(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Genealogical and family history of the state of New Hampshire : a record of the achievements of her people in the making of a commonwealth and the founding of a nation"

jittbrarg oi 







oi 
Ncnt i^atnfKS litre 







jA^ <i \^^ x j(]yy L naJtviS" 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY 

HISTORY 



OF THE 



STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE 



A RECORD OF THE ACHIEVEMENTS OF HER PEOPLE IN THE MAKING OF A 
COMMONWEALTH AND THE FOUNDING OF A NATION 



Compiled Under the Editorial Supervision of 
EZRA S. STEARNS 

Ex-Secretary of State; Member American Antiquarian Society, New England Historic-Genealogical 

Sogiety, New Hampshire State Historical Society; Corresponding Member Minnesota 

State Historical Society; Member Fitchburg Historical Society 

ASSISTED BY 
WILLIAM F. WHITCHER 

Trustee New Hampshire State Library, Member New Hampshire State Historical Society and New 

England Methodist Historical Society 

AND 
EDWARD E. PARKER 

Judge of Probate, Nashua 



VOL. II 



ILLUSTRATED 



THE LEWIS PUBLISHING COMPANY 

New York Chicago 

1908 




NEW HAMPSHIRE 



CM 
O 



This name is found under many 
COCHRAN spellings in the early records of 
New England, some of which are 
still retained by members of the family, including 
Cofran, Cofren and Cochrane. The name originated 
in Ayrshire, Scotland, and the ancestors of those in 
America have been traced to the village of Ayr, in 
that county. 

( I ) Deacon John Cochran, the first of whom 
record is here known, was a resident of northern 
Ireland, and was a forerunner of the original colon- 
ists that came in several vessels to American shores 
from the vicinity of Londonderry, Ireland, late in 
the year of 1718, and settled Londonderry, New 
Hampshire, in the spring of 1719. His name is 
found with numerous others on a petition to the 
general court of Massachusetts for a grant of land, 
bearing date of March 26, 1718. He had sons. James 
and John. 

(II) James, elder son of Deacon John Cochran, 
settled in the town of Pembroke, New Hampshire, 
about 1750. His sous were: Joseph, William, 
James, Samuel and John. 

(III) Major James, third son of James (1) 
Cochran, was born 1743, and died January 23, 1815, 
in Pembroke. He married Mary McDaniel, who 
was born in 1744. and died June 23, 1822, having 
survived her husband seven and one-half years. 
Their children were: James, Sally, Nehemiah, Mary, 
I >aniel, Jennie, John, Patty, Robert and Nancy. 

(IV)" Nehemiah, second son and third child of 
Major James (2) and Mary (McDaniel) Cochran, 
was born March 7, 1772, and died November 2r, 
[832, in Pembroke. He was married November 25, 
17(13. to Joanna Norris, who was born February 23, 
1 777. Their children were: Sally, Polly, James, 
Norris, John, Joanna, Dolly Doc, Mehitablc, Peame, 
Thomas, Nancy, Lucy, Ann and Jeremiah. 

(\ I Dolly Doe, daughter of Nehemiah and 
Joanna (Norris) Cochran, born March 6, rSos, be- 
came the wife of Mathew Gault (see Gault, IV). 

"This family of Barct, Barret or 
BARRETT Barrett, as 'the name is variously 

spelt, is of a very ancient and re- 
spectable account in this Kingdom. The ancestor 
of it is recorded in the Battle Abbey roll, as one 
of those who came over with William, Duke of 
Normandy, and was at the fatal battle of Hastings 
in 1066. His descendants spread themselves over 



almost every part of Britain and Ireland." — Has- 
ted's History of Kent. 

This family was among the early ones of Massa- 
chusetts, as well as in New Hampshire and Ver- 
mont, and has spread over a large extent of the 
United States. It has borne an honorable part in 
the development of the industries and institutions 
of the nation, and the stern character of the Puri- 
tans has been imparted to many of their descend 
ants. 

(I) Thomas Barrett, the emigrant ancestor of 
a numerous family, was one of three of the many 
who early emigrated to New England. He lived a 
few years in Braintree, Massachusetts, where he was 
made a freeman in 1645, and thence removed, about 
1660, to Chelmsford, where he died October 6, 166S. 
Margaret, his widow, survived him nearly thirteen 
years, dying July 8, 1681. Their children included: 
John, Thomas, Mary and Joseph. 

(II) John, eldest child of Thomas and Margaret 
Barrett, was born about 1630, probably in England, 
and was a grantee of land in Chelmsford in 1679. He 
was a lieutenant in the military service, mill owner 
and proprietor of a large tract of land, and was 
evidently an important man in his town. His wife 
was Sarah, whose maiden name is not of record. He 
died May 9, 1706. His children were: John, Jona- 
than, Lydia, Samuel, Mary, Margaret, Joseph and 
Sarah. 

(III) Jonathan, second son and child of John 
and Sarah Barrett, was a native of Chelmsford and 
probably passed his life in that town. The records 
shows that be married Sarah Learned, daughter of 
Isaac and Mary (Stevens) Learned. She was born 
t Ictober 3. 1663, and died January II, 1695. He was 
married (second), June 26, [696, to Abigail Weston, 
who died October 19, 170(1. He married (third) 
Abigail (Wilson) Hildreth. widow of Joseph Hil- 
dreth. His children were: Hannah, Mary. Jonathan, 
Deliverance, Experience, Rachael, Bridget, Benja 
min and John. 

(IV) Benjamin, eldest son and eighth child of 
Jonathan Barrett, and youngest child of his second 
wife, Abigail Weston, was born February 14, 1 705. 
in Chelmsford and was a soldier in the Louisburg 
Expedition in 1745. He died. November 13, 1745. 
in that service or immediately after his return. 
His wife Elizabeth Farner. was bom March 27, 
1712, in Billerica, Massachusetts, daughter of Ed- 
ward and Mary (Richardson) Farner. Their club 



4 66 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



dren were: Elizabeth (died young), Benjamin, 
Ruth, Mary, Lydia, Christopher and Elizabeth. 

(V) Christopher, youngest son and sixth child 
of Benjamin and Elizabeth (Farner) Barrett, was 
born February 6, 1739, in Chelmsford and resided 
in that town. He was married September 6, 1764, to 
Mary Clark, and their children were: Zebulon, Ben 
jamin, John, Sybel, Ebenezer, .Mary, William and 
Samuel." (Mention of Benjamin and descendants 
appears in this articli 1. 

(VI) Zebulon, eldest child of Christopher and 
Mary (Clark) Barrett, was born February 9, 1776, 
in Chelmsford. He resided for some time in Ashby, 
Massachusetts, and passed his last days in Stod- 
dard, New Hampshire, where he died. 

(VII) Luther, son of Zebulon Barrett, was born 
in Ashby, March 14. 1708, and settled in Stoddard, 
Xew Hampshire. He married, January 25, 1821, 
Mary (.rem, ni" Chelsea, daughter of Linsford and 
Julia (Ingraham) Green. She was born in 1803. 

(VIII) William Allen, son of Luther and Mary 
(Green) Barrett, was born in Stoddard. July 15, 
1826. He began the activities of life as a farmer 
and was later employed at the glass factory in his 
native town. He acquired a" knowledge of brick- 
making in Rutland. Vermont, and Plaistow, New 
Hampshire, and in 1857 established himself in that 
business in Keene, bis plant being located on Rox- 
luiry street. Early in the Civil war period he en- 
listed as a private in Company G, Fourteenth Regi- 
ment, New Hampshire Volunteer Infantry, which 
was first assigned to guard duty at the National 
Capital. It was afterwards ordered to the Depart- 
ment of the Gulf under General Butler, participat- 
ing in the important military operations around 
New Orleans, and wa finallly sent to Virginia, 
where it took part in the famous Shenandoah Val- 
ley campaign under General Sheridan. The Four- 
teenth Regiment was mustered out in 1865 with 
an honorable record for long and continuous active 
service in the field. Returning to Keene, Mr. Bar- 
rett resumed the manufacture of brick at his Rox- 
bury street yard, but in [868 removed to lower Main 
street, where he continued to transact an extensive 
and profitable business for the succeeding thirty 
years, or until [898, when he retired. His death 
occurred in Keene, September 7. 1904. and In- n 
moval fn m the business circles, where he was held 
in (lie higlust esteem, was deeply regretted h> bis 
associates. lie married Maria Freidenburgh and 
had a Family of -i\ children: Ida L., Frank A.. 
! red. Eugene, Charles L, Kate M. and May L. 

i]\i Fred. Eugene, second son and third child 
of William A. and Maria (Freidenburgh) Barrett, 
was born in Keene. March 4, 1857. Having con 
eluded bis attendance al* the public schools he 
MM. iid tlie emploj oi In- father, but withdrew three 
years later to accept a clerkship in the grocery Store 
of John M. Farnam and was subsequently em- 
pli iyed hi I hi inn Inn 1 1 1 rade by W. and T. J. 
French. About the year [881 be entered thi 
ernment service as a clerk in the Keene postoffice; 
was advanced to the position of assistant postmaster 
two years later, retaining it for eight years; ami in 
.\:is appointed postmaster by President Harri- 
son, 111 which capacity lie s, rved with unquestion 
atisfaction until the expirati in of bis term in 
1895 From the latter year to the present time be 
has devoted bis time and energies exclusively to 
the management of the L. J. Colony Chair Com- 
pany, one of the important industrial enterprises of 
Keene. and that concern has profited in no small 
measure from his business ability. 



1 1 a number of years Mr. Barrett was con- 
nected with the Xew Hampshire National Guard 
and rose from the ranks to the command of Com- 
pany 11. Second Regiment. He served with credit 
in Keene's common council two years, was a mem- 
ber of the board of aldermen for the same length 
of time, and in politics is a Republican. In the 
Masonic Order be is far advanced, having served 
as worshipful master of the Lodge of the Temple; 
as king in Cheshire Chapter, Royal Arch; as thrice 
illustrious master of St. John's Council, Royal and 
Select Masters; and as eminent commander of 
Hugh de Payne Commandery, Knights Templar. 
He is a charter member of the Roaring Brook 
Lodge, Knights of Pythias, and 1 f tlu' Country Club. 
On June 5. 1895, he married Fanny Blake Colony, 
of Keene, whose line of descent is as follows: 

1 1 ) John Colony, a native of Kilkenny. Ireland, 
emigrated to Xew England in 17.30. settling in 
Keene. 

(II) Timothy, son of John Colony, was born in 
Keene, April =;, 1764, and died there August 29, 
[836. 

(III) Joshua Durant, son of Timothj Colony, 
was born in Keene, December 21, 1804. lie married 
Frances Seamans Blake. He died March 28, 1801. 

(IV) < iscar L., son of Joshua D. and Frances S 
(Blake) Colony, was born in Keene. August 28, 
1840, and is still living. His wife was before mar- 
riage Emma Frances Lewis, and their daughter, 
Fannie B., married Frederick E. Barrett, as pre- 
via usly mentioned. Mr. and Mrs. Barrett have two 
daughters, Phyllis B., born April [9, 190.2, and 
Frances M., born September _>_>, 1904. 

(VI) Benjamin (2), second son and child of 
Christopher Barrett, was born May 2~, 1707, in 
Chelmsford, and lived many years in Vershire, 
Winn in. Late m life he had a home a few 3 
wib In, -on William in Lisbon. Xew Hampshire, 
and died ill 1801. at the home of his daughter Mary 
(Barrett) Smith, in Woodbury, Vermont. He mar- 
ried \1111a Lovell, and their children were: Hen 
jamin, G< rgi Diantha, Jerusha, Luanda, Cynthia 
.id William, 'file second daughter married M 
Thurston Conant, and the third was the wife of 
Harrison Smith. 

i\lli Benjamin (3), eldest child of Benjamin 
( _• ) and Anna (Lovell) Barrett, was bom in No 
vember, t8oo, probably in Vershire, Vermont. He 
resided for several years in Lisbon. New 1 Limp 
shire, and seven of his children were born there. 
He removed thence to Woodbury. Vermont, 1 1 
lliug on a farm on the border of that town ad 
joining Hardwick. He engaged in clearing land 

anil lumbering, and died from injuries received 
while felling trees in the woods, his death occurring 
February 18 [854, on the anniversary of his mar 
riage. He was married February 18. 1820, to 
\ enath Ordway, who was born in April. 1800. 
probably in Chester, Vermont. She survived him 
ami died in Woodbury, 'flic following is :i brief ac 

count of their children; Benjamin was killed in the 
Civil war, while serving as a soldier; James re- 
ceives extended mention in the next paragraph; 
Edson lived and died in Woodbury, Vermont; 
Henrj dud while a prisoner in Libby Prison in 
Virginia; Sally married a Goodwin, from whim she 
subsenuently separate,!, and died iii Vermont; l.y 

man lived and died in W [bury; George was liv- 
ing it last account in Bradford, Vermont; 1 evi 

died at Algiers, Louisiana, while serving as a ol 

1I1, 1 . I'liiiner reside, iii Peacham. Vermont; and 
Charles resides in Woodbury, same state; Elvira, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



467 



the youngest, is the wife of Frederic Osier, and lives 
in Rutland, Vermont. 

l\ III) James, son of Benjamin (3) and Asenath 
(Ordway) Barrett, was born September 26, 18-7. 
in Lisbon. New Hampshire, and resided for a time 
in Woodbury, Vermont, whence he removed to 
Weare, New Hampshire. He gave his life for his 
native land as a result of the Civil war. He en- 
listed June 14, 1S62, in Company B, Ninth Regi- 
ment, New Hampshire Volunteer Infantry, and was 
sent to the front at Falmouth, Virginia. Here he 
contracted disease from which he died there Jan- 
uary 13, 1S63. He had several brothers in the same 
service who survived and returned to Vermont. 
The records of his enlistment gives his age at the time 
of enlistment as thirty-five years. He was married, 
in 1849, to Mary P. Tuttle, daughter of Timothy 
Tuttle, and they had four sons, namely: Charles H., 
J. Frank, George W. and James Levi. The eldest 
is mentioned below ; the second died July 30, 1905 ; 
the third, of Rumford Falls, Maine, and the fourth 
of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 

(IX) Charles Henry Barrett, florist, son of 
James and Mary P. (Tuttle) Barrett, was born in 
Weare. New Hampshire, October 4, 1850. He was 
educated in the public schools at Weare. and in 1866 
went to Concord, where he learned the barber's 
trade, and became one of the proprietors of the 
well known Eagle barber shop. For twenty-five 
years he was engaged in this line, and for a short 
time was in the clothing business in Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, being there during the big fire (1872). 
In 1898 Mr. Barrett disposed of his interests in the 
Eagle barber shop, and was one of twelve men who 
funned the Concord-Alaska Mining Company for 
the purpose of mining gold in Alaska. Mr. Barrett 
went to Alaska and remained two years, but met 
with indifferent success, though the mine his com- 
pany worked has since been reported as one of 
the best in the territory. Returning to Concord in 
1900 he formed a partnership with Frank Main, 
florist, which continued until March 9, 1907, when 
Mr. Barrett became sole owner of the business. 
Mr. Barrett became a member of White Mountain 
Lodge, No. 5. Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
January 24, 1884; of Penacook Encampment, May 
1.3. 1884, and later of the Grand Canton Wildey and 
of' Fidelity Rebekah Lodge, all of Concord and the 
Royal Arcanum. He was a member of Kearsarge 
Steam Fire Engine Company for over twelve years 
and it- clerk for two years. He married, November 
jo [877, Ida G., daughter of Lorenzo Slack, of 
Lebanon, New Hampshire. ' They had one son, 
Harry C, born November 22, 1881, who is an _ ex- 
pert stenographer holding a responsible position 
with the Boston & Maine Railroad Company in Con- 
cord. Mrs. Barrett is a distant relative of the late 
Senator Charles Sumner, of Massachusetts. She 
is a teacher of vocal music and for many years has 
sung in the churches of Concord. 
(Second Family.) 
James Barrett was born in England, 
BARRETT about 1615; the date of his coming 
to America is not given, but he was 
an inhabitant of Charlestown, Massachusetts, in 
1643. and later lived in Maiden. He married Anna 
Fosdick, daughter of Stephen Fosdick, a carpenter 
of Charlestown. 

ill) James (2), son of James (1) and Anna 
(Fosdick) Barrett, was born April 6, 1644. probably 
in Charlestown. He followed the carpenter's trade 
in Maiden, January n, 1671 ; he married Dorcas 



Green, and died about 1679; inventory of widow 
(1C02) £119. 

(III) Deacon Jonathan, son of James and Dorcas 
(Green) Barrett, was born in 167S; he lived both in 
Reading and Maiden, Massachusetts ; he married 
(first), Abigail Tuttle, of Boston, in 1698; she 
died in October, 1715. Fie married (second), Re- 
becca Brown, wdio survived him. His will was 
dated and proved in 1749. 

(IV) Joseph, son of Deacon Jonathan Barrett, 
lived in Charlestown and was taxed there until 
1798; no date of his birth is given. April 27, 1739, 
lie married Phebe Waite, daughter of Samuel and 
Anna (Lynch) Waite, of Maiden. 

(V) Joseph (2) son of Joseph and Phebe 
(Waite) Barrett, married Sprague, daughter of 
Phineas Sprague, a Revolutionary soldier of Mai- 
den. They had three sons — Peter, Jonathan and 
Joseph; and two daughters. 

(VI) Joseph (3), son of Joseph (2) and Sprague 
Barrett, was born April 19, 1778 (probably in Read- 
ing, Massachusetts). He became a resident of 
Windsor, Vermont, and later of Claremont, New 
Hampshire, where he died July 19, 1836. He mar- 
ried Lucy Daman, born March 31, 1789, died April 
7, 1872. There is no date of marriage, and the name 
of one child only is given — Lucy, who married Wil- 
liam Rossiter (See Rossiter. VII). 



The Ball family is among the oldest in 
BALL this country, and also among the most 

widespread. Its representatives were 
scattered all along the Atlantic coast in the early 
English colonies, being prominent not only in Mas- 
sachusetts but in Virginia, where one of its daugh- 
ters became the mother of the immortal George 
Washington. Its representatives are scattered 
through America today, and are found honorably 
connected with every line of worthy endeavor, and 
are contributors to the social, moral and material 
welfare of the communities in which they reside as 
a rule. In 1613, a coat-of-arms was conferred upon 
one Richard Ball, of Northamptonshire, England, 
and a similar coat was borne by the Ball families 
of New England and Virginia. Between 1635 and 
1640 six sons of William Ball, of Wiltshire, Eng- 
land, came to America. The eldest of these, Ailing 
Ball, settled in New Haven, Connecticut. The 
sixth son, William, was also at New Haven for a 
time, and became extensively engaged in trade, 
especially in furs and tobacco, and made frequent 
trips to America and London, being both an ex- 
porter and importer. He was the ancestor of Mary 
Ball, the wife of Augustine Washington. She was 
left a widow while her children were very small, 
but was a strong and resolute character and to her 
is due much of that we honor in the character of the 
first president. 

(I) John Ball, of Wiltshire, England, settled 
in Watertown, Massachusetts, but it is impossible 
to fix the time of his arrival in this country. He is 
first of record at Watertown, when he was ad- 
mitted freeman in 1650. He died November I, 
1655. One record says he was buried October 1, 
No mention of his wife is found, but he had sons, 
Nathaniel and John, and probably other children. 

(II) John (2), was undoubtedly born in Eng- 
land, about 1620, and came to this country presum- 
ably with his father. He was a tailor by occupation, 
and resided for many years in Watertown. He also 
owned a farm there which he purchased of John 
Lawrence, and sold it October 21, 1665, to William 



468 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Perry. About that time hi d to Lancaster, 

Massachusetts, where he was killed bj the Indians, 
together with his wife and infant child, September 
10, 1675. His estate was administered bj hi 
John, of Watertown. February 1. [768. He (tirst) 
■ married Elizabeth Peirce, daughter of John and 
Elizabeth Peirce, of Watertown. She was the 
mother of four children: John, Alary, Esther and 
Abigail. She was insane in 1660, and probablj had 
been for some time, and gave much annoyance to 
her family and neighbors. She died before 1665, 
and he was married (second), October 3. 1665, to 
Elizabeth Fox, probably a daughter of Thomas Fox, 
of Concord, and afterwards of Watertown. Their 
son Joseph was born 1670, and was probably mur- 
dered by the Indians. 

(Ill) John (3), eldest son of John (2) and 
Elizabeth ( Peirce) Ball, was born 1O44, in Water- 
town, in which town lie lived, and was a weaver by 
occupation. He died there May 8, 1722. lie served 
as tithingman of Watertown, and was evidently a 
man of standing and intelligence. He was married 
October 17, 1665, to Sarah Bullard, who was prob- 
ably a daughter of George and Beatrice Bullard, 
of Watertown. George Bullard was one of the 
three earli r settlers of that name in Watertown. 
There is a persistent tradition in the family of Bul- 
lard that there were eight brothers who came early 
and at about the same time to America, namely : 
Robert, Benjamin, Jonathan, William, John, [saac, 
Nathaniel and George. Of these Robert. Benjamin 
and George settled in Watertown. The last named 
was born 1608, and was admitted freeman 111 1641, 
in Watertown, where he died January 14, [689. His 
first wife Beatrice was the mother of his children. 
The births of only three are recorded, but it is 
presumed that he had others. His second wife was 
widow Mary Marblehead. About 1660 he settled 
at Watertown Farms, which is now Weston. The 
list of his children is supposed to include : Mary, 
Jacob, Sarah, Jonathan and Johanna. The first, 
second and fourth are of record. 

(IV) Jonathan, fourth son and fifth child of 
John (3) and Sarah (Bullard) Ball, was born in 
March 29, 1680. He resided in Lancaster. Ma 
chusetts, where lie died about 1727. He was mar- 
ried January 5, 1710, to Sarah Whitney, who 
born in Sudbury, Massachusetts, May jo. [688, 
daughter of Eleazer and Dorothy ( Ros- ) Whitney. 
Their children were: Sarah, Jonathan, Phineas, 
Thankful, Daniel and Susannah, and all found 
homes with relatives, According to the Watertown 
records there were other children born at Lau- 
ra -Ur. 

(V) Phineas, second son and third child of 
Jonathan and Sarah (Whitney) Ball, was born 
about 1718, in Watertown, and was but a child at 
the time of his father's death. In 1741 he married 
Martha Bixhy (intention of marriage recorded at 
Lancaster, May 27, 1741). He settled in Ilolden, 
Mas achu e lived many years, and 
where five children were horn to him, namely: 
Daniel, Jemima. Aimer. Elijah and Benjamin. 

(\l) Elijah, third -on and fourth child of 
Phineas and Martha (Bixby) Mall, was born March 
2. 1748, in Ilolden. Via achu etts, an was a sol- 
dier of the Revolution, lie was with John Putnam 
on the unfortunate retreat from Long Island in 
1770, and attained the rank of first lieutenant. He 
lived at Boylston, Ma , where his thir- 

teen children were born and died there November 
10, 1834. He was married October 18, 1770, to Re- 



becca (Sawyer) Moor, who was born Novi 
26, 1754, in Lancaster, daughter of Levi and Re- 
becca (Sawyer) Moor. She duel October 13, 
I heir children were: Elijah, Abigail, Amasiah. Levi, 
Reuben, Rebecca, Micaros, Nabby, Patty, J 
Phineas, Lucinda and Manassah Sawyer. 

( VII) Manassah Sawyer, youngest .-on of Elijah 
and Rebecca S. (Moore) Ball, was born December 
28. 1800, in Boylston. He inherited the homestead 
of bis father, who bad been a well-to-do farmer. At 
the time when the farm came into his hands it was 
fallow and heavily mortgaged. He tilled hi- acres 
by day and hunted wild game or burned charcoal 
by night, thus leading the strenuous life so common 
to our forefathers. He died December 13, 1870. 
He was married April 13, 1S33, to Clarissa Andrews, 
daughter of Robert and Lucy (Hall) Andr< 
She was born October 20. 1802. and was a direct 
descendant of Governor Simon Bradstreet and his 
wife Ann Dudley, the latter a daughter of Gov- 
ernor Thomas Dudley (see Dudley). Their chil- 
dren were: Phineas, Caroline Maria, Albert (nicu- 
tioned below), and Alonzo. 

(VIII) Phineas, eldest child of Manassah and 
Caroline (Andrews) Ball, was born January [8, 
1824, in Boylston, Massachusetts, and is worthy 
of more than casual mention. In his youth he as- 
sisted his father 111 the labor required in farming. 
Although physically frail he possessed great en. 1 
He attended the brief terms of the district -chool 
until sixteen years of age. Two terms of six week- 
each in 1841-2 at Josiah Bride's English boarding 
school closed his schooling. In the winter of 1840 
he spent some weeks with his uncle, who taught 
him surveying. Equipped with an old compass, 'nee 
the property of his great-grandfather, Phineas Hall 
practiced surveying as opportunity offered, but until 
his employment by the Nashua and Worcester rail- 
road, 1847, he had seen no surveying done by men 
of experience. He taught several terms of school 
and finally settled in Worcester. In April. 1S10. 
he became associated with Elbridge Boyden, under 
the firm of Boyden & Ball, architects and engineers. 
His field books, covering a period of twenty-five 
years, show how closely he was identified with the 
growth of the city. He was an engineer of great 
ability. He patented a number of applianci 
in connection with the construction of water woi 
He became a member of the Worcester County 
Mechanics Association, serving with great accept- 
ance in tin various offices. In 1S02-3 be served the 
city in the common council, was mayor 111 [865, 
from '(>.; to '07 was water commissioner, and from 
'67 to '72 was city engineer. For thirty-one \ ear- 
he was deacon oi the Firsi Unitarian Church, and 
for seven years president of the Worcester County 
Conference of Unitarian Churches. He 
a member of the Worcester Countj Society of : 
gineers and the American Water Works Associa- 
tion, and was also a member of the W So- 
ciety of Antiquity. lie was married ( lit-, D 
cember 21. 1X48, to Sarah Augusta Holyoke. 1 
children were born to them, a -mi who d'icd in 1S57. 
a daughter survives. lie married (second) 
Mary Jane ( )tis. of Lancaster. 

(VIII) Albert, fifth child and third son of the 
six children of Manassah S. and Clarissa (Andrews) 
Ball, was born May 7. 1835, in Boylston, Massachu- 
setts, and at live years old was sent to the district 
school, wdiere all his education was obtained with 
the exception of one term at the high school when 
he was in his sixteenth year. At the age of nineteen 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



469 



he went to Worcester, Massachusetts, to learn the 
machinist's trade, beginning to serve his time with 

the Wood & Light Company, in what was known 
a? the "stone shop" at the Junction, lie afterwards 
worked for Williams & Rich, and later for L. \\ . 
Pond. When with Mr. Pond he had charge of the 
work of making planers or of building them by 
the job, and ii was at that time, in 1863, that he 
brought out his first invention, which was in re- 
peating fire-arms. In the same year he brought out 
a surface polishing machine which was used for 
polishing fiat surfaces, and which he used for 
polishing the flat surfaces on the planer heads. 
When working with Williams & Rich at Worcester, 
Massachusetts, he became acquainted with E. G. 
Lamson, of Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts, who 
was manufacturing cutlery and sewing machines at 
Windsor, Vermont, and was in search of small 
tools for making sewing machine needles. Having 
a small engine lathe which he had made for his own 
use, Mr. Ball made for Mr. Lamson a lathe which 
proved very satisfactory in the construction of the 
needles. When Mr. Ball brought out the fire-arm 
patent he sold it to Mr. Lamson, who was then 
making guns for the United States government. 
The latter agreed to purchase it on condition that 
Mr. Ball should work for him six months or a 
year, and in 1S64. Mr. Ball went to Windsor, Ver- 
mont, and working for the Lamson, Goodnow & 
Yale Company for more than four years. When the 
gun business stopped Mr. Lamson took up the 
building of a line of machinists' tools, consisting of 
small lathes and planers, for which Mr. Ball made 
drawings and modelled two new styles of lathes 
and one size of planer. Mr. Lamson requested him 
to make drawings for the building of marble-quar- 
rying machines, and Mr. Ball brought out the first 
marble channeller, which embodied the power which 
consists of engine and boiler on the same frame on 
which the cutters were operated. 

In 1869 he associated himself with Roger Love 
and came to Claremont, where he was-employed in 
the building of channellers in the J. P. Upham 
machine shop. These were the first and only dia- 
mond drill channelling machines ever built, black 
diamonds being used in the drills that did the cut- 
ting. Over fifty of these machines were built be- 
fore the price of diamonds became so high that they 
could not be used at a profit for cutting marble. 
Mr. Ball then turned his attention to the building 
of steel channellers of a different type, and this 
style of channeller is to-day considered the leading 
style in the market. In 1885 he began the construc- 
tion of the diamond prospecting drills of which the 
Sullivan Machinery Company is now manufacturing 
twelve different styles, the call for which would be 
great were it not for the high price of diamonds 
He also constructed rock drills, diamond and steel 
gadding machines for marble quarries, and brought 
out a line of coal-cutting machinery, such as un- 
dercutters driven by air, shearing machines driven 
by air and chain machines driven by both air and 
electricity, for room, pillar and long wall work. 
Of these machines there are ten different styles 
which are built by the Sullivan Machinery Com- 
pany, Claremont. 

The first outside issue was a cloth-measuring 
machine which he designed for a Mr. Smith. This 
machine was to be used in taking account of stock 
in dry-goods stores, where the pieces of goods 
could be run through the machine, which gave the 
measurement in yards and fractions, and rewound 



them in a manner which prevented their looking 
shop-worn. It also had an attachment for measur- 
ing and rewinding carpeting. There were one 
hundred and fifty of these machines built, but Mr. 
Smith did not succeed in selling them as rapidly as 
he expected to and the manufacture was discon- 
tinued. In the construction of this machine the 
measuring cylinder was made of paper, and for the 
manufacture of this measuring cylinder a special 
machine had to be designed. It was found that this 
cylinder made an excellent roving can for cotton 
mills. The first size made was called the 12 inch 
can. and later 9, 10, II, 14, 16, 18 and 20 inch size 
cans were manufactured. The making of roving 
cans soon became a good business, and thousands 
of these cans were manufactured by the Sullivan 
Machinery Company. The machinery and business 
were finally sold to C. C. Bell, of the Laminar 
Fiber Company, Cambridge, Massachusetts. 

The next outside manufacture was the cop tubes, 
designed for Jeremiah Essex, Bennington, Vermont, 
for mule spinning in cotton mills. The tubes were 
made of plate tin, and for their manufacture a press 
was made which cut the blanks from the sheet tin 
and formed it into a tube, making a head on same 
and a tip for holding the wire, which was after- 
wards wound spirally on the tin tubes to hold on 
the thread which was spun over them on the mule. 
The tubes were covered on the mule with yarn 
which formed a cop, and these cops were used for 
filling in weaving cloth. The design of the tube 
was to hold the thread, which was called a "cop," 
so that it could be run off in the shuttle without 
any waste — in other words, so that the cops could be 
handled around without damage, but would en- 
tirely weave off the thread they held without waste. 
The tin cop tube was not a success, as it received 
very rough handling from the kind of help which 
was employed in the cotton mills, and would get 
bent and twisted. Mr. Ball then designed a woven 
tube which would be elastic, and of this style some 
millions were manufactured. Of this style of tube 
there was a large variety made for the different 
kinds and styles of mule spindles then running in 
the different cotton mills. About this time there 
was a great stride made in the ring frame method of 
spinning which took the place of the mules, in con- 
sequence of which mule frames went out of exis- 
ence and the cop tube business came to an end. 
Then came the designing of the ring frame in which 
the use of metaline superseded that of oil in all 
the journals, oil being injurious to the cotton yarns 
used in making cotton goods. Of this design he 
built three frames, one of which was set up in 
the Monadnock mills, and one at Dover, New 
Hampshire. In testing yarn made on these ring 
frames it was found to be as good as the mule-spun 
yarn which was regarded as the strongest made at 
that time. The company considered the question 
of manufacturing these new frames, but found that 
a large amount of special machinery and much more 
extensive works would be required for the pur- 
pose, and that they would also have to compete with 
other builders. For these reasons and as other 
machinery was being built which was thought quite 
as profitable, the project was abandoned. The best 
features of the design were, however, taken up and 
used by other builders of spinning frames. 

Next was the wood-pulp grinding machine de- 
signed for E. R. Cartmell, of Bellow Falls, Ver- 
mont. Of this style of machine there were some 
forty manufactured in the works of the Sullivan 



47Q 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Machinery Company, after which Mr. Ball's interest 
in the machine was sold to William A. Russell & 
Company, Bellows Falls, Vermont. The company 
then took up the manufacture of corn crackers and 
brought out some new designs. A great many hun- 
dred of these crackers have been built and sold 
all over the United States. Of this cracker there 
are four different styles manufactured. 

The toilet paper wiring machine was designed 
for John Moore, of Bellows Falls. This machine 
put a wire through the corner of a bunch of paper, 
twisting it in such an manner as to make a loop 
by which to suspend the bunch. Quite a number 
of machines were made from this design, and Mr. 
Ball afterward constructed a machine for forming 
the wires which were put into the bunches by hand. 

Mr. Ball also designed presses for making as- 
phalt paving blocks for street paving and asphalt 
tiling blocks for sidewalks and walks for private 
residences. Two sets of these machines were sent 
to Sydney, Australia. 

While at Windsor, Vermont, Mr. Ball frequently 
visited the Springfield (Massachusetts) armory in 
relation to the building of guns for the government, 
and was present at several of the gun tests at the 
armory. Colonel Benton, who then had charge of 
the armory, called his attention to the lubrication 
of bullets. After the government commenced the 
use of breech-loaders in the army it was found that 
cartridges used with the breech-loaders would 
gather dust and dirt on account of the grease which 
was used on the outside of the bullets. The army 
officers issued orders that all breech-loading cart- 
ridge should have the grease on the inside of the 
shell, but the Colonel said that when they tried to 
grease them by filling the grooves in the bullets the 
lubricant cost nearly as much as the bullets them- 
selves. He desired Mr. Ball to invent, if possible, 
some machinery by which the bullets could be lub- 
ricated cheaply. Mr. Ball immediately worked out 
a device which he found would be successful, made 
drawings thereof, and took them with him on his 
next visit to Springfield. When he explained it to 
Colonel Benton the latter said, "build me a machine 
right away and send it down, a cheap machine, 
something that will work by hand at first, and then 
we can tell what we want." On his return to Wind- 
sor, Mr. Ball had a machine made and sent to 
Springfield. On going himself soon after he found 
that, by reason of having been overheated, the 
machine had failed to give satisfaction. Under his 
intelligent manipulation, however, it worked to per- 
fection and was accepted by Colonel Benton, who 
ordered four power machines for the different 
arsenals. The bringing out of this ma lime was to 
Mr. Ball a source of greater satisfaction than the 
introduction of any other improvement which he 
ever made, being, as it was, a tribute from the 
United States government to his superiority as an 
inventor. These bullet lubricating machine were 
afterward sold to all the armories in this country 
and in Europe, and are used bj most of the cartridge 
manufacturers at the present day. 



The name Martin is not only of fre- 
MARTIN quent occurrence in the old world, but 

it became o imrw in in Ami i ii 
an early peril id, and maj b Found amonj 
settler- Connecticut, New Hamp- 

shire, Virginia and other colonies. The name is 
variously spelled even in the records of the same 
family, as: Martin. Martyn, Marten, Marttin, Mar- 



teem, Martain and Mortine. In nearly all the coun- 
tries of western Europe the name Martin is 
very common, and there is nothing in the name 
alone to determine the nationality of the family 
which bears it. Martins for centuries, however, 
have been members of the aristocracy and gentry 
of many lands. The family of Martin, of Compton 
Martin, Somersetshire, England, was of great emi- 
nence and long descent. The first of the name of 
whom records appear was Martin of Tours, a Nor- 
man, who made a conquest of the territory of Cem- 
mes or Kemeys, in the county of Pembroke, about 
1077. Martin was the surname of the Lords of 
Cemmes for seven generations when, by the death 
of William Martin, Lord Cemmes, the line became 
extinct. The name of Martin, however, was still 
kept up in Somerset by Robert Martin, a younger 
son of Nicholas Fitz-Martin, and doubtless by 
other younger branches of the family, and it is 
believed that from one of these younger branches 
are descended those of the name who came to New 
England in 1635. Through successive generations 
the Martins of America have been mostly honest 
yeoman, good and useful members of society, acting 
w-ell their part in the sphere of life in which they 
were placed, and from their manliness and probity 
winning the respect of the communities in which 
they lived. None of them have arrived at eminence 
in literature or science, but some of them have at- 
tained political eminence and among them are 
judges, governors, senators and congressmen. 

(I) Among the twenty-one families that accom- 
panied Rev. Joseph Hull from Weymouth, England, 
to Weymouth, Massachusetts were Robert Martin 
and wife. They were from Badcome, Somerset- 
shire, England, and arrived on the Massachusetts 
coast May 6, 1635. Robert Martin left no children, 
and his estate of one hundred and ninety-three 
pounds, one shilling and sixpence, was left to heirs 
in England. Richard, brother of Robert Martin, 
arrived in America, probably with Rev. John Myles 
in 1663. and settled in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, 
He was elected surveyor of highways in that town 
June 1, 1669, and his name appears in the list of its 
proprietors February 7, 1689. He contributed for 
the prosecution of "King Philip's war" the sum of 
one pound, five shillings and fourpence. His death 
occurred March 2, 1694, and his estate was inven- 
toried at twenty-two pounds, eighteen shillings and 
eightpence. 

(II) John, son of Richard Martin, was among 
the signers of the compact concerning religious ob- 
servances in Swansea, Massachusetts, February 22, 
1669. He was a farmer and weaver, and was ap- 
pointed constable by the general court, June 5, 1671. 
He was surveyor of highways in 1673 and again in 
1685. He was married April 26, 1671, to Johanna 
Esten, daughter of Thomas Esten. of North Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island. She was born June 1. 1643, 
in I terefordshire, England. 

(III) Ephraim, third son and fourth 
John and Johanna (Esten) Martin, was I 

ruary 7. 1670, in Swansea, and was a f; rmer in 
Rehoboth. He was married, October n>. tl •■■ 
mkful, daughter of Samuel Bullocl She 

born Jinn- 27, [681, and died Tuly 22, • 
Mr. Martin died June 25, 1734. Thi v, the 

parents of eleven children. 

(IV) S. tli. eldest child of Ephraim and Thank- 
ful (Bullock) Martin, was horn October 22, 1700, 

in Rehoboth, where he lived. He was married 

November 8, 1722, to Rebeckah Peck, daughter of 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



471 



Jathniel and Sarah (Smith) Peck. She was born 
October 10, 1/00, and died April 14. 1731. Mr. Alar- 
tin was married (second), January 19, 17;,-', to 
Martha Washburn, of Bridgewater. He died June 
2, 1745, and left five children. 

(V) Seth (2), second child and eldest son of 
Seth (1) and Martha (Washburn) Martin, was 
born in Rehoboth, August 21, 1745. He married 
Mary Horton of Rehoboth, July 4, 1765. Between 
T772 and 1777 they removed to Grafton, New- 
Hampshire. 

Seth Martin appears as a lieutenant on a pay 
roll of Colonel Jonathan Chase's regiment of 
militia, which reinforced the northern Continental 
army at Ticonderoga, by General Folsom's orders, 
May 7, 1777; discharged June 16. 1777; time in ser- 
vice, one month, ten days. (New Hampshire State 
Papers, Vol. 15. p. 14). Appears as a lieutenant 
on a pay roll of Colonel Jonathan Chase's regiments 
of militia, which marched from Cornish in Sep- 
tember, 1777, and joined the Continental army un- 
der General Gates, near Saratoga ; entered service 
October 3, 1777; discharged October 24. 1777. 
(New Hampshire State Papers. Vol. 15. p. 373)- 

(VI) Sylvester, son of Seth (2) and Mary 
(Horton) Martin, was born in Rehoboth, and ac- 
companied his parents to Grafton. He was a first 
lieutenant in Colonel Chase's regiment, which first 
went to Ticonderoga in the summer of 1777 for a 
few weeks, and in the fall following to Saratoga. 
He married Elizabeth Ford of Smithfield, Rhode 
Island. 

(VII) Eleazer, son of Sylvester and Elizabeth 
(Ford) Martin, was born in Grafton county, Au- 
gust 16, 1789, and died May 27, 1S65. He was a 
farmer and was also judge of the Probate Court of 
Grafton county. He married (first), Polly, and had 
children : Adoniram, Clorinda. Nancy. Albert. Celina, 
Sophia and Lucien. He married (second), Candace 
(Constantine) Varney, had one child: Arthur Elea- 
zer. Mrs. Candace (Constantine) Varney, by a first 
marriage had a daughter, Georgiana, mentioned be- 
low. 

(VIII) Lucien. son of Eleazer and Candace 
(Constantine) Martin, was born in Canaan, August 
25, 1838. and died in 1868. He was a merchant in 
Manchester for a time and engaged in the same 
occupation in various other places. He was in 
California for some years and also engaged in trade 
there. He married Georgiana Varney, i860, who 
is still living (1907). They were the parents of 
one child. 

(IX) Frank Eugene, son of Lucien and Georgi- 
ana (Varney) Martin, was born in Manchester, 
June 20, 1863. He attended the schools of Man- 
chester, being graduated from the high school in 
1S82. The following year he entered the general 
office of the New Hampshire Fire Insurance Com- 
pany and served as a clerk until 1S95. when he was 
made assistant secretary, and in 1005 became secre- 
tary and now fills that place. He is principally 
known for his courtesy, strict attention to bis busi- 
ness and good habits. He is a Republican, a mem- 
ber of the Unitarian Church, and of the Derryfield 
Club. He is a thirty-second decree Mason, and a 
member of the following lodges of that order: 
Washington Lodge No. 61; Mt. Horeb Royal Arch 
Chapter No. 118; Adoniram Council No. 3, Royal 
and Select Masters; Trinity Commandery Knights 
Templar: Edward A. Raymond Consistory, Su- 
blime Princes of the Royal Secret; Thirty-second 
degree of Nashua ; and of Bektash Temple of the 



Ancient Arabic Order of the Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine. 

(Second Family.) 

This very ancient name has been 
MARTIN traced in England from the Norman 

Conquest. The roll of Battle Abbey 
contains the name of "Le Sire de S. Martin." The 
name has been numerous on the other side of the 
water and also in this country from its first settle- 
ment. There was a William Martin in London, 
England, who assisted the Pilgrims in coming on 
their voyage to Plymouth Rock. In the early settle- 
ment of Massachusetts. Connecticut and Virginia, 
the name is frequently found. There is a very per- 
sistent tradition in the family herein traced that 
William Martin, or William Seaborn Martin, was 
born at sea in the voyage of his parents from Plym- 
outh. England. There was a Robert Martin who 
lived some years in New Haven, Connecticut, and 
had two sons baptized there previous to 1655. It 
is possible that the William Martin who heads this 
family was born to Robert on the sea as related by 
many of his descendants. There was also a Samuel 
Martin, of Wethersfield, Connecticut, who married, 
in England, Phoebe, daughter of William Bisbee, 
a London merchant. This couple came over about 
1650. and it is not impossible that they might have 
been the parents of William wdio was given the name 
of the lady's father, and if born at sea might have 
received the second name of Seaborn from that cir- 
sumstance. It could scarcely have been really a 
part of his name, because at that time there is no 
instance on record of a child having a double name. 
This may have been a nickname applied by his par- 
ents and used by others to distinguish him from 
others of the same name. Wethersfield furnished 
many inhabitants to Stratford. Connecticut, and this 
would easily account for the removal of William to 
Woodbury. 

(I) William Martin, possibly a son of Richard 
Martin of Rehoboth, Massachusetts, and wife Abi- 
gail were found of record at Woodbury. Connecti- 
cut, as early as August 30, 1685. at which time they 
were admitted to the church there. Mrs. Martin 
was a daughter of Jonathan Curtiss, of Stratford, 
Connecticut, and was born October 17, 1671, and 
married to William Martin, June 25, 16S5. The 
latter died at Woodbury, July 4, 1715, and his widow 
survived him more than nineteen years, dying Jan- 
uary 4. 1735. He was buried near the center of 
the old burying ground in Woodbury, and a coarse 
native stone was set at the head and foot of his 
grave. On the headstone was chiseled, "Win.. July 
4, 1715." Their children w r ere : Joseph, Samuel. Ca- 
leb and Phoebe. The first of these w : as born when 
the mother was in her twentieth year. 

(II) Joseph, eldest child of William and Abigail 
(Curtiss) Martin, was baptized in November. 1691, 
at Woodbury, Connecticut, and passed his life in 
that town, where he died in 1740. He was married 
August 18. 1718, to Sarah Harris, and their children 
were: Abigail, Abiiah, Hannah, Asahel, Ruth. 
Amos. Joseph and Gideon. 

(III) Amos, fourth son and sixth child of Jos- 
eph and Sarah (Harris) Martin, was baptized Octo- 
ber 8, 1728, in Woodbury, and died in that town, 
^pril 7, t8oo. in his seventy-second year. He was 
married January 16. 1755, to Prudence Tuttle. and 
they were the narents of Aaron. Isaac, Noah, Jesse, 
Eli and Truman. 

(IV) Truman, voungest child of Amos and Pru- 
dence (Tuttle) Martin, was baptized March 12, 



47- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1769, in Woodbury, Connecticut, and settled in 

nth 
century. a pioneer settler of that town 

and there cleared up a farm and le of the 

representative citizens. I married, 

as th of W ; that he had four 

children baptized there August 23, 1795. No record 
of his fir«t two marriages appear or of any children. 
It is pr bable, I . that none of these survii 

as the family traditions and records have no account 
of them. He was married (third). 10, in 

Peacham, to Mary (Polly) Noyes, who was born 
June II, 1779. in Bow, New Hampshire, daughter 
of Benjamin and Hannah (Thompson) Noyes, of 
Bow (S ■ VI). She died May 26, 1858 

in Peacham. They were the parents of six children. 
namely: Sally, born 1S09. died June 13, 1835. Tru- 
man. 1S10, died April 30. 1810. Amos. August 6, 
181 t. died February 17. 1866. Benjamin F.. July 2t. 
1813, see below. Truman. February 2.5, 1S18, died 
October 15. 1896. Hannah. October 6, T820, died 
July 17. 7< 7 

Benjamin Franklin, son of Truman and Mary 
(Noyes) Martin, was born July 21. 1813, in Peach- 
am. Vermont, and received his education in the pub- 
lic school and academy of that town. When but 
eighteen years of age he set out to earn bis liveli- 
hood, and proceeded on foot to Meredith Bridge. 
Laconia, New Hampshire, where be learned the 
art of paper-making. He was apt and willing, and 
rapidly mastered the details of the trade, and his 
subsequent career as a business man and manufac- 
turer tiplj testified the value of careful prepara- 
tion and steady pursuit of any calling. After one 
in the mills at Laconia. he was able to take a 
neyman's place, and proceeded to Military, 
Mi , where he was engaged in that capac- 

ity. His habits were correct, and his earnings were 
not 1I1 pati d in youthful follies, so that a few years 
found him in position to engage in business on his 
own account. In partnership with his brother-in- 
law. Thomas Rice, he leased mills at Newton Lower 
Falls, near Boston, and together they operated them 
until 1844. In that year Mr. Martin purchased a 
mill at Middleton, Massachusetts, which he success- 
fully operated nine years Desiring to enlarge his 
business, be leased a mill and residence at Law- 
rence, Ai its, and bad shipped his house- 
there when his attention was called to 
tin- facilities off red by the waterpower at Man- 
chester, this state. Upon investigation he decided 
to locate here and immediately proceeded to build a 
mill at Amoskeag Falls. This is still in operation, 
and has proved one of the leading industries of New 
Hampshire's metropolis, under the impetus given it 
by the master mind of Colonel Martin. After 
twelvi eat of i stensive and profitable business, 
be sold owl in 1865. but could not be contented out 
of its activities and repurchased the mill in 1869. 
Five years later he again sold the mill and retired 
from bis long activity in paper-making, to enjoy the 
fruits of an industrious career. 

ra! of the financial institutions of the city 
I much of then to the kern business in- 

stinct, shrewdness "lit of Col rtin. 

He was a director of the Merrimack River Hank, 
from its 1 1. and w as it pn ident 

in 1859, resigning in r86b. He was nne of the first 
trustees of the Merrimack River Five Cents Sav- 
ings Bank, and was made it- vice president in 1 
He was made a director of the Manchester Bank 
upon its charter by the state, and so continued after 



n as a national bank, and was a 
A direc- 
tor of the 1 touth Railroad Com- 
pany and the Manchester & Lawrence railroad, he 
lected president of the latter in 1878. Colonel 
Martin was also president of the Manchester Gas 
ny, and while accumulating a competence 
■ industrial development of the town. 
a generous contributor to all 
elevating influences, both by example and financial 
aid. and his interest and influence in everything that 
pertained to the material, social and moral advance- 
ment of his home city was marked. His fine home 
on upper Elm street was the seat of hospitality and 
genial cheer, and bis public spirit pervaded all por- 
tions and interests of the city. 

Colonel Martin was a faithful member of the 
tint Episcopal Church, but was not allied 
with other organizations. His heart was wide 
enough for the whole world, and he was ever ready 
to help any worthy movement. His political prin- 
ciples led him to act with the Republican party, and 
ntributed liberally of time and means to the 
furtherance of good government, as he construed it. 
In 1857-58 be served his city as member of the 
common council, and as alderman in i860. In the 
same year be was a delegate to the national conven- 
tion at Chicago which placed Abraham Lincoln in 
nomination for president. In 1S63-64 be was repre- 
sentative in the legislature, and acted as colonel on 
the staff of Governor Gilmore. 

He was married January 3, 1836. to Alary Ann 
Rice, of Newton Falls, daughter of Thomas and 
Lvdia (Smith) Rice. Mrs. Martin was born at 
Newton Falls and was one of ten children, eight of 
whom lived to be over seventy. Airs. Alartin is the only 
one living now (1007). ninety-four years of age. Of 
the three daughters of Mr. and Airs. Alartin only 
one survives, namely: Fanny R.. widow of George 
Byron Chandler, of Manchester (see Chandler. IX). 
Colonel Alartin. one of the most successful and 
progressive citizens of Manchester, passed away at 
bis home in that city June 16. 1886, and the city 
mourned his loss as a useful citizen and an ex- 
emplary man. He exemplified in eminent degree the 
New England character, being industrious, prudent, 
far-sighted, benevolent, and kind in manner and 
thought. He had inherited these finalities from old 
Colonial ancestry, and never caused a stain to rest 
on an honorable name. 



The Alartin name is numerous, but it 
Al \RTIX has not been possible to conne 1 the 
following line with th. his- 

tory has previously been written. The present fam- 
ily is not recorded in the Alartin Genealogy. They 
maj possibh be connected with Deacon Reuben 
Martin, of Bradford, Vermont, who lived there in 
the litter part of the eighteenth century, but they 
1 '-ended from him. 
(I) Hiram Alartin was born in Haverhill, New 
Hampshire, or Bradford. He was a farmer, and 
:d a Aliss Willis, They had three children, 
e them Vlden Edison, wh 1 sketch foil 
ill \Men Edison, son of Hiram Alartin. wat 
born at Haverhill, New Hampshire, July 17. 1825. 
He was a farmer, and lived in Bath, Xew Hamp- 
shire, most of his life, but moved to Colebrook in 
his later years after his son had become established 
\hlen Edison Martin married Emilv C. 
[man, daughter of Nathaniel and Betsey Wood- 
man, of Thornton, New Hampshire. There were 




fo £ £t 



^c 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



473 



children, of whom five arc living: G 

\Y Iman, mentioned below; Charles E., William 

A.. Nellie May and Orran. Alden E. Martin died 
at Colebrook, May i;, 1907, and his wife died August 
in. [891. 

1 111 1 George Woodman Martin was born at 
Bath, New Hampshire, March 19, 1855. He was 
educated in the common school of his native town, 
and farmed at home till 1876, when he moved to 
Colebrook where he has since lived. He has a fine 
; land containing four hundred acres in all. 
on which he does general farming. He began at an 
early age with little capital, and he has acquired an 
excellent property, all by his own efforts. He is a 
Democrat in politics and is active and influential in 
the party. He has served as road agent, and was 
man in iS8q and 1890. and representative in 
1903, serving on the railroad committee. He was a 
mi mber of the school board for six years from 1901 
to 1007. He belongs to the Grange, and attends the 
Methodist Episcopal Church of East Columbia. On 
April 9, 1881, George Woodman Martin married Etta 
J Gilman, daughter of Jonathan and Lizzie Oilman, 
oi Colebrook. There are three children: Royal G., 
born October 31, 1885: Neil G., born January 22, 
[888; and Truman G, born November 2S, 1890. 



In the colonization of the north- 
M< ALLISTER ern part of Ireland by the Eng- 
lish, a large number of people 
went from the Westerly part of Scotland. Argyle- 
shire sent many, and among them were representa- 
tives of the family of McAllister, who settled in 
Londonderry and its immediate vicinity. Angus 
McAllister and his wife, Margaret Boyle, with their 
eight children, came from Ireland to New England, 
and settled in Lancaster, Massachusetts, in 1718. 
They moved to Londonderry, New Hampshire, in 
1731 and settled on a farm near the meeting houses 
and town house. This farm has been in the posses- 
sio?i of the McAllister family since that time, and 
is now owned by their descendant, George I. Mc- 
Allister. 

(I) Angus McAllister was undoubtedly near of 
"kin to Richard McAllister, of Bedford, (who is 
mentioned with descendants in this article), and John 
McAllister, of New Boston. Angus had been a 
soldier in the wars of Ireland, and had an ear shot 
off in an engagement at Pennyburn Mill.' and was 
exempted from taxes on account of his military 
services. At his death his body was carried six 
miles to the cemetery at East Derry on a bier sup- 
ported on the shoulders of four men, which was the 
custom in those days. Thomas Wilson, an old com- 
panion in arms, met the funeral procession and took 
off his hat and shouted. "Auld Ireland forever! 
Weel. Angus, they're na taking the lug (ear) aff 
your head at Pennyburn Mill the day, mon." 

The children of Angus and Margaret (Boyle) 
McAllister were: William, David. John, and five 
daughters. William married Jannette Cameron, and 
settled on the farm immediately adjoining that of 
his brother David, and which for considerable more 
than a century has been owned by the Mack family. 
He had seven sons and one daughter, and died in 
175". aged fifty-five years. The names of his sons 
John, David, William. Peter, Hugh, Thomas 
and Andrew. After his death his widow and chil- 
dren removed to Jaffrey. New Hampshire. John, 
son of Angus, returned to Ireland. Of the daugh- 
ters of Angus not very much is known. Mary Ann 
married David Morrison, one of the proprietors of 



Londonderry'- Another daughter married John Tag- 
gart and went to Colerain. Massachusetts. Another 
daughter married Thomas Knox, who was one of the 
first settlers of Pembroke, New Hampshire. The 
other two daughters married brothers by the name 
of White. James and John, and they settled in Pem- 
broke. 

(II) David McAllister, second son of Angus 
and Margaret, married Eleanor Wilson, a daughter 
of Alexander Wilson, of Charlestown, Massachu- 
setts, and lived on the homestead. They had four 
sons : Alexander, John, Archibald and George, and 
two daughters — Jannette and Margaret. David died 
in Londonderry in 1750, aged forty-six years; his 
widow married William Addison, and had one 
child. Eleanor, who married Charles Cavender. of 
Greenfield, New Hampshire. The oldest son, Alex- 
ander, married Abigail White, of Goffstown, and 
lived on a part of his father's farm. He died about 
1777. after which his widow and children removed 
to Goffstown. Archibald, a son of David and 
Eleanor, married Jane Irwin, of Manchester, and 
settled on a part of his father's farm, which was 
afterwards owned for many years by Abner Camp- 
bell and his son. John Campbell, and El win C. Pea- 
Archibald and Jane had three children, viz. : 

David, Lydia and Margaret Clarke. Archibald died 
in 177S. His widow married Mr. Arbuckle, and 
went to Vermont. George, son of David and 
Eleanor, married successively Sarah Gorrill, Sarah 
Henderson and Ednah Emerson. He lived on a 
farm in the northern part of Londonderry, wiiich 
was afterwards owned for a long time by William 
Plummer, and given by him to the Baptist Society 
for a parsonage, and owned by Sidney A. Webster 
in 1907. George McAllister sold his farm in 1834 
and went to Nashua to live with his daughter. Mrs. 
James Atwood. He died there in 1840 at the age of 
ninety-four years. Margaret, daughter of David and 
Eleanor, married Alexander McCoy, of Goffstown. 
and had a family of children. Jannette, a daughter 
of David and Eleanor, married Michael Archer and 
removed to Henniker. 

(III) John McAllister, second son of David and 
El anor (Wilson) McAllister, married Mrs. Rebekah 
(Henderson) White, of Bedford, in 1770. and died 
in 1780, aged thirty-six years. His widow died in 
1839, aged about ninety-six years. She was the girl 
who went with Hon. John Orr after the cows in the 
early history of Bedford. He was about fifteen and 
she somewhat younger. They encountered a bear, 
and she picked up stones for Johnny to throw at 
him. Bruin stood the annoyance for a while, and 
then went for his tormentors. He treed Johnny, and 
Beckie ran. and. while Bruin looked after the more 
offensive party she escaped and got help. The chil- 
dren of John and Rebekah (Henderson) McAllister 
were: Sarah. Isaac, Benjamin and John. Sarah 
died in youth. Benjamin was a school teacher, and 
was drowned in the harbor of Charlestown. South 
Carolina, in 1814. John, son of John and Rebecca, 
married Jane Caldwell, of Hudson, New Hamp- 
shire, and they lived in Londonderry. Their chil- 
dren were : Henderson, who was drowned at sea. 
Benjamin and Andrew. Andrew was married and 
had one child. He died in 1812 and his widow re- 
moved to western New York about 1830. 

(IV) Isaac, son of John and Rebekah McAllis- 
ter, was born in Londonderry, January 19, 1776, and 
married Sarah Harriman. of that town, in iSr4. He 
lived on his father's farm, and his children were: 
Isaac, Jonathan, Benjamin and Sarah. His wife 



474 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



died February 16, 1854, aged seventy-six years, and 

Ugust 30, 1858, at tin-' age of 
years and seven months. Isaac,, son of Isaac and 

Sarah. lived many years with his brother Jonathan, 
and died in Londonderry, March 21, 1869, at the 
age of fifty-three years and five months. He and his 
Sarah were never married. Benjamin, son of 
Isaac and Sarah, was born in Londonderry, March 
25. 1819, and died December 14. 1887. He married 
Caroline Savory, of that town, who was born March 
1. and died October 25, [883. They had three 
children: t. Thomas Savory McAllister, born in 
Londonderry. July 10, 1S4;. died May 3, 1880, at 
Amesbury, Massachusetts, leaving a widow. Ellen 
(Ayer) McAllister, formerly of Haverhill. Massa- 
chusetts, surviving him. He attended school at 
ill Union Academy, Meriden, New Hampshire, 
studied medicine, attended lectures at Bowdoin Med- 
ical runswick, Maine, and practiced his 
profession with great success for several years at 
Amesbury, Massachusetts. 2. George McAllister. 
born August 4. iN'5o. in Londonderry, resided for 
many years in Boston, and was a wood turner by 
trade: lie married, in May, 1896, Lizzie M. Harlow, 
ami died in Boston, September 9. 1S99, and was 
buried at Everett, Massachusetts. He did not have 
any children. He was an active and prominent Odd 
Fellow, and a very capable man. 3. Charles Mc- 
Allister, born in Londonderry, November 10, 1852, 
graduated from Kimball Union Academy at Meriden 
in 1872, and was a member of the class of 1876 at 
Tuft's College, Medford, Massachusetts, for one 
year, lie taught school in Londonderry, carried on 
a large farm, and dealt extensively in apples for 
many years.' Charles was a selectman for two years, 
and also a member of the school committee. He 
1 able and successful business man. On July 
21, 1885, he married Mary Graves, of Derry. and 
they resided on the old Humphrey homestead in 
Londonderry until his decease on October 22, 1905. 
His children are: Thomas Savory McAllister, born 
May 5, 1886, graduated at Pinkerton Academy 
Derry, in 1904. and is a member of the class of 1908 
at Dartmouth College; Linda Graves, born February 
t3, [890; Donald, May 21, 1895: Paul. January 7, 
[898; Ruth, April jo. 1900. After the death of 
Charles, his widow sold the farm and removed 
with her family to Vuburndale, Massachusetts. 
(V) Jonathan McAllister, second son of I 
and Sarah (Harriman) McAllister, was born in 
Londonderry. March 12. 1S17. He was educated in 
the con and at Pembroke Academy, and 
was for many yi apable and successful ;ch "'1 
Igl in Bow, Derry. Nashua, and 
and was a thorough instructor. 
■ mind, he 1 d fi >r sound 
i;! and practical 1 inse : he was a 
well informed 1 . :ere in hi 1 11 

I to his political party, of 
great executive ability, an able speaker, and I" 

Id the 
and town 1 
I 
and ei 

irried, Ni 
1852. C 

:, born in f ; I pari of 
" M 1 Perry. April S. 1823. 

When 

She fl 

leaving a lari 



love and respect she had enjoyed, to mourn her de- 
parture. Mrs. McAllister was a noble worn. 11. .1 
good mother, a faithful wife, a genial companion, a 
kind neighbor, and was greatly interested in th 
fare and prosperity of the community in which she 
resided. Jonathan McAllister moved to Derry in 
May, 1906, where he died January' 22, 1907. at the 
age of eighty-nine years, ten months and ten days, 
and is buried in Glenwood cemetery in Londonderry. 
(VI) George Isaac McAllister, only child of 
Jonathan and Caroline (Choate) McAllister, was 
born on the ancestral homestead in Londonderry, 
December 11, 1853. He attended the public schools 
in his native town, and was a student at Pinkerton 
Academy at Derry, graduated from Kimball Union 
Academy at Meriden in 1873, from Chandler Scien- 
tific Department of Dartmouth College in 1877. came 
to Manchester October first of that year, and studied 
law with Cross & Burnham. and later with Hon. 
David Cross, and was admitted to the bar in March, 
1881, and has since practiced his profession in Man- 
chester. He was in partnership with Hon. Henry 
E. Burnham, present United States senator, for 
nearly three years. He was a candidate of the Dem- 
ocratic party for county solicitor, was deputy collec- 
tor of internal revenue from November 1. 1885, to 
December I. 1889, and a member of the constitu- 
tional convention in December, 1902. He was ap- 
pointed assignee of the Bank of New England by 
the supreme court in July, 1899. and has been a 
trustee of the Hillsborough County Savings Bank. 
He disagreed with the majority of his party on the 
free silver issue in the presidential campaign of 
1896, and has been since that time a member of the 
Republican party. Mr. McAllister has delivered 
orations on many public occasions, and has taken a 
great interest in Free Masonry. Since he was 
made a Mason. June 21, i88r, in Washington Lodge, 
he has been worshipful master of his lodge, king in 
Mt. Horeb Royal Arch Chapter, eminent commander 
of Trinity Commandery, Knights Templar, and most 
worshipful grand master of the most worshipful 
grand lodge of the ancient and honorable fraternity 
of Free and Accepted Masons in New Hampshire, 
and right eminent grand commander of the grand 
commandery of Knights Templar in this state. He 
is a member of the committee on jurisprudence in 
grand lodge, grand chapter and grand commandery. 
Mr. McAllister is a member of New Hampshire 
Consistory Ancient, Accepted Scotti=h Rite at 
Nashua. He received the thirty-third degree 
in the supreme council of the Ancient. Ac- 
cepted Scottish Rite of the Northern ■ 
Jurisdiction of the United States of Amer- 
ica in 1 tor September iS, 1900. and has been 
del of Adoniram Council of Royal and Select 
Masters since March 21, iSck>. recorder of Trinity 
Commandery, K Ft e June 24, [891, 

grand I of \.aron P. Hugh I < 

Perfection f . 1 years, and has been pr< 

and tn tie and i 

E thai institution He is also a 

1 , , I 
Stark i lited Workmen, 

Mane!: cal 

of Arts and 
Church. 

On I )ecevnbei : lie 1 an ied M ttie M., 

daughter of Hon. John M. and Susan E. Hayes, of 

.11 \\ w London, Si 

her 14. 1857, and they have two child] 

McAllister bo: ~ [887, and 




sGLr-scd. M nm£^ . 




NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



t/5 



■who was graduated at Manchester high school in 
June, 1905, and Harold Cleveland McAllister, born 
March 28, 1893. 

(Second Family.) 

(I) Richard McAIlaster and Ann Miller were 
married in Ireland. They came over to this coun- 
try in the winter of 173S-39, and at once found their 
way to Londonderry, New Hampshire, as we con- 
clude, for he was a citizen in full standing there in 
1741, but soon afterward there was quite a migration 
from Londonderry to the promising settlement of 
Narragansett No. 5 (now Bedford), and Richard 
McAIlaster seems to have been one of the number. 
He settled on a farm west of Bedford Centre and 
now known as the Hadley Stevens farm. He came 
to Bedford probably in the spring of 1743, and was 
one of the principal landholders of the town at the 
time of its organization in 1750. His name appears 
among the petitioners of Bedford, then called "Sou- 
hegan East," to the governor and assembly for pro- 
tection against the Indians. June 12, 1744. His wife 
died March 12, 1776, in her sixty-seventh year. The 
children of Richard and Ann (Miller) McAIlaster 
were nine in number, viz. : Archibald, born in Ire- 
land, settled in Wiscasset, Maine, and lived to a great 
age. John, born on the ocean, January 18, 1739. 
William, born in Londonderry, New Hampshire, 
July 14. 1741. Susannah. August 20, 1747. Richard, 
Jr., October 20, 1749. James, February 29, 1752. 
Benjamin, May 31, 1754. Two died young. 

(II) William, son of Richard and Ann (Miller) 
McAIlaster, married, in 1765, Jerusha Spofford, of 
Rowley (now Georgetown), Massachusetts, and set- 
tled in Wiscasset. Maine. They removed from there 
to Bedford, New Hampshire, in 1779. making the 
passage in a vessel bound for Newburyport. He 
was a soldier of the Revolution and took part in the 
battle of Bunker Hill. He died at Bedford, Feb- 
ruary 17, 1787. His wife was a woman of rare per- 
sonal qualities and mental attainments. She was 
born May 17, 1742, and died November 6, 1812, while 
on a visit at Newport, New Hampshire, where she 
was buried, her gravestone being still well preserved. 
Their children, all born in Bedford, were: Sarah, 
Ann, William, John and Martha, twins, Polly 
(Mary). James, Benjamin and Apphia S. 

(HI) John and Martha McAIlaster, twins, chil- 
dren of William and Jerusha (Spofford) McAIlas- 
ter, were born in Bedford, New Hampshire, Decem- 
ber 25, 1774. Martha married. December 29. 1797, 
Andrew Aiken (see Aiken II), and John married, 
March 13, 1800, Jane Aiken and settled in Bedford. 



In the early New England records 
PEABODY this name has various spellings, and 

the descendants of the original Amer- 
ican ancestors are found under names varying con- 
siderably in orthography. Many now use the form, 
Pabodie. The name is said to have its origin about 
the year 61, in the reign of Nero, the tyrant Roman, 
at which time the ancient Britons were in a state of 
vassalage to that emperor. Queen Boadicea, the 
wife of Parsutagus, was located at Icena, Britain. 
Being a woman of valor and ability she opposed the 
proceedings by which Nero's officers seized the prop- 
erty of her husband, the king, and as a punishment 
she was ordered to be publicly whipped. This en- 
raged the Britons, and with the queen and the as- 
sistance of her kinsmen they fought many battles 
and made great massacre among the Romans, and 
would have expelled them from England had not 
strong reinforcements arrived from Italy. The 



queen's forces being conquered, she put herself out 
of the way with poison. When Boadie, her son, with 
the remnant of the Britons, took refuge in the craggy 
heights of Wales, a section which was never con- 
quered by the Romans, he had captured and carried 
with him the helmet and armor of a Roman officer, 
which were preserved and handed down for centuries 
in the family. Upon this helmet was a Roman 
badge of honor and distinction. The name Boadie 
among the ancient Cambri or Britons signifies "man," 
or "great man." This name being combined with 
"Pea," signifying a hill or mountain, was the foun- 
dation of the present name Peabodie, or mountain 
man. In the sixth century a compromise was made 
between these mountain people and their neighbors. 
and an assimilation began. In the reign of King 
Arthur, a patriarch by the name Peabodie, a man of 
much influence and wealth, aided the king's forces 
in expelling the North Saxons, and as a reward his 
badge upon the Roman armor which had been handed 
down by his ancestors was registered as a coat-of- 
arms of Peabodie. With some branches of the fam- 
ily the original name, "Boadie," became anglicized 
and this is the origin of the present well known 
name Mann, while others kept the name "Pea," 
which being also anglicized became Hill. 

(I) The first of the family in America as far as 
can be ascertained was John Paybody, who appears 
to have emigrated to New England about the year 
1635. His name does not appear in the list of pas- 
sengers which includes that of his son Francis, and 
it is probable that he came at another time, perhaps 
with his youngest son William. The names of these 
two are found in the list of the original proprietors 
of Plymouth. In 1637 John Paybody was the owner 
of ten acres .of land at Bluefish. He was admitted a 
freeman January 2, 1638, and with his son. William, 

was among the original proprietors of — in 

1645. His will is dated 1649, and he died about 1666. 
His wife Isabel survived him. Their children were : 
Thomas, Frances, William and Annis. 

(II) Lieutenant Francis, second son of John 
and Isabel Paybody, was born about 1614, at St. Al- 
bans, Hertfordshire. England, and came to New 
England in 1635, and his name is enrolled in the list 
of those "imbarqued in the 'Planter,' Nicholas 
Trarice., master, * * * certified from the name 
Great St. Albans, in Hertfordshire, attestacons from 
the justice of peace, according to the lord's orders" 
Lieutenant Peabody resided first in Ipswich. Massa- 
chusetts, and was one of the original proprietors of 
Hampton (now New Hampshire) in 1638, whither 
he went with the Rev. Stephen Bachilor and twelve 
others. He resided there several years, having served 
on the grand jury and the jury "for tryalls." He 
was made freeman in 1642. and was chosen by the 
town in 1647 as one of the three men "to ende small 
causes." which office was equivalent to that of jus- 
tice of the peace of the present day. Lieutenant 
Peabody desired to reside nearer Boston, and sold 
his estate in Hertfordshire in 1650, and shortly after 
took up his residence in Topsfield, wdiere he is found 
to have owned a farm in May, 1651. His farm in 
Hertfordshire consisted of fifty-five acres, and for 
this he received twenty-five pounds thirteen shillings. 
He was one of the most prominent men of Tops- 
field, both as a land owner and a public-spirited citi- 
zen. He aLo held land in Boxford and Rowley. 
He lived to an advanced age. dying February to, 
1698. His will was made three years previously, 
and proven August 7. 1698. His widow survived 
him more than seven years, passing away October 9. 



47 r ' 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



l/<\ : naiden name was Mary Foster. Many 

of their descendants have been men eminent for 
piety and distinguished for their patriotism ami their 
achievements in literature and science. Mary 
ter was the daugh For- 

rably mentioned in some 
of Si- Walter Scott's poem The children of 
Li. John, Joseph, William, 

i bah. Lydia, Mary, Ruth, Dan 
b, Anna and Nathaniel. (William and 
.;th in this art' 
(III) i 1 Francis Pea- 

■ . was born in I cttlcd in Boxford, Mas- 

man in 1674 ; was 
esentativi ral court from 1689 to 

11.; captain of the Boxford company; selectman 
ears; twenty-four years town clerk, and the 
ling citizen. H nber 23, 1665. 

Hannah Andrews, daughter of Robert and Grace 
: he married (second) Sarah Moseley, of 
: 703. She died July 5, 
1720. lie joined the Boxford church February 21, 
use stood on the site of the summer 
Julius A. Palmer, Mr-. Palmer being a 
lini dant. The house itself was torn down 

Mr. Palmer. It was a large two- 
story square mansion, and according to the custom 
the walls were rilled with brick. On the front the 
projected about a foot over the lower 
: v. While in the last days of it- existence it 
10 I forlorn and dreary appearance. It 
d in an open field alone, and in front, near the 
end, was an old wall over which there was a tangle 
of vines. Children: 1. John, born August 28, 1666. 
2. Thomas. July 22, 1670. 3. Mary, April 6, r 
4. Lydia, March 9 167.^. 5. David, July 12, 1678, 
1 below. 6. Elizabeth, August [3, [680. 7. 
i.ni. July 20, 1682. 8. Hannah. 9. Ruth. No- 
vember 13, 1684. 10. Moses, February 27. 1687. 

(IV) David, son of John Peabody, was born 
July 12, 1678; married Sarah Pope, of Dartmouth. 
Ma . one of the four daughters of Zac- 

cheus Gould. They lived in Boxford, where they 
ic church in 1706, and he died April 1, 1726. 
II- widow died September 29, [756, aged seventy- 
two He was ensign in the military company. Chil- 
dren: 1. Thomas, born September 22, 1705. 2. Han- 
nah, - 14, 1707. 3. Sarah. September 26. 1709. 
4. Mercy, January 23, 1712. 5. John, April n, 1714, 
6. Deborah, September, 1716. 7. 
ember 3, 1718. 8. Susanna. May. 1712. 
9. Mary. September, 1723. 10. Max id, October 4, 
11. Mary, November 1. 1726 
I V I John, fiftl ' David I' was 
ril [i, 171 ■ [died \pnl 27. 
He lived B '. and belonged to the 
Ch idwick, Febru- 
ary ,, zcr 
Killum, of Boxford, July 9. 1767. Children: 1. 
Da> i .7. 1736, Nottingham, 
New Hamp h re. 2. Mary, born December 22. 1737. 

t, July' I, 
1 I 11, 174.!. met 

t>er 1. 17 11 7 Ruth, \pril 7. 1746. 
■■■•■. Januar | \ rll - 

7 1751. n- 1 [753. 

(VI) .1 John Peabody, was born 

I 1 1, 1743, in Boxford, Massachusi ri Hi was 
Revi lution and was at Bunker Hill; 
lin William I'd ' ipany, Colonel 

n ent, April ro, 1775. to Au 
later. II. lived in Newport, New Hampshire, for a 



time in Maine, then in several Xew Hampshire 

towns, and died at ebanon, Xew Hampshire, 

about 1825. He married, October 9, 1766, Alice 

Howlctt. Children: 1. Lydia, born £ 17, 

1767: married David Bowman. 2. Ammi Howlett. 

born July 4, 1769: married Margaret Rice and Sarah 

.?. Mary, born July 6. 1771. married 

M shall. 4. Moses, born November 29, 

5. Susanna, born September 20, 1775- 6. 

Thomas, born August II, 1777: mentioned below. 

7. Alice, born June I, T779: married Eleazer Whit- 

, of Henniker. Xew Hampshire. 8. Andrew, 

n July 13, 1782. 9. Frederick, born March 20, 

IS; married Rebecca E. Carter. 10. John, born 

:h 1. 1787. 11, Betsey, born June 2, 1780. 
i\ III Thomas, son of Jedidiah Peabody, was 
ban in Maine. August II, 1777: married, November, 
Betsey Willis, of Hanover. Xew Hampshire. 
They settled in East Lebanon. Xew Hampshire. He 
1 April 3, 1865. He was educated in the common 
schools and followed farming all his life for an oc- 
cupation. In politics he was a Democrat. Children: 
Harriel >. ThrSmas Taylor. 3. Austin. 4. Mar- 
quis Ladoit. 5. Elizabeth Warner. 6. Fanny Willis. 
7 Cyrus. 8. Martha Reddington, born August 17, 
[826, at 1. el anon. Xew Hampshire, and now the only 
survivor of the children of Thomas and Betsey Pea- 

(VIII) Martha Reddington. daughter of Tin. mas 
Peabody, was born at Lebanon, New Hampshire, 
[gust 17, 1S26. She has never married. She has 
her home at Enfield. Xew Hampshire. 

(III) William, third son and child of Lieuten- 
ant Francis and Mary (Foster) Peabody. was born 

. in Hertfordshire, and lived in Boxford, Mas- 
sachusetts. He was married August 14, 1684, to 
Hannah Hale, of Newbury, who survived him nearly 
thirty-four years, and died February 2,;. 17,;,;. He 

ed away in March, 1699. Their children were: 
Stephen, Alary. Ephraim, Richard, Hannah, John, 
Abial. and Oliver. 

(IV) Ephraim, second son and third child of 
William and Hannah (Hale) Peabody, was born 
October 23. 1680, in Boxford, Massachusetts, and 
died June i, 1740, in that town. He was deranged 

1 1732 until his death, and bis brother Stephen 
was one of his guardians during that time. He « is 
married in July. 1713, to Hannah Reddington, and 
their children were: Thomas, Abraham. Ephraim, 
Anna. Nathaniel, Stephen and Mary. 

( V) Nathaniel, fourth son and fifth child of 
Ephraim and Hannah (Reddington) Peabody, was 
born December 18. 1727. in Boxford, and lived in 
that town, where fie died August 17, 1778. He was 
married February 26. 1755. to Hepsebah Barker, of 
Andover. He was a v< ssful man in busi- 

and the inventory of his estate places its value 
at eight thousand one hundred and thirty-seven 
pour n shillings, four pence. His children 

'masiah, Ephraim, John, and Nathaniel. 

(VI) Nathaniel 12L fourth son and youngest 
1 . i Natl iel (1) and I [annah 1 Ri ddington) 

I ' ly, was re- 

v li fe. II. d thence to I (racut, 

and 1- recorded as the executor of his brother 
Ephraim's estate in 1804. lie was married April r, 
1789 Cole, and their children were: Hepse- 

bah. Nathaniel, B phraim and NL.s.s, 

(VII) Nathaniel (3), eldest son and second 
child of Nathaniel (2) and Betsey (Cole) Peabody, 
was born February 26, 1702. probably in Dracut. 
He married Mary Gilchrist. 




M.L.PEABODY 




Jjvd % ^L&uh_ML 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



477 



(VIII) Eliza Ann. daughter of Nathaniel (3) 
and Mary Gikhrist Peabody, became the wife of 
Isaac Hill (see Hill VIII). 



This name is found in the early 
STOWELL New England records with many 

spellings, such as Stoel, Stoyel, 
Stowel, and in recent usage has taken the form of 
Stowell. Many still retain the old spelling as first 
above given, but the form as here used is that in 
most common use. The family was very early im- 
planted in New England, and has spread from that 
cradle of American citizenship through the United 
States, and is especially numerous in all of the north 
half. It has had honorable representatives who 
have been conspicuous in public life, and its bearers 
have done credit to the name. 

(I) Samuel Stoel came to what is now Hing- 
ham, Massachusetts, in 1647. As this town was 
named by its settlers from their native town of 
Hingham, in Norfolk county, England, he is sup- 
posed to have come from there. He was a weaver 
by trade, and resided in Hingham. In 1649 he mar- 
ried Mary, daughter of John and Frances Farrow, 
and they had eleven children, namely : Mary, 
Samuel, John, David, Remember, Benjamin, an in- 
fant died unnamed, William, Israel (died young), 
Israel and Elizabeth. Five generations bearing the 
name of Samuel lived on the old homestead on Fort 
Hill street, in Hingham. 

(II) David, third son and fourth child of 
Samuel and Mary (Farrow) Stoel, removed to 
Cambridge, where he lived for some years. He 
subsequently settled in Newton, Massachusetts, 
where he died. He was a weaver, and lived to a 
great age, being known as "old Stoel." He was 
married, April 7, 1695, in Cambridge, to Mary 
Stedman, who died in Newton, September 24, 1724. 
Their children were: David, Benjamin, Samuel, 
Ruth, John and Mary. 

(III) Samuel, third son and child of David 
and Mary (Stedman) Stoel, settled about 1730 in 
the west precinct of Watertown, Massachusetts, 
which is now Waltham, and died there March 12, 
1748. His wife's name was Sarah, and their chil- 
dren were : Anna, Sarah, Abigail, Josiah and 
Thomas (twins), Thankful Cornelius, Mary and 
Elizabeth. 

(IV) Cornelius, third son and seventh child of 
Samuel and Sarah Stoel. was baptized October 4, 
1730, in Watertown (Waltham), Massachusetts, 
and died in Worcester, in that state. January 3, 1804, 
aged seventy-eight years. In early life he settled 
in Worcester, where he was a clothier. He was 
married, March 29, 1749. to Levilla Golding. of 
Worcester, who survived him more than eight years, 
dying June 7, 1812, aged eighty-two years. Their 
children were: Samuel, Abel. John, Thomas, Eben- 
ezer, Hannah, Elizabeth, Peter, Cornelius, Abigail 
and Mary. 

(V) Ebenezer, fifth son and child of Cornelius 
and Levilla (Golding) Stowell, was> born 1753, in 
Worcester, and settled in Cornish, New Hampshire, 
where he died at the age of eighty years. He was 
a member of the famous Rogers' Rangers, and 
served in the French and Indian war, and also in 
the revolutionary war, for which he received a 
pension. He married Pamelia Whitney, died in 
1833. The names of eight children are given : Eben, 
Ezra, Israel, Elias, Ira, Calvin, Amasa and Celinda. 

(VI) Amasa, seventh son of Ebenezer and Pa- 
melia (Whitney) Stowell, was born in Cornish, 



New Hampshire, in 1795. He married, in 1817, 
Betsey Spalding, a daughter of Abel (2) and Eliza- 
beth (Chase) Spalding, (see Spalding IV), born 
in Cornish, August 28, 1796, died November 7, 
1854. They had ten children, all born in Cornish- 
Sylvester F, February 10, 1819; Whitney S., Sep- 
tember 2, 1820; Lucinda N., April 29, 1822; Joseph, 
April 20, 1824; Martha C, January 8, 1826; Eve- 
line L., September 16, 1827 ; DeWitt C, October 8, 
1830; Caroline M., October 14. 1832; George H. ; 
Austin S., September, 1S38. 

(VII) George H., ninth child and fifth son of 
Amasa and Betsey (Spalding) Stowell, was born 
October 28, 1835, and his boyhood days were passed 
on the home farm. He lived the rugged life of the 
tunes, with more work than play, assisting in the 
cultivation of the farm, and attending the public 
school whenever opportunity afforded. Of hardy, 
persistent New England stock, the heritage of an- 
cestry and the early training of a New Hampshire 
mountain farm had their influence in forming 
habits of thrift and industry that eventually placed 
Mr. Stowell's name prominent among the 1 1 ~ t of 
New Hampshire's public men. In March, i860, 
ambitious promptings led him to give up farming, 
and he removed to Claremont, the town adjoining 
Cornish on the south, a prosperous and growing 
community offering inducements and possibilities 
that appealed to Mr. Stowell's instincts and tempera- 
ment. His first venture was in the gravestone and 
marble manufacturing business, which he carried 
on successfully until 1804, when he purchased the 
hardware stock of Levi B. Brown. Mr. Stowell 
made no change in the location of the business, 
in the northwest corner store of Oscar J. Brown's 
brick block, and for thirty-seven years, or as long 
as he remained in business, he occupied this site. 
"Stowell's corner" became a land-mark ; a synonym 
of business prosperity and place of far-reaching in- 
fluence in affairs of both town and state. The busi- 
ness grew until it became one of the best known 
hardware firms in New Hampshire. The stock 
was increased to cover a wide range of commodities, 
and when coal revolutionized the fuel business the 
first car-load of anthracite for house use was 
brought to Claremont by Mr. Stowell. Eventually, 
coal became an extensive branch of his trade. 

Meantime he was actively engaged in other oc- 
cupations that called for executive power and care- 
ful financial management. To meet the demands 
of Claremont's growing population, tenement houses 
were needed, and Mr. Stowell was one of the pio- 
neers in erecting a number of first-class structures 
for this purpose. And when 111 1887 the old wooden 
Brown block on the corner opposite Mr. Stowell's 
store was destroyed by fire, he was the leader in 
organizing the syndicate that procured the site of 
the burned property, and built thereon Union 
Block one of the finest and best appointed business 
blocks in the state. His last building venture of 
public consequence was in 1895, when he built "Sto- 
well Block," a handsome, modern business struc- 
ture on Pleasant street. 

With multudinous and increasing business cares, 
Mr. Stowell has never neglected public interests, in 
which his services could be of public value. His 
advice, influence, and sound conservative judgment 
has contributed much to promote Claremont's im- 
portance as a town. His own business success, by 
his own efforts, made him a power in any enter- 
prise where careful financial discrimination was 
needed. In return for these qualifications his town 



478 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



has honored him in various ways as an able repre- 
sentative citizen. He was a member from Clare- 
mont in the New Hampshire legislature in 1871 
and 1874; a state senator in 1875 and 1876; member 
of the governor's council from 1881 to 1883; aide, 
with rank of colonel, on Governor Prescott's staff, 
from 1887 to 1S89; member of the state constitu- 
tional conventions of 1876 and 1889; and a delegate 
to the Republican national convention at Chicago 
in 1884. In 1888 he was in Europe several months 
on a pleasure trip, and to restore his health, which 
had partially failed. In town business his name is 
always found on important boards and commit- 
tees, and with the exception of the year 187S he 
served continuously from 1873 to 1894 as chief en- 
gineer of the local fire department. In this im- 
portant public service he kept pace with larger 
towns in maintaining fire fighting facilities, and saw 
the department re-organized from hand tubs to 
modern steam equipment. Mr. Stowell sold out 
his hardware business in 1901, but is still a busy 
man of affairs, and occupied in the management of 
the People's National Bank, a sound financial in- 
stitution which he helped organize and of which 
he is vice-president and a director. Mr. Stowell 
is one of the four gentlemen who in 1907 purchased 
the Mnnadnock Mills — one of the most important 
manufacturing interests of Southern New Hamp- 
shire. 

Mr. Stowell married, December 25, 1857. Sara 
E., daughter of Dexter and Eliza (Earle) Field. 
She was born in Chester. Vermont. January 26, 
1X34, and is a direct descendant of Sir John Field, 
tin- astronomer, born about 1520, at East Ardsley, 
England, and died May, 1587. He was styled the 
proto-Copernican of England, as he was first to 
make known in that country the discoveries of this 
remarkable man. By a patent dated September 4, 
1558, the heralds recognized his right to the family 
arms, and granted to him the crest of a dexter arm 
issuing nut of clouds, holding in the hand a sphere, 
a recognition of his services to the cause of as- 
imy. 

The first American Field ancestor was Thomas 

Field, a great-grandson of Sir John, born in Eng- 

it i''4S. Fie came to America about 1670 

and settled in Providence, Rhode Island. The 

family lived there for many generations and were 

conspicuous in Colonial and Revolutionary history. 

were extensive land owners. The Field's 

ate was transferred to the city of Provi- 

Field, a grandaunt of Mrs. Sto- 

well's in 1SO0. having been in possi i 'ii of the 

family for nearly two hundred years. Mrs. Sto- 

well's grandfather removed from Providence to 

Chester with his father in 17X5. where he married 

ami In children were born. All his life he was 

lOrtantly identified with the affairs of the town, 
1 in all progressive movements, and was 
one of the largest contributors to the building of 
Chester an institution which nourished 

from 1814 to 1876. Her father inherited his father's 
land and was widely known for his fine 

blooded stock. Mrs. Stowell's mother's family 
was also of English origin. Her grandfather, Dr. 
John Young, was born and educated in London. 
He was a man of prominence in medical circles 
and for a time was one of the physicians to King 
George III. The family have also a common an- 
cestor with Sir Edward Bulwer Lytton. 

Mr. and Mrs. Stowell had 1, Cora E., 

who was born in Claremont, June 24, i860. She 



was educated in the public schools, and was the 
valedictorian of her class in Stevens High School, 
1879. She afterwards, at the New England Con- 
servatory of Boston, took a special course in music, 
elocution, and literature, studying Shakespeare 
under Professor William J. Rolfe, and later was a 
private pupil of Genevieve Stebbins Thompson, of 
Xew York. On November 5, 1896, she was mar- 
ried to George I. Putnam, author and journalist. 
She died March 8, 1903. In her memory Mr. Sto- 
well has erected a granite and bronze mausoleum 
in Mountain View Cemetery at Claremont. 

The Stowell residence at the corner of Pleasant 
and Summer streets is attractively located, and con- 
spicuous in its handsome architectual design. Here, 
amidst the comforts of his own getting, enjoying 
the confidence and good will of his fellow citizens, 
he approaches his declining years, ripe with the 
fullness of a well ordered life, and keenly in touch 
with the men and the movement of the times. 



This name is variously spelled Seely, 
CILLEY Seeley, Sealy, Sealey, Seelye, Sillea, 
Sillia, Sellea, Ceely and Ceilley. It 
seems to have been the fame of Major General 
Joseph Cilley that determined the spelling for the 
New Hampshire family, and anchored it as Cilley. 
In Massachusetts Seelye and Seeley seem to be the 
common forms, and the first has become well known 
as the name of presidents both of Amherst and 
Smith colleges. The origin of the patronymic is 
lost in obscurity. One fanciful derivation refers it 
to the Scilly Isles, formerly spelled Silly and Scil- 
ley, also Syllah, from an old British appellation, 
meaning "rock consecrated to the sun." Another 
and more reasonable explanation derives it from 
Sea-ly (sea-like), referring to the maritime occu- 
pations of the early members of the family. The 
name first appears in English History in 1553. when 
Dorothy Seeley, of the city of Bristol, petitions 
Queen Elizabeth for the release of her husband, 
who had been accused by the Inquisition and cast 
into prison. Captain Thomas Seeley, probably a 
son of this couple, is found among the list of cap- 
tains who accompanied Drake to the West Indies 
in his famous voyage of 1585-86. 

(I) Captain Robert Seely was a resident of 
Watertown, Massachusetts, in 1630, for he regis- 
tered his desire to become a freeman on October 
19 of that year, and took the oath on May 18, 1631. 
It is probable that he came over in the fleet with 
Winthrop. A few years later he moved to Wethers- 
field, Connecticut, and was second in command 
under Captain Mason in the Pequot war where he 
was shot in the eyebrow by a flat-headed arrow. In 
1645 the commissioners appointed him in connec- 
tion with Captain Miles Standish, Captain John 
Mason and others who had chief command of the 
forces coming from New Haven. In 1663 lie was 
chosen commissioner from the town of Hunting- 
ton. Captain Robert Seely died in New York, and 
his widow Mary was appointed administratrix of 
In- estate, October 19, 166S. The historian of the 
Cilley family assigns the following sons to Captain 
Robert and his wife: John, William, Richard, Na- 
thaniel and Obadiah. There is little doubt about 
-hi i't Nathaniel Seely, who lived in New 
Haven, but the ancestry of the others seems to rest 
upon the exhaustive sifting of probabilities. The 
brothers. John, Richard and William Seely. lived 
at the Isles of Shoals, then a flourishing part of 
New England, and it is supposed that they came 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



479 



there when their father was a resident of Water- 
town. The fact that they were of Puritan belief 
when all the other Shoalsmen were loyalists, helps 
to confirm this theory, and there is evidence that 
they were from the same part of England, Essex 
county, as Captain Robert. 

(II) Richard Sealy, supposed to be the third 
son of Captain Robert and Mary Seely, was a 
magistrate at the Isles of Shoals in 1653, and after- 
wards removed to Hampton Falls, New Hampshire. 
The name of his wife is unknown, but there were 
children : Martha, who married John Cluff, 
January 15, 16S6; Thomas, whose sketch follows. 

(III) Thomas, elder son and second child of 
Richard Sealy, was born probably at Hampton 
Falls, New Hampshire, about 1670. He was a sea 
captain and lived at Hampton Falls during his 
early life, afterwards moving to Nottingham, this 
state, and spending his last days with his son 
Thomas at Andover, New Hampshire. Captain 
Thomas Seally (thus he spelled his name) married 
Ann Stanyan, daughter of John and Mary (Brad- 
bury) Stanyan, of Hampton, and they had six 
children : Mary, John, Abigail, Joseph, whose 
sketch follows ; Anne and Thomas. Thomes Seally 
died at Nottingham, New Hampshire, while on a 
visit to his son Joseph, having come from the home 
of his son Thomas in Andover, New Hampshire. 

1 [V) Captain Joseph Ceilly (thus he spelled 
his name) was born October 6, 1701, probably at 
Hampton Falls, New Hampshire. He spent his 
youth in that place, lived a few years at Salisbury, 

-achusetts, where he married his wife, and in 
1727 removed to Nottingham, New Hampshire, 
where he built a log cabin on Rattlesnake Hill. He 
brought all his household goods and property of 
every description on the back of one horse, and he 
and his family walked into the township on foot. 
In time he built a large house and multiplied his 
ins till he became a man of wealth for that 
day. He was agent for the proprietors of the grant, 
and a captain of militia. Captain Cilley was a man 
of strong endurance, fearless in danger, cheerful 
in disposition, and energetic in character; truly of 
the stuff of which pioneers are made. In 1724-25, 
Captain Joseph Ceilly married Alice Rawlins, 
daughter of Benjamin and Elizabeth Rawlins, of 
Exeter, New Hampshire, and a granddaughter of 
Judge Thomas Rawlins, justice of the court of ses- 
sions. She was born in 1701. the same year as 
her husband, and she reached the age of one hun- 
dred. She is described as a strong, vigorous woman, 
famed for her neat housekeeping. It is said that 

'lrank neither tea nor coffee, nor used snuff, a 
common habit in those days, and that when she 
died in 1801 she was fresh in countenance, fair in 
feature, and young in heart. Captain Joseph and 
Alice (Rawlins) Ceilley had six children: Anna, 
married Job Mills, of Deerfield Parade, this state; 
Polly, married Colonel Richard Sinclair, of Barn- 
stead, this state; Alice, married Enoch Page, and 
went to Cornville. Maine; General Joseph, whose 
sketch follows ; Abigail, married Zephaniah Butler, 
and they became grandparents of General Benja- 
min F. Butler; and Cutting, married Martha Mor- 
rill. Captain Joseph Ceilly died in 1786, aged 
eighty-five years. 

(V) General Joseph Cilley, eldest son and 
fourth child of Captain Joseph (1) and Alice (Raw- 
lins) Ceilly, was born at Nottingham, New Hamp- 
shire, in 1734, and thought that the three r's were 
a sufficient amount ot learning for his son. The 



latter developed into a man of action, rather than 
a student, and in later life he had little time or in- 
clination for reading anything but the public prints 
or the statute laws. In 1758 he enlisted as a private 
soldier under Captain Neal, who was attached to 
the celebrated Roger's Rangers. They marched to 
the Northern frontiers and to Canada, and young 
Gilley remained with this company for a year, ad- 
vancing to the rank of sergeant. Governor Plumer 
says of him that he possessed a sound judgment, 
quick apprehension and much assurance, and that 
after his return to his native state he began, self- 
taught, the practice of law among his neighbors. 
The people of the town were exceedingly litigious, 
and Cilley made pleas and drew writs before jus- 
tices of the peace, arbitrators and referees. But 
the military life had the dominant attraction for 
him, and before the Revolution he held a captain's 
commission under the Royal government. In 1774 
he was engaged in the attack on Fort William and 
Mary at Newcastle in Portsmouth harbor. This 
was really the first overt act of the Revolution, and 
the powder, stored at Exeter and Durham, in one 
case under the pulpit of the Meetinghouse, was af- 
terwards used in fighting the battle of Bunker Hill. 
Upon the news of the skirmish at Lexington, one 
hundred volunteers from Nottingham, Deerfield 
and Epsom gathered at Nottingham Square, and 
with Cilley as their leader, marched to Cambridge. 
Joseph (2) Cilley was appointed major in Poor's 
(Second) Regiment by the assembly of New Hamp- 
shire; was made lieutenant-colonel in 1776; and on 
April 2, 1777, was appointed colonel of the First 
New Hampshire Regiment of three-years men in 
the Continental army, in place of Colonel John 
Stark, resigned. He fought bravely at Bemis 
Heights, was at the surrender of Burgoyne, and his 
conduct at the battle of Monmouth in August, 1778, 
was such as to win the personal thanks of the com- 
mander-in-chief. He distinguished himself at the 
storming of Stony Point under General Wayne, and 
on March 20, 1779, the New Hampshire house of 
representatives presented him with an elegant pair 
of pistols in recognition of his bravery. After the 
war he was appointed major-general of the first 
division of New Hampshire militia, June 22, 1786, 
and headed the troops that quelled the insurrection 
of that year, arresting the leader of the rebels with 
his own hand. He was successively treasurer, vice- 
president and president of the Order of Cincinnati 
in New Hampshire, and was representative, senator 
and councillor in the state government, and in 1 791 
a member of the convention to revise the costitution. 
In politics he was an ardent Republican (Demo- 
crat), and he early advocated the election of Jef- 
ferson to the presidency. Governor William 
Plumer, of Epping, who wrote his biography, says 
of General Cilley : "He was on all occasions open, 
frank and explicit in avowing his sentiments; there 
was no vice he so much abhorred and detested as 
hypocrisy. His passions were too strong to be de- 
ceitful ; * * * and though his manners were 
not those of a courtier, they were e^sy, plain and 
correct." The same writer gives a vivid pen-pic- 
ture of Cilley's personal appearance : "His person 
was about five feet, nine inches high, and somewhat 
corpulent; his eyes black and sparkling; his coun- 
tenance animated, and he walked with great agility. 
His mode of living was plain, frugal and economi- 
cal." General Cilley accumulated a handsome 
estate for those times, and lived to see his children 
well settled in life. 



480 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



On November 4. 1 * (2) Cil- 
ley married Sarah Longfellow, second daughter and 
fourth child of Jonathan and Mercy (Clark) Long- 
fellow, who was born November 17. 1 739, and died 
Maj 23, 181I1 aged seventy-five. She was a de- 
scendant of the Dummers, Sewels and Greens, three 
of the most prominent families of New England 
Colonial tunes. She was .aid to be a woman of 
much culture and superior character, and was a 
1 sufferer for twenty ye: ■ hi c death, 
General Joseph (2) and Sarah (.Longfellow) Cilley 
had ten children: Sarah, married Judge Thomas 
Bartlett Bradbury, congressman from New Hamp- 
shire in 1813-14, married Harriet, daughter of Gen- 
eral El 1 Poor. Jonathan, married Dorcas But- 
ler. Joseph, died at the age of fifteen. Greenleaf, 
married Jennie Nealley. Daniel, married Hannah 
Plumer. Jacob, whose sketch follows. Anna, mar- 
ried Nathaniel Williams. Horatio Gates, whose 
sketch follows. General Joseph (2) Cilley died 
Augn-t 25, 1799, of sphacelation of the bowels, ac- 
cording to his biographer. He was buried with 
Masonic honors by the Lodge in which he had for- 
merly been master. 

(VI) Major Jacob, sixth son and eighth child 
neral Joseph (2) and Sarah (Longfellow) 
Cilley, was born July 19, 1773, at Nottingham, New 
hire, lie lived in Nottingham Square, served 
tjor in the militia, civil magistrate, and held 
many town offices. He was a member of the legis- 
lature m 1802-3-6-7-8-10-12-13. On January 8, 1801, 
Jacob Cilley married Harriet, daughter of General 
Enoch and Martha (Osgood) Poor, of Exeter, New 
Hampshire, who was born January 31, 1780. (See 
Poor IV.) They had seven children: Enoch Poor, 
who died'al the age of nineteen, unmarried. Joseph 
How, married Lavinia B. Kelley. John Os- 
good, married Henrietta Butler. Harriet Poor, 
married Rev, T. G. Brainard. Jacob Green, whose 
follows. Martha Osgood, married F. B. 
Barry, of Pittsfield, New Hampshire. Bradbury 
Poor, graduated from Dartmouth College in 1843, 
married Angeline Baldwin; he was a lawyer and 
lived 111 Manchester, New Hampshire. Jacob Cilley 
d 1 d January 29, 1831. at the age of fifty-eight years, 
and hi i June y, 183S, at the same age. 

! ) Jacob Green, fourth son and fifth child 
of Jao I Harriet (Poor) Cilley. was born 

April 16, 1817, at Nottingham, New lire. He 

moved to Manchester, this state, about 1839, and 
was a p minent citizen there for more than thirty 
years. He was an extensive owner of real estate, 
and saw the place grow from little more than a vil- 
1 ; manufacturing city, and by his 
keen iness sense ac- 

quired a large property. He was a Republican in 
politics, and was city treasurer during 18(10-07. lie 
was a charter member of the Amoskeag Veterans, 
one of of the company, also be- 

lic fraternity. He was an at- 
tendant of the First Congregational (Hanover 
ireh. .Majo r Jacob G. Cilley married his 
first wife, Emma Stark, 01 

Frederick Stark, and a granddaughter of General 
John ' :,. . tie died 

Februai y U d on January 29, ] 

married hi nd wife, Mai I y Bou- 

ton, dai I Rev. Dr. Nathaniel and Elizabeth 

"iiton, of Concord, New Hampshire. 
(See Bouton VI and \ II 1 Mrs. Martha 

C. (Bouton) Cilley is a woman of 1 abil- 

ity, with a gift for entertaining, and who is the un- 



questioned leader of many distinguished circles. 

After her husband's death she lived for several years 
abroad, and later made her home in Buckingham 
street. Cambridge, Massachusetts, and at Washi 
ton, D. C. While in Cambridge she founded the 
Old Cambridge Shakespeare Association, of which 
organization she is a life member, which included 
in its membership the eminent scholars and criti 
Henry N. Hudson and William J. Rolfe. She was 
one of the first two regents of the chapter of the 
Daughters of the Revolution founded in Massachu- 
setts. Upon her return to Manchester as the wife 
of Colonel Arthur E. Clarke, she assumed a 
position in the state. In 1875 she founded the 
Ladies' Aid and Relief Society. In 1S90 she \ 
appointed by Mrs. Benjamin Harrison, wife 
of the president, state regent of the Daughters 
of the American Revolution in New Hampshire, 
and in 1894 she founded the National Society 
of Colonial Dames in New Hampshire, of which 
she has been the continuous president. She 
appointed 1805, presidenl of the New Hampshire 
Society Daughters of the Cincinnati. She is a 
member of the National Martha Washington As- 
sociation, and of the Society of Colonial Governors. 
She inherits the historical interests of her father 
and is a member of the New Hampshire Historical 
Society and of the Ma nea- 

logical Society. She is president of the New Hamp- 
shire Audubon Society, and the Animal Rescue 
League of Manchester. Her home, wherever she 
has been, has always bei ial center and the 

scene of unlimited hospitality. 

Jacob G. and Martha C. (Bouton) Cilley had 
two children: General Harry B.. whose sketch fol- 
lows : and Florence, born September 6. 1S64. died 
January 28. 1869. Major Jacob G. Cilley died at 
Manchester, September 7. 1870. On January 22, 
1894. Mrs. Cilley married for her second husband, 
Colonel Arthur E. Clarke, elder son of Colonel 
John B. Clarke, whom he has n - eded as 

editor and proprietor of the Manchester Daily mid 
Weekly Mirror and printing liment 1 S 

Clarke family.) 

(VIII) General Harry Bouton. onl and 

elder child of Major Jai b I and Martha C. 
(Bouton) Cilley, was born at Manchester. New 
Hampshire, May 13, [81 the age 

years he went abroad with had 

the advantages of the best schools in Ger- 
many and Switzerland. Upon his return he at- 
tended the public schools ol Manchester, had four 
ai St. rani's School in Concord, and after- 
wards studied at the Law School at Harvard Uni- 
versity. As might be expected from his ancestry, 
ral Cilley has inherited strong military tastes. 
Hi connection with the New Hampshire National 
Guard began in May, [882 warranted 

commissary sergeant in the I 

24, [884, he was promoted to fii I lieutenant and 
regimental quarterma 9, to be 

major and inspector of rifle practice in the First 
Brigade, which posiiii n he luld till February 6, 
[891, when he removed to W: .1). C, where 

he was for a time private secretary b I T. 

N. Patterson, second auditor of the ti No- 

vember 2, [891, General Cilley was commissioned 
first lieutenant and adjutant of the Sixth Battalion 
of the District of Columbia National Guard, and 
in December of that year was promoted to the po- 
sition of captain and adjutant of the Second Regi- 
ment. January 27, 1894. General Cilley returned 





S^>, ^^y 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



4S1 



to Manchester, where he has since made his home. 
On February 27 of that year he was appointed major 
and assistant inspector-general of the First Brigade, 
New Hampshire National Guards; and on May 10, 
1894, he was commissioned assistant adjutant-gen- 
eral with the rank of lieutenant-colonel of the bri- 
gade, which position he held for five years. On ' 
January 3, 1907, he was appointed to the important 
office of adjutant-general with the rank of major- 
general of New Hampshire by Governor Charles 
M. Floyd. He was also made disbursing officer for 
the organized militia uf New Hampshire, with bond 
to the war department. General Cilley is one of 
the most genial and popular men in the state, and 
his social interests are extensive. He is president 
of the Tippecanoe Club in Manchester, is a mem- 
ber and for four years was a director in the Derry- 
field Club, and is a member of the Intervale Country 
Club, also in his native city. He is an honorary mem- 
ber of the Thornton Naval Veterans' Association 
of Manchester, and also of the New Hampshire 
Veterans' Association. He belongs to the Society 
of Foreign Wars, Pennsylvania Commandery, to 
the Sons of the American Revolution (New Hamp- 
shire Society), to the Society of Colonial Wars and 
to the New Hampshire Historical Society. He^ is 
president of the New Hampshire Philharmonic_ So- 
ciety, which has given some notable musical festi- 
vals in Manchester. General Cilley is a Republi- 
can in politics, and was representative from ward 
three in Manchester, 1897-98, serving on the com- 
mittee on the National Guard and on that on Fish- 
eries and Game. He is a communicant of Grace 
(Episcopal) Church in Manchester, of which he 
has been vestryman and warden. For nine years 
previous to his appointment as adjutant-general he 
served as telegraph editor on the staff of the Man- 
chester Minor, and he acted as state liquor agent 
from 1904 to 1907. He is the owner of Cilley Block 
in his native city. General Cilley is devoted to 
out-door life and is an ardent sportsman. He has 
a camp on Moose river, west of Moosehead lake, 
Maine, where he goes hunting every fall, and has 
brought down moose and other big game. While 
fond of fishing, golf and various athletic sports, 
his passion is rifle shooting, in which he has been 
an expert since the age of fifteen. He is a director 
in the New England Military Rifle Association, 
and a life member of the Bay State Rifle Associa- 
tion. He has presented two Cilley Trophies to the 
National Guard of New Hampshire. The first was 
a bronze statute of a soldier, offered in 18S6, which 
is now the property of Company K of Laconia, who 
won it by their excellence in shooting for three 
successive years. The second, offered in 1906, is 
a valuable silver shield, designed by the Gorham 
Company, and mounted on a mahogany back, 
twelve by twenty inches in dimensions. This is 
awarded each year to the company making the best 
record in rifle shooting, and is given to the Man- 
chester Battalion. 

(VI) Horatio Gates, seventh son and tenth and 
youngest child of General Joseph and Sarah (Long- 
fellow) Cilley, was born at Nottingham, New 
Hampshire, December 23, 1777. He moved to the 
neighboring town of Deerfield, where he became a 
prominent citizen. He was a man of great energy 
of character, a safe counsellor, generous and hu- 
mane. On November 17, 1S02, Horatio Gates Cil- 
ley married Sally Jenness, daughter of Richard and 
Mary (Page) Jenness, who was born in Deerfield, 
August 4. 1782. Their children were : A daugh- 
ii— 7 



ter. who died in infancy. Horatio Gates, married 
Deborah Jenness, died in early youth. Elizabeth 
Ann, whose sketch follows. Martha Osgood. Mary 
Jane, married Ephraim Eaton, a lawyer and graduate 
of Dartmouth. Harriet Newell, died young. Jo- 
seph Bradbury, married Elizabeth Jenness. Hor- 
atio G. Cilley died November 26, 1837, in his six- 
tieth year, and his wife died November, 1S65, at 
the age of eighty-three. 

(VII) Elizabeth Ann, third daughter and fourth 
child of Horatio Gates and Sally (Jenness) Cilley, 
was born at Deerfield, New Hampshire, August 30, 
1S10. She possessed an attractive personality and 
quick, bright mind, and received the best education 
afforded to girls of her day. In 1840, upon her mar- 
riage to Rev. Nathaniel Bouton, D. D., of Concord, 
New Hampshire, her home was changed to the 
capital city where she was a prominent figure for 
nearly half a century. Her keen perceptions, viva- 
cious disposition and marked social gifts would 
have caused her to shine in any society, and as 
wife of one of the leading clergymen of the state, 
these qualities found ample scope. During her 
long and active life no Concord gathering 
complete without Mrs. Bouton, and no woman oi 
her day will be more surely remembered. Upon 
the organization of the Centennial Home for 
Aged in 1876, Mrs. Bouton was chosen its first 
president, and she was for several years president 
of the Concord Female Charitable Society, founded 
in 1812. She was always exceedingly active in 
church affairs, and did much to ameliorate the 
somewhat austere conditions of religious life pre- 
vailing during the early and middle part oi 
nineteenth century. 

Elizabeth Ann Cilley was married February. 
1840, to Rev. Nathaniel Bouton, D. D., for forty- 
seven years pastor of the Old North Church in 
Concord, author of the monumental history of that 
town, and from 1867 till his death in 1878. - 
historian. Dr. and Mrs. Elizabeth A. (Cill 
Bouton had six children, of whom the three you 
est died in infancy and early childhood. The three 
elder ones are Sarah Cilley, Martha Cilley. wh 
sketch follows ; and Jane Louise. Sarah Cilley Bou- 
ton was educated in the schools of Concord and 
Bradford Academy, and was married November 12. 
1867, to General Joab Nelson Patterson, who 
graduated from Dartmouth College in 1850 
four years and nine months in the Second A 
Hampshire Regiment during the Civil war, and en- 
tirely through the Spanish war, was United St 
Marshal in his native state for many years, was 
second auditor of the treasury at Washington from 
1S8S to 1892, and after the Spanish war was in- 
spector of fortifications at Cuba and Chickamauga. 
Georgia. General and Mrs. Patterson have three 
children: Louis Marston, in the railroad busn 
at Portland, Maine; Julia Nelson, who married 
Edwin Warren Guyol, November 12, 1900 ; and 
Allan Bouton, graduated from Dartmouth Coll 
in 1898, and subsequently from the Yale School 
Forestry, served through the Spanish war, an.' 
now consulting forester at Baltimore. Mrs. Pa 
son inherited solid and brilliant qualities from b 
parents. She is an ardent lover of nature and 
literature, an untiring hostess, a friend to the in 
and an active participant -in social, philanthropic 
and club affairs. Jane Louise Bouton, the young- 
est member of this family, was educated in the 
Concord schools and at Bradford Academy. 
married October 13, 1SS7, to John Smythe 1 



4S2 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



of South Weymouth, Massachusetts. Mrs. Fogg 
is a woman of great personal charm and many 
gifts, and since her husband's death has made her 
home at Boston and Manchester, New Hampshire. 
She is an Hampshire Colonial 

Dames. (For the sketch of Martha Cilley Bouton, 
see Cilley, VII.) 

This name was originally Totyl, and 

I TLE contrary to the general belief the 

spelling was transformed to Tuttle 

prior to the period of American emigration. A 

family pedigree bearing the date of 1591 places at 

ad William 1 Devi .ire. called 

. who served as bailiff in 1528 and again 

in 1548. was high sheriff 111 154". and lord mayor 

oi Exeter in 1552. As the- were only 

given to men of large estate and high family con- 

u, it may be inferred that he was a man of 

1 eminence. The present agitation against 

race suicide would have found in him an enthusiastic 

supporter, as the pedigree above mentioned credits 

him with being the lather of thirty-six children, 

but it is reasonable to assume however that lie was 

married more than once, although his only re- 

1 marriage was to Elizabeth Mathew of 

Wales. The names of twelve of his 

a appear in the record-, and it is quite prob- 

lizabeth was the mother of four of them, 

namely: Geoffrey, John, Robert and Richard. 

Four distinct families by the name of Tuttle 
immigrated from England in 1635, and three of 
them arrived at Boston on the "Planter," in the 
spring of that year. The heads of these three 
families were: John, wdio settled in Ipswich; 
Richard, who remained in Boston ; and William, 
who went to New Haven. The fourth was that of 
r John Tuttle, who embarked on the ill- 
fated "Angel Gabriel," which was wrecked on the 
rocky coast of Maine, August IS, [634. Till- John 
Tuttle settled in Dover. Xew Hampshire, prior to 
1640, and became the progenitor of a numerous 
ty. With Richard, William and the Dover 
we shall have no more to do, as they nor 
their descendant within the province 

of this sketch. 

(I) John Tuttle. the Planter passenger, went 
from Boston to Ipswich, where he was admitted a 
freeman March 16, 1639, and he was engaged in 
mercantile pursuit-, transacting business with Lon- 
d mi merchants. He was a man of prominence, and 
hire the title of Master, or Mi an early 

deed he is mentioned thus: "way reserved bi 
Mr. Tuttle's swamps and ends of lot." In [644 
he was a representative t 1 thi general court. He 
seems to have become dissatisfied with hi- sur- 
roundings, as about the year 1652 he recrossed the 
10 Ireland, where he settled geously. 

His wife Joan 1 r, and 

ith occun ■ Carricl ' cember 30. 

Hi- children were: Abigail, "Synion." 
Sarah, and I ' 

ind Simon 1 id), who were bom in Ipswich. Joan 
Tuttle was also the moth her children 

by a nli Lawrence. 

Simon, sixth child m of John 

11 in Ipswich, in 1637. He 

nil in Ipswich, and in " he right of 

;e in that 1 ■. He man ied first 

in 1659 to J Burnham, 

and in 1662 or ti d for his second wife 

Sarah, daughter of I [.He died in 



1692, and his second wife, who survived him many 
years, died January 24, 1732. Simon Tuttle was 
the father of thirteen children, namely : John, Jo- 
anna, Simon, Elizabeth, Sarah, Abigail, Susanna, 
William, Charles, Mary, Jonathan, Ruth and another 
daughter, whose name is not given in the records. 

(III) Charles (1). ninth child and fourth son 
of Simon and Sarah (Cogswell ) Tuttle, was born 
in Ipswich, March 31, 1679. He resided in that 
part of Ipswich which was afterward separated 
from it as the town of Hamilton. The maiden sur- 
name of his wife was Burnham. The date of his 
death cannot be ascertained, nor can there be found 
any record giving the names of his children except 
that of his son Charles. 

(IV) Charles (2), son of Charles (1) Tuttle, 
was born in Ipswich Hamlet (now Hamilton), De- 
cember 1, 1708. He lived to be eighty years old 
and died on his birthday in 1788. He married Anne 
Jewett. 

Charles (3), son of Charles (2) and Anne 
(Jewett) Tuttle, was horn in Ipswich Hamlet, 
March II, 1749. He served as a soldier in the 
Continental army during the war for national in- 
dependence. In 1794 he held the office of tax col- 
lector m Hamilton, which was incorporated in the 
preceding year. About the year 1796 he removed 
to Antrim, New Hampshire, and resided there for 
the remainder of his life. He married Lucy Dodge, 
a sister of Arami Dodge, of New Boston, New 
Hampshire. The children of this union, all of whom 
were natives of Hamilton, were: Captain William 
T„ Seth, Jedediah, Daniel, Hepzibah, Anne, Charles, 
Sarah and Elizabeth. 

(VI) Jedediah, third child and third son of 
Charles (3) and Lucy (Dodge I Tuttle, accom- 
panied his parents to Antrim, and erected a dwel- 
ling house in the vicinity of Tuttle Mountain, on 
the old road just east of Samuel Dinsmore's farm. 
Later in life he removed to New Boston, where his 
death occurred in 1845. He married Jane Warren, 
"t Xew Boston, and had a family of live children, 
namely : Lucy J., Daniel M. C, Charles and Jo- 
siah W.. all of whom were morn in Antrim; and 
James M., who was born in New- Boston. 

(VII) James Moore, son of Jedediah and Jane 
(Warren) Tuttle, born at New Boston, November 
8, 1821, died February 10. 1884. He grew up on 
a farm and had the education the common schools 
of his time afforded, supplemented by a short course 
at Francestowu Academy. When he was only three 
years old his mother died, and he went to live with 
the family of his cousin, John B. Warren, wdiere 

it his youth. After his marriage he lived on 

a farm in New Boston, where In- life was spent in 

iltural pursuits and lumbering lie was a 

member of the Presbyterian church of New Boston. 

he married first, Esther human Wan en, daughter 

of Deacon Ephraim Warren, of Goffstown, by whom 
he had three children: George W., and Jane, who 

oung, and Mary Esther, who married Charles 

dley, and died June 3, 1881. Esther 1). Tuttle 
died December 30, 1853, and in 1855 Mr. Tuttle 

ed Rachel Patterson Mi laughter of 

Deacon Peter McNeil, born September 13, 1829. 

They had three children: James Patterson, born 

in 1850; Granville Josiah, horn October 6, 1861, 

;ed in mercantile business in Hartford, 

cticut, and Harriet Shaw, born September 15, 
1S04. now a teacher in the schools of Mancl 

i\ III) James Patterson, son of James Moore 
and Rachel Patterson (McNeil) Tuttle, was born 





^Z^^-^> 



i, 




i^z 



rt£^ 






NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



483 



in New Boston, July 17, 1856. He was educated in 
the common schools till fifteen years of age, and 
then attended the academy at Francestown till 1875. 
From 1875 to 1877 he was a student in the academy 
at Ashburnham, Massachusetts, where he com- 
pleted the course. During the winters of the years he 
was at Francestown and Ashburnham where he taught 
school. This work he made his profession after 
leaving the academy for five years. While engaged 
in this line of work he taught in Goffstown, An- 
trim. Weare, Amherst, and New Boston, New 
Hampshire, and in Townsend, Massachusetts. In 
1S81 he studied law in the office of Judge David 
Cross, of Manchester, and later with General John 
H. Andrews. He subsequently attended the Boston 
University Law School, from which he graduated 
in June. 1885. He was admitted to practice in the 
courts of New Hampshire the same year, and opened 
an office in Manchester, where he has since been 
engaged in a successful and constantly increasing 
practice. In 1892 he was elected county attorney 
for the term of two years. He was re-elected to 
this position four terms more successively, making 
his continuous service in this office ten years. Mr. 
Tuttle was alone in the practice of law until he be- 
came one of the firm of Taggart, Tuttle & Bur- 
roughs, in 1901, which relation still exists. Mr. 
Tuttle is a Republican, and as such was elected in 
1887 representative to the New Hampshire legis- 
lature from New Boston, where his legal residence 
then was. He is a Mason, and has membership 
in the following named organizations : Bible Lodge, 
No. 93, Goffstown; King Solomon Chapter, Mil- 
ford; Adoniram Council, No. 3, Manchester. He 
is also a member of Ridgeley Lodge, No. 74, I. 
O. O. F., and Wonolancet Encampment, No. 2, 
Manchester; Joe English Grange, No. 53, Patrons 
of Husbandry, New Boston, of which he has been 
a member thirty years, and Security Lodge, No. 8, 
Ancient Order of United Workmen. 

He rnarried, January I, 1887, Elizabeth J. Bun- 
ten, who was born at Dunbarton, New Hampshire, 
January 21, i860, and who was a daughter of John 
D. and Elizabeth (Hobbs) Bunten, of that town. 
Mrs. Tuttle received her education in the public 
schools of Dunbarton, at Colby Academy, New 
London, New Hampshire, and at the New Hamp- 
shire State Normal School at Plymouth. She 
graduated from this academy in the class of 1879, 
and from the State Normal School in the class of 
1886. All of her time following the completion of 
her academic education and prior to her marriage 
except the time devoted to her normal school course, 
was spent in teaching in the public schools of New 
Hampshire, principally in the towns of Dunbarton, 
Weare, Mont Vernon, New Boston and Lisbon. In 
the last named town she held the position of prin- 
cipal of the grammar school, just prior to her mar- 
riage. They have four children : Dora Morton, 
born September 21, 1888; Rachel Winnifred, born 
December 4, 1892; Florence Elizabeth, born July 
22, 1S94, and Margaret Esther, born January 30, 
1896. all of whom are now being educated in the 
public schools of Manchester. 

(Second Family.) 
Three hundred years is a long time 
TUTTLE for an American family to dwell in 
one colony or state ; yet it is ap- 
proaching that length of time that the Tuttles of 
New Hampshire have lived in this commonwealth, 
since the settlement of their ancestor on the coast 
near Dover. The family was not only an early one, 



but it has ever been prominent from the earliest 
times down to the present day. In the wars with 
the savages and in the conduct of civil affairs, the 
name of Tuttle has been found written conspicuously 
on the pages of New Hampshire's history. Though 
prominent the Tuttles are modest, and have never 
claimed an unearned honor or contended for a place 
to which they were not entitled. Tuttle or Tuthill 
is a surname borne by families in New England for 
more than two hundred and seventy years. The 
English surnames, whence the surname Tuttle is 
derived, are Tothill or Tuthill, ancient family names 
in England. These surnames are said to be taken 
from names of old localities in England and Wales. 
Tuttle, the American surname, came to be gener- 
ally adopted by the second and third generations 
of descendants of the immigrant settlers, although 
some branches continue to this day to adhere to the 
English form of the surname. The second syllable 
of the English surname passed through every pos- 
sible change of spelling before it finally settled into 
its present form "tie." 

The first appearance of this family name in New 
England was in 1635, when the ship "Planter" of 
London, brought amongst her passengers three 
families to Boston, viz. : Richard Tuttle, his wife 
and three young children; John Tuttle (brother of 
Richard), his wife and four young children; and 
William Tuttle, his wife and three young children. 
After remaining a few years in Charlestown, Wil- 
liam removed to New Haven, Connecticut, Richard 
settled in Boston, and his brother John in Ipswich. 

(I) John Tuttle, the ancestor of the New 
Hampshire family of Tuttles, settled in Dover some 
time between 1633 and 1640. Tradition says he had 
a brother who settled in Connecticut ; otherwise 
it is not known that he was connected with those 
who came in the "Planter" to Boston. There is a 
tradition current among his descendants that he 
came to Dover from Wales ; another tradition says 
he came from the western part of England. In 1640 
the name of John Tuttle appears among the principal 
citizens of Dover, on a protest against the project 
of Underbill to place the little republic of Dover 
under the jurisdiction of Massachusetts. John Tut- 
tle selected for his residence a charming site on 
the east side of Dover Neck "bounded with the 
river on the East, and the lott of Thomas Bearde 
on the South," and the "Create High Street" on the 
West. John Tuttle owned eight acres of the pro- 
jected city which was laid out into house lots, of 
one quarter of an acre each. His plantation was on 
the "west side of Back River adjacent to the Three 
Creeks." This plantation embraced "lot No. 7," of 
the "twenty acre lots," which was laid out to John 
Tuttle in 1642. He also owned other land. He 
is styled "planter" in public records. He seems to 
have communicated to his posterity a bias for his 
own calling; for, with but very few exceptions, 
his descendants to this day have been "husband- 
men" tenaciously holding on to landed property, 
as illustrated by the fact of the uninterrupted own- 
ership of the farm, which he owned and cultivated 
more than two hundred and fifty years ago, by his 
descendants to this dav. John Tuttle died intestate 
in May or June, 1663, a well-to-do planter, probably 
aged about forty-five. He left a widow Dorothy, 
and four children: Elizabeth (?), Thomas, John 
and Dorothy. 

