(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Genealogical and family history of the state of New Hampshire : a record of the achievements of her people in the making of a commonwealth and the founding of a nation"

iixhravv ^f 




(Eht Mntntxrsitp 




c 






^ 




GENEALOGICAL AND FAMILY 

HISTORY 

OF THE 

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE 



A RECORD OF THE ACHIEVEMENTS OF HER PEOPLE IN THE MAKING OF A 
COMMONWEALTH AND THE FOUNDING OF A NATION 



Compiled Under the Editorial Supervision of 
EZRA S. STEARNS 

Ex-SecRETARY OF State; Member American Antiquarian Society, New England Historic-Genealogical 

Society, New Hampshire State Historical Society; Corresponding Member Minnesota 

State Historical Society; Member Fitchburg Historical Society 

assisted by 
WILLIAM F. WHITCHER 

Trustee New Hampshire State Library, Member New Hampshire State Historical Society aiJid New 

England Methodist Historical Society 

AND 
EDWARD E. PARKER 

Judge of Probate, Nashua 



VOL. IV 



ILLUSTRATED 



THE LEWIS PUBLISHING COMPANY 

Nf.w York Chicago 

190S 




'H 



-4 



^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE 



Of English origin arc all the 
FARNSWORTH families of Farnsvvorth in 
the United States. The name 
is derived from one of the two places in Lancashire, 
England, called Farnworth. One of them is in the 
parish of Prescott, not far from Liverpool, and the 
other is in the parish of Dean, a few miles north- 
west of Manchester, in the hvmdred of Salford. The 
name is thought to be taken from the latter place. 

The word is Saxon and derived from fearn, 
meaning fern, and Wearth, a place, a farm, an es- 
tate; and signifyino; a place or farm- where ferns 
grow. The greater number of the English families 
spell their name Farnworth, and so did the early 
settlers of this family in America, but as the writers 
and recorders of those early times spelled it fifarne- 
worth, fifernworth, ffearneworth, ffarnot, ffearnoth, 
and finally Farnsw-orth, . the Farnsworths them- 
selves finally adopted the last form, which is now uni- 
form orthography in America. The pronunciation 
in early times in this country was probably as if 
spelled Farnoth. 

(I) Matthias Farnsworth, by occupation a 
W'eaver, first appears of record in Lynn, Massachu- 
setts, where he was a resident in 1657, but he had 
probably already resided there some years at that 
date. When he came to this country is unknown. 
He was a farmer and had a farm near what is now 
Federal street, on which he lived until 1660 or i66r, 
when he removed to Groton. There he shared in 
the distribution of lands with the other proprietors. 
The records show that Matthias had the following 
uplands : His houselot, ninety acres, more or less, 
lying on both sides of the mill highway, bounded 
on the north by the side hill by "James his brook," 
&c. ; six acres and a half, more or less, lying on 
Indian hill ; eighteen acres, more or less, bounded 
west by Mill road ; seventy-one acres, more or less, 
lying on the other side of the Mill road. His 
meadows : Li south meadow, fourteen acres, more 
or less, bounded on several points by the town com- 
mon ; six acres, more or less, near the mill ; five 
acres and a half, more or less, near the mill ; two 
acres and a half, more or less, at Half Moon 
Meadow; in all something over two hundred and 
twelve acres of virgin soil. 

The first of the lots described was the one on 
which he built his log house. This was imdoubt- 
edly burned by the Indians when nearly the whole 
town was destroyed by them, March 13, 1676. A. 
number of settlers were killed, the others escaped 
to Concord, and on March 17 removed in sixty 
carts what was left of their portable propert^^ In 
the spring of 167S, Matthias Farnsworth with his 
familj^, including his three eldest sons, who were 
then of age. returned to his clearing in the woods 
and rebuilt his house and began anew. This latter 
house stood until 1820, when it was torn down to 
make room for improvements. Here he lived until 
his death, January 21, 1689. He was admitted a 
freeman of the Colony, May 16,' 1670, and made his 



will January 12, 1689, being then seventy-seven 
years of age. 

Alatthias Farnsworth was a prominent member 
of his church, of which he was one of the early 
members, and a leading citizen of the toiwn. He 
was one of the council of eleven held in Groton, 
in May, 1664, to consider certain "uncomfortable 
differences that had been amongst them about 
Church Government." He filled many offices in the 
town, the most important of which were those of 
constable and selectman. He held the office of con- 
stable, whose duties then were the collection of 
rates and taxes for the settlement as late as 1684. 
when he was seventy-two years old. 

He was probably twice married, but nothing is 
known of his first wife, by whom he probably had 
three children. He married (second), Mary, daugh- 
ter of George Farr, of Lynn, Massachusetts. She 
survived him many years, seems to have been a 
householder in 1692, made her will December 5, 
1716, and died between that date and March 7, 1717, 
when her will was proved. The children of Mat- 
thias Farnsworth were : Elizabeth, IMatthias, John, 
Benjamin. Joseph (died young), Mar}^ Sarah, Sam- 
uel, Abigail, Jonathan and Joseph. 

(II) Benjamin, third son and seventh child of 
Matthias Farnsworth, was born in 1667, and died 
in Groton, August 15, 1733, aged sixty-six 3'ears. 
He built a house and lived on the east side of the 
road running on the westerly side of the broad 
meadow. He owned a large stretch of land west 
of the meadow, and southerly of the road from 
Farmer's Row, across the meadow to the First 
Parish Meetinghouse. His house was standing till 
1830. He held the ofiice of selectman and other 
town offices. He and his wife were church mem- 
bers, and their children were baptized. He mar- 
ried, in 1695, Mary Prescott, bom February 3, 1674. 
in Lancaster, Massachusetts, daughter of Jonas and 
Mary (Loker) Prescott. She died October 28, 
i735j aged sixty-one. They had Mary, Martha 
(died young), Benjamin, Isaac, Ezra, Amos, Lydia. 
Aaron, Martha, Jonas and Deborah. 

(III) Aaron, eighth child and fourth son of 
Benjamin and Mary (Prescott) Farnsworth, was 
born August 29, 1709, and died in July, 1769, aged 
sixty years. He married (first), March 29, 1739. 
Hannah Barton, who died about 1743 ; married 

(second), 1744, Sarah , wh"o died about 1747; 

married (third), 1749, widow Elizabeth Parker, 
who died December 12, 1766, aged forty-seven. 
Married (fourth), June 16, 1767, Sarah Bennett, 
born in 1723. After his death she married a Bolton, 
and died June 24, 1822, in the one hundredth year 
of her age. The children of Aaron and Hannah 
(Barron) Farnsworth were: Zaccheus, Sybil (died 
young), Mary, Hannah, Eunice, Samuel, and Es- 
ther; by second wife, Sarah and Aaron; by third 
wife, Elizabeth (Parker) Farnsworth, Timothy and 
Sybil. 

(IV) Mary, third child and second daughter of 
Aaron and Hannah (Barron) Farnsworth, was 



1540 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



born in Groton, March 29, 1732. and died September 
19, 1796. She married, March 2, 1767, Colonel 
Osmyn Baker (See Baker I). 

The McLane family is of Scottish 
McLANE descent. Those emigrating to New 

Hampshire came from the county 
of Argvle. The Clan McLane was located at Loch 
Buov. The family seems to have been honorable 
and 'distinguished, Sir John McLane, to whom the 
present family traces its lineage, having rank with 
the nobility, claiming descent from a younger 
branch of the family of Charles the Pretender. 
Those earliest there seem to have possessed the 
sterling virtues characteristic of those who origi- 
nallv settled in Londonderry, and on their arrival 
came among them before finally locating. jThey 
were strong in their religious convictions and in- 
tensely patriotic. Captain Obadiah McLane, who 
settled in Goffstown, was a fellow-clansman and a 
prominent ofiicer in the Revolution, who was given 
the special duty of looking after the Tories and de- 
serters, and had with them some romantic and des- 
perate encounters. 

(I) Sir John McLane married, and had among 
other children si son Daniel. 

(II) Daniel, son of Sir John McLane, was a 
soldier in the army of Charles the Pretender at 
the battle of Culloden, April 16, 1746. He married 
Molly Beaton, by whom he had among his children 
two sons, Malcolm and Hugh. 

(III) Malcom, son of Daniel and Molly (Bea- 
ton) McLane, was born in the parish of Lear Cas- 
tle, Argxde county, Scotland. He emigrated to this 
country in 1775, landing in Boston. He spent some 
time among his countrymen in Londonderry and 
New Boston, and finally located in Francestown 
in 1784, buying of Hugh Morrill the place next 

•north of the Haunted Lake. He married, Isabell, 
daughter of John and Jenny (Carmichael) Living- 
ston, by whom he had the following children: Jane, 
born May i, 1780, died December 7, 1852; John, 
born March 6, 1784; Daniel, born October 10, 1787, 
married Mary Starrett : Nancy, born April 2, 1789, 
died June 26, 1819; Niel, born February 6, 1791, 
never married; Mary, born October 9, 1792, died 
March 9, 1873 ; Isabel, born April 4, 1794, died Jan- 
uary 21, i88t ; Archibald, born May 26, 1796, died 
unmarried. December 17, .1852. 

