(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Genealogical and family history of the state of New Hampshire : a record of the achievements of her people in the making of a commonwealth and the founding of a nation"

rYf^ 



/ 



/^ 






^Xj^ 



I 



/ 




^ 









y^. 







-: -^If^is ^d::s?:ir.,> 



GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY 

HISTORY 



OF THE 



STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE 



A PECnRl) OF THF ACHIFVHMENTS OF WiU PEOl'I.E IN THE MAklNC OF A 
COMMONWEALTH AND IHE FOLINUING OF A NATION 



CoMPiLF.n Under tiik Kditokiai. Supervision of 
EZRA S. STHARNS 

Kx-Secrktaky or State, Member A.mkruan Antii,;uari\n SuriEiv, New ICnglanu lIisTORir.-CENEALor.icAi. 

Soi-iETV, New Hampshire State Historical Society; CoRRESPONniNr; Member Minnesota 

State Historical Society; Member Fitciiburg Historical Society 

ASSISTED BY 

WILLIAM F. WHITCHER 

Tfi'stee New Hampshire State Library. Member New Hampshire State Historical Society anii New 

Kngi.anu Methodist Hisiorkal Society 

AND 

EDWARD E. PARKER 

]l-dge of Probate, Nashua 



VOL. Ill 



1 L L U S L R A T E D 



THE LEWIS PUBLISHING COMPANY 
New York Chicago 

190S 



NEW HAMPSHIRE 



This is a name famous in Scotch 
CAMPBELL history and it has contributed in 
no small measure to the honor and 
glory of America. It has long been well repre- 
sented in New Hampshire, and is widely and cred- 
itably known throughout the United States. 

(I) Sir John Campbell, as duke of Argyle, as- 
sisted at the coronation of James the First of Eng- 
land. He was an otScer of William the Prince of 
Orange in 1690, and participated in the battle of 
the Boyne Water in the north of Ireland. He later 
settled in Londonderry, Ireland, where he married 
and became the father of several children, one of 
whom was Henry. 

(II) Henry, son of Sir John Campbell born 
1697. married, 1717, and in 1733 came to America, 
accompanied by his wife and five children, and set- 
tled in Windham, New Hampshire. 

(III) Henry (2), son of Henry (i) Campbell, 
married Jeanette Mack, who was born on the ocean 
and died 1776. In 1765 the family moved to Lon- 
donderry, New Hampshire, and later Henry Camp- 
bell resided in Fletcher, Vermont, where his death 
occurred in 1813. He was the father of five sons, 
among whom was John. 

(IV) John, son of Henry (2) Campbell, born 
1786, was a blacksmith and farmer at West Henniker, 
and was among the best known and most respected 
citizens of the town, his influence for good being 
felt throughout the community. ' He was honored 
by his townspeople with many offices of trust, the 
duties of which he performed in an efficient and 
creditable manner. He married, December 23, 1S12, 
Sarah, daughter of Oliver Noyes, and their children 
were : Eliza, Cyrus, James, and John C. John 
Campbell, after an active and useful life, died Sep- 
tember 7, 1863. His wife died April 30. 1858. 

(V) John C, son of John Campbell, born in 
Henniker, New Hampshire, January 11, 1822, was 
reared on the homestead and received his education 
in the district schools. In 1861 he removed to ■ 
Hillsborough and accepted a position as cashier in 
the Hillsborough National Bank, which he held 
up to the time of his death, 1896, the unusual period 
of thirty-five years, his tenure of office being noted 
for ability and integrity. His active career was 
characterized by the sterling qualities which insure 
good citizenship, and he won and retained the es- 
teem and confidence of those with whom he was 
brought in contact, either in business, political or 
social life. For more than two decades he served 
as town treasurer, and during the greater portion 
of this time was elected by both parties, this fact- 
amply testifying to his popularity. He was a di- 
rector in the Petersborough & Hillsborough Rail- 
road and was instrumental in having the line com- 
pleted from Hillsborough to Petersborough. _ He 
was treasurer of the Society of the Congregational 
Church, and was a member of the Blue Lodge and 
Chapter of Masons at Henniker, in which he held 
many offices and took great interest. Mr. Campbell 



married Julia Darling Butler, born in Boston, Mas- 
sachusetts, who bore him six children, namely: 
E. Jennie, married Almon Oate, of Manchester. 
Mary E., married George A. Upton, formerly a 
lumber dealer of Townsend. Massachusetts, who 
died 1899. Julia D., married Walter Steele, of 
Stoneham. James H., died in infancy. James H., 
see forward. John B., born December 21, 1866, en- 
gaged in the express business in Concord, New 
Hampshire. The mother of these children died in 
1898. 

(VI) James H., son of John C. Campbell, was 
born in Hillsborough, July 27, 1865, was reared 
in Hillsborough Bridge and attended the 
schools there, also high school and business college 
of Manchester, New Hampshire. Prior to entering 
the insurance business in Manchester, in which 
line of work he is engaged at the present time 
(1907). he served in the capacity of teacher, for 
which calling he was thoroughly qualified. Mr. 
Campbell married Sarah Louise, daughter of Bush- 
rod W. Hill (q. v.). Mr. and Mrs. Campbell have 
two childriin : Bushrod Hill, born July 12, 1893 ; 
John Clififord. April 6, 1897. 



This is unquestionably of English 
RIXFORD descent and was early planted in 

New England. It is probably an 
offshoot of the Connecticut family of Rexford, but 
the connection has not been established by exten- 
sive research. The family was strongly represented 
in the Revolution by William Rixford and his sons, 
in Massachusetts. 

(I) William Rixford was found in ^ledway, 
Massachusetts, as early as 1751. The records of 
Mendon, Massachusetts, show that he was married 
November 13, 1751, to Anna Thayer. He is then 
stvled of Medway and he resided in that town until 
March, 1761. when he removed to Grafton, Massa- 
chusetts. At the Lexington alarm in 1775 he 
served in Captain Luke Drury's company of Minute 
Men, and marched April 19, and remained under 
arms sixteen days. He was still livin,g in Grafton 
in 1782, and it is conjectured that he removed to 
Hardwick, Massachusetts. Five children were born 
to him in Medway, namely: Elizabeth, William, 
Samuel, Henry and Simon ; and six in Grafton, 
namely: Anna, Phoebe, Samuel, Elijah, died young; 
Joseph and Elijah. 

(II) William (2), eldest son and second child 
of William (l) and Ann (Thayer) Rixford. was 
born December 7, 1754, in Medway, Massachusetts, 
and lived a few years after 1774 in Shrewsbury, 
Massachusetts. He served three enlistments in the 
Revolution from that town, and about 1782 he re- 
moved to Winchester, New Hampshire, accom- 
panied by his brothers Henry and Simon, and set- 
tled there permanently. He was a Revolutionary 
soldier, and in the Massachusetts rolls is credited 
with having marched from Grafton in Captain Luke 
Drury's company of Minute Men, belonging to Col- 



994 



NEW HAJilPSHIRE. 



onel Artenias Ward's regiment, April 19, 1775. 
Having cleared some ten acres and erected a log 
cabin he returned to Grafton for the purpose of 
bringing to their new habitation his family which 
consisted of his young wife, an infant son and his 
aged mother, all of whom journeyed thither on one 
horse. He reclaimed from the wilderness and 
brought to a good state of cultivation the farm 
which is now or was recently owned by A. A. Put- 
nam, and the primitive log cabin that originallly 
sheltered the pioneer family, stood directly opposite 
the present dwelling house. It contained a Dutch 
fire place capable of holding a log eight feet long, 
and afforded ample protection from the wolve.s 
which frequently besieged it at night, but finding it 
impregnable they contented themselves by devour- 
ing the sheep. He married, January 28, 1779, Lucy 
Wilson, of Northboro, Massachusetts and his chil- 
dren were : Luther. Lucy, Ephraim, William, Sally, 
Artemas. Harriet, Solomon, and Finis, all of whom 
were natives of Winchester except the eldest. 

(HI) Captain William, third son and fourth 
child of William and Lucy (Wilson) Rixford. was 
born at Winchester. It is quite probable that he ac- 
quired his title in the militia. He remained upon the 
homestead farm, and having assisted his father in 
erecting a more pretentious frame dwelling, he was 
left in possession of the cabin, ^ which he continued 
to occupy for some years, or until completing an- 
other frame dwelling. Some twenty-five years later 
he removed to his father's residence, and his death 
occurred at the old homestead in 1869. He was an 
upright, conscientious man, a good neighbor and 
an honored citizen. He married Betsey Willard, 
daughter of Lieutenant Amos Willard, .and was the 
father of five children : Eliza, now the widow of 
Clark Dodge and resides in Keene. Emily, who 
married (first), Willard Farrington, and (second) 
Ebenezer Clark, of Keene, where she spent the re- 
mainder of her life. William, Jr., Willard and 
Lucius, the two last named being twins. 

(IV) Willard, of the children of Captain Wil- 
liam and Betsey (Willard) Rixford, was born in 
Winchester, July 25, 1812, and died July 16, 1906. 
He grew to manhood as a farmer at the homestead, 
and his active years were devoted to that indepen- 
dent calling. He resided in the house erected by 
his father nearly one hundred years ago. up to his 
decease, when he had attained his ninety-fourth 
year. He married Rhoda Coombs, and she became 
the mother of five children : Emily E., Henry W., 
Harriet E., Mary C. and William, who died in in- 
fancy. Of these the only survivor is Henry W., 
of Winchester. 

(V) Henry W., second child of William and 
Rhoda (Coombs) Rixford, was born in Winchester, 
January g, 1842. He attended the public schools, 
and at an early age began to assist his father in 
farming. Like his ancestors he has found agriculture 
an agreeable and satisfactory occupation, and for 
many years he has ably managed the homestead 
farm. Mr. Rixford has always refused to hold 
office, although he is a Republican of the stalwart 
type. The family attend the Universalist Church. 

On January I. 1868, he married Elsie P. Stowell. 
born in Winchester, January 18, 1847, daughter of 
Roswell Stowell, whose birth took place in Ches- 
terfield, this state, November 17, 1815. Mr. and 
Mrs. Rixford are the parents of three children: 



Delia G., Nellie R. and Jessie P. Delia G. married 
Burton G. Willard, and has two children: Elsie M. 
and Ella R. Willard. Nellie R. married Jesse Loreno 
Putnam, and thev have six children: Willard A., 
Harold R., Marshall H., Bertha M., Marian B. and 
Clarence E. Jesse P. married P. H. Willard. 



The original bearer of this cognomen 
MOSELEY took it without doubt from the lo- 
cality in which he dwelt. The as- 
sumption of the name indicates that He was one 
who dwelt permanently at that place, and was a 
person of settled habits. When the religious 
troubles of the seventeenth century arose, a de- 
scendant of the first Moseley found his environ- 
ment made intolerable by fanatical oppression and 
removed from England to the freedom of the New 
England forest, and settling there was the first of 
five generations who lived contentedly, like their de- 
scendants, in the same town. The name and the 
record of the family both show that the Moseleys 
were (and still are) of that class of citizens who 
are well thought of by their neighbors, love 
home and can succeed wherever they choose to 
make their abiding place. 

(I) John Moseley, whose name in the ancient 
records is spelled with many variations, as Mawdes- 
ley, Modesley. Madesley, but has long been fixed as 
Moseley, came probably in the ship "Mary and 
John," which sailed from Plymouth, England, 
March 20, 1630. settled at Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts, in 1630, was admitted freeman, March 14. 
1639, and died there August 29, 1661. He married 
(first) Elizabeth (surname unknown), and by her 
had a son Joseph or John, born 1638, but whether 
any more children or not is unknown. His second 

wife. Cicely , died November 3, 1661. She 

named in her will three children: John, Elizabeth 
and Thomas. 

(II) Thomas, youngest child of John and Cicely 
Moseley, was born in Dorchester, where he died Oc- 
tober 22, 1706. He was admitted to the church in 
1658. He married, October 28, 1658, Mary, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Lawrence, of Hingham. She died 
.\pril, 1723. They had nine children: Increase, 
John, Mary, Thomas, Elizabeth, L'nite, Ebenezer, 
Nathaniel and Joseph. 

(III) Ebenezer. fifth son and seventh child of 
Thomas and Mary (Lawrence) Moseley, was born 
in Dorchester, September 4, 1673, and died Septem- 
ber 19, 1740. He was constable, 1705, town treas- 
urer, 1720, town clerk,' 1721, and selectman, 1719-21. 
He married (first) Elizabeth, daughter of William 
Trescott, and (second) Hannah, daughter of John 
Weeks. 

(IV) Ebenezer, son of Ebenezer and Elizabeth 
(Trescott) Moseley, was born May 19, 1695, mar- 
ried. May 29, 1718, Elizabeth Atherton, born April 
14, T701, daughter of Humphrey and Elizabeth 
Atherton, of Dorchester. 

(V) Thomas, son of Ebenezer and Elizabeth 
(. Atherton) Moseley, born in Dorchester, June 2. 
1728, married. April' 23, 1752, Esther Davis, born in 
Dorchester, November 7, 1731, daughter of Jona- 
than, Jr., and Sarah Davis. She died April 21, 
1811. 

(VI) Samuel Moseley. son of Thomas and 
Esther (Davis) Moseley, born in Dorchester, Mas- 
sachusetts, October 3, 1765, died in Weathersfield, 
Vermont, June 20. 1828, aged sixty-two years. When 





MxA^ ^.' finULui 




(3^-7 ex^^Je^oi^ *^ -^^..o-kIcJ^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



995 



^ young man he went with his brother Ebenezer to 
Weathersfield, where he resided and carried on the 
business of tanning. He married, December 29, 
1793, Priscilla Baker, daughter of Ebenezer and 
Abigail Baker. Mr. Baker died May 24. 1798, aged 
fifty-seven years. His wife died January 24, 1780. 
The children of Samuel and Priscilla (Baker) 
Moseley were : Baker, Fanny, Elmira, Laurena, 
Franklin and Francis (twins), Abigail Preston, Es- 
ther Christia and Eleanor. 

(VH) Franklin, second son and fifth child of 
Samuel and Priscilla (Baker) Moseley, was born in 
Weathersfield, Vermont^ August 4, 1S04, and died 
January 12, 1894, in Concord. His boyhood was 
passed in his native town, where he went to school 
and between terms rendered such aid as he could to 
liis father. When about sixteen years of age he 
went to Boston, and as he had but little money, but 
was possessed of a sound physical constitution and 
plenty of energy, he made the journey on foot, as 
was not an uncommon thing in those days. On his 
arrival in Boston he took a place as clerk in a dry 
goods store, where he worked for a time. From 
Boston he went to New Chester, now Hill, New 
Hampshire, and in January. 1828, he and his twin 
brother Francis entered into a partnership and 
opened a general store. 

In those days money was not plenty, and many 
who bought goods could only pay for them in 
work. To accommodate this class of customers the 
Moseley firm bought palm leaf strips which the wo- 
men wove into hats that were sent to Boston to be 
sold. After the partnership had existed some years, 
Francis Moseley died June 30, 1833, and Franklin 
continued the jjusiness alone, and also had other 
stores at Sanbornton and Danbury. In addition to 
the mercantile business he engaged in the manu- 
facture of shoes. He had a shop in which he em- 
ployed twenty or thirty men, and this constituted a 
large business in those days, when all the goods 
were hauled by teams between Hill and Concord, 
twenty-seven miles distant, and transportation be- 
tween Concord and Boston was principally done by 
the Boston and Concord Boating Company, which 
ran a line of boats between those two cities by 
canal and the Merrimack river, a distance of eighty- 
five miles, until 1842, when the Concord Railroad 
was finished. Mr. Moseley's business ability and 
personal integrity are made evident by the fact that 
while a resident of Hill he was elected to and filled 
the offices of town clerk, selectman, justice of the 
peace, and representative in the state legislature. 

In 1852 he removed to Concord and entered the 
employ of J. A. Gilmore & Company, wholesale 
dealers in fleur and grain, and October 30, 1854, he 
and David T. Watson bought out the interest of J. 
A. Gilmore (afterward governor), but kept the old 
name of J. A. Gilmore & Company. This firm then 
consisted of Asahel Clapp, John H. Pearson, Benja- 
min Grover, David T. Watson and Franklin Mose- 
ley. Subsequently the name of the firm was J. H. 
Pearson. Barron & Company, Barron, Dodge & 
Company, J. V. Barron & Company, Howe, Moseley 



& Company, John H. Barron & Company, and 
Moseley & Company. 

AiteT his removal to Concord, Mr. Moseley 
never sought official recognition at the hands of his 
fellow citizens. He attended the South Congrega- 
tional Church, of which he was a libera! supporter. 
His political affiliations were Democratic. He was 
emphatically a business man, and his life was one 
of steady and active devotion to business and family. 
He retired from active mercantile pursuits about 
1870. with success achieved through long years of 
faithful attention to business and upright dealings. 

He married, in Hill, February 24, 1835, Lydia 
Rowell Hoyt, born in Amesbury, Massachusetts, 
April 12. 1806. (see Hoyt VII) and their children 
were : John Francis and Carroll and Carlos Beck- 
with (twins). 

(VIII) John Francis, oldest of the three sons 
of Franklin and Lydia R. (Hoyt) Moseley, was 
born in Hill, July 20, 183S, and died in Concord, 
August 12, 1905. He received a common school 
education, and learned how to transact mercantile 
business in his father's store. On the removal of 
his father's family to Concord John F. accompanied 
them, and from 1853 to 1898 was actively engaged 
in the flour and grain business, from which he re- 
tired in 1900. During this period he was associated 
cither as clerk or as partner in most of the firms of 
which his father was a member in Concord. For 
several years before his death he was interested in 
the firm of G. N. Bartemus & Company, though not 
in an active personal sense. 

Mr. Moseley was a good business man and took 
a pride in doing things well. He was a man of 
high principles and sterling character. Of a natur- 
ally reserved and retiring disposition, the number 
of his acquaintances was not large. Those who 
were brought into his favored circle speak in terms 
of highest admiration of him. Without display he 
acted well the part of an exemplary citizen, and 
found true success in business by giving every man 
his due. In the sphere where he was best known 
he is greatly missed and truly mourned. His prin- 
ciples were thoroughly established, and he was a 
sincere Democrat, though he took no active part in 
political movements. While he shunned often- 
proffered official responsibility, he never shirked his 
duty as a citizen, always expressing his convictions 
at the polls, and leaving political preferment to 
others who might desire it. 

He married, August 23, 1880, Abbie Fletcher, 
born June 6. 1845, in Loudon, New Hampshire, 
daughter of James and Catherine (Orr) Fletcher, 
the former a native of Loudon and the latter of 
Chester or Auburn. James Fletcher was a son of 
Joshua and Elizabeth (Chase) Fletcher, who were 
married in 1799, and Joshua was a son of James 
Fletcher. Mrs. Moseley resides in the beautiful 
home erected in 1899-1900 by her husband, located 
on Warren street, Concord. 

(VIII) Carlos Beckwith. youngest son of 
Franklin and Lydia R. (Hoyt) Moseley, was born 
July IS, 1843, in Hill, and educated in the common 



996 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



schools of that town and in Concord, after the re- 
moval of his father to the latter place. In i860 he 
was appointed to a clerkship in the Concord post- 
office and filled that place a year. From 1861 to 
1863 he was employed as a telegrapher, and the 
following seven years as a clerk in the offices of the 
Concord Railroad Company. In 1870 he took a 
position in the flour and grain business, where he 
was steadily engaged for the following thirty years, 
devoting his time and energy to that business, first 
as a clerk and later as a partner, and meeting with 
well deserved success. He retired in 1900, at the 
same time as his brother John, and has since that 
time been interested in real estate at York Beach, 
Maine. Diligence in business, reliability, and an 
affable manner have been three important factors 
in Mr. Moseley's success. He is a Democrat, but 
takes no active part in political affairs, and attends 
the South Congregational Church. 

Carlos B. Moseley was married in Concord. No- 
vember 28, 1872, by Rev. F. O. Aj'er, pastor of 
North Congregational Church, to Helen A. Morgan, 
daughter of Charles L. and Josephine A. (Spiller) 
Morgan, of Concord. They have two children : 
Charles Franklin, the elder, married Lida B. 
Knowles, of Fort Fairfield, Maine. Lydia Jose- 
phine, married Frank Webster Sanborn, and has 
one child, Waldo Moseley Sanborn. All reside in 
Concord. In 1S98 Mr. Moseley began the erection 
af his handsome home, on Merrimack street. Con- 
cord. It was completed in 1900, and is fitted with 
the appointments, adornments and comforts of a 
thoroughly modern dwelling. 



The Scotch blood which is borne by 
DUNLAP many citizens of New Hampshire has 

done much to maintain the high 
moral standard of the state, and has also been active 
in clearing away the forest and developing its re- 
sources and industries. 

(I) Archibald Dunlap removed from the north 
of Ireland and was among those to early arrive in 
New Hampshire, settling in~ Chester. He located 
on home lot No. 26 of that town. In 1741 he mar- 
ried Martha, daughter of Joseph Neal, of that town, 
and their children were : Joseph, James. John, 
Mary, William, Sarah. Samuel and Martha. The 
father and the three daughters died within a period 
of three weeks of a throat disorder, which was 
probably diphtheria. 

(II) Samuel, youngest son and seventh child of 
Archibald and Martha (Neal) Dunlap, was born in 
Chester, and was bound out to learn the carpenter's 
trade. While residing in Chester he worked largely 
at his trade in Concord, and assisted in erecting the 
steeple of the first church built in that town in 1783. 
Soon after attaining his majority he married Nancy 
Corcoran and settled first in Henniker. In 1797 he 
removed to Salisbury, New Hampshire, and there 
died August 2, 1830. On December 30, 1806. he 
bought a half interest in the saw mill of David 
Pettingill. on the site of the present Prince Mill, 
and on the tenth of the following March he pur- 



chased the other part of the property, thus becoming- 
sole owner. To this he added a gristmill and the 
records show that on April 13, iSii. he sold saw 
and grist mills to his sons, John and James. His- 
children were : Sarah, Joseph, Samuel, John, James, 
William, Mary, Thomas (died young), David, 
Nancy, Thomas, Daniel and Joel. 

(III) David, seventh son and ninth child of 
Samuel and Nancy (Corcoran) Dunlap, was born 
April 2, 1794, in Henniker, New Hampshire, and 
early in life went to Schenectady, New York, where 
he learned the trade of saddler with his uncle, Will- 
iam Dunlap. He settled in Newburyport, Massa- 
chusetts, and died there in November, 1S29. He 
married in that town, February 4, 1824, Fanny, 
daughter of Abel and Bridget (Smith) Bartlett. 
She was born January 15, 1801, in Newburyport, 
where she died September 24. 1829. Their children 
were : Joseph D., William and Henry S. The eld- 
est son resides in Westfield, Massachusetts. The- 
second in Salisbury and the third in Concord. New 
Hampshire. 

(IV) William, second son of David and Fanny 
(Bartlett) Dunlap, was born August 23, 1826, in 
Newburyport, Massachusetts, and went to Salisbury, 
New Hampshire, when three years of age to live 
with his uncle, James D. Dunlap, and remained with 
him sixteen years. In the meantime he had the ad- 
vantages of the excellent schools of Salisbury, and 
at the same time learned the milling business which 
he continued for many years. He was a student 
for a time at Tilton Academy and then entered the 
employ of Cyrus Gookin at West Salisbury. At the 
age of eighteen years he went to Concord and for 
two or three years was employed in the manufacture 
of sash and blinds, which was conducted by Daniel 
H. Dunlap. Returning to Salisbury he became a 
partner of Cyrus Gookin, January i, 1857. and for 
seventeen years they conducted a mercantile busi- 
ness at West Salisbury. After the death of Mr. 
Gookin Mr. Dunlap continued the business alone 
and purchased the interest of his partner from his 
heirs, and thus continued until old age compelled 
his retirement from active labor. He died Febru- 
ary 23, 1897. For many years succeeding the estab- 
lishment of a postofKce at West Salisbury he was- 
the postmaster in charge. He was several years- 
clerk of the town, and in 1893 represented the town 
in the legislature. In political principles he was a 
Democrat. He married (first). May 22, 1851, 
Emelia T. Severance, daughter and thirteenth child 
of Joseph and Anna (Currier) Severance, of 
Andover. She was born April 12, 1826, and died 
March 31, 1855, in Concord. Mr. Dunlap married 
(second). May 2, 1858. Ellen C. daughter of Rich- 
ard and Alice H. (Watson) Fellows, of Salisbury. 
She was born 'July 16, 1S34. She is the mother of 
all of his children, namely: Frank H., Willie G. 
and Fred A. The second resides in Concord and 
the third in Antrim. 

(V) Frank Henry, eldest child of William and 
Ellen C. (Fellows) Dunlap. was born Jaiuiary 8, 
t86o, in Salisbury, New Hampshire, where he now 
resides. After attending the common schools he 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



997 



was a student at Proctor Academy in Andover, 
after which he was employed as a clerk in the store 
of his father at West Salisbury. In 1857 he went 
to Meredith, New Hampshire, and was there em- 
ployed by J. W. Bead & Company, grocers, until 
1880. In that year he was engaged by J. T. Taylor, 
■of Tilton, with whom he continued four years. He 
then returned to Salisbury, and was engaged in his 
father's store until the death of the latter, when he 
became his successor and is still conducting the 
business. In 1S84 Mr. Dunlap established a poul- 
try business in Salisbury, beginning with twenty 
hens and has now five hundred and out of their 
•earnings has built thirteen houses for them. Since 
1880 this business has netted him about ten thousand 
dollars. This is a very positive, affirmative answer 
to the oft-repeated question in agricultural journals, 
"Do hens pay ?" Mr. Dunlap is a Democrat in prin- 
ciple, but is independent in political action and is 
popular with his townsmen. For four years he 
served the town as treasurer and was elected repre- 
sentative in 1889. He is a member of Merrimack 
Lodge, No. 28. Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
of Franklin, and of the Royal Lodge, Ancient Or- 
der of United Workmen, of the same town. He is 
a regular attendant and supporter of the Baptist 
Church. He has been successful in business as a 
result of his industry and correct calculations. 

Mr. Dunlap was married. March 25, 1884, to 
Cara Prince, daughter of David and Caroline E. 
(Pierson) Prince, of Salisbury, and his three chil- 
dren are: Ralph, born February 4, 1888. Clifton, 
born July 26, 1891. Bernard, born May g, 1S94. 
The first two are students at Kimball Union Acad- 
emy, Meriden, New Hampshire. 



In the records of the times when sur- 
HULL names were beginning to be used are 

found mention of Nicholas atte Hulle. 
Jordan de la Hulle, Geoffrey de la Helle and John 
de la Hill, each designating a person more particu- 
larly by adding to his name Nicholas. Jordan, 
GeofTrey or John, a reference to the hull, or hell, 
that is, hill, on which h« lived. In later times de la 
was dropped and Hull and Hill became surnames 
without further reference to the person's place of 
residence. 

(I) George Hull was at Concord in 174", and 
was taxed there in 1757 and 1758, and were the tax 
lists preserved they would probably show that he 
was taxed there about twenty years. He removed 
to Plymouth in 1765, and February 13 of that year, 
George Hull, weaver, of Concord, purchased one 
full right or share in Plymouth, which originally 
belonged to Meshech Weare, one of the grantees. 
He died in 1807. His wife's baptismal name w-as 
Mehitable. Their children were : Nathaniel, Sam- 
uel, Joseph, George, Mehitable, Moses, Jonathan 
and John. 

(II) Jonathan, seventh child and sixth son of 
George and Mehitable Hull, was born in Plymouth, 
1768, and died September 23, 1S49, aged eighty-one. 
He lived in Hebron from 1791 to 1807, and then 



purchased of his brother John the paternal farm. 
He was an intelligent, amiable man, fond of reading 
and music, and took care that the musical taste, 
which his children all inherited, should be developed 
in thein. Pie married (first), March 19, 1795, Bet- 
sey Lovejoy, born in Hebron, daughter of Abial 
and Mary (Hobart) Lovejoy. She died November 
3, 1815. He married (second), July 15, 1816. Lois 
Merrill. She died January 21, i860. His children, 
all by the first wife, were : Betsey, Jonathan, Moses. 
Olive, Jacob Lovejoy, Nathaniel, Isaac Baxter and 
Phineas. 

(III) Moses, third child and second son of Jon- 
athan and Betsey (Lovejoy) Hull, was born in 
Hebron. March 29, 1800, and died in Plymouth, 
July 25, 1878. He inherited the paternal acres, and 
later owned and tilled what is known as the Phillips 
farm. He was a man of ability, and an honest and 
worthy citizen. He was a fine performer of the 
tenor drum, and for many years was drum major 
in the militia. In his age he was blind and infirm, 
but his ability to play the drum still remained. He 
married, November 24, 1825. after a courtship of 
eight years. Zilpah Ward, born June 11, 1799, and 
died September 10, 1875, daughter of Isaac and 
Polly (Thurlow) Ward. Their children were: 
William Gould, Harriet Ann, Arthur Ward and 
Mary Ellen. 

(IV) William Gould, eldest child of Moses and 
Zilpah (Ward) Hull, was born in Plymouth, De- 
cember 13. 1826. He received his education in the 
district school and at Holmes Academy. At the 
age of fifteen years he made his personal belongings 
into a small bundle which he took under his arm, 
and went to Plymouth and secured a place where he 
worked for his board and attended school. After 
attending Holmes Academy two terms he taught 
school a term, and then accepted a position as clerk 
which he filled several years. From 1872 to 187S 
he was a member of the firm, Webster, Hull & 
Company, merchants of Plymouth. He then be- 
came a member of the firm of Ward. McQuesten & 
Hull, glove manufacturers, then the largest firm of 
the kind in the town. He was in that business five 
years, and then opened a summer boarding house, 
known as "Rose Lawn." in the central part of the 
village, which he managed until 1880, when Mrs. 
Hull died. After her death he was employed by 
the lumber companies as clerk and superintendent 
in Livermore and Woodstock, but retained his legal 
residence in Plymouth nearly all that time. In 
town affairs Mr. Hull's services have been fre- 
quently sought, and he has been selectman, road 
agent, representative and postmaster, and has filled 
acceptably many other positions. While a repre- 
sentative he served as a member of the committee 
for the Asylum for the Insane at Concord, and as 
chairman directed its business. In 1895, upon the 
request of his fellow citizens, he accepted the post- 
mastership of Plymouth, and served four years. As 
a member and treasurer of the Town History Com- 
mittee, he is kindly remembered by his associates 
and the writer and his services were fully appre- 



998 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ciated by his townsmen. His duties in all positions 
have been performed in a faithful and efficient man- 
ner, and received the endorsements of his fellow 
citizens. In politics he is a Democrat of the Jack- 
sonian type. Always mindful of the difficulties he 
had in acquiring his education, and desirous of help- 
ing young people to qualify for higher stations in 
life, he has assisted many of them in obtaining their 
schooling by lending them money. In social, poli- 
tical and financial circles his name is respected and 
honored. He married, July 12, 1854, Laura Eliza- 
beth Taylor Crockett, born July 6, 1828, and died 
October 0, 1S80. She was the daughter of Benaiah 
S. and Mary (Taylor) Crockett, of Holderness, and 
granddaughter of Rev. John Crockett, of Sanborn- 
lon. She was a lady of culture and literary attain- 
ments, and her memory is a sacred treasure of the 
family. Two sons were born of this union: Arthur 
C. and Heber W. 

(V) Arthur Crockett, son of William G. and 
Laura E. T. (Crockett) Hull, was born in Plym- 
outh, April 30, 1857, and educated in Plymouth, 
Exeter and New Hampton. He is a traveling sales- 
man, representing the firm of J. C. Norris & Com- 
pany, of Concord. He resides in Plymouth. He 
married, May 24, 1896, Annie P. Burgess, daughter 
of Joseph and Carrie Burgess, of Wareham, Mas- 
sachusetts. 

(V) Heber William, second son of William G. 
and Laura E. T. (Crockett) Hull, was born in 
Plymouth, October 29. 1861, and is a conductor on 
the Boston & Maine Railroad, with residence at 
Plymouth. He takes a lively interest in politics, is 
a Democrat, and was selectman in 1902-04; served 
as chairman of the board one year. March, 1907, 
he was Democratic candidate for county commis- 
sioner. He married (first), March 15. 1S87. Mary 
J. Drinkwater, born in Portland, Maine, October 
27, 1859, daughter of A. and May (Patrick) Drink- 
water. She died August 29. i8go. He married 
(second), July 3, 1898, Rosa Frances Heath, born 
in Holderness, June 19, 1877. They have one child, 
Laura Frances, born in Plymouth, November S, 
1901. 



(I) Nathaniel Ladd Drury was born in 
DRLTRY Malone. New York, June 11, 1823, and 

died in Claremont, New Hampshire, 
December 5, 1872. He was a cutler by trade and 
carried on the manufacture of cutlery for some 
years in his native town. Later he removed to Clare- 
mont and spent the remainder of his life there. 
His wife's maiden name was Harriet Adelaide 
Brown and she was born in Charlestown. N. H., 
October 24, 1827. They had three children : Kate, 
William Herbert and Nellie M. Of the two daugh- 
ters. Kate died in childhood, Nellie M. still resides 
in Claremont. 

(II) William Herbert Drury, the only son and 
second child of these parents, was born in Clare- 
mont, December 22. 1855, and died in Manchester, 
New Hampshire, April 13, 1901. He was educated 
in the public schools of Claremont and graduated 



from the Stevens High School of that town in the 
class of 1876. Later he attended St. Lawrence Uni- 
versity of Canton, New York. As his parents were 
possessed of only moderate means he was compelled 
to work his own way in part, which he did with 
much ability. On completing his preparatory studies 
he entered the law office of Hon. Hosea W. Parker, 
of Claremont, with whom he read law for three 
years and was admitted to the New Hampshire bar 
in the summer of 1880. He located in Epping, New 
Hampshire, where he practiced his profession from 
1880 to 1887. For a time he also had a law office 
at Derry, New Hampshire, where he was associated 
with the late Fred. R. Felch. In November, 1S88, 
he removed to Manchester and in January, 1889, he 
formed a partnership with Hon. Robert J. Peaslee 
under the firm name of Drury & Peaslee. This 
partnership continued until Mr. Peaslee's appoint- 
ment as a member of the Supreme Court of New 
Hampshire in July. 1S98. From that time Mr. 
Drury continued in business alone imtil February, 
1899, when the partnership of Drury & Hurd was 
formed, Henry N. Hurd, of Manchester, becoming 
the junior partner. This firm continued until De- 
cember, 1901, when Mr. Drury became associated 
with Hon. David A. Taggart and Hon. George H. 
Bingham, the firm being known as Taggart, Bing- 
ham & Drury. Here his prospects were of the 
brightest when, after a few months, he was stricken 
with the illness which ended in his death. During 
his residence and practice in Manchester Mr. 
Drury became recognized as one oi her soundest 
and most capable lawyers. He was a tireless 
worker and patient and constant in all of his re- 
search ; he was a man of the strictest integrity, 
honorable in all his dealings and was implicitly 
trusted by those associated with him as well as by 
all with whom he came in contact. Upon first ac- 
quaintance he was somewhat retiring, but when 
once a friendship was formed he was known and 
appreciated as a genial and sympathetic companion 
and a firm and helpful friend. He gave to his 
many clients unsparingly of his ability, and his suc- 
cess was ol steady growth and was constantly 
broadening. A great lover of home, his most en- 
joyable moments were spent with his family at his 
own fireside. In politics Mr. Drury was a Dem- 
ocrat and took an active part in political affairs. 
His judgment in business affairs was ever practical 
and sound, appreciating which his constituents 
twice elected him to the office of selectman in the 
town of Epping; and he was also sent to represent 
this town as a member of the Constitutional Con- 
vention of 1889. In religion he was of the Univer- 
salist faith and attended the First Universalist 
Church of Manchester. He was both a Mason and 
an Odd Fellow and in the former order had attained 
high rank as past illustrious master of Sullivan 
Lodge. Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of Ep- 
ping ; he also held membership in Washington 
Lodge. Mount Horcb Arch Chapter. Adoniram 
Council and Trinity Commandery of Manchester, 
and of Wildey Lodge, Independent Order of Odd' 




-2 c^<^-. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



999 



Fellows, of the same city. Shortly after coming to 
Manchester he became a member of the Calumet 
Club, a social organization^ and was one of the 
originators and founders of the Manchester Gym- 
nasium. November 21, 1S8S, Mr. Drury united in 
marriage with Mary Evelyn Tolles. a daughter of 
Edwin Wharton and Harriet Elizabeth (Mason) 
Tolles. The father was a native of Claremont and 
by occupation a merchant ; the mother was a native 
of Hartford, Vermont. Mrs. Drury was born in 
Hastings, Minnesota, but spent most of her early 
life in Claremont and was there educated in the 
public schools^ being graduated from the Sfevens 
High School in the class of 1878. She is also a 
member and attendant of the same church as was 
Mr. Drury. Three children were born of this 
union, two of w^hom, Ralph Howard and Ruth Liz- 
beth, are now living, and are being educated in the 
public schools of Manchester. 



This ancient occupative surname, 
DRAPER like Weaver and Taylor, which 

came from the calling followed by 
him who bore it first, is found in the early records 
of New England, and from those Puritan settlers 
who brought it here have descended generations of 
worthy successors. 

(I) Jacob Draper was born in that part of 
Kingston which is now Sandown, about 1750, and 
died in 1817. He removed to Plymouth and settled 
in the south part of that town before 1776. He was 
in the Revolution, serving as a soldier on the fron- 
tier, in Captain Jeremiah Eames' company from 
July to October, 1776. He married, in Plymouth, 
December 4, 1777, Elizabeth Ladd. born in Kings- 
ton. January 6, 1756, daughter of Nathaniel and 
Sarah (Clifford) Ladd, of Kingston and Alexan- 
dria'. Their children were : Jacob, Jonathan, Will- 
iam, Sarah, Joseph, Nathaniel. Peter, Reuben, Han- 
nah and Betsey. 

(II) Nathaniel, sixth child of Jacob and Eliza- 
beth (Ladd) Draper, was born in Plymouth, in 
1790, and died August 10, 1875. For a time he 
was a farmer on Ward Hill ; he then removed to 
Plymouth village, where for several years he con- 
ducted a meat market and was a dealer in produce. 
He bought various kinds of goods in Canada which 
he disposed of in Plymouth. He was selectman in 
1824-25. He married (first), in 1814, Mary Gill, 
born August 24, 1796, and died in Plymouth. De- 
cember 22, 1837. She was the daughter of William 
and Ruth (Haselton) Gill, of Newmarket and Bos- 
cawen. He married (second). February, 1841, Re- 
becca (Shute) Shattuck, widow of Enos Shattuck. 
His children, all by the first wife, were: Mary 
Jane. Jason C, Eliza. Harriet, Nathaniel Fletcher, 
Emily (died young), and Mary Emily. 

(III) Nathaniel Fletcher, second son and fifth 
child of Nathaniel and Mary (Gill) Draper, was 
born January 12, 1826, and died November 5, 1S71. 
After spending some years in farming he went to 
Manchester, where he was engaged in the retail 
grocery business for some years as a clerk. From 



there he went to Lowell. Massachusetts, and was ins 
the employ of Puffer & Company, grocery mer- 
chants, for some years, and also spent a year ir^ 
Bridgeport, Connecticut. He afterward went to 
Hunterstown, Province of Quebec, Canada, and 
had charge of the mills and store of a large corpor- 
ation six years. In 1857 he returned to Plymouth. 
He carried on a grocery business in Lower Inter- 
vale, and was also a partner with T. R. Hawley, in 
the firm of T. R. Hawley & Company, manufac- 
turers of gloves. At the end of five years Mr. 
Draper sold out his business, both grocery and 
glove manufactory, and formed a partnership with 
Samuel Blanchard under the name of Blanchard & 
Draper, for the manufacture of gloves. This firm 
lasted until Mr. Draper's death. Mr. Draper was a 
staunch Republican. He married, June 16, 1S49, 
Emma Bridgman, born in Dorchester. January 12, 
1827, and died September 21, 1892, daughter of 
Elbridge Bridgman. Five children were born of 
this union : Jason Fletcher, Harriet Emeline, Hen- 
rietta Florence. Walter Kendrick and Jennie I\Iay. 
Jason Fletcher is the subject of the next paragraph. 
Harriet E., born July 5, 1852, married, March 28, 
1872. John F. Maynard of Manchester, and died 
April 12, 1879. Henrietta F., became the wife of 
John F. Maynard. February 24, 1881. Walter K., 
born August 23, 1859. died April 19, l8go. He mar- 
ried (first) Helen Clough, and (second) Lillian 
Fadden. He lived in Ashland. 

(IV) Jason Fletcher, eldest son of Nathaniel 
F. and Emma (Bridgman) Draper, was born in 
Lowell, Massachusetts, October 10, 1850. He was 
educated in the schools of Plymouth, at Master 
Hiram Cass's private school at Center Harbor, and 
at Tilton Seminar}-. The two years next succeed- 
ing his school days he was in the employ of Sargent 
Brothers & Company, dry goods merchants. Boston. 
Then returning to Plymouth he became a traveling 
salesman for his father, selling gloves throughout 
New England and Canada, Continuing for fifteen 
years. On the death of his father in 1871 he took 
his place in the business, and was a partner with a 
Mr. Blanchard for six years, until the latter retired, 
and Mr. Draper formed a partnership with George 
A. Draper, of Bristol, and Lemuel Draper, of Win- 
chester. Massachusetts, which continued for two 
years. A son, F. Draper, then continued the busi- 
ness with his brother-in-law, John F. Maynard, o' 
Manchester, under the firm name of J. F. Draper & 
Company, until November, 27. 1897. The business 
was then incorporated under the name of the 
Draper-Maynard Company, with a capital of $25,000. 
The company conducted a factory in Ashland nine- 
teen years, removing the manufacture to "a new fac- 
tory in Plymouth in December, 1900. In February 
of the same year the capital stock of the corpora- 
tion was increased to $50,000, and December 31, 
1902, again increased to $100,000, and in July. 1906, 
raised a third time to $150,000; the officers being: 
President, John F. Maynard : treasurer. Harry S. 
Huckins ; general manager. Jason F. Draper ; di- 
Vectors, the above named officers. The regular 



lOOO 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



manufacture of gloves gave place to the manufac- 
ture of sporting goods in 1904. The average num- 
ber of pairs of gloves manufactured for some years 
was many thousands. The number of persons now 
employed by the establishment is one hundred and 
fifty. In political faith Mr. Draper is a Republican. 
He is a member of Olive Branch Lodge, No. 16, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons ; and Plymouth 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of 
Plymouth, and of the New Hampshire Club of Bos- 
ton, of which he is one of the early members. 

Mr. Draper married, February 26. 18S1, Hattie 
Cora Russell, born June 3, 1855, daughter of Pela- 
tiah and Mary Ann (Woodman) Russell, of Plym- 
outh. Four children have been born to them : Mary 
Emma, May S, 1882 ; Catherine Muriel. February 
25, 1884, died March 21, 1885 ; Harriet Marguerite, 
July 17. 1S89; and Jason Russell, May 27, 1900. 



Dr. Shea, of Nashua, is descended from 
SHEA the Sheas of county Kerry, Ireland, and 
therefore belongs to one of the most 
noted families of the Emerald Isle. Many of this 
name, which is of great antiquity in Ireland, emi- 
grated to the United States, becoming useful citi- 
zens, and their children and grandchildren are now 
in the midst of successful careers in business and 
professional life. 

(I) John Shea resided in county Kerry and 
was contemporaneous with the patriots of 1798. 

(II) Timothy Shea, son of John, also resided 
in county Kerry and was a veterinary surgeon. 

(III) Daniel Shea, son of Timothy, was born 
in county Kerry, August, 1840. Emigrating to this 
country at the age of sixteen years he found em- 
ployment in the cotton mills of Nashua and was 
subsequently enabled, through his habits of indus- 
try and thrift, to purchase a farm, which he culti- 
vated energetically for the rest of his life. He mar- 
ried Catherine McDonald, also a native of Ireland, 
and a daughter of Edward McDonald. Her father, 
who was at one time the steward of an Irish estate, 
went to the island of Jamaica, West Indies, where 
he purchased a plantation, and while visiting the 
old country for the purpose of removing his family 
to their new home, he was' seized with a violent at- 
tack of fever which proved fatal. Mrs. Catherine 
Shea became the mother of eleven children, six of 
whom are living: John, who is now superintendent 
of the Clinton Manufacturing Company's Mills, in 
Clifton, South Carolina; Timothy H., who is now 
serving in the United States Marine Corps ; 
Augustus W., M. D., who will be again referred to ; 
Mary B., wife of Michael Kelly; Adeline, wife of 
Thomas F. Mulvanity; and Ann G., who is a school 
teacher. The family are members of the Roman 
Catholic Church. 

(IV) Augustus Washington Shea, M. D.. son 
of Daniel and Catherine (McDonald) Shea, was born 
in Nashua, August 9, 1865. His early education 
was acquired in the public schools including the 
Nashua high school, and after being graduated 
from the medical department of the University of 



Vermont in 1887, he pursued a special coarse of 
study in New York City and completed his profes- 
sional training abroad. Returning to Nashua, he 
inaugurated his professional career in the midst of 
his friends and acquaintances, and having rapidly 
acquired a high reputation as both physician and 
surgeon, he has built up an extensive practice. In 
addition to his private practice Dr. Shea finds ample 
opportunity for professional work of a semi-public 
nature as president of the Nashua Emergency Hos- 
pital, member of the Nashua Hospital Association 
and local surgeon for the Boston & Maine Railway 
Company. He is a member of the New Hamp- 
shire State Medical Society, the American Medical 
Association, the New York Association of Railway 
Surgeons ; the Order of Foresters, and the local 
grange, Patrons of Husbandry. Politically he acts 
with the Democratic party, and at the present time 
is serving on the board of public works. He mar- 
ried. June 25, 1902, Lucy Kelly, of Brooklyn, New 
York, and has two children : Lucy and Kathryn, 



The ancient family of this name 

BOISVERT has been long established in the 

province of Quebec, Canada, where 

it was founded by an immigrant from France long 

previous to the English occupation of the country. 

(I) Onesime Boisvert was born in St. Thomas 
of Pierreville. province of Quebec, Canada, and 
died in Manchester, New Hampshire, in 1873. He 
resided in Pierreville until he came to the United 
States, and settled in Manchester, New Hampshire, 
in July, 1865. He married Zoe Faucher, who was 
born in St. Thomas and died August 23, 1906. at 
the age of seventy-three years. The children of 
this union were : Adelia, Adeline, Aime Edward, 
Emma, Vitaline, Amelia, William W. and Clara. 

(II) Aime Edward, eldest son and third child of 
Onesime and Zoe (Faucher) Boisvert, was born in St. 
Thomas of Pierreville, July 8, 1863, and came with 
his parents to Manchester when two years old. He 
was educated in the public schools of Manchester, 
St. Joseph's High School and the New Hampshire 
Business College. When he was ten years old his 
father died and from that time he earned his own 
way in life and worked at such occupations as 
offered the greatest inducement, the law at that 
time not prohibiting child labor as at present. Up 
to the age of twenty he was employed as a clerk in 
dry goods houses in Manchester. He then became 
the owner of the National Laundry, which he con- 
ducted four years. May 26, 1889, he was appointed 
special agent of the General Land office by Presi- 
dent Harrison, and served until April, 1893. He 
traveled over the United States and Mexico, in- 
specting local offices and investigating land claims, 
also ascertained the birthplaces of all the Indians at 
Winnipeg, Manitoba, in order to determine whether 
the Indians were entitled to land in the United 
States, a number being found at that time who 
were natives of Canada. In 1893 he began the 
study of law in the office of Edwin F. Jones, then 
citv solicitor of Manchester, and was admitted to 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



lOOI 



the bar of New Hampshire, June 25. 1895, ^"d to 
the bar of the United States District Court, Decem- 
ber 20, 1898. Immediately after his admission to 
the bar he began practice in Manchester, where he 
has since continued to reside. His progress has 
been rapid and continuous and his practice success- 
ful. In politics he is a Republican and he has been 
active in public affairs since he attained his twenty- 
first year. In 1897 he was elected to the New 
Hampshire House of Representatives, and served 
as chairman of the committee on unfinished busi- 
ness. In 1902, and again in 1904, he was an un- 
successful candidate for the Republican nomination 
for county solicitor for the county of Hillsboro. 
In 1906 he was again a candidate, received the 
nomination, was elected on November 6 of that 
year and assumed the duties of the office in April, 
1907. Mr. Boisvert is essentially a selfmade man, 
having received nothing but what he has obtained 
by his own efforts. He is thoroughly American, 
having lived practically all his life in the United 
States, and yet he may be considered the advanced 
representative of the French Canadian in politics 
and in law in New Hampshire. He is a bright, ani- 
mated and logical speaker, and possesses the ad- 
vantage of speaking both French and English with 
equal fluency and correctness. His speeches have 
always received favorable criticism from the press 
and the public generally. In religious faith he is a 
Roman Catholic, and a generous supporter of his 
church. He is connected with various socieites. 
He is a member of the Society of St. Jean Baptiste 
d'Amerique, in which he has held the office of 
doyen or elder ; member of the Association Canada- 
American, of which he drew the first charter and in 
which he has held nearly every office, and is the 
general legal adviser; a member of the Queen City 
Tent, No. 7, Knights of Maccabees, and Manesquo 
Tribe, No. 28, Improved Order of Red Men. He 
married. May 10, 189,3, in Manchester, Alexina 
Amabilis Jeanclle, who was born at St. Thomas of 
Picrreville, province of Quebec, Canada, April 10. 
1S66, daughter of Francois and Adelaide (Belisle) 
Jeanelle. She came with her parents to Manches- 
ter when a child and was educated in the schools of 
that city and at the Convent of St. Hyacinthe, 
province of Quebec. The children of this union 
are : Amelia A. E., William Edward, Clara Arline. 
Robert Arthur (died young), Ida Robertine, George 
Ernest and Theodore Robert. 



This name which is also found 
TURCOTTE with the variations Turcot. Tur- 

cault and Dutaut, is one of the 
very early names among the Canadian immigrant 
settlers, and among the Turcots (as the name was 
originally spelled) were soldiers. Indian fighters, 
voyageurs and coureurs de bois. Abel Turcot, 
miller, of Moulleron, diocese of Maillezais Paitou, 
was born in 1631, and died Septcinber 17, 16S7. at 
Ste. Famille, Isle of Orleans. He married Marie 
Giroux, who was born in 1641, at La Fremblade, 
diocese of La Rochelle Annis, and died February 



25, 171.3. Their children were: Francois, Marie 
Renee, Marie Madeleine, and Louis. From them 
there are many descendants. 

(I) Jean Turcotte was born at St. Pierre, 
province of Quebec, in 1822, and died in 1862, aged 
forty years He was always connected with enter- 
prises of navigation and for years before his death 
owned and operated a ship, which he used to con- 
vey passengers across the St. Lawrence river be- 
tween St. Pierre and Batiscau. He married Olympe 
Gauvreau. and they were the parents of children : 
Alfred, Rezaine. Evangeliste, Xerias, Joseph Octave, 
Eloise and Arthur. Four others died young. In 
1867 Mrs, Turcotte moved with her family to Man- 
chester, New Hampshire, where the children now 
reside. She died in 1894, aged seventy-three, 

(II) Joseph Octave, fifth child and fourth son 
of Jean and Olympe (Gauvreau) Turcotte, was 
born at St. Pierre, province of Quebec, Febrtiary 
18, 1858. His father died when Joseph was six 
years of age. and the mother and a large family of 
young children were left to make their own way in 
the world as best they could. Three years later 
Joseph came with his mother and the other chil- 
dren to New Hampshire and settled in Manchester. 
He received his primary education in the schools of 
that city and at the age of sixteen went to Assomp- 
tion. province of Quebec, where he attained a higher 
institution of learning one year. He was ten years 
old when he began work in the cotton mills, being 
employed first in the Manchester Mill, then in the 
stocking mill. At eighteen he became a clerk for 
Barton & Company, dry goods merchants. A year 
later he entered the employ of P. McDonough, 
grocer, and three or four years later, clerked for 
Gauvreau & Morency, and finally for McQuade 
Brothers. Since 1885 he has been engaged in trade 
for himself. Starting in a small way he has con- 
stantly increased his stock, and now has a large 
supply of goods, and does a good business as a 
house furnisher, carrying all kinds of house furn- 
ishing goods. He is a Catholic in religion and a 
Republican in polities. He is a member of various 
societies, among which are the Maccabees, the So- 
ciety of St. John the Baptist and the St. Augustine 
Society. He married (first). June 24, 18S3, Mary 
Louise Monette. born in St. Hyacinthe, province of 
Quebec. She died in 1900, and he married (sec- 
ond) Corrine Cabana, of Manchester. The chil- 
dren of the first wife now living are: Edward L. ; 
Bcrthilda. married Napoleon J. Pichette, of Man- 
chester, has one child : Alexie : Corona ; Regina. 
Of the second wife: Leonard and Yvonne. 



With the settlers of Nutfield. the 
NEALLEY founders of Londonderry, came the 
ancestor of the Nealleys of New 
Hampshire and Maine. He was a man of energy 
and sterling worth, and his descendants, now 
numerous, partake of the characteristics that made 
him a worthy man and a respected member of the 
pioneer settlement. 

(I) William Nealley was of a Scotch family, 



1002 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



born near the city of Londonderry in the north of 
Ireland, in the latter part of the seventeenth cen- 
tury. He came to this country with his family in 
1718, they being one of the one hundred and twenty 
families who emigrated from Londonderry and vi- 
cinity with their religious instructors, and came to 
New England, landing at Boston, whence they set- 
tled in several towns, the larger number founding 
the present towns of Londonderry and Derry. It 
is not known where William Nealley and his family 
passed the few years preceding their settling in 
Nottingham, about 1725, but probably in Boston, 
and some of his children may have been born there. 
William Nealley purchased a tract of land from 
one of the Boston proprietors of that town, just 
then beginning to be settled. This farm has always 
been called the "Ledge Farm" from the fact that 
the house stands on a ledge, about a mile below 
Nottingham Square. One ledge is on a location 
which commands a beautiful landscape view, and 
the farm land is very fertile. The farm has always 
remained in possession of his descendants since his 
death, six generations. The name Nealley is 
spelled in various ways in ancient documents, as 
Nealy, Neely, Nealley, but the latter has long been 
the established orthography. William Nealley was 
a sturdy Scotch Presbyterian ; he was a man of 
great energy and force of character ; he was not 
given to office seeking or officeholding, but he did 
his share in subduing the earth and making it yield 
its bounty as the Good Book directs. He does not 
appear to have had any trouble with the Indians, as 
he is not on record as making any complaint ; but 
it is quite probable that while he read his Bible and 
had his morning prayer with the family he was 
careful to have his trusty gun handy and kept his 
powder dry. ready for any emergency. He died in 
1760; while sitting in his chair before the broad, 
open fire he suddenly expired without a struggle or 
murmur. So far as known he had four sons and 
one daughter. Three of them were: William, Mat- 
thew and John, who married and had families. 

(II) Matthew, son of 'William Nealley, was 
born at Ballygarry in the county of Derry, Ireland. 
He came with his parents to America, and grew up 
in Nottingham. There is no mention of him except 
his birth record earlier than the time of his mar- 
riage. He was an industrious, prosperous and 
worthy citizen, but does not appear to have held any 
public offices. He brought up his children, as he 
had been trained by his father, in the good old 
Scotch Presbyterian ways of living and thinking 
and walking in the ways of rectitude. The Bible 
was their text book of schooling, and in its teach- 
ings they were thoroughly trained by that mother 
of whom so little is known. He married Margaret 
Beverland. a native of Ireland, November 27, 1739. 
The marriage ceremony took place in Portsmouth 
and the marriage certificate was signed by Governor 
Wentworth, so probably he performed the nuptial 
ceremony as he was accustomed to do on many oc- 
casions. It appears that they resided on the home- 
stead farm at "The Ledge." They had two sons 



and four daughters : Joseph, Andrew. Sarah. Jenny, 
Peggy and Molly. 

(Ill) Joseph, son of Matthew and Margaret 
(Beverland) Nealley, was born in Nottingham about 
1746. He resided on the northwest side of Nottingham 
Square, a most beautiful spot which commands a 
grand panoramic view from the White Mountains 
to the Atlantic Ocean. He was a prominent citizen 
of Nottingham. He held various offices, and was 
a soldier in the Revolutionary army. At the be- 
ginning of the war for independence, in August, 
1776, he refused to sign the "Association Test" 
when the selectmen canvassed the town, by order 
of the committee of safety, to find out who were 
willing to take up arms against King George III if 
it became necessary to fight for their legal rights 
under the British constitution. The Association 
Test was a pledge indorsing the rebellion. Joseph 
Nealley was a man who did his own thinking, in- 
dependent of what others might say. Like many 
others he did not then think that all hope of paci- 
fication had expired; hence he manifested his sturdy 
independence of opinion by refusing to sign the 
test. Six months later, however, January 24, 1777, 
the events that had happened had convinced him 
that all hope of peace was lost without fighting for 
it. He decided to fight, hence on that date he en- 
listed in Captain Weare's company. Colonel Scam- 
inell's regiment, for three years. During that term 
he '.vas engr.ged in some of the hardest service of 
the war. In 1777 he was in the battle of Ticon- 
deroga, from" which he retreated with the New 
Hampshire troops before the advance of the British 
forces. On the retreat he participated in an en- 
counter at Fort Ann, where the captain of his com- 
pany, Richard Weare, was killed. Soon after this 
he was engaged in the battle of Stillwater, follow- 
ing which he was in the fiercest of the fight at 
Bemis's Heights, and last of the series at Saratoga, 
where Burgoyne surrendered the whole British 
army of the north. Previous to this he had been 
promoted from the ranks to sergeant of his com- 
pany. Sergeant Nealley had the proud satisfaction 
of seeing the haughty Burgoyne and his army march 
past the American troops after the surrender. 
Scarcely was the scene over when word was re- 
ceived from Albany that General Clinton was ad- 
vancing up the Hudson with a strong force, with 
the design to capture that town. Sergeant Nealley 
was one of the command which made a forced 
march at and from Saratoga to Albany, and arrived 
in season to prevent Clinton's proposed attack. 
From Albany Sergeant Nealley went with his regi- 
ment into the campaign under General Washington 
in New Jersey and Pennsylvania. One of the great 
battles in which he was engaged was at Monmouth, 
where the New Hampshire men fotight so bravely 
and skillfully that they received the special praise of 
General Washington. In 1779 he was w^ith General 
John Sullivan in the great and hazardous campaign 
against the Seneca Indians in New York. In 1780 
he was with the army at West Point when Arnold 
attempted to betray the post into the hands of the 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1003 



British. In 1781 he was in the southern campaign 
with Colonel Scammell, and participated in the 
siege of Yorktovvn, where he finally witnessed the 
surrender of Cornwallis and the British army which 
practically ended the war. Thus it appears that 
Sergeant Nealley was present at the greatest crises 
of the war, the surrender of Burgoyne and the sur- 
render of Cornwallis. Sergeant Nealley's record 
is without a flaw. 

Sergeant Nealley married, in 1/71, Susannah 
Bowdoin, who was born about 1752, daughter of 
John and Huldah Bowdoin, of Exeter. John Bow- 
doin, a descendant of Pierre Baudoin, a settler at 
Casco Bay. Maine, in 1687, was a wealthy man. He 
died in 1765, and the inventory of his estate shows 
property valued at £7,717. He was of the same 
family as was James Bowdoin, the distinguished 
merchant of Boston and governor of Massachusetts, 
who founded Bowdoin College. Joseph and Susan- 
nah (Bowdoin) Nealley had six children, all of 
whom married and left descendants. They were : 
Jane, Matthew, John, Joseph, Benjamin and Ed- 
ward. Jane married Greenleaf Cilley, son of Gen- 
eral Joseph Cilley, of Revolutionary fame, and was 
the mother of children, two of whom — Colonel 
Joseph Cilley. of the War of 1812, and Hon. Jon- 
athan Cilley, Congressman from Maine, had distin- 
guished careers. The sons also had distinguished 
descendants. 

(IV) Benjamin Nealley, fourth son and fifth 
child of Sergeant Joseph and Susannah (BowdoinO 
Nealley, was bo-rn in Nottingham, April 4, 1782. 
He resided in Nottingham, engaged in farming 
until all his children had grown up and settled else- 
where, when he finally removed to South Berwick, 
Maine, where several of his sons resided, being well 
established in business. He did not hold public 
office of any kind, but was an industrious and suc- 
cessful farmer, a good citizen in every way. and he 
and his wife trained up a family of boys who were 
successful in their various walks of life and were 
good citizens. Benjamin Nealley married, in 1806, 
Sally Ford, daughter of Captain Eben Ford, of 
Nottingham. She was born October 22, 1784, at the 
old Ford farm on the north side of Nottingham 
Square, w-here her ancestors settled early in the 
history of the town, coming there from Newbury, 
Massachusetts. The children of this union were 
eleven: Eben Ford, John Bowdoin, Benjamin 
Mason. Andrew Jackson, Charles M. T., George 
Kittredge, Sarah J., Susan P. and Sylvester, who 
grew up, and Joseph and Margaret, the fourth and 
ninth, who died young. 

(V) Benjamin Mason, third son of Benjamin 
and Sally (Ford) Nealley, was born October 3, 
181 1, and died July 29, 1S88. He learned all about 
farming, and when a young man went to Dover 
and entered the employ of the Cocheco Manufactur- 
ing Company, at the upper factory where the com- 
pany first operated a mill. A few years later he 
went to South Berwick, and engaged as overseer 
of the card room in the cotton mills there, which 
position he held until 1858, when he accepted an 



oflfer to become overseer of the card room in the 
mill of the Laconia Manufacturing Company, Bidde- 
ford, Maine, in which position he worked ten years. 
In 1868 he became agent of the jute mill in Salem, 
Massachusetts, which position he held several years, 
when his health failed and he retired from active 
labors and went to live in Dover, where his sons 
were already located in business. He continued to 
reside in Dover until his death. In all of the posi- 
tions which he occupied Mr. Nealley was an indus- 
trious, efficient and faithful man. He was a mem- 
ber of the Congregational Church in Biddeford. 
When he went to Dover to reside, in his last years, 
he became a member of the Washington Street Free 
Baptist Church, and kept his connection there until 
his death. He was a sincere Christian worker to 
the end, ever ready to help in any good cause. In 
his early years he was a Whig and remained such 
until that party was dissolved and the Republican 
party was formed, when he identified himself with 
it and ever after voted that ticket. He married, 
August 8, 1836, Abby Pray, born May i, 1817, and 
died January 29, 1895, aged seventy-seven. She 
was the daughter of James and Annie (Fogg) 
Pray, whose ancestors were among the very earliest 
settlers of Old Kittery, Maine. Nine children were 
born of this union, five of whom died young, and 
two sons and two daughters grew to maturity and 
were married. They were: Benjamin Frank, A. 
Josepliine, Mary Emma and John Haven. Benja- 
min F. is mentioned later. A. Josephine, born Feb- 
ruary 25. 1844. married. May 12, 1S63, Joseph G. 
Deering, of Saco, Maine, one of the leading busi- 
ness men and lujnber dealers in that city. Mary 
Emma, born December 28, 1849, married, January 
I, 1889, Robert H. Foss, of Chicago, Illinois, who 
was for many years one of the prominent business 
men of the city, but a native of New Hampshire. 
Mr. Foss died in July, 1893, and his widow resides 
in Dover with her brother, B. Frank. John H., 
born August 4, 1853, is a dry goods merchant, and 
resides in Dover. He married. September 12, 1S79, 
Emma Caroline Gushing, daughter of Thomas Har- 
rison and Caroline (Torr) Gushing, of Dover. He 
has been mayor of Dover, representative and state 
senator. 

(VI) Benjamin Frank, eldest son of Benjamin 
M. and Abby (Pray) Nealley, was born in South 
Berwick, Maine, October 24, 1839. He was edu- 
cated in the common schools of his native town 
and in South Berwick Academy. At the age of 
eighteen he went to Dover, New Hampshire, and 
engaged in the dry goods business, in which he con- 
tinued thirty-six years with marked success. In 
1893 he retired from that business, but has kept him- 
self busy in various useful ways, as the public has 
made liberal calls for him to serve it. In city 
affairs he has been identified with many of its most 
important enterprises. He was one of the directors 
of the Dover National Bank for nine years, re- 
signing in 1885. For several years he has been vice- 
president of the Strafford Savings Bank, and has 
been one of the trustees of that institution for more 



I004 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



than a score of years. He has been a director in 
the Strafford National Bank many years. When 
the Masonic Building Association was organized 
lie was made one of the trustees, which position he 
lias held continuously to the present time, and when 
it was voted to rebuild the Masonic Temple, after 
its destruction by fire in March, 1896, he was placed 
at th^ head of the building committee and superin- 
tended the construction. In 1878 he assisted in 
organizing the Dover Navigation Company, and 
has been its secretary and treasurer since its in- 
corporation. In 1883 he was representative from 
Tiis ward in the general court, and served efficiently 
on important committees. In 1887 he was state sen- 
ator from the twenty-third district, and was one of 
its influential members. In 1889 he was elected 
mayor of Dover and was re-elected in 1890, and his 
term of office was one of the most important in the 
history of the city, as measures were devised and 
steps taken which have had a far-reaching influence 
for the benefit of the municipality. The old City 
Hall was destroyed by fire in the spring of 1889, 
which necessitated erecting a new one, resulting in 
the fine structure which will be a credit to the com- 
mittee as long as the building stands. Mayor 
Nealley served on the committee until the edifice 
was completed, in 1891. being the chairman from 
the beginning to the end. He has been prominent 
in Masonic circles since 1880. He is a member of 
Strafford Lodge, No. 29, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons: Belknap Royal Arch Chapter. Orphan Coun- 
cil. Royal and Select Masters, and St. Paul Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar, all of Dover. He was 
worshipful master of Strafford Lodge, 1886-87; and 
eminent commander of St. Paul Commandery. 1900- 
01. In Scottish Rite Masonry Mr. Nealley has re- 
ceived thirty-two degrees, and is a member of the 
Ineffable Grand Lodge of Perfection, and Grand 
Council Princes of Jerusalem, both of Portsmouth, 
New Hampshire, Chapter of Rose Croix. Dover, 
and of the New Hampshire Consistory at Nashua. 
He is a member of the First Church (Congrega- 
tional), also a member of the. New Hampshire So- 
ciety of Sons of the American Revolution. He 
served several years as member of the school com- 
mittee, in which he rendered efficient service in 
managing the financial affairs of the board as well 
as in other ways. He was also city treasurer sev- 
eral years. In all the years of his residence in 
Dover. Mr. Nealley has been followed by the con- 
stant favor of his fellow-citizens, who have repeat- 
edly placed him in positions of trust, honor and 
responsibility, and in no instance has he betrayed 
the confidence placed in him. 

Benjamin Frank Nealley married, August I, 
1866, Harriet Ruth Colby, of Dover, ' daughter of 
the Rev. John Taylor Gilman Colby, whose wife 
was Cornelia Home, of Rochester. Mrs. Nealley 
■was born May 14, 1846, and died October 12, 1903. 
Both of her parents were descended from the first 
settlers of New England. She was a woman of re- 
markable gifts as a singer, and beautiful in personal 
appearance, and was ever ready to lend a helping 



hand to any good work. She was a member of the 
First Church, member of Margery Sullivan Chap- 
ter, Daughters of the American Revolution, and of 
the Northern Colonist Society, a local historical 
society. She took a keen interest in historical re- 
search, as regards local history, and read several 
valuable papers before both the chapter and society. 



This is one of the oldest French 
LECLAIR names that has been brought to 

America, and is traceable to a very 
early period in the history of Canada and from that 
region back to France. Its representatives in New 
Hampshire, are men of worth, including the pastor 
of the Holy Rosary Church, at Hooksett. 

(I) The first of whom we have record is Jean 
Leclair, "dit, La Frenaye," whose wife was Perrine 
Marceau. They resided in the parish of Saint Nich- 
olas, in the city of Nantes, France. 

(II) Jean (2), son of Jean (l) and Perrine 
(Marceau) Leclair, "dit Francoeur." was the 
founder of the family in Canada in 1691. He set- 
tled at LTslet, near Quebec, Canada, and thence re- 
moved to Saint Ours, where the family has since 
been continually represented. His wife was Made- 
line Langlois. 

(III) Alexis Leclair, son of Jean and Madeline 
(Langlois) Leclair, was born at Saint Ours, 1749. 
He married Maria Josette Ville, daughter of J. 
Baptiste Ville. 

(IV) Joseph Leclair, son of Alexis and Marie 
Josette (Ville) Leclair, was born January 7, 1782, 
at Saint Ours, province of Quebec, Canada. He 
was married to Josette Gatineau, daughter of Jean 
and Marie L. (Menard) Gatineau. 

(V) Francois J., son of Joseph and Josette 
(Gatineau) Leclair, was born October 10, 1S21, 
at Saint Ours, and married Marie Ann Thibault, 
daughter of Toussaint and Marie (Carpentier) 
Thibault. 

(VI) Aime Leclair, son of Francois J. and JMarie 
Ann (Thibault) Leclair, was born in August, 1832, 
at Saint Ours, and was reared on his father's farm. 
After attaining his majority, in 1853, he came to 
New Hampshire and located at Nashua. He was 
one of the first to protect the integrity of his adop- 
ted country, and enlisted July 23, 1861, in Company 
E, Third Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteer 
Infantry. He was known in the army, by the name 
Emery LaClair, which arose no doubt, from the 
difficulty of pronouncing French names, among his 
American comrades. He was mustered into ser- 
vice, August 23, 1861, as a private, and re-enlisted 
and was mustered in, February 15, 1864, serving 
during the war of the Rebellion. On August 16, 
1864, he was wounded at the battle of Deep Bottom, 
Virginia, and was discharged on account of his in- 
juries, December 31, 1864. This regiment endured 
great hardships and very severe service, and Private 
Leclair was never known to falter in his duty. The 
following e.xtract from the history of Nashua de- 
scribes some of the experiences of that regiment. 
"Drewry's Bluff leads the entire line for fatalities. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



lOO: 



In this regiment were many Nashua men. No 
less than fifteen were wounded and three killed. 
The engagement following at Bermuda Hundred, 
in front of Petersburg and Ware Bottom, were mul- 
tiplied and resulted in severe losses, while at Deep 
Bottom, Virginia, on August i6, the regiment was 
nearly annihilated in repeated charges and counter 
charges. Entering the fight with less than two 
hundred men, it captured some three hundred pris- 
oners with many of its men having but seven days 
to serve, before being entitled to return to their 
homes. Its killed, wounded and missing numbered 
ten officers and eighty-three men." Mr. Leclair 
passed away at his home at Nashua, March 7, iSSg. 
After the war he was employed, for many years, 
by the Nashua Manufacturing Company as plumber. 
This was his occupation until his last illness. He 
married, March 17, 1864, Marie Lambert, daughter 
of Edward and Marie (Lusignan) Lambert. Ed- 
ward Lambert was a member of the Third New 
Hampshire Regiment, under General Burdette, in 
the service about New Orleans, and rose to the 
rank of sergeant. He died in Nashua, in the fall 
of 1879. Aime Leclair and wife were the parents 
of nine childen, four of whom are now living: 
Aime, the eldest, resides at Hooksett; extended men- 
tion of the second, Francis X., see forward ; Albina, 
the third, is the second wife of Ernest F. Tessier of 
Nashua, in which city the youngest, Mary, also re- 
sides. 

(VII) Reverend Francis Xavier Leclair, son of 
Aime and Marie (.Lambert) Leclair, was born Sep- 
tember 19, 1871, in Nashua, New Hampshire, where 
he grew up, receiving his primary education in the 
public and parochial schools of that city, subse- 
quently attending college at Saint Hyacinth, in 
Canada, and finishing his theological course at Saint 
John's Seminary, Brighton, a suburb of Boston, 
Massachusetts. He was ordained to the priesthood, 
December ig, 1896, and his first labor in this calling 
was in the capacity of assistant priest of Saint 
Francis parish, Nashua. He was subsequently, for 
two years, stationed at Lebanon, New Hampshire, 
and went to Saint Aloysius, Nashua, in 1903. In 
October, 1904, he was appointed in charge of the 
Holy Rosary parish at Hooksett, where he has since 
remained and is also in charge of the mission at 
Pittsfield, New Hampshire. In each of these charges, 
about seventy-tive families are included and a paro- 
chial school is maintained at Hooksett, in which 
two teachers are employed. Father Leclair is an 
earnest worker in his field of labor and is highly 
respected by the citizens of Hooksett, and loved 
and venerated by his parishioners. He is a culti- 
vated gentleman, a genial companion and a most 
excellent citizen of the commonwealth, cherishing 
the warmest setiments of American patriotism in 
common with those whose ancestors were "to the 
manner born." 



This is among the best names of early 
PATTEN New Hampshire, and is intimately as- 
sociated with the history of ancient 



Chester, in connection with several of the present 
day towns that originally formed it. It is of Scotch 
origin, and has been borne by men noted for the 
strong virtues and characteristics of the race. 
Among the most notable was the Rev. Moses Pat- 
ten, whose death at Hooksett was widely lamented 
and which took from earth one of its best and 
ablest men. A theologian and student, he left an 
impress upon the life of his time, and his treatise 
on infant baptism is destined to be an authority 
among theologians for many generations to come. 

(I) The first of the name in this country was 
Deacon Robert Patten, who came from the vicinity 
of Edinburgh, Scotland, and settled in Boston about 
1725. He was a stone mason and was employed 
by the colonial government upon the fortifications 
of Boston Harbor. He had several children born 
in Boston. In 1739-40 he moved to Exeter, New 
Hampshire, and soon after to "'Long Meadows," in 
that part of Chester which is now Auburn. July 
7, 1741, he purchased from Samuel Emerson, Lot 
No. 79, of the second part of the second division of 
land in Chester, and lived upon it until his death 
in 1754. He had three sons, Thomas, John and 
Robert, the last named being the son of the second 
wife. 

(II) Thomas, eldest son of Deacon Robert Pat- 
ten, was born about 1725 in Boston, on what is now 
known as Common street, and attended school in 
that city on Pemberton Hill. In 1740 he went with 
his father to Exeter, and later to Auburn. In 1752 
he married Mary, daughter of David McClure, and 
two years later he purchased from McClure the 
west half of the latter's farm, which was Lot No. 
30, in the same division as his father's farm, being 
in what is now Candia. Here his wife died in 1815, 
and he in 1816, at the age of ninety-one years. Their 
children were : Elizabeth, Thomas, Mary, Jean, 
Martha, Sarah, Richard, Margaret. Hannah, Ruth, 
Samuel and Moses. 

(III) Moses, youngest child and fourth son of 
Thomas (2) and Mary (McClure) Patten, lived on 
the paternal homestead in Candia. He married 
Hannah, daughter of Ephraim Eaton (see Eaton, 
V). 

(IV) Rev. Moses, son of Moses and Hannah 
(Eaton) Patten, was born July 4, 1824, in Candia, 
and grew up on the paternal farm. He was bred 
in the New England rule of judicious use of time, 
as of other things, and applied himself to study 
with the same diligence which characterized his 
attention to farm duties. He attended a high. school 
and Pembroke Academy, and was graduated from 
Dartmouth College in 1850. Pursuing a thorough 
course of preparation for the gospel ministry, he 
was graduated from Andover Theological Seminary 
in 1855. After supplying several congregations, he 
was ordained to the ministry of the Congregational 
Church and in the pastorate at Townsend, Massa- 
chusetts, June 7, i860. He remained three years 
at Townsend, and was subsequently in charge at 
Plympton, West Dracut and Carlisle, in the same 
state. His health was never rugged and he was ob- 



ioo6 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



liged, during this period, to take sea voyages and 
rests to recuperate his strength. He was in charge 
of parishes at Greensboro, Rochester, Ripton and 
Danby, Vermont, and retired from the ministry in 
1888, because his health would not permit contin- 
uous labor as a pastor. He continued to preach 
occasionally, as opportunity offered, or his strength 
would permit, until 1900. From the time of his 
retirement he resided in Hooksett, New Hampshire, 
and devoted much of his time to the preparation 
of a work on infant baptism. His deep study and 
steady application doubtless shortened his life and 
robbed the world of a most useful and beloved man. 
The failure of his strength almost prevented the 
completion of his treatise, which was a work very 
dear to his heart, and he was barely able to com- 
plete its publication, being taken away before he 
could make arrangements for its circulation. It is 
an exhaustive work, showing deep research and 
the work of a master mind. No doubt it will find 
its way into theological schools in time and will be 
a valued authority, thus continuing the work of this 
good man in the world. During the last five years 
of life he was an invalid and suffered much but 
without complaining. He was a most companion- 
able man, highly esteemed by his fellow clergy, 
as well as by all who were priviledged to know him. 
A contemporary says of him : "He was a fine Bible 
scholar, conservative in his theology, a keen critic 
and a clear thinker." Mr. Patten married (first), 
1862, Lydia (Eames) Parsons, a widow who died 
June I, 1884, in Ripton, Vermont. She was the 
mother of three children: Edith Parsons, now the 
wife of Edward Green, residing at Lancaster, IMas- 
sachusetts; Mary Elizabeth and Dana Albee Patten, 
the latter a citizen of Brooklyn, Greater New York. 
The second daughter died in 1902, unmarried. In 
August, 1885, Mr. Patten married (second), Lydia 
S. Goss, widow of Joseph Towle Goss of Hook- 
sett, (q. v.), and daughter of Simeon and Lydia 
(Bailey) Stearns (see Stearns, VI). She was the 
companion and stay of his last years, and cherishes 
his memory as that of a noble and kind man. 



The influx of Scotch-Irish immigrants 
HOGG into New England in 1718 was followed 

for years afterwards by occasional 
parties and individuals, friends of the earlier set- 
tles; among these latter was Robert Hogg, the sub- 
ject of the next paragraph. 

(I) Robert, son of James Hogg, was born in 
the North of Ireland, February 25, 1732, and came 
to America at the age of twenty-two, and resided 
for some time in Londonderry, where his elder chil- 
dren were born. In 1764 he settled in New Boston 
and bought three lots of land, including the farms 
of Solomon and Israel Dodge and John Cochran, 
and built his house on the hill back of Solomon 
Dodge's house, and there he and his wife died. 
Both were members of the Presbyterian Church, 
and were highly esteemed for their consistent piety. 
Her maiden name was Margaret Gregg; her parents 
were Samuel and Mary (Moor) Gregg, of London- 



derry. Mrs. Hogg died of consumption at the age 
of fifty-five or fifty-six. Mr. Hogg died January 23, 
179s. aged sixty-three. They had thirteen children, 
some of whom died young. 

(II) Abner, son of Robert and Margaret 
(Gregg) Hogg, was born in Londonderry, Febru- 
ary 15, 1759, and went with his parents to New 
Boston when he was five years old. He remained 
with his father until 1776, and then enlisted in the 
Revolutionary army, his brother James having been 
in the battle of Bunker Hill, June 17, I77S- Abner 
enlisted in June, 1776, under Captain Barnes, of 
Lyndeborough, and went to Ticonderoga in the 
division under General Horatio Gates, and returned 
in December. The next spring he enlisted for three 
years in Captain Livermore's company, in the Third 
New Hampshire Regiment, commanded by Colonel 
Alexander Scamn-.el, went to the vicinity of Ticon- 
deroga and suffered greatly from sickness and fre- 
quent skirmishes with the enemy, in one of which 
he lost everything but his life. He was in the battle 
of Saratoga and witnessed the surrender of Bur- 
goyne. Subsequently he joined Washington's army 
near Philadelphia, and took part in many of those 
signal conflicts that resulted in the independence of 
the colonies. He returned home in May, 1780, after 
having taken part in ten battles. He held the office 
of sergeant two years, and from March, 1831, until 
his death he drew a pension. After his marriage he 
settled on a farm where he passed the remainder of 
his life. He was chosen second lieutenant by the 
town in 1787, all military, like civil, officers, at that 
time being chosen by the voters of the town at their 
legal meetings. In the years 1844 and 1845 he was 
elected to represent the town in the legislature, 
which he did with credit to himself, though more 
than eighty-five years old. For many years he was 
a member of the Presbyterian Church, but in 1805 
he united with the Baptists. He possessed a firm 
constitution, and retained both physical and intel- 
lectual powers to a remarkable degree, unimpaired 
even to the last year of his life. He rendered much 
valuable aid to the historian of New Boston in the 
preparation of the sketches of the early settlers of 
that town. He died October 16, 1856, aged ninety- 
seven years eight months and one day. 

He married, October 21, 1784, Rosanah person, 
whose mother was born in 1718, during a passage 
across the Atlantic to America. The children of 
this union were: Sarah F., Robert, Hannah (died 
young), Flannah, Jennet F. and Rebecca. Sarah 
the eldest child, married David Tewksbury, and 
lived in New Boston (See Tewksbury II). Robert 
took, as did some of his brothers, the name of 
Bently. 



From several unrelated ancestors 
EDMUNDS who were early settlers in New 
England a numerous progeny of 
Edmundses have sprung, whose surnames has been 
written in various forms. Edmonds, Edmunds, Ed- 
mands, being some of them. Among the distin- 
guished men of the name are an English writer of 




4kj/yi 



^>rjji^/^:ly^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1007 



the time of Queen Elizabetli and James, an Ameri- 
can painter, an American jurist, and an American 
senator. In the Revolutionary war were seven men 
who spelled their name Edmond ; fifteen who spelled 
it Edmonds ; one, Edmun ; two who spelled it Ed- 
mund; and twenty who spelled their name with 
the final "s," Edmunds. The vital records of New 
Hampshire afford little information concerning the 
name. 

(I) The first mention in the New Hampshire 
archives is Lieutenant Edward Edmonds, of Candia, 
New Hampshire, who was married in that town 
December 7, 1790, by Rev. Jesse Remington, to 
Molly Bagley. Their children were : Jacob Sar- 
gent, Polly, John, Sally and Edward. 

(H) Edward (2), youngest child of Lieutenant 
Edward (i) and Molly (Bagley) Edmonds, was 
born November 5, 1802, in Candia, and resided in 
Chichester, New Hampshire, where he was a farmer 
and innkeeper throughout his life. He was married 
in Chichester, December 28, 1820, by Rev. Josiah 
Carpenter to Betsey Lane, and they were the parents 
of a large family ; five children grew to maturity : 
Jefferson, Nathaniel, whose sketch follows ; Eben- 
ezer ; Sarah Ann and Susan. 

(IH) Nathaniel Edmunds, son of Edward and 
Betsey (Lane) Edmunds, was born in Chichester, 
and died in the same town. He was a farmer. He 
married Hannah Goss, and the children of this 
union were : Edward S., of Suncook, New Hamp- 
shire. Ida Roxie, wife of William Fowler. Noah, 
a farmer of Chichester. Frank M., who is mentioned 
below. Anson, a farmer in Chichester. 

(IV) Frank Mack Edmunds, fourth child and 
third son of Nathaniel and Hannah (Goss) Ed- 
munds, was born in Chichester, October 15, 1852, 
and educated in the common schools. He worked 
at carpentering about home for a time and about 
1873 removed to Franklin, where he continued in 
the same employment for about three years longer. 
For the next twelve years he had charge of the 
wood and iron repairs of the Franklin Paper Com- 
pany. He next became a retail vendor of wood and 
coal, in which business he has been successfully 
engaged. In the fall of 1904 he organized the Mer- 
rimack Coal & Fuel Company, of which he is the 
principal owner. He married, in Franklin Falls, 
October 14, 1875, Mary Scribner born in Salisbury, 
May 24, 1855, daughter of Lowell and Charlotte 
(Bean) Scribner of Salisbury. They have had two 
children: Edith Frances, deceased wife of Arthur 
Chase ; and Arthur Lowell, graduate, 1907 of the 
Chicago Veterinary College, and now practicing in 
Franklin. Mr. and Mrs. Edmunds are members of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church, and he and his 
wife are members of the Order of Pilgrim Fathers, 
a fraternal insurance society, and New England 
Order of Protection. 



France and settled in Salem, Massachusetts. It is 
said that these three were the younger brothers of 
a marquis, and that the original family name was 
Lorraine. 

(II) John, son of John Loring, the immigrant 
ancestor, was living in Methuen, Massachusetts, 
about the year 1797 when he immigrated to New 
Hampshire and settled in Francestown. Three years 
later he removed to New Boston, where he died 
December 29, 1804, aged thirty-si.x years. He mar- 
ried Johanna Morse, a native of Methuen, and a 
sister of Jacob Morse, of Lyndeboro and Frances- 
town. She died in Lyndeboro, December I, 1848, 
aged eighty years. Their children were : John, born 
in Methuen, Massachusetts, July S, 1793. Hannah, 
born in Methuen. Thomas, born in Methuen. 
Sally, born in Francestown. Betsy, born in Fran- 
cestown. Silas, born in New Boston. 

(III) John, son of John and Johanna (Morse) 
Loring, born in Methuen, July 14, 1792, died in New 
Boston March 24, 1868. His boyhood was spent 
with the family of Joseph Kingsbury, of Frances- 
town, and he was afterward employed by Daniel 
Fuller for nine years, upon his quarry. He enlisted 
in the war of 1812, being the first man from his 
town to offer his services in that war. He knew 
much of the early history of the towns in his vicin- 
ity. He married Desire Fuller, daughter of Daniel 
Fuller, of Francestown, December 30, 1821. She 
was born September 18, 1802, and died September 
24, 1861. Their children were: Lorinda, born Oc- 
tober 22, 1823. John Eaton, born July 18, 1825, 
died on the Pacific Ocean on board the old "Golden 
Gate," April 11, 1853. Daniel Fuller, born July 10, 
1827, died March 11, 1838. Aaron Fuller, born 
August 6, 1829, died August 6, 1854, in Sonora, 
California. Desire Abigail, born October 27, 1832, 
wife of James Paige Todd. (See Todd). George 
Fuller, born June 8, 1834. Sarah Elizabeth, born 
July 14, 1838, died April 8, 1845. Catherine Hannah, 
born July 14, 1841. 



The Lorings of Tilassachusetts and 

LORING. New Hampshire descend from three 

brothers, John, David and Solomon, 

who emigrated from the province of Lorraine, in 



Among the French families long 
THERIAULT resident in the Province of Que- 
bec which now have representa- 
tives in New Hampshire, is that of Theriault. 

(I) Jean Theriault, the descendant of a long 
line of French-Canadian ancestors, born in St. Jac- 
ques, Province of Quebec, Canada, June, 1801, died 
in 1879, was a stone mason by trade, and resided at 
St. Gabriel of Brandon, and later at Joliette. He 
married Adele Houle, and they were the parents of 
five children : Jean, Constance, Julienne, Delphine, 
and Elie, who is next mentioned. 

(II) Elie, second son and fifth child of Jean 
and Adele (Houle) Theriault, was born in St. 
Gabriel of Brandon, Province of Quebec, Canada, 
July 22, 1832, and died October 11, 1899. He was 
an upright and influential citizen, a prosperous tin- 
smith and hardware merchant, and was several times 
alderman of Joliette. He married Louise Morin, 
born in St. Paul de Joliette, in 1839, died at Joliette, 
October 6, 1901, daughter of France and Marie 



ioo8 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(La Fortune) Morin. They were the parents of 
thirteen children : Marie Louise, Philomene, Ce- 
lima, Joseph, Narcisse. Frank, Edward, Elise, Phil- 
ias, Julia, Adelard, Alfred and Gaspard. 

(Ill) Joseph Theriault, M. D., eldest son and 
fourth child of Elie and Louise (Morin) Theriault, 
was born in Joliette, Province of Quebec, Canada, 
March 9, i860. He received his primary education 
in the common schools of Joliette, then attended 
Joliette College, and subsequently took the course 
in medicine in The Montreal School of Medicine 
and Surgery (now a department of Laval Univer- 
sity), from which he graduated in 1883. He first 
located at Ishpeming, Michigan, where he practiced 
one year, and then removed to Lake Linden, in the 
same state, where he practiced successfully the next 
six years. In 1889 he removed to Laconia, New 
Hampshire, where he practiced seven years, and 
then, 1896, removed to Concord, where he is the 
only French physician in a population of one thou- 
sand, five hundred French-Canadians. Dr. Ther- 
iault is a man of good judgment, an enterprising, 
skillful, and successful physician, a good citizen and 
an entertaining conversationalist. He is a member 
of the American Medical Association, and New 
Hampshire Medical Society. He is a popular leader 
among his countrymen, and was a member of thi? 
New Hampshire legislature from Laconia in 1893. 
He is a Democrat of the liberal type, and an ad- 
mirer of President Roosevelt. Among the fraternal 
orders of which he is a member are the following : 
French-Canadian Association, Franco-American 
Foresters, and Canadian Literary Circle. He mar- 
ried, in Laconia, in 1895, Mary Foy, daughter of 
Patrick and Angcle (Bulduc) Foy, the former a 
native of Ireland, and the latter of St. Marie de la 
Beauce, Province of Quebec, Canada. They have 
two daughters, Yvonne and Edwina. 



The Huses of New Hampshire are all 
HUSE descended from an earlier Massachusetts 
branch and the still older Welsh family 
of the same name, which is. one of great antiquity in 
that country. The progenitors of the New Hamp- 
shire branches were three brothers who came from 
Amesbury, Massachusetts, soon after the Revolu- 
tion and settled in the town of Sanbornton. Each 
of them served with credit in the war then just 
ended, and each in his new place of abode made 
for himself a comfortable home, a good name, and 
raised a family. 

(I) Nathan Huse, with whom this sketch begins, 
was born about 1716 and for many years was a 
physician in the west parish of Amesbury. He died 
April 23, 1809, being then in his ninety-third year. 
He marred Rachel Sargent, who bore him eleven 
children : Sargent, Elizabeth, Hannah, Nathan, Jo- 
seph, Ebenezer, Rachel, Sarah, John, William and 
Nathan (the elder child of that name having died 
young). 

(II) William, son of Dr. Nathan and Rachel 
(Sargent) Huse, was born in Amesbury. Massa- 
chusetts, August 22, 1760, and died in Waterbury, 



Vermont, in 1838 or '39. Like his brothers he 
served in the Revolution and soon afterward came 
to the town last mentioned, locating first on lot 51 
of the first division, but afterward settling on the 
old Mountain road next to the New Hampton line, , 
where he was the first settler. There all of his chil- 
dren except the eldest were born. He was a devout 
member of the Congregational Church, having beer» 
received in full communion September 24, 1786. 
On the same day his wife took the covenant and was 
baptized and received communion. The town rec- 
ords in Epping show that William Huse married 
Rachel Bryer (Brier), July 18, 1780. After living 
many years in Sanbornton he removed to Orange, 
Vermont, later returned to Sanbornton, but event- 
ually went back to Vermont with one of his sons 
and died in Waterbury. William and Rachel 
(Brier) Huse had children: Rachel, Joseph, Nathan, 
Hannah, Theophilus N., Mercy, William, Sarah,. 
Ebenezer, Mary and Abigail. 

(III) Joseph, second child and eldest son of 
William and Rachel (Brier) Huse, was born March 
2, 1783, in Sanbornton, New Hampshire, and died in 
Waterbury, Vermont, January 24, 1856. For many 
years he was proprietor of Huse's mills at North- 
Sanbornton, and lived there until 1835, when he re- 
moved to Waterbury. He married, November 5, 1805, 
Sarah Emery, born August 26, 1782, died June 27, 
1855, daughter of Josiah and Rebecca (Woodman) 
Emery, and a descendant of John Emery, of Rom- 
sey, England, who was one of the first settlers in 
Newbury, Massachusetts (1635). Joseph and Sarah 
(Emery) Huse had five children: Rachel, Daniel 
Morrison, William Brier, Woodman Emery and 
Ebenezer B. Huse. 

(IV) Daniel Morrison, second child and eldest 
son of Joseph and Sarah (Emery) Huse, was born 
December 8, 1808, and was a farmer in Thornton, 
New Hampshire, until 1847, afterward in Sanborn- 
ton and removed thence to Northfield, New Hamp- 
shire, in 1880. He married, November 25, 1830, 
Eliza Dudley, born June 16, 1807, daughter of Sam- 
uel C. and Mercy (Thorn) Dudley, and a descend- 
ant of Captain Roger Dudley, of England, whose 
son, Thomas Dudley, was the second governor of 
the colony of Massachusetts Bay. Children of Dan- 
iel Morrison and Eliza (Dudley) Huse: Lovina A., 
Sarah Emily, married Benjamin Ward Plummer, 
see Plummer, VII, and Ann Eliza Huse. 



This name is not a common one in 
COLLIS New England, but it was probably- 
brought to America in a later emigra- 
tion than that of the Puritans. Only one man of the 
name appears in the Massachusetts war roll. There 
were and are families of the name in New Jersey. 
It appears only once in the seven books of Connec- 
ticut marriages. It has, however, borne an honor- 
able part in the present day civilization. 

(I) The first that we find on record was John 
Collis, who with his wife Lois lived in South Brim- 
field, Massachusetts, several years previous to 1778. 
This town was a parish of Brimfield from 1762 until 




A.^. 



^--^6^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1009 



1775. '.vhcii it was incorporated as a separate town, 
and tliis was subsequently divided and the towns of 
Wales and Holland were created from it. In the 
Revolution John Collis was a soldier credited to 
South Brimfield. He enlisted May 13, 1775, as a 
private in Captain Amos Waldrich's company of 
Colonel David Brewer's ninth regiment of Massa- 
chusetts troops. The muster rolls show that his 
services at this time cover two months and twenty- 
three days. He enlisted, September 26, 1777, in 
Captain Reuben Munn's company of Colonel Elisha 
Porter's regiment, and was discharged in October 
following, having served seventeen days, travel in- 
cluded, in the northern department. He was also 
with the Massachusetts troops detached to General 
Gates' army in New York and was credited with 
thirty days service. He participated in the siege of 
Boston and the battle of Bunker Hill, and was at 
Ticonderoga in 1777. In 1778 he removed from 
South Brimfield to Sturbridge, Massachusetts, and 
it is probable that he removed thence after 1796 
to Western, now Warren. Massachusetts. Five chil- 
dren were born to him in South Brimfield and six 
in Sturbridge, namely: Solomon, Thankful, Jonas, 
Benjamin. John. Olive, James, Joseph. Rhoda, 
Susanna and Jonathan. 

(II) Jonathan, youngest of the eleven children of 
John and Lois Collis, was born October 16, 1790, in 
Sturbridge, and resided in Brimfield, ;Massachusetts, 
where he died October 27, 1868. He was a farmer, 
but had lived in Herkimer county, New York, and 
later returned to IMassachusetts, and only one child 
was born in Herkimer county. He married, Novem- 
ber I, 1810, Phebe Parker, who died May 6. 1864. 
The children of Jonathan and Phebe (Parker) Col- 
lis were : Luther, born July 23, 1811, married April 5, 
1837, Delina Converse. Maranda, died young. 
Louisa, married Lemuel Moores. Joseph, born July 
23, 1717, married Lydia Howard. John, married 
Cyntha Ciloway. Charles married Martha Belknap. 
Ann. died unmarried. Silas, born October 26, 1825. 
Cyntha, married George Smith, of Amherst. Mass- 
achusetts. Mary, died young. 

(III) Luther, son and eldest child of Jonathan 
(2) and Phebe (Parker) Collis, was born in the 
town of Herkimer, New York, July 23, 181 1, and 
by principal occupation was a farmer, although he 
spent much time in teaching school during the early 
part of his life in the towns of Brimfield and Pal- 
mer, Massachusetts. His first wife, whom he mar- 
ried April 5, 1837, was Delina Converse. She died 
December 17, i860. He married, (second)) Decem- 
ber 30, 1863, Elizabeth Palmer. His children, all by 
his first marriage, were as follows : Luther W., born 
January 11, 1838, married November, 1858, Lemira 
Potter, who died .August 6, 1898. James M., born 
July 3, 1839, died January 19, 1843. Henry H-., born 
July 17, 1841, married (first) March 8, 1876, Estella 
Fermin and (second), March 23, 1880, Dorcas Fer- 
min. Marcus M., born October 19, 1843, married 
Josephine Griswold. Mary A. D., born July 29, 1846, 
married, November 22, 1866, Willard Nelson. Sarah 
A., born October 25, 1848, married, September 4, 

iii— 13 



1873 Franklin Royce. Charles H., born June 25, 
1851, married. May i, 1872, Abbey Morse. Martha 
M., born February s, 1854. 

(IV) Marcus Morton, fourth child and fourth 
son of Luther and Delina (Converse) Collis, was 
born in Weare, Massachusetts, October 19, 1843. 
and was a boy when his parents removed to Palmer, 
Massachusetts. He lived at home on the farm and 
went to school until he was seventeen years, and 
early during the Civil war enlisted as private in 
Company H, Twenty-first Massachusetts Infantry, 
and from that time until his muster out in 1865 was 
constantly on duty or, still worse, a prisoner at An- 
dersonville, Georgia, or Florence, South Carolina. 
A complete narrative of his army services and ex- 
periences belongs to a volume, and in this place 
mention can be made only of some of the more im- 
portant battles in which he took part with his reg- 
iment. After muster-in the Twenty-first went to 
Annapolis, Maryland, and was assigned to guard 
and garrison duty, but a little later its fighting began. 
He was with Burnside's expedition to North Car- 
olina, and was in battle at Roanoke Island, New- 
berne and Camden, then at Newport News, where 
the regiment was attached to the Ninth Army Corps. 
After that he fought at Fredericksburg, Chantilly, 
Second Bull Run, South Mountain, Antietam, 
Bull's Gap, Blue Springs, Campbell Station and also 
took part with his regiment in the siege of Knox- 
ville. On May 6, 1864, at the Wilderness, Mr. Col- 
lis was captured with many of his comrades and 
from that time was a prisoner at Andersonville and 
Florence until February 26, 1865, when he was re- 
leased on parole. On May 4 following, he returned 
to what was left of his regiment and found it con- 
solidated with the Thirty-sixth Massachusetts In- 
fantry; and before his service was ended the regi- 
ment last mentioned was compelled to consolidate 
with the Fifty-sixth Massachusetts in order to main- 
tain its numerical strength. 

Mr. Collis was mustered out of service with his 
regiment at Readville, Massachusetts, July 12, 1865. 
He then went to Palmer, Massachusetts, worked 
there for a time, then learned the trade of carpenter 
and millwright and afterward worked in Boston. 
In 1873 he came to Portsmouth and engaged in mer- 
cantile pursuits until i8g6. In 1895 he was appointed 
deputy sheriff and jailer of Rockingham county, 
under Sheriff Weston, whom he succeeded in office 
in 1901. This office he still holds. For many years 
Mr. Collis has been proininently identified with 
various fraternal organizations and orders. He is 
a Templar JNIason, an Odd Fellow, past department 
commander of the Grand Army of the Republic, 
department of New Hampshire, a Son of the Rev- 
olution, and a Granger. He married, January 21, 
1S70, Josephine Griswold, daughter of Mr. George 
Griswold, of Granby, Connecticut, and has two chil- 
dren, Grace A., born April 10, 1871, at Boston, 
married Clifton Stewart Humphreys, April 30, 1894; 
they have three children : Mildred Josephine, born 
April 9, 1895 ; Grace Stewart, born November 30, 
1896; and Philip Morton, born October 3. 1898, all 



lOIO 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



born at Madison, Maine, where they now live. 
George L. Collis. 

(V) George L., only son of Marcus M. and Jo- 
sephine (Griswold) Collis, was born July i6, 1S73, 
and received his education in public schools in Ports- 
mouth. For twelve years he was a clerk in his 
father's store, and afterward was a student in Bos- 
ton University Law School. In 1902 he was ap- 
pointed deputy sheriff of Rockingham county. New 
Hampshire, and is now serving in that capacity. He 
married, June 8, 1904, Carrie L. Brown, of Rye, 
New Hampshire. 



The early history of this noted New 
H.ARVELL Hampshire family is not easily dis- 
covered from existing records and 
genealogical references to the surname are very few. 
The history of Amherst, New Hampshire, gives the 
name of John Harvell, who was born in 1736 and 
died in 1S21, and furnishes a reasonably complete 
record of his children and some others of his de- 
scendants, but nothing of his parentage and the 
earlier generations of the family in New England. 
The descendants of John Harvell are quite numer- 
ous in Hillsborough county, and others of them 
are scattered throughout the east. 

James Harvell was a brother of John Harvell, 
but whether older or younger is not known. The 
"History of Plymouth" mentions James Harvell as 
one of a family prominent in the early annals of 
Litchfield, in Hillsborough county, and the year of 
his removal to Plymouth is given in 1767. He was 
an intelligent and honored man, selectman of 
Plymouth in 1774-75-76; coroner of Grafton county 
by appointment dated January 9, 1789; one of the 
committee of safety in 1775 and grand juror from 
Plymouth in 1805. 

James Harvell, of Plymouth, died December 13, 
1819. He married (first) Mary Snow, May 10, 
1770, daughter of Joseph Snow. Married (second), 
December 23, 1784, Anna Flagg. Married (third), 
in Rumney. New Hampshire, November 26, 1794, 
Mary Morey, of Rumney. In the written papers 
used in connection with the settlement of his estate 
appear the names of four "children: Mary (or 
Polly), who married (first) James Keyes, and (sec- 
ond) Johnson. Betsey, married 

Hough. Gershom and Esther. The mention of 
only these names is not conclusive evidence that 
James Haiwell had no other children and there is 
good reason for the belief that he had a son James, 
who is known to have lived in Plymouth at a time 
contemporary with that of the children whose names 
have been mentioned, although the scene of his life 
was chiefly laid in the province of Quebec in 
Canada. 

(I) James Harvell lived at one time in Plym- 
outh. New Hampshire, and removed from that town 
to Compton, Canada. Of his early life little is 
known, but it is certain that he was a person of 
superior education and attainments, and family 
tradition has it that he was a school teacher of con- 
sideraldc note ; and upon the same authority it is be- 



lieved that he came of a military family, as his bear- 
ing indicated an association with men in that arm 
of the service. During his residence in Canada he 
was for a number of years connected with the 
militia of the province, and when the so-called 
Patriot war was in progress (1838) he held a cap- 
tain's commission. Later he was commissioned 
major and was so known and addressed. He also 
was invested with the title and office of Esquire, in- 
dicating a connection with the judicial branch of 
government and a familiarity with the laws of the 
province and their administration. In private life 
he was a farmer, and his home in Compton was on 
what is known as Sleeper hill. His wife before 
marriage was Pettie Spafford, and she bore her hus- 
band four children: John W., born (probably) in 
July, 1818, and died in Coadicook, August 28, 1906. 
Charles, who removed when a young man to New 
York. He entered the United States Military 
Academy at West Point and afterward served in 
the Union army during the Civil war. He married 
and his family now lives in New Jersey. Spafford. 
whose business life was spent in the cities of Boston 
and New York, and who died of fever in a Boston 
hospital. Amanda, who died in childhood. 

(II) John W.. eldest child and son of Major 
James and Pettie (Spafford) Harvell, was a school 
teacher during the earlier part of his life and later 
became proprietor of a paint shop and business. He 
retired from active pursuits several years before 
his death, .-^bout 1845 he married Sarah Ann 
Jameson, daughter of William and Nancy Margaret 
(.Armstrong) Jameson, and had four children: 
I. Mary, died at the age of seven years. 2. James, 
a skilled mechanic, who died unmarried .August 15, 
1895. In April, 1875, he went to California and 
from there to Gold Hill, Nevada, where he worked 
at his trade in connection with the operation of the 
famous Belcher mine. After about five years in 
that region he returned to New Hampshire and 
lived in Laconia imtil about 1883 and again went 
west, locating in Arizona. After something like a 
year and a half in that territory he came back to 
Laconia, much broken in health, and after recovery 
worked as a machinist in the car shops until a short 
time before his death. Mr. Harvell was a Mason, 
having become a craftsman in Coadicook, province 
of Quebec, in 1874. ^nd afterward demitted to the 
lodge in Gold Hill. Nevada. He also was a Knight 
of Pythias. 3. Clara A. (twin), born in Compton, 
province of Quebec, December 6, 1856, married. Oc- 
tober 24, 1894, Stephen Coffran Robinson (See 
Robinson III), of Laconia, New Hampshire, who 
died August 10, 1905. 4. Charles A. (twin), born 
in Compton. province of Quebec, December 
6, 1856, now lives in Laconia. Mr. Harvell has 
been 3 member of the Laconia police force more 
than ten years and since September, 1906, has been 
assistant marshal. He married Emma Burbank, of 
Upper Bartlett, New Hampshire. Four children 
have been born of this marriage : Ralph, born Feb- 
ruary, 1805 : child, died in extreme infancy ; Ruth, 
born 1899: Eddie, born 1903. died February. 1905. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



lOII 



The origin of this name is traced 
riASELTON to the Hazelton (now town) 
where hazel bushes grew. This 
was in the early history of England. Hazelton was 
sometimes added to the single name of some citizen 
of that place, or some person who had come from 
there, as a distinction, and finally became fi.xed as 
the surname of the family. The same license has 
been taken with the orthography of this name that 
was common in centuries past, and it is spelled 
Hazelton, Hazleton, Haseltine, Hesselton, Hezzle- 
ton, and in divers other ways. The forbears of 
the race came to Massachusetts in 1637, and founded 
a family which has an enviable record for the piety 
and sturdy probity of its members. 

(I) The immigrant ancestor, John Haselton, is 
first found in Bradford. Massachusetts. Late in life 
he removed to Haverhill, same colony. While re- 
siding in Bradford, he gave an acre of land for the 
site of the meeting-house in that town. He mar- 
ried Joan Auter, who died July 17, i6g8. having 
survived her husband more than seven years. He 
passed away December 23, 1690, in Haverhill. Their 
children were : Samuel. Mary, Deacon John, and 
Nathaniel. (John and descendants receive extended 
mention in this article). 

(H) Lieutenant Samuel, eldest son of John 
and Joan (Auter) Haselton, was born February 20. 
1646, and died August 10, 1717, in his seventy- 
second year. He lived on the paternal homestead 
in Bradford, and was an ardent member of the 
church in that town. He married, in Haverhill, 
December 28, 1670, Deborah Cooper, of Rowley, 
born August' 30, 1650. in that town, daughter of 
Peter and Emma Cooper. Their children were: 
Deborah, Elizabeth, Samuel, John, Nathaniel, died 
young: Hepsebah and Nathaniel. 

(HI) Samuel (2), eldest son and third child 
of Lieutenant Samuel (i) and Deborah (Cooper) 
Haselton. was born May 30, 1676, in Bradford. He 
married, June 10, 1701. at Newbury, Emma Kent, 
daughter of John and Sarah (Woodman) Kent. 
She was born April 20, 1677, and died September 7, 
I7.35> in Tewksbury. She was admitted to the 
church in Bradford in 1711, and her husband the 
following year. In 1723 they removed to Billerica, 
and lived in that part of the town which is now 
Tevv-ksbury, where he died May 29, 1760. His chil- 
dren were : Judith. Sarah, Hannah. Stephen, Emma, 
Samuel. Tabitha, Rebecca and Deborah. 

(IV) Stephen, eldest son and third child of 
Samuel (2) and Emma (Kent) Haselton, was born 
January 28, 1707, in Bradford, and in manhood set- 
tled in the town of HoUis, New Hampshire, where 
he died in 1801. He was twice married, and his 
first wife was the mother of the .son, mentioned in 
the succeeding paragraph. 

(V) Samuel (3), son of Stephen Haselton, 
was born 1735, in Hollis, and removed to Hebron, 
New Hampshire, where he died January, 1812. He 
married (first) Mary Farley, and (second) Mary 
Graves, who died December 12, 1801, and both are 
buried in the private cemetery on his farm in 



Hebron. The children by the first wife were: Ben- 
jamin. Mary, Rebecca, Betsey, Samuel, Sally, Lucy, 
Johanna and Daniel. 

(VI) Benjamin, eldest child of Samuel (3) and 
Mary (Farley) Haselton, was born February 25, 
1762, in Hollis, and died October 8, 1812, in Hebron. 
He married, , November 20, 1788, Deborah Cross, 
born 1761. in Methuen, Massachusetts, and they 
had the following children: Benjamin, Deborah, died 
young; Mary, William. David, Jonathan and Deb- 
orah. 

(VII) William, second son and fourth child 
of Benjamin and Deborah (Cross) Haselton, was 
born June 20, 1794, in Hebron, New Hampshire, 
and died December 3I, 1838, in Dorchester, same 
state, where he was a shoemaker. He enlisted as 
a soldier in the War of 1812, and was drum major, 
and served in the battle of Plattsburg. He was an 
old line Democrat, and a man of firm principles. 
He married. May 22, 1821, Sally Elliott, born No- 
vember 14, 1800, vyho survived him many years, 
dying June 5, 1877, in Canaan. After his death she 
became the wife of Josiah Clark. Jr., with whom 
she removed to Canaan. William Haselton's chil- 
dren were : William, Sarah, Deborah, Elizabeth, 
Charles, David and George W. 

(VIII) David, third son and sixth child of 
William and Sally (Elliott) Haselton. was born in 
Dorchester, September 2, 1832, and educated in the 
common schools of Groton and Canaan. Leaving 
school at the age of twenty-one, he was engaged in 
farming for nine years in Canaan. He then sold 
his farm and became a bridge builder for the Bos- 
ton & Lowell Railroad, and followed that occupa- 
tion twenty-five years, retiring in iSgo after the 
road passed into the hands of the Boston & Maine. 
He had charge of the bridges and buildings of the 
entire system, and had his office in Boston, but re- 
sided in Winchester, Massachusetts. After his re- 
tirement he moved to Concord, and now (1906) re- 
sides with a daughter in that city. He cast his first 
vote for Franklin Pierce as a presidential candidate, 
but since that time has acted with the Republican 
party. He is a consistent and generous member of 
the Advent Church. He married, in Canaan, 
.August 20, 1854, Paulina Dean, born August 18, 
1830, in Danbury, New Hampshire, and died April 
13, 1902. She was the daughter of Joel and Mary 
(Sleeper) Dean, of Canaan. At the time of her 
death she and her husband had been wedded forty- 
eight years. Two children were born of this union, 
one of whom died in infancy. Mary Esther, the 
surviving child, was born January 17, 1S57, and 
married, in Concord, November 28, 1S76. Isaac 
Franklin Mooney, of Concord. He was born in 
Sandwich, New Hampshire, October 2S, 1852, and is 
a son of Isaac F. Mooney, who was horn in Sand- 
wich, December 11, 1808. and died December 11, 
1892, aged eighty-four, and his wife Mary .Ann 
(Vickery) Mooney, who was born July 25, 1822, 
and is now living in Concord. Isaac F. Mooney 
has been a conductor on the Boston & Maine Rail- 
road for twenty-five years, and is now on the 



I0I2 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Woodsville division. Mr. and Mrs, Mooney have 
had four children: Edward Frank, died yoimg; 
Emma Mary, Edward FrankHn, deceased ; and 
Harry Haselton. 

(II) John (2), third child and second son of 
John (l) and Joan (Auter) Haselton. was born 
probably on that part of Rowdey, now called Brad- 
ford, in 1650. By occupation he was a carpenter 
and ship builder. He was a deacon in the First 
Church in Haverhill, where he made his will which 
was dated June 16. 1732, and proved x^pril 23, 1733. 
He was eighty-two years old at the time of his 
death. He married, July 17, 1682, Mary, daughter 
of Philip Nelson, and they had eight children: 
John, Philip. Sarah, Mary, Joseph, Benjamin, died 
young: Elizabeth and Benjamin. 

(fll) Philip, second son and child of John (2) 
and Mary (Nelson) Haselton, was born March 13, 
1685. He was mentioned in his father's will in 
1732, but had probably left Haverhill before that 
time. He married, January 9. 1718, Judith Web- 
ster. They had ten children: John and Philip 
(twins), James, Tryphena, Ann, Lois, Joseph and 
Benjamin (twins), Stephen and Asa. 

(IV) James, third son and child of Philip and 
Judith (Webster) Haselton, was born March 28, 
1721. He married (first), at Haverhill, Massachu- 
setts, November 13, 1741, Elizabeth Hutchins. who 
died July 12, 1750. Married (second), November 
5, 1751,' Ruth Ladd. His children were: Asa, 
Philip, Annie, James, John. Elizabeth, Ruth, Ladd 
and Trvphena. 

(V) Asa, eldest child of James and Elizabeth 
(Hutchins) Haselton, was born June 15. ^ 1/42. 
He lived in Atkinson and elsewhere, but died in 
Manchester, New Hampshire. He married, Decem- 
ber 6, 1763. Mary Ober. and they were the parents 
of ten children: Asa. David, Philip, John, James, 
Stephen, Polly, Betsey, a daughter unnamed, and 
Nancv. 

(VI) John (3). fourth son and child of Asa 
and Elizabeth (Ober) Haselton, was born in Atkin- 
son, and died in Manchester, aged seventy-seven. 
He settled in Manchester and owned a farm near 
the Londonderry line. He frequently engaged in 
teaming, and hauled lumber to Newburyport and 
brought back loads of provisions, using oxen to 
draw the load. In politics he was a Democrat. He 
married Lydia Flint, of Reading, and they had 
twelve children: Lydia. Stephen, Kadmiel. Caleb, 
Betsey, John, Lucinda. Lavina, Washington, Ada- 
line. Leonard and Reuben. 

(VII) Stephen, eldest son and second child of 
John (3) and Lyciia Flint Haselton, was horn in 
Manchester, December 25, 1800, and died in Man- 
chester. March 15. 1872. He purchased a home 
near the iiaternal homestead, and resided there all 
his life. He. like his father, was a Democrat. He 
married, 1840, Mary Malvina Messcr. daughter of 
John aiid Sally (Hadly) Messer, of Gofifstown. 
John Messcr died in 1S20, aged seventy, and his 
wife died in 1844. aged about seventy-two. Mrs. 
Haselton died at the hou^c of her son Henry in 



Manchester, in 1882. aged seventy-five. Two chil- 
dren were born of this marriage : George W., long 
time superintendent of the cotton mills at Chicopee 
Falls, Massachusetts, now superintendent of the 
Pittsfield Mills, Pittsfield, New Hampshire; and 
Henry I., the subject of the next paragraph. 

(VIII) Henry Irving, second son and child of 
Stephen and Mary (Messer) Haselton, was born 
in Manchester. March I, 1847. He attended the 
district schools until he was seventeen years old, 
and then (1864) became an employe of the JMan- 
chester Mills. There he worked till 1880, when he was 
offered better wages to go to the lower Pacific Mills^ 
in Lawrence, Massachusetts, which he accepted, 
and was employed there as second hand two years. 
At the end of that time he was invited to return to 
Manchester to take charge of the worsted combing 
department in the then Manchester, now Atnoskeag 
Mills, at an increased salary. He accepted the offer 
and is still holding this position ; he has since re- 
sided in Manchester. By a diligent use of his 
ability for the benefit of his employers, Mr. Hasel- 
ton has gradually worked his way from size-boy, 
card grinder, section hand and second hand to his 
present position. He is now overseer of the worsted 
washing, carding, combing and drawing depart- 
ments of the Amoskeag Mills. Mr. Haselton is a 
Republican, and has been a member of the school 
board one year, and of the common council one 
year, but he is not inclined to take a part in politics, 
and the oflSces came to him unsought. In religious 
sentiment he inclines to Universalism. and attends 
the church of that faith. He is a Thirty-second 
degree Mason, and is an honored member of the 
following named divisions of that body : Lafayette 
Lodge. No. 41 ; Mount Horeb Royal Arch Chapter, 
No. 11; Adoniram Council, No. 3, Royal and Select 
Masters ; Trinity Commandery, Knights Templar, 
of which he is a past commander, all of Manchester ; 
and Edward A. Raymond Consistory, of Nashua. 
He is also past grand master of the Grand Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of New Hampshire. 

He married, in Manchester, January I. 1877, 
Emma French, born in Norwich, Vermont, Febru- 
ary 4, 1854, daughter of George and Ellen (Critten- 
den) French, and great-granddaughter of Nathaniel 
French, who removed from Connecticut and settled 
in Vermont. George J. French and wife removed 
to Plainfield, New Hampshire, and he died after a 
residence there of more than fifty years. She is 
still living. Mrs. Haselton is a member of Ruth 
Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star, and is a promi- 
nent worker in that order, and in the Universalist 
Church. Of this marriage there is one child, 
George Irving, the subject of the next paragraph. 

(IX) George Irving, only child of Henry I. 
and Emma (French) Haselton, was bom in Man- 
chester, July 19, 1878, and educated in the common 
schools. When twenty years of age he entered the 
Amoskeag Manufacturing Company's Mills, and 
was employed in the dye house until the fall of 
1906. For two years he was a second hand. After 
leaving the mill he went to Washington, D. C, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1013 



where he is now (1907) taking the law course in 
the George Washington University. He is a Re- 
publican, and talces an active interest in politics. 
He was made president of the common council of 
Manchester, and was also ex-officio member of the 
school board, and served in these bodies from 1904 
till 1906. He is a past master of Lafayette Lodge, 
No. 41, Free and Accepted Masons, a member of 
Mount Horeb Royal Arch Chapter, No. 11. Adon- 
iram Council. No. 3, Royal and Select Masters, 
Trinity Commandery, Knights Templar, and Bek- 
tash Temple of the Ancient Arabic Order of the 
Mystic Shrine. He married, in 1905, Fanny Tren- 
holm. born in Grand Pre, Nova Scotia, May 15, 
1881, daughter of Robert Trenholm. 



It is probable that John Hasel- 
HASELTINE tine, who was born November 
19, 1780, was a native of Haver- 
hill, Massachusetts, or that his father was, but noth- 
ing can be found in the vital records of New Hamp- 
shire or of Haverhill to locate him. The record of 
his birth is found in his own handwriting in his 
family Bible. He died August 5, 1865. in Amherst. 
He married (first) Betsy Eatchelder, daughter of 
Captain John Batchelder, who was born in that part 
of .A.mherst, now Mont Vernon, June 19, 1825, and 
died April 20, 1842. He married (second), Febru- 
ary 25, 1845, Mrs. Hannah Smith, born 1793. who 
survived him nearly twelve years, dying March 10, 
1877. The children of the first wife were: Charles, 
Eliza. John, Roxanna, Frances, Mary A.. Caroline 
and James G. 

(H) James G., youngest child of John and 
Betsey (Batchelder) Haseltine. was born February 
22. 1825, in Amherst, and died May 7, 1903. He at- 
tended the district school and an academy. Early 
in life he learned the trade of blacksmith and be- 
came a machinist. He also engaged in farming, 
and was an auctioneer. He married at Milford, 
New Hampshire, Mary J. Hinds, born March 19, 
1822. in Sandwich, New Hampshire, daughter of 
Barzillai and Patience Hinds (see Hinds, H). 

(HI) John Edward, eldest son and second 
child of James G. and Mary J. (Hinds) Haseltine, 
was born April 9, i860, at Chestnut Hill, in Am- 
herst. New Hampshire. His education was supplied 
by the common schools and Mont Vernon Acad- 
emy, and he abandoned the school-room at the age 
of eighteen years to engage in farming upon the 
homestead, wdiere he continued until he was twenty- 
two years of age. For one year he was a clerk in 
a grocery store at Amherst, and then removed to 
Reed's Ferry in the town of Merrimack, where he 
w-as for five years a clerk in the general store of 1. 
A. Porter. At the end of this time he purchased 
the store from his employer, and conducted the 
business for eight years with a partner under the 
style of Haseltine & Co. They erected a building 
on the corner opposite that occupied by the old 
store, and in this continued business until 1898, 
when Mr. Haseltine bought the interest of his part- 
ner and became sole owner. On January i. 1903, 



the business was consolidated with the Fessenden 
& Lowell JManufacturing Company, and Mr. Hasel- 
tine has continued as manager of the store and is 
vice-president of the corporation. For eight years 
he was assistant postmaster, and September 20, 
1894. was appointed postmaster, which post he has 
continued to fill until the present time. Mr. Hasel- 
tine is a member of the Congregational Church. 
He has been the school treasurer of the town since 
1897, and takes an active interest in every move- 
ment calculated to promote the welfare of the com- 
munity. He is a Republican in politics, and was a 
member of the Grange from the time he was 
eighteen years old until 1902. He was a member of 
Hillsboro Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, of Manchester, and became a charter member 
of the lodge at Reed's Ferry, in which he has filled 
all the principal chairs. In 1905-06 he constructed 
a handsome residence at Reed's Ferry. He mar- 
ried. November 22, 1892, Mabel Lucrecia Lowell, 
born November 15, 1870, daughter of Levi F. and 
Hannah B. (Hutchinson) Lowell, of Reed's Ferry. 
(See Lowell VIII). She was educated at McGaw 
Institute and Tilton Seminary, and is a member of 
the Congregational Church. They have three chil- 
dren. Hazel Louise, born June 14. 1894: Franklin 
Lowell, born April 10. 1896: and Elizabeth Hinds, 
born November 4, iSgg. 



The name of Brackett, the antique 
BR.ACKETT spelling of which was Brocket, 

originated in Wales and became 
distributed through England and Scotland. Among 
the nine hundred colonists who embarked with 
Governor Winthrcp at Yarmouth, England, .'\pril 7, 
1630, were four brothers of this name, said to have 
been natives of Scotland. They were Captain Rich- 
ard, who first settled in Boston but afterwards went 
to that part of Braintree which is now Quincy; 
Peter, who located in Connecticut : William and 
Anthony, who came to Portsmouth with Captain 
John Mason, in 1631. The Bracketts of Plymouth 
now being considered are probably descended from 
one of these brothers, and there is some reason for 
believing that their original American ancestor was 
Captain Richard. 

(I) Samuel Brackett, probably a descendant of 
Captain Richard, the immigrant, was residing at 
Dedham, Massachusetts, in 1762. The christian 
name of his wife was Elizabeth. 

(II) William, son of Samuel and Elizabeth 
Brackett, was born in Dedham. May 7, 1762. He 
married, November 22, 1784, Anna Lauchlen. born 
December 26, 1765, daughter of Samuel and Sarah 
(Haws) Lauchlen, and settled in Sudbury, IVIassa- 
chusetts. 

(II) William (2). eldest son and child of Will- 
iam and Anna (Lauchlen) Brackett, w-as born in Sud- 
bury, October 9. 1785. In 1799 he went to Little- 
ton, New Hampshire, as a lad of fourteen years, 
and in early manhood engaged in trade, opening a 
general store on the meadows. He subsequently 
transferred his business to the village, where he 



I0I4 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



became a prosperous general merchant and one of 
the most prominent residents of the town. When 
Andrew Jackson was nominated for the presidency 
he withdrew his allegiance from the Federalists in 
order to support the hero of New Orleans, and he 
was thenceforward allied with the Democratic party. 
He served as town clerk from 1814 to 1826, as 
selectman in 1817 and as representative to the legis- 
lature in 1819-20. He was a staunch Free Mason, 
belonging to Morning Dawn and Burns lodges, and 
is said to have deserted the Federal party on ac- 
count of its anti-masonic attitude. In his religious 
belief he was a Gongregationalist. Mr. Bra'ckett 
died December 7, 1859. February 10, 181 1, he mar- 
ried Lorana Campbell, born June 12, 1791, daughter 
of Hector Campbell, of Chester, Massachusetts. 
Her death occurred May 11, 1874. She bore him 
six children, namely: William C. Cephas, Laura, 
Charles W., George S. and Caroline A. 