(II) Judge John (2), second son and third 
child of John (1) and Dorothy Tuttle, born in 
Dover, in 1646, died June, 1720, was a man of dis- 



4§4 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



tinction in civil and military life. He filled suc- 
cessively every public office within the gift of the 
citizens of Dover, and was appointed in 1695 judge 
of "Their Mi ' ' Dmmon Pieas" un- 

der the administration of Lieutenant Governor 
Usher. He was selectman of Dover in 16S6-S7-S8, 
town clerk from 1694 to 1717, town treasurer in 
1705, and other years following; member of the 
provincial assembly in 169S-99, 1705-06-07. He was 
one of the six commissioners sent from Dover to 
the convention of 1689, to "meet with the commis- 
sioners of ye other towns of ye Province, to confer 
about and resolve upon a method of government 
within the Province." In 1705 Colonel Richard Wal- 
dron and Judge Tuttle were the "two principal men" 
of Dover, chosen "to joyn with the Representatives 
of Said Province, and with them invested with full 
power to hear, debate, and determine matters re- 
lating to Mr. Allen's Claim." Besides acting in the 
public capacities here named, he appears to have 
been during all this time chairman of the board of 
public surveyors of land. He was also one of the 
leading members of the church of Dover. 

In a military capacity Judge Tuttle seems to 
have "done the state some service." In 1689 he 
was "Lieutenant John Tuttle" of the Dover military 
company. In 1692 he was captain of this company, 
and remained so for about ton years. He is ever 
afterwards called "Captain John Tuttle" in the pub- 
lic records. While captain he had charge of all 
the military defences of Dover, and was often en- 
gaged with his company, or with soldiers sent him, 
in scouting and hunting after the Indian enemy. 
He lived on the west side of Dover Neck, and his 
homestead reached from the road to Back river, 
and included what has ever since been called "Cap- 
tain's Hill." He died in June, 1720, leaving a large 
estate which he disposed of by will among his chil- 
dren and grandchildren. His wife's name was Mary, 
and they were the parents of seven children : Mary, 
Thomas, John, Sarah, Elizabeth, James and Ebe- 

(III) Ensign John (3), second son and third 
child of Judge John (2) and Mary Tuttle, was born 
probably about 1070, held several civil offices, was 
ensign of r military company, and is always 

referred to as "John Tuttle, Jr.," or "Ensign Tut- 
tle," in the records. He lived on the west side of 
Back river, on the farm which his grandfather, 
John (1) Tuttle owned in his lifetime. He also 
owned a large tract of land in the parish of Somers- 
worth, and another at Tale End. On May 7, 1712, 
while attending to some business at his mill, on 
the upper falls of the Cocheco, accompanied by 
his 1 1, he was suddenly set upon by a party 

of maurading Indians, overpowered and slain. 
Thomas, his son, escaped. He married Judith, 
daughter of Richard and Rose (Stoughton) Otis, 
a woman of ability and intelligence, niece of Sir 
Nicholas Stoughton, baronet, and granddaughter of 
Anthony Stoughton, I sq., of Stoughton, in Sun 

Judith, at the time of the "Great Mas- 
sacre in Dover" in 1089, when her father and 
mother, brother and sister urn- slain, and her 
garrison burned by the Indians, was taken 
captive, with her two sisters, all young girls, and 
carried away; but the Indians v, laken by 

a pari> of soldiers at G 1 to Can- 

ada, and Judith and her two young were 

k to 
er. Judith I tittle was left a widow 

children, the 1 I, and tin- two 



They were: Mary, Thomas, Judith, John, 
Dorothy, Nicholas and J 

(IV) John (4), second son and fourth child of 
Ensign John (3) and Judith (Otis) Tuttle, was 
born .May 8, 1704, died February, 1774, was eight 
years old when his father was killed by the Indians. 
He lived on the west side of Back river, on a farm 
given him by his grandfather, Judge Tuttle. He is 
described as a man of intelligence, of a mild even 
temper, and much inclined to the religious belief 
of his brother Thomas, who was a member of the 
Society of Friends; but he never joined that sect. 
He married (first), Elizabeth, daughter of James 
and Prudence Nute. They were the parents of 
eleven children, the order of wdiose ages are uncer- 
tain ; John, Paul, Silas, Dorothy, Prudence, Hannah, 
Anne, Martha, Job, Esther and James. 

(V) Silas, third son and child of John (4) and 
Elizabeth (Nute) Tuttle, was born on his father's 
farm in Dover, May 2, 1-32, and died November 3, 
1797. He was a school teacher, and something of 
a mathematician. He lived and died on the old 
homestead. He married Elizabeth, sister of Lydia 
Jacobs. 

(VI) John (5), son of Silas and Elizabeth 
(Jacobs) Tuttle, was born in Dover, and died in 
Barnstead. He removed from Dover to Barnstead 
in 1776, and was a farmer there. 

(VII) Colonel John (6), son of John and Dollie 
(Jacobs) Tuttle, was born in Barnstead, December 
18, 1784. He married (first), Sallie Jacobs, Sep- 
tember 11, 1807, and for (second) wife. Martha 
Twambly, November 23, 1826, and for his third 
wife Hannah Stackpole, January 21, 1S33. The 
children by the first union: Abigail, born December 
27, 1S07; George. March 20, 1810; Abigail, January 

13, 1815; Levi, May 28, 1817; Margaret, March 16 
1819; Sallie, January 4, 1824. By his second wife: 
Martha Ann, November 2, 1831. By the third 
union, no family. Colonel John died October 11, 

1854. 

(VIII) George, son of Colonel John arid Sallie 
(Jacobs) Tuttle, born in Barnstead, March 20, 
1810, spent his early life on the farm, and acquired 
his education in the public schools of his native- 
town. In 1846 he removed to Pittsfield and, f 11 
number of years afterwards was employed in the 
Pittsfield Cotton Mill. On November 23, 1801, he 
enlisted in Company G. Seventh New Hampshire 
Volunteers, and served in this regiment until June 
5, 1863, but the hardship and exposure he had to 
endure proved too much for his constitution which 
was never very strong, and he was mustered nut 
June 5, 1863, as aforementioned. After his dis- 
charge, he did little work and died in 1878. 11- 
married Judith (Mason) Davis, September 20, 1834. 
Their children were: Hiram A., Henry F., born in 
Barnstead, (840, came to Pittsfield in childhood, 
attended the public schools, and after leaving >chi ol 
worked in a shoe factory. He married 
Spriggs, of Barnstead, and they had two children 
born to them: George B. and Carrie F. He ser 

in the New Hampshire Volunteers from September 

14, 1S64, until the close of the war. and died January 
26, 1885. Two children died in infancy. 

(IX) lion. Hiram A., eldest oi the two sons of 
George and Judith (Mason) (Davis) Tuttle, was 
born in Barnstead, October 16, 1S37. When nine 
years old he accompanied his father's family on their 

val to Pittsfield, and there attended the public 
and Pittsfield Academy. Before his six- 
th year he had been employei 




<^z^kt O^r 








Zsts 



t&tr 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



485 



cations. At this time he entered the employ of 
Lincoln & Shaw, clothiers, of Concord, where he 
remained several years. His ability and zeal in the 
discharge of his duties in Concord led his emp 
to establish him in the year 1854 in the in inageme i1 
of a branch store at Pittsfield, of which he became 
the proprietor in 1858. His business inci 
gradually at first and then rapidly until his estab- 
lishment gained an extensive patronage, and has 
for years ranked among the largest clothing houses 
in the state. So favorably have patrons been im- 
pressed with the fairness of his dealings that in 
after years orders for goods are received from pat- 
rons who have removed to distant states and ter- 
ritories. Mr. Tuttle has now (1907) been the pro- 
prietor of one and the same business for fifty-three 
years, and is justly credited with being one of the 
oldest and most successful merchants in the state. 
The proper management of his mercantile affairs 
brought him large gains, and these he has invested 
not only to his own advantage but to the benefit 
of the citizens of his adopted town. In addition 
to his principal line of business. Mr. Tuttle has been 
extensively interested in banking, lumbering, and 
other industries. He is a trustee and president of 
the Pittsfield Savings Bank, trustee and president 
of Manchester Savings Bank, and a trustee of the 
Pittsfield Academy. He has deal largely in real 
estate and built many dwelling houses, including 
a fine residence for himself, and the best business 
buildings in the village. He was one of the pro- 
jectors and organizers of the Pittsfield Aqueduct 
Company, to which he subscribed a large part of 
of its capital stock. In all matters of public benefit 
he has been a prompt and generous supporter. 

Mr. Tuttle attained his majority in 1859; all 
his relatives were Democrats, and the town of Pitts- 
field has been Democratic, for many years. When he 
announced his intention of voting the Republican 
ticket, the Democrats used their best efforts to 
dissuade him form his purpose, but without suc- 
In i860 the Republican-, though so long 
hopelessly beaten, placed Mr. Tuttle on their ticket 
as a candidate for town clerk and elected him, and 
the Democrats were defeated for the first time in 
thirty-three years. This was the beginning of his 
long career in the public service. In 1873 and 1874 
he represented Pittsfield in the legislature. In 1876 
he was appointed on the staff of Governor Cheney, 
governor's councillor, with the rank of col- 
onel. In 1878 he was elected a member of 
the executive council from the second dis- 
trict and re-elected the following year, under 
the new constitution, for the term of two 
years. In 1888 his name was presented to the state 
convention as a candidate for governor. He failed 
to receive the nomination at that time, but his 
friends felt that he was in the line of succession, 
and in 1S00 he was nominated with practical unani- 
mity, and took his seat in January, 1891, after a spir- 
ited contest. The duties of the governorship were 
discharged by him with marked fidelity and credit. 
His administration was distinguished by many 
events of more than ordinary public importance, and 
through them all his unswerving steadfastness of 
purpose was conspicuous. Governor Tuttle attends 
the Episcopal Church and is a liberal contributor 
to the support of that denomination, but does not 
withhold his aid from other religious organizations. 
He has always proven himself a steadfast friend, 
-a good neighbor, and a citizen of the highest type. 
Through the influence of his many estimable per- 



sonal qualities, prosperity has always attended every 
enterprise he has undertaken. 

He married, March 17, 1859, Mary C. French, 
born in Loudon, November 12, 1841, the only child of 
John L. and Mary B. M. French, of Loudon. 1 hey 
have had one child. Hattie French Tuttle, born 
January 17, 1861, and educated at Wellesley College. 
She married Frederick K. Folsom. of Boston, and 
died May 6, 1905, leaving two sons: Hiram Tuttle, 
born August II, 1890, and Charles Edward Balch, 
August 28, 1896. They attend St. Paul's School, 
Concord. 



The family of Arnold is of great 
ARNOLD antiquity, having its origin among an- 
cient princes of Wales, according to 
pedigree recorded in the College of Arms. They 
trace from Ynir, King of Gwentland, who flourished 
about the middle of the twelfth century, and who 
was paternally descended from Ynir, the second son 
of Cadwaladr, King of Britons,' which Cadwaladr 
built Abergaveny in the county of Monmouth and 
-tie, which was afterwards rebuilt by Hamlet, 
ap Hamlet, ap Sir Druce, of Balladon in France, and 
portions of the wall still remains. 

(II) Colwalder the Great. (Ill) Idnallo. 
( IV ) Roderick Moelwynoc. (V) Conan Dvndveth- 
roy. (VI) Eisytht, Queen of Wales. (VII) Rod- 
erick Maur the Great. (VIII) Morgan Maur. 
(IX) Owen, King of Glenmorgan. (X) Ithal Dhu. 
(XI 1 Gugrant, King of Glenmorgan. (XII) Jes- 
tyn. (XIII) Ynir. This Ynir. King of Gwent- 
land, by his wife Nesta, daughter of Jestin, son of 
Gargan, King of Glamorgan, had a son 

( XIV) Meric, who succeeded his father as King 
of Gwentland, and he left by his wife Eleanor, 
daughter of Onired, son of Jerworth, of the house 
of Trevor, a son 

(XV) Ynir Vidian, who was also King of 
Gwentland. and who married Gladise, daughter of 
Rhys Goch, son of Maenerch, Lord of Astroydir, 
Brecknockshire, by whom he had a son 

1 XVI) Carador, Lord of Gwent, whose wife was 
Nesta, daughter and heir of Sir Rydereck le Gros, 
Knight, by whom he had a son 

( XVII) Dyfnwall, Lord of Gw-ent, who mar- 
ried Joyes, daughter of Hamlet, son of Sir Druce, 
Duke of Belladon, in France. Her brother Hamlet 
rebuilt the castle of Abergavenny, as before men- 
tioned. Their son 

(XVIII) Systyl, Lord of Upper Gwent, mar- 
ried Anwest, daughter and heir of Sir Peter Rus- 
sell, Knight, Lord of Kentchurch in the county of 
Hereford, and by her he had a son 

(XIX) Arthur, married Jane, daughter of Lein, 
son of Moreidhec Harrion. Lord of Cantisblyn. 
Their son 

(XX) Meric, married Anwest, daughter of 
Cradock, son of Einon, son of Golproyn, by whom 
he had a son 

(XXI) Gwillim, married Jane, daughter and 
co-heir of Iver, son of Assylet, Lord of Lyho Taly- 
bout. and had a son 

(XXII) Arnholt, married Janet, daughter of 
Phillip Fleming, Esq., and by her had a son 

(XXIII) Arnholt, married Sybil, daughter of 
Madoc, son of Einon, son of Thomas, by whom he 
had a son 

(XXIV) Roger Arnold, of Llamthony, in Mon- 
mouthshire, Esq., the first of the family who adopted 
a surname. He married Joan, daughter of Sir 
Thomas Gamage, Knight, Lord of Coytey or Coity, 



486 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



and had two sons. Joan (Gamage) Arnold traces 
her ancestry through Sir William Gamage, Gilbert 
de Gamage, Sarah de Tuberville. married William 
de Gamage. Lady Wenthian Talbot married Sir 
Payne de Tuberville. Lady Sarah de Beauchamp 
married Richard VI, Baron of Talbot. William VI, 
Baron de Beauchamp. Lady Isabelle de Maudwit 
married William V, Earl D." Maudwit. Lady Alice 
de Newbury married William VI, Earl de Maudwit. 
Waleram IV, Earl Warwick. Lady Gunreda War- 
ren married Roger de Belmont. William Gunreda 
Warren II. William, Earl of Warren, married 
Gunreda. William de Martel. Nicholas de Barch- 
arville de Clare. Baldrick Tewtonicus. Virgerius. 
Charles. Duke of Loraine. Louis IV, King of 
France. Edgar A. married Charles III, of France. 
Edward the Elder. Alfred the Great. King Ethel- 
wolf. Matilda married William the Conqueror. 
Adelis married Baldwing. Robert the Wise. Huch 
Capet. Huch the Great. Robert the Strong. Ar- 
nolph II. Baldwin TIL Baldwin II married Alph 
Alfritha, daughter of Alfred the Great. Arnolph 
the Great married Alice, great-great-great-grand- 
daughter of Charlemagne. Baldwin I. married Judith. 
Charles the Bald, grandson of Charlemagne. 

I XXV) Thomas Arnold, married Agnes Wain- 
stead, who bore him a son 

(XXVI) Richard Arnold, married Emmace 
Young, who bore him a son 

(XXVII) Richard Arnold, married, and had a 
son 

(XXVIII) Thomas Arnold, married twice and 
by second wife had a son 

(XXIX) Thomas Arnold, married Phebe Park- 
hurst, who bore him a son 

(XXX) Eleazer Arnold, married Eleanor 
Smith, who bore him a son 

(XXXI) Joseph Arnold, married Mercy Staf- 
ford, who bore him a son. 

(XXXII) Samuel Arnold, married Elizabeth 
— — ■ . who bore him a daughter 

(XXXIII) Elizabeth Arnold, married Christo- 
pher Brown, and her brother, Israel Anold, married 
Deborah ( I] 

(XXXIV) Nabby Brown, married her cousin, 
Israel Arnold, II. son of Israel Arnold, I. 

(XXXV) Charlotte Brown Arnold, married 
William Bibby, and their daughter. Maud Bell 
Bibby, who is a member of the Daughters of the 

■:. and has her coat-of-arms, became the wife of 
Samuel De Wolf Lewis, of Newport, New Hamp- 
shire (sec Lewis, IV). 



The Robertsons of Scotland are 

ROBERTSON members of the clan Donna- 

chaidh, or Duncan, so called, it 

id from Duncan, its founder, a descendant of 

the earls of \tli ol. lie was born about 1275, and 

inherited from his father Andrew a portion of the 

earldom of Uhol, ami was the first of the lairds of 

Struan, or Si ran Hi wa an adherent of Robert 

Bruce, and 1 <! and protected (hat kins and 

his qui a Eter the defeal al Meth- 

ven in 1 Ian has distinguished itself in 

many war-. id to 1 the day at 

ickburn. .Many distinguished men in Europe 
Lmerica at 1 the Robertsons of 

Struan. A 1 ms, many Robert- 

sons tied in Ireland whence they or their descend- 
ants came to America. 

(I) William orn in the 

of Ireland, February 8, 1703, came to New 



Hampshire, and died in Pembroke, March 7, 1790. 
aged eighty-seven. He was one of the Londonderry 
colony, and after residing there for a time bought 
land in Pembroke in 174S, and afterward settled in 
that town. He married Margaret Woodend, a high- 
land girl, who was born October 20, 1705. and died 
in Pembroke, February 19, 17X5. in her eightieth 
year. They had Thomas, John. William (died 
young), William, Rebecca, Andrew, Elizabeth, James, 
and Mary Hall. 

(II) John, second son and child of William and 
Margaret (Woodend) Robertson, was born in Lon- 
donderry, June 9, 1732, and died in Bow, October 11, 
1816, aged eighty-four. He seems to have been of 
a roving disposition, as he is reported to have been 
a resident for periods more or less short, in Exeter, 
Haverhill, Ipswich, Andover, Plymouth, London- 
derry, Pembroke and Bow. Robertson's Ferry between 
Bow and Pembroke was named for him. He settled 
in Bow in 1766. served in the Revolution, and re- 
ceived August 4. 1779, forty pounds bounty money 
and twelve pounds travel money for military service. 
He married first, about 1756, Lydia Cales, of Exeter: 
second, about 1766, Elizabeth Lovejoy. The chil- 
dren of the first w ; fe, born in Pembroke, were : 
Sarah, John, and Elizabeth; of the second wife, 
James. Ebenezer. and Mehitable. 

(III) James, eldest child of John and Elizabeth 
(Lovejoy) Robertson, was born in Bow, May I,}. 
1767, and died April I, 1847. aged eighty years. He 
was a skillful carpenter, prominent in town affairs, 
and the holder of various offices. He married, in 
1792. Martha Parkei, and they had nine children: 
Daniel M.. Elizabeth, Martha, James P., Hiram, 
David. Vashti P.. Obadiah, and Susan. 

(IV) James Parker, fourth child and second 
son of James and Martha (Parker) Robertson, was 
born in Bow, December I, 1802, and died in X T orth- 
field. October 6, 1871, aged sixty-nine. He was a 
school teacher, farmer, gardener, and orchardist. He 
removed to Northfield, and settled on the bank of 
the Merrimack river in 1841. In 1S50-52 he en- 
larged the buildings on his .farm. He raised hops, 
a business his father had followed in Bow. He 
planted his first crop in 1842 and continued in" tin 
business until 1853. He held town offices nt vari 
times, and was collector of taxes when he died. He 
married first, at Bridgewater, January' 22, 1S28, Mary 
Ann Hammond, of Bridgewater, who was born 1 
ruary 18. 1808, and died April 22. i860: second. May 
T. 1861, Mary Ann Chase, of Litchfield, who died at 
Concord, September 6. 1808. Tbe children of the 
first wife were: James L. and Charles II. 

( V ) James Lewis, elder of the two sons of 
James and Mary Ann (Hammond) Robertson, was 
born at Bow, October 20. T828. and died in North- 
field. December 17. 1856, aged twenty-eight years. 
lie accompanied hi- parents in their removal ft 

Bow in 1841, and assisted his father in ever) duty 
pertaining to farming, gardening and fruit raising, 
and labored on the neighbori ; rn His educa- 
te >n w a 1 the pul ' at Bi u and 
, Hill." lie worked in a machine shop at 
Keene, and afterward in a needle factory at Frank- 
lin. On account of failing health ' hi a change 
of climate and went to Kansas, where a ienter 
he assisted in erecting buildings. Tie married. De- 
cember 25, [851, Elizabeth S. Carter, of Bow. whi 
was born in Bow, October .=. 1829, and died June to. 
1871, daughter of Nathaniel beth (Robert- 
son) Carter. They had one child. Lillie Lewis 
Robert si in. wh irn in Northfield, October ir, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



4S7 



1856. She was educated in the public schools at 
''Oak Hill" and "The Interval" in Canterbury, which 
was supplemented by one year at Tilton Seminary. 
She was married November 30. 18S2, at the paternal 
homestead in Northfield, to Charles Edward Hodg- 
don (see Hodgdon YIII). Soon after her marriage 
she became a member of Union Rebekah Lodge. No. 
3. of Portsmouth, and is now a member also of the 
Society of the American Revolution. She is his- 
torian of the Helen Seavey Quilting Party of Ports- 
mouth, and a charter member of Strawberry Bank 
Grange, No. 251 : a member of East Rockingham 
Pomona Grange. No. 11; and of the New Hamp- 
shire State Grange. She is also vice-president of 
the Home Mission Society, and a King's Daughter of 
the Middle Street Church : member of the Graffort 
Club, and ranger of Section No. 1, Naval League of 
the United States. 



This family of Robertson has 
ROBERTSON been resident in America less 

than a century, and its members 
from the immigrant to the present generation have 
been energetic, progressive and highly respectable 
citizens, engaged in industrial pursuits of benefit to 
the country. 

(I) William Robertson, the immigrant, was 
born in Lasswade. Scotland, July 21. 1793, and died 
in Hinsdale. New Hampshire, January 12, 1867. Lit- 
tle or nothing is known of his early life, except that 
he served seven years as an apprentice at the paper 
maker's trade. In April, 1819. he came to America 
with his wife, and settled in Halifax, Nova Scotia, 
six weeks later; and there resided about two years, 
and probably worked at his trade. He then re- 
moved to Hartford, Connecticut, where he lived until 
1823, when he returned to Halifax where he engaged 
in paper making, and whence he removed to estab- 
lish himself in the same line of manufacture at Put- 
ney, Vermont. There he spent his life until in old 
age he moved with his wife to Hinsdale. New 
Hampshire, where they passed the remainder of their 
lives near the home of one of their sons. Mr. 
Robertson married, in Edinburg. Scotland. February 
14, 1817, Christina Ross, of Edinburg. born Decem- 
ber 28, 1793. died at Hinsdale, New Hampshire, Oc- 
tober 8. 1866. She was a daughter of John and Ann 
(Harper') Ross, who were married in Gilmerton in 
1788, and were the parents of five children : Chris- 
tina, Margaret. Elizabeth, Isabella and Catherine. 
John Ross was born in the parish of Logie Easter, 
Ross-shire. Scotland, 1763, died July, 1S51. His wife 
died in 1836. John Ross was a son of Alexander 
Ross, who was a farmer on the estate of Admiral 
Sir Lockhart Ross, Bart., of Balmagowan, Ross- 
shire, Scotland. In 1771 he removed to Falkirk, and 
about 1773 to Gilmerton, four miles from Edinburgh, 
He was the father of three sons — John. William 
and George — and two daughters. Mr. and Mrs. 
Robertson had seven children: Ann, born in Edin- 
burgh. January 25. 1818. Marion E.. born in Hali- 
fax. April 25. 1S20. died May 8. 188S. George, born 
in Hartford. Connecticut. April 19. 1S22. John, horn 
in Halifax. October 4, 1824. Jane R.. born in Put- 
ney, Vermont. September 27. 1831. Edward C, horn 
in Putney, September 27. 1831. Christina C, born 
in Putney. Vermont. April 21. 1S36. Mrs. Robert- 
son is spoken of by one who knew her as being in 
her old age "one of the most delightful old ladies 
we ever recollect to have seen, — so brisk, so cheery 
and sympathetic, so fresh and young was she in all 
her feelings and impulses to the last." Both re- 



tained till death "the Scotch dialect and the sturdy 
virtues of their Scotch lineage." 

(II) George, third child and first-born son of 
William and Christina (Ross) Robertson, was born 
in Hartford, Connecticut, April 19, 1822, and died in 
Hinsdale, New Hampshire, May 24, 1882, aged sixty. 
He was about two years old when his parents re- 
moved to Putney, Vermont, and there he passed his 
youth and obtained his education in the public 
schools. While yet a lad he began work in his 
father's mill, and before he was twenty-one he knew 
the secrets of paper making and was qualified to 
operate a mill. William Robertson sold his mill in 
Putney before his older sons had attained their ma- 
jority, and engaged in the same business in Cohoes, 
New York, where he operated a leased plant. He 
was not satisfied with the prospect there, and soon 
moved back to Putney, where he bought back the 
mill he had sold, and established his sons, George 
and John, in business before either of them was ! 
age, under the firm name of George & John Robert- 
son. Their business was well conducted and profit- 
able, and until TS49 the two brothers lived at Put- 
ney, and operated the mill together. In that year 
George Robertson went to Hinsdale, New Hamp- 
shire, and engaged in the same business, retaining 
his interest in the Putney mill, and having his 
brother for a partner in the Hinsdale establishment. 
George sold his interest in Putney in 1856. On lo- 
cating in Hinsdale he and others bought a paper 
mill which Thomas & Cutting had built four years 
before. There he carried on the manufacture of 
paper until the mill was destroyed by fire in 1851. 
This loss necessitated a suspension of business until 
a new mill could be built, which was done immed- 
iately. In 1S63 fire again consumed the mill and 
machinery. In 1S65 a new establishment had been 
erected, and in that the business was carried on until 
1881. In that year the bursting of what is called a 
rotary bleach laid the mill and a large portion of the 
machinery in ruins. In spite of what would have 
been disheartening misfortunes to most other men, 
Mr. Robertson began to rebuild at orjee and the next 
spring he had a better mill and more expensive ma- 
chinery than he had ever had before : so that instead 
of eight hundred and fifty pounds of paper he had 
formerly been able to turn out, he now, 1882, could 
turn out five thousand pounds in a day. and an era 
of prosperity seemed to await him. At this time 
two of his srn;. Frank W. and Edwin C, were erect- 
ing a paper mill on the Ashuelot river, in the town 
of Winchester, three miles above Hinsdale. On the 
afternoon of May 24. 1882. while observing the con- 
struction of this mill and talking with his son, he 
was struck on the head by a falling derrick which 
fractured his skull and caused his death in a short 
time. Thus was removed from that community a 
man of most excellent business qualifications, of 
sterling integrity, and indomitable perseverance and 
energy, who in suite of repeated losses of large 
proportions, had risen after each disaster, stronger 
and more successful than before, until the final blow 
swept his life awav. He was a public spirited, gen- 
erous, kind-hearted and helpful man and citizen. In 
politics he was originally a Whig, but became a 
Democrat on the organization of the Know-Nothing 
party. His fellow citizens availed themselves of his 
business talent; and elected him to office where he 
served th n as selectman. He was an active mem- 
ber of the Congregational Church, and societv. and 
for five years the superintendent of the Sunday 
school of that church, which under his administra- 



48S 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



uccessful. He was a member of 
len Rule Lodge, No. 77. Free and Accepted Ma- 
Hi Royal Arch Chapter, No. 4 ; the 
d Sele Masters; and Hugh Depayen Com- 
Knights Templar, of Keene. 
married, May 13, 1844, Abigail Wyman, who 
in May 31, 1S23, in Jamaica. Vermont, and 
in Hinsdale. September 12. 1SS9, daughter of 
han and Patty T. Wyman. of Jamaica. Vermont, 
children were born of this union : George and 
died in children; four are living: Frank 
W., George A.. Edwin C., and Orren C., all of 
m are married and engaged in the. manufacture 
of paper. Frank W. is mentioned below. George 
A. is engaged in business in Hinsdale, a member of 
linn of G. A. Robertson & Company. He is a 
member of the Congregational Church, superintend- 
ent of its Sunday school, and a member of Amity 
Lodge, No. 40, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
cf Hinsdale, of which he is a past grand. Edwin C. 
is the subject of a paragraph below. Orren C. is in 
in Hinsdale, is a progressive citizen, and a. 
1 1 of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
1 T 7 T > Frank William, eldest of the living sons 
George and Abigail (Wyman) Robertson, was 
i in Putney, Vermont, September 6. 1S4S. He 
1 In education in the common schools of 
Hinsdale, at Olcutt's Seminary. Brattleboro. Ver- 
mont, and Powers' Institute. Earnardston, Massa- 
chusetts. In 1S70 he went into the business of pa- 
uring with his father at Hinsdale, the 
assuming the style of Robertson & Son. In 
he sold his interest in the Hinsdale plant to his 
her George A. He removed to Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, and bought a mill there which in company 
with his brother Edwin C. they operated two years. 
In 1882 he returned to Hinsdale and formed a 
partnership with his brother. Edwin C, under the, 
firm name of Robertson Brothers, and they built a 
r mill at Ashuelot Village, in Winchester, which 
they have since operated, employing twenty hands 
turning out daily about five thousand pounds of 
nilla grade of tissue paper. Mr. Robertson is a 
Eul man. and possesses the good qualities that 
hrewd and honorable ancestry have transmitted 
him. Ho i- a Democrat, and has served as a 
member of the board of selectmen. He is a raem- 
of Golden Rule Lodge, No. yy. Free and Ac- 
, of Hinsdale; Cheshire Royal Arch 
No. 4: the Royal and Select Masters; Hugh 
Commandery, Knights Templar, of Keene; 
and Edward A. Raymond Consistory, thirty-second 
Sublime Princes of the Royal Secret, of 
also the Order of the Eastern Star of 
Hinsdale. I te married, in Hinsdale, March 14. 1871. 
irtin, who was born March 5, 184,8, in 
r of Oscar J. and Caroline E. 
(Stoddard) Martin. Her father was born in Guil- 
I, Vermont, and her mother in Chesterfield. New 
have one daughter, Eva Caro- 
line. Both mother and daughter are members of 
mi Chapter, No 36, Order of the Eastern Star. 
IN) Edwin Clarence, fifth son and child of 
il (Wyman) Robertson, was born 
in Hinsdale. March 6, 1856. He attended the com- 
mon and high Hi I I imliall Union 
nd and Graj Seminary, Town- 
Vei mont, Pow ers [nstituti . 
sachusetts, and Wells Bit im College at New 
Haven, Conm ticut, to obtain his education. After 
tiding Four years in tin- paper manufacturing in- 
dustry in Mm emploj < i his father in Hinsdale, he 



was admitted to a partnership in the same line of 
business with his uncle, John Robertson, at Holyoke, 
Massachusetts. I 1 t8So, with his 

. Frank, the interest of the uncle named was 
purchased and the plant operated by them under the 
name of tip .in Brother-. This partnership 

continued three years and, 1 in 1S83 by 

the withdrawal of the brothers from Holyoke and 
their establishment of a pAp;r mill at Ashuelot, New 
Hampshire, which they have ever since continued 
to operate. They employ twenty persons, and turn 
out from two to three tons of tissue paper daily. In 
1003 Edwin C. Robertson and his son Winfred 
formed a partnership as E. C. P & Son, and 

built another paper mill at Ashuelot, where they 
employ twenty operators and turn out from three to 
four tons of tissue paper a day. Mr. R1 bertson is 
a Democrat, and has had considerable experience in 
political affairs. For years he has served as town 
moderator and as moderator at the annual school 
meeting. In 1885 he represented Hinsdale in the 
state legislature, serving in the committee on manu- 
factories; he was at that time the youngest member 
of the Assembly. He i- the present President of 
Hinsdale's Board of Trade. 

In circles connected with the paper manufacture 
he has attained considerable prominence, and is now 
serving his second year as vice-president of the tissue 
division of the National Pulp and Paper Associa- 
tion, and his third year as president of the National 
Association of tissue paper manufacturers. He is 
a member of Golden Rule Lodge. No. 77, Free and 
Accepted Masons, of Hinsdale: Fort Dummer 
Royal Arch Chapter! of Brattleboro. and Beauseant 
Commandery, Knights Templar, of Brattleboro, Ver- 
mont. He is also a member of Riverside Colony of 
Pilgrim Fathers, No. 14S. of Hinsdale, of which he 
ha- been governor about eight years in all. 

He married, in Hinsdale, May I, 1878. Rose E. 
Richmond, daughter of Gilbert and Catherine (Law- 
ton ) Richmond. Mr. Richmond was born in Guil- 
ford, Vermont, and his wife at Dummerston, Ver- 
mont. He died in January, 1907, and she is still 
living. Two children have been born to Mr. and 
Mr-, Robertson: Winfred F.. wdio was born July 
_"4. r88o, prepared for college at the high schools of 
Hinsdale and Keene, New Hampshire, and took the 
course at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 
from which he graduated in the class of icjo.i ; and 
Christina, who 1, now I 1907) a student at Mac- 
1 - Boarding School at Springfield. Massa- 
chusetts. 



From the pioneer davs of Massa- 
HOPKINSON chusetts. when the first Ilopkin- 
son settled in Boston, down to 
the present, the men of this race have been men of 
. always producers, and contributors to the 
wealth of three states in which they have been 
pioneer settlers. They have been patriotic, withal, 
and have helped to preserve liberties then Revolu- 
tionary ancestors fought for. 

(I I Michael Hopkinson, "the settler." came to 

Xew England about [633, and lived a short time in 

Boston te moved to Rowley and settled in 

lo-.i il, was admitted to the First Church in Bos- 
ton, Februa and dismissed to "ye gathering 
of a church at Rowley." November .'4. 1639. May 
1,;. 164.0, In- wa. made a freeman. He married his 
win- \nn, whose surname is unknown, before set- 
11 Rowley, lie died in 1649, and she married 
I ndi John Trumble; (third), 1659, Richard 




Y**^!hK)$kJi 



f*^~J- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



489 



Swan; and died in 167S. The sons of Mich.nl and 
Ann Hopkinson were: Jonathan, Jeremiah, John 
and Caleb. 

(II) John, third son of Michael and Ann Hop- 
. was born in Rowley, February 7, 1647, and 

died May 29, 1704. He married, June 8, 1670, Eliza- 
beth Pearson, who was born in Rowley, October 17. 
1040, daughter ot Deacon John Pearson. 1 hen- 
sons were: John and Jeremiah. 

(III) John (2), elder of the two sons of John 
(1) and Elizabeth (Pearson^ Hopkinson, was born 
in Rowley, .May 30, as stated by the town records, 
Liit according to the church records he was baptized 
April 3, 1692. He lived in Byfield Parish, Rowley. 
He married, February 12, 1713. .Mary Wheeler, who 
was born February 9, 1695, daughter of Jonathan 
and Mary Wheeler. 

(IV) Jonathan, son of John (2) and Mary 
(Wheeler) Hopkinson, was born in Rowley, Massa- 
:husetts,' February 10, 1717, and removed to Brad- 
ford, where he married (date not given in the rec- 
ord) Margaret Burbank, of Bradford. He lived in 
1'elham from 1752 to 1761. and removed to Rindge 
about 1761 or 1762. There and in the adjoining 
town of Jaffrey he lived ten years. The Rindge 
records represent that he was a serviceable man, and 
frequently named on committees. He owned two 
hundred acres of land in the southeast corner of 
Jaffrey, adjoining Rindge, and there he erected a 
mansion house and two mills, which he sold in 
1768 to Ephraim Hunt. These mills were on the site 
of the mill and box factory of the Annett Manu- 
facturing Company. In 1769 and 1770 he sold his 
remaining land in Rindge and in Jaffery. In the 
autumn of 1772, or early spring of 1773. he went to 
Littleton and settled at the village of North Little- 
ton. His advent there was a substantial addition 
to the young settlement. He and his family were 
staunch patriots, and he and his four sons were 
in the army nearly a year at the same time, and all 
in the same company. He served eleven months and 
twenty-four days from April 7, 1778, in Captain 
Luther Richardson's company, of Colonel Bedel's 
regiment. About 1784 he removed to Upper Cohas. 
The children of Jonathan and Margaret I Burbank) 
Hopkinson were : Jonathan, Mary, David, John, 
Martha and Caleb. 

(V) David, third child and second son of Jona- 
than and Margaret (Burbank) Hopkinson, was born 
September 1, 1751. He lived in various places with 
his parents, and afterwards in Littleton, from 1773 
to 1780. He served one month and twenty days in 
1776 in Captain Josiah Russell's company of 
rangers; from January 26, to March 1, 1778, in Cap- 
tain Nehemiah Lovewell's company, and from April 
7. 1778, eleven months and twenty-four days, in Cap- 
tain Luther Richardson's company, Colonel Bedel's 
regiment. "In 1780," says the History of Littleton, 
New Hampshire, "he settled in Guildham, Vermont, 
near the line of Lunenburg." It was supposed for 
a time that his farm was in Lunenburg, and he at- 
tended town meetings, and was elected to office in 
that town. After the adjustment of the boundaries 
of these two towns in 1785, he found himself a 
citizen of Guildhall. He was town clerk and lister 
of Lunenburg in 17S1, chief justice of Essex county, 
1S12 and 1815, and at all times a prominent factor 
in the public affairs of Guildhall. He died in 1830. 
Another account of the family says: "Judge David 
Hopkinson was a native of 'Molbury' (Marl- 
borough), Massachusetts. He married, before 1773, 
Sarah Kennedy, who was born in Haverhill, Massa- 



chusetts. In April, 1776, they went from Haverhill, 
New Hampshire, to Guildhall, Vermont, drawing 
their two children, Joshua, who was then three 
years old, and David, who was ten months old, on 
a moose sled. On their arrival there he immediately 
jet to work to build a home in the wilderness, in 
which labor .he was largely assisted by his young 
and ambitious wife. He felled trees, and soon had 
the logs ready for a cabin, which his strong-armed 
and warm-hearted neighbors helped him erect. He 
began to fell the forest to make a clearing in 
1 to raise a crop, and within a year felt quite 
well established in the frontier home. There his 
children were born and reared, and there they nearly 
all grew up. Like their neighbors they were hardy, 
but generous and hospitable, and from their door 
no deserving needy one was ever turned away. 
Judge David was a man of strong mind and good 
capacity, very prominent in public affairs, and held 
the office of chief judgS of the Essex county court 
for the years 1812-15. Mrs. Hopkinson died March 
18, 1836. Their ten children were : Joshua, David, 
Henry, John, Sally, Isaac, Noyes, Polly (died 
young), Polly, Francis. In 1886 but one who bore 
or had ever borne the name remained in Guildhall, 
and that was Mary, who married William Hopkins, 
and lived on the place, where the two eldest children 
were taken off the moose sled." 

(VI) David (2), second son and child of David 
(1) and Sarah (Kennedy) Hopkinson, was born 
July 8, 1775, and landed in Guildhall in April, 1776, 
and lived there until he removed to Derby, where 
he died November 8, 1837. He was an influential 
citizen, a man of first class ability, and was always 
able to accomplish what was required of him. In 
whatever position he was placed by the vote of his 
fellow citizens or the appointment of the officials 
of the government, he discharged his duties con- 
scientiously and well, and the name of David Hop- 
kinson is one that his descendants may look back 
upon with pride and veneration. While he lived in 
town he owned and occupied the lot known as the 
"Governors Right," which was a part of the land 
taken by his father when he settled in Guildhall in 
1776, and where his widow resided at the time of 
her death. ' He married Dorcas Hugh, who was 
born in 1780, and died November 18, 1863, aged 
eighty-three years. They had nine children : Rus- 
sell, Portia H., Guy, Isaac, John II., Ann, Sarah, 
Dorcas and Portus. 

(VII) John Hugh, fourth son and fifth child 
of David (2) and Dorcas (Hugh) Hopkinson, was 
born in Salem, a part of Derby, Vermont, 1813, 
and died in Lancaster, New Hampshire, April 30, 
1886. When five years of age his father moved to 
Guildhall. He was a farmer and resided in Guild- 
hall until 1853, when he settled in Lancaster where 
the remainder of his life was passed. He pur- 
chased the stone house on Main street where his 
children were born and where his son, I. W., now 
lives. He was a member of the Democratic party, 
and took an active part in politics and held various 
town offices which he administered with credit to 
himself. He was elected trustee of Lancaster Sav- 
ings Bank in 1876, and was a member of the board 
of fire wardens, 1860-71, both inclusive. He mar- 
ried, 1850, Susan Johnson, Wetherbee, who was 
born in Concord, 1826, and died July 30, 1892, only 
child of James and Henrietta Wetherbee, of Con- 
cord, Vermont. Three children were born of this 
union : Clementine Burns, John David and Isaac 
W. Celmentine B., married, November, 1883, E. F. 



49o 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Rogers, of Santa Barbara, California, died June, 
1884. 

(.VIII) John David, son of John Hugh and 
Susan J. (Wetherbee) Hopkinson, was born in 
Lancaster, November, 1854. Educated in the Lan- 
caster Academy, and early beean work on the farm. 
In the fall of 1879 he went to Hartford, Kansas, 
and engaged in sheep raising and now owns a large 
farm where he is extensively engaged in raising 
live stock. He married Frances Lagro, daughter 
of James Lagro, of Lancaster; by this union one son 
was born, who died in infancy, in 1894. 

(VIII) Isaac Wetherbee, third child of John 
H. and Susan J. (Wetherbee) Hopkinson, was born 
in Lancaster, December 18, 1856. He spent his 
youth with his father, attending school in winter 
and assisting in the farm work the remainder of 
the year. He now owns and cultivates the farm 
his father owned, and also does something in the 
way of getting out lumber. He affiliates with the 
Democratic party, and as a Democrat was elected 
selectman in 1880, and fireward in 1888. He was 
one of the last board of directors of the Lancaster 
Bridge Company, one of the organizers of the Rid- 
ing Park Association, of Coos county, January 22, 
1884, and was one of the charter members of the 
Mount Prospect Grange, Xo. 241, of Lancaster, 
organized March 13, 1896. He attends St. Paul's 
Episcopal Church. He takes a lively interest in 
Free Masonry, and is a respected member of that 
order. He is a member of North Star Lodge. No. 
8, Free and Accepted Masons ; North Star Royal 
Arch Chapter, No. 16; and North Star Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar, of Lancaster. He mar- 
ried, December 8, 1881, in Lancaster, Mary John- 
stone, who, was born January 29, 1859, in Mobile, 
Alabama, daughter of Alexander and Sarah Bugbee 
Johnstone. Alexander Johnstone was born in Glas- 
gow, Scotland, 1823, and at the age of eighteen years 
came to America and entered the employ of A. T. 
Stewart, the great merchant of New York, where 
he was employed many years, and later engaged in 
business in Mobile, Alabama. 



This name came into England with 
MOORE William the Conqueror, in 1066. 

Thomas de More was among the sur- 
vivors of the battle of Hastings, October 11, of that 
year, and was a recipent of many favors at the 
hands of the triumphant invader. All the anti- 
quarians of Scotland and the authorities on genea- 
' nil that the name Dennis-toun of Den- 
nis-toun. ranks with the most eminent and ancient 
in the realms of the United Kingdom. It certainly 
dates back to 1016, and probably earlier, and Joanna 
or Janet, daughter of Sir Hugh de Dangieltown, 
married Sir Adam More, of Rowallan, and became 
the mother of Elizabeth More, who. in 1347, married 
King Robert II, of Scotland, from whom sprang the 
long line of Stuart monarcl ther Janet, about 

1400, married her cousin, Sir Ad, mi More, of Row- 
allan. This motto has been preserved by the Den- 
nis-toun-: "Kings come of us; not we of kings." 
The name of Moore has been numerously borne in 
England, Scotland, and later, in Ireland, represen- 
of ibis family having filled distinguished po- 
sitions in the United Kingdom, and several of them 
occupied seats a- members of Parliament. They 
also been eminent in military affairs. Rich- 
ard Moore came in the Mayflower to Scituate, Mas- 
sachusetts, and the name n in the n 
of Plymouth. Newbury and Salem, the earlie 
tlements in the state. 



(I) The New Hampshire representatives of this 
name are descended from Jonathan Moore, who is 
found of record at Stratham (then a part of Ex- 
eter), New Hampshire, in 1650, and who was with- 
out doubt a resident there some years prior to that 
date. He was of Scotch origin, and had been a col- 
onel in the British army. He had two sons, Jona- 
than and William. 

(II) William (1), son of Jonathan Moore, was 
one of the petitioners, January 4. 1715, for the es- 
tablishment of the town of Stratham, and was elec- 
ted a selectman at the first town meeting of that 
town, April 16, 1716. At a town meeting of August 5, 
of the same year, he was chosen the first represen- 
tative to the general court. He married Sarah Wig- 
gin, daughter of Andrew Wiggin, and granddaugh- 
ter of Thomas Wiggin, the emigrant ancestor of the 
Wiggin family, and they had children : William, 
see forward ; and Mary. 

(III) William (2), son of William (1) and 
Sarah (Wiggin) Moore, was in the Provincial and 
Ranging service in 1755. While on duty he was 
captured by the Indians. After his escape from 
captivity he was one of the signers of a petition to 
the general assembly, dated Stratham. June 8, 1762. 
He married Abigail Oilman, born prior to 1670, 
daughter of Major John Gilman, of Stratham, and 
had children : William. Abigail. Peter. Betsey. 
Agnes. Mary. Harvey, born July 12. 174 — . in Strat- 
ham, removed to Parsonsfield in 1791, where he 
died in 1801. He was a soldier during the war of 
the Revolution, and was commissioned captain by 
the secretary of war. He enlisted May 30. 1775: 
was second lieutenant in Colonel Enoch Poore's 
regiment; and lieutenant in the regiment of Colonel 
Drake, in 1777. He married, November iS. 1762, 
Mary Wiggin, of Stratham, and they had children : 
Susanna, Abigail, Betsey, Simon, John, Harvey and 
Sally Moore. Coffin (see forward). John. Eliza- 
beth. 

(IV) Coffin, fourth son and eighth child of 
William (2) and Abigail (Gilman) Moore, was 
born in Stratham, New Hampshire, February _'5. 
T 739- He was the first physician to practice in the 
town of Candia, in that state and he died there, Oc- 
tober 30, 1784, and buried in the old meeting-house 
graveyard on Candia Hill. He practiced in New- 
market, Brentwood, Georgetown. Pownaldsborough 
and Candia, and was surgeon on board a naval ves- 
sel during the war of the Revolution. Both he 
and his wife were people of marked intelligence 
and fine education, and spoke several languages. 
He married, March 3, 1760. Comfort Weeks, born 
in Greenland, New Hampshire, in 1740. daughter of 
Dr. John Weeks, and they had children : Martha, 
William, John Weeks, Coffin, Comfort, Jacob Bai- 
ley, see forward; and Mary. After remaining a 
widow for about sixteen year-. Mrs. Moore married 
Simeon French, of Candia, and died in that town, 
November 1. 1814. 

(V) Dr. Jacob Bailey, fourth son and sixth child 
of Dr. Coffin (4) and Comfort (Weeks* Moore, 
was born in Georgetown. Maine, September 5. 1772. 
Dr. Moore was named for Rev. Jacob Bailey, who 
was born in Rowley, Massachusetts, in 1731, died 
July 26, 1S08; he went to England and there after 
suitable Study was admitted to Holy Orders, Jan- 
uary 19. 1760. He was ordained deacon by the 
bishop of Rochester, and priest by ■ p of 
Peterborough, and was app to 
Georgetown, now Bath, Maine. In 1701 he married 

•'iter of Dr. John Weeks, of 
Hampton, Xew Hampshire, for whom Dr. Moore 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



491 



named his youngest son, John Weeks Moore, 
author of "The Enclycopedia of Music." He 
studied medical lore with his father, but qualified 
himself for his profession principally through his 
own efforts. After practicing for a time in asso- 
ciation with his father, he settled in Andover, New 
Hampshire, in 1796. There he met with marked 
success, and in 1812 was appointed surgeon's mate 
in the Eleventh Regiment of United States Infantry. 
On September 17, of the same year, he wrote home 
from Plattsburg, New York, "I am just disembarked 
from on board the United States Sloop Eliza ; the 
chief surgeon is drowned and I supply his place. 
I have the care of four thousand troops." Septem- 
ber 27 he wrote "On board the Little Belt, Lake 
Champlain. I am ordered to Burlington. I have 
now the care of the Sixth as well as the Eleventh 
Regiment." His short service, which extended only 
to December of the same year, was so arduous that 
it undermined his health and he was forced to re- 
tire. He returned to his home in Andover. where 
he passed away January 10, 1813. He had been 
prominent in Masonic circles, and was buried with 
appropriate Masonic ceremonies. He was elected 
an associate member of the New Hampshire Medical 
Society, June, 1807. His parents were noted as fine 
singers in their day, and Dr. Moore was early 
taught music and the use of stringed instruments. 
He never relaxed his interest in this art, and became 
a composer and excellent musical performer, his 
compositions being widely published through the 
mediums of his time. He also contributed songs 
and articles of great literary merit to the journals 
of the day. He organized one of the first musical 
societies in the state, at Andover, and equipped and 
managed a band, in which one of the first clario- 
nets used or made in the state was one of the in- 
struments. This was made from a pattern procured 
by Dr. Moore abroad. Some of his students became 
noted both as physicians and musicians, in parti- 
cular, Dr. Nathaniel Wheet and Dr. Peter Elkins. 
Dr. Moore married, November 9, 1796, Mary Eaton, 
born in Candia, June 11, 1773, died of consumption, 
in Manchester, New Hampshire, December 20, 1847. 
They had children: Jacob Bailey, Mrs. Mary 
(Moore) Brown, Henry Eaton and John Weeks 
Moore. Mrs. Moore was the daughter of Ephraim 
Eaton, and a member of a family of marked musi- 
cal talent. Her son John W. Moore, said of her death ; 
"Her parting words with us were : 'Good bye ; 
meet me in Heaven !' Impressed with sacred awe, 
how softly shall we tread the turf near where her 
body lies. 'Meet me in Heaven!' Those few words 
will live in memory. The loved, the kind, the good 
mother has gone. Her spirit is with God. And in 
this life of death her children wait, when ripe and 
ready, to gather home." 

She went as sets the morning star — which goes 
Not down behind the darkened West, nor hides 
Obscured among the tempests of the sky. 
But melts away in the azure light of Heaven. 

(VI) Jacob B., eldest son of Dr. Jacob Bailey 
(5) and Mary (Eaton) Moore, was born in An- 
dover, New Hampshire, October 31, 1797. Very 
early in life he was noted for his studious habits, 
and he acquired more than the usual amount of 
classical knowledge, although he did not pass through 
college. As a boy he became an apprentice in the 
printing office of Isaac & Walter B. Hill, of Con- 
cord, publishers of the New Hampshire Patriot. He 



attended strictly to the duties of his calling by day, 
and often studied until late into the night in his 
earnest pursuit of knowledge. He was an excel- 
lent singer and played several instruments well, 
the violin being his favorite. The first Concord 
band was established largely through his efforts, 
and he was ever a friend and patron of music, but 
finding that his musical gifts were interfering with 
the prosecution of his studies and necessary labors, 
he destroyed his violin and music while yet an ap- 
prentice, and never used another. Before he had 
been two years employed in the office of the Patriot, 
his compositions, printed in that journal, began to 
attract attention, their authorship being unknown 
to the general public, and soon the general interest 
in his finished and masterly articles compelled the 
revelation of the author's name. After the com- 
pletion of his apprenticeship Mr. Moore became as- 
sociated in partnership with Isaac Hill in *the pub- 
lication of the Patriot and the printing business. 
They continued to co-operate with profit and satis- 
faction for many years, and the Patriot attained the 
largest circulation of any paper published in the Gran- 
ite State, up to that time. They became divided 011 the 
issue of supporting John Quincy Adams for a 
second term in the presidency, and an amicable dis- 
solution of partnership took place. Mr. Moore then 
established the New Hampshire Journal, a Whig 
paper, which came to have a wide circulation 
throughout New England. It was not only a strong 
political organ, but a valuable literary medium, and 
compassed the election of a United States senator 
in conjunction with the personal influence of its 
editor, then a member of the legislature. About this 
time Mr. Moore published: "New Hampshire His- 
torial Collections." "Gazetteer of New Hampshire," 
"History of Concord," and "History of Andover." 
He was also editor of the periodicals of the New 
Hampshire Historical Society, and had charge of 
its papers. His style was forceful and interesting, 
and his works will ever live in libraries and in 
the minds of students of history. The changes of 
political sentiment bringing the downfall of the 
Adams party in New Hampshire caused Mr. Moore 
to withdraw from public life in his native state. 
During the administration of Harrison and Tyler 
he held a lucrative clerkship at Washington. District 
of Columbia, and from thence removed to the city 
of New York. He was chosen librarian of the 
New York Historical Society, and while in dis- 
charge of his duties connected with this office, 
brougTit out his "Lives of New England Governors." 
He was made postmaster at San Francisco. Cali- 
fornia, in 1849, and agent of the post office depart- 
ment for the territory of Oregon. He died at Bel- 
low Falls, Vermont, September 1. 1853, and was 
buried in Iman church-yard, although no stone as 
yet marks his resting place. 

Jacob Bailey Moore married Man* Adams Hill, 
sister of Governor Hill, of New Hampshire, and 
had four sons and two daughters : George Henry, 
Charles Carroll, Jacob Bailey, one time librarian of 
New York Historical Society ; he graduated from 
New York University in 1851, with high honors ; 
Frank Moore, Mrs. Lucretia Moore Osborne and 
Mrs. Mary Moore Jones. Frank Moore, third son of 
Jacob Bailey and Mary Adams (Hill) Moore, born at 
Concord, New Hampshire, is widely known as the 
author of "Rebellion Records." "Songs and Ballads 
of the Revolution," "Diary of the American Revo- 
lution" and "Spirit of the Holy Bible." He was at- 
tached to the American Legation in Paris during 



XEW HAMPSHIRE. 



the Franco-Prussian war. in 1870. and ns secretary 
most efficiently aided Minister Washburn in the 
duties of that trying period. 
1895. 
1 VI) Henry Eaton, son of Dr. Jacob Bailey (5) 
and Mary (Eaton) Moore, was born in Andover, 
New I ire, July 21, 1803, died at East Cara- 

brid'j October 23. 1841. His lit- 

eral., same as that enjoyed by the 

majority of the boys of his time, but his musical 
gifts were carefully cultivated by his parents, and 
he came to be noted as a composer and publisher 
of music. He was happy in the study and practice 
of his beloved art, and excelled in all that pertained 
to it. By the i . lie was sixteen years of age- 

he was well known as a teacher and composer of 
both vocal and instrumental mu ic Books upon 
this science were rare and costly in those days, and 
it was ni5t then much taught, but his enthusiasm 
and masterly ability built up a clientele in the course 
of time. i si, me of the fruits of his 

successfu ition. In his youth the vocation 

of a musician was not held to be remunerative, and 
he was apprenticed to Hill & Moore, in Concord, to 
1 the trail, of printing. He established the 
1 on Journal at Plymouth, New Hampshire, in 
1824, and conducted this as a family newspaper for 
a period of several years. His first musical publi- 
cation was a "Musical Catechism." which made its 
:e in 1829, and was the first matter of its 
kind published in the country, and was extensively 
sold to teachers and students of music. Three years 
later Mr. Moore compiled and published "The New 
Hampshire Collection of Church Music, this being 
Unction of the most approved psalm and hymn 
tun, tied for public and privati devotion to- 

gether with a few sat pieces, solos, duets, choruses 
and anthems." This work consisted of three hun- 
d and fifty-two pages, and was a most ambitious 
publication for New Hampshire. It established the 
i"i author, and received a liberal patronage. 

One year later he published the "Merrimack Col- 
lection >d" Instrumental and Martial Music," which 
arranged for various instruments and had a 
wide sale. He published "The National Choir," in 
1834, and in 1837 the "Northern Harp, a new collec- 
tion of Church Music." Mr. Moore removed to East 
Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 1838, where he con- 
tinui 'I to teach mu ;ic until his death at the age of 
thirty-eight years. He was founder of many musi- 
cal .-Hid conventions, an, I taught a I irger 
number of schools and pupils than any other man 
in a similar number of year-. A Ei a weeks before 
his death he began the publication, ai Boston, of a 
musical weekly called tin S ■•.'< n I oliad, and but 
two numbers had been issued when 1" 1 
away, lie bad in preparation a "History of Music" 
and a "D of Musical Terms." He was 
exceedingly affable and pleasant in bis ma; 

generous in a marked degree, and 
1 friends, 
marl 1 arborn Farnham, born in 

Concord. New Hampshire, November u>. 1801, died 
in .Manchester, June (>, [880. She was a daughter 
of Deacon Ephraim and Sarah (Brown) Farnham, 
the former a successful farmer oi 1 mi, .ml (See 

I arnnum VI ). Mr. and Mi Idren : 

1. Henry Lawreno born in Concord, New Hai 
shire. July i. [828, died unmarried, December 1. 
[853. 2. John Anen in,, born in Concord. New 
Hampshire, April 28, [831, 'led unmarried, in the 
city of New > rk, X' . iS;o. 3. William 



Ellery, see forward. 4. Susan Frances, born in Con- 
cord,' New Hampshire, January 5, 1S36, married, 
June 8, 1805, Joseph Warren Fellows, of Andover, 
New Hampshire, and died in Manchester, 
1st 11, 1S74. She had no children. 5. 
Ella Maria, born in East Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
July 2, 1840, died unmarried, in Canton, in the same 
state, August 28, 1880. 

(VI) John Weeks, son of Dr. Jacob Bailey (5) 
and Mary (Eaton) Moore, was born in Andover, 
New Hampshire, April 11, 1807, died in Manches- 
ter, in the same state, March 23, 1889. He was 
apprenticed to learn the printer's trade in the office 
of the New Hampshire Patriot, and in 1825 and 
1826 was in the office of James Dickinson, of Dover, 
New Hampshire, who was engaged in the publica- 
tion of the New Hampshire Gazette. One year later 
he commenced the publication of the Androscoggin 
Free Press, the first weekly newspaper in the state 
of Maine, and which was published at Brunswick. 
He then returned to Concord, where, in conjunc- 
tion with his brother. Henry Eaton Moore, he started 
the Concord Semi-Weekly Advertiser, the first 
new-paper to be published twice a week in Concord. 
They also contracted to print the historical collec- 
tions for their brother, Jacob B. Moore. John W. 
Moore was also a member of the firm of John W. 
Moore & Company, which published the Daily 
News, in Manchester. He was editor of the New 
Hampshire Journal of Music, in 1870. Mr. Moore 
removed to Bellows Falls, Vermont, in 1838, where 
he commenced the publication of the Bellows Falls 
Gazette, which he published for seventeen years, 
during ten of which he was postmaster. He was 
identified with the art of printing, and printers, for 
more than seventy years. Among bis published 
works may be mentioned the following: "World of 
Music." "The Sacred Minstrel," "The Musician's 
Lexicon," "The Musical Library, "The American 
Comprehensive Music Teacher." in two editions, at 
Brattleboro. 1855-36; "The American Collection of 
Instrumental Music," Boston, [856; "The Star Col- 
lection of Instrumental Music." "Complete Ency- 
clopaedia of Music," Boston. Cleveland, New York 
and London; 1854, a volume containing more than 
one thousand pages, which alone would have given 
him undisputed fame in the musical history of his 
country, and upon which the definitions of musical 
terms in Webster's and Worcester's dictionaries are 
based; "Appendix to Complete Encyclopaedia of 
Musi,;' published in Boston, New York, Chicago 
and Manchester, in 1875: "Vocabulary of Musical 
Terms"; List of Musical Works published in the 
United Slates from 164010 1875, Boston, New York, 
Philadelphia. Chicago, and Manchester, New Hamp- 
shire, in 1X76; "Collections, Topographical, Histor- 
and Biographical," Vol. I, Concord, 1831 ; 
"Musicians' Lexicon"; "History of Music": "Musi- 
cal Terms." published in numbers of one hundred 
paces, in Bellows Falls, Vermont, in 1841 ; "Musical 
1 ibrary." ine publication in Bellows Falls in 

1849; "Musical Record," a magazine of music, art, 
science literature and news, Manchester, New 

Ham] ' 1 from January, 1867. to January. 1S70; 

"Progressive Lessons," three editions, Bellows Falls, 
1S47; "Puritanism of Music in America," eighteen 
numbers, published in Portsmouth and Manchester, 
in 1863, \t the time of his death he was engaged 
in arranging the matter for a supplementary volume 
t,, 1 II irical Notes on Printers and Printing." 

II, married, September 17, 1S32. Emily Jane East- 
man, born in Concord, New Hampshire, January 6, 




WILLIAM ELLERY MOORE 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



493 



1809, died in Manchester, New Hampshire, May 18, 
1881. They had children: 1. Ellen, born in Con- 
cord, New Hampshire. 2. Henry, born in Bellows 
Falls, Vermont, November 1, 1840, died in the same 
town February 20, 1^42. 3. Emily, born in Bellows 
Falls, Vermont. His two daughters, Ellen and 
Emily, inherited the love of music and books from 
both their father and mother. They have both 
taught music, Ellen while living at Bellows Falls, 
Vermont, and Emily at Manchester, New Hamp- 
shire, where her piano pupils and musical kinder- 
garten ciasses have been very large. She has given 
lessons to the second and even third generation of 
her pupils. 

John Weeks Moore was named for Dr. John 
Weeks, of Hampton, New Hampshire. Mr. Moore 
not only composed music, but played the violin and 
piano and taught music. He spent much time per- 
fecting himself on his favorite instrument, the flute, 
and even when a child he preferred to stay at home 
and play the flute rather than in romping with other 
boys. He had a great love for books and the mak- 
ing of books, and continued his studious habits all 
his life. Mr. Moore was almost a lifelong com- 
municant of the Episcopal Church, and in later 
years when he was prevented from attending church 
he always read her daily service. He and his whole 
family were made members of the Episcopal Church 
at Bellows Falls, Vermont. 

(VII) George Henry, eldest son of Jacob 
Bailey (6) and Mary Adams (Hill) Moore, was 
born in Concord, New Hampshire, April 20, 1823. 
He studied for a time at Dartmouth College, and in 
1S39 removed to New York and became a student 
in the University of New York, from which he was 
graduated in the class of 1S45, with the highest honors. 
Prior to his graduation he had received the appoint- 
ment of assistant librarian of the New York Histor- 
ical Society, and became librarian after his gradu- 
ation, thus filling a position which had been capably 
filled by his father. He was also superintendent of 
the Lenox Library of New York city in 1872. He 
was widely known in the best literary circles through 
his writings, among which may be mentioned : "The 
Treason of Charles Lee"; "Employment of Negroes 
in the Revolutionary Army" ; "Notes on the History 
of Slavery in Massachusetts" ; "History of the Juris- 
prudence of New York" ; "Early History of Colum- 
bia , College" : "Washington As An Angler." The 
University of the City of New York conferred on 
him the degree of Doctor of Laws. He was con- 
nected with the following organizations : Corres- 
ponding member of the New England Historical and 
Genealogical Society ; the same of the Massachu- 
setts Historical Society ; life member of the Boston- 
ian Society; New York Historical Society; Amer- 
ican Antiquarian Society; and life fellow of the 
American Geographical Society. George Henry 
Moore married Mary Given Richards, of New York 
city. They had two children : George Evertson and 
Mrs. Alison Given Smith. The son studied medi- 
cine in this country and Europe and practiced with 
great success in New York city; died April 15, 1891. 
(VII) William Ellery, third son and child of 
Henry Eaton (6) and Susan Dearborn (Farnham) 
Moore, was born in Concord, New Hampshire, No- 
vember 12, 1833. When a very young lad he re- 
moved with his parents to East Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, where the death of his father occurred 
shortly afterward. William was placed upon a farm, 
and even as a child evinced his fondness for books 
and all connected with them. He then went to Man- 



chester, New Hampshire, where his school education 
was completed in the high school. In one of the 
books that he had in charge as secretary of Man- 
chester's Association of Old Residents, Mr. Moore 
wrote a few lines descriptive of his first coming to 
the town. This was in December, 1841. He wrote: 
"We came over the Lowell road to Nashua and then 
took an old-fashioned sleigh-stage. We drove di- 
rectly to the house of Dr. Thomas Brown, who lived 
then in the 'Old Ark,' at the corner of Elm and 
Amherst streets." Dr. Brown's wife was Mary 
Moore, a sister of the father of William Ellery 
Moore. He was still quite a boy when he com- 
menced to learn the trade of printing in the office 
of Henry A. Gage, who was one of the proprietors 
of The Weekly American. It was at this time that 
Mr. Moore attended the Manchester high school. 
He, in company with a number of other young men, 
was induced to go to Texas, by a series of misrepre- 
sentations, and when there they were thrown upon 
their own resources. Mr. Moore .succeeded in ob- 
taining a position as a school teacher, and was also 
the editor of The Times, at Sabine Pass, Texas, 
when the Civil war broke out, and he found himself 
in the midst of a great rebel community. This, of 
course, put an end to his occupation. At the ciose 
of the war he returned to Manchester, and for sev- 
eral, months made his home with his sister, Mrs. 
Fellows. Shortly after this he went to New York 
city, where he was engaged in the printing business 
for a long period of time. He again returned to 
Manchester, and made arrangements with James M. 
Campbell and A. A. Hanscom. whereby he obtained 
a third interest in the Manchester Union. This was 
about 1867, and he became the local editor and re- 
porter of that newspaper. At the expiration of one 
year Mr. Moore disposed of his newspaper holding 
and formed a partnership with Charles J. Peaslee. 
This firm conducted a job printing business in the 
old Union building at the corner of Elm and Market 
streets, over the Manchester National Bank. After 
a time Mr. Moore purchased the interest of Mr. 
Peaslee and continued the business alone at the same 
place. A few years after he removed his plant to 
Nuffield Lane, where he was in business at the time 
of his death. Mr. Moore was upright, honest and 
conscientious in his business dealings. No man in 
this or any other community was more faithful to 
his word or more regardful of the obligation im- 
posed by that word. He was a bright, spirited and 
entertaining writer, and prepared some of the best 
papers ever heard on the geological history of this 
region. He was associated with the Unitarian 
Church, of which his mother had been a member, 
and gave largely of his time and means to that in- 
stitution. Mr. Moore was closely identified with the 
interests of the Manchester Institute, an organiza- 
tion for the furthering of science, art and literature, 
which had his hearty approval. He was especially 
interested in the work of the Manchester Historic 
Association, of which he was an incorporator, and 
to which he contributed a number "of valuable pa- 
pers. He was also a member of the publication 
committee. In the old days he ran with the Massa- 
besic hand tub, then housed on a lot in the rear of 
the present site of the Baptist Tabernacle, and he 
was at one time clerk of the company. In late years 
he was a devotee to baseball, and he attended nearly 
all the league games near his home. 

Mr. Moore was one of the best known and most 
prominent Knights of Pythias in New Hampshire. 
He was one of the first Pythians in Manchester, 



494 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



joining the order in 1S71, and was a member of 
Granite Lodge until the institution of Queen City 
of which he became a charter member, lie 
i through all the chairs of the subordinate 
and had held several offices in the Grand 
.11 one time occupying the highest state office, 
that of grand chancellor. He was still further 
1 by selection as supreme representative for 
At the time of his death he was chairman 
of the Grand Lodge committee on fraternal corres- 
pondence, an office he had held for many years; 
r of the committee on Pythian Home ; mem- 
ber of the committee on Pythian law ; and a member 
of the committee of foreign correspondence. A 
number of changes were made in these various com- 
mittees as the years went by, but Mr. .Moore was 
led by each succeeding administration because 
of his familiarity with the business affairs and 
routine. He was a member of the endowment rank 
of the Knights of Pythias. He also held member- 
ship 111 the Urder of Red Men. and the Royal Ar- 
canum. 

He was a devoted student of bird life, and a 
great lover of birds, delighting to talk of their habits 
and songs. During the spring and summer months it 
n unusual sight to see him enjoy solitary 
ramble- through the woodlands. In his home hie 
no man could have attained greater perfection. He 
and his wife were in perfect accord, and his devotion 
ami thoughtfulness to her and her friends were mat- 
I comment. His love of children was almost 
nenal, and they returned his affection in kind. 
He loved to be with them, to enter into their joys, 
make them happy. Personally he was of a 
affable disposition. He always looked upon 
the best and brightest side of w-hatever came up in 
his life, and never permitted himself to brood over 
which could not be altered. He was a bright 
onalist, and bis unvarying good nature 
nfectious. His death occurred October 22, 
1900, after a brief illness, and his loss is sincerely 
and deeply mourned throughout the community. 
Long before the time appointed for the funeral 
services, which were held at his late residence, No. 
69 Harrison street, October 25. many friends of the 
dead man, who had been esteemed by so many, ar- 
rived, and the house was filled with mourners who 
had come to pay their last respects. The Rev. C. J. 
the Unitarian Church, was the officiating 
nan. Alter prayer and the reading of an 
lion from the Bible, he delivered a 
which was in part as fi How s ; 
"This day is such a day as he loved. This air, 
this flaming of the 'burning bush,' the hillsides 
colors, the quiet peace and sincerity 

that br 1 over the earth as if made for him. He 

have felt their invitation, and though his feet 
turned toward th . id the workshop, his heart 

would be in the w Hands and Ins thoughts along 

Others might know more of 
the facts of nature, the text book facts, but he was 
1. It was the genuine passion 
life ami grew on 1 , tronger, sweeter and 
more complete with his years. Others might have 
more understanding of details, but I never knew 
one who so entered into the secret enjoyment and 
satisfaction oi the h orld i deeply 

and truly the thrill of wonder and the glad humility 

a w hole, 

mbodiment of the thoughts of God. 'God 

to the hi nen in many ways.' This 

was the reverent path William Moore's feet trod in 



loving thought and meditation. He knew the 
Presence that we dare not name, the great, wide, 
wondrous Presence, so much deeper than our per- 
sonalities, so much stronger than our complaints, so 
much more patient than our whimpering. There he 
worshipped, as he has so often said, and it was 
with the simple purity of a little child. It seemed 
to me often, as I have met him returning from the 
walks where he was not alone, returning with a 
certain glow and gladness in his face, that in him 
the Bible sentence was fulfilled: 'Thou shalt be in 
league with the stones of the field and the beasts of 
the field shall be at peace with thee.' Yes, even of 
the common and neglected, the hidden and inanimate 
world, he was an intimate. He loved to go down 
deep into the mysteries of their life and being. And 
this not for the purpose of dissection, laying bare 
their mystery, but that he might understand and ap- 
preciate them. He was as an elder brother to all 
the creatures of God. 

"He was a friend of little children. If, as 
Frederika Bremer, the Swedish writer, used to say, 
'Four things she was sure would be in Heaven, sun- 
shine, plenty of little children, flowers and pure air,' 
then will he be at home in God's garden-house of 
souls. Or perhaps he would rather have us say, and 
we will say it reverently in memory of him. that in 
these things he found his heaven here on earth. He 
knew the heart of a child because, however hard he 
might appear outwardly, within there was a corner 
that was gentle and tender, trusty and true. Some- 
times I know there was a burr about him, but it was 
unconsciously to him, his way of protecting his own 
strong inner feeling. He would not bare it to the 
eyes of the world. No man can do so without 
suffering. 

"In some ways, perhaps, it has been a hard life. 
Let us remember that. He was early thrown by the 
vigor and energy of his nature into bitter conflicts 
where the only law was blow for blow. He could 
not take things by halves, but must enter into them 
with all his soul. No one passes through such con- 
tests without scars and wounding. But like the gen- 
erous fruits of earth he mellowed, I have fancied 
and believed, as the years ran on. The swift, sharp 
intellect spoke its words of truth and judgment, but 
he had learned that life cannot be reduced to arith- 
metical formulas. The very intensity of his mind 
that could harbor no subterfuge, evasion or com- 
promise, made his friendship also real and rich. 
Men respected him the more perhaps that they did 
not agree with him. His mind was characterized by 
on clear transparency. He never let business 
crush out the life of his mind. It was continually 
eager and active, rejoicing over new truth as ovi 1 a 
In. Men treasure. Other men were often too busy 
t'l think, lie was not. He loved accuracy and cor- 
. clear definitions, the march of argument. 
His was a deep laid scorn of all illusions and de- 
lusion,. And yet in him was the soul of a poet as 
you might know by his playfulness and genuine wit 
"i speech. His religious principle-, and he was 
loyal to his church, were ever 'Truth for authority, 
and not authority for truth.' I wonder if you and 
1 fully understand how ibis love of truth For truth's 
sake, even when it seems to require renunciation 
and denial of what would be pleasant to believe, I 
wonder if we realize bow- this in itself was a better 

worship 1 1 the living 1 than much repeating of 

'Lord, Lord.' I bow down before that greatness of 
soul and dare to believe out of the very fullness of 
my trust in God that never in all eternity can it be 




MRS. WILLIAM ELLERY MOORE 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



495 



otherwise than well with such fidelity, well to the 
uttermost beyond all we can ask or think. 

"To speak of the cleanness and purity of this 
man's heart and conscience is almost too sacred a 
thing except for silent remembrance. Yet in the 
midst of so much in the daily superficial record of 
American life it is a proud satisfaction to speak in 
simple recognition of it. Not that he attained the 
ideal or felt himself above others, but simply that 
he kept fast hold upon a natural delicacy and refine- 
ment which was not worn upon the sleeve. His 
best life was a quiet life, unmasked of men. What 
his home was to him and what he was to his home 
you may not know, but it is known beyond what 
men may see. He furnished that home not with 
luxuries or rich flourishings. but with an atmos- 
phere of generosity and considerateness. He furn- 
ished it with homelikeness. The test of those who 
know you closest is the supreme test. We are not 
afraid "to trust William Moore to his Father, not for 
what he knew and believed — does that make any 
difference? — but for what he was at heart. God 
knoweth them that are His." 

Mr. Staples then read the following anonymous 
poem : 

" He does well who does his best, 
Is lie weary? — Let him rest. 
Brothers! I have done my best, 
I am weary — let me rest. 
After toiling oft in vain. 
Baffled, yet to struggle fain; 
After toiling long to gain 
Little good with weary pain. 
Let me rest. But lay me tow 
Where the hedge-side roses blow, 
Where the little daisies grow, 
Where the winds a-Maying go, 
Where the foot path rustics plod. 
Where the breeze'bowed poplars nod. 
Where the old woods worship God, 
Where the pencil paints the sod. 
Where the wedded throstle sings. 
Where the young bird tries his wings. 
Where at times the tempests roar, 
Shaking distant sea and shore — 
To be heard by me no more ! 
There beneath the breezy west. 
Tired and thankful let me rest, 
Like a child that sleepeth best 
On itsmother's gentle breast." 

Music was by Miss Jean McQuarrie and Mrs. A. 
L. Franks, who rendered several touching selections 
during the services. The pall-bearers were : Charles 
B. Clarkson, of Queen City Lodge, Knights of 
Pythias ; Franklin McKinley, of the Uniform Rank, 
Knights of Pythias ; Charles Gliddon, of Monesquo 
Tribe of Red Men ; Charles Wingate, of the Royal 
Arcanum ; Dr. Maurice Clarke ; and W. G. Africa. 
At the close of the services many gazed upon the 
face of him they had known so well in life, and also 
viewed the profusion of beautiful floral tributes. 
The body was taken to the Pine Grove cemetery, 
where interment took place, the Rev. C. J. Staples 
reading prayers at the grave. 

Mr. Moore married, December 25, 1872, Martha 
Stevenson Miller, born at Tamworth, 1848, daughter 
of David F. and Elizabeth (Stevenson) Miller, of 
South Manchester, the former a prominent real es- 
tate dealer, and granddaughter of Jonathan and Abi- 
gail (Folsom) Miller. Her maternal grandfather 
was John Milton Stevenson, of Tamworth, New 



Hampshire. The name has been variously spelled 
as "Stevenson," "Stephenson," and even changed to 
"Stimpson." One of the ships belonging to Captain 
John Mason, which plied between England and Pis- 
cataqua, on which settlers and supplies were sent to 
the new world, was named the "Pied Cow." She 
made several voyages, and on the second voyage, 
November 16. 1631, William Stephenson was master. 
Nothing further concerning him has been preserved. 
Captain Mason had two sisters, one of whom, Sarah, 
born December I, 1583, married Stephen- 
son, and had a daughter — Alice — whose name is 
plainly spelled Stevenson, according to the records 
in Yenwarden, county Kent, England. The record 
of the Stevenson family as far as known is as 
follows : 

(I) Thomas Stevenson, of Dover, New Hamp- 
shire, was born prior to 1641, and died in Dover, 

December 7. 1663. He married Margaret , 

who died November 26, 1663, and had children: 
Margaret, born 1653; Thomas, born 1654; Joseph, 
born before 1665, died before 1694; and Bartholo- 
mew, died 1694. 

(II) Bartholomew, son of Thomas and Mar- 
garet Stevenson, died in 1694, or possibly somewhat 
earlier. He married, October 10, 16S0, Mary Clark, 
and had children : Mary. Bartholomew, Joseph, 
Elizabeth, Thomas, Sarah and Abraham. 

(III) Joseph, son of Bartholomew (2) and 
Mary (Clark) Stevenson, was born before 1684. 
He married. September 26, 1717, Margaret Footman, 
and had children: Joseph, born 1719; Margaret, 
born 1721 ; Hannah, born 1725 ; and Thomas, born 
1726. 

(IV) Thomas, son of Joseph and Margaret 
(Footman) Stevenson, was born in 1726. He mar- 
ried Agnes Glass, and they had a child : James. 

(V) James, son of • Thomas and Agnes 
(Glass) Stevenson, married Mary Remick, and had 
children : John, Milton, and David. 

(VI) John Milton, son of James and Mary 
(Remick) Stevenson, married and was the father of 
several children. One of his grandchildren is Mrs. 
Moore. Besides his own large family he cared for 
and educated twenty other children, and found places 
for them in the world. Among these was Leopold 
Morse, well known in Manchester, New Hampshire, 
and later a representative in congress from Boston, 
Massachusetts. 

Mrs. Moore has practically spent her entire life 
in her native state of New Hampshire. She was 
graduated from the Manchester high school in the 
class of 1867, and carried off one of the highest 
honors of the class. The following spring she de- 
cided to make the profession of teaching her life 
work, and accordingly taught in the Harvey district 
for one term, of which Joseph Edgerly was superin- 
tendent. When the Lincoln School was opened, she 
was chosen as a teacher for it, and in all taught in 
these schools for a period of six years. The history 
of her private school, which is located at the north- 
east corner of Pearl and Union streets, is an inter- 
esting one. After her marriage Mrs. Moore had 
decided to give up teaching, but in 1878 ex-Governor 
P. C. Cheney preferred the request that Mrs. Moore 
instruct his little daughter for one hour each day. 
Mrs. Moore complied with this request, and as soon 
as this fact became known, she received nineteen 
further applications. Realizing the necessity for a 
school of this character, she established a home 
school, and has conducted it since that time. She 
furnished rooms with the necessary desks, charts, 



496 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



etc., and the school has grown considerably since 
that time, although Mrs. Moore limits the number 
of her pupils to thirty-five, and the ages from five 
to ten years. They are a very happy set of children 
who are thus brought under her direct influence, 
and can but benefit in every direction. It has be- 
come one of the best known schools in the state, and 
each year a graduating class leaves its portals, well 
prepared to enter the fourth grade of the regular 
schools. In the cour s many of her pupils 

have graduated with distinction from the higher 
schools and other institutions of learning, have mar- 
ire now receiving instruc- 
the same kind lips which gave them words 
of advice that enabled them to bear the trials of later 
life with proper fortitude. The many beautiful gifts 
and testimonials of varied character which adorn 
the home of Mrs. Moore bear eloquent testimony to 
the esl n which she is held by her 

pupils, past and present. Many of the leading busi- 
ness men in Manchester have taken their first steps 
along i rledge, guided by her wis- 

dom. It is to be hoped that she will carry on the 
good work for many years to come, as her influence 
in the community cannot be overestimated. Her 
never-failing courtesy, ; s, and yet force of 

character, have bei verful object lesson to the 

children who have been in her charge, and the re- 
suiting influence lias been felt. More than seven 
hundred pupils have been graduated from this insti- 
tution, and they have always looked upon it as a sec- 
ond home, and considered ft in the true meaning of 
the word, as their "alma Mrs. Moore has 

made her pupils feel at home in her school, and has 
not alone been their instructress, but also their 
spiritual adviser. She is regarded by them as a per- 
sonal friend, and has always been invited to attend 
their graduation from other schools, and their wed- 
dings. Her teaching has the stamp of individuality, 
and in that lies the secret of her success, the in- 
dividual needs of each pupil being considered. She 
has a special instructress for the musical department 
— Mi-s Lillian Darrah, and Miss Helen Chandler, a 
former pupil of the school, teaches drawing. A 
public entertainment was given by her class upon 
the occasion of the twenty-fifth anniversary of her 
having entered the profession of teaching. This 
was given ; pel of the Unitarian Church, 

as in the form of a play, followed by a literary 
and musical program. During the thirty years of 
her life as a teacher, Mrs. Moore has never been ab- 
sent from the duties connected with her work with 
the except!' week at the time of her hus- 

band's death. She has frequently tendered recep- 
tions to her foi Is and their parents, and 
these have been more in the nature of family gather- 
ings than school receptions, so deeply rooted is the 
affection entertained for Mrs. Moore by all who 
know her. per man. • has been a member 
of the Unitarian Church, and an earnest worker in 
the intei that institution. She had filled the 
office of director for i rs, but resigned, giv- 
ing it as her opinion that a younger per-on in that 
office could do more that would benefit the church. 
At this time she presented the church with three 
! thered 

: which 
contribution she had had chair old. before 

ion. Her resignation as a di- 
. and the money con- 
tribution was found to be ptable, and 



Moore was requested to continue her good work in 
this direction, to which she consented. 



As this branch can be traced directly to 
MOOR the original immigrant, it is probably 

unconnected with the line descended from 
Jonathan Moore, whose history has previously been 
written. 

(I) John Moor and his wife Janet were among 
the Scotch-Irish immigrants who came to London- 
derry. New Hampshire, in 1723, during the immi- 
gration which furnished strong and sturdy citizens 
with worthy descendants to our country. They had 
four children, one of whom was Colonel Robert, 

-e sketch follows. John Moor died January 24, 
1774. and his widow died March 8, 1776. 

(II) Colonel Robert, son of John and Janet 
Moor, was born at Londonderry, New Hampshire, in 
1 727. He was a member of Captain John Mitchell's 
troopers in 1744, during the French and Indian war, 
and he was a conspicuous commander at the battle 
of Bunker Hill. The name of his wife is unknown, 
and the number of their children cannot be learned. 
Colonel Robert Moor died in 177S. 

(III) Captain Robert (2), son of Colonel 
Robert 1 1 I Moor, was born at Londonderry, New 
Hampshire. September 20, 1769. He lived for sev- 
eral year- on Shirley Hill, Goffstown, Xew Hamp- 
shire, where the five eldest children were born. In 
1S05. after his home had been destroyed by fire, he 
moved with his family to Bristol, Xew Hampshire. 
settled near Pemigewasset bridge, and built a large 
two-story house where he kept tavern for some years. 
He - 1 in of unusual intelligence, and was 
called the strongest [etson in the county. He might 
have made his mark in the state had his life not 
been cut short at the early age of forty-three. Cap- 
tain Robert (2) Moore married Jenny Jane Rolfe, 
who was born at Newburyport, Massachusetts. £ 
tember 22, 1771, and they had eight children: Esther, 
Jane \V., Robert \Y.. Jane, Joseph W., whose sketch 
follows; Jonathan H.. William and Mary. Captain 
Roberl _• Moore died August 10. 1813, and his 
widow lived till February 6, 1852, and died at the 
age of eight}'. Some of these have added a letter to 
the original spelling of the name. 

(IV) Joseph William, son of Captain Robert 
(2) and Jenny J. (Rolfe) Moore, was born at 
Gofrstown. Xew Hampshire, January 16. 1800. \\ 

a child he moved with his people to Bristol, Xew 
Han elder brother 

Robert, ii the paternal farm. He 

wr of fruit culture and fine gardening, 
and planted many trees on his place, both for fruit 
and shade. He engaged in the manufacture of lum- 
ber at Mi ore's Mills, and furnished the floor beams 
for the first factory in Lawrence, Massachusi 
He was a man of upright character, great energy 
and of literary and ' tastes. He ser 

selectman ten years, and represented Bristol in the 
for three terms. On December 15, 1825, 
' m irried Mary, fifth child and 

third of Abraham and Rachel (Locke) 

Dolloff, 1 who was born June 0. 1805. They 

had eight children : Jane Rolfe. James G., Ovid D., 
Hows; Rachel L. Mary. Sarah C. 
Josephine o, , Joseph William Moore 

died . ars, 

lied at Xew Hampton, Xew Hamp- 
shire, February 15. 1SS7, aged eighty-one. (Ovid D. 
and e further mention in this 

article). 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



497 



(V) James G.. oldest son of Joseph W. and 
Mary (Dolloff) ) Moore, was born January 2~, 1828. 
He was educated in the public schools and at the 
New Hampton Institute. He early displayed un- 
usual talent for mathematics, and it is a well at- 
tested fact that he solved readily intricate problems 
that were sent to him as an expert from other 
schools. He was skilled in mechanical drawing and 
a genius in whatever pertained to machinery. In 
August, 1849, he removed to Franconia, New Hamp- 
shire, where he built a mill for the manufacture of 
shingles, boards, shoe pegs and bobbins. He also 
dealt in masts, spars and keels for shipping vessels. 
He moved to Lisbon in 1870, where he purchased a 
mill and continued the manufacture of shoe pegs, 
wood pulp and bobbins. He invented many im- 
provements in the machinery, which were of great 
value. His patents were . for wood pulp machines 
and excelsior. He also invented a tubular boiler 
and several other articles which he never patented, 
among which were the machine for splitting bobbins 
and the calipers for measuring wood, both of which 
are universally used. During the great fire in 1901 
his mill was burned with its machinery and patterns. 
With his characteristic energy, a strong inheritance 
with him, he decided to rebuild. His new mill is 
run with steam power, and he has about thirty em- 
ployes. Mr. Moor has been termed "the veteran 
peg manufacturer"; at the time he started in the 
business there were twenty such mills in the United 
States, now there but four, all within a radius of 
fifty miles. The most important markets are Ger- 
many, Austria, Turkey, Russia and South America, 
although many are sent to Norway, Sweden and 
Denmark, very few now being used in this country. 
James G. Moor married, November 4, 1856, Chri — 
tiana C. daughter of Rev. Isaiah and Charlotte R. 
Shipman (see Shipman). They have no children. 

(V) Ovid Dearborn, second son and third child 
of Joseph William and Mary (Dolloff) Moore, was 
born at Bristol, New Hampshire, August 6, 1829. 
He left Bristol in 1859, lived for a while in Little- 
ton and Franconia, and was a farmer up to forty 
years of age. He went into company with his elder 
"brother, James G. Moore, who was engaged in the 
manufacture of wood pulp at Lisbon, New Hamp- 
shire. They continued in this business about four- 
teen years, Mr. O. D. Moore meanwhile moving to 
Lisbon in 1875. After dissolving partnership with 
his brother, Mr. O. D. Moore managed the business 
alone for about eight years, and then went into com- 
pany with his son, Fred. J. Moore, and with his son- 
in-law. W. S. Nelson, in the manufacture of shoe- 
pegs at Lisbon. On August 28, 1854, Ovid D. 
Moore married Harriet Irene, daughter of Russel 
and Lorena (Spooner) Howland, who was born in 
Franconia, New Hampshire, August 31, 1832. She 
died in Franconia, March 20, 1871, leaving two chil- 
dren : Genevieve, and Fred. J., whose sketch fol- 
lows. O. D. Moore married for his second wife, 
February 1, 1S77. Hattie A., daughter of Steven and 
Elsie (Drury) Howland. who was born October 10, 
1850. Ovid D. Moore died at Lisbon, September 8, 
1892. 

(VI) Fred. Joseph, only son and second child 
of Ovid Dearborn and Harriet I. (Howland) 
Moore, was born March 10, 1865, at Franconia. New 
Hampshire. He was educated in the schools of 
Franconia, Bristol and Lisbon, and at the Commer- 
cial College of New Hampton Institute, New Hamp- 
shire. He then engaged with his father in the wood 
pulp business at Lisbon, where he remained five 

ii— 8 



years. For the succeeding three years he was em- 
ployed by Wells & Wilson, shoe peg manufacturers, 
and in 1890 went into company with his father and 
his brother-in-law, William S. Nelson, in the manu- 
facture of shoe pegs. This partnership lasted till 
the death of the father in 1892, when F. J. Moore 
sold out his interest to Mr. Nelson, continuing to 
work for the latter till 1906. In that year Mr. 
Moore bought the Oliver interest in the grain busi- 
ness of Oliver & Gates at Lisbon, and the firm is 
now known as Gates & Moore, grain dealers. Mr. 
Moore is a Republican in politics, and has been se- 
lectman at Lisbon. He is a member of Kane Lodge, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons ; and of Frank- 
lin Chapter, No. 5. both of Lisbon ; and of St. Ger- 
ard Commandery, Knights Templar, Littleton. He 
has attained the thirty-second degree in Masonry in 
Lafayette Chapter, and is a member of the Eastern 
Star. He also belongs to the Ammonoosuc Club,, 
of Lisbon. 

Fred. Joseph Moore married, December iS, 1886, 
Jennie A. E. Harris, daughter of P. E. and Lucy M. 
(Taylor) Harris, who was born July 31, 1863, in 
Warren, New Hampshire. They have one child, 
Harriet Irene, born May 31, 1889. 



(I) John Moore and his wife Jane, 
MOORE whose maiden surname was Morrison, 
emigrated from the north of Ireland 
and was one of the early settlers in Londonderry, 
New Hampshire. In 1738 he purchased the Gov- 
ernor Wentworth farm, but instead of making it 
his homestead he settled on the east end of addi- 
tional lot No. 104, in Chester. He reared four 
sons: James, John, Major Henry and Charles. 

(II) Charles, youngest son of John and Jane 
(Morrison) Moore, married Molly Whittier. and 
resided upon the Governor Shute farm, located on 
the West Pond road in Chester, which is now or 
was recently occupied by Samuel M. Edwards. He 
was a carpenter by trade, although agriculture was 
in all probability his chief occupation. Charles died 
in 181 1, and his wife died about the year 1834. 
Their children were : James, Josiah, Reuben, R ib- 
ert, John and Henry. 

(III) Reuben, third son of Charles and Molly 
(Whittier) Moore, was born in Chester in 1775. 
In 1797 he settled in Plainfield. New Hampshire, 
and died there, in 1835. He participated in the 
war of 1812-15. The maiden name of his wife is 
wanting, as is also a list of his children. 

(IV) John, son of Reuben Moore, was born 
in Chester in 1796. He was a blacksmith by trade 
and resided in Thetford. Vermont. His death oc- 
curred about the year 1835. He married Sarah 
Heath, but whether he had more than one child 
cannot be ascertained. 

(V) La Fayette, son of John and Sarah 
(Heath) Moore, was born at Thetford, Vermont, 
in February, 1823. Left fatherless at the age of about 
ten years he was bound to an uncle, from whom 
he subsequently ran away and learned the black- 
smith's trade. He was among the first settlers in 
Lawrence, Massachusetts, going there about 1845, 
and assisting in laying out the town. He was one 
of the first to engage in the drug business there, 
but in 1850 he sold his establishment and sought 
his fortune in the gold fields of California. After 
remaining a short time on the Pacific coast he re- 
turned to Lawrence, whence he removed to Lan- 
caster, New Hampshire, in 1855, and engaged in 
the drvgoods business. He later established a 



49S 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



per mill and a starch factory in Guildhall, Ver 
mont. which he operated for some time, but finally 
returned to Lancaster and purchasing the hardy 
business established by his sons he carried it on 
successfully for a period of ten years or until his 
death, which occurred in 1898. He was well ad- 
vanced in .Masonry, having been a charter mem- 
ber of North Star Lodge, chapter and commandery, 
all of Lancaster. In his religious belief he was a 
Unitarian. In 1840 he married Maria Jane Ben- 
nett, daughter of Oliver Bennett, of Barnstead, New 
Ila: She survives him and resides in Lan- 

caster. The children of this union who lived to 
maturity are: John LaFayette, who will be again 
referred to; George C, a resident of South Da- 
kota ; Mary L., who is now the wife of Dr. \V. 
Herbert Hoyt, of Rochester, New' York; James L., 
who in Lancaster, and Herbert, also of that 

tYI) John LaFayette, eldest son and child of 
La layette and Maria J. (Bennett) Moore, was born 
Lawrence, July 7, 1855. He acquired his edu- 
ii in the public schools, the New Hampton 
Institute and the Lancaster Academy. As a young 
man he went to Northumberland, this state, and 
later -pent some time in the West in the interest of 
a lumber company. Returning to Lancaster in i8Sj 
he purchased an interest in the hardware firm of 
Cobbleigh & Moore, with which he was associated 
until 1888, when the business was bought by his 
lather as previously stated, and he then turned his 
ntion to other business fields. He is now the 
manager of the hardware store which is carried on 
by tin trustees of his father's estate, has an inter- 
est in a brick yard in Lancaster, and is a director 
i ancaster National Bank. Mr. Moore is a 
member of the North Star Lodge, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons, and of North Star Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons. He attends the Unitarian 
lie married Clara Spaulding, daughter of 
W. C. Spaulding. of Lancaster. Mr. and Mrs. 
ive two children: Stanley D., born in 1S84; 
\nnte M,, born in 1894. 

I 1 Major Samuel Moore appears in Litch- 
field soon niter 1730. In a suit of Goffe vs. Fallans- 
in 1750, he testified that he had resided in Litch- 
since 1731. He was one of a committee to 
build the meeting house in Litchfield, and was 
treasurer of the town in 1735. He lived in the 
northern part of the town, and several miles from 
the main settlement, and possibly that fact excused 
him from continued service in town affairs. Dur- 
Frcncb and Indian war his service was 
Me was a lieutenant in the com- 
pany of Captain Goffe, of Colonel Joseph Blanch- 
ent, in 1755- Verj few of the rolls of 
New Hampshire regiments for 1758 and 1730 are 
■1. hnt papers in the state archives repre- 
iptain in 175S. and a major 
in Colonel John Goffe's regiment in 1750, which 
marched by way of Springfield to Albany, and par- 
ticipated in the captui oi Quebec. After his mar- 
! to Hudson. He was last taxed in 
Litchfield in 1766! lie was a selectman of Hud on 
in 1 1 if the Association Test in 

177'' Li died in Hudson in [784, He married 
(fir-' 1 Deborah Ruttcrficld, and (second") Mary 
Colburn, widow of Thomas Collmrn. of Hudson. 
Cantain Colburn was killed by lightning August 20. 

■ r Samui I and I >i borah 
eld) Moore were : < (live, John, Priscilla, 
Samuel, Deborah, Joseph, Abraham. 



(II) Colonel John, second child and eldest son 
of Major Samuel and Deborah ( Butterfield) Moore, 
was born November 28, 1731. He was early trained 
in war, a lieutenant in the French and Indian war, 
a captain in Colonel John Stark's regiment at the 
battle of Bunker Hill, and promoted to major June 
18, 1775. He lived in Manchester, then in Deer- 
field, and removed, in 1778, to Norridgewock, 
Maine, where he died in 1809. He was a colonel in 
the Maine militia. He married (first), September 
8, 1754. Margaret Goffe, daughter of Colonel John 
and Esther (Griggs) Goffe; and (second) Mrs. 
Weston, of Bloomfield, Maine. The children of 
Colonel John and Margaret were: Deborah, Benja- 
min, Goffe. Peggy, John, Abraham, Joseph, Olive 
and Hannah. 

(III) Goffe, third child and second son of 
Colonel John and Margaret (Goffe) Moore. wa< 
born December 4, 1760.. He removed to Maine and 
resided in the town of Anson, where he died in 
1850. He married, in Maine, (first) Betsey Fowler, 
who died in 1793; and (second) Mrs. Betsey (Gray) 
McKinney. 

(IV) Selina, daughter of Goffe and Betsey 
(Fowler) Moore, born 1797. in Madison, Maine, 
became the wife of Isaac Savage (see Savage, 
II). 



The state of New Hampshire is in- 
MOORS debted for much of the enterprise, in- 
dependence and industry which have 
promoted her progress to what is known as the 
Scotch-Irish blood. The bearers of this blood have 
been long lived and have reared large families, whose 
brandies are now found in every section of the 
State as well as of the United States. They have 
Found thrifty and well settled in their prin- 
ciples and opinions, contributing much to the main- 
taining of moral standards as well as to the ma- 
terial development of the regions in which they 
have lived. Many of the names of these people have 
undergone metamorphoses in the course of handling 
by the American communities, and we find the name 
under present consideration came to America in a 
very different form. 

(I) James Moore was born in or near Lon- 
donderry, Ireland, in the latter part of the seven- 
teenth century, and was a scion of one of the nu- 
merous Scotch families which hail settled in North- 
ern Ireland, nearly one hundred years before his 
birth. He was one of the signers of the memorial 
to Governor Chute in 171S. praying for a suitable 
encouragement to immigrants to New England. 
With his wife, Isabel, he settled in Londonderry, 
New Hampshire, about 1720, and was known as 
"charter James Moore," because he was one oi the 
original proprietors of the township. Tn 1721 lie 
sold his right in the undivided lands of the town 
to Hugh Ramsey, and purchased from time to time 
until his holdings exceeded seven hundred acres in 
the south part of Londonderry between Ezekiel's 
and Mitchel ponds. His dwelling house was near 
the present junction of the railroad in Windham. 
The last named town was severed from Lon- 
donderry, in 1712. by a track in the original line 
of division. In 177S this line was straightened and 
all of Mr. Moore's homestead was annexed to 
Windham. Tie was a weaver and an extensive 
dealer in linen wares. lie was selectman in 1723, 
and is frequently named in the records of his time, 
lie died in 1750, and the inventory of his estate 
places its value at three thousand five hundred and 





•V-n^'S *> <^vtoj ys£ l/-~l*V$ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



: 19 



seventy pounds. His widow survived him nearly 
twenty-five years, and died February 13. 1775, in 
Pelhani, Massachusetts. They had sons : James. 
Joseph and Sampson, who removed in 1762 to Nova 
Scotia, and David, who is mentioned below. 

(II) David, son of James and Isabel Moore, 
was born August 26, 1730, in Londonderry, and lived 
in that town, owning a part of the homestead, until 
1759, when he moved to Sharon, New Hampshire. 
He was a man of unusual mental and physical 
power, with strong Scotch characteristics, and a 
rigid Presbyterian. He died July 21, 1820, in 
Sharon. He married, July 2. 1753. Margaret Tag- 
gart. born August 23, 1733. in Londonderry, daughter 
of John and Mary (McAllister) Taggart. Their 
sons were: James, John and William. Of these 
William was the grandfather of Ezra S. Stearns. 

(III) John, second son of David and Mary 
(Taggart) Moore, was born June 20, 1768. in 
Sharon, and was a farmer in that town, occupying 
the west part of the paternal homestead. He mar- 
ried Hannah Fitch, born June 23, 1768, daughter of 
Paul and Mary (Jackwith) Fitch, and granddaugh- 
ter of John Fitch, for whom the city of Fitchburg, 
Massachusetts, is named. His brother, William 
Moore, married Mary Fitch, and had nine children. 
John Moore died December 20, 1840, and was sur- 
vived nearly fourteen years by his widow, who 
passed away September 18, 1854. Their children 
were : David. John, Luke, Paul. Leonard. Pemelia, 
Cyrus, Hannah and Samuel. Many of the family 
now write the name Moors. 

(IV) Luke Moors, third son and child of John 
and Hannah (Fitch) Moors, was born March 29, 
1796. in Sharon, and lived several years in Jaffrey, 
whence he removed to Marlboro. New Hampshire, 
in 1845. He was a farmer, and a man of most 
exemplary character. He died April 25. 1S46, as the 
result of an injury received at the raising of a 
building. He married, March it. 1824. Mary 
Baker, born June 27, 1S01, in Marlboro, daughter 
of Bezaleel and Abigail (Wood) Baker. They had 
two children born in Jaffrey: Loren L. and Cy- 
rus S. 

(V) Cyrus Sidney Moors, second son of Luke 
and Mary (Baker) Moors, was born July 5, 1832. 
in Jaffrey. and received his education in the public 
schools of that town and Marlboro. His first em- 
ployment was in Athol. Massachusetts, in the 
Wheeler pail factory, where he continued about 
two years. Returning to Marlboro he was em- 
ployed in a similar establishment, and was next em- 
ployed as a carpenter for two years, at Leomin- 
ster. Massachusetts. He returned to the pail fac- 
tory at Marlboro, and subsequently became station 
agent of the Chesire railroad in Marlboro, be- 
ginning in 1857, and continuing thirteen years. He 
then removed to Marlboro, and was in partnership 
association in the conduct of a general store with 
George Davis for two years. Returning to the rail- 
road service, he continued as station agent for a 
period of fifteen years. Since that time he has en- 
gaged in the livery and grain business in Marlboro 
Village, and also carries the mail from the station 
to the village. Mr. Moors served the town as 
selectman, being chairman of the board and has 
been fire warden and chief of police for the past 
forty years. He has been deputy sheriff for the last 
sixteen years, and represented the town in the 
state legislature in 1903. He is a past noble grand 
of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and has 
been indentified with the Congregational church all 



his life, having been a singer in the choir of 
.Marlboro for the past sixty years. 

He married, September 7, 1854, Caroline A., 
daughter of Deacon A. and Roxanna (Frost) Far- 
rar. She died March 14, 1866. He married (sec- 
ond), April 9, 1867, Harriet (Frost) Harrington, 
who died January 16, 18S5. His third wife, to whom 
he w-as married December 29, 1883, was Lorinda 
(Smith) Blodgett. The children, born of the first 
wife, are: Fred Sidney. Lizzie C. and Albert 
Loren. Mrs. Lorinda (Smith) Moors has had a 
deep interest in the cause of temperance ^ince the 
days of her girlhood when she identified herself 
with the Washingtonian movement: subsequently 
with the Reform Club. From the crusade day of 
'73 her association has continued close and ac'ive. 
In 1882 she was a charter member of the local 
union Woman's Christian Temperance Union (Marl- 
boro), being chosen president, an official connection 
which has continued up to the present time (1907). 
Since 1888 Mrs. Moors has been president of 
Cheshire County Union, and as such (ex-officio) one 
of the vice-presidents of the state. She has held 
membership in the Universalist Church of Marl- 
boro for more than thirty years. Mrs. Moors in 
1882 became identified with the Daughters of Re- 
bekah, and has been through all of the chairs of 
the local lodge (Harmony) and is past district 
deputy. 



This family, which is of English 
PARKHURST origin, takes its name from the 
locality in which a remote an- 
cestor dwelt, a park containing a hurst, or grove. 
In New England and New York numerous scions 
of the family have been men of prominence, and 
it was early identified with the development of New 
Hampshire. 

(I) George Parkhurst, the emigrant ancestor, 
came from Ipswich, in the county of Suffolk. Eng- 
land, about the year 1640, and settled in Water- 
town, Massachusetts. He married, about 1645, 
Susan, widow of John Simpson, of Watertown, and 
about that time he removed from Watertown to 
Boston. In 1642 he was proprietor of a homestall 
of twelve acres and five other parcels of land in 
Watertown. On October 4, 1645, being then a resi- 
dent of Boston, he sold to John Coolidge and 
Thomas Hastings a lot of land which he had pur- 
chased from Hugh Mason. On December 20, 1648, 
he sold to his son-in-law, Thomas Arnold, thirty 
acres of dividend land in Watertown. On March 
5. 1649, he sold to William Page ten acres near 
the great pond. He sold on June 13, 1655, ten 
acres which had been granted to John Simpson. 
He w-as admitted a freeman at Watertown. May 
10, 1643. Daniel Parker, who was baptized in the 
first church of Boston, in 1649, was probably his 
son. He was the father of seven children. 

(II) Joseph, son of George Parkhurst. was a 
native of England, and accompanied his father on 
his removal to America. He was married June 
26, 1656, to Rebecca Reed, of Concord, Massachu- 
setts, and went to reside in Chelmsford, that state, 
whence he removed to Plainfield, Connecticut, about 
1690. He had a family of five children. (Mention 
of Joseph, one of these, and descendants, appears 
in this article.) 

(III) Ebenezer, son of Joseph and Rebecca 
(Reed) Parkhurst, was born in Watertown, and 
probably went from there to Chelmsford, as he was 
residing in the latter place in 1699. His farm, which 



;oo 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



is now known as "The Owls Nest," remained in 
the possession of his descendants until [899 The 
Christian name of his wife was Mary, and she be- 
came the mother of six children. 

(IV) James, son of Ebenezer and Mary Park- 
hurst, was born in Chelmsford, November 18, 1707. 
The Christian name of his wife was Abigail, and 
she bore him eight children. 

(V) Philip, son of James and Abigail Park- 
hurst, was born in Chelmsford, April 17. 1745. He 
resided there his entire life, which terminated De- 
cember 14, 1810. March 14. 1771, he married .Mary 
Spalding, and was the father of Andrew, John, 
Mary, Henry, Ephraim, Silas and Polly. 

(VI) Ephraim, fourth son and fifth child of 
Philip and Mary (Spalding) Parkhurst, was born 
in Chelmsford, April 11, 1783. He w-ent to' Bed- 
ford, New Hampshire, prior to 1S18, settling upon 
a farm in the west part of the town, and his death 
occurred October 30, 1819. His farm is now oc- 
cupied by Henry L. Peaslee. He was married May 
3, 1807, to Sarah Proctor, of Chelmsford (see 
Proctor). Their children were: Sarah Ann, died 
young; Ephraim A.; Rufus; Elijah P.; Sarah Ann; 
and Nancy C. The mother of these children mar- 
ried for her second husband, January 21, 1822, 
Solomon Woods. She died in Bedford, December 
6, 1877, at the advanced age of ninety-eight years. 

(VII) Deacon Elijah P., third son and fourth 
child of Ephraim and Sarah (Proctor) Parkhurst, 
was born January II, 1814. He resided for many 
years in Merrimack, New Hampshire, and died in 
Manchester, June 28, 1892. He was a deacon of 
the Presbyterian Church. Plis first wife, whom he 
married April 18. [839, was Sally J. Gage, daughter 
of Isaac and Sally (Underwood) Gage. She died 
December 25. [858. On November 8, 1859, he mar- 
ried for his second wife Harriet N. Otis, of New- 
Boston, who died October 14, 1893. In his youth 
Mr, Parkhurst learned the stone-cutter's trade, 
which he followed in Virginia about five years, and 
in 1837 was awarded the contract to cut the pillars 
for the Baltimore (Maryland) court house. His 
ability as a stone cutter gave him a national .repu- 
tation. His business called him to no less than 
eleven different states, prior to the advent of rail- 
ways, and he was one of the first passengers on the 
first railroad train in this country. Returning to Mer- 
rimack he engaged in the stone business, also car- 
ried on lumbering operations, and cultivated a farm. 
He was more or less active in local civic affairs, 
serving as a selectman four years and as overseer 
of the poor for some time. The children of his 
first union are: George S., who will be referred to 
pre ently; Sally Jane, born December 27, 1842, died 
February 7, [843; Lucretia D., born Maj jo. 1744, 
married Horace Holbrook, of Manchester, and has 
two children— Grace and Dora I).; and Surviah II., 
born April 1, 1847, married Daniel Webster At- 
wood, of Bedford, and has one child. Gordon P. 
Atwood. Those of his econd union are: Harriet 
Jam , born Octob 13, t86o, unmai 1 ied, and resides in 
Bedford, and Carrie E., born -May 18, 1865, now a 

1 in 1 all, id ga 1 olli ge, Alabama. 

i\lll rge Spalding, eldest son and child 

"f I teacon Elijah P and Sally | < iage 1 Parkhurst, 
horn in Merrimack, July 4, [840. He studied 
at the Magaw Institute, : completed his edu- 
cation in New York. Turning his attention to edu- 
cational pursuits, be was engaged for lour years in 
teaching school, and at the expiration of that time 
he returned to the homestead farm, which he subse- 



quently purchased of his father. In addition to 
farming he is interested quite extensively in lumber- 
ing, and is one of the successful business men of 
Merrimack. His religious affiliations are with the 
Congregationalists, and he has been a deacon of that 
church for the past twelve years. On September 
4, 1889, Mr. Parkhurst married Hannah Agusta 
Drew, daughter of Joseph and Salome (Bovvdwell) 
Drew, of Chester, New Hampshire. 

(III) Joseph (2), son of Joseph (1) and Re- 
becca (Reed) Parkhurst, resided in Plainfield, 
Connecticut, where he reared a family and died. 

(IV) Tilly Parkhurst, son of Joseph (2) Park- 
hurst, was born in Plainfield, Connecticut, in 1729, 
and died in Royalton, Vermont, July II, 1802. He 
lived in Plainfield um.il some time between 1772 
and 1775, when he temoved with his family to 
Royalton, where the remainder of his life was spent, 
in the valley of White river about two miles below 
South Koyalton. Here he was engaged in sub- 
duing the wilderness in 1780, when three hundred 
Indiana savages descended from Canada and burned 
Royalton and carried away many of its inhabitants 
captives. They slaughtered his stock and burned 
his buildings, leaving nothing but a portion of a 
bucket which contained a quantity of maple sugar, 
which the Indians probably overlooked. Tilly Park- 
burst was an active, energetic and persevering citi- 
zen, and had done much to make himself and family 
comfortable before the Indians destroyed all his 
improvements that fire would consume. He mar- 
ried Sarah (Shepherd), widow of Elias Stevens. 
She was born in Connecticut, in 1730, and died in 
Royalton, December 12, 1816, aged eighty-six. She 
had one sou Elias by her first husband, and by 
her second she had : Jabez, Ebenezer, Molly and 
Phineas, whose biography follows. 

(V) Dr. Phineas (1), youngest child of Tilly 
and Sarah (Shepherd) Parkhurst, was born in 
Plainfield, Connecticut, January 6, 1760, and died 
at Lebanon, New Hampshire, October 16, 1S44, 
aged eighty-live years. He accompanied his parents 
on their removal to Royalton, Vermont, between 
1772 and 1775. Here he grew to manhood on the 
northern verge of American civilization, in the time 
of the American Revolution. August 13, 1770. 
when sixteen years of age, he and his half-brother. 
Elias Stevens, enlisted at Windsor, Vermont, in 
Captain Joseph Hatch's company of rangers, and 
probably scouted in the northern woods, guarded 
the hastily built forts, and awaited the expected at- 
tack of British or Indians. On September 20. 1777, 
Phineas Parkhurst appears as a lifer in Cap: 
William Heaton's company, Colonel Peter Ol- 
cott's regiment. Northern Department. The ser- 
vice was for thirty-six days, and he seems to have 
seen the surrender of Burgoyne. In April, 1778, 
he was again in service in Captain Solomon Cush- 
mau's company, Colonel Bedel's regiment, as fourth 
corporal and lifer, and served until March. 1779. 
When the Indians attacked Royalton, October 16, 
1780, burning houses, killing citizens, and carrying 
away prisoners, Phineas Parkhurst was eating 
breakfast at the house of a neighbor, but acting 
instantly, escaped on horseback with the wife and 
daughtei "f hi- host. Leaving hi, companions in 
a place of safety, he returned to spread the news 
and assisl oilier, m escaping. Starting to cms, the 
river opposite his father's house, he was shot in 
the hack by an Indian. The hall passed through 
his body and lodged under the ribs beneath the 
skin. Turning, he rode down the river and warned 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



501 



the settlers of the raid, until he had travelled six- 
teen miles to Robinson's Ferry, where he stopped 
and received surgical aid. This wound closed his 
career as a soldier, and he soon afterward began 
the study of medicine under the direction of Dr. 
Nathaniel Hall, the first doctor in Lebanon, New 
Hampshire. He began practice and spent the ten 
years following that event at Robinson's Ferry, 
New Hampshire. The doctor had a circuit of many 
miles wide in Vermont and New Hampshire, and 
traversed roads of all degrees of badness in all 
kinds of weather, carrying his medicines in his sad- 
ilk- bags behind him. All his journeys were per- 
formed on horseback, his medicines were principally 
decoctions of herbs, and his fees for a visit were 
one shilling. In 1794 he was able to buy property 
two miles from West Lebanon, New Hampshire, 
on the Mascomia river, which included a dam and 
mill, a small farm, and a house which stood near 
Lebanon's first church, and opposite Pine ceme- 
tery. There he bred mules for the market, and 
grew rich in the business. Many stories are still 
told of Dr. Parkhurst and his mules, which_ were 
often driven to the coal fields in Pennsylvania; to 
Richmond, Virginia ; Charleston, South Carolina ; 
Georgia, and otherwheres: and also sold to parties 
in Boston, New York, New London, Connecticut, 
and New Haven, and transported to the West India 
Islands, and sold there in exchange for the produce 
of those islands. Dr. Parkhurst used to ship them 
to sundry places on his own account and receive 
in return rice, cotton, indigo, and tobacco, which 
articles opened a heavy trade between him and the 
country merchants in the adjoining towns. The 
Doctor practiced day and night, mule raising was 
profitable, and in a few years he had money to in- 
vest. He bought farm and timber lands adjoining 
his homestead, and after 1S10 he made so many 
purchases of real estate in and near Lebanon vil- 
lage that old people say he owned pretty nearly 
the whole place. He had over sixty deeds on record. 
In 1S17 he sold the handsome house he built on 
his farm and moved 'to Lebanon village and lived 
in a great house on Carter's corner, surrounded by 
so many barns, sheds and other outbuildings that 
it is said that his place looked like a small town. 
On land adjoining this, which he owned, nearly 
half the present town of Lebanon is built. In 1817 
he bought an interest in the Lebanon grist mill, 
of which he became sole owner in 1829 and rebuilt 
it in 1839. He was the first president of the first 
bank in Lebanon, and encouraged the coming of 
the railroad to Lebanon while many opposed it. 

The record of Dr. Parkhurst's life shows him 
to have been a man, first of all, of uncommon sound 
sense and good judgment. Fie possessed an iron 
constitution and great energy, a genial disposition, 
and in his later years, a courtly demeanor. He was 
poor when he started in the practice of medicine, 
and soon become poorer. The cow and the pig 
"his bride had received as her dowry were sold within 
six months to pay the Doctor's debts, and her wed- 
ding dress was cut up to make him shirts, but 
though reduced to these straits, he never lost heart, 
and by persevering soon found opportunity to show 
that skill which made him one of the leading phy- 
sicians in two states. His good sense and careful 
observation led him to make changes in his methods 
of practice that are now approved, and thereby 
doubtless saved much suffering and some lives. As 
a physician he was very popular, and had all the 
practice that he could attend to, and "in his nearly 



sixty years of medical practice he is said to have 
introduce three thousand children into the world, 
with never a mother lost in childbed." His repu- 
tation spread abroad, and students flocked to him 
to study under his direction, and there was almost 
never a time in his later life that he did not have 
students about him. Dr. Parkhurst's progress from 
poverty to wealth and a position of influence in 
social, professional, and business circles, is a very 
clear illustration of what good judgment and skill 
in dealing with his fellowman may do for any man. 
Dr. Parkhurst was married in March, 1784, by Rev. 
John Searle, to his cousin Lucy Pierce, daughter 
of Nathaniel and Priscilla (Shepherd) Pierce, died 
1841. They were the parents of seven children: 
Phineas, Horace, Susan, Lucy, Sarah, Nancy and 
Harriet. Six of these died of consumption, and 
only one, Harriet, lived to old age. She was the 
wife of Rev. Ingersoll, a Unitarian clergyman, and 
died in Kcene, New Hampshire. 

(VI) Dr. Phineas (2), son of Dr. Phineas d) 
and Lucy (Pierce) Parkhurst, was born in Lebanon, 
and studied medicine with his father, and subse- 
quently took the course in medicine at Dartmouth 
College, from which he graduated in 1805. He 
settled in Hartford, Vermont, wdicre he practiced 
a time, and then moved to Templeton, Massachu- 
setts, where he lived the remainder of his life. His 
wife's family w^re prominent and wealthy people 
in Templeton, and she was heiress to a large amount 
of farm property which went to her only child. Dr. 
Parkhurst married Persis Kendall, and they were 
the parents of Paul Kendall, mentioned below. 

(VII) Paul Kendall, son of Phineas (2I and 
Persis (Kendall) Parkhurst, was born in Strafford, 
New Hampshire, and at the age of one year was 
taken by his parents to Templeton. Massachusetts, 
on their removal to that place, and resided there 
all his life. He was a man of means, had a valu- 
able farm, and lived the life of a liberal gentleman 
fanner. He married Almira J. Partridge, born in 
Templeton, May 5. 1816, died in Templeton May 12, 
1904, aged eighty-eight years. Her parents were : 
Otis and Unity Partridge. The children of this 
marriage were: Phineas, who is further mentioned 
below ; Lucy Ann, married Edwin E. Thomas, of 
Taunton, Massachusetts ; James Henry, resides at 
Baldwinsville, Massachusetts; Charles, died in 
Templeton, at the age of forty; and Harriet died 
young. 

(VIII) Phineas (3). eldest child of Paul K. 
and Almira (Partridge) Parkhurst. was born in 
Templeton. November 7, 1837, and died while on a 
visit to that place November 7. 1877. He was edu- 
cated in the schools of Templeton, Massachusetts, 
and Lebanon, New Hampshire, and at an early age 
showed an aptitude for music, and became a skill- 
ful performer on the violin and clarionet. He was 
in Concord. New Hampsbire, in 1861, and on Au- 
gust 7 of that year enlisted as a second class mu- 
st! ian in the band of the Third Regiment New 
Hampshire Volunteers, and was mustered into ser- 
vice August 26. He accompanied his regiment to 
the front and was stationed at Hilton Head, South 
Carolina, where he was mustered out August 31, 
[862. January 6, 1863, he again enlisted, and was 
mustered into service February 10 as a first class 
musician of the Second Brigade band of the Tenth 
Army Corps, New Hampshire Volunteers, also 
known as the Post Band. He served until July 
4. 1865. and was then mustered out at Hilton Head. 
After he returned to Concord he made music his 



;o2 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



profession until the time of his death, as far as 
his health permitted, though he was often obliged 
to desist on account of ravages made on his system 
by disease contracted while in the military service. 
He was a member of the Unitarian Church, and 
voted the Republican ticket. He married, January 
5, 1869, Alice G. Quann, born in Halifax. Nova 
Scotia, April 23, 1846. daughter of John and Mary 
A. (Lattey) Quann. Mr. Quann was born and died 
in Halifax; his wife was born in Annapolis, Xova 
Scotia, and died in Boston, July .20, 1872. They 
had three children: John, born in Halifax in 1843, 
died in Boston. 1875; James, born in Halifax, 1844, 
killed by a railroad train in Indiana in 1878; and 
Alice G. The children of Phineas and Alice G. 
(Quann) Parkhurst are: Harriet I., born in Con- 
cord, March, 1870, at home; and James P., born in 
Concord, in 1S72. now engaged in the manufacture 
of silverware in Keene, this state. 



The family of Hassard, Ha^sart or 
HAZARD Hazard is of Norman extraction. At 

the time of the Conquest they were 
living on the borders of Switzerland, and were 
distinguished by the ancient but long extinct title 
of Duke de Charante. Two bearing this title 
visited the Holy Land as crusaders. The coat of 
arms of the family corroborates this statement, for 
its principal emblem is three scalloped shells on an 
ermine held, while the crescent is a closed helmet 
surmounted by a large scallop shell. These shells 
were found on the shores of Palestine, and they 
were the badge of the returning Pilgrims. The 
motto of the Hazard family is "Sinceritas. The 
Hazards in this country belong chiefly to Rhode 
Island, where the original Thomas settled in 1639. 
Tradition ^ays that Thomas was accompanied by a 
nephew, the ancestor of the New York and south- 
ern branches of the family. In R'.*, ■ Island the 
name is one of the most numeron* ..1 the state. 
Mrs. Mary Hazard, of South Kingston, Rhode 
Island, grandmother of Governor Hazard, died in 
1739, at the age of one hundred years, and could 
count up five hundred children, grandchildren, 
great-grandchildren, and great-gn at -grandchildren, 
of whom two hundred and five were then living. 

(I) Thomas Hazard, the first American an- 
cestor, born in England, in 1610, came from Eng- 

\\ ales, and settled in Rhi idi I sland, 
in 1635. Mis name is first found in Bo ton in [635. 
in [638 he was admitted a freeman of 1 
1639 he wa admitted freeman of Newport, Rhode 
Island, and in 1040 he was appointed a 

I of election-. I te inn 

Martha , who died in U ••> Married I 

Martha, wid ["hi una - She: iff, n hi 1 died in 

1691. Thou ; d died in 168 1 were 

four children, probablj .ill by the first man 

ch follow-: Elizabeth, married 

. I [annah, married Stephi n V\ ilo •■■■, 

son of Edward Wilcox; .Martha, married (first) 

[chabod, son ,,1 , ,-_ an< i 

mill. son "i ' 
Mown. 

(II) Ri iberl - Idesl child and ■ if Tin nn is 
and Martha Hazard, wa born in [635, in I 

1 Ireland In 1635 '■'' »■' ■ admitti d frei m: I 

null, Rhode Island. 1 [e appi ars to have 
been a prominent man in the colony, ami was a 
large landowner, He built a big house in Kings- 
town, Rhode Island, which stood for a centui 



a half. The house had a long L in which wa 
capacious chimney with two stone seats where, tra- 
dition says, the little slave children were woAt to 
sit. Robert Hazard, according to the deeds given 
to his sons and others, owned more than a thousand 
acres of land. He married Mary, daughter of 
Thomas and Ann Brownell. She died January 28, 
1739. at the age of one hundred years, having lived 
to see five hundred of her descendants, as mentioned 
in the first paragraph. She appears to have been 
remarkable in more than one way, for the "B 
Gazette," dated February 12, 1730. says of her: 
"She was accounted a very useful Gentlewoman, 
both to the Poor and Rich on many account-, and 
particularly amongst Sick Persons for her Skill 
and Judgment, which she did Gratis." Thomas and 
Mary Hazard had eight children: Thomas, horn 
in 1660, died in 1746. married Susannah Nichols; 
George, married Penelope, daughter of Caleb and 
Abigail Arnold, died in 1743 ; Stephen, married 
Elizabeth Helme, died September 20, 1727; Martha, 
married Thomas Wilcox, died in 1753: Mary, mar- 
ried Edward Wilcox, and died before 1710; Robert 

married Amey , died in 1718; Jeremiah, 

whose sketch follows; Hannah, married Jeffrey 
Champlin. Robert Hazard died in 1710. 

(III) Jeremiah, fifth son and seventh child of 
Robert and Mary (Brownell) Hazard, was horn 
March 25, 1675. He lived at Kingstown, Rhode 
Island. Like others of the family he owned much 
land, some of which remained to his descendants for 
generations. Jeremiah Hazard married Sarah, 
daughter of Jeremiah and Mary (Geready) Smith. 
They had seven children: Mary, horn March 16, 
1669, died in 1771 ; Ann. born February 28, 17m. 
married John Browning- Robert, whose sketch 1 1- 
lows ; Sarah, born January 11, 1706, married Robert 
Moore, October 24, 1728; Martha, born October 8, 
1708; Hannah, born in April, 1714, married Samuel 
Watson; Susannah, born May 21, 1716, married 

Smith. Jeremiah Hazard reached the 

age of ninety-three, dying February 2. [768. 