(IV) John, eldest son and second child of Mal- 
com and Isabell (Livingston) McLane, was born in 
New Boston, March 6, 1784. He settled on a farm 
in Francestown. near his father, where he resided 
till 1822, when he removed to Newport, and some 
time after to Fairlee, Vermont, and died there 
August 8, 1851. He was a prominent man, and in 
Fairlee was honored with election to town offices, 
and represented the town in the legislature. He 
was also for a time associate judge of the court 
in Caledonia county. He was a man of positive 
convictions, clear-headed, capable, and highly re- 
spected bv all. He married, August 24, 1815, Eliza- 
beth McCollom, who died in New Boston, Septem- 
ber 30. 1882, aged ninety-one years. Their children 
were : Neil, born January 19, i8t6, married, Octo- 
ber 14, 1849, Sarah C. Kelso, of New Boston ; Alex- 
ander, born January 16, 1817, married, in 1850, Bet- 
sey Church, of Kirby, Vermont; John; Charles, 
born April 28, 1819. married (first). Rebecca Bailey, 
and (second), in 1852, Edwina Powell; Rodney, 
born July 18, 1820, married, November 17, 1853, 



Adeline Farley, of New Boston; Mary, born Octo- 
ber II. 1822, married, in 1851, James Lyford, of 
Canterbury; Nancy J., born in Newport, April 30, 
1S23; George Waterman, born April 30, 1824, mar- 
ried, November 19. 1848, Philena Renyon, of Plain- 
field; Elizabeth, born in Newport, June 29, 1825, 
died in Fairlee, Vermont, March, 1842; Clarissa, 
born August 5, 1827, died August 15, 1849; Helen, 
born July 31, 1828; Sarah, born in Sunapee, July 
22, 1830; Marion, born in Sunapee, July 4, 1833, 
died December, 1853; Robert E., born in Grafton, 
October 23, 1834, married Emma Burton, of Athol, 
Massachusetts. 

(V) John, third son and child of John and 
Elizabeth (McCollom) McLane, was born in New 
Boston, April 14, 1818. He received his education 
in the district schools. His occupation was that of 
carpenter and farmer. He went to Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, and for five years ran a store for himself, 
and then returned to New Boston and worked in a 
door shop. He built himself a house where he after- 
wards resided. Politically he was a Republican, 
and religiously a Presbyterian. He was a member 
of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He died 
August, 1900. He married, November, 1850, Han- 
nah E. Whipple, by whom he had James Neil, and 
perhaps other children. 

(VI) James Neil, son of John and Hannah E. 
(Whipple) McLane, was born in New Boston. No- 
vember 8, 1858. He was educated in the" public 
schools. After leaving school he learned the trade 
of blacksmith, and worked at it for fourteen years. 
He _ was then engaged in carrying on the lumber 
business for three years. Afterwards he went into 
partnership with his brother Reid in running a 
grist mill, and carrying on the feed business. He 
has also handled some real estate. In politics he 
is identified with the Republican party. Denomi- 
nationally he is a Presbyterian. He is a member of 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and has 
filled the chairs. He has been selectman, and rep- 
resented his town in the legislature in 1902. He 
has also been a road agent. He married, Septem- 
ber 22, 1881, Rebecca H., daughter of John and 
Mary (Crombie) Andrews, of New Boston. She 
received her education in the district schools and 
Francestown Academy, from which she graduated. 
Afterwards she went to Boston and took a course 
in training for a nurse. She is a member of the 
Presbyterian Church. The children of Mr. and 
Mrs. McLane are : Francis, born in 1883 ; Alice W., 
born in 1885. married Waldren Stevens; child born 
February 22, 1888; John W., born October 19', 1892; 
a daughter, born January 25, 1895 ; a son, born 
August 9, 1897. 



Several persons of this name came to 
A]\IES Massachusetts Bay Colony in the early 

days of its existence, and from one of 
these ancestors an untraced line no doubt runs to 
this family. 

(I) James Ames was born November 16, 1741, 
and died January 30. 1827, aged eighty-six years. 
His children were : Jacob, Peter, James. Caleb, 
Mary and Comfort. (Mention of Caleb and de- 
scendants appears in this article.) 

(II) James (2), son of James (i) Ames, was 
born about 1780, and died in Gilford. He owned 
and cultivated a farm of one hundred and fifty acres 
of land. He was a cooper by trade, and also worked 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1541 



at farming during the latter part of his life. In 
politics he was a Democrat, and in religion a Free 
Will Baptist. He married Catherine Thompson, a 
native of Gilford, by whom he had four children : 
James Thompson, AJorrill, JMary and Susan. 

(III) James Thompson, eldest child of James 
(2) and Catherine (Thompson) Ames, was born 
in Gilford, 1821, and died in Gilmanton, 1886, aged 
sixty-five. He was educated in the common schools, 
and learned the cooper's trade. For some time 
he lived in Gloucester, Massachusetts, where he 
worked at his trade. He returned to Gilmanton 
where he engaged in farming up to the time of 
his death. In early life he was for a few years 
engaged in mercantile pursuits at West Alton. He 
was a Free Will Baptist and a Democrat, and lived 
up to his profession in both. He married Catherine 
Glidden, who was born in Alton, 182 1, and died in 
Peabody, Massachusetts, in 1881, aged sixty. She 
was the daughter of Noah and Polly Glidden, of 
Alton. The children of James (3) and Catherine 
(Glidden) Ames were: Gorham B., James N., 
Frank P., and George, the latter dying in in- 
fancy. 

(IV) James N. (4), second son of James (3) 
and Catherine (Glidden) Ames, was born in Alton, 
September 18, 1850. After leaving the common 
schools in which he was educated, he engaged in 
farming two years. Subsequently he removed to 
Salem, Massachusetts, where he can a meat wagon 
for sixteen years. After a short stay in Salem, 
Massachusetts, he removed to Peabody, where he 
kept a provision store seven years, after which 
he carried on business in Boston Highlands and 
subsequently in J^Ialden. From the latter place he 
came to New Hampshire and took charge of a farm 
of two hundred and six acres in Gilford, on which 
are fine farm houses, an orchard and a stock of 
cattle. Here he is engaged in farming, but his 
principal occupation is the entertainment of summer 
boarders, who find here a beautiful and agreeable 
place for rest and pleasure. Mr. Ames married 
(first), in November, 1871, Emma A. Dearborn, 
who was born in Salem, Massachusetts, 1845, daugh- 
ter of Charles and Mary Dearborn. She died in 
the winter of 1874, and he married (second) Mary 
Ellen Hayes, who was born in Alton, Massachusetts, 
1855, daughter of Ezekiel and Lydia Hayes. By 
the first wife there was one child, Hattie, who died 
young. By the second wife there are four chil- 
dren: Bertram Frank, born July 21, 1877; Thur- 
low H., August 21, 1879; Maynard J., September 
5, 1888; and Morrill Roger, August 5, 1891. 

(II) Caleb, son of James (i) Ames, was born in 
Gilford, October 12, 1782, and died in New Hamp- 
ton, May 19, 1862, aged eighty. He grew up a 
farmer, and was educated in the district schools. 
At the age of twenty-six he removed to New 
Hampton, where he remained two years. Before 
his marriage he bought a farm of one hundred acres, 
which he cleared, and on which he built a log house 
and barns. He settled on that place about 1809, 
and was a prosperous farmer. He served a term 
in the war of 1812, being stationed at Portsmouth. 
The day before he would have been discharged he 
learned of the serious illness of one of his chil- 
dren, and set out for home, sixty miles away, walk- 
ing the whole distance from Portsmouth to New 
Hampton in a day and a half. Not being present 
to be mustered out and receive his discharge, he 
was not able to obtain the pension afterward 
granted to soldiers of the war of 1812. He married, 
Januarv 30, 1809. Sally Burleigh, eldest daughter 
of William and Sarah (Ames) Burleigh (see Bur- 



leigh), who was born January 2"^, 1788, and died 
May 19, 1862, aged seventy-nine. Their children 
were: Sarah, William Burleigh, James (died 
young), James Marston, Peter B., Almira and 
Daniel H. 

(HI) James Marston, fourth child and third 
son of Caleb and Sally (Burleigh) Ames, was born 
in New Hampton, July 13, 1817, and died in Bristol, 
December 28, 1881, in the sixty-fifth year of his 
age. He left home at twenty-one years of age, 
and for six years was employed as a quarryman. 
He then bought the homestead of his father, which 
he enlarged until he had three hundred acres of 
land, and he also rebuilt the buildings. In 1866 
he removed to Bristol, and settled at what is called 
the North End on the farm now owned and occu- 
pied by his son, where he and his wife spent the re- 
mainder of their lives. He was an active, hard- 
working man, who took good care of his own aft'airs 
and felt an interest in matters of public importance. 
His exemplary habits and success in taking care 
of his own caused many of his neighbors to come 
to him in times of doubt or adversity for advice. 
In religious belief he was a Baptist, and in pol- 
itics a Democrat. He married, February 17, 1845, 
Abigail F. Batchelder, born June 8, 1827, daughter 
of Benjamin and Mary (Spaulding) Batchelder, of 
Bridgewater. She died January 10, 1886, in the 
sixty-second year of her age. They had two chil- 
dren : Mary Comfort, who was born in New 
Hampton, January 7, 1852, and married January i, 
1872, Laurin C. Tilton ; and Burleigh M., whose 
sketch follows. 