(IV) William Campbell, eldest son and child 
of William and Lorana (Campbell) Brackett, was 
born in Littleton. October i., 1S12. Having ac- 
quired a good knowledge of mercantile pursuits as 
clerk in his father's establishment, he opened in 
company with his brother. Charles W., another gen- 
eral store, which prospered as the population in- 
creased, and he also engaged quite extensively in 
lumbering. After withdrawing from trade he be- 
came local express agent and continued in that 
capacity until his death, which occurred February 
14, 1S63. In politics he was originally a Whig and 
later a Republican. He married, January 8, 1842, 
Mrs. Julia A. Hutchins (nee Ross), born in Bath. 
New Hampshire, February 9, 1817, daughter of 
Samuel Ross, and widow of George Hutchins, by 
whom she had two daughters, Julia and Emma R. 
Mrs. Brackett married for her third husband Col- 
onel Cyrus Eastman, of Littleton, and died in Bos- 
ton, May 15, 1898. William C. and Julia A. (Ross- 
Hutchins) Brackett were the parents of four chil- 
dren, namely : William R.. who is referred to in the 
succeeding paragraph ; Edward Dudley, born No- 
vember 6, 1845 ; Horace, bom May 8, 1848, died 
June 18, 1849 ; and Harvey Smith, born December 
22, 1852. 

(V) William Ross, eldest son of William C. 
and Julia A. (Ross-Hutchins) Brackett, was born 
in Littleton, • November 24. 1842. He began his 
education in the public schools of his native town 
and completed it in Lock Haven. Pennsylvania. His 
first opening was in the express business at Con- 
cord with Messrs. Cheney & Company, in whose 
employ he remained about a year, at the expiration 
of which time he became telegraph operator at Lit- 
tleton, and a few years later went to Plymouth in a 
similar capacity. He was shortly afterwards ap- 
pointed general ticket agent of the Boston, Concord 
& Montreal Railroad, and when that road became a 
part of the Boston & Maine system he was made 
gene.al baggage agent with headquarters in Boston. 
This latter ;>osition he retained for eleven years, 
ana since relinquishing the regular service he has 
lived in retirement at his pleasant home in Plym- 



outh. Mr. Brackett is a Master Mason and a mem- 
ber of Burns lodge in Littleton. 

May 13, 1868, Mr. Brackett married Ella Eliza 
Stearns, born in Worcester, Vermont, December 15, 
1850, daughter of Wilbur C. and Lucy (Reed) 
Stearns. Mr. and Mrs. Brackett have had three 
children, of whom the only survivor is Lucy 
Stearns, born June 23, 1879, was graduated from 
the Plymouth high school and completed her edu- 
cation at the Wheaton Seminary, Norton, Massa- 
chusetts. She resides in Plymouth. The others 
were: Bessie Stearns, born August 3, 1874, and 
William Cephas, bom March 15, 1876, both of 
whom died in infancy. 



Like so many surnames, the name 
SCRIBNER Scribner is derived from the ori- 
ginal occupation of the early mem- 
bers of the family. In this case the word scrivener, 
a professional writer or conveyancer, and the Amer- 
ican pioneers, following the English fashion, spelled 
their patronjTnic with a "v." There were at least four 
families in England named Scri\ener, who we're the 
owners of considerable landed estate. The first of 
the name in America was Matthew Scrivener, a 
member of the Council of the Virginia Colony in 
1607. He was spoken of by Captain John Smith as 
"a very wise understanding gentleman," but he was 
drowned in the James river a week or two after his 
arrival. Benjamin Scrivener, of Norwalk, Con- 
necticut, is said to be the ancestor of most of the 
Scribners in the United States, He married Han- 
nah Crampton. March 6, 1680. and they had four 
sons : Thomas, John, Abraham and Matthew. 
Matthew Scribner was the great-grandfather of 
Charles Scribner. the eminent publisher and founder 
of Scribner's Magazine, The following line does 
not appear to be connected with the Virginia or 
Connecticut Scribners, but to be descended from 
another pioneer, who came directly from England, 

(I) John Scribner, born probably in England, 
settled in Dover, New Hampshire, in 1662. His 
wife's christian name was Mary, and they had sev- 
eral children. Among them was Thomas, men- 
tioned below. John Scribner died in October, 1675. 

(II) Thomas, son of John Scribner, was bom 
in the latter half of the seventeenth century, and 
lived in Dover, New Hampshire. He moved to 
Kingston, this state, where he made his will in 1718. 
The name of his wife is unknown, but one of their 
children was Samuel, mentioned below. 

(HI) Samuel, son of Thomas Scribner, was 
born early in the eighteenth centur}' and lived in 
Kingston, New Hampshire. His early married life 
was spent in that town, wdiere six of his children 
were born, but on March I, 1753, he bought a lot of 
land in Salisbury, this state, then called Bakerstown. 
The land was bought from Jonathan Sanborn, who 
like most of the other grantees of Salisbury, lived 
in Kingston, and never actually moved to the new 
settlement. Samuel Scribner is recorded as fifth in 
the list of actual settlers of Salisbury, and it is 
probable that he built his log cabin there in the 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



101 : 



Slimmer of 1753, though his family remained in 
Kingston for some time after that. On August 17, 
1754, Samuel Scribner and his fellow workman, 
Robert Barber, were captured by the Indians while 
engaged in haying on the Proctor meadow on Salis- 
bury North road. They camped that night on the 
shore of what is now Webster lake, and in the early 
morning the captors and their victims started for 
Saint Francis, Canada, which place they reached 
after a journey of thirteen days. For the last nine 
days they subsisted on berries, roots, and whatever 
they could pick up in the wilderness. Scribner was 
sold to a Frenchman at Chamblee ; Barber was also 
sold to a Frenchman, but succeeded in making his 
escape. September 26, 1755, while Scribner remained 
in Canada for almost two j'cars or until ransomed 
by the state government. After his return from 
captivity he went to Kingston where he found his 
wife and children. Just before Scribner's capture 
he had got out the lumber for a large two-story 
house. This had remained untouched during his 
absence, and after his return he built the house on 
Salisbury North road. Samuel Scribner married, 
November 4, 1740, Hannah Webster, daughter of 
Ebenezer and Susan (Bachiler) Webster, and a sis- 
ter of Ebenezer, father of Daniel. They had chil- 
dren : Hannah, married Samuel Raino, lived at 
Andover, this state ; Captain Iddo, who served in 
the Revolution, married (first) Mrs. Judith Brown, 
(second) Mrs. Huldah (Morss) Jewett; Josiah. 
whose sketch follows : Ebenezer, moved to Tun- 
bridge, Vermont, afterward returned to Dover ; 
Susan. 

(IV) Captain Josiah, second son and third 
child of Samuel and Hannah (Webster) Scribner, 
was born in Kingston. New Hampshire, about 1753. 
He moved with his people to Salisbury about 1757, 
and afterward became a drover and cattle dealer 
at Andover, this state. There seems to be some 
confusion about his marriage. The Grafton County 
Gazetteer gives the name of his wife as Phebe 
Cross, while the "History of Salisbury" says that he 
was twice married, and that his first wife was 
named Webster, and that his second was Mrs. Mary 
A. (Wliite) Farmer. The names of the thirteen 
children correspond, except that the "History of 
Salisbury" has omitted John, whose sketch follows. 
Assuming that its record is correct in other respects, 
the children of the first marriage were: Samuel, 
Josiah, Parker and William. The children of the 
second marriage were: Benjamin F.. Isaac W., a 
physician and author, Jonathan F.. Phebe, Hannah, 
Arethusa. Polly, Mary A. It is probable that John 
was one of the earlier children. 

(V) John, son of Captain Josiah Scribner. was 
born at Andover, New Hampshire, January 28, 1784. 
He was a successful farmer and cattle drover in his 
native town, where he lived most of his life, though 
he spent the last three years in Ashland. John 
Scribner married .Abigail Emery, daughter of Josiah 
limery, who was born in Loudon, New Hampshire, 
October 19. 1787. They had six children: Ambrose, 
Franklin, John C., Darius, Lewis and Asenath. 



John Scribner died January s, 1887, in Ashland, 
aged eighty-three years, and his wife died there De- 
cember 18, 1878, aged eighty-nine years. 

(VI) Franklin, second son and child of John 
and Abigail (Emery) Scribner, was born July 9, 
1819. at Andover, New Hampshire. He moved to 
Ashland, and with his elder brother Ambrose began 
the manufacture of shoes for a Massachusetts firm. 
Franklin Scribner afterward sold out his interest, 
and with his brother Lewis built a paper mill, and 
they manufactured nianila paper and straw board 
for many years. In 1880 Franklin Scribner was 
elected treasurer of the Ashland Savings Bank. On 
May 20, 1855, he married Marcia E. Hackctt, daugh- 
ter of Chase T. and Susan Hackett, of New Hamp- 
ton, New Hampshire, where she was born July 6, 
1833. They had three children : Ida G., Carrie A., 
and George E., whose sketch follows. Franklin 
Scribner died February 9, 1885, at Whitefield, New 
Hampshire, and his widow died December 3, 1889, 
in South Framingham, Massachusetts. 

(VII) George Edwin, only son and third and 
youngest child of Franklin and Marcia E. (Hackett) 
Scribner, was born December 7, 1863, at Ashland, 
New Hampshire. He was educated in the common 
schools of his native town, graduated from the 
Tilton Seminary in 1883, and afterward took a com- 
mercial course at the New Hampton Institute, this 
state. After competing his education he entered 
the employ of the Ashland Savings Bank. In 1886 
he helped organize the Ashland Knitting Company, 
taking the office of treasurer, which he has held 
ever since. Mr. Scribner is a Republican in politics, 
and was representative to the New Hampshire 
legislature in 1907. He is a member of Mount 
Prospect Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of Ashland, and a member of Pilgrim Com- 
manderj'. Knights Templar, of Laconia. On June 
I. 1897, George Edwin Scribner married Emma H. 
Mead, daughter of Edward Hilton and Loanna 
Stevens (Sherburns) Mead, of Northwood. New 
Hampshire, where she was born November 28, 1863. 
There are no children. 



The McElroys are of Scotch-Irish 
McELROY origin, and although late-comers to 
America they possess the same ster- 
ling qualities as those which predominated in the 
characters of their predecessors of the same re- 
ligious and liberty-loving race. 

(I) Samuel McElroy, a native of Scotland, 
went to the north of Ireland and settled in Lon- 
donderry. 

(II) Samuel (2), son of Samuel (i) Mc- 
Elroy. was born in Londonderry, Ireland, 1800. He 
learned the trade of gunsmith, which he followed 
in connection with that of shuttle maker, and also 
had a small shop for the weaving of linen. He de- 
voted his attention to these various occupations 
until his death in January, 1863. In the fall of the 
year 1863 his family emigrated to the United States, 
locating in Manchester. New Hampshire. His wife, 
Martha CMcLane) McElroy, was the mother of 



ioi6 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



four sons and four daughters, six of whom attained 
j'ears of maturity. Their children were: I. Samuel, 
enlisted in the Seventh Regiment. New Hampshire 
Volunteers, for service in the Civil war, was 
wounded three times, and participated in several 
notable engageinents. 2. Elizabeth, married Daniel 
Price, resides in Manchester, New Hampshire. 3. 
Sarah, deceased. 4. Mary, widow of Fred. Holt ; 
she re'sides in Sunapee. 5. William, see forward. 
6. John, deceased. 7. Martha, died young. 8. An 
infant son, deceased. The mother of these children 
was a member of Grace Episcopal Church. She 
died 1887, aged seventy-seven years. 

(HI) William, son of Samuel (2) and Martha 
(McLane) McElroy, was born in Londonderry, Ire- 
land, March iS, 1851. He arrived in Manchester, 
New Hampshire, with his mother in 186,3, when 
twelve years old, and the untimely death of his 
father made it absolutely necessary for him to con- 
tribute at that tender age toward the support of the 
bereft family. The textile mills, wherein so many 
men of genius began the activities of life, were open 
to him, and for some years he was an operator in 
the spinning departinent of one of the large Man- 
chester corporations. But an inherent ambition for 
advancement caused him to devote his spare time to 
study, and after completing a commercial course at 
a local business college he obtained a position as 
bookkeeper with the firm of Horatio Fradd & Com- 
pany, of Manchester, grocers, which he retained for 
a period of twenty-three years. He then engaged 
in the tailoring business, but relinquished it seven 
years later and turned his attention to dealing in 
real estate, in which line of work he has attained 
success. He also conducted a retail wood business. 

Prior to his majority he was elected ward clerk, 
and for the past thirty-tive years has been an active 
participant, officially and otherwise, in local civic 
affairs. He was chosen a delegate to the constitu- 
tional convention of 1902; was elected a member of 
the street and park commission in 1905, and in 1906 
was re-elected for a period of six years, and was 
appointed chairman of the -board, in which respon- 
sible position he is still serving, having fully demon- 
strated by his marked ability the wisdom displayed 
in his selection. Aside from his duties as general 
supervisor of repairs and improveinents in the 
streets and parks, he is interested actively in other 
important matters of a semi-public nature, being 
president of the Manchester Building & Loan Asso- 
ciation, being re-elected for a third term in 1907. 
and his knowledge of the relative value of real es- 
tate makes liim especially serviceable to that insti- 
tution. In Masonry he is well advanced, being 
officially connected with Lafayette Lodge. No. 41. of 
which he was chaplain many years. Mt. Horeb 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, Adoniram Council. 
Trinity Connnandcry, Knights Templar, in which 
he held office many years, all the Scottish Rite 
bodies up to and including the thirty-second degree, 
and Bcktash Temple, .A-ncient .Arabic Order Nobles 
of the Mystic Shrine, in which body he is a inem- 
ber of the orchestra. He also affiliates with the 



-American Benefit Society. Politically he is a Re- 
publican, being a firm believer in the principles of 
that party. His religious affiliations are with St. 
-Andrew's Church, in which he is the present senior 
warden and treasurer. Previous to joining St. -An- 
drew's Church he was a member of Grace Church, 
in which he served as vestryman many years, and 
as treasurer of the Sunday school for fifteen years. 
He is a member of the Art Institute and also of the 
orchestra there. He is proficient in both vocal and 
instrumental music, and directs the choir at St. An- 
drew's Church. 

Mr. McEIroy married for his first wife Mary H. 
Schofield, and the children of this union are : Joseph 
W., a student at Worcester Polytechnic Institute. 
John Samuel, who now assists his father in the 
wood business. Gertrude M. William F., a student 
at Trinity College, Hartford, Connecticut. Mrs. 
McElroy was born in Lawrence, Massachusetts, but 
resided in Manchester, New Hampshire, where her 
father was engaged in the machine printing depart- 
ment of the Manchester Print Works, now the 
.Amoskeag Corporation, for many years. Mr. Mc- 
Elroy married for his second wife Fronia -Adams 
Richards, of GofTstown, only child of Eliphalet 
Richards, now deceased, who was a noted lumber 
merchant in Goffstown, Weare and New Boston. 



This family name has been widely dis- 
GOODWIN tributed not only over England, but 

over most of the northern countries 
of Europe, and instances of its occurrence are to be 
met with in very early times. -As early as the fifth 
century it appears in Germany in the forms Gudwin 
and Godwin. In English records it also appears 
very early. In 1238 Robert Goodwin was a citizen 
of Norwich: in 1300 Adam Goodrich was a burgess 
of Calchester : and in 1347 Galfridas Goodwin was 
assessed for his lands at Rockland in Norfolk, when 
Edward III levied an aid for the marriage of his 
son. Two Goodwins from whom the greater num- 
ber of the name in New England have sprung are 
Elder William Goodwin and his brother Osias. The 
former sailed from London in the ship "Zion," June 
22, 1632, and arrived in Boston, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 16 of the same year. He settled at New- 
town, where he was very soon made a ruling elder 
in the church, and was for the remainder of his life 
a leading member of the cominunity. When Osias 
Goodwin came to -America is uncertain. He first 
appeared as a landholder in Hartford in 1640. He 
was not a man of prominence. On account of the 
loss of some records and ill-kept condition of others, 
there are many families of Goodwin in New Eng- 
land who descended from one of these two progeni- 
tors, but cannot be traced. 

(I) Deacon Joshua Goodwin lived in London- 
derry at the beginning of the nineteenth century. 
His wife Rebecca died May 27, 1806. aged forty-one 
years, three months, and twenty days. His second 
wife was Elizabeth. 

(II) Josiah, son of Deacon Joshua and Eliza- 
beth Goodwin, was born in Londonderry, November 




Qh^.T??'-^^ 



r 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1017 



28, 1807. and died July 27, 1893, aged eighty-six. 
He was a very well known man, of excellent char- 
acter, a hard worker, and a good neighbor. He 
was thoroughly conversant with the Bible, which he 
read regularly and often and interpreted literally. 
For more than sixty years he was a member of the 
Presbyterian Church, and active as a superintendent 
or teacher in the Sunday school. He was a man of 
great physical strength and possessed of exceptional 
powers of endurance. He was married in Milford 
by Rev. Humphrey Moore, D. D., November 24, 
1831, to Esther Jones, born December 5, 1810, and 
died March 9. 1888, aged seventy-eight. She was 
the daughter of Abram and Hepzibah Jones. No- 
vember 24, i88r. this couple celebrated with much 
cheer their golden w'edding, and lived yet seven 
years to enjoy life on the old homestead in London- 
derry, where they began life together. Six children 
■were born of this marriage : Daniel, Henry, John, 
Esther, Miranda and Joseph Stone. 

(HI) John, third son and child of Josiah and 
Esther (Jones) Goodwin, was born in Londonderry, 
May 23, 1838. and died October 27, 1875, aged 
thirty-seven years. He grew up on his father's 
farm, and when a young man removed to Charles- 
town. Massachusetts, where he operated a McKay 
stitching machine in a shoe factory until a short 
time before his death. He was a good man, and a 
faithful and skillful mechanic. He married, in Lon- 
donderry, New Hampshire, May 17, 1863, Caroline 
W. BoUes. who was the eldest child and only daugh- 
ter of Lewis and Eliza H. (Whorf) Bolles, of Lon- 
donderry ; she was born in Londonderry, December 
17, 1843, and died June 18, 1867, aged twenty-four 
years. One child was born of this union, Elmer D., 
whose sketch follows. 

(IV) Elmer Daniel, only child of John and 
Caroline W. (Bolles) Goodwin, was born in 
Charlestown, Massachusetts, October 12, 1866. He 
was educated in the public school of Charlestown, at 
Pinkerton Academy in Derry, and Tilton Seminary. 
The death of his mother, when he was eight months 
old, left him in the care of his maternal grandpar- 
ents in Londonderry, and the father dying when the 
son was eight years old, he was early thrown on his 
own resources. In 1882 he was employed for a 
short time by George S. Rollins, grocer at Derry 
Depot, and then entered the employ of the Man- 
chester & Lawrence Railroad, now a part of the 
Boston & Maine system, as assistant station agent, 
where he remained about six years, until the forma- 
tion of the firm of Priest & Goodwin, dealers in 
coal. Later Mr. Goodwin, the junior partner, sold 
his interest to Mr. Priest, and took a position in the 
employ of Brooks & Company, Boston, retail house- 
furnishers, who had a store at Derry. In 1892 he 
removed to Manchester, and became bookkeeper for 
Clark M. Bailey, a prominent wholesaler. In 1899 
he bought out the undertaking businej^s of Alfred 
E. Morse, which he has since carried on with suc- 
cess. Mr. Goodwin is a gentleman and a man of 
sterling integrity, and has many warm friends. In 
politics he is a Republican, and is now serving his 



second term as a member of the city school board. 
He attends the Franklin Street Congregational 
Church. He is a member of the board of trade, of 
the Derryfield Club, and a director of the Young 
Men's Christian Association. He is a member of 
General Stark Grange, No. 277, a member of Wash- 
ington Lodge, No. 61, Free and Accepted Masons ; 
is past high priest of Mt. Horeb Royal Arch Chap- 
ter. No. 11; is past thrice illustrious master of 
Adoniram Council, No. 3. Royal and Select Mas- 
ters ; is past commander of Trinity Commandery, 
Knights Templar ; member of Edward A. Ray- 
mond Consistory of the Sublime Princes of the 
Royal Secret, of Nashua ; is past patron of Ruth 
Chapter, No. 16, Order of the Eastern Star, and a 
member of Bektash Temple of the Ancient Arabic 
Order of the Mystic Shrine, of Concord. He is a 
member of Oak Hill Lodge, No. 97, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, of Manchester ; is past chan- 
cellor of Rockingham Lodge. No. 29, Knights of 
Pythias, of Derry ; past master workman of Derry- 
field Lodge,. No. 342, Ancient Order of United 
Workmen ; member of Evening Star Council, No. 
10, Order of United American Mechanics ; James 
E. Shephard Colony. No. 118, United Order of Pil- 
grim Fathers ; Mt. Hope Lodge, No. 348. New Eng- 
land Order of Protection ; the Order of High Priest- 
hood (Concord) ; the Passaconaway Tribe of the 
Improved Order of Red Men: honorary member of 
Tresche Post, No. 5, Grand Army of the Republic. 
He went to California as commander of the Trinity 
Commandery. Knights Templar. 1904, and traveled 
over Europe, 1906, with DeMolay Commandery, of 
.Boston, Massachusetts. 

Mr. Goodwin married. August 15, 18S7. in Derry, 
New Hampshire, Ella L. Sargent, of Searsport, 
Maine, daughter of Edward M. and Elizabeth A. 
(Green) Sargent, and they had one child, Louis 
Byron, born June 22, 1893. 



The name of Pottle appears in the 

POTTLE early town records of Hampton, New 

Hampshire, in wdiich it is sometimes 

written Pottell, but the family now in hand is the 

posterity of an English emigrant who came over in 

the latter part of the eighteenth century. 

(I) Rev. Henry Pottle, who was bom in Eng- 
land, came to America when a young man and lo- 
cated in Maine. He became a Baptist clergyman 
and settled near Fryeburg. Maine, about the year 
iSoo. 

(II) Aaron i\Iaztin, son of Rev. Hen i->' Pottle, 
was born in Maine, 1810. He followed agriculture 
in his native town and at Sugar Hill, from which 
latter place he removed to Jefferson, and his death 
occurred in that town in 1891. He was quite active 
in political affairs, and supported the Democratic 
party. He married Serena M. Martin, daughter of 
John Lang Martin, of Jefferson, and had a family 
of eight children, three of whom are living, namely: 
George A., who is residing in Boston ; Serena M., 
wife of Edwin Moulton. of Lakeport, this state; 
and John Lang, of Jefferson. 



loiS 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(Ill) John Lang, son of Aaron M. and Serena 
M. (Martin) Pottle, was born in Landaff, April 6, 
1851. His preliminary studies were pursued in the 
public schools, and he completed his education at 
the Lancaster Academy. He was reared to farm 
life and is therefore an expert tiller of the soil, but 
being a man of energy and progressive tendencies 
he does not confine his efforts exclusively to that 
occupation. Perceiving the advantages of Jefferson 
as a summer resort he located in that town, and in 
addition to general farming established himself in 
the hotel business. At the present time he is 
proprietor of the Highland House, which has ample 
accommodations for fifty guests, and his table is 
supplied with the products of his nearby farm of 
one hundred and thirty acres, all of which is under 
cultivation. He also conducts a winter resort at 
Southern Pines, North Carolina, which is delight- 
fully situated and well patronized by northern 
tourists. An unusually active and enterprising man, 
Mr. Pottle is realizing excellent financial results as 
a reward for his efforts, and he enjoys the esteem 
and confidence both of his fellow-townsmen and his 
guests. He is a Master Mason, and a member of 
the blue lodge at Southern Pines. 

He married Charlotte Crawshaw, of Jefferson. 
His children are: Frank B. and Florence Irene. 
Frank B. Pottle, who is associated with his father 
in business, possesses that keen intelligence and 
capacity for enterprise which characterized the elder 
Pottle, and a successful business career is undoubt- 
edly before him. 



Call is a name that is intimately associated 
CALL with the very earliest settlement in New 

Hamp.shire. north of Concord, and the 
Calls, whose record has come down to us, have been 
men in the best sense of the word, strong, courage- 
ous, patriotic, and ever at the front in war or 
peace. 

(I) Philip Call is said to have been one of two 
brothers who came to America from England. 
Philip is known to have been at Contoocook (Bos- 
cawen), as early as 1733. He was the first settler 
in that township after the granting of the Masonian 
proprietors, and was subsequently made a grantee, 
as is shown by the records. In 1753 the grantees 
voted "to build four houses, and that Philip Call's 
shall be one of them." This shows that Philip Call 
already had a house there. His name appears upon 
the roll of Captain Jeremiah Clough's Company as 
a scout, from September 26 to December 16, 1733. 
For his service he received one pound and fifteen 
shillings, provisions being extra. Again in 1746, 
from July 4 to December 4, he was on scout service, 
for which he received eight pounds and thirteen 
shillings, and again in 1747, from January 5 to No- 
vember 2, receiving sixteen pounds, ten shillings 
and ten pence. The Call family was noted for the 
muscular activity, swiftness of foot and bravery in 
Indian fighting of its members. The site of the 
Call house is to be seen and easily recognized by a 
pile of jjroken bricks and stones, which once con- 



stituted the chimney, and a large apple tree in close 
proximity. The sitfe is on the "Orphan's Home 
Farm," southwest from the house on the west side 
of the railroad track, a mile north of the Boscawen 
line, and near the Salisbury fort. Indians, under 
Captain John Sasup, attacked the place whcj-e the 
family resided, August 15, 1754. Philip, his son 
Stephen, and Timothy Cook, whose father had been 
killed in 1746 at Clay hill, were at work in a field 
and witnessed the attack. Mrs. Call and her son's 
wife and infant were in the house. Upon the ap- 
proach of the Indians, Mrs. Philip Call met them 
at the door, and was instantly killed by a blow from 
a tomahawk. She fell across the threshold. Mrs. 
Stephen Call, with her infant, crawled into a hole 
behind the chimney. The Indians, about thirty in 
number, rifled the house, but she succeeded in keep- 
ing her child quiet, and was not discovered. When 
the savages appeared and the purpose of their visit 
became evident, Stephen wanted to shoot at them, 
but his father, discovering that there was a large 
party, would not let him do so for fear the Indians 
would kill them. The Indians seeing the three 
whites, pursued them. Cook fled toward the Merri- 
mack, plunged in, but was shot and scalped. Philip 
took the path for the fort at Contoocook (Bos- 
cawen). but finding the Indians close upon his heels, 
plunged into the Merrimack river and swam to the 
Canterbury shore. The Indians still pursuing, he 
swam to the western shore, and thus continuing, he 
swam back and forth six times, and eventually 
reached the fort. Stephen ran into the woods and 
saved himself only by dropping his "nice new hat," 
which so pleased his pursuers, that while examining 
it he escaped. Philip served in Colonel Nathaniel 
Meseroe's Regiment, Captain John Titcomb's Com- 
pany, in the expedition against Crown Point in 1757. 
It is said that Philip Call built the house subse- 
quently occupied by Colonel Ebenezer Webster as a 
tavern. His son may have owned it, as Philip died 
previous to November 28, 1763. and probably be- 
fore 1759, and was buried in the eastern side of the 
Webster yard. His wife's name is not known. We 
have a record of children, Stephen and Sarah. 
Sarah Call, of Durham, spinster, by deed dated May 
30. 1759. fc" one himdred pounds old tenor, con- 
veyed to Stephen Call one-half of two tracts of land 
in Contoocook, which she had of her father, Philip 
Call. 

(II) Stephen, son of Philip Call, like his 
father, did scout duty, serving in Captain Jeremiah 
Clough's Company one month and three days. In 
Captain Ladd's Company he did scout duty about 
Canterbury and Concord, in 1746, receiving for his 
services one pound and ten shillings. He also 
served in Captain Goff's Company, scouting on the 
frontier from May 28 to July 15. 1748, receiving 
four pounds, fourteen shillings and three pence, and 
in Captain Ebenezer Webster's Company, Colonel 
Nichol's Regiment, in the Rhode Island campaign 
of 1776. He was chosen one of the selectmen at 
the first town meeting after the incorporation of the 
town and subsequently held other offices. He was 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1019 



a man of character and ability. He married a sis- 
ter of Nathaniel Danforth, who settled at Franklin, 
formerly Andovcr, about 1750. She died in 1816, 
and he a few years later. Their children were: 
John, Nathaniel, Philip, Sarah and Susannah. This 
John Call was the first white child born in Salis- 
bury. 

(III) Philip, third son and child of Stephen and 

(Danforth) Call, was born in Salisbury, New 

Hampshire. He removed to Sanbornton, where he 
was engaged in milling operations, and finally went 
to Stanstcad, province of Quebec, about 1805. He 
had a farm of one hundred and fifty acres near 
Magog, in connection with the cultivation of which 
he carried on blacksmithing. He married Keziali 
Morrison, daughter of David Morrison, and they 
had seven children : James, Richard, Daniel, 
Phoebe, Polly, Whiting and Amanda. 

(IV) Daniel Call, third son of Philip and 
Keziah (Morrison) Call, was born in Magog, April 
14, iSop, and died in Magog, August 14, 1S76, aged 
sixty-six years. He was a farmer and lived in Hat- 
ley from 1837 to 1850, when he removed to the 
paternal homestead where he resided until his death. 
He was a Conservative in politics, and in religion a 
Calvanist Baptist, as was his wife. He married 
Almeda Turner, born in Magog, December, 1809, 
daughter of Daniel and Adaline (Willard) Turner, 
natives of Vermont. She died at eighty-five years 
of age. They had six children : Lucretia W.. de- 
ceased ; Augusta V., deceased ; Whiting R. ; Philip 
O., deceased; Emma E., married Henry Gazaille, 
resides in Manchester ; and Mary P., deceased, all 
of whom removed to New Hampshire. 

(V) Whiting Rexford, third child and eldest 
son of Daniel and Almeda (Turner) Call, was born 
in Magog. September 30, 1839. He attended the 
public schools and the Magog Model School, from 
the latter of which he graduated in i860. The 
three years following he taught school, two years 
of the time in the vicinity of Magog, and one year 
in his alma mater. In 1863 he removed to Man- 
chester, New Hampshire. The six succeeding years 
he was employed as a clerk in the grocery house of 
Childs & Company. In 1867 he opened a photo- 
graph studio on his own account, and from that 
time until now (1907), forty years, he has kept 
steadily at that employment. He is one of the vet- 
eran photographers of New Hampshire. The ex- 
cellence of his work has brought him a large and 
profitable business, which receives his careful per- 
sonal attention to the same extent now that it did 
the day he started out to establish a business for 
himself. He is a member of the Free Will Baptist 
Church, was treasurer of the Sunday school from 
1889 to 1906. and for more than forty years has been 
a member of the Independent Order of Good Tem- 
plars. No man in Manchester is more highly es- 
teemed for his Christian character and moral worth 
than Mr. Call. He married, in Manchester, 1868, 
Ellen Brown, who was born in Bethel, Vermont, 
September 19, 1845, daughter of Jonathan and Susan 
Stone (Turner) Brown, the former born in Mere- 



dith. New Hampshire, October 20, 1816, died in 
Manchester, November 16, 1899. aged eighty-three ; 
the latter born in East Randolph, Vermont, Febru- 
ary 26, 1817, died December 8, 1892, in Manchester, 
aged seventy-five. 



Right Reverend Denis M. Bradley, 
BR.'^DLEY D. D., the first Roman Catholic 

Bishop of Manchester, was born in 
Castle Island, county Kerry, Ireland, February 25, 
1846, and was the eldest son of Michael and Mary 
(Kerins) Bradley, who were the parents of five 
other children : Patrick, Mary, Margaret, Cornelius 
and John. Margaret and John died in childhood. 
Shortly after the death of his father, and when 
the boy Denis M. was but eight years old, his 
widowed mother, with her family of five small 
children, came to the United States, settling in ^lan- 
chester, New Hampshire. The future bishop at- 
tended the Park Street grammar school several 
years, and under the direction of the veteran master, 
Thomas Corcoran, was fitted for college. In 1863 
he entered Holy Cross College, Worcester, where he 
continued until he closed his academic course, in 
June, 1867. His course in ecclesiastical science was 
made in the seminary at Troy, New York, and here 
he was prepared, by the reception of the different 
orders, for the priesthood, and June 3, 1871, was or- 
dained priest at the seminary chapel by Bishop 
McQuaid, of Rochester, New York. 

Shortly after his ordination to the priesthood, 
Father Bradley was assigned duties at Portland, 
Maine, under Bishop Bacon, and subsequently under 
Bishop Healey, by whom he was named rector of 
the cathedral, chancellor of the diocese, and bishop's 
councilor. For some years he discharged the many 
responsibilities of his several important charges at 
Portland in a manner that justified the confidence 
reposed in him by his ecclesiastical superiors, and 
merited for him the appointment to the pastorate 
of St. Joseph's Church, Manchester, which had 
recently become vacant. 

The ceremony of the consecration of Bishop 
Bradley took place at St. Joseph's Church, now 
raised to the rank of cathedral, on June II, 1884. 
The concourse of the people who came from all 
parts of the city and state to witness this unique 
and imposing function was immense, only a fraction 
being able to enter the church. The consecrating 
prelate was Most Reverend John J. Williams, arch- 
bishop of Boston, assisted by Right Reverend Louis 
de Goesbriand, of Burlington, Vermont, and Right 
Reverend John Moore, of St. Augustine, Florida. 
Right Reverend James A. Healy preached an elo- 
quent sermon, in which he paid a well merited and 
glowing eulogy to the first bishop of Manchester. 
Other prelates and nearly two hundred of the repre- 
sentative clergy of New England occupied places 
within the sanctuary. The Very Reverend John E. 
Barry, V. G., was assistant priest, while Right Rev- 
erend Flenry Gabriels read the papal bulls. The 
esteem and affection of his colleagues in the priest- 
hood was strikingly shown by the presentation to the 



1020 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



bishop of the generous sum of $4,000. jNIany other ap- 
propriate gifts, elegant and costly, were given him by 
admiring friends ; but the one that was particularly 
pleasing to him was a beautiful gold church service, 
valued at $1,000, which had been bequeathed by the 
late Rev. John J. O'Donnell, of Nashua, to the first 
bishop of New Hampshire. 

The diocese was officially organized, and the 
bishop entered actively and energetically into the 
work of spreading religion and upbuilding the faith 
in every part of the state. So zealously did he 
apply himself to this subject, that four years after 
his consecration twenty-seven active and zealous 
young priests had been added to the clergy of the 
state. In the large towns and cities new parishes 
were formed, and handsome churches began to mul- 
tiply. Parochial schools were built that in material 
equipment and in educational proficiency are not 
surpassed by any under the public management. 
Religious societies and confraternities for the faith- 
ful were established, whose members and devotional 
enthusiasm continue to be the cheering evidence of 
a living and ardent faith. In the semi-annual con- 
ference in May, 1890, Bishop Bradley e.xpressed a 
sincere wish to make still further efforts to bring 
the blessings of religion to those Catholics located 
in manufacturing villages and in rural communities. 
His desire was heartily responded to by both clergy 
and laity, and churches at twenty-nine villages attest 
the success of the efforts to this end, and masses 
are now said at stated periods in every town of the 
state where there are Catholics to be found, and 
wherever it is possible a church edifice can be built. 
Within the ten years preceding the death of Bishop 
Bradley, much missionary work was done. In that 
time and since priests, encouraged by their bishop, 
toiled and suffered, walked and drove over long 
rough roads, in the blazing heat of summer, and 
the depths of winter, slept in lumber camps, partook 
of coarse fare, bore with ignorance, sustained con- 
tempt, and spent years of their lives in the solitude 
of New Hampshire hill towns. Alone and unseen 
they progressed, and Catholic faith and Catholic 
feeling penetrated much deeper into Puritan society 
than one would suspect. Whole townships and 
counties received the leaven, and it is fermenting; 
and communities where prejudice and ill-disguised 
hostility for anything Catholic once strongly pre- 
vailed, now fraternize with Catholics, many of them 
regularly attend Catholic churches, and are received 
into the fold. 

The tenth anniversary of the creation of the 
diocese of Manchester was marked by the solemn 
consecration of Saint Joseph's Cathedral. Two 
years previous the original church had been en- 
larged, the capacity of the sanctuary increased, and 
the whole interior richly ornamented in a manner 
which reveals the highest artistic taste. Costly altars 
of marble and Mexican onyx, stained glass widows, 
enriched with beautiful paintings, stations and 
statues, masterpieces in design and coloring, have 
contributed to effect such a transformation that it 
is almost impossible to recognize the lines of the 



original structure. Beautiful, chaste and dignified, 
it has become a noble sanctuary, and worthy of the 
title of a cathedral church. 

But the zeal and activities of the bishop were not 
confined to the episcopal city, and churches and 
chapels sprung up to meet the pressing demands. 
The entire ecclesiastical body had become imbued 
with the earnest progressive spirit of its worthy 
head. The system of parochial schools was ex- 
tended and improved, new charitable institutions 
were added to those already existing, and the finely 
equipped hospital of the Sacred Heart under the 
management of the Sisters of iSIercy was opened to 
supply a need long felt, not only in Manchester but 
throughout the state. Fifteen years form but a 
brief period of the life of an organization, never- 
the less, within that very limited space of time the 
Catholic growth in New Hampshire was phenomi- 
nally rapid, and its results effected in no email 
degree the religious thought and life of the people 
of the state. The forty-five thousand Catholics who 
in 1884 were transferred to the jurisdiction of 
Bishop Bradley increased to one hundred thousand ; 
eighty-one diocesan and ten regular priests labored 
in a territory where thirty-seven had been em- 
ployed. In the same period the number of churches 
doubled, fifty-two having resident pastors and nine- 
teen being used as missions. There were in addi- 
tion twenty-one chapels, and thirty-three stations. 
Charitable and eleemosynary institutions multiplied, 
and their flourishing condition is the best guarantee 
of their utility and efficiency. There were five 
orphan asylums, in which four hundred and thirty- 
two orphan children were cared for by the Sisters 
of Mercy, four houses for aged women, four homes 
for working girls, one night refuge for girls, and 
four hospitals, that of the Sacred Heart, Man- 
chester, being in every respect equal in efficiency and 
equipment to any under public management. 

Bishop Bradley was ever a popular man. He 
ma'de a visit to Rome in 1887, and again in 1897, 
On his return from each of these visits the love and 
regard of the Catholics of Manchester gave evidence 
of their attachment for their chief pastor by a great 
popular demonstration, a grand outpouring of gen- 
uine affection and esteem, that was not confined to 
Catholic circles, but was heartily participated in by 
representative men of all creeds, and of no creed 
at all. Not only were addresses of welcome read, 
but generous purses were presented as tokens of 
sincere gratitude and affection on the part of the 
people for one whose life and labors were conse- 
crated to their best interests. 

The twenty-fifth anniversary of Bishop Bradley's 
ordination was celebrated June 3, 1896. It had been 
his intention to have a private observance of the 
event, but so great was the love and reverence of 
his clergy for him, and so important did they deem 
the event, that they strenuously urged that it should 
have a public recognition. For once he yielded and 
the celebration of his silver sacerdotal jubilee was 
one of the most brilliant and successful ceremonies 
ever witnessed in St. Joseph's Cathedral. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



I021 



In the autumn of 1903 Bishop Bradley's health 
became infirm, but he discharged the duties of his 
office until a very few days before his decease ; he 
departed this life December 13, 1903, at 2 -.3$ o'clock 
A. M., at the cathedral residence. The body lay in 
state, watched by the Sheridan Guards until the fol- 
lowing Thursday. Long before the hour appointed 
for the burial rites, thou.sands of people filled the 
square about the cathedral to wait the opening of 
the church doors. Business throughout the city 
was suspended, the busy looms of the great mills 
were stopped, the hum of industry was hushed, all 
the stores without exception closed their doors dur- 
ing the hours of the service, and many of them ex- 
hibited in their windows portraits of the bishop 
draped in morning. Even the post office was closed 
for some hours, a thing almost unheard of ; but one 
of the most touching marks of respect was that 
given by the management of the street car service. 
Just at the moment of twelve, all the street cars in 
Manchester stopped and remained standing two 
minutes. Within ten minutes after the church doors 
were opened the entire edifice was filled as it never 
was before. No church in America could have 
held all wlio desired to bo admitted. Thousands 
were disappointed, but even these tarried about the 
church in the cold, blustering winter morning, hop- 
ing against hope by some means to gain entrance. 
Never did Manchester see such an illustrious assem- 
blage as was gathered within the walls of the 
cathedral. An arch-bishop, seven bishops, five 
monsignori, vicars-general, and heads of religious 
orders, directors of seminaries and colleges, and dis- 
tinguished churchmen from all over New England, 
together with two hundred and fifty priests, testified 
by their presence their veneration for the illustrious 
dead prelate. The bishops present were the Most 
Reverend Archbishop Williams, D. D., of Boston, 
who consecrated Bishop Bradley, on June 11, 1884; 
the Right Reverend Bishop Harkins, D. D., of Pro- 
vidence, who delivered the eulogy; the Right Rev- 
erend Bishop Beaven, D. D., of Springfield, cele- 
brant of the pontifical requiem mass ; the Right 
Reverend M. Tierney, D. D., bishop of Hartford; 
the Right Reverend John Michaud, D. D., bishop 
of Burlington; the Right Reverend William H. 
O'Connell, D. D., bishop of Portland; the Right 
Reverend Bishop Gabriels, D. D., of Ogdensburg, 
who was in charge of St. Joseph's Seminary, Troy, 
New York, when Bishop Bradley was a student 
there. The prothonotaries and monsignori were : 
the Right Reverend John INIichaud, D. D., bishop 
Manchester ; the Right Reverend William Byrne, 
P. A. V. G., of Boston ; Monsignor Dionysius 
O'Callaghan, D. D., of Boston; the Right Reverend 
Monsignor Thomas Griffin, D. D., of Worcester ; 
the Right Reverend Monsignor Arthur J. Teeling, 
D. D., of Lynn. The priests filled the sanctuary 
.with its enteral chapels, and occupied a row of 
seats placed in front of the pews, and another ex- 
tending down the main aisle. In the front pews 
sat His Excellency Governor Nahum J. Bachelder, 
with a number of his staff in full uniform. There 



were also present the mayor and members of the 
city government, post office officials, the officers of 
the board of trade, the agents of the mills, the 
board of license commissioners, nearly every min- 
ister of the Protestant denomination, the vestrymen of 
Grace Church, and distinguished laymen from every 
walk of life, and from every part of the state. In 
the front pews, on either side of the middle aisle, 
sat the members of the religious orders of women 
teaching in the church schools. There were Sisters 
of Mercy from the various houses. Ladies of the 
Sacred Heart, Sisters of Providence, and Grey 
Nuns ; all the sisterhoods were represented, two 
coming from each house. There were brothers of 
the Christian schools, Marist Brothers, and Brothers 
of the Sacred Heart. In the same section of the 
church sat the Bishop's two nieces, and his cousin, a 
Sister of ]\Iercy, and more Sisters of Mercy looked 
down from the windows of the girls' school adjoin- 
ing. The number and character of individuals con- 
stituting this great concourse assembled to pay the 
last tribute of respect to the Bishop of Manchester, 
shows what sort of a man Bishop Bradley must 
have been, and how highly he was appreciated in 
life to merit and receive such distinguished honors 
in death. After the very solemn and deeply impressive 
funeral ceremonies were concluded, the mortal re- 
mains of the dead prelate were borne on the 
shoulders of the body guard of soldiers to the crypt 
of the church, where the benediction was sung, the 
last prayer said, and the stone slab shut out forever 
from view the form and face of the beloved Bishop 
Bradley. 

At his death he left nothing. He kept only one 
bank account, and that was in the name of the 
"Roman Catholic Bishop of Manchester," the legal 
title of his office, so that his successor has but to 
sign his name and he inherits all that the bishop 
possessed. During all the years he acted as pastor 
of the cathedral parish, he drew no salary, and all 
he asked was that the parish pay his funeral expen- 
ses. The collection of Christmas day was taken 
up for that purpose. A small amount of insurance 
was divided between two orphan nieces of the 
bishop, and the charitable institutions of the city. 

The story of the life of Bishop Bradley is the 
record of a life devoted to what he believed to be 
the greatest and highest interests of man. In all 
things he was intensely in earnest. At alb the schools 
he attended he was easily noticeable for close ap- 
plication to study, for docility of conduct, for re- 
tentive memory, and a firm grasp of the knowledge 
imparted to him. Froin the day in early manhood, 
when he heard the call to God's service, to the day 
of his death, he knew no other object in life, and 
followed no other than his divine Master. For 
more than thirty-two years he labored in the min- 
istry, and many a time in the two years preceding 
his death, when his labors made grave inroads on 
his health, he was expostulated with by well mean- 
ing friends, and urged to take a well earned rest. 
In answer to one of these, he once said, "When I 
was ordained I promised God to do all that in me 



1022 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



lay for His service, and I must go on to the end." 
The twenty years of his episcopate were full of 
arduous labors. Long journeys had to be under- 
taken, and conveniences of travel were not then 
what they are now. All over New Hampshire went 
the bishop. Every city, town and hamlet knew his 
care. During these journeys he bore all kinds of 
hardships and discomforts. He preached many 
times in the same day, often driving twenty and 
thirty miles over mountain roads between mission 
stations. On these visitations no fatigue ever caused 
him to omit long hours in the confessional. He was 
always accessible to the humblest in the parish. No 
man in the state had so extended and varied acquain- 
tance, and no one followed with such interest all 
that concerned the individual members of the flock, 
whatever they might be. He lived to see the popu- 
lation of his diocese increase almost three fold, and 
the number of priests to multiply in the same ratio. 
New churches sprang up everywhere, and to-day 
every part of the state is provided for spiritually. 
He built the beautiful cathedral, the chapel of the 
Blessed Sacrament, St. Patrick's Church, the Rosary 
Chapel, and various schools, orphanages, hospitals, 
and an asylum. 

He always rose at six, no matter what the 
fatigues of the day before. His morning medita- 
tion and prayer over, he celebrated the Holy Sacri- 
fice of the Mass at seven o'clock, and even on week 
day mornings he addressed the people a short in- 
struction appropriate to the feast or the season. All 
day long he was ready to receive any callers, and 
his threshold was worn by the footsteps of the poor 
and the unfortunate. Patient, indulgent, sympa- 
thetic, he listened to their tales and relieved their 
wants. As the beginning of the day was spent in 
meditation, so was the end of it. He passed many 
hours in the little chapel of the household, seeking 
light and refreshment. 

The relations between the bishop and his priests 
were most intimate and cordial. Bishop Bradley 
never had a case of contention in any ecclesiastical 
court. When correction or reproof was to be ad- 
ministered it was always done in the kindest, gent- 
lest manner, and the one admonished never bore 
resentment. He was more like a father than a 
superior, and no bishop was ewer more beloved by 
his priests. No guest was more welcome than he to 
their homes. His intercourse was always affable, 
and his conversation easy and entertaining. No 
man ever heard him say an unkind or uncharitable 
word of another, and he was always ready to take up 
the defense of tlie timid, the weak or the unfor- 
tunate. He in turn held in high esteem the priests 
of his diocese. To him they were the best priests 
in the world ; they were to him a source of pride 
and joy, and he loved every one of them, to the 
least and last, with the tenderness of a fond father. 
In his dealings with people in general Bishop 
Bradley was "All things to all men," that he might 
win all to God. He remembered names and faces, 
and never forgot family concerns. Though always 
dignified and reserved, he always made one feel at 



ease in his presence and inspired confidence without 
fear, and the greatest sinner, as well as the timidest 
child, felt no hesitation in approaching him in the 
sacred tribunal of penance. 

In the passing away of Bishop Bradley the dio- 
cese of Manchester mourns the loss of a good shep- 
herd; the people of the city a devoted pastor; 
the state an eminent citizen; the poor a friend; the 
suffering a comforter; the bereaved a consoler; the 
doubtful a counselor; and all a benefactor. 



This name was transported from England 
RIX to America before the middle of the seven- 
teenth century, and has since been identi- 
fied with the progress of New England and other 
sections of the country. It was very early planted 
in New Hampshire and is still numerously repre- 
sented in this state. 

(I) Robert Rix was a resident of Canninghall, 
England, and probably died there. 

(II) Thomas, son of Robert Rix, was born 1622, 
at Canninghall, and was in Salem, Massachusetts, 
as early as 1649. He was a barber surgeon, and 
spent his last days with his son James in Old Pres- 
ton, Connecticut, where he died October 30, 1718. 
He was buried in the "Rixtown Cemetery" in Old 
Preston. He was married (first) to Margaret, 
widow of Miles Ward, who died May 24, 1660. He 
was married (second) September 3, 1661, to 
Bridget (Musket), a native of Pelham, England, 
then the widow of Williarn Fiske. She was the 
mother of his youngest child. His children in- 
cluded : Remember, Sarah, Esther, Thomas, James 
and Theophelus. 

(III) James, second son and fifth child of 
Thomas and Margaret Rix, was baptized in the 
First Church of Salem, October 18, 1657. He lived 
in Salem and Wenham, Massachusetts, and in 1703 
removed to Old Preston, Connecticut. He was a 
shipwright and farmer, and had a farm in the last 
named town, on which he died. He was buried 
September 29, 1729, in the "Rixtown Cemetery." 
His wife's Christian name was Margaret, but no 
record of her beyond that appears. Their children 
were : Abigail, James, Sarah, Margaret, Thomas, 
Lydia, Mary and Elizabeth. 

(IV) James (2), eldest son and second child of 
James (i) and Margaret Rix, was baptized in the 
First Church of Salem in April, 1685. He was not 
of age when the family removed to Old Preston, 
Connecticut, where he resided and where his children 
were born. Before 1752 he removed to Mendon, 
Massachusetts, and the date of his death does not 
appear of record. He was married, September 7, 
1711, to Anna Herrick, who was born February 5, 
1696, daughter of Ephraim and Mary (Cross) Her- 
rick, The date of her death does not appear, but 
it occurred before his removal from Preston to 
Mendon. He was married in the latter town in 1752 
to Mehitable Palmer, of Rowley, Massachusetts,' 
daughter of Samuel and Mary (Felt) Palmer. His 
children, born of the first marriage, were ; Abigail, 
Nathaniel and Anna. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



102- 



(V) Nathaniel, only son of James (2) and Anna 
(Herrick) Rix, was born June 6, 1714, in Preston, 
Connecticut, and was one of the first settlers of 
Boscawen, New Hampshire, where he located in 
1733- He afterward lived in Concord for a time, 
the first two children being born there, and then re- 
turned to Boscawen. He was a soldier of the Co- 
lonial Wars; first, in 1745, in John dough's com- 
pany, and second, in 1755, in Captain Joseph East- 
man's company. His death was caused by falling 
down a flight of stairs in a hotel in Concord. He 
was married in that town April 17, 1743, to Mary 
Peters, daughter of Seaborn Peters. Their children 
were : James, Peter, Sarah, Nathaniel and Christo- 
pher, besides a daughter who died unnamed. 

(VI) Nathaniel (2), third son and fifth child of 
Nathaniel (i) and Wary (Peters) Rix, was born July 
i7i 1/53. in Boscawen, New Hampshire, and settled 
in Landaff, in this state, from which town he 
served three enlistments during the war of the 
Revolution. He removed to Stansted, Canada, in 
1799, but subsequently returned to New Hampshire 
and died in Littleton, October 12, 1828. He mar- 
ried Esther Clark, who was born April 13, 175S, 
in Newmarket, New Hampshire, daughter of John 
and Esther (Knights) Clark. She survived him 
nearly four years and died in the same house, July 
18, 1832. Their children were: Nathaniel, Esther, 
John, Ebenezer, Polly, George, Ruth, Clark, Hale, 
Margaret and William. 

(VH) Nathaniel (3), eldest child of Nathaniel 

(2) and Esther (Clark) Rix, was born November 
26, 1777, in LandafT, New Hampshire, and resided 
in Stansted, Canada, until the war of 1812 broke 
out, when he returned to his native state and settled 
in Littleton. He was an active citizen of that 
town and employed many years in town afifairs. 
He died in Dalton, New Hampshire, October, 1856. 
He was married March 3, 1802, to Rebecca Eastman, 
who was born September 23, 1780, in Bath, daughter 
of Obadiah and Elizabeth (Searls) Eastman. (See 
Eastman VH). She survived her husband more 
than ten years, and died in Dalton, April 27, 1867. 
Their children were : Guy C, Lucretia, Narcissa, 
Percis, Wilder P., Benjamin F., Charles and Re- 
becca J. 

(Vni) Guy Carlton, eldest child of Nathaniel 

(3) and Rebecca (Eastman) Rix, was born Decem- 
ber 14, 1802, in Stansted, Canada, and was brought 
up in Littleton, New Hampshire. Like most young 
men of his time he was reared on a farm, and in 
the old acceptance of that term was not liberally 
educated. His schooling was confined to the com- 
mon schools, but this training was supplemented 
by careful study and voluminous research. To a 
strong practical training he added by his own exer- 
tions an unusual literature culture. He possessed 
a great taste for the study of classics. In early life 
he learned the trade of edge-tool making and proved 
to be a skillful workman. He became an itinerant 
mechanic, and lived in Barnston, Compton, and a 
second time in Barnston, Canada ; in Kirhy, Water- 
ford, Danville and East St. Johnsbury, Vermont ; 



Runiney and Littleton, New Hampshire ; Middle- 
fort, Hartland and Jeddo, New York; and Man- 
chester and Dowagiac, Michigan. Before living in 
Dowagiac he spent a second period at Jeddo, New 
York. He died in Dowagiac, January 14, 1879. 
He was married January 4, 1826, to Martha Gates, 
who was born August 10, 1807, in East St. Johnsbury, 
Vermont, daughter of Thomas and Patty (Plumley) 
Gates. She survived him thirteen years, and died 
.A.pril 28, 1892, in Dowagiac, Michigan. Their chil- 
dren were : Caroline, Guy Scoby, Joel Eastman, 
Joseph, Thomas, John, Nathaniel, Martha, Benja- 
min Franklin, Charles and Wilder Pierce. 

(IX) Guy Scoby, eldest son and second child 
of Guy Carlton and Martha (Gates) Rix, was born 
November 12, 1828, in Littleton, New Hampshire. 
He received a limited education in the common 
schools, and attended one term in the high school at 
Rumney, New Hampshire, and one winter in the 
common school in Middleport, New York, which 
was his last schooling. At the age of sixteen he 
accompanied his parents to Western New York, 
and in the fall of that year (1844) they removed 
from Hartland to Middleport, about ten miles 
away. A year latter they removed to the little 
town of Jeddo, about five miles from Middle- 
port, on the "Ridge Road." There he re- 
mained, working for his father in the shop until 
185 1, when his parents removed to Michigan and 
he returned east to visit his grandparents, who 
were living at Haverhill, New Hampshire. Here 
he met the lady whom he afterwards made his wife, 
and in consequence concluded to live in his native 
state. He entered the employ of Jonathan S. 
Nichols, of Haverhill, working in the blacksmith 
department, and remained until the spring of 1853, 
when he went to Littleton, his native town. Here 
he entered the employ of Daniel C. Quimby, a 
carriage manufacturer, but in July of the same year 
he left and went to Manchester, Michigan, where 
his parents were then residing. There he entered 
into partnership with Mr. Munroe Ingraham in the 
foundry and machine business. In May, 1854, he 
returned east for his bride and was married on the 
date of their meeting after a separation of almost 
three years. Immediately after their marriage he 
returned to Michigan, but was taken down in the 
fall with fever and ague, which malady also at- 
tacked his wife. Being dissatisfied with conditions 
there he disposed of his interest in business and 
returned to Littleton, and again entered the employ 
of Mr. Quimby. In the spring of 1855 he removed 
to Concord, New Hampshire, and took employ- 
ment in the shops of Lewis Downing & Sons, car- 
riage makers, where he remained until the war of 
1861, when he removed to western New York and 
located in a village between Niagara and Orleans 
counties. In company with his brother Joel he here 
began the business of carriage making and custom 
blacksmithing, and this continued until July I, 1862, 
when he enlisted as a soldier in defence of the 
Union and became a member of Company A, One 
Hundred and Twenty-ninth New Y'ork Volunteer In- 



IOJ4 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



fantry, under Captain Erastus Spalding and Colonel 
Peter A. Porter, of Niagara Falls. He was 
mustered into the service August 22, 1862, at Lock- 
port, and on the next day the regiment was on the 
way to Baltimore, Maryland, where it did guard 
duty in and around the city for some time. On 
December i8th of that year the regiment was re- 
organized as the Eighth New York Heavy Artillery. 
In Grant's campaign, 1864. it was ordered to the 
front. ]\Ir. Rix was appointed armorer at Federal 
Hill, Baltimore. October 26, 1862 and became bri- 
gade armorer at Fort McHenry, Baltimore, Way 
17, 1863, and artificer in May of the following year. 
He participated in the battles of North Anna River, 
Cold Harbor (June 30, 1S64) and the engagements 
in front of Petersburg (June 16-17-18-22). In the 
last engagement he was wounded and taken to the 
rear. He was taken to Washington. D. C, and 
placed in Mount Pleasant hospital, where his right 
leg was amputated July 7, 1864. His wife went to 
Washington and cared for him until early in No- 
vember of that year, when they both went to Jeddo, 
to the old home of his father, which he had pur- 
chased while in the service. In February, 1865, he 
returned to the hospital again in Washington, and 
was discharged March 25 of that year. He returned 
to Jeddo and commenced the carriage business 
anew, which he continued for eight years. In 1873 
he made a visit to the east, and finding a favorable 
opening for himself he returned to New York and 
sold out his plant, and in November, 1873, moved 
his family to Concord, New Hampshire. Here he 
entered the employ of the Concord Carriage Com- 
pany as foreman of the blacksmithing department. 
In 1879 he was offered flattering inducements to 
go to St. Louis as superintendent Of a large carriage 
manufactory, and accepted, and a year later he 
moved his family to St. Louis, but the climate 
proved injurious to his wife's health, and he re- 
turned his family to Concord, but continued to hold 
his position in St. Louis for a period of four years. 
At the end of that time his employers abandoned 
carriage manufacturing and .engaged in the pro- 
duction of street cars, and he resigned his position 
and returned to Concord and re-entered the service 
of the Concord Carriage Company. Since 1898 
he has been retired from labor at his trade. Mr. 
Rix has always possessed a strong taste for litera- 
ture, and despite his lack of education has turned 
out some very creditable works. He is the author 
of an exhaustive history of the Eastman family and 
of the Rix famib', and has done a great deal- of 
genealogical work in connection with various fam- 
ilies. He has been a contributor of material to 
numerous town histories in his native state, and 
still at his great age manipulates the typewriter and 
produces genealogical matter of value to many peo- 
ple. He has been a strong temperance man all his 
life, and is probably the oldest "Son of Temperance" 
in this state, if not in the United States, having 
been initiated in June, 1847, in Jeddo Division No. 
27. by the great temperance advocate, Philip S. 
White, of Philadelphia. He was also made an Odd 



Fellow in Moose Hillock Lodge, No. 25, in Haver- 
hill, New Hampshire, in January, 1852. He is a 
member of E. E. Sturtevant Post No. 2. Grand 
Army of the Republic, at Concord. He is a justice 
of the peace and quorum. Both he and his wife are 
members of the First Methodist Episcopal Church 
of Concord. He was married in Warren, New 
Hampshire, May 28, 1854, by Rev. James Adams, 
to Abigail Augusta Place, who was born February 
I, 1835, in Haverhill, New Hampshire, daughter of 
James and Mary Lovejoy (Gould) Place. Follow- 
ing is a brief account of their children: Mary Louise, 
born in Strafford, New Hampshire, is the wife of 
Samuel Alfred Clay, residing in Concord, and has 
two children : Martha Abbie, a native of Concord, 
resides in that town, the widow of Herbert L. Tre- 
vette, and she has three children ; Guy Carlton, born 
in Concord, resides in Boston, Massachusetts, and 
had two daughters; Minnie, a native of Jeddo, New 
York, is a wife of Howard S. Smart, and resides 
in Concord, having two children, Frank, a native 
of Jeddo, is unmarried and lives with his parents. 
The same is true of James Carlton, who was born in 
Concord. 



The family herein traced was not 
WHIT,A.KER among the Puritan Pilgrims, but 

has long been identified with 
Massachusetts and New Hampshire in a worthy 
manner. It seems impossible to discover positively 
the time of arrival in America. 

(I) The first of record appears in Shirley, 
Massachusetts, where John Whitaker had a son 
born in 1744. John Whitaker is supposed to have 
come from England, but no record is found of his 
birth, death or marriage. 

(II) John (2) Whitaker. son of John (i), was 
born. 1744. in Shirley, Massachusetts, and died Oc- 
tober I, 1829. He was married in Groton, Massa- 
chusetts, December 23, 1766, to Thankful Pierce, 
who was born in the same year as himself, and 
survived him nearly two years, dying September 6, 
1831. They were the parents of ten children, 
namely : David, John, Susan, William (died 
young), Susanna. William, Lucy, Asa, Levi and 
Anna. 

(III) David, eldest son of John (2) and 
Thankful (Pierce) Whitaker, was born January 26. 
1767, probably in Groton. and died September 24, 
1852. in Pittsford, Vermont. His first wife was 
Lydia Fish, who died November 24, 1791, leaving 
one child, Polly, who became the wife of John Rice, 
and the mother of eight children. Mr. Whitaker 
married (second) Anna Beach, who was born 
.Vugust 3. 1771. at Windsor Locks, Connecticut, and 
died April 21, 1867, in Bethel, Vermont. They were 
the parents of twelve children, all of whom were 
born in Windsor. Vermont, namely: David (died 
young), Ira, Nancy, Marshall. John. David. George, 
Reuben, Chancey, Lydia Fish, Caroline and Paschal. 

(IV) Lydia Fish, second daughter and tenth 
child of David and Anna (Beach) Whitaker. was 
born December 23, 181 1, in Windsor, Vermont, and 



I 





NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



102: 



died June 21, 1886, in Montpclicr, same state. She 
was married January 11. 1S2S, to Mulfred Dayton 
Eullard. (See Bullard, VII). 



This is a family long identified with 
BISHOP the history of New Hampshire, and 
early implanted in Massachusetts. It 
was conspicuous in struggles w'ith the Indians, in 
the days of settlement in the Merrimack \'alley, 
and bore its part in subduing those enemies of 
civilization. It was also identified with the pioneer 
times of other 'sections of the state and aided in 
settling the Connecticut Valley, as well as the Mer- 
rimack. 

(I) Edmund Bishop, emigrant ancestor of one 
of the several Bishop families early in New Eng- 
land, settled before 1640 in that part of Salem 
Village which is now in Beverly, Massachusetts. 
He was a husbandman and also a sawyer. His first 
wife Hannah, the mother of his children, died be- 
fore 16S0. He married (second) Budget Oliver, 
widow of Thomas Oliver. She was executed as a 
witch June 10, 1692, and he married (third), March 
9. 169.3. Elizabeth Cash. He was not living in 1715, 
and his children were : Hannah, Edward and 
Mary. 

(ID Edward (2). only son of Edward (i) and 
Hannah Bishop, was born in 1648 and baptized April 
23, of that year. Previous to 1703 he was a resi- 
dent of Salem Village, and removed thence to 
Rehoboth. Massachusetts, where he w-as an inn 
holder, and there died May 12. 171 1. He married 
Sarah Wildes, of Topsfield. Massachusetts, and 
their sons were : Edward, Samuel, Jonathan and 
Ebenezer. 

(III) Edward (3), eldest son of Edward (2) 
and Sarah (Wildes) Bishop, was born about 1680 
in Salem Village, and lived in Salem, Ipswich and 
in Newbury. The Christian name of his wife was 
Susanna, and they had sons, Josiah, James, Daniel 
and Benjamin. 

(IV) Josiah. eldest son of Edward (3) and 
Susanna Bishop, lived in Ipswich until 1727, when 
he removed to Newbury, Massachusetts. About 
1740 he removed to Boscawen, New Hampshire, 
and was there engaged in clearing land, but it is 
probable that his family remained in Newbury. 
Only one member became a resident of New Hamp- 
shire. In the summer of 1746, while at work in his 
fields at Boscawen. he was surprised and captured 
by the Indians, and because of his resistance he was 
slain. He was married February 7. 1704, to Sarah 
Adams, who was a daughter of Thomas Adams. 
Four_of their children were born in Ipswich, and 
four in "Newbury. They were: Bethia. Susanna, 
Sarah. Enos, Jeremiah (died young), Lydia, Benja- 
min and Jemima. , 

(V) Enos, eldest son of Joseph and Sarah 
(Adams) Bishop, was born January 31, 1705, in 
Ipswich. Massachusetts. Soon after attaining his 
majority, before 1739, he removed from Newbury. 
Massachusetts, to Boscawen. New Hampshire, and 
in 1754, when the Indians made their memorable at- 

iii — 14 



tack on the cabin and the family of Philip Call, 
Enos Bishop was one of the thirteen men who set 
out in pursuit of the enemy. The company fell into 
an ambush, and he was captured and taken to Can- 
ada. He subsequently escaped and returned to 
Boscawen, where he lived until 1769, when he re- 
moved to Lisbon. New Hampshire. In 1775 he 
served in Captain Jane Osgood's company of 
rangers upon the northern frontiers, and in the 
following year he completed an enlistment in Col- 
onel Bedel's regiment. In the autumn of 1776 he 
enlisted in the Continental service and served in the 
first New Hampshire record of ■ Colonel Cilley's 
regiment. In the descriptive roll of New Hamp- 
shire soldiers in 1778 he is called fifty-two years of 
age, and described as five feet seven inches in 
stature, with light complexion. He was reported 
sick Januan,- 10, 177S. and died in the service 
August 8 of that year. He was married in New- 
bury, Massachusetts, November 21, 1749, to Eliza- 
beth Belamy. She 'died while he was in captivity, 
and he sub'^equently married Anna (surname un- 
known). Two children were born of the first wife, 
namely : Josiah. who was a prominent citizen of 
Lisbon (his name is erroneously printed Jonah in 
the "History of Boscawen") ; and Susanna. The 
children of the second wife were : John, who lived 
in Lyme, New Hampshire ; Elizabeth. Sarah, Han- 
nah, Benjamin (who was a Methodist minister and 
lived in Lancaster), and Enos, who lived in Lisbon, 

(VI) John, second son and third child of Enos 
Bishop, and eldest child of his second wife. .\nna, 
was born December 10, 1757, in Boscawen, and was 
twelve years of age when his parents removed to 
Lisbon. He was a soldier in Colonel Bedel's regi- 
ment in 1776. and in the autumn of that year went 
into the Continental service and was assigned ta 
Colonel Cille.v's regiment, in which his father served. 
He was discharged in 1780, and in old age drew a 
pension for his military services. He resided in 
Lyme, New Hampshire, and was living as late as- 
1840. The records of this town have been burned, 
and full account of his family cannot be secured. 

(VII) John (2), son of John (i) Bishop, was 
born 1784, probably in Lyme, and resided in Han- 
over, New Hampshire, where both he and his wife 
died in 1826. Both were admitted to the church at 
Hanover Center in 1816. He was chosen -a town 
officer at the annual meeting in March. 1812. He 
was married in Hanover, October 29, 1809, to Abi- 
gail Parker, who was born March 7. 1789. in Han- 
over, daughter of Dan and Beulah (Smith) Parker. 
They had children : Harriet ; Mary Ann : John Gil- 
man, born August 28, 1817; James Monroe, whose 
sketch follows ; and Isaiah Moody, born September 
21. 1824. Dan Parker was a Revolutionary pen- 
sioner and was living as late as 1840 in Canaan. 
New Hampshire. 

(VIII) James Monroe Bishop, second son and 
fourth child of John and Abigail (Parker) Bishop, 
was born in Hanover. New Hampshire. May 14, 
1821. and died at Stamford. Connecticut. June 16, 
iSoi. .^t the age of seven years the death of both 



I026 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



of his parents left him an orphan, after which he 
was adopted by his maternal grandparents, who re- 
moved to Canaan, New Hampshire, about 1840. 
While living in Hanover he had attended school 
and there laid the foundation which he had not the 
means to complete in an academic course, but by 
working out among the farmers of the locality of 
his home, and by teaching school during the winter 
seasons, he earned money sufficient to improve him- 
self in the academies at Lebanon and Canaan. In 
the spring of 1846 he took up the study of medicine 
with Dr. Jones, of Canaan, afterward continued it 
with Dr. Wheat, and still later spent two years 
under the preceptorship of Dr. Mead, of East 
Andover. During this time in connection with his 
studies he taught school as a means of supporting 
himself. 

In the winter of 1848-49 Dr. Bishop taught 
school in Maine, and in the following spring went 
to Plymouth as assistant to Dr. Goodrich, with the 
intention to succeed him in practice upon his re- 
moval from that town, which then was his purpose ; 
but as Dr. Goodrich afterward decided to remain in 
Plymouth he went to Bristol, New Hampshire, and 
began practice there in November, 1849, and from 
that time until his death he was one of the most 
prominent and popular figures in medical circles in 
Grafton county. 

His professional career was begun in accordance 
with the teachings of the old school of medicine, 
and at a time when the doctrines propounded by 
Hahnemann were attracting great attention in the 
medical world but were not tolerated in any of the 
established schools of medical instruction; nor were 
those who proposed to practice according to the law 
of similars permitted to matriculate at any of the 
so-called regular schools. Although he was well 
grounded in medicine and held a license to practice, 
Dr. Bishop felt the need of a medical course leading 
to the degree, and with a determination to accom- 
plish that end he entered the Eclectic Medical Col- 
lege at Worcester, Massachusetts, completed the 
course of that institution and .graduated M. D. in 
1855. After graduation Dr. Bishop practiced gen- 
eral medicine in Bristol and its vicinity under the 
eclectic system for about fifteen years, and then be- 
came a full convert to the doctrine of siinilia sim- 
ilibus curantui: As an eclectic he "was a member of 
the New Hampshire Eclectic Medical Society, 
serving as censor, vice-president and president of 
that body. During the last tvventy' years 'Of -hi* 
professional life he adhered strictly to the homoeo- 
pathic practice and was one of the ablest exponents 
of that school of medicine in the state. He held 
membership in the Homoeopathic Medical Society 
of the State of New Hampshire and served as its 
vice-president, president and sccrctarj-, holding the 
latter office at the time of his death. 

Dr. Bishop was seventy years old at the time of 
his death, which o'ccurred at Stamford, Connecticut, 
while on the way to attend the session of the Inter- 
national Hahnemannian Association at Atlantic 
City, New Jersey, in June, 1S91. During the forty- 



three years of his residence in Bristol he was 
closely associated with the best interests and his- 
tory of that town. His practice always was large and 
occupied much of his time, yet he took an earnest in- 
terest in the welfare of the town and its institutions. 
He was town treasurer from i860 to 1870; one of 
the incorporators of the Bristol Savings Bank in 
1868 ; member of the superintending school com- 
mittee in 1866, 1872, 1875 and again in 1884; mem- 
ber of the board of education of Union School Dis- 
trict No. 2 in 1878 and l88r ; trustee of the Minot- 
Sleeper Public Library from 1884 to the time of his 
death, and at one time a member of the Bristol 
Board of Health. He was a member and one of the 
officiary of the Methodist Episcopal Church of 
Bristol, a Free and Accepted Mason, and in politics 
was a Republican. 

Dr. James Monroe Bishop married, November 
II, 1852, Margaret Ayer Locke. She was born in 
Concord, New Hampshire, August 13. 1832, daugh- 
ter of Samuel B. and Betsey (Philbrick) Locke. 
Their children : Mary Abbie Bishop, their eldest 
child, was born in Bristol, graduated in Classical 
course from Tilton Seminary, taught school in 
Bristol one year, and studied music at the New 
England Conservatory of Music, Boston, Massa- 
chusetts. She now lives in Lynn, Massachusetts. 
Daniel Locke Bishop, their second child, was born 
in Bristol, May 15, 1856, and died August 26, 1856. 
Lizzie Belle Bishop, their third child, was born in 
Bristol, graduated from Chelsea (Massachusetts) 
high school in 1877, and from the classical depart- 
ment of Tilton Seminary in 1878. She afterward 
taught four years in the graded school of Bristol 
and on^ year in Dickinson Seminary at Williams- 
port, Pennsylvania. She married. August 23, 1893, 
Edwin H. Johnson, of Lynn, ]\Iassachusetts, who 
died March 22, 1894. Channing Bishop, their young- 
est son and child, is a practicing physician of 
Bristol. 

(IX) Channing Bishop was born in Bristol, 
July 26, 1864. His earlier literary education was 
acquired in the Bristol public schools and Tilton 
Seminary, and his higher education at Brown Uni- 
versity, Providence, Rhode Island. He was edu- 
cated for the profession of medicine, first under the 
instruction of his father, and afterward at the Bos- 
ton L^niversity School of Medicine, where he made 
the course and graduated M. D. in June, 1889. 
Since he came to the degree in medicine. Dr. Bishop 
...has engaged in active general practice in Bristol, 
and iii' connection with professional pursuits has 
taken a commendable interest in that town and its 
institutions. He was appointed a member of the 
board of education of Union" School District No. 2 
in 1891, and served as superintelident from 1893 to 
1896. On the death of his father," in 1S91, he was 
appointed to succeed him as secretary of the board 
of trustees of the Minot-Sleeper Public Library, 
and since 1891 he has been a member of that lioard. 
He is a member, and in 1S99 was master of Union 
Lodge, .•\ncient Free and Accepted MasouN; mem- 
ber and secretary of Cardigan Lodge, Independent 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1027 



Order of Odd Fellows ; charter member of Merrill 
Lodge, Ancient Order of United Workmen, and ex- 
member of the Bristol Board of Health 

Dr. Bishop married, May 15, 1893, Lena B. 
Cragin. She was born December 24. 1866, a daugh- 
ter of Richard W. and Nancy Jane (Emery) 
Cragin. Richard W. Cragin was born November 
21, 1825, in We.ston, Vermont, and was married July 
15, i860, to Nancy Jane Emery. She was born June 
29, 1834, at East Andover, New Hampshire, a 
daughter of William A. Emery. The children of 
Richard W. and Nancy J. Cragin were : George E., 
born April 10. 1861 ; and Lena B., December 24, 
1866. 



Investigation tends to establish the 
WILL.\RD origin of the name Willard in the 
old German duchy of Alsace or in 
Lorraine, its neighbor. In the time of William the 
Conqueror, the family was fully established in Eng- 
land, and from the time of the compilation of 
Doomsday Book until now, Willards have been resi- 
dents in the counties of Sussex and Kent. The im- 
mediate ancestors of Simon Willard, the immigrant 
progenitor of the Willards of this article, resided 
in the southwesterly part of Kent in the hundred of 
Brenchley and Horsmonden. 

(I) Richard Willard was a man of substance 
in the village of Horsmonden, and was residing 
there at the time of his death, February, 1616 (Old 
Style). He was married three times, his last wife 
surviving him only a few days, and being buried on 
the 25th of the same month. Seven children sur- 
vived him : they were : Margery. Simon, George, 
Mary, Richard, Elizabeth and Catharine. 

(II) Major Simon Willard. son of Richard 
Willard, was born at Horsmonden, probably in the 
early part of the year 1605, and was baptized in the 
church at that place April 7, 1605. His mother died 
before he reached the age of four years, and when 
he was twelve years old his father and stepmother 
died. He seems to have been well educated, and was 
probably engaged in active business during the 
years of his majority at Horsmonden. He em- 
barked from England in April, 1634, in company 
with his sister Margery, and her husband. Captain 
Dolor Davis, and arrived at Boston about tlie mid- 
dle of the month of May, after a short and very 
prosperous voyage. Six ships arrived at Boston 
about this time, and there is no record to show in 
which of these Simon Willard crossed the Atlantic. 
Soon after his arrival he established himself at 
Cambridge. He is entitled "Merchant" by Governor 
Winthrop in 1635. He dealt also extensively with 
the Indians of the interior, and engaged in the pur- 
chase and exportation of furs. August 4, 1634, a 
tract of land was granted him, consisting of one 
hundred acres, upon which he had a dwelling house. 
This w-as bounded on the east by Charles river. In 
the village of Cambridge he had a house lot. which 
he sold, probably about 1639. By trading with the 
Indians he had become acquainted with the situa- 
tion of Musquctaquid, a place of pleasant aspect and 



easy cultivation and to this he directed his attention. 
A grant was made by the general court, September 
2, 1635. of "a plantation at Musquetaquid * * * 
six myles of land square to belonge to it." Winthrop 
says that this grant was made "to Mr. Buckly 
(Bulkeley) and (Simon Willard), mer- 
chant, and about 12 more families," and was named 
Concord. Here he was one of the leading men of 
the town, being town clerk till 1654, and representa- 
tive fourteen years. He was chosen assistant twen- 
ty-two years from 1654 to his death, and was very 
nutch employed in the public business of the coun- 
try. As a surveyor he was celebrated. About 1652 
he was sent as a commissioner to establish the 
northern boundary of Massachusetts at the head of 
the Merrimack river, and it is said that the letters 
S. W. which some years since were found upon the 
Bound Rock near Lake Winnepesaukee are probably 
the initials of his name. 

For prominent service in the settlement of Lan- 
caster he was presented with a large tract of land, 
and it is supposed that he moved to that town in 
1659. Subsequent to his removal he acquired a strip 
of territory in Groton, now situated in the town of 
.Ayer. This land has been known as the Nonas- 
coicus grant, it being adjacent to a brook of this 
name. L^pon this tract he erected a house, probably 
in 1671. This house was attacked and burned by 
the Indians, March 13. 1676. The family were ab- 
sent at the time, warning having been given of the 
approach of the Indians. The more prominent mil- 
itary service of Simon Willard as related to the 
public began when, in 1653. he was appointed ser- 
geant-major of the forces of Middlesex county. In 
October, 1654, he was made commander-in-'chief of 
a levy of a little more than three hundred footmen 
and horsemen who were sent out by the tmited 
colonies in an expedition against Ninigret, the 
Sachem of the Niantics, returning to Boston with 
his troops by October 24. The result of the ex- 
pedition was the obtaining of a satisfactory agree- 
ment w'ith Ninigret and also with the Pequod In- 
dians. 

In the early part of King Philip's war he organ- 
ized the Colonial troops, and one of his first acts in 
the field was the relief of the Brookficld garrison. 
Soon after he was in command of a considerable 
force sent to range the country about Brookfield. 
In this service he was employed from September 20, 
1675. to April iS, 1676. An old record states "the 
Major was employed about the country business, 
Settling of Garrisons in towns and settling of In- 
dians at Concord and Chelmsford, and other busi- 
ness." For several months Major Willard was oc- 
cupied in the various towns assisting in their de- 
fense, and soon after the return of the Narragan- 
sett expedition at the arrival of Canonchet in the 
Nipmuck country, the council ordered him to raise 
a large force of mounted men to do duty in the vi- 
cinity of Groton, Lancaster and Marlboro. He re- 
turned from the war and went to Charlestown, 
where he died April 24. 1676. He was not an ultra 
religionist, and was a very useful man in the colony. 



I028 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



He married (first), in England, ]\Ian,- Sharpe, born 
at Horsmonden in 1614, daughter of Henry and 
Jane (Feylde) Sharpe. ilarried (second) Elizabeth 
Dunster, sister of Rev. Henry Dunster, of Harvard 
College. She died about a year after marriage. 
Married (third) Mary Dunster, a cousin of Eliza- 
beth. She survived the major and married Deacon 
Noyes, of Sudbury. To Major Willard were born 
seventeen children, of whom nine sons and five 
daughters arrived at mature age. The children of 
the first wife were: Mary, Elizabeth (died young), 
Elizabeth, Dorothy, Josiah, Samuel and Sarah. By 
the third : Abovehope, Simon, Mary, Henry, John, 
Daniel, Joseph. Benjamin, Hannah and Jonathan. 

(HI) Henr}-, fourth child and second son of 
Major Simon and Mary (Dunster) Willard, was 
born at Concord, June 4, 1655, and died in Lan- 
caster, August 27, 1701. He died, leaving a good 
estate, and a large heritage of children. He resided 
first in Groton, but spent the greater part of his life 
in Lancaster. He married, July 18, 1674. when at 

the age of nineteen, Mary Lakin, daughter of 

Lakin, of Groton. She died probably not later than 
1688, and he married (second), about 1&S9, Dorcas 
Cutler. She survived him, and married (second) 
Benjamin Bellows, for many years a resident of 
Lancaster. There were seven children born to 
Henry Willard by his first wife, and seven by the 
second. They were : Henry, Simon, John, Heze- 
kiah, Joseph, Mary, Sarah, Samuel, James, Josiah, 
Jonathan, .Abigail, Susanna and Tabitha. 

(IV) Henry (2), eldest child of Henry (l) 
and Mary (Lakin) Willard, was born at Groton. 
April II, 1675. He resided in Lancaster, and by a 
change of town lines in Harvard after 1732. He 
married (first), July 21, 1798, Abigail Temple. 
Married (second), previous to 1810. Sarah Nutting. 
He had tw-elve children, as follow'S : .Abraham, 
Henry, Simon, James, William. Daniel. Benjamin, 
Mary, Abigail, Sarah, Lydia and Ruth. 

(V) Henry (3), son of Henry (2) and Abigail 
(Temple) Willard, was born at Lancaster about 
1700, and died in Harvard, January 6, 1774. After 
1732 he lived in Harvard, where ten or eleven chil- 
dren were bom. He married. May 24. 1726, Abigail 
Fairbanks, of Lancaster. Among his children were 
sons Oliver, Timothy, Jacob and John, who were 
residents of Ashburnham. 

(VI) Deacon John, son of Henry (3) and Abi- 
gail (Fairbanks) Willard, was born in Harvard, 
July 26, 1739, and died July 3, 1793. He moved to 
Ashburnham in 1768, and settled on a farm. He 
was a leading man in town affairs until failing 
health prevented a continued service. In 1772 he 
was chosen a deacon, and in 1788 expressed a desire 
to be relieved of the duties of the office. The 
esteem of his brethren is reflected in their respon- 
sive vote : "That the church thank him for his past 
services, and they wish him better health, and that 
he would officiate as often as his health will admit." 
He died after a lingering illness of consumption. 
He married, in 1765, Sarah Willard, born Novem- 
ber 14, 1746, died November 18, 1834. Their mar- 



riage intentions were recorded in Harvard, January 
6. 1765. Their children were: John, Silas, Simon. 
Sarah, Henry, Susannah, Abigail, Elijah, Ezra and 
Jonas. 

(VII) Captain John (2), eldest child of Deacon 
John (i) and Sarah (Willard) Willard, was born 
October 26, 1766, and died March 23, 1S50. aged 
eighty-three years. He was a farmer, a captain of 
militia, and a selectman several years. He married, 
April s. 1792, Deborah Wilder, born in Lancaster, 
in 1774, daughter of Caleb and Elizabeth (Wood- 
ward) Wilder, of Ashburnham. She died October 
24, 1859. aged nearly eighty-six years. Their chil- 
dren were: John, Caleb, Deborah (died young), 
Emery, Nelson, Elizabeth, Merrick, Deborah, Susan,. 
Abigail, and an infant which died May 16, 1816. 

(VIII) Emery, fourth child and third son of 
Captain John (2) and Deborah (Wilder) Willard. 
was born in Ashburnham, November 24, x8oo. He 
lived in Brighton. He married Irene Benjamin, 
daughter of Daniel and Tamezin (Felton) Benja- 
min, of Ashburnham. She was the youngest of ten 
children, born February 20, 1805. They were the 
parents of eleven children. 

(IX) Louisa Maria, daughter of Emery and 
Irene (Benjamin) Willard, was born in Ashburn- 
ham, and married Edward M. Simmons (see Sim- 
mons III). 



The name of Lovewell, or Lovell. 
LOVEWELL is connected with some of the 
■ most hazardous and daring acts 
recorded in the history of New England ; and the 
name and ser\'ices of Captain Lovewell will not be 
forgotten as long as the history of Indian warfare- 
is read. 

(I) John Lovewell is said to have been an en- 
sign in Cromwell's army about 1653, and to have 
died about 1754. at the remarkable age of one hun- 
dred and twenty years, but there is perhaps no cer- 
tain proof of his military service or of his remark- 
able longevity. However, he witnessed a will in 
Boston in 1660; and if he was then twenty years old, 
which is probable, he was one hundred and sixteen 
when he died. He probably settled first at Wey- 
mouth. Massachusetts, and later -at Dunstable, in 
that part of the township (near Salmon brook) 
which afterward fell within the town of Nashua, 
New Hampshire, where he was one of the first 
permanent residents. He was with the famous 
Captain Church during King Philip's war, and in 
the great Narragansett swamp fight, December 19. 
1675, He was one of five persons whose indomit- 
able courage prevented the abandonment of the town 
of Dunstable by its white inhabitants on account of 
Indian troubles, not many years after its settlement. 
His name frequently appears in the town records, 
and he held the office of selectman and other offices. 
He was a man of remarkable courage and physical 
vigor. "In 1745, when he must have been about 
one hundred and ten years of age," says a writer, 
"he was very constant in attendance at church, and 
after 1752, 'used to chase the boys out of his orchard' 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1029 



■with his caiic' " He had four children : John, men- 
tioned below ; Zaccheus, a colonel in the French 
war; Jonathan, a preacher, and afterward a judge; 
and a daughter Hannah, who married Lieutenant 
Josiah . who was killed at Pequawket. 

(H) Captain John (2), eldest son of John (l) 
Lovewell, of Dunstable, was born October 14, 1691, 
and died at Pigwauket, May 8. 172S, aged thirty- 
four. He grew up in a very new country, inhabited 
by Indians and wild beasts, and was a typical man 
of his age and locality. Like his father, he possessed 
great courage and was fond of engaging in adven- 
turous and daring enterprises. He was particularly 
successful in hunting wild animals, and in time of 
war was engaged in exploring the wilderness to find 
the lurking places of the Indians. There is a tradi- 
tional account of his attacking and killing seven In- 
dians on Lovewell's mountain in the town of Wash- 
ington, in the southeast corner of Sullivan 'COunt\% 
but there is no proof to ~ substantiate the legend. 
The whole township was once the property of the 
Lovewell family, and the mountain takes its name 
from them — or him. 

The story of Captain Lovewell's expeditions 
against the Indians is intensely interesting, but as 
it is part of the history of New England and is to 
found in various published works, it will be given 
only in brief form here. The depredations of the In- 
dians had caused the deaths of many settlers in Mas- 
sachusetts shortly before 1^24, when, thoroughly 
aroused, Captain Lovewell and others petitioned the 
general assembly for leave to go against the enemy. 
The various earlier expeditions which had gone out 
from Dunstable and the surrounding towns had 
met with such poor success that Lovewell could 
raise only thirty men instead of "near 40 or 50" as 
he desired, but with these he started on an excur- 
sion to the northward of Winnepiseogee lake. On 
December 10, 1724, the party killed an Indian and 
captured a boy, and returned home. January 27, 
1725. Lovew-ell with a company now of eighty-seven, 
hut later reduced to fifty-seven by sending away 
thirty, went up the Merrimack and before daylight 
of the 2ist stole forward and killed an entire party 
of ten well armed Indians, who were on their way 
to ravage the New Hampshire frontier. As a re- 
ward for this signal success the company received 
in Boston a bounty of one thousand pounds from 
the public treasury. On April 16, 1725, Captain 
Lovewell, with forty-six men. started against the bold 
chief Pangus at Pigwauket, now Fryeburg, Maine. 
After building a fort and leaving a garrison at Os- 
sipee, with thirty-three men besides himself pro- 
ceeded to Pigwauket where they ambushed and 
killed a lone Indian, but not before he had shot and 
killed Captain Lovewell. The command soon after 
engaged with thrice their number of Indians. The 
"battle was a desperate one and lasted for ten hours. 
At sunset the enemy drew off the field, and at mid- 
night the English started on their retreat to the set- 
tlements. The battle was stubbornly fought ' to a 
draw. What the issue would have been if Captain 
Lovewell had lived can not be decided now. Forty 
Indians including the chief, Pangus, were killed on 



the spot, eighteen more died of wounds later, and 
about twenty escaped unharmed. Of the Colonists 
twelve were killed on the battlefield, eleven were 
badly wounded and nine others less seriously 
wounded. The percentage of mortality on both sides 
was very high. Captain Lovewell's body and the 
bodies of his dead comrades were left on the field. 
This battle was a disaster severely felt in all the 
communities sending forth men on this daring ex- 
pedition, but these brave men did not perish in vain. 
The forces of the Indians were broken up and the 
remnant driven to seek other settlements, thus 
largely destroying their power to do harm. The 
fame of Captain Lovewell and his men has come 
down to us in song and story ; his memory is per- 
petuated in the local nomenclature of the Country. 
The pond which was the scene of the exploit in 
Wakefield, at the head of a branch of Salmon Falls 
river, has ever since been known as Lovewell's pond. 
The body of water on the banks of which the fight 
at Pigwauket took place is also called Lovewell's 
pond, and the battle is often referred to as "Love- 
well's fight." The several expeditions against the 
Indians are often referred to as Lovewell's war. 
Only one other person in New England has had a 
war named for him, and that one is King Philip. 
June 8, 1726, the widow of Captain Lovewell, in a 
petition to the general court represents that by rea- 
son of his expense in raising volunteers to go 
against the Indians, &c., his estate is so much in- 
volved that it cannot pay the debts without selling 
the real estate. The inventory of his property, 
taken November 22. 1725, amounted to four hundred 
and forty-four pounds, five shillings and six pence. 
His lands and meadows were estimated at two hun- 
dred acres, and these and the buildings thereon, and 
the half part of a saw mill, were appraised at four 
hundred and twenty pounds. Another inventory of 
personal property at Chelmsford, made June 29, 
1725, contained a list of property valued at fifty 
pounds and nineteen shillings. The general court 
responded to the widow's petition with a resolution 
to pay fifty pounds of Captain Lovewell's debts, and 
later made other appropriations for the relief of 
his widow. Suncook was granted in 1728 to those 
men who took part in the Pigwauket expedition as 
a reward for their services. 

Captain Lovewell married Hannah , and 

they had three children: John, Hannah, and Ne- 
hemiah (a posthumous child). His widow married 
(second) a man named Smith. She died January 

5, I7S4- 

(III) Hannah, only daughter of Captam John 
and Hannah Lovewell, was born in Barnstable. July 
24. 1721. and married Lieutenant Josiah Farwell, 
and settled in Pembroke, New Hampshire. (See 
Baker IV). 



An immigrant from England to 
HAYNES America, as early as 1638, was the 

ancestor of a numerous progeny of 
this name, now scattered throughout the United 
States. The character of the family seems to have 
been excellent from the beginning of the record. 



1030 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(I) Walter Haynes was born in England in 
1583, in the town of Sutton, Mandeville, county of 
Wilts. He also owned a house and outbuildings in 
the village of Shaston, situated on the island of 
Purbeck, in the southeastern portion of Dorset- 
shire. He, with family and servants, arrived in 
Boston in 163S, in the ship "Confidence." In the 
same ship came Peter Noyes, yeoman, of Penton, 
county of Southampton, with children and servants, 
Walter Haynes was a linen weaver, and was fifty- 
five years of age when he came to this country. 
About a year after his arrival, he with others re- 
moved from Watertown, having obtained a grant 
for a township named Sudbury, where they settled, 
December 22, 1639. He was made freeman 1640. 
was representative in the years 1641, 1644, 1648, and 
1651, and was one of the selectmen of Sudbury for 
ten years. He died February 14, 1665, aged eighty- 
two. Nothing is known of his wife Elizabeth. 
They had children (date or order of birth un- 
known) : Thomas, John, Josiah, Suffrance, Mary, 
and another, name unknown. 

(H) Josiah (i), son of Walter and Elizabeth 
Haynes, was born in England. He married, No- 
vember 13, 1646, Elizabeth, daughter of Peter 
Noyes, widow of John Freeman. They had chil- 
dren : Josiah, Caleb. Joshua, Deborah and Abigail, 
(i) Peter Noyes came from England in 163S, in the 
same ship with Walter Haynes, bringing with him 
three sons and three daughters. At this time he 
was forty-seven years of age. His children were : 
Thomas, Peter. Josephus, Dorothy. Elizabeth and 
Abigail. (2) Elizabeth, daughter of Peter Noyes, 
married first. John Freeman, had one son, Joseph, 
and a daughter, who married Thomas Gats (?), of 
Stow; and after the death of Freeman, married 
(second) Josiah Haynes, as above stated. 

(IH) Josiah (2), eldest son and child of 
Josiah (i) and Elizabeth (Noyes) Haynes, was 
born in Sudbury, April 27, 1655, He married Abi- 
gail Stark, and they were the parents of several 
children. 

(IV) Josiah (3), son of- Josiah (2) and Abi- 
gail (Stark) Haynes, born 1701, died about 1793-5. 

(V) Josiah (4), son of Josiah (3) Haynes, 
born December 31, 1732. died December 29. 1814. 
He married Susannah (probably Willis), born Sep- 
tember 26, T733, died January 15, 1818. 

(VI) John, son of Josiah (4) and Susannah 
(Willis) (?) Haynes, born September 10, 1762, 
died November 21. 1829. He married, October 27. 
1785, Sally Forbush, born January 12, 1765, died 
March 31, 1826. 

(VII) Reuben, son of John and Sally (For- 
bush) Haynes, born April 2. 1789, and died' May I, 
1854, married, September 26, 1813, Roxana Puffer, 
born October 37, T795. died April 18, 1826. He re- 
sided in North Sudbury, was a master builder, 
owned a farm and kept a tavern. 

(VIII) Sarah and Roxana, daughters of 
Reuben and Roxana (Puffer) Haynes. became suc- 
cessively wives of Daniel Holden. (See Holden 
VI). 



Michael Sullivan, a native of 
SULLIVAN county Kerry, Ireland, emigrated 
to this country and settled in Leb- 
anon, New Hampshire, from whence he removed 
to Bradford, and in 1859 took up his residence in 
Manchester. He was a trader throughout the active 
years of his life. He married Julia Kane, a native 
of county Kerry, Ireland, and nine children were 
born to them, three of whom are now living: 
Michael J., Roger G., see forward, and Mary B., 
wife of Benjamin J., Spaulding; all reside in Man- 
chester. Mr. Sullivan and his family are members 
of the Catholic Church. 

Roger G. Sullivan, son of Michael and Julia 
(Kane) Sullivan, was born in Bradford, New 
Hampshire, December 18, 1854. He obtained his 
education in the public schools of Bradford and 
Park grammar schools of Manchester. He began 
work in the Manchester Print Works at an early 
age, and continued thus employed until fourteen 
years of age. He then went to South Amesbury, 
Massachusetts, and served three years' apprentice- 
ship at the trade of carriage painting, which line of 
work he followed for two years thereafter. In 1874 
he returned to Manchester and engaged in the 
manufacture and sale of cigars, employing but one 
man, but by industry, thrift and rare good manage- 
ment he steadily built up the business, and at the 
present time (1907) ranks as the largest manufac- 
turer of a ten cent cigar in the New England states. 
In 18S9 he built his first factory ; in 1895 '^'s business 
had increased to such an extent that he was obliged 
to make a large addition to his factory; in 1906 he 
opened a branch factory at the corner of Auburn 
and Canal streets, Manchester, and now (1907) he 
gives employment to four hundred hands, his pay 
roll amounting to two hundred and fifty thousand 
dollars a year. He manufactures twelve million 
cigars annually, ninety-eight per cent of which are 
of the brand known as "7-20-4," which are hand- 
made and composed of pure Havana filler and im- 
ported Sumatra wrapper. This make of cigars 
is widely known and very popular, as is evidenced 
by the immense sale thereof. Mr. Sullivan pays to 
the United States a tax of one hundred and fifty 
thousand dollars annually. 

Mr. Sullivan is a director in the New Hampshire 
Fire Insurance Company, Amoskeag National Bank, 
Manchester Traction and Power Company, and a 
trustee of the Public Library. He is a member of 
the Derryfield Club and of the Knights of Colum- 
bus. He attends the Catholic Church, and gives 
his allegiance to the Democratic party, but has no 
time to devote to politics except in a quiet way. 
Mr. Sullivan has achieved success by understand- 
ing his business thoroughly and strictly attending to 
same. He has been alert and quick to discern his 
customers' likes and dislikes, and by paying due 
regard to them and by industry, perseverance and 
square dealing has built up an extensive and lucra- 
tive business, one of the principal industries in the- 
city. 




^^^^&^^^^^ r<^*<::£^.::^^>^^?^^. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



lou 



Mr. Sullivan married, 1871, Susan C. Fernald, 
daugliter of True O. and Susan G. Fernald, of Man- 
chester. They have tliree daughters: Mima E., 
Susati A. and Frances E. 



This old New England name has 
THAYER been borne by some of the ablest men 

of New Hampshire, and appears to 
have had some prominence in old England before 
brought to the Western World in its early settle- 
ment. A coat-of-arms was conferred at an early 
date upon Augustine Thayer, of Thaydon, a village 
in the County of Essex, England, about eighteen 
miles north of London. In early days the name had 
various spellings, as is common among the colon- 
ists of New England, and is found in the old world 
as Thear, Their, Theyer, and in its present form, 
as conforming to that used in the coat-of-arms. Its 
representatives have been potent factors in the 
development of the new world in various walks of 
life, and have been found ready to support the up- 
lifting influences of the world generally. 

The first of the name to come to Atnerica were 
Richard and Thomas Thayer and their families. 
The first record of these two families is that 
Richard Thayer was made a freeman in 1640, and 
Thomas Thayer was a freeman and received titles 
of lands in 1635. From the best information obtain- 
able Richard and Thomas Thayer and their families 
must have come with the Massachusetts Colony in 
1630 or thereabouts, as they were with other fami- 
lies that came from Braintree, County of Essex, 
England, and who named their town in the New 
World the same as the one they left in their native 
land. (Thomas and descendants are noticed in 
this article). 

(I) Richard Thayer, the ancestor of this par- 
ticular branch of the family, was born probably in 
the county of Essex, England, and came to Boston, 
IMassachusetts, w-ith his wife and three sons. He lo- 
cated with his family in the town of Braintree, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he became a freeman in 1640, as 
above mentioned, and was one of the worthy citizens 
of his town, residing there until his death, August 27, 
1695. He must have been a man of more than the 
ordinary mental endowments as the history of his 
descendants in each generation has shown men of 
remarkable attainments and executive ability. (His 
son, Nathaniel and descendants receive mention in 
this article). 

(II) Richard (2), eldest son and child of Rich- 
ard (l) Thayer, was born in England, probably in 
the county of Essex, and came to America with 
his parents, landing at Boston, and settled at Brain- 
tree. He married, October 24, 165 1, Dorothy Pray, 
and seven children were born to them : Dorothy, 
June 30, 1653; Richard, July 31, 1655; Nathaniel, 
January i, 1658; Abigail, February 10, 1661 ; Joanna, 
December 13, 1665; Sarah, December, 1667; and 
Cornelius, August 18, 1670. The deaths of Richard 
and Dorothy (Pray) Thayer occurred December 4, 
1705, and December 11, 1705. respectively. 

(HI) Nathaniel, third child and second son of 



Richard (2) and Dorothy (Pray) Thayer, was born 
January I, 1658, in Braintree, Massachusetts. He 
resided in his native town throughout his entire 
lifetime, and was a man of worth and influence in 
the community. He married, May 27, 1679, Hannah 
Heydon, and eight children were the issue: Nathan- 
iel, Richard, Hannah W., Zachariah, Ruth, Dorothy 
L., Lydia H. and David. Nathaniel Thayer (father) 
died March 28, 1729, and his estate was settled by 
his widow, Hannah Thayer, as appears on the pro- 
bate records of Braintree. 

(IV) Nathaniel (2), eldest child and son of 
Nathaniel (i) and Hannah (Heydon) Thayer, was 
born in Braintree, Massachusetts, in 1680, and died 
January 3, 1752. He married (first), November 25, 
1704, Sarah Wales, who bore him two children — 
Sarah and Hannah — and died in 1707. He married 
(second), January 13, 1709, Relief Hyde, and by 
this union there were eight children : Nathaniel, 
Elizabeth, Josiah, Caleb, Abraham, Hannah, Relief 
and Lydia. Mr. Thayer, like his ancestors, resided 
in the town of Braintree and was an honored and 
highly esteemed citizen thereof. 

(V) Nathaniel (3), eldest child and son of Na- 
thaniel (2) and Relief (Hyde) Thayer, was born in 
the town of Braintree, Massachusetts, October 7, 
1709. He was an active and prominent citizen of 
his native town, exerted a powerful influence in 
behalf of educational interests, and gave his chil- 
dren all the advantages obtainable in that early 
day. He married, April 3, 1735, Mary Faxon, 
daughter of Richard Faxon, and they were the 
parents of ten children. 

(VI) Rev. Elihu Thayer, D. D., seventh child 
and fourth son of Nathaniel and Mary (Faxon) 
Thayer, was born in the town of Braintree, jNIassa- 
chusetts, JNIarch iS, 1748. He graduated from 
Princeton College, New Jersey, and settled in the 
ministry at Kingston, New Hampshire, where he 
was ordained December 18, 1776. His salary was 
si.xty pounds of lawful money, use of parsonage, 
and twenty cords of wood a year. He had clear 
and logical ideas of what a church in a community 
should be, and these ideas he carefully put into 
practice with the result that his church was instru- 
mental in bringing" many into the fold, and in aiding 
his parishioners to lead better and more useful lives. 
He was a man of deep piety and spirituality, an 
excellent scholar, an eminent and renowned 
preacher of the Gospel for more than three and a 
half decades, and a staunch adherent and supporter 
of the tenets of the Congregational Churci:. His 
earnestness, his clear reasoning, his logical argu- 
ments and his gift of oratory attracted large audi- 
ences, and his work was particularly successful not 
only in his own parish, but in the community about 
Kingston and throughout the state. From the or- 
ganization of the New Hampshire Missionary So- 
ciety, Dr. Thayer was annually elected president 
of that institution until 181 1, when he publicly 
stated that his health obliged him to decline a re- 
election, which statement caused universal sorrow. 
He married, December 28, 1780, Hannah Califlf, who 



i03i 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



was born Alarch 14, 1757, daughter of Colonel John 
Califf, one of the leading men in the eastern part 
of the state. Their children are as follows : Mary, 
born February 24, 1782; Nathaniel, August 6, 17S3; 
Judith, February 26, 1785; Hannah, July 29, 17S7; 
Samuel, July 31, 1789; Sarah, May 16, 1792; John, 
April 4, 179s; Martha, June 11, 1798; Calvin, July 
2, 1800; died October 24, 1802; Elihu, August 25, 
1802 ; and Calvin, June 20, 1805. Dr. Thayer died 
April 3, 1812, aged sixty-five years. His wife sur- 
vived him for many years, passing away March 4, 
iSS9. 

(VH) Calvin, youngest child of Rev. Elihu and 
Hannah (Califf) Thayer, was born in the town of 
Kingston, Rockingham county. New Hampshire, 
June 20, 1805. He was educated in the schools of 
his native town, and became a teacher there. Sub- 
sequently he kept a hotel at Meriden, New Hamp- 
shire, whither he removed about 1855. In 1865 he 
went to Concord, this state, where he engaged in 
the insurance business, with satisfactory results. He 
was active as a business man, and took a promi- 
nent part in public matters in early life. While 
residing in Kingston, he was often employed in the 
settlement of estates, and represented the town in 
the State Legislature. He also served as treasurer 
of Rockingham county. He was a steadfast sup- 
porter of Republican principles, and in Concord 
was a member of the South Congregational Church. 
He died February 28, 1881. He married, November 
25, 1841, Sarah Wheeler Fiske, who bore him three 
children: Elihu F., born February 15, 1845, died 
August 5, 1863; William F., :\Iarch 13, 1846; and 
Clara E., October I, 1848. 

(VHI) Wtlliam F., second child and son of 
Calvin and Sarah Wheeler (Fiske) Thayer, was 
born in the town of Kingston, Rockingham county. 
New Hampshire, March 13, 1846. His education 
was received at the public schools, and the Kimball 
Union Academy at jNIeriden, New Hampshire. In 
1865 he went to Concord, and, accepted a position 
as clerk in the post office, Robert N. Corning being 
at that time postmaster. He soon became chief 
clerk and remained in that position for four years. 
Upon his return from the West, where he spent a 
few months, he entered the counting-room of the 
Elwell Furniture Company and remained there 
about eight months. In 1871 he entered the First 
National Bank of Concord, New Hampshire, as. a 
clerk, and by faithful attention to his duties won the 
appointment of assistant cashier in 1873, and the 
following year was promoted to that of cashier, in 
which capacity he served until January, 1885, when 
he was chosen president. This responsible position 
he has held up to the present time (1906). Mr. 
Thayer's career as a bank official is remarkable 
and highly creditable to his ability as a financier 
and man of affairs. His industry, sound judgment 
and pleasing address won for him the favpr of the 
employes and patrons of the bank, and under his 
management as executive officer the institution ha> 
attained a leading position among the national banks 
of the state. His loyalty and patriotism have ever 
I 



been marked, and those who know him best esteem 
him for his many sterling qualities. For a number 
of years he has held a directorship in the Contoo- 
cook Valley Paper Company, and the Northern New 
Hampshire railroad. In 1879 he was appointed 
treasurer of the city of Concord, which position he 
has since held with the exception of two years, 1899 
and 1900, and he has also been treasurer of the Mar- 
garet Pillsbury General Hospital since its organization 
and is a trustee of the New Hampshire State Hos- 
pital. He is a member of the South Congregational 
Church of Concord, a member of Blazing Star 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and Mount 
Horeb Commandery, Knights Templar. He is a 
Republican in politics, and although no office seeker, 
exercises a potent influence in behalf of the party 
whose principles he advocates. He has been treas- 
urer of the Republican State Committee since 1892. 
Mr. Thayer married, October 20, 1874, Sarah 
Clarke Wentworth, who was born in the town of 
Sandwich, New Hampshire, April 19, 1850, daughter 
of Colonel Joseph and Sarah (Jones) Wentworth. 
(See Wentworth, XXVII). Their children are: 
Margaret, born August 9, 1882, and William Went- 
worth, April 15, 1884. The former graduated at 
Bryn Mawr College in 1905, and the latter at Har- 
vard the same year. In that year he was appomted 
to a Rhodes scholarship at Oxford, England, where 
he is now in attendance. 

(I) Thomas Thayer came from Essex county, 
England, in 1630, and settled in Braintree, Massa- 
chusetts. Richard Thayer, who accompanied him, 
also settled there, and although it has been claimed 
that they were brothers, the fact has never been 
fully proven. Intermarriages between the two fami- 
lies were of frequent occurrance during the earlier 
generations, and still continue as will be seen later 
on. Thomas and his wife. Margery were the par- 
ents of three sons: Thomas, Jr., Ferdinando and 
Shadrach, all of whom were born in England. 

(II) Ferdinando, second son of Thomas and 
Margery Thayer, resided in Braintree until his 
father's death, when he went to ISIendon, Massachu- 
setts, as one of the original proprietors of that town. 
He married Huldah Hayward, of Braintree, Jan- 
uary 14, 1652, and their children were ; Sarah, 
Huldah, Jonathan, David (died young), Naomi, 
Thomas, Samuel, Isaac, Jonah, Ebenezer, Benjamin 
and David. 

(III) Ebenezer (l), seventh son and tenth child 
of Ferdinando and Huldah (Hayward) Thayer, 
resided in Mendon. In 1695 he married Martha 
White, who was born August 28, 1675. She became 

, the mother of Deborah, Ebenezer, Abigail, Hannah, 
Uriah, Daniel, Esther and Jerusha. 

(IV) Uriah, second son and fifth child of Ebe- 
nezer and Martha (White) Thayer, resided in Bell- 
ingham, Massachusetts, where he married Rachel 
Taft. February 18, 1727-8. His children were: 
L'riah, Ebenezer, Rachel, Martha, Simeon and 
Grindall. 

(V) Grindall, fourth son and youngest child 
of Uriah and Rachel (Taft) Thayer, was an early 





f ■ 



7? 






Aj ^^a^<:?c^^'-cXtJ ^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1033 



settler in Richmond, New Hampshire, and in ad- 
dition to carrying on a farm he engaged in the 
manufacture of brick. September 3, 1767, he mar- 
ried Sarah Parkhurst, who lived to the advanced 
age of ninety-five years, and was the mother of 
eight children, namely: Turner, Timothy, Thomp- 
son, Tryphena, Prentice, Sarah. Uriah and Wy- 
man C. 

(VI) Uriah, sixth son and seventh child of 
Grindall and Sarah (Parkhurst) Thayer, was one of 
the prosperous farmers of Richmond in his day. He 
was married in 1807 to Florilla Rockwood of Win- 
chester, New Hampshire, who was the mother of 
Alanson B., Lucy R., William W., Lorenzo R., 
Maria, Sarah M.. Henry F., Lewis A., Thomas W. 
and Marcena. Uriah was born in 1781. 

(VH) Alanson B., eldest child of Uriah and 
Florilla (Rockwood) Thayer, was born in Rich- 
mond November 4. 1804. He was a well-known 
lumber merchant of that town. His death occurred 
in Winchester, September 21, 1853. On August 9, 
1832, he married Lois Thayer, daughter of Ellis 
and Lois (Swan) Thayer, and also a descendant 
of Thomas, the immigrant, through Ebenezer (IV) 
Thayer. » 

(IV) Ebenezer (2), second child and eldest son 
of Ebenezer (i) and Martha (White) Thayer, 
married Sarah Wheelock of Bellingham, Massachu- 
setts, in 1724, and settled in that town. His chil- 
dren were: Jeremiah, Sarah, Noah, Ebenezer (died 
young), Ebenezer, Jerusha (died young), Patience, 
Jerusha, Ezekiel and Nehemiah. 

(V) Jeremiah (i), eldest child of Ebenezer and 
Sarah (Wheelock) Thayer. He went to Richmond, 
New Hampshire, settling upon a farm in the north- 
westerly part of the town. April 21, 1747, he mar- 
ried Alice Holbrook and was the father of Caleb, 
Jeremiah, Ellis, Nehemiah, Lydia, Rhoda, Hamlet, 
Comfort and Nathan. 

(VI) Jeremiah (2), second son and child of 
Jeremiah (i) and Alice (Holbrook) Thayer, mar- 
ried for his first wife Ann Page. January 13, 1772. 
His second wife was Elizabeth Mann, a widow. 
She was the daughter of Caleb Cook. He resided 
in Richmond and was a farmer. His children were: 
Asa, Caleb and Ellis, all of whom were of his first 
union. 

(VII) Ellis, youngest son of Jeremiah and Ann 
(Page) Thayer, inherited the homestead in Rich- 
mond, and was one of the representative farmers 
of the town. On January 20, 181 1, he married Lois 
Swan, daughter of Dr. Ebenezer Swan. She died 
October II, 1828, and he married for his second wife 
Delia Ballard, whose death occurred February 8, 

1854, at the age of eighty-four years. He died . 

The children of his first union were: Nelson, Lois, 
-Andrew Jackson, Leander, Galinus and Phebe 
Lionel. Those of the second marriage were: Etta 
Esther and Alviras Leroy. 

Alanson B. and Lois (Thayer) Thayer, were 
the parents of two children : Harriet S., born June 
r6. 1836; and Sarah L., born January 11, 1838. 



(VTII) Sarah L., youngest daughter of Alanson 
B. and Lois (Thayer) Thayer, was married July i. 
1857, to Charles Jackson of Winchester (see Jack- 
son ) . 



The principal subject of the fol- 
LAPL,A,NTE lowing sketch is a member of one 

of the ancient families of Canada, 
many of whose members were tillers of the soil and 
leading citizens of their neighborhoods. The La- 
plante family is now one of the largest in Canada, 
and men of that name are prominent in nearly all 
professions and employments. 

(I) Louis M. Laplante, son of Joseph La- 
plante, was born in Nicolet, Province of Quebec, 
Canada, 1815, where he was a teacher, and subse- 
quently went to St. Gregory, where he vi-as in- 
spector of schools. He died in 1879, aged sixty- 
four years. He married Adelaide Duval, born in 
Nicolet. 1818, and died January 2, 1907, in Berlin, 
New Hampshire. Her parents were Joseph and 
Marie Duval. Teh children were born of this mar- 
riage. 

(II) Louis yi. (2) Laplante was born in St. 
Gregory, province of Quebec, May 6, 1848, son of 
Louis M. (i) and Adelaide (Duval) Laplante, and 
was educated in the seminary of Nicolet, graduating 
from the latter institution in 1872, and was conse- 
crated a ' priest for the Diocese of Three Rivers, 
province of Quebec. Immediately afterward he be- 

.gan his work of teaching mankind the better way 
of life, and for thirty-two years has been a faithful 
pastor in various places in Canada and New Hamp- 
shire. He was at Three Rivers, Canada, four and 
one-half years, and then went to Manchester, New 
Hampshire, in 1880, where he remained not quite a 
year. He then had the spiritual guidance of the 
people of the Roman Catholic faith four and one- 
half years at Lebanon, three years at Hooksett, nine 
years at Rochester, and in 1899 was stationed at 
Berlin, where he has since been curate of St. 
Anne's. His ministry has been a long, busy and 
successful one, and he has done all he could to 
make better men and women of those who have 
been under his care and guidance. 



This race is of Eng- 
BURLEY, or BURLEIGH lish origin, and the 

name of varied or- 
thography and doubtful derivation. If from burgh, 
a castle, and ley or leigh, a sheltered place or an 
untilled field, then it suggests that the first taker 
of the name assumed it from the place of his resi- 
dence, on the Burghley, or Burghleigh, the field 
belonging to the burgh. The orthography Burley 
was earliest employed in New Hampshire, in San- 
boruton, and is now most common among the family 
in that town, though Burleigh is claimed by some 
as the more ancient, and is far more in vogue in 
other places. The records show nearly thirty dif- 
ferent ways of spelling the name. 

(I) Giles Burley was an inhabitant of Ipswich, 
Massachusetts, in 1648, and a commoner in 1664. 



I034 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



He was a planter, and lived eight years on Brooke 
street, and owned division lot No. IDS, situated on 
Great Hill, Hogg Island. July i8, 1668 (O. S.) 
"Ghils Berdley" made his will which he signed with 
his mark. The inventory of his estate was £241 4s 
6d. He left a widow, Elizabeth, and children, An- 
drew, James and Giles. Perhaps there was a child, 
John, younger than any of those, who died before his 
father. February 23, 1669, Rebecca, widow of Giles 
Birdley, married Abraham Ffitt, of Ipswich. 

(II) James, second son and child of Giles and 
Elizabeth Burley, was born in Ipswich. February 10, 
1659, and died in Exeter, New Hampshire, about 
1721. He married (first), May 25, 1685 (?), Re- 
becca, daughter of Thomas and Susannah (Wor- 
cester) Stacy, a granddaughter of Rev. Witham 
Worcester, of Salisbury. She died October 21, 1686. 
In an agreement in 1723 between Joseph, Josiah. 
Giles and James Burley, they are mentioned as sons 
of James Burley, late of Exeter. In a list of the 
children of James, the names appear as William, 
Joseph, Thomas, James, Josiah and Giles. 

(III) Joseph, second child and son of James Bur- 
ley, was born April 6, 1695. He removed to New Mar- 
ket with an ancestor of the Hersey family, being 
attracted by the oak and ash timber. He died in 
New Market, and administration on his estate was 
granted in March, 1761. The name of his wife is 
not known. His children were : Joseph, Samuel, 
Nathaniel, David, Susannah, Jemima, and Alice. 

(IV) Nathaniel, was the third son and child of 
Joseph Burley. The date of his birth is unknown ; 
he died in Sanbornton, February 7, 1805. Runnel's 
History of Sanbornton says: "Having married 
Sarah Powell, he settled, first, in New Market ; 
was then for a few years in Canterbury, and came 
thence to this town in April of the third year after 
the first settlement, i. e., 1767, as reckoned by the 
age of the oldest son. They crossed the river at the 
bridge, then covered with birch poles, a little east 
of the present Hill's Block. ' The mother rode 
horseback with her two youngest children, one and a 
half bushels of meal, and barnyard poultry, slung 
over their horse's back, in a straw bed-tick, saddle- 
bag fashion, with "breathing holes for the birds," 
out of which their heads protruded ! While the 
father, with the two oldest boys, seven and six 
years of age, drove the two cows on foot. In this 
style they presented themselves .at a small log 
cabin, previously built in what is now Mrs. Daniel 
Davis' orchard, southeast corner of lot No. 35, first 
Division. The husband helped the wife to dismount, 
swung open the bark door and politely said, "Walk 
in Ma'am !" The good lady both laughed and cried. 
Mr. Burley was a carpenter and joiner, having 
learned his trade in Chester. It is said that he re- 
ceived the fifty acres on which he located from the 
proprietors as the first house carpenter in town, 
but there is no documentary evidence of this. He 
was obliged to go down-country the first two years 
to work for the means of subsistence, at one time 
bringing corn meal home on his back from Deer- 
field, a distance of forty miles. The cows meantime 



ran m the woods, and hay was gathered from the 
meadow below for their winter keeping. Nathaniel 
was a signer of the "Petition of 176S, and of the 
Association Test in 1776. He was a highway sur- 
veyor in town as late as 1795. He died February 

27, 1805. His wife died November 28, 1818." Their 
children were: William, Joseph, Nathaniel, Sarah, 
Robert, David. Polly, Daniel and Nancy. 

(V) William, eldest child of Nathaniel and 
Sarah (Powell) Burley, was born in New Market, 
March 28, 1760, and died in Sanbornton, December 

28, 1796, aged thirty-six. At the age of seventeen 
he was furnished by his father as a three months' 
man in 1776. He subsequently volunteered six 
months, then enlisted April 20, 1777, for three 
years, and was twice wounded in arm and rib, 
serving out his time partly with General Sullivan, 
in the Indian country, and' returning to his home in 
17S0. He never attended school, but after his re- 
turn ■from the war, he chopped wood two winters 
for board and tuition, and was privately instructed 
by his cousin, James Hersey, and became a . good 
mathematician and an excellent surveyor. About 
the time of his marriage he opened a farm on 
Calef Hill on Lot No. 18, First Division, north end, 
building the first house. •Being with his cousin, 
Jacob Hersey, when the latter was drowned, he 
made .great exertion to save him, and so injured 
himself, that he never did a day's work afterwards, 
and, after four months, died in consequence. His 
gravestone reads: "A soldier of the Revolution at 
the taking of Burgoyne." He married, June 13, 
17S4, Sarah Ames, of New Market, who was born 
April 23, 1752, and died September 14, 1841, in the 
ninetieth year of her age. Their children were : 
Peter, Sally, William, Charlotte and Susan. 

(VI) Sally, second child and eldest daughter 
of William and Sarah (Ames) Burley, was born 
January 27, 17S8, and married Caleb Ames, of New 
Hampshire, January 30, 1809 (See Ames III). 



For considerable more than two hun- 
BARNES dred and fifty years the name of 

Barnes has existed as a patronymic in 
America, taking root in New England early in the 
Colonial period and gradually distributing itself 
throughout the entire country. It is to be found in 
the Revolutionary rolls, also in those of the second 
war with Great Britain (1812-15) and in the more 
recent civil strife, which for a time threatened to 
divide the Union into two integral parts. In civil 
life several of this name have won distinction as 
clergymen and writers. All of its bearers are of 
English descent and the origin of the name in the 
mother country is enveloped within the impene- 
trable mists of antiquity. The line of descent, on 
this side of the ocean, of the late Captain William 
M. Barnes, of Nashua, is as follows : 

(I) Among the passengers in the "Speedwell," 
which arrived at Boston from England in May, 1636, 
was Thomas Barnes, an honest, industrious yeo- 
man, a non-conformist and, above all, a young man 
of sufficient courage and energy to render excellent 
service in transplanting European civilization into the 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



10 



O.'i 



western hemisphere. His whereabouts for a num- 
ber of }-ears subsequent to his landing has not as 
yet come to hght, but the records of Marlboro show 
conclusively that he was one of the early settlers in 
that town, as he purchased real estate there at least 
three years prior to its incorporation (1666), and 
he resided there for the remainder of his life, which 
terminated in 1679. He married Abigail Goodnow, 
daughter of Thomas Goodnow. of Sudbury, who 
became one of the original proprietors of Marlboro, 
and it is quite probable that Thomas Barnes went 
there from Sudbury, as did most of its pioneer set- 
tlers. He was the father of six children: Thomas, 
Dorothy, John, William, Abigail and Susanna. 

en) Deacon John, third child and second son 
of Thomas, senior, and .\bigail (Goodnow) Barnes, 
was born in Marlboro, December 25, 1666. He was 
a lifelong resident of Marlboro and participated ac- 
tively in the early religious progress of that locality, 
having served as a deacon of the church during the 
pastorate of the Rev. Mr. Beck. His death oc- 
curred .^pril 5. 1752. The maiden name of his wife 
was Hannah Howe, -and she died November 8. T742, 
aged sixty-six years. Their children were: .Abigail, 
born October 5. 1695, married Joseph Morse : Dor- 
othy, born March 24. l6gS, married James Woods ; 
Daniel, born .'\pril 2, 1701, married Zerumiah 
Eager; Jonathan, who will be again referred to; 
David, born June 24, 1708, died May 9, 1720; Han- 
nah, born February 17. T712, became the wife of 
Andrew Rice ; and John, born March 23, 1716, mar- 
ried Elizabeth Cranston. 

(HI) Jonathan, fourth child and second son of 
Deacon John and Hannah (Howe) Barnes, was 
born in Marlboro, November 26, 1703. He attained 
the ripe old age of nearly eighty years, and died in 
Marlboro. October 10. 1783. The Christian name 
of his wife, whom he married prior to 1735, was 
Rachel, and she survived her husband but a short 
time, her death having occurred January 20, 1784. 
She was the mother of nine children : Silas, born 
January 21. 1735. married Betty Bigelow : Elisha, 
born October 28, 1736, died June 7, 1740; Fortuna- 
tus, the date of whose birth will be recorded pres- 
ently : Rachel, born July 13, 1740. became the wife 
of John Warren, Jr.; Lucy, born July 7, 1742. mar- 
ried Joseph Hosmer : Dorothy, born December 18, 
1747, became the wife of Solomon . Bowker ; Jon- 
athan, born November 6. 1749, died August 5. 1785 ; 
David, born September 21. 1751, died January 28. 
1756 : and William, born March 21, 1753, married 
Sarah Merriam. 

(IV) Fortunatus, third child and son of Jon- 
athan and Rachel Barnes, was born in Marlboro. 
September 25, 1738. When a young man he went 
to reside in Berlin, Massachusetts, settling in the 
locality which has ever since been known as Barnes 
Hill, and was a prosperous farmer of that town 
during the remainder of his life, which terminated 
November 9, 1807. For his first wife he married 
Persis Hosmer, of Concord. Massachusetts, born 
April 19. 1730, and his second wife was Peletiah 
Jones. She survived him and died September 16, 



1821. His children, all of his first union, were: 
David, born August 27, 1765; Lydia, born July 20, 
1767, became the wife of Amherst Bailey ; Hannah, 
born June 20, 1770. married Ephraim Howe ; and 
Captain William, who is referred to at length in the 
succeeding paragraph. 

