, Henry, John Wesley, 
George Banghart. Charles, Gilbert Monroe. 
Benjamin, Harmon, Ida L. 

(VIII) John Wesley, fifth son of Gilbert 
and Sarah (Van Waert) Furman, was born 
March 9, 1847, in Haverstraw, New York. He 
grew up on the paternal farm, in whose labor 
he took an active part, and attended the dis- 
trict school at Camp Hill until eighteen years 
of age when he entered Canandaigua Acad- 
emy. Later he was a student at the Oswego 
Normal School, from which he was graduated 
in 187 1, and entered Cornell University in 
1873. In 1879 he became a student at the law 
school of New York LTniversity, from which 
he was graduated in 1881 with the degree of 
LL.B. For some years he was engaged in 
teaching in Rockland county, and was for a 
time employed as principal in the city schools 
of Binghamton. New York, and the southerly 
part of Westchester county, which afterward 
became annexed to New York City. In 1881 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



621 



he began the practice of law at Haverstraw, 
New York, and has been so engaged continu- 
ously to the present time. By his industry, 
strict integrity, and thorough preparation he 
obtained a large and lucrative practice and 
is one of the leading and inuuential lawyers 
of Rockland county. 

He has always taken an active interest in 
educational matters and for many years served 
as clerk of the Haverstraw board of educa- 
tion. During this time the public school sys- 
tem of the village has been re-organized and 
the present large high school building erected 
in which Mr. Furman took a very active part. 
Notwithstanding his extensive professional du- 
ties, he has ever been ready to advance the in- 
terest of his home town and the general com- 
munity. He is an active member of the Meth- 
odist church of that place, in which he is a 
trustee and teacher of the Bible class. He is 
a member of Stony Point Lodge, No. 313, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; lona Lodge, No. 
128, Knights of Pythias; and Sequel Lodge, 
No. 542, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
being a past noble grand of the last named 
body. Mr. Furman took the leading part in 
securing the incorporation of Mount Repose 
Cemetery, located at Haverstraw, New York, 
and through the efforts of himself and his 
brother Henry this cemetery has been greatly 
improved and is considered one of the most 
beautiful and attractive along the Hudson 
river. 

He married, June 29, 1892, in Haverstraw, 
Ida May Holmes, an estimable woman, born 
September 24, 1856, in Kingston, New York, 
daughter of Charles and Henrietta (Cosgrove) 
Holmes, who were the parents of the follow- 
ing children: William S., Emma, Charlotte, 
Minnie F., Ida May, Charles, Albert, Nettie, 
Clara. 



Frans Hendrickszen, the 
HENDRICKS founder of this family, was 

born in Breevoort, Hol- 
land, and died in New Amsterdam before No- 
vember 6, 1684, the date of his widow's second 
marriage. He married in the Dutch church in 
New Amsterdam in 1670, Belitje Jorisz, 
daughter of Joris Stephenszen and Annatje 
Hendricks, who had emigrated from Brugge, 
in Vlaenderen, and was at the time of her mar- 
riage living in Milpits Kill. She married 
(second) November 6, 1684, in the Dutch 



church in New Amsterdam, George Atkins, an 
Englishman, who had come from Virginia or 
Maryland and settled in New Amsterdam. 
Children of Frans Hendrickszen, baptized in 
the Dutch church in New Amsterdam : Hen- 
drick, baptized March 16, 1672', died in in- 
fancy; Hendrick Franse, referred to below; 
Geesje, baptized November 10, 1675. 

(II) Hendrick Franse, son of Frans Hen- 
drickszen and Belitje Jorisz, was baptized in 
the Dutch church in New Amsterdam, Janu- 
ary 12, 1673. After 1725 he removed to 
Dutchess county. New York. He married 
(first) Reuth Moor, and (second) October 
21, 1709, Anna Maria Sipken, widow of Har- 
man Lucasz, of New York. Children (two 
by first marriage) : Frans, referred to below; 
Marijtje, baptized July 2, 1710; Anna, baptized 
June 3, 171 1 ; Jan, baptized September 20, 
1713; Hendricus, baptized June 6. 1715; Elsje, 
baptized September i, 1717; Elisabet, baptized 
June 7, 1721 ; Johannes, baptized February 26, 
1725- 

(III) Frans Hendricks, son of Hendrick 
Franse and Reuth Moor, was born in New 
York about 1705, died near Kingston, Ulster 
county. New York. He married, in the Dutch 
church, in Kingston, August 31, 1734, Eliza- 
beth Valk. Children, baptized at Kingston: 
Louwerens, baptized June 2^, 1736, married. 
May 6, 1763, Elizabeth Pleogh ; Johannes, bap- 
tized December 2, 1739 ; Jacob, baptized Sep- 
tember 2j, 1741, married, August 24. 1771, 
Ariantje Louw ; Elizabeth, baptized April 29, 
1744; Philip, referred to below; Petrus, twin 
with Philip, baptized July 17, 1748; Catherine, 
baptized February 16, 1752. 

(IV) Philip, son of Frans and Elizabeth 
(Valk) Hendricks, was born near Kingston, 
Ulster county. New York, and baptized in the 
Dutch church at Kingston, July 17, 1748. He 
died November 28, 1834. He married, in the 
Dutch church, in Kingston, December zj, 
1775. Catherine van Stynberg, who was born 
in 1747 and died May 9, 1835. Children: 
Elizabeth, baptized June 27, 1779 ; Abraham, 
baptized October 21, 1781, married Maria Os- 
terhout; Philip (2), referred to below. 

(V) Philip (2), son of Philip ( i) and Cath- 
erine (van Stynberg) Hendricks, was born 
September 3, 1791, near Kingston, Ulster 
county, New York, died November 16, 1876. 
He inherited the old family homestead from 
his father, and cultivated it until his death. 



622 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



He was captain in the National Guard 
of the State of New York. He was 
a member of the First Dutch Reformed 
Church, in Kingston. He married, De- 
cember 21, 1815, Elsie Elmendorf, who was 
born March 21, 1795, and died October 27, 
1869. Among his children were : Martin Ed- 
gar, referred to below ; Racheal Catherine, and 
Abram. 

(VI) Martin Edgar, son of Philip (2) and 
Elsie (Elmendorf) Hendricks, was born on 
his father's farm near Kingston, Ulster county, 
New York, May 28, 1822, died June 10, 1905. 
He received his early education in the public 
schools of his native township and worked 
on the farm, which he inherited at his father's 
death, and which he cultivated until his own 
death. He was a member of the liberal branch 
of the Democratic party, and served as school 
trustee and overseer of the poor in 1872 and 
1873. He was a member of the First Dutch 
Reformed Church, in Kingston, of which he 
was deacon and elder for two years in each 
office, and was also the superintendent of the 
branch Sabbath-school of the church in East 
Kingston. He was a liberal supporter of the 
various benevolent and philanthropic enter- 
prises of the vicinity, and actively identified 
with all movements of an elevating and Chris- 
tian character. He married, September 26, 
1850, Harriet Ann, daughter of Tjerck and 
Margaret (Hendricks) Wynkoop, who was 
born December 27, 1824, and died April 7, 
1909: Child: Clarence P., referred to below. 

(VH) Clarence P., son of Martin Edgar 
and Harriet Ann (Wynkoop) Hendricks, was 
born on the old homestead, near Kingston, Ul- 
ster county. New York. September 29, 1856, 
and is now living in Kingston city. He re- 
ceived his early education in the public schools 
and assisted his father on the farm until 1890, 
when he formed a partnership with Charles 
M. Streeter in the business of brick manufac- 
turing under the firm name of Streeter & Hen- 
dricks, which continued until 1900, when he 
purchased the interests of his partner, and 
conducted the business until 1906. In 1906 
he admitted to partnership F. P. Luther, and 
the business was incorporated under the title 
of the Hendricks Brick Company, which is still 
continued and is one of the largest of the kind 
on the Hudson river, and of which he is the 
president. He is one of the directors of the 
National Ulster County Bank. He is an Inde- 



pendent in politics, and for thirty-five years 
has been a member of the Flatbush school 
board. He is a member of the Holland Society 
of New York. He is a member of the Dutch 
Reformed church, in Kingston, of which he 
has been deacon and elder. He married, June 
18, 1879, Maria V., daughter of Henry B. and 
Isadora (Gibbs) Luther, of Kingston, who was 
born April 7, i860. Child: Clarence Abram, 
referred to below. 

(VIII) Clarence Abram, son of Clarence P. 
and Maria V. (Luther) Hendricks, was born 
March 11, 1885, and is now living in Kingston, 
New York. He is engaged in the automobile 
business there. He married. May 8, 1907, Eli- 
zabeth McCullough. Child : Clarence Philip, 
born October 29, 1908. 



Matthew Vassar, founder of 
VASSAR the female college which bears 
his name, was born April 29, 
1792, in East Dereham, England. His par- 
ents, James and Anne (Bennett) Vassar, 
were Baptists. They came to the United 
States in 1796, settling in Poughkeepsie, New 
York, where the father set up a "home-brewed 
ale" brewery. 

The father's business was distasteful to the 
son, who went into other occupations, but the 
brewery burned down, and a brother lost his 
life in an endeavor to save the property, and 
Matthew Vassar rejoined his father, aided him 
in re-establishing the business, and acquired 
a great fortune. In 1813 he married Catherine 
Valentine, and subsequently they traveled 
abroad. Upon his return he expressed a de- 
termination to devote his great wealth to some 
noble purpose. At that time there was not 
in the country a higher educational institution 
for women, and, through the influence of Pro- 
fessor Milo P. Jewett he determined to supply 
the want. Accordingly, in 1861, Vassar Col- 
lege was incorporated, and to it Mr. Vassar 
donated 200 acres of land and the sum of 
$400,000, conditioned that the college should 
be maintained non-sectarian in its teachings, 
but under Baptist control. The college opened 
in 1865, with 350 pupils. Mr. Vassar also 
contributed liberally to local benevolences, and 
erected a Baptist church in his native town in 
England. He died in Poughkeepsie, June 23. 
1868, while in the act of reading his annual 
address at the third commencement of the 




CftmiAai (^^{3io:;Aic£6 




MATTHEW VASSAR. 
Founder of Vassar College. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



623 



college. His will added an additional $400,- 
000 to his original gift. 



This name appears in various forms 
ROSE in the early records of New Eng- 
land, such as Rowes and Rowe. It 
has been long established in this country, has 
been identified with its progress, and has fur- 
nished many pioneers who have cleared the 
way for civilization. 

(I) Robert Rose, who was born in 1594, in 
England, sailed from Ipswich, Suffolk county, 
England, in 1634, on the ship "Francis," ac- 
companied by his wife Margery and eight 
children. He was among the proprietors of 
Watertown, Massachusetts, in 1636-7, and a 
member of the company of "adventurers" who 
settled Wethersfield, Connecticut. There he 
was a large landholder, was constable in 1639- 
40, a juror in 1641, representative to the gen- 
eral court in 1641-2-3 and held other official 
appointments. His homestead was on Broad 
street, on its southeastern side, embracing three 
and one-quarter acres. In 1641 he exchanged 
twenty acres in Wethersfield for a like amount 
in Branford, Connecticut, then known as Toto- 
ket. In 1644 he removed to that place, and 
died there in 1665, his will, made August 25, 
1664, being proven at Branford, April 4, 1665. 
He bequeathed six pounds, thirteen shillings 
to the Branford Church, and the inventory 
of his estate amounted to eight hundred and 
twenty-six pounds, nine shillings, and seven 
pence. He married (second), at Branford, 
June 7, 1664, Elizabeth, of New Haven, widow 
of Edward Parker, and formerly widow of 
John Potter. Robert Rose's children: John 
and Robert (twins), born 1619: Elizabeth, 
162 1 ; Mary, 1623 ; Samuel, 1625 ; Daniel, men- 
tioned below ; Dorcas, 1632 ; Jonathan, and 
Hannah. The last two were probably born in 
America. 

(II) Daniel, fourth son of Robert and Mar- 
gery Rose, is shown by the statement of his 
age in the sailing list of the ship "Francis" to 
have been born in 1631. He settled in Weth- 
ersfield, where he was fenceviewer in 1669 and 
pound-keeper in 1680. He received land in 
the allotments of 1670 and 1694. In 1663 he 
purchased one hundred and twelve acres at 
Red Hill, on the east side of the river, in what 
is now Glastonbury, and in 1666 purchased 
the homestead of Thomas Prout, on the west 



side of Sandy Lane. In 1670 he purchased 
seventeen acres on the south side of what is 
now Pratt's Ferry road, and sold one and one- 
quarter acres of this tract in 1683. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth, daughter of John and Elizabeth 
Goodrich, born November 2, 1645. Children: 
Elizabeth, born April 15, 1665 ; Daniel, Au- 
gust 20, 1667 ; Mary, died young; Hannah, Au- 
gust 12, 1673; John, June 10, 1675; Jonathan, 
mentioned below; Sarah, November 2, 1681 ; 
Jacob, twin of Sarah ; Mary, died July 24, 
1683 ; Abigail, born September 14, 1685 ; Doro- 
thy, May 3, 1687; Lydia, April 24, 1689. 

(HI) Jonathan, third son of Daniel and 
Elizabeth (Goodrich) Rose, was born Septem- 
ber 30, 1679, in Wethersfield, and in 171 1 re- 
ceived a house and one and one-half acres of 
land from his father, situated on the north side 
of the "road to Hartford." He was haywar- 
den of Wethersfield in 1701 and fenceviewer 
in 1714. He married, February 26, 1707, Abi- 
gail, daughter of Ebenezer Hale, of what is 
now Glastonbury, born March 20, 1688, died 
1 79 1, at Granville, Massachusetts, where her 
sons settled. Children : Jonathan, mentioned 
below; David, born September 13, baptized 
September 18, 1709 ; Dorothy, born June 20, 
171 1; Damaris, Eebruary 30, 1713. 

(IV) Jonathan (2), eldest child of Jonathan 
(i) and Abigail (Hale) Rose, was born Feb- 
ruary 18, baptized February 29, 1708, in Weth- 
ersfield, and was among the pioneer settlers of 
Granville, Massachusetts, where he located 
about 1736-7. He lived to the age of one hun- 
dred and three years, losing his life through 
the burning of a house in which he was alone 
at the time. He had sons : Sharon, Daniel 
and Timothy. The last named was a revolu- 
tionary soldier and settled in Granville, Ohio, 
where he became a judge, and died in 181 5. 
David Rose, brother of Jonathan, followed 
him to Granville, Massachusetts, and became 
a deacon of the church there, but no record of 
his descendants appears. 

(V) Sharon, eldest son of Jonathan (2) 
Rose, had children : Giles, Sharon, Reta, 
Oliver, Dwyer, Mercy, Ruth, and Abigail. 
Probably one of these was the father of the 
next mentioned. 

(VII) Rufus Rose, Sr., is supposed to have 
had an existence, because the next mentioned 
is known in the family records as Rufus Rose, 
Jr. The name of Rufus Rose does not appear 



624 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



in the town records of Granville, but there can 
be little doubt that he was among the descend- 
ants of Jonathan Rose. 

(VIIIj Rufus Rose, Jr., was married in 
Granville, in 1803, to Orpha Parsons, who was 
without doubt also descendant from a pioneer 
settler in Granville, of whom there were sev- 
eral bearing that name. Owing to the scanti- 
ness of the records of that town it is impossible 
to trace the connection. Rufus Rose, Jr., set- 
tled in Sherburne, Chenango county. New 
York. 

(IX) William Clemons, son of Rufus (2) 
and Orpha (Parsons) Rose, was born in 1807, 
in Sherburne, died in Port Jervis, New York, 
in 1873. He left home on attaining his ma- 
jority and obtained employment on the Dela- 
ware & Hudson Canal, where he was gradu- 
ally promoted and served over forty years, 
being for a long period of that time a division 
superintendent. He married, in 1832, Lavina 
Shimer, daughter of Abraham Shinier, of 
Montague, New Jersey, and granddaughter of 
Captain Abraham Shimer, of the revolution- 
ary period. This family is said by tradition to 
have come originally from Germany. 

(X) William Rufus, son of William Cle- 
mons and Lavina (Shimer) Rose, was born 
April 6, 1834, in Cuddebackville. Orange 
county. New York, died in Ellenville, Ulster 
county, September 23, 1909. For more than 
forty-five years he conducted a mercantile 
business at Phillipsport, Sullivan county, New 
York, on the line of the Delaware & Hudson 
Canal. For three terms, of three years each, 
he served as superintendent of the poor, and 
in 1890 was a member of the state assembly, 
elected as a Republican from Sullivan county. 
In 1901, he removed to Ellenville, and for 
seven years was president of the Home Na- 
tional Bank of that town, of which he was one 
of the original directors, and for many years 
vice-president. 

He married, in 1862, Eleanor Jane, daughter 
of James and Catherine (Gumaer) Graham, of 
Wurtsboro, Sullivan county, New York, and 
they had children : Catherine Lavina ; James 
Graham, and William Clemons. 

James Graham, father of Mrs. Rose, was 
born in 1810, in Montgomery, Orange county. 
New York, died in Wurtsboro. in 18S8. son of 
James and Cynthia (Brown) Graham, and de- 
scended from one of the early Scotch settlers 
of Orange county. His wife, Catherine Gu- 



maer, was born in 1810, at Wurtsboro, and 
died in 1884, daughter of Jacob Gumaer and 
liis wife, Margaret Cuddebeck, married in 
1803. Jacob Gumaer was born in 1780. 

(XI) James Graham, senior son of William 
Rufus and Eleanor Jane (Graham) Rose, was 
born August 15, 1866, at Phillipsport. He was 
educated in the district schools of the vicinity 
and Delaware Academy, at Delhi, New York. 
In his nineteenth year he went to Kingston and 
entered the employ of the Delaware & Hudson 
Canal Company as a clerk. Here he won rapid 
promotion and was given charge of the general 
outside work, under the title of superintendent 
of docks, and this continued until the canal 
was abandoned. His energy and executive 
capacity had not been overlooked by his con- 
temporaries, and in 1899 his services were 
secured by S. D. Coykendall, having charge 
of various interests of this large operator. He 
is now president of the Consolidated Rosen- 
dale Cement Company, purchasing agent of 
the Ulster & Delaware Railroad Company, 
and the Cornell Steamboat interests. He is a 
trustee of the Rondout Savings Bank, ship- 
ping agent of the North River Coal Company, 
secretary and director of the Kingston Coal 
Company, a director of the Rose & Douglas 
Company, and interested in various other en- 
terprises. He is a trustee of the Industrial 
Home of Kingston, and a member of the Ron- 
dout, Kingston, and Twaalfskill clubs. 



The surname Piatt has been early 
PLATT found in many countries, the 
word meaning an open level piece 
of land. In Norman-French the name was 
spelled Pradt, then Pratt; in German, Platz, 
Coats-of-arms were granted to half a dozen 
different branches of the family in England 
as early as the reign of Elizabeth, and some 
as early as 1326. Senator Orville Hitchcock 
Piatt was descended through both father 
and mother from long lines of New Eng- 
land farmers, who for many generations held 
prominent station in the communities in 
which they lived. They held offices in 
church and town affairs, were landowners, 
deacons, tithingmen, and captains of militia. 
One ancestor was among those who 
marched to Fishkill in the Burgoyne cam- 
paign of October, 1777, to reinforce General 
Putnam. It was a sturdy, loyal, patriotic 
efficient New England stock. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



625 



(I) Deacon Richard Piatt is believed to 
be the Richard who was baptized Septem- 
ber 28, 1603, son of Joseph Piatt, in the 
parish of Bovington, Hertfordshire, Eng- 
land. He settled as early as 1638 at New 
Haven, Connecticut, and was one of a party 
of sixty-one who formed a church settle- 
ment at Milford in the same colony, being 
the first settlers in that place November 20, 
1639. At that time he had four in his fam- 
ily. He was chosen deacon at Milford in 
1669. His will is dated January 24, 1683-84, 
and bequeathed to each of his nineteen 
grandsons. In August, 1889, a memorial 
stone, suitably inscribed to the pioneers, was 
placed in the new bridge over the Mapa- 
waug at Milford. Children: i. Mary, mar- 
ried (first) May i, 1651, Luke Atkinson; 
(second), January 3, 1667, Thomas Wether- 
ell. 2. John, settled in Norwalk ; married 
Hannah Clark. 3. Isaac, of whom further. 
4. Sarah. 5. Epenetus, baptized July 12, 
1640; associated with his brother Isaac in his 
varied experience. 6. Hannah, born October i, 
1643. 7. Josiah, 1645. 8. Joseph, 1649; mar- 
ried, 1680, Mary Kellogg. 

(II) Isaac, son of Deacon Richard Piatt, 
was with his brother Epenetus enrolled 
among the fifty-seven landowners of Hunt- 
ington, Long Island, in 1666. They were 
doubtless residents there for some years 
earlier. Both were admitted freemen. May 
12, 1664, by the general assembly of Con- 
necticut, then having jurisdiction over Long 
Island under the old charter, and their 
names appear among the proprietors in the 
patent of 1666, and again in the patent of 
1668. Both were imprisoned in New York 
by Governor Andros in 1681 for attending 
a meeting of delegates of the several towns 
to obtain "a redress of grievances under his 
arbitrary rule." After their release a vote 
was passed at a town meeting to pay their 
expenses. He and his brother were among 
the sterling patriots of the time, fully rec- 
ognizing and claiming their civil and re- 
ligious rights. He bought land at Hunting- 
ton in 1679 of John Greene, and of Jonathan 
Hammet May 15, Tf>*^3. He was recorder 
of Huntington in T687, was captain of mili- 
tia, and it is said of him that "he held every 
office of consequence in the gift of his towns- 
men." His death occurred at Huntington 
July 31, 1691. He married (first) at Mil- 



ford, Connecticut, March 12, 1640, Phebe 
Smith; (second) at Huntington about twen- 
ty years later, Elizabeth, daughter of Jonas 
Wood. Children, all by the second mar- 
riage: Elizabeth, born September 15, 1665; 
Jonas, August 16, 1667 ; John, born June 29, 
1669; Mary, October 26, 1674; Joseph, Sep- 
tember 8, 1677; Jacob, September 29, 1682. 

(III) Little is known about John, Joseph 
and Jacob, sons of Isaac Piatt. It is pre- 
sumable that one of them was the father of 
Benoni, of whom further. 

(IV) Benoni, son of Piatt, appears 

as early as 1730 in North Castle, Westchester 
county, New York, where the records show 
he was a town officer. His will was made 
May 20, 1761, and proved May 14, 1763, in- 
dicating that he died in the latter year. His 
widow Hannah made her will March 8, 1764, 
and this was proved February 25, 1767. 
Children: Jonathan; Benoni (2), of whom 
further ; and Abigail. 

(V) Benoni (2), son of Benoni (i) and 
Hannah Piatt, was born in 1734 at North 
Castle, and resided on the paternal home- 
stead, where he died November 3, 1796. 
Children : Stephen, Cynthia, Hannah, Abi- 
gail, Deborah, and Benoni (3), of whom fur- 
ther, 

(VI) Benoni (3), son of Benoni (2), Piatt, 
was born August 8, 1764, in North Castle, 
died there May 13, 182:4. He married (first) 
Charity Reynolds, and (second) Betsy 
Brush. Children of the first marriage : Or- 
samus, died without issue ; Rachel, born Oc- 
tober 15, 1787, married O. Marvin, and died 
in her twenty-fourth year, leaving no issue; 
Cynthia, died in her eighteenth year; Hor- 
ton, born August 9, 1792, died December 
18, 1867; Stephen, June 24, 1794; Charity, 
April 10, 1796; Reynolds, October 13, 1798; 
William, December i. 1801 ; Jane Ann, Feb- 
ruary 4, 1804. Children of second wife : Ed- 
ward Brush, born October 9, 181 1; Lewis 
C, of whom further ; Jesse Holly, Decem- 
ber 3, 1820. 

(VII) Lewis Canfield, son of Benoni (3) 
and Betsy (Brush) Piatt, was born March 
7, 1818, in North Castle, died at White 
Plains March 13, 1893. In early life he was 
a student in the academy at Bedford Village 
in his native county. He was graduated 
from Union College with the class of 1834, 
one which included several men since prom- 



626 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



inent in the history of the state. Taking up 
the study of law with Samuel E. Lyon, a 
leading lawyer in White Plains, he was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1843, and immediately 
opened an office for the practice of his pro- 
fession at White Plains. Being industrious 
and painstaking he quickly built up a very 
satisfactory practice, and in more than forty 
years of activity at White Plains he trans- 
acted a great volume of business, especially 
in matters connected with real estate and 
probate. To the very last of his life he was 
an indefatigable worker, and his attention 
to business employed many hours a day. In 
1879 his son, William P. Piatt, became his 
partner in practice, and the firm of L. C. & 
W. P. Piatt long ranked among the leaders 
at the Westchester bar. 

In early life Mr. Piatt was identified polit- 
ically with the Whig party, and in 1846 he 
was elected on its ticket as supervisor of 
the town of White Plains. In the following 
year he was elected surrogate of the county. 
and by re-election served two terms of 
four years each. He was the first elected 
surrogate, the office having been previously 
filled by appointment. During the last year 
of his term as surrogate he was made can- 
didate for county clerk on a fusion ticket 
composed of Whigs and Democrats, as op- 
posed to the American ticket whose candi- 
date was John P. Jenkins. Westchester 
county was then a stronghold of Know- 
nothingism, and the fusion ticket was de- 
feated. In the following year the Republi- 
can party became thoroughly organized, and 
Mr. Piatt was among those who joined its 
ranks. He thus continued until after the 
civil war, which settled many of the issues 
that gave rise to the Republican party. Mr. 
Piatt next supported the Liberal ticket, 
whose presidential candidate was Horace 
Greeley, and he was urged by both Demo- 
cratic and Liberal leaders to become candi- 
date for congress on the same ticket. He 
declined, but thenceforward was a consistent 
supporter of the Democratic party. After 
1870 he was for two terms a trustee of the 
village of White Plains. In 1883 at the 
urgent solicitation of leading Democrats of 
the town he became candidate for super- 
visor against Elisha Horton, a popular Re- 
publican, who had been repeatedly elected 
in a town whose normal majority was Dem- 



ocratic. In this election Mr. Piatt received 
a splendid majority of one hundred and 
sixty-eight. For nine successive years he 
was the unanimous nominee of the Democratic 
party, and with the exception of one 
year his election was practically unopposed 
by the Republicans. His death just before 
an election prevented his choice for another 
term. He was regarded as one of the best 
informed members of the county board of 
supervisors, and for a number of years he 
was chairman of the judiciary committee of 
that body. 

Mr. Piatt became a Free Mason May 15, 
1859, and at the time of his death he was 
the oldest member of White Plains Lodge, 
No. 473. He was a regular attendant and 
liberal supporter of the Presbyterian church, 
and his funeral held there was attended as 
a last mark of respect by a great throng, 
many of whom could not find accommoda- 
tions within the church. Many prominent 
citizens were present, and the fellow crafts- 
men of his fraternity, who passed resolu- 
tions of respect to his memory, as did also 
the courts. Rev. Dr. A. R. Macoubrey, his 
pastor, who could not be present at the funeral 
on account of illness, wrote the following 
tribute, which was read on that occasion : 

Nothing since I have been laid aside in illness has 
moved me to so deep regret as that I am unable to 
stand in my place in his funeral services and utter my 
tribute of respect and love for Mr. Lewis C. Piatt. I 
did not know that he was ill till the day upon the 
evening of which he died. I at once sent words of 
greeting from my sick room to his, but ere they 
could reach him God had seen it best that the end 
of the earthly life should be. and the rest eternal 
and perfect should be his. One cannot but be grate- 
ful that the experience of long distressing illness 
was not his ere the finger of God's silence was put 
upon his lips. One could not but be grateful, too, 
for the spirit that was his. I have wondered if 
ever any came to know him as he really was with- 
out loving him. his was so eminently and really an 
unselfish spirit. How many stories of his kindness 
will be told in the houses in this community. He 
was so frank and honest in every revelation of him- 
self that all came instinctively to love him. 

One in another part of this state, who himself had 
held a position of influence, once said to me that, 
from his ability and spirit in the days of his power, 
Mr. Piatt could have occupied the highest posi- 
tion in our state had the spirit of ambition pos- 
sessed him. I have k-nown him but in these vears 
of his age since his three-scorce years and ten. There 
has been indeed in his physique the suggestion of 
years: but one forgot this in his active life, quick 
step, clear, vigorous intellect, sustained interest in 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



627 



all the walfare of the community and of those with 
whom he was associated in life. Who that knew 
him was ready to have him go hence ? But the Lord 
has chosen, and there is never error in His judg- 
ment or failure in His love ; and gently as a father 
dealeth with his little child He has taken him unto 
Himself. 

Shut within my room these weeks, I have no word 
from him in his illness to bear unto my speech ; 
but I know of his simple, earnest faith in Christ 
and of the tender turning of his spirit toward the 
cross, through which alone our spirits know par- 
don, cherish hope and pass unto the life eternal. 

In the vision of my congregation as it now 
comes before me, no face is more distinct than his. 
Always was he in his place in the Sabbath morn- 
ing, and in the Sabbath afternoon service also, 
listening with an earnestness that made my gaze 
often seek his face. I shall so miss his presence 
from the inspirations and helps in the worship of 
the Lord's house! However early I was in enter- 
ing the church I was rarely there before him. Often 
a few words of salutation would be exchanged on 
my way to the pulpit. I must wait now to see his 
face again and get his greeting, and see the revela- 
tion of his tender, true spirit until it is in our 
Father's house on high. 

And so we go hence, one by one. 

He married Laura Popham, born in Scars- 
dale, daughter of William S. and Eliza 
(Hill) Popham. Children: Benoni ; Wil- 
liam Popham, of whom further; Lewis C. 
(2), Mary Shinbrook, Alathea Hill, Eliza 
Hill, Julia Wood, and Theodora. 

(VHI) William Popham, second son of 
Lewis C. and Laura (Popham) Piatt, was 
born May 16, 1858, in White Plains. He 
was reared and educated in that village, 
completing his literary studies in the high 
school. He began the study of law with his 
father, and after thorough preparation was 
admitted to the bar May 15, 1879, the day 
he became legally of age, the law not con- 
sidering the fraction of a day in determining 
when one attains his majority. He at once 
became a partner in his father's law practice, 
and until the death of the latter the firm con- 
tinued under the title of L. C. & W. P. Piatt. 
For some time after his father's death Mr. 
Piatt continued practice alone, and subse- 
quently formed a partnership with Farring- 
ton M. Thompson, under the style of Piatt 
& Thompson. Mr. Piatt has always en- 
gaged in general practice and is well versed 
in all branches of jurisprudence. In 1889 
he was nominated on the Democratic ticket 
for district attorney of Westchester county, 
and was elected for a term of three years. 
Before the close of this term he was re- 



nominated and again elected. In 1896 he 
was the candidate of his party for the office 
of county judge, and was defeated by a 
small majority in that election, which swept 
nearly all the Republican candidates in the 
United States into office. The average ma- 
jority of the candidates of this party in 
Westchester county at that election was be- 
tween two and three thousand. He was sub- 
sequently again a candidate for district at- 
torney, and in 1901 was elected county 
judge. On his retirement from the office of 
district attorney in 1895 he resumed the 
private practice of law, and has been con- 
cerned in much of the important litigation 
held in Westchester county. 

He is especially distinguished as a trial 
lawyer, being skilled in the examination of 
witnesses, and adept in the introduction of 
testimony on his own side of the case. He 
was retained in the defence of many homi- 
cide cases besides those he prosecuted when 
district attorney. One of the important 
cases entrusted to his care involved the es- 
tate of John McCaffery in the probate court 
of Chicago, Illinois, in which large sums 
were at stake. Judge Piatt's success in his 
chosen profession has been due to the in- 
dustrious application of his talents and to 
his keen and brilliant mind. His prepara- 
tion of cases has been marked by thorough- 
ness, and he was always found well pre- 
pared for any contingency in the trial of his 
cases. Among the most notable of his crim- 
inal cases was the defence of Frank Brouty, 
charged with the murder of Constable Wood 
of Mount Vernon. After a stubborn con- 
test, which was carried through the court 
of appeals, the defendant was convicted, but 
his life was saved, and the victory was one 
which reflected great credit upon the ability 
of Mr. Piatt as a trial lawyer. Judge Piatt 
is a vestryman of Grace Church at White 
Plains. He is also an active member of 
White Plains Lodge, No. 473, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons ; the Medico-Legal 
Society of the United States; the Demo- 
cratic Club, of New York City; and the 
Knollwood Country Club, of White Plains. 
He is at all times and under all circum- 
stances a gentleman of dignified and affable 
manners, a champion of truth and right, and 
a possessor of the respect and esteem of his 
contemporaries. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



He married, October i, 1890, Sarah Dean, 
born April 28, 1861, daughter of Moses W. 
and Sarah (Stuart) Dean. They have two 
sons: Stuart (Dean) Piatt, born February 
24, 1896; and William Popham, Jr., August 
18, 1900. Their handsome country residence 
is situated within the corporate limits of 
White Plains, and is the scene of generous 
hospitality and the home of many cultured 
gatherings. 



The Neal family, of Ellenville, 

NEAL New York, is of English descent, 
but the name is also found in a 
slightly varied form in Ireland and Scotland. 
The American ancestor of the branch of the 
family, here under discussion, came to this 
country about the year 1620. 

(I) Neal, who lived and died in the 

state of Maine, was a soldier during the revo- 
lutionary war. He reared a large family, the 
names of his children being as follows : David, 
Rufus, Joshua, Samuel, Mercy, Susan, Pa- 
tience, Huldah, Jane, Hannah, William, see 
forward ; Sarah, Keziah. 

(H) William, son of Neal, was born 

April 23, 1788, at Berwick, Maine, where he 
lived until 1812. He then removed to Lisbon, 
Maine, and his death occurred there, June 12, 
1868. In his early manhood he was engaged 
in the profession of teaching, but later in life 
made farming his chief occupation. Like his 
father, he was a brave defender of the rights 
of his country, and was an active participant 
in the war of 1812. He married Mehitable, 
who died in 1866. a daughter of Joseph Kil- 
gore, a prosperous farmer, who had been a 
soldier in the war of the revolution. They 
had children: Edwin, William, Mary J., Em- 
meline P., William K., Margaret, and Albert 
C, see forward. 

(Ill) Albert C. son of William and Mehit- 
able ( Kilgore ) Neal, was born in Lisbon, 
Maine, April 8, 1825, and died at Ellenville. 
New York, December 16, 1904. Mr. Neal 
■was engaged as a contractor from 1850 until 
i86r, his business being that of loading cotton 
on board ships. Upon the outbreak of the 
civil war he was appointed to the position of 
paymaster in the army. In 1866 he returned 
to his home, where he became pension attor- 
ney, prosecuting claims against the govern- 
JTient. He was advanced in vears when he 



finally retired to a life of ease and rest. His 
political affiliations were with the Republican 
party, and fraternally he was a member of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Mr. 
Neal married, December 31, 1849, Octavia T. 
Whitney, of Lisbon, Maine, who was born 
February 9, 1828, and died February 14, 1889. 
They had two children, born in Lisbon : Ben- 
jamin Franklin, see forward ; and Mary J., 
who married Thomas J. Home, of Lisbon 
Falls, Maine. 

(IV) Dr. Benjamin Franklin Neal, son of 
Albert C. and Octavia T. (Whitney) Neal, 
was born at Lisbon, Maine, February 25, 
1853. There he attended the district schools 
until the age of thirteen years, when he be- 
came a student in the high school at Lisbon 
Falls, from which he was graduated in the 
class of 1 87 1. For a short time he was em- 
ployed as a clerk in a store; then in the fall 
of 1873 '^^ matriculated at Bowdoin College 
and graduated from this institution in 1876, 
when the degree of Master of Arts was con- 
ferred upon him. Entering the medical de- 
partment of Dartmouth College, he in due 
course of time was awarded the degree of 
Doctor of Medicine. Dr. Neal at once estab- 
lished himself in the practice of his profession 
in Lincolnville, Waldo county, Maine, re- 
maining there for a period of four years. 
One year was then spent at Gardner, whence 
he removed to Belgrade, Maine, and at the 
end of six years, he left this town, went to 
New York and there took a course in medi- 
cine and surgery at the Post Graduate College. 
Having completed this course in November, 
1888, he went to Ellenville, New York, where 
he has since been engaged in the successful 
practice of the profession to which he is de- 
voted. Dr. Neal is also a registered New 
York state pharmacist, is president of the 
Doyle Drug Company, of Ellenville, New 
York, and is a trustee and director of the 
Ponpfhkeepsie Utility Company. Profession- 
ally l^e is a member of the Maine State Medi- 
cal .\.«sociation, the Waldo County Medical 
-AsFOciation and the Kennebec County Medical 
.Association His political support is nfiven to 
the Democrati'- parly. His fraternal affilia- 
tions are as follows : Wawarsing Lodge, No. 
582, Free and Accepted Masons ; Wawarsing 
Chapter. No. 246. Royal Arch Masons : Ron- 
dont Commandery, No. ^2, Knights Templar; 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



629 



Mecca Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, 
of New York City; Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows; Benevolent and Protective Or- 
der of Elks ; and George Innes Council, Junior 
Order of United American Mechanics. 

Dr. Neal married, October 12, 1881, Anna 
H. Marson, who was born in Pittston, Maine, 
December 18, 1855. 



The founder of the Bronk fam- 
BRONK ily in America was Jonas Bronk, 

born in Copenhagen, Denmark, 
died at Bronxland, Westchester county. New 
York. He married Antonia Slagboom. He 
came to America in 1639 from Amsterdam, 
in his own ship "Fire of Troy," a private 
armed vessel, accompanied by his friend and 
officer in the Danish army. Captain Jochiem 
Pietersen Kuyter. He brought a cargo of 
cattle and each was attended by his family and 
a number of farmers or herdsmen. He was 
a man of means, and loaned money in large 
sums. He was of a family long distinguished 
in Sweden, though probably himself from 
Copenhagen. He located his land north of 
the Great Kill and built a "stone house cov- 
ered with tiles, a barn, tobacco house, two 
barracks, etc." He later purchased from 
the Indians five hundred acres on the now 
Bronx river, later included in the Manor of 
Morrisania. He was a devoted Lutheran, and 
brought with him Luther's Catechism and a 
folio Danish Bible. From it he drew a name 
for his home "Emaus." It was here that 
Director Kieft sent delegates to meet the In- 
dian chiefs and made a treaty. This treaty 
was followed by the unproved murder of the 
Indians for which they exacted frightful ven- 
geance upon the Dutch settlers. It was at 
this time that Jonas Bronk met his death, per- 
haps at the hands of the savages, but as his 
property was spared, they may have been 
guiltless. "Seignor" Bronk, as he was styled, 
must be rated above the ordinary colonist. His 
Danish and Latin library, stored with law, 
history, and books of divinity, indicate taste, 
culture and piety. His widow Antonia, 
daughter of Juriaen Slagboom, whom he mar- 
ried in Amsterdam. Holland, married (sec- 
ond) Arent Van Curler, of Rensselaerwyck. 
She died at Schenectady. New York, Decem- 
ber 19, 1676. 

(II) Pieter Jonasen. son of Jonas Bronk, 
was born in Holland, died in Coxsackie, New 



York, 1669. He was a brewer of Beverwyck 
as early as 1645, owned houses and lots which 
he sold in 1662, and purchased land in Cox- 
sackie, which was the colonial grant known as 
the Bronk patent, upon which he settled. His 
wife was Hilletje Tyssinck. 

(III) Jan, son of Pieter Jonasen Bronk, 
was born in Albany, New York, 1650, died 
at Coxsackie, New York, 1742. He built a 
saw and grist mill. He married Commertje 
Leendertse Conyn. His will speaks of five 
sons only: Pieter, Jonas, Phillip, Casper, and 
Leendert Janse. Daughters, Antje and 
Helena. 

(IV) Leendert Janse (Leonard Janse), son 
of Jan Bronk, was born about 1699. He mar- 
ried, February 26, 1717, Anna de Wandalaer. 
Children: Jan Leendertse, Sara, Commertje 
and Catharina. 

(V) Jan Leendertse, son of Leendert Janse 
(Leonard Janse) Bronk, was baptized July 
14, 1723. died 1794. He married (first) June 
17. 1/47' Elsje Van Buren ; (second) Susan- 
na Hotaling (Hooghteeling). Elsje Van 
Buren was a descendant of Cornells Maase 
and Catalina Martense Van Buren, who came 
to America on the ship "Rensselaerwyck"; 
Cornells M., died 1643, his wife, 1648. Their 
son, Martin Cornelis Van Buren, was born in 
Houten, province of Utrecht. He married 

Maritje . Their son, Pieter Martinse 

Van Buren, of Kinderhook (1720), married 
Arientje Barentse, January 15, 1693. Their 
son, Barent Van Buren, married (first) De- 
cember 29, 1719, Maria Winne, daughter of 
Livinus Winne and Willempje (Viele) Winne, 
widow of Simon Schermerhorn, and grand- 
daughter of Peter Winne, from Ghent in 
Flanders, and Jannetje (Adams) Winne, of 
Friesland. Their daughter, Elsje Van Buren, 
married Jan Leendertse Bronk. They had 
an only son Leonard. 

(VI) Leonard Bronk, only child of Jan 
Leendertse and Elsje (Van Buren) Bronk. 
was born May 11, 175 1, died April 22, 1828. 
He was a member of the New York state as- 
sembly, 1786-98; of the state senate, 1800. 
Was first judge of the court of appeals of 
Greene county; was an officer in the revolu- 
tionary army, first as a lieutenant, later as 
captain, and was discharged with rank of 
lieutenant-colonel ; was supervisor of Albany 
county. He was an intimate friend of Gen- 
eral Schuyler and General Gansevoort. He 



630 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



married (first) January 11, 1779, Tryntje, 
daughter of Robert Van Denbergh; (second) 
Albertje Van Buren. Tryntje (Catherine) 
Van Denbergh was a daughter of Robert and 
granddaughter of Richard Janse Van Den- 
bergh and Catherine (Tryntje) Houghtaling 
(Hotahng), who were married November 13, 
1699. Catherine was a sister of Matthys 
Houghtahng, born 1644, died 1796. Robert 

Van Denbergh married Brandow. 

Their daughter Tryntje (Catherine) married 
Hon. Leonard Bronk. Children of Leonard 
and Tryntje (Catherine) Bronk; Elsie, born 
December 23, 1782, married, November 27, 
1799, in Kinderhook, Rev. Jacob Sickles; and 
Leonard, born June 29, 1797, married Maria, 
daughter of Dr. John Ely. 



According to Schoonmak- 

HOORNBEEK er's "History of King- 
ston," we find that the 
Hoornbeek family of America, one of the old- 
est Dutch families, was founded by Warnaar 
Hoornbeek, who was one of the early settlers 
in Ulster county. New York. He was a man 
of influence in the community and reared a 
large family, having eighteen children by his 
two wives. He married (first) Anna, daugh- 
ter of Anthony de Horges and Eva Albertse 
Bratt, and (second) Grietze Tyssen. 

(H) Johannis, son of Warnaar and Grietze 
(Tyssen) Hoornbeek, was a farmer in Ulster 
county. New York. 

(HI) Johannis (2), son of Johannis (i) 
Hoornbeek, was a farmer and blacksmith, and 
took a prominent part in the political afifairs 
of his time as a supporter of the Democratic 
party. He was the first supervisor from the 
town of Wawarsing, serving from April i, 
1806 to 1810, and when he was again elected, 
served from 1816 to 1817; and later he served 
from 1827 to 1831. He married Gertrude Du 
Bois, a lineal descendant of Louis Du Bois, 
who was one of the twelve patentees of New 
Palz, she being of the fourth generation in this 
country. They had children : Calvin, see 
forward ; John, Methusalem, Cornelius, Philip 
D. B. 

(IV) Calvin, son of Johannis (2) Hoorn- 
beek, was born in the town of Wawarsing, 
Ulster county. New York, September 17, 1813, 
died March 31. 1892. He received a meagre 
education in his native town, and after his 



marriage settled on a farm at Napanoch, New 
York. Later he went to Libertyville, township 
of Gardner, where he kept a store for a while, 
and then moved back to his old home town of 
Wawarsing, where he managed his farm and 
was with his brother, John Hoornbeek, in the 
tanning business. Later he left this farm in 
W'arwarsing and moved to New Paltz, where 
he resided one year. He then moved back to 
Napanoch, where he resided until his death 
in 1892. He was a Democrat and served his 
town as supervisor for several terms, and his 
county one term as county treasurer. He mar- 
ried Catharine DePuy, December 20, 1832. 
Their children: John C, see forward; Maria, 
Louis D. B., Stephen E. D., Elenora, Cath- 
arine B. 

(V) John C, son of Calvin and Catherine 
(DePuy) Hoornbeek, was born at Napanoch, 
New York, March 3, 1834, died at W'awarsing, 
November 5, 1910. Until the age of thirteen 
years he was a pupil in the district schools of 
Wawarsing, and after spending two years at 
school in Napanoch, he completed his educa- 
tion at Kingston Academy. While he was still 
a student he decided to establish himself in 
business and accordingly opened a grocery 
store at Port Hixon, conducting this for a 
period of six years. He then became asso- 
ciated with William H. De Garmo, and was 
engaged in the tanning and mercantile busi- 
ness at Wawarsing, New York. This associa- 
tion was in force until 1876, at which time Mr. 
Hoornbeek purchased the interest of his part- 
ner and continued this business alone. In 
1879 he commenced the manufacture of excel- 
sior, and the following year erected another 
factory at Boiceville. In 1900 he built a mill 
at Napanoch for the manufacture of dry wood 
pulp, and he was also extensively engaged in 
the bending works for auto-wagons, etc., at 
Boiceville. Since the death of Mr. Hoornbeek 
these extensive interests have been continued 
and are conducted by his sons. Mr. Hoorn- 
beek was the largest landowner in Ulster 
county. He was a self-made man in the high- 
est and best sense of the expression, and one 
who had won the esteem and respect of all 
with whom he had dealings, whether in pri- 
vate or business life. For a number of years 
he had been president of the Ellenville Sav- 
ings Bank, but was obliged to resign this post 
of honor and trust owing to the press of his 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



631 



other interests. He served a number of times 
as delegate to state and county conventions, 
and in 1896 was honored by being chosen 
Democratic presidential elector. His fraternal 
affiliation was with Wawarsing Lodge, No. 
582, Free and Accepted Masons, of Ellenville, 
New York, of which he was a charter member. 

Mr. Hoornbeek married, in January, 1859, 
Amelia, born May 11, 1834, died January 25, 
191 1, daughter of John B. Van Leuven, of 
Rochester, Ulster county, New York. Chil- 
dren : Louis A., see forward ; Elias D. ; Ar- 
thur v., see forward. 

(VI) Louis A., son of John C. and Amelia 
(Van Leuven) Hoornbeek, was born in the 
town of Wawarsing, Ulster county, New 
York, October 31, 1864, on the old Hoornbeek 
homestead. He attended the district schools 
of his native town, and Rhinebeck Academy, 
Rhinebeck, New York, under the tutorship of 
James De Garmo. Then he became associated 
with his father until 1885. when he moved to 
Napanoch, and settled on the farms formerly 
owned by Jacob Joy and Andrew Schoon- 
maker, both consisting of two hundred and 
fifty acres. Here he followed farming, and 
bought the Jacob Hoornbeek grist mill, which 
he later sold to his father, who turned it into 
a pulp mill, which is still being conducted by 
John C. Hoornbeek's sons. During his 
father's life he was associated with him in his 
various enterprises, and on his death, with 
his brother, succeeded to his interests, which 
they still conduct. He is a member of Wawar- 
sing Lodge, No. 582, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons : and Wawarsing Chapter ; Junior Order 
of American Mechanics, Napanoch, New 
York. He is a Democrat in politics, and in 
religion an attendant of the Methodist church. 
He married, October 7, 1885, Frances Estelle 
Brundage. Children : Ethel B., Clarence A., 
John C. 

(VI) Arthur V., son of John C. and Ame- 
lia (Van Leuven) Hoornbeek, was born in 
Wawarsing, New York, September 15, 1873. 
The district schools of his native town fur- 
nished his early education, and going from 
there he went to Ellenville Academy, and fin- 
ally to Eastman's Business College in Pough- 
keepsie, New York. Early in life he became 
associated with his father in the various busi- 
ness enterprises of the latter, thus obtaining a 
thorough and practical knowledge of every de- 



tail. Since the death of his father, in associa- 
tion with his brothers, he has carried on all 
the various lines under the firm name of John 
C. Hoornbeek's Sons, manufacturers of dry 
wood pulp and excelsior. The products of 
the firm are known and valued throughout the 
country. Mr. Hoornbeek married, June 29, 
1905, Josephine, daughter of William Decker, 
of Kerhonkson, Ulster county, New York. 
Mr. Hoornbeek has apparently inherited in 
large measure the business and executive abil- 
ity so generously displayed by his father, and 
is a man of most progressive ideas. 



The name Clark or Clarke is de- 
CLARK rived from the term clericus, 
meaning "a priest," or "one con- 
nected with the service of the church." At 
first the term was used only to designate those 
in clerical orders, but as in early times the 
church was the only source and protector of 
learning, any person who had been educated 
by the clergy eventually came to be called "a 
clerk." The designation was finally given to 
all who were able to read and write. So dis- 
tinguished a name was eagerly coveted. Hence 
its frequency, many people adding "le clerk" 
to their names. This was finally dropped and 
only Clerk left, or as it was pronounced Clark. 
The final "e" is an addition of later times, given 
for the most part at mere caprice. Compounds 
of the name are Beauclark, the good clerk ; 
and Pityclerk, the little clerk; Kenclerk, the 
knowing clerk ; and Mauclerk, the bad clerk. 
The name Milo le Clerk is found in the "One 
Hundred Rolls," compiled in the reign of Ed- 
ward I., which contains records of the persons 
who owned lands in the time of William the 
Conqueror, for which they paid rent in money, 
sheep, or hens, or gave their service as sol- 
diers. Several Domesday tenants are desig- 
nated "Clericus." An interesting tradition has 
been handed down by one family bearing the 
name of Clark or Clarke, with regard to a 
marriage with one of the descendants of Jo- 
seph of Arimathea. After the Crucifixion, 
Joseph was banished from Judea. In company 
with Philip the Apostle, Mary, Martha, Laza- 
rus, and a servant Marcilla, he was put into 
a vessel without sails or oars, and set adrift to 
perish in the sea. The ship was thrown upon 
the French coast. Joseph finally found his 
way to Britain, where he founded a church 



632 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



at Glastonbury, to which place thousands of 
the devout in the Middle Ages journeyed ev- 
ery year to see the blossoming of the sacred 
thorn on Christmas Day. Upon what author- 
ity the connection of the family of Clark with 
Joseph rests, history maintains a discreet si- 
lence. It gives the tradition and leaves the rest 
to the imagination. There are many families 
of the name of Clark having the right to bear 
arms, both in England, Scotland and Ireland. 
In the latter two countries the name Clark is 
usually a translation from the older Gaelic 
name, O'Cleirigh or MacCleirigh, which in its 
turn is derived from the name of the main 
ancestor, Cleirach (Gaelic, "a clerk"), who on 
official Irish pedigrees, is given as No. loi on 
the O'Shaughnessy pedigree, the one family 
being a branch of the other and both belong- 
ing to the Heremonian stem. The arms of 
one Clark family are thus heraldically describ- 
ed : Argent, on a bend gules, between three 
roundels sable, as many swans of the field. 
Crest : Out of a tau cross or three roses gules, 
leaves vert, between a pair of wings azure. 
Motto : Sccrctum mei gaudii in cnice — The 
secret of my joy is in the cross. 

(I) Henry Clark was the son of Nathaniel 
Clark, and was born December 4, 1764, in 
Orange county, New York, lived in the town 
of Blooming Grove, and died at Salisbury 
Mills, Orange county. New York. The Clark 
name is so numerous that it is difficult for the 
genealogist to connect one branch with an- 
other among the English, Irish, Dutch, Scotch, 
Welsh and other families bearing the name. 
This family is of Welsh descent. If Henry 
Clark was not the son of the immigrant an- 
cestor who came to America a little before the 
revolution, it seems probable that he was de- 
scended from John Clark, son of William 
Clark, who settled in Middletown, Connecti- 
cut, between 1675 ^"<i 1680, whose descend- 
ants are now numerous in New York. The 
father, William Clark, was one of the original 
settlers of Haddam, Connecticut. In Field's 
"Statistical Account of the County of Middle- 
sex in Connecticut," it is stated that the first 
settlement there was made by twenty-eight 
young men who bought their land from Mat- 
thew Allyn and Samuel Willys, who purchased 
it from the Indians for thirty coats, a tract 
extending six miles east and westerly from 
the Connecticut river. At the beginninsr of 
the first book of Haddam records William 



Clark's name is third on the list of those to 
whom land is distributed. He died at Had- 
dam, July 22, 1681, and his will, together with 
the inventory of his estate, is among the pro- 
bate records of Hartford, Connecticut. His 
estate was appraised at four hundred and 
twelve pounds, eighteen shillings, quite a re- 
spectable fortune in those days. The children 
who survived him were: Thomas, William, 
John, Joseph, Hannah, and other daughters 
mentioned only in their family names : Mrs. 
Wells, Mrs. Fennoe and Mrs. Spencer. His 
son John married Elizabeth, daughter of Cap- 
tain Nathaniel White, and appears to have 
been a man of standing and property. John, 
the son of John, and grandson of William, 
had a homestead of thirteen acres given to 
him in 1720 by his father, who in 1730 also 
deeded him one hundred and sixty-one acres 
of land at Haddam. He married Sarah Good- 
win, of Hartford, and his grandsons, through 
his son William, are the first of the family to 
appear settled in New York. 

The exact relationship of Henry Clark to- 
wards this family, assuming such a relation- 
ship to exist, does not seem clear. He spent 
his early days in Orange county, where he was 
a farmer. He also lived in Middletown and 
other places in the vicinity, where he was a 
farmer and mason. Later in life he settled 
in the town of Neversink, Sullivan county. 
Here he was a prominent man, and a Chris- 
tian of devout character, who was greatly re- 
spected by all who knew him. Henry Clark 
was one of the founders of the Reformed 
Dutch church of Grahamville. He married 
Susan G. Horton, born October 20, 1792, died 
January 7, 1844. Children: Mary H., mar- 
ried J. Denniston; Walter; Nathan Corwin. 
mentioned below ; Eunice, married Henry 
White; Sarah T., married William T. Stead. 

(II) Nathan Corwin, son of Henry and 
Susan G. (Horton) Clark, was born Decem- 
ber 21, 1818, in the town of Blooming Grove, 
Orange county, New York, and died Febru- 
ary 25, 1906, at his residence in Ellenville. 
New York. He was educated in the district 
schools of Blooming Grove, Orange county, 
and early in life went west and found em- 
ployment in a general store at Ravenna. Ohio. 
Here he remained a year, and at the end of 
that period returned to his native town and 
took up school teaching. He was a teacher 
from that time in various schools nf Orange 




.Ad/mn % ^Jar/c 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



633 



and Sullivan counties. This continued for 
eight or nine years, and at the end of that 
time he forsook the teaching profession and in 
company with his father-in-law opened a 
general store in Grahamsville. The partner- 
ship between him and his father-in-law, R. D. 
Childs, continued for a number of years, when 
it was dissolved and Mr. Clark formed another 
partnership with George B. Childs. The part- 
nership formed with George B. Childs, under 
the firm name of N. C. Clark & Company, did 
an extensive and lucrative business in lumber 
and turn stuff in connection with their general 
store. This partnership continued until 1876, 
when, with his son, R. D. Clark, he formed a 
partnership which continued until 1878. In 
1880 Mr. Clark and his son again engaged in 
business in Fallsburg, New York. He re- 
mained in business in that town until the year 
1890, when he retired from active business. 
In the year 1905 he moved from Grahamsville 
to Ellenville, in company with his daughter, 
with whom he resided until he passed away 
in 1906. Mr. Clark was a member of the 
Board of Supervisors on the Democratic 
ticket from the town of Neversink, Sullivan 
county, for two terms, and chairman of the 
board one year. He was a member and offi- 
cer of the Reformed church for forty-six 
years, and was also justice of the peace for a 
number of years. He was a stockholder in 
the Bank of Monticello, New York, and was 
one of the founders and original directors of 
the First National Bank of Ellenville, New 
York, and subsequently became its vice-presi- 
dent, holding both positions continually, until 
his death and outliving all the rest of the 
original board by nearly two decades. He 
was one of the most prominent men in the 
surrounding country, comprising parts of Sul- 
livan and Ulster counties. Though largely 
self-educated, during the time he worked as 
a teacher in the schools, he was a man of ac- 
complishments and large reading. He took 
the keenest interests in the public questions 
of the day, whether they related to national, 
state or civic affairs, though his time was 
greatly absorbed by the demands of business. 
By all who knew him he was looked upon as 
a man of high character, an extremely capable 
business man, and an excellent citizen. He 
married, July 29, 1848, Clarissa A. Childs, 
born November 14. 1821. died September 30, 



1898, at Grahamsville. Children: Mary H. ; 
R. Dwight, of whom further; M. Eugene, of 
whom further. All are residents of Ellen- 
ville, New York. 

(Ill) R. Dwight, son of Nathan Corwin 
and Clarissa A. (Childs) Clark, was born at 
Grahamsville, Sullivan county. New York, 
July II, 1857. He was educated in the district 
schools and at Eastman's Business College, 
Poughkeepsie, New York, afterwards going 
to Monticello, Sullivan county. New York. 
In 1876 he became a member of the 
firm of N. C. Clark & Son, of Gra- 
hamsville. This continued until 1880, 
when they built a store for general mer- 
chandising at Fallsburg Station. Mr. Nathan 
Corwin Clark was then at the head of a large 
business. When he retired in 1890 his son, R. 
Dwight Clark, succeeded him. Two years 
afterwards, in connection with his general 
business he established the R. D. Clark Feed, 
Coal and Lumber Company, which proved 
successful from the start. In 1904, after a 
quarter of a century of successful and ener- 
getic business life, Mr. Clark purchased a resi- 
dence in Ellenville and settled there in October 
of that year. In 1905 he bought the coal and 
oil business of O. H. Harting, which business 
Mr. Clark still maintains, having disposed of 
his entire business interests at Fallsburg in 
1905. He has been for many years a director 
of the National Union Bank of Monticello, 
New York, and trustee of the Ellenville Sav- 
ings Bank, also a director of the First Na- 
tional Bank of Ellenville. He is a member 
of the Reformed church, and for many years 
an elder. He is a Democrat in politics, and 
has always taken great interest in public af- 
fairs, was postmaster at South Fallsburg, New 
York, under Cleveland's first administration. 
but has never sought or held any other public 
office. 

On September 15. 1881, he married Harriet 
L. Grant, born February 4, i860, youngest 
daughter of Isaac and Hannah Leroy Grant, 
of the town of Neversink, Sullivan county. 
New York. Mr. Grant represented his town 
on the board of supervisors and was one of 
Sullivan county's merchants of prominence. 
Children: i. Augusta C, born July 9, 1882; 
married Raymond G. Cox, attorney of Ellen- 
ville, April 20, 1907, and has one daughter, 
Harriet G. Cox. 2. Harry N., born June 9,' 



634 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



1885; a graduate of Princeton, class of 1907; 
a civil engineer, now in Hayti ; married, Oc- 
tober 19, 191 1, Emma Askew, of Atlanta, 
Georgia. 3. R. Eugene, born August 14, 18S7; 
a graduate of Cornell, class of 191 1. 