(IV) Burleigh Marston, first child and only 
son of James M. and Abigail F. (Batchelder) Ames, 
was born in New Hampton, March 8, 1848. He 
lived in his father's family and attended school until 
about nineteen, and then went to Watertown, ]\las- 
sachusetts, and stayed a year, and then (1867) for 
six or seven years was a manufacturer of straw 
board at Bristol. In 1875 h^ engaged in the manu- 
facture of gloves which he carried on for a time. 
He owns the paternal homestead which he carries 
on, and is also a dealer in wood, coal, ice, etc. He 
has built and sold several houses in Bristol. He is 
a trustee and vice-president of the Bristol Savings 
Bank, and a director of the First National Bank 
of Bristol. He is a Democrat and a Free Baptist. 
He is a member of Union Lodge, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons, Bristol. He married, Febru- 
ary 14, 1869, Mary Ann Locke (see Locke, VII), 
who was born September 21, 1850, daughter of Orrin 
and Nancy J. (Favor) Locke, and they have two 
children : Aletea Elfra, born in Bristol, February 
27, 1872, who married Nathan P. Smith, of 
Plymouth ; they have one child, Abby F., born May 
12, 1889. Ethel Winnifred, born November 17, 1879, 
who married (first) Charles E. Spencer; married 
(second) George P. Fifield; their home is also in 
Plymouth. 



This family name appears early in Mas- 
AMES sachusetts, whence it spread into New 

Hampshire ; and it is from an early 
Massachusetts branch of the family that the Ameses 
of this article have descended. 

(I) John Ames is supposed to have moved from 
Newmarket, New Hampshire, to Parsonfield, Maine, 
where he died. He was a farmer. He married 
Elizabeth Neal, and they had six children : Sanuiel, 
John, Marston, Catherine. Daniel and Betsey. 

(II) Samuel, eldest child of John and Elizabeth 
(Neal) Ames, was born in 1770, and died in i86r, 
aged ninety-one years. He settled in Tamworth, 



1542 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



New Hampshire, where he was a farmer for some 
years ; and then moved to Wakefield, New Hamp- 
shire, where he died May, 1861. He married Susan 
Glidden, who was born 1771, and died 1872. Their 
children were: Betsey, Marston, John, Susan, Ja- 
cob, Samuel, and Daniel, all born after 1796. 

(HI) Marston, second child of Samuel and 
Sarah (Glidden) Ames, was born in Tamworth, 
December 25, 1799, and died in -June, 1887, aged 
eighty-seven years. He was taken by his parents 
on their removal to Wakefield when a mere child. 
He settled at Ossipee and followed farming. He 
married in October, 1827, Clarissa Moulton, Avho 
was born in September, 1806, daughter of William 
and Mary Pearl of Parsonfield, Maine. She died 
August II, 1876, aged seventy-one years. Their 
children were: William, born 1828, died young; 
Mary, born 1832, died 1867 ; Samuel and William 
(twins), born April i, 1834; Martin Luther; John 
born August 10, 1839; Silas, died young, and David, 
whose sketch follows. 

(IV) David M. Ames, youngest child of Mars- 
ton and Clarissa (Moulton) Ames, was born in 
Ossipee, October 21, 1843. At eighteen years of 
age he began work in a tannery for Joseph Hodg- 
don and was employed there three years. He then 
went to Cornish, Maine, and worked at the same 
business for Albers & Allen six years, and then 
to Portland, where he was similarly employed two 
and a half years. Returning to Ossipee he culti- 
vated the homestead two years. In 1877 he removed 
to Rochester, New Hampshire, and entered the em- 
ploy of E. G. and E. Wallace, shoe manufacturers, 
and for ten years past has been foreman of their 
tanning department. In politics he is a Republi- 
can, and he has held the office of councilman of 
Rochester for six years. He married, February 28, 
1866, Mary Cobb, who was born in Limerick, Maine, 
July 14, 1841, daughter of Joshua and Mary (Cook) 
Cobb. There were born of this union four children: 

1. Sarah C, born February 8, 1867, a graduate of 
Boston University, class of 1895, since a teacher 
in Rochester four years, and in Chester county, 
Pennsylvania, now engaged in educational work 
in Boston. 2. William Marston, born July 3, 1869, 
a graduate of Dartmouth, class of 1894, a civil en- 
gineer at Berwick, Maine. He married, September 

2, 1896, Mabel A. Fogg, born in Springvale, Maine, 
1871, daughter of John D. and Phebe A. Fogg, of 
Springvale, Maine, and they have three children : 
John D., born May 31, 1897;- Marjory, born Janu- 
ary 17, 1902 ; Elizabeth Howland, born February 
25, 1906. 3. Howard O., July 8, 1871, died young; 
4. Arthur O., July 23, 1878, a graduate of Roches- 
ter high school, bookkeeper in New Britain, Con- 
necticut. 



This name is not numerously repre- 
QUIMBY sented in New England or in any 

part of America, but the quality of 
its representatives will compare favorably with that 
of many families of much larger numbers. It has 
been identified with the development of New 
Hampshire, and is entitled to honorable mention in 
connection therewith. It begins at an early period 
of American history, in settlement of the Massachu- 
setts Bay Colony, and is still continuing in a worthy 
way along the lines of civilization. 

(I) Robert Quinby is found of record in Amas- 
bury, Massachusetts, as a ship carpenter and was 
there married about 1657 to Elizabeth Osgood, 
daughter of William and Elizabeth Osgood, of Sal- 
isbury. He purchased land in Amesbury the next 
year, and received grants in 1659 and 1668. He is 



of record as a "townsman" in 1660, and holding a 
meeting house seat in 1667. He died about 1677, 
and it is probable that his death occurred in the 
Indian massacre at Amesbury, July 7, of that year. 
His wife - was wounded in that massacre but sur- 
vived. She was appointed administratrix of his 
estate October 9 of that year. The inventory was 
made August 27. Their son Robert was appointed 
to administer the estates of both parents Septem- 
ber 26, 1694, and it was not divided until 1700. 
Their children were: Lydia, William, Robert, John, 
Thomas, Elizabeth, Philip and Joseph. (Mention 
of Robert and descendants is a part of this arti- 
cle). 

(II) William (i), eldest son and second child of 
Robert and Elizabeth (Osgood) Quimby, was born 
June II, 1660, in Salisbury and resided in Ames- 
bury. He took the oath of allegiance in 1677 and 
was a member of the training band in 1680. He 
was living in 1700, and administration upon his 
estate was granted June 11, 1705. The inventory 
was presented by his brother Robert. The christian 
name of his wife was Sarah, but no record of her 
birth, death or parentage is obtainable. Two chil- 
dren are recorded in Amesbury, namely : Elizabeth 
and William. 

(III) William (2), son of William (i) and 
Sarah Quimby, was born, October 8, 1693, i'l Ames- 
bury. He married Hannah Barnard, who was born 
November 26, 1694, daughter of Joseph and Mary 
(Jewell) Barnard. They owned the covenant in 
the Second Salisbury church, February 4. 1728, and 
had children baptized at that church August 16,. 
1730, namely: Samuel, Joseph, Enoch and Hannah; 
and on June 9, 1734, their sons Moses and Aaron 
were also baptized. 

(IV) Aaron, son of William (2) and Hannah 
(Barnard) Quimby, was born July 22, 1733, and 
baptized June 9. 1734, in the second Salisbury 
church. He was among those who asked for the 
incorporation of Hawke now Danville, New Hamp- 
shire, and this town was incorporated February 20, 
1760. There were several among the incorporators 
of the same name, including Moses, who was prob- 
ably his brother. They removed to Derryfield, now 
Manchester, whence they went as pioneer settlers 
to Weare, in 1752. 1753 and 1754, says one account. 
The "History of Carroll County" states that 
"Aaron Quimby was one of the incorporators of 
Weare, one of its first selectmen, served in the old 
French war, went on the expedition to Canada in 
1755, and was a captain in the Revolution, and was 
promoted to Major." His revolutionary record is 
as follows : Aaron Quinby's name is on the pay 
roll of Captain John Parker's company in Colonel 
Timothy Bedell's regiment of rangers, "raised by 
the Colony of New Hampshire in defence of the 
Liberties of America — Joined the Northern divis- 
ion of the Continental Army under General Mont- 
gomer}^, 1775." He was a sergeant, entered the 
service July 11, and was discharged December 20, 
after serving five months and ten days, for which 
he received pa}% £12, i6s. and a coat and blanket 
valued at £1 i6s, billeting, los, 6d ; amounting in 
all to £15 2s 6d. On the muster roll his age is given 
as forty-one, occupation husbandman, and he is 
credited to the town of Weare. 

His name appears again on a muster and pay 
roll of the men raised and mustered in the Sev- 
enth Regiment, December 16 and 17, 1776, to be 
under the command of Colonel David Oilman, Cap- 
tain Gorden's company, to recruit the American 
army till March i, 1777. 