(V) Captain William, youngest son and child 
of Fortunatus and Rachel (Hosmer) Barnes, was 
born April 5, 1773, probably in Berlin. He was al- 
lotted a portion of the homestead farm, whereon he 
erected a substantial dwelling house, and he died 
there October 24, 1853. He was one of the most 
prominent residents of Berlin in his day and is re- 
ferred to in the town records as Captain William 
Barnes. On May 28, 1793, he married Hannah God- 
dard. daughter of James Goddard, Sr., and her 
death occurred January 6, 1863. at the advanced 
age of eighty-nine years. The six children of this 
union were: Artemas, see next paragraph; Betsey, 
born December 20, 1798, became the wife of Josiah 
Cotting and died at the homestead January 28, 1883 ; 
Hannah, born September iS. 1801, died unmarried 
January 8, 1864 ; Lucy, born January 20, 1S04, became 
the wife of Lowell Hubbard, of Northboro, Massa- 
chusetts; Sarah, born May 5, 1808; and Martha W., 
born ApvW 11, 1811, died August I, 1814. The Cap- 
tain William Barnes liomestead in Berlin remained 
in the possession of his unmarried daughter, Sarah, 
until her death, which occurred October 3. 1894, at 
the age of eighty-six years, and the property is now, 
or was recently, owned by William H. Brown. 

(VI) Artemas, eldest child and only son of 
Captain William and Hannah (Goodard) Barnes, 
was born in Berlin, June 7, 1796. He was an un- 
usually prosperous farmer, tilling the soil on quite 
an extensive scale, and morally, intellectually and 
religiously speaking he. represented the very highest 
type of the New England country gentleman. His 
interest in the welfare and prosperity of his native 
town was always apparent, although much of his 
active life was spent elsewhere, and in addition to 
donating the land for the town house, he presented 
the town with two beautiful monuments perpetuat- 
ing the memory oi the Rev. Dr. Puffer and Lieuten- 
ant Timothy Bailey, and an excellent portrait of 
himself, commemorative of his generosity, now 
occupies a conspicuous position in the Berlin town 
hall. .Artemas Barnes died in Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, February 2, 1877. His first wife, whom 
he married -April 15, 1822, was Nancy Merriam, of 
Leominster, Massachusetts, and she died July 16, 
1832. On September 3, 1839. he married for his 
second wife, Alice Stetson, of Boston, and her 
death occurred in Princeton, Massachusetts. No- 
vember 16, 1849. He reared a family of five chil- 
dren, all of his first union; Martha W., born Janu- 
ary 29, 1823, became the wife of George A. Cham- 
berlain, of Worcester : Captain William M., w'ho 
will be again referred to ; Betsey Maria, born 
August 25, 1826, became the wife of John C. Tabor, 
of Montpelier. Vermont, and died January i, 1883 ; 
Nancy Jane, born February 14, 1828, became the 
wife of William H. Brown, of Princeton, and died 



1036 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



May 26. 1854; and Sarah Ellen, born April 15, 1832, 
became the second wife of William H. Brown. 

(VII) Captain William Merriam, second child 
and eldest son of Artemas and Nancy (Merriam) 
Barnes, was born in Lancaster, Massachusetts. Jan- 
uary 23, 1825. At the Leicester (Massachusetts) 
Academy, where his early education was concluded, 
he stood at the head of his class, and displayed to a 
marked degree that untiring industry and capacity 
for learning which, throughout his entire life, were 
predominating features in his character. Prior to 
his majority he made himself useful to his father in 
the latter's extensive farming operations, but an un- 
quenchable desire for a seafaring life made agricul- 
ture uncongenial to him. and on attaining his 
twenty-first birthday he sailed from New Bedford 
before the mast on a whaleship, bound for the Arctic 
ocean on a three years' cruise. His natural ability, 
regular habits and firm determination to work his 
way aft to the quarter-deck, soon enabled him to 
gratify his ambition, and having acquired the neces- 
sary experience and other qualifications constituting 
the principal equipment of a master mariner, he 
found no difficulty in obtaining the command of a 
New Bedford ship engaged in the whaling industry. 
His many voyages to the far north were always at- 
tended with excellent financial returns, and his 
good seamanship and unceasing vigilance for the 
safety of his crew obtained for him the somewhat 
unusual record of never having lost a man by ac- 
cident. Applying his leisure time on shipboard to 
his books he not only became proficient in the 
various departments of science, but also acquired a 
good knowledge of history and other branches of 
learning. He was familiar with the islands of the 
central and northern Pacific, also with the northern 
shore of Alaska beyond Point Barrows and had 
sailed through Behring Straits more than thirty 
times. During his last voyage to the Arctic ocean 
lie was seized with a severe affection of the heart, 
which proved to be of an organic nature. He was, 
however, permitted to reach his home in Nashua, 
where he went to reside shortly after his marriage, 
and his exemplary life, which slowly ebbed away 
in the presence of his grief-stricken wife and daugh- 
ter, terminated March 8, 1887. It has been truth- 
fully said that "no thoughtless act or word of his 
ever caused a moment's pain to others. His court- 
esy and sympathy were as spontaneous as the pulsa- 
tions of his kindly heart, and his generosity was 
equally apparent." His affection for his wife and 
child was unfathomable in its depths and his last 
thought was for their welfare. On April 3, 1875, 
Captain Barnes married Emily Frances Cummings, 
of Nashua, daughter of Richard Montgomery and 
Almira (Nichols) Cummings. of Woodstock, Con- 
necticut. The only child of this union is Anna 
Frances, who is now the wife of Oliver P. Hussey, 
of Nashua, and was the mother of one child : Oliver 
Webster, deceased. Mrs. Barnes is a member of 
the Church of the New Jerusalem (Swedcnbor- 
gian), which was the religious faith of her late 
husband. 



(Second Family). 
The earliest traces of the Barnes 
BARNES race are found in the southeast part 
of England, and those who first bore 
the name are supposed to have come into England 
under the Norman kings, 1066-1154. Whether the 
name is a corruption of the Norse bjorn, signifying 
warrior, or of Baron, is a matter of conjecture. 
Records of the church in Surrey, England, show 
that Barnes families lived there five hundred years 
ago, and that the name is extant there now. Pre- 
vious to 1638 three men of the name, Thomas Barnes, 
migrated from England to America, who have since 
been known as Thomas Barnes of Hartford, 
Thomas Barnes of New Haven, and Thomas 
Barnes of Hingham. They were the ancestors of 
three large branches of Barnes families in America. 

(I) Thomas Barnes was an original proprietor 
of Hartford, Connecticut, where he located soon 
after the first settlement in 1635. He had six acres 
of land allotted to him in the land division of Hart- 
ford in 1639. In 1640 he resided quite in the north- 
west part of the village, where the intersection of 
Albany avenue and High street now is. He was 
one of the soldiers in the Pequot battle of 1637, 
when ninety white men exterminated the Pequot 
tribe of six hundred Indians, the most hostile and 
powerful of the New England savages. For his 
service he was granted fifty acres of land in 1671. 
He also had lands distributed to him east of the 
river in 1663. In 1641 he removed to the new set- 
tlement of Farmington, where he lived until 1689 or 
1691. In 1688 he disposed of his estate by deeds. 
He was appointed sergeant of train band, October 
6. 1651, joined the church in Farmington January 
30. 1653, and was admitted freeman in 1669. He 
married Mary, daughter of Thomas Andrews, of 
Farmington, and they^ had Benjamin, Joseph, 
Thomas, and Ebenezer. next mentioned. 

(II) Ebenezer, fourth son of Thomas and 
Mary (Andrews) Barnes, was a deacon in the 
church, and is said to have resided in Waterbury, 
Connecticut. He became blind before he died. His 
wife's first name was Deborah. 

(III) Ebenezer (2). son of Ebenezer (i) 
Barnes, was born in Farmington, Connecticut. The 
town records show that in 171S Ebenezer Barnes, 
of Farmington, was paid six shillings for killing 
wolves ; also Ebenezer Barnes was appointed ensign 
of a train band at the parish of Southington. in 
Farmington. in 1737, and appointed captain in 1742. 
The number of the name Barnes and the incom- 
pleteness of the records make the history of the in- 
dividual members of this family very difficult to 
trace; but as family tradition refers to this member 
as Captain Ebenezer, there is little doubt that he is 
the person who received the appointments noted. 

(IV) Daniel, son of Ebenezer (2) Barnes, is 
the next in the line of descent. Daniel Barnes was 
born April, 1701. and died May 24, 1773. Fie was a 
deacon in the church and captain for a train band. 
He married Zuriah, daughter of Abraham and Lydia 
Edgar. Asahel and Bill were two of their children. 




THE BILL BARNES HOMESTEAD. CLAREMONT. 




EUGENE SUMNER BARNES. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1037 



(V) Bill, son of Daniel Barnes, was born in 
Farmington, Connecticut, in 1753, and died Febru- 
ary 24, 1842, in the ninetieth year of his age. It 
has been said that Daniel Barnes had a son Williaro 
that died in infancy, and Bill, born later, was called 
Bill to escape the fatality supposed to follow 
naming a second child for one deceased, but still to 
hold in memory the child that was taken. Bill 
Barnes removed to Claremont, New Hampshire, in 
1722. when nineteen years old, and bought a tract 
of land on the north side of Sugar river, opposite 
the present village of Claremont, which had de- 
scended in the family and is now owned by de- 
scendants in the fourth generation from him. After 
having done some clearing and built a house he re- 
turned to Farmington, where he married, and took 
his wife home by ox-team. He combined the voca- 
tions of farmer and innkeeper, and soon after his 
marriage built the large two-story house now stand- 
ing on North street, about midway between Han- 
over and North streets, and opened it as a tavern. 
When the second New Hampshire turnpike was 
opened, about 1800, this tavern was left some dis- 
tance from the principal thoroughfare of travel, and 
he had it moved to its present location on North 
street. Near the present junction of Spring and 
North streets was a swinging sign on which was a 
lion, painted in colors unknown to natural history, 
pointing the way to "Bill Barnes's Tavern." In this 
house was a large hall in which the Masons held 
their regular meetings for a time, Mr. Barnes being 
an active member of the order, and it was used for 
balls and other festivities. By industry and thrift 
he accumulated a considerable fortune, and when a 
special tax was laid for the support of the govern- 
ment during the War of 1812 he was the third 
largest tax payer in town. At one time he owned 
what was known as the Lafayette mill privilege, 
■which he sold in 1S2S to Arvad Taylor. 

The family of Bill Barnes were inembers of the 
Episcopal Church, which was much persecuted by 
the patriots during the Revolution on account of 
their pastor's keeping up public service for the King 
and royal family. Mr. Barnes was a prominent 
member of this church, and one of its first wardens. 
In 1785 he was chosen to represent the church in 
Claremont at the adjourned convention to be held 
in Boston, "Oct. 26, inst." Although an Episco- 
palian, Mr. Barnes was not a Tory, and subscribed 
the Association Test in 1776. A statement of the 
bounties and hires given to soldiers in the Conti- 
nental army and militia during the Revolution by 
the inhabitants of the town of Claremont credits 
him with the payment of nine pounds. He was one 
of the board of selectmen in 1787 and 1790. He 
married (first), in Farmington, Eunice Andrews. 
After seventeen years of married life she died July 
22, 179.3, leaving no issue. He married (second). 
May 4, 1794. Esther, daughter of Captain Dyer and 
Elizabeth (Parkhurst) Spaulding. of Cornish. The 
six children of the marriage were: Eunice, William 
A,. Ira K.. Orilk, Lyman S. and Ovid D. William 
was killed by a falling tree, and Ira was fatally 
scalded while boiling sap. 



(VI) Lyman Spaulding, fifth child and third 
son of Bill and Esther (Spaulding) Barnes, was 
born on his father's farm June 18, 1809, and died 
November 18, 1888. He was educated in the public 
schools, and always lived on the old farm he in- 
herited from his father. He was brought up an 
Episcopalian. In his early years he was a Whig. 
After the formation of the Republican party he 
was a member of that organization. He neither 
sought nor held office. He was an upright citizen, 
a good neighbor, and an honest man. He married 
Nan'cy Ann Kidder, died in Claremont. The chil- 
dren of this union were : Eugene Sumner, Edna 
Marion, Isabelle Angcline and Imogen Eliza. 

("VII) Eugene Sumner, eldest son of Lyman 
S. and Nancy Ann (Kidder) Barnes, was born in 
Claremont, December 9, 1838. He was educated in 
the public schools and at Kimball Union Academy. 
For years he was in the employ of the Boston, 
Hartford & Erie Railroad at Hyde Park, Massachu- 
setts, and later of the Old Colony Railroad in Bos- 
ton. Since 1891 he has been in the insurance busi- 
ness in Claremont. He is a Republican, and a 
member of the Episcopal Church. He married 
(first). July 32, i86r, at Pomfret, Vermont. Linda 
J. Child, who died the following spring; and (sec- 
ond) in Fairmount, now Hyde Park, Massachusetts, 
December 17, 1863, Lucy Emeline Bean, daughter 
of Phinehas B. and Rebekah Houghton (Worster) 
Bean (see Bean VII), born at Crown Point, New- 
York, December 11. 1843. She was educated in the 
public schools and at Kimball Union Academy. 
They have one child, Fred Eugene Sumner Barnes, 
who was bom in Claremont, October 10, 1864. He 
acquired his education in the schools of Claremont 
and at the Eastman Business College oi Poughkeep- 
sie. New York. . He is associated with his father in 
the insurance business and manages the Claremont 
Ice Company. For five years he was in the loan 
and investment business at Rapid City, South Da- 
kota. He married, November 2, 18S8, Ellen Eliza- 
beth Macomber. 

(VII) Edna Marion Barnes was born August 
17, 1840. Belle Angeline Barnes was born July 22. 
1845: married Levi B. Judkins. November 13, 1866, 
and died December ir, 1876. Imogen Eliza Barnes, 
born June 15, 1852, still lives on the Barnes home- 
stead in Claremont, where four generations have 
been born. She h'as been prominent in connection 
with benevolent enterprises. 



.A.odh (or Hugh) Balbh, of ancient 
BARNES Irish fame, was the ancestor of 

O'Beirin, which name is anglicized 
O'Bcirne. Beirnes, Barne. Barnes, Barnewall, and 
Barnawell. The family herein mentioned is of re- 
cent arrival in America. 

(I) Barnabus Barnes was born probably in 
county Fermanagh, Ireland, and was subsequently 
in England, whence he reinoved to Canada and set- 
tled in West Farnham, province of Quebec, where 
he was a farmer. He died December 3, 1868, at 
the age of about ninety years. He married Ellen 
Mullen, who was born probably in Ireland nr Scot- 



I038 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



land. After the death of her husband she married 
(second), at the age of sixty-eight, Joseph Garner, 
of Farnham, where she died two years later. 

(11) John, son of Barnabus and Ellen (Mullen) 
Barnes, was born at West Farnham, province of 
Quebec. September 12, 1836, and died in Man- 
chester, New Hampshire, February 10, 1894, aged 
fifty-eight. At the age of twenty-one he left Can- 
ada and settled in Vermont, where he learned the 
blacksmith's trade. In July, 1857, he removed to 
Manchester, New Hampshire, where he lived the 
remainder of his life except about a year, which he 
spent at West Farnham. For eight years he worked 
at his trade in the employ of the Stark Mills, and 
then built for himself a shop at the corner of 
Walker and Main streets, West Manchester, where 
he carried on business until 1893. He was a skillful 
and industrious mechanic, and a prudent and thrifty 
citizen. From his earnings he saved money and 
bought lots adjoining the lot occupied by his shop, 
which are now of considerable value. He and his 
family were all members of the Catholic Church. 
In politics he was a very pronounced Democrat, tak- 
ing an active part in political affairs, but never 
holding office. He married, in Manchester, Novem- 
ber 2, 1857, Martine Archambeau, born in St. Vin- 
cent de Paul, province of Quebec, August 23, 1836, 
daughter of Joseph and Margaret (Mathieu) Ar- 
chambeau. The father was born in St. Vincent de 
Paul, and the mother in St. Henry in Maschouche, 
province of Quebec. Ten children were born of 
this union. Those now living are : Mattie G., 
Lizzie A., and Israel H. Mattie G. married George 
F. Bowen, now of Bedford, and has one child, 
George J. Lizzie A., for years a saleswoman in 
Manchester, now resides with her mother. Israel 
H. is a painter in the employ oi the Amoskeag 
Manufacturing Company. He married, August 20, 
1900, Armandine Poris. who was born in St. John, 
province of Quebec, daughter of Lubin Poris, now 
of Manchester. George B., born in West Farnham, 
province of Quebec, August 3, 1861, died in Man- 
chester at the age of thirty-tlijee years. Joseph B., 
Daniel N. and Rosie E. M. all died young. 



The immigrant members of this family 
HEALD were residents of Massachusetts and 

pioneer settlers of Concord in less than 
fifteen years after the settlement' of the Puritans at 
Plymouth. The Healds have always been found 
among the steady and progressive citizens of the 
country. 

(I) John Heald came from Berwick in North- 
umberland county. England, and settled as early as 
163s in Concord, Massachusetts, where he was with 
the Rev. Peter Bulkeley, Elder John Jones and 
other first settlers of the town. He was made a 
freeman June 2, 1641. In 1655 he had four lots of 
land containing eighty-six acres. He made his will, 
and died five weeks later. May 24, 1662. His wife's 
name was Dorothy, his children included : John, 
Amos, Timothy, Ebenezer. Samuel, Israel. Ephraim, 



and Dorothy. John and two or three others may 
have been born in England. 

(II) John (2), eldest child of John (i) and 
Dorothy Heald, born perhaps in England, is spoken 
of as John of Chelmsford. He was made a free- 
man in 1680. John Heald. of Concord, was a soldier 
under Major Simon Willard. August 7, 1675, to 
January, 1676. April 19, 1689, during the trouble 
with Governor Andross, Lieutenant John Heald 
mustered the military company of Concord and 
started for Boston to assist in the expected revolt. 
He married at Concord, June 10, 1661, Sarah Dane, 
and they had Elizabeth, John, Gershom, Sarah, and 
perhaps other children. 

(HI) John (3), eldest son of John (2) and 
Sarah (Dane) Heald. married, i6go, Mary Chandler, 
and died November 25, 1721. They had nine chil- 
dren, Mary, John, Timothy, Josiah, Elizabeth, 
Samuel. Amos, Ephraim and Dorcas. (Mention of 
Ephraim and descendants appears in this article). 

(IV) John (4), eldest son and second child of 
John (3) and Mary (Chandler) Heald, married a 
Hale and settled in Acton, Massachusetts, where he 
died in 1775. aged eighty-two. He had five sons, 
John, Joseph, Oliver, Israel and Asa. 

(V) Oliver, third son of John (4) and ■ 

(Hale) Heald, was born in Acton, Massachusetts, 
and died in Sliptown, New Hampshire, in January, 
1790, aged fifty-six. He removed to Sliptown in 
1759 and settled on Lot 4, Range VII. "So great 
was the distance then considered and the means of 
communication so limited, that his friends despaired 
of ever seeing him again." He married, in 1739, 
Lydia, daughter of Deacon Isaac Spaulding. of 
Townsend, Massachusetts. She died in March, 
1802, aged sixty-five. They had eleven children, 
Daniel, and three daughters all at one birth, who 
died in infancy — the first deaths in Temple ; Amos, 
David. Lucy. Lydia, .\sa, Abigail (died young), and 
Abigail. 

(VI) Amos, fifth child and second son of 
Oliver and Lydia (Spaulding) Heald, was born in 
Temple. New Hampshire, June 16, 1765, and settled 
in Nelson, New Hampshire. He married, in 1789, 
Sybil Brown, of Temple, and they had five sons : 
Amos, Oliver, David, Asa and Jefferson ; and two 
daughters : Anna and Lydia. 

(VII) Oliver (2), second son and child of 
Amos and Sybil (Brown) Heald, was born in Tem- 
ple, October i, 1790. He was a cloth dresser and 
farmer, and resided in Nelson. In 1849 he removed 
to Milford, where he lived imtil 1857. when he re- 
moved to Peterboro, where he died October 5. 1867. 
He was familiarly known as major, and was the 
family's representative in the War of 1812. He 
served as selectman of Nelson and held other offices 
of trust. He became a Whig, and a Republican 
when the party was formed, and was a staunch anti- 
slavery man. He was a member of the Baptist 
Church. He married (first), April 30, 1816, Patty 
Wright, who was born in Nelson. jMarch 28. 1704. 
daughter of Oliver and Martha (Dunster) Wright. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1039 



(See Dunstcr VII). She died in Milford. August 
19, 1854. He married (second), March 16, 1858, 
Relief Little, who was born in Peterboro, December 
3, 1800, daughter of Thomas, Jr. and Relief (White) 
Little. She died April 27, 1886. The children of 
Oliver and Patty (Wright) Heald were: Addison, 
Albert. Sarah Dunstcr, Emily, Henry, Lydia, Wil- 
liam, David, Alniira and Edwin. 

(VIII) David, eighth child and fifth son of 
01i\er and Martha (Wright) Heald, was born in 
Nelson, October 6, 1832. His boyhood was passed 
in his native town, where he obtained a common 
school education. At the age of fourteen he began 
to learn the cabinet-maker's trade, and three years 
later removed to Milford. where he worked some 
years as a journeyman. In 1856 he began business 
for himself, and in a short time employed five or 
six men. He was the sole proprietor until 1S88, 
when he associated himself with C. H. French, now 
of Maiden, Massachusetts, and J. W. Howard, of 
Nashua, the three forming the firm of Howard, 
French & Heald. Mr. Howard retired from the 
firm in 1893 and since that date the business has 
been conducted under the firm name of French & 
Heald, employing more than one hundred opera- 
tives. They have a factory equipped with all the late 
facilities and turn out annually about one hundred and 
fifty thousand dollars worth of goods, consisting of 
chamber suits, chiffoniers, sideboards, book cases, 
etc., for the trade only. They have display rooms in 
Boston, where they exhibit a large and attractive 
assortment of the products of their factories. In 
business hours Mr. Heald has generally devoted 
his time to his business, but he has not felt that the 
accumulation of money is the one great object in 
life, and has taken a deep interest in the welfare of 
his town and immediate environment. He has 
looked after the educational affairs of the town, be- 
ing for years a member of the school board and 
later holding the position of chairman of the build- 
ing committee which had charge of the plans and 
construction of the new high school building. In 
politics he is a Republican, and for one term rep- 
resented his town in the state legislature. At the 
age of about twenty-four years he became a mem- 
ber of the Baptist Church, and for many years has 
demonstrated the compatability of a successful busi- 
ness career with faithfulness in every other relation 
of life. Mr. Heald has always believed that money 
laid out for the improvement of the educational de- 
velopment and moral and social elevation of the 
community is money well spent, and has always 
freely contributed his share to these ends. 

He married (first), November 17, 1856, Mary 
Susan Frost, who was born in Ashburnham, Massa- 
chusetts, March, 1833. daughter of Ebenezer and 
Sally S. Sawyer Frost. She died in Milford, No- 
vember 9, 1858. He married, October 22, 1862, 
Mary Elizabeth Stone, who was born in Marl- 
borough, New Hampshire, June 19, 1840, and died 
in litilford, March 15. 1892. She was the daughter 
of Calvin and Elvira (Wallingford) Stone. He 
married (third), November 19, 1896, Lucretia A., 



widow of Edward A. Burns, and daughter of Still- 
man S. and Emeline G. (Lull) Hutchinson, born in 
Milford. November 19, 1837. His children are: Ella 
Frances, Edward Stone, Frank Herbert, Florence 
Mabel, Clara May. Mary Susan and Harriet Louise. 
Ella Frances and Clara May died young. Edward 
is the subject of the next paragraph. Frank H. is 
with the Corbin Cabinet Lock Company, New 
Boston, Connecticut. Florence Mabel married 
Charles F. Morse, civil engineer, of Maiden, Massa- 
chusetts. Mary Susan is the wife of Frederick N. 
Hutchinson, of the firm of Hutchinson & Averill, 
grocers of Milford. Harriet Louise married Dr. 
George W. Tong, of Brooklyn, New York. The 
children were by the second wife with the exception 
of Ella Frances, she being by the first. 

(IX) Edward Stone, eldest child of David and 
Marj' Elizabeth (Stone) Heald, was born at Mil- 
ford. January 31, 1864. and was educated in the 
schools of Milford, graduating from the high school 
in 1882. Following his graduation he took employ- 
ment in the furniture factory, of which he became 
superintendent in 1886, retaining that position until 
the present time (1907). He is familiar with the 
details of the business, both mercantile and me- 
chanical, and is always alert to save expense and 
improve the quality of their products. He is fond 
of music, excels as a singer and is in great deinand 
at all places, in that locality, where music is a 
feature. He is a member of Benevolent Lodge, 
.Ancient Free and .Accepted Masons, of ^Milford, and 
also of the Milford Golf Club. He married, in Mil- 
ford, October 6. 1886, Annie L. Epps, born in 
Francestown, November 9, 1862, daughter of Henry 
D. and Cynthia A. C. (Hardy) Epps, of Frances- 
town. They have four children : Edna G., 
born .^ugust 16, 1887; Emory D.. .-Vpril 4, 1890; 
Hermann L., March 13. 1S96; and Mary E., .A.pril 
20, 1900. 

(IV) Ephraim, sixth son and eighth child of 
John (3) and Mary (Chandler) Heald, was born 
February 19, 171 1, in Concord, Massachusetts, and 
reared a family of seven children. 

(Mention of his son John and descendants forms 
part of this article). 

(V) Ephraim (2), eldest child of Ephraim (i) 
and Eleanor Heald, was born September 29, 1734, 
and died September 12, 1815, in Temple, New 
Hampshire, where he was a pioneer settler. He 
was married November 17. 1757, to Sarah Conant, 
and they were the parents of eleven children. 

(VI) Nathan, youngest of the eleven children 
of Ephraim (2) and Sarah (Conant) Heald, was 
born April 25, 1779, in Temple. He married (first) 
Annie Stickney. 

(VII) Emily, twin of Eleanor, daughters of 
Nathan and .'Vnnie (Stickney) Heald, was born 
August 26, 181 1, and became the wife of Gustine 
Marshal. (See Marshal VI). 

(V) Deacon John (5), son of Ephraim and 
Eleanor Heald, was born September 11, 1741, and 
died in Shirley, September 13. 182T, aged eighty. 
He married and became a resident of Shirley. Mas- 



1 040 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



sachusetts. in May. 1776, and was settled on a farm 
in the northernmost part of the town. "He was a 
man of standing and influence, and was appointed a 
deacon in the church, September 13, 1790, during 
the ministry of Whitney. At a subsequent period, 
while !Mr. Tolman was minister, the deacon became 
dissatisfied with the doctrines of Mr. Tolman, which 
were of a severe Calvinian stamp, and utterly at 
variance with the Arminian faith, which had be- 
come the accepted belief of the worthy deacon. He_ 
therefore, with his daughter. Eleanor Bowers, took 
himself from Mr. Tolman's church and ministry, 
and they became connected with the IMethodist 
Church at Lunenburg, where his Arminian ideas re- 
ceived cordial fellovvship and sympathy." He mar- 
ried, December 8, 1763, Rachel Tuttle, of Littleton, 
and they were the parents of six children : Lucy, 
Abigail, Rhoda, Esther, John and Eleanor. 

(VI) John (6), fifth child and only son of 
Deacon John (5) and Rachel (Tuttle) Heald. was 
born in Shirley, February 28, 1773, and died July I, 
1798. He married, December 4, 1794, Polly Gasset, 
of Townsend, published October 19, 1794, and they 
had two children: Brigham, and Benjamin Harvey, 
whose sketch follows. 

(VII) Benjamin Harvey, second son and child 
of John (6) and Rachel (Tuttle) Heald, was 'born 
in Shirley, September 20, 1797, and died in Ash- 
burnham. March 12. 1867. He was a farmer and 
carpenter, and resided successively in Hinsdale, 
Lanesborough, Royalston and Ashburnham. In 
Royalston he operated a saw mill and was engaged 
in manufacturing various kinds of lumber until 1844, 
when he removed to Ashburnham, and settled on 
the old Kibling estate, where he resided until his 
death. He married, November 9, 1826, Susan 
Kibling, who was born December 27, 1799. and died 
March 27, 1865, eldest child of Captain Henry and 
Sukey (Hobart) Kibling, of Ashburnham. Henry 
Kibling was a captain of the militia company in 
Ashburnham in 1801, and in the War of 1812 was 
in the service in a Vermont regiment. The children 
of Harvey and Susan HeaLd were : George, New- 
ton, Henry, Susan, Charles Harvey, and Lewis 
Brigham, next mentioned. 

(VIII) Lewis Brigham, si.xth and youngest 
child of Harvey and Susan (Kibling) Heald, was 
born in Royalston, Massachusetts, March s. 1839. 
He was educated in the common schools of Ash- 
burnham, and after leaving school became a worker 
in wood, and was emploj'ed in his native town until 
he was twenty years of age. He then went to 
Louisville. Kentucky, and soon after to New Al- 
bany, Indiana, where he was employed by Howard 
& Cash, inanufacturers of sashes and doors. He 
remained there until i860, and then returned to 
Louisville, where he engaged in the same line of 
business in the employ of Minot. Lewis & Company, 
the senior partner being a native of Manchester. 
New Hampshire. He remained with this firm until 
after the election of Lincoln to the presidency, when 
the disturbed condition of business forced the clos- 
ing of the mill. In April, 1S61, Mr. Heald enlisted 



at New Albany, Indiana, in Company C, Eleventh 
Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and served three 
months in eastern Kentucky and West Virginia. 
September 5, 1861, he re-enlisted in Company C, 
First United States Fusileers, and was stationed at 
Camp Douglas, Chicago, Illinois, until February, 
1S62, when the regiment was mustered out by order 
of the secretary of war. Mr. Heald then enlisted a 
third time in Company H, Fifty-ninth Indiana Vol- 
unteer Infantry, and took part in the campaigns 
about Corinth and Vicksburg, accompanying Sher- 
man in his famous march to the sea and through 
the Carolinas. He was discharged at Raleigh, North 
Carolina. April 26, 1865, after serving in all forty- 
four months, and soon after went to Vermont, 
where he resided in various places during the fol- 
lowing thirty years. In the fall of 1895 he removed 
to Littleton, New Hampshire, where he was later 
commissioned justice of the peace and in quorum, 
and in 1897 was' made special justice of the muni- 
cipal court of Littleton, in which office he has since 
served. In 1896 he became clerk to Judge James 
W. Remick, and discharged the duties of that office 
until February I, 1899, when he was made deputy 
collector of internal revenue. He is still serving in 
the last named office. 

He married, in West Concord, Vermont, October 
12, 1867. Mary Sophia Remick, who was born in 
Hardwick. Vermont, February 25, 1847, daughter of 
Samuel K. and Sophia (Cushman) Remick, of 
Hardwick. They have four children : Harry Lewis, 
mentioned below. Hattie May, born in St. Johns- 
bury, Vermont. October i, 1869. Walter Nelson, 
Lawrence, Massachusetts. October 7, 1876. Nellie 
Sophia. St. Johnsbury, November 11, 1879. 

(IX) Harry Lewi.«;, eldest child of Lewis B. 
and Mary Sophia (Remick) Heald, was born in 
St. Johnsbury, Vermont, August 2, 1S68. He was 
educated in the common schools and at the acad- 
emy in his native town. In February, 1888, he be- 
gan the study of law with Albro F. Nichols, and 
continued until December, 1890. when he went to 
Littleton, New Hampshire, and entered the office of 
Hon. James W. Remick, where he continued his 
studies until March, 1892, when he was admitted to 
the bar at Concord. He soon afterward opened an 
office for himself and practiced in Littleton until 
1895. In that year he removed to Topeka, Kansas, 
where he devoted himself to his profession until 
1901, and then returned to Littleton, where he has 
since practiced. He is a Republican, and has been a 
member of the board of health since 1904. Mr. 
Heald married, in Bolton, June 19, 1899, Mary E. 
Mooney, who was born in Bolton, province of 
Quebec. Canada, July 21. 1S64, daughter of George 
and Eusebia Mooney, of Bclton. They have one 
child. Mary, born in Topeka, Kansas, July 21. 1900. 

(IX) Hattie May, for the past five years has 
conducted the Woman's Store in Littleton, carrying 
an up-to-date line of ladies' and children's furnish- 
ings. 

(IX) Walter Nelson, married Fannie Isabel 
Billings, at Greenfield, Massachusetts, September 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1041 



10, 1905. She was born in Roxbury, Massachusetts, 
July 15. 1882, of parents, Myron L. and Martha E. 
(Fulhim) Billings. He has been connected with 
the New England Telephone and Telegraph Com- 
pany for a number of years, and is now (1907) in 
charge of a large district of the northern division. 

(IX) Nellie Sophia was married November 17, 
1902, to John Billings Nute. He was born in Rox- 
bury, Massachusetts, August 14. 1876. He is as- 
sistant superintendent of the Littleton Shoe Manu- 
facturing Company. Three children have been born 
to them: Paul Billings, December 11, 1903. Ralph 
Cushman, September 3. 1905. Mary Isabel, June 8, 
1907. 



The name in the early records appears 
HALE as Heale, Heales, Hailes, Held, and 

Heald. For several generations a ma- 
jority of the descendants have written the name 
HcaJd, while a few branches of the family have 
written the name Hale and are sometimes erron- 
eously supposed to have been descendants of Robert 
Hale, of Charlestown, or Thomas Hale, of New- 
bury. 

(I) The first generation in America is de- 
scribed above, under the title as there spelled, 
Heald. 

(II) Israel, son of John and Dorothy Heald, 
was born in Concord, Massachusetts, July 30, 1660. 
He was a fanner and one of the substantial citizens 
of the town of Stow, Massachusetts, to which he 
removed from his native town. His wife, Martha 
Heale, bore him, among other children, Oliver, see 
forward; and Israel, born December 2, 1687, who 
was the father of Samuel Heale, who was known as 
Samuel Hale, of Leominster, Massachusetts. 

(III) Oliver, son of Israel and Martha Heald. 
born September 8, 1686, resided in Stow, Massa- 
chusetts. His wife, Hannah Heale, was the mother 
of eight children, born in Stow between the years 
1714-1730, but a record of the marriage has not been 
discovered. Their children were : Dorothy, Beza- 
leel. Dorcas, Oliver, Jacob. Joseph. Hannah and 
Mary. 

(IV) Oliver Hale, son of Oliver and Hannah 
Heald, born in Stow, Massachusetts, January 22, 
1720, removed from his native town to Leominster 
in 1742, accompanied by his wife, Sarah Hale. He 
was a captain of militia, and for many years a 
prominent and influential man of that town. His 
first wife, Sarah Hale, was the mother of seven 
children. She died April 13. I7S6. His second 
wife, Catherine Hale, wdio survived him, dying July 
16, 1821, was the mother of five children. Oliver 
Hale died May 7. 1799. Their headstones are to 
found in an old cemetery in Leominster. 

(V) Oliver (3), son of Oliver (2) and Sarah 
Hale, born in Leominster, Massachusetts. April 15, 
1750, removed to Jafifrey, New Hampshire, in 1772, 
where he served as town officer several years, and 
as selectman in the year 1786. He married, in Leo- 
minster, Massachusetts. December 25, 1771, Mary 
Wheclock. He died about 1807. They had five 

iii— 15 



sons: Luke. Oliver, Josiah, Luther and Thomas; 
and six daughters, four of whom married residents 
of Henniker, New Hampshire, two died unmarried. 

(VI) Josiah Wheclock, third son of Oliver and 
Mary (Wheelock) Hale, was born in Jaffrey, New 
Hampshire, November 23, 1783, educated at Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts, read medicine in Grafton, 
Vermont, attending lectures at the medical depart- 
ment, University of Vermont, Burlington. He set- 
tled first in Salisbury, Vermont, removed to Bran- 
don, where he practiced nearly forty years. He 
was not only an eminent physician, but a man 
prominent in public affairs ; he represented his town 
in the legislature for several years, and was a mem- 
ber of the convention for the revision of the con- 
stitution. He was an active abolitionist, and was 
nominated for state senator by the Liberty party ; a 
member of the Presbyterian Church. He died in 
Brandon of heart disease at the doorstep of a 
patient's house, JMarch 12, 1851. Dr. Josiah 
Wheelock Hale married (first) Rhoda Green, 
Marcli 12, i8ii. She died in Brandon. July 24, 
1820. They had five children, two died in infancy. 
Pie married (second) Marcia Tracy, daughter of 
Solomon and Phoebe (Hudson) Tracy. She was 
born in Prandon. April 14, 1797, was educated at 
the Emma Willard School, then located at Middle- 
bury. Vermont, later the famous school of Troy, 
New York. She died March 22, 1863. Solomon 
Tracy was a native of Norwich, Connecticut, served 
through the war of the Revolution, being at Valley 
Forge. He married Phoebe Hudson, of Walpole, 
New Hampshire. He died in Brandon, Vermont, 
August 17, 1819, aged sixty-four years. His wife 
died January i, 1843. aged seventy-six. 

(VII) Charles Stuart, only child of Dr. Josiah 
and Marcia (Tracy) Hale, was born in Brandon, Ver- 
mont, April 30, 1835. He was educated at Brandon 
Academy and Trinity College, Hartford. He read 
theology with Right Rev. John Henry Hopkins, 
bishop of Vermont, by whom he was ordained 
deacon and priest. He was commissioned chaplain 
of the Fifth Vermont Volunteers, April 24. 1S62 ; 
was mustered out of service September 15, 1864. 
He has been rector of the following parishes : St. 
James Church, Arlington. Vermont ; Emmanuel 
Church, Bellows Falls : St. Mary's on the Hill, 
Buffalo ; and assistant minister of St. Paul's Church, 
Buffalo; rector of Christ Church, New Bern, North 
Carolina ; and Trinity Church, Claremont, New 
Hampshire. He has been deputy to the general 
convention from the diocese of Vermont, a member 
of the standing committee of the diocese of western 
New York, and a chairman of the committee on 
canons of the diocese of North Carolina. He mar- 
ried (first), at Buffalo, July 6, 1875, a widow, 
Louise (Weed) Stevens, daughter of Thaddeus and 
Louise Chapin Weed. She died at Asheville, North 
Carolina, July 25, 1880. One child, Harry Tracy 
Hale, died in infancy. He married (second), in 
Claremont. New Hampshire, October 2, 1884, Clara 
Farwell Blodgett. She was born in Claremont, 
April 1.9, 1852, the daughter of George Weston and 



1042 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Martha Carey (Farwell) Blodgett. and was de- 
scended from the earhest settlers of the town. She 
was educated in the public schools and Stevens high 
school in Claremont. They have four 'children, all 
born in Claremont: i. Edward Stuart, born Jan- 
uary 31, 1S86, educated in Stevens high school and 
St. Paul's, Concord, entered Harvard, class of 
igoS. 2. Charles Stuart, Jr.. born November 4, 
1888. 3. Mary Deming, born June 19, 1890. 4. 
George Blodgett Stuart, born December 24, 1S91. 
(Second Family.) 

The representatives of this family in- 
H.ALE elude men of high standing in various 

walks of life, who inherit in a marked 
degree the characteristics and traits of their illus- 
trious forefathers, who left behind them a reputa- 
tion for honesty, integrity and probity. 

(I) Thomas Hale, the first American ancestor 
of this branch of the family, was the son of 
Thomas Hale, of Watton-at-Stone in Hertfordshire, 
England, and Joan Kirby, his wife. No record of 
the American Thomas's birth has been found, but 
his baptism is recorded in the parish church at 
Watton, June 15, 1606. He was the only son, but 
there were four daughters, one older than himself. 
Dionis, and three younger, Mary. Dorothy and 
Elizabeth. Thomas Hale with his wife, Thomasine, 
came to Newbury, Massachusetts, and he heads the 
list of the selectmen chosen there in 1646. In 1647 
he was appointed to try small cases, and in 1648 to 
keep a ferry. In 1659 his name appears on a list of 
glovers in Salem, Massachusetts. Thomas and 
Thomasine (Hale) had four children: Thomas, 
whose sketch follows. John, born in England, April 
19, 1635. Samuel, born in Newbury, Massachusetts, 
February 2, 1639-40, married Sarah Ilsley. Apphia, 
born in 1642, married Benjamin Rolfe, November 3, 
1659. Thomas Hale died December 21, 1682, aged 
seventy-eight; and his wife died January 30, 1683. 

(II) Thomas (2), eldest son and child of 
Thomas (i) and Thomasine Hale, was born in 
England, November 18, 1633. He came to New- 
bury, Massachusetts, with his parents, and seems to 
have always lived there. He was selectman, 1665, 
1675 and 1678. He was fence viewer, trial juror, 
tything-man, highway surveyor, way-'warden and 
on various town committees. At his death at the 
comparativey early age of fifty-five he left an estate 
of over five hundred pounds. His homestead had 
been deeded to his son Thomas before his death. 
His house, a large and substantial structure of two 
stories and an attic, was built about 1661, and in 
1889 was still standing at Newbury. He was evi- 
dently a prosperous man who stood well with his 
townspeople. Thomas Hale married at Salem, May 
26, 1657, Mary, daughter of Richard and Alice 
(Bosworth) Hutchinson, of Salem, Massachusetts. 
They had nine children, all of whom but the eldest 
survived their father. The children were : A son, 
born February 17. died a few days later. Thomas, 
born February 11, 1658-59, married Sarah Northend. 

Mary, born July 15, 1660, married Jcwett. 

Abigail, born .\pril 8, 1662. married Henry Poor. 



Hannah, born November 29, 1663, married William 
Peabody. Lydia, born April 17, 1666, married 
James Platts. Elizabeth, born October 18, 1668, 
married Samuel Pickard. Joseph, born February 
20, 1670-71, married (first) Mary Watson, and (sec- 
ond) Widow Joanna Dodge. Samuel, whose sketch 
follows. Thomas Hale died at Newbury, Massa- 
chusetts, October 22, 1688. His widow married 
William Watson, of Boxford, Massachusetts, Feb- 
ruary 5, 1694-95, who- was father of her son Joseph's 
wife. William Watson died June 27, 1710, at Box- 
ford. Massachusetts, and Mrs. Mary (Hutchinson) 
(Hale) Watson died December 8, 1715, also at Box- 
ford. ■ 

(III) Samuel, fourth son and ninth child of 
Thomas (2) and Mary (Hutchinson) Hale, was 
born at Newbury, Massachusetts, June 6, 1674. He 
became a resident of Bradford. Massachusetts, about 
1699, and lived in what is now Groveland ; the 
corners wherfe his house stood is still called "Hale's 
Corners." He was a man of property and local 
standing, and a farmer of superior order, especially 
in fruit growing. He v!a.s twice married, and had 
six children, all by his first wife. He married, No- 
vember 3, 1698, Martha Palmer, daughter of Samuel 
and Mary (Pearson) Palmer, of Rowley, Massa- 
chusetts. She was born April 24, 1677, at Rowley, 
and died June 14, 1723, in the forty-ninth year of 
her age, and was the first person buried in Grove- 
land cemetery. Six months later, December 30, 
1723, he married Mrs. Sarah, widow of Edward 
Hazen, of Newbury, and daughter of John Perley, 
of Boxford, Massachusetts. His children, all by 
his first wife, were: Samuel, born October 23, 1699, 
married (first) Hannah Hovey, (second) Sarah 
Hazeltine. Tonathan, whose sketch follows. Mary, 
born May 17, 1705, married George Carleton. 
Martha, born January 15. 1709. married Moses 
Jevvett. Jane, born August i, 171 1, married Deacon 
Philip Teimey. David, born September 30, 1714, 
married Sarah Bond. Samuel Hale died December 
13. 1745, aged seventy-one years. His widow Sarah 
(Perley) (Hazen) Hale, probably survived him 
several years, as her will was not proven till July 
24, 1769. 

(IV) Jonathan, second son and child of Samuel 
and Martha (Palmer) Hale, was born in Bradford, 
Massachusetts, January 9, 1701-02. He was a 
farmer. After 1747 his name disappears from 
Bradford and Essex records, and he probably then 
removed to Sutton, Massachusetts. He married at 
Ipswich, Massachusetts, November 10, 1729, Susan- 
nah Tuttle, "Jr." They had six children, all prob- 
ably born in Bradford: Elizabeth, born 1730, mar- 
ried Moody Chase. John, born October 24, 1731, 
mentioned in the next paragraph. Abigail, born in 
1733. married Colonel William Prescott, the hero of 
Bunker Hill. Samuel, married Mindwell Tillotson. 
Jonathan, married Silence Goddard. Martha, mar- 
ried Rev. Peter Powers, of HoUis, New Hampshire. 
It is not known when Jonathan Hale died, but in 
May. 1770, intentions of marriage were published at 
Ipswich, Massachusetts, between "widow Susannah 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1043 



Hale" and John Pitts, l}oth of Ipswich. She died 
March 22, 1787. 

(V) John, eldest son and second child' of Jon- 
athan and Susannah (Tuttle) Hale, was born in 
Bradford, Massachusetts. October 24, 1731. About 
1747 he removed with his father to Sutton, Massa- 
chusetts. John Hale became a physician, and about 
1754 settled in Hollis, New Hampshire, near his 
distinguished brother-in-law. Colonel William Pres- 
cott, who lived in Groton, afterwards Pepperell, 
Massachusetts. He was a leading citizen of his 
town and state, both in military and civil affairs, and 
may well be called the foremost resident of Hollis 
during his day. He served at three different times 
during the French war. In 1755 he was assistant 
surgeon in Colonel Joseph Blanchard's regiment 
against the French at Crown Point. In 1757 he en- 
listed as a private for the defense of Fort Edward. 
In 1758 he was commissioned surgeon in Colonel 
John Hart's regiment for defense of the western 
frontier. In 1767 he was lieutenant-colonel of the 
Fifth New Hampshire militia, which office he held 
till 177s, when he became colonel of the same regi- 
ment. He took part as a volunteer at the battle of 
Bunker Hill, serving under his famous brother-in- 
law. Colonel Prescott, between whom and himself 
there appears to have been a close friendship. In 
1777 Colonel Doctor Hall was commissioned sur- 
geon of the First Regiment of the New Hampshire 
Continental troops. Dr. Jonathan Pool, the assistant 
surgeon of- the regiment, afterwards became Dr. 
Hale's son-in-law. Dr. Hale continued as surgeon 
till June, 1780. Three of his sons, John, David and 
William, served actively in the Revolution, the 
latter enlisting at the age of fourteen for a term of 
three years. Dr. Hale was representative to the 
New Hampshire legislature from 1762. .0 1768, and 
again in 1775, in which latter year he was also rep- 
resentative to the New Hampshire Provincial con- 
gress. He was repeatedly moderator of the town 
meetings and chairman of important committees ; 
he was also selectman, town clerk and justice of 
the peace. In 1779 he was put in charge of the 
smallpo.x hospitals at Hollis. He- was a member of 
the church at Hollis from before the breaking out 
of the Revolution. After the war he continued to 
live in Hollis in the active practice of his profession. 
Dr. John Hale married in Sutton, Massachusetts, 
about 1755, Elizabeth, daughter of Rev. Dr. David 
and Elizabeth (Prescott) Hall, who was born in 
Sutton, February, 1734. Her father. Rev. David 
Hall, was a graduate of Harvard in 1724, and was 
fourth in descent from John Hall, who settled in 
Charlestown, Massachusetts, in 1630. John and 
Elizabeth (Hall) Hale had children: John, 
born September 8, 1756, married Lydia Tillotson. 
David, born June 8. 1758, married Elizabeth Holden. 
Elizabeth, born September 28, 1760, married (first) 
Jonathan Pool, and (second) James Woodward. 
William, born July 27, 1762, married Esther Pool. 
Rebekah, born March 26. 1765, married Moses 
Ames. Jonathan, born in 1767, married Eunice 
Mo.sher. Susan, married Deacon Dewey. Aaron, 



died at about si.xtcen years of age. All of these 
children were born in Hollis, New Hampshire. Dr. 
John Hale died in Hollis, New Hampshire, October 
22, 1791, aged sixty years. His grave in the old 
central burying ground at Hollis has a quaint in- 
scription worth quoting : 

"How soon our new-born light attains to fnll- 
agcd noon : 
And that how soon to gray-haired night : 
We spring, we bud, we blossom and we blast. 
Ere we can count our days, they fly so fast." 

Dr. Hale's record is also inscribed on the Sol- 
diers' Monument in the village common. Mrs. 
Elizabeth (Hall) Hale, who seems to have been a 
woman of superior character and ability, survived 
her husband many years. She died at Hollis, Octo- 
ber 2. 1830, aged ninety-six years. 

(VI) David, the second son and child of Dr. 
John and Elizabeth (Hall) Hale, was horn at 
Hollis. New Hampshire, June 8, 1758. He married 
Elizabeth Holden, of Hollis. June 3, 1787. They 
had twelve 'children: David H., born May 31, 1789; 
Aaron. April 10, 1791 ; William, April 18. 1793; 
Betsy, February 19, 1797: the record of the fifth 
child is unknown; Susannah, March %o, 1799; John, 
October 21, 1800: Sarah. May 3, 1803; Anna, May 
25, 1805: Artemas, whose sketch follows; Luke, Oc- 
tober 13, 1809; Rebecca, September 18, 1812. 

(VII) Artemas, fifth son and tenth child of 
David and Elizabeth (Holden) Hale, was born No- 
vember 26, 1807, at Hollis, New Hampshire. He 
was a farmer in his native town, and died at the 
comparatively early age of forty-nine. On January 
18. 1836, he married Mary .■Xnn Wheat, daughter of 
Solomon Wheat. They had three children : Sarah 
C. born April 30, 1841, died June 3, 1S57 ; Charles, 
September 10, 1844. lives in Hollis ; and George 
Franklin, the subject of the next paragraph. .Arte- 
mas Hale died March 25, 1853. 

(VIII) George Franklin, second son and 
youngest of the three children of Artemas and 
Mary Ann (Wheat) Hale, was born June 30. 1847, 
at Hollis. New Hampshire. He had a common 
school education. He first drove a baker's cart in 
Cambridge. Massachusetts. Later he traveled 
through New Hampshire and Massachusetts for a 
cracker company in Somerville. Massachusetts. He 
then bought out a milk route in Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, and managed that for one year and six 
months. He then returned to his native town of 
Hollis where he now lives. He has been selectman 
for three years, and in 1904 and 1906 was chairman 
of the board. He joined the Knights of Pythias in 
1870. and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
in 1868. In the latter order he has been through all 
the chairs twice. He also belongs to the Grange. 
March 28, 1876, he married Addie L. Ruston, daugh- 
ter of Thomas and Elizabeth (Beck) Ruston. They 
had four children : Carrie E., born April 12, 1S79, 
died September 22, 1879. Maud A., born .April 24, 
18S2. Fannie Isabellc. .August 31, 18S4, died July 



1044 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



22, 1S87. Arthur, born August Ji, 1SS8. Mrs. Hale 
is active in the Grange, being secretary (1907), and 
is president (1907) of the Woman's Relief Corps. 
(Third Family.) 
This name was originally spelled Hales. 
HALE It was borne in England by three dis- 
tinct families, those of Hertfordshire, 
Gloucestershire and Kent. The Hales of Kent are 
known to have existed as early as the reign of 
Edward HI. Sir Robert Hales, son of Nicholas 
Up Hales, was prior of the Knights of St. John 
and lord high treasurer of England. He was killed 
in Wat Tyler's insurrection on Tower Hill, London, 
in 13S1. The latter's brother. Sir Nicholas de Hales, 
was the progenitor of three branches of the family 
known as the Kent, Coventry and Essex Hales. 

(I) Some of the Hales of New Hampshire de- 
rive their origin in America from Robert Hale, who 
was born about the year 1609, emigrated in 1632, 
settling first in Boston. Shortly after his arrival 
he removed to Charlestown, where he united with 
the First Church. He was a blacksmith by trade, 
but seems to have devoted much of his time to the 
public service, as he held several positions of trust 
including that of surveyor of new plantations, to 
which he was appointed by the general court. He 
died July 19, iSsg. The christian name of his wife 
was Jane. She survived him and married for her 
second husband Richard Jacobs, of Ipswich. Her 
death occurred in July, 1679. The children of 
Robert Hale were; Rev. John, JNIary, Zachariah, 
Samuel and Joanna. 

(II) Rev. John Hale, eldest son and child of 
Robert and Jane Hale, was graduated from Harvard 
College in 1657, and was ordained the first minister 
of the First Church in Beverly, Massachusetts, re- 
taining that pastorate for the remainder of his life. 
He was one of the three chaplains of the regiment 
which was sent to Canada in 1690 and was captured 
by the French, but shortly afterwards was released. 
During his Beverly pastorate occurred the famous 
Salem witchcraft excitement, and he appears to 
have been a believer in the -delusion until an accu- 
sation was made against his wife, whereupon he 
renounced his belief, and wrote an able work de- 
fending with spirit his change of view. For his 
first wife he married Rebecca Byles, daughter of 
Henry Byles, of Sarum, England, and she died April 
13. 1683, aged forty-five years. March 3, 1684, he 
married Mrs. Sarah Noyes, of Newbury, whose 
death occurred JNIay 20, 1695, at the age of fortj'- 
one, and on August 8, 1698, he married for his third 
wife Mrs. Elizabeth Clark, of Newbury, who sur- 
vived him. His children were : Rebeckah, Robert, 
Rev. James, Samuel, Joanna and John. 

(III) Samuel, third son and fourth child of 
Rev. John and Sarah (Noyes) Hale, was born in 
Beverl)', August 13, 1687. For many years he re- 
sided in Newburyport, and all of his children were: 
born in that town. Late in life he removed to 
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, and died there about 
the year 1724. He was married August 26, 1714, 
to Apphia Moody, who was born June 23, 1693, 



and the children of this union were : Joanna, Rich- 
ard. Samuel. Hannah and John. (N. B. Richard 
Hale, son of Samuel, was the father of Captain 
Nathan Hale, whose capture and execution as a 
spy by the British was one of the most unfortunate 
episodes of the American Revolution). 

(IV) John, youngest son and child of Samucl 
and Apphia (Moody) Hale, was born in Newbury- 
port, January 16, 1722. He resided in Gloucester, 
Massachusetts, and died there about the year 17S7. 
The maiden name of his wife does not appear in 
the records at hand. It is known, however, that he 
was the father of Samuel, John, Benjamin, Eben- 
ezer, Jane, Sally and Hannah. 

(V) Samuel, eldest son of John Hale, of Glou- 
cester, entered the legal profession and was prac- 
ticing law in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, during 
the agitation which culminated in the American 
Revolution. He was loyal to the crown, and just 
prior to the commencement of hostilities went to 
England, where he remained until the close of the 
W'ar. Upon the resumption of diplomatic relations 
between the mother country and the United States, 
he was appointed consul at one of the American 
ports, but died on the passage over. Prior to his 
departure for England he married Lydia Parker, 
daughter of Hon. William Parker of Portsmouth. 
Her grandparents were William and Zerviah (Stan- 
ley) Parker, the latter a daughter of the Earl of 
Derby, and they were married in England, Feb- 
ruary 26, 1703, against the wishes of the bride's 
father. They immediately came to America in order 
to escape the vengeance of the Earl, who was an 
arbitrary and vindictive man, and thenceforward 
lived a secluded life in Portsmouth. William Par- 
ker was a gentleman of education and refinement. 
Hon. William Parker, Lydia Parker's father, was 
admitted to the bar in 1732 ; was clerk of the com- 
missioners who settled the boundary line between 
New Hampshire and Massachusetts in 1737; was 
appointed register of probate by Governor Belcher; 
afterwards became judge of admiralty and was for 
many years the only notary public in the province. 
From 1765 to 1774 he was a member of the general 
assembly. In August, 1771. he was appointed a 
judge of the superior court, and held office until 
the end of British authority. In 1763 the cor- 
poration of Harvard College conferred upon him 
the degree of Master of Arts (honorary). He died 
April 29, 1781, aged seventy-seven years. His chil- 
dren were : Zerviah, Stanley, William, John, Eliz- 
abeth, Mary, Lydia, Catherine, Samuel, Sarah and 
Matthew Stanley. Lydia married Samuel Hale, as 
previously stated, and was the mother of one son. 
She died in September, 1878, at the age of forty- 
seven years. 

(VI) John Parker, only child of Samuel and 
Lydia (Parker) Hale, became a lawyer and prac- 
ticed in Rochester, New Hampshire. He married 
Lydia O'Brien, of Machias, Maine, daughter of 
William O'Brien, who participated in the capture 
of the British ship "Margaretta" during the Revo- 
lutionary war. Among their children was Hon. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



104: 



John Parker Hale, for sixteen years United States 
senator from New Hampshire, and afterwards min- 
ister to Spain. 

(VH) Hon. John Parker Hale (2), second child 
of John Parker (i) and Lydia (O'Brien) Hale, 
was born in Rochester, March 31, 1806, and died 
November 19, 1873, aged sixty-seven years. When 
but thirteen years of age he was left fatherless, but 
by the efforts of his mother who was equal to the 
duty imposed on her, the family was kept together, 
and the son who was destined to play so prominent 
a part in his country's history was able to obtain 
an education commensurate with his mental powers. 
After receiving the training the schools of his 
native village afforded, his mother's exertions en- 
abled him to prepare for college at Phillip's Exeter 
Academy under Principal Abbot, who remarked 
years afterwards that he had live of his boys in 
the United States senate, "and pretty good boys, 
too," Webster, Cass, Hale, Dix and Field. He en- 
tered Bowdoin College, passed through the course 
of study with ease and graduated in 1827, with a 
high reputation for general scholarship and extem- 
poraneous oratorical ability. At this time he was 
twenty-one years of age. 

His natural mental trend, his aptness to grasp 
and manipulate ideas and his manifest fitness for 
the law, all indicate that profession as his vocation 
in life. Accordingly on leaving college he entered 
upon his legal studies. His first reading was in 
the office of J. H. Woodman, Esq., of Rochester. 
Later he had an opportunity to complete his course 
with Daniel M. Christie, Esq., for many years the 
honored head of the New Hampshire bar. In the 
three years during which he was preparing himself 
for his profession, he was developing a breadth and 
power of mind and character that none who knew 
him could mistake. As a law student he displayed 
all his character in his traits of quickness, aptitude, 
ease of acquisition and tenacity of memory, so that 
his future eminence was conlidently foretold. To 
natural ability he joined an activity of intellect and 
a love of literature that led him to read extensively 
and with great pleasure the classics, in both prose 
and poetry, and to peruse with marked satisfaction 
the speeches of the great orators of ancient and 
modern times. Thus equipped, in 1830, John P. 
Hale was admitted to the bar, and opened an office 
at Dover. With his qualifications and already ex- 
tensive local acquaintance his was not the fate of 
the patient plodder who must take years to win a 
clientage; he at once took high rank at the bar, 
and soon had a profitable practice. In his case he 
showed great perspicacity in discerning the point 
at issue, and adroitness in handling thepi. In the 
examinations of witnesses he exhibited consummate 
skill and tact, and in his addresses to juries he 
showed that he had inherited from his maternal 
ancestors that power of eloquence that has made 
many an Irish lawyer famous. In civil and crim- 
inal practice he was equally skillful. The class of 
business to which he was introduced as leading 
counsel often pitted him against such men as Mr. 



Christie, his old preceptor, and other hardly less 
distinguished men, but equipped as he was with wit 
and humor, and a consummate master of the art of 
oratory, he knew his powers and won success 
second to none of those with whom he contended. 
His practice was not long confined to Strafford 
county, but extended into the adjoining counties 
of Belknap, Carroll and Rockingham. 

As a man INIr. Hale "felt a sympathy for mankind, 
for the masses against the classes, as it is now ex- 
pressed. This sentiment showed itself early and 
was ever manifest in his action on great public ques- 
tions. He believed the people have rights, and never 
faltered in support of them, regardless of whoever 
or how many opposed him. In the early years of 
his professional life he had a spirited contest with 
Chief Justice Porter in the supreme court of New 
Hampshire over his claim of right of the jury to 
be judges of the law as well as the facts in criminal 
cases. In support of his theory on this question, he 
published a pamphlet which an eminent authority 
has said "contains well-nigh all the learning on a 
question of the deepest importance in its day, which 
has been substantially settled at last by the amel- 
iorations of the criminal law, the progress of so- 
ciety, and the growth of institutions of liberty. Al- 
though Mr. Hale was not distinguished for re- 
condite learning, this publication exhibited too com- 
plete a mastery of authorities to be dashed off at 
a sitting, too profound an argument to have been 
prepared in a day. This debate is chiefly interest- 
ing to-day as a proof that Mr. Hale had unquestion- 
ably devoted time in his early years to the study 
of the great books of the common law, to the history 
and development of English liberty, and was deeply 
grounded in its leading principles." Judge Parker's 
reply is contained in the report of the case of Peirce 
and others against the State in volume 13 of the 
New Hampshire Reports. 

Mr, Hale's reputation as a lawyer soon spread 
beyond the limits of his own state. When Shad- 
rach, a fugitive slave, was rescued in 1851 from 
the courthouse in Boston by Lewis, Hayden and 
others and sent to Canada, great excitement arose 
all over the country, and when the leaders in the 
rescue, Hayden and Scott, were brought to trial, 
Mr. Hale was their leading counsel. The character 
of the testimony was strongly against the defend- 
ants, as was also the charge of the presiding judge, 
but Mr. Hale's masterly speech for his clients, one 
of the most noted efforts of the times, so influ- 
enced the jury that they failed to agree, and the de- 
fendants were discharged. Three years later the 
case of Anthony Burns in Boston created still 
greater excitement. Theodore Parker, hearing of 
the arrest, with difficulty got access to the man, 
procured counsel for him and obtained a continu- 
ance of his case in order to allow him opportunity 
to make a defense. An immense meeting was held in 
Faneuil Hall to consider what the crisis required, 
and while it was in session a party stormed the 
jail where Burns was confined and attempted his 
rescue. In doing this one of the assistants of the 



1046 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



marshal having Burns in charge was killed. Public 
excitement over this act was at the highest tension ; 
the President ordered the adjutant general of the 
army to Boston, and United States troops in New 
York were kept under marching orders, ready to 
act in case they were needed to quell further riot- 
ous disturbances. Theodore Parker and others were 
indicted, some for murder, and others for assault 
and riot, mainly for the speeches made at the meet- 
ing at Faneuil Hall. Mr. Hale was called to take 
the place of leading counsel for the defendants, and 
under his management the indictments broke down, 
and the case was never called for trial. Theodore 
Parker prepared a "defense" in the case, and as 
there was no opportunity to avail himself of it in 
court, he published it with a dedication to his law- 
yer, John P. Hale. 

It is usual for young men who possess the gift 
of oratory and a power to influence their fellowraen 
to enter the political arena, and John P. Hale was 
no exception to the rule. His sympathetic nature 
and his love of justice and a square deal led him to 
became a candidate for the legislature in 1832, on 
a workingman's ticket. He was elected, but his 
position did not permit of his distinguishing him- 
self at that time. He soon afterwards became a 
supporter of the Democratic party, and in 1834, 
when twenty-eight years of age, was appointed by 
President Jackson United States district attorney. 
This position he filled with distinction until he was 
removed for political reasons by the Whig ad- 
ministration in 1841. 

Hitherto Mr. Hale had made the practice of 
law the chief aim of his life, and by his skill had 
won in the legal forum laurels that might well have 
been coveted by older and more experienced prac- 
titioners; but henceforth his time and his efforts 
were to be devoted to the solution of the great 
national problems that convulsed the commonwealth. 
His record to this time as a lawyer justifies the opin- 
ion that he would have been the peer of any law- 
yer at the American bar had he continued to prac- 
tice his profession. But he" chose another, and per- 
haps more useful course. Not only as a lawyer, 
but also as an orator, Mr. Hale's development had 
been rapid, and having now identified himself with 
the Democratic party his ability and his eloquence 
were called to its aid, and he became one of its most 
able supporters. In 1843 he was elected to the 
national house of representatives. In the opening 
days of the session, he entered freely into the debates, 
taking a very prominent stand as an advocate of 
Democratic principles, and attracting wide and ad- 
miring attention by his oratorical powers. Such 
was the character ' of his oratorical power that he 
was referred to as the "Democratic Boanerges," 
the "Granite State Cataract," and by other like ex- 
pressions. He proposed measures of retrenchment 
in regar.d to West Point, the army and the navy, and 
advocated the reduction in postage rates, and the_ 
abolition of corporal punishment in the army. June 
3, 1844, he moved the abolishment of flogging in 
the navy, and by his eloquence the measure was car- 



ried in the house, but it was lost in the senate. 
When congress assembled in December an exciting 
debate arose upon the question of continuing what 
was termed the gag rule, which required "that every 
petition, memorial, resolution, proposition or paper 
touching or relating in any way, or to any extent 
whatever, to slavery or the abolition thereof shall, 
on presentation, without any further action thereon, 
be laid on the table, without being debated, printed 
Or referred." This rule suppressed the right of 
petition if it in any way touched slavery and 
during the debate Mr. Hale, with Mr. Hamlin, of 
Maine, and a few other Democrats, avowed their 
opposition to it. Here appeared Mr. Hale's dis- 
position to think for himself, and act, when he saw 
fit, in opposition to party dictates. This was the be- 
ginning of his anti-slavery action in congress, his 
declaration of independence of the rights of any man 
or set or men to require him to act in opposition 
to the dictates of his conscience. The pursuit of 
this course brought him conspicuously before his 
fellow citizens as a national character. 

In the presidential campaign of 1844 Mr. Hale 
gave his efforts for the success of his party, and 
distinguished himself as a political speaker. The 
extension of slavery was a thing necessary for the 
continued political supremacy of the South, and 
the pro-slavery element of the Democratic party 
in that section led by John C. Calhoun and aided 
by President Tyler were using every effort to effect 
the annexation of the young republic of Texas to the 
United States, as slave territory. When this scheme 
fully developed it found opposition in the North. 
All the newspapers of New Hampshire opposed the 
extension of slavery, and in this they were in- 
dorsed by the leaders and by the masses of the 
party. But when, by the election of 1844, the South 
obtained complete control of the national councils 
and patronage, its influence was such that the Dem- 
ocratic newspapers and party leaders in New Hamp- 
shire obeyed the dictation of the dominant element 
in the South and ceased their opposition to the 
measure they so recently had condemned. The domi- 
nation of the slaveholders was so complete that at 
their dictation the Democratic party of New Hamp- 
shire reversed its course, and the legislature in 
December, 1844, passed resolutions instructing the 
state's senators and representatives in congress to 
vote for the annexation of Texas. Mr. Hale's op- 
position to the admission of Texas had been known 
at the time of his election, but as "obey or resign" 
had long been the Democratic doctrine in New 
Hampshire, it was expected he would act in accord- 
ance with the wishes of his his constituents. Con- 
gress assembled in December, 1844, and the advo- 
cates of annexation submitted several schemes for 
the consummation of their designs. On the loth of 
Januarj', 1845, Mr. Hale, evidently with no idea of 
breaking with his party, proceeded to act in accord- 
ance with the opinions he had all along entertained, 
and moved a suspension of the rules to enable him 
to introduce a proposition to divide Texas into 
, two parts, in one of which slavery should be for- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1047 



ever prohibited, but though this motion was carried 
by a majority it failed for want of a two-third vote. 
Mr. Hale was not following the instruction of 
his party in New Hampshire, and in order to vin- 
dicate himself, under date of July 7, 1845, he ad- 
dressed to his constituents his famous letter in 
which he justified his course, laid bare in no meas- 
ured terms the Texas scheme of annexing territory 
to perpetuate slavery, stigmatizing the reasons given 
by its advocates in its behalf as "eminently calcu- 
lated to promote the scorn of earth and the judg- 
ment of heaven," and thus appealed to the patriotic 
traditions of the men of the Granite State : "When 
our forefathers bade a last farewell to the homes 
of their childhood, the graves of their fathers, and 
the temples of their God, and ventured upon all 
the desperate contingencies of wintery seas and a 
savage coast, that they might in strong faith and 
ardent hope lay deep the foundations of the temple 
of liberty, their faith would have become skepti- 
cism, and their hope despair, could they have fore- 
seen that the day would ever arrive when their 
degenerate sons should be found seeking to extend 
their boundaries and their government, not for the 
purposes of promoting freedom, but sustaining 
slavery," and added that if his constituents were 
favorable to such a measure, they must choose an- 
other representative to carry out their wishes. Says 
Hon. Jacob H. Ela in his article on Hale in the 
Granite Monthly : "It was a great step to take and 
a less daring spirit would not have ventured it. 
Poor in property, with a family to support, tlie most 
popular man in his party, with power to command 
and ability to adorn anj' public position his am- 
bitions might seek on the one side, with alienation of 
social and political friends, ostracism in business and 
politics, by a party which had for sixteen years had 
unbroken sway and remorselessly cut down every 
man who dared to oppose its declared will on the 
others, were the alternatives. Few men have shown 
such greatness of soul and loyalty to convictions 
under such temptations. While most men would 
have yielded, Mr. Hale did not falter, but sent 
his letter which for a moment paralyzed political 
movements in New Hampshire, but was soon fol- 
lowed by a storm of condemnation and denuncia- 
tion from the party leaders. The Democratic state 
committee issued a call for the reassembling of the 
Democratic convention, February 12, 1845, and every 
Democratic paper that could be influenced to do 
so joined in denouncing Mr. Hale, and asking the 
convention to rebuke and silence him. The oppo- 
sition to him by officials seemed to be almost un- 
animous. Franklin Pierce, his college companion, 
and long time political associate and personal friend, 
toured the state to organize the opposition. At 
Dover, Portsmouth and Exeter, the Democratic 
papers and almost every one of the party leaders 
renounced all allegiance to John P. Hale and his 
anti-slavery principles. Mr. Hale had not taken 
this step without foreseeing the probable conse- 
quences, and now prepared to enter upon the prac- 
tice of his profession in New York. The convention 



met, the nomination of John P. Hale was rescinded, 
his name struck from the ticket and another sub- 
stituted. But his friends, of whom there were still 
a few among the leaders of the party, organized the 
first successful revolt against the slave power. 
While the election was pending Texas was annexed 
as slave territory, not in the usual manner by a 
treaty of annexation, the ratification of which would 
have required a two-thirds majority of the houses 
of congress, which the slave-holding element knew 
could not be got, but by joint resolution, which re- 
quired only a majority of votes, and was carried 
in the house by a vote of one hundred and thirty- 
four to seventy-seven, John P. Hale and Hannibal 
Hamlin alone among the Northern Democracy re- 
fusing to support the measure. This proceeding 
had a grave and sobering influence upon the minds 
of many of the more thoughtful and far-seeing 
Democrats of New Hampshire, and when the elec- 
tion was held, John Woodbury, who had been sub- 
stituted on the ticket for Mr. Hale, failed of elec- 
tion. Another election was necessary to fill the 
vacancy, and it was called. During the campaign 
just closed Mr. Hale had remained at his post in 
Washington. When the second canvass was opened, 
he appeared on the scene and by his magnetic pre- 
sence and convincing oratory infused a vigor and 
excitement into the contest that was felt in every 
hamlet throughout the state. The last election had 
come off March 11, 1845; this campaign opened at' 
Concord, in June following, on the week for the 
assembling of the legislature in the old North 
Church. An unusual assemblage of people was in 
town in attendance upon various religious and 
benevolent anniversaries. The Democrats, fearful 
of Hale's eloquence upon an audience so intelligent 
and conscientious, decided that he must be answered 
on the spot and selected Franklin Pierce as the only 
man at all fitted for such an encounter. The size of 
the audience taxed the capacity of the church to the 
utmost." 

The eloquent Colonel Hall in describing this 
event in his oration at the unveiling of the statue 
of Hale at Concord, August 3, 1892, said : "Mr. 
Hale spoke two hours, making a calm, dignified and 
effective vindication of his principles and conduct. 
Occasionally rudely interrupted, he never lost his 
temper, nor that splendid equanimity which availed 
him on so many occasions in debate. He rose to 
surprising eloquence in denunciation of slavery, and 
at the end it w'as manifest that whether they agreed 
with his conclusions or not, all were convinced that 
he had been actuated by pure motives and a high 
sense of public duty. Mr. Pierce was himself a 
nervous, energetic and brilliant orator, but. for the 
task set before him, he was handicapped by the in- 
consistencies of the Democratic record, and by 
Hale's glowing appeal to the nobler sentiments of 
humanity, lifting the plane of discussion entirely 
above the ordinary dead level. He replied to Mr. 
Hale in a passionate and imperious, not to say in- 
solent manner, accusing him of ambitious motives, 
and defending, as he only could, the party in power 



1048 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



for its efforts to extend the area of the republic by 
bringing the vast territory of Texas under its sway. 
The advantage in temper was very manifest, and 
wlien Mr. Hale had rejoined with a triumphant 
vindication of his own motives and purposes, he 
closed with this magnificent appeal: '1 expected to 
be called ambitious ; to have my name cast out as 
evil. I have not been disappointed. But, if things 
have come to this condition, that conscience and 
a sacred regard for truth and duty are to be publicly 
held up to ridicule, and scouted at without rebuke, 
as has just been done here, it matters little whether 
we are annexed to Texas or Texas is annexed to us. 
I may be permitted to say that the measure of my 
ambition will be full if, when my earthly career 
shall be finished and my bones be laid beneath the 
soil of New Hampshire, when my wife and children 
shall repair to my grave to drop a tear of affection 
to my memory, they may read on my tombstone, 
"He who lies beneath surrendered office, place and 
power, rather than bow down and worship slaveo'-" ' 
In the opinion of Mr. Hale's friends, his victory 
was indisputable. No debate in New Hampshire 
ever had such interest, and none results at all com- 
parable with it in importance. Beyond all doubt Mr. 
Pierce's efforts that day made him president of the 
United States, and Mr. Hale's led to the triumph 
of his party, whereby he became the first anti- 
slavery senator and the recognized pioneer cham- 
pion of the Free Soil movement. On the 23rd of 
September, 1845, t'^e third trial was held for the 
representatives in congress, resulting in a Demo- 
cratic defeat by about the same vote as before, the 
Hale men holding the balance of power between 
them and the Whigs. November 29, 1845, a fourth 
trial left the Democrats in a still more decisive 
minority, and then the final struggle for mastery 
in the state was postponed to the annual election, 
March 10, 1846. During the winter, Mr. Hale can- 
vassed the state again, everywhere the admired 
champion of a cause now manifestly advancing to 
certain triumph. The result was a complete over- 
throw of the party in power in New Hampshire, 
the Whigs and Independent Democrats together 
having both branches of the legislature, and a con- 
siderable majority of the popular vote, though there 
was no election of governor or congressman by 
the people. ^Ir. Hale was chosen a representative 
from Dover, and, by a coalition of Hale men and 
Whigs, was made speaker of the house, and on the 
gth of June, 1846, was chosen United States senator 
for the full term of six years, commencing March 
4, 1847." 

Mr. Hale's election was not merely a personal 
triumph of the man over his opponents, it was a 
great moral victory marking the beginning of the 
overthrow of the slave power. The ideas of Mr. 
Hale were now known to the intellegent people of 
the nation, and many advanced thinkers embraced 
the doctrines he advocated, and zealously propa- 
gated them. The state of New Hampshire was re- 
moved from the ranks of the supporters of the slave 
power and forever set in array against it. He took 



his seat in the senate, December 6, 1847, and for 
two years worked and struggled alone as an anti- 
slavery independent. In 1849 his principles bore 
fruit in Ohio, and Salmon P. Chase was sent to 
join him, and in 1S51, Charles Sumner, of Massa- 
chusetts, became the third of the trio of intellectual 
giants whose voices no power could silence, and 
whose influence no opposition could control. He 
entered into the business of the senate as he had 
that of the house, boldly, as one having a right to 
be there and a mission to fulfill. He stood alone. 
"Every means of silencing him was resorted to, 
threats, insults, sneers, ridicule, derision. He was 
treated with studied contempt by the South, and 
with cold neglect by the North.'' He was denied, 
says Colonel Hall, "the common courtesy of a place 
on senatorial committees, being told publicly by a 
senator who was afterward expelled from the body 
for disloyalty, that he was considered outside of 
any healthy political organization in the country.'' 
But in the face of all this he persevered as one 
conscious of the greatness of the work he now 
seems to have been specially appointed to execute. 
In 1848, when the question of the admission of 
Oregon was under discussion, he proposed as an 
amendment the '.vdinance of 1787 excluding slavery, 
which brought up a fierce debate. He was accused 
of provoking a "useless and pestiferous discussion." 
To this he good naturedly replied that he was "will- 
ing to stand where the word of God and his con- 
science placed him, and there bid defiance to conse- 
quences." 

A mob demonstration against the office of the 
National Era in Washington was the occasion of a 
debate in the senate, during the progress of which 
Mr. Hale introdiiced a resolution copied from the 
laws of Maryland, providing for the reimburse- 
ment of persons whose property should be destroyed 
by mobs. In the controversy which followed Sen- 
ator John C. Calhoun said he "would as soon argue 
with a maniac from Bedlam as with the senator 
from New Hampshire on this subject." INIr. Hale's 
reply to Mr. Calhoun's attack was spirited, as would 
be expected, and in closing he said to Calhoun that 
his was "a novel mode of terminating a controversy 
by charitably throwing the mantle of a maniac's 
irresponsibility upon one's antagonist." In this debate 
Mr. Foote, of Mississippi, after many insulting ex- 
pressions, and denouncing j\Ir. Hale's bill as "ob- 
viously intended to cover and protect negro steal- 
ing," turned to Mr. Hale and said: "I invite him 
to visit the good state of Mississippi in which I have 
the honor to reside, and will tell him beforehand in 
all honesty, that he could not go ten miles into the 
interior before he would grace one of the tallest 
trees of the forest with a rope around his neck, 
with the approbation of every virtuous and patriotic 
citizen; and that, if necessary, I should myself as- 
sist in the operation." To this Air. Hale replied: 
"One senator invited me to visit the state of Missis- 
sippi, and kindly informs me that he would be one of 
those who w^ottld act the assassin, and put an end to 
my career. * * * Well, in return for his hospit- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1049 



able invitation, I can only express the desire that he 
should penetrate into one of the 'dark corners' of 
New Hampshire, and, if he do, I am much mistaken 
if he would not find that the people in that 'be- 
nighted region' would be happy to listen to his 
arguments, and engage in an intellectual conflict 
with him, in which the truth might be elicited." 
The nobility of this reply was in great contrast to 
the ruffianism of the assault, which consigned Sen- 
ator Foote to the pillory of history with a nickname 
bestowed upon him by the public which will never 
be forgotten while he is remembered. 

Believing with Daniel Webster that the war with 
Me.xico was "an iniquitous war made in order to 
obtain, by conquest, slave territory," he opposed 
all the measures pursued in prosecuting it. In 
December, 1849, Mr. Foote introduced a resolution 
declaring it to be the duty of congress to provide 
territorial government for California, Deseret and 
New Mexico. Mr. Hale offered an amendment 
that the ordinance of 1787 should be applied. Dur- 
ing the debate which followed, Daniel Webster 
made his 7th of JNIarch speech. Mr. Hale occupied two 
days in an elaborate argument, vindicating the 
principles, measures and acts of anti-slavery men. 
This is said to have been the most powerful of his 
senatorial efforts. In it he analyzed in a masterly 
manner Mr. Webster's speech, grappling resolutely 
with its morality, statesmanship and policy. Among 
other things he said : "The senator declares he 
would not re-enact the laws of God. Well, Sir, 
I would, when he tells nic the law of God is 
against slavery. It is a most patent argument why 
we should incorporate it in a territorial bill." His 
peroration was a brilliant presentation of the prin- 
ciples and aims of the Free Soil party. 

In the midst of his struggle to abolish slavery, 
he did not lose an opportunity to ameliorate the 
condition of the nation's defenders. While in the 
senate he introduced a bill for the abolition of 
flogging in the navy similar to the bill he had pro- 
posed in the house. After repeated defeats his 
measure was carried as a part of the appropriation 
bill in 1852. Twelve years later he secured the 
abolition of the spirit ration. For each cf these 
measures his name deserves much honor. Senator 
Hale's position as the sole representative of the 
Free Soil party in the American senate, where the 
contest over slavery waged so fiercely fo.r years, 
has made that part of his life of greatest interest 
to the student of history. The record of his un- 
daunted, persistent and ultimately successful on- 
slaught upon the slave power, possesses an interest 
to the friends of human freedom second to that in 
another epoch in the history of the constitutional 
period of America. His manliness, courage and 
nobility of character entitled him to respect and 
compelled attention; and with logic, wit, ridicule, 
sarcasm, humor and brilliant repartee he maintained 
himself against all opponents, and saw his cause 
daily grow stronger, where a man of ordinary ability 
and less fertile in expedient would have been over- 
whelmed. When his term expired the Democratic 
party had obtained control of New Hampshire, but 



in 1855 the death of Charles G. Atherton left a 
vacancy in the senate, to which Mr. Hale was elec- 
ted, and he served the remaining four years. In 
1858 he was again re-elected for a full term. 

He was nominated as a Free Soil candidate for 
the presidency in 1847, but declined after the nomi- 
nation of Martin Van Buren by the Democrats in 
1848. He was again nominated for president by 
the Free Soil party with George W. Julian for vice- 
president, at Pittsburg, in 1852, and received at 
the election one hundred and fifty-five thousand, 
eight hundred and fifty votes. He closed his sena- 
torial career in 1865 and was appointed by Mr. 
Lincoln minister to Spain, where he served five 
years, much of the time in ill health. In 1870 he 
returned to his home and never afterwards held 
official position. He had lived to see the efforts suc- 
cessful which he had made for the emancipation of 
a race of slaves. With so great a triumph he had 
reason to be satisfied. 

John P. Hale married Lucy H. Lambert, a 
daughter of William T. and Abigail (Ricker) Lam- 
bert, the former of Rowley, Jilassachusetts, and the 
latter of Somersworth. They had two daughters, 
one of whom married Edward V. Kinsley, of West 
Point, New York, and the youngest, Lucy L. Hale, 
married William E. Chandler, of Concord, New 
Hampshire. They have one son who is named John 
P. Hale Chandler, and is now a senior of Harvard 
University. 



The name of Williams is of ancient 
WILLIAMS Welsh origin, and has become one 

of the most prolific names in Great 
Britain and America. In Wales it was formerly Ap 
Williams, and it is worthy of note that Morgan ap 
Williams, of Glamorganshire, gentleman, married 
a sister of Lord Thomas Cromwell, afterward Earl 
of Essex, who was an ancestor of the famous Pur- 
itan reformer, Oliver Cromwell. The family now 
in hand is the posterity of the Glamorganshire Wil- 
liamses just mentioned, and Roger Williams, the 
founder of Providence, Rhode Island, was also 
descended from the same source. 

(I) Richard Williams, who was born in Gla- 
morganshire, Wales, about the year 1599, emigrated 
to New England in 1632, and went to Taunton, 
Massachusetts, as one of its original settlers in 
1637. He became one of the original proprietors of 
Dighton, and was also among those who made the 
North Purchase (so called), which included the 
present towns of Easton, Norton and Mansfield, 
and a part of Attleboro. He was deputy to the 
general court of the Plymouth colony in 1646-48-50- 
51, and several years subsequent, and he outlived 
the Plymouth government, his death having oc- 
curred at Taunton in 1692. He left a good estate, 
which is still in the possession of his descendants. 
In local history he is sometimes referred to as the 
"Father of Taunton." He married Frances Dighton, 
a native of Somersetshire, England, and a sister 
of the first wife of Governor Endicott. She was the 
titular founder of the town of Dighton. Richard 



io;o 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Williams was tlie father of nine children. (N. B. 
The posterity of this emigrant is numerous and 
among the more notable of his descendants were 
Hon. John Mason Williams, an eminent jurist of 
Massachusetts ; General Seth Williams, of Augusta, 
Maine, a graduate of the United States Military 
Academy at West Point and a distinguished officer 
in the Mexican war; Hon. Reul Williams, of Au- 
gusta; and Hon. Lemuel Williams, member of con- 
gress from Massachusetts). 

(H) Benjamin, son of Richard and Frances 
(Dighton) Williams, resided in Easton, Massachu- 
setts. 

(III) Jacob, son of Benjamin Williams, settled 
in Bridgewater, Massachusetts. 

(IV) Seth, son of Jacob Williams, was born in 
Bridgewater, May 21, 1722. At the age of eighteen 
years he went to Easton, where he acquired title 
to one thousand acres of land from the Colonial 
government, and he erected a substantial dwelling- 
house which is, or was recently, still in a good 
state of preservation. May 21, 1750, he married 
Susannah Forbes, born in Bridgewater, May 26, 
1732. 

(V) Edward, eldest child of Seth and Susannah 
(Forbes) Williams, was born in Easton, January 28, 
1751. He inherited the homestead and occupied it 
for the remainder of his life. His wife, whom he 
married December 3, 1772, was Sarah Lothrop, born 
at Bridgewater, in November, l/SS- 

(VI) Lieutenant Seth Williams, son of Edward 
and Sarah (Lothrop) Williams, was born at the 
homestead in Easton, January 29, 1776. He suc- 
ceeded to the possession of the homestead in turn, 
and in connection with farming carried on a tannery. 
He served in the War of 1812-15. His death oc- 
curred at Easton, in November, 185 1. In the year 
1800 he married Sarah Mitchell, daughter of Col- 
onel Abial Mitchell, a native of Bridgewater, who 
participated in the Revolutionary war and for 
several years represented Easton in the Massachu- 
setts legislature. She became the mother of eight 
children. 

(VII) Hon. Charles Williams, third son of 
Lieutenant Seth and Sarah (^Mitchell) Williams, 
was born in Easton, August i, 1816. His educa- 
tional opportunities were confined to the district 
school system then in vogue, but his subsequent 
business career discloses the fact that he made good 
use of his limited advantages for study. When 
eighteen years old he began an apprenticeship at 
the iron-moulder's trade in the foundry of the 
Easton Iron Works, then owned and operated by 
General Shepherd Leach, and was to receive as 
compensation twenty-five dollars the first year, fifty 
for the second, and seventy-five for the third, and 
one hundred and twenty-five dollars for the fourth 
year. This contract was subsequently annulled by 
the death of General Leach, but young Williams 
continued with the succeeding proprietor, Lincoln 
Drake, until the financial panic of 1837 caused a 
general suspension of industrial activities through- 
out New England. .Attracted by the inducements 



oft'ered by the middle west, he went to Illinois and 
purchased several hundred acres of land in the im- 
mediate vicinity of Springfield with the intention 
of engaging in farming, but owing to the long 
distance to market, together with the inadequate 
means of transportation existing prior to the advent 
of railroads, he at length became convmced that the 
outlook for agricultural prosperity in that section 
was discouraging and accordingly returned to Mass- 
achusetts. Resuming his trade in North Chelms- 
ford he remained there some years, and for the en- 
suing three years was employed at the Amoskeag 
foundry in Manchester, New Hampshire. His am- 
bition for advancement was, however, unchecked 
by his western experience, and with full confidence 
in his ability to attain success in the iron industry, 
he diligently sought for the most desirable location, 
which he ultimately found in Nashua. In 1845 Mr. 
Williams and his elder brother, Seth, became asso- 
ciated under the firm name of S. & C. Williams, 
and erecting a building in Nashua one hundred feet 
long by eighty feet wide, they engaged in the 
foundry business, commencing with a force of 
twenty-five workmen and making an excellent start. 
Four years later, July 2,- 1849, the foundry was de- 
stroyed by fire, causing a t(>tal loss of forty thou- 
sand dollars, which was not covered by insurance, 
and although the blow was a severe one, the young 
men displayed their courage and energy to a re- 
markable degree by taking steps on the very day 
of the fire to replace the demolished wooden 
building with a substantial brick structure. In 1859 
Mr. Williams became sole proprietor of the estab- 
lishment through the withdrawal of his brother 
from the firm, and he conducted the business alone 
for the remainder of his active life. In addition 
to the iron works, which continued to e.xpand un- 
der his energetic management until an average force 
of one hundred and twenty-five men was necessary 
in order to adequately keep pace with constantly 
increasing demands, he was quite extensively in- 
terested in financial affairs, having been instru- 
mental in organizing the Second National Bank, 
of which he served as vice-president for many years. 
Shortly after the incorporation of Nashua as a 
city (1853), Mr. Williams was chosen a member 
of the common council. In 1876 he was elected 
mayor, and his administration of the city's public 
business was of such a character as to cause his 
re-election by a much larger majority than that 
which had been accorded him the previous year. 
During his term of office he was called upon to 
receive and entertain, in behalf of the city, President 
Hayes and the members of his cabinet, which he 
did in a most cordial and hospitable manner, and 
the public reception held by Mrs. Hayes at the 
mayor's residence was an elaborate and exceedingly 
interesting function. As a progressive business 
man and public-spirited citizen, he participated ac- 
tively in developing the natural resources of 
Nashua, and he lived to see the city attain the impor- 
tance as an industrial center which it now enjoys. 
His death occurred May 9, 1894. Mr. Williams 




'~3^:h^r- NY 




:£x^ZWz. /jciua.pyi^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



105 1 



was a Master Mason and a member of Rising 
Sim Lodge. In liis religions belief he was a Con- 
gregationalist. 

He married, September 21, 1846, Eliza A. Wes- 
ton, born May 15, 1824, wlio survives him. She is 
a daughter of Captain Southwick and Sarah (Mc- 
Cauley) Weston, of Antrim, this state, and is widely 
known as a lady of culture who has devoted much 
of her life to charitable work and to the interests 
of the First Congregational Church. Mr. and Mrs. 
Williams reared three children, namely: Seth Wes- 
ton, M. D., deceased, see succeeding article; Charles 
Alden, born August 18, 1851, died March 11, 1887; 
and Marion Eliza, born March 4, 1854. Charles 
Alden Williams, who was a graduate of Phillips 
(Andover) Academy and of the Massachusetts In- 
stitute of Technology, succeeded to his father's 
business. He married, October 26, 1881, Kate N. 
Piper, who died January 4, 1885, leaving one son, 
Charles, born December 13, 1884, a graduate of 
Princeton. Marion E. Williams, who was gradu- 
ated from the Nashua high school and from Madam 
Porter's school for young ladies in Farraington, 
Connecticut, was married, November 8, 187S, to 
Herbert Allen Viets, of Milwaukee, Wisconsin; 
they have one daughter, Edith Marion, born No- 
vember 8, 1883. She married, June 10, 1907, Harold 
Bowen, of Newton, Massachusetts. John Weston, 
an ancestor of Eliza A. (Weston) Williams, born 
1630, came from Wing, England, where he mar- 
ried Marie Sanders. Mrs. Williams is a descendant 
of Lawrence and Cassandra Southwick (on the 
grandmother's side), who were among the first per- 
secuted Quakers. 

(VIII) Seth Weston Williams, A. B., M. D., 
eldest son and child of Hon. Charles and Eliza a! 
(Weston) Williams, was born in Nashua, April 
15, 1849. His early education "was acquired in the 
public schools of Nashua, including the high school. 
He was prepared for college at Phillips (Andover) 
Academj^ took his bachelor's degree at Yale Uni- 
versity, with the class of 1873, and received that 
of Doctor of Medicine from the Bellevue Hospital 
Medical School, Nev/ York City, in 1876. These 
professional preparations were supplemented by 
post-graduate studies abroad, including courses in 
the German classics and microscopy at the Uni- 
versity of Heidelberg, the latter in the laboratory 
of Professor Arnold, and he studied with Virchow 
in Berlin, and was for a time a student in the gen- 
eral hospital at Vienna. At Bellevue he won the 
Flint prize in physiology and successfully competed 
for the Sayre prize, presenting an unusually bril- 
liant and scholarly thesis on "The Etiology and 
Pathology of Potts Disease." At the conclusion of 
his senior services at Bellevue Hospital, in 1879, he 
was assigned to the third medical division and was 
to have begun his duties as regular house physician 
on October i, of that year, but while visiting friends 
m Portland, Maine, he was stricken with a severe 
attack of congestion of the brain, which resulted 
fatally on September 20, 1879, at Portland, Maine. 
The untmiely end of a professional career so full of 



promise for immediate success was the cause of gen- 
uine regret among his instructors and classmates, and 
his bereaved parents received many touching mes- 
sages deploring the sad event. That from Phillips 
Academy, Andover, states that "Seth's fine mental 
and moral culture, his lofty character and splendid 
attainments led us to expect great things of him." 
Professor Louis Sayre's feelings were expressed 
thus : "I was grieved beyond the power of language 
to express, to learn of the death of your brilliant 
son. I had formed a most profound professional 
regard for him, and looked forward with pleasure 
to his distinguished promotion. Life and health 
were all that he required to reach the highest dis- 
tinction in his profession." The record of the class 
of 1873 at Yale contained the following: "To his 
preparation of his life work Mr. Williams brought 
a capacity and zeal which gave ample promise of 
success. Purity of thought and action were the 
silent forces that drew about him a large number of 
friends." 

(Second Family.) 

(I) William Williams, the immigrant ancestor, 
came from Wales as early as 1637, when, according 
to Felt, he was a grantee of land at Salem. In 
1641 he was in the employ of John Humphrey, at 
Lynn. Soon afterward he removed to Oyster Bay 
River, or Dover, New Hampshire. He had a grant 
of land in Dover in 1653 and bought land there of 
John Goddard in 1659. He was a taxpayer of 
Dover from 1657 to 1668. He had one son, Will- 
iam, mentioned below. 

(II) William (2), son of William (i) Will- 
iams, was born about 1640. He married Margaret 
Stevenson, daughter of Thomas Stevenson. Chil- 
dren, born at Dover : William, born December 22, 
1662; John. March 30, 1664; Elizabeth. October 25, 
1665: Samuel, mentioned below; perhaps others. 

(III) Samuel, son of William (2) Williams, 
was born in Dover, New Hampshire, about 1670. 
He married Elizabeth Stevenson, daughter of 
Bartholomew Stevenson. Children : Samuel, Jr., 
born about 1700, mentioned below. Probably others. 

(IV) Samuel (2), son of Samuel (i) Williams, 
was born about 1700. in Dover or vicinity. He re- 
sided in Barrington, New Hampshire, and late in 
life probably at Enfield. He married Anne Bum- 
ford: children: William, taxed at Enfield in 1790; 
Robert, mentioned below ; Asa, was taxpayer in 
Enfield in 1790. 

(V) Robert, son of Samuel (2) Williams, was 
born about 1740-50. He lived at Barrington. New 
Hampshire, at the time of his marriage. Before 
1790 he removed to Enfield, New Hampshire, and 
when the national census was taken Robert. .Asa and 
William Williams had families in Enfield. Robert 
had three sons under sixteen and one daughter in 
1790. He married, January 13. 1777, Sarah Pink- 
ham, also of Barrington. Among their children was 
Stephen, mentioned below. 

(VI) Stephen, son of Robert Williams, was 
born in Canaan or Enfield, New Hampshire, in 
17S9. and died November 6, 1S53. He married 
Elizabeth Longfellow, born June 10, 1785, at Byfield, 



I052 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Massachusetts, and died March 12, 1S43, at Canaan, 
where he was a farmer. She was a direct de- 
scendant of William Longfellow, of Byfield, a dis- 
tinguished soldier of the Revolution. Children, 
born in Canaan : Lorenzo, William, Abraham, Sam- 
uel, mentioned below ; Stephen, Susan, Marj-. 

(VII) Samuel, son of Stephen Williams, was 
born in Canaan. May iS. 1820, and died at Enfield, 
February 4. 187S. He married, in 1848, Ursula 
Day, born in Enfield, November 6, 1829, died Feb- 
ruary 9. 1904. He was brought up on his father's 
farm, and his early education received in a small 
district school supplemented by a few terms at 
Canaan Union Academy. He taught in the district 
schools of Canaan and adjoining towns for several 
terms. When he was twenty-five years old he went 
to Utica, Mississippi, to teach in the public schools 
and remained two years. He returned to Canaan 
and settled down on the homestead after his mar- 
riage in 1848. In 1857 he sold the farm and re- 
moved to Enfield, again following the profession of 
teaching, also conducting a farm. In March, 1861, 
he was elected chairman of the board of selectmen 
of Enfield and filled the position with credit and 
efficiency until he resigned in the fall of that year 
to enlist as a private in Company C of the Seventh 
New Hampshire Regiment. His company was mus- 
tered into the service of the United States and he 
was commissioned second lieutenant, dating from 
November 15. 1861 ; was promoted to first lieuten- 
ant April 29, 1862. The severe service and debilitat- 
ing climate of Florida and South Carolina, where 
the regiment had been stationed, caused a heart 
trouble to develop which finally resulted in his death. 
He had to resign his commission July 23, 1862, and 
return home. He partly recovered in 1865 and was 
able to engage in business in the firm of Dodge. 
Davis & Williams, in Enfield, in the manufacture of 
flannels and hosiery. The firm occupied the old 
Shaker Mills at Enfield. In 1875 he retired from 
active business. He was a Republican in politic* 
and prominent in public life. In 1870 he repre- 
sented the town in the state legislature, and in 1871 
and 1S72 was chairman of the board of selectmen. 
He died February 4, 1878. Children of Samuel and 
Ursula (Day) Williams; Abbie Jeanette, Lewis 
Melville, Miriam Elizabeth, Susan Augusta, Henry 
Herbert, and Frank Burton, mentioned below. 

(VIII) Frank Burton, son of Samuel Williams, 
was bcrn in Enfield, New Hampshire, November 
29, 1864, He was educated in the district schools 
of Enfield, at the a,gricultural college at Hanover, 
New Hampshire, and at the New Hampton Acad- 
emy. New Hampton. New Hampshire. He was a 
clerk in a store in Enfield for a time, and later 
bought out the business, which he has conducted 
under his own name since, with uninterrupted suc- 
cess. He has a stock of general merchandise in 
connection with a drug store. He is a Republican 
in politics ; is serving his second term as postmaster 
and is town treasurer. He is a prominent Free 
Mason. He married, June 23, 1897, Grace Elwin 
Parker, daughter of Captain John Parker, of 



Gloucester, Massachusetts. Children, born in En- 
field: John Parker, born June 2, 1898; Samuel 
Longfellow, April 24, 1902. 



This family is descended from Philip 
STORRS du Storrs, who accompanied William 

the Conqueror into England in 1066. 
as the records in the College of Archives in London 
show. A village near Sheffield, England, is said to 
be named from the family, as is also the celebrated 
Storrs Hall, in Lancashire, near Lake Windermere, 
this being an ancient stone castle- held by the repre- 
sentative of the Storrs family since the fifteenth 
century. The family has produced several distin- 
guished members. Admiral Johtu Storrs. com- 
mander of the red squadron of the British navy, in 
the Mediterranean sea. was buried in Westminster 
Abbey in 1733. Emory A. Storrs, of Chicago, was 
one of the most distinguished lawyers at the Amer- 
ican bar. Nearly all of the name in America have 
descended from the immigrant Samuel. From him 
have descended a line of clergymen to this day. 
Twelve members of the Storrs family were in the 
Revolution, which was a large number then, as the 
family was small in America. Members of this 
family gave six hundred acres of land to Dartmouth 
College. 

(I) William Storrs was a resident of Sutton 
CHiii Lcund. Nottinghamshire. England. His wall 
was proved at York, October 6, 1557. His wife's 
name is not given. He had one or more children. 

(II) Robert, son of William Storrs, raised a 
family of children, among whom was "Cordall." 
Robert's will was proved at York, February 5, 1588. 

(III) Cordall Storrs seems to have followed 
the same occupation and lived in the same place as 
his father, as is the custom in the old settled coun- 
tries of Europe. His will was proved October 10, 
1616, at York. 

(IV) Thomas Storrs and his wife. Mary, who 
resided at Sutton-cum Lound. Nottinghamshire, 
England, in the first half of the seventeenth cen- 
tury, had at least four children and perhaps more. 

(V) Samuel, sometimes called Sir Samuel, 
fourth son and child of Thomas and Mary Storrs, 
was baptized at Sutton, December 7. 1640. a year 
made memorable in history by the opening of the 
famous long parliament, wherein developed the op- 
position of the Commons to the arbitrary acts of 
King Charles the First, which culminated in the 
trial and execution of that monarch. In 1663 he 
emigrated to New England, settling first at Barn- 
stable on Cape Cod, where he remained for thirty- 
five years, and in 1698 he removed to Connecticut. 
He and his only son, Samuel, were among the first 
proprietors of Mansfield, which was originally a 
part of Windham, and records show that the first 
recorded title to land in the new settlement of Mans- 
field was given in the year 1700 by parties in Nor- 
wich to Samuel Storrs. .\llusions to him in the 
early town records make it quite clear that he was 
both prominent and influential in civil and religious 
affairs. His death occurred April 30, 1719. and his 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1053 



remains were interred in the South Parish hurial 
ground, which was laid out in i6g6 at wdiat was 
then known as the "Ponde- Place," and is the oldest 
cemetery in Tolland county. Tradition asserts that 
he was large of stature and exceedingly prepossessing 
in his personal appearance. His first wife, whom 
he married. in Piarnstable, December 6, 1666, was 
Mary Huckins. horn March 29, 1646, daughter of 
Thomas Huckins, and she died September 24, 1683. 
December 14, 1685, he married for his second wife, 
Estlier Egard, who was born in 1641, and died .^pril 
13- 1730. The children of his first union were: 
Mary. Sarah, Hannah, Elizabeth, Samuel and Lydia. 
Those of his second marriage were : Thomas. 
Esther and Cordial. (Thomas and descendants are 
mentioned in this article). 

(VI) Samuel (2), fifth child and only son of 
Samuel (l) and IMary (Huckins) Storrs, was born 
in Barnstable, May 17, 1677. He was a prominent 
resident of the South Parish of Mansfield, an indus- 
trious, capable and useful citizen, and a member of 
the First Church. He died August 9, 1727, and on 
his footstone, in addition to his name, is the follow- 
ing Latin inscription : "Mors Omnia Vincit." Oc- 
tober 31, 1700, he married Martha Burge, who was 
born in 1671, and died September 3, 1728. Their 
children were: Samuel, John, Huckins, Joseph, 
Martha, Elizabeth and Mary, 

(Vn) Major Joseph Storrs, fourth son and 
child of Samuel (2) and Martha (Burge) Storrs, 
was born in Mansfield, March 8, 1711-12. Being 
but sixteen years old when his father died the Rev. 
Eleazer Williams was. at his request, appointed his 
guardian. He eventually acquired a substantial for- 
tune, becoming the largest real estate owner in the 
North Parish, where he established his residence, 
and he erected, just east of the Congregational 
Church, the most pretentious dwelling house in 
North Mansfield, using in its construction timber 
of unusual size and strength, a fact whi'ch came to 
light when the building was torn down. He was 
not only active and influential in the affairs of his own 
town, but rendered valuable aid in establishing new 
communities, being one of the original proprietors 
of Hanover, New Hampshire, and the first gather- 
ing of the Mansfield proprietors of that town took 
place probably at his house, in 1761. He was one 
of the early benefactors of Dartmouth College, hav- 
ing contributed to that institution one hundred and 
ten acres of land, and in other ways he emphasized 
his interest in the advancement of civilization and 
education. He too possessed a large well-developed 
figure, and his statuesque appearance was made still 
more attractive by a quiet, unaflfected manner, 
which upon all occasions retained its accustomed 
dignity and complacency. Major Storrs died Octo- 
ber 5, 17S5. He was first married May I, 173S. to 
Haimah Porter, probably a daughter of Deacon Ex- 
perience Porter, and she died August 29. 1741. Of 
this union there v.as one child, Hannah, w'ho died 
in infancy. He was again married in 1743 to Ex- 
perience Gurley, who was born in 1725, daughter of 
Samuel Gurley, then of Coventry, Connecticut, but 



later of Mansfield. Her deatli occurred June 9, 
1767. She bore him nine children, namely: Eunice, 
Mary, Hannah, Experience, Joseph, Cordial, Wil- 
liam. .Augustus and Royal. 

(Vni) Augustus, fourth son and eighth child 
of Major Joseph and Experience XGurley) Storrs, 
was born in Mansfield, December 18, 1762. Instead 
of availing himself of the privilege of entering 
Dartmouth College oflfered him by his father, he 
declined in favor of his brother William, and 
turned his attention to agriculture. Accompanied 
by his wife he journeyed on horseback from Mans- 
field to Hanover, and settling there as a pioneer 
cleared a large farm, which in due time became ex- 
ceedingly productive. He was prominently identi- 
fied W'ith the early growth of the town and the de- 
velopment of its agricultural resources, was for 
many years a leading spirit in its public affairs, 
serving as a selectman, and acting as a justice of 
the peace, and for a period of elcveti years repre- 
sented Hanover in the state legislature. Naturally 
energetic and persevering, scrupulously honorable in 
his dealings, and possessing the requisite amount of 
courage and intelligence to conquer the numerous 
emergencies which invariably obstruct the progress 
of a pioneer, he was eminently fitted for the task of 
building up a community, and his efforts in that di- 
rection are worthy of the highest commendation. 
In addition to the striking personalities of his an- 
cestors he inherited many of their most coinniend- 
able characteristics as well, and it has been said of 
him t^iiat although he was a man of few words, those 
he chose to utter always had a meaning, and while 
in his outward appearance he was somewhat stern 
he possessed a tender heart, which not unfre- 
quently prompted him to kindly acts of generosity 
and benevolence. .Augustus Storrs died in Han- 
over, August 7. 1838. He was married March 6, 
1788. to Emma Forbes, who was born July 8, 1764. 
She was in every way a model housewife, and al- 
though constantly occupied with the many duties 
devolving upon her, including the spinning and 
weaving of woolen and linen cloth with which the 
family were clothed, and tlie making of butter and 
cheese, in which she was an expert, she, neverthe- 
less, found time to seek out those in need of assist- 
ance and dispensed her charity with a liberal hand. 
Mrs. Emma Storrs was the mother of children, 
namely: Libeus, Augustus, Lucy (became the wife 
of John Goodell, of Lyme, New Hampshire), Nancy 
(married Eli Barnes), Fanny, Percy (died in in- 
fancy), Polly (became the wife of Agrippa Dow. of 
Hanover), Daniel, Adna, and Laura (who married 
David Hurlbert, of Hanover). Libeus settled in El- 
bridge. Ohio. Augustus became largely interested in 
trade between Missouri and Mexico early in the last 
century, and in 1825 furnished the LTnited States sen- 
ate, at the request of Hon. Thomas Benton, soine val- 
uable statistics relative to our commercial inter- 
course with that country. 

(IX) .-Xdna, fifth son and ninth child of Augus- 
tus and Emina (Forbes) Storrs. was born in Han- 
over, O'ctolier 6. iSOt. Succeeding to the owner- 



I054 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ship of the homestead propert3-. containing three 
hundred and twenty acres, he devoted his energies 
almost exclusively to agriculture and was for many 
years one of the substantial farmers of Hanover. 
He was an upright, conscientious man, a useful cit- 
izen and an earnest supporter of religious and 
benevolent work, being a member of the Church of 
Christ at Dartmouth College. He was quite largely 
interested in the Hanover National Bank, and at 
the time of his death, which occurred March S, 18S4, 
he was one of the oldest directors of that institution. 
In politics he was originally a Whig and later a Re- 
publican. October 28, 1835, he married Asenath 
Goodell, a native of Lyme, daughter of Luther and 
Martha (Waterman) Goodell. The children of this 
union are : Augustus, born August 25, 1836, mar- 
ried Fanny D. Clark. Helen Frances, born April 
17, 1838, became the wife of Rev. E. J. Alden. Ed- 
ward Payson, who will be again referred to. Laura 
Asenath, born December 12, 1850. became the wife 
of J. H. Foster, of Hanover. 

(X) Edward Payson, second son and third 
child of Adna and Asenath (Goodell) Storrs, was 
born in Hanover, May 18, 1842. He was educated 
in the public schools, including the high school in 
Lyme, and at the Kimball Union Academy, Meriden, 
New Hampshire. His business training was began 
in a country store at East Lyme, and continued in 
the store of Major L O. Dewey, in which the post- 
office was located. Going to Ohio he was employed 
as a telegraph operator on the Marietta & Cincin- 
nati Railroad for a year, at the expiration of which 
time he became a conductor and continued in that 
capacity some three or four years. Returning to 
Hanover in 1865 he opened a general store in part- 
nership with H. H. Clough, which under the firm 
name' of Clough & Storrs was carried on for some 
time, and in 1S72 he succeeded by purchase to the 
business of the Claremont Stationery Company, 
which necessitated his removal to that town. In 
1878 he again sought for a business opening in Han- 
over and established the Hanover Stationery Com- 
pany which he conducted for six years, or until sell- 
ing out in 1884. He then inaugurated his present 
business known as the Dartmouth Book Store and 
has built up a profitable trade in books, stationery, 
etc.. employing three clerks and transacting a busi- 
ness of from thirty to forty thousand dollars an- 
nually. 

Mr. Storrs is one of the leading Republicans of 
Hanover, and an active participant in local public 
affairs, having served as a selectman for fifteen 
years and chairman cf the board for ten years: was 
representative to the legislature in 1902-03, being 
assigned to the committee on insurance, and for the 
past three years has been precinct commissioner. 
Besides these valuable public services he has filled 
for many years the position of trustee and auditor 
of the local savings bank, was one of the pro- 
moters of the Hanover Water Works Company and 
is now its superintendent. He is well advanced in 
the Masonic Order, belonging to Franklin Lodge 
and St. Andrews Chapter, of Lebanon, and Sullivan 



Coniniandery. Knights Templar, of Claremont. He 
attends the Church of Christ. 

On June i, 1869, Mr. Storrs married Juliette 
English Steele, who was born in Lyme. May 12, 
1845. daughter of David and Harriet (Southard) 
Steele, both of whom were natives of that town. 
Mr. and Mrs. Storrs are the parents of six children, 
namely : Mary Louise, a graduate of Abbott Acad- 
emj', Andover, Massachusetts, and now a teacher in 
the high school at Medford, that state. Caroline, 
also a graduate of .Abbott Academy and now the 
wife of Dr. George H. Parker, of Wells River, Ver- 
mont. Adna, wdio attended Kimball Union Acad- 
emy, Meriden, spent two years at Dartmouth Col- 
lege -and is now assisting his father in business. 
Edward Payson, Jr., who was graduated at Dart- 
mouth in 1900, pursued a post-graduate course there 
and is now with Sears, Roebuck & Company, Chi- 
cago. Harriet A., a graduate of the Hanover high 
school and Mount Holyoke Seminary. Harry C, 
a student at Dartmouth, class of 1907, who will also 
pursue the regular course at the medical depart- 
ment. Mrs. Storrs is an active member of the 
Church of Christ. 

(VI) Thomas, eldest son of Samuel and Esther 
(Egard) Storrs, resided in Mansfield and died in 
that town, April, 1755. He married, March 14. 1708, 
Mehitable (surname unknown), who died March 
10, 1776. Their children were: Mehitable. Rebecca, 
Zerramiah, Cornelius, Thomas. Prince. Josiah, 
Judah, Lemuel, Amariah and Anna. 

(VII) Judah. eighth child and sixth son of 
Thomas and Mehitable Storrs, was a resident of 
Mansfield, where he died May 29, 1791. He mar- 
ried, December 3, 1744, Lucy, daughter of Henry 
Cleveland. They were the parents of these chil- 
dren: Asahel, Lucy, died yoiing; Olive, Justice, 
Henry, Justus, William Fitch, Lucy, Bezabel, Fred- 
erick and Chester. 

(VIII) Asahel. eldest child of Judah and Lucy 
(Cleveland) Storrs, was born in Mansfield, May 3, 
1745. He married a Miss Bliss, and they were the 
parents of one child, John, mentioned next below. 

(IX) John, son of Asahel and (Bliss) 

Storrs, was born at Mansfield, July 29, 1768, and 
died November 25, 1814. He moved to Vermont in 
early life and settled at Royalton. where he died. 
John Storrs married (first), at Lebanon, New 
Hampshire, April, 1791, Betsey Lathrop, who died 
-Vugust I. 1794, leaving one child, Asahel. He mar- 
ried (second), at Canterbury, Connecticut, June 8. 
1795, Thankful Spaulding, of Plainfield, who died 
in 1S55. They were the parents of seven children, 
all born at Royalton, Vermont. They were: John 
Spaulding, Dan. Constant, Reuben. William. Charles 
and Marrilla. 

(X) Constant Williams, third son and child of 
John and Thankful (Spaulding) Storrs, was born 
April 7. 1801. His father died when he was thirteen 
years old, and he was placed in the family of a Mr. 
Williams, whose treatment of the boy was so kind 
and considerate that Constant, as a mark of esteem 
and affection, added his foster-father's surname to 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



lo; 



his own Christian iinnic. He became a large mer- 
chant m Montpelicr, Vermont, where he died March 
2,^, 1872. He was a deacon of the Congregational 
Church, and a highly respected and useful citizen of 
the town. 

Constant Williams Storrs married, September 
10, 1827, Maria C. Cadwell, born at Montpelier. Ver- 
mont, February 14, 1803, daughter of Wyllys and 
Betsey (White) Cadwell. Betsey White (mother of 
Maria C. Cadwell), born at Hatfield, Massachusetts, 
married, at Hartford, Vermont, was a descendant of 
Elder John White, who came to Massachusetts in 
the ship "Lion" in 1632, and was a member of Rev. 
Hooker's famous expedition to Connecticut. Wyllys 
J. Cadwell entertained the Marquis de La Fayette at 
his house in Montpelier, when he visited Vermont 
in 1825. All the children of Constant and Maria 
Storrs except one died without issue, and most of 
them in infancy or childhood. 

(XI) William Williams, the only child of Con- 
stant W. and Maria C. (Cadwell) Storrs who left 
issue, was born in Montpelier, Vermont. July 21, 
1835. There he spent his early life, and was edu- 
cated in the public schools and academy. He lived 
several years in Concord, New Hampshire, then in 
Illinois, and later again in Montpelier. where he 
died September 2, 1883. 

He married, at Joliet, Illinois, November 2, 1857, 
Lizzie A. Roberts, born in Vernon, New York, July 
22, 1833, daughter of Ebenezer and Martha A. 
Roberts. She now resides in Concord. Ebenezer 
Roberts, father of Lizzie A. Storrs, was the son of 
Rev. John Roberts. Ebenezer married Martha Ann 
Griffith, daughter of John Griffith and his wife Mary 
Morgan. John Griffith and Mary Morgan were 
born probably at or near Bala, county Marioneth. 
South Wales, where they were married. They 
came to the United States in 1800, and settled in 
Utica, New York. He was a carpenter by trade, 
and built there the first Presbyterian Church 
(which was Welsh), and in it Rev. John Roberts 
preached the gospel. William Williams and Lizzie 
-A. (Roberts) Storrs were the parents of: John W., 
William C., Nellie R., and Jennie M., who married 
Herbert D. Whitney, of Concord. 

(XII) John Williams, eldest child of William 
Williams and Lizzie A. (Roberts) Storrs, was born 
it; Montpelier. Vermont, November 24, 1858, and 
was educated in the public schools of Concord. New 
Hampshire. He spent the greater part of si.x years 
as a clerk in the service of several grocery firms in 
Concord, but employed a considerable part of his 
time as a member of an engineer corps. He learned 
practical civil engineering under the instruction of 
Charles C. Lund, a well known civil engineer of 
Concord, who had charge of a great deal of work 
for the city of Concord, and for the railroad enter- 
ing Concord. He also engaged in the grocery busi- 
ness for himself two years in Concord. In 1890 he 
entered the employ of the Concord & Montreal as 
assistant civil engineer, and has since continued in 
the service of that road and its successor, the Bos- 



ton & Maine. In April, 1903, he was appointed 
state engineer by Governor Batchelder, and served 
in the office for the two years following. Mr. 
Storrs is a member of Rumford Lodge, No. 46, In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows ; of Tahanto En- 
campment, No. 18; and of Canton Wildey. No. i, 
and while L. S. Richardson was colonel of the 
Patriarchs Militant, served with the rank of captain 
on the staff of that officer. 

John W. Storrs married, in Concord, April 29, 
1885, Carrie E. Dow, born in Concord, June 27, 1858, 
daughter of Edward and Lavinia D. (Colby) Dow. 
Edward Dow was born in Lemington, Vermont, 
July II, 1820. and died in Concord, July 31, 1894. 
He came to Concord in 1845, and soon took high 
rank as an architect, and had charge of the con- 
struction of many buildings, the college buildings at 
Durham being perhaps the finest monument to his 
skill as a constructor. He was a soldier in the war 
of the Rebellion, and served as second lieutenant in 
Company G, New Hampshire Battalion, Second 
United States Sharpshooters, and was afterward 
prominent as a member of E. E. Sturtevant Post, 
Grand Army of the Republic. He was a Thirty- 
second degree Mason ; was master of Eureka 
Lodge, in 1872-73, and high priest of Trinity Chap- 
ter in 1874-75 : commander of Mount Horeb Com- 
mandery in 1873-74. I" 1877-78 he was representa- 
tive in the legislature from ward five of Concord, 
and in 1881 and the three following years alderman- 
of Concord. 

He married, at Auburn. New Hampshire, Octo- 
ber 21, 1849, Lavinia D. Colby, born at Canandaigua, 
New York, February 3, 1822, daughter of Abner 
and Deborah (Gunnison) Colby. Abner was a son 
of Abner Colby. John W. and Carrie Etta Storrs 
have one child : Edward Dow Storrs. born February 
20, 1886, now employed in the engineer's office of 
the Boston & Maine Railroad. 



The name Bradford is one of the 
BRADFORD most distinguished in the early 

Colonial history of Massachusetts, 
and the record of the Bradford family from the es- 
tablishment of the Puritans in Holland to 1657 in- 
cludes a great part of the history of the Puritan 
colony. Frorti this family have sprung a great part 
of the Bradfords of New England. 

William Bradford, the "Mayflower" Pilgrim, was 
born or baptized, Thursday, March 19, 1590, at Aus- 
terfield, a village which may have taken its name 
from lying in the extreme south of Yorkshire, Eng- 
land. After having acquired some, education from 
William Brewster and John Robinson, he left Eng- 
land at the age of eighteen lo seek freedom of wor- 
ship in Holland. Constant in his devotion to the 
cause of the religion he had espoused, he suffered 
the trials and tribulations incident to the wanderings 
of the little colony, crossed the Atlantic in the 
"Mayflower," and settled with the others of his 
faith at Plymouth in 1620. He was chosen governor 
after the death of Carver, early in 1621, when 



1056 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



thirty-one years of age. and until his death. May 
9, 1657, the date of his nuncupative will, he was an- 
nually elected to the gubernatorial office, except 
three years, when Edward Winslow, and two, when 
Thomas Prence. took the burden. His piety, con- 
stancy, courage, wisdom and tact were more than 
once called into action to save the colony from 
ruin, but they never failed him. He married (first), 
at Leyden. November 30, 1613, Dorothy May, who 
accompanied her husband to America only to be 
drowned at the anchorage in Cape Cod Bay, Decem- 
ber 7, 1620. He married (second), August 14, 1623, 
Alice, the widow of Edward Southworth. Her 
maiden name was Carpenter, and Governor Brad- 
ford had known her in England. She came to 
America in the ship "Ann," and was married a few 
days after her arrival. She survived until March 26, 
1670, and died at the age of seventy-nine. There 
was one child, John, by the first wife. The chil- 
dren of the second wife were : William, Mercy, and 
Joseph. 

John Langdon Bradford, a descendant of Will- 
iam Bradford, the immigrant, was born in the year 
1813. died February 19, 1882. His wife, born 1813, 
died in 1903. 

Charles Henry, son of John Langdon Bradford, 
of Pelham, New Hampshire, was born in Man- 
chester, 1S43. and died January 7, 1888. He learned 
the carpenter's trade when a young man and worked 
at it until he was about thirty-five years old. He 
then engaged in business as a grocer, in Manches- 
ter, and conducted a large and profitable business 
until 1878, when he retired. About 1856 he bought 
a tract of five acres of land then covered with pine 
timber on what is now Union street. There he 
cleared away the timber, pulled the stumps, set out 
an orchard, and built a large house tc^ether with 
other buildings at what is now 1009 Union street. 
Here his widow- and son now live. He was a Con- 
gregationalist in religion, and a Democrat in politics. 
He was a member of but one secret fraternity, the 
Passaconoway Tribe of the improved Order of Red 
Men. He married Julia Hatch, born June 16, 1843, 
daughter of Hatch, of Norwich. Connecti- 
cut. They had but one child, Arthur C, whose 
sketch follows. 

Arthur Clinton, only child of Charles H. and 
Julia (Hatch) Bradford, was born in Manchester, 
February 28, 1871. He attended school until eigh- 
teen years of age, and at twenty-one became a fire- 
man on the Concord Railroad, later a part of the 
Concord & Montreal, and the Boston & Maine Rail- 
road, and has ■ been in their employ since. Mr. 
Bradford is an intelligent, faithful, and reliable 
railroad man. and enjoys the confidence of the com- 
pany he has served for seventeen years. In politics 
he is an independent Democrat. He is a member 
of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen, and of 
Rock Rinnion Lodge, No. 44. Knights of Pythias. 
He married, June 17. iSgo, Belle Person, daughter 
of James R. and Nancy (Richards) Person, of 
Dunbarton. They have one child. Ruth, born 
August 16, 1892. 



Warren has been a distinguished 
WARREN name in both Great Britain and 

America for generations. Sir Peter 
Warren, born in 1703. was an Irish admiral; Sir 
John Borlase Warren, G. C. B., born 1754. was a dis- 
tinguished English naval commander and M. P. ; 
Henry Warren, born 1798. painter and author, and 
Samuel Warren, novelist, born 1877, w-ere English- 
men : James Warren, born at Plymouth, Massa- 
chusetts, 1726, was a prominent American patriot ; 
and Major-General Joseph Warren, who fell at 
Bunker Hill, is said to have been the ablest and 
most prominent man in New England at the time of 
his death. 

(I) James Warren, founder of the line herein 
traced, is said to have come from Berwick, Scot- 
land. He settled in the parish of Whitney, Kittery, 
Maine, and July 15, 1656, a lot of land was laid out 
for him "by the w-aterside." His wife, Margaret, 
was a native of Ireland. He died in 1702, and his 
wife sur\-ived him about eleven years, dying in 1713. 
The children were : Gilbert, Margaret. Grizel, Jane 
and James. 

(IT) James (2), youngest child of James (l) 
and Margaret Warren, w-as often one of the select- 
men of Kittery and was otherwise prominent in 
town affairs. He died about the beginning of the 
year 1725, and on July 6 of that year his wife was 
appointed administratrix of his estate. He was 
married in 1691 to Mary Frost, daughter of John 
and Elizabeth Frost, of Dover. Their children 
were : Mary, Margaret, James. Rachel, Gilbert and 
John. 

(III) James (3). eldest son and third child of 
James (2) and Mary (Frost) Warren, was bom 
June 8, l6g8, in Kittery. and resided in that town. 
He married Mary, daughter of Moses and Abigail 
(Tailor) Goodwin, of Kittery. She was born Sep- 
tember 18, 1699. Their children were : Sarah, Ben- 
jamin. Elizabeth. Moses. James, Samuel, Chad- 
bourne. William and Martha. 

(IV) Moses, second son and fourth child of 
James (3) and Mary (Goodwin) Warren, resided 
in Kittery, where his will was probated in 1802. He 
was married November 27, 1765, to Mary Cooper, 
daughter of John and Mary (Goodwin) Cooper, of 
Kittery. She was born March 21, 1747. Their 
children were : Moses, John, Daniel. James and 
Eunice. 