(IV) Robert, third child and only s in of Jere- 
miah and Sarah (Smith.) Hazard, w \nril 
1, 1703. He married Patience, daughter of Step 
and Alary (Thomas) Norrlnvp. She was horn June 
2 7> I 7°5. ai 'd died Tune 26. 1795, lacking 

of ninety years. The,- had four children: Mary, 
married her cousin, Jeremiah Hazard; J 
born in 1735. admitted freeman of North Kil 
town, Rhode Island, 111 1756 : Ephraim, born in 
1721). ami died May 28, :82c, Gideon, whi 
f illows. 

( V ) Gideon, third si n and 3 011 ■■ ■ t 1 
'children of Robert and Patience (Northup) 
was horn 1734. He was twice married. His 
wife was Sarah, daughter of Jonathan Chase, 
widow 1 if Benjamin Congdon. Tin •. 
si ins : Ephr tim, born September 5, 1 

) i ii. daughter of Rich 5 c 

ond. Mary Smith ; Freeh irn, 

e sketch follow-: and Robert .. 
Gidi d married for his si na 

■ mber 3, 1822. 1 

one child. Elizabeth, bi irn 1 1 

I eph Hammond. Gideon Hazard died June 13, 
r8l t, at the homestead of his father and grand- 
father in Kingstown, Rhode Island. 

(VI) Freeborn, second son and child of Gi 
and Sarah (Chase) (Congdon) Ha ard, wa; horn 
in 1705. They had three children: Robertson, : 






NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



503 



August 27, 1785. married Elizabeth Marshall; 
Stanton, whose sketch follows ; Susan, born No- 
vember 11, 1788, married Hannah Smith. Free- 
born Hazard died August 29, 183 1, at the age of 
sixty-six years, an early age for a Hazard. 

(VII) Stanton, second son and child of Free- 
born and Susan (Sherman) Hazard, was born in 
August, 1786. He married Phebe Bush, and they 
had seven children : George S., born January 10, 
1S10; Mary A., born June 14, 1811, married (first) 
Harvey Brown, (second) Daniel Sherman; John 
W., born May 20, 1813, died September 10, 1851 ; 
Albert R., born August 18, 1815, died in infancy; 
Oliver S., whose sketch follows ; Brayman R., born 
December 10, 1819, died in infancy; Phebe A., born 
November 30, 1825, married Orris Gardner. 

(VIII) Oliver Stanton, fourth son and fifth 
child of Stanton and Phebe (Bush) Hazard, was 
born in Anthony, Rhode Island, December 29, 1817. 
He was twice married (first) to Lucy A. Rice, and 
(second) to Juliette E. Sholes. 

(IX) Marinus Hall, son of Oliver Stanton and 
Lucy A. (Rice) Hazard, was born at Crompton, 
Rhode Island. He studied medicine in Philadel- 
phia, and practiced his profession in Providence, 
Rhode Island. He belonged to the Odd Fellows 
and Knights of Pythias. He married Helen, daugh- 
ter of George Stevens, who was born in Monroe, 
New Hampshire. Six children were born: Wil- 
liam H., deceased; George S. ; Ella F., deceased; 
Walter E. ; Hellen G., and Albert H., deceased. 

(X) George Stevens Hazard, son of Dr. Mari- 
nus Hall and Helen (Stevens) Hazard, was born 
at Providence, Rhode Island, July 20, 1866. He 
attended the high school in his native city, and 
Brown University. For many \-ears he was en- 
gaged in the drug business at Worcester, Massachu- 
setts. He then entered the College of Physicians 
and Surgeons at Baltimore, Maryland, from which 
he was graduated in 1890. In 1894 he came to 
Hollis, New Hampshire, where he has since lived. 
He makes a specialty of diseases of the nose and 
throat, and has an extensive practice in the sur- 
rounding towns. He belongs to the American, the 
New Hampshire and the Nashua Medical societies. 
He has been a member of the board of health and 
the school board of Hollis, and trustee of the pub- 
lic library. He is a Mason of the Thirty-second 
degree, and a Knight Templar. He is a member 
of the following Masonic bodies in Nashua: Ed- 
ward A. Raymond Consistory, Meridian Sun Royal 
Arch, Chapter No. 9, and the New Hampshire 
Council of Deliberation. 

Dr. George S. Hazard married, April 20. 
Harriet, daughter of Charles Augustus and Harriet 
(Allen) Blackington, of Attleboro, Massachusetts. 
They have two children : Helen R., born June 26, 
1S89, and Ruth F., born March 27, 1897. 



This old family whose ancient seat 

GERRISH was in Newbury, Massachusetts, has 

produced a long line of nun of more 

than ordinary ability, leaders, and men of local 

prominence wherever they have resided, both in 

Massachusetts and New Hampshire. 

(I) Captain William Gerrish, born in Bristol, 
Somersetshire, England, August 20, 1617. said to 
have been educated to business in the mercantile 
house of Percival Lowle & Company, came to New 
England as early as 1639 and settled in that year 
in Newbury, Massachusetts. He was the first 
captain of the military band in that town, and 



representative 1650-54. In 1678 he removed to 
Boston and was the owner of No. 3, Long Wharf, 
where he carried -on business. At the semi-centen- 
nial anniversary meeting of the town of Boston, 
March 14. 1686, Captain Gerrish opened and closed 
the exercises with prayer. He died at the house 
of his son Benjamin, in Salem, August 9, 1687, aged 
seventy. He married (first) April 17, 1645. Joanna, 
widow of John Oliver, of Newbury. She died June 
14, 1677, aged fifty-eight; and he married (second), 
in Boston, Ann, widow of John Manning. The 
children by the first wife were : John, William, 
Joseph, Benjamin. Elizabeth, Moses and Mary; and 
by the second wife : Henry. 

(II) Colonel Moses, fifth son and sixth child 
of Captain William and Joanna Gerrish, was born 
in Newbury, May 9, 1656, and died December 4, 
1694, in Newbury, where his life was spent. He 
married, September 24, 1677, Jane, daughter of Rev. 
Henry Sewall, and sister of Chief Justice Sewall, 
of Massachusetts. She was born at Badsley, Eng- 
land, October 25. 1659, and died January 29, 1717. 
Their children were: Joanna, Joseph, Sarah, Eliza- 
beth, Mary and John. 

(III) Colonel Joseph, eldest son and second 
child of • Colonel Moses and Jane (Sewall) Gerrish, 
was born in Newbury, March 20, 1682, and died 
January, 1765, aged nearly eighty-three years. He 
lived in Newbury, was a member of the colonial 
legislature twenty years, and was often elected by 
that body to his majesty's council, and as often 
rejected by the English governor "because he was 
not supple." He was also elected to a seat in a pro- . 
vincial congress. In speaking of him Rev. Jacob Little 
says : Colonel Joseph Gerrish had such muscular 
power that he swam the Merrimack river near its 
mouth every year till he was past seventy. The 
weight of four of his children was 1.200 pounds." 
He married Mary Little, born January 13, 1686, 
daughter of Moses and Lydia (Coffin) Little, of 
Newbury, the notice of intentions being published 
February 26, 1704. Their children were: Moses, 
Joseph, Stephen, Mary, Jane. Elizabeth, Sarah, 
Judith, Samuel and Rebecca. Three others dii 1 
young. 

(IV) Captain Stephen, third son and child of 
Colonel Joseph and Mary (Little) Gerrish. was 
horn in Newbury, January 22, 1711, and died in 
Boscawen, New Hampshire, in 1788. When about 
twenty-two years of age he removed to Contoocook, 
New Hampshire, with his ox team and plow — the 
first in the town. He was a leading spirit aim 
the first settlers of Contoocook, took an active part 
in all matters pertaining to the welfare of the coi 
munity, and was often appointed on committee^ b; 
his fellow proprietors. He established the first 
ferry, was thrifty, and accumulated a large estate. 
Rev. Mr. Price says of him: "He was particularly 
prepared to advance the settlement of a new country, 
being young, robust, acquainted with husbandry, 
enterprising, industrious, economical. Though his 
education was small and his manners unpolished 
yet his strength of mind, his frankness, and sympa- 
thetic feelings, rendered him useful and agreeable. 
He knew all the discouragements and wants of a 
new settlement, and to him many resorted for suc- 
cor. Possessing both the means and the disp 1 tion, 
he was liberal and hospitable — a friend and father 
to multitudes. He lived to see his children 51 I 
and prosperous, and useful members of both ci\ 
and religious societies." He resided at the lower 
end of King street, and for a time until the close 






NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



of his life he lived upon one of his farms in Canter- 
bury, on tin- intervale below "Muchyedo." He mar- 
ried (first) in Newbury. Massachusetts, July 21, 
[738, while he was a resident of Canterbury, .Martha 
Chase, of Newbury, who died without issue; and 
he married (second), July 15, 1 74 1 , Joanna Hale, 
of Newbury, born June. 1715. died about 1792, aged 
seventy-seven. She was the daughter of Samuel and 

ihia 1 Moody) Hale, of Newbury, and sister of 
Nathan Male, the martyr spy. in the war of Ameri- 
can independence. "She was a woman of strong 
character, and deeply religious. She left the Episco- 
pal and joined the Congregational Church to find 
spirituality, and brought her branch of the Gerrish 
family within the covenant." The children of this 
vere: Henry, Jane, Samuel, Enoch, Joseph 
and Stephen. ( Mention of Samuel and Enoch and 
■descendant- appears in this article.) 

I V I Colonel Henry, eldest child of Captain 
Stephen and Johanna (Hale) Gerrish. was born 
May 3. 1742. in Canterbury, and died in that town 
May 16. 1806. He was an active man in the affairs 
of the town and was successful as a business man. 

He ) id those qualities of character which 

make men leaders. At the age of twenty-four years, 
in [766, he was ensign in the militia and a select- 
man. He was frequently elected moderator of the 
town, and was elected a delegate to the first state 
convention in 1774 and again in 1775, representing 
Boscawen and Salisbury. He was again delegate 
in 1 771 »-.So. At the outbreak of the Revolution he 
was captain of the militia, and marched with the 
mimitemen to Bedford upon receiving the news of 
the battle of Lexington. He was lieutenant-colonel 
of Stickney's regiment at the time of the Benning- 
ton campaign, but was detailed at that time for other 
duties, and did not participate in the battle. He- 
w-as present at the surrender of Burgoyne, being on 
the left flank of Burgoyne at Battenkil, and acted 
as clerk at the sale of the plunder taken from the 
British. He often acted as the town's agent dur- 
ing the revolution, performing the duties assigned 
t.. him with the same industry and prudent care 
that characterized the management of his own af- 
fairs. Colonel Gerrish was a land surveyor, and he 
was called upon in every direction not only by the 
citizens of bis own town but of surrounding towns 
to lay out lands and roads. He was a justice of the 
1 " :i..-<-. and was often called upon to act as arbitor 
'" ettle the difficulties between citizens of the town 
and county without legal procedure. He was also 
a blacksmith, and forged mill cranks and made 
mill saws on an ordinary anvil. He kept a tavern. 
and his house was known as the Traveler's Home. 
Mai' people i"" poor to pay for a lied were ac- 
dated ler his roof, where they were per- 
mitted • pon bearskins before the generous 
fireplace in hi- barroom. His hou-e was on what is 
now known as Fish street, and be owned a large 
tract of land which is now the county farm. His 

dence was not far from the present buildings 
<in that place. In the earlj daj the corn mill at 
the hi ad of the present Ki in Bosi iwen 

was thi "idy accommodation of that kind to settlers 
located far up the Merrimac. It was a day's 
journey for main- of them to reach Colonel 1, 
rish's tavern, and a night would be spent there. 
In the morning thi d a grist and carried it 

to the mill on their backs, and would be able to 
•urn to Ci lonel Hirrish's at night. There they would 
make a johnny-cake or hasty pudding for break! 
and on the third morning, with thi 



backs, start for their distant homes. Colonel Ger- 
rish was a large investor in the cheap lauds of the 
north part of the state, and he became the pro- 
prietor of many thousand acres. He acquired a 
great estate, and brought up a large family of 
children and lived to see most of them well settled. 
He was a professor of religion, and uniformly gave 
his support to religious exercises. His children 
were well brought up, and of credit to him and 
themselves. He was married November 10, 1763, 
to Martha, daughter of Jeremiah Clough, of Can- 
terbury. She was born November 10, 1742, and 
died October 15. 1826, surviving her husband more 
than twenty years. Their children were : Jere- 
miah. Sarah, Moses, Stephen, Henry. Hannah, 
Martha, Jacob, Susannah, Joseph and Thomas. 
( Mention of descendants appears in this article.) 

(VI) Moses, second son and third child of 
Colonel Henry and Martha (Clough) Gerrish. was 
born February 17, 176S, and settled in the south- 
western part of Boscawen. where he maintained a 
most hospitable and happy home. Deacon Enoch 
Little named this location "Basham" from the many 
oaks that grew there. He married Sarah Illsley. 
daughter of Enoch Little (see Little. IV). Slie 
was born April 20. 1760, and died December 10, 
1836. They had a daughter and a son, Sally and 
Jeremiah. The former became the wife of Colonel 
John Farmer of Boscawen (Webster). 

(VII) Jeremiah, only son of Moses and Sarah 
I. (Little) Gerrish, was born on New Year's Day. 
1794. and died October 30. 1S43. He resided on 
the homestead at "Basham," and succeeded George 
T. Pillsbury as deacon of the Congregational 
Church at West Boscawen. He was a leader of 
the choir there some nineteen years. He was de- 
voted to music, and purchased in 1S30 the first 
seraphine made by Charles Austin, of Concord. 
This was one of the earliest reed instruments blown 
by pedals to be made in America. Deacon Ger- 
rish was married March 8, 1821. to Jane, daughter 
of Enoch (2) and Polly (Noyes) Little. She was 
born February 2, 1800, and died April 9, 1877. Their 
children were: Polly L.. Jeremiah. Edwin, Sarah 
J., Henry H. and James L. 

(VIII) Sarah J., second daughter and third 
chibl of Deacon Jeremiah and Jane (Little - ) Ger- 
rish. was born January II, 1830, and died June 21, 
1872. She was married November 10. 1867, to 
George Little of Webster fsee Little, VII). 

l\ 1) Henry (2), fourth son and fifth child of 
Henry (1) and Martha (Clough) Gerrish, was born 
May 29, 1772, in Boscawen. and lived for a time 
after attaining manhood on what is now High street, 
in that town, and afterwards settled on the home- 
stead at Fish street. He was a farmer by occu- 
pation. He was married Tunc 6, 1700. to Mary, 
daughter of Honorable Abial and Mary Foster of 
Canterbury. She was born October I, 1774. a »d 
died September 3, i860, being then one week of 

ninetj five years old. Mr. Gerrish died September 
it, 1862. Their children were: Susannah, an in- 
fant daughter died unnamed. Jacob, Lucy, Abial, 
Mary and Elizabeth. 

(YII1 Abial. second son and fifth child of 
Henry (2I and Mary (Foster) Gerrish. was born 
March 7. 1806, in Boscawen, and lived for a time 
in Canterbury. Afterward he resided on the home- 
stead, which is now occupied by the county farm. 
Ultimately he settled at West Creek. Lake County. 
Indiana, where he died. He was married January 
1S. 1830. to Eliza, daughter of Paul Dodge of Bos- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



505 



eawen. Their children were: Maria, Martha, Mary, 
James L., Jane P. and Ann E. 

(VIII) Maria, eldest daughter of Abial and 
Eliza (Dodge) Gerrish, was born April 15, 1831, 
in Canterbury, and was married October 26, 1849, 
to Joseph (3) Barnard (see Barnard, VII). 

(V) Samuel, third child and second son of 
Captain Stephen and Joanna (Hale) Gerrish, was 
born April 20, 1748, and died November 16, 1825. 
He settled first on High street, Boscawen, and re- 
moved in 1776 to Canterbury, his farm lying on 
the Merrimack river. He married, January, 1773, 
Clicy Xoyes, of Hebron, who died in 1818, aged 
sixty-six. They had three sons: Enoch, Joseph, 
and Stephen. 

(VI) Captain Joseph, second child of Samuel 
and Lucy (Noyes) Gerrish, was born in Canter- 
bury, and died July 31, 1839, aged sixty-two. He 
lived on the homestead in Canterbury. He married 
first Sarah, daughter of Nathan Chandler, of Con- 
cord: and second in 1813, Sarah, daughter of Dea- 
con John Church, of Dunbarton. She was born 
June 9, 1784, and died February 2, 1855, aged 
seventy-one. The children by Sarah Chandler 
were: Judith (died at age of eigllteen years), Lucy, 
Mary and Nathan. Those by Sarah Church were : 
John. Sarah, Enoch, Susan, Charles, Judith, and 
Newell. 

(VII) Judith, sixth child and third daughter 
of Captain Joseph and Sarah (Church) Gerrish, 
was born in Canterbury, May 21, 1824, and married, 
November 24. 1842. Farnum Coffin, of Boscawen. 
(See Coffin, VIII.) 

(V) Major Enoch, third son and fourth 
child of Captain Stephen and Joanna (Hale) Ger- 
rish, was born in Boscawen, January 23, 1750, and 
died May 1, 1821, aged seventy-one. When eight- 
een years of age he built his log cabin on the east 
side of the road now called High street, where he 
cleared five acres of land, being part of the home- 
stead where he and his posterity have since resided. 
Chestnut rails split by him were on the farm in a 
good state of preservation, more than one hundred 
and twenty-five years later. Although his principal 
occupation was the care and improvement of his 
land, he had a fondness for mechanical labor, and 
framed many of the buildings in the town, includ- 
ing the churches. The first bridge across the Mer- 
rimack, at the Plain, was built by him. He had a 
love for military parade, as his title indicates. Dur- 
ing his life he was chosen to fill the offices of mod- 
erator, selectman, and representative to the general 
court. A man strictly religious, he joined Dr. 
Wood's Church in 1781. and was elected deacon in 

1783. an office which he held until his death. May 
I, 1821. He married (first), February, 1772, Mary 
E. Pearson, born October 3, 1753, daughter of 
Deacon Isaac Pearson, of Boscawen. She died 
May, 1784, and he married (second), December 8, 

1784, Hannah Kilburn, of Boscawen. She died 
January 14, 1792, and he married (third), July 2. 
1792, Mary, daughter of Joseph Gerrish, who died 
May 3. 1829. The children by the first wife were : 
Samuel. Enoch, Stephen, Sally, Isaac and Anna 
(twins); and by the second wife: Mary and Han- 
nah. 

(VI) Isaac, fourth son and fifth child of Enoch 
and Mary E. (Pearson) Gerrish, was born in Bos- 
cawen. November 27, 1782, and died August 22, 
1842, aged sixty years. He resided on the home- 
stead inherited from his father, at the foot of the 
Gerrish hill, on High street. By his untiring in- 



dustry and frugality he from time to time added 
to the old homestead so that he was the possessor 
of the largest cultivated farm in town, which he 
devoted to stock raising and the production of 
butter and cheese. The products of the dairies of 
Boscawen were well and favorably known in the 
markets of New England. His dwelling and out- 
buildings were burned May 1, 1824. The same 
year he built a new set of buildings, which at that 
time were the largest and most commodious in 
town. His services and advice were frequently 
sought for in making deeds, wills and other papers 
usually executed by a justice of the peace. He was 
a neighbor to Rev. Dr. Wood, and was greatly at- 
tached to the pastor and the church, to which he 
dispensed spiritual instruction, and his seat at meet- 
ings was seldom vacant. A kind neighbor, strongly 
attached to friends, given to hospitality, his house 
was open; and the pleasant firesides in the large 
rooms of his dwelling, will be long remembered by 
those who enjoyed them. He married. June 1, 
1815, Caroline Lawrence, of Canterbury, born No- 
vember 16, 1797, died at West Lebanon, October 25, 
1870, aged seventy-three. Their children were : 
Twins, died in infancy; Lydia, Enoch and Eliza- 
beth. • 

(VII) Colonel Enoch, only son and fourth child 
of Isaac and Caroline (Lawrence) Gerrish, was 
born at the old homestead, on High street, July 28, 
1822. He obtained his education at the academies 
in Boscawen, Franklin and Meriden. On the death 
of his father he inherited a large portion of his 
estate, and with it, at the age of twenty, came the 
care and management of an extensive farm. An 
addition of more than one hundred acres made it 
one of the largest in Merrimack county. For twenty 
years he devoted his time to the cultivaation and 
improvement of his agricultural holdings, success- 
fully developing their resources by raising live 
stock, hay and wool, when its heavy growth of wood 
and timber attracted the attention of the lumber 
manufacturer to whom the farm was sold in 1865. 
Possessing a love for military life he took a deep 
interest in the military organizations in the state, 
and was promoted from the lowest rank to that of 
colonel of the Twenty-first Regiment, New Hamp- 
shire militia. Having the confidence and esteem 
of his townsmen, he was elected to the various 
offices of the town, the duties of which he per- 
formed to his credit and the satisfaction of his con- 
stituents. Though not a member of any church, he 
has always been a firm believer in the utility and 
necessity of religious and educational institutions, 
has ever been a friend to the church where his an- 
cestors worshipped, and a supporter of religious 
institutions generally. After the sale of his farm 
he removed to Concord, where his sound judgment, 
particularly in matters of finance, was duly appre- 
ciated, as was shown by his appointment as one of 
the trustees of the New Hampshire Savings Bank 
of Concord, and of the Rolfe and Rumford Asylum. 
Mr. Gerrish is a Republican in politics, and served 
in 1SS1-82 as representative of ward four in the 
New Hampshire legislature. In 1887 he was elected 
to the senate, and served two years. In political 
matters as in all the other relations of life Mr. 
Gerrish has always been a dependable factor. He 
has been a sincere outspoken advocate of what he 
believed to be right. He married. May 23. 1S54, 
Miranda O. Lawrence, born June 15, 1829, daughter 
of Joseph S. and Harriet (Neally) Lawrence, of 
Lee, by whom he had two children, Frank L., men- 



coo 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



tioncd below; and Lizzie Miranda, born June 14, 
i860, who married Everett W. Willard. 

i\III) Frank Lawrence, oldest child and only 
son of Hon. Enoch and Miranda (Lawrence) Ger- 
rish. was born on his father':; farm. May 19, 1855, 
and educated in the public schools, at Phillips 
Academy, Andover, Mas-.. . and at Chand- 

ler Scientific School, at Hanover. At the age of 
nineteen he took a place in the New Hampshire 
Savings Bank, in Concord, where he remained one 
year. He then settled on the ancestral homestead, 
where he has since resided and successfully culti- 
vated the rich acres that constitute one of the best 
farms in the .Merrimack valley. In politics a Re- 
publican, and being a man of good judgment and 
executive ability, he has spent many years in the 
public service. He was county commissioner in 
1885, has served as selectman twelve years, and as 
treasurer of Merrimack county four years, lie is 
a member of the Congregational Church, and of 
the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. He mar- 
ried Isabelle Seavey, born in Moultonboro, June 
29, 1858, daughter of John and Almira Seavey, 
of Mnultonboro. * 

The following is a sketch of a branch of the 
ancient family of Gerrish, earlier generations of 
which are traced in the preceding pages. 
__ (I) John Gerrish was born in West Lebanon, 
York county, Maine. He was a farmer and lived and 
died in his native town. His wife's surname was Fur- 
bush. Their children were: John J.. Nathaniel, 
George James, Joseph, Eliza, married Hiram Han- 
son. 

(II) George, third son and child of John Ger- 
rish, was born 111 West Lebanon, Maine, March 3, 
178S, and died December 9. 1S78, aged ninety-three, 
and was a lifelong farmer. He began farming for 
himself near Jamaica pond in Massachusetts, where 
he resided eight year.-. Afterward he returned to 

Lebanon, where he continued farming the 
remainder of his life. He married Ann Damon, 
who was born February 4. 1804. and .lied July 8. 

Their children were: Cathi rine I ., Ebem er 
T, Henry T., Benjamin I;. Leonard S., Eliza A, 
Georg( I lohn EC., Alfred \\ ., Daniel W. 

(III) 1 [enry Thomas, third 5011 and child of 

' ' 1 '."'"• 1 Gi born in 

mber 14, 1828. Al 
1 11 he wi ni to Boston 
and 1 
ed at that, doii, . ., r, am 

of the largest bi 1 

'' mbroke street, two on Br 1 

.. 
In 1872 he removed to Ro. h 

a hue 

was horn Sept< mber 1 1. [8 9 
r of 1 
1 ; ad 

dren: Ida Al . born January 23, [872, married Henry 
Greenfield; 1 ,*-,, ,„.„:_ 

try is 
married Ge< R., born O 

6, [883, a 
and Bryant and Strattoi 1 ericial I ollege 



Boston; is now a bookkeeper for the Studley Box 
Company. 



The emigrant of this family, Henry (i) 
WAY Way (or Waye), was born about 1583, 

and emigrated to this country from Bris- 
tol, England, in company with Roger Williams, Feb- 
ruary 8, 1631, in the ship "Lyon." He was named 
with the first recorded grantees of land in Dorches- 
ter, Massachusetts, in 1633. He died in Dorchester 
in 1607; Ins wife Elizabeth died in 1665. Their 
three children were: Richard, George and Aaron. 

(II) Ensign George, son of Henry Way, was born irr 
England. He married Elizabeth Smith, only child 
of John and Joanna Smith. George Way received 
a portion of the neckland in Dorchester in ib.!7- but 
he lived probably the greater part of his life in 
Lyme, Connecticut. His last home was in New 
London, at West Farms near Lake's Pond, where 
he died in February, 1717. His body was kepi 
twelve days because of the "Great Snow" and was 
finally carried to the cemetery by men on snow 
shoes. They had two sons: George and Thomas. 

(III) Thomas, youngest son of George and 
Elizabeth (Smith) Way, was doubtless born in 
Lyme. Connecticut, but it is evident from available 
data that he lived in New London, Connecticut, from 
early childhood. No date of his birth is given, but 
he died in East Haven, Connecticut, in 172(1. whither 
he had removed about 1720. He married Ann. daugh- 
ter of Andrew Lester. Their children included. 
Daniel, Ebenezer, Thomas, Elizabeth, John, David 
James, Alary and Hannah. 

(1Y) Eberlezer Way. born October 30, 1693, in 
New London, Connecticut, married Alary Harris, 
probably of New London. 

(V) William, son of Ebenezer and Alary ( Har- 
ris) Way. was born in New London, May 15. 1720. 
He married, Alay 3, 1765, Alary Lathrop. 

(VI) George (2), son of William and Alary 
Lathrop Way, was born June 18, 1771. In New 
London, Connecticut, December 5, To;, he .married 
Sarah Douglas, a descendant from the distinguished 
family of Douglas, of Scotland, which has figured 
conspicuously in English. Scotch and Wei h history 
for centuries. Hon. Stephen A. Douglas was a cul- 
tured relative of Sarah 

George and Sarah (Douglas) Way were: I 
Sallie. Gordon, Roderic, Joseph, Lucy, Emily. Chi 
d Truman. 

(VII) < lordon, si m of Georg 

(Douglas) Way. was hom July 30, 17 ' ' mps- 
1 t, Ni ■-. Ham nd dii & in I July 

30 1880. Mr Way and h ; s family 1 From 

Lempster, whi aler 

and farmer, to | tight 

a large farm ged in gei icul- 

tural : Although he did n ctive 

. airs ' if his b iv\ n, h 
teemi da ■ 

1 firsl 1. June 28, i8'o. Abigail Pi 
C;,,,. .. I Abigai Pi 

|i v, \ I ) She v i hom in He, ei hill. Massa- 
chusetts, in [798, end Iii 1 familj ' emp- 
ster, New I [ampshi 1 old 
One 1 

Episcopal 1 li, and ani ther Rev. 

V V Miner, LL. D., the < liver- 

salist clergyman. She 1 11. 1848, in 

Claremonl Air. \\".i> 

11, 1X10. Sophia Lovell Tin' children of G 
end Abigail (Perley) Way were: Mary Eliza, 




&*™«^J3 7/LfMA 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



507 



Alonzo Gordon. Abigail Eveline. Sabrina. Edmund 
Perley. Sarah P.. George Osborne, Edwin Franklin, 
Emily Maria, Orlo Fiske, Osman Baker and Louisa 
Mehitable. 

(VIII) Osman Baker, sixth son of Gordon and 
Abigail (Perley) Way, was born March 22, 1840, in 
Lempster. New Hampshire. He was four years old 
when his parents removed to Claremont. He worked 
on the farm and attended the district school mean- 
time. At the age of seventeen years he entered the 
old Claremont Academy. Three years later he be- 
came a student at Kimball Union Academy at Meri- 
den, New Hampshire, where he fitted for college, 
but greatly to his disappointment he was obliged to 
abandon his cherished project in consequence of ill 
health. He soon after, in 1862. began the study of 
medicine with the late Dr. Nathaniel Tolles, of 
Claremont, and Professor A. B. Crosby, the eminent 
surgeon and professor in Dartmouth College. He 
was awarded as a prize a valuable work on the 
"Practice of Medicine"' for the best examination in 
all the departments of medical science taught in the 
college. While pursuing his studies he taught school 
every winter the larger part of the time in the ad- 
vanced grammar schools in Claremont. He taught 
for a time in Claremont Academy, and was also 
superintendent of schools for fifteen years. He was 
enabled to meet the entire expenses of his education. 
On January 1, 1866. Dr. Way opened an office as 
physician and surgeon in South Acworth, New 
Hampshire. Af\er remaining there one year and a 
half he returned to Claremont and resumed the 
duties of his profession in July. 1867. In addition 
to Claremont, his practice in outside towns has 
been limited only by his physical strength. For 
several years he has made a specialty of chronic dis- 
eases, and has given much attention to microscopy 
and bacteriology. Dr. Way is the oldest practi- 
tioner in Claremont. and one of the most successful 
and talented physicians of southern New Hamp- 
shire. 

Dr. Way has borne no small part in the civic af- 
fairs of his town, and has been honored with various 
positions of trust. He was for twenty-six years a 
member of the Stevens high school committee, a 
period much in excess of that served by any other 
person. He is treasurer of the board of trustees in 
charge of the Paran Stevens fund and the Helen R. 
Healey fund, the two amounting to over $[50,000 
for the benefit of Stevens high school, and he is the 
only member of the board of trustees of the Fiske 
Free Library who has served continuously from its 
opening, mere than thirty years since to the present 
time (1007). He has been a director of the P< 
National Bank since its organization. In connection 
with Hon. George H. Stowell and Hira R. Beck- 
with. the well-known architect. Dr. Way built Union 
Block, one of the finest business blocks in New 
Hampshire, each having one-third interest, and the 
Doctor acting a' treasurer. Dr. Way has been 
twice a member of the New Hampshire legislature 
and was a member of the last constitutional con- 
vention. He is a member of the Methodist Episco- 
pal Church of Claremont. and for more than thirty 
years has been president of the Church Society, and 
nearly as long has acted as chairman of the board 
of trustees. 

On December 24, 1867. Dr. Way married (first) 
Martha L. Wightman. of Cambridgeport, a popular 
school teacher of her day. She died one year after 
her marriage, on December 25, 1868. He married 
(second), February 22, 1882, Mary J. Wightman, a 



sister of his first wife. She is liberally educated, 
having graduated at Kimball Union Academy at 
Meriden, New Hampshire, and later continued her 
studies in the French and German languages. She 
was a teacher in the famous Dr. Gannet's School in 
Boston until ill health compelled her to resign her 
position. Mrs. Way is a woman of great intelligence 
and broad culture. She is in constant touch with 
the best literature, being a member of the Fiske 
Free Library book committee, and in this relation 
her judgment in the selection of standard works is 
considered invaluable. There were no children by 
either marriage. 



This is a name derived from the lo- 
HATCH cality where the original Hatch lived in 
England. It was one time written 'de 
la Hache,' and Hatch, like Hatcher and Hatchman, 
took his name from the simple bar across the wood- 
land pathway by which he lived. Among the oldest 
of Massachusetts families, this has been very pro- 
lific, its descendants being now scattered over many 
states and territories of the Union. It was founded 
in Massachusetts by two brothers, William and 
Thomas, who are supposed to have come from Kent. 
England, and .were both active in the settlement of 
the Plymouth Colony. The family was active in 
the Indian and Revolutionary wars, and has con- 
■tributed its portion to the development of civil af- 
fairs in New Hampshire. 

(I) Elder William Hatch was a native of Sand- 
wich, county of Kent. England, and was probably 
a member, with his brother Thomas, of Governor 
Winthrop's Colony, which came to Massachusetts' 
shores in 1630. William returned to England and 
came out in the ship "Hercules" in 1635, accom- 
panied by his wife Jane, and six children and five 
servant^. He was a man of means and business 
ability, and was a merchant at Scituate, Massachu- 
setts. He was a ruling elder of the Second Church 
there, which was founded in 1644. and was a lieu 
ant of the militia. His children, all born- in Eng- 
land, were: Jane. Anne, Walter. Hannah, William 
and Jeremiah. 

(II) Walter, eldest son and third child of Elder 
William and Jane Hatch, was horn about 1625, and 
died in Scituate in March, 1701. He was a ship- 
wright by occupation. He was man' May 
6. 1650, to Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Holbrook, 
of Weyrnouth. The date of her death does not ap- 
pear, but he was married (second), at Marshfield, 
August 5, 1674. and the christian name of his wife 
was Mary. The surname is not known. His chil- 
dren, born of the first wife, were: Hannah. Sam- 
uel, Jane, Antipas. Bethia, John, Israel and Joseph. 

(III) Samuel, eldest son and second hild of 
John and Elizabeth (Holbrook) Hatch, was born 
December 22. 1653, in Scituate. and was a ship- 
wright and farmer. He died in June. 1735, 
eighty-first year. No record of his wil 

His children were: Samuel, Josiah. Hannah. Ebene- 
zer, Isaac, Elizabeth, Elisha, Ezekiel and De- 

(IV) Jcsiab, second son and child of Samuel 
Hatch, was born May 30. 1680, in Scituate. and 
died January 12. 1715, in Rochester, Massachusetts, 
in his thirty-fifth year. The christian name of his 
wife was Desire and their children were: Desire, 
Edmund. Zeruiah, Jabez and Ebenezer. 

(V) Jabez, second son and fourth child of 
Josiah and Desire Hatch, was horn May 21, T709. in 
Rochester, Massachusetts, and died in April. 1763, 
in Boston. He was buried on the twenty-first of 



5oS 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



that month in t lie cemetery attached to Trinity 
h, of whose society he was one of the earliest 
It is possible that lie went to sea in early 
life, as his marriage occurred in Barnstable and no 
record is found of the birth of his first three chil- 
dren. He was permanently located at Boston as 
early as 1740, as he was elected constable there at 
.vn meeting on April 8 of that year. He was 
< xcused from service. In the same year he pur- 
chased land and had wharves on two sides of his 
estate at what was known as Windmill point and 
\\ heeler's point. His will was made Jan- 
uary 18. 1763. He was married at Barnstable. Feb- 
ruary S, 1730, to Mary Crocker, daughter of William 
and Mary Crocker. She was born August 12, 1714, 
ly at Barnstable, and was buried at Trinity 
church yard. Boston, November II, 1785. Their 
children were: Desire (died young), Sarah. Jabez, 
. Mary. Elizabeth. Desire, Haws, William, 
anna. Lucretia. Lydia. Christopher. Hannah 
and Lucy. The births of all except the first three 
record in Boston. It is probable that some 
of the sons followed the sea, and one of them settled 
in New Brunswick. 

(VI) Jacob Hatch was born in Maine, and was 
one of a family of eleven children, all educators. 
He married Martha Maxwell, a native of the same 
state, who was also a teacher in Maine, where part 

ir children were born. He was a member of 
the Continental army and was present at the sur- 
of Burgoyne. October 17. 1777. He Subse- 
quently removed with his son. Jacob (2) Hatch, 
from Maine to Vermont, settling first in Newbury 
and going from there to Groton as a pioneer. He 

hree sons and three daughters. The sons, 
Mo . Jacob and John, lived and died in Groton: 
married Hiram Meader. and lived and died 
in Walden, Vermont; Lucretia (Mrs. James Dus- 
tin), lived and died in Groton. as did Mehitabel, 
w ife ■ f James Mitchel. 

(VII) Jacob (2) second son of Jacob (1) and 
1 Maxwell ) Hatch, was born 1795, in Groton, 

Vermont, where he continued to reside through life 
and 'lied September 4. 1S7.?. aged about seventy- 
eieht years By occupation be was a stonemason. 
rried Sally Morrison, who was horn May 7. 
i~'C ami died December 0. 1875, '" Groton 

iVIII) George, son oi Jacob (2) ami Sally 
M rrison) Hatch, was born April 1. 1820, in 
Vermont, and early in life learned the shoe- 
trade He settled at Wells River in the 
f Newbury, Vermont, which he made his 
•' home and where he manufactured shoes 
and conducted a retail store, in which he disposed 
of a large part of his product. His entire time and 
ln- lui-iucss and this SO 
overta ill that his health was ruined 

and he died at thi fiftj two years, September 

20, [872. By means of bis devotion to bis business 

il I accumulated considerable 
Me was married December 8. 1847, to 
ince, who was born August 0. 1824, in 
ermont, ami survived him less than two 
. dying in Newbury, September 20, 1872. 
the parents of four children: Oscar C, 
: I - ■ i the - ubjei I of the sui a eding para- 

Fred B. resides at Woodsville. New Hamp- 
shire.' is engaged in mercantile business: Amelia B., 
wife of Vina F. Mulliken (deceased), late 
of Wood 'ill--. New Hampshire; Martha J. wife 
1 I 1 arpenter, of M« ntDi Her, Vermont. 
(IX) Oscar Cuttler. son of Georgi ami Han- 



nah (Vance) Hatch, was born November 11, 1848, 
in Newbury. He attended the common schools of 
his native town and also a select school, and left 
school at an early age to engage in some lucrative 
employment. For two years he was a clerk in the 
general store of Deming & Baldwin at Newbury, and 
the succeeding four years were spent in the National 
Bank at Newbury, where he was a general clerk. 
At the end of this period he was chosen cashier of 
the Orange County Bank at Chelsea. Vermont, 
where for two years he was actively and faithfully 
engaged. In 1S72 he was elected cashier of the 
Littleton National Bank at Littleton, New Hamp- 
shire, and simultaneously was made treasurer of the 
Littleton Savings Bank. This bank was organized 
in 1871, so that Mr. Hatch may be said to have been 
a part or factor in the development of that institu- 
tion. Through his upright and straightforward 
dealings he has won the respect and friendship of 
business men of Littleton and adjoining towns. In 
1 NX; he was elected president of the National Bank 
and for twenty years has continuously filled that 
position with honor and credit to himself and ad- 
vantage to the bank and the town and its people. 
Mr. Hatch is a man of generous nature and is just 
to all, which is one of the qualities essential in a 
successful banker. He made his own beginning in 
the world and appreciates the effort of every one 
who is trying to help himself, and is ever ready to 
in 1 11 rage every honest and worthy effort. He fills 
many posts of responsibility and care, but his duties 
weigh lightly upon bis shoulders and he is ever 
ready to greet his friends and the general public 
with the utmost affability and consideration. Mr. 
Hatch is a member of the Protestant Episcopal 
Church, and in politics an earnest Republican. He 
!:a, served the community for three years, 1885-86- 
87, as a member of the board of education. Union 
School District. He was state senator in 1809 and 
Tooo, and a colonel on the staff of Governor Rollins 
during the same years. He has been a member of 
ila board of trustees of the Episcopal Diocese of 
New Hampshire since 1898. He is a justice of the 
peace and notary public, and is a director of the 
Littleton Shoe Company. He was president of the 
Littleton Musical Association in 1891-O--03. He is 
a member of Burns Lodge, No. 66, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons. Franklin Chapter. No. 5. Royal Arch 
Masons, and St. Girard Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar. He received the thirty-third degree of Free 
Masonry at the Supreme Council at Boston. Massa- 
chusetts, in 1894, an< 3 'S a member of Aleppo Shrine, 
of Boston. He was past commander of St. Girard 
Commandery, of Littleton. This activity in one of 
the greatest fraternities of the world indicates the 
broad and generous nature of Colonel Hatch. He 
occupies a beautiful home al No, 11 High street, 
which is surrounded by handsome lawns and the 
- of a comfortable country home. 
Me was married January 4. 1871, to Flora L. 
Adams, daughter ol Henry W. and Nancy J. Adams, 
of Wells River, Vermont. She was born July 6, 
1851. at Cooperstown, Nevi York, and is the mother 
of four children: Leslie \. the eldest, is a resident 
of San Bernardino, California, where he removed 
with his family in I0O2 for the benefit of his health; 
Henry O. is engaged in banking, holding the posi- 
tion of secretary of the Littleton Savings Bank: 
Marguerite E. recently graduated from the Quincy 
Mansion School, Quincy, Massachusetts; Oscar Cut- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



509 



ler is in the public school of Brookline, Massachu- 
setts. 

(Second Family.) 

(I) Joseph Hatch, immigrant ancestor of the 
Newport family as well as of most of the name in 
this country, arrived from England in or prior to 
1630, coming here in common with the majority of 
Puritans, solely for the purpose of enjoying unre- 
stricted religious rights. Going to the southern 
coast of Massachusetts he purchased of the Indians 
a large tract of land called by its original owners 
Succammesset, lying on the north-eastern shore of 
Vineyard sound and afterwards incorporated as the 
town of Falmouth. There he resided for the re- 
mainder of his life, which terminated at an advanced 
age. He is credited in the records as having reared 
three sons. Joseph, Benjamin and Jonathan, but the 
maiden name of his wife is omitted. 

(II) Joseph (2), eldest son of the preceding, 
was born in Falmouth in 1652. 

(III) Ichabod, son of Joseph Hatch (2), was 
born in Falmouth, October 12, 160.1, and went to 
Connecticut. He married Abigail Weeks. 

(IV) Joseph (3), son of Ichabod and Abigail 
(Weeks) Hatch, was born in Tolland, Connecticut, 
August 15, 1718. About the year 1770 he brought 
his family to Alstead, New Hampshire, and was one 
of the first settlers in that town. His wife was be- 
fore marriage Sarah Stearns, born February 29, 1720, 
in Tolland, daughter of Shubael (2) and Rebecca 
(Lariby) Stearns, of Tolland (see Stearns, III). 

(V) Mason, son of Joseph and Sarah (Stearns) 
Hatch, was born in Tolland, August 23, 1762, and 
accompanied his parents to Alstead when a child. 
He married Mitty (probably Melissa) Brooks. 

(VI) Dr. Mason, son of Mason and Mitty 
(Brooks) Hatch, was born in Alstead, March 3, 
1791. His preliminary medical studies were di- 
rected by Doctors T. D. Brooks, of Alstead, Reuben 
Hatch, of Hillsboro, and Charles Adams, of Keene, 
and his professional preparations were completed at 
Dartmouth College. Locating at Hillsboro in 1818 
he practiced there successfully until 1836, when he 
removed to Bradford, and in 1838 succeeded to the 
practice of his brother, Dr. Isaac Hatch, in New- 
port. He died in Newport, December 2, 1876, after 
spending nearly forty years of his professional life 
there and incidentally devoting much time to its gen- 
eral welfare. He was a member of the lower house 
of the state legislature for the years 1854-55. His 
religious affiliations were with the Congregational- 
ists. On March 5, 1818, he married Apphia An- 
drews, his first wife, who was born March 5, 1795, 
and died September 18, 1855. He was married a 
second time. November 12, 1856, to Mrs. Mary R. 
Ray, of Cornish, New Hampshire, who survived 
him. His children, all of his first union, are: Emily 
T.. born April I, 1819; Abigail, February 6, 1821 ; 
Leonard, died in infancy: Sarah S., June 19, 1824; 
Louisa F., April 10, 1827; Charles M.. who also died 
in infancy ; Ellen M., who will be again referred to ; 
and Caroline, who did not live to maturity. 

(VII) Ellen M., fifth daughter and seventh 
child of Dr. Mason and Apphia (Andrews) Hatch, 
was born in Hillsboro, September 19, 1834, and died 
in New-port, February 27, 1872. She married Will- 
iam Nourse (see Nourse, III). 

(I) Nathan Hatch was born in Halifax Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1783, and removed to Gilford, New 
Hampshire, in early life, where he died March, 
184S, at the age of sixty-five years. He was an early 
settler in Gilford, where he made a farm of fifty 



acres in the woods, and contributed abundantly of his 
services in clearing the, forest, making roads and per- 
forming the many other duties necessary to make the 
wilderness habitable. He was a member of the Uni- 
versalist Church, and his political affiliation was with 
the Whig party. He married Phebe Thurston, who 
was born in Gilford, where she died in 1846. Their 
children were: Ichabod, Benjamin, Martha, Abiah. 
Mahala, and Nathan, whose sketch follows. 

(II) Nathan (2), youngest son of Nathan (1) 
and Phebe (Thurston) Hatch, was born in Gilford, 
October 2, 1821, and died August 10, 1888. The 
common schools of Gilford afforded him all the op- 
portunities for education that he ever had. He fol- 
lowed the occupation of his father and owned and 
cultivated a farm of fifty acres. In the time of the 
Rebellion he was drafted and sent a substitute in his 
place, as at that time he had a family of small chil- 
dren to support, and he preferred to take care of 
them. He was a loyal citizen and attested his re- 
gard for the great war president by naming his 
youngest son in his honor. He was married in Gil- 
ford, January 15. 1844, to Mary Sanborn Webster, 
who was born May 24, 1S25, daughter of William 
W. and Sallie (Sanborn) Webster. Their children 
were: An infant, Mary O.. David, Eva, Walter Wil- 
liam and Abraham Lincoln. 

(III) David, third child of Nathan (2^ and 
Mary S. (Webster) Hatch, was born in Gilt' ml, 
January 6. 1848. After a course of study in the 
common schools he purchased a farm of fifty acres 
noon which he has since resided, devoting consider- 
able attention to the culture of fruit. He has a 
pleasant home, is a respected member of the Free 
Will Baptist Church, and a Republican. He mar- 
ried. January 6, 1886, Susan Webster Thurston, who 
was born in Boscawen, March I, 1850, daughter of 
John G. and Eunice (Andrews) Thurston. They 
have no children. 



This early family of Medfield, 
PARTRIDGE Massachusetts, has produced num- 
erous scions who have been of a 
bold, hardy and adventurous nature and fond of the 
strenuous life of the pioneer. 

(I) William Partridge and his brother John, 
probably from Dedham, settled in Medfield. Massa- 
chusetts, where the name of John is found in rec- 
ords of 1653. William had a house lot on North 
street. His death occurred about 1692, he being at 
that time seventy years of age. He was a single 
man at the time of his settlement in Medfield, but 
married (first), 1654. Sarah Price, who died in 1656; 
and (second), in the same year, Sarah Colburn. 
The children, all by the second marriage, were : 
Nathaniel, John, Elisha, William, Priscilla, Sarah, 
Hannah, Josiah and Mary. 

(II) Nathaniel, oldest child of William and 
Sarah (Colburn) Partridge, born in 1660, was a 
weaver by trade and lived in Medfield. He received 
one-fourth of his father's estate. He served a? town 
treasurer in 1709-10, as selectman 1708 and 1713, and 
kept school in 1713 and 1722. He married, in 16S6, 
Lydia Wight, and both died in the same year, 1741. 
Their children were : Lydia, Nathaniel, Elisha. Deb- 
orah. Sarah, Mary and Miriam (twins), Ephraim, 
Ruth. Josiah. Anna, Edward, and Nathaniel. 

(III) Edward, fifth son and twelfth child of 
Nathaniel and Lydia (Wight) Partridge, was born 
in Medfield, in 1710. He was the legatee of his 
father's estate, which he sold in 1746, and in 1748 
he and his wife asked dismission to the Second 



;io 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Church in Wrentham (now Franklin), where they 
1. He married, 1733, Sarah Jones, 
and they had five children : Elisha, Asa, Edward, 
on and Silas. 

(IV) Elisha (1). eldest child of Edward and 
Sarah (Jones) Partridge, was born in Medfield, in 
1734, and died in 1787. probably in Thomaston, 
.Maine. He resided in Franklin the greater part of 
his life. He married Dorcas Pond, and had six 
children. 

(V) Elisha (2), probably a son of Elisha (r) 
and Dorcas (Pond) Partridge, with his brother 
Simeon removed to Xew Hampshire from Franklin, 

husetts, and was among the first settlers of 
Croydon, New Hampshire. He purchased about 
two hundred acres of the wilderness on Winter Hill. 
which he transformed into a farm. On this he 
erected, buildings and resided the remainder of his 
life, dying July 16, 1856. He married Rachel Win- 
ter, and they were the parents of ten children, eight 

rid two daughters: Daphne. Gardner. J. T. 
Gilman. Susanna. Simeon. Elisha, Achsa, Simeon, 
min F. and Welcome P. 
I Y! I Elisha (3), son of Elisha (2) and Rachel 
(Winter) Partridge, was born in Croydon, April 5, 
1807. He got his education in the district school, 
anil worked at farming for various employers for 

I years. Later he bought a farm of two hun- 

icres near his father's place, where he resided 
until about 1S50. He then moved to the east village 

unlit a house, and resided there and worked 
at carpentry and masonry. In 1853 he removed to 
Croydon Flats, where he bought and lived on a 
small farm, carrying on his trades. Later he re- 
turned to his first farm, upon which he remained 
till his death, August r6, 1882. He married (first), 
November 12. i8_>8. Elvira Putney, born May 10. 
1S00. She died May 10. 1840. and he married (sec- 

Dlla F. Sherman, a native of Maine, who was 
born May 8. 1821, and died April 28. 1892. The 
children by the first wife were: Harrison, George, 
Sarah. Daphne S., Simeon P. (a resident of West 

rd), Lucy C, Rachel and Cynthia C. : and by 

"ml wife: Emma, Willard B., and Sarah E. 
(VII) George, second son and child of Elisha 

• 1 Elvira (Putney) Partridge, born in Croy- 

!ay 17. 1830. was educated in the common 
of his native town, and assisted his father 

farm and also at carpentry. In 1843 he went 
to Claremont and worked four years in the cutlery 
From there he went to Lansing, Iowa, 
where 1 e carried on the business of contractor and 
one year. Returning to New Hamp- 
shire he entered the employ of Moses Humphrey. 
in West Concord, and worked in the manufacture of 
: !s for twenty-five years, eighteen years 
of the time as foreman. Tn t88o he retired from 
manual labor, and has since dealt in houses and 
lands in and near West Concord, In 1804 he built his 
present residence on North State street, one of the 
handsoi 1 1 own and the best in West Con- 

cord village. Mr. Partridge is a person whose hab- 
its .aii' 1 • have impressed bis fellow-citizens 
with his worth as a man. For twen ears he 

rn a special police officer, lie was pound 

a number of ad surveyor fourteen 

nher of the house of representatives 

in 189J votes the Republican ticket, is a 

member of the Veteran Firemen, and attends the 

h. He married. December 16, 

18,4, Mary \ T ' n September 12, 1832. in 

Putney, Vermont, daughter of Curtis and Mary' 



(Dodge) Moore. They have had two children: 
D., and George H., both of whom died in 
infancy. 

(VIII) Simeon P., third son and fifth child of 
Elisha (3) and Emma Partridge, born in Croydon, 
April 28. 1840, was educated in the common schools, 
is a blacksmith, and resides in West Concord. 
He served four years as a soldier in the civil war. 
IK- married Frances E. Brown, daughter of George 
W. Brown, of West Concord. They have three 
children. Edith Frances, Clinton Orlando and Sarah 
Lucy. 



Hollis is an ancient English place name 

HOLLIS long since assumed as a surname by 

persons who went from there to other 

places ; and now common in America, both as a 

place name, and as a surname. The Hollis family 

' \merica is notable for the excellent character of 

its members. 

( I 1 John (1) Hollis was a resident of Wey- 
mouth, Massachusetts, where he married Elizabeth, 
daughter of James Priest. They were the parents 
of one or more children. 

(II) John (2), son of John (1) and Elizabeth 
(Priest) Hollis. removed about 1695 from Wey- 
mouth to Braintree. and settled in the Middlestreet 
district, where he died January 27, 1718. He mar- 
ried Mary (whose surname may have been Yardley), 
who married second May 16. 1725, John Wild, Sr.. 

ins second wife. John and Mary Hollis had eight 
children: John, Mary. Dorothy, Elizabeth, Hannah. 
Thomas, James and Sarah. 

(III) Thomas (1), second son and sixth child 
of John (2) and Mary (Yardley) Hollis, born in 
Braintree, March 13, 1710, died February 14, 1704. 
married. August 18, 1737, Rachel Mekusett. born 
July 18, 1717, daughter of Daniel and Rachel 
(Thayer) Mekusett. and they had ten children: 
Deborah, Rachel, Thomas. Silas. Alethea, Mary. 
died young. Ruth, Daniel. Mary and Barnabas. 

(IV) Thomas (2). eldest son and third child 
of Thomas (1) and Rachel (Mekusett) Hollis, 
baptized December 13. 1741. married Lydia Hclbrook 
aril they had nine children: Thomas, Lydia. Mary, 
Rachel, Mehitable, David. Silence. Ruth and Caleb. 

( V) Thomas (3). eldest child of Thomas (2) 
and Lydia (Holbrook) Hollis, born in Weymouth. 
Massachusetts, January 14. 1773. lived in Brain- 
tree until 1S20, and then moved to Milton, where 
he carried on the business of granite quarrying and 
cutting, and died April 15. 1850. He was a thor- 
OUgh going" citizen, a patriotic American, and a good 
Christian. His Christian faith made him an ardent 
member of the Trinitarian Congregational Church 
and his patriotism made him a faithful soldier in the 
War of 1812. He married in Braintree, Massa- 
chusetts, May 22. 1796, Priscilla Hayden, born 
July 10, 1772. daughter of Lieutenant Robert and 
Elizabeth (Allen) Hayden. (widow of Samuel 
French) of Braintree, where they all lived. The 
children of this marriage were: Betsey A.. Lydia. 
Mehitable. died young. Thomas. Mehitable. Nancy 
W and Susan, all horn in Braintrei 

(VI) Thomas (4), only son and fourth child 
of Thomas (3) and Priscilla (Hayden) Hollis, 

n in Braintree. August 20. 1801, like his father 
was a granite contracts r in Milton, where he lived 

r his marriage. He died in Exeter. New Hamp- 
shire. June 24. 1873. at the home of his daughter, 
Ruth (Mrs. Joseph F. YViggin), where he was vis- 
iting. He was a man of strong character and great 




5>^^ */s cy&^ytZ-t &£** 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



5ii 



influence, a lifelong Democrat, and an attendant of 
the Unitarian Congregational Church. He married, 
1 lecember 3, i8j6, Deborah Clark Allen, born Sep- 
tember 15, 1S10, died January 8, 1889 (See Allen 
VIII, (laughter of Abijah and Sarah (Allen) Allen. 
Their children were: Lucy Allen, Priscilla, died 
young, Thomas, Andrew Jackson. Priscilla Hay- 
den, Abijah, Sarah Abby. Susan French, Ruth 
Hind. Annie Porter and Mary Josephine. 

(VII) Abijah, third son and sixth child of 
Thomas (4) and Deborah Clark (Allen) Hollis, 
born in Milton, November 13, 1837. "was educated 
at Phillips Exeter Academy and the Harvard Law 
School, from which he received a degree, pursued 
the study of the law in the office of Clark and 
Shaw, of Boston, and was admitted to the Suffolk 
bar in 1S62; but immediately after admission, en- 
listed in the Forty-fifth Regiment Massachusetts 
Volunteers, under Colonel Charles R. Codman, for 
service in the Union Army. He served gallantly as 
■ ond lieutenant with this regiment in the North 
Carolina campaign, participating in the battle of 
Kington and other conflicts (including a siege of 
fever) until the expiration of its nine months of 
service. Returning home he soon re-enlisted in the 
Fifty-sixth Regiment, otherwise known as the First 
Veteran Volunteers, and went to the front with the 
same in Virginia, with rank of captain. In the bat- 
tle of the Wilderness he was shot in both legs, dis- 
abled, and for a time was absent on a furlough, 
but returned to his regiment in time to participate 
in the battle of Weldon Railroad, in which it was 
engaged. Subsequently he was prostrated with ty- 
phoid fever, but as soon as strength permitted, he 
was again at the post of duty and of danger, and 
led his regiment at the storming of Petersburg, for 
his gallantry on which occasion he was subsequent- 
ly breveted major." 

At the close of the war, in 1865, Major Hollis, 
on account of his health, gave up the law profession, 
removed to West Concord, New Hampshire, and 
engaged in the business of granite quarrying, from 
which he retired in 1897. Major Hollis has always 
been a Democrat, and as such was elected to the 
" v Hampshire legislature in 1876 from ward three 
of Concord, by two majority. The election was 
hotly contested by his opponent. Daniel Holden, 
but he held his seat. He was a member of the con- 
stitutional conventions of 18 — and 1902. Major 
Hollis has for many years been an influential resi- 
dent of Concord- and a leader of the local Dem- 
ocracy. As a citizen and business man his char- 
acter is without a blemish. ' His patriotism and de- 
votion to his country's interests are attested by his 
long and arduous term of military service in putting 
down the rebellion, and the scars he bears. As a 
friend and neighbor he is always to be depended 
upon. He is a clear thinker, outspoken in his sen- 
timents, and unequivocal in his expressions. While 
at home on a furlough on account of his wounds, 
in T864, he married, in Cambridge. Massachusetts, 
July 0. Harriette VanMater French, born in Chester. 
New Hampshire, September 20. 1839, daughter of 
Hon. Henry Flagg and Anne (Richardson) French 
(see French VIII). They are the parents of six 
children : Thomas. Anne Richardson. Henry 
French. Allen, Harriette VanMater. died young, and 
Marv French. 

(VIII) Thomas (5), eldest child of Abijah and 
Harriette V. M. (French) Hollis born in Milton, 
Massachusetts, May 5. 1863, resides in Concord, 
Massachusetts. He married in Chicago, April 18, 
1892, Mary Letchworth Coonley, born in Louisville, 



Kentucky, March 28. 1869, daughter of John Clark 
and Lydia (Avery) Coonley of Chicago. Their chil- 
dren are : Thomas, born in Chicago, December 8, 
1893 ! John Coonley. Milton, Massachusetts, Decem- 
ber 1, 1896, and Howard Coonley, Concord, New 
Hampshire, October 7, 1899. 

(VIII) Anne Richardson, eldest daughter and 
second child of Abijah and Harriette V. M. (French) 
Hollis, born in West Concord, N. H., July 9, 1867, 
married, July 9, 1900, Dr. Arthur H. Cillley, of New 
York, a descendant of General Cilley and General 
Poor, of Revolutionary fame. 

(VIII) Henry French, second son and third 
of Abijah and Harriette V. M. (French) Hollis, 
was born at West Concord. New Hampshire, Au- 
gust 30, 1869. He received his early education in 
the public schools of Concord, and was graduated 
at the Concord high school in 18S6 ; leaving im- 
mediately for the far west, where he was engaged 
in railroad engineering between Denver and San 
Francisco for the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy 
railroad during 1886 and 1887. Returning east he 
prepared at Concord, Massachusetts, to enter Har- 
vard College, where he was graduated in T892 with 
the degree of Bachelor of Arts, magna cum laude, 
and elected a member of the Phi Beta Kappa So- 
ciety. In addition to the academic course at Har- 
vard he attended courses at the Harvard Law 
School, completing nearly two years of the regular 
work at that institution. After graduation he con- 
tinued his law studies with Hon. William L. Foster 
and Hon. Harry G. Sargent, of Concord, and was 
admitted to the New Hampshire bar in March. 
1893. At college, Mr. Hollis was a member of the 
Harvard Glee Club, and engaged prominently in ath- 
letics, being a member of the Track Team and of 
his class baseball nine. These athletic activities 
were continued so far as possible after leaving col- 
lege, and he has been prominently identified with 
baseball, golf and similar sports at Concord, being 
the captain of the Wonolancet Baseball Club in its 
best days. He is now president of the Beaver 
Meadow Golf Club. 

Since March, 1893, Mr. Hollis has practiced law 
in Concord, for the first six years in partnership 
with Harry G. Sargent and Edward C. Niles, and 
for the following six years in partnership with Attor- 
ney General Edwin G. Eastman, with offices in Ex- 
eter and Concord, New Hampshire. Since January 1, 
1905. he has practiced at Concord under his own 
name. Since 1805 Mr. Hollis has been trustee of 
the New Hampshire Savings Bank, and he has also 
served one term as a member of the Board of Edu- 
cation, declining to stand for re-election. He is a 
member of many clubs and societies in New Hamp- 
shire, vice-president of the Anti-Imperialist League, 
and a member of the University Club, Boston. At 
the date of this- sketch (1906) he is one of the 
counsel for the state of New Hampshire in the eel- 
ebrated Percy Summer Club case. In politics Mr. 
Hollis has been a prominent Democrat, having 
been the Democratic candidate for congress in the 
Second New Hampshire district in 1900. and the 
Democratic candidate for governor in 1902 and 
7904. At the date of this sketch he is a member 
of the Democratic congressional committee from 
New Hampshire. He has also been chairman of the 
Democratic state committee, and is now the chair- 
man of the executive committee of that body. He 
has done effective work on the stump in New 
Hampshire, and adjoining states, and on many oc- 
casions has addressed French voters in their own 
language. He was a leading spirit in the repeal of 



512 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



the old prohibitory law in New Hampshire, and has 
been an active worker for labor laws, having been 
in charge of the various labor measures pending 
in the New Hampshire legislature in 1903 and 1905. 
Largely through his efforts the present fifty-eight 
hour law for women and children was passed in 
1005. At an early age Mr. Hollis showed the high 
spirit of his race, and started out to earn money to 
prepare himself for the coming years of his life, 
in a manner and under conditions that many young 
men would have shrunk from. In the west he had 
men and natural conditions to contend with, and 
gained much experience that has since been use- 
ful to him. Later, equipped with a liberal legal 
and literary education he has successfully practiced 
his chosen profession and though still a young man 
has attained high rank as a lawyer and an honorable 
position among his fellow men. 

Mr. Hollis was married, June 14, 1S93, t0 Grace 
I'.ruerton Fisher, of Norwood, Massachusetts, second 
daughter of Edwin E. and Leonor M. (Copeland) 
Fisher, both of whom are natives of Norwood. 
Mr. and Mrs. Mollis have two children, Henry 
French. Jr., born May 26, 1894, and Anne Richard- 
son. July 12, 1896. 

(VIII) Allen, third and youngest son and fourth 
child of Aliijah and Harriette V. M. (French) Hol- 
lis, was born in Concord, December 20, 1871. He 
attended the public schools of Concord, and was 
graduated from the Concord high school in June, 
1889. In October following his graduation he be- 
came a student in the office of Chase & Streeter. 
attorneys, where he applied himself to the study 
of law for three years following. In October, 1892, 
he entered Harvard Law School, where he remained 
until June, 1893. On July 2S of the same year 
he wa^ admitted to the bar in New Hampshire, and 
shortly afterward entered the employ of Streeter, 
Walker & Chase. Subsequently Mr. Chase retired 
from the firm, and July 1, 1895, Mr. Hollis became 
a member of the firm of Streeter, Walker & Hollis, 
and since Judge Walker's appointment to the su- 
preme bench, April I. 1901, has continued the prac- 
tice of law in Concord as a member of the firm of 
Streeter & Hollis, being now associated with Frank 
, S. Streeter, Fred C. Demond and Edward K. 
Woodworth. Mr. Hollis has made rapid and grati- 
fying progress in the practice of the law, and is now 
ni ipal member of one of the leading law firms 
of the state. He has also been active in business 
enterprises in his native city. In 1894 he was made 
corporation clerk of the Page Belting Company and 
the Union Guaranty Savings Bank. He is also a 
director of the Concord Shoe Factory, In mot he 
was one of the organizers of the Concord Electric 
Company, of which he has continuously been a di- 
rector and president since March. 1904. In 1905 he 
organi er of the Union Realty Company, of 
which he has sim 1 1" 1 n a director and president, 
lie attend the South Congregational Church, and is 
amember of the men's federation of that church. In 
politics he h a Republican. He is a member of the 
New I lampshire Club, of Boston, and of various local 
clubs and associations. He married, at Dubuque, 
Iowa, November to, 1897, Amoret Nichoson, daugh- 
ter of Frederick 1 ind Mary J. (Hinds) Nich- 
oson, of Dubuque ["he} have two children: Allen, 
bom February 1, 1900, and Franklin, March 26, 1904. 



The history of the Manahan fani- 
MWAIIAN ily in New England begins with 
thi period of Scotch-Irish immi- 
gration and the events preceding the American 



Revolution. The first of the name who is known 
to have come to his country was John Manahan. a 
native of the north of Ireland and a soldier of the 
British army, who is mentioned at length below. 

(I) Michael Manahan was of Scotch-Irish stock 
born about 1720, probably in Ireland, where he lived 
and brought up his family. We know only of two 
sons: John and Adam, both of whom are mentioned 
below. 

(II) John, elder son of Michael Manahan. was 
born in England in 1744. and was educated for the 
army, which he entered in youth, and in 1765 with 
his regiment was stationed at Quebec, Canada. He 
was insulted by a superior officer and resented the 
insult by striking the offender in the face. To es- 
cape punishment he deserted, and in the month of 
December, in company with twenty-nine other de- 
serters, set out for the New England settlements. 
But the rigors of a Canadian winter caused suffer- 
ing, exhaustion and death in the little company, and 
only one-half of the men wdio composed it survived 
the ill-starred journey. Manahan engaged in various 
enterprises in New England, along the coast, for a 
time. His first home in New Hampshire was doubt- 
less in Londonderry, whence he removed to the 
vicinity of the Taggart place in Goffstown and be- 
came a trader. Upon the breaking out of the Rev- 
olution, he enlisted in the American army and par- 
ticipated in the battle of Bunker Hill, and was with 
General Benedict Arnold in his expedition through 
the wilderness to Quebec. He w-as also with General 
Stark and fought at the battle of Bennington. He 
finally made his home, about 17S0, in the town of 
Francestown, New Hampshire, on what is known as 
the Parker Bartlett place in the eastern part of that 
town. His farm was owned by his descendants un- 
til quite recently. He married twice. One wife 
was Mary (Nesmith) Manahan. of Londonderry, 
the mother of his children, who died December 21, 
181 1, aged fifty-nine years. He died May 10, 1S1S, 
aged seventy-four. Their graves may be seen in 
the Old Francestown burial ground. Children : 1. 
Elsie who married (first) John Seeton and ( sec- 
ond) John Nahor. 2. John, married. Ann Scoby. 
3. Mary, died in infancy. 4. Adam, married Mary 
Brewster and settled in Greenfield. 5. James, 
married Abigail Dodge. 6. Margaret, married Ed- 
ward Brennan. 

(II) Adam, -on of Michael Manahan. was born 
in Ireland about 1760. He came to America at the 
close of the Revolution at the request of his mother 
who was then living in Ireland, to search for his 
brother John, who had not been heard from after 
lie deserted from the British army. For a long 
lime his search was fruitless. One day he met 
Peter Woodbury, of Francestown, on Long Wharf. 
in Boston, and inquired of him. in the course of 
their conversation, if he had ever heard of his 
brother John. Doubtless the mention of Adam's 
name brought up the subject. Upon reaching home, 
Mr. Woodbury told John of the circumstance. "It 
is Adam, my brother Adam." was the response and 
soon John was on his way to Bo ton, where he found 
Adam. Adam subsequently settled on the Fuller 
place in Deering, New Hampshire He married a 
daughter of Deacon Gutterson, of Metlmen. Massa- 
chusetts. Children: John, mentioned below. Rich- 
ard, William, Joseph. Stephen. Valentine, Thompson, 
Mark, Ruth, Polly, Elvira C. married, November 
7. 1833, Solomon S. Bailey, born in Weare, Septem- 
ber 16. T803. (See Francestown history.) 

(Til) John, eldest child of Adam and Ruth (Gut- 
terson) Manahan, was born at Mcthuen, Massa- 







C O^u^e^A. hz^^sC&a^&^&u^ ^^jCh 





r^ 



&te* 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



513 



chusetts. May 1, 1792, and died in New London, 
New Hampshire. May 7, 1862. In 1S18, while liv- 
ing in Deering, New Hampshire, he married Lucin- 
tha, .laughter of Benjamin Felch of Weare. New 
Hampshire'. She was born May 17, 1800, and died 
in Hillsborough. New Hampshire, January 10, 1882, 
having survived her husband twenty years. After 
marriage John Manahan settled in the town of Sut- 
ton, New "Hampshire, and there four of his children 
were born. In the spring of 1826 he moved with 
his family to New London, New Hampshire, and 
afterward' lived in that town. He was a substantial 
farmer, a man of upright character, and was in- 
clined to be liberal in his religious views, although 
he had been brought up under the strict teachings 
of the Presbyterian Church. In politics he was a 
Whig and early joined the free soil party. John 
and Lucintha (Felch) Manahan had eight children: 
Emily Manahan. their first child, was born July 2, 
1820, and died January 14, 1904; married Deacon 
John A. V. Smith, of Manchester. New Hampshire, 
a manufacturer. Lucinda Manahan. their second 
child, was born February 25, 1822, and died in Sut- 
ton, New Hampshire. July 10, 1890. She married 
T. A. B. Young, and lived in Hillsborough, New 
Hampshire. They had two children, George and 
Walter Young, both of whom now live at Put- 
nam, Connecticut. Mary Manahan, their third 
child, was born March 4, 1824. and died August 19. 
1906, in the home where President Franklin Pierce 
was born. Mary never married. Valentine Mana- 
han, their fourth child, is mentioned at length be- 
low. Abby A. Manahan, their fifth child, was born 
April 12, 1S28, and died October 24, 1894. She mar- 
ried Benaiah Fitts, of Worcester. Massachusetts, an 
inventor and mechanic of great skill. Their children 
were Homer, Carrie, Ellen, Norman and Edson 
Fitts. Newton Manahan, their sixth child, was 
born September 19, 1830, and died May 7, 1884. He 
married, January 1, 1851, Hepsybeth A. Thompson, 
and lived in New London. New Hampshire. Fannie 
A. Manahan, their seventh child, was born January 
18, 1835, and became the wife of T. Newell Turner, 
of Worcester, Massachusetts, He died in 1898. 
Their onlv son, Wallace M. Turner, graduated from 
Harvard College, A B., 1891 ; A. M., 1896. _ Since 
graduation he has filled a pedagogical chair in Bos- 
ton. William Henry Manahan. is the subject of 
mention in this article. 

(IV) Dr. Valentine, son of John Manahan, was 
born in Sutton, N. H., November 17, 1825. He at- 
tended the district schools, the New London Acad- 
emy, and the Pembroke Academy (New Hamp- 
shire). He studied medicine with Dr. H. C. Bick- 
ford. of New London, New Hampshire, Dr. 
Chadborne and Dr. Ware, of Concord, and Dr. E. 
E. Phelps, of Windsor, Vermont, attended lec- 
tures at Dartmouth, New Hampshire, Jefferson 
Medical College, Philadelphia, where he graduated 
in 1850. He has been a practicing physician since 
1850. He was also a student at Hanover. New 
Hampshire, at Windsor, Vermont, and Concord. New 
Hampshire. He has practiced his profession in the 
towns of Springfield, Antrim and Enfield, New 
Hampshire. Dr. Manahan is a Republican in poli- 
tics. He is member of the Lodge of Free Masons, 
Enfield, New Hampshire, also St. Andrews Chapter, 
No. 1. at Lebanon, New Hampshire. He is a mem- 
ber of the New Hampshire Medical Society, also 
the American Medical Association, having been 
a member of the latter about thirty-five years. 
He is well known and valued citizen of 
ii— g 



Enfield, of high standing in the medical fra- 
ternity and a useful citizen. He married, 1S51, 
Ahbie E. Porter, of Sutton. New Hampshire, the 
daughter of Reuben Porter She died in 1856. They 
had no children. 

(IV) William Henry, youngest son and child of 
John and Lucintha (Felch) Manahan, was born at 
New London. New Hampshire, March 31, 1840, and 
for nearly forty-five years has lived in Hillsbor- 
ough, New Hampshire, where his extensive busi- 
ness operations and public service have given him a 
place among the prominent men of the state. His 
father was a man of substance for his time, and so 
far as he was able gave his sons and daughters the 
advantage of a good early education. As a boy 
William was sent to the public school of the town. 
afterward was a student at Colby Academy, and 
still later took a business course at Eaton's Com- 
mercial College at Worcester, Massachusetts. Ater 
leaving school he learned the trade of a machinist, 
but his ambition led him into the higher branches 
of mechanics and he became a practical draughts- 
man,^ followed that vocation about nine years 
and it proved a valuable preliminary experience and 
served as an excellent foundation for later opera- 
tions. In 1862 he located in Hillsborough and be- 
gan active business life in lumbering and milling, and 
nine years later (1S71) added furniture manufac- 
turing to his other enterprises. He also engaged in 
real estate operations, acting either for himself 
or other persons in an agency capacity, and on fre- 
quent occasions in later years it became a part of 
his work to make public land sales and occupy the 
auctioneer's block; and in this special capacity he 
gained a wide reputation, for his transactions took 
him into all parts of his own state and also into 
Maine. Massachusetts and at times into the south. 
Of course these operations were a source of finan- 
cial gain to him as well as to his principals, and it 
has been said that the "one reliable man to suc- 
cessfully handle a public sale of real estate" was 
W H. Manahan, of Hillsborough, New Hampshire. 

As far back as when he was a boy in school 
Mr. Manahan could "speak a piece" on exercise day 
with as good effect as most of the older pupils, and 
in later years in conducting land and timber sales 
his oratorical ability and easy command of language 
were considerable factors in the remarkable suc- 
cess which attended his efforts in that direction. 
This quality developed with years, and when he was 
sent to occupy a seat in the lower branch of the New- 
Hampshire legislature he soon came to be recog- 
nized as one of the best public speakers and debaters 
in the house, and won for him many expressions of 
admiration. On one occasion in an editorial in the 
Nashua Telegraph in summing up legislative hon- 
ors, Mr. Moore said: "For oratorical ability no 
man has won so high a reputation as W. H. Mana- 
han of Hillsborough." Mr. Manahan never was real- 
ly ambitious of high political honors, and whenever 
he did consent to stand for office it was more in 
answer to the importunities of party supporters than 
to gratify any personal desire. For twelve years he 
was town moderator of Hillsborough, and for about 
twenty years justice of the peace and quorum. In 
18S5-86 he represented his town in the state legis- 
lature, making an excellent reputation not only in 
debating public questions but as an advocate of sate, 
conservative legislative policy. It was he who in- 
troduced and championed the bill to prevent double 
taxation of mortgaged real e~tate and secured its pas- 
sage in the face of stubborn opposition. In 1889 he 



5 '4 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



served as a member of thi 1 con- 

vention. Mr. Manahan was the first Republican 
I to the legisla un dred and four- 

teen > I which it will lie seen that Hill 

■ ratic in its ma- 
v for the 
In his family life Mr. Manahan always lias I 
mionship. " Although ! 

I .ewhere. he still fin< 

p interest in his native town, with its 

notes with 

opttlarity as a summer resort." 

On March 31, 1862, he married Fannie Harriet 

I I : ■ She was 

\pril 27. I Charles C. and 

< 1 (Farnhan Walpole New Hamp- 

three chil- 
dren. 

. their eldest child, 
lin Hillsborough August 14. 1863. She 
■ the Worcester O 
husi 
a prominent place in the social life 
igh. 

han, tl 
,n in Hillsborough September 25, 1871, and is 
luate of the New Hampshire State N 
at Plymouth, and is a member 
Chapter, D A. R.. Boston. She marrie 
[900, Dr. Charles S Adai 

id has one child. France- Adams, 
h 1. 1004. 
William Henry Manahan, Jr., their third child 
born in ] tillsborough, December 
28, 1877, and i< o ' In education in the Hills- 
public and high schools and Colby 
cmy at New London. New Hampshire. While in 
tred an enviable reputation as a 
1 and debater and won the much prized Dem- 
an silver medal for proficiency in elocution. Af- 

I the Illinois College of 

d from that institution. In 

d the photographic studio formerly 

1 ay, in Hillsbon ugh, 

and si ted his attention to 

ha ci ime to be 
to artists in the state 
ellent reputation and wide 
rough- 
Hi p ial tudies in artistic pho- 
ti 1 tion, and om ol 

' if his father in platinum ha 

place in the Daguerre Mem- 
orial 1 Vim Lake. 1 ndiana. In 1904 
he wa I "t 1 if the New England 
ion. He is known too 
i"" writei on sub- 
ntiti ■ and fishing, 
in New Hampshire" was 
■ 'ream in November, 1903, 
enient S' flcomed by 

. 1 SO I 

On April 9, F902. Mr ' I Brocl 

'1 1 daughter of 
., ay. of Hillsborough. 



was very early c=- 

I had nu- 

hed repn res in 

noted s the Rev. 



John Pike, whose diary of event- has afforded very 
much of value to the historian and genealogist. 

ill John Pike, the emigrant ancestor, came 

from Landlord. England, in the ship "James," in 

the year 1(135. and probablj for a time in 

ii 1I1 led in Newbury and subse- 

Salisbury, where he died May 

[654. His will was made two days previous to 

, and was provi I ' 1 of the same 

year. No record of his wife His children 

t. Dorothy, Israel and Ann. 

1 II 1 Rob n and child .of John 

Pike, was horn about 1015. He settled with his 

lather in Salisbury; and was married there. April 3, 

and died 
Ni vember 1. r tbly a daughter of 

John Sanders, of V n Parish, in Eng- 

1 mil i'il a sister of John Sanders, of Salisbury and 
Miry. It is supposed that her mother was Alice 
a sister of John Cole, of Salisbury. Robert 
married (second), in Salisbury, October 30, 
Martha (Moyce), widow < ge G ildwyer. 
He n < I'd land in the first division of Salisbury, 
111 1640-41-42 and 1654. He was of Newbury 
from A deposition on record shows 

gland in 1650 or 51. In 1650 his 
name succeeds the ministers at the head of the list of 
commoners. lie paid the largest taxes in 1652. His 
name and that of his wife appear first on the list 
of members of the Salisbury Church, in 1687. and he 
was the most 1 citizen in that town dur- 

the last half of the seventeenth century. He 
December [2, [706, and his wife survived him 
more than -ix years, dying February 26. 1713. In 
all of the records he is styled Major Robert Pike. 
He took tin 1 , ib of freeman. May 17. 1637. was rep- 
resentative 111 164S. and for several years following; 
ant to the governor from 1682 to 1602 ; mem- 
of the council for many years down to 1696, and 
1 the peace during the greater part of his 
active life. He was liberal in thought, much in ad- 
vance of his times, and was very decided in his 
1 urally had difficulties with other 

members of the Sal burj 1 hurch because of this 
and thi- condition extended over at least a 
if a century, lie has been styled by writers 
ly Fearless 1 lero 1 f Xew England ;" 
first and S; itive of the 

Rights of Petition " and the "Power Which Squelched 
the Witchcraft Delusion." Because of his insist- 
1 petition, be wa - lim d and dis- 
franchised and many '<\ hi- called 

ni-e they 

hid petitioned for the remission of hi- tine This 

and his disfranchisement was removed in 

In the foil tie wa* again elected to 

thee- hildren were: Sarah. Mary, 

hy, Mary. Eli; I hn, Rob- 

(III) Mi ' d Vfajoi Kob- 

erl and S 11 M;n eh 15, 

105S, in Sab-burg, and resided in that town, where 

ill lived in 1714. lie tool* the o th of allegiance 

fidelity in "'77 of the signers of 

a petition in 1680. He mane Worci iter, 

20. 1071 . ,1 aid 

Susanna Worcester. She was admitted to the Salis- 

Chttrch, February 5. t6gg. Their children 

were: M...,., Elias, Mary, Sarah, Timothy, John. 

1 and Dorothy. 

1 l\ 1 I -eph Pike, fifth son and seventh child of 

Moses and Susanna (Worcester) Pike, was born 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



5i5 



i- 1, 1711,". in Salisbury, ami was baptized 
October 12, following. He died January 22, 1764, 
in Kensington, New Hampshire, where he resided 
many years. His will was dated August 17, 1763, 
and proved February 29, of the following year. He 
married Sarah Thompson, and their children were: 
Jose] h, Moses, Sarah, Susanna, Judith, Lois. Eunice. 
Hope. Keturah and Robert. Six of the seven daugh- 
ter; were unmarried at the time his will was made. 
The second one was the wife of a Mr. Fitts. 

(V) Moses Pike (2), second son of John and 
S ill (Thompson) Pike, married Naomy Harri- 
man, and settled in Plaistow, New Hampshire. Their 

[ren were: Hannah, died young; Mehitable, Su- 
sanna. Moses, John, Hannah and Sarah. 

(VI) Moses Pike (3), eldest son and fourth 

rs (2) and Naomy (Harriman) Pike, 

born February 21, 1756. in Plaistow, New 

! ipshire, and was an early settler of Bath in the 

te. Pie married Lucy Stickney, and two 

children are recorded in Bath, namely : John and 

Polly. It is probable that he removed to the ad- 

ing town of Lisbon, but the records fail to 

the birth of other children, of whom there were 

doubtless several. 

(VII) John Pike, son of Moses (3) and Lucy 
(Stickney) Pike, was born August 25, 1785, in Bath, 
New Hampshire, and reared a large family of whom 
Hial P., who was a resident of Amboy City, Illinois, 
now in 1007. at the age of eighty-one years. 

1 VIII 1 Douglas Parker Pike, son of John Pike, 
iv,i- born in Stanstead, June 15,1810, He was a mill- 
in:: n and for a number of \-ears worked in the Iron 
Foundry at Troy, Vermont. In 1842 he came to Con- 
cord, Vermont, where he was similarly employed 
for some time, and removing to Northumberland he 
resided there for ten years. From the last named 
town he went to Stark, but returned to Northum- 
berland and resided there until his death, which 
occurred in 1884. He was an upright, conscientious 
man. a useful citizen and a Universalist in his re- 
ligious belief. He married Charlotte T. Wyman, 
daughter of Henry Wyman, and had a family of 
ten children, five of whom are now living, namely : 
William W., who will be again referred to: James 
Edward, who is residing in West Bethel, Maine ; # 
Henry N., of Dummer, New Hampshire ; Charles 
E.. resident of Seattle, Wash. : and Sarah, who be- 
came the wife of Lawrence Allen, of Bethel, Maine. 
The mother of these children was accidentally 
burned to death in 1885. 

(IX) William Wallace Pike, eldest of the sur- 
viving children of Douglas P. and Charlotte T. 
(Wyman) Pike, was born in Jay. May 24, 1840. He 
acquired his education in the public schools, and at 
an early age adopted the occupation of a lumber 
surveyor and millman, becoming an expert "scaler." 
For a period of forty years he was exclusively en- 
gaged in that business, being always in demand, but 
physical disability resulting from an accident, May 
iC. 1S92, compelled him to relinquish it. He then 
opened a store in Groveton for the sale of groceries, 
confectionery, notions, etc., and is still engaged in 
trade. 

In politics Mr. Pike supports the Republican 
party, and for a number of years was collector of 
taxes. He is a member of Gorham Lodge. No. 73, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons ; North Star 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, North Star Com- 
mander}'. Knights Templar. Lancaster, and Edward 
Raymond Consistory (thirty-second degree), of 
Nashua. He also belongs to the Independent Order 



of Odd Fellows, the Improved Order of Red Men, 
the Patrons of Husbandry, and the Grand Army of 
the Republic, adjutant of the Post from its organi- 
zation, pie enlisted in Stark, New Hampshire, Sep- 
tember. 1864, in Company I, First New Hampshire 
Heavy Artillery, under Captain Charles O. Bradley, 
s detailed as orderly and served as such dur- 
ing the remainder of the war. He was honorably 
discharged June 15, 1865, at Washington. 

Mr. Pike married Mary E. Cole, daughter of 
Benjamin Cole, of Stark, and they have three chil- 
dren, only one of whom, Carl A., is now living. He 
married Ada Bishop, and has three children: Will- 
iam M., Ida May and Hial P. 



This is one of the English names 

BARTON which came to New England before 

the close of the seventeenth century, 

and has been distinguished in connection with the 

Revolution, and with various events incident to the 

progress and development of a great nation. 

(I) The first record of Samuel Barton is found 
at Salem. Massachusetts, where he was witness in 
one of the famous witchcraft trials. He was in 
Watertown, Massachusetts, in 1693, and in Fram- 
ingham in 1699, and probably earlier. In 1716 he 
bought the Elliott gristmill in Oxford, Massachu- 
setts, and was dismissed from the church in Fram- 
ingham to that of Oxford by letter dated January 
IS, 1724. He died September 12. 1732, having sur- 
vivi d by more than five years his wife Elizabeth, 
who died March 13, 1727. Their children were: 
Samuel, Mercy. Joshua, Elisha, Jedediah, Mehitable 
and Edmond. 

(II) Samuel (2), eldest child of Samuel (1) 
and Elizabeth Barton, was horn October 8, 1691, in 
Watertown, probably, and was one of the thirty set- 
tlers of Sutton, Massachusetts, where he served as 
selectman and town treasurer. He removed in 1748 
to Dudley, in the same colony, where he probably 
died. He was married May 23, 1715, to Elizabeth 
Bellows, wdio was born March 17, 1693, i n Marlboro, 
Massachusetts, a daughter of Isaac and Elizabeth 
Bellows. Their children were: Amariah (died 
young), Mary, Bezaleel, Samuel, Ebenezer, Betsey 
and Amariah. 

(III) Bezaleel. second son and third child of 
Samuel (2) and Elizabeth (Bellows) Barton, was 
born July 26. 1722, in Sutton, Massachusetts, and is 
the ancestor of the Barton families of Croydon and 
vicinity, in New Hampshire. He was a soldier of 
the Revolution in 1775. and was killed at the battle 
of Bunker Hill. He was married April 30. 1747. to 
Phoebe Carlton, and lived in Sutton. Their chil- 
dren were: Phoebe, Elizabeth, Bezaleel, Benjamin, 
Rebecca and Peter. 

(IV) Benjamin, second son and fourth child 
of Bezaleel and Phoebe (Carlton) Barton, was born 
April 21, 1758, in Sutton, and lived in Royalston, 
Massachusetts, until 1781. when he removed to 
Croydon, New Hampshire. He was a soldier of 
the Revolution, like his father. He died July 9, 

14, in Croydon. He was married December 9, 
T779, in Royalston, Massachusetts, to Mehitable 
Frye, who was born August 16, 1762, daughter of 
Deacon John and Elizabeth Frye. of Royalston. His 
eldest child was born in that town, and the others 
in Croydon, namely: Phoebe. Benjamin, John. 
Peter, Ruth Frye, Susan. Phila, Cyrus, David, 
Reuben and Alexander. Benjamin Barton's brothers, 
Peter and Bezaleel. were also settlers in Croydon. 

(V) John, second son and child of Benjamin and 



5i6 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Mehitable (Fryc) Barton, was born February 17, 
1785, in Croydon, and was a successful fanner in 
that town. He- married Ac! I of Croy- 

don, aiid their children were: Erastus, Ruby, Caleb 

L., John A., Kimball D. and Albert G. The father 
emler 4, 1855, and the mother, March 24, 
1885. The latter lived to the age of ninety-six 
years, and was still housekeeper when ninety-three 
years eld. (Mention of her son Albert and de- 
scendant forms a part of this article). 

(VI) Caleb L., second son and third child of 
John and Achsah (Lovering) Barton, was born 
January 5. 1815. in Croydon, and died September 18, 
189b'. in i fourth year. He was an agricul- 

turist throughout his life, and accounted a successful 
one. He took an intelligent interest in the welfare 
of his community, and efficiently discharged the 
duties of a number of local offices. He was a con- 
sistent and stalwart Democrat of the old school, and 
morally patterned his life on the principle of helping 
his neighbors. He was respected as one of the 
helpful citizens of his day and generation. He was 
married October 29, 1840, to Bethiah Tuck. She 
wa= born July 13, 1819, in Manchester, and died 
July 13. 1890. aged seventy-seven years. She was a 
daughter of Samuel L. Tuck, a well-known sea cap- 
tain ; she became a successful teacher. Their chil- 
dren were : Hubbard A.. Celinda and Sullivan. 
Celinda Barton was born in Croydon, New Hamp- 
shire. August 9, 1S45, was a successful teacher; 
married Eathan Smith, and resides in Newport. 
Sullivan Barton was born in Croydon, November 26, 
1853, was educated in the public schools there and 
at Kimball Union Academy. He has served as 
superintendent of the schools of his town several 
years, has held other important offices, has been a 
close student and reader and has written much for 
the local press. 

(VII) Hubbard Alonzo, eldest child of 
Caleb and Bethiah (Tuck) Barton, was born 
May 12, 1S42, in Croydon, New Hampshire, 
and received his education in the common schools 
of his native town and under the tuition of 
John Cooper, a noted instructor of that time and 
region. Very early in life he developed a strong 
taste tor journalism, and was a frequent writer for 
the press. In April, 1879, in company with W. W. 
Prescott, he purchased the Argus and Spectator, a 
Democratic newspaper, which had been established 
at Newport, New Hampshire, in 1823, by his great- 
uncle, Cyrus Barton, a journalist of high repute. 
Since the fall of 18S0 the paper has been published 
by the firm of Barton & Wheeler, under the editorial 
management of Mr. Barton. During this time the 
circulation has been widely extended, and its value 
as a medium of distributing news has been greatly 
enhanced. Aside from his labors in his own office 
Mr. Barton is the correspondent and representative 
of the .Y. Eor Sullivan county. He 
has alwn\ I to a conservative Democratic 
policy, and as a political writer has been dignified 
and influential. He has led a must busy life, and 
has had little time to devote personally to public 
affair-, though he served successfully as superin- 
tendent oi town of Croydon from 

1872 in 1 1 i! 1 a member of the Granite State 
Club. New Hampshire Suburban i K-iation, 

and is at Free Library of 

Newport. Mr. Barton has been active in fraternal 
bodii a member of Newport 1 • dge, No. 4-;, 

Knights of Pi I of Mount Vei non Lo Igi 

No. 15. Ancient Free and Accepted Ma-.nu, of 



Newport. He is also affiliated with Tabernacle 
Chapter, No. 19. Royal Arch Masons, and with Sulli- 
van Commandery, Knights Templar. For two years 
of Tabernacle Chapter. He 
was married April 27, 1882, to Ella L. Wilmarth, 
daughter of Jonathan and Eleanor (Woodworth) 
Wilmarth. I hey have one son, Henry Wilmarth 
Barton, born September 16, 1890, a student at New- 
port high school. 



This is one of the oldest New 
PICKERING England names, having come tCf 
these shores from England very 
spon after the landing of the Pilgrims. It is ancient 
in England, and numerous ccats-of-arms are on rec- 
ord belonging to persons of this name. Among the 
noted ruins in Yorkshire. England, is that of Pickerin 
Castle, which occupied a picturesque location and 
was evidently used as a place of defense in ages 
gone by. In the seventh year of the reign of Ed- 
ward VI, Gilbert and his three sons (John, James 
and Benjamin), purchased the manor of Tichmersh. 
In the thirty-third year of Queen Elizabeth, John 
Pickerin died. Gilbert Pickerin was descended from 
an ancient and respectable family in the county of 
Westmoreland. He was the second son of John 
Pickerin, of Briton., in this county, the latter being 
the second son of Sir James Pickerin, ' knight, of 
Wynunderwater. Many other Pickerins were con- 
spicuous and notable in England. There were two of 
the name John simultaneously in this country. 
While one was residing at Salem another was living 
in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, and these are prob- 
ably the only one who founded families in this 
country. 

( I 1 John Pickerin went to Portsmouth (then 
Strawberry Bank), New Hampshire, as early as 
1633. from Massachusetts, coming originally from 
England. He was one of those who in 1640 gave 
fift" acres of glebe land for the ministry, lie bad 
several grants of land from the town, besides his 
south mill privileges where he erected a mill. He 
was buried in the Point of Graves cemetery. Part 
of his estate was entailed. A portion situated on 
Great Bay in Newington, some five hundred a 
in extent, was taken by his son Thomas. In 1862 
one hundred and seventy acres of it was occupied 
by James C. Pickering, who was born thereon in 
1771. It descended in regular line to him. there 
never having been a deed of the land made since the 
original grant of it to "John Pickerin" in 1655. In 
Portsmouth John Pickerin's estate covered the 
Point of Graves cemetery and extended over the 
site of the South Church to the mill bridge, taking 
in the whole shore from the cemetery to near the 
site of the Universalist Church. 

John Pickering, of Portsmouth, appears to have 
been a man of good business ability and of high 
ding in the community, although it is evident 
that he could not write his own name. He was en- 
trusted with some of the most important business of 
the early pioneers and had full powers to decide the 
line between Portsmouth and Hampton. His loca- 
tion was on the shore north of the South Mill pond, 
and at that time was well covered with woods, which 
remained for a long time. Nearly a quarter of a 
century after bis settlement, in 1636, on this land, a 
portion of the frame of the South Church was cut 
on the spot where it was erected. The original 
Pickering house was some fifty feet further from 
>iit front of the houses on 
Mill street. His wife's name was Man. and they 




/-PHi^sM-Urv^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



51/ 



had two sons, John and Thomas, and four daugh- 
ters, Rebecca, Abigail, Mary and Sarah. The first 
.11 1040, In February, 1665, the town 
granted to him "the land between Swaden's Creek 
and Pincomb's Crock, in the Great Bay, so that it be 
no man's right of property, the said land is to ex- 
tend int. 1 the swamp and no farther." In 1660 the 
town granted fifty acres in addition in the same vi- 
cinity. In 165S the town granted the South Mill 
privilege to John Pickering on condition of his 
keeping in repair a way for foot passengers in going 
to meeting. He then built the mill. John Picker- 
ing died in 1669, and his estate was entailed, passing 
into the possession of his eldest son, John. In 
course of time there were no male descendants of 
John Pickering, and the property passed out of his 
family into the hands of John Sheafe. 

(II) Thomas, second son of John and Mary 
Pickering, inherited the farm of more than five 
hundred acres on Great Bay, then in Portsmouth, 
but now in Newington, and for more than two cen- 
turies it remained in the family. He died 1719-20. 
His will was dated August 14, 1719, and proven 
Anril 20. 1720. His wife's baptismal name was 
Mary. It is from this Thomas that all who now 
bear the name of Pickering in the vicinity of Ports- 
mouth have descended. Thomas Pickering was 
noted for great physical strength. He built his log 
hut on the bay, and while clearing the land was 
visited by a press gang from an English man-of-war 
in the harbor. There were two men in the party 
who visited the outskirts in the hope of finding men 
alone and thus being able to carry them away. They 
found Thomas Pickering on his premises, felling 
trees. After conversing with him and compliment- 
ing his fine' muscular development, they remarked 
that he was just such a man as His Majesty needed 
and commanded him to leave his work and follow 
them. Pickering declined, saying that he had a 
young family and was needed at home. Their reply 
was, "No excuse, sir, march." The spirit of Amer- 
ican liberty was already developed among the colon- 
ists in that far day, for these words could not be 
brooked by the lord of the forest, and seizing one 
of the men by the back of the neck with his left 
hand he placed his face on the ground and with the 
right raised his axe as if to chop off the fellow's 
head. His terrified companion seized his arm and 
begged for mercy. Pickering permitted them to go 
and they lost no time in getting away from the 
scene and appeared to feel that they had escaped 
from a lion's power. His brother John was also a 
man of might and one day they made a test of 
strength upon a wager. Captain John, the elder, 
piled up stacks of grain until he had ten bushels on 
his back, with which he walked up the steps into the 
mill. Thomas bore eleven and a half bushels and 
with a firm step went over the same track, thus win- 
ning the wager. One of the daughters married a 
Brackett and was the ancestress of the B racket t 
family now living in Greenland. One married a 
Seavey of Rye. another married a Wycks of Green- 
land, one a Gove and one a Chamberlain. In 1681 
Thomas Pickering was taxed four shillings and six 
pence as his part of the Province rates for Ports- 
mouth. He was one of the signers of the petition 
against Governor Cramfield. His children were : 
James. Joshua, Thomas, Mary, Sarah, Rebekah, Abi- 
gail. Bezaleel, Hannah. Elizabeth, Martha and Me- 
hitabel. (Thomas and descendants receive mention 
in this article). 

(Ill) James, the eldest son of Thomas Picker- 



ing, was born about 1680, and was the first male 
Pickering born in Newington, New Hampshire. He 
was a farmer in Newington and a lieutenant in the 
French war. From him sprang all the Pickerings 
of Newmarket (some of whom emigrated to the 
south), all those in Rochester and Barnstead, be- 
sides those remaining in Newington. His brother 
Joshua married a Smithson from Portsmouth, by 
whom he had six sons. His second brother Thomas 
married for his first wife a daughter of Colonel 
Downing, and for his second a Miss Janvrin, of 
Portsmouth. From him descended all the Picker- 
ings living in Greenland, and several families in 
Newington. One of his sons was Richard. Colonel 
Thomas, a grandson, in the last war with England 
commanded a regiment stationed on Pierce's Island. 
Lieutenant James married in 1717. The children 
were : John, YVinthrop, Anthony, Thomas and Abi- 
gail. He died in 1768. 

(IV) John, the eldest son of Lieutenant James 
Pickering, was born about 1718, and died in Newing- 
ton in 1790. He was the father of eight children, 
all born in Newington: Valentine. William, Ste- 
phen, James, John, Temperance, married a Hodg- 
don ; Sarah, married a Tasker; and Polly. 

(V) Stephen, third son and child of John 
Pickering, was born in Newington in 1739. He 
married Sarah Grow or Mehitable Grow, and settled 
in Barnstead, New Hampshire, where he died in 
1825. His will was probated July 14, 1825. Their 
children were : James. Jacob, Stephen. Daniel. An- 
drew. Polly Gilman, Abigail, Rosmon Drew, Sally 
and Lois. 

(VI) Jacob, second son and child of Stephen 
Pickering, was born about 1765, at Knight's Ferry, 
in Newington. and settled in Barnstead, where he 
was a successful farmer and passed his life. His 
wife, Betsey Jackson, was a native of Barnstead or 
Gilmanton. Their children were: Jacob, Ephraim, 
Joseph, Nathan Jackson, Smilinda, Hannah, Betsey 
Jackson and Lydia. (Mention of Betsey and de- 
scendants is a part of this article). 

(VII) Joseph, third son and child of Jacob and 
Betsey (Jackson) Pickering, as born November I, 
17S7, in Barnstead, where he resided through life 
engaged in agriculture. He was a respected citizen. 
and lived to a good age, dying November I, 1864. 
He was a member of the Congregational Church, 
and served as justice of the peace. In political 
matters he acted with the Democratic party. His 
wife, Mary Lyford, was born December 25, 1786, 
and died July 13, 1844. in her fifty-eighth year. 
Their children are noted as follows: Hazen, the 
eldest, resided many years in Concord, where he was 
a prominent man, and died at a good age. Ann 
Stevens, the second, became the wife of Joseph 
Joy and died in Durham. Betsey Jackson married 
Henry' Burleigh, resided many years in Pittsfield 
and died in Concord. Julia Ann was the wife of 
Gardner Bunker, a farmer of Barnstead, where she 
died. Jonathan Lyford filled many official stations 
and died in Concord. Mark resided in Boston and 
died there. Mary Jane is the wife of Deacon John 
Thompson, residing in Durham. Sophia Lyford was 
the wife of James R. Hill, and lived and died in 
Concord (see Hill, VII). Josephine is the wife of 
Leland A. Smith, of Concord. 

(VII) Betsey Jackson, daughter of Jacob and 
Betsey (Jackson) Pickering, became the wife of 
Silas Bunker, of Barnstead. Mr. Bunker was born 
in 1783, and was a farmer in Barnstead and Tufton- 
borough, where he died in 1870. While in Barn- 



5i8 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



stead he resided one mile north of the "Parade." 
He was the father of a son and daughter. Lewis 
and Hannah. The latter married Samuel Proctor, 
and had a daughter. Celia, who resides in Pitts- 
field. 

(VIII) Lewis Bunker, first child of Sdas and 
Betsey Jackson (Pickering) Bunker, was born Jan- 
uary.' r8l8, in Tuftonborough. New Hampshire, 
where he passed his early life. He learned the 
trade of cabinet maker, and for a couple of years 
wrought at it in Reading, Massachusetts. While 
there as a Democrat he cast his first vote for John 
Tyler, and since has never failed to vote for every 
Democratic candidate for president. After his resi- 
dence of two years in Reading he removed about 
1840 to Pittsfield, where he lived ever afterwards. 
For over forty years lie was the only undertaker in 
Pittsfield and vicinity. He was one of the best 
known men and representative citizens of the town, 
and a generous supporter of the Congregational 
Church, from whose Sunday services he was rarely 
absent. He represented the town in the legislature 
in 1862-6,;. and 1890-91. He joined the Corinthian 
Lodge of Free Masons, January 6. 1868, and at the 
time of his deatli was the oldest Free Mason in 
Pittsfield. The members of the lodge attended his 
funeral in a body, and at the grave performed their 
impressive burial service. With the exception of 
one severe illness, throughout his long life he en- 
joyed the most perfect health till his death from 
pneumonia. May 8, 1905. As a mark of respect the 
places of business in town were closed. Rev. 
George E. Lovejoy, a former pastor, assisted by Rev. 
James P. Harper, officiated at the services. He was 
buried in Floral Park cemetery. He married, July 
18. 1842, Jane S., daughter of David and Rachel 
(Cram) Osgood, and what is unusual they lived to 
celebrate the sixtieth anniversary of their marriage, 
July 18. 1902, in their pleasant home which they had 
occupied for over fifty years. On this occasion they 
received from their numerous friends beside many 
other beautiful and costly presents, sixty-seven dol- 
lars in gold. They were united in marriage by Rev. 
Enos George, for fifty-five years pastor at Barn- 
stead. His wife was born September io, 1817, and 
died in Pittsfield, May 1, 1903. She was the oldest 
member of the Congregational Church, having 
joined in 1838. Their children were:Abbie, married 
Willis Brown, of Haverhill, Massachusetts, and died 
a few years prior I" her parent-, leaving one daugh- 
nvn, now residing 111 Haverhill. 
Myra Hunker. , 

( IX ) M_\ ra " I ghtei Lewis and 

Jane S. (Osgood) Bunker, married James F. Hurst, 
and lives on the old homestead, still carrying on her 
if undertaker, employing men for 
the purpose. SIii- has one daughter, Mabel Hunker 
Hurst, v T>le to the onhr of the Daughters 

of the Revolul 

ill! I md son of Th Picl ering, 

married a Smith mi and hud six sons, lie resided 
in New ing re he had a large farm. 

(IV) J (Smith- 
son) Pickering, was horn in Newington, and was a 
hi the sta H %\ aduated 
from i I long dis- 
a practil the >iate and 
federal courts and in his late years was a judge of 
the United States di-trict court h>r Xew Hamp- 
shire in, 

Shcafe, daughter of William Sheafe, a member of 



one of the most influential families of the city of 
Portsmouth. He died April 11, 1S05, at his home 
in Portsmouth. 

(V) Jacob S., son of Hon. John and 

(Sheafe) Pickering, was born in Portsmouth, and 
died there. He was for many years the cashier of 
the Rockingham Bank, and was a respected and 
esteemed citizen of Portsmouth throughout his life. 

(VI) John J., son of Jacob S. Pickering, was 
born July 8. 1822, in Portsmouth, and resided 
through life in that city, where he died. He suc- 
ceeded his father as cashier of the Rockingham 
Bank on August 31, 1S49, and after filling that posi- 
tion more than twenty-six years was elected presi- 
dent of the bank, January 11, 1876. As a banker 
and financier he attained an honorable distinction 
which few have achieved. At the time of his death 
he was also president of the Concord & Portsmouth 
Railroad and director in the Portsmouth Atheneum, 
and until its dissolution was president of the Ports- 
mouth Aqueduct Company. He was al-o president 
of the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Ani- 
mals. He held various positions of trust and dis- 
charged their duties with ability and fidelity. He 
was the dispenser of a great many bounties in a 
quiet and unostentatious way; he made no pai 

of his charities, but there are many families who 
miss his timely benefactions. When in health he 
was one of the most constant attendants upon the 
services of the Unitarian Church, of which his uncle 
by marriage. Rev. Parker, was for many years pas- 
tor. Mr. Pickering was a graduate of Phillips- 
Exeter Academy and one of the last surviving 
pupils of the celebrated tutor, Moses Harris. Dur- 
ing his long life his personal and business records 
were without blemish. He possesses a fine literary 
taste and had a large acquaintance with the best 
authors, with a great knowledge of local histo 
He had a keen sense of humor and a very retentive 
memory, and was a most interesting and 
conversationalist. As a business man lie 
without a peer, as a citizen and friend he was widely 
and deeply appreciated, and his memory will ever be 
elu rished most lovingly by all who were privili 
to know him. 

(Till Thomas (2), third son and eh: 
Thomas (1) Pickering, was born Novembei 28, 
1703, in Newington, Xew Hampshire, and died De- 
cember '), 1786. His will was dated April 4. 17^2. 
and was proven January 17, 1787. He married 
(first). February 7, [727, Mary, daughter of Colonel 
Downing, and (second), May 18, 1743, Mary Jan- 
\ rin. mi Portsmouth, New Hamp hire The children 
by the first wife were: Nicholas, Temperance, John 
G e anil James. The children by the econd wife 
were: Elizabeth, William, Mary. Benjamin, Sarah, 
married James Joy; Richard, Mice and Pati 

A noted member of tin Picl was 

James F. Joy, born in 1810, son of Jai 
Joy. for man) years a leading member of the bar in 
1 1.' became it ilroad enter- 

prises and 'a as promim the 

Chicago, Burlington iK Quincy Railroad which was 
effected undi r that title in '-■ [n (866 hi was 
president enti al R lilt oad and held 

that position as late as 1871. The St. Mary's Falls 
canal wa constructed by a company which he 
orgai 

(IV) B 11 of Thonlas (2) and 

(Janvrin) Pickering, was born April 15. 175?. in 
Newington, N er 1, 






NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



519 



1831, aged seventy-six years. Mary Thompson, his 
widow, died October 10, 1837, and her will was 
proven December 14, 184: . She was a daughter of 
Judge Ebenezer Thompson. Among the prominent 
men of New Hampshire at the Revolutionary period 
was the Hon. Ebenezer Thompson, councillor of the 
state under the temporary constitution, and again 
under the state constitution, member of the com- 
mittee of safety, judge for many years of the court 
of common pleas, justice of the superior court of 
judicature, etc., etc. He was born March 5, 1737,. 
Old Style, at Durham, New Hampshire, and died 
August 14, 1S02. He married Mary, daughter of 
Vincent Torr, a native of Devonshire, England ; she 
was born September 1. 1740. Old Style: she married 
Ebenezer Thompson. May 22, 1758. They had five 
children: Sarah. Ann, Ebenezer. Benjamin. Mary, 
who married Richard Pickering. The father of 
Hon. Ebenezer Thompson was Robert Thompson 
who must have reached manhood, or nearly so in 
1707. He could not have been born later than 16S8 
or 1690. Strange to say. no record has been found 
of his birth, marriage or the precise time of his 
death. It is certain, however, that he was married 
as early as 1722 to Abigail, daughter of Captain 
Samuel Emerson and of Judith, his wife. 

Richard Pickering was a very exact and respect- 
able man, and was the richest one in the town. 
Even- person acquainted with him had confidence 
in him. He was upright, honest and square, a good 
citizen and whatever he said was believed. He was 
a man generally esteemed, one in early life of great 
physical power and industry. He held several offices 
and took a strong interest in affairs, and gave ad- 
vice with much ability and judgment. His wife was 
a lady possessing great beauty of person, as well as 
energy of character. He was one of the Xewington 
"Sons of Liberty" who at the pericd of the Revolu- 
tion pledged their lives and fortunes in support of 
their country, and against it- 1 p 11 sors. His chil- 
dren were : Temperance. Mary. John K.. Richard, 
Eben T., Sarah Ann and William L. 

( V I John Knight, eldest son and third child of 
Richard and Mary (Thompson) Pickering, was 
born November 9, 1702. in Xewington. and died No- 
vember 8, 1859. in Portsmouth. He married. Octo- 
ber, 1823. Lucy Maria Goddard. who was born Feb- 
ruary 1. 170;,, and died December 29, 1872, a daugh- 
ter of Hon. John Goddard. of Portsmouth, New 
hampshire. Mr. John Pickering, in an eminent de- 
gree, po- veral of prominent mental and 
physical characteristics of bis ancestors. John Pick- 
ering and his I ihn and Thomas. His resi- 
dence and pi 1 business were principally at 
Portsmouth. New Hampshire, although for a short 
period he, with his brother-in-law, Langdon God- 
dard, was engaged in mercantile pursuits in the city 
of New York. John Knight Pickering removed to 
Portsmouth from Xewington at an early age. He 
was a merchant of energy and skill, ami a highly 
re-nected gentleman. For energy of character, de- 
cision . ranee sterling integrity, and an exact 
methodical system in the transaction of business, he 
probably had no superior in the community. His 
word was indeed a bond, and from what he regarded 
right nothing could swerve him. In the victory he 
was able to make over a strength of natural temper- 
ament greater than falls to the common lot of man, 
he manifested in his social and domestic life a cor- 
responding strength of mind. His children were: 
John (died young). Annie G.. David S.. Charles G. 
and Mary Elizabeth Langdon. The last named be- 



came the wife of Captain Thomas A. Harris, of 
Portsmouth (see Harris, second family, III;. 



This family has produced several men 
NILES of mark in the United States, first among 
whom, perhaps, was the Rev. Dr. Sam- 
uel Niles, for more than two score years pastor of 
the Congregational Church at Braintree, Massachu- 
setts (now Quincy). He it w'as of whom Charles 
Francis Adams said: "So long as Dr. Niles lived 
my father always went to him as to questions of 
conscience and duty, because, as my father used to 
say, 'Dr. Sam Niles is beyond all question the great 
gun of the gospel' " Another eminent man of this 
race was Hon. Nathaniel Niles, of Fairlee, Vermont, 
judge of the supreme court of that state and, 
earlier, judge of the supreme court of Massachu- 
setts. He was a man of very pronounced character 
and ways. Of him the late brilliant Dr. Benjamin 
Crosby said: "If any youth in this day within 
fifty miles of Burlington, Vermont, had suddenly 
been asked, 'Who made the world?' he would have 
said, 'Judge Niles.' " He had an amusing and edi- 
fying habit of preaching, when be had leisure for 
it, during the terms of the supreme court. His 
famous sermon at the burial of Mrs. Ann Xiles 
was bought for the British Museum, where one of 
the Niles family later found it. The late William 
Watson Xiles. judge of the supreme court of Xew 
York, and William Niles, who has a very celebrated 
fancy farm near Los Angeles, California, are noted 
members of the family. Another Xiles. a gradu- 
ate of Dartmouth College, owned the site of the 
city of Xiles. Michigan, where he settled in the 
early days of Michigan statehood. Judge Jason 
Xiles, of Mississippi, an older brother of Bishop 
Niles, of Xew Hampshire, was greatly distinguished 
for his learning and his eccentricity. Though a 
hard-worked lawyer, having a small income and a 
large family, he managed to add several languages 
and branches of learning and science to his univer- 
sity education. He and his wife were the only 
teachers his children ever had. He was a man of 
most astonishingly tenacious memory. The late 
Bishop Bissell, of Vermont, once told Bishop Niles 
that he had seen Judge Niles read carefully three 
times over an entire act from a play in Greek and 
then heard him repeat it verbatim. The late Hon. 
L. Q. C. Lamar said of Judge Xiles : "I have no 
doubt he is the most learned man. and ha? the most 
varied, most interesting and best read private li- 
brary south of Washington, in the United States.'' 
On one occasion Bishop Xiles was on the streets 
of Kosciusko, Mississippi, witu the speaker of the 
house of representatives of that state, an uncompro- 
mising Democrat, when the latter, pointing across 
the street toward Judge Xiles. said : "There goes 
the best loved man wdio ever walked the soil of 
Mississippi." The distinguished ability and great 
service of Bishop Xiles, of Xew Hampshire, re- 
quire no comment among the people of the state 
where he has spent so many years of bis useful 
and exceedingly busy life. In many families of this 
lineage, law, medicine and divinity, in the order 
given, were the chosen profi icceeding 

generation-;. A writer is quoted as saying of the 
Nileses, that they were endowed with a keen sense 
of humor, were good neighbors, mud for "toeing 
out," having broad shoulders, high backs, short 
. and possessing a great fondness for getting 
into cold water. The name was once spelled 
"Xials and Nialls," and some of the ancestors of 



520 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



the present stock who bore it were taken from Ire- 
land, the original home of the family, b 

(I) From that country John Niles, the earliest 
ancestor of whom we have definite record in this 
country, came in the ship "Speedwell" in 1635, and 
settled in Braintre'e, Massachusetts. 

(II) Increase, Eon of John Niles, born in 1646, 
died in 1693. He married Mary Purchase. 

(III) John, son of Increase and Mary (Pur- 
chase) Xiles, was born in 167S and died in 1752. 
His children were: Increase, born 1703; Hannah, 

in, 1708; Matthew, 1710 ( ?) ; Daniel, 1712; 
Bethiah, 1713; Sarah, 1715; Lydia, 1719; Peter, 
1722. 1752 was a fatal year in the Niles family. 
In May of that year six of its members died. John, 
the father; his brother Ezenezer; his sister Mary; 
John's wife, Mary; Peter, his son; and 'Nathan, his 
son. 

Nathan, son of John Niles, born in Bridg- 
water, Massachusetts, in 1757, died in 1S10 at Au- 
burn, Maine. He married Freelove , and 

had four children: Ephraim, Silas. Deborah and 
Nathan. They all died in Minot, Maine, in 1836. 

(V) Nathan (2), son of Nathan (1) and Free- 
love Niles, died in 1836. He married Rebecca 

, and had children : James ; Nathan, 

killed when young; Daniel Swit, Samuel; Ruth. 
who married David Monroe; Charlotte Polly, mar- 
ried Asael Kingsley ; Nathan (2), born 1783, died 
in 1851, weighing four hundred and thirty-six 
pounds; Sally M. ; Samuel Burke, died at Yarmouth, 
Maine. November, 1879. 

(VI) Daniel Swit, son of Nathan and Rebecca 
Niles, was born in Bridgewater, Massachusetts, 
November 6, 1775, and died December 12, 1800. 
in Hatley, Province of Quebec. While very young 
he accompanied his father's family to Minot, Maine, 
where they settled. Between the years 1800 and 
1805 Daniel S. Niles removed to Hatley, Province 
of Quebec, where he was an early settler of that 
then wilderness country. He married (first) Re- 
becca Bryant, by whom he had five children : El- 
vira, Daniel, Salmon, Lvdia and Winslow Bryant. 
He married (second) Alice Reed, a kinswoman of 
the late Hon. Thomas E. Reed, and thev were the 
parents of five children: Sophia and Sally, died 
in childhood; Jason, a member of the forty-third 
congress from Mississippi, and judge of the state 
court, and whose son Henry now till- the position 
of United States district judge for Mississippi by 
appointment of President Harrison; Cyrus, who 
died in the Province of Quebec; and Jane, wife of 
George Barnard, of Sherbrooke, Province of Quebec. 

( third) Delia Woodruff, daughter of 
Will id Ruth (Porter) Woodruff, of Farming- 

ton, Connecticut, by whom he had children: Mariette 
Julia, and William Woodruff Niles. The first is the 
wife of David G. Perkins of Vale Perkins, Quebec. 

(VII) William Woodruff, son of Daniel Suit 

and Delia (W lruff) Niles, was born in Hatley, 

Province of Quebec, May 24, [832. His education 
began early in the public schools, after which he 
attended the local academy, afterward Derby 
Academy, and Trinity College, Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, from which he was graduated in 1857. He be- 

teaching at the a 1 enteen years and 

taught six terms before entering college. After 
graduation he was one year tutor in Trinity Col- 

and subsequent!} taughl two years in the 1 lart 

ford high scl I. and then enten d Bcrklej Divii 

schoi I, fn 'in win. h In tool hi degi 1 e w ith the 
class of 1861. lie was ordained deacon the 



year at Middletown by Bishop William-, of Con- 
necticut, and priest in June, 1862, at Wiscassett, 
ine, by George Burgess, the great first bishop of 

Maim. His first parish was that of Wiscassett, 
Maine, where he remained from 1861 to 1864. 
From 1864 to 1870 he was Professor of Latin in 
Trinity College, Hartford, and during the last three 
years of that time was also rector of St. John's 
Church at Warehouse Point, Connecticut. In these 
years he was a very busy man. developing ability 
and power very rapidly and fast rising in the esteem 
and confidence of the leaders of the church. Septem- 
ber 21, 1870, he was consecrated bishop of New 
Hampshire, at Concord. From then until now he has 
filled that place and discharged the duties incident 
to it with much credit to himself and the entire 
satisfaction of the many interests that he has had 
to direct. The diocese over which he was ap- 
pointed contained at the time he took charge of 
it seventeen church buildings in use, either conse- 
crated or nearly ready for consecration. Under 
the stimulus of his guidance it has now forty-three 
churches. 

Bishop Niles is president of the corporation of 
St. Paul's School, of St. Mary's School for girls 
at Concord, and of Holderness School for boys at 
Plymouth, New Hampshire, and these educational 
institutions are showing by their successful work 
what an advantage it is to have at their head not 
only a man of ability, but also a practical educator. 
At the time of the establishment of the Churchman 
in Hartford, he was appointed joint editor. Since 
then his ripe scholarship, practical ability and good 
judgment have been further recognized and required 
by his appointment by the general convention as 
a member of the commission to revise the book 
of common prayer and later as one of the com- 
mission to revise the marginal readings of the 
English Bible, in both of which cases his services 
were very efficient. In secular affairs the bishop 
has long been recognized as an able man and for 
several years has served as vice-president of the 
New Hampshire forestry commission, through the 
influence of which much is being" done to check the 
destruction of the forest area of the state in locali- 
ties where both natural beauty and public utility 
demand it. 

Bishop Niles married, June 5, 1862, Bertha Olm- 
sted, of Hartford, Connecticut, daughter of John 
and Mary Ann ( Bull) Olmsted, born in Hartford, 
September 16, 1833, a descendant of James Olm- 
sted, one of the original grantees of Hartford. Their 
children are: John Olmsted, born March 24. 1S63, 
died May 3, 1873; Edward Cullen, mentioned be- 
low; Mary, September 12, 1S67, at home with 
parents : William Porter, November 29, i860, now 
rector of the Church of the Good Shepherd (Episco- 
pal). Nashua; Daniel Swit. April 30, 1872. died 
August, 1873; Bertha, April 29, 1874. teacher of 
art and modern languages in St. Mary's School, 
Concord, New Hampshire. 

(VIII) Edward Cullen, son of Bishop William 
Woodruff and Bertha (Olmsted) Niles, was horn 
in Hartford. Connecticut. March 28, 1865. His early 
education was acquired in the public and private 
schools of Concord. In 1883 he graduated from 
St. Paul's School, Concord, and in 1887 took the 
degree of B. A. cum honore on graduation from 
Trinity College, Hartford. He subsequently at- 
tended Harvard Law School, from which he gradu- 
1 .1 with the degree of LL. B. in 1892, and was 
admitted to the New- Hampshire bar the same year. 




RIGHT REV. W. W. NILES, 

BISHOP OF NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



521 



He opened an office in Berlin, New Hampshire, 
and practiced successfully in that part of the state 
until 1806, when he removed to Concord, where 
he now resides, in the enjoyment of a good and 
constantly growing law practice, as a member of 
firm of Sargent, Kemick & X 

His political faith is Republican, and lie has 
filled different offices at the instance of his party. 
He has served as a member of the common council 
oi 1 oncord, and as member of the board of alder- 
men, 1900 to 1904. He was a member of the New 
Hampshire constitutional convention of 1903. In 
church matters he is very active, and is deputy in 
the Diocesan Convention of the Episcopal Church, 
and in 1904 was delegate from the New Hampshire 
Diocese to the General Convention of the Protestant 
Episcopal Church. He is a member of Eureka 
Lodge, No. 70, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Concord, New Hampshire. He is also a member 
of the Passaconoway and the Wonolancet clubs. 

He married, July 12, 1893, Ethel Abbe, of New- 
port News, Virginia, daughter of James E. and 
Octa Terry Abbe, born April 17, 1869. They have 
one child, Edward Abbe, born May 31, 1894. 



The earliest members of this ancient 
CHEEVER and honorable name in Massachu- 
setts were engaged in occupations of 
the greatest importance to their fellow citizens. 
They left a tine record which many of their de- 
scendants have striven to follow. 

(I) Ezekiel Cheever, the famous master of the 
m Latin School, was born in London, England, 

January 25. 1614, and came to America and settled 
in Boston, in 1037. He removed probably the next 
year to New Haven and afterward to Ipswich, then 
to Charlestown, and finally, in 1671, to Boston, where 
he died August 21, 1708, aged ninety-four. He is 
buried in the old Cranery burying ground at Boston, 
about midway between the Franklin monument and 
the Park Street entrance. Here a new stone was 
erected over his grave with appropriate ceremonies 
in 1904. It bears the inscription of birth and death, 
ami also that he was for seventy years a teacher, 
thirty-eight years of which time he was headmaster 
of the Boston Latin School. He married (first) 

Mary , who died in New Haven, January 

20. 1(140. He married (second), November 18, 1652, 
Ellen Lathrop. sister of Captain Thomas Lathrop, of 
Beverley. She died in Boston, September 10, 1706. 
The children by the first wife were: Samuel, Mary, 
Ezekiel (died young), Elizabeth, Sarah and Han- 
nah. By the second wife he had : Abigail, Ezekiel, 
Nathaniel. Thomas. William, and Susannah, twelve 
in all. (Ezekiel and descendants receive mention in 
tin- article). 

(II) Rev. Thomas, third son and child of Eze- 
kiel .Mid Ellen (Lathrop* Cheever, was born in 
Ipswich, Massachusetts, August 23. 1658. He grad- 
uated from Harvard College in 1677, was admitted a 
member of the First Church, Boston, July, 1680, and 
tool the oath of freeman October 13, 1680. He be- 
gan to preach at Maiden "14 day of February 1679." 
and was ordained there July 27. 1681. as colleague 
of tlie Rev. Michael Wigglesworth. He was charged 
with what they denominated in those days "scan- 
dalous immoralities." that is, writing and circulating 
some opinions of his which did not suit the govern- 
ment. For this he was tried by the council. April 7, 
1686. The result was that the council which ad- 
journed to meet in Boston, where meetings were 
held May 20 and 27, and June 10, 1686, advised the 



church to grant him a "loving dismission." He 
soon afterward removed to Rumney Marola, then a 
part of Boston, where he taught school "four dayes 
in a weeke weekly for ye space of one year." and 
wa paid "out of the Town Treasury after the Rate 
of Twenty rounds £ common for his service." On 
the formation of the church in Rumney Marsh, Oc- 

r 10. 1715. he was ordained as its first minister. 
He was much respected at home, and his records 
bear complete testimony of the regard which was 
felt for him by the neighboring churches. In con- 
sequence of his age and infirmities, it was de- 
termined that the 7th of October, 1747. should be 

rved as a day of fasting and prayer for the pur- 
pose oi imploring the direction of Almighty God in 
the choice of a minister as a colleague with the Rev. 
Mr. Cheever. It does not appear that he preached 
after this time: and died in November, 1749, re- 
taining the unabating affection of those to whom he 
had dispensed the word and ordinances of the gos- 
pel. He married (first) Sarah, daughter of James 
Bill, Sr., of Pullen Point. She died January 30, 
1705. He married (second), in Boston, July 30, 
1707. Elizabeth Warren. She died May 10. 1727, 
aged sixty-four. He married (third) (published 
August 31. 1727), Abigail Jarvis, who survived him, 
and died in Boston. June 20, 1753, aged eighty-four. 
His children, all by his first wife, were: Thomas, 
Sarah, Joshua, Abigail, Ezekiel and Nathan. 