(Ill) M. Eugene, son of Nathan Corwin 
and Clarissa A. (Childs) Clark, was born at 
Grahamsville, Sullivan county. New York, Au- 
gust 12, 1863. He was educated in the dis- 
trict schools of his native town, Chappaqua 
Mountain Institute, Westchester county. New 
York, and Fort Edward Institute, Fort Ed- 
ward, New York. His first start in life was 
in the mercantile business with his brother at 
South Fallsburg, New York, in which he con- 
tinued for five years, and in 1887 he came to 
EUenville and became a bookkeeper in the 
First National Bank, in 1890, being made 
cashier, and in 1897, on the death of its presi- 
dent, Charles Vernooy, he was elected to suc- 
ceed him as president, which position he has 
acceptably filled to the present time (1913). 
He is and has been elder for the past fifteen 
years in the Dutch Reformed church of EUen- 
ville ; a member of the EUenville board of 
education for ten years, at the present time 
serving as president ; was a member of the 
Democratic county committee ; and a dele- 
gate to the Democratic National Conven- 
tion at Baltimore, Maryland, that nomin- 
ated President Wilson. Although it has been 
suggested that he accept public office by the 
leaders of the Democratic party, he has never 
done so, preferring to devote his entire time 
and attention to his business pursuits. He is 
public-spirited and progressive, active in the 
affairs of the community in which he resides, 
and is one of the influential and substantial 
citizens of EUenville. He married (first) in 
1890, Mary Ella Weeks, born in July, 1862, 
died in 1902. He married (second) October 
28, 1903, Lenora Terwilliger. 



The family hereditary 
TERWILLIGER name of Terwilliger is 

Holland Dutch in origin, 
and resolved into its original elements be- 
comes Van Der Willigen or Van Derwilligen. 
It is evident from the records that all the 
children of Jan Evertsz and Sytje VanEtten 
took the name of Van der Willigen or Ter- 
willigen (er), which was modified later and 
more generally to Terwilliger. From the una- 
nimity with which all of them did so it is plain 



that the family name in the Netherlands was 
either Van Der Willigen or Terwilligen. Van 
d^r Willigen means "From the Willows," Ter 
\\ illigen means "Near the Willows." It is 
thus plain that the family name was origin- 
ally derived from some place in the neighbor- 
hood of woods of willow trees. Vianen, from 
which the original American emigrants of the 
name hailed directly on coming to this country, 
is in the province of South Holland, seven 
miles southeast of Utrecht and thirteen miles 
northeast of Gorcum. In 1870 it had a popu- 
lation of three thousand two hundred. Fami- 
lies of the name of Terwilliger were prominent 
at an early date in Ulster county and the ad- 
joining counties. It has been borne through 
succeeding generations by sturdy and worthy 
yeomen, as well as by men of prominence in 
business and public afifairs. Among the ar- 
rivals from the Netherlands, March 15, 1663, 
in the "Arend" (Eagle) Captain Pieter Corne- 
lisz Bes, from Amsterdam for Manhattan, 
were Evert Dircksen (Terwilliger) from 
Vianen, and two children, thirteen and six 
years old. Also Annetje Dirck (probably 
Evert's sister) widow, from Vianen, and 
child, four years old. 

( I ) Dirck Terwilliger or Van Der Willigen, 
ancestor of the family bearing the name of 
Terwilliger in America, was born probably 
about 1610 in Holland, where he lived and 
died. He resided at Vianen and probably died 
there. He belonged, according to tradition, 
to the farming class. 

(II) Evert or Dirck, son of Dirck Terwilli- 
ger or Van Der \\'illigen, and immigrant an- 
cestor of the Terwilliger family, was born at 
\'ianen in Holland, and came to this country 
in 1663, with his sister, Annetje Dirck. a wi- 
dow, with a child four years old. Among the 
arrivals from the Netherlands, March 15, 
1663, was Evert Dircksen Terwilliger, accord- 
ing to the records. There is no record of the 
name of Evert's wife, who had probably died 
in Holland before he crossed the sea, and it 
seems that Evert did not marry again. His 
children were Jan and a daughter. 

(HI) Jan, son of Evert Terwilliger, was 
born at Vianen, in Holland, in 1657, and died 
at Kingston, New York. In the marriage 
records of Kingston, under date of April 23, 
1685, is the record of the marriage of "Jan 
Evertsz, young man of Vianen, under the jur- 
isdiction of the Diocese of Utrecht, and Svtie 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



635 



Jacobz van Etten, young woman of Kings- 
touwne, both residing in Marmur (Marble- 
town)." Both Evert Dirckson, the father, and 
Jan Evertsz, the son, appeared at first only 
under their patronymic, as was customary with 
all the Dutch families of the period. Evert 
Dircksen means Evert, the son of Dirck. His 
son was known as Jan Evertsz or Evertsen. 
The children of Jan Everts and Sytie Jacobsz 
Van Etten resumed the family name of Ter- 
williger (Van Der Williger, Derwilligen). 
Without doubt Jan was the six year old son 
of Evert Dircksen of 1663 in the "Eagle." 
Children : Evert, mentioned below ; Jacobus, 
baptized November 25, 1688: Johannes, No- 
vember. 6, 1692; Jannetje, June 9, 1695; 
Matheus, April 18, 1697; Matheus, October 
30, 1698; Salomon, September i, 1700; Man- 
uel, May 31, 1702: Pieter or Petrus, Septem- 
ber 3, 1704; Ary or Adrian, September 22, 
1706; Abraham, September 18, 1707; Ysaak, 
June 10, 1716. 

(IV) Evert, eldest son of Jan Evertsz and 
Sytie Jacobsz (Van Etten) Terwilliger, was 
baptized at Kingston, New York, May 23, 
1686. He married. August 18, 1717, Zara 
Freer, "a youn^ woman born in New Paltz." 
Among his children was Hugo, mentioned 
below. 

(V) Hugo, son of Evert and Zara (Freer) 
Terwilliger, was born near Kingston, about 
1720. He married Jannetje Frere. Among 
his children was Benjamin, mentioned below. 

(VI) Benjamin, son of Hugo and Tannet'e 
(Frere) Terwilliger. was born near Kingston, 
Ulster county. New York, September 23, 1753. 
He married Eva Hasbrook. Among his chil- 
dren was Cornelis or Cornelius, mentioned 
below. 

(VII) Cornelis (or Cornelius), son of Ben- 
jamin and Eva (Hasbrook) Terwil1is:er, was 
born near Kingston, and baptized December 
26, 1785. Among his children was Jonathan 
C, mentioned below 

(VIII) Jonathan C, son of Cornelis (or 
Cornelius) Terwilliger, was born in the town 
Wawarsing, Ulster county. New York, Tune 
22, 1819, and died June 13, 1885. His educa- 
tion was such as the countrv school afiforded 
in those days. In early life he learned the 
carpenter's trade, became a successful contrac- 
tor and builder and was so engaged for thirtv- 
five years in Ellenville and its vicinity. He 
was president of the village for one term and 



was chief of the first fire department of Ellen- 
ville. He was a strong temperance advocate, 
and a man of sterling qualities, greatly re- 
spected by all who knew him. He married 
Elizabeth R. Wilber. 

(IX) Uriah E., son of Jonathan C. and 
Elizabeth R. (Wilber) Terwilliger, was born 
in the village of Ellenville, Ulster county, 
New York, December 10, 1849. His educa- 
tion was begun in the public schools of his na- 
tive town and continued at the Ellenville High 
School, conducted for long years by Professor 
S. A. Law Post, which was then an institution 
of considerable prominence. Later Mr. Ter- 
williger attended Waring's Military Institute, 
at Poughkeepsie, and the Hudson River Insti- 
tute, at Claverack, New York. At an early age 
comparatively he was compelled, because of 
impaired health, to abandon plans for extended 
study, and for three years engaged with his 
father, thus acquiring a practical knowledge of 
carpentry. A little later on, at nineteen years 
of age, he established a real estate and in- 
surance agency. With characteristic enthusi- 
asm Mr. Terwilliger quickly developed the 
business, and eventually, with partners, built 
up one of the largest general insurance agen- 
cies in the state. The firm's style for a number 
of years was Neafie & Terwilliger, then Neafie, 
Terwilliger & Post. For many years after 
Mr. Terwilliger's brother, Edward N., was his 
only associate in the firm which was familiarly 
known as U. E. and E. N. Terwilliger, and 
three years since, upon the admission of Bert 
H , only son of Mr. Terwilliger, the business 
became known and is now conducted as The 
Terwilliger Agency. In connection with this 
particular business Mr. Terwilliger was con- 
spicuously entrusted with many fiduciary in- 
terests as the executor and administrator of 
estates, and as the representative of various 
financial institutions throughout the county 
and elsewhere, until he became widely known 
for his business sagacity and unswerving hon- 
esty. Always deeply interested in local affairs, 
Mr. Terwilliger has given generously of time 
and money to matters of local weal. It was 
during his presidency of the board of educa- 
tion that the school system was advanced, a 
superintendent first employed, and the old high 
school property acquired for the use of the 
higher departments. A local Young Men's 
Christian Association and Board of Trade, 
both in active useful existence for many years. 



636 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



owed their beginning to his enthusiasm. From 
early manhood he has been an active member 
of the Reformed church, with which he has 
long been officially connected, and for twelve 
years superintendent of its Sunday school. In 
politics Mr. Terwilliger has always been a Re- 
publican, until the advent of the Progressive 
party, with which he is now affiliated. He 
has invariably declined political honors, though 
frequently urged to accept nominations, from 
supervisor of the town to state senator. 

But it is perhaps in the development of his 
estate at Mount Meenahga, now famous as a 
summer resort, that Mr. Terwilliger has be- 
come most widely known. After some years 
of close application to business, necessity for 
rest manifested itself, and in 1877 Mr. Terwil- 
liger and a party of friends formed a camp on 
the westerly side of the Shawangunks, two 
miles from EUenville. Impressed with the 
natural advantages and beauty of the location 
he made a lease of the property the following 
year, and three years later bought a tract of 
one hundred acres. With a view to making a 
permanent summer home, a comfortable cot- 
tage and barns were erected, and from time to 
time other cottages were built for the accom- 
modation of friends who sought more comfort- 
able quarters than a simple camp life afforded. 
Additional acres were bought from year to 
year, until finally the erection of a small board- 
ing house, in t88i, marked the beginning of the 
present Mount Meenahga as a resort, now sec- 
ond in importance only to one other in the 
county. Lake Mohonk. The property now 
comnrises upwards of six hundred acres, con- 
trolling the bold face of the mountain for 
nearly two miles. On the north and south are 
tracts owned by the village of EUenville, as 
a water preserve, numbering some five thou- 
sand acres, and assuring to Mount Meenahga 
for all time the advantages of a large forest 
domain. The work of development at Mount 
Meenahga has been along the lines of nature's 
plan, and rare genius has been displayed in 
the building of many miles of paths and roads 
that lead over the beautiful hilltops or through 
deep gorges, disclosing a wealth of beauty and 
grandeur at every turn. The hotel property 
is thoroughly modern in its equipment, and 
means for healthful recreation have been gen- 
erously provided. Mr. Terwilliger is one of 
the trustees of the EUenville Savings Bank and 
has been such for twenty-seven years, a wit- 



ness and abettor of its growth from $481,000 
to over $2,000,000 in deposits. 

Mr. Terwilliger married Alice A. Hoar, 
daughter of George Hoar, prominent as a boat 
builder of EUenville, New York. They have 
two children: i. Bert H., who married Flor- 
ence Tone, of Bergen, New York; children: 
Robert S. and Katharine T. 2. Alice Louise, 
married Harold B. Raymond, son of President 
P. B. Raymond, of the Wesleyan University, 
of Middletown, Connecticut. 



Reuben Bernard, the earliest 
BERNARD ancestor recorded in the fam- 
; ily Bible, was of English de- 
scent and was a Quaker. He was born on 
Long Island, October i, 1764, and died at 
Plattekill, Ulster county. New York, June 12, 
1840. At the time of the revolutionary war, 
his father's family being Loyalists, removed to 
Canada, he alone remaining in the state. In 
early manhood he came to Ulster county, 
where, about 1795, he married Mary Lawrence, 
and settled upon a farm at Plattekill. She 
was the daughter of Daniel and Phoebe ( Sim- 
mons) Lawrence, was born October 31, 1774, 
and died at Plattekill, November 30. 1851. 
The children of Reuben and Mary (Lawrence) 
Bernard were : Rachel, married John Church ; 
David Lawrence, see forward ; Daniel ; Wil- 
liam ; Mary, married Charles Palmer ; Annie, 

married Penny ; James. Daniel and 

James were also married. 

(II) David Lawrence, son of Reuben and 
Mary (Lawrence) Bernard, was born March 
II, 1803, and died at Highland, New York, 
July 4, 1879. He received such education as 
the public schools of the day afforded, but be- 
ing of a literary turn of mind, through reading 
and study became a man of more than ordinary 
culture. Early in life he engaged in teaching. 
Later, during the height of the Masonic excite- 
ment, he edited the LHster Palladium, an anti- 
Masonic publication. A file of these papers 
has been preserved in the Kingston Public 
Library. After leaving Kingston, he bought 
the farm near Clintondale, where he lived for 
many years. In 1872 he removed to Highland, 
New York, where his death occurred. Polit- 
ically he was a member of the old Whie party 
and was freqtiently a delegate to state and 
county conventions. In 1840 Mr. Bernard re- 
presented his district in the state legislature. 
He helped to organize the Republican party 




^^uIuAj..^ /(1m^u^-.^8--WL^ 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



^Z7 



and was faithful to it until his death. For 
several years he was president of the Ulster 
County Agricultural Society, and was a charter 
member of the Ulster County Historical So- 
ciety. He was a member of the Society of 
Friends by right of birth. 

Mr. Bernard married, October 21, 1826, Abi- 
gail, born January 8, 1809, died September 7, 
1874, a daughter of David and Mary (Ketch- 
um) Demerest. Children : William ; Reuben, 
see forward ; Mary. 

(HI) Reuben, second son of David Law- 
rence and Abigail (Demerest) Bernard, was 
born in Plattekill, Ulster county, New York, 
February 24, 1830. He was educated in the 
.schools of his neighborhood, and later at the 
New Paltz Academy and Amenia Seminary. 
In 1849 he commenced reading law in the offi- 
ces of Forsyth & Hasbrouck, at Kingston. He 
was graduated from the New York State and 
National Law School, at Ballston Spa, in 185 1, 
was awarded the degree of Bachelor of Laws, 
and was admitted to the Bar in the same year. 
Later he was admitted to practice in the courts 
of the United States. He commenced his pro- 
fessional work in the offices of his former pre- 
ceptors, and continued in the practice of his 
profession until his retirement in January, 
1909, in same location. In 1852 he was ap- 
pointed attorney for the Huguenot Bank, this 
having been organized at New Paltz, and from 
1855 until 1870 was attorney for the Ulster 
County Savings Institution, and from 1877 to 
1909, attorney for the New Paltz & Savings 
Bank. In 1858 he assumed official connection 
with the Kingston National Bank as its attor- 
ney ; was made a director in 1868 ; became its 
president in 1877, and now (1913) has entered 
upon his thirty-seventh year in that office. 
Four years were spent in office as the president 
of the Kingston & Rondout railroad, and he 
was for a number of years director of the 
W'allkill \'alley railroad ; he was attorney for 
both of these corporations. Another honor 
that came to him was that of the presidency 
of the Kingston Board of Trade, an office he 
held for many years. Mr. Bernard is a mem- 
ber of the Fair Street Reformed Church, has 
held various offices in the church and Sunday 
school, and has served as president of the Ul- 
ster County Sunday School Association. 

Mr. Bernard married, June 3, 1856, Jane 
Catherine, born August 8. 1833, died December 
18, 1903, a daughter of Dr. Garrett Du Bois 



and Sarah (Post) Crispell. Dr. Crispell was 
a practicing physician in Kingston for more 
than half a century. Children of Reuben 
Bernard: i. Mary Lawrence. 2. Amelia 
married Henry S. Crispell. 3. Sarah Crispell 
Bernard. 



The first one of this family of 
RICARD whom we have any definite in- 
formation is John Ricard, or 
Ricardo, as the name was originally spelled. 
He was a native of Bordeaux, was educated 
in the school of that city, and his vocation in 
life was that of a medical doctor. In Bor- 
deaux, where he followed his profession, he 
enjoyed the reputation of being a leading 
authority on medicine and consultation. He 
moved to New York and there married Maria 
Dilford and had five children: i. Mary, mar- 
ried Thomas Connor. 2. Mary Agnes, mar- 
ried (first) John Freedy, (second) Edward 
Randolph, (third) David Van Name. 3. 
George, born December 25, 1841, died in 1862. 
4. Catharine, married Peter Coyler. 5. John 
Augustus, mentioned below. Dr. Ricard 
eventually went back to Bordeaux where he 
died. 

(II) John Augustus, son of Dr. John and 
Maria (Dilford) Ricard, was born at No. 16 
Christie street. New York City, December 25, 
1820, died December 30, 1905. He received 
a liberal education, and at an early date began 
his career as a merchant. For several years 
he engaged in the grain business, meeting with 
marked success. He subsequently retired 
from this business and joined the police force 
of New York City. He was promoted first 
aid to Chief Matrell on his staff. After sev- 
eral years' service in the police department, 
he became president of the old Coney Island 
Railroad Company and he resigned from this 
to engage in the hotel business, remaining in 
this a short time. He then retired from active 
business. In politics he was a Democrat, but 
never held public office. He took great in- 
terest in military matters. He enlisted in the 
Ninth Regiment New York National Guard, 
and served for several years as color sergeant. 
He married, October 3, 1842. Maria A., daugh- 
ter of William and Doreco (Mercle) Laytin. 
Three children: i. William Laytin, mentioned 
below. 2. Elizabeth Matilda, born October 17, 
1 85 1, married Frederick A. Foggin. 3. Ellen 



638 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Louise, born July 21, 1857, married George 
Van Name ; one child, William. 

(Ill) William Laytin, son of John Augus- 
tus and Maria A. (Laytin) Ricard, was born 
in Williamsburg, New York City, August 13, 
1849. ^*^t the age of seven years he entered 
No. 12 public school on Madison street, where 
he remained four years. He then received 
private instruction until he was fifteen years 
of age, when his father moved to Staten 
Island, where he attended the Briggs Private 
School at Mariner's Harbor until the family 
returned to New York City, in 1857. He con- 
tinued his studies in the same private school 
until 1859, and then entered the shipping busi- 
ness in New York. In 1863 he became ship- 
ping clerk in the office of Layton & Hulbert, at 
No. 84-86-88 South street, New York City. 
He remained with this company three years 
and then resigned. He became connected with 
the firm of Young & Davidson, manufacturers 
of crackers and biscuits. He was promoted 
manager of the company, which office he held 
until about 1872, when he resigned his posi- 
tion to engage in the cigar and tobacco busi- 
ness. In 1876 he disposed of this business and 
retired from active work. He is a stockholder 
in the First National Bank of Brooklyn, 
founded by his grandfather, William Laytin, 
who served for many years as its president. 
In politics he is a Democrat, but has never 
aspired to office. He enlisted. May 10, 1861, 
in the Eighty-second Regiment New York 
Volunteer Infantry, then under command of 
Colonel Lyons. He took part with his com- 
mand in two (first Bull Run and second Bull 
Run) battles, and was honorably discharged 
from the service in 1863. He is a member of 
the Staten Island Chamber of Commerce and 
took an active part in all of its affairs. He was 
a member of Peterson Engine Company, No. 
31, New York \'olunteers, for four years, and 
then joined the Zepher Hose Company, No. 4. 
After a service of four years with this com- 
pany he joined Washington Engine Company, 
No. I, at Port Richmond. He was promoted 
foreman of the company, retaining this office 
two years, when he joined Port Richmond 
Engine Company, No. 3, as exempt member. 
He remained in the service of this company 
until it was finally disbanded under the con- 
solidating act of the Greater New York City 
Charter. He is an attendant of the Dutch Re- 



formed church of Port Richmond, Staten 
Island. 

He married, November 13, 1864, Josephine 
Coates, born at Port Richmond, May 13, 1847. 
The marriage was performed by the Rev. Dr. 
James Brownlee. Her father, Malachi Wil- 
son Coates, of Currituck county. North Caro- 
lina, was for some years a sea captain and 
later became a prosperous oyster planter and 
dealer on Staten Island and in the south. He 
was a Democrat in politics. He died in Port 
Richmond, October 26. 1900, aged ninety-nine 
years, six months and eleven days. He mar- 
ried (first) Eliza Martling; one child, Peter 
Coates. He married (second), September 30, 
1838, Hannah Anna Martling, born November 
18, 1816, sister of his first wife; she died Feb- 
ruary 14, 1877. Four children : Annie Post, 
Wynice Anna, Isaac Van Duzer, born April 
23, 1844, and Josephine, mentioned above. 
Two children have been born to William Lay- 
tin and Josephine (Coates) Ricard: Maria 
Augusta, born May 13. 1870, was educated in 
the schools of Port Richmond, and now re- 
sides with her parents ; George Timothy Reed 
Crawford, born 1874, died 1878. 



Like nearly all Dutch 
VAN ALSTINE names beginning with 

"Van," this is derived 
from a place. It is a very old name in Europe 
and has flourished under many different forms, 
being traced back to the crowning of Otho in 
936. It is found under the names of Wald- 
stein and Wartenberg in Flanders before 1236, 
in Spanish it is rendered Balstein, in the 
French Vallenstein. In Flanders it was often 
rendered Halsteyn, and in Holland, Alstein. 
In the early New York records it is written 
Van Aelsteyn, Van Aalsteyn, Van Alstyn, Van 
Alstein, \^an Alstyne and Van Alstine. The 
last two forms are those now most in use and 
in some cases the prefix "\'an" has been 
dropped. Members of the family in this 
country have been generally identified with 
the Dutch Reformed church. The name was 
prominent during the revolution in New York, 
and its representatives have been among the 
most loyal, progressive and useful citizens 
down to the present date. In Holland the 
name was frequently written Van Aelsteijn 
and about 1700, when the English spelling was 
adopted by the citizens of New York, it was 
generally written \'an Alstine. About 1820 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



635 



several branches of the family adopted the 
spelling Van Alstyne. Since 1880 a diligent 
search has been made for the earliest traces 
of the family in New York, but the actual 
time of their arrival has not been established. 
(I) Jan Martense de wever, (in English 
John, the son of Martin, by occupation a 
weaver) was in New York as early as 1646, 
at which time he joined with another in the 
purchase of a yacht. His wife was Dirckje 
Harmense (daughter of Harmen) and they 
had a son Martin, baptized July 18, 1655, at 
the Dutch church of New Amsterdam ( New 
York). Jannetje Martense, who was supposed 
to have been a sister of Jan Martense, came 
from the principality of Holstein, and it is sup- 
posed that Jan and his wife also came from 
that locality. She was the wife of Jan Thomas 
Mingael, the ancestor of the Whitbeck family 
from Widbek-Holstein. In 1656 Jan Mar- 
tense was living at Beverwyck (now Albany), 
and continued to reside there until 1664, when 
he hired land on the "Island Schodack" from 
his brother-in-law, Jan Tomase Mingael 
(Whitbeck). From this Jan was ousted by 
Patroon Van Rensselaer and he returned to 
Albany where he lived on the property which 
he purchased in 1657 on the east side of 
Broadway and north of Columbia street, and 
which he continued to own until 1695, when he 
sold it. In 1670 Jan Martense and wife were 
the owners of farms "behind Kinderhook" at 
a place called "Pompoenick" and there they 
resided until their deaths. The wife died after 
1687, and the husband after 1701. This land 
remained in the possession of their descendants 
down to 1897 and later. Jan Martense was 
one of the charter members named in the Don- 
gan Charter erecting the town of Kinderhook 
in 1686. Children : i. Martin Jans, born 1655 ; 
married Jannetje Cornelius (Bogert). 2. 
Abraham, mentioned below. 3. Lambert, born 
about 1659; married his cousin Jannetje Min- 
gael. 4. Isaac, born about 1661 ; married 
(first) Maritje Vosburgh, (second) Jannetje 
Van Valkenburg. 5. Dorothy, born about 
1663; married Jacob Vosburgh. About 1703 
the eldest and youngest son.s removed from 
Kinderhook to Canajoharie, where they pur- 
chased several hundred acres of land in the 
Mohawk \"alley. and about 1730 Martin Jans, 
the eldest, erected there a large stone mansion 
which is still standing, and during the revolu- 



tion was barricaded and called "Fort Van 
Rensselaer." 

(II) Abraham, second son of Jan and 
Dirckje (Harmense) Martense, was born 
about 1657. He resided upon the paternal 
lands near Kinderhook. In 1686 he was an 
ensign in colonial service and was a cap- 
tain of militia in 1714. He was twice married, 
the name of the first wife being unknown. The 
second was Maritje Van Deusen, whom he 
married January 17, 1694. Children of sec- 
ond wife: Johannes, Mattheus, Dirckje, died 
young; Sander, Abraham, Leena, Isaac, 
Dirckje, grandmother of President Martin 
Van Buren; Catryntje, Jacobus, Martin. 

(HI) Abraham (2), fourth son of Abraham 
(i) and Maritje (Van Deusen) Van Alstine, 
was born August 15, 1703, in the town of 
Kinderhook. He resided there and married 
there, September 29, 1734, Weintje Conyn, 
daughter of Leendert Phillipse de Konyn and 
his wife Emmetje Van Alen. Children: Phil- 
ippus, mentioned below; Abraham, born 
March 4, 1734; Leendert, September, 1743; 
Emmetje, October 11, 1745, married Colonel 
Samuel Ten Brook, a revolutionary officer. 

(IV) PhiHppus, eldest child of Abraham 
(2) and Weintje (Conyn) Van Alstine, was 
born September 16, 1735, at Kinderhook. He ■ 
lived at Poelsburgh now in town of Stuyves- 
ant. He was colonel of the Rensselaerwyck 
Regiment from 1775 to 1798, and with a part 
of his command was in active service in Try- 
on county. New York, at several periods dur- 
ing the revolution. He married. July 8, 1761, 
his cousin, Maritje (Mary) Van Alstine, 
daughter of his uncle. Isaac Van Alstine and 
his wife Elizabeth Van Alen. Children : 
Abraham Philip, mentioned below: Isaac P., 
born October i, 1764; Weintje, August 15, 
1766: John P., March 2, 1770. 

(V) Abraham Philip, eldest child of Philip- 
pus and Mary (Van Alstine) Van Alstine, was 
born May 16, 1762, in Poelsburgh, then in 
town of Kinderhook, where he made his home. 
He married, in 1784, Catalyne, daughter of 
John and Cornelia (Vosburgh) Gardinier. 
Children: Maria, born February 20, 1785; 
Cornelia, January 15, 1792; Philip Abraham, 
mentioned below. 

(VI) Philip Abraham, only son of Abra- 
ham Philip and Catalyne (Gardinier) Van 
Alstine, was born February 20, 1799, in Poels- 



640 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



burgh, then in town of Kinderhook, where he 
was a farmer. He married, June i, 1820, 
AHda, daughter of Andrew and EHzabeth 
(Smith) Vanderpool. Children: Abraham 
PhiHp, mentioned below ; Andrew X'anderpool, 
born March i, 1823; Caroline, February 9, 
1825; James, January 31, 1829; Joseph 
Toombs, July 31, 1836. 

(VTI) Abraham Philip (2), eldest child of 
Philip Abraham and Alida (Vanderpool) Van 
Alstine, was born June 4, 1821, in Poelsburgh, 
situated in the northwestern part of the town 
of Stuyvesant, Columbia county. New York. 
He married, January 15, 1844, Anna Maria, 
daughter of James and Maria (Morrison) 
Beneway. Children : Philip, mentioned below ; 
James Morrison, Elizabeth Caroline, Eldorus, 
Mary Augusta. 

(Vni) Philip, eldest son of Abraham 
Philip (2) and Anna Maria (Beneway) Van 
Alstine, was born at Poelsburgh in the town 
of Stuyvesant, Columbia county, New York. 
He was educated in district schools, Schodack 
Academy, Volkert Whitbeck's Classical School 
at Albany, Bryant & Stratton's Commercial 
College. He studied law at Hudson, New 
York, with Beale & Benton, admitted to the 
bar at New York City. 1868. He became a 
resident of Spring \'alley, Rockland county, 
New York, 1887. Delegate to Democratic 
National Convention at Chicago, 1892 ; counsel 
for the town of Ramapo and the village of 
Spring Valley, Rockland county. New York, 
several years ; member of Holland and Colum- 
bia County Societies; member of Reformed 
church ; in politics, an Independent Democrat. 
He married, September 2, 1874, at Austerlitz, 
Columbia county, New York. Amelia A., 
daughter of Roger and Silence (Crowter) 
Haskell. Children : Anna Amelia. Daisy 
Mabel, Edna May. The eldest of these was 
married at Spring Valley, New York, Febru- 
ary 21. 1900, to Percival Van Orden, son of 
Peter S. and Mary Ann (Hopper) \"an 
Orden. and has a daughter, Mabel V'an Alstine 
Van Orden. 



It is strongly claimed that the 
HASKELL name Haskell is of Norse 

origin. The name is traced 
back in English manuscripts in an unbroken 
line from Surrey Osberne Haskell, of Rowl- 
stone castle, Herefordshire. England, who was 
born 1541. and married Sarah Finderne. 1580, 



to Oscytel, a Norse king, who landed in 
Northumberland, England, in the year 800. 

Surrey Osberne Haskell, died 1642, leaving 
a son Edward, born 1581. 

Edward Haskell married Viola Patterson, 
1605, and had children: Edward, born 1606; 
William. 1607; Roger, 1608; Mark. 1609. The 
three brothers, William, Roger and Mark em- 
igrated from Bristol, England, in 1628, and 
settled at Salem, Massachusetts, in that part 
of Salem now called Beverly, then known as 
Cape Ann side. 

Roger Haskell married Elizabeth Hardy at 
Salem about the year 1655. Children: Samuel, 
born about 1656; Mark, about 1657; Roger, 
about 1658. 

Mark Haskell married Mary Smith, March 
20. 1678. Children: Roger, born October 17, 
1680. married Joanna Swift, January 25, 1709; 
John, February 14, 1682. 

John Haskell married Mehitabel about 

1710. Children: Roger, born March 8, 171 1, 
married Alice Spooner; Zachariah, April 11, 
1718. 

Zachariah Haskell married Keziah Goss, 
August 20, 1746. Child : Roger, born April 
^- 1753- 

Roger Haskell married Mary Webster. May 
10, 1781. Children: Daniel, born February 
13. 1782; Mary, March 18. 1783; Zachariah, 
November 3. 1784; Simon, February 2, 1787; 
Patience, April 14, 1789; Huldah. June 13, 
1791 ; Ebenezer, July 15. 1794; Sylva, March 
28, 1797; Parthenia. June 13. 1799: Sally. Au- 
gust 15. 1801 ; Allen, June 28, 1803: Lester, 
February 15, 1805: Luzillah, February 21, 
1807. 

Zachariah Haskell married Unity Anderson, 
widow of Calvin Geer. April 3, 1810. Chil- 
dren: Chloe, born April 8, 1812 ; Anna, De- 
cember 19, 1813; Anderson, November 15, 
1815: Roger, March 17, 1818; Dehlia. Octo- 
ber 12. 1821 ; Zachariah, November 12, 1823; 
Herman. May 17, 1826. 

Roger Haskell married Silence Crowter. of 
Austerlitz, New York, daughter of Robert 
and Ruth (Harmon) Crowter, December 19, 
1842. Children : Ruth Maria, spinster, born 
at Austerlitz. New York, October 11. 1843; 
Amelia Ann. bom at Peru. Massachusetts, 
June 18, 1848. graduate of Canaan. New 
York, Classical Institute, and Albany Normal 
College, Principal of Union Free School at 
Bayside, Long Island. A manager of the 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



641 



Woman's Board of Foreign Missions of the 
Reformed Church in America. Married, Sep- 
tember 2, 1874, Philip Van Alstine, counsellor- 
at-law. Now a resident of Spring Valley, 
New York. 



The founder of the Bogar- 
BOGARDUS dus family in America was 

the famous Dominie Ever- 
ardus Bogardus, pastor, counsellor and friend 
of the early Dutch settlers of New Amster- 
dam, who cheered them amid their toils and 
adversities and in dark hours of peril; joined 
many of them in marriage ; baptized their chil- 
dren; oft performed in their stricken homes 
the last sad rites and frequently acted as guar- 
dian of their estates. He was the first settled 
minister of the Dutch church at New Am- 
sterdam, where he continued until his last trip 
to Holland in 1647. He sailed from New 
Amsterdam in the ship "Princess" in company 
with Director Kieft, August 16, 1647. On 
September 2^, having mistaken their course, 
they were wrecked upon a rock on the coast 
of Wales. Dominie Bogardus and Director 
Kieft both perished, although many were 
saved. (For an extended account of his ca- 
reer see Bogardus in Gray family history.) 
He was a valuable man in the settlement, his 
advice was constantly sought in matters af- 
fecting both individuals and the community 
and the amount of public business with which 
he was intrusted on his final departure for 
Holland evinced the continued respect and con- 
fidence of his people. He married, June 21, 
1642, Anneke (Annetje) Jans, or Jansen, who 
had a grant of sixty-two acres between the 
present Warren and Christopher streets. New 
York City. This land has probably caused 
more bitter controversy than any other on 
earth. It forms the basis of dispute between 
the heirs of Anneke and Domine Bogardus 
on the one hand and Trinity church corpora- 
tion on the other. Its immense value makes 
the ownership a prize worth striving for and 
fierce legal battles have been fought over it. 
The title, however, seems to rest with Trinity 
corporation. After the death of Dominie Bo- 
gardus, his widow took up her residence in 
Albany, continuing there until her death in 
1665. Children: William, in 1656 a clerk in 
the secretary's office in New Amsterdam and 
in 1687 postmaster of the province ; Cornelis, 
baptized September 9, 1640, in New York 



City, later of Albany, married Helena Teller; 
Johannes or Jonas, baptized January 4, 1643; 
Pieter, baptized April 2, 1645, resided in 
Albany until near the close of his life, when 
he removed to Kingston, where he died in 
1703. In 1673 he was one of the magistrates 
of the town and in 1690 was commissioned 
with others to treat with the Five Nations and 
to look after the defence of the town. He 
made his will February 3, 1701-2. He mar- 
ried Wyntje Cornelis Bosch. 



Some idea of the origin of 
LEAYCRAFT this name may be had if 
we consider the words. 
Lay or Leay, which may be derived from the 
French word Laie, which is the term to de- 
scribe a lane through a forest. Lay in the 
sense in which it is used in the compound 
word. Layman, not meaning clerical or pro- 
fessional, is clearly not the sense in which it 
is used here. In the latter sense the word 
was used by Ben Jonson, the British poet. 
The word or that form of it occurs in the 
Hundred Rolls of England as a personal name. 
There are also other names, evidently Norman 
in origin, such as Le Lay, Du Lay and De 
Lay. The name has been spelled in this form 
since the year 1743 in this country. 

(I) Captain Viner Leaycraft was com- 
mander of the privateers, "Potter," from 1743 
to 1748, and of "King George" from 1756 to 
1763. His will was probated August 24, 1784, 
and recorded September 24, 1784. 

(II) John, son of Captain Viner Leaycraft, 
served as second lieutenant in the revolution 
on the sloop, "Montgomery," entering the ser- 
vice, April 18, 1776. 

(III) John (2), son of John (i) Leaycraft, 
died January 10, 1844, aged sixty-five years, 
buried from his residence. No. 130 Thirteenth 
street. New York City. 

(IV) Anthony D., son of John (2) Leay- 
craft, was born in New York City, October 
15, 1824, died there, April 21, 1898. He was 
engaged in the express business, and was well 
known in his line of trade. He was a Whig in 
politics, and a member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church. He married Hannah Thompson, 
born July 25, 1828, in Boston, Massachusetts, 
died May 3, 1908, in New York City, daugh- 
ter of William and Elizabeth Thompson. The 
marriage took place March 8, 1848, the Rev. 
J. Dowling, D.D., officiating. Children : i. 



642 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



John Edgar, mentioned below. 2. Mary Eliza- 
beth, born March 30, 1852 ; married, February 
22, 1872, John Morrison Chesborough. 3. 
Hannah Augusta, born January 2, 1863 ; mar- 
ried Dr. Charles Sumner Benedict. 4. Eg- 
bert Rinehart, born February 24, 1869; mar- 
ried Louise Belle Haddon. 

(V) John Edgar, eldest son of Anthony D. 
and Hannah (Thompson) Leaycraft, was 
born March 15, 1849, in New York City. He 
established the firm of John Edgar Leaycraft 
& Company in the real estate business and is 
now located at No. 30 East Forty-second 
street. The members of the firm have built 
up a large and lucrative business and stand 
high in their profession. John Edgar Leay- 
craft is a Republican in politics, and in religion 
a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
He married, in Sing Sing, Westchester county, 
New York, November 25, 1874, Caroline 
Crawford, born March 19, 1847, daughter of 
Morris De Camp and Charlotte (Holmes) 
Crawford. Morris De Camp Crawford was 
born February 19, 1819, in Albany, New 
York. Charlotte (Holmes) Crawford was 
born April 14, 1822, in Newburgh, New York, 
died in 1886. The marriage took place No- 
vember 20, 1844, at Newburgh, New York. 
Joseph Crawford, father of Morris De Camp 
Crawford, was born February 10, 1785, died 
August 9, 1832. He married, December 31, 
1806, Mary Barker. The children of Joseph 
Crawford were: Caroline, Lemuel, Sarah, 
Elijah, Joseph Barker, Mary, Morris De Camp, 
mentioned above ; Almira, Susan Ophelia. The 
children of Morris De Camp Crawford were: 
I. Gilbert Holmes, born 1849; married Sarah 
Merritt. 2. Morris Barker, born 1852; mar- 
ried Caroline Rice. 3. Caroline, mentioned 
above, born 1847 ; married John Edgar Leay- 
craft. 4. Hanford, born 1854; married Ger- 
trude Smith. 5. Frank Lindsay, born 1856: 
married Genevieve Buckland. 6. William 
Herbert, born i860; married Mina Paine. 
Children of John Edgar and Caroline (Craw- 
ford) Leaycraft: i. Agnes, born April 25, 
1876; married, June 14, 1906, Thomas S. Don- 
ohueh ; children : Agnes Caroline, born No- 
vember 30. IQ07, New York, and Crawford 
Edgar, born December 23, 1910. in India. 2. 
Edgar Crawford, mentioned below. 

(VI) Edgar Crawford, son of John Edgar 
and Caroline (Crawford) Leaycraft, was 
born in New York Citv, November 12, 1S80. 



He attended the Collegiate School in New 
York City when he was eight years old and 
continued his studies for six years. Then he 
went to Cutler School in New York City and 
remained there four years. In 1898 he entered 
Harvard University and remained until 1902, 
graduating the same year and receiving the de- 
gree of B.A. He joined his father in the real 
estate business and is still connected with the 
same, being now a member of the firm. He 
is a Republican in politics, and is a member 
of the First Cavalry, National Guard, New 
York. He is a member of the Harvard Club, 
New York City ; the Lawyers' Club, New 
York City; and the Union League Club. In 
religion he is a Methodist, and attends the 
Methodist Episcopal church in Madison 
avenue. New York City. He married, June 
T,. 1913. Tulia Searing in Saugerties, New 
York. 



The ancestors of this 
VAN ORDEN family came from Naar- 
den, a small village in Hol- 
land, hence the name Van Naarden (from 
Naarden). Two forms of the name are now 
in general use among the descendants, Van 
Norden and Van Orden. 

(I) The earliest record now obtainable con- 
cerns the family of Peter Van Naerden and 
his wife Aneckje Jans, the latter, of course, 
being a daughter of a man named Jan. They 
were residents of New Amsterdam (New 
York) prior to 1654, and in 1655 Peter was 
the owner of property as shown by the fact 
that he was taxed five dollars to pay debt in- 
curred in erecting the city defenses. In the 
previous year he was appointed a beer carrier. 
In 1664 he owned a lot with a frontage of 
twenty-two feet, situated at the southwest 
corner of Broadway and Marketfield street, 
in New Amsterdam, where he resided with his 
wife and died soon after. For several years 
following his death his widow continued to re- 
side there, but in 1686 her home was on the 
west side of Broad street at which time she 
was a member of the Dutch church. The bap- 
tismal records of that church give the follow- 
ing, but undoubtedly there were other chil- 
dren : Jan, baptized October 4. 1654 ; Engeltie, 
.A.pril "14, 1658; Metje, April 14, 1658; Casper, 
February 15, 1660; Tryntie. December 17, 
1662. The church records of Hackensack 
show that Andriese, undoubtedlv a child of 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



643 



Peter and Aneckje, was born about 1670, in 
New York. 

(II) Andriese (Andrew) Janse Van Or- 
den was residing in the vicinity of Hackensack 
as early as 1700, and was a member of the 
Schraalenburg church with his second wife 
before 1733. The Hackensack records say he 
was born in New York and the date must have 
been in the vicinity of 1675. He married 
(first) at Hackensack, August 31, 1700, Rachel 
Demarest, born June 4, 1680, at Hackensack, 
died before June, 1710, daughter of David 
and Rachel (Cresson) Demarest. He mar- 
ried (second) Antie Laroe. Children of first 
wife : Jan, mentioned below ; Rachel, baptized 
April 2, 1704; David, July 13, 1709. Children 
of second wife : Jacobus and Elizabeth 
(twins), baptized November 4, 171 1 ; Jannetje, 
November 14, 1714; Elizabeth, September 15, 
1717; Petrus, July 2, 1720; Wybrege, January 
20, 1723, all at Hackensack; Andries, March 
28, 1729, at Tappan. 

(III) Jan, eldest child of Andriese Janse 
and Rachel (Demarest) Van Orden, was bap- 
tized September 16. 1701, at Hackensack, and 
probably lived in that neighborhood all his life. 
He married, September 17, 1728, at Hacken- 
sack, Rachel Van Schieve, and had children 
baptized at Hackensack: Andriese, June 18, 
1729; David, died young; David, born May 5, 
1733; Stephen, mentioned below; Lea and 
Rachel (twins), April 9, 1738; Jacobus, June 
13. 1742. 

(IV) Stephen, fourth son of Jan and 
Rachel (Van Schieve) Van Orden, was born 
May 2, 1735, at Hackensack, and resided in 
what is now Rockland county. New York, 
then a part of Orange. He died before July 
17, 1771, when his widow brought their young- 
est child for baptism at the Tappan church. 
He married, at Schraalenburg, May 31, 1760, 
Marya Koning, born January 6, 1736, at Tap- 
pan, daughter of Arie and Elisabedt (Hartie) 
Koning. They had the following children bap- 
tized at Schraalenburg: Rachel, born May 13, 
1761 ; Petrus, August 14, 1763; John, men- 
tioned below ; Elizabeth, January 28, 1769 ; 
Marytje, July 26, 1771. 

(V) John, second son of Stephen and Maria 
(Koning) Van Orden, was born July 8, 1766, 
probably at Tappan, and was a farmer in the 
town of Ramapo, Rockland county. New 
York, where he was associated with the Dutch 
Reformed church, and in politics with the 



Democratic party. He married, April 18, 
1795, at Tappan, Elizabeth Eckerson, of 
Clarkstown, daughter of Abraham and Dirckje 
(Westervelt) Eckerson, born December 16, 
1771, in Clarkstown, died March 11, 1862, in 
Ramapo. At the time of this marriage John 
Van Orden lived in Ramapo, and died there 
April 21, 1837. Children: Stephen, mentioned 
below ; Thomas, Catherine, Myers, Peter, 
Elizabeth Yourey, Lucas, Margaret Tallman, 
Maria, Jacob A. Van Riper. 

(VI) Stephen (2), eldest child of John 
and Elizabeth (Eckerson) Van Orden, was 
born September, 1796, in Ramapo, died there 
January 25, 1859. He was a farmer all his 
life; a member of the True Reformed Church, 
and a Democrat in politics. He married, in 
Ramapo, Elizabeth Van Houten, born Febru- 
ary 7, 1801, in Spring Valley, died there Janu- 
ary 28, 1889, daughter of Peter Resolvert and 
Wentje (Tallman) Van Houten. Peter R. 
Van Houten was born January 11, 1778, in 
Ramapo, where he died October i, 1868. His 
wife, born September 18, 1779, died January 
21, 1856. Children of Stephen Van Orden: 
John Stephen, born January, 1822. married 
Jane Maria Quackenbush, and lived and died 
in Ramapo, Rockland county. New York; 
Maria, 1826, married Peter H. Clark, died aged 
twenty-six; Peter, died young; Peter S., men- 
tioned below. 

(VII) Peter S., youngest child of Stephen 
(2) and Elizabeth (Van Houten) Van Orden, 
was born February 20, 1834, in Spring Valley, 
New York. He attended the public schools 
of that place, graduating from the high school. 
He learned the trade of blacksmithing which 
he followed two years in Newark, New Jer- 
sey, after that about eight years in Spring 
Valley, New York. Later he engaged in the 
undertaking and livery business at Spring Val- 
ley in which he continued over forty years, 
having a large patronage. la 1900 he organ- 
ized the firm of P. S. Van Orden cS: Sons, 
and this establishment has built up an exten- 
sive business in undertaking and embalming 
and is thus at present engaged. Mr. Van 
Orden and family are affiliated with the Dutch 
Reformed church of Spring Valley, and while 
he sympathizes with the general policy of the 
Democratic party he is independent in politi- 
cal action. He is a member of Athelstane 
Lodge, No. 839, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Spring Valley. He married, October 4, 



644 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



1859, at Nanuet, Mary Ann Hopper, senior 
daughter of Andrew and Annetje (Terhune) 
Hopper, born March 19, 1836, at Nanuet, her 
father being a farmer of that place, and the 
farther of children : Garret, Albert Terhune, 
James Van Orden, John Henry, Mary Ann 
and Matilda. Children of Peter S. Van Or- 
den: I. Ellen, born August 3, i860; married 
William Danforth Keer, and resides at Spring 
Valley. 2. Andrew, born November 24, 1864 ; 
married Martha V. O. Smith. 3. John S., born 
December 6, 1867; married Ida Van Ness. 4. 
Frank M., born January 8, 1870; married Ma- 
belle Baird. 5. Percival, born April 16, 1873; 
married Anna Amelia Van Alstine. 



This spelling has been quite 
PEARSON uniformly preserved by the 

members of this family, al- 
though it appears in numerous forms in the 
early records of New England, such as Per- 
son, Peirson, Pierson, Persune. There is a 
distinct family, quite numerous in this country, 
which uses the spelling Pierson. The name 
Pierre (Peter), which was introduced into 
England by Norman French and anglicized 
into Pier or Piers, is the word from which 
comes the name Pierson or Pearson. The 
family bearing this patronymic includes many 
citizens of high standing. 

(I) John Pearson came from England and 
settled in Rowley, Massachusetts, in 1643, ^"d 
then set up a fulling mill, the first mill for this 
purpose in America. He was a man of prop- 
erty, and active and prominent in the com- 
munity. His first grant of land was in the 
"uplands laid out in the field called Batchelder's 
Plaine" and was "one house lott Containeing 
an Acre and an halfe lying on the South side 
of Richard Lighton." His name appears often 
in the town records as grantor and grantee of 
land. He was made freeman probably in 1647, 
and was one of the "five men," or selectmen, 
and as a representative of the town opposed 
the tyrannous acts of Sir Edmond Andros, 
and was fined. He was representative in 1678. 
was made deacon, October 24, 1686, and died 
December 22, 1693. His wife, Dorcas, sur- 
vived him nine years, dying January 12, 1703. 
Children: Mary, died voung; John, born De- 
cember 27, 1644; Elizabeth, October 17, 1652; 
Jeremiah. October 25, 1653; Sarah, May 3, 
1655; Joseph, August 21, 1656; Benjamin, 
April 6. 1658; Phoebe. April 13, 1660; Ste- 



phen, mentioned below; Sarah, May 6, 1666. 
The fourth son, Joseph, before he was nine- 
teen years old, entered the Colonial service in 
what was known as the "Flower of Essex," 
and was killed in a battle with the Indians 
near Hatfield, Massachusetts, August 25, 1695. 

(II) Stephen, sixth son of John and Dorcas 
Pearson, was born about 1662. but his birth is 
not recorded in Rowley. He received from his 
father deeds of land on which he resided in 
Rowley, dying about the beginning of the year 
1706, aged about forty-four years. Admin- 
istration of his estate was granted March 9, 
1706, and division was made April 4, 17 12. 
He married Mary French, who survived him 
more than twenty-four years, and died Sep- 
tember 27, 1730, after being bedridden for 
many years. She may have been a daughter 
of Stephen (2) and Plannah French, of Wey- 
mouth. Massachusetts, born May 11, 1662, and 
granddaughter of Stephen (i) French, who 
settled at Dorchester, Massachusetts, in 1630, 
removing soon after to Weymouth. There 
was a large family of this name in Essex 
county, Massachusetts, but the only Mary in 
it who could possibly have been the wife of 
Stephen Pearson, married an Eaton and died 
in 1726 Children: Elizabeth, born August 25. 
1685 : Stephen, mentioned below ; Martha. July 
6. 1689: Mary. January 7, 1691 ; Jonathan. Oc- 
tober 21. 1693. died the same year; Patience. 
July 26. 1697; Hephsibah. January 20, 1699. 

(III) Stephen (2). eldest child of Stephen 
(i) and Mary (French) Pearson, was born 
June 9, 1687. in Rowley baptized on the 19th 
of the same month, and died Marcli 18, 1772. 
Undoubtedly his entire life was passed in Row- 
ley, where he married. February 27. 1711. 
Hannah, daughter of Jeremiah and Elizabeth 
(Kimball) Jewett, born July 16, 1690. in Ips- 
wich. Massachusetts, died March 3, 1773. and 
buried in Rowley. Children : Hannah, born 
May 6. 1712; Jonathan, February 24. 1714; 
Moses, mentioned below: Amos, March 22, 
1718; Mary, May 3. 1720; Stephen, died 
young: Sarah, June 17. 1724; Stephen. Octo- 
ber 25. 1726; Jeremiah, baptized April 13, 
1729; Rebecca. August 29. 1731 ; Patience, not 
recorded, liut mentioned in her father's will. 

(IV) Moses, second son of Stephen (2) and 
Hannah (Jewett) Pearson, was baptized 
March 18. 1716. in Rowlev. and lived in that 
town or the town of Newbury, died 1794, ac- 
cording to the records of Byfield parish church 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



645 



in the town of Newbury. He married in New- 
bury, January i, 1739, Sarah Greenleaf, of 
that town, born July 6, 1719, died August, 
1792, daughter of Daniel and Sarah (Cooper) 
Greenleaf. Children, baptized at Byfield 
parish church: EHzabeth, May 22, 1743; 
Eunice, October 6, 1745 ; Sarah, November 4, 
1750; Moses, mentioned below. 

(V) Moses (2), son of Moses (i) and 
Sarah (Greenleaf) Pearson, was born about 
1740 in Rowley, and was baptized at the By- 
field parish church, May 18, 1755. He settled 
in the town of Bradford, Massachusetts, where 
he married, November 9, 1766, Martha Goss, 
born July 11, 1745, in Bradford, daughter of 
John and Mehitable Goss, of that town. Chil- 
dren, recorded in Bradford : Moses, born Oc- 
tober 8, 1767; Hittie (Mehitable), November 
27, 1768; Samuel, mentioned below; Mollie, 
born and died in 1772 ; a child died in October, 
1774; John Tappan, baptized January 5, 1777. 

(VI) Samuel, second son of Moses (2) and 
Martha (Goss) Pearson, was born March 30. 
1770, in Bradford, and settled in Providence, 
Rhode Island, as early as 1796, dying there in 
1836. He married (first) October 12, 1793, 
Judith Thurston, daughter of Daniel and 
Elizabeth (Rolfe) Thurston, of Bradford, 
baptized January 5, 1772, in the Byfield church, 
and died in 1824, in Providence. He married 
(second) L. B. Coy. Children: Luther, born 
September 21, 1794, in Reading, Massachu- 
setts ; Susanna, November 30, 1795, in Read- 
ing, died in 1796, in Providence; Daniel Chute, 
April 13, 1798; William Coleman, mentioned 
below; Harriet and Henry, (twins), October 
16, 1803; Samuel, December 4, 1705; Susan, 
August 7, 1707; Henry Adams, May, 171 1; 
Martha G., December, 1713. 

(VH) William Coleman, second son of 
Samuel and Judith (Thurston) Pearson, was 
born April 16, 1801, in Providence, and died 
in January, 1865, in Jersey City. He married 
in Providence, in 1826, Mary Ann Earle, born 
June 7, 1803, daughter of Caleb and Amey 
(Arnold) Earle, of Providence (see Earle 
VHI). Children: Fanny Earle, probably died 
young ; William Earle, mentioned below ; 
Henry Augustus, who lived in Jersey City, 
New Jersey. 

(VIII) William Earle. son of William 
Coleman and Mary Ann (Earle) Pearson, was 
born July 6. 1830, died February i, iqos. He 
was a manufacturer of lumber and boxes in 



Jersey City, New Jersey, and was in partner- 
ship with his wife's father, under the firm 
name of Vanderbeek & Sons. The firm con- 
ducted a planing mill, lumber yard and box 
factory. He married Susan Ann Vanderbeek, 
of Jersey City. Children: Frank, born Sep- 
tember 26, 1864; Isaac Vanderbeek, mentioned 
below. 

(IX) Isaac Vanderbeek, son of William 
Earle and Susan Ann (Vanderbeek) Pearson, 
was born in Jersey City, New Jersey, March 
7, 1871. He attended Hasbrouck Institute of 
Jersey City. New Jersey, and Stevens Prepara- 
tory School of Hoboken, New Jersey. The 
first four years of his business life were in 
the employ of H. J. Hardenbergh, architect, 
whose offices were at Twenty-third street and 
Fifth avenue, New York City. Afterward, 
until 1905, he was associated in business with 
his father in the manufacture of boxes in the 
the firm of Vanderbeek & Sons. Since 1905 
he has been a partner in the firm of Pearson & 
Welch, brokers, of No. 25 Broad street. New 
York. He is a member of the Jersey City Club 
and of the New England Society of New 
York. In religion he is a Presbyterian, and in 
politics a Republican. 

He married, November i, 1899, Katherine, 
born May 19. 1879, in Glasgow, Scotland, 
daughter of John R. MacKenzie, granddaugh- 
ter of George R. MacKenzie. Children' 
Katherine M., born November 25, 1904; Wil- 
liam Earle, January 2, 1908. 

(The Earle Line.) 

This is an old Rhode Island name, and 
represents one of the most prolific of New 
England families. From Rhode Island the 
family has spread over the United States and 
is well represented in nearly every state of the 
Union. It has been for some time connected 
with the business history of Jersey City. 

(I) Ralph Earle was in Newport, Rhode 
Island, as early as 1638, being one of the fifty- 
nine persons admitted October i. of that year, 
as a freeman of the island of Aqueedneck 
(Rhode Island). For many years he bought 
and sold land frequently in various parts of 
the island, and in t6sS and T669 served on the 
grand jury. He was appointed bv the court 
commissioners to keep a house of entertain- 
ment, joined a company of horse, August 10, 
1667, and later was chosen captain. On June 
7, 1671, he was a member of a special jury to 



646 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



try two Indians. Ralph Earle claimed the 
lands of the Dutch House of Good Hope, now 
Hartford, Connecticut, and commenced a law- 
suit to establish his claim against Richard 
Lord and James Richard, possessors of the 
Dutch land about 1667. Earle affirmed that 
he purchased the land from Underbill in Au- 
gust, 1653, paying twenty pounds sterling for 
it, but Underbill protested against the claim, 
which was probably well-founded. His wife, 
Joan Savage, was born in England in 1594-95. 
They were probably married in England. Their 
children were: Ralph, married Dorcas 
Sprague ; William, mentioned below ; Mary, 
married William Cory ; Martha, married Wil- 
liam Wood ; Sarah, married Thomas Cornell. 
(11) William, second son of Ralph and Joan 
( Savage) Earle, was born in England, and 
first appears in American records, April 2, 
1654, when he and his wife Mary sold their 
interest in fourteen acres of land, which came 
to the wife from her parents. He was admitted 
a freeman at Bristol, Rhode Island. May 11, 
1658. and seven days later was admitted a 
freeman of the colony by the general court 
held at Warwick. On June 8, of the same 
year, he was chosen to represent Bristol in the 
general court of trials at Newport. In part- 
nership with William Cory he was given a 
grant of one and one-quarter acres of land. 
May I. 1665. provided they maintain a wind- 
mill for the use of the town. The site of the 
mill was thereafter known as Windmill Hill. 
In 1668 the wind-mill had been completed, and 
two years later William Earle removed to 
Dartmouth. Massachusetts, where he had 
large interests and remained several years. 
His share of lands received in the original 
divisions exceeded two thousand acres. The 
general assembly for Rhode Island and Provi- 
dence plantations for the election of general 
officers of the colony was held May 6. i6gi, at 
the house of William Earle. having removed 
from Newport because of a prevailing epi- 
demic. Earle was a deputy from Portsmouth 
to the general assemblies held at Providence. 
October 25. 1704. and at Newport May i and 
July 3. 1706. His will was executed Novem- 
ber 13. 1713, and he died January 15. 1715. 
He married (first) Mary, daughter of John 
and Katharine Walker, of Portsmouth. His 
second wife. Prudence, died January 18. T718. 
Children: Mary, born i6S5. married Tohn 
Borden; William, born at Portsmouth, Rhode 



Island; married Elizabeth ; Ralph, born 

1660; Thomas, mentioned below; Caleb, mar- 
ried Mary ; John, born at Portsmouth, 

married Mary Wait; Prudence, married Ben- 
jamin Durfee. 

(HI) Thomas, third son of William and 
Mary (Walker) Earle, born about 1662, re- 
ceived land in Dartsmouth from his father in 
1692 and settled thereon. This he sold in 1696 
and resided for a short time in Portsmouth, 
Rhode Island, but before the close of that 
year he purchased forty acres of land in Swan- 
sea, Massachusetts, where he settled, and 
about the same time purchased more lands. 
In 1708 he sold a parcel exceeding an acre for 
the Friends' Meeting House, and in 1721 sold 
his lands and removed to Portsmouth. He 
made his will in Warwick, April 27, 1727, and 
died the following day. The inventory of his 
estate amounted to six hundred and sixty-nine 
pounds, nineteen shillings and one penny. He 
married Mary, daughter of Philip and Mary 
Taber, of Dartmouth, born 1670. died 1759. 
Children : Willian^, Thomas, Mary. Oliver, 
Sarah, Lydia. Rebecca. 

(IV) Oliver, third son of Thomas and Mary 
(Taber) Earle, was born about 1695, in Swan- 
sea, Massachusetts, and resided for a time 
in New York City, where he was engaged in 
the East India trade. In 1716 he received a 
deed from his father of one-half the paternal 
farm, and in 172 1 he purchased the remainder 
for eleven hundred pounds and settled upon 
the homestead, where he died in 1766. His 
will, made in that year, granted freedom to 
his negro slave Jeff, to take effect when the 
apprenticeship of the latter was completed. 
Oliver Earle married. June 9, 1720. Rebecca, 
daughter of Samuel and Martha (Tripp) 
Sherman, of Portsmouth. She was a grand- 
daughter of Caleb Sherman and great-grand- 
daughter of Philip Sherman, of Portsmouth. 
Children : Joshua. Caleb. Thomas. Mary. 

(V) Caleb, second son of Oliver and Re- 
becca (Sherman) Earle. was born January 30, 
1729, in Swansea. Massachusetts, where he re- 
sided and died November 14, 1812. He mar- 
ried (first) October 5, 1745, Sarah, daughter 
of Benjamin and Isabel Buffington, of Swan- 
sea, born September i, 1727, date of death un- 
known. He married (second) in 1769, Han- 
nah, daughter of Daniel and Mary Chace, of 
Swansea, born December 12, 1744. Children 
of first wife: Elizabeth, born Februarv 13, 




/yCtc^rt:^^^^^^^ 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



647 



1748; Weston, mentioned below; Caleb, Sep- 
tember 2, 1756; Benjamin, January 17, 1759; 
Joshua, October 11, 1762; David, May 8, 1764. 
Children of second wife : Mary, born Febru- 
ary 20, 1771 ; Joanna, July 13, 1772 ; Rebecca, 
July 20, 1774; Daniel, August 30, 1776; Sarah, 
March 11, 1778; Oliver, January 24, 1780; 
William, August 30, 1781 ; Hannah, March 15, 
1787. 