(V) Daniel, son of Moses and Mary (Cooper) 
Warren, was born in Kittery, and was a farmer for 
many years in York count}', Maine, whence he re- 
moved to Rochester, New Hampshire, where he 
died in 1844. aged seventy-six years. He married 
Sally Lord, of Maine, who died in i8s7, aged eighty- 
nine years, and they were the parents of five chil- 
dren : James, Joseph, Emily, born 1796, died 1861 ; 
Hannah and Mary. 

(VI) Rev. James Warren, eldest child of 
Daniel and Sally (Lord) Warren, was bom in 
Lebanon, Maine. March 13. 1802. He was educated 
in the public schools of Maine, where he spent his 
early life, was converted and joined the church. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1057 



"His life as a preacher began in the old Northfield 
circuit, where he was widely known and respected. 
He was one of the pioneers of the Maine Confer- 
ence, an earnest co-laborer with the heroes of Meth- 
odism in early times. He acquired a wonderful 
familiarity with the scriptures and the sacred songs 
of the Wesleys, so that his sermons and exhorta- 
tions had the solid foundation of God's Word, and 
his songs of triumphant joy w-ere only excelled by 
those he now sings in Heaven. After his active 
life was over, he returned to Rochester, where he 
died February 5, 1880," aged seventy-eight. 

He married, May 28, 1835. at Alfred, Maine, 
Lydia Perkins, of York, Maine, who was born in 
Sanford. Maine. November 13. 1812. Their chil- 
dren were : Horatio. Arethusa K.. Osman B., Wil- 
bur Fisk. Melvin F., and Frances, the last two dying 
in infancy. 

(HI) Osman B.. tliird son and fifth cliild of 
Rev. James and Lydia Perkins Warren, was born 
in Rochester. September 15. 1845. As soon as he 
was old enough he entered the public schools, which 
he attended until he was thirteen years of age. He 
then went to work in the Rochester Woolen Mill, 
where he continued two years, and then took 
service with George Johnson & Company, shoe man- 
ufacturers. He afterward left this firm and went 
into the employ of E. G. & E. Wallace, shoe manu- 
facturers, with whom' he remained until August. 
1862. He enrolled his name as a soldier from 
Rochester. August i, 1862, for a term of three 
years, and was mustered in at Concord, August 13, 
1862. as a private in Company H, Charles W. Ed- 
gerly, captain. Ninth Regiment. New Hampshire 
Volunteer Infantry, commanded by Colonel Enoch 
Q. Fellows. This regiment was recruited in May 
and June. 1862. and was mustered into the United 
States service from July 3 to August 23, at Camp 
Colby, Concord. It left the state on the 2Sth, and 
proceeded to Washington, D. C., arriving on the 
27th. and the next morning moved to Camp Chase 
near .\rlington Heights, where it was assigned to 
General Whipple, commander of the defence of 
Washington. September 6 it was transferred to the 
First Brigade, Second Division, Ninth Army Corps. 
It joined the Corps at Lisbon. Maryland, and moved 
forward to check Lee's advance, September 14. 
Within twenty days after leaving the state, it was 
engaged at the battle of South Mountain. Though 
a new regiment and under fire for the first time, it 
took a creditable part in the action, alone charging 
a rebel brigade, driving it from the crest of the 
mountain. Three days later it fought at Antietam, 
Maryland, remaining there a few days. It then en- 
camped at Pleasant Valley until October 27, when it 
marched to Falmouth. Virginia, and encamped on 
Stafford Heights. December 13 it took part in the 
battle of Fredericksburg, after which it returned to 
camp, and suffered greatly from sickness and de- 
privation. February 9. 1863. it was ordered to 
Newport News, Virginia. March 25 the Ninth 
Corps moved to Kentucky, and was stationed at 
various points of the state. In June it joined 
iii — 16 



Grant's army then besieging Vicksburg. Mississippi. 
After the fall of that place it pursued Johnston's 
retreating forces to Jackson, ^lississippi, where they 
were engaged, tlien returned to camp at Milldale, 
near Vicksburg, and in .August returned to Ken- 
tucky, remaining until April 2, 1864. It was en- 
gaged in guarding the Kentucky Central Railroad 
until January 15. 1864. then moved to Nicholasville, 
then to Camp Nelson, thence. January 25, to Camp 
Burnside. and on February 27 was sent to Knox- 
ville, Tennessee, as an escort to the First Ohio 
Heavy Artillery, returning to Camp Buniside March 
27. Thence it moved to Camp Nelson, Kentucky. 
April 2 it proceeded to Annapolis, Maryland, where 
the Ninth Corps was reorganized, and was assigned 
to the First Brigade, Second Division. April 2t, it 
moved to join the Army of the Potomac, and par- 
ticipated ;.i the following engagements, viz. : Wild- 
erness. Spottsylvania. North .Anna, Totopotomoy, 
Bethesda Church. Cold Harbor, Siege and .Assault 
of Petersburg, Mine Explosion, Weldon Railroad, 
Poplar Spring Church, Hatcher's Run, and the Fall 
of Petersburg, all in Virginia. It also took part in 
the grand review at Washington, D. C, May 23, 
1863, and was mustered out near Alexandria. Vir- 
ginia. June 10. 1865. O. B. Warren was promoted 
to corporal. January. 1864. and to' first sergeant, 
March i, 1864. for meritorious service. He was 
constantly with his command, and during its service 
as above until the battle of Spottsylvania Court 
House. Virginia. May 12. 1864. when he was c.ip- 
tured by the enemy and held prisoner at Danville, 
Virginia ; Andersonville, Georgia ; Charleston and 
Florence, South Carolina, until February 27, 1865. 
when he was paroled and sent to the hospital at 
Annapolis. Maryland. He rendered brave and ef- 
ficient service to his country in its time of need, 
service for which it must ever be his debtor. He 
received an honorable discharge at Concord. New 
Hampshire, June 15. 1S63, by reason of the close of 
the war. 

On returning to civil life he resumed his em- 
ployment in the shoe business and continued to 
work at that until he was appointed postmaster by 
President Hayes. March 25. 1878. He served that 
term out and was re-appointed by President Arthur, 
March 31. 1882, and served faithfully in that posi- 
tion until September i, 1886, when he retired with 
tlic incoming of Cleveland's administration. He was 
next engaged in the express business until after the 
election of President Harrison, when he received 
the appointment of revenue storekeeper at Ports- 
mouth, a position he held four years, until the ad- 
vent of another Democratic administration. He 
then went to Biddeford, Maine, where he managed 
a sanitorium for a year. He was then clerk of the 
Hotel Thatcher, at Biddeford, Maine, a year, and 
returned to Rochester, and for two years was en- 
gaged in the insurance business. In i8g8 he was 
elected city marshal, and held that office for eighteen 
months, resigning to accept the postmastership to 
which he was appointed by President McKinlcy, 
and which he has ever since held. In 1875-76 lie 



I05S 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



was representative to the general court, and again 
in 1898-99, and in 1900 was messenger to convey 
the electoral vote of the state to Washington, D. C. 
He is a charter member of Sampson Post. No. 22, 
Grand Army of the Republic, instituted in Roches- 
ter, February 3, 1870, and was post commander in 
1871 and 1872, and is now (1906) department com- 
mander of the state. He is a charter member of 
Kennedy Lodge, No. 57. Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, which was instituted August 24, 1875, and 
is one of its past grands. He is also a member of 
Humane Lodge, No. 21, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of which he has three times served as worshipful 
master ; Temple Royal Arch Chapter ; Orient Coun- 
cil. Royal and Select Masters ; and Palestine Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar. 

He married, at Norway, Maine, April 20, 1870. 
Luella J. Brown, who was born in Norway, Maine, 
1844, daughter of Ephraim and Jane (Lander) 
Brown. They have had three children : Frank S., 
deceased; Fannie C, and Alice, died in infancy. 



This name is derived from the 
WEY:M0UTH seaport at the mouth of the Wey 

in Dorsetshire. England. Immi- 
grants named Weymouth appear in New England 
history at Kittery as early as 1652. Plymouth. 1656, 
and Dover, 1662, and they have been closely identi- 
fied with the business, professional, political and 
musical interests of this section of the country. 

(I) Shadrach Weymouth was probably born as 
early as 1728, perhaps in Rye, New Hampshire, where 
his life was spent, but the records with regard to 
him are very imperfect, as is the case in many 
other families. It is to be presumed that the maiden 
name of his wife was Cotton, as that name occurs 
frequently in the subse{|uent records of the family. 
His children were: George (see forward). Eunice, 
Thomas Cotton, James and Samuel. 

(II) George, presumably the eldest son of 
Shadrach Weymouth, was born in Rye, New 
Hampshire, August 29, 1749; He settled in Gilman- 
ton, now Belmont, Belknap county. New Hamp- 
shire, where he died in August, 1811. His chief oc- 
cupation was that of farming, and his religious af- 
filiations were with the Quakers. He married 
Huldah Folsom, born in Epping. New Hampshire, 
1753, died in 1841. She had a brother, George, born 
in Kittery. who lived and died in Gilmanton, and 
two of whose sons — John and Dudley — died there 
more than sixty-five years ago. The children of 
George and Huldah (Folsom) Weymouth were: 
Elizabeth, born 1774, died 1856: Abigail, born 1776. 
died 1864; Anna, born 1777, died 1865; Hannah, 
horn 1779. died 1864; James, born 1781. died 1866; 
Huldah. born 1783, died 1832; John, born 1785, died 
1864; George, born 1787, died 1S44: Joseph, born 
1789. died 1867; Polly, born 1790: Daniel (see for- 
ward) ; Sally, born 1794, died in infancy: Sally, born 
1797. died 1834. (Daniel and descendants receive 
mention in this article). 

(III) James, fifth child and eldest son of 
-George and Huldah (Folsom) Weymouth, was born 



and spent his entire life in Gilmanton. He was a 
farmer in moderate circumstances, a member and 
deacon of the Free Will Baptist Church and a man 
much respected in the community in which he lived 
so long. His wife, Polly (Chase) Weymouth, was 
a daughter of Colonel John Chase, and a descendant 
of one of the highly respected families of New Eng- 
land. James and Polly had four children : Maria, 
born 1808, died 1845 ; married John F. Lambrey and 
had three children. George W., born 1812, died 
1890; married Sally Norris and had three children. 
James Sherburn, see forward. Mary Swain, born 
1823, married John T. Dudley (deceased) and now 
lives in Belmont. New Hampshire. 

(IV) James Sherburne, third child and second 
son of James and Polly (Chase) Weymouth, was 
born in that part of Gilmantown which now is Bel- 
mont, November 6, 1819, and by principal occupa- 
tion has been a farmer in that town and also in 
Andover, having lived twelve years in the latter 
town. He was educated in the common schools 
and Gilmanton Academy, and after completing his 
studies engaged in teaching for about ten years. In 
1897 he took up his residence in Laconia, and has 
since lived in retirement in that city. He became a 
member of the Free Will Baptist Church at Bel- 
mont in 1839, and served as deacon in that church 
for eighteen years. He served for five years as 
selectman in Belmont, as moderator of the town 
meeting several times, as tax collector for two 
years, and as a justice of the peace for fifteen years. 
He is one of the honored, respected citizens of 
Laconia. He married. February 5, 1843, Sarah B. 
Dearborn, born September 7, 1818, died August 30, 
1891. daughter of David and Mary (Bracketl) 
Dearborn, and granddaughter of Samuel Dearborn, 
of an old Northampton family. Children of James 
and Sarah B. (Dearborn) Weymouth: Herman 
Cassius, of Lajconia, superintendent of the Belknap 
county farm. Frances Ella, born June 10, 1848, 
died March 28, 1851. 

(V) Herman Cassius. only son of James Sher- 
burne and Sarah E. (Dearborn) Weymouth, was 
born in the town of Gilmanton (Belmont), Febru- 
ary 9, 1845, and has been in some useful and prom- 
inent manner identified with the business and poli- 
tical history of Belknap county for several years. 
He was educated in district schools and Gilmanton 
and New Hampton academies, and at the age of 
twenty years went to Boston and for the next three 
years engaged in a meat and provision business in 
that city. He then returned to New Hampshire and 
settled in Belmont, lived there until 1880 and then 
opened a summer boarding house in Meredith. 
Later on he engaged extensively in farming in con- 
nection with his other enterprises, and in 1885 pur- 
chased a large farm in Andover and carried on 
dairying in connection with his summer boarding 
house. In 1896 he built a large and modern resi- 
dence in Laconia and has since lived in that city, 
although since 1898 his official duties as superinten- 
dent of the county farm have made it necessary 
that he live temporarily at that institution. While 




U^oityt.^>-?^yQ^r7^^^, ^?xl^.-7o^c«;-r>6-^^^ 




w^ 








Mn 


M^ 


Ml- 


.g 



Jf/. 



^^ ^/f, LyCe^ ^-^-^-^^^^ztr: 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1059 



Hiving in Belmont Mr. Weymouth held the offices of 
superintendent of schools and selectman, and in 
Andover served as selectman and road commis- 
sioner. In politics he is a firm Republican. He is 
a member of Aurora Lodge, No. 408. Knights of 
Honor, a former member of Highland Lake Grange, 
Patrons of Husbandry, of East Andover, and in 
religious preference is a Free Will Baptist. Mr. 
Weymouth married, November 9, l86g, Abbie Smith, 
born June 6. 1851, daughter of Daniel P. and Abi- 
:gail (Doloflf) Smith, and granddaughter of Joseph 
C. Smith, a native of Corinth, Vermont, and an 
■early settler in Meredith, New Hampshire. Two 
-children have been born of this marriage : Maude. 
Tiorn February 14, 1872, married, February 14, 1907, 
Ellsworth H. Rollins, of Alton, New Hampshire, 
and a descendant of an old family of the state. 
Mr. Rollins is serving his third term as a commis- 
sioner of Belknap county. He is engaged in lumber 
"business at Alton, New Hampshire. Blanche, born 
September 18, 1873. 

(HI) Daniel, fifth son and eleventh child of 
■George and Huldah (Folsom) Weymouth, was born 
in Gilmanton. now Belmont, New Hampshire, 
August 17, 1792, died in Andover, New Hampshire, 
September 20, 1877. He was educated at the Gil- 
manton Academy, and supplemented this education 
with diligent home study, later becoming a teacher 
in the district schools, and following this occupa- 
tion for some time. He subsequently devoted his 
time and attention to farming exclusively until the 
€nd of his days. His religious connections were 
with the Free Baptist Church, and he was a member 
of the anti-slavery and Republican parties. He took 
an active part in the military affairs of his time and 
rose to the rank of captain. He married Honor 
(probably Honora) Hall, born in Exeter. New 
Hampshire, April 7. 1790, died February 22, 1864. 
She was a member of a family noted in the musical 
circles of those times, all of her brothers and sisters 
being well-known singers. She was the daughter 
of Kinsley and Honor (Randlett) Hall, the former 
born in Exeter in 1759, died in the same place in 
1838; the latter died September 8, 1845. The 
paternal grandfather of Mrs. Weymouth was Sam- 
uel Hall, of Exeter ; the maternal grandfather, Cap- 
tain Charles Randlett, was of Exeter. Among the 
children of Daniel and Honor or Honora (Hall) 
Weymouth was Henry Augustus (see forward). 

(IV) Henry Augustus Weymouth, M. D., son 
of Daniel and Honor or Honora (Hall) Weymouth, 
was born in Gilmanton, now Belmont, Belknap 
county. New Hampshire, October 14, 1820. His 
preliminary education was acquired in the acad- 
emies at Gilmanton and Meredith, and he then 
commenced the study of medicine in his native 
town, under the able preceptorship of Nahum 
Wight, M. D., and attended lectures at Dartmoutli 
College and in Woodstock, Vermont, being grad- 
uated from the latter place in June, 1843, with 
honors. He immediately settled in Andover. and 
commenced the active practice of the profession of 
medicine and surgery, with which he has been con- 
tinuously and beneficially occupied up to the present 



time (1907), and in which he has achieved more 
than a merely local reputation. He has kept well 
abreast of the times in every direction, all his spare 
time having been devoted to diversified reading. In 
addition to his professional work he has found time 
to attend to many other matters of importance — is 
a trustee of the Savings Bank of Franklin, and 
trustee of the Proctor Academy. His political affil- 
iations have always been with the Democratic party, 
and he has been one of its most stanch supporters. 
He. has taken an active part in the public affairs of 
Andover. and held a number of public offices with 
great benefit to the community. Among them may 
be mentioned : Member of the legislature 1869-70, 
1879-S0, 1899; justice of the peace since 1870; town ^ 
clerk four years; member of the school committee; 
moderator, fifty times; and physician to the board 
of health since that office was created. He is a 
member of the Unitarian Church , and has con- 
tributed liberally to the support of that institution 
as well as to the Proctor Academy. He is also a 
member of the following organizations : Free and 
Accepted Masons, New Hampshire State Medical 
Society, and National Medical Society. For many 
years director of the East Andover Free Baptist 
Church choir. He married, in Gilmanton, January 
I. 1844, Louisa Young, who died June 13, 1890. 
She was the daughter of Bailey and Polly (Rand- 
lett) Young, and granddaughter of Ebenezer Young. 
Most of the members of the Young family were en- 
gaged in agricultural pursuits. Mrs. Weymouth 
had two brothers- — Ansel and Alfred — the former 
of whom died in battle, and both were in active 
service during the Civil war. The children of Dr. 
and Mrs. Weymouth were: 

1. Hattie Elizabeth, born in Andover, New 
Hampshire, January 18, 184S, died December 21, 
1889. She was educated in and graduated from the 
Andover Academy, and taught in the district schools 
for a number of years. She married, in 1870, Will- 
iam A. Walker, at present employed with the Bos- 
ton & Maine Railroad as assistant superintendent of 
the Concord & Petcrboro Division, and resides in 
Concord. New Hampshire. Their children were: 
Henry Weymouth, horn at Andover. March, 1873, 
died in infancy. Alma Louise, born in Danbury, 
New Hampshire, November 20, 1874, resides at 
present with her grandfather in Andover. She is 
a pianist and organist of note, and has given in- 
struction in music in Andover and Franklin, New 
Hampshire; and in Pennsylvania, Kansas and Ar- 
kansas. Leon Willard, born in Andover in 1880, 
died at the age of five months. 

2. Daniel Bailey, born in Andover, New Hamp- 
shire. August 25. 1852. Acquired his education in 
the New London Academy in New Hampshire. He 
is at present one of the successful merchants of 
Bristol. New Hampshire, where he is highly re- 
spected. He is a stanch supporter of the Dem- 
ocratic party, and was assistant postmaster and town 
treasurer for ten years at Andover. He was for a 
time engaged in business in Penacook, New Hamp- 
shire. He married Ida Edmunds. 



1000 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



3. George Weare, born in Andover, New Hamp- 
shire, August 24, 1856. He obtained his prepara- 
tory education at the New London Academy, from 
which he was graduated, and then matriculated at 
Dartmouth College, from which he was graduated 
in 1878 as A. B.. and in 1881 as M. D. Later he at- 
tended lectures in the city of New York. He has 
devoted much time and attention to literature and 
music, which were favorite studies with him, and has 
also taken an active interest in the political affairs 
of his town, affiliating with the Democratic party. 
He is now a physician in excellent practice in Lyme, 
New Hampshire. He married Minnie Morgan, of 
Maine, and they have 'had children : Louise Morgan, 
bom Anril, l888, now studying music in Boston, 
Massachusetts. Henry Gerry, born August 11, 
1890, attends school at Wellesley Hills. Massa- 
chusetts. A child which died in infancy. 



Henderson is a name derived 
HENDERSON from Henry— Henry's sou— or 
from Hendrick — Hendrick's 
son ; in time it became Henrison, Hendrickson, Hen- 
derson. The name is an old one in Scotland, and 
the family has been living in Fife four hundred 
years and over. The chief seat is at Fordell ; "Hen- 
derson of Fordell" is a term of distinction, and well 
known throughout the United Kingdom. 

The Hendersons have been well represented in 
all the wars of this country. Captain Timothy 
Roberts, father of Margaret, wife of William Hen- 
derson, Sr., of Rochester, New Hampshire, was a 
captain in the French and Indian war. His son, 
Timothy, Jr., was captain of New Hampshire troops 
during the war of the Revolution. Timothy Hen- 
derson, his grandson, w-as a soldier in the War of 
1812. John Henderson, a descendant of Richmond, 
who was a brother of Captain Howard, served in 
the Mexican war. Major Thomas A., son of 
Samuel Hoyt Henderson, was a distinguished of- 
ficer in the Civil- war. (See Henderson V). 

One progenitor was Robert, a man of promi- 
nence in the reign of James HL James of Fordell 
was a great figure in the time of James IV, Lord 
Justice and King's Advocate, and he received a char- 
ter under the great seal. Accompanying James in the 
unfortunate expedition into England, both he and 
his eldest son lost their lives, with their royal 
leader, at the field of Flodden. 

George Henderson, of the next generation, was 
granted lands fn the shires of Fife and Edinburgh 
by Queen Mary of Scotland, and his wife was one 
of her maids of honor. He, too, gave his life for 
his country. 

James Henderson, son of George Henderson, 
married Jean, daughter of William Murray, Baron 
of Tullibardine. James Henderson was a man of 
parts, and in great favor with James VI, who con- 
ferred a singular favor upon him. on terms of great 
honor both to himself and his family. "James Hen- 
derson of Fordell is hereby excused from attending 
the wars all the days of his life, in consideration 
of the good, true and thankful services not only 



done by himself, but also by his predecessors, to 
us and our predecessors, of worthy memory, in all 
times past, without defection at any time, from the 
roj-al obedience, that becomes good and faithful 
subjects. Dated at our palace of Holyroodhouse, 
February 27, and the twenty-first year of our reign." 

Signed by the King. 

Gallant officers in Danish and French wars were 
of Henderson stock, and Sir Francis, a colonel un- 
der the Prince of Orange, like so many of his race,, 
was slain in battle. 

One of the great names in the history of Scot- 
land is Alexander Henderson, and next to Knox, 
the most famous of Scottish ecclesiastics. The 
Presbyterian body in Scotland largely owes to him 
its dogmas and organization, and he is considered 
the second founder of the Reform Church. Of the 
assembly of 1641, sitting at Edinburg, he was mod- 
erator. Here he proposed that a confession of faith, 
a catechism, and a form of government should be 
drawn up. Afterwards he was one of those 
sent to London to represent Scotland in the as- 
sembly at W'estminster. He was chaplain to King 
Charles, when he visited Scotland, and was more in 
sympathy with his religious views, perhaps, than^ 
his friends liked to believe. While nominally pro- 
fessing respect for the royal office, the covenant pre- 
pared by Henderson was entered into, for "the de- 
fense of the true religion, as reformed from Po- 
pery." The spirit in which it was signed was that 
of great fervor. Many subscribed with tears on 
their cheeks, and it was commonly reported that 
some signed with their blood. Those were the days 
when men died for their religion, and when women 
did not possess their souls in patience. At a church 
service, where a certain ritual was introduced, un- 
popular with the people, its use provoked an uproar,, 
of which the stool flung at the dean by Jenny Ged- 
des was the symbol. 

A scholar of great linguistic attainment was- 
Ebenezer Henderson, Scottish missionary, living 
at the beginning of the nineteenth century. 

Before the Revolution Hendersons found iheir 
way from Scotland to New Hampshire, Virginia 
and North Carolina and were prominent in the 
Continental army. 

Leonard Henderson, son of Richard Henderson, 
was chief justice, and a man of national reputation. 
His brother, Archibald Henderson, of Salisbury, 
North Carolina, was also a great lawyer. A monu- 
ment was erected to his memory by the bar of the 
state. 

A partner of Daniel Boone, in the purchase of 
Kentucky from the Indians, was Richard Henderson, 
son of Samuel Henderson, who was born in Vir- 
ginia, 1700, and married Elizabeth Williams, of 
Wales. Samuel Henderson, brother of Richard 
Henderson, married Elizabeth Calloway, who had 
a romantic career, like the heroine of a novel. She 
was captured by the Indians and rescued by her 
lover, Samuel. Their daughter Fanny was the 
first white child born in the present state of Ken- 
tucky. 




l)ett^et:$^Ti 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1061 



James Henderson, of the sonthern liranch of 
the family, was one whom his state and his country 
-delighted to honor. He was secretary of state 
■of Texas in 1837, having removed early in life from 
North Carolina, where he was horn, to Texas. He 
was minister to England to procure the recognition 
of Te.xan independence, and a few years later he 
was special minister to the United States to secure 
the annexation of Te.xas. He was member of the 
state constitutional convention, and afterwards 
chosen governor. His was also United States sen- 
ator. 

The Hendersons ever proved themselves patriots. 
Lieutenant-Colonel William Henderson was in the 
Revolution, throughout the war, and in every battle 
fought in South Carolina. He was popular with his 
soldiers, requiring nothing of them not shared by 
liimself. The roster also includes Sergeant-Major 
Pleasant Henderson, Captains Thomas and Samuel 
Henderson. 

The family were among the principal founders 
■of the state government at the close of the war. .■\s 
a family they have ever been distinguished for in- 
tellectual endowments. We find a great number of 
■college graduates, and the women, even in early 
days, were educated as well as the men. Other 
characteristics are hatred of effeminacy and scorn 
■of cowardliness and physical pain. Marriage con- 
nections include the families of Governor Alexander 
]\Iartin. of North Carolina; the Wallaces, the Dal- 
tons of Mississippi, and the Brodauz family of 
North Carolina, the latter armigers from the time 
of Henry VI, of England. The Scottish branch 
inter-married with the families of Bruce, Stuart, 
Balfour of Burleigh, and Sir John Hamilton, Lord 
Chief Justice. 

The arms reproduced, that of the Hendersons 
of Fordell, and taken from the Baronage of Scot- 
land, is gules, three piles issuing out of the sinister 
side argent, and on a chief of the last, a crescent 
azure, between two spots of ermine, with the baro- 
nets' badge in the center. Supporters, two matrices 
ermine. Crest, a hand holding a star, surmounted 
by a crescent. Motto, Sola Virtus Nobilitat. 

(I) William Henderson, the pioneer ancestor 
of the family, came from Glasgow, Scotland, at an 
early date, and was known to be in Dover, New 
Hampshire, in 1650, and perhaps earlier. He was 
a ship carpenter and builder, constructing ships 
for himself as well as for others. That he was a 
man of excellent standing in the community is evi- 
denced by the fact that he received grants of land 
from the town, and was one of the larger tax- 
payers. A further evidence of his good standing is 
shown on the tax list of July 3, 1677, where he is 
recorded as Mr. William Henderson, as during that 
period of the history of New England no one was 
called Mr. unless he were a man of high standing 
in the community, and more especially in the Con- 
gregational Church. It may be of interest to re- 
■cord in this place an extract from the Massachusetts 
archives: "October 15, 1679, Isaac Walderne of 
Boston complains of \\'illiam Henderson of Dover 



for not working on a ship according to agreement, 
he having paid said Henderson in advance." There 
are no. further particulars recorded, so the business 
was presumably settled out of court to the satis- 
faction of all parties concerned. The probability 
is that Mr. Henderson had more work than he could 
accomplish in the allotted time, and was unable to 
finish the ship for Mr. Walderne when he expected 
it to be done. William Henderson married Sarah 
Howard, and from that time these two names — 
William and Howard — are to be found in each gen- 
eration down to the present time. They had chil- 
dren : I. William, born about 1670, married Sarah 
Fernald, daughter of Thomas Fernald, of Kittery, 
Maine, who resided on Seavey's Island in the Pis- 
cataqua river, now (1907) a part of the Portsmouth 
navy yard. They were married in 1700, and as 
a dowry Mr. Fernald gave his daughter a part 
of the island, which from that time and for a period 
of two hundred years was known as Henderson's 
Point. It projected into the river just below the 
navy yard, and was removed by the government of 
the United States in 1905-06 to widen the river 
and make the approach and new entrance to the 
new dry dock easier and safer. One million dol- 
lars was expended on this piece of work, and Mr. 
Henderson's name is preserved in that section only 
by the point, as he left no children. 2. Howard, 
see forward. There may have been daughters, 
but there is no record of them. 

(II) Howard, second son of William and Sarah 
(Howard) Henderson, was born about 1672. He 
had his residence on Dover Neck, as his father had 
before him, and also like his father was a ship 
carpenter and builder. He was noted as a sailor, 
and the tales of his courage and ability in that call- 
ing have come down to the present day with un- 
diminished splendor. One tradition is that he served 
in the British Navy for a while and took part in 
the siege of Gibraltar, which resulted in its sur- 
render to the English in 1704, and it is probable 
that this story is authentic. He never held any 
public office. He died at the home of his son. Cap- 
tain Howard Henderson, on Dover Point, in 1772, 
at the advanced age of one hundred years. His 
grave is in the old cemetery on Dover Neck, near 
where are interred his son Howard, and his grand- 
son Thomas. Until about the year 18S0 there was 
a slate stone at the head of his grave with his name 
and age inscribed thereon. Nobody seems to know 
what has become of this stone, but the spot is per- 
fectly well known, and in this connection it may be 
well to note that in this, the oldest grave yard in 
Dover, are the graves of many of the older settlers. 
In the northeast corner is the grave of Thomas 
Roberts, Sr., and his wife, the immigrants. In the 
yard are the graves of the jNIillet family, the Nutters, 
Clements, Halls, Dames, Tibbetts, Canneys, Tuttles, 
Pinkhams, Wentworths and others. Ordinary field 
stones are the only markers, so that but few graves 
can be identified at the present time. 

Howard Henderson, Sr., married, June 8, 1704, 
Sarah Roberts, daughter of either John or Thomas 



I062 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Roberts, of Dover Neck, and granddaughter of 
Thomas Roberts, Sr., who settled at Dover Point 
with Edward Hihon in 1623, coming with him 
from England when Dover was first settled. Rev. 
John Pil<e, pastor of the First Parish of Dover, 
officiated at the marriage. They had children : i. 
Howard, Jr., see forward. 2. Richmond, born about 
1712, settled in Rochester, New Hampshire, and left 
many descendants there. There is no record of 
any daughters of this marriage. The house in which 
this family lived for generations stood on the site 
of the present Dover Point Hotel. It was probably 
built by Howard, Sr., and his son and grandson in 
succession inherited and resided in it. It was re- 
moved to make room for the present hotel, and the 
spot is one of the most beautiful in that section 
of the country. 

(Ill) Howard, Jr. (2), eldest child of Howard 
(i) and Sarah (Roberts) Henderson, was born 
about 1710. Like his father and grandfather he 
was a ship carpenter and builder, but he advanced 
a step farther and became a ship owner and a sea 
captain, building ships and sailing them himself on 
the Atlantic Ocean to ports in Europe, Africa and 
the West Indies. In addition to this he was also 
engaged in the New England coasting trade. From 
middle age until his death he was a well known 
figure, and his name has come down in history. 
There was another reason why he was invariably 
addressed by his title of captain, and that 
was that although he attained the advanced 
age of eighty-two years, his death preceded 
that of his father by but ten years, and 
to distinguish the two, the older man was al- 
ways called Howard, and the son Captain Howard 
Henderson, when spoken of. Captain Henderson 
not alone built ships and sailed them, but also op- 
erated the ferry from Dover Point to Bloody Point 
in Newington, which was one of the main routes 
of travel from Massachusetts to Maine before the 
war of the Revolution, as well as from Portsmouth 
and the towns along the coast to the country north 
of Dover. He owned Negro slaves, whom he prob- 
ably bought in Africa and brought home with him 
on some of his voyages, for it was the custom of 
that day for captains to carry cargoes of New Eng- 
land rum to Africa and sell it to the chiefs of 
tribes in that country in exchange for Negro slaves, 
which were carried to the West Indies to be there 
exchanged for sugar, molasses and salt for the 
home voyage. Sometimes some of these slaves 
were brought to New England, and thus slavery 
was introduced into New Hampshire and JNIassachu- 
setts. A number of the best families of Dover had 
Negro slaves down to the close of the war of the 
Revolution, and a still larger number were held in 
slavery in Portsmouth. Captain Henderson was a 
man of importance in the public affairs of the town 
as well as in matters of business. He was select- 
man in 1758-59-60-61, representative from Dover 
in the general court of the province from 1756 to 
1765, and took a prominent part in the proceedings, 
so it is evident he was a very capable man. He was 



baptized November 19, 1758, by Rev. Jonathan' 
Gushing, pastor of the First Church from 1717 to 
1769. The inscription of Captain Howard Hender- 
son's tombstone reads that he died "November 4, 
1791, aged 75 years." This is incorrect as he died 
November 14, 1792, aged eighty-two years. This 
is proven by two facts. He made his will in 17S9, 
and it was not probated until the first Wednesday 
in February, 1793. Had he died in November, 1791, 
they would not have waited until February, 1793, 
before presenting it for probate ; dying in Novem- 
ber, 1792, just the proper time would have elapsed 
for the presentation in February. Another proof 
is the record kept by Deacon Benjamin Peirce, whO' 
had known Captain Henderson for many years and 
recorded the time of his death and his age. Captain 
Henderson made his will December 4, 1789, and the 
copy, which is well written and preserved, is in 
the possession of his great-grandson, John Henry 
Henderson, of Dover, New Hampshire. Following, 
is an extract of its contents and provisions : 

To his widow, Elizabeth Henderson, he gave 

outright one-third of his estate, real and personal. 

To William Henderson, his son, five shillings 

which, with what he already had received made his 

full share. 

To grandson, Benjamin Henderson, five shill- 
ings, and my late son Benjamin's share of ray estate. 
To son, Daniel Henderson, after the death of 
his widow Elizabeth, thirty acres of land on the 
west side of Dover Neck at Back River, "which I 
purchased of Rudfield Plummer," also my right in 
the homestead dwelling house and farm of Thomas 
Millet, late of said Dover, deceased, provided my 
son pay to my daughter. Love Tripe, the sum of six 
pounds. Also to Daniel one-half of all the stock, 
of cattle I shall leave at my decease and one good 
bed of bedding. 

To his son, Thomas Henderson, on the death 
of his widow Elizabeth, "The house wherein I now 
live, and all my land at Dover Neck (below the gate) 
with the buildings thereon ; also the privilege of 
the Ferry and Ferry Ways, provided my said son 
Thomas shall pay to my daughter Betty the sum. 
of six pounds. Also to Thomas one-half of the 
stock of cattle and one good bed and bedding. 

To his daughter. Love Tripe, one-half of the . 
household furniture after the death of his widow 
Elizabeth. 

To his daughter Betty, one-half of the house- 
hold furniture after the death of his widow Eliza- 
beth, also one room in the homestead at Dover 
Neck, and one cow, both winter and summer dur- 
ing the titne she remains single and unmarried. 
Also six pounds of lawful money. 

To his negro servants, "Caesar and Fortune." 
he gave their freedom from the time of his death, 
"but if they choose to still continue in my family, 
in the manner they have heretofore done, it is my 
will that they be supported out of my estate, and I 
hereby order my executrix and my sons Daniel and 
Thomas that they support them accordingly." 

Lastly, he appointed his wife Elizabeth sole ex- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1063 



ecutrix. Dated December 4, 1789. When the will 
was probated the widow refused to serve, and the 
court appointed Daniel and Thomas in her place. 
Captain Howard Henderson married, about 1750, 
Elizabeth Millet, born in 1727, baptized by Parson 
Gushing, December 4, 1737, daughter of Thomas 
and Love IMillet, of Dover Neck. Captain Millet 
was a noted ship builder, merchant and public of- 
ficial, and took a high rank in the councils of the 
province of New Hampshire. He was a man of 
much importance in his time and held numerous 
public offices, among them being representative in 
the general court, councillor and judge of 
the superior court. His daughter Elizabeth in- 
herited his excellent executive ability, and it is 
said by those who knew her that she could super- 
intend the building of a ship as intelligently as her 
husband, and frequently did so in his absence on 
his many voyages. Captain and Mrs. Howard Hen- 
derson had a number of children all of them but 
one, Betty, being baptized by Rev. Jonathan Gush- 
ing, and this ceremony was usually performed when 
the child was three to four weeks old. The names 
of the children are as follows: l. and 2. Benjamin 
and Lovey, who were baptized on the same day as 
their father, November 19, 1758. 3. Thomas, bap- 
tized August 17, 1760. 4. Stephen, baptized April 
25, 1762, the only one of the children who did not 
marry, died at sea, August 16, 1785. 5. William, see 
forward. 6. Daniel, baptized June 3, 1766. He was 
the last ship builder of Dover ; married and left chil- 
dren : Howard of New York, Henry, of Baltimore, 
and William, of New Orleans, Louisiana. The 
latter was a very prominent man and the owner of 
the only dry dock in the city. 7. Betty ("Elizabeth), 
baptized October 4, 1769, by Rev. Jeremy Belknap. 
8. Thomas, see forward. 

(IV) William, fourth son of Captain Howard 
and Elizabeth (Millet) Henderson, was baptized 
September 25, 1763, died November 14. 1834, aged 
seventy-two years, four months. He was the orig- 
inal settler on the proprietary lot of land granted 
James Durgin in what is now the town of Roches- 
ter. This farm or lot of one hundred acres passed 
to Captain Thomas Millet, and in the distribution 
of his estate to his daughter, Elizabeth, wife of 
Howard Henderson. It was conveyed by Elizabeth 
and Howard to William Henderson, who settled 
upon it. The farm is still in the possession of the 
Henderson family, being owned by Daniel F. Hen- 
derson. Five generations of Hendersons have lived 
or are living upon the old homestead farm. Wil- 
liam Henderson married Margaret Roberts, daugh- 
ter of Captain Timothy Roberts, Sr.. of Rochester, 
who was an officer in the French and Indian war. 
Eleven children were born to William and Margaret 
Henderson, as follows: i. Stephen, born 1785, died 
March 5, 1862. He married Sarah Roberts, and had 
four daughters who married and left descendants. 
2. Sally, born 1787, died May 19, 1861. She married 
Colonel Eliphalet Willey, and had six children, one 
of whom, Mrs. Betsey Brown, lives in Dover, aged 
ninety. 3. Timothy, born 1789, died 1867. He mar- 



ried Olive Burnham, and had four sons and two 
daughters. 5. Betsey, born 1794, died 1872. ?\lar- 
ried James Pickering, left no children. 6. Mary, 
born 1797, died July 15, 1876. Married Abel Peavey, 
left one son and three daughters, one of whom is 
living, Mrs. Maria Amazeen, of Farmington. 7. 
Abigail, born November 23, 1800, died October 20, 
1882. She married (first) John Place, May 7, 1826; 
married (second), March 17, 1833, Jonathan Place, 
twin brother of her first husband. By her first 
marriage there was one son; by the second two 
daughters, now living, Mrs. Mary E. Roberts and 
Mrs. Sarah Hurd. 8. Susan, born 1801, died 1879. 
Married William Willey, and had nine ' children, 
four sons, William Henry, Howard B., Joseph F. 
and James H., all prominent business men of New 
Hampshire. 9. William, see forward. 10. Margaret, 
born June 23, 1808, died September 30, 1889. Mar- 
ried Benjamin Canney, and had five children, the 
only survivor being Thomas Canney, of Farmington, 
New Hampshire, ir. Daniel M., born March 20, 
1812, died October 8, 1894. Married Ruth Mc- 
Duffce, born August 30, 1815, died October 8, 1902, 
daughter of Thomas JNIcDuffee, of Rochester, fami- 
liarly known as "Selectman jMcDuffee." They were 
married November 8, 1835. Their children are : 
Hannah ^I., Daniel F., who owns the old homstead 
before mentioned, where five generations of Plen- 
dersons have lived; Charles IT. and George !M. 

(IV) Thomas, sixth son of Captain Howard 
and Elizabeth (Millet) Henderson, was baptized 
October 4, 1771. He resided at Dover Point, his 
house standing on the present site of Dover Point 
Hotel. He followed the business in which his 
father and grandfather had been so successful, but 
was not a sea captain. He branched out into a new 
line of business, about 1810, that of brick making, 
which has since that time been engaged in so ex- 
tensively in that section of the country. His first 
brickyard was on the east side of Dover Neck, about 
one mile above Dover Point, on Fore river. In 
order to be nearer his place of business, he erected 
his later residence on the Neck, which is still oc- 
cupied by the Henderson family, and removed to it 
in 1812. His son Thomas, and his grandson. John 
Henry, lived in it until they moved to the more ' 
thickly populated section of the city a few j-ears ago. 
As a manufacturer Mr. Henderson was noted for 
the excellent quality of the brick he turned out. 
His ships loaded directly from his yards and car- 
ried the brick to Boston, Massachusetts, and all 
the towns along the coast. His death occurred April 
10, 1863. He was a man of medium height, active, 
vigorous and a hard worker until the end. He took 
no active part in political affairs. He was a devout 
and consistent Christian and a regular attendant 
with his family at the First Parish jNIeeting House. 
He was a man of more than ordinary intelligence, 
and formed his own opinions. He was inclined to 
be liberal in his views, especially in religious mat- 
ters, and when dissension arose in the First Church 
by the doctrine of Unitarianism, which was intro- 
duced, he went with tlie liljeral party which organ- 



1064 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ized Unitarian Society and built the brick house 
of worship in Locust street, in 1829. His family 
went with him, and the larger part of the descend- 
ants have adhered to the new doctrine. He married, 
1793, Elizabeth Hoyt, born in Newington, August 
9, 1770, died June 12, 1872. Her ancestors were 
among the first settlers in Newington, the Hoyts 
being one of the noted families of the town. The 
graves of I\Ir. and Mrs. Henderson are in the old 
cemetery in Dover Neck, and are suitably marked 
with white marble slabs. Their children were : 
Lydia, born November 13, 1794; Samuel Hoyt. Oc- 
tober 4. 1798; Elizabeth. December 31, iSoo; How- 
ard Millet, August 17, 1S03; jNIary P., July 5, 1807; 
Thomas, see forward; William, born February 21, 
1813. 

(V) William Millet, known both as William M. 
and William, Jr., fourth son and ninth child of 
William and Margaret (Roberts) Henderson, was 
born on the homestead farm, April 30. 1805, and died 
in Dover, November 4, 1891. At the age of sixteen 
he was indentured to learn the cabinet-maker's 
trade. At twenty-one he went to Boston, Massachu- 
setts, where he was employed by Chickering & Com- 
pany in the manufacture of fine piano cases. He 
next became pattern maker at the Lowell machine 
works. After his marriage, in 1830, he settled in 
Dover. In 1831, at the age twenty-six, and without 
outside assistance, this farmer's son purchased from 
the Cocheco Manufacturing Company one hundred 
and eighty-nine feet frontage at the corner of Third 
street and Central avenue, built a residence on Third 
street and a block of stores on Central avenue. This 
lot is now occupied by the Morrill Block. He later 
purchased the property and furniture business of 
Stephen Toppan and continued there in trade until 
the panic of 1837. He afterwards removed to Ro- 
chester, but returned to Dover, engaging in various 
ventures until his death. He w'as a man of most 
generous impulse, and freely extended a helping 
hand to those less fortunate. Were each one to 
whom he has shown some -loving kindness to lay 
a single flower on his inanimate dust he would 
sleep beneath a wilderness of flowers. He was a 
^ member of the Masonic fraternity, and a lifelong 
Democrat. He married July 4. 1830, Maria Diman, 
daughter of Captain Samuel and ^lercy W. (Kenn- 
iston) Diman, and a lineal descendant of Rev. 
James Diman, for fifty years pastor of the First 
Church of Salem, Massachusetts. Captain Samuel 
Diman died of yellow fever in the West Indies, 
and Mercy W., his wife, born June 8, 1780, died in 
Rochester, May 22, 1873. The children of William 
and Maria (Diman) Henderson were: i. Sophro- 
nia Ann, born October 4, 1831, married September 
18, 1855, Alexander Frazier, of Dover, born Feb- 
ruary 14, 1824, died August 17. 1893, had five chil- 
dren: Isabella. Mrs. Clarence Wendell, of Roches- 
ter; Fanny, Mrs. Charles S. Kingman, of Madbury. 
who has a daughter Lotta S; Harriet ^1.. !Mrs. E. 
J. Purinton, of Dover, who has children : J. Wilbur, 
Helen and Charles; William Henry; and Daniel W., 
of ^Massachusetts, who has si.x children. Mrs. Fra- 



zier resides in Dover. 2. Eliza J., born December 
19. 1833, died ]May 25. igo6. She never married. 
She was highly educated and became a noted and 
expert mathematician. She was a graduate of Mt. 
Holyoke Female Seminary. She was a woman of 
great benevolence and fine character. She was pos- 
sessed of means and generously educated several 
young women of her acquaintance. 3. Amanda A., 
born March 14, 1836, died December 14, 1867. She 
married Albert Bradwick, of Dover, and had one 
child, Lizzie A. (Mrs. Frank Manock), born July 
24, 1866, died December 16, 1889, leaving a daughter, 
Bessie Manock, now living in Lawrence, Massachu- 
setts. 4. James William, see forward. 5. Harriet 
M., who died October 3, i860, at the age of sixteen 
years, ten months and tw-enty-five days, just budd- 
ing into beautiful young womanhood, and was a 
great favorite with all. 6. Sarah F., born August 19, 
1846, married Alvin Haynes, of Maine, and had two 
children : Alvin and Sarah. They lived in Somer- 
ville, Massachusetts. 7. George Henry, died De- 
cember 17, 1861, aged twelve years, nine months 
and three days. Mrs. Maria (Diman) Henderson 
was for fifty-four years a devoted member of the 
Methodist churches of Rochester and Dover. She 
died November 12, 1875, of a paralytic stroke, aged 
seventy years, two months, nine days. 

(V) Samuel Hoyt, eldest son and second child 
of Thomas and Elizabeth (Hoyt) Henderson, was 
born October 4, 1798. He was one of the foremost 
business men of his day in Dover. He erected the 
large brick block at the corner of Chapel and Main 
streets, in 1833, and at that time this was the finest 
block in the town. He married (first), April 12, 
1827, Delia Paul, of Somersworth. by whom he had 
six children, one of whom was Thomas A., born in 
Dover, 1833, who was a graduate of Bowdoin Col- 
lege, and a distinguished ofiicer in the Union army 
during the Civil war. He was appointed adjutant 
of the Seventh Regiment of New Hampshire Vol- 
unteer Infantry, November 4, 1861, and was mus- 
tered in on the same day. He was advanced to the 
rank of major, August 26, 1862, and lieutenant-col- 
onel, July 2, 1863. Haldirnen S. Putnam, of the 
United States Engineer Corps, a West Point gradu- 
ate, was the colonel. This regiment served three 
years, and was in some of the most hard fought 
battles of the war. It was actively engaged at i\Ior- 
ris Island, Fort Wagner, Fort Sumter, Drury's 
Lane, Bluff, Bermuda Hundred. Petersburg, and 
Deep Bottom, Virginia, where Lieutenant-Colonel 
Henderson was wounded, August 16, 1864, and 
soon after succumbed to the effects of his injury. 
He was one of the bravest and most gallant officers 
New Hampshire sent to the war, was a highly 
accomplished scholar, and a gentleman as well as 
soldier of the first rank. Samuel H. Henderson 
married (second), after the death of his first wife 
in 1S37, July 5, 1838, Sarah Ann Guppey, of Dover, 
by whom he had six children, among them : Charles 
T., a member of the present board of aldermen of 
the city of Dover; William C, is the head of the 
Christian Science Church in the city of Dover. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1065 



(V) Howard Millet, s-econd son and fourth child 
of Tliomas and Elizabeth (Hoyt) Henderson, was 
born August 17, 1803. He was a college graduate, 
was well known as a teacher, and distinguished in 
educational matters in Kentucky, where he founded 
a seminary for the education of girls and young 
women, the first institution of the kind that had 
been established south of Mason and Dixon's line. 

He married , who was descended from one of 

the best families of Kentucky, and among their 
children were: Rev. Howard Millet Henderson, a 
clergyman in high standing in the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church of Ohio. 

tV) Thomas (2), third son and sixth child of 
Thomas (l) and Elizabeth (Hoyt) Henderson, was 
born March 25, 1810. He was engaged in the brick 
making industry, and when old age compelled his 
father to retire from active participation in business 
matters, he carried on the work with the assistance 
of his son. There are at present (,1907) time under 
their management two yards on the Back river and 
three on the Fore. This business has now been 
under the personal management of four generations 
in a direct line. Mr. Henderson did not devote 
much time to political matters, but he was a stanch 
Jeflfersonian Democrat, all his life, as had been his 
father before him. He was elected a member of 
the first board of aldermen when Dover became a 
city in 1856, and helped organize the new city gov- 
ernment. He was kind and courteous in his manner, 
and a most superior man of business. He took an 
active interest in all matters of public importance 
until his death, which occurred September 16, 1894. 
He married February 28, 1843, Olive Bickford, born 
in 1820, died April 3, 1891. She was a descendant 
■of the Bickford family of Dover, who were among 
the earliest settlers after the immigration of 1633. 
The children of Mr. and Mrs. Henderson were: i. 
John Henry, see forward. 2. Edwin, born August 
19, 1S45, died unmarried March 19, i88i. 

(V) William, youngest son and child or Thomas 
and Elizabeth (Hoyt) Henderson, was born Feb- 
ruary 21, 1813. He was also a college graduate, 
and was associated with his brother in the conduct 
of the Female Seminary, in which he held a pro- 
fessorship. He died unmarried September 4, 1839. 

(VI) James William, eldest son and fourth child 
of William and Maria (Diman) Henderson, was 
born in Rochester, February 18, 1840. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools and academy of his 
native town, Dover public schools, and Franklin 
Academy. He read law in the office of George W. 
Stevens, of Dover. He taught for several terms in 
the schools of Rochester and Farmington, and in 
the office of the Dover Inquirer learned the trade 
of printer, and worked at the same for several years 
in the Massachusetts state printing office and on the 
columns of the Boston Journal. He returned to 
Dover and was connected with the Morning Star 
and other papers of the town. During the years 
1S71-72-73-74-75 he was a member of the Dover 
board of education. During these years he had 
thoroughly prepared for the profession of law, and 



in 1877 removed to Florida, where he commenced 
the practice of law and became a distinguished and 
influential member of the bar of that state. He was 
admitted to the Florida supreme court bar, June 20, 
18S9. to the United States district court, and De- 
cember 17. 1894. to the supreme court of the United 
States. His first admission to the circuit court was 
March 14, 1882. His office in St. Augustine, Florida, 
is in a brick block bearing his name, where he con- 
ducts a successful and profitable general practice. 
He served the state as acting states attorney. Mr. 
Henderson has large realty interests in Florida, 
Chicago, Illinoi.s, and in Dover, and resides in these 
localities alternately attending to his varied interests. 
He is an ardent Democrat. He is a Free Mason of 
Apollo Lodge, Chicago, and an Odd Fellow of 
Wecohanet Lodge, Dover. 

James W. Henderson married. May 18, 187S, 
Ellen Compton, born at Lockport, New York, 
daughter of Jacob Compton, of Chicago. Two sons 
have been born to them. William H., born in 
Dover, May 27, 1879, died in St. Augustine, ^iLirch 
14, 1880. J. Compton, born at the Clifton House, 
Niagara Falls, Canada, July 8, 1880. He was grad- 
uated in the St. Augustine, Chicago and Dover 
public schools, and Phillips Exeter Academy. He 
graduated from the South Division high school, 
Chicago, and from Southwestern University, Jack- 
son, Tennessee, with the degree of LL. B. He was 
prominent in the debating and literary clubs, and 
while at Jackson, Tennessee, was president of the 
Law Club of the college. On reaching his majority 
he was admitted to the state courts of Tennessee, 
and later to those of Florida. He is the junior part- 
ner with his father in the law firm of Henderson & 
Henderson, St. Augustine, Florida. He is a lover 
of athletics, and all through his preparatory and 
college life was a valuable member of the various 
athletic teams. 

(VI) John Henry, youngest and only surviving 
son and child of Thomas and Olive (Bickford) 
Henderson, was born April 2, 1849. He devotes all 
his time and attention to the atifairs connected with 
his business, and has large holdings of real estate 
in Dover. He takes no active part in political mat- 
ters, except in so far that he attends the elections 
and votes for whom he considers the best men. He 
married, April 24, 1871, Maria Roberts, born May 
30, 1854, daughter of Aaron and Ann Eliza 
(Arnold) Roberts. Mr. Roberts was a lineal 
descendant of the Thomas Roberts, previously men- 
tioned, who settled in Dover in 1623. Anu Eliza 
(.\rnold) Roberts came from Rhode Island, and 
was descended from one of the prominent families 
in that state. Her mother was the daughter of 
Thomas Williams, a great-great-grandson of Roger 
Williams, the founder of Providence, Rhode Island. 
Children of Mr. and Mrs. Henderson were: Harry 
Preston, see forward. IMaud Olive, born Decem- 
ber 25, 1876, died March 6, 1894. She was a most 
amiable young woman, intelligent and intellectual, 
beautiful in person, and charming in manner. 

(\TI) Harry Preston, only son and only surviv- 



io66 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ing child of John Henry and Maria (Roberts) 
Henderson, was born October 30, 1872. He is en- 
gaged with his father in the brick manufacturing 
business, and also has an office for the transaction 
of insurance business in the city of Dover. He is 
a graduate of the Dover high school, and takes a 
lively interest in educational matters. He is a mem- 
ber of Moses Paul Lodge, No. 96, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, and has served as its secretary four 
years ; is a member of Belknap Chapter, Royal Arch 
Mason; Orphan Council, Royal and Select Masters; 
St. Paul Commandery; the Knights Templar, in 
which body he is at present captain general. He 
married June 10, 1895, Alberta Parker, born October 
7, 1870, daughter of Dr. Henry Rust and Ella 
(Thompson) Parker, of Dover. Dr. Parker is one 
of the eminent physicians of Dover, and has been 
mayor of the city. He is a descendant of William 
Parker, of Portsmouth, who was one of the early 
settlers in that town, and has had many distin- 
guished descendants. Mrs. Parker is the daughter 
of Moses Thompson, of Wolfboro, and had illus- 
trious ancestors, among them being the historian. 
Major Richard Walderne. The children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Henderson are : Maud Olive, born September 
23, 1896; Ella Parker, born July 8, 1900. 



This name appears very early in New 
COPP England, and was prominent in the first 
settlement and development of Boston. 
The connection, if any, between these pioneers and 
the Haverhill family has not been discovered. The 
name appears in Haverhill, Massachusetts, before 
the close of the seventeenth century and has numer- 
ous representatives in that region. 

(I) Aaron Copp was in Haverhill as early as 
1698, and was married there December 30 of that 
year to Mary Heath. She was born May 8, 1672. a 
daughter of Josiah and Mary (Davis) Heath, and 
granddaughter of Bartholomew Heath, one of the 
original proprietors of Newbury and Haverhill. 

(H) Moses, son of Aaron and Mary (Heath) 
Copp, married, in Haverhill, July 17, 1732, Mehitabel 
Griffin, widow of Peter Griffin, and daughter of 
Stephen and Elizabeth (Dustin) Emerson. Soon 
after his marriage he removed to what is now 
Hampstead, and his wife was admitted to the Hamp- 
stead church by letter from the Haverhill church, 
June 3. 1752. 

(HI) Joshua, son of Moses and Mehitabel 
(Emerson) (Griffin) Copp, was married Septem- 
ber IQ, 1758, by Rev. Henry True, to Sarah Poor, 
of Rowley, daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth 
(Searl) Poor. Joshua Copp and wife owned the 
Covenant at the Plampstead church, November 28, 
1761. Their children were: Molly, Elizabeth, 
Moses, Eliphalet, Sarah. Joshua. Susanna, Mehita- 
bel, George Washington, Benjamin Little and Na- 
thaniel Peabody. 

(IV) George Washington, fourth son and 
ninth child of Joshua and Sarah (Poor) Copp, was 
born August 26, 1776, in Hampstead, and settled in 



Warren, New Hampshire, where several others of 
his family also located. He died there December 
9, 1822. He cleared up a farm in the wilderness 
and engaged in its cultivation throughout his life. 
He married ]\Iary Abrams, born February 2. 1775, 
in Amesbury, Massachusetts, and died October 6,, 
i860, in Warren, New Hampshire, having lived a 
widow almost thirti'-eight years. Their children 
w«re: Joseph M., William (died young), Louisa, 
Nancy, George W. and Benjamin S. 

(V) Joseph M., eldest child of George W. and 
Mary (Abrams) Copp, was born October 15. iSoi, 
in Warren, New Hampshire, and settled in the town 
of Nashua, where he lived retired and died No- 
vember 2r, 1887. He married, in Warren. October 
30, 1828, Hannah H. Brown, born 1.S08, and died in 
1851. She was the mother of six children, five sons 
and one daughter. Mr, Copp married (second), in 
1887, Martha S. Russell, of Greenfield, New Hamp- 
shire. She became the mother of one child, Frank 
F., who died aged about sixteen years. 

(VI) Colonel Elbridge J. Copp. youngest son 
of Joseph M. and Hannah H. (Brown) Copp, was 
born in Warren, July 22, 1844. His education was 
obtained in the common and high schools of 
Nashua. In 1S61, when a little above sixteen years 
nf age, he enlisted as a private in Company F. Third 
Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteers. The following 
year he was appointed sergeant major of the regi- 
ment, and a short time after was promoted to sec- 
ond lieutenant. In 1863 meritorious conduct 
brought him a commission as adjutant of the regi- 
ment. At that time he was eighteen years of age, 
and the youngest commissioned officer in the service 
who had risen from the ranks. For a time he served 
as assistant adjutant-general on the staff of Col- 
onel and Acting Brigadier General Louis Bell, who 
was killed at Fort Fisher, and held his commission 
until he was mustered out, on account of disaliility 
from wounds, in October, 1864. During his term 
of enlistment he participated in many important en- 
gagements. While in the service he acted upon the 
theory that to fight is the province of a soldier, and 
was present at every battle in which his regiment 
took a part, unless so seriously disabled as to be 
prevented from doing so. He was wounded in the 
shoulder at Drury's Bluffs, in front of Richmond, and 
for a time was compelled to remain away from the 
firing line, but before his wound was fairly healed 
he was again in the saddle and was in his place 
when the advance upon Richmond was made. In 
that frightful and fruitless charge, General Haw- 
ley's brigade entered the fortifications of the enemy, 
and there the young adjutant was shot through the 
body and was rescued during the battle by General 
Hawley, who upon finding him sent an aid to bring 
him across the line. One hundred or more of the 
Third were wounded in this battle, and nearly all 
were captured. Adjutant Copp thus escaped what 
would have been almost sure death in a rebel prison, 
had he lived to reach one. He was taken to Chesa- 
peake Hospital, Fortress Monroe, where he was 
skillfully treated, and in October of 1864 was able 
to be removed to his home. He has never recovered 




v^^^^^f^^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1 06 



/ 



from his injuries, and often suffers from them for 
long periods. 

After regaining his strength to some extent, 
Colonel Copp traveled for some time for a Chicago 
and Indianapolis book-publishing house. Later he 
settled in business in Nashua, with his brother, 
Charles D. Copp, late captain in the Ninth New 
Hampshire Volunteers. Colonel Copp was ap- 
pointed register of probate for Hillsborough county 
in 1878, and from that time till the present (1907) 
has had no opposition for re-nomination and has 
been biennially re-elected to that position for a per- 
iod of twenty-eight years. His interest in military 
affairs has never abated, and to his efforts and in- 
fluence many noteworthy steps in the military mat- 
ters of New Hampshire should be credited. In 
1878. after the military spirit which had waned for 
some years following the war was revived. Mr. 
Copp was commissioned captain of the Nashua 
Guards, which through his tireless efforts in drill- 
ing and disciplining attained a standing above that 
of any other militia organization in the state. In 
1879 he was commissioned major of the Second 
Regiment, New Hampshire National Guard, and 
soon after was promoted to lieutenant-colonel. In 
1884 Colonel D. M. White was made brigade com- 
mander, and Lieutenant-Colonel Copp was advanced 
to the colonelcy of the regiment. In i88g. upon the 
expiration of his commission, Colonel Copp was 
urged to accept a new commission, but this he de- 
clined to do, as he did not regard such action as 
just to deserving officers who had earned promo- 
tion. The colonel's regard for the welfare of the 
military of the state did not expire with his com- 
mission, but directing all his energies to local im- 
provement and advancement, he organized a stock 
company with a capital of $30,000 for the con- 
struction of an armory in Nashua. In this he was 
completely successful. The money was raised, the 
plans drawn, and the building erected under the 
colonel's supervision ; it is one of the sights of the 
city and a source of much local pride. Colonel 
Copp is a member of John G. Foster Post, No. 7, 
Grand Army of the Republic; of the Massachusetts 
Commandery of the Loyal Legion ; of Pennichuck 
Lodge, No. 44, Independent Order of Odd Fellows ; 
and of Ancient York Lodge. Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons. In political faith he. adheres to the 
principles advocated by Abraham Lincoln, and was 
chairman of Nashua Republican City Committee for 
eight years. Colonel Copp is one of the best known 
and most respected citizens of Nashua. He is a 
true-hearted friend, a generous comrade, and a good 
neighbor. His long and honorable record as a gen- 
tleman and as an official is a monument to his mem- 
ory. He married, June 9, i86g, S. Eliza White, born 
December. 184.3, daughter of James and Rebecca 
(McConnihe) White, of Nashua. She died Decem- 
ber, 1893, leaving two daughters : Charlotte Louise, 
wife of Frederick B. Pearson, of Maiden. Massa- 
chusetts; and Edith Alice, married Dr. Harrison 
P. Baldwin, of Manchester. One child, Robert 
Copp, has been born to Mrs. Pearson. 



(II) Jonathan, who was perhaps a son of Aaron 
Copp, above mentioned, was a resident of Ames- 
bury, Massachusetts, where he married Elizabeth 
Dow. She was probably a daughter of Henry and 
Elizabeth (Colby) Dow, and was born October 12, 
1702. in Amesbury, a great-granddaughter of 
Thomas Dow, the ancestor of a numerous family 
of that name. 

(III) Solomon, son of Jonathan and Elizabeth 
(Dow) Copp, was born March 3, 1720, in Ames- 
bury, Massachusetts, and resided in that town until 
1752. Five of his children were baptized in that 
town. He removed from Amesbury to Canterbury, 
New Hampshire, and subsequently removed to San- 
bornton, becoming one of the early settlers of that 
town, and building his house on the Bay shore. He 
died there May 8. 1796. He was survived for more 
than twenty-four years by his wife, who passed 
away October 21, 1822, at the age of ninety-nine 
years, nine months and twenty-eight days. He was 
married in Amesbury to Elizabeth Davis, born there 
August 29, 1723, a daughter of Jonathan and 
Martha (Dow) Davis. Their children were: 
Elizabeth, Jerusha, Irene. Eleanor, Ruhama, Thomas, 
Lois, Mary, Solomon. Hannah and Judith. 

(IV) Thomas, sixth child and eldest son of 
Solomon and Elizabeth (Davis) Copp, was born in 
1754. died July 3, 1824. He was a soldier during 
the war of the Revolution, and the following inci- 
dent is declared to be authentic : While serving at 
the head of the guard he stopped the coach of Gen- 
eral Washington because the countersign was not 
forthcoming, and for this action was "warmly com- 
mended at headquarters." He married. March 6, 
1783. Alice Kimball, of Meredith, who died October 
7. 1S54, and their children were : Alice Elsie, David, 
Solomon, Elizabeth, Thomas, see forward ; John, 
Charles, died in childhood ; Mary, Jacob, Amos. 
Abigail, David, Charles (second), Peter and 
Luther. 

(V) Thomas, fifth child and third son of 
Thomas (2) aud Alice (Kimball) Copp, was born 
July 20, 1790. His earlier years were spent in New 
Hampton. New Hampshire, and he later removed ta 
Gilford, in the same state, where he died May 13. 
1S74. He was a cooper by trade and a man of in- 
fluence in the community. In politics he was a 
Democrat, and in religious affiliations a member of 
the Congregational Church. He married, March J, 
1815, Dorothy Rowen, daughter of John and Sarah 
(Hancock) Rowen, and they had children: Hazen, 
see forward ; Jason, who follow-ed the sea in the 
merchant service for a period of twelve years, and 
was a soldier in the Mexican war; Polly; Abigail; 
Sarah ; Edmund, was a soldier during the Civil war 
in the Twelfth New Hampshire Regiment, and died 
while in service; Orrin P. and Clarinda. 

(VI) Hazen. eldest child of Thomas (3) and 
Dorothy (Rowen) Copp. was born in Sanbornton, 
Belknap county. New Hampshire, August 6, 1816, 
died January 8, 1901. He went to New Hampton 
when a young lad. and when he attained his ma- 
jority removed to Bristol, where he engaged in the 



io68 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



lumber business and remained six years. He re- 
moved to Gilford. New Hampshire, in 1849, con- 
tinuing in the same line of business until 1876, when 
he removed to Tilton. where he became the proprie- 
tor of the grist mill and the woolen factory on the 
Northfield side opposite. He built a new factory 
helow his grist mill in 1877. He was a very suc- 
cessful man of business, accumulated a considerable 
amount of property, and was influential in the com- 
munity in many directions, holding a number of 
public offices. He was at one time a representative 
in the legislature. In politics he was a Republican, 
and in his religious affiliations a member of the 
Methodist Church. He was a Thirty-second degree 
Mason, a member of the grand lodge, and was the 
treasurer of his council chapter for twenty-two suc- 
cessive years. He was also a member of the Order 
of Odd Fellows. He married, January 17, 1834, 
Betsy Glover, of Compton, province of Quebec, 
where she was born July 14, 1818. still survives and 
resides in Tilton. New Hampshire. Their children 
were: i. Gust Aulando, see forward. 2. Abbie Ann, 
■born in Bristol, December 22, 1845, married (first) 
Freeman F. Elkins, of Gilford: married (second) 
Thomas Mark Hill, of Laconia. 3. Lizzie Etta, 
■born in Gilford, June 10, 1S52, married William 
Philip Blaisdell. of Gilford. 

(VH) Gust Aulando. eldest child and only son 
■of Hazen and Betsy (Glover) Copp. was bom in 
Bristol, New Hampshire, July 12. 1839. He was 
educated in the public schools of his native town 
and in the New Hampton Academy, and was well 
equipped for his business career. He succeeded to 
the lumber business of his father, and was also a 
contractor and builder. During the winter he 
operated a saw mill, doing custom work, and had 
six men constantly in his employ for this purpose. 
Mr. Copp was a man of enterprise, progress and 
executive ability. He built forty-eight cottages at 
Lake Shore Park, Gilford, and owned a farm of 
ninety acres, part of which is heavily timbered. He 
■enlisted in Company F, First New Hampshire Regi- 
ment, Heavy Artillery during the Civil war." and 
was in active service until the close of the war. He 
was in Company G. in the above mentioned regi- 
ment, in 1864. and engaged in the defence of Wash- 
ington, District of Columbia. He was a Republican, 
and took an active and beneficial interest in the 
political affairs of his township, having served in 
the legislature in 1895. been surveyor of highways, 
and overseer of the poor. He was a member of 
Mount Lebanon Lodge. No. 32. Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Laconia. He married. March 31. 1S61, 
Sara Jennie Thurston, born in Gilford, February 
29, 1844, daughter of Benjamin G. and Sallie M. 
(Goss) Thurston; no children. 

Benjamin P. Thurston, father of Mrs. Gust. A. 
Copp. was the only child born to Miles L. and 
Sarah (Perkins) Thurston, and was born in Gil- 
ford on the homestead farm, July 16. iSoi. He ac- 
quired a fair education in the common schools of 
that time, and his entire life, was spent in a.gricul- 
tural pursuits. He died .April 24. 1863. He mar- 



ried, in Gilford. Sallie M. Goss, daughter of John 
and Abigail Goss, who was born in Gilford, New 
Hampshire, August 8, 1809, and died December 6, 
189S. Their children are : Roxanna S., born Sep- 
tember 9, 1836, widow of Francis P. Rand, and has 
two sons, Oscar V. and Fred A. 2. Mrs. Copp, 
widow of Gust. A. Copp ; no family. 



Originally spelled Rosseter, this 
ROSSITER name is of undoubted Saxon or 

Norman origin, and probably was 
carried into England with the conquering army of 
William the Nonnan. It is still a conspicuous one 
in England, as well as in the United States, and 
has borne its part in developing this country in the 
various branches of progress. 

(I) Sir Edward Rossiter, the founder of the 
family in the United States, came from a good, sub- 
stantial family of the English gentry, and owned 
quite an estate in the county of Somerset, England. 
He was commissioned in London in 1629 as one ol 
the assistants to Governor Winthrop. and embarked 
for the colonies from Plymouth, England, March 
20, 1630, in the ship "Mary and John," commanded 
by Captain Syuet, with one hundred and forty per- 
sons aboard. Their original destination was the 
Charles river, but the captain decided to land them 
at Dorchester Neck, at the end of a two months' 
voyage. In the histories of the colonies Edward 
Rossiter is spoken of as a "godly man of good re- 
pute." who left England for the sake of religion. 
He lived to fill his position but a few months after 
his arrival in this country. He died October 23, 
1630. There is no mention of Sir Edward's wife, 
and it is supposed that she had previously died. 

(II) Dr. Brayard Rossiter, son of Sir Edward, 
was the only member of his family who came with 
him. He was accompanied by his wife. ^Elizabeth 
(AIsop) Rossiter, whom he married in ' England. 
Dr. Rossiter is spoken of in history as a finely edu- 
cated man from the best schools in England. He 
was one of the principal men who commenced the 
settlement of Windsor, Connecticut, in 1636, where 
he was a magistrate for eighteen years and where 
he became widely known as a physician. In 1652 
he moved to Guilford, Connecticut. On March 11, 
1662, he performed the first post-mortem in the 
Connecticut colony, and history has it that it was 
the first autopsy of which there is any record in 
New England, and antedating by a dozen years the 
one in Boston, in 1674, an account of which is given 
by Dr. Greene in his "History of Medicine." Dr. 
Rossiter died in Guilford, September 30, 1672. He 
had six children, but the only son who had descend- 
ants was Josiah. 

(III) Josiah was born in Windsor, Connecti- 
cut, and went with his father to Guilford. In 1676 
he married Sarah Sherman, daughter of Hon. Sam- 
uel Sherman, of Stamford and Woodbury, Con- 
necticut, from whose grandfather descended Roger 
Sherman of Declaration fame. General William 
Tecumseh and Senator John Shemian. Josiah 
Rossiter became a man of prominence in the col- 




-^^-^ ^ <^/- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1069 



onies. He was judge of the New Haven colony 
courts and one of the assistants to the governor for 
ten years. He was the first naval officer of the port 
of Guilford. He died in Guilford. January 31. 1716. 
Josiah and Sarah (Sherman) Rossiter had seven- 
teen children, who married and inter-married with 
the old Guilford and New Haven families. 

(IV) Theophilus, son of Josiah and Sarah 
(Sherman) Rossiter, was born in Guilford, Febru- 
ary 12, 1696. He married Abigail Pierson, of 
Bridgehampton. Long Island. She was the niece of 
the first president of Yale College. Theophilus 
Rossiter was one of the founders of the first church 
at North Guilford, and was deacon at the time of 
his death, which occurred April 9, 1770; no further 
record appears concerning him. There were twelve 
children, the name of only one, William, being 
given. 

(V) William, son of Theophilus and Abigail 
(Pierson) Rossiter, was born in North Guilford, 
February II, 1740. He married Submit Chittenden, 
a direct descendant of Major William Chittenden, 
one of the signers of the covenant of Guilford and 
the principal military man of the settlement. His 
estate — purchased from the Indians at that time — ■ 
has been and still is owned by his descendants, who 
occupy it during the summer. William Rossiter 
died December 28, 1820. He had a family of eleven 
children, one of whom was Sherman Rossiter. 

(VI) Sherman Rossiter was born in North 
Guilford, April 20, 1775, and became the progenitor 
of the New Hampshire Rossiters. He came to 
Claremont in 1800 and entered quite extensively 
into the lumber business. In 1804 he married, in 
Guilford, Connecticut, Olive Baldwin, who on her 
mother's side was a direct descendant of Theophilus 
Eaten, first governor of the New Haven colony, and 
of William Jones, one of the later governors of the 
colony, and on her father's side she was a descend- 
ant of Mary Bruen whose royal ancestry marked 
her as one of the aristocrats of the early New 
Haven colony. He returned to Claremont with his 
bride, where he settled on a fann in the eastern part 
of the town. Here he reared and educated a large 
family, and by dint of hard work and careful man- 
agement accumulated quite a large property for 
those times. Being one of the early settlers of the 
town his life was necessarily harder and more primi- 
tive than it had been in old Guilford, which had 
nearly two centuries' start of Claremont, but which 
today in the modern march of progress has fallen 
far behind the enterprising New Hampshire town. 
Sherman Rossiter died October 2, 1838. His wife 
survived until August 5, 1863. Memorial windows 
for both adorn the Congregational Church in Clare- 
mont, which they helped to found. They had nine 
children : William, Luzerne S., Stephen J., Timothy 
B., Chittenden. Lorette C, Pomeroy M., Submit C. 
and R. Van Ness Rossiter. (Mention of Timothy 
B. and descendants appears in this article). 

(VII) \\Mlliam (2). eldest child of Shemian 
and Olive (Baldwin) Rossiter, was born on a farm 
in Claremont, September 24, 1805, and died in his 



native town. Febr\iar>- 29, i860. He was educated 
in the public schools and very early displayed 
marked business talent ; he settled in Claremont 
Village and engaged in general mercantile business 
which he followed for a number of years ; he later 
became active in the manufacture of woolen goods 
and operated the Sullivan Woolen Mills in company 
with Thomas Sanford for several years ; he was 
also for a short time connected with a cutlery com- 
pany. 

William Rossiter held at different times nearly 
every office within the gift of his towm ; he was a 
representative in the New Hampshire legislature in 
1847-48, and was a member of the constitutional 
convention. He was one of the promoters of the 
Sullivan Railroad from Windsor, Vennont, to Bel- 
low's Falls and one of the first directors. Mr. Ros- 
siter was a very genial man, was public-spirited and 
generous to a high degree, and appeared to have a 
much greater interest in w'hatever would promote 
the welfare of his town than in the accumulation of 
a large property. Although an attendant and a 
liberal supporter of the Congregational Church his 
giving was not confined to the narrow limits of 
one denomination, and it is recorded that when the 
Baptists started a subscription for a bell for their 
church Mr. Rossiter headed the paper with a larger 
sum than given by any other, with a single excep- 
tion. Although he was for many years a great suf- 
ferer from asthma, he did not yield to the infirmity 
and his energy, a strong characteristic, carried him 
through many a struggle in which one less endowed 
must have yielded. September 20, 1834, William 
Rossiter married Lucy Barrett, daughter of Joseph 
and Lucy (Damen) Barrett, of Windsor, Vermont 
(see Barrett). Their children, all born in Clare- 
mont, were : Sarah Baldwin. Adelaide, born June 
ID, 1838, died December, 1899. William Henry, 
born October 5, 1841, died in Faribault, Minnesota, 
November 5, 1862. Albert, born May i, 1843. Al- 
bert Rossiter was educated in the public schools of 
his native town, in Meriden, and at Kimball L'nion 
Academy ; he took high rank in mathematics, be- 
came an expert in figures and naturally w-as inter- 
ested in banking. He was assistant cashier of the 
Claremont Bank for thirty-two years, and was for 
a long time treasurer of the Sullivan Savings Insti- 
tution ; he has now retired from business and re- 
sides in Claremont. He is an attendant of the Con- 
gregational Church, and is a Republican in politics. 
(VIII) Sarah (Baldwin) Rossiter, eldest child 
of William and Lucy (Barrett) Rossiter, was born 
July 31, 1836. She was educated in the public 
schools and at Kimball Union Academy. May 3. 
1858, she married Darius Shaw White, who was 
born in Mt. Holly, Vermont, and removed from 
that town to Claremont. about 1845. He operated 
a stage line from the Claremont & Pullman Rail- 
road station and one from the village square to 
Claremont Junction. He was also proprietor of the 
old Vermont House, then a leading tavern (as it 
w^as then called) of the town. Mr. White removed 
to Northfield, Minnesota, in 1856. and resumed the 



1070 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



hotel business. He was afterward associated with 
his brother in the same business at Hastings, Minne- 
sota. He died in 1883, aged sixty-one years. Mrs. 
White returned to her native town after the death 
of her husband, and has since made her home in 
the fine old Colonial house in Mulberry street, 
Claremont, a gift to her from her father. 

(VH) Timothy Baldwin, son of Sherman and 
Olive (Baldwin) Rossiter, was born in Claremont, 
September iS, 1807. He married. May 30, 1836. 
Elvira Dustin, a direct descendant of Hannah Dus- 
tin, of Indian fame. Starting out in life with a 
mortgaged farm, by economy, honest toil, and rare 
judgment, he accumulated quite a fortune, being 
the largest individual taxpayer in the town of Clare- 
mont at the time of his death, which occurred Jan- 
uary 16, 1893. They had three children : George 
Pomeroy. Edward Augustus, born March 16, 1844, 
who later in life became quite prominent in the 
clothing business in Albany, New York ; Pittsburg, 
Pennsylvania ; and Hartford, Connecticut. He died 
at the age of thirty-four, leaving no heir. Ellen, 
died at the age of ten years. Elvira (Dustin) Ros- 
siter died February 5, 1898. 

(VIH) George Pomeroy, eldest son of Tim- 
othy Baldwin and Elvira (Dustin) Rossiter, was 
born in Calremont, May 6, 1840. He was educated at 
the old academy at Claremont, and at Kimball 
Union Academy. April 27, 1865, he married Caro- 
line Lewis Gleason, whose grandmother, (maiden 
name) Lucy Scott, was the first white woman to 
spend the night in the town of Plainfield, coming 
as a bride on horseback from Connecticut. George 
P. Rossiter served the town of Claremont as select- 
man in 1864, representative at the legislature in 1891, 
and was a member of the constitutional convention 
in 1902. He resides in Claremont, in relig^ion is a 
Congregationalist, and in politics a Republican. 
Children: I. Charles Timothy, born December 21, 
1869, graduated at Dartmouth College in 1904 ; in 
consequence of poor health he took up farming, 
conducting the same on a modern scale ; he married 
Gertrude Rindlaub, February' 17, 1906. 2. Edward 
J. 3. Robert Gleason, born June 13. 1875. After 
attending the Claremont schools he conducted a 
lumber business in the town of Claremont. 

(IX) Edward J., second son of George P. and 
Caroline Lewis (Gleason) Rossiter, was born in 
Claremont, April 29, 1871, graduated at Dartmouth 
College in 1895, after which he engaged in banking 
and real estate in his native town ; a Congrega- 
tionalist, Republican, and Mason. On August 22, 
1899, he married Sarah Edith Jones, daughter of 
Thomas and Sarah (Bill) Jones, of Worcester. 
Massachusetts. Sarah Edith (Jones) Rossiter was 
born in Burten Head, near Liverpool, England, Oc- 
tober 20, 1871, and came to America with her par- 
ents when very young. She was educated in the 
schools of Worcester. Her father, Thomas Jones, 
has been a large stone contractor, having erected 
stone buildings all over New England and the mid- 
dle west, and is still living in Worcester, Edward 
J. and Snrah Edith (Jones) Rossiter have two chil- 



dren, Olive, born December 6, 1900. and Brayard 
Thomas, May 16, 1902. 



The name of Lamson is often spelled 
LAM SON Lambson or Lampson, but the earliest 

form appears to be Lambton. Robert 
de Lambton, feudal lord of Lambton castle in the 
county of Durham, England, died in 1350, and the 
estate is still in the possession of his descendants. 
Like many other ancient British families they are 
said to have been of Danish origin. William, the 
first American ancestor, came from Durham county, 
and his name first appears as Lambton. This soon 
underwent modifications in the early records. In 
1834 two bearing the name of Lamson or its allied 
forms had graduated from Harvard, and four from 
other New England colleges. 

(I) William Lamson, or Lambton. came from 
Durham county, England, to Ipswich, Massachu- 
setts, in 1637. He came over in the fleet with Win- 
throp. He settled in that part of Ipswich now called 
Hamilton, and w'as made a freeman there on May 17, 
1637. His wife was Sarah Ayres. He died February 
I. 1659. leaving a w'idow, Sarah Lamson, and eight 
children. She married. April 10, 1661, Thomas 
Hartshorn, of Reading, Massachusetts. 

(II) John, son of William and Sarah (.\yres) 
Lamson, is found in the list of those entitled by law 
to vote in town affairs in 1679. He was one of the 
trial jury in the superior court at Salem in 1693 for 
the trial of those charged with witchcraft. He mar- 
ried Martha Perkins, who was born in 1649, daugh- 
ter of Thomas and Phoebe (Gould) Perkins. 

(III) William (2), son of John and Martha 
(Perkins) Lamson, was married, in 1706, to Lydia 
Porter, daughter of John and Lydia (Herrick) 
Porter. 

(IV) Jonathan, son of William (2) and 
Lydia (Porter) Lamson. was commissioned ensign 
in the Revolutionary war. He married Anna Dane. 

(V) William (3), son of Jonathan and Anna 
(Dane) Lamson, was a native of Ipswich, and re- 
moved from that town to .Amherst, New Hampshirfe, 
in 1783, being the first of the family to remove to 
this state. He settled in the northwest parish of 
.'Vmherst, which became Mont Vernon twenty years 
after he located there. He signed the association 
test in .Amherst in 1776, and was chosen by the town 
two years later to provide for the families of sol- 
diers in the war. In the last year of the war he 
was one of a committee to hire soldiers. He was 
active in securing the incorporation of the tow-n of 
Mont Vernon, and was in every way a useful citi- 
zen. He married Mary Lummas. 

(VI) William (4), son of William (3) and 
Mary (Lummas) Lamson, resided through life in 
Mont Vernon on the farm that he inherited from 
his father. He married Sebinh Jones, and they had 
six children : William O., Mary. Seviroh, .Augusta, 
.■\daline. Nancy E. 

(VII) William Osborn, son of William (4) 
and Sebiah (Jones) Lamson, was born September 
It, 1808, in Mont Vernon, He w-as a farmer and 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1071 



lived on the old homestead originally owned by his 
grandfather. He was captain of the state miHtia 
for a number of yeajs. He was a Republican in 
politics, but he never cared to hold office. He at- 
tended the Congregational Church, and was a man 
of excellent standing in the community. On Jan- 
uary 10, 1849, he married Orindia Felton Odell, 
■daughter of Luther and Betsey (Green) Odell. 
She was born in Amherst. New Hampshire, Feb- 
ruary 16, 1819, and died in ]\Iont Vernon, Novem- 
ber 24, 1874. Captain Lamson died July 12, 1896, 
at the advanced age of eighty-eight. Their chil- 
dren : Harriett P., born April 6, 1850. Marriett A., 
April 6, 1850. Ella T., December 4, 1851. Ellen 
O., December 4. 1851. Ida H., September 20, 1853. 
Frank O., October 20, 1858. 

(VHI) Frank Osborn, son of Captain William 
O. and Orindia F. (Odell) Lamson, was born at 
Mont Vernon, New Hampshire, October 20, 1858. 
He was educated in the public schools, and has 
been a farmer all his life. He owns about four 
hundred acres of land, of which he keeps sixty 
acres under cultivation. He makes a specialty of 
the raising of Holstein cattle. He is a Republican 
in politics, and active in the interests of his party. 
He has held many town offices, has been a select- 
man since 1903, and representative in 1906. He 
served on the school board for twelve years. He is 
a member of the Grange Lodge. Mr. Lamson is a 
man of pleasing personality and progressive ideas. 
He belongs to the Congregational Church. Onl 
January 9. iSgo, Frank O. Lamson married Marcia 
Ellen Batchelder. daughter of Deacon George Gage 
and Mary Elizabeth (Horn) Batchelder, of Mont 
Vernon, New Hampshire. She was educated in the 
schools of her native town. Her father was a cur- 
rier and farmer. He served as selectman, belonged 
to Prospect Grange, and was a deacon of the Con- 
gregational Oiurch. Mrs. Batchelder came from 
Dover, New Hampshire. Mr. and Mrs. Frank O. 
Lamson have four children : Albert Batchelder, 
born July 31, 1891 ; Ella May. March 5. 1895; Will- 
iam Osborn, July 29, 1900, and Frank H., October 7, 
1906. 



According to Cogswell's History of 
WOOD Henniker, New Hampshire, Eliphalet 

Wood was the fifth in descent from Wil- 
liam Wood, who came from Matlack. Derbyshire, 
England, in 1638. and settled in Concord, Massa- 
chusetts, where he died May 14. 1671. aged eighty- 
nine years. But no Eliphalet of that generation is 
mentioned in the Wood genealogy, nor are the 
names of his descendants indexed in that work; 
hence, the line cannot be traced farther back than 
his record. 

(I) Eliphalet Wood lived in Concord. Massa- 
chusetts, afterwards in Westboro, where his chil- 
dren were born. The name of his wife is unknown. 
They had eight children : Jonathan, born April 13, 
1753: Joshua, mentioned below; Jesse; Jabez ; Lucy ; 
Molly, married John Harthorn : Betty, married 
Joshua Whitney; Patty, married W. Adams. 



(H) Joshua, second son and child of Eliphalet 
Wood, was born in 1756, in Westboro, Massachu- 
setts. On December 25, 1777, he married Elizabeth 
Bradish, and settled upon the farm which after- 
wards descended to his grandson, Joseph. He died 
October 22, 1836, and his wife died October 28, 
1827. They had seven children : Patty, born July 
27, 1780. married Elisha Rice. Levi, mentioned be- 
low. Betsey, born July 22, 1785, died August 7, 
1807. Eunice, born July 9, 178S, died July 13, 1866, 
unmarried. James Bradish, born April 17, 1791. 
Elijah, born September 10. 1795. Lucy, born 
August 24, 1798, died October i, 1873, unmarried. 

■ (HI) Levi, eldest son and second child of 
Joshua and Elizabeth (Bradish) Wood, w-as born 
April 15, 1782. He married Prudence Chamberlain, 
February 26, 1S07, and they lived on the homestead. 
He died March 14, 1866, and his wife died Novem- 
ber I. 1863. They had four children: Imri, born 
April 25, 1808. Alanson, mentioned below. Ly- 
man, born November 7, 1813, married Zylphia A. 
Gould, of Goffstown, New Hampshire, became a 
carpenter, and died in Manchester, New Hampshire. 
Hannah H., born October 3, 1816, married C. P. 
McAdams. 

(IV) Alanson. second son and child of Levi 
and Prudence (Chamberlain) Wood, was born at 
Henniker, New Hampshire, May 3, 1810. He lived 
in Henniker all his life, and was a miller and 
farmer. He was a Democrat in politics, and at- 
tended the Methodist Church. His first wife, the 
mother of his children, was Mary Colby, daughter 
of Silas Colby, whom he married January 13, 1834. 
She died May 13, 1865. In June, 1866., he married 
his second wife, Mrs, Poor. The si.x children of 
Alanson and Mary (Colby) Wood were: Levi, born 
1834, died July 31, 1S37. Lenora A., born October 
17, 1836, married Jason H. Whitney. Silas F., born 
April 17, 1S40. Horace H., mentioned below. 
Marietta, born February 9. 1849, married George M. 
Poor, vv'ho served in the Civil war in Company C, 
Fifth Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteers. Ida 
F., born January 17, 1S54. Alanson Wood died 
November 13, 1873. 

(V) Horace Hanson, fourth son and fifth child 
of Alanson and Mary (Colby) Wood, was born in 
Hillsboro, New Hampshire, April 21, 1842. For 
three years he was a farmer in Hillsboro, then went 
to West Concord. New Hampshire, and worked in 
Holden's mills for about a year. He removed to 
Manchester, New Hampshire, and stayed in the 
mills there for one year. He then came to Laconia, 
New Hampshire, where he worked in the mills for 
twenty-five years, starting as second hand, and be- 
ing promoted several times. He then started a 
shoddy mill in the adjoining town of Lakeport, which 
he managed for two years. For the next five years 
he was overseer in the Gilford Hosiery Mills. In 
1880 he started large woolen and hosiery mills on 
the west side of the river in Lakeport. In 1903, 
when fire swept Lakeport. both mills were burned. 
He immediately started to build again, and in the 
meantime he managed a mill on the otiier side of 



1072 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



the river. In 1906 his new mills were running. 
Mr. Wood is a Republican in politics. He is a 
Thirty-second degree Mason. He is a member of 
Mount Lebanon Lodge, No. 36, Free and Accepted 
Masons; Union Chapter, No. 7. Royal Arch Ma- 
sons; Pythagorean Council, No. 6, Royal and Select 
Masons; Pilgrim Commandery, Knights Templar, 
all of Laconia ; New Hampshire Consistory, Nashua, 
and Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, Concord. Mr. 
Wood married Mary J. Lovejoy, daughter of David 
and Melinda (Chase) Lovejoy, of Meredith. New 
Hampshire. 



A casual glance into the origin of the 
WOOD Woods in America discloses the fact 
that the majority of them are descended 
from two immigrants: William, who came over in 
1638, settling in Concord. Massachusetts, and John 
(see Atwood), who arrived at Plymouth, same 
state, in 1643. Both came from England. The 
New Hampshire Woods are undoubtedly the poster- 
ity of the first-named immigrant, through the lat- 
ter's only son Michael, but the writer has thus far 
been unable to identify with certainty the ancestors 
prior to those herein mentioned. 

(I) Joshua Wood, who was born in Pomfret, 
Connecticut, in 1755, went to Keene in the latter 
part of the eighteenth century and was actively 
concerned in the early development of the town, 
where he died in 1S20. Joshua Wood was one of 
the valued and valuable citizens of the early yeans 
of Keene, and is said to have owned the first wagon 
in that town. He contributed in many ways to its 
substantial and moral development. He and his 
wife w-ere among the early members of the First 
Congregational Church of Keene, and the family 
identification with this church embraces a period of 
one hundred years. Joshua Wood and his son 
Amos were soldiers in the War of 1812. He mar- 
ried Esther Estey, and his children were: Esther, 
Hannah, Polly, Judith, Daniel. Amos, Sally. Lucy, 
Nathan. George, Isaac and David. All of these 
children save one. George, who died at sea, lived to 
be over fifty years of age. 

(II) Nathan, son of Joshua and Esther (Es- 
tey) Wood, was born in Keene, May 31, 1800. He 
acquired his education in the district schools. Hav- 
ing learned the blacksmith's trade he established 
himself in business on what is now Mechanic 
street, which he carried on with unusual prosperity 
until injured by a horse, and finding himself in 
comfortable circumstances he determined to gratify 
his long cherished ambition of becoming an inde- 
pendent farmer. From his properties in Keene Mr. 
Wood gave to the city the land now occupied by 
Woodburn, Davis and Mechanic streets. Mr. Wood 
was thus an important factor in the development of 
Keene, the streets named containing much of the 
best residential and some of the leading manufac- 
turing properties of the city. Going to Walpole, 
New Hampshire, in 1850. he purchased a piece of 
agricultural property located on a bluff overlooking 
the entrance of Cold river into the Connecticut, and 



he remained there some three years, at the expira- 
tion of which time he returned to Keene. There he 
continued to follow agriculture with success, and 
was one of the most prominent citizens of his day. 
Prior to relinquishing his business in Keene he had 
purchased the land lying between the General Wil- 
son homestead and the Elliot residence and extend- 
ing to the river. The farm, which he purchased 
upon his return, comprised the land now bounded 
by Court street, Portland street and the Ashuelot 
river. Mr. Wood lived a life of generally' rec- 
ognized usefulness, and died a Christian gentleman. 
Mr. Nathan Wood was an ensign in the Twentieth 
Regiment of Fifth Brigade of New Hampshire 
Militia. His honorable discharge bears date of April 
16. 1822. His death occurred December 4, 1861. 

He married Lorinda Ruggles, of Rutland, Ver- 
mont, born April 4. 1804, died August 18, 1841. 
She became the mother of four daughters, namely : 
Julia R., born August, 1825, died in Washington,, 
D. C., February 16, 1905, the widow of Levi Potter. 
Susan E., born May 22, 1828, married Hon. J. J. 
Allen. Jr., whom she survived. She died in Keene, 
August 20. IQ02. Sarah L., born May 20, 1833. now 
residing in Keene. Mary L., born June 20, 1841,. 
died March 16, 1846. 

(I) Gardner Wood was born in Orange,_ Mass- 
achusetts, December 27, 1806, and died in Athol, 
same state. April 15, 1873. His wife was before 
marriage Joan Dunbar. 

(II) Wright, son of Gardner and Joan (Dun- 
bar) Wood, was born in Orange, Jime 18, 1835. At 
an early age he entered mercantile business as a 
clerk in a general store in his native town, from 
whence he went to Richmond. New Hampshire, 
where he occupied a similar position for about five 
years, and from the latter place he removed to 
Ashuelot in order to accept a clerkship with Messrs. 
Hammond and Weeks, general merchants of that 
town. In company with A. W. Ball he later pur- 
chased the store vVhich was carried on under the 
firm name of Ball & Wood for the succeeding 
twelve years, when Mr. Wood became sole proprie- 
tor of the business and conducted it successfully 
for the remainder of his life. He died in Ashuelot, 
February 24, 1895. He married Augusta M. Bar- 
den, of Winchester. New Hampshire, and reared 
two sons, Herbert W. and Garry D. 

(III) Herbert Wright, elder son of Wright and 
Augusta M. (Barden) Wood, was born in Rich- 
mond. December 14, 1861. He was educated in the 
Ashuelot public schools, and at the age of seven- 
teen years entered his father's store as a clerk. He 
continued to assist his father until the latter's de- 
cease, when he took charge of the business and has 
ever since managed it with profitable results. In 
politics Mr. Wood supports the Republican party. 
He married Lizzie H. Wood, daughter of Eben and 
Hannah (Patten) Wood, of Cherryfield, Maine. 



Houghton was a very common 

HOUGHTON name in Massachusetts in the 

Colonial times, and one hundred 

and sixteen Houghtons are mentioned in the list of 




^^^ ^:i-^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1073 



Massachusetts soldiers and sailors of the Revolu- 
tionary war. Ralph Houghton, one of the earlier 
of this name in New England, was born in England 
in 1623, and died April 15, 1705. He immigrated 
from England between 1635 and 1647, and was one 
of the founders of Lancaster, Massachusetts. He 
removed to Woburn in 1675, to jMilton in 1682, and 
returned to Lancaster in 1685, and to Milton in 
1690. He built in Milton a homestead in which 
seven generations of his descendants were born. 
He was the first town clerk of Lancaster, Massa- 
chusetts, about 1647. and representative in 1673 and 
1689. He married Jane (surname unknown), born 
1626, died January 10, 1701. Tradition says he was 
the son of Sir Richard Houghton. Baronet, of 
Hoghton Tower, Lancashire, England, and fought 
against Charles I. although his family fought for 
the king. The Houghtons of Hoghton Tower are 
descended from Roger de Busli, one of the follow- 
ers of William the Conqueror, A. D., 1066. 

(HI) Henry Houghton, who was probably a 
grandson of Ralph, resided in Lancaster, and was a 
soldier in some of the expeditions against the In- 
dians. The records of Sergeant Thomas Buckmin- 
ster. of Framingham, show that he served in his 
command one week and six days but the character 
of the services is not indicated. He was married 
in Watertown, Massachusetts. Januar>' 2, 1700, to 
Abigail Barren. 

(IV) Henry (2), son of Henry (i) and Abi- 
gail (Barren) Houghton, was baptized in Lancaster, 
April 19, 1702, and lived in that part of the original 
Lancaster, which is now Harvard. He was a prom- 
inent citizen, active in town affairs, and died De- 
cember 23, 1777. The records show that Henry 
Houghton served in Captain Josiah Willard's com- 
pany from June 3 to November 10, 1725. This was, 
no doubt an expedition against the Indians, and the 
Henry Houghton here referred to is probably 
Henry (2). as his father at that time would be 
somewhat advanced in years. He was married, No- 
vember 24, 1725, to Elizabeth Rand, of Stow, and 
their children were : Asa, Joseph, Aretas, Elizabeth, 
Abigail, Sarah and John. 

(V) Asa Houghton, son of Henry (2) and 
Elizabeth (Rand) Houghton, was born January 20, 
1727. in Lancaster, and was a captain in the militia 
in 1774 during the Revolutionary war. He was a 
member of the committee of safety in Lancaster. 
A few years after that struggle his homestead was 
annexed to Boxborough. He was married January 
4, 1750, to Elizabeth Rand. 

(VI) Asa (2), son of Asa ii) and Elizabeth 
(Rand) Houghton, was born February 14, 1758, in 
Harvard, and lived in that town, where he was cap- 
tain of the militia and a useful and active citizen. 
He was married December 9, 1779, to Dorcas 
Moore, of Bolton. Their children were : Levi, Jacob, 
Reuben. Asa, Jabez. Thirza, Obed and Oliver. 

(VII) Jacob, second son and child of Asa (2) 
and Dorcas (Moore) Houghton, was born January 
21, 1782, and lived in Boxborough, perhaps all the 
time on the same home.stcad. Hi's wife's name was 

iii — 17 



Sarah and their children were: Lucy, Jane, Sarah, 
.■\lvin W., Whitcomb, Mercy, Abel and George W. 

(VIII) Alvin W., eldest son and fourth child 
of Jacob and Sarah (Whitcoinb ?) Houghton, was 
born February 28, 1813. in Boxborough, Massachu- 
setts, and died in San Francisco, California, Octo- 
ber 8, 1899, aged eighty-five. He was employed for 
some years in the cotton factories of Lowell. When 
he left there he removed to Manchester, New Hamp- 
shire, where he became overseer in the spinning de- 
partment of the Amoskeag mills. He gave up this 
employment to go into the furniture business, which 
he carried on foT five years. In the early days of 
excitement over the discovery of gold in California 
he went there and engaged in mining for some time. 
He made three visits to California, on one of which 
he took his son, and rounded Cap€ Horn. He 
finally returned to California, and from that time 
until his death was successfully engaged in the 
furniture business. He married, in Lowell, Esther 
H. Runnells, who died in Manchester, 1892, aged 
seventy-four. Five children were born of this mar- 
riage : Wealthy Maria, Sarah, Alvin Oscar, 
George Albert and Revilo Gardner. Sarah died in 
infancy, and Alvin Oscar and George Albert were 
drowned in Stevens Pond, in June, 1865. both being 
grown young men. 

(IX) Revilo Gardner, youngest and only sur- 
viving child of Alvin W. and Esther H. (Runnells) 
Houghton, was born in Manchester, August 15, 
1S57. After leaving the common schools he be- 
came a clerk in the dry goods store of Joseph Wes- 
ton, where he worked from the time he was fifteen 
until he was seventeen years old. Then entering 
the Amoskeag machine shop he worked two years 
at the tinner's trade. Afterward he learned the 
plumber's trade, while in the employ of Thomas A. 
Lane, and later took service with the People's Gas- 
light Company of Manchester, where he has been 
employed for twenty years, and for a number of 
years has been foreman of repairs. He is an able 
and faithful employe. For the past thirty years he 
has been a call member of the Manchester Fire 
Company. He is also a member of Wildey Lodge, 
No. 45, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He 
married, 1877, Theresa Gillis. daughter of Michael 
Gillis. He married (second), in Wolfboro, June, 
1901, Blanche L. Chase, daughter of Charles F. and 
Sarah (Getchell) Chase. By this first marriage 
there was one child, Maud E., who married H. W. 
Caswell, and lives in Gardner, Massachusetts. 



The Garvins or New Hampshire are 
GARVIN of Irish extraction, and descended 

froiTi an ancestor who came to the 
state in the first half of the eighteenth century. 
Many of both the earlier and the later generations, 
like the immigrant, have shown their liking for 
salt water by becoming seafarers. 

James Garvin, the immigrant, was born in Ire- 
land, and came to America, it is said, as a stow- 
away after 1700. He was a sailor and finally a sea 
captain. He settled in Rollinsford (then Soniers- 



1074 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



worth), probably before 1740, and built a store at 
what is now known as the lower landing, and be- 
came a trader in West India goods. He was a 
man of substance and influente, and lived until 
1787, perhaps. He married Sarah Hobbs, and they 
had seven children: James, Sarah, Elizabeth, Ra- 
chel, John, Thomas and Paul. 

(I) Benjamin F., youngest son and .child of 
Jacob and Margaret (Watts) Garvin, was born 
in Litchfield, February 16, 1820, and died in Derry, 
June, 1904. He learned shoemaking and followed 
that occupation for a number of years. In 1861 he 
became station agent at Londonderry, for the Man- 
chester & Lawrence Railroad. During the Civil 
war he owned and conducted a store in London- 
derry near the railroad station, and also dealt in 
ship timber. He was a good business man and a 
member of the board of selectmen. He married, 
1842, Nancy Spinney, who was born in Manchester, 
January 9, 1824, and died 1904, daughter of Alex- 
ander and Zila (Dow) Spinney, of Manchester. 
They had seven children: Augustus F., Eldora J., 
George Spinney, Norman (died young), Clarence 
Norman, Elwin W. and Arthur O. 

(H) Captain George Spinney, second son and 
third child of Benjamin F. and Nancy (Spinney) 
Garvin, was born in Londonderry, March 18, 1845. 
He was educated in the district schools, and at the 
age of sixteen left home, and in November, 1861, en- 
listed at Boston, Massachusetts, in an independent 
company for service in the Civil war. In six months 
he was discharged from this organization and be- 
came a member of Company B, Third Maryland 
Infantry. After seeing six months service in Balti- 
more, Maryland, he was glad to be discharged at 
Washington, and returned home. April 9, 1864, 
he again left home and soon after shipped at New 
Bedford, Massachusetts, on board a vessel called 
the "Aurie Taft," for a whaling voyage. The ship 
returned after a voyage of eighteen months with a 
cargoe of one thousand barrels of oil, having visited 
Hudson Bay, where they were frozen in one winter. 
He continued to follow the" sea and passed through 
the grades of boat steerer, third mate, second mate, 
first mate, and finally was made captain of the ship 
"Isabella" in 1878. He sailed out of San Francisco 
twenty-two consecutive years, and during his life 
as a mariner made thirty-seven voyages and never 
experienced a wreck or serious accident. He has 
visited almost all the maritime countries of the 
world. The ships he commanded were "Isabella" 
spoken of above, and the steam whaler "Orca" 
owned by the Pacific Steam Whaling Company of 
San Francisco, and this was the largest vessel en- 
gaged in whale fishing in the Arctic Ocean. In 
1891 he built a handsome residence and outbuildings 
at Londonderry Depot, New Hampshire, v.-hich has 
been his residence since. In 1903 he forsook the 
ocean and returned to Londonderry, where he has 
since resided. 

He married in Londonderry, October 26, 1877, 
Laura Furbcr, who was born in Massachusetts, and 
died in 1895, daughter of John S. and Laura J. 



(McQuestion) Furber, of Manchester, New Hamp- 
shire. They had one son, George Oliver, now a 
resident of Salem, Massachusetts. Captain Garvin 
married (second) Sarah C. Field, of Saco, Maine. 
Mrs. Garvin's mother now resides with her, and is 
healthy and active, although aged ninety years. 

(II) Clarence Norman, fifth child and fourth 
son of Benjamin F. and Nancy (Spinney) Garvin, 
was born in Londonderry, January 7, 1854. He re- 
ceived his education in the public schools, and at 
the age of fifteen years began to learn shoemaking, 
and for nearly thirty years has worked at that busi- 
ness continuously for the Pillsbury Shoe Company, 
except a period of four or five j-ears when he was a 
clerk in iNIanchester. He resided in Londonderry until 
1898, when he removed to West Derry, where he 
now lives. In 1903 he was appointed postmaster at 
West Derry, and after serving four years was re- 
appointed January i, 1907. 

He married, in Manchester, February 9, 1873, 
Abbie D. Wilson, who was born in Londonderry, 
December 28, 1855, daughter of John P. and Adaline 
(Auris) Wilson, of Londonderry (see Wilson IV). 
They have three children : Fred E., Lilla B. and 
Chester A. Fred E. married, July, 1894, at Derry, 
Emma Provencher, who was born in Canada. They 
have two children: Florence, born May 11, 1S95, 
and Beatrice, August 7, 1900. 



That the Peavey family was not 
PEAVEY among the first three generations of 
settlers in New England seems to 
appear from the absence of any mention of it in 
Savage's work; from the limited number of persons 
of that name now living; and from the few soldiers 
of that name in the Revolutionary war, of whom 
only one went from Massachusetts and eleven from 
New Hampshire. Thomas Peavey, of Andover, 
Massachusetts, was a private in Captain Joshua 
Holt's (Fourth Andover) Company, which marched 
on the alarm of April 19, 1775, to Cambridge. Major 
Peter Peavey, of Andover, Massachusetts, settled 
in Wilton, New Hampshire, where he had a son 
Peter, born in 17S8. Edward Peavey died in the ser- 
vice of the Revolutionary war, and his children were 
early pioneers of Tuftonborough. Charles Peavey 
was born in Newington, December, 1790. The early 
seat of the family in New Hampshire seems to 
have been in or about Hampton Falls, since we find 
in the records of that town the record of the birth 
of Anthony Peavey, born November, 1856, son of 
Anthony and Mary (French) Peavey, residents of 
Hampton Falls. Anthony Peavey was a private 
in Captain Richard Sinclair's company. Colonel 
Thomas Bartlett's regiment, raised about Exeter 
and Portsmouth. He engaged July 8, 1780, and 
was discharged October 28, 1780, after serving 
three months and twenty-one days, the company 
went to West Point. He also appears by another 
volume to have been in the service January i. 

(I) Anthony Peavev was a resident of Farm- 
ington, where he died. (An Anthony Peavey was 
married November 8, 1812, by Rev. Joseph Boody, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1075 



of New Durham, to Sally Knight, both of Farm- 
ington.) 

(II) Anthony (2), son of Anthony (i) and 
Sally (Knight) Peavey, was born in Farminston, 
February 28, 1822, and died there March 31, 1871. 
He was a shoemaker. He married, Deceniber 2, 
1849, Lizzie Edgerly, who was born September 8, 
1828, daughter of John and Tamson Dowe; she 
died Deceniber 17, 1868. Nine children were born 
of this union : Warren E., deceased. Florence E. 
(Mrs. Charles R. Bragdon), of Woonsocket, Rhode 
Island, one daughter, Minnie. Isidore E., of Farm- 
ington, unmarried. Ernest E., of Farmington, a 
shoecutter, married (first) Minnie Banfield, one 
daughter, Elsie; married (second) Pansy Wallace, 
one son, Carroll. Selvin D., deceased. Elwin E., 
shoeworker at Chelsea, Massachusetts. Infant, not 
named. Will Lincoln, see forward. Fannie M., 
deceased. 

(III) Will Lincoln, eighth child and sixth son 
of Anthony (2) and Lizzie (Edgerly) Peavey, was 
born in Farmington, March 31, 1865, and was left 
without a father at the age of six years. From that 
time until he was sixteen years of age he lived in 
the family of George Plummer, a farmer of West 
Milton, attending school a part of each year. In 
1882 he took a commercial course at New Hampton, 
and in 1884 became a clerk in the store of Emerson 
& Garland, druggists, at Farmington. In 1889 he 
bought a half interest in the business and the tirm 
became Roberts & Peavey and continued until 1897, 
when Mr. Peavey sold his interest and became an 
equal partner in the dry goods business with S. A. 
Leavitt, the firm taking the style of S. A. Leavitt 
& Co. Three years later he bought out his partner 
and has since conducted the business alone. He is 
a Republican, but prefers the profits of commerce to 
the laurels of politics, and has filled no public of- 
fices. He is a member of the Free Baptist Church 
at Farmington and one of its wardens. He is also 
a member of Woodbine Lodge, No. 41, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and Cocheco Lodge, No. 14, 
Ancient Order United Workmen. He married, 
December 20, 18S6, Alice Leavitt, who was born in 
Farmington, daughter of Almon and Ellen Jones 
Leavitt, of Farmington. They had one child, Mer- 
tonL., born July 21, 1891, and now a student in 
the Farmington high school. 



Graf is a German word and means count. 
GRAF Its use as a surname is probably derived 

from the title of a character in one of the 
religious plays of some centuries ago, rather than 
from the aristocratic birth of the first bearer. The 
later generations of Grafs are proving that practical 
business ability is better than a title. 

(I) Johann Michael, second son of Carl Graf, 
Lutheran minister, was born in Banzenweiler, Ba- 
varia, February 17, 1808, and received a good edvi- 
cation at Anspach, Bavaria. After learning the trade 
weaver he went to Asch, Bohemia, Austria, where 
he resided until deadi, 1S90. He was a successful 
manufacturer of textile goods, and a leading citi- 



zen of Asch. He took an active interest in the 
afifairs of the laboring people, and was one of the 
promoters of the first savings bank in Asch. In 
religious faith he was a Lutheran, and a liberal sup- 
porter of the church. Fle married, in 1835, Anna 
Maria Gocpel, born at Asch, January 24, 
181 1, only daughter of Carl Gocpel, born 
in Saxe-Weimar, and his wife Maria Gries- 
hammer, who was born in Schcenwald, Ba- 
varia. The golden wedding of Mr. and Mrs. 
Graf was celebrated in a notable manner in 1885. 
Eleven children were born of this union. 

(II) Johann Adam, sixth son and ninth child of 
Johann M. and Anna M. (Goepel) Graf, was born 
in Asch, September . 29, 1848. He obtained a very 
practical education in the public schools of Asch, 
supplemented by private lessons after school hours, 
at noon and in the afternoon of each day. At 
thirteen years of age he began to learn hand and 
power loom weaving and manufacturing at Hof, 
Bavaria. He continued to follow that occupation 
until 1866, when he came to America, and on May 
19th of that year settled in Manchester. There he 
went to work as a weaver under the supervision of 
Captain Mason, an overseer of the Amoskeag Man- 
ufacturing Company. In 1868, under direction of 
Mr. Canis, he started the first two hundred gingham 
looms ever operated by the Amoskeag Company. 
Faithful attention to business and good work 
brought him promotion to second hand in 1874, a^d 
in 1883 he was appointed overseer, and now has 
charge of one of the weave rooms of No. 11 Mill, 
where two hundred and sixty hands are employed. 
He has been as careful with his earnings as he has 
with his work, and has invested in real estate. Mr. 
Graf is a Republican in politics, and has been re- 
peatedly honored by election to office by the men of 
his party. He was councilman from his ward in 
1893-94, and alderman in 1895-96, and as chair- 
man of the committee on land and buildings he 
built the High, Straw, Wilson and the Parker 
school buildings. He has been trustee of Pine 
Grove cemetery since 1895, and moderator of 
ward 7 since 1898. In 1897-98 he served as repre- 
sentative, and was elected state senator and served 
the seventeenth district in 1895-96. He was ap- 
pointed by Governor Chester B. Jordon commis- 
sioner to represent the textile industries of the state 
at the Louisiana Purchase Exposition at St. Louis, 
in 1904, and was sent by the commission to St. 
Louis to accept a lot for New Hainpshire in 1892. 
Mr. Graf is a man of many good qualities of mind 
and heart, and is highly respected by a large circle 
of friends. He is an active member of the Frank- 
lin Street Church (Congregational), and has been 
an Odd Fellow for thirty-seven years, and is a 
member of Hillsborough Lodge, No. 2. 

He married, January II, i86g, at Manchester, 
Emma M. Cooley, eldest daughter of Charles and 
Mary Minerva (Crandal) Cooley, of Landsafif. They 
have two sons : Harry Charles and Edwin Adam. 

Harry C. Graf, born in Lakeport, New Hamp- 
shire, March 3, 1873, was educated in the public 



1076 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



schools of Manchester and at the Philadelphia Tex- 
tile School. Since 1900 he has been a postal clerk. 
He married June 28, 1895, Flora B. Folsom of 
Somersworth, New Hampshire, and resides in Man- 
chester. One child, Kenneth Folsom, born April 
22, 1906. 

Edwin A. Graf, born September 15, 1882, was 
educated in the public and high schools of Manches- 
ter. He is a second hand in the Amoskeag ]\Iills. 
He married, September 12, 1906, Lena Bower, of 
Manchester. 



The original seat of this family 
CONVERSE was in Navarre, France, from 
which place removed to England 
Roger de Coigniers, near the close of the reign of 
William the Conqueror. He was appointed con- 
stable of Durham by the bishop of Durham. Among 
his descendants Conyers of Horden, Durham, was 
created a baronet, July I, 1548. Sir Humphrey of 
the eighth generation wrote the name Coigners, and 
Sir Christopher of the twentieth generation adopted 
the form Cornyers. Those bearing the name in 
Navarre were Huguenors or French Protestants 
and in the Massacre of St. Bartholomew's day in 
1572, many of this family fell victims. At this time 
Pierre Coigniers, who was attached to the court of 
Henry IV of France, made his escape with his wife 
and two infants and settled in the county of Essex, 
England. In England the spelling of the name was 
quite naturally changed to correspond with its pro- 
nunciation of Conyers. Some of the descendants 
now spell it Convers and it took this form for some 
general:ions after coming to America. 

(I) The immigrant ancestor was Deacon Ed- 
ward Convers, who came to New England in the 
fleet of Governor Winthrop in 1630, and settled in 
Charlestown, Massachusetts. In 1631 a grant was 
made to him of the first ferry between Charlestown 
and Boston, and of this he retained control for sev- 
eral years under the favor of the general court. In 
the same year he was admitted a freeman, and was 
selectman from 1635 to 1640. His name is first on 
the list of seven commissioners appointed by the 
church in Charlestown to arrange for a settlement 
at Woburn. With others he removed to the new 
town and ably assisted -in its settlement and organ- 
ization, and after its incorporation he became one 
of its most useful and honored citizens. He was 
selectman of the town from 1644 until hi's death, 
and was one of the commissioners for the trial of 
minor causes. He was also one of the founders of 
the Woburn Church and a deacon for many years. 
His residence was in what is now a part of Win- 
chester, and there he died August 10, 1663, aged 
seventy-three years. He was accompanied on his 
journey to America by his wife Sarah and several 
children. She died January 14, 1662, and he was 
married (second) September 19, following, to 
Joanna, widow of Ralph Sprague. He had three 
sons and a daughter : Josiah, James, Samuel and 
Mary. 

(II) James, second ?on of Deacon Edward and 



Sarah Convers, was a native of England, born 1619- 
20, and came to America with his father when a 
child. He resided in Woburn and according to the 
history of that town "through long life he was a 
very valuable and highly esteemed citizen and was 
repeatedly honored by the town with the principle 
offices." He died May 10, 1717, aged ninety-five 
years. He was married October 24, 1643. to Anna 
Long, daughter of Robert Long, of Charlestown, 
and they were the parents of ten children. 

(III) Major James (2) Convers, eldest son of 
Ensign James (i) Convers, was born October 16, 
1645, in W'oburn, and died there July 8, 1706, in the 
sixty-first year of his age. He was a man of con- 
siderable prominence in civil affairs, and also won 
distinction in the war with the French and Indians. 
His daring and successful defence of Storer's Gar- 
rison at Wells in the year 1691, and during the war 
usually styled "King William's War." earned him 
promotion to the rank of major. He was ten years 
a member of the general court, and was three times 
elected speaker of the house. He was married Jan- 
uary I, 1669, to Hannah Carter, who was born Jan- 
uary 19, 1651, a daughter of Captain John and 
Elizabeth Carter, of Woburn. They had nine chil- 
dren, only five of whom survived the period of 
youth. 

(IV) John, son of Major James (2) and 
Hannah (Carter) Converse, was born August 22, 
1673, in Woburn. and resided in that town until 
after 170S. when he was absent about twenty years. 
It is probable that during this time he lived in 
Dunstable, as he was a resident of that town sub- 
sequently. He was married May 22, 1699, to Abi- 
gail Sawyer, who was born March 17, 1679. daugh- 
ter of Joshua Sawyer, of Woburn. The births of 
two of their children are recorded in Woburn 
previous to 1708, and his next appearance in the 
records of that town is at the birth of his son John, 
July 31, 1728. The older children were Joshua and 
Patience, and there were probably others between, 
the record of whose births has not been discovered. 

(V) Joshua, eldest son of John and Abigail 
(Sawyer) Converse, was born June 3, 1704, in 
Woburn, but was early a resident of Dunstable. In 
the year 1729 he removed to lot number four, within 
the .present town of Merrimack, New Hampshire, 
then constituting a part of the tract lying on both 
sides of the river known by the name of Naticook, 
or Litchfield. He was frequently elected to office, 
serving as moderator, assessor and selectman, and 
upon several important committees. He was 
drowned in the Merrimack river in 1744. In the 
return of his estate found in the probate records it 
is shown to have been valued at one thousand, two 
hundred and five pounds, fourteen shillings and 
four pence. His property included an interest in a 
saw mill and in other lands besides his homestead. 
His personal property was valued at nearly one 
hundred and forty-five pounds, outside of bonds, 
notes and book debts, which nearly trebled that 
amount. He was married July 31, 1729. to Rachael 
Blanchard, who was born March 23, 1712, in Dun- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1077 



stable, seventh daughter and eighth child of Joseph 
and Abiah (Hassel) Blanchard. (See Blanchard 
III). This marriage is recorded in Woburn and 
both parties are described as at Dunstable. The 
births of two of their children, Joseph and Jesse, is 
found upon the records of the ancient town of 
Litchfield, and the third, Zebulon, is recorded in 
Merrimack, which was in 1744. There were no 
doubt other older children which do not appear of 
record. Joseph's birth is recorded as occurring in 
November, 1739. 

(VI) Robert, who was undoubtedly a son of 
Joshua and Rachae! (Blanchard) Converse, was 
born in 1735. The History of Amherst says he 
was born in Woburn and this might easily has been 
true during a visit of his parents to that town. It 
is more probable.- however, that he was born in 
Litchfield. In 1783 he settled in the town of Am- 
herst, adjoining the town where he was reared, and 
there died Marcih 30, 1826. He was married in 
1778 to Mary Lamb, who died December 15, 1827, 
aged eighty-seven years. For a time they resided 
in Stoneham, Massachusetts, where their eldest son 
was born. Their children were : Josiah, Ebenezer 
and Rebecca. 

(VII) Ebenezer, second son and child of 
Robert and Mary (Lamb) Converse, was born Feb- 
ruary 25, 1779, in Stoneham. Massachusetts, and 
died in South Merrimack, New Hampshire, August 
25, i86t. It is probable that the family home was 
on the border of Amherst and Merrimack and prob- 
ably included land in both towns. He was married 
in November, 1805, to Rhoda Bowtell, who was 
born in Amherst, July 14. 1875, aged ninety-four 
years. Their children were: Ebenezer, Joseph 
Earner. George, Mary, Luther, Abigail, Charles, 
Rufus, Rhoda and Robert. 

(VIII) Rufus, sixth son and eighth child of 
Ebenezer and Rhoda (Bowtell) Converse, was born 
May 23, 1819, in Amherst, and died in Milford, New 
Hampshire, March II, 1906. He was a successful 
lumber dealer for the long period of forty years, 
conducting his operations in Amherst and Milford, 
New Hampshire, and in addition to this he also 
conducted agricultural pursuits. He married. Sep- 
tember 6, 1849, Eliza Ritterhush. daughter of Chris- 
topher Columbus Ritterbush, who was of German 
descent. Four children were the issue of this mar- 
riage, two of whom are living, namely : Carrie and 
Mary Lizzie. George died aged four years, Ellison 
A. died aged about six years. The younger daugh- 
ter is a member of the Woman's Club and both are 
eligible to hold membership in the Daughters of 
tlie .\merican Revolution. 



New England ancestrj- has produced 
TOLLES some of our best soldiers, and the New 

England family of Tolles would ap- 
pear to have descended from a warlike race. Some 
of the members of the family fought for the cause 
of the colonies in the war of the Revolution, and 
Jason Elbridge Tolles, of this review, reached the 
rank of major-general of New Hampshire state 



militia, February 28, 1899. and was reeommissioned 
February 28, 1904. 

(I) The New England branch of the Tolles 
family traces its ancestry to Henry Tolles, who set- 
tled in Wethersfield, Connecticut, 1668, later re- 
moing to Saybrook, Connecticut. He was twice 
married. By his first -wife he had a son Henry. 

(II) Henry (2). son of Henry Tolles "(i), 
settled in New Haven, Connecticut, April 13, 1693. 
He married Dorothy Thomas, daughter of Daniel 
and Rebecca Thomas, of New Haven, Connecticut. 
They had seven children: Henry, born 1694; Rachel, 
1696; Samuel, 1698; Daniel, 1700; Ebenezer, 1703; 
Dorothy, 1705; Experience, 1708. 

(III) Henry (3), son of Henry Tolles (2), was 
born in 1694, in New Haven, Connecticut, from 
whence he removed to Weathersfield. Windsor 
county, Vermont. He was an active participant in 
the Revolutionary war. He married Deborah Clark, 
February 15, 1727. They had ten children : El- 
nathan, born December 15, 1729, died in infancy; 
Dorothy, September 17, 1731 : Francis. December 
30. 17,3,3; Henry, August 8, 1736; Mabel, August 21, 
1738: EInathan, January 9, 1741 ; Dorothy, Septem- 
ber 3, 1743; Rachael, December i, 1745: Del)orah, 
July 27, 1751 ; Philamon, May 8. 1753. He died at 
New Haven, Connecticut, 1772; his wife died same 
place. 178S. 

(IV) Henry (4). son of Henry Tolles (3), 
married Hannah Clark, of Milford, Connecticut, 
November 25, 1757, daughter of John and Rebecca 
Clark. Her ancestry is notable as lineal descendants 
of William Gibbard, secretary of the New Haven 
Colony; Henry Tolles (IV) and Hannah (Clark) 
Tolles had children : Clark, born August 25, 
1758: David, August S, 1760; Amarillis. January 14. 
1764; Jane. July 7, 1766; Henry, August 29, 
1768; Benjamin, baptized May 10, 1778; 
Philemon, baptized May 10, 1778. He re- 
moved with his family to New Haven, Con- 
necticut, to Weathersfield, Vermont, about 1779 or 
80. He was a member of Captain Upham's militia 
company during the Revolutionary war. He died 
in Weathersfield, 1810; his wife in 1801. 

(V) Clark, son of Henry Tolles (4), liorn in 
New Haven, Connecticut, August 25, 1758, also took 
part in the Revolutionary war. He married Sally 
Proctor, and had these children : Henry, born April 
10, 1782; Sarah, July 21, 1785; Clark, September 22, 
17S7; Levi, September 23, 1792; Betsey, June 2, 
1795; Lucy, September 10, 1796; Hannah, July 12. 
1799: Gershom Hiram, June 7, 1S02. 

(VI) Henry (5), son of Clark Tolles, was 
born in Weathersfield, Windsor county, Vermont, 
and died November 21, 1849. He married Azubie 
Nichols. They had seven children : David N., born 
January 3. 1S09; Horace Clark. May 31, 1811; Ira 
Franklin, September 24, 1813 : Henry Proctor, De- 
cember 22, 1815; Hiram Harkness, November 14, 
181S ; John Warren, August 5, 1823 ; Lucy Ann, 
June 25, 1829. 