The pay roll of Captain Aaron Quinby's com- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1543 



pany of volunteers in Colonel Moses Kelly's regi- 
ment in the expedition to Rhode Island, has the 
following record: Aaron Quinby, captain, entered 
the service August 6, 1778, discharged August 27, 
time of service twenty-four days, rate per month 
twelve pounds, amount of wages, £g 12s, travel out 
at 8d, home at Sd, one hundred and twenty-five 
miles, £% 6s 8d, subsistence money £4 i6s, total £22 
14s 8d. The roll is attested by "Aron Quinby," 
but the name is elsewhere spelled Quinbee and 
Quenbe. 

Aaron Quimby from Derryfield March 27, 1754, 
bought lot 2,7, range i, Weare, of Jeremiah Bennett, 
the proprietor who once thought to settle there 
himself, for £100 old tenor bills of credit and 
"Emediate settlement made on the lot." He built 
a good, substantial, large house of hewed logs and 
a rough log bam. It was on the north road from 
Oil Mill to South Weare, one-half mile east of the 
Meadow brook, and the mark of his cellar can now 
be seen. When the town filled up with inhabitants 
he opened an inn, probably the first one in Weare, 
and kept it for a long time. It was a busy house 
and had some exciting scenes. The first barrel of 
rum ever in town was loaded by him on a "j um- 
ber" and drawn by a horse on the rough path up 
the Piscataquog and over the hills to his inn. How 
many got balmy on that first barrel can not now be 
told. In his bar-room the old logger-head was al- 
ways kept at a white heat. With it he warmed the 
flip made of West India rum with some pieces of 
pumpkin dried on the "lug pole." apple skins and 
bran in it. This gave it excellent flavor, and lips 
smacked that tasted it. Half a mug of flip 
was 3d. He also used it to warm the sling and 
milk, and sold each for 3d a mug. He was a prom- 
inent man in town, and once held the office of cor- 
oner of Hillsborough county. 

About 1779 he moved to Sandwich, then on the 
very outskirts of civilization, and bought four hun- 
dred acres of Rock Maple Ridge, North Sand- 
wich, (paying in Continental scrip) where he after- 
ward lived, and died December, 1810. He was 
married (first), October 8, 1753, in Hampstead, to 
Anna Batchelder, who died about 1765. He was 
married (second) in Hampstead, March 20, 1766, 
to Mary Johnson. His first two children were 
born of the first wife. They were: Sarah, Joseph, 
IMoses, Enoch, Samuel, James, Daniel, Anna, Aaron 
J., Susannah, Johnson D. and 'Mary. (Johnson D. 
and descendants are mentioned at length in this 
article.) 

(V) Enoch, the fourth of Aaron Quimby's 
twelve children was born in Weare, New Hampshire, 
INIarch 23, 1769, and died in Sandwich, March 22, 
1831. He became an officer in the War of 1812, 
and was one of the hardest working men and most 
thriving farmers in Sandwich. In 1792 he married 
Sarah Libby, by whom he had eleven children, 
among whom were: John Smith, Joseph L. (Col.), 
Polly (Mary Johnson), Betsey, Enoch, Nathaniel 
E., Sally, Moses Dustin. 

(VI) John Smith, eldest child of Enoch and 
Sarah (Libby) Quimby, was born in Sandwich, 
New Hampshire, March 10, 1793, and died there 
July 14, 1853. He was one of the leading men in 
Sandwich and vicinity in his day. Coming into 
active life when party politics ran high, he became 
ardent Jackson Democrat, and was intimately as- 
sociated in politics with such men as Captain Paul 
Wentworth, Hon. Neal McGafifey, and Captain Ran- 
dall, until the schism in that party about 1844 or 
1845. when he with John P. Hale and others joined 
the Free Soil party, to which he firmly adhered 



till his death. Living all his life on a farm, with 
limited means of education and with no professional 
training, he was yet a man of atfairs, and could 
with equal facility lead his men in the mowing field 
without fear of being "cut out of his swath," act 
as farrier for himself and neighbors, or preside as 
moderator in town or church meetings, act as 
counsel, or preside as justice, according to circum- 
stances. Pie was a captain in the old militia, held 
many town offices, and represented Sandwich in the 
legislature in 1843-46-47. He was a man of alder- 
manic build and fine presence, a genial companion, 
and firm friend, a strong opponent, fearless, and 
tenacious of his opinions and rights. For sixteen 
years previous to his death he was a leading member 
and zealous supporter of the Free Baptist Church 
at Centre Sandwich. On January 27, 1814, he was 
married by Rev. Joseph Quimby to Nancy Marston, 
of Moultonboro, daughter of John Marston, and 
granddaughter of General Jonathan Moulton, of 
Hampton, both men of ability and prominence in 
the state. The children of this marriage were : 
Enoch, George M., James M., John M., Mary Ann, 
Caroline E., Elvira B., Caleb M., Abigail T., Harri- 
son M., Alfred and Sarah. 

(VII) Alfred, seventh son and eleventh child 
of John Smith and Nancy (Marston) Quimby, was 
born in Sandwich, New Hampshire, December 10, 
1833. He was brought up on his father's farm and 
educated in the public schools of the town. He 
left home at an early age, going to Lawrence, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he was engaged as clerk in George 
P. Cutler's bookstore. By his diligence, courtesy, 
and faithfulness he soon gained the fast friend- 
ship of his employer, remaining with him till the 
spring of 1861. He then went to Manchester, New 
Hampshire, where he established himself in the same 
line of business which he carried on successfully 
for twenty years. Since his retirement from active 
business he has dealt in stocks and real estate, in 
which field he has attained a prominent position. 
He has been a director in the New Harnpshire 
Fire Insurance Company since the organization of 
the corporation in 1870, and is one of the only 
two living organizers. He is also a railroad director, 
being largely interested in railroad stocks. Mr. 
Quimby has always been a staunch Republican, 
and was a member of the legislature in 1878-79. He 
was married September 10, 1865, to Carrie Augusta 
Davis, by Cyrus W. Wallace, D. D., first pastor of 
the Hanover Street Congregational Church, of 
which Mr. and Mrs. Quimby have always been 
regular attendants. Mr. and Mrs. Quimby of late 
years have traveled extensively in this country 
and spent their winters in California and the 
south. 

(V) Johnson D., youngest son of Aaron and 
Marv (Johnson) Quimby, was born on his father's 
forest farm, in (North) Sandwich, April 17, 1782, 
and died February 22, 1855. Pie followed farming, 
was a man calculated to lead, and held a prominent 
place among his townsmen. He built the Baptist 
Church in North Sandwich, and was a brigadier- 
general of militia. He married Mary , 

and they had children: Charles, Grace, Eliza M., 
George W., Mary B., Eveline B., Lucy IM, Dolly 
H., now Mrs. N. S. Watson, of Dover. 

(VI) Colonel George W., second son and 
fourth child of Johnson D. and Mary Quimby, was 
born in Sandwich, December 27, 1810, and died 
in Manchester, October, 1902. He was educated in 
the common schools, and lived on a farm for a 
number of years. He was naturally ingenious and 
of a mechanical bent of mind, and in 1828 he settled 



1544 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



in Manchester and entered the employ of the Amos- 
keag Manufacturing Company as a machinist. He 
worked at his trade until seventy years of age, 
being last employed in the Blood Locomotive Works. 
He inherited the military spirit of his ancestors, 
served in the militia, and rose to the rank of 
colonel of the state militia of Sandwich, Nine- 
teenth Regiment, Second Brigade, Second Division, 
1840-42. He was a valued member of the Free 
Will Baptist Church in .Manchester, and later of 
the First Congregational Church, being the oldest 
member at the time of his death. He was a mem- 
ber of Lafayette Lodge, No. 41, Free and Accepted 
Masons. 

He married, IMarch 6, 1839, Mary Elizabeth Ful- 
lerton, who was born September 16, 1816 ( still living) , 
daughter of William and Keziah Fullerton. Their 
children were : Mary Ellen, George W. and Emma 
Belle. Mary Ellen, only one living, born July 30, 
1841, North Sandwich, married, June 6, 1864, 
Nicholas Nichols, for many years a merchant in 
Manchester, first in the drygoods, and later in the 
fur business. F'or twenty years in the latter part of 
his life he was assistant assessor of Manchester. 
He died November 29, 1901. George W., born 
January 28. 1847, in Manchester, died November 
18, 1870. In the Civil war he served as a private 
in the Twenty-sixth Massachusetts Volunteers. His 
wife was Martha Fish. Emma Belle, born Septem- 
ber 26, 1855, married Henry J. Carr, formerly of 
Grand Rapids, Michigan, librarian of the state 
library in Pennsylvania; Emma Belle died Septem- 
ber 29, 1882. 

(II) Robert (2), second son and third child 
of Robert (i) and Elizabeth (Osgood) Quimby, 
was born in Amesbury, and resided in that town, 
but little of his history appears in the records. 
No date of his marriage is discovered and the sur- 
name of his wife is unknown. Her christian name 
was Mary, and she was made administratrix of 
his estate, June 6, 1715, which will indicate ap- 
proximately the time of his death. The estate was 
divided in December of that year. The children 
were: Joseph, John, Mary, Benjamin, Hannah and 
Anne. 