(VI) Weston, eldest son of Caleb and Sarah 
(Buffington) Earle, was born April 18, 1750, 
in Swansea, where he resided and passed away, 
September 5, 1838. His body was interred at 
tl-e Friends' Cemetery at Somerset. He mar- 
ried (first) Hepzibeth Terry, (second) Sarah 
Slade, (third) Martha H. Smith. Children of 
first marriage: Caleb, mentioned below; 
Sarah, born 1777; Hepzibeth, 1778. Children 
of second wife: John, born May 24, 1790; 
Slade, October 16, 1791 ; Edward S., October 
17- 1795- Child of third wife: Thomas G., 
born October 19, 1823. 

(VH) Caleb (2), eldest child of Weston and 
Hepzibeth (Terry) Earle, was born February 
25. 1771. in Swansea, and resided in Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, where he died July 13, 
1851. He married, September 19, 1796, in 
Providence, Amey Arnold, born April 16, 1777, 
in Foster, Rhode Island, second daughter of 
Nehemiah and Alice (Arnold) Arnold. Chil- 
dren : Frances, born April 16, 1798 ; Elizabeth 
T , September 8, 1800; Mary Ann, mentioned 
below; Joseph M., July 18, 1810; Henry, June 
3. 1815. 

(VIII) Mary Ann, third daughter of Caleb 
(2) and Amey (Arnold) Earle, was born 
June 7, 1803, in Providence, and became the 
wife of William Coleman Pearson, of that 
town (see Pearson VII). 



The name Maxwell is of 
MAXWELL Scot origin, and is found 

among the Scotch and Irish 
descendants of those Scots who originally 
dwelt in the northeast part of Ireland, whence 
they emigrated in early days to what is now 
Scotland and dispossessed the Picts, who were 
the aboriginal inhabitants of that land. From 
these two places the name has spread over the 
whole world. In meaning the name is made up 
of the prefix "Mac" and the noun "swell, or 
swale," the significance of the combination be- 
ing "son or man of the swale" that is a dweller 
in a low marshy valley. 



(I) Thomas Maxwell, the founder of the 
family at present under consideration, was 
born in Donegal, Ireland, in 1786, and died in 
Saugerties, New York, in 1858. In 1827 he 
came to America with his young wife, and for 
a while they stopped in Philadelphia, later on 
removing to the town of Hunter, Greene 
county. New York, where he worked for 
Colonel Pratt, who appointed him superinten- 
dent of the building of the Catskill turnpike 
and later made him overseer of the turnpike 
at Palenville. Afterwards, Mr. Maxwell 
bought a farm of ninety acres of land at Quar- 
ryville, Ulster county. New York, and clearing 
it, lived there and farmed until his death. Be- 
fore coming to America, he was a soldier in 
the British army under Sir John Moore and 
the Duke of Wellington, and at the battle of 
Waterloo he received a medal for meritorious 
conduct and bravery, which is now in the pos- 
session of his grandson, Mr. James T. Max- 
well, referred to below. In religion he was a 
member of the Church of England. He mar- 
ried in Ireland, Elizabeth Heatherington, of 
Fermanagh, Ireland. Children: John, re- 
ferred to below ; Eliza, born in 1820, married 
George Sanderson, of Paterson, New Jersey; 
James, born in 1823 ; Sarah Jane, born in 1828, 
married C. C. Fiero, of Greene county. New 
York; Thomas (2), born in 1832 (q. v.); 
Isabella, born in 1834, married Tunis W. Van 
Hoesen; William, born in 1838; Catharine, 
born in 1841, married Jeremiah Hommel, of 
Saugerties. 

(II) John, son of Thomas and Elizabeth 
(Heatherington) Maxwell, was born in Ire- 
land in 1818, and died in Saugerties, New 
York, in July, 1885. He was one of the most 
progressive men of his day and was extensively 
engaged in the blue-stone industry, maintain- 
ing wholesale departments at Rochester. New 
York, Newark, New Jersey, Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, and Maiden, New York. He 
was a staunch Republican in politics and served 
as a member of the state assembly from Ul- 
ster county in 1867. In 1877 he was nominated 
for congress against D. M. Dewitt and was 
defeated by only seventeen votes in a strongly 
Democratic district. He married, in Philadel- 
phia, in 1842 or 1843, Sarah Maxwell, not a 
relative. Children : Elizabeth ; John ; James 
T., referred to below ; Emma and William L. 

(III) James T., son of John and Sarah 
(Maxwell) Maxwell, was born in Quarry ville,. 



648 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Ulster county, New York, October 6, 1854. and 
is now living at Saugerties, New York. He re- 
ceived his education in the private school at 
Maiden, New York and at Riverview Military 
Academy, Poughkeepsie. When his father 
died he succeeded him in the management of 
the large interests which fell to his inheritance, 
and he has been prominently identified with 
most of Saugerties' important industrial and 
fiduciary institutions ever since. His plant 
in Philadelphia handles mostly granite and cut 
stone, is fitted with special machinery and is 
one of the most important plants of its kind 
in the country. Mr. Maxwell is interested in 
the New York Saugerties steamboat lines, and 
owns an interest in about fifteen coastline 
schooners. He is vice-president and director 
of the First National Bank of Saugerties, a 
trustee of the Saugerties Savings Bank, vice- 
president of the Saugerties Steamboat Com- 
pany, president of the Saugerties Printing and 
Publishing Company, and is a member of the 
Saugerties board of education. 

He married, in 1893, Charlotte A. Haley, 
of Princeton. Maine, born March 11, 1871. 
Children: William L., born July 24, 1894, 
now attending Yale University ; John, born 
May 25, 1898: James T., born September 17, 
1903- 



(H) Hon. Thomas (2) 
MAXWELL Maxwell, third son of 
Thomas (i) Maxwell (q. v), 
and Elizabeth (Heatherington) Maxwell, was 
born in the town of Hunter, Greene county, 
New York, April 20, 1832, and died at Sau- 
gerties, New York, September 4, 1894. He 
lived with his parents in Kaaterskill, and in 
1834 came to Quarryville, where he obtained 
his education in the public schools. In 1869 he 
became a resident of Saugerties, having ac- 
cepted the position of bookkeeper for his 
brother John. Later he became interested in 
the blue stone business, with which he was 
identified during the remainder of his life. 
He was a man who thought deeply on all pub- 
lic questions, and gave his political support to 
the Republican party. He was elected to the 
office of supervisor in 1877, and at various 
times filled several other minor offices in the 
village. During the administrations of Presi- 
dents Hayes and Arthur he filled the office of 
postmaster of Saugerties, to the general satis- 
faction of tHe community. In 1887 he was 



elected as a member of assembly. His relig- 
ious affiliations were with the Methodist 
church. He was a member of Ulster Lodge, 
No. 193, Free and Accepted Masons. He mar- 
ried, in 1855, Jane A. Hommel, born May 8, 
1837, and had children : Adelaide ; Wilfred ; 
David W., see forward; Sarah; and Mabel. 

(Ill) David W., second son of Hon. 
Thomas and Jane A. (Hommel) Maxwell, was 
born at Saugerties, July 8, 1863, and died at 
the same place. May 18, 1910. He attended 
the local schools and the Saugerties Academy, 
and early in life turned his attention to a busi- 
ness career. He was identified with the blue 
stone business of John Maxwell's Sons, in 
1886 became superintendent of the business, 
and continued in this position until his death. 
He was a thorough business man, highly re- 
spected in the community, and active and use- 
ful as a citizen. He was a member of the 
Dutch Reformed church, of the Saugerties 
Club and of the Masonic fraternity, in which 
he had attained the Knight Templar degree. 
Republican in politics, he was active in promot- 
ing the general interests, and was supervisor 
of Saugerties for ten consecutive years, ending 
in 1908. He married, October 11, 1884, Isabel, 
daughter of Joseph Darrow, of Saugerties. 
Children: i. '\\'alter Maxwell, born January 
28, 1888 : a graduate of Rensselaer Poly- 
technic Institute, Troy, New York, June; 1910; 
is now employed by the General Electric Com- 
pany, in Schenectady, New York. He married, 
November 2, 1910, Anna M. Clum, and they 
have a daughter, Helen C, born November i, 
191 1. 2. D. Leslie Maxwell, born June 7, 
1890, succeeded his father on the latter's death 
as superintendent of The John Maxwell's Sons 
bluestone business, at Saugerties, New York. 
He married, March i, 191 1, Hazel Terwilliger, 
and resides in Saugerties. 3. Stewart Max- 
well, born January i, 1893. 



The names of Bergen and Van 
BERGEN Bergen are Teutonic or German 

in origin, and are common ones 
in Holland and Germany, and the adjacent 
territories, as well as in Ireland. In German 
the word signifies hills, and in most cases the 
family name has been derived from the prox- 
imity or connection of the original family with 
some hills. It is generally assumed in the case 
of the bearers of Teutonic or anglicized names 
in Ireland that thev are descendants of settlers 




Koivo'dU VY.'VUxxA^wiXC/ 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



649 



who have come from England or the Continent 
after the establishment of surnames. This 
may occasionally be the case. Usually, how- 
ever, it is not. Thus the Irish Bergens and 
Mergins, according to O'Hart, are really scions 
of the ancient Milesian family of O'Aimergrin, 
the Gaelic prefix in their case being dropped and 
the name itself slightly metamorphosed to suit 
it to the English tongue. Concerning the Ber- 
gens of Holland, Davies in his "History of 
Holland," says : "Guelderland the States were 
composed of three orders, of which the four 
baronial families of Bronkhurst, Bergen, Baren 
and Wissen, were esteemed the first families." 

In the history of the city of Amsterdam, 
the name frequently occurs among the munic- 
ipal officers. Rietstap gives about a dozen 
families of the name as having the right to 
bear arms. The coat-of-arms of one of the 
Dutch families is thus heraldically described : 
Cuope, au d'or a trois lions de sable, arm. et 
lamp, de gules au d'argent a un bateau a tour- 
bes, voguant sur une eau, !e tout au nat. Crest : 
im lion issuant de sable. 

(I) Hans Hansen Bergen, immigrant ances- 
tor of the Bergens of Long Island, New Jersey, 
and vicinity, was born at Bergen, Norway, 
deriving his surname from that circumstance, 
and died at Wallabout, Brooklyn, in 1653, or 
1654. He emigrated from Norway to Hol- 
land, and from Holland he crossed, in 1633, to 
New Amsterdam or New York. His name 
appears on the early records in various forms, 
his surname being generally omitted, some of 
the forms being "Hans Hansen Van Bergen 
in Noorwegan," "Hans Hansen," "Hans 
Hansz," "Hans Noorman," the term Noor- 
man, meaning Northman, evidently referring 
to Norway. He resided for some years in 
New Amsterdam, where he owned and prob- 
ably occupied a lot on the present Pearl street, 
abutting against the fort, lying between the lots 
of John Snedeker, and that o'f Joris (George) 
Rapalie. In 1638 he was engaged in the cul- 
tivation of the tobacco plantation on the land 
of Andries Hudden on Manhattan Island. It 
is evident also that he was interested in the 
plantation of Master Fixcox. he and Fiscox 
having taken possession of and cultivated a 
tract of land situated on the North river 
prior to the granting of the patents, and be- 
fore he was engaged in the cultivation of 
Hudden's land. In 1643 Maryn Andriaensen 
sold to Thomas Hall, tobacco planter, the 



"plantation situated on the island of Manhat- 
tan on the North river, heretofore cultivated 
by Hans Hansen." Hans Hansen Bergen was 
by occupation a ship carpenter and from an 
agreement with Mr. Moyr. in 1642, in rela- 
tion to a yawl, and from a lawsuit in 1643, in 
relation to a sloop, it appears that he was em- 
ployed at his trade in addition to the cultiva- 
tion of tobacco and farming. In the beginning 
of 1643 the River Indians, who were attacked 
by their enemies, the Mohawks, fled to the vi- 
cinity of the Dutch settlements for protection. 
On this some of the settlers of Long Island 
petitioned the director for leave to attack the 
Mareckkaweck or Brooklyn Indians, a band 
of the Canarsie tribe. This petition was 
signed among others by Hans Hansen, from 
which it appears that at this date he was re- 
sident on Long Island. Later he fled to the 
city for safety from his plantation, of which 
city he was again considered a resident. Ac- 
cording to a receipt on the register of the 
provincial secretary it appears that April 2t„ 
1644, Hans Hansen and George Rapalie, his 
father-in-law, hired cattle to William Smith, 
of Stamford, and November 29, 1644, gave a 
note to Cornells Maersen, for two hundred 
and fifty guilders for wheat bought from him. 
In March, 1647, he obtained from Governor 
Kieft a patent for "a piece of land situated on 
Long Island." On his two hundred morgen 
at Wallabout Hans Hansen Bergen resided as 
early as 1648 and continued to reside there 
until his death. There is a tradition in the 
family to the efl^ect that on one occasion when 
Hans was working in the fields he was sud- 
denly surprised by a band of Indians. He 
sought refuge in a tree and believing that his 
last hour was perilously near he began in a 
strong and moving voice the old Dutch hymn, 
"In mijn grootste nood, O'Heere" (In my 
greatest need, O Lord). The savages were 
so charmed by the music that they stayed 
in their chase, thus giving him a chance to get 
away. Hans Hansen Bergen married, in 1639, 
Sarah, daughter of Joris (George) Jamsen 
Rapalie, born June 9, 1625. She married 
shortly after his death, Teunis Gisbertsen Bo- 
gaert. Children : Anneken, baptized July 
22, 1640; Brecktje, July 27, 1642; Jan, April 
17, 1644; Michiel, mentioned below; Joris, 
July 18, 1649; Marritje, October 8, "165 1 ; 
Jacob, September 21, 1653 ; Catalyn, twin to 
Jacob. 



650 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



(II) Michiel or Michael, son of Hans Han- 
sen and Sarah (Rapalie) Bergen, was bap- 
tized November 4, 1646, in New Amsterdam, 
and died about 1732. His name appears on 
March 10, 1661, to a petition to the governor 
for more land. In May, 1664, he obtained 
from Governor Stuyvesant a patent of twenty 
morgens at New Bedford in W'allabout. From 
various deeds it would appear that Michiel's 
patent of twenty morgens in Bedford ad- 
joined the north side of the road leading from 
New York to Brooklyn ferry to Jamaica, and 
that he probably sold it to Denys Hegeman, 
who sold it to Hendrick Suydam. After the 
capture of New Netherlands from the English 
by the Hollanders, in October, 1673. he was 
appointed a lieutenant of militia under the 
administration of Anthony Colve, the Nether- 
land governor. In 1676 and 1683 his name 
appears on the assessment rolls of Brooklyn 
for twenty morgens, the amount of his patent, 
on which at the time he probably resided. In 
1679 his name and that of his wife appear 
on the list of the members of the Reformed 
Dutch Church of Brooklyn, among the resi- 
dents of the Wallabout, and from 1680 to 
1685 ^^ appears to have held the office of 
deacon of the church. In 1675 he was as- 
sessed in Brooklyn one poll, two horses, seven 
cows, and twenty morgens of land and valley, 
the land valued at forty pounds, and the per- 
sonal property at seventy-four pounds, the 
total being one hundred and fourteen pounds. 
In 1680 he and Symon Aessen were overseers 
of Brooklyn. In the same year he is credited 
on the books of Elbert Elbertse Stoothofif, of 
Flatlands, with four schepels wheat, and also 
charged for a house. In Dongan's patent of 
Brooklyn of 1686, he is named as one of the 
patentees. Between 1681 and 1689 he held 
the office of one of the overseers or commis- 
sioners, having in charge town lands. In Oc- 
tober, 1686, he was a member of the grand 
jury and in i6qo he was foreman. In Sep- 
tember, 1687, his name appears among those 
who took the oath of allegiance to the British 
government. He was sent with others on 
behalf of a company to Pennsylvania to select 
a good tract of land for a settlement and resi- 
dence. In 1698 he was appointed a justice of 
the peace by the governor, the Earl of Bello- 
ment, and was one of the justices of the ses- 
sions. There are various records of his buy- 
ing and selling lands, the last record of him 



being as late as January 22, 1731. He mar- 
ried Femmetje Theunis, daughter of Theunis 
Denyse, of Gowanus, baptized April 3, 1650, 
at New Amsterdam. Children : Sara, born 
June 2, 1678: Teunis, May 16, 1680; Hans, 
mentioned below; Femmetje; May. 

(Ill) Hans, son of Michiel or Michael and 
Femmetje ( Denyse) Bergen, was baptized 
March 11, 1689, and died in 1731. From the 
records of the court of sessions of Kings 
county in 1708, it appears that Hans, with 
others, was tried April 30, 1708, for a riot 
said to have been committed at the house of 
Sarah Knight, a t;iv:rn keeper in Brookland. 
In 1710 he bought of his father for four hun- 
dred pounds the land at Brooklyn ferry, 
which he purchased in 1709 from Garret Mid- 
dagh. Hans Bergen and his wife became com- 
municants of the Reformed Dutch Church of 
New York in February, 171 3. He bought 
various lands in Brooklyn, and seems to have 
engaged in many real estate transactions. In 
17 1 5 his name appears on the militia list of 
the town as a private in Captain Remsen's 
company. In 171 7 Hans Bergen, baker, 
bought of Johannes Sebering, baker, for 
ninety-nine pounds, his interest or the one 
individual half of the plot they purchased as 
freeholders. He appears also to have had an 
interest in lands in Manhattan. He carried 
on the bakery business in Brooklyn from 1717 
to 1730, in conjunction with a store, and 
stabling for horses of the residents of the 
island, when crossing to New York. He mar- 
ried Rachel, daughter of Derick Bensing or 
Benson. Children: Annetje, baptized March 
12, 1710, in New York; Tiesje, June 9, 171 1; 
Meigheil, December 20. 1712: Femmetje, July 
29, 1715; Derick, mentioned below: Hans, 
July 12, 1721 ; Tunis, October 15. 1720. 

CIV) Derick, second son of Hans and 
Rachel (Benson) Bergen, was born February 
28, 1718, baptized March 5 of the same year 
in New York, and died November 19. 1759. 
He lived with his brother Hans in the old 
stone house on the paternal homestead near 
the Bay, at what is now Fifty-fifth street, 
Brooklyn, where he died. He bought of his 
brother Hans, July 21, 1756, a farm near the 
present Fifteenth street, Brooklyn, where his 
family lived after his death. After the death 
of his father, jointly with his mother, he sold 
a plot in Brooklyn, about one acre, on the road 
to the ferry, for three hundred and forty 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



651 



pounds. He owned two Negro slaves called 
Will and Caesar. He married, in 1749, De- 
borah, daughter of Jacques (2) Cortelyou, 
born November 29, 1720, died January 15, 
1808. Jacques (2) Cortelyou was born about 
1697, died in 1757, son of Peter Cortelyou, 
who was born about 1664 at New Utrecht, 
Long Island, and died April 10, 1757. He 
was a surveyor and part owner of the Har- 
lington Tract in Somerset, New Jersey. He 
married Deborah DeWitt, and Jacques was 
their eldest son. Peter Cortelyou was a son 
of Jacques (i) Corteljau, very prominent in 
the early history of New York. His name 
was sometimes written Cortilleau. He was 
either a Huguenot or a Walloon, the latter 
being indicated by the termination of his name, 
which he wrote Corteljau. He was tutor of 
the children of Cornells Van Werckhoven in 
Holland, and came with his employer to New 
Amsterdam in 1651-52. Van Werckhoven 
was a member of the West India Company 
and patroon of New Netherlands, owning a 
patent of the Nyack tract in New Utrecht, 
Long Island. In 1654 he returned to Holland 
to procure settlers for his tract, leaving Cor- 
teljau to manage the property in his absence. 
Soon after arrival in Holland, Van Werck- 
hoven died and the property on Long Island 
ultimately came into possession of Corteljau. 
The latter was appointed surveyor of the col- 
ony by the governor and council, January 23, 
1657, and in that year he laid out the village 
of New Utrecht, whose settlement began in 
1 661. He surveyed much of the lands on 
Long, Staten, and Manhattan islands, and in 
other parts of the colony. He laid out the 
village of Schenectady, and lots and farms on 
the Delaware river. He died about 1693. His 
wife, Neeltje, was a sister of Garret Cornelisse 
Van Duyn, and survived him a short time, dy- 
ing before December, 1695. Children : 
Jacques, born about 1662 ; Peter, previously 
mentioned as the father of Jacques (2), and 
grandfather of Deborah, wife of Derick Ber- 
gen; Cornells, died about 1690: Helena, died 
after 1726; Maria, wife of William Barkeloo ; 
William, who probably died before his father. 
Children of Mr. and Mrs. Bergen; i. Rachel, 
born 1753, died March 10. 1824; married, De- 
cember 29, 1771, Walter Barry, of Gowanus. 
2. Jemima, mentioned below. 3. Tiesie, born 
January 19, 1758: married, in May, 1780, 
Ebenezer Carson, an officer of the revolution ; 



resided on a part of the paternal farm, which 
she owned, and died April 18, 1826. 4. Naltie, 
born March 25, 1759, died in her second year. 

(V) Jemima, second daughter of Derick and 
Deborah (Cortelyou) Bergen, was born May 
4, 1755. She was married in September, 1769, 
to Joseph Smith, a native of New Jersey. 
Children: i. Derick Bergen, born December 
II, 1770, died 1777. 2. Samuel, born July 13, 
1772, died an old man, unmarried. 3. Eliza- 
beth, born August 11, 1774; married James 
Seaman, and died about 1854. 4. Derick Ber- 
gen, born August 20, 1778, died 1779. 5. John, 
born September 11, 1780; was living in 1863. 
6. Derick, born January 16, 1783 ; was mate of 
a vessel sailing from New York to San Do- 
mingo, and was poisoned by a Negro cook in 
November, 1828. 7. Jacques, born March 17, 
1785, died an old man in Queens county. 8. 
James, born March 12, 1787, probably died 
young. 9. Rachel, born December 19, 1789 ; 
married (first) Captain Nicholls, (second) a 
Mr. Ford, (third) Calvin Camfield, of New 
Jersey, and was living in 1863. 10. Deborah, 
mentioned below. 11. Joseph, born April 7, 
1795, died November 25, 1850, on Long 
Island. 

(IV) Deborah, third daughter of Joseph 
and Jemima (Bergen) Smith, was born 
Marcli 26, 1792. She married (first) Novem- 
ber II, 1813, Thomas G, Adams, of New 
York (see Adams VI) ; she married (second) 
John Wyckofif, of Gowanus, and died March 
6, 1836. Children of first marriage : Thomas, 
Jemima Adaline, William, Elizabeth, William 
J.; child of second marriage: John Wyckofif, 
born February 10, 1835. 

(VII) Jemima Adaline. second child of 
Thomas G. and Deborah (Smith) Adams, was 
born January 4, 1817, died January 19, 1897. 
She married. December 31, 1836, Joseph Mo- 
sier Simonson, who was born about 1810 in 
New York City or Brooklyn. For more than 
forty years he was connected with the Brook- 
lyn post office, being most of that time assistant 
postmaster under various administrations, and 
died in the harness, July 4, 1879. On the day 
of his funeral nearly all the employes of the 
post office attended in a body. He was a 
member of the Washington Street Methodist 
Church of Brooklyn, and was also identified 
with temperance organizations. Politically a 
Republican, he did not engage actively in pol- 
itical movements, and held no elective office. 



652 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



His efficiency, faithful and upright character 
are attested by his long term in the United 
States service. He was esteemed for his 
manly qualities and widely mourned at his 
death. Children: Joseph Mosier, born De- 
cember I, 1837; Mary Louise, August 29, 
1839; Thomas G. Adams, February 23. 1841 ; 
Sarah Louise, October 4, 1842; Ann Elizabeth, 
March 18, 1844; Adalina, September 28, 1846; 
Morris, died young ; Morris, born January 28, 
1850: Malvinio Black, June 27, 1852; John 
Wyckoff, June 28, 1855 ; Arthur, mentioned 
below. 

(VHI) Arthur, youngest child of Joseph 
Mosier and Jemima Adaline (Adams) Simon- 
son, was born January 30, 1857, in Brooklyn, 
and in early boyhood attended public school 
No. 15 in that city. He afterwards received 
private tuition, and at the age of twenty years 
began a course at Bryant & Stratton's Business 
College, from which he graduated. Shortly 
after he engaged with the firm of Powers & 
Weightman, chemists, in New York City, with 
whom he continued several years. He then 
joined the law firm of F. & H. L. Morris, 
which later became Morris, Sentell & Main. 
Mr. Simonson is now associated with H. L. 
Morris, with offices on Exchange Place, and 
specializes in real estate and insurance. He 
is a Republican in politics, and resides in New 
York City. He is unmarried. 

(The Adams Line.) 

It is presumable that the ancestor of this 
family was related to that which furnished 
two presidents to the United States, and many 
distinguished citizens through the succeeding 
generations, down to the present time. This 
assumption is based on the fact that the an- 
cestor is found at Braintree, Massachusetts, 
where Henry Adams, founder of what is 
known as the Presidential Family, also settled 
on coming to America. At any rate, many 
worthy citizens have been born in this family, 
and it has contributed to the development and 
welfare of many localities. 

(I) Jeremy Adams, ancestor of the branch 
of the name which is at present under con- 
sideration, came from England with the com- 
pany brought over to America by Rev. Mr. 
Hooker, and settled first at Braintree, Massa- 
chusetts, from whence he soon removed to 
Cambridge, then called Newtown, where 
Jeremy Adams appears as early as 1632, and 
where he was made a freeman, May 6, 1635. 



and was assigned a homestead lot in October 
of the same year. The following year, 1636, 
he removed with the company which became 
the original proprietors of the new settlement 
to Hartford, Connecticut, and according to 
Himman was a juror and deputy to the general 
court of Connecticut in 1638. On April 5, 
1638, he was sent with Captain Mason and 
five others to treat with the Indians and trade 
with them for corn, and in the land division of 
1639 he received thirty acres on the highway, 
now Elm street, and the same year was chosen 
constable. March 5, 1644, the general court 
ordered Jeremy Adams to appear before the 
next session of that body in order to receive 
censure for "adhering to Thomas Asmor, en- 
couraging him to resist an officer, and espe- 
cially for his passionate distempered speeches, 
lowd language and unmannerly caredge in the 
face of the court.'' March 13, 1660, the same 
court granted him three hundred acres of up- 
land and forty acres of meadow on the road 
going to Monhegin, and about the same time 
established him as keeper of the ordinary. 
This tavern was on the site of the present 
Universalist Church. January 26, 1660, he 
bought the lot of John Morrice, and mortgaged 
it to the colony, and May 14, 1663, he was ap- 
pointed by the general court "custome mas- 
ter" for Hartford. March 2, 1664, being sixty 
years old, he was "freed from watching and 
warding." and in 1671 he was chosen one of 
the townsmen. He died .August 11, 1683, leav- 
ing an estate valued at £243 5 shillings 6 
pence, and gave his property to his grandson, 
Zachariah Sanford, the children of his son 
John, and the children of his son-in-law, Na- 
thaniel Willit, which last named was also his 
executor. The house of his executor burned 
down and with all of Jeremy Adams' books 
and papers. 

About 1639, Jeremy Adams married (first) 
Rebecca, widow of Samuel Greenhill. She was 
possibly the second wife of Mr. Greenhill, whc> 
had come from Staplehurst. county Kent, Eng- 
land, in the same ship with Simon Willard. 
To this marriage there were six children: i. 
John, mentioned below. 2. Ann, died in 1682 ; 
married Robert Sanford, of Hartford, and 
had eight children. 3. Hannah, became second 
wife of Nathaniel Willit, and was the mother 
of at least two of his children. 4. Samuel, 
baptized November 24, 1645. probably died 
young. 5. Hester. 6. Sarah. Rebecca, his 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



653 



first wife, died 1678, and Jeremy Adams mar- 
ried (second) Rebecca, daughter of John 
Fletcher, and widow of Andrew Warner, Jr., 
who, although not mentioned in his will, sur- 
vived him and died in Middletown, January 

25, 1715, at the age of seventy-seven years. 
(II) John, son of Jeremy and Rebecca 

(Greenhill) Adams, has left little record be- 
hind him except his children, the date of his 
death, and the inventory of his estate, which 
was made November 9, 1670, and amounted 
to £4 15 shillings 6 pence. His widow Abi- 
gail married John Betts, of Wethersfield, who 
was probably a son of John, son of Mary 
Betts, the school dame of Hartford. January 

26, 1680, John Betts, of Wethersfield, bought 
of Jacob Walker, of Stratford, a farm at 
Huntington, Long Island, and about this time 
removed with his wife and the children of 
John Adams to that place. They were there 
at least in 1684, when John Betts and his wife 
Abigail conveyed to Edward Higbee, "for and 
in consideration of a marriage between the said 
Higbee and Abigail Adams, his stepdaughter," 
a part of the farm bought from Jacob \\'alker. 
Children of John and Abigail Adams: i. Re- 
becca, born August, 1658. 2. Abigail, born 
February, 1660; married Edward Higbee; one 
son, John Higbee, married Alice, daughter of 
Edward Andrews, and left two children — Abi- 
gail, married Robert Leeds, of Burlington 
county, New Jersey, and Edward, who settled 
in what is now Atlantic county. New Jersey, 
and became ancestor of the Higbee family in 
that region. 3. Sarah, born March, 1662. 4. 
Jeremiah, born August, 1664; married and re- 
moved to Great Egg Harbor, New Jersey, 
where letters of administration were granted 
to his son Jeremiah, December 16, 1735. 5. 
John, Jr., born September, 1666: removed to 
New Jersey; by wife Esther had seven chil- 
dren. 6. Jonathan, mentioned below. 7. An 
unnamed child. 

(Ill) Jonathan, next to the youngest child 
of John and Abigail Adams, was born in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, November 6, 1668, died in 
1727. He went to Huntington, Long Island, 
with his mother and stepfatlier. and November 
10, 1689, Jeremiah Adams sold to "his well 
beloved brother" Jonathan, one-half of the 
plot of land he had bought of his stepfather. 
In 1695 Jonathan Adams, "of Long Island, 
yeoman," purchased of Thomas Budd about 
two hundred and fifty acres of land at Great 



Egg Harbor, Gloucester county. New Jersey, 
and subsequently made further purchases until 
his estate consisted of over twelve hundred 
acres. About the time of his coming to New 
Jersey he became a member of the Society of 
Friends, and his descendants for several gen- 
erations clung to the same faith. In 1726 he 
was chosen as one of the overseers of the 
Friends' meeting at Great Egg Harbor. He 
was a man not only of much property but of 
considerable influence and was very highly re- 
spected. For a number of years he was one 
of the justices of the county court, and in 1701 
was appointed special tax collector. His will, 
dated May 27, 1719, proved June 17, 1727, 
mentions his wife Barbara, and children: 
Jonathan, Jr. ; John, mentioned below ; Abigail ; 
Margaret; Rebecca; Sarah, married John 
Steelman ; Mary ; Nina ; Phoebe. 

(IV) John (2), son of Jonathan and Bar- 
bara Adams, inherited most of his estate from 
his father, and in 1676 had it resurveyed to 
his three sons in equal parts. Besides the fact 
that he was a large landholder and an earnest 
Quaker, very little record of him has come 
down to us. The three sons mentioned in the 
resurvey spoken of above were : i. John, men- 
tioned beloW: 2. Jonathan, who lived in Egg 
Harbor township, Atlantic county; was a pri- 
vate during the revolution ; by his wife Mary 
had five children. 3. Elijah, who served in the 
Gloucester county militia during the revolu- 
tion ; died intestate in 1801, leaving an only 
son Jeremiah. 

(V) John (3), son of John (2) Adams, 
lived on the one-third of his father's estate 
which he had inherited. He served as an en- 
sign in the New Jersey militia during the war 
of the revolution. His will, dated August 25, 
1797. proved April 17, 1798, does not mention 
his wife, but she survived him many years, liv- 
ing with her son-in-law, John Lake, and dying 
April 29, 1825. John Adams married Mary 
Garwood, the descendant of a long line of 
prominent Quaker ancestors. Children: i. 
Mary, born March 14. 1764. 2. Hannah, born 
September 23, 1765 ; married Solomon Man- 
nery. 3. Daniel, born August 2^,, 1767. 4. 
John, born May 25, 1769. 5. Joshua, April 
22, 1771. 6. Daniel, born April i, 1773, died 
February 17, 1863; married (first) Sarah 
Chamberlain, (second) Elizabeth Bartlett 7. 
Abigail, born January 11, 1775; married John 
Lake. 8. Jesse, born April 26, 1777. 9. 



654 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Thomas G., mentioned below. lo. Margaret, 
born January 7, 1783; married Amariah Lake. 
II. William, born November 24, 1787. 12. 
Bevina, born May 18, 1789. 

(VT) Thomas G., sixth son of John (3) 
and Mary (Garwood) Adams, was born April 
17, 1780, died October 10, 1820. He married, 
November 11, 1813, Deborah Smith, born 
March 26, 1792. Children: Thomas, born 
November 21, 1814; Jemima Adaline, men- 
tioned below; Elizabeth, November 10, 1818; 
William I., March 4, 1820, died at the age of 
fifteen years. 

(VII) Jemima Adaline, senior daughter of 
Thomas G. and Deborah (Smith) Adams, was 
born January 4, 1817, and became the wife of 
Joseph Mosier Simonson (see Bergen VII). 



The hereditary surname Wells is 
WELLS said by one authority to be from 

Wellan, an old form of expres- 
sion which means to spring up as a fountain 
of water. It is found as a place name in Eng- 
land, and also has a Norman stem in Val, Vals, 
Vaux, and De Vollibus. Three sons of Har- 
old De Vaux, a Norman baron, went over to 
England in 11 20 from France and settled in 
Cumberland. One of these was named Robert, 
and his grandson, Adam Vaux, about 1194, 
holding the manor of Welles, took the name of 
De Wells. Bishop Hugo De Welles became 
one of the most important men in England. 
Advanced to the see of Lincoln as archdeacon 
and lord chancellor of the realm, his power 
became very great. He was chief of the ba- 
ons, and was instrumental in obtaining from 
King John at Runnymede, in 1215, the Magna 
Charta, since regarded by historians as a bul- 
wark and beginning of liberty to the English 
people, prepared by his own hand. The early 
records of New England colonies contain men- 
tion of many persons of this name, who were 
settled in Boston, Lynn, Hatfield, Haddam, 
Ipswich, New London, and Hartford. From 
the early progenitor descended a manly race, 
and many of the name made records in the 
revolution. Nine who spelled their names 
Welles were patriot soldiers in the revolution 
in Massachusetts regiments, and one hundred 
and sixty whose name is spelled Wells. In 
the Connecticut organizations were five of the 
Welles branch, and forty-seven of the Wells 
branch of the family, assuming that they were 
branches of the same stem. Other spellings 



of the name in revolutionary records are: 
Wailles, Wails, Wealls, Weels, Well, Walks, 
Wels, Willa, and Wolle. Prominent among the 
men who used the form of Welles, was Gover- 
nor Thomas Welles, a colonist of Connecticut ; 
Gideon, once secretary of the navy ; and Ed- 
ward R., an American bishop. Among those 
who used the simpler spelling of the name 
(Wells) are: Henry T., a painter; H. G., 
a novelist ; and Horace and John D., men of 
rank in medicine. A very large number of the 
name of Wells and Welles in North America 
are descended from Governor Thomas Welles. 
Of this prominent settler Savage says : "It is 
quite uncertain when he came from England, 
that satisfactorily known is that he brought 
three sons and three daughters ; equally un- 
certain is the name of his wife, though we can 
hardly doubt whether he brought one; and 
stranger still is the uncertainty of his prior 
residence in Massachusetts. He had good 
proportions of the patents from Swampscott 
and Dover, which he sold, August 1648, to 
Christopher Lawson. We may then safely 
conclude that a person of his education and 
good estate had not come over the water before 
1636, and that he stayed so short a time at 
Boston, or Cambridge, as to leave no trace of 
himself at either, and he was established at 
Hartford before Governor Haynes left Cam- 
bridge. There is indeed a very precise tradi- 
tion of his coming with his father Nathaniel, 
in the fleet with Higginson, 1629, to Salem; 
but this is merely ridiculous." "He came to 
Boston or vicinity, probably about 1636; then 
perhaps to Saybrook, Connecticut, thence 1637 
or earlier to Hartford, thence 1643 to Weth- 
ersfield," says Henry R. Styles in his excellent 
history of ancient Wethersfield, Connecticut. 

(I) John T. Wells was born in 1826, in 
Montreal, Canada, and died at High Falls, 
New York, in 1877. His early life was spent 
in Canada, where he engaged in rafting on the 
St. Lawrence river. A few years later he 
came to New York state and settled at Stone 
Ridge, Ulster county, where he engaged in the 
custom boot and shoe business. He was of a 
quiet disposition and was greatly devoted to 
his home life, though taking a deep interest 
in all public movements. He was quite likely 
a descendants of the Governor Thomas Welles, 
mentioned above, though diligent research has 
not revealed the links binding his generation 
to earlier ones. He was a member of the In- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



655 



dependent Order of Odd Fellows, and was a 
sexton of the Dutch Reformed church at 
Stone Ridge for a number of years. Both he 
and his wife are buried at Stone Ridge, New 
York. He married Catherine, born 1836, died 
1900, daughter of John Snyder, of Rochester, 
Ulster county, New York (see Snyder). 
Children : Mary J., married L. Snyder ; John ; 
Herman S., mentioned below ; and William D. 

(11) Herman S., son of John T. and Cath- 
erine (Snyder) Wells, was born at Stone 
Ridge, Ulster county. New York, April 23, 
1867. He was educated in the district schools 
and early in life worked on the D. and H. 
canal. He continued in this occupation for a 
number of years, and then commenced to 
learn telegraphy, accepting a position as tele- 
graph operator at High Falls for the D. and H. 
Canal Company. Two years later he accepted 
a similar position at Ellenville, where for 
twenty-six years he was manager of the West- 
ern Union Telegraph Company's interest. In 
1902 he purchased a controlling interest in the 
Deleware River Telephone and Telegraph 
Company and was made president. This con- 
tinued until July, iqii, when it was merged 
into the New York Telephone Company. Mr. 
Wells is at present (1913) a member of the 
firm of Ryan & Wells, granite and marble 
works, whose business extends throughout the 
middle and eastern states. Mr. Wells repre- 
sented the town of Wawarsing in Ulster 
county on the board of supervisors as a Re- 
publican from 1910 to 191 1. He was trustee 
of the village of Ellenville for twelve years, 
and is president of the Delaware River Tele- 
phone and Telegraph Company. He has been 
connected with the Scoresby Hose and Hook 
and Ladder Company of the Ellenville Fire 
Department for the past twenty years' con- 
tinuous service, and is an exempt fireman ; 
is a member of Wawarsing Lodge, No. 582, 
Free and Accepted Masons, and the Knights 
of Pythias Lodge, of Ellenville. In religion he 
is an attendant at the Methodist places of 
worship. He married Cora B. Schoonmaker; 
they have no children. 

(The Snyder Line.) 

The Snyder family is German in origin, and 
the name is a corruption of the German form 
"Schneider," which has the meaning of Taylor. 
Several distinct families of the name settled 
in this country during the period of heavy 
German immigration in the early part of the 



eighteenth century. Jacob Schneider, or Sny- 
der, came to Ulster county from Dutchess 
county, New York, and settled in what is now 
known as the Cottekill, where he took up a 
tract of land. His children were Christopher, 
Andrew, Jacob, and Henry. 

Christopher, son of Jacob Snyder, was born 
in Dutchess county, February 24, 1752, and 
came with his parents to Ulster county. He 
married, November 3, 1785, Deborah Low, 
having one child, Jacob Low, who was born, 
September 9, 1788. 

Jacob, son of Christopher Snyder, lived to 
middle age, and died December 23, 1834, being 
buried in Rosendale cemetery. His education 
was obtained in the schools of the district in 
which he lived, and under the tuition of his 
uncle Andrew, who was a man of considerable 
erudition, he became a man of excellent at- 
tainments, apart from the work of his life 
in the agricultural field. His principal occu- 
pation was farming and his father and himself 
were extensive landowners, all the land from 
Keator's Corners to near High Falls being 
their property. Jacob also owned and oper- 
ated a flour mill, which was one of the first 
in that locality. He was successful in all his 
business enterprises and was a man highly 
respected in the community. He was one of 
the most prosperous and progressive citizens 
in his township and a leading man in all its 
affairs. In religion he belonged to the Dutch 
Reformed church of Marbletown, now Stone 
Ridge, which church was established before the 
revolutionary war, being a very active worker 
in this body and one of its chief supporters. He 
bore a high character for integrity, industry, 
and ability. He was liberal in his donations 
to worthy objects of every kind. His children 
were Benjamin. Deborah, Ann Eliza, Christo- 
pher, John, Sarah and Peter. John was the 
father of Catherine Snyder, who married John 
T. Wells. 



The surname Wilklow is an 
^^'ILKLO^^' unusual one, and an investi- 
gation of the lists of names 
current in England, Ireland, Scotland, France. 
Germany, and Holland, does not reveal it in 
this form or in any form that can be claimed 
as very nearly analogous to it. The name has 
been described as Norman, and also as Anglo- 
Saxon, and even as Dutch in origin. There is 
no evidence in the ordinary records to show 



656 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



that it is any of these. Burke's "General Ar- 
mory" does not contain it. One authority as- 
serts that it is a corruption of the name of 
Wicklow, which is appHed to one of the coun- 
ties of Ireland. On the supposition that the 
two names have a common origin an extract 
from O'Hart's "Pedigrees" (Vol. I, p. 840) 
may be given: "Wicklow" says that author- 
ity, "was formed into a county in the reign 
of King James the First; its name being de- 
rived from the town of Wicklow, which it is 
said was called by the Danes Wykinlow or 
Wykinlough, signifying the Harbor of Ships, 
and it was called by the Irish (in Gaelic) Cil- 
mantan. According to O'Flaherty (the cele- 
brated author of 'Ogygia') the name 
of Wicklow was derived from the Irish 
Buidhe Cloch, signifying the yellow stone 
or rock ; and probably so-called from 
the yellow color of its granite rocks. 
Wicklow was in ancient times covered 
with extensive forests and the oak woods of 
Shillelagh, on the borders of Wicklow and 
Wexford, were celebrated in former times. 
The gold mines of Wicklow, celebrated in his- 
tory, were situated in the mountains of Crog- 
han Kinselagh, near Arklow, and pieces of 
solid golden ore of various kinds were found 
in the rivulets ; one of which pieces was 
twenty-three ounces in weight." In P. W. 
Joyce's work on "Irish Names of Places" a 
great deal of other information is given regard- 
ing the name of Wicklow, which appears to 
have had many different forms. 

(I) Daniel Wilklow was born in Lloyd 
township, Ulster county. New York, and died 
at New Paltz, Ulster county, in 1850. He is 
the first member of the family, who can be 
traced, and it is thus far impossible to decide 
by research what number of generations he 
had behind him in this country. The evi- 
dence points to the fact that his father was the 
first of the name to settle in this country, 
where he was probably a cultivator of the soil. 
Daniel was brought up like a majority of the 
boys of that day, with plenty of hard work, 
and with only modest advantages in the way 
of education. On arriving at years of matur- 
ity he married, and after his marriage located 
on a farm at New Paltz, which he developed 
into an excellent property, where he brought 
up a fine family of boys and girls. He married 
a Miss Palmateer, whose father was a soldier 
in the revolutionary war and after its close set- 



tled on the banks of the Hudson, in Ulster 
county, where he followed agriculture and 
reared a large family. Children of Daniel 
Wicklow : John D., mentioned below ; Wil- 
liam ; Maria ; Solomon ; David ; Eliza ; Luther ; 
Hannah, who married Daniel Rider ; Elijah 
and Philip. 

(II) John D., eldest son of Daniel and 

(Palmateer) Wilklow, was born in 

Lloyd township, Ulster county. New York, in 
December, 1801, died in March, 1881, at Mar- 
bletown, near Kripple Bush, Ulster county. 
His early education was obtained in the public 
schools of the district, and being a young man 
of considerable natural ability he supplemented 
the regular course of study with a wide range 
of reading and observation, thus acquiring a 
sound judgment and a varied store of knowl- 
edge on many subjects, which served him well 
through life. He had learned the elements of 
agriculture by assisting his father in the de- 
velopment of his property, and naturally took 
up farming as an occupation. He lived for a 
time at New Paltz and later at Rochester, 
where he took up a farm owned by one P. H. 
Hornbeck. In 1849 he bought a farm in Mar- 
bletown, near Kripple Bush, where he spent 
the rest of his life. The farm consisted of one 
hundred and thirty acres and was one of the 
finest in that section of the state. Mr. Wilk- 
low was very successful as an agriculturist, 
and his exceptional powers of judgment and 
high moral character, combined with natural 
abilities, gave him considerable influence in 
the community of which he was a member. 
He took a very considerable interest in the 
public affairs of the day, whether they affected 
the interests of nation, state or town. In his 
early days he was inclined to give his support 
to the Whig interest, and later he was a Re- 
publican, following the lead and principles of 
that party to the close of his life. Like most 
members of his family he was a member of 
the Dutch Reformed church. He married 
Dorcas Dow, of Milton, who died in 1876. 
They had a family of ten children, all of whom 
lived to an adult age, a circumstance that be- 
tokened the strength of the stock from which 
they sprang, as well as the healthful condi- 
tions in which they lived. Children : Isaac, 
who married and resided at Kripple Bush : 
Theodore, mentioned below ; Sarah, who re- 
mained single ; Jane, who married Gerrey Ten 
Hagen : Philip, who married and resided at 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



657 



Ellenville; Lewis, who resided at Ellenville ; 
Denton, unmarried, resided at Kripple Bush ; 
Almira, married Alexander Schoonmaker; 
Margaret, hved at High Falls; Mary Ann. 

(HI) Theodore, son of John D. and Dorcas 
(Dow) Wilklow, was born at New Paltz, Ul- 
ster county, New York, August 24, 1836. Mr. 
Wilklow was the founder of the soft wood 
industry, and inventor of it, his business in it 
extending in course of time to Berlin, Paris, 
London, and all over the world. He attended, 
in youth, the common schools of Rochester 
and Marbletown with one winter term at the 
Ellenville Academy. Of all the opportunities 
which these educational advantages presented 
he made good use and was always a great 
reader, keeping himself well informed on cur- 
rent topics. At an early age he worked at 
farming, and later became a clerk for S. Has- 
brouck for four dollars a month. Following 
that he spent a year in the employ of Jacob D. 
Van De Mark, and finally in the year 1856 
went into business for himself at Kripple 
Bush. At the end of three years he took a 
partner and this partnership continued for six 
years, until 1867, when he moved to Phillips- 
port, in Sullivan county, and began the manu- 
facture of hoops. After a period of four 
years, however, he returned to Kripple Bush, 
and engaged again in merchandising until at 
the end of some years he found himself deeply 
involved. After much consideration Mr. Wilk- 
low then returned to hoop manufacturing, 
this time, out of the fund of his mature ex- 
perience and knowledge of the industry, in- 
troducing an entirely new departure by em- 
ploying soft wood as a material. His success 
in the new line was almost instantaneous, and 
continued in such steady growth that his first 
order of ten thousand soon developed into 
millions annually. His trade soon extended 
all over the west, and in 1887 Mr. Wilklow 
transferred his establishment to Ellenville, 
making his business the center of the hoop 
trade in that part of the country, where he 
is generally recognized as the father of the 
industry. The business is now worldwide, 
having developed from a sample of five thou- 
sand soft wood hoo]is. in 1875. to an output 
of scventv-five million in 1008. Mr. \\'ilk- 
low is a Republican in politics and of progres- 
sive and liberal principles: for fifty years he 
has been a member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, and also of the Knights of 



Pythias. In 1859 he joined the Dutch Re- 
formed church, and has held the office of 
deacon at Stone Ridge and Ellenville for many 
years. He takes an active and generous in- 
terest in many enterprises in the community, 
and though repeatedly urged to accept public 
offices of various kinds he has declined. He 
married (first) Hannah M., daughter of Dan- 
iel Schoonmaker, her death taking place in 
1865; married (second) in 1868, Jane North. 
Child by first marriage : Ledrira, who mar- 
ried Rufus Wood. Children by second mar- 
riage: Mary A.: George F., mentioned be- 
low ; Eva ; Anna and Charles. 

(IV) Dr. George F. Wilklow, son of Theo- 
dore and Jane (North) Wilklow, was born 
at Stone Ridge, Ulster county. New York, 
November 7, 1870. He was educated at El- 
lenville Academy and Cazenovia Seminary, 
Cazenovia, New York. At the close of his 
preliminary education he took up the study 
of medicine, attending for a period of two 
years at the College of Physicians and Sur- 
geons. New York City. Then he spent two 
years at Bellevue Hospital, being finally ad- 
mitted to practice in the year 1897. Dr. Wilk- 
low served in the Spanish-American war as 
assistant surgeon, with the rank of first lieu- 
tenant, in the Philippines and China ; is now 
first lieutenant, Medical Reserve Corps, 
United States Army. At the close of the war 
he served also one year in the Manhattan Hos- 
pital, New York City; then settled in Wurts- 
boro. New York, where he practiced his pro- 
fession till 1910, in which year he removed 
to Ellenville, where he now (1913) resides 
and practices. He belongs to the Wawarsing 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and 
among other societies is a member of the State 
and LHster County Medical associations. Dr. 
A\'ilklow married Blanche Fairbanks. 



It is more or less a matter of pride 
GRAY for one to be able to look back 

over a known ancestral line of a 
thousand years — a line that can be traced to 
the time of William the Conqueror. The 
name Gray is of great antiquity and of local 
origin. The orthography, however, prior to 
the tenth century, was De Gray, but the prefix 
has been generallv dropped excepting in some 
of the titled families of England and Ireland. 
There are some members of this large family 
in Canada who can trace an unbroken lineage 



658 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



back to King William, who granted a crest 
which is still maintained in England, and the 
reception of valuable testimonials from that 
king for distinguished services rendered at 
the battle of Hastings. "Burke's Peerage" 
gives information of members of this family 
who received high honors from Richard I. 
in the twelfth century. The marriage of 
Henry Gray, the Duke of Suffolk, with Mary, 
the daughter of Henry VH., brought the fam- 
ily near the throne. His unreasonable strug- 
gle, however, to have their daughter, Lady 
Jane Gray, crowned as queen brought that es- 
timable young woman to a sad end. But Mr. 
Gray deems the attainments of the men of 
today of more account than the merits of 
remote ancestors. 

(I) John Gray, the founder of this family, 
lived in Yarmouth, Massachusetts, where he 
died in 1674. He is said to have married 
Hannah, daughter of William Lumpkin, one 
of the founders and prominent citizens of 
Yarmouth. Children : Benjamin, born De- 
cember 7, 1648; William, born October 5, 
1650: Mary, married, June 10, 1680, Benja- 
min Ryder ; Edward, of whom further ; John, 
died March 31, 1732, married Susannah Clark; 
Gideon. 

(H) Edward, son of John and Hannah 
(Lumpkin) Gray, was born in Yarmouth, and 
died there. He married, in Plymouth, July 
16, 1684, Melatiah, daughter of George Lewis, 
of Brewster. Children : Priscilla, born Oc- 
tober 18, 1686; Gideon, born September 6, 
1688; John, born July 26, 1691, married Han- 
nah ; Meiatiah, born June 6, 1694; 

Mercy, born April 13, 1696; Edward, of whom 
further. 

(HI) Edward (2), son of Edward (i) and 
Melatiah (Lewis) Gray, was born in Yar- 
mouth, and died in Harwich, Massachusetts. 
He married, July 3, 1727, Hannah Godfrey. 
Children: Mary, baptized October 18. 1728; 
Mary, baptized April 13, 1735 ; Priscilla, bap- 
tized April 13, 1735 : Richard, baptized April 
13, 1735 : Hannah, baptized November 9, 1735 ; 
Benoni, baptized October 16, 1737. married 
Mary Rockwell; Edward (3), baptized March 
29, 1741 ; John; Godfrey, of whom further; 
Oliver. 

(IV) Godfrey, son of Edward (2) and 
Hannah (Godfrey) Gray, was born in Har- 
wich or Brewster, Massachusetts, about 1745, 
and died in New Haven, Connecticut, in 1809. 



His wife's name is unknown. Children, be- 
sides two that died young: William; Martin, 
of whom further; Morgan; Samuel. 

(V) Martin, son of Godfrey Gray, was 
born September 20, 1784, died in Katsbaan, 
Ulster county. New York, January 10, 1871, 
and is buried in the Blue Mountain Cemetery, 
near Saugerties. He lived for a time in Sara- 
toga county. New York, and removed from 
there to Greene county, New York, finally set- 
tling on a farm near Saugerties, Ulster county. 
New York, which he cultivated until his death. 
He married Elsie Clum, born March 28, 1787, 
died October 28, 1856. Children: John; 
Jonas; Morgan, of whom further; Christina; 
Teannette, born March 5, 1821, died February 
16, 1893. 

(VI) Morgan, son of Martin and Elsie 
(Clum) Gray, was born in Clermont, Colum- 
bia county. New York, January 30, 1824, and 
died at Katsbaan, Ulster county. New York, 
July 20, 1899. He received his early educa- 
tion in the public schools, and then became a 
farmer, also a butcher and drover for many 
years at Samsonville, and finally purchased a 
farm of two hundred acres near Samsonville, 
which he cultivated for about eighteen years, 
then moved to Katsbaan, where he bought a 
farm, and where his death occurred. He was 
a prominent man in his county, was a large 
quarryman and had several blue stone quar- 
ries ; was a deacon in the Dutch Reformed 
church. He married, February 26, 185 1, 
Rachel Caroline Freleigh, born April 18, 1827, 
died July 24, 1883. Children, all born in Sam- 
sonville : Samuel Martin, of whom further; 
John Henry, born July 13, 1853; Eliza Caro- 
line, born October 10, 1854 ; Mary Adeline, 
born May 11, 1857; Abby Celestia, born Au- 
gust 16, 1859; Charles Freleigh, born June i, 
1861 ; George Silver, born February 26, 1868, 
died April 6, 1870. 

(VII) Samuel Martin, son of Morgan and 
Rachel Caroline (Freleigh) Gray, was born in 
Quarryville, Ulster county. New York, De- 
cember 15, 1851. He is now living in King- 
ston, Ulster county. New York. He received 
his early education in the public schools of 
Olive township, and in Katsbaan, and then 
worked on his father's farm, and for two years 
was engaged as a butter buyer in Greene and 
Ulster counties. In 1876 opened a grocery 
store in Quarrs'ville. which he soon after en- 
larged to a general merchandise store, and 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



659 



which he conducted for nine years, meanwhile, 
in 1883, establishing also a wholesale flour, 
feed, grain and grocery business in Sauger- 
ties, New York. In 1886 he disposed of his 
interests in Quarryville to his brother, John 
Gray, and removed to Saugerties, where he 
gave his attention to his wholesale grain busi- 
ness, which he developed to the largest of its 
kind in Ulster county. In 1909 he disposed of 
his interests in Saugerties and removed to 
Kingston, vVhere he is now living. He was a 
member of the board of education in Sauger- 
ties twelve years, and was at one time presi- 
dent of the Saugerties Sewer Commission ; 
also president of the Saugerties Club six years, 
and is now one of the directors of the First 
National Bank of Saugerties. He is a Demo- 
crat in politics, and is a member of the First 
Dutch Reformed church, in Kingston. 

He married, June 3, 1875, Isabella, born in 
Saugerties, New York, May 18, 1852, daughter 
of Jeremiah J. and Hannah Christina (Ack- 
ler) Hommell. She is a descendant of Peter 
Hommell, who served in the Ulster county 
(New York) militia, during the revolutionary 
war. Mr. and Mrs. Gray have one child: 
Ethel Hommell Gray. 



This family is of ancient Eng- 
DIMMICK lish ancestry, ante-dating the 
Conquest. The name is de- 
rived from the Anglo-Saxon word denoting an 
oak tree, and is written in numerous forms, 
the most common being: Dymok, Dymock, 
Dymocke, Dymoke, Dimoc, Dimmock, Dim- 
mick and Dimock. The usual spelling of the 
name in England is Dymoke, and in America 
Dimmick and Dimock. The original home of 
the family in England was the manor of Dim- 
mock, in Gloucestershire. Very little is known 
of the early history of the family in that local- 
ity. Early in 1500 members of the family re- 
moved to Scrivelsby. The first record of the 
family in this locality was the marriage record 
in 1567 of Miss Frances Dymoke, daughter of 
Sir Edward Dymoke. to Mr. Thomas Winder- 
banke, appearing on the first page of the "Old 
Scrivelsby Register." The first of the family 
to locate in Scrivelsby was Sir John Dymoke, 
a gallant oflicer in the service of the king. He 
was appointed "Champion" at the coronation 
of Richard II., and from that date until the 
coronation of George IV., in 1820, members 
of the Dymoke family filled this office. Sir 



John Dymoke married Lady Margaret Lud- 
low, great-granddaughter of Sir Philip Mar- 
mion, prominent in the history and legends of 
England. Sir Thomas Dymoke succeeded his 
father. Sir John Dymoke, to the estate at 
Scrivelsby. Then followed a long list of Dy- 
mokes, who were prominent in the history of 
England. They were loyal to the king, as 
shown in their holding the office of "Cham- 
pion." The last of the family to possess the 
estate in Scrivelsby was Sir Henry Lionel Dy- 
moke, who died without heirs in 1883, being 
succeeded by the Tetford branch of the family. 
The family motto. Pro rege dimico, was as- 
sumed soon after the family located in Scriv- 
elsby. The quartering of the Dymoke es- 
cutcheon is as follows: i. Dymoke. Sable 
two lions passant argent, crowned or. 2. Lud- 
low. Azure, three lions passant guardant ar- 
gent. 3. Marmion. Vair, on a fesse gules 
frette or. 4. Kilpeck. Sable, a sword point 
downwards argent, hilt and pommel or. 5. 
Hebden. Ermine, five fusils in fesse gules. 
6. Rye. Gules on a bend argent, three ears of 
rye sable. 7. Welles. Or, a lion rampant 
queue fourche sable. 8. Watertown. Barry 
of six ermine and gules, three crescents sable 
9. Engaine. Gules, a fesse dancette between 
six cross crosslets or. 10. Sparrow. Argent, 
six sparrows sable, three two and one or, a 
chief indented gules, two swords in saltire, 
points upward argent, hilts and pommels or, 
between two lions' heads erased of the last. 1 1. 
Talboys. Argent, a saltire gules, on a chief of 
the second three escallops of the field. 12. 
Barraden. Gules, on a bend argent three cin- 
quefoils sable. 13. Fitzwith. Gules, two bend- 
lets or. 14. Umfraville. Gules, a cinquefoil 
between eight cross crosslets or. 15. Kyme. 
Gules, a chevron between nine cross crosslets 
or. 

(I) The first of the family to settle in 
America was Thomas Dimock. His connec- 
tion with the Scrivelsby family is not definitely 
known, but the tradition in the family in 
America holds that he was a direct descendant 
of Sir John Dymoke, mentioned above. There 
is a tradition in England that one of the 
younger sons of the family married into a 
Puritan family, and that he, or his son, dis- 
appeared from England at the end of the six- 
teenth century and became estranged from his 
relatives in the mother country. It is known 
that much mystery surrounded Thomas Di- 



66o 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



mock, the immigrant, and it is reasonable to 
assume ttiat he kept his relationship with the 
family in England a secret. Careful research 
has been made to disclose the identity of the 
progenitor of the family in America. Sir Ed- 
ward Dymoke, Champion to Edward VI., mar- 
ried Anne, daughter of Sir George Talbois. 
Arthur, the youngest son of Sir Edward, had 
two sons : John, known as the "son and heir," 
and Edward, who is supposed to have been the 
father of Thomas Dimock, progenitor of the 
family in America. 