1 III) Thomas (2). gentleman, eldest son of 
Rev. Thomas and Sarah (Bill) Cheever, gentleman, 
was of Rumney Marsh as late as 1702, and in that 
year moved to Lynn. He is styled in earlier deeds 
ci irdwainer, yeoman and tanner. With Ebenezer 
Merriam he built, in 1723, the first mill on Saugus 
river, at Boston street crossing. He was an enter- 
prising man, and the church, town, and county rec- 
ords give ample evidence of his ceaseless activity. 
He took the foremost part in the formation of the 
church in the third parish of Lynn, of which his son 
Edward was the first minister. He was one of the 
directors of the Manufactory Company in 1740. He 
died in Lynn. November 8, 1753. Lie married 
(first), in Boston. February 11, 1701, Mary Bord- 
man. daughter of William Bordman. Married (sec- 
ond), in Lynn, August 6, 1712, Mary Baker, who 
died in Lynn. May ro, 1753. Married (third), Octo- 
licr 19. 1753. Mary Emerson, who survived him. 
The children he had by his first wife, all born in 
Lynn, were: Mary, Thomas, William and Abner. 
His children by his second wife, all born in Lynn, 
were: Ezekiel, Joshua, Edward, Abijah, John, Mary, 
Sarah. Abner and Elizabeth, thirteen in all. 

(IV) William (1), third child and second son 
of Thomas (2) and Mary (Bordman) Cheever, was 
born in Lynn. May 2r, 1708. He is mentioned as 
gentleman. His will is dated May 13. 174S. and was 
probated September 19, 1748. He married (pub- 
lished in Lynn, January 28, 1728), Sarah Wait. 
Their children were : William, Ezekiel, Sarah and 
Mary. 

(V) William (2), second child of William (1) 
and Sarah (Wait) Cheeve, was born in Lynn, De- 
cember 22, 1728. He was a cordwainer. He mar- 
ried, in Lynn, June 21, 1750, Mehitabel Newhall. A 
William Cheever. probably this William, married, in 
Lynn. January 10, 1763, the widow Anna Eaton. 
His children were : Lois, William, Israel and Sarah. 

(VI) William (3). son of William (2) and 
Mehitabel (Newhall) Cheever, was born in Lynn, 
May 17, 1753. He removed, in 179S, to Hardwick, 
Vermont, where the remainder of his life was spent. 



522 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



He built a log house twenty-four feet square, with 
a great stone fireplace in the center, with a hollow 
log for a chimney. In this house his family of eleven 
persons lived; and for six months at one time he 
also sheltered under the same roof the family of 
Thomas Fuller, which also consisted of eleven 
persi 

(VII) Nathaniel, son of William (3) and 
Mehitabe! (Newhall) Cheever, was bom in East 
Hardwick, Vermont. He was a farmer, and his 
entire life was spent in Hardwick. Nine children 

born of this union: I. Josiah. 2. Nathan. 
3. Moses. 4. William. 5. Amos. 6. Nathaniel. 
7. Samuel G. 8. Eunice. 9. Emily. 

(VIII) Samuel G., youngest son and seventh 
of Nathaniel Cheever, was born in East Hard- 
wick. Vermont, September 3, 1S17. He was edu- 
cated in the common schools, and followed agricul- 
tural pursuits until ill health made necessary a 
change, when he engaged in merchandising and 
huckstering, which he kept up until 1872. He died 
in 1887, After 1858 he lived in Nashua, New Hamp- 
shire. He married Sophia Buck Dow. who was 
born in Vermont, April, 1819, and died in Nashua. 
She was the daughter of Hazen Dow, and was re- 
lated to Jonathan Edwards. The four children of 
this marriage were: William H., Eunice R., Nathaniel 
F. and Hattie A. 

(IX) Major William Henry, second son and 
child of Samuel G. and Sophia Buck (Dow) 

r, was born in East Hardwick, Vermont, 
August 27, 1845, and was educated in the country 
schools of his native town until he was thirteen 
years old, when he attended his lather's family on 
their removal to Nashua. New Hampshire. On en- 
tering the schools of Nashua he was able to take 
his place in the fourth grade, and within one year, 
id was his progress, he finished the primary 
and grammar grade studies. He then entered the 
high school, where he remained until he was ob- 
ecame a wage earner in a bobbin shop, 
where he received for his services twenty-five cents 
a day. Subsequently he was in the employ of var- 
ious merchai ashua, and in 1871 he became a 
travel nj in for the Textile Company of Bos- 
ton. Massachusetts. He continued with that firm 
until 1881, and then accepted the position of special 
entative of the Mutual Life Insurance Com- 
pany of New York for the state of New Hampshire. 
This position he has since filled, and is known as 
one of the most energetic and successful men in his 
line of business in the state. In politics he is a 
he is not a politician. In 1877 he 
in Company F, Second Regi- 
ment ire National Guard, known as 
the City Gi hua, then considered the 
its kind in the United States. 
He ork of the company, was a 
good soldier, and popular with officers and men. and 
■ 1 to corporal, sergeant, first 
lieutenant, and in 1880 became ; or with 
H organized the first and 
e, which has proved a 
very 

> a man in tality, 

youthful in nd manner, and has a fine 

record as a man and citizen. A patent lately issued 

■ tension car steps gives promise of 

being a signal su d placi I les 1 1. 

in the list of i public safety and 

irt. He is ond of tl i his fellow 



men, and belongs to numerous social organizations. 
He is a member of the Veteran Association, and 
was one of the charter members of the Guards' 
Club, but is not now ( 1907) a member, and for forty 
years has been an Odd Fellow, in Pennichuck Lodge. 
No. 44. He is a member of Ancient York Lodge, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. Xo. 89, and 
Meridian Sun Royal Arch Chapter, No. 9. Hemar- 
ried, in Nashua, October 20, 1870, Adine Ormsby 
Hale, who was born in Nashua, December 8, 1840, 
daughter of John and Emeline (Greene) Hale, of 
X'ashua. They have three children: Fred Bell, 
Annie Hale, and William Whittle. 

(VII) Simeon, son of William (3) Cheever, 
was born in Hardwick, and was there engaged in 
farming and resided there many years, later he re- 
moved td Walden, and died there at the age of 
eighty-four years. He was the father of Alonzo, 
Ozias, Simeon, Melissa. 

(VIII) Ozias, son of Simeon Cheever, was born 
in Walden. Vermont, 1825, and died in the same 
town m 1883. He was a farmer and cabinet maker. 
He removed, in 1859. to Kansas, wdiere he w r as en- 
gaged in farming and carpentry until 1862, when he 
returned to Walden and remained there until his 
death. He married, in Walden, Isabella Scott, who 
was born in Craftsbury, and died in Barre, Vermont, 
daughter of Royal Scott, of Craftsbury, Vermont. 
They were the parents of nine children, of whom 
four are now living: Esther and Davenport, in 
Walden ; Edward H. in Barre, Vermont ; and Ozias 
in Montpelier, Vermont. 

(IX) Lewis A., eldest living son of Ozias and 
Isabella (Scott) Cheever, was born in Walden. Ver- 
mont, July 1, 1802, and educated in the common 
schools of that town. At the age of twenty years 
he began to work at the carpenter's trade and con- 
tinued in that employment in Barre, Vermont, for 
fifteen years. In 1899 he entered the employ of the 

ropolitan Life Insurance Company as a solicitor 
at Barre and Montpelier. Vermont. In the same 
year he was appointed assistant manager in Burling- 
ton, and in May following became superintendent of 
the Manchester and New Hampshire district, which 
position he has since held, at present employing 
thirty men. He is an attendant at the Episcopal 
Church, and a member of Granite Lodge. No. 35, 
Ancient Free and Accepted M >ns, of Barre, Ver- 
mont. He married, 1887. at Barre, Harriet E. Clark, 
who was born in Georgeville, province of Quebec, 
daughter of Edward Clark. They have two daugh- 
ters : Fli m nee E. and Beatrici 

(II) Ezekiel (2), eighth child of Ezekiel (1) 

was burn Inly" 1. 11,55. He was one of the 
signers of the pctiiim! oi the Salem ["roop for com- 
missioned officers in 1078, He took the oath of 
fidelitj tin' same year, and the oath of freeman May 
11, 1681. lb' was one of the original members of 
the church at Salem Village, "at the first Embody- 
ing, on ye [9, Novi 1689," and was soon subjected 
in its discipline. "Sab. 30 March 1690 Brother 
i Ihei ' ivl for a 'horse up 

his wives approaching travell or six weeks 

Putnams horse out 
of bis stable ! e or asking of it, was 

called forth to iction to the 1 iff nded 

Church, as al the last Sabbath he \n:i- called for 

purpose, but then he failed in givin 
faction, by reason of his somewh 1 ig in the 

latter part of hi 1 on, which in the former he 

had mo but this d 

Church n Eyed by 




^z^^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



523 



their holding up of their hands. And upon the 
whole a word of caution by the Pastor was dropt 
up the offendour in particular, & upon all in 
generall." 

At the hearing which took place before the 
magistrates, March I, 1692. in Salem Village, in the 
cases of Sarah Good, Sarah Osburne, and Tituba, 
the Indian woman, the first persons charged with 
the crime of witchcraft, he was deputed to take 
down in writing the examination of those unfor- 
tunate persons. This was the opening scene in the 
terrible tragedy of the Salem Witchcraft. At the 
trial of Martha Corey he made the following de- 
position, March 19, 1692: "Mr. Ezikiel Cheevers 
affirmed to ye jury of inquest: that he saw Martha 
wife to Giles Cory examined before ye magistrates at 
which time he observed that ye sd Cory sometimes 
did bite her lip ; and when she bit her lip Mercy 
Lewis and Eliza//; Hubbard and others of ye afflicted 
persons were bitten also when s'd Cory pinched her 
fingers together : then Mercy lewise Elizabeth Hub- 
bard and others were pinched ; and according to ye 
motions of s'd Martha Coryesbody ; so was ye 
articled persons afflicted; this he affirmed to be true 
according to ye best of his observation Mr Edward 
Putnam affirmed ye same to ye jury of inquest that 
Mr. Cheevers doth Mr. Thomas Putnam affirmed ye 
same: all upon oaths all of them." 

He owned lands in Dracut, and was one of the 
Committee of the Proprietors to lay out undivided 
lands there. His name appears on the rate list of 
Salem Village as late as 1731. His will, dated No- 
vember 18, 1724, was probated December 30, 1731. 
He married, in Salem, June 17, 1680, Abigail Lip- 
pingwill. . Their children were : Abigail, Ezekiel 
(died young), Thomas, Ezikiel (died young), Sam- 
uel, Ebenezer, Nathaniel, Ezekiel, Benjamin, and 
perhaps others. 

(III) Peter, probably a son of Ezekiel (2) and 
Abigail (Lippingwill) Cheever, was born in Salem, 
Massachusetts, September 6, 1703. He married 
(first) Lydia Haley, of Salem, by whom he had 
Peter, Daniel, and Samuel: (second), Lydia Elkins, 
of Salem, by whom he had Hannah, Margaret, Ben- 
jamin, Nathaniel. Lydia, and Henry. 

(IV) Benjamin (1), third child and eldest son 
of Peter and Lydia (Elkins) Cheever, was born in 
Salem, January 28, 1744. and died January 8, 1832, 
aged eighty-eight. He married (first) Ruth Os- 
good, May 23, 1772. and (second), April 22, 1784, 
Mary Card, widow of John Card. The children by 
the first wife were: Ruth and Benjamin; by the 
second wife: Mary. Priscilla. Sarah, and Eliza. 

(V) Benjamin (2), second child and only son 
of Benjamin (1) and Ruth (Osgood) Cheever. was 
born January 28, 1775. He married Anna Collins, 
and had children: Ruth, Benjamin (died young), 
John. Benjamin, Anna, and Charles W. 

(VI) Benjamin (3), fourth child and third son 
of Benjamin (2) and Anna (Collins) Cheever, was 
born March g, 1804, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. 
He acquired his education in the common schools, 
and in early youth was apprenticed to Thomas 

merchant, with whom he remained till Mr. 
Moses' death, and succeeded him in business. He 
soon removed from the old stand on Congress 
street to Market street, where he was in business 
over fifty years. In the great fire of 1844 his store 
was burned, but immediately rebuilt with brick. He 
retired from business in 1867. and from that time 
until his death in 1894 he dealt heavily in real es- 
tate. He erected the first buildings in the Creek 



district, upon which a large part of Portsmouth has 
since been built. He put this property on the mar- 
ket, and it is probable that with possibly one or two 
exceptions his name appears more times on the 
deed records of Rockingham county than that of 
any other man of his time. He was the promoter 
of Harmony Grove Cemetery, and Sagamore Ceme- 
tery, and for years was their superintendent, and 
took pride in keeping them up. For many years he 
was a director of the Howard Benevolent Society. 
He was an honorary member of the Associated 
Mechanics and Manufacturers of New Hampshire, 
and of the Mechanics' Fire Society. In early man- 
hood he became interested in Free Masonry, and 
with the late John Christi. Esq., became a member 
of Pythogoras Lodge, and continued that relation 
until the lodge was merged in St. John's Lodge. He 
was never an active member after that time. He 
belonged to no other secret fraternal orders, although 
he recognized and freely admitted their usefulness 
to human society. In politics he was a Whig, and 
filled various local offices, being overseer of the 
poor a number of years, representative to the gen- 
eral court, and at the time of the incorporation of 
the city of Portsmouth, chairman of the board of 
selectmen. He was an early supporter of William 
Lloyd Garrison in his crusade for the abolition of 
slavery, and was one of those who by their opp 
tion to the search for fugitive slaves and resistance 
to United States Marshals caused the enactment of 
the fugitive slave law, which finally resulted in the 
Civil war and the emancipation of the slaves in the 
L T nited States. During the years that immediately 
preceded the great rebellion he was the local man- 
ager of the celebrated underground railri 
means of which slaves were conveyed to C 
and many of them received food and shelter in his 
hospitable home. In this humane enterprise he was 
the associate of Garrison. Phillips. Parker, Lucy 
Stone, Abby Kellogg, and all that small bul resolute 
band which fought, now openly and now secretly, 
but ever zealously for human rights, and many a 
time were they guests in Mr. Cheever's old colonial 
home. With him in Portsmouth were associated 
James Nowel, Joseph Knowlton, Bracken Hut 'bins, 
and Fred W. Rogers, they being the five original 
abolitionists of Portsmouth. When the Republican 
party was formed Mr. Cheever joined it, at 
continued a firm adherent to its principles. He 
ence owned the old Temple, and for many 
managed a course of lyceum lectures therein for the 
Mechanics' Association. He was a member of the 
South Pari-h Unitarian Church, and for a long time 
one of its wardens. He married. September to, 1825, 
in Portsmouth. Mary Tarlton Holbrook, who was 
born in Xew Castle. Xew Hampshire, Ni vember jj, 
1800, daughter of Miriam and Benjamin Holbrook, 
of Newcastle. She died February 21, 1880. The 
children of this marriage were: William, John H., 
Joseph. Charlotte, and Eliza. John Howard mar- 
ried Caroline Patten and had a son Benjamin, who 
is now a prominent physician in Portsmouth : also 
a daughter Mary, now the wife of James Kingman, 
of Middletown, Connecticut. Joseph is the subject 
next section Charlotte married Dr. William 
DeLaney. of Halifax, Nova Scotia, since dec 
and has a daughter. Josephine, and son, Harry C. 
Eliza Cheever resides in the old homestead. 

(VII) Joseph, third son and child of Benjamin 
(3) and Mary (Holbrook) Cheever. was born in 
Port -mouth, and educated in the public schools. He 
succeeded his father in business, accepted as a part- 



, ; -l 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ner Ji i Brown they 

carried on wars. Mr. 

and entered 
vice, in which lie has now been 
employed thirty yeajs. He is one of the trustees of 
Murphy estate, and his residence, a part 
of thi is what was the Stoodley Tavern, 

which Paul Join-, and many other ancient worthies 
ized in the latter part of the eighteenth cen- 
tury. I a thirty-second degree Mason, 
d, at Portsmouth, Ella J. Murphy, who 
orn m Portsmouth, daughter of Thomas and 
: i luck) Mi-: died in iooi, leaving 

•. s I'r Jo er, of Leominster, Massa- 

ts, and Rev. Ralph r, pastor of the 

Universalis Church at Woodstock, Vermont. 



The name McClary occupies a very 
LARY conspicuous place in the history of 

the town of Epsom. The early 
bearers of this patronymic were of that Scotch- 
Irish .-lock which did so much to make New Hamp- 
shire distinguished in the Revolutionary struggle, 
and has furnished so many men of renown in both 
the civil and military annals of the state. Of all 
the worthy men produced by the town of Epsom 
in a century and a half who have held prominent 
positions of trust and honor in the state and nation, 
none stand out in so bold relief or are more worthy 
of rememberance than the McClarys. For nearly 
one hundred years the men of this family were the 
leading citizens in all the civil, political and military 
affairs of their town, and for eighty-three successive 
years from 1739 some members of this family were 
placed in offices of trust and power by their towns- 
men. 

(.1) Andrew McClary, a man of family in Ire 
land, found the wrongs and oppressions of that 
unfortunate island more than he could longer en- 
dure, and in 1733 with his wife and children, he 
emigrated to Londonderry, New Hampshire, where 
he lived until 1738, and then removed to Epsom, 
where he soon afterward died. He and his wife 
were possessed of the highest elements of character, 
but opportunity for displaying them never came to 
the parents as it did to their children. The town 
records show that Andrew McClary held town office 
in 1739. His children were: Andrew, John, Mar- 
garet, Jane and Ann. (John receives extended 
mention in this article.) 

(II) Major Andrew McClary, eldest child of 
Andrew McClary, came to America, probably when 
about sixteen years of age, and had had some op- 
portunities for obtaining an education before leaving 
Ireland, which he had improved. He built a one- 
■ frame house on the road between Epsom 
Village and Pleasant Pond, at a place since known 
as Lawrence's "Musterfield ;" this was one of the 
ted places in that region, and was 
the resort of the settlers, proprietors, and scout-. 
who had occasion to trail in that direction. Town 
meetings and many other meetings of general inter- 
est were held there. He was always a popular man 
and in time became wealthy, owning all the land 
on the north side of the road to Deerfield line. 
His education and natural ability qualified him for 
public office, and he was made town clerk, and the 
records he left evidence his thorough knowledge of 
business and a beaut} of penmanship seldom found 
at the present day. He was thoroughly in sympathy 
with all the interests of the people, and was the 
leader in that region in all military affairs. In 



1755 he led a company of soldiers to search for 
the Indians who massacred a part and captured 
the remainder of the McCall family of Salisbury. 
At another time he obtained a small company to 
aid in doing garrison duty at Epsom while Indians 
lurked about. When the news of the battle of 
Lexington reached the Suncook Valley the patriots 
flew to arms and at Nottingham Square, where they 
assembled, made Captain McClary commander of 
the company of eighty men there collected. This 
band was composed of remarkable men and their 
march to the theatre of action is said to have no 
parallel in the annals of all the wars in our country. 
They left Nottingham Square at one o'clock in the 
afternoon and made a rapid march to Kingston. 
whence they marched at double quick or a "dog 
trot" without a halt to Haverhill, which they 
reached at sunset, having traveled twenty-seven 
miles in six hours. They halted at Andover for 
supper, and then continued their march through 
the night, and on the morning of the 21st, at 
sunrise, they paraded on Cambridge Common 
"Spiling for a fight." Those from Epsom had 
traveled seventy miles in less than twenty-four 
hours, and the whole company from Nottingham 
fifty-seven miles in less than twenty hours. The 
New Hampshire troops were soon after organized 
and John Stark chosen colonel and Andrew Mc- 
Clary major. At the battle of Bunker Hill the 
men of New Hampshire fought with distinguished 
gallantry, and Major McClary was the last to leave 
the field. After the retreat across the neck he went 
back to see if the British were in pursuit and was 
cautioned by his men against so rash an act. "The 
ball is not yet cast that will kill me." said he, 
when a random shot from one of the frigates struck 
and glanced from a button wood tree, passing 
through his abdomen. Throwing his hands above 
his head, he leaped several feet from the ground 
and fell on his face dead. He was buried near 
the encampment of the New Hampshire Brigade, 
Medford, near some two hundred New Hampshire 
soldiers who died of disease and wounds. He was 
a man of splendid physique and soldierly appearance 
and was the handsomest man in the army. He pos- 
sessed more completely than any other officer there 
the elements to make a popular and successful com- 
mander, and had he lived would doubtless have 
ranked among the most able and noted officers of 
the Revolution. 

In early life he married Elizabeth McCrillis, and 
they were the parents of these children: James, 
Harvey. Andrew, John, William, Elizabeth. Mar- 
garet and Nancy. 

(II) John, second son of Andrew (1) Mc- 
< Lit v. was born in Ireland, 1710, and was thirteen 
years old when he reached Londonderry and eight- 
een when the family settled in Epsom. Fie died 
at the age of eighty-two in 1801. He had no ad- 
vantages of schooling, but good judgment and a 
large share of common sense. He was a typical 
Scotchman, industrious, methodical, and exacting. 
While still a young man he became a leader in 
Epsom, was moderator and justice of the peace and 
for over forty years was a principal citizen and 
officer of the town. He was a scout in the French 
and Indian war, was a captain of militia at that 
time and rose to the rank of colonel before the 
Revolution broke out. When that struggle broke 
out he took a leading place representing the civil 
rule under the Republican government, as he had 
before under the King. He represented Epsom, 



J. FREMONT WEEKS 




ALBERT M. WEEKS 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



525 



Allentown, and Chichester at the annual conventions 
at Exeter, and was a conspicuous member of the 
firm convention of organize a Colonial government. 
He was afterward a leader in erecting the state 
government, of which he was a member for about 
twenty years. From 1777 to 1783 he was a mem- 
ber of the committee of safety. He was made a 
member of the council in 1780 and annually elected 
the four years next following. In 1784 he was 
elected to the council and to the senate, and served 
in the latter body three years. He married Eliza- 
beth Harvey, of Nottingham, a native of Ireland, 
who came to America in the same ship with the 
McClarys. They had four children : John, Michael, 
Andrew and Mollie. 

(Ill) Margaret, third child of Andrew Mc- 
Clary, married Wallace. 

(.Ill) Jane, the fourth child, married John M. 
Gan'y. 

(Ill) Ann, the youngest child, married Richard 
Tripp (see Tripp, II). 



The name Weeks is said to have 
WEEKS been a Devonshire name of Saxon 

origin ; but it was and probably is 
common in parts of Somersetshire. 

(I) Leonard Weeks, tradition says, came from 
Wells in Somersetshire, England. The parish rec- 
ords of Compton Martin contain the name of 
Leonard Wyke, baptized 1639, and . that of his 
brother William about two years earlier, sons of 
John Wyke, of Moreton, which is in that parish. 
We know nothing more of the father of Leonard, 
or of the time when Leonard landed in America. 
His name appears first as that of a witness to a 
bond in York county, Maine, December 6, 1655, 
and next in the Portsmouth records, June 29, 1656, 
when he received a grant of eight acres of land 
in Portsmouth. In one record it is stated that 
"When he first went to the part of Portsmouth 
now called Greenland he lived one year on a farm 
owned by Captain Champernoon." July 5, 1660, 
he received grants of forty-four acres, of thirty- 
four acres, and of ten acres of land. In February, 
1661, he had settled at Winnicut river, now in 
Greenland, where he spent the remainder of his life, 
dying in 1707. During the political contest in 1665 
respecting the separation of New Hampshire from 
Massachusetts, "Leonard Weeks stood for Massa- 
chusetts, rather than for the crown." In the court 
records, 1660, 4th mo. 26, is the following entry : 
"Leonard Weeks, for swearing by God and calling 
John Hall of Greenland ould dog and ould slave, 
and that he would knock him in the head, fined 
ten shillings for swearing, and to have an admoni- 
tion for his reviling and threatening speeches, and 
fees of court, three shillings." In the year following 
he was elected one of the selectmen of Portsmouth. 
He was afterward constable, and for several years 
sheriff. In 1669 he "was on a committee" with men 
from Dover and Hampton "to lay out the highway 
between Greenland and Bloody Poynt." His seat 
in the church at Portsmouth was No. 4, in front 
of the pulpit. He deeded his property to his sons 
before his death, retaining a life interest in the same. 
Much of the land he owned in Greenland has re- 
mained in the possession of his descendants until 
the present day. He married first, in 1667, Mary 
Haines, daughter of Deacon Samuel Haines, his 

neighbor; and second, Elizabeth ■ . who 

survived him. The children, all by the first wife. 
were: John, Samuel, Joseph, Mary, Jonathan, Mar- 



garet and Sarah. (Mention of Joseph and descend- 
ants appear in this article.) 

(II) Captain Samuel, second son and child of 
Leonard and Mary (Haines; Weeks, was born De- 
cember 14, 1670. He was a farmer, and resided 
on the paternal homestead in Greenland. He was 
a man of intelligence, wealth, energy, and influence 
in the church and in the town. He is said to have 
built about 1710 the brick house which gave name 
to his branch of the family, called "The Brick House 
Family," as distinguished from the "Bay Side 
Family," which descended from his brother Joshua. 
He died March 26, 1746, aged seventy-five. He 
married Elinor, daughter of Samuel Haines. Jr., 
of Greenland. She was born August 23, 1675, and 
died November 19, 1736. They had seven children : 
Samuel, John, Walter, Matthias, Mary, Elinor and 
William. 

(III) Matthias (1), fourth son and child of 
Captain Samuel and Elinor (Haines) Weeks, was 
born in 1708. In 1766 he sold the land inherited 
from his father, on the Great Bay, and in 1773 with 
his children removed to Gilmanton, where he died 
before October, 1777. He married about 1735. 
widow Sarah Ford, daughter of John Sanborn, of 
North Hampton. She died in Gilmanton, Decem- 
ber 7, 1779, aged eightv-six. They had ten chil- 
dren : John, Olive, Matthias, Elinor, Mary, Samuel, 
Joanna, Benjamin, Noah, and Josiah. (Mention 
of Benjamin and descendants appears in this 
article.) 

(IV) Matthias (2), third child and second son 
of Matthias and Sarah (Sanborn) Weeks, was 
born June 5, 1740. He was a tanner and farmer, 
and resided in Exeter. In May or June, 177S, he 
removed to Gilmanton, where he died March 20, 
1821, aged almost eighty-one. He married in Exe- 
ter, November 21, 1760, Judith, daughter of Dudley 
Leavitt, of Exeter. She was born August 23, 1741. 
and died in Gilmanton, April 23, 1810. They had 
fourteen children : John, Elizabeth, Sarah, Matthias, 
Mary, Samuel, William, Joshua, Judith, Olive, 
Dorothy, Dudley, Anna (Nancy) and Stephen, 
whose sketch follows. 

(V) Stephen, fourteenth child and seventh son 
of Matthias and Judith (Leavitt) Weeks, was born 
June 5, 1785, and died in Gilmanton, April 4, 1862. 
He was a prominent citizen of Gilmanton, and was 
called "Master Weeks." He married, December 29, 
1808, Betsey Weed, daughter of Daniel Weed. She 
was born in Poplin, June 2, 1701, and died in San- 
bornton, July 3, 1880, aged eighty-nine. Their six 
children were : David, Stephen, Jesse W., Lorrain 
T., Matthias, and Mary Jane. 

(VI) Matthias (3), fifth son and child of 
Stephen and Betsey (Weed) Weeks, was born No- 
vember 15, 1824, and was a farmer on the home- 
stead in Gilmanton. He married in Canterbury, 
January 7, 1835. Laurinda. daughter of Barnes Hil- 
liard of Stewartstown. He died September 4, 1894. 
She died July 3, 1905. Their nine children were : 
Ermina (deceased), Jesse Fremont, Lorrain Ed- 
win,- Albert Matthias, James Henry, Annie Eliza, 
Stephen Leavitt, John Moody (deceased) and Mary 
Ellen. 

(VII) Jesse Fremont, second child and eldest 
son of Matthias (3) and Laurinda (Hilliard 1 
Weeks, was born on the old homestead farm in 
Gilmanton, November 1, 1857. After completing 
his education at Gilmanton Academy, he was a 
teacher in the public schools for several years and 
afterwards a clerk in a grocery store in Randolph,. 



526 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Massachusetts. In 1889 he and his brother, Albert 
M., established The News and Critic, a weekly pa- 
per of Laconia. which they have since conducted. 
He is a Republican in politics, and a member of 
Rising Star Lodge, No. 76. of Randolph, Massa- 
chusetts. J. Fremont Weeks is a member of the 
Apollo Male Quartette, the leading male quartette 
of Laconia since 1884. He has studied music with 
the besf local as well as Boston teachers, possesses 
a fine tenor voice, and has held several important 
positions in church choirs in both Lowell, Massa- 
chusetts, and Laconia, New Hampshire. 

1 VII) Lorrain Edwin, third child and so 
son of Matthias (3) and Laurinda (Hilliard) 
Weeks, was born in Gilmanton, September 17, 1859. 
He graduated from Dartmouth College in 1885. is 
a farmer, and re-ides in Gilmanton. September 5, 
1892, he married Esther .Mice, of Lynn, Ma 
chusetts, and has one son, William Sillsbee Weeks. 

(VII) Albert Matthias, fourth child and third 
sun of Matthias (3) and Laurinda (Hilliard) 
Weeks was born in Gilmanton, June 9, 1861, and 
graduated from Dartmouth College with the 
irch, 1889, he associated him- 
self with his brother, J. Fremont, in the publication 
of the Critic, with which he has since been editori- 
ally connected. He married, December 25, 1S93, 
Martha E. Drew, born September 9, 1862, at Wolf- 
boro. New Hampshire, daughter of Isaiah K. and 
Mary F. f Whitten) Drew, of Wolfboro. New 
Hampshire. They have three children: Ravmond 
A., Ethel A., and "Hazel O. 

I) James Henry, fifth child and fourth son 
of Matthias and Laurinda (Hilliard) Weeks, was 
born in Gilmanton. March 9. 1865. He was edu- 
cated in the common schools, and at Gilmanton 
Academy, and now resides in Belmont, where he 
is extensively engaged in lumbering. He married. 
August 22, 1S89, Ellen F. Pease, of London, and 
they have four children: Bulah, Merritt, Everett M. 
and Ola E. 

(VII) Annie Eliza, sixth child and second 
daughter of Matthias and Laurinda (Hilliard) 
Weeks, born March 27, 1867, was educated in the 
common schools, and at Gilmanton Academy, and 
taught school for some years. December 23. 1902, 
married Edwin H. Sleeper, a prosperous farmer 
of Loudon Ridge. They have two children — Marian 
and Ruth. 

(VII) Stephen Leavitt. seventh child and fifth 
son of Matthias and Laurinda (Hilliard) Weeks, 
born October 30, 1870, and cultivates the old 
home farm where he was born. He married Bertha 
Batchelder, .if Loudon, and has four children — 
Maitland B., Marjorie E., John F. and Stephen 
Norn 

i \ I I 1 Mary Ellen, third daughter and young- 
esl child of Matthias and Laurinda (Hilliard) 
Weeks, was born May 21. 1874. She married, 
September 17. 1896, Charles L. Merrill, of Loudon 
Ridge, and has two children — Grace and Doris. 
Joseph, third son and child of Leonar 
Mary (Haines) Weekes, was born March 11. i 
and mber 27, 17.1?. He was a cordwainer 

in Greenland. In 1723 he joined the church. His 
wife's name was Hannah, and they had four - 
children: Jedediah, Joshua. Joseph and Leonard. 

(Ill) Leonard, fourth and 
Joseph and Hannah Weeks, was born and bapl 
in ^725, in Greenla ■ lie joined the church 

in May, 1742, was a farmer. 175.?. and where he 
died August, 1761. His wife's name v a ret. 



They had three children, baptized in Greenland: 
Phineas, John and Margaret. 

(IV) Phineas, eldest child of Leonard and 
Margaret Weeks, was baptized in 1745. and died 
in Greenfield. April 12. 1793 (?). He was a cooper, 
and removed to Loudon after his marriage. He 
married Maria Page, of Greenfield, and they had 

en children: Abram, Sarah, John S., Eben, 
Thomas, Phineas and George. 

1 V ) John S., third child and second son of 
Phineas and Maria (Page) Weeks, was born in 
Meredith, January 31, 1808 (?), and died at the old 
homestead, October 10, 1S41 (?). He received very 
little schooling, and when, fifteen years of age took 
his few belongings in a pack and walked to Boston. 
lie got his first employment on the Medford turn- 
pike, where he was paid his wages in counterfeit 
money, but with the assistance of a friend obliged 
his dishonest employer to exchange it for legal cur- 
rency. After a time he learned the carpenter's trade, 
and carried on that business in company witli his 
It 4her Thomas. He left this employment and be- 
came a wholesale dealer in fish and lobsters, carry- 
ing on that business until 1875. For several years 
succeeding that time he dealt largely in Boston 
real estate, and prospered, acquiring several choice 
pieces of property. About 18S3 he returned to his 
former business of wholesale dealer in fish, and car- 
ried it on until his death, April 12. i893(?). He was a 
man of energy and good business ability, and suc- 
ceeded in accumulating a handscvine property. He 
married Lydia Ann Flanders, who was born about 
1810, and died October 10, 1841. She was born at 
New Hampton. Their children were : John Frank 
and Elizabeth, who died in infancy. 

1 VI ) John Frank, only son of John S. and Lydia 
Ann (Flanders) Weeks, was born in Boston, Mas- 
sachusetts, .March 1, 1834. After attending the Bos- 
ton schools for a time he was sent at the age of 
thirteen to New Hampton and later to Sanbornton 
Academy, where he pursued his studies until he was 
eighteen years old. He then returned to Boston 
and engaged in business with his father until 1901. 
In 1002 he purchased the ancestral homestead, sit- 
uated about four miles from the city of Laconia, 
which he fitted up in a luxurious manner, which his 
daughter now occupies. Mr. Weeks has ample 
means and lives a life of leisure after years of 
iuous attention to business. l n politics he is 
a Republican. The only secret organization in 
which he has a membership is the Patrons of Hus- 
bandry, of Laconia. He married (first). Sarah 
Elizabeth Smith, September 30. 1854. who died June 
21. 1859; (si - li. January 31. 1861, .Mary Rich- 
ardson Strout, of Deerfield, died November 
18.10: (third), August 15. 1.01, Mary Susan Bl 
dell, bom August 25. 1853, daughter of David and 
Eliza (l.ilman) lllaisdell. of l.ao.nia. New Hamp- 
shire. By his first wife there were two children: 
Man 1 ind John Herbert. Mary Isabel, born 
in Boston, February 24, 1857. married Charles P. 
I look, of Charlcstown. Massachusetts, and they have 
two children: Russell P. and Hazel. John Herbert. 
horn in Boston, June 1. 1850, married in Worcester, 
Massachusetts, Addie Chandler, of Plymouth, and 
has two sons: Warren and Junie. By the second 
1 .me child, Grace, wife of Frank 
M. Blaisdell, and they have one son. Carl. 

(IV) Esquire Benjamin, eighth child and fourth 

of Matthias anil Sarah (Sanborn) Weeks, was 

born hi Greenland, February 28, 1740. Me settled 
in Gilmanton, lower parish, where he lived until 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



527 



1787, when he removed to what is now Gilford. 
After living two or three years in Burton he re- 
turned to Gilford in 1792. He died in Gilford in 
1829. aged eighty years. He was "a man who had 
the confidence of his neighbors and often acted as 
peacemaker in cases of arbitration left to his de- 
cision. He was a large land holder, dealing ex- 
tensively in lands. The education of his children 
was a matter in which he took much interest. He 
married. May 26. 1774. Sarah Weed, of Sandwich, 
who was born October 28. 1755. They had seven 
children: Daniel, Matthias. Sally, Elisha, William, 
Benjamin and Levi R. 

(V) Captain Benjamin (2), sixth child and fifth 
son of Esquire Benjamin (1) and Sarah (Weed) 
Weeks, was born in Gilmanton, April 4, 1788, and 
died in 1864. aged seventy-six years. He was a 
farmer and merchant in Gilford. He married in 
Gilmanton. June 30, 1806. Betsey Hoyt, of Gil- 
manton, by whom he had eight children : Hazen, 
Sally, Benjamin Franklin. William. Mehitable, 
Thomas H., Harriet and Nathan H. 

(VI) Thomas, sixth child and fourth son of 
Captain Benjamin (2) and Betsey (Hoyt) Weeks, 
was born in Gilford. August 19, 1816, and died in 
Gilford, June 12, 1S84. in the sixty-eighth year of 
his age. He got his education in the common 
schools, and was a lifelong farmer, owning a place 
of four hundred acres, a large part of which was 
covered with timber. In politics he was a Republi- 
can. He was a member of the Methodist Church, 
and no man in his town was more worthy of con- 
fidence or more thoroughly trusted than he. His 
fidelity and ability were rewarded by his fellow 
citizens, who made him selectman and sent him 
three times to the legislature. He married Nancy 
Hill, daughter of Arram and Hopey Hill, who was 
born in Gilford, 1822, and died 1877, aged fifty-five 
years. They had three children : M. Frances, S. 
Amanda and Austin B., the subject of the next 
paragraph. 

(VII) Austin Boynton, only son of Thomas H. 
and Nancy (Hill) Weeks, was born on the home- 
stead in Gilford, July 7, 185S. He was educated 
in the common schools, and has always been en- 
gaged in agriculture. He has the farm which be- 
longed to his ancestors. It contains two hundred 
and fifty acres of productive land which enables 
him to keep a large herd of stock in which he is a 
dealer of some note. He attends the Methodist 
Church, and is a Republican in politics : a pro- 
gressive and prosperous citizen, and. like his grand- 
father, exerts himself to educate his children. He 
married, November 24, 1880, Nellie Winifred 
Dodge, who was born in Tamworth. November 24, 
1862. daughter of Theodore and Mary (Drealy) 
Dodge. They have two sons: Thomas T., born July 
3, 1882; and Austin Dana, born November 25. 1884; 
and one daughter, Inga Amanda, born May 22, 
1890. 



This name is found variously 
SEVERANCE written in the early records of 
Essex county. Massachusetts, in- 
cluding such forms as Severns, Seaverns, Severans, 
and its present form. It was very early identified 
with the settlements in southern New Hampshire, 
bordering on Essex county, and is still found con- 
nected with the civil, religious and business affairs 
of the commonwealth. 

(I) The first of record was John Severans, of 
Ipswich, in 1636. He was among the original pro- 



prietors of Salisbury, same colony, where he re- 
ceived land in the first division and also in 1639-40 
and 1654. He was taxed as a commoner in 1650 
and 1655, and signed a petition of 1658. He was a 
"planter, victualler and vinter" and was licensed to 
keep the "ordinary" in Salisbury in 1662-63 and 
T665 and later. He subscribed to the oath of fidelity 
in 1667, and died April 9, 1682, in Salisbury, two 
days after making his will. He was married (first) 
to Abigail Kimball, daughter of Richard Kimball, 
the patriarch of that family. (See Kimball, I). 
She died in Salisbury, June 17. 1658, and John 
Severans was married (second), October 2, 1663. to 
Susanna, widow of Henry Ambrose. She survived 
him, and was a signer of the Bradbury petition in 
1692. His children, all born of the first wife, who 
died at the birth of the youngest, were: Samuel, 
Ebenezer, Abigail (died young), Abigail, Mary, 
John. Joseph, Elizabeth (died young), Benjamin, 
Ephraim and Elizabeth. 

(II) Ephraim, youngest son and tenth child of 
John and Abigail (Kimball) Severance, was born 
April 8. 1656, in Salisbury, and is of record as a 
freeman in that town in 1690. Both he and his wife 
signed the Bradbury petition of 1692. He was mar- 
ried November 9, 1682, in Salisbury, to Lydia Mor- 
rill, daughter of Abraham Morrill, the patriarch of 
that family. (See Morrill. I). She was born 
March 8, 1661. He is undoubtedly the Ephraim 
Severance who is mentioned in the church records 
of Kingston as among the constituent members, 
where he is called "Old Goodman Severance." He 
probably removed to Kingston in old age. with his 
children. They included: Abigail, Mary. Lydia, 
Ephraim, Dinah, Ebenezer, Sarah, Jonathan and 
Hannah. 

(III) Ephraim (2), eldest son and fourth child 
of Ephraim (1) and Lydia (Morrill) Severance, 
was born December 2. 1689, in Salisbury, and settled 
early in Kingston, Xew Hampshire. He was one of 
the constituent members of the First Church of 
Kingston, when the Rev. Ward Clark took charge 
thereof, September 29. 1725. He was baptized Sep- 
tember 11. 1726. and also his children: Mary, Ben- 
jamin, Elizabeth and Joseph. His wife's name was 
Mary, and she was admitted to the First Church of 
Kingston, September 10. 1727. Ephraim (2) prob- 
ably removed from Kingston to Deerfield among the 
pioneers of that town. 

(IV) Ephraim (3), son of Ephraim (2) and 
Mary Severance, was probably a native of Deerfield, 
and he was among the pioneers of Sandwich, New 
Hampshire. He was married October 25. 1649, at 
the Kingston First Church to Elizabeth Sweat. 

(V) John, son of Ephraim and Elizabeth 
(Sweat) Severance, was born about 1752, and al- 
ways lived in Sandwich. He was by occupation a 
capable and prosperous farmer, and withal had con- 
siderable mechanical genius which served him well 
in various kinds of handicraft. He was a prominent 
and public-spirited citizen, and in politics a sup- 
porter of the Democratic party. He served his 
native town as tax collector for sixteen consecutive 
years. Both he and his wife were members of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. He married, Decem- 
ber 9, 1792, Lydia Jewell, by whom he had twelve 
children, as follows: John, born in 1793: Anne. 
born June 13, 1795: Asa. born March 31. 1798: Levi, 
born March 24. 1800: Lydia. born September 7. 1802; 
Jacob Jew-ell, born November 4, 1804, and died in 
Laconia, January 9, 1896; Sukey, born December 13, 
1806; Sargent, born May 20, 1809; Martha F., born 



5 2S 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



May 31, 1812; James M., born April 25, 1814: Polly 
M., born May 14, 1816; Eliza, born May 10, 1822. 

(VI) Asa, second son and third child of John 
and Lydia (Jewell) Severan e, .-. - horn in Sand- 
wich. March 31, 1708. When a young man he pur- 
chased a farm g the old homestead, and was 
a prosperous farmer through life. lie gave evi- 
dence of possessing an ability prophetic of a suc- 
cessful future, t short by his 
deatli in 1826. In his political faith he affiliated with 
the Democratic party, and in his religious views with 
the Free Baptists. lie was a man of noble character 
and wen the 1 of all who knew 
him. lie married Rhoda Webster about iSig, by 
whom he had four children, two only living to attain 
their maturity — John V. rid Asa, who mar- 
ried Hannah M. Web 

(VII) John Webster, son of Asa and Rhoda 
(Webster) Severance, was born in Sandwich, Feb- 
ruary 3. 1822. He attended the schools of his na- 
tive town till 183-'. when he came to Chichester to 
reside with his uncle, who was his guardian till of 
age. In his early manhood he learned the trade of 
edge-tool maker, which occupation he followed for 
a time in Chichester. He then went to Lowell and 
worked awhile in a machine shop, and later was a 
practical machinist in Manchester for more than 
twenty years. Finally he relinquished his trade and 
returned to Chichester and settled on the homestead 
farm of his wife's parents, where he ever afterward 
resided. He is a Republican in politics, and ably 
represented Manchester in the legislature in 1855 
and 1S56 and again in 1876 and 1877. He is a mem- 
ber of Mechanics Lodge, No. 13, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, of Manchester, and has served sev- 
eral years as its chaplain. He is also actively in- 
terested in the Patrons of Husbandry, and was one 
of the organizers of Catamount Grange, of Pitts- 
field. By his fellow townsmen he is highly esteemed 
as an industrious and successful farmer, and an 
honest and upright man and citizen. Mr. and Mrs. 
Severance are members of the Free Baptist Church. 
He married. November 25. 1841, Hannah Jane, 
daughter of Deacon Benjamin and Sally (Watson) 
Kaime, of Pittsfield (see Kaime, VI). John W. 
Severance died in Chichester, May 19, 1901. 

.According to tradition, the Nourse 
NOURSE family of New England are descended 

from three brothers who were early 
immigrants from England. The early town records 
of Westboro. Massachusetts, show that several of 
this name n sidi d there and were prominently identi- 
fied witli its progress and social welfare. It is 
therefore quite probable that one. if not all of the 
above-mentioned immigrants, settled there or in 
Marlboro, which was the parent town. 

1 I ' Daniel Nourse, Sr., the first known ances- 
tor of the family now in hand, was born in West- 
boro in 1760. Me was a Revolutionary soldier, and 
march d from Westboro with a company of minute 
men at tl ton Alarm. In 1785 he went to 

Acworth, New Hampshire, locating upon wild land 
at what was known . - Indian 1 amp, in the region 
of the West Woods, and he cleared a large tract, 
realizing a productive farm as a reward for his labor. 
His death occurred at Acworth, in 1845. lie was a 
Congregationalist. and church. 

'I he maiden name of his wife was Vruia Wilcox, 
who was of Surry, New Hampshire, :mh! she died 
in [826, Their children Ir. and Anna. 

1 II 1 Daniel, Jr., son of Daniel and Anna (Wil- 



cox) Nourse, was born in Acworth, in 1792. He 
resided at the homestead until 1855, when he sold 
the property and with his wife went to Wisconsin. 
Both died in Fox Lake, that state, in 1869. Daniel 
possessed considerable musical talent, and officiated 
as choir director. In April, 1814, he married Mar- 
garet Wilson, born in 1794, daughter of John and 
Polly (McCoy) Wilson, natives of Londonderry, 
New Hampshire, wdio settled on Derry Hill. Ac- 
worth. "Big" John Wilson served in the Revolu- 
tionary war. He'married Margaret McFarland. The 
McFarlands came from Londonderry, Ireland. The 
Wilsons, who were also descendants of the Coven- 
anters, suffered persecution on account of their re- 
ligious faith, and in memory of an ancestor, Mar- 
garet, who is said to have been subjected to per- 
sonal cruelty, this name has ever since been pre- 
served in the family. John Wilson was the father 
of twenty-one children. Early in the last century 
he and his family journeyed on an ox-team from 
New Hampshire to a point in the vicinity of the 
present city of Cleveland, Ohio. Mr-. .Margaret 
Nourse became the mother of ten children, namely: 
Mary Louise; Solon, died in Iowa; Julia Ann. died 
young; Daniel Hammond, deceased: William, 
succeeding paragraph ; Nancy, married Joel Hub- 
bard, and is no longer living; Julia Antoinette, 
widow of Samuel Edes ; Helen, wife of George II. 
Fairbanks; George W., mentioned later: and Free- 
man W., who was a musician in the Sixteenth Regi- 
ment, New Hampshire Volunteers during the Civil 
war. George W. Nourse was born August 19, 1831. 
In the early days of the California gold fever he 
tried his fortune in the mines with good results, 
and after his return engaged in mercantile busi- 
ness at Newport, wdiere he is still residing. He was 
town clerk in 1863-64; first selectman from 1865 to 
1873; moderator from 1868 to 1872 and postm.i 
for twelve years. He was married May 2. 1861, 
to Juliette E. Woodward, wdio was born May _'. 
1842. 

(Ill) William, third son and fifth child of Dan- 
iel and Margaret (Wilson) Nourse. was born in 
Acworth, May 10, 1822. At the age of twenty-twi 
years he left the homestead farm and found em- 
ployment in a woolen mill at Gilsum. Two years 
later he went to Newport, where be worked in a 
similar establishment conducted by Thomas A. 
Twichell, and in 1854 he became associated with 
Albert Wilcox in general mercantile business under 
the firm name of Wilcox & Noursi He later sold 
his interest in that concern to his brother, George 
W., who had recently returned from California, and 
in 1858 purchased the Twichell mill, which he op- 
erated as the Eagle Mills until 1866. when he dis- 
posed of it to Samuel Eadcs. In the latter year he 
entered into partnership with Perley S. Coffin, and 
the firm of Coffin & Nourse erected the Granite 
State Woolen Mills at Guild, which they operated 
successfully until 1880, employing an average of one 
hundred hands, and supplying the market with 
products of superior quality. In 18S2 Mr. Noui 
succeeded Calvin Wilcox & Son in the general hard- 
ware business at Newport, and conducted it alone 
until admitting bis son William H to partnership, 
when the business was incorporated - the Noui 
Hardware Company, William Noui 1 dent. F"r 

more than half a century he has been prominently 
connected with the business interests of Newp 
and vicinity, and although now an octogenarian bis 
activities continue unabated. He united with tl 
Congregational Church in 1852. and was madi 




WILLIAM NOURSE. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



529 



Free Mason in 1854. He was formerly a loading 
spirit in local politics, having cast his first presi- 
dential vote for Henry Clay in 1844, and lie has sup- 
ported every Republican candidate for that office 
from the formation of the party to the present time. 
For the years 1855-6 he served as town clerk, and 
was representative to the legislature in 1861-62. 
In 1848 he married for his first wife Rebecca Mor- 
rison, who died in 1852, and in 1855 he married 
Ellen M. Hatch, daughter of Dr. Mason Hatch, of 
Newport, (see Hatch VII). She was born Sep- 
tember 19, 1832, and died February i~, 1872. His 
third wife, whom he married January 15. 1874. was 
Mrs. Mary E. Jones, born in Wilton, New Hamp- 
shire, May 17, 1839. His children are : Mary E., 
born June 13, 1856, died August 6, 1874; Emma L., 
born November 6, i860 ; Marcia B., born October 
12, 1864, married Charles B.. Spofford: William H„ 
who will be again referred to (all of his second 
union) ; and Elizabeth, born May 16, 1S75, wdio is 
the only child of his third marriage. 

(IV) William Hatch, youngest child and only 
son of William and Ellen M. (Hatch) Nourse, was 
born in Newport, April 20, 1867. After graduating 
from the high school he entered his father's store, 
and is now junior member of the Nourse Hardware 
Company. He is a member of the Masonic order 
and has advanced to the commandery. His first 
wife, who was before marriage Mabel Hunton, bore 
him one daughter, Beatrice. For his second wife 
he married Belle E. Gunnison, daughter of High 
Sheriff John U. Gunnison (see Gunnison). 



The representatives of the old English 
MANN family of this name seem to be de- 
scended in a great measure from an an- 
cestor who emigrated to America in 1645. The 
family has always manifested many of the traits 
of character found in the Briton. The Manns have 
been sturdy men and independant thinkers, more 
inclined to follow the dictates of conscience than to 
gain in any way any sacrifice of what they believe 
to be right. The majority of them have been what 
the demands of their times required — agriculturists 
■ — yet in later years they have shown an aptitude for 
executive positions, and one in the last century was 
a leading educator in the United States. 

(I) Richard (1) Mann, born in Cornwall, Eng- 
land, emigrated to America and settled in Plym- 
outh, Massachusetts, in 1645, and was one of the 
Conihassett partners in Scituate. 1646. His farm 
was at Man hill (a well known place to this day). 
south of the great Musquashcut pond. A deed of 
the land to Richard Man, planter, Scituate, bears 
date 1648. There is no record of his marriage in 
Scituate, but he is said to have married Rebecca, 
daughter of Elder William Brewster, one of the 
Mayflower Pilgrims. His children were: Nathaniel, 
Thomas, Richard and Josiah. 

(II) Richard (2), third son of Richard (1) and 
Rebecca (Brewster) Mann, was born at Plymouth, 
February 5, 1652. He married Elizabeth South- 
worth, and they were the parents of John. Rebecca, 
Hannah, Nathaniel, Richard, Elizabeth and Abigail. 

(III) Nathaniel, son of Richard (2). born in 
Scituate, Massachusetts, October 27, 1693, married 
Mary Root, and resided in Hebron, Connecticut. 

(IV) John, son of Nathaniel, born in Scituate, 
Massachusetts. November 20, 1720, married Mar- 
garet, sister of Rev. Samuel Peters, D. D. 

(V) Matthew, son of John and Margaret 
(Peters) Mann, born in Hebron, Connecticut, De- 

ii — 10 



cember 20, 1741, married Sarah Moody. He set- 
tled in Oxford about 1765, with his brother John, 
and died in that town in 1825. 

(VI) Major Samuel, son of Matthew and Han- 
nah (Moody) Mann, was born in Oxford in 1773, 
and died in Benton, July 19, 1842, aged sixty-nine. 
After his marriage he lived in Landaff until* 1835, 
when he moved to Coventry, where he purchased 
a farm of his brother-in-law, Nathaniel Howe. 
Major Mann was a man of marked peculiarities. 
He did his own thinking, acted independently, and 
never went with the tide. In 1840, when the town 
voted for a change of name from Coventry to Ben- 
ton, Major Mann cast one of the two votes against 
the proposition. Coventry was a Democratic town, 
and Major Mann was a Whig. He was interested 
in political affairs, but was never a candidate for 
office. Of bis six sons who grew to manhood and 
lived, as all did, to a good old age, three — Jesse, 
Moody and George W. — were born politicians and 
ardent partisans. In caucuses, conventions, and 
campaigns they were in their natural element, and 
always voted the straight ticket. Samuel Mann 
married Mary Howe, daughter of Peter Howe, of 
Landaff. She died November 15, 1866, aged eighty- 
six years. They were the parents of seven sons : 
Jesse, Moody, Amos C, Samuel, James A., Edward 
F. and George W., whose sketch follows. 

(VII) George W., youngest child of Major Sam- 
uel and Mary (Howe) Mann, was born in Benton, 
1821, and died January, 1901. He removed with his 
father's family in 1835, to Coventry (now Benton), 
and spent the remainder of his life there. His edu- 
cation was obtained in the district schools and in 
Newbury Seminary. He was actively engaged in 
agriculture for many years, but for thirty years pre- 
ceding his death he was more directly engaged as 
a contractor and builder. In politics he was a Dem- 
ocrat, of wdiose orthodoxy no question was ever 
raised. For half a century he was a leading citizen 
of Benton, and long prominent in public life in 
Grafton county. He was repeatedly moderator of 
the town meetings, and held the office of justice 
of the peace from 1855 to his death in 1901, a period 
of forty-six years. He was collector of taxes of 
Benton for five years from 1844, and selectman eight 
years from 1846. He also served four years as 
town clerk, and ten years as superintending school 
committee. He represented Benton in the Legis- 
lature in 1857, i860, 1875, 1876, 1881 and 1883, taking 
a prominent part in the deliberations of the house 
in later years. He also served in the constitutional 
convention of 1876, and was long prominent in con- 
vention and committee work in the Democratic 
party. In 1892 he was appointed by Governor Tut- 
tle a member of the State Board of Agriculture 
for Grafton county, a position he held several years. 
In religious faith he was a Universalis:, and as 
ardent in religion as he was in politics. He mar- 
ried (first), April 13, 1843, Susan M. Whitcher, 
born 1825, daughter of William and Mary Whitcher. 
She died October 6, 1854; and he married (second), 
March 4, 1855, Sarah T., daughter of Gad Bisbee. 
The children by the first wife were: Ezra B., now 
a resident of Woodsville ; Edward F, mentioned 
below; George Henry, a merchant in Woodsville: 
Orman L. and Osman C. (twins) ; and by the second 
wife: Melvin J., Hosea B., Susan M., Minne S. and 
Moses B. The second of the twins is deceased, 
and the others reside in Benton. 

(VIII) Hon. Edward Foster, second son and 
child of George W. and Susan Marston (Whitcli 






NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Mann, was born in Benton. September ~. 1845, 
and died in Concord, August 19. 1892. His birth 
place was the old homestead where his grandfather 
Samuel Mann settled when he removed to Benton, 
and the same upon which his 1 orge W. 

Mann, spent his life. He attended the public sch 
of his native town until he had completed the usual 
line of study there, and then attended the seminary 
["ikon for several terms. When about twenty- 
years of age he entered the employ of the 
Boston, Concord & Montreal Railroad Company, 
his first work being about the station at Tilton. In 
[867 he went into the train service and served as 
brakeman on a passenger train for a time, and was 
then promoted to baggage-master, and a few years 
later made a conductor. He filled the last named 
po until the fall of 1881, and then became sta- 

;it for the company at Concord. He was 
ly qualified to discharge the duties of this 
i"ii. since he had had fourteen years of varied 
11 rience along the road in the company's service 
and was familiar with its needs as well as with it 
methods of doing business. In 1884. after the lease 
of tin i-l to the Boston & Lowell line, he was made 
uperintendent. He continued in this posi- 
tion while the road was operated by the Boston & 
irporation, under the lease of the Boston 
& Lowell, and when it finally passed under the con- 
trol of the former he was made superintendent, 
January 1, 1890, the Concord and the Boston, Con- 
cord & Montreal roads were formally consolidated. 
ami tlu- train service of the entire system w r as placed 
under his efficient superintendency, and April 1, 
1892. he was made general superintendent, and again 
i 1 resident of Concord. Mr. Mann never 

did things by halves, and in the performance of the 
duties of his position as superintendent he gave 
his entire attention to the work of his office. Nat- 
urally inclined to pulmonary affection, his labors 
develop d them under his persistent and unremitting 
; tion to duly, and for two or three years before 
hi- death he frequently had attacks of illness of a 
very -mihik nature. These attacks necessitated a 
cessation of labor and a period of rest, but as soon 
a~ lie was in a manner recovered he returned to his 
duties This alternation from confinement at home 
to office work continued until a short time before 
his 1 i he attacks from illness became more 

and prolonged until his death August 19, 

Mr, Mann was abundantly endowed with those 
ions necessary to the highest degree of 
efficii in his chosen line of employment. He was 

industrious, sob( r, frugal, quick of perception and 
rapid in execution, familiar with the needs of the 
place- he was called to fill, possessing a large ac- 
quaintanci and commanding 1 1 1 - confidence and 
■' the patrons of the ad and the public 

With tin'-!-- favor., lil,. . u Ion in, ni , he 

to accomplish as much in the years of 

life as many other men in similar positions would 

accomplish in a long life. Though 

having the interests of a large corporation to look 

after, yet he had a warm sympathy and was an 

earnest worker in many matters of public concern. 

He was an ardent Democrat, and served his town 

and district and the stati in the legislature. 

representing Benton in the house in iS;r and in 

1872, .1 d being a member of the committtee on 

Agricultural College in the former and on reform 

oh ,11 the latter j ear ; and thi < 1-rafton district 

in the senate in 1879 and l88l, serving in 



[S79 upon the committees on education, claims, 
roads, bridges, and canals, and engrossed hills; and 
in 1881 upon those of elections, roads, bridges, and 
canals, and reform school, being chairman of the 
latter committee. In 1S8S he was the candidate of 
his party for the representative in congress from 
the second New Hampshire district, and, though 
defeated, ran largely ahead of his ticket. 

During some of his most active years his home 
was at Woodsville. and in all the enterprises re- 
lating to the prosperity of that place he took a lively 
interest and was a mover in all its important local 
enterprises. He was one of the promoters of the 
Woodsville Aqueduct & Electric Light Company, 
and after its incorporation one of its directors. His 
re lations to the Woodsville Guaranty Savings Bank 
were the same as with the light company. In the mat- 
ter of the transfer of the county seat from Haver- 
hill Corner to Woodsville, he gave his earnest sup- 
port to his home town. He was an active member 
and vice-president of the Providence Mutual Re- 
lief Association, and at the time of his decease a 
i<r 1 f the Xew Hampshire Democratic Press 
Company. He was a member of Burns Lodge, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, at Littleton, 
and of Franklin Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, at 
Lisbon. In religion he was a Universalist. In the 
death of Edward F. Mann the state of New Hamp- 
shire lost a good citizen ; society lost an able, ener- 
getic and faithful supporter of all those measures 
that are intended for the public good; and the great 
corporation which he had so long served lost one 
of its most efficient executive officers. In the social 
and family circle he will always be remembered as 
one who was ever warm hearted, helpful, sincere and 
faithful. 

II. married. January 13, 1881, at Providence, 

de Island, Elvah G AVhitcher. born in Benton, 

( Ictober 5. 1851. daughter of Chase and Susan 

1 Rouse) Whitcher, of Benton. They had one child, 

Marion, now deceased. 



In the Anglo-Saxon. Dutch, Danish, and 
RAND German languages the word "rand" sig- 
nifies a border, margin or edge. It was 
probably first taken as a surname by some one who 
lived on the border of some territorial division to 
designate his place of residence. It first appears in 
print in England as a surname in the early part of 
the fifteenth century when there were Rands at 
Rand's Grange, a small township near Bcdalc. and 
in York, in 1475. Subsequent to that time the name 
appears in various parts of England. 

(I) Although the records of ships arriving in 
' ichusetts in 1635 are not in existence, it is 
thought that Robert Rand came at that time, be- 
cause In- wife Mice was admitted to the church in 
town. Massachusetts, in that year. In the 
town Book oi Posse ion . dated [638, mention is 
,,f the property owned by Robert Rand, in- 
cluding one house on the west side of Windmill 
Hill, sixty six acres and three commons. He died 
9 or 1640. although the exact date cannot be 
lined, owing to the incompleteness of the 
records for both those years. Alice Rand was a 
sister of Mary, wife of Captain Richard Sprague, 
who was said to he a daughter of Nicholas Sharp. 
Both Captain Richard and his wife left legacies in 
their wills to various members of the Rand family. 
Alice Hand died August 5. i'«)i. at the age of ninety- 
eight years. Robert and Alice brought several chil- 
dren with them, but just how many or how many 




^fVzCot/ ,td ( 




NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



531 



children they had is not certain. The names of 
children supposed to be their- are: Robert, Mar- 
jery, Thomas, Susanna, Alice, Nathaniel and Eliza- 
beth. (Thomas and descendants receive extended 
mention in this article). 

(II) Robert (2), eldest son and child of Robert 
and Alice (Sharpe)(?) Rand, probably came with his 
parents from England, was a farmer at "Woodend" 
in the northerly part of Lynn; was living there in 
1649, and died there November 8, 1694. His wife 
Elizabeth died August 29, 1693. Their children 
were: Robert, Zechariah, Hannah, Elizabeth, Mary 
and Sarah. 

(III) Zechariah, second son and third child of 
Robert and Elizabeth Rand, was born probably in 
Lynn. His estate was administered by his widow 
in 1706. He married, April 2, 1084, Ann Ivory, who 
married (second), published September 15, 171 1, 
Samuel Baxter. The children of Zechariah and 
Ann (Ivory) Rand were: Daniel, Thomas, Eliza- 
beth. Mary, Anna and possibly John. 

(IV) Anna, fifth child and third daughter of 
Zechariah and Ann (Ivory) Rand, was born in 
Lynn, and married, May 21, 1730, Benjamin Eaton, 
of Lynn. (See Eaton, second family, IV). 

(IV) John Rand was a resident of Newburyport 
and Rye, New Hampshire. His wife's name was 
Isabella, and they were the parents of Moses, the 
subject of the next paragraph. 

t V ) Moses, son of John and Isabella Rand, was 
born in Newburyport, lived in Piscataqua, and in 
1772 settled on the high forest land near Beauty 
Hill, Barnstead, where he made a fine farm which 
he left to his sons. He was selectman in 1787. He 
married Abigail Wentworth, a first cousin of Gov- 
ernor John Wentworth, and they had three sons, 
Samuel. Wentworth and Jonathan, the two latter 
serving in the War of 1812. 

(VI) Samuel, eldest son of Moses and Abigail 
(Wentworth) Rand, was born in Barnstead, April 
12, 1776, and died October 3, 1S36. He received 
from his father a tract of land in Barnstead, upon 
which he settled and resided the greater part of 
his life. He was a man in comfortable circumstan- 
ces and respected by his neighbors. He married 
.Mary Hill, who was born September 19, 1774, a 
daughter of Andrew Hill, of Strafford. She died 
June 21, 1852, aged seventy-eight. Their children 
were : Moses Hill. Pamelia, Ruth E., Lydia A. W., 
Phebe, Mary and Samuel. Moses is mentioned 
below. Pamelia was the second wife of Deacon 
John Kanne. Ruth E. and Lydia A. W. never mar- 
ried. Phebe became the wife of Benjamin White, 
of Chester. Mary married Henry Hunkins, of Bos- 
ton. Samuel married Mary , and lived and 

died in Lowell, Massachusetts. 

( VII ) Moses Hill, eldest: child of Samuel and 
Mary (Hill) Rand, was born June 29, 1803, and 
died April 4, 1885. He spent his life in 
Barnstead, on the ancestral farm which he 
owned. He was an independant and enter- 
prising man, had no political aspirations, and 
never held an office. He was a member of the Free 
Will Baptist Church. He married Anna, eldest 
daughter of Joseph Bunker, of Barnstead Parade, 
an.l granddaughter of Eli Bunker, who donated 
the 'land for the Parade in 1791. She was born 
January 14, 1804, and died August 13, 1888, aged 
eighty-four. The children of Moses and Anna 
Rand were: Joseph Bunker, Hiram, Mary E. and 
Lydia A. Joseph B. graduated from Dartmouth 
College, and was a successful physician at Hart- 



ford, Vermont. Hiram is the subject of the next 
paragraph. Mary E. married Isaac A. Fletcher, a 
merchant of Lowell, Massachusetts. Lydia A. mar- 
ried John L. Woodhouse, and lived in the stale of 
Iowa. 

(VIII) Deacon Hiram, second son and child 
of Moses H. and Anna (Bunker) Rand, was born 
1827, and died June 14, 1903, aged seventy-six. He 
acquired his education in the district schools and 
at private institutions. He spent three years of his 
young manhood in Lowell, Massachusetts, where 
he was employed as an engineer in a saw mill. 
After his return to Barnstead he was in partner- 
ship with Joshua B. Merrill in the grocery business 
for two years. He then returned to the farm on 
which he was born, which he inherited from his 
father. In 1885 he removed to a place on what is 
known as the Province road, and later from there 
to Barnstead Parade, where he died. Mr. Rand 
joined the Congregational Church at the age of 
twelve years, and was a man of prominence in 
church and town affairs for many years. For thirty- 
live years preceding his death he was a deacon, and 
for a long time was chorister and superintendent of 
the Sabbath school. Besides being a farmer he was 
a trustee of the Pittsfield Savings Bank. He mar- 
ried in Lowell, Massachusetts, 1851, Harriet N. 
Hoitt, who was born in Barnstead, 1826, daughter 
of Benjamin and Mehitable (Babson) Hoitt. She 
died February, 1901. (See Hoitt, VII). Two chil- 
dren were born to them : Florence, 1852, married 
Dr. C. B. Sturtevant, of Manchester, and died Sep- 
tember 30, 1878; and John S., the subject of the 
next article. 

(IX) Hon. John S., second child and only son 
of Hiram and Harriet N. (Hoitt) Rand, was edu- 
cated in the common schools and at Pittsfield Aca- 
demy. For two years he was engaged in teaching 
at Alton, New Hampshire, and on Deer Island, 
Boston Harbor. He was also connected with the 
manufacture of shoes in Boston. Since 1884 he has 
been a dry goods merchant at Barnstead, where he 
has attained an influential position in business and 
social circles. He is president of the Pittsfield Shoe 
Company, and a director of the Farmers' Savings 
Bank. His political creed is Republican, and he was 
elected by that party to the New Hampshire house 
of representatives in 1S96. He is a leading member 
of the Congregational Church, and has been super- 
intendent of its Sunday school. He is a member of 
Suncook Lodge, No. 10, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. November 30, 1879, he married Hattie 
M. Foote, born in Pittsfield, daughter of Nathaniel 
and Mary (Eastman) Foote, of Pittsfield. 

(II) Thomas Rand, second son and third child 
of Robert and Alice Rand, was born in England 
about the year 1627, and died in Charlestown, Au- 
gust 4, 1683. In the records he appears as sergeant, 
and they also state that he was a "cordwainer" and 
a cow-herdsman. He was admitted a freeman in 
1660. He married, March 25, 1656, Sarah, daughter 
of Edmund and Eliza (Whitman) Edenton. She 
died June 26, 1699 having been the mother of twelve 
children, namely : Thomas, John, died young ; Sarah, 
also died young; Elizabeth, John, Sarah, Robert, 
Edmund, Hannah, William, Deborah and Samuel. 

(III) John Rand, third son and fifth child of 
Thomas and Sarah (Edenden) Rand, was born in 
Charlestown, May 25. 1664, died September 24, 
l 737- He was a maltster. December 2, 1685. he 
married Mehetabel, daughter of John and, Hannah 
(Kettell) Call, who died March 25, 1727J and on 



53 2 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



October 14, 1*30. he married for his second wife 
Wary, widow of Job Randall. She died September 
22. 1757, aged eighty-five year-. John Rand was the 
father of fifteen children, namely : Mehetabel, Sarah, 
died young; John, Hannah, Jonathan. Sarah. Re- 
becca, also died young; Benjamin, Thomas, Caleb, 
Isaac and Rebecca, twins, both died in infancy; 
another Rebecca, died at the age of three months; 
Edmund and Richard. 

(IV) Benjamin Rand, third son and eighth 
child of John and Mehitabel (Call) Rand, was linn 
March 17, 1700. He was of Hassanimisco, now 
Grafton, Massachusetts, and followed the carpen- 
ter's trade. The christian name of his wife was 
Abigail and his children were: Benjamin, Thomas 
and John. Abigail survived her husband and was 
married a second time to Nathan Carpenter, of Dud- 
ley, Massachusetts. 

(V) Thomas Rand, second son of Thomas and 
Abigail Rand, was horn April 2, 1727. He was a 
housewright and resided in Weston, Massachusetts. 
His death occurred March 23, 1805. His first wife, 
whom he married April 25, 1750, was Esther Carter, 
who was born April 19, 1730, daughter of Daniel 
Carter. She died June 3, 1771. On April 11. 1772, 
he married for his second wife Elizabeth Estabrook, 
who was born November 12, 1730, daughter of John 
and Prudence Estabrook. Elizabeth died October 4, 
1815. His children were: Sarah, Benjamin, Daniel, 
Thomas, Esther, Jonathan, John, Nathan, Elisha 
and Elijah (twins), the latter died young; Eliza- 
beth and another Elijah. 

(VI) Jonathan Rand, fourth son and sixth child 
of Thomas and Esther (Carter) Rand, was born 
November 6. 1761. He settled in Hopkinton, Mas- 
sachusetts, but later removed to Keene, New Hamp- 
shire, and he died February 11, 1838. In 1794 he 
married Anna Fiske, who was born in Antrim, New 
Hampshire, June 13, M773. and his ten children 
were: Elisha, Anna, Sally, Thomas, died young; 
Lovicy, Thomas, Almira. Jonathan. Isaac and Wil- 
liam. 

(VII) Elisha Rand, eldest child of Jonathan and 
Anna (Fiske) Rand, was born in Hopkinton, Mas- 
sachusetts, December 12. 1704- In early manhood 
he operated a saw and gristmill in Alstead, New 
Hampshire, and also there cultivated a farm. In 
1840 he established his residence in Keene, and for 
the succeeding thirty-four years was employed in 
a responsible capacity at the Faulkm 1 ilony 
lumber mill. He relinquished the activitii 

about the year 1875, and he died .Much 11. 1880. 
He was one of the founders of the Second Congre- 
gational Church, Keene. On March 13. 
married Betsey Hall, who was born in Whiti 
Vermont, October 24. 1800, and her death occurred 
January 12, 1851. lie ntly married .Mrs. 

I.ydia Gould Griffin, and his third wif nces 

M, Stnne\ .nil He 1 

Charles Fiske, horn January 12, [821; Sarah Hall, 
born September jo. [822; George Hall, born April 
7, 1825; Thomas Cornelius, who will lie again re- 
ferred to; Cornelia Elizabeth, born June 11, 183 1 ; 
Ellen Maria, born Octob 1. Edward Lyman, 

born November II, [838; and William Henry, who 
was bom May ;. 1840, The last nan 
Congregational minister and 1 lie' depart- 

ibor, Washington, I). C. 

(VIII) Thomas Cornelius Rand, third son and 
fourth child of Elisha and Betsey (Hall I Rand, 
was born in Alstead, November 16, 1828. Ili- 
studies in the public schooU were supplemented with 



a course at the Keene Academy, and he began the 
activities of lite as a new-boy. In 1S43 he entered 
the printing office of Messrs. J. & J. W. Prentiss, 
became an expert compositor and worked his way 
forward to the editorship of the New Hampshire 
Sentinel and retained it continuously up to 1893. a 
period of twenty-eight years, during which tune 
this well-known newspaper was one of the 1 
prominent political organs in the state, and although 
he withdrew from the editorial management in 1893, 
he prefers to vary the monotony of retirement by 
frequently contributing articles upon timely topics 
which are both vigorous and interesting. Mr. Rand 
is now I.1907) in his sixty- fourth year of service 
on the Sentinel. 

For many years Mr. Rand was a leading spirit 
in local civic affairs, and one of the most prominent 
Republicans in the state. Prior to the incorporation 
of Keene as a city he served with ability as a select- 
man and a- town clerk, and for twenty years was 
a member of the Republican town committee. He 
was a delegate to the Republican National Con- 
vention in Cincinnati in 1870, which nominated 
Rutherford B. Hayes for the presidency. His fra- 
ternal affiliations are with the Masonic Order, and 
his popularity, social, political and otherwise, is 
easily traceable to his intellectual attainments, high 
personal character and unusually amiable disposition. 
He attends the First Congregational Church. Mr. 
Rand is the author of an interesting pamphlet, pub- 
lished in 1S95. embodying the salient points in the 
history of Keene. 

On January 28, 1S51. or 1852, Mr. Rand married 
Mary Ann Smith, daughter of Asa C. and Esther T. 
(Eaton) Smith. One child was born of this mar- 
riage, Frank C, died while a student at West Crat- 
tleboro, Vermont. Mr. and Mrs. Rand reside at 
[84 Washington street, Keene. 



This surname was first taken by s me 
WOODS one who lived "at the woods'' or "by 
the woods." and wdio used this phrase 
to distinguish himself from others having th( 
christian or fore-name, by designating his place 
of residence. Subsequently the locative phrase was 
shortened to Atwood, Bywood, Woods, or 
and regularly used as a surname. The numerous 
families in America named Woods are not all de- 
scended from a single immigrant ancestor, but from 
various foil to America at different 

times. The name is a very common name through- 
out New England, and is one of those found at a 
early date in the settlement of the colony 01 
sachusetts. Nearly all of the name in Groton, Shir- 
ley, Pepperell and Dunstable are believed to be 
from one ancestor. His descendants were numer- 
ous, and have taken parts in the wars for the pro 
tcction of the country and in the measure to build 
up the nation from the early times. Two of the 
name from Groton were killed in Lovell's light with 
the Indians at Pequacket, 1725. From the Woods 
family of Groton comes the Woods line of New 
1 lampshire. 

1 I 1 Samuel Woods, probably a native of Eng- 
land, was one of the original and ancient pro- 
prietor oi G Massachusetts, to whom an 
eleven acre right was i lot was a 
little south 01 the Lawrence Academy of these years. 
Ill- wife's name was Alice, and they were the 
parents of six children : Thomas, Elizabeth, Nathan- 
iel, Mary. Abigail and 1 lantiah. 

(ID Nathaniel, second son and third child of 




c^£* 



O-X-r-f^ei/S/ 



A£^ 'L<zc^-i_c£^^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



533 



Samuel and Alice Woods, born in Groton, March 
27, 1668, was a man of good standing, and was one 
of the committee of the "Proprietors of Groton" 
who laid out lo,ts in that town in 1721. His wife's 
name was Alice, and they had twelve children: 
Nathaniel, Daniel, John, Isaac, Bathsheba. Hannah, 
Phebe (died young), Aaron, Moses, Reuben, Phebe, 
and Jonathan. 

(Ill) John, third son and child of Nathaniel and 
Alice Woods, was born in Groton, March 4, 1698. 
He married, June 3, 1725, Sarah Longley, by whom 
he had nine children : Sarah. John. Susanna, Alice 
Lucy, John, Benjamin, Abigail, and David, whose 
sketch follows. 

I IV ) David, fourth son and youngest child of 
John and Sarah (Longley) Woods, born in Groton, 
December 31, 1746,. settled in Deering, New Hamp- 
shire, where he was a farmer. He married Deborah 
Swallow, of Groton. and they were the parents of 
eleven children, all of whom were born in Groton. 
Their names are : David, Deborah, Sarah, William. 
Ezra, Warren, Silas, Emerson, Charlotte, Ziba and 
Imri. 

(V) William L., second son and fourth child 
of David and Deborah (Swallow) Woods, was born 
in Groton, January 7. 1776, and died March 29, 1847, 
He- settled in Henniker in 1800, purchasing the mills 
at West Henniker. He was a clothier by trade, and 
the first to carry on the manufacture of cloth to any 
extent in that town, in which enterprise his youngest 
brother was a partner. He was an energetic, in- 
dustrious man, of sound judgment, and one of the 
most substantial citizens of the town during his life 
there. He was selectman in 1813-14-15, and repre- 
sented the town in the legislature in 1832 and 1833. 
He married, in 1805, Betsey D. Dutton, born in 
Hillsborough. 17S1, and died in Henniker, October 
31, 1849. They were the parents of ten children : 
Frederick. Maria, Dutton, Fidelia. Jeannette. Lo- 
villa. Juliana, Benjamin F., William L. L. and 
George A. 

(VI) Dutton, second son and third child of 
William L. and Betsey D. (Dutton) Woods, was 
born in Henniker, October 19, 1809, and died in 
Concord, May 22, 1884. He attended school and 
worked in his father's mill until about twenty-one 
years of age, and then went into the employ of 
others as a carpenter and bridge builder for a time. 
He settled in Contoocook about 1850, and resided 
there until the spring of 1852. when he removed 
to Concord, which was his residence the remainder 
of his life. In 1837 he began the business of bridge 
building, which he ever afterward followed. From 
1837 to 1850 he was employed on the Hartford & 
New Haven, the Connecticut, White River & North- 
ern, Concord & Claremont. and Contoocook Valley 
railroads. In 1855 he became superintendent of bridges 
of the Concord railroad, and held that position as 
long as he lived. In twenty-five years he con- 
structed more than ten thousand lineal feet of truss 
bridging, and over four thousand feet of pile and 
truss bridges. He was a skillful mechanic, a 
trusted employee, an intelligent gentleman and a 
highly valued citizen. He was a Republican from 
the organization of the party (having been for- 
merly a Democrat), and as such was one of the 
representatives of ward 5, in Concord, in the legis- 
lature in 1874 and 1875. 

He married (first), December 21, 1837, Hannah 
L. Chase, born December 21, 181 1, daughter of 
Abram-and Keziah (Peaslee) Chase, of Henniker 
(see Chase, XI). She died in Contoocook. June 



27, 1845, and he married (second). May 9. 1848, 
Maria Peabody, born in Newport, New Hampshire, 
April 28, 1809, died in Concord, December 29. 1882, 
daughter of Ami and Sarah (Johnson) Peabody. 
Dutton and Hannah (Chase) Woods were the 
parents of one child, H. Maria Woods, born in 
Contoocook, June 16, 1S45, who graduated from 
the Concord High School, is a member of the South 
(Congregational) Church, and is well known in 
the religious, literary and social circles of Con- 
cord. She lives in the old homestead on Merri- 
mack street, which commands a fine view of the city 
and its eastern environs. The house was built in 
1856 by Mr. Woods, and sheltered him the re- 
mainder of his life. 

(I) Benjamin Woods, son of Thomas Woods, 
was born in Hartland, Vermont, April 8, 1810, and 
died in Canaan, New Hampshire, February 17, 
[874, aged almost sixty-four years. He resided at 
Woodstock, Vermont, for several years after his 
marriage, then lived at Suncook, and died at Ca- 
naan Depot, New Hampshire. During the greater 
part of his life he was a farmer. He married, De- 
cember 7, 1833, Mary Bugbee, born in Woodstock, 
Vermont, August 2S, 1807, who died in Canaan, 
New Hampshire, March 28, i860, aged fifty-two 
years. They had four children: Lyndon B., Susan 
M., Levi C. (mentioned below), and Alba. Lyn- 
don B. and Alba served three years in the Second 
New Hampshire Volunteers in the war of the Re- 
bellion. The latter is the only one of the family 
now (1906) living, was for many years a railroad 
engineer, and married Helen P. Colby, a sister of 
Belinda D. Colby, mentioned below. They live at 
Tunbridge, Vermont. 

(Ill Levi Cobb, second son and third child of 
Benjamin and Mary (Bugbee) Woods, was born in 
Woodstock, Vermont, March 22, 1840, and died in 
Concord, New Hampshire, October 19. 1903. He 
spent nearly all of his adult life in the operative 
department of railway service. He started as a 
young man as an employee in the rail shops at East 
Canaan, wdiere he worked about three years. He 
then took the position of fireman on the Boston & 
Maine railroad, running most of the time between 
Concord and West Lebanon. About four years later 
he was promoted to engineer, and for a epiarter of 
a century ran an engine over the same line of track 
on which he had run as a fireman. In 1888 his 
ability, efficiency, and long and faithful service were 
in a degree recognized, and he was made general 
agent of the northern division of the Boston & 
.Maine Railroad, with headquarters at West Leba- 
non. He discharged the duties of this office during 
fifteen years preceding his death, and up to within 
a few months of that event. He was a quiet, 
thoughtful man, always alert to the interests of his 
employers, and always possessed the fullest confi- 
dence of his superiors. He was a valued member of 
the Masonic fraternity, and his funeral was con- 
ducted by that order. He was also a member of the 
Order of Pilgrim Fathers. He married. August, 
i860. Belinda D. Colby, born in Deering. New 
Hampshire, July 7. 18^9. daughter of John and 
Orpba (Metcalf) Colby (see Colby. VII). They 
resided twelve years in West Lebanon, and twenty- 
five years in Concord, where Mr. Woods bought 
residence property which he greatly enlarged. Mrs. 
Woods is a member of the First Church (Congrega- 
tional) of Concord. They had no children of their 
own. but adopted Etta B. Colby, a daughter of James 
Colby. She lived in the home of her adoption 



; 54 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



twenty-one years, and married Herman McPherson, 
and now lives at West Lebanon. John Colby, son 
of Benjamin and Priscilla (Hogg) Colby, was born 
in Weare, and died at the house of Mr. Woods, in 
Concord, July 31, 1886, aged seventy-three years. 
He was a farmer in Weare and Henmker. He 
married Orpha Metcalf, born in Croydon, who died 
at the residence of her daughter, Helen P., in Som- 
erville, Massachusetts, March 26, 1892, aged eighty- 
one years. The children of this union were : Rob- 
ert, Samuel, Belinda D., Matilda A., Helen P., 
George P., Nancy and James B. 

This name has been borne by 
WOODBURY those who aided in redeeming the 
New England wilderness from 
the reign of savages, in redeeming the colonies from 
an oppressive rule by the Revolution, and in the 
development of American freedom and the moral 
and material forces that have made the United 
States pre-eminent among the nations. It was a 
pioneer name in New Hampshire, and present-day 
representatives are active in the twentieth century 
progress. 

(,1) The first of the name in America was John 
Woodbury', known as the "Old Planter,'' and often 
called ".bather Woodbury," who came from Devon- 
shire, England, and landed at Cape Ann, Massachu- 
setts, in 1624, among others, under the direction 
of the Dorchester Company. He was one of the 
original settlers of Beverly, whence he removed in 
1626 to Naumkeag, or Salem, and was one of the 
charter members of the First Church there. The 
settlement becoming prosperous, as prosperity was 
measured under the conditions then obtaining, the 
settlers became concerned about a patent of title 
from the crown, and John Woodbury was sent 
abroad to secure one. He went in 1027 and re- 
turned the next year, his mission being successful, 
and the title to their lands was guaranteed by a 
patent under date of March 19, 1628. Mr. Wood- 
bury was accompanied on his return by his eldest 
son, who had remained abroad on the first immi- 
gration. John Woodbury was made a freeman in 
1635, was deputy to the general court in the same 
year, and on November 4 of that year received a 
grant of two hundred acres of land, being his share 
of one thousand at the head of Bass river divided 
among five men. He had two wives, but the name 
of the first is unknown. That of the second was 
written variously in the early records as Ann, 
Agnes and Annis. His children were: Humphrey. 
Hannah, Amoas, Agnes, Abigail, Ann, John and 
Peter. (Mention of John and Peter and descend- 
ants forms a part of this article.) 

(II) Humphrey, eldest son and child of John 
and Ann Woodbury, was born in England, 1609-10. 
He was granted half an acre of land at Winter 
Harbor, January 2, 1636, for the fishing trade and 
to build on. During the same year he received a 
grant of forty acres, and an additional forty acres 
in the following year. On December 2, 1667, he 
secured by deed from Susannah Hollingsworth, of 
Salem, ten acres on the Cape Ann side. In 1652 
he purchased from Guido Bayley twenty acre-, with 
dwelling house and barn, in Beverly. It thus ap- 
pears that he was a large landholder for the time. 
No will is found on record, but his wife, Elizabeth, 
made a will which was proven November 26. 1689. 
Their children were : Thomas. John, Isaac, Hum- 
phrey, Susannah, William, Peter, Richard, Eliza- 
beth and Christian. 



(.Ill) Thomas, eldest child of Humphrey and 
Elizabeth Woodbury, was born about 1639 His 
first wife, Hannah, daughter of William and Eliza- 
beth Dodge, was a widow when he married her. 
She was baptized July 24, 1642. in the First Church 
of Salem, and married Samuel, son of John Porter, 
the emigrant. Samuel Porter died in 1651, leaving 
a son, John Porter, who settled in Wenham. Mr=. 
Hannah Woodbury died January' 2, 1688, and Mr. 
Woodbury was married April 29, 1690, to Eliza- 
beth, widow of Samuel Curtis. His death :s ap- 
proximately shown by the proving of her wiii April 
20, 1719. His children were : William, Samuel 
(died at twenty-three years old), Thomas. Urael, 
Hannah, Elizabeth, Susannah, Jonathan and Samuel. 
The last was the child of the second wife. 

(IV) Jonathan, fifth son and eighth child of 
Thomas and Hannah (Dodge) Woodbury, was born 
September 12, 1082, and was married Mai 25, 
1708, to Eleanor, daughter of Benjamin and Mary 
Ellingwood. She was baptized June 26, 1692, and 
died 1759. He passed away in 1773-74, and his will 
was proved February- 7, 1774. His children were: 
Benjamin, Hannah, Eleanor, Jonathan, Elizabeth, 
Cornelius, Nathaniel, Johannah, Eunice, Anna, Ed- 
ward and Susannah. 

(V) Nathaniel, fourth son and seventh child 
of Jonathan and Eleanor (Ellingwood) Woodbury, 
was born April 1, 1720, in Salem, Massachusetts, 
and died December 24. 1805, in Salem, New Hamp- 
shire. He was dismissed from the church in Salem 
to the church in Methuen, Massachusetts, June 1, 

• 1740, and settled in the latter town. He was mar- 
ried September 24, 1747, to Abigail, daughter of 
Benjamin and Anna Dike. She was baptized 
February 26, 1721. 

(VI) Israel, son of Nathaniel and 

(Dike) Woodbury, was born December 10. 1759. 
in Salem, New Hampshire, and died at the age of 
ninety-nine years and ten months. He was mar- 
ried in 1774 to Sarah Smith. He was a -<Mdier 
of the Revolution, serving through the entire drug- 
gie, was taken by Indians and carried into Canada 
and detained there a number of years; finally es- 
caped from the Indians and walked home to Sal 
New Hampshire, bringing his gun with him. He 
married Elizabeth Hall, who bore him eleven chil- 
dren. 

(VII) Asa. eldest son of Captain Israel and 
Elizabeth (Hall) Woodbury, was born in Salem, 
New Hampshire. May 3, 1784. and died there May 
17, 1847. He was a mason by trade and worked in 
Boston for many years ; he later returned to a farm 
in Salem. He was one of the prominent men of 
the town and a valued member of the 1 
Church. Though an ardent abolitionist, he was 
highly esteemed by his townsmen of dirfereing 
opinions, and was elected selectman and served s 'me 
time in that office. He married Sarah Thorn, who 
was born January 3. 1787, and died June 10. I 
daughter of William Thorn. Their children were : 
Charles, George, Isaac, only one living, and Eliza- 
beth. 

(VIII) Isaac, third son and child of Asa and 
Sarah (Thorn) Woodbury, was born in Salem, 
August 11, 1822. He lived on his father's home- 
stead and attended the common schools and the 
academy at South Newmarket. At the age of six- 
teen he became a clerk in a drygoods house in 
Boston, where he continued until 1847. Then the 
death of his father required him to return home 
and take charge of the farm, and from that time 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



000 



until retiring he was one of the leading farmers in 
that section of the country, tilling a farm of one 
hundred and fifty acres with skill and success. At 
one time he made a specialty of raising Devon 
cattle which, he sold for breeding purposes in vari- 
ous parts of New England. In politics he was 
upheld the principles of the Republican party since 
its formation, and has filled various offices of trust 
through the suffrages of the members of that p 
He served as selectman three years, represented 
Salem in the legislature two years, and was one of 
the commissioners of Rockingham county three 3 
He is a man of quick observation, good judgment. 
broad intelligence, strong character, and pro- 
nounced views. He has been a strong advocate of 
temperance, and for over sixty years has been a 
member of the Methodist Church. He has ever 
been an active worker for n -. and for 

many years was steward, trustee. Sunday school 
superintendent, and class leader of the church in 
Salem. Xow. though eighty-rive years old, he is 
physically and mentally active and enjoys the plea- 
sures of living. He married (.first) j n Colli 
Massachusetts, October I, 1846, Caroline \Y. Par- 
ker, who was born in Cohasset, Massachu; 
October 2, 1823, and died in Salem. Xew Hamp- 
shire, March 2, 1883, aged sixty years, daughter of 
John and Mary (.Lawrence) Parker. Married I sec- 
ond) Martha C. (.Black) Smith, who was born in 
Putney, Vermont, June iS. 1838. daughter of Ho- 
race and Betsy Black, and widow of Joseph YV. 
Smith. The children, all by the first marriage, 
were: 1. Albert A., died in infancy. 2. 1 
F., a resident of Allston, Massachusetts, and 
senior member of the firm of Woodbury & Leigh- 
ton, contractors and builders of Boston : he married 
Emma F. Woodbury, who bore him ten children, 
namely: Florence Caroline. Gertrude Marie, mar- 
ried Walter G. Dawling, two children: Franklin 
and Helen: Emma Grace. Alice Louise, married 
Thomas Ashley, children: Thomas and Gertrude; 
Clarence Parker, married and is the father of >me 
child ; Mabel Frances, Robert Lawrence. Willard 
Dana, Helen Head and Francis Canton. 3. Sarah 
E., married John W. Hall, of Methuen, Massachu- 
setts, four children : John W.. married Dora Ban- 
nister, two children; Bertha. Edward P. and Al- 
bert. 4. Mary C, married C. E. Austin, of Me- 
thuen. 5. Charles H. resides in Allston, and is 
a member of the firm of Mitchell. Woodbury & 
Company, Boston, importers and wholesale dealers 
in crockery and Japanese goods. He married Car- 
rie Partridge, two children : Marion Willard and 
Constance. 6. John P., deceased. 

(II) John (2). son of John (1) and Agnes 
Woodbury, was called John, senior. , in distinction, 
from a son of Humphrey Woodbury, who lived 
in the same community, the terms corresponds - 
"first" and "second." of modern usage. There is 
no record relative to his occupation, neither is there 
a settlement of his estate to be found in the E--ex 
records. The maiden surname of his wife is also 
unknown. Her christian name was Elizabeth, and 
after his death she became the second wife f 
Captain John Dodge. John (.2) and Elizabeth 

' Woodbury were the parent^ of five children, 
namely : Elizabeth, John. Abigail, Ebenezer and 
Hannah. 

(III) Ebenezer, youngest son and fourth child 
of John and Elizabeth Woodbury, was baptized at 
the First Church, Salem, July 3. 1667. He re- 
sided on what was known as the Royal (Salem) 



side, and operated a gristmill. He also owned prop- 
erty in Beverly and power to administer his estate 
was granted his widow, Hannah, July 1, 1714. Her 
will was dated August 1, 1748, and proved May 2, 
1757. She bequeathed to her son Nathaniel two 
acres of land in Salem. Ebenezer and Hannah 
Woodbury had thirteen children, namely : Hannah, 
Abigail, Sarah, Elizabeth, Mary, Martha, Ruth, 
Priscilla, Mehitable, Ebenezer, John, Jerusha and 
Nathaniel. 

(IV) Nathaniel, youngest son and thirteenth 
child of Ebenezer and Hannah Woodbury, was bap- 
tized in Beverly, July 31, 1715, which was after his 
father's death. It is recorded that on December 
I2 . I 735. '36, he disposed of his right of inheritance 
in his fathers estate to William Woodbury, of 
Beverly, joiner, for the sum of fifty pounds. On 
April 25 " he purchased of Joshua Woodbury 
a piece of property in Methuen. Massac'.; ■ 
taining eighty acres of upland and swamp. A record 
at hand states that he resided in Salem, New Hamp- 
shire, and as that town was originally a part of 
Methuen it is quite probable that his property was 
included within the limits of Xew Hampshire some 
time during his life. There is, how r ever, no settle- 
ment of his estate on record in Rockingham county. 
His wife, Rebecca, 'was received into the church at 
Beverly, March 23, 1735, and dismissed to the 
Second Parish in Methuen, June I, 1740. His chil- 
dren were : Rebecca, Hannah, Anna. Nathaniel, 
Sarah, John, Luke and Mehitable. 

(V) Lieutenant Luke, son of Nathaniel and 
Rebecca Woodbury, was baptized in Salem. Xew 
Hampshire, June 23. 1 751. His farm was on the 
road leading from Salem Centre to Canobie Lake, 
where he lived until his death which occurred March 
6, 1S27. He enlisted in Captain Elisha Wood- 
bury's company, April 23, 1775. and was appointed 
corporal. His company joined General Stark's 
regiment, the First Xew Hampshire, and marched 
to Medford, Massachusetts. They were stationed 
at the "rail fence" at the battle of Bunker Hill, 
where Corporal Woodbury w : as wounded. He re- 
mained with the army near Boston until after the 
evacuation, and then went with the foi 
Washington to Albany. He was appointed ser- 
geant in April, 1776. The following certir. 
among his papers. "State of Xew Hampshire. la 
Committee of Safety, May 10. 1777. This may 
certify that Luke Woodbury of Salem is appointed 
Ensign of the Company commanded by Captain 
Caleb Robinson, in Colonel Enoch Hale's Battalion, 
and his Commission is to be made out an<. 

him immediately. M. Weare, Chairman." 

September 20. 1777. he was promoted to a lieu- 
tenancy for meritorious conduct at the bat : 
Bemis' Heights. The following is a partial list 
of the battles in which he was engaged : Bunker 
Hill, Trenton, Princeton, Hubbardstown. Bemis' 
Heights, Stillwater. Saratoga, Monmouth. Che- 
mung (expedition under General Sullivan 
the Indians). He was twice stationed at C 
Point and Ticonderoga, was in command of Fort 
Montgomery in the autum of 17S0. and was in the 
service, from April 23. 1775. until April 10. 17S1. 
The Haverhill (Massachusetts) Gazette in its 
issue of April 28, 1S27. speaks of him as f 
"He was a brave and meritorious officer of the 
Revolutionary War, and continued service there un- 
til within a few months of its close. The circum- 
stance of his having left the service at the time 
he did, unfortunately deprived him of five years' 



53<5 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



pay to which he would have been entitled, had he 
continued to serve to the close of the war. In early 
liie he discovered an ardent attachment to the cause 
of liberty and the inalienable rights of man. When 
the tocsin of war sounded through the land, and 
summoned the foes of tyranny to -land forth and 
proclaim to the assembled world their readiness to 
die freemen, rather than to live slaves, our youth- 
ful hero prompt to the call yielded up the delights 
of home, and on Bunker's heights gave full earnest 
of his heroism and future usefulness to his coun- 
try. On the retreat of the Americans from this 
'sacred spot,' being attached to the rear guard, 
and fearless of danger which surrounded him. hu- 
manity prompted him to delay his march, which he 
did by taking a wounded man upon his shoulders, 
thereby encountering additional danger, until In- 
landed him in a place of safety, lie was attached 
to General Sullivan's army during his campaign 
into New York, and displayed much bravery and 
presence of mind in several skirmishes with the 
Indians, the particulars of which are fresh in the 
memories of his surviving companions. lie was 
present at the capture of General Burgoyne' in 
1777" 

i in leaving the army he returned to his native 
town, where he exhibited proof of his merit, as a 
kind, tender husband, an affectionate parent, a pa- 
triotic and Christian philanthropist. March II, 1792, 
he married Elizabeth Kemp, born in 1761, died 
January 21, 1841. Following is an account of his 
children: Luke, born July 5, 1753, married, July 
5. 1807, Betsey Saunders. Sarah, April 5, 1785, 
married Thomas Saunders. Mary, January 26, 1787, 
married Seth Partridge. Solomon, May 5, 1790. 
died unmarried 1816. Anna, February 26, 1792, 
married Captain Henry Walker. Nathaniel, May 
2, 1 7<J4. is noticed at length below. Elizabeth, Oc- 
r 3. 1796, died at the age of sixteen. Clarissa, 
June 9, 1799, married David Woodbury. Washing- 
ton. April 28, 1803, married Dolly Head Jone-. 
(Tin la-t named and descendants are noticed at 
length in this article.) 

(VI) Nathaniel (2), third son of Luke and 
Elizabeth (Kemp) Woodbury, was born on the old 
homestead, and was a prominent citizen of his 
town. He was a Democrat in politics, and tilled 
the offices <>f overseer of the poor and selectman, 
and represented the town in the legislature in 1844- 
45. lie married Abigail Gordon, of Salem Village, 
daughter of Joshua Gordon. The children of this 
marriage were: Oliver G.. Mary G., Harriet (died 
young 1, Orlando Hines, Edwin, Almira Josephine, 
Alonzo, Harriet, Jackson. John. Andre and Eliza. 

fYlI) Orlando Hines, fourth child and second 
son of Nathaniel and Abigail (Gordon) Woodbury, 
was born in that part of Salem now called Mill 
ville. November 6, 1825, and died November <>. 1889, 
aged sixty-four. He attended the public schools 
and Atkinson and Needham academies. The greater 
portion of his life he spent in fanning and making 
shoi owned a farm in Salem, and kep 

number of men to make shoe, for the manufacture 
<>t which he had contracts with parties in Lynn. 
For four years he was engaged in jobbing shoes m 
During the civil war he w as a sutler, 
and followed the Army oi the Potomac for two 
lie married, December 17, 1S49. Marj 
Elizabeth Corning, who was born in Londonderry, 

-her 13, 1827, daughter id' John and l.vdia 
< Richardson) Corning, of Londonderry, and cousin 
of Mayor Corning, of Concord. In her young days 



she used to go from Salem to sing in meeting at 
Lawrence, Massachusetts, then only a hamlet. She 
was educated in the common schools and at the 
Atkinson Academy, where she took a full course. 
Later she had a fashionable millinery establishment 
in Boston for four years. She still enjoys good 
health and has a retentive memory. One child was 
born of this union, Frank P., whose sketch fol- 
li iws. 

(VIII) Frank Perce, only son of Orlando H. 
and Mary Elizabeth (Corning) Woodbury, was 
born in Salem. October 24, 1850. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools, and at an early age 
learned shoemaking. In 1872 he bought a small 
school house about three miles from Salem Depot 
which he converted into a shop, and with a gang 
of men began making shoes on contract. He had 
to do his work under disadvantages, but persevered 
and made it a success. For some time he carried 
his sole leather to the nearby brook to wash it. 
1 lie first machine he ever bought cost sixty-live 
dollars, and was paid for in installments. In 1878 
he built a second factory which his business out- 
grew, and later he built his present factory at 
Salem Depot, wdiere he employs about eighty per- 
50ns and turns out annually many thousand pairs 
of men's, boys', and youths' medium and cheap 
grade shoes, for which he finds ready sale, prin- 
cipally in Australia, New Zealand, and other foreign 
countries. For the purpose of lighting his factory, 
he installed an electric plant, the first in the town, 
in which he invested about twenty thousand dollars, 
his son Ernest having the principal charge of the 
construction of the works. The plant has since be- 
come the property of a stock company, has a five 
hundred horse power dynamo and supplies the vil- 
lages of Salem and Salem Depot, and hotels and 
grounds at Canobie Lake. Through representative 
John \\ . Wheeler, Mr. Woodbury obtained a charter 
from the legislature for water works at Salem, and 
organized a company of which Mr. Wheeler became 
president, and Mr. Woodbury a director. This 
company constructed the present water works sys- 
tem which furnishes water from the Canobie Lake 
to Salem Depot and Salem Village. 

Mr. Woodbury's observation and inventive 
genius led him to the production of an improved 
shoe heel upon which he has obtained a patent, 
and besides the use of it in his own business he 

iys a considerable royalty paid by others who 

it. He has a one fourth interest in the Rock- 
ingham Hotel, and owns Other leal estate he-ides 

the most expensive and completely furnished resi- 
dence in the town. He is a successful manufac- 
turer, and owes his success to no one but himself. 
Such a man is usually right 011 public questions, 
reliable in every way, and popular with his fellow 
citizens. Mr. Woodbury is known to be popular 
by all who knew him. lie has been a delegate to 

many county, congressional and state conventions, 
and though a Democrat in polities he was elected 
in 1890 to the senate from district No. 21, which 
hail gone Republican for twentj two years before 
and ever since that time. 

Mr. Woodbury married, in Salem, 1872, Eliza- 
beth Rant, who was born in Maine. They have two 
children: Harry Orlando, who is engaged in farm- 
ing, and Ernest R.. who is manager of the Salem 
Electric, Heat. Light and Power Company. He mar- 
ried Anna Glenn, of Salem. They have a daughter, 
Emeline Josephine. 

(VI) Washington, youngest child of Luke and 




^^— ?x 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



537 



Elizabeth ( Kemp) Woodbury, was born in Salem, 
New Hampshire, April 28, 1803, and died in Boston 
at the home of his daughter, Mrs. I. F. Woodbury, 
November 14, 1891. He was a carpenter and lived 
in Concord in 1835. He went west in 1837, but 
returned the next year to Salem where he remained 
until 184;. when he again removed to Concord, and 
bought the house at No. 16 Thompson street, where 
he lived many years. In politics he was a lifelong 
Democrat of the Jeffersonian type. He married, 
June 1, 1830. Dolly Head Jones, born July 12, 1807, 
in Salem, died November 23. 1886. They had eight 
children: Charles Francis, born February 7, 1831, 
died April 7, 1862, unmarried. George Washing- 
ton, born October I, 1832, died August 22, 1853, 
unmarried, of yellow fever at Natchez, Mississippi, 
where In- was foreman in the office of the Natchez 
Weekly Mirror. Caroline Taylor, born September 
6. 1834, is unmarried and lives at 90 Gardner street, 
Allston, Massachusetts. Lucia Anne, born July 26, 
1836, died October 25, 1864, unmarried. Maria 
Elizabeth, born February 10. 1840, died September 
10, 1858. unmarried. Frank Dana, born April, 1842, 
resides in Concord, New Hampshire. Louis Au- 
gustus, born October I. 1844. lives at Groveland, 
Massachusetts. Emma Florence, born February 28, 
1S49. married Isaac F. Woodbury, and resides at 
90 Gardner street. Allston district, Boston, Massa- 
chusetts. 

(VII) Frank Dana, son of Washington and 
Dolly Head (Jones) Woodbury, born at Salem, 
April 15. 1842, was educated in the public schools. 
He learned printing and proofreading and was em- 
ployed for some years in newspaper and printing 
establishments. He carried on the printing business 
in Concord, New Hampshire, and afterwards in 
Everett. Massachusetts. On a certain occasion he 
was the owner of the New Hampshire Patriot for 
one day. From Massachusetts he removed to Con- 
cord, New Hampshire, in 1899. March 26, 1862, 
lie enlisted in Company G, Eighth Regiment, New 
Hampshire Infantry, and served until January 18, 
1865. He took part in all the battles in which his 
regiment was engaged, was twice wounded, and was 
discharged with the rank of quartermaster sergeant. 
He is post commander of E. E. Sturtevant Post, 
No. 2. Grand Army of the Republic ; past grand 
of White Mountain Lodge, No 3, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows; and past chief patriarch of 
Penacook Encampment, No. 2, of Concord. He 
was made a Mason in 1S67. and is past master of 
Eureka Lodge, No. 70. Ancient Free and Accepted 
Mason?, and thrice illustrious master of Horace 
Chase Council, No. 4; eminent commander of 
Mount Horeb Commandery, Knights Templar, all 
of Concord; most worshipful past grand master of 
Masons in New Hampshire, of which he is now 
grand secretary, past grand commander of Royal 
and Select Masters, and has received the thirty-third 
degree. Fie married, July 21, 1868, Imogene Ste- 
vens, daughter of Zelotes and Susan M. Stevens, 
of Northfield, Vermont, born March 17, 1851. They 
have one son : George Stevens, born February 16, 
1S70, who married Katherine Donnelly, and has one 
daughter. Frances Imogene. 

(VII) Louis A., son of Washington and Dolly 
Head (Jones) Woodbury, was born in Salem. New 
Hampshire, October I, 1844. He was educated in 
the public schools of Concord. At the age of eight- 
een he enlisted in Company D, Sixteenth Regiment, 
New Hampshire Volunteers, and served until the 
muster out. After his discharge at Concord he 
vent to Washington, District of Columbia, and was 



employed by the government as a forage master. 
Returning to New Hampshire he began the study 
of medicine at Harvard University, February 14, 
1872, and soon after settled in Groveland, Massa- 
chusetts, where he has since practiced his profes- 
sion. He is a member of the Massachusetts Medi- 
cal Society, New Hampshire Association of Army 
Surgeons, Harvard Alumni Association, Haverhill 
Medical Club, surgeon of Post 101, Grand Army 
of the Republic, and has been United States ex- 
amining surgeon for pensions. He is a member of 
the Society of the Sons of the American Revolution, 
president of the Village Improvement Society, chair- 
man of the board of trustees of the public library, 
a justice of the peace, and secretary and treasurer 
of the Groveland Mutual Fire Insurance Company. 
He is also a member of the Northeastern Historic- 
Genealogical Society, Haverhill and West New- 
bury Historical societies, Essex Institute, Doric 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of Tilton. New 
Hampshire : has been a member of Union Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons, of Laconia, for more than 
thirty-five years, and a Knight Templar of Haver- 
hill Commandery, of which he has been prelate to 
generalissimo. Dr. Woodbury has contributed 
several papers to the medical societies of which he 
is a member, and has done considerable historical 
and genealogical work. Among his papers and 
published works are: "A Contribution to the Early 
History of Medicine in Haverhill, Massachusetts"; 
"Early Ministers of Bradford": "An Historical 
Sketch of Bradford in the Revolution"; "Inscrip- 
tions from the Old Cemetery in Groveland, Massa- 
chusetts." 

Dr. Woodbury has been twice married, first to 
Alice Chester Stanwood, who died in 1889; sec- 
ond to Helen Ney Robinson, of Portsmouth, New 
Hampshire. 

Dolly Head Jones, wife of Washington Wood- 
bury, was descended from the following ancestry: 

(1) Evan Jones, a native of Wales, lived in 
Methuen, Massachusetts, and died February 26, 1764, 
aged seventy-four years. His wife was Lydia Ord- 
way, of Newbury, Massachusetts. 

(2) Evan (2), son of Evan (1) and Lydia 
(Ordway) Jones, was born December 14. 172S. in 
Methuen, and lived in Salem, New Hampshire, 
where he died, 1807, in his eightieth year. He was 
married (first) in December, 1753. to Rachel Emer- 
son. His second wife was Rebecca Ladd, who was 
born January 3. 1731, in Haverhill, Massachusetts. 

(3) Hezekiah. son of Evan (2) and Rebecca 
(Ladd) Jones, was born June 13, 1769, in Salem, 
and was married July 29, 1790. to Lydia Allen. 
He married (second), October 28, 1796, Dolly 
Head, who was born November 9, 1775. a daughter 
of General Nathaniel Head (see Head, IV). He 
resided on the Turnpike in Salem until his death, 
August 24, 1824. His wife survived him many 
years, dying November 2, 1857, at Sanbornton 
Bridge. 

(4) Dolly Head Jones, daughter of Hezekiah 
and Dolly (Head) Jones, became the wife of Wash- 
ington Woodbury, as above related (see Head). 

(II) Peter, youngest child of John and Agnes 
Woodbury, was born 1640 in Salem, and was mar- 
ried in 1665 to Abigail Bachelder, who was bap- 
tized February 12. 1642. She died soon after the 
birth of her only child, Peter, who was born in 1666, 
and receives further mention in the course of this 
article. Mr. Woodbury married (second) in July, 
1667, Sarah, daughter of Richard Dodge. He was 
made a freeman in 166S, and was selectman in 



30 



S 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1679, deacon in 1689. and deputy to the general 
court in 1689 and [693. He died July 4, 1704, and 
his widow survived until 1726. reaching the 
age of eighty-four years. They had eight children, 
namely : Josiah, Sarah, Abigail, Martha, Jeremiah, 
Ann, Priscilla and Rebeckah. 

(III) Josiah Woodbury, son of Peter and 
Sarah (Dodge) Woodbury, was born June 15, 1682. 
He married, in 1708, Lydia Herrick, and had one 
son, Josiah, and four daughters. 

(IV) Josiah, Jr., only son of Josiah and Sarah 
(Dodge) Woodbury, was born February 15. 1709, 
and died in 1773. He married Hannah Perkins, of 
Ipswich, Massachusetts, who died in 1761, aged 
forty-six years. They had two sons, Peter and 
Josiah, and four daughters. 

(V) Peter, son of Josiah, Jr., and Hannah 
(Perkins) Woodbury, was born in Beverly, Massa- 
chusetts, March 28, 1738, and died October 11, 1817. 
His cousins, Josiah and James Woodbury, of Fran- 
cestown. New Hampshire, served several campaigns 
in the French and Indian wars, and a tradition in 
the family is that Peter also was out on one expe- 
dition to Lake George, although during his early 
life he is known to have spent some years as a sea- 
faring man. In 1773 he went to Amherst, New 
Hampshire, and settled at what now is Mont Ver- 
non. He served several years as selectman, repre- 
sentative to the general court in 1776-77, and mem- 
ber of the first constitutional convention of New 
Hampshire. He was the first man in the town to 
subscribe to the test oath, and his name is found 
in the records of the town after Mont Vernon was 
set off. He removed to Antrim about the year 1S00 
and took up his residence with his son, Mark Wood- 
bun', then a merchant in that town. In 1760 Peter 
Woodbury married Mrs. Elizabeth Rea, widow of 
James Rea, and a granddaughter of Richard Dodge, 
of Beverly. Massachusetts. She is described as a 
"woman of shrewdness and energy." She died in 
Antrim. April 19, 1812. at the age of sixty-nine 
years. The children of Peter and Elizabeth (Dodge- 
Rea) Woodbury were: Levi, Jesse, Peter, Betsey, 
Hannah and Mark. 

(VI) Mark, youngest child of Peter and 
Elizabeth (Dodge-Rea) Woodbury, was born in 
Amherst (now Mont Vernon), New Hampshire, 
January 1. 1775. and died in Antrim, New Hamp- 
shire, March 17. 1X2S. When a young man he started 
out for himself and was a storekeeper in 1 lan- 
cock. New Hampshire, as early as 1793. In the 
following year he removed to Antrim and for four 
years kept store in one end of his house, having 
only one room in which to live. Six years after- 
ward, in 1S00, he moved his store to the opposite 
side of the highway and enlarged his house to the 
proportions of a comfortable dwelling, suited to 
his improved circumstances and the requirements of 
his family. lie engaged in merchandizing and 
farming for many years, and eventually became one 
of the wealthiest men in town lie also filled 
a number of important offices, such as justice of the 
peace and representative to the general assembly. 
Mr. Woodbury married Alice Boyd, who was I 
June J |, [780, and is described as "a woman of 
rare attractions and unusual ability and force." She 
was a daughter of Deacon Joseph Boyd, grand- 
daughter of Captain William Boyd, ami was de- 
scended from an ancient and distinguished Scotch 
family. She died in Antrim April 15, 1858, aged 
seventy-eight years. The children of Mark and 
Alice (Boyd) Woodbury were: Luke, Sabrina. 



Mary, Betsey 1 died in extreme infancy), 
Mark B., Fanny, Nancy. Levi and John. 

(VII) Sabrina, eldest daughter and 51 
child of Mark and Alice (Boyd) Woodbury, was 
born in Antrim, February 4. 1804, and died in 
Johnson, Vermont, May 8, 1856. She married. May 
20, 1828, George W. Hill. Their children who grew 
to maturity are: George W., Mary D., Alice R., 
Susan S., wife of Dr. Morris Christie of Antrim 
(see Christie. VI), and John R., who remo\ 
Johnson, Vermont. 



This family is of English ancestry, 
CORNING and its American branch took 1 

Beverly, Massachusetts, where its 
immigrant ancestor settled shortly after his arrival. 

(I) Ensign Samuel Corning, who was in Bev- 
erly as early as 1638 and admitted a freeman in '641, 
died there -prior to March 11, 1694. leaving a widow 
Elizabeth and three children — Samuel. Elizabeth 
and Remember. He was an extensive landholder, 
and built a dwelling house in the immediate vicinity 
ot the First Church. This residence was destroyed 
by fire in 1686, and he thereafter resided on his 
farm, which was located some two miles from the 
village. His ability and personal character were 
such as to command the respect and confidence of 
his fellow-townsmen, by whom lie was elected to 
some of the important public offices. When the 
Cabot street sewer was constructed (1893) it fell to 
the lot of one Samuel Corning, of New Hampshire, 
one of the supervisors, to carry it through the an- 
cient cellar of what was once the residence of his 
ancestor. 

(II) Samuel (2^. sen of Samuel (1) and Eliza- 
beth Corning, was born in 1641. He resided in 
Beverly, and about the year 1600 he married Han- 
nah Batchelder. who was born May 25. 1645. daugh- 
ter of John and Elizabeth (Herrick) Batchelder. of 
Wenham, which was then a part of Salem. In 1644 
John Batchelder was sent to the general court as 
the first member of that body from Wenham, and he 
appears to have died in 1647. Samuel Corning died 
May 11, 1714, and the death of his widow occurred 
February 17. 171S. Their children were: Samuel, 
John. Joseph, and Daniel. 

(III) Samuel (3), son of Samuel (2) and Han- 
nah (Batchelder) Corning, was born in Beverly, 
June 1, 1670. He resided there his entire life, which 
terminated prior to [728. He was married about 

■ to Susannah Knowlton, who was tbout 

August 15. daughter of John and Susannah (Hut- 
ton) Knowlton, and a descendant in the fourth gen- 
eration of Captain William and Elizabeth Smith) 
Knowlton. John (3) Knowlton, who resided in 
Wenham. was twice married— first to Bethia Ed- 
ward-, daughter of Rice Edwards, of that town : 
second, to Susannah Mutton, also of Wenham. and 
his daughter Susannah, who became the wife of 
Samuel Corning, was of his second union. She be- 
came the mothi r of eight children, namely: Samuel, 
Jonathan. David, Elizabeth. Lydia, Jame<. Stephen 
and John. 

(IV) Samuel (4), son of Samuel (3) and 
Susannah (Knowlton) Corning, was born in !' 
erly. in n-o; October _'.;. 1717. he married Mary 
Dodge, who was born in Wenham. in 1695 or '06, 
daughter of John and Marv (Rridges) Dodere She 
was a granddaughter 1 f Captain John Dodge, and 
great-granddaughter of William Dodge, who settled 
in Salem a= earl) a- 1620, 

(V) John, <on of Samuel (4) anil Mary- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



539 



(Dodge) Corning, resided in that part of Windham, 
New Hampshire, which was annexed to Salem in 
1756. and he signed the association test in the last- 
named town in 1776. The maiden name of his wife 
is wanting, as is also the names of his children. 

(VI) Samuel (5), son of John Corning, of 
Salem, was born in that town, October 1, 1768. He 
was a prosperous farmer and a prominent citizen, 
taking an active part in the town affairs, and he 
served as a captain in the state militia. The latter 
years of his life were spent in Litchfield, where he 
died July 12. 1836. In politics he was a Whig. On 
August 17, 1793, he married Mary Cochran, daugh- 
ter of Captain Samuel and Sarah (Duncan) Coch- 
ran, of Litchfield. Samuel Cochran was among the 
so-called "gentlemen volunteers" who constituted 
the alarm and emergency service in the Revolution- 
ary war. and served as a private in Captain Mc- 
Quaid's company which was raised for the Ticon- 
deroga expedition in 1777. He afterwards attained 
the rank of captain, presumably in the militia. The 
children of Samuel and Mary Corning were : John 
C. Polly. Samuel, Rachel, Nathaniel. William F., 
Sarah and Eliza Ann. (Samuel and descendants 
receive mention in this article). 

(VII) John C, oldest son and child of Samuel 
Cochran (2) and Mary (Cochran) Corning, was 
born August 17, 1794, and died September 9, 1840. 
He married Elizabeth Nesmith, born in London- 
derry, New Hampshire, December 18, 1795. died No- 
vember 11, 1893, at the age of ninety-eight years, 
having survived her husband fifty-three years. They 
had six children: 1. Robert Nesmith, born October 
20, 1818. died June 13, 1866. 2. Samuel Cochran, 
born June 25, 1820, died in Boston in 1857. 3. Eliza 
A., born November 23. 1822, died February, 1005. 
4. Cyrus Nesmith, born December 27, 1826. lives in 
Concord. 5. Mary Jane, born March 23. 1829; lives 
in Corcord ; married Anson S. Marshall (see Mar- 
shall. VII). 6. John Franklin, born 1S33. died in 
New York in i860. 

(VIII) Robert Nesmith Corning, eldest child 
of John C. (3) and Elizabeth (Nesmith) Corning, 
was born in Londonderry, New Hampshire. In 
early life he was a stage driver, his routes covering 
the greater portion of the state. He was prominent 
in public affairs, and from 1855 until the Civil war 
was brigadier-general of New Hampshire militia. 
He was originally a Whig in politics, and became a 
Republican at the organization of that party, and 
was one of its first representatives elected to the 
legislature, in 1854-1855. In 1861 he was appointed 
postmaster at Concord by President Lincoln, and 
occupied the position until his death, June 13, 1S66. 
He married Mary Lougee Woodman, born in Gil- 
manton in 1817, died in Concord. February 26. 1898. 
She was deeply interested in the anti-slavery move- 
ment. Two children were born of this marriage : 
Charles Robert Corning, and Elizabeth, who mar- 
ried John White, and is now deceased. 

(VII) Samuel, second son and third child of 
Captain Samuel and Mary (Cochran) Corning, was 
born in Londonderry. November 16, 1798. When a 
young man he settled in Litchfield, where he en- 
gaged in farming, and for many years was the of- 
ficial surveyor of wood and lumber. He was in his 
earlier years a Whig in politics, and represented his 
district in the state legislature for two terms. He 
died March 13. 1869. He married Clarissa Darrah, 
daughter of James Darrah. of Bedford. She be- 
came the mother of three children, namely: Mary 
S., Samuel J. and Martha R. 



(VIII) Samuel James, son of Samuel and 
Clarissa (Darrah) Corning, was born in Litchfield, 
May 4, 1831. From the district schools of his 
neighborhood he went to the Manchester high school, 
and after the completion of his studies he engaged 
in farming at the old homestead. To this property, 
which has been in the family's possession since the 
days of his great-grandfather and originally con- 
sisted of one hundred acres, he had added an equal 
amount of adjoining land, and he devotes his ener- 
gies chiefly to the dairying industry, selling large 
quantities of milk annually. For the years 1901-2 
he represented Litchfield in the lower~branch of the 
state legislature as a Republican, and has in various 
other ways rendered able service to his fellow-towns- 
men. In his religious belief he is a Presbyterian. 
On November 5. 1856. Mr. Corning was united in 
marriage with Elizabeth M. Wells, daughter of 
Thomas and Lorinda (Martin) Wells, of Bedford. 
Of this union there are three children : Frank F., 
born January 12, 1859, married (first) Marion 
Brooks, of Manchester; (second) Zetta Quast. and 
is now located in Colorado, having one son. James, 
born January 20, iSgi. Samuel P.. born February 
3, 1861, married Eva Annis, of Londonderry, and is 
now residing in Brockton. Massachusetts. Clara B.. 
born July 31, 1868, married Frank A. Nesmith. of 
Londonderry, and they had children — Eva, de- 
ceased, and Adaline. Mrs. Samuel J. Corning is a 
member of the Baptist Church in Londonderry. 



The family of Herrick is among the 
HERRICK earliest of Massachusetts, and has 

contributed many useful citizens to 
the state of New Hampshire, as well as to other 
states, and is now widely disseminated throughout 
the Union. The name appears to be of Scandinavian 
origin and has undergone many modifications in its 
progress from "Eirikr, eric," to Herrick. taking the 
last form about the middle of the seventeenth cen- 
tury. 

(I) Henry Herrick, the patriarch of this family 
in America, was the fifth son of Sir William Her- 
rick, of Bow Manor Park, in the parish of Lough- 
borough, in the county of Lester, England. He 
came first to Virginia, and shortly removed thence 
to Salem in Massachusetts, and was accompanied by 
another immigrant from Loughborough named 
Cleveland, who was the ancestor of all of that name 
in this country. Mr. Herrick became a member of 
the First Church at Salem in 1629, and his wife 
Elizabeth about the same time. Charles W. L'pton's 
"Salem Witchcraft" says: "Henry Herrick was a 
husbandman' in easy circumstances, but undistin- 
guished by wealth, and was a dissenter from the es- 
tablished Church, and a friend of Higginson who 
had been a dissenting minister in Lester." He mar- 
ried Editha, daughter of Hugh Laskin, of Salem. 
She was born in 1614, and lived to be at least sixty 
years old. He died in 1671. They were among the 
first thirty who founded the first church in Salem. 
They had seven sons and one daughter, and all the 
sons were farmers. 