(HI) Benjamin, third son and fourth child of 
Robert (2) and Alary Quimby, was born January 
10, 1689, in Amesbury, and resided in that town. 
He was married on Christmas day, 1722, to Judith 
Gould, daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Rowell) 
(iould, of Amesbury, and granddaughter of Nathan 
(iould, the pioneer patriarch of that name. She was 
born December 25, 1701, in Amesbury. 

(IV) Jonathan, son of Benjamin and Judith 
(Gould) Quimby, was born August 15, 1726, in 
Amesbury and resided in that town until 1774, 
when he settled in Hopkinton, New Hampshire. 
The record of his marriage is not preserved, but 
the christian name of his wife was Ruth. They 
have had three children: Isaac, Benjamin and 
Mary. 

(V) Benjamin (2), second son of Jonathan and 
Ruth, Quimby, was born February 4, 1768, in Ames- 
bury, Massachusetts, and died March 27, 1834, in 
Unity, New Hampshire. When he was six years 
old his father removed from Amesbury to Hopkin- 
ton, New Hampshire, but it is not certain how long 
he resided there. Benjamin and an older brother 
Isaac lived in Deering for many years, and finally 
moved to unity in 1813. Benjamin (2) Quimby 
married Kezia Beckford. She was born January 10, 
^773- Their eight children were: Dorothy, Michael 
(died in infancy). Benjamin, Joseph, Michael, Kezia, 
Silas and Larenda. Two of the sons, Michael and 



Silas, became Methodist clergymen. Michael 
Quimby, born in Deering, September, 1805, was a 
preacher in the New Hampshire conference from 
1832 until his death in March, 1843. Silas, the fifth 
son of Benjamin, was a member of the same confer- 
ence for a long term of years. He received only 
the usual advantages of the district schools of his 
day, but he was a clear thinker and became an 
indefatigable student. He occupied some of the best 
pulpits in his conference, and was considered a 
strong, enthusiastic and logical preacher. He died 
in West Unity, January 25, 1885, aged seventy-four 
years. He left one son, Silas, who is a prominent 
clergyman in the New Hampshire conference, a 
man of liberal education and broad culture. 

(VI) Benjamin (3), second son of Benjamin 
(2) and Kezia (Beckford) Quimby, was born Oc- 
tober 18, 1800, probably in Deering, New Hampshire, 
and died May 4, 1859, in West Unity, in which town 
he had lived the greater part of his life. He was a 
sturdy, industrious farmer, and accumulated a good 
property for those times. He married March 23, 
1826, Percis Gee, daughter of Asa and Rhoda (Otis) 
Gee, and a descendant of Solomon Gee, who was a 
citizen of Lyme, Connecticut in 1730. She was born 
December 12, 1805, and died May 29, 1871. Their 
children were: Milan W., Francis L., Melissa D. 
and Wilbur B. 

(VII) Francis L., son of Benjamin (3) and 
Percis (Gee) Quimby, was born in West Unity, 
December 25, 1827, where he resided until his re- 
moval to Claremont in 1899. Mr. Quimby was one 
of the most prosperous farmers in his community, 
and a highly esteemed citizen. He was always ready 
to bear his share of public burdens, and was honored 
with various offices of trust by the citizens of his 
native town. He is a Methodist, and at the time of 
his removal from Unity had been an official in the 
church for fifty years. In politics he is a Republican. 
At an advanced age he is still young in heart and 
takes an active interest in whatever movements 
make for righteousness in civic affairs and for the 
advancement of God's Kingdom in this world. ]\Iay 
22, 1849, Francis Quimby married Lydia Johnson, 
daughter of Amos and Huldah (Green) Johnson. 
She was born January 8, 1825, in Weare, New 
Hampshire. Her parents were Quakers, hence she 
was of that faith at the time of her marriage. 
She later joined the Methodist Church, of 
which her husband was a member. She 
was a woman of superior quality of mind and great 
force of character, thus laearing evidence of the 
worthy ancestry. May 25, 1899, Mr. and Mrs. 
Quimby celebrated their golden wedding in the same 
house where they began their married life. One 
of their sons came twelve hundred miles in order 
to be present at the rare anniversary, and as it 
proved to be the last meeting of the children in 
their old home, for a few weeks later witnessed 
the removal of their parents from the farm in West 
Unity to the new home in Claremont village. Here 
Mrs. Quimby died May 21, 1906. Their six children, 
all born in West Unity, were: Irving Wesley, Adella 
L., George E., Lewis J., Herbert F. and Emerson A. 

Irving Wesley was born ]\Iay 20, 1851. He passed 
his life in his native town, and died in the house so 
long occupied by his father, November 13, 1905. 
This was the first death to be recorded in the family 
for a period of fifty-five years. Mr. Quimby was 
a man of good abilities, stern integrity and quiet 
tastes, never desiring public office. He married 
Josie Reed, of Acworth, who survives him. Adella 
L.. only daughter of Francis L. and Lydia (Johnson) 
Quimby, was born December 16, 1853. She was 




'W i 






NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1545 



educated in the public schools and at Tilden Seminary 
at West Lebanon. On May 22, 1879, she married 
John Howe, then located in business in Walthani, 
Massachusetts. Mr. Howe is a native of Newport, 
New Hampshire. He came to Claremont in 1883, 
and with his brother-in-law, Lewis J. Quimby, 
founded the grocery firm of Howe & Quimby. He 
has held his relation as senior member of this firm 
to the present time (1907), with the exception qi 
two years from 1887 to 1889, when the business 
was owned and operated by Quimby Brothers. Mr. 
Howe is a Methodist, and politically a Republican. 
He was chosen a representative to the legislature in 
the last election (1906). Mrs. Howe is very active 
in church and temperance work, and is vitally inter- 
ested in all movements that tend to the uplifting 
of the community. Lewis J., third son of Francis 
L. Quimby, was born June 2, 1861. He was a gradu- 
ate of Stevens high school, and was for several 
years a successful grocery merchant in Clareniont. 
He was later for a short time in business at Clinton, 
JNIassachusetts. Mr. Quimby is now filling accept- 
ably a responsible position as traveling salesman 
for' the Pillsbury Flour ]Mills, retaining his residence 
at Clinton. He" married Mattie L. Dow, of Clare- 
mont. Herbert F. was born December 24, 1863. 
He fitted for college at St. Johnsbury, Verniont, 
and graduated at Boston University. Following 
the bent of others of an older generation of the 
Quimby family, he entered the Methodist ministry 
and joined the New Hampshire conference in 1891. 
He is a highly esteemed member of that body, and 
a successful clergyman. Mr. Quimliy married (first), 
Eva Hoelgman, who died in"- 1889. He married 
(second), Jennie Elliot. Emerson A., youngest child 
of Francis Quimby, was born May 22, 1867. He 
graduated from the Stevens high school, Claremont, 
class of 1887, and from the Poughkeepsie Business 
College in 1889. In 1901 he became a partner in the 
firm of Howe & Quimby. This firm with greatly 
increased facilities now holds a place among the 
leading grocery houses in the western part of the 
state. ]\Ir. Quimby is a devoted member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. He takes an active 
interest in matters pertaining to education, and is 
chairman of the Claremont school board. In politics 
he is a Republican. June 15, 1892, Emerson Quimby 
married Jennie A., daughter of James S. and Emma 
(Hunt) Perry, of North Charlestown, New Hamp- 
shire. 

(VIII) George E., second son of Francis L. 
and Lydia (Johnson) Quimby, was born December 
20, 1858. He attended the district schools of West 
Unit\-, his native town, and entered the Stevens 
high" school in the fall of 1877, from which he 
graduated in the class of 1880. He taught school at 
Acworth, New Flampshire, during the fall and 
winter of 1879-80. January, 1881, he entered the 
employ of Clark Maynard & Company, a dry goods 
firm of Waltham, Massachusetts, where he remained 
until September, 1885, when he resigned to accept 
a position with Bradley Brothers, dry goods merch- 
ants, of Decatur, Illinois. During his first two 
years with this firm, Mr. Quimby was second dress 
"goods man and mail order ckrk. He was later 
advanced to the head of the silk and dress goods 
department, successfully managing the same until 
severing his connection with the company to engage 
in business for himself. He purchased the dry goods 
business of W. A. Glines & Company, of Claremont, 
in December, 1904, which he has since conducted 
with constantly increasing patronage. Politically 
Mr. Quimby is a Republican, and a strenuous ad- 
vocate of all reform movements, being particularly 



active in temperance work. February 11, 1884, he 
married Lillian C, daughter of Frederick and 
Celinda (Mansfield) Davis, of Waltham, Massa- 
chusetts. Mr. and Mrs. Quimby were formerly 
Presbyterians, but are now members of the Methodist 
Church in Claremont. They have three children, 
the eldest, L. May Quimby, is a student at Mount 
Holyoke. The other children are : Lewis F., a 
student of Stevens high school, and Anna Dell. 