(VII) Horace Clark, son of Henry Tolles, born 
in Weathersfield. Windsor county, Vermont, May 



1078 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



31, iSll, removed to Nashua, New Hampshire, when 
eighteen years of age. and there followed the occu- 
pation of farming. He held many public offices, 
namely, alderman, councilman, assessor and street 
commissioner, which latter he filled for a number 
of years, and during his incumbency of office dis- 
charged his duties with credit to himself and to the 
satisfaction of all concerned. He married Sophia 
Ann Wright, December 10, 1835. of Westford, 
Massachusetts, born August 31, 181 1, who bore him 
nine children : i. Horace W., of Nashua, born 
August 26, 1838, died March 7, 1907. 2. Franklin 
N., born July 25, 1830. died November 20. 1902 ; he 
followed farming in Dunstable, Massachusetts. 3. 
Henry Joel, born August 24, 1841, of Dunstable, 
Massachusetts 4. Willard Clark, born May 8, 1843, 
of Nashua, New Hampshire. 5. Hannah Sophia, 
born February 6. 1845, died March 10, 1866. 6. 
James H., mentioned at length below. 7. Sarah A., 
born November 30, 1848, died November 10, i86g. 
8. Jason Elbridge, January 5, 1852, see forward, g. 
Zcnophon D., born March 23, 1858, of Nashua, New 
Hampshire. Horace Clark Tolles attended the Con- 
gregational Church. He died February 21, 1878, 
and his wife died April 13. 1888. 

(VHI) General Jason Elbridge Tolles, son of 
Horace Clark and Sophia Ann (Wright) Tolles, 
was born in Nashua, New Hampshire, January 5, 
1S52. He was educated in the public schools, and 
resided on the farm until nineteen years of age. 
He then came into the city proper and accepted a 
position as salesman in a clothing store, remaining 
for a period of five years. The eleven succeeding 
years he was engaged in business for himself, after 
which he associated with Howard & Company in 
the furniture business, which relation was continued 
for fifteen years. He then became the first treas- 
urer for the Citizens' Institution for Savings, in 
which capacity he is serving at the present time 
(1907). He is the secretary of the board of trade, 
and served as trustee in a number of estates, this 
fact testifying to his integrity and the esteem in 
which he is held by his fellow citizens. He was 
m.ayor of Nashua for four years, 1897-98-99-1900; 
was senator from the twentieth district in 1903-04; 
represented ward eight in 1905 ; and was a member 
of the board of education for thirteen years. He 
was elected city treasurer of Nashua. January I, 
1907. He is a Democrat in politics. He affiliates 
with the First Congregational Church ; is a member 
of Rising Sun Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; 
of Pennichuck Lodge, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows ; the Guards Club ; and is treasurer of the 
Odd Fellows' Building Association. 

General Tolles has been an efficient member of 
the New Hampshire National Guard for the long 
period of twenty-seven years. He enlisted as 
private in Company F. Second Regiment, New 
Hampshire Guards, October 16, 1877; was promoted 
to corporal. May 10, 1878; and to sergeant, August 
I, 1879. He was commissioned captain. May 3, 
1881, and resigned May 16, 1883. He again joined 
his old regiment, the Second, and was appointed ^ 



adjutant, \vith the rank of first-lieutenant, July i, 
18S4. He was promoted to major. May 15, 1885; 
lieutenant-colonel, August I, 1889; and colonel, 
August 31, 1894. He was coinmissioned brigadier- 
general, New Hampshire National Guard, Febru- 
ary 28, 1899, and was recommissioned February 28. 
1904. July 13, 1900, was breveted major-general. 
During the Spanish-American war General Tolles 
was extremely anxious to lead his regiment into 
active service, but as the quota for New Hampshire 
was only one regiment of infantry, and as he at that 
time was the junior colonel of the two New Hamp- 
shire infantry regiments, the senior colonel claimed 
the prerogative, and went to the front. General 
(then Colonel) Tolles, loyal and faithful soldier as 
he was, acquiesced. During his long period of 
service with the military establishment of the state. 
Colonel Tolles has made for himself a splendid 
record, reflecting credit and honor on his name, and 
enjoys the confidence and esteem of both superiors 
and subordinates. 

General Tolles married. August 11, 1874. Sadie 
S. Chase, daughter of Daniel S. Chase, of Nashua, 
New Hampshire, and now of Kansas City, Kansas, 
and their children are: Louie Ethel, born Decem- 
ber 29, 1S75, married E. Ray Shaw, June 9. 1904; 
and Alice May, born October 4, 1878. married John 
Prescott Kimball, September 11, rooG. 

(VIII) James Harkness, sixth child and fifth 
son of Horace C. and Sophia A. (Wright) Tolles, 
was born in Nashua, October 17, 1846, and was edu- 
cated in the common schools. He was employed in 
a country grocery store in Dunstable. Massachu- 
setts three 3'ears, and subsequently was a clerk in a 
dry goods store in Nashua three years. In 1872 he 
became a partner with John Cross in the firm of 
Cross & Tolles, and they were successfully engaged 
in the lumber and manufacturing business twenty- 
seven years. In May. 1S99, Mr. Cross withdrew 
and since that time Mr. Tolles has carried on the 
business alone under the firm name of J. H. Tolles 
Company. Fie conducts a large planing mill and 
box factory, and is also connected with various 
financial institutions and organizations of public 
utility. He is a director of the Indian Head Na- 
tional Bank, the Nashua Light, Heat and Power 
Company, the Pennichuck Water Works Company, 
the Nashua Building and Loan Association, and 
trustee of the Citizens' Institution for Savings. He 
is also connected with other enterprises and organ- 
izations similar to those above mentioned, and has 
for years filled many important offices of trust. In 
political faith he is a Democrat, and as such was 
elected to the mayoralty in 1886-87-88. He has the 
peculiar distinction of being the only person ever 
elected to this office a third term in Nashua. He 
is a member of the board of education, and has 
filled that office efficiently for years. He is a past 
grand of Pennichuck Lodge, No. 44, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, of Nashua, and is now 
(1907) grand treasurer of the Grand Commandery 
of the United Order of the Golden Cross of New 
Hampshire ; and has been for more than twenty-five 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



10,79 



years, and liis nieniljership is with Merrimack River 
Commandery, No. 33. He is also a director of the 
First Congregational Church Society. He was mar- 
ried in Nashua, July 8, 1872, to Mary E. Cross, who 
was born in Hudson, !March 8, 1848, daughter of 
John and Sarah Ann (Sargent) Cross, of Hudson. 
They have one child, Marion E., born August i, 
1875. She married James L. Bickford, and resides 
in Nashua. 



The Giffin family was established in 

GIFFIN New Hampshire nearly one hundred 

and' fifty years ago, and its founder. 

like the majority of Granite State settlers of that 

period, left the old country solely for the purpose of 

reaping the benefits of civil and religious liberty. 

(I) Robert Giffin emigrated from the north of 
Ireland in 1768, and settled in Londonderry, New 
Hampshire. The maiden name of his wife was 
Agnes Taggett. 

(H) Patrick, son of Robert and Agnes (Tag- 
gett) Giffin, was born in Bedford, New Hampshire, 
September 3, 1768. 

(HI) David, son of Patrick Giffin, was born 
in Marlow, this state, May 30, 1798. 

(IV) Henry, son of David Giffin, was born in 
Sutton, Vermont, October 29, 1832. When a young 
man he engaged in teaming, and for five or six 
years was employed by Samuel Archer, of Chester. 
Vermont, in hauling ship keels. He then went to 
Foxboro, Massachusetts, where he was an operative 
in a straw-hat manufactory for about two years, at 
the expiration of which time he purchased a farm 
in Marlow, New Hampshire, and for the ensuing 
six years was engaged in agricultural pursuits. 
Farm life, however, seems to have been uncongenial 
to him. as he eventually resumed his former occupa- 
tion, that of teaming, and he continued to follow 
it for a number of years, or until 1872. when he es- 
tablished himself in the retail coal trade in Keene. 
FroiTi that time forward until his death, which oc- 
curred April 27, 1904. he transacted a profitable 
business, and enjoyed the respect and esteem of a 
wide circle of friends and acquaintances. He mar- 
ried Harriet Tinker, daughter of Elijah and Esther 
(Lewis) Tinker, formerly of Lempster and latterly 
of Nashua, New Hampshire, where they died. Mrs. 
Harriet (Tinker) Giffin resides in Keene. 

(V) George Henry, only child of Henry and 
Harriet (Tinker) Giffin. was born in Marlow, 
August 28, 1862. died suddenly of neuralgia of the 
heart, December 18, 1906. His studies in the public 
schools were supplemented by a commercial course 
at the Packard Business College, New York City, 
and after its completion he became associated with 
his father in the coal business'. He continued in 
partnership with the elder Giffin until the latter's 
decease, when he became sole proprietor of the 
business and at the time of his death was in the full 
tide of success, having a large and constantly in- 
creasing trade. Mr. Giffin had an ideal wood plant, 
said to be one of the best in New England, and was 
the largest dealer in wood and coal in southwestern 



New Hampshire, his operations including the neigh- 
boring territory in his own state and the states of 
Vermont and Massachusetts. He was interested in 
local civic affairs, served upon Keene council, and 
in politics supported the Republican party. In ad- 
dition to holding membership in the First Congre- 
gational Church he was earnestly interested in out- 
side religious work, and was the building committee 
treasurer of the Young Men's Christian Association, 
which beneficiary institution he was largely instru- 
inental in founding. 

April 19, 1894, Mr. Giffin married Ella M. Shel- 
don, daughter of Albert and Frances (Pond) Shel- 
don. Their children are: Paul S., born May 24, 
1S98; and John H., born January 31, 1902. 



This is among the conspicuous 
BR.MNARD names in the history of Connecti- 
cut, and it has furnished several 
pioneers in the settlement of northern New Hamp- 
shire. The family patronymic receives various 
spellings in the New England records (including 
Brainerd, Braynard, Braynerd, etc.), and is still 
widely used in the first of these three, as well as 
that at the head of this article. 

(I) Deacon Daniel Brainard was brought from 
England by the Wyllys family when he was eight 
years old and brought up in Hartford, Connecticut, 
remaining with the people who brought him until of 
legal age. He was among the proprietors and ori- 
ginal settlers of Haddam, in that colony, about 
1662, and became one of the prosperous and most 
influential members of that settlernent. He was a 
deacon of the church, also served as justice of the 
peace and became a large landholder. In a letter 
received from his mother in England, soon 
after his settlement at Haddam, the name is spelleQ 
Brainwood, but it had been universally called 
Brainard by people on this side of the water, and he 
made no effort to change it. Deacon Brainard was 
tvv'ice married. His first wife was Hannah, daugh- 
ter of Gerrard Spencer, of Lynn. Massachusetts, 
later of Haddam. Tradition says his second wife's 
maiden name was identical with that of his first. 
When he married her she was a widow, bearing the 
name of Hannah Saxton. The first wife was the 
mother of his children, namely: Daniel, Hannah, 
James, Joshua, William, Caleb, Elijah and Hczekiah. 

(II) Elijah, seventh child and sixth son of 
Deacon Daniel and Hannah (Spencer) Brainard, 
was born 1677 in Haddam and made his abiding 
place there through life. He was married Septem- 
ber 28, 1699, to Mary Bushnell. of Norwich, Con- 
necticut, who died September 11, 1735. and he was 
married (second), September 6, 17,38, to Margaret 
(surname not preserved). His children, born of 
the first wife, were: Ma-ry, Abigail, Joseph. Elijah. 
Thankful, Rachel, Jabcz, Esther and Phineas. 

(III) Jabez. third son and seventh child of 
Elijah and Mary (Bushnell) Brainard. was born 
February 19. 1715, in Haddam, and lived in that 
part of the town now known as East Haddam. He 
was married there October 15, 1739. to Hannah 



io8o 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Clark, probably of Chatliam. She survived him 
and died October 5, 1806, aged ninety-three years. 
Their children were : Abigail, Jabez. Hannah, Anne, 
John (died young), Daniel, John and Caleb. 

(IV) Daniel, sixth child and third son of Jabez 
and Hannah (Clark) Brainard, was born January 
9. 1752. in East Haddam, and was among the 
pioneer settlers of Rumney, New Hampshire, com- 
ing thither when a young man. He first appears in 
the records on the occasion of his marriage, Jan- 
uary 22, 1777, to Rebecca Blodgett, both of Rumney. 
The vital records also give the births of a part of 
his children, namely: Rebecca, Dorothy, Sarah, 
Lydia, Hannah and "Kata." 

(V) Barzilla, undoubtedly a son of Daniel and 
Rebecca (Blodgett) Brainard. was a native of Rum- 
ney, but the only record of this fact appears in the 
record of his marriage, with no date. He was 
probably born about 1790, and was married (first), 
January 22, 1811, to Sally Dunning, of Canaan, New 
Hampshire, who died leaving a daughter, Almira, 
born October 27, 1812. No record appears of Bar- 
zilla's second marriage, but the wife's name appear? 
as Mehetable, and they had children born from 1814 
to 1826, namely : Asahel, John M., Persis, Sally, 
Nelson and Phebe. He was married (third), De- 
cember 27, 1824, to Lucy Beecher, both of Stewarts- 
town, the latter a native of Southington, Connecti- 
cut. From this it appears that Mr. Brainard settled 
in Stewartstown before 1824. The children of the 
last marriage were: Madeline. Ira Y., Jeremiah F, 
and Dolly A. 

(VI) Ira Y., ninth child and fourth son of 
Barzilla and Lucy (Beecher) Brainard, was born 
July 5, 1828, in Stewartstown, New Hampshire. He 
grew up on a farm, and at twenty-one years of age 
went to Canaan, Vermont, w-here he continued to 
follow agriculture. In 1862 he removed to Pitts- 
burg. New Hampshire, where he remained until 
1899. He then removed to North Weare, w'here he 
now resides. He married, July 4, 1851, at Stewarts- 
town, Mary Hilliard, who \y,as born in 18,32. daugh- 
ter of James and Susan (Bailey) Hilliard. of 
Stewartstown. Eight children were born to them : 
Charles, deceased; Minnetta, deceased; Etta, de- 
ceased ; Charles I., w-ho is mentioned below ; Carrie, 
who resides in Lancaster : Jennie ; Frank, deceased ; 
and an infant. 

(VII) Charles Ira. fourth child of Ira Y. and 
Mary (Hilli.ird) Brainard, was born in Canaan, 
Vermont, November 2, 1859, and was taken by his 
parents to Pittsburg, New Hampshire, in 1862. He 
was a farmer boy and when he grew up he had a 
farm of his own which he cultivated with success 
until 1899, when he removed to Stewartstown and 
with J. W. Baldwin formed the firm of Brainard & 
Baldwin, dealers in general merchandise, in which 
business he is at the present time. In politics he is 
a Democrat, and whertver he has resided has been 
a party leader and a popular man. He was a mem- 
ber of the school board, road agent, collector and 
selectman of Pittsburg, and is town clerk of 
Stewartstown, which office he has now ( 1907) held 



four years. He married, April 5. 1888, Emma Gene 
Blodgett, who was born in Canaan, Vermont, June 
8, 1S66, daughter of Edward C. and Lucy (Fellows) 
Blodgett, of Canaan. Vermont, and Pittsburg, New 
Hampshire. They have three children : Stella, 
born December 31, 188S; Alpha, July 23, 1890; 
Grace, July 15, 1892. 



The name of Hayden is said to be 
HAYDEN derived from the town of Heydon, 

in Norfolk, England. The original 
meaning was "high down, or plain on the hill." 
The town lies about fourteen miles north of Nor- 
wich, the shire town of Norfolk county. Heydon 
Hall, in 1829, was the seat of William Earle Lytton 
Bulwer. the elder brother of the novelist. The 
English family of Heydon is ancient but not numer- 
ous. The family first comes into notice during the 
reign of Henry III. Thomas de Heydon, resident 
of Heydon. was "a justice itinerant in Norfolk in 
1221," and from him the different lines can be 
traced. There are various coats of arms belonging 
to branches of the family, but the earliest and most 
constant emblem appears to be the engraved cross, 
which would indicate that some of Thomas de 
Heydon"s ancestors had been in the crusades. 

(I) John Hayden. emigrant ancestor of a 
numerous family, was early in America. He was 
found living in Dorchester, Massachusetts, as early 
as 1634, in which year he was admitted a freeman. 
The second entry in the record of births was that 
of his son Jonathan. He died previous to July 26, 
1684, the day on which his will was proved, and 
was survived many years by his wife, Susanna, who 
was living in 1695. Their children were : John, 
Joseph, Samuel, Jonathan, Hannah, Ebenezer and 
Nehemiah. 

(II) John (2). eldest child of John (i) and 
Susan or Susanna Hayden, was born in 1635. in Dor- 
chester, and settled in Braintree. At the time of 
the settlement as pastor of Rev. Samuel Niles, 
John (2) Hayden was a member of the Middle 
Precinct Church. He was married April 6. 1660, by 
Governor Endicott, to Hannah Ames, who was born 
May 13. 1641, a daughter of William Ames, of 
Braintree. She died of smallpox, July 3, 1689, and 
was survived nearly twenty-nine years by her hus- 
band, who died May 20, 1718. His will is on file in 
Suffolk county. Their children were: Hannah, 
Sarah. Elizabeth, Joseph, Josiah. Lydia, John and 
Abigail. 

(III) Josiah, second son and fifth child of 
John (2) and Hannah (Ames) Hayden, was born 
January 19. 1669, in Braintree, and settled in Sud- 
bury, where he was undoubtedly engaged in agricul- 
ture. He was married March 6, 1691, to Elizabeth 
Goodnow, o'f Sudbury. She was born November 6, 
1672. a daughter of John and Mary (AxdcU) Good- . 
now. of Sudbury. In the record of his marriage he 
is called "of Braintree," so that his settlement in 
Sudbury must have succeeded that event. His 
youngest son was appointed executor of his will in 
connection with the widow. The children were : 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



loSi 



Josiah, Uriah, John. Elizabeth, Abigail, Edmund, 
Phineas, Nathanial and Ruth. 

(IV) Josiah (2), eldest son of Josiah (i) and 
Elizabeth (Goodnow.) Haydcn, was born before 
1700, in Braintree, and was an infant when his par- 
ents moved to Sudbury. He passed his life in the 
last named town, where he was an honored citizen. 
No record of his marriage has been discovered, but 
the christian name of his wife is known to have 
been Sarah, Their children, born from 1722 to 
1739. were: Sarah. Thomas, Elizabeth. Josiah, Sam- 
uel, Daniel and Bezeleel. The fourth son settled 
in Hollis, New Hampshire, and the fifth in Marl- 
boro, Massachusetts 

(V) Thomas, eldest son and second child of 
Josiah (2) and Sarah Hayden, was born March i, 
1725. in Sudbury, and resided there through life. 
He was married November 27, 1755, to Mary Ball, 
daughter of Daniel and Sybel Ball, of Southboro 
and Framingham. In 1770, Mary (Bell) Hayden 
was a legatee in the will of her mother, Sybel Ball. 
Thomas Hayden's children, born from 1756 to 1765 
in Sudbury, were : Mary, Sally, David, Josiah and 
Bezeleel. 

(VI) Josiah (3), second son and fifth child 
of Thomas and Mary (Ball) Hayden, was born 
January 13, 1763. in Sudbury. At the age of about 
five years he was committed to the care of his uncle, 
Samuel Hayden,' of Hollis, New Hampshire, and 
there he subsequently lived. In 1760 Samuel Hay- 
den purchased of John Taylor land in Hollis, which 
became his home and on which Josiah (3) was 
reared. The latter was a farmer and passed his life 
in Hollis, where he died. He was married April 19, 
1797, to Mary Patch. (See Patch). They were 
the parents of nine children: Mary. Samuel, Josiah, 
Sarah. Daniel, Lydia, Thomas W., Willard and 
Susan. 

(VII) Samuel, first son of Josiah and Alary 
(Patch) Hayden, was born March 13, 1800, in 
Hollis, New Hampshire, where he was an active and 
useful citizen. He was a farmer by occupation and 
captain in the state militia, and an active member 
of the church. Henry Oilman Little in his "Hollis, 
Seventy Years Ago," says of him : "At the age of 
thirty-five he was one of the best specimens of man- 
hood, both morally and physically, that Hollis ever 
produced. He was one of the last tithing-men, 
this office being abolished in 1850." He used to be 
prominent at the old country fairs. Captain Hay- 
den lived in the old-fashioned house once occupied 
by his father, and now descended to his son. As 
illustrating the qualities of the two families, it may 
be mentioned that the Baileys were neighbors of the 
Haydens of Marlborough. Massachusetts, and when 
the latter family moved to Hollis, the Baileys fol- 
lowed and took an adjoining farm. Five genera- 
tions have lived side by side, and there has been no 
quarrel between the two families. Captain Samuel 
Hayden married Harriet Needham, daughter of 
Stearns and Hannah (Bailey) Needham, of And- 
over, Massachusetts. They had six children : Sam- 
uel F., who lives in Hollis. Emily, who married 



Eben J. Rideout, and lived in Brookline, New Hamp- 
shire. Daniel W., mentioned below. John W. 
David N. Lizzie H., who married John L. Woods, 
of Hollis. The third son, John W., enlisted in 
Company H, Seventh New Hampshire Volunteers, 
and died in the service February 8, 1862. Captain 
Sanntel Hayden died March 23, 1880. at Hollis. His 
widow died in Hollis, January 9, 1869. 

(VIII) Daniel Webster, son of Captain Samuel 
and Harriet (Needham) Hayden, was born at 
Hollis, New Hampshire. June i. 1840. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools. He studied civil en- 
gineering, and did surveying till the Civil war broke 
out, when he enlisted in Company H, Seventh New 
Hampshire Volunteers, October 21, 1861. He 
served under Captain Ames, and was in the Florida 
expedition, and at the Siege of Charleston, South 
Carolina. He was wounded in the mouth at the 
assault on Fort Wagner. South Carolina, July 18, 
1863. He was wounded in the head at the battle of 
Olustee, February 20, 1864. At this time he was 
reported dead ; but he was helped off the field by a 
negro and a wounded Union soldier, and recovered. 
He was discharged April 28, 1864, on account of 
wounds. He was made corporal, October 21, i86r, 
and was promoted to sergeant, February 3. 1864. 
After the war Mr. Hayden was unable to continue 
his surveying on account of his wounds, and he en- 
gaged in farming for a while. Then, in company 
with his brother, David N., he built a saw mill, 
which they have managed successfully ever since. 
When the brothers removed the mill-dam on Bailey 
brook, which they replaced by , the present stone 
dam, they found the hemlock timbers as perfect as 
when first placed there, seventy-five years before. 
The two brothers have a home farm of one hundred 
and ten acres, and other land which in all amounts 
to seven hundred acres. In politics Mr. Hayden is a 
Republican. He has served as selectman three 
years, has been chief of police, and represented the 
town in the legislature of 1901. He is a member of 
the Grand Army of the Republic, and has held all 
the local offices. 

Daniel W. Hayden married, April ig, 1S66, Ann 
E. Talbot, who was born in Brookline, December 
22. 1844, daughter of Samuel and Eliza G. (Hodg- 
man) Talbot, of Brookline. They had two children: 
Willard B., born September g. 1871. died April 17. 
1887 ; Bertha M.. born February 4. 1879, who lives 
at home. Miss Hayden is a member of the school 
board, and is active in the Woman's Club, and has 
written various books, one of which is "Hollis To- 
day." Mrs. Hayden was president of the Woman's 
Relief Corps one year. 



This is one of the early English 
HOLCOMBE families planted in Massachusetts 
and is numerously represented to- 
day throughout the United States. It has contributed 
its share in the settlement and development of New 
England and of New Hampshire. Many are physi- 
cians, and some of them became famous. William 
F. Holcombe studied abroad, and was the first eye 
specialist in the United States. 



I082 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(I) Thomas Holcombe. the founder of the 
family in America, came with the Dorchester party 
in 1630, and was made a freeman at Dorchester in 
May, 1634. The next year he sold his house and 
lands to Richard Jones and removed with the Rev. 
John Warren to Windsor, Connecticut. In 1639 he 
settled in the northern part of that town in the dis- 
trict now known as Poquonock. In the same year 
he represented Windsor and Hartford in the con- 
stitutional convention. He died September 7, 1657. 
He was a possessor of considerable property. He 
was a member of the Dorchester church and of 
Windsor church, and was much respected. The 
christian name of his wife was Elizabeth, and they 
had four sons and six daughters, three of whom 
died young. All the others married into good fami- 
lies and themselves had large families of children. 
After his death the widow married (second), in 

1658, James . Two of his children were born 

in Dorchester, and the others in Windsor, namely : 
Elizabeth, Mary, Abigail, Joshua, Samuel, Benager, 
Deborah (died young), Nathaniel, Deborah and 
Jonathan. 

(II) Nathaniel, third son and seventh child of 
Thomas and Elizabeth Holcombe, was born Novem- 
ber 4, 1648, in Windsor, and resided in Simsbury, 
and for a time in Springfield, Massachusetts. After 
the burning of Simsbury in 1667, and the return of 
the settlers in 1670, he removed thither and repre- 
sented that town in 1703-04-05-06, in 1720 and 1722. 
By occupation he was a farmer. He was granted 
land at Soundbrook, now Granby Center, and was 
prominent in all the movements of the town, besides 
being for many years a deacon of the church. He 
was married February 27, 1670, to Mary Bliss, of 
Springfield, daughter of Nathaniel and Katherine 
(Chapen) Bliss, of that town. Their children were: 
Nathaniel, Mary, Jonathan, John, Esther, Katherine, 
Sarah and Benjamin. 

(III) Nathaniel (2), eldest child of Nathaniel 
(i) and Mary (Bliss) Holcoijibe, was bom June 11, 
1673. in Springfield, JNIassachusetts, and resided in 
what is now Simsbury, which town he represented 
at the general court in 1748-49-50-51-52 and 53. He 
was trusted with various prominent appointments, 
and like his father was deacon in the church. It is 
said that his character was beyond reproach. His 
death occurred September 29, 1766, at the close of 
a well rounded career. He married Martha Buel, 
daughter of Peter and Martha (Coggins) Buel. 
Their children were: Nathaniel, Benjamin, Eliza- 
beth, Martha, Judah, Daniel, INIary, Sarah and Peter. 
(Mention of Judah and descendants appears in this 
article). 

(IV) Captain Nathaniel (3), eldest . child of 
Nathaniel (2) and Martha (Buel) Holcombe, was 
born October 25, 1696, in Simsbury, and was bap- 
tized on the fifth of December of the following year. 
He settled in North Granby, where he acquired con- 
siderable property, and both he and his wife were 
active members of the church. He was married 
October g, 1717, to Thankful Hayes, daughter of 



George and Abigail (Dibble) Hayes, of Granby. 
Their children were: Hannah, Nathaniel, Ephraim, 
Thankful, Ruth, Joseph, Amos, Elijah, Elizabeth, 
Sarah, Mercy and Rodger. 

(V) Elijah, fifth son and eighth child of Captain 
Nathaniel and Thankful (Hayes) Holcombe, was 
born j\Iay 26, 1734, in Granby, and died June 2, 
1789. He was a cooper by trade, and worked at 
that to some extent in comiection with farming. 
He settled in that part of Granby which is now 
Southwick, Massachusetts, at what was and still is 
known as Gillett's Four Corners. He was mar- 
ried November 15, 1756, to Violet Comiske, daugh- 
ter of Captain James and Amy (Butler) Comiske. 
Their children were: Elijah, Violet, Ladoce, Amasa, 
Jabez, Clymena and Abijah. 

(VI) Elijah (2), eldest child of Elijah (i) and 
Violet (Comiske) Holcombe, was born 1757, in 
Granby, and died October 5, 1841. He was three 
times married and reared a large family. His first 
wife, Lucy, was a daughter of Lieutenant Silas 
Holcombe (see Silas, V), and bore him eight chil- 
dren. His second wife, Betsey (Post) Holcombe, 
was the mother of two children, and the third wife, 
Betsey (Ives) Holcombe, bore him five children. 

(VII) Amasa, son of Elijah ('2) Holcombe, was 
born June 18, 1787, in Southwick, Massachusetts, 
and died February 27, 1875. He was a prominent 
man of his day in Southwick, where his life was 
passed. He was married (first), November 10, 
1808, to Gillette Kendall, who was the mother of 
his eight children. He was maVried (second), Jan- 
uary 23, 1862, to Maria Holcombe, daughter of 
Lieutenant Daniel and Hepsibah (Griswold) Hol- 
combe. She was born November 13, 1804, at what 
is now Tariffville, Connecticut, and died April 29, 
1874. His children were: Sophia, Milton, Candace 
(died young), Alfred C, Candace, Henry C, Amasa 
and Franklin. 

(VIII) Franklin, youngest child of Amasa and 
Gillette (Kendall) Holcombe, w^as born September 
22, 1827, in Southwick, Massachusetts, and resided 
throughout life in that town. He was educated in 
the public schools of his native town, and engaged 
there in farming. He enlisted in 1861 in a regiment 
recruited in Springfield, and went to the front. He 
soon after died in a hospital at Annapolis, Mary- 
land, of disease brought on while in the service. 
He married (first) Mary Givens, who was the 
mother of one son Frank, who was born December 
25, 1852. He married (second) Eliza Givens, a 
sister of his first wife, and died without issue. He 
was married (third) to Sarah Jane Robinson, and 
they were the parants of two children: Charles 
Henry and Newton F. The latter died June 29, 
1900. 

(IX) Charles Henry Holcombe, M. D., elder 
of the two sons of Franklin and Sarah Jane (Rob- 
inson) Holcombe, was born November 12. 1859, 
and was educated in the local schools of Milford, 
New Hampshire, and at McCoUom Institute at 
Mont Vernon. He also spent four years at West- 
field, Massachusetts, and graduated from Harvard 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1083 



University in 1886, taking tlie medical course. He 
immediately located in Brookline, New Hampshire, 
where he has since been actively engaged with his 
profession, with satisfaction to his patients and him- 
self. His regular standing is attested by his mem- 
bership in the New Hampshire Medical Association 
and in other professional societies. He is chair- 
man of the Brookline board of health, and a deacon 
in the Congregational Church of that town. He 
is also identified with the local Grange of the Vet- 
erans of Husbandry, and is a trustee of the Public 
Library. He is a genial and cultivated man, and 
takes a warm interest in all that pertains to the 
development and welfare of his home community. 
He was married June 23, 1S88, to Clintina A. Bur- 
ton, daughter of J. E. and Olive A. (Robinson) 
Burton, of Temple, New Hampshire. They have 
one child, Marion C. Holcombe. 

(IV) Judah, third son and fifth child of Na- 
thaniel (2) and Martha (Bucl) Holcombe, was 
born June 12, 1705, in Simsbury, and died January 
5, 1802, in his ninety-seventh year. On his tomb- 
stone at Salmon Brook is inscribed: "Death is a 
debt to Nature due; this I have paid, and so must 
you." He married Hannah Buttolf, and at his 
death he left nine children, fifty-seven grandchildren, 
one hundred and twenty-nine great-grandchildren 
and one great-great-grandchild. 

(V) Lieutenant Silas, son of Judah and Hannah 
(Buttolf) Holcombe, was born November 27, 1734. 
in Granby, Connecticut, and died October 6, 1806. 
He married Mary Post, and they were the parents 
of four children. 

(VI) Lucy, daughter of Lieutenant Silas and 
Mary (Post) Holcombe, was born in 1764, in North 
Granby, and became the wife of Elijah Holcombe, 
as hereinbefore noted. She died August 30, 1800. 

This name is spelled in the Revo- 
SPENCER lutionary records, Spancer, Spansor, 
Spencor, Spencur, Spenr, Spensor, 
Spincer, and Sponcer. Sixty-eight of the name 
served in the Revolutionary war. A large number 
of Spencers were among the pioneer settlers of 
Massachusetts, One of the earliest was Jared Spen- 
cer, of Cambridge, 1634, who removed to Lynn, 
and became a freeman March 9, 1637. He removed 
to Haddam before 1660, and was propounded for 
freeman of Connecticut in 1672, and was ensign of 
militia, anid representative 1674-75. By his wife 
Hannah they had John, Thomas, Samuel, William, 
Nathaniel, Timothy, Hannah, jMehitable, Alice, Re- 
becca and Ruth. Not all of their descendants can 
be traced. 

(I) Joseph G. Spencer was born about 1793, in 
Norwich, Vermont, and died September i, 1829. 

(II) Joseph Gates, son of Joseph G. Spencer, 
was born in Norwich, Vermont, July 8, 1829, and 
died in Enfield, New Hampshire, March 28, 1892. 
He was brought up on a farm from which he re- 
moved to Enfield, where he was employed in a grist 
mill a few years. From that he went to the P. C. 
Cambridge bedstead factory, where he was employed 
the remainder of his life, filling the position of over- 



seer in later years. He was interested in all public 
enterprises, took a leading part in town affairs, and 
was chairman of the board of selectmen. He was 
a Democrat in politics, and he and his wife were 
members of the Universalist Church, in whose choir 
he sang for many years. He married Angeline Boyn- 
ton Clough, born in Enfield, New Hampshire, May 
17, 1830, and died May 16, 1905. She was the 
daughter of Theophilus Clough, born in Enfield, 
New Hampshire, June I, 1803, died April 23, 1849, 
in Panama, and Hannah G. (Boynton) Clough, born 
in Tamworth, New Hampshire, October 2, 1808, 
died in Enfield, August 30, 1839. Mr. and Mrs. 
Spencer were the parents of two children: Mabel, 
who was born in 1S60, and died in infancy; and 
Fred A., whose sketch follows. 

■ (HI) Fred Ashton, only son of Joseph G. and 
Angeline Boynton (Clough) Spencer, was born in 
Enfield, May 25, 1862. He attended school until 
eighteen years of age, and then took a position in 
the store of his uncle, W. C. Clough, in Enfield, and 
later in a dry goods store in Lebanon, filling the 
latter place about four years. In April, 1885, he 
went to Bristol, where he is now assistant treasurer 
and salesman of the Dodge-Davis Manufacturing 
Company, and a director of the First National 
Bank of Bristol. In political faith he is a Demo- 
crat. He is a past master of Union Lodge, No. 
79, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, and a mem- 
ber of St. Omar Royal Arch Chapter, and Mt. 
Horeb Commandery, Knights Templar. He is also 
a member of Bektash Temple, .A.ncient Arabic Or- 
der Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He married, Feb- 
ruary 9, 1887, Grace Leone Stanley, who was born 
in Enfield, January 27, 1862, daughter of Horace 
Burns and Emeline Almeda (Gates) Stanley, of 
Enfield. The parents of Mr. Stanley were Joseph 
Stanley, born 1799, and Hepzibah (Burnham) Stan- 
ley, born March 20, 1800. Their children were: 
Joseph B., E. G., Horace B., Marcia A., Ellen F. 
and Imogene A. Emeline A. Gates was the daugh- 
ter of Americus and Esther (Hume) Gates. Their 
children were: Emeline A. and Mary. Mr. and Mrs. 
Spencer have one child, Stanley Ashton, born in 
Bristol, May 11, 1891. 



The Fiskes in America are descended 
FISK from an- ancient family of that name 
which for centuries and until a recent 
period had its seat and manorial lands in Laxfield, 
in the county of Suffolk, England. Members of the 
family in America for centuries have been promi- 
nent in private and public Hfe as clergymen, lawyers, 
physicians, financiers, soldiers, merchants, teachers 
and professors in colleges, farmers, philanthropists 
and patriots. Rev. Perrin B. Fiske, of Lyndon, 
Vermont, has written of them : 

" Ftische. Fisc. Fiske. Fisk (spell it either way) 
Meant true knighthood, freedom, faith, eood qualities that 

stay. 
Brethren, let the ancient name mean just the same for aye. 
'Forward, every youth ! to seek the highest good to-day :' " 

(I) Lord Symond Fiske, grandson of Daniel, 
was Lord of the Manor of Standhaugh, parish of 



1084 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Laxfield, coiintj' of Suffolk, England. lived in the 
reign of Henry IV and VI (1399-1422). He mar- 
ried Susannah Smyth, and after her death he mar- 
ried Katherine — . Simon Fiske, of Laxfield, 

will dated December 22, 1463, proved at Norwich, 
February 26, 1463-64, died in February, 1464. He 
was survived by five children : William, Jaffrey, 
John, Edmund and Margaret. 

(II) William (i), eldest son of Siraond Fiske, 
born at Staiidhaugh, county of Suffolk, England, 
married Joann, of Norfolk. He was of Standhaugh, 
and lived during the reign, of Henry VI, Edward 
IV, Richard III and Henry VII. He died about 
1504, was survived by his wife, who died in 1505, 
and left seven children : William, Augustine, Simon, 
Robert, John, Margery and Margaret. 

(HI) Simon (i), fourth son of William and 
Joann (Lyme) Fiske, was in Laxfield, date un- 
known. He married Elizabeth , who died in 

Halesworth, June, 1558. In his will made July 
10, 1536, he desired to be buried at the chancel end 
of the Church of All Saints, in Laxfield. He died 
in that town in June, 1538, leaving (living or dead) 
ten children : Simon, William, Robert, Joan, Jeffrey, 
Gelyne, Agnes, Thomas, Elizabeth and John. 

(IV) Simon (2), child of Simon (i) and Eliza- 
beth Fiske, was born in Laxfield. The name of his 
wife and date of his marriage are not known. He 
died in 1505. His children were : Robert, John, 
George, Nicholas, Jeffrey, Jeremy, William, Rich- 
ard, Joan, Gelyne and Agnes. 

(V) Robert Fiske, the eldest of the eleven chil- 
dren of Simon (2) Fiske, was born in Standhaugh 
about 1525. He married Mrs. Sybil (Gould) Bar- 
ber. For some time he was of. the parish of St. 
James, South Elmham, England. Sybil, his wife, 
was in great danger in the time of the religious per- 
secution, 1553-58, as was her sister Isabelle, origin- 
ally Gould, who was confined in the Castle of Nor- 
wich, and escaped death only by the power of her 
brothers, who were men of great influence in the 
county. Robert Fi.ske fled from religious perse- 
cution in the days of Queen Mary to Geneva, but 
returned later and died in St. James in 1600. His 
sons were : William, Jeffrey, Thomas and Eleazer. 
The latter had no issue, but the progeny of the 
other three sons, in whole or in part, settled in 
New England. Besides these sons there was a 
daughter Elizabeth who married Robert Bernard ; 
their daughter married a Mr. Locke, and was the 
mother of the celebrated John Locke, the English 
philosopher. 

(VI) William (2), eldest child of Robert and 
Sybil (Gould) Fiske, was born at Laxfield, in 1566. 
He married Anna Austye, daughter of Walter, of 
Fibbenham, Long Row, in Norfolk. After her death 

he married Alice . He is described as of 

St. James in South Elmham, and it is said of him 
that he fled with his father from religious perse- 
cution. He died in 1623. Of the first wife Anna 
there were children: John, Nathaniel, Eleazer, Eu- 
nice, Hannah and Esther (sometimes called Hes- 
ter). The Youngest child, Mary, seems to have 
been of the second wife, Alice. 



(VII) John, eldest child of William (2) and 
Anna (.A.ustye) Fiske, was born at St. James. He 
married Anna, daughter of Robert Lautersee. She 
died on board ship in 1637, which was bound for 
New England. John Fiske died in 1633. Their 
children were: John, William, Anna, Martha, 
Martha and Eleazer. 

(VIII) Hon. William (3), second son and child 
of John and Anne (Lautersee) Fiske, was born in 
England about 1613. He married at Salem, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1643, Bridgett jMuskett, of Pelham, Eng- 
land. After his death she married (second) No- 
vember, 1661, Thomas Rix, of Salem, surgeon. He 
came to Salem with his brother, the Rev. John 
Fiske, in 1637. He had a grant of land the same 
year, was made freeman May 18, 1642, and mem- 
ber of Salem Church July 2, 1641. He soon after 
removed to Wenham, where he was the first town 
clerk or clerk of the writs from 1643 to 1660 (?). 
He was elected representative to the general court 
of the commonwealth in 1647, and continued in 
that office until the year 1652, being annually re- 
elected. He enjoyed to a large extent the esteem 
and confidence of his fellow citizens. He died quite 
suddenly in 1654, having served his townsmen in all 
the offices of the town. For several years subse- 
quent to 1643 he kept an ordinary (public house). 
He left five children : William, Samuel, Joseph, 
Benjamin and Martha. 

(IX) Deacon William (4), eldest child of Hon. 
William (3) and Bridgett (Muskett) Fiske, was 
born at Wenham, Massachusetts, June (January) 
4, 1642-43. He married there, January 15, 1662, 
Sarah Kilham, born 1649, died January 26, 1737, 
aged ninety-eight years. William Fiske was a 
weaver by trade. He held a number of town of- 
fices; was representative in 1701-04-11-13-14; mod- 
erator in 1702-03, 1712-13-14. He w'as also called 
lieutenant. He was elected deacon of the Congre- 
gational Church in 1769. He died universally es- 
teemed and lamented. He and his wife were the 
parents of fourteen children, ten of whom attained 
years of maturity and had families, and of these 
seven were sons. The names of the children are 
as follows: William, born 1663; Samuel, 1670; 
Joseph, 1672; Benjamin, 1674; Theophilus, 1676; 
Ebenezer, 1679; Jonathan, 168 1 ; Sarah, 1664; Ruth, 
1666; Samuel, 1667; Martha, 1668; Joseph, 1669; 
Ebenezer, 1677, and Elizabeth, 1684. 

(X) William (5), eldest child of Deacon Wil- 
liam and Sarah (Kilham) Fiske, was born at Wen- 
ham, Massachusetts, January 31, 1663. He was a 
grandson of William Fiske, the emigrant, who ar- 
rived in New England in 1637, and settled in Wen- 
ham. In 1710 he removed from Wenham to An- 
dover, Massachusetts, where he died December 10, 
1710. The Christian name of his wife was Alarah 
or Mary, and his children were : William, Joseph, 
Ebenezer, Jonathan, Sarah, Ruth (died young), 
Lydia, Mary and Ruth. 

(XI) Ebenezer, third son and child of Wil- 
liam (5) and Mary Fiske, was born in Wenham, 
August IS, 1703. He married in January, 1730, to 
Susanna Bock, of Woburn. It is quite probable 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



108=; 



that he died in 1737, as his son Ebenezer was ap- 
pointed guardian of the minor children March 20 
of that year. His wife died in Tewksbury, Massa- 
chusetts, lilarch 28, 1754. She was the mother of 
Ebenezer, Ephraim, Benjamin, Jonathan, and two 
others who died in infancy. 

(XII) Ephraim, second son and child of Eben- 
ezer and Susanna (Bock) Fiske, was born about 
1732. He resided in Tewksbury for a time, and in 
1772-3 went to Concord, New Hampshire, where 
he died about the year 1825. He married i\Iehi- 
table Frost, a miss of twelve years of age, born 
about 1744, and in connection with this early mar- 
riage the following unique anecdotes were related. 
Her first child having been born when she was but 
thirteen and a half years old, she was in the habit 
of asking her mother to tend her baby while she 
went out to play with the children. A person once 
asked her how old she was when her first child 
was born. She replied "thirteen and a half years 
old, and what is that to you?" She 'became the 
mother of twelve children: Ephraim, Solomon (died 
young), Mehitable, Ebenezer, Sarah, Lydia, Daniel, 
Solomon, Jonathan, Betsey, Rebecca and Joseph. 
Ephraim Fiske, Sr., and his son Ephraim were both 
soldiers in the Revolutionary war and participated 
in the battle of Bennington. 

(XIII) Joseph, youngest son and child of 
Ephraim and Mehitable (Frost) Fiske, was born in 
Concord about 1779- At the age of nine years he 
went to Hopkinton, and subsequently learned the 
blacksmith's trade. He died October 18, 1869. He 
married Lucy A. Burnham, who was born October 
22, 1790, and died April 17, 1871. The children of 
this union were: William B., Rachel, Lucy M., 
Daniel and Ella. 

(XIV) Daniel, second son and fourth child of 
Joseph and Lucy A. (Burnham) Fiske, was born 
in Contoocook, February 3, 1828, and resided there. 
March 22, 1856, he married Lydia A. Conner, 
daughter of James and Lydia (Kimball) Conner, 
of Hopkinton, the former of whom was born in 
Henniker, and was a farmer. The children of this 
union are: Jennie, born January 9, 185S (married 
first David Bohannon, and second George Chase of 
Hopkinton) ; Daniel F., (who will be again referred 
to); Ida M., born December 5, 1861 (died July 11, 

1879). 

(XV) Daniel Frank, only son of Daniel and 
Lydia A. (Conner) Fisk, was born in Contoocook, 
October 22, 1859. He was left fatherless at the age 
of three years and was thus dependent wholly upon 
the care of his mother. After concluding his at- 
tendance at the district school he engaged in farm- 
ing, but later turned his attention to lumbering and 
has ever since followed that business with success. 
He is one of the most protninent business men in 
that section of the state. In politics he is a Republi- 
can and in 1902 was a member of the lower branch 
of the state legislature. April 30, 1883, IMr. Fisk 
married Delia E., daughter of Horatio J. and Susan 
Vilona (Currier) Chandler. Her father followed 
agriculture in Hopkinton. Mr. and Mrs. Fisk have 
two children : Mabel, born December 9, 1885 and 



Lida, October 23, 1888. Mabel, is the wife of Henry 
Russell Davis, son of Henry C. Davis, of Davisville, 
and now a lumber dealer. Both children reside 
with their parents. 



In the early part of the eighteenth 
McXEIL century there was a great immigra- 
tion of the Protestant Scotch-Irish to 
this country. It was estimated that in the year 1730 
at least a thousand people from the north of Ire- 
land had settled in the province of New Hampshire. 
Many of them located at Londonderry, this state, 
which they named after the town in Ireland that 
sustained the terrible siege of 1689. After a time 
the Irish settlers began to push up the Merrimack, 
and as early as 1724 they had built a fort at Pena- 
cook, now Concord. But when that town was 
granted the next year to the proprietors from Mass- 
achusetts, they chose to have their own people from 
Haverhill and Andover, and the Irish were form- 
ally excluded. This restricted the latter to a loca- 
tion farther down the Merrimack. Among those 
who settled in the neighborhood of what is now 
Manchester were John McNeil and Archibald Stark. 
Both were men of strong force of character, whose 
descendants were destined to win renown in all the 
future .American wars, and wdiose families were to 
be joined in marriage one himdred and fifty years 
later. 

(I) John McNeil came from Ireland in 171S, 
probably from the neighborhood of Hillsborough. 
He was a lineal descendant of Daniel McNeil, one 
of the council of the city of Londonderry, who 
with twenty-one others placarded the resolution on 
the market-house, which led to the successful de- 
fence of the city. John McNeil inherited much of 
the moral and physical courage of this ancestor. 
He settled first in Londonderry, but about 1733 
moved to what is now Manchester. He doubtless 
chose this location on account of the excellent fish- 
ing at Amoskeag Falls. At that time the river 
abounded in salmon, shad, alewives and eels; this 
fishing was of the greatest importance to the early 
settlers. It is said that the Rev. Mr. McGregor, 
the Presbyterian minister at Londonderry, was the 
first person to visit the Falls, and discover their 
value as a food supply; and from this fact arose 
the custom of each person presenting the minister 
with the first results of the fishing season. John 
McNeil moved upon the gore known as Harrytown, 
and is said to have been the first white settler in 
what is now the thickly populated part of Man- 
chester. His house stood near McNeil ^trect, about 
midway between Elm and Canal. John McNeil was 
a man of great courage and physical strength. He 
was six feet and six inches in height, and famed for 
his skill in wrestling. It is said that no man on 
the border, either red or white, dared risk a hand- 
to-hand encounter with him. This anecdote illus- 
trates his bodily vigor. One spring, when attempt- 
ing to cross the Merrimack, after the ice had be- 
come thin and weak, he fell in near a rock west of 
where now stands Amoskeag Mill, No. i. This 
rock is about four rods from the east bank of the 



io86 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



river. With great presence of mind ^McNeil waded 
toward the shore until he could touch both the 
bottom and the ice, then bracing his broad shoulders 
he raised the ice by almost superhuman strength, 
and succeeded in getting out on the firm ice. For 
many years the rock near which he fell in was 
known as "old McNeil," and it was a noted guide 
for the rivcrmen. When "old McNeil" was out of 
sight, six or eight "shots" of lumber could be run 
over Merrill's Falls. When he^ showed his head 
three, inches, four "shots" could be run, and when 
his read was out of the water six inches, but one 
"shot" could be run. John McNeil's wife. Christian, 
seems to have been the equal of her husband in phy- 
sical vigor and in the qualities fitted to endure 
pioneer life. In later days John McNeil moved a 
little farther up the river to Suncook. because his 
name is found attached to a petition there in 1747. 
It is probable that he lived there with John Knox, 
who had married his daughter, and that he died and 
was buried in Suncooic. 

(II) Lieutenant Daniel, son of John and 
Christian McNeil, was born in Derryfield, now Man- 
chester, New Hampshire. He moved to Hills- 
borough, New Hampshire, in 1771. The town was 
incorporated in 1772, and named for Colonel John 
Hill, of Boston, the original proprietor, who died 
in 1776. Daniel McNeil was elected one of the 
selectmen of Hillsboro at the time of its incorpora- 
tion. The first bridge over the Contoocook at 
Hillsboro was built of wood in 1779. Some years 
later Daniel MtNeil was employed by the town to 
rebuild this bridge. Daniel McNeil's wife was called 
Jeanie, but her maiden name is unknown. He died 
by accidental drowning in i/go. 

(III) Lieutenant John, son of Lieutenant 
Daniel and Jeanie McNeil, was born in Derryfield, 
now Manchester. New Hampshire, in March, 1757, 
five years after the incorporation of the town. He 
moved to Hillsboro with his father. Lieutenant John 
McNeil served several years in the Revolution, and 
was a private at Bunker Hill in Captain Isaac 
Baldwin's company under Major Andrew McClary, 
of Epsom. McNeil helped to carry Captain Bald- 
win from the field when that officer was mortally 
wounded, and he also served at the battle of Ben- 
nington. He married Lxicy, eldest daughter of 
Deacon Isaac and Lucy (Perkins) Andrews, of 
Hillsboro. Her father was a leading man of his 
day. He was a Revolutionary soldier, and for 
tnany years held the office of justice of the, peace 
whence he gained his title of 'Squire. He was the 
first town clerk of Hillsboro, and served on the 
first board of selectmen. John and Lucy (An- 
drews) McNeil liad four children : Mary, born July 
6. 1779, married James Wilson; General Solomon, 
whose sketch follows ; General John, born March 
25. 1784; and Lucy, born in April. 1786, who died in 
inf.ancy. Lieutenant John McNeil died in Hills- 
boro. September 29, 1836, aged seventy-nine years. 
General John McNeil, his second son, served with 
distinction in the War of 1812. He was appointed 
captain of the Eleventh New Hampshire Regiment, 



March 12, 1812. He was soon promoted to major, 
and he received two brevets in twenty days. July 5 
and July 25, 1814, for intrepid behavior at Chip- 
pewa, and distinguished valor at Lundy's Lane. He 
was afterwards brevetted brigadier-general. Gen- 
eral John McNeil remained in the service till 1830, 
when he retired on being appointed supervisor for 
the port of Boston. His right leg was badly shat- 
tered at the battle of Lundy's Lane. He was a man 
of striking appearance and commanding height, be- 
ing six feet, six inches tall, like his grandfather, the 
original immigrant. General John McNeil married 
his cousin, Elizabeth A. Pierce, only daughter of 
Governor Benjamin and his first wife, Elizabeth 
(Andrews) Pierce. They had four children, two 
sons and two daughters. Their elder son. Lieuten- 
ant John Winfield Scott McNeil, was mortally 
wounded wdiile leading an attack upon an Indian 
ramp in Florida, and died September 11, 1837. agei' 
twenty years and six months. General John Mc- 
Neil died in Washington, February 23, 1850. 

(IV) General Solomon, elder son of Lieuten- 
ant John and Lucy (Andrews) McNeil, was born 
January 15, 1782. His home was in Hillsboro, New 
Hampshire. He married Nancy M. Pierce, eldest 
daughter and second child of Governor Benjamin 
and his second wife, Anna (Kendrick) Pierce. She 
was the eldest sister of President Franklin Pierce, 
and a half sister of the wife of Solomon McNeil's 
brother, General John. She died April 27, 1837. 
aged forty-four years and five months. 

(V) Colonel John, son of General Solomon 
and Nancy M. (Pierce) McNeil, was born in Hills- 
boro, New Hampshire. November 6, 1822. During 
his life in Hillsboro he lived in the homestead 
which had been owned by the McNeils for several 
generations, and which adjoined that where his 
uncle. President Franklin Pierce, was born and 
reared. Colonel McNeil was an inspector in the 
Boston Cu?tom House, and was the only relative of 
President Pierce, who held office during the admin- 
istration of the latter. He remained in this position 
until 1861. In 1864-65 Colonel McNeil was repre- 
sentative from the town of Hillsboro, which office 
he filled with ability and uprightness. In 1S68 he 
removed to Concord. New Hampshire, and was the 
adviser and close friend of the former president 
till the close of Pierce's life. Later he removed to 
Chelmsford, and then to Winchester, Massachusetts. 
At one time he was connected with the Boston & 
Lowell Railroad, and for several years was the 
agent of Dartmouth College in the care of a large 
property which had been given to the college by 
Colonel McNeil's brother-in-law, Hon. Tappan 
Wentworth. of Lowell. At one time he read law 
with Mr. Wentworth. Colonel McNeil was a gen- 
tleman of social and genial disposition, which en- 
deared him to his family and a large circle of 
friends and acquaintances. Colonel John McNeil 
married Cynthia Morse, daughter of Amos and 
Sarah (Sawyer) Morse, who was born at Methuen, 
Massachusetts. November 17. 1820. They had two 
children : .'\nnie. inentioned below ; and Frances, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1087 



who married General John M. Corse, for many 
years po-stmaster of Boston. Colonel John JMcNeil 
died April 7, 1SS5, at Winchester, Massachusetts. 

(VI) Annie, elder daughter of Colonel John 
and Cynthia (Morse) McNeil, was born in Lowell, 
Massachusetts. She was educated at a convent in 
Montreal. Canada. On February 26, 1878, she mar- 
ried Charles F. M. Stark, of Dunbarton. New 
Hampshire. (See Stark, VI). 



This family was early found in New 

L.'VKE England, and has become very widely 

scattered throughout the United States. 

It has representatives in every state and most of 

them have proven worthy citizens. 

(I) Henry Lake was born about 1660, and mar- 
ried. May 9, 1681, Priscilla Wildes. He lived in 
Topsfield, Massachusetts, where three of his chil- 
dren were born. 

(II) Eleazer, only son of Henry and Priscilla 
(Wildes) Lake, was born July 9, 16S6, in Topsfield, 
and lived in that town where he probably died April 
9, 1771. He married, December 7, 1708, Lydia Ford, 
who died May 29, 1743; he married (second), Jan- 
uary 12. 1744, Mary Bixby, who died in 1775. His 
children, all born of the first wife, were : Lydia, 
Priscilla, Abigail. Eleazer and Daniel. 

(HI) Daniel, youngest child of Eleazer and 
Lydia (Ford) Lake, was born June 22, 1726, in 
Topsfield, and lived in that town until 1767, when 
he removed to Rindge, New Hampshire. He was 
an honored and prominent man in the affairs of that 
town, and served as town clerk and justice of the 
peace. In the Revolution he was an active and 
earnest patriot. He served through two enlist- 
ments', and four of his sons were also in the service. 
Late in life, about 1805, he removed to Rockingham, 
Vermont, where some of his children were residing, 
and there died September 26. 1810. He married, 
November 30, 1749. Sarah Bixby, who- was born 
1726, daughter of Deacon George and Mary (Por- 
ter) Bixby. She died February ig, 1815. Their 
children were : George, Daniel. Enos, Henry, Jon- 
athan, Nathan, Sarah and Mary. 

(IV) Henry (2), fourth son and child of 
Daniel and Mary (Bixby) Lake, was born Septem- 
ber 19, 1759, in Topsfield, Massachusetts, and was 
but a child when his parents removed to Rindge, 
New Hampshire. He remained in that town until 
1792, when he removed to Rockingham, Vermont, 
and was a farmer there. He was a soldier of the 
Revolution, participating in the battle of Benning- 
ton, and the capture of General Burgoyne's army. 
He was the representative of Rockingham in the 
Vermont legislature in i8r2 and 1814, His wife's 
name was Prudence Lovejoy. They had five chil- 
dren born in Rindge, New Hampshire, and six in 
Rockingham, Vermont, namely : Silvanus. Sarah, 
Henry, Leonard. Luther. Calvin, Esther, Nathan, 
Riel, Daniel Bixby and Maria. 

(V) Henry (3), second son and third child of 
Henry (2) and Prudence (Lovejoy) Lake, was 
born April 27. 1786. in Rindge, New Hampshire, 



and died at Saxtons River, in the town of Rocking- 
ham, Vermont. He was representative from that 
town in 1820-21. He married Abigail Stevens, 

(Vn Clark Sylvanus, son of Henry and Abi- 
,gail (Stevens) Lake, was born in Saxtons River, 
November 19, 1826, His active years were devoted 
to farming in his native town, and he is still resid- 
ing there, having retired from active business pur- 
suits some fifteen years ago. He married Mary 
Campbell and reared a family of four children, 
namely: Henry E., Edwin R,, Colin C. and Clara A. 

(VII) Henry Edward, eldest son and child of 
Clark S, and Mary (Campbell) Lake, was born in 
Saxtons River, December 11, 1852, From the pub- 
lic schools of his native town he went to the Kim- 
ball Union Academy at Meriden, New Hampshire, 
and he later attended the Black River Academy in 
Ludlow, Vermont, After devoting some two or 
three years to teaching in the public schools of 
Rockingham and Londonderry, Vermont, he de- 
termined to cultivate his talent for music, and re- 
linquishing educational pursuits he went to Boston, 
where he spent considerable time in voice culture, 
initially at the New England Conservatory of 
Music, and subsequently under private instruction. 
His permanent settlement in Keene resulted from 
his having been secured by the Second Congrega- 
tional Church as its tenor singer and chorister in 
1882, and for nearly a quarter of a century he has 
retained that position, laboring assiduously to pre- 
serve a high standard of excellence in the musical 
portion of the service, and occupying a prominent 
place in the musical circles of the city. In 1883 he 
established himself as a dealer in pianos, organs 
and other musical instruments, and has built up a 
large and profitable business in that line of trade. 
.•\s a thoroughly conscientious artist, an excellent 
teacher and an expert in the selection of an instru- 
ment, he is widely and favorably known through- 
out his field of operation, which embraces a broad 
section of New Hampshire and Vermont, and he is 
a recognized authority in all matters relative to his 
profession. Mr, Lake's high standing in the com- 
munity is not alone the result of his professional 
ability, but is in no small measure the outcome of 
his sterling integrity as a business man. 

He served as a selectman for three years, and 
for the years 1892, '93 and '94 was a member of the 
city council. For nine years he was vice-president 
of the New Hampshire State Music Teachers' As- 
.sociation ; was first president and one of the 
musical directors of the Keene Choral Union, and 
chairman of the executive commitee of the Cheshire 
County Musical .Association, Mr. Lake was actively 
identified with the founding of the Keene Chorus 
Club, a musical organization that has won for the 
city a reputation second to none in the state for the 
high order of talent and general excellence of the 
concerts given under the auspices of the Society. 
Mr, Lake is president of this club, Mr, Lake was 
for thirteen years identified with the board of di- 
rectors of the Keene Young Men's Christian As- 
sociation, and was serving in that capacity during 



loSS 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



the period in which their present handsome building 
was erected. His society affiHations also include 
the Masonic fraternity, the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, the Improved Order of Red Men, the 
Order of the Golden Cross, and Patrons of Hus- 
bandry. 

On September 14, 1876. ;\Ir. Lake married Vir- 
ginia I. Wilkins, daughter of Mathew and Lucy 
(Johnson) Wilkins, of Londonderry, Vermont. 
Mr. and Mrs. Lake have three children : Henry C, 
born February 20, 1883 ; Clarence R., born July 20, 
1886: and Christine M., bom January 15, 1895. 
Messrs. Henry C. and Clarence R. Lake are asso- 
ciated with their father in business. 



The family of Tewksbury, 
TEWKSBURY Tewxberry, Tuksbery or Tux- 
bury, as the name has been 
spelled, might trace their ancestry, if the records 
were coniiplete, back to the borough of Tewk or 
Tuck in England. Henry Tuxbury or Tewksbury, 
weaver, of Newbury and Amesbury, Massachusetts, 
removed to Boston, where he married, November 
10. 1659, Martha Cobb, widow of William Harvey. 
He took the oath of fidelity at Newbury in 1669. 
In the same year he sold his place there and re- 
moved to Amesbury. where he took the oath of 
allegiance in 1677. He was one of the petitioners 
of 1680. a freeman in 1690, tithingman in 1693, and 
was living in 1697. His children were : Elizabeth. 
Hannah. Henry, Naomi. Ruth, Mary, Martha and 
John. 

(I) Lieutenant Henry Tewksbury removed 
(probably from Hampstead) to Weare about 1772. 
He was a soldier in the Revolution. He enlisted 
July 8. 1775, in Captain John Parker's company, 
where he served as a private until his discharge De- 
cember 16, a term of five months and seven days. 
He was described as a husbandman and credited to 
Weare. September 28, he was reported with his 
company at St. Johns, Canada, which was besieged 
about that time. Corporal Henry Tucxbury's name 
appears on the roll of soldiers in Captain Timothy 
Clement's company. Colonel David Oilman's regi- 
ment, into which he was mustered April 15, 1776; 
also in the same company in Colonel Pierce Long's 
regiment at New Castle, where he was mustered out 
August 7, as ensign after sixty-three days' service. 
He was in the same company and regiment in the 
Continental service from December 17, 17/6, to 
January 7. 1777, at New Castle, and is named sec- 
ond lieutenant. He married Sarah Calfe, of Hamp- 
stead. He died November 28, 1806; and his wife 
died January 11, 1832. Their ten children were: 
Mary, Judith, Sarah, Hannah, David, Naomi, John, 
Dolly, Henry and Nancy. 

(II) David, son of Lieutenant Henry and 
Hannah (Calfe) Tewksbury, of Weare, was born 
in Weare, September 12, 1776, and died in New 
Boston, March 22, 1855. aged seventy-nine years. 
In 1800 he settled in New Boston, where he was a 
lifelong farmer. He married (first), April 29, 1798, 
Betsey, daughter of Moses Lull, of Weare. She 



died May 30, 1809, and he married (second), Octo- 
ber 27, 181 1, Sarah F. Hogg, who was born July 26, 
1785, and died December 17, 1842, daughter of Ab- 
ner and Rosamond (Person) Hogg, of New Bos- 
ton (see Hogg II). He married (third), Novem- 
ber 5, 1844, widow Abigail George, daughter of 
James and Mary McMillen. His children by his 
first wife were: Amos Wood, Nancy, James, Bet- 
se}', David, who died young: and Dorothy. By the 
second wife he had : Eliza, Rozeanna, Mary An- 
drews, Hannah Bennett, Jane Andrews. Harriet 
Newell, and David A. Dorothy, born January 28, 
1808, married, March 11, 1830, Daniel Jones, of 
Merrimack (see Jones VII), and died 1836. 



This does not appear to be a very an- 
SLOANE cient family in New England. In the 

early records the name is spelled 
without the final letter now used by this family. 
There are meager traces of the family at various 
points in Massachusetts, and it is impossible to de- 
termine whether records of the same name pertain 
to the same person in all cases. 

(I) It appears that there was a David Sloan re- 
siding in Shirley, Massachusetts, previous to the 
Revolution. He was among the patriots who re- 
sponded to the Lexington alarm of April 19, 1775, 
and was subsequently in the Revolutionary service 
with his son and namesake among the eight 
months' recruits. It also appears that David Sloan 
(probably the son) enlisted December 2, 1777, for 
three years' service in Captain Sylvester Smith's 
company, of Shirley. 

(II) The records of Shirley show that the mar- 
riage intention of David (2) Sloan was pubjished 
October 17. 1774, the prospective bride being 
Rachael Gould, of Shirley. The vital records of 
Pelham, Massachusetts, show marriage of David 
Sloan to Elizabeth Scott, on June 2, 1774, and the 
following children of this couple appear on the town 
records: James, Garner, Jonathan, Andrew and 
David. 

(III) David (3) Sloane, youngest child of David 
(2) and Elizabeth (Scott) Sloan, was born January 
9, 1790, in Pelham, Massachusetts. He w^orked his 
way through college and graduated from Dartmouth 
in 1806. Among his classmates were Governor and 
Judge Matthew Harvey, of New Hampshire, and 
Governor and Judge Albion K. Parris, of Maine. 
Mr. Sloane studied law with Judge W. H. Wood- 
ward, of Hanover and George Woodward, of 
Haverhill, New Hampshire, and began practicing in 
the latter place where he continued till his death. 
He is said to have been an astute lawyer and a 
shrewd and successful business man. David Sloane 
married Anna Johnson, daughter of Captain 
Thomas Johnson of Newbury. Vermont, and they 
had six children: Thomas C, Edward, David Scott, 
William H., Henry and Elizabeth A. David Scott 
Sloane graduated from Dartmouth in 1836, became 
a teacher, and died at the age of forty-one. Wil- 
liam H. Sloane graduated from Dartmouth in 1841, 




-^voA A/U (J (^Pr^^Y^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1089 



became a lawyer, and died at the age of thirty-five. 
David Sloane died at Haverhill, New Hampshire, 
June 7, i860. 

(.IV) Ihomas Carlton, eldest child of David and 
Anna (Johnson) Sloane, was born at Haverhill, 
New Hampshire, and was educated in Haverhill 
and at Kimball Union Academy in Meriden. He 
•was in the furniture business in New York City 
for many years. He was a Democrat in politics. 
He married Mary Williams. 

(V) Scott, son of Thomas Carlton and Mary 
(Williams) Sloane, was born in Montreal, Quebec, 
June 16, 1853, where his parents were residing tem- 
porarily, and received his early education at Haver- 
hill, New Hampshire. Leaving home at the age 
of thirteen, he went to school in Montpelier, Ver- 
mont, attended the high school in Newport, Rhode 
Island, and for four years was a pupil at a private 
school in Newport. He worked his way through 
school, and began studying law in Boston in 1879. 
While studying law he worked as an assistant book- 
keeper in a wholesale house in Boston. In 1880 
he went to Haverhill, New Hampshire, and studied 
law with George F. Putnam for two years, finishing 
his studies in the office of E. W. Smith, with whom 
he formed a co-partnership, having offices at Wells 
River, Vermont, and Woodsville, New Hampshire. 
This partnership continued till 1899, after which 
Mr. Sloan remained alone in the practice of law at 
Woodville, until October, 1905, when he came to 
Lebanon, New Hampshire, and opened offices, where 
he is still in practice. Mr. Sloane attends the Con- 
gregational Church. He is a Republican in politics, 
and was a delegate to the constitutional convention 
in 1902. He belongs to the Order of Elks. Scott 
Sloane was married June 16, 1885, to Annabel M. 
Nelson, daughter of W. H. and Margaret M. Nel- 
son, of Haverhill, New Hampshire. There are no 
children. 



This name has undergone so many 
GURNSEY changes in its orthography that it 

is now quite impossible to deter- 
mine its original spelling. In the early records of 
Rehoboth, Massachusetts, the names of the progen- 
itors of the Gurnseys now in hand are spelled Garn- 
sey. 

(I) John Garnsey, of Rehoboth, married Judith 
Ormsbv, October 14, 1714. 

(II) John, son of John and Judith Garnsey, 
was born in Rehoboth, January 4, 1720. On May 
13, 1742, he was married by the Rev. John Green- 
wood to "Lidia" Healey. 

(III) Deacon Amos, eldest child of John and 
Lidia (Healey) Garnsey, was born in Rehoboth, 
March 31, 1743. About the year 1766 he migrated 
to Richmond, New Hampshire, where he acquired 
possession of lot No. 13, range 11, and the farm 
which he cleared and improved was afterwards oc- 
cupied by John Scott and others. His death oc- 
curred in Richmond, February 12, 1813. He was 
married in Rehoboth or vicinity to Merriam Pike, 
who died December 12, 1S14. Their children were : 

iii — 18 



Cyril, Amos, Cyrus, Lucy, who married Nchemiah 
Bennett ; Darius and Moses. 

(IV) Cyril, eldest child of Deacon Amos and 
Merriam (Pike) Garnsey, was born in Rehoboth, 
April 30, 1764. He grew to manhood in Richmond, 
where he resided for the major part of his life, but 
about 1823 he moved to Whitefield, this state, and 
in company with his son Darius acquired four hun- 
dred acres of government land, which he cleared 
for agricultural purposes. He died at Whitefield, 
in 1836 or S7. He married, November 14, 1784, 
Salome Garfield, of Fitzwilliam, New Hampshire, 
born in Richmond, May 31, 1769, died about 1840, 
and he was the father of John, who died young; 
Merriam, who married Solomon Gage ; John, Aaron, 
who also died young; Darius, who will be again 
referred to; Mary, who married John Scott; Rachel, 
who married Lemuel Scott ; Anna, who became the 
wife of Jedediah B. Howe ; Naomi, who married 
Thomas Eastman ; Phebe, who became Mrs. Baker ; 
Ruth, who died young; and another Aaron, who 
did not live to Jiiaturity. 

(V) Dr. Darius, third son and fifth child of 
Cyril and Salome (Garfield) Garnsey, was born in 
Richmond, August 28, 1795. He studied medicine 
under the direction of John Parkhurst, M. D., and 
in 1823 located for the practice of his profession 
in Whitefield. He possessed the knowledge, intui- 
tion and enthusiasm necessary for the making of an 
able physician, but was prevented by his untimely 
death, which occurred in 1830, from realizing his 
cherished ambition in his chosen field of usefulness. 
His marriage took place February 8, 1818, to Abi- 
gail, daughter of Lemuel Scott. She survived her 
husband nearly fifty years, her death having oc- 
curred in 1877. The children of this union were: 
Norris, born in 1819, died in 1822; Sanford, born 
June 23, 1820; and Norris G., the date of whose 
birth is recorded in the next paragraph. 

(VI) Norris Greenleaf, youngest son of Dr. 
Darius and Abigail (Scott) Gurnscy, was born in 
Whitefield, March 18, 1826. He attended school 
in Richmond and on account of his father's death 
was thrown upon his own resources at an early 
age. Prior to his majority he went to Charlemont, 
Massachusetts, and worked at the cooper's trade 
some three years. He then turned his attention to 
farming in Richmond, first alone and then with his 
brother Sanford. From Richmond he went to Win- 
chester, where for a time he acted as general over- 
seer of the farm and other interests of S. W. Buf- 
fum, and he next purchased a gristmill, which he 
operated successfully for about five years. Disposing 
of that property he became proprietor of the 
stage line from Brattleboro, Vermont, to Winchester 
and Richmond, and upon relinquishing that business 
some two years later he took charge, for one year, 
of the highways and bridges for the town of Win- 
chester. In 1859 he purchased the restaurant privi- 
lege in the railway station in Kecnc, and has ever 
since resided there. During the succeeding fifteen 
years he carried on the restaurant business with 
profitable results, operating no less than three places 



viogo 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



of refreshment at one time during the war period. 
In 1874 he succeeded Peter B. Hayward in the 
cracker manufacturing business. He was for some 
years engaged in a large way as a reliable dealer 
in horses ; was at one time engaged in the coal 
trade ; for a time Mr. Gurnsey w'as associated with 
his sons in the cracker manufactory, and subse- 
quently a grandson, but the younger men are now 
deceased and the business is still being conducted 
by the elder gentleman, who also conducts a hotel, 
restaurant and wholesale and retail tobacco establish- 
ment at Main and Railroad streets. Mr. Gurnsey has 
contributed in a material way to the development 
of Keene by the erection of two of the most substan- 
tial business blocks of the city and of a number of 
dwelling houses; Mr. Gurnsey was one of the orig- 
inal stockholders and directors of the Citizens' Na- 
tional Bank, of Keene, and is one of the board of 
trustees of the Cheshire County Savings Bank. He 
was one of the public spirited citizens who early 
came to the front in securing the establishment 
of the local trolley Hues. In numerous ways Mr. 
Gurnsey has manifested his interest in the develop- 
ment of the business interests of his home city-, 
contributing to the establishment of a number of 
the manufacturing plants. 

In politics Mr. Gurnsey was in early life a Whig, 
but with the majority of that element he joined the 
Republican party at its formation. He has served 
.with ability in the common council one year, the 
board of aldermen two years, and also as water 
commissioner twenty-six years. At the present time 
he is chairman of the building committee connected 
with the local lodge of Odd Fellows, wliich he 
joined thirty-five years ago, and for twenty years 
he has been a member of the local tribe. Improved 
Order of Red Men. His religious affiliations are 
with the Unitarians. 

In 1847 he married iliranda A. Pickett, daughter 
of Hosea Pickett, of Winchester. She became the 
mother of six children, namely : Everett, Grace, 
Edward J., Charles P., Frank N., and a child who 
died in infancy. Of these tlie only survivor is Grace, 
who married L. J. Ellis, of Waverley, Massachu- 
setts. After a period of fifty-eight years of con- 
jugal happiness JNIrs. Gurnsey passed away July I, 
1905, and was laid to rest beside her children. 



The ancestor of this line of the Beat- 
BE.ATTIE tie family was of Scotch origin, and 

came to America and became the 
progenitor of a race of useful and influential citi- 
zens. 

(I) John Beattie was horn in Edinburgh, Scot- 
land, and died in Ncwburg, New York, where he 
'resided many years. He was the father of four chil- 
dren : James, Joseph. Israel and Susan. 

(II) Rev. James Milligan, son of John Beattie, 
was born in Colenham, New York, September 2, 
jSii. and died in Ryegate, Vermont, March 12, 1884. 
He graduated from Union College, and studied for 
the ministry in Scotland, taking his degree from 
Edinburuh Universitv. Returning to New York he 



was a private tutor several .years : again went to 
Edinburgh, where he took a post-graduate course, 
and returning to .Vmerica, was ordained pastor of 
the Reformed Presbyterian Church, Old School of 
Ryegate. Vermont, in 1844. He sustained a suc- 
cessful ministry there forty years, was an efBcicnt 
promoter of schools, and was president of the trus- 
tees of Peacham Academy. He married, in 1S56, 
Margaret Sophia Nelson, daughter of John and 
Mary ("Finlay) Nelson, of Ryegate. She was born 
April 15, 1830, and died August 18, 1907, aged 
seventy-seven years. The children of this marriage 
were : Elizabeth, John, William Johnston, Joseph, 
James and Mary. 

(HI) William Johnston Beattie, M. D., third 
child of Rev. James M. and Margaret S. (Nelson) 
Beattie, was born in Ryegate, Vermont, September 
6, 1865. He took his early education in the schools 
of Ryegate, and at Peacham and St. Johnsbury 
academies, and then took a four years' medical 
course at Belleviie Hospital Medical College, New 
York, from which he graduated in 1888. The fol- 
lowing year he spent at Bellevue Hospital as sur- 
geon, and in 1889 settled in Littleton, New Hamp- 
shire, where he has since gained a handsome prac- 
tice. He is medical referee of Grafton county, sur- 
geon to the Boston & Maine Railroad, and founder 
of the Littleton Hospital, and is president of its 
board of trustees. He is a member of the New 
Hampshire State Medical Society, the Grafton 
County Medical Society, and the New Y'ork and 
New England As.sociation of Railway Surgeons. 
In political faith he is a staunch Republican, and is 
now (rgo7) chairman of the Littleton Republican 
committee. In 1900 he represented the town in the 
legislature. He was surgeon-general on the staff 
of Governor Chester B. Jordan. He is a member 
of Burns Lodge, No. 66, Free and Accepted Masons, 
and of Cheswick Lodge, Knights of Pythias'. He 
married. May 29, 1890, Elizabeth Arnold Tuttle. who 
was born in Littleton, July 27, 1866, daughter of 
Charles M. and Luthera Moulton Tuttle, of Little- 
ton. She graduated from the Littleton high school 
in 1884, and the following year attended St. Johns- 
bury ."Xcademy. She is a member of the Unitarian 
Church. They have four children : Margaret, born 
January 18, 1891 ; Barbara, December 28, 1897; 
Elizabeth, February 5, 1901 ; and Catherine Gray, 
.August 7, 1905. 



The name of Starrctt is not 
STARRETT numerous in this country, but it 

stands for the strong qualities of 
Scotch-Irish, who have contributed so many val- 
able citizens to America. 

(I) William Starrett was born in the High- 
lands of Scotland. .April 15, 1694. When he was 
two years of age his parents fled from the country 
and took refuge in the north of Ireland to escape 
persecution on account of their religious belief. 
PIc. with his parents, is said to have been concealed 
in a cave for tliree months previous to their escape 
to Ireland. He married Mary Gamble, who was 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1091 



born in the county of Derry, Ireland, in 1699. The 
Gambles were among the earliest of the Scotch fam- 
iHes to take refuge in Ireland. William Starrett 
and his wife came to this country in 1728, and set- 
tled first at Pemaquid. Maine: and in 1735, at Up- 
per St. George's, now Warren, Maine. On the 
breaking out of King George's war, they removed 
to Woburn. Massachusetts, and finally to Dedham, 
where he died March 8, 1769. His widow returned 
to St. George's, Maine, where she died April 12, 
1786. They had five children : Margaret, married 
(first) Hugh Scott, (second) Dr. D. Locks, (third) 
Stephen Peabody. lived and died at Warren^ Maine. 
Hugh, born in Ireland, lost at sea. David, married 

MeClintock, lived and died at Francestown, New 

Hampshire. Colonel Thomas, born in Warren, 
Maine, in 17,38, married Rebecca Lewis, and died 
January 31. 1822. William, whose sketch follows. 

(II) William, fourth son and youngest of the 
five children of William and Mary ^Gamble) Star- 
rett, was born in Warren, Maine, May 4, 1743. He 
lived for a time in Dedham, Massachusetts, where 
he married. He and his wife left Dedham for New 
Boston, New Hampshire, where they arrived May 
12, 1770, after a journey of three days. They rented 
the Carson place for three years, and on February 
21, 1773, they removed to Francestown, New Hamp- 
shire, which became their permanent home. They 
lived in the south part of the town on the farm 
afterwards owned by their grandson, James Howard 
Starrett. William Starrett served in the Revolu- 
tionary war. He was one of the founders of the 
Congregational Church in Francestown. and for 
forty-eight years served as deacon. He held many 
town offices. He died in Francestown, August 3. 
1829, from an attack by a savage bull. He married, 
December 10. 1767, Abigail, daughter of David and 
Deborah Fisher, of Dedham, Massachusetts. She 
was born in Dedham, June 15. 1749. and died in 
Francestown. September 21, 1S21. They had thir- 
teen children, all I)orn in Francestown except the 
eldest, who was born in ' Dedham. The children 
were: Mary, born May 12, 1769, died November 30 
of that year. William, born November 4, 1770, 
married Lucy Baldwin, in September, 1797, lived in 
Antrim, New Hampshire, and in Washington, 
Maine, where he died .August 25, 1S17. Hugh, born 
August 12, 1772, died June 14, 1773. David, whose 
sketch follows, .'\bner, born September 28, 1776, 
married Elizabeth Dane, of New Boston, New 
Hampshire, and died in Harlem, Maine, August 14. 
1819. Nabby, born October 22. 1778, married Gerry 
Whiting, September 9. 1798, died in New Boston, 
April I, 1831. Hannah, born January 2, 1781, died 
in Francestown, October 24, 1830. Deborah, born 
December 26, 1782, married Samuel Burge. of 
Francestown, February 5, 1822, and died in Frances- 
town, October 24, 1830. Polly, born January 29, 
1785, died in Francestown. September 29, 1862. 
Luther, born January 8. 1787. died in Francestown, 
May 24, 1815. Sevella, born June 12, 1789, married 
Cynthia Gay, of Francestown, February 13, 1816, 
succeeded to his father's farm, v.ns n -Tlcrinirn, rind 



for twenty-four years a deacon of the church, and 
died in Francestown, April 14, 1875. Lee. born 
June 12, 17S9, married Isaac Heaton, of Putnam, 
Maine, January 23, 1815, died there May 24, 1822. 
Calvin, born July 28, 1791, married Betsey Clark, 
October 7. 1S17, removed to Putnam, now Wash- 
ington, Maine, where he died March 17, 1876. 

(III) David, third son and fourth child of 
William and Abigail (Fisher) Starrett, was born 
m Francestown, New Hampshire, April 21, 1774. 
He married Nabby E. Appleton. of North Brook- 
field, Massachusetts, in September, 1803, and died 
in Arkansas, June. 1819. 

(IV) Joseph .'\ppleton, son of David and Nabby 
E. (Appleton) Starrett, was born at Hillsborough, 
August 3, 1804. At the age of nine years he moved 
to Mont Vernon, New Hampshire, where he was a 
tanner and currier. He was a deacon in the Con- 
gregational Church, and he represented his town in 
the legislature. He married Maria Jane, daughter 
of John and Dolly (Durent) Bruce, of Mont Ver- 
non. There were five children: Henrietta M., born 
September 29, 1834; William S. A., whose sketch 
follows; Mary J., June 17. 1840; Emily J., Decem- 
ber 14, 1846; John B., November 25, 1858. Deacon 
Joseph A. Starrett died May 22. 1894, at the ad- 
vanced age of ninety years aVid nine months. 

(V) William Sullivan Appleton, son of Joseph 
Appleton and Maria J. (Bruce) Starrett, was born 
at Mont Vernon, New Hampshire, June 4, 1838. 
Be was educated in the common schools, and later 
settled on a farm containing seventy acres. He 
married Frances Ellen McCullom.. daughter of 
Milton and Sophronia (Trow) McCulIom, of Mont 
Vernon. There were two. children : Emilie Cutter 
Appleton and Henrietta Maria. The latter married 
Frederick Aureansen, of New York. He is a civil 
engineer and assistant bridge engineer of the Long 
Island Railroad. They have one child, Elizabeth, 
born June 11, 1905. 



Among the early settlers of the coast 
ALGER of Maine were Andrew and Arthur 
Alger, brothers. Though one authority 
says they came from Dunston, Somersetshire, En.g- 
land. it is more probable they were from' Dunston, 
Norfolk county, as it is certainly known that a 
family of that name was for a long time settled 
there. Andrew was living in Saco, Maine, in 1640. 
He was styled a "surveyor," and 1644-45 liad a 
company of men on Stratton's Island engaged in 
fishing. In 1651 he and his brother Arthur bought 
a tract of land containing nearly a thousand acres 
of the Indians in what is now Scarborough, Maine, 
They gave the place the name of Dunston in 
memory of their old home in England, which is 
still borne by a flourishing village there. They set- 
tled there in 1654, and Andrew was constable and 
selectman of the town in 1668. In October, 1675, 
the Indians attacked their garrison house, but failing 
to captiire it, after destroying the empty houses of 
.Andrew's sons-in-law, they retired to the woods. 



1092 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Andrew, however, in ,tlie attack was shot dead and 
Arthur mortally wounded, dying at the house of 
William Sheldon in Marblehead, October 14, 1675. 
Andrew's family fled to Boston, and his widow mar- 
ried Samuel Walker. Arthur was a constable in 
Scarborough in 1658, grand juror in 1661, and repre- 
sented the town in the general court in Boston in 

1671 and 1672. Andrew married Agnes , by whom 

he had John, Andrew, Matthew, Elizabeth, who 
married John Pahiier, Joanna, who married (first) 
Elias Oakman, and (second) John Mills, of Boston, 
and a daughter who ma,rried John Ashton, or 

Austin. .Arthur married Ann , by whom he had 

children, but their names have not been learned. 
From one or the other of these brothers the present 
line of Algers has doubtless descended. 

(1) Alexander Alger was born in Maine. His 
occupation was that of a mason. He married and 
had a son Alexander. 

(H) Alexander (2), son of Alexander Alger, 
was probably born in Maine. Like his father his 
occupation was that of a mason. He came to Man- 
chester, New Hampshire, in 1844, and took up his 
residence there. Politically he is an Independent. 
In i860 he married J. Rose, daughter of Jlartin 
Conner, of Ireland, who was educated in the paro- 
chial schools and for a- time was teacher. His wife 
is a inember of the Catholic Church. Twelve 
children have been born to them, ten of whom died 
in infancy. Among them were William Francis, 
and Frederick, born September, 1862. 

(Ill) William Francis, eldest son of Alexander 
and J. Rose (Conner) Alger, was born in Man- 
chester, July 21, 1861. He was educated in the 
parochial and public schools. He has been con- 
nected with the weaving department of the Amos- 
keag Mills for thirty-six years, and as second hand 
for five years. He bought the place in Goffstown 
where he now resides, and has erected thereon new 
buildings. Politically he afiiliates with the Repub- 
licans. Mr. and Mrs. Alger are both members of 
the Catholic Church. He married, ]March 10, 1885, 
Kate E., daughter of John and Catherine (Mc- 
Derby) Gavin, of Montreal, Canada. His wife was 
educated in the public schools. Their children are: 
Arthur, born October 16, 1886; William, November 
6, 1887 ; Leonard, February 18, 1S89, died the same 
day; Silvia, October 3, 1890; Annie, December 30, 
1891 ; Rosa, March 11, 1894; Walter, February 9, 
1897; Leonard, 2d, born and died February 2, 1898; 
Jenevieve, July 18, 1899, who died young; Robert, 
January 5, 1903; and Katie, August 20, 1905. 



This old French name, which was 
BL'SHEY originally spelled in quite a different 

form, was brought into New Hamp- 
shire from the province of Quebec by Isaac Wilkes 
Bushey, now a successful and respected citizen of 
Concord. His parents were Louis and Rebecca 
Bushey, of Richmond, province of Quebec, natives 
respectively of Montreal and of Yorkshire, England. 
The name of Louis Bushey's parents are not now 
obtainable, but it is known that his mother lived to 



a great age. He learned the trade of carpenter in 
^Montreal, and settled at Richmond, province of 
Quebec, where he was extensively engaged in build- 
ing operations, and died at the age of more than 
seventy years. He was a very active and rapid 
worker, and accomplished more in a day than most 
carpenters of the present day in this section would 
attempt to perform in two days. Both he and his 
wife were members of the Methodist Church. The 
latter was a daughter of Joseph and Mary Ann 
Boast, who came from England and settled in Rich- 
mond, where they lived and died, the father being 
a blacksmith. Mr. and Mrs. Bushey lived as man 
and wife for more than fifty years, and the latter 
survived her husband some years. They were the 
parents of ten sons and two daughters. Elizabeth, 
the eldest, died unmarried, at the age of about 
twenty-four years ; Joseph and William are 
farmers, residing in Iowa ; Isaac W., is the fourth ; 
Louis died in Boston in May, 1905 ; Alfred died, 
a young man, at Richmond; Robert died in Butler 
county, Iowa ; Edward Henry died in Lancaster, 
New Hampshire, November 11, 1904; the ninth 
and tenth died in infancy ; Thomas George is a 
resident of Toronto, Canada ; and Emmeline, the 
youngest, who is married, resides at Melbourne in 
that province. 

Isaac W. Bushey was born November 8, 1842, 
in Richmond, province of Quebec, and left home 
at the age of twelve years to live with his grand- 
father, Joseph Boast, who conducted a blacksmith 
shop in Richmond, and from whom the grandson 
acquired the trade. They made a specialty of the 
manufacture of agricultural implements, and did a 
general blacksmithing business. Having decided to 
try his fortune in the United States, he arrived in 
Concord the first day of August, 1865, and here he 
completed his trade with Harvey, Morgan & Co., 
where he perfected himself in carriage ironing. 
This occupied his time in Concord until the inhala- 
tion of coal gas at his .forge caused the breaking 
of his health and he was compelled to abandon the 
work. In the meantime the business had changed 
hands, and he had long been in the service of the 
Abbott-Downing Company, which he left in 1873. 
He then located on Pleasant street, and for eleven 
years conducted a successful livery business, which 
he sold out in 1884. Having developed much skill 
in the handling of horses and a great love for these 
noble animals, he has since been steadily employed 
in breaking colts and the care of horses for others. 
In 1893 he bought a farm on South street in Con- 
cord, and in the following j'ear built thereon a very 
handsome home and commodious and convenient 
barns for the care and handling of horses. In this 
connection he tills nearly forty acres of land. Mr. 
Bushey accepts the faith of the Methodist Church. 
Though not a member of any organization, he was 
a regular attendant during the life of his wife of 
the Baptist Church in Concord. He is a member 
of Capital Grange, of which he has served as 
steward, and in which he received the largest vote 
ever given for the office of overseer, but declined 




Si^oMJi- y/^ cJ>u^^^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1093 



to accept the office. In political affiliations he is a 
Democrat. He married, November, 1S69, Elizabeth 
Maria Morrill, of Danville, province of Quebec, who 
died in May following. He married, December 25, 
1878, Henrietta M. Carr, born November 26, 1839, 
in Unity, New Hampshire, daughter of Harris and 
Leah Thurber, and widow of Hial Carr. Mrs. 
Bushey had a daughter, Ida Jane Carr, who died 
at the home of Mr. Bushey at the age of twenty-six 
years, and one daughter is the fruit of the second 
union, namely, Elizabeth Etta Bushey, now aged 
twenty-five years. The mother died September 16, 
1905, and was buried in Blossom Hill Cemetery, 
Concord. 



The Babbs of New Hampshire are prob- 
BABB ably descended from Philip Babb, who 

was of Kittery, Maine, in 1652, and the 
next year was associated under the commissioners 
from Massachusetts, with Major Bryan Pendleton, 
Nicholas Shapleigh, and others in the government of 
the Isle of Shoals, and a few years later lived there. 

(I) William Babb was born in Barrington, New 
Hampshire, in 1765, and died in Strafford in 1846. 
He settled on a farm in Strafford which is still in 
the family name. He worked at his trade of mason 
and built the first chimney in Strafford above the 
Blue Hills. He married Sarah Leighton, and they 
had James, Sampson, Dennis, \\'illiam and Isaac. 

(II) Sampson, son of William and Sarah 
(Leighton) Babb, was born in Strafford in 1790, 
and lived on his father's homestead. He was a 
farmer and mason. He married Hannah Mills, 
and they had tive children : Daniel L., Sarah J., 
Mary Ann, and two children who died young. Sarah 
J. married Nathaniel Brewster, and iMary Ann 
married Ebenezer H. Holmes. 

(III) Daniel L., son of Sampson and Hannah 
(Mills) Babb, was born in Strafford, October i, 
1810, and died April 14, 1888. He lived on a farm 
in the Strafford Blue Hills, and was a brick and 
stone mason. He was a man of good business 
ability and common sense and was for some time a 
member of the board of selectmen. In religion he 
was a Free Will Baptist. He married Mehitabel B. 
Lyford, who was born August 27, 1816. Five chil- 
dren were born of this marriage: John (died 
young), Nancy L., Hannah A., John L. and Eliza 
M. Nancy L. married (first) Asa Clark, and 
(second) William Clough. Hannah A. married 
Jaincs Whitmarsh. John L. is mentioned below. 
Eliza M. married Henry Lord. 

(IV) John Lyford, son of Daniel L. and Mehit- 
abel B. (Lyford) Babb, was born in Strafford. April 
17, 1842. He followed the industrial lines of his 
ancestors, resided on the old homestead and in addi- 
tion to carrying on farming worked at the mason's 
trade. He married (first) Mary A. Nutter, by 
whom he had two children : an infant, died young ; 
and Arthur C, born March 31, 1869, who is a mason 
in Strafford. He married (second) Abbie Ham, 
who was born in Rochester, daughter of Downing 
and Mary Ham, of Rochester. By her he had three 



children: Frank H., mentioned below; Mary A., 
who died young; Hattie E., who married William 
J. Moore. He married (third) Jennie L. Jones, 
daughter of Ebenezer and Hannah Jones, of Barn- 
stead. 

(V) Frank Ham, son of John L. and Abbie 
(Ham) Babb, was born in Strafford, May 7, 1872, 
and educated in the public schools of that town. He 
is the fifth in line of descent in this family to fol- 
low the mason's trade, which he learned of his 
father. At the age of twenty-one he settled in 
Rochester, where he has since become a prosperous 
mason contractor, and has erected some of the 
largest and finest buildings in the county, among 
which are the Dodge Block, Hotel Hayes, Sal- 
niger's front, and the Gonic shoe factories. He also 
built the library of the State Agricultural College 
at Durham, the pulp mill at West Derby, Vermont, 
and is now (1907) erecting the brick work of the 
city hall at Rochester. He is a Republican in poli- 
tics, and was a member of the city council in 1906. 
He is a member of Montolina Lodge, No. 18, In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows, of Rochester. He 
married, June 28, 1893, Lillian M. Wentworth, who 
was born in Strafford, New Hampshire, December 
31, 1863, daughter of Alonzo P. and Lydia A. 
(Sanders) Wentworth (See Wentworth VII). 
They have three children: Tilford F., Raymond S. 
and Everett W. Two others died young. 



This name is one of those which 
McELWAINE do not occur in the early history 

of New England. The immi- 
grant ancestor of this McElvvaine family was one of 
those who came to America almost a century ago 
and helped to lay the foundations of the present 
prosperity of this nation. 

(I) Joseph McElwaine was born in the county 
of Derry, Ireland, about 1780. He emigrated to 
America about 1830, and settled near Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania. After residing there about five years 
he returned to Ireland and spent the remainder of 
his life there. He died in May, 1866. He married 
Charlotte Lenox, who came to America after the 
death of her husband with her daughter, and died 
in Philadelphia in 1888, aged eighty-four years. 
The children of Joseph and Charlotte (Lenox) Mc- 
Elwaine were : Sarah. Ellen, who married William 
Anderson, of Philadelphia. Robert, who died soon 
after coming to America. Mary Ann, who married 
Michael Hanney, of Philadelphia. Elizabeth, who 
married a Mr. Sweeney. Margaret, wife of Wil- 
liam Balbirnie. George B., mentioned below. Ma- 
tilda, who married William Sheppard, of Phila- 
delphia. John of Lawrence, ^Massachusetts. Char- 
lotte, deceased. Helena, deceased. 

(II) George Balbirnie, second son and seventh 
child of Joseph and Charlotte (Lenox) McEl- 
waine, was born in county Derry, Ireland, Septem- 
ber 5, 1838, and in July, 1862, came to America and 
settled in Buxton, Maine, where he was employed 
for a time as a laborer. Later he took a place in 
the woolen mills of that place, learned the dyer's 



I094 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



trade, and remained tlicrc live years. He then re- 
moved to Great Falls where he worked as foreman 
of the dyeworks until i88g. In the latter year he 
removed to Gonic, New Hampshire, and became 
overseer in the dyeing department of the Gonic Man- 
ufacturing Company's mill, and has since held that 
position. He is a thirty-second degree Mason, and 
has been a member of that Order since 1873. He 
is a member of Libanus Lodge, No. 49, of Somers- 
worth; Edwards Royal Arch Chapter, No. 21, of 
Somersworth; Orient Council, Royal and Select 
Masters ; Palestine Commandery Knights Tem- 
plar; and Edward A. Raymond Consistory, of 
Nashua. He married (first), in iS6r, Nancy Hammill, 
who was born in county Tyrone, Ireland. Three chil- 
dren were born of this marriage : Thomas, now in 
California. David, born in 1864, died in 1906. Etta, 
born in 1867, married S. Grant, and lives in Van- 
couver, British Columbia. He married (second) 
Maria S. Lee, who was born in England, July 14, 
1843. Of this marriage there is one child : Wiilia'.n 
L., born in 1S69, who is foreman of the dye works 
in North Berwick. 



Owing to the fact that the 
SPRINGFIELD name of Springfield was se- 
lected and legally adopted by 
the grandfather of the representative of tha family 
in the present generation, in preference to his legiti- 
mate cognomen, information relative to their genea- 
logy and early history cannot be ascertained. For 
considerably more than half a century they have 
been actively identified with the woolen manufac- 
turing industry of New Hampshire and J.Iaine, and 
they have also been prominently associated with 
agricultural, political and other important interests 
of the Granite State. 

(I) Hon. Isaac Woodbury Springfield was born 
in Rochester, New Hampshire 1824. After conclud- 
ing what may be termed a good practical education 
■ he learned the weaver's trade, serving his appren- 
ticeship in the mills of the ,old Mechanic's Corpor- 
ation at Rochester, and in 1S47 established himself 
in the woolen manufacturing business at East 
Rochester. Commencing operations with one set 
of looms he gave his attention to the production of 
blankets and flannels, and continued on that modest 
scale for a period of ten years, or until his factory 
was destroyed by fire. Removing to Wolfboro he 
established the Wolfboro Mills, installing four sets 
and employing an average force of seventy oper- 
atives. Here he continued to manufacture blankets 
and flannels of a superior quality for over forty 
years, and realized excellent financial results. He in- 
vested quite extensi\-ely in real estate, including val- 
uable wild lands from which he cut and hauled large 
quantities of timber annually and manufactured it 
at his own saw-mills. He was also interested in 
agriculture, owning a well equipped farm, to the cul- 
tivation of which he devoted considerable time and 
energy, and he made a specialty of raising tliorough- 
bred horses. He was one of the organizers of the 
Rochester Agricultural and Mechanical Association, 



was chosen its first president and continued in office 
through successive re-elections for more than twenty 
■years. Politically he supported the Republican 
party and rendered his share of public service by 
representing his district in the state legislature with 
marked ability. In his younger days he affiliated 
with the ^Methodists, but during his latter years 
his conception of religious matters became more 
liberal, and he favored the Unitarian belief, con- 
tributing generously toward the support of that 
church. He was a prominent Mason, Odd Fellow 
and Granger. He was one of the charter members 
of Temple Chapter of Royal Arch Masons, and was 
one of the first four initiated into Montolina Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and the first 
master of the Rochester Grange; was one of the in- 
corporators of the Rochester Savings Bank, and a 
director of the Lake National Bank of Wolfboro, 
and for four years was president. He married Clara 
Nutter, daughter of Isaac Nutter, a well-to-do 
farmer of Rochester and a representative of one of 
the pioneer families of that town. She became the 
mother of five children, three of whom are living, 
namely : Charles W., Jennie E. and Hattie L. The 
latter is now the wife of Thomas L. Thurston, of 
Wolfboro, and has two daughters, Clara Louise and 
Violet. Mr. Springfield died January 7, 1900, sur- 
viving his wife, whose death occurred January 13, 
18S8, at the age of sixty-four. 

(II) Charles Woodbury, son of Hon. Isaac W. 
and Clara (Nutter) Springfield, was born in Ro- 
chester, April 18, 1844. His preliminary studies 
were pursued in the public schools of his native 
town, and he completed his education at the academy 
in West Lebanon, Maine. Entering the office of the 
Rochester Review as an apprentice he remained 
there until l86l, when he relinquished the printer's 
trade in order to engage in mercantile pursuits, and 
after spending a year as a clerk in a Rochester dry- 
goods store established a general country store in 
Wolfboro. A year later he disposed of his mer- 
cantile business and entered his father's factory as 
an operative, mastering in turn every detail of the 
woolen manufacturing industry from the loom to 
the counting room, and being thus equipped he 
engaged in business on his own account in Crafts- 
bury, Vermont, in 1S64, having a mill with three 
sets and producing besides flannels other woolen 
cloths for custom trade. After remaining in Ver- 
mont some two and one half years he sold his plant, 
and returning to Wolfboro became superintendent 
of his father's mill, in which capacity he continued 
for a number of years. Going to Alfred, Maine, in 
1879, he leased a woolen mill which was equipped 
with improved machinery of the most modern type, 
and lor over twenty years he gave his attention 
exclusively to the manufacture of the finest grade 
of woolen blankets, employing an average force of 
forty operatives and attaining profitable results. The 
death of his father necessitated his removal from 
Alfred and for the past seven years he has given 
his entire attention to the Wolfboro plant. In 1889 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1095 



as a side speculation, entering the firm of J. H. 
Littlelield & Company. 

In politics Mr. Springfield 'is a Republican. He 
is a member of Kennedy Lodge, No. 57, Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows; Rising Sun Lodge, 
No. 7, Knights of Pythias ; Runnawitt Tribe, No. 9, 
Improved Order of Red Men; and the Daughters 
of Pocohontas Association, all of Rochester; and 
of Carroll Lodge. No. 7, Ancient Order of United 
Workmen of Wolfboro. On September 6, 1863, he 
married Mary E. Cate, daughter of Hon. E. R. Cate, 
of East Alton, New Hampshire. INIr. and Mrs. 
Springfield are broad-minded and their religious 
ideas are optimistic. The greater part of their mar- 
ried life has been spent in Rochester, where they 
still reside. 



Ridel, Riddell, Riddle, the latter spell- 
RIDDLE ing having been adopted by the Bed- 
ford branch about 1790, is an old name 
derived from Ryedale, that is, the dale or valley of 
the river Rye, whence the family first took the name, 
that being the place of residence of the stock at the 
time the name was assumed. The family was 
Scotch and a branch of it settled in the north of 
Ireland. 

(I) John and Janet Gordon RiddcU lived in 
Ballymeath, county Londonderrj', Ireland, and were 
the parents of Gawn, Hugh, Robert, John and 
Margery. 

(II) Gawn, oldest child of John and Janet Gor- 
don Riddell, was born May 16, i683 (Ballymeath 
record) and died irf Bedford, December 22, 1779, 
aged ninety-one. With his three brothers and one 
sister above named, he came to Londonderry, New 
Hampshire, and from there all except Robert re- 
moved to Bedford about 1738. Gawn settled on 
and improved a piece of land, and his name appears 
upon the town records as tytliingman, constable, 
selectman, clerk of market, committee to build 
meetinghouse, and so forth. He married Mary 
Bell, who was born in 1724, and died January 7, 
1813, aged eighty-nine. She was the daughter of 
John and Katherine Bell, who immigrated from 
Ireland to Bedford about 1736. Gawn and Mary 
had six children : John, David, Susannah, Hugh, 
Isaac and William. 

(III) David, second son and child of Gawn and 
Mary (Bell) Riddle, was born in Bedford, March 
16, 1757, and died in the same town December 18, 
1839, aged eighty-two. He was a soldier of the 
Revolution, and a pensioner. The name of David 
Riddle is on the return dated Boxford, Massachu- 
setts, of men mustered by John Gushing, Muster 
Master for Essex county to join the Continental 
army for the term of nine months, agreeable to the 
resolve of June 9, 1779; also on the descriptive list 
of men raised to serve in the Continental army for 
the term of nine months, returned as received of 
Justin Ely, Commissioner, by Captain James Tis- 
dale, at Springfield, Massachusetts, August 23, 1779, 
Colonel Hutchinson's Regiment. He is described 
as twenty-two years of age, five feet, ten inches 



high, of light complexion, and as engaged for the 
town of Salem, but whether of Massachusetts or 
New Hampshire, is not certain. His name is also 
on Company receipt for equipments, given to Cap- 
tain James Tisdale, dated Springfield, August 22, 
1779; also Captain Webb's Company, Colonel Shep- 
ard's (Fourth) Regiment, entering the service Au- 
gust 17, 1779. He was discharged May 17, 1780, 
after a term of nine months. He and his brotlier 
Hugh bought land together, and he afterwards built 
and resided nearby. He held offices of trust in tlie 
town, poundkeeper, selectman, and so forth. He was 
noted for his originality, and differed in his views 
on political matters from his brothers. He married 
in 1798, Mary Dunlap, daughter of Major Dunlap, 
of Bedford. Their children were; Jolni Dunlap, 
Hugh, Martha, and Gilman and Mary, twins. 

(IV) Martha, third child and oldest daughter 
of David and Mary (Dunlap) Riddle, was born 
December 16, 1806, and died April 4, 1878, in Bed- 
ford. She married, January 29, 1829, Daniel Barn- 
ard (See Barnard VI). 

(HI) Captain Isaac, fiftli child and fourth son 
of Gawn and Mary (Bell) Riddle, was born in 
Bedford, June 10, 1762, and died in Quincy, Mas- 
sachusetts, January 26, 1830, aged sixty-eight. He 
was buried with Masonic honors in the family 
tomb at Bedford Center. He was a soldier in the 
Revolutionary army, being a private in Captain 
Jonas Kidder's Company of Colonel JMoses Nich- 
ol's Regiment of Militia, which was raised to join 
the Continental army at West Point, serving from 
July s to October 23, 17S0, and receiving for ser- 
vices, mileage, etc., the astonishing sum of five 
hundred and seventy-seven pounds five shillings in 
the depreciated currency of the time. He also was 
one of those who enlisted to fill up the Continental 
army in 1781, and served from July 20 till Decem- 
ber 21. In each case he is credited to Bedford. The 
following account of him is given by his descendant, 
John A. Riddle, in his genealogy of the family: 
"About 17S2 he bought the land, built and lived at 
No. 27, until about 1820,' when he removed to 
Quincy, Massachusetts. After the Revolutionary 
war, having saved a small amount of money, mostly 
earned in the military service, he went to Newbury- 
port, Massachusetts, and purchased a stock of 
goods, which was brought to Bedford by team, and 
placed in the front room of his mother's house, No. 
6s, which was used as a store. Business increased, 
and he commenced the manufacture of potash from' 
the heavy growth upon the land he had bought. 
The ashery was located in the field immediately 
across the road from his house, and is still known 
as the "potash field," No. 19. The potash was 'taken 
to Boston by ox teams, and bartered as an article 
of export for imported goods. He was extensively 
engaged in the lumber business, and was one of the 
first proprietors of navigation on the Merrimack 
river. He superintended the building of the locks 
and canals of the Union Lock and Canal Company, 
the funds for whicli were procured by lottery au- 
thorized by the State of New Hampshire. In com- 



1096 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



paiiy with Colonel Caleb Stark, he built and owned 
the first canal boat that ever floated on the waters 
of the Alerriniack. It w'as named the Experiment, 
was built at Bedford Center, and drawn three miles 
on wheels by forty yoke of oxen to "Basswood 
Landing," so called, where it was launched, in the 
presence of the townspeople," who had gathered to 
witness the novelty of the day. It was loaded and 
sailed for Boston, and the following notice is taken 
from the Boston Centinel of 1813 ; 'Arrived from 
Bedford, New Hampshire, canal-boat E.vferiincnt, 
Isaac Riddle, Captain, via Merrimack River and 
Middlesex Canal.' Upon her arrivel at Boston she 
was received amid cheers and the firing of cannon. 
From this commenced a large and extensive inland 
navigation on the Merrimack, which rendered Man- 
chester and other manufacturing places possible. 
Mr. Riddle was the instigator and large owner in 
the Souhegan Nail, Cotton, and Woolen Manufac- 
turing corporation, which carried on operations at 
Riddle's Village, on the Souhegan river, until the 
destruction by fire of its works in 1829. Its prod- 
ucts were sold to the country traders, the balance 
being shipped to Boston, by boats via river and 
canal. Mr. Riddle also instituted stores, with his 
sons, William P., James, Isaac, and Davis, at Pis- 
cataquog village, Bedford, Souhegan, and Boston. 
He filled many places, having been civil magistrate, 
representative to the legislature, etc. In 1814, dur- 
ing the war with Great Britain, a public call by the 
governor of the state was made for volunteers, 
from citizens exempt from military duty, to form 
themselves into companies for home defence, in 
case of sudden invasion ; about sixty responded, 
under the command of Captain Isaac Riddle. About 
1817 i\Ir. Riddle was returning from Pembroke 
muster when a ferry boat crowded with people was 
about to plunge over Hooksett Falls. Mr. Riddle 
sprang from his chaise, plunged into the stream, 
caught the rope attached to the boat, and thus 
saved about thirty lives." 

He married (first),, June 5, 1778, Ann Aiken, 
who was bom November 12, 1764, daughter of 
Captain James and Margaret (Waugh) Aiken. She 
died April 6, 1804. At her own door she fell from 
her horse and dislocated her neck, when about to 
visit her brother-in-law, William Riddle, who had 
broken his leg in a saw mill. He married (second), 
March 6, 1806, Margaret McGaw, who was born 
May 25, 1776, and died December 19, 1816, daughter 
of Jacob McGaw, of ^Merrimack. Hemarried (third). 
May 1819, Mrs. Mary Vinal, of Quincy, Massa- 
chusetts, who was born January 27, 1760, and died 
April 5, 1837, sister of Captain Amos Lincoln of 
the tea party in Boston harbor, in 1773. She kept 
among her relic treasure the axe with which her 
brother opened the memorable chest of tea. The 
children of Isaac Riddle were : William Pickels, 
James, Isaac, Gilnian, David, Jacob jNIcGaw, Mar- 
garet .Ann and Rebecca; the last three by the second 
wife. 

(IV) James, second son and child of Criptain 
Isaac and Ann (Aiken) Riddle, was born in Bed- 



ford, June 26, 1791, died November 24, 1840. in 
Merrimack, and was buried in the family toinb at 
Bedford Center. He was one of the firm of Isaac 
Riddle & Sons, and after its dissolution he remained 
at Riddle's Village, Merrimack, leading a very busy 
life being largely interested in staging before the 
days of railroads ; also carrying on a tavern, store, 
luinber, and grist mill, fulling mill, blacksmith shop, 
etc. He married (first), 1816, Charlotte Farmer, 
sister of John Farmer, the distinguished his- 
torian and antiquarian. She was born July 20, 
1792, and died in 1828. He married (second), 1829, 
Laura, daughter of Solomon Barker, of Pelham ; 
she was born January 11, 1802. and died March 4, 
1831. He married (third) Eliza Hunt, born May 6, 
1807, died July 24, 1884. He had two children by 
the first wife, and one by the third : Charlotte Mar- 
garet, Mary Ann, Lincoln and Eliza Frances. 

(V) Charlotte Margaret, daughter of James 
and Charlotte (Farmer) Riddle, was born in Mer- 
rimack, February 20, 1817, and died October 22, 
1S59. She married, 1837, Nathan Parker, banker 
of Manchester (see Parker VI). 



(I) Eli Dort was born in Surry. New 
DORT Hampshire. He was an industrious 

farmer, and resided for many years on 
West Hill in Keene. His last days were spent in 
his native town and he died there in 1869. 

(II) Eliphalet, son of Eli Dort, was born in 
1790. In early life he was a wheelwright and wood- 
worker in Surry, but he later settled upon a farm 
located about a mile north of* the village, and his 
death occurred in that town in 1869. 'He married 
Lois Bemis, of Poultney, Vermont, and had a family 
of seven children: George D., David B., Eli, Cyrus, 
William, Obed G. and Mary E. 

(III) Obed Gilman, sixth child and youngest 
.son of Eliphalet and Lois (Bemis) Dort. was born 
in Surry, January 25, 1828. After concluding his 
attendance at the Keene Academy he learned the 
carriage-painter's trade, and at the age of about 
twenty years became associated with his brother, 
George D., in the paint and wall paper business at 
Keene. under the firm name of George D. Dort & 
Company. Purchasing his brother's interest some 
three years later he added a line of drugs to his 
stock and continued in business alone for twelve 
years, at the expiration of which time he admitted 
Clark Chandler to partnership. At the breaking 
out of the Civil war he raised a company of nearly 
one hundred men, which was attached to the Sixth 
Regiment. New Hampshire Volunteer Infantry, as 
Company E, and he went to the front as its captain. 
After leaving the national capital the Sixth rendered 
meritorious service at Fortress Monroe, Hatteras, 
Roanoke Island. Culpepper Court House and other 
points in Virginia, and participated in the san- 
guinary battle of Antietam. Just previous to that 
memorable struggle he received a visit from his 
wife and son, but this happy meeting with his loved 
ones was almost immediately followed by the sad 
news that both had been lost in a collision cf the 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1097 



"West Point" with another steamer on the Potomac 
while on their return north. This shock so disabled 
him as to necessitate his retirement from the army. 
He had previously been promoted to the rank of 
major, and he resigned as such in 1863, after the 
battle of Antictam. Upon his return to Keene he 
resumed business and continued in company with 
Mr. Chandler until 1880. In 1875 he organized the 
Citizens' National Bank and was its first cashier, 
serving in that capacity until 1880, when he was 
chosen its president, and has ever since retained 
that position. His interest in the mercantile and 
financial affairs of Keene have proved exceedingly 
beneficial to the community, and he is highly es- 
teemed both in business and social circles. He is a 
member of the Masonic order and the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. 

In 1851 Major Dort married Julia Wakefield, of 
Marlboro, New Hampshire, whose accidental death 
has already been referred to. He subsequently mar- 
ried Sarah Jane Hale, daughter of ex-Governor 
William Hale. Of his first union there were three 
children: Arthur W., who was lost in the accident 
above mentioned ; Frank G. : Mary E., who died in 
infancy. Mr. Frank G. Dort is the Boston repre- 
sentative of Henry K. Wampole & Company, of 
Philadelphia. He married Kate Cobb, and has 
three children : Robert G., Frank and Norman 
Perry Dort. 



"The Odiorne name, originally 
ODIORNE written Hodierne," says James 
I Creighton, the genealogist of the 

Odiorne family, "is supposed to be derived from the 
Latin hodicrnus. from hodie, of this day. Hence, 
also, the English word hodiernal, and the' Italian, 
odierna, of this' day. This name is extremely rare, 
but occurs occasionally in French and English an- 
nals, and has been traced back to the eleventh cen- 
tury. On the northwest part of France, which the 
Romans called Armorica. lie the bay and town of 
Hodierne, or Audoerne. Hodierne, as a personal 
name, was first baptismal, and given to daughters. 
This is shown by early and very frequent instances 
on record. Afterwards this appellation was given 
to sons, and eventually became a surname. It was 
to be found, with some variations, in Bretagne and 
other northern ports of France, also in Jersey and 
the isles of the northern coast. In English annals 
the name appears later than in French. This makes 
it more probable that it was introduced into Eng- 
land from France, and that the family bearing it is 
of French origin. Records show its use in England 
as a surname in the fourteenth century. In English 
records, as in the French, the family name appears 
in its etymology under several variations, as Hod- 
yern, Hodierne, Odierne, Odierna, and Odiarne. 
The form Odiorne, as used in the United States, 
has not been discovered in any foreign country. 
The records show the name has been known in 
England about six hundred years. Previous to 1657 
the ancestor of the Odiorne family joined the 
colonists at Rye, New Hampshire, and it is possible 



ihcy came from Rye, England, for which place Rye, 
New Hampshire, seems to have been named by set- 
tlers from the English Rye. 

(I) John Odiorne was born about 1627, and 
died at Newcastle, New Hampshire, in 1707. John 
and Philip Odiorne, who tradition says were broth- 
ers, came to Postsmouth and settled there about the 
year 1650. All the Odiornes of America trace their 
lineage to this John. January 13, 1660, public lands 
were allotted at Portsmouth to those who were in- 
habitants there in 1657. A grant of forty-two acres 
on Great Island, lying at the entrance of the har- 
bor, was made to John Odiorne. A few years later 
he received a second grant, which probably included 
that section of land at the mouth of the Piscataqua 
river which has since been known as Odiorne's 
Point. From 1658 to 1671 his name appears on the 
town records on subscriptions for the support of 
religious worship. In 1686 he was a member of the 
grand jury. He resided at Sandy Beach, now Rye, 
then a part of Portsmouth. In 1706, the year be- 
fore his death, he gave a deed of his homestead to 
his son John. Administration on his estate was 
granted to his widow, February 4, 1707. His wife 
was Mar>', daughter of James and Mary Johnson, 
whom he probably married when about middle age, 
as his children whose names are here recorded, 
were not born until he was past forty-five years of 
age. Their names as far as discovered are Jona- 
than and John. 

(II) John (2), son of John (i) and Mary 
(Johnson) Odiorne, was born about 1675. His 
home was on Odiorne's Point, on the estate he de- 
rived from his father, which estate has remained in 
the family to this date. There are records of con- 
veyances of real estate made by him and his wife as 
late as 1725. In these he styles himself "farmer." 
He had the title of deacon, but of what church can- 
not be known as the records of the church at New 
Castle, the nearest to his residence, and to which he 
probably belonged, are lost, and with them the 
names of its early officers. His wife's name was 
Catherine. Their children, as far as know'n, were: 
Ebenezer, Samuel, Nathaniel, and John. 

(HI) John (3), son of John (2) and Catherine 
Odiorne, died in 1780. He was a farmer by occupa- 
tion, and lived at New Castle. Nothing is known 
of his character or condition in life. All that has 
come down to the present respecting him is but a 
record of his family afflictions. Two of his sons, 
captured in the Revolutionary war, died in British 
prison-ships. He lost a beautiful daughter just 
blooming into womanhood, by drowning: and of 
his other children several died before him. His 
wife's name is not known. Their children were: 
Lydia, Catherine, John, Benjamin, Abigail, Jo«eph, 
Deborah, and Samuel, whose sketch follows. 

(IV) Samuel, youngest child of John (3) 
Odiorne, was born about 174S, and died about 1779. 
He was a warrior and was captured by the British 
in the Revolutionary war, and taken to a foreign 
prison. In those days little compassion was shown 
to prisoners of war, and he died there imdcr the 



logS 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



severity of his trentment. He left a wife and one 
child, Samuel, who is the subject of the next para- 
graph. 

(V) Samuel (2), only son of Samuel (i) 
Odiorne, was born in 1776, and died June 2, 1840, 
aged sixty-four years. He was a farmer and lived 
near the creek which .separates Rye from New Cas- 
tle. He married, in June, 1801, Olive Thomas, of 
Durham, who survived him and lived with a son 
at IJttle Harbor, until her death, in July. 1870. 
Their children were : Samuel. Joseph, Charles, 
Blunt, Sarah Holbrook, Hannah Smith and Ellen 
Thomas. 

(VI) Charles Blunt, third son and child of 
Samuel (2) and Olive (Thomas) Odiorne, was 
born about 1804, and died when he was seventy^- 
five years. He was a farmer and lived on a beauti- 
ful spot at the mouth of Sagamore Creek in Ports- 
mouth Harbor, opposite the ancient mansion of Ben- 
ning Wentworth, once governor of the state. He 
married, September 27, 1840. Mary Sheaf Yeaton, 
of New Castle, daughter of Philip Yeaton. She 
died February 13, 1905, aged eighty-one years. Their 
children were: Olive Ann, Marietta, Sarah Willard, 
Charles Woodbury, Frank Pierce, Maria Adelaide 
and Samuel. 

(VH) Sarah Willard, third daughter and child 
of Charles Blunt and Mary Sheaf (Yeaton) Odi- 
orne, was born in Rye, Jidy 14, 1844- She married, 
September 28, 1871, John Sheldon Treat. (See 
Treat VHI). 



A branch of the family of this name 
SAVAGE removed from- England to the district 

of Maine before the Revolutionary 
w-ar. and from tho:e pioneers comes the present 
family. 

(I) Jacob Savage, a resident of North Anson, 
Maine, was for many years a sea captain, but spent 
the last years of his life in Anson, where he had 
seven sons born to ^lim : Jacob, Esau, Isaac, Abram, 
John, and Perez. 

(II) Isaac, third son of'j^icob Savage, was born 
in North Anson. Maine, in Januarj', 1795, and died 
in Kingfield, Maine, July 13, 1S67, aged seventy-two. 
For some years after attaining his majority he lived 
in Anson, and then removed to New Portland, 
where he lived a few years. Removing to King- 
field Village he bought and operated the saw and 
grist mills at that place for about fifteen years, and 
then -moved out and settled on a farm which he had 
purchased, and there spent the last fifteen years or 
more of his life. He was a man wdio could adapt 
himself to his environment, and did equally well as 
a miller or a farmer. In politics he was a Dem- 
ocrat, and in religious belief a Methodist. He mar- 
ried Selina Moore, born in Madison. Maine, in 1797, 
died aged eighty-two years. She was a daughter of 
Goff Moore, a Revolutionary soldier (see Moore. 
III). Mrs. Savage was a woman of many domestic 
accomplishments, kind and sympathetic, and loved 
by her children, and a welcome visitor among her 
neighbors, especially among the sick- and the needy. 



The children of this union were : Martha, Alvah, 
Marcia, Susan, Gyrene, Asenath, Elery, Elizabeth, 
Goff, Abram. and Isaac M., next mentioned. 

(Ill) Isaac Milton, son of Isaac and Selina 
(Moore) Savage, born in Kingfield, February 5, 
1841, was educated in the common schools of King- 
field, which he attended until he was twenty-one 
years old. He taught one term of school, and the 
following summer became a soldier for the Union. 
He enlisted at Kingfield in September, 1862, and 
was made a corporal of Company D, Twenty-eighth 
Maine Infantry. The connnand to which he be- 
longed was transported by sea from New York to 
New Orleans, Louisiana, wdiere he arrived in Jan- 
uary, 1863. He as subsequently stationed at Pensa- 
cola (Fort Barancas), detached at Plaquemine, 
Louisiana, to guard the village, and taken prisoner 
there by a division of Texas Rangers, June 18, 1863. 
The following day he and about fifty others who 
had been captured with him were paroled, and made 
their w-ay to Baton Rouge, whence they were trans- 
ported to New Orleans, Algiers, Louisiana, and 
finally to Ship Island, where they stayed in the camp 
of paroled prisoners until discharged in August, 
1863. The same year he w-ent to Concord, New 
Hampshire, and entered the employ of Lewis Barter 
& Company, dealers in flour and grain, with whom 
he remained five and a half years, and then filled 
for two years a similar position with Forbes & 
Lane, at Hillsborough Bridge. He then opened a 
grocery store at the corner of Main and Bridge 
streets. Concord, where he sold goods ten years. 
Afterward he was located on South Main street 
eleven years, and in the Odd Fellows block on 
Pleasant street till he sold out and retired from 
active life, in March, 1903. Since i8gS Mr. Savage 
has been treasurer of the Concord Building and 
Loan Association. He is one of the substantial and 
respected men of Concord, whose business reputa- 
tion is unsullied, and whose character and standing 
are of the best. He has a large circle of friends 
won by his good character and genial manner. He 
is a member of E. E. Sturtevant Post, Grand Army 
of the Republic, of Concord, and attends the Uni- 
versalist Church. He is a Democrat and has been 
nominated for local offices, but men of his political 
faith cannot be elected in w\ards so strongly Repub- 
lican as his. 

He was married December 29. 1866, at Concord, 
to Jennie E. Davis, born in Warren, New Hamp- 
shire. October, 1838, daughter of James and Ma- 
linda (Bixby) Davis. They have one child, Goff 
Savage, born at Hillsborough Bridge, 1868, who 
married Florence Towle, and now resides in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut. 