(II) Joseph, fifth son and child of "Henerie" 
or Henry and Editha (Laskin) Herrick, was bap- 
tized August 6, 1645, and died February 4. 1718, at 
Cherry Hill, a farm which had been purchased by 
his father from one Alford. Upton says : "He was 
a man of great firmness and dignity of character, 
and in addition to the care and management of his 
large farm was engaged in foreign commerce. * * * 
He was in the Narragansett fight." The state of 



540 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



things at that time is illustrated by the fact that 
"this eminent citizen, a large land-holder, engaged 
in prosperous mercantile affairs and who had been 
abroad, in 1692, when forty-seven years of age, was 
a Corporal in the Village Company. He was acting 
constable of the place, and as such concerned in the 
earlv proceedings connected with witchcraft prosecu- 

-." His title of governor would indicate that 
lie had been in command of the military post or dis- 
trict, or perhaps of a West India colony. He mar- 
ried. February 7. 1667. Sarah, daughter of Richard 
Leaeh of Salem She died about 1674. and he mar- 
ried, about 1677-78. Mary Endicott, of Salem, who 
died September 14. 1706. He married (third), June 
28. 1707. Mary, widow of Captain George Marsh, of 
Newbury, who survived him. The first wife bore 
him four children, and the second nine, namely: Jos- 
eph. Benjamin (died young), John. Sarah, Henry 
and Martyn (twins), Benjamin (died young). Try- 
phosa (died young), Rufus, Tryphosa, Elizabeth, 
Ruth and Edith. 

(Hit John, third son and child of Joseph and 
Sarah (Leach) Herrick. was born January 2?. 1671, 
in Salem, and hecame a farmer in Wenham. Massa- 
chusetts, where he died in 1742. He married Anna 
Woodbury, who was born 1674, and died T/69, aged 
ninety-five years. Their children were: Zachariah, 
Josiah (died young), John, Josiah, Sarah. Ann, 
Jerusha and Lois. 

( IV 1 Josiah. second son and child of John and 
Anna ( Woodbury) Herrick, was born February 6. 
1704. and died May 14, 1772. He was married No- 
vember 2. 1725, to Joanna Dodge, who died August 
27. 175=;. Their children were: Sarah, John, Josiah, 
Zachariah, Daniel, Joanna, Anna, Mary. David and 
Joshua. 

(V) Josiah (2), son and third child of Josiah 
(1) and Joanna (Dodge) Herrick, was born No- 
vember 10, ^733, and settled at Amherst. Xew Hamp- 
shire, where he died in 1799. He married Mary 
Lane, of Ipswich, who died in October. 1S07. aged 
seventy year=. Their children were: Mary. Joanna. 
Josiah, Lydia. William. Elizabeth, Daniel L.. Jane, 
Joseph, Sarah and Hannah. 

V] i Daniel Lane, seventh child of Josiah (2) 
and Man- ( Lane) Herrick, was born December 4. 
1771. in Wenham. Massachusetts, where he learned 
the cooper's trade. About 1790 he went to Mt. Ver- 
non, Xew Hampshire, whence he removed in 1802 to 
Merrimack, in the same county. Here he purchased 
sixty acres of intervale on the Merrimack river, 
close to the present villa'.;.' of Merrimack, and pro- 
lop the firm which is now among the 
finest in the state of Xew Hampshire. He subse- 
quently purchased res of hill land, and still 
later another tract of fifty acres, so that lie was the 

of land at the time 
of h . which occurred May 18, 1858. He 

was 1' of the Co inal Church, was in 

early life a Whig, later an \bolitionist, and lastly a 
Republi H p minent man in the town, 

serving as collector, as selectman, and was fre- 
quentl' called upon to settle estates. He was mar- 
"i. i" Hannah Weston, who was horn in 
K7 S ' * 1 ' W [V 1, and died at her 

Merrimack in r868, at the age of ninety 
yeai were the parents of four children: 

Thurza, the eldest, died on the homestead, at the 
age of seventy-six years. Franklin and Isaiah re- 
ceive further mention below. \i: 1 unmar- 
7. at the age of seventy-seven ' 

(VII 1 Franklin, elder son of Daniel L. and 



Hannah ( Weston 1 Herrick, was born in February, 
1805, at the family home in Merrimack, and died 
April 12, 1874, as a result of an accidental fall from 
a wagon. He grew up on his father's farm, and re- 
ceived such education as the common school of the 
neighborhood afforded, and at the age of twenty he 
acquired the trade of wheelwright. On attaining 
his majority he went to Bangor, Maine, where he 
was employed at his trade and at various woodwork- 
ing jobs. Through an accident he cut off the fingers 
of !iis right hand, but did not abandon labor, and 
was placed in charge of a jobbing shop. Soon after 
he purchased a farm in the town of Stetson, adjoin- 
ing Bangor, which he cleared up and after four years 
sold out and returned to Bangor, where he continued 
at his trade. By constant practice he had cultivated 
a very powerful grasp by means of the thumb and 
stump of his right hand and performed many feats 
which most people with sound hands would not care 
to attempt. On one occasion he was approached 
in his shop by a peddler, who began to ridicule the 
use of his right hand and express doubt as to his 
prowess. By the time Mr. Herrick had finished his 
demonstration upon the saucy peddler, the latter 
was prone to admit his superior power. Returning 
to his native town, Mr. Herrick opened a wheel- 
wright shop on the opposite side of the road from 
the paternal home, and also built a residence there. 
and continued for some time with his brother Isaiah 
di carry on business at that point. In i860 he pur- 
chased sixty-five acres adjoining the homestead on 
the north, and continued tilling this land until his 
death. This is also one of the finest farms in the 
state t f Xew Hampshire. Mr. Herrick was an at- 
tendant of the Congregational Church. Like his 
father he was a Whig and Republican. His public 
service consisted chiefly in that of town treasurer 
and selectman. He was an upright citizen, and re- 

:ted by his contemporaries. He was married May 
to. 1835, t0 Apphia JorVJan. who was born Septem- 
ber 15, 1S0S. in Harrington. Maine, a daughter of 
Wallace .Jordan. She died October 3, 1887, aged 
seventy-nine years and eighteen days. She was a 
member of the Baptist Church, and was the mother 
of a sin and daughter. The eldest of these. Sarah 
C, died unmarried at the age of nearly fifty years. 

(VIII) Henry Franklin, only son and si 
child of Franklin and Apphia (Jordan) Herrick. 
horn September 20. 1841, in Stetson, Maine, and 
was 5 ix years of age when he came with hi 
to Merrimack, where he has since resided. He at- 
tended the district school at Merrimack' until he 
reached the age of eighteen years. Tn the mean- 
time he had acquired the art of working in wood 
through his father's instructions and otherwise, and 
for four years he was employed in cabinet making 
bv Parker & Fletcher, of Merrimack. Going to 
Boston at the end of this time, he was employed in 
the manufacture of picture frames, and subsequently 
carried on the business for himself, covering a p 
iod of six years. He returned to Merrimack in July. 
[871, and settled on the farm with his father. wh 

mcing years made the aid of the son especially 
desirable. The house upon this farm is one him- 

' and fifty years old or more, and still affords a 
substantial and comfortable abode to its owner, who 
succeeded his father. .This dwelling was remodelled 
in 1853, and forty \ r ears later, in 1893, the present 
owner erected near it a very handsome and con- 
venient dairy barn, which has a floor area of forty 
by seventy-two feet. Mr. Herrick maintains an 
average of ten cows, and devotes his farm chiefly to 




PATRICK HERRICK. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



54i 



dairying, with success. He is a regular attendant of 
the Congregational Church, and is an independent 
Republican, and has served his town as selectman. 
He was for some time a member of the local Grange, 
in which his wife is still active. He was married 
November 22, 1871, to Katie A. Reagh, who was 
born August 20, 1843, in Maiden, Massachusetts, 
daughter of Thomas and Lydia (Hemenway) Reagh, 
natives respectively of Halifax, Nova Scotia, and of 
Maiden, Massachusetts, of Scotch and English de- 
scent. Three children complete the family of Mr. 
and Mrs. Herrick: Arthur R., born December II, 
1872, is the assistant of his father on the home farm. 
Frank T., born June 6, 1876, is a trainman on the 
Boston & Maine railroad, making his home with 
his parents. Affie Belle, born July 13, 1882. is the 
wife of Miles Cochran, residing in Merrimack, and 
has a daughter, Dorris Herrick, born June II, 1902, 
in Philipsburgh, Montana. Mrs. Herrick is a mem- 
ber of Mathew Thornton Chapter, Daughters of the 
American Revolution, of Nashua. 

(VII) Isaiah, younger son of Daniel L. and 
Hannah (Weston) Herrick, was born December 6, 
1S08. on the paternal homestead in Merrimack, where 
he passed his life and died February 25, 1887. When 
a young man he acquired the trade of wheelwright, 
but most of his life was devoted to farming, where 
he succeeded his father on the homestead. In 1840 
they built the brick house which is now occupied by 
Isaiah's son. Mr. Herrick engaged in general farm- 
ing, and was a member of Thornton Grange, Pa- 
trons of Husbandry, and kept in step with the 
progress of his day, being a successful and prosper- 
ous farmer. He refused to be a candidate for any 
official position, but was a strong supporter of his 
principles, which coincided with the general princi- 
ples promulgated by the Republican party. He was 
a regular attendant of the Congregational Church. 
He was married, in 1841, to Sarah A. Gage, who 
was born December ir, 1815, in Bedford, and died 
March 27, 1900, at her home in Merrimack. She 
was a daughter of Isaac and Polly (Ingalls) Gage, 
of old Bedford families. She was the mother of two 
children: Elizabeth Gage, born October 20, 1841, and 
Harrison Eaton, whose sketch follows. The chil- 
dren reside on the paternal homestead. 

(VIII) Harrison Eaton, only son of Isaiah and 
Sarah A. (Gage) Herrick, was born September 30, 
1849, on the farm where he now resides, and to 
whose ownership he succeeded on the death of his 
father. He attended the district school until seven- 
teen years of age. is an intelligent and well-informed 
man, and is a successful farmer. He is a member 
of Thornton Grange, in which he has filled all the 
offices except that of master, and is also a member 
of the Congregational Church of Merrimack. Dur- 
ing its existence in his neighborhood he was a mem- 
ber of the Lodge of Independent Order of Good 
Templars, in which he passed through all the chairs 
and was its representative in the Grand Lodge of 
the Order of the State. He is a Republican, and 
has filled most of the principal offices in the town, 
such as selectman, collector, supervisor of the check- 
list, and was its representative in 1897 ' n the state 
legislature. 

(Second Family.) 

John Herrick, a farmer in Ireland, 

HERRICK was the son of an English officer, 

who had a large family of children. 

John Herrick died October 20, 1852. His wife, 

Julia Leary. bore him thirteen children. In 1853, 

with the nine then living she emigrated to America. 



These were : William, Timothy, James, Catherine, 
John, Edward. Patrick, Julia and Mary. Alter re- 
maining one year in New Hampshire she removed 
with seven of her children to Iowa and took up her 
home on a farm in Fairfield, where she lived the re- 
mainder of her life, dying in 1865, and was buried in 
Ottumwa. Her son Edward now resides on a farm 
in Ottumwa. One of the daughters, Julia Cleary, 
resides in Kansas. One of the sons, Timothy, re- 
mained in Newport. New Hampshire, and reared a 
family. Two of his sons are now conducting a 
large wholesale dry goods house in Chicago. 

(II) Timothy, second child of John and Julia 
(Leary) Herrick, was born in county Mayo, Ireland, 
and came to America in 1853 with his widowed 
mother and her children. On the removal of other 
members of the family to Iowa, Timothy remained 
in Newport, New Hampshire. His first employment 
was with Dr. Delavan Marsh, of Croydon, with 
whom he continued ten years, and then began his 
connection with the Sugar River Mills in the ca- 
pacity of fuller, which position he held for twenty- 
eight years, until his death in 1884. His life 111 
Newport was quiet, and by patient effort he estab- 
lished a comfortable home and provided his chil- 
dren with a good education. He was a consistent 
member of St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church. 
Mr. Herrick married, August 3, 1S62. Marie Hoban, 
born in county Mayo, Ireland, June 24, 1839, (St. 
John's day), daughter of William and Ellen (Reidy) 
Hoban, who settled in Newport, New Hampshire, in 
1845. William Hoban died December 19, 1875. and 
Ellen, his wife, died in September, 1896. Timothy 
and Mary ( Hoban) Herrick had seven children, 
namely: John, a business man of Chicago, Illinois. 
Julia A., now living in Chicago. Mary J., died 
young. Kate Ellen, wife of Frederick William 
Aiken, of Newport. New- Hampshire ("see Aiken 
IV). James P.. of Chicago. William E., of Chi- 
cago, a merchant. Timothy E., died at the age of 
thirty-one years, a graduate of Harvard Medical 
School. M. D., 1897, and a physician of great prom- 
ise until failing health compelled him to give up his 
practice. 

(II) Patrick, the youngest son of John and 
Julia (Leary) Herrick. was in his seventeenth year 
when he arrived in Newport, in July, 1853. and he 
nas since continued to reside there, and during this 
period of fifty-three years has been continuously em- 
ployed in the Sugar River Mills. His first engage- 
ment was October 10. 1853. and he continued some 
years as a common laborer in the dyeing and finish- 
ing department. Upon attaining his majority in 
1857 he was made superintendent, a position which 
he held until the spring of 1905. On the occasion 
of the fiftieth anniversary of his connection with 
these mills, he was given a banquet by his then em- 
ployers. Dexter Richards & Sons. This was an 
elaborate affair, to which the leading citizens of 
Newport and other points were invited, and was one 
of the most successful social affairs in the history of 
Newport. As was remarked at that time by the 
New Hampshire Argus and Spectator: "If em- 
ployers everywhere would imitate in spirit and deed 
the worthy example set on this occasion by Dexter 
Richards & Sons, the question of the labor problem 
would be solved and strikes would be among the 
things that were." The decorations were superb. 
Candelabra adorned the tables, while bouquets of 
chrysanthemums and jacqueminots added to the dis- 
play. The electrical scene, embracing fifty incandes- 
cent lamps with every tenth one red, won the gaze, 



542 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



while the inscriptions, "1853" and "190,3," indicating 
the half century of constant duty, formed a notice- 
able feature. Occupying conspicuous places at the 
talil' hirteen employees who had been with 

the Dexter Richard & Sons twenty years or more, 
as follow^ : John Ahern, spinner, forty-two years; 
Mrs. Jennie Wheeler, weaver, forty years; Mrs. Silas 
Wakefield, weaver, thirty-nine years: Arthur B. 
Chase, bookkeeper, thirty-five years ; Martin Whit- 
tier, master mechanic, thirty-two years ; Mrs. Abbie 
Herrick, thirty-two years; William Tenney, 

over pinning room, thirty years; Etta Shat- 

tuck, even years; Abe Warren, 

overseer of the weave room, twenty-five years; Eu- 
gene L. York, loom-fixer, twenty-four years: Mrs. 
Cronin. weaver, twenty-three years ; James Mahoney, 
spinner, twenty-one years; Patrick Sullivan, fuller, 
twenty war-." In his address on this occasion Col- 
onel Seth Richards made one of the best efforts of 
his life. He spoke on "Employer's Position," and 
handled the subject well. He recalled some of the 
early recollections of the mil, and tenderly referred 
to the operatives. He spoke in emphatic terms of 
the value of Mr. Herrick's services and feelingly 
alluded to his brother, the late Timothy Herrick. 
He spoke of the enlargement of the mill and re- 
marked that as much finished product could now be 
turned out in eighteen days as could be formerly 
made in a year. At this stage of the proceedings a 

.ram was read, sent by Mr. and Mrs. M. C. Gile 
ami Colonel William T. Richards, members of the 
corporation, who were then staying in Colorado 
Springs : "Accept our heartiest congratulations on 
completion of fifty years of generous and valuable 

ices for Dexter Richards & Sons. We desire to 
ppreciative tribute to the affection and 
loyalty which have made that service worthy of 
public recognition." In response to a toast, the 
pastor of Saint Patrick's Church used the following 
rning Mr. Herrick: "This man truly 
religiou . has founded his life on the corner-stone of 

ist, the founder of the Christian religion. He 
has impressed his character on the whole community 
of our town dining the last fifty years. This force 
— latent force of which Emerson speaks, we have not 
'K ' 1 but we have felt its influence. Dis- 

honesty, untruthfulness, hypocrisy, weaken and can- 
not stand in its presence. His character will bear 

light of the mid-day sun, its brightest rays find- 
the diamonds of truth and justice. We 
younger men can well wish to copy such principles 
of life which n erit such public testimonial as this 
tonight." ■■ poem was written for this 

occasion by George Bancroft Griffith : 

TRIBUTE TO PATRICK HERRICK. 
Son of Erin, hit teady, irue. 

Just tril Id pay [light to you: 

Ana whose fifty years of toil 

Has earned substantial meed on Yankee soil. 

For fifty years harmonious and strong 

i.or moved alone : 
From sire to sons their trust to thee remains. 
And naueht the record of that pet iod stains 
How fitting then the happy time and place 
To mc ' ach other face to face ; 

And give such honors unto brother man 
As those who prise rent merit truly can 
Stand up. <le:ir Herrick, and receive thy crown — 
The praise and good will of this grand old town 
Worth more to one than jewelled gift or bay, 
For these may fade— a ^ood name lives for aye. 



Mr. Herrick has always taken great interest in 
church work and has been one of the strong pillars 
of Saint Patrick's Church, of Newport, from the 
start, besides giving active and liberal support to 
the church at Claremont. The sanctuary lamp in 
the Newport Church was the gift of his wife, and 
both the altar and the bell were presented by Mr. 
Herrick. He was very active in securing the com- 
pletion of the rectory of Saint Patrick's Church, 
which was finished in 1903. He is not only liberal 
in the support of the church and its auxiliaries, but 
he is a generous friend of the poor, and many in 
Newport have reason to bless his name. Politically 
he is a Democrat, and had his party been in power 
in this vicinity he would have filled many official 
positions. He has been for many years a trustee of 
the Newport Savings Bank and is its loan agent, and 
his judgment in matters of finance is regarded as 
safe and sound. He has been identified with every 
public improvement in his town and is a large owner 
of real estate. Among his holdings is a piece of 
about six acres on Sunapee, overlooking the village, 
one of the most picturesque spots in Newport. He 
was not only a contributor to the success of his 
church at home but was very active in the promotion 
of similar churches in Boston, Claremont and 
Keene, and has always been a liberal contributor to 
charitable undertakings. For many of the early years 
of the life of Saint Patrick's Church he was its 
sexton, and in a voting contest in Claremont was 
the winner of a splendid gold-headed cane as the 
most popular man in town. At the celebration of 
his fiftieth anniversary in the mills, he received 
many valuable tokens, including a solid silver fruit 
ilisli from a New York dry goods house, where the 
mills ship their product, and from a Boston « 
manufacturer a rug made by the Indians. Mr. Her- 
rick is a great lover of freedom, indulges in the 
hope that his native land may sometime enjoy poli- 
tical independence, and he has liberally supported 
the cause. On one of his leisure occasions lie made 
a trip to Ireland, and there erected monuments at 
the graves of (his own he could not locate) his 
wife's relatives and contributed to charitable entcr- 
prises in that country. His first wife, Catherine 
Cotter, was born in Ireland, in 1835, and died Feb- 
ruary 20, 1S89. in Newport. She was the daughter 
of James and Ellen (Flynn) Cotter, who lived and 
died in Ireland, and were the parents of thirteen 
children. Mrs. Herrick was the mother of two 
children, neither of whom lived to reach the age of 
eight years. She was active in benevolent and re- 
ligious work, which her husband so much enjoyed. 
and when ground was broken for the erection of 
Saint Patrick's Church in Newport, she filled the 
first wheelbarrow of dirt that was removed. She 
was the active co-worker of her husband in church 
building, and was very useful in collecting the 
money for the completion of the churches both at 
Newport and Claremont. She never tired of giving 
her assistance in any worthy work, anil her death 
was greatly mourned by the people of a very wide 
district. At her funeral a solemn high mass w.as 
conducted by Rev, Fathers Finnegan ami McBride, 
of Claremont, and Rev. Father Finley, of Walpole, 
New Hampshire. Father Finley spoke most beauti- 
ful and touching words upon her life, and the 
funeral was conducted by Dexter Richards & Sons. 
The choir officiating at this service was a select one 
under the leadership of Miss Lizzie Loller. A beau- 
tiful monument marks her resting place and that of 
her sons on the grounds of Saint Patrick's Church. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



543 



Mr. Herrick was married (second), in Claremont, 
to Nellie Sullivan, a native of county Tipperary, Ire- 
land, daughter of John and Kate (Geary) Sullivan. 
She is the eldest of her parents' family and the only 
one who came to America, arriving in the year 1882. 
She received a good education in the public schools 
of her native locality, and Mr. Herrick is considered 
fortunate in his second choice in securing one of the 
Emerald Isle's fairest daughters. 



The name Minot is frequently found in 
MINOT the early records of England. In 1307, 
Ida, widow of John de Wyckenham, 
granted to John Minot, of Coventry, a capital manse 
in Coventry. Lawrence Minot, the poet, flourished 
in [329; in 1337. Adam Mynot and his followers 
besieged the Abbey of St. Edmunds, and in 1363 
Thomas Minot was Archbishop of Dublin. Those 
of the name seem to have belonged to one family 
who lived in a belt of country comprising the coun- 
ties of Suffolk, Cambridge, Essex, Warwick, and 
ester. 

(II Thomas Minot, of Saffron Walden, Essex 
county. England, the earliest of the name from 

om the American family can prove descent, was 
a man of education and wealth. In a "Survey of the 
Manors of the Abbey of Walden" (1399). there is 
an account of the lands held by Thomas Mynot and 
his sons. The lands were situated in Springwell, 
one and a half miles from Saffron Walden, on the 
Cambridge road, near where the parishes of Saffron 
Walden and Little Chesterford now meet. He mar- 
ried a daughter of Thomas de Hasilden. Esq., of 
Little Chesterford, a member of parliament and a 
soldier. Thomas Minot and his wife were the par- 
ents of two sons, Richard and John, next mentioned. 

ill) John (1), youngest of the two sons of 
Thomas Minot, received part of the lands formerly 
held by his father. He married and had one son 
named William, the subject of the next paragraph. 

(III) William, son of John (1), inherited his 
father's property and had one son John, next men- 
tion! d. 

(IV) John (2), only son of William, was of 
Springwell, in the parish of Little Chesterford. By 
hii will probated in the archdeaconry of Colchester, 
December 18, 1542. he divided his property between 
his three sons, George, Robert and William. 

I V 1 Robert, second son of John (2) Minot, in 
his will, probated in the consistory court of Loudon, 
January 7. T560, left his house and lands to his wife 
Ellen, for the space of four years, and bequeathed 
the remainder of his property to his five children, 
leaving the larger portion to his sons. The burial of 
Robert Minot is recorded as of December 14, 1559- 
His wife Ellen was buried February 7, 1595. Their 
children were : John the elder. John the younger, 
Anne. Katherine ond Margaret. 

( VD John (3), the elder, oldest child of Robert 
and Ellen Minot, by his wife Anne had five children: 
Margaret, Mary, John, George, and William. 

(MI) George (1), second son and third child 
of John (3) and Anne Minot, baptized in the parish 
churcri of St. Mary the Virgin, Saffron Walden, Es- 
si x, England, emigrated to New England, probably 
in the ship "Mary and John." to join the Dorchester 
company which -ailed from Plymouth, March 20, 
1630. reaching Dorchester, May 30, 1630, old style. 
This George Minot is the ancestor of the earliest 
line of Minots in New England, and the greater 
number of that name in America. He became a 
freeman of the colony April 1, 1634. His position in 



Dorchester was one of prominence, as on October 
28, 1634, he was one of ten men chosen to order the 
affairs of Dorchester plantation, and in the spring of 
1636 he was one of the deputies to the general court 
to order the affairs of the colony of Massachusetts 
Bay. His connection with the church was also a 
prominent one, his name being third among the 
seven who signed the covenant August 23, 1636, and 
he died after many years' service, a ruling elder, 
December 24, 1671 ; his Godly character being ex- 
pressed on the gravestone by the following lines: 

Here lie the bodies of Unite Humphrey and Shiny Minot, 
Such names as these they never die not." 

His position as a landholder and man of means 
tended to fix his position in church and state: and 
the evidence of his wealth is shown in the acquisition 
of land at an early date, when the majority of the 
settlers were not supplied with a great amount of 
money. It is known also that he acted as attorney 
for Robert Barrington and his son Thomas, and 
tradition includes the Earl of Warwich among his 
patrons. The estate of George Minot amounted to 
two hundred seventy-seven shillings seven pounds 
seven pence. By his wife, Martha, born in 1597, died 
December 23, 1657, he had the following named chil- 
dren, the first four being born in England, and bap- 
tized at the parish church. Saffron Walden : George, 
John, James, Stephen, and Samuel. 

(VIII) John (4), second son and child of 
George (1) and Martha Minot, was born in Eng- 
land, April 2, 1626, and died in Dorchester, August 
12, 1669. He was not' made a freeman until 1665, 
this delay being due to his persistence in refraining 
from membership in the church, which was a quali- 
fication for a freeman. In 1660 a controversy arose 
regarding the baptism of John Minot's children, and 
two pages of the church record book are devoted to 
arguments on the matter. August 3. 1664, the gen- 
eral court passed an order repealing the said quali- 
fications as to being a church member, and May 3, 

1665, John Minot became a freeman. He died 
August 12, 1669, at the early age of forty-three years. 
His estate was appraised at nine hundred seventy- 
eight pounds five shillings, and in his will provision 
was made for his father, who survived him, and the 
widow and 'children, John, the eldest, having one 
hundred pounds above the equal dividend to each of 
the children. Stephen to be placed at a trade, James 
to be kept at learning, and Samuel to be brought up 
as a husbandman. He married (first), May 19, 1647, 
Lydia Butler, who died January 25, 1667, daughter 
of Nicholas and Joyce Butler, of Dorchester, and 
Martha's Vineyard. After her death he married 
(second) the widow of John Briggs, a daughter of 
John Dassett, who survived him and died in July, 
7667. His children, all by the first wife, were: 
Ti !i;i James. Martha, Stephen, Samuel and an in- 
fant not named. 

CIX) Captain James (1). second son and child 
of John (4) and Lydia (Butler) Minot. was born in 
Dorchester, September 14, 1653, and died September 
20. 1735. He graduated at Harvard College in 1675, 
and afterward studied physics and divinitv. He 
preached at Stow at various times between 1685 and 
1692. He was appointed a justice of the peace, was 
a captain in the militia, and representative to the 
general court. He married Rebecca Wheeler, born 

1666. died September 23. 1734. daughter of Captain 
Timothy Wheeler, of Concord. Massachusetts. Both 
were buried in the "Hill Burying Ground" in Con- 
cord, and their gravestones are still to be seen there. 



544 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Their children wore : Rebecca, Lydia, Mary, Tim- 
othy, Janus, Elizabeth, Martha, Love and Mercy 
(.twins), and Samuel, the subject of the next par- 
agraph. 

( X ) Samuel, youngest child of Captain James 
(i) and Rebecca (Wheeler) Minot, was born March 
25, 1706. and died March 17, 1766. He married 
(first). Mareli 17, 1732, Sarah Prescott, born Decem- 
ber 5, 1712, died March 22. 1737, daughter of Jonas 
Prescott, of Westford : and (second), 1738, Dorcas 
Prescott, a sister of his first wife, born 1714. died 
June 15, 1803. The children by the first wife were: 
Samuel, Jonas, and Thankful Sarah ; and by the 
second wife: Dorcas, George, Rebecca, Daniel and 
Man-. 

(XI) Captain Jonas (1), second son and child 
of Samuel and Sarah (Prescott) Minot, was born 
April 25, 1735, and died March 20, 1813. After his 
first marriage he settled in Concord, Massachusetts. 
He was a soldier of the Revolutionary war. and his 
name is on the lists of men appearing under the 
heading, "Hartwell Brook the first Everidge," where 
he is reported as captain. He is said to have taken 
part in the siege of Boston, and was a prominent 
man in his day. That vast tract of land now em- 
braced in the towns of Alexandria, Danbury and 
New London, New Hampshire, was granted to him 
and his associates, and he was interested in other 
large land transactions in this state. He married 
(first) Mary Hall, born July 30, 1738, died Novem- 
ber 3, 1792, daughter of Rev. Willard Hall of West- 
ford; and (Mr. mkI 1. marriage intentions published 
July to. [798. Mary Jones, born June II, 1748, died 
August 2, (730. daughter of Colonel Elisha Jones, of 
Weston, and widow of Rev. Asa Dunbar, of Salem. 
The children, all by the first wife, were: Mary, 
Sarah, Jonas, Elizabeth, Abigail, Martha, Samuel, 
Stephen, and James, the subject of the following 
sketch. 

(XII) Lieutenant James (2), fourth son and 
ninth child of Captain Jonas (1) and Mary (Hall) 
Minot, was born July 4, 1779, and died February 29, 
1864, aged eighty-four. At the age of twenty-two 
he took possession of part of his father's estate in 
New London, New Hampshire, and resided there 
six years. In 1807 he removed to South Sutton, and 
engaged in trade, February 13. 1813, while residing 
in South Sutton, he enlisted in Captain Thomas 
Currier's o mpany, War of 1812, and was made ad- 
jutant of the regiment, with the rank of first lieuten- 
ant. Six of his grandsons served in the Union army 
in the Civil war. He settled in that part of Bridg- 
water, now Bristol, in 1813, and there spent the re- 
mainder of his life with the exception of one year, 

rt, and fourteen years in Lebanon, re- 
turning to Bristol in 7851. His residence in that 

1 on the sile of the present Hotel Bristol. 

1 man of means, of superior intelligence and 

ability, and easily ranked among the most influential 

in that section of the state. He represented 

Bridgewater in the legislature in tSio. and Bristol 

and the senatorial district in 1827. 

He married. February o. 1804, Sally Wilson, born 

July 10, 1783. died August 10. 1853, daughter of 

helaus and Sarah (M rse) Wilson, of Nelson, 

New Hampshire. Their children were: Almira, 

rge. Julia Maria Barrett, Sally, Abigail, Jonas, 

irles, James Miller, Josiah, Abigail, Martha and 

Harriet Maria. 

(XIII) George (2), eldest son and second child 
of Captain James (2) and Sally (Wilson) Minot, 
was born in New London, August 10. 1S06, and died, 



in Concord, March 8. 1861, in the fifty-fifth year of 
his age. He entered Pembroke Academy m 1822, 
and spent two years in that institution, graduating 
in 1824. He then entered Dartmouth College, from 
which he was graduated in 1828 with tin d igree 1 i 
Bachelor of Arts. He studied law at Bristol and 
later at Concord, in the office of Hon. X. (j. Upham, 
and was admitted to the bar in 183I. He entered 
upon the practice of law at Gilmanton, and soon 
after removed to Bristol, where he remained until 
1834. when he was chosen cashier of the Mechanics' 
Bank at Concord, and removed to that city, remain- 
ing in that institution until his death, and serving 
as its president from 1854. He was treasurer of the 
Boston, Concord & Montreal railroad for several 
years. He w-as appointed United State- pension 
agent at Concord by President Polk, and fill 
place by reappointment of Presidents Pierce and 
Buchanan the remainder of his life. In politics he 
was a Democrat, and took an active part in the coun- 
cils and campaigns of his party. He was a member 
of the first common council of the city of Concord, 
and a member of the constitutional convention of 
1850. Mr. Minot was a man of great executive 
ability, quick to think and act. This, coupled with 
good judgment and financial ability, fitted him for 
the leading positions in financial and business circles 
which he filled so many years; while his naturally 
social and agreeable personality and Iiheral education 
made him a prominent figure in social life. May r. 
1S30. he was married to Selina Walker Clark, born 
in Portsmouth. December 22. 1818, daughter of 
George Lewis and Charlotte (Turner) Clark, wdio 
survives him and now 1 sides in the house 

once occupied by President Franklin Pierce, on 
Montgomery street. Concord. Their children were: 
Julia Maria Barrett, Henry Carroll, George Edward 
and Edith Parker. The sons receive extended men- 
tion below. The elder daughter, born June 13. tS|2. 
was married August to. 1871, to George Henry 
Twiss, and resides in Columbus. Ohio. The 
younger, born October 14, 1853, rith and 

eares for her aged mother in Concord. 

(XIV) Henry Carroll, eldest son and second 
child of Georgi (2) and p| < Walker (Clark) 

Minot. was born in Concord, ' : 30, 184S, and 

died January 17. 1906. lb was educated in the Con- 
cord public schools and was a student at St. Paul's 
School, from which he graduted in [861. He be- 
came associated with the hanking interests in Con- 
cord, and up to the time of his death was connected 
in \. ■ ties nli the Mechanics' National 

Bank. He was a li I of Concord, and 

for 111.no years prominenl in banking circles. He 
was a of tli-' Manchester 1 odge of Flks. and 

always took a lively interest in the a) 'hat 

1 irganization. 



This name is of Scotch origin anil 
RAMSAY its original form is be de- 

rived from Ram's Island. It is an 
unusual name in this country and 1 n pos- 

sible to find out very little about the family. The 
name is spoiled either Ramsay or Ramsey, at will. 
(I) Hugh Ramsay i= said to have conie to this 
country from Scotland about 1724. James Moore, 
of Londonderry, sold sixty acres of land to Hugh 
Ramsay, January 24, 1724-2?. and this same James 
Moore, one of the charter members of London- 
derry, with property amounting to three thousand 
five hundred and seventy pound-, >old his share to 
Hugh Ramsay in 1724. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



545 



(II) James, son of Hugh Ramsay, paid a tax 
of nine shillings for preaching, in 1765. This was at 
Derryfield, a part of Londonderry, which had re- 
cently been set off from the original township. He 
resided 111 what is now Derry, New Hampshire. He 
married Elizabeth Boyers, daughter of Robert and 
Jeannette (.Clark) Boyers, and they had children: 
William, see forward; Hugh, Robert, John. Martha, 
Ann. David, Matthew, James and Jonathan. 

(III) William, son of James and Elizabeth 
(Boyers) Ramsay, was an active participant in the 
battle of Bennington, Vermont. He was a linen 
and wool manufacturer. He married Euphemia 
Moore, born in 1754, daughter of Deacon Robert 
and Letitia (Cochran) Moore. Deacon Robert 
Moore was the son of the immigrant, John Moore, 
one of the charter members of Londonderry, New 
Hampshire. Mrs. Ramsay died at St. Johnsbury, 
Vermont, in September, 1841. Mr. and Mrs. Ram- 
say had children: James, Robert (see forward), 
William, John, David, Thomas, Betsey and Euphe- 
mia. 

(IV) Robert, son of William and Euphemia 
(Moore) Ramsay, lived at Londonderry, New 
Hampshire, where he was a farmer and sheep raiser, 
held many of the town offices, and was a man of 
influence and prominence in the community. He 
married Jane Morgan, and they were the parents of 
children: Ira Allan (see forward), George L., and 
John S., deceased. 

(V) Ira Allan, son of Robert and Jane (Mor- 
gan) Ramsay, was born in Wheelock, Vermont, 
August 14, 1827. He enjoyed the school advan- 
tages of that time and place which, however, would 
be considered very limited at the present day. He 
worked at various occupations until he was twenty- 
three years of age, and then commenced the study 
of law in the office of Jesse Cooper, at Irasburg, 
Vermont. For a time he studied in an office in 
Boston, Massachusetts, and was admitted to the 
Vermont bar in 1S53, establishing himself in the 
practice of his profession in Guildhall. Two years 
later he removed to Colebrook, New Hampshire, 
where he continued in active practice until 1865. 
In that year he removed to St. Paul, Minnesota, 
where he opened an office, but his health failed the 
following year and he was an invalid until his 
death, which occurred November 8, 1871. While in 
Colebrook Mr. Ramsay was very prosperous. He 
was a man of energy and ambition, and had a 
large business in that and the adjoining towns, 
chiefly before the Coos county court. During the 
last years he collected the claims of many soldiers 
from different states of the Union. He was en- 
gaged in a variety of business enterprises not con- 
nected with his profession, and when he left New 
Hampshire was possessed of the largest amount of 
property ever acquired by a lawyer in Colebrook. 
This was all lost in the residence in the west. He 
married Sarah Louisa Merrill, who died at St. 
Paul, Minnesota. October 9, 1871. daughter of Sher- 
burn R. and Sarah (Merrill) Merrill. Mr. and 
Mrs. Ramsay had children: Sherburn R. M., Ira 
Allan and Louis (see forward). 

(VI) Sherburn Rowell Merrill Ramsay, son 
of Ira Allan (1) and Sarah L. (Merrill) Ramsay, 
was born in Colebrook, March 8, i860. At eight- 
een years of age, 1878, he went West and took 
part in the teaming and . cattle-raising of Texas, 
\vyoming, Idaho, Dakota, Montana and the In- 
dian Territory, which at that time were in the 
hey-day of development and success, the settler not 

ii — 11 



yet having "claimed" the arable land, and the rail- 
road not having penetrated much territory that is 
now entirely beyond pioneer days. After a stay of 
seven years in the undeveloped and almost unsettled 
west, during which time he had many experiences 
with men and under circumstances peculiar to that 
region at that time, and now no longer possible even 
there, he returned to New Hampshire in the fall of 
1885, and for six years next following was a clerk 
for W. E. Drew at Colebrook. The next five years 
he was engaged in merchandising for himself, his 
store finally being burned out. He then bought a 
farm of two hundred acres, and has since been suc- 
cessfully engaged in agriculture, making a special 
feature of dairying. His wide experience familiar- 
ized him with business methods, and being a man 
of fine executive ability and a popular citizen, he 
was selected by the Republicans as a candidate for 
county commissioner on their ticket in 1890, and 
elected and by successive elections rilled the office 
until 1896. In the latter year he was made select- 
man, being the only person elected to that office on 
a straight Republican ticket in twenty-five years. 
He is a member of Evening Star Lodge, No. 27, 
Free and Accepted Masons of Colebrook; of North 
Star Commandery, Knights Templar of Lancaster ; 
and Eureka Chapter, No. 2, Order of the Eastern 
Star. He is also a member of Colebrook Grange, 
No. 223, Patrons of Husbandry of Colebrook. He 
married December 19, 1S88, Annie M. Cromwell, 
who was born in Quebec, October 12. 1868, daughter 
of James and Henrietta (Scott) Cromwell. They 
have six children: Louisa, July 25, 1890; Henrietta 
Scott, March 17, 1895 ; Annie Elizabeth, April 2, 

■ '; Sherburne Cromwell, September 24, 1899; 
James Robert, April 5, 1905, and Louis Chester, 
April 2, 1907. 

(VI) Ira Allan (2), second son of Ira Allan 
(1) and Sarah Louisa (Merrill) Ramsay, was born 
in Colebrook, New Hampshire, March 18, 1862, and 
was but nine years of age at the time of the death 
of his parents. His education was acquired in the 
schools of his native town and in the academy in 
St. Johnsbury, Vermont. His first venture in busi- 
ness life was as a clerk for J. W. Cooper & Son, 
general merchants, with whom he remained for 
two years, then went to Littleton and entered the 
employ of Dow Brothers. In the fall of 1884 he 
accepted a position with George Van Dyke, the 
great lumber dealer, as bookkeeper and general all- 
round man, and for several years superintended the 
work of the firm in Canton, Maine. He established 
himself in the mercantile line of business in 1892, 
selling out to his brother in 1897. In the latter 
year he was appointed postmaster of Colebrook by 
President McKinley, was reappointed by the same 
president, at whose death the appointment was rati- 
fied by President Roosevelt in 1902, and again re- 
appointed by President Roosevelt in 1906. Since 
his appointment to this office he has been the pro- 
muter in getting established from the Colebrook 
postoflice four rural free delivery routes which 
supply the country with mail within a radius 
of eight to fifteen miles. He is a member 
of • the school board of Colebrook, and is con- 
nected with the following fraternal organiza- 
tions : Kane Lodge, No. 64, Free and Accepted 
Masons, Lisbon, New Hampshire, and Easter Coun- 
cil, of Colebrook; North Star Chapter and North 
Star Commandery, of Lancaster ; Colebrook Chap- 
ter, No. 2, Order of Eastern Star; Colebrook 
Grange, Patrons of Husbandry. He married, 



546 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



March j;. 1895, Jennie E. Williams, who died De- 
cember 9, 1900, daughter of Elmon H. and Mary 
J. (.Snow) Williams, of Colebrook, and they had 
one child: Ira A., born March 17, 1897. 

Louis, youngest son of Ira Allan ( 1 1 and Sarah 
Louisa (Merrill) Ramsay, was born in Minneapolis, 
Minnesota, October 3, 18*71. His father and mother 
died there when he was a child, and his grand- 
father, S. R. Merrill, of Colebrook, New Hamp- 
shire, went out and brought the boy home. Louis 
Ramsay was educated in the common schools of 
Colebrook and at the Colebrook Academy, and after 
leaving school engaged in general mercantile busi- 
ness at Beeecher Falls, Vermont. After spending 
about three years in mercantile pursuits he turned 
his attention to farming, and in 1893 purchased his 
present farm of one hundred and seventy-five acres. 
The land is in a high state of cultivation and is 
devoted to the purposes of general farming. He is 
a large, robust man, blessed with great physical 
strength and a cheerful disposition, and enjoys the 
hard work which has made him prosperous. He is 
a Republican in politics, and attends the Episcopal 
Church. Louis Ramsay married, December 9, 1896, 
Maude Elsie Hovey, born in Hatley, Canada, 
daughter of L. P. and E. V. Hovey, of Halls 
Stream, Canada. There are no children. 



Ramsey is a name the origin of which 
RAMSEY is connected with the early history of 
Britain. Ruimne is a Celtic word 
lifying "a marsh," and ey a termination mean- 
ing "island," the whole signifying "island in the 
marsh.'' The term Ramsey was used first as the 
name of an island, and later as a word of de- 
scription to designate a man's place of residence and 
finally as a surname, and has come down to us 
:e of a place and a surname. 

(I) Hugh Kelsey Ramsey, son of George and 
Mar I . . was born July 2, 1S33, in Holder- 
's Hampshire, died in Manchester Jan 

6, 1871 tried in Pine Grove Cemetery. He 

resided 111 .Manchester at the time the village was 
inning to awaken to the possibilities that were 
within tin- grasp of an energetic population, and 
was a dealer in real esl ite and a man of enei 
did his part toward making the village of .fifty 
years ago the city of to-day. He married, in Man- 
na Kimball, born November 6, 1840, 
daughter of Frederick and Martha (Gault) Kim- 
ball, of Manchester. She died April t.|. t! 
forty three years. Three childr n to 

them i who married I 

and resides in Manchester; Fred. K., the subject of 
the sucr' : and Martha Forster, who 

married Charles Barney and lives in Chico, Cali- 
fornia. 

(II) Fred Kimball Ramsey, second child and 
only son of Hugh K. and Emma (Kimball) Ram- 
sey, was bom in Manchester, .May 15, 1S73. He 

he primary, middle and grammar grades of 
the public schools, and had entiled upon a course 
in the high school when a favorable business op- 
portunity was presented to him, in the form of a 
position in the .Manchester Locomotive works. 
With the foresight which has characterized him in 
all he has attempted, Mr. Ramsey arranged with 
the manager of the works for time to prepare him- 
self for the work the position demanded. Leav- 
ing hool he took a course of study in a 
business college, and then, in 1S90, began work in 
the counting room of the works, where he re- 



mained until be had reached one of the responsible 
positions in the business of the company. This he 
resigned in April, 1904. to assume the duties of clerk 
of the street and park commission, which position 
he filled until April, 1907. 

Always a loyal Republican and a close political 
student, he was so well thought of by the party 
in his ward that when he cast his first vote his 
own name was on the ticket, and he was elected a 
member of the board of selectmen. He discharged 
the duties of this place in a manner creditable to 
himself, and was nominated and elected alderman 
from Ward 2 at the election of 1900. He served 
a term of two years, and was re-elected in 1902. He 
served through 1903 and until he was elected street 
and park commissioner in April, 1904, when he re- 
signed his office of alderman. While a member of 
the board he was chairman of the committee on 
lighting streets, and in that capacity he served on 
the special committee with Mayor Eugene E. Reed 
and the other members of the street lighting com- 
mittee, appointed to confer with the Manchester 
Traction, Light and Power Company in regard to 
securing a reduction in the cost of electric lights. 
He was no "inconsiderable" factor in that confer- 
ence, which brought about a reduction of the cost 
per light from $115 to $90. 

After taking his place as a park commissioner 
his work was characterized by the same painstak- 
ing care of details and thoughtful planning 1 
distinguished his labors in former positions. He 
was instrumental in bringing about several much 
needed improvements, including the widening and 
straightening of Granite street, and the construc- 
tion of a bridge across the canal on Granite street. 
He secured the nomination of the Republican party 
for the office of sheriff of Hillsborough county in 
September, 1906, and was elected at the general 
election in November of that year. He is spoken 
of as a clean and progressive citizen who has shown 
marked ability in the positions he has 1, 

He has been a e Young Men's Re- 

publican Club in Ward Two. and ha, si 
its executive committee. He is a Thirty-second de- 
lving a member of Lafayette Lod 
No. 41; Mt. Horeb Royal Arch Chapter, No. 11; 
Adoniram Council, No. 3 ; Royal and Select Mas- 
ters ; Tl I ] ill Templars, of 
Manchester; and Edward A. Raymond >ry; 
Sublime Princes of the Royal Secret, of Nashua, 
and Bektash Temple, Nobles of tl 
of Concord; he is past high priest of the chapter 
and emim 1 Trinity Commandery. 
lie is also a member of the Passaconaway Tribe of 
Red Men, and of the Tippecanoe Club, and the 
. Patrons of Husbandry, Hills- 
pendent Oi der of Odd Fellows. 
He married, in Manchester, February 16, 1895, Jessie 
A. Webster, daughter of George and Jenette A. 
(Huskie) Webster, of Manchester. They have two 

children: Geraldine E. and Webster K. 



This family, which is of En 
BADGER ancestry, were pioneers in New 

land. The early generations were thrifty 
and well-to-do in Massachusetts; the succeeding 
generations in New Hampshire were leaders for 
many years in both military and civil affairs. Their 
record is way prominent in the annals of the granite 
state. 

ill (,ili- Badger, who settled in Newbury, 
Massachusetts, in 1643, and died July 17, 1647, was 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



547 



the ancestor of the Badger families in New Hamp- 
shire. He was married about 1642 to Elizabeth, 
daughter of Edmund and Sarah (Dole) Greenleaf, 
of Newbury. He left an only child, John. 

(II) John, son of Giles Badger, born June 30, 

1643, married (first) Elizabeth , who died 

April 8, 1069. By her he had four children : John, 
died an infant; John, born April 26, 1665; Sarah 
and James. He married (second), February 23, 
K '7i. Hannah Sivett, by whom he had Stephen, 
Hannah, Nathaniel, Mary, Elizabeth, Ruth, Daniel, 
Abigail and Lydia. John Badger died .March 31, 
[691, of smallpox, and his wife soon after, of the 
same disease. 

(III) John (2), eldest surviving son and child 
of Sergeant John (1) and Elizabeth Badger, was 
born April 26, 1665, in Newbury, where he resided 
through life. He was a weaver, and is also men- 
tioned in 1730 as a blacksmith. He conveyed his 
house and land to his son Thomas in 1730, and 
disappears from the records at that time. He was 
married October 5, i6pr, to Rebecca Browne, daugh- 
ter of Laac and Rebecca (Bailey) Browne. She 
was born March 15, 1667, in Newbury. Their 
children were: John and James (twins), Eliza- 
beth, Stephen, Joseph, Benjamin, Mary, and a 
daughter who died unnamed. (Mention of Joseph 
and descendants appears in this article.) 

(IV) Stephen, third son and fourth child of 
John (2) and Rebecca (Browne) Badger, was born 
in 1637, in Newbury and lived in that town until 
about 1730, when he removed to Amesbury. He 
was probably a husbandman. He married (first) 
November 25, 1725, 'Hannah Whittier, of Haver- 
hill. His second wife was named Judith, and she 

ly survived linn and was the one who married 
Isaac Colby, August 16, 1753. Stephen Badger's 
children were : Obadiah, John, Hannah, Daniel, 
Benjamin and Mary. 

(V) Obadiah, eldest child of Stephen and 
Hannah (Whittier) Badger, was born April 19, 
1727, in Newbury, and resided most of his life in 
Amesbury. He was a gunsmith by occupation, and 
served four enlistments fr->m Amesbury in the 
revolutionary army. He was still living in 1780. 
He died in Amesbury, or at the home of his son 
in Warner, New Hampshire. He was married 
January 19, 1758, in Amesbury, to Mary Martin and 
their children were: Stephen, Sarah, Benjamin and 
probably others. 

(VI) Benjamin, son of Obadiah and Mary 
(Martin) Badger, was born December 18, 1764, 
in Amesbury, Massachusetts, and settled with his 
brother Stephen in Warner, New Hampshire. He 
married Naomi Colby, who was born December 18, 
1773. in Amesbury, daughter of Elliott and Judith 
(Sargent) Colby, of Amesbury and Warner (see 
Colby, V). They had ten children: Elliott C, 
born May 30, 1795 ; Stephen C, April 12, 1797 ; 
Benjamin, June 12, 1799; Molly, August 3, 180 1 ; 
Naomi, March 3, 1804; Eben S., September 10, 1806; 
Philip J., April 17, 1809; Hannah, June 23, 1811, 
and died in August, 1814; Hosea, born July 11, 
1 S 1 5 . and died June 21, 1816; Phyllis D., born May 
10, 1834. (Mention of Stephen C. and Ebenezer 
S. and their descendants forms part of this article.) 

(VII) Elliott Colby, eldest son of Benjamin and 
Naomi (Colby) Badger, was born May 30, 1795, 
in Warner, New Hampshire, and there grew up, 
receiving his education in the common schools of 
his native town. He engaged there in farming, his 
land being near the village of Warner, in which 



he resided, and died there in 1863. He was a regu- 
lar attendant of the Congregational Church, and 
was a man of firmly settled convictions and prin- 
ciples. In politics he was a Democrat, and he was 
often honored by selection to fill various town of- 
fices. He was married in Warner to Judith Saw- 
yer, a native of that town, daughter of Edmund and 
Mchitable (Morrill) Sawyer. Their children were 
Helen, Nancy, Adelade E. and Charles A. The 
eldest daughter became the wife of William Car- 
ter, of Warner and Lebanon (see Carter, VII). 
The second became the wife of Gilman C. George 
of Warner. The third is the widow of Ebenezer 
Ferren. residing in Manchester. The son, Charles 
A. Badger, was a bachelor, resided in Chicago, and 
was for many years managing clerk of the Tre- 
mont House. Immediately after the great fire of 
[871, he set out with a friend who was a military 
officer, to look at the ruins. He left the carriage 
to walk home and was never seen or heard of again. 
His disappearance was a great mystery, which only 
eternity can solve. 

(VII) Stephen C, second son and child of 
Benjamin and Naomi (Colby) Badger, was a na- 
tive of Warner, New Plampshire, where he was 
born April i_>. 1797. He was graduated from Dart- 
mouth College in 1823, and admitted to the bar in 
1826. He first located in New London, New Hamp- 
shire, but in 1S33 removed to Concord, where he 
lived until his death. He was clerk of the courts 
of Merrimack county from 1S34 to 1836, and was 
police magistrate for several years previous to the 
adoption of the city charter. This office gave him 
the honorary title of Judge. He was a fine mathe- 
matician, and a practical and scientific engineer. 
Among other drawings he made in 1855 a valuable 
map of the city of Concord, New Hampshire, wdiich 
was published as a supplement to Bouton's History. 
He married Sophronia Evans, daughter of Esquire 
Benjamin Evans, a leading citizen of Warner, and 

had two children, Benjamin Evans and Will- 
iam S. 

(VIII) Benjamin Evans, elder son of Stephen 
C. and Sophronia (Evans) Badger, was graduated 
from Dartmouth College in 1854. Like his father, 
he was a distinguished mathematician and civil 
engineer. He was admitted to the bar, and in 1886 

of the police court in Concord, which 
office he held till barred by age limitation. He 
married Rachel O. Eastman, youngest daughter and 
twelfth child of Robert and Sarah (Lee) Eastman 
of East Concord, New Hampshire. They had three 
children: William, a graduate of Dartmouth, and 
a civil engineer in Lowell, Massachusetts, of which 
city he has been mayor; Gertrude, married William 
W. Stone, assistant cashier of the First National 
Bank of Concord, New Hampshire ; and Estelle, 
who was a graduate from the Concord high school 
in 1884. and lives at home. 

(VII) Eben S., sixth child and fourth son of 
Benjamin and Naomi (Colby) Badger, was born in 
Warner, New Hampshire, September 10, 1806.' He 
was educated in the common school of Warner, and 
was a successful farmer. He carried on a farm 
of three hundred acres. He was a staunch Demo- 
crat, and never missed a town-meeting. He at- 
tended the Congregational Church. He married 
Emily Foster, daughter of John and Lucy (Hast- 
ings) Foster. They had seven children: Philip, 
who died in youth ; John ; Fred E. ; Herman Fos- 
ter, who lives in Henniker, New Hampshire; Har- 
riet; Philip, and Sophronia Evans. 



54§ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(Y11I) John, second son and eldest living child 
of Eben S. and Emily (Foster) Badger, was edu- 
cated in the common schools of Warner. He 
learned the carpenter's trade, and followed it all 
his life. He also did some farming. In politics 
he was a Democrat. He belonged to Harris Lodge 
of Mas. his. He died January 3, 1882, aged forty- 
one years. 

Fred E., third son and child of Eben S., and 
Emily (Foster) Badger, enlisted in Company B, 
Eleventh New Hampshire Regiment, and served 
during the civil war. He was in the battle of 
Fredericksburg, and died at Washington, D. C. He 
1 fanner and blacksmith. 

Philip J., sixth child and youngest son of Eben 
S. and Emily (Foster) Badger, was educated in 
the common schools of Warner. For many years 
he was a successful jeweler 111 Concord, New Hamp- 
shire. He married Ida Haynes, of that place. They 
had one son, Perley S. Badger, who married Cora 
lard of Concord. They have two children: 
Philip Badger was an Odd Fellow, belonging to 
Rumford Lodge. 

Sophronia Evans, youngest of the seven chil- 
dren of Eben S. and Emily (Foster) Badger, 
taught school in Warner for several years. She is 
active in church work, and lives alone with her 
pets at the present time. 

(IV) Joseph, fifth child and fourth son of John 
(2) and Rebecca (Brown) Badger, born 1698, died 
April 7, 1760, aged sixty-two. He was a mer- 
chant at Haverhill. He married (first) Hannah 
Peaslee, daughter of Colonel Nathaniel Peaslee, who 
was one of the wealthiest and most influential men 
in the town of Haverhill, by whom he had seven 
children : Joseph, Judith, Mehitable, Mary, Na- 
thaniel, Alary, second, and Peaslee. Only two chil- 
dren lived to settle in life — Joseph and Judith, born 
February 3, 1724. Hannah (Peaslee) Badger died 
January" 15. 1734. July 20, 1735, Joseph Badger 
married (second) Hannah, widow of Ebenezer 
Pearson, daughter of Moody, born De- 
cember 21, 1702. She had by her first husband six 
children : Hannah, Moody, Ruth, Ebenezer, Thomas 
and Samuel. By her second husband, Mr. Badger, 
she had three : Enoch, Nathaniel and Moses. Moses 
settled in Providence, Rhode Island. Enoch moved 
to Gilmanton, New Hampshire, and died in Sander- 
son. 

(V) General Joseph(2), the second, eldest of 
the seven children of Joseph (1) and Hannah 
(Pea-lee) Badger, was born in Haverhill, January 
11, 1722. Me lived in Haverhill and Bradford, Mas- 
sachusetts, whence he removed to Gilmanton, New 
Hampshire, in the early settlement of which there 
was no more distinguished individual. He became 
a proprietor by purchasing shares that were for- 
feited and sold at auction. Pic came to Gilmanton 
in the spring, and ;owed and planted, but in con- 
sequence of the sickness and death of his son Wil- 
liam,. 1703, in the month of May, he did not remove 
his family until July. His was the eighteenth 

ily, and at the raising of his barn that season, 
the first framed building erected in town, he had, 
as he often afterward stated, every man, woman and 

I to take supper with him. General Badg 
while a youth, served in the militia in the capacity 
succ< ssively a til and captain. I [e 

was frequently a selectman of the town and modei 

i, , of its meetings. He was also appointed at 
the age of twenty-three a deputy sheriff, which office 
he held until he removed from Massachusetts to 



New Hampshire in July, 1763. He was the first 
magistrate in the place, and his commission as 
justice of the peace was renewed March 10, 1. 
He also officiated in various offices in the town. He 
was appointed colonel of the Tenth Regiment, July 
10, 1771. In the time of the Revolution he was an 
active and efficient officer, was muster master of 
the troops raised in this section of the state, and was 
employed in furnishing supplies for the army. He 
was also a member of the Provincial congress, and 
a member of the congress which adopted the con- 
stitution. In 1784 he received the commission of 
justice of the peace and quorum throughout the 
state. In the same year he wa. commissioned, in 
company with John Wentworth, John Plumer and 
Ebenezer Smith, to administer the oaths of office 
and allegiance to the civil and military officers of 
the county. He was appointed brigadier general. 
June 27. 1780, and judge of probate for Strafford 
county, December 6, 1784, which office he held until 
May 13, 1797, when he resigned. Pie was also a 
member of the state council in 17S4, 1790, 1791. As 
a military man. General Badger was commanding 
in person, well skilled in the science of tactics, expert 
as an officer, and courageous and faithful in the per- 
formance of every trust. With him order was law, 
rights were most sacred, and the discharge of duty 
was never to be neglected. He was a uniform friend 
and supporter of the institutions of learning and 
religion. He not only provided for the education 
of his own children by procuring private teachers, 
but he also took a lively interest in the early estab- 
lishment of the common schools for the education 
of children generally. Not content with such efforts 
merely, he did much in founding and erecting the 
Academy in Gilmanton. which has been such a 
blessing to the place and vicinity. Pie was one of 
the most generous contributors to its funds, and was 
one of its trustees and the president of the board 
of trust until his death. Instructed from his boy- 
hood by pious parents in the principles of religion, 
he early appreciated the blessing of a Christian min- 
istry. Having become the subject of Divine grace, 
he publicly professed religion, and espoused the 
cause of Christ. A' he was a generous supporter 
of the institutions of the gospel, so to his hospitable 
mansion the ministers of religion always found a 
most hearty welcome. While the rich and the 
great honored him, the poor held him in remem- 
brance for his bounteous liberality. He was nearly 
six feet in stature, somewhat corpulent, light and 
fair in complexion, and dignified and circumspect 
in his manner and conversation. His whole life 
was marked by wisdom, prudence, integrity, firmness 
and I Greal consistency wa- manifested 

in all his deportment. He died April 4. [803, eighty- 
two years of age, ripe in years, ripe in character 
and reputation, and a ripe Christian. He came to 
the "grave in a full age, like as a shock of corn 
cornel h in its season." 

January 31, 17.(0, General Badger married Han- 
nah Tear on, born July 23, 1722, daughter of his 
father's second wife by a former husband, and at 
the same time Nathaniel Cog-well, a merchant of 
Haverhill, Massachusetts, married Judith, General 
Bad 1 only sister. The last couple had nineteen 



children, and the first twelve, making ill all thirty- 
one children. His widow survived until February 

10. 1S17, when she departed this life aged ninety- 
five. Her children were twelve, William, Hannah, 
Mehitable, Joseph, Rebecca, Ruth, Rachel, Ebi 
Mary and Nathaniel, twins, Sarah, and Judith, Her 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



549 



grandchildren were forty-five, her great-grandchil- 
dren ninety-five, and her great-great-grandchildren 
twenty-live. Few live so long, and fewer still have 
in so eminent a degree as she had both power and 
the inclination to relieve the distressed, and to con- 
tribute to the happiness of her fellow creatures. 

(VI) Hon. Joseph (3), fourth child" and second 
son of General Joseph (2) and Hannah (Pearson) 
Badger, was born in Bradford, Massachusetts, Oc- 
tober 23, 1746, died January 15, 1809, aged sixty- 
two. He is the first man of whose marriage in 
Gilmanton there is any record. He was a man of 
great military ardor, and held offices in the militia 
for thirty years passing from the rank of captain to 
that of brigadier general. In the Revolutionary 
war he was prompt to duty, and commanded a com- 
pany at Mount Independence, on Lake Champlain, 
July, 1776. He was present at the capture of Bur- 
goyne in 1777, and was on the detachment that es- 
corted the vanquished army to Boston. After peace 
was restored he served in 1784, '86, '87, as selectman 
of the town. Subsequently he represented the town 
in the state legislature, and was counsellor six 
years. He originally owned lot No. 7 of the upper 
one hundred acres on which the central and north- 
ern part of the village is built, and on which the 
academy and seminary buildings stand, and through 
his influence by selling building lots and encourag- 
ing mechanics to settle, the village was founded and 
increased. He took a leading part in obtaining the 
charter for the academy, was one of the grantees, 
and was the principle agent in obtaining subscrip- 
tions to the fund. He gave the land on which the 
academy is located, and superintended the erection of 
the first academy buildings. He also obtained the 
act establishing the courts in Gilmanton, and ar- 
ranged the hall of the academy and courthouse, and 
also a town house, where, by his efforts, first the 
town meetings were held. In 1798, under an act of 
congress, he was appointed a committee to provide 
for the valuation of lands and dwelling houses, and 
the enumeration of slaves. He married, August I, 
1766, Elizabeth Parsons, daughter of Rev. William 
Parsons, and by her had six children: Joseph. Han- 
nah. Sarah, Elizabeth, William and Ebenezer. His 
widow survived until May 3, 1831, when she died at 
the age of eighty-three. 

VII) Joseph (4), oldest child of Hon. Joseph 
(3) and Elizabeth (Parsons) Badger, married, June 
8, 1786, Sarah Weeks, and had Joseph, Judith, who 
married Josiah Parsons (see Parsons IV) ; Na- 
thaniel, Elizabeth, Parish, Sally, Polly, and Hiram. 



The family of this name, which 
PILLSBURY now numbers thousands, and 

many of whose members have at- 
tained first rank in the world of manufacturers, 
are descended from one ancestor who brought from 
old England to the shores of •young New England 
the sterling qualities that have made his progeny a 
reputation for honesty, industry, thrift and success 
second to none. 

(I) William Pillsbury, the ancestor of the fam- 
ily, came from England, probably in 1640 or 1641. 
He married Dorothy Crosbey, between June 1 and 
July 29, i64l,and resided in Dorchester until 1651, 
when he bought land and a house in Newbury, 
Massachusetts, and settled in that town. They had 
ten children. 

(II) Moses, third child of William and Dorothy 
(Crosbey) Pillsbury, was born in Dorchester in 
1645. and died in Newbury in 1701. He married 
Susannah, daughter of Lionel Worth in March, 



1668. They had eight children. (.Mention of Caleb 
and descendants appears in this work). 

(III) Moses, second child of Moses and Susan- 
nah (Worth) Pillsbur)', born July 4, 1672, in New- 
bury, died March 24, 1738. He married Abigail 
Rolf. Their intention of marriage was published 
February 5, 1698. They had nine children. 

(IV) Moses (3), eldest child of Moses (2) And 
Abigail (Rolf) Pillsbury, was born January 16, 
1699, and died in Boxford in April, 1787. He mar- 
ried Mary Parker, in Newbury, August 6, 1728. 
She was born in 1706, and died February 22, 1784. 
They had four children. (Of these, Parker re- 
ceives mention, with descendants, in this article). 

(V) Edmund, son of Moses and Mary (Parker) 
Pillsbury. was born in Tewksbury, March 12, 1738, 
and died in Northwood, New Hampshire, August 
17, 1816. He was a Baptist clergyman. He married 
Sarah Hale, of Newbury, November 22, 1759. She 
was born May 27, 1739, and died March 28. 1761, 
leaving one son, John, who died July 6, 1761. He 
married (second) Martha Hale, sister of his first 
wife, October 22, 1761. She died April 11, 1800. 
They had six children : John Hale, born September 
27, 1762; Enoch, born December 17, 1763; Thomas, 
born June 27, 1765; Sarah, born September 1, 1768; 
James, born August 26, 1770; and Martha, born 
November 26, 1771. 

(VI) James, youngest son of Edmund and 
Martha (Hale) Pillsbury, was born August 26, 
1770, in Plaistow, New Hampshire, and died April 
15, 1826. He lived on the farm his father had taken 
in the virgin forest. He married, July, 1795, Rhod 1 
Smart, of Exeter, who died February 7, 1856, aged 
eighty-nine. They had seven children: Polly Par- 
ker, born April 13, 1796; Martha Hale, October 19, 
1797; Hilton Smart, January 10, 1799; Alpha Jef- 
ferson, August 21, 1800; Enoch Hale, November 21, 
1802; Eliza Smart, September 25, 1805; and Meodat- 
ten Batchelder, September 28, 1807. 

(VII) Enoch Hale, third son and fifth child 
of James and Rhoda (Smart) Pillsbury, was born 
November 21, 1802, and died June 23, 1895. lie 
married November 29, 1827, Eliza Young, born June 
30, 1804, at Barrington, New Hampshire, died Feb- 
ruary 23, _ 18S9. Both died in Tilton, where they 
resided with their daughters twenty years. They 
had five children: John James, born September 21, 
1828, died November 26, 1895; Charles Henry, born 
December 2, 1S29, died April 23, 1839; Eliza Jane, 
born April 27, 1833; Alpha Jefferson, born March 
9, 1836, died November 26, 1901 ; and Josephine, 
born March 2, 1846. 

(VIII) John James, eldest child of Enoch Hale 
and Eliza (Young) Pillsbury, was born at New 
Hampton, September 21, 1S28, and died at Tilton, 
New Hampshire, November 26, 1895. He was 
brought up on his father's farm, and was educated 
in the common schools of his native town and at 
Benjamin Stanton's school at Gilford. Subse- 
quently he went to Pittsfield, Massachusetts, where 
he studied law three years, being admitted in 1861. 
He practiced successfully until 1864, when he and 
his brother Alpha J., began the manufacture of 
shoes in Lynn, Massachusetts, under the name of 
Pillsbury Brothers. Later the business was removed 
to Northwood, New Hampshire, and carried on 
successfully until 1886, J. J. Pillsbury remaining in 
Lynn several years where he had a sales room of 
the firm and bought its stock. He then moved to 
Tilton. and joined in purchasing the mills erected 
in 1842, and later owned by Selwin Peabody, and 
known as the ' Tilton Mills, having large water 



55° 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



power. Here they and Mr. Peabody carried on suc- 
cessfully the manufacture of cloth. Mr. Pillsbury 
was a Democrat in politics, and twice represented 
the town of Tilton in the legislature. He married, 
in 1S60, Juliette Tucker, born, 1834, daughter of 
Alvah and Mary Jane (Bean) Tucker, of Meredith 
je. There are no children of this marriage. 
Mr.' Pillsbury was a lifelong business man, and his 
success was due to his own efforts, lie was an un- 
tiring worker, and his only recreations were those 
afforded by the forest and stream. Mrs. Pillsbury 
is a member of the Order of the Eastern Star degree 
of Masons, and of the Tilton Woman's Club. 

(VIII) Alpha Jefferson, fourth child and third 
son of Enoch Hale and Eliza (Young) Pillsbury, 
was born Mai . in the town of North wood, 

and died in Tilton, November 26, 1891 or 1901. He 
was educated in the common schools and at Laconia 
New Hampton. He remained on his father's 
farm until he was about twenty, working at farm 
work, and learned the shoemaker's trade, at which 
latter business he earned money to take him to 
school, as did his brother John. After leaving 
school Mr. Pillsbury established an express line 
for transporting shoes between Lynn, Massachusetts, 
and Northwood, New Hampshire, where the shoe 
into shoes. This he operated three 
1 r four years, and then was joined by his brother 
John in the manufacture of shoes in Lynn in 1864. 
This business, small at first, they built to much 
larger proportions. Three years after it was 
started it was moved to Northwood, where a large 
factory was built in which the business was carried 
on for about seventeen years, until 1885, when it 
was removed to Tilton. Five years later the 
brothers sold out and formed a company with Sel- 
win Peabody, who had long been engaged in the 
manufacture of woolen cloth. Mr. Peabody retired 
from the firm later. In 1901 the company was in- 
corporated, and is now the Tilton Woolen INI ills 
(incorporated). 

Mr. Pillsbury was a Democrat, and represented 
the town of Northwood two terms in the Legisla- 
ture. He was a director in the old Concord & 
Montreal railroad, and in the National Bank in 
Manchester. He was a member of the Masonic 
Lodge at Tilton, and of the Order of the Eastern 
Star, lie was not a church communicant, but gave 
liberally to churches and other deserving institu- 
tions. He was essentially a business man, and his 
was a busy life. He had no time for modern fash- 
ionable recreations, but was fond of hunting which 
the forest, and streams of New Hampshire forty 
years ago furnished in abundance. He married, 
November, 1862, Eliza Smith Tucker, of Mered 

dge mow Laconia), born September 23, 1838, 
daughter of Alvah and Mary Jane (Bean) Tucker, 
natives of New Hampshire. Two daughters were 
1> rn of this mama ,1 ']'., horn 1870, wife oi 

William II. Moses (sei . VIII); and Ethel 

phine, wife of Otis Darnell. 

I lii- Pillsbury brothers were associated in busi- 
ness the greater pari of their lives. When con- 
venient they and their families resided in the same 
house, having a common purse and living as one 
family in tin harmony. After moving to 

Tilton they built and occupied a very large and 
handsome hoi landing a grand and beauti- 

ful view of the surrounding country. Their deaths 
occurred on the same day of the month, November 
26, one in [891. and the other in 1895. 

(Ill) Caleb, sixth child and third son of Moses 



and Susannah (Worth) Pillsbury, was born in New- 
bury. July 27, r68l, and died in Amesbury, in 1750, 
aged seventy-eight. He moved with his family to 
Amesbury in 17-7. where he soon became a leading 
man in town affairs. The act which made his name 
al annals was the carrying out of the 
scheme to tunnel Pond Ridge in order that the 
waters of Lake Attitash might flow more directly 
into Powwow river, and also to drain a large 
low to the northward of the lake that its crop 
of hay might be more valuable and more easily 
harvested. This was a great engineering feat for 
the time, and was planned by Caleb Pillsbury and 
Orlando Bagley. The actual labor of digging 
through the ridge was performed by two men 
named Ring and Nutter. Tradition says they t 
their pay in a barrel of West India rum ; or, as it 
was spelled in those days, "rhum." The amount of 
the inventory of Caleb's property, both real and per- 
sonal, taken June 25, 1750. was £256, 6s., 7d. He 
married in Newbury, February 11, 1703, Sarah, 
daughter of Benjamin Morss, of Amesbury. Their 
children were: Benjamin, Caleb, Susannah, Sarah. 
Esther, Hannah and Judith. 

( IV) Captain Caleb, second son and child of 
Caleb and Sarah (Morss) Pillsbury. was born in 
Newbury, January 26, 1717, and died in Amesbury, 
February 7, 1778. He was the favorite son and 
residuary legatee of his father, of whose estate he 
was administrator. During his lifetime he was 
one of the most prominent citizens of the town of 
Amesbury. and held at one time or another almost 
every office within the gift of the people. He was 
repeatedly chosen selectman, representative to the 
general court and to the provincial congress. He 
was a captain of the militia under the royal author- 
ity, and his commission under the king's name, 
signed by Governor Hutchinson, is carefully pre- 
served by one of his grandsons. He was captain of 
the little company of fifteen minute-men who 
marched from Amesbury to Cambridge on the Lex- 
ington alarm. The muster roll may be found in 
the state house in Boston among the revolutionary 
papers. It is interesting to note that out of the 
members of the company four were named Pills- 
bury; indeed, Caleb and his five sons were at dif- 
ferent times in the Continental army. The inven- 
tory of his property, taken June 4. 1778, amounted 
to upwards of 2. 200 pounds, a large sum for the 
time. He married (first). July 8, 17)2. Sarah Kim- 
ball, of V 11 -sbiiry. She died in 1761. and he mar- 
ried (second), Mrs. Mehitable (Bus well) Smith, 

Kingston. New Hampshire, the intention of 
marriage being published November 7, 1761. The 
children by the first wife were: Joshua, Susannah, 
Sarah. Moses, Caleb, Elizabeth and Mica j ah. The 
only child of the second wife was Isaac. 

(V) Micajah, fourth son and seventh child of 
ii and Sarah (Kimliall) Pillsbury, was born, in 

Amesbury, May 4, 1761. ami died in Sutton. New 
Hampshire, in i8oi, aged forty. He was a black- 
smith by trade, and a soldier in the Revolution. He 
enlisted in the Continental army November 10, 

1777, at the age of sixteen, and was a private in 
Captain Oliver Titcomb's company, Colonel Jacob 
Gerri-h's regiment of guards, and served to April 2, 

1778, four months, twenty-four days at Charlestown 
and Cambridge I his regiment was raised to guard 
Lieutenant-Genera] Burgoyne's army after his sur- 
render. In February. 1795. he moved from Ames- 
bury to Sutton, where he lived till his death. He 
settled in the southerly part of the town, on the road 





/ ^6^£^z^ 




NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



55i 



leading from South Sutton to Fishersfield (New- 
bury), near the top of what was called Coburn's 
or Dodge's lull, lie was a respected citizen and 
tilled several offices of trust, among which was that 
of selectman, to which he was elected in 1707. lie 
was frequently called upon by his fellow townsmen 
to settle matters in controversy between them, and 
acted as a judge or referee. He married, March 15, 
1781, Sarah Sargent, of Amesbury, daughter of 
Samuel and Sarah (Kendrick) Sargent, who died 
in Sutton, 1843, aged eighty. Their children were : 
Stephen, Joseph, Moses, John, Sally, Betsey, Nancy 
and Dolly. 

(VI) Rev. Stephen, eldest child of Micajah and 
Sarah (Sargent) Pillsbury, was born in Ames- 
bury, October 30, 1781, and died in Londonderry, 
New Hampshire, January 22, 1S51, in the seventieth 
oi his age. In his early life he was noted as 
a school teacher. He was ordained to the gospel 
minister in June, 1S15, and settled as a Baptist 
clergyman at Hebron. He subsequently resided in 
Sutton, Dunbarton, and Londonderry. His ministry 
extended through thirty-five years, fourteen of 
which were passed in Londonderry. He was one of the 
very first persons in the state to espouse the tem- 
perance reform movement, and he published an 
appeal on the subject to the people, and another 
to rum-sellers, never sparing any effort tending for 
good to his fellow-men. He represented Sutton in 
the legislature about 1833, as a Democrat, but 
when the Free Soil party was formed he entered 
its ranks for freedom and union. At Londonderry 
he was active as superintending school committee 
for many years, and always identified himself with 
the cause of education. On the last day of his labor 
he attended a wedding and a funeral. He was one 
of the most correct, exemplary Christian gentlemen 
of his day — prudent, amiable, and unselfish, and was 
respected by all who had an opportunity to know 
him. He came to be regarded as one of the fathers 
of the denomination with which he was so long 
connected. Mrs. Pillsbury declared a short time 
before her death that her beloved husband never 
spoke a harsh word to her in his life. He married, 
March 3, 1816, Lavinia Hobart, born in Hebron, 
New Hampshire, October 31, 1795, daughter of Jo- 
siah and Joanna (Hazelton) Hobart, of Hebron. 
(See Hobart VII). She died in Concord, October 
21, 1871, aged seventy-six. She was the possessor 
of rare intellectual powers, was a graceful writer 
of prose and verse, and the possessor of a fine 
artistic taste. Her Christian character was a bright 
example of faith, devotion and helpfulness. She 
composed several excellent religious hymns, and con- 
tributed valuable articles to the pages of the 
Mother's Assistant Magizine. The children of Ste- 
phen and Lavinia Pillsbury were : Mary Bartlett, 
Lavinia Hobart, Josiah Hobart, Stephen, Edwin, 
Ann Judson, Adoniram Judson, William Stoughton 
and Leonard Hobart. (The last named receives 
extended mention in this article). 

(VII) Colonel William Stoughton, eighth child 
and fifth son of Rev. Stephen and Lavinia (Hobart) 
Pillsbury, was born in Sutton, March 16, 1833. His 
education has been gained chiefly in the school of 
practical life. At the age of fourteen he began to 
learn the trade of shoemaker, and subsequently be- 
came a skillful cutter of stock. At twenty years of 
age he started a shoe factory at Cilleysville, An- 
dover, for his brother Stephen, and was superin- 
tendent of the extensive establishment for a year 
or more. He was afterwards employed at Marl- 



boro, Massachusetts. Up to the time he attained 
his majority he gave all his earnings over a plain 
living for himself for the support of his widowed 
mother and to aid ethers in med at the time. When 
twenty-one years of age he consequently did not 
possess a dollar in money. Soon, however, he was 
engaged with a firm of shoe manufacturers just 
starting in business at Derry, now West Derry. 
About a year later he had the entire charge of the 
business as agent, and so continued during the ex- 
istence of the firm. When this firm went out of 
business Mr. Pillsbury made a journey to Kansas, 
where he used what money he had saved to advan- 
tage. Returning east he remained occupied in busi- 
ness affairs until the opening of the war of the Re- 
bellion. He enlisted in his country's service, and 
was commissioned first lieutenant of Company I, 
Fourth New Hampshire Regiment, and left for the 
seat of war in September, 1861. After reaching 
Annapolis he met with an acident of so serious a 
character that he resigned and returned north. A 
few months later, his health having improved, and 
the call for three hundred thousand men being is- 
sued, he was appointed recruiting officer for the 
Ninth Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteers. He 
was commissioned first lieutenant of Company A. 
His regiment proceeded to Washington and was in 
the battles of South Mountain and Antietam. It 
was at the battle of South Mountain that Lieutenant 
Pillsbury gave proof of his vigilance, perception 
and knowledge of tactics, which without doubt 
saved a portion of the companies of his regiment 
from almost sure destruction. His company was 
leading a charge upon a large force of the enemy, 
who were driven through a piece of woods and dis- 
appeared while the union forces moved into an open 
field adjoining. The enemy formed under the pro- 
tection of a battery, and their movements were ob- 
served by Lieutenant Pillsbury who halted his men 
and fell back sufficiently to avoid the fire of the bat- 
tery and to be supported by other forces just at the 
moment when Major General Reno rode along the 
line into the ambush and received a terrible volley 
from the rebels screened by the woods, and was 
instantly killed, very near the same ground oc- 
cupied a few moments before by Company A and 
other union forces. 

Disabled by a severe attack of pneumonia, he 
resigned his commission, and as soon as he was able 
to perform a little service in business he engaged in 
Wheeling, Virginia, superintending a party of ex- 
perts in training men there in the making of shoes 
by the most desirable New England method. As 
soon as his health seemed restored he returned to 
Londonderry, raised for the town its quota of thirty 
men under the last great call (1864), and was com- 
missioned first lieutenant of Company D, unattached 
artillery, Captain George W. Colbath, of Dover, 
commanding. The company served in several of 
the forts in the first and second divisions of the de- 
fenses of the capital. He commanded for a time 
the battery Garesche in De Russey's division. Later 
he was appointed ordnance officer of the First Bri- 
gade, Harding's Division, and was stationed at Fort 
Reno, Maryland, where he remained until the close 
of the war. He was mustered out at Concord, June 
19. 1865. 

A month later he engaged in manufacturing 
shuc. s at Londonderry, and successfully prosecuted 
the business there until the need of larger buildings 
induced him to move his machinery to Derry Depot. 
After the removal to that place he formed a busi- 



55^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ness connection with the Boston house of E. P. 
Phillips & Company, which continued until the dis- 
solution of that firm. Soon after that event he be- 
came agent for the noted firm of Clement, Colburn 
& Company, of Boston, later Colburn, Fuller & 
Company, shoe manufacturers at West Derry. Dur- 
ing this agency the business has increased until 
from an annual trade of $75,000 it has reached the 
sum of over a million dollars a year. Upwards of 
four hundred and fifty persons are now employed 
in tiiis establishment of the firm at West Derry. 
Additions to the factory afford room for about one 
hundred more operatives, as the pressure of the 
trade may require. Nearly four hundred different 
styles of ladies boots and shoes are made for Amer- 
ican and foreign trade. The especial effort in pro- 
duction is to attain all serviceable qualities and 
durability. The product of this factory is sold all 
over the United States, the West Indies, the west 
coast of South America, Egypt, South Africa, New 
Zealand, Australia, and in several European markets. 

Mr. Pillsbury is a lifelong Republican, and has 
filled various offices of trust and honor. In 1868 
he was elected one of the commissioners of Rock- 
ingham county, and held that office until 1872. In 
this position he performed valuable service in or- 
ganizing the system of conducting county affairs, 
embracing the institution of a new method for car- 
ing for the paupers at the county farm. Chiefly 
through his influence and zealous efforts came the 
appropriation for the erection of the asylum build- 
ing for the accommodation of the insane poor of 
the county, with results as good as at the state 
asylum at Concord, while saving largely in ex- 
pense, the enterprise has proven the soundness and 
practicability of the plan. In fact, while patients 
are as well treated as formerly, the cost of the 
asylum building was saved the first year it was 
occupied. Colonel Pillsbury was the original mover 
in the effort to check the overwhelming extent of 
the "tramp nuisance" in New Hampshire. The 
action he inaugurated culminated in the law for the 
suppression of vagrancy that has accomplished so 
much good in this state, and which has been gen- 
erally copied in other states. 

In Londonderry, Colonel Pillsbury has served 
as moderator at town meetings for nineteen years. 
He has also represented his town in the legislature, 
was elected to the state senate in 1001, is a justice 
of the peace and chairman of the Leech library at 
Londonderry. In June, 1877, he was appointed aide- 
de-camp, with the rank of colonel on the staff of 
Governor B. F. Prescott. Tie was also a member of 
Go ernor David IT. Goodell's council, 1889 to 1891. 

Colonel Pillsbury's life has been one of unre- 
mitting activity, crowned with success. lie has 
wasted no time in idle dreams, but having used bis 
and energy for practical purposes, he can now 
look back upon a period of active usefulness of 
much greater duration than falls to the lot of the 
ordinary business man. Ii has been said of him: 
"llis notable busim icces i-> due, among other 

,is, to bis industry, bis high sense of honor, 
hi. heartiness, and bis especially remarkable talent 

for systemizing . and for the 1 m ind 

ipt execution of his plan-, llis almost invari- 
able accurate judgment of men is the sedret of 
his power to fit the right man in the righl place, 
when positions of responsibility and importance are 
d. Personally Colonel Pillsbury is exceed- 
ingly attractive and cordial in manner. A true 
gentlemanly feeling characterizes his intercourse 



with all who meet him in business or society. He 
is a remarkably active and well preserved man for 
his age, and attends to business affairs at his office 
with the same diligence, promptness, and dispatch 
that characterized his earlier years, lie is an ac- 
tive member of Wesley 1'.. Knight Post, Grand 
Army of the Republic, has served as junior and 
senior vice-commander, Department of New Hamp- 
shire, and in April, 1907, was elected department 
commander. He was a member of the executive 
committee of the national council of administration 
of the order under General Russell A. Alger, and 
in 1005 attended the national department encamp- 
ment at Denver, Colorado. He was made a Mason 
in Lafayette Lodge, of Manchester, March, 1865, 
and is a member of the following named bodies : 
St. Mark's Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Derry; Trinity Commandery ; Edward A. Raymond 
Consistory, and Aleppo Temple. Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the .Mystic Shrine. He is also a 
member of the New Hampshire Club. Religiously 
he is connected with the Presbyterian Church, and 
for many years has been a trustee of the society of 
that denomination in Londonderry. He is not a 
sectarian. His spirit is liberal and broadly tolerant. 
He once paid the expenses of frescoing and painting 
a Methodist Church, when the society little expected 
such aid from a person of another denomination. 
mel Pillsbury married in Londonderry. April 
15, [8p6 Martha Silver Crowell. who was born 
September 27, 1836, r of Peter and Harriet 

(Hardy) Crowell, of Londonderry. Her grand- 
father. Samuel Crowell, was a soldier of the Re- 
volution, and settled at Londonderry from Essex 
county, Massachusetts, immediately after the close 
of that war. She is a member of the Presbyterian 
Church. April 15, 1906, was the fiftieth anniver- 
sary of the wedding of Colonel and Mrs. Pillsbury, 
and the event was celebrated with great 1 clat at 
r beautiful iril 14, of 

that year, the event being celebrated on thai d ly 
because the 15th of April came on Sunday. The 
golden anniversary celebration was a social incident 
of magnitude, upwards of three hundred and fifty 
imitations having been sent out, and friends at- 
tended from far and near to attest their regard for 
the couple whose half century of marital happiness 
was so felicitously celebrated. Nine children wi re 
born of this marriage, of whom live died in infancy. 
Of those who grew to mature age. Rosecrans W. 
is mentioned below: Charles H. L. is in Denver, 
Colorado; Harriet L. is the wife of Wallace P. 
Mack, of Londonderry; Ulysses Grant died April, 
1905. aged twenty-eight. 

(VIII) Hon. Rosecrans W. Pillsbury, eldest 
11 and third child of Colonel William S. and Sarah 
A. (Crowell) Pillsbury, was born in Londonderry, 
September 18, [863. lie attended the town schools 
of Londonderry, Pinkerton Academy, and the Man- 
chester High School, and entered Dartmouth Col- 
legi \\iili the class of 1885, but on account of ill 
health \\:is compel! 1 ave before the comple- 

tion of his course, lie studied law in the Boston 
Law School and in the office 1 E Judge Robert J. 
Pea lee in Manchester, He was admitted to the 
bar in 1890, ami for several years bad an office in 
Manchester and in Derry. All of this time he 
owned and conducted a box factory in West Derry. 
making both paper and wooden boxes for the shoe 
trade. Of l.iie years he has devoted practically all of 
liis attention to industrial rather than to professional 
activities, as his interests in the former line have 




"oiUk/Ml 




NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



553 



been increased most markedly. He is the junior 
member and manager of the shoe firm of W. S. 
and R. W. Pillsburyi which operates the oldest fac- 
tory in Derry (which is also the oldest in the state) 
and has been several times enlarged, a further ac- 
count of which is given in this sketch of Colonel 
\Y. S. Pillsbury. next preceding this. He owns 
and personally manages the farm of three hundred 
acres upon which he lives in Londonderry, about a 
mile distant from the village of West Derry. Here 
he cuts about one hundred and fifty tons of hay 
annually, all of which with other field crops is fed 
upon the place. He is one of the largest milk pro- 
ducers in that section, has extensive orchards and 
poultry yards which contain six hundred bens. He 
was president of the Magnet Publishing Company, 
which has its headquarters in West Derry, has one 
of the best equipped plants for job printing in the 
state, and printed and published the Magnet, a 
monthly magazine which had a circulation exceed- 
ing one hundred thousand copies a month. This 
magazine he sold October, 1906. Early in 1906 Mr. 
Pillsbury became the chief stockholder in the Union 
Publishing Company, proprietors of the Manchester 
Union, and has since taken control of its manage- 
ment as a newspaper, with most satisfactory results, 
concerning both the reading public and the owners. 
The paper is the leading journal of the state, and 
compares to the disadvantage of the Boston journals 
in giving general news of the world. He is a direc- 
tor of the Greene Consolidated Copper Company, 
one of the largest mining companies of its kind in 
the world. He is a director of the Shoe and Leather 
Association of Boston, and president of the Boot 
and Shoe Club of Boston, and for fifteen years past 
has been a director of the Manchester National 
Bank, president of the First National Bank of 
Derry, and treasurer of the Nuffield Savings Bank. 
Mr. Pillsbury is a Republican and has long ex- 
ercised a powerful influence in the political affairs 
of the state. This is due, not so much to his long 
time of public service as to the energy and enthusi- 
asm he has shown in accomplishing whatever he 
has undertaken. The only town office he has ever 
held is that of moderator, which place he has filled 
for the last twenty years. He served as a delegate 
to the constitutional convention of 1887, being then 
the youngest member of that body. He was a dele- 
gate to the convention of 1902, being the unanimous 
choice of the town; was chairman of the committee 
on permanent organization, and one of the most 
active members of the committee. He was an 
earnest advocate of the town as against the district 
system of representation, and in favor of local op- 
tion in exempting new industries from taxation for 
a definite term of years. He has represented the 
town of Londonderry in the house of representa- 
tives three terms, at the sessions of 1S97, 1899 and 
1905, and was a member of the judiciary committee 
at each session. In 1897 he was also a member of 
the committee on liquor laws; in 1800 also on na- 
tional affairs a nd in 1905 also chairman of the com- 
mittee on retrenchment and reform, heading a move- 
ment to procure a readjustment of the state sys- 
tem of taxation and expenditures, with other needed 
reforms. At the second session mentioned he was 
also chairman of a special committee to investigate 
the subject of the cost of state printing. This com- 
mittee conducted several hearings and recommended 
the abolishment of the office of state printer, which 
recommendation was adopted. By this change it 
is estimated by competent authority an average of 
at least $10,000 a year has resulted to the state 



treasury. This is the only conspicuous act of retrench- 
ment which has been adopted by legislative act 
for many years. Throughout his legislative service 
Mr. Pillsbury has consistently stood for the largest 
measure of local self-government and local option, 
and to secure a just conduct of affairs with the least 
practicable expense to those who bear the burdens 
of government. At his first session he introduced 
and put through a bill giving the town the option 
of having highway district agents, one instead of 
three road agents. At the second session he took an 
aggressive stand for the repear of all moieties, and 
won the contest. At the last session he drafted 
and introduced a bill providing for an inheritance 
lax, and was active in getting it through the later 

■is of legislation. It was he who made the sug- 
gestion that was adopted as the practical way 1 ait 
of the complications over the fifty-eight hour bill 
which was passed by the house after it was under- 
stood what the attitude of the senate was toward it. 
Mr. Pillsbury recommended as a compromise and a 
practical test of the workings of the plan, that the 
proposed fifty-eight hours a week be made to apply 
to the months of July and August only. The bill in 
that form finally passed. At all of these sessions 
Mr. Pillsbury was one of the most active debaters, 
never hesitating to let his position on a measure 
be well known, or diffident about adding informa- 
tion upon any subject, if he felt it would contribute 
to more intelligent action on the part of the mem- 
bers. He never dodged. The more important or 
hotly contested the subject, the more eager was he 
to take part in its settlement, and in the way that 
seemed to him for the best interests of the public. 
When near the close of the last session a resolution 
was unanimously adopted instructing his com- 
mittee in retrenchment and reform to make inquiries 
and report by bill wherein there might be a reduc- 
tion in state expenses without detriment to the 
state's interests, he accepted the command in good 
faith. His committee was called together at once, 
and early reported a measure providing that no bill 
of a state officer or employee for services or ex- 
penses, except salaries provided by statute, shall 
be approved by the governor and council or paid 
by the state treasurer unless it is accompanied by 
a certificate under oath of said officer or employee 
that the service has been actually performed and the 
expenses actually incurred; and another taking from 
the councilors mileage, but increasing their per diem 
pay. Both these measures became laws without 
opposition. The committee, because of the nearness 
to the close of the session, and their manifest in- 
ability for that reason to go into any extensive in- 
quiry, caused it to be known that it would report 
any measure which seemed to be offered in good 
faith, and let it stand on its merits. In this way 
measures to abolish the state board of agriculture, 
the labor bureau, and to consolidate the school for 
feeble-minded children with the state hospital, were 
presented. Some of the leaders who had favored 
the resolution desired all action under it suppressed, 
but Mr. Pillsbury insisted that the subject be 
threshed out. In this way the first mentioned 
measure was brought to a vote in the house, and 
defeated by the narrow margin of but thirteen votes. 
A senate bill to require the purchase of supplies by 
state institutions in the open market, would have 
been quietly dropped in the house in the last days of 
the session but for the insistence of Mr. Pillsbury 
that it be carried to a vote, which resulted in its 
passage. 

Mr. Pillsbury is a forceful debater and a pleas- 



554 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ing public speaker. He has a good voice and 
nee, and always aims direct to the point he 

les to reach. In the session of 1905 he never 
spoke unless it seemed to him that there was some 

red, and that he was in 
pos- the lads to do it, to the end that the 

most intelligent action might be taken. No other 
speaking member of the 1905 house was accorded 
applause from members to the extent that it was 
given to him. He was induced by friends to become 
a candidate for governor on a platform of reform 
and economical administration, and went into the 
state convention of 1906 with a strong following. 
On account of the unusual number of candidates 
with faithful supporters and the impossiblity of 
making a nomination without bitter strife, in the 
interests of harmony in the party ranks he with- 

\ after seven fruitless ballots, in favor of his 
old friend and schoolmate Charles H. Floyd, in 
whom he felt that he could trust. In 1^02 Mr. 
Pillsbury was an alternate delegate-at-large to the 
Republican national convention at Minneapolis 
which nominated Benjamin Harrison for the presi- 
dency. In 1904 he was a delegate to the Republican 
national convention in Chicago, and a member of 
the committee to notify Mr. Roosevelt of his nomi- 
nation. He is serving his fourth term as a trustee 
of the New Hampshire College of Agriculture and 
the Mechanic Arts. He is most popular among the 
alumni because of the active interests which he has 
always taken in all those things that especially ap- 
peal to the student body. His public spirit, which 
has been so well manifested at home for the devel- 
opment of the town and all that pertains to its well- 
fare, was well illustrated as regards the state in his 
early offer to contribute $1,000 to a fund that New- 
Hampshire attractions and natural resources might 
be fittingly represented at the St. Louis International 
Exposition. No man has been more zealous or 
unselfish in the efforts which have resulted in the 
remarkable growth that has brought Derry to the 
point where it is one of the most populous towns 
in the state. No movement of a public nature can 
be advanced there that Mr. Pillsbury is not to be 
safely counted in its substantial support. He 
gave the valuable site for the Adams memorial 
building, and one thousand dollars in cash for the 
use of the public library. He was initiated into 
the Masi nic order in 1885, and is a member of the 
following named bodies: St. Mark's Lodge, 
1 rinity Commandery, Edward A. Raymond Con- 
sistory, and has attained the thirty-second degree, 
Scottish Rite, lie is also a noble of Aleppo Temple, 

ient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine, and a member of the Patrons of Hus- 

dry, having been the first master of Nuffield 
G He is also a member of the New Hamp- 

shire Coon Club, the Derryfield Club, and the Cal- 
umet Club. 

Mr. Pillsbury married il Manchester, (885, Annie 
I Watl . s born in Manchester, August 7, 

1862, daughter of Horace P. ami Mona (Boyd) 
Watt-, of Manchester. They have three children: 
Maria, who is a senior at Abbott Academy; Horace 
Watts, who is a third-year boy at St. Paul's School; 
ami 1 lorothy, who 1- at home. 

(YII) Captain Leonard Hobart, ninth child of 
Rev. Stephen and Lavinia (Hobart) Pillsbury, was 

1 December 25, 1835, in Dunbarton, at which 
time his father was pastor of the church in that 
town. When he was only one year old his parents 
removed to Londonderry, and of that town are his 



earliest recollections. After the death of his father 
and while yet a boy, he was attracted by the ex- 
citing conflict against slavery to Kansas. In that 
then Territory he preempted one hundred and sixty 
acres of land in 1855, and did his part to make 
Kansas a free state. Returning to New Hampshire, 
he attended Phillips Exeter Academy until almost 
commencement time, when he would graduate, and 
then under pressure of the call of President Lincoln 
for three hundred thousand troops he enlisted as 
a private in the Ninth New Hampshire Volunteer 
Infantry, but was immediately placed in command 
of Company A, which he subsequently led m several 
of the hardest battles of the war. As Captain 
Pillsbury has always been a most earnest peace man, 
his military career is not easily explained, unless 
one remembers that "Slavery is war,'' and his hatred 
of that "patriarchal institution" was so intense as 
to be comparable only to his abhorrence and hatred 
of rum, both of which he has ever opposed with 
all the enthusiasm of his nature. After the war he 
was a teacher for some years in New York City 
and an officer in the custom house. Later he again 
went west, and was for about eight years a farmer 
in Kansas. For five years he resided in Tennes- 
see, being a deputy clerk of the United State- cir- 
cuit court and a commissioner of the same. In 
1878 he returned to his native state, and for the 
twenty-seven succeeding years has been in the 
mercantile business, first as a partner with his 
father, Colonel \V. S. Pillsbury. and later with his 
son, Ambrose Burnside. He held the office of po- 
lice judge three or four years, retiring from his 
judgeship in 1905. He is a noted public and civil 
engineer, and probably makes more conveyances of 
real estate than any other person in West Rocking- 
ham county. He has been for thirty-five years an 
active member of the American Peace Society, and 
is one of its vice-presidents, associated with such 
persons as Robert Treat Paine, Judge Edmunds, 
the Rev. E. E. Hall, and Professor Eliot, of Har- 
vard. His activity in the cause of temperance has 
been recognized throughout the state, and he is 
on the executive board of the State Anti-Saloon 
League. The first church ever organized in West 
Deny was the Baptist Church, and if Captain Pills- 
bury was not its founder it would be hard to say 
to whom that honor belongs. His activity and zeal 
cause which he has es- 
d have caused him no little friction, and he 
has sometimes been misunderstood and bitterly as- 
sailed, but time, which "evens all tin caused 
him ii. be better appreciated with his advancing years, 
and he certainly has had no lack of political honors, 
which have come to him unsought. He married, 
August 23, 1862, Evelyn F. Sanborn, and five chil- 
dren have been born to them, all of whom are now 
living, as follows: Fred S., now of Watcrbury, 

A achusetts; Ambrose B., of West Derry, who 
is in the furniture business with his father; Ed- 
Am S. electrician, St. Loui-. Missouri; William S., 
dealer in horses. Kansas City, Missouri; and Grace 

L. who married - Crocker, and resides in 

Boston, Massachusetts. 

Harriet I.. Pillsbury and Wallace P. Mack were 
married February 24. 1892, and reside in London- 
derry, where hi rn March 7, 1863, son of 

Vndrew W. and Frances A. (Preston) Mark, and 
lineal descendant of John Mack, a pioneer of Lon- 
donderry, born in 1732. Mr. Mack was educated 
in the public schools and at Pemberton Academy, 
ami is bookkeeper for Colonel Pillsbury. He 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



DDD 



owns and resides on a farm. The children of this 
union are : Lillian W., Lavinia P., Andrew P., 
and Wallace P. 

(VI) Moses, third son and child of Micajah 
and Sarah (Sargent) Pillsbury, was born in Ames- 
bury, Massachusetts, June 19, 1786, and died in 
Sutton. New Hampshire, January 25, 1870, aged 
eighty-four. He was a farmer and joiner in Sutton. 
He was a Democrat, was several times chosen se- 
lectman, was representative to the state legislature, 
and served as justice of the peace. He married, 
first, December II, 1S15. Mary, daughter of David 
Carlton, of Bradford, Massachusetts, who died in 
1852; second, November 1, 1854, Airs. Anna (Blais- 
dell) Eaton, widow of Joshua Eaton, of Bradford; 
third, April •!, 1862, Mrs. Jane Stevens. The chil- 
dren of Moses and Alary were : Mary, Harriet 1-., 
Sarah S., Moses L., and Amanda. 

(VII) Moses Lorenzo, fourth child and only 
son of Moses and Alary (Carlton) Pillsbury, was 
born in Sutton, September 10, 1826. and lias al- 
ways made his residence in that town. His family 
is the only one now living there of the ancient and 
honorable name and lineage of Pillsbury. He is a 
successful farmer, and owns and cultivates a farm 
of three hundred acres. He is also a stone mason. 
He is, in fact, the typical New Hampshire citizen — 
honorable, intelligent, and useful, of good estate, 
and always a gentleman, as was his father before 
him. In politics he is a Democrat, and was by 
the suffrages of his fellow citizens elected a mem- 
ber of the board of selectmen of Sutton nine years, 
and representative to the general court in the year 
1873. He married in Sutton, March 30, 1852, Hannah 
Maria Felch, who was born May 2, 1829, daughter 
of Deacon John and Hannah (Dodge) Felch, of 
Sutton. Two sons were born of this marriage : 
George C. and Herbert L. The former is unmar- 
ried and resides with his parents. 

(VIII) Herbert Larkin, second child of Moses 
L. and Hannah M. (Felch) Pillsbury, was born in 
Sutton October 22, 1865. His education was acquired 
in Sutton. He has a farm of one hundred and seventy- 
five acres, which he carries on with success. He 
has also been for a long time engaged in the lumber 
business, cutting and preparing large quantities for 
the market. He is highly respected by his neigh- 
bors, and was elected in 1903 on the Democratic 
ticket to the board of selectmen, and the same year 
to a scat in the New Hampshire house of repre- 
sentatives. He attends the Baptist Church. He 
married, August 12, 1893, in Sutton, Lena M. Co- 
burn, who was born March 18, 1876, daughter of 
Benjamin K. and Minerva V. (Harwood) Coburn. 
They have two children: Moses B., born June 
6, 1897; and Ruth M., born March 11, 1900. 

(V) Parker, third child and second son of 
Moses (3) and Mary (Parker) Pillsbury, was born 
in Bradford, Massachusetts, February 11, 1742, and 
died there February 21, 1821, aged seventy-nine. He 
was a patriot soldier in the American Revolution, 
and his record is as follows : Parker Pillsbury was 
a private in Captain Joseph Ilsley's company of 
Colonel Coggswell's regiment. He enlisted Sep- 
tember 30, 1776, and was discharged November 16, 
1776, serving two months, including thirteen days 
(two hundred and sixty miles) traveled home. The 
roll is dated Newcastle, and the order for payment 
of the amount of the roll is dated at North Castle 
and signed by Captain Ilsley. Parker Pillsbury 
was aLo a private in Captain Jonathan Poor's com- 
pany. A copy of a company return and a copy of 



a receipt dated Newbury, March 18, 1777, signed 
by said Pillsbury and others of that company for 
wages for six weeks' service, appears on the re- 
verse side of the return. He married first, Apphia 
Joques, of Newbury. She died November 10, 1769, 
aged twenty-nine years ; and he married second, 
March 24, 1774, Sarah Dickinson, who died April 
13, 1826, aged seventy-five years. The children of 
the first wife were: Phineas and Moses, and of 
the second wife: Betsey, Apphia, Parker, Paul, 
Samuel (died young), Oliver, Samuel, Enoch, Sally, 
John (died young), and John. 

(VI) Deacon Oliver, fourth son and sixth child 
of Parker and Sarah (Dickinson) Pillsbury, was 
born in Newbury, now Newburyport, Massachusi 
October 29, 1783. In 17S7, when Oliver was four 
years old, his father moved to West Boscawen (now 
Webster), New Hampshire, then a wilderness. At 
the age of nineteen Oliver returned to Newbury, 
and after farming for a while, hired himself to a 
blacksmith. He acquired skill so rapidly that at 
the end of six months he received full journey- 
man's pay. Before engaging in business for himself 
he went to Dummer Academy in Byfield, Massachu- 
setts, where he had the good fortune to meet a 
schoolmate, Miss Anna Smith, of Chebacco, now 
Essex, Massachusetts, whom he married December 
8, 1808. They settled in Hamilton, Massachusetts, 
where he did blacksmith work for a chaise factory. 
In 1814, on account of the breaking up of the busi- 
ness by the war, Mr. Pillsbury with his family 
moved to Henniker, New Hampshire, where he 
purchased a farm in the southwest part of the town, 
afterwards owned by Hiram G. Patten. War prices 
then prevailed, and Mr. Pillsbury incurred a debt 
of fifteen hundred dollars, which was nearly doubled 
by the interest before it was finally paid. Not- 
withstanding this heavy load he was enabled to give 
his large family a good education, and he cheer- 
fully bore his full share in building roads, bridges, 
schools and churches. In 1824 he united with the 
Congregational Church, of which he was afterwards 
made deacon, holding the office till his death. He 
was frequently superintendent of the Sunday 
school, and for many years maintained one in his 
own remote district, beside attending all the regular 
services at the church, four miles distant. He also 
maintained a singing school at his house, and invited 
all the young people of the neighboring districts to 
attend, rent and fuel free. Deacon Pillsbury was 
a notable man in his day and generation. He pos- 
sessed the strong qualities and high moral courage 
afterwards so conspicuous in his sons. He was an 
early advocate of the abolition of slavery and of the 
liquor curse. He was one of the best types of that 
Puritan character which has made New England. 
His two ideals were education and religion, and he 
was willing to suffer and endure all things in their 
behalf. Mrs. Pillsbury, like her husband, was en- 
dowed with the highest qualities of unusual vigor, 
physical and mental. She cheerfully endured the 
hardships of the time, and left a strong impress 
upon her large family, who were brought up ac- 
cording to the highest standards. Eleven children 
were born to this worthy couple, all of whom had 
creditable records, and some of whom filled large 
places in the world. The first three were born in 
Hamilton, Massachusetts, and the others at Hen- 
niker, New Hampshire ; one only died in infancy. 
Their eleven children are noted as follows : Parker, 
born September 22, 1809, married Sarah Hall Sar- 
gent, of Concord, New Hampshire, January I, 1840, 



556 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



died ;it Concord, July 7, 1898. Josiah W., born 
March jo, iSii, graduated from Dartmouth College 
in 1S40, married Elizabeth Dinsmoor, of Windham, 
New Hampshire, June I, 1S41, and died at Milford, 
New Hampshire, October 26. 1894. Gilbert, born 
February 23, 1813, graduated from Dartmouth in 
1841, married November 12 of that year. Ann 
Frances Ray, of Ludlow, Massachusetts, and died 
at North Abington, Massachusetts, January 3, 1894. 
Oliver, born March 22, 1815, died April 15, 1816. 
Oliver (2) is mentioned below; Eliza Ann, born 
March 12, 1819, married (first) Peter Eaton, of 
Weare, New Hampshire, in December, 1840; (sec- 
ond) Obadiah E. Wilson, June 2, 1870, lived in 
Henniker, and died December 24, 1896; Harriet 
Newell, born May 25, 1821, married Nahum New- 
ton, of Henniker, February 22, 1849. Mary Smith, 
born February 28, 1823, married Leander W. Cogs- 
well, of Henniker. Enoch, born June 28, 1825, 
taught school and had unusual talent for music, 
died at Boundbrook, New Jersey, May 28, 1846. 
Moses Foster, born April 3, 1827, married Hannah 
S. Dodge, March 19, 1857, was a farmer, teacher 
and selectman, died at Henniker, February 20, 
1865. 

The three eldest sons of this family deserve 
more than a passing mention. Parker Pillsbury 
became one of the most noted anti-slavery orators 
and agitators, the associate of Phillips and Garri- 
son, Rogers and Foster. A man of remarkable 
intellectual power, he devoted his whole life to the 
of reform. Josiah W. Pillsbury, after gradu- 
ating from Dartmouth, became principal of the 
Academy of Pepperell. Ma its, and later of 

the high school at Weymouth, Massachusetts. His 
wife was associated with him in teaching. Being 
obliged to give up his chosen vocation on account 
of his health, lie retired to Milford, New Hampshire, 
where he became a most useful citizen. His only 
surviving child, Albert Enoch, born August 19, 
1849, became a noted lawyer in Boston, and at- 
torney-general of Massachusetts. Gilbert Pillsbury 
paid his way through Dartmouth by teaching and 
sinking winters. After marriage he ami his wife 
taught select schools in New York city and Somer- 
ville, New Jersey, for several years. In 1854 they 
returned to Ludlow, Massachusetts, where they 
founded a young ladies' seminary, which they con- 
ducted until the Civil war broke out. In 1863 they 
went to Hiltnii Head. South Carolina, where he was 
made agent for the freedmen. During the reconstruc- 
tion period he was chosen the first mayor of Charles- 
ton, South Carolina, which office he held for three 
years. He had previously been a member oi the 
constitutional conventii n of South Carolina, and had 
much to do with framing the new Constitution. 

I •< icon Oliver Pillsbury died at his last home 
in Henniker, February 27. 1857. After the in- 
firmities of aye had begun to affect his once p iwei 
ful constitution, lie sold his farm to his son Oliver. 
and built this house in the village, afterward owned 
by lus daughter. Mrs. L W. Cogswell. Mrs. Pills- 
bury reached the age of ninety four years, dying 
July 8, 1879. She retained her faculties to the end 
of her active ami beneficent life, ami sin- was borne 
to the grave by her four el. lest and surviving sons. 
ion of Oliver and descendants i^ a part of this 
article.) 

I \ II) Josiah Webster, second l -<>n ami child of 
Oliver and Anna (Smith) Pillsbury, was born in 
Hamilton, Massachusetts, March 20, 1811, and died 
in Milford, New Hampshire, October 26, 1894. aged 



eighty-three. He lived on his father's farm until 
he attained his majority, and then began to prepare 
for college, teaching at intervals in the meantime. 
While attending Phillips Andover Academy he 
united with the abolitionist society founded among 
the students there. The Academy authorities con- 
demned the society and its aims, and its members 
left the school in a body. It was then and there 
that Mr. Pillsbury's attitude with regard to slavery 
became fixed. After the completion of his pre- 
paratory course at Pinkerton Academy, at Derry, 
New Hampshire, he entered Dartmouth College in 
1836, and graduated in 1840. After his graduation, 
Mr. and Mrs. Pillsbury, for he now had a wife, 
took charge as principal and preceptress of the 
Pepperell Academy at Pepperell. Massachusetts, and 
later of the high school at Weymouth. Massachu- 
setts. It was during this period that he began the 
study of medicine, and his health becoming im- 
paired by confinement, he abandoned his purpose of 
becoming a physician, and settled upon a farm in 
Milford in 1845, and with the exception of five 
years on a farm in the adjoining town of Amherst 
(1857-1862) and two years in the south, lived there 
during the remainder of his life. In 1864 he went 
to South Carolina with his brother Gilbert, who 
was then commissioner of the Freedmen's Bureau 
of South Carolina, and afterward mayor of Charles- 
ton. Mr. Hilton served about two years under the 
military government of that state, filling for a part 
of the time the position of judge of the provisional 
court at Hilton Head, having both criminal and 
civil jurisdiction. In 1866 he returned to Milford. 
He was bred an Orthodox Congregationalism and 
united with that church, but later became an abo- 
litionist and left the church in view of its intoler- 
ant attitude toward slavery. Toward the end of his 
life he became an active and earnest Unitarian, and 
was one of the founders of the Unitarian Church 
and society in Milford. Throughout the anti- 
slavery controversy he took no part in active poli- 
tics until the formation of the Republican party, 
with which he thereafter remained identified. He 
was for many years a member and chairman of the 
school board of Milford, and was a member of 
the board of selectmen in Amherst in 1S00, and 
school commissioner of Hillsborough county in 
[863-4. He married, June 1. 1S41, Elizabeth Dins- 
moor, who was born in Windham. New Hampshire. 
Her parents were William and Elizabeth (Barnet) 
Dinsmoor (see Dinsmoor). The children of this 
union wire: Antoinette A., born in Milford, May 
27. 1K40, died August 12. 1866; and Albert E., who 
is the subject of the next sketch. 

(VIII) Albert Enoch, only son of Josiah Web- 
ster and Elizabeth ( Dinsmoor) Pillsbury, was born 
in Milford. New Hampshire. August 10. 1849. 
After passing through the high school he prepared 
for college at Appleton Academy. New [pswich, 
Xcw Hampshire, and Lawrence Academy. 1.: 
Massachusetts, graduating from the latter in 1867. 
He entered Harvard College in that year in the 
class of 1871, but continued there somewhat less 
than two years, partly in consequence of a difference 
with the college authorities (which was subsequently 
adjusted by the honorary degree of A. M. con" 
in 1891), but more from want of money. Subse- 
quently he went to Sterling. Illinois, and there 
studied law with his uncle. James Dinsmoor, and 
taught school; was admitted to the Illinois bar in 
1869, and returned East and was admitted to the 
Massachusetts bar in 1870, and began practice in 



m 







NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



557 



Boston m 1871. Endowed by inheritance with a 
good constitution and fair health and the same 
mental gifts that had distinguished earlier members 
of his family, Mr. Pillsbury's advance was rapid, 
not only in his profession, but in social, political 
and financial circles. Five years after entering pro- 
fessional lite in Boston he became a candidate for 
political office. He was a member of the Massachu- 
setts house of representatives from Ward 17 of 
Boston in 1876-77 and '7S. He was a member of 
the Massachusetts senate from the Sixth Suffolk 
District in 1884-85 and '86, and presided over that 
body the last two years. In 1887 and again in 
1894 he was offered and declined a seat on the 
superior court bench, and in 1889 the position of 
corporation counsel of Boston. He was chosen at- 
torney-general of Massachusetts in 1892-93 and '94. 
in each of these offices which he filled, his duties 
were performed with a scrupulous care and fidelity 
to the public interests that brought forth expres- 
sions of approbation, not only from members of his 
own party, but from those who had politically op- 
posed him. This was particularly true of his con- 
duct as attorney-general. On the 4th of July, 1890, 
he delivered the city oration before the authorities 
of Boston. After serving as attorney-general he 
became general or special counsel for various cities 
and towns, the Metropolitan Water Board, the street 
railways, the gas and water supply companies and 
various other corporations, but has never subordin- 
ated the character of citizen to that of corporation 
lawyer, nor surrendered any part of his social, po- 
litical or professional independence. In politics he- 
is a Republican, but has never been controlled by 
any party boss or bosses. 

Since 1895 Mr. Pillsbury has been lecturer on 
constitutional law in the Boston University Law 
School ; and fur the past twenty years has been 
engaged, in so many of the most important trials 
in .Massachusetts, that it would be wearisome to 
particularize them, lie was president of the old 
Mercantile Library Association of Boston; organ- 
ized and was president of the Sons of New Hamp- 
shire in Boston; has been president of the Pills- 
bury Family Association from its organization till 
now; is president and director of the Massachusetts 
Society ti r Prevention of Cruelty of Animals, and 
of the American Humane Education Society ; first 
secretary of the Bar Association of Boston, and a 
member of its council ; is trustee of the Lawrence 
Academy of Groton; vice-president and a director 
of the United States Trust Company, and a trustee 
of the Franklin Savings Bank in Boston ; member 
of the American Academy of Political and Social 
Science; of the Algonquin Art and University 
clubs in Boston; the Pi Eta of Harvard, and of 
various historical, literary, political or professional 
societies or associations too numerous to call for 
attention here. He has no direct connection with 
any church, and takes a liberal view of all religious 
questions. His proclivities are with the Unitarian 
Church, to the support of which he is a liberal con- 
tributor. He married, July 1, 1905, in Edinburgh, 
Scotland, Elizabeth Mooney, of Pittsfield, New 
Hampshire, who was born in North Hero, Vermont, 
daughter of Henry Clay and Lucy G. (Holbrook) 
Mooney, who is descended through her mother from 
John Knight, one of the original grantees and set- 
tlers of the islands in Lake Champlain. Her father, 
Henry C. Mooney, was a merchant. 

(VII) Oliver (2), fifth son and child of Dea- 
con Oliver (1) and Anna (Smith) Pillsbury, was 



born in Henniker, New Hampshire, February 10, 
1817. He remained on the farm till the age of 
seventeen, when he began teaching district schools 
in tile winter. Like his elder brothers he developed 
a gitt for this vocation, and he continued to at- 
tend and to teach school till the age of twenty-two. 
In the spring of that year (1839) he went to New 
Jersey and opened a tuition school. He taught 
there eight years, the last six at the academy at 
Bound lirooK, Somerset county. In 1847, on ac- 
count of impaired health and the death of his first 
wile, who left an infant daughter, he returned to 
Henniker, New Hampshire, where he remained 
eighteen years. Pie purchased the farm then owned 
by his father, which he conducted with such skill 
that he doubled its products. In the meantime he 
took prominent place in the affairs ot the town. 
Like all his people he was deeply interested in the 
temperance and anti-slavery movements, and he was 
largely instrumental in changing the pe'litics of the 
town from hostility to sympathy with these great 
causes. Air. Pillsbury was fourteen times elected 
mouerator in the rlenniker town meeting, sixty 
tunes selectman, and three times as representative 
to the legislature. In 1862 and 1863 Mr. Pillsbury 
was elected to the governor's council, serving suc- 
cessively with Governors Berry and Gilmore. Dur- 
ing this period he was chairman of the military com- 
mittee, a most responsible position at this time of 
the civil war. In 1809 Air. Pillsbury entered upon 
his life work. He was appointed by Governor 
Stearns insurance commissioner for New Hamp- 
shire, an office which had just been established, and 
which he held till his death, nineteen years later. 
This office may be said to have been created by Mr. 
Pillsbury. In 1870 he drafted and procured the en- 
actment of the present insurance law relative to the 
insurance companies of other states, thus giving to 
the people a large degree of protection never be- 
fore enjoyed. This department has also brought 
into the state a large annual revenue from licenses 
over and above the expenses of maintaining the 
office. Mr. Pillsbury made his permanent home in 
Concord in 1871. Pie at once took a leading place 
in the capital city. Mr. Pillsbury was a member of 
the legislature in 1876 and 1877 ; an alderman 111 
1883 and 1884. He served on the Uoard of Edu- 
cation from 1873 to 1884. During the latter part 
of his term he was president of the board. He 
was a trustee of the State Industrial School at 
Manchester, and treasurer of the New Hampshire 
Prisoners' Aid Society; also trustee of the New 
Hampshire Savings Bank. While Mr. Pillsbury 
was a liberal and active promoter of all good work, 
charitable and religious, the philanthropy with 
which his name will be permanently associated is 
the Concord City Hospital. This much needed in- 
stitution was founded in 1884, and Mr. Pillsbury 
was one of the active organizers, and president of 
the first board of trustees. He contributed liber- 
ally to it during his life time, and at his death he 
made the institution his residuary legatee, and it 
will ultimately receive a considerable portion of 
his estate. It should be remarked that in 1891 the 
hospital was given a new and costly building by 
George A. Pillsbury, a native of Sutton, this state, 
who had made a fortune in the flour mills of Min- 
neapolis. It has been known since then as the 
Margaret Pillsbury General Hospital, in memory 
of his wife. The two benefactors of the hospital, 
though bearing the same surname, were not nearly 
related. In personal appearance Mr. Oliver Pills- 



553 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



bury was a gentleman of tall and dignified pres- 
ence, with a fine benignant countenance, and the 
courteous manners of the old school. He was a 
great favorite with young and old, while he ex- 
emplified the family record for integrity and high 
moral aims. He first married, November 23, 1843, 
Matilda Nevius, of New Jersey, who died July 9, 
1847, leaving an infant daughter, Mary Matilda, born 
October 12, 1844. The latter married, in 1873, 
Jonathan S. Eveleth, of Beverly, Massachusetts, and 
died June 27, 1875. Their only child, Oliver Pills- 
bury, born Februry 5, 1875, died on May 4 of that 

ir. Mr. Pillsbury was married the second time, 
on December 24, 1850, to Sarah Wilkins, daughter 
of James and Sarah (Fulton) Wilkins, of Hen- 
niker (see Wilkins VIII). Mrs. Sarah (Wilkins) 
Pillsbury was born in Deering, New Hampshire, 
January 6, 1829. She was educated at the academies 
111 Henniker and Francestown, New Hampshire. 
Like her husband, Mrs. Pillsbury has always been 
an active upholder of all good causes, which she 
has since maintained with the courage of her con- 

tions. From 1880 to 1890 she held the responsi- 
ble position of treasurer of the Concord Female 
Charitable Society, which was founded in 1812. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. Pillsbury were members of the 
Concord Book Club, and the Warwick Shakespeare 
Club, two of the oldest literary societies in town. 
Hon. Oliver Pillsbury died at his home in Concord, 
New Hampshire, February 22, 1888. 

This well-known New Hampshire fam- 
PIERCE ily not only possesses an honorable 
Colonial record, but figured prominently 
in the war for national independence, and is espe- 
cially distinguished as having furnished the four- 
teenth president of the United State-. 

(I) The original American ancestor of the fam- 
ily was Thomas Pierce, who w-as born in England in 
1^3-84. 1 to Massachusetts Bay in 1633-34, 

ompanied by his wife (Elizabeth) and several 
children, settling in Charlestown. He was admitted 
a freeman May 6, 1635. His wife became a mem- 
ber of the church at Charlestown, January 10, 1634- 
35, and he united with that body February 21. 1634- 
V;. In an act of the great and general court passed 
September 27, 1642, he was named as one of twenty- 
one commissioners appointed "to see that saltpetre 
heaps were made by all of the farmers in the col- 
ony." He died in Charlestown, October 7. 1666. 
eight children were: John, Samuel, Thomas, 
Robert, Mary, Elizabeth, Persis and Abigail. _ 

1 I! 1 Thomas (2), third son and child of 
Thi mas I 1 1 and Elizabeth Pierce, was born in Eng- 

' in 1618. He was admitted to the church at 
Charlestown in 1634. He became a resident of 
Charlestown Village (now Woburn) as early as 
1643, was ass. in 1645, served as a select- 

man in 1660 and was a member of the committee 
having charge of the division of the common lands. 
March 28, w was chosen one of the_"Rights 

proprietors" by the town, and in the following year 
appointed by the general court a member of a 
committee formulated for the same purpose. lie 
is frequently referred to in the early records of 
Woburn as Sergeant Pierce. His death occurred 
X, \ ember 6, 1683. On May 6, 1635, he married 
Eli :abeth Cole, who died March 5, 1688. Their 
children were: Abigail (who died young), John, 
Thomas, Elizabeth. Joseph (died young), another 
Joseph. Stephen, Samuel (died young), a second 
,1 William, James, Abigail and Benjamin. 



(Ill ) Stephen (1). fifth son and seventh child of 
Sergeant Thomas and Elizabeth (Cole) Pierce, was 
born in Woburn, July 16, 1651. He settled in 
Chelmsford, Massachusetts, and died in that town 
June 10, 1733. In his will, which was dated June 7, 
1732, and proved July 23. 1733, he left no land to 
his son Jacob, giving as a reason that "because he 
went away when he was young and learned a trade, 
so was not profitable to the estate." Stephen Pierce 
married November 18. 1676, to Tabitha Parker, 
and was the father of Stephen, Benjamin, Sary 
(Sarah), Tabitha and Jacob. The mother of these 
children died January 31, 1742. 

(IV) Stephen (2) , eldest son and child of 
Stephen and Tabitha (Parker) Pierce, was born at 
Chelmsford in 1679. He was an industrious tiller 
of the soil in his native town, and died there Septem- 
ber 9. 1749. January 5, 1707, he married Esther 
Fletcher, who was born in 1681. She bore him ten 
children, namely : Robert. Oliver, Esther, William, 
Stephen, Tabitha, Remembrance, Sarah, Mary and 
Benjamin. 

(V) Benjamin, youngest child of Stephen and 
Esther (Fletcher) Pierce, was born in Chelmsford. 
November 25. 1726. He was a lifelong resident of 
Chelmsford, and his death, which was untimely, oc- 
curred June 16, 1764. His wife, who was Elizabeth 
I Merrill) Pierce, of Methuen, Massachusetts, born 
February 22, 172S. survived him and married for her 
second husband a Mr. Bowers. Benjamin Pierce 
was the father of nine children, namely: Rebecca, 
Jesse and Phebe (twins), Lydia, Lcafcy, Susanna, 
Benjamin, Esther and Merrill. 