The bearers of the name Randlett, 
RANDLETT Ranlet, Rundlet and Runlet, are 

descended from one common an- 
cestor. These names appear occasionally in the 
records of various parts of New England, but there 
is little or no information to be gleaned relative to 
their early history on this side of the ocean. Charles 
Rundlett. Runlet, or Ranlet, of Exeter, New Hamp- 
shire, was in the last half of the seventeenth century 
captured by the Indians, from whom he eventually 
escaped, and he was accidentally drowned August i, 
1709. He may have been an immigrant, but it is 
more probable that he was born the son of one. 

(I) The first of the line herein considered, so 
far discovered, was James Rundlett. He was among 
the petitioners for the establishment of the town of 
Stratham, December 3, 1709. He was probably a 
resident of the district now comprising that town for 
some time previous to this date. His wife's name 
was Elizabeth, and their children, born in Stratham 
from 1700 to 1731, were: Liddeah. Daniel, Theo- 
philus, Jonathan, James. Mary, Sarah, Charles and 
Josiah. 

(II) Josiah Rundlett, w-as born January 20, 1731, 
in Stratham. and married Mary Phillips. Their chil- 
dren, born from 1759 to 1771, were: Jonathan, Sarah, 
Josiah, iNIary, Rachel, Priscilla, Susannah and 
Edmund. 

(III) Josiah. (2) Randlett, third child of Josiah 
(i) and Mary '(Phillips) Rundlett, born November 
23, 1762, died November 27, 1841 ; married, January 
13, 1785, at Epping. the Rev. Peter Holt officiating, 
Dorothy Prescott. 

(IV) Newell, eldest child of Josiah and Dorothy 
(Prescott) Randlett. was born December 21. 1785. 
in Gilmanton, New Hampshire. He settled in that 
part of Gilmanton which is now Belmont, and there 
died April 3, 1865. He married Rebecca Elkins, born 
August 3, 1788, and the children of this union were : 
borothv' born March 15. 1812. died June 20. 1887; 
Almira," born July 31, 1814, died June 3. 1887 ; Newell, 
born November 25, 1816; Rebecca, born November 
12, 1820. died in 1907, and Prescott, who is refcrred_ 
to' in the succeeding paragraph. The mother of 
these children died July 28, 1861. 

(V) Prescott, son of Newell and Rebecca (El- 
kins) Randlett. was born in Upper Gilmanton, Au- 
gust 9, 1827. He was a prosperous farmer, owning 
and conducting a large farm located some two miles 
from Laconia, and for a period of eleven years he 
carried on a popular summer boarding resort. His 
last years were spent in retirement at Laconia, and 
he d'ied in that city May 19, i899- He married 
Lydia P. Smith, who was born December 27, 1836, 
daughter of Elisha and Abigail (Robinson) Smith, 
and granddaughter of John Robinson, who served 
as a soldier of the American Revolution and of the 
War of 1812. She died March 16, 1906, leaving two 
sons, Elmer Prescott and Arthur .C. S. Randlett. 
Elmer Prescott Randlett. was born in Belmont. July 
16. 1867. attended the New Hampton Business Col- 
lege, the New Hampshire Conference Seminary at 
TUton. and the Brvant & Stratton Business College, 
Boston, concluding his studies at the last named 



1546 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



instution in 1889. Remaining in Boston he engaged 
in the wholesale fish trade on T Wharf, in partner- 
ship with S. E. Rice, under the firm name of F. E. 
Harding & Company, and this concern is now trans- 
acting an extensive business. He married for his 
first wife Annie E. Chivers, who died in February, 
1897, and the children of this union are : Harold 
E., Olive L. and Francis C. For his second wife he 
married Mary Ramsay, of Vermont. By this union 
there is one child, Elmer P. Jr., born October 17, 1906. 
(VI) Arthur C. S., youngest son of Prescott 
and Lydia P. (Smith) Randlett, was born in Bel- 
mont, January 6, 1870. After graduating from the 
Gilmanton Academy in 1890 he pursued a commer- 
cial course at the Manchester Business College, and 
when ready to begin the activities of life he engaged 
in mercantile business. He established himself as 
a merchant at No. 428 Main street, Laconia, and 
is now regarded as one of the leading business men 
in that city. His prominence and popularity are 
not only the result of his business success but 
emanate from other causes, particularly his interest 
in all matters of general importance. He was a 
member of the board of ward selectmen for three 
j-ears, served as overseer of the poor under the city 
government for a period of seven years, and in 
politics he is a Republican. He belongs to Belknap 
Lodge, No. 7, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
also to Winniposookee Lodge, Knights of Pythias, 
being a past grand of the first named body, and a 
member of the grand lodge of New Hampshire. Mr. 
Randlett married Ida E. Brenton, of Laconia, and 
formerly of Hull, Massachusetts, daughter of Samuel 
and Alice Brenton. Mr. and Mrs. Randlett are the 
parents of two children, Norman P., born July 14, 
1900; and Chester Arthur, born November 15, 1901. 



The family of this name came 
RUNDLETT early to New England, and many 
useful and highly' respected citi- 
zens of this cognomen have resided in Massachu- 
setts, Maine and New Llampshire. 

(I) Nathaniel Rundlett was born, 1740-1, in 
Maine, died in Piscataquog, January 7, 1825, aged 
eighty-four years, and was buried in the Piscataquog 
cemetery. He was a soldier in the Revolutionary 
war and in the War of 1812. He was a corporal in 
Captain Thorn's company, entering the service Sep- 
tember 10, 1814, and was discharged September 27, 
1814. He is known to have served as ship carpenter 
on the United States Frigate Constitution. Probably 
his early discharge from the army was due to the 
fact that he was wanted in the navy. He was one 
of the sufferers by the great fire in Wiscassett, 
jNIaine, in 1823. He married Lydia A. Lambert of 
Wiscassett, ]\Iaine, and they were the parents of 
five children. 

(II) Thomas Rundlett, youngest child of Nathan- 
iel and Lydia A. (Lambert) Rundlett, born March 7, 
1790, died in Bedford (now INIanchester), September 
10, 1864. For many years he was a hat manufac- 
turer in Piscataquog, Manchester, then a part of 
Bedford. He was a man of firmness and sterling 
worth, and held public office for many years. He 
was constable in 1828, justice of the peace in Bedford 
from 1834 to 1838, and quorum from 183S to 1S50. 
He was an active member of the Amoskeag Veterans 
and a valued member of the Masonic fraternity, 
to whose interests he was thoroughly devoted. He 
was senior warden of Bible Lodge at Gofifstown 
in 1823. The first general meeting of Lafayette 
Lodge was held at his house in Bedford March 4, 
1824. A petition, asking for a lodge in Bedford 
to be hailed as Lafayette Lodge, was presented at 



this meeting, being signed by Robert Dunlap, Master, 
Thomas Rundlett, senior warden, and John ^Nloor, 
junior warden. He was master of this lodge for the 
years 1832 and 185 1. He was an honorary member 
of the Mt. Horeb Chapter and also of Trinity Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar. He married, November 
20, 1812, Fanny Ayer of Hampstead, New Hamp- 
shire, born October 22, 1793, died on May 8, 1857. 
They had twelve children: Leonard, William Ayer, 
Jesse Ayer, Thomas, James, Charles E., Thankful 
W., Sarah F., Andrew J., Susan and John, twins, 
and Lucy. 

(HI) William Ayer Rundlett, second son and 
child of Thomas and Fanny (Ayer) Rundlett was 
born in Bedford, now West Manchester, July 20, 
1815, and died in Bedford, March 15, 1880. He was 
educated in the public schools and at the academy 
at Salisbury, being a classmate in the latter insti- 
tution with the late Reverend S. C. Bartlett, presi- 
dent of Dartmouth College. He lived for a time 
in Bedford, now Piscataquog. He was in business 
with his father as a hat manufacturer for a time, 
but failing health compelled him to adopt farming 
as a vocation, and he located opposite the John A. 
McGaw estate in Bedford. He was a musician of 
prominence, having been a member of the famous 
Stark's Cornet Band of Manchester. He was widely 
known as a successful instructor in dancing. He 
was a Universalist in religious faith, and in politics 
a Democrat. He married Louisa Hayes McPherson, 
born August, 1814, died February 4, 1880, third 
daughter and fifth child of William and Sarah W. 
(French) McPherson. The McPherson family de- 
scended from a warlike people in Germany called the 
Chatti, who after bravely resisting Tiberius Ceesar 
for a long time, were forced to leave their native 
country. They embarked for Great Britain, but 
were driven by storms to the north of Scotland, A. 
D. 76. They increased rapidly and overspread all 
the northern country and formed one of the divisions 
of the Clan Chattan. Their line of descent can be 
traced to Kenneth II. They emigrated to Ireland 
to escape religious persecution, but were opposed by 
the Irish on account of their acquiring property. 
They then emigrated to America. Paul McPherson 
and his son William, came to Boston in 1732. One, 
a brother of Paul, settled in Goffstown. William 
McDowel (McDole) McPherson, father of Louisa 
Hayes McPherson, was the eldest son of John !Mc- 
Pherson, son of John McPherson, who in turn was 
a son of Paul. The children of this union were : 
Louise Caroline, Helen Mary, Thankful Fra+ices, 
Albyron Pierce, Estella Jane, William Ayer and 
Louis John, on account of whom follows in the 
next paragraph. 