Thomas Dimock first located in Dorchester, 
Massachusetts, in 1635, serving in that year 
as selectman. He was admitted a freeman, 
May 25, 1636. In 1638 he removed to Hing- 
ham, and in 1639 to Scituate. settling first in 
Barnstable, on Cape Cod, where he had re- 
ceived a large grant of land. He was the lead- 
ing citizen of the new town and identified with 
all its various activities. In March, 1639, he 
was appointed "to exercise Barnstable men in 
their arms." He was admitted a freeman of 
the colony, December 3, 1639. He served as 
deputy to the Plymouth colony court during 
1640-42, and 1648-50. On June 2, 1640, Mr. 
Dimock, with John Crow, of Yarmouth, was 
appointed to "join with Mr. Edmond Free- 
man of Sandwich to hear and determine all 
cases and controversies within the three town- 
ships not exceeding twenty shillings, according 
to the former order of the court." This was 
the first court established in Barnstable county. 
Mr. Dimock was re-appointed magistrate, 
June 5, 1644. On September 22, 1642, he was 
appointed by the colony court as member of 
the council of war, and on October 10, of the 
same year, was elected lieutenant of the Barn- 
stable militia, retaining the office until 1650. 
In 1650 he served as one of the commissioners 
of the Plymouth colony to confer with a simi- 
lar commission of the Massachusetts colony to 
decide upon the titles of the lands at Shaw- 
wamet and Patuxet. He was active in relig- 
ious matters, taking a prominent part in or- 
ganizing the church in Barnstable, and on Au- 
gust 7, 1650, he was ordained its elder. He 
died in 1658 or 1659 and in his nuncupative 
will, attested to by Anthony Annable and John 
Smith, they stated, "when he was sick last 
summer (1658) he said that little he has he 
would give to his wife, for the children were 
hers as well as his." Elder Dimock was 
greatly respected and loved by the people of 



his county. He was tolerant in his religious 
beliefs and willing to give all the citizens of 
the town equal religious liberty. He married 
Ann Hammond ( ?) before settling in Barn- 
stable. Children: i. Elizabeth, married 
Kuyvet Sears. 2. John (?). 3. Timothy, 
baptized January 12, 1639, was the first white 
person to die in Barnstable. He was buried, 
June 17, 1640, "in the lower syde of the Calves 
Pasture." 4. and 5. Twin sons, buried, March 
18, 1641. 6. Mehitable, baptized April 18, 
1642; married Richard Child, of Watertown, 
March 30, 1662; she died, August 18, 1676. 
7. Shubael, mentioned below. 

(II) Shubael, son of Elder Thomas and 
Artn Dimock, was baptized in Barnstable, Sep- 
tember 15, 1644, and died in Mansfield, Connec- 
ticut, October 29, 1732. aged ninety-one years. 
In 1669 he was residing in Yarmouth but soon 
afterwards returned to Barnstable. At an 
early age he became prominent in the civic 
and military aftairs of his town. He was often 
appointed to attend to the business of the 
town. He served as selectman in 1685-86, and 
was a deputy to the general court in the same 
years, and also in 1689, after the expulsion of 
the notorious Sir Edmund Andros. At an 
early age he joined the militia, and was elected 
ensign, being then known in Barnstable as En- 
sign Shubael Dimock. About 1693 l""^ joined 
a company of Barnstable people, who removed 
to Nawbesatuck or \\^abaquassuck, now Mans- 
field, Connecticut. His residence in 1686 was 
the fortified house built by his father in 1640. 
The building was taken down in 1800. The 
design of the house was known as the "high 
single" ; it was two stories in height, the first 
story being built of stone and the second of 
wood. Each floor contained the same number 
of rooms and fronted due north and south. 
On clear days the shadows of the house acted 
as a sun dial to its inmates, and was the only 
timepiece they could consult. He at once took 
a prominent part in the organization of the new 
town. In 1700 an effort was made to organize 
a Congregational church in Mansfield, and in 
1 701 he was a member of a committee ap- 
pointed to secure the services of a minister, 
but it was not until October 18, 1710, that their 
efforts were successful and a church, the First 
Congregational, was organized. In February, 
1 717, lie was ordained a deacon in this church. 
He married, in .\pril, 1663, Joanna Bursley, 
daughter of Tohn Burslev. of Barnstable. She 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



66i 



was baptized in March, 1646, and died in 
Mansfield, May 8, 1727. Children, born in 
Barnstable: i. Thomas, born in April, 1664; 
engaged in the whale fishery business, and 
later was a captain in the service of the colony 
against the French and Indians ; was killed at 
the battle of Canso (?), September 9, 1697; 
he married Desire Sturgis ; five children. 2. 
John, January, 1666, removed to Falmouth, 
Massachusetts ; married Elizabeth Lombard ; 
nine children. 3. Timothy, mentioned below. 
4. -Shubael, February, 1673, resided in Barn- 
stable, where he died, December 16, 1728 ; mar- 
ried Tabitha Lothrop, May 4, 1699; she died, 
July 24, 1727. 5. Joseph, September, 1875 ; 
married May 12, 1699, Lydia Fuller. 6. Me- 
hitable, 1677. 7. Benjamin, March, 1680, re- 
sided in Mansfield. 8. Joanna, March, 1682 ; 
married Josiah Conant. 9. Thankful, Novem- 
ber, 1684; married, June 28, 1706, Deacon Ed- 
mund Waldo. 

(III) Timothy, son of Shubael and Joanna 
(Bursley) Dimock, was born in Barnstable, 
Massachusetts, and died in Ashford, Connec- 
ticut, 1733. He removed to Mansfield, Con- 
necticut, where he made his home for many 
years, subsequently removing to Ashford, Con- 
necticut, where he resided until his death. He 
married Abigail Doane, who died in 1718. 
Children: i. Timothy, born June 2, 1703. 2. 
John, January 3, 1705. 3. Shubael, mentioned 
below. 4. Daniel, January 28, 1710. 5. Israel, 
December 22, 1712. 6. Ebenezer, December 
22, 1715. 

(IV) Shubael, son of Timothy and Abigail 
(Doane) Dimock, was born in Mansfield, Con- 
necticut, May 27, 1707, and died June 26, 1788. 
He married (first) December 11, 1731, Percilla 
Hovey, daughter of James Hovey, of Mans- 
field. She died March 14, 1747. Children: 
Asa and Anne (twins), born August 14, 1732, 
Anne, died July 18, 1749: Abigail, July 16, 
1734, died young; Abigail, August 23, 1742. 
Mr. Dimock married (second) November 10, 
1747, Eunice Marsh, daughter of James 
Tylarsh. Children : Lydia, born August 27, 
1748; Eunice, June 27, 1751 ; Shubael, men- 
tioned below; Eunice, 2d, June i, 1755. 

(V) Shubael (3) Dimmick, son of Shubael 
(2) and Eunice (Marsh) Dimock, was born 
in Mansfield, Connecticut, March 24, 1753. 
The family records give the date as October i, 
1752, which does not correspond with records 
of Mansfield. He died in Arkville, Delaware 



county. New York, October 29, 1839, and was 
buried in the cemetery near the old Baptist 
church in Batavia Kill, New York. At an 
early date he removed to Frederickstown, Ul- 
ster county (now Putnam county), New York, 
where he engaged in farming. In May, 1776, 
he enlisted in the Sixth Regiment, Ulster 
county (New York) militia. He was later a 
private in the Seventh Regiment, Dutchess 
county militia, commanded by Colonel Henry 
Ludenton. He subsequently served in Colonel 
Jacobus Swartwout's regiment of minutemen, 
Dutchess county (New York) miHtia, until 
September, 1781, when he was honorably dis- 
charged. He drew a pension from the govern- 
ment from July 5, 1832, until his death. In 
1795 he removed to Middletown, Delaware 
county. New York, where he engaged in farm- 
ing until he removed to Arkville, Delaware 
county. New York, where he made his home 
until his death. He was a man of great force 
of character and greatly admired and respected 
by the people of his community. He was a 
member of the Baptist church in Fredericks- 
town, now Carmel, Putnam county, in 1792. 
He married Thankful Burbank, who died in 
Batavia Kill, April 19, 1808, aged fifty-seven 
years, five months and seventeen days. Chil- 
dren : Noah, mentioned below ; Perez ; Shu- 
bael. 

(VI) Colonel Noah Dimmick, son of Shu- 
bael (3) and Thankful (Burbank) Dimmick, 
was born in Frederickstown, Dutchess (now 
Putnam) county, New York, September 14, 
1778, and died in Arkville, town of Middle- 
town, Delaware county, New York, September 
II, 1862. He attended the schools of his na- 
tive county, and in 1795 accompanied his 
father to Middletown, Delaware county. He 
engaged in farming for a time in Lexington. 
Greene' county, and in Roxbury, Delaware 
county. He then purchased land in Middle- 
town, which through his great industry he 
made one of the finest farms in the county. 
His place was named Arkville, owin? to its 
prominent location in the valley. Here he 
erected a fine residence and dispensed a liberal 
hospitality. He became one of the leading 
business men of the county. He built at Ark- 
ville in 1826 grist and saw mills, which he con- 
ducted for many years. He also owned a large 
general store, and was the first person in the 
town to own a carriage, also a gold watch. He 
acquired a valuable property, and was hig'hly 



662 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



respected by the citizens of his county. He 
was one of the first directors of the Ulster 
County Bank, retaining the office until his 
death. He took a deep interest in the state 
militia, serving for several years as colonel. 
In politics he was at first a Whig and later a 
Republican. He served as supervisor of Mid- 
dletown from 1819 until 1826. He married 
(first) February 10, 1801, Elliff Peck. She 
was born November 4, 1783, and died May 7, 
1817. Children, born in Arkville : Kittie and 
Thankful (twins), November 14, 1802; Han- 
nah, December 22, 1804; Mehitable. October 
24, 1806; Warren, April 28, 1808; Ellifif, April 
26, 1810; Thankful, October 11, 1811; son, 
June 26, 1813, died young; child, June, 1814, 
died young; Julianna, August 26, 181 5; child. 
May 6, 1817. Colonel Dimmick married (sec- 
ond) October 2, 1817, Mary Keator, born 
July 8, 1797, died March 19, 1856. Children: 
Noah, born January i, 1819; Mary, April 16, 
1820, died July 22, 1822; Jemima, January 20, 
1822; son, June 28, 1823, died young; five 
daughters, born respectively, July 16, 1824, 
November 25, 1826, June 25, 1828, July 12, 
1829, July 14, 1831, died in infancy; Samuel 
G., mentioned below. 

(VH) Samuel Gripman, son of Colonel 
Noah and Mary ( Keator) Dimmick, was born 
at Arkville, New York, October 17, 1833, died 
in New Orleans, Louisiana, February 27, 1899, 
while there on a pleasure trip. He attended 
the schools of his native county and com- 
pleted his education at a well known boarding 
school on Long Island, New York. Soon after 
leaving school he entered his father's store at 
Arkville as a clerk, and there received a careful 
business training. Later he purdiased a tan- 
nery which he conducted for several years. 
Subsequently he removed to Kingston, New 
York, and formed the firm of Dimmick & 
Shaw and began in the drygoods business. On 
the death of Mr. Shaw he became a partner 
in the firm of Burhans & Webster, drygoods 
merchants. Subsequently the firm became 
Dimmick & Tappan. In 1880 he sold his in- 
terest in the firm and became private secre- 
tary to Thomas Cornell, which position he held 
until Mr. Cornell's death in 1890, when he re- 
tired from active business. Mr. Dimmick was 
an able business man and acquired a valuable 
property. He was an active member of the 
Methodist church, and for years was a teacher 
in the Sunday school. In politics he was a 



Democrat and held several local offices. He 
was a member of the Masonic lodge, of King- 
ston. He was twice married (first), October 
28, 1857, to Christina Hardenburgh, who died 
November 24, 1893. They had one child: 
Mary Hardenburgh, born June 14, i860, died 
June 20, 1877. He married (second), October 
17, 1896, Mrs. Mary (Osterhout) Cole, daugh- 
ter of Jacob and Jane (Luyster) Osterhout, of 
Flatbush, Ulster county. Her father was a 
son of Daniel and Helena (Hendricks) Oster- 
hout, married in Kingston, February 21, 1793, 
and grandson of Cornelius Osterhout, a prom- 
inent citizen of Flatbush. 



The Brigham family is of 
BRIGHAM Saxon origin as is indicated 

by its name, which is com- 
pounded of the two Saxon words "Brig," 
meaning "bridge," and "Ham," meaning 
"home," the two together designating "the man 
whose home was by the bridge." The name is 
found from early times in Norfolk, Yorkshire, 
Cumberland, and Berwickshire, and in later 
days in London and other parts of England 
and Scotland. There are catalogued at least 
eight coats-of-arms belonging to different 
branches of the family, and several of the 
name became distinguished personages in the 
history of their times, especially Nicholas 
Brigham, the poet, jurist and historian, who 
died February 20, 1558, and was buried in 
"Poet's Corner" in Westminster Abbey, be- 
side his daughter Rachel, whom he lost at the 
age of four, 

(I) Thomas Brigham, the founder of this 
family in American, was born probably in 
England, in 1603, and died in Cambridge, Mas- 
sachusetts, December 8, 1653. He emigrated 
to Massachusetts Bay in the "Susan and El- 
len,"' which left London in April, 1635. He is 
said to have settled first in Watertown, Massa- 
chusetts, but the only evidence is the fact that 
his largest piece of "planting ground" lay 
within the limits of that town, and the asser- 
tion is disputed by several historians of the 
family. It is certain, however, that in 1639 he 
was a resident of Cambridge, then known as 
Newtown. He married, about 1637, Mercy 
Hurd. who was born in England, about 1613, 
and died in Marlboro, Massacihusetts, Decem- 
ber 23, 1693. After her first husband's death 
she married (second) March i, 1655, Edmund 
Rice, and in 1664 she married (third) William 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



663 



Hunt of Marlboro. Children of Thomas 
Brigham : Mary, born about 1638, died in 
1676, married John Fay ; Thomas (2) , referred 
to below; John, bom in Cambridge, March 9, 
1644, died September 16, 1728, married (first) 

Sarah , (second) Deborah , and 

(third) Sarah IBowker; Hannah, born March 
9, 1649-50, died in December, 17 19, married 
(first) Gershom Ames, and (second) William 
Ward; Samuel, born January 12, 1652, died 
July 24, 1713, married Elizabeth Howe. 

(H) Thomas (2), son of Thomas (i) and 
Mercy (Hurd) Brigham, was born probably in 
Cambridge, Massachusetts, about 1640, and 
died in Marlboro, Massachusetts. November 
25, 1716. He removed from Cambridge when 
his mother married Edmund Rice, first to Sud- 
bury and then to Marlboro. He married 
(first) December 27, 1665, Mary, daughter of 
Henry and Elizabeth (Moore) Rice, and 
granddaughter of Edmund Rice, the emigrant, 
and his first wife Tamazine, and also of John 
and Elizabeth Moore, of Sudbury. He mar- 
ried (second) July 30. 1695, Susannah, 
daughter of William Shattuck, of Watertown, 
and widow of Joseph Morse and of John Fay, 
the latter of whom had for his first wife 
Thomas Brigham's sister Mary. Children, all 
by first marriage: Thomas (3), born Febru- 
ary 24, 1666-7; Nathan, born June 17, 1671, 
died February 16, 1746-7, married (first) Eli- 
zabeth Howe, and (second) Mrs. Mehitable 
(Gould) Eaton; David, born August 11, 1673, 
died young; Jonathan, born February 22, 1675, 
died January 4, 1768, married March 26, 1696, 
his cousin Mary, daughter of John and Mary 
(Brigham) Fay; David, born April 12, 1678, 
died June 26, 1750, married (first) Deborah 
-, and (second) August 21, 1709, Mrs. 



Mary (Leonard) Newton, and (third) 
Gershom, born February 23, 1680, died Jan- 
uary 3, 1748-9, married. May 18, 1703, Me- 
hitable Warren ; Elnathan, referred to below ; 
Mary, born October 26. 1687. married, July 
30, 1710, Captain Jonas Houghton, of Lancas- 
ter, Massachusetts. 

(HI) Elnathan, son of Thomas (2) and 
Mary (Rice) Brigham, was born in Marlboro, 
Massachusetts, March 7, 1683, and died in 
Mansfield or Coventry, Connecticut, April 10, 
1758. He drew seventeen acres in his father's 
right, was surveyor of Marlboro in 1715, and 
removed to Mansfield in 1717. He married, 
about 1705, Bethiah, daughter of William and 



Hannah (Brigham) Ward, who died in Coven- 
try, Connecticut, April 15, 1765, aged eighty- 
two years. Children (the six elder born in 
Marlboro, the two youngest in Mansfield) : 
Uriah, born April 30, 1706, died July 9, 17 10; 
Jerusha, married, in 1729, Benjamin Robinson, 
of Windham, Connecticut; Priscilla, born 
April 3, 1709, married, January 2, 1726, Mat- 
thias Marsh, of Coventry, Connecticut; Levi- 
nah, born August 31, 1711, died March 8, 1749, 
married, December 16, 1729, John, son of John 
and Mary (Brigham) Fay; Prudence, born 
January 28, 1715, died February 3, 1715; El- 
nathan (2), referred to below; Paul, died May 
3, 1746, married, July i, 1741, Catherine Tur- 
ner; Uriati. born about 1723. died January 25, 
1777, married (first) Lydia Ward, and (sec- 
ond) Ann Richardson. 

(IV) Elnathan (2), son of Elnathan (i) 
and Bethiah (Ward) Brigham. was born in 
Marlboro. Massachusetts. April 7, 1716, and 
died in Mansfield, Connecticut, September 2, 
1802. He settled on the homestead in Mans- 
field. His wife's name is unknown. Children, 
born in Mansfield : Stephen, referred to be- 
low ; Elnathan (3), born about 1757, died in 
1835. married Mary . 

(V) Stephen, son of Elnathan (2) Brigham, 
was born in Mansfield, Connecticut, about 
1744, and died May 7, 1816. In September, 
1777, he was permitted to transport to Boston 
by land 1,600 pounds of rye and wheat flour, 
400 pounds of cheese, and 200 pounds of but- 
ter, to be exchanged for iron and steel ; also 
to exchange for salt 2 tons of rye and wheat 
flour, 1,400 pounds of cheese, and 600 pounds 
of butter; also to drive to Boston 40 fat cattle 
and 250 fat sheep. In May. 1779, he was ap- 
pointed ensign in the Eighth Company, Fifth 

State Regiment. He married (first) , 

and (second) Hannah, daughter of Bennet and 
Elizabeth (Spofford) Field, who was born 
May 26, 1747. Children, four by first mar- 
riage, all born in Mansfield : Eunice, born 
February 15, 1776, died June 9, 1841, married 
February 23, 179-, Elijah Royce, of Wood- 
stock ; Asenath, married Wright ; Anna, 

married Parker; Lucretia, married 

Isaac Morey ; Elizabeth, died in 1845, married 
in 1798, Samuel Augustus Spalding, of Mans- 
field ; Stephen, born February 5, 1774, married 
(first) Huldah Freeman and (second) Eliza- 
beth Huntington ; Hannah, died unmarried ; 
Clarissa, married (first) Gerry Russ, and (sec- 



664 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



ond) Raphael Storrs; Elisha, referred to be- 
low; Spofiford, married Myrick; Polly, 

born about 1785, died April 27, 1807, married 
Cephas Dunham; Sally, born about 1788, died 
June 27, 1808. 

(VI) Elisha, son of Stephen and Hannah 
(Field) Brigham, was born in Willington, 
Connecticut, in 1782, and died in 1840, while 
on a visit to the same place. He was a prom- 
inent resident in Willington for many years, 
where he owned considerable real estate, and 
acted as executor for many estates in the 
neighborhood. In middle life removed to El- 
lenville, Ulster county. New York, where he 
established a glass factory, in partnership with 
a Mr. Gilbert, which he conducted until his 
death. He married Lucinda Dexter, who was 
born in 1790, and died February 19, 1863. 
Children : Jane, married Emory Healy ; Har- 
riet, married George B. Hibbard; Elisha M., 
referred to below. 

(VII) Elisba M., son of Elisha and Lucinda 
(Dexter) Brigham, was born in Willington, 
Connecticut, May i, 1822. and died in King- 
ston, Ulster county, New York, December 10, 
1901. He received his early education in the 
public schools of his native town, and when 
fifteen years of age removed with his father to 
Ellenville, Ulster county. New York, later be- 
coming a clerk in his father's store. After a 
few years he removed to Kingston, Ulster 
county. New York, where he conducted a gen- 
eral store for some years, and which he later 
sold and engaged in the carriage business. He 
afterwards became one of the founders of the 
Kingston and Rosendale Lime and Cement 
Company, which business was subsequently 
greatly enlarged and the title changed to the 
Hudson River Cement Company, and in which 
he was actively interested until a few years 
prior to his death, when he retired from busi- 
ness life. He was one of the most widely 
known and most experienced men in the ce- 
ment business of the state. He was a Repub- 
lican in politics, and served for two terms as 
county treasurer of Ulster county, and was a 
member of the board of education over twenty 
years, city of Kingston, and president of 
the board over ten years. He was a Baptist in 
religion, and was a deacon of the church in 
Kingston. He married (first) Margaret Scott, 
(second) Arietta Halsey, (third) Isabella, 
daughter of Reuben and Anna (Garrett) 
Nichols. Children by second wife: Jane Lu- 



cinda, born February 4, 1846; Oliver, born in 
1848, married Emma Cogswell. Children by 
third wife: Henry R., referred to below; 
William H., born August 24, 1862, married 
Susan O'Neil, child, Mary Hester. 

(VIII) Henry R., son of Elisha M. and Isa- 
bella (Nichols) Brigham, was born in King- 
ston, Ulster county, New York, August 3, 
1859, and is now (1913) living there. He re- 
ceived his early education in the public school 
of his native town, and graduated from the 
Kingston Academy in 1878, and was then for 
one year a student at Colgate College. He en- 
tered the employ of the Wabash railroad as 
accountant, at Logansport, Indiana, remaining 
in that position until 1880, when he resigned 
and returned to Kingston, where he became 
secretary and general sales agent of the Hud- 
son River Cement Company, continuing in that 
occupation for ten years. He then formed a 
partnership with his brother, William H. Brig- 
ham, and established general stores at Creek 
Locks and East Kingston, New York, and in 
1892 the firm entered the brick manufacturing 
business, at East Kingston, New York, in 
which he still continues. The firm erected in 
1912 a new factory and established a process 
of drying by steam which enables them to 
manufacture brick at all seasons of the year, 
and the business has expanded from an initial 
output of six million brick per annum to an 
annual output of forty-five million brick, and 
gives employment to four hundred men. He 
also conducts a cement-brick commission busi- 
ness in New York City. He is a director of 
the Greater New York Brick Company, New 
York City; vice-president of the Ulster County 
Savings Bank in Kingston ; is one of the direc- 
tors of the State of New York National Bank, 
and was a member of the Board of Education 
in Kingston for eight years. He is a member 
of the First Baptist Church, of Kingston, and 
is president of the board of trustees of the 
church. He married, October 4, 1882, Sarah, 
daughter of Derrick W. Sparling, of Kingston. 
New York. Child: Harold S., born in 18S3, 
married, in 1906, Charlotte Rouse, of Catskill. 
New York. 



Samuel Boice, the first member of 
BOICE this family of whom we have any 

definite information, was a far- 
mer, and one of tlie leading men of liis day in 
Olive township, Ulster county. New York. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



665 



The family is of Dutch origin, the original 
spelling of the name being Buys ; and Samuel 
Boice is probably a descendant of Jan, Hen- 
drick, or Abraham Buys, all three of whom 
were living in Poughkeepsie as early as 1717- 
18. Abraham was married in the Dutch church 
in Kingston, Ulster county. New York, and the 
three had children baptized there, but the rec- 
ords at present available are insufficient to es- 
tablish the exact line of descent. Among the 
children of Samuel Boice was Lemuel, re- 
ferred to below. 

(II) Lemuel, son of Samuel Boice, was born 
in Shokan, Olive township, Ulster county. 
New York, May 5, 1819, in the old stone 
house, where his grandfather was born, and 
lived on his farm in Olive township. He re- 
ceived his early education in the public schools, 
then engaged in farming, and later became in- 
terested in the preparation of bark for tanneries 
and engaged in the lumber business and built 
a tannery at Boiceville (which place was 
named in his honor), Ulster county. New 
York, in which occupation he continued until 
1866. He now returned to the homestead and 
again engaged in farming, and also in operat- 
ing several saw-mills which 'he had bought, 
conducting them until 1870, when he purchased 
the property, where he erected the "Hamilton 
House" and also cultivated a farm. In 1876 
he received the contract for grading the road- 
bed and constructing the arches and bridge on 
the railroad between Arkville and Delhi, New 
York, and he continued the work until the 
project was abandoned, and then returned to 
Shokan and engaged in business until 1885, 
when he retired from active life. He was a 
man of great strength of character, and was 
considered one of the men best informed in 
general topics in the township. In politics he 
was a Republican and active in the affairs of 
the party, and in 1858 was elected supervisor 
of the township. He married (first) Mary 
Ann Brinck, of Olive township, Ulster county. 
New York, who died June — , 1874. He mar- 
ried (second) March 30. 1876, Mary C. Hill. 
Children, all by first marriage: i. Horace, 
born July 24, 1843, "ow living in Kingston, 
New York. 2. Nancy, born January 23, 1845 ; 
married Alonzo G. Davis. 3. Ellen, born 
March 6, 1847 '• married W. S. Brown. 4. 
Lewis, born September 23, 1849. 5- Elizabeth, 
born January 6, 1852; married Isaac M. Davis. 
6. Leland, born June 14, 1854. 7. Zadoc Pratt, 



referred to below. 8. Orpha, deceased; mar- 
ried George Siemons. 

(Ill) Zadoc Pratt, son of Lemuel and Mary 
Ann (Brinck) Boice, was born July 29, 1858, 
and is now living in Kingston, Ulster county, 
New York. He received his early education in 
the public schools of Shokan, Ulster county, 
New York, until he was sixteen years of age, 
when he was for one winter a pupil at the 
private school of Miss Sally Inghram. He then 
worked for his father for a few years, and was 
also in the employ of C. C. Winnie for a short 
time. In 1878 he formed a partnership with 
D. W. Ennist and engaged in the grocery busi- 
ness, in which he continued until October i, 
1885, when he purchased the estate, consisting 
of eighteen pieces of property at West Shokan, 
which had formerly been owned by his father. 
He is an extensive owner of real estate and a 
progressive, successful business man. In June, 
1894, he was elected one of the directors of 
the State of New York National Bank in King- 
ston, an office he still holds, and he is also one 
of the trustees of the Ulster County Savings 
Bank. He is a Republican in politics, and has 
been a member of the county central commit- 
tee for many years. In 1893 he was elected 
supervisor, and re-elected to that office in 1894 
for a term of two years ; and in 1906 he was 
elected by an overwhelming majority to the 
office of sheriff of Ulster county. He is a 
member of Kingston Lodge, No. 10, of the 
Free and Accepted Masons, and is also a mem- 
brr of Mountain Gate Lodge, No. 299. of the 
Knights of Pythias at West Shokan. He mar- 
ried, October 6, 1880. Delia Elmendorf, of 
Olive township, Ulster county. New York. 
Children: i. Lena, born February 12.1883. 2. 
Delta, born September 2, 1891. 



Thomas Pettit, the founder of 
PETTIT this family, was born in Suffolk 

county, England, and died in 
^^'estchester county. New York, in 1861. He 
immigrated to New York City in 1832 and en- 
gaged in the trade of carpenter and millwright. 
The following year he was joined by his wife 
and children, and in 1839 the family removed 
to Kingston, Ulster county. New York, where 
Mr. Pettit followed the trade of a cabinet- 
maker for a number of years. Later he re- 
moved to Westchester county, where he lived 
until his death. In religion he was a Baptist. 
He married, in England, Ann Borrem, who 



666 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



died in Westchester county, New York, in 
1886. Children : Ann ; Thomas ; WilHam, liv- 
ing in Kingston, New York, in 1896; George, 
living in Brooklyn, New York, in 1896. John, 
referred to below; Elizabeth, born about 1820. 
now living in Bristol, England ; Mary, living in 
Westchester county. New York, in 1896; 
Rockwell, living in Westchester county. New 
York, in 1896; Henry; Charlotte; Sarah. 

(H) John, son of Thomas and Ann (Bor- 
rem) Pettit, was born in Suffolk, England, 
February 28. 1828, and died in Kingston, Ul- 
ster county. New York, October 8, 1905. He 
was brought to America by his mother in 1833, 
and when the family settled in Kingston, New 
York, he received his education in the public 
schools there. He then learned the trade of 
carpenter and millwright from his father, with 
whom he worked until he was twenty-one years 
old, when he went into the sash and blind- 
making business, and had his shop on Wilbur 
avenue, in Kingston, until i860. He now be- 
gan the manufacture of powder-kegs for the 
Smith, Rand Powder Company, and gave his 
whole time to this occupation until he retired 
from business in 1902. An upright, honest, 
self-made man, who started in business with 
no assistance from anyone, through his energy, 
industry and good management he became one 
of the most successful manufacturers of King- 
ston. He was a Baptist in religion, and a Re- 
publican in politics, and was elected four times 
on the Republican ticket as alderman of King- 
ston. 

Mr. Pettit married, September 5, 1853, 
Amanda M., daughter of Amor and Loviiia 
(Clark) Richardson, who was born in Albany, 
New York, May 17, 1836, and is now living in 
Kingston. Children: i. Lovina A., married 
C. Beekman Jansen, of Kingston ; children : 
Edna, married Edwin Van Wart ; Grace E , 
now teaching in the public schools of Hoboken, 
New Jersey ; and Mary Emma. 2. Minnie E.. 
married Walter S. Darling, of Kingston, New 
York. 



The Case family of Connecticut is 
CASE of English origin and is distinct 
from the family of the same name 
which is now found side by side with it in 
many parts of the United States, but whose 
origin, as the original spelling of the name, 
Kase, implies, was German. John Casse or 
Case, according to Drake's "Founders of New 



England," sailed from Gravesend, England, in 
the ship "Dorset," John Flower, master, Sep- 
itniber 3, 1635, for the Bermudas, when only 
nineteen years old. In 1640 he is found at 
Hartford, Connecticut, and August 13, 1656, 
he was one of the inhabitants of Maspeth Kills 
(now Newtown), Long Island. In the follow- 
ing year he joined the new colony of Windsor, 
on the Connecticut river, eight or nine miles 
above Hartford, and in 1667 he was one of the 
twenty to whom the first grants of land there 
were made. Two years later, with thirteen 
others, he removed to Massacoe (later Sims- 
bury), and in 1670 was sent to the general 
court as a delegate. He settled in the south 
part of Simsbury, then known as Weatogue, 
and served in several of the town offices from 
time to time, until his death. He died Febru- 
ary 21, 1703-04. He married (first) Sarah, 
daughter of William and Agnes Spencer, of 
Hartford, Connecticut, who was born in 1636, 
and died in 1691. He married (second) Eliza- 
beth, widow of Nathaniel Loomis, of Windsor, 
Connecticut, who died in 1728, aged ninety 
years. Children (all by first marriage) : Eli- 
zabeth, born 1658, died in 1718, married 
(first) Joseph Lewis, (second) John Tuller; 
Mary, born in 1660. died in 1725, married 
(first) William Alderman, (second) James 
Hillyer; John (2), referred to below; William, 
born in 1665, died in 1700, married Elizabeth 
Holcomb : Samuel, born in 1667, died in 1725, 
married (first) Mary Westover, (second) Mrs. 
Elizabeth (Owen) Thrall; Richard, born in 
1669, died in 1746, married, September i, 
1701. Amy Reed: Bartholomew, born in Oc- 
tober, 1670, died in 1725, married, December 
7, 1699, Mary Humphries; Joseph, born April 
6, 1674, died in 1748, married, April 6, 1699, 
Anna Eno ; Sarah, born April 20, 1676, died 
in 1704, married Joseph Phelps, jr. ; Abigail, 
born May 4, 1682, married, September i, 1701, 
Jonah Westover, Jr. 

(II) John (2). son of John (i) and Sarah 
(Spencer) Case, was born in Connecticut in 
1662. and died in Simsbury, Connecticut, May 
22, 1733. He married (first) September 12, 
1684, Mary, daughter of Mary Olcutt, of 
Hartford, Connecticut, and (second) Mary 
Holcomb. Children (one by first marriage) : 
John, born August 6, 1685, died young; John 
(2), born August 22, 1694, died December 2, 
1752, married. January 24, 17 16, Abigail Hum- 
phries ; Daniel, referred to below ; Jonathan, 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



667 



born April 15, 1701, married. May 10, 1721, 
Mary Beaman. 

(III) Daniel, son of John (2) and Mary 
(Holcomb) Case, was born in Simsbury, Con- 
necticut, March 7, 1695, and died there May 
28, 1733. He married. May 7, 1719, Penelope 
Butler, of Simsbury. Children (all born in 
Simsbury) : Daniel, born January 31, 1719-20, 
married, February 22, 1750, Mary Watson; 
Mindwell, born October 24, 1721 ; Dudley, re- 
ferred to below ; Susannah, born September 
20, 1726; Ezekiel, born September 30, 1731, 

married (first) Lucy , (second) May 

16, 1771, Mrs. Mary (Allin) Hoskins. 

(IV) Dudley, son of Daniel and Penelope 
(Butler) Case, was born in Simsbury, Connec- 
ticut, November 3, 1723. He married, April 

14, 1743, Dorcas Humphrey. Children (all 
born in Simsbury) : Dudley (2), born Octo- 
ber 28, 1744; Elisha, born December 10, 1747, 
died young; Ozias, born June 7, 1749, died 
young; Elias, born March 5, 1753, died 
young; EHsha, born April 30, 1755; Ozias, 
born July 24, 1757; Elias, born April 15, 1759; 
Daniel, referred to below ; Dorcas, born Au- 
gust 14, 1764; Truman, born January 22, 1767; 
Emanuel, born March 25, 1769. 

(V) Daniel, son of Dudley and Dorcas 
(Humphrey) Case, was born in Simsbury, 
Connecticut, March 5, 1761. Among his chil- 
dren was Daniel (2), referred to below. 

(VI) Daniel (2), son of Daniel (i) Case, 
was born in Connecticut, May 19, 1784, and 
died in Poughkeepsie, New York, in Novem- 
ber, 1864. He remained with his parents until 
eleven years of age, and then, owing to dis- 
agreements with his father, removed to Sho- 
kan, Ulster county, New York, where he 
worked on a farm and learned the trade of a 
tanner, which he followed for many years in 
different localities, and principally in Spencer- 
town, Columbia county, New York, where the 
majority of his children were born. He mar- 
ried, September 15, 1808, Sylvia Barber, who 
was born July 19, 1787, and died in January, 
1861. Children: Sherman, born September 

15, 1809; Laura, born September 8, 1811; 
Chauncey, referred to below ; Harriet, born 
October 16, 1815, died July 6, 1892; Henry, 
born January 18, 1819, drowned in 1852; Cal- 
vin, born March 16, 1821 ; Austin, born April 

16, 1823, died December 6, 1902 ; George, born 
July 10, 1826. 

(VII) Chauncey, son of Daniel (2) and 



Sylvia (Barber) Case, was born in Spencer- 
town, Columbia county. New York, July 11, 
1813, died while on a visit to Minneapolis, 
Minnesota, May 8, 1875, and is buried in King- 
ston, Ulster county, New York. He received 
his early education in the public schools and 
then learned the trade of a tanner with his 
father, at Shokan, Ulster county, New York, 
remaining there until after his marriage, when 
he settled in Mariaville, Hancock county, 
Maine, where he engaged for many years in 
the tannery and bark business, until failing 
health compelled his retirement from active 
life. He was a Congregationalist in religion, 
and was one of the officers of the church in 
Mariaville. He married, October 15, 1839, 
Margaret E. Dunnagan, who was bom in 
Rhinebeck, Dutchess county. New York, Jan- 
uary 17, 1815, died July 26, 1895. Children: 
Augusta M., married Arthur A. Pond, of Ban- 
gor, Maine, and had a child, Chauncey L. 
(Pond) ; Chauncey H., died August 4, 1856; 
Harriet Lillian, now living in Kingston, Ulster 
county, New York ; Margaret Ellen, died in in- 
fancy. 



Luke Noone, son of Martin and 
NOONE Ann (Gately) Noone, was born 
in Ahasceragh, County Gal way, 
Ireland, November 24, 1822. He spent his 
boyhood at home, received a common school 
education, and then learned the business of 
stone-cutting from his father, who was a con- 
tractor. 

In March, 1848, with his sister Mary, he 
sailed from Liverpool in the ship "James 
Stephens," and landed at Boston. He soon 
became engaged in stone-cutting and con- 
tracting for jobs on the New York & Erie 
railroad. On November 11, 1848, he went to 
Kingston, New York, in which place and in 
Troy, New York, he spent the next two years 
at his trade. In 1850 he formed a partnership 
with three other men, under the firm name of 
Edward Murray & Company, and superin- 
tended the construction of the way-lock 
at West Troy. In 1852 he took the con- 
tract and furnished the stone for the 
Second Reformed Church in Kingston 
New York. The firm, the name now 
changed to Noone & Fitzgerald, also took 
the contract for Lock Number 2 on the Erie 
Canal, near Albany, and from 1855 to 1857 



668 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



furnished cut stone for and contracted the 
lower lock at Fort Ann, New York. After 
this Mr. Noone continued the business for 
many years, and among his most important 
contracts were furnishing cut stone for a 
portion of the Harlem Bridge in New York 
City ; a way-lock on Champlain Canal, above 
Waterford, New York ; guard-lock at Cohoes ; 
a blast-furnace for the firm of Henry Burden 
& Son, of Troy ; the stone for the river wharf 
of Watervliet Arsenal, at Watervliet, New 
York ; the stone for the sea-wall for the Bat- 
tery in New York City ; a part of the cut-stone 
for the fort at Sandy Hook, in charge of 
General Delafield ; a portion of the stone used 
in the construction of the Capitol in Albany, 
and for the bridge across the Hudson at Al- 
bany ; also two stones weighing some fourteen 
tons each for the Dudley Observatory at Al- 
bany. In 1870 he took Frank Madden into 
partnership with him, the firm name becoming 
Noone & Madden. They kept in almost con- 
stant employment one hundred and thirty men 
and from eighteen to twenty-four teams, 
quarrying their stone in Kingston, hauling it 
to the Hudson, and shipping by water to dis- 
tant points for the construction of both public 
and private works, among which should be 
mentioned the East River Bridge between 
New York and Brooklyn. Mr. Noone was 
one of the most successful and prominent men 
in the development of the stone products of 
Ulster county. He was director and vice- 
president of the Kingston National Bank, and 
since the organization of the Kingston Sav- 
ings Bank he was successively trustee, vice- 
president and president of that institution. He 
was a Democrat in politics, served as trustee 
of the village of Kingston for two years, as 
super\'isor for the city of Kingston, a dele- 
gate to the Democratic State Convention held 
in Albany in 1877, and to the State Conven- 
tion held in Syracuse in 1879. 

In 1867 Mr. Noone purchased of the State, 
through General Gates, the present St. Jo- 
seph's Church property, which was then a 
State Armory. He held the property for two 
years, when it was deeded to St. Joseph's con- 
gregation. With characteristic reticence he 
never talked of the matter, so it was not gen- 
erally known by whom the purchase was made, 
until the consecration of the church in 1908, 
when Archbishop Farley called upon Mrs. 
Noone and received from her the deed bv 



which the transaction had been consummated 
nearly forty-two years before. 

In 1870 Mr. Noone and his wife visited his 
old home in Ireland. February 16, 1854, he 
married Mary, daughter of James and Jane 
( Downey) Diamond of Rondout, New York. 
He died March 17, 1905, and is survived by 
his wife and two daughters : Jane, who mar- 
ried William J. O'Leary, M.D., of Kingston; 
and Anna, who married Edward Howard Tin- 
dale, of New York. 

No better estimate of Mr. Noone's character 
can be given than in the words of his business 
associates : "We have found in Mr. Noone a 
man of kindly nature, strict integrity, and 
wise and conservative counsel. For over fifty 
years he has been known in this community 
as one of our most reliable, conservative and 
trustworthy citizens. No man has been more 
trusted, and no man has more fully met and 
discharged the trusts reposed in him." 



According to Lower, a first 
BARNES authority, the surname Barnes 

is in origin the same as Berners. 
The famous Domesday Book of England rec- 
ords Hugh de Berners as a tenant in chief 
holding Eversdan, County Cambridge, Eng- 
land. The Itin. Norm, has mention of six 
localities called Bernierres, in different parts 
of Normandy, but which of them, if any, is 
the cradle of the race, is not known. There 
are several Barnes families in the United 
States, but not traceable to a common origin. 

(I) James Barnes, the first member of this 
immediate family in the United States, was 
a resident of Colchester, Essex county, Eng- 
land, where he died. He was a farmer, and 
a man of excellent repute. The name of his 
wife is unknown. Children: Thomas, and 
George, of whom further. 

(II) George, son of James Barnes, was 
born in Colchester, Essex county, England, 
September q. 1805. and died in Kingston, Ul- 
ster county. New York, in 1884. He received 
his early education in the schools of his native 
town, and in 1832 came to America and set- 
tled in New York City, where for two years 
he was engaged in the shoe business. In 1834 
lie removed to Kingston, where he established 
a similar business, which he continued for 
many years. During this time he was or- 
dained to the ministry of the Baptist church, 
and preached in the churches of Kingston and 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



669 



the surrounding country. He was one of the 
reorganizers of the Bethany Mission, of which 
he became superintendent, and was noted for 
his work in the missionary field, and as an 
earnest and zealous Christian man. He mar- 
ried, in the North Baptist Church, in New 
York City, December 16, 1831, Charlotte 
Twitchett, who was born May 24, 1807, in 
Kelvedon, England, and died in 1894, in King- 
ston. Children : George T., born September 
16, 1832; Joseph E., June 28, 1834: James T., 
February 11, 1836; Elizabeth G., August 14, 
1837; Emily B., April 3, 1839; Charlotte A., 
January i, 1841 ; Anna D.. January 26, 1843; 
Andrew N., of whom further; Josephine P., 
January 25, 185 1. 

(HI) Andrew N., son of George and Char- 
lotte (Twitchett) Barnes, was born in King- 
ston, New York, November 18, 1847, ^n<i is 
now living there. He was educated at the 
Kingston Academy, and at the age of fourteen 
years entered the drygoods house of Merritt 
& Crosby, in Kingston, and was later pro- 
moted to the position of confidential book- 
keeper, and manager of the branch of the 
firm at Rondout, New York. In 1873 he pur- 
chased an interest in the drygoods firm of 
James O. Merritt, Brodhead & Company. In 
1877 he was appointed postmaster at Rondout, 
New York, by President Hayes, was reap- 
pointed by President Arthur, and retired from 
office in 1886. He then purchased an interest 
in the wholesale furniture business of Knight 
& Gregory, in Kingston, the firm becoming 
Knight, Gregory & Barnes, and so continuing 
until 1887, when Mr. Knight disposed of his 
interest, and the firm became Gregory & 
Barnes, and remained so until Mr. Barnes 
sold his interest in the firm and retired from 
active business in 1912. He is a Republican 
in politics, and was alderman from the second 
ward of Kingston from 1895 to 1897. For 
twenty-five years he was a member of the 
Kingston Board of Trade, and for twelve 
years a director. He is a member of King- 
ston Lodge, No. 10, Free and Accepted 
Masons. At one time he was president of the 
Young Men's Christian Association ; and since 
1874 he has been president of the board of 
trustees of the Albany Avenue Baptist Church, 
and for fourteen years was superintendent of 
its Sunday school. Mr. Barnes married, June 
20, 1871. Sarah K., born August 27. 1846, 
daughter of John S. and Anne Eliza (Cramer) 



Willis. Her father, a merchant and cracker 
manufacturer in Kingston, died February 25, 
1884; her mother was born December 12, 1822, 
and died March 24, 1892. Child of Mr. and 
Mrs. Barnes : C. Everett, of whom further. 

(IV) C. Everett, only child of Andrew N. 
and Sarah K. (Willis) Barnes, was born in 
Kingston, New York, May 5, 1872, and is now 
living there. He received his early education 
in the Kingston Academy, and then entered 
the New York Homoeopathic College, but was 
obliged to relinquish his studies, owing to im- 
paired health. Returning to Kingston, he 
later became associated with his father in the 
furniture busines. He married, March 12, 
1898, Helen Brodhead. Child: Gordon Wil- 
lis, born October 30, 1903. 



Philip Shafer, the founder of 
SHAFER the family in this country, was 

born in Holland, December 12, 
1764, and died in Andes, Delaware county. 
New York, October 8, 1838. He emigrated 
from Holland to America about 1784, and set- 
tled near the east branch of the Delaware 
river in Delaware county, where he cleared 
a farm of three hundred acres, which he cul- 
tivated until his death. He married Catherine 

, born in 1761, died in Andes, New 

York, July 6, 1837. Among his children was 
Philip (2), referred to below. 

(II) Philip (2), son of Philip (i) and 
Catherine Shafer, was born on his father's 
farm at Andes, Delaware county. New York, 
December 12, 1794, and died in Delaware 
county, September 21, 1873. He was a farmer 
and stock-raiser, and also engaged in the 
lumbering business. He served in the United 
States army during the Mexican war. He 
married. May 13, 1824, Sarah Melvina, 
daughter of Ezra and Sarah (Clarke) Bene- 
dict, who was born June 22,. 1805, and died 
April II, 1880 (see Benedict VI). Children: 
William P., born September 14, 1825; Bene- 
dict, referred to below ; Mary Jane, born Sep- 
tember 27, 1829 ; Sarah C, born September 
24, 1832 ; Ezra B., born August 3, 1835 ; Mar- 
cus P., born July 21, 1837; Andrew C, born 
December 29, 1839; Frances Ann, born May 
10, 1842 ; Francis Marion, born March 10, 
1846; Frances Maria, twin with Francis 
Marion, bom March 10, 1846. 

(III) Colonel Benedict Shafer, son of 
Philip (2) and Sarah Melvina (Benedict) 



670 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Shafer, was born in Andes, Delaware county, 
New York, March 18, 1827, died October 23, 
1909, at Kingston. He received his early edu- 
cation in the public schools and the Andes 
Academy, and in 1849 entered the general 
hardware business in Andes and later engaged 
in the manufacture of tinware, in which he 
continued until 1855, when he disposed of his 
interests and removed to Eddyville, Ulster 
county. New York, and assumed charge of the 
cement works of Thomas W. Cornell & Com- 
pany. In 1871 he purchased a one-half inter- 
est in the business and in partnership with 
Henry C. Connelly established the firm of Con- 
nelly & Shafer, and engaged in the manufac- 
ture of Rosendale cement and the conducting 
of a general store. In 1899 the cement manu- 
facturing interests were sold to the Consoli- 
dated Cement Company, and the firm con- 
tinued in the general merchandise business 
until the death of Colonel Shafer. He served 
as a commissioner and secretary of the board 
of the Ulster and Delaware railroad until the 
bonded indebtedness of that road was liqui- 
dated. He was for many years adjutant of 
the Twenty-sixth Regiment National Guard of 
the State of New York. He married, Septem- 
ber 23, 1857, Jane Frances, daughter of 
Thomas W. and Emeline (Lawrence) Cornell, 
of Eddyville, New York, who was born Janu- 
ary 26, 1835. Children: William Cornell, re- 
ferred to below; Emma F., born April 16, 
1861, died in infancy; Emma F., born July 16, 
1863, died young; Mary J., born September 
19, 1866, now living in New York City, mar- 
ried, in 1890, Leonidas Dennis; Emeline C, 
born February 26, 1869, died young. 

(IV) William Cornell, son of Colonel Bene- 
dict and Jane Frances (Cornell) Shafer, was 
born in Andes, Delaware county. New York, 
September 18, 1858, and is now living in King- 
ston, New York. He received his early 
education in private schools at Andes and 
later graduated from the Kingston Academy, 
and then engaged in the coal business 
in Eddyville, New York, for four years, 
at the end of which time he disposed 
of his business and became superintendent for 
the Connelly & Shafer Cement Company in 
Eddyville. in which position he remained until 
1900. He then engaged in the business of 
haberdasher and boot and shoe store for three 
years, and at the end of that time retired from 
active business life. He is one of the directors 



of the Ulster County National Bank; also of 
the Young Men's Christian Association in 
Kingston, and is a member of the building 
committee of the association. He is a Method- 
ist in religion, and is a member of the official 
board of the Saint James Methodist Episcopal 
Church. He is a member of the Kingston 
Club ; the Dutch Arms Club of Kingston ; the 
Automobile Club of Kingston, and of the Dela- 
ware Valley Society of New York. He mar- 
ried, April 20, 1898, Minnie, daughter of Wil- 
liam H. and Nettie M. (Winter) Whitney, 
born in Shandaken, Ulster county. New 
York, June 9, 1874. Child : Ruth W., born 
December 28, 1899. 

(The Benedict Line.) 

Thomas Benedict, the founder of the family 
in this country, was born about 1617, and died 
between February 28 and March 18, 1689-90, 
at Norwalk, Connecticut. He emigrated in 
1638 to the Massachusetts Bay colony, and in 
1640 removed to Southold, Connecticut. In 
1657 he was a resident in Huntington, Long 
Island, and later removed to Danbury, and 
finally to Norwalk. He married Mary Brid- 
gem. Children : Thomas, died November 20, 
1688-9, married in January, 1665, Mary Mes- 
senger; John, married Phebe Gregory, Sam- 
uel, died in 1719, married (first) 

, and (second) Rebecca Andrews; 

James, referred to below ; Daniel, married 
Mary Marvin ; Elizabeth, married John Slau- 
son ; Mary, married John Olmsted ; Sarah, 
married James Beebe ; Rebecca, married Dr. 
Samuel Wood. 

(II) James, son of Thomas and Mary 
(Bridgem) Benedict, was born in Southold, 
Long Island, and died after August, 1717. 
He married (first) May 10, 1676, Sarah, 
daughter of John and Sarah Gregory, who 
was born December 3, 1652. He married 
(second) Sarah, born December 20, 1657, 
daughter of Robert Porter and widow of 
Abraham Andrus. He was one of the eight 
who bought and settled Danbury, Connecticut. 
Children (all by first marriage) : Sarah, born 
June 16, 1677; Rebecca, born in 1679, died | 
March 20. i7og, married January 17, 1704-05, 
Samuel Keeler, Tr. ; Phebe, married Thomas 1 
Taylor; James, born in 1685, married Mary 
Andrus; John, born in October, 1689, died in 
February, 1771, married (first) Rachel 
and (second) Ruth ; Thomas, 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



671 



referred to below ; Elizabeth, born in July, 
1696, married Samuel Taylor. 

(III) Deacon Thomas Benedict, son of 
James and Sarah (Gregory) Benedict, was 
bom in Danbury, Connecticut, November 9, 
1694, died before July 4, 1776. He married 
Abigail, daughter of John Hoyt. Children: 
Sarah; Molly, died in 1745, married Joseph 
Starr; Thomas, born in 1727, died May 15, 
181 1, married Mercy Knapp ; Theodorius, 
born November i, 1728, died January 20, 1805, 
married (first) February 2, 1747, Abigail 
Starr, (second) Mrs. Catherine Dibble; Eliza- 
beth, born 1729, married James Taylor; Eli- 
sha, born April 2, 1736, died August 26, 1798, 

married (first) , (second) Mrs. 

Jerusha (Starr) Barnum ; Margaret, born in 
1743, died April 25, 1808; Robert, referred to 

below ; Mindwell, married Hamilton ; 

Thankful, married April 2, 1760, Nathan Gre- 
gory; Hannah, married (first) , 

and (second) Samuel Perry; Jemima, mar- 
ried Hamilton. 

(IV) Robert, son of Thomas and Abigail 
(Hoyt) Benedict, was born in 1744, and died 
at Charlton, Saratoga county. New York, in 
1828. He married Sarah Ketchum. Chil- 
dren : Robert, born July 14, 1770, died 
March 3, 1862, married, January 10, 1799. 
Phebe Paris; Sally, married John Dunning; 
Reuben ; Ezra, referred to below ; Betsy, born 
December 25, 1778, died December 30, 1851, 
married, March 27, 1796, Henry \'an Heusen ; 
Czar, died young; Czar, died young; a son, 
died young; Cynthia, married James King; 
Rebecca, married Peter Howe. 

( VI Ezra, son of Robert and Sarah 
(Ketchum) Benedict, was born at Charlton, 
Saratoga county, New York, July 7, 1776, 
died in Andes, Delaware county. New York, 
April 26, 1849. He married Sarah, daughter 
of William Clarke, who died March 28, 1859. 
Children : William Clarke, born September 
2"/, 1802, married, March 22, 1831, Electa 
Dodge ; Sarah Melvina, referred to below ; 
Henry, born July 12. 1807, died August 8, 
1808; Sarah Ann, born July 13, 1809, married 
May 12, 1830, Elijah Churchill; Henry, born 
October 11, 1811, died December 11, 1811. 

(VI) Sarah Melvina, daughter of Ezra and 
Sarah (Clarke) Benedict, was born June 23, 
1805, and died April 11, 1880. She married 
May 13, 1824, Philip (2), son of Philip (i) 
and Catherine Shafer, referred to above. 



The Rev. Matthew Cantine 
CANTINE Julien, in his "PreHminary 
Statement of the Cantine 
Genealogy," says that the original home of 
the family was Royan, a small town on the 
north side of the Gironde, the wide arm of 
the sea which reaches from the city of Bor- 
deaux to the French coast, and into which 
the Garonne river empties itself. Here Moses 
Cantine, or as he himself writes his name in 
the early records that have come down to us, 
Moyse Quantain, lived, and when the persecu- 
tion of the Huguenots began again in France 
in 1685, he "left the land of his fathers in 
one of the smaller coasting vessels of his na- 
tive village, and was taken on board of some 
one of the numerous English ships which, at 
that time, were making a business of trans- 
porting for a remuneration, those Protestant 
Frenchmen who sought relief from persecu- 
tion in flight." Whether he came straight to 
America or stopped for a while on his way 
in England, is unknown. His name appears 
for the first time in the sheriff's lists of the 
inhabitants of Ulster county, New York, as 
early as 1689, and Mr. Julien says that there 
is evidence of his presence in the county at 
a still earlier date. Later he became a resi- 
dent of New Paltz, Ulster county, where he 
remained until the children of his second 
wife's first marriage were grown up, and then 
removed to Ponckhockie. In 1700 his name 
appears on the records of New Paltz as a 
lieutenant in a military company. He died in 
1743, and was buried in the yard of the Dutch 
church at Marbletown, Ulster county, New 

York. He married (first) in France, 

, who died during the passage to 

America. He married (second) Elizabeth, 
daughter of Christian Deyo and widow of 
Simon Le Fevre. Her father was one of the 
original twelve patentees of the town of New 
Paltz, as was also Isaac Le Fevre, the father 
of her first husband. He married (third) 
September 20, 1703, Marytje, widow of 
Boudewyn de Witt, whose first husband had 
been sheriff of Ulster and Dutchess counties 
in 1701. One child by second marriage: 
Peter, referred to below ; no children by first 
and third marriages. 

(II) Peter, son of Moses and Elizabeth 
(Deyo-Le Fevre) Cantine, was born in New 
Paltz, Ulster county. New York, and was 
baptized in the French church there May 21, 



672 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



1693. He was one of the trustees of the 
town of Kingston, Ulster county, New York, 
from 1720 to 1726, and he also held several 
other public offices. After 1728 he removed 
from Kingston to Marbletown, where he was 
one of the trustees from 1750 to 1761. He 
also became a large landowner, purchasing at 
one time a tract from Claes van Schoonhoven, 
and receiving through his wife a large tract 
on both sides of the Esopus creek. He mar- 
ried, June 16, 1715, Elizabeth, daughter of 
Matthys and Margaret (Schoonhoven) Blan- 
shan. Children: i. Elizabeth, baptized Jan- 
uary 29, 1716, died in infancy. 2. Moses, 
baptized January 13, 1717, died in 1776; mar- 
ried Maria Sleght ; no children. 3. Margaret, 
born July 23, 1718, and baptized August 24, 
1718. 4. Elizabeth, baptized February 21, 
1720, died about 1751 ; married, March 8, 1746, 
William Nottingham. 5. Matthew, baptized 
October 15, 1721 ; married (first) December 
9, 1744, Catharine Nottingham, and (second) 
Elizabeth Depuy. 6. Maria, baptized January 
27, 1723 ; married Hendricus Jansen. 7. Na- 
thaniel (his name sometimes written Daniel 
in the early records), baptized October 25, 
1724, married (first) Gertrude Delameter, 
(second) Sara Rutsen, and (third) Dorothea 
Nieuwkerck. 8. Catharine, baptized March 
20, 1726, died February 28, 1799 ; married in 
March, 1751, Daniel Le Fevre. 9. Abraham, 
referred to below. 10. Peter (2), baptized 
December 29, 1729, died November 28, 1813; 
married, November 14, 1760, Magdalena Le 
Fevre. 11. Cornelia, baptized April 2, 1732. 
12. Johannis, baptized November 16, 1735, 
died in 1807 ; married Maria Brodhead. 

(HI) Abraham, son of Peter and Elizabeth 
(Blanshan) Cantine, was born in Kingston, 
Ulster county. New York, December 8, 1727, 
baptized there January 14, 1728, and died De- 
cember 26, 1814. He married Elizabeth Dela- 
meter, who was born in 1735 and died Sep- 
tember 6, 1805. Children : Four, among 
whom was Peter A., referred to below. 

(IV) Peter A., son of Abraham and Eliza- 
beth (Delameter) Cantine, was born August 
24, 1765, and died in October, 1843. He was 
a successful farmer and owned a grist and 
saw mill. His district he represented twice in 
the state assembly, and he held various local 
public offices. He married, February 19, 1790, 
Jane Sammons, of Montgomery county, New 
York. Children : Seven, among whom was 



Martin, the youngest, referred to below. 

(V) Martin, son of Peter A. and Jane 
(Sammons) Cantine, was born April 14, 1808, 
and died August 14, 1891. He inherited his 
father's lands and mills and was a farmer all 
his life. He married, February 2J, 1830, Ly- 
dia Elmendorf, who died September 22, 1881. 
Children : Four, among whom was Peter, 
referred to below. 

(VI) Peter, son of Martin and Lydia (El- 
mendorf) Cantine, was born December 27, 
1831, and died December 21, 1900. He was 
born on a farm on the south side of Esopus 
creek in the town of Marbletown, Ulster 
county, New York, and received the meagre 
education of the country schools there. In 
1853 he began the study of law in the office 
of Stephen Sammons. of Fonda, New York. 
The following year he returned to Kingston 
and continued his studies in the office of Wil- 
liam S. Kenyon, and was admitted to the bar 
of New York state, at Albany, in February, 
1855. For a short time he resided at Fonda, 
but soon came to Saugerties, where he became 
a resident and practised his profession in both 
the circuit and supreme courts of the state. 
He was an ardent Republican in politics and 
served his town and village as trustee. From 
1872 to 1878, he was surrogate of Ulster 
county, and he was the Republican nominee 
for justice of the supreme court in a strong 
Democratic judicial district, where he was de- 
feated. He was also delegate to the state as- 
sembly and to the congressional state and ju- 
dicial assemblies. He married, December 29, 

1857, Sarah Ann Starin. Children: Charles 
F., referred to below; De Lancey S., Martin, 
referred to below ; Lydia, married George E. 
French, of the United States army. 