(VI) General Benjamin (2), son of Benjamin 
(1) and Elizabeth (Merrill) Pierce, was born in 
Chelmsford, Massachusetts, December 25, 1757. He 
spent his early life in his native town, was an indus- 
trious and thrifty farmer, and trained his children 
in his own simple and laborious habits. According 
to the Massachusetts Revolutionary Rolls, immed- 
iately after the battle of Lexington, the news of 
which stirred the New England colonies to an inten- 
ser patriotism than ever before, he enlisted in Cap- 
tain John Ford's company. Colonel Ebcnezer Bridge's 
Twenty-seventh regiment, and served for three 
months and fourteen days. The list of officers of 
the First Massachusetts Brigade, given probably in 
1782 or .1783, gives the date of h , as 
lieutenant in Colonel Joseph Vosc's First regiment 
as July 7, 1782. He was reported in command at 
West Point from August 1. 1782. an.! was also 
lieutenant and | r of the same regiment. In 

rxs of effectives between September 6 and 
September 20, 1782, dated at Camp Verplanck's Point 
and Camp West Point, also in the returns between 
July n ami July iS, 1783. and between July 25 
August 22, 1783. dated Camp Philadelphia, he was 
rted on command at West Point. From other 
sources we are told he served in the patriot army 
more or less of the time fri m his first enlistment till 
it was disbanded in T7S4. attaining to the rank of 
captain and brevet m: 

Shortly after leaving the service he removed to 
Hillsborough, New Hampshire, where he ever after 
re ided. li. had intense political convictions, rep- 
resenting the school of Jefferson, and was an ardent 
admirer of Jackson, and a leader of his parly in 
New Hampshire. That he was a man of great prom- 
inence in his town is shown by the fact that he was 
chosen to represent it in the legislature successively 
from 1789 to 1801. lie was on the governor's coun- 
cil continuously from 1803 to 1809, and served as 






Z-^Ce^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



559 



sheriff of Hillsborough county from 1S09 to 1813. 
Afterwards for many years he was the sheriff of the 
county or a member of the governor's council. As 
an evidence of his popularity with his part}' and his 
satisfactory filling of the various offices to which he 
had been so often chosen while his party was domi- 
nant in the administration of affairs he was elected 
governor in 18.27 and again in 1829. The coat and 
cocked hat that he wore when inaugurated are still 
in the possession of the New Hampshire Historical 
Society. 

He married (first), May 24, 1787, Elizabeth, 
daughter of Isaac Andrews, who died August 3, 1788, 
aged twenty-one, leaving Frances (another authority 
gives her name as Elizabeth), who became the wife 
of General John McNeil. He married (second) 
Anna, daughter of Benjamin and Sarah (Harris) 
Kendrick, of Amherst, New Hampshire (see Ken- 
drick, IV), by whom he had three daughters and 
five sons. One of his daughters died before reach- 
ins womanhood. The eldest married General Solo- 
mon McNeil, and the youngest Hugh Lawrence, 
Esq., of Lawrence. Massachusetts. Both died in 
1837. leaving families. The sons were Benjamin 
U.. John Sullivan, who died young, Charles S., who 
also died young, Franklin and Henry D. Benjamin 
U. Pierce, the eldest son, was a student in Dart- 
mouth College, 1807-09, leaving at the end of his 
third year and began reading law. When the War 
of 1812 broke out he entered as lieutenant the Third 
Regiment of Artillery and was promoted to the rank 
of colonel in the regular army, and so continued till 
his death in 1S50. He was distinguished for his 
bravery. He was married three times and left three 
daughters. Benjamin Pierce died in Hillsborough, 
April 1, 1839. His second wife was born October 
30, 1768, and died December 7, 183S. 

(VII) Franklin, fourth son of Benjamin and 
Anna (Kendrick) Pierce, was born in Hillsborough, 
November 23, 7804. His preparatory studies were 
taken in the Hancock, Francestown and Phillips 
Exeter academies, fitting himself for college. He 
graduated from Bowdoin College in 1824, ranking 
third in his class. In the early years of his college 
life he gave much attention to military tactics which 
served him well later. He also taught school win- 
ters. Immediately after graduating he began the 
study of law in the office of Hon. Levi Woodbury. 
After spending a year there he attended for a couple 
of years a law school at Northampton, Massachu- 
setts, and in the office of Judge Edmund Parker at 
Amherst, New Hampshire. He was admitted to 
the bar in 1827 and began practice in his native 
town. His first effort before a jury in the court- 
house at Amherst was a failure, but in no wise de- 
spondent, he said to a friend, "I will try 999 cases, 
if clients continue to trust me, and if I fail just as I 
have to-day I will try the thousandth. I shall live 
to argue cases in this court-house in a manner that 
will mortify neither myself nor my friends." 

He was early active in politics, espousing the 
cause of General Jackson with ardor. He became 
popular with his party and was elected to the legis- 
lature in 1829. the last years of his father's service 
as governor. He served four years, the last two as 
speaker. In 1833 he was elected representative to 
congress, and was honored with a place on the judi- 
ciary and other important committees. After serving 
four 3'ears in 1837 he was elected to the United 
States senate, and was its youngest member, having 
barely reached the legal age entitling him to a seat 
in that body. While in congress he was noted for 



his opposition to various bills which failed to meet 
his convictions of what was best for the public wel- 
fare. In 1S42 he resigned his seat in the senate and 
returned to the practice of law in Concord, New 
Hampshire, whither he had removed his family in 
1838, and ever afterward remained a resident. In 
1845 he declined the tender of the governor to fill 
the vacancy in the United States senate occasioned 
bv the appointment of Hon. Levi Woodbury to the 
United States supreme bench; also the nomination 
for governor tendered him by the Democratic state 
convention, and as well the office of United States 
attorney-general tendered by President Polk. 

Of a martial spirit from his college days, when 
the war with Mexico began in 1846 he enrolled him- 
self as a private in a volunteer Concord company 
and began studying military tactics and drilling in 
ranks, and was soon after appointed colonel of the 
Ninth Regiment of Infantry. On March 3, 1847. he 
received from President Polk the commission of 
brigadier-general of the volunteer army, and on 
March 27 embarked at Newport, Rhode Island, for 
Vera Cruz to join the army of General Scott, and 
was at the front in the battle of Contreras, August 
19, when he was seriously injured in the knee by the 
accidental fall of his horse, but though suffering 
greatly and urged to withdraw by the surgeon, re- 
mained in the saddle till eleven o'clock at night, and 
again the next morning, remaining on the ground 
under fire till the enemy were routed. General 
Santa Anna desiring more time for preparation 
sought a meeting under flag of truce to agree on 
terms of armistice, and General Pierce was appointed 
by General Scott one of the commissioners for that 
purpose. 

After the battles of Molino del Rev and Chapul- 
tepec, and the capitulation of the City of Mexico, the 
war was virtually over and General Pierce returned 
to his law practice at Concord, continuing from 
December, 1S47, till 1852. It has been said that he 
has never been surpassed, if equalled, at the New 
Hampshire bar. 

In 1S50 he was elected to represent Concord in 
the state constitutional convention, and on the as- 
sembling of that convention was chosen its president. 
At the meeting of the Democratic National Conven- 
tion held at Baltimore. Maryland, June 12, 1S52. lie 
was nominated on the forty-ninth ballot for the pres- 
idency of the United States, and in November was 
elected, receiving two hundred and fifty-four of the 
two hundred and ninety-six votes of the states. In 
bis inaugural. March 4. 185;. he maintained the con- 
stitutionality of the fugitive slave law and denounced 
slavery agitation. His policy on the slave question 
evoked an extraordinary amount of popular excite- 
ment throughout the country, and led, as time 
showed, to tremendous and lasting results. He 
signed the bill to organize the territories of Kansas 
and Nebraska, permitting slavery north of the 
parallel of thirty-six degrees thirty minutes which 
had been excluded by the Missouri compromise of 
1S20, thereby giving a victory for slavery than which 
there never was a more costly one. The remainder 
of his administration was embittered by a civil war 
in Kansas and disasters to his party in the free 
states. 

At the expiration of his term of office in March, 
1857, he returned to Concord. Afterwards he vis- 
ited Madeira. Great Britain, and the continent of 
Europe, returning in i860. His letter to Jefferson 
Davis dated January 6. i860, in which in the event 
of a civil war he predicted "bloodshed within our 



560 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



own borders and in our own streets." was a mistake 
and unfortunate though he may have been sincere in 
the utterance. It should be said, however, that after 
the breaking out of the Civil war by the attack on 
Fort Sumter, at a Union mass-meeting held in Con- 
cord, he urged the people to sustain the government 
against the Southern Confederacy. Afterwards Gen- 
eral Pierce lived in comparative retirement in Con- 
cord till his death, October 8, 1869. 

He married Elizabeth Means, daughter of Rev. 
Jesse and Elizabeth (Means) Appleton, in Hamp- 
ton, New Hampshire. She was born in Hampton, 
March 12, 1806. and died in Andover, Massachusetts, 
December 2, 1863. Their children were three sons, 
two of whom died in early youth, and the youngest 
Benjamin, was killed in a railroad accident on the 
Boston and Maine railroad, between Andover and 
Lawrence, Massachusetts, January 6, 1853, at the age 
or thirteen. The whole family are buried in the 
Minot enclosure of the Old North cemetery, Con- 
cord. 



This is a good old English name, dat- 
PIERCE ing from a remote period, is widely 

distributed throughout the United 
States, and there is some reason for believing that 
some of its bearers, if not all of them, derive their 
origin from the ancient Percy family of North- 
umberland (the Hotspurs of the North). 

(I) The Pierces of Chesterfield and Keene, now 
before us, are the descendants of Benjamin Pierce, 
of Smithfield, Rhode Island, a Quaker. Information 
gathered from the records of that town states that 
he lived and died there, but fails to mention his 
antecedents, and in the absence of any further clue 
the writer is unable to identify the immigrant or 
obtain any account of the family's earlier ancestors. 
Benjamin Pierce's wife was Abigail Buffum, a 
sister of Joseph Buffum, of Windham, and he 
reared five children, whose names, with the excep- 
tion of the next in line of descent, are not at hand. 

(II) George Pierce, son of Benjamin and Abi- 
gail (Buffum) Pierce, was a native of Smithfield. 
born 1703, and went from that town to Chesterfield, 
New Hampshire, for the first time about the year 
1816, locating in the eastern portion of the township 
For reasons not stated he shortly afterward returned 
to Smithfield, but a few years later settled per- 
manently in Chesterfield and resided there for the 
remainder of his life, which terminated August 14, 
1876, at the age of about eighty-three years. July 
4, 1S10, he married Sophronia Mann, who survived 
him, and her death occurred in 1SS7. She was born 
in [785, and lacked but one month of one hundred 
and two years of age a the time of her decease. 
She was the mother of eleven children, namely: 
Adeline. Gilbert, Benjamin, George, Diana. Marshall 
M , Mary F., John H., Joseph W., Louisa A., and 
Hannah Maria. 

(III) Benjamin (2), second son and third child 
of George and Sophronia (Mann) Pierce, was 
born in Smithfield, February 26, 1ST4. He was a 
bright, intelligent youth, and having made good 
use of his educational opportunities he was able 
when a young man to engage in teaching school. 
His inclination was, however, toward a lm 

life, which he began as a traveling salesman, dealing 
in bits and augers, and he was unusually success- 
full. About the year 1853 he engaged in the manu- 
facture of the above-named articles at Factory Vil- 
jud for the succeeding thirty years carried 
on an extensive and profitable business. During 



that time he was for some thirteen years actively 
interested in a chisel factory at Hinsdale, having a 
general supervision of its affairs and disposing of its 
products, and he also manufactured wheelheads on 
a large scale. In 1882 he disposed of his business 
to Messrs. Currier Brothers and spent the remain- 
der of his life in retirement. Though not an as- 
pirant for public office he did not seek to evade his 
civic duties and when called upon in 1850 to serve 
as a selectman he cheerfully responded. His busi- 
ness ability and progressive ideas were extremely 
beneficial to the town, and his death, which occurred 
June 27, 1899, at the ripe old age of eighty-five 
years, was universally regretted. November II, 
[842, he married Caroline A. Gale, daughter of 
Jesse Gale, of Petersham. Massachusetts. She be- 
came the mother of five children, namely : Frederick 
B., who will be again referred to; Carrie M., born 
October 17, 1850, married J. Lyman Bliss, and re- 
sides in Atchison, Kansas ; Nellie K., born January 
25. 1S53; Grace M., born December 30, 1854; died 
October 3, 1873 ; Alice. 

(IV) Frederick Benjamin, eldest child and only 
son of Benjamin and Caroline (Gale) Pierce, was 
born in Chesterfield, April 20, 1845. He studied 
preliminarily in the public schools, from which he 
went to the Kimball Union Academy, Meridan, and 
he concluded his education at the Fort Edward 
Academy. He then entered the employ of his fa- 
ther in Chesterfield, and for a number of years was 
engaged in manufacturing bits on contract. In 1875 
he established a brush manufactory at Chesterfield, 
and from 1882 to the present time he has been en- 
gaged exclusively in that business, The Fred. B. 
Pierce Company. Some six years ago he removed 
his business to South Keene, where much better fa- 
cilities were available, and his annual output has 
therefore greatly increased. He established also 
what subsequently became the Keene Chair Com- 
pany and is president of that enterprise. Mr. Pierce 
is actively interested in agriculture and spends much 
time at his valuable stock farm in Westmoreland, 
containing eight hundred acres. He is a Mason and 
a Knight Templar, belonging to Hugh DePayen 
Commandery. In politics he is a Republican and 
has given liberally of his time, talent and means 
towards the advancement of his party's interests in 
town, county and state. He was for a number of 
years moderator, served in the legislature as repre- 
sentative from Chesterfield in 1891-92 and in the 
state senate from the fourteenth district in 1889. 
Since being a resident of Keene he has represented 
Ward 3 in the legislature in 1905. His religious 
affiliations are with the Congregational Church, 
lie married Emma F. Cook, who was born in 
i. New Hampshire, April t, 1S40. daughter 
■ 1" J siah W. and Roseti M. (Harrington) Cook. 
Mr. and Mrs. Pierce have had two children, one 
who died in infancy and Maude E., who married 
■ tie 1 if the 1 b ners and ma 
Pierce Company of South Keene. Their chil- 
are: Benjamin Pierce, Marion and Mar- 
guerite. 



Carlton K. Pierce was horn in Ver- 
PIERCE mont. He owned a farm in Goffstown, 

New Hampshire, and was a farmer 
and stone mason in Goffstown and Dunharton for 
sixty years. In pi litics he was a Democrat. At 
different times he attended the Methodist and Uni- 
versalis church, lie married Eliza Jones, daughter 
of Eliphalet Jones, of Goffstown. She was educated 




^^LciC^u. 



^t^c^J J, 



&. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



56i 



in the district schools, and attended the Universalist 
Church. They had children : Franklin P., Hum- 
phrey C. P., Oliver Bailey, mentioned below; El- 
mi rn. Eliza, Andrew and Jackson (twins), Carlton 
K.. James E., lives in New Boston, New Hampshire; 
Henry, lives in Nashua, New Hampshire; Emma, 
married Charles Richards ; Josephine, died in in- 
fancy. Mrs. Eliza (Jones) Pierce died and Mr. 
Pierce married for his sesond wife, Mrs. King. 

(II) Oliver Bailey, third son and child of Carl- 
ton K. and Eliza (Jones) Pierce, was born in Goffs- 
town. Xew Hampshire, October 28, 1842. He owns 
a farm and has been in the lumber business for forty 
years. He handles real estate, and managed a cider 
mill for fifteen years. He owns a circular saw, and 
does considerable work in that line. He bought his 
present place in 1902, and put up new buildings. 
He sold the saw mill and cider mill in Goffstown. 
In politics he is a Republican. He attends the Con- 
gregational Church. He belongs to the Knights of 
Pythias, and has been an Odd Fellow for many 
years. He was on the school board for six years. 
He married Eveline G. Wheeler, daughter of Rob- 
ert and Sarah G. Wheeler, of Dunbarton. New 
Hampshire. She was educated in the district 
schools, is a member of the Congregational Church, 
and belongs to the Daughters of Rebekah. They 
have two children: Lottie E. and Arlie L., who 
died young. 



The Pierce name under the different 
PIERCE spellings Pierce, Pairce, and Pearce, is 

very numerous in this country. The 
original form was Pers, supposed to be derived 
from the English Percy. Several genealogies have , 
been written about the different American branches 
of the family, but it has been impossible to connect 
the present line with any of them. 

(I) Leonidas. son of George Pierce, was born 
at Lexington, Massachusetts. He came to Brook- 
line, New Hampshire, in 1840, and took up farming. 
He married Susan E., daughter of Peter Warren 
Gould, of Maine. They had eight children, four of 
whom are living in 1907 : Emily, a trained nurse in 
Boston, Massachusetts ; Laura, married Roswell 
Lawson ; George W., Perley Leonidas, whose sketch 
follow-. 

(II) Perley Leonidas, son of Leonidas and Susan 
E. (Gould) Pierce, was born September 20, 1847, 
at Brookline, New Hampshire. He lives in Brook- 
line, where he owns a farm and conducts a saw 
mill, devoting most of his time to the latter work. 
In 1867 he married Mary Anna Wood, daughter 
of Ambrose Wood, of Hollis. They had three 
children: Alice, who married George Kendall, of 
Townsend, Massachusetts ; Lucretia, who married 
John Martin, of Brookline; Susan E., who died 
in infancy. He married (second) Martha William- 
son, 1903. 



There are many distinct families bear- 
PEIRCE ing this name in this country, and sev- 
eral distinct spellings are employed. 
In the early Colonial records of Massachusetts, 
the name of the same individual is found under nu- 
merous spellings. The founder of the family herein 
treated is referred to in records of the same town 
as Pearse and Pierce. 

(I) Abraham Peirce (or Pearce) is early found 
in Plymouth county. Massachusetts. He was in 
Plymouth as early as 1623, and is found on record 
ii — 12 



as a purchaser of lauds in 1663. We do not find a 
record of his marriage or death. 

(II) Abraham (2). son of Abraham (1) Peirce, 
was born in 163S, in Plymouth, and resided in Dux- 
bury, Massachusetts, where he died in 1718. 

"(Ill) Samuel son of Abraham (2) Peirce, re- 
moved from Duxbury to Gloucester, Massachusetts, 
where he passed his life and died. He married, Jan- 
uary 18, 1703, in Duxbury. Sarah Saunders, and re- 
moved to Gloucester immediately thereafter. He 
had sons born in Gloucester, namely: David, Jona~ 
than and Joseph. 

(IV) David, eldest son of Samuel and Sarah 
(Saunders) Pierce, was born in 1713, in Gloucester 
and died in that town in 1759. He married, in 1736, 
Susanna Stevens, and they were the parents of 
several daughters and three sons. The sons were : 
David, Joseph and William. 

(V) William, third son of David and Susanna 
(Stevens) Peirce, was known by the title of colonel, 
and was three times married and had a large fam- 
ily of children. Among them were sons. William 
and George W. 

(VI) Captain William, son of Colonel William 
Peirce, was born in 1777, at Gloucester, and !• 1- 
lowed a seafaring life in his earlier years. He 
worked his way upward until he was a commander 
of a vessel. On retiring from the sea he was ad- 
mitted as a partner in his father's business, and he 
was subsequently appointed collector of customs 
for the port of Gloucester. He was representative 
to the general court in 1806-07, and at the time of 
his death, December 14, 1S41, was president of the 
Gloucester Bank. 

(VII) Captain William T.. son of Captain Wil- 
liam Peirce, was a native of Cape Ann, and in early 
life followed the sea, working his way up to the 
position of ship master. After retiring from the 
sea he went to North Yarmouth,- Maine, and en- 
gaged in lumbering He was a Universalist in re- 
ligious belief. Captain William T. Peirce was twice 
married, his first wife being Dorcas York of North 
Yarmouth, who bore him: Samuel, a seafaring 
man and farmer; David, a practicing physician, of 
Bowdoin, Maine : and Charles, who died at age of 
twenty-one. He married a second wife, Sarah J. 
True, of Haverhill, New Hampshire, daughter of 
Major Adams True, who was a member of the 
Main legislature at the time of his death. The chil- 
dren of this union were: Adams T., Lucy O.. Ann 
R., Harriet M.. Benjamin Franklin and William B., 
all deceased except Ann R., and Adams T. 

Adams True Peirce, son of Captain William T. 
and Sarah J. (True) Peirce, was born in North 
Yarmouth, Maine. May 10, 1834. He was educated 
in the public schools and at the South Paris (Maine - ) 
Academy. After leaving school young Peirce was 
employed for several years in the wholesale houses 
of Portland, Maine. He spent one year as clerk of 
the "Winthrop House," Winthrop. Maine, afur 
which he owned and operated a grocery at 
West Pownal, Maine, which after one year 
he sold, and entered the employ of the 
Portland Gas Light Company, where he remained 
three years. Mr. Peirce first engaged in the hotel 
business at Mechanic Falls, Maine, where 'he ran 
the Eagle House one year, going thence for another 
year to the Androscoggin House, Lisbon FalK 
Maine. In June, 1867, in company with Lewis P. 
True. Mr. Peirce purchased the American Hotel at 
Dover. New Hampshire. Shortly after the purchase 
he leased the Tontine Hotel at Brunswick, Maine, 
which he operated two years on his own account, 



56- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



and tlien returned to Dover and gave his personal 
attention to the management of the "American" for 
another year, when they sold the good will and hotel 
personal property to Daniel C. Wiggin. In partner- 
ship with Thomas K. Cushman. he leased the "Tre- 
mont House" at Claremont, New Hampshire. This 
house had previously been managed by that "prince 
of landlords," Parian Stevens, who later established 
the fame of The Tremont and The Revere hotels 
in Boston, and the Continental at Philadelphia. Here 
Mr. Peirce remained for seven years, doing a suc- 
cessful business. He then disposed of the Tremont, 
returned to Dover, and purchased his one-half in- 
terest in the American Hotel property from his 
former partner, Mr. True, and with Mr. Cushman 
as partner, again resumed the management of the 
"American" under the firm name of A. T. Peirce 
& Company, and ever since they have successfully 
managed this well known and best patronized of 
Dover's hostelries. The house has been enlarged 
by the addition of wings and otherwise improved to 
meet modern hotel requirements. Mr. Peirce is 
interested in other lines of activity. He is a trustee 
of the Merchants' Saving Rank and of the Dover 
Co-operation Association. He owns by purchase the 
Porter Oil Filter, and is the patentee of an inven- 
tion for reclaiming waste in engine rooms, called 
the "True Waste Press," both of which are valuable 
and successful inventions. Mr. Peirce is vigorous 
and active for a man of his years, and devotes each 
day to the personal conduct of his business. 

In early life Mr, Peirce was a Democrat, and 
was appointed by President Buchanan, enumerator 
of North Yarmouth on the census of i86o._ While 
resident of Claremont he was nominated for rail- 
road commissioner, and although defeated polled one 
of the largest Democratic votes ever cast in the state. 
About this time Mr. Peirce originated and organized 
the License Alliance, an organization favoring the 
granting of licenses in New Hampshire. The Alli- 
ance took an active part in the esuing campaign, 
which resulted in the carrying of the legislature and 
the election of Hon. James A. Weston, New Hamp- 
shire's first Democratic governor in many years, 
and the last. In the first Harrison-Cleveland cam- 
paign, Mr. Peirce voted for Benjamin Harrison, 
and has ever since acted with the Republican party. 
During Governor Weston's term he appointed Mr. 

rce a member of the governor's staff with the 
rank of colonel. On August 13, 1890, President Har- 
rison appointed him United States marshal! for the 
district of New Hampshire, an office he held four 
years. Mr. Peirce represented Dover in the state 
dslature one term. 1897-98, being elected on the 
' mblfcan ticket. For several years he was chair- 
man of the Republican City Committee of Dover. 

Mr. Peirce is president of the Universalist So- 
ciety of Dover, and chairman of t lie board of trus- 
tees of tit.- Peirce Memorial Church. He is a prom- 
inent Odd Fellow in both lodge and encampment. 
Mr belongs to Mt. Pleasant Lodge, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. No. 16, and Prescott En- 

ipment, Patriarchs Militant. He was a char- 
ter member of Canton Parker, and has risen through 
the offices to his present high rank, colonel of the 
Second Regiment, Patriarchs Militant. He is a life 
the Maine Mechanics' Charitable Asso- 
■ of Portland, Maine, and belongs to the Royal 
Arcanum and the Improved Order of Red Men, 
Wonalancet Tribe. He is an ex-commander, of the 
Am, Veterans of Manchester, with the rank of 

Major, and has been for several years a member of 



the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company of 
Boston. In Free Masonry Mr. Peirce has received 
all the degrees up to and including the thirty- 
second degree, Scottish Rite. He is a member of 
Strafford Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; Belk- 
nap Chapter, Royal Arch Masons : Orphan Council, 
Royal and Select Masters, St. Paul's Commandery, 
Knights Templar; and New Hampshire Consistory, 
Ancient, Accepted Scottish Rite. 

Adams T. Peirce married, March 23. 1857, Rachel 
Noyes Cushman, daughter of Major J. E. F. and 
Olive (Sturdivant) Cushman, from one of the lead- 
ing families of New Gloucester. Maine. The chil- 
dren of Mr. and Mrs. Adams T. Peirce were three: 
Ada Wiletta, born March 20, 1806. married, Sep- 
tember 2. 1880, Henry F. Barnard, who died in Nash- 
ua. New Hampshire, July 7. 1901. He was a Knight 
Templar, and a most excellent man. In connection 
with his father-in-law, Mr. Peirce, he ran the Nar- 
ragansett House at Fall River. Massachusetts, and 
at the time of his death Mr. Barnard was proprietor 
of the Tremont House at Nashua. 2. Hattie May, 
died in infancy. 3. Dr. Charles Cushman, born 
March 20, 1870. He fitted himself for the practice 
of medicine. He attended two years the Harvard 
College of Medicine, and graduated from Bowdoin 
College, Brunswick. Maine. He died September 19, 
'893, just after completing his studies. 



(I) Elihu Peirce (who spelled the 
PEIRCE name Pearce^ resided for some years 

in New Salem, Massachusetts, and 
spent his last days in South Orange, same state. 
He married Lydia Torrey, who died in Winchester, 
New Hampshire. 

(II) Hosea, son of Elihu and Lydia (Torrey) 
Peirce, was born in New Salem. April 27, 
1801. and died in Cornish, New Hampshire, 
March 24, 1893. He married Verlina Putnam, 
born in New Salem, July 10. 1806, died on 
the anniversary of her birth, 1886. Besides 
her three sons: George W.. Elihu P. and 
Joseph W., she reared an adopted daughter, Mary E., 
who married Edwin Parmenter. of Antrim, New 
Hampshire. 

(III) George W., M. D., eldest son of Hosea 
and Verlina (Putnam') Peirce. was horn in Win- 
chester, New Hampshire. April 24, 1833. He ac- 
quired his primary education in the public schools 
of Winchester, and this was supplemented bv at- 
tendance at the Townsend (Vermont') Academy, the 
X.w England Institute for Young Men, New York 

and the academy in Shelburne Falls, Massa- 
chusetts. His professional preparatii ns were com- 

d at the Berkshire Medical College. Pittsfield, 
Massachusetts, from which he was graduated with 
the class of 1854 and he immediately began the 
general practice of medicine in his native town. A 
natural capacity for the healing art. together with 
an enthusiastic ambition to attain a high rank in 
lu> profession, made him successful from the be- 
ginning, and he had built up a large and lucrative 
practice when, in 1863, he wis commissioned sur- 

t of the First Regiment. New Hampshire Vol- 
unteer Cavalry. During the lasl two yt . a rs of the 
Civil war, made notable by the occurrence in rapid 
ion of a srries of important operations which 
ultimately decided the conflict, he was, almost con- 
stantly in active service, and the vast amount of 
work falling to the lot of the army surgeons, under 
conditions none too favorable at the best, can only 
be estimated by the veterans of that struggle. The 






'&*yp{< £J, /*+<s^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



563 



First New Hampshire Cavalry, which rendered im- 
portant services under Generals Grant and Sheri- 
dan, in Virginia, participated in the famous battle 
of the wilderness, the Shenandoah Valley campaign, 
Wilson's Raid, the exciting operations north of 
Richmond, the investment of Petersburg together 
with its final siege and capture, and was present at 
the surrender of General Lee's army at Appomattox, 
which determined the fate of the southern Confed- 
eracy. After being honorably discharged and mus- 
tered out with his regiment. Dr. Peirce resumed his 
practice in Winchester, which he has continued 
without interruption to the present time, and is there- 
fore one of the oldest physicians in point of service 
in the state, having been actively identified with 
the medical profession for more than fifty years. 

Dr. Peirce's usefulness has not alone been con- 
fined to his profession, as he has figured quite con- 
spicuously and with marked ability in civic affairs. 
As a Republican he represented his district in the 
lower branch of the legislature in 1S75 ; in the sen- 
ate in 1891, during which senatorial incumbency he 
served as chairman of the committee on railroads, 
the period being marked by an especial advancement 
of the railroad interests of the Commonwealth : has 
been a member of the Winchester school board for 
fifty years; the board of health for thirty years; a 
trustee of the Winchester Public Library for twenty 
years ; has officiated as town moderator for twelve 
years and acts as a justice of the peace. He is a 
member of the New Hampshire State, the Cheshire 
County and the Connecticut River Medical societies, 
and served as surgeon-general on Governor Cur- 
rier's staff. 

In 1S60, Dr. Peirce married Maria C. Follett, 
born in Winchester. March 24. 1833, daughter of 
William Follett. She became the mother of four 
children, namelv : Alexander F., born September 
2, 1863; Susan P., August 31, 1867; Abbie M.. July 
25. 1870; and Philip. Aug. 6. 1876. Mrs. Peirce 
died March 24, (her birthday anniversary), 1002. 



The True family is one of the oldest in 
TRUE Massachusetts, and has been identified 

with New Hampshire for several genera- 
tions. It has contributed some of the leading clergy- 
men of the early days in this state, and has made an 
honorable record in the development of the common- 
wealth. 

(I) Henry True, the immigrant ancestor, lived 
near Huntsford, Yorkshire, England, and came to 
this country about 1630, settling in Salem, Massa- 
chusetts. A few years later he removed to Salis- 
bury, Massachusetts, where he purchased a house and 
lot in 1657. He died in 1659, or early in the follow- 
ing year. The invoice of his estate was filed April 
10, 1660. He was married about 1644 to Israel Pike,, 
daughter of John Pike, a pioneer of Newbury and 
Salisbury. She was married (second) June 18, 1660, 
in Salisbury, to Joseph Fletcher, of that town. She 
died March 12, 1699, and was survived only three 
days by her husband. The children of Henry and 
Israel True were: Henry, Mary, Lydia, Joseph, 
Benjamin and Jemima. 

(II) Henry (2), eldest child of Henry (1) and 
Israel (Pike) True, was born March 8, 1645, prob- 
ably in Salisbury, where he was an active and use- 
ful citizen. He and his wife were members of the 
Salisbury church, of which he was elected deacon 
July 25, 1700. He was a town clerk and representa- 
tive and filled other official positions in the town. 
He was living in 1723, but no record of his death 



appears. He was married March 15, 1668, to Jane 
Bradbury, who was born May 11. 1645, daughter of 
Captain Thomas and Mary (Perkins) Bradbury, 
of Salisbury. Their children, born in that town, 
were : Mary, William, Henry, Jane, John, Jemima, 
Jabez (died young), and Jabez. 

(III) John, third son and fifth child of Henry 
(2) and Jane (Bradbury) True, was born February 
23, 1679. in Salisbury, and probably resided through 
life in that town. He was still living there in 1736, 
but no further record of him appears. He and his 
wife were admitted to the Salisbury church July 23, 
1710, and on that day their first five children were 
baptized. He was married June 16, 1702, to Martha 
Merrill, who was born September 3, 1683, daughter 
of Daniel and Sarah (Clough) Merrill and grand- 
daughter of Nathaniel (1) Merrill of Salisbury. 
(See Merrill). She was a twin sister of Moses 
Merrill of Salisbury, John True and wife had ten 
children, namely: Jemima, John, Jacob. Ezekiel, 
Daniel. Ruth, Ann, Moses, Thomas and Mary. 

(IV) Ezekiel, third son and fourth child of John 
and Martha (Merrill) True, was born June 1, 1707, 
in Salisbury, and baptized at the Salisbury church on 
the twenty-third of the following month. He was 
married May 4, 1744, to Mary Morrill, of North 
Yarmouth, Maine, probably a daughter of William 
Barnes and Lydia (Pillsbury) Morrill, formerly of 
Salisbury, and their children, born from 1746 to 1766, 
were : Sarah, Jacob, Lydia. Martha, Ezekiel, Mary, 
Jabez. John, William and Paul. 

(V) John (2), fourth son and eighth child of 
Ezekiel and Mary (Morrill) True, was born March 
11, 1762, in Salisbury and settled when a young 
man in New Hampshire. He was employed for 
some time by John Tilton, of Tilton Hill, in Pittsfield 
New Hampshire, who came to that town from Salis- 
bury. Subsequently Mr. True engaged in farming 
for himself, clearing up land in the wilderness and 
doing his plowing, as was then the custom, with 
cxen. He was married January 24, 1787. to Mehit- 
abel Cram, who was born June 29, 1766. Their 
children, born in Pittsfield, were : Paul, born March 
22, 1788; Levi. November 21, 1790; Hannah, Febru- 
ary 6, 1793 ; Oliver, November 4, 1796. and Sally, 
October iS, 1799. 

(II) Paul, eldest child and son of John and Me- 
hitable (Cram) True, was born in Pittsfield. March 
J J. 1788. He married Nancy Cram, daughter of 
Jonathan Cram, of Hampton Falls, December 28, 
1S14, by whom he had Emily, born in 1818, Elby, 
born in 1820, who married Abigail Watson, and 
Porter Cram. 

(III) Porter Cram, youngest son and child of 
Paul and Nancy (Cram) True, was born in Pitts- 
field, August 7. 1824. He was educated in the pub- 
lic schools and academy of his native town. He was 
for a time under the instruction of Dr. Charles C. 
Berry. His occupation was farming and shoemak- 
ing until 1893, when he retired for a home in the 
village. His grandfather, John True, owned three 
farms, and gave one to each of his three sons. Porter 
C. True now owns two hundred acres rescued from 
the wilderness by his grandfather. Mr. True has 
been a constant reader of good books, and served 
a number of years as clerk of school district No. 
9 when Daniel Watson, grandfather of Professor 
Watson, of Pittsfield school, was on the board of ed- 
ucation. He is a Unitarian in his religious belief, 
of the Emersonian school. The east room of his 
home in Tilton Hill is notable for the fact that 
President Franklin Pierce and United States Sen- 



5 6 4 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ator Moses Norris, met there once to take deposi- 
tions in law suits. The home had also an open 
door for ministers, and Rev. William Colby and 
others held preaching services there. Mr. True is 
now the only survivor of his generation, and is en- 
gaged in preparing the history of his life from a boy, 
which promises to make an interesting book when 
completed. 

He married, August II, 1843. Ursula, daughter 
of Anson Adams, a direct relative of President Ad- 
ams. She was born in Northfield, Vermont, October 
13, iS_»3. They have no children. 



This family is not a large one, as com- 
NUDD pared with many others scattered over 

the United States, but has many repre- 
sentatives in New Hampshire, and all seem to have 
sprung from one ancestor. Most of the members 
seem to have been engaged chiefly in agriculture. 

(I) Roger, son of John Nudd, was born at 
Ormsby, in the county of Norfolk, England, June 
II, 1598, died in the same town, and was buried 

December 24, 1630. He married Joane , and 

had a son Thomas. Soon after the death of Roger 
his widow married Henry Dow. In the spring of 
1637 the family emigrated to New England, and a 
few years afterwards settled at Hampton, New 
Hampshire. Mrs. Dow died about 1640. 

(II) Thomas, son of Roger and Joane, and 
grandson of John Nudd, was born at Ormsby, 
where he was baptized January 6, 1629. He ac- 
companied his mother and step-father to America, 
and came with the latter to Hampton in 1643 or 
1644. October 3, 1649, when Thomas Nudd had 
arrived at his majority, Mr. Dow, in fulfillment of 
a promise made to his wife at the time of their 
marriage, "that he would treat her son as his own 
child," conveyed to him by a deed of gift ten acres 
off the easterly side of his home lot, and some tracts 
of fresh meadow and of salt marsh, and one share 
in the cow common. Mr. Nudd built a house and 
lived upon the first of these tracts, and there has 
been the home of some of his posterity till the 
present time. Airs. Sarah (Nudd) Shaw, the mother 
of George F. Nudd, the last occupant of the name, 
who died in 1888, still residing there. Thomas Nudd 
died January 31, 1713. He married Sarah, daughter 
of Godfrey Dearborn, and they had six children : 
John, James, Thomas, Samuel. Mary and Hannah. 

(III) Samuel, fourth son and child of Thomas 
and Sarah (Dearborn) Nudd, born in Hampton, 
September 13, 1670, died March 26, 1748, lived on 
the homestead, and divided his time between agri- 
cultural pursuits and a sea-faring life, owning and 
commanding a small vessel employed in coasting 
between Hampton and Boston. He married, Feb- 
ruary 27, 1701, Sarah Maloon, who died February 
14, 1756, aged seventy-seven years. The children 
were: Mary. James and Thomas, whose sketch 
follows. 

(IV) Thomas, youngest child of Samuel and 
Sarah (Mali. on) Nudd, born in Hampton. October 
8, 170S. and died March 17. 1780. remained on the 
homestead and was through life principally en- 
gaged in farming, lie, however, transacted a con- 
siderable amount of public business as justice of 
the peace, coroner, and selectman, filling the last 
named offio in thi ears (746-51-53-59-62 and 1768. 
lie married, May 23. 173;,. Deborah, daughter of 
Simon Mar-ton. Their children were: Simon, Han- 
nah. Samuel, Sarah ami Molly. 

( Y I Simon, eldest child of Thomas and De- 



borah (Marston) Nudd, was born February 6, 1735, 
and died October 30, 1818, remained on the home- 
stead, was a large land owner and farmer, and a 
cornet in the militia. He married Elizabeth Hook 
of Salisbury. Massachusetts, who died October 14, 
I 799, aged fifty-nine years. They had nine children: 
Thomas, Simon (died young), Alary, Betty, Simon, 
Moses, Samuel, David and Jacob. 

(VI) Thomas, eldest child of Simon and Eliza- 
beth (Hook) Nudd. was born November 28, 1 
and died April, 1806, settled on the Mill road and 
spent his life there. He married (first), October 
28, 1784, Abigail, daughter of Jonathan Mar- 
aud (second), October 28, 1795, Susanna, daughter 
of Samuel Brown. They had eight children, named 
as follows : Josiah, Thomas, James, Samuel, Moses, 
Daniel, John and Eliza. 

(VII) John, fifth son and child of Thomas 
Abigail (Marston) Nudd, was born in Hampton, 
married and had a family of children. 

(NTH) In the early part of the last century 
Joseph Warren Nudd was a resident of Canterbury, 
where he married Judith Arlin of the same town, 
and they had children: David. Benjamin, Andrew, 
Erastus, Mary, wdro married True Hill, and Almira, 
who married Luther Rogers. Alter the death of 
Joseph W. Nudd his widow married Hiram Kim- 
ball and had three children : Eliza, wdio married 
John Welch ; Laura, who married Andrew Grover ; 
and Charles. 

(IX) Erastus, son of Joseph W. and Judith 
(Arlin) Nudd, was born in Canterbury, January 9, 
1825, and died in East Concord, May 29, 1897. He 
was a farmer in East Concord, and in the seasons 
when work was slack on the farm he burned char- 
coal, which he sold in Concord. He was a Protes- 
tant, but not a church member. Politically he was 
a Democrat. He served as a soldier in the Civil 
war, being a member of Company G, Tenth New 
Hampshire Volunteer Infantry. His brother David 
Nudd, was a member of the same company. He 
married, February 18, 1849, Katherine Riordan, born 
June 5, 1828, in the city of Cork, Ireland, who died 
in Concord, April 20. 1892. They had six children : 
Clara J., mentioned below: Otis W.. married Annie 
Carter; he resided on the home farm until after the 
death of his wife, and then lived at the home of his 
sister Clara J., where he died September 17, 1904; 
Susan F., born 1853, married Sylvester Sargent, 
who is employed in the needle factory at Laconia : 
Mary M., born 1S55. married Lucian Sargent, they 
lived on a farm near Laconia; Martha J., born 1857, 
married James Willey, liveryman in Lancaster ; she 
died in 1898; Phebe C, born October 15, 1861, died 
in Concord, 1904, married Charles Rowell, a car- 
penter in Concord. 

Clara J. Nudd married (first), July 4, 1S69, 
Michael Doland, born in 1844, in county Roscom- 
mon, Ireland. He received the education common 
to his station and times, and came to America when 
eighteen years old. He soon after settled in Con- 
cord and learned the blacksmith's trade and lived 
ever after in that town, where he died. He was a 
member of St. John's (Roman Catholic) Church, 
and of St. Patrick's Society, and a Democrat. The 
children of this marriage were: John II. , bom May 
4. 1S70, married Victoria Welcome; be is a resident 
of Concord, a Republican, and a member of the 
Eagles. George E., born December 8. 1871. married 
Elizabeth W. Berg, and is an electrician. Kathei 
born 1874, married William Sexton, an engineer of 
the Boston & Maine railroad, and lives in Concord; 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



5*5 



they have three children — Bertha, Agnes and Ruth. 
Mary l\, born July 27, 1876, married Edward S. 
George, (q. v.), attorney and railway promoter of 
Manchester. 

Mrs. Clara J. Doland married. July 15. 1879, 
Patrick Mclntire, born 1852, at Inverness, province 
of Quebec, died September 15. 1S97, in Concord. He 
settled in Concord when a young man, and finally 
1 in the livery business, which he carried on 
■fully many years. He was a member of St. 
John's Church, and a Democrat. The children of 
this marriage are : Matthew, born October 5, 1880, 
now a clerk in a clothing store, and Margaret, born 
August 2, 1882, a bookkeeper. 



It is supposed that the name of Ham- 
HAMLIN lin is originally of Germanic origin. 

perhaps derived from the town of 
Hamlin in Lower Saxony situated at the junction 
of the river of Hamel with the Weiser. The name 
Hamelin is still common in France, whence some 
have, emigrated to this country and to Quebec 
where they have become numerous. In England 
this name was formerly spelled Hamblen, Hamelyn, 
Hamelin and Hamlyn. As the name is found in the 
"Roll of Battle Abbey" it is undoubtedly of French 
origin, and was brought into England by a follower 
■of the Norman conqueror. Burke's Encyclopedia 
of Heraldry describes several coats of arms belong- 
ing to the Hamblens and Hamlyns. Representatives 
of the distinguished American family of this name 
participating in the war for National Independence 
and the Civil war. It has produced a goodly num- 
ber of able men including clergymen, lawyers, phy- 
sicians and statesmen, and its most distinguished 
representative of modern times was the Hon. Han- 
nibal Hamlin, vice-president of the United States 
during Abraham Lincoln's administration, for many 
years a member of the national senate from Maine 
and afterwards minister to Spain (born 1809. died 
1891). 

( 1 ) John Hamelyn, of Cornwall, living in 1570, 
married Amor, daughter of Robert Knowle, of 
Sarum. 

(II) Giles Hamelin, son of John and Amor 
(Knowle) Hamelyn, resided in Devonshire. He mar- 
ried a daughter of Robert Ashay, who bore him at 
least two sons, Thomas and James. 

(III) James Hamblen, gentleman, son of Giles 
Hamelin, was residing in London in 1623, and there 
is some evidence to show that he was born in that 
city. He emigrated from London to New England, 
settling at Barnstable. Massachusetts, in the spring 
of 1639. He was made. a freeman in 1641-42, served 
as a constable and as a juryman, and his death oc- 
curred in 1690. By his wife Ann he had seven chil- 
dren, but only the names of four appear in the 
records: James (who died in London in 1633), 
Sarah, Mary and James, all of whom were born in 
London. 

(IV) James (2) Hamlin, supposedly the young- 
est son and child of James and Ann Hamblin, was 
born in London. April 10, 1636, and came to Amer- 
ica with his mother prior to 1642. He was a pros- 
perous farmer of Barnstable for many years, and his 
name frequently appears in the early records of 
Plymouth colony. He was a member of the "Grand 
Enquest" and in 1705 served as representative to 
the general court. The last years of his life were 
spent in Tisbury, as in his will, which was made 
in 1717, he claims to be a resident of that town. 
He was married in Barnstable, November 20, 1662, 



to Mary Dunham, born in 1642, daughter of John 
and Abigail Dunham. He and his wife were mem- 
bers of the church at Barnstable in 1683. Their 
children were: Mary, Elizabeth, Eleazer, Exper- 
ience, Elisha, Hope, Job, J' hn. Benjamin and 
Elkanah. 

(V) Eleazer, third child and eldest son of James 
and Mary (Dunham) Hamlin, was born in Barn- 
stable, April 12, 1668. He went from Barnstable 
to Harwich or Yarmouth, and according to the pro- 
bate records he died in the last named town, in 1698. 
He married Lydia Sears, born October 24, 1666, 
daughter of Paul and Deborah (Willard) Sears. 
She survived him and was married for the second 
time in Harwich, September 30, 1706. to Thomas 
Snow. The only record of the number of his chil- 
dren is that contained in the will of his father, who 
refers in that document to "my four grandchildren, 
the children of my son Eleazer Hamlin, deceased." 

(VI) Benjamin, son of Eleazer and Lydia 
(Sears) Hamlin, was born in 1692. He was mar- 
ried October 25, 1716, by John Doane, Esq.. of 
Eastham, Massachusetts, to Anne Mayo, daughter 
of Samuel Mayo. The records relative to this an- 
cestors are meagre, but it is known that he was the 
father of Cornelius, Joshua, Lydia Isaac, Mary and 
Major Eleaner. He resided in Wellfleet, Massachu- 
setts, and diea in or prior to 1748. 

(VII) Major Eleazer (2), son of Benjamin and 
Anne (Mayo) Hamlin, was born in July, 1732, 
probably in Wellfleet, Massachusetts, then a part 
of Eastham. For a number of years he resided in 
Pembroke, Massachusetts, where he acquired con- 
siderable real estate, and was baptized there Feb- 
ruary 6, 1762. As second lieutenant in Captain 
James Hatch's company he responded to the Lex- 
ington Alarm, April 19, 1775, and in 1776 moved 
to Harvard, Massachusetts. He afterwards re- 
moved to Westford, Massachusetts. He was mar- 
ried in the East Parish of Bridgewater, Massachu- 
setts, by Rev. John Angier, June 30, 1752, to Lydia 
Bonney, of Pembroke, who died August 12, 1769, 
and in 1772 married Mrs. Sarah Bryant (nee Lob- 
dell), who had two daughters by her first husband. 
He was married for the third time in Westford, 
June 30, 1789, by Rev. Matthew Sanborn to Mrs. 
Hannah Fletcher (nee Proctor), born August 4, 
1747, daughter of Philip and Phebe (Hildreth) 
Proctor and widow of Timothy Fletcher. She died 
at Westford in 1837. Major Eleazer Hamlin was 
the father of seventeen children, eleven of whom 
were of the first union, namely : Asia, who died 
aged seventeen years ; Elizabeth, Alice, Africa, 
Europe, America, Lydia, Eleazer, Mary, Cyrus and 
Hannibal, the two latter being twins. (N. B. Those 
named for the four Continents were sons). The 
children of his second marriage were : another Asia 
(who died young), Sally, Isaac, a third Asia, Green, 
and George. Thirteen of his children were born in 
Pembroke and the others in Harvard. Five of his 
sons were graduates of Harvard College and some 
fourteen or fifteen more of his descendants have taken 
their degrees at the same institution. Several of 
the sons settled in Oxford county, Maine, includ- 
ing Cyrus, who was the father of the vice-president 
previously referred to ; and his twin brother Han- 
nibal, whose son, Rev. Cyrus Hamlin, D. D., was 
a prominent Congregational preacher and president 
of Middlebury College. 

(VIII) Hon. Eleazer (3), son of Major Eleazer 
(2) and Lydia (Bonney) Hamlin, was born in Pem- 
broke, September 23, 1765. He accompanied his 



566 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



father to Harvard and tradition says that as a boy 
he was a fifer in the Revolutionary war. He served 
as a private in Captain William Sawyer's company 
of Bolton, Massachusetts, which was called out to 
assist in quelling Shays' Rebellion (1787), and dur- 
ing his service marched from Hadley to Pelham, a 
distance of thirty miles, in a severe snow storm. He 
went from Harvard to Waterford, Maine, settling in 
the southern part of the town, and became one of 
the most prominent among the early settlers there, 
being directed by an act of the Massachusetts gen- 
eral court dated March 27, 1797, to notify the free- 
holders and inhabitants of Waterford to hold a town 
meeting at the house of Dr. Stephen Cummings, 
April S. of that year, for the election of town offi- 
cers. He served as tythingman, was moderator in 
1798, 1801-02, selectman in 1799, and as a National 
Republican was chosen representative to the legis- 
lature for the years 1826 and 28. As the result of 
an accident he was obliged to have one of his legs 
amputated. He was made a Mason at Bridgeton, 
Maine, in 1805. He possessed a sound intellect, was 
familiar with the fcnglish poets, and is said to have 
recited passages from Milton and Shakespeare with 
taste and expression. In his religious belief he was 
a Methodist. The date of his death, which occurred 
in Waterford, is not at hand. He married Sally 
Bancroft, of Groton, Massachusetts, who was born 
July 29, 1767, and was a descendant of John and 
Jane Bancroft, passengers in the ship "James" from 
London in 1632, and early settlers in Lynn, Massa- 
chusetts. Sally died August, 1842. She was the 
mother of ten children, namely : Francis, Alice, 
Sally (who died young), Addison, John, Sally, Wil- 
liam. David Tilden, Lucy and Eleazer. all of whom 
were born in Waterford. 

fIX) David Tilden, fifth son and eighth child 
of Hon. Eleazer and Sally (Bancroft) Hamlin, was 
born in Waterford, January 4, 1807. He was a 
farmer and resided at the homestead in Waterford 
until 1851 or 53, when he removed to Milan, New 
Hampshire. He married Harriet Robbins, born in 
Waterford. March 16, 1805, daughter of James and 
Delight (Gilbert) Robbins. He died in Milan, May 
15, 1869, and his wife died there March 5, 1887. 
They were the parents of seven children, one of 
whom died at birth. The others are: David Tilden, 
born May 23, 1835, deceased; James Gilbert, born 
September 10, 1830. died in 1S44; Ellen Elizabeth, 
born March 14, [841, decea ed; Charles Gilbert, 
the date of whose birth will be given presently; 
Lydia Maria, born September 25, 1848; and Harriet 
Frances, born March 4, 1849. 

(X) Charles Gilbert, fifth child of David T. and 
Harriet ( Robbins 1 Hamlin, was l„,rn in Waterford, 
March 26, 1847. His boyhood was spent in at- 
tending the public schools and assisting his father 
in carrying on the farm. In August, [864, when 
but seventeen Id he enlisted a a private in 

the First New Hampshire Heavy Artillery, and 
served in the defi tion '1 capita] until 

the close of the 1 ivil war. Tn 1869 he went to Cal- 
ifornia, remaining on the Pacific coast until 1871, 
and returning to Milan engaged in lumbering. In 
1875 fie established himself in general mercantile 
business at Gorham, which he ha ever since con- 
ducted, and in conjunction with this he carries on 
a large farm in Shelburne. In politics Mr. Hamlin 
is a Republican. lie has served as chairman of 
the board of selectmen three years, as deputy-sheriff 
eight years, and in other ways has participated in 
local public affairs, lie is a Royal Arch Mason 



belonging to the Blue Lodge in Gorham and the 
chapter in Bethel, Maine. He attends the Congre- 
gational Church. He was married in Milan, No- 
vember 20, 1875, t° ^ rs - Lydia A. Blake, who was 
born in that town, December 16, 1851. Their chil- 
dren are: Donald Conrad, born January 5, 1877; 
Carlie Gertrude, born February 19, 1879; Bernice 
Hattie, born December ir, 1881 ; Georgia Hortense, 
born December 15, 1883; Roy Gilbert, born Feb- 
ruary 15, 1885 ; Charles Augustus, born November 
16, 1888: Arthur Benedict, born November 21, 
1S89; Helen Beatrice, born December 4, 1S90; and 
Hannibal Homer, born December 8, 1892. Donald 
C. is in business with his father. Bernice H. is a 
trained nurse. Georgia H. is a student at Wellesley 

College. Roy G. is a student at University. 

Charles A. is attending Gould's Academy. Arthur 
B. is connected with the Lancaster Savings Bank. 
(Second Family.) 
(I) Captain Giles Hamlin, the ancestor of this 
branch of the family, was born in England about 
1622. He settled in Middletown, Connecticut, as 
early as 1654, and lived there the remainder of his 
life. His epitaph says that he was "near fifty years 
crossing the ocean wide," which means that he was 
a mariner for that period of time. He was long 
engaged in foreign commerce, part of the time on 
his own account; at other times with his brother-in- 
law. John Crow (2), of Fairfield, Connecticut, with 
Elder William Goodwin, of Hartford, and with 
John Pynchon, of Springfield. Massachusetts, son 
of the founder of the town. Captain Hamlin com- 
manded "The Desire" in 1665 and "The John and 
James" in 1679. He was a Puritan, a man of good 
sense, and soon gained a high standing in the com- 
munity on account of his probity and ability. He 
and his descendants acquired a remarkable influence 
in public affairs, and the family homestead remained 
in possession of four generations. Captain Hamlin 
served the town on various committees, and was 
elected ratemaker, grand levyman and townsman. 
In 1666 he gave a drum to the town and train-band. 
Both he and his wife were members of the first 
church of Middletown, established in 1668. Early 
in 1655. Giles Hamlin married Hester or Esther 
Crow, daughter of John Crow, of Hartford. Con- 
necticut, who was born about 1628, probably in Eng- 
land. John Crow was a wealthy man. and Hester 
or Esther was the oldest child in a family of seven 
daughters and four sons. Captain Gibs and Hester 
or Esther (Crow) Hamlin had seven children: Hes- 
ter. John, Mary, Mehitable, Giles, William, whose 
sketch follows; and Richard, born in 1670. Captain 
Giles Hamlin died in Middletown. September I, 
1689. I lis will, executed two days before bis death, 
shows that he had acquired a fortune for those 
limes. The estate amounted to over three thousand 
pounds, and the bequests contain frequent mention 
of silver platters, goblets, wine en;., and jreat 
spoons, besides money, mills, land and negro ser- 
vants. Mrs Hamlin outlived her husband eleven 
years, dying August 23, 1700, at the age of seventy- 
two. Their remains repose side by : le in the 
Riverside cemetery at Middletown. His grave is 
surmounted by a massive tomb with a quaint in- 
scription on the top slab, while a plain brown head- 
stone marks her burial place nearby. 

(ID William (1), third son and sixth child 
of Captain Giles and Hester or Esther (Crow) 
Hamlin, w; born at Middletown, Connecticut, Feb- 
ruary 3, [668 He was a husbandman and a mar. 
of property. Two curious records are found con- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



367 



cerning him, which perhaps have more value as 
illustrating the spirit of the times than as exhibi- 
ing the departed gentleman's disposition. "On No- 
vember 23, 1701, Captain John Hall and William 
Hamlin did make a public acknowlegment of their 
falling out ; which was accepted by ye church, May 
9, 1792, William Hamlin did make a public confes- 
sion of his sin in quarreling with Joseph Miller, 
which was accepted by the church." On 'May 26, 
1692, William Hamlin married Susanna, third child 
of Rev. Nathaniel and Mary (Whiting) Collins, 
who was born at Middletown, November 26, 1669. 
Mr. Collins was a graduate of Harvard, the first 
minister of Middletown, and by consequence the 
leading man in the place. His eldest daughter Mary 
had previously married John Hamlin, elder brother 
of William. William and Susannah (Collins) Ham- 
lin had eight children: Richard, born May 17, 1693; 
William, Giles, Nathaniel, whose sketch follows ; 
Edward, Susannah, Charles and Esther. Mrs. Sus- 
annah (Collins) Hamlin died February 24. 1721-22, 
aged fifty-two years ; and her husband died May 22, 
I733> aged sixty-six. Both are probably buried in 
Riverside cemetery, though no gravestone marks 
William Hamlin's burial place. 

(III) Nathaniel, fourth son and child of Wil- 
liam (1) and Susannah (Collins) Hamlin, was born 
in Middletown, Connecticut, October 26, 1699. He 
married Sarah, daughter of Captain Daniel and 
Mary Harris, on September 16, 1725. They lived in 
Middletown, where their four children were born ; 
William (2), whose sketch follows; Sarah, born 
April 24, 1728; Harris, April 14, 1730. who died 
young; and Susannah, January 27, 1731-32. Na- 
thaniel Hamlin died in Middletown, September 28, 
1731, at the early age of thirty-two; his widow mar- 
ried Nathaniel Baker. 

(IV) Captain William (2), eldest child of Na- 
thaniel and Sarah (Harris) Hamlin, was born in 
Middletown, Connecticut, February II, 1726. He 
passed his early life in that town, then lived for a 
while in Westfield, Connecticut, and in 181S, when 
he was past ninety, removed to Charlestown, New 
Hampshire, to make his home with his son William 
(3), with whom he died. Captain Hamlin derived 
his title from service in the Revolution. He was ap- 
pointed ensign of the Tenth Company, Sixth Regi- 
ment, in October, 1770; was made a lieutenant of 
the same company in October, 1773; and was made 
captain of the Fifth Company, Twenty-third Regi- 
ment, in 1776. He was a Whig in politics, and a 
Presbyterian in church affiliations. On June 28, 
1750, Captain William (2) Hamlin married Hannah, 
daughter of Deacon Allen, who was born in Middle- 
town, in 1728. She was a member of the church 
there, and was dismissed to Westfield, Connecticut, 
where they then lived, December ig, 1773. Captain 
William (2) and Hannah (Allen) Hamlin had thir- 
teen children, ten daughters and three sons : Lucy, 
Hannah, William (2), mentioned below, Lucy, Sus- 
annah, Sarah, Elizabeth, Experience. Mary, Re- 
becca, Harris, Olive and Oliver. Mrs, Hannah 
Hamlin died at Middletown. May 9, 1807, at the 
age of seventy-eight years. In 1808. when he was 
eighty-two years of age, Captain Hamlin married 
his second wife, Mrs. Elizabeth Wetmore, born 
in Stow. Ten years later they both went to live 
with Captain Hamlin's son William (3). at Charles- 
town. New Hampshire, where they both died, Cap- 
tain Hamlin, on April 25. 1821, at the advanced age 
of nintey-five y,ears, and his wife about iS'tq. 

(V) William (3), eldest son and third child of 



Captain William (2) and Hannah (Allen) Hamlin, 
was born at Middletown, Connecticut, September 14, 
1754. He was a farmer and lived in Middletown 
till 1804, when he moved up the river to Charles- 
town, New Hampshire, where he carried on a farm 
and also kept a tavern. He was a Whig in politics, 
and a deacon in the Presbyterian Church. William 
(3) Hamlin was thrice married, and had nineteen 
children in all, some by each wife. His was first 
united to Hepsybeth. daughter of Samuel and Sarah 
(Kirby) Savage, who was born in Middletown, 
October 17, 1751. They had two daughters: Lucia, 
born February 17, 1777; and Hepsybeth, August 17, 
1779. On October 18, 1781, he married his second 
wife Lucy, daughter of Thomas and Lucia ( Stock- 
ing) Kirby, of Middletown, Upper Houses, now 
Cromwell, Connecticut. They had seven children : 
Ashbel, Joseph, Roxanna, Cornelia, David, Eliza- 
beth and Hannah. He married for his third wife 
1 hankful Knowles, who was born in Middletown, 
July 25, 1769. They had ten children : Seth, born 
February 11, 1795; Mary K., Nancy H., Ashbel, 
Jerusha, Giles, whose sketch follows; Harriet, 
Sophia, Sophia D. and Clarissa. The last two 
children were born in Charlestown, New Hamp- 
shire, but the other seventeen were born in Middle- 
town. William (3) Hamlin died at Charlestown, 
December 29, 1830. 

(VI) Giles (2), second son and sixth child of 
William (3) Hamlin and his third wife, Thankful 
Knowles, was born at Middletown, Connecticut, 
February 7, 1801. When about three years old he 
was brought by his parents to their new home in 
Charlestown, New Hampshire. He became a farmer 
and settled three miles north of Charlestown vil- 
lage. He was a Whig in politics. On November 
18, 1831, Giles (2) Hamlin married Mary, daughter 
of Josiah and Susanna (Fling) Hart, of Charles- 
town, who were born October 17, 1S07. They had 
twelve children, two of whom died in infancy; the 
others were : George Washington, whose sketch 
follows ; Maria West, Elmira Louisa, Cornelia Ro- 
sette, Sylvester Augustus, Susan Sophia. Catherine 
Elizabeth, Horace Hall and Henry Hubbard 
(twins), and Emma Riley, born September 11, 1851. 
Both Giles (2) Hamlin and his wife lived to be 
eighty-four years of age. He died at Unity, New 
Hampshire, March 13, 1885, and she died at Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, February 16, 1S91. 

(VII) George Washington, eldest child of Giles 
(2) and Mary (Hart) Hamlin, was born at Charles- 
town, New Hampshire, October 5, 1833. He was 
educated in the common schools of his native town, 
and began business as a clerk in the general store 
of Horace Metcalf at Charlestown village. In a 
few years he became partner, and his connection 
with Mr. Metcalf lasted twenty-five years in all. 
For ten years he conducted a grocery store in 
Claremont in partnership association with E. W. 
Prouty. He then had a general store in North 
Charlestown. He was a Republican, but took no 
active part in politics except to serve on various 
committees. He was a justice of the peace, and be- 
longed to Faithful Lodge, No. 12, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Charlestown, in which he 
held some offices. Mr. Hamlin was a man of force 
and character, and was highly respected in the com- 
munity. On September 18, i860, George W. Hamlin 
married Ellen L. White, daughter of Rand and 
Fannie White, who was born March 14, 1S35, in 
Charlestown. They had five children: Minnie -M , 
born September 9, 1S61 ; Frank W., whose sketch 



5 68 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



follows; Charles L., married Delia L. Tloyt, is en- 
(1 in the tea and coffee business in Charlestown; 

nie R.. married Frank II. Powers, ami lives in 

Claremont; and A. Lloyd married Ida M. Hutch- 

.md lives in Charlestown. George W. Hamlin 

I at North Charlestown. August 12, igoi, and his 
widow and eldest daughter continue to live in the 
old home. 

(VIII) Frank Wilbert. eldest son and second 
child of George W. and Ellen L. (White) Hamlin, 
was born in North Charlestown, New Hampshire, 
June 14, 1863. He attended the common schools of 
lestown, and became a clerk in his father's 
store where he remained till the age of seventeen, 
when he went to Charleston village and was em- 
ployed by W. H. Labaree in a general store. In 1887 
lie bough! out Mr. Labaree and has since continued 
the business independently. . He has remodeled the 

1 throughout, doubling the capacity down stairs 
and opening up the econd floor, and now employs 
four clerks and does a business of thirty-five thou- 
sand dollars a year. In 1901 he became president 
and a director in the Connecticut River National 
Lank of Charlestown. With two others he secured 
the charter and incorporation of the Charlestown 
Water and Sewer Company in 1904. Later they 
sold these rights to the town, and Mr. Hamlin was 
appointed one of the commission to construct 
the system, and in 1906 was chosen water commis- 
sioner. He was the prime mover in this enterprise. 
He has been a trustee of the Silsby Free Public 
Library of Charlestown since its organization. He 
is a Republican in politics, and has served on the 
state central committee for four years, and in 1902 
was a member of the executive committee for Sul- 
livan county, receiving the largest vote cast for a 
Republican candidate for that office in twelve years. 
Mr. Hamlin served as representative in 1903, and 
was chairman of the committee of the delegation 
from Sullivan county. He has been town auditor 
twice, and for several years was a member of the 
board of education. He has held the offices of 
notary public and justice of the pence for years, and 
has given considerable attention to legal matters. 
He belongs to Charlestown Lodge. No. 88, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, and has been 
through all the chairs, and has held the office of 
secretary for a number of years. lie also belongs 
to the Evening Star Encampment. No. 25. Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, of Claremont. and 
to the Elmwood Rebekah Lodge. No. 77, of Charles- 
town. Mr. Hamlin is a member and vestryman of 

nt Luke's Episcopal Church at Charlestown, has 
been its treasurer for several years, and is a liberal 
supporter of the church in which he is an acl 
worker. Tn the spring of [907 the Charlestown vil- 
lagi di tricl was organized for street lighting pur- 
poses and Mr. Hamlin was elected one of the dis- 
trict commissioners. On December 26. 1887, Frank 
Wilbert Hamlin married Ada E.. daughter of Jan 
E. and Emma L. (Hunt) Perry, who was born in 
Charlestown, December 26, 1863. There are no chil- 
dren. 



In mental gifts and spiritual traits 

BE! LOWS of character the Bellows family, as 

Ian, may claim precedence in New 

Hampshire. Whether as teachers, clergymen, 

. naval officers, scholars, artists, or high 

bred people of leisure, few names can count more 

member- of distinctii nteresting personality. 

The progenj of old Colonel Benjamin Bellows, the 



tder of Walpole, N w Hampshire, have gone all 
over the world, and there is scarcely a city where 
then Known. In early English records 

the patronymii i as Belouse. Leilas, Bellos, 

Bela lews, Bellowes, and in other 

forms. The connection between the Bellows fam- 
ily of America ani England has never been traced; 
but at the suggestion of Dr. Henry W. Bellows, the 
crest and motto of the Bellowes family of Lanca- 
shire have been informally adopted by the American 
branch on account of its peculiar appropriateness. 

• The symbol consists of a hand grasping a chalice, 
pouring water (belle can, an allusion to the name) 
into a basin. Motto, "Tout d'en Haut." Dr. Bel- 
lows has so beautifully described this emblem that 
we quote the passage entire: "Type of purity, of 
truth, of abundance, we adopt the cup of water. 
taken front our Founder's Falls as the family crest and 
with it. that beautiful motto, so pious and expres- 
sive: 'All from on high.' (Tout d'en Haut.) Every 
good and perfect gift cometh down from above! God 
gave us our fathers, and while the waters pour 
over the Great Fall of our river, we will not forget 
them or him." 

(I) The pioneer ancestor of the family. John 
Bellows, was born in England in 1623, and came 
to Massachusetts as a child. He embarked April 26, 
1635, in the "Hopewell" of London, William Bur- 
dock, master, and landed on the Massachusetts coast. 
He resided first at Concord and later at Marlboro. 
Massachusetts, and died in the latter town in 1683, 
between June 18 and October 2, the respective dates 
of executing and proving his will. He was married 
May 9, 1655. to Mary Wood, daughter of John 
Wood, of Concord, who survived him more than 
twenty-four years, dying September 16. 1707. Their 
children were: Mary, Samuel. Abigail, Isaac. John. 
Thomas, Eleazer, Daniel, Nathaniel and Benjamin. 

(II) Benjamin, youngest of the ten children of 
John and Mary (Wood) Bellows, was born Janu- 
ary iS. 1677, in Concord, Massachusetts. He settled 
in Lancaster, where he remained until about 1728, 
when he removed to Lunenburg. Massachusetts, and 
there died March r8, 1750. He was married Janu- 
ary 5, 1704. to Dorcus (Cuttler) Willard, widow of 
Henry Wilkin',, who was a son of Major Simon 
Willard. By her first marriage she was the mother 
of Colonel Josiah Willard. of Lunenburg, and later 
of Winchester, Massachusetts. She died September 
8, 1747. havii ' ne son and three daughters. 

Judith, Joanna, Mary anil Benjamin. 

(III) Colonel Benjamin (2), only son of Ben- 
jamin (1) and Dorcus (Cuttler) (Willard) Bellows, 
was bom May 26, 1712. in Lancaster, Massachusetts. 
He probably lived on his father's farm in Lancaster 
until the removal of the family to Lunenburg in 
172S. It is probable that he received but little educa- 

his business career was begun early. It 
is related that be purchased a yoke of steers and 
very early in life began to earn his own living by 
teaming. His account book, still preserved in Lu- 
nenburg how bu iness transactions as early as 
1725. lie was the owner of horses and oxen and 
made a contract to live with Ephraim Weatherby 
for one year. It is apparent that this arrangement 
>\ .1 - olved, because he began housekeeping in 
his own house on November 25, of the same year. 
He was a very active citizen of Lunenburg, taking 
part in public affairs and conducting a great variety 
private business. He was surveyor of highways, 
school committeeman, constable, town clerk and 
selectman. IK- was associated in the conduct of 




^J^^zr 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



569 



public business with such men as Colonel Josiah 
Willard. Major Edward Hartwell and other promi- 
nent men of the town. lie was actively engaged in 
farming and employed men and teams, and kept a 
ne sort for public entertainment. Al- 

1 his handwriting was inelegant, and his spell- 
ing faulty, he was frequently called upon to make 
out legal papers for men of the town. He saw 

hing of military service, as he was known by 
the title of major, when he settled in Walpole, New 
Hampshire. His removal to that town occurred in 
1752, and he was very active and efficient in settling 
and building up the new town in what was then a 
wilderness. Among his other accomplish- 
ments he had mustered the art of surveying, and 
in 1740 was engaged in laying out the township 
of Rowley, Canada, now Rindge, New Hampshire. 
Hi< bill for fifteen days' work in the woods was 
sixteen pounds, seventeen shillings and six pence. 
At the time of his settlement at Walpole that town 
was supposed to be within the jurisdiction of Mas- 
sachusetts. He was among the original grantees 
of what is now Winchester, New Hampshire, and in 
the drawing of lots, all the proprietors in 1733, lot 
number 23 fell to him. In such a busy life as his 
it is inevitable that under the system of records 
then in use much that he did should pass without 
any notice. Four of his sons were also among the 
grantees of Walpole, and his name appears first on 
the list of sixty-six to whom the charter was 
granted by Governor Wentworth, February 13. 1752, 
and he may well be called the father and founder 
of that town. Benjamin Bellows was moderator 
of the first town meeting in Keene, and was voted 
one hundred and twenty-two Spanish mill dollars 
for his service and expenses in obtaining the charter 
of that town. In that same year, he moved his 
family into Walpole, and fourteen families were 
settled there until after 1759. One family had pre- 
ceded his, that of John Kilburn, who had located 
there under the Massachusetts grant. One of the 
first duties of Colonel Bellows was the erection of a 
fort for the protection o.f his own and other fam- 
ilies against the Indians. This was his residence 
until in 1762 he built his house, the first framed 
building in the town. This is still standing and in 
a good state of preservation. The town meetings 
were held in the fort as late as 1761, and Colonel 
Bellows was the clerk at the first three of these. 
He continued to fill most of the important offices, 
such as moderator, selectman or town treasurer 
until his death. He died at his home in Walpole, 
July 10, 1777, in his sixty-sixth year. In 1854 his 
descendants erected a handsome monument to his 
memory. Colonel Bellows was married (first) in 
Lunenburg, October 7. 1735. by Rev. David Stearns, 
a brother of the bride, to Abigail Stearns, who was 
born June 2, 1708, in Watertown, Massachusetts, 
daughter of John and Abigail (Fiske) Stearns, 
granddaughter of Samuel and Hannah Stearns, and 
great-granddaughter of Isaac and Mary Stearns. 
(See Stearns). She died November 9, 1757, and 
was the first tenant of the Walpole burying ground. 
Colonel Bellows was married (second) in Lunen- 
burg, April 21, 1758. by Rev. David Stearns, to Mrs. 
Mary (Hubbard) Jennison, widow of John Jenni- 
son, of Lunenburg. She was born April 12. 1725, 
in Groton. Massachusetts, and died in Walpole, Feb- 
ruary 21, 1794. surviving her husband by more than 
sixteen years. She was a daughter of Major Jona- 
than and Rebecca (Brown) Hubbard, and great- 
granddaughter of John Hubbard, the emigrant an- 



cestor of the family. (See Hubbard). The children 
of Colonel Bellows by bis first wife were: Abigail 
(died at the age of twenty years), Peter, Benjamin, 
John, Joseph, Jonathan and Abijah. By the second 
were: Abigail, Theodore, Thomas, Mary and Josiah. 

(IV) Colonel Joseph, fourth son and fifth child 
of Colonel Benjamin (2) and Abigail (Stearns) 
Bellows, was born May 26, 1744, in Lunenburg, and 
died May 22, 1817, in Langdon, New Hampshire. 
He was about nine years of age when his father 
settled with bis family in Walpole, and at the age 
of eighteen he returned to Lunenburg and took 
charge of the family property there. By his father's 
•will he became the owner of the latter's lands in 
Lunenburg. He became an influential and useful 
citizen, and was active in promoting the welfare 
of the colonies during the Revolution. He was a 
lieutenant in Captain Wilder's company of minute- 
men that marched from Leominster to Lexington 
on the alarm of April 17, 1775. He served as cap- 
tain at the time of the Bennington alarm and at Sar- 
atoga at the surrender of Burgoyne in October, 1777. 
He was major of the Eighth Regiment of Worcester 
county militia in 1779. His commission from Gov- 
ernor John Hancock as lieutenant-colonel is pre- 
served by his descendants. He served creditably in 
the various town offices, and was a man of consid- 
erable property, which was largely swept away about 
1786 through his having become responsible for con- 
tractors who failed. Because of this great disaster 
which threatened poverty to himself and his family 
of young children, bis mind became unbalanced, 
and his affairs were taken in charge by his brothers, 
Benjamin and John, who removed his family to 
Walpole in 1796. Colonel Bellows was married in 
Lunenburg, October 3, 1764. to Lois Whitney, who 
was born about 1744. and died March 26, 1834, in 
Walpole. at the advanced age of ninety years and 
six months. She was a daughter of Captain Salmon 
and Sarah Whitney, of Groton and Littleton, Mas- 
sachusetts. Their children, born in Lunenburg, 
were: Salmon (died in infancy). Salmon. John, 
Benjamin. Joseph, Levi, Oliver (died young), Abel, 
Oliver. Thomas, Susan. Sarah, Louisa and Mary. 
(Joseph and descendants receive mention in this 
article.) 

(V) John, third son and child of Colonel Joseph 
and Lois (Whitney) Bellows, was born in Lunen- 
burg, Massachusetts, January 12, 1768. Coming to 
Walpole. New Hampshire, after his father's losses, 
he had a large share in caring for the family. At 
first he helped his mother in managing the farm, 
and for a few years, beginning in 1794. he conducted 
the village tavern with his brother Joseph. Having 
accumulated some capital he entered into business 
in Boston, and became the head of the firm of Bel- 
lows. Cordis & Jones, importers of English dry 
goods. At the age of fifty he was able to retire 
from business with an ample fortune. He was 
president of the Manufacturers' and Merchants' 
Bank of Boston, and was largely interested in man- 
ufacturing enterprises. He served for a number of 
years as alderman. He lived in Colonnade Row, 
on Tremont street, near West, at that time the home 
of many of the leading people of the city. During 
the crisis of 1830 he lost heavily, and in 1833 he 
retired to Walpole to spend his declining years. 
His son. Rev. Dr. Bellows, says of his father: "He 
was a man of superior intellect, generous senti- 
ments and spotless integrity." John Bellows was 
twice married. His first wife was Betsey Eames, 
daughter of Aaron and Keziah (Goodnow) Eames, 



57° 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



of Sudbury, Massachusetts, to whom he was united 
January 5, 1800. They had seven children : Mary, 
Mary Anna Louisa, Eliza Eames, John Nelson, 
whose sketch follows; Alexander Hamilton, Henry 
Whitney and Edward Stearns. The last two were 
twins, born June 11, 1814. Edward Stearns became 
a lawyer and died at Adrian, Michigan, in March, 
1837, just at the dawn of the most promising ca- 
reer. He was a young man of fine presence and re- 
markable intellectual abilities. His twin, Henry 
Whitney, was graduated from Harvard College, in 
1832, and from the Divinity School in 1837. From 
1839 till his death, January 30, 1862, he was pastor 
of the Unitarian Church in New York City, to' 
which he gave the name of All Souls. He was pres- 
ident of the sanitary commission from 1861 to 1878. 
He was one of the most eminent preachers this 
country has ever known. The limits of this work 
do not permit the details of his career, but this quo- 
tation, written by President Eliot, of Harvard, is 
taken from the bronze memorial by St. Gaudens 
in the Church of All Souls: 

"An ardent, generous friend, joyous with the 
joyful, tender with the sorrowful, a devout Chris- 
tian, trusting in God, and hoping all things of men." 

Mrs. Betsey (Eames) Bellows, the first wife of 
John Bellows, and mother of Dr. Henry W. Bel- 
lows, died of consumption in Boston, January 24, 
1816, aged thirty-five years. John Bellows married 
for his second wife, June 26. 1817, Anna Hurd Lang- 
don, daughter of Captain John and Mary (Walley) 
Langdon, of Boston. They had five children : Mary 
Anne Louisa, Francis William Greenwood, Harriet 
Augusta, Percival Langdon and George Gates. John 
Bellows died in Walpole, New Hampshire, February 
10, 1840. Mrs. Anna H. (Langdon) Bellows died at 
the home of her daughter in New York City, Decem- 
ber 2, i860. 

(VI) John Nelson, eldest son and fourth child 
of John and Betsey (Eames) Bellows, was born in 
Boston, December 2.}. 1805. He was educated at the 
school of his uncle. Jacob N. Knapp, at Jamaica 
Plain, Massachusetts, and entered Harvard College, 
but did not graduate. He established a school for 
girls at Cooperstown, New York, and was after- 
ward principal of the academy at Walpole, New 
Hampshire. About 1840 he entered the Unitarian 
ministry and was settled over parishes in Taunton, 
Framingham and Barnstable, Massachusetts, and 
Wilton, New Hampshire. Mr. Bellows had a marked 
gift for literature. He wrote three tales for the 
Knickerbocker Magazine, entitled "Wilson Con- 
worth." "Edward Akfnrd and his Playfellow," and 
"Meadow Farm," beside publishing many essays, 
poems and hymns, many of which indicate talent 
of a high order. With better health and a longer 
life he might have been able to accomplish much. 
Rev. John N. Bellows married, May 14. 1833, at 
Cooperstown, New York, Mary Nichols, daughter of 
William and Catharine (Wood) Nichols. She was 
born November 11. 1810 and died at Walpole, De- 
cember 29, 1887. By her husband's early death she 
was left with til.' care of a family of young chil- 
dren, and she met her responsibilities with a cour- 
age, dignity and sweetness of nature that won the 
esteem of all who knew her. The children of Rev. 
John N. and Mary (Nkhol l Bellows, were: Mary 
Eli/ rd St. John, Henry Nichols. Katharine 
Nichols, mentioned hn and Clifford Eames. 
Rev. John N. Bell ' iro, Vermont, 
February 27. 1857. 

(VII) K Nichols, second daughter and 
fourth child of Rev. John Nelson and Mary (Nich- 



ols) Bellows, was born in Framingham, Massachus- 
etts, July 8, 1846. She was married in New York 
City. June 11, 1872, to her father's cousin, Lieuten- 
ant (now Rear Admiral) Henry Bellows Robeson, 
U. S. N. Since Admiral Robeson's retirement from 
active service their home has been at Walpole, New 
Hampshire (See Robeson Family VI). 

(V) Susan, eldest daughter and eleventh child 
of Colonel Joseph and Lois (Whitney) Bellows, was 
born at Lunenburg, Massachusetts, August 18, 1780. 
At the age of six years she removed with her par- 
ents to Walpole, New Hampshire, where she spent 
her girlhood and the forty-one years of her widow- 
hood. On March 21, 1815, she married Major 
Jonas Robeson, of Fitzwilliam, New Hampshire, 
who died August 24, 1819. (See Robeson Family 
V). Her only surviving child became Rear Admiral 
Henry B. Robeson. 

(V) Major Joseph (2), fifth son and child of 
Colonel Joseph (1) and Lois (Whitney) Bellows, 
was born November 3, 1770, in Lunenburg, Massa- 
chusetts, and died March 22, 1821, in Walpole. He 
removed from Lunenburg to Walpole with his fath- 
er's family when about sixteen years old. He first 
appears of record in Walpole when he was licensed 
in 1796 by the selectmen to keep tavern and he kept 
the village inn for the three years succeeding. He was 
engaged in the general merchandise of Walpole for 
several years. During this time he was chosen to 
several town offices. His selection in March, 1792, 
as tythingman shows him to have been a man of 
"good substance and sober life" according to the 
custom of those days. He was chosen constable 
March 11. 1806, and was active in military affairs 
in 1S0S. He was brigade major and inspector of 
the fifth brigade of the New Hampshire militia. He 
is credited with being the first to introduce Merino 
sheep into the town, about iSoo, although there is 
nothing to indicate that he was engaged in agri- 
culture. About 1813, he removed to Rockingham, 
Vermont, where he had charge of a large tract of 
land, the property of his brother, Abel Bellows. In 
1S20 he received a very severe electric shock during 
a thunder storm and never fully recovered therefrom. 
In that storm his seven barns were entirely d< 
ed by lightning, together with other outbuild 
and the entire crop of hay and grain which ha 
been harvested. Major Bellows was married (first) 
January 7, 7704. to Deborah Wright, of Lunenburg, 
w-ho died September 9. 1802, in her thirty-second 
year. He was married (second) January 2, 1803, to 
Mary Adams, who wps horn July 17. 1744. in Lunen- 
burg, and died in Concord. New Hampshire, May 
26, 1850. having survived her husband more than 
thirty-eight years. She was a second cousin of 
President John Adams, and was born November 
5. 17.1O. being a daughter of Rev. Zabdiel and Eliz- 
abeth (Steam I Vdams. She was the mother of 
the last four of his children, and the first wife of 
five, namely: Henry, David, Gordon, George, Eliz- 
abeth, Henry Vlams, Mary Stearns, Frances Ann 
and William Joseph. 

(YD William Joseph, youngest child of Major 
Joseph (21 and Mary (Adams) Bellows, wa 
July 3. 7S17. in Rockingham. Vermont, and was 
early accustomed to maintaining himself. When 
about fourteen years old he removed to Littleton, 
New Hampshire, and soon after became clerk in 
a sti re in Springfield, Vermont, where he continued 
about tbre Me early d 1 talent for 

die met msiness, anil from 1834 to 1S41 was 

drygoods house in Boston. 
Returning In Littleton in 1841, he took up the study 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



571 



of law under the preceptorship of his brother. Henry 
A. Bellows, and three years later was admitted to 
the Grafton county bar of New Hampshire. He was 
a partner with his brother from 184^ to 1850 under 
the style of H. A. & W. J. Bellows. After the 
removal of the elder to Concord, he continued in 
practice alone until 1854. when he formed a partner- 
ship with John Farr. This was dissolved in i860 
and he subsequently gave much attention to matters 
outside of the law. From 1S61 to 1S6S he was post- 
master of Littleton, and during the first four years 
of this time was editor of a weekly paper known as 
the People's Journal. After several years,, during 
the period from 1868 to 1884. he was president of 
the board of education of the Union School district. 
In 1868 he again turned his attention to the mer- 
cantile business and for two years was a member 
of the firm of Henry L. Tilton & Company of Little- 
ton, and during the succeeding three years he was 
a partner in the firm of Bellows. Bracket & Company. 
In 1S73 he formed a partnership with his son, Wil- 
liam H. Bellows, under the title of Bellows & Son, 
and thenceforward conducted a very successful mer- 
cantile business until loco, when he retired. He 
died August 29, 1906. They were among the most 
extensive dealers in the northern part of New Hamp- 
shire in clothing and all kinds of house furnishing 
goods. Mr. Bellows took an active part in all the 
affairs of interest, calculated to promote the in- 
dustries of the community. In religious faith he was 
a Unitarian, and in politics a Whig and later a Re- 
publican. His interest in public education is shown 
by his long service on the board of education, and 
he was also interested in military matters. As a 
young man he was major of the militia and acted 
as brigade quartermaster under Colonel G. O. Kelly 
and brigade inspector under John Hutchins. He 
was a state justice of the peace. He was married 
August 12, 1847. to Caroline Ivah. daughter of 
Sampson and Ivah (Patterson) Bullard. She was 
born April 9. 1821, in Concord, New Hampshire, 
and died July 22, 1S90, at Littleton, New Hampshire. 
Their children were: Mary Adams, William Henry 
and George Sampson, The eldest is unmarried and 
resides in Littleton. The youngest died in that town 
August 7, 1900, leaving a wife and daughter, Car- 
rie Louise. His wife was Esther Augusta (Young) 
Bellows, born December r. 1S55. in Littleton, daugh- 
ter of Cyrus Young. They were married November 
15, 1880. in Littleton. 

(VTI) William Henry, elder son and second child 
of William Joseph and Caroline I. (Bullard) Bel- 
lows, was born August 5. 1852. in Littleton. New 
Hampshire. He has always resided in his native 
town and has been continuously engaged in the 
mercantile business. On attaining his majority he 
became an associate of his father in business, as 
above related, under the title of Bellows & Son, 
which continued until IQOO. For twenty-seven years 
it was carried on under the style of Bellows & 
Son. and in 1900 this was changed to Bellows & 
Baldwin, under which title it is still conducted. Mr. 
Bellows is also proprietor of the Littleton View 
Companv. in which his brother wns associated with 
him during his life. Mr. Bellows is recognized as a 
clear-minded and successful business man. and is 
artive in many of the affairs of the community. For 
fifteen years he has been auditor of the Littleton 
Savings Bank and for several years a director of the 
same institution. He was a member of the board 
of education of the Union School District from 1890 
to 1806. inclusive. He has been a director of the 
Littleton National Bank since 1892, and a director 



of the Littleton Shoe Company since 1S9S. He was 
treasurer of the Littleton Musical Association from 
1878 to 1883, and served as deputy sheriff in 1876- 
'77-'"8- He was representative of Littleton in the 
State legislature in i897-*o8. He is a justice of the 
peace, and is a member of Burns Lodge. No. 66, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of Littleton, 
New Hampshire, of Franklin Chapter, No. 5, 
Royal Arch Masons, of Lisbon, New Hampshire; 
and Alpha Lodge of Perfection of Concord. 
He is also affiliated with the Grand Command- 
ery. Knights Templar; Washington Council. Princes 
of Jerusalem : and Littleton Chapter of Rose Croix 
of Littleton, New Hampshire, and with Edward A. 
Raymond Consistory, of Nashua, New Hampshire, 
thirty-second degree. Ancient, Accepted Senttish 
Rite. In religion he is a Universalist, and in poli- 
tics an earnest Republican. 

He was married December 9, 1880, to Lucia 
Emma, daughter of Jedediah Miller and Sarah (Cut- 
ler-Bennett) Baldwin. She was born April 2r. 1858. 
in Stratford, New Hampshire, and is a member of 
the Congregational Church of Littleton. New Hamp- 
shire. Their children were: Edith Marion, born 
May 28, 1884: Harold Arthur, June 20, 1890; Ray- 
mond A., June 3, 1898. 



While this is not among the Pur- 
BROCKWAY itan Pilgrim families, it was very 

early located in New England, 
settling first in the colony of Connecticut, was identi- 
fied with western New Hampshire in the pioneer 
period, and has borne its part in the formative his- 
tory of the present state of New Hampshire. In 
the days preceding the Revolution, the pioneer of the 
family in this state penetrated the wilderness and 
subsequently contributed his part in the achievement 
of American independence. 

(I) Wolston Brockway (in some early records 
mentioned as Woolstone), was born in England, 
about 1638, and was in Lyme, Connecticut, owning 
a house and land there as early as 1659. He died 
there soon after T718. His wife was Hannah Bridges, 
daughter of William Bridges, and died February 6, 
1687. Their children, recorded in Lyme, were: Han- 
nah, William, Wolston. Mary, Bridget. Richard, 
Elizabeth. Sarah and Deborah. 

(II) William, eldest son and second child of 
Wolston and Hannah (Bridges) Brockway, was 
born July 25. 1666, in Lyme. Connecticut, where he 
resided through life and died March 29, 175?. His 
wife's name was Elizabeth, but no record of their 
children appears. 

(III) William (2). son of William (1) and Eliz- 
abeth Brockway. was born July 26, 1603, in Lyme, 
Connecticut, and was there married October 13. T716. 
to Prudence Pratt, daughter of William Pratt, of 
that town. 

(IV) Captain Jonathan, son of William (2^ and 
Prudence (Pratt) Brockway, was born in Lyme, 
Connecticut, and was there married October 20, 
17^7. to Phoebe Smith. About the time of the Re- 
volution, or just before, he settled in the town of 
Washington. Sullivan county. New Hampshire, soon 
after the lands of that town had been granted to 
Colonel Kidder. He was not of the first colonv of 
settlers who came in 1768, nor was he among those 
who received one hundred acres of land each in 
consideration of settlement and improvement, for 
even then he was possessed of considerable means 
and able to pay for whatever land he required. The 
earliest record of him states that he married in Lyme, 
in 1/57, Phebe Smith, who also lived in that town. 



57- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



After marriage they continued to live in Lyme until 
eight of their children had heen horn, and it is be- 
lieved that he followed the sea and gained his title 
in that service. Having accumulated considerable 
he left Lyme, and sometime between the 
years 1772 and 1774 settled in Washington, New 
Hampshire, near the outlet of what was long known 

Irockway's pond, and afterward as Millen pond. 
He invested a large sum of money in wild land in 
Washington, and is said to have owned at one time 
about fifteen hundred acres in the east part of the 
town. I], was a man of enterprise, and built a grist 
mill at Millen pond and later a saw mill at East 
Washington. He also built a linseed oil mill and a 
distillery in the western part of the town, the latter 
being the first and in fact the only establishment of 
its kind ever operated in Washington. Captain 
Brockway is remembered as a loyal supporter of 
the cause of the colonies during the Revolutionary 
war. and twice during that period, when alarming 
news came from Ticonderoga, he organized 
and led small detachments of men to the 
assistance of the Vermonters. He was an 
influential man in town affairs, and by his 
enterprise and liberality contributed much to the 
development of Washington during the years of its 
early history. His wife, Phebe (Smith) Brockway, 
died April 5, 17QI. and he afterward married Rebec- 
ca Jones of Hillsborough, by whom he had one 
child. Captain Brockway died in Bradford, New 
Hampshire, in January, 1829, at an advanced age. 
His children were Asa, Martin (born April 26, 1760, 
and died November 30, 1760), Martin, Susanna, Jon- 
athan, Jr., Jesse, Phebe, Rufus, Reuben, Joseph, 
Azubah and Rebecca, the latter a child of his sec- 
ond marriage. 

(V) Asa. eldest son and child o<f Jonathan and 
Phebe (Smith) Brockway, was born in Lyme, Con- 
necticut. April 23. 1758, and was a boy of about 
fifteen years when his father brought his family to 
New Hampshire and settled in the town of Wash- 
ington. He married Hcpzibah Hodgman, and af- 
terward lived and died in the town of Bradford, 
New Hampshire. Their children were Martin, Asa, 
Jr.. Tilly, Annis. Smith, Thomas, John, Ellis and 
Clarissa Brockway. 

( VI ) Tilly, third son and child of Asa and Hep- 
ibah 1 Hodgman) Brockway, w-as born in Bradford, 
June 8, 1783, and died in Hillsborough. New Hamp- 
shire. June 13. 1847. He was a farmer by principal 
occupation, and lived chiefly in the towns of Brad- 
ford and Hillsborough. He is remembered as an 
upright man in his daily walk, and a devout member 
of the church, serving many years as one of its dea- 
cons. He married Elizabeth Young, who was bom 
in New Brunswick, Maine, October 10. 1805, and 
died in Hillsborough in 1872. They had ten chil- 
dren : 1. John O. Brockway, born at New Bruns- 
wick. August 16, 1806, died in South America, July 
17, 1839; married November 28. 1833, Abigail Carey, 
and lived in Washington. 2. Ephraim, born in New 
Brunswick, March 26, 1808, died May 10, 1808. 3. 
Mary, horn at New Brunswick, March 21, 1809, died 
in Massachusetts, February 2, 1S83: married, No- 
vember — . 1825, Tilly Brockway, and lived many 
years in Bradford, New Hampshire. 4. Clara, born 
in Bradford, January 10, t8ii, died July 21, 1812. 
5. Abigail, born in Bradford, March 9, 1K14, died 
April 5, i860; married, June 4, 1S35. Elbridge Brock- 
w ii 6. Sarah, horn in Bradford, December 16, 
1818; married, October 27, 1835, Joseph O. Morrill, 
and lived first in Washington, afterward in Man- 



chester, New Hampshire, later returned to Wash- 
ington, and still later to Manchester. 7. Hiram, 
born in Bradford, March 2. 1821, died August 6, 

1822. 8. Harriet, born in Bradford, September 14, 

1823, died November 15, 1003; married, April 14, 
1843, Hiram Nichols, and lived in Bradford. 9. 
George, born in Bradford. April 24, 1828. 10. Li- 
vonia, born in Bradford. November 2. 1830; married, 
in 1854, Jonathan Lawrence; settled in Garland, 
Maine, and in 1885 removed to Sturgeon Bay, Wis- 
consin. 

(VII) George, ninth child and youngest son of 
Tilly and Elizabeth (Young) Brockway. was a boy 
of seven years when his father removed with his 
family from Bradford to Hillsborough, New Hamp- 
shire. Nearly the entire period of his life has been 

it in the town last mentioned, and his princi- 
pal occupation has been that of farming. He now 
lives on the old farm where his father settled in 
1835. Mr. Brockway married, November 16, 1848. 
Bi tsey Chesley, a native of Compton. Canada, born 
February 17. 1826, and by whom he has had five 
children: Himan A., born March 25, 1850; Frank, 
born August 10. 1852, died February 9, 1872; 
Charles, born April 10. 1856. married Fannie Whit- 
tier, born November 18, 1867, and lives in Hillsbor- 
ough; Fred, horn November 14, 1857, married Alice 
E. Jones, born Washington. New Hampshire, May 
6. 1S61. and has two children: Ella Frances, born 
June 26, 1859. married Dr. George N. Gage, of 
Washington, New Hampshire, and they had one 
child, a son. 

(VIII) Himan Averill, eldest son and child of 
Gei rge and Betsey (Chesley) Brockway, has lived 
in Hillsborough all his life and is one of the best 
farmers in that town or in Hillsborough county. He 
lived at home with his parents until he attained the 
age of about eighteen years, and then started out to 
make his own way in business life: and as evidence 
of his success one need only visit and look over his 
large, well kept farm, with its buildings and other 
appointments complete in every respect, and stocked 
with neat cattle alwavs in fit condition cither for 
the dairy or for the market. In connection with general 
farming pursuits he deals extensively in cattle and 
i- considered one of the best judges of live stock 
in the county. His business life has been a success 
from every point of view and the substantial re- 
sults achieved by him refute the modern contention 
that all agricultural pursuits are unprofitable. On 
September 5. 1877. Mr. Brockway married Mi<s Elsie 
1 but -Conn, daughter of Joseph C. and Melissa 
(Thissell) Hoyt. of Bradford, New Hampshire, and 
at the time of her marriage an adopted daughter of 
Charles \Y ami Lucinda (Colby) Conn. Mr. Conn 
was born March 6. 1821, on tin- farm now owned 

occupied by Mr. Brockway. Mr. "Hoyt, father of 
Mrs. Brockway, was killed in battle during the civil 
war. Lucinda Colby Conn was born in the town of 
Henniker, New 1 lamp-hire, September 21, 1822. 
Mr, and Mrs Brockway have one son, Frank Conn 
Brockway, who was born in Hillsborough, Novem- 
ber 2, 1880 He lives in the town and is engaged 
in the cattle lui-im-ss with his father. He married 
nuary t, 1902, Lena A. Bailey, of Nelson. New 
1 lamp-hire. 



Abraham P. Olzcndam. son of 
OLZF.XDAM Abraham P. and Johanna Olzen- 

dam, was born in Bremen, Prus- 
sia, October 10, 1821, and died in Manchester. New 
Hampshire, December 23. 1896. His parents were 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



573 



respectable and prudent persons, who gave their 
son the advantages of the common schools and trained 
him as a dyer. In 1848 he came to America, landing 
in New York without money and without friends. 
On leaving the wharf he at once proceeded to the 
City Hall, and there executed the papers which 
declared his intention to become an American citi- 
zen, and from that time the republic has had no 
more loyal supporter. After a few days he made 
his way to Massachusetts in search of employment 
and spent the next ten years in the factories of that 
state. In 1858 he removed to Manchester, New 
Hampshire, and took the position of dyer and 
color mixer in the Manchester Mills, where he re- 
mained four years. In 1862 he began business in 
a small way for himself as a hosiery manufacturer 
in a mill on Mechanic's row owned by the Amos- 
keag Company. From this beginning his 
judgment, enterprise, integrity and industry car- 
ried the Olzendam hosiery works to the large and 
substantial proportions of today, when they occupy 
one of the largest and best equipped mills in the 
state, giving constant employment to about three 
hundred persons and turning out a great variety of 
knit goods, the reputation of which is established in 
every trade center in the country. Mr. Olzendam 
was a Unitarian in religion and a Republican in 
politics, and in church and party he was always at 
the front. He never sought office, but the Republi- 
cans were not slow to recognize his services or his 
strength as a candidate. He represented Ward three 
in the lower house of the New Hampshire legislature 
in 1873 a "d 1874. Manchester district in the senate 
in 1886 and was unanimously nominated in 1892 as 
a presidential elector. He was one of the trustees of 
the People's Savings Bank from its organization 
till his death, also the Amoskeag National Bank, 
and held other positions of trust and responsibility. 
He was a thirty-second degree Mason, and a mem- 
ber of Washington Lodge, No. 61, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Mt. Horeb Royal Arch Chapter, 
No. 11; Adoniram Council, No. 3, Royal and Select 
Masters ; and Trinity Commandery, Knights Temp- 
lar. He also belonged to Aleppo Temple, Order of 
the Mystic Shrine, of Boston, and Edward A. Ray- 
mond Consistory, of Nashua. He was also a mem- 
ber of Hillsborough Lodge, No. 2, and Wonolancet 
Encampment, No. 2, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and an honorary member of the Amoskeag 
Veterans. Mr. Olzendam was a successful manu- 
facturer, but he was more than that. He was al- 
ways one of Manchester's most public spirited citi- 
zens, one of the best of neighbors, one of the truest 
and most devoted of friends. He was honest and 
frank as the noonday sun. His integrity was above 
suspicion ; his generosity was almost boundless, and 
knew neither nationality, creed, nor class. No one 
went cold or hungry if he could prevent it, and he 
was as modest and unassuming as he was generous 
and true. He married (first), October 1, 1S51, 
Therese Lohrer, of Dresden, Saxony, born July 19, 
1828, died November 25, 1867. They were the 
parents of eight children : Climentina A., born June 
28, 1852; Milton, June 15, 1854, died May 12, 1858; 
Alexander H, in Massachusetts, September 12, 1856, 
now residing in Londonderry, New Hampshire ; 
Gustavus A., June 10, 1859, now of Lowell, Massa- 
chusetts; Sidonia C. (deceased), April 4. 1861, mar- 
ried Clementine Valley; Selnia, September n, 1862, 
died July 14, 1S64; Louis H., May 8, 1866, now 
residing in New York; Arthur, November 23, 1867, 
died November 8, 1S68. Mrs. Olzendam died in 



1S67, and in 1872 Mr. Olzendam married (second) 
Mrs. Susan J. Carling, daughter of John Kemball and 
widow of John Carling, who survives him (see 
Kemball, VI). 



The Whitneys of this article are 
WHITNEY descended from one of the oldest 
and most distinguished families of 
the west of England, the Whitneys of Whitney, 
where on the banks of the Wye the crumbling rums 
of their ancestral castle could once be seen surviv- 
ing centuries of border warfare. The family can 
be traced back through a long knightly line of 
Whitneys and De Whitneys to the twelfth century, 
when the name originated, and beyond them to Nor- 
man ancestors, with other names even to the con- 
quest. 

One or more of the forefathers of this line went 
on a crusade to the Holy Land, one fought under 
Edward I, in the Scotch war of 1301, another twice 
represented Richard II abroad in important affairs 
of state, ami was slain "at the capture of Edmund 
Mortimer," a fourth followed Henry V in the tri- 
umphs of English arms in France, a fifth risked 
land and life for the "White Rose" and had his 
praises sung by the Welsh bard, Glyn Cothi, and 
nearly every one was sheriff of his shire, and sat in 
the great national council. They quartered on their 
shields the arms of numerous noble families, and 
their marriage alliances were almost without excep- 
tion in the families whose names are great history, 
through at least two of which the Whitneys of today 
may claim blood relationship to royalty from Wil- 
liam the Conqueror to Edward I. 

The family name of Whitney, or as originally 
written De Whitney, was derived from the name of 
the parish where the castle stood. Altiard, a Saxon, 
held the land before the conquest, but at the time of 
"Domesday Survey," 10S6, A. D., it was "waste" 
with no owner, save the king as lord paramount. 
A grandson or great-grandson of Sir Turstin. one of 
the Conqueror's knights, commonly known as "Tur- 
stin the Fleming," sometime between 1100 and 1200 
A. D., engaging in the border wars, built a strong- 
hold and took up his residence at Whitney, on the 
banks of the Wye, and thus after the custom of his 
times, acquired the surname of De (of) Whitney, 
as one of his neighbors gained that of De Clifford. 
The first mention of a De Whitney in any record 
now extant is that of "Robert De Wytteneye," in 
the Testa de Nevil, in the year 1242. 

(I) Sir Robert Whitney was knighted by Queen 
Mary in 1553, and represented Herefordshire in par- 
liament. 

(II) Thomas Whitney, son of Sir Robert, was 
a native of Herefordshire. From his native county 
he went to "Lambeth Marsh," a name still applied to 
a locality near the Surrey end of Westminster 
bridge, where he long resided. Of the life of 
Thomas Whitney nothing is certainly known be- 
yond the foregoing and the following facts : "On 
May 10, 1583, he obtained from the Dean and Chap- 
ter of Westminster a license to marry Mary, daugh- 
ter of John Bray, in which he is described as 
'Thomas Whytney of Lambeth Marsh, gentleman.' 
and on May 12 the marriage ceremony was per- 
formed in St. Margaret's. There were born to him 
nine children, viz.: Margaret, Thomas, Henry, Arn- 
waye. John, Nowell, Francis, Mary and Robert, but 
only three, viz.: John, Francis, and Robert, survived 
childhood. Of these John emigrated to Watertown, 
Massachusetts, Francis died at Westminster in 1643, 



574 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



and Robert in the parish of St. Peter's, Cornhill, 
London, in 1662. In 161 1 it is recorded that 
Thomas paid the subsidy tax, and December 6, 1615, 
on tl , ibate of the will of his father-in-law, John 
Bray, lie was appointed executor. February 22, 
1607, lie apprenticed his son John, and November 8. 
1624. his son Robert. The record of the latter, like 
the marriage license, describes him as a 'gentleman.' 
September 25, 1629, he buried his wife, and in April, 
1637. died himself. His eldest surviving son, John, 
being then out of England, administration of his 
estate was on May 8, 1637. granted to the other two, 
Francis and Robert." 

(III) John, fifth child and fourth son of 
Thomas and Mary (Bray) Whitney, was born in 
1589, . nd was baptized July 20, 1592, in St. Mar- 
garet's, the parish church standing in the shadow of 
the famous Westminster Abbey. He probably re- 
ceived for those days a good education in the fa- 
mous "Westminster School," now known as St. 
Peter's College, and February 22, 1607, at the age of 
fourteen, he was apprenticed by his father to Will- 
iam- Pring, of the Old Bailey, London. The latter 
was a "Freeman" of the Merchant Tailors' Company, 
then the most famous and prosperous of all the great 
trade guilds, numbering in its membership distin- 
guished men of all professions, many of the nobility, 
and the Prince of Wales, and on March 13, 1614, 
Whitney, at the age of twenty-one, became a full 
fledged member. Marrying soon after he took up 
his residence at Isleworth-on-the-Thames. eight miles 
from Westminster, where he dwelt from May. 1619, 
to January, 1624. There his father apprenticed to 
him his younger brother, Robert, who served seven 
years. Soon after 1824 he moved from Isleworth, 
probably back to London. Entries in the registers 
of the parish of St. Mary, Aldery, indicate that he 
lived there — in "Bowe lanne," near Bow Church, 
when hang the famous bells — for several years. 
Early in April, 1635, he registered with his wife, 
Elinor, and five sons as a passenger in the ship 
"Elizabeth and Ann," Roger Cooper, master, which, 
a few weeks afterward, completed her lading and 
set sail for the New World. They settled, in June, 
1635, in Watertown, Massachusetts Colony, where 
John Whitney was admitted freeman March 3, 1636, 
and the following year was for the first time elected 
one of the selectmen of the town. He held the 
office for many years afterward, until 1655, at which 
time he was elected town clerk. June I, 1641, he 
was appointed constable at Watertown by the gen- 
eral court, at their quarter session held in Boston. 
His early admission as a freeman, and his election 
as a selectman, show that he held a respectable so- 
cial position in the community. He was a grantee 
of eight lots in Watertown, and purchaser of sixteen 
acres, his homestead lot, where he continued to re- 
side. His eight lots amounted to two hundred and 

Ive acres, to which he subsequently made addi- 
tions. Elinor Whitney died in Watertown, May 11, 
ed about sixty years (though called fifty- 
\fter her death John Whitney married, Sep- 
tember 29, r65o. Judah (Judith) Clement. John 
Whitney died in June, 1673, aged about eighty-four 
years. He and his wife Elinor were the parents of 
Mary, John, Richard. Nathaniel. Thomas, Jonathan, 
Joshua, Caleb and Benjamin. (Mention of Richard 
and Benjamin and descendants appears in this ar- 
ticle I 

(IV) John (2), second child and oldest of the 
lis of John (1) and Elinor Whitney, was 

born at Isleworth-on-the-Thames, England, in 1620, 
ed September 14, 1621, and died in Watertown, 



Massachusetts, October 12, 1692. In September, 
1631, he was placed in the Merchant Tailors' School, 
where, according to the registers, he remained as 
long as the family were in England. In 1635 he ac- 
companied the family to America. He was admitted 
freeman, May 26, 1647, aged twenty-three, and was 
selectman from 1673 to 1680, inclusive. He first 
settled (1643) and always resided on a three acre 
lot on Lexington street, in Watertown. The name 
of John Whitney is one of twenty names of soldiers, 
who in 1675 were impressed with provisions, arms 
and ammunition for the defense of the colony. His 
will, written by himself February 27, 1685, and sub- 
scribed in 1690, though informal, not proved, and not 
on record, may be found in the files of the Middle- 
sex probate office, and provides, inter alia, as fol- 
lows : "If any of my sonnes or sone-in-laws or 
daughters be quarelsome by going to Law or 
troublesom to the brethren I say they shall lose the 
share of what I have bequeatted them. I desire they 
should live in love to God and one toward anothr." 
The inventory of his estate, dated October 26, 1692, 
embraced eighteen lots or parcels of land amounting 
to two hundred and ten acres, and appraised at one 
hundred and ninety-seven pounds fifteen shillings. 
He married, in 1642, Ruth Reynolds, daughter of 
Robert Reynolds, of Watertown, subsequently of 
Weathersfield, latterly of Boston. They had ten 
children : John, Ruth, Nathaniel, Samuel, Mary, 
Joseph, Sarah, Elizabeth, Hannah, and Benjamin. 
(Mention of Joseph and descendants forms part of 
this article). 

(V) Nathaniel, second son and third child of 
John (2) and Ruth (Reynolds) Whitney, was born 
in Watertown. February 1, 1646, and died January 7, 
1732. He resided in Weston, Massachusetts. The 
farm he lived upon was in the possession of Whit- 
neys for five or six generations. He married, March 
12, 1673, Sarah Hagar, who was born September 3, 
1651, and died May 7, 1746, in Weston. They had 
eight children : Nathaniel, Sarah, William, Samuel, 
Hannah. Elizabeth, Grace and Mercy. 

( VI ) William, third child and second son of 
Nathaniel and Sarah (Hagar) Whitney, was born in 
Weston, Massachusetts, where he died January 24, 
1720. He married, May 17, 1706, Martha Pierce, 
born December 24, 16S1. Their children were: Wil- 
liam, Judith, Amity, Martha, and Samuel, whose 
sketch follows. 

(VII) Lieutenant Samuel, youngest of the five 
children of William and Martha (Pierce) Whitney, 
was born in Weston, Massachusetts, May 23, 1719, 
and died in Westminster, January I, 1782, aged 
sixty-three. He was a leading man in the settlement 
of Westminster, and was frequently elected to office. 
He went from Weston soon after his marriage, prob- 
ably in 1742. He was frequently elected selectman. 
and during the Revolutionary war was a lieutenant. 
lie located on lot No. 51. near the North Common. 
lie was a prominent, capable and much esteemed res- 
ident of the township, one of the executive com- 
mittee of the propriety, and selectman three years 
after incorporation. He also held a commission in 
the militia of the province. He was a man of wealth 
and influence, having a large landed estate, which 
enabled him to give each of his sons a farm, it is 
said, before or at his decease. He married, October 
20, 1741, Abigail Fletcher, who survived him. They 
were the parents of thirteen children, as follows: 

Vbigail, Mary, Samuel, Aimer, Achsah, Silas, 
Martha, died young; Elisha, Alpheus, Phineas, Han- 
aniah, Martha and Susanna. 

(VIII) Samuel (2), eldest son and third child 




^L-<f 




NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



575 



of Lieutenant Samuel (tV and Abigail (Fletcher) 
Whitney, was horn in Westminster, February n, 
1746. He died in 1S12, in Westminster, where he 
always resided. He married, in Westminster, prob- 
ably June 30, 1784. Thankful Wilder, who after his 
death moved to Oswego, New York, and resided 
with her son Moses. Their children were : Moses, 
Pliney, Smyrna and Salome. 

(IX) Smyrna, third son and child of Samuel 
(2) and Thankful (Wilder) Whitney, was born in 
Westminster, March 5, 17S6, and died' May 16, 1857, 
aged seventy-one. He was born on a farm, and was 
fitted for college at the academy at New Ipswich. 
New Hampshire, but was prevented from continuing 
his studies by the sickness and death of his father. 

: tied on the old homestead farm, where he 
lived till upward of sixty years of age, when he 
sold out and moved to the village, where he died. 
He taught school several terms. He was a pros- 
perous farmer, and a substantial, honored citizen, 
active in public affairs, serving some years as select- 
man, and as one of the school committee, and in less 
conspicuous places. He married, November 26, 1812, 
Ruth Whitney, born November 12, 1790. daughter of 
Nathan and Eunice (Puffer) Whitney. She died 
November 25, 1857. Their children were : Lucinda, 
Eunice, Samuel and Caroline (twins), Charles H., 
Nathan, and George E. 

(X) George Edwin, youngest child of Smyrna 
and Ruth (Whitney) Whitney, was born in West- 
minster, Massachusetts. June 5, 1831. After obtain- 
ing his education in the common schools and at the 
academy of Westminster, he taught school during 
the winter months for some years. He was after- 
ward employed in the Walter Hayward chair fac- 
tory three years, and then went to Greenfield, where 
he and Joseph Adams were partners in the bakery 
business about one year. He was afterward em- 
ployed by the John Russell Cutlery Company, of 
Greenfield, six years. He went to West Claremont, 
New Hampshire, and was engaged as paper maker 
for his brother Samuel, in the Jarvis mill, and after 
a year's service there went to Bennington, New 
Hampshire, where he was employed by his brother 
Samuel for three years, at the same business. Set- 
tling in Keene in 1871 he with with brother Nathan 
entered into partnership association with Crossfield 
& Scott in the manufacture of sash, doors and blinds, 
under the firm name of Crossfield, Scott & Co., which 
was changed to the Nims-Whitney Company, in 
1S72, when Lanmon Nims and the Messrs. Whitney 
purchased the interest of their first partners, Messrs. 
Crossfield and Scott. Subsequently Mr. Charles W. 
Morse purchased the interest of Mr. Lanmon Nims 
after the latter's death. Mr. Whitney has been a 
member of the same firm or its successor, and in the 
same business at Keene, for thirty-six years. His 
stable and upright character and business ability 
have inspired the confidence and respect of the citi- 
zens of Keene, and he has been a member of the 
council of the city of Keene one year, during which 
time he served as president of that body. He was 
elected representative to the state legislature, and 
served one term, 1902. He is a member of Beaver 
Brook Lodge, No. 36, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, of Keene, and also of Commandery, No. 
00, of the United Order of the Golden Cross. He 
is a Republican in politics, and in religion a Con- 
gregationalism attending Court Street Church of that 
denomination. 

He married (first), in 1853, Sarah J. Tolman, 
born in 1830, daughter of Calvin and Mary Tolman. 



Mrs. Sarah (Tolman) Whitney died in 1875. He 
married (second), Lura L. Nims, born November 6, 
1850, daughter of Gilman and Charlotte (Stone) 
Nims, of Roxbury, New Hampshire. The children 
of the first wife were : Frederick W., a physician of 
Chicago. Emma L., who married Marvin R. Lewis, 
of New York city. Anna, died young. Julia Bertha! 
who died at eighteen. The children of the second 
wife were: Charlotte Ruth, born 1878. Mary Belle, 
born 1S81. Ida Nims, born 1SS2. Ralph Edward, 
born 1S90. 

(IV) Richard Whitney, second son and third 
child of John and Elinor Whitney, was born in 
England in 1626. He was admitted a freeman May 
7. 165 1. He probably settled in Stow prior to the 
division of that town from Concord, as his name ap- 
pears among the proprietors of Stow in 1680. In 
1697, being over seventy years of age, he was re- 
leased from further military training by the court. 
March 19, 1650, he married Martha Coldam, and was 
the father of Sarah, Moses. Johannah, Deborah, Re- 
becca, Richard, Elisha and Ebenezer. 

(V) Moses, second child and eldest son of 
Richard and Martha (Coldam) Whitney, was born 
in Concord, August I, 1655. He served in King 
Philip's War, 1675-76, and on April 8 was granted 
land in Stow, which was incorporated , as a town 
two years later. He was married September 30, 
16S6, to Sarah Knight, of Stow, and had a family of 
eight children, namely: Sarah, Moses, Abraham, 
Jonas. Jason, Lemuel, John and Ephraim. 

(VI) Abraham, third child and second son of 
Moses and Sarah (Knight) Whitney, was born in 
Stow, May 29, 1692. In 1749 he conveyed to his son 
land which he had received from his father. He 
died in May, 1782. He married for his first wife 
Mary Stone, daughter of Isaac Stone. She was 
born in 1698, and died October 7, 1766. The Chris- 
tian name of his second wife was Elizabeth. His 
children were: Jemima, Kezia, Ephraim, Abraham, 
Isaac and Mary. 

(VII) Abraham (2), second son and fourth child 
of Abraham and Mary (Stone) Whitney, was born 
in Stow, July 31, 1724, and died there April 3, 1818, 
at the advanced age of ninety-three years. Decem- 
ber 19, 1745, he married Marcy Perry, who was born 
in Sudbury, October 8. 1726. She lived to be one 
hundred and two years old, her death having oc- 
curred December 28, 1828. She was the mother of 
eleven children, namely: Lucy, Isaac, Abraham, 
Jacob, Levi (died young), Ruth, Molly, Levi, Mary, 
Rhoda and Marcy. 

(VIII) Jacob, second son and fourth child of 
Abraham and Marcy (Perry) Whitney, was born in 
Stow, July 7, 1754. He served in the Revolutionary 
war as a member of a company from Bolton, under 
the command of Captain Sargent, and after the com- 
pletion of his term of service he returned to Stow, 
where he died October 24, 1844. He was married in 
Bolton, September 30. 1779, to Esther Wolcott, who 
was born March 5, 1761, and died December 18, 1837. 
The children of this union were : Levi, Keziah. 
Josiah, Jacob, Jesse, Abraham, Lydia, Isaac and 
Eunice. 

(IX) " Jesse, fourth son and fifth child of Jacob 
and Esther (Wolcott) Whitney, was born in Stow, 
January 26. 1790. He remained beneath the paternal 
roof, assisting his father upon the farm and attend- 
ing school, until reaching the age of nineteen years, 
when he went to Boston for the purpose of learning 
the shoemaker's trade. After serving an apprentice- 
ship of four years he went to Framingham, Massa- 



576 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



chusetts, and entered the employ of a Mr. Buck- 
i .1 journeyman shoemaker. Succeeding to 

the business a short lime later he conducted it until 
the autumn of 1825, when he removed to Nashua 
and entered the 1 the Nashua Manufactur- 

ing Company as a belt maker, remaining with that 
concern for a period of ten years. He then engaged . 
l'n the retail boot and shoe business and continued 
in trade the rest of his life, which terminated Janu- 
ary 28, 1858. In politics he was a Whig, and 111 his 
religious belief he was a Presbyterian. He was 
d in Medfield, Massachusetts, November 19, 
1818, to Rebecca Newell, who was born in Sher- 
b ruary 2, 1795, and died in Nashua, June 

i. She bore him ten children, namely: Helen 
1 lizabeth Wheelock, Mary 

1. Edward Payson, Charles 
Frederick, William Andrew. Eugene Francis and 
Richard Dexter. 

(X) Hin. George Henry, second child and 
eldest s: »n of Jesse and Rebecca (Newell) Whitney, 
was born in Framingham, Massachusetts, Eebruary 
24, 1821. His education was completed at Crosby's 
Literary Institute, Nashua, and at the age of seven- 
teen years he began an apprenticeship at the ma- 
chinist's trade. After serving the customary term 
he went to New York city, but returned to New 
Hampshire a short time afterward and obtained em- 
ployment as a journeyman in the machine shops of 
the Amoskeag Company at Manchester. Returning 
to Nashua some nine months later he obtained the 
position of foreman of the shop wherein he had 
learned his trade, and he retained it until 1852, when 
with David A. G. Warner he was admitted to part- 
nership under the firm name of Gage, Warner & 
Whitney. Under the new administration the busi- 
ness d into large proportions, and it was 
subsequently found necessary to remove to more 
spacii us quarters on East Hollis street, which the 
firm erected and equipped for their special purpose. 
They were the original manufacturers of machinists' 
tools, and later began the manufacture of the Swain 
turbine waterwheel, so largely used throughout New 
England and the middle states, and employed a large 
force of machinists. In 1862 the senior partner, Mr. 
Gage, was accidentally killed, and the firm was re- 
organized under the name of Warner & Whitney, 
continuing as such until 1873. when the death of Mr. 
Warner left Mr. Whitney sole proprietor of the 
business, and he conducted it successfully until 1880, 
when he sold out to the Swain Turbine Manufactur- 
ing Company. 

Aside from his prominence in the industrial de- 
velopment of Nashua, Mr. Whitney was for years 
identified with military companies in Nashua and 
the State Guards, in which latter he held a first 
lieutenant's commission. He was a representative to 
the legislature in 1855-56, was a member of the 
Nashua board of aldermen in 1857-58, and in 1875 
was elected mayor by a large majority. He later 
served the city as a member of the board of as- 
sessors. Politically he acted with the Republican 
party. He was a member of Rising Sun Lodge, No. 
39, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons ; Meridian 
Sun Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; St. George Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar; Edward A. Raymond 
Consistory, and had therefore attained the Thirty- 
second degree. He also affiliated with Granite 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He was 
a Congregationalist in his religious belief, and a 
j 1 er of the Pilgrim Church. He died in Nashua 

March 7, 1895. On April 25. 1844, Mr. Whitney was 



united in marriage with Susan G. Stickney, daughter 
of Luther A. and Ruth (Glover; Stickney. Oi this 
union there were seven children, namely: George F., 
who will be again referred to; Clarence R, 

ied October 8, 1868; Willis I., born 
March 21. 1848, died June 10, of the 
Charles H., born June 22. 1851, married (first) Liz- 
zie J. 1 1 Waldoboro, Maine, and (s< 
Anna F. Fisher, of Nashua; Alice <i . 
her 26. [853, was the wile of William H. Sexton, 
deceased; Eugene P., born November 28, 1855, and 
died October 20, 1906. married for his rir-t wife 
Elizabeth L. Jobert, and his second wife Myra B. 
White; and Stisa May, born December 23, 1850. and 
die'i January 2, i860. 

1 XI ) George Frederick, eldest child of George 
H. and Susan G. (Stickney) Whitney, was born in 
Nashua. November 2. 1846. He attended the public 
schools, and after completing his studies learned the 
machinist's trade. After his father's death lie suc- 
ceeded to the business. He is now local age: 
the Swain Turbine Manufacturing Company of 
Lowell. Massachusetts. He is quite active in civic 
affairs, having served in the common council three- 
years and on the board of aldermen two years, and 
at the present time is an engineer in the fire depart- 
ment. His fraternal affiliations are with the Odd 
■ s. He attends the Pilgrim Church. On No- 
vember 15. 1871, Mr. Whitney married Elthea 
Davis, daughter of Henry Davis. Their children 
are: Ada, married Arthur H. dimming! 
Nashua; Lottie May. married Fred. A. Hoi. 
Nashua : and Frederick Henry. 

(IV) Benjamin, eighth son and youngest child 
of John and Elinor ( Bray) Whitney, was born in 
Watertown, Massachusetts, June 6, 1643. He went 
to York, Maine, to live, but at what date can 
determined, as the records of the town were de- 
stroyed by the Indians in the massacre of 1692. The 
first record found of Benjamin in Maine is in 1662- 
66-68, when he witnessed at York an agreeni' 
John Doves. He was at Cocheco. Maine, near 
Dover, in 1668; and April 13. 1674. the selectn 
York laid out ten acres of upland to Benjamin 
Whitney. His father desired that he should return 
to Watertown and settle with him on the horn 
during his lifetime, promising him hi- land. ■ 
teen acres, house and barn, if he would do so. and 
deeded the property to him April 5. 1670. Benjamin 
and wife. March 1 old the land with the con- 
sent of his father, to Joshua Whitney for forty 
pounds. Benjamin probably did not go to Water- 
town, but continued 40 live at York. Benjamin had 
from the town of York a grant of ten acres of land 
in 1680. which with his first grant he sold in 1685. 
Soon afterward he returned to Watertown and lo- 
cated in Sherborn, near the Natick town line. In 
1695 he lived on land in Marlboro, belonging to 
Harvard College, which he leased from Governor 
Danforth. In 1718 he received a legacy of ten 
shillings per annum from his nephew, Benjamin, 
a son of his brother Jonathan. He died in 1723. He 
married (first >. probably at York, Maine, Jane 
. who died November 14, 1690. He mar- 
ried (second), April 11, 1695. Mary Poor, of Marl- 
boro. He was the father of nine children. Those 
of the first wife were: Jane, Timothy, John. 
Nathaniel, Jonathan, Benjamin and Joshua; and by 

econd wife: Mark and Isaac. 

(V) Nathaniel, fourth child and third son of 
Benjamin and Jane Whitney, was born in Y ik. 
Maine. April 14, 16S0. He probably resided at his 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



577 



native place until after his marriage, when he re- 
moved to Gorham. In 1703 he was a member of the 
military company of York, commanded by Captain 
Preble, for defense against Indians. In 1708 Na- 
thaniel Whitney, weaver, of Kittery, bought a cer- 
tain piece of salt marsh and thatch ground in York 
commonly known as the Sunken Marsh. November, 
1715, Nathaniel Whitney, of York, weaver, and 
wife Sarah sold for four score pounds one-half 
the tract of land known as the Sunken Marsh, and 
all housing, timber, etcetera. In 1717 Nathaniel Whit- 
ney purchased twenty acres of land and a small or- 
chard on York river. He died in Gorham, Maine. 
He married, in York, Maine, Sarah Ford, born in 
York, daughter of John Ford, of Kittery. They had 
nine children : Nahum, Nathaniel, Abel, Sarah, 
Isaac, Amos, Lydia, died young; Joanna, and Lydia, 
died young. 