Ancestors of the New England 
PROCTOR Proctors were early arrivals in Bos- 
ton and participated in the original 
settlement of several important outlying districts. 
Descendants of the original immigrants penetrated 
into remote regions, becoming original settlers in 
territories which afterward acquired dignity of state- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1099 



hood, and not a few of them went beyond the limits 
of New England into the great west, where their 
posterity are still to be foimd. The Proctors were 
patriotic during the Revolutionary war and that of 
1812-15 ; loyal to the Union in the memorable civil 
strife of 1861-65; and in addition to their honorable 
military services they have acquired distinction in 
civil life. The family is of English origin, and the 
name is first met with in the records of Norfolk, 
where as early as the fourteenth century they were 
closely allied by intermarriage with the celebrated 
Beauchamps, which was the family name of the 
earls of Pembroke. Among the land-holders men- 
tioned in these records are Sir William Bcaitchamp 
Proctor and his son George, who inherited in turn 
an estate which had been granted originally by John, 
earl of Pembroke, to his cousin, William de 
Beauchainp, who died in the year 1378. In search- 
ing for Proctors in other parts of England we find 
it recorded in "A History of Northumberland," 
published at Newcastle-on-Tyne by Andrew Reid 
& Company, that a family of that name was estab- 
lished at Shawdon in Yorkshire at the beginning of 
the sixteenth century, through the marriage of Wil- 
liam Proctor, of Nether Bordlc)', to Isabel, daugh- 
ter of John Lilburn, of Shawdon. Early in the emi- 
gration period which began about the year 1629, 
four of this name are known to have come to New 
England. They were John, Richard, George and 
Robert. Whether they were near relatives or not is 
now impossible to determine, but there is some evi- 
dence to show that they were descendants of the 
abovementioned William, of Nether Bordley, and it 
is quite reasonable to infer that the latter was de- 
scended from old Sir William Beauchainp Proctor 
of Norfolk. These immigrants landed in Boston 
between the years 1635 and 1643. John Proctor, 
aged forty years, sailed from London in 1635 on the 
"Sarah and Ellen," with his wife and two children, 
settling first in Ipswich and sivbsequently in Salem. 
His son John and the lattcr's wife were both con- 
victed of witchcraft in 1692, and the husband was 
executed, but the wife escaped the death penalty. 
Some of their descendants are now residing in Bos- 
ton. Richard Proctor settled in Yarmouth, Massa- 
chusetts, and there disappears wholly from the 
records. George Proctor located in Dorchester, 
and there reared a family. The branch of the fam- 
ily coming directly within the province of this 
sketch, is a line of descent from Robert, through 
the latter's son James. 

(I) Robert Proctor, the earliest American an- 
cestor of the families mentioned in this sketch, first 
appears in this country at Concord, Massachusetts, 
where he was made a freeman in 1643. In 1653 
Robert Proctor, in connection with Richard Hildreth 
anid twenty-seven other.s, petitioned the general 
court for a grant of land six miles square "to begin 
at Merrimack river at a neck of land next to Con- 
cord river, and so run by Concord river south, and 
west into the country to make up that circumfer- 
ence or quantity of land as is above expressed." The 
petition was granted. In 1654, Mr. Proctor removed 



to the new plantation which was organized Novem- 
ber 22, of that year, as a town under the name of 
Chelmsford. The first four or five of his children 
were born in Concord, the others in Chelmsford. 
He died in Chelmsford, April 28, 1697, leaving lands 
to some of his children, and having already granted 
other lands to si.x sons. His widow administered 
on his estate. He married. December 31, 1645, Jane, 
the oldest daughter of Richard Hildreth, of Concord 
and Chelmsford, the ancestor of the Hildreths in 
America, who died at Chelmsford, in 1688. The 
children of Robert and Jane were twelve in num- 
ber: Sarah, Gcrshom, Mary, Peter, Dorothy, Eliza- 
beth. James, Lydia, John, Samuel, Israel and 
Thomas. 

(II) James, third son and seventh child of 
Robert and Jane (Hildreth) Proctor, born in Con- 
cord, January 8, 1658, removed to Woburn about 
1696, and died there January 11, 1709. He married 
(first), December 3, 1691, Esther Parker, who died 

December 6, 1693; and (second) Plannah . 

His children, all by the second wife, were as fol- 
lows: James. Jonathan, Thomas, John, Hannah, 
and Esther. 

(III) James (2), eldest child of James (l) 
and Hannah Proctor, was born in Woburn, April 
2, 1696, resided in Woburn, and owned a large 
amount of real estate. He married, April 17, 1717, 
Judith Nichols, of Reading, and they had six chil- 
dren. Elizabeth, Judith, James, Jonathan. Hannah 
and Mary. 

(IV) James (3), eldest son and third child of 
James (2) and Judith (Nichols) Proctor, was born 
in Woburn, June 18, 1722, and removed to Kings- 
ton, New Hampshire, about 1750. From "New 
Hampshire State Papers," it appears that he was at 
Crown Point, September 30, 1762, a soldier in the 
company of Captain Jeremiah Marston. of Hamp- 
ton, in Colonel John Goflfe's regiment. He served 
also in the Revolutionary war, having been mus- 
tered in August 10, 1776. He died on his way 
home from Ticonderoga, November 11, 1776. He 
married, 1743, Abigail Whitmore, born June 7, 1722, 
died May 3, i8r2. They were the parents of twelve 
children, as follows: James. John, Thomas, Jona- 
than, Elizabeth, Ebenezer, died young; Ebenezer, 
Judith. Esther, Mehitable, John and William. 

(V) Thomas, third son and child of James (3) 
and Abigail (Whitmore) Proctor, born in Woburn, 
July 28, 1748. was a blacksmith, and lived in 
Loudon. New Hampshire, where he died March 28, 
1836. He married. May 2r. 1776, Fanny Kimball,- 
born February 2, 1756, died June i, 1830. They 
had eleven children : Lydia. Fanny. Sally, Thomas, 
Rebecca, Peter, Joseph, William, James, Benjamin 
and Priscilla. 

(VI) Thomas, fourth child and eldest son of 
Thomas and Fanny, was born in Loudon, June 12, 
1783. When a" young man he located in Barnstead, 
New Hampshire, and resided there for the re- 
mainder of his life, which terminated June 25, 1856. 
His first wife, whom he married in 1807, was 
Martha Drew, who was born July 25, 1774. and died 



IIOO 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



October 2, 1825. In 1831 he married for his second 
wife Comfort Ayers, who was born February 19, 
1781, and died April 2, 1847. He was again married 
in 1848 to Mrs. Betsey Clark, nee Priest, whose 
birth took place January 11, 1794. She died Feb- 
ruary 15, 1S75. His children, all of his first union, 
were: John, born June 22, 1808; Thomas K., born 
April 15, 1810; Fanny W., mentioned below; Joseph 
D., born May 12, 1814; Jane D., born June 27, 1817 
(married Moses L. Mace,, of Barnstead for her first 
husband, and Jacob D. Osgood, of Loudon, for her 
second husband) ; Mary, born February i, 1819, 
married first, John R. Kaime, and second, Brad- 
bury Clark, of Barnstead; Samuel, born Januai'y I, 
1822 ; and William, born May 30, 1824. 

(Vli) Fanny Wilson, eldest daughter and third 
child of Thomas (2) and Martha (Drew) Proctor, 
born in Barnstead, April 16, 1S12 ; married, May 13, 
1830, George L. Nutter, of Barnstead, who settled 
in Concord, and died September 8, 1897. (See 
Nutter VII). 

(Second Family.) 
(I) John Proctor, who was born 
PROCTOR in England about the year 1595, was 
registered with his wife Martha and 
two children April 12, 1635, to embark at London 
for New England in the "Susan and Ellen," Ed- 
ward Payne, master. He first settled in Ipswich, 
Massachusetts, but prior to 1665 removed to Salem, 
and November 29 of the following year he peti- 
tioned the selectmen for liberty to "sett up A house 
of Entertainment to sell Beare, sider Liquors and 
ctr. for ye Accommodation of Travel lours." He 
died in Salem in 1672, and his will, which bears the 
date of August 28, was probated November 28 of 
that year His children were : John, Mary, Martha, 
Abigail, Joseph, Sarah, Benjamin and Hannah. 

(II) Joseph, second son and fifth child of John 
and Martha Proctor, was born in Ipswich and re- 
sided in that part of the town which was then called 
Chebacco, and is now Essex. He served in King 
Philip's war, and was one of the very few survivors 
of Captain Lothrop's company, known as the 
"Flower of Essex," nearly all of whom were slain 
in the famous Bloody Brook massacre, September 
18, 1675. His will was made October 4, 1705, and 
proved November 12 of that year, showing that his 
death must have occurred some time during that in- 
terval. He married for his first wife Martha Wain- 
wright, daughter of Francis Wainwright of Ipswich; 
she died in 1683. His second wife was Sarah, 
widow of Richard Ingersoll, of Salem, the latter a 
son nf John and Judith (Felton) Ingersoll, and of 
her first marriage there was one son, Richard In- 
gersoll, Jr. Joseph Proctor was the father of 
twelve children. Those of his first union were: 
Daniel, Joseph, Jacob, Martha, Mary, Abigail, 
Francis, Elizabeth, Simon and Jonathan. Those of 
his second marriage were: Thomas and Sarah. 

(III) Jacob, third child of Joseph and Martha 
(Wainwright) Proctor, was born in Chebacco. Jan- 
uary 25, 1679, and was still residing there in 1756. 
The Qiristian name of his wife was Mary. She 



was born in 16S9, and died at Chebacco, January 17, 
1777. Their children were: Joseph, Isaac and 
Mary. 

(IV) Joseph, eldest child of Jacob and Mary 
Proctor, was a lifelong resident of Chebacco, and 
his death occurred sometime between July 23 and 
October 27, 1766, the dates of the making and pro- 
bating of his will. He was married April 9, 1741, 
to Sarah Leatherland, who was 'born in 1727 and 
died September i, 1797. She was the mother of 
Sarah, Abigail, Mary, Jacob, Joseph, Francis and 
William. 

(V) Joseph (2), second son and fifth child of 
Josepli (i) and Sarah (Leatherland) Proctor, was 
born in Chebacco prior to October 6, 1751, the date 
of his baptism. In company with his brother Jacob 
he settled in that part of Londonderry which is now 
Derry, and resided there for the rest of his life. 
His first wife was Hannah Brown, of Ipswich, and 
for his second wife he married her sister, Eunice. 
Hannah was the mother of the following children: 
Sarah. Joseph and John, Eunice, Lois, Benjamin, 
Charlotte and Olive. (Benjamin and descendants 
are mentioned in this article). 

(VI) Joseph (3), second child and eldest son 
of Joseph (2) and Hannah (Brown) Proctor, was 
born April 3, 1777, probably in Ipswich, and was 
taken to Londonderry. New Hampshire, in child- 
hood by his parents. He first settled in Derry, New 
Hampshire, but afterward bought the "woods" on 
John Hopkins' farm, in Windham, about 1815, and 
there lived till his death, February I. 1826. He mar- 
ried, in 1802, Mary Hughes, daughter of John and 
Mchitable (Buzwell) Flughes, of Windham. Her 
father, a British soldier, deserted in Boston, went to 
Windham, and afterward did faithful and efficient 
service in the Patriot <■ army in the Revolution. 
She died April 23, 1847. The children of this union 
were : Anna C, James H., Abner B., Hannah B.. 
Moses B., Ebenezer G., Samuel W., Joseph B., and 
Thomas T. 

(VII) Joseph Burnham. eighth child and sixth 
son of Joseph and Mary (Hughes) Proctor, was 
born in Windham, February 12, 1817, and died in 
Nashua, May 2, 1896. He received a common 
schocl education, and lived on the home farm until 
1855, when he sold that and bought the original 
Nesmith farm where he lived the nine years 
following. His chief business was that of 
manufacturing ship lumber. He sold that in 
1865, and removed to Nashua, where he en- 
gaged in the lumber business, which he conducted 
successfully for a number of years. He was a 
member of the First Congregational Church, and 
in politics a Republican He married, November 27. 
185 1, Sarah J. Ga.ge, who was born February 26, 
1829. daughter of Frye and Kezia (Cutter) Gage, 
t>f Pelham, New Hampshire They had one child, 
Mary C born August 29. 1853. and married, June 
7, 1S81, Ira F. Harris, of Nashua. (See Harris). 

(VI) Benjamin, sixth child and third son of 
Joseph and Hannah (Brown) Proctor, was born 
March 10, 1786. The major part of his life was 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



IIOI 



spent in Dcrry and liis death occnrrod there Feb- 
ruary 10, 1848. His first wife was Rachel Camp- 
bell, of Bedford, New Hampshire, and his second 
wife was Eleanor Wilson, of Derry. He was the 
father of seven children, natnely : William, John 
Reed, Louis, Nancy, Olive and Alexis, by his first 
wife. By his second wife he had one daughter, 
Margaret, who was educated at Kingston Academy, 
and married Edward F. Noyes. afterwards governor 
of Ohio and- Minister to France during tlie adminis- 
tration of President Hayes. 

(VII) Alexis, youngest child of Benjamin and 
Rachel Proctor, was born in Derry, March 4, 1826. 
After concluding his studies at the old Pinkerton 
Academy he turned his attention to educational pur- 
suits and taught school continuously for over 
twenty years. During these years, like his father 
before him, he was often employed as a land sur- 
veyor and auctioneer in Derry and adjoining towns. 
In 1864 he removed to Franklin, where for the suc- 
ceeding ten years he occupied the position of clerk 
and paymaster at the woolen mill (successively) of 
Messrs. Griffin & Taylor, Taylor & Co'., M. T. 
Stevens & Co., and he has henceforward devoted 
his energies exclusively to the banking interests of 
Franklin. In 1869 he with others organized the 
Franklin Savings Bank, of which he has been treas- 
urer from 1874 to the present time (1906), and he 
was also one of the incorporators of the Franklin 
National Bank. In politics he is a Republican. 
For the years 1857-58-63-64 he represented Derry 
in the lower house of the state legislature, and he 
served as an assessor in Franklin for twelve years, 
during which time the town profited by his ex- 
cellent judgment in the valuation of property. His 
fraternal affiliations are with the Masonic Order. 
In his religious belief he is a Unitarian. He was 
married May 30, 1850, to Miss Emma G. Gage, 
daughter of Joseph and Adaline (Hamblet) Gage, 
of Pelhani, New Hampshire. The children of this 
union are : Frank, who will be again referred to. 
Mary Adaline, born 1859, graduated from Smith 
College in iSSr ; since 1893 she has been secretary 
of the board of education in Franklin, where she 
resides with her father and elder brother. John 
P. Proctor, who is treasurer and superintendent of 
the Franklin Light and Power Company, There 
were also three children who died in infancy, 

(VIII) Frank Proctor, eldest child of Alexis 
and Emma (Gage) Proctor, was born in Derry, 
September 18, 1856. His collegiate preparations 
were concluded at the Kimball Union Academy, 
Meriden, and he was graduated from Dartmouth 
College with the class of 1878. He was subse- 
quently for one year a law student in the office of 
Messrs. Barnard and Barnard, Franklin, and in 1879 
was appointed the first cashier of the Franklin Na- 
tional Bank, in which capacity he has ever since 
served with ability and faithfulness. In addition 
to his regular duties at the national bank he is 
serving as a trustee and member of the investment 
committee of the Franklin Savings Bank ; as treas- 
urer of the Franklin Falls Company, a corporation 



which lias been largely instrumental in developing 
the natural resources of that locality; and since the 
incorporation of Franklin as a city he has held the 
office of city treasurer, administering the financial 
affairs of the municipality in a most careful and 
judicious manner. In politics he is a Republican. 
Aside from the business, financial, industrial and 
political interests of Franklin, he devotes his 
cp.ergies when opportunity permits to other fields of 
usefulness, particularly that of local histor3-, and is 
a member of the New Hampshire Historical Society. 
Mr. Proctor is a member of the Unitarian Church. 



The Worcesters are of English 
WORCESTER descent and were early settlers 

in New Hampshire. They were 
civilizers and patriots, and their name appears in the 
muster rolls of both the French and Indian and the 
Revolutionary wars. The various town records 
show conclusively that citizenship and duty have 
always been synonymous terms with this family; 
that they have borne their part "each in their gen- 
eration" in the public affairs of the community in 
which they have lived. The long list of clergymen, 
the graduates of Harvard College and other institu- 
tions of learning, are evidences of their scholarly at- 
tainments; and the muster rolls of the anny and 
navy from the earliest settlement of our country to 
the present time, prove their patriotism to have been 
of the order that counted not the cost when their 
country's flag was assailed, 

(I) Rev. William Worcester, with his wife 
Sarah and four children, namely : Samuel, William, 
Sarah and Susannah, came from England and was 
settled pastor of the church first gathered in Salis- 
bury, Massachusetts. No production of his pen has 
been transmitted to posterity to indicate his in- 
tellectual attainments, but Cotton Mather in the 
Magnalia enrolls his name in the list of the "Rever- 
end, learned and holy divines, arriving such from 
Europe to America, by whose evangelical ministry 
the church in America have been illuminated." 
Sarah, wife of Rev. William Worcester, died at 
Salisbury, April 23, 1650. He married (second) 
Mrs. Rebecca Hall, by whom he had six children, 
namely: Sarah, (died young), Timothy, Moses, 
Sarah,' Elizabeth (died young), and Elizabeth, 
(Moses and descendants receive extended mention 
in this article). 

(II) Samuel, eldest child of Rev. William 
Worcester, accompanied his father from England 
and settled in Salisbury, where he was operating a 
saw-mill as early as 1658. At the first recorded 
meeting of the Merrimack people he was chosen 
overseer, and he Avas the first representative from 
Bradford to the general court, taking his seat Jan- 
uary 16, 1679-S0. He was re-elected the ensuing 
year, but died while on his way to Boston to re- 
sume his seat. 

(HI) Francis, son of Samuel Worcester, was 
born in Rowley. Massachusetts, and became an inn- 
keeper in Bradford, where his death occurred De- 
cember 17, 1717. He possessed an amialile disposi- 



1 102 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



tion and was a general favorite in the coinnuinity. 
He married Mary Gheney. (Mention of their son, 
Francis, and descendants forms part of this article). 

(IV) Benjamin, son of Francis Worcester, was 
born in Bradford, August 25, 1709. He went to re- 
side in Windsor, Vermont, and engaged in farming. 

(V) Asa, son of Benjamin Worcester, was 
born in Haverhill. Massachusetts, January 27, 1738. 
At the age of sixteen years he enlisted for service in 
the French and Indian war, and during the struggle 
for national independence he served as a scout with 
the rank of sergeant. He followed the cooper's 
trade. He resided at the homestead in Windsor. 

(VI) Asa, son of Sergeant Asa Worcester, was 
born in Groton, Massachusetts, April 26, 1771. He 
acquired possession of the homestead farm, and the 
active period of his life was devoted to its cultiva- 
tion. His wife was before marriage Mary Delano. 

(VII) Chauncey, son of ."^sa and Mary (De- 
lano) Worcester, was born at the family homestead 
in Windsor, May 18. 1S12, and died there August 13, 
18S4. He inherited and carried on the homestead 
property, wliich was located in West Windsor, six 
miles west of the village of Windsor. He married 
Adeline Waldron, who bore him five children, 
namely: Frank D., Inez Maria, Mary, George W. 
and Susan D. 

(VIII) Frank Delano, eldest child of Chauncey 
and Adeline (Waldrcn) Worcester, was born in 
West Wind.sor, February 4, 1852. His early educa- 
tion was acquired in the public schools of West 
Windsor and continued and completed at the Green 
Mountain (Perkins) Institute, South Woodstock, 
Vermont. For a period of ten years immediately 
thereafter he taught school successfully in Windsor 
county, and he was subsequently for four years em- 
ployed as a clerk in Boston. Deciding to prepare 
for the medical profession he chose the Homeopathic 
School, and entering Hahnemann Medical College, 
Chicago, he pursued a four years' course, graduating 
with the class of 1885. He also acquired much val- 
uable experience and observation in the Chicago 
hospitals, and upon hi.^ return to Vermont entered 
upon the practice of his profession in Springfield. 
In i8g6 he removed to Keene, New Hampshire, 
where he has built up a large and lucrative practice, 
and is now a member of the board of health. Dr. 
Worcester is a member of the American Institute of 
Homeopathy, the Homeopathic Medical societies of 
Vermont and New" Hampshire, the Masonic fratern- 
ity and the Improved Order of Red Men. On 
August 15. J 876, he married Belle Hubbcll, daugh- 
ter of George and Phcobe (Ccffin) Ilubbell, of 
Lake George. Dr. and Mrs. Worcester have a 
daughter. May Worcester. 

(II) Moses, second .son and third child of the 
second wife of Rev. William Worcester, was born 
in Salisbury, November 10. 1643. He removed to 
Kittery in 1661, and was living in T731. He v.-as a 
noted Indian fighter in his day and familiarly known 
as "Old Contrary." He owned extensive tracts of 
land in that part of Kittery now known as Berwick. 



He was twice married and by his first wife had 
three children: Thomas, William and Elizabeth. 

(III) Thomas, son of Moses Worcester, was 
l>orn in Salisbury, Massachusetts, or Kittery, Maine, 
and received a grant of land in that part of Kittery 
in which his father's property was located, and died 
in Berwick (Kittery) in 1718. By his first wife 
(name unknown) he had three children: Thomas, 
William and Elizabeth. He married (second). 
April 4, 1695, Mrs. Sarah Soper. 

(IV) John, son of Thomas Worcester, was 
born in Kitterj', and resided in Berwick and Leb- 
anon, Maine. He married Lydia Remick, July 15, 
1731, W whom he had .five children, Polly, John, 
Lydia (who married General John Sullivan, Dur- 
ham, New Hampshire). George and Lemuel. 

(V) George, second son of John and Lydia 
(Remick) Worcester, was born in Berwick, Maine, 
lived in Berwick and Somersworth, New Hamp- 
shire ; married Margaret Clements, by whom he had 
nine children : Betsey, Ezekiel, Mark, Thomas, 
Lemuel, Alexander, John, George and John. 

(VI) Major Alexander Worcester, son of 
George and Margaret (Clements) Worcester, was 
born in Berw'ick, moved to Lebanon, Maine, and 
January 25. i/q6, married Molly Libbey, by whom 
he had six children : Ebenezer, Sally, Lemuel, 
Hiram, "killed at the battle of Lake Erie," Mary 
and George. He was major in the militia and a 
man of standing and influence in the community. 
In the War of 1812 he wras first lieutenant in Cap- 
tain Bartholomew Thompson's company. First Regi- 
ment, "Nowells" Massachusetts militia. 

(VII) Lemuel, son of Alexander and Molly 
(Libbey) Worcester, was born in Lebanon, Maine, 
When a boy he served with his father in Captain 
Thompson's company, and received disabilities for 
which he received a pension from the United States 
government. He married Margaret Pray, daughter 
of Chadbourne Pray and Bracket, direct descendant 
of John Bracket, of whom mention is made in his- 
tory of Boston, Massachusetts, as giving material 
aid to the city at time it was besieged by the British. 
They had four children : Mary A., born March I, 
1844, married Mark F. Wallingford. of Lebanon, 
j\lair,e ; Horace L. and two who died in their in- 
!':-.r.cy. 

(\"1II) Colonel Horace L. Worcester, son of 
Lemuel and Margaret (Pray) Worcester, was born 
in Lebanon, Maine. March 28, 1846-. When six 
years of age his parents moved to the town of 
North Berwick, Maine, where he received his edu- 
cation in the district schools, leaving home at the 
age of sixteen to learn the trade of shoemaker. At 
the breaking out of the war in 1S61, he was a boy 
of fifteen years attending school. From its earliest 
inception he was constantly soliciting his father's 
permission to enlist. Not being successful after re- 
peated attempts, in 1864 he went to Portland and 
enlisted aboard the frigate "Sabine" in the navy, 
giving his age as twenty-one. and "thus evading the 
necessity of parents consent." From the "Sabine" 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1 103 



he was sent to receiving ship "Ohio" at Charlestown 
navy yard, Massachusetts. From the "Ohio" he 
was assigned to the West Gulf Blockading Squad- 
ron under Farragut. He was placed ahoard the re- 
ceiving ship "Potomac" at Pensacda navy yard, and 
from there assigned to the United States steamship 
"Lackawanna," aboard of which he served until the 
close of the war. It was stationed on the blockade 
off Mobile and Galveston, interspersed with cruis- 
ing. In the spring of 1865 he took part in the cap- 
ture, or rather destruction, of .the rebel ram "Will- 
iam H. Webb." which attempted to escape from 
Red River past New Orleans, where the "Lacka- 
wanna" with other men of war was laying at an- 
chor. He was aboard the "Lackawanna" when she 
was ordered to cruise in search of the formidable 
ram" "Stonewall"; said cruise was not successful, as 
the "Stonewall" surrendered to the Spanish author- 
ities at Havana and was turned over to our gov- 
ernment by them. 

At the close of the war he returned home and 
engaged in shoemaking and farming. In 1867 he 
came to Rochester and worked in the shoe shop of 
Messrs. E. G. & E. Wallace. June 27. 1872, he 
married Millie A., daughter of Charles Greenfield, 
one of Rochester's wealthiest and most respected 
citizens. (See Torr-Grcenficld V). Later he 
worked in Farmington, Dover. New Hampshire, and 
in Natick, Massachusetts, cutting upper leather. 
About 1877 ill health compelled him to seek out-of- 
. doors employment and he served as baggage mas- 
ter at the Great Falls & Conway Railroad depot in 
Rochester three years. In 18S0, with his brother- 
in-law, Frank Greenfield, he purchased the busi- 
ness of A. T. Cotton, and for twelve years they 
carried on the business of stationery, blank books, 
variety store, papers and magazines. At the end of 
twelve years, upon the desire of Mr. Greenfield to 
.go west, Mr. Worcester purchased his interest and 
continued the business until iSgg, when he sold out 
to Edward Miles and retired from business. 

With the exception of four years, 1S80 to 1884. 
during which time he was town clerk, Mr. Worces- 
ter absolutely refused to have his name used for any 
political office although often importuned to do so. 
Upon his retirement from business he was elected 
mayor, serving two terms, and one term in the 
legislature, resigning his seat in that body to accept 
.the office of United States consul at Saltillo, Mex- 
ico, to which office he had been appointed by the 
president. After ei.ght months of pleasant duty 
in Mexico, upon the death of Mr. C. W. Brown, 
city clerk of Rochester, he was elected city clerk, 
and clerk and collector of Rochester Water Works, 
in 1903. whereupon he returned to Rochester and 
resigned the office of United States consul. In 
190S he was appointed by Judge McGill. clerk of the 
police court, to fill vacancy caused by the death of 
Henry F. Walker, the former clerk. 

In 1867, when twenty-one years of age, he joined 
Unity Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, at Union, 
New Hampshire, later joining Humane Lodge at 
Rochester by demit. He is a member of Temple 



Chapter of Masons at Rochester, and St. Paul Com- 
mandcry, Knights Templar, at Dover, New Hamp- 
shire, a member of Samp,son Post, Grand Army of 
the Republic, serving as quartermaster and com- 
mander of his post, also as chief mustering ofilcer 
of the department twice, council of administration, 
aide de camp on staff of department commander, 
junior and senior vice and commander of depart- 
ment of New Hampshire, and aide de camp on 
staff of commander-in-chief. He is a member of 
Kearsage Association Naval Veterans at Ports- 
m.outh, New Hampshire. A member of the Far- 
ragut Association, a body composed of those only 
who served under Farragut in the Gulf, and a mem- 
ber of the Order of Sons of American Revolution, 
a member of the National Veteran Association, and 
vice-president of the New Hampshire Veteran As- 
sociation at The Weirs ; trustee of the Norway 
Plains Savings Bank (oldest in years of service on 
the board), and some years since, upon death of 
President Charles Greenfield, was elected its presi- 
dent, which office he held for several years, until 
business interests demanding his attention in the 
west for an indefinite time, he resigned the presi- 
dency. He is one of the trustees of the Rochester 
Public Library, and takes great interest in its wel- 
fare and progress. 

(IV) Rev. Francis (2), second son and fourth 
child of Francis (i) and Mary (Cheney) Worces- 
ter, was born in Bradford, Massachusetts, June 7, 
169S. Fie lived in Bradford until 1722, and then in 
Concord and Littleton, Massachusetts. In both of 
the latter places he worked as a blacksmith. In 
172S he was one of the selectmen of Bradford. He 
then went to Boxford, Massachusetts, where he 
was licensed to preach, and on June 18, 1735, he 
was ordained over a Congregational church in Sand- 
wich, Massachusetts, where he remained ten years 
as pastor. One year after his dismission he re- 
moved to New Hampshire, going first to Exeter and 
then to Plaistow, and in 1750 to HoUis, where his de- 
scendants have lived ever since. For the remain- 
ing thirty-three years of his life he was employed 
as an evangelist in preaching the gospel in the desti- 
tute sections of New Hampshire and other parts of 
New England. In the sixtieth year of his age he 
wrote a series of "Meditations all in verse," which 
was published in Boston in 1769. He was evidently 
a devout man and a faithful student of the Bible, 
though he lacked the education which was vouch- 
safed to his great-grandson, notably the editor of the 
Dictionary, in such plentiful degree. Rev. Fran- 
cis Worcester married, April 18, 1720, .Abigail 
Carlton, of Rowley, Massachusetts. There w-ere 
five children : Francis^ born in Bradford, Massa- 
chusetts, March 30, 1721, married, October 28, 1741, 
Hannah Boynton, of Newbury, Massachusetts, and 
died at Plymouth, New Hampshire, October 19, 
1800. a representative and senator to the general 
court of New Hampshire. Jesse, born in Bradford. 
Massachusetts. September S, 1722, m.arried Patience 

■ — ; w-ent to the siege of Oswego, and died 

W'hile a prisoner in Montreal in 1757. Hannah, 



1 1 04 



NEW HAMPSHlfiE. 



born in Brndford. Massachusetts. October 7, 1724, 

married Churchill, and died March 2. 

1S08. Samuel, born in Boxford, Massachusetts, May 
7, 1731, drowned in Squaw Harbor in 1750. Noah, 
whose sketch follows. After a wedded life of fift}-- 
four years Mrs. Abigail (Carlton) Worcester died 
July 25, 1774. aged seventy-eight years. Her hus- 
band subsequently married a Mrs. Martin. He died 
October 18, 1783, at Hollis. New Hampshire, where 
a tombstone records his life. 

(V) Noah, fourth son and fifth and youngest 
child of Francis and Abigail (Carlton) Worcester, 
was born in Sandwich, Massachusetts, October 4, 
1735, moved with his father to Hollis, New Hamp- 
shire, and succeeded to the possession of the home- 
stead where he lived until his death at the age of 
eighty-two. In the winter of 1775-76 he was cap- 
tain of a company which marched to Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, to re-inforce Washington's troops. 
For forty years he was a justice of the peace, and 
for sixty years an active member of the church. 
He was a member of the convention which framed 
the constitution of New Hampshire. "His strong 
mind, sound judgment and strict integrity, gave a 
value to his counsels, which was proverbial among 
his fellow citizens. He was twice married. His 
first wife was Lydia, daughter of Abraham Taylor, 
of Hollis, New Hampshire, who was born 
October 11, 1733, married, February 22, 1757, and 
died July 6, 1772, leaving seven children. In less 
than three months Captain Worcester married, Sep- 
tember 29. 1772, Hepzibah Sherwin, who was born 
in Boxford, Massachusetts, April 30, 1746. She was 
the mother of nine children. Of Captain Worces- 
ter's seven sons who lived to maturity, four be- 
came clergyman : the eldest daughter of his second 
wife married a clergyman, and another married a 
deacon. 

The eldest of the seven children of Noah and 
Lydia (Taylor) Worcester was Noah, who was 
born in Hollis, New Hampshire, November 25, 1758. 
Upon the outbreak of the Revolution he enlisted as 
fifer in the anny, being only, sixteen years old at the 
time. He served more than a year in all. and was 
present both at Bunker Hill and Bennington. He 
was settled as pastor of the Congregational Church 
at Thornton, New Hampshire, October 18, 1787, 
where he remained twenty-two years. In May, 1813, 
he moved to Brighton, Massachusetts, to assume 
charge of a new periodical. The Christian Disciple. 
He was the author of several religious essays. He 
received the honorar3' degree of Master of Arts 
from Dartmouth in 1791, and that of Doctor of 
Divinit}' from Har\'ard in 1818. Dr. Worcester was 
twice married. His first wife was Hannah, daugh- 
ter of Moses Brown, -of New'buryport, Massachu- 
setts. She was born May 6, 1760. married Novem- 
ber 25. 1772, and died November 16, 1797, just after 
the birth of her tenth child. Six months later he 
married Hannah, datighter of Jeremiah Hunting- 
ton, ot Norwich, Connecticut. Dr. Worcester died 
at Brighton, Massachusetts, October 31, 1838. The 
other children of Noah and Lydia (Taylor) Wor- 



cester were : Jesse, whose sketch follows. Lydia, 
born November 8. 1762, died January- 16, 1789. 
Sarah, born March 24, 1765, married, May 27, 1782, 
John Fox, of Dracut, Massachusetts, and Hardwick, 
Vermont, had ten children, and died September 
23, 1859. Leonard, born in Hollis. January i, 1767, 
became editor and publisher of The Massachusetts 
Sfy at Worcester, Massachusetts, pastor of the Con- 
gregational Church at Peacham. Vermont, Octo- 
ber 30, 1700, preached there thirty-eight years ; 
married (first) Elizabeth Hopkins, of Hadley, Mas- 
sachusetts, (second) Eunice Woodbury, of Salem, 
Massachusetts, died at St. Johnsbury. Vermont, 
May 28, 1846. Thomas, born in Hollis, November 
22, 1768, ordained over the Congregational Church 
at Salisbury, New Hampshire, November 9, 1791, 
dismissed April 24. 1823: married, March 11, 1792, 
Deborah Lee. of Manchester, Massachusetts, and 
died at Salisbury, December 24, 1S31. Samuel, the 
youngest of the seven children of Noah and Lydia 
( Taylor) Worcester, was born in Hollis, New 
Hampshire, November i, 1770, graduated from 
Dartmouth College in 1795, ordained pastor of the 
Congregational Church at Fitchburg, Massachu- 
setts, September 27. 1797, and dismissed, September 
8. 1802. He was installed pastor of the Tabernacle 
Church in Salem, Massachusetts, April 20. 1803. At 
the first meeting of the A. B. C. F. M. he was 
chosen corresponding secretary. He performed the 
duties of these two offices, receiving the help of an 
assistant pastor in 1819, until his death, June 7, 1821, 
at Brainard, East Tennessee. He was honored by 
the degree of Doctor of Divinity from Princeton 
College in 1811. He married, October 20, 1797, 
Zervia. daughter of Dr. Jonathan Fox, of Dracut, 
Massachusetts, and they had eleven children. 

The nine children of Captain Noah Worcester 
and his second wife, Hepzibah (Sherwin) Wor- 
cester were : Hepsibah, born June 12, 1773, married, 
January i, 1795, Rev. David Smith, of Hollis and 
^.leridith, New Hampshire, died January 14, 1827. 
William, born December 11, 1774, died January 10, 
1775- William, born November 29, 1775, died Jan- 
uary 13, 1776. Abigail, born June 29, 1777, died 
November 30, 1778. David, born April 30, 1779, 
died March 22, 1782. Ebenezer, born April 30, 
1781, was a master carpenter; married (first) Mary, 
daughter of William Punchard, of Salem, (second) 
Mrs. Elizabeth Gerrish, of Salem, died in Stoneham, 
Massachusetts, September 18, 1844. Hannah, born 
March 17, 1783, married (first) Deacon Stephen 
Thurston, of Bedford, New Hampshire, and 
(second) Jonathan Ireland, of Dunbarton, New 
Hampshire. David, born March 25, 1785, died 
March 13, 1808. James, born February 23, 17S8, 
lived in Fitchburg, Massachusetts, and various 
other places, a teacher and painter; married (first) 
Mary, daughter of Daniel Lawrence, of Hollis, 
New Hampshire, and (second) Prudence, daughter 
of Joseph Blood, of Har^'ard, Massachusetts, died 
May 3, 1833. Captain Noah Worcester died in 
Hollis, New Hampshire, August 13, 181 7. His 
widow died July 2, 1831. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



no: 



(VI) Jesse, second son and child of Noah and 
Lydia (Taylor) Worcester, was born in Hollis, 
New Hampshire, April 30, 1761. In 1776. at t'le 
age of fifteen, he accompanied the expedition to 
Ticonderoga, and was afterwards repeatedly en- 
rolled in the Continental army. He moved to Bed- 
ford, New Hampshire, in 1782, where he spent the 
first twelve years of his married life. In 1794 he 
came back to HoIIis and succeeded to the homestead, 
where he Uved until his death at the age of seventy- 
three. In 180J he and his wife united with the 
church at Hollis. On the same day they presented 
their twelve children, six sons and six daughters, 
for baptism; three sons were subsequently born 
to them. Jesse Worcester was an occasional con- 
tributor to the public prints, and an author of an 
unpublished work, "The Chronicles of Nissitissit." 
He married in 1782, Sarah, daughter of Josiah 
Parker, of Hollis. She was born April 24, 1762, 
and died April i, 1847, aged eighty-five years. Jesse 
Hollis died January 20, 1834. Of the fifteen children 
born to this couple, all but the eldest, who died 
at the age of twenty-seven, married and lived to 
mature years. The children were : Jesse, born No- 
vember 30, 1782, died September 25. 1809. Joseph 
Emerson, born August 24, 1784. Sarah, born March 
12, 1786, married Daniel French, and lived in Hard- 
wick, Vermont. Lydia, born February 22, 1789, 
married, January 18, 1809, Deacon Samuel Taylor, 
and lived in Worcester, Massachusetts. Abigail, 
born December 15, 1790, married Lemuel Snow, 
and lived in Utica, New York. Hannah, born June 
22, 1792, married Francis Fuller, October 11, 1825, 
lived in Hardwick, Vermont, and died June 6, 
1853. Leonard, born March 22, 1794. Deborah, 
born May 22, 1796, married Rev. Jacob N. Loomis, 
September 6, 1822, and lived in Craftsbury, Ver- 
mont. Martha, born October 24, 1797, married 
Francis Fuller, February 30, 1S19, and died Sep- 
tember 9, 1824. Taylor Oilman, born April 6, 1799. 
John Newton, whose sketch follows. Henry Aiken, 
born September 25, 1802. Samuel Thomas, born 
August 30, 1804. Frederick Augustus, born Jan- 
uary 28, 1807. David, born April 13, 1808. 

The nine sons of this family present a remark- 
able record for erudition, which it is believed can- 
not be equalled by any other family in the state. 
The eldest died just as he was about to enter Dart- 
mouth. Of the other eight, six were college men, 
two belonging to Yale and four to Harvard. The 
second son, Joseph Emerson, was the author of the 
world famous Worcester's Dictionary. He was 
born in Bedford, New Hampshire, was graduated 
from Yale College in 181 1, taught several years at 
Salem, INIassachusetts, and after 1820 lived at Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts, where he produced the geo- 
graphies, histories and dictionaries that have made 
his name a household word. When in his fifty- 
seventh year, in June, 1841, he married Amy Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Dr. Joseph McKean, professor of 
Rhetoric and Oratory at Harvard College. Dr. 
Worcester died October i"/, 1S65. Leonard Wor- 
cester was a machinist and yeoman. He lived in 
iii — 19 



Rochester, New York, Worcester and Shrewsbury, 
Massachusetts. He married, June I, 1823. Sarah 
Sternes, of Worcester. Taylor Oilman, of the young- 
er Worcesters, was born in Hollis, New Hampshire. 
He was graduated from Harvard College in 1823 
and from the Andover Theological Seminary in 
1827, was engaged for a few years in teaching and 
in translating "Swedenborg's True Christian Re- 
ligion," and in 1833 retired to the farm in Hollis 
which had been occupied by three earlier genera- 
tions of the family. He married, February 13, 1837, 
Lucy S., daughter of James Bell, of Walden, Ver- 
mont. They had six children : Mary Jane, born 
December 20, 1837. Lucy E., February 22, 1839, 
and who now lives on the old Worcester homestead. 
William', November 7, 1840, father of William W. 
Worcester, member of the junior class at Dart- 
mouth (1907). Henry, April 8, 1844. Hariett E., 
July 14, 184s. Francis J., November I, 1848. 
Henry Aiken Worcester, the sixth son of Jesse, 
was graduated from Yale College in 1828, became 
a Swedenborgian minister and preached at Abing- 
ton, ]\Iassachusetts, and at Bath, Gardiner and Port- 
land. !Maine. He married, August 26, 1838, Olive, 
daughter of Rufus Gay, of Gardiner, Maine, and 
died at Portland, Maine, May 24, 1841. SamueJ 
Thomas Worcester, the seventh son of Jesse, was 
graduated from Harvard College in 1830, was a 
lawyer at Norwalk, Ohio, from 1835 to 1867, wheii 
he removed to Nashua, New Hampshire. He was 
a member of the Ohio senate in 1849-50, was elected 
district judge in the tenth Ohio district in 1859, 
and while holding that office was electe'd to the 
LTnited States congress in 1861. He was the author 
of many text-books and other publications, includ- 
ing the History of Hollis, New Hampshire, I\Iay 
12, 1825. He married Mary C. F. Wales 
daughter of Samuel Wales, of Stoughton, ^ilassa- 
chusetts. Frederick Augustus, eighth son of Jesse 
Worcester, was graduated from Harvard College 
in 1831. He practiced law at Townsend, Massachu- 
setts, and was a member of the Massachusetts legis- 
lature in 1856. He married, January 21, 1854, 
Jane Vl., daughter of Charles Kellogg, of Amherst, 
Massachusetts. David, ninth son, and youngest of 
the fifteen children of Jesse and Sarah Worcester, 
entered Harvard College in 1828, left during the 
junior year, and taught school in China, Farmington 
and Bangor. Maine. He was principal of the Ban- 
gor high school for about ten years. He married. 
June 6, 1832, Ellen, daughter of Joseph Scwall. of 
Farmington. 

(.VII) John Newton, fifth son and eleventh child 
of Jesse and Sarah (Parker) Worcester, was bom 
in Hollis, New Hampshire, February 7, 1801. He 
was a farmer and lumberryan. He served as select- 
man of his native town, and was a member of Gov- 
ernor Berry's council in 1861-62. In politics he was 
an independent. He married, December 26, 1826, 
Sarah E., daughter of Phineas Holdcn, of Charles- 
town. Massachusetts. She was born July 19, 1801, 
and died January 4. 1874. They had nine childre;! 
of whom four only are living in 1907. The cliildreii 



iio6 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



were Sarah Caroline, born October lo, 1827, married, 
September 13, 1855. Jabez Augustus Sawj'er, and lived 
in Roxbury, Massachusetts. Frances Ellen, born 
July 4, 1830, married August 18, 1852, Charles S. 
Farrar, of Pepperell, Massachusetts, and lived in 
Elmira. New York. Martha, born May 12, 1833, 
married Samuel W. Fletcher, December 6, 1868. 
Abby Elizabeth, born April i, 1835. Charles Henry, 
born January iS, 1837, a soldier in the war of 1861- 
65. John Howard, born January iS, 1839, enlisted 
in Company H, Seventh New Hampshire Volunteers, 
was wounded in the assault on Fort Wagner where 
he was captured, but was soon exchanged and died on 
the boat coming from Charleston, South Caro- 
lina, to the North. Samuel Augustus, whose sketch 
foUous. Frederick, born August 2, 1842. Franklin, 
who-e sketch follows. John Newton Worcester 
died March 5, 1884. 

(VHI) Samuel Augustus, third son and seventli 
child of John Newton and Sarah E. (Holden) Wor- 
cester, was born June 29, 1840, in Hollis, New 
Hampshire. He attended the public schools and the 
academy at New Ipswich. New Hampshire. He is 
a luiTiberman and farmer. He is also interested, 
with his brothers, Franklin and Frederick, in the 
furniture business in Cambridge, ^Massachusetts. 
He has charge of the large farm which the brothers 
own in Hollis. In politics he is a Republican. He 
married Elizabeth B. Day, daughter of Rev. Pliny 
Butts Day, D. D., a noted divine of Hollis. They 
have two children : Charles Fred, born September 
6, 1872. lives at home; and Carrie, born October 18, 
1876. died January 21, 1892. 

(VIII) Franklin, youngest of the nine children 
of John Newton and Sarah E. (Holden) Worcester, 
was born in Hollis, New Hampshire, October 27, 
1845. He attended the schools in Hollis and fitted 
for college at the Academy of New Ipswich, New 
Hampshire. He was graduated from Dartmouth 
in 1870. He then studied a year in Harvard Law 
School, taking the two years' course in one. Upon 
leaving school he was admitted to the bar of Jilid- 
dlese.x county, Massachusetts. He then went to 
Minneapolis and was about to enter into partner- 
ship with Judge Atwater and the brother of Gen- 
eral Joseph Hooker, but he returned home for his 
books and was persuaded to stay by his parents. 
He represented his town in the state legislature of 
1875. and was state senator in 1887. While in the 
legislature he was chairman of the railload com- 
mittee when the Hazen-Atherton bill was intro- 
duced. Mr. Worcester has always been a hard 
worker for the interests of his section, in the 
legislature and out. During the sessions of 1895 
and 1897 he labored earnestly for a charter for a 
railroad front Manchester to IMilford, New Hamp- 
shire, but the Boston & !Maine corporation defeated 
the movement. Later they were compelled to build 
the road through the force of public sentiment. 
His opposition to the railroad interests in behalf 
of the people defeated Mr. Worcester for the nomi- 
nation by the Republicans for governor in the year 
1898. He was practically sure of the nomination 
until within a week of the convention. Mr. Wor- 



cester is a busy man, looking after his own varied 
enterprises. In partnership with his brothers 
Frederick and Samuel Augustus, under the firm 
name of Worcester Brothers, he operates a furni- 
ture store with an upholstery department employing 
about forty hands at Cambridge, Massachusetts. 
The brothers do a large luinbering business in New 
Hampshire, operating one saw mill of their own, 
and renting a nuinber of others. They also carry 
on a large farm at the home place in Hollis. 



This is a name found early in the New 
BIGELOW England records with a great vari- 
ety of spellings. In some places it 
is written, Biglo. Another wide variation is Begu- 
lej', and various forms are given by various writers 
of the Colonial days. The name has been well repre- 
sented, both as to numbers and in the character of 
citizenship throughout the country. It is from the 
Anglo-Saxon biggan (big) and hlaew, hl.-tw (a hill, 
or barrow) ; the place of residence of the person 
who finally took it as a surname. 

(I) John Bigelow was baptized in England, Feb- 
ruary 16, 1617, and came to Watertown, Massachu- 
setts, very early. He died July 14, 1703. at the age 
of eightj'-six years. He married, in Watertown, 
October 30, 1642, Mary Warren, who was also a 
native of England. She died October 19, 1691. He 
married (second), in 1694, Sarah Benis. He had 
six sons and six daughters, and was the ancestor 
of numerous families of the name throughout New 
England. His sons were: John, Jonathan, Daniel, 
Samuel, Joshua and James. 

(II) Samuel, fourth son of John and ^lary 
(Warren) Bigelow, was born October 28, 1653, in 
\Vatertown, and was an innkeeper there from 1702 
to 1716. He was admitted to full communion March 
4. 1688, and was made a freeman April 16, 1690, 
and represented the town at the general court in 
1708-09-10. He married, June 3, 1674, Mary Flagg 
who was born June 14, 1657. and died September 7, 
1720, a daughter of Thomas and iNIary Flagg. They 
had ten children, nine of whom are given as fol- 
lows : John, Mary, Samuel, Sarah, Thomas, Martha, 
Hannah, Isaac and Deliverance. (Mention of 
Thomas and descendants forms part of this article). 

(III) John (2), eldest child of Samuel and Mary 
(Flagg) Bigelow, was born May 9, 1675. in Water- 
town, and settled in ^Marlboro, Massachusetts. In 
1705 he was at the garrison house of Mr. Thomas 
Sawyer, and with Sawyer and his sons was taken 
captive by the Indians and conveyed to Canada. 
Bigelow and Sawyer were both ingenious mechanics 
and they proposed to the governor of Montreal to 
erect a saw mill, and thereby ransom themselves 
from captivity. This was accepted, and after they 
had fulfilled their part with some delays, they were 
permitted to return with their friends. In token 
of his gratitude for deliverance from captivity, Mr. 
Bigelow nained the daughters born after his return 
Comfort and Freedom. He died September 28, 
1769. more than ninety-four years old. He married, 
June 12, 1696, Jerusha Garfield, who died January 
16, 175S. Their children were: Jcruslia. Thankful, 






'M 




XEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1 107 



Joseph, John, Comfort. Freedom, Anna and Gersh- 
om (twins), Jotham. Benjamin and Sarah. 

(IV) Gershom, third son and eighth cliild of 
John (2) and Jerusha (Garfield) Bigelow, was born 
November 13, 1714, in Marlboro, and died in that 
town, January 3, 1812, in his ninety-eighth year. 
He married Mary, daughter of Thomas Howe. She 
died June 9, 1802, aged eighty-four years. Their 
children were : Timothy, Ivory, Mary and .Anna. 

(V) Ivory, second son of Gershom and Mary 
(Howe) Bigelow, was born October 7, 1741, in 
Marlboro. Massachusetts. He was a lieutenant of 
the militia of that town, where he died February 

14, 1804. He married, .lugust 13, 1763, Sophia 
Banister, daughter of John and .'\bigail Ban- 
ister. She survived her husband more than 
twenty-si.x years, and died August 13, 1830, at the 
age of eighty-three. Their children were ; Wil- 
liam, Christopher, Solomon. Gershom, Martha, .Abi- 
gail, John, Sophia, Phoebe, Mary, .Anna, Ivory and 
Benjamin. 

(VI) William, eldest child of Ivory and Sophia 
(Banister) Bigelow, was born, 1764, in Marlboro, 
and died there December 30, 1807, in his thirty- 
fourth year. He married, May 14, 1786, Catherine, 
daughter of .Antipas Brigham. She survived him 
more than twenty-three years, and died February 
2.?. 1831, at the age of si.xty-four. Their children 
were: John. Edward, .Asa, .Abigail, Jotham, .Arti- 
mus, Levi, .Adeline, Luther and William. 

(VII) John, eldest child of William and Cather- 
ine (Brigham) Bigelow, was born October 25, 1786, 
in Marlboro, and died in 1824. He married, Sep- 
tember 3, 1809, Hepzabeth Barnes, daughter of Col- 
onel Lovewell Barnes, of Marlboro. 

(VIII) Isabella, daughter of John and Hep- 
zabeth (Barnes) Bigelow, was born December 28, 
1809, in Marlboro, Massachusetts, and married, 
April to, 1828, David (2) Trull. (See Trull V). 

(III) Lieutenant Thomas, fifth child and third 
son of Samuel and Mary (Flagg) Bigelow, was 
born in Watertown. October 24, 1683. He married 
and settled in Marlboro. He afterwards moved to 
Waltham, where he was selectman 1738-40-41. and 
representative 1738 and 1741. He died in Waltham, 
October 6, 1756. His will was proved November 

15, same year. He married, July 12, 1705, Mary 
Livcrmore, born .April 11, 16S4, daughter of Lieu- 
tenant John and Hannah Livcrmore, of Watertown. 
She died .August 14, 1753. Their children were: 
Thomas. Mary, Grace, Uriah, Abraham, Isaac, 
Jacob, Sarah and Josiah, whose sketch follows. 

(IV) Lieutenant Josiah, sixth son and ninth 
and youngest child of Lieutenant Thomas and Mary 
(Livcrmore) Bigelow, w-as born in Waltham. July 
3, 1730, and died in Waltham July IS, 1810, aged 
eighty years. He lived for a time in Waltham, and 
afterwards in Weston. He was prominent in town 
affairs and was a military man, being lieutenant of 
Captain Israel Whittemore's artillery company. He 
marched with this company on the alarm of .April 
I9> ■775. at which time the company was in service 
four days. He married, July 27, 1749, Mary Har- 
rington, born March 8, T730, daughter of Jonas and 



.Abigail (Stearns) Harrington of Watertown. Their 
children were : William, Anna, Uriah (died 
young). Converse, Eunice, .\lphcus. Mary, Uriah, 
Tliomas and Sarah. 

(V) Deacon Thomas (2), ninth child and sixtli 
son of Josiah and Mary (Harrington) Bigelow, 
was born in Waltham, .August 11, 1768, (probably) 
and died in Weston, January 23, 1856. He lived 
for several years in Waltham ; about 1802 he moved 
to Weston, where he was deacon of the church for 
many years. He married, November 3, 1791, Mir- 
iam Hager, who died in Weston, August 21, 1818. 
He married (second), 1819, Mrs. .Abigail Hastings, 
who died Novenrber 5, 1862. The children, all by 
the first wife, were :. Thomas, Maria, Orilla, Wash- 
ington, Isaac, Charles and Marshall. 

(VI) Isaac, fifth child and third son of Deacon 
Thomas (2) and Miriam (Hager) Bigelow, was 
born in Weston. Massachusetts. ]\Iarch 19, 1802, 
and died in Charlestown, May 8, 1849. He mar- 
ried, October 2, 1823, Harriet Warren of Lincoln, 
who died February 18, 1852. The children were: 
Isaac Alqnzo, Harriet Maria, Mary Caroline. Susan 
E. and Thomas Henry. Isaac .A., born March 21, 
1825, married Nell C. Munroe. Harriet M., Sep- 
tember 29, 1827; married, January 4, 1848, Henry 
P. Hall of Chelsea. Mary C.. August 10, 183 1 ; 
married, December 13, 1853, Hiram Rollins. Susan 
E., -April 26, 1837, married, November i5, 1861, 
Hon. Joshua G. Hall of Dover, New Hampshire. 
(See Hall \T). Thomas H., October, 1839; en- 
listed May 2^, 1861, in the First Regiment, Massa- 
chusetts Volunteer Infantry, and served as ser- 
geant of Company H, was wounded at the battle 
of Chancellorsville, Virginia, and died from his 
injuries, June 2, 1863. 



Tliis name is first found at Lynn, 
DIMONU Massachusetts, and is soon trans- 
ported to New Hampshire, where it 
has had worthy representatives in various localities 
down to the present daj-. It has always been nu- 
merously represented in southern Maine and along 
tlie New Hampshire coast. 

(I) Israel Dimond w-as a resident of Amcsbury, 
Massachusetts, where he married, January 5, 1691, 
.Abiell Prowse, daughter of John and Hannah 
(Barnes) Prowse. He is recorded as of Boston in 
1690, and died November 13, 1716, in .Amcsbury. 
His will was dated nine days previously, and was 
proven in May following. His widow married, No- 
vember II, 1718, Richard (3) Bartlett, of .Ames- 
bury. Israel Dimond's children were : Hannah, 
Reuben and Elizabeth. 

(II) Reuben, only son of Israel and .Abiell 
(Prowse) Dimond, was born February 8, 1695, in 
-Amesbury, and married, December 20, 1721, Dorothy 
Worthen, daughter of Thomas, and granddaughter 
of Ezekiel Worthen, of .Amesbury, Her mother was 
Hannah (.Annis) Worthen. She was born October 
5, 1700 (.Amesbury records say 1699). When the 
province line between Massachusetts and New 
Hampshire was located in 1741. many residents of 
.Amesbury found themselves in the latter colony. On 



iio8 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



the organization nf the town of South Hampton in 
1742, Reuben Dimond was elected town clerk, and 
the records bear frequent repetition of his name. It 
is not probable that he was a member of the church, 
as no records appear in the archives of that body 
pertaining to him or his children. At that date 
people were growing liberal, and one might be a 
voter and hold office who was not a church member. 
In April and May, 1746, he was a soldier in a 
company of scouts under command of Captain John 
Gofife, and he served as selectman, as well as clerk, 
of South Hampton. He died about 1770. His will, 
on record at Concord, was dated April i. 1764. and 
the bond of the executor is dated December 26, 1770. 
This instrument shows him to fiave been in posses- 
sion of large tracts of land. To his son Israel, of 
Kingston, he gives land in that town ; to son Eze- 
kiel, land in Concord ; and son Isaac, of Exeter, 
received land in that town. There were four daugh- 
ters living in 1764, namely: Hannah, Dorothy, Ju- 
dith (wife of Joseph French) and Miriam (Mrs. 
Benjamin Tewksbnry). 

(Ill) Ezekiel. second son of Reuben and Dorothy 
(Worthen) Dimond, was born in South Hampton 
(then Amesbury, Massachusetts), about 1725, and 
continued to reside there until about 1750. His wife, 
Miriam (Fowler) Dimond, was born about 1727, 
and was baptized in the South Hampton Church, 
January 15, 1749. In the following year Mr. Dimond 
settled at Concord. He was the first settler on the 
farm now owned by Isaac N. Abbott, on what has 
ever since been called Dimond Hill, and became an 
extensive land owner. He built a log house on the 
brow of the hill. During the period of Indian 
alarms he and his family often lived in the 
garrison around the house of Rev. Mr. Walker in 
the village of Rumford (Concord). As these 
alarms were frequent they often moved back and 
forth between the farm and the fort. Once when 
alarmed by Indians Mrs. Dimond had a well in 
her loom, and she took out the yarn beam and 
wound the reed and harness about it and carried it 
to the fort and wove it there. Ezekiel Dimond was 
surveyor of highways, 1768 to 1777, inclusive: tyth- 
ingman, 1772 to 1775: constable, 1778; petit juror, 
twice in 1779: and selectman in 1779. Mr. Dimond 
and his wife were well educated for the times, and 
taught their children so successfully that they could 
read, write and cipher well. Some of the older 
children never went to school over six weeks. They 
learned to write lying on the cabin floor, using pitch 
pine knots for candles and birch bark instead of pa- 
per. Ezekiel Dimond and his wife were members 
of Parson Walker's Church. Mr. Dimond died Feb- 
ruary 22, 1800, aged seventy-five: and his wife 
April, 1809, aged eighty-two. The first person bur- 
ied in the burying ground at Millville is said to 
have been Mrs. Sally, first wife of John Dimond, 
about 1797. Ezekiel Dimond was the second. 

Ezekiel and Miriam Dimond were the parents 
of ten children— seven sons and three daughters; 
two of whom died in infancy. Four of the sons were 
in the Revolutionary war: one of them was out 
three years, and the others out a few montlis at 



a time. All the sons except one lived to be over 
seventy years of age, and two were between eighty 
and ninety. Their second child, a daughter, lived 
to be over seventy-five. The names of eight of 
the children are given as follows: Ezekiel, Isaac, 
John, Reuben. Abner, Miriam. Israel and Jacob. 
(Mention of Reuben and descendants appears in 
this article). 

(IV) John, third son of Ezekiel and Marj- 
( Fowler) Dimond, was born 1764, in Concord, 
where he died .-Kpril 14, 1S30. He married (first) 
Sarah Emerson, who died April 4, 1798, and her 
body was the first deposited in the cemetery at 
Millville. Concord. He married (second) Mary 
Quig Stevens. His children, all born of the first 
wife, were: David, Dolly, Miriam, Sarah, Isaac, 
John, Samuel, Elizabeth. Oiildren by second wife 
were Ruth, .\bigail, Mary and Benjamin. 

(V) Samuel, fourth son and seventh child of 
John and Sarah (Emerson) Dimond, was born 
July 29. 1794, in Concord, and was reared on his 
father's farm in that town. He learned the cooper's 
trade wdiich he followed for some years, and sub- 
sequently engaged in merchandising, having a store 
at West Concord. After a successful year he sold 
out and removed to a farm which was long occu- 
pied by his descendants. He married, August 17. 
1822, Susan Blanchard, born March i, I795. widow 
of Samuel Blanchard, and daughter of Reuben and 
Mary (Currier) Dimond. (See Reuben IV). He 
died" in 1866. and was survived by his widow for 
eleven years. She passed away December 23, 1877. 
Their children were: George, Esther (died young), 
Oral John S.. A. LuciUa, Esther F., Reuben O., 
Clara A.. William R., Mary S., Susan and Ellen H. 

(VI) George, son of Samuel and Susan (Di- 
mond) (Blanchard) Dimond, born at West Con- 
cord 182^. married, January. 1851, Mary Chandler, 
of Saco Elaine. Their children are: i. 
Thomas C, born January, 1852, died unmar- 
ried in Brooklyn, New York, 1884. 2. Susan J 
born June, 18^3. married, April 29. 1885, Howard 
I ^iken of Portsmouth, New Hampshire: no 
fimilv ^ Samuel G.. born October. 1855. unniar- 
ried ■ 4 Oral H., born 1857. died December, ibpi^ 
S Mary Elizabeth, born April 10, i860, married 
George S. Lovcioy, of Boston, have tvvo sons, 
George H.. born September, 1885; Wilham M., born 
November, 1886. 

(VI) Oral has not been heard of since 1844, 
was then in California. 

(VI) John S., son of Samuel and Susan (Di- 
mond) (Blanchard) Dimond, born February 25, 
1828. married, 1853. Eliza Williams, of Georgetown, 
Maine Thev have one son, William T., born 
December, i860, married, in 1888. Jennie Hunkins : 
they have one daughter, Ina Esther. 

'(VI) A. Lucilla, daughter of Samuel and Susan 
(Dimond) (Blanchard) Dimond born Janu.yy 25. 
,830, married, January 21, .859. W. \\ . Hunt, who 
died 1893. They had one child. Mary S., born 
Februai-y 10. i860. , , c 

(VI) Esther F.. daughter of Samuel and :?usan 
(Dimond) (Blanchard) Dimond, was born Aprd 




WILLIAM R. DIMOND 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1 109 



24. 1S32, in Concord, and married, November 21, 
1866, Albert P. Morrison, of Boston, Massachusetts, 
•whom she survives, and now resides in Salisbury. 
(See Morrison). 

(VI) Reuben O., son of Samuel and Susan 
(Dimond) (Blanchard) Dimond, born in Concord. 
Jlay i6, 1834, married (first) Mary Boothby, of 

Maine. Married (second) Margaret , and 

reside.^ in Elmira. New York. 

(VI) William R., son of Samuel and Susan 
(Dimond) (Blanchard) Dimond, born December 
22, 1837, married. November 10, 1869. Emma A. 
Donger. He served in the Sixteenth New Hamp- 
shire Volunteers in the Civil war. Died at New- 
ton, Lower Falls, Massachusetts, September, 1896. 
No family. 

(VI) Mary S., daughter of Samuel and Susan 
(Dimond) (Blanchard) Dimond, born November 
10, 1840. married, March 22. 1865, Charles G. Green- 
leaf. Their children: Anna L., born March 19, 
1868. Carl D.. born July 27, 1876. 

(VI) Ellen H., daughter of Samuel and Susan 
(Dimond) (Blanchard) Dimond, born June 29, 
1845. married Fred. A. Horr. No family. 

(IV) Reuben, son of Ezekiel and Miriam (Fow- 
ler) Dimond, was born on Dimond Hill, about 
1755, and died November 17, 1825. He was a mem- 
ber of Rev. Mr. McFarland's First Congregational 
Church, but not at first a supporter of the pastor. 
He was a quiet citizen, devoting most of his time 
and attention to his own business ; was a farmer 
and passed the greater part of his life in Concord, 
on a farm west of Long Pond He married, 1780, 
Mary Currier, born about 1757, died March, 1846, 
at Concord, New Hampshire. Their children were : 
Sarah. Esther. William, Daniel, Hannah, Jacob, 

Molly, Judith, Susan, Zilpha and Oral. The young- 
est of these died at the age of fifty, while the 
■others lived to be from seventy to ninety years of 
:age. Susan became the wife of Samuel Dimond 
(see Samuel). 

(V) Jacob, sixth child and third son of Reuben 
and Mary (Currier) Dimond, was born in Con- 
cord. September s, 1789, and died April 15, 1879, 
aged almost ninety years. He lived on a farm on 
West Parish road, which contained about seventy 
acres, .\fter attending the common schools, Jacob 
Dimond went to Boscawen and learned the trade 
of wheelwright. For years he had a small 
shop on his farm where he made wheels for spin- 
ning flax, until their manufacture by machinery 
ruined his business, when he turned his attention 
to the making of carriage wheels. He was indus- 
trious and thrifty and gradually added to his landed 
property, till at the time of his death he was the 
proprietor of a goodly number of acres. In politics 
he was a Whig, and served one or two terms in the 
legislature. He was a member of the North Church 
and a charter member of the West Concord Church. 
He married Rose Abbot, daughter of Ezra Abbot, 
of Concord, and they had one child, Elbridge. 

{\V) Elbridge, only son of Jacob and Rose 
(.■\bbot) Dimond, was bom .August 4, 1818. and 
-died on his farm. December 24. 1902. He acquired 



a common school education and lived on the farm 
with his father, w-hich he assisted in cultivating, 
and also learned the wheelwright's trade from his 
father. In 1863 he came into possession of the 
paternal homestead, to which he added by various 
purchases. There the remainder of his life was 
spent. He was a life-long member of the Congre- 
gational Church. He was a Republican after the 
rise of that party, and was selectman one term ; 
alderman in 1857 and 1858, and represented ward 
three of Concord in the legislature in 1859-60. He 
married. April 11, 1843, Jeannette Hoit, daughter 
of Enoch and Mary (French) Hoit, born January 
24, 1823, died September 23, 1895. Mr. Hoit was 
the owner of a large fami a short distance from the 
Dimond farm on "Horse Hill." The children bom 
of this marriage were : Gilman Hoit, born May 31, 
1844. and Frank E. 

(VII) Frank Elbridge, son of Elbridge and 
Jeanette (Hoit) Dimond, was born September 21, 
i860, and was educated in the common schools and 
academy at Penacook. He then returned to the 
paternal homestead where he has since resided. 
This farm contains two hundred acres, has good 
buildings, is well improved and well stocked. The 
house was built in 1858 and the barn in 1894. Mr. 
Dimond is an energetic, prosperous farmer, and 
takes an active part in public matters. He was select- 
man for his ward for two years, served two years 
each in the common council and the board of alder- 
men, for ward three. He is a Republican, and is a 
member of the Congregational Church. He was one 
of the constituent members of Penacook Park Grange, 
No. 84. Patrons of Husbandry, at West Concord, in 
which he still retains his membership. He was its 
second master, and many years secretary. He married, 
June 14, 1883, Mattie E. Carter, daughter of Au- 
gustine and Sarah E. (Restieaux) Carter. She was 
born in Hopkinton, March 3, 1861. (See Carter, 
VII). They have one son: Oliver Carter, bom 
October l, 1888. graduated in 1906, at Durham, in 
the two years course. 



The frequent appearance of tliis name 
^^TGGIN in the records of Rockingham county 

indicates that it was borne by im- 
portant and useful citizens, but the meagreness of 
those records renders it very difficult to follow any 
line of descent with certainty or satisfaction. The 
following, however, can be relied upon as accurate, 
a record of the careers of worthy people. 

(I) Captain Thomas Wiggin, came from 
Shrewsbury, England, and settled in New Hamp- 
shire in 16,30. He had a large grant of land which 
lay outside of any organized territory, and was 
known as Squamscott, an Indian name. From 1656 
to 1692, he paid taxes in Hampton, and was regarded 
as attached to that town. The territory is now a 
part of Stratham, and the records of this town 
show that a large portion of the inhabitants bore the 
r.ame down to a very recent date. 

In 1631 he was appointed agent and superintend- 
ent of the Dover plantation. Whether or not he came 
over W'ith Winthrop has not been definitely determined, 



mo 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



but he was very intimate vvitli the ^lassachusetts 
Bay governor, who wrote in the highest terms of 
his ability and worth. That Wiggin was considered 
a man of more than ordinary account is evidenced 
by the fact that he was placed in charge of the Up- 
per Plantation (so called), which embraced Diver, 
Durham and Stratham, with a portion of Newing- 
ton and Greenland. In the records he is referred 
to as governor and evidently exercised the full 
power of a colonial chief magistrate. In 1632 he 
was sent to England in the interests of the colony 
and "did much to avert the evils that threatened it 
from the enmity of Gorges and Mason." Upon his 
return he was accompanied by several families, in- 
cluding people of some account, and, as another 
record adds, others "of no account." He retained 
his office until 1636, when he was succeeded by 
George Burdette, but for a number of years after- 
wards he was closely identified with the public 
affairs of the colony, and upon its union with Mas- 
sachusetts he was appointed a magistrate. In 1645 
he was deputy to the general court from Dover, 
and from 1650 to 1664 was one of the assistants 
to the governor of Massachusetts, being the only 
one frorn New Hampshire. His death occurred 
about the year 1667. The Christian name of his 
wife was Catherine, and it was supposed that he 
married her in England during his visit there in 
1632 and 33. They had children baptized September 
26, 1641, under the names of Andrew, Mary and 
Thomas. Descendants of Governor Wiggin are 
quite numerous in New Hampshire as well as in 
the other New England states, and not a few of 
them possess to a more or less degree the strong 
characteristics of their sturdy Puritan ancestors. 

(II) Andrew, the elder son of Governor Thomas 
and Catherine Wiggin. was born about the year 
l63S' At the time of his marriage his parents gave 
him a deed of "all our land called or known by the 
name of Quamscott, being three miles square or 
thereabouts," in the neighborhood of Exeter, this 
state. Andrew does not appear to have been much 
in public life ; in fact the most interesting thing 
about his career was his marriage, which took place 
about the year 1659 to Hannah Bradstreet, daughter 
of Governor Simon Bradstreet, of' Andover, Massa- 
chusetts. Hannah Bradstreet's mother was Ann 
Dudley, a daughter of Governor Thomas Dudley, 
who was celebrated for her accomplishments and 
practical gifts. A small volume of her verse was 
published, probably one of the first offerings to the 
mass, issued in this country. The deed of the tract 
of land called "Quamscott," was given to the newly 
married couple by Governor Wiggin and his wife, 
June 4, 1663. Andrew and Hannah (Bradstreet) 
Wiggin had nine children : Thomas, Simon, men- 
tioned below; Andrew, Jonathan Bradstreet, Abigail, 
Mary, Dorothy, Sarah, and another daughter whose 
christian name is unknown, but who became the 
wife of Samuel Wentworth. (Mention of Brad- 
street and descendants appears in this work), An- 
drew Wiggin died in 1710 at the age of seventy-five, 
and his wife died about three years earlier. 

(HI) Simon, second son of Andrew and Han- 
nah (Bradstreet) Wiggin, was born April 17, 1664. 



The name of his first wife, the mother of his three 
children, is unknown. His second wife, the widow 
of Robert Tufton, was his first cousin, originally 
Catherine Wiggin, daughter of Thomas and grand- 
daughter of Governor Thomas Wiggin. Prior to 
the second marriage Captain Simon Wiggin made a 
marriage contract with his cousin Catherine. In 
this document, dated October 29, 1703, he agrees to 
take her "out of pure love and without anything be- 
side her person." This would seem to indicate that 
her first husband might have left her considerable 
propeny, as Catherine Wiggin formally relin- 
quishes any claim upon it. Mrs. Catherine Wiggin 
in her will speaks of her daughter Elizabeth, wife of 
Walter Philbrick, and also of three grandsons, two 
of whom bore the name of Tufton, indicating that 
she had a married son. The children of Captain 
Simon Wiggin were: Hannah, Deborah, mentioned 
below, and Lieutenant Simon. Captain Simon died 
about the year 1720, and his widow, Mrs. Catherine 
Wiggin, survived him about eighteen years. 

(IV) Deborah, second daughter and child of 
Captain Simon and his first wife, was born about 
1700. and married Nathan Goss, of Slratham, New 
Hampshire. (See Goss I). 

(III) Bradstreet, fifth son of Andrew (2) and 
Hannah (Bradstreet) Wiggin, was born in 1676, in 
Squamscott and resided in that district. He was 
married in Hampton, August 25, 1697, to Ann Chase, 
who was born January g, 1678, in Hampton, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Rachel (Partridge) Chase, and 
granddaughter of Thomas and Elizabeth (Philbrick) 
Chase, of Hampton (see Chase, V). Their eldest 
child was born at Exeter, and all are recorded at 
Hampton, namely: Chase, Thomas, Elizabeth and 
Joseph. 

(IV) Joseph, youngest child of Bradstreet and 
Ann (Chase) Wiggin, was born March 30, 1707, in 
Stratham, and resided in that town. The baptismal 
name of his first wife was Susanna, and their chil- 
dren are recorded in Stratham as follows : Joseph, 
David, Benjamin, Chase and Martha. His second 
wife was named Patience, and their children were : 
Paul, Noah, Susanna, Anna, Jonathan, William, 
Elizabeth, Thomas and Patience. No record of 
either marriage appears. The first wife died before 
1754, (probably before 1753), as the first child of 
the second wife was born in February, 1754. 

(V) Benjamin, third son of Joseph and Sus- 
anna Wiggin. was born February 14, 1743. ■" 
Stratham and made his home in his native town. 
No record of his marriage can be found but it is 
shown that his wife was Hannah Parsons. N& 
children are found in public records, but it is a 
matter of family knowledge that they had a son 
Mark. 

(VI) Mark Wiggin, son of Benjamin and Han- 
nah (Parsons) Wiggin, was born in Stratham. He 
married, August 5, 1807, Huldah Swett, at Moulton- 
borough. Both are registered as Tuftonborough. 
Tlieir children were: Hannah, Zorada, Mary, 
Charles, Ann, William, John, Julia and Emily. 
Zoroda married Benjamin Abbott (see Abbott, II) ; 
Mary .married Charles Edgerly ; Charles M. mar- 
ried a Miss Piper ; John T. married Mehitabler 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1 III 



Wiggin : Julia l)ecame the wife of Jonathan L. Mor- 
rison ; and Emily, wife of Augustus Mclntyre. 

(VII) William, sixth child of Mark and 
Huldah (Svvett) Wiggin, was born in Tuftonborough 
and was a farmer. William Wiggin and Dolly 
Snell, of Tuftonborough. were married December i, 
1814, by Rev. Isaac Townsend, of Wolfboro. Their 
children were : Woodbury, Abigail, Elizabeth. Wil- 
liam, Polly. John L., Vesta, Isaiah S., George Dana 
and (twins), and Joseph A. 

(VIII) William (2). fourth child of William 
(i) and Dolly (Snell) Wiggin, was born in Tufton- 
borough. and was a lifelong farmer. Like his an- 
cestors he was a diligent laborer, a good citizen and 
the father of a goodly family. He inarried Ann 
Wiggin, a daughter of Mark and Huldah (Swett) 
Wiggin. and thej- had : Edward, deceased ; Louise, 
now j\Irs. Benjamin Lucas; Laura, unmarried, a 
resident of Wolfborough ; Rev. Frederick A., pastor 
of Unity Church. Boston ; and Elizabeth, who mar- 
ried Charles Johnson. 

(I) Daniel Wiggin was a native of Stratham 
where he >pcnt his life in farming. He was mar- 
ried to Deborah Wiggin by Rev. James Miltimore, 
of Stratham, .August 7, 1794. Their children were: 
John A.. Daniel, Thomas Jefl'erson, James Madison. 
Nancy, Maria and Eliza, all of whotu are buried in 
Lakeview cemetery. Wolfborough. 

(II) James JNIadison. fourth son and child of 
Daniel and Deborah (Wiggin) Wiggin, was born 
and died in Wolfborough, where he was a successful 
farmer and a respected citizen. James M. Wiggin. 
of Wolfborough, and Carolina B. Wiggin. daughter 
of James and Ruth (Varney) Wiggin, of Tufton- 
borough. were married by Thomas Rust, justice of 
the peace, of Wolfborough, December 15. 18,^1. 
They were the parents of George Wiggin. of Tufton- 
borough, and Eliza C. Wiggin, who married Benja- 
min K. Webster (see Webster, III). 

(I) Henry Wiggin was married. March ,ii. 1765, 
to Lydia Shute, daughter of ^lichael Shutc. whose 
wife's maiden name w'as Welthon. Lydia (Shute) 
Wiggin died July 22, 1784. Her children were : 
Michael, born 1765; Henry, 1767; Lydia (died 
young), Welthon, Susanna, Elizabeth and Lydia. 

(II) Henry (2), second son of Henry (i) and Lydia 
(Shute) Wiggin, was born January 5, 1767. He 
was married June 29, 1797, in Wakefield, New 
Hampshire, to Betsey Clark, who was born Decem- 
ber 31, 1770, and died November 25, 1836. 

(III) Levi Barker, son of Henry and Betsey 
(Clark) Wiggin, was born March 10, 181 1, in 
Wakefield, and went from that town to Jackson, 
where he was an industrious farmer. He was a 
descendant of Governor Thomas Wiggin through 
the latter's son Andrew, and therefore belonged 
to the Stratham branch of the family. The maiden 
name of his wife is not at hand, neither is a list 
of his children, of whom there were nine. 

(II) Henry, son of Barker Levi Wiggin, was 
born in Jackson in 1845. He was a stone-mason by 
trade, and followed that occupation in connection 
with farming for a greater part of his active life. 
A kind-hearted, generous man, he was a universal 
favorite in Jackson, and his death, which occurred 



there in 1901, was the cause of sincere regret among 
his large circle of friends and acquaintance.-. He 
married, October 25, 1863, Mary B. Trickey, daugh- 
ter of Captain Joshua H. Trickey, and reared a 
family of three children, namely: Martha F-., .-Mice 
T. (who is now the wife ■ of Brackett Hurling, 
manager of the General Wentworth estate), and 
Henry M., M. D., of Whitefield. 

(Ill) Henry Mayhew, M. D., youngest child anil 
only son of Henry and Mary B. (Trickey) Wi.ggin, 
was born in Jackson, December 14, 1868. From 
the public schools of his native town he went to 
the Bridgton (Maine) Academy, and although 
forced to earn the sum necessary for his tuition 
and expenses, thereby being obliged to absent him- 
self one term each year, he pursued the re.i^ular 
course in three years. He subsequently pursued a 
scientific and a commercial course, and decided to 
enter the medical profession as a homoeopath he 
became a student in the medical department of the 
Boston University, graduating in 1895. ■'^ f^w days 
after graduating he went to Whitefield. where for 
the ensuing six years he was attached to Dr. Mor- 
rison's Hospital and in connection with the position 
on the regular stai^ of that institution he has prac- 
ticed his profession in that town, doing a genera! 
practice. Since leaving the university his profes- 
sional progress has been both rapid and substantial 
and in addition to being a skillful operator he has 
attained a high reputation as an expert in the diag- 
nosis of diseases. Dr. Wiggin is a member of the 
New Hampshire State Homeopathic and the Coos 
County medical societies, and the American Insti- 
tute of Homoeopathy. For a period of five years he 
has served as state medical examiner. He affiliates 
with the jNIasonic order, the Knights of Pythias 
and the Benevolent Order of Elks. He married, 
November 6, 1895, Georgiana I. Russell, daughter 
of George A. Russell, of Dorchester, ilassachusetts, 
and his two sons, Chester Henry and Rus>ell Mor- 
rison. 



This Wiggin family, which is of Eng- 
WIGGIN lish origin, went to Bedford from East 

Boston some forty years ago. and has 
ever since been identified with the dairying industry 
of that town. 

(I) John Thomas Wiggin resided in North 
Chelsea (now Revere), Massachusetts. He was a 
farmer. The maiden name of his wife was Mary 
Ann Hatch. Their children were : Sarah, (ieorge 
H. and John T. 

(II) George Hatch, second child and cUle-: -on 
of John Thomas and Mary Ann (Hatch) \\'i,ggin, 
was born in North Chelsea, May 22. 1S30. When a 
young man he became a section hand on the Grand 
Junction railway, over which is transported all of 
the freight from the various lines entering Boston 
to the East Boston terminal, and he rose to the 
position of road-master. He was also employed for 
some time in the warehouse connected with the 
foreign steamship lines. In 1866 he moved his fam- 
ily from East Boston to Bedford, where he pur- 
chased jointly with his brother-in-law, Henry Tay- 



III2 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



lor, the old Bedford Poor Farm, and was thence 
forward engaged in the milk business for some 
years. He lived on the farm until his death, which 
occurred October 28, 1891, He was quite active in 
political affairs, serving as a delegate to the Republi- 
can state convention in 1S88. but was best known 
as an amateur musician, playing the flute with un- 
usual ability, and sang in the church choir for 
many years. He was past master of Hammet 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, a member of 
several other Masonic bodies, and a charter member 
of Narragansett Grange, Patrons of Husbandry. 
September 28, 1855, he married Mary Ann Taylor, 
who was born in England, June 30, 1828, daughter 
of William and Emily (Harper) Taylor, the former 
of whom served in the British army for a period of 
twenty years and participated in the famous battle 
of Waterloo. She became the mother of seven chil- 
dren, five of whom were born in East Boston, 
namely: Sarah Elizabeth, born August 12, 1S56; 
George Henry, the di.te of whose birth will be given 
presently: Charles Hatch, born August 12, i860; 
William Lawrence, born August 14, 1862 (died 
September 20, 1863) ; and Walter Cleveland, born 
June 2, 1865 (died August 21, 1874). The others 
were Charlotte Taylor, born in Bedford April 6, 
1868 (died August 15, 1869) ; and Albert, born in 
Bedford July 4, 1872 (died January 23, 1873). 

(HI) George Henry, second child and eldest 
son of Geogre H. and Mary A. (Taylor) Wiggin, 
was born in East Boston, June 23, 1858. He was 
educated in the public schools of Boston and Bed- 
ford. He acquired a knowledge of dairy farming 
while assisting his father, and still carries on the 
homestead farm. Some twenty years ago he became 
associated with his brother, Charles H., in the milk 
business, which they are now conducting on an ex- 
tensive scale, owning eight hundred acres of land 
and handling the product of eighty cows. His po- 
litical affiliations are with the Republican party. 
He is a member of Narragansett Grange, in which 
latter he has held some of tlK important offices. He 
attends the Presbyterian Church. April 30, 1887, 
he was united in marriage with Mary Florence 
Minot, who was born in Manchester, September I, 
1867. daughter of William Henry and Mary Ella 
(Walker) Minot. The children of this union are: 
Alice Elizabeth, born December 14, 1888 ; Ralph 
Minot, born July 16, 1890; Charlotte Mary, born 
November 26, 1892; George Taylor, born July 26, 
1895 ; Charles Arthur, born October 16, 1897 ; Ruth 
Louise, born October 27, 1899; and James Walker, 
born August 23, 1901. 

Charles A. Wiggin, who is in company with his 
brother George H., was married April 7. 1802, to 
Annie Mabel Farley, born in Bedford, August 12, 
1871, daughter of Charles Parker and Elizabeth 
Ann (Shepard) Farley. She died April 2, igor. 
They had one daughter, Ruth Taylor, who was born 
January 26, 1894, and died February 22, 1895. 



The original of Preston was Priest- 

PRESTON ton. that is, priests' town, from a 

religious establishment around 

W'hich the town grew' up. There are seven Prestons 



in England. Some emigrant took the name of his 
native place as a surname, and it has thus been 
handed down to succeeding generations. A number 
of Prestons, among whom were several Johns, not 
known to be related, settled in Massachusetts before 
1700. Who was the immigrant ancestor of the Pres- 
tons of this article is not known. Several men of 
this name were in Andover, Massachusetts, before 
1692. 

(I) Samuel Preston, whose name survives in 
the local name Preston's Plain, near Ballardvale, 
in Andover, was a pioneer settler of that town. His 
name appears on the list of those who took the 
oath of allegiance, February 11, 1678. 

(H) John Preston, probably a son of the above, 
resided in Andover, where he took the oath of alle- 
giance February 11, 1678. John Preston is one of 
those named in the "rate made for the minister 
in the year 1692. for the North End of the town 
of Andover." John Preston, of Andover, was one 
of the twelve men taken from Andover in No- 
vember, 1675, for an expedition into the country of 
the Narragansetts, who had joined King Philip, 
and was present at the famous swamp fight where 
the Indians were completely destroyed. 

(HI) Captain Samuel (2), a descendant, prob- 
ably, a son of John Preston, was a commander in 
the French and Indian war. He and his wife 
Hannah settled in Littleton, Massachusetts, about 
1728. He was an active and influential man in the 
town before the revolution, and besides serving in 
his military capacity, was town treasurer, and in 
other offices. His children were : James, Hannah, 
John, Mary and Peter. 

(IV) Dr. John (2), third child and second son 
of Captain Samuel (2) and Hannah Preston, was 
born in Littleton, Massachusetts, September 22, 
1738, and died in New Ispwich, New Hampshire, 
February 17, 1803, in his sixty-fifth year. At the 
age of eighteen years he served one campaign at 
least as a soldier in the company of his father in 
the French war of 1756. His early education was 
probably what the common schools of the time 
afforded. In 1760. when twenty-two years old, he 
settled in New Ispwich, New Hampshire, and began 
practice of medicine. The science of medicines in 
these days was a simple matter as compared with 
the complex system and elaborate theories of to- 
day, but then, as now, the most successful physician 
got the practice. Dr. Preston became skillful and 
popular in his profession, and for more than forty 
years retained exclusive possession of the ground, 
except that in the latter part of his life he took his 
son into partnership, and at his decease left the 
whole practice in his hands. As a citizen he was 
zealous, active and influential in all matters of gen- 
eral and political interest in the town. During the 
Revolution he was one of the most ardent Whigs, 
and did much to encourage the people to make the 
great exertions which they did in the aid of the 
common cause. After the incorporation of the town 
in 1762 he was elected one of the first board of 
selectmen, and in 1771 served as town clerk, and in 
177S and 1786 as representative in the general court. 
In 1782, on the resignation of his brother-in-law, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1113 



Judge Timothy Farrar, he was chosen a member 
for framing the state constitution. Anecdotes of 
his wit and humor as a legislator have come down 
to our time, and the records of the town still pre- 
serve memories of that trait in his character. He 
■was one of 'the founders of the new Ipswich Acad- 
emy, and for many years its secretary, his son-in- 
law, John Hubbard, being its first preceptor. He 
married, in New Ipswich, November 29, 1764, Re- 
becca Farrar, who was. born in New Ipswich, Au- 
gust 13, 1743, fifth child of Deacon Samuel and 
Lydia (Barrett) Farrar, of Concord (now Lincoln), 
JNIassachusetts, and a descendant of Jacob, the im- 
migrant, who was one of the original proprietors of 
Lancaster, Massachusetts, in 1653. She survived 
her husband more than twenty-six years, and died 
April I, 1S29, in her eighty-sixth year. Their 
eleven children vv'ere : Rebecca, John, Lucy, Lydia, 
Hannah, Mary, Samuel, Stephen Farrar, Timothy 
Farrar, Peter and Nancy. 

(V) Dr. John (3), second child and eldest son 
of Dr. John (2) Preston, was born in New Ipswich, 
February 15, 1770, and died in 1828, aged fifty-eight. 
He graduated from Dartmouth College with the 
c!a-3 of 1791, and became a physician. He read 
medicine with his father and later with Dr. Holyoke, 
of Salem. He opened an apothecary shop and be- 
gan practice as the associate of his father in Decem- 
ber. 1794, and after his father's death in 1803 he 
succeeded to the general practice of the town. His 
standing as a physician and a citizen was good. 
After the turnpike was built he erected on that street 
the first dwelling house, into which he moved his 
stock of drugs, and resided there vmtil his death. 
Like his father, he took a lively interest in town 
affairs, and filled public offices, and was secretary of 
the academy. In 1802 he was elected town clerk, 
and filled that office for seventeen consecutive years, 
and was selectman for several years. He wrote a 
good round recording hand, and the records bear 
ample evidence of his capacity as a clerk, and oc- 
casionally of his personal feelings and predilections 
as a townsman. He married, January 21, 1798, 
Elizabeth Chanipney, who was born in New Ipswich, 
February 6. 1779. daughter of Judge Ebenezer and 
Abigail (Parker) Champney, a descendant in the 
fifth generation from Richard Champney, of Lin- 
colnshire, England, the ancestors of the family of 
that name who settled in Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
in 1635. She died 1867, aged eighty-eight years. 
Their ten children were : Ebenezer C, Rebecca 
(died young), John, Eliza. Lucy. Abigail, Maria, 
AVilliam Henrj-, Thomas, Bancroft and Rebecca. 

(VI) Hon. John (4), third child and second son 
of Dr. John (3) and Elizabeth (Champney) Pres- 
ton, was born in New Ipswich, April 12, 1802. and 
died March 5, 1S67, aged sixty-five years. When 
he was about ten years of age the store of John 
Batchelder, which stood a few rods from his father's 
house, caught fire one cold winter night, and John 
left his bed, and without waiting for shoes or 
stockings ran through the snow to awaken the 
neighbors. This exposure was followed by a severe 
illness which caused permanent disease and lameness, 



from which he suffered acutely for more than fifty 
years. He fitted for college at the New Ipswich 
Academy, and in 1819 entered Harvard College, 
from which he graduated in 1823. In order to make 
his way through he had to practice the closest 
economy, and one year he earned by writing and 
teaching school, all but eighteen dollars of the 
money necessary to pay the year's expenses. The 
eighteen dollars he received from his father. He 
was a member of the Institute of 1770, of the Hasty 
Pudding, a noted society which was founded the 
year before he entered, and in which he was a 
leading member by his ready wit, and of the Medi- 
cal Faculty. After completing his college 
course he studied law with George F. Farley, Esq., 
then at Ipswich, and later with Judge Samuel Hub- 
bard, in Boston, having as a fellow-student John 
Appleton, afterwards distinguished as the chief jus- 
tice of the supreme court of the state of Maine. 
In 1828 he was admitted to the bar and began prac- 
tice in Townsend, Massachusetts, but removed in 
1831 to New Ipswich, and bought the house in the 
Center Village once owned by his grandfather. Judge 
Champney, where he ever afterwards resided. Mr. 
Preston was a lover of nature, with which he was 
always in close touch, and the streams and woods 
and fields always had an attraction for him. Partly 
to have an opportunity to gratify his love for these 
things, perhaps, he purchased his grandfather's 
farm, lying along the river, where some of the hap- 
piest days of his life were spent. He was fond of 
agriculture, and being an intelligent man he adopted 
those methods of sound practical agriculture which 
made him a successful farmer, and by setting an 
example to his neighbors taught them lessons that 
made his influence felt by others. He had not been 
back in New Ipswich long before the questions of 
temperance and anti-slavery began to be agitated, 
and in a few years took precedence of all other 
public questions. To a man of Mr. Preston's moral 
sentiment, both slaver}- and intemperance were ab- 
horrent, and he early became a member of the 
party of progress, and championed the reforms it 
contemplated. Early in 1835 he introduced and 
secured the adoption of resolutions in town meet- 
ing to suppress the sale of liquor. He was presi- 
dent of the first total abstinence society in the town, 
and his zeal for the cause ended only with his life. 
In politics he was a staunch Whig, and to ally 
himself with the new party meant social ostracism 
and insult, but he did not falter in what he be- 
lieved to be the line of his duty and in performance 
of what he thought to be right. Turning away 
from his former associates he joined in 1844 the 
Free Soil party, at the head of which was John 
Hale, one of New Hampshire's greatest sons, and 
worked unceasingly for the measures of that party 
which he lived to see completely successful at the 
close of the war of the rebellion. He was elected 
to the legislature in 1S33 and 183S and 1843, and 
by successive elections served four more consecu- 
tive terms. He was senator from district No. 9, 
when he was the only senator not a Democrat, and 
was the Free Soil candidate for congress in 1848, 



III4 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



and was supported by the Free Soil party in the 
legislature for United States senator in 1852. For 
eleven years he was a member of the board of 
trustees of the New Hampshire Insane Asyluin, and 
like his father and grandfather, was for many years 
secretary of the New Ipswich Academy. One who 
knew him well said of him : "You ask me to de- 
scribe Mr. Preston. A pen picture at first seems 
easy, — there is his figure, rather below the middle 
height, but broad-shouldered and muscular; quick 
and alert in his movements, with a smile almost 
always playing around his features, with a warm 
and impulsive nature, unable to harbor resentment 
against his bitterest foe if he saw him sick and in 
want. Not an orator like Gough, yet one of the 
readiest and most effective speakers in the legis- 
lature. Not so deep a law-yer as Bell, Parker, or 
Perley, but mentioned by a judge of the supreme 
court as being a dangerous opponent. Not such a 
classical scholar as Everett, but helping his son with 
an ode of Anacreon that he hasn't seen for thirty 
years, or reading French or Spanish to his wife. 
Not a professional philanthropist but at the time 
of the famine in Ireland, leaving the table, unable 
to eat till he had packed a bo.x with articles for the 
starving Irish ; and seen one bitter day in winter 
toiling through the drifts to find if a poor family 
were warm. Very fond of a cigar, but giving up the 
habit for nearly forty years that his example might 
be good for others. So fearless that there may be 
a doubt if it should be called bravery or insensi- 
bility to peril. College-bred, as were his ancestors, 
but thoroughly democratic in his sympathy with 
the poor and ignorant, of whatever race or country, 
and with food and shelter for the slave on his way 
to Canada. Taking great pride in his town and its 
history, and especially beloved" and revered in the 
domestic circle. In saying all this, while few salient 
points are presented, it seems to me that Mr. Pres- 
ton exhibited a well-rounded and wonderful sym- 
metry in all those points W'hich go to make up a 
man in the highest and nobjest sense, — such a type 
as, I fear, may be growing rarer every day. in view 
of the present craze for specialists." 

Mr. Preston's sufferings finally became so in- 
tense that as a last resort he had an amputation 
performed, which for more than a year left him in 
the enjoyment of vigorous health and without pain, 
a condition he had not enjoyed for more than fifty 
years; but his disease returned and terminated in 
a fatal illness in 1S67. 

He married, October 27. 1828, Elizabeth Smith 
French, who was born in Boston, March i, 1808, 
and died December 20, 1882. She was the daughter 
of Abram and Elizabeth (Kidder) French. The 
children of this union were seven ; John Lorenzo, 
born November 10. 1829, died June 19. 1836; Eliz- 
abeth A., born September 8, 1831, died February 28, 
1837; William A., born January 31, 1834. died De- 
cember 5, IQ03 ; Maria A. F., Iiorn February 10, 
1836, died March 15, T83T ; Frank W.. whose sketch 
follows; Sarah E., born July 30, 1840, died Mar'' 
6. 1842; Mary Anabelle, born May 11, 1844, died 
February 15, 1869. 



(VII) Frank W,. third son and child of Hon. 
John (4) and Elizabeth S. (French) Preston, was 
born in New Ipswich, February 17, 1838, and died 
.A-Ugust 29, 1905. He was educated at the Academy 
of New Ipswich, and took a course .in the Law- 
rence Scientific School, from which he graduated 
as a civil engineer in the class of 1S58. He was a 
teacher of mathematics in Appleton .■\cademy. and 
for a number of years was treasurer of the New 
Ipswich Savings Bank. He was a progressive pub- 
lic spirited citizen, and always alert for measures 
of advantage to the town. For twenty-five years 
he was town treasurer, and for many years clerk of 
the school district, and was representative in 1873, 
and again in 1874. He was a member of the Bethel 
Lodge No. 24, Free and Accepted Masons, of New 
Ipswich, and of Peterboro Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons. He married first, in Ithaca, New York, 
February 19, 1862, Harriett F. Coy. who was born 
October 3. 1840. daughter of John H. and Cather- 
ine (Granger) Coy. Of this marriage there was 
one daughter, Katherine, born December 15, 1862. 
He married second. May 13, 1867, at New Ipswich, 
Mary Frances Murphy, who was born at New 
Ipswich, August 17, 1845. She was a daughter of 
Daniel G. and Randilla (Fanner) Murphy, of New 
Ipswich. Three children were born of this mar- 
riage: I. William A., born August 2, 1873. 2. 
Frank H.. born October 17. 1874. He married 
February 5, 1900. Mabel L. Thayer; they have one 
child. Frank Whipple, born June 6. 1904. 3. Her- 
bert F., born .August 11, 1882. graduated from New 
Ipswich Appleton Academy with class of 1904. 

(Vim William Arthur, oldest child of Frank 
W. and Mary F. (Murphy) Preston, was born in 
New Ipswich, August 2, 1S73. He attended the 
local schools, prepared for college in the Nev\' Ips- 
wich Academy, and entered Harvard University 
in 1891. He took a position with the Electrical 
Construction Company of Providence, Rhode Is- 
land. He returned to New Ipswich in 1898, and 
has since resided on the ancestral homestead. In 
politics he is a Republican. He married, in Boston, 
Massachusetts. December 27, 1905, Bertha P. Ames, 
daughter of Henry and Sarah (Preston) Ames. 



This name is supposed to be derived 
VIRGIN from the cult of Saint Mary, perhaps 

the most generally known in this 
countrj-. From Ebenezer Virgin, first ancestor in 
America, is supposed to have sprung all of this 
name in the United States. Among the most fa- 
miliar names of Virgin in this country is first and 
foremost that of Hon. William Wirt Virgin, asso- 
ciate justice of the spreme judicial court of Maine. 
Other prominent members of the name are ; Judge 
Daniel W. Virgin, of Douglas; county. Nevada; 
Hon. John W. Virgin, of Illinois, commissioner of 
the state of Illinois to be the World's Columbian 
exposition, Chicago, importer and breeder of hor- 
ses ; Hon. George Virgin, president of the National 
Bank of Virginia. Illinois; Rev. Samuel H. Virgin, 
D. D.. LL. D., thirty years pastor of the Pilgrim 
Congregational Church. New York City. 



I 




TVcL.^.^yK^ Uj. OrvLAJb:^;^^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



I II : 



(I) Ebonczer Virgin, founder of families of 
this name in the United States, came from Salis- 
bury, England, probably to Salisbury, Massachu- 
setts, in 1722. From there he went to that part of 
Dunstable, Massachusetts, now called Tyngsboro, 
and thence went in 1726 with seven men sent by the 
Massachusetts Bay Colony to lay out a township 
on the Merrimack river, then called Penny Cook, 
later Rumford, and now Concord. He was an 
original proprietor, a cabinet maker by trade, a man 
of enterprise and a highly useful citizen. He built 
and occupied the house (still standing. 1907) occu- 
pied by Deacon G. H. Curtis, in 1731, now the old- 
est house standing in the city. He served from 
April 24, to October 21, 1755, in the expedition to 
Crown Point, in Captain Joseph Eastman's com- 
pany, Colonel Joseph Blanchard's regiment. Eben- 
€zer Virgin was the person who first came into 
possession of the gun of the Indian chief Peora- 
warrah, who eloped with the squaw of another 
Indian who shot and killed them both at one tirpe 
as they were paddling up the Merrimack in a canoe 
early in the morning, after spending the night at 
Sewall's Island. Both bodies and Peorawarrah's 
fine gun fell into the river. The gun was 
recovered by Mr. Virgin, and is now in the 
possession of Colonel Jonathan Eastman Pecker, 
of Concord. Ebenezer Virgin died at Concord, 
in I/Wj, and was at that time serving as 
selectman. He married, according to Dr. N. 
Bouton. Hannah : according to Peter Chand- 
ler Virgin (his grandson, and father of Judge 
Wirt Virgin, and more probably correct) Mary 
Oiandler, of Andover, Massachusetts, and so con- 
nected with the Chandler family from which sprang 
Senator Chandler, of New Hampshire. The chil- 
dren of this marria,ge were: Phineas, Ebenezer, 
William, Jonathan, Miriam, Elijah and John. 

(II) Ebenezer (2), second child and son of 
Ebenezer (i) Virgin, was born May 25. I7,;5. at 
Penacook (now East Concord), and married Dor- 
cas Lovejoy, daughter of Henry Lovejoy, who 
built the first grist mill in Concord. Their children 
were: Jonathan, Molly, Elijah, Hannah, Daniel, 
Phebe, Henry, Simon and Peter Chandler. 

(III) Jonathan, eldest child of Ebenezer (2) 
and Dorcas (Lovejoy) Virgin, was born Novem- 
ber 23, 1758, in Penacook, and died May 9, 1813. 
He lived on what is known as the Virgin road, in 
the northern part of the town, and his last resi- 
dence, built considerably more than a centurj- since, 
is still standing and in use as a dwelling. He built, 
in 1812, for his youngest son the house adjoining 
his on the east, and which is now the home of his 
great-grandson, Pales P. Virgin. He married 
Sarah Austin, and they had the following children : 
Patty. Hazen, Aaron and Isaac. 

(IV) Isaac, youngest child of Jonathan and 
Sarah (Austin) Virgin, was born July 14, 1789. on 
Virgin road (then called Penacook) and died Jan- 
uary 12, 1870, on the farm where he began house- 
keeping in 1812, a part of the patenial homestead. 
WHien his father proposed to build him such a 



house as he might desire, he said he did net want 
anything better than his father lived in, so the 
house was made only one story in height. To his 
wife this afterwards proved a great trial and in- 
convenience, but they lived happily, reaching a good 
age. He was married November 13, 1812, to Susan 
Batchelder (see Batchelder, VII), who was born 
March 8. 1790. and died November 20, 1876. Their 
children did not remove from their native town. 
Susan C, the eldest, was married to Rev. Caleb 
Fales, and died about a year after her marriage. 
Eliza Jane, born September i, 1816, married Wil- 
liam K. Holt, and died April 7, 1841, in East Con- 
cord. Rufus is the subject of the succeeding para- 
graph. William Harrison died before attaining his 
majority. 

(V) Rufus. elder son and third child of Isaac 
and Susan (Batchelder) Virgin, was born on the 
homestead of his father, where his son now re- 
sides (on the Virgin road), January 7. 1818. He 
continued to reside there most of his life, though 
the years from 1856 to i86g were spent on a farm 
one-half mile east, which he purchased, which is 
still a part of his estate, and where his youngest 
child was born. He was a prosperous farmer and 
a prominent citizen of the town, taking active part 
in public affairs. He was a Methodist in religious 
belief, and a Democrat in politics. He represented 
his ward in the city council, the board of aldermen 
and the state legislature, and lived past his eightieth 
birthday anniversary, dying January 26, 1899. He 
was married January 4, 1840. to Mary Ann Stevens, 
who is five. days his junior, and is still hale and 
clear-minded, at the age of eighty-nine years. She 
was born January 12, 1818, in Canterbury, daughter 
of Jesse and Abigail (Sherburne) Stevens of 
that town (see Stevens, VII). Jesse was a son of 
Simon and Elizabeth (Boynton) Stevens, who were 
pioneer settlers of Canterbury. Their children were 
Otha. Edmond, David. Betsey, John, Jesse. Polly, 
Abyah. ]Moses, Abigail, Thomas, David and Simon. 
The children of Rufus and Mary Ann (Stevens) 
Virgin, are not removed very far from their native 
home. Ellen A. has her home with her aged mother 
en the paternal homestead. Emma became the wife 
of Nathan Pingree, and resides in Rochester, this 
state. Esther is the widow of Frank P. Batchelder, 
residing in Laconia. Frank P. died in the place of 
his birth, at an early age. Fred P. and Fales P. 
receive extended mention below. 

(VI) Fr^d Peaslee Virgin, second son and fifth 
child of Rufus and Mary Ann (Stevens) Virgin, 
may truly be numbered among the self-made men 
of New Hampshire, and a credit to the old and 
honored name he bears. He was born January 25, 
1853, on the paternal homestead on Virgin road, 
where most of his father's life was passed, and ob- 
tained his education in the public schools and Pen- 
acook and Pinkerton academies. He was always 
active and useful about the home farm, and early 
set out to make his own way. At the age of six- 
teen years he went to Boston, and there entered 
the employ of Martin L. Hall & Companj-, whole- 



iii6 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



• sale grocers. His first Avork was clerical, and his 
pay was small. Later he was promoted to the posi- 
tion of traveling salesman, and by strict attention 
to 1jn?iness and careful use of his earnings, he was 
enabled in 1883 to become a member of the firm. 
This establishment was founded in 1831 and is now 
the largest wholesale grocery house in New Eng- 
land. Mr. Virgin has shown himself a capable 
business man, and has risen to the position of head 
of the firm and its general manager. He is also 
interested in various kindred lines of business, 
which receive successful impetus from his able 
management. He is vice-president of the Gary 
Maple Sugar Company, of St. Johnsbury, Ver- 
mont, with large plants in Vermont and Canada, and 
which does a business amounting to half a million 
dollars annually, and ships sugar and syrup to all 
parts of the world. He is a director and vice- 
president of the Wholesale Grocery Association of 
Boston, member of the executive conmiittee of the 
New England Wholesale Grocers' Association, and 
director of the Faneuil Hall National Bank of 
Boston. Mr. Virgin attends the South Congre- 
gational Church of Concord, of which his wife is 
a member, and is ever ready to further any inter- 
ests of his native town. He follows the footsteps 
of his father in politics, but gives no time to prac- 
tical politics of office-seeking. He is a member of 
the Wonolancet and Passaconoway clubs of Con- 
cord ; the Boston Athletic and New Hampshire 
clubs of Boston ; and the Florida club. He is very 
fond of travel, and accompanied by his family has 
visited many of the most interesting parts of the 
world. Their winters are usually spent in Florida 
■or California. Mr. Virgin started in mercantile 
life in 1S70, with a fair education and a stock of 
liope and energy, and by fidelity and constant atten- 
tion to business has attained a handsome" compe- 
tence. While so doing, he has found time for the 
pleasures of travel and observation in other lands. 
He was married June 13, 1876, to Ada L. Batch- 
elder, daughter of Samuel and Eliza J. (True) 
Batchelder (see Batchelder, VI). Mrs. Virgin was 
horn September 20, 1852, in Loudon, and is the 
mother of two children. Arthur Russell, born May 
2. 1S77, graduated from Dartmouth College with 
the class of 1900, and is now in the banking busi- 
ness in Concord. Leila Stevens, born September 
24, 1879, resides with her parents. 

(VI) Fales Perley Virgin, youngest child of 
Rufus and Mary Ann (Stevens) Virgin, is among 
the most progressive and successful farmers of the 
state. He was born October 31, 1856, on the second 
farm of his father, about one-half mile east of his 
present residence, which is on the ancient seat of 
the Virgin family in East Concord. He was early 
accustomed to be his father's aid, and the culti- 
vation of the home farm and support of his par- 
ents fell to him naturally. Until about nineteen 
years of age he gave considerable attention to 
study, being a student of Loudon Academy, after 
leaving the district school adjacent to his home. 
He was thirteen years of age when the family re- 
turned to his present location, on Virgin road, and 



here he has since resided. For the last twenty- 
five years he has given much attention to the breed- 
ing of fine Holstein stock for breeding purposes, 
and has supplied many farmers with the foundation 
for herds of this strain. He keeps from ten to 
fifteen cows, mostly thoroughbreds, and produces 
some fine veal for the market. Mr. Virgin's farm 
is model of neatness, and his fine farm barn is one 
of the most complete and convenient to be found 
anywhere. With complete tool houses, and other 
necessary or desirable farm appurtenances, he is 
able to dispose of his work advantageously and 
with much satisfaction to all concerned therein. 
The paternal acres are well tilled, and have not 
been allowed to deteriorate in productivity, and 
their owner may be congratulated. His home is 
hospitable, his family bright and interesting, and 
the head of the house is among the influential citi- 
zens of his town. He attends the Congregational 
church of East Concord, and supports Democratic 
policies in public affairs. He has served as ward 
supervisor and member of the city council, and was 
a member of the constitutional convention of 1903. 
ISIr. Virgin was married December 24, 1879, to 
Rose Ella Johnson, who was born September 12, 
1858, in Concord, a daughter of Matthew Harvey 
and Hannah (Sargent) Johnson, of Concord. 
Matthew H. Johnson was a son of John Johnson, 
whose name was changed by legal enactment from 
Hoag to Johnson. Hannah Sargent was a daughter 
of Wells Sargent (see Sargent, VII). Mr .and 
Mrs. Virgin are the parents of three daughters. 
Bessie Ella, the eldest, was born February 21, 1881, 
and is the wife of Roy Walker INIaynard, a large 
farmer and milk dealer of Loudon. Belle Fiorina, 
born December 26, 1883. Bernice Johnson, August 
16, 1S89, remains at home. 



The ancient English family of Norrey 
NORRIS or Norreys is mentioned in records 

as early as the year 1311, when Sir 
Henry Norreys married Joan, daughter of Sir 
Henry Molyneu.x, and acquired the manor of Speke, 
in Lancashire. For many centuries the family 
flourished in Sutton and Lancashire. Famous fami- 
lies of the name of Norris are now found in Speke, 
Lancaster, and Ryecote, in Berkshire. From 
Thomas Norreys, of Speke, descended in a direct 
unbroken line five generations of Norreys whose 
forename was Nicholas, the same as that of the 
immigrant ancestor of the family of this sketch. 
Early some of the English Norrises settled in Ire- 
land and among them were members of note. 

(I) Nicholas Norris, the settler, was born 
probably about 1640. The tradition in regard to 
him is that he was of English extraction, being a 
descendant of one of the English who had settled 
in Ireland where he was born. He was "a stow- 
away" in an emigrant ship, and reached America 
at the age of fourteen. He first appears of record 
in the town of Hampton, "limo. 21st day, 1663," O. 
S., or January 21, 1664, new style, when he mar- 
ried Sarah Cox. In 1666 he sold to John Godfrey, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1117 



his brother-in-law, "JNIy Iiouse Lott, three acres 
more or less, with my dwelling house being & 
standing upon .ye same." That same year he ap- 
peared in Exeter. In 1677 he took the oath of 
allegiance, desired the jurisdiction of Massachusetts, 
in 1690, and was a soldier in garrison from August 
3 to August 31, 1696, in the commanding of Kinsley 
Hall. His home was near Meeting-house hill in Exe- 
ter village. One hundred acres was granted him by 
the town of Exeter, January 31, 1681 ; three acres, 
February 3, 1698; twenty acres the lirst Monday of 
April, 1705; and thirty acres in 1725. It is also 
stated that on March 8, 1721, ten acres of land 
were laid out to him by the town of Exeter, on the 
"North side of a Masteway leading from Col. Hil- 
ton's to Pawtuckawage Mills." He deeded away 
land June 10, 1721. He was a resident of Exeter 
about fifty-seven years, but the date of his death 
is not known. From the record it may be inferred 
that he was an active and prosperous citizen. A 
large progeny has sprung from him. His children, 
all but the first born in Exeter, were : Sarah, 
died young; Sarah, John, Moses, Jonathan, Abigail, 
Sarah, James and Elizabeth. 

(II) Moses, fourth child and second son of 
Nicholas and Sarah (Coxe) Norris, was born in 
Exeter, August 14, 1670, and always lived in Exeter. 
He received from his father sixteen acres on the 
"road to Hampton Farms," April 9, 1698, and on 
the same date he received land from his father-in- 
law. He was a soldier from August 31, 1696, to 
September 28, 1696. February 2, 1721, he deeded 
land to his children to the possession of which they 
were to come after the death of himself and wife. 
He lived a number of years after making this deed, 
but how long is not known. He married, March 4, 
1692, Ruth, daughter of Samuel and Mary (Robey) 
Folsom, and granddaughter of John Folsom, the 
immigrant to Exeter. Their children were : Samuel, 
John, Moses, Nicholas, Joseph, Jonathan, James 
and Ruth. 

(III) Samuel, eldest son of Moses and Ruth 
(Folsom) Norris, was born in Exeter, probably 
about 1693, and always lived in Exeter. By the 
terms of the deed his father made, February 2, 
1721, he was to receive one-half of the homestead, 
the land "to be on that side and adjoining Joseph 
Robinson's land throughout both upland and 
swamp," and also one-half of the land lying "on 
the east side of the road leading from Hampton 
Town to Exeter." His brother Joseph had the 
other half of the homestead and his father's house. 
The land owned by them remained undivided, and 
after the deatli of Samuel was sold by his widow 
Ruth, son Samuel, and Joseph Norris, October 
30. I7S4- Samuel Norris inherited from his father 
one-eighth of a saw mill at Petuckaway. He dealt 
somewhat in real estate. His last recorded sale 
was made May 18, 1753. ' He died before October 
30, 1754. He .married Ruth, whose surname is un- 
known. They were the parents of one child, Samuel, 
who is further mentioned below. 

(IV) Samuel (2), only child of Samuel (i) 



and Ruth Norris, was born in Exeter. New Hamp- 
shire, probably about 1714, and died before Febru- 
ary 27, 1765. He deeded away his patrimony as 
stated in the preceding paragraph. He lived in 
Epping and dealt more or less in real estate. Octo- 
ber 26, 1758, he bought seventy acres of land of 
Enoch Clark, a part of which he left to his son, 
Samuel Norris, by will. His will was executed 
November 21, 1764, and probated March 26, 1766, 
but for some unexplained reason his estate had 
been administered upon by his wife Mary, who was 
appointed administratrix, February 27. 1765. She 
is said to have been a half blooded Indian, and her 
surname is not known. Their children were: Benja- 
min, Samuel, Zebulon, JMercy, Mary, Ruth and 
Deborah. 

(V) Samuel (3), second son and child of 
Samuel (2) and Mary Norris, was born in Epping, 
New Hampshire, June 17, 1734. Like several of his 
ancestors he dealt much in land. He lived in 
Epping until October 21, 1769, when he sold the 
place upon which he then lived and immediately 
moved to Deerfield, where he resided for a few- 
years. He lived for a time in Sandwich, New 
Hampshire, and finally went to Corinth, Vermont, 
in 1779, 3"d there spent the remainder of his life. 
He married (first) Huldah (Bartlett probably), 
who was born April 24, 1734, and died in Corinth, 

Vermont. November 2, 1780; (second) 

Burleigh, perhaps of Sandwich, New Hampshire. 
He died in Corinth, Vermont, May 16, 1816, and 
w-as buried there. His children, all by his first wife, 
were: David, Huldah, Samuel and Zebulon 
(twins), Jonathan, Moses and David (twins), 
John, Taylor, Polly and Josiah. 

(VI) John, eighth child and seventh son of 
Samuel (3) and Huldah Norris, was born in Deer- 
field, July 29, 1770, and died in Washington, Ver- 
mont, September 16, 1865, aged ninety-five years. 
He was a farmer by occupation, and a Free Baptist 
in religious faith. He resided in Deerfield, New 
Hampshire, and Corinth, Vermont. He married 
Sally Currier, who was born April 4, 1770, and 
died February, 23, i860, aged ninety. They had 
four children : John, David, March and Sabrina. 

(VII) March, third son and child of John and 
Sally (Currier) Norris, was born in Corinth, \'er- 
mont, August 15, 1800, and died in Colebrook, New 
Hanipsliirc. .August 20, 1879. He resided for some 
years in Corinth, Orange county, Vermont. He 
was a Free Will Baptist in religion, and a Demo- 
crat in politics. He married Polly (Marshall) 
Sleeman, who was born in Corinth, Vermont, Janu- 
ary I, i8oo, and died in Colebrook, Vermont, July 
18, 1889, daughter of Moses and Dolly (Maloon) 
Marshall. Six children were born to them: Lu- 
cinda Screpta, Clark Currier, Heman Russell, 
George Sleeper, Mary Lovilla and Sabrina Lodina. 

(VIII) Mary Lovilla, fifth child of March and 
Polly (Marshall) (Sleeman) Norris, was born 
August 27, 1839, and died January 18, iSSi, aged 
forty-two years. She married (first) Dr. Stephen 
Hurd; married (second) James Sawyer, of Cole- 
brook, New Hampshire. By the first husband there 



iii8 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



was one child, Iva H., -who is next mentioned. 
(IX) Iva Hortcnse Hurd, only child of Dr. 
Stephen and Mary Lovilla (Norris) Hurd, was 
born in Lancaster, New Hampshire, 1861, and mar- 
ried jNIarch 15, 1883, at Colebrook, Walter Drew, 
(See Drew). 



Although Thomas Seward, the pro- 
SEWARD genitor of this branch of the Seward 

family in America, reached these 
shores more than a century after the first settle- 
ment by the English in Massachusetts, neverthe- 
less he became the ancestor of those who suffered 
the privations and hardships, and performed the 
labors necessarily incident to the founding of the 
town and the development of civilization in a new 
country, and left descendants whose services in the 
memorable conliict for free government reflect honor 
on their names and upon their descendants who 
have founded societies to perpetuate the memory 
of a noble line of ancestors. Thirt\--four Massa- 
chusetts men bearing the name Seward fought in 
the Revolution. Inter-marriage with members of 
Revolutionary families have been frequent, and 
some Sewards of the present generation trace back 
to four or five forbears, who took part in the great 
struggle for liberty. 

(I) Thomas Seward came to America from 
England, in the middle of the eighteenth century, 
and settled in Pepperell, Massachusetts, where he 
died, August 19, 1757, at the early age of twenty- 
eight, having been born in 17J9, in England. His 
wife was Hannah, her maiden name having prob- 
ably been Martin. She was also born about 1729, 
and died at the house of her son, Josiah, in what 
is now Sullivan, New Hampshire, March 23, 17S7. 
When Thomas Seward died, he left his young 
widow with three little boys, neither of whorh could 
walk, the eldest being a cripple, the second too 
young to walk, and the third a new born babe. 
With a courage and perseverance, characteristic of 
the woman of that time, she supported her children 
and brought them to maturity with such assistance 
as they were able to render. Their names were 
Thomas, Josiah and Samuel. The eldest, crippled 
from birth, lived and died at Pepperell, the other 
two bought farms in that part of Stoddard, New 
Hampshire, which later became a part of the newer 
town of Sullivan. 

(II) Deacon Josiah Seward, second son of 
Thomas and Hannah Seward, was born at Pepperell, 
Massachusetts, February 22, 1756, died at Sullivan, 
New Hampshire, July 10, 1828. He married, February 
22, 1781, Sarah Osgood, then of Raby (now Brook- 
line), New Hampshire. She was born in Billerica, 
Massachusetts, January 31 (Old Style), 1749-50, 
died at Keene, New Hampshire, July 2, 1S35 ; 
daughter of Joseph and S.irah (Pierce) Osgood. 
She was a first cousin of Benjamin Pierce (father 
of ex-President Franklin Pierce). Josiah Seward 
was at work in his mother's field, at Pepperell. when 
he was summoned, as a minute man, to march with 
others, among them his younger brother, Samuel, 



under the lead of their famous townsman. Colonel 
Prescott, to Cambridge. He worked all the night of 
June 16, in helping to throw up the famous earth- 
works on the hill where, upon the 17th of June, 
1775, was fought the battle of Bunker Hill. The 
coat which he wore was long preserved in the 
family, pierced with several bullet holes, although 
he was not injured during the engagement. On 
June 17, 1825, he was one of the surviving vete- 
rans who participated in* the exercises attending the 
laying of the corner-stone of the Bunker Hill Monu- 
ment, on the fiftieth anniversary of the battle. The 
veterans were hospitably entertained in Boston, in- 
troduced to Lafayette, and honored with seats upon 
the platform. INIr. Webster's graceful allusion to 
them, in his memorable oration was an eloquent 
exhibition of oratory. On October 17, 1792, he was 
one of the covenanters of the First Congregational 
Church in Sullivan. He became a deacon of that 
church in 1798, and held the office for thirty years, 
until his death. He was a successful farmer, acquir- 
ing a competence for the time in which he lived. 
He purchased the farm in 1781, and portions of it 
still belong to Rev. J. L. Seward, D. D., of the 
fourth generation from him. Deacon Seward had 
eight children : Hannah, Josiah, Jr., Sarah, Abigail, 
Thomas, Betsey, Fanny and Rebecca. 

(III) Josiah (2), elder son of Deacon Josiah 
Seward (i), was born on the old Sullivan home- 
stead (while it was still a part of Stoddard), Octo- 
ber 30, 1783, died in Sullivan, September 14, 1831, 
of typhus fever, a malady rarely known in later 
years. Six members of his own and his father's 
families were ill of that serious fever at the same 
time. His oldest son, also named Josiah, just fitted 
for college, died a few days before him of the same 
disease. Josiah, Jr., purchased and lived upon his 
father's farm, surviving the latter only three years. 
He married February 22, 1807, Polly Wilson, born 
at Keene, March 23, 1784, died there September 19, 
1864, daughter of Daniel and Abigail (Morse) Wil- 
son. She was a woman of marked intellectual 
power, a first cousin of Hon. James Wilson, Sr., of 
Keene. Her grandfather was one of the well- 
known Scotch-Irish immigrants. He settled at 
Townsend, Massachusetts, while the most of them 
settled in or near Londonderry, New Hampshire. 
The three children of Josiah and Polly were Josiah 
(3), Daniel, and David. Mrs. Seward's grandfather, 
Thomas Morse, was the first English settler of 
Dublin, New Hampshire. 

(IV) David, youngest of the three children of 
Josiah Seward (2), was born in Sullivan, Septem- 
ber 14, 1816, died at Keene, November 3, 1886. He 
married, October i, 1840, Arvilla Matthews, born 
in Hancock, New Hampshire, December 26, 1818, 
died at Keene, January i, i88r, daughter of James 
and Abigail (Keith) ]\Iatthews. David's father 
died on the former's fifteenth birthday. From that 
time he managed the old homestead farm in Sulli- 
van, for his mother, and later purchased it with 
other land. He was a successful farmer. He was 
a justice of the peace and settled many estates, 










c 





(JU^aJu=C. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1 I IQ 



wrote deeds, mortgngcs. and wills, and "sqnircd 
together" man}" couples in marriage. He later be- 
came interested in the meat business and, still 
later, in the wood and lumber business. His last 
days were spent in Keene. He had only three chil- 
dren who lived to maturity : Josiah L., Emily Nor- 
manda, w'ho was educated at Miss Hall's school in 
Keene, and died unmarried ; and James Byron 
Seward, a merchant in New York City. 

(V) Josiah Lafayette, son of David Seward, 
was born in Sullivan, New Hampshire, April 17, 
1845. After leaving the district school, he was a 
student at the Westmoreland Valley Seminary, then 
under the instruction of Rev. (now Rev. Dr.) S. 
H. McCollester, 1859-60; graduated at the Phillips 
Exeter (New Hampshire) Academy, in 1864; 
graduated at Harvard University, with degree of 
Bachelor of Arts, in 186S; taught school at Frank- 
ford. West Virginia. 1869; taught a private school 
in Boston, Massachusetts. 1869-70; was the first 
principal of the Conant Free School (now Conant 
High School) of Jaffrey, New Hampshire, 1870-71; 
took the degree of Master of Arts at Harvard in 
1871 ; graduated from the Harvard Divinity School, 
with the degree of B. D., in 1874; ordained over the 
South Congregational (Unitarian) Church, at 
Lowell, Massachusetts, December 31, 1874; remained 
the pastor of that church fourteen years, until July 
31, 1888; pastor of the Unitarian Church at Waler- 
ville, Maine, August I, 1SS8, to November 25. 1893; 
pastor of the Allston Unitarian Church, Boston, 
Massachusetts, November 26, 1S93, to October 8, 
1899; pastor of the First Congregational (L^ni- 
tarian) Church, of Dublin, New Hampshire, from 
May II, 1902. to the present, with residence at 
Keene, New Hampshire. He has been much inter- 
ested in Freemasonry, having received all the de- 
grees of the York and Scottish Rites, including the 
Thirty-third and Last Degree. He has been master 
of a council of Royal and Select Masters at Keene, 
master of a chapter of Rose Croix Masons at Lo- 
well, and is now (1907) master of Social Friends 
Lodge at Keene. He has held for twenty years 
the office of grand prior in the Supreme Council 
for the Thirty-third and Last Degree, for the North- 
ern Masonic Jurisdiction of the United States. The 
Massachusetts Council of Deliberation has, for 
many years, published the discourses which he has 
annually delivered before that body. He has written 
a "History of Sullivan. New Hampshire, to the 
Twentieth Century." and is re-editing, and bring- 
ing to date, the "History of Dublin, New Hamp- 
shire." In 1898, Colby University (now Colby 
College) gave him the honorary degree of Doctor 
of Divinity (D. D.). He is a member of the New 
Hampshire Society Sons of the American Revolu- 
tion as being a descendant of five Revolutionary 
soldiers, also the local Chapter Keene, No. i. Dr. 
Seward has for many years taken much . interest in 
genealogical and historical research and has for 
many years been a valued and valuable correspond- 
ing member of the New Hampshire Historical 



Society, and has contributed extensively to journal- 
istic and magazine literature. He is unmarried. 