(VII) Judge Charles F. Cantine, son of 
Peter and Sarah Ann (Starin) Cantine, was 
born at Saugerties, New York, November 4, 

1858. He received an excellent preparatory 
education at the Saugerties Academy, and later 
pursued advanced studies at Rutgers College, 
New Brunswick, New Jersey, from which he 
was graduated in 1880. He studied law for 
a few months with his father at Saugerties 
and then entered Columbia Law School, from 
which he was graduated, and in May, 1882, 
he was admitted to the bar at Ithaca, New 
York. He formed a partnership with his 
father under the firm name of P. & C. F. 
Cantine, and the same year came to Kingston 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



673 



and opened an office in Rondout. In due 
course of time he acquired an extensive and 
remunerative practice, but during his second 
term as district attorney he was forced to re- 
linquish a considerable portion of his trial 
work in civil cases in order to devote his time 
more fully to his duties, and after his election 
as county judge he declined to take up matters 
which would require his appearance as a trial 
lawyer in the supreme court. He never en- 
couraged litigation, but effected many settle- 
ments in cases where he believed the best in- 
terests of all parties would be thus served 
best. He was candid in expressing his opin- 
ions at all times, and in cases where he be- 
lieved his client was in the wrong it was his 
custom to advise the client fully of the legal 
and moral aspects of the case, and to prevent 
needless and costly litigation. 

He took an active interest in politics, giv- 
ing his allegiance to the candidates and poli- 
cies of the Republican party. In November, 
1895, he was elected district attorney, re- 
elected in 1898 and again in 1901, this fact am- 
ply testifying to his efficiency and popularity. 
His term as district attorney was marked with 
success. His interest in the affairs of the un- 
fortunate led him into paths not taken by any- 
one else. He was a close student of the in- 
fluence of heredity, and his work in the dis- 
trict attorney's office opened a wide field for 
study. The hereditary influence in cases of 
criminals whom he prosecuted he traced care- 
fully, and being a firm believer in the bene- 
ficial effects of environment, he began in the 
early part of his career to take up the matter 
of caring for the children of these people, 
and placing them amid new surroundings, 
where the best that was in them might have 
opportunity for development. To this end he 
instituted proceedings to place children whose 
parents were unwilling or incapable of car- 
ing for them properly, in institutions or fam- 
ilies where they would receive the attention 
and care they deserved, and when once they 
were so placed and were improving, he re- 
sisted, both as a private citizen and in his 
capacity as a lawyer, efforts to have the chil- 
dren returned, to surroundings marked by 
crime or squalor. In order that he miglit 
carry on more effectively the work on behalf 
of unfortunate children, he became actively 
interested in the Industrial Home, of which 
he was elected a trustee a number of vears 



ago. Here he gave invaluable aid by personal 
investigation and active endeavor, also finan- 
cially. In addition to this work he carried on 
many private charities in individual cases. As 
district attorney he prosecuted with all the 
vigor he possessed criminal cases in which he 
thought conviction and punishment were mer- 
ited. He possessed an analytical mind, and 
in every case that came before him, either as 
district attorney or county judge, or in his 
private practice, he sought always to arrive at 
the truth. Prior to his election as district at- 
torney, in 1892-93, he was a member of the 
Republican state committee, and in 1893-94 
he was chairman of the Republican county 
committee of Ulster county. 

He was elected county judge in 1904, and 
was re-elected in 1910 for a term of six years. 
He was absolutely fair and impartial in his 
decisions, losing sight of personalities in his 
search for truth. His ability was recognized 
beyond the bounds of Ulster county, and he 
was often requested by the county judges of 
Kings county to come to Brooklyn and hold 
court there when the criminal cases became 
too numerous for the Kings county judges. 
In February, 19 12, he held court in Brooklyn 
for an entire month, with satisfaction to 
everyone. Several years previous he held a 
term of court in Orange county, and made a 
record for the trial of more than two score 
of important criminal cases. The human in- 
terest in every case appealed to him. He was 
choice in the use of English, and his charges 
to juries were models of elegant diction, and 
clear and comprehensive statements of the 
facts in the case and the law applicable to 
them. In all his charges he was absolutely 
fair, impartial and fearless, and lawyers with- 
out exception took delight in trying cases be- 
fore him. Fearlessness of action when a ques- 
tion of right or principle were concerned, re- 
gardless of personal discomfort or conse- 
(juences, was one of the marked characteris- 
tics of his entire life. He never lost his tem- 
per; while insistent where right was con- 
cerned he was extremely gentle; in all crim- 
inal cases where he believed mercy should be 
shown, he extended it, and more than any 
other man whom Ulster county knows he 
filled the description once given by Senator 
Benjamin Tilman, of South Carolina, regard- 
ing a colleague : "He was one of God Al- 
mighty's gentlemen." 



674 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Judge Cantine took an active interest also 
in all literary and historical matters. For 
several years he was one of the trustees of 
the Kingston City Library, and during that 
period he presented many volumes to the 
library, especially books relating to historical 
matters. He was deeply interested in history, 
especially relating to New York state, which 
he had studied extensively and critically. He 
was more particularly interested in the his- 
tory of Ulster county, and at different times 
delivered several historical addresses. His 
last historical address was delivered at the Old 
Home Week Celebration at Saugerties in 
191 1. He was a trustee of the New York 
State Historical Association, and it was due 
principally to his efforts that the association 
held its annual meetings in Kingston. He was 
one of the state board of regents of Kingston 
Academy. He was a member of the Univer- 
sity and Manhattan clubs of New York City, 
the Kingston Club, Rondout Club, Twaalfskill 
Club, Winnisook Club and Saugerties Club. 
He was also a member of the Holland So- 
ciety of New York, the Sons of the American 
Revolution, the Huguenot Society of America, 
and Rondout Lodge, No. 343, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons. 

Judge Cantine married (first) December 21, 
1882, Mary C. Sheffield, of Saugerties, New 
York. She died February 27, 1889, leaving a 
daughter, Agnes L., who is living at the pres- 
ent time. He married (second) September i, 
1893, Mary E., daughter of William and 
Eleanor (Sackett) Post, of Brookhaven, New 
York, by whom he is survived. 

Judge Cantine died at his home on Albany 
avenue, Kingston, July 14, 1912, and the 
funeral services were conducted in the First 
Reformed Dutch Church, of which he was a 
member. His demise was sincerely mourned 
by all who knew him, as he was a man of sin- 
cerity, integrity and unquestioned ability, 
loyal to his friends, but first loyal to truth 
and what he believed was right. He was a 
man to whom a public or a private trust was 
as sacred as the most solemn oath, and his 
entire life bore witness to the conscientious 
carrying out of this belief and the soundness 
of his view. His simplicity and modesty were 
unusual. He detested shams, and loved truth 
for truth's sake. He had old-fashioned ideas 
regarding honesty and morality, and he in- 



stilled these ideas into others in a quiet and 
unobtrusive way that was most effective. 

(VH) Martin, son of Peter and Sarah Ann 
(Starin) Cantine, was born at Saugerties, 
New York, January 22, 1866, and is now liv- 
ing there. After receiving his early educa- 
tion in the academy at Saugerties and the 
Seventeenth street grammar school in New 
York City, he secured employment at the age 
of eighteen years, with J. B. Sheffield & Son, 
paper manufacturers, where he remained 
about five years. In 1888 he purchased the 
plant of the Alston-Adams Company at Al- 
bany, New York, and engaged in the manu- 
facture of paper for himself. He organized 
the firm of Martin Cantine & Company, and 
January i, 1889, began operations in Sauger- 
ties. In 1890 the firm became incorporated, 
and Mr. Cantine was chosen president, a posi- 
tion he has held ever since, at the same time 
personally managing the entire business. He 
is a Republican in politics, and has served 
several terms as director and two years as 
president of the village, the last office being 
from 1896 to 1897. Since 1900 he has been 
president of the board of education, and in 
1899 he was the chief engineer of the fire de- 
partment. In 1900 he was also president of 
the Saugerties Board of Trade, and he has 
always been prominently identified with the 
best and most important business and social 
interests of the village. He is the president 
of the American Coated Paper Manufacturers 
Association of the United States and of the 
Tissue Company, manufacturers of crepe 
paper, and president of the Saugerties Build- 
ing & Loan Association. He is a member of 
the Saugerties and Kingston clubs and of the 
Republican Club of New York City. In re- 
ligion he is a member of the Reformed church 
of Saugerties. Mr. Cantine married, in June, 
1900, Fanny, daughter of General William B. 
Rudd, of Lakeville. Connecticut. Children: 
Hollev Rudd ; and Frances. 



(Ill) Peter (2) Cantine, sot 
CANTINE of Peter (i) Cantine (q. v.) 
and Elizabeth (Blanshan) 
Cantine. was born in Kingston, Ulster county. 
New York, November 28, 1729, being baptized 
there December 29, of the same year, and died 
near Marbletown, Ulster county. New York, 
November 28, 1813. 

He was a landowner and a farmer bv 




f 



^::i.-o^?^^^S.<..C7fc::^ 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



675 



occupation, and resided with most of his 
brothers in the town of Marbletown, near the 
place now known as Stone Ridge. His de- 
scendants still reside there in large part, but 
according to the "Preliminary Statement of 
the Cantine Genealogy," referred to " ove, 
many of them are also residing farther up the 
valley of the Rondout, in Napanoch and 
Leurenkill. Peter married November 14, 
1760. Magdalena Le Fevre. 

(IV) Jacob, son of Peter (2) and Magda- 
lena (Le Fevre) Cantine, was born near Mar- 
bletown, Ulster county, New York, November 
I, 1779. and died in 1852, at Ellenville, Ulster 
county, New York. Jacob was brought up on 
the farm of his father and gave his attention 
to farming and blacksmithing until about the 
middle of his life, when he turned his atten- 
tion to tilling the soil. In politics he was 
what is termed an old line Whig, and held 
the office of assessor in his town for many 
years. He was a member of the Dutch Re- 
formed church of Ellenville, and was a worthy 
and very useful man. He married, December 
19, 1799, Ann, daughter of Richard Brod- 
head, of Wawarsing township, she being born 
March 6, 1782, died January 21, 1875. Chil- 
dren: Richard, born March 19, 1801, died in 
infancy; Jane, July 27, 1803, died January 21, 
1875, remained single ; Peter, born July 2, 
1806, died May 31, 1866, a farmer and specu- 
lator, residing in Wawarsing township; Mat- 
thew, mentioned below ; Magdalena, October 
27, 1813, died March 2'2, 1871, remained un- 
married; Catherine, May 4, 1821, died De- 
cember 29, 1890, married William Corwin, a 
farmer in Wawarsing township ; Richard H., 
November 4, 1822, died December 29, 1890. 

(V) Matthew, son of Jacob and Ann 
(Brodhead) Cantine, was born at Leurenkill, 
Wawarsing township, Ulster county, New 
York, April 13. 1808, and died February 21, 
1880, at his native place. Matthew Cantine 
was brought up on his father's farm, and was 
educated in the district schools of Leurenkill. 
He engaged in early life in the butcher busi- 
ness and later purchased a farm of about 
seventy acres in Leurenkill, where he lived 
and engaged in its cultivation and develop- 
ment for the rest of his life. He was moder- 
ately active in the public affairs of the town, 
and was a Republican in politics. As mem- 
bers of the Reformed church the members 
of his family held a leading place, Mr. Can- 



tine being deacon for a number of years. He 
married, December 2, 1832, Caroline, born 
October i, 1809, in Dutchess county, New 
York, died October 9, 1885, daughter of 
George La Moree, a prominent citizen in that 
part of the country, the descendant of an- 
cestors who came originally from France to 
the New World. Children: Juliette, born 
October 11. 1833. died Jime 21, 1895; Jacob, 
born January 18. 1836, died March 17, 1907, 
a resident of Napanoch ; Mary Jane, October 
5, 1837, died October 8, 1841 ; Ann B., Au- 
gust 10, 1842, married Egbert Hoornbeck, a 
farmer residing near Napanoch ; Peter N., 
mentioned below : Mary, May 4, 1853, mar- 
ried Eugene Burhans, of Ellenville. 

(VI) Peter N., son of Matthew and Caro- 
line (La Moree) Cantine, was born January 
21, 1845, at Leurenkill, in Wawarsing town- 
ship, Ulster county. New York. He received 
a sound education in the common schools of 
the district, as well as at the Ellenville Acad- 
emy, and after he left school worked for a 
time as a helper to his father on the family 
property. Following that he occupied the po- 
sition of clerk in the store of Townsend 
Holmes for a period of about two years, and 
then in the year 1869 removed to Napanoch 
and there formed a partnership with Mr. 
Cudney, as dealers in general merchandise. 
The style and title of the firm was Cudney 
& Cantine, and at the end of a period long 
enough to indicate the promise of business 
conditions under the state of things then pre- 
vailing, they had an opportunity of turning 
their business into cash, and dissolved part- 
nership to try their fortunes in other fields. 
Mr. Cantine then became connected with A. 
S. Schoonmaker of Napanoch and remained 
with his store for a period of three years. He 
then went into the butcher business and in 
the course of a few years had one of the 
leading meat markets of the town, finally, at 
the end of thirty-five years, retiring from busi- 
ness and devoting himself to his interests and 
hobbies in other directions. Mr. Cantine is a 
Republican in politics, and has held several 
local offices. He is an attendant and sup- 
porter of the Reformed church, and is a man 
of large acquaintance, greatly respected in the 
neighborhood. He married, October 18, 1877, 
Henrietta Sagendorph, born May 17, 1845, '" 
Shandaken, Ulster county. Her grandfather, 
Adam Sagendorph, came to this country from 



676 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Germany when a young man. He married 
Elizabeth Heavener, of German descent, and 
settled in Columbia county, where his son An- 
drew, Mrs. Cantine's father, was born Decem- 
ber 16, 1820. Andrew Sagendorph married 
Amanda Trites, a descendant of an old Hol- 
land family, who was born February 24, 1823, 
and Mrs. Cantine was the second in their 
family of four children. Louise, the eldest, 
married Byron Dutcher, a farmer and mer- 
chant, of Big Indian, Ulster county; two 
younger children, Horatio and Harriet, died 
in infancy. Mrs. Cantine's father died April 
4, 1882, her mother January 24, 1893. Mr. 
and Mrs. Cantine have no children. 



Robert Seeley, the founder of 
SEELEY this family, was born in Eng- 
land, and according to Savage 
came to America with Winthrop in 1630. He 
settled first at Watertown, Massachusetts, 
where he was made freeman May 18, 1631, 
and town surveyor in 1634. In 1636, he re- 
moved to Wethersfield, Connecticut, where he 
served as a lieutenant in the Pequod war, in 
1637, and is mentioned for gallant action in 
the fight at Mystic. June 2. 1637, he com- 
manded thirty men appointed to guard the 
Connecticut river plantations. He was a char- 
ter member of the first church at New Haven 
in 1639, a member of the general assembly 
in the same year and also marshal of the 
colony. In 1654 he visited England, but re- 
turned in time to command the New Haven 
forces under Sedgwick and Leverett, raised 
to operate against the Dutch in New Amster- 
dam. He was at Saybrook in 1662, at Strat- 
ford in 1663, and was commissioner for Con- 
necticut at Huntington, Long Island, in 1662, 
and head of the militia. He is said to 
have died in New York City. October 
19, 1668, his widow Mary administered his 
estate and the sons named are: Obadiah, 
who died at Stamford. Connecticut, August 
25. 1757. married the widow of John Miller 
of Stamford ; Nathaniel, married Mary Tur- 
ney : John, who lived in Fairfield, Connecticut, 
married Sarah Squire; from one of these is 
descended Jonathan, referred to below. 

(I) Jonathan Seeley was born in Rhode 
Island and died in Ohio. About 1780. accom- 
panied by three of his brothers, Ephraim, 
John and Israel, he settled in Danby, Ver- 
mont, where he rose to a prominent position, 



became a man of wealth and influence and 
one of the largest landholders in the town. 
He was a great speculator and something of 
a broker, and he held prominent offices both 
in town and church for a long series of years. 
In 1784 he was constable. He was selectman 
for five years, lister for five years, and a 
justice of the peace for ten years. Later he 
removed to Saint Lawrence county. New 
York, and finally to Ohio, where he died. He 
married (first) Elizabeth, daughter of Wil- 
liam Bromley, senior, and (second) Freelove, 
daughter of William Bromley, junior. Chil- 
dren: Hannah, married Peleg Harrington; 
Ira, born about 1783, died in 1850, married 
Nancy Vail; Bromley, born about 1790, mar- 
ried Hannah Herrick ; Elizabeth, married 
Daniel Saulsbury ; Jonathan, referred to be- 
low ; Hiram, married Carpenter ; Lucy, 

married (first) Jared Burdick, and (second) 
Thomas Page ; Benjamin, married Lydia 
Kelly ; Isaac, married Nichols. 

(II) Jonathan (2), son of Jonathan (i) 
Seeley. died in Middlebury, Vermont, in 1869. 
He removed from Danby, first to Brandon, 
and later to Middlebury, Vermont. He raised 
a company in Danby and served in the war 
of 1812, being stationed first at Vergennes, 
Vermont, and later on Lake Champlain, and 
took part in the battle at Plattsburgh, New 
York. He married, in 1813, Rhoda Kelly, of 
Rutland, Vermont. Children: Daniel; John; 
Smith; Isaac; Frank, referred to below; Jen- 
nie, and Louise. 

(III) Rev. Frank Seeley, son of Jonathan 
(2) and Rhoda (Kelly) Seeley, was born in 
Middlebury, Vermont. August 3, 1839, and is 
still living. He received his college prepara- 
tory education at Burr and Burton Seminary, 
at Manchester, Vermont, graduated from Mid- 
dlebury College in 1863, and then entered the 
Auburn Theological Seminary, from which 
he graduated in 1866, and was ordained to the 
ministry of the Presbyterian church. He was 
pastor of the Presbyterian church in Rich- 
field Springs, New York, from 1866 to 1872, 
and then became pastor of the church at Delhi, 
New York, in which charge he remained for 
thirty years, until he retired from active duty 
in the ministry in 1912. He married (first) 
June 20, 1866. Martha, daughter of Ebenezer 
and Elizabeth (Dyer) Weeks, of Salisbury, 
Vermont, who died May 10, 1872. He mar- 
ried (second) June 21. 1882. Gertrude Car- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



677 



penter, who died March 29, 1903. He mar- 
ried (third) October 21, 1905, Henrietta K. 
Goerk, of Chicago, Illinois. Children (three 
by first, two by second marriage) : George, 
born June 19, 1868 ; Louise, born May 6, 
1870; Frank B., referred to below; Ralph, 
born October 24, 1884; Carl, bom May 27, 
1886. 

(IV) Rev. Frank B. Seeley, son of Rev. 
Frank and Martha (Weeks) Seeley, was born 
May 10, 1872, and is now living in Kingston, 
New York. He was educated at the Dela- 
ware Academy, in Delhi, New York, and 
graduated from Middlebury College in 1893 ; 
then entered Union Theological Seminary in 
New York City, from which he was graduated 
in 1896. He was licensed and ordained to the 
ministry by the Otsego Presbytery in May, 
1896, and was pastor of the church at Mar- 
garetville, Delaware county. New York, from 
May, 1896, to April, 1897. On April i, 1898, 
he assumed the charge of the Fair Street Re- 
formed Church, in Kingston, New York, in 
which pastorate he still continues. He is a 
member of Kingston Lodge, No. 10, Free and 
Accepted Masons, of which he is a pastmaster. 
He married, June 4, 1896, Virginia St. Clair, 
daughter of Hewitt and Caroline (St. Clair) 
Boice (see Boice). One child died in infancy. 



Peter Boice, the first member of 
BOICE this family of whom we have any 

definite information, lived in 
Boiceville, Olive township, Ulster county. New 
York. The family is of Dutch origin, the 
original spelling of the name being Buys ; and 
Peter Boice is probably a descendant of Jan, 
Hendrick, or Abraham Buys, all three of 
whom were living in Poughkeepsie as early as 
1717-8. Abraham was married in the Dutch 
church in Kingston, Ulster county, and the 
three had children baptized there, but the 
records at present available are insufficient to 
establish the exact line of descent. Among 
the children of Peter Boice was William V. 
N., referred to below. 

(H) William V. N., son of Peter Boice, 
was born in 1814, in Olive township, Ulster 
county, New York, and died in 1900. He 
was a farmer, a lumberman and tanner, and 
also conducted a general merchandise store at 
Samsonville, Ulster county, New York, in 
partnership with his son Hewitt. In religion 
he was a Baptist and in politics a Republican, 



and for several terms he served as supervisor 
of his township. He married Jane D. Davis, 
of Olive township, who was born in 1813, 
and died in 1906. Children: i. Peter, now 
living in Rondout, Ulster county, New York. 
2. Hewitt, referred to below. 3. Samuel, 
served in the United States army, and was 
killed during the civil war. 4. John J., now 
living at Kingston, New York. 

(Ill) Hewitt, son of William V. N. and 
Jane D. (Davis) Boice, was born at Boice- 
ville, Olive township, Ulster county. New 
York, September 10, 1846, and is now living 
in Kingston, Ulster county, New York. He 
received his early education in the public 
schools, and then in partnership with his father 
and his brother Peter, under the firm name of 
William V. N. Boice & Sons, conducted a 
tannery and blue-stone business at Samson- 
ville, Ulster county. New York, until 1875, 
when he established a blue-stone business of 
his own at Brodhead's Bridge, which he con- 
ducted for two years. In 1877 he removed to 
Kingston, and purchasing a property of three 
hundred feet frontage on East Strand, Ron- 
dout, he established the nucleus of his present 
mammoth blue-stone business, which has de- 
veloped to an average of four hundred and 
sixty thousand dollars annually, and even in 
years of business depression has reached three 
hundred thousand dollars annually. He re- 
tired from active business life in 1903. He is 
president of the Kingston Iron and Ore Com- 
pany, is president of the Lake Superior Cop- 
per and Zinc Company, and is vice-president 
and one of the directors of the L. B. Van 
Wagenen Company. He is also one of the 
directors of the First National Bank of Ron- 
dout, of the United States Gypsum Company, 
of the Elmhurst Southern Realty Company, 
and of the Atlas Chain Company. In the Fair 
Street Reformed Church he is an elder, and he 
is one of the trustees of the Young Men's 
Christian Association in Kingston. He is a 
member of the Dutch Arms Club, of the Au- 
tomobile Club, of the Republican Club, of the 
Kingston Club, and is also a member of the 
Chamber of Commerce of Kingston. He af- 
filiates with the Free and Accepted Masons. 

Mr. Boice married (first) in 1866, Caroline 
St. Clair, and they had one child, Virginia 
St. Clair, now the wife of Rev. F. B. Seeley, 
of Kingston. Mrs. Boice died in 1899. In 
1901 Mr. Boice married (second) Kathryn Du 



678 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Bois Deyo, daughter of S. Du Bois and Anna 
Brown Deyo, of Kingston. 



The Scoresby family has 
SCORESBY been one of note in England, 

and one line of it can be 
traced back as far as the fourteenth century. 
The leading part of the family name has been 
derived from the obsolete word "skawer," of 
which it appears to be a corruption, and which 
Halliwell defines in meaning as a jurat. There 
is a kindred Anglo-Saxon word having the 
meaning of "a beholder, spectator, or spy." 
Skawers are mentioned in connection with 
Pevensey Marsh in the fifteenth century, and 
Dugdale uses the word in his "History of Im- 
banking," printed in 1662. The word has also 
the meaning of a deep, narrow, rugged inden- 
tation on the side of a hill, and is allied with 
the Icelandic word, shor, having the significa- 
tion of the Latin word, fissura. The first 
bearer of the name of Scoresby appearing in 
history was one Walter de Scoresby, who en- 
joyed the distinction of being "Bayliffe of 
York" in the year 131Z. There was also Nich- 
olas de Scoresby, who represented the ancient 
city of York in the parliament of Edward HI., 
while Thomas occupied the civic chair in 1463. 
(I) Captain William Scoresby, ancestor of 
the Scoresby family, was born at Cropton, 
England, in 1760, died in 1828. At the age of 
nineteen he was apprenticed as a seaman, and 
ten years later was in command of a Green- 
land whaling ship, in which capacity he made 
voyages in the Arctic Sea. He gained great 
celebrity through his explorations and dis- 
coveries in those regions, and became an au- 
thority on all matters relating to arctic navi- 
gation, while his observations and conclusions 
were of great service in the cause of science. 
Captain William Scoresby retired from the sea 
in 1823 with a handsome fortune, spending 
the remainder of his days at Whitby, where he 
look an active part in improving the harbors 
for the safety of the vessels while in port. He 
wrote and published several essays on sanitary 
reform, and on various projects designed to 
promote the safety and welfare of men of the 
seafaring class. Children: i. The Rev. Wil- 
liam Scoresby, who took his father's profes- 
sion and for many years engaged in the whal- 
ing business. During the whole of the period 
in which he was engaged in whaling he car- 
ried on a series of investigations regarding 



the laws of magnetism and communicated the 
results to the world in a series of scientific 
papers. Retiring from the sea he entered the 
church and rose to eminence as a divine. In 
the meantime he pursued his inquiries into 
scientific subjects and became one of the lead- 
ing savants of the day. He visited Australia 
as a member of a scientific commission ordered 
by the British government. He was a member 
of the Royal societies of Edinburgh and Lon- 
don, as well as of the Royal institutes of 
Paris, and the American Institute of Phila- 
delphia. He visited America in 1844, 1847, 
1848, and 1857. 2. Mary, who married John 
Clark, of Whitby, England, who was largely 
engaged in the iron trade. After his death in 
1834 Mrs. Clark succeeded to the management 
of the business, and until her death in 1876 
her operations were among the heaviest in 
England, and all conducted by herself. 3. 
Arabella, who married Captain Thomas Jack- 
son, a shipping merchant of Whitby. 4. 
Thomas, mentioned below. 

(II) Dr. Thomas Scoresby, son of Captain 
William Scoresby, was born in York, England, 
in 1804, died in March, 1866. He made several 
voyages to the arctic seas with his father and 
his brother, William, filling the capacity of 
second officer during these voyages. He made 
surveys of the east coast of Greenland and 
from his notes, "Scoresby 's History of the 
Arctic Seas," was compiled at intervals. 
Thomas Scoresby also studied medicine and 
took his degree at the College of Physicians 
and Surgeons. Edinburgh, Scotland. Dr. 
Scoresby practiced medicine until 1834 at 
Whitby and Doncaster. a period of six years 
after his graduation, and then came to America 
and settled at Port Jervis. There he met an 
English friend named Bragg, who induced him 
to settle at Fallsburg, Sullivan county. New 
York, where he practiced his profession for 
a number of years. In the year 1840 he re- 
moved to Ellenville, New York, and there 
practiced until his death. Dr. Scoresby was 
a man of wide and liberal culture, and in the 
practice of his profession was always ruled by 
high principles. He gave as much care to 
cases of lesser importance as those that prom- 
ised goodly fees, and the poor always found 
in him a good friend. He married, in 1828, 
the year in which he took his degree, Louisa, 
born at London, 1804, died at Ellenville, New 
York, February ig, 1875, daughter of George 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



679 



Richardson, of London. Their children were 
five: Thomas, born in England, a farmer in 
Kansas ; two daughters, who married and be- 
came widows, occupying the old family resi- 
dence at Ellenville; William Frederick, men- 
tioned below ; Horatio, living at Ellenville on 
a farm adjoining the homestead of the Scores- 
by family. 

(HI) Dr. William Frederick Scoresby, son 
of Dr. Thomas and Louisa (Richardson) 
Scoresby, was born at Fallsburg, Sullivan 
county, New York, January 2, 1840. He re- 
ceived an academic education at Ellenville un- 
der the tuition of Prof. A. A. Law Post. He 
then studied medicine under his father and Dr. 
George Edwards, of New York City, graduat- 
ing from the Columbia College Medical 
Department, New York City, in 1864. In 
1865 he began the practice of his profession 
in association with his father at Ellenville. 
He early manifested an enthusiastic aptitude 
and skill in his profession, and even in the 
restricted field of a country practice his suc- 
cess was large and tlattering. He advanced 
rapidly in his profession, and he was soon rec- 
ognized as one of the leading physicians in 
his section of the county. More particularly 
as a surgeon were his services sought through- 
out the surrounding country in delicate and 
severe operations. His first public ofifice was 
that of health officer, which he entered in the 
spring of 1866 and which he filled also in the 
year 1869. He was elected a member of the 
board of trustees of Ellenville, a position which 
he held most of the time until he resigned in 
1879. He was president of the village for a 
period of one year. He took great interest 
in various constructive measures and was iden- 
tified with the erection of the water works, and 
for years was a member of the Ulster County 
Medical Society. 

Up to the year 1872 Dr. Scoresby was iden- 
tified with the interests of the Republican 
party, but joining in the liberal bolt of that 
year he was chosen a delegate to the Liberal 
state convention at Syracuse and was one of 
the vice-presidents, being also subsequently 
nominated for state senator on the Liberal 
ticket (counties Ulster and Greene) fourteenth 
district. The nomination was promptly en- 
dorsed by the Democrats, but he declined for 
he had little inclination for an honor that was 
bound in a great degree to impair his useful- 
ness in his profession. Great efiforts were, 



however, made to turn him from his decision, 
which would indeed have continued in its 
negative character had not something hap- 
pened which called up a sense of duty, stronger 
than his desire for public distinction. The 
success of Grant and his adherents made him 
feel that it would not be possible for him to 
retire in the face of what looked like certain 
defeat. He therefore threw himself into the 
fray, and by his exertions and the general es- 
teem in which his character was held was en- 
abled to win all along the line, while his col- 
leagues were being defeated in the state and 
in the country. During his term as state 
senator (1872-73) he made an honorable rec- 
ord, and in 1877 was elected supervisor by the 
Democrats by a large majority, being again 
elected in 1878. 

Both in professional and public life Dr. 
Scoresby had a career that was successful and 
honorable. He never practiced the art of 
flattery or conciliation to gain advancement. 
His field was that of action and his popu- 
larity and reputation were based on services 
and sacrifices of a practical kind that speak 
louder than words or outward profession of 
his real qualities of heart or mind. 

He married (first) January 29, 1867, LilHe, 
daughter of Captain John Ernhout, of Sand- 
burg, Sullivan county, New York, whose edu- 
cation was conducted under the supervision of 
her uncle. Prof. John F. Stoddard, and com- 
pleted at Willard Seminary, Troy, New York. 
She died September 17, 1867, a few months 
after her marriage. He married (second) 
May 24, 1877. Grace A., daughter of W. G. 
Rayner, of Bloomfield, New York. 

(The Eastgate Line.) 
Dr. J. F. Scoresby Eastgate, nephew of Dr. 
William Frederick Scoresby, was born at El- 
lenville, New York, October 29, 1857, died 
June 2, 1906, in his native town. He was the 
son of Thomas Eastgate, born November 11, 
1826, died October 19, 1858, and Mary 
(Scoresby) Eastgate, born in 1834, and now 
residing in Ellenville, New York. For more 
than twenty years Dr. Scoresby Eastgate was 
one of the most prominent, respected and 
popular physicians in Ulster county. His fa- 
ther died when he was but an infant, but by 
bent, environment and training his career was 
shaped in the direction of the medical profes- 
sion, of which he subsequently became an or- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



nament. He was bright and genial in youth 
and disclosed at an early age excellent powers 
which kept him abreast of his fellows in the 
various branches of learning. He left the high 
school and entered a New England seminary, 
and finally graduated from Columbia Medical 
College, New York, March 12, 1880. Under 
the training of his uncle. Dr. William Freder- 
ick Scoresby, he entered into practice, finally 
succeeding him in his territory and clientele, 
and for a number of years enjoyed a very 
large and lucrative practice, commanding hon- 
orable rank among the members of his pro- 
fession. Dr. Scoresby Eastgate had a large 
number of personal friends, who, with the 
public, sincerely lamented his short career, re- 
moving from the field of professional and 
social business activity one well fitted for emi- 
nent usefulness and honor. 



Both the Snyder and Myer 
SNYDER families are descended from old 
Palatinate Germans, who emi- 
grated to New York in the early part of the 
eighteenth century. The first of these Pala- 
tinates to settle at what is now Saugerties, 
New York, was the Myer family, and the sec- 
ond, the Snyder family. Since then both fam- 
ilies have been prominent in local and public 
affairs. 

Henry Martin Snyder, the founder of the 
family at present under consideration, came 
to Saugerties, according to the "History of 
Greene County, New York," in March, 1726, 
and died in Saugerties in 1777. He was a 
man of great force of character, and through 
his efforts was founded the German Lutheran 
church, still known as the Katsbaan Church. 
Of his fourteen children, eleven sons grew to 
maturity, married and left descendants, most 
of whom, after the revolutionary war, settled 
in other parts of the country, some being 
found today in Albany and Greene counties. 
New York, and in Ohio. One of the sons was 
a Tory and left the country, but the others 
all served in the revolutionary war. From one 
of these sons is descended Robert Snyder, re- 
ferred to below. 

( I ) Robert Snyder, a descendant and prob- 
ably a great-grandson of Henry Martin Sny- 
der, was born in Saugerties, New York, Au- 
gust I, 181 1, and died there December 3, '1836. 
He was a contractor and builder, and lived 
for many years in Poughkeepsie, New York. 



He married Sophia Myers, of Dutchess county, 
New York, who was bom April 14, 1814, and 
died July 6, 1895. Among his children was 
Robert A., referred to below. 

(H) Robert A., son of Robert and Sophia 
(Myers) Snyder, was born in Poughkeepsie, 
New York, May 18, 1836, and is now living 
in Saugerties. He received his early educa- 
tion in the district schools. When eleven 
years of age he became a cabin-boy on the 
Hudson river, between Tivoli and New York 
City, and when fifteen years old held a posi- 
tion on the ferryboat, "Chelsea," of which he 
later became pilot and then captain. He was 
afterwards a fireman on the steamers, "Erie" 
and "New Haven," and later in the employ of 
the Fall River Line, and eventually he became 
owner of one of the larger boats plying be- 
tween Albany and Buffalo. Finally he settled 
in Saugerties and purchased the ferryboat ply- 
ing between that place and Tivoli. He has 
been active in the public affairs of the town 
and is a stockholder in many of the leading 
industries of Saugerties. He is president of 
the First National Bank of Saugerties, and is 
also the president of the Saugerties Manufac- 
turing Com{fany, and president of the Sau- 
gerties Steamboat Company. He is a Re- 
publican in politics, and was collector of the 
town of Saugerties prior to 1874, in which 
year he was elected supervisor of the town, 
and was also elected a member of the assem- 
bly of New York state. In 1878 he was ap- 
pointed postmaster of the assembly by Speaker 
Alvord, and in the same year was elected 
sheriff of Ulster county. In 1884 he was 
elected financial agent of the assembly, and 
he was a member of that body for six terms, 
1874, 1885, 1889, 1890, 1891 and 1892, and 
during his terms of office served on the ways 
and means committee, and for two years as 
chairman of the committee on commerce and 
navigation. He married, March 5, 1863, Jane 
S.. daughter of William and Sarah Morgan, of 
Wales, who died July 15, 1913, at Sauger- 
ties. New York. Children: i. John A., now 
chairman of the board of supervisors, county 
of Ulster. 2. Florence M., married B. L. 
Davis. 3. Sarah E. 



Nisbet, in his "System of 

FORSYTH Heraldry." has the following 

notice: "For the antiquity 

of the name, there is a charter in the Earl of 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Haddington's collections, page 67, granted by 
King Robert the Bruce, Osberto filio Roberti 
de Forsyth, scrvienti, nostra, of an hundred 
solidates terrae in tenemento de Salekill in 
the Sheriffdom of Stirling." Stoddart ("Scot- 
tish Arms") states that "William de Forsith 
was a Bailie of Edinburgh in 1365," also that 
"Robert H. granted one hundred per annum 
out of the lands of Polmaise-Marischal, in the 
county of Stirling, to Forsyth or Fersith, 
clerk, who in 1364 renders accounts of the 
Custumars of Stirling; Fersith was Constable 
of Stirling Castle before 1368. Thomas de 
Forsith, Canon of Glasgow, 1487, sealed with 
two buckles on the hind. In the fifteenth cen- 
tury John Forsyth held lands in Aberdeen- 
shire, and branches of the family settled at 
Milligue, in Banffshire, and at Forres, for 
which burgh William sat in parliament, 1621. 
John, in 1652, was deputy for the Burgh of 
Cullen to treat with the English. Captain 
Forsyth was one of the prisoners who es- 
caped, when detained by the English in the 
vault below the Parliament House, 17th May, 
1654. Dykes was in Lanarkshire, where 
David Forsyth held lands in 1494, and he, or 
a namesake designated scutifer, is a witness 
there in 147 1. Robert de Forsyth witnessed 
a charter of Robert Keith, Marischal of Scot- 
land, 1426. David, of Gilcamstoun, County 
Aberdeen, 1490, was probably direct ancestor 
of John of Dykes, who in 1541 sold Gilkem- 
stoun to Gordon, of Pitlurg. Henry was rec- 
tor of Monymusk, 1543; David of Dykes, 
1488-1507; John of Halehill, 1540-56; James 
of Dykes, Commissary of Glasgow. 1608-13, 
and his son Matthew, of Auchengray. advo- 
cate; William of Dykes. 1615: William of 
Dykes, 1640; and Barbara, heiress of the fam- 
ily, wife in 1656 of Patrick Kells. are in the 
line of this family. William of Nydie. 1434, 
and Alexander of Nydie, 1604, are the first 
and last we find of the Fifeshire branch." 
Nisbet gives as the arms of Forsyth, of 
Nydie: Argent, a chevron engrailed, gules 
between three griffins rampant vert, mem- 
bered and armed gules. He states that the 
same arms are given by Lyon in the New 
Register to Mr. James Forsyth of Tailzerton. 
sometime minister of Stirling, descended of 
the family of Dykes, commonly designated 
of Hallhill, and for crest : A demi-griffin 
vert, with the motto, Instaurator Ruinae. The 
motto is said to have been given in honor 



of some deed of valor, holding the breach and 
so saving the day ("restorer of the breach"), 
at Bannockburn, Stoddard refers to Sir 
David Lindsay's manuscript (1542) and to 
Forman's Roll (1562), both in the Advo- 
cates' Library, as to the arms of Forsyth of 
Nydie. He also refers to Workman's manu- 
script in Lyon Office, compiled 1565-66, and 
to Sir David Lindsay's manuscript. No. H, 
1603, belonging to the Earl of Crawford and 
Balcarres. He states that the seal of David 
Forsith, of Dykes, 1488, "is a fess between 
three cross crosslets fitchee, and charged with 
as many lozenges." The family seems to have 
spread from Stirling along the coast to the 
far north. The oldest existing charter of the 
lands of Gilcumstane, Aberdeen (1530), con- 
tains an assignation of John Forsith, of 
Dykes, son and heir of David Forsyth, of 
Gilcumstane and Creveckin, in favor of John 
Gordon of Pitlurg, assigning to said John 
Gordon his right to a bank bond and letter 
of reversion of 1530, granted to his said 
father by Robert Elsphinston, Canon of Glas- 
gow and Aberdeen. There is a district in 
Aberdeen which still bears the name of For- 
syth's Fields, and the name is explained by 
this charter. 

It is said that in 1296 William Frisith of 
the county of Peebles did homage to Edward 
I. On the other hand, Forsyth, constable of 
Stirling, refused to take the oath of fealty, 
and was deprived of his office. As showing 
the position held by Forsyths in the north, it 
may be mentioned that John Forsyth was a 
macer at Elgin in 1539; William Forsyth, 
Friar of Kinloss, 1584; and John Forsie, Com- 
missioner of Justiciary to George, Earl of 
Huntly (with him John Grant of Freuchie), 
to try Allen M'Connel Dow, Captain of Clan 
Cameron, in Lochaber. 1584. It is worth 
noticing that the name in the last instance is 
given according to the Gaelic form, and it 
may be connected with the famous Irish Saint 
Forsey, or Forsaidh. To carry the name fur- 
ther back, it is alleged by the Irish genealog- 
ists that "Fenius Farsaidh was a schoolmaster 
as well as King of Scythia. His son Nial mar- 
ried Scota, Pharaoh's daughter, and this man 
taught science to the Egyptians at the time of 
the Exodus. After many wanderings, the de- 
scendants of the Royal schoolmaster found 
their way to Ireland, bringing their learning 
along with them. The people were called 



682 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Gowels or Gaels, and their language Gaelic." 
(See Professor Mackinnon's article in Scots- 
man, 26th September, 1889.) For further in- 
formation reference may be made to Sir 
George Mackenzie's "Heraldry," and the "Dic- 
tionary of National Biography " 

(I) John Forsyth, the immigrant ancestor in 
America of the Forsyth family here dealt with, 
was born in Aberdeen, Scotland, in 1786 or 
1787, and died at Newburgh, Orange county. 
New York, in 1854. He was educated in the 
public schools of Aberdeen, and had for a 
schoolmate Lord Byron. He came to this 
country in 1805, intending to go to Georgia to 
join his cousin John Forsyth, but some of his 
father's friends had settled in New York state 
years before, and he remained in New York 
City for a time. Finally, by the advice of 
Professor Kemp, of Columbia College, he set- 
tled in Newburgh, New York, and found em- 
ployment there. He began to live in Newburgh 
in the year 1810, and he continued in his first 
position until 1825, in which year he became 
a partner in the firm of Law, Beveridge & 
Company. His association with this firm and 
business continued until the time of his death 
in 1854. He had, however, various other in- 
terests, and was director of the National Bank 
of Newburgh, trustee of the Newburgh Acad- 
emy, and was prominently connected with the 
Newburgh Steam Mills. He was for a long 
long time an elder in the Associate Reformed 
Church, and was a generous and zealous mem- 
ber. He married (first) Jane, eldest daughter 
of John Currie. He married (second) Anna, 
youngest daughter of John Brown. Children : 
John ; Robert Alexander ; James Christie, of 
whom further. 

(H) Hon. James Christie Forsyth, son of 
John and Jane (Currie) Forsyth, was born 
March 6, 1819, and died December 2, 1855. 
He was educated at Rutgers and Union col- 
leges, graduating from the latter in 1835. He 
began the study of law with A C. Nivin, of 
Monticello, New York, was admitted to the 
bar in 1838, and began the practice of his 
profession in Kingston with Judge Gabriel 
Ludlum, and afterward formed a partnership 
with Hon. James O. Linderman, both of which 
connections proved congenial and remunera- 
tive. In 1841 he was elected judge of Ulster 
county, New York, on the Whig ticket, dis- 
charging the duties connected therewith with 
efficiency and promptness. He was a member 



of the constitutional convention in 1846, and 
a candidate for secretary of state in 185 1, but 
defeated. He married, June 26, 1839, Mary, 
born November 6, 1815, daughter of Severyn 
and Catherine (Hasbrouck) Bruyn. Chil- 
dren : Mary Isabella ; Catherine Bruyn ; Pe- 
tronella Bruyn ; Severyn Bruyn, of whom fur- 
ther ; Jane Currie ; John, of whom further. 

(Ill) Severyn Bruyn Forsyth, son of Hon. 
James Christie and Mary (Bruyn) Forsyth, 
was born December 6, 1846, and died Febru- 
ary 13, 1902. He attended the Kingston 
Academy and Princeton University, graduat- 
ing from the latter in the class of 1867. He 
studied law at the Columbia Law School, and 
in 1880 the degree of Master of Arts was con- 
ferred on him by Princeton University. He 
was a man of integrity and character. He 
served in the capacity of president of the 
Ulster County Branch of the State Charities 
and Aid Society, and for twenty-five years 
was trustee of the Industrial Home for Chil- 
dren. He was a member of the Sons of the 
American Revolution. 

(Ill) John Forsyth, son of Hon. James 
Christie and Mary (Bruyn) Forsyth, was 
born June 22, 1850,. and died June 19, 1912. 
He received an excellent education through 
private schools and tutors. In 1877 he en- 
gaged in the book business with the late Rob- 
ert Wilson, the firm being known as Forsyth 
& Wilson. The store became the literary 
center of Kingston, and continued such for 
many years. When Mr. Wilson retired from 
the firm he was succeeded by William M. 
Davis, and the name of the firm was then 
changed to Forsyth & Davis. The firm, in ad- 
dition to its extensive book, stationery and 
paper business, the latter having been added 
in 1903, when Mr. Forsyth purchased the 
Bruyn Paper Company, also engaged in the 
automobile business, and erected the Eagle 
Garage on Main street. For a number of 
years prior to his death Mr. Forsyth was 
prominently identified with all charitable and 
philanthropic enterprises. He was president 
of the local branch of the State Charity Aid 
Society, and died while holding that office. 
For many years he was an active member of 
the First Reformed Dutch Church, of King- 
ston. He was a member of the Sons of the 
American Revolution, and of the Kingston 
Club. He married in June, 1881, Mary L., 
born April 4, 1850. daughter of Stephen and 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



683 



Mary Falconer Tomlinson. She was a resi- 
dent of Bridgeport, Connecticut. 



This name has been especially 
NORTH identified with the history of 

Connecticut from the earliest 
period, and from that colony and state the 
family has spread to many sections of the 
United States. It has furnished many useful 
and worthy citizens and is still identified with 
the national progress. 

(I) John North came to New England in 
1635, being then twenty years of age, in the 
ship "Susan and Ellen,"' which landed at Bos- 
ton. He was among the proprietors and early 
settlers of the town of Earmington, Connec- 
ticut, the first off-shoot of the church founded 
by Thomas Hooker at Hartford. In 1653, 
John North received a grant of land at Earm- 
ington and he and his sons, John and Samuel, 
were included among the eighty-four original 
land-owners, among whom the unoccupied 
lands of Earmington were distributed in 1676. 
He died in 1691 at the age of seventy-six 
years. His wife, Hannah, daughter of 
Thomas Bird, united with the Earmington 
Church in 1656, and both were among its most 
substantial members. Children : John, born 
1641 ; Samuel and Mary, twins, 1643 ; James. 
1647; Thomas, mentioned below; Sarah, bap- 
tized 1653; Nathaniel, June 29, 1656; Lydia, 
May 9, 1658; Joseph, 1660, died 1731. In the 
distribution of Thomas Bird's estate, August- 
September, 1662, portions were set to Mary 
Northe and Hannah Scott, again March 3, 
1663, mentioned as Goodwife Northe and 
Hanna Scott (Connecticut Probate Records, 
vol. I, p. 97). 

(II) Thomas, fourth son of John arid Han- 
nah (Bird) North, was born in 1649, prob- 
ably at Hartford, and was a soldier of the 
Indian wars, receiving a grant of land for his 
military service. He settled in the north part 
of Earmington, now the town of Avon, where 
he died in 1712. He married Hannah Newell, 
born in 1656, died in 1757, more than a cen- 
tury old. 

(III) Thomas (2), son of Thomas (i) and 
Hannah (Newell) North, was born in 1673, 
in Avon, and resided in what is now Berlin, 
Connecticut, where he died in 1725. He was 
one of the founders of the Congreg^ational 
church there in 1707. He married in 1698, 
Martha, daughter of Isaac and Elizabeth 



(Lathrop) Royce, or Rice, of Wallingford, 
Connecticut, granddaughter of Rev. John 
Lathrop, who came from England to Scituate, 
Massachusetts, in 1634. 

(IV) Thomas (3), son of Thomas (2) and 
Martha (Rice) North, was born about 1700 
in Berlin, and resided for a time in Wethers- 
field, Connecticut, probably that part now the 
town of Rocky Hill. In 1743 he removed 
from Wethersfield to Sharon, Oonnecticult, 
and was one of the first proprietors of the 
iron works in the hollow, his home being on 
the twenty-sixth home lot in that town. Eor 
several years he served as selectman of Sha- 
ron, and in 1753 sold out and removed to the 
state of New York. Sharon records show that 
his wife's name was Elizabeth, and record 
two children born in Wethersfield and one in 
Sharon, namely: Elizabeth, July 4, 1731 ; 
Ruth, November 6, 1741 ; Thomas, February 
3, 1746. 

(V) Samuel, probably a son of Thomas (3) 
and Elizabeth North, was born about 1750-53, 
perhaps in Little Nine Partners, Dutchess 
county. New York. There were undoubtedly 
several children of Thomas (3) North, born 
in that section, but as the state of New York 
made no effort to preserve vital statistics, no 
record can now be discovered. Samuel North 
had brothers, Daniel and Benjamin, the for- 
mer of whom removed to Ulster county, New 
York, and the latter to Otsego county, the 
same state. Samuel resided for some time 
in Little Nine Partners and finally settled in 
the town of Olive, Ulster county. New York, 
where he bought and cleared a large farm. 
He married Betsey Avery. Children : John 
S., referred to below ; Samuel ; Daniel ; Rob- 
ert ; Benjamin; William; Polly, married 

Yerpenning; Catherine, married Andrew Hill; 

Rachel, married Hurd, of Bridgeport, 

Connecticut ; Sally, married John Smith. 

(VI) John S., son of Samuel and Betsey 
(Avery) North, was born in Little Nine Part- 
ners, Dutchess county. New York, in Febru- 
ary, 1775, and died in the town of Olive, Ul- 
ster county. New York, April 10, 1855, in his 
seventy-first year. On March 12, 1810, he 
was appointed ensign in the Ulster County 
Regiment of militia under Lieutenant-Colonel 
Frederick Westbrook, his commission being 
dated April 27, 1810, and on March 2, 1814, 
he was promoted to the rank of lieutenant in 
the same regiment. On March 22, 1816, he 



684 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



was promoted to the rank of captain in the 
One Hundred and Thirty-first Regiment of 
infantry under Lieutenant-Colonel Derick Du 
Bois. His original commission as ensign, 
signed by His Excellency the Governor, Daniel 
D. Tompkins, is now in the possession of his 
grandson, Isaac M. North, of Kingston, Ul- 
ster county. New York. He married Polly 
Hill, of Fishkill, New York, who was born in 
1779 and died September 2, 1856. Children: 
Uriah; Samuel; Albert, referred to below; 
Gordon ; Abel ; Mary, married Henry J. Krom ; 
Anna, married Dr. 'Bernard McClellan ; Judy, 
died unmarried; Betsey, married Simon 
Krom, of Ulster county. New York. 

(VII) Albert, son of John S. and Polly 
(Hill) North, was born in the town of Olive, 
Ulster county. New York, February 14, 1814, 
and died in Shokan, Ulster county. New York, 
February 5, 1880. He was brought up on a 
farm, and later, upon the death of his father- 
in-law, settled on his property, which he culti- 
vated until his death. He was a man of 
prominence and held in high esteem by the 
community. In politics he was a Republican 
and at one time supervisor of the township, 
and in religion a Methodist. He married Ma- 
ria De La Montanye. Children: Clark, born 
December 10, 1837; Isaac M., referred to 
below; Mary, born February 14, 1841, mar- 
ried David Woodworth ; James, iDorn May 4, 
1843, died December i, 1885; Almira, born 
February 11, 1845, died May 7, 1851 ; Nathan, 
born August 13, 1847, now a clergyman of 
the Methodist Episcopal church and living in 
Rochester, New York. 

(VIII) Isaac M., son of Albert and Maria 
(De La Montanye) North, was born in the 
town of Olive, Ulster county, New York, 
August 2, 1839, and is now living in Kingston, 
Ulster county, New York. He received his 
early education in the public schools of his 
native township, and when fifteen years of 
age became a clerk in a store at Shokan, and 
remained in that position for two years, when 
he became bookkeeper for a tannery in Boice- 
ville, New York. In April, 1862, he removed 
to Rondout, Ulster county, New York, and 
entered the employ of Thomas Cornell as 
bookkeeper, continuing in that capacity for 
ten years, at the end of which time he suc- 
ceeded Joseph Cornell in the office of superin- 
tendent of the Cornell Steamboat Company, 
which position he still occupies. He is one of 



the directors of the Cornell Steamboat Com- 
pany, and also of the Rondout National Bank. 
He is president and one of the trustees of the 
Rondout Savings Bank. In politics he is a 
Republican, and he served for sixteen years 
as alderman from the sixth and seventh wards 
of Kingston. He is a Methodist in religion, 
and is one of the trustees of the church. He 
married in September, 1863, in Olive town- 
ship, Ulster county, New York, Ella, daughter 
of Peter Du Bois. Children : Anna, married 
John G. Van Etten, of Kingston, New York; 
Hazel, married James Elgar, of White Plains, 
New York. 



This family, for many years 
SCHANTZ prominent in the history of 

Ulster county. New York, is 
of German descent, and traces its ancestry to 
George Schantz, who was born in Wurtem- 
berg and there resided until his death. He 
received a good education, and at an early 
date learned the miller's and millwright's 
trades, avocations followed by members of 
the family for more than five generations. He 
met with marked success in his business and 
acquired a valuable property. He had nine 
children, eight daughters and one son, Peter, 
mentioned below. 

(II) Peter, son of George Schantz, was 
born in Wurtemberg, Germany, in 1830. and 
died in Lloyd, Ulster county. New York, in 
November, 191 1. He attended the schools of 
his native city, and at an early age learned 
the miller's and cabinet-making trades, at 
which avocations he worked in his native 
country until about 1854, when he immigrated 
to America, locating first in Perth Amboy, 
New Jersey, where several of his relatives 
were engaged in the manufacture of fire brick. 
He became associated with them in this line 
of work, but finding the climate did not agree 
with him, he removed to Lloyd, LHster county, 
New York. Here he engaged in the milling 
business for several years in company with 
John Saxton. He subsequently engaged in 
the same line of work at Lloyd Hollow. In 
a few years he purchased the Blue Mills in 
Highland, New York, which, after managing 
for a short time, he sold, and went to Red 
Hook, where he was superintendent of the 
Oriole Mills for a number of years. About 
1890 he retired from active business and re- 
turned to the town of Lloyd, where he made 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



685 



his home until his death. He was an able 
business man and met with success in his vari- 
ous business enterprises. He married, in 1856, 
Louisa Martin, daughter of Gabriel Martin, 
of Rhincrief, Newfeldt, Germany. She was 
bom November 15, 1833, and died November 
20, 1908. Her father was a prosperous cabinet 
manufacturer in Newfeldt. Eight children 
were born to Peter and Louisa (Martin) 
Schantz : Philip, mentioned below ; Mary, 
Joseph, Nellie, Lorin, Martin, Rose and 
Sophia. 

(HI) Philip, son of Peter and Louisa 
(Martin) Schantz, was born in Lloyd, Ulster 
county, New York, June 6, 1858. He attended 
the district schools of his native town, and at 
an early date learned the miller's trade of his 
father. He then was employed for seven 
years by George W. Pratt, of Lloyd, in his 
milling business. In 1879 he formed a part- 
nership with Mr. Pratt and continued in busi- 
ness with him until 1883, when the partnership 
was dissolved. Mr. Schantz entered the Fort 
Edward Institute in Washington county. New 
York, where for one year he pursued a special 
course. During the time with Mr. Pratt he 
attended the Ft. Edward Institute. In 1884 
he returned to Ulster county and leased the ice 
houses and pond of Z. Eckert, one mile south 
of Highland. In 1886 he purchased this prop- 
erty, and in 1888 also purchased the grist mills 
formerly owned by Mr. Eckert. In 1890 he 
bought the Highland Cold Storage Plant, and 
in the same year the mill owned by Mr. Ec- 
kert on the New Paltz Turnpike. Mr. Schantz 
still operates these mills. He is prominently 
identified with many business enterprises, being 
president of the Highland Knitting Mills 
Company, the Poughkeepsie Elevator Com- 
pany, the Highland Water Company, and the 
Pratt Investment Company of Long Island. 
He has served for several years as treasurer 
of the Jackson Heights Realty Company of 
Long Island, and is now director of the First 
National Bank of Highland, and one of the 
incorporators. In politics Mr. Schantz is a 
Republican, and at the age of twenty-one years 
was elected collector of the town of Lloyd, 
and in 1890 was elected supervisor. He con- 
tinuously held this offiice until 1894, when he 
was elected sheriff of Ulster county by a ma- 
jority of one thousand, two hundred and 
eighty-five votes. On the expiration of his 
term of service as sheriff he was again elected 



supervisor of the town of Lloyd, which office 
he has held up to date. He has frequently 
represented his district in the state assembly 
and county conventions of his party. He is 
also prominent in the Masonic Order, being 
a member of Highland Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons;. Kingston Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons ; Rondout Commandery, Knights 
Templar; and Mecca Temple, Mystic Shrine, 
New York City. He is a charter member of 
Highland Lodge, Knights of Pythias, the In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows, and the Ben- 
evolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

Mr. Schantz married, March 9, 1892, 
Martha Cluett, of Poughkeepsie. Child: 
Cluett born March i, 1900. Mrs. Schantz 
is a granddaughter of Thomas Cluett, who 
was born on the Isle of Guernsey, Eng- 
land, and there made his home until his 
death. He was a man of prominence and in- 
fluence. He married Martha Ingroville, and 
their son, George William Cluett, born on the 
Isle of Guernsey, England, was the father of 
Mrs. Schantz. He received a liberal education 
and in 1850 immigrated to America, settling 
first in Brooklyn, New York. A few years 
later he removed to Poughkeepsie, New York, 
where he is still engaged in mercantile pur- 
suits. He married Lavinia Bray. Children: 
George T. ; Lavinia ; and Martha, mentioned 
above. Mrs. George William Cluett was born 
on the Isle of Jersey, England, and is a grand- 
daughter of John Bray, a famous musician, 
composer and bandmaster, who conducted 
many concerts in England, and made a trip 
around the world with his band of noted 
musicians. 



(HI) Lorin Schantz son of 
SCHANTZ Peter (q. v.) and Louisa 

(Martin) Schantz, was born 
in Highland, Ulster county, New York, Janu- 
ary 23, 1867. He received his education in 
the district school and worked with his father 
on the farm until he was fourteen, when he 
became connected with W. H. Deyo in the 
fruit business. Later he joined his brother 
Philip in the ice business, and continued this 
until 1895 when he was appointed deputy 
sheriff and jailer at Kingston, Ulster county. 
New York. He retired from this office in 
1898, having served his county faithfully and 
well. He then purchased his brother's interest 
in the ice business and conducted it alone. In 



686 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



1900 he bought the Latson farm of one hun- 
dred and thirty-one acres, and he has brought 
it to a high state of productiveness, and on it 
does general farming. In 1904 he added the 
Lewis Parmenter place to his land holdings, 
containing seventy-four fertile acres, devoting 
it to general farming and dairying. Mr. 
Schantz is not only a prominent and influential 
business man, but also a successful farmer, 
engaging largely in trucking. He is a Mason, 
a member of Highland Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, Highland, New York, Pough- 
keepsie Council and Poughkeepsie Chapter. He 
is a member of the Grange, of the Elks and the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, standing 
high in the councils of each ; and he is also a 
member of J. O. U. M., P. H. C, and Loyal 
Americans. With his wife he attends the 
Methodist Episcopal church. The house in 
which Mr. Schantz resides was built by An- 
dries Du Bois two hundred and fifty years ago, 
and is one of the most interesting, historically, 
in that locality. It was at this house that the 
British army stopped and butchered their stock 
during the revolutionary war. There are many 
other historic associations connected with it. 
Mr. Schantz married. September 24, 1892, 
Grace M. Traver, daughter of Philetus S. and 
Catherine Elizabeth (Hapmen) Traver, of 
Red Hook, Dutchess county, New York. Chil- 
dren: I. Phillip T., born May 5, 1895. 2. 
Catherine Schantz, born February 19, 1901. 



This name is undoubtedly of 
ABRAMS Dutch origin, arising from the 

use of the father's baptismal 
name as a surname for the son. In the Dutch 
usage the syllable "sen" is most often added, 
sometimes only the letters "se," and in many 
cases simply the letter "s" is added to the 
father's name to make a surname for the son. 
The baptismal records of the Dutch church 
at Kingston, New York, show that Abram 
Abramsen was there in November, 1696. when 
he witnessed a baptism. There was a family 
bearing the name of Abrams in what is now 
the town of Greenville, Greene county. New 
York, about the middle of the eighteenth cen- 
tury. The name of the original settler and 
farmer has not been preserved, but he had a 
son Benjamin, who lived and died in Green- 
ville, a member of the Dutch Reformed 
Church. It is possible that the family herein 
mentioned is an off-shoot of that living in 



Greene county. Kingston and New Paltz were 
the initial settlements of Ulster county and had 
churches where very early records were made. 
No mention can be found in either except that 
above referred to. 