(IV) Louis John Rundlett, youngest child of 
William Ayer and Louisa Hayes McPherson, was 
born in Bedford, March 14, 1858, and received his 
preliminary education in the public schools of Dis- 
trict No. 4, of that town. He then attended the 
schools of Manchester for six years, graduating 
from the high school in June, 1877. Entering Dart- 
mouth College in the fall of that year, he was gradu- 
ated therefrom in June, 1881. While in college he 
maintained a good standing in his class and for three 
years was the regular pitcher on the baseball nine. 
He was the first pitcher to take a ball from Yale. 
This happened at Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1881. 
He received flattering offers of positions on the 
famous Detroit National League team, at $2,000 a 
year and also on the Worcester National League 
team. On the advice of the late Judge C. W. Stan- 
ley of Manchester, he refused these offers and began 
teaching school in Boscawen (Penacook) and after- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1547 



ward taught at Fisherville at the rate of $300 a year. 
The following year he was employed at Concord, in 
Ward I (now Penacook) to teach at an advanced 
salary. After four years of teaching he was pro- 
moted to the suprintendency of the schools of Union 
School District, Concord, where he has since re- 
mained advancing from $1,000 to $2,000 a year in 
salary. Mr. Rundlett's course in life has proven 
him to be thoughtful, considerate and wise. As a 
young man, he was strong, active, quick to think 
and act and excelled in manly athletic sports. At- 
taining manhood with a sound, well trained and 
vigorous body, and possessing a mind trained and 
qualified for usefulness in the world, he 'chose a 
vocation where he would benefit himself and others. 
He is a person of high character and peculiarly 
fitted for the honorable place he occupies, which has 
filled his life with hard work and pleasure. His 
success and the esteem in which he is held by the 
people of Concord, are attested by his filling the po- 
sition he now occupies (1906) for twenty-two con- 
secutive years. 

He originally affiliated with the Democratic party, 
but now puts good government above party prin- 
ciples and votes for the candidate best qualified for 
the office. He is connected with no sect, but attends 
the Unitarian Church. He is a member of the 
Horace Chase Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Penacook, of Trinity Royal Arch Chapter, of Hor- 
ace Chase Council, of Mt. Horeb Commandery, 
Knights Templar, and of Bektash Temple, Order of 
the ]\Iystic Shrine, all of Concord. He is also a 
director in the Wonolancet Club. 

He married in New Britain, Connecticut, Sep- 
tember 6, 1892, Carrie Belle Copley, born at New 
Milford, Connecticut, December 19, 1869, daughter 
of George Daniel and Laura Sophia (Noble) Copley, 
a direct descendant of Copley, the noted artist. 
George D. Copley, was pay-master of Landers, Frary 
& Clark Company, New Britain. Connecticut, and 
during the Civil war, postmaster at New Milford, 
Connecticut. Among the notable persons in the 
ancestry of Carrie B. (Copley) Rundlett are: Rear- 
Admiral Thomas Graves, and Governor Henry Bell 
of Rhode Island, both of Colonial times ; Colonel 
Charles Burrall of Revolutionary fame, and Rev. 
Samuel Stone, founder of Hartford, Connecticut, a 
direct descendant of King Guir, a Welsh monarch. 
Mrs. Rundlett was educated in the common schools 
and high school of New Britain, and took the 
Kindergarten course in the Normal School of that 
city. The children of this marriage are : Copley 
McPherson, born April 22, 1893, and Lois born Sep- 
tember 24, 1901. Copley M. Rundlett is the last 
and only male descendant of this line of the Rund- 
lett family. 



The name of MacMurphy is 
MacMURPHY rarely found in books or rec- 
ords. The whole number of 
persons who bear this patronymic is comparatively 
small, but they are scattered throughout various 
states. There were several in the town of Lon- 
donderry when it was granted a charter. Two re- 
ceived homesteads in the first division of land. 

(I) Alexander MacMurphy is named on the 
"Schedule of the proprietors of Londonderry," and 
came to America with the early settlers of that 
town from Ireland. His name also appears in a 
copy of the parish tax list of 1750, directed "To Al- 
exander McCollom, old parish Constable, in Lon- 
donderry, in said province, to Colect the Minis- 
ter's Sallary on the west side of Bevor Brook, in 
said town." The amount of tax assessed upon Al- 



exander MacMurphy being 12s. pd. His wife's 
name was Janet. 

(II) James, son of Alexander, and Janet 
MacMurphy, was born in Londonderry, July 
28, 1733, and died May 30, 1792. March 14, 
1767, he received by deed from Abraham Morrison 
a farm of sixty acres, which has remained in the 
family name ever since Eventually he obtained 
possession of the next two farms, each of sixty acres, 
adjoining the former on the south. These three 
farms were the charter homestead of David Morrison, 
Samuel Morrison and Abram Holmes. There 
were houses on each farm, but James MacMurphy 
built a new house upon the first mentioned, where 
he lived and raised a large family. The house is 
still standing and occupied as a dwelling place. 
James MacMurphy was a thrifty man and accumu- 
lated an estate of considerable proportions before 
the outbreak of the Revolution. In a part of his 
house he kept a store furnishing the usual articles 
of merchandise. Mr. MacMurphy deeded the mid- 
dle and southern-most of the three farms to his son 
Alexander, and the northern-most farm descended 
by will to another son, Benjamin. James MacMur- 
phy married, in 1765, Mary Wilson, daughter of 
Nathaniel and Mary (Liggett) Wilson, of London- 
derry. She died May 10, 1818. She was buried be- 
side her husband in the old graveyard, now the 
Forest Hill cemetery of East Derry, where a suit- 
able stone marks their grave. To James and Mary 
(Wilson) MacMurphy were born children, all of 
whom survived him and lived to mature years. 
They were : Jane, Alexander. Jenny, Peggy, Mary, 
Betsey, Benjamin and Alice. 

(HI) Alexander (2), second child and eldest 
son of James and Mary (Wilson) MacMurphy, was 
born in Londonderry, March 21, 1768, and died De- 
cember 26, 1853. He received a deed of two ad- 
joining farms now owned by Mrs. Sarah A. G. 
MacMurphy, and until 1810 lived in the home by 
the Aiken brook built partly of logs and partly of 
sawed lumber. He was a merchant like his father, 
trading in general household necessities. He was 
married February 2, 1797, by Rev. William Morn'- 
son to Sally Duncan, daughter of John and Han- 
nah (Henry) Duncan, of Londonderry. To them 
were born nine children: James, John D., Benja- 
min, Hannah C, Mary, Sarah Jane, Alexander, 
Alice Henry and Eliza, i. James MacMurphy, born 
November 22, 1797, died January 28, i88t. He 
taught school many years and finally settled on 
his grandfather's farm. He was a great reader, 
and held the general traditions of the family. He 
married, April 12, 1842, Sarah Augusta Reed, of 
Londonderry, who was born in Londonderry. June 
14, 1809, and died December 25, 1894. To them 
were born two children : Henry James, who was 
born September 26, 1843, graduated from Dart- 
mouth College in 1867, and died March 3, 186S; and 
Abby Frances, born February 25, 1847. who was 
educated in Pinkerton Academy, and died Febru- 
ary, 3, 1875. 2. John Duncan was born in London- 
derry, July 3. 1800, and died at the home of his 
son, in Plattsmouth. Nebraska, March 13. 1877. He 
was educated in Pinkerton Academy, taught school 
in Londonderry, Pelham and Derry, and went to 
New Jersey ; taught school there many years from 
1830 onward. He married, (first). May i, 1834, 
Sarah E. Osterlein, of New Hampton, Hunterdon 
county. New Jersey, who was born in 1798, and died 
November 26, 1849; (second), October 15. 1852. 
Sophie Rhinehart, who was born in 1801, and died 
in New Hampton, December 12, 1870. By the first 
wife he had one son, John Alexander, who was 



1548 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



born in Xew Hampton, New Jersey. July 9, 1838. 
He was educated in Pinkerton Academy, was a 
member of the Mounted Rifles of New York under 
command of Judin Kilpatrick, was discharged from 
service as injured, and afterward served as a war 
correspondent. He was the proprietor and editor 
of various newspapers, principally in Nebraska. He 
married and died childless in Omaha, Nebraska, 
March 16, 1898. 3. Benjamin, was born May 19. 1803, 
and died in 1825. He was educated in Pinkerton 
Academy, learned surveying and died of lung trou- 
ble, as many of the family did. 4. Hannah C, was 
born January 3, 1806, was educated at Pinkerton, 
taught school some time, and died January 21, 
1837. 5- Mary, born April 4, 1808, and died in Lon- 
donderry, April I, 1893. She married, April 7, 1831, 
Nathaniel Corning, of Litchfield, by whom she had 
seven children. 6. Sarah Jane, born August 7, 1810, 
died in Andover, Massachusetts, April 26, 1893. 
She was educated in Adams Academy for Young 
Ladies in Derry. November 26, 1835, she was mar- 
ried to Jacob Chickering, piano maker of Andover, 
and Boston, by whom she had six children. 7. Alex- 
ander is mentioned in a paragraph below. 8. Alice 
Henry, born September 6, 1816, died unmarried in 
Andover, Massachusetts, February 25, 1892. She 
was a teacher for many years. 9. Eliza, born June 
17, 1821. died in Andover, Massachusetts, Septem- 
ber 4, 1856. She was a teacher from an early be- 
ginning. She never married and died at the home 
of her sister, Mrs. Jacob Chickering. 