(VI) Isaac, fifth child and fourth son of Na- 
thaniel and Sarah (Ford) Whitney, was born in 
York, Maine, March 9, 1720, and died in Freeport, 
Maine, in 1800, aged eighty. He resided in York 
until 1752, when he purchased a house and lot in 
Saco. In 1775 he was living in Buxton, Maine, but 
died at the house of his son, Henry, in Freeport. 
He married (first), February 25, 1743, Sarah Crosby, 
daughter of Dr. Crosby. He married two other 
wives, but their names are not known. His chil- 
dren were : Lucy, Phineas, Isaac, Hannah, Stephen, 
Jonathan. Timothy, Barnabas, James, Mary and 
Henry. 

(VII) Isaac (2), third son of Isaac (1) Whit- 
ney, was born in York, December 28, 1748, and died 
in Gorham, October 21, 1S37. He went to Gorham 
before marriage, and spent the remainder of his life 
there. In 1775 he purchased a farm of his wife's 
father, on which he settled and on which he died. 
He was in the Revolutionary war, in the Massachu- 
setts line, and April 18, 1818, was granted a pension. 
In 1S33 he was living in Cumberland county, Maine. 
He married, in 1771, Mary Crockett, of Gorham, who 
was born in 1752, and died July 29, 1832. Their 
children were : Sarah, Edmund, Samuel, Joseph, 
Isaac L., Adam, Polly and Sophia. 

(VIII) Edmund, eldest son and second child of 
Isaac (2) and Mary (Crockett) Whitney, was born 
in Gorham, May 4, 1774, and died in Gorham, May 
25- 1853, aged seventy-nine. He married, in 1803, 
Martha Meserve. Their children were : Merrill, 
Robie and Marshall. 

(V) Joseph, fourth son and sixth child of 
John (2) and Ruth (Runnells) Whitney, was born 
January 15, 1652, in Watertown, Massachusetts, and 
lived in that town until his decease, November 4, 
1702. He married, January 24, 1675, Martha Beech, 
born March 10, 1650. daughter of ■Richard and 
Martha Beech, of Cambridge. 

(VI) John (3), son of Joseph and Martha 
(Beech) Whitney, was born July 29, 16S0, in Water- 
town, and died November II, 1760, in the portion of 
that town, which is now Weston, where he lived. 
He married, February 22, 1704, Sarah Cutting, 
daughter of Zachariah, Sr., and Sarah Cutting. She 
died July 10, 1753. He married (second), Novem- 
ber 28, 1754, Mrs. Beriah Pierce, born June 23. 1681, 
daughter of John and Mary (Harrington) Bemis, 
and married (first) Daniel Child, (second) Joseph 
Pierce, and (third) John Whitney. The children of 
the latter by his first wife were : Isaac, Zachariah, 
John, Abraham and Joseph. 

(VII) Zachariah, second son and child of John 
(3) and Sarah (Cutting) Whitney, was born De- 

ii— 13 



-ember 28, 171 1, in Weston, Massachusetts. He be- 
came a farmer and substantial citizen of Lunen- 
burg, in that state. He married, April 11, 1739, 
Sarah Boynton, and their children were: Sarah 
Jane, Abigail, Zachariah, Mary and John. Sarah, 
wife of Zachariah Whitney, was the first daughter 
and sixth child of Caleb Boynton, who resided in 
Hampshire county. Massachusetts, and moved, about 
1S00, to northern New York. His wife was Sarah 
I : i igg. It has been impossible to trace his connec- 
tion with the Boynton family, which is numerously 
represented in the United States, but there is no 
doubt that he came of the same ancestry as other 
Boyntons mentioned in this work. 

(VIII) John (4), youngest child of Zachariah 
and Sarah (Boynton) Whitney, was born April 16, 
1756, in Lunenburg, Massachusetts. He married, 
1775. Priscilla Battles. 

(IX) John (5), son of John (4) and Priscilla 
(Battles) Whitney, was born July 2, 17S8, in Lunen- 
burg, Massachusetts, and lived in that town and in 
Peru, Vermont, and after 1854 in Rindge. New 
Hampshire, where he died October 15, 1S73. He 
was a liberal-minded citizen, a Methodist in religious 
belief, and led a most blameless life. He married, 
December 8, 1812, Sophia Faulkner, born February 
28, 1794, daughter of Jonas and Eunice (Stone) 
Faulkner, of Boxborough, Massachusetts, and 
Rindge, New Hampshire. Jonas Faulkner was a 
soldier in the Revolution, and late in life drew a 
pension for his services. Sophia Whitney died April 
16, 1S59. Mr. Whitney married (second), April 12. 
i860, Fanny Howe Blodgett, daughter of Abijahand 
Margaret (Howe) Blodgett. The first wife was the 
mother of his ten children, namely: Sophia, Zach- 
ariah, Eunice, John O., Ann, Sarah, died young ; 
Sarah, Charles A., Susan E. and George A. 

(X) John Osborn Whitney, second son and 
fourth child of John (5) and Sophia (Faulkner) 
Whitney, was born January 12, 1821, in Lunenburg, 
and died in Rindge. New Hampshire, August 24, 
1892. In early life he went to sea on a whaling ves- 
sel, "The Tobacco Plant." and after a four years' 
voyage was possessed of sixteen dollars. He re- 
turned to his father's home in Peru, Vermont, and 
shortly thereafter removed to Rindge, New Hamp- 
shire, where he lived with little interruption after 
1852. For some years he was employed in a wnoden 
ware factory, and part of the time as proprietor of 
the establishment subsequently operated by O. P. 
Butler. In 1849 he was one of the California 
pioneers and remained two years in that state pros- 
pecting for gold. He then returned to Rindge and 
remained until 1858, when he returned to California, 
where he remained until 1870. He went to the Black 
Hills, during the gold discoveries excitement of 1876 
for one season. Returning to Rindge, he was em- 
ployed by G. A. & C. A. Whitney in the pail manu- 
facturing business, and continued with them and 
their successors until the establishment was closed. 
From that time he was practically retired from ac- 
tive labor until his death. He was a studious and 
intelligent man. Mr. Whitney married, March 25, 
1854, Abbie L. Lyon, born June 4, 1838, daughter of 
Freeman and Miranda (Smith) Lyon, of Peru, Ver- 
mont. Their children were: Charles A., Eva S., 
Mark A., Fred O. and Herbert M. 

(XI) Charles Albert, eldest child of John Os- 
born and Abbie (Lyon) Whitney, was born April 
20. 1856, in Rindge. New Hampshire, and was edu- 
cated in the public schools of that town and Wind- 
hall, Vermont, and Appleton Academy, New Ipswich, 



578 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



New Hampshire. His business career had its in- 
ception in the Whitney pail factory at Rindge, and 
he continued with that establishment ten years. He 
was employed in a similar establishment at Winchen- 
don, Massachusetts, whence he returned to Rindge, 
and continued about five years with W. F. Sawtelle, 
wooden ware manufacture. He was employed for 
some time at Fitzwilliam, by H. O. Taft, in the man- 
ufacturing of fan handle-. He then went to Gard- 
ner, Massachusetts, where he was employed in the 
Derby chair factory, and was next employed in a 
general store at West Swanzey. and was again em- 
ployed in a chair factory at Fitzwilliam, where he 
continued ten years. After residing a short time on 
a farm in Rindge, he was again employed in the 
chair factory at Fitzwilliam. While employed as 
station agent of the Chesire railroad at State Line, 
New Hampshire, he opened a general store, which 
he conducted for three years. He was appointed 
while there a county justice. Returning to Fitz- 
william, he entered into partnership with C. B. 
Perry and opened a general store. After one year 
he moved to Marlboro, and conducted a grocery busi- 
ness with a partner named White. At the end of 
one year he purchased the interest of his partner, 
and has continued in the same business to the pres- 
ent time. In 1904 he entered into a partnership with 
C. F. Pierce and engaged in the manufacture of toys, 
continuing eight months. Later he purchased Mr. 
Pierce's interest in the business, which he is also 
carrying on with success at the present time, in pres- 
ent partnership association with his brother, Fred. 
O. Whitney. Wherever he has lived he has taken 
an active part in the progress of affairs, and was 
clerk nf the fire wards and member cf the prudential 
school committee while a resident of Fitzwilliam. 
He is now treasurer of the Marlboro school board 
for three years. He is a member of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, affiliating with both Sub- 
ordinate and Rebekah Orders, and has passed 
through the principal chairs. 

He married, in 1876, Emma C. Hale, born Jan- 
uary 11, 1857, in Rindge. New Hampshire, and died 
December 17, 1905. in Marlboro. She was a daugh- 
ter of Nathan Adams and Myrsylvia (Godding) 
Hale. Mr. and Mrs. Whitney are the parents of 
two daughters. Florence M.. and Nettie E.. wife of 
Herbert J. Richardson, of Marlboro, financial secre- 
tary and past grand master of the Independent Or- 
der of Odd Fellows, and master of the local 
Grange. 



The origin of this name i; veiled 
IIACKETT in the mists of the past. Mark An- 
thony Lower thinks the Anglo- 
. "Hacket" a corruption of Harcourt. The 
name Hacket (without a prefix) appears on the 
Hundred Rolls of Battle Abbey, 1273, and is not 
unfrequently to be met with in English annals of a 
still earlier period, as stat d bj I rank W. TIackett, 
from wh ■ memoir of William II. V. Hackett the 
principal pari of the following sketch is taken. An 
an ient branch of the family in Scotland spells the 
name " 1 1 all-ret" though retaining the pronunciation 
"Hacket." Keating, in his "History of Ireland," 
enumerates certain families "of the best English 
who crossed into Ireland in the reign of 
Henry II, in the year 117:. and among them the 
Here they 1 large 1 tates, and 

many of their descendants today are prominent cit- 
izens of Dublin and its neighborhood Their pres- 
ence accounts for the name of Ilackettstown, in 



county Carlow. not far from the Irish capital. In 
1384 Peter Hacket was consecrated bishop of Cashel ; 
David Hacket filled the see of Ossory from 1460 to 
147S; and a person of the same name is said to have 
been the architect of the monastery of Batalha in 
Portugal in the fifteenth century. Sir John Hacket 
was the English embassador at Brussels in 1533, and 
Thomas Hacket. an English scholar, translated' "The 
Amadis of Gaul" previous to 1588. Sir Cuthbert 
Hacket was lord mayor of Londrn in 1626, and Sir 
Thomas Hacket was lord mayor of Dublin in 1687. 
John Hacket, bishop of Lichfield and Canterbury 
from 1661 to 1670. a descendant of the Scotch 
Halkets, was born in London in 1502, and educated 
at Trinity College, Cambridge. This eminent prel- 
ate, noted for the gentleness and purity of his char- 
acter, during his ministrations as bishop, expended 
no less than twenty thousand pounds of his own 
private fortune in rebuilding Lichfield Cathedral, 
where his remains lie under an imposing monument. 
(I) William Hacket is the earliest known an- 
cestor of the Hacketts of New England. During the 
latter part of his life be resided at Salisbury, Massa- 
chusetts. He was by occupation a mariner, and ap- 
pears to have been a man of superior talent and 
energy. There is good reason for believing this an- 
cestor to have been identical with the "Will Hacket," 
who, as the Dover records show, had a grant of 
land in 1656 "touching Bellemie's hank freshet," and 
who was taxed at Cocheco the year following. He 
soon after sold his land to Thomas Hanson, and re- 
moved to Exeter. Will Hacket took the oath of 
allegiance at Exeter in 1667. and was rated there in 
the provincial lists in 16S1 and 16S2. William 
Hacket commanded the sloop "Indeavor," of "Salis- 
bury in the County of Norfolk, in New England," 
in a voyage to New York in May, 1671. Governor 
Carteret, it seems, had insisted that payment of 
duties at the custom-house in New York "by vessels 
entering Sandy Hook gave no right to trade in New 
Jersey, but that license therefore should be taken 
out at the custom-house in Elizabeth Town. Cap- 
tain Hackett, not entertaining this view of provincial 
sovereignty, undertook to trade on the Jersey side, 
after having paid the duties at New York" only, 
whereupon the governor seized and confiscated his 
vessel. He had a farm at Salisbury, where he died 
March 6. 1713, leaving a good estate. Upon the first 
leaf of the Salisbury town records is the registration 
of the marriage of William Hacket to Sarah Barn- 
ard. January 31, 1667. Their children were: Sarah, 
John, Ephraim, William, Judah, Ebenezer and 
Katherine. all born at Salisbury except John, who 
was born at Amesbury. 

(II) Ebenezer Hackett. youngest son of Will- 
iam and Sarah (Barnard) Hacket, was born October 
17. 1687. He married Hannah, daughter of Jarves 
Ring, and they became the parents of twelve 
children. 

(III) Ephraim, eldest son of Ebenezer and 
Hannah (Ring) Hackett. was born in Salisbury. Oc- 
tober 3, 171 1. .About 1740. with his wife and fam- 
ily of young children, he made his way up the val- 
ley of the Merrimack to Canterbury. New Hamp- 
shire, thru on the farthest northern rim of civiliza- 
tion in the state. He obtained an extensive tract of 
land, and erected his domicile near the spot selected 
for the new meeting house. He was a man of re- 
sources and soon showed bis film's- to lead in town 

h affairs, lie was repeatedly elected 
moderator and selectman. He lived on his home- 
trad to a good old age. He married, in 1734, in 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



579 



Salisbury, Massachusetts, Dorothy, daughter of Still- 
son Allen, of Salisbury, and great-granddaughter of 
William Allen, a leading man at the settlement of 
the town in 163S. The children of this union were : 
Ezra (died young), Hezekiah, Ezra, Jeremiah, Betty, ' 
Mary. Ephraim (died young), Miriam, Ephraim. 
Dorothy, Allen, Charles and Ebenezer, the last six 
of whom were born in Canterbury. 

(IV) Jeremiah, fourth son and child of Ephraim 
and Dorothy (Allen) Hackett, was born in Canter- 
bury. He was a farmer and lived in a place which 
joined the paternal acres. He died in the prime of 
life, in the summer of 1797. He married Polly 
Robinson, by whom he had ten children: Sarah, 
Bradbury, Jeremiah, Allen, Daniel. Polly, Asa, Bet- 

.sey, Susan and Patty. 

(V) Allen, fourth child and third son of Jere- 
miah and Polly (Robinson) Hackett, was born in 
Canterbury, July 15, 1777, died 1848. He attended 
the district schools until the opening of Gilmanton 
Academy, and then became a student at that then 
justly esteemed institution. He learned the tan- 
ner's trade in Concord, and returning to Gilman- 
ton established himself in business at "the Corner." 
In 1801 he sold his tannery and removed to a farm 
situated a mile and a half from what is now Fac- 
tory Village. Eight years later he purchased in 
what is now Belmont a piece of land next to Gov- 
ernor Badger's estate, opposite a valuable tract of 
land which had been presented to Mrs. Hackett by 
her father, and thither he removed his family. On 
this place he passed the remainder of his life and 
died in 1848. "He was of striking personal appear- 
ance, powerful, \vell-proportioned, and six feet in 
height. Good natural abilities he had improved by 
an academic education, and his conversation stamped 
him as the superior of many around him. He loved 
to read and had a keen relish for political literature. 
Constant at primary meetings and conventions, he 
did much to shape their action, and his reputation 
for political sagacity made him the oracle of the 
community where he lived ; indeed, Allen Hackett 
wielded no slight influence in the counsels of his 
party throughout all that quarter of the state. An 
earnest Federalist and Whig, his friends year after 
year found themselves in a minority, which might 
perhaps have extinguished hope anywhere else than 
in New Hampshire. The life, however, of this sturdy 
New England farmer was uneventful. Honorable 
in his dealings and loyal in his friendships, he was 
justly esteemed alike for his private worth and pub- 
lic spirit by all who knew him ; and when he died 
his children mourned the loss of a prudent and af- 
fectionate parent. He married Mary Young, of 
Gihnantown, daughter of Joseph Young. They 
were students together at the academy. She was a 
young woman of handsome person, quick intelli- 
gence, a cheerful disposition, and a kindness of 
heart that knew no bounds. She was endowed with 
a retentive and accurate memory, and readily as- 
similated what she had gathered from books, and in 
spite of the family cares which came to her after 
marriage she kept herself well-informed of what 
was going on in the religious, literary and political 
world. While improving every opportunity to cul- 
tivate her mind, she neglected no duty of w : ife or 
mother, and bestowed on her children the wealth of 
a warm and affectionate nature ; nor, in ministering 
to their health and comfort did she fail to inculcate 
the precepts of religion. She died January, 1854, 
aged seventy-three. Her father, Joseph Young, a 
native of Exeter, was one of the earliest settlers of 



Gilmanton, whither he removed in 1779, and for 
years a leading citizen of the town. He engaged 
actively in business enterprises, and accumulated 
what the country people of that day accounted a 
handsome fortune. He represented the town nine 
terms in the general court, served eleven years as 
selectman, and was a ruling elder in the church. He 
married Anna Folsom in Exeter in 1771. They had 
'three children: Polly, Nancy and William Henry. 
Allen and Polly (Young) Hackett had nine chil- 
dren: William H. Y., Jeremiah Mason, Nancy 
Young, Hiram Stephen, Mary Jane, Eliza Ann, 
George Washington, Charles Alfred and Luther 
Allen. 

(VI) William Henry Young, eldest child of 
Allen and Mary (Young) Hackett, was born in that 
part of Gilmanton which is now Belmont. Septem- 
ber 24, 1800.. and died in Portsmouth, August 9, 1S7S. 
He had no love for farm life, clearing up brush and 
burning the heaps being, according to his father's 
statement, "the only mark of a good farmer I ever 
knew him to have." He had few playmates, and but 
little desire for out-door sports, preferring the com- 
pany of books instead. At the age of twelve he be- 
gan his attendance at Gilmanton Academy, to and 
from which he walked daily two miles each way. 
He kept at his studies with a keen relish, was am- 
bitious, and maintained with facility a high rank 
among his schoolmates. To defray the expenses of 
his education he taught school, and achieved gratify- 
ing success in that vocation. His first venture of 
consequence wa? at North Barnstead, when he was 
only eighteen, and upon returning home after three 
months' absence paid over his entire salary, thirty 
dollars, to his father. His attendance at the acad- 
emy continued until 1818. Before leaving that in- 
stitution he began to read the hornbooks of law. bor- 
rowing thern from Stephen Moody, Esq., then the 
only lawyer in active practice at Gilmanton Corner. 
At twenty he went to Sanbornton Square, and read 
law with Matthew Perkins, Esq., with whom he re- 
sided a year and a half, receiving board- and lodging 
in the family of his preceptor in return for such 
service as he could render in the routine of office 
practice. He had seen and heard Ichabod Bartlett, 
then one of the most astute and eloquent members 
of the New Hampshire bar, and in April, 1822, he 
realized his long cherished desire of becoming a 
student in the office of the great lawyer at Ports- 
mouth. There he entered upon a course of advanced 
study, and took charge of nearly all the office prac- 
tice. Upon the fees earned in petty office business, 
added to something received by teaching private pu- 
pils at odd hours, he contrived to live respectably 
and keep out of debt. The next winter he returned 
to Gilmanton, and after teaching a term of school 
came back to Portsmouth. During his absence Mr. 
Bartlett had been elected to congress, and the young 
man found himself occupying a broader field and 
receiving more remuneration for his services. About 
the time Mr. Hackett made Portsmouth his home 
the schools of the town were so ill-governed and in- 
efficient that the school committee, composed of the 
best citizens, insisted on an increased salary and 
very much better services on the part of the teachers. 
At this juncture a vacancy occurred in the master- 
ship of the high school, and Mr. Hackett consented 
to assume that position for a brief season, devoting 
his evenings meanwhile to the law. His administra- 
tion restored perfect order, and the pupils made 
rapid progress in their studies ; in fact, such general 
satisfaction attended his method of instruction, that 



5 8o 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



upon the eve of retirement, after three months' 
service, he was urged to consider the situation a 
permanent one at an annual salary of six hundred 
dollars. This offer he declined. When his friends 
in the country heard of it they were sorely exer- 
cised, and did not hesitate to predict that he had 
made the mistake of a lifetime. Mr. Hackett's em- 
ployment as an instructor while a young man, gave 
him a lifelong interest in the cause of education, and 
for some years after he laid aside the duties of 
teacher he performed more than his fair share of 
labor as a member of the board of education. 

In January, 1826, he was admitted to the bar on 
motion of Nathaniel A. Haven. Jr., who soon after- 
ward invited him to became a law partner, a proposal 
he was only too happy to accept. This relation con- 
tinued until June of that year, when Mr. Haven died. 
This brief connection, however, had enhanced the 
reputation of the surviving partner, and his practice 
took a steady growth. It was not long before he 
was recognized as a strong man in his profession, 
and in the course of a few years he came to be em- 
ployed in many of the most important cases tried in 
the state. The period of his practice covered a term 
of fifty-two years — a term longer than that of any 
predecessor at the Rockingham bar. The earliest 
reported cause in which he appears of counsel was 
determined in 1827, and from that time till his death 
the fifty-three volumes of the New Hampshire re- 
ports, together with the decisions of the circuit and 
supreme courts of the United States testify with 
what ability, and with what fair measure of success 
he addressed the bench. He was earnest in his 
efforts to promote at the bar a feeling of fraternity. 
The New Hampshire Bar Association, incorporated 
in 1873, made him its first president — an office he 
held at the time of his death. Bell's "Bench and 
Bar of New Hampshire" says of him : "He was 
punctually in his office, quick of apprehension, full 
of resources, conversant with human nature, and of 
great practical sense, he was a wise counsellor. 
Without being a student, he was usually right in his 
law. He held briefs against the best practitioners 
in the state and federal courts, and not to his dis- 
advantage. He was a ready and fluent speaker, with 
an apparent fairness that impressed his audience 
favorably. He was spontaneous, witty, and always 
interesting." Another authority says of him : "He 
tried many cases to the jury, was retained of counsel 
by corporations, and later in life was largely em- 
ployed in the management of trust estates. He had 
an instinctive knowledge how to apply legal princi- 
ples, and a knowledge, too, of human nature. He 
had an excellent memory, and knew what had been 
decided in the New Hampshire courts and in those 
of the New England states generally : but he is not 
to be termed a learned lawyer. He favored the ex- 
tension of equity practice in New Hampshire, and 
he lived long enough to see some of his views in 
this regard adopted. In 185Q he declined a seat upon 
the bench of the Supreme Judicial Court." 

As counsel for one of the banks in the town he 
became much interested in the subject of banking, 
and bavins '■' bent of mind for financial affairs he 
attained great success as a banker. As soon as he 
gained the means he boughl bank stocks, and as 
early as [827 was a director of the Piscataqua liank, 
and so continued as lone; as it existed. In 1845 the 
Piscataqua Exchange Bank was organized, and he 
became president and held that office until 1863. In 
that year, bj reque 1 of his personal friend, Salmon 
P. 'Chase, then secretarj of the treasury of the 



United States, he organized the First National Bank 
of Portsmouth — the firist in the country, it is 
•claimed — and into this the old Piscataqua Exchange 
.Bank was merged, and he became its president and 
held that position till his death. He was also presi- 
dent of the Piscataqua Savings Bank, and a trustee 
of the Portsmouth Saving Bank. 

When Mr. Hackett attained his majority he gave 
his adherence to the Whig party, whose principles 
he had embraced years earlier. With this party he 
acted until the Republican party was founded, and 
then he became a member of that organization, and 
was one of its staunch supporters from the time he 
joined it until he passed away. Until 1850 the 
Democrats were the political rulers of Portsmouth, 
and he had no opportunity for election to a political 
office, but from that time forward he was a prominent 
figure in local politics and a power in shaping the 
policy of his party there. In 1824-25 he had been 
assistant clerk of the senate; in 1828 he was clerk of 
the senate ; in 1850 he was elected representative, and 
was re-elected in 1851-52-57-60-67-68-69. He was sen- 
ator in 1861-62, and president of the senate the latter 
year ; presidential elector in 1864, and member of the 
constitutional convention in 1876. When he first en- 
tered public life he was fitly assigned to the com- 
mittee on railroads, of which he afterwards rose to 
be chairman. Later he served in two legislatures as 
chairman of the judiciary, which practically gave 
him the leadership of the house. In the various 
public positions he was constantly called to fill he 
showed himself abundantly capable for the discharge 
of all their duties. "He was an admirable presiding 
officer, so rare a gift, that for -a whole generation 
he was gladly sought, upon all occasions of greater 
or less importance" ; and the duties of presiding of- 
ficer of the senate were discharged by him in such 
a courteous, fair, and impartial manner, as to add 
much to his already enviable reputation for services 
of that character. 

Mr. Hackett was a man of sound and sagacious 
business views, and he did not hesitate to identify 
himself with every well-conceived project of a public 
character that gave reasonable assurance of future 
advantage to the citizens of Portsmouth. He had 
much to do with the opening of railroad communi- 
cation with Boston in 1841, and thereafter was for 
a long series of years a director of the Eastern 
railroad in New Hampshire, as well as the legal 
counsel of that corporation. With some modifica- 
tion the same may be said of his relations to the 
Portland, Saco & Portsmouth railroad. He forsaw 
the importance of building a line of railroad from 
the seaboard to the White Mountain region, was 
one of the projectors of the Portsmouth, Great 
Falls & Conway Railroad, and a corporator men- 
tioned in the charter which he was instrumental in 
obtaining. He was a director, and subsequently 
president of this railroad. Mention need not be 
made here of several other corporations with which 
he was connected, further than to specify a few, not, 
however, of a business character. At his decease he 
held the office of president of the South Parish Sun- 
day School Association, and was trustee as well as 
treasurer of the Rice Public Library of Kittery, Maine. 
In church affiliations, as in all other matters, he was 
found where the dictates of reason rather than 
emotion placed him. He was a member of the 
Church of the South (Unitarian) Parish from 1826, 
and occupied the same pew for over fifty years. 
From 1820 to the time of Ins decease he was a 111cm- 
1 ■ 1 of the Port mouth Atheneum which has a library 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



*8i 



of many thousand volumes, unrivalled it is believed 
in quality by any general library of similar extent 
in the United States. Within the walls of the 
Atheneum he found the most constant and congenial 
employment of the leisure moments of his life. 
When a law student Mr. Hackett began writing for 
the pros, and for intervals for more than fifty years 
In- readj pen. sometimes for weeks in succession, 
enriched the columns of The Portsmouth Journal 
with thoughtful and timely articles that appeared as 
leading editorials, and this, too, when the field had 
not yet come to be occupied everywhere by the over- 
shadowing presence of the metropolitan newspaper. 
In 1847, at the request of the family of Andrew 
Halliburton, of Portsmouth, he prepared a memoir to 
acci mpany a collection, privately printed, of that 
gentleman's essays. He also wrote a valuable bio- 
graphical sketch of Charles W. Brewster, the author 
of "Rambles About Portsmouth." He gave much 
attention to historical and antiquarian subjects, and 
was long a member of the State Historical Society, 
and five years its president. In recognition of his 
attainments at the bar and his literary tastes, Dart- 
mouth College, in 1858, conferred upon him the de- 
gree of Master of Arts. He was one of Ports- 
mouth's most respectable and respected citizens, whose 
life is worthy of the study of young men who are 
now coming upon the stage of active life. He bore 
well his part in all educational, charitable, and re- 
ligious affairs, and left behind the record of a long 
life well spent. He was married, December 21, 1826, 
by Rev. Dr. Parker, of the South Parish, to Olive 
Pickering, who was born in Portsmouth, daughter 
of Joseph Warren and Hannah (Nutter) Pickering, 
and a descendant of John Pickering, who settled in 
Portsmouth in 1636. The young couple at once be- 
gan housekeeping in a dwelling on Congress street, 
where they continued to live the remainder of their 
lives, and celebrated their golden wedding a half 
century later. Four children were born to them : 
William Henry, see forward: Mary Anna (Mrs. 
Robert C. Pierce); Frank W., attorney of Wash- 
ington, D. C. retired paymaster of the United States 
navy; Ellen L. (Mrs. Captain E. M. Stoddard). 

"(VII) William Henry, son of William Henry 
Young and Olive (Pickering) Hackett, was born in 
Portsmouth, New Hampshire. September 13, 1827, 
and died there September 24. 1S91. He was educated 
in the schools of his native city, and for a short time 
pursued a commercial career in Boston. He then 
returned to Portsmouth and studied law in the office 
of his father, and after being admitted to the bar of 
New Hampshire continued the practice of law in- 
dustriously for the remainder of his life. While no 
partnership arrangement existed- between himself 
and his father, they occupied the same offices and 
practiced more or less in connection with each 
other. But gradually the class of work pursued by 
the son differed from that which engaged the atten- 
tion of the father, and for many years Colonel 
Hackett enjoyed a very large and lucrative office 
practice, including the care of trust estates and 
financial concerns. He obtained his military title as 
a member of the staff of Governor Straw, and was 
generally designated as "Colonel" Hackett to dis- 
tinguish him from other members of the family, al- 
though his estimate of the value of this title — and 
many others which came to him from time to time — 
was simply that of a spirit of tolerance and not one 
of undue exaggeration of the importance of the com- 
pliment. In early life he was judge advocate, with 
the rank of major, in the state militia; so that a 
military title seemed to be at his disposal most of 



his time. He had strong literary tastes and was a 
great reader. Pie possessed a large library of 
standard works, with which he was perfectly fami- 
liar. He was a ready and prolific writer, and for 
many years contributed to the press and magazine 
literature. He was editor of one or another of the 
local papers for several years, and was one of the 
proprietors of the Portsmouth Chronicle and Gazette 
for a series of years, during which time he wrote al- 
most constantly for these publications. One of his 
associate editors, speaking of him about the time of 
his death, states that, — "As a compendium of literary 
information, a cyclopedia of valuable fact, a diction- 
ary, a library, he was almost unequaled. The com- 
monest topic was made interesting at his hands by 
his fund of classic and historic parallel, and it was 
his command of the best fact and fiction which made 
him pre-eminent at the sodial board." As a journal- 
ist Colonel Hackett had a terse, pointed habit, illus- 
trating by apt reference or quotation, and emphasiz- 
ing his arguments by pertinent and unforgettable 
parallels. A strong vein of humor was noticeable in 
his speech and writing. 

He had a genius for sympathy, and no appeal 
was made to his humanity in vain. Instances by the 
hundred may be had wherein his kind-hearted spon- 
taneous charity was administered by that grace 
which makes the left hand a stranger to its fellow. 
In political life he was a Republican, and was prom- 
inent in party councils. He served the city as an 
alderman, was a member of the state legislature 
several times, and of the 'constitutional convention. 
He was for many years clerk of the United States 
circuit court for the district of New Hampshire, and 
United States commissioner. He was an interested 
and influential member of the New Hampshire His- 
torical Society, and was a member of the various 
law and press associations throughout the state. He 
was a member of the Unitarian Church, and in that 
organization was a prominent figure and leader. 

Mr. Hackett married Mary W. Healey, daughter 
of Wells and Elizabeth (Pickering) Healey. Three 
children were born to them : Mary Gertrude, who 
died in 1887; Wallace (see forward); Bessie Belle, 
wife of William H. Everett, of the United States 
navy. Mrs. Hackett died September 13, 1902. 

(VIII) Wallace, only son of William Henry 
and Mary W. (Healey) Hackett, was born at Ports- 
mouth, New Hampshire, May I, 1856. His early 
education was received in the public schools and at 
a private school in West Newton. Massachusetts. 
He read law in the office of his grandfather. Will- 
iam H. Y. Hackett, and entered Harvard Law 
School, graduating therefrom with the class of 1879. 
The same year he was admitted to the New Hamp- 
shire bar. He opened an office in Portsmouth, New 
Hampshire, and for eight years thereafter devoted 
his attention exclusively to the practice of law. He 
was city solicitor for three years, also counsel for 
the United States in the court of commissioners of 
"Alabama Claims." He subsequently became inter- 
ested in business affairs outside his profession, and 
for several years has been more of a business than a 
professional man. For a number of years in Ports- 
mouth there has been a recognized need of a change 
in the conduct of its municipal affairs. Two years 
ago Mr. Hackett was appointed chairman of a com- 
mittee of citizens to prepare a new charter, with the 
object of overcoming the lax business methods 
which had hitherto prevailed. The charter was suc- 
cessfully drawn, accepted by the citizens, and passed 
by the legislature. In December, 1906, Mr. Hackett 
was elected mayor under this charter and is now 



582 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



( 1907) serving in that capacity. Politically he is a 
Republican. He is a director in several banks and 
industrial institutions. He is a member of the 
Unitarian Church of Portsmouth, as were his father 
and grandfather before him. He is also a member 
of the New Hampshire Historical Society, and presi- 
dent of the Aldrich Memorial Association, recently 
organized, as well as of several minor clubs and 
social organizations. In 1883 Mr. Hackett married 
Abbie, daughter of Ezra H. and Abbie J. Winchester, 
of Portsmouth. They have one daughter, Marion 
Hackett. 



All the Meaders in New England in 
MEADER Colonial times were descended from 

one ancestor, John Meader. His de- 
scendants are now scattered far beyond the borders 
of New England, but it is not certain that all 
Meaders now in New England are descendants of 
this forbear. 

(I) John Meader, "the ancestor of all American 
Meaders," was born in England about 1630, and 
died at Oyster River, New Hampshire, after 1712. 
He came to America soon after 1650, probably, as 
he was at Dover in 1653. In 1656 he had land 
granted him in Dover, and he lived in that part of 
the town called "Oyster River." In 1661 and for 
many subsequent years he was taxed in Dover. 
1665, 5th month, 19th day, he with others present 
"Humble petition of Oyster River to Honored Gen- 
eral Court of Mass." The petition alludes to an 
agreement made in 165 1, 7, 14, by the town of 
Dover, that there should be two ministers — one at 
Dover Neck and the other at Oyster River. The 
petitioners complain that notwithstanding this they 
have no minister, and yet they are near fifty families, 
two hundred and twenty souls ; mustering over 
seventy soldiers. They therefore ask to be made a 
town by themselves, for the "provision for a minis- 
ter, standing at a stay, the old and young in families 
are too much neglected;" but if they could be -a 
town, numbers would increase soon, with an "able 
orthodox minister." In 16S4 he with others was 
dispossessed of lands by suits at law brought by 
Robert Tufton Mason, grandson of Captain John 
Mason, on the ground of Captain Mason's grant. 
Executions were levied, but officers could neither 
retain possession nor find purchasers; so the prop- 
erty soon reverted to the actual settlers, their oc- 
cupancy not being long disturbed. In 1685 John 
Meader with others signed a petition to the King 
against Governoi Cranfield [687,9,3,he was foreman 
of a jury at an inqeust held at Oyster River. In 1694 
his garrison house was destroyed by the Indians. 
His name is again of record in 171 1, when he testi- 
fies regarding some Adams property. He married, 
about 1653, Abigail Eollett, of whom nothing more 
is of record. They had children : John, Joseph, 
Elizabeth, Sarali and Nathaniel, next mentioned. 

(II) Nathaniel, third son and youngest child 
of John and Abigail (Follett) Meader, was born 
at Oyster River, 6, 14. 1671, and died 4. -'3, 1704, 
killed by the Indians. Hi- wife Eleanor died after 
1705. Their children were: Lydia, Daniel, Na- 
thaniel. Elizabeth and Eleanor. 

(III) Daniel, second child and eldest son of 
Nathaniel and Eleanor Meader, was horn at Oyster 
River. 3, 11, 1698. Seven at least of Daniel's sons 
settled in Rod: out 1750-60. They were B 
jamin. Nathaniel. Elijah, Jonathan, Joseph. Lemuel 
and Jedediah, the last three coming somewhat later 
than their brothers. 



(IV) Benjamin, son of Nathaniel Meader, was 
born at Oyster River, April 15, 1736, and died in 
Rochester, New Hampshire, April 20, 1827. He 
moved to Rochester between 1750 and 1760, and 
took up land in that part of the town known ever 
since as Meaderborough. He married Patience 

, born April 12, 1741, died March 22, 

1825. Their children were: Hannah, born May 
27. 1763; Mary, January 2, 1765; Tobias, May 1, 
1767; Micajah, August 29, 1769; Hanson, Septem- 
ber 26, 1772; Judith, January, 1776; Stephen (see 
later) ; Ephrahim. December 1, 1785. 

(V) Stephen, son of Benjamin Meader, was 
born in Rochester, December 19, 1782, and lived on 
a farm near Meaderborough Corner, which is still 
in possession of his descendants. He died March 
20, 1858, aged seventy-six. "He was a firm disciple 
of the Society of Friends, as nearly all the Meaders 
have been — a kindhearted, estimable man and neigh- 
bor, a worthy, influential citizen, and a true and 
staunch friend." He married Sarah Whitehouse 
(died June 29, 1858), and had: Tobias, Hanson, 
Jonathan, Levi, Asa, Mehitable and Benjamin. 

(VI) Levi, fourth son and child of Stephen 
and Sarah (Whitehouse) Meader, was born in Roch- 
ester, February 4, 1813, and died there September 

25, 1885. He was a farmer, and resided in his 
native town. "He was a genial-hearted man, full 
of a sly humor which bubbled over in spite of him- 
self. He enjoyed a joke or witticism keenly, and 
was quick with a rejoinder. Sturdily built, pos- 
sessed of an iron constitution and great physical 
strength, he liked nothing better than to lay aside 
for the time his Quaker coat and have a friendly 
wrestling bout with whomever had the temerity to 
'tackle' him, and seldom came off second. He took 
great interest in town affairs, and was an energetic 
and influential worker in politics. He was twice 
elected to the legislature on the Republican ticket." 
He married, December 24, 1837. Amanda East- 
man, who was born in Peacham, Vermont, March 

26, 1817, and died March 24. 1888. They had eight 
children : Stephen C, Valentine E., Charles H., 
Sarah F., George E., Julia E.. John E., and Walter 
S. (John E. and descendants are mentioned at 
length in this article.) 

(VII) Stephen Chase, eldest child of Levi and 
Amanda (Eastman) Meader, was horn in Rochester, 
December 14, 1840. He lived on a farm until he 
was fourteen years old, when he went with his 
father's family to Gonic village, where he obtained 
the greater part of his common school education. 
Between the terms of school he worked in the 
Gonic woolen mill. In 1S57 he entered the Friends 
School in Providence, Rhode Island, where he re- 
mained nearly four years. He was a diligent stu- 
dent, excelling in mathamctics and chemistry. He 
has always had a strong love for the latter, and 
if he had continued in this line would have made 
a reputation as a practical chemist. In i860 he 
completed his school life in Providence, returned to 
Gonic and entered tin- Gonic Manufacturing Co.'s 
mill in the employ of the late N. V. Whitehouse, 
working in various parts of the mill, but principally 
in the finishing and dyeing rooms. His natural 
ability and methodical habits made his progress easy 
and rapid, and he passed from dyer to finisher, 
superintendent, ami finally to the position of agent. 
lie was appointed to the last position in June, 1881, 
and has 1 \ < since retained it. 

IK- is a man of both breadth and depth in the 
affairs of life; quiet, firm, unobtrusive and consci- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



383 



entious; possessing a critical judgment, industrious 
and persevering. He is a typical Quaker of the 
present day, liberal to all religious denominations, 
and a generous contributor to the support of the 
village church, and a helper in all educational and 
moral purposes for the good of the community 
where he resides. In politics he is a Republican, 
and has thrice represented Rochester in the state 
legislature. He was a member of the constitutional 
convention in 1902, and for twelve years past has 
been a member of the council ; is a trustee of the 
Rochester Public Library of Rochester, and a di- 
rector of the Loan and Banking Company of Roch- 
ester. He is a member of the Humane Lodge, No. 
21, Free and Accepted Masons, and of Temple 
Royal Arch Chapter, No. 10. Mr. Meader married, 
in Farmington, New Hampshire, September 20, 
1870, Erhe Seavey, who was born in Farmington, 
July 28, 1S40, daughter of Calvin and Irena (Clark) 
Seavey. They have one child, Gertrude A., who 
was born June 18, 1875. and is a graduate of the 
Friends' School at Providence. 

(VH) John Eastman, fifth son and seventh 
child of Levi and Amanda (Eastman) Meader. was 
born in Rochester, August 29, 1850, and received 
his education in the public schools of Rochester, 
and at the Friends' School, Providence, Rhode 
Island. At eight years of age he began to be em- 
ployed during vacations in the woolen mills at Gonic. 
There he learned the carder's trade, and there he 
has always been employed except two years he spent 
on a farm for the purpose of improving his health, 
and one year he worked in the Cocheco Mill at 
Dover. After learning the carder's trade he learned 
finishing and dyeing and subsequently had charge 
of the dyeing department for some years. About 
1892 he was promoted on account of his general 
efficiency to the position of superintendent of the 
Gonic Mills, and has since performed the duties of 
that position in such a manner as to receive the 
unqualified approbation of his employers. In po- 
litical faith he is a Republican. His business quali- 
fications and practical ideas recommended him to 
his townsmen, and in 1888 he was elected to repre- 
sent Rochester in the legislature, and in 1897 he 
was returned a second time. He and his family are 
members of the Society of Friends. He is also a 
member of Humane Lodge, No. 21. Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Temple Royal Arch Chapter, No. 
20; Palestine Commandery, Knights Templar; and 
the Patrons of Husbandry, of Rochester. He mar- 
ried, June 16, 1876, Clara E. Varney, who was 
born in Rochester. August .30, 1855, daughter of 
John W. and Harriet H. (Foss) Varney. Four 
children have been born to them : John Levi, Harry 
Hanson, Walter and Julia. J. Levi, born September 
17. 1879. is assistant superintendent of the Gonic 
Mill. He married Lela Melvin, of Chicago, and 
has two children : Lois J. and Lola. 

Harry Hanson was born May I, 1S83. and is a 
traveling salesman. He married Grace McDuffee, 
daughter of J. Arthur and Caroline (Tilton) Mc- 
Duffee, of Rochester. Walter, born January 9. 1880, 
died February 15, 1901. Julia, born July, 1890, died 
in 1S92. 



This family descends from an ancestor, 
HENRY Scotch or Irish, who came in the great 
movement that brought very many in- 
dustrious pioneers to young America. Many of 
their descendants were distinguished in the Revolu- 
tionary War, and later in peace. 

(I) Hugh Henry, the first of this family to 



dwell in America, was a native of Coleraine, Ire- 
land, and coming to New England, was one of the 
first settlers in Coleraine, Massachusetts. He was 
the father of a family, one of whom was John. 

(II) John, son of Hugh Henry, seems to have 
lived in the same town as his father, and there 
reared a family. 

(III) William was the son of John Henry 
and 

(IV) William, Jr., was the third descendant 
from the settler. 

(V) Hugh, fourth in descent from the original 
Hugh, was the son of William Henry, Jr.. and re- 
sided at Ackworth, New Hampshire, most of his 
life. He was a merchant, and raised three chil- 
dren. 

(VI) Hugh Horatio, son of Hugh and Mary 
(Dodge) Henry, was born in Chester, Vermont. Oc- 
tober 18, 1S14, and died December 18, 1869. In 1833, 
at the age of nineteen years, he graduated from 
Dartmouth College. He succeeded to the landed 
estate of his father, to which he made substantial 
additions. He was nominaly a farmer, but his 
time and energies were chiefly expended on the 
solution of questions of finance, transportation and 
legislation. His residence was principally at Ches- 
ter, Vermont, but his business interests were scat- 
tered. He was prominent in public and political 
affairs in Vermont, was the original projector and 
principal promoter of the Vermont Valley railroad, 
to the presidency of which he was ejected in 1850, 
and at the time of his death was serving his nine- 
teenth term as its president, being the oldest rail- 
road president in point of service in the United 
States. He was a director in the National Bank 
of Bellows Falls and a trustee of the Bellows Falls 
Savings Institution for more than twenty years. 
He was a Democrat until the Free Soil party arose, 
followed the lines of thought of John P. Hale, and 
other leaders of that organization, and when the 
Republican party succeeded the Free Soilers he lent 
his support to the new party, being one of the origi- 
nal Republicans. He was a delegate in the Chi- 
cago convention in i860 which nominated Abraham 
Lincoln for president. From that time on he gave 
his unswerving loyalty and unflagging energy to the 
support of the Union and the Republican party. 
He was a representative in the Vermont legislature 
both as a Democrat and later as a Republican. He 
filled that office in 1839. 1841, 1843, i860, and 1862, 
and was state senator in 1864. At the time of his death 
in 1869 he held the office of United States marshal 
for the District of Vermont, to which he had been 
appointed three years before. He was a man of 
broad mind and most excellent executive ability, a 
steadfast friend and an agreeable companion, al- 
ways to the fore in thought and action, and always 
ready to abandon worn out traditions and ideas for 
those that fit the case and the hour. He married 
Sarah Henry, daughter of Samuel and Sarah 
(Cooley) Henry, born in Charlestown, New Hamp- 
shire, June, 1812. They were the parents of nine 
children : Mary H., " Martin D , Julia. Clara. 
Charles F., Austin H., William G., Patrick and 
Sarah E., of whom only two at this time (December, 
1905.) are living, viz.: Martin D. and William G., 
residents at Chester, Vermont. * 

(VII) Hugh, son of Hugh Horatio and Sarah 
(Henry) Henry, was born in Chester, Vermont, 
March 21, 1S38. and was educated in the public 
schools of his native town and in Chester and Deer- 
field academies. He studied law and was admitted 
to the bar in 1862, but practiced only a short time 



5§4 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



and then turned his back on law and the courts 
to take up arms in defense of the union. September 
15, 1S62, he enlisted as private in Company K, 
Sixteenth Vermont Regiment, and was promoted to 
lieutenant, and served as such with his command 
till the muster out of the regiment. August 20, 1863. 
Among the actions in which he participated was that 
of Gettysburg, July 3-4, 1863, which turned the 
tide of success in favor of the Union armies. 

Returning to Vermont he resumed the practice 
of his profession with an energy that brought him 
success. He had a natural taste for politics, and at 
an early age took a deep interest in the success 
of his party. In 1870 he was elected from Chester 
to the lower house of the legislature, where by 
successive re-elections he served until 1877, inclusive, 
and again in 1884. He was elected state senator 
1880 and served one term, his entire service as a 
lawmaker covering a period of fifteen years. In 
1884 he was appointed judge of probate for the 
Windsor District, and filled that position for nearly 
fourteen years, resigning it in 1898 to accept the 
appointment of United States pension agent, at 
Concord, New Hampshire, for the district includ- 
ing New Hampshire and Vermont. At the expira- 
tion of his term he was re-appointed by President 
Roosevelt, and has now (1905) almost completed 
his second four-year term. 

Mr. Henry is a member of Henry Post, No. 
27, Grand Army of the Republic, and in 1892 was 
elected department commander of the Department 
of Vermont, and served one year. At the time 
of the incorporation of the Vermont Soldiers' Home 
he was made one of the trustees, and has served 
as its president since 1887. He has been a director 
in the Vermont Vallev railroad since 1885, is a 
director in the National Bank of Bellows Falls, 
and has been trustee of Bellows Falls Savings In- 
stitution for twenty-five years. In 1866 he became 
a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, at Chester, and was subsequently noble grand 
of his lodge two terms. Later he was a member of 
Myrtle Lodge at Proctorsville, finally becoming a 
member of Chester Lodge, No. 39, at Chester, in- 
stituted in 1889. In 1867 he was made a Mason, 
joining Olive Branch Lodge, No. 34, at Chester, 
Vermont, where he is still a member. He is also 
a member of the Loyal Legion, the New Hampshire 
Historical Society, the Vermont Veteran Associa- 
tion of Boston, the Bennington Monument Histori- 
cal Society, of Bennington, Vermont, the Wono- 
lancet Club, and is an honorary member of the Vet- 
eran Firemen's Association of Concord, New Hamp- 
shire, lie is not a communicant of any church, but 
is a strong Unitarian and a constant attendant at the 
Second Congregation (Unitarian) Church of Con- 
cord. 

He married, at Chester, Vermont, May I, 1872, 
Alice A. Ordway, daughter of George W. and Ange- 
line (Cady) Ordway, born June 25, 1853. They have 
two children: Emma C, born May 4, 1878, now 
employed in the pension office; and Hugh Horatio, 
born June 13, 1884, who graduated from Yale Col- 
lege in 1905, and is now (1905) a student at law. 
Both were born at Chester, Vermont. 



Fhis is one of the most widely 
CARPENTER distributed names of the United 
States, as well as one of the old- 
est, and has been notable among the pioneers of 
New Hampshire and of many other states. It is 
traced to an early period in England, ami is con- 
spicuous in the annals of the American Revolu- 



tion, and also in civil life through many generations 
and representatives. It has carried with it New 
England standards and has given its sons to the 
public service in many commonwealths. 

(I) The first of the name of whom record is 
found was John Carpenter, born about 1303, who 
was a member of parliament in 1323. 

(II) Richard, son of John Carpenter, born 
about 1335, married Christina . He re- 
sided in London, was a "chaundeler," and pos- 
sessed of wealth for his day. 

(III) and (IV) The succeeding generations 
in this line were represented by John Carpenter, 
second and third, about whom no particulars can be 
learned. 

(V) William Carpenter, son of John (3), born 
about 1480, died 1520, was known as "William of 
Homme." 

(VI) and (VII) James and John (4) fill in 
the sixth and seventh generations. 

(VIII) William, son of John (4) Carpenter, had 
sons : James, Alexander, William and Richard. 

(IX) William (2), third son of William (1), 
was born in 1576, was a carpenter by trade and 
resided in London. He rented tenements and gar- 
dens in Houndsditch. Being a dissenter he was 
driven to Whirwell to escape persecution, and took 
the opportunity to join his sons in emigrating to 
America. He was not contented on this side, how- 
ever, and returned to England in the ship which 
brought him. 

(X) William (3), son of William (2) Car- 
penter, was born May 25, 1605, and came to America 
on the ship "Bevis," from Southampton. He was 
made a freeman in Weymouth, Massachusetts, in 
1640, and was representative to the general court 
from that town in 1641 and 1643. He filled the 
same position in Rehoboth in 1645, and died in that 
town, February 7, 1659. His wife, Abigail, passed 
away February 22, 1687. Three of their children 
were born in England, three in Weymouth and one 
in Rehoboth, namely: John, William, Joseph. Anna, 
Abiah and Abigail (twins), and Samuel. Mr. Car- 
penter was admitted as an inhabitant of Rehoboth, 
March 28, 1645, and was made freeman in the 
following June. He was town and proprietors' 
clerk from 1643 until his death, being one of the 
founders and proprietors, and the records show 
that he was a fine writer. He was a warm friend 
of Governor Bradford of the Plymouth Colony, 
whose wife was his relative, and was a man of 
affa'irs generally, possessed of much ability. His 
estate was inventoried at two hundred and fifty- 
four pounds and ten shillings. 

(XI) Joseph, third son and child of William 
(3) and Abigail Carpenter, was born about 1633 
in England, and was married May 25, 1655, to Mar- 
garet, daughter of John Sutton. He was buried 
May 6, 1675, near One-Hundred-Acre cove in Bar- 
rington, and his widow was buried in 1700, at the 
age of sixty-five years, in East Providence. He 
was one of the original members of Rev. Myles' 
Church, the first Baptist society in Massachusetts, 
in 1663, in Swansea. For his heresy he was fined 
live pounds and suspended from worship one month, 
but he seems to have kept up amicable business re- 
lations with hi- fellows, and also t" have held to 
his faith, facts which clearly indicate force of 
character and genuine worth. 

(XII) Benjamin, son of Joseph anil Margaret 
(Sutton) Carpenter, was born January 19. 1658, 
probably in Swansea, and married Renew Weeks, 
who was born in 1660, daughter of William and 




4^/t^ ^£ A y, 






NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



58= 



Elizabeth Weeks, of Dorchester. She died July 29, 1703, 
and he was married November 27, 1706, to Martha 
Toogood, who was living at the time of his death, 
May 22, 1727. His children, all baptized in Dor- 
chester, were: Benjamin. Jotham, Renew, Eliza- 
beth, Hannah, Jane, John, Submit, Job, Kesiah, 
Hezekiah and Edward. 

(XIII) John (s), third son and seventh child of 
Benjamin and Renew (Weeks) Carpenter, was born 
March 25. 1692, and resided in Swansea and Mans- 
field, and Stafford, Connecticut, dying in the latter 
town in 1766. He probably moved thither in his 
old age, to be near his son, mentioned at length in 
the following paragraph. He was married Septem- 
ber 12, 1717, to Sarah Thurston, who died October 
24, 1744, aged fifty-three years. He married (sec- 
ond ) Martha H , of Windham, Connecti- 
cut, and (third), March 19, 174S, widow Hannah 
Martin, of Warwick, Rhode Island. His children, 
all born in Swansea, were : Hannah, Harriet, Me- 
hetible, Huldah, Louis, Barnabas, John, Sarah, War- 
ren. Elizabeth and Eliphalet. 

(XIV) John (6), third son and seventh child 
of John (5) and Sarah (Thurston) Carpenter, was 
born January 4, 1728, in Swansea, Massachusetts, 
and was one of the original settlers of Stafford, 
Connecticut, in 1760, going there from New Lon- 
don. He was a minute-man of the Revolution, 
serving eighteen days in the Lexington Alarm, 
under Captain Freeborn, of Monson, Massachusetts, 
a town adjoining Stafford. He lived to be nearly 
eighty-nine years old, dying in Stafford, October 
3. 1816. He is supposed to have been married 
three times. The second wedding took place June 
5. 1755, to Mary Loomis, of Lebanon. Connecticut, 
who was born in the town of Scotland, that colony, 
a daughter of Josiah Loomis. She died July 24, 
1S01, and he married Judith Horton. September 16, 
1804. His children were: John, Oliver, a daugh- 
ter (name unknown), who married a Whittaker and 
resided in Vermont ; Sarah, Josiah, Joseph, Thurs- 
ton, Samuel, Mary (died at five and one-half years), 
Nathaniel, Irene and Mary. 

(XV) Josiah, third son and fifth child of John 
(6) and Mary (Loomis) Carpenter, was born in 
October, 1762, in Stafford, Connecticut, and became 
a minister of the Congregational Church. He gra- 
duated at Dartmouth College, with first honors of 
his class, in 1787, and was ordained in charge of 
the church at Chichester, New Hampshire, Novem- 
ber 2, 1791. He was pastor there nearly thirty-six 
years, being dismissed at his request July 24, 1827. 
This long connection testifies to his worth, and his 
piety, faithfulness and ability need fio other testi- 
monial. He passed away in Chichester March 1, 
185 1, at the age of eighty-eight years and four 
months, and his departure was widely mourned. 
While a mere boy he enlisted in the Revolutionary 
service, and was sentinel on Roxbury Neck, with 
two of his brothers, when one of the others (Oliver) 
was killed. He was married April 13, 1790. to Han- 
nah Morril, of Canterbury, New Hampshire, a 
daughter of David Morril. of Salisbury, Massachu- 
setts, and descendant of Abraham Morril, who came 
from England in 1632 on the ship "Lyon." She 
died February 21, 1847, aged eighty years and two 
months. Their children were : Nancy, David M., 
Hannah, Oliver, John. Thurston and Clarissa. 

(XVI) David Morril, eldest son and second 
child of Rev. Josiah and Hannah (Morril) Car- 
penter, was born November 16, 1793, in Chichester, 
and died December 9, 1873, in Concord. He was an 
active man of affairs, and engaged in mercantile 



business at Chichester, later purchasing a large farm 
which he tilled industriously and successfully. He 
was a trustee of the Merrimack County Savings 
Bank and a director of the Mechanics' National 
Bank, and rarely failed to attend the weekly meet- 
ings of the directors. His worth was recognized 
by his fellow citizens, and he was called upon to 
serve as representative in the state legislature, and 
was county treasurer from 1837 to 1849. He served 
as town clerk for the seven years from 1820 to 
1826, inclusive, and again from 1829 to 1831. He 
was selectman in 1835-36 and 1842-43-44, and was 
subsequently county commissioner. While yet a minor 
he served as a soldier in the War of 1812. As a 
man and citizen he exercised a wide and worthy 
influence. 

He was married January 13, 181S, to Mary 
Perkins of Loudon, New Hampshire, formerly of 
Wells, Maine. She died November 4, 1866, at the 
age of sixty-eight years. Her father, Jonathan 
Chesley Perkins, settled in Loudon in 1788, and 
cleared up a farm and became a leading citizen. 
Their children are noted as follows : Charles 
Hodgdon is the subject of the succeeding para- 
graph. Mary Jane, died at the age of four years. 
Mary Jane (2), died when eighteen years old. Jo- 
siah is a resident of Manchester, this state. Clara 
A. became the wife of Samuel C. Merrill, of Man- 
chester, and resides in Patterson, New Jersey. 
Sarah L. married James W. Webster, of Concord, 
a noted educator, and resided in Boston and Mai- 
den, Massachusetts. Frank P. is mentioned at length 
in this article. 

(XVII) Charles Hodgdon, eldest child of David 
Morril and Mary (Perkins) Carpenter, was born 
in Chichester, December 18, 1818. When he was ten 
years old his parents removed to a farm at Chichester 
Centre, and there he attained his majority. He 
received a good practical education, attending the 
schools when in session, and working on the farm 
the remainder of the year, until his education fitted 
him for teaching, when he became an instructor 
of youth and taught school several winters. At an 
early age he showed a military spirit, and at nine- 
teen was commissioned lieutenant of militia, and 
subsequently promoted to a captaincy in the Thirty- 
eighth Regiment. Through his influence his com- 
pany was supplied with uniforms, which the other 
companies did not have, and thus Captain Car- 
penter's company became the pride of the regiment. 
Soon after he was twenty-one Mr. Carpenter went 
to live with his maternal uncle, Jacob Perkins, 
who resided on a large farm upon which Mr. Car- 
penter has ever since lived. In connection with 
his large agricultural business Mr. Perkins for many 
years dealt extensively in cattle, which he bought 
in northern New Hampshire and Vermont, and 
drove, before the days of railroads in the upper 
country, through the valleys of the romantic moun- 
tain region, down Bakers river and the Pemige- 
wasset and Merrimack to market at Brighton, Mas- 
sachusetts. Mr. Carpenter, an active and vigorous 
young man, enjoyed these trips, many of which he 
made. 

The Pittsfield Bank was formed in 1851, and Mr. 
Carpenter was chosen cashier, and acceptably filled 
that place for the ensuing five years. Mr. Perkins' 
health failing at that time, Mr. Carpenter was 
obliged to relinquish his position in the bank, and 
devote a larger share of his time to the duties at 
his home in Chichester. Although removed from 
the actual transaction of the business of the bank 
by this change, Mr. Carpenter has always maintained 



586 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



a connection with it either as cashier, director or 
president, having held the latter office from 1870. 
He has also been president of the Merchants' 
National Bank of Dover, New Hampshire, since 
its inauguration. His farming has been of 
a character and scope to excite more than 
ordinary attention. His farm in the valley 
of the Suncook is a model of its kind. The 
homestead farm consists of seven hundred acres 
in one body, with over one thousand acres of wood- 
land and pasture outlying. He cuts one hundred 
and fifty tons of hay and winters one hundred head 
of choice cattle. For more than forty years his 
favorite breed of stock has been a cross between the 
Devon and the Durham, which he has bred prin- 
cipally for beef, and which has brought good prices. 
His farm buildings are models in their way, being 
among the finest in the state. His handsome and 
commodious residence commands a fine view of the 
surrounding country, embracing the valley of the 
Suncook and the panorama of encircling hills. In 
addition to farming, Mr. Carpenter has been largely 
engaged in trading in live stock, and has handled 
large amounts of lumber, buying on the stump and 
manufacturing and handling much timber each year. 
He has extensive interests in Pittsfield, where he 
has invested considerably in real estate. He was 
actively interested in starting the Pittsfield Aque- 
duct Company, and holds much of its stock, and is 
part owner of the new Opera House block. He was 
one of the promoters of the Farmers' Savings Bank 
of Pittsfield, chartered in 1S83, and is one of its 
trustees. He was one of the projectors of the Sun- 
cook Valley railroad, contributed a share to de- 
fray the expense of the first survey of its route, 
and was actively interested in locating and build- 
ing it, contributing five hundred dollars towards its 
completion. He has served on its board of directors 
since its organization, where his judgment and busi- 
ness experience have proved of value to the cor- 
poration. 

Mr. Carpenter's wealth and success in the man- 
agement of his affairs have recommended him to 
his fellow citizens as a very proper agent for the 
transaction of public business. For well on to two 
score years he was placed in responsible positions 
in the interests of the town. He was a member 
of the legislature from Chichester in 1855-56, and 
acquitted himself with credit. He is a Democrat 
with the interests of his country always uppermost 
in his mind, and in the period of the war of the 
Rebellion he was a war Democrat of an ardent 
type. During nearly all those years he served as 
chairman of the board of selectmen, stood at the 
helm in providing the town's quota of troops, meet- 
ing the extraordinary burdens which the war pro- 
duced, receiving and disbursing all the town's 
money, and acquitting himself with credit in the 
discharge of all his duties. 

Mr. Carpenter is an active member of the Con- 
gregational Society. He appreciates fully the value 
of religious and educational institutions and philan- 
thropic works, and contributes to the support of 
them. The Carpenter family lias been prominent 
in the political, social and business circles of Chi- 
chester and Merrimack county for three genera- 
tions, and no member has been more active and 
successful than Charles ][.. whose sound judgment, 
good common sense and foresight have enabled him 
to make his life a success, and to assist others in 
the accomplishment of the same end. Though now 
(1906) eighty-eight years old, Mr. Carpenter is in 



the enjoyment of a green old age, still an alert 
business man as active as many a man many years 
his junior, and still makes journeys to Boston to 
sell his stock and attend to other business affairs. 
He married, October 2S, 1841. Joanna Maxfield, an 
adopted daughter of his uncle. She died July 5, 
1882. She was noted for her generosity and hos- 
pitality, was an exemplary wife and efficient help 
and adviser to her husband, and a tender and lov- 
ing mother to her children. The children born of 
this marriage were five : John T., Mary J., Electa 
A., Sally P. and Clara A. 

John T., the eldest, was educated at Pittsfield 
Academy and at Colby Academy at New London. 
He has since lived on a farm in his native town. 
He has two children, Albert Perkins, now a resi- 
dent of Boston, and Stella M., wife ot Arthur War- 
ren, of Pittsfield. Mary J., the second, was edu- 
cated at Pittsfield Academy and at Dora Merrill's 
Select School in Concord. She engaged in teaching 
and was one of the most popular teachers of her 
native town. After her mother's death she assumed 
charge of her father's household and has gracefully 
entertained his many friends and carried forward 
the duties laid down by her mother. Electa A. be- 
came the wife of John Abbott Goss, whom she 
survived and succeeded as cashier of the Pittsfield 
Bank and is now filling that position. Sally Per- 
kins was educated at Pittsfield Academy and Abbott 
Female Seminary at Andover, Massachusetts, from 
which she graduated. She was an assistant in Pem- 
broke Academy and in Pittsfield Academy and at 
one time was a teacher in the high school at Am- 
herst, New Hampshire. She is a member of the 
Colonial Dames, and with her sister has traveled 
much in Europe and the North American Continent. 
Clara A. is the wife of Nathaniel M. Batchelder, 
and resides in Pittsfield. 

(XVII) Frank Pierce, son of David Morril 
and Mary (Perkins) Carpenter, was born in the 
town of Chichester, New Hampshire, October 28, 
1845. He attended the district school, assisted his 
father on the Epsom farm, and laid the found 
of good health and rugged constitution among the 
Granite Hills of New Hampshire. Upon his father's 
removal to Concord, he pursued his studies al a 
grammar school, entered the high school of that city 
and graduated in 1863. He intended to enter col- 
lege, but in obedience to the earnest wish of his 
mother, then in poor health, he abandoned this 
plan and remained at home until he went to Man- 
chester, New Hampshire, in the spring of 
There he entered the employment of J. S. Kidder 
& Company, flour and grain merchants, with 
he remained five years. At the end of this time 
he formed a partnership with Frank J. Drake. They 
conducted a wholesale flour and grain business until 
1885, when Mr. Carpenter bought the Am 
Paper Mill, with which he has been connect' 
since. Under his management it has proved 
successful enterprise. Mr. Carpenter, while giving 
careful attention to his own business, devotes much 
her ci 'i p 'i it" ns. He is 
and ha ' ince its beginning a director of the 

Second National Bank of Manchester, a director 
of the New Hampshire Fire Insurance Company 
and a member of its finance committee, president of 
the Columbia (South Carolina") Water Powei 
panv. vice-president and director of the Burgess 
Sulphite Fibre Company of Berlin. New Hamp 
He is a director in the following corpii 
Amoskeag Manufacturing Company, Concord and 




-t7/?z^ 




7/42^2- 



€*£. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



587 



Montreal railroad, Consolidated Cotton Duck Cor- 
poration and Hanover Fire Insurance Company of 
New York. 

At the decease of Hon. Aretas Blood, late of 
Manchester, who died intestate November 24, 1897, 
the care, management and disposition of his estate 
devolved upon Mr. Carpenter and Dr. L. Melville 
French, both sons-in-law of the deceased. To this 
settlement, exceedingly difficult because of the 
variety and widely separated location of business 
interests, Mr. Carpenter gave unwearied effort and 
devoted attention. The result fully justifies the 
opinion universally formed that no one could have 
exercised better judgment, business sagacity or more 
tactful and successful administration than did Mr. 
Carpenter. He is a regular attendant at the Frank- 
lin Street Congregational Church, and is president 
of its Society. Mr. Carpenter has never aspired 
to political preferment. Acting with the Democratic 
party he accepted in 1894 an appointment as one of 
the board of police commissioners, and this duty 
he discharged with considerate and faithful atten- 
tion. He is interested in good government and 
progress, and is ever ready to promote the welfare 
of his home town. 

On the twelfth of September. 1872, Mr. Carpenter 
was united in marriage with Elenora R. Blood, 
daughter of the late Aretas Blood. Mr. and Mrs. 
Carpenter have a son and a daughter, Aretas Blood 
and Mary Elizabeth. Aretas B. married Alice Burn- 
ham, daughter of United States Senator Henry E. 
Burnham, of Manchester, and is treasurer of the 
Amoskeag Paper Mill. Mr. and Mrs. Aretas B. 
Carpenter have two daughters, Elizabeth and Ele- 
nora. Mary Elizabeth is the wife of Charles Bart- 
lett Manning, of Manchester. 

(Second Family.) 
This line in Manchester is not 
CARPENTER connected by any known records 
with others of the name or Car- 
penter in New Hampshire. 

Nicholas Carpenter was born January 30, 1794, 
in Marseilles, France. Nothing is known of his 
parents, but it is probable that his father was Eng- 
lish or of English stock. The name has always 
been spelled in its present form, as far as known, 
which would indicate that it is not of French origin. 
At an early age Nicholas Carpenter was placed with 
a brother in the bakery on a man-of-war, to learn 
the trade. The brother was drowned, and Nicholas 
left the ship on its arrival in the harbor of Quebec, 
making his way at once into the rural district on 
the southern border of the Province of Quebec. He 
was employed by farmers in Stanstead, and later 
in Derby, Vermont, and continued in that occupa- 
tion all of his active life. For a period of twenty- 
two years he had charge of the large farms of Hon. 
Pontus Baxter of Derby, who was a member of 
Congress at the time of his death. Mr. Carpenter 
purchased land and became a large landowner in 
Troy and Westmore, Vermont. He lived in the lat- 
ter town January 5, 1878, near the close of his 
eighty-fourth year. He was an extensive raiser of 
all kinds of farm stock, a successful farmer, and 
reared a large family. The maple trees which he 
set out are a monument to his forethought and 
kindness of heart. His wife, Hannah Libby, daugh- 
ter of Joshua and Hannah 'Grant) Libbey, was 
of English descent. She died at the age of ninety- 
one years. She was a member of the Advent 
Church which her husband supported. Mr. Car- 



penter was a Whig and one of the first to give 
support to the Republican party. He served as 
highway commissioner and a member of the school 
board, and did all in his power to advance the wel- 
fare of the community in which he lived. His 
nine sons and nine daughters included two pairs 
of twins, one pair of whom died unnamed. 
1. Joshua, the eldest, was a resident of Hatley, 
Province of Quebec, where he died. 2. Isaac was 
a resident of Derby, and died in Boston from an 
operation for cancer. 3. Sarah married (first) 
John Gates, (second) Thomas Henry, and resides 
in South Hadley, Massachusetts. 4. Julia is the 
widow of Peter Rash and lives in Barton, Vermont. 
5. Charles is a resident of Fairhaven, Massachu- 
setts. 6 and 7. John and James were twins ; the 
former died in Lowell, Massachusetts, and the latter 
in Woonsocket, Rhode Island. 8. Louis lives at 
Concord, Vermont. 9. Edward L., see forward. 
10 and 11. Harriet and Lucy died unmarried. 
12. Maria Jeanette became the wife of James Mat- 
thews, and died in Westmore. 13. Jedediah died 
of illness contracted while a soldier in the Civil war. 
14. Leslie M. is a resident of Smithfield, Rhode 
Island. 15 and 16. Jane and a boy, unnamed, died 
in infancy. 

Edward Lathrop Carpenter, seventh son and ninth 
child of Nicholas and Hannah (Libby) Carpenter, 
was born December 24, 1838. in the town of Holland, 
adjoining Derby, where his parents then resided, 
and attended the public schools of Derby Line until 
he was sixteen years of age. He assisted his father 
in the labors of the farm until 1858, when he went 
to Lowell and found employment in a cotton mill, 
becoming familiar with the operation of spinning 
in all its details. Upon the outbreak of the civil 
war he returned to his native place and endeavored 
to enlist in a company recruited in Derby, but it was 
full before his arrival. The following summer was 
spent in Canada, where he drove a peddler's wagon 
through the country. On December 22, 1861, he 
enlisted in Company B, Eighth Vermont Volunteer 
Infantry, and was mustered into the United States 
service in the following February. Proceeding to 
New Orleans, this regiment became a part of the 
force under General Benjamin F. Butler and saw 
much severe service along the lower Mississippi. 
Mr. Carpenter participated in almost continuous 
fighting for several months, and was severely 
wounded at the battle of Port Hudson. He was 
discharged at Brattleboro in the spring of 1803. and 
was ill during the succeeding summer, as a result of 
malarial surroundings in Louisiana. In the spring 
of 1864 Mr. Carpenter came to Manchester and 
secured a situation with the Stark Corporation and 
was in charge of a weaving room fifteen years. De- 
siring to engage in farming, he went to West- 
more and purchased land, which he tilled four years. 
Because of his wife's ill health he sold out and re- 
turned to Manchester and again entered the mills, 
continuing until the fall of 1903. He then settled 
upon land which he had purchased in 1887. in the 
town of Manchester, and is engaged in farming. In 
January, 1905, his house was burned, and he im- 
mediately rebuilt a handsome and pleasant country 
home. He is now enjoying in quiet contentment 
the fruits of many years of industrious applica- 
tion, and is respected by his contemporaries. He is 
a member of the Grand Army of the Republic, and 
has been many years a member of Mechanics Lodge, 
No. 13, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of Man- 
chester. He is a Universalist in religious faith, 



5 SS 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



and his wife is a member of the First Congrega- 
tional Church of Manchester, where he usually at- 
tends divine worship. Mr. Carpenter is a Republi- 
can, and served as selectman from Ward one of 
Manchester, while a resident of the city. 

He married, July I, 1865. Laura E. Ashland, 
who was born in Champlain, New York, a daughter 
of Francis and Adeline (Baker) Ashland, natives 
of Xew York. Francis Baker was a son of Francis 
Baker, who was born in Albany, New York, of 
Huguenot ancestors who settled in Connecticut. 

Irving Lloyd Carpenter, only child of Edward 
L. and Laura E. (Ashland) Carpenter, was born 
April 6, 1S66, in Manchester, where nearly all his 
life has been passed. His primary education was 
supplied by the public schools of his native city, 
and he was graduated from the medical department 
of Harvard University in 1890. Dr. Carpenter be- 
gan his practice in Sioux City, Iowa, where he re- 
mained two years. Yielding to the persuasions of 
his parents, he returned to Manchester, and has 
since continued in active practice here, building up 
a lucrative and successful line of work. He has 
a large family practice in medicine and surgery, 
and his friends are limited in number only by the 
extent of his acquaintance. Of genial nature and 
cordial manner, his presence in a sick room is worth 
as much to the patient, in many instances, as are 
his remedies. His standing in the profession is 
indicated by his admission to the Manchester Medi- 
cal Association, New Hampshire Medical Society 
and American Medical Association. These are the 
only societies in which he holds membership, but 
his heart finds room for all worthy movements. 
He is busy with the care of his patients, and has 
little time for social diversions, political or other 
strifes, but he supports his principles by sustaining 
the Republican party in national contests. Dr. Car- 
penter was married, January 15, 1893, to Mrs. Ann 
Winnifred Thayer, daughter of Robert and Anna 
(Bixby) Patterson. Mrs. Carpenter was born Sep- 
tember 21, 1866, in Boylston street, between Wash- 
ington and Tremont streets, Boston, a locality now 
occupied by business structures. 



The thoughtful person finds no cause 
TOWNE to wonder at the unparalleled growth 
of the American commonwealths when 
he takes into consideration the quality of the pio- 
neers of civilization who laid the foundations of 
the nation, and gives credit to the inherited charac- 
teristics that have distinguished the American peo- 
ple, and especially those of New England. The 
same elements that made the ancestors successful 
colonists, two centuries ago, are making their de- 
scendants successful in a hundred ways today. The 
Townes performed well their part in earlier days ; 
the sons and daughters of the old families are today 
worthy of their sires. 

(I) The earliest positive information we have 
of William Towne, the earliest ancestor of the 
present family of the name, is that March 25. [620, 
in the Church of St. Nicholas. Yarmouth, Nor- 
folk county, England, he married Joanna Blessing, 
and that their first six children were baptized there. 
We next hear of this family at Salem, Essex 
county, Massachusetts, where in the book of early 
grants we find the record of land granted to Wil- 
liam Towne. "11, 8mo., 1640." William Towne's 
residence was in that part of Salem known as the 
"Xnrthfields," and he remained at this place until 
1651, when he purchased land in Topsfield, whither 



he subsequently moved, and where he died about 
1672, and, from the final settlement of the estate 
by his widow, she seems to have survived him about 
ten years. "Taken away from the Evil to come" 
might have been the epitaph on their tombstones, 
in view of the terrible fate of their daughters some 
ten years later. The children of William and Jo- 
anna (Blessing) Towne, of Yarmouth, England, and 
Salem, Massachusetts, were: 1. Rebecca, baptized 
February 21, 1621 ; married Francis Nourse, of 
Salem. She was hanged as a witch at Salem, July 

19, 1692. Her husband survived her, dying at Salem, 
November 22, 1695, aged seventy-seven years. Their 
descendants have been numerous, and highly re- 
spected. 2. John, baptized February 16, 1624, died 
before his father. 3. Susanna, baptized October 

20, 1625, died before her father. 4. Edmund, bap- 
tized June 28, 1628. 5. Jacob, baptized March 
11, 1632. 6. Mary, baptized August 24, 1634; mar- 
ried Isaac Esty; she was also hung as a witch, two 
months and three days after her sister. 7. Sarah, 
baptized September 3, 1648; married (first) Janu- 
ary 11, 1660, Edmund Bridges, and (second) Peter 
Cloyes ; she narrowly escaped the fate of her sisters 
Rebecca and Mary. 8. Joseph, baptized September 
3, 1648. 

Rebecca (Towne) Nourse was taken to church 
in chains the Sabbath previous to her execution, 
and there publically excommunicated by her minis- 
ter. "But," says a writer of that day, "her life 
and conversation had been such that the remem- 
brance thereof in a short time wiped off all the 
reproach occasioned by the civil and ecclesiastical 
sentence against her," and in 1712 the church to 
which she belonged reversed its decision by blotting 
out the record of her excommunication. 

(II) Jacob (1), son of William and Joanna 
Towne, was baptized at Yarmouth, Norfolk county, 
England, March 11, 1632. He resided at Salem, 
Massachusetts, with his father about twelve years. 
He married, June 26, 1657, Catherine, daughter of 
John Symonds, of Salem ; made his will at Tops- 
field, November 24, 1704; and died the third day 
following, aged about seventy-three years. His will 
was proven January 1, 1705, his son John being 
executor. Their children were: I. John, born 
April 2. 1658; married Mary Smith. 2. Jacob, born 
February 13. 1660; married Phebe Smith. 3. Cath- 
erine, born February 25, 1662 ; married Elisha 
Perkins. 4. Deliverance, born August 5, 1664. 
5. Ruth, born August 5, 1664. Both Deliverance 
and Ruth married John Stiles. 6. Edmund, born 
July 21, 1666. 

(III) Jacob (2), son of Jacob (1) and Cather- 
ine (Symonds) Towne, was born at Topsfield, 
February 13, 1660. He was admitted to the church 
September 1, 1717, and died October 4, 1741, aged 
eighty-one years. He married Phebe, daughter of 
Robert Smith. June 24, 1683 or 1684. She was born 
August 26, 1661, and died January 14, 1740, aged 
seventy-nine years. Their children were: 1. Jo- 
shua, horn November 13. 1684. 2. John, February 
2, 1686. 3. Abigail. December 10, 1687. 4. Cath- 
erine, January 2, 1690. 5. Jacob. 1693. 6. Gideon, 
February 4. 1696. 7. Ruth, March 25, 1698. 8. Ste- 
phen. November 2, 1700. 9. Jabez, June 15, 1704. 
in. Elisha, October 25. 1706. 

(IV) Jabez (1), son of Jacob and Phebe 
(Smith) Towne, was born at Topsfield. June 15, 
1704. and died at Londonderry, New Hampshire, 
April 1. 1783, aged seventy-nine years. He married, 
March 30, 1730, Tryphenia Dwinnell, who died 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



589 



April 16, 1785. Their children were: I. Jabez, 
born March 4, 1732. 2. Mary, October 30, 1734. 
3. Rebecca, June 9, 1737. 4. Jacob, September 25, 
1738. 5. Elijah, September 11, 1740. 6. Abigail, 
December 7, 1743. 7- Ruth, October 22, 1746. 

8. Susannah, November 19, 1749. 

(V) Jabez (2), son of Jabez (1) and Try- 
phenia (Dwinnell) Towne, was born at Topsfield, 
March 4, 1734 (?), and died in 1758, "in ye war," 
the records say — probably while serving in the 
French and Indian war which was then waging. 
He married, May 23, 1754, Lydia Perkins, born 
March 17, 1737, died March 2, 1812. Their chil- 
dren were: 1. Lydia, baptized January 18, 1756, 
died June 27, 1759. 2. Moses, born September 6, 
1757. Lydia (Perkins) Towne married (second) 
John Chapman, April 22, 1760, who died December 
7, 1760, and (third) May 15, 1765, John Batch- 
elder, Jr. 

(VI) Moses, son of Jabez and Lydia (Perkins) 
Towne, was born September 6, 1757, and died Janu- 
ary 24, 1828. He married, February 29, 1784. Char- 
lotte Underwood, by whom he had ten children : 
1. Jabez, married (first) Mary Campbell; (second) 
Elizabeth Chase; (third) Jane Anderson. 2. James, 
married Elizabeth Anderson. 3. Lydia, married Jo- 
seph Bailey. 4. Mary, married Robert Boyd, 
5. John, married Eliza Anderson. 6. Moses Marsh, 
died at the age of nine. 7. Foster, married Nancy 
Cross. 8. Charlotte, married David Ambrose. 

9. Susannah, died aged two and a half years. 

10. Moody, married Harriet Stimson. 

(VII) Jabez (3), the eldest child of Moses 
and Charlotte (Underwood) Towne, was born De- 
cember 22, 1784, in Londonderry, where he spent 
his life as a farmer. In his youth the greater part 
of New Hampshire was a wilderness. The follow- 
ing story, which he told to a grandson in his old 
age, illustrates his earlv environment : 

One winter night, when about sixteen years old, 
he attended a party at the house of John Campbell, 
who lived about three miles away. There he met a 
young lady of about his own age, in whom he be- 
came very deeply and permanently interested. On 
his way home over an unfamiliar path through the 
woods, he saw an object ahead of him which he 
took to be a bear, and hastened back to get Camp- 
bell to kill it. Campbell and two or three others 
accompanied Jabez to the spot, where he pointed 
out the bear, still standing upright in the path. 
Campbell said it was only a high stump he had 
left in the clearing, and Jabez was laughed at for 
his mistake. One day soon .afterward he noticed 
near his father's house an unusually large bear 
track. Smarting under what he had been obliged 
to endure in the way of badinage over the affair 
at Campbell's, Jabez decided to follow the trail 
and get a bear, and thus silence sportive tongues. 
Accordingly, he informed his brother James, some 
two years younger, of what he had seen, and they 
took their father's trusty flintlock, put some brown 
bread in their pockets, and set out on the trail, 
expecting to overtake and kill the bear in a short 
time. They followed the trail through the snow all 
day and camped on it at night, at the foot of a 
big tree, where they built a fire. The next day 
they resumed their pursuit and before night came 
up with the bear, which they killed. Tired, hungry, 
and wet through with the sleet that was falling, they 
skinned their game, cooked some of the flesh, and 
ate the first food they had tasted that day. The 
chase had been a long one, and the bear had led 



them from Londonderry through Litchfield, Bed- 
ford, Goffstown and Weare, and into Henniker, a 
distance of thirty-five or forty miles. Making a 
■ drag from the limbs of a tree they put the skin and 
a hindquarter of the bear on it and started with 
their load for home. That night they had no means 
of making a fire, and rolling themselves 111 the 
bearskin made the best they could of a night in the 
forest, cold, wet and cheerless. But once asleep, they 
slept as only tired boys could. The third day they 
started again, but lightened their burden, throwing 
away the meat. After traveling all day they reached 
a house in Bedford, where one of the good mothers 
of that day warmed and fed them, and uave them 
hot water' to bathe their bruised and blistered feet, 
and a bed to sleep on. -The next morning Jabez 
cut the claws from the bearskin and presented it 
to the- woman who had treated them so kindly. Re- 
suming their journey, they reached home" very 
weary and footsore, but Jabez had established his 
reputation as a hunter of bear. He subsequently 
wooed and won the young woman he met at the 
party at Campbell's, and presented her with the 
bear's claws as a souvenir. 

Jabez Towne cast his first vote for Thomas 
Jefferson, and voted at every presidential election 
from that time until his death, December 20. 1879. 
In his later years he was a Republican. He en- 
joyed remarkably good health up to the time of his 
death. Two days before that event he was chopping 
wood and stopped to talk to a neighbor. He took 
a chill, and died of bronchitis two days later. He 
married, first, April 10, 1813, Mary Campbell. They 
had seven children: Sarah, born June 18, 1814; 
Susannah, January 1, 1816; Betsy C, June 2, 1817; 
Otis, April 12, 1819; Daniel, January 14, 1822; Silas 
T., June 29, 1824; Mary C, June 21, 1826. Mary 
(Campbell) Towne died, and he married, March 3, 
1829, Phebe Elizabeth Chase, and they had: Lizzie 
C, born May 9, 1830; Jabez C, December 21, 1832; 
and John C, October 15, 1836. Phebe Elizabeth 
(Chase) Towne died, and Mr. Towne married 
(third), April 28, 1839, Jane Anderson. 

(VIII) Daniel Dana, son of Jabez (3) and Mary 
(Campbell) Towne, was born in Londonderry, Jan- 
uary 14, 1822, and died October, 1883. He spent his 
youth on the farm occupied by his ancestors since 
1654. He was educated in the common schools and 
when a young man went to Manchester and secured 
employment in the mills. For thirty-three years he 
has been an overseer in the Amoskeag Mills, having 
charge of the A. C. A. weaving department. In 
politics he is a Republican, and was a member of 
the New Hampshire legislature during the time 
Governor Straw filled the gubernational office. He 
married April, 1853, Betsy Bean Robinson, born 
September 20, 1827, died July, 1890. They had two 
children: George Dana, born January 12, 1854. and 
Mary Frances born November 24, 1858, died 1883, 
aged twenty-four years. 

(IX) George Dana Towne, M. D., was born in 
Manchester, January 12, 1854, son of Daniel D. and 
Betsy Bean (Robinson) Towne. He was educated 
in the common schools and high school of his 
native city until 1871, when he matriculated at Dart- 
mouth College, from which he graduated in 1875 
with the degree of Bachelor of Science. During 
three years_ of his time not otherwise employed lie 
read medicine in the office of Dr. George E. Hersey, 
a leading surgeon of Manchester. In 1876 he en 
tered the University City of New York, medical 
department, from which he took the degree of Doc- 



590 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



tor of Medicine in 1878. Returning to Manchester 
he became a partner with his former preceptor, Dr. 
Hersey, who died eight days later. The young phy- 
sician found himself at once in the enjoyment of 
a good practice, which has since continued to in- 
crease, and he is now reckoned one of the leading 
physicians in the state of New Hampshire. He is 
a member of the New Hampshire Medical Society, 
the Centre District Medical Society, the Hillsboro 
County Medical Society, the Surgical Club of New 
Hamp ? hire, the Medico-Legal Society of New 
York, and the New York Alumni Association of 
Massachusetts. He has held the- office of president 
of the Surgical Club, and of the Centre District 
Medical Society. In politics he is a Republican. 
He was a member of the school board of the city 
of Manchester for a period of twenty-five years 
closing in January, 1905. He is serving as one 
of the trustees of the State Normal School under 
appointment of Governor Rollins. In these posi- 
tions he has exerted a strong influence for the im- 
provement and progress of the schools of the city 
and state. In Masonry he is a Knight Templar, and 
a member of the Mystic Shrine. He is also a mem- 
ber of the Derryfield Club. In 1896 he spent the 
summer abroad, visiting many of the chief points of 
interest in Europe. 

Dr. Towne married, June 28, 1894, Mrs. Eliza- 
beth A. Means, nee French, daughter of George A. 
and Louise M. (Fabens) French, of Manchester. 



The person first bearing this 
BUTTERFIELD old English cognomen prob- 
ably took it from a place called 
Butterfield, anciently Bothar's field, or the field 
owned by some old viking named Bothar. The 
energy that characterized the Northman in war has 
been turned upon the arts of peace by those who 
take their name indirectly from the warrior. 

(I 1 Benjamin Butterfield, from whom most of 
the Americans of that name descended, was at 
Charlestown, in the Massachusetts Bay Colony, as 
early as 1638. His name appears among the first 
town records of Woburn, and he was made a free- 
man in that town in 1643. In 1645 his name appears 
on the Woburn tax list. In 1653 he headed a peti- 
tion of twenty-nine, including the petitioners of the 
preceding year, for a tract of land six miles square 
to begin at the Merrimac river at a neck of land 
next to Concord river, to run southerly on Concord 
river and westerly into the wild country. The spot 
was known to the Indians as Naamkeag, which 
means a fishing place. This tract was occupied in 
1654 by Butterfield and his associates, and the next 
year was incorporated as Chelmsford. The line be- 
tween the Indians and the whites was run on the 
east side of "Butterfield's Highway," and was marked 
by a ditch. On this highway Benjamin Butterfield 
pitched his farm and built his house within the 
limits of what is now Ward 4. Lowell. In 1656 he 
is named as one of the citizens of Chelmsford, to 
whom the Governor Dudley farm of fifteen hundred 
acres was conveyed. He obtained forty-two acres 
of the new fields which was granted at Chelmsford 
in 1656. 1 his sons were among the grantees 

of Wanesit. It is probable that he was married in 
England, and was accompanied thither by his first 
wife. Ann. She died at Chelmsford, May 19. 1661, 
and he married id), June 3, 1663, Hannah, 

widow of Thomas Whittemore. His first two chil- 
dren were born in England, the others in Woburn, 
namely: Jonathan, Mary, Nathaniel, Samuel and 
Joseph. 



(II) Joseph, youngest child of Benjamin and 
Ann Butterfield, was born August 15, 1649. in Wo- 
burn, Massachusetts. He died in 1720, and his es- 
tate was appraised on the twenty-second of Decem- 
ber, the amount of the administration being three 
hundred pounds. He was married February 12, 
1674, to Lydia Ballard, daughter of Joseph, one of 
the first settlers of Audover. Joseph Butterfield's 
children were : Joseph, Benjamin, Tabitha, Isaac 
and Jacob (twins), and Anna. 

(III) Benjamin (2), second son and child of 
Joseph and Lydia (Ballard) Butterfield, was born 
between 1680 and 1685, in that part of Chelmsford 
which is now Tyngsboro. He lived at or near 
Frances Hill (now Westford), where he died 1714- 
15. His wife's name was Elizabeth, and their chil- 
dren were: Benjamin, William, Elizabeth, Esther, 
Mary and Deborah. 

(IV) William, second son and child of Benja- 
min (2) and Elizabeth Butterfield, was born in 1705, 
in Chelmsford, and lived with his father at Frances 
Hill in Westford, where his name appears on the 
first tax list in 1730. At the earliest town meeting 
in 1734 he was elected hogreeve. He died in West- 
ford in 17S5 and his widow in 1792. He married 
Bathsheba Shepard, daughter of Abraham Shepard, 
of Concord. Their children were : Rebecca, Abra- 
ham, Olive, Samuel and Bathsheba. 

(V) Peter, second son and fifth child of Will- 
iam and Bathsheba (Shepard) Butterfield, was born 
in Westford in 1739. He was a soldier in the 
French war of 1757, and in the Revolution from 
1775 to 1783. For many years he lived in Townsend, 
whence he removed to Goffstown, New Hampshire. 
His wife's name was Hannah and their children 
were : Sally, Peter, John and Hannah. 

(VI) Peter (2), only son and second child of 
Peter (1) and Hannah Butterfield, was born July I, 
l 777, in Goffstown. Xew Ilamp.-hire, and resided in 
that town, where he was engaged in farming. 

(II) Parker, son of Peter (2) Butterfield, was 
born in Goffstown in 1S12, and died in Fitchburg, 
Massachusetts. May 23, 1S83. He was educated in 
the public schools of Goffstown. He was first a 
tanner and wool and lumber merchant. After carry- 
ing on these lines of business for twelve years he 
bought a farm in the town of Merrimack, where he 
remained three years and then went to Fitchburg, 
Massachusetts, where he was engaged in the furni- 
ture business for the next five years. He was a 
Republican in politics. In religious matters he held 
liberal views, and attended the Baptist Church. He 
married, in 1S51, Jane C. Carley. daughter of Asa 
and Catherine ( Berry) Carley, of Peterborough. 
She was born 1828, and was for many years a mem- 
ber of the Baptist Church. The children of this 
marriage jwere: Albert. George P., and Charles F. 

(III) George Parker, second son and child of 
Parker and Jane C. (Carley) Butterfield, born in 
Bedford, Xew Hampshire, October 30, 1S54. went 
with his father's family to Manchester in 1S66 and 

Merrimack in 1869. He obtained his education in 
the common schools of Bedford, the high school of 
Manchester, and the academy at Nashua. In 1871 
he entered the employ of Parker & Company, manu- 
facturers of furniture at Thornton's Ferry, where 
he learned the business and equently made 

foreman of the finishing department. In 1880 the 
firm moved its business to Fitchburg, Massachusetts, 
where Mr. Butterfield was superintendent of the 
finishing department until 1885, when he removed to 

d's Ferry, New Hampshire. In 1SS6 he entered 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



59i 



the service of Fessenden & Lowell, manufacturers 
of cooperage and lumber. Here he learned the 
cooperage business, and in 1887 was made shipping 
clerk and manager of the package department. Fes- 
senden & Lowell was made a corporation under the 
laws f New Hampshire in 1903, and Mr. Butter- 
field became a stockholder and director, and was 
chosen secretary of the corporation and manager of 
the package department, which position he still holds. 
Mr. Butterfield is a Republican, and as such has 
rilled the offices of town clerk and supervisor of 
schools of Reed's Ferry. He is a member of the 
Ancient Order of United Workmen, of Souhegan 
No. oS. Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
and of the Congregational Church of Merrimack. 
He married, April 15. 1880, Emma E. Kittredge, 
born in Merrimack, February 17, 1859, daughter of 
Jeremiah C. and Mary A. (Ritterbush) Kittredge, 
of Merrimack. Mr. Kittredge was an extensive 
manufacturer of overalls, frocks and coats. One 
son was born of this union, George K., born in 
Fitchburg, Massachusetts, December 29. 1880, a grad- 
uate of McGaw Normal Institute, class of 1S99, and 
of Tufts Medical College, Boston, class of 1903, and 
now on the Taunton (Massachusetts) Hospital 
staff. 



There are several distinct families of 
FARRAR this name in New England, descend- 
ing from John and Frances Farrar, of 
Hingham ; Thomas and Elizabeth Farrar, of Lynn ; 
George and Ann (Whitmore) Farrar, of Ipswich 
(generally written Farrow) ; Jacob and Hannah 
( Haywood) Farrar, of Lancaster and Concord ; and 
John and Joanna Farrar. of Woburn. The last two 
of these immigrant ancestors are supposed to be 
brothers and descendants of both appear in this 
article. 

(I) John Farrar was admitted freeman at Wo- 
burn in 1665 or 1666, and had land assigned to him 
at the several divisions of common land. He died 
in Woburn, July II, 1690. His will, dated January 
29, 1687, was approved October 7, 1690. His widow 
Joanna was living in 1701. Their children were: 
Mary. Jacob, Isaac, died young; Joanna, Mary, Han- 
nah and Isaac, the subject of the next paragraph. 

(II) Isaac, youngest child of John and Joanna 
Farrar. was born in Woburn, July 1, 1671. His wife 
was Mary, but no record of their marriage is found. 
It is probable that the family removed from Woburn 
soon after 1730. The children were : Mary, Isaac, 
John. Jacob, Anne, Jeduthan, and Joanna. 

(III) Jeduthan, son of Isaac and Mary Farrar, 
was born April 28, 1709. His name is written Jon- 
athan in the record of births. He removed early 
to Epping. New Hampshire, and late in life to Gil- 
manton. where he died in June. 1784. 

(IV) Jeduthan (2), son of Jeduthan (1), was 
born in Epping, and removed to Gilmanton, where 
he died August 10, 1812. He married, in Hampton, 
November 12, 1778. Cpmfort Bean, of Epping, who 
died February 27, 1843. 

(V) Jeduthan (3) Farrar, Esq., son of Jedu- 
than (2) and Comfort (Bean) Farrar, was a 
militia officer, magistrate, selectman, representative, 
and a director of the Gilmanton Fire Insurance 
Company. He married. March 24, 1816. Sally Cate. 

(VI) Jeduthan (4) Warren, son of Jeduthan (3) 
and Sally (Cate) Farrar, was born in Gilmanton, 
Novembe'r 27, 1818, and died July 11. 1881. He 
learned stone cutting in Quincy, Massachusetts, and 
afterward farmed in Belmont. He married Mary 



Randlett, born January 10, 1820, daughter of Josiah 
and Polly (Osgood) Randlett, of that part of Gil- 
manton now Belmont. They had five children : Al- 
mon J., Marilla, Frank W., Sarah, and John W. 
Manila married Madison Lamprey, of Gilmanton. 
John married Georgia Dalton, of Sanbornton. Mary 
Randlett died June 10, 1883. 

(VI) Almon J. Farrar, eldest child of Jedu- 
than (4) W. and Mary (Randlett) Farrar, was born 
in Gilmanton, April 14, 1845. At the age of seven- 
teen he enlisted in Company H, Seventeenth New 
Hampshire Volunteers, and joined the Army of the 
Potomac. At the battle of Cold Harbor, one of the 
most desperate battles of the war, he was shot 
through the left lung, and after lingering many 
months in the hospital returned to New Hampshire, 
but never fully recovered from the injury. In 
1868 he formed a partnership with J. W. Sanborn 
and engaged in the grocery trade. Two years later 
he bought his partner's interest and carried on 
the business alone for ten years or more. He then 
sold out, and in company with H. D. Cilley built 
a business block on Main street. Laconia. Later Mr. 
Farrar built another block, on the same street. For 
many years Mr. Farrar was a caterer, and did a 
good business, supplying many banquets and other 
notable gastronomical functions, among which were 
the New Hampshire Veterans' encampments, and 
the Holt Guards, at Concord. He was a prominent 
citizen and much in public life. He was road com- 
missioner for three years, and was selectman be- 
fore the incorporation of Laconia. He was the Dem- 
ocratic candidate for the mayoralty in the race with 
Charles A. Busiel, and was defeated by a small ma- 
jority. He was a member of T. L. Perley, Jr., Post, 
No. 37, Grand Army of the Republic, of Laconia. of 
which he was a past commander. He was also ad- 
jutant general of the New Hampshire Grand Army 
of the Republic, a member of the Union Veteran 
Union, and of the Knights of Pythias. He died 
February 5, 1905. He married, May 31, 1870, Lydia 
B. Elkins, of Webster, born December 27, 1847, 
daughter of John J. and Orzilla (Bean) Elkins, of 
Salisbury. New Hampshire, and Southampton, Mas- 
sachusetts. Mrs. Farrar has one sister, Emma F., 
born January II, 1850, who married, January 11, 
1876. George W. Riley, a prominent lumber dealer 
of Laconia. 

(Second Family) . 
The name Farrar, as a family name, 
FARRAR was first known in England from 
Gualkeline or Walkeline de Ferrariis, 
a Norman of distinction, attached to William, Duke 
of Normandy, before the invasion of 1066. From 
him all of the name in England and America have 
descended. Henry de Ferrars, his son, is on the 
Roll of Battle Abbey, a list of the principal com- 
manders and companions in arms of William the 
Conqueror, and was the first of the family who set- 
tled in England. In the fourteenth year of his reign 
William I ordered a general survey of the lands 
of his realm, which was recorded in Domesday 
Book, and this Henry de Ferrars was one of the 
commissioners appointed to perform the service. 
"That he was a person of much eminency, both for 
knowledge and integrity, there is no doubt, other- 
wise it is not likely he would have been entrusted 
in so high and weighty an employment." He bore 
for his arms, Argent, six horseshoes pierced, Sable. 
The arms were probably suggested by the name. 
Like Marshal which designated "any attendant on 



592 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



horses," and finally became a distinguished French 
military title, so Farrar, from Old French fcrreor, 
ferrier, "a horse-shoer," finally became a title and a 
family name. The name has been spelled in many 
different ways, both in this country and in England, 
by different branches of the family, and often by 
different individuals of the same branch, and not 
infrequently at different times, by the same individ- 
ual. But in all these and other varieties of spelling, 
the Horse Shoe, as the predominating emblem in 
the coat-of-arms, evinces the identity of the race. In 
this country, at the present time, the name is most 
commonly spelt as at the head of this article. The 
several emigrants to this country during the early 
part of the seventeenth century do not appear to 
have recognized any relationship, and it is not 
known that any two of them came from the same 
county in England, except those next mentioned. 

(1) Jacob Farrar, with his elder brother, John, 
according to family tradition, came to America from 
Lancashire, England. The only known facts ren- 
dering the truth of this tradition probable are, that 
others, with whom they are found associated in 
Lancaster, Massachusetts, originated in that county, 
and that members of this family were early in 
Lancashire, and still continue there. Among 
the original proprietors of Lancaster, which 
was incorporated May iS. 1653, where the two 
brothers John and Jacob Farrar. Their names ap- 
pear again on the covenant which they signed Sep- 
tember 24, 1653, and which was signed by all who 
became inhabitants of the town. Jacob Farrar was 
probably about thirty years old when he came to 
this country. His wife Ann, whom he married about 
the year 1640, with four children born there, and 
about half the property, were left in England till 
their new residence was prepared in Lancaster, when 
they were sent for, and arrived there in 1658. The 
town records state that "Young Jacob Farrar was 
appointed to assist in marking the bounds of the 
town" in 1659. A valuation of the estates was 
made in 1654, for the purpose of regulating the pro- 
portion of the inhabitants in subsequent divisions 
of the common land. To this the following note 
succeeds. "The estate of several entered since 1655," 
among then: is "Jacob Farrar added when his wife 
came £168 7 O." During King Philip's war, in the 
year 1675, he had two sons killed. The town was 
taken February 10, 1676, and most of the property 
destroyed by the Indians, and he with his wife, his 
remaining son Joseph, and his daughter with her 
husband, John Houghton, went to Woburn. where 
he died August 14, 1677. From the several public 
offices and agencies in which he was employed in 
Lancaster and in the county, it may be inferred that 
Jacob Farrar was a respectable and useful man. 
The "Humble Petition of the distressed people of 
Lancaster" to the government for assistance, after 
the destruction of the property, as above mentioned, 
dated March 11, 1676, is now on record in the secre- 
tary's office. It in signed by Jacob Farrar, John 
Houghton, Sen., John Moor, John Whitcomb, John 
Prescott, John Houghton, Jun., Thomas Sawyer, 
Thomas Wilder, and others, nineteen in all. The 
children of Jacob and Ann Farrar were: Jacob, 
mentioned bclow : . John. Henry, killed by Indians, 
February 10, 1676. Mary, who married John Hough- 
ton, Jr.; all born in England, and Joseph, born at 
Lancaster. Widow Ann Farrar married, November 
2, 1680, John Sears, of Woburn, whose third wife 
she was. 



(II) Jacob (2), eldest child of Jacob (1) and 
Ann Farrar, was born in England, probably about 
1O42 or 1643, and came with his mother and younger 
brothers and sister, about 1658, to Lancaster, where 
he resided until he was killed by Indians in King 
Philip':, war, August 22. 1075. He i> credited on the 
"Colony Book" under date of September 23. 1076, 
for military service under Captain Hunting. £2. 18, 
o, and charged £0, 13. o, leaving balance due him 
of £2, 5, o. He married, in 1008, Hannah, daughter 
of George Hayward, of Concord. Their children 
were: Jacob, George, John and Henry. His widow 
administered on his estate. Soon after his death, 
certainly as early as the abandonment of the town 
in February following, the widow with her children 
went to Concord, where her relations lived, and 
where her children were brought up and settled. 
March 5. 1681, die married Adam Holaway, of 
Marlborough, and January 2, 1706, Jonathan Furbush. 

(III) George, the second son of Jacob (2; and 
Hannah Farrar. was born in Lancaster, August 10, 
1670, and died in Concord, May 15. 1760, aged ninety 
years. He was carried by his mother to Concord 
when he was five years old, and brought up a 
farmer in the south part of the town, now Lincoln, 
by a Mr. Goble. When he arrived at twenty-one 
year; of age he had but eighteen pence in his pocket. 
He called together his associates and told them he 
would treat them with all he hai the 
world square. He early purchased a tract of land 
111 the neighborhood where he was brought up, and 
where his posterity of the fourth, fifth, sixth, 
seventh and eighth generations are now living. He 
was urged to settle farther in the interior of the 
country, and was offered one-half the township of 
Southborough for a penny an acre and went to 

it but, on his return, said "It is so far off, that it 
will never be worth anything." He was a man of 
great energy and thrift, and was several years select- 
man of Concord. His will, dated March 17, 1740. 
and proved June 9, 1760, mentioned his wife and all 
his children, except Joseph. It also mentions the 
live children of Joseph, and gives land in Townscnd 
to Benjamin. He had previously settled his 
three surviving sons on different portions of the 
homestead farm. He married, September 9, 1692, 
Mary Howe, who had been brought up with him in 
the same family, and with whom he lived, includ- 
ing their apprenticeship, more than eighty years. 
She died April 12, 1761. Their children were: 
Joseph, Daniel, George, Mary and Samuel. 

(IV I George (2), thud son of George (1), and 
Mary (Howe) Farrar, was born February 16. 1705. 
in Concord, and settled on the northerly part of 
his father's farm, where he died of smallpox, May 
28, 1777, aged seventy-three year-. He rrlarrii d 
Mary Barrett, of Concord, who was born April 6, 
1700, and died September 25, 1778. aged seventy-two 
years. Their children were: Rebecca, G 
Mary, Sarah (died young), Sarah, Elizabeth, Hum- 
phrey, Joseph and Love. George and Joseph grad- 
uated from Harvard College. George and Love died 
of smallpox. 

(V) Humphrey, second son and seventh child 
of George (2) and Mary (Barrett) Farrar, was born 
111 Coucnl, I'chruary 23. 1741. He lived at Lincoln, 
removed to Hanover, New Hampshire, and after- 
ward to Colcbrook. where he died. He married. 
April 26, 1770. his cousin Lucy, born April 27. 1745, 
daughter of Samuel Farrar. She survived her hus- 
band and died at the home of her son, Dr. Farrar, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



593 



of Derry, in January, 1832, aged eighty-seven. Their 
children were: Lucy, Alary, Humphrey, Joseph, 
Timothy, George, William and Lydia. Of these 
Humphrey, Joseph, George and William, were grad- 
uates of Dartmouth College. 

(VI) Joseph, fourth child and second son of 
Humphrey and Lucy (Farrar) Farrar, was born 
February 24, 1775. and died at the home of his son, 
George B. Farrar, of New York City. February 20, 
1851, aged seventy-six. He graduated from Dart- 
mouth in 1704, at the age of nineteen. He married 
Mehitable Dana, who died at Wolfborough in 1850. 

(Yll) Sarah C, child of Joseph and Mehitable 
(Dana) Farrar, was born in Chelsea, Vermont, 
March 3, 1801, married June 26, 1822, Daniel Pick- 
ering. (See Pickering, V). 

(V) John, eldest child of Judge Ichabod and 
Abigail (Weutworth) Rollins, was born in Rol- 
lingsford. March 22, 1745, and resided in Somers- 
worth, where he died January 23, 1820. aged seventy- 
five. He inherited many of the good qualities of 
his father, but he was not an ambitious man. and 
paid more attention to his private business than to 
public affairs, although he represented Somers- 
worth in the legislature one term. He married Mary, 
daughter of Dr. Moses Carr, of Newbury, Massa- 
chusetts. She died, April 16, 1823, aged seventy- 
eight. Eleven children were born to them, namely : 
Hiram, Mary, John, Elizabeth, George, James. Eliz- 
abeth, Abigail. Sarah, Paul (died young), and Paul, 
the second of the name. 

(VI) James, sixth child and fourth son of John 
and Mary (Carr) Rollings, was born in Somers- 
worth, July 4, 1776, and thus began his life on the 
very day our national independence was declared. 
He lived in Somersworth, where he spent an in- 
dustrious and quiet life, doing his duty as a citizen 
without taking upon himself any of the responsibil- 
ities of leadership. He married (first). August 7, 
1804, Dorothy Folsom, who died September 13, 1S18; 
(second), October 24, 1819. Sarah Wingate, who 
died April 19, 1827; (third), September 7, 1828, 
Abigail Wingate. Abigail and Sarah were daugh- 
ters of Captain Moses and Joanna Gilman ( Weut- 
worth) Wingate, of Dover. Captain Moses was a 
great-grandson of John Winget, an early Engli>h 
emigrant who settled at Dover. The children by 
Dorothy Folsom were: Harriet. Lydia A., Mary 
B., Theodore F., Charles, Elizabeth, Olive P. and 
Dorothy A. By Sarah Wingate he had one child, 
James Wingate. 

(VII) Charles, fifth child and second son of 
James and Dorothy (Folsom) Rollins, was born 111 
Somersworth, May 30, 1812, and died very suddenly 
at his home on Commonwealth avenue. Boston, 
Massachusetts. March 4, 1897, aged eighty-five. When 
a young man he went to Boston and engaged in the 
business of contractor and builder, which he carried 
on with great success until 1870. He erected many 
fine buildings, among them being the Central Con- 
gregational Church on Berkley street, and the Adams 
House on Washington street. A street in 
Boston was named in his honor. In 1849. with 
Daniel Pickering, his father-in-law, whose daughter 
he had married the year before, he erected the 
Pavilion Hotel, a noted summer resort, and con- 
tinued as its owner until his death. He was always 
interested in Wolfborough from the time of his 
marriage, and had an elegant country residence 
there, near the Pavilion Hotel, and there he passed 
the summer of each year with his family. He was 
a staunch Republican, and while a young man much 

ii— 14 



interested in politics, but he declined to hold any- 
public office, although positions in the city govern- 
ment were at different times offered him. He was 
one of those men who have a stable mind and 
sturdy character, and having once decided on a 
course of action, pursue it to a final and successful 
conclusion, allowing no hinderance to stay them, 
no avocation to divert them from the attainment of 
the desired end. His tastes were plain, his habit- 
regular ; he possessed a good capacity for work ; 
always made his plans with sufficient allowance for 
unavoidable detentions, and the errors of others (for 
he made very few himself), and made a reputation 
for promptness and reliability, which with his skill 
in execution made his fortune. 

He married, January 11, 1848, Caroline D. Pick- 
ering, of Wolfborough, who was born August 10, 
1824. daughter of Daniel and Sarah C. (Farrar) 
Pickering. (See Pickering, V). They were the 
parents of five children: Helen M., Caroline. Sarah 
P., Elizabeth and Charles H. 



In nearly every part of England this 
CHENEY name is found, and it has been iden- 
tified with the history of the United 
States from their earliest settlement. It has been 
identified, especially in New Hampshire, with the 
development of great business enterprises, is widely 
and favorably known in religious circles, in law. in 
medicine and many worthy lines of endeavor. Many 
of its representatives are today filling useful places 
in the life of this state. 

1 I 1 The founder of the family in America was 
John Cheney, who came with his wife, Martha, 
and four children, to Roxbury, Massachusetts in 
1635. He was a member of Rev. John Eliot's 
Church, but removed in the latter part of 1636 to 
Newbury, where he was at once received in the 
Church. He became a large landholder, and was a. 
very busy man, as indicated by the record of re- 
mission of a fine of two shillings for non-attendance- 
at town meeting. This remission was voted April 
21, 1638. His home was in the old town .and he 
was granted lot 50 in the "New Towne," on the 
"f field'* street. October 10, 1644. He took an active 
interest in affairs of the colony, and was one of 
ten who walked forty miles to Cambridge to take 
the freeman's oath, which was administered May 
17. 1637. He was an active supporter of Governor 
Winthrop, and was chosen as selectman in 1652, 1661 
and 1664. He was elected grand juror April 27. 
1648, and was chosen on committees for executing 
various town business, such as laying out ways. He 
died July 28, 1666. and the inventory of his estate 
shows him to have been a wealthy man for that 
day. His children were: Mary, Martha, John. 
Daniel, Sarah, Peter, Lydia, Hannah, Nathaniel 
and Elizabeth. ( Peter and descendants receive men- 
tion 111 this article.) 

(II) Daniel, second son and fourth child of 
John and Martha Cheney, born in England abi 
1633, died in Newbury, September 10. 1694. He- 
was a farmer, was made a "freeman of the colony"* 
May 7. 1763, and constable in 1688. The rai, 
list shows that he had, in 1688. two house-, ten 
acres of plow land, twenty acres of meadow, and 
fourteen acres of pasture. He was a man of in- 
dustry and sagacity, and lived the life of a diligent 
farmer and useful citizen. He and his wife wen 
members of the church before 1675. The inventoi 
of his estate amounted to five hundred and sixty, 
seven pounds and eleven shillings. He married, in 



594 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Newbury, October 8, 1665. Sarah, daughter of John, 
Jr.. and Eleanor (Emery) Bayley, born August 17, 
1644. died October 26, 1714. Their children were: 
Sarah, Judith, Daniel, Hannah, John, Eleanor, Jo- 
seph and James. 

(III) Daniel (2), eldest son and third child of 
Daniel (1) and Sarah (Bayley I Cheney, born in 
Newbury. December 3, 1670, died in the autumn of 
1755. He was a farmer, and resided in Newbury. 
On John Brown's map of the town, made in 1729, 
the locality of his homestead is marked near the 
bank of the river, in what is now West Newbury. 
He was one of the defenders of the town against 
Indian attacks, rendering service in a blockhouse in 
1704. for which he received "nine shillings and ten 
pence." He was also enrolled as a member of 
"The second Foot Company of Newbury," January 
75. 1711, under the command of Hugh March. He 
and his wife were "admitted to full communion" 
in the west Newbury church. October 29, 1727. At 
his death he left considerable property. He married 
Hannah, daughter of Thomas and Hannah (Emer- 
son) Duston, born August 22. 1678. Her mother 
was the remarkable woman whose experiences and 
exploits are a striking episode in colonial history. 
Their children were: Daniel. John, Thomas, Han- 
nah. Sarah. Nathaniel. Mary and Abigail. 

(IV) Thomas, third son and child of Daniel (2) 
and Hannah (Duston) Cheney, was born in New- 
bury, February 25. 1703. He bought a house, farm 
and twenty acres of land in Haverhill, March 24, 
1741, for one hundred and fifty pounds. This sec- 
tion became part of Plaistow, New Hampshire, when 
the new boundary line was run. and he became a" 
citizen of New Hampshire without removing his 
residence. His will, dated March 4, proved June 
24. 1707. bequeathed either land or money to his 
children and grandchildren, among which property- 
were his half rights in "Perrie's Town socalled." 
which was incorporated some years later as Sutton, 
New Hampshire, and where many of his descend- 
ants lived in after years. He married. May 17, 
1726, Hannah Stevens, supposed to have been a 
daughter of John, Jr.. and Mary (Bartlett) Stev- 
ens, born in Haverhill, March 16, 1705. Their 
children were: Hannah. Daniel. Duston. Thomas, 
Mary, Nathaniel, John, James, Abigail, Sarah, Ruth 
and Susanna. 

(V.) Daniel (3), eldest son and second child of 
Thomas and Hannah (Stevens) Cheney, was born 
in Haverhill, January 10, 1720. He was a resident 
of Salem. New Hampshire in [763, when he was 
elected to a subordinate office in the town, and in 

. when the notary gave that as his residence, in 
a deed of land in Londonderry which he bought. 
But he was connected with the church at Hempstead. 
New Hampshire, and there his daughter was bap- 
tized in 1762, and five other children. July 23, 1777. 
Ho bought land in Goffstown in 1780, and removed 
thither. In 1784 he mortgaged land "in the fifth 
range of Oppiscataquog river." He bought a tract 
of the town of Goffstown in 1705, and bought and 
sold and cultivated large amounts of land. He 
married Elizabeth (Betty) Hadley, and they were 
the parents of twelve children: Nathaniel, Joseph, 
Enoch. Jonathan Dustin, Mary, Elizabeth, Mary, 
Hannah, Sarah, Daniel, Thomas and Nanne West. 
Both Marys grew up and married 

I VI ) Joseph, second son and child of Daniel 
(3) and Elizabeth (Hadley) Cheney, was born 
1755, died in Bradford, January 22, [827. He was 
enrolled "of Hempstead, New Hampshire," in April 



[776, in Captain Thomas Cogswell's company, of 
>nel Baldwin's regiment; also in the same troop, 
January 28. July 30, and at Trenton. December 31, 
1776. and January 1, 1777, and is credited with having 
"furnished his own arms." His brother Jonathan was 
in the same company, and they served together in 
important campaigns. Joseph signed an order, dated 
Haverhill, February 14, 1778, for "travel allowance 
from Trenton to Londonderry," payable to Samuel 
Middleton. He followed his father to Goffstown. 
Xew Hampshire, and there received a grant of 
land from him March 3, 1792. December 26. 1792, 
he purchased of Peter How a tract of land in "New 
Bradford." December 29, 1795. he sold land in 
Goffstown to his brother Daniel, his wife Elizabeth 
joining in the deed, and so on. He married Eliza- 
beth (Betsy) , born in October, 1755, died in 

Henniker, September 12, 1854. Their children were: 
a child, name not given, died young: Joseph, died 
young ; Jonathan, Sally, Joseph, Lydia, Betsey and 
Susan. 

(VII) Jonathan, third son and child of Joseph 
and Elizabeth Cheney, born August 24, 1782, a 
farmer residing in Bradford, married, April 13, 
1S02, Betsey Sargent, born April 9, 17S2. Their 
children were: Rachel, Thomas, Betsey, Sarah. 
Joseph, Dorcas, Lydia and Harriet. 

i VIII) Betsey, second daughter and third child 
of Jonathan and Betsy (Sargent) Cheney, born Oc- 
tober 26, 1807. married, December 29, 1S25, Samuel 
Muzzey, of Newburv. New Hampshire (See Muzzey 
VII). 

(II) Peter, third son and sixth child of John 
and Martha Cheney, was born about 1638, in New- 
bury, where he passed his life. On June iS, 1663, 
he bought of John Bishop for two hundred and fifty 
pounds a mill and house, with all appurtenances and 
riparian rights. On March 7, 1660, he proposed to 
the town meeting to erect a windmill if granted an 
acre of land for the purpose, and this proposition 
was accepted. November 4, 1693. he deeded to 
his son John one-half of his mill, dam, and belong- 
ings, including fifty acres of land, and January 10. 
1695. he deeded the other half to his son Peter. He 
died in January, 1695. He was married May 14, 
1663, to Hannah, daughter of Nicholas and Mary 

I Cutting) Noyes. She was born October 30, 1643, 
in Newbury, and survived her husband. She was 
married June 3, 1700, to John Atkinson, and died 
January 5, 1705. Her father was a son of Rev. 
William and Anne (Parker) Noyes, of Cholderton, 
England, the latter a daughter of Rev. Robert 
Parker, a celebrated preacher and author. The 
children of Peter and Hannah (Noyes) Cheney 
were: Peter, John, Nicholas, Iluldah, Mary, Mar- 
tha. Nathaniel (died young), Jemima. Nathaniel, 
Eldad. Hannah, Ichabod and Lydia. 

(III) John, second son and child of Peter and 

II mnah (Noyes) Cheney, was born May 10, 1666, 
in Newbury, and became master of many mechani- 
cal operations. He was a house carpenter and mill- 
wright, a cloth finisher and miller, and operated the 
mill purchased by his father shortly before his 
birth. He inherited from his uncle, Nathaniel 
Cheney, a considerable tract of land in Suffield. 

necticut. which he sold, a part in 1698 and the 
balance in 1723. On August 23, 1724, he was re- 
1 with bis wife in the church at Weston (Sud- 
bury), and on the tenth of October, same year, he 
purchased one hundred and twenty acres of land 
in that town, and one half of this he deeded to 

son John. The time of his residence in Weston 




UX^jiA ^^t^U^y^, (J| 



A^^^v 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



595 



i- indicated by his dismissal from the church there, 
July 20. 1730, and his admission to the west parish 
of Newbury in 1731. He was subsequently dismissed 
from this society to the second Church of Rowley, 
now Georgetown. He was married March 7, 1693, 
to .Mary, daughter of James and Mary (Wood) 
Chute. She was born September 16. 1674. Her 
father was a son of James, who was a son of Lionel 
Chute. John Cheney died September 2, 1750, and 
was -urvived by his wife only eight days. Their 
children were : Edmund, Martha, Mary. Sarah, 
John and Judith. (Mention of John and descend- 
ants forms part of this article.) 

(IV) Edmund, eldest child of John and Mary 
(Chute) Cheney, was born June 29, 1696, in New- 
bury and was bred to the business of a miller and 
fuller. His father conveyed to him a house and 
land in the town of Newbury, but he was enter- 
prising and adventurous, and in 1723 sold this prop- 
erty and removed to the Squadron river in Weston 
(now Sudbury), Massachusetts, where he pur- 
chased land December 4. of the same year. Here he 
engaged in the milling business, grinding farmers' 
grain, carding their wool and fulling their cloth 
for seven years. About 1730, he returned to his old 
home and there died "of a Consumptive Disorder, 
March 14, 1761." He lived an upright life, was in- 
dustrious and enterprising, and enjoyed the respect 
of his neighbors. He was married (first) Novem- 
ber 18, 1714. to Mary Plumer, of Rowley. His sec- 
ond wife, Ann (Poor) Cheney, survived him more 
than 3 year and died July 15, 1762, '"of Consumption 
and Dropsy." 

( V 1 Moses, eldest child of Edmund and Mary 
1 Plumer) Cheney, was born November 26, 1715, 
in Newbury, and resided in that part of the town 
called Byfield, where he purchased a house and 
piece of land December iS, 1754. He did not long 
live to enjoy this possession, dying February 21, 
1759, "of a consumptive disorder." Owing to his 
illness and comparative youth, his estate at death 
was not large. He was married October 23, 1740, 
to Sarah Whiton, of Rowley, who survived him. 
Their children were: Elias, Moses, Sarah (died 
young), Jonathan. Sarah, Mary, Edmund and 
Rachael. 

( VI 1 Elias. eldest child of Moses and Sarah 
(Whiton) Cheney, was born April 16, 1769, in Row- 
ley, and was baptized when one week old. He set- 
tled in Thornton, New Hampshire, where he cleared 
up and developed a farm. He was an industrious 
and useful citizen and enjoyed the esteem of his 
fellows. He married (first) Sarah Burbank, of 
Campton. New Hampshire, daughter of Gershom 
and Anna (Pearson) Burbank. She was born No- 
vember 26, 1766, and died January 8. 1800. He mar- 
ried ( -econd) widow Mary Prescott, of Thornton, 
who was born January 12. 1766. and died January 
20, 1840. He had seven children, four born of the 
first wife, namely: Ruth. Moses. Sally, Eliza; by 
the second wife, Person, Gilman C, and Charles C. 

(VII) Moses (2), eldest son and second child of 
Elias and Sarah (Burbank) Cheney, was born Jan- 
uary 31, 1793, in Thornton, and grew up on the farm 
there. At the age of seventeen, in 1S10, he com- 
menced an apprenticeship in the art of making paper 
by hand, and thus continud until he was of age, at 
which time he became a journeyman and was em- 
ployed by his uncle and subsequently by Charles 
Hutchins and Company. In 1815, in partnership with 
his brother-in-law, Simeon L. Gordon, who married 
his sister Ruth, he rented a paper mill in Holder- 



ness, which was conducted successfully for two 
years. At the end of that time they purchased the 
mill, and in 1818, Mr. Cheney sold out to Mr. 
Gordon, for whom he worked the next five years. 
At the end of that time, in partnership with a Mr. 
Morse, he bought a mill and for eleven years they 
conducted it, putting in the first machine about 1830. 
In 1835 Mr. Cheney removed to Petcrboro, and in 
company with A. P. Morrison conducted business 
there ten years. In 1845 he returned to Holderness 
and settled in that part of the town which is now 
Ashland, where he spent the remainder of his life. 
He was one of the original members and a deacon 
of the Freewill Baptist Church in Ashland, and 
held various offices in the several towns in which he 
lived. He was highly respected for his business 
ability and integrity, and died while on a visit to 
his son in Lebanon, July 17, 1875. He was married 
June 23, 1816, to Abigail, daughter of Jonathan and 
Esther J. (Perkins) Morrison, of Sanbornton. She 
was born March 25, 1796, and died August 6, 1881. 
Their children were: Oren Burbank, Esther M., 
Sarah Burbank, Moses, Abigail Morrison. Charles 
Gilman, Person Colby, Ruth Elizabeth, Elias Hutch- 
ins, Marcia Ann and Harriet Olivia. 