(I) John Abrams, the first of whom 
knowledge can now be discovered of this fam- 
ily, resided in or near Marbletown, Ulster 
county. New York, and died July 15, 1829. 
Unfortunately his age at this time has not been 
recorded. His wife Hannah died March 2, 
1843. 

(IIj Harvey, son of John and Hannah 
Abrams, was born March 16, 1803. He was a 
farmer and landowner, residing in Marble- 
town, New York, where he died January 21, 
1863. He married, July 7, 1825, Elizabeth De 
Witt, born May 9, 1804. Children, all born at 
Marbletown: Frederick De Witt, March 3, 
1826, died thirteen months old ; Cornelia Horn- 
beck, January 21, 1828, died unmarried April 
29, i860; Catherine De Witt, January 11, 1830, 
died April 16. 1855 ^ Thomas De Witt, May 30, 
1834, many years a commander of Hudson 
river boats, died July 18, 1898 ; Matthew, men- 
tioned below. 

(III) Matthew, youngest son of Harvey and 
Elizabeth ( De Witt) Abrams, was born Oc- 
tober 17, 1840, in Marbletown, New York, 
where he died May 12, 1872. In youth and 
early manhood he participated in the cultiva- 
tion of the homestead farm, of which he ul- 
timately became the owner, and he continued 
to reside thereon, engaged in its cultivation 
until his death. He volunteered as a soldier of 
the civil war, but was rejected on account of 
a slight deformity incurred in early youth. He 
was a member of the Methodist church, and 
throughout his life sustained the Republican 
party in political matters. He married, Octo- 
ber 17, i860, Louisa Jane Turner, born May 
II, 1842, at Clintondale, Ulster county. New 
York, died April 28, 1905, daughter of Ben- 
jamin and Pamelia (Roberts) Turner. Chil- 
dren : Sanford, Lincoln, Roselthia and Wil- 
liam, all of whom died in infancy; Thomas De 
Witt, mentioned below. 

(IV) Thomas De Witt, son of Matthew and 
Louisa J. (Turner) Abrams, was born April 
3, 1872, at Marbletown, Ulster county. New 
York. At the age of five, his father being 
then dead, he settled with his mother at High 
Falls, New York, where he received his pre- 
liminarv education in the district schools. 





(H-'WX^ 




■'VkT'' 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



687 



Later he took a two years' course at Albany 
Business College. After leaving college he 
became a clerk in Thomas Snyder's general 
store at High Falls, and continued in that posi- 
tion for some years. In 1893 at the age of 
twenty-one he was appointed postmaster at 
High Falls by President Cleveland. At the 
expiration of his term in the postmastership 
(in 1897) he settled in Walden, Orange coun- 
ty, New York, and became engaged in the gro- 
cery business with his brother. This connec- 
tion continued for the next six years. On Feb- 
ruary 25, 1905, Mr. Abrams went to Kingston, 
New York, and became interested in the auto- 
mobile business, continuing in this industry 
until he retired after a period of five years. 
In 1905 he became one of the incorporators of 
the Brown Manufacturing Company, and was 
elected treasurer, a position he still retains, 
becoming actively engaged in the management 
of the company in 1913. Mr. Abrams is also 
interested in several corporations in Walden, 
and is a prominent, progressive man of the 
younger class. He is an attendant of the Fair 
Street Reformed Church of Kingston. Among 
societies he is a member of Kingston Lodge, 
No. 10, Free and Accepted Masons ; of Mount 
Horeb Chapter, No. 75 ; of Rondout Com- 
mandery. No. 52 ; of Mecca Temple, A. A. 
O. N. M. Shrine, New York City; of the 
Knights of Pythias and the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, of Walden, New York; and 
of the Elks and Kingston clubs of Kingston, 
New York. He married, April 26, 1893, ^t 
High Falls, New York, Fanny, daughter of 
William Oscar and Elvira (Hasbrouck) 
Church, of High Falls, New York, mentioned 
below. Children : Oscar Evans, born January 
5, 1894, and now attending Rutgers College; 
Wilma, June 26, 1896. 

(The Church Line.) 
The surname Church is supposed to be de- 
rived, in the case of the original bearer having 
descendants bearing the name, from the fact 
of his residence near a church. A connection 
has been traced between the word in some cases 
and the French word "Chercher" meaning to 
search or to seek, and the form Le Cherche- 
man is said to occur in the Hundred Rolls, 
which contains a large number of Norman 
names in England. In the same document the 
name is found under various other forms such 
as Atte Chirche, De La Chirche, Ecclesia, De 



Ecclesia and Ad Ecclesiam. "Ecclesia" is the 
Latin word for "church" and it is possible that 
the name may have been borne in some cases 
by Normans or Norman Englishmen, who 
were in some special way connected with a 
particular church, and that in course of time 
the term "Ecclesia" was translated into its 
English equivalent, "church." The name is 
found as part of a compound also, and its 
origin in those cases was probably similar, 
some of the compounds being: Churcher, 
Churchman, Churchwarden, and even Church- 
yard. It is quite likely that in some cases these 
compound surnames were shortened to Church. 

(I) Constance (or Constant) Church, an- 
cestor of the Church family, was born in 1757, 
died about 1835. His early days were spent 
in New Hampshire, from which he migrated 
to locate in Ohioville, eventually making his 
home with his son. By occupation he was a 
farmer. He was a soldier in the revolutionary 
war, and was wont to tell many stories con- 
cerning the events of that exciting time. He 
was a man of high character and sterling 
worth, laborious, conscientious, and able. He 
married Deborah Wheeler, who was also born 
in New Hampshire. Children : Samuel, who 
lived at Scranton, Pennsylvania; John W., 
mentioned below ; Philena, married John 
Pratt ; Orpha, married Hiram Bainey ; Eunice, 
married Samuel Judkin ; Berne, married Maria 
Pryor; and some other children, who died in 
infancy. 

(II) John W., son of Constance (or Con- 
stant) and Deborah (Wheeler) Church, was 
born in New Hampshire, in 1791. and died in 
1847 ^t Ohioville, being buried in Elting ceme- 
tery. He acquired a good education in the 
public schools, being a very well informed man, 
and in his younger days he was a teacher in 
the schools of the district. From his native 
state he removed to Dutchess county, New 
York, where he spent several years, and about 
1828 went to Ohioville. Ulster county, where 
he purchased land, and followed farming until 
the year 1841. He then went to Rosendale 
Plains, where he purchased a farm, but after 
a short time removed to the home in which he 
spent his remaining days. He was a man of 
good judgment and keen perception, and was 
quite successful in his business. In politics 
he was an ardent Whig, a strong supporter of 
William Henry Harrison, and an anti-slavery 
man. He married (first) Mary Landon, of 



688 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



New Hampshire, who died in 1835; (second) 
Elizabeth Van Nostrand, a widow. Children : 
I. Augusta. 2. William Oscar, mentioned be- 
low. 3. John Franklin, born June 10, 1830, 
married (first) in 1856, Catherine, daughter of 
Andrew S. Wood, who died leaving a son, 
Andrew Snyder; married (second) Harriet 
Dewey, by whom he had three children. John 
W. Church had by the second marriage Mary 
Elizabeth, who married Morris Dewey. 

(HI) William Oscar, son of John W. and 
Mary (Landon) Church, was born January 
5, 1827. He spent his childhood on the family 
farm, but in 1841 went to Poughkeepsie to 
learn the carpenter's trade, remaining there 
until 1847, while his brother John went to live 
with his uncle, John Pratt, with whom he re- 
mained four years. In the year 1847 the 
brothers went up to High Falls. After a short 
time, however, John secured employment on 
the farm of Andrew S. Wood, where he con- 
tinued for four years, but after 1851, he was 
a permanent resident of the place. Together 
the brothers worked at carpentry for a time 
and then engaged with a canal company for 
several years. In 1870 John embarked in the 
butchering business, which he henceforth car- 
ried on continuously, having a farm to add a 
little to his income. William O. continued 
with the canal company until 1873, after which 
time he dealt in coal. Both were very suc- 
cessful in business and were selfmade men, 
whose prosperity was due entirely to their 
own diligence, perseverance and well directed 
efforts. They were men of high standing, re- 
spected by all. William was a stalwart Re- 
publican, and was for a long time the only 
survivor of the four voters in High Falls. 
who supported John C. Fremont for the presi- 
dency in 1856. He was recognized as a leader 
in the party, doing all in his power for its 
support, and his brother, John, served as high- 
way commissioner in 1886. William belonged 
to the Odd Fellows Society. He was a mem- 
ber of the Reformed church and was very 
active in its work. He was a public spirited 
citizen, who gave his aid willingly and freely 
to enterprises calculated to advance the com- 
munity's best interests. He married, Novem- 
ber 9, 1854, Elvira Hasbrouck. Children : John, 
died in 1894; Walter, married Cora Sammons ; 
Wilmer, married Laura D. Roberts ; Augusta, 
married J. DePew Hasbrouck ; Fanny, men- 
tioned below ; Arthur. 



(IV) Fanny, daughter of William Oscar 
and Elvira (Hasbrouck) Church, married 
Thomas De Witt Abrams (see Abrams). 



Numerically speaking, the Pratt 
PRATT family as a whole is a large one 

and has many branches. Many 
of these are the posterity of one common an- 
cestor — Matthew Pratt of Weymouth, Massa- 
chusetts — and his male descendants established 
branch families in various towns in Norfolk, 
Plymouth and Bristol counties. The Pratts 
of America are undoubtedly of EngHsh origin, 
but thus far little or no investigation has been 
made relative to their history prior to the set- 
tlement of New England. There were several 
early immigrants beside the one above named, 
all of whom have many descendants now 
scattered over the United States. 

(I) Matthew Pratt was born in England 
about 1600. He probably came to New Eng- 
land with the Gorges company in 1623, though 
genealogists fail to find positive evidence. 
Joshua and Phinehas Pratt, brothers, came in 
the ship "Anne" to Plymouth in 1623. 
Phinehas went to Weymouth later and our 
first record of Matthew was at Weymouth. 
The family tradition of descendants of Mat- 
thew says they were related. He may have 
been a younger brother or nephew. Matthew's 
name appears on the list of "old residents" 
about 1643. It is apparent that he was in 
Weymouth before 1628, as the town records 
state that he married there and had a son born 
prior to that year. He may have landed at 
Plymouth, but there is no record of his ar- 
rival there or anywhere else. A company of 
colonists was sent over by Thomas Weston in 
1622, and Matthew Pratt may have been 
among these. His land in Weymouth was 
located among the grants of the original set- 
tlers. His name was spelled Macute and in 
similar ways, but the weight of evidence proves 
that Matthew was the correct form. He re- 
ceived a grant from the general court, De- 
cember 7, 1636, of twenty acres, and became 
one of the prominent citizens of Weymouth 
and was often townsman or selectman. He 
had other grants of land from time to time 
and became a large landed proprietor. His 
will, dated March 25, 1672, and proved April 
30, 1673, mentions his wife Elizabeth, his chil- 
dren and grandchildren. He died August 26, 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



1672. He married Elizabeth Bate. Children: 
Thomas, born before 1628, died April 19, 1676; 
Matthew, 1628, died January 12, 1713; John, 
died October 3, 1716; Samuel, mentioned be- 
low; Joseph, June 10, 1637; Elizabeth, died 
February 26, 1726; Mary. 

(H) Samuel, fourth son of Matthew and 
Elizabeth Pratt, was born about 1633 in Wey- 
mouth, and died there in 1678. Like his 
brothers he was a town officer and large land- 
holder, his estate being valued at two hundred 
and seventy-five pounds, twelve shillings. He 
married, July 19, 1660, Hannah Rogers, who 
died October 16, 171 5. No record of her birth 
or parentage has been discovered. Children : 
I. Judith, born July 25, 1661. 2. John, August 
17, 1663, died February 8, 1744. 3. Hannah, 
December 21, 1665. 4. Mary, March 3, 1668, 
married William Dyer. 5. Samuel, mentioned 
below. 6. Experience, January 8, 1672. 7. 
Ebenezer, 1674. 

(HI) Samuel (2), second son of Samuel 
(i) and Hannah (Rogers) Pratt, was born 
November 15, 1670, in Weymouth, and settled 
in Taunton, Massachusetts, about 1696. The 
destruction by fire of the records of that town 
have made very difficult the discovery of facts 
concerning this and hundreds of other fam- 
ilies. He had early land grants in Taunton, 
and subsequent grants in that portion of the 
town which is now Norton, and left a large 
estate. His will, made July 31, 1728, dis- 
poses of property worth about three hundred 
pounds. His wife Patience was born about 
1675 and died January 8, 1735. Children: 
Judith, born November 23, 1695, recorded in 
Weymouth ; Samuel ; Josiah ; Jonathan ; Ben- 
jamin, born 1705 ; Paul ; Hannah ; Peter, 171 1 ; 
Patience, married Moses Knapp, January 2, 
1734- 

(IV) Josiah, probably tiie second son of 
Samuel (z) and Patience Pratt, born about 
1700, resided in Norton, where his will was 
made in 1745. He presumably died about that 
time. He married (first), November 22, 
1716, Sarah Jones, who died March 2, 1724, 
and he married (second), May 20, 1725, Tabi- 
tha Smith, of Norton. She survived him many 
years, dying January 16. 1772. Children of 
first wife: Josiah, born February 14, 1719; 
Neome, March 18, 1721 ; Nehemiah, mentioned 
below. Children of second wife : Judah, born 
July 30, 1727; Zephaniah, July 5, 1729; Sam- 
uel, July 23, 1731 ; Sarah. February 22, 1736; 



Mercy, February 13, 1738; Charity, November 
18, 1742; John, June 19, 1744. 

(V) Nehemiah, second son of Josiah and 
Sarah (Jones) Pratt, was born February 9, 
1723, in Norton, where he made his home. He 
married there, June 28, 1748, Abigail New- 
land, born November 12, 1730, daughter of 
Josiah and Abigail (Grover) Newland. Chil- 
dren: Nehemiah, born April 11, 1749; David, 
March 8, 1751 ; Naomi, February, 1753; Abiel, 
mentioned below; Anne, August 18, 1757; 
Mary, November 28, 1759; Daniel, June 15, 
1765- 

(VI) Abiah or Abiel, third son of Nehe- 
miah and Abigail (Newland) Pratt (some- 
times mistakenly written Abigail), was born 
May 4, 1755, in Norton, and resided in Med- 
way, Massachusetts, in early life. He was a 
soldier of the revolution, and was credited to 
Wrentham and Medway ; served at the siege of 
Boston from April, 1775, to December 31, of 
the same year. His intention of marriage 
to Grace Metcalf was published in Bellingham, 
Massachusetts, November 23, 1777, and the 
marriage took place in Medway, January 29, 
following. She was born June 14, 1749, in 
Bellingham, daughter of John and Mary Met- 
calf, of that town. Before 1781, they settled 
in Chesterfield, New Hampshire, where Abiel 
died in 1788. Three children are recorded in 
that town: Nancy, born June 16, 1781 ; died 
unmarried in Chesterfield. 1848; John, men- 
tioned below; Abiel, February 15, 1785, was 
killed by accident in 1822. 

(VII) John, elder son of Abiel and Grace 
(Metcalf) Pratt, was born January 18, 1783, 
in Chesterfield, and settled in Ulster county. 
New York, in 1814, removing thence to Check- 
erberry Green on the Lamoile river in Ver- 
mont. Seven years later he returned to Ulster 
county, and settled on a farm in what was then 
the town of New Paltz, about two miles south 
of Highland, where he died October 26, 1856. 
In early years he was a Whig, but in later life 
affiliated with the Democratic party. His wife, 
Phila Church, was born February 4, 1785, in 
New Hampshire. Children: Alden J., men- 
tioned below: Betsy Alvira, born March i, 
181 1 ; Fanny, November 18, 1813; married 
Luther Deyo ; Nancy, September 26, 1817, 
married Edwin Cornell ; Charles, July 17, 1820, 
is now living at Highland, New York; John, 
October 27, 1826, is now deceased. 

(VIII) Alden J., eldest son of John and 



690 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



Phila (Church) Pratt, was born September 
9, 1808, in Chesterfield, and attended the pub- 
lic schools in early boyhood. After the 
permanent settlement of the family in Ulster 
county, he was for some time a student at 
New Paltz academy. After leaving school, he 
taught school in the vicinity for eight years. 
He then purchased a farm north of Ohioville, 
which he cultivated for three years and then 
sold, after which he purchased what was 
known as the Lake Place, a farm of ninety- 
three acres, on which he lived twenty years. 
Disposing of this property, he purchased a 
fruit farm of sixteen acres on which he lived 
until his death. He married Derenda Ran- 
som. Children : Mary Louise ; George Wash- 
ington ; Helen Ermina (married John Har- 
court) ; Caroline; Louise Josephine (married 
Albert P. Ford) ; Alice M. ; John L. ; and 
Harriet P. 

(IX) George Washington, son of Alden J. 
and Derenda ( Ransom ) Pratt, was born Sep- 
tember 22, 1840, in the town of Lloyd, former- 
ly New Paltz, and grew up on his father's 
farm, attending the district schools in boyhood 
and youth. For two years he was a student at 
Fort Plain Academy, and two years at Clave- 
rack Institute. On attaining his majority, Mr. 
Pratt engaged in the flour milling business with 
Philip Le Roy. and at the end of one year pur- 
chased the interest of his partner. For many 
years he successfully conducted operations, 
and in 1889, in partnership with his son, Har- 
court Pratt, he began the manufacture of fruit 
packages, and also dealt in coal, lumber and 
grain, building up the largest business of its 
kind in the neighborhood. 

Mr. Pratt is a member of the Presbyterian 
church and of the Masonic Lodge at Highland, 
New York, of which he is a trustee. Political- 
ly he is a staunch Republican, and served fif- 
teen years as a member of the county central 
committee. He has acted as town trustee and 
in 1872-3 was town supervisor. He is presi- 
dent of the First National Bank of Highland, 
New York. He married, December 21, 1865. 
Adelaide Harcourt, born May 10, 1845, died 
October g, 1909, daughter of Matthew T. and 
Sarah (Deyo) Harcourt. Children : Harcourt 
J., mentioned below ; Jennie C, wife of Homer 
Howgate : Alden J., deceased ; and Bessie, who 
married Lieutenant Homer Ray Oldfield, U. S. 
A., now Professor of Mathematics at West 
Point. 



(X) Harcourt J., eldest child of George W. 
and Adelaide (Harcourt) Pratt, was born Oc- 
tober 22, 1866, in Lloyd township, and was 
educated in the common schools and Claverack 
Institute. When seventeen years old he was 
appointed a page in the state assembly, and 
one year later became clerk's messenger in the 
state senate, filling that position for six years. 
In 1886 he embarked in the manufacture of 
fruit packages and three years later became a 
partner with his father in the conduct of that 
business, and also a general coal, lumber, and 
grain trade, the firm being known as George 
W. Pratt & Son. In 1895 he was elected town 
supervisor and re-elected in 1896. In the latter 
year he was elected a member of the assembly 
on the Republican ticket from the second Ul- 
ster district. He married Mary, daughter of 
Captain J. D. B. Hasbrouck, of Humeston, 
Iowa. Children : George W., born December 
4, 1891. married Florence Deyo, October 8, 
1913; Augusta, born December 15. 1895; J^"" 
nie. born July 15, 1897; and Rowena. born 
December 8, 19 13. 



This name is German in origin,' 
FINGER and it is quite possible that in 
' its original meaning it was a 
nickname or sobriquet of some kind, given as 
a result of some accident in which a finger had 
part, for the German and the English word 
are alike in meaning. An objection to this 
derivation is found in the fact that the name is 
found in several difi^erent forms, and com- 
pounded with other terms which seem to in- 
dicate a local origin. Some of these forms are 
Fingar, Fenger, and V'ingar, while the com- 
pound includes Fingerling. Fengerling. Fin- 
gerhuth. Fengerhuth, and so on. The name 
is not very widespread in America, though it 
is prevalent in both Germany and Holland. It 
seems first to have become known in this 
country in the very early part of the eighteenth 
century, when in or about the year 1710 Jo- 
hannes Finger or Vingar came from Germany 
and was one of the Palatine colony that settled 
in New York at that time, his descendants now 
dwelling for the most part in Germantown, 
New York, or having affiliations with that dis- 
trict. About the same time Michael Finger, 
who was born in Germany, and married Mary 
or Margaret Mosher, came to America and set- 
tled at Copake. Columbia county, in the state 
of New York. Possibly or probably there 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



691 



were others of the name, but these in their 
after connections appear among the more im- 
portant. Whether the family here under con- 
sideration were affihated in any way with the 
famihes of the immigrants mentioned, it has 
not been possible satisfactorily to ascertain. 
A connection of some kind seems likely, which 
if not consummated on American soil, may 
date from some period, near or remote, in the 
Fatherland. All these families have been 
mainly situated in New York state from the 
time of their landing, and many of their mem- 
bers have arisen to prominence in various com- 
mercial and professional fields. 

(I) Adam Finger, immigrant ancestor of 
this Finger family, was born in 1793, died at 
Saugerties, Ulster county, New York, April 
II, 1871. He passed the better part of his life 
in Ulster county, where he was a farmer. Dur- 
ing his earlier years he lived in Dutchess coun- 
ty, in what is now the town of Red Hook, 
whence about 1826 he moved to Ulster county, 
and purchased a farm at what is now the 
northern part of the village of Saugerties, 
whereon the rest of his days were passed in 
agricultural pursuits. He was a leading 
farmer in his section of the county, a Demo- 
crat in politics, and a promient member of the 
Dutch Reformed Church of Saugerties. He 
married Jane, daughter of Conrad Lasher. 
Children: John Nelson; Conrad B. Lansing; 
Henry L., mentioned below; Bryan; Maria, 
married Rev. Nathan H. Cornell ; Amanda, 
who married Daniel Hitchcock ; Robert ; Sarah 
B., who married Virgil Staats of Dutchess 
county ; Adam, who died during the civil war ; 
Gilbert ; Jeremiah ; Eliza, married David B. 
Castice, of Saugerties ; and Daniel. 

(II) Henry L., son of Adam and Jane 
(Lasher) Finger, received his education partly 
in Dutchess county, and partly in Ulster coun- 
ty, mainly at Saugerties, where he was born, 
his advantages in this respect being somewhat 
limited however. After leaving school at the 
age of thirteen he went to work in the store of 
Joseph H. Fields, in Saugerties, with whom he 
remained five years, at the end of which time, 
he accepted a similar position in the store of 
Elias Woodruff in the same village, which in- 
cumbency he held three years. He then in 
1846 embarked in a grocery business at Saug- 
erties, in partnership with Joseph Kerr, who 
later went to Kansas during the Kansas-Ne- 
braska troubles. In 1847 he bought out his 



partner's interest and continued the business 
alone (together with the manufacture of 
candles) until 1853, during part of which time 
he had as a partner William J. Snyder, to 
whom in that year he sold out, at the same 
time buying a half interest in the hat and cap, 
boot and shoe business of John W. Davis, on 
the corner where is now located the Davis 
clothing and shoe store in Saugerties. During 
part of the time, about a period of one year, 
he owned the whole concern, owing to the re- 
tirement of Mr. Davis, and had in his employ 
over fifteen hands, manufacturing boots and 
shoes extensively. In 1856 Captain Finger sold 
out his entire interest in the business to J. W. 
Davis and Oziah Cooper and bought the sloop 
"Livingston," which remained in the freight 
business, running between Saugerties and New 
York, until 1864. In the same year he bought 
of T. J. Barrett the ferry boat "Air Line," 
plying between Saugerties and Tivoli, and 
about the same time, together with J. H. Van 
Keuren, purchased the foundry on Livingston 
street, Saugerties. In 1874 he took over Mr. 
Van Keuren's interest, and along with his son, 
Howard, operated the foundry under the firm 
name of H. L. Finger & Son. In 1868 Cap- 
tain Finger became interested in the propeller, 
"Eagle," along with his brother-in-law, Wil- 
liam J. Snyder, and two years later bought the 
propeller, "Leader," his personal attention 
being given chiefly to the propellers, his son. 
Howard, attending to the factory or foundry. 
At this time he was doing all the towing busi- 
ness on the Esopus creek at Saugerties. In 
1872 he engaged in the lumber and coal busi- 
ness, where Finger & Lewis have succeeded 
him, which business has seen various changes 
in firm styles, first Finger Brothers (Henry 
L , Robert, Bryan, and Daniel at various 
times), finally in 1884, Finger & Lewis, Henry 
L. Finger selling out to Mr. Lewis. In 1884, 
along with Wellington Porter, Mr. Finger pur- 
chased the "Ansonia," (in 1886 buying the 
latter's interest), which he ran on the river 
until 1888, in that year selling her. In 1888 
he. with Robert A. Snyder, purchased the dock 
property of the estate of William R. Renwick, 
also the steamer "Saugerties," of the Old 
Dominion Steamship Company of New York, 
and in 1889 organized the Saugerties and New 
York Steamboat Company, the stockholders 
being Henry L. Finger. Robert A. Snyder, 
Maxwell Brothers and Seamon Brothers. In 



692 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



the spring of 1891 they bought the steamer 
"Ansonia," already mentioned, took her to 
pieces and built the steamer "Ulster,"' the com- 
pany thereby having a couple of fine freight 
and passenger boats, Mr. Finger being captain 
of the "Saugerties" up to 1895, and after 1889 
general manager of the line. In all the various 
enterprises in which Captain Finger was more 
or less identified and interested he met with 
rare success, due in the main to his keen judg- 
ment, innate shrewdness, and indomitable per- 
severance. In his political preferences Mr. 
Finger was originally a Whig, and was a Re- 
publican after the formation of that party, but 
he never took any active part in politics. In an 
early day he was clerk of the town of Sauger- 
ties, and by appointment served as its super- 
visor. He was a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church, and for several years one 
of its trustees ; a director of the First National 
Bank, and for several years was affiliated with 
the Free and Accepted Masons, as a member 
of Ulster Lodge, No. 193. Captain Finger 
filled a well rounded business life, during 
which he honorably achieved the well merited 
confidence and respect which he enjoyed. He 
married, in 1849, Anne Christina, daughter of 
Captain Henry Snyder. Children : Howard ; 
Edson, superintendent of the blank book de- 
partment of the Saugerties Manufacturing 
Company; Alice; George G., died young; Wil- 
liam L., captain of the steamer "Saugerties :" 
Daniel M., agent for the steamboat line at 
Saugerties; Henrietta, married Benjamin F. 
Fellows, of Saugerties ; J. Gilbert, mentioned 
below. 

(Ill) J. Gilbert, son of Henry L. and Anne 
Christina (Snyder) Finger, was born at Saug- 
erties, Ulster county, New York, July 7. 1864. 
He was educated in the Saugerties schools and 
connected with his father in the steamboat 
business for years. Later he engaged in mer- 
cantile pursuits of various kinds, but is now 
retired. He married, July 15, 1885, Ada, 
daughter of John Sutton, mentioned below. 
There is one (adopted) daughter, Mildred. 

John Sutton, the father of Mrs. Ada (Sut- 
ton) Finger, wife of Mr. J. Gilbert Finger, 
mentioned above, was born at Plattekill. L'l- 
ster county, New York, in 1833, died June, 
1898, at Coeymans, Albany county. New York. 
Mr. Sutton was educated in the country 
schools of his native town, and learned the 
brick maker's trade, and eventually engaged in 



the manufacture of brick. His connection with 
this industry continued until the close of the 
civil war, or about that time, when he sold out, 
purchased a farm, and engaged in several in- 
terests connected with the cultivation of the 
land, and agriculture in general. He followed 
this occupation for about twenty years, and 
then in 1886 or 1885 he settled in Coeymans, 
New York, and again engaged in the manu- 
facture of brick. He was a strict churchman, 
and a trustee and steward of the Glasco Meth- 
odist Church, for a number of years. He was 
a layman in the Methodist Episcopal church 
and licensed to preach. He also assisted in 
revival services in his neighborhood. He was 
a Prohibitionist, and intensely interested in the 
cause of temperance, a man of high character, 
and a thorough Christian. He married 
Phoebe, born in 1835, died in 1893, daughter 
of Jefiferson Halstead, of Plattekill. Children : 
Alice, married C. F. Suderly ; Isdora, mar- 
ried Louis Vrooman ; John, married Jeanette 
Seaman ; Ada, mentioned above, married J. 
Gilbert Finger; Ella, married J. L. Bishop; 
Fannie, married J. L. Bishop. 



The derivation of the 
MONTGOMERY name Montgomery can 

be but a matter of con- 
jecture. It is suggested, however, by one 
writer that it may be a corruption of the Latin 
Mons Gomeris, meaning Gomer's Mount. 
Gomer, the son of Japhet, being the hereditary 
name of the Gauls, there was more than one 
locality in Europe bearing this designation. 
The spelling of the name has been various, 
Montgomerie and Mundegumbrie were the 
forms most frequently in use in the earlier 
generations, but later Montgomerie was em- 
ployed altogether, until within a century, when 
many branches of the family, or rather many 
of the families bearing the name, substituted 
Montgomery for the form having the terminal 
of "ie." The name is well known in Britain, 
and more particularly in Ireland where it is 
sometimes an Anglicized approximation or 
translation of Maol.geimridh ( Mulgenery ) , the 
appellation of chieftains and clans of Tir- 
Owen, or Tyrone, who possessed two terri- 
tories of Cineal Feraidaidh (Anglicised Far- 
ada, or Faraday) in the east of Tyrone. Sev- 
eral of the Montgomerys of the British Isles 
are said to be sprung from Count d'Ermes, or 
de Hermes, of Normandv. of whom were 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



693 



Saint Godegrand, Bishop of Siezand, and 
Sainte Opportune, his sister, living in the time 
of King Pepin, and of the Emperor Charle- 
magne in 760. They were lords of France 
at a later period. When William the Con- 
queror went to England, Roger, a kinsman, 
was with him. and at the defeat of the Eng- 
lish at Hastings, led the Norman van. Philip 
Montgomeiy settled in Scotland in the time of 
Henry I. of England. John Montgomery 
fought at Otterbourns, 1388, and took Percy 
prisoner. He married Elizabeth, a descendant 
of Eglin, lord of Eglinton. Eglinton was a 
lordship and castle in the county of Ayr, Scot- 
land, whence its owner assumed a title name in 
the reign of the Gaelic King Malcolm. Eglin, 
lord of Eglinton, had Bryce, and he a son 
Hugh, who married Giles, daughter of Walter, 
the justician, and sister of Robert HI., 
descended through Margaret, wife of Mal- 
colm HI. From Egbert, a son, came Elizabeth, 
wife of John Montgomery. This marriage 
united the families of Montgomery and Eglin- 
ton. The arms borne by some of the Irish 
Montgomerys, who follow the tinctures borne 
by the Earls of Eglinton of the present are: 
First and fourth, azure, three fleurs-de-lis, or, 
for Montgomery ; second and third gules, three 
amulets, gemmed azure for Eglinton. These 
arms were borne by General Richard Mont- 
gomery. The motto is : Honneur sans repos. 
John and Elizabeth Montgomery had Sir John, 
whose son Alexander was the first baron, and 
in 1449 was made Lord Montgomerie. Alex- 
ander, master of Montgomerie, had a son 
Alexander, who became the second baron. His 
son Hugh was the third baron and the first 
earl of Eglinton created in 1507; married 
Helen, daughter of Colin, Earl of Argyle. He 
died in 1547. 

Hugh, the second earl, married Marrietta 
Seton. Hugh, the third earl, fought for Queen 
Mary at Langside in 1568. Hugh, the fourth 
earl, had a sister Margaret, who married the 
first earl of Winton. Hugh, the fifth earl, 
married, but had no issue ; obtaining royal 
permission to will his honors to the three 
youngest sons of his aunt, Margaret, wife of 
the Earl of Winton. The sixth earl, Alex- 
ander Seaton (nicknamed "Gransteel"), 
fought for parliament at Marston Moor, but 
afterwards sided with the king. He died in 
1661. The seventh earl, Hugh, a royalist. 
fought with the king at Marston Moor, and 



against his father. He had a younger brother, 
James, of Coylesfield, whose grandson, Alex- 
ander, became the twelfth earl. The eighth 
earl, was Alexander, succeeded by his son, 
Alexander, the ninth earl. His son, Alex- 
ander, the tenth earl, was slain in a dispute. 
His son, Archibald, the next earl, had no sons 
and the title reverted to Hugh, the grandson 
of James, of Coylesfield, who became the 
twelfth earl. His son, Archibald, married 
Mary, daughter of Archibald, the eleventh earl 
of Eglinton, his cousin, and became the thir- 
teenth earl of Eglinton, and was created earl 
of Winton. The fourteenth earl, Archibald 
William, served in parliament as the earl of 
Winton. 

Alexander Montgomery, of Hazelhead, Ayr- 
shire. Scotland, was one of the first of this 
particular family to settle in Ireland. He was 
prebendary of Doe, county Donegal, but later 
became a soldier and commissioned officer. He 
had sons, John and William. John married 
and had a daughter Margaret, who married 
the Rev. George Leslie and had a son, John 
(2). 

John (2), by a first wife, had Colonel Alex- 
ander of Convoy, county Donegal, and Bally- 
connell, county Cavan ; died {s. p.) 1729, hav- 
ing devised his Donegal estates to his cousin, 
Alexander Montgomery, of Convoy. John 
(2), by a second wife, had a son John (3). 

John (3) had three sons: John, whose male 
line became extinct ; Alexander, died 1722, and 
Robert, of Anared, the ancestor of the Mont- 
gomerys, of Bessmount, county Donegal. 

Alexander, son of John (3), had sons: 
Thomas, member of parliament for Lifford ; 
was disinherited for marrying without con- 
sent, Mary Franklin. One of his sons, Rich- 
ard, born near Swords, Ireland, December 2, 
1736, came to America, 1772, joined the Amer- 
ican army, was commissioned general and was 
killed at the seizure of Quebec, December 21, 
1775; married, August 4, 1773, Janet, the 
daughter of Robert Livingston, lord of Liv- 
ingston Manor, Columbia county, New York. 
A brother of General Richard Montgomery, 
Alexander John, was captain in the army, and 
for thirty-two years member of Parliament 
from county Donegal. He inherited the Con- 
voy estates of his cousin, Alexander Mont- 
gomery, great-grandfather of the wife of Dr. 
Scott. Alexander, son of John (3) had other 
sons: John (4), mentioned below; Matthew, 



694 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



and Robert, of Brandium, county Monaghan. 
John (4) Montgomery was of county Mona- 
ghan, where he died in 1732. Alexander, son 
of John (4) Montgomery, married (first) 
Catherine, daughter of Colonel Hugh Mont- 
gomery, of Willoughby, last heir in entail to 
the honors of the earls of Mount Alexander. 
He married (second) Eleonora, daughter of 
Acheson Moore, Esq., of Garvey, county Ty- 
rone. His son, Nathaniel, by this marriage 
assumed in right of his mother the surname 
and arms of Moore; he died 1834. By his 
first marriage Alexander had sons : John, of 
county Monaghan, member of militia and 
member of parliament from Monaghan, died 
(s. p.) in 1795; Hugh, colonel of the Madras 
army, died 1795, leaving a daughter; Rev. 
Rubert, of Beaulieu, died in 1825, leaving a 
son, the Rev. Alexander Montgomery of 
Beaulieu, whose son, Richard Thomas Mont- 
gomery, his heir, is now of the Beaulieu seat, 
near Drogheda, Ireland. 

(I) John Montgomery, representative of 
the American branch of the family, came to 
the American colonies with a brother, Alex- 
ander, and another relative, Robert, about 
1750. He settled in Connecticut, where Alex- 
ander married Sarah, the daughter of Gers- 
hom Lockwood, who willed them property. 
During the revolution the brothers appear to 
have lived in New York City, later living in 
Connecticut, and from there going to Dela- 
ware county. New York. The cousin. Robert, 
was for a time in Vermont, coming from there 
to live at Salem. Washington county. New 
York, where he died, some of his sons later 
settling at Roxbury, Delaware county. Alex- 
ander, with his son Hugh, and William Still- 
well, went into the Big Sandy region and final- 
ly settled in Jefferson county. New York, at 
Ellisburg. John made his home in Delaware 
county. 

(H) Thomas, son of John Montgomery, 
lived most of his early life at Roxbury, Dela- 
ware county, New York, where he attended 
the district schools and grew to manhood. 
From Roxbury he went to Stamford, Dela- 
ware county. New York, where he conducted 
the old Stage House, and later in life he set- 
tled at Prattsville, Greene county, where he 
passed the remainder of his days. He mar- 
ried a Miss Beers. Children: Thomas E., 
mentioned below; Henry B., Amelia, and 
Mary. 



(HI) Thomas E., son of Thomas Mont- 
gomery, was born at Roxbury, Delaware 
county. New York, March 26, 1816, died 
at Prattsville, Greene county. New York, 
August 15, 1885. He became a physician 
and practiced in that profession, having 
early in life studied medicine with Dr. N. T. 
Cowles, of Durham, Greene county, and 
graduated from the Medical School at Ge- 
neva, New York. He did not, however, 
confine himself solely to his profession, for 
shortly after his marriage he purchased a 
farm of two hundred and fifty acres in Big 
Hollow, Greene county, and engaged to some 
extent in agricultural pursuits. Later he gave 
up farming and practiced in the towns of 
Saugerties, Palenville and Woodstock, where 
he died. He married, in November, 1847, Jean 
McGlashen, who was born in 1828, at Perth, 
Scotland, and died at Flatbush, in 1904. Chil- 
dren : Charles T., mentioned below ; Mary A., 
married Charles Streeter ; Helen A., married 
J. W. Burhans. 

(IV) Dr. Charles T. Montgomery, son of 
Thomas E. and Jean (McGlashen) Montgom- 
ery, was born at Big Hollow, Greene county. 
New York, February 17, 1849. He is a phy- 
sician by profession. Dr. Montgomery was 
educated in the public schools and at Pratts- 
ville. He studied medicine with his father, 
and graduated from Albany Medical College 
in 1874. Following his graduation he began 
to practice in the Albany Hospital, and after 
a short time transferred his activities to Glas- 
co. New York, where he practiced from 1875 
to 1900. He then went to Saugerties. where 
he now resides and practices his profession, 
being generally acclaimed as one of the leading 
practitioners of the Hudson Valley. Dr. Mont- 
gomery is a Mason, and a member of Sauger- 
ties Club. He married Margaret M. Maginnis, 
born 1849, died August 13, 1909. 



This family is of ancient 
SIMMONS English ancestry dating back 
to the time of William the 
Conqueror. The name is variously spelled 
Simons, Simonds, Symonds and Simmons. The 
family at an early date appeared in Massachu- 
setts and other colonies in New England. 

(I) The first of the family to immigrate to 
America was John Simmons, born in Deep- 
field, Straffordshire, England, May 22. 1799. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



695 



His father was a prominent ironworker and 
for many years manager of the High Field 
Iron Works near Bilston in Straffordshire. 
John, at an early age. learned the trade of his 
father, and was employed in his iron works 
until 1828, when he immigrated to America, 
locating first in New York City, where he 
found employment at his trade. Soon after 
arriving in New York he made the acquain- 
tance of Henry Carey and William Young, 
who, with a few other parties, were interested 
in the iron plant of Henry Barclay in Sauger- 
ties. New York, then known as the Ulster Iron 
Company. Mr. Simmons accompanied these 
gentlemen to Saugerties, where on April 18, 
1828, he entered into a contract with the com- 
pany to become its manager, which position he 
retained until the spring of 1842. Mr. Sim- 
mons, through his executive ability and 
thorough knowledge of the iron industry, 
greatly increased the business of the company 
and placed its affairs on a paying basis. He 
made many reforms in the management of the 
company, one of the most important being the 
enforcement of a regular pay day for the em- 
ployees of the company. At that time the pay- 
ment of help at the various manufacturing 
companies of the country, was not made at 
any regular time ; and so far as known, Mr. 
Simmons was one of the first in America to 
thus recognize the necessities of employees. 
In the spring of 1842 he accepted the manage- 
ment of an iron manufacturing business at 
Frostburg, Maryland, where he erected a plant 
after his own design, which at that time was 
the most complete in the country. Here he 
remained for two years, and during this time 
received several tempting offers to resume his 
former position as manager of the Iron Works 
in Saugerties. In 1844 he finally accepted the 
offer of the company and returned to Sauger- 
ties, wherein he continued the active manage- 
ment until i860, when he retired. His brother, 
Edward, and his son, Ovid T., continued the 
business until July i, 1863, when the connec- 
tion of the family with the iron works ceased. 
Mr. Simmons possessed great inventive genius, 
and to his investigations and practical im- 
provements, the iron manufacturers of the 
country owe much. He was a man of large 
stature, and was distinguished for his honesty 
and uprightness of character. He took a deep 
interest in the affairs of his community, and 
gave generously of his time and means to pro- 



mote all measures for its upbuilding. His 
death occurred in Saugerties, New York. 

Mr. Simmons married (first) in 183 1, Mrs. 
Nancy Minor Dewey, who died the same year. 
He married (second) January 22, 1834, Caro- 
line Campbell, of Southwick, Massachusetts, 
daughter of Noble and Lucy (Miller) Camp- 
bell, and great-granddaughter of Robert 
Campbell, a native of Scotland, who immi- 
grated to America and settled in Southwick, 
Massachusetts, about 1750. Mrs. Simmons 
died March 31, 1878. Five children were born 
to John and Caroline (Campbell) Simmons. 

(II) Ovid Topham, son of John and Caro- 
line (Campbell) Simmons, was born in Saug- 
erties, New York, May i, 1835, and died there 
December 16, 1897. He attended the schools 
of his native town until he was nine years of 
age, when he went to a select school for some 
time. Subsequently for eighteen months he 
was a student at a private school at West 
Point. He then attended the College Hill 
School at Poughkeepsie for two years. The 
completion of his education was received at the 
Polytechnic School at Troy, New York. In 
the year 1852 he went to New York City, 
where for one year he was employed as a 
clerk in an attorney's office. He then returned 
to Saugerties and became an accountant in the 
office of the Ulster Iron Works, of which com- 
pany his father was manager. In 1854 he went 
to Camden, New Jersey, where he established 
a steam cooperage. In 1856 his plant was 
burned, and returning to his native town, he 
re-entered the employ of the iron works, and 
acted until i860 as his father's assistant, thus 
relieving him largely of the burden of the 
work. With his uncle Edward, he became con- 
tractor for the iron works in i860, and held 
the position until July, 1863. In the summer 
of 1863 Mr. Simmons purchased the "Rip Van 
Winkle," and engaged in the shipping business. 
The following winter he opened a line from 
Albany to New York City in opposition to the 
"People's Line" of Albany: but terms were 
made with the latter company under which the 
"Rip Van Winkle" could run on the river, 
south of Castleton. New York. In 1867 he 
placed this boat in the excursion trade, carry- 
ing fishing excursionists from New York. The 
"Rip Van Winkle" was the first large boat 
used on the river exclusively for family ex- 
cursions. In 1871 he sold this steamboat busi- 
ness to Major Cornell and retired from active 



696 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



business. He was connected with several other 
business enterprises, serving for many years 
as director of the First National Bank and the 
Saugerties Savings Bank. Captain Simmons 
was a Whig in politics until 185 1, when he 
became a Democrat. He was a candidate for 
the general assembly in 1879 and in 1880, 
against General Sharp, the Republican nom- 
inee. He was also for two years president of 
the Board of Trade of Saugerties. In educa- 
tional matters he took deep interest and served 
for two years as president of the board of 
education. He was a member of the Masonic 
Lodge and held many offices in that order. 

Captain Simmons married (first) Julia Pel- 
letrau, who died in 1865. They had one child, 
a daughter, who died at the age of thirteen 
months. He married (second) Eva L. 
Schoonmaker, daughter of Peter P. Schoon- 
maker of Saugerties. Children: i. Emma 
Campbell, born February 6, 1881 ; married 
Edward A. Sidman, now an attorney in 
Brooklyn, New York; one daughter, Evelyn 
Ardelle Sidman. 2. Ovid, born December 2, 
1882, died suddenly July 15, 1912. He was 
educated in the Saugerties high school; and 
for several years previous to his death man- 
aged his father's estate. He resided with his 
mother at the old homestead, where he lived 
a quiet and retired life, devoting his time out- 
side of business cares to the enjoyments of 
•his library. In religion he was a member of 
Trinity Episcopal Church of Saugerties. He 
was respected and esteemed by all who knew 
him. 



William D. Brinnier, lawyer 
BRINNIER and ex-mayor of the city of 

Kingston, New York, is em- 
phatically a man of the people, with whom he 
has always mingled freely, and whose inter- 
ests he has always been ready to maintain and 
defend. He has been engaged in many im- 
portant litigations, and has been largely suc- 
cessful in them. His clear and acute mind and 
remarkable tenacity of purpose, combined with 
his intense devotion to the interests of his 
clients, have made him a most efficient advisor 
and advocate. His family has long been an 
honored one in Germany, although the form 
of the name would lead one to suppose that 
the earliest members came from France. 

John M. Brinnier, father of the man whose 
name heads this sketch, was a native of Ger- 



many, which he left at the early age of sixteen 
years in order to make his home in the United 
States. He decided upon Kingston, New 
York, as a place of residence, and there mar- 
ried Letitia Lundy, a native of Ireland, who 
had come to this country with her parents and 
also settled in Kingston. 

William D. Brinnier was born in Kingston, 
New York, January 4, 1859, where he received 
his early education in the common schools and 
at the Kingston Academy. Naturally possessed 
of the power of reasoning in a clear and cogent 
manner, the profession of law had always had 
a peculiar fascination for him and he com- 
menced the study of it in July, 1877, in the 
office of D. W. Sparling, remaining with this 
gentleman and studying under his preceptor- 
ship until September, 1880, when he was ad- 
mitted to the bar. He at once established him- 
self in the practice of his chosen profession 
in his native town, and was successfully en- 
gaged in this manner until 1889, when he be- 
came associated with A. S. Newcomb, the firm 
carrying on their practice under the name of 
Brinnier & Newcomb. At the end of ten years 
there was a dissolution of this partnership and 
the firm of Brinnier & Searing was founded, 
and continued in existence until 1905, at which 
time Mr. Brinnier had again decided to prac- 
tice independently. The extensive practice 
which has engaged his attention and talents 
since that time amply testifies to the wisdom 
of this decision. The judges and lawyers be- 
fore whom and with whom he has been called 
to practice speak of him in the highest terms. 
Prominent in political circles, Mr. Brinnier 
has been honored with a number of official 
preferments, in all of which he has discharged 
the duties of the position with distinction and 
ability. He was appointed on the Reservoir 
Commission No. 5, by the supreme court, and 
was chosen to the post of chairman of this 
body, which was one of the very few commis- 
sions from whose decisions there has never 
been any appeal. In 1884 he was elected a 
member of the common council of Kingston, 
and was re-elected five times in succession. In 
1896 he had the honor of being a Democratic 
elector, and in 1897, the Democratic party 
elected him mayor of Kingston, in what was 
probably the most hotly contested election ever 
held in the city. Mr. Brinnier is largely inter- 
ested in farming and owns a 200-acre well- 
stocked farm in Saugerties, Ulster county. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



697 



New York, and a plantation in the Isle of 
Pines, West Indies, where he raises pineapples 
and grapefruit in large quantities. He is also 
greatly interested in real estate, being one of 
the largest owners of real estate in the city of 
Kingston. Mr. Brinnier is affiliated with a 
large number of organizations of various 
kinds, among them being: The Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows ; Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks ; Order of Moose ; 
Knights of Pythias ; Red Men of the World ; 
Foresters of America ; Saugerties Club ; Dem- 
ocratic National Club ; and the State and 
County Bar associations. 

Mr. Brinnier has five sons: Frederick J., 
William D. Jr., Grant M., Parker K. and 
Augustus. Mr. Brinnier is a man well quali- 
fied by nature and education for his chosen 
field of labor, and yet higher honors than he 
has thus far enjoyed are undoubtedly awaiting 
him. If self-sacrificing, steady, efficient and 
brilliant service for a political party entitles 
a man to any reward, then he has surely dem- 
onstrated his desert. Yet he has not sought 
office for himself, and the positions to which 
he has been called were given him, not upon 
personal solicitation, but in recognition of his 
true and tried service for the party. He has 
aided to the best of his ability in fostering 
every plan for the benefit of the public, and 
has gained its respect by his manly, upright 
life. 



The name Schoon- 
SCHOONMAKER maker belongs to the 

class of trade names, 
and like many other names of its kind was 
not employed by the Dutch as a surname until 
two or three generations of the family had 
lived and died in this country. Hendrick 
Jochemsen, the founder of the family, was, 
according to an old diary said to be still in 
existence, a shoemaker of Hamburg, Germany. 
Giving up his trade, he entered the military 
service of Holland and settled at Albany, New 
York, prior to 1654. The early records of 
Albany frequently mention his name, and show 
him to have been a man of considerable finan- 
cial standing and even to have loaned money 
to Director-General Stuyvesant in time of 
need. Another record calls him "Lieutenant 
in the company of his Noble Honor the Di- 
rector General." In 1659 this company went 
to Esopus to help the settlers defend them- 



selves from the Indians and while there it was 
disbanded and Stuyvesant offered the soldiers 
grants of land to settle there. Jochemsen be- 
came a resident of Wiltwyck, October 24, 1661, 
and the following year received the first of 
the promised lots. He was several times ap- 
pointed magistrate of the place and May 30, 
1662, when the burgher guard was organized 
he became its lieutenant. At the massacre of 
Wiltwyck, June 7, 1663, he took an active part 
in the defense, although twice wounded at the 
first attack. His eldest son Jochem was cap- 
tured by the Indians the same day, while visit- 
ing at the home of his uncle, Volckert Jansen 
Douw, in New Dorp (Hurley). Several years 
later he became the leader of the demonstra- 
tion against the English conquerors of the 
New Netherlands known as the "Esopus meet- 
ing of 1667." The demonstration had been 
precipitated by the arrest and imprisonment 
of Cornelis Barentsen Schleght, who later be- 
came the third husband of Jochemsen's widow. 
Hendrick Jochemsen married, probably in New 
York City, Elsje Jans, daughter of Jan Janse 
van Breestede and Enjeltje Janse, and widow 
of Adrien Pietersen Van Alcmaer. She mar- 
ried (third), September 26, 1684, Cornelis 
Barentsen Schleght. Children: Jochem, re- 
ferred to below; Egbert, married October 13, 
1683, Anna Berry; Enjeltje, baptized March 
18, 1663, married (first) Nicholas Anthony, 
married (second) April 17, 1699, Stephen 
Gasherie; Hendrick (2) baptized May 17, 
1665, died in 1712, married, March 24, 1688, 
Gertruy De Witt; Volckert, twin with Hend- 
rick, baptized May 17, 1665 ; Hilletje, baptized 
October 20, 1669. 

(II) Jochem Hendricksen Schoonmaker, son 
of Hendrick Jochemsen and Elsje Janse (Van 
Breestede-Van Alcmaer) Schoonmaker, was 
born probably at Albany, and died at Kingston, 
Ulster county. New York, between December 
9, 1729, and November 7, 1730, the dates of 
the writing and proving of his will. He was 
undoubtedly the eldest son and was one of the 
first or charter trustees of Rochester, Ulster 
county. New York, under letters patent from 
Queen Anne, June 25, 1703. He held this office 
until 1715. As before stated he was captured 
by the Indians at the massacre of Wiltwyck 
in 1663 and suffered much torture before he 
was restored to his family when the other 
prisoners taken were returned. He married 
(first), August 16, 1679, Petronella, daughter 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



of Cornells Barentsen Schleght and Tryntje 
Tysen Bos, who died about 1687. He mar- 
ried (second), April 28, 1689, Anna Horsi 
(or Hussey), daughter of Frederick and Mar- 
garet Hussey, who was baptized June 27, 1670. 
Children (five by first marriage) : Cornells, 
baptized January 15, 1682, died October 14, 
1757, married, November 25, 171 1, Enjeltje 
Roosa; Hendrick, baptized August 17, 1683, 
married, November 25, 1704, Heyltje Decker; 
Tryntje, baptized November 22, 1684, died 
August 27, 1763, married November 18, 1704, 
Jacobus Bruyn; Eltje, baptized December 12, 
1685, died June 27, 1764, married, October 
27, 1706, Joseph Hasbrouck; Jacomyntje, bap- 
tized April 29, 1687, married, September 22, 
1726, Johannis Miller; Rebecca, baptized Au- 
gust 24, 1690; Frederick, referred to below; 
Jan, baptized June 3, 1694, married, June 7, 
1730, Margaret Hoornbeck ; Margriet, bap- 
tized December 25, 1695, married, February 
14, 1716, Moses DePuy, Jr.; Jacobus, baptized 
May 8, 1698, married, October 15, 1729, Maria 
Rosenkrans; Elizabeth, baptized February 18, 
1700, married, September 3, 1719, Benjamin 
DePuy; Benjamin, baptized April 19, 1702, 
married. May 10, 1722, Catherine DePuy; 
Antje (or Heyltje), baptized August 11, 1706, 
married, October 12, 1729, Cornelis Wynkoop; 
Sara, baptized June 20. 1708, married, August 
26, 1725, Jacobus DePuy; Jochem, referred 
to below; Daniel, baptized February 22, 1713, 
married, October 26, 1733, Magdalena Jansen. 
(HI) Jochem, son of Jochem Hendricksen 
and Anna (Hussey) Schoonmaker, was bap- 
tized at Kingston, Ulster county, New York, 
October 12, 1710, and died in the township of 
Rochester, Ulster county, New York, between 
July 14, 1789, and March i, 1790, the dates of 
the writing and proving of his will. He mar- 
ried, May II, 1730, Lydia, daughter of Dirck 
R. and Wyntje (Kierstede) Rosenkrans, who 
was baptized May 3, 1713. Children named in 
will : Martinus, licensed as a clergyman in 
1765, and officiated in Gravesend and Harlem 
from 1765 to 1784, and in Flatbush, Brooklyn, 
New Utrecht, Flatland, Bushwick, and Graves- 
end, from 1784 to 1824, died in 1824, aged 
eighty-seven years ; Daniel ; John ; Jacobus ; 
Catherine, married Jochem Schoonmaker Jr. ; 
Antje, married Ephraim DePuy ; Elizabeth, re- 
ferred to below; Wyntje, married Thomas 
Schoonmaker ; Lena, married John Wansa. 
(IV) Elizabeth, daughter of Jochem and 



Lydia (Rosenkrans) Schoonmaker, was born 
in Rochester, Ulster county, New York, in 
1738, and died September 7, 1818. She mar- 
ried, in 1760, Frederick (2), son of Fred- 
erick (i) and Eva (Swartwout) Schoon- 
maker, referred to below. 

(HI) Frederick, son of Jochem and Anna 
(Hussey) Schoonmaker, was born in Kings- 
ton, Ulster county. New York, and baptized 
there January 28, 1692. During the revolu- 
tionary war he raised two companies of sol- 
diers, one of mounted volunteers which he 
commanded himself as captain. He owned 
some forty improved farms in the town of 
Marbletown which, when his income was ex- 
hausted, he mortgaged to raise the money to 
pay the men of his company and also to send 
provisions and other necessaries to the Con- 
tinental army. He was at Fort Montgomery 
when the chain was placed across the Hudson, 
and sold a favorite saddle-horse in order to 
help pay the expenses of the job. He mar- 
ried (first) March i, 1713, Anne, daughter of 
Jacob and Greitje (Vernooy) DeWitt, who 
was baptized March 15, 1696, and died in 1715. 
He married (second) February 6, 17 17, Eva, 
daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth (Gardiner) 
Swartwout, who was baptized November 16, 
1694. Children (one by first marriage) : 
Jochem, baptized October 23, 171 5, died before 
1775, married. May 21, 1741, Sarah DePuy; 
Antjen, baptized January 5, 1718, married, 
November 28, 1735, Hermanns Rosenkrans; 
Elizabeth, baptized November 8, 17 19, mar- 
ried, October 20, 1738, Abraham Clearwater; 
Thomas, baptized July i, 1722, married, Sep- 
tember 14, 1753, Wyntje, daughter of Jochem 
and Lydia (Rosenkrans) Schoonmaker, re- 
ferred to above ; Jesyntjen, baptized June 24, 
1724. married, August 24. 1745. \\'illiam 
\Vood : Rachel, baptized January 16, 1726, 
married Samson Sammons ; Sarah, baptized 
August 27, 1727. married, April 8, 1743, Jo- 
hannes Rosenkrans; Lydia, baptized May 11, 
1729, married, November 27, 1752, Benjamin 
Hasbrouck; Hester, baptized about 1731. mar- 
ried Jacobus Elmendorf Kool ; Maria, baptized 
January 28, 1733, married, October 21, 1748, 
Andries Roosa ; Magdalena, born February 2, 
1735, died before 1775, probably unmarried; 
Frederick (2), referred to below. 

(IV) Frederick (2), son of Frederick (i) 
and Eva (Swartwout) Schoonmaker, was bap- 
tized in Rochester township, Ulster county. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



699 



New York, January 13, 1740, and died Decem- 
ber 2, 1819. He married, in 1760, Elizabeth, 
daughter of Jochem (2) and Lydia (Rosen- 
krans) Schoonmaker, referred to above. Chil- 
dren: Wyntje, born June 13, 1761, married 
Levi DeWitt; Eva, born September 16. 1763, 
married Frederick Schoonmaker Elmendorf ; 
Lydia, born August 19, 1766, died February 
II, 185 1, married Doctor Andrew Snyder; 
Frederick (3), born April 27, 1769, died in 
infancy; Thomas, born July 5, 1771, died 
young; Sarah, born October 22, 1777, mar- 
ried, in 1796, Jacob Schoonmaker; Thomas, 
born February 19, 1780, married (first) Char- 
ity Davis, and married (second) in 181 1, Kath- 
arine Louw; Jacobus, born November 13, 1783, 
died April 28, 1863, married Maria Davis ; 
Egbert du Mont, referred to below. 

(V) Egbert du Mont, son of Frederick (2) 
and Elizabeth (Schoonmaker) Schoonmaker, 
was born in Marbletown, Ulster county, New 
York, July 8, 1788, died September 7, 1879. 
He served during the war of 1812 as sergeant 
in Captain Louis Bevier's company. He mar- 
ried (first), October 20, 1807, Ann, daughter 
of William and Syntje (Elmendorf) Benson. 
who died July 11, 1827. He married (second), 
in 1829, Hannah, born June 18, 1792, daughter 

of Samuel and (Winfield) Miller, and 

widow of Anderson. Children (five by 

first marriage) ; John B., Elizabeth, Hiram, re- 
ferred to below; William F., Ann, Lucas E., 
Mary Ann. 

(VI) Hiram, son of Egbert du Mont and 
Ann (Benson) Schoonmaker, was born in 
Rosendale, Ulster county. New York, in 1817, 
died in Kingston, Ulster county, New York, 
in 1877. He was appointed deputy sheriflf 
by Sheriff DuBois in 1840, and served also 
in that office under Sheriff Schryver, taking 
an active part in the suppression of the anti- 
rent riots ; he was later a candidate for the 
office of sheriff and failed of election by only 
a few votes. In 1848 he settled in Rondout, 
and engaged in the mercantile business on the 
site of the present Cornell Building, becoming 
one of the most extensive operators in flour 
and grain in the county, and also conducted 
a large milling business at High Falls. On 
the outbreak of the civil war in 1861, he was 
appointed as lieutenant-colonel of the Twen- 
tieth Regiment, New York Volunteer In- 
fantry, and accompanied the regiment to the 
front, but owing to business reasons was 



forced to resign his commission. When the 
city government of Kingston was organized 
he was appointed one of the alms commis- 
sioners, and later was elected president of 
the board of alms commissioners, and held 
that office until his death. He was a Bap- 
tist in religion, and was for more than 
twenty-five years superintendent of the 
Sunday-school in Rondout, and contributed 
largely to the growth and prosperity of 
the school. In his business relations he was 
the soul of honor, gathered about him hosts 
of friends and possessed the confidence 
and respect of the community. In his do- 
mestic and social relations he was an ex- 
emplar of all that pertains to the true Chris- 
tian gentleman. He married (first) in 1847, 
Hannah, daughter of the Hon. Peter Cornell, 
of Rosendale, who died in i860. He married 
(second) Gazena Hardenburgh, of Caugh- 
nawaga, Montgomery county. New York. 
Children (four by each marriage): Hiram, 
died in infancy ; Thomas, Peter, Anna, Emma, 
Sarah, John D., referred to below ; Kate, died 
in 1865. 