Tradition and probability identify 
COGSWELL the name Cogswell with the old 

English town of Coggeshall, the 
ancient Canonium of the Romans, which is located 
forty-four miles from London, in the county of 
Esse.x. It is the family tradition of the Cogswells 
now holding the ancient Cogswell possessions in 
Westbury, county of Wilts, England, that their 
ancestors came from the county of Essex, and were 
known as Coggeshall, with the various spellings 
appearing in the forms Cogshall, Coggeshall, Cogge- 
shale, Cogesholl, Cogeshole, Coggashael, Cogshol, 
Coxhall, Cockshall, and Coggshale. Beside the 
family tradition the experts in such matters say that 
Cogswell and Coggeshall in England have the same 
origin. But while Coggeshall and Cogswell have 
the same origin in England, they are distinct names 
in America, the Coggeshalls of this country descend- 
ing chiefly from John Coggeshall, the first governor 
of Rhode Island, while the Cogswells are descended 
as stated below. 

(I) Robert Cogswell, as appears from his w'ill, 
was a manufacturer of woolen cloths, and lived in 
Westbury, Leigh, county, of Wilts, England. The 
register of the parish gives the date of his burial 
June 7, 1581. His wife, Alicia, survived him, and 
was buried August I, 1603. Their children were : 
Robert, Richard, Stephen, Joane, Margaret, Mar- 
gery, Edith, and Edward, next mentioned. 

(II) Edward, eighth child and fourth son of 
Robert and Alicia Cogswell, was born in West- 
bury, Leigh, county of Wilts, England, and there 
resided. He was a clothier, and carried on the 
business with his father and forbears for genera- 
tions before him. He died in 1616. His estates 
were designated Ludborne, Horningsham, and 
Ripond Mylls. His widow Alice survived him but 
a few weeks. Their children were : Margaret, 
Elizabeth (died young), Elizabeth, John (died 
young), Robert (died young), Andrew and Robert 
(twins), John, Margery, Anthon (died young), 
Anthony, Geoffrey, Lienor and Walter. 

(III) John, eighth child and lifth son of Ed- 
ward and Alice Cogswell, was born in Waterbury 
Leigh, in 1592, and died in Essex, Massachusetts, 
November 29, 1669. He married, September 10, 
1615, Elizabeth Thompson, daughter of Rev. Wil- 
liam and Phillis Thompson. The parents with 
eight children embarked May 23, 1635, at Bristol, 
England, on the "Angel Gabriel" for New England. 
Mr. Cogswell took with him his three sons, Wil- 
liam, John and Edward, and five of his six daugh- 
ters. One daughter was left in England, who after- 
ward married and resided in London. Mr. Cogs- 
well took with him several farm and household 
servants, an amount of valuable furniture, farming 
implements, housekeeping utensils, and a consider- 
able sum of money. On account of calm weather 
they did not sail until June 4. Arrived on the 



II20 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



coast of America, the "Angel Gabriel" lay off Pema- 
quid, Maine, when the great storm of August 15 of 
that year struck them. The storm was frightful, 
the vessel became a total wreck, passengers, cattle, 
goods and all were cast upon the angry waves. 
Some were drowned. Among those who reached 
the shore was the Cogswell family. Mr. Cogs- 
well's loss by this wreck was five thousand pounds 
sterling. Mr. Cogswell had brought from England 
a large tent which was got ashore, and in this with 
such things of theirs as the family could gather 
they began life in America. As soon as possible 
Mr. Cogswell went to Boston and chartered a 
small barque which transported his family and 
goods to Ipswich, Massachusetts, where a settle- 
ment was made. In 1636 John Cogswell was 
granted three hundred acres of land at the further 
Chebokoe; also a parcel of eight acres, upon which 
he had built a house. Some time in 1636 Mr. Cogs- 
well put up a log-house and removed to "further 
Chebokoe," now Essex, where he spent his last 
days. His descendants for eight generations, 
through a period of two hundred and fifty years 
have continued to cultivate those ancestral acres. In 
the house of this place are now treasured many 
relics and articles of household use which were 
brought over in 1635, and survived the wreck of 
the "Angel Gabriel." 

John Cogswell was the third original settler in 
that part of Ipswich, now Essex, Massachusetts. 
His comparative wealth, intelligence and piety gave 
him an acknowledged prominence in the town and 
church. On the records of Ipswich his name often 
appears. It is uniformly distinguished by the hon- 
orary prefix !Mr., which in those days was a title 
given to but few, who were gentlemen of some dis- 
tinction. There were only about thirty of the three 
hundred and thirty-five original settlers of Ipswich 
who received this honor. iNIarch 3, 1636, by act of 
the court, John Cogswell was admitted freeman. 
He distributed much of his property among his 
children while living. The inventory of his estate 
made December 27, 1669, was one hundred and 
fifteen pounds, nineteen shillings. He died Novem- 
ber 29, 1669, aged seventy-seven years. His wife 
died June 2, 1676. 

(IV) William, eldest son of John and Eliza- 
beth (Thompson) Cogswell, was born in West- 
bury, Leigh, county of Wilts, England, in 1619. He 
was sixteen years old when he came with his 
parents to America. He settled on the home place 
in Ipswich, and spent his life there. He had many 
of his father's traits, and was one of the most in- 
fluential men of that part of Ipswich. It was 
largely through his efforts that the gospel ministry 
was established at Chebacco. He gave the land 
on which the first meeting house in Chebacco was 
built. He was a subscriber to "Denison's Compen- 
sation" in 1648; a surveyor of the public ways in 
1663; a commoner in 1664; a tithingman in 1667; a 
voter in town affairs in 1679, and was often chosen 
selectman and moderator of the parish meetings. 
He made his will August $■ 1696. and died Decem- 
ber 15. 1700. The inventory of his estate amounted 



to three hundred and forty-one pounds, ten shil- 
lings. He married, in 1649, Susanna Hawkes, born 
in 1633, in Charlestown, Massachusetts, and died 
prior to 1696. Her parents were Adam and Mrs. 
Anne (Hutchinson) Hawkes. The children born 
of this union were : Elizabeth, Hester, Susanna, 
Ann, William, Jonathan, Edmund, John, Adam and 
Sarah. 

CV) Lieutenant John (2) Cogswell, eighth 
child and fourth son of William and Susannah or 
Susanna (Hawkes) Cogswell, was born in Che- 
bacco, Ipswich, May 12, 1665, and died there in 
1710. He was a member of the church, and filled 
various public offices in the town. He died, intes- 
tate at the age of forty-five years, leaving a prop- 
erty appraised • at eight hundred and eighty-nine 
pounds, two shillings. He married Hannah Good- 
hue, daughter of Deacon William, Jr., and Han- 
nah (Dane) Goodhue. She was born July 4, 1673, 
in Chebacco, where they resided. She married 
(second), in 1713, Lieutenant Thomas Perley, and 
died December 25, 1742. The children of John and 
Hannah Cogswell were : Hannah, William, Su- 
sanna, John, Francis, Elizabeth, Margaret, Xa- 
thaniel, Bethiah and Joseph. (Mention of Na- 
thaniel and descendants forms a part of this article). 

(VI) John (3), second son and fourth child of 
Lieutenant John (2) and Hannah (Goodhue) 
Cogswell, was born December 2, 1699, in Che- 
bacco, parish of Ipswich, and resided in Marble- 
head and Haverhill, Massachusetts. He was a sad- 
dler by trade and was a storekeeper and farmer. 
In deeds and other documents he was "gentleman." 
He died December 18. 1780. He w^as married Octc- 
ber 28, 1720, to Susanna Low, who was born Janu- 
ary 12, 1698, and survived him over three year?, 
dying January 14. 1784. Their children were : 
Susanna, Sarah and John. 

(VII) Susanna, eldest child of John (3) and 
Susanna (Low) Cogswell, was born in 1722, in 
Marblehead, and was married December 13, 1744. 
to Dr. James Pecker, of Haverhill. She died March 
13, 1761. (See James (3) Pecker, IV). 

(VI) Nathaniel, eighth child and fourth son 
of Lieutenant John (2) and Hannah (Goodhue.) 
Cogswell, was born in Chebacco, January 19, 1707, 
and died in Atkinson, New Hampshire, March 23, 
1783. He was three years old when his father dted. 
While yet a boy he entered a store in Haverhill, 
and eventually became a prominent citizen and 
leading merchant in the town. He was a man 
of integrity and business capacity. He was a de- 
voted and efficient member of the church from the 
time he united with it. June i, 1746, till his death. 
After a successful business life he retired in 1761.. 
and settled upon a farm in Atkinson, New Hamp- 
shire, and at once became active in establishing 
religious and educational institutions in the town. 
He gave the land and contributed freely toward 
the first meetinghouse, which was erected by pri- 
vate subscription in 1768-69. Prior to the comple- 
tion of the church public worship was conducted in 
Mr. Cogswell's house. 

"During the Revolutionary war his patrioti-nj 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



I 121 



was declared by large loan^ lo provide equip- 
ments and provisions for the soldiers. These loans 
o£ money, by reason of the depreciated currency, 
proved almost a total loss. Besides providing 
money Mr. Cogswell gave eight sons to the army, 
who served with distinction, and filled an aggregate 
term of service of more than thirty-eight years, 
said to be the longest rendered by any family in the 
country. It is said that those eight sons were of 
such height that in the aggregate they measured 
about fifty feet, making a large amount of soldier 
lineally, as well as in other respects. They all 
survived the war, and became prominent in profes- 
sional and civil life." 

Nathaniel Cogswell married, January 31, 1740, 
Judith Badger (See Badger), who was born ni 
Haverhill, Massachusetts, February 3, 1724, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Hannah (Peaslee) Badger. She 
married at the age of sixteen years, united with 
the church at the age of twenty, March 18, 1744, 
and died May 7, iSlo. She was a person of com- 
manding figure and cultured manners. The nine- 
teen children of this marriage were : Nathaniel 
(died young), Jeremiah, Joseph (died young), 
Thomas, Joseph (died young), Hannah, Judith 
(died young), Amos, Judith (died young), Na- 
thaniel Peaslee, Joseph (died young), Moses, a 
daughter (died young), William, John. Ebenezcr, 
Joseph, Francis, a daughter (died young). 

(VH) Dr. Josepli Cogswell, twelfth son and 
seventeenth child of Nathaniel and Judith (Badger) 
Cogswell, was born in Haverhill, Massachusetts, 
April 16, 1764. and died in Tamworth, :\Iarch 17. 
1851. When a mere lad he served in the army of 
the Revolution. He studied medicine with his 
brother, Dr. William Cogswell, and was assistant 
surgeon at West Point. In 1787 he established 
himself in the practice of medicine in Warner, New- 
Hampshire, where he united with the Congrega- 
tional Church in 17S9. The next year he removed 
to Durham, where he remained until 1797, when 
he removed to Tamworth, where he resided and 
practiced medicine upwards of fifty years. He died 
at the age of eighty-seven years, and in the sixty- 
second year of his married life. He married, De- 
cember 27, 1788, Judith Colby, daughter of Thomas 
Elliott and Judith (Sargent) Colby, of Warner, 
New Hampshire. She was born September 25. 
1771, in Amesbury. Massachusetts, and died No- 
vember 5, 1857. The children of this union were : 
Judith, Joseph Badger (died young), Hannah 
(died young), Ebenezcr, Ruth Badger (died 
young), Thomas, Ruth, Hannah, jMary Sargent, 
Joseph, Emily, and Elliott Colby, whose sketch 
follows. 

(VIII) Rev. Elliott Colby Cogswell, twelfth 
and youngest child of Dr. Joseph and Judith (Col- 
by) Cogswell, was born in Tamworth. June II. 
1814, and died in Rye. New Hampshire, August 3!, 
1887. He graduated from Dartmouth College in 
1838. and from the Gilmanton Theological Seminary 
in 1842. His first pastorate was at Northwood. 
where he was settled over the Congregational 
iii — 20 



Church November 3, 1842. In 1848 he removed to 
Newmarket, where he was pastor of the church 
eight years. From that place he removed to New 
Boston and remained until October 31, 1865, as 
pastor of the First Presbyterian Church. He then 
returned to Northwood as pastor of the church, 
and founded Coe's Northwood Academy, of which 
he was principal for ten years, until June, 1876. 
He published in 1864 a History of New Boston, in 
1878 a History of Nottingham, Deerfield and North- 
wood, and was the author of several miscellaneous 
works, including the life of the Rev. Samuel Hid- 
den. He married, August 12, 1842, Sophia Ann 
.Adams, wlio was born in Gilmanton, January 24, 
1819, and died March 12, 1901, daughter of Deacon 
Thomas and Sophia G. (Kimball) Adams. Of this 
marriage there were born nine children : Edward 
Elliott (died young), Mary Upham (died in 1902), 
Ellen Sophia (died young), Martha Ellen, Eliza- 
beth G., William Badger, Thomas Herbert (died 
young), Ephraim Bradford (died voung) and Henry 
Burr. 

(IX) }\Iary Upham Cogswell, second child and 
eldest daughter of Rev. Elliott C. and Sophia Ann 
I Adams) Cogswell, was born in Northwood, Sep- 
tember 6, 1S45, and was married. November 19, 
1865, to George W. Bingham (See Bingham, VIII). 
She was an intellectual woman of rare culture. She 
died March 4. 1902. 

(IX) Elizabeth Greenleaf Cogswell, fifth child 
and fourth daughter of Rev. Elliott C. and Sophia 
Ann (Adams) Cogswell, was born in Newmarket, 
March 5, 1S52. She graduated from Coe"s Academy, 
Northwood, in 1871. For years she was a successful 
teacher of music, first in the west, and afterward 
at Pinkerton Academy, at Derry, New Hampshire. 
She married (first), February 28, 1877, Charles H. 
Prescott, who was born in Deerfield, July i, 1853, 
son of Winthrop T. and Martha Prescott. One 
child was born of this union, Edward Cogswell, 
who died in infancy. She was married (second), 
August 3, 1905, in Stratford, Connecticut, to George 
W. Bingham, principal of Pinkerton Academy. (See 
Bingham, VIII). 



One who has carefully studied the 
DUNSTER history of the Dunster family says 

this name was originally written 
Dunstonc, that it was occasionally so written in the 
time of Henry VIII and in the time of President 
Dunster. The name is an ancient one in England, 
especially in Lancashire. As early as Henry VIII 
there are records in the parish of Middleston of the 
burials of Hugh, Katherine, Johannes and Georgius 
Dunster, all written the year 1543. The name Dun- 
ster is of Saxon origin, and may signify a dweller 
upon a dun, down, or little hill. There is a market 
town in Somersetshire, England, and a castle there 
by that name. It seems most probable that the ori- 
ginal Dunster took his name from the town. There 
are several families of Dunster in this country. 

(I) Henry Dunster, the father of President 
Henry Dunster, of Harvard College, resided (prob- 



1122 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ably) at Balehoult (sometimes called Billyholt) 
which is supposed to have been a private gentle- 
man's residence in Bury, Lancashire, England. He 
had four sons, Henry, Richard, Thomas and Robert, 
and two or three daughters, only one of whom is 
mentioned by name. Richard came to this country 
in 1640. but nothing further is definitely known of 
}iini. 

(II) Rev. Henry (2) Dunster, the first of the 
name in this country, and the first president of 
Harvard College, was born in England, and came 
to Massachusetts in the year 1640. The only known 
reference to the place of his birth is found in a 
letter of his own, dated February, 1648, in which he 
says: "Ego enino Lancastreusis sum" (for I am 
from Lancastire). He was educated at Magdalen 
College, Cambridge, England, from which he was 
graduated Bachelor of Arts in 1630, and Master of 
Arts in 1634. Among his contemporaries at Cam- 
bridge were Jeremy Taylor, John Milton, Ralph 
Cudworth, John Pearson, John Harvard and others 
■who subsequently became more or less distinguished. 
He was trained for the ministry, but there is im 
evidence that he ever took orders in the church, and 
after a few years spent in teaching he came to 
America. He was a man of retiring disposition, 
and probably left England to avoid taking part in 
the acrimonious strife then beginning in England 
which culminated in the execution of King Charles. 

He arrived in Boston toward the latter end of 
the summer of 1640. and resided for a short time 
"on his own estate at the North East Corner of 
Court Street and Washington Street." His reputa- 
tion as a ripe scholar had evidently preceded him, 
for "immediately upon his arrival he was waited 
on by the Governor, magistrates, elders and Minis- 
ters" and asked by a sort of acclamation and gen- 
eral consent "to remove to Cambridge and assume 
the presidency of the college" — a work which proved 
ie be his life occupation. According to his contem- 
poraries he was finely equipped both by nature and 
education for the position thus offered him. John- 
son in his "Wonder-Working Providence of Zion's 
Saviour in New England," says he "was fitted from 
the Lord for the work, and by those that have skill 
in that way, reported to be an able proficient in 
Hebrew, Greek and Latin languages." Prince says 
he was "one of the greatest masters of the Oriental 
languages that hath been known in these ends of the 
earth," and much more testimony to the same effect 
is given by others, his associates or biographers. 
The college which he undertook to conduct had 
been established, but it was little more than an ad- 
vanced school, and the task which he assumed was 
one requiring great skill and ability to bring it to a 
successful issue. In a short time after removing to 
Cambridge he united with the church there on con- 
fession of faitli. He frequently supplied the pulpit 
in Cambridge and vicinity during his presidency, 
took a prominent part in founding the church at 
Woburn, and manifested great interest in the edu- 
cation and conversion of the Indians, and joined 
heartily with John Eliot and the Mayhews in the 
work. The second charter of the college, obtained 



in 1650 on his express petition, declares its object is 
to include "the education of the English and Indian 
youth of this country in knowledge and godliness." 
President Dunster's office seems to have been no 
sinecure, for besides the instruction and discipline 
which largely devolved on him, he was charged 
with the administration of the college matters, even 
down to such particulars as the direction of the 
commons, the keeping of the student's account, the 
construction of the college edifice and the presi- 
dent's house, the collection of his salary, etc. The 
requisites for admission into college, the details of 
the course of study, and the rules and precepts for 
the government of the students, were prepared by 
him ; and Quincy says that the principles of educa- 
tion estalilished by him were not materially changed 
during the whole of the seventeenth century. In 
college discipline it seems he took advantage of the 
common belief in the active agency of evil spirits, 
and there is a tradition in the family of his having 
formally exorcised the devil, whom the students had 
raised, but had not the power to allay; President 
Dunster's administration of affairs was prosperous, 
tlie expectations of his patrons were realized, and 
his school "soon acquired so high a reputation that 
in several instances youth of opulent families were 
sent over to receive their education in New Eng- 
land." The first .printing press in North America 
was set up in Cambridge in 1639, "as an appendage 
of Harvard College"; and for more than a hun- 
dred years it was kept under the supervision of the 
general court. In 1641 it was put under the man- 
agement of President Dunster, and transferred to 
his house, where it was keot until 1655. Among 
the earlier issues from this press were two editions 
of the Book of Psalms — 1640 and 1647. 

President Dunster administered the affairs of 
the college for twelve or thirteen years with great 
success, and probably had more influence in perpe- 
tuating its existence and shaping its policy than any 
other person. But just then a public avowal by him 
of sentiments of opposition to infant baptism created 
great excitement in the colony and raised a violent 
spirit of opposition toward him. The authorities 
exerted their influence to have him recant, or at 
least keep silent \Yith regard to his belief, but this 
he refused to do, and sent in his resignation of the 
presidency of the college to the general court. This 
was not at first accepted, but when he sent in a 
second resignation, October 24, 1654, that was ac- 
cepted. The further treatment of President Dun- 
ster by the government of the colony was harsh and 
undeserved, growing out of the intolerant disposi- 
tion of the Puritans of that day 

In July, 1654. President Dunster made another 
public declaration of his sentiments, on the Sabbath 
day. in the church at Cambridge. For this ofl^ense 
he was some time later indicted by the grand jury, 
the presentment being "for disturbance of the 
ordinances of Christ upon the Lords daye." He 
was tried, convicted and sentenced according to the 
ecclesiastical law, "to be publiquely admonished and 
give bond for his good behavior." Subsequently, a 
child was born to him and he was again indicted by 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1123 



the grand jury and tried by the county court, the 
presentment being "for not bringing his child to tlie 
Holy Ordinance of Baptisme." He was again con- 
victed, solemly admonished of his dangerous error, 
and ordered to give bond for his appearance at the 
next court of assistants of Boston. The bond was 
executed but there is no record of any further pro- 
ceedings in the case. The public officials at first 
refused to allow Mr. Dunster to remain in the pres- 
ident's house, but when they realized that it was not 
only for the convenience of Mr. Dunster and his 
family, but greatly to the interest of the college in 
order that he might properly assist his successor to 
a proper understanding of his position and the per- 
formance of his duties, they retracted their heart- 
less decision, and he was permitted to remain some 
three months. 

Soon afterward he removed to Scituate. in 
Plymouth colony, where the inhabitants were much 
tnore tolerant in religious matters than were the 
people of Massachusetts Bay. The indignities and 
persecutions from which he had suffered had al- 
ready attracted the attention of the Baptists of the 
Mother country, and on July 10. 1656. he received 
an invitation to make Dublin, Ireland, his home and 
informing him that fifty pounds had been granted 
by Lord Deputy Henry Cromwell, son of the Pro- 
tector, for the transportation thither of himself and 
family. But this invitation he declined. Notices 
of his ministry in Scituate continue until about the 
time of his death, February 27. 1660. The place of 
his burial is in the old cemetery opposite the college 
ground, a few rods northwest of the church now 
standing therein. He was president of Harvard 
College from August 27, 1640, to October 24, 1654. 
He married (first). June 21, 1641. Elizabeth, 
widow of the Rev. Jose, Josse or Joseph Glover. 
She died without issue. August 23, 1643. He mar- 
ried (second) Elizabeth, who was a woman of su- 
perior mind and good education. She died Sep- 
tember 12, i6go. The children, all by the second 
wife, were : David, Dorothy, Henry, Jonathan and 
Elizabeth. 

(HI) Jonathan Dunster, fourth child and third 
son of Rev. Henry (2) and Elizabeth Dunster, was 
born in Cambridge, Massachusetts, September 28 or 
October 27. 1653 ; both dates appear on the town 
records. He died in Cambridge in 1725, aged about 
seventy-two years. He was a farmer, and inherited 
lands lying on both sides of the division line be- 
tween that part of Cambridge called IMenotomy 
(now Arlington) and Charlestown (now Somer- 
ville). In the Charlestown Records, December 30. 
1706. is the entry : "Ordered, Also to Warn 
A Negro Man and A Negro woman at Mr. Jona. 
Dunster's, to remove forthwith out of this Town 
and also to Warn sed Dunster that he Entertain 
them No Longer at the peril of the law." He was 
tithingman for the year beginning jMarch 5. 1716. 
His estate was a long time unsettled. He marrie<l 
(first). December 5, 1678, Abigail Elliot. She died 
and he married (second), April 5. 1692. Deborah 
Wade, daughter of Major Jonathan Wade, of !Med- 



ford. and granddaughter of Governor Thomas 
Dudley. She died, and he married (third) 
(contract dated November 23, 1719) Ruth, widow 
of Joshua Eaton, of Reading. She survived him 
and married, November 22, 1732, Lieutenant Amos 
Marrett, of Cambridge, and was published Septem- 
ber 30, 1742. to Peter Huges, of Stoneham. His 
children by the first wife were : Henry, and Eliza- 
beth, died young. By the second wife, Deborah 
(Wade) Dunster: Jonathan, Elizabeth, Thomas 
and Dorothy. " 

(IV) Henry (3) Dunster, eldest son of Jon- 
athan and Abigail (Elliot) Dunster, was born in 
Cambridge, July 17, 16S0, and died January 28, 1753, 
aged seventy-three. He owned the covenant and 
was baptized February i, 1708. He married, Feb- 
ruary 25, 1708. Martha Russell, daughter of Jason 
and Mary (Hubbard) Russell, of Cambridge, and 
l)orn May 2, 1691. She died in Menotomy, June 
-7, 1771. aged eighty-one years. She had owned the 
covenant and was baptized February 13. about two 
weeks before their marriage. They were both ad- 
mitted to full communion in the First Church, Cam- 
liridge, March 11 or 16, 1711. They w-ere both con- 
stituent members of the Second Church in Arling- 
ton. To the first pastor of their church, Rev. Sam- 
uel Cooke, he gave wood gratis for seven years. 
He resided on what was then known as Menotomy 
Field, later Charlestown. nov/ Arlington. After the 
death of her husband Henry, Martha (Russell) 
Dunster became the second wife of Francis Locke, 
March 15, 1759. The children of Henry and Martha 
were eleven in number : Martha, Mary, Abigail, 
Elizabeth. Isaiah. Henry, Elizabeth, Jason, Eunice, 
Jonathan and Ruth. 

(V) Jason Dunster, the eighth child and third 
son of Henry (3) and Martha (Russell) Dunster. 
was born in Cambridge, "July ye 14, O. S., July 24. 
1725-6, N. S.." and baptized July 18, 1725. He lived 
on the old Dunster homestead, bounded northerly 
Py the "Gilboa road" and easterly by the Concord 
road. After living there eighteen years he removed 
to Mason. New Hampshire, where he was taxed for 
the first time January 28, 1768. His homestead of 
one hundred and eighty-five acres and another piece 
of five acres cost him one hundred and twenty-one 
pounds, six shillings and eight pence. He was a 
consistent member of the church established in 
Mason, October 13, 1772. In 1773 he was highway 
surveyor, and in 1774 w-as constable, that is collector 
of taxes, and in that year his private tax was two 
farthings, equal to one-third of a cent. In 1780, 
during the Revolutionary war, "his beef rate." that 
is ta.x to raise money for the Continental army, was 
riue hundred and thirty-one pounds, fourteen shill- 
ings, ten pence and three quarters, in the depreciated 
currency of the time. In 1798 Mr. Dunster sold his 
farm to his son Samuel, and with his wife spent the 
remainder of his life with his son, Jason Dunster, 
in the west part of the town, afterward called 
Mason Village. 

He married. October 26. 1749. Rebecca, daughter 
of Samuel and .\nne (Harrington) Cutter. She 



1 124 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



was born in Cliarlestown, March 3, 1732, and died 
in Mason, New Hampshire, February 16, 1806, in 
the seventy-second year of her age. They had eight 
children: Ruth, Rebecca (died young), Henry, Re- 
becca, Martha, Isaiah, Jason and Samuel, all bap- 
tized in Cambridge. (Jason and descendants re- 
ceive mention in this article). 

(VI) Martha Dunster, the fifth child and 
fourth daughter of Jason and Rebecca (Cutter) 
Dunster, was born in Cambridge (Precinct), 
August 28, 1758. She removed with her father's 
family, in 1769, to Mason, New Hampshire. She 
married, September 7, 1783, Oliver Wright, who 
was born September 14. 1758, and died September 
3, 1847, aged eighty-nine years. He had land in 
Monadnock. No. 6, then called Packer's field, now 
Nelson, where they settled and lived and died. She 
died September 2, 1838, in the eighty-first year of 
her age. They had ten children : Oliver, Kendall, 
Abiel, Jason, Patty, Henry, Anna. Lucy, Ira and 
Myra. 

(VII) Patty Wright, fifth child and eldest 
daughter of Oliver and Martha (Dunster) Wright, 
was born in Nelson, March 28, 1794, and died 
August 19. 1854. She married Oliver Heald, of 
Milford, New Hampshire. (See Heald VII). 

(VI) Jason (2) Dunster, the seventh child of 
Jason (i) and Rebecca (Cutter) Dunster, was 
born at Cambridge (now Arlington), March 27, 
and baptized April 3, 1763, by Rev. Samuel Cooke. 
It is very probable that his father took him to Ma- 
son, New Hampshire, in 1769, but no evidence is 
found of his being there until after the Revolution- 
ary war. There is a tradition that he was bound out 
or given to a man in Lexington, Littleton or Groton, 
with whom he remained until he enlisted in the 
Continental army. This occurred in April, 1780, 
when he enlisted for six months service, and was 
mustered in at Concord, Massachusetts. He did 
duty in Boston until his enlistment in the three 
years' service. When he left the six months' service 
for that purpose, he received no pay nor any cloth- 
ing. When the Massachusetts regiments were re- 
duced he was placed in the regiment commanded by 
Colonel Brooks, Captain Lincoln and ISIajor William 
Hull. When the regiments were again reduced, he 
was transferred to the Fourth Massachusetts Regi- 
ment, from which he was discharged as above 
stated. When Lord Cornwallis surrendered in 1781, 
he was in the Northern Department of the army 
under General Heath. While in the winter en- 
campment at Valley Forge, he had the smallpox. 
He was fond of telling his experiences in army life. 
and told on winter nights and summer days many a 
tale of marches through the "Jarseys," and daring 
exploits with the marauders about the Hudson, who 
were designated "Cow Boys." They were a horde 
of "Tories," commanded by Colonel Delancy, who 
made their stronghold at Morrisania, and scoured 
the fertile valleys of the Hudson, sweeping off 
forage and cattle for the British army in New York. 
He was discharged from the army at "Pickskill 
Hiths" (Peekskill Heights). New York. When he 



was discharged he was paid in "Continental money." 
Of this he kept a thirty-dollar bill as a souvenir, 
often remarking in later life that when he came 
back from the army he could not get a breakfast 
with it, else he would have spent it. 

After his discharge from the army he returned 
to Lexington, Massachusetts, and at twenty-three 
years of age was taxed in Mason, New Hampshire. 
In that year he bought a lot of land in Hancock, 
New Hampshire, and in 1800 he purchased lot No. 
10, in the eighteenth range in Mason. He lived on 
this lot from the time of his marriage till his death. 
He owned several other tracts of land in the vi- 
cinity, most of which was woodland, which he 
cleared for the lumber and cordwood. In 1816 he 
and his son Jason bought an undivided one-third 
interest in the saw and grist mills at the Upper 
Falls on the Souhegan river, a quarter of a mile 
from his residence. This mill privilege was the 
first in Mason. Jason Dunster was selectman for 
three successive years, and performed the town 
business promptly and efficiently, though his pen- 
manship was worse than Horace Greeley's, and 
what it lacked in legibility had to be made up from 
the writer's memory, which was unfailing. 

In 1821 Mason Village was erected with a sepa- 
rate school district, and it was suggested that the 
schoolhouse should be paid for by subscriptions. 
Deacon Dakin, between whom and Mr. Dunster 
an opportunity for banter was never missed, took 
this plan of Mr. Dunster rather jocularly, and turn- 
ing to him said : '"Well, Dunster, I will give as 
much as you will." Dunster instantly replied, "I 
will give one-half of the whole cost; now Deacon, 
don't back out." The Deacon was as good as his 
word, and Jason Dunster and Deacon Dakin built 
what was for that day a splendid brick schoolhouse. 
a credit to them and a means to aid in the education 
of the youth of the village for years afterward. 
After one or two ineffectual attempts, Mr. Dunster 
succeeded in getting a pension for his Revolutionary 
services of eight dollars per month, commencing 
May I, 1818. This was paid until his death, and 
afterward his widow was pensioned. He died 
Riarch 21, 1828, aged sixty-five, w'as buried at Ma- 
son Center, in the Dunster group, and a suitable 
stone placed over his grave by his widow. 

He married, at Mason, April 18. 1793, Mary 
(Polly in the records) Meriam, who was born at 
Concord, Massachusetts, October 28, 1768, daughter 
of Joseph and Mary (Brooks) Meriam. She was 
an early member of the Mason Congregational 
Church, and was a woman of truly christian char- 
acter, a candid disposition, and it is said and be- 
lieved that no one saw her out of temper. She 
died May 5, 1858, in the nintieth year of her age, 
and was buried beside her husband in Mason Cen- 
ter cemetery. The seven children of this marriage, 
all born in Mason, were : Jason, Mary, Isaiah, Bet- 
sey, Samuel. Rebecca and Julianna. 

(VII) Mary Dunster, the second child of Jason 
and Mary (Meriam) Dunster, was born in Mason, 
February 16, 1796. She had all the advantages of 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1125 



the common school, and was considered well edu- 
cated. She was an industrious girl, and of great 
service to her parents as a spinster and weaver in 
those days when all clothing was made from the 
raw material at home. At the time of the great 
gale, September, 1815, she was engaged in prepar- 
ing her marriage outfit, when the roof of the new 
house the family then occupied was lifted so as 'to 
show at the top a wide opening, but fell back and 
remained firm, and she received no injury. She 
married. December 28, 1815, Benoni Cutter Kimball 
(see Kimball VIII). 



This family, which is a branch of the 
C.-VRBEE Carbee family of Massachusetts, is 
descended from Revolutionary stock, 
and most of its members reside in Vermont. 

(I) Joel Carbee was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tion. His record on the rolls of the state of Massa- 
•chusetts is as follows : Joel Carbee of Dedham, 
private. Captain Abial Richard's company. Colonel 
Mclntish's regiment. March 23 to April 6, 1778, at 
Roxbury and Boston. Joel Carby of Dedliam served 
five months, twenty-five days, 1780. Also enlisted 
for three years March 29, 1781, and served till the 
end of the war. These are believed to be one and 
the same person with Joel Carbee of Dedham and 
Newbury. He removed to Newbury, Vermont, 
about 1789, and settled on Wallace Hill, and owned 
and tilled a farm. He died there February 19, 1834, 
in the seventy-first year of his age. He married 
Lois Downer, by whom he had several children. 

(II) Joel, son of Joel . and Lois (Downer) 
Carbee. was born in Newbury, Vermont, .\pril 24, 
179s, and died in Ryegate, Vermont, April 18, 1865. 
He was a farmer. In religious belief he was a 
Universalist, and in politics an ardent Republican. 
He married, August 24, 1823, Dorcas Johnson, who 
died in Ryegate, January 23, 1874. Their children 
were: Lois, Sarah, Joel, Mary. Jennie, John, Henry 
C, Francena, Marcia. 

(III) Henry C, son of Joel and Dorcas (John- 
son) Carbee, was born in Ryegate, October 12, 1842, 
and was broug'ht up on his father's farm. His edu- 
cation was obtained in the public schools of his 
native town. In 1875 he removed to Hooksett, New 
Hampshire, and bought a farm in this region justly 
celebrated for its fertility. This property is in the 
northern part of the town. Later he purchased sixty 
acres of land upon which he now resides, called the 
Pinnacle. On this property is the widely known 
Pinnacle Rock, on the summit of which is a tower 
sixty feet high, the rock and the tower rising three 
hundred and ninety feet above the surface of the 
lake in the park and commanding a very extended 
prospect over the surrounding country. The lake 
is a handsome body of water, the park is well 
stocked with wild animals and is arranged as a 
place of general entertainment with suitable accom- 
modations for outdoor sports. Mr. Carbee is a Re- 
publican and has more than a passing interest in 
politics. His party has honored him with the office 
of selectman, which he held ten year?; of deputy 



sheriff, which he held ten years; and of chairman of 
the board of selectmen seven years. He is inclined 
to fraternal and social organizations, and is a mem- 
ber of Jewell Lodge, No. 94, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons of Suncook; Friendship Lodge, No. 
19, Independent Order of Odd Fellows of Hook- 
sett ; and of Granite Lodge, No. 3, Knights of 
Pythias, of Manchester, New Hampshire. His re- 
ligious affiliations are with the Universalists. He 
enlisted January 5, 1864, in the Second Vermont 
Battery. Light Artillery, in Newbury, Vermont, and 
served till the end of the war; mustered out August 
3r, 1864: he was stationed at Port Hudson. 

Mr. Carbee married (first) Lucy (Jordan) Rand, 
daughter of Oscar P. Jordan, of New York state. 
One child, Lily, born August i, 1870. He married 
(second). December 6, 1877, Martha A. (Rowell) 
Fuller, of Hooksett, born November 7, 1S58, daugh- 
ter of Peter B. Rowell, farmer and stonemason of 
Hooksett. Children: Edgar S.. born October 21, 
1878; Lina A., September 13. 1880: Jennie May, 
September 8, 1885, died July 16, 1887; Benjamin 
Levi, July 22. 1887, died May 28, 18S8; Earl 
Thomas, October 2, 1894; Pearl Rowell. October 2, 
1894. 



This old Colonial family, though 
CRESSEV not a large one, is scattered over most 

of the states of the Union, and has 
furnished many men of energy, activity and 
courage. 

(I) Mighill Cressey landed in Salem with his 
brother William, probably in the year 1649. He 
w^as thirty years old in 1658. He lived for a time 
in the family of Lieutenant Thomas Lathrop, after- 
wards Captain Lathrop, who with sixty of his sol- 
diers fell in the battle of Bloody Brook, in Deer- 
field. September 18, 1675. From June. 1652, to 
May. 1663, he lived in the family of Joshua Ray at 
"Royal Side," Salem, now Beverly. He married, 
1658, Mary Bachelder, born in Salem in 1640, daugh- 
ter of John and Elizabeth Bachelder, of "Royal Side." 
She was baptized at Salem, April 19, 1640, and died 
in childbed, August, 1659. He then moved to Ips- 
wich, and married, April 6, 1660. Mary Quilter, born in 
Ipswich, May 2, 1641, daughter of Mark Quilter. 
He died in Ipswich, April, 1670. He had by his 
first wife one child, John; and by the second three 
children: Mighill. William and Mary. Mary, his 
widow, with her three children moved to Rowley, 
Massachusetts, April, 1671, and died in that town. 
May 7, 1707. This christian name is sometimes 
spelled "Michael" on old records, but Mighill Cres- 
sey, the immigrant, spelled his own name "Mighel 
Cresse." On various records the surname (Cres- 
sey) is spelled twenty-three different ways. 

(II) John Cressey, only child of Mighill and 
Mary (Bachelder) Cressey, was born at "Royal 
Side," in Salem, August, 1659, and after the death 
of his father lived with his grandfather Bachelder. 
In 1675 he chose in court his uncle, Joseph Bach- 
elder. to be his guardian. He was a tailor and re- 
sided in Salem on land at "Royal Side" formerly 



1 126 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



belonging to his grandfather Bachelder. He was a 
deacon of the Second Church of Beverley. His 
grave is marked by a slatestone, inscribed as fol- 
lows : "Here lyeth the Body of Deacon John Cresy 
who died July ye 22(1 1735 In ye 76th year of his 
age." His will was dated June 12, 1734, and ap- 
proved August 18, 1735. He married Sarah Gaines, 
born in Ipswich, November 23, 1665, daughter of 
John and Mary (Tredwell) Gaines, of Ipswich. 
She died at "Royal Side," April 4, 1751. They had 
eleven children: Mary, John, died young; Sarah, 
John. Joseph, Daniel, Job, Benjamin, Hannah, Abi- 
gail, Noah. 

(III) Daniel Cressey, sixth child and tliird son 
of John and Sarah (Gaines) Cressey, was born in 
Salem, July ir. 1698, and was a yeoman. He mar- 
ried, October 20, 1720, Sarah Ingleson (probably 
daughter of John and Mary Ingleson). of Salem. 
About 1740 he moved to Connecticut, and nothing 
further is as yet known of him. Their eleven chil- 
dren were : John, Ruth, died young ; Mary, Ruth. 
Sarah, Daniel, Joseph, Elizabeth, Richard, Ebenezcr 
and Anna. 

(IV) Daniel (2) Cressey, second son and sixth 
child of Daniel (i) and Sarah (Ingleson) Cressey, 
was baptized in Beverly, October 11, 1730. He 
lived for some time in Salem. New Hampshire, 
whence in 1779 he went to Bradford. New Hamp- 
shire, where he was the third settler, and died 
there in 1817, aged eighty-three. He was a Revolu- 
tionary soldier and served in Captain I.=aac Bald- 
win's company. Colonel John Stark's regiment, en- 
listed April 23, 1775, and serving three months and 
sixteen days in the campaign about Boston. He 
married Abigail Allen, of Beverly, and they were 
the parents of .■\ndrevv. Bartholomew, Mary, and 
probably John and Edward, and perhaps others. 

(V) Edward Cressey, son of Daniel" (2) and 
Abigail (Allen) Cressey. was born about 1766, in 
Salem, New Hampshire, and died about 1820, in 
Bradford, this state, aged fifty-four years. He was 
a farmer, and kept a hotel one and one-half miles 
west of Bradford Village. He married (second) 
Sarah Sawyer, of Bradford, who bore him seven 
children, namely : Margaret, Oliver, Lucinda, Ed- 
ward, William Plumer, Louise and Mary. 

(VI) William Plumer Cressy. second son and 
fifth child of Edward and Sarah (Sawyer) Cressey, 
was born January 31, 1812, in Bradford, and died 
December 23, iSgo. He grew up on the old home- 
stead, and received a common-school education. 
He was always engaged in farming, and in addition 
to that industry engaged in breeding fine horses. 
He was a lover of the noble animal, and had a 
widely-extended reputation as a trainer of horses, 
of which he broke hundreds and perhaps thousands, 
and trained for the Boston market and for Boston 
owners. He dealt in lumber and converted many 
great trees into mast and spar timber, which was 
taken to the sea via the Merrimack canal. In politics 
he was a Democrat, and in his later life a member 
of the Free Soil party of New Hampshire's great 
leader, John P. Hale. He was school committee- 



man, and for many years selectman, and lieutenant 
of the troopers. He was one of the busiest and 
most energetic citizens of Bradford, influential and 
respected. He married Mary (jould, born 181 1, 
daughter of Colonel Enoch and Sarah (Rowell) 
Gould, of Hopkinton (see Gould). She died in 
November, 1897. They had three sons : Warren G., 
Frank and Willis E. The first and last went to 
Independence, Oregon, after the Civil war, and died 
there. 

(VII) Frank Cressy, second son and child of 
William P. and Mary (Gould) Cressy, was born in 
Bradford, October 21, 1840, and being a healthy, 
strong and nimble boy, took an active part in the 
interests his father carried on, farming and lum- 
bering, each coming in for a share of his attention. 
He attended the common school until 1859, when 
be began a course at the New London Academy. 
He worked on the farm summers and taught school 
winters, taking a term at the academy each spring 
and fall. After teaching in the common schools for 
three years he was employed in village schools, 
finally teaching in the high school at Bradford. In 
1865. si.x years from the time he began teaching, he 
took a position as mail clerk on trains between 
Bradford and Manchester. From this he went to 
Wasiiington, District of Columbia, where he was 
employed as a clerk in the office of the sixth auditor 
of the treasury. Here he served from November, 
1865. to August, 1873, during which time he was 
twice promoted. Returning to New Hampshire he 
became local agent in the railway mail service at 
Concord. Two years later he was transferred to 
the train service, where as a first-class clerk he 
made the runs of two hundred and sixty-five miles 
between Boston. Massachusetts, and St. Albans, 
Vermont, for the ensuing five years. The mono- 
tony of long hours of strenuous work was varied 
by several train wreck.s^ some of them badly damag- 
ing the car he occupied, from all which Mr. Cressy 
escaped without injury. On the election of Grover 
Cleveland in 1884. Mr. Cressy resigned his place in 
the government service and became a traveling 
salesman for the firm of Blanchard & Company, 
flour and grain dealers, Concord. Two years later 
he exchanged into a similar position for the firm of 
Moseley & Company, of Concord, and traveled for 
them over the states of New Hampshire and Ver- 
mont fourteen years. At the end of that time 
{ 1898) he bought out the business and has since 
carried it on with marked success, doing a business 
of four hundred thousand dollars annually. Mr. 
Cressy is industrious, energetic, alert and successful. 
His native good judgment, executive ability and 
lively genial temperament have made work easy and 
prosperity a certainty. He is a respected citizen of 
Concord and a man of influence. He is a staunch 
Republican, has been president of the Republican 
Club of the sixth ward for ten years, and alderman 
of the sixth ward for two years and member of the 
house of representatives two years. He is a prompt 
and liberal supporter of the Unitarian Church, on 
the prudential conmiittee of which he has served 




r^i^^-'^^-ri^ C^"^^ 




NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1127 



for years. He is a member of the Wonolancet Club, 
and of the White Mountain Travelers' Association, 
the largest social organization of traveling men in 
New England. He has served as president of this 
association two years, and as treasurer for the past 
ten years. 

Mr. Cressy married. March 30, 1862, at Bradford, 
Annette M. Ring, born at New London, May 5. 
1841, daughter of Edmund J. and Miriam (Nelson) 
Ring. They have three children : Will Martin, a 
well-known actor and playwright ; Harry Ring, 
traveling salesman, having an interest in the flour 
and grain business of his father, and May Florence. 

The surname Ingalls is believed to 
INGALLS be of Scandinavian- origin and de- 
rived from Ingialld. The etymology 
of the name is "By the power of Thor." "Dooms- 
day Book" records a Baron Ingald. a tenant of King 
William at Rersbi and Elvestone, Leicestershire, A. 
D. 1080, who came from Nomiandy. "During the 
ninth century the Scandinavian pirates often de- 
scended on the east coast of Great Britain, and in 
after years many of this nationality made settle- 
ments there, especially in Lincolnshire. These peo- 
ple were a hardy, seafaring race owing to the na- 
ture of their country, but under changed conditions 
of environment, settled down to tilling the soil. 
The earliest record found is that of Henry Ingalls, 
grandfather of Edmund (the ancestor), and made 
iu 1555, lie probably iiaving been born about 14S0. 
The next record is that of Robert the father (of 
Edmund) and made in 1617. The name is still 
common in England." 

(I) Edmund Ingalls was born at Skirbcck, 
Lincolnshire, England, about 1598, and came to 
Salem. Massachusetts, with Governor Endicott's 
company in 1628. With his brother Francis and 
four others he began the settlement of Lynn in 
1629. He was a man of good report, although the 
town records of Lynn show that on one occasion 
he was fined for bringing home sticks in both his 
arms on the Sabbath day from Mr. Holyoke's rails. 
In March, 1648, while traveling on horseback to 
Boston, he was drowned in the Saugus river, owing 
to a defective bridge, and his heirs recovered dam- 
ages from the town. The christian name of his 
wife was Ann, but her family name and the date of 
their marriage is unknown. They had nine chil- 
dren: Robert, born about 1621, married Sarah 
Harkcr. Elizabeth, born 1622, died June 9, 1676, 
married Rev. Francis Dane, of Andover. Massachu- 
setts. Faith, born 1623. married Andrew Allen, and 
moved to Andover. John, born 1625. married Eliza- 
beth Barrett. Sarah, born 1626. married William 
Bitnar. Henry, born 1627, married (first) Mary 
Osgood, (second) Sarah Farnum. Samuel, born 
1634, married Ruth Eaton. Mary, married John 
Eaton. Joseph, died young. 

(II) Henry Ingalls. son of Edmund and .\nn 
Ingalls, was born in Skirbeck. in 1627, and died in 
Andover, Massachusetts, February 8, 1718-19. He 
owned land in Ipswich, which he sold in 1652. and 



was one of the first settlers in Andover, where he 
bought land from the Indians, paying for it in 
clothing and trinkets. He was made a freeman by 
the general court in 1673, and took a prominent 
part in town affairs, holding many offices of trust. 
He married (first), July 6. 1653, Mary, daughter of 
John and Ann Osgood, of Andover. She died 
May 6, 1686. He married (second), August i, 1687, 
Sarah Farnum, widow of George Abbott. She 
died May 12, 1728. His children, all by his first 
marriage, were : Samuel, born October 3, 1654, mar- 
ried Sarah Hcndrick. Henry, December 8. 1656, 
married Abigail Emery. Mary, January 28, 1659, 
married John Stevens. John, May 21, 1661, mar- 
ried Sarah Russell. Stephen, May 21, 1661, mar- 
ried Dinah Elson. Francis, September 3, 1663, died 
December 9, 1690. Moses. June 6, 1666, died Sep- 
tember 28, 1667. James, September 24, 1669. mar- 
ried Hannah Abbott. Sarah, September 7. 1672, 
probably died young. Joseph, March 24. 1675. died 
young. Josiah, February 28, 1676, married (first) 
Mary Holt, (second) Esther Frye. Sarah, January 
22, 1679, married Joshua Swan. (Mention of Henry 
.iiul descendants appears in this article). 

(III) Samuel, eldest child of Henry and Mary 
(Osgood) Ingalls, was born October 3, 1654. in 
Andover, and lived his life in that town, dying 
.\ugust II, 1733. On the records he is given the 
title of sergeant. He was married June 4, 1682. to 
Sarah, daughter of Daniel Hendrick. She was born 
August S, 1661. Their children were: Samuel, 
Sarah. Moses, Daniel (died young). Deborah (died 
young). Eldad, Deborah, Daniel, Ruth, Nathaniel 
and Mary. 

(IV) Captain Samuel (2), eldest child of Sam- 
uel (i) and Sarah (Hendrick) Ingalls. was born 
May 7, 1683, in Andover, and moved from that town 
to Haverhill in 1717. He was one of the original 
proprietors of Chester, New Hampshire, where he 
was prominent in civic affairs, and built the first 
frame house in that town in 1732. Captain Ingalls 
was a blacksmith by trade, and in 1721 he was 
granted a mill privilege in Chester, on his agree- 
ment to build a saw mill in one year. In the same 
year he was a member of the committee appointed to 
erect a church. He was captain of the militia and 
served as clerk and as selectman. His death oc- 
curred about 1760, at about the age of seventy-seven 
years. He married Mary Watts, who -was born 
June 27, 1687, a daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth 
(Ayer) Watts. Their children were born in And- 
over and Haverhill, namely : Elizabeth, Sarah. Sam- 
uel, Mary, Ruth, Timothy, Mehctable. Abigail and 
Nathaniel. 

(V) Samuel (3), eldest son and second child 
of Samuel (2) and Mary (Watts) Ingalls. was born 
September 15. 1712, in Andover, Massachusetts, and 
died October 6, 1747, in Hill. New Hampshire. He 
lived in early life in Sandown, New Hampshire, 
and passed his last days in New Chester (now 
Hill), where two of his sons, Ebenezcr and Jona- 
than, resided. He married Susanna Jose. 

(VI) Ebenezer, son of Samuel (3) and Susanni 



1 128 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(Jose) Ingalls. was in Bristol as early as 1771, but 
removed to New Hampton about 1777. He served 
in the -war of the Revolution one term, and was a 
member of the board of selectmen of Bristol in 
1776. The name of his wife does not appear, nor 
the date of his death. 

(Vn) Gilman, son of Ebenezer Ingalls. was 
born in Bristol, February 4, 1775, and died May 23, 
1855, on the farm first settled by his father in that 
town. He married Abigail, daughter of Timothy 
Emerson, of Alexandria. She was born there April 
iS, 1778, and died in Bristol, October 9, i860. Their 
eleven children were : Gilman, Abigail, Josiah 
Emerson, Lydia, Phebe, Mary Jane, Harvey Nichols, 
Timothy, Luther. George Washington and Nancv B. 

(Vlil) Gilman (2), eldest child of Gilman'(i) 
and Abigail (Emerson) Ingalls, was born in New 
Hampton, January 29, 1798. He removed to 
Bristol, where he died July 6, 1862. He married 
(first) Nancy Bowen, who lived but a short time; 
(second). October 9, 1823, Sarah, daughter of Dr. 
Thomas Roberts, of Alexandria. Dr. Roberts was 
a skillful practitioner of his time, and it is stated 
on good authority that he had a specific of his own 
with which he treated successfully cancerous pa- 
tients. Unfortunately he died without divulging the 
formula. Gilman Ingalls lost his first home in Bris- 
tol by fire. He then moved to the farm which had been 
in the family since 1771. Sarah (Roberts) Ingalls 
died January 24, 1862. Their children were: Gus- 
tavus Washington, Amanda Jane, Lucinda Hibbard, 
Mahala Plumer, George Harvey, Mary Philbrick, 
Ann Maria, Horace Langdon, John Henry, Frances 
Amelia and Alfretta Augusta. 

This large family of children is worthy of more 
than casual mention. With hardly an exception they 
were endowed with more than ordinary musical talent, 
and naturally were prominent in the social circles 
of their town and its vicinity. All of the sons, four 
in number, were in the Civil war, two as musicians. 
Gustavus Ingalls, the oldest child of Gilman (2) 
and Sarah (Roberts) Ingalls, was born May 21, 
1824, in Bristol. He was 'a fine musician, and be- 
came one of the early band leaders in that part of 
the state. August i, 1861, he enlisted from Con- 
cord as musician in the Third Regiment with which 
he remained until August 31, 1862. In January. 
1863, he recruited a band that did service mainly at 
Hilton Head, South Carolina. It was known as 
the Second Brigade Band of the T«nth Army Corps, 
otherwise as the Hilton Head Post Band, and which 
under his superior leadership attained a wide repu- 
tation. Mr. Ingalls later, settled in Worcester, 
Massachusetts, where he engaged in the manufac- 
ture of organ reed boards. He died in that city 
November 6, 1903. George Harvey, second son of 
Gilman (2) and Sarah (Roberts) Ingalls, was born 
in Bristol, February 5, 1832. He very early dis- 
played marked musical ability, and it is claimed that 
he was a leader of one of the choirs in his town at 
twelve years of age. He was a member of the Hil- 
ton Head Post Band, after its organization by his 
brother Gustavus. until the close of the Civil war. 
He flicd in Warner, February 8, 1899. Horace 



Langdon. third son of Gilman (2) and Sarah 
(Roberts) Ingalls, was born August 31, 1838, in 
Bristol. He was one of the first to enlist in the 
war from that town, on April 23, 1861. He served 
in the First Regiment until it was mustered out 
August 9 following. December 2, 1861, he enlisted 
for three years in the Eighth Regiment, and served 
in the Department of the Gulf until May 2, 1863, 
when he was discharged. December 16. 1864, he en- 
listed in Company G, Eighteenth Regiment, for one 
year, and was mustered the same day as sergeant, 
and appointed commissary agent. He was mustered 
out July 29. 1865. Mr. Ingalls resides in Concord, 
and has served several terms as doorkeeper of the 
house of representatives. John H., youngest son of 
Gilman (2) and Sarah (Roberts) Ingalls, was born 
April 16. 1841. He enlisted in the Twelfth New 
Hampshire Regiment, August 19, 1862, and was 
mustered as sergeant. April 16, 1863, he was dis- 
charged by reason of illness, and died at his home 
in Bristol, December S following. 

(IX) Mary Philbrick. sixth child and fourth 
daughter of Gilman (2) and Sarah (Roberts) In- 
galls. was born January 3, 1834. She married, Jan- 
uary 25. 1861, Lewis F. Pattee (see Pattee, VII). 

(III) Henry (2) Ingalls. second child and 
second son of Henry (l) and Mary (Osgood) In- 
galls. was born in Andover. Massachusetts, Decem- 
ber 8, 1656, and died there February 8. 1698-99. He 
married, June, 1688, Abigail, daughter of John, Jr., 
and Mary (Webster) Emer\-, of Newbury. She was 
born January 16. 1669, and died July 12, 1756. Their 
five children : Henry, born April 2, 1689. married 
Hannah Martin. Mar\-, February 25, 1691, not men- 
tioned in her father's will. Abigail, January 15, 
1693, died unmarried. August 11, 1742. Francis, 
December 20, 1694, married (first) Lydia Ingalls. 
Joseph. April 17. 1697. married Phebe Farnum. 

(IV) Joseph Ingalls, youngest child and son of 
Henry and Abigail (Emery) Ingalls, was born in 
Andover, Massachusetts, and died there December 
29. 1757. He married, December 29, 1720, Phebe, 
daughter of John Farnum. She survived her hus- 
band a little more than two years, and died Febru- 
ary iS. 1760. Their ten children: Joseph, born 1721, 
died February 20. 1721-22. Joshua. February 22, 
I7_'2, died February 15, 172S-29. Joseph, August 
22. 1723, married Sarah Abbott. Phebe, July 7, 
1725, married Joshua Abbott, lived at Amherst, New 
Hampshire. Tabitha, March 23, 1727, died March 
13. 1728-29. Jobihua. August 13. 1752, -married 
Elizabeth Steel. Tabitha. March 14, 173S, married 
Solomon Kittredge. Stephen, April 23, 1737. Eliza- 
beth. August 21, 1739, died May 13, 1752. Peter, 
October 28, 1741, died December 10, 1741. 

(V) Joseph Ingalls, third child and son of 
Joseph and Phebe (Farnum) Ingalls, was born in 
.Andover. Massachusetts, August 22, 1723, and died 
at his home in Pomfret, Connecticut, October 18, 
1790. He married. May 24, 17—, Sarah, daughter 
of Paul and Elizabeth (Gray) Abbott. She was 
born October 15. 1730, and died January 30. 1810. 
Their children : Phebe, born August 22, 175°. died 
September 20. 175.;. Peter. February 19. 1732, mar- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1 129 



ried Sarah Ashley. Darius, June 27, 1754, married 
Loderma Lee. Dorcas (twin with Darius), born 
June 27, 1754. Asa. February 29, 1756, died Decem- 
ber 25, 1775. Luther, August 24, 1758, married Lucy 
Utley. Calvin, November 22, 1760, married (first) 
Catherine Terrington, (second) Mary Horton. 
Chester, August 9, 1762, married Sylvia Stevens. 
Joseph, August 24, 1764. died September 6, 1786. 
Sarah, December 18. 1766, died April 24, 1833, mar- 
ried Abraham Ford. Hannah, July 7, 1769, mar- 
ried Josiah Ingersoll. Har\-ey, July 7, 1775, died 
December 30, 1833. 

(VI) Luther Ingalls. sixth child and fourth 
son of Joseph and Sarah (Abbott) Ingalls, was born 
in Pomfret, Connecticut, August 24, 1758, and died 
in Hanover, New Hampshire, July 4, 1855. He was 
a soldier of the Revolution from Pomfret. He mar- 
ried, June 25, 1781, Lucy, daughter of Joseph Utley. 
She was born May 18, 1760, and died January 7. 
1831. They had eight children: Royal, born March 
26, 1783, died October 11, 1793. Sylvester, April 25, 
1785. married Mary Turner. Lucy, May 30, 1787, 
died January 3. 1S05. Sarah, August 27. 1789, mar- 
ried Timothy Owen. Elizabeth, October 26, 1794. 
Polly, April 8, 1797. died March 9, 1880, married 
Silas T. Vaughan. Luther, May 5, 1799. married 
Mary A. Levering. George, May 20, 1805. died Jan- 
iiary 2, 1843. ■ 

(Vil) Polly Ingalls. daugliter of Lutlier and 
Lucy (Utley) Ingalls. was born April 8, 1797, and 
died March 9, 1880. She married Silas T. Vaughan, 
whose father, Captain Jabez Vaughan, is believed 
to have been born in Middlebury, Massachusetts, in 
October, 1763, and served with credit during the 
Revolutionary war. He died June 16, 1813. His 
son, Silas T. Vaughan, was born August 28, 1797, 
and died April 20, 1862. The children of Silas T. 
and Mary (Ingalls) Vaughan were: Orsino A. J., 
Alvin. Silas Orcasto, Sophronia, Elizabeth, Phineas, 
Mary. Ellen. Orville, Royal, Myra and William 
Vaughan. 

Elizabeth Vaughan was born in Hanover, New 
Hampshire, September 27, 1825, and died May 4, 
1872. She married, April 17, 1845, Edwin Perry 
Knight (see Knight III), who was born in Han- 
over. August IS, 1816, and died October 22, 1857. 
Their children are : Edwin F., William Franklin, 
Charles E., Emma E., and Myra V. Knight. 



America for centuries has been 
LINEHAN the land sought by the poor and 

oppressed of all nations, and that 
their coming here results in the betterment of 
their condition is seen in almost every instance, 
and in many cases such is the influence of our 
free institutions that the poor immigrant of a few 
years ago is the man of rank and standing of to- 
day. The following account is illustrative of what 
is brought about by energetic industry directed by 
quick intelligence in a free land. 

(I) John Linehan was born in Macroom, 
county of Cork, Ireland, December 16, 1816. His 
immediate ancestors were Cornelius and Hanora 



(Vaughan) Linehan and John and Mary (Riordan) 
Linehan. His mother died soon after his birth. 
His grandfather, for whom he was named, took 
him when this event occurred and he made his 
home with him until he reached manhood. He re- 
ceived a good education in a noted private school 
kept by a man named Burden. Several generations 
of the family has been engaged in the grain and 
milling business. On the death of his grandfather 
he inherited his property and business. At the 
age of twenty-one, in 1837, he married Margaret 
Foley, the daughter of a well known farmer in the 
adjoining parish of Kilmichael. 

The terrible experience of the famine period 
taught him, as it taught thousands of others, that 
there was no earthly hope of success for either him- 
self or family in Ireland ; so like so many of his 
race he turned his face towards the west, and came 
to the United States in the fall of 1847. He landed 
in New York City. A little later he came to New 
Hampshire, where he entered the employ of Super- 
intendent Lombard of the Northern Railroad. His 
family, consisting of his wife and five children, 
followed him in the fall of 1849. From their arrival 
until May, 1852, they made their home in Dan- 
bury. In May of the latter year he removed to 
Penacook, where practically a home was made per- 
manently. For some years he was foreman of the 
Penacook section, and later was in the employ of 
Barron, Didge & Company, at the tlour mill. Still 
later he was in the cabinet shop of H. H. Amsden 
& Sons. He died July 7, 1897, in his eighty-first 
year, and his body was laid beside that of his 
wife, whose death had preceded his, as she had 
departed this life October 14, 1891, aged seventy- 
six. Both rest in Calvary cemetery, Penacook. He 
was well versed in the history of his native land, and 
sympathized with every movement for the advance- 
ment of its people. He was a good citizen and a 
public-spirited man. He was fully naturalized five 
years after his arrival here, and never failed to 
cast his ballot for the candidate of his choice. 
Politically he was a Democrat, but independent; 
his first presidential ballot was cast for James 
Buchanan, his last for William McKinley. 

In religion he was a Catholic — a loyal adherent 
to the faith of his fathers. He was one of the 
pioneers of his creed in Penacook, and while in 
life one of its most liberal supporters. He was 
a faithful husband, an affectionate, indulgent father, 
and a kind neighbor. He was blessed in his wife. 
She was one of the most devout as well as one of 
the most modest of her sex — a perfect type of the 
race of women whose piety and love of virtue have 
given their native land a world wide reputation. 
Eight children, five sons and three daughters, 
blessed their union. Their names are : Mary, John 
Cornelius, Annie, Joanna. Timothy Patrick, An- 
drew, George Henry, and Michael Joseph, the last 
three being born in America. 

(II) Hon. John Cornelius Linehan. second 
child and eldest son of John and Margaret (Foley) 
Linelian, was born in Macroom, county of Cork, 



II.^.O 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Ireland, February 9, 1S40, and died in Penacook, 
September 19, 1905. He came to this couiUry with 
his mother, his brother Timothy and two sisters, 
in October, 1S49. Another sister followed a year 
later. His father had emigrated two years before, 
settling temporarily in Danbury, New Hampshire, 
where his family joined him. In 1852 he removed 
with his people to Fisherville, now Penacook, 
making his home there permanently. His opportu- 
nities for securing an education were limited ; he 
attended school in Ireland two years, and in 
America one. He studied hard at home under the 
direction of his father who, more fortunate, had 
been able to acquire a good education in his native 
land. At the age of twelve he went to work in the 
Penacook cotton factory, which was then owned 
and operated by H. H. and J. S. Brown. He labored 
there from 1852 to 1857, five years, beginning as a 
doffer in the spinning room and ending as a loom 
fixer in the weaving room. At the latter date he 
entered the employ of Rolfe Brothers, sash, blind, 
and box manufacturers, and remained there nearly 
five years, being foreman of the box department 
for the greater part of that period. He be came a 
member of the Fisherville cornet band in i860. 
On August 15, 1861, with six of his associates, he 
enlisted in the band of the Third New Hampshire 
Volunteers for service in the Civil war. He did 
his duty as a musician, and at the battles of James 
Island and Sccessionville he and the other mem- 
bers of the band laid aside their instruments, and 
devoted their energies to bringing off the wounded. 
Many of these soon afterward expired. To 
those about to die he offered the comforts 
of religion. Among the many pathetic inci- 
dents of the war there were few more 
touching than that of the youthful Linehan 
repeating the litany at the request of a soldier who 
had received his death wound and was dying far 
away from his own regiment and from any con- 
fessor of his faith. On his discharge August 31, 
1862, he again re-entered the employ of Rolfe 
Brothers, but closed his connection with them in 
December. During the year 1863 he had charge of 
the packing department of the flour mill. In Janu- 
ary, 1864, he was engaged by Caldwell & .\msdcn, 
then owners of the cabinet shop. He worked for 
this iirni until April 10, 1866, being for the greater 
part of the time one of the shipping clerks. On 
the last date mentioned he entered into co-partner- 
ship with Moses H. Bean, who was engaged in the 
mercantile business. A month later Henry V. 
Brown, one of his tent mates in the army and a 
lifelong friend, bought out the interest of Mr. 
Bean, and under the firm name of Brown & Line- 
han the business was continued until May, 1869, 
when he purchased Mr. Brown's interest in the 
firm, operating alone until he finally sold out in 
January, 1891. He was located for nearly twenty 
years in the Exchange block on Washington square. 
During his business career he acquired a repu- 
tation for honesty and integrity not confined to 
Penacook. In religion he was a Catholic, and 



through life loyal to his faith. Like his father he 
was a liberal contributor towards the support of 
the church, and for forty years one of the most 
active member in Penacook. For twenty-five years 
he was superintendent of the Sunday school con- 
nected with the Penacook parish. The best proof 
of the efficiency of his labors is the fact that while 
under his supervision not a Catholic child in Pena- 
cook was an absentee except in case of sickness 
from the Sunday school. In 1867, at the earnest 
solicitation of Rev. J. E. Barry, whose pastorate 
included Penacook, he negotiated for the purchase 
of the building occupied for many years as a place 
of worship by the Methodists. To secure a note 
given for payment, he and John Thornton, another 
member of the congregation, mortgaged their 
houses to John L. Tallant, from whom the money 
was borrowed, as additional security, as he was 
unwilling to accept the mortgage on the church 
alone. When additional land was secured for 
Woodlawn cemetery, of which he was one of the 
trustees, he made an appeal to his associates to 
set aside a part of it for a cemetery for the Catholics 
of Penacook. His request was granted, and the 
land deeded to the bishop of the diocese in trust for 
the Catholic congregation in the village. 

When Brown's band was organized in 1865 he 
was one of its first members, and during its exist- 
ence, until igo2, was its secretary and treasurer. 
He was president of the Fisherville Lyceum Associ- 
ation during the greater part of its existence. This 
was founded shortly after the war, and was the 
means of providing some of the best speaking talent 
in the United States for the people of the village. 
He afliliated with the Republican party from early 
manhood, and was honored by being elected or 
appointed to various positions of honor and trust 
within its gift. He filled nearly every office in 
ward one. He was a member of the common coun- 
cil in 1872-73, and a member of the board of alder- 
men from 1877 to 1878. He was chosen a member of 
the executive council of the state of New Hampshire 
to serve during the term of Governor Charles H. Saw- 
yer in 1887-88 and during his term of office was chair- 
man of the committee on state prison. He was ap- 
pointed trustee of the Industrial School by Governor 
Samuel W. Hale in 1884, and except for a brief inter- 
val of a few months served continually until the 
time of his death. He was secretary of the board 
for several years, and from 1897 until his death 
he was its president. He was also one of the com- 
mittee chosen to build the Penacook public school, 
and was one of the connnittee to select the location 
for the Concord soldier's monument, as well as to 
select its design and inscription. 

He was appointed insurance commissioner of 
New Hampshire for three years by Governor David 
H. Goodell, on September 28, 1890. He was re- 
appointed in 1893 by Governor John B. Smith, in 
1896 by Governor Charles A. Busiel, in 1899 by 
Ckjvernor Frank W. Rollins, in 1902 by Governor 
Batchelder, and 1905 by Governor McLane. The 
last appointment was made less than ten days before 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1131 



the death of Mr. Linehan, at a special meeting of 
governor and council at Portsmouth. His record 
as insurance commissioner is well known. He was 
fearless and conscientious in the performance of 
his duties, and received the commendation of his 
superiors, the governors and councils, as well as 
the people of the state. Circumstances when he was 
first appointed obliged him to face a situation re- 
quiring courage as well as discretion. How well 
it was done the records of the insurance depart- 
ment, as well as the press of the state, bear witness. 
A leading journal of the state commenting on his 
course in office speaks of him as follows: "When 
he was called to the important oflSce of commis- 
sioner he has a right to feel, as others did, that he 
had won it by his merits. This good opinion he 
justified during all the years he had the supervision 
and to a large extent the control of the vast in- 
surance interests of the state. No suspicion of cor- 
ruption or unfaithfulness of any kind ever touched 
his administration. No favoritism ever shaped his 
policy or dictated his oflicial acts. For whatever 
he believed was for the good of the honest com- 
panies and tlie policy holders of the state, for what 
his judgment and his conscience approved, he stood 
fearlessly and unflinchingly; and with the univer- 
sal grief over the loss of the man and the friend 
goes the feeling tliat his place as a public servant 
can hardly be filled." 

He was one of the charter members of William 
I. Brown Post, Grand Army of the Republic, and 
its first commander, filling the position for over 
two years. He always took an active interest in 
the welfare of his own post, and before its forma- 
tion had been partly instrumental in the formation 
of the Fisherville Memorial Association, wliich was 
composed mainly of Brown's band and several pub- 
lic-spirited citizens, for the object of observing 
Memorial Day. With a few exceptions he was the 
president of the day on Memorial Days every year 
after the institution of the post. He was chosen 
to represent the department of New Hampshire, 
Grand Army of the Republic, at the National En- 
campment at Albany in 1878, and a member of the 
national council of administration in i88o-8r. He 
was elected department commander of New Hamp- 
shire in 1883-84, and appointed a member of the 
national pension committee, serving until 1887, when 
he was unanimously chosen junior vice-commander- 
in-chief. Grand Army of the Republic. He was 
president of the New Hampshire Veterans Asso- 
ciation in 1885-86, and from its institution, with 
the exception of a few years, its musical director. 
He was a trustee of the Loan and Trust Savings 
Bank of Concord, a member of the New Hamp- 
shire Historical Society, Knights of Columbus, 
Charitable Irish Society of Boston, and the Amer- 
ican-Irish Historical Society. He was the treas- 
urer and one of the founders of the latter. 

Although a busy man through life he found time 
to study, became a fine scholar, especially strong in 
history, and wrote much for publication. In con- 



junction with his lifelong friend and comrade, D. 
.\rthur Brown, he wrote a memorial history of Pen- 
acook in the Civil war. The book contains a sketch 
of every person, so far as known who served in that 
great contest from Penacook, and also of the com- 
rades of William I. Brown Post who came to re- 
side in Penacook or vicinity since the close of the 
war. When completed the book was placed for 
preservation in the New Hampshire state library. 
The type-written sheets Mr. Brown had bound in 
book form, for the use of the post room. 

He was a steady contributor to weeklies and 
periodicals. He contributed a chapter "The Irish 
in New Hampshire," to McClintock's History of 
New Hampshire, also a chapter to the History of 
the First New Hampshire, on "The Irish of New 
Hampshire in the Civil War," and a chapter to the 
History of the Seventeenth New Hampshire, on 
"Alusic and Songs of the War." He also wrote 
many sketches on the early Irish settlers in tlie 
thirteen colonies, which have been published in 
papers and magazines. For his services in this line 
he received a degree from Dartinouth College, in 
1887. He was a witty, eloquent, and convivial 
speaker, and an interesting lecturer, and spoke more 
or less during every political campaign from 1884 
till 1904. He was a great reader and had a wonder- 
ful memory, and any story he came across was 
stored away for future use, but he very rarely told 
a story, even an old one, unless it was to illustrate 
a point. He had a keen sense of humor and a genial 
disposition, and with these he liked to make the 
world happier, and everybody went away from his 
presence with a smile. He was much sought after 
as an after dinner orator and did not require the 
sparkling glass to beget brilliant wit, for all his life 
he was a total abstainer. 

When the movement to mark the regimental 
positions on the Gettysburg battlefield was first 
mentioned in 1880 at the national encampment, 
Grand Army of the Republic, in Dayton, Ohio, he 
warmly advocated it. In 1885 he was appointed 
one of the directors of the Battlefield Association, 
holding that position until 1895 — ten years. The 
government then assumed charge of the field, and 
psesented each of the retiring directors a beautifully 
engraved testimonial for the services rendered. 
While serving on this board of directors he was 
largely instrumental in securing appropriations from 
the New Hampshire state legislature for the placing 
of monuments marking the positions held by the 
New Hampshire organizations on that great battle- 
field. In response to the invitation of the surviving 
veterans of the Second and Fifth New Hampshire 
Regiments, and the New Hampshire batallion of 
sharpshooters, he accompanied them to Gettysburg in 
the summer of 1887, and received from them, on behalf 
of the directors, the monuments of the three organiz- 
ations. By special request he also received the 
monument of Meagher's Irish Brigade, which was 
dedicated at the same time. As a recognition of 
his labors his name is cut with that of the other 
directors on (he high water mark monument lo- 



113- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



cated near the historic copse of trees which was the 
objective point of Pickett's men in their celebrated 
charge on July 3, 1862. 

Colonel Lineham was perhaps the most promi- 
nent Ainerican citizen of Irish birth in New Hamp- 
shire. He was an ardent advocate of all measures 
for the betterment of his native land, and had a part 
in the varioiis Jrish movements, his interest for 
the well-being of those whom by birth he peculiarly 
represented making him the selfsacrificing friend of 
Ireland, to whose voice and pen her cause is much 
indebted. He was a devout Catholic, and his name 
deserves to be remembered by future generations 
of Catholics in New England as one who did not 
conceal his faith, minimize its meaning or require- 
ments, or fail to practice it. Few laymen did more 
according to their opportunities for the spread of 
the faith than he, and yet there was no man in New 
Hampshire more openly honored or more sincerely 
respected by men of all creeds and parties. The old 
soldiers who had carried guns in hard fought cam- 
paigns, loved him for what he was, and bestowed 
upon him the highest honor they had in their power 
to bestow as commander of their state department. 

In politics, unlike most men of his faith and 
race, he cast his lot with the Republican party. It 
was his conviction of right, and he was a sincere 
and disinterested advocate of his party's principles. 
He was influential in his political party and held 
some of the most important state offices in its gift, 
because he was a strong man and willing to help 
in all honorable ways, and filled well all places he 
occupied. In private life he sustained an unblem- 
ished character, and his oldest acquaintances were 
his best friends. His marriage and his home life 
were ideal. 

He was wedded on January 2, 1864, to Mary E. 
Pendergast by the Rev. John O'Donnell at the par- 
ochial residence in Nashua. She was born in 
Dracut, Massachusetts. Of the children born to 
them four survive— Margaret Ann, born October 
2, 1864; John Joseph, October 9, 1866; Timothy 
Patrick, December 7, 1869; Henry Francis, June 
2-/, 1877. The eldest is known as Sister M. Joseph 
of the Sisters of Mercy of Portland Maine. The 
second is engaged in mercantile business in Wor- 
cester, Massachusetts. The third resides in New 
'^'')rk. The fourth resides in Penacook. 



The Winkleys (also properly 
\VL\KLEY spelled Winckley) of New England, 

never a numerous family, but emi- 
nently respectable and highly connected, are de- 
scendants of the ancient English family of that 
name, with arms : an eagle displayed countercharged, 
argent and gules, moth spes. The family in Amer- 
ica dates from about the year 1680. 

(I) Samuel Winkley came from Lancashire, 
England, about 1680, and landed at Portsmouth, 
New Hampshire. He settled first at Kittery, Maine, 
where in 1684 he married Sarah, daughter of 
Francis Trickey, and lived at Crooked Lane estate, 
which was granted to Trickey by the town af Kit- 



tery in 1656 "in honor of gallant deeds." They after- 
wards moved to Portsmouth, where Samuel was en- 
gaged in trade and commerce, and where he died 
m 1736, aged about seventy years. His children 
(.according to "Old Kittery and Her Families") 
were Samuel, Michael, William, Francis, Nicholas, 
Sarah, Elizabeth and Samuel, the latter the second 
child so named. 

(.11) Francis (i), fourth child of Samuel and 
Sarah (Trickey) Winkley, was born at Crooked 
Lane, Kittery, Maine, in 1689, and died April 2},, 
1776, aged eighty-seven years. He was a boat 
builder. He married, November 12, 1724, Mary, 
daughter of Rev. John Emerson, of Portsmouth, 
New Hampshire. She died March 17, 1745, aged 
forty-one years. Their children were John, Eliza- 
Ijeth, Samuel, Francis, Mary, Emerson and Sarah 
Winkley. 

(III) Francis (2), son of Francis (i) and Mary 
(Emerson) Winkley, was born at Portsmouth, New 
Hampshire, October 25, 1733, and died October 9, 
1818. He married Martha, daughter of Mark Hunk- 
ing, of Barrington, New Hampshire. She was born 
1734, and died January 16, 1807. They lived in Bar- 
rington, and had children : Mark H., Mary, John, 
Martha, Francis and Sarah Winkley. 

(IV) Mark Hunking, eldest son and child of 
Francis and Martha (Hunking) Winkley, was born 
October 28, 1763. He married Tamson, daughter 
of Paul Hayes, Esq., of Alton, New Hampshire, 
and their children were Mary, Francis, Martha, 
Paul and Dennis Winkley. 

(V) Francis (3), son of Mark H. and Tamson 
(Hayes) Winkley, married Sarah Lougee of Straf- 
ford, New Hampshire, and liad a daughter, Tamson 
Hayes Winkley. 

(VI) Tamson Hayes, daughter of Francis and 
Sarah (Lougee) Winkley, married John P. Clough, 
of Gihnanton Iron Works, New Hampshire. (See 
Clough VII). 



This name, which was originally 
KELLEY spelled Kelleigh, can be traced back 

to a period prior to the Norman con- 
quest, and its bearers are undoubtedly descended 
from the ancient Britons. It has been claimed that 
the name is of French origin, but there seem to be 
little or no conclusive evidence to substantiate this 
belief. The principal manoral seat of the family 
in England has been for many centuries located in 
the small parish of Kelly in Devonshire, but whether 
the community derived its name from the family, 
or vice-versa, cannot be determined. Burke and 
Shirley both agree as to its great antiquity, and the 
latter asserts that the Kellys have been lords of 
tlie manor at Kelly from the reign of Henry II., 
(1154-11S9). In Ireland. Kelly has for centuries 
been one of the most common surnames, and in the 
Irish language is called Ceallach, signifying strife, 
or war. K family of the name of Kelly has pos- 
sessed a free hold in the Isle of Man from time 
immemorial. The English Kellys furnished their 
share of early colonists in New England. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1 1 33 



(I) Ricliard Kelly resided in Exeter, Devon. 

(II) John, son of Richard Kelly, the immi- 
grant ancestor of the New Hampshire Kellys now 
under consideration, arrived at Boston in the ship 
"Hector" in 1633, and is said to have come from 
Newbury, England. He settled in Newbury, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1635, and was one of the early grantees 
there, receiving a four acre house lot, and was 
later (1639) assigned four acres of planting land on 
the marsh. The house lot he evidently did not use 
for the purpose intended, and when ready to erect 
a dwelling-house he secured a location on Oldtown 
Hill, some distance from the original settlement on 
the shores of Parker river. Coffin's "History of 
Newbury," contains a story based upon tradition 
that this immigrant's father went from Ireland to 
Newbury, England, but this cannot be corroborated. 
Another tradition which is probably a more truthful 
one is, that John the immigrant was a native of 
Exeter, in the county of Devon, and was connected 
with a family that took its name from the parish 
of Kelly, already referred to. In reference to 
this ancestor the Hon. John Kelly, a reliable anti- 
quarian, of Exeter, New Hampshire, states that he 
must have possessed some wealth as he brought 
with him goods in two chests, which fell to his 
grandson Richard. His death occurred at New- 
bury in 1644. The maiden name of his wife does 
not appear in the records. His children were: 
Sarah and John. 

(III) John, only son of John the immigrant, was 
born in Newbury, July 2, 1642. He took the free- 
man's oath in 1669. In addition to the land owned 
by his father he was granted by the town five acres 
more of the great marsh, and prior to 1690 he built 
a house at the foot of Graves Hill, on the west side 
of the road. About the year 1694 he moved from 
Oldtown Hill to the upper woods (now West New- 
bury), and he was authorized to maintain a ferry 
at Holt's Rocks. He died March 21, 1718. On May 
25, 1663, he married Sarah Knight, who was born 
March 23, 1648, daughter of Deacon Richard 
Knight, and a full list of members of the Second 
Church made June 20, 1714, at which time the Rev. 
Mr. Tufts was ordained pastor, contains the names 
of John Kelly and Sarah his wife. The latter died 
shortly after that date, and on March 15, 1716, he 
married for his second wife Lydia Ames, of Brad- 
ford, Massachusetts. His children were : Richard, 
John, Sarah, Abiel, Rebecca, Mary, Jonathan, 
Joseph, Hannah and Abigail. 

(IV) Jonathan, fourth son and seventh child 
of John and Sarah (Knight) Kelly, was born in 
Newbury March 20, 1681. In 1702 his father con- 
veyed to him twenty-five acres of the homestead 
upon which he resided until 1726, when he pur- 
chased for two hundred and twenty pounds of 
Jeremiah Dow, of Amesbury, forty acres of land 
in what is now Merrimack, and in the following 
year he sold his West Newbury property to Abel 
Merrill, Jr., receiving, according to the deed, which 
was signed jointly by himself and his wife Hester, 
the sum of five hundred pounds. About this time 



Jonathan and his wife were demitted from the 
church in West Newbury to that of the Rev. Mr. 
Wingate, at West Amesbury (Merrimack), whither 
they removed and resided for the rest of their lives. 
March 5, 1754, he settled accounts with his son 
Timothy Harvey, who had carried on his farm for 
seven years. He lived to become a nonogenarian, 
and is described at that period as being "low in 
statue, thick set and of a ruddy countenance." His 
marriage took place July 6, 1702, to Hester, daugh- 
ter of Deacon Benjamin Morse. She bore him these 
children, namely: Ruth, Esther, Jonathan, Benjamin, 
-Anna, Sarah, Samuel, Martha and Thnothy Harvey. 

(V) Jonathan, third child and eldest son of 
Jonathan and Hester (Morse) Kelly, was born in 
West Newbury, October 10, 1709. He married 
Hannah Blaisdell, and for many years resided in the 
immediate vicinity of the homestead in West Ames- 
bury. Indications point to the fact that he was a 
weaver as well as a farmer. April 23, 1778, he sold 
to one John Kelly his homestead, together with 
a piece of woodland in Kingston, New Hampshire, 
and removed to Hampstead, that state, where his 
death occurred in January, 1780. His children were: 
Hannah, Esther, Jonathan, John, Mary, Ebenezer, 
Moses and Richard, 

(VI) Jonathan Kelley, third child and eldest 
son of Jonathan and Hannah (Blaisdell) Kelley, 
was born in West Amesbury, December 24, 1736. 
With the second military company of Amesbury he 
responded to the alarm caused by the capture of 
Fort William and Henry, and he was drafted into 
the colonial service August 15, 1757. November 22, 
1760, he filed in Amesbury his intention to marry 
Mrs. Sarah Whicher (nee Foot), who died early 
in or prior to 1778, and on September 12 of that year 
his intention was published in Amesbury to marry 
Judith Eastman, of Hopkinton, New Hampshire. 
For short periods he resided in Rochester, Vermont, 
and Hopkinton, New Hampshire, and he finally 
settled in New Chester, New Hampshire, which is 
now Hill. He was the father of Timothy, Enoch, 
.•Abigail and Ebenezer. 

(VII) Dr. Timothy, eldest child of Jonathan 
and Sarah (Foot) (Whicher) Kelley, was born De- 
cember 12, 1761. He was led by a spirit of patrio- 
tisiTi into the continental service during the Revo- 
lutionary war, and he subsequently became a phy- 
sician, practicing first in Candia, New Hampshire, 
whence he removed to Bristol in 1790, and he after- 
wards located in Hill,, where he died February 19, 
1845. He was a man of superior intelligence and 
nuich natural ability, and these gifts became well 
developed in spite of his imperfect and irregular 
educational opportunities. December 28, 1783, he 
was married in Newbury, Massachusetts, to Joanna 
Newcomb, who was born on Cape -A.nn (probably 
in Gloucester) in June, 1762, and her death occurred 
in Hill the same year as that of her husband. She 
was the mother of eight children, namely : Charlotte, 
Horatio, Clarissa, Drusilla, Launcelot, .Alfred, Mary 
Ann and Joanna. 

(VIII) Deacon .Alfred, third son and sixth 



1 134 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



child of Dr. Timothy and Joanna (Newcomb) 
Kelley. was born in Bristol, November 13, 1795. 
When a young man he engaged in mercantile busi- 
ness, keeping a general country store for some time, 
and after relinquishing trade he purchased a small 
farm of about forty acres situated some two miles 
north of Hill village on the Pemigewasset. There 
he resided for the remainder of his life, which ter- 
minated September 28, 1845. He took a profound 
interest in the moral and religious welfare of the 
community, and was a deacon of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. Politically he acted with the 
Whig party. On June 30, 1829, he married Mary 
Currier, who was born in Plymouth, New Hamp- 
shire, Augu?t 27, 1805. daughter of Daniel Currier. 
The children of this luiion are : Harriet A., born 
April 19, 1839, married William Foster ; Mary E., 
born August 16, 1832, married Samuel W. Cutter 
of Carlton ; William C, who will be again referred 
to; and Martha J., born May 22, 1840, died Novem- 
ber 12, 1858. ■ 

(IX) William Currier, second cliild and only 
son of Deacon Alfred and Mary (Currier) Kelley, 
was born in Hill, June 6, 1834. At the age of 
eleven years he was left by his father's death wholly 
to the care of his mother, and his- educational oppor- 
tunities were bonlined to the primitive public school 
system then in vogue. When of sufficient age he 
took the management of the homestead farm, but 
relinquished it temporarily in 1862 and enlisted as 
a private in Company D, Twelfth Regiment New 
Hampshire Volunteers, for service in the Civil war. 
He participated in the battles of Chancellorsville, 
Gettysburg, Cold Harbor, etc., was transferred from 
the Army of the Potomac to the Department of 
the Gulf under General Benjamin F. Butler, and at 
the termination of hostilities was honorably dis- 
charged and mustered out with his regiment. Re- 
suming the management of the homestead farm in 
Hill, he resided there for the succeeding forty years, 
cultivating it with gratifying success and adding 
to his property as opportunity permitted until own- 
ing two hundred and fifty acres. He gives con- 
siderable attention to the dairy industry, keeping 
an average of fifteen cows, and is also quite largely 
interested in the cultivation of apples, raising from 
seventy-five to one hundred barrels annually. In 
1905 he partially relinquished the activities of life, 
and is now residing with his son, Alfred M. Kelley, 
in the village, but he still retains a general over- 
sight of his property. In politics Mr. Kelley is a 
Republican, and was formerly a leading spirit in 
local civic aftairs, having served as a selectman for 
a period of seventeen years, twelve years of which 
he was chairman of the board; was la.\ collector 
five years, represented his district in the lower 
branch of the state legislature in 1877 and has 
served as inspector of ballots ever since the inau- 
guration of the Australian system of voting. On 
May 28, 1867, he married Ruth Anna Merrill, born 
July 9, 1844, and daughter of Clark and Elizabeth 
(Crowell) Merrill, of Hill. She died February 22, 
1905. leaving four children, namely: Alfred M., born 



January 29, 1869, married Mabelle Call, and has one 
Dana; Mina J., born January 4, 1873, who is the 
wife of Harry F. Prescott, and resides in Lebanon, 
having three children— Francis, Harry and Roscoe; 
Elizabeth, born April 20, 1881, is now the wife of 
George Bucklin, of Bristol, and has one son, Vernal ; 
and Arthur W., who was killed in a railroad acci- 
dent January ig, 1901. 



The descendants of Walter 
WOODWORTH Woodworth, the settler of 

"Scituate, in New England," in 
1635, have had among them many persons of prom- 
inent worth. In the time of the Colonial wars they 
were well represented among the fighters. In later 
years there have appeared among them several who 
have been made famous by their poetry, notably, 
Samuel Woodworth, who wrote the exquisite poem 
•'The Old Oaken Bucket;" Francis Chandler Wood- 
worth, who wrote the bird song "Chick-a-dee-dee ;" 
and Nancy Adelia Woodworth, who composed the 
feeling poem entitled "The Old Homestead." 
Among those of recent generations who are well 
known in commercial circles are William Wood- 
worth, inventor of the Woodworth cylinder planing 
machine; Chauncey C. Woodworth, of Rochester, 
New York; Artemus B. Woodworth, of Lowell, 
Massachusetts; Edward B. and Albert B. Wood- 
worth, of Concord. New Hampshire. 

(I) Walter Woodworth came from Kent county, 
England, to Scituate. Massachusetts, in 1635. He 
was assigned the third lot on Kent street, which 
runs along the ocean front, at the corner of Meet- 
ing House Lane, and there he built a house. In 
that year he secured other land, a tract on the first 
Herring Brook, not far below Stockbridge Mill, 
where afterward stood the residence of the poet 
Samuel Woodworth, and another tract on Walnut 
Tree Hill, just west of the present Greenbush or 
South Scituate railroad station, which was in early 
times called Walter Woodworth's Hill, and in 1666 
he became a purchaser of sixty acres at Weymouth. 
In 1640 Walter was assessed nine shillings for pub- 
lic use, and March 2, 1641, became a freeman. 
June 4, 1645. he was appointed surveyor of high- 
ways in Scituate, and again in 1646 and 1656. His 
name appears frequently in the town records of 
Scituate as juror, etc. In 1654 he was a member of 
the First Church, which ordained Charles Chauncey 
as its minister. From a record of his will in the 
Plymouth county probate office, dated 1685, it ap- 
pears that he was a man of considerable substance, 
for in it he disposes of his dwelling house and barn, 
marshland, upland and commons in Scituate and 
Seconet, and other property. He died in 1685. His 
wife, whose name is unknown, seems to have died 
before him, as she is not mentioned in his will. 
He had ten children, six of whom were daughters, 
and all were alive when his will was made. Their 
names are: Thomas, born 1636: Sarah, 1637; Ben- 
jamin, 1638; Elizabeth, 1640; Joseph, 1648; Mary, 
March 10, 1650, married Aaron Symonds, Decem- 
ber 24, 1667 ; Martha, 1656, married Lieutenant 




Ot^M-^ 




NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1 1 



.■!.■> 



Zacliary Damon, June. 1679: Isaac, 1650: Mcliitable, 
August 15. 1662; Abigail, 1664. 

(II) Benjamin, second son and tliird child of 
Walter Woodvvorth, born in Scituate, 1638, died 
April 22, 1728. In 170.^ he bought for two hundred 
and fifty pounds from Philip Smith a large tract 
of land in Lebanon, Connecticut, where many Scit- 
uate people settled. He moved soon after to Leba- 
non with his family, and was admitted inhabitant 
December 22, 1704. In deeds of lands at Lebanon 
he is described as Benjamin Woodwortb, of Little 
Compton. Rhode Island. Benjamin's farm was in 
the northeast part of the town. In 1714 he was one 
of twenty-four signers, five of whom were Wood- 
worths, for a new church. Benjamin's will was 
executed January 21, 1727, and proved June 20. 
1728. Badge's "King Philip's War" describes Ben- 
jamin of Scituate, Massachusetts, and Benjamin, his 
son, of Lebanon, Connecticut, as serving in the Co- 
lonial Wars. Lands were assigned to him in 1676. 
as he applied to be paid in lands. Benjamin Wood- 
worth married (first) Deborah . by whom he 

had three children : Elizabeth. Deborah, and Mary. 

He married (second) Hannah , by whom he 

had eleven children: Benjamin. Jr.. Ichabod, Eben- 
ezer, Amos. Ezekiel. Caleb. Hannah, Ruth, Judith, 
Margaret and Priscilla. In all he had fourteen chil- 
dren. 

(III) Ebenezer, son of Benjamin and Hannah 
Woodworth, was born in Scituate, March 12. 1691. 
Further particulars of his life are not known. 

(IV) Ebenezer (2). son of Ebenezer (i) Wood- 
worth, was born at Lebanon, Connecticut, Septem- 
ber 26, 1 7 18. 

(V) Sylvanus, son of Ebenezer Woodworth, Jr.. 
was born at Lebanon, Connecticut, January 2, 1748, 
and was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. He 
fought under General Putnam at Bunker Hill. 

(VI) George Woodworth. son of Sylvanus Wood- 
worth, was born in Dorchester, New Hampshire, 
October 5, 179.^. and died at Hebron, New Hamp- 
shire, in 1864. He was educated in the public schools 
of the town, and his occupations were farming and 
shoemaking. He served the towMi of Hebron as 
selectman for some years, and was a justice of the 
peace and quorum. In politics he was a Whig, and 
later a Republican from the formation of that party. 
He was a great reader of the best literature, especi- 
ally the Bible, Shakespeare and Gibbon's Rome, and 
was a man of much inflnence in the town and greatly 
respected. In religion he was a Congregationalist, 
and a deacon in the Congregational Church for many 
years. He married Louisa Hovey, daughter of Ab- 
ner and Lois (Tucker) Hovey, and granddaughter 
of the Rev. Samuel Hovey, born at Lyme, New 
Hampshire, May 24. 1806. She w-as possessed of a 
fine mind, and was a school teacher for two years 
before her marriage. The children born to this 
couple were twelve in number: Leigh Richmond, 
born August 7. 1826: William Henry, January 14, 
1828; Esther Jamcsin, December 14, 1829; John 
Ball, January 25, 7832: George Thornton, August 2. 
1834; Sarah Frances, June 2, 1836; Elizabeth Kim- 



ball, .\pril 2, 1839: Artemas Brooks, .^pril 15. 1841 ; 
.•\lbert Bingham, April 7. 1843 ; Grace Lowella, June 
14, 1845; Edward Baker, March 27, 1847; Louise 
Maria, May 17, 1850. ' 

(VII) Albert Bingham, son of George and Lou- 
isa (Hovey) Woodworth, was born at Dorchester, 
New Hampshire, April 7. 1S43, and obtained his 
education in the public schools of Hebron and at 
Boscawen Academy. When a young man he was 
employed in a country store at Orford, for four 
years. Going from that place to Warren he had 
charge of a store for Asa Thurston, of Lyme for a 
time, and afterwards engaged in business for him- 
self. He went to Bristol in 1867, but stayed there 
only a year, and then removed to Lisbon where he 
remained five years, carrying on a store of general 
merchandise including a tailoring department. In 
1873 he removed to Concord, and with his brother 
Edward B., engaged in the retail grocery business, 
wliich they conducted for two years, when they pur- 
chased the wholesale business of Hutchins & Co. and 
from that to the present time. Mr. Woodworth has 
been engaged in the wholesale business in Concord, 
dealing in flour, groceries, feed, lime and cement, 
and covering the territory between Concord and 
Canada. The business w'as incorporated in 1901 as 
Woodworth & Company, and Mr. Woodworth was 
made its treasurer. He has been conspicuously suc- 
cessful in the mercantile line, and has become inter- 
ested in other enterprises. In 1883 he was one of 
the incorporators of the Parker & Young Company, 
(■I Lisbon, New Hampshire, manufacturers of piano 
sounding boards, of which he has been a director 
from the first, and president since 1895. This com- 
pany has now grown to be the largest manufacturer 
of sounding boards in the United States. Mr. Wood- 
worth has been connected with the corporation of 
the Moosilauke Mountain Hotel Company, summit 
of Mt. Moosilauke. from its beginning in 1880. 

He is a Republican and has been active and 
conspicuous in local politics. He served as alder- 
man of the Fifth ward in Concord from 1885 to 1889; 
representative in the New Hampshire legislature, 
1893-94, and mayor of Concord, 1897-99. He is a 
member of St. Paul's Church (Episcopal), and has 
been one of its vestrymen for twelve years. He was 
president of the board of trustees of the Margaret 
Pillsbury General Hospital from 1899 to 1904; and 
has been a trustee of the Holderncss School for 
Boys for several years, and is also trustee of the 
Episcopal Diocese of New Hampshire. In 1872 he 
was made a Mason, and since that time has been a 
member of Kane Lodge, No. 65, Free and .Accepted 
Masons, of Lisbon, New Hampshire. He is also a 
member of the Concord Board of Trade, the Wono- 
lancet Club, the New Hampshire Club of Boston, 
the .\ppalachian Mountain Club of Boston, and the 
Sons of the American Revolution. Mr. Woodworth 
is a man of action. His custom of i>ever putting 
off till tomorrow what he can do today has made his 
life successful and placed him among the leading 
citizens of Concord. His fair dealing and active 
participation in public business and the management 



ii-,6 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



of public institutions have given him an enviable 
place among the benevolent and public-spirited citi- 
zens of the state. 

He married, in Lisbon, New Hampshire, Septem- 
ber 30, 1873, Mary Angeline Parker, daughter of 
Charles and Amelia E. (Bennett) Parker, born May 
3, 1849 (see Parker VII). Mary A. Parker was grad- 
uated from Vassar College in 1870. She was a mem- 
ber of the Concord school board for nine years and 
is an active member of the Woman's Club, having 
served as its president from 1897 to 1899, and she 
has twice filled the presidency of the Boston Branch 
of Vassar alumnse. She is a prominent member 
of St. Paul's Church. The children of Albert B. and 
Iilary A. (Parker) Woodworth are: Edward Knowl- 
ton, born August 25, 1875 ; Grace, born October 5. 
1S79 ; Charles, born July 8, 18S5. All were born in 
Concord. Edward K. was graduated from Concord 
High School in 1893 ; from Dartmouth College in 
1897, and from Harvard Law School in 1900. and is 
now connected with the law firm of Streeter & Hol- 
lis. He married, June 25, 1903, at Claremont, Xew 
Hampshire, Clara Farwell, daughter of Hernion and 
Clara Elizabeth (Farwell) Holt of that town. They 
reside in Concord. Grace was educated in the Con- 
cord common and high schools, and the Gilman 
School, Cambridge, Massachusetts. Charles P. was 
graduated from Concord High School in 1903, and 
is now a student in Dartmouth College. 



The Bcckwiths of America trace 
BECKWITH their ancestry to the valiant old 

Norman Knight, Sir Hugh de 
Malebisse (i) who held lands under William the 
Conqueror, and who in 1066 stood upon the shores 
of England with his warrior companions and vowed 
to carve with his good sword an earldom as a 
narrow resting place which even England could not 
refuse her valiant invaders. 

(II) Sir Hugo de Malebisse. son of Sir Hugh 
lived in the reign oi King Stephen, 11 38; he had 
four sons and one daughter. 

(III) Sir Simon de Malebisse, son of Sir Hugo, 
was Lord of Cowten. in Craven. 

(IV) Sir Hercules de Malebisse, son of Sir Si- 
mon, married, in 1226, Lady Dame Beckwith Bruce, 
daughter of Sir William Bruce, Lord of Uglebarley, 
which lordship he had inherited from his ancestor. 

' Sir Robert Bruce, of Skelton Castle, the progenitor 
of the royal Bruces of Scotland. It is from this 
marriage the name of Beckwith is first derived. Lady 
Beckwith Bruce possessed by inheritance an estate 
called Beckwith (in old Anglo-Saxon, Beckworth). 
With a view evidently of the perpetuation of the 
name, she required her husband to assume the name 
of Beckwith by a marriage contract dated 1226. 

(V) Sir Hercules de Beckwith de Clint married 
the daughter of Sir John Ferrars, of Tamworth 
Castle, who by marriage into the house of Marmion 
inherited by terms of the Castle of Tamworth the 
high office of Champion of England. 

(VI) Nicholas Beckwith de Clint. 

(VII) Hamon Beckwith, son of Nicholas. 



(MIT) William Beckwith, oldest son of Sir 
Hamon. 

(IX) Thomas Beckwith, of Clint. 

(X) Adam Beckwith, of Clint, married Eliza- 
beth de Malebisse, and thus reunited the two 
branches of the family after a separation of over 
three hundred years. 

(XI) Sir William, oldest son of Adam Beck- 
with, of Clint. 

(XII) Thomas Beckwith, of Clint, died in tenth 
year of reign of Henry VII. 

(XIII) John Beckwith, third son of Thomas of 
Clint, married the daughter of Thomas Radcliif, of 
Mulgrave ; they had one son Robert. 

(XIV") Robert Beckwith succeeded to his father's 
estate in the eighth year of the reign of Edward IV. 

(XV) John (2) Beckwith inherited the manor 
of Clint and Thorp and lived in the eighth year of 
King Edward IV. He left an only son Robert. 

(XVI) Robert (2) Beckwith, of Clint and Thorp, 
had two children : Robert, died young, and Mar- 
maduke. 

(XVII) Marmaduke, of Dacre and Clint, married 
twice. By his first wife he had eleven children. 
Thomas, the eldest, had three sons, one of whom, 
William, emigrated to America in 1607 with Captain 
John Smith, and landed at Jamestown. He married, 
in 1616, and had one son, Henry, who settled in 
Dorchester county, Maryland, and there founded a 
familj% many of whose members have been prom- 
inent in the political, civil and military history of 
that country, and where descendants are still living 
in the old homestead. 

(XVIII) Mathew, eleventh son of Marmaduke 
of Dacre and Clint, was born in Ponterferact, York- 
shire, England, about 1610. He emigrated to New 
England in 1635, residing a brief time at Saybrook 
Point, Connecticut. He was one of the first settlers 
of Hartford, but was in Lyme in 1651. He was of 
that class known as planters, many of whom were 
men of means, placing their vessels in charge of 
competent mariners, who also attended to the mer- 
cantile transactions. He died by accident, Decem- 
ber 13. 16S1, leaving an estate vaued at £393. Mat- 
thew Beckwith and his wife Elizabeth had seven 
children, one of who was Nathaniel. 

(XIX) Nathaniel Beckwith was born in New 
London. Connecticut, in June, 1642. 

(XX~) Nathaniel (2) Beckwith was born at 
Lyme. Connecticut, May 28, 1671. He married 
Sarah . born in East Haddani, Connecticut. 

(XXI) Nathaniel (3) Beckwith was born at 
Lyme, Connecticut, January 6, 1707, He had two 
sons, Niles and Jabez. Niles was born in Lyme, in 
1753. He removed to Lempster, Nqw Hampshire. 
He was a soldier in the Continental army, and died 
at Unity, New Hampshire, in 1821. 

(XXII) Jabez, second son of Nathaniel (3) 
Beckwith, was born at East Haddam, Connecticut, 
1768. He married Elizabeth Hurd, of East Haddam. 
He removed to Gilman, Connecticut, and then to 
Lempster. The family came on horseback through 
the wilderness by the old time pathway of blazed 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1137 



trees, bringing their bedding and other tilings for 
the log cabin, and with them their two year old 
daughter Sally. They drove their cow along, w^hich 
furnished an important part of the family suste- 
nance. Jabez Beckwith was a surveyor, county clcrk_ 
state representative from Sullivan county twelve 
years, and was appointed colonel of militia. He died 
November to. 1871 ; his wife died November 6, 1849. 

(XXIII) Nathaniel (4), eldest son of above, was 
born in Lcmpster, New Hampshire. He married 
Eunice Parkhurst. They died within one week of 
each other, at Unity, New Hampshire, in 1830. 

(XXIV) Ransom Parkhurst, son of Nathaniel 
and Eunice (Parkhurst) Beckwith, was born in 
Unity, New Hampshire, about 1817, where he resided. 
He married Emily L. Parker, ]May 13, 1849. She 
was born in Lempster, New Hampshire, daughter of 
Benjamin and Olive (Nichols) Parker (see Parker, 
second family, VII). He was a farmer, a man of 
good education, served in various town offices and 
as a member of the state legislature. Both Ransom 
Beckwith and his w^ife had been school teachers. 

(XXV) Walter P., eldest son of Ransom P. and 
EiTiily (Parker) Beckwith, was born in Lempster, 
New Hampshire. August 27, 1850. He attended the 
town schools for two terms each year, and in addi- 
tion to this was a student at a private school for a 
year or two until he had attained the age of sixteen 
years, when he taught his first term in an adjoining 
town, with a marked degree of success. At the age 
of eighteen years he attended the high school at 
Claremount for a short period. He entered Kim- 
ball Union Academy at Meriden in 1869, and was 
graduated from this institution at the head of his 
class in 1871. He was admitted to Tuft's College in 
the same year, and was graduated from this with the 
highest honors of his class in 1876. During his 
attendance at this college he was obliged to devote 
one year to teaching in order to earn enough to 
enable him to complete his college course. Upon the 
completion of his college studies Mr. Beckwith 
accepted the principalship of the Chickopee (Massa- 
chusetts) high school, and held this for two years, 
and was then superintendent of the public schools 
of Adams, Massachusetts, for a period of more 
than eighteen years. He was elected principal of 
the State Normal School in Salem, Massachusetts, 
June 13, 1896. a position w'hich he held until his 
death, which occurred October 13, 1905. Mr. Beck- 
with was a voluminous writer and a forceful lec- 
turer, mainly upon subjects connected with educa- 
tional matters. The degree of Master of Arts was 
conferred upon him by Tuft's College in 1883, and 
this was followed a few years later by the degree 
of Doctor of Pliilosophy. He was a man of great 
vigor of both mind and body, and was of the stern- 
est integrity. While principal of the State Normal 
School he gave his best time and energy to the 
broadening and upbuilding of the school course and 
his influence in these directions cannot be overes- 
timated. No higher tribute can be given to the 
efficiency of his work, than the fact that the many 
successful graduates of the school turned to their 

iii — 21 



alma mater, and to him personally for inspiration 
and information as to improved methods and ad- 
vanced ideas. In the death of Dr. Beckwith, Mass- 
achusetts has lost one of her strongest men and 
ablest educators. In religion he was a Universalist. 
and in politics a Democrat, "both by inheritance and 
disposition." When a boy of fifteen years he printed 
with his pen a weekly paper, Democratic and liter- 
ary, whose editorials showed a wonderful grasp of 
the subjects of the day, and about two years later, 
he delivered a political address before the citizens 
of his native town in reply to Mason W. Tappen, 
at that time one of the leading Republican lawyers 
of the state. In later years he followed a more lib- 
eral line in politics, and although always a Demo- 
crat, he placed loyalty to truth and integrity in prin- 
ciple before oarty adherence in both state and nation. 
Mr. Beckwiih married, December 2^. 1S79, Mary L- 
Sayles, who was a successful teacher in Adams, 
Massachusetts. They have had one child : Frances 
S., graduated from Vassar College, class of 1904. 

(XXV) Hira Ransom, son of Ransom P. 
and Emily (Parker) Beckwith, was born Sep- 
tcnilier 28, 1852, in Lempster, New Hamp- 
shire. After receiving the usual district school 
advantages of his town he attended the 
Stevens high school in Claremont one term, 
and Marlow Academy two terms. He early mani- 
fested marked talent for draughting, and studied one 
year with O. F. Smith, architect, of Devonshire 
street, Boston. He later opened an office in Clare- 
mont Mr. Beckwith as architect and builder has a 
very extensive business, having erected a large num- 
ber of public and private buildings in New Hamp- 
shire, Vermont and Massachusetts. He is clerk 
and director in Union Block Company, and one of 
the three owners of Union Block. He was also 
active in raising money to build Hotel Claremont,. 
and was a charter member of the Claremont rail- 
way and light company. In addition to this he was- 
one of the executive committee tO' raise money tO' 
build the street railroad, and has been the president 
and a director of the company since its organization. 
Mr. Beckwith is an attendant of the Universalist 
Church, and is a Democrat in politics. He is con- 
nected with various Masonic bodies — Hiram Lodge,. 
Webb Chapter, Sullivan County Commandery, Clare- 
mont, and is a member of Bektash Temple, Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, Concord. 

Hira Ransom Beckw'ith married, January 29. 
187S, Libbie A. Martin, daughter of David A. and 
Nancy E. (Brown) Martin, of Springfield. Ver- 
mont. She was a graduate of the Springfield high 
school, and later attended Goddard Seminary at 
Barre. Vermont. She died in Claremont, Februarj- 
13, igo2. 



The name of Gile, Guile and Guild are 
GILE doubtless of one common origin, and the 

variation in their orthography is not a 
modern innovation. Three immigrants of this 
name, Samuel and John, brothers, and their sister 
.Ann, arrived from England in 1636. Samuel s[)clkcl 



II3S 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



his name Guile, while John wrote it Guild, and it is 
quite probable that the latter, meaning a society or 
corporation, was the ancient or original form of 
spelling. The above mentioned immigrants settled 
in Massachusetts, and the branch of the family now 
under consideration is descended from Samuel 
Guile. In the early town records the name appears 
to have been spelled according to the judgment or 
fancy of the town clerks or recorders, and the 
changes which it was subjected to at their hands 
are given here precisely as found in those records. 
From the two Guild brothers, men noted for their 
modest and retiring dispositions, a numerous pro- 
geny have descended, some of whom have held 
prominent positions in public life, and many have 
made enviable reputations in humbler but' no less 
honorable places. 

(I) Samuel Guile, his brother John and sister 
Ann, all supposed to have been born in England, 
not later than 1620, came to America in the year 
1636, and settled in Dedham, jNIassachusetts. Sam- 
uel 'was for a brief period at Dedham, and seems 
soon to have been one of the first settlers of New- 
bury, but did not remain long, for in 1640 he was 
one of the twelve who settled Pentucket, now 
Haverhill. He became a freeman by permission of 
the general court in 1642, but careful examination 
of the records fails to show that he took any part 
in town or church affairs. In 1650, Samuel Gild 
made choice of land at Little river ; in 1652 received 
ten acres of the second division ; in 1658 Samuel 
Guile enters into a contract for the support of a 
blacksmith, and receives land in the third divi- 
sion. Samuel Gilde, senior, built a cottage about 
1660, and in 1663 received land in the fourth divi- 
sion. He died February 21, 16S3. Part of his 
homestead remains in the possession of his descend- 
ants. By the terms of his last will and testament, 
dated February 16, 1683, he disposes of his property, 
in the inventory of which are mentioned : eight neat 
cattle, ten sheep, twenty-two acres of oxe common 
land, twenty-five acres of pond plain, eighteen acres 
of pond meadow, a dwelling house, barn and or- 
chard, three acres by the orchard, six commonages 
or common rights, one hundred acres of third divi- 
sion, upland and meadow, the fourth division to be 
laid out one hundred and eighty acres, loom, etc., 
one bible, appraised value £336, 6s. He married, 
September i, 1647, Judith Davis, daughter of James 
Davis, one of the original settlers, and an emigrant 
from Marlborough, England. Their children, all 
born at Haverhill, were: Samuel, Judith, John, 
Hannah, Sarah, James and Ephraim. 

(II) Ephraim Gile, eighth and youngest child 
of Samuel and Judith (Davis) Guile, was born in 
Haverhill, Massachusetts, March 21, 1662. He re- 
sided at Haverhill, and in 1711 was "one of the 
soldiers supplied with snow shoes for emergency 
in case of attack by Indians." He was probably 
the Ephriam Gile who cut the first way to Cheshire, 
and was admitted an inhabitant of Chester in 
1720. He married, January 5, 1686. Martha Bradley, 
by whom he had nine children : Marj-, Hannah, Me- 



hitable, Sarah, Daniel, Judith. Samuel, Ephraim 
and Ebenezer. (The last named and descendants 
receive mention in this article.) 

(III) Samuel Guile, second son and seventh 
child of Ephraim and Martha (Bradley) "Gile," 
was born in Haverhill February 13, 1702-3. He was 
of Chester in 1723, of Haverhill in 1731, and died 
in the last named town December i, 1775. He mar- 
ried Sarah Emerson, probably a daughter of Ben- 
jamin and Sarah (Philbrick) Emerson, and she 
died in 1S04. She was the mother of eleven chil- 
dren, all of whom were born in Haverhill, namely: 
Hannah, Ephraim, Benjamin, Asa, Samuel, John, 
Reuben, Abigail, Anne, Amos and James. 

(IV) James Gile, seventh son and youngest child 
of Samuel and Sarah (Emerson) Guile, was born 
in Haverhill, June 10, 1749. He married Ruth 
Foster, daughter of Moses Foster, of Pembroke, 
New Hampshire, and having sold his homestead in 
Haverhill he settled upon a farm in Pembroke. His 
children were : Timothy, Rhoda and Moses F., 
who were born in Haverhill ; Ruth, Daniel and 
Mary, who were born in Pembroke. 

(V) Deacon Timothy, eldest child of James and 
Ruth (Foster) Gile, was born in Haverhill, Septem- 
ber 27, 1788. He became a prosperous farmer in 
Pembroke, owning in all some two hundred and fifty 
acres of land, seventy-five acres of which constituted 
his homestead farm, and he also carried on lumber- 
ing operations to some extent. His death occurred 
in Pembroke, January i, 1867. He married Lydia 
Gushing, who was born in Halifax, Massachusetts, 
March 21, 1790, and had a family of five children — 
Mar}-, Foster, Brainerd, Elizabeth Boardman, Jer- 
ome Gushing and Abraham Burnham. The father 
of .these children was a leading member and a deacon 
of the Congregational Church. 

(VI) Deacon Brainerd, second child and eldest 
son of Timothy and Lydia (Gushing) Gile, was 
born in Pembroke, September 6, 1820. He was 
graduated from the Pembroke Academy, and taught 
school for a time prior to engaging in agricultural 
pursuits at the homestead, which he inherited. His 
intellectual attainments and natural ability in other 
directions made him eligible to public office, and 
in addition to serving as town treasurer and as a 
member of the school board he rendered valuable 
services in other ways, being always called upon 
to agitate and secure the enactment of any ordi- 
nance or improvement desired by his fellow-towns- 
men. Like his father he participate actively in the 
affairs of the Congregational Church, and was for 
many years a deacon. On November 21, 1861, he 
was married at Brighton, Massachusetts, to Mary 
Newell Kimball, who was born in Pembroke, Jan- 
uary 10, 1825, daughter of John Carlton and Pa- 
melia (Hutchinson) Kimball. Deacon Gile died in 
1900, and is survived by a widow and five children: 
Charles Abraham, born April 2, 1863, and now 
occupies the homestead; John Martin Gile, M. D., 
who will be again referred to; Lottie May, born 
December 3, 186S, is now the wife of Harry Head, 
of Pembroke; JNIillie Kimball, born February 23, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1139 



1873, became the wife of Augustus Clough, of Lis- 
bon, New Hampshire, and Henry Brainerd, born 
December 5, 1874, now residing in Concord. 

(VH) John iNIartin Gile, M. D., second son and 
child of Deacon Brainerd and Mary N. (Kimball) 
Gile, was born in Pembroke, iVIarch 8, 1864. He was 
graduated from the Pembroke Academy in 18S3, 
from the academic department of Dartmouth Col- 
lege in 18S7, and from the Dartmouth JMedical 
School in 1891. After spending six months as as- 
sistant physician at the State Hospital in Tewks- 
bury, Massachusetts, he went to Idaho Springs, 
Colorado, where he practiced medicine for a year, 
and returning to the State Hospital at Tcwksbury 
as assistant superintendent he retained that posi- 
tion for the succeeding five years. In 1896 he was 
chosen instructor in medicine at Dartmouth, was 
two years later appointed professor of the theory 
and practice of medicine, also taking the chair of 
■clinical surgery, and has ever since retained these 
posts. His private practice is devoted exclusively 
to surgery, and he makes a specialty of gynaecology. 
From 1896 to the present time he has served as 
surgeon to the JMary Hitchcock Memorial Hospital, 
Hanover. Professor Gile is an ex-president of the 
White River Valley Medical Society and the New 
Hampshire State Surgical Club, and is now vice- 
president of the New Hampshire Medical Society, 
and is a member of the Massachusetts State Medical 
Society, and the American Medical Association. He 
has been a delegate from the County to the State 
Medical Society, and is at the present time serving 
in a similar capacity from the latter to the American 
Medical Association. As an undergraduate at Dart- 
mouth he affiliated with the K. K. K. fraternity. 
Politically he is a Republican, and has served as a 
delegate to district and state conventions. On June 
8, 1892, Professor Gile married Vesta Grace Fow- 
ler, who was born at Epsom, this state, in Feb- 
ruary, 1S65, daughter of Benjamin and Sarah M. 
(Brown) Fowler. Professor and ]\Irs. Gile are both 
members of the Congregational Church in Pem- 
broke. They have four children, namely: John 
Fowler, Archie Benjamin, Madelaine and Dorothy. 
(Ill) Ebenezer Gile, youngest child and fourth 
son of Ephraim and Martha (Bradley) Guile, was 
born at Haverhill, Massachusetts, September 11, 
170S, and died in Hopkinton, New Hampshire, about 
1775- He moved from Haverhill to Hampstead, 
New Hampshire, in 1740; thence to Henniker in 
1765; thence to Hopkinton where he died. In 1743 
he signed a petition to be set off from Kingston to 
Hampstead. He was a speculator in lands, and in 
deeds is called a "trader." He married, June 6, 
1731, Lydia Johnson, whose father and mother were 
both killed by the French and Indians at the attack 
on Haverhill, August 29, 1708. When the mother 
was slain she held in her arms her only child, Lydia, 
a year and six days old, born in the second year of 
her marriage. The child, concealed perhaps within 
the folds of her mother's dress, escaped the toma- 
hawk, grew to womanhood, and in her twenty-fifth 
year married Ebenezer Gile. She died at Enfield 



in 1781, aged seventy-four. Their children were : 
Timothy, Ruth, Thomas, Anna, Abigail, Joshua, 
Noah, Lydia and Johnson. 

(IV) Noah, seventh child and fourth son of 
Ebenezer and Lydia (Johnson) Gile, was born at 
Hampstead, New Flampshire, about 1743. He w'as 
a soldier of the Revolution, a member of Captain 
Adam's company from Henniker, in 1776. From 
Henniker he removed to Enfield and several other 
places in New Hampshire. He married Elizabeth 
Howe. Their children were: John, Nathaniel, 
Susan, Timothy, Peter, Jesse, Aaron, Elizabeth, 
Polly and Lydia. 

(V) Timothy, third son and fourth child of 
Noah and Elizabeth (Howe) Gile, was born in En- 
field, December 30, 1785- He was a farmer in 
Bethlehem, Wentworth, and Littleton, and died 
December 27, 1862. He removed from Wentworth 
on horseback with his wife on a pillion behind him, 
and located in Bethlehem, where he spent eight 
years in clearing land. He then returned to Went- 
worth, where he was a farmer and lumberer for 
ten years. In 1833 he removed to Littleton where 
he farmed until the end of his life. He married, 
January 10, 181 1, Dolly Stevens, who was born in 
Wentworth, May 18, 1790. After the death of her 
husband she lived with her son Nelson in Kansas, 
but desiring to spend her last days in New Hamp- 
shire, she returned and died in Littleton, December 
25. 18S6, aged ninety-six years. Their children were: 
Nelson, George, Timothy and Dolly. 

(VI) Captain George, second son and child of 
Timothy and Dolly (Stevens) Gile, was born in 
Wentworth, September 27, 1824. He was a farmer 
in Littleton, where he, served as selectman 1873, 
chairman of the' school committee, surveyor of 
highways 1870-1-3, and captain in the Fifth Com- 
pany, Thirty-second Regiment, New Hampshire 
Militia, commissioned May 1849; commission va- 
cated, May I, 1852. He removed to Glover, Ver- 
mont, where he resided several years, and then 
returned to Littleton, where he has since lived. In 
political faith he is a Republican, in religious belief 
a Methodist, and is a trustee of the Methodist 
Church. He married, in Lyndon, Vermont, De- 
cember 21, 1850, Rozilla Janett Randall, who was 
born March 8, 1831, daughter of Daniel and Ruth 
(Burleigh) Randall of Lyndon. They have one 
child, Ray T., next mentioned. 

(VII) Ray Timothy, only child of George and 
Rozilla J. (Randall) Gile, was born in Littleton, 
May 27, 1852. He received his primary education 
in the public schools of Littleton; prepared for col- 
lege at Wilbraham Academy, Wilbraham, Massa- 
chusetts, graduated from the Chandler Scientific de- 
partment of Dartmouth College in 1877, and from 
the Thayer School of Civil Engineering in 1879. 
After completing his school life he was in the em- 
ploy of the Bell Telephone Company in Rockingham 
and Stafford counties for a year. In i88i he re- 
turned to Littleton where he has since been engaged 
much of the time in surveying and engineering 
work. From 1891 to 1896 he was employed as the 



II40 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



surveyor for the state of New Hampshire to ascer- 
tain and establish the true jurisdictional boundary 
line between Massachusetts and New Hampshire. 
He is a Republican and a Methodist, a member of 
the Thayer Society of Engineers and of the Beta 
Theta Pi Society. He married. October 23, 1S79, 
Hattie E. Titus, who was born in Bath, October 8, 
1848, daughter of Jereny and Cynthia (Ward) 
Titus, of Bath. They have an adopted child, Annie 
Peterson, who was born in Lyndeborough, New 
Hampshire, July 21, 1878. 



The Spragues of New Hampshire 
SPRAGUE are of English origin, and their an- 
cestors were among the founders of 
New England. 

(I) Edward Sprague, of Upway, England, was a 
fuller by trade, and died in 1614. His children were : 
Ralph, Alice, Edward, Richard. Christopher and 
William. 

(H) William, youngest child of Edward 
Sprague, was born in Upway, and with his two 
brothers, Ralph and Richard, emigrated to New 
England, settled in Salem in 1632. He was residing 
in Charlestown in 1636, and subsequently removed 
to Hingham. He married Millicent Eames, and had 
a large family. 

(HI) Anthony, eldest son of William and Milli- 
cent (Eames) Sprague, was baptized in Charles- 
town, 1636, and resided in Hingham. He was a se- 
lectman in 168S-92-1700. His house was burned by 
the Indians, April 19. 1676. He died September 3, 
1719. He married, December 26, 1661, Elizabeth 
Bartlett, daughter of Robert and Mary (Warren) 
Bartlctt, of Plymouth. She died in Hingham. Feb- 
ruary 17, 1712-13. His children w-ere : Anthony, 
Benjamin, John, Elizabeth, Samuel, Sarah, James, 
Josiah, Jeremiah. Richard and Matthew, all of whom 
were born in Hingham. 

(IV) Richard, eighth son and tenth child of 
Anthony and Elizabeth (Bartlett) Sprague, was born 
in Hingham. April 10, 1685. He settled in Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, and was an ancestor of the 
Spragues of that state. 

(VI) Obadiah, probably a grandson of Richard 
Sprague, was born in Providence, August 22, 1770. 
He married Betsey Mann on April 10, 1794. She 
was born in 1764, daughter of Gideon Mann. He 
settled in Richmond, New Hampshire, and resided 
upon the farm now owned by his grandson, Hiram 
C. Sprague. His first wife died April 17, 1815, and 
he married for his second wife. Widow Anna God- 
dard, a sister of Thomas Mallard, of Warwick. She 
died March 2, 1848. Obadiah died in 1858. at the 
advanced age of eighty-eight years. The children 
of his first union were : Enoch, Hannah, Samuel, 
Sarah. Mercey, died young ; and another Mercey. 
Those of his second marriage were : Nathaniel and 
Obadiah. 

(VII) Sanniel. second son and third child of 
Obadiah and Betsey (Mann) Sprague, was born in 



Richmond, November 22, 1797. In December, 1822- 
he married Melinda, born in May, iSoi. daughter of 
Benjamin Kingman, and resided on the farm until 
recently owned by Lysander Ballon. He removed to 
Winchester, about 1850. and died September 28, 1881. 
He was the father of five children : Leander, born 
June 4, 1S24. Obadiah, who will be again referred 
to. S. Angela, born January 25, 1830, married Dar- 
ling S. Swan. M. Juliette, born October II, 1832, 
married (first) George B. Kelton, and (second) 
J. W. Herrick. S. Henry, born March 2, 1841, died 
August 18, 1863, during the Civil war. He was on 
General Nagle's staff in charge of the commissary 
department. He died of malaria at Vicksburg Land- 
ing. 