(VIII) Elias Hutchins, fourth son and ninth 
child of Moses (2) and Abigail (Morrison) Cheney, 
was born January 28, 1832, in Holderness, now Ash- 
land, New Hampshire. He completed his education 
at Phillips Exeter Academy, and started on his busi- 
ness career as an apprentice in the office of the 
Peterboro Transcript, and at the close of his appren- 
ticeship, in 1853, he became proprietor and editor 
of the paper. Mr. Cheney possessed much talent for 
newspaper work and immediately found himself in 
his true field of endeavor. In 1855, he removed to 
Concord and became publisher of the New Hamp- 
shire Phoenix. He was subsequently engaged in 
the office of the New Hampshire Sentinel at Keene 
and upon the Sullivan Republican at Newport. 
In 1861 he purchased the Granite State Free 
Press at Lebanon, and was its sole editor 
and proprietor about thirty years, his two 
sons. Fred. W. and Harry M., being succes- 
sively associated with him till he gave up the busi- 
ness management in 1900. He continues to write 
for it as its senior editor. In its active manage- 
ment he was eminently successful and it is now con- 
ducted by his younger son. Mr. Cheney has been 
foremost in the historical movements in New 
Hampshire, and has exercised an influence extend- 
ing far beyond his native state. He has always been 
fearless in championing the truth and his journal 
has stood for the right in many a political battle. 
He has achieved most gratifying triumphs of which 
any man might be proud. He has not been an office 
seeker and his influence has been the greater be- 
cause of this fact. At times he has accepted offi- 
cial responsibilities, because they enabled him to ac- 
complish more. In 1867-68, he was a member of the 
house of representatives and in 1885 represented the 
third district in the state senate. On January 6, 
1892, he received the appointment of consul of the 
United States at Matanzas, Cuba, which position he 
held three years. He was appointed consul at 
Curacoa, Dutch West Indies, February 2, 1899, which 
position he still holds. Mr. Cheney has always been 
controlled by the puritanical principles of his an- 
cestors, and has never considered any labor too 
great which might accomplish something for the gen- 
eral weal. Because of his breadth of conceptions and 
his great energy, he has exercised a great influence 



50 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



in the journalism and public conduct of his native 
state. As a man he is honored and respected; as a 
citizen he has been honest and useful. It is scarcely 
necessary to relate that Mr. Cheney has always sus- 
tained the political principles of the Republican par- 
ty. He was married January 22, 1852, to Susan W. 
Voungman, of Peterboro. New Hampshire, who was 
born April 11, 1831, daughter of Willard Voungman. 
Their children were : Fred. Willard. Harry Mor- 
rison, Susy Youngman and Helen Gray. The elder 
daughter died when six months old; the younger 
is the wife of George H. Kelly, now residing in 
Lebanon, X T ew Hampshire. 

(IX) Fred. Willard, elder son of Elias H. 
and Susan ( Voungman ) Cheney, was born in Peter- 
boro, May 19, 1853. Received a thorough printing 
office education, graduated from New London Acad- 
emy, 1874. He was proprietor of the Free Press 
from 1S75 to 1879. the father continuing as senior 
editor and having associated with him a part of 
the time Mark Richardson, now of Manchester. In 
[881 he established the Republican Champion at 
Newport, Xew Hampshire, and continued its editor 
and proprietor, seven years, when he disposed of it 
and engaged in the insurance business. Is now 
assistant secretary of the Capitol Fire Insurance 
Company at Concord. Was a member of the house 
of representatives from Newport in 1891. He took 
a great interest in military affairs and was captain 
of Co. K. zd Regiment, N. H. V. In 1897 Gov- 
ernor Smith appointed him inspector general of the 
N. H. N. G„ but he declined to serve on account 
of inadequate health. Married Nov. 1. 187(1. Cora 
M. Mead, daughter of Nicholas S. and Jane 
(Flanders) Mead, of Concord. They have but 
two sons, Morris Owen, died in infancy ; Morton 
Mead, born April 25, 1881, graduated from Concord 
High School and the George Washington University 
Law School, in Washington, and is practicing law 
in Newport. He was for three years an assistant 
in the Congressional Library at Washington, having 
been previously employed in the Concord City Li- 
brary. 

(IX) Harry Morrison, younger son of Elias II. 
and Susan W. (Voungman) Cheney, .was born 
March 8, i860, in Newport, Xew Hampshire, and 
was but a child when taken by his parents to Leb- 
anon. His first beginning in the way of education 
was made in the public schools of Lebanon, and be 
fitted for college at Colby Academy, where he grad- 
uated in 1882. Four years later lie was graduated 
from Bates College at Lewiston, Maine, and returned 
In hi- li.iine in Lebanon, where be had previously 
served an apprenticeship to the trade of printer, 
in his lather's office. He soon proved himself a 
worthy son of an honored sire. Because of Ins fath 

er's failing health, the latter was compelled to leave 
the office and seek a milder climate. This led I" his 
acceptance of the appointment of consul at Matanzas, 
Cuba, as before stated, lli< son then assumed charge 
of the newspaper which he has since conducted with 
gratifying results. He lias shown himself a master 
in handling the editorial pen, and exercises a large 
influence in the affairs of the state. In December, 
igo6, he combined the establishment with the job 
printing office oi William II. llatton and the com- 
bined business is now conducted bj Chenej and llat- 
ton. Mr Cheney has long been active in the con- 
duct of public affair: II. is an earnest and in- 
tense champion of Republican principles and policies. 

and is recognized by his fellow citizens throughout 

the -tale for his ability and worth. In the sessions 



of 1893, [895 and 1003. he represented the town of 
Lebanon in the state legislature, and during the last 
named session was speaker of the house, and be- 
cause of thi- tact was for some time acting governor 
during the absence of Governor Barchelder from the 
state, the president of the senate having resigned 
At this time Mr. Cheney, as acting governor, signed 
the certificate of election of the electors who helped 
to choose Theodore Roosevelt as president. In 
1897. Mr. Cheney was a member of the state senate 
and was active and useful as a member of that 
body. In 1899 and 1900 he was a member of the 
executive council under Governor Rollins. For 
twelve years or more he has acted as auditor of stair 
printing accounts, and as such has rendered valu- 
able service to the commonwealth. Mr. Cheney par- 
ticipates in and sympathizes with every broad-minded 
movement. He is an active supporter of the Uni- 
tarian Church, and is a progressive member of the 
Masonic fraternity, in which he has advanced" 
through all the degrees, having attained the thirty- 
third degree in the summer of 1905 at Indianapolis. 
He is the only one in Lebanon who has attained this 
degree. He is a past grand master of the Grand 
Lodge of X : ew Hampshire and also of the Grand 
Council of Royal and Select Masters. He i- iden- 
tized with Sullivan Commandery of Claremortt, 
and the lodge, chapter and council of Leban.ui. He 
is also a member of the local lodge and encampment, 
and Rebecca lodge of the Independent Order of ( Idd 
Fellows of Lebanon, being a past grand in the sub- 
ordinate lodge of that order. He is also connected 
with the local camp of the Improved Order of Red 
Men. In May. 1904, his wife was appointed post 
master at Lebanon and since that time he ha- been 
actively engaged in postoffice work. He was mar- 
ried December 10. 1893, to Mary F. Vose of Leb- 
anon, who was born December 29, 1859, in Pitts- 
held. Vermont, daughter of Hiram and Emeline 
(Gate- 1 Vose. They have two daughters In: 
namely ; Esther and Kathryn. 

(IV) John (2), younger son and fifth child of 
John (1) and Mary (Chute) Cheney, was born May 
23. <7°5. in Newbury, and resided in that par; of 
Weston now Sudbury. He was a large landholder 
in that town and the adjoining One of Framing 1 . 
I he record shows a purchase in the latter town of 
seventy-five acres, November 15. 1720. the consider- 
ation being four hundred pounds. January 14. 1732. 
he purchased fur two hundred twenty pounds, ten 
shillings, a tract of forty-eight acres with buildings 
November 8, 1720. he sold the land in Weston 
fleeded to him by his father in 1724. Numerous sales 
are recorded m Sudbury, Weston and Framingham, 

indicating that he had a large estate, lie ua- a sub- 
scribe! I.. "The Land Rank." and paid his subscrip- 
tion lief, r< December 22. 1740. July 3, [750, he 
old i" his -in John his homestead in Sudbury. 

which bad been the estate of his father-in-law. Noah 
1 lip Mr. Cheney was a member of Captain Josiah 
Brown's iron]] of horse, mustered June 4. 1730. and 
performed active service in quelling the Indians. 
In 1753 In was again in service, and was accidentally 
killed while blading a gun in garrison at George- 
town, Maine. July 31. 1753, lie was married (first) 
in Weston (intention published October 2. 1725) to 
Elizabeth, daughter nf Sun, .11 and Elizabeth Dakin. 
She was liniii Vugusl 25. 1703. in Concord, and died 

June 13, 1730. They were' received ill the' church at 

Framingham, February 4. 1728. Mr. Cheney mar- 
ried (second) December 25. 1730, Mary, daughter 
of Noah and Mary (Wright) Clap. She was admit- 





- C^Kj<z^»^e^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



597 



ted to the church in Sudbury, October 3. 1731, and 

he was admitted January 31, 173.?. Mary (Clap) 
Cheney died January 2. i"4?, and he married (third) 
November 15. 1745, Keziah Kendall, of Lancaster. 
She was received in the Sudbury church October 26, 
1745. After the death of Mr. Cheney she married 
John Tarp. and resided in Woolwich, Maine. Mr. 
Cheney's children were: Tristram, John. Eliza- 
beth, Elias, Hester, Ralph. Nathaniel and Carter. 

I V ) Tristram, eldest son of John (2) and Eliza- 
beth ( Dakin) Cheney, was born October 14, 1726, 
in Weston, and grew up under the care of Deacon 
Noah Clap, the father of his stepmother, who re- 
garded him much as a son and made him his exec- 
utor. He was a very active and vigorous man. and 
accumulated a handsome property. Much of his 
life was passed on the frontier, and he was always a 
leader. He was foremost in the settlement of a 
tract in Worcester county, granted to Dorchester 
men who served in the military campaign of 1690. 
This settlement became the town of Ashburnham, 
in which Mr. Cheney was the first selectman (1765) 
and moderator in 1767. He became a member of 
the church there by letter from Sudbury in 1663. 
and was on numerous important committees, and 
served as tithing man and deacon. After ten years 
of residence at Ashburnham he moved to Artrim, 
New Hampshire, and helped to organize the church 
at Hillsborough. October 12, 1769. He was one of 
its first deacons. In 1708 he went to Walpole. this 
state, and about 1805 to St. Johnsbury, Vermont. He 
bought a farm in West Concord. Vermont, on which 
he resided until his death, in December, 1816. He 
was married November 28, 1745, in Sudbury, to 
Margaret, daughter of Edward Joyner. Their chil- 
dren were : Elizabeth, John, William, Mary. Sarah. 
Susannah and Elias. 

(VI 1 Elias. youngest child of Deacon Tristram 
and Margaret (Joyner) Cheney, was born October 
14. 1760. in Sudbury. At the age of seventeen years, 
December 17, 1777, he enlisted for three years or 
during the war in Captain Elijah Clayes' company 
of the Second New Hampshire regiment, and served 
in New York, New Jersey, Maryland and Virginia, 
in the closing campaigns of the Revolution. On the 
march from Saratoga to Albany, he was overcome 
bv fatigue and fell out of the ranks, on account of 
which he was reported as a deserter. He overtook 
his comrades, however, and shared their lot at Val- 
ley Forge. The payment of his wages as a soldier 
indicates that the imputation of being a deserter 
was wiped away by his subsequent service. On ac- 
count of the depreciation in value of continental 
money he received a bonus of one hundred twenty 
dollars and eighty cents, and the town of Antrim 
abated his tax to the amount of twenty dollars. 
Before his departure for the field of war, December 
30. 1777, he purchased for one hundred pounds two 
hundred acres of land in Antrim, which he sold the 
same day. He bought July 3. 1780. of John McCoy, 
thirty acres in Antrim, and December 10, 1785. pur- 
chased from Major Raley thirty-six acres near the 
Hillsborough line, in Antrim. The purchase price 
was sixty-nine pounds and he sold the same parcel 
in 1788 for seventy pounds. He bought January 6, 
1786, of Samuel Symonds, for sixteen pounds ten 
shillings, forty-two and one-half acres, and subse- 
quently purchased several parcels. His residence 
was near "Cork Bridge." close to the junction 
corners of Antrim. Hillsborough and Deering. Late 
in life he moved to Cabot, Vermont, thence to Con- 
cord. Vermont, where he died in 1816. He mar- 



ried (first) Lucy, daughter of Joshua and Sarah 
(Burge) Blanchard. She was born June 4, 1760. in 
Hillsborough, and died in 1797-8. Mr. Cheney mar- 
ried (second) June 6, 1799, Deborah, daughter of 
Lemuel and Lydia (Flint) Winchester of Antrim. 
She was born April 19, 1777. in Amherst north 
parish (now Mount Vernon), New Hampshire, 
and died January 30, 1854, in Albany, Vermont. Mr. 
Cheney's children were: William Elias. Jesse, John, 
Joel, Sarah, Lucy. Betsey, Clarissa, Hannah. Lem- 
uel. Roxana and Franklin. 

(VII) Jesse, second son and child of Elias and 
Lucy (Blanchard) Cheney, was born October 3, 
[788, in Antrim, and went to Boston when young 
to learn the trade of blacksmith. Returning to An- 
trim he continued to follow his trade, and in time 
operated shops on his own account in Hillsborough 
and Francestown. His later years were marred by 
ill health, and he was obliged to give up hard labor. 
He removed to Nashua, and thence in 1840 to Man- 
chester. He united with the Hanover Street Con- 
gregational Church, and was known as a kind. 
Christian man. of genial disposition and settled 
character. In early life he was a Democrat, but the 
i-sues which precipitated the civil war drove him 
from the party, and he was among the first Republi- 
cans of the state. He passed away in Manchester 
June 23, 1863, near the close of his seventy-fifth 
year, and having been a widower nearly fourteen 
years. His children were very kind to him, and his 
last days were made comfortable as possible. He 
was married November 25, 1813, to Alice Steele, 
daughter of James and Alice (Boyd) Steele, of 
Antrim. She was born August 12, 1791. in Antrim, 
and died in Manchester July 28, 1849. She possessed 
a remarkably sweet disposition, was a true helpmeet 
to her husband, and active in all good works. A 
fine singer, she was very useful in the choir work 
of the church, and was beloved and respected wher- 
ever known. To her descendants she will ever be 
a tender memory. Her children are accounted for 
as follows: Benjamin Pierce was the founder of 
the great express business of the country, being 
among the proprietors of the United States and 
Canada Express, which was succeeded by the Amer- 
ican Express Company. He presented to his native 
state the fine statue of Daniel Webster which adorns 
the statehouse yard in Concord. James Steele died 
in Manchester. Jesse was a farmer in Goffstown. 
where he died in 1896. Gilman is a resident of 
Montreal. Canada. Lucy Ann became the wife of 
John Plummer, a merchant tailor of Manchester. 
Alice Maria died at the age of forty-seven years, 
unmarried. Charlotte is the wife of William Henry 
Plumer, who succeeded his brother John in business 
at Manchester (see Plumer). John, the youngest 
died at the age of thirty years, in Manchester. 



The name of Milliken is said to 
MILLIKEN be of Saxon origin and to have been 

first written Millingas, being of 
date as early as the thirteenth century. The Sax- 
ons are said to have spread the name into France, 
England and Scotland. The name in Scotland is 
spelled Milliken ; in Ireland, Milligan, and in Eng- 
land, Millikin and Millican. In the north of Scot- 
land it is sometimes found Mulliken. In the United 
States all these spellings are used. 

(I) Hugh Mulliken may be designated as the 
head 'of the family known as the Alger-Millikens, 
settled in Scarborough. Maine. He was no doubt 
a Scotchman, as the records show him to have been 



59 8 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



a member of the Scots Charitable Society of Bos- 
ton in 1684. It will be observed that the name in 
the records was Mulliken, an orthography peculiar 
to the northern countries of Scotland. The early 
clerks would spell the name as pronounced by those 
who bore it, and a Scotchman would give the latter 
form. 

(II) John Milliken, whom tradition makes the 
son of Hugh, of Boston, may have been born in 
Scotland, as no record of such event has been found 
in New England. He married Elizabeth, daughter 
of John and Mary Wilmot Alger, of Boston, who 
was born in 1669 and baptized in 1687 at the first 
church of Charlestown, where she was living with 
her uncle, Nathaniel Adams. No record of this 
union has been found. They resided for many 
years in Boston, and their children were born there. 
In old documents he was styled "John Milliken, 
house carpenter of Boston." After the death of 
John Alger, John -Milliken became possessed, in 
right of his wife, of extensive lands at Dunston, in 
Scarborough, Maine, and his name appears there in 
1710. Mr. Milliken seemed to have had broad ideas 
of farming, and carried forwar.d his agricultural 
undertakings on a scale of considerable magnitude 
for the times. In a letter written by him in 1746 he 
states : 1 have cleared a great deal of land ; have 
made several miles of fence : this year I have plant- 
ed as much land as three bushels of corn would plant 
sowed as much as seven bushel of peas would sow, 
and as much as thirteen bushels of oats and barley 
would sow." In the year 1720 he and his son John 
were present at the re-organization of the Scar- 
borough town government, when he was chosen for 
one of the selectmen. He was in Boston as late as 
l 73 2 - John Milliken died in 1749, aged about eighty- 
six, and must have been born as early as 1664-65. 
His widow died February 9, 1754, aged eighty-five 
years. It has been assumed that but four of the 
sons of John and Elizabeth were living at the time 
of their settlement at Scarborough. The ten chil- 
dren of this couple were: John, Thomas. James, 
Josiah, Benjamin, Samuel, Joseph, Edward, Nathan- 
iel and Elizabeth. (Samuel and descendants re- 
ceive mention in this article.) 

(Ill) Edward, son of John and Elizabeth (Al- 
ger) Milliken, was baptized at Brattle Street Church, 
Boston, July 6, 1706, and settled in Scarborough 
about 1729. he was admitted to the First Church in 
Scarborough. October 31, 1736. He was known as 
"Justice Milliken," having been appointed a judge 
of the court in 1760, and continued in that office un- 
til 1771. He was widely known as a man of sound 
judgment and sterling integrity; as a useful towns- 
man of public spirit, who was consulted as a wise 
counselor. He was a grantee of Trenton. His name 
appears on a petition to His Excellency, Francis 
Benard, dated January 3, 1762, in which the peti- 
tioners slated: "We, the subscribers, having been 
soldiers at Fort Pownal, and now settled at a 
place called Nagebaggadence on the eastern side of 
Penobscot Bay," etc. He acted an important part 
in the settlement of Trenton: was appointed by the 
general court to receive the bonds of the grantees. 
He was moderator of a meeting held by the pro- 
prietors of the townships on Union river. August 1, 
1764. at the tavern of Captain Samuel Skillings in 
Falmouth. There is no known record of his death. 
He married Abigail Xnrman. They had a family 
of fourteen children with names as follows: Ben 
jamin, died young, Benjamin, Joseph, Abigail, Wil- 
liam. Daniel, Edward, Susanna, John M., Rc- 



becca, Rachael, Lemuel. Samuel and Jeremiah. 

(IV) Samuel, ninth son and thirteenth child of 
Edward and Abigail (Norman) Milliken. was born 
February 25, 1747, and died at Mount Desert, July 
26, 1841, aged ninety-four. He was a grantee at 
Union river, and settled there about 1765, and re- 
moved to Pretty Parsh about 1783. He married 
in Scarborough, October 31, 1769, Susanna Beal, 
who was born in the fort between York and Kit- 
tery, September 14, 1751, and died at Mount Desert. 
Maine, January iS, 1852, aged a little over one hun- 
dred years. This couple lived together seventy-two 
years, and were the parents of ten children : Ed- 
ward, Joanna, Martha, Samuel, Deacon Simeon. Su- 
sanna, Phebe, Abigail. Mary and Prudence. 

(V) Deacon Simeon, fifth child and third son 
of Samuel and Susanna (Beal) Milliken, was born 
at Scarborough. June 26, 1779, and died at Mount 
Desert Island, December 22, 1864, aged eighty-five. 
He was for many years a justice of the peace, was 
a man of good character and locally influential, and 
was called "esquire." He married Rachel Wasgatt, 
February 12, 1S05. She died November 21. [864, 
aged eighty-eight years. They lived together fifty- 
nine years. Their children were: Simeon J., Mel- 
atiah, Rachel A., Cummings, William W.. Phebe 
M., Rufus W., Isephena, Samuel F., and Cornelius 
W., the subject of the next paragraph. 

(VI) Captain Cornelius W., youngest child of 
Simeon and Rachel (Wasgatt) Milliken, was born 
on Mount Desert Island, March 21. 1821, and died 
at Trenton, January 9. 1872, aged fifty-one. He was 
brought up by the sea, heard the tales of seafarers 
from infancy, and at an early age embraced the 
life of a sailor. In course of time he was promoted 
to captain and for years commanded a full rigged 
clipper ship which was engaged in the fruit trade 
between the Mediterranean ports and Boston and 
New York. For some years he commanded the 
"Caroline Nesmith," an oil painting of which his 
son, Dr. Clarence, now has. He married (first) 
Clara S. Foster, of Trenton, who died August -'7, 
1853; and (second 1 Cassilda Cousins, who v. is born 
June 17, 1846. and died at Portland, Maine, Novem- 
ber 12. 1892, aged forty-six. She was the daughter 

of Captain Elisha and (Wasgatt 1 1 ousins, 

of Mount Desert Island. Two children « 

of this union: Clarence W., and Mary Cordelia, 
who married Lincoln R. Weld, now of Chesterville, 
Maine. In 1S77. after the death of Captain Milliken, 
his widow married Harry A. Ross, and lived in 
I leering 

(VII) Dr. Clarente Wilton Milliken, only son 
of Cornelius \\ '. and Cassilda (Cousins) Milliken, 
was born in Trenton, Maine, October 27. [866 Mis 
father died when he was five years old. He first 
attended the country school at Deering and prepared 
for college at Westbrook Seminary. In 1804 he was 
graduated from Dartmouth College with the degree 
of M. D. He made his way through school by 
his own efforts. Soon after his graduation he 

ed an office and practiced eight years at Thetford, 
Vermont. In 1802 he removed to Manchester, New 
Hampshire, where he has worked hard at hi- pro- 
fession with gratifying success. He ha 
practice and for two years (1005-06) has hi 
office of city physician, He is a member "i the 
American Medical Association, the New Hampshire 
Medical Society, the Hillsboro Company Medical 
Society, the Manchester Medical Society, the Ver- 
mont Medical Society, Hillsborough County and 
Manchestei Medical Association, tie is a visiting 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



599 



physician and on the staff of the Elliott Hospital. 
He is a past master of Jackson Lodge, No. 60, An- 
cient, Free and Accepted Masons of Thetford, a 
past grand of Crystal Lake Lodge, No. 34. Indepen- 
dent Order of Odd Fellows, and past chief patriarch 
of Ridgley Encampment at Post Mills village. He 
is also a member of the Calumet Club and treasurer 
of the Maine Association, the two latter of Man- 
chester, He is a member of the First Congrega- 
tional church. He married, March 12, 1895, Ger- 
trude Chapman, born December 12, 1866, in Bethel, 
Maine, daughter of William L. and Eleanor (Frost) 
Chapman. She is also a member of the Congrega- 
tional Church, and active in missionary and char- 
ity work. 

(III) Samuel, sixth son and child of John and 
Elizabeth (Alger) Milliken. was baptized in Brat- 
tle Street Church, Boston, September 21, 1701. He 
was admitted to the First Church in Scarborough, 
Maine, by letter from a church in Boston, Septem- 
ber 17, 1732, the year after his settlement. He was 
a saddler by trade, and carried on business in Bos- 
ton as old letters prove. He served in the French 
war. and on his return from Louisburg, in 1745. died 
while singing a hymn of praise to God. According 
to Boston records he married Martha Fyfield. An- 
other account names his wife Martha Dodge, of 
Rowley, Massachusetts. His widow was living in 
Scarborough. March 22, 1764, and kept a tavern 
where public meetings were held. Their children 
were: Elizabeth, Martha, Jemima (died young), 
Samuel, John A., Jemima and James. 

(IV) John A., fifth child and second son of 
Samuel and Martha Milliken, was born September 
13- T 738, and settled in Scarborough, Maine, and was 
later a grantee of Trenton, Maine. He married 
Abigail Smith, of Truro, Massachusetts, April 21, 
1763, and they had six children or more, as follows: 
Samuel, Isaac, Alexander, Dorcas, Jemima and 
Rachel. 

(V) Samuel (2), eldest child of John A. and. 
Abigail (Smith) Milliken, was born in Scarborough. 
He married, June 30, 1785, Ann Andrews, and had 
four sons: John, Isaac, Amos and Arthur. 

(VI) Amos, third son and child of Samuel 
(2), and Ann (Andrews) Milliken. was born Feb- 
ruary 22, 17S8. He married Sally, daughter of Na- 
thaniel Milliken, December 18. 1809, and settled in 
Eaton. New Hampshire. (Mention of his son, 
Abram and descendants appears in this article). 

(VII) David, third son of Amos and Sally (Mil- 
liken) Milliken, was born in Eaton, New Hamp- 
shire, November 17, 1824, and died in Wilbraham, 
Massachusetts, October, 1888. When a young man 
he worked in the cotton mills of the York Manu- 
facturing Company at Saco, Maine. In 1864 he 
enlisted in the Twenty-second Illinois Volunteer In- 
fantry, and was commissioned captain of company. 
After the close of the war he was a dyer in the cot- 
ton mills at Three Rivers, Massachusetts. He mar- 
ried Jane P. Johnson, who was born in Denmark. 
Maine, December 31, 1825. She was the daughter of 
James Johnson, of Denmark, Maine. They had nine 
children: Nettie, infant son, James Irving. Almon 
Augustine, Roscoe Smith, William Ree. Frank Ar- 
thur. Jennie, and an infant son. (Mention of Ros- 
coe S.. and descendants appears in this article). 

(VIII) Almon Augustus, third son and fourth 
child of David and Jane P., (Johnson) Milliken, 
was born in Lewiston, Maine. June 13. 1S54. He 
attended school until he was seventeen years of 
age. and then worked a few years for his fathers 



Columbian mills at Greenville, New Hampshire, 
whence he went to Taunton, Massachusetts,' where 
he was employed in the cloth room of the Whitten- 
ton mills, and then to Holyoke and later to Palmer 
and Lowell. At the last named place he was over- 
seer of the Lawrence mills for thirteen years. He 
was next an overseer for two' or three years at the 
Falls Mills at Norwich, Connecticut, and in 1900, 
became superintendent in the Jackson Mills, in 
Nashua, New Flampshire, where he has since been 
employed. He is a member of Granite Lodge, No. 
1, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of Nashua, 
and of Chevalier Lodge, No. 2, Knights of Pythias, 
of Lowell. He is a member of Crown Hill Baptist 
Church, is its clerk and superintendent of its Sun- 
day school. He married, in North Bradford, Maine, 
October 1. 1S98, Emma Gowen, who was born in 
North Bradford, Maine, March 16, 1863, daughter of 
Samuel and Maria (Jenks) Gowen, of North Brad- 
ford. They have an adopted son, Wilber. 

(VIII) Roscce Smith, fourth son of David and 
Jane P. (Johnson) Milliken, was born in Saco, 
Maine, April 13, 1S56. He was educated in the com- 
mon schools and at Limerick Academy (Maine), 
from which later institution he graduated in 1873. 
After keeping books for a time in Three Rivers, 
Massachusetts, he became a traveling salesman and 
sold dyes for five years, traveling in the United 
States, and also in England and Scotland. On 
his return .to the United States he took the position 
of overseer of dyers at Thorndyke, Massachusetts, 
and afterward filled a like position at Three Rivers. 
In 1896 he was made superintendent of the Pember- 
ton Cotton Mills, at Lawrence, where he served till 
May 16, 1899, when he accepted the superintendence 
of the Nashua Manufacturing Company of Nashua, 
New Hampshire. His duties were performed in 
such a manner as to meet the cordial approval of 
his employers, and in November, 1903, he was made 
agent of the concern which place he has since filled. 
He is a director in the New England Cotton Man- 
ufacturing Company. He was made a Mason in> 
Thomas lodge at Palmer. Massachusetts, in tSSi. 
He is a member of Monadnock Lodge, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, of Lawrence. He married, 
December 24, 1880, at Worcester, Massachusetts, 
Mary E. Perkins, who was born at Pembroke. New 
Hampshire, July 13, i860, daughter of John P. and 
Lucy P. (Rowell) Perkins, of Pembroke. They 
have two children : Jane Pearl and Hazel May. 

(VII) Rev. Abram H.. seventh -child and 'fifth 
son of Amos and Sally (Milliken) Milliken, was 
born in Eaton, New Hampshire, July 12. 1S28 : and 
died in Nashua, February, 1896, aged sixty-eight. 
His first employment was in a cotton mill at Saco, 
Maine, where he worked for eight or ten years. 
Subsequently he engaged in the retail shoe business 
at Mechanic's Falls for years, and then removed to 
Laconia, New Hampshire, where he was overseer 
in a dye house. He enlisted in Company H, 
Twelfth, New Hampshire Volunteers as a private, 
August 14. 1862 ; was appointed second lieutenant, 
September 8. 1862 ; and was mustered in as second 
lieutenant, September 9, 1S62. He participated in 
the campaigns in which his regiment was engaged, 
and was in the battle of Chancellorsville, Virginia, 
March 3, 1S63. There he was the only commissioned 
officer not killed or disabled, and though wounded, 
took command of the regiment and brought it off* 
the field. For gallantry in action he was next day 
promoted to first lieutenant and as such served until 
August 23, 1864, when be was honorably discharged. 



6oo 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Afterward he attended Bates Theological Seminary, 
at L4wiston, Maine, two years and fitted tor the 
ministry. He hecame pastor of Free Baptists at 
Parker's Head. Maine, and afterward preached for 
terms of varying lengths at different points in New 
England. He married Rosalind C. Woodman, 
daughter of Eben G. Woodman. Two children were 
born of this marriage: Edward B. and Woodman A. 
(VIII) Edward Brown, son of Rev. Abram H. 
and Rosalind C. (Woodman) Milliken, was born 
February 2.!. 1867, in Poland, Maine. He was 
educated in the common schools and Myndon Insti- 
tute, St. Johnshury. Vermont. At the age of about 
seventeen years he began work in the dye house of 
the cotton mills, at Three Rivers, Massachusetts 
where he was employed several years. He was 
later employed at Thorndike. Massachusetts and 
Providence. Rhode Island; in the later place occupy- 
ing the position of superintendent of the Copp Dye- 
ing Company, resigning to become superintendent of 
Otis Company's dye house at Three Rivers. Mas- 
sachusetts. He was a traveling salesman for a time. 
In November, 1891, he returned to his former trade 
and took the position of superintendent of dyeing 
in the employ of the Nashua Manufacturing Com- 
pany. When he took charge of the department the 
amount dyed in a week was one thousand two hun- 
dred pounds ; its is now from seventy-five thousand 
to one hundred thousand pounds. Since Mr. Milli- 
ken has been a partner in the firm of Hartman & 
Company, dealers in automobiles. He was a thirty - 
51 .Miid degree Mason and Knight Templar. He was 
also a member of Granite Lodge. No. 1. Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows ; Nashua Lodge, No. ;. 
Knights of Pythias: and of Watanonnuck Tribe, 
Improved Order of Red Men. He was a member 
of tlie First Congregational Church, and cast his lot 
politically with the Republican party. He married, 
November 24. 1892, Elsie M. Warriner. who was 
born in Monson, Massachusetts. Julv =;. 1N0;, 
daughter of Andrew A. and Sarah J. (Wood) War- 
riner. of Mon-on, Massachusetts. Thev have three 
Idren, Blanche W., James R. and Bertha May. 
Edward Brown Milliken died December 4, 1906. 

One account of the origin of this 
STAPLES name states that it is derived from 
the village of Estaples, in France. 
'id that the descendants of the first ancestor of the 
lily in England, who probably crossed the chan- 
nel with William the Conqueror, changed it to its 
ent form. Another account declares that its 
ni in England antedates the Norman conquest, 
and a-serts that the first ancestor of the family to 
adopt a surname was either the inventor of the iron 
pie, or a maker of that useful appliance. An 
Irish family of considerable distinction bears the 
name oi Staples. Among the early colonizers of 
x ' « England were several of this name; all are 
supposed to have come from old England. John 
Maple- settled in what is now North Weymouth, 
Massachusetts, as early as 1636. and an Abraham 
Staples, wdio was of Dorchester in r6s& was married 
11 Weymouth. September 17, 1660, to Mary, d.meli 
1 f Robert Randall, and shortly afterwards went 

to Mendon, Massachusetts In 1640 three brothers 
tamed Staples— Peter. Thomas and another whose 
■ hristian name is now unknown — arrived at Kit 
. Maine. Thomas removed to ['airfield. Con 
lecticut, and Peter remained m Kittery. The name 
11. written Staple. 
<I) Peter Staple had a grant of land in Kittery 



in 1671, and on July 4, three years later, he pur- 
chased land of Thomas Turner, lie deeded land 
to his son and namesake in 1694. Five acres were 
measured and laid out to Peter Staple on March 
9. 1019. His will was made June 6. 1718, and pro- 
bated April 7, 1719, which indicates approximately 
the time of his death. His wife Elizabeth was prob- 
ably a widow of Steaven Edwards. She survived 
him and was alive in 1720. His will mentions his 
three sons, Peter. John and James. 

(II) Peter (2), son of Peter (1) Staples, was 
married January 8, 1696, to Mary Long, who was 
born in 1678. He was a carpenter by occupati 
and died December 17. 1721, leaving a widow and 
several children, namely: .Mary. Peter, Elizabeth, 
Robert. Anne. Enoch, Grace and Joshua. 

(.111) Joshua, youngest child of Peter (2) and 
Mary Staple, was born September 16, 1712, in Kit- 
tery and resided in that town. He was married 
January 17. 1735. to Abigail, daughter of John and 
Sarah Fernald. She died in August, 1761. and he 
subsequently married (second). Mary Ross. The 
children by the first wife were. Joshua. Abigail. 
Stephen. Alary. Lydia and Nathaniel. The children 
of his second marriage were, Elenor, Peter, John 
and Margaret. 

(IV) Joshua (2). eldest child of Joshua (1) 
and Abigail (Fernald) Staple, was born December 
12. 1738. in Kittery. ami resided in Berwick, Maine. 
He was married January 27, 1761, to Hephsibah 
Hanscom. 

(V) Stephen, son of Joshua (2) and Hephsibah 
(Hanscom) Staple, was born in Berwick, and lived 
in that part of the town which is now South Ber- 
wick. The maiden name of his wife was Hill, and 
his last days were spent in Tamworth, New Hamp- 
shire. 

(VI) Stephen (2), son of Stephen (1), born in 
Berwick, married Fanny Burns (or Barns) id' Ips- 
wich. Massachusetts, and died in Boylston, that 
state, in 1872. He was the father of six children, 
namely: Marian, born in Great Falls. New Hamp- 
shire; John, died March 10, 1875; Samuel, died in 
infancy; George, of whom there is no information 
at hand: Lucy Frances, who became the wife of 
Selden Crockett ; and Stephen, who is referred to 
at length in the succeeding paragraph. 

(VII) Stephen (3), youngest son and child of 
Stephen (2) and Fanny (Bums) Staples, was horn 
August 28, 1837. He was a stone mason, and set- 
tling at Laconia in 1862, he followed his trade there 
for a number of years. Included among his build- 
ing operations was a residence for his own occu- 
pancy, which he subsequently sold, and purchasing a 
farm, he devoted some ten years to tilling the soil. 
He was in everj way an exemplary citizen, and his 
death, which occurred November 16. 1893. was the 
cause of general regret. On August 20. 18(11. he 
was united in marriage, by the Rev. ti. I' Warren, 
with Betsey E. Campbell, daughter of William and 
Mary Aim (Wood) Campbell. After the death of 
her husband she removed to the city of Laconia. 
and is still residing there Mrs. Staples is the 
mother of eight children: Georgiana, born June 3. 
1862, became the wife of Frederick G. Lougee. and 
has one s.ni. Earl I"., born December 2. 1887; Frank 
Albert, born January 24. 18(14. married Anna O. 

1 ■ 1 trier, June 29. 18S7. and has three children — 
Bessie M . Helen ami Marguerite: Ellen lane, born 
October 26, 1867. became tin- wife of George C. 
(lark, and died March 21. 1895. leaving one daugh 
ter. I.elia \m> Clark, born January 13. 1N88; Clara 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



60 1 



Alice, horn August 16. 1870, became the wife of 
Benjamin Sargent, of Plymouth ; Arthur Thomas, 
born December 17. 1872. married Sarah E. Davis, 
December 27, 1897; Charles Nelson, born April 10, 
1S75. died the following day; Etta Evelyn, born 
May 31, 1S76. is now the wife of Henry Baker; 
and Nina Maud, born April 13, 1883 (?), married 
William E. Clement. 



The name Appleton is of Saxon 

AI'PLETON origin (Apleton — Saxon, orchard") 
and was used to distinguish the 
names of places before the Norman conquest, as it 
occurs in different parts of "Doomsday Book" both 
in York and Norfolk. England, as "Appletuna, 
Appletona," etc. It began to be used to designate 
names of persons as early as 1216, during the time 
of Henry III, when mention is made of one Mabilia 
de Apleton, etc. The christian names being all 
Norman, such as William. John, Henry, Edward, 
the family also is probably of Norman descent, and 
took the name from the place where land was 
granted to some of its members; and is variously 
spelled Apylton, Apilton, Apelton, Apeltun. Apulton, 
Appulton, Apetone, and in some of its various forms 
occurs quite frequently in the old county historic-, 
of Kent and Essex. 

Hasted*s "History of Kent" says "these Apul- 
tons or Appletons are supposed to be descended 
from a family seated in Great Waldingfield, in Nor- 
folk" (diocese) and also that "Edward Isaac, de- 
scendant of William Isaac. Esq., gave the manor 
of Upper Garwinton to his two daughters namely — 
Mary, married to Thomas Appleton, Esq., of Suf- 
folk, and Margaret, married to a son of John 
Jermyn." The parish registers of Little Walding- 
field between 1574 and 1640 make frequent allusion 
of the Appletons. and in some heraldic notices of 
the family of De Peyton of Payton Hall. Suffolk, it 
is stated that "Sir Roger de Payton, who died 25th 
of Edward III (1351) married Lady Christiana de 
Apleton, who was heir to land in Boxford and Hax- 
well. and who died 19th of Edward II, and was 
buried at Stoke. Neyland, Suffolk, with great pomp." 
At the Herald's Office is a record signed Robert 
Appleton. at the visitation in 1664. and mentions 
Thomas Appleton. Esq.. of Little Waldingfield, John 
Appleton. Esq.. of Chilton, and Robert Appleton of 
Preston, barrister at law. Preston is about ten miles 
from Waldingfield. 

Not all of the name of Appleton in this country 
are of the ancient line founded by Samuel Appleton, 
who came from Waldingfield, England, in 1635. He 
has a numerous progeny scattered throughout Amer- 
ica The line herein traced begins at a considerable 
later period in this country, and with a name which 
was not Appleton. This line arose in a family which 
changed the name after arrival in this country, 
from Alcock to Appleton. 

I 1 1 Robert Alcock, born 1743, in London, Eng- 
land, was a merchant in that city, and later in 
Salem, Massachusetts. He removed from Salem 
to Weare ( . New 1 lamp-hire, in 1775, being then 
thirty-two years of age, and in the following year 
settled in the town of Deering. There he was a 
store keeper and farmer, and was much employed 
in town and state affairs. He signed the associa- 
tion test in Weare. and in the summer of 1777. in 
response to the Ticonderoga alarms, he served in 
Captain Ninian Aiken's company of Colonel Daniel 
Moor's regiment of the militia. He was a select- 
man and town clerk of Deering many years, and 



beginning with 1794 he was a representative eleven 
consecutive years. He was a state senator four 
years, and in the year 1804 he was chosen both a 
representative and senator. His legislative service 
was terminated by his appointment in 1809 to the 
office of judge of Hillsboro county court, and this 
position he continued to fill until he was disquali- 
fied by age. Judge Alcock was a man of sturdy 
traits of character and of good ability. Of him 
George C. Patton wrote, "As a member of the 
church, in a private and public capacity, no man 
ever more drew the confidence and esteem of his 
fellow townsmen." He was three times married. 
The wife of his younger years was Elizabeth Ma- 
rong; later he married Elizabeth Currier, and his 
third wife was Mary Currier. He died in Deering 
in May. 1830, aged eighty-seven years. His chil- 
dren were: Mansil, Robert, Elizabeth, John, James, 
Benjamin, Joseph. Samuel. William, Betsy, Nancy, 
Sally and Ann. Most of the children of this family 
changed the name to Appleton and as such it has 
come down to the present time. 

(II) James Appleton, one of the elder sons 
above named of Robert AIcock-Appleton, was a 
native of Deering. and settled in Hillsboro. His 
first wife was Polly Stuart, and the second 
was a Taylor. His children were : Nancy, Henry, 
James M.. Mary, Aura, Clarissa and Charles. 

(III) James M.. son of James Appleton, was 
born at Manselville, New Hampshire, 181 1, and was 
a boy when his parents removed from that town to 
Deering, New Hampshire He was brought up to, 
farm work, and after marriage bought a farm in that 
nart of the town known as West Deering. where 
he afterwards lived and died. May 20, 1886. In 
1839 he married Caroline McCoy, of Antrim, born 
in 1818, and died August 24, 1901. She was a 
daughter of Thomas and Betsey (McCalley) Mc- 
Coy, granddaughter of Ensign John and Margaret 
McCoy, and great-granddaughter of Deacon Alex- 
ander McCoy, whose ancestors went from Argyle- 
shire, Scotland, to Ireland, and from there came to 
this country, settling in Londonderry, New Hamp- 
shire, and in the part of that town which afterward 
was set off to form the town of Windham. James 
M. and Caroline (McCoy) Appleton had three 
children: Alfred Appleton, born March 19, 1841: 
Frank D. Appleton, born January 14, 1849, and died 
December 18, 1904: Fred E. Appleton, born April 
10, 1855. 

(IV) Frank D.. second child and son of 
James M. and Caroline ( McCoy) Appleton. 
was born in the town of Deering, on the 
place where his father lived after his re- 
moval from Hillsborough, and which since 
that time has remained in the family. He was edu- 
cated in public schools and Deering Academy, and 
lived at home on the farm until 1876, when he se- 
cured a position in the passenger service of the 
Boston & Albany Railroad Company. He was in 
that employ about ten years, and on the death of 
his father in 1886 returned to his home in Deering. 
took charge of the farm and afterwards became its 
owner. It is one of the historic places of the town, 
and is associated with many interesting memories, 
for once it was the site of a famous hostelry, 
"Appleton's Inn." a popular place of rest and enter- 
tainment during the days of the mail and passenger 
stages. However, during the ownership of Mr. Ap- 
pleton the buildings were remodeled, the farm 
greatly improved and the surroundings changed and 
made more modern. Mr. Appleton was a thrifty 



<>!>_ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



farmer, and made his occupation a success. He 
served as postmaster at West Deering eighteen 
years, and his father served about fifty years. He 
married, January 25, 1881, Anna Lucetta Tuttle, 
who was born in Antrim, Xew Hampshire, Sep- 
tember I, 1855. She is a daughter and youngest 
of three children of Isaac M. and Sophronia 
(Chase) Tuttle, granddaughter of Benjamin and 
Aim (McAllister) Tuttle, great-granddaughter of 
Sampson and Submit (.Warren) Tuttle, and great- 
great-granddaughter of Samuel and Martha (Shat- 
tuck) Tuttle. Samuel Tuttle was born in 1709, and 
married Martha Shattuck in 1729. She was a 
daughter of the Rev. Benjamin Shattuck, the first 
minister of the church in Littleton, Massachusetts. 
Isaac M. Tuttle, father of Mrs. Appleton, was born 
in Hillsborough in 1813, removed to Antrim in 1840, 
and purchased the Houston and McAllister places. 
His children are: Miles Benton Tuttle, born June 
22, 1845, married Lizzie A. Marshall, and died March 
5, 1906; Lucy A. Tuttle, born October 24, 1S49, 
married Scott Moore; and Anna Lucetta Tuttle, 
who became the wife of Frank D. Appleton. Xo 
children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Appleton. 



Numerically speaking, the Pratt family 
PRATT as a whole is a large one and has many 
branches. Many of these are the pos- 
terity of one common ancestor — Mathew Pratt of 
Weymouth, Massachusetts — and his male descend- 
ants established branch families in various towns in 
Norfolk, Plymouth and Bristol counties. The Pratts 
of America are undoubtedly of English origin, but 
thus far little or no investigation has been made 
relative to their history prior to the settlement of 
New England. 

(I) The emigrant ancestor was Mathew Pratt, 
who settled in Weymouth before 1628, as the town 
records state that he married there and had a son 
born prior to that year. He evidently landed at 
Plymouth, hut there is no record of his arrival there 
or any where else. He may have come with the 
company of colonists sent over by Thomas Weston 
in 1622, as his land was located among the grants 
of the original settlers, or he was perhaps a mem- 
ber of the Gorges expedition. At all events he was 
one of the earliest settlers in Weymouth, and a 
prominent resident, serving frequently as a towns- 
man (or selectman), and is referred to in Cotton 
Mather's "Magnalia" as a very religious man. His 
death occurred August 29, 1672. He married Eliza- 
beth Bate (probably Bates) and had a family of 
seven children, namely: Thomas, Matthew, John. 
Samuel, Joseph, Elizabeth and Mary. 

(II) Joseph (1), fifth child and youngest son E 
Mathew and Elizabeth (Bate) Pratt, was born in 
Weymouth, June 10, 1637. He was prominent in 
both town and church affairs, and held vai ii 
elective offices and appointment- between the years 
prior t" 1710 ["he town clerk saw fit to record 
that he cut live hundred shingles for his house in 
1657, and that in 1681 he was appointed to cut five 
cords of wood for the pastor. He served l l< 
viewer, war- warden, and highway surveyor: was 
appointed to lay out lots of land adjoining In- own; 
and in 1682 was one of a committee chosen to 
rebuild the meeting-house. Mis name appears among 
the freeholders listed in [693. His will bears the date 
of March 5. 1719, and he died December 24 of the 
following year. May 7. 1662, he married Sarah 
Judkins, who was born in 1638 and died January 
14, 1726. In his will he mentions In- children in 



the following order : Joseph, John, \ 
Ephraim, Sarah, Experience, Hannah and San 

(III) Joseph (2), eldest son and child of Joseph 

(1) and Sarah (Judkins) Pratt, was born in Wey- 
mouth, February 2, 1665. As one of his legs was 
a trifle shorter than the other he was nicknamed 
"Little-leg Joe," and in the town records he is styled 
Joseph, Jr. There is evidence that he was engaged 
in business with his cousin Matthew. In 1704 he 
sold a mill in Abington, and either in that or the 
following year he removed to Bridgewater, Massa- 
chusetts, residing there until his death, which oc- 
curred January 14, 1765, at the advanced age of 
nearly one hundred years. An obituary notice in 
the Boston Neivs Letter of January 31, 1765, states 
that "he was a man of good character and religious 
profession." He held town offices both in Wey- 
mouth and Bridgewater. He was fir>t married to 
Sarah Benson, of Hull, Massachusetts, who died 
prior to 1721, in which year he was married a 
second time to Anne Richards, of Weymouth. She 
died March 21, 1766, aged ninety-two years. Sarah, 
his first wife, bore him twenty children, but in 1755. 
when his will was made, only seven were living, 
namely : Joseph, Nathaniel, Benjamin, Solomon, 
David, Samuel and Sarah. Of his second union 
there were no children. 

(IV) Benjamin, third son of Joseph Pratt and 
his first wife, was born in 1693, and lived probably 
both at Weymouth and Bridgewater, Massachusetts. 
In 1719 he married Sarah, daughter of Henry King- 
man, and they had seven children: Benjamin (2), 
Nathan, John, Bethiah, Susanna, Silence and Ann. 
Benjamin Pratt died in 1762, and his widow died 
five years later. 

(V) Captain Benjamin (2), eldest son of Ben- 
jamin (1) and Sarah (Kingman) Pratt, was born 
in 1719, possibly in Bridgewater, Massachusetts. 
He probably moved to Middleboro, for in 1757 he 
commanded a company from that town which was 
engaged about Fort Henry during the French and 
Indian war. Captain Pratt is described as a man 
noted for his bravery and sagacity. In 1741 he 
married Lydia Harlow, but the names of his chil- 
dren are not recorded except William, wh - - sketch 
follows. 

(VI) Captain William, son of Captain Benjamin 

(2) and Lydia (Harlow) Pratt, was born at North 
Middleboro, Massachusetts, April 6, 1740 lie 
rendered efficient service during the Re* ami 
was an extensive land owner about Middlch 1 

(VII) William (2), son of Captain William it) 
Pratt, was born February t. 1787, probably at Mid- 
dleboro. Massachusetts. He married Polly — and the 
names of three children are recorded: Albert ii. 
mentioned below; William, born 1813, and Anthony, 
born 1815. 

(VIII) Albeit G., eldest child of William (2) 
and Polly Pratt, was born July 24, 181 1. probably 
at Middleboro, Massachusetts, He was a farmer, 
and may have been the Albert Pratt who is men- 
tioned as a manufacturer of fire-frames a( Middle- 
boro during the early part of the nineteenth century. 
Albert S. Pratt married Elizabeth White Parsons, 
and they had eight children 

(IN ) Harrison < Itis, - n of Albert G. and Eliza- 
beth White (Parsons') Pratt, was born at Bridge- 
water, Massachusetts, September 28, 1843. He was- 
a shoemaker by trade, and during the ' ivil war 
enlisted in Company M. First Massachusetts Heavy 
\rtillerv. lie sustained a sunstroke at Cold Har- 
bor, and it brought on tuberculosis which ultimately 




A 



^^W^ &4*. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



603. 



caused his death. He married Cordania Eaton Per- 
kins, daughter of Elijah Eaton and Elizabeth 
(Eddy) Perkins, of M-ddleboro, Massachusetts. 
They had one child, Harry Sumner, whose sketch 
follows. Harrison O. Pratt died in 1875. For her 
second husband she married Dr. S. L. Grasey, 
U. S. Consul at Foochow, China. 

(X) Harry Sumner, only child of Harrison Otis 
and Cordania (Perkins) Pratt, was born at Bridge- 
water, Massachusetts, March 4, 1874. He was edu- 
cated in the common schools of his native town, at 
Pratt Free School, Middleboro, at Phillips Acad- 
emy, Andover, Massachusetts, from which he was 
graduated in 1893, at the University of Pennsyl- 
vania, and at Dartmouth Medical College, from 
which he was graduated in 1899. He had one year's 
experience at the Bridgewater Hospital in Massa- 
chusetts, one year at the Mary Hitchcock Hospital 
at Hanover, New Hampshire, and six months at 
the Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston. In 
1903 Dr. Pratt moved to Bethlehem, New Hamp- 
shire, on account of the threatened attack of tubercu- 
losis, and he has been practicing in that town ever 
since. He belongs to the New Hampshire Medical 
Association, the American Medical Association, and 
is much interested in the Masonic fraternity. He 
is a member of the lodge at Littleton, New Hamp- 
shire, Hiram Council, St. Gerard Chapter, Edward 
A. Raymond Consistory, and Bektash Shrine, at 
Concord, New Hampshire. Dr. Pratt is a Repub- 
lican in politics, and attends the Methodist Episco- 
pal Church. On December 24, 1897, he married 
Mary Edna, daughter of Charles M. and Susan M. 
Wheeler, of Waltham, Massachusetts. They have 
one son, Edward Sumner, born July 3, 1902, at 
Hanover, New Hampshire. In August, 1907, Dr. 
Pratt moved to Lancaster to continue in practice 
of general medicine. 

(Second Family.) 

(I) John Pratt was an early resident of Dor- 
chester, Massachusetts, and was admitted a freeman 
May 14, 1634. He was, no doubt, of ancient origin, 
but little is found concerning his movements. He 
joined the church January 27, 1642, and died in 1647. 
He had three children : John, of Medlield, Timothy 
and Elizabeth. 

(II) John (2). son of John (1) Pratt, was born 
in Dorchester and was married in 1661 to Rebecca 
Colburn of Dedham, Massachusetts. They settled 
in Medfield in 1665 and resided on the homestead 
formerly owned by Henry Glover, where John Pratt 
died in 1707, aged seventy-seven years. His chil- 
dren, born between 1662 and 1684, were : Rebecca, 
Mary, John, Samuel, Hannah, Timothy, Nathaniel, 
Priscilla, Joseph, Mehitabel, Sarah, Elizabeth and 
Deborah. 

(III) John (3), eldest son and third child of 
John (2) and Rebecca (Colburn) Pratt, was born 
in 1665 in Medfield, Massachusetts, and settled in 
Reading, same colony, where he died in 1744. He 
was married in 1691 to Sarah Batchelder, who was 
born July 9, 1670. in Reading, Massachusetts, 
daughter of John Batchelder. She survived him 
about seven years and died in 17-51. Their children 
were : John, Sarah, Samuel, Rebecca, Edward and 
Timothy. 

(IV) Timothy, youngest child of John (3) and 
Sarah (Batchelder) Pratt, was born 1702 in Read- 
ing and lived on the paternal homestead in that town 
where he was a farmer. He was married in 1724 
to Tabitha Boutwell, who was born 1700, daughter 
of John and Grace (Eaton) Boutwell. He was mar- 



ried (second), in 1737 to Abigail, whose surname is 
not preserved. She was the mother of three chil- 
dren and there were five by the first wife, namely : 
Dorcas (who was the grandmother of Cyrus Wake- 
field), Timothy, Tabitha, John, Abigail, Isaac and 
Sarah. 

(V) Isaac Pratt, sixth child of Timothy and 
second child of his (second) wife Abigail, was born 
1740 in Reading, and became a substantial citizen 
of that town where he died in 1829 about eighty- 
nine years old. He was married in 1763 to Me- 
hitabel Nichols, daughter of Richard and Mary 
(Williams) Nichols of Reading. They were the 
parents of the following children, born from 1764 
to 1788: Lucy; Timothy; William; Thomas, a 
graduate of Dartmouth, who taught in Maine and 
Pennsylvania and died in the latter state ; Sally 
and Abigail (twins); Thaddeus; Polly; Loea and 
Susan. 

(VI) Loea, fifth son and ninth child of Isaac 
and Mehitabel (Nichols) Pratt, was born April 
-.3. l 7S>5, in Reading, and died in Amherst, New 
Hampshire, July 11, 1875, aged ninety. He .settled 
on Christian Hill, in Amherst, about 1813, and was 
a carpenter and farmer. He was a useful and 
exemplary citizen, and filled the office of tax col- 
lector of Amherst for several years. He married 
(first), Lucy Hartshorn, December 22, 1814. She 
was born September 22, 1796, daughter of Edward 
and Lucy (Elliott) Hartshorn, of Amherst. She 
died November 4, 1841, aged forty-five, and he mar- 
ried (second), Rebecca Wallace, of Milford. The 
children, all by the first wife, were : Edward H., 
a graduate of Dartmouth, was a physician ; Stephen 
H., also a physician, practiced in Baltimore ; Fred- 
eric N., died in youth : and William, whose sketch. 
follows next. 

(VII) William Pratt, youngest child of Loea and 
Lucy (Hartshorn) Pratt, was born on his father's 
homestead in Amherst, March 31, 1830. He is en- 
gaged in farming, paying special attention to dairy- 
ing and fruit raising, and has the farm his father 
settled on nearly one hundred years ago. Mr. Pratt 
has always been well toward the front in matters of 
public interest, and has creditably filled the offices 
of selectman, moderator and representative. He 
married, March 3, 1864. Lucy Elliott, born July 
II, 1829, daughter of Luther and Esther (Damon) 
Elliott, of Amherst. (See Elliott IV). 



Among the pioneer names of 
WHITCOMB southwestern New Hampshire, 

and of New England, this name is 
still represented by intelligent, useful and respected 
citizens. In the clearing of the wilderness and the 
development of the forces of civilization it has 
borne an honorable part. 

(I) John Whitcomb was one of many who 
came from Dorchester, England, in 1633, and set- 
tled at Dorchester, Massachusetts, and was a mem- 
ber of the church there in 1638. Two years later 
he is found as a resident of Scituate, where he was 
possessed of a farm of over one hundred acres, 
which he sold to Thomas Hicks, in 1649. He re- 
moved to Lancaster in 1652, and was a signer of 
town orders there in that year. He died Septem- 
ber 24, 1662, in Lancaster, and was survived by 
his wife, Frances, who passed away May 17, 1671. 
Their children are noted as follows : John was 
drowned April 7, 1683. Jonathan died in 1690, and 
his widow was killed by the Indians in 1692. Job- 
settled in Wethersfield. Connecticut. Josiah re- 



6i 14 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ceives further mention below. Robert lived in Scit- 
uate. There were daughter*. Kathcrine, Abigail 
and Mary. 

(II) Josiah, fourth son of John and Frances 
Whitcomb, was married in Lancaster, January 4. 
[664, to Rebecca Waters, and lived in that part of 
the town now Bolton, where he died April 12. 1718. 
His children were: Josiah. David. Rebecca. Joanna, 
Mary. Damans. Abigail, Hezekiah and Deborah. 

( III ) Josiah (2), son of Josiah ( 1 ) and Rebecca 
(Waters) Whitcomb, was born January 7. 1666, in 
Lancaster, where it is probable that he lived all his 
life. 

(IV) Captain Joseph, son of Josiah (2) Whit- 
comb, was born in 1700. He married, in Lancaster, 
January 20, 1725, Damaris Priest, daughter of John 
Priest. They were admitted to the church in that 
town, February 6, 1732, and probably lived in that 
part now known as Leominster. He held a com- 
mission under the king and led a company at the 
siege of Louisburg in 1745. He was a lieutenant of 
the fourth company under Captain John Warner 
and Colonel Samuel Willard in the Crown Point 
expedition of 1755. In 1758 lie was lieutenant in 
the regiment commanded by Colonel Timothy Rug- 
gles in the conquest of Canada. Captain Whitcomb 
was one of the proprietors of Keene, New Hamp- 
shire, in 1753, but settled in Swanzey, in 1760, with 
his sons. In that year he and his wife were ad- 
mitted to the church there by letter from the 
Church of Leominster, which town was set off from 
Lancaster in 1740. Captain Whitcomb and his sons 
built saw and grist mills at West Swanzey, on the 
privilege now occupied by the Stratton Mills. The 
father died November, 1792. All the sons were 
soldiers in the revolution. Lieutenant Joseph, the 
eldest, served a month at Ticonderoga. in 1776, and 
one month in the western army in 1777. He settled 
at Grafton, Vermont. 

Colonel Elisha was a major in the expedition 
against Canada in 1776, serving eleven months and 
eight days and served twelve days at Otter Creek 
in 1777. On September 16, 1771, he purchased of 
Benjamin Whitcomb, for two hundred and forty 
pounds, a mill and three hundred acres of land at 
Westmoreland, Ne-,v Hampshire. This he sold Oc- 
i' ber 15, 1773. to Josiah Richardson, of Keene. At 
the battle of Bunker Hill, Philemon was a lieuten- 
ant under General James Reed, and his brothers. 
Jonathan. Elisha and Abijah. were in the same ac- 
tion. The last named served eight and one-half 
months in the campaign of that year. Captain 
Joseph Whitcomb' S children were: Abigail, Joseph, 
Damaris, Benjamin, Jonathan Priest, Elisha, Eliza- 
beth. Philemon, Abijah and Anna. ( Mention of 
Philmon and descendants forms a part of this 
article. ) 

(V) Jonathan Priest, third son and fifth child 
of Captain Joseph and Damaris (Priest) Whitcomb, 
was born 1739. probably in Lancaster, Massachu- 
setts lb- was in command of the largest company 
of Colonel James Reed's regimenl at Lexington, in 
April. 1775. On June 21, the records show, he had 
fifty-nine men. and was stationed at Cambridge. 
between Colonel Reed's barracks and the ferry. He 
was encamped on Winter Hill with seventy men 
from Keene and Swan/ey. and receipted October 13, 
r77S, f° r f°"r dollars for each man for coats fur- 
nished by New Hampshire On November 16. In- 
receipted for shoes. A court of inquiry to examine 
into controversy between Captains Marcy and Whit 
comb, in which the former accused the latter of 



cowardice, found that Captain Whitcomb deserved 
no censure, but '"manifested a spirit of intrepidity 
and resolution." He died June 13, 1792, and his 
regiment of militia attended his funeral, making a 
cortege one and one-half miles long. His horse 
with empty saddle was led behind the bearers. He 
kept the first store and tavern in Swanzey, and he 
and his wife often made horseback trips to Boston, 
bringing goods for the store in their saddlebags. 

He married, September 5, 17(14. Dorothy Carter, 
of Lancaster, Massachusetts, who was born 1745. 
and died October 22. 1S27. Their children were : 
Dorothy. Jonathan, John, died young ; Nathan. John. 
Ephraim, died young; Damaris, Anna, Ephraim and 
Salome. ( Mention of Nathan and descendants fol- 
lows, in this article.) 

(VI) Jonathan, eldest son and second child of 
Colonel Jonathan P. and Dorothy (Carter) Whit- 
comb. was born September 20. 1766, in Swanzey. 
and was a farmer in that town. He died December 
13, 1844. He married, May II, 1786, Miriam Wil- 
lard, and their children were: Polly, Susan. Doro- 
thy, Miriam. Willard, Myla. Harriet. Jonathan, 
Aaron. Ira., Vesta and Roswell. 

(VII) Roswell, youngest child of Jonathan (2) 
and Miriam (Willard) Whitcomb, was born April 
6, 1814, in Swanzey. He was a farmer in that town, 
where he died November 6. 1898. Up to the age of 
thirty-two years he lived about the center of the 
town and then moved to the southern part, where 
he continued until 1875. In that year he retired 
from farming and removed to the village of West 
Swanzey, where the remainder of his life was passed. 
He married (first), in March. 1838. Rhoda, daugh- 
ter of Fisher and Rhoda (Clark) Bullard, of Swan- 
zey. She was the seventh generation from Benja- 
min Bullard. of Watertown. Massachusetts, and 
was born May 4. 1815, in Swanzey, where she died 
March 8. 1852. Mr. Whitcomb married (second), 
in March, 1853, Mary A., daughter of Israel and 
Lydia M. (Bishop) Gunn. of Swanzey. Massachu- 
setts. She was born March 2. 1837. and died March 
12. 1866. Mr. Whitcomb married (third). May 4, 
[868, Anna A„ widow of Harden Albee. and daugh- 
ter of Captain Calvin May, of Gilsum, New Hamp- 
shire. She was born September 5, 181Q. and died 
October 12, 1888. Mr. Whitcomb married (fourth). 
June to. 1880. Maria A. daughter of Laban and 
Polly (Jackson) Starkey. of Swanzey, She was 
born April 21, 1824. and is still living in West Swan- 
zey. His children were as follows: Hiram R., 
George E., Mary Selina. Arthur II.. the last being 
a child of the second wife. 

(VIII) George Edwin, second son and child of 
Roswell and Rhoda (Bullard) Whitcomb, was born 

July I, 1841, in Swanzey. lie was educated in the 
common schools of his native town, and early turned 
his attention to the cultivation of his home farm, 
on which he remained until he was thirty-four 
years of age. During this time, for a considerable 
period, he operated a small stave mill. In 1876 he 
went to West Swanzey. and bought the interest of 
E. F. Reed in C. L. Rus-ell &■ Co., and for twenty- 
three years conducted a successful business there 
in the manufacture of pails and buckets. At the end 
of that period the plant was destroyed by fire, and 
subsequent to this Mr. Whitcomb engaged with A. 
H. & G. E. Whitcomb. Jr.. in the manufacture of 
pails, packages and boxes, ill the same village, the 
business being now conducted under the style of 
Whitcomb Manufacturing Company. Mr. Whit- 
comb takes an active interest in the affairs of his 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



605. 



town, state and nation, and endeavors to contribute 
his proportion towards the progress and prosperity 
of his native land, lie has been frequently called 
upon to serve the town in various capacities, having 
acted as moderator and town treasurer, and is at 
the present time one of the board of selectmen. In 
1800-91 he represented the town in the state legis- 
lature. He has always adhered to the Democratic 
party in political divisions. He married, November 
12, 1863, Fostina W., daughter of Aquila and Lovisa 
(Whitcomb) Ramsdell, of Swanzey. She was born 
January 14, 1838, in that town, and is the mother of 
three children : Edna C. and George E. are living 
and Walter E., the youngest, died before seven 
months old. 

(VI) Nathan, third son and fourth child of 
Colonel Jonathan Priest and Dorothy (Carter) 
Whitcomb, was born May 14, 1770. He married, 
October 23, 1891, Penelope White, of Milford. Mas- 
sachusetts, who was born 1771, and died March 15, 
1850. Their children were : Leonard, Carter, Otis, 
Alba, Nathan, Lyman and Eliza. 

(VII) Colonel Carter, second son and child 
of Nathan and Penelope (White) Whitcomb, was 
born February 9, 1794, in Swanzey, and died in that 
town, May 1, 1879. He married, December 26, 1815, 
Lucy Baker, of Marlboro, born February 4. 1704, 
and died October 3, 1890. Their children were : 
Alonzo, Carter J., Baker, Byron, Clement G., Lucy, 
Jane, Henry and Homer. The youngest daughter 
was born March 9, 1834, and is now the wife of 
George Carpenter. (See Carpenter XVI.) 

(V) Philemon, fourth son of Captain Joseph and 
Damaris (Priest) Whitcomb, was born October 29, 
1748, in Leominster, Massachusetts, and died in 
Swanzey, New Hampshire, January 10. 1824. At 
the time of his deatli he was a major general of the 
state militia. He was major of the first batallion, 
Sixth New Hampshire Militia, in 1796, and was 
made major general in 1S10. He was one of those 
who rode on horseback to Lexington on the alarm 
' n '775, and he served four months in 1777. By oc- 
cupation he was a cloth dresser and operated a saw 
mill, and was very successful as a business man. To 
each of his ten children he gave a farm. His first 
wife. Martha, was bgrn 1755, and died December 
17. 1816. He was married June 3, 1818. to Mrs. 
Amasa Aldrich. His children, all born of the first 
marriage, were : Martha, Jotham, Silence. Susannah, 
Philemon, Benjamin, Elisha, Damaris, Abijah. Fan- 
ny, Betsey and Job. 

(VI) Abijah. fifth son and ninth child of Gen- 
eral Philemon Whitcomb, resided in Swanzey, and 
operated mills. He was a very large-hearted and ac- 
commodating man. and laid up little of this world's 
goods. It is related in illustration of his character 
that, on one occasion, being applied' to for some dry 
lumber and having none on hand, he took up the 
attic floor of his house to accommodate the custo- 
mer. He married (first), November 22. t8to. Jo- 
anna Holbrook of Swanzey. who died March ti, 
181 1. He married (second). December I, 1814. 
Lucy, daughter of Dr. Richard Stratton. She was 
born November 23, 1796, and died March 31, i860. 
He died in iS^i. His children were: Jonas Hol- 
brook, Emery, Elbridge Gerry. Pemelia, Emery, Jo- 
anna and Charles Adams. The first was the only 
child of the first wife, and the second was drowned 
in infancy. One of his sons, Jonas Holbrook Whit- 
comb, was connected with the Tremont House in 
Boston for many years, and finally became one of its 
proprietors. 

(VII) Elbridge Gerry, son of Abijah and Lucy 



(Stratton) Whitcomb, was born October 3, 1S17, in 
Swanzey, New Hampshire, and died June 7, 1895, 
in Keene. He spent some time on the farm of 
his guardian, Ahaz Howard, in Swanzey. Possessed 
of unusual business aptitude, young Whitcomb 
pushed his way to success by his own endeavors. 
He enjoyed but few advantages of schooling. He 
also worked on the farm of Thomas Prime, who 
served as the model of "Cy. Prime," in Denman 
Thompson's celebrated rural play, "The Old Home- 
stead." When fourteen years old he went to Keene 
and found employment with Everett New- 
comb, a manufacturer of spinning wheels and wheel 
heads. He studied some by himself and developed a 
fondness for reading. Later he became a clerk in a 
clothing store, and five years after attaining his 
majority established a business of his own, which is 
still conducted by one of his sons, opening a clothing 
store in Keene. January 18, 1843. While he was 
public-spirited and took an intelligent interest in the 
progress of events, he gave nearly all his time to the 
prosecution of his business. For many years after 
the success of his establishment was substantially se- 
cured, he was wont to take his midday luncheon in 
his store, in order that no patron from the rural dis- 
tricts might be delayed in receiving attention at that 
time. He was a very successful salesman, was 
pleasing in address, and was considered a remark- 
able business man. He contributed largely to the 
Court Street Congregational Church of Keene. 
Though not in politics for self-interest, he was one 
of the founders of the Republican party in this lo- 
cality and continued one of its most faithful sup- 
porters until his death. He was strongly opposed 
to Freemasonry, but in his later years acknowledged 
that his prejudice was unfounded and rejoiced to see 
his sons advanced in the order. 

Mr. Whitcomb married, November 18. 1844, 
Salome Newcomb, daughter of Everett and Hannah 
( Buckminster) Newcomb, of Norton, Massachusetts. 
She was born February 19, 1822. in Roxbury, New 
Hampshire. Her grandfather, I Inn. John New- 
comb, was a Revolutionary soldier and a member of 
the New Hampshire legislature in 1820. Following 
is a brief account of Mr. Whitcomb's children : 
Fanny, became the wife of George Norman Bigelow, 
A. M., who was for eleven years principal of the 
Normal School at Framingham, Massachusetts. He 
subsequently taught in Newburyport, and for nine- 
teen years in Brooklyn. New York, where he died 
in [887. She afterward taught in New York, and 
for ten years has been a teacher in the private 
school of the Misses Gilman on Commonwealth ave- 
nue, Boston. Jonas Fred, in the clothing business 
in Keene. . Frank Herbert, city clerk of that city. 
Edward .Everett, has charge of the cutting and 
tailoring department in his brother's business. 

(VIII) Frank Herbert, second son and third 
child of Elbridge Gerry and Salome (Newcomb) 
Whitcomb, was born February 28, 1850, in Keene. 
He received his early education in the public schools 
of that city. He was subsequently a student in the 
New London Literary and Scientific Institute, which 
he left at the age of seventeen years to engage 
in business. He was employed in Keene by Dunbar 
& Whitcomb, clothing dealers, and after five years 
bought the interest of Mr. Dunbar. He continued 
from 1877 to 1898 in this connection, when he sold 
out to his brother. In the month of March, 1898, 
he was elected city clerk of Keene, and has since 
continued in that office. He was a member of each 
of the city councils for two years, and served two 
years as assessor. He has also served as repre- 



6o6 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



sentative in 1S93. He joined the Second Congrega- 
tional Church of Keene in early youth, and seven- 
teen years later became a member of Saint James' 
Protestant Episcopal Church, of which he is now 
lay reader. He has been very active in the Masonic 
Order; he is past master of the Lodge of the 
Temple, and of Saint John's Council, Royal and 
Select Masters; is past eminent commander of 
Hugh De Payen Commandery, Knights Templar, 
and is now recorder of that body. He is a mem- 
ber of Cheshire Royal Arch Chapter, of which he is 
secretary. In 1883 he was a member of the Guard 
of Benjamine Deane, grand master of the United 
States at the Conclave, in San Francisco. He re- 
ceived the thirty-third degree, Scottish Rite Ma- 
sonry, in Boston, in 1906. He joined the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows at the age of twenty- 
one years, in Beaver Brook Lodge, assisted in the ' 
organization of the Keene Chapter, No. I, Sons of 
the American Revolution, and was chairman of the 
Keene Light Guard Battallion. He has been twelve 
years a member of the board of education of Keene, 
and was fifteen years moderator of the Union School 
District. He is historian of Rising Sun Lodge, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, established in 
1784, compiler of vital statistics of Keene from 1838 
to 1881, published by authority of the city council, 
in June, 1905, and assisted in the preparation of the 
History of Keene. 

Mr. Whitcomb married, September 1, 1880, Grace 
Nims, born October 18, 1854, in Keene, daughter of 
Lanmon and Elizabeth (Hosking) Nims. Lanmon 
Nims was born in Sullivan, February 3, 181 1, and 
died September 20, 1887. His wife was born De- 
cember 11, 1826, in Saint Austell, England. Mr. 
and Mrs. Whitcomb are the parents of five chil- 
dren : Edson Gerry, the eldest, is a shipper of the 
Faulkner & Colony Manufacturing Company of 
Keene. Ralph Nims received the degree of Bache- 
lor of Science from the Massachusetts Institute of 
Technology, in 1905, and is employed by the James 
G. White Company of New York and London. 
Margaret, teacher in one of the grammar schools 
of Keene. James Lanmon, now in high school. 
Everett Newcomb, a student in the grammar school. 

(II) Jonathan, fifth son of John and Frances 
Whitcomb, was probably born in Lancaster, Massa- 
chusetts He was assigned a part of the paternal 
estate there, and died in 1690. He married, No- 
vember 25, 1667, Hannah (whose surname is not 
given in the record). Two years after his death 
she was killed by the Indians. Their children were : 
Hannah, died young; Jonathan, Hannah, Abigail, 
Elizabeth, Mary, Catherine, Ruth and John, born 
from 1668 to 1684. 

(III) Jonathan (2), eldest son and second child 
of Jonathan (1) and Hannah Whitcomb, was born 
February 26, 1669, in Lancaster, and lived in that 
town, Groton and Littleton, Massachusetts. He 
was three limes married, the third time in Concord, 
Massachusetts, September 4, 1710, to Deborah 
Scripture, of Groton. She died in Littleton, April 
10, 1715. Jonathan had eight or more children, 
among whom were : Jonathan, Ephraim and Benja- 
min. 

(IV) Benjamin, son of Jonathan (2) and De- 
borah (Scripture) Whitcomb, was born December 
31, 1711, in Groton. He lived in Stow, Massachu- 
setts, where he died September 11, 1791. He mar- 
ried Dorcas Heald, who was born 171 1, and died 
1791, daughter of Oliver (1) and Hannah (Gates) 
Heald, of Stow (see Hale, III). They had the fol- 
lowing children, born in Stow : Dorothy, Jacob, 



Charles, Reuben, Simeon, Benjamin, Oliver, Silas 
and Zaccheus. 

(V) Jacob, eldest child of Benjamin and Dor- 
cas (Heald) Whitcomb. was born September 13, 
1743. He was the eighth settler in the town of 
Henniker; he was there as early as the winter of 
1764-65, and after living there a few years moved 
across the line into the town of Warner, where he 
died May 27, 1823. He married, May 10, 1764, 
Olive Weatherbee, daughter of Thomas and Han- 
ii' ill Weatherbee, of Stow, Massachusetts. She died 
October 2, 1828, and was buried beside her hus- 
band in Henniker. Four of their children were 
born in Henniker. and six in Warner, namely : 
Benjamin, Sarah, Olive, died young; Betsey, Jona- 
than, died young, Lydia, Olive, Mercy, John and 
Jonathan. 

(VI) John, third son and ninth child of Jacob 
and Olive (Weatherbee) Whitcomb, was born March 
2 9> 1 7S5. in Warner, and resided upon the homestead 
where he was born and where he died May 21, 
1878. During his entire life he was never two 
months away from this spot. He was always actively 
identified with the town and its affairs. He mar- 
ried, January 21, 1808, Polly Gibson, of Warner 
(see Gibson, VI). Their children were: Laura, 
Imri, Lucinda, Almira and Elizabeth. 

(VII) Imri, only son of John and Polly (Gib- 
son) Whitcomb, was born August 28, 1810, and 
resided with his father. He was killed by an ac- 
cident in the woods, February 10. 1846. His wife, 
Mary A. (Connor) Whitcomb. died December io, 
1854. Their children were : Mary L., William H., 
Maris E. and Paulina S. The last two named be- 
came successively the wives of Levi Woodbury. 

(VIII) Mary L., eldest child of Imri and Mary 
A. (Connor) Whitcomb, was born September 5. 
1838, and married, April I, i860, Francis E. Davis, 
of Warner (see Davis, VIII). 



(I) Abel Huse, the immigrant ancestor, 
HUSE was of Welsh ancestry. He came from 
London in 1635 ; settled at Newbury. 
Massachusetts, early, and was admitted a freeman 
May 18, 1642.. His wife Eleanor died March 27, 
1663. He married, second, May 25, 1663, Mary 
(Hilton, alias Downer) Sears, widow of Thomas 
Sears, of Newbury. He died at Newbury, March 
29, 1690, aged eighty-eight years, being born, there- 
fore, in 1602. He and his wife were members of 
the Newbury church in 1674. Children of the sec- 
ond wife: 1. Ruth, born February 25, 1664. 2. Abel, 
born February 19, 1665 ; mentioned below. 3. 
Thomas, born August o. 1666; married Hannah 

; children: i. Mary, born March 23, 

1691 ; ii. Israel, born October 23, 1693 ; iii. Ebe- 
nezer, born January 16, 1696; iv. James, born June 
29, 1698; v. Hannah, born November 5, 1700; 
vi. Ruth, born February 14. 1703. 4. William, born 
October, 1667; married 1699, Anne Russell; chil- 
dren: i. Anne, born May 22, 170x5; ii. William, 
born October 30, 1701. 5. Sarah, born December 
8, 1670. 6. John, born June 20, 1670 (?). 7. Amy, 
born September 9, 1673 ; died May 18, 1675. 8. Ebe- 
nezar (a daughter according to town record), born 
August 10, 1675. 9. George, of Salisbury (perhaps 
son by the first wife), married Mary Allen and had 
sons : William, born June 27, 1672 ; Solomon, born 
January 2, 1674-5, married Mary Calef, of Boston, 
in 1700. 

(II) Abel (2), son of Abel (1) Huse, was born 
in Newbury, February 19, 1665; married Judith 
Emery, daughter of John and Mary (Webster) and 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



607 



granddaughter of John Emery, born February 5, 
1073. He died in Newbury, March 11, 1758, aged 
ninety-three. Children, born at Newbury: I. John, 
October 31, 1694. 2. Abel, November 18, 1696. 
3. Stephen, November 16, 1702, graduate of Har- 
vard in 1726; married Mrs. Judith Emery, widow 
of Daniel Emery; removed to Haverhill; married 
January 2, 1785. 4. Samuel, born March 30, 1705. 
5. Judith, February 13, 1709. 6. Sarah, born Janu- 
ary 29, 1712; married Caleb Kimball. 7. Mary, 
born March 16, 1716; married Enoch Davis. 

(III) Dr. Nathan, nephew of Abel (2) Huse, 
perhaps son of William Huse (2), was born about 
1716. He was a well known physician in Ames- 
bury, Massachusetts, who "practised a great many 
years in the West Parish," and died April 23, 1S09, 
in his ninety-third year. He married, December 5, 
1738. Rachel Sargent, who was born February 22, 
1721, daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (Carr) 
Sargent, of Amesbury. Her father was called the 
"snow shoe man." Thomas Sargent, father of Jo- 
seph, born 1643, was lieutenant in the train band; 
son of the immigrant William Sargent, of Salis- 
bury and Amesbury, Massachusetts. Children, born 
at Amesbury : 1. Sargent, born August 22, 1739, 
soldier in Revolution. 2. Elizabeth, born February 
25. 1741. 3- Hannah, January 12, 1742. 4. Nathan, 
February 13, 1747, died young. 5. Joseph, March 2, 
1749. 7. Ebenezer, December 25, 1750. 8. Rachel, 
May 6, 1755. 9. Sarah, February 19, 1757. 10. John, 
October 31. 1758. He was a private in Captain 
August 22, 1760. 12. Nathan, August 8, 1769, de- 
scendants living at Amesbury. 

(IV) John, son of Dr. Nathan Huse, was born 
October 3r, 1758. He was a private in Captain 
Robert Dodge's company, Colonel Ebenezer Francis' 
regiment in 1776; also in Captain Oliver Titcomb's 
company, Colonel Jacob Gerrish's regiment, in 1777 
and 1778; was on guard duty of the Burgoyne pri- 
soners of war; also Captain Richard Titcomb's 
Company, Colonel Nathaniel Wade's regiment, 
raided to reinforce the Continental army in 1780. 
His brothers Joseph and William and he settled 
in Sanbornton, New Hampshire. Joseph went first 
about 1782; he built and owned the first mills in 
Sanbornton. John moved to Sanbornton also in 
1782; he settled near his brother Joseph in the 
First Division, in what is now or was lately Arthur 
Taylor's pasture. In 1801 he moved down near the 
Bay, Lot 21, Second Division, where, his youngest 
son was living in 1880. He married Molly Bean, 
who was born August 3, 1764, and died July 25, 

.1833; he died September 15, 1832. Children: 
I. Abigail, born June 19, 1783; married Joshua 
Brown, removed to Knox, Maine. 2. Elizabeth, 
born October 2, 1785, married Elisha Johnson. 
3. Rachel (twin) born August 3, 1787; married 
Elisha Johnson. 4. Molly (twin), born August 3, 
1787; married Joseph Cummings, of New Hamp- 
ton. 5. Stephen, born June 25, 1790. 6. John, 
born March 25, 1800. 7. Sally, born May 8, 1802 ; 
married Bradbury Morrison. 8. William (according 
to family), born 1806; mentioned below. 9. Daniel, 
born June 10, 1807. 

(V) William, son of John Huse, was born in 
1806, and died September 27, 1870. He married, 
July 14, 1835, Sarah Maria Verbeck, who was born 
January 21, 1815. at Alcott Falls, Vermont, now 
Wilders; and died September 12, 1861. Children, 
born in Enfield, New Hampshire: 1. Frank Ver- 
beck. 2. Everett Byron, mentioned below. 3. Wil- 
liam Gardner. 



(VI) Everett Byron, son of William Huse, was 
born in Enfield, New Hampshire, November 2, 1837. 
He married, December 5, 1861, Caroline Frances 
Day, who was born July 4, 1837, and died Septem- 
ber 29, 1892. He was a citizen of Enfield, New 
Hampshire. 

Everett Byron Huse was educated at the pub- 
lic schools and Kimball Union Academy of Meri- 
den, New Hampshire. He became a clerk in the 
general store, telegraph operator in the employ of 
the railroad company, and finally engaged in busi- 
ness on his own account in the firm of Carr & 
Huse, dealers in meats, groceries and provisions, 
and conducted this business with success for many 
years. He was a soldier in the Civil war, enlisting 
in Company C, Fifteenth Regiment New Hampshire 
Volunteers, September 1, 1862, and was mustered 
into service October 8, 1862, and detailed later as 
clerk in the office of General Badeau, chief muster- 
ing officer for the Department of the Gulf. He 
was mustered out at Concord, New Hampshire, 
with his regiment, August 15, 1863. He was active 
in public affairs. In 1876 he was elected delegate 
to the state constitutional convention; in 1880 he 
was United States census enumerator, and in 1890 
was enumerator and state supervisor of the census. 
He was prominent in the Grand Army of the Re- 
public, and in 1891 was department commander; in 
1895 aide to the commander. In 1895 he was 
elected president of the New Hampshire veteran 
Association at the meeting at The Weirs, New 
Hampshire. He served as town clerk of Enfield, 
and member of the school committee several years. 
He was for a number of years supervisor of the 
check list, resigning in the fall of 1906 on account 
of ill health. For two years he was chairman of the 
water commission of the town, and supervised the 
introduction of a water works in the town. He was 
past commander of Post Admiral Farragut Post 
No. 52, Grand Army, and past master of Social 
Lodge, No. 50, Free Masons, of Enfield, and secre- 
tary of that lodge for twenty years. He was in- 
strumental in organizing the Grand Army post, 
and was one of its mainstays. For a number of 
years before his death he was actively engaged in 
the real estate and fire insurance business ; was a 
justice of the peace, notary public and convey- 
ancer, and transacted much of the pension business 
of the vicinity. He died January 30, 1907. He was 
highly esteemed by his townsmen, a man of sterl- 
ing character and abilities, a leader in public senti- 
ment and of great influence and usefulness in the 
community. Children: 1. Charles Everett, born 
February 4, 1865, now a dry goods merchant at 
.Mason City, Illinois: formerly in the meat and pro- 
vision business in Enfield. 2. Stella Maria, born 
at Enfield, June 26, 1869; resides on the home place 
at Enfield, and continues her father's' insurance 
business. 



This family has the distinction of be- 
DUNCAN ing the first one of the name estab- 
lished in New Hampshire. Its im- 
migrant progenitor was one of those who left Ire- 
land because of oppressions and privations suffered 
there on account of his religion, and like most of 
his co-religionists made a good citizen in early New 
Hampshire, and left a worthy progeny. 

(I) George Duncan was a native of Scotland, 
and at the time of the great exodus of the Scots 
of Argyle to Ireland, he accompanied them. 

(II) George (2), son of George (1) Duncan, 



6o8 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



the Scotchman, was born, lived and died in Ire- 
land. 

(,111) George (.,). mhi of in - i -' i Duncan. 
was born in Ireland, and was the first Duncan in 
New Hampshire. He brought over his second wife. 
Margaret Cross, and seven children : John, George, 
William, Robert, Abraham. E?ther, and James. 

(.IV) John, eldest son of George (3) Duncan, 
and only son of his first wife, married Rachel Todd, 
in Ireland. He brought with him five children, and 
had rive in this country. They were : John, George, 
Abraham, Margaret, William (born on the passage 
over), James, Naomi, Polly. Rachel, and Rosanna. 
He lived all his days in Londonderry, was an elder 
in the church, enjoyed the confidence of all, and 
died in good old age. 

(V) John (2), first child of John (1) and 
Rachel (Todd) Duncan, married Hannah Henrey. 
Though hardly more than a boy, he was engaged to 
marry her before the voyage to this country. He 
came over, prepared a place to live, and then sent 
for her. Her brother there paid her passage, and 
agreed with the captain to land her in Boston, but 
he took her to Nova Scotia, and sold her to pay her 
passage, and left her among strangers. But after 
a time John heard of her sad fate, hunted her up, 
and married her. The false captain was eventually 
punished for his crime. "All the circumstances of 
this case," says the historian of Antrim, "her cour- 
age, her forlorn condition in slavery for debt among 
strangers, her rescue by her lover, their beginning 
in the wilderness, and their long and happy life, 
their early betrothal, and their old age together, 
would form a story more marvellous than any fic- 
tion." John Duncan and his wife were both noted 
for personal beauty. He kept the first store in the 
present town of Londonderry. -Many of the race 
were merchants. John and Hannah had a large 
family, among whom were : John and Robert, the 
subject of the next paragraph. 

(VI) Robert, son of John and Hannah (Henry ) 
Duncan, was born in 1763, and 17S7 removed to 
Antrim. He settled in a valley. There was a 
cleared spot and a small log house a few rods north 
of the present dwelling, though it seems it was 
never occupied. He bought of Daniel McFarland, 
but was sued by parties from Weare who claimed 
the land, and he had to pay for it a second time. 
After all was settled he married Grizzy Wilson, 
of Londonderry, lived a quiet and industrious life, 
and died on the spot he had settled, September 26, 
18.57, at the age oi seventy-three. His children 
were: Thomas W., Hannah. Sarah, died young, 
John, Grizzy, Sarah. Jane, and William, the subject 
of the next paragraph. 

(VII) William, youngest child of Robert and 
Grizzy (Wilson) Duncan, was born in Antrim, Oc- 
tober 30, 1806. In 1830 he built on the east part 
of his father's farm, where he cleared most of the 
land, and resided there until his death, lie married, 
February 13. 1831, Betsey W. Rice, of Henniker, 
an excellent woman, who died 26, [870, 
aged sixrj one ["heir children were: George, Wil- 
liam II., John E., Caroline E.. and Moses G., sub- 
ject of the paragraph nexl following. 

(VIII) Moses G., known as "Granville," fourth 
son and youngest child of William and Betsey W. 
( Rice) Duncan, was born in Antrim, July 20. 1841. 
He received only a common school education, and 
as a boy worked for neighboring farmers. I lis first 
prolonged employment was with a Air. Wood-. 
where he worked side by side with John McLean. 



now (.1906) governor of Xew Hampshire. Being 

an industrious worker, and having good judg 

in the use and investment of money, Mr Duncan 

has prospered from his youth, and is now one of 
the leading men of his town. He lives on the 
old homestead about three miles from Antrim vil- 
lage, where he has about two hundred and twenty- 
five acres of farming land, and seventy-five acres 
of woodland. In addition to this he has a large 
tract of land in Dakota. He has a large stock of 
line bred cattle, and carrie- on farming on a large 
and profitable scale. He is a Democrat, but pays 
little attention to politics. He married, October 3, 1872, 
Augusta Spaulding, born March 30, 1843. daughter 
of Leonard and Edith (Torrington) Spaulding, of 
Francestown. They are the parents of five chil- 
dren: Edith A., Annie E., Harry. Ethel and Grace 
M. The daughters are all graduate- of tin. \n- 
trim high school. Edith also graduated from Ash- 
burnham Academy, and is now a bookkeeper. Annie 
has a prosperous dressmaking establishment. Ethel 
is a school teacher in Antrim, and Grace 1 
with her parents. At the age of sixteen Harry 
entered the employ of the Spaulding Smith Com- 
pany, shoe manufacturers, then of Wolfboro, and 
later of Lowell, Massachusetts. He was a traveling 
salesman for a time, and is now manager of the 
Boston office of the firm. He married. December 
25, 1905, May Kimball, of Hancock, and they re- 
side in Lowell, Massachusetts. 



(I) James Gilmore. of Wrentham, 
G1LMORE Massachusetts, married, 1725. Thank- 
ful Tyrrell, of Abington, Massachu- 
setts. They had six children : Adam. Agn( s, 
Thankful, William, Tyrrell and Whitefield. 

(II) Lieutenant Whitefield Gilmore. -on 
James and Thankful (Tyrrell) Gilmore. born No- 
vember i_>. 1745. was killed May i->. 1780. There 
was in a field on his farm, in Bedford, a boulder 
partly buried in the earth. This had been raised 
to the level of the surrounding earth by oxen and 
levers. In trying to remove the latter tit. bank 
on which the stone rested caved in. and it fell back 
on tile levers, and one of them flew back against 
Mr. Gilmore with such force as to cause hi- death 
He was one of the Bedford men who served in the 
Revolution. He married Margaret Gilmore 1 not a 
relative), born in Bedford, November 6, 1743. and 
they bad five children: Janet, born Augu 
1771: Martha, bom January 1. 1773: James, born 

January 15. 1773: Mary, died September 10. 1777: 
and John. 

(III) James, son cf Whitefield and Ma 
(Gilmore 1 Gilmore, was born January 15. [775 
lb- married Ann McAllaster, daughter of William 
and Jerusha (Spofford) McAllaster, bom Kuga I 
10. 1700. James died February 28, 1839; I 

■ bed November 10, 1X38. They bad eight cl 
born m Bedford: William. February 1. [798; 
Whitefield, August 20, 1700. Freman, May 29 
Robert, Januarj u. 1803: Sally, January 25, 1805: 
Margaret. January 8. 1807 : Mary Ann. Dei 
10. 1S08; lame-. April 5, 1811. 

(IV) William, son of James and Ann 
Allaster) Gilmore. was bom February 1. 171)8. He 
married Matilda Eaton, bom m Hopkinton, Novem- 
ber 23, 1707. died March o. 1870 lie died May 13. 
i8o_>. They bad five children: George Clinton, born 
in Bedford, September 25. (8j<>; Nancy Vose, Sep- 
tember S, iXj8; William A., born in Gift-town. 
June (8, 1830; Elizabeth A.. June 9. 1S32; James 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



609 



S., August 27, 1835, now residing in Philadelphia, 
who with subject are the only ones living. 

(V) George Clinton, one of the most progres- 
sive citizens of Manchester, was born September 
25, 1826, in Bedford. With his parents he moved 
to Amoskeag in Goffstown, January 27, 1832, and 
in 1846 to Manchester. He attended the public 
schools until sixteen years of age. Being ambitious 
to make his way in the world, he then secured em- 
ployment in the Amoskeag Mills and steadily worked 
his way upward till he was given charge of a room 
on April 12, 1852, and was subsequently several 
years overseer of the weaving room. His next 
promotion was to the position of agent of the 
Souhegan Mills at Milford, which position he took 
in 1867 and continued there until the mills were 
destroyed by fire six years later. He then became 
superintendent for the Stark Corporation, and re- 
mained in that capacity until 'he retired from active 
connection with the cotton manufacturing in 1882. 
He has taken active part in many matters cal- 
culated to promote the growth and welfare of the 
city of Manchester, and served as a member of the 
city council in i860, and as alderman in 1861-62. 
He represented ward one, Manchester, in the state 
legislature, 1856-57-75-77-79; ward four, 1885-93; 
represented the town of Milford, 1872. Was a mem- 
ber of the constitutional convention for ward one, 
1876, and for ward four, 1889-1902. He was a 
member of the state senate, 1881-S2. He has been 
a trustee of the State Library since 1888, and was 
ten years chairman of the board. He was three 
years president of the New Hampshire Society, 
Sons of the American Revolution, and has always 
been deeply interested in the study of historical 
subjects and in the preservation of American gen- 
ealogy. To these kindred matters he has given 
much of his time and labor, and his enthusiasm 
never wanes. He published in 1884 a Manual of 
the New Hampshire Senate, covering the period 
from 1784 to 1884, giving the vital statistics per- 
taining to each member, a work which required a 
great amount of research and patient labor. In 
1900 he represented the New Hampshire Society, 
Sons of the American Revolution, at national con- 
vention. He also published by appointment of the 
state a roll of New Hampshire soldiers at the bat- 
tle of Bennington ; a roll of New Hampshire soldiers 
at Bunker Hill, and also a roll of New Hamp- 
shire men at Louisburg in 1745. He has been 
twenty-five years a member of the Amoskeag Vet- 
erans, of which he was colonel. He is also a mem- 
ber of Mechanics Lodge, No. 13, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, of Manchester, and is now in the 
fifty-seventh year of his membership, during which 
time he has never reported sick. He has passed 
the principal chairs of the lodge, and has been an 
active member of the Grand Lodge, and is now 
a member of the Veteran Odd Fellows Association. 
In religious faith Colonel Gilmore is a Universalist. 

He married, June 21, 1853, Lucy A. Livingston, 
born March 1, 1830, in Walden, Vermont, the 
daughter of Wheaton and Matilda (Goodenough) 
Livingston. Of their four children three died in 
infancy, the survivor being Waldo Eaton Gilmore, 
now connected with the Amoskeag Corporation in 
Manchester. 



The McDuffee family of Roch- 
McDUFFEE ester is descended from a Scotch- 
Irish ancestor, who preferred the 
liberty of the woods of New England with all their 
ii— 15 



privations to the oppressive government and disa- 
greeable surroundings he had to endure in Ire- 
land. From him have descended some of the lead- 
ing men of Rochester and prominent men of New 
Hampshire. 

(I) John McDuffee, of Scotch ancestry, lived 
in Ireland, where he married and had a family. In 
1729, about eleven years after the Scotch settle- 
ment of Londonderry, New Hampshire, John Mc- 
Duffee settled in Rochester on land on the east 
side of Cocheco river, adjoining Gonic Lower Falls. 
The farm of eighty-five acres he then took has de- 
scended from one generation of his progeny to an- 
other in the family name to the present day. John 
McDuffee and his wife Martha had four sons : 
Mansfield, Archibald, John and Daniel. Mansfield 
went to London, England ; the other three came 
with their parents to America. 

(II) Captain Daniel, the fourth and youngest 
son of John and Martha McDuffee, is recorded in 
the Revolutionary War Rolls as captain in Colonel 
Stephen Evan's regiment which marched from New 
Hampshire and joined the Northern Continental 
army at Saratoga, and is credited with service from 
September 8 to December 15, 1777. 

(III) John (2), son of Captain Daniel Mc- 
Duffee, was the adopted son and heir of Colonel 
John McDuffee, brother of Captain Daniel, and a 
gallant officer in the old French and Revolutionary 
wars, Lieutenant-colonel in Colonel Poor's regi- 
ment. This John McDuffee was a farmer in good 
circumstances. He married Abigail Torr, daughter 
of Simon and Sarah (Ham) Torr. One of their 
children was John, the subject of the next sketch. 
Richard, born 1796, was probably another son (,sce 
later paragraph). 

(IV) John (3), son of John (2) and Abigail 
(Torr) McDuffee, was born December 6, 1803. on 
the farm once belonging to the colonel, about a mile 
and a half from Rochester village, on the Dover 
road. He was educated in the public and private 
schools of the locality, having for schoolmates 
Thomas C. Upham, Nathaniel G. Upham, Noah 
Tebbetts and John P. Hale. In 1818 he began his 
attendance at Franklin Academy, Dover, on the 
very first day it opened, and there fitted to enter 
college as a sophomore, but returned home at the 
age of eighteen, and became an employe of his 
uncle, John Greenfield, who then had a large general 
store at Rochester. Two years later he engaged 
in the same business for himself on the same square, 
and after two years of successful merchandising 
took his uncle, Jonathan H. Torr, into partnership. 
He was not yet of age when he was appointed to 
the postmastership of the village, which he held 
until Jackson became president. In the spring of 
1831 he removed to Dover and enlarged his busi- 
ness, which he carried on with success, but in 
February, 1833, he sold out and returned to Roch- 
ester to settle the large estate of his wife's father, 
Joseph Hanson, who, dying in December previous, 
had made him executor of his will. Mr. Hanson 
had been one of the three wealthy merchants of 
Rochester, but the settlement of his extended estate 
and business was completed by Mr. McDuffee in 
seven months. 

He now decided to abandon trade, and when the 
legislature of 1834 sat he secured a charter for 
the Rochester Bank, which he organized with ninety 
stockholders and a capital of one hundred thousand 
dollars, later increased to one hundred and twenty 
thousand dollars with one hundred and thirty stock- 



Gio 



NEW HAMPSHIRI 



holders. It is a fact worthy of note that of these ninety 
Mr. McDuffee was for a time before his death sole 
survivor. On the organization of the bank he 
became cashier, and his brother-in-law, Dr. James 
Farrington, president. At that time there was no 
bank between this one and Canada. The manage- 
ment of it was principally left to the cashier, by 
whose skillful handling it paid annual dividends of 
eight or nine per cent. The charter was renewed 
at the end of twenty years, and then Mr. Mc- 
Duffee became president, and his son Franklin was 
made cashier. In 1868 these two formed the house 
of John McDuffee & Company, private bankers, and 
took up the business of the old bank. In 1874 this 
bank was merged into a national bank, the Mc- 
Duffees taking two-fifths of the stock and retain- 
ing their respective positions in the new bank. 
From its organization until his death in December, 
1890, a period of fifty-six years, no bill was ever 
issued by the Rochester Bank without the signature 
of John McDuffee, either as president or cashier. 
and he actively administered the affairs of the bank 
he founded up to the time of his death. He was 
one of the original grantees of the Dover 
National Bank, and for a short time a direc- 
tor. He was also heavily interested in the 
Strafford Bank of Dover, of which under 
its new charter he was the second heaviest 
stockholder. In 1870 he became a director in the 
Strafford National Bank, and was active in that 
position until his death. Mr. McDuffee became 
treasurer of the Norway Plains Savings Bank at 
Rochester, at the time it was chartered, 1851, and 
filled that position until 1867, when he became presi- 
dent, and held that position as long as he lived. 
His son Franklin succeeded him as treasurer. 

The History of Rochester further says of him : 
"Mr. McDuffee early saw the advantages of manu- 
facturing to a community. By his own means and 
a liberal allowance of banking facilities he greatly 
aided their development, the first such enterprise 
in Rochester, the Mechanics' Manufacturing Com- 
pany being decided to locate by the new banking 
facilities. Mr. McDuffee was a director. Its busi- 
ness was the manufacture of blankets, and its suc- 
cessor was the Norway Plains Manufacturing Com- 
pany. The original company Mr. McDuffee carried 
safely through the crisis of 1837. The mill property 
at Gonic Mr. McDuffee bought in 1845 to lease 
to N. V. Whitehouse, that the business might not 
be given up. He held the purchase for about ten 
years. The effort was successful, and the property 
was eventually taken by a joint stock company. 
Stephen Shorey, owning some facilities for manu- 
facturing at East Rochester, went to Mr. McDuf- 
fee to see if the bank would advance rrfeans to build. 
Mr. McDuffee at once pledged the means, and the 
mills were built. A stock company afterwards pur- 
chased the mills and machinery, and the thriving 
village of East Rochester owes its prosperity to 
Mr. McDuffcc's liberal policy. Thus have been de- 
veloped the three principal water powers of Roch- 
ester." 

"Mr. McDuffee's personal interests in manu- 
facturing were also in the Great Falls Manufactur- 
ing Company, in whose extensive business he was 
a director for four years; capital one million five 
hundred thousand dollars. In 1862 he bought large 
interests in the Cocheco Manufacturing Company 
at Dover, and from [874 was a director of that 
corporation. As such he advocated the erection of 
the great mill, now No. 1, and the replacing of all 



the old buildings by new and magnificent mills, 
unsurpassed in the United States: - The remarkable 
success of this company certifies alke to the sa- 
gacious boldness and the considerate policy of its 
directors." 

"The need of railroad facilities at Rochester was 
early apparent to Mr. McDuffee. In 1846 he entered 
into two enterprises — the Cocheco road, from Dover 
to Alton Bay; and the Conway road, from Great 
Falls to Conway — each of which passed through 
Rochester. In each road Mr. McDuffee was the 
largest individual stockholder, and of each was the 
first treasurer. When th« Conway road reached 
Rochester, Mr. McDuffee resigned its treasurer- 
ship. The other road, after various difficulties, be- 
came the Dover and Winnepesaukee, by the in- 
corporation of the bondholders, and Mr. McDuffee 
continued to be a director. With 'Friend' William 
Hill he visited Bostpn more than thirty times to 
treat for the lease of this road to the Boston & 
Maine. The effort was finally successful, and the 
road, by itself weak, became a fine piece of property. 
Rochester was thus doubly accommodated; but an- 
other avenue was needed, and Mr. McDuffee took 
part in the Portland & Rochester, which secured 
a route eastward, of which road he was a director; 
and he invested liberally in the Rochester & Nashua, 
which opened a line to the West. The result has 
been that Rochester is a 'billing-point,' and its vari- 
ous manufacturing interests have felt its im- 
petus." 

"The beauty of the McDuffee block in Rochester, 
built by him in 1868, exhibits the owner's public 
spirit. It is an elegant brick building of four stories, 
containing six stores, twelve offices in the second 
story, a public hall in the third, and a Knights 
of Pythias hall in the fourth. In the use of the 
public hall, the liberality of its owner to benevolent 
objects is well known. Of other real estate, besides 
various pieces in Rochester, including such as the 
Gonic farm, Mr. McDuffee owned the New Durham 
'Powder Mill' estate of nine hundred acres of land 
and eleven hundred acres of water ; and in Barring- 
ton, two hundred acres of Isinglass river, held with 
a view to future manufacturing needs." 

"Feeling the need of some relaxation from busi- 
ness, in the winter of 1885 he visited the Pacific 
coast, and spent two months in California. In the 
autumn of the same year he represented his native 
town in the legislature, was chairman of the com- 
mittee on banks, on whose recommendation many 
laws were enacted for the interest and protection 
of the savings banks and their depositors." 

"As a Mason, he joined Humane Lodge on the 
very day he became of 'lawful age.' Just sixty years 
later, December 6, 188.1, the brethren gave him a 
commemorative reception in Masonic Hall. In- 
teresting reminiscences, congratulatory addresses, 
appropriate songs, and a supper occupied the eve- 
ning. He survived all other members of the lodge 

Of tS-'.)." 

In religion he was brought up under good old 
Parson Joseph Haven, and remained a liberal sup- 
porter of the Congregational Society. In politics 
he was an earnest Whig. His first vote was for 
the electors who chose John Quincy Adams presi- 
dent, and his postmastership was ended by Andrew 
Jackson. From the advent of the Republican party 
he was one of its staunch supporters.. 

"Mr. McDuffee's great amount of labor was made 
possible only by the vigorous constitution which he 
inherited. The boy who before he left home 'car- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



611 



ried the forward swath' in the hayfield, made the 
man who afterward accomplished an amount of 
work which would surprise many young men. In 
his later years Monday was always given to the 
Stafford Bank at Dover ; Tuesday he presided at 
the Rochester Bank meeting ; Wednesday at the 
Savings Bank ; and no day was idle. He died De- 
cember 6, 1890, aged eighty-seven years. 

"Judged by the success of his work as the banker, 
as developing by a liberal and wise help every 
worthy manufacturing enterprise, and as foremost 
in the building of the various railways centering 
in Rochester, it is clear that Mr. McDuffee nobly 
comes into the list of those whose record is in the 
prosperity of his native town, where ability, sa- 
gacity, integrity and kindliness have united to make 
that record, as well as his own personal success." 

Mr. McDuffee married, in Rochester, June 21, 
1829, Joanna Hanson, who was born March 10, 
1807, and died October 10, 1884, aged seventy-seven 
years, daughter of Joseph and Charity (Dame) 
Hanson. They were the parents of eight children, 
named as follows: Joseph Hanson, Franklin, John 
Randloph, Anna M., Mary Abbie, Sarah Frances, 
George and Oliver. Joseph Hanson, who followed 
the sea, remained single, and was drowned off the 
Isles of Shoals, August 29, 1865, at the age of 
thirty-five. Franklin is mentioned at length be- 
low. John Randolph was born in Rochester, Sep- 
tember s, 1834, graduated from Chandler Scientific 
School at Dartmouth College in 1857, and opened 
an office in Rochester as a civil engineer. In 1858 
he went with his brother Franklin to Europe, re- 
turned, fell into a decline, and died May 14, 1859. 
Anna M. married Frank S. Brown, of the firm of 
Brown, Thompson & Company, Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, whom she survives. Mary Abbie married 
(first) E. Freeman Whitehouse; and (second) 
Charles K. Chase, whom she survives. Sarah Fran- 
ces died single at the age of thirty-three. She was 
very sensible, quite and unobtrusive, and possessed 
a lovely character. George has been engaged in 
extensive grain, lumber and furniture business in 
Rochester. He married (first) Lizzie Hanson; 
and (second) Nellie, daughter of Dr. James Far- 
rington, of Rochester. Oliver died in infancy. 

(V) Franklin, second son and child of John 
and Joanna (Hanson) McDuffee, was born in Do- 
ver, August 27, 1832, and died in Rochester, Novem- 
ber II, 1880. When six months old he removed 
with his parents to Rochester. At the age of twelve 
years he entered Gilmanton Academy, and in 1853 
graduated with honor from Dartmouth College. He 
read law six months with Hon. Daniel M. Christie, 
of Dover, and in May, 1854, accepted the position 
of cashier in the Rochester State Bank. In 1857 
he went on a foot trip to the White _ Mountains. 
Owing to the wrong direction of a guide, he was 
lost in the forest a night and a day, almost perish- 
ing from cold and exhaustion. The first house he 
reached was that of Dr. Bemis, then absent. Acting 
under strict orders to admit no one, the family 
utterly refused to furnish him food or shelter, so 
that he was compelled to go six miles farther to 
the Notch House before obtaining relief. This ex- 
posure weakened his constitution, impaired his hear- 
ing, and was doubtless the remote cause of his death. 
In 1S58 his health was greatly improved by a 
voyage to Europe. He applied for passage home 
on the ill-fated "Austria," which was burned with 
all her passengers, but failing to secure satisfactory 
berth, he escaped. In 1866 he was appointed treas- 



urer of the Norway Plains Savings Bank, and two 
years later joined his father in establishing a private 
banking institution under the name of John Mc- 
Duffee & Company, bankers. In 1874 this company 
merged into the Rochester National Bank, of which 
he became cashier. 

He took deep interest in national affairs, and 
had a clear understanding of political issues. He 
was no managing politician, but simply from force 
of character was a leader in his party. All knew 
him for a staunch Republican, and unflinching 
friend of temperance and good order. He had de- 
cision, energy-, and sturdy pluck, without malice or 
bitterness, so that even his opponents respected his 
conscientious integrity. He was not infrequently 
able to carry a vote against a current already 
strongly set the other way, simply by his strong, 
honest, clear way of stating the case. Men always 
listened when he rose to speak, knowing his words 
would be sincere and to the point. He never at- 
tempted to speak when he had nothing to say, 
studied no graces of oratory, and indulged in no 
flowers of rhetoric. He drove like a rifle ball 
straight to the mark, which he never failed to hit. 
He took a deep interest in education, and was zeal- 
ous and untiring in his efforts to elevate the schools 
of Rochester. To no one more than to him the 
high school owes its standing and success. He 
served the town as selectman, and for many years 
as superintending school committeeman. He was 
a member of the state legislature of 1862, and the 
constitutional convention of 1876. 

On account of his well known ability and inter- 
est in historical research, he was elected a member 
of the New Hampshire Historical Society. In 1865 
he began a series of historical sketches in the 
Rochester Courier, which were models of sim- 
plicity, conciseness and accuracy. It was his inten- 
tion to rewrite and enlarge these sketches into a 
complete history of Rochester, but his premature 
death left the work unfinished. He had, however, 
collected with great labor much material for this 
purpose, which was edited and revised by Rev. 
Silvanus Hayward. and appeared in 1892, in a two- 
volume work, entitled the "History of the Town of 
Rochester," which reflected much credit on both 
Mr. McDuffee and Mr. Hayward. 

Mr. McDuffee had a mathematical mind with 
a turn for invention, which if allowed fuller scope 
might have made him a distinguished inventor. In 
1876 he invented and patented a valuable "improve- 
ment in combination and chronometer locks," which 
he sold to a lock manufacturing company for five 
hundred dollars. This invention serves two prin- 
cipal advantages : "First, that any accidental stop- 
ping of the clockwork will not prevent the opening 
of the lock. Second, that it can be opened between 
the hours for which it is set, only by assembling 
too many persons for a burglar's safety." His 
methodical mind fitted him especially for business, 
in which he was a model of diligence, exactness and 
integrity. 

He was an honored and much respected mem- 
ber of Humane Lodge, No. 21, Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Rochester, of which he became a mem- 
ber, December 9, 1856. The following year he be- 
came secretary, and after filling other offices was 
master of the lodge in 1863-64. In 1866-67 he of- 
ficiated as district deputy of the Grand Lodge of 
New Hampshire. He joined the Congregational 
Church in 1868, and for four years after was chosen 
deacon, which office he held "through the remainder 



6l2 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



of his life. He was emphatically a pillar of the 
church, an active supporter of every good, a model 
church officer, the friend and helper of every pastor, 
sympathetic in his nature, he was nobly generous in 
every worthy cause. Unostentatious in his gifts, 
many a needy one was relieved only suspecting who 
the giver was. His partial loss of hearing, added 
to his retiring nature, withdrew him somewhat from 
social life, and his quiet, unobtrusive ways left 
others of far less merit to be more widely known 
than he. But his neighbors and townsmen highly 
appreciated his sterling worth, and his intimates 
prized him as one of the sincerest and most lovable 
of nun. 

Franklin McDuffee married, in Rochester, De- 
cember 4, 1861, Mary F. Hayes, of Rochester, who 
was born March 26, 1840, daughter of John Hayes, 
of Wilton. Two children were born of this union : 
John Edgar and Willis. The former was for two 
years a member of the class of 18S3 in Chandler 
Scientific Department of Dartmonth College, but 
was compelled to relinguish his studies on account 
of poor health. He afterwards directed his ener- 
gies to music, in which he developed marked ability, 
especially as a pianist, and was a composer of meri- 
torious song and piano music. He died March 25, 
1900, at the age of thirty-six years. 

(VI) Willis, second son of Franklin and Mary 
F. (Hayes) McDuffee, was born in Rochester, 
March 15, 1868. After graduating at Dartmouth 
with the class of 1890, he spent a year abroad. On 
his return home he bought the Rochester Courier, 
and since that time has given his attention to the 
duties of editing and managing that paper. He is 
a principal stockholder in the Rochester National 
Bank of which he is a director. In political faith 
he is a Republican, and as such represented Roches- 
ter in the state legislature in 1895-96. For several 
years he was a member of the Republican State 
Central Committee, and in 1896 was one of the or- 
ganizers and leading member of the Lincoln Re- 
publican Club, which has for its object the purifi- 
cation of politics and the reform of the Republican 
party within itself. In this cause he has labored 
earnestly, and his presentation of the theories on 
which the movement is based, and his advocacy of 
the necessity of reform have been such as to re- 
ceive the warmest approval of all citizens who 
favor the reform idea. His interest in schools and 
all other means by which education may be generally 
diffused, is strong and active. He has served three 
years as member of the school board, and seven 
years as one of the trustees of the Rochester Public 
Library. He is also a member of Humane Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons; of Temple Royal Arch 
Chapter; Palestine Commandery, Knights Templar, 
and of James Farrington Chapter, Order of the 
Eastern Star. 

He married, in Barrington, July 22, 1897, Dora 
Haley, who was born in Andovcr, Maine. June 15, 
1878. They have two children: Franklin, born May 
2, 1898; and Maude Chase, June 12, 1901. 

(IV) Richard McDuffee was born in Rochester 
in 1796, and died in that town in 1873. aged seventy- 
seven. He was a farmer, and resided in Rochester 
all his life, and was reckoned among the industrious 
and intelligent citizens of the town. August 31, 
1818, he married widow Hannah Richardson, whose 
maiden name was Rogers. She was of Rochester. 
The marriage was recorded by Rev. Mr. Haven, by 
whom it was pri ibabb si ilemnized. Their £1 iur children 
were: Jane, born 1820, married Frank Lane of Ex- 



eter ; Richard, mentioned below ; Thomas J., born 
1824; and Charles D., 1832. 

(V) Richard (2), second child of Richard (1) 
and Hannah (Rogers) (Richardson) McDuffee, 
was born in Rochester in 1822, and died January 19, 
1877. He was a farmer and devoted some atten- 
tion to raising vegetables for the market, and to 
butchering. In politics he was a Republican. He 
was well thought of by his townsmen, who elected 
him selectman in 1S59 and i860. He married April 
16, 184S, Harriet Richardson Downs, who was born 
May 25, 1825, now deceased. She was the daughter 
of Gershom and Sally P. (Richardson). They had 
six children : George T., mentioned below ; Frank 
and Fannie, twins, died in infancy; Clara J., born 
April 18, 1856, married October 9, 1873, Alonzo A. 
Chase; Charles T., October 20, 1859, married Jennie 
Clark of Avon, Massachusetts, and has three chil- 
dren — Charlotte, Ruth and Harry ; and Eliza J. r 
1862, married Edward F. Cobb, of Portland, Maine. 

(VI) George T., eldest child of Richard 
and Harriet Richardson (.Downs) McDuffee, 
born in Rochester, March 28, 1851, and having 
learned farming and the meat business from his 
father, has combined them as his life employment 
and owns and tills the ancestral acres which have 
been the family possession for one hundred year-. 
He also deems his father's politics worthy of honor,. 
and is a staunch Republican. For fifteen years past 
he has been street commissioner of the city of Roch- 
ester. In one thing he has not kept the faith and 
observed the practice of his fathers — he has never 
married. Since 1877 he has been an honored mem- 
ber of Motolina Lodge, No. 18, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. 



The Ripleys of New Hampshire and 
RIPLEY their Massachusetts progenitors are for 
the most part descended in common 
from one immigrant, who arrived early in the co- 
lonial period, and his progeny are to be met with in 
every state 111 New England and many other sec- 
tions of the country. 

(I) William Ripley with his wife, two sons 
and two daughters, came from Hingham, Norfolk 
county, England, about the year 1638 and settled 
in Hingham, Massachusetts, where he was made a 
freeman May 18, 1642. His first wife having died 
he was again married September 29, 1654, to Mrs. 
Elizabeth Thaxter, widow of Thomas Thaxtcr, and 
his death occurred July 20, 1656. His widow took 
a third husband in the person of John Dwight, of 
Dedham, January 20, 1658, and she died July 17, 
1660. The names of three of William's children 
who accompanied him from England were : John, 
Abraham and Sarah, but that of the other daughter 
does not appear in the records. One of his grand- 
sons settled in West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, 
and another located in Plimpton, that state, but the 
name of the latter cannot now be ascertained. 

(Ill John (i), eldest child of William Ripley, 
was born in England and came to America with 
his parents in 1638. He resided on the paternal 
acres at Hingham Centre, and died February 3, 
1684. His will was dated January 21, 1684, and 
probated March 27 following. He married Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Rev. Peter Hobart. She died in 
Hingham, March 26, 1692, aged sixty. Their chil- 
dren, all born in Hingham, were: John, Joshua, 
Jeremiah, Josiah, Peter, Rebecca, and Hezekiah. 

(Ill) John (2), eldest child of John ( 1 ) and 
ibeth (Hobart) Ripley, was burn in Hingham 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



613 



Centre, February 20, 1656, and died there Septem- 
ber 27, 1720. in the sixty-fifth year of his age. He 
resided on Main street near Bull's Pond. He mar- 
ried. October 13, 1686, Jane , and they 

had six children, all born in Hingham, as follows: 
John, Hezekiah, Joel, Bathsheba, Charles, and Deb- 
orah. 

(IV) Hezekiah, second son and child of John 
(2) and Jane Ripley, was born in Hingham, March 
29, 1693, and died June 20, 1736, aged forty-three. 
He married, February 16, 1716, Sarah Gannett, 
daughter of Stephen and Sarah (Warren) Gannett. 
She was born in Hingham, July 31, 1691. Their 
children, all born in Hingham. were : Hezekiah, 
Joshua, John, Abner, Sarah, Mary. Lemuel, Jane 
and William. 

(V) Abner, fourth son and child of Hezekiah 
and Sarah (Gannett) Ripley, was born in Hing- 
ham, August 3, 1723, and died March 28, 1808, aged 
eighty-five. He married Abigail Robbins, and re- 
sided in Duxbury. Their children were Kimball 
and Thaddeus. 

( VI ) Kimball, eldest son of Abner and Abigail 
(Robbins) Ripley, was born in Duxbury, and died 
there in 1838. He married Sarah . Chil- 
dren : Daniel, Kimball, Joseph, John, Thomas. 
Sampson, Abigail, Mary, Otis and Elizabeth 
(twins). 

(VII) Daniel, eldest son of Kimball and Sarah 
Ripley, was born October 29, 1772, and died Janu- 
ary 25, 1857, aged eighty-five. He married, April 
r8, 1793, Jane McLauthler, and they were the par- 
ents of children: Eden M., Thomas, Sarah, Sam- 
uel E., Saba E., Lewis, John and Nathaniel. 

(VIII) Nathaniel, sixth son of Daniel and 
Jane ( McLauthler) Ripley, was born in Duxbury, 
May 20, 181 1. and died in Derry, New Hampshire, 
May 29, 1886, aged seventy-five years. He re- 
moved to Windham in April, 1832, and in July, 
1835, married Mary Dustin, who was born October 
16. 1S1S. daughter of Moses and Betsey (Ander- 
son) Dustin, who lived on the turnpike, near the 
Deny line. He succeeded to the proprietorship of 
the Dustin farm, and resided upon it until the death 
of his wife, April 13, 1870, when he sold and re- 
moved to Derry, where he resided until his death. 
His children were: Lewis D., born October 11, 
1835, enlisted in Seventh New Hampshire Volun- 
teers during the Civil war, and later re-enlisted in 
that same regiment and served till close of war. 
Thomas K., born June 3, 1839, enlisted in the 
Twentieth Regiment Massachusetts Volunteer In- 
fantry, and died in Virginia, April 9. 1864. Amos 
S., born November 11, 1843, is a merchant tailor 
in Franklin Falls. Augustin C, born November 19, 
1847. is a locomotive engineer, and resides in Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts. Mary Josephine, born August 
24. 1851, married, March 18, 1874, Warren P. 
Home (see Home, VII). 

(IV) Eleazer, a descendant of William Ripley 
(probably) in the fourth generation through the 
latter's son John, was born in Plimpton in 1727, 
and resided there his entire life. There is no 
•further record of him or his wife. 

(V) Levi, son of Eleazer Ripley, was born in 
Plimpton, March 7, 1772. He settled in Winchester, 
and died there in 1821. He married Elizabeth Haw- 
kins. She died in 1862. 

(VI) William Comstock, son of Levi and Eliza- 
beth (Hawkins") Ripley, was born in Winchester, 
December 19, 1817. In early life he engaged in the 
■woollen manufacturing business, and about the year 
1840 became associated with his brother Daniel in 



operating a mill in Hinsdale. In 1851 they trans- 
ferred their business operations to Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, and conducted a successful woollen 
manufacturing enterprise in that city some fifteen 
years, at the expiration of which time William C. 
retired. He subsequently spent a short time in 
Brookfield, .Massachusetts, but returned to Spring- 
field, where he died January 11, 1892. He was 
married July 9, 1840, to Susan Pope Parker, daugh- 
ter of Gilbert Gardner and Melora Edson (Pope) 
Parker, of Winchester and Halifax, Massachusetts, 
respectively. The children of this union are : Mar- 
shall E., born in Hinsdale, May 18, 1841, died July 21, 
same year; Adelaide, born in Hinsdale September 5, 
1843, died August 10, 1844; Emma Florette, born in 
Hinsdale, July 24, 1845 ; Walter D., the immediate 
subji 1 of these memoirs: Clarence M., born in Hins- 
dale, March 15, 1849; Lizzie A., born in Spring- 
field, September 2, 1851 ; William P., born May 
18, 1858. now of Washington, D. C, and Arthur H., 
born May 17, i860. 

(VII) Walter D., third son and fourth child 
of William C. and Susan P. Ripley, was born in 
Hinsdale, New Hampshire, July 1, 1847. He was 
educated in the public schools of Springfield in- 
cluding its high school, and acquired his early busi- 
ness training in the employ of the American Ex- 
press Company. In 1870 he went to New Orleans, 
Louisiana, and entering the services of the New 
Orleans and Mobile Railroad Company he served 
in various capacities, attaining the position of gen- 
eral freight agent. When that line was absorbed 
by the Louisville and Nashville system in 1880 he 
returned to Massachusetts and engaged in the lum- 
ber business in Ware, but was shortly afterward 
compelled to relinquish his activities on account 
of ill health. He subsequently occupied the position 
of general freight and passenger agent of the So- 
nera railroad in Old Mexico, but the ravages of 
yellow fever caused him to resign some three years 
later. Erom 1890 to the present time he has been 
engaged in general marcantile business in Win- 
chester, having purchased the interest of Mr. Tay- 
lor in the firm of Taylor and Ball, and is now a 
prosperous merchant. In politics Mr. Ripley is a 
Republican and for the past eight years has served 
with ability as town treasurer. As a member of 
the Winchester Board of Trade, and one of Winches- 
ter's financial committee, he is actively interested in 
developing the business resources of the town, and 
his efforts along the line of progress and improve- 
ment have proved exceedingly beneficial. He af- 
filiates with the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, the Ancient Order of United Workmen, the 
Improved Order of Red Men and the Masonic 
Fraternity, and is a trustee of the Masonic Fund. 

On October 15, 1874, Mr. Ripley was united in 
marriage with Miss Mary Ella Ramsdell, who was 
born in Winchester, August 23, 1847, daughter of 
Homer T. and Mary J. (Emerson) Ramsdell. Her 
father was born in July. 1823, at Hardwick, Mas- 
sachusetts, and her mother was born in Winchester, 
July 31, 1826. Mr. and Mrs. Ripley have one son, 
Louis Homer, born in Winchester August 31, 1877, 
who completed his education at Goddard Seminary, 
Barre, Vermont, and is now with the Union Optical 
Company, Boston, Massachusetts. 



The very earl appearance of this 
HOSMER name in the New England Colonial 

records shows that the first Hosmers 
in this country were not only English but staunch 
Puritans, who valued religious freedom above all 



614 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



that their native land could offer them with- 
out liberty to speak what they thought and 
and worship God in their own way. The Revo- 
lutionary war records show that this family, though 
by no means one of the most