(VII) John Davis Schoonmaker, son of 
Hiram and Gazena (Hardenburgh) Schoon- 
maker, was born in Kingston, Ulster county, 
New York, May 10, 1864, and is now living 
there. At an early age he became connected 
with the Cornell Steamboat Company, and is 
still actively and largely interested in trans- 
portation business on the Hudson river. He 
was president of the American Ice Company 
in 1901, 1902 and 1903, and is now largely 
interested in the Foster Scott Ice Company 
of New York City, and the Steep Rocks Ice 
Company of Kingston, and is regarded as 
one of the foremost men in the ice business 
in New York state. He is one of the trustees 
of the Rondout Savings Bank, and is vice- 
president of the Kingston Club; member of 
the Rondout Club, the Winnisook Club, the 
Twaalfskill Country Club, and trustee of 
the Kingston Industrial Home. He married, 
June 22, 1898, Alberta Lewis, daughter of 
Thomas E. and Frances M. ( Ackerly-Freer) 
Benedict, of Ellenville, New York, who was 
born in Montgomery, New York, January 3, 
1870 (see Benedict VIII). Children of John 
D. and Alberta Lewis (Benedict-French) 
Schoonmaker: Louise Burt, born April 30, 
1899; John Davis, born July 2, 190T. 



7O0 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



(The Benedict Line.) 

(I) Thomas Benedict was born in Notting- 
hamshire, England, in 1617. According to 
family tradition, apparently verified, he was 
the only representative of his family when he 
came to America in 1638. He was a member 
of the colonial convention at Hempstead, 
1665, by order of the colonial governor of 
New York by authority of the English king. 
He married Mary Bridgum, who came to 
America on the same ship. Children : 
Thomas, died November 20, 1688-89; John, 
of whom further; Samuel, James, Daniel, 
Elizabeth, married John Slauson ; Mary, mar- 
ried John Olmstead ; Sarah, married James 
Beebe ; Rebecca, married Dr. Samuel Wood. 

(H) John, second son of Thomas and 
Mary Benedict, was born in 1640, at South- 
hold, Long Island. He moved with his father 
to Norwalk, Connecticut, where he was made 
a freeman in 1680, and was a selectman in 
1689-91-94-99. In 1722-23 he was a member 
of the Connecticut legislature, and was long 
a deacon of the Presbyterian church. He 
married, November 11, 1670, at Norwalk, 
Phebe Gregory. Children : Sarah, Phebe, John, 
Jonathan, Benjamin, Joseph, James, of whom 
further ; Thomas. 

(III) James, son of John and Phebe 
(Gregory) Benedict, was^ born January 5, 
1685, died November 25, 1762. He married 
Sarah Hyatt. Among their children was 
James, of whom further. 

(IV) James (2), son of Jam€s (i) and 
Sarah (Hyatt) Benedict, was born in 1719. 
He married Mary Blackman. Among their 
children was James, of whom further. 

(V) James (3), son of James (z) and 
Mary (Blackman) Benedict, was born in 
1745. He married Mary Wood. Among their 
children was William, of whom further. 

(VI) William, son of James (3) and 
Mary (Wood) Benedict, was born in 1779. 
He married Martha Wood. Among their 
children was William L., of whom further. 

(VII) William L., son of William and 
Martha (Wood) Benedict, was born in 1814, 
died July 20, 1882. He was a member of 
assembly from Orange county. New York, 
in 1846. He married Phoebe Burt, a grand- 
daughter of James Burt, who was the young- 
est commissioned ofificer of the revolutionary 
army of 1776; state senator and assemblyman 
from 1796 to 1823 : twice member of the state 



committee of appointment and twice of the 
electoral college. Among the children of Mr. 
and Mrs. Benedict was Thomas E., of whom 
further. 

(VIII) Thomas E., son of William L. and 
Phoebe (Burt) Benedict, was born at War- 
wick, New York, in 1839. He was a member 
of the assembly in 1880-81-82-83 from Ulster 
county ; chairman of the Democratic state con- 
vention in 1883, and a member of the Demo- 
cratic state committee several years ; was 
deputy comptroller of the state, 1884-85-86; 
was public printer at Washington, D. C., from 
1886 to .1889, and from 1894 to 1897, ap- 
pointed by President Cleveland ; deputy secre- 
tary of state, 1890 to 1894. He married 
Frances M. (Ackerly) Freer, who bore him 
six children, among whom was Alberta Lewis, 
born 1870, being of the ninth generation from 
Thomas Benedict, born 1617. She married 
(first) George K. French, by which marriage 
she had issue, Dorothy Webster French, born 
February 25, 1890; she married (second) 
John Davis Schoonmaker (see Schoonmaker 

"vin. 



The name Matthew hav- 
MATTHEWS ing belonged to one of the 

Twelve Apostles it was 
adopted by a great number of persons in early 
Christian times, and with its variations and 
derivations is borne today by many families 
who are wholly unrelated. It was formerly 
also spelled Matthes, Mathes, Mathis, 
Mathews, and in various other ways. At least 
eight emigrants of the name were in Massa- 
chusetts prior to 1650. There were many 
others bearing the name who emigrated to 
America and settled in various sections of the 
country, and in the early part of the nine- 
teenth century in Erie county. New York, 
were two brothers named Matthews. David, 
who married and had a large family, and 
Stephen, see forward. 

(I) Stephen Matthews, the first member 
of the family of whom we have definite in- 
formation, was born in Erie county. New 
York, and died in Shokan, Ulster county. New 
York, at the age of seventy-seven years. He 
married Sophia Orsborn, who died about the 
age of eighty-two. They had children : Jere- 
miah, see forward ; Egbert R., whose sketch 
follows : .Alanson : Martha ; Sarah ; Augusta N. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



(II) Jeremiah, son of Stephen and Sophia 
(Orsborn) Matthews, was born in Shokan, 
Ulster county. New York, May 13, 1827, 
died in Kingston, New York, October i, 1898. 
He received his early education in the public 
schools, and then engaged in business with his 
father as a wagon maker and painter until 
about 1870, when he removed to Olive, Ulster 
county, New York, and there established a 
general merchandise store, which he con- 
ducted until 1896, when he retired from active 
business. He served as justice of the peace 
for the town of Olive for a period of twenty- 
four years. He was a Democrat in politics, 
and served as supervisor of the town from 
1881 to 1886. He was an ordained minister 
of the Primitive Baptist church, and preached 
throughout Ulster county and the surround- 
ing country. He married Angelina Philips, 
born in May, 1826, died July 20, 1905. He 
had children: Laura, born in 1849, died in 
1853; John W., born in 1854, died in 1910; 
Elmer E., born in 1857 : Ella, twin of Elmer 
E., died October 10, 1896; Frank B., see for- 
ward. 

(III) Frank B., son of Jeremiah B. and 
Angelina (Philips) Matthews, was born in 
Olive, Ulster county. New York, October 29, 
1866, and is now (1913) living in Kingston, 
Ulster county, New York. The public schools 
of his section furnished his early education, 
and at the age of thirteen years he went to 
work on a farm, later entering his father's 
store. In 1890 he engaged in the lumber 
business for a time, then became a salesman 
for the grocery firm of J. W. Matthews Com- 
pany, in Newburgh, New York, in which posi- 
tion he remained two years and then became a 
member of the firm, with which he remained 
five years. He then settled in Kingston and 
established the firm of Matthews & Harrison, 
in the wholesale grocery business, which was 
incorporated the following year and which is 
still in existence. Mr. Matthews is one of 
the directors of the State of New York Na- 
tional Bank ; is vice-president and one of the 
directors of the Young Men's Christian As- 
sociation in Kingston ; and is treasurer of the 
First Baptist Church, in Kingston, of which 
he is also one of the trustees. He married, 
September 27, 1887, Mary, born June 14, 
1866, a daugfhter of Conrad and Thankful 
(Johnson) Elmendorf. Children born to 
them: John, born June 16, 1888, married 



Barbara Brink; Stanley, born August 4, 1895; 
Ella, July 10, 1897; George, August 2, 1901. 



(II) Egbert R. Matthews, 
MATHEWS son of Stephen (q. v.) and 
Sophia (Orsborn) Mat- 
thews, was born in Shokan, Ulster county. 
New York, September 11, 1828, died there in 
191 1. He received his early education in the 
public schools and passed all of his life in 
Ulster county, with the exception of three 
years during which he lived in New York 
City. He engaged in the lumber business and 
in farming and quarrying, during which time 
he cut the "Gulf" road across the Catskill 
mountains from Shokan to Greshamville. He 
also dealt extensively in Canadian horses, but 
later disposed of his business and purchased 
the general merchandise store of Hoyt Broth- 
ers, in Shokan, New York, which he con- 
ducted for one year, and then removed to 
West Shokan, where he established a mer- 
cantile business, which he finally sold to his 
son, Delancey N., and his son-in-law, James 
H. North, and retired from active pursuits. 
He was the first man to ship coal into West 
Shokan. He was a Republican in politics, and 
served for two terms as assessor of the town 
of Hurley, Ulster county. New York. He 
married, February 18, 1848, Sarah E. North, 
who was born June 25, 1831, and died in 1881. 
They had children: Delancey N., see for- 
ward ; Olivia Ann, Watson, William, Samuel, 
Mary, Everett, Cora |., Ward, Frederick and 
Dart. 

(Ill) Delancey N. Mathews, son of Eg- 
bert R. and Sarah E. (North) Matthews, was 
born in Hurley. Ulster county, New York, 
November 29, 1849, ^rid is now (1913) living 
in Kingston, Ulster county. New York. He 
spells his family name Mathews. He received 
his early education in the public schools, and 
at an early age removed to Brooklyn. New 
York, where he secured a position as errand 
boy in the United States Custom House. In 
i86s he settled in Olive, Ulster county. New 
York, and in 1871 formed a partnership with 
his brother-in-law, James H. North, and pur- 
chased his father's mercantile business, which 
he conducted until the firm was dissolved by 
the death of Mr. North in 1885. He is vice- 
president of Matthews & Harrison Wholesale 
Grocery Company, Kingston, New York. In 



702 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



1886 Mr. Mathews was elected director of the 
State of New York National Bank in Kings- 
ton ; in 1902 vice-president and in 1903 presi- 
dent, which office he still holds. He is treas- 
urer of the Co-operative Insurance Company 
of West Shokan, New York. He is a Re- 
publican in politics, and was postmaster of 
Shokan under President Grant, and served 
as supervisor of the town in 1889, 1890 and 
1892. In religious belief he is a Baptist. His 
fraternal membership is with the order of 
Free and Accepted Masons and the Knights 
of Pythias, and he is also a member of the 
Kingston Club. Mr. Mathews married, Oc- 
tober II, 1870, Sarah M. Dart, of Roxbury, 
Delaware county. New York, who died in 
1888, at West Shokan, New York. They had 
children: Bertha, born October 21, 187 1, and 
Lucy, who died in infancy. Mr. Mathews 
married (second) in 1900, Carrie S. Smith, of 
Clinton, New York. 



The first member of this 
HASBROUCK family of whom we have 

definite information was 
a native of Calais, France, who with his family 
and other Huguenots fled from persecution to 
the Lower Palatinate and made their home in 
Mannheim. Among his children were : Jean, 
referred to below, and Abraham, who emi- 
grated to Boston, Massachusetts, in 1675, later 
joined his brother Jean, at Esopus, and with 
him and others became a patentee of New 
Paltz, Ulster county. New York. He died 
March 7, 1717: he married Maria, daughter 
of Christian Deyo. 

(11) Jean, brother of Abraham Hasbrouck, 
died in New Paltz, Ulster county. New York, 
between August 26, 1712, and August 14, 
1714, the dates of the writing and proving of 
his will. He emigrated to Esopus, Ulster 
county, New York, in 1673, with his wife and 
two unmarried daughters, bringing with him 
a certificate of church membership from 
Mannheim. In 1675 he was joined by his 
brother Abraham and two years later, April 
28, 1677, they became patentees of the town 
of New Paltz. Here he settled, and his house 
built in 1712, across the street from the site 
of the first stone church, is still standing; it 
was purchased in 1899 by the New Paltz 
Huguenot Memorial Society as a storehouse 
for relics and ancient documents and to pre- 



serve the memory of the early settlers. He 
married in Mannheim, Anna, daughter of 
Christian Deyo, and sister to the wife of his 
brother Abraham, and also to Pierre Deyo, 
another patentee of New Paltz. Children : 
I. Maria, born in Mannheim, Germany, mar- 
ried at Kingston, New York, June i, 1683, 
Isaac Du Bois. 2. Hester, born in Mannheim ; 
married at Kingston, April 18, 1692, Pierre 
Guimard. 3. Abraham, baptized at Kingston, 
March 31, 1678, removed to and settled in 
England. 4. Isaac, died while serving under 
Captain Wessel Ten Broeck in the campaign 
against Canada, in 171 1. 5. Elizabeth, bap- 
tized at New Paltz, April 4, 1685, married at 
Kingston. June 2, 1713, Louis Bevier. 6. 
Jacob, referred to below. 

(III) Jacob, son of Jean and Anna (Deyo) 
Hasbrouck, was baptized at New Paltz, Ulster 
county. New York, April 15, 1688. He in- 
herited the old homestead. He married in 
Kingston, Ulster county. New York, Decem- 
ber 14, 1717, Hester (or Esther), daughter of 
Louis and Maria (Le Blanc) Bevier, who was 
born November 16, 1686. Her father was 
born at Lille, France, about 1648, removed 
previous to 1675 to Frankenthal, came to New 
York City in 1675-6, went to England in 
1710, where he procured denization papers and 
returned to New Paltz. He married, in 1673, 
Maria Le Blanc, and died before July 4, 1720 
Children of Jacob and Hester (Bevier) Has- 
brouck: Jacob (2), married Jannetje Du 
Bois ; Isaac, referred to below ; Benjamin, 
killed by falling tree in 1747. 

(IV) Isaac, son of Jacob and Hester 
(Bevier) Hasbrouck, was baptized at New 
Paltz, Ulster county, New York, March 11. 

1722, and died intestate before August 5. 
1789, when letters on his estate were granted 
to his two sons. Jacob I. and Jacobus Bruyn 
Hasbrouck. He removed from New Paltz 
to Marbletown and lived in the house in which 
his son Severyn afterwards resided, which is 
still standing about a mile east of Stone 
Ridge: has been lately the home of Alice 
Pine. He married. August ,30, 1745, Maria, 
daughter of Jacobus B. and Wyntje (Schoon- 
maker) Bruyn. who was baptized June 23, 

1723. and died October 8, 1776. Children: i. 
Jacob I., referred to below. 2. John J., bap- 
tized February 19, 1749; married Maria, 
daughter of Jacob A. Hasbrouck. 3. Jacobus 
Bruyn, baptized December i, 1753. at Marble- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



703 



town; married Annetje Abeel. 4. Severyn, 
baptized at Kingston, January i, 1756; mar- 
ried (first) Maria De Puy, and (second) 
Maria Conklin. 5. Maria, baptized at New 
Paltz. February 5, 1758. 6. Hester, baptized 
at Marbletown, August 12, 1762. 7. Benjamin 
J., baptized April 3, 1764, died in 1843 ; mar- 
ried (first) Catrina Smedes, and (second) 
Rachel, daughter of David Hasbrouck. 8. 
Louis, baptized February 5, 1767. 9. Anna, 
baptized June 25, 1769. 

(V) Jacob I., son of Isaac and Maria 
(Bruyn) Hasbrouck, was baptized at New 
Paltz, Ulster county. New York, October 5, 
1746, and died in Marbletown, Ulster county. 
New York, between June 21 and August 14, 
1818. He located at Colabargh, in the town 
of Marbletown, about a mile north of Stone 
Ridge. The property descended to Dr. Josiah 
Hasbrouck ( i ) , referred to below. He mar- 
ried Sarah, daughter of Cornelius and Anna 
Margaret (Hooghteling) Du Bois, who was 
baptized October 4. 1747 (see Du Bois). 
Children: Isaac, born in 1769; Margaret, 
born in 1773, married Dr. William Peters; 
Wilhelmus, born in 1775 ; Jacobus, born in 
1777: Cornelius, born in 1778. married Han- 
nah Van Wagenen ; Jacob I. (2), born June 
7, 1780, married November 18, 1809, Cath- 
erine Knickerbocker; Josiah. referred to be- 
low; Louis J., born in 1785. married Margaret 
\'an Vleck ; Abraham, born in 1787, Maria, 
born in 1789, married Dr. Matthew De Witt. 

(VI) Josiah. son of Jacob I. and Sarah 
(Du Bois) Hasbrouck, was born in Colabargh, 
town of Marbletown, Ulster county. New 
York, and died there. He married (first) 
Broadhead, and after her death, Cor- 
nelia, daughter of Jonathan and Maria (Le 
Fevre) Deyo, of Bontecoe. Only child: Jacob 
Du Bois, referred to below. 

(VII) Jacob Du Bois, son of Josiah and 

( Broadhead) Hasbrouck. was born at 

Colabargh, town of Marbletown, Ulster 
county, New York, January i. 1808, and died 
at Marbletown, August 25, i86_s. He married 
Ann, sister of Dr. James Oliver, who was 
born January 17, 1809. and was living in 
Westfield, New Jersey, in March, 1880. Chil- 
dren : Josiah, referred to below ; Jane Elting, 
married Alex S. Clark ; Mary Cornelia, de- 
ceased ; Elizabeth J. 

(Villi Dr. Josiah Hasbrouck. son of Jacob 
Du Bois and Ann (Oliver) Hasbrouck. was 



born in Marbletown, Ulster county, New 
York, January i, 1830, and died at Port Ewen, 
Ulster county, New York, March 25, 1889. 
He received his early education in the public 
schools and when fifteen years of age entered 
the academy of Professor Charles F. Maurice, 
at Napanoch, where he remained for several 
terms, and then entered the Mount Pleasant 
Academy in Sing Sing, New York. From 
1849 to 1852 he taught school at Marbletown 
and Rochester, and also during a portion of 
that time was the principal of a select school 
at Stone Ridge. He then began the study of 
medicine with Dr. D. G. Perry, of Marble- 
town, and in 1854 entered the office of Dr. 
Moses C. Hasbrouck, in Nyack, New York, 
where he remained for one year, then pursued 
a course of study in Bufifalo, New York, and 
later in Albany, New York, where he com- 
pleted his studies and graduated in June, 1855. 
He then practiced his profession for one year 
in Woodbourne, Sullivan county. New York, 
at the end of that time removed to the town of 
Esopus, and in 1857 settled in Port Ewen. 
where he built up an extensive practice and 
occupied a high rank in his profession until 
his death. He was a member of the New 
York State Medical Society, and of the Ulster 
County Medical Society, of which he was 
the president in 1876. He was a Republican 
in politics, and served as supervisor in i860, 
1864 and 1865. He was appointed loan-com- 
missioner by the governor of New York, and 
held that office for many years. He belonged 
to the Reformed Dutch church and was a 
prominent and influential member there. He 
married, January i, 1856, Ellen Tane, daugh- 
ter of Gilbert D. and Maria (Mabie) Blau- 
velt, of Rockland county, New York, who was 
bom January 17. 1839. Children: i. Gilbert 
B.. born September 30, 1856. died in infancy. 
2. Walter D.. born June 5, 1858. 3. Gilbert 
D. B., born February 19, i860, judge of the 
supreme court of the state of New York. 4. 
John M., born October 22, 1862. 5. Josiah 
(2). referred to below. 

(IX) Dr. Josiah (2) Hasbrouck. son of 
Dr. Josiah (i) and Ellen Jane (Blauvelt) 
Hasbrouck. was born at Port Ewen. town of 
Esopus, Ulster county. New York, April 27, 
1864, and died March 2.S, 1913. He received 
his early education in the public schools, at 
the Kingston Academy, and the seminary at 
Williston. Massachusetts ; then took up the 



704 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



study of medicine at the Albany Medical Col- 
lege in Albany, New York, from which he 
graduated in 1885. He became an interne in 
the Post Graduate Hospital in New York 
City, and also served in the out-patient depart- 
ment of Bellevue Hospital, in the same city, 
and then began the active practice of his pro- 
fession in Somerville, New Jersey, later re- 
turned to Port Ewen and became associated in 
practice with his father, succeeding him at 
his death in 1889, and engaged in the active 
practice of his profession until his death. He 
was prominently identified with the New York 
State Medical Society, and with the Ulster 
County Medical Society of which he was at 
one time the president. He was prominent in 
the public affairs of the town, and at one time 
was president of the Port Ewen Improvement 
Association. He served for one year as a 
member of the Ulster County Board of Super- 
visors, and in 1900 was elected sheriff of 
Ulster county. He was a member of Rondout 
Lodge, No. 343, Free and Accepted Masons, 
and also of Hope Lodge, No. 65, in Port 
Ewen. He was a trustee and director in a 
number of institutions and was a member of 
several clubs. During his term as sheriff 
of Ulster county he made a tour of Europe 
with his brother. Judge Gilbert D. B. Has- 
brouck, and in 1903 he purchased the Sleight 
property, including the ferry at Sleights- 
burg, of which he obtained the control, and 
which showed a marked improvement in 
service and efficiency under his manage- 
ment. He married and had children : John 
Hutton, now a student at the Peekskill 
Academy, Peekskill, New York, and Cathryn, 
residing with Mrs. Klingenberg, at Brooklyn, 
New York. 



The De La Vergne 
DE LA VERGNE family originally 

came from France, 
where the family records go back prior 
to the year 1200. They are allied by mar- 
riage to some of the noblest houses of 
France, among them being those of de 
Clermont, de la Fayette and d'Aubusson. 
They were related to General LaFayette ; the 
older members of the family always spoke of 
him as "Cousin," and at a public reception 
given him in Poughkeepsie, when he revisited 
this country in 1825. special seats were pro- 



vided for them upon the platform. Records 
and, traditions show that members of this 
family were crusaders, that during many cen- 
turies they were a race of brave and loyal 
knights, and that among them were men who 
bore the titles of marquis, count, baron and 
chevalier. It is clearly shown that they have 
always been intensely patriotic, gallant sol- 
diers, and a number of ministers of the church 
are also to be found in the family. 

(I) Dr. Nicholas De La Vergne, the immi- 
grant ancestor, came to this country about 
1720. He had served as a surgeon on board 
of a warship and when mustered out of serv- 
ice, resided for a time in the city of New 
York. Later he removed to Washington 
township, Dutchess county, New York, his 
home being at what is now known as Mill- 
brook ; the farm which is on the west side of 
the road and which runs past "The Inn," is at 
present in the possession of Oakleigh Thorne. 
Dr. De La Vergne was engaged in the practice 
of medicine throughout the county, and his 
son, Dr. Benjamin De La Vergne, and he were 
known as "The French Doctor and the Old 
French Doctor." In 1763 Dr. Nicholas De La 
Vergne was justice of the peace ; and his name 
is found on many of the records of Dutchess 
county. He also held office as probate judge. 
A man of much business ability and fore- 
sight, he purchased and sold large tracts of 
land, his business connections being with all 
the wealthy and well known men of the time 
in the county. His death occurred in the vear 
1782. 

Dr. De La Vergne married (first) in 1737, 
Fannie Warner, and had children : Louis, 
Frances, and Benjamin (see forward). He 
married (second) in 1747, Mary Husted, of 
Washington precinct, and by her had eleven 
children. 

(II) Dr. Benjamin De La Vergne, son of 
Dr. Nicholas De La Vergne and Fannie 
(Warner) De La Vergne. was born in 1742, 
died in 1830, and was buried at Washington 
Hollow. He received his education in Boston. 
Massachusetts, and was engaged in the prac- 
tice of his profession in eastern Dutchess 
county. Upon the breaking out of the revolu- 
tionary war he enlisted in the Sixth Regiment. 
Dutchess County Militia, was made captain of 
the Seventh Company, and commissioned Oc- 
tober 7, 1775. Later he was made major of 
the Fourth Regiment, Dutchess County 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



70s 



Militia ; and his service altogether extended 
for a period of seven years. On May 18, 
1776, he was a delegate from Dutchess county 
to the Third Provincial Congress, which con- 
vened at New York. Dr. De La Vergne was 
also one of the founders of the Dutchess 
County Medical Society, whose first meeting 
was held at Poughkeepsie, New York, in 1806, 
at which he was elected chairman and the first 
vice-president. 

Dr. De La Vergne married, in 1768, Anne, 
born in 1752, died in 1792, daughter of Isaac 
Baldwin, of Hempstead, Long Island, and 
they had children : Isaac, see forward ; John, 
died in 1850; Henry; Anna Maria, married 
Joshua Hallock; Susan, born in 1787, died 
in i860, married Jacob Husted; Alonzo, born 
in 1789, died in 1866. 

(HI) Dr. Isaac De La Vergne, son of Dr. 
Benjamin de La Vergne and Anne (Baldwin) 
De La Vergne, was born in Washington Hol- 
low, Dutchess county, New York, August 11, 
1 77 1, and died in Fishkill, New York, Novem- 
ber I, 1822, having practiced medicine in that 
town throughout the active years of his life. 
He was married three times ; his first wife, 
Mary Bedel, was born in 1769, and died Sep- 
tember 23, 1801. Children: Benjamin, born 
August 12, 1793, died in 1865; Anna, born 
August 28, 1794, died May 22, 1823, married 
Samuel Baker, of Fishkill ; Peter, see forward. 

( IV) Peter, son of Dr. Isaac De La Vergne 
and Mary (Bedel) De La Vergne, was born 
in Fishkill, New York, in 1796, and died Jan- 
uary 16, 1843. He was educated in Fishkill, 
where he became associated with his uncle in 
the milling business. Subsequently he operated 
grist mills at Hyde Park, Napanoch and 
Eddy^'ille. He held membership in the 
Masonic fraternity. He married, March 9, 
1825, Anne Yates, born March 22, 1800, died 
February 29, 1852'. Children: Isaac, see for- 
ward; Alonzo, born March 14, 1829. died No- 
vember 28, i860, married Harriet Vail ; John 
P., born June 4, 1831. died June 20. 1853: 
Mary, born May 4, 1836, died April 20. 1890; 
William Yates, born February 26, 1841, died 
November i, 1869, married, November 4, 
1865, Harrietta Merritt. 

(V) Isaac, son of Peter and Anne (Yates) 
De La Vergne, was born at Hughsonville, 
Dutchess county, New York, January 26, 
1827, and died at Kingston, New York, De- 
cember 12, 191 1. His early years were spent 



at Eddyville, where he was educated, and in 
1845 obtained a clerkship in the general store 
of Thomas Cornell. Two years later he re- 
ceived an appointment as purser on the steam- 
er, "'Norwich." In 1853 he became purser on 
the steamer, "North America," a position he 
held until 1863, when he was transferred to a 
similar position on the steamer, "James W. 
Baldwin." He remained with the Romer & 
Tremper Steamboat Company until they went 
out of business in 1898, when he retired to 
private life, and until his death, made his 
home with his daughter. Mr. De La Vergne 
was a well known figure throughout the Hud- 
son valley. In political opinion he adhered to 
the Republican party, and he was a member 
of the Masonic fraternity, and a charter mem- 
ber of the Rondout Commandery, Knights 
Templar. He married, February 14, 1850, 
Mary Ann Cocks, born January 14, 1829, died 
March 10, 1902. Children: Catherine A., 
born January 7, 1851, died March 24, 1900; 
Isaac C, born September 6, 1852, died Feb- 
ruary I, 1892; Charles H., see forward; Min- 
nie, born October 6, 1861, married, November 
25, 1884, Frank D. Dewey, of Kingston, New 
York. 

(VI) Charles H., son of Isaac and Mary 
Ann (Cocks) De La Vergne, was born at 
Rondout, New York, October 3, 1858. His 
education, which was an excellent one, was 
acquired at the public school of his district, 
and at the Ulster Academy. For a quarter of 
a century he was connected with the Delaware 
and Hudson Canal Company, and then he held 
the position of auditor of the Hudson River 
Bluestone Company until his resignation at the 
end of ten years, when he was called upon to 
accept the still more responsible position of as- 
sistant treasurer of the Kingston Savings 
Bank. He also holds important offices in other 
corporations. He is the secretary and treas- 
urer of the Wiltwyck Cemetery Association, 
secretary of the Twaalf skill Club, and a char- 
ter member of the Kingston Club. He is also 
a member of Rondout Lodge, No. 343, Free 
and Accepted Masons. 

Mr. De La Vergne married. May 11, 1892, 
Anna Field, a daughter of Elijah Du Bois, and 
a lineal descendant of Louis Du Bois, one of 
the original patentees of New Paltz, Ulster 
county. Their children are : Louis Du Bois, 
born March 10. 1893, now a student at Union 
University; and Charles, born August 9, 1896. 



706 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



The name Washburn is 
WASHBURN derived from two simple 
words, wash, which appHes 
to the swift moving current of a stream, and 
burn or bourne, a brook or small stream. It 
has been said of the family, whose origin is in 
England, that the posterity of John Wash- 
burn, the first immigrant of the name to locate 
in New England, "will seldom find occasion 
to blush upon looking back upon the past lives 
of those from whom they have descended. 
Fortunate, indeed, may the generations now in 
being, esteem themselves, if they can be sure 
to bequeath to their posterity an equal source 
of felicitation." In this illustrious family have 
been found some of our nation's greatest char- 
acters in public and private life, statesmen and 
military men in all of the American wars. 
Maine, Vermont, Massachusetts and Wiscon- 
sin have all had governors from the Washburn 
family, and three brothers served as congress- 
men from three states at the same time, and 
all with much ability. Authors and college 
graduates may be found to a score or more, 
who have left their impress upon the world. 
In England a John Washburn was the first 
secretary of the Council of Plymouth, and 
was succeeded in office in 1628 by William 
Burgess ; but it is not known that he was 
identical with John Washburn, of Duxbury, in 
1632 : nor is it known that the New England 
Washburns. the descendants of John, were 
of kin to William, Daniel and John Washbum, 
who had land upon Long Island as early as 
165,^, but they were undoubtedly of the same 
family blood. 

(I) Sir Roger, of Little Washbourne, 
county Worcester, England, flourished in the 
latter half of the thirteenth century. He is 
mentioned in the inquisition of 1259 and was 
livin? in 1299. He married Joann . 

(ID Sir John, son of Sir Roger, was 
known during the life-time of his father as 
John de Dufiford He was knight of the shire, 
and died before Michaelmas, 1 3 19. He mar- 
ried Isabella . 

(III) Sir Roger (2), son of Sir John, mar- 
ried, as early as 1316, Margaret . He 

was Lord of Washbourne. 

(IV) John (2) Washburn, son of Sir 
Roger, was a younger son. He had an 
elder brother, also named John, who died 
without issue, and consequently the estate and 
manner of Washbourne was confirmed to the 



younger son by his father, Sir Roger. He 

married Isabelle . 

(Vj Peter Washborne, son of John (2) 
Washburn, married Isolde Hanley in the 
twenty-ninth year of the reign of Edward III. 
He had sons : John, mentioned below, and 
William. 

(VI) John (3) Washborne, son of Peter 
Washborne, married (first) Joan Musard, and 
(second J Margaret Poher, or Powre, of 
Wichenford. He was knight of the shire, 
escheator, and vice-comes. He was the last 
of the name to own Stanford, and the first in 
Wichenford, and was living in July, in the 
fifth year of the reign of Henry VI. Chil- 
dren: Isolde (by first wife), Norman, John, 
Elynor. 

(VII) Norman Washburn, son of John (3) 
Washborne ; married Elizabeth Knivton. As 
son and heir he had a grant of the manor of 
Washborne from his father in the fifth year 
of the reign of Henry VI. He died before 
1479. Children: John, mentioned below; 
Eleanor ; other daughters. 

(VIII) John (4), son of Norman Wash- 
burn, died in May, 15 17. He was probably 
born as early as 1454. He was a commis- 
sioner. He married (first) Joan Mitton, of 
Weston, county Stafford, and (second) Eliza- 
beth Monington, of Butters, county Hereford, 
who was buried at Bosbury. His will was 
dated May 3, 15 17, and he died May 6, fol- 
lowing. He was buried in Wichenford 
Church. Children of first wife: i. Robert, 
died in the lifetime of his father. 2. John, 
mentioned below. 3. Walter, executor of his 
father's will. 4. Francis. Children of second 
wife : 5. Anthony, of Bosbury. 6. Richard. 

(IX)\john (5). son of John (4) Wash- 
burn, was founder of what is known as the 

Bengeworth branch, and married Emme , 

who lived at Bengeworth, a few miles distant 
from Little Washljourne. His will was dated 
December 27, 1546, and he died soon after- 
ward. His wife made her will May i, 1547. 
Children: i. John, mentioned below. 2. Wil- 
liams, married Margaret Harward. 

(X) John (6), son of John (5) Washburn, 
of Bengeworth, married (first) in 1542, Jone 
Bushell. He married (second) in 1561, Jone 
Whitehead, who was buried in 1567. He was 
buried in 1593. Child, John, mentioned be- 
low. 

(XI) John (7), son of John (6) Wash- 




X_^ f^fc...^ 



-/>UL^ 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



707 



burn, was of Bengeworth, and married, in 
1596, Martha Stevens, whose will was proved 
in 1 626. He was buried in 1624. His will 
was dated August 3, 1624. Children: i. 
John, baptized July 2, 1597, the Duxbury set- 
tler. 2. Jane, baptized December 2, 1599. 
3. William, baptized November 9, 1601. 4. 
Jone, baptized April 11, 1604, buried 1636. 

(I) William Washburn, above mentioned 
as having land on Long Island before the mid- 
dle of the seventeenth century, settled at 
Stratford, Connecticut, as early as 1655, and 
about 1660 removed with his eldest son to 
Hempstead, Long Island, where he was for 
some time engaged in business. He was prob- 
ably well advanced in years at the time of his 
removal to Hempstead. He had sons John 
and Hope, and a daughter Sarah, who mar- 
ried Robert Williams, of Jericho, Long Island. 

(II) Hope, second son of William Wash- 
burn, was associated with his father in busi- 
ness for some years at Oyster Bay, Long 
Island, and settled in Stratford as early as 
1666. He owned a large amount of land in 
the section called Oronoke, in the town of 
Stratford, and removed about 1675 to Derby, 
Connecticut, where he died in 1696. He mar- 
ried, about 1660, Mary, daughter of Francis 
and Joann Stiles, of Windsor and Stratford. 
Francis Stiles came to Windsor as the steward 
or representative of Sir Richard Saltonstall, 
who was active and influential in the early 
settlement of Connecticut. He probably re- 
sided but a short time in Stratford, and most 
of his life on this side of the ocean was passed 
at Windsor. Children of Hope Washburn : 
Sarah, born in December, 1661 ; John, May, 
1666 ; William, mentioned below : Ephraim, 
August 31. 1673; Samuel, March i, 1677, 
and Mary, born probably at Derby. 

(HI) William, second son of Hope and 
Mary (Stiles) Washburn, was born March 8. 
1668, in Stratford, and resided from early 
childhood in Derby, where he died January 
28, 1741. He married, August 20, 1696, 
Hannah, daughter of Edward and Tabitha 
(Tomlinson) Wooster, who died April i, 
1737- Children: Ephraim, born 1701 ; John, 
mentioned below; Edward, born June 17, 
1708; Hannah, 171 1 ; Gideon, 1714. 

(IV) John, second son of William and 
Hannah (Wooster) Washburn, was born in 
1705, in Derby, and about 1730 settled in the 
town of North Castle, Westchester county, 



New York, being among the pioneers of that 
town. He married, in Derby, November 5, 
1729, Sarah Gunn, born April 3, 1713, in 
Derby, second daughter of Sergeant Abel and 
Agnes (Hawkins) Gunn. Owing to the lack 
of vital records in the state of New York, it 
is impossible to trace his children definitely. 
Two are recorded in Derby. It is supposed 
that he was the father of Joseph Washburn, 
Sr., who appears in the census of Westchester 
county in 1790. 

(V) Joseph Washburn had in his family 
three males over sixteen years of age and one 
under that age, according to the census of 
1790. There appear as heads of families 
about the same time, Joseph Washburn, Jr., 
Reuben and John Washburn. Possibly this 
family also included James Washburn, who 
was too young at that time to be the head of 
a family. 

(VI) James Washburn resided in West- 
chester county and settled with two of his 
brothers in the vicinity of Sing Sing, now 
Ossining, in the town of New Castle. Little 
can be learned concerning him, but he is sup- 
posed to have been a farmer. 

(VII) Benjamin K., son of James Wash- 
burn, was born August 16, 1805, in West- 
chester county, and died October 30, 1878, at 
Glasco, in Ulster county. New York. He was 
educated in the public schools north of Port 
Chester and learned the trade of tanner. 
About 1839 he settled near the village of 
Haverstraw, in Rockland county. New York, 
where he operated a large tannery many years. 
In 1867 he joined his sons who were in busi- 
ness at Glasco, and lived retired from active 
business until his death. He married Eliza- 
beth Vail, of Westchester county, March 18, 
1828; she died April 9, 1872. Children: i. 
Uriah, born January 25, 1829, a brick manu- 
facturer at Haverstraw, died September 28, 
1892. 2. Richard, born October 19, 1831, died 
December 3, 1900; was president of the Hud- 
son County Bank, at Jersey City, New Jersey. 
3. Elizabeth, born December 12, 1833, became 
the wife of John Knapp, of Stony Point, New 
York, and died August 25, 1899. 4. Harriet, 
born May 10, 1836, died February 16, 1906. 
5. John T. (q. v.). 6. George W., mentioned 
below. 

(VIII) George Washington, youngest child 
of Benjamin K. and Elizabeth (Vail) Wash- 
burn, was born September 28, 1842, at Haver- 



7o8 



SOUTHERN NEW YORI 



straw, and received his education in the pub- 
lic sciiools of his native town. He was early 
identified with the manufacture of brick, 
working some years in a yard at Haverstraw, 
until he had gained a thorough knowledge of 
the business. In i860, in association with his 
elder brother, John T. Washburn, he began 
the manufacture of brick, in which they con- 
tinued seven years and then sold out their 
plant. They then established a brick yard at 
Glasco and later others at East Kingston and 
Catskill, New York. Mr. Washburn now re- 
sides at Saugerties and is an influential mem- 
ber of the Reformed church there, in which he 
was twelve years an elder. He is a member 
of the Masonic fraternity, affiliating with 
Ulster Lodge, No. 193, of Saugerties. He is a 
director of the First National Bank of that 
town ; vice-president of the Ulster County 
Savings Bank of Kingston ; president of the 
Washburn Brothers Company of New York, 
the Washburn Brothers Company of New 
Jersey, and the G. W. Washburn Company of 
Catskill, New York. Ever since his majority 
Mr. Washburn has been actively identified 
with the Republican party and has been ten- 
dered nomination for member of congress 
from his district, which he refused. He 
served as chairman of the county committee 
and is recognized as one of the leading and 
influential citizens of his section 

He married, in Glasco, January 12, 1870, 
Alicia A. Maginnis, born February 23, 1845, 
died January 7, 1903. Children: Mary E., 
born November i, 1870; William M., May lo,' 
1872; Harriet C, September 5, 1873, died 
February 21, 1903; Catherine F., December 
10. 1875, married Edgar Clark Reed; Carrie 
L., October 24, 1877: George W., July 10, 
1879; Edward A., December 28, 1881, married 
Helen G. Seaman; Richard C., March 24, 
1884; Laura V., December i, 1885. 



(Vni) John Tyler, third 
WASHBURN son of Benjamin K. 

Washburn (q. v.) and 
Elizabeth (Vail) Washburn, was born March 
15, 1840, at Haverstraw, and died Febru- 
ary 18, 191 1, at Tampa, Florida. His edu- 
cational opportunities were limited, and at 
the age of fifteen years he took employment 
in the brick yard of Peckham & Briggs, at 
Haverstraw. and was later employed bv his 
elder brother at that place. Before attaining 



his majority he joined his younger brother, 
George W. Washburn, in establishing a brick- 
yard, in which they were successful from the 
beginning. For seven years they continued in 
business at Haverstraw, and in 1867 removed 
to Glasco, Ulster county, where they estab- 
lished a yard, and became the largest and most 
successful manufacturers in their line at that 
time. Mr. Washburn continued successfully 
in this business until the time of his death. He 
was a most public-spirited citizen, ever ready 
to assist any enterprise calculated to promote 
the public welfare. He was a member of the 
Dutch Reformed church and a liberal sup- 
porter of other churches, and was affiliated 
with the Masonic order. Politically, he was 
a Democrat with independent tendencies, but 
neither sought nor accepted public station, be- 
yond the service as trustee of the village of 
Saugerties, which he naturally accepted as a 
good citizen. A well-read man, he made up 
for the deficiencies of his early education and 
was considered among the most intelligent and 
progressive men of the community in his time. 
No trust reposed in him was ever betrayed and 
he was universally esteemed for his integrity 
and sterling worth. He married (first) Jan- 
uary 28, 1868, Emma A. Searles, daughter of 
Ward Searles, born at Pleasantville, West- 
chester county, New York. Children : George, 
mentioned below ; John T., mentioned below ; 
Emma, deceased, and Ward S. John T. 
\\'ashburn married (second) February 28, 
1900, Hannah Margaret, daughter of Jacob 
and Margaret Engle, of Haverstraw, New 
York. 

(IX) George, eldest son of John Tyler and 
Emma A. (Searles) Washburn, was born 
November 11, 1868, in Glasco, educated in 
the district schools and Saugerties Academy, 
and early in life became associated with his 
father in the brick industry. In 1891 he re- 
moved to Kingston and purchased the brick 
manufacturing plant of the J. H, Kerr Brick 
Company, of which he was placed in charge, 
and on the death of his father, became head of 
the establishment. The concern is now owned 
and conducted by George and Lucien H. 
Washburn. Mr. Washburn is also engaged 
in the freighting of brick to New York. He 
is a member of the Masonic fraternity, the 
Benevolent Protective Order Elks, the Ron- 
dout Club of King.ston. the Albany Club, and 
the Transportation Club of New York City. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



709 



He married Eleanor K. Hutton, daughter of 
William Hutton, of Kingston. 

(IX) JohnT. (2), second son of John T. (i) 
Washburn, was born at Glasco, New York, 
May 13, 1873. He was educated at Sauger- 
ties Academy, then became associated with 
his father in the manufacture of brick, at 
Glasco, until the latter's death, and is still 
engaged in the same business. He is a mem- 
ber of the Saugerties Club, and the Masons. 
He married, December 28, 1898, Maude M. 
MacFarland, of Oswego, New York. 



The surname or family name of 
BAUER Bauer is German in origin, and 
stands for "husbandman." It is 
a name well known in Germany, and in Ger- 
man-speaking lands, and though borne by a 
good many people of modest station has 
nevertheless had a goodly number of distin- 
guished bearers in social, political and military 
life. A great many families bearing the name 
of Bauer or Von Bauer in the old land have 
the right to bear arms. The name was con- 
spicuous among the lists of the early and 
large German emigration from the Father- 
land into America in the last and preceding 
centuries, while in some cases in this country 
it has lost its native orthography and is now 
known as Bower or some similar form. 

(I) Frederick William Bauer, the immi- 
grant ancestor of the Bauer family in Amer- 
ica here dealt with, was born in Schleiz. 
Germany, January 4, 1843. ^^ was a son of 
Frederick William and Sophia (John) Bauer, 
the latter born in Schmaellen Saxe Altenburg, 
Thuringen, Germany. Besides Frederick Wil- 
liam here mentioned there were other children 
as follows : Emmeline, Augusta, Mary, Robert, 
Henry. 

Frederick William Bauer was a teacher in 
the high schools and colleges in several cities 
in Germany and Russia and travelled exten- 
sively on the European continent and Siberia 
until the year 1869, when he came to New 
York City. After several brief temporary 
residences he came to Piermont, where he 
since has remained, becoming first principal in 
the Palisades and Piermont public schools, 
afterward opening the Sparkill Academy, a 
high-class private school which he conducted 
successfully for a number of years until de- 
stroyed by fire. He then engaged in the busi- 
ness of manufacturing jeweler in Jersey City, 



New Jersey, in partnership with William T. 
R. Miller, under the firm name of Miller & 
Bauer, and continued therein for a consider- 
able number of years until the financial fail- 
ures of Cleveland's administration caused him 
to retire. He then engaged in the life insur- 
ance business in the offices of the New York 
Life Insurance Company, where he remained 
for twenty-three years, finally entering the 
service of the Niagara Life Insurance Com- 
pany, where he is now as superintendent of 
agencies. Mr. Bauer has filled many local 
offices of honor; was five times elected presi- 
dent of the village of Piermont. retiring at his 
own wish. He was loan commissioner of 
Rockland county for many years, and has held 
other offices, both political and private, of 
trust and honor. He is a staunch Republican 
in politics, a member of several organizations, 
including the Masonic fraternity. He mar- 
ried, October 24, 1882, in Piermont, Maria 
Lavinia, daughter of John Adrian and 
Amanda (Iserman) Ackerman, born Decem- 
ber 7, 1853, in Piermont, New York. The 
only child was Oswald Ackerman, mentioned 
below. 

(II) Oswald Ackerman, the only child of 
Frederick William and Maria Lavinia (Acker- 
man) Bauer, was born in Piermont, Rock- 
land county. New York, January 13, 1885. 
He attended the local private and public 
schools in Piermont, the Nyack high school, 
graduating in 1902. He then entered the 
Columbia University Law School, completing 
a special extended course of four years. Mr. 
Bauer is a Republican in politics, a Protestant, 
and a member of many fraternal and learned 
societies, including the Masonic and Odd 
Fellows fraternities, the American Historical 
Society, the American Numismatic Society, 
New York Zoological Society, American So- 
ciety of Curio Collectors and Antiquarians, 
National Geographic Society, Rockland 
County Bar Association, the State Museum 
Society, Ohio State Numismatic Society, the 
Lincoln Fellowship, etc., as well as a number 
of patriotic societies. He is a well-known 
collector and an authority on the early history 
of the county of Rockland, particularly the 
aboriginal occupation thereof of which he has 
made a study. He has been for seven years 
a magistrate of the county for Orangetown, a 
member of the town board of Orangetown 
and the holder of many local offices of honor 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



in his home town. He is active in local poli- 
tics and an officer of the executive committee 
of the Republican County Organization. He 
is a practising attorney, having his place of 
business at Sparkill, New York, where he has 
been markedly successful. 

He married, February 22, 191 2, in the 
Dutch Reformed Church at Spring Valley, 
New York, the Rev. Dr. Edgar Tilton, of the 
Reformed Church of Harlem, officiating, Pau- 
line Mae Eckerson, born May 21, 1887, in 
New York City. Mrs. Pauline Mae (Ecker- 
son) Bauer was the daughter of Peter Quick 
and Pauline (Smith) Eckerson. Mr. Ecker- 
son was born in Clarkstown, Rockland 
county. New York, Noverpber 19, 1839, died 
January 10, 1904. He was a prominent law- 
yer in New York City for many years and 
connected with many enterprises of note. His 
wife, Pauline (Smith) Eckerson, was born 
July 31, 1855, and married Peter Q. Eckerson 
in 1876, being his second wife. The children 
of Peter Q. Eckerson were: Frank L., born 
October, 1868; Pauline Mae (above men- 
tioned) ; Pauline Annetta, born March 21, 
1879; William DeWitt, born December, 1889, 
and Peter Q., Jr. Of these, Frank L., the 
eldest, now deceased, graduated from the Col- 
lege of the City of New Y'ork and the Colum- 
bia Law School. He was a young man of 
brilliant attainments and prominent in political 
life, being president of the Harlem Demo- 
cratic Club of New York City and connected 
with many other organizations. 



The original meaning of the 
FLEMMING term or appellation, Flem- 
ing, appears to have been 
a "native of Flanders." That is the meaning 
of the word "Fleming" to-day, and it seems 
quite likely that the obvious meaning of the 
word has been the signification all along of 
the surname, from its origin to the present 
time. There were Flemings in England and in 
other countries at an early date, and many 
natives of the country of Flanders accom- 
panied William the Conqueror in the invasion 
of England and several were in the Norman 
army that defeated the English or Anglo- 
.Saxons at Hastings. Several persons desig- 
nated Flandrensis occur in Domesday Book, 
thus : W^inemar Flandrensis was a tenant in 
chief in county Buckinghamshire, and Hugo 
Flandrensis in Bedfordshire. Walter Flan- 



drensis was a tenant in chief in Hertford- 
shire, Buckinghamshire, and Bedfordshire, 
etc. He "assumed this surname in regard he 
came from Flanders, and assisted William at 
the battle of Hastings. Walter Bek, who 
came over with the Conqueror, had a large 
inheritance in Flanders, and had several lord- 
ships given to him in England; but whether 
Walter Flandrensis and Walter Bek were 
one and the same person does not sufficiently 
appear" — thus runs a statement in Kelham's 
Domesday. There were numerous settlements 
of Flemings at subsequent periods, and Le 
Fleming was a very common surname in Eng- 
land throughout the Middle Ages. Fland- 
rensis is simply the name Fleming Latinized 
according to the custom of the times in many 
documents. Flanders, which is really the 
name of Fleming in its Latinized form, is a 
name well known in America, and the immi- 
grant ancestor was Stephen Flanders, who 
was a pioneer, in Salisbury, Massachusetts, as 
early as 1640, and proprietor of that town 
from 1646 to 1677. He is the ancestor, it is 
claimed, of all the colonial families of the 
name in Massachusetts, Maine, and possibly 
of the whole country. There is a branch of 
the Flemings who intermarried with the Reil- 
leys of New Jersey, and the New Jersey 
Flemings are descendants of Samuel Fleming, 
who built the first house and founded the now 
prosperous town of Flemington, New Jersey. 
Samuel Fleming's wife was named Esther, and 
she was of French descent. In Ireland and 
Scotland the name is well known under vari- 
ous forms, such as Flems, Flemish, Flem, as 
well as Fleming. In England the name has 
been associated with considerable honors and 
distinctions, and has been the family name of 
persons of distinction, who have also borne 
territorial titles of various kinds. 

( I ) Robert W. Flemming, immigrant an- 
cestor of this Flemming family, was born in 
county Kent, south of England, 1840, died at 
Rondout, New York, 1898. He served in the 
English navy in the war between England and 
China, known as the opium war, and subse- 
quentlv settled in Australia. He later re- 
turned to England and came to America from 
county Kent, England, in 1868. settling at 
Rondout, New York. He married Elizabeth 
O'Brien, a native of countv Kent. England. 
Children: Robert W ; Harry Hardwicke, 
mentioned below ; Anna A. ; Thomas W. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



(II) Harry Hardwicke, son of Robert W. 
and Elizabeth (O'Brien) Fleming, was born 
at Rondout, New York, February 13, 1874. 
He was educated in the public schools, and 
graduated from Ulster Academy in 1891. On 
leaving school he entered the employ of the 
Ulster and Delaware Railroad Company, but 
in the year 1899 he commenced the study of 
the law, completing his studies at the Albany 
Law School in 1902. He was admitted to 
practice as an attorney and counsellor at law 
in the same year, and has continued practicing 
at Kingston ever since. Mr. Flemming is a 
member of the Ulster County Bar Associa- 
tion, the New York State Bar Association, 
and the American Bar Association. He is 
secretary of the Ulster and Delaware Rail- 
road Company, secretary of the Cornell 
Steamboat Company, trustee of the Rondout 
Savings Bank, director of the First National 
Bank of Rondout, trustee of the Trinity 
Methodist Episcopal Church of Kingston, 
president of the Central Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association of Kingston, member of the 
State Committee of the Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association of the State of New York, 
and member of the Rondout Lodge, No. 343, 
Free and Accepted Masons. In politics Mr. 
Flemming is a Republican. He married, April 
20, 1904, Harriet N., daughter of the Rev. 
Henry W. and Anna Sherwood. Children : 
Arthur Sherwood, born in 1905 ; Elizabeth, 
born in 191 1. 



The Staples family has been 
STAPLES prominent in Ulster county. 

New York, for several gen- 
erations. David Staples, the first member of 
the family of whom we have definite informa- 
tion, is said to have been the first judge of 
Ulster county. Among his children was 
Stephen, referred to below. 

(II) Stephen, son of David Staples, settled 
in Kingston. Ulster county. New York, in 
1840. and died there. He married Jane Case. 
Among his children was Alva S., referred to 
below. 

(III) Alva S.. son of Stephen and Jane 
(Case) Staples, was born in Marlboro, Ulster 
county, New York. April 25. 1832. died in 
Kingston, New York, September 16. 1906. 
He received his early education in the public 
schools of Kingston, New York, to which 
place he removed with his parents when eight 



years of age, and afterwards, from 1852 to 
i860, he was engaged in the general mercantile 
business there, and a few years later estab- 
lished the flour, feed and grain business which 
he conducted until his death. In 1876 he op- 
erated the Arcade Mills, and developed an 
extensive business throughout the state ; he 
also established a brick manufactory at East 
Kingston, and another at Port Ewen, Ulster 
county. New York. He was for twenty-five 
years the president of the Rondout Savings 
Bank, and for the same length of time was 
one of the directors of the First National 
Bank of Rondout. He was one of the direc- 
tors of the Ulster and Delaware railroad, and 
was president of the Mount Repose cemetery. 
He was a member of the Free and Accepted 
Masons, and was a Republican in politics, and 
a Presbyterian in religion. He married. Sep- 
tember 8, 1856, Mary Stitt Rouse, born in 
1834, died December 18, 1912. Children: 
Carrie S., married John Cadwell : Alvaet^a, 
married J. Wilton Morse; Anne R., married 
B. Morse Tremper ; Seth S., referred to be- 
low ; Alva S. (2), referred to below. 

(IV) Seth S., son of Alva S. and Mary 
Stitt (Rouse) Staples, was born in Kingston, 
New York, August 28, 1868, and is now living 
there. He received his early education in the 
public schools of Kingston, then graduated 
from St. Luke's Academy, at Wayne, Penn- 
sylvania, and then became associated with his 
father in the manufacture of brick in Kings- 
ton, which business he continued after the 
death of his father in 1906, and still conducts 
in partnership with his brother. He married. 
December 7. 1898, Rebecca, daughter of 
William H. and Ellen (Wing) Campbell, of 
New Hampshire. Child: Campbell, born Sep- 
tember 29, 1912. 

(IV) Alva S. (2), son of Alva S. (i) and 
Mary Stitt (Rouse) Staples, was born in 
Kingston, New York, April 24, 1873. and is 
now living there. He received his early edu- 
cation at the Ulster Academy and later was a 
student at Cornell University, at Ithaca, New 
York. He then became associated with his 
father in the flour, feed and grain business in 
Kingston, in which he still continues in part- 
nership with his brother, and also in 1906 en- 
gaged in the brick manufacturing industry at 
Maiden, New York, which he still conducts 
and which he has developed. He is secretary 
and treasurer of the Staples Brick Company, 



712 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



and is one of the directors of the Rondout 
National Bani<. He is a RepubHcan in politics, 
and is one of the trustees of the Presbyterian 
church in Rondout. He married, January 19, 
1909, Cora Matilda, daughter of Albert and 
Matilda (Ostrander) Terry. Children: Mary 
Matilda and Terry. 



The Lamb family is one of the 
LAMB most numerous in England to-day, 
and has been for countless genera- 
tions. To it belong Charles Lamb, of delight- 
ful literary fame, and to it have belonged 
statesmen, lords and gentlemen. Among its 
members are many yeomen, the bulwark of 
England at this time, as they have been in the 
past. In Devonshire and Yorkshire, England, 
it is said that every twentieth person may be 
called Lamb with the certainty of using the 
correct name. Ireland, also, lays claim to 
having many of the name within its green bor- 
ders ; and Germany has hundreds of Lambs 
as subjects. It most probably originated 
among the shepherds who tended the flocks 
in a forgotten era, as it was customary cen- 
turies ago to designate men by their given 
names attached to that of their occupations. 
There are Lambs in every state of the Union, 
and it would be futile to undertake to trace 
them all to one source. The name appears 
among those of the early settlers of the pro- 
vince of New Jersey, and the annals of Massa- 
chusetts show that men of the name landed on 
those wild shores in 1673. 

(I) Edward Lamb, the emigrant ancestor 
of Charles H. Lamb and his sister, Miss Julia 
E. Lamb, was born in Ireland of well-to-do 
parents, and was given an excellent educa- 
tion for that day. In Ireland he entered into 
commercial life as a linen merchant. He pros- 
pered greatly and married Barbara, daughter 
of Dr. Fitzpatrick. With each returning ves- 
sel from the New World he heard stories of 
the wonderful opportunities of that country 
and prepared to leave for it. In this he was 
aided and abetted by his wife, a woman of 
brave spirit and indomitable will. They had 
several children at the time of their embarka- 
tion for America, 1820, and many were born 
after they had settled in New York, in all, 
twelve. He landed in New York, later lo- 
cated in Newburgh, Orange county. New 
York, and began the manufacture of gun- 
powder. He was fast accumulating what at 



that time would have been an immense for- 
tune when he was killed in an unaccountable 
explosion. Among his children was Daniel, of 
whom further. 

(II) Daniel, son of Edward and Barbara 
(Fitzpatrick) Lamb, was born in Newburgh, 
New York, November 14, 1829. His father 
died at Newburgh when Daniel was six years 
of age, and the latter moved with his mother 
to New York City and later became engaged 
in business with an older brother. He moved 
to Saugerties when nineteen years old, en- 
gaged with John Welch in business, and re- 
mained with him until 1864, when he estab- 
lished a hardware business with Mr. Kipp, 
under the firm name of Lamb & Kipp. They 
did a prosperous business for nineteen years, 
at the expiration of which time Mr. Lamb pur- 
chased the junior partner's interest. He con- 
ducted business for over forty years in the 
store now occupied by his son in Saugerties 
He died May 7, 1912, and was succeeded by 
his son, Charles H. Lamb. For sixty-three 
years he was a member of Confidence Lodge, 
No. 51, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
of Saugerties, and held every office in the gift 
of the lodge. He was a Democrat and worked 
indefatigably for the party, but never ac- 
cepted public office, though pressed to do so 
on many occasions. He was one of the most 
highly esteemed and respected men in Sau- 
gerties, and his death was greatly and widely 
lamented. He was a director of the First 
National Bank of Saugerties, trustee of the 
Saugerties Savings Bank, director of the Sau- 
gerties Manufacturing Company, and an at- 
tendant of the Dutch Reformed church. He 
married, in 1859, Ellen, born October 14. 
1838, died August 30, 1908, daughter of 
Charles N. and Gertrude Maria (Post) Hum- 
mel, of Saugerties, and a descendant of revo- 
lutionary ancestry. She was one of the 
brainy women of her day. and a devout mem- 
ber of the Dutch Reformed church. Chil- 
dren: I. Annie, deceased. 2. Julia E., born 
December 17, i860; she is one of the pro- 
gressive and intellectual women of Saugerties, 
and is a member of the Daughters of the 
American Revolution, being a lineal descend- 
ant of the gallant Colonel Johannes Snyder, 
of revolutionary fame. 3. Charles H., of 
whom further. 4. Arthur D., deceased. 5. 
Gertrude M., born August 9, 1875 ; also a 
Daughter of the American Revolution. 