(VIII) Obadiah, second child and son of Samuel 
and Melinda (Kingman) Sprague, was born in 
Richmond, May 21, 1826. He attended the public 
schools, and clerked thereafter for a year with 
Uberto Bowen, Richmond. He then entered and was 
graduated from Winchester high school. Subse- 
quently he accepted a position as clerk with Messrs. 
Humphrey and Kingman, of Winchester. He was 
ne.xt engaged for a period as a traveling salesman, 
representing palm-Ieaf hat manufacturers, and was 
still later in Bridgman's grocery store, Keene. For 
five years he held the responsible position of cashier 
of a bank in Winchester. Seeing a good opportunity 
to engage in the manufacturing business, he pur- 
chased the Stratton Woollen Mills at West Swan- 
ze\'. which he enlarged and refitted, and operated 
the plant successfully for twenty-seven years, at 
the e.Kpiration of which time he retired from active 
business pursuits. Mr. Sprague has had quite ex- 
tensive operations in lumbering. He also established 
at what is known as Spragueville a woolen mill 
and a box manufacturing plant. In politics Mr. 
Sprague is a Democrat, and was formerl}- a leading 
spirit in local public affairs, having represented 
Swanzey in the state legislature in 1870-71. His 
fraternal affiliations are with the Masonic Order. 
He attends the Baptist Church, and takes an earnest 
interest in the moral and religious welfare of the 
community. 

On January 3, 1877, ^Ir. Sprague married Martha 
Elizabeth Mason, born in Alarlboro, New Hamp- 
shire, March 18, 1841, daughter of Clark and Elmira 
(Towne) Mason. The children of this union are: 
Bernice A., deceased. Bertha E., married, Septem- 
lier I. 1903, Harold Foster. They have a son Paul 
Sprague Foster, born July 3, 1904. Florence JiL, 
deceased. Marv M. 



The first mention of Upham as a sur- 
UPH.-\M name is met with in a deed of lands to 

the church of Saint JNIaria de Braden- 
stock. which was a small monastery in Wills, England, 
founded by Walter, son of Edmund, of Salisbury. The 
document bears the name of Hugo de Upham, date 
1208. Upham as the name of a place occurs in records 
previous to the introduction of surnames. That 
Hugo, the fir^t of this name, is designated Hugo de 




.a^ 




NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1141 



XJphani (of Upham) naturally indicates that he de- 
rived liis name from his estate, but the lands belong- 
ing to him are expressly referred to in the same doc- 
ument as bearing the name of Upham. The "de" was 
early dropped, and the name passed through various 
forms of spelling. Although many documents have 
been found in which the name appears, three cen- 
turies pass from the time of Hugo before the advent 
of Richard Upham, from whom an unbroken line is 
traced to the present day. The Upham family held 
a copyhold estate at Gettington, in the parish of 
Bicton, in the eastern division of the county of 
Devon, and were associated with this parish for up- 
ward of three hundred years. 

(I) Richard (i) Upham (spelled Uppam), the 
first of the name found mentioned at Bicton, was 
living there in 1523. No date of his birth is given, 
but according to the records he died in 1546. As he 
left no will there is little information concerning his 
immediate family, but from other sources it is con- 
clusive that he left three children, one of whom was 
John. 

(II) John, son of Richard Upham (no date of 
birth) died in Bicton, in 1584. Only the first name 
of his wife is given, Joan (or Johan). The names 
of three children appear : Richard, his successor at 
Bicton, Katherine and Thomas. 

(III) Richard (2), yeoman, son of John and 
Joan Uppam, date of birth not given, died in Bicton, 
in December, 1635. His wife, Maria, died in July, 
1634. Children : Thomas, his successor at Bicton ; 

Joan, married Robert Martin, and both immigrated to 
Xew England with her brother John ; John, the im- 
migrant ; Sara,, who also accompanied her brother to 
New England, and may have become the wife of 
Richard Webb ; Judith, Frances and Jane. The will 
of Richard Uppam is a lengthy an^ interesting docu- 
ment in which there is mention of certain conditional 
bequests to his daughter Sara and son John. 

(IV) John Upham (again spelled Upham), son 
of Richard (2) and Jilaria Upham, was the first to 
bear the name in America, and so far as is known 
was the ancestor of all who have since borne the 
name in this country. He was born in Bicton, county 
of Devon, England, probably in 1600. He married, 
at Bicton, November i, 1626, Elizabeth Slade. The 
names of six children are given in the following or- 
der: John, Nathaniel. Elizabeth, born in England; 
Phynchas, Mary and Priscilla, born in New England. 
John Upham, accompanied by his wife, three chil- 
dren and two sisters above mentioned, emigrated to 
New England with the Hull colony, which set sail on 
the 20th of March, 163S. from Weymouth, in old 
Dorset, for the lands of the Massachusetts Bay 
colony. The ship cast anchor before Governor 
Winthrop's infant city of Boston, May 6, but it was 
not until July 2 that the colonists, with the per- 
mission of the general -court, finally settled in Wessa- 
guscees as their future home. On September 2, 1635, 
John Upham was admitted freeman, and on this date 
the name of the place was changed to Weymouth. 
It was made a plantation, wuth the privilege of a 



deputy to the general court, and this company be- 
came an important element in the community. In 
1642 John Upham was one of six who treated with 
the Indians for the lands of Weymouth, and ob- 
tained a title from them thereto. After being 
closely identified with the town for thirteen years 
he removed to Maiden, becoming one of the early 
settlers, and continued through life a leading citizen 
of that place. He was repeatedly elected to its var- 
ious offices, and the general assembly appointed him 
six times commissioner to settle the lesser legal mat- 
ters of Weymouth and Maiden. He w'as also ac- 
tively interested in the settlement of Worcester (Lin- 
coln's "History of W"orcester"). John Upham held 
the office of deacon in the church for at least twenty- 
four years. Through his long life he retained his 
vigor of mind and body. He sustained himself well 
as an efficient collaborator among those who in time 
of great peril laid the foundation of a free state. He 
died in Maiden, February 25, 168 1. His grave-stone 
may still be seen in the old burying ground at 
Maiden. There is no record of the death of his wife 
Elizabeth, but it is suggested that she must have lived 
to be sixty-four years of age. In 1671 John Upham 
married (second) Katherine Holland. 

(V) Phineas (l) was the only son of John Up- 
ham that left posterity, consequently he, as well as 
his father, was the ancestor of all the American Up- 
hams. He was born in Weymouth, probably in 1635. 
He married, April 14, 1658, Ruth Wood. Nothing is 
known of her ancestry. According to an inscription 
on her gravestone, which has been identified in the 
old burying ground above referred to, she died Jan- 
uary 18, 1696-7. There were conveyances of land to 
Phineas Upham in 1663, 1664 and in 1672. In 1673 
he was appointed with three others to survey a road 
from Cambridge to Maiden, and as early as 1672 he 
was interested in the settlement of Worcester. It ap- 
pears that he possessed in a high degree the energy 
and activity that characterized his father. In the 
military serivice of his country it is manifest that he 
was esteemed an efficient officier. He held the rank 
of lieutenant, and rendered important service in the 
war with King Philip. He was at the storming of 
Fort Canonicees, December 19, 1675. and was wound- 
ed in the battle, from the effects of which he never 
recovered. The government was not unmindful of 
his great sacrifice, and bore testimony upon the 
records to his long and good service for his -country. 
His death is recorded as having occurred October 8, 
1676. Children : Phineas, Nathaniel, Ruth, John, 
Elizabeth, Thomas and Richard. 

(VI) Phineas (2), eldest son of Lieutenant 
Phineas (r) and Ruth (Wood) Upham, was born in 
Maiden, May 22. 1659. He married Mary Mellins. 
or Melien, probably in 1682. He appears to have 
been a prominent man in his community. He held 
the office of selectman for many years, was town 
treasurer from 1697 to 1701 inclusive, and during the 
time settled many estates, was five times chosen rep- 
resentative to the general court. He died in Maiden, 
in October, 1720. His wife survived him, and there 



1142 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



is no record of her death. They had eight children. 

(VII) Phineas (3), eldest son of Phineas (2) 
and Mary (Mellins) Upham, was born in Maiden, 
June 10, 1682. He married, November 23. 1703, 
Tamzen Thomasen Hill, daughter of Isaac and Sarah 
(Bicknell) Hill. She was born December 10, 1685, 
died April 24, 1768. He is early mentioned as yeo- 
man, and soon after his marriage he removed from 
what was known as Maiden Center to North Maiden, 
of which place he was one of the first inhabitants. 
In the year 1707-8 he is mentioned as Ensign Phineas 
Upham. He was repeatedly chosen to fill town 
offices. It is probable that he died in 1766. The old 
Upham homestead, still standing in Melrose, form- 
erly North Maiden, has been occupied by descendants 
of Phineas (3) to this day. There were thirteen 
children. (Mention of Jacob and descendants ap- 
pears in this article). 

(VIII) Jabez, fifth son of Phineas (3) and 
Tamzen Thomasen (Hill) Upham, was born Jan- 
uary 3, 1717. in Maiden. He married Kathcrine 
Nichols, also of Upham blood, a great-granddaughter 
of Lieutenant Phineas Upham. He settled in Brook- 
field, studied medicine, and became distinguished in 
the practice of his profession. He was captain of the 
company from Brookfield which marched for the re- 
lief of Fort William Henry during the French and 
Indian war. He represented Brookfield in the gen- 
eral court from 1756 to 1760 inclusive. He died No- 
vember 4, 1760. His wife died March 12. 1774. Dr. 
Jabez Upham and wife Katherine had eleven chil- 
dren, all born in Brookfield. Joshua, the second son, 
graduated at Harvard College in 1763. He was a 
loyalist and an officer in the British army during the 
revolution. After the war he went to New Bruns- 
wick, where .he became a judge of the supreme court. 
His brother Jabez served in the Continental army, 
and later removed to New Brunswick. 

(IX) Phineas (4), oldest son of Dr. Jabez and 
Katherine Nicholas Upham, was born in Brookfield, 
October 4. 1739, married (first) Susanna Buckmin- 
ster. May 20, 1762. She. died March 23, 1802. He 
married (second) in November, 1802, Elizabeth Sher- 
burne. In the Brookfield records the following, evi- 
dently militia, titles are applied to him by the dates 
given — second lieutenant. 1761 ; captain. 1774; colo- 
nel, 1775. Although it does not appear in the rec- 
ords, a note in the "History of Worcester" indicates 
that he also bore the title of major. He was captain 
of a company of cavalry in the battle of Saratoga. 
He was representative to the general court from 
Brookfield for the years 1781-1782-1785 and 1797. He 
died June 24, 1810. There were ten children. 

(X) George Baxter, of Claremont, third son of 
Phineas (4) and Susanna Buckminster Upham, was 
born December 27, 1768, in Brookfield. Massachu- 
setts. He married, December 31, 1805. Mary Dun- 
can, of Concord. She died September ir, 1S66, aged 
eigthy-one years. George Baxter Upham was grad- 
uated from Harvard in 1789. and studied law with 
his brother Jabez, in Claremont. Succeeding to the 
business soon after being admitted to the bar, he ac- 



quired a lucrative practice and was considered a safe 
and able counselor. He was a member of congress 
in 1801, and from 1817 to 1821 ; speaker of the house 
in New Hampshire legislature, 1809, and state sena- 
tor 1814-15. He was president during its existence 
of the first Claremont Bank, was for many years a 
member of the Episcopal Church. He died Febru- 
ary 19, 1848. Children of George Baxter and Mary 
(Duncan) Upham: i. George Baxter, married Fran- 
ces Ewing, lived in Newark, Ohio. 2. Robert Har- 
ris, supposed to have died in Texas. 3. Frances, 
married General Dwight Jarvis, of Canton, Ohio. 4. 
Mary Ann. 5. Jabez Baxter, graduated at Dartmouth 
and Harvard Medical College, was a surgeon in the 
army, 1862-3 '■ married Catherine Choate Bell. 6. 
Harriet Harris, married John S. Walker, of Clare- 
mont. 7. James Henry, died in infancy. 8. James 
Phineas. 9. Edward Buckminster, married Mary 
Hursthall. lived in Massillon, Ohio. 

(XI) James Phineas, the fifth son of George 
Baxter and Mary (Duncan) Upham, was born in 
Claremont, October 27, 1827. He married, Novem- 
ber 5, 1851, at South Berwick, Maine, Elizabeth 
Walker, daughter of Captain Samuel Rice (formerly 
of Portsmouth) and Ruth Foster Brewster. She 
was born December 24, 1831, and died in Claremont, 
April II, 1876. It is observed that she was gifted 
with singular beauty and rare graces of mind and 
manner, and that her domestic virtues and christian 
lite and example were none the less conspicuous and 
endearing. James Phineas Upham was graduated 
from Dartmouth College in 1850. Soon after his 
graduation he acquired an interest in the iron foun- 
dry and machine shop, later the Sullivan Machine 
Company, which he organized in 1869, and of which 
he was president for twenty-five years. He was a 
representative in the New Hampshire legislature in 
1865-6, and was warden of Union Church (Episco- 
pal), West Claremont. He died April 8, 1895. Chil- 
dren, all born in Claremont: i. James Duncan, born 
November 7, 1853, married Katherine Deane, of 
Claremont. He graduated at Cornell University, in 
1874; is treasurer of the Sullivan Machine Company. 
Two children — Katherine and Elizabeth. 2. George 
Baxter, born April 9. 1855, married Cornelia Alice 
Preston, daughter of E. C. Preston, of Dover, New 
Hampshire. He was graduated from Cornell Uni- 
versity in 1S74, and Harvard Law School in 1876; 
admitted to the Suffolk county bar in Boston, Feb- 
ruary, 1877. In 1890 he engaged in the practice of 
law, firm of Upham & Proctor, Equitable Building, 
Boston. Two children, Margaret Ruth and Preston. 
3. Ruth Brewster, bom February 24. 185S, married 
Robert Upham, and resides in New York. 4. Sam- 
uel Rice. 5. Elizabeth, born September i, 1868, mar- 
ried (first) Henry C. Radford: (second) Richard 
Dana, lives in New York. 

(XII) Samuel Rice, third son of James Phineas 
and Elizabeth Walker (Rice) Upham. was born Oc- 
tober 9, 1861. He was educated in the public schools 
of Claremont, in Stevens high school, two years, and 
at Granville Military Academy, North Granville,, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1 143 



New York. Studied medicine in the University of 
Vermont Medical College, at Burlington, and the 
College of Physicians and Surgeons, New York city, 
and was for over two years in the Rhode Island Hos- 
pital, at ProvideiTcc. He opened an office in Clare- 
mont in 1892, where he has since practiced. He 
makes a specialty of surgery and has achieved dis- 
tinction in his profession. Dr. Upham is vice-presi- 
dent of the New Hampshire board of trustees for the 
establishment of a sanitorium for tuberculosis. He 
is a member of the Rhode Island Medical Society, an 
Episcopalian, and in politics a Republican. Novem- 
ber 7, 1905, Dr. Upham married Marguerite Bailey, 
daughter of Herbert and Alice (Sulloway) Bailey. 
She was born in Claremont, February 23, 1878, was 
educated in the schools of Claremont, Bellows Falls, 
and at Mrs. McDuffec's School, in Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. 

(VIII) Jacob, seventh son and thirteenth child 
of Phineas (3) and Tamzen (Thomasin) Upham, 
was born in Maiden, April 30, 1723. His name is in 
the list of voters in Reading in 1771 ; also among the 
names of pewholders in the First Baptist meeting 
house, where he had Nos. 38 and 39. He died Sep- 
tember 30, 1775, and his will was proved in 1779. He 
married in Reading, January 19, 1748, Rebecca Bur- 
nap, who was born January 18, 1727, and died March 
14, 1779. Their children were: Rebecca, died young; 
Rebecca, Sarah, died young: Sarah, Mary, Tamzen, 
Ruth, and Jacob, whose sketch follows. 

(IX) Jacob (2), youngest child of Jacob (l) 
and Rebecca (Burnap) Upham, was born in Reading, 
Massachusetts, May 16. 1766, and died April i, 1S49. 
He moved from Reading to Amherst, New Hamp- 
shire, in 1792, the year following his marriage, and 
there purchased from John Damon the farm two 
miles southeast of the village, upon which his grand- 
son, Jacob Upham. afterwards lived, and for which 
he paid seventy pounds and eighteen shillings, the 
deed being dated November 13, 1792. He was a 
farmer and continued to live on this place until his 
death. He married (first), November 17, 1791, 
Sarah Pratt, of Reading, who was born April 20, 
1759, and died November 17, 1826. He married (sec- 
ond), April 15, 1827, Sarah Whittemore, of Charles- 
town, who was born July 25. 1775, and died April 
28. 1849. The children, all by the first wife, were: 
Sally. Jacob, and another who died young. 

(X) Jacob (3), only son of Jacob (2) and 
Sarah (Pratt) Upham, was born in Amherst, Octo- 
ber 29, 1798. and died there of consumption, Octo- 
ber 14, 1859. aged sixty-one. One of his sons said 
of him ; "He w-as born, lived, and died on the same 
farm in Amherst, which had been his father's. He 
was an honest, industrious, cheerful, hopeful and con- 
tented Christian man, unambitious for rank or 
wealth. In appearance, slender, and rather tall; 
somewhat delicate in health during the greater part 
of his life. In religious faith he was a Congrega- 
tionalist, and in political preference a Whig, later a 
Republican ; but he never held or aspired to any con- 
spicuous office. He brought up a large family, nine 



of whom reached mature years, and renienibered 
their father with sincere love and gratitude." He 
married, November 20, 1822, Sarah Hayward, who 
was born in North Reading. Massachusetts, August 
31, 1804. and they had ten children: Jacob Burnap, 
Same Tamzan. Mary, Emily Dorcas. Susan, John 
Henry, Ruth Elizabeth, Jesse Hayward, George Wil- 
liams, and Warren. 

(XI) John Henry, si.xth child and second son 
of Jacob (3) and Sarah (Hayward) Upham, was 
born in Amherst. November 21, 1835. He was 
brought up on a farm and attended the district school 
until seventeen years of age, and then spent two 
years farming, and the next three years in peddling 
through the country. Buying a farm in Amherst, he 
occupied it over four years, Spending a portion of the 
time in buying furs, which he sold in Boston. He 
sold this place and resided a year or two in Merri- 
mack, and then removed to Amherst and bought a 
farm on which he lived twenty-three years. In l8go 
he sold that property and removed to Merrimack and 
settled on the farm of his father-in-law. Mr. 'up- 
ham's life was one of continuous industry until his 
retirement from active employment a few years ago. 
He has always taken a hearty interest in agriculture, 
has been an exemplary citizen, and has tried to do 
his part toward the promotion of morality and good 
government in his neighborhood. For thirty-five 
years he has been a member of the Patrons of Hus- 
bandry, and for many years a member of the Con- 
gregational Church of .-Amherst, of which he has 
been deacon for ten years past. He is a progressive 
Republican, and has been road surveyor and lumber ' 
surveyor. He married, April 22, 1862, at Reed's 
Ferry. Catherine E. Colburn, born at Merrimack, No- 
vember 28, 1840, daughter of John H. and Elizabeth 
(Fields) Colburn, of Merrimack, and granddaughter 
of John Fields, who served seven years in the Revo- 
lutionary war. She was educated in the common 
schools at Mont Vernon, and at Magaw Institute, 
and taught school before her marriage. She is a 
member of the Congregational Church of Merrimack, 
and has been a member of the Grange for many 
years. Their children are: Charles Henry, George 
F., and Osgood F. Charles H. is a farmer in Merri- 
mack. He was born March 27, 1863, and married, 
June 27, 1890, Isabel Woodward. George F., born 
September 9, 1865, married. September 25. 1891. Ella 
S. Hodgman, and lives in Merrimack. Osgood F. is 
the subject of the next sketch. 

(XII) Osgood Fifield, youngest of the three sons 
of John H. and CatheriiTe E. Colburn, was born in 
Amherst, August 29, 1869. He was educated in the 
common schools, and at Magaw Institute, and Bryant 
& Stratton's Business College in Boston. .'Kt fifteen 
years of age he began his life's labors driving a 
lumber team for his father. For ten years he was a 
farmer. In 1902 he bought the grocery store of A. 
B. Colby, of Merrimack, which he has since success- 
fully conducted. He is a man of energy and good 
judgment, and has served one term in the office of 
selectman, to which he was elected by the Republican 



1 144 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



party, of which he is a member. He is a member of 
the Congregational Church, and of the Patrons of 
Husbandry. He lias belonged to the latter order 
twenty years, and has filled the chairs in Thornton 
Grange, No. 31. He is a member of Pennichuck 
Lodge, No. 45. Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
of Nashua. He married, June 18, 1902, Cora Gid- 
dings, of Thornton's Ferry, born in Bow, 1870, 
daughter of Edward P. and Mary J. (Morgan) Gid- 
dings. She was educated in the Concord schools and 
Magaw Institute, and taught school after leaving the 
latter institution. She is a member of the Congrega- 
tional Church, and for eighteen years has been a 
member of Thornton Grange. No. 31, of which she 
is now (1907) assistant steward. 



The free institutions, equality of all 
SIKORSKY men before the law, and great op- 
portunities for advancement are 
among the chief attractions that brought Dr. Sikor- 
sky to this country. 

Vladimir Nicholas Sikorsky, :M. D., was born in 
the city of Kieff, Russia, June 14, 1867. His father 
was a member of a noble family and an officer in the 
Russian army. He married Vasilisa Alexandroff, 
and they had five children, Vladimir N. being the 
only one in this country. Vladimir N. attended the 
gymnasium (high school) of Kieff, and graduated 
from it June g, 1889. receiving the highest honors. 
In January following he entered the Imperial Uni- 
versity of Moscow, from which he received in 1895 
the degree of Doctor of Medicine. Subsequently he 
took post graduate courses in medicine in France and 
Germany, thoroughly fitting himself for the practice 
of his profession. In 1897 'i'^ came to America, and 
located at Manchester. New Hampshire, where he 
practiced until 1901, when he removed to Salem Cen- 
tre, where he has a large patronage. While in Eu- 
rope he made a special study of nervous diseases, 
and has been highly successful in the treatment of 
them since coming to this country. In 1906 he took 
a special course in general surgery in the Harvard 
Medical School under Drs. Monroe and Bottomly. 
He is medical examiner for the Mutual Life Insur- 
ance Company of New York, the Mutual Life Insur- 
ance Company of Connecticut, and others. He has 
been financially fortunate, and has valuable property 
in Salem and in Haverhill. 

He is a member of the New Hampshire Medical 
Society, the Gynecological Society of Boston, and 
the American Medical Association. He was made a 
Mason in LTnion Lodge, No. 79, Free and Accepted 
Masons. September 29, 1899 ; is a member of Bell 
Royal .\rch Chapter, No. 25, of Derry; Nashua 
Council. Royal and Select Masters, of Nashua ; St. 
George Commandery, Knights Templar; Edward A. 
Raymond Consistory, thirty-second degree. Sublime 
Princes of the Royal Secret, of Nashua ; and Bektash 
Temple, .\ncient Arabic Order of the Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, of Concord. He is also a member of 
the Pilgrim Fathers. New England Order of Pro- 
tection. No. 26, and the Grange, Patrons of Hus- 
bandry, of Salem. 

He was married in IManchester. November 20, 
1897. hy the Rev. Mr. Colby, pastor of the First Bap- 
tist Cliurch, to Maria Kushch Ignatieff, who was 
born June 10, 1S77, daughter of John and Olga 
(Kushch) Ignatieff, of Russia. They hav<; two chil- 
dren : Lucy Nina, born January 13, 1899, and Jean- 
nette Vera, February 9, 1901. 



Tradition has said that all of this name 
ROLFE in the United States were descendants 

of two brothers who came from Eng- 
land and settled in Newbury. Massachusetts, in 1635, 
but records show several others at other points in 
Massachusetts and in Connecticut in the early Puri- 
tan days. New Hampshire has been the home of 
several branches of the family, who have lost none 
of the vigor of the colonial forebears. Those located 
in Boscawen and Concord are the posterity of one 
of the Newbury brothers. John and Henry. These 
brothers came from "Melchitt Parke," Wiltshire, 
England, and sailed from Southhampton in the 
ship "Confidence," in 1638. Melchet Park is about 
nine miles southeast of Salisbury, England, in the 
Hundred of Alderbury. 

(I) Henr\', the younger brother, supposed to 
have been born in 1590, was in Newbury before 1642, 
with his wife. Honour. He died March i, 1643, 
and his widow died at the house of Thomas Blanch- 
ard in Charlestown, Massachusetts, December 19, 
1630. Their children were: Anna (wife of Thomas 
Blancliard), Hannah, John and Benjamin. 

(II) Benjamin, youngest child of Henry and 
Honour Rolfe, was born about 16,^8, probably in 
England, and was a weaver of Newbury, where he 
was a freeman in 1670. He was married November 
3, 1659, to Apphia Hale, only daughter of Thomas 
Hale, a pioneer of Newbury and ancestor of a nu- 
merous progeny scattered over the United States. 
Benjamin Rolfe and wife were admitted to the 
church at Newbury in 1674. She died December 24, 
170S. and he passed away August 10, 1710. Their 
children were: John. Benjamin, Hannah. Apphia, 
Mary (died young). Samuel. Mary, Henry, Eliza- 
l)cth, Nathaniel, Abigail and a daughter that died 
in infancy. (Henry and descendants receive men- 
tion in this article). 

(III) John, first child of Benjamin and Appliia 
(Hale) Rolfe. was born October 12. 1660. in New- 
bury, and subscribed to the oath of fidelity there in 
1678. He was married in 16S9-90 to Dorothy Nelson, 
and both were admitted to the church in 1698. They 
had cliildren : John, Apphia and Jonathan. 

(IV) John (2), eldest son of John (i) and Dor- 
othy (Nelson) Rolfe, was born March 24, 1691, in 
Newbury, and was married October 7, 1713, to Ju- 
dith Dole. Their children were: Richard, John, 
Hannah, Enoch and Benjamin. Hannah, born De- 
cemlier 2,=;. 1720. became the wife of Nathaniel 
Rolfe, mentioned elsewhere in this article (see IV of 
other line). 

(V) Benjamin (2) Rolfe, son of John Rolfe, 
born December 25, 1731, came from Newbury, Mas- 
sachusetts, and settled in Concord on High street. 
He died in 1823. He married Lydia Pearsons, De- 
cember 25, 1760. They had six children : I. John, 
l.iorn July 27, 1762. 2. Elizabeth, February 20. 1765. 
3. Silas, January 28. 1767. 4. Judith. December 
31. 1769. 5. Amos, died in infancy. 6. Benjamin, 
born January 20. 1773. 

(VI) Benjamin, si.xth child and youngest son 
of Benjamin and Lydia (Pearsons) Rolfe, was born 
January 20, 1773. and died January 19, 1857. He 
succeeded to the homestead of his father. He had 
a fondness for mechanical work, and in addition to 
the care of the farm, employed himself making 
wood aqueducts and pumps. Nearly all that kind of 
work in the east part of the town was done under 
his direction. Many of the pumps made from the 





GEORGE H. ROLFE. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



JM5 



old white pine are now in use, and are preferred 
by some perions to the modern inventions. He 
married ]Mar8arct, daughter of Rev. Jonathan 
Searle, of Salisburj-, and they had six children, of 
which three died young. Those who grew up were : 
Enoch S., born May 12, 1819: Henry P.. February 
13, 1821 ; Charles B. born April l, 1823, died 1851. 

(VII) Henry Pearsons, son of Benjamin and 
Margaret (Searle) Rolfe, was born in Boscaw'en, 
February 13. 1821, and died in Concord, May 30, 
iSoS. He was educated in the public schools, at 
New Hampton Institute, and at Dartmouth College, 
graduating from Dartmouth in 1848. After pursu- 
ing a course of legal study in the office of Hon. 
Asa Fowler, of Concord, he was admitted to the bar 
in iS5t. He immediately opened an office in Con- 
cord, and maintained himself with credit, advanc- 
ing in professional reputation and influence, and 
winning in 1S69 an appointment as United States 
■district attorney under President Grant, holding this 
office five years. During the years 1852-53 he was a 
■member of the board of edircation, serving as chair- 
man one year. He was a representative in the New 
Hamp.shirc Legislature as a Democrat in 1853, re- 
turning as a Republican, during the years 1863-64, 
when the war of the rebellion was raging its hottest ; 
he was appointed by President Johnson as postmas- 
ter of Concord, but was not confirmed by the senate. 
He also served on the lake coinmission in 1878-79, 
by appointment of Governor Prescott. He was 
Democratic candidate for state senator for the term 
1859-60, and candidate for the electoral college on 
the Douglas ticket of i860. He was always a strong 
Prohibitionist, and never used either tobacco or 
liquor. In the midst of a very busy professional 
career he found time tq devote to literature, and in 
his spare time he wrote the history of Salisbury, 
New Hampshire. Mr. Rolfe was in his later years 
one of the oldest practitioners at the New Hampshire 
bar. His practice extended over a period when in- 
tellectual giants stood before the tribunals of the 
state, and among those men he easily maintained 
himself with credit. In all branches of his profes- 
sional life he won great success, and stood in the 
front rank of the eminent practitioners of the bar of 
the "Granite State." As a counsellor his sagacity 
was unerring, as an advocate his career was marked 
with triumph. 

He was married, November 22, 185S, to Mary 
Rebecca, daughter of Robert H. Sherburne, of 
Concord, and they were the parents of five children. 
IMarsliall D.. the eldest, died at the age of eight 
years. Margaret T., the second, died in infancy. Hen- 
rietta M., died in her second year. Robert Henry 
is mentioned at length in the succeeding paragraph. 
George Hamilton also receives extended notice in 
this article. 

(VIII) Robert Henry, second son and fourth 
child of Henry Pearsons and Mary R. (Sherburne) 
Rolfe, was born October 16, 1863. in Concord. His 
early education was secured in the public schools, 
and he graduated from the Concord high school, 
and entered Dartmouth College, from which he 
graduated witli the class of 1884. After studying 
law for a tiine he entered the railroad service. In 
1889 he removed to Zylonite, Massachusetts, where 
he engaged in business, but soon returned to Concord 
and became connected with the Monitor and States- 
man, first in the circulation department and later as 
cashier. In 1883 he joined Company C, Third Regi- 
ment, New Hampshire National Guard, as a private. 



Twice he was an enlisted man. returning to the 
ranks after having a captain's commission, wdiich 
his removal from the state compelled him to relin- 
quish. For two years he was sergeant-major of the 
Second Regiment, and his first commission was as 
first lieutenant in Company C. Subsequently he be- 
came senior major of the Second Regiment, in com- 
mand of the First Battalion, Major Rolfe was ap- 
pointed in 1893 a member of the committee to re- 
vise the military law of the state of New Hamp- 
shire, When the Spanish-.\merican war broke out 
he was appointed colonel of the Twenty-second 
Regiment, and went to Chickamauga and remained 
with his command until the close of the war. when 
it returned to Concord and was mustered out. Fol- 
lowing this he went to Cuba as inspector-general, 
and served under General Brooks and later under 
General Wood, He also acted as deputy-quarter- 
master. In 1901 he came to Washington, and thence 
went to San Diego, California, where as quarter- 
tnaster he built Fort Rosecrans, From there he 
was ordered to Nagasaki, Japan, where he is now 
(1908) quartennaster, with the rank of captain, 
United States .Army, He married, Grace 

Stearns, daughter of Governor Onslow Stearns, of 
New Hampshire, (See Stearns VII). They are the 
parents of three children, namely : Onslow Sher- 
burne, Mary Rebecca, and Grace Stearns, 

(VIII) George Hamilton, fifth and youngest 
child of Henry P, and Mary R, (Sherburne) Rolfe, 
was born December 24, 1866, in Concord, in the public 
schools of which he received his primary education. 
Subsequently he attended Holderness School for 
Boys at Plymouth, New Hampshire, and fitted for 
Dartmouth College, but did not pursue the collegiate 
course. He entered upon his business career as a 
clerk in one of the offices of the old Concord rail- 
road, in 1886, and continued in this employ until 
March, 1903, wdien he resigned the position of freight 
cashier for the Boston & Maine railroad at Con- 
cord. He then became a partner with B. H. Orr in 
the heating, plumbing and electrical business in Con- 
cord, and has helped to build up the leading estab- 
lishment of its kind in the city. The number of 
men in their employ has increased with the develop- 
ment of their business from eight to thirty, and the 
firm's contracts extend over all the New England 
states. Mr. Rolfe is a Thirty-second degree Mason 
and a charter tnember of Bektasli Temple of the 
Mystic Shrine, in Concord. He is a member of the 
Wonalancet and Passaconaway clubs, and of the 
Capital Grange, and is ex-governor of the local 
colony of Pilgrim Fathers. He is a communicant 
of Saint Paul's Protestant Episcopal Church. Po- 
litically Mr. Rolfe is a staunch Republican. He has 
served as councilman in the city government from 
i')03 to 1905 and as alderman from 1905 to 1907. -At 
present (19&?) he is a member of the general court 
from Ward 5, serving as chairman of the Merri- 
mac county delegation, also as meml)er of the New 
Hampshire state hospital committee. 

He was married September 11, 1893. to Bertha 
Olive Cawley, of Hill. New Hainpshire. a daugh- 
ter of William B. Cawley, a lumber manufacturer of 
that town. She is a talented musician and her fine 
contralto voice has made her for many years past a 
very welcoine addition to the church choirs of Con- 
cord and Manchester. They have one son, Hamil- 
ton Cawley Rolfe, born, December 6, 1894, in Con- 
cord. 

Mr. Rolfe is a man of genial nature and cordial 



1 146 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



and affable manners, and has the faculty of mak- 
ing and retaining friends. His interest in the af- 
fairs of humanity has led him to an affiliation with 
the church and various fraternal bodies, and he is a 
citizen in whom his fellows repose confidence and 
esteem. 

(III) Henry, fourth son and eighth child of 
Benjamin and Apphia (Hale) Rolfe, was born Oc- 
tober 12, 1677, in Newbury, where the early years of 
his life were passed. He was among the original 
proprietors of Penny Cook (Concord), where he 
died. He mirried Hannah Tappan, and their chil- 
dren were: Ecnjamin, Nathaniel, Henry, Betsey, 
and Mary. 

(IV) Nathaniel, second son and child of Henry 
and Hannah (Tappan) Rolfe, was born January 6, 
1713, in Newbury, Massachusetts, and died in (Ton- 
cord, New Hampshire, in 1808, in his ninety-sixth 
year. " He lived on what was subsequently the poor 
farm, in West Concord, and reared a large and re- 
spectable family. He married Hannah, daughter of 
John and Judith (Dole) Rolfe. his cousin (see John 
(2), IV of other line), and they had the following 
children : Hannah, Nathaniel, William. Judith, Ben- 
jamin, Polly, Jane, Henry and Elizabeth. 

(V) Nathaniel (2), eldest son and second child 
of Nathaniel (i) and Hannah (Rolfe) Rolfe, was 
born August 29, 1744, in Haverhill, Massachusetts, 
and died November 15, 1829, in Concord. He set- 
tled on the land now occupied by his descendants, 
in the present village of Penacook, and was a large 
farmer. His land extended from the Boscawen line 
one and one-half miles southward, and from the 
Merrimack river to the present Main street. Pena- 
cook, including more than a square mile. The rail- 
road station at Penacook is on this land, and the 
several handsome residences in the neighborhood 
shelter his great-grandsons and their offspring. One 
of these was built by him about 1775-80. He mar- 
ried Judith, youngest daughter of Rev. Timothy 
Walker (See Walker, V) and widow of Captain 
Abiel Chandler (see Chandler, VI). His eldest 
child, Abiel, born April 6, 1781, was long a deacon 
of the church and died, unmarried, in 1840. Jane, 
the second was the wife of Nathan Chandler of 
Boscavv'en. 

(VI) Henry, second s,on and youngest child of 
Nathaniel (2) and Judith (Walker) Rolfe, was born 
August 31, 1785, in Concord, on the paternal home- 
stead, passed all his life there, and died, May 29, 
1857, in the house built by his brother in 1834. He 
was an extensive farmer and lumberman, and in 
1825 built a saw mill, the first on the estate, on 
the south side of an island in the Contoocook river, 
where his grandsons now operate a wood-working 
shop. He was an active member and one of the 
stays of the Congregational Church of Penacook, in 
which his elder brother was a deacon, and was a 
leading citizen of his district. He was married in 
1808 to Deborah Carter, daughter of Ezra awd Phebe 
Carter (see Carter, VI). She was born April 18, 
1786, and died January 11, 1S49. Their children 
are accounted for as follows : Judith Walker, mar- 
ried Jacob Whidden and died in Concord. Jane, 
died unmarried. Rhoda became the wife of David 
Farnum, son of Stephen Farnum (see Farnum IV), 
and lived in West Concord. Nathaniel is mentioned 
further below. Phebe Whittemore married Hora- 
tio Harvey and died in 1S62 at Ottawa, Canada. 
Timothy Carter, receives further mention in this 
article. Henry died in Winchester. Massachusetts. 



Deborah was the wife of John A. Holmes, and died 
in Beloit, Wisconsin. Abiel died in 1902, at Pena- 
cook. Lydia died at the age of twenty-three years. 
Martha Farnum died at Manchester, Iowa, while the 
wife of Rev. .Anson A. Baker, a Congregational 
clergyman. 

(VII) Nathaniel (3), eldest son and fourth child 
of Henry and Deborah (Carter) Rolfe, was born 
January I. 1814. on the homestead at Penacook, and 
died in his eighty-seventh year, April 26, 1900. He 
received a fair education for his time, attending 
the local school and Franklin Academy. At the age 
of twenty-one years he went to live with his bach- 
elor uncle, Abiel, with whom he was associated in 
manufacturing articles made of wood, especially fit- 
tings for dwellings, thus founding the industry now 
conducted by his sons, who have greatly extended 
it. He resided over fifty years in the house built by 
his uncle, the first south of Penacook railroad sta- 
tion, and was active in church affairs. He was a 
strong Democrat, and was honored with numerous 
offices in the gift of his townsmen. He was 
married January i, 1839. to Mary Jane Moody, 
daughter of Joseph and Hannah (Foster) IMoody. 
She was born January 21, 1817, in Canterbury and 
died August 8, 1876, at her home in Penacook. The 
eldest child of Captain Nathaniel and Mary J. 
(Moody) Rolfe, Charles Moody, receives further 
mention hereinafter. Joseph Henry resides in Pena- 
cook. Abiel Walker is the subject of a succeeding 
paragraph. John Holmes is a resident of Pena- 
cook. Mary Lancaster died when ten years old. 
Arthur Foster resides in Boscawen. The maternal 
grandfather of these, Joseph Moody, was a son of 
William and Sarah (Kimball) l\Ioody. Joseph 
Moody was born May 20, 17S8, in Newbury, Massa- 
chusetts, and was in his sixth year when his par- 
ents came to Canterbury, this state. He was en- 
gaged in farming in Canterbury and Concord until 
1862, and represented Canterbury in the legislature 
in 1828. He was married November 22, 1815. to 
Hannah, daughter of Jonathan Foster of Canter- 
bury: she was born April 26, 1784, and died Decem- 
ber 3. 1873. He died at Penacook, March 2. 1S79. 

(VIII) Charles M. Rolfe, eldest child of Cap- 
tain Nathaniel (3) and Mary J. (Moody) Rolfe, 
was born August 18, 1841, at Penacook, and was 
educated in tlu- local schools and Kimball Union 
Academy at Meriden. At the age of twenty-one 
he left sehool and thereafter devoted his encgies 
to the mill business of his father, to which h", suc- 
ceeded in part ownership March 8. 1866. His me- 
chanical genius and business ability have contributed 
to a great enlargement of the business, which now 
covers all sorts of interior fittings for buildings, as 
well as sash, blinds and doors and kindred wares. 
Mr. Rolfe has not given much attention to public 
affairs, though he entertains settled convictions and 
adheres to Democratic policies, which are not m 
majority in his tow'n. He has served on the board 
of education, but prefers business environtnent to 
public life. He is a member of the Pennconk 
Congregational Church and of Contoocook Lodge, 
No. 26, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He 
was married February 3, 1869, to Maria Louisa, 
daughter of Leonard and Sally (Cole) Morrison, of 
Boscawen, and has three hving children. The 
eldest. Mary Louise, is the widow of Samuel H, 
Farnum, and is a successful medical practitioner at 
Penacook. Harlow Foster and Henry Chandler are 
residents of the village of Penacook, the former in 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1 147 



Concord and tlic latter in Boscawen. Ben Morrison, 
the youngest, died at the age of twenty-five years. 
Harlow F. has a son, Franklin Prescott. At the 
time of his marriage, C. M. Rolfe took up his resi- 
dence on the north side of Contoocook river, on 
Water street, and is thus a citizen of Boscawen. In 
1884 he purchased his present homestead, with 
house built over sixtv vears ago, bv Calvin Gage. 

(VIII) Abiel W., third son and child of Na- 
thaniel and Mary J. (Moody) Rolfe, was born 
January 21. 18,(4. on the farm, where he still re- 
sides, and has lived since about seven years old in 
the same house, near the railroad station at Pena- 
cook, built in 1834. He attended the local school 
and Ehnw-ood Academy in Boscawen, and bade 
adieu to the schoolroom at the age of twenty years. 
His entire business life has been associated with 
the sash and door mills now owned and operated 
by C. M. & A. W. Rolfe, who purchased them of 
their father and uncle March 8, 1866. Long before 
he was through with school, young Rolfe was 
accustomed to make himself useful in the mill, and 
he was familiar with many details of its operation 
before his majority. He is still to be found actively 
engaged in the same occupation every business day, 
and his habits of industry have contributed in no 
small way to the success of the brothers in operating 
and extending the business founded by their fore- 
bears. They employ over fifty people on an average, 
and contribute largely to the prosperity of their 
home village. His public services have been numer- 
ous, and he takes an active interest in every move- 
ment for progress. As a member of the board of 
e6ducation, he has shown a desire to foster schools, 
and he is now assistant engineer of the fire de- 
partment. In 1891-92 he represented ward I in the 
legislature. He is a member of the Congregational 
Church ; of the Veteran Firemen's Association ; of 
Horace Chase Lodge, No. 72, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons ; of Contoocook Lodge, No. 26, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows : and Hannah 
Dustin Lodge. No. 49, Daughters of Rebekah. Like 
his fathers, he adheres to the Democratic party in 
politics. He was married February 17. 1S70, to 
Georgiana Judith Gage, who was born January 16, 
1848, in Boscawen. daughter of Isaac Kimball Gage 
of that town (see Gage, XVI). Mr. and Mrs. Rolfe 
are the parents of three sons. Harry Gage, the 
eldest, born July S, 1872, resides at Penacook. He 
was married June 15, i8g8, to Mary Florence 
Symonds, who died April 7, 1904, aged twenty- 
eight years, and left a son, Richard Symonds, born 
October 16, 1899. Herbert Wilson, the second, 
married Lucy E. Huflf, and has two daughters, 
Helen Louise and Mary Florence. Frederick Isaac 
resides with his parents. 



The immigrant ance.=tors of this 
COFFIN family came early to the colony of 

Massachusetts Bay, and many of their 
descendants have been leading men. Their revolu- 
tionary war record is an honorable one. 

(I) Peter Coffin, of Brixton, near Portledge, 
died in 1628. His widow, Joanna Thember Coffin, 
with her children — Tristram, Mary, and Eunice — 
emigrated to Salisbury, Massachusetts, in 1642. and 
settled in Newbury, whence they finally removed 
to Nantucket. She died in May. i66r. aged seventy- 
seven. She was a woman of remarkable strength 
of character. 

(II) Tristram, eldest child of Peter and Joanna 



(Thember) Coffin, was born in Bri.xham or Briston 
parish. Plymouth, Devon, England, about 1605 or 
i6og, and died in Nantucket, October 2, 1681. He 
removed to Salisbury, thence to Haverhill the same 
year, thence to Newbury about 1648, thence in 1654 
or 1655 to Salisbury again, where he signed his 
name "Commissioner of Salisbury." He was ta.xed 
in Salisbury in 1652 and 1659. In 1659 a company 
was formed which purchased nineteen-twentieths 
of Nantucket Island, whither he removed in 1660 
with his wife, mother, and four children. He mar- 
ried Dionis Stevens, of Brixton. Their nine chil- 
dren were: Peter, Tristram, Elizabeth, James, John 
(died young), Deborah, Mary, John and Stephen. 

(III) Tristram (2), second son and child of 
Tristram (r) and Joanna (Thember) Coffin, was 
born in England in 1632, and came to America with 
his parents at ten years of age. He died February 
4, 1704, aged about seventy-two. He was the 
ancestor of all the Coffins originating from New- 
bury. He married, March 2, 1653. in Newbury, 
Judith Grcenleaf, daughter of Edmund Greenlcaf. 
the emigrant, and widow of Henry Somerby, of 
Newbury. She died December 15, 1705. They had 
ten children. 

(IV) Nathaniel, tenth and youngest child of 
Tristram (2) and Judith (Grecnleaf) Coffin, was 
born in Newbury, ^larch 22, 1669. He resided in 
the house erected by his father, which wis still 
standing a few Vi-.irs ago. He married Sarah, 
widow of Henry Dole, whose name before marriag(; 
vias Sarah Brocklebank, of Rowley. They had 
eight children : John, Enoch. Apphia, Samuel 
Brockelbank, Joseph, Jane, Edmund and Moses. 

(V) John, eldest child of Nathaniel and Snrah 
(Brocklebank) Coffin, was born in Newbury, June 
I, 1694, and died September 30, 1762, in the si.xty- 
ninth year of his age. He married Judith Green- 
leaf, of Newbury, and they were the parents of ten 
children: Richard, Nathaniel, .\bigail, Mary, Peter, 
Apphia. William, Samuel, Judith and Sarah. 

(VI) Captain Peter, third son and fifth child of 
John and Judith (Greenleaf) Coffin, was born in 
Newbury, Massachusetts. May 11, 1722, and died 
in Boscawen. New Hampshire. December 15, 1789 
He moved to Concord in 1766. and to Boscawen 
in 1768-69. He settled on Water street, erecting the 
house occupied through life by his son Thomas. 
The following account of Captain Coffin and his 
wife is taken from Charles Carlton Coffin's "nist9ry 
of Boscawen." 

"At that time (1769) there were but two or at 
most three houses in what is now the town of 
Webster. His house became the convenient stopping 
place for all new settlers. Captain Coffin soon had 
corn to sell : and no matter how scare the grain, 
or how high the current price, he never made a 
man's necessity his own opportunity. He was known 
as the poor man's friend. He had no desire for 
public office, and when chosen constable, when the 
town would not accept his declination, hired Bcn'a- 
min Eastman to perform his duties. He was an 
ardent patriot during the revolution, and although 
there is no record of his election to the provincial 
congress held at Exeter. April 21. 177.S. yet his 
name appears on the list as a member of that all- 
important body. He served in the campaign of 
1777. upon the approach of Burgoyne. He was 
ever ready to support the religious institutions of 
the day, was a liberal, large-hearted man. respected 
and beloved. He died suddenly, December 15, 1789. 



1148 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



He married, in the fall of 1768, Rebecca Haseltine, 
wlio was born in Chester. 

"During the summer (of 1768) Captain Coffin 
had erected the frame of a house now occupied 
(187S) by Mr. Colby, on Water street. The masons 
had constructed the chimney, the boards and 
shingles were on the sides and roof, and the 
southwest corner room had been partitioned ofif, 
when the young bride, seated on a pillion behind 
her hufhand, reached her future home. Their 
house was on the frontier of civilization. Possibly 
two individuals had gone beyond them, to Corser 
hill and Blackwater, but the only road was a cart 
path over the rocks and hillocks, corduroyed upon 
the marshy places. The newly married couple 
were beginning life. They had few household arti- 
cles — a bed, kettle, frying-pan, wooden or pewter 
plates, a knife and fork each, and a few other house- 
hold articles — all of which were packed upon a 
led horse ; but they had strong hands, and were 
undaunted by the hardships and trials before them. 

"While the husband was making the woods bow 
before his sturdy strokes, the wife kept the wheel 
humming or the loom in action from morn till 
night. She was a thrifty woman, looking ever after 
the savings as well as the earnings. She was at 
the same time liberal and kind, relieving the wants 
of those who were having a hard time in life. 
Deacon Enoch Little, who often when a boy ate a 
TdowI of bread and milk at her house, was 
accustomed to say that if it had not been for the 
kindness of Captain and Mrs. Coffin his father's 
family would have found it hard to get through the 
first year in Boscawen. 

"Mrs. Coff.n was intensely patriotic, and when 
the stamp act imposed a duty on tea she resolutely 
put away the few ounces in her caddy, and would 
not have any of it used until the act was repealed. 
In 1777. when the order came for Captain Peter 
Kimball's company to march to Bennington, there 
were two soldiers who had no shirts to wear. Mrs. 
Coffin had a web partially woven in the loom. 
Seizing the shears, she cut out what she had woven, 
sat up through the night, and made two shirts ; and 
in the morning the soldiers, thus provided for, took 
their places in the ranks. That was the morning 
of July 4th. On the isth'of the .same month she 
gave birth to her second son Thomas. A month 
passed. On the i6th of August the victory of 
Bennington was won. Messengers brought the glad 
news, and Captain Coffin, who had been out in 
the previous campaign, started once more, leaving 
his energetic wife with five children — the oldest a 
"boy of seven years, the youngest an infant of five 
weeks. The wheat was dead ripe ; the birds were 
devouring it; the winds were scattering the grains. 
It must be gathered ; but who could gather it, Avhen 
nearly every able-bodied citizen was hastening to 
drive back the enemy? She remembered that Enoch 
Little, who had moved to the Little hill a few 
months before, had several sons, for she ha.-I sup- 
plied them with bread and milk the prev'OUs sum- 
mer, while Mr. Little was rearing his cabin. Possi- 
bly she might obtain one of the boys. She leaves 
the four oldest children at home, in care of the 
eldest, Enoch (Peter?), the boy of seven years, 
mounts the mare, takes her infant of five weeks 
in her arms, rides througli tlie forest, along the 
blazed path fording Beaver dam brook, climbing 
Corser hill, fording the Blackwater, making her 



way to the log cabin ot Mr. Little, to linri that the 
three eldest sons are in the army — that the only 
boy who can aid her is Enoch, fourteen years old. 
'Enoch can go, but he has no clothes,' is the answ'er 
of Mrs. Little to Mrs. Coffin's request. 'The boy 
has no coat, vest, hat, stockings, or shoes. His 
only garments are a ragged pair of tow-and-linsey 
pants, and a ragged shirt.' T can provide him with 
a coat,' is the reply. The boy leaps upon the pillion, 
and the mother, with the infant in her arms, rides 
back through the forest to her home. Enoch Little 
is no ordinary boy. He hears the birds in the woods, 
but he has work to do. and plies the sickle, while 
Mrs. Coffin in the house is making him a coat. She 
has no cloth, but she has a meal-bag: and cutting a 
hole for his head, two holes for his arms, and 
sewing on the legs of a pair of her own stockings 
for sleeves, the garment is complete ! Then going 
to the field, she lays her infant beneath the shade 
of a tree and binds the sheaves ! So she serves 
her country ; she does what she can for human free- 
dom. She survived her husband many years. She 
was a woman of great energy of character ; and 
trained her sons to prize character above every- 
thing else. All honor to her memory." 

The children of Captain Peter and Rebecca 
(Haseltine) Coffin were: Peter. Rebecca, Joanna, 
Abigail, Thomas, Moses and Apphia. 

(VII) Captain Moses, sixth child and third 
son of Captain Peter and Rebecca (Haseltine) 
Coffin, was born in Boscawen, July 22, 1779, and 
died in Boscawen, September 5, 1S54, aged seventy- 
five. He w'as a farmer, and lived in a house which 
he erected east of Water street, on the road lead- 
ing to Boscawen plain. He was an energetic citi- 
zen, respected, and a consistent member of the 
Congregational Church. He married Susannah 
Farnum. of Concord, who died May 4, 1843. Their 
children were: Rebecca. Lucy, Peter. Judith, Far- 
num, Nehemiah Cogswell, Susannah and Esther. 

(VIII) Farnum, fifth child and second son of 
Moses and Susannah (Farnum) Coffin, was born 
in Boscawen, March 13, 1813, and died September 
21, 1S55, aged forty-three. He resided on the home- 
stead, and was a prosperous farmer and a re- 
spected citizen. He married Judith Gerrish, who 
was born in Canterbury, May 21, 1824, daughter of 
Captain Joseph and Sarah (Church) Gerrish, the 
latter a daughter of Deacon John Church of Dun- 
barton. (See Gerrish VI). At the age of thirty- 
two Mrs. Coffin was left a widow with four chil- 
dren, the eldest only ten years old, but with that 
capacity for management that marked some of her 
ancestors, she assumed full charge of her late 
husband's property until her son Henry was old 
enough to take charge of it, and now, though eighty- 
three years of age, she has a personal knowledge 
of the work done and the results obtained. The 
names of the children of this marriage are : John, 
Clara A. and Joseph and Henry (twins). John, 
born June 9, 1846. married. March 21, 1872, Nellie 
Sleeper, of Bristol, who died May 24. 1890. John 
Coffin died at Fort Pierre. South Dakota. Novem- 
ber iS. 1905. leaving three children : Lura ; George 
H.. who married Anna E. Sadler, of Rockwell, 
Iowa : and Frank J. Clara A.. January 18. 1850. 
died April 16 1881 ; Joseph, February 4, i8=;3, died 
June 6. 1858. 

(IX) Henry, fourth child and third son of 
Farnum and Judith (Gerrish) Coffin, was born 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1 149 



February 4, 1853. on the farm on Water street, 
where he always resided. He was a hard-working, 
honest man, and had made many improvements on 
the estate, one being a large apple orchard which 
has proved the wisdom of his foresight by supplying 
a profitable source of income for some years past. 
He also had other fruits in abundance, besides 
keeping a good stock of cattle. Mr. Coffin was 
always ready to help those who were in need, and 
many times assisted the sick to an extent almost 
beyond his strength. He was 'a popular man with 
his farm help, all of whom had a good word for him. 
He was a kind-hearted father and a worthy citizen. 
He was a Republican in politics, and never sought 
office, but his vote was always intended to be on 
the side of right and to advance what was best 
for his fellow men. At the time of his death 
he had been for forty-two years a member of the 
Congregational Church, and for eight years had 
held the office of deacon. He married, December g, 
1S8S, Loie Grace Crosby, daughter of James J. 
and Emiline E. (Buell) Crosby, of Hebron, New 
Hampshire, and their children were : Cora Grace, 
born November 16, i8Sg; Alice V., born June 14, 
1893 : and Charles Carlton, born January 13, 1S95. 

Mr. Coffin died very suddenly, of heart failure, 
August 29. 1907. The funeral was held at the house 
and was largely attended by relatives and friends. 
The Rev. J. H. Bliss conducted the services in the 
absence of the pastor of the church at Boscawen, 
assisted by the Rev. Arthur Little, D. D. Singing 
was by a local quartette, and the bearers were 
Frank L. Gerrish, George H. Folsom, Frank B. 
Folsom. and George P. Chadwick. Interment was 
in the Beaver Dam cemetery. Mr. Little spoke very 
feelingly of the one who was gone, referring to his 
long acquaintance with the families represented, 
and to the many years that their names had been 
household words in the two towns of Boscawen 
and Webster. The character of Mr. Coffin can, 
perhaps, be best described by the following extract 
from a tribute to his memory, written by one of 
his intimate friends and published in a local paper: 

"His native town lost one of its most sub- 
stantial, enterprising and useful citizens ; his neigh- 
borhood lost an accommodating, social and sympa- 
thetic neighbor ; the local Congregational Church 
lost a liberal supporter ; his immediate family lost a 
self-sacrificing head who knew no limit in efforts 
to add to their bountifully supplied necessities all 
privileges, comforts and luxuries possible, and his 
death removed a model son, husband and father, 
while a large circle of associates lost a consistent 
friend and agreeable companion." 



This name can be traced to Sir Guy 
BRYANT De Briant. who lived in the time of 

Edward HL and whose descendants 
had their seats in the castle of Hereford, in Wales, 
Xo connection has been established between this 
family and the first of the name who came to 
America, but there is little doubt that there is 
such connection which might be revealed by de- 
termined effort. About the year 1640 the Plymouth 
Colony contained four families of the name, all 
of whom spelled it Briant. There is no documen- 
tary evidence that these families were related to 
each other, except as shown by a deed which indi- 
cates that Lieutenant John Briant, of Plimpton, 
was a son-in-law of Stephen Briant, of Plymouth. 



Tradition declares that Stephen, of Plymouth, and 
Jolm Ci) of Scituate were brothers. 

(I) John Briant was a resident of Scituate, 
and was a prominent person in the early history 
of the Plymouth colony. Throughout his life he 
was active in public affairs, was a land owner, and 
was actively engaged in the survey of public lands. 
He was a member of the general court at Plymouth 
in 16C7, and again in 1677-7S. The date of his 
arrival in America has not been discovered, but 
tradition says that he came from Kent, England, 
in the ship 'Ann." It is known that he lived in 
Barnstable previous to removing to Scituate. The 
first appearance of his name in the records of the 
colony appears in the list of one himdred and five 
men of Scituate who were able to bear arms. He 
was married three times. His first wife Mary was 
a daughter of George and Mary (Jenkins) Lewis, 
of Barnstable, to whom he was married November 
4, 1643, and by whom he had seven children. She 
died July 2, 1665, and he was married (second) 
to Elizabeth, daughter of Rev. William Witherill, 
of Scituate. He was married (third) .^pril i, 1664, 
to Mary, daughter of Thomas Highland, of the same 
town. He died November 20, 1684, sixteen days 
after making his will. His children, born in Scitu- 
ate, were: John, Hannah, Joseph (died young), 
Sarah, Mary (died young), Martha, Samuel. Eliza- 
beth, Daniel, Mary, Benjamin, Joseph, Jabez, Ruth, 
Thomas, Deborah, Agatha, -Ann and Elisha. 

(H) Thomas, eighth son and fifteenth child 
of John Bryant, was born July 15, 1675, in Scituate, 
and died in that town in 1748. His will was proved 
December 23 of that year. From this will it is 
estimated that his estate must have been worth 
more than ten thousand pounds. He was a dis- 
tinguished man of his time, served as selectman, 
justice of the peace, and was representative to 
the legislature in 1725. 1730 and 1733-34. He was 
married August 28, 1707, by Joseph Otis, justice 
of the peace, to Mary, daughter of Gershom Ewell, 
of Scituate, and granddaughter of Henry Ewell, a 
soldier in the Pequod war. Their children were: 
Benjamin, Mary. Seth, Thomas, Peleg, Hannah, 
Lemuel and Nathaniel, all born in Scituate. 

(HI) Seth. second son and third child of 
Thomas and Mary (Ewell) Bryant, was born 
February 12, 1714, in Scituate, and moved to Marsh- 
field about 7736. He died there in 1772. his will being 
proved August 7 of that year. In this document he 
is called "gentleman," and the inventory of his 
estate placed its value at one thousand fifty-nine 
pounds. He was married August 17, 1736, to Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Ebenezer and Deborah (Randall) 
Barker, of Scituate. She was a great-granddaugh- 
ter of Robert Barker, of Pembroke, and great-great- 
granddaughter of William Randall, of Scituate. She 
died February 7, 17&8. Their children, born in 
Marshfield, were : Ruth, Nathaniel, Seth, Joseph, 
Charles and Vashti. 

(IV) Charles, fourth son and fifth child of 
Seth and Elizabeth (Barker) Bryant, was born 
July 20, 1751, in Marshfield. He probably settled 
in INIaine, or southeastern New Hampshire. His 
wife, who belonged in Newcastle. Maine, was named 
Jerusha. There is a large settlement of people of 
this name in southwestern Maine, but the records 
in that state as well as in New Hampshire are very 
defective on this name and fail to establish the 
lineage of the family herein traced. It is probable, 
however, that the Bryants of Strafford county are 



II50 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



descended either from this family, or from those 
of the Saco Valley, in Maine. 

(V) Micajah Bryant is said by family tradition 
to have been born in New Durham, New Hamp- 
shire. The vital records of the state show that he 
was born May 14. 1798, and recorded in the ad- 
joining town of Middleton; the same record taken 
from the town of Middleton shows that his wife, 
Tryphena Perkins, was born September 19, 1799. 
Mr. Bryant was a farmer in New Durham, and 
died there about 1866. No record of his marriage 
to Tryphena Perkins appears, but that is a matter 
of family knowledge and can be taken as reliable. 
They had three children : Charles Dudley, Sarah 
and John. 

(\T) Charles Dudley, eldest child of Micajah 
and Tryphena ( Perkins) Bryant, was born at New 
Durham, December, 1S23. After leaving the com- 
mon schools he learned the shoemaker's trade in 
the neighboring city of Dover, New Hampshire, and 
worked there about eight years. He then came to 
the Winnepesaukee region, carried on the shoe 
business for ten years at Belmont, and for thirty 
years in Laconia. After that he bought a farm and 
retired to Northfield, where he died in 1892. He 
was a Democrat in politics, and belonged to the 
Odd Fellows. He married IMeribah T. Cotton, 
daughter of Simon Cotton. She was born at Gil- 
ford, September, 1S22, and died at Tilton, -May 24, 
1906. They had seven children : Charles Albert, 
born November, 1S43 ; Emma Frances, born Sep- 
tember, 1846 ; John Fred, mentioned below ; George, 
born November, 1S52; William Curtice, born Oc- 
tober, 185s; Edward Heard, mentioned below; and 
Marietta, born 1859, died aged four years. 

(VH) John Fred, third child and second son 
of Charles Dudley and Meribah (Cotton) Bryant, 
was born at Laconia, February 5, 1850. He was 
educated in the common schools of Belmont. He 
bought the Dexter House at Tilton, New Hamp- 
shire, and managed it for twelve years. He then 
remodeled the house, and conducted it for several 
years as the Lovering Hotel. He took a position 
as traveling salesman for C. I. Hood &: Company 
until 1904, when he went into the meat and grocery 
business with his brother Edward in Tilton. In 
politics he is a Democrat. _ He belongs to the 
Grange, and is a member' of Doric Lodge, No. 
78, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, Tilton, and 
Mt. Horeb Commandery, Knights Templar, of Con- 
cord. He attends the Episcopal Church. He mar- 
ried, January i, 1907, Mary A. Parker, born in 
Leeds, Province of Quebec, July 28, 1856. 

(Vn) Edward Heard, fifth son and sixth 
child of Charles Dudley and Meribah (Cotton) 
Bryant, was born June 30, 1857, at Belmont, New 
Hampshire. He was educated in the common 
schools of Belmont. In 1904 he went into business 
with his brother John, at Tilton. He married Ella 
Flora Dow, daughter of True Perkins Dow. of 
Moultonboro. They have two children : Hellen 
Richmond, born February, 1887, and Morris Per- 
kins, born February, i8go. 

(I) Hubbard Winslow Bryant, son of Wil- 
liam Bryant, was born in Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts, and now resides in Portland, Maine. 

(II) Edwin Scanton Bryant, son of Hubbard 
W. Bryant, was born in Portland, July 24, 1876. 
He attended the public schools of Portland, pre- 
pared for college in the high school, entered the 
University of Maine in 1S94, and was graduated in 



189S. Having a thorough knowledge of civil en- 
gineering, he at once went to Berlin, New Hamp- 
shire, and for two years was assistant city engineer 
of that city. The following year he was in the em- 
ploy of the Berlin Mills Company. In 1901 he was 
elected city engineer and inspector of buildings of 
Berlin, and has since filled that position by annual 
re-election. In addition to the city's business he 
does a large amount of engineering and surveying 
for patrons in and about Berlin. He is a member of 
the Episcopal Church. 



This name is of ancient Scotch origin, 
AIKEN and during the religious agitation which 
so violently disturbed the peace and 
tranquility of Scotland in the seventeenth century, 
its bearers were identified with the Covenanters. 
With others they went to Ireland in order to escape 
the controversial strife, which interfered with their 
religious rights to such an extent as to seriously 
jeopardise their personal liberty, and many of these 
sturdy zealots afterwards came to New England. 
Among the latter were the founders of the Aiken 
family of New Hampshire. The family as a whole 
are noted for their industry, thrift and progressive 
tendencies, and, as will be seen later on. some of 
them have won national distinction as mechanical 
geniuses and inventors. 

(I) Edward Aiken emigrated from the north of 
Ireland early in the eighteenth century, and settled 
in Londonderry in 1722. He was accompanied to 
this country by his two brothers, James and Wil- 
liam. His wife's name was Barbara. It is reason- 
ably certain that Edward and Barbara Aiken had 
three children, although one account says that they 
had only one son. 

(II) Nathaniel Aiken married Margaret Coch- 
ran and lived with his father at Aiken's range in 
Londonderry. Whatever conflict of authority there 
may be regarding other facts of Nathaniel's life 
and family connections, all writers agree that he was 
born May 14. 1696, and married, December i, 1726, 
^Margaret Cochran ; and that he had twelve children, 
among whom were his sons James and John. James 
Aiken, brother of Nathaniel and second son of 
Edward and Barbara, married Jean Cochran, and 
among his children were sons James and John. 

(III) Thomas, son of Nathaniel Aiken, was 
born in Londonderry, and in early manhood settled 
in Deering, New Hampshire. 

(IV) Matthew, son of Thomas Aiken, was 
born in Deering, March 21, 1766. He resided for a 
time in Peterboro, New Hampshire, and probably 
went from there to Pelham, this state, where he 
followed the saddler's and harness-maker's trade, and 
was considered a workman of the first rank. He 
died in Pelham, September 8, 1812. July 8, 1794, 
he married Sally Hackett, who was born in Ports- 
mouth February 3, 1771, daughter of Colonel 
Hackett. who constructed the first frigate for the 
federal government during the revolutionary war. 
She survived her husband many years, her death 
having occurred March 18, 1848. The children of 
this union were : James Oilman, Herrick, Sally, 
Emma and Alfred. 

(V) Herrick, second son and child of Matthew 
and Sally (Herrick) Aiken, was born in Peterboro, 
June 8, 1797. He was a mechanic of unusual ability 
— ingenious, resourceful and creative — and was 
awarded several medals for his inventions, which 
included a spiral brush, a leather-splitting machine, 




c 



(/ 



/^7 




NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



IItI 



and other valuable appliances. He first established 
himself in business as a manufacturer of machinery 
at Dracut, Massachusetts, but removed to Franklin, 
New Hampshire, in 1838, and in addition to carry- 
ing on quite an extensive enterprise he found 
ample opportunity for experiments in developing his 
ideas. He was the first to conceive the practicability 
of the cog-rail for use on mountain railways, made 
the ascent of Jilount Washington on horseback for 
the purpose of familiarizing himself with the exact 
grade and the other difficulties to be overcome, and 
constructed a working model of his plan, but was 
unable to convince railroad men and capitalists of 
its feasibility. His plan was afterwards adopted, 
however, but not in his lifetime. He alsj con- 
structed a screw propeller some years before that 
appliance came into general use. He died November 
7, 1S66. On February 5, 1830, he married Ann 
Matilda Bradley, who was born in Saco, Maine, 
August 28, 1810, daughter of Isaac Bradley, of 
Dracut, and a descendant in the fifth generation 
of the renowned Hannah Duston, whose thrilling 
adventures as a captive among the Indians forms 
an interesting episode in the early history of Haver- 
hill, Massachusetts. Ann Matilda become the 
mother of five children, namely : Walter, Jonas. 
James, Francis Herrick and Charles Lowe. 

(VI) Walter, eldest son of Herrick and Ann 
M. (Bradley) Aiken, was born in Dracut, October 
5, 1831. His early education was pursued in the 
public schools, and these preliminary studies were 
supplemented with courses at educational institu- 
tions in Gilmanton, New Hampshire, and Tilton. 
At an early age he became an apprentice in his 
father's machine shop, where his genius for me- 
chanical invention was fully developed, and when 
twenty-two years old he secluded himself in a pri- 
vate laboratory occupying a portion of the upper 
part of the establishment for the purpose of en- 
gaging exclusively in creative work. Here he turned 
his attention to the application of machinery to 
knitting, and as a pioneer in that field he continued 
to develop his ideas, which at length culminated in 
the production of an automatic knitter capable of 
producing a completed seamless stocking in less 
than five minutes. These wonderful machines he 
put to a practical demonstration in a hosiery fac- 
tory operated by himself, and with them was able, 
together with a small force of operatives, to turn 
out two hundred and twelve thousand dollars' worth 
of goods annually. Having placed his manufactur- 
ing enterprise in good running order, his attention 
was diverted to other important undertakings in 
the line of improvements, and in due time had 
the gratification of putting into operation his father's 
scheme for a cog-railway to the summit of JNIount 
Washington. In collaboration with Sylvester Marsh 
he developed the original plans, designed the loco- 
motive, placed the line in successful operation, and 
gave his personal attention to its management for 
the remainder of his life. He also erected the 
Summit House and the United States Signal Ser- 
vice Station on jMount Washington, and for a 
number of years owned and managed the Hotel 
Hamilton, at Hamilton, Bermuda. In politics Mr. 
Aiken was a Democrat. During the civil war he 
went to the front in a New Hampshire regiment, 
and subsequently represented Franklin in the lower 
branch of the state legislature several terms. He 
was made a Mason in Meridian Lodge, Franklin, 
in 1863, and passed upward through the various 



subordinate bodies to Mount Horeb Commandery, 
Knights Templar, Concord, which he joined in 1867. 
His residence in Franklin was one of the hand- 
somest and most conspicuous family seats on the 
Sanbornton side of Winnipiseogee river, and is 
now occupied by his son James. 

In 1853 Mr. Aiken married for his first wife 
Susan Colby, daughter of John Colby, of Warner. 
His second wife, whom he married January I, 
1867, was Mary Dodge of Hampton Falls. His busy 
and useful life terminated December 12, 1893, 
and he was survived by a widow and two sons — 
James, who will be again referred to; and Fred- 
erick, born November 4, 1855. 

(VII) James, eldest son of Walter and Susan 
(Colby) Aiken, was born in Franklin, February 15, 
1854. His preliminary studies were concluded in 
New London, New Hampshire, and he completed 
his education at Dartmouth College. He shortly 
afterward went upon one of the large western cattle 
ranches, where he remained some two or three 
years, and after his return to New England he 
served an apprenticeship at tne machinist's trade in 
Connecticut. Subsequently to his father's death he 
and his brother succeeded to the manufacturing 
business in Franklin, under the firm name of Walter 
Aiken's Sons, and conducted it successfully until 
1904, when they sold the enterprise to Messrs. M. 
T. Stevens & Sons. Although practically retired 
from active business pursuits, he is interested in 
various industries and financial enterprises, being 
a director of the Mayo Knitting Machine and Needle 
Company, the Franklin Light and Power Company, 
and the Franklin National Bank. Politically Mr. 
Aiken acts with the Republican party, and was 
chosen a member of the first city council in Frank- 
lin. He is a Master Mason, affiliating with Meri- 
dian Lodge, also the Independent Order o'f Odd 
Fellows, and Walter Aiken Council, American 
Mechanics, named in honor of his father. 

On May 20, 18S0, he w^as united in marriage with 
Myra Cole, daughter of Nathan and Sarah (Sanborn) 
Cole, of Hill. The children of this union are : 
Bertha, born October 24, 1884; Annie B., born July 
5, 1890; and Frank, born December 16, 1892. 

James Aiken and his brother John, the latter of 
whom died in 1756. went from Londonderry, New 
Hampshire, with Hugh Riddle, who had married 
their mother, Ann Aiken, and settled in Bedford, 
New Hampshire, on lands deeded to him in 1756 
and in which he was described as "James Aiken, 
Tanner, Watertown, Massachusetts Bay." In Bed- 
ford he carried on his trade and farming and filled 
many important town oflices. There is reasonable 
ground for the belief that this James Aiken was 
the son of Nathaniel Aiken and grandson of Ed- 
ward and Barbara (Edwards) Aiken, although the 
relationship cannot be traced with certainty. Ed- 
ward Aiken emigrated from Ulster in the north 
of Ireland, his ancestry being previously from Scot- 
land, and settled in Londonderry, New Hampshire. 
He was born in 1660 and married Barbara Edwards 
about 1719. 

The James Aiken who went with Hugh Riddle 
from Londonderry to Bedford married and had 
eleven children, the second of whom was named 
Margaret Cochran, which was the name of the 
wife of Nathaniel Aiken and also the family name 
of the wife of James .-Mken, Nathaniel's lirother. 
Again, it appears that Hugh Riddle married the 



Ii;2 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



widowed mother of James and John Aiken, and she 
was the Ann Aiken, of Concord, New Hampshire, 
whereas Margaret Cochran was the name of the 
mother of James and John Aiken who were Na- 
thaniel Aiken's sons. Wherefore, in view of the 
difficuUies which have been encountered in con- 
necting these early branches of the Aiken family, 
this narrative must begin with James Aiken, of 
Londonderry and Bedford, and who is referred to 
by the family genealogist and historian as "Aiken 
No. 2." 

(I) James, presumably a son of Edward and 
Barbara Aiken, was born probably in 1732 in Lon- 
donderry, New Hampshire, and died in Bedford, 
New Hampshire, May 13, 1787. He became one of 
the prominent men of Bedford, filling many import- 
ant public oflkes and served as captain in the Ameri- 
can army during the Revolutionary war. He en- 
listed as a private in Captain Joshua Abbott's com- 
pany of Colonel Stark's regiment, on June 13, 1775, 
and served ni the same company as late as No- 
vember S, 1776. He vi-as with his company in the 
battle of Bunker Hill. Li that battle Stark's regi- 
ment was opposed to the British Twenty-Third 
Regiment, well known as the "Royal Welsh Fusi- 
liers." Prince Albert in 1848 presented to this 
regiment a new stand of colors, and said : "In the 
American war the Fusiliers were engaged in the 
first unhappy collision which took place at Lex- 
ington. It also fought at Bunker Hill and Brandy- 
wuie. At Bunker Hill its loss was so great that it 
was said only one officer remained to tell the story." 
When Captain Aiken enlisted in June his crops 
were in the ground and he left the farm to the 
care of his wife and children, the oldest of whom 
was eleven years and the youngest eight months old, 
and they did all the work, including the harvesting 
of the crops in the fall. In August, 1778, Captain 
Aiken went to Rhode Island as captain of a com- 
pany in Colonel Moses Kelley's regiment, under 
General Sullivan. In June. 1780. he went to West Point, 
New York, in command of a company in Colonel 
Thomas Bartlett's regiment, and was there when 
the fort was betrayed by Arnold. He enlisted June 
29 and was discharged October 24, 1780. ( From 
Harry W. Gilchrist's sketch of the revolutionary 
services of Captain James .Aiken.) Captain James 
Aiken married, November 17, 1763, Margaret 
Waugh, born September 23, 1741, died in Bedford, 
New Hampshire, September I, 1838. She was a 
daughter of Robert Waugh who sailed from Port 
Rush, Ireland, July 22, 1737, and landed at Boston, 
Massachusetts, November i of the same year. 
Their children were: Ann, Margaret Cochran, 
Robert, Sarah, Andrew, Ruhamah, James, Mar- 
garet, Hannah, Jane and Achsah. 

(II) Andrew, fifth child and second son of 
Captain James and Margaret (Waugh) Aiken, was 
born in Bedford, New Hampshire, December 26, 
1770, and died in Newport, New Hampshire, July 
28, 1856. The early part of his business life was 
spent in Bedford, and after his marriage he lived 
on a farm near that of his father. He was one of 
the committee on ministry in Bedford parish. In 
1813 he went with his family to Newport, where he 
secured a "fine old mansion" with two hundred 
acres of land overlooking the village. The land 
is still owned in the family. He married in Bed- 
ford, December 29, 1797, iMartha McAllaster. born 
December 25, 1774, a twin, daughter of William 



and Jerusha (Spofiford) McAllaster (see McAUas- 
ter), and in the year in which he went with bis- 
family to Newport, William, Benjamin and Apphia 
S. McAllaster also removed to that town. Andrew 
and Martha (McAllaster) Aiken had nine chil- 
dren, viz. : Frederick, born in Bedford, December 
28, 1798, see forward. William jNIcAllaster, born 
December 10, 1800, died January 19, 1866 ; married 
(first), in 1826, Elizabeth Locke; married (sec- 
ond) Margaret Nichols. Sarah, born June 24, 1803, 
died August 15, 1842; married, August 21, 1827, 
Jeremiah Newell, who died in Newport, February 
IS, 1838. Ann Riddle, born September 5, 1805, 
died January 21, 1871 ; married, November 3, 1824, 
Naylor Starbird. Martha Mary, born Bedford, No- 
vember 29, 1807, died in Washington, D. C, Janu- 
ary 6, 1866; married, July 19, 183 1, Saw^yer- Bel- 
knap, parents of Admiral George Eugene Belknap,. 
U. S. N., now retired. David, born December 12, 
1810, died January 3, 1820. JNIargaret Ann, bora 
September 20, 1S13, died January 25, 1893; married 
(first), May 22, 1838, Jonathan W. Clement; mar- 
ried (second), October 7, 1851, Leonard M. Kim- 
ball; married (third), February 19, 1865, Frederick 
N. Bissell. Caroline, born January 13, 1816, died 
September 24, 1816. James Breck, born June 23, 
1819. died, Boston. May 6, 1879; married, November 

27, 184s, Mary Jane Perkins. 

(III) Frederick, eldest son and child of An- 
drew and Martha (McAllaster) Aiken, was born in 
the town of Bedford, New Hampshire, December 

28, 1798, and died in the town of Newport, New 
Hampshire, December I, 1S75. For many years 
he was prominently identified with the best inter- 
ests and history of New-port, for several years en- 
gaged in mercantile pursuits in the store of James 
Breck. He eventually acquired the old Aiken 
homestead farm on Pine street and lived there in 
comfort until the time of his death. He w'as a man 
of excellent character, superior business capacity 
and was greatly respected in the town and county. 
He married, January 31, 1856, Elniira Carr, born 
October 18, 1820, daughter of David and Sarah 
(Severns) Carr, and granddaughter of Thomas 
Carr, first of Boscawen and afterwards of New- 
port. Frederick and Elmira (Carr) Aiken had 
two children : Addie Jane, born November 15, 1S57, 
died November 30, 1875. Frederick W.. born 
February 17, 1862, now living in Newport. New 
Hampshire. 

(IV) Frederick \\'illiam, second and only sur- 
viving child of Frederick and Elmira (Carr) Aiken, 
was born on the old homestead farm in Newport, 
and received his education in the Newport high 
.school. In business life his principal occupation 
has been farming, and besides his considerable 
interests in that direction has been and still is some- 
W'hat of a public man in the town and otherwise 
closely identified with various enterprises of the 
locality. He served three terms as selectman and 
was chairman of the board of selectmen in igoO' 
and 1901. In 1902 and 1003 he represented New- 
port in the general assembly of New Hampshire. 
He is a stockholder and director of the Newport 
Savings Bank. On February 24, 1S91. Frederick' 
W. Aiken married Katie E. Herrick. born in New- 
port, May 14, 1869, daughter of Timothy and Maria 
(Hoban) Herrick. both of whom were born in 
county Mayo, Ireland (see Herrick, II). Mrs. 
Aiken is a woman of education and refinement, of 



NEW ILUirSlIlRE. 



II 



00 



decided literary tastes and a thorough student of 
history and the Hves of all great American states- 
men, scholars and philanthropists from the time of 
Franklin and Washington. Her studies in the di- 
rection indicated are for the mutual welfare of her- 
self and her children, especially the latter, to whom 
she is entirely devoted. Her collection of books 
and pictures of Newport alone is fextensive and 
interesting. She was born in the brick house now 
occupied by her mother and lives in the house which 
was the first parsonage in Newport. Frederick 
William and Katie E. (Herrick) Aiken have three 
children: Charles Francis, born February 13, 1892; 
William Frederick. August 22, 1893; Arene INlay, 
November 25, 1902. 

The various religious wanderers or 
PALMER solitary recluses, though belonging to 

a system long faded from the modern 
Engli>h life, find a perpetual epitaph in the direc- 
tories of to-day. The name Palmer relates dis- 
tinctly the manner in which the first of its owners 
derived his title to it, for forlorn and weary he 
had battled against all difficulties, and trod the path 
that led to the Holy Sepulcher— "The faded palm 
branch in his hand showed Pilgrim from the Holy 
Land." 

(I) Walter Palmer, tradition says, was born ui 
some town or village in Nottinghamshire, England, 
and died in Stonington, Connecticut, November 19, 
lOOi. The first authentic record nt him is found 
in Charlestown, INIassachusetts, ISIay 14, 1634. Abra- 
ham and Walter Palmer, both citizens of Charles- 
town, were made freemen by the great and general 
court of Massachusetts Bay. In the "Book of 
Possessions," compiled in 1638, "The Possessions of 
Walter Palmer within Charlestown are given as two 
acres of land in the East Field putting south on 
the Back street," with a dwelling house and "other 
appurtinances, five acres of arable land, milch cow 
commons six and a quarter, four acres, more or less, 
in the line field, eight acres of meadow lying in the 
Mystic Marshes, four acres of meadow lying in the 
Mystic jMeadows, five acres of woodland in Mystic 
field, five acres of meadow on the west of Mount 
Prospect, three acres of meadow on the northeast 
of Mount Prospect, thirty acres of woodland, eighty- 
six acres of land scituate in the waterfield." In 
the first division of lands on the Mystic side, Walter 
Palmer and his son John received their proportion 
about 1643. On the 24th day of the eighth month 
the men who had agreed to found a new town met 
in Weymouth to prepare for the settlement of a 
place which was to be at Seacunke. Walter Palmer 
and William Cheseborough, who were thereafter 
closely associated, were of these. In 1645 this 
settlement was assigned to jurisdiction of Plymouth 
Colony, and Walter Palmer was its representative 
in the general court. The name Seacunke was 
changed to Rehoboth. At this time Walter gave 
the value of his estate as four hundred and nine- 
teen pounds. In 1653 Cheseborough and Palmer 
removed to the newly selected place of Wequeto- 
quoc. afterward called Southerton and now Ston- 
ington, Connecticut. Here Palmer became the 
owner of about twelve hundred acres of land, part 
of which lay on the eastern slope of Togwonk.. 
crossing Auguilla brook. Walter Palmer made his 
will Mav 19, 1658 (o. s.), which was approved by 
the genernl court May II. 1662. He married (first ), in 
iii — 22 



England. .-Xiin 



wlio is said to have been called 



Elizabeth, to distinguish her from her mother. He 
married (second), probably in Roxbury, Massachu- 
setts, Rebecca Short. She had been admitted a 
member of Rev. John Eliot's First Church. She 
and her husband and his daughter, Grace Palmer, 
together joined the First Church of Charlestown, in 
1632. The children by the first wife were : Grace, 
John, William, Jonas and Elizabeth. By the sec- 
ond: Hannah, Elihu, Nchemiah, Moses, Benjamin, 
Gershom and Rebecca. 

(II) Jonas, fourth child and third son of Wal- 
ter and Elizabeth (or Ann) Palmer, whose date 
of birth is unknown, died in Rehoboth, June 22, 
1709. By the terms of his father's will he in- 
herited one-hall of the farm in Rehoboth. then in 
Plymouth county, now in Bristol county. Massachu- 
setts. He married (first), in Rehoboth, May 3, 
1655. Elizab^ih, daughter of Francis Grissell (Gri>- 
wold), of Charlestown, formerly of Cambridge, 
Massachusetts. She was buried in Rehoboth. 
February II, 1692, and he married (second), No- 
vember 9. 1692, Abigail (Carpenter) Titus, widow 
of John Titus. She died in Rehoboth, March 5, 
1709. The children by the first wife were: Hannah, 
Samuel, Jonas, Mary, Elizabeth, !\Iartha and 
Grace. 

(III) Samuel (i). eldest son and st'Cond child 
of Jonas and Elizabeth (Grizzell) Palmer, was born 
in Rehoboth. November 20, 1659. and died in Wind- 
ham, November 18, 1743, aged eighty-four year>. 
He served under J\Iajor William Bradford in the 
Narragansett Swamp fight, in 1676. In 1701, with 
John Ormsby. Daniel and Nathaniel Fuller, all of 
Rehoboth, he bought land in that part of Windham, 
Connecticut, called "Scotland." ^larch 17. 1702, he 
sold his house, barn and orchards, home lot, all of 
forty-three acres, together with six and one-half 
acres of his west pasture, sixteen acres at Watcha- 
moeket Neck, two and a half acres of salt marsli. 
and one acre of swamp land. His will, dated July 
II. 1728 (0. s). is on record in Willihiantic. He 
married in Rehoboth, December 29. 1680, Elizabeth 
Kinsley, who was born in Rehoboth. January 29. 
1662, daughter of Eldad and Mehitable (French) 
Kinsley; she died in Windham, May 16, 1717: lie; 
married (second), December 6, 1727, Ann Durgy. 
w-ho died February 17, 1761, aged eighty years. 
Samuel and Elizabeth had twelve children named 
as follows: John (died j'oung). Samuel, John 
(died young). jNIehitable. Nehemiah. Benoni, Mary. 
Seth. Elizabeth. Ebenezer. JNIercy and Eleazer. 

(IV) Samuel (2). second son and child of 
Samuel (i) and Elizabeth (Kinsley) Palmer, was 
born in Rehoboth, Bristol county, Massachusetts. 
January 4, 1683. December 7, 1741. Samuel Palmer. 
Jr.. with his son. Samuel Palmer (3rd), sold eighty 
acres of land in Windham. December 17, 1745, 
Samuel Palmer sold for one hundred and tw-eiuy 
pounds one-half of his lot of land in Windham, to- 
gether with his dwelling house, to his son, Aaron 
Palmer. January g, 1743, Samuel Palmer. Jr., 
sold to his father for two hundred pounds the 
south half of the land he bought of Daniel Stougli- 
ton. April 7, 174S, he sold for one thousand five 
hundred and fifty pounds one hundred and fen 
acres of land in Windham and Canterbury. Samuel 
Palmer married, in Windham, April 8, 1707, Hepse- 
heth Abbe, who was born in Salem village, now 
Danvers, Massachusetts, February 14, 1689, daughter 



1154 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



of Samuel and Hannah (Silsby) Abbe. They had 
eleven children : Sarah, Iklartha, Samuel, Ebeiiezer, 
Ichabod, Zebulon, John, Aaron, JNIoses, Elizabeth 
and Ann. 

(V) Samuel (3), third child and oldest son 
of Samuel (2) 'and Hcpsebeth (Abbe) Palmer, was 
born in Windham township, September 18, 1711. 
On December 7, 1741, he, with his father, sold 
eighty acres of land in tlie township to Philemon 
Wood, of Ipswich, Massachusetts. Together with 
his father, his uncle Seth Palmer, and their many 
relations who had lived in that part of the town- 
ship which had been incorporated as the South or 
Third Parish of Windham, he embarked m what- 
ever projects were advanced for social, political and 
financial prosperity. When the great colonization 
scheme was started in the state he seems to have 
been among the foremost in embracing it. Novem- 
ber 23, 1837, the general assembly of New Haven 
ordered the sale of the townships bordering on the 
Housatonic river, in the western part of Connecti- 
cut. In that portion of this territory lying along 
the banks of the "great river in Kent," where the 
country was fertile and beautiful, Ebenezer Palmer, 
on November 9, 1750, bought for one hundred and 
twenty-two pounds ten shillings, lot thirty-nme, in 
tlie first Division of the Remarque Reserve, which 
was the beginning of the family migration. !March 
27, 1754, Samuel Palmer, of ilansfield (another 
strip set off from old Windham township), bought 
from his brother, Ebenezer, one hundred acres of 
land in Kent. February 4, 1754, Ichabod Palmer, 
of Kent, sold to Samuel, of Windham. By 1756 
he was settled in Kent, and on January 21, 1761, 
Samuel Palmer, of Kent, bought land of various 
persons and sold all to Francis Tracy, of Preston. 
A great deal of his land lay along mountain slopes, 
and was rich in soil, bearing much timber, and 
containing various quarries, later opened. Here he 
spent his last years. Samuel Palmer married, in 
Windham, January 13, 1739, Lydia Silsby, who was 
born in Windham, April 11, 1716. and died in iNIans- 
tield, in 1753, aged thirty-seven. She was the 
daughter of Jonathan and Lydia Allen Silsby. He 

married second, probably in Warren, Tabitha . 

The children, all by the first wife, were : Elijah, 
Nathaniel, Ezekiel, Lydia, Elnathan and Stephen. 

(VI) Elnathan, fifth. child and fourth son of 
Samuel (3) and Lydia (Silsby) Palmer, was born 
in .Mansfield, Windham county, Connecticut, August 
20, 1750, and died August i, 1823. aged seventy- 
three. In 1772 he bought a tract of land in Plain- 
field, Connecticut. January 13, 17S9, he bought for 
three hundred pounds the tract of land where his 
father, Samuel Palmer, then lived in Warren. El- 
nathan then lived in Orford, Grafton county, New 
Hampshire. On the same date Elnathan, for twenty 
poimds paid by his father, gave a deed of the house 
where the latter then lived, tigether witli one-half 
the orchard and of a sixty-acre lot in Warren, and 
bound himself to leave his father in quiet pos- 
session thereof during his natural life, and that of 
his then wife Tabitha, if she survive him, and as 
long as she remained a widow. April 2, 1793, El- 
nathan Palmer, of Warren. Connecticut, sold lots 
4, 24 and 25 of land, reserving two acres for his 
daughter Lucy. He was one of the proprietors of 
the town of Richmond, New Hamp.shire. when the 
general court gave them as an equivalent the town 
of Turner, JNIaine, but lie does not seem ever to 



have been a resident of either place. April 7, 1803, 
Elnathan Palmer, of Warren, gave a deed of one- 
half of his farm to his sons, Jesse and Samuel, 
"for their settlement in life." He is said to have 
removed to Ohio. He married, while in New Hamp- 
shire, Jemima Strong, of Lyme, New Hampshire, 
who died June 28, 1815. Their children were: 
Jesse, Samuel, jNIadison and Lucy. 

(VII) Samuel (4), second son and child of El- 
nathan and Jemima (.Strong) Palmer, was born in 
Deering, February 13, 1799, and died in Grafton, 
jMassachusetts. He earned on farming and stock 
raising in Deering nearly all his life. A few years 
before his death he removed to Grafton, Massachu- 
setts. He married, in Deering, New Hampshire, 
Rhoda Chase, who was born in Loudon, April 13, 
1805. died in Worcester, Massachusetts, March, 
1900, aged ninety-live years. Their children were : 
Isaac D., Alfred, Alvida, Levi, William, Elizabeth, 
Callista, Louisa M., Amentha C., and iNIinerva C. 

(VIII) Levi, fourth child and third son af 
Samuel (4) and Rhoda (Chase) Palmqr, was born 
in Deering. March 5, 1830. He obtained his edu- 
cation in the common schools, and remained on the 
farm until he went to Grafton, 2^Iassachusetts, where 
he entered the mills. After three ye^rs he began 
shoemaking, which he followed about fifteen years. 
He then removed to Manchester, and engaged in the 
plumbing business in 186S, in which he continued 
until 1897, when he sold out and retired to a farm 
at Dunbarton. where he still resides. In politics 
he is a Democrat. He married (first), at Grafton, 
b ranees Hildreth, who died in JManchester, in 1884. 
He married (second) Mary Hoyt. By his first 
wife he had nine children : Edward, deceased ; 
George, deceased; Frederick, deceased; Jennie; 
Charles Edward, deceased; Florence; Walter L. ; 
Frank; and Eva, deceased. These living all reside 
in Manchester. 

(IX) Walter L., seventh child and fifth son 
of Levi and Frances (Hildreth) Palmer, was born 
in Manchester, July 19, 186S. He was educated 
in the common schools of that city, and at the 
age of twenty-two took the position of clerk in the 
Windsor Hotel, which he filled for two years. The 
following year he was clerk in Clarke's Hotel in 
Boston, which he left to take a similar position in 
the Manchester House, Manchester, four years. In 
1S87 he went to Concord, and for six years was 
clerk at the Eagle Hotel, from which he returned 
to iNlanchester, and look his old place at the JMan- 
chester House. He is a Republican in politics. He 
is a member of the Eureka Lodge, No. 70, Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Concord, and also of 
Agavvam Tribe, No. 8, Improved Order of Red 
I\Ien, of Manchester. He married, in Manchester, 
111 1895. Katherme Alice Gafiigan, born in Shelburne 
Falls, Massachusetts, December 26, 1872, and they 
have one child, Francis, born February 8, 1896, in 
Manchester, 



This name is in all probability of Eng- 
APPLIN lish origin, and it has been asserted 

that it was formerly identical with 
that of Appleton, but this belief seems to have been 
erroneous. The family has been identified with 
Swanzey for nearly one hundred and fifty years, 
and is therefore one of the oldest in that town. Its 
representatives have been chiefl}' farmers and me- 
chanics, and at least one of them sacrificed his life 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1155 



in tiic defense of the nnion (hiring the civil war. 

( I ) The first ancestor in America of whom there 
is any authentic record was John Apphn, but 
whether he was an immigrant or not has never 
been ascertained. He was residing in Watertown, 
JNIassachusetts, in 1671, in which year he married 
Bethusa Bartlett, born April 17, 1647, daughter of 
Ensign Thomas and Hannah Bartlett, the former 
of whom was an original proprietor. He was a 
schoolmaster, and therefore a man of prominence. 
An entry in the records of Groton, Massachusetts, 
made in April, 1703, states that John Applin was 
requested by the town to "keep a school" there, 
but there is no further mention of him in these 
records. It is known, however, that he \yent to 
reside in Littleton, jNlassachusetts, and an item in 
the Watertown records states that John Applin, an 
-aged man, arrived there from Littleton in 1725, 
showing that he was living in that year. His wife 
died October 8, 1692. Their children were: John, 
died at the age of eighteen years ; Bethusa, Mary, 
Hannah. Thomas and Edward (twins), Abial, 
Martha, Mehitabel, and another John. 

(H) John (2). youngest child of John (i) and 
Bethusa tBartlett) Applin, was born (probably) 
in Watertown, May 3, 1692. He was a blacksmith, 
and in 1727 went from Watertown to Palmer, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he followed his trade for many 
years. He was married in Watertown, and the 
Christian name of his wife was Rebecca. His chil- 
dren were : Thomas, Edward, John, Ebenezer, 
Sarah and Rebecca. In January, 1738, three of his 
sons — Edward, John and Ebenezer — died during an 
epidemic of throat distemper (probably diphtheria) 
which prevailed in Palmer that winter, and the 
fatalities were many. 

(.Ill) Thomas, eldest child and only surviving 
son of John (2) and Rebecca Applin, w^as born in 
Watertown, and went with his parents to Palmer. 
In 1764 he removed to the then newly settled town 
■of Swanzey, New Hampshire, accompanied by his 
family and his youngest sister Rebecca, and he 
resided there for the remainder of his life, which 
terminated June 24, 1804. He was a leading spirit 
in organizing the town of Swanzey, and also in 
establishing the first church there, to which he was 
admitted by letter from the Presbyterian Church 
in Palmer. He was one of the most able, ener- 
getic and useful among the original settlers. No- 
vember 19, 1752, he married Mabel Brown, who 
was born in 1733 (died March 2, 1799), and had a 
family of five children : John. Anna, Sarah, 
Thomas and Timothy. 

(IV) John (3), eldest child of Thomas and 
Mabel (Brown) Applin, was born in Palmer, No- 
vember 27, 1753. He was married February 8, 
1776, to Mary Sabin, born in 1754, died February 
29, 1812, daughter of Thomas Sabin, of Uxbridge, 
Massachusetts. Their children were : Thomas, 
John. Ephraim, Israel. Mary and Lucy. 

(V) Israel, fourth child and youngest son of 
John (3) and Marv (Sabin) Applin, was born in 
Swanzey, July 31, 1787. His marriage took place 
January 24, 1816. to Lucy Fessendon, who was 
T)orn June 26, 1795, daughter of Nathan Fessendon. 
He died November i, 1861, surviving his wife, 
whose death occurred March 21, 1841. She bore 
liim nine children, namely: Sumner. Celinda (died 
young), Benjamin. Henry Sabin. Lucy Ann, Sarah 
Celinda, John, Mary Sabin and Nancy Maria. 



(VI) Henry Sabin, third son and fourth child 
of Israel and Lucy (Fessendon) Applin, was born 
in Swanzey, October 27, 1821. In early life he be- 
came connected with the pail manufacturing in- 
dustry in Swanzey, and for a number of years was 
in the employ of G. G. Willis. In 1S61 he enlisted 
as a private in Company E, Sixth Regiment New 
Hampshire Volunteer Infantry, with which he 
served in the civil war with credit for three years, 
and he lost his life at Fredericksburg, Virginia, 
.\ugust I, 1864. On Fel)ruary 15, 1847, he married 
Louisa Alzina Corey, born in Fitzwilliam, New 
Hampshire, daughter of Abraham Corey, of Marl- 
borough, this state. She died in Swanzey, leaving 
but two sons: Charles tienry and Eugene, the lat- 
ter born July 8, 1851. 

(VTI) Charles Henry, eldest son of Henry S. 
and Louisa A. (Corey) Applin, was born in East 
Swanzey, July 18, 1849. After the conclusion of 
his studies in the public schools he learned pail- 
making, and has ever since been identified with 
that industry, which is an important one in Swanzey. 
He is now in the employ of Wilder P. Clark, and 
is, one of the most able and reliable workmen in 
that locality. He served with ability as constable, 
and also as foreman of the fire department. Po- 
litically he is a Republican. His fraternal affilia- 
tions are with the Masonic order. On December 
22, 1871, Mr. Applin married Lucy Ann Woodward, 
who was born in Swanzey, July 28, 1853, daughter 
of David and Lucretia (Alexander) Woodward. Mr. 
and JNIrs. Applin have two children : Charles Leon, 
born November 14, 1877; and Leila May, born De- 
cember iS, 1881. 



Among the early names of New 
ALURICH England this has contributed no lit- 
tle to worthy annals in that section, 
as well as throughout the Union. In divinity, in 
law, and in all reputable walks of life, it has borne 
honorable part, and its representatives are still tak- 
ing share in the promotion of progress and the moral 
and material welfare of the nation. 

(I) George Aldrich, the founder of the family 
in this country, arrived in 1631, and resided first at 
Dorchester, ]\lassachusetts, whence he removed to 
Braintree, in the same colony. He was among the 
pioneer settlers of Mendon, Massachusetts, in 1663, 
and passed the remainder of his life there. His 
wife's name was Catherine. The following speech 
from his own lips was amply verified in his ex- 
perience : "God brought me to America from Der- 
l)yshire, England, November 6, in the year 1631." 

(II) Jacob, son of George and Catherine Aid- 
rich, was born February 28, 1652, in Braintree, 
Massachusetts, and was a farmer in IMendon, same 
colony, where he died December 22, 1695. He was 
married, November 3. 1675, to Huldah, daughter of 
Ferdinando and Huldah (Hayward) Thayer, of 
Braintree and jNIendon. (Mention of their son 
David and descendants appears in this article.) 

(HI) Moses, son of Jacob and Huldah 
(Thayer) Aldrich, was a celebrated preacher of the 
I'^riends' denomination. He was born April, 1690, 
in Mendon, and united with the Friends about the 
time of his majority. Some four or five years later 
he entered the work of the ministry, "in which he 
was well approved." For many years he resided 
in Smithfield, Rhode Island, where he was a 



1^6 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



preacher to the Friends. In 172J he visited Bar- 
badoes and in 1730 most of the colonies of the 
continent, going as far south as the Carolinas. He 
again visited Barbadoes in 1734 and in 1739 crossed 
the Atlantic and spent nearly two years in Great 
Britain and Ireland. He was "A man of cheerful 
mind, pleasant in conversation, of exemplary life, 
and endowed with sound understanding as a man." 
When upon his deathbed he said to his children : 
"Mourn not for me, but mourn for yourselves ; it 
is well with me, and as well to depart now as to 
live longer." He retained his senses to the end, 
and died September 9, 1761, and was interred in the 
Friends' burying ground at Mendon. His wife 
was Anna (White) Aldrich. 

(IV) Caleb, son of Rev. Moses and Anna 
(White) Aldrich, was born January 13, 1725, and 
died November 8, 1809, in Smithfield, Rhode Island, 
where he was a very prominent citizen. Fie was a 
ber of the town council from 1769 to 1777, and 
its president from 1780 to 1784. He was justice 
of the common pleas from 1784 to 1787, and repre- 
sentative in the general assembly in 1763, 1769-70- 
71, and 1777-7S-79. He was married, January 1, 
1747, to Mary Arnold, who was born 1732 and died 
1816. Five of their sons married sisters, named 
Arnold. Their children were : Susannah, Thomas, 
William, Hannah, Naaman, Joel, Augustus, Mary, 
Caleb, Moses, Lydia and Arnold. 

(V) Naaman, third son and fifth child of Caleb 
and Mary (Arnold) Aldrich, was born May 6, 1756, 
and passed his life in Smithfield, where he died 
October 19, 1824. He was a large farmer, and had 
large real estate holdings in Mendon, which led 
to the settlement of some of his sons there. He 
was married, June 6, 1776, to Mary Arnold, daugh- 
ter of Stephen and Rachel (Arnold) Arnold. She 
was born August 4, 1757, in Smithfield, and died 
February 25, 1S26. Her children were : Mark, 
Luke, Lucy, John, Peleg, Alpha, Dan, Lewis, Marie 
Antoinette, and two sons and a daughter who died 
in infancy. 

(VI) John, third son and fourth child of Naa- 
man and Alary (Arnold) Aldrich, was born June 
20, 1785, in Smithfield, Rhode Island, and become 
a farmer in Mendon, Massachusetts, whence he 
removed to Boscawen, this state, in 1830. He pur- 
chased a farm on High street, near the Salisbury 
line, and continued to reside there until 1850, when 
he moved to Concord. There he remained until 
his death, which occurred March 19, 1865, at the 
home of his daughter in Concord. He was married, 
January 18, l8io, in Smithfield, to Harriet, daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Elizabeth (Doten) Smith, of 
that town. She was born there February 21, 1795, 
and survived her husband seven years, passing away 
May 13, 1872, at the home of her daughter in Con- 
cord. They had two children, Armenia Smith and 
John. The former is the widow of Nathaniel White, 
residing in Concord (see White, VIII), and the 
latter resides in Vineland, New Jersey. Coffin's 
History of Boscawen says : "Through life Mr. and 
Mrs. Aldrich manifested the frank, honest, sincere 
traits of character which are inculcated by the 
Friends. They were progressive in their religious 
views, earnest in their efforts to do good, ever ready 
to help the poor, guided by a simple faith and trust 
which ever led them to a higher spiritual life. They 
were industrious and frugal, simple in all their 
tastes, and patterns of neatness. Tluy lived quietly 



and unostentatiously, beloved and respected by their 
friends and neighbors." 

(III) David, son of Jacob and Huldah (Thayer) 
Aldrich, was born in Mendon, May 23, 1685, and. 
died March 15, 1771. He married, in 1710, Hannah 
Capron, of Attleboro, Massachusetts. They had ten 
children. 

(IV) Edward, son of David and Hannah 
(Capron) Aldrich, was born in Mendon, Septem- 
ber 7, 1713, and died March, iSoo. He married 
(first), July 17, 1732, Dinah .\ldrich, his cousin; 
and (second), about 1761, widow Ann Chamberlain. 
There were nine children by the first wife, and 
five by the second. 

(V) John, son of Edward and Ann (Chamber- 
lain) Aldrich, was born in Mendon, Massachusetts, 
1765, and died in New Hampshire, 1841, aged seven- 
ty-si.x years. .A.t the age of fifteen he went from 
Douglass, Massachusetts, to Lisbon, New Hamp- 
shire. He drove a pair of o.xcn hitched to a sled, 
and found his way by means of spotted trees. His 
brother Rufus had preceded him a year and the 
previous summer had felled two acres of the forest, 
and in this clearing had built a log cabin. John 
removed to Franconia, where he was one of the 
pioneer settlers. He married Sally Taylor, who was 
born in Worcester, Massachusetts, in 1761, and died 
in Franconia. They had si.x children; Isra, John, 
Bets}', Caleb, Sally and Edward. 

(VI) John (2), son of John and Sally (Taylor) 
Aldrich, was born in Franconia, March 23, 1797, 
died in Laconia, December, 1859. He married Han- 
nah Cole. 

(VII) John (3), son of John (2) and Hannah 
(Cole) Aldrich, was born in Franconia, June i, 
1824. His education was acquired in ten weeks' 
attendance in the common schools of his native 
town. The remainder of his life from the time he 
became old enough to work until he was twenty 
years of age was spent in assisting his father on 
the farm. In 1844 he removed to Lakeport and was 
in the employ of the Cole Foundry and Machine 
Company, and for ten years he filled the position 
of clerk for this company. In 1853 he became sta- 
tion agent for the Boston, Concord & Alontreal 
Railroad Company. He was a clerk and also oper- 
ated the first telegraph on the road in 1856. About 
1857 he formed a partnership with P. J. Cole under 
the firm name of P. J. Cole & Company, which 
continued until 1864. In 1862 Mr. Aldrich 
enlisted in the United States service, and was made 
captain of Company A of the Fifteenth Regiment, 
New Hampshire Volunteers, and was later promoted 
to major. He served until August, 1865, taking 
part in the siege of Port Hudson, where he was 
under fire forty-seven days and nights. During 
this time he was wounded in the hip by a shell, but 
continued to perform his duties. On his return 
home he engaged in the grocery business for six 
years, and then became one of the founders of the 
Wardwell Needle Company, of Lakeport, New 
Hampshire. In 1890 he sold his interest in this con- 
cern and became treasurer and subsequently presi- 
dent of the Lake Village Savings Bank, filling those 
positions until 1902, when he retired from business. 
Major Aldrich was a business man for fifty-^even 
years. Wherever he has been he has taken an 
active part in the business afTairs of the towns in 
which he has resided. His judgment and execu- 
tive ability have been good, and in his later year- 




-^^^ 





a^ 



^<^^-o>^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1 1 57 



iie has enjoyed a liberal share of this world's goods. 
In politics he has been a Republican, and was a 
member of the legislature in 1855 and 1856 from 
Gilford. He was also selectman of the same town 
in 1865-66-67 and 1883. He has been a member of 
the Order of Ancient Free and Accepted Masons 
for over fifty years, and is the oldest past master 
of Mount Lebanon Lodge. He is also a Royal Arch 
;\lason. He has been an Odd Fellow since 1869, 
and 1^ a member of Choconia Lodge, No. 61. He 
has been an attendant since early life of the Free 
Will Baptist Church. He married, April 12, 1846, 
JNlary E. Cole, who was born in Franklin, August 
5. 1826, daughter of John A. and Mary (Ryan) Cole, 
early settlers of Plymouth. She died .March 23, 
1907 ; no family. 

This family of Aldrich is descended, 
ALDRICH like the others mentioned in this 

work, from George Aldrich, the 
immigrant, who landed on American soil in 1631. 
It has contributed notably to the credit of New 
Hampshire, both at home and abroad. 

(I) Silas Aldrich was born about 1743, and 
resided in Vermont, where he died November 28, 
iSii. He performed military service in 1759, in the 
time of the French and Indian war. He married 
Alice Collins, who died in 1823, aged seventy-three 
years. 

(II) Ephraim Collins, son of Silas and Alice 
(Collins) Aldi-ich, was born probably in Bradford, 
Vermont, and died in Pittsburg, New Hampshire, 
Oct.iher 15. 1859, aged sixty-five years. He settled 
in what was then the Indian Stream Territory, now 
Pittsburg, New Hampshire. He married Sarah 
Hilliard, whose death preceded his several years. 
They had six children : Jeremiah B. H. Aldrich, 
Soplironia, Ephraim C. Aldrich, Jr., Diana, Lucy and 
Sarah H. 

(III) Ephraim Collins (2), son of Ephraim 
Collins (l) and Sarah (Hilliard) Aldrich, was born 
in Bradford, Vermont, February 4, 1818, and died 
in Pittsburg, February 25, 1880. He accompanied 
his father on his removal to Pittsburg, and speiit 
the principal part of his life there. He became a 
prominent and influential citizen, and was conspicu- 
ous for many years in the affairs of the town, was 
a de])Uty provost marshal, and largely instrumental 
in raising men and money for the Union service in 
the, war of the rebellion. He organized and was 
manager of the Upper Coos River & Lake Improve- 
ment Company. 

He married, in 1S40, .'\daline Bedel Haynes, who 
was born in Pittsburg. New Hampshire, daughter 
of Clark J. and Adaline Bedel Haynes, of Pitts- 
burg, and granddaughter of General i\loody Bedel, 
a soldier of the revolution and of the war of 1812 
(see Bedel, II); was one of the early settlers of 
the Indian Stream Country. She is still living at 
the age of eighty-six, and resides at Pittsburg. Six 
children were born of this union : Frank, Isabel, 
who died in infancy, Fred, Edgar, Almon and Isa- 
bel. Frank, who was a prominent and successful 
business man and a member of the firm of Eustis 
& Aldrich, wholesale dealers in starch, Boston, Mas- 
sachusetts, died in Cambridge, Massachusetts, about 
four years ago. Fred died December 24, 1877. and 
Almon died May 8, 1862. Edgar is the subject of 
the next paragraph, and Isabel, who married Justus 
AV. Baldwin, of Pittsburg, are the onlv survivors. 



Mr. and Mrs. Baldwin have three children: Ida A.. 
who married the Rev. George W. Farmer, a 
Methodist minister, now located at Portsmouth; 
Frank W., a prominent merchant and business man 
operating in Northern New Hampshire and Canada; 
and Lucy, now a promising school girl of thirteen 
years. 

(I\') Judge Edgar Aldrich, fourth child and 
third son of Ephraim C. (2) and .'\daline (Bedel) 
Aldrich, was born in Pittsburg, February 5, 1848. 
He attended the common schools until he was four- 
teen years of age, and then entered upon a course 
of study at the academy at Colebrook, which he 
continued for about two years. Subsequently he 
began the study of law in the office of Ira A. Ram- 
say, of Colebrook, where he read one year. In 1S67 
he entered the law department of the University 
of Michigan, at Ann Arbor, from which he was 
graduated with. the degree of LL. B., in 1868. 

On his return to Colebrook he was admitted to 
the bar in August, 1868, and though not twenty- 
one at the time he attained his majority before the 
next sitting of the court. He opened an ofhce in 
Colebrook and began practice, continuing alone un- 
til Januarv i, 1882, when he accepted as a partner 
William H. Shurtleff, the firm of Aldrich & Shurt- 
leff continuing four years. Subsequently he was 
for three years a partner with James I. Parsons. 
He was then alone in practice until he removed to 
Littleton, January i, 1S81. He then became the 
partner of George A. Bingham, and in May of the 
following year Daniel C. Remick became a membef 
of the firm, which was continued under the style 
of Bingham, Aldrich & Remick, until the latter 
part of 1884, when Judge Bingham was appointed 
a second time to the supreme bench of New Hamp- 
shire. The two remaining partners, under the firm 
name of Aldrich & Remick, practiced together until 
January, 1889. Aiter that tune Mr. Aldrich was 
alone until his appointment as judge of the United 
States district court. Mr. Aldrich's ability as a 
lawyer recommended him to Governor Straw, who 
in 1872 appointed him solicitor for Coos county. 
He served in this oftice two years, and in 1876 was 
again appointed by Governor Cheney, and filled 
the office until June, 1S79. His conduct of the office 
was in every respect creditable and satisfactory. In 
1884 he was elected to the legislature, and was 
made the nominee of the Republican caucus for 
speaker of the house, and elected to that position. 
The election of a man without previous legislative 
experience to the office of speaker of the house is 
unusual, as a successful performance of the duties 
of that office usually require experience as well as 
natural fitness, but Mr. Aldrich acquitted himself 
in such manner as to justify fully the confidence of 
his friends in his capabilities and to reflect credit 
upon himself. Mr. .4ldrich's relish of the activity 
and excitement of legal trials has always been keen, 
and during the first twenty years of his life he 
found little in office work to entertain him, and he 
devoted his energies almost exclusively to the trial 
of causes. His success gave him a wide reputation 
and a correspondingly large practice, not only in 
Coos and Grafton counties, but throughout the 
state. "One of the most important and interesting 
causes in which he was engaged, and one in which 
he greatly added to his reputation for ability and 
research, was that of the Connecticut River Lumber 
Company versus Olcott Falls Company, in which 



II58 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



he was associated with Hon. Irving W. Drew, of 
Lancaster, as counsel for the plaintiff, the de- 
fendant's counsel being the late Hon. William S. 
Ladd, of Lancaster, and Hon. Jeremiah Smith, of 
Dover. This was a bill in equity to regulate the 
respective water-rights of the plaintiff corporation, 
using the Connecticut river for navigation pur- 
poses in floating its logs, and of the defendant mill 
owners at Olcott Falls. The right of trial by jury 
was claimed by defendant's counsel, under Article 
20 of the Bill of Rights, which guarantees the right 
of trial by jury in all controversies concerning prop- 
erty, "except in cases in which it has been hfereto- 
fore otherwise used and practiced.' The question 
involved in this contention was one of constantly 
recurring interest, and one which had long been 
the subject of much attention and research, with 
no definite result. Mr. Aldrich devoted his entire 
energies to the work in hand, his able and exhaus- 
tive oral argument in reply to Judge Smith, at the 
December law term 1S89, was regarded by the court 
as so worthy an effort as to warrant its publication 
in full in volume 65, New Hampshire Reports. He 
secured a favorable .determination of the question, 
the court holding that no such right as the defend- 
ant claimed, existed." 

February 21, 1891, Mr. Aldrich was commissioned 
judge of the L^nited States district court for New 
Hampshire, which office he still holds. For some time 
previous to his appointment this office had been con- 
.sidered practically a sinecure, as the work in the dis- 
trict was light, and the judge was called upon to do 
but little work in the other three states which, with 
New Hampshire, constitute the First Judicial Cir- 
cuit. But about the time of the appointment of 
Mr. Aldrich, the act of congress, approved March 
3, 1891, went into effect. This act created the 
circuit court of anneals, for the relief of the su- 
preme court, to which questions of law are taken 
from the various district and circuit courts, and it 
provides that the court shall consist of the associate 
justice of the supreme court assigned to the cir- 
cuit, the circuit judges in attendance (an additional 
judge having been provided in each circuit), and 
the district judges within the circuit, presiding in 
the order of rank and seniority of their commis- 
sions. This act largely increased the labors of all 
the Federal judges, so that ever since his appoint- 
ment. Judge Aldrich has been busy with the duties 
of his position, as his services have been frequently 
rendered in the Massachusetts courts. It is now 
(1907) sixteen years since Judge Aldrich assumed 
his place on the Federal bench, and in that time 
by his courteous demeanor, thorough and discrimi- 
nating knowledge of law, rigid adherence to the 
principles of justice and conscientious discharge of 
his duties he has made for himself a very flattering 
reputation, not only wath the bench and bar, but 
ainong the people as well. 

The duties of lawyer and judge have not en- 
grossed all his time, and many valuable contribu- 
tions to literature have emanated from his pen. As 
a public speaker he is widely and favorably known 
and he has delivered several notable addresses 
upon special and anniversarj- occasions. Among his 
literary contributions are a lecture on the life and 
services of General Lafayette in America; an ad- 
dress before the Grand Army, May 30, 1S81 ; an 
address before the Grafton and Coos Bar .-Kssocia- 
tion, in 1886, upon the question "Shall the Law and 



Trial Courts be Separated?''; an address before the 
court at the September term, 1890, upon the death, 
of Judge Frederick Chase; a eulogy of General 
Gilman Marston before the Grafton and Coos Bar 
Association in 1891; an address before the same in 
1894 upon "Our Jury System"; an address before 
the Southern Bar Association in 1893 upon the "De- 
lays incident to the Removal of Causes from the 
State to the Federal Courts"; an address before the 
New Hampshire Historical Society in 1894 upon 
"Our Nortliern Boundary"; an address before the 
New Hampshire Historical Society on "The Affair 
of the Cedars and the Services of Colonel Timothy 
Bedel in the Revolution" ; a biographical review of 
the life and services of Chief Justice Alonzo P. 
Carpenter, before the Southern Bar Association, 
1899, and later an oration upon the "Life and 
Character of the Hon. Harry Bingham." Judge 
Aldrich was a member of the New Hampshire con- 
stitutional convention of 1902, and among the 
speeches which he delivered before that body was 
one on Trusts, which attracted widespread atten- 
tion. Official duties require Judge Aldrich to spend 
much of his time in Boston, but he continues to 
reside in Littleton, where he has a fine residence 
which commands a wide view of the White Aloun- 
tains and the romantic valley of the Ammonoosuc. 

Judge Aldrich has not deviated much from 
strictly legal and judicial work. In early life he was 
captain of a militia company in the Third New 
Hampshire Regiment, and in later life his recre- 
ation has been chiefly upon the lakes and mountain 
streams. He has an attractive and comfortable 
camp at the Connecticut Lakes in his native town, 
where he spends a considerable portion of each 
summer. 

Since his appointment to the courts he has acted 
as referee in important litigation, like the case of 
the State of New Hampshire vs. the Manchester 
and Lawrence Railroad, Dartmouth College vs. The 
International Paper Company, and, more recently, 
as master in the Mary Baker G. Eddy litigation, 
which has considerably attracted public attention. 

Edgar Aldrich was married October 7, 1872, to 
Louise Matilda Remick, who was born in Hard- 
wick, Vermont, January i. 1845. daughter of Samuel 
K. and Sophia (Cushman) Remick, of Colebrook, 
(see Remich, VIII). They have two children: 
Florence May, who was born at Colebrook. July 

I, 1874, and educated in the public schools, at Til- 
den Seminary, West Lebanon, St. Mary's School, 
Concord, and Abbott Academy, Andover, ^lassa- 
chusetts ; and Ephraim Fred, born at Colebrook, 
June 9, 1878, wdio w-as educated in the public schools 
at Littleton, the Carleton School, Phillips Andover 
Academy, Dartmouth College and the Boston Uni- 
versity School of Law. He w'as admitted to the 
bar in Boston in 1902 and is now a practicing 
lawyer in that city. Miss Aldrich was married in 
Littleton, September 17, 1904, to Howard .Summers 
Kniffin, of New York City, and their home is now 
at Lawrence, Long Island. 

(I) Lewis Clarence Aldrich married, September 

II, 1826, in Whitefield, New Hampshire, Lucinda 
A. Quimby, of that town, and resided in Carroll, 
New Hampshire. 

(II) William Frank, son of Lewis C. and Lu- 
cinda (Quimby) .-Mdrich, w'as born in Carroll about 
the year 1856. In his younger days he followed 
various occupations, including those of a painter; 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1159 



photograplicr and barber. He has for the greater 
part of his active life been engaged in the carriage 
business at Whitefield, this state. As a Democrat 
he is more or less active in local politics, but has 
no aspirations for public office. His fraternal atfilia- 
tions are with the Knights of Pythias. He married 
Nellie E. Burbank, daughter of Paul Burbank, of 
Lisbon, and has reared a family of four children, 
namely : Emniett C, a prosperous farmer in Car- 
roll ; Harry, who is in business with his father 
in Whitefield ; Lewis C, who is referred to _ in the 
succeeding paragraph ; and Mattie L., who is now 
the wife of Henry Whedon, of Manchester. 

(HI) Lewis Clarence, third son and child of 
William F. and Nellie E. (Burbank) Aldrich, was 
born in Whitefield, November 29, 1879. He at- 
tended the public schools of his native town in- 
cluding the high school, and after leaving the latter 
institution was for some time a student in electrical 
engineering, which he abandoned for the study of 
medicine. He was graduated from Maryland Medi- 
cal College. Baltimore, Maryland, in 1902, was an 
interne at the Franklin Square Hospital. Baltimore, 
for some time, and pursued a post-graduate course 
at Johns Hopkins University. Upon his return to 
Whitefield he entered into partnership with _ Dr. 
Morrison and continues as one of the staff of the 
Morrison Hospital, and was associated with that 
well-known physician until 1906, wdien he removed 
to Jefferson. Dr. Aldrich specializes in diseases 
of the blood, throat, ear and nose, and is rapidly 
acquiring a high reputation both as a specialist and 
general practitioner. 

He is a member of the New Hampshire State 
and Coos County Medical societies, also the Ameri- 
can Medical Association; the Masonic (Blue) Lodge 
at Whitefield. and Chapter and North Star Com- 
mandery at Lancaster: the Knights of Pythias at 
Whitefield, and the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows at Jefferson. He is unmarried. 



The Whipple family is one of the 
WHIPPLE oldest in this country. The present 

branch can be traced through eight 
generations to one 'of the earliest English immi- 
grants, and is apparently unrelated to' the line de- 
scended from Jacob Whipple, whose history has 
previously been written. 

(I) Matthew Whipple was born in England 
about 1605. With his brother John he came to 
Ipswich, Massachusetts, before 1638. John Whipple 
was the ancestor of William Whipple, a signer of 
the Declaration of Independence, whose mansion is 
still standing in Portsmouth, this state. In 163S 
Matthew Whipple had land granted him in Ipswich, 
situated in that part of the town then called the 
Hamlet, but which has since been named Hamilton. 
He held public offices, and though but forty-two 
when he died, he was evidently a man of proniin- 
ence in the community. He was twice married. 
The name of his first w'ife is unknown, but she 
without doubt came from England, because his 
eldest son. Lieutenant John, was baptized in Essex, 
that country. Matthew Whipple's second wife was 
Rose Chute, and there were six children, possibly 
some by each marriage. According to one record, 
the three eldest children were born in England. 
The children were: John, Mary, Matthew, Ann, 
Elizabeth, and Joseph, wdiose sketch follows. Mat- 
thew Whipple died September 28, 1647, leaving a 
widow, Rose. 



(II) Joseph, youngest child of Matthew Whip- 
ple, was born at Ipswich, Massachusetts, about 1645. 

His first wife was Sarah , who'died July 

16, 1676; and the name of the second wife is un= 
known. According to one record there were twelve 
children: Joseph, died young; Joseph, Margaret, 
Sarah, Captain Matthew. Bertha. Mary, John, Dea- 
con James, whose sketch follows ; Jonathan, Ruth 
and Anna. The births of these children range from 
1665 to 1695, and it is thought the last four be- 
longed to the second marriage, though the records 
vary somewhat as to the order. Joseph Whipple 
died in 1708-09. 

(III) Deacon James, son of Joseph Whi]iplc, 
and probably the eldest child of his second wife, 
was born in 1681. About 1730 he removed to Graf- 
ton, Massachusetts, where he and Samuel Cooper, 
an ancestor of the Coopers of Croydon, New- 
Hampshire, were chosen the first deacons of the 
first church organized there January 21, 1732. He 
was a man highly esteemed in the community. 
Deacon Whipple, his son-in-law. Joseph Whipple, 
and his grandson, Moses Whipple, were among the 
original grantees of Croy