^^y a^t^'ut.^u^^ 




SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



713 



(III) Charles H., son of Daniel and Ellen 
(Hummel) Lamb, was bv..n December 7, 
1862, in Saugerties, New York. He received 
his education at the Saugerties Academy and 
on leaving school became the able assistant of 
his father in the hardware business, which had 
at that time incorporated with it building sup- 
plies. In 1906 he was admitted as partner, 
under the firm name of Daniel Lamb & Son, 
now known as D. Lamb's Son. Mr. Lamb is 
recognized as one of the progressive citizens 
and business men of Saugerties, and is identi- 
fied with the best interests of the town. He 
is a trustee of the Saugerties Savings Bank, 
a director of the First National Bank, and a 
director of the Saugerties Manufacturing 
Company. He married, in September, 1890, 
Clara, daughter of William E. Myers, of 
Saugerties. Children : Arthur D., born Au- 
gust q, 1891 ; Catherine M., June 5, 1899. 



In the year 1677 a commission, 
WOOD composed of nine men, appointed 
by the proprietors to take charge 
of afifairs in the province of West Jersey, left 
England in company with a large number of 
settlers, most of them members of the Society 
of Friends. The company of settlers arrived 
at New Castle (Delaware) on the i6th of 
August, while the commission went on to New 
York to wait on Governor Andros. These 
settlers, shortly after their arrival at New 
Castle, encamped at the mouth of the Narriti- 
con. or Raccoon Creek, where a few Swedes 
had previously settled. 

After many difficulties with Governor An- 
dros, the commission rejoined these settlers 
and proceeded in the discharge of a part of 
their trust. They purchased from the natives 
there several portions of land upon the Dela- 
ware river, the whole reaching from the As- 
sunpink, on the north, to Oldman's Creek, on 
the south. The West Jersey proprietors had 
entered into a contract or agreement with five 
individuals of the county of York, England, 
directing this commission to grant to the five 
persons in question the privilege of choosing 
any one of the tenth parts or shares into which 
the land they had purchased should be divided. 
The representatives of the Yorkshire interests 
chose the land extending from Rankokus to 
the falls of the Delaware, and this portion was 
accordingly assigned to them by the commis- 



sion as the first tenth, sometimes called the 
"Yorkshire tenth." 

This was the first tenth disposed of, and 
was naturally settled largely by Yorkshire 
families. The order of apportioning the land 
to the several settlers was determined by the 
date of the applicant's arrival, advantages be- 
ing allowed to early applicants, and also ac- 
cording to the number, age and condition of 
the persons who were brought to the prov- 
inces. 

Among these early English settlers who 
came to West Jersey there were more persons 
of the name of Wood than of any other. They 
must have been pleased with the scheme of 
settlement as laid down by the commissioners 
and proprietors, and must have made its suc- 
cess certain from the beginning. They were 
men of some estate, as they purchased their 
property rights before leaving their native 
land ; they were men of education, for they 
at once took part in the management and con- 
trol of the new government. Most of them 
were Quakers, and a perusal of Besse's his- 
tory of that sect will show the reason why they 
were so anxious to break up their homes in 
England and brave the wilds and hardships of 
America. 

From 1654 to 1683, persons of the name of 
Wood were imprisoned in the Hartfordshire, 
Lancashire, Yorkshire, Durham and Cumber- 
land jails for attending Quaker meetines, and 
from these sections came most of the Woods 
who settled in West Jersey, of whom was this 
particular family. It is thus not alone in- 
teresting: to know whence they came and 
where they settled ; but also the reason there- 
for. 

William Wood was the first to arrive in this 
new colony. He landed at Burlington, in 1677, 
having come over in the "Willing Mind." com- 
manded by John Newcomb, and in 1680 he 
located thirty-six acres in the town of Bur- 
lington. He was followed in eleven months 
by John Wood, of Yorkshire, who arrived in 
the Delaware, in the tenth month of 1678, in 
the ship "Shield," of Hull, commanded by 
Daniel Tods. In 1682. another John Wood, 
of Lancashire, a Quaker, came to West Jer- 
sey, and settled at Burlington on three hun- 
dred acres of land at the mouth of the Wood- 
bury Creek. He married and had five chil- 
dren. This family always remained at Burl- 
ington. One can consider, then, that these 



714 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



three men were the first of their name to settle 
in this part of the province. 

Later on, a Henry Wood, of Rhode Island, 
moved to West Jersey, and settled at Burling- 
ton, in 1687. He was the son of William Wood, 
author of "New England Prospect." pubhshed 
in London in 1634. Most of the literature on 
the early English settlers of West Jersey con- 
fuses the above two John W'oods and their 
families, and as a number of their respective 
children bore the same Christian names the 
confusion has increased, until it is only after 
long and exhaustive search that we are able 
to distinguish at all accurately their respective 
places in the history of this early colony. 

It is safe to assume that these two John 
Woods were in no way related, and especially 
as they came from dififerent parts of England. 
John Wood of Yorkshire was the only known 
English settler in the county of Bucks, Penn- 
sylvania, in 1678, and some historians state 
that he was one of the first Quaker settlers in 
this country ; but this can be shown otherwise. 

The "Shield" was the first English vessel 
to pass up the Delaware as far as Burlington 
and, arriving in the night, tied up to a tree 
to await the morning. During the night the 
weather became extremely cold, and by morn- 
ing the river was frozen so solid that the pas- 
sengers walked ashore on the ice. 

(T) John Wood, of Attercliffe, in the parish 
of Sheffield, Yorkshire, in the year 1677, pur- 
chased of George Hutchinson, of that place, a 
quantity of proprietary rights, including a 
sixty-fourth share in the province of West 
Jersey, to be enjoyed by him upon his arrival 
there. The ship-book of the "Shield" shows 
that he was a passenger on that boat with his 
five children, viz. : John, Joseph, Ester, Mary 
and Sarah. Nothing is said as to his wife, so 
it may safely be assumed that she died prior 
to his departure for America, otherwise there 
would surely have been some reference to her 
in the ship's book. It is of interest to note 
that Thomas Wood, a brother of John Wood, 
came on the same ship, and settled at Burling- 
ton, New Jersey. John Wood settled tempor- 
arily on lands purchased from Richard Ran- 
dall and John Champion, on Creswick Creek; 
but shortly afterward moved across the Dela- 
ware to a place called Falls, in Crookhorn Dis- 
trict, Bucks county, and settled on a tract of 
478 acres, together with an island lying oppo- 
site the same in the Delaware river. 



John Wood was, with Richard Noble and 
William Ridgeway, a representative of the ex- 
treme eastern end of the county, before what 
was called the "Upland Court," held Septem- 
ber 13, 1681, — William Biles and Robert Lu- 
cas on the bench. The former was the first 
constable at Falls, April 19, 1693. In 1680, 
Thomas Loyd was informed by Benjamin 
Fletcher of New York province : "We have 
received their Majesties' commission for the 
government of Pennsylvania," and on May 31, 
1684, John A\'ood received a patent from 
William Penn confirming the previous grant 
of his 478 acres of land and the island men- 
tioned, made to him by Governor Edmond 
Andros, in 1679. 

John Wood's lands comprised a part of the 
present site of Morrisville, Pennsylvania, and 
had a river-front of one mile His estates 
must have been rather extensive, because a re- 
port of the jury laying out the townships of 
Bucks county, in 1692, bounds the towns both 
of Wakefield and Falls by lands of John 
Wood. He also owned large tracts of land in 
West Jersey. The original Indian title of his 
land in Bucks county was extinguished by 
private purchase on July 15, 1682, at which 
time the name "Grey Stone" was applied to 
his tract. The report that he raised cattle is 
true, for the records of 1684 show that "John 
Wood had cattle in Bucks County." and he 
was also a carpenter. 

John Wood was the only known English 
settler in the county of Bucks in 1678. He 
was a member of assembly in 1682-83. His 
eldest son, John, died prior to 1687, for in a 
deed on that date his father refers to his "only 
son, Joseph Wood." His will bears date 
March 20, 1692; admitted September 12, 
1692. His executors were his son, Joseph, and 
his son-in-law, Isaac Smalley : but as the lat- 
ter did not qualify, the duty of settling the 
estate devolved entirely upon the son. Thus 
the land received from William Penn became 
Joseph Wood's by deed of January 26, 1687. 

It is reasonable to supose that John Wood 
was not a Quaker, for in his will he named 
his son as an executor and in deeds of the 
same year refers to him in the most loving 
and endearing terms, which would not likely 
be the case if a Quaker because of the very 
positive views held by the Friends. Besides, 
his son was baptized in 1691 and entered the 
Baptist ministry a few years later. 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



715 



John Wood's brother, Thomas, who came 
with him from Yorkshire, England, in the 
"Shield," in 1678, settled at Burlington, New 
Jersey, where he married Mary Howli in 1685, 
and by her had two sons and three daughters. 
He was the owner of large tracts of land bor- 
dering Allowaynes Creek, which he willed to 
his wife and children. He died between 1709 
and 1713, his will having been probated in 
the latter year, his son. Thomas, named sole 
executor. This branch of the family seems 
to have died out about 1750, but his children 
were: Thomas, Elizabeth, Joseph, Sarah and 
Martha. 

The children of John Wood were; i. John, 
died prior to 1687. 2. Joseph (see forward). 
3. Ester, married Isaac Smalley. of Piscata- 
way. New Jersey, and had a son named after 
his father. She received 300 acres of land in 
West Jersey, besides the first land which her 
father owned upon arrival, near Burlington, 
New Jersey. 4. Sarah, married Charles Biles, 
a prominent farmer of Falls, Pennsylvania ; 
received no land from her father, probably 
because her husband owned much land and 
her brothers-in-law were less fortunate. He 
died prior to 1692. 5. Mary, married Thomas 
Coleman. 

(H) Joseph Wood, son of John Wood, was 
born at Hull, Yorkshire, England, in the year 
1659. He came to this country with his father, 
in 1678, and settled with him at Falls, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, and was baptized by 
Mr. Keach at Burlington, New Jersey, on 
April 2, 1691. On September 25, 1708, he 
was ordained a minister of the Baptist church. 
Prior to that time he had attended a little 
church at Cold Spring, near Falls, founded by 
Thomas Dungan, of Rhode Island, which 
church broke up in 1702. He also attended a 
church at Burlington, but that church dis- 
banded in 1699. On October 9, 1699, he 
joined Pennepek church, of which he had 
been elected a deacon on October 6th. This 
was the first Baptist church of any note and 
permanency in the province. The name "Pen- 
nepek" was formerly written "Pemmepeka," 
which is the name of a little stream running 
near the place of worship. The house was a 
stone building, thirty-three by thirty feet, with 
pews, galleries and a stove. In one corner 
of it stood the pulpit, and the galleries in the 
opposite angles. The house was erected in 
1707 on a lot of one acre, given by the Rev. 



Samuel Jones, in the township of Lowerdub- 
lin, in the county of Philadelphia, eleven miles 
north of that city. The first preacher was 
Elias Keach ; then John Watts ; then Samuel 
Jones; and, in 1708, Joseph Wood. He was 
reckoned a good preacher, but in the latter 
part of his life his influence was lessened by 
personal unhappiness. His successor was 
Abel Morgan, appointed in 171 1. 

Joseph Wood was a carpenter by trade. He 
received from his father, in 1684, a tract of 
470 acres together with an island. On June 
21, 1703, a patent was issued to him for 664 
acres across the falls, by commissioners of 
William Penn. The original land, from his 
father, he deeded in part to his sons, Jabez, 
Josiah and Benjamin. Benjamin, by will of 
October 25, 1725, divided his share of this 
land between his brothers, Jabez and Josiah, 
and this land, all or in part, remained in the 
family until 1764, when the last seventy acres 
and the island were sold to Adam Hooper. 

He was justice of the peace, Bucks county, 
July 13, 1693, and in 1717 petitioned for leave 
to start a ferry across the Delaware at the 
falls. In some manner he was associated with 
Mr. George Keith in 1691, when the latter's 
followers, known as "Keithan Quakers," broke 
away from the Quaker church through dififer- 
ence of opinion on the question whether a man 
has not within himself the sufficiency for his 
own salvation. He died September 15, 1747, 
and his will does not seem on record. 

Joseph Wood married (first) Elizabeth, in 

1687. who was baptized at Burlington, March 
16, 1700, died May 26, 1704, and buried at 
Falls. He married (second), March 5, 1706, 
Katharine Godfrey, who died about 1729. 
About 1733, he married (third) Katharine 
Siverts, daughter of Cornelius Siverts, of 
Philadelphia. Children: i. Joseph, born about 

1688, died young. 2. Jabez, born about 1690, 
died 1763. 3. Josiah, born about 1691, died 
in 1764. 4. Tabitha, born about 1692. died 
young. 5. Benjamin, born about 1694, died 
in 1729. 6. John (see forward). 7. Samuel. 
S. William. 9. Hannah. 

(Ill) John (2) Wood, son of Joseph and 
Elizabeth Wood, was born at Falls, about 
1605, and later removed to Hempstead,' Long 
Island As the first three of his four children 
were all baptized together at St. George's 
Church in that place, on February 22. 1736, it 
would seem that he did not join the Episcopal 



7i6 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



church until eight years after his marriage, as 
the church would not b?r.^ize children unless 
at least one of the parents was a church mem- 
ber. John Wood registered his earmark in 
1729, and in 1748 he was appointed a justice 
of the peace. In 1754 he was made commis- 
sioner of highways. He was a farmer by oc- 
cupation, and besides acting in many public 
capacities was a man of some prominence. 
Evidently he broke away from other mem- 
bers of his family residing in Pennsylvania, 
for there are no records to show that there 
was any family intercourse as between others 
of his own brothers. He died at Hempstead, 
Long Island, between April and October, 1765, 
and is buried there. His personal estate was 
divided by will dated April 26, 1765, among 
the surviving three children, Hannah, Mary 
and Catherine, with a small remembrance to 
his grandson, Samuel Wood. 

John Wood married, at Hempstead, Long 
Island, August 24, 1728, Mary Carman, 
daughter of Benjamin Carman. Children: i. 
Hannah, born September 7, 1729, at Hemp- 
.stead. Long Island, baptized February 22, 
1736; married (first), February 2, 1763, Ben- 
jamin Barker; married (second) a Mr. De 
Motte ; by her first husband had two children, 
John and William. 2. Mary, born at Hemp- 
stead, Long Island, about 1733, baptized Feb- 
ruary 22, 1736; married. May i, 1775, Daniel 
Ward; died, without issue, November 13, 
1772. 3. Samuel (see forward). 4. Cathe- 
rine, born at Hempstead, Long Island, May 4, 
1738; married, February 3, 1770, Walter Skid- 
more, and died without issue. 

(IV) Samuel Wood, son of John (2) and 
Mary (Carman) Wood, was born at Hemp- 
stead, Long Island, May 6, 1735, died in 1762 
Little is possible to ascertain regarding his 
life, for he died in his twenty-seventh year. 
The tradition is that he was drowned in 
Hempstead Bay. Samuel Wood married, Oc- 
tober 8. 1759, Freelove Wright, and they had 
one child. William, whose name was changed 
to Samuel. 

(V) Samuel (2) Wood, son of Samuel ( i) 
and Freelove (Wright) Wood, was born at 
Oyster Bay, Long Island, July 17, 1760, died 
May 5, 1844. Although originally christened 
"William," on the death of his father, while 
a babe, his widowed mother changed his name 
to that of his parent. He was early thrown 
upon his own resources, and had a struggle 



to gain an education, but his thirst for know- 
ledge and love for books thus aroused induced 
him to elect to be first a schoolteacher and then 
a bookseller. School-teaching yielded inade- 
quate returns upon which to marry, hence he 
tried several callings, living successively at 
Clinton Town, Nine Partners, New York, 
1794; New Rochelle, 1796; and finally remov- 
ing to New York City in December, 1803, 
where he opened a book-shop in a two-story 
brick building at No. 362 Pearl street. At 
first he sold miscellaneous books and a great 
many of the second-hand variety. His busi- 
ness included paper and cotton goods con- 
signed by Almy & Brown of Providence, 
Rhode Island. When these lines proved un- 
profitable, he discarded them and added a 
printing plant, which he placed in charge of 
his two sons, and published books on his own 
account. 

Observing that what little literature was 
produced for children was uninteresting, if not 
in some cases even improper, from a strict re- 
ligious standpoint, he began the preparation 
and reprinting of books and leaflets for youth- 
ful readers. His first publication is said to 
have been "The Young Child's A B C, or 
First Book," a little affair of sixteen pages, 
about three inches square, and written by him- 
self. This was followed by numerous others 
in similar style, most of them illustrated by 
copper-plate engravings, often colored by 
hand. Many of these little books seem to have 
been made for free distribution, as Samuel 
Wood is known to have been in the habit of 
going about with his pockets full of them, and 
of giving them freely to the children whom he 
met. His purpose in this was plainly philan- 
thropic, and the little books abounded in 
moral prose and verse 

. In 1810 he removed his store to larger quar- 
ters at No. 357 Pearl street. In this year was 
brought out his first important publication, an 
edition of Fox's "Book of Martyrs," a full 
octavo, of 611 pages, with engraved frontis- 
piece and a list of over four thousand subscrib- 
ers, in fact, the first American edition of this 
renowned work. At about this time he pub- 
lished a series of readers, following the gen- 
eral plan of "The Young Child's A B C," 
which headed the list, and entitled respectively 
"The New York Primer," "The New York 
Preceptor," "The New York Spelling-bonk," 
and "The New York Expositor." 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



71; 



Numerous books of a religious or devotional 
character, such as books of sermons, memoirs 
of famous Quakers, "Instances of Early 
Piety," etc., were published. About this time 
Alexander Anderson, the "father of American 
wood-engraving," was just becoming known 
and appreciated, so Samuel Wood employed 
his art to embellish most of his books, and in 
some of the old advertisements it is mentioned 
that these are "adorned with cuts by the in- 
genious Anderson." 

About 181 1 was commenced the publication 
of " Wood's Almanac," compiled by Joshua 
Sharp, and this was continued until 1834. In 
1815, Samuel Wood took into partnership two 
of his sons, Samuel S. and John Wood, and 
the firm name became Samuel Wood & Sons. 
In 1818, Samuel S. Wood opened a store in 
Baltimore, which was kept for about two 
years, but finally closed. In 1822 Samuel 
Wood & Sons moved again, to No. 261 Pearl 
street, a property belonging to Samuel Wood, 
and another son, William, was admitted, John 
Wood retiring from the firm. The business 
was increased considerably, and had become 
to a large extent wholesale, all kinds of books, 
as well as stationery, being dealt in. The busi- 
ness increasing yet more, they moved tempor- 
arily to a place in Fulton street, tore down the 
building at No. 261 Pearl street, and erected 
the substantial five-story building, which was 
standing there in 1903. It was at the time 
considered a very large building to be devoted 
exclusively to the book business. In 1836 
Samuel Wood sold his interest to his sons. 
Samuel S. and William Wood, and the re- 
maining years of his life were devoted to the 
philanthropic and charitable labors he had ever 
loved. Samuel Wood was christened in the 
Church of England, but in early life joined 
the "Society of Friends," or Quakers, of 
which religious body he remained an active 
and influential member until his death. 

In company with many of the philanthro- 
pists of his day. he took part in founding the 
Savings Bank, the House of Refuge, and the 
Society for the Prevention of Pauperism. He 
was an active member of these, as well as of 
the Manumission Society, the Society of the 
New York Hospital and other benevolent in- 
stitutions. As a trustee of the public schools. 
he was untiring in his efforts to better the 
condition, physical as well as educational, of 
the children of the city. About 1827 or 1828, 



he observed that opthalmia was extremely 
prevalent among the pupils of the school at 
Bellevue, and that some of them became to- 
tally and incurably blind. Touched by their 
forlorn and helpless condition, he appealed to 
the public through the newspapers, urging the 
adoption of speedy measures for the relief 
of the sightless children of poverty. Dr. 
Samuel Akerly also espoused the cause, and 
to the exertions of these two men the city is 
indebted for the Institution for the Blind. 
From 1839 until his death. May 5, 1844, he 
had been partially paralyzed, and his friends 
believed the end must have been a welcome 
surcease to his activities suddenly stopped by 
sickness. His grave is in the Friends' Bury- 
ing Ground now incorporated in Prospect 
Park, Brooklyn. 

Samuel Wood married, August 8, 1782, 
Mary, daughter of John and Mary Searing, 
by whom he had seven sons and six daughters. 
She was born at Searing Town, Long Island, 
December 12, 1764, and died in Brooklyn, 
June 19, 1855. Children: i. Phebe, born at 
Searing Town, Long Island, July 20, 1783, 
died February 21, 1864; married, July 14, 
1819, Isaac Hatch. 2. Sarah, born July 2, 
1785, died April 22, 1867. 3. Silas, born at 
Cow Neck, Long Island, May 16, 1787, died 
June 30, 1852; married Julia Ann Chew 
Brock, April 17, 1816, at Fredericksburg, 
Virginia. 4. Samuel S.. born at Cow Neck. 
Long Island, May 9, 1789, died September 24. 
1861 ; unmarried. 5. John, born April 20. 
1791, died July 25, 1850. 6. Isaac, born Au- 
gust 21, 1793, died March 25, 1868. 7. Mary, 
born at Clinton Town, New York, July 7, 
1795, died May 17, 1878; married, June 5, 
1823, Dr. Manning L. Seymour. 8. William, 
see forward. 9. Ann, born March 21, 1799, 
died in 1879. lO- Richard, born at New 
Rochelle, New York, January 9, 1801, died 
January 19, 1861 ; married, June 12, 1837, 
Evelina Bridges. 11. George S., born at New 
Rochelle, August 28, 1802, died March 16, 
1865 ; married, May 22, 1845, Eliza Harris, 
of Virginia. 12. Lydia, born August 18, 
1803, date of death unknown. 13. Hannah, 
born December 15, 1804, died September 29, 
1805. 

(VI) William Wood, son of Samuel- (2) 
and Mary (Searing) Wood, was born at New 
Rochelle, New York, May 6. 1797, and died 
April 9, 1877. When Samuel Wood & Sons. 



7i8 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



publishers and booksellers, removed to No. 
261 Pearl street, in 1822, he was admitted 
into the firm. He was always much inter- 
ested in medicine and medical books, conse- 
quently he was active in developing that 
department of their business. He was one 
of the young men who, in 1819, made 
the first movement toward establishing a 
mercantile library, and was one of the 
founders of the New York Mercantile Li- 
brary. He was always a very prominent 
Friend, acting as clerk of meetings, including 
the New York Yearly Meeting, for over thirty 
years, the latter position being equivalent to 
that of bishop in other denominations. To a 
kindly, genial disposition was added a conser- 
vative soundness of judgment and an intellect 
of no mean order. Unselfish, generous and 
self-denying, he was the member of the family 
to whom all turned for advice or assistance. 

William Wood married, in the Cherry 
Street Meeting-House, New York City, No- 
vember II, 1834, Mary S. Underbill. She was 
born September 8, 1805, died April 10, 1894, 
and was the daughter of Joshua Underbill, 
born July 7, 1765, died February 14, 1839, who 
married, October 13, 1789, Mary Sutton, born 
March 7, 1767, died December 12. 1820. 
Children: i. Frederick, born September 9, 
1837, died September 25, 1839. 2. William 
H. S., see forward. 3. Elisabeth Underbill, 
born at No. 37 Vandewater street, New York 
City, April 7. 1842: married, October 21, 1869, 
David S. Taber, by whom: Augustus Fred- 
erick, born January 16, 1871, died June 26, 
1872; David Shearman, born June 6, 1873; 
William Wood, born August 19, 1878, died 
January 22, 1879; Eleanor Wood, born April 
30, 1884. 

(VH) William H. S. Wood, son of William 
and Mary (Underbill) Wood, was born at No. 
37 Vandewater street. New York City, on 
April 13, 1840 He was educated at the Uni- 
versity of the City of New York and at Hav- 
erford College. In 1859 he entered his 
father's business, and in 1865 was admitted 
to partnership, the firm then adopting the 
style of William Wood & Company. Follow- 
ing the policy inaugurated by his father, who 
had retired in 1870, he steadily built up the 
medical publishing business until the firm be- 
came the first in its line in this country. He 
was elected trustee of the Bowery Savings 
Bank in 1872. a manager of the New York 



Bible Society in 1878, and a director of the 
Young Men's Christian Association in 1871. 
On January 15, 1903, he was elected president 
of the Bowery Savings Bank. He became in- 
tensely interested in its affairs, and under his 
administration, as a result of his character- 
istic energy and good judgment, within three 
years of his assuming office, it reached the 
hundred-million mark as to deposits. His 
favorite recreations were horticulture, natural 
sciences and yachting. His death followed an 
illness of about three weeks. 

William H. S. Wood married (first) Sep- 
tember 5, 1865, Emma Congdon. She was 
born January 10, 1844, died November 26, 
1896, and was the daughter of Gilbert Cong- 
don, who married, December 14. 1842, Mary 
Hopkins, of Baltimore, Maryland, a sister of 
Johns Hopkins. He married (second) Janu- 
ary 12, 1907. at St. Bartholomew's Church, 
New York City, by Rev. Leighton Parks, 
Cornelia ( Underhill) Elliott, widow of Wil- 
liam L. Elliott, of Baltimore. Maryland. She 
was born March 15, 1846, and was the daugh- 
ter of Abraham S. Underhill. The children 
of William H. S. Wood and Emma Congdon 
were: i. William Congdon, born at Mt. 
Kisco, New York, July 22, 1866; graduate of 
Haverford College, class of 1887; admitted 
into partnership with his father in the pub- 
lishing house of William Wood & Company, 
in 1890, and in March, 1908, was elected a 
trustee of the Bowery Savings Bank. 2. Gil- 
bert Congdon. born at No. 129 East Sixty- 
first street. New York City, June 21, 1869; 
graduated from Haverford College in 1889; 
admitted into partnership in the firm of Wil- 
liam \Vood & Company in 1891 ; at Green- 
wich, Connecticut, December 18, 1905, mar- 
ried Beulah L. Field, of Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, born July 20. 1880, by whom Beulah, 
born June 23, 1907. 3. Arnold, see forward. 

4. Philip Hopkins, born May 22, 1876, died 
May 10. 1882. 5. Mary Underhill, born at 
Mt. Kisco, New 'York, July 19, 188 1 : mar- 
ried. New York City, April 7. 1908, Merrill 
Edwards Gates, Jr.. attorney, who was born 
at Warsaw, New York. February 2. 1874, and 
was the son of Merrill Edwards Gates, born 
at Warsaw. New York, April 6. 1848. who 
married Mary C. Bishop, born at Rochester, 
New York, Februarv 14, 1843. 

fVni) Arnold Wood, son of William H. 

5. and Emma (Congdon") ^^'ood, was born at 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



719 



No. 129 East Sixty-first street, New York 
City, September 23, 1872. He was originally 
named Edward Arnold, but this was changed 
later. He was admitted into partnership in 
the publishing house of William Wood & 
Company, in 1896, and is the author of 
"Bibliography of the Complete Angler." Later 
he retired from this firm and has devoted 
most of his time to hospital work in New 
York City. He is a member of the Union, 
Racquet and Tennis, D. K. E., New York 
Yacht and Sleepy Hollow Country clubs, and 
the University Club of Philadelphia, as well 
as the Society of Colonial Wars and St. 
Nicholas Society. His residence is No. 42 
East Sixty-fifth street. New York City. 

Arnold Wood married. New York City, 
November 11, 1896, Ethel Hartshorne, who 
was born in New York City, April 8, 1872, 
and was the daughter of James Mott and 
Sarah L. (Taylor) Hartshorne. She is a 
member of the Colony Club and the Society 
of Colonial Dames. Children: i. Arnold, 
born at Winter Harbor, Maine, August 27, 
1899. 2. Congdon, born at New York City, 
April 3, 1903; died there April 10, 1909. 3. 
Louise Hartshorne, born at New York City, 
April 4, 1907. 



The Read family may be traced far 
READ back in foreign countries and in 

America has maintained an emin- 
ence by reason of what its members in succes- 
sive generations have accomplished. Both 
abroad and here the men of the name have been 
persons of standing, and have participated in 
prominent affairs in their communities. The 
name has been spelled in a variety of ways, yet 
all of one clan, and probably the oldest form is 
Rede, in use by the Redes of Troughend as 
long ago as 1542; but changed to Reed later, 
and appearing as Rede, Reade and Read in 
the Barton Court family, while those who 
came to this country preferred to write it 
Read. There exists a manuscript of the time 
of Queen Elizabeth which contains this pas- 
sage : "Ye Laird of Troughend, the chief of 
the name of Reed and divers followers." In 
the Elsdon church at Redesdale is a stone 
tablet above a carving of the arms of that 
family, which have only three garbs, but the 
field is gules as in the Barton Court family: 
"The ancient family of Troughend for above 
eight hundred years," and Ellerington Reed, 



who died in 1829, was the last of the Trough- 
end chiefs. According to this statement, the 
record would establish the clan as far back as 
the year 1,000, for this tablet was placed there 
in memory of the Ellerington Reed who died 
January 5, 1758. 

The founder of the Barton Court line of 
the Reade family was Thomas Rede, son of 
Willyam Rede or Read, who acquired Barton 
Court in 1550. The American family, start- 
ing with Colonel John Read, who was born 
in Dublin, Ireland, in 1668, traces through his 
father, Henry Read, Esq., grandson of Sir 
Charles Read, to this ancient family of Barton 
Court of Oxfordshire, and the progenitor in 
America was therefore in line of descent from 
Thomas Read, Lord of the Manors of Barton 
Court and Breedon, in Berkshire, and high 
sheriff of Berks in 1581, a direct descendant 
from Rede of Troughend. Barton Court was 
attacked by Cromwell's army in 1644, but was 
gloriously defended, for the storming party 
gained access only by applying the torch, 
which resulted, however, in reducing the 
stately pile to a heap of ruins. Barton Court 
is located on the west shore of the Thames 
river, in England, a short distance north of 
Abingdon. 

Richard Read of Culham rectory, Oxford- 
shire, ancestor of the family in this country, 
was the third son of Thomas Reade, who died 
in 1604, and his wife, Mary Stonehouse, who 
died in 1625, and he was the grandson of 
Thomas Rede or Read, first lord of Barton 
Court. Richard Read married Helen, eldest 
child of Sir Alexander Cave, of Bargrave 
and Rotherby, Leicester. His second son. Sir 
Charles Read, born in 1622, died in 1674, of 
Whitefriars, London, and Dublin, married 
Catherine Russell, kinswoman of his cousin, 
Sir William Russell. Sir Charles Read's eld- 
est son Henry married Mary MacMolines, 
descendant of the old Oxfordshire house of 
De Molines, which survives in Lord Ventry. 
Henry Read's only son John was of the sixth 
generation from Thomas Reade, first lord of 
Barton Manor and of the third generation 
from Richard Read of Culham rectory, and 
of the tenth generation from Edward Read, 
in 1439 the high sheriff of Berks. 

fl) Colonel John Read, only son of Henry 
and Mary (Molines) Read, was the progeni- 
tor of this family in America. He was Dom 
in Dublin, Ireland, January 15, 1688, and died 



720 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



at his home in Christiana, New Castle county, 
Delaware, June 15, 1756. 

Before coming to this country he loved a 
beautiful girl, his cousin, to whom he was en- 
gaged; but she died before the marriage day, 
and this largely shaped his future, for he de- 
sired a change of scene that he might over- 
come his grief, and crossed to Maryland, de- 
spite the wishes of his parents. Here he pur- 
chased land in several counties of what was 
then an English province, and gradually ex- 
tended his estate to places in Delaware and 
Virginia. He erected a spacious brick man- 
sion upon his manor, Kinsley, in Cecil county, 
Maryland, which has since been destroyed by 
fire. It is known that he was of a most hos- 
pitable nature, was generous, and fond of 
the hunt. So generous was he that he en- 
dowed the churches in both Delaware and 
Maryland with his land, and throughout his 
career his acts were honorable. Colonel Read 
was one of the original proprietors of the city 
of Charlestown, at the head of the Chesapeake 
bay. It was to his house at Christiana, Dela- 
ware, that General Washington, when a major 
in the army, paid a visit. He was appointed 
by the legislature of the colony one of the com- 
missioners to lay out and govern the new 
town. He held a number of military commis- 
sions during his life, and his whole career was 
an active one. He somewhat resembled his 
English ancestors, being rather full in form ; 
was remarkably handsome, as is known from 
his portraits ; was six feet in height, possessed 
a ruddy complexion and had dark, expressive 
eyes. In physique, he was a powerful man, 
and his intellectual qualities counterbalanced 
his strength. Two portraits of him have 
been handed down ; the one made of him 
when in his youth, shows him in the costume 
which was worn in the reign of Queen Anne, 
and the other, made in middle life, depicts 
him in the wig and dress of the time of 
George II. 

Colonel John Read married, April 16, 1731. 
Mary Howell. She was a Welsh woman of 
charming character, born in 171 1. and died 
September 22. 1784. Her parents brought her 
to Delaware from Wales when a young girl, 
and her father became a planter. Her uncle 
was one of the founders of Newark, Dela- 
ware, and her nephew. Colonel Richard 
Howell, was a distinguished revolutionary of- 
ficer and for eight years governor of New 



Jersey. Colonel Howell was the ancestor of 
Chief Justice Agnew, of Pennsylvania ; of 
Rear Admiral John Gumming Howell, dis- 
tinguished during the civil war; and of Verina 
Howell, who married Jefferson Davis, presi- 
dent of the Southern Confederacy. Children: 
I. George, see forward. 2. William, resided 
for a time in Philadelphia ; removed to 
Havana, where he was assassinated in 1763; 
married Elizabeth Chambers, by whom a 
daughter, Mary. 3. John, became a planter in 
Cecil county, Maryland ; died unmarried. 4. 
Thomas, Commodore, see forward. 5. James, 
Colonel, see forward. 6. Andrew, was a 
planter in Cecil county, Maryland ; died un- 
married. 7. Mary, married Gunning Bedford, 
Sr., lieutenant in the war against France in 
1775, and an active participant in the revolu- 
tion; commissioned major and lieutenant- 
colonel, and was wounded in the battle of 
White Plains ; was muster-master general, 
member of the continental congress, and gov- 
ernor of Delaware ; no issue. 

(II) Hon. George Read, eldest son of 
Colonel John and Mary (Howell) Read, was 
born on his father's plantation in Cecil county, 
Maryland, September 18, 1733, and died in 
his mansion in New Castle county, Delaware, 
September 21, 1798. 

The title "Father of the State of Delaware" 
might well be applied to him, for he was 
author of the state's first constitution, 1776, 
as well as of the first edition of the laws of 
that state. He was in the Delaware assembly 
for twelve years : was vice-president of the 
state, and also acting chief magistrate at one 
time. He penned the address from Delaware 
to King George HI, which so impressed him 
that Lord Shelbourne has said "he read it 
over twice." He was one of the two, and the 
only southern statesman, who signed all three 
of the great state papers on which our history 
is based, viz., the original petition to the king 
from the congress of 1774. the Declaration of 
Independence, and the Constitution of the 
United States 

Hon. George Read received a good classi- 
cal education under Dr. Francis .Mlison. then 
.studied law, and was admitted to the Phila- 
delphia bar at the youthful age of nineteen. 
He removed to New Castle, Delaware, in 
T754: was aDpointed attorney-general of that 
state under the crown when twenty-nine. He 
warned the British government of the seri- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



ous danger of attempting to tax the colonies 
without allowing them due representation in 
parliament, and upon finding no change in 
that nation's attitude towards the colonies, he. 
resigned his office and accepted a seat in the 
first congress, which met at Philadelphia in 
1774. Nevertheless, he continued to hope for 
reconciliation, and voted against the motion 
for independence ; but when he found there 
was no way in which to make the English 
heed their wishes, he signed the Declaration, 
and from that time on was an ardent sup- 
porter of all measures in support of the claim 
by the colonies. He was president of the con- 
stitutional convention in 1776, and in 1782 
was appointed by congress a judge in the na- 
tional court of appeals in admiralty. He was 
a delegate to the convention which met at An- 
napolis in 1786 and culminated in the calling 
together of the convention at Philadelphia in 
1787 to frame the constitution of the United 
States. In this great assemblage he was a 
prominent figure. After the adoption of the 
constitution, which the state of Delaware was 
the first to ratify, George Read was elected 
to the United States senate, and at the close 
of his term was re-elected. He resigned in 
1793 to become chief justice of Delaware, 
which high office he held until his death. He 
was known to the people as "the honest 
lawyer," and it goes without saying that his 
integrity was of the highest, while his courtly 
way and intellectual attainments gathered 
about him many admirers. After John Dick- 
inson had declined to sign the Declaration he 
lost all popularity ; but Read, remaining stead- 
fast to a friend, exerted his influence with the 
result that in time Dickinson was not only re- 
stored to standing, but became president of 
the states of Delaware and Pennsylvania suc- 
cessively, and one of the delegates to the con- 
vention framing the national constitution. His 
portrait may be seen in the historical painting 
by John Trumbull, "The Declaration of In- 
dependence," in the national capitol. 

Hon. George Read married, January 11, 
1763, Gertrude, daughter of Rev. George 
Ross, 'who was rector of Emanuel Church at 
New Castle for nearly half a century. She 
died September 2, 1802. Her brother had 
been attorney-general for Delaware, and an- 
other. Rev. A. Ross, was celebrated as the 
author of patriotic sermons during the revolu- 
tion. A third brother. Colonel George Ross, was 



an eminent judge and also a signer of the Dec- 
laration. She was a granddaughter of David 
Ross of Ballblair, Rosshire, Scotland, a direct 
descendent of the ancient Earls of Ross, the 
progenitor of which family in this country 
was Rev. George Ross, who came to America 
in 1703 as a missionary of the Society for the 
Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts, 
and located at New Castle ; a graduate of the 
University of Edinburgh and the Divinity 
School of that city. 

Arms of Ross: Gules three lions rampant 
argent. Crest : A demi-lion rampant gules. 
Motto : Nobilis est Ira Leonis. 

Children of Hon. George Read: i. John, 
died in infancy. 2. George, held the office 
of United States district-attorney of Dela- 
ware for thirty years ; married Mary, 
daughter of General William Thompson, and 
had issue. 3. William, consul-general of 
Kingdom of Naples ; married Anna McCall, 
and had issue. 4. John, see forward. 5. 
Mary, married Matthew Pearce, and had issue. 

(II) Commodore Thomas Read, fourth 
child of Colonel John and Mary (Howell) 
Read, v/as born at New Castle, Delaware, in 
1740; died at White Hill, New Jersey, Oc- 
tober 26, 1788. He was the first officer of 
that rank in command of the American fleet, 
having been made commodore of the Penn- 
sylvania navy on October 23, 1775, and on 
June 7, 1776, was appointed to the highest 
grade in the continental navy, assigned to one 
of the four largest ships, the 32-gun frigate 
"George Washington" ; but the ship not being 
ready to be placed in commission, he volun- 
teered for land service and was directed to 
join General Washington. Accordingly he 
rendered valuable assistance in the famous 
crossing of the Delaware by Washington's 
army, and following that commanded a battery 
in the battle of Trenton, making use of guns 
taken from his own frigate. Having rendered 
much service by sea and land, he resigned and 
retired to his country-seat at White Hill, New 
Jersey, where, as a member of the Order of 
the Cincinnati, he frequently dispensed hospi- 
tality to former comrades. His friend, 
Robert Morris, having purchased the old 
frigate "Alliance," persuaded him to take com- 
mand and make a joint adventure to Chinese 
seas. His first officer was Richard Dale, 
afterwards a commodore in the navy. On the 
way to Canton he discovered two islands 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



which he named Alliance and Morris, in the 
Caroline Islands group. He arrived back at 
Philadelphia, September 17, 1788, only about 
five weeks before his death. His obituary by 
Robert Morris ended with this thought: 
"While integrity, benevolence, patriotism and 
courage, united with the most gentle man- 
ners, are respected among men, the name of 
this valuable citizen and soldier will be re- 
vered and loved." Commodore Thomas 
Read married, at White Hill, New Jersey, 
September 7, 1779, Mrs. Mary Peale Field, 
widow ; no issue. 

(H) Colonel James Read, fifth child of 
Colonel John and Mary (Howell) Read, was 
born in New Castle, Delaware, in 1743, and 
died in Philadelphia, December 31, 1822. He 
was another son of a famous father who gave 
his best service to the patriotic cause during 
the revolution. He passed through all the 
grades to first lieutenant, and by reason of 
gallant service in the battles of Trenton, 
Princeton, Brandywine and Germantown, was 
regularly appointed colonel. As first lieuten- 
ant he was in Delaney's company of Phila- 
delphia "Associators," or volunteers, whose 
first service was with Washington on that 
memorable Christmas night in 1776 which 
preceded the victory at Trenton. Congress ap- 
pointed him one of the three commissioners 
of the navy for the middle states, November 
4, 1778, and on January 11, 1781, invested 
him with sole power to conduct the navy 
board. Following the close of the war he en- 
gaged in business in Philadelphia, where he 
likewise held public position. He was flour 
inspector: one of four commissioners to settle 
the conflicting claims of Connecticut and 
Pennsylvania concerning large tracts of land 
in the latter state ; member of the select coun- 
cil many years ; director of the City Library 
Company and Bank of North America : presi- 
dent of the Mutual Assurance Company ; and 
a communicant of the First Presbyterian 
Church of Philadelphia. Col. James Read 
married, about 1772, Susan Corey, of Phila- 
delphia, by whom Maria, who died aged 
twenty-five years, and two children who died 
in infancv. 

(IH) Hon. John Read, son of Hon. 
George Read, the signer of the Declaration of 
Independence, and fiertrude Ross, his wife, 
was born at New Castle, Delaware, July 17, 
1796, in the Read mansion. 



He studied law in his father's ofiice, and 
after he was admitted to the bar he removed 
to Philadelphia. President John Adams ap- 
pointed him in 1797 agent general of the 
United States under Jay's treaty, in which of- 
fice he was continued under Thomas JeflFer- 
son until 1809. He published at this time a 
volume entitled "British Debts." His career 
was filled with important activities, such as 
city solicitor of Philadelpha, member of both 
common and select councils, active in defense 
of the Delaware against British invasion in 
1812, state senator 1816-17, state director of 
the Philadelphia Bank by appointment of the 
legislature and later its president, serving 
until 1841 ; an active churchman, figuring 
prominently in the national councils of the 
Episcopal church ; for many years rector's 
warden of Christ Church, St. Peter's and St. 
James's. He manifested humanity and phil- 
anthropy during the yellow fever scourge in 
Philadelphia in 1793 by contributing from his 
purse and exposing himself to attack. He was 
a collector of rare books and fond of litera- 
ture. Sully painted his portrait. 

Hon. John Read married, 1796, Martha, 
eldest daughter of General Samuel Meredith, 
ex-treasurer of the United States, and by this 
marriage allied the ancient families of Read, 
Ross and Meredith. Her uncle was George 
Clymer, a signer of the Declaration and a 
framer of the constitution, while her mother 
was a daughter of Dr. Thomas, sister of Gen- 
eral John and Colonel Lambert Cadwalader. 
Her grandfather Reese, son of Reese Mere- 
dith, of the county of Radnor, was born in 
Wales, 1705, emigrated to Philadelphia. 1727, 
and married the daughter of Samuel Carpen- 
ter, proprietor of the "Slate Roof House." 
partner of William Penn and one of the ex- 
ecutors of his will. Reese Meredith descended 
from the very ancient Cambrian family of 
Meredith to which belong Lord Athlumney 
and Meredith, as well as the Merediths, 
baronets of Greenhills and Carlandstown, 
County Meath. Ireland, was one of the 
wealthiest men of his day. Children: i. John 
Meredith, see forward. 2. Edward, died in 
infancy. 3. Henry Meredith, A. M., M. D , 
graduate of Princeton, 1820. and of Medical 
School, University of Pennsylvania : died 
March 16, 1826, aged twenty-six years: un- 
married. 4. Margaret Meredith, died in in- 
fancy. 5. Margaret Meredith, a woman of 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



723 



rare accomplishments and society favorite, 
died March 13, 1854, aged forty-seven years ; 
unmarried. 

(IV) Hon. John Meredith Read, LL.D., 
son of Hon. John and Martha (Meredith) 
Read, was born in his father's house on the 
south side of Chestnut street, opposite Inde- 
pendence Hall, July 21, 1797, and died in 
Philadelphia, November 29, 1874. At the age 
of fifteen he was graduated from the Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania, and was admitted to 
the bar in 1818 ; was elected to the Pennsyl- 
vania legislature in 1822 and in 1823; was city 
solicitor and member of the select council ; 
United States district-attorney of eastern dis- 
trict of Pennsylvania, 1837, and for eight 
years ; was solicitor-general of the treasury 
department, and attorney-general of Pennsyl- 
vania. 

Although his family had been eminent and 
powerful Federalists, he early became a 
Democrat, and was one of the founders of the 
"Free Soil" wing of that party. He was an 
ardent advocate of the annexation of Texas 
and the building of railroads to the Pacific. 
Although he had actively assisted President 
Jackson in his move against the United States 
Bank, yet after its downfall Nicholas Biddle 
requested him to be his counsel. Judge Read 
was engaged, with Hon. Thaddeus Stevens 
and Judge Joseph J. Lewis, for the defense in 
the celebrated trial of Castner Hanway for 
treason, and his argument was so masterly 
that Mr. Stevens declared he had nothing to 
add for his colleague's speech had "settled the 
law of treason in this country." This gave 
Judge Read an international reputation. 
Judge Read was an ardent anti-slavery advo- 
cate, and presented the following forceful 
resolution at the Democratic convention, 
Pittsburgh, 1840: "Esteeming it a violation of 
states rights to carry it (slavery) beyond state 
limits, we deny the power of any citizen to 
extend the area of bondage beyond the pres- 
ent dimension ; nor do we consider it a part 
of the constitution that slavery should forever 
travel with the advancing column of our ter- 
ritorial progress." It was natural for him to 
become a founder of the Republican party, 
and at the start of the campaign of 1856, de- 
livered his famous oration on "The Power of 
Congress Over Slavery in Our Territories," 
which proved the keynote of that campaign. 
He was elected judge of the Supreme Court 



of Pennsylvania by a majority of 30,000 
votes. The success of Judge Read in the first 
Republican campaign gave him prominence as 
a candidate for the presidency, but this was 
opposed by Simon Cameron, and Judge 
Read's supporters were defeated in conven- 
tion. Although he had thrown his votes at 
the Chicago convention in favor of Lincoln, 
nevertheless there were some delegates who 
persisted in voting for him. He was regarded 
as an able judge, and his decisions run 
through forty-one volumes; he was dignified, 
yet affable and courteous; a man of integrity 
and independence of character. More than 
once were his legal opinions of far-reaching 
bearing. One of these became the basis of 
the Act of March 31, 1863, authorizing the 
President to suspend the writ of habeas 
corpus during the civil war. Another opinion 
forever relieved "Independence Square," in 
Philadelphia, from taxation. He was grand 
master of Masons in Pennsylvania, and grand 
high priest of the grand chapter. This was in 
line with family traditions, for his grand- 
father. Dr. Thomas Cadwalader, was a 
founder of Masonry in that province, and the 
Reads had filled high offices in Delaware 
Masonry. The miniature of Judge Read by 
Henry Brown was engraved by the famous 
expert. Samuel Sartain, and a copy of it ap- 
peared in The London Graphic, accompanied 
by remarks by Charles Reade, kinsman and 
English novelist. 

Chief Justice John Meredith Read married 
(first) March 20, 1828, Priscilla, daughter of 
Hon. J. Marshal, of Boston, who was born 
December 19, 1808, and died in Philadelphia, 
April 18, 1841. Her grandfather was Lieu- 
tenant Marshal, of the revolutionary army, 
and eighth in descent from a captain in Crom- 
well's army who was promoted for bravery 
at the siege of Leicester. Both Mrs. Read 
and her sister, Emily Marshal (Mrs. Otis), 
were famous belles of their day. The chil- 
dren numbered one son and six daughters, 
and only one of the latter survived infancy, 
Emily Marshal Read, who married, in 1849. 
William Henry Hyde, who died, leaving a 
daughter, Emma H., who married George W. 
Wurts, first secretary of legation and charge 
d'afifairs at Rome. He married (second) 
Amelia, daughter of Edward Thompson and 
sister of Hon. John R. Thompson, of New 
Jersey, and Admiral Edward Thompson of 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



the United States navy. She died September 
14, 1886, without issue. 

(V) General John Meredith Read, only son 
of Chief Justice John Meredith and Priscilla 
(Marshal) Read, was born in Philadelphia, 
February 21, 1837, and died in Paris, France, 
December 27, 1896. His earliest education 
was received at a military school, which fitted 
him to enter Brown University, from which 
he was graduated A. M. in 1859 ; subsequently 
at the Albany Law School of Union Uni- 
versity, LL. B. He studied civil and interna- 
tional law in Europe, and was admitted to 
the bar in Philadelphia, but removed to Al- 
bany. At the age of twenty he was appointed 
aide-de-camp to the governor of Rhode 
Island, with rank of colonel. In the presi- 
dential campaigns of 1856 and i860 he was 
active, in the latter organizing the "Wide 
Awake" movement in New York, which car- 
ried that state for Lincoln. When twenty- 
three he was appointed adjutant-general of 
New York state, with rank of brigadier-gen- 
eral. When Fort Sumter was fired on, he was 
made chairman of a committee of three to 
draft a bill appropriating $3,000,000 for pur- 
chase of arms and ammunition, and he re- 
ceived the thanks of the War Department for 
his "energ}', ability and zeal" for his service 
in organizing troops during the civil war. Gen- 
eral Read was active in the election of Gen- 
eral Grant to the presidency in 1868, and the 
latter appointed him consul-general for 
France and Algeria, with residence in Paris. 
He also acted as consul-general in Germany 
during the Franco-Prussian war, directing all 
consular affairs of the German empire in 
France for nineteen months, and was conse- 
quently present throughout the sieges of 
Paris in both 1870 and in 1871, for which 
service he received the commendation of 
President Grant and the thanks of both the 
French and German nations. Although the 
emperor took steps to confer upon him an 
order of knighthood, that of the Red Eagle, 
and make a handsome gift, a splendid vase 
with inscription, and other ornaments of 
Dresden China, because of one vote Congress 
failed to allow the reward. The French min- 
ister of war invited him to preside over a 
commission to determine the expediency of 
introducing the English language in the 
French army and the French government 
thanked him for his action. General Read 



was the guest of the then Prince and 
Princess of Wales, at Sandringham, a num- 
ber of times and a constant guest of theirs 
on their yacht, the "Osborn." On one of 
these occasions a dinner was given by the 
Princess to General Read and royalty be- 
ing present she asked him to waive the prece- 
dency and let the general take her into dinner, 
which he did. The next distinction conferred 
upon General Read was his appointment as 
United States minister to Greece, and his in- 
terest in promoting commercial relations se- 
cured from King George his personal endur- 
ing friendship, while the United States ac- 
knowledged the benefits of his mission after 
his resignation. Because of his untiring ef- 
forts in pleading the cause of Greece before 
the courts of Europe, resulting in the return 
to Greece by the Berlin Congress of her an- 
cient possessions. King George created Gen- 
eral Read a Knight Grand Cross of the Order 
of the Redeemer, the highest dignity in the 
gift of the Greek government. His services 
during the Rebellion received recognition by 
his being named honorary companion of the 
Military Order of the Loyal Legion. Upon 
his return to the United States in 1874, ban- 
quets were given in his honor in Washington. 
Philadelphia, New York and Albany, and no 
less courtesy was shown to him at the hands 
of Queen \'ictoria and the royal household. 

The literary and scientific services he ren- 
dered brought forth the thanks of the United 
States Department of State, the National 
.Academy of Design, of the English East 
India Company, the Russia Company, the So- 
ciety of Antiquaries, the Archaeological So- 
ciety of Greece and the French Academy. He 
was chosen president of the American Social 
Science Congress at .\lbany in 186S, and vice- 
president of the British congress of the same, 
Plymouth, 1870. He joined the Masonic fra- 
ternity and attained the thirty-second degree. 
In his spare time he devoted himself to 
authorship, writing a studious book entitled 
"An Important Historical Inquiry Concerning 
Henry Hudson, Discoverer of the Hudson 
River," and was the author of many public 
addresses, reports and learned papers. He 
also wrote a very learned book in two volumes 
called "Historic Studies in \^aud. Berne and 
Savoie" : manv of his writings remain unpub- 
lished. 

General John Meredith Read married, at 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



725 



Albany, New York, April 7, 1859, Delphine 
Marie, daughter of Harmon Pumpelly and 
Delphine Drake. She was born in Owego, 
New York, April 6, 1833, and died at No. 128 
Rue La Boetie, Champs Elysees, Paris, 
France, May 28, 1902. She was present with 
her husband throughout the two sieges of 
Paris, and held herself most courageously. 
Her father, Harmon Pumpelly, was born in 
Salisbury, Connecticut, August i, 1795, and 
died in Albany, September 28, 1882. He was 
a foremost citizen of the latter city, where he 
was president of the Albany Savings Bank, 
the Albany Insurance Company and the Al- 
bany Gaslight Company, the three largest in- 
stitutions in the city, and was senior warden 
of St. Peter's Episcopal Church there. He 
married, at Owego, November 16, 1830, Del- 
phine Drake, born in Owego, April 11, 1811; 
died there, February 27, 1839, daughter of 
Judge John Reuben Drake (born in Pleasant 
Valley, New York, November 28, 1782, died 
in Owego, March 24, 1857) and his wife, 
Jerusha Roberts. Harmon Pumpelly was the 
son of John Pumpelly, who married Hannah 
Bushnell, of Salisbury, Connecticut, her birth, 
1756; death, Owego, December 31, 1832, 
daughter of Captain Samuel Bushnell from 
Saybrook. John Pumpelly was born in 1727, 
and died at Danby, Broome county. New 
York, July 11, 1819. He was an active par- 
ticipant in the colonial wars, enlisting as a 
drummer boy September 15, 1755, in Captain 
John Loring's company of His Majesty's 
Foot, and serving until December 17, 1755. 
He re-enlisted time and again, and made the 
entire campaign of the French and Indian 
war. For his bravery in carrying despatches 
in the Lake George region to Fort William 
Henry when the place was filled with savage 
hordes, he was made a sergeant ; was one of 
the Crown Point expedition and a member of 
Rogers' Rangers ; was present at the siege of 
Louisburg, and at the side of General Wolfe 
when he fell on the Heights of Abraham, 
1759. At the time of the battle of Saratoga 
against Burgoyne, October, 1777, he was com- 
missary. 

General John Meredith Read and Delphine 
Marie Pumpelly had four children : Harmon 
Pumpelly, Emily Meredith, John Meredith, 
Marie Delphine Meredith. 

(VI) Major Harmon Pumpelly Read, old- 
est child of General John Meredith and Del- 



phine Marie (Pumpelly) Read, was born at 
Albany, New York, July 13, i860. 

His earliest education was received in the 
schools of Paris, France, and Athens, Greece, 
following which he attended St. John's Mili- 
tary School at Sing Sing, and then entered 
Trinity College, at Hartford, Connecticut. He 
has devoted much time to writing, and has 
contributed books which exhibit indefatigable 
historical research. He is the author of the 
large and handsomely prepared volume "Ros- 
siana," which is an exhaustive history of the 
Ross, Read and co-related families. Being 
the highest authority on symbolism and her- 
aldry in the United States, his contributions 
of a number of reliable papers have been 
found of great value to the fraternity. In 
Masonry he has long been deeply interested, 
and has attained the thirty-second degree, 
Scottish Rite, and captain-general. Knights 
of the Golden Cord, Ancient French Rite. 
As one of the most learned members of the 
craft, his advice is frequently sought. His 
father received the highest degree of Scottish 
Rite Masonry, the thirty-third degree, in 
Greece. In politics, he has been an ardent 
supporter of the Republican party. He was a 
candidate for member of the assembly; but 
residing in a strongly Democratic district was 
defeated, although he received an unusually 
large and very flattering vote. His commis- 
sion as inspector of rifle practice of the state 
of New York brought to him the rank of 
major, and enlisted his interest in military 
affairs. He is the first national guard of- 
ficer to receive official recognition as such in 
France. He was acting chairman of the com- 
mittee appointed by Mayor John Boyd 
Thacher, of Albany, to welcome and entertain 
the Duke de Veragua when he visited the city 
during his travels in the year of the Colum- 
bian Exposition, and was secretary of the 
committee to receive the Postal Congress. 
When he was president of the Young Men's 
Association, it received the munificent Har- 
manus Bleecker fund which permitted the 
erection of the largest hall in Albany, named 
in honor of the donor. For three years he 
was regent of Philip Livingston Chapter, 
Sons of the Revolution ; has been a valued 
officer of the Knights of Albion as captain 
and governor-general; is a member of the 
Order of the Cincinnati of Delaware, Descen- 
dants of the Signers, of the Mayflower De- 



SOUTHERN NEW YORK 



726 

scendants, of the Order of Colonial Wars, the 
Historical Society of Pennsylvania, a New 
York Fellow of the Royal Geographical So- 
ciety of London and of the Geographical So- 
ciety of Paris. 

Major Harmon Pumpelly Read married, at 
St. John's Church, Stamford, Connecticut, 
August 24, 1889, Rev. W. Tatlock, D. D., of- 
ficiating, M'lle Marguerite de Carron d'Allon- 
dans, of distinguishel French lineage. Her 
father. Monsieur Jacques Frederic de Carron 
d'Allondans, born in 1835, died in 1870; 
municipal councillor, married. October. 1865, 
Catherine Marguerite Pillard, and he was the 
son of Monsieur Georges Frederic de Carron 
d'Allondans, warden of the Lutheran church, 
municipal councillor, a man of fine character 
and well respected. 

(VI) Emily Meredith Read, daughter of 
General John Meredith and Delphine Marie 
(Pumpelly) Read, was born in Albany, New 
York, January 7. 1863. She married, at her 
father's residence. Newport. Rhode Island, 
August 21, 1884, Hon. Francis Aquilla Stout, 
of New York City, president of the Nica- 
ragua Canal Company, "Father of the New 
York state survey." Francis A. Stout was 
born October 21, 1833, and died July 18, 1892. 
He was the son of Aquilla Giles Stout (born 
January 22, 1799, died June. 1858), who mar- 
ried. May 24, 1827, Anne Morris (born 
1806, died July 2. 1900), daughter of Lieu- 
tenant William Walton Morris, U. S. A., and 
his wife, Sarah Carpender, granddaughter of 
Colonel Lewis Morris, a signer of the Dec- 
laration of Independence. He was a man of 
good executive ability, fond of art in every 
form, had traveled extensively, and his kindly, 
humanitarian ways found often their expres- 
sion in quiet philanthropy. She married 
(second) at Paris. France, Edwards Spencer, 
a descendant of Jonathan Edwards. Her city 
house is at No. 11 West Sixteenth street, and 
her country seat is Shipton Court. Lenox. 
Massachusetts. 

(VI) John Meredith Read, son of Gen- 
eral John Meredith and Delphine Marie 
(Pumpelly) Read, was born in Albany, New 
York. June 27. 1869. During the Spanish- 
American war he recruited a regiment of 
2.700 men, fully a third of whom were from 
Albany and possessed a patriotic spirit, and 
many of them saw fighting in Cuba during the 
summer of 1898. He is a member of the his- 



torical societies of New York and Pennsyl- 
vania, of the Sons of the Revolution, and 
various other organizations, including the 
Masonic fraternity. He married, at Rome, 
Italy, in 1900. Countess Alix de Foras 
( daughter of Count Amede de Foras, of the 
Castle of Thuyset), who was born at Thuyset, 
in 1866; by whom: John Meredith (4), born 
at Pontoise, November 12, 1901, presented to 
deputy mayor. November 15. 1901. 

(VI) Marie Delphine Meredith Read, 
daughter of General John Meredith and Del- 
phine Marie (Pumpelly) Rea