(IV) Captain Alexander (3), seventh child and 
fourth son of Alexander (2) and Sally (Duncan) 
MacMurphy, was born in Londonderry. December 
9, 1813, and died in the house where he was born, 
July 9, 1898. He was educated at Pinkerton Acad- 
emy, worked in the piano factory of his brother-in- 
law, Jacob Chickering, moved buildings, settled es- 
tates, was assignee, guardian and trustee, owned 
considerable real estate, was in the New Hampshire 
militia ensign, captain, and lieutenant. He married, 
April 25, 1844, in Pelham. Sarah A. Gibson, who 
\yas born in Pelham, April 2, 1818, daughter of 
Jesse and Sarah (Atwood) Gibson. She died on 
the old homestead, September 5, 1907. To them 
were born six children : Jesse Gibson, mentioned 
below ; Eliza Jane, born June 19, 1848, died Febru- 
ary 3, 1858; Angeline, October 16, 1852, died Jan- 
uary 9, 1854; a daughter, February 24, 1855, died 
May 17, 1855; Emma Caroline, December 20, 1857. 
died August 10. 1865, and Hannah Jane, born July 
30, i860. She lives on the old homestead in Derry. 
She graduated from Pinkerton Academy, is a mem- 
ber of Derry Grange and of the Order of the 
Eastern Star. 

(V) Rev. Jesse Gibson MacMurphy, eldest child 
of Alexander and Sarah A. (Gibson) MacMurphy, 
was born in Derry, April 8, 1845. After leaving the 
common schools he attended Pinkerton Academy 
from 1859 to 1863 ; entered Dartmouth College in 
1865. and graduated in 1868 with the degree of 
Bachelor of Science. In 1873 he took the degree of 
Bachelor of Divinity at Nashotah Theological Sem- 
inary, was made deacon by Bishop Armitage in 
1873, and priest by Bishop Whitehouse in 1874. He 
was rector of St. Peter's, Sheboygan Falls, Wiscon- 
sin, 1873-74; Immanuel, Racine, Wisconsin, 1874-77: 
Holy Innocents, Racine, Wisconsin, 1880; St. John's 
San Francisco, 1881-84; Immanuel. Racine, a second 
time several years ■; and has been rector of the 
Church of the Transfiguration, West Derry, from 
1899 to the present time (1907). He was a teacher 
in private schools twenty years ; three years in Ra- 
cine College, three years in San Francisco, and one 
year in Baltimore. His life has been active, useful 



and successful as a preacher and a teacher, and he 
has also succeeded in a financial way. He is a di- 
rector in the First National Bank of Derry, and 
a trustee of Nutfield Savings Bank. He is a mem- 
ber of the New Hampshire Historical Society, the 
New England Historical Society, the Confraternity 
of the Blessed Sacrament, the Society for the Pro- 
motion of Christian Unity. A member of Derry 
Grange. No. 282, Patrons of Husbandry, and the 
Board of Trade of Derry. He is also a thirty-sec- 
ond degree Mason, and a member of the following 
named divisions of the order: St. Mark's Lodge, 
No. zt4, . Free and Accepted Masons, Derry; Bell 
Royal Arch Chapter, No. 25 ; Mt. Nebo Council, 
No'. IS, Royal and Select Alasters : Trinity Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar of Manchester ; and 
Edward A. Raymond Consistory, Sublime Princes 
of the Royal Secret of Nashua. He is also a mem- 
ber of Ransford Chapter, No. 3, Order of the East- 
ern Star, of Derry; and Bektash Temple of the 
Ancient Arabic Order of the Mystic Shrine, of 
Concord. 

He married, in Londonderry, April 23, 1870, 
Mary Lucy James, who was born September i, 
1846, daughter of Captain Joseph Warren and Har- 
riet Neely (Hoyt) James, of Deerfield. She is a 
graduate of the Normal School at Salem, Massa- 
chusetts, and is a successful teacher, lecturer, and 
scholar. In 1886 she visited the cities of Europe 
and made a study of art in painting, etc. There 
have been born to them three children : Sarah 
Russell, who was born in Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, 
September 29. 1871, and graduated from the New 
England Conservatory of Music in 1893. She was 
a teacher of music in St. Mary's, Dallas, Texas. 
1893-96: took music lessons of the court pianist 
Barth in Berlin, Germany. 1896-97: returned and 
was head teacher in St. Mary's 1897-98: was prin- 
cipal teacher of music in the School of Music at 
the University of West Virginia, 1898-1904: sum- 
mered and wintered for health in Wyoming, 1905-06, 
and one year in southern California (Lajola). She 
resides in Derry. Alexander James, born August 
29, 1875, at Ellison's Bay, Wisconsin, died there in 
camp, August 31, 1875. and was buried in Mound 
cemetery in Racine. Jerome Case was born in Ra- 
cine, Wisconsin, April 19, 1881. He graduated from 
the University of West Virginia-, in 1902, and taught 
school one year. For several years he has been in 
the department store of Marshall Field, Chicago. 
He married, July 14, 1906, Mabel Louisa Pullen. 
daughter of John F. and Louisa (Warner) Pullen, 
of Newtonville, Massachusetts. 

The large number bearing this name 
BROWN among the pioneer settlers of New 
England have left a very numerous 
progenv. The frequent recurrence of the same 
Christian names has rendered it extremely difficult 
to trace the descent of many. Happily, the line 
herein covered is fairly complete and includes some 
prominent citizens of New Hampshire who have 
earned distinction by their own merit and ability. 
(I) John Brown, born in England in 1588-9, 
came to Massachusetts as early as 1635, and settled 
permanently at Hampton, in what is now New 
Hampshire, in 1639. He w^as granted ' a house lot 
of - four acres,, but soon after purchased ten acres 
from John Sanders, upon which he took up his resi- 
dence. This property continued in the hands of 
his lineal descendants through seven generations. 
He must have been a man of much industiy, for he 
made several additions to this tract by purchase, 
and also acquired other tracts in various parts of 
the town. He died February 28, 1687. The records 




JESSE G. MAC MURPHY. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1549 



show that his wife's Christian name was Sarah. 
Their children were: Sarah, John, Benjamin, 
Elizabeth, Jacob, Mary, Thomas and Stephen. 
(Mention of Thomas and descendants forms part of 
this article). 

(II) Benjamin, second son and third child of 
John and Sarah Brown, was born about 1647, in 

» Hampton, and was a farmer residing in the south- 
eastern part of the town, in what is now Seabrook, 
on land received from his father. He was married, 
in 1679, to Sarah Brown, daughter of William and 
Elizabeth (Murford) Brown, pioneer settlers of 
Salisbur}', Massachusetts. She was born April 12, 
1658, in Salisbury. Their children were : William, 
Sarah, Benjamin, Elizabeth, John, Jacob, Stephen, 
Mary, Thomas and Jeremiah. 

(III) Thomas, ninth child and sixth son of Ben- 
jamin and Sarah (Brown) Brown, was born May 
21, 1699, in Hampton, and resided in that part of 
the town now Seabrook, where he died in Novem- 
ber, 1765. He was married May 2, 1729, to Mehit- 
abel, daughter of Joseph and Mehitabel (Hobbs) 
Towle, of Hampton. Their sons were : Joseph, 
Benjamin, Thomas and John. 

(IV) Joseph, eldest child of Thomas and Me- 
hitabel (Towle) Brown, was born about 1730, in 
Seabrook, and resided in Kensington, where he was 
married, September 30, 1754, to Phebe Neal. Their 
children were : Molly, Dorothy, Betty, Abigail, 
John, Nancy and Nathaniel. 

(V) Nathaniel, youngest child of Joseph and 
Phebe (Neal) Brown, was born June i, 1777, in 
Kensington. He resided at • Newburyport for a 
number of years after his marriage ; but finally left 
there in 1814 and removed to Chester, New Hamp- 
shire, and resided on the Elliott place. He married 
Mary Sleeper, of Newburyport, who was born 
March 16, 1779. Their children were : John 
Sleeper, Nathaniel, Simon, Mary, Sarah S., Eliza- 
zeth E. and Charles H. 

(VI) Nathaniel, second son and child of Nathan- 
iel and Mary (Sleeper) Brown, was born in New- 
buryport, Massachusetts, September 2, 1799, and ac- 
companied his parents on their removal to New 
Hampshire. He was a farmer and blacksmith, and 
made a specialty of the manufacture of edge tools. 
He married Sarah, daug-hter of William and Sarah 
(Hall) Graham, of Pembroke. She was educated 
at Pembroke Academy, and taught school before 
marriage. She was a member of the Methodist 
church. The children of this union were : Sarah, 
Ann, Mary J., Belinda, Abbie F., William G., 
Elizabeth, George E., Simon H. The first two died 
unmarried. Abbie F. married Simon Prescott. Wil- 
liam G. is mentioned below. George E. married 
Malone Davis, and Julia Spiller; Simon H. married 
Ella Kimball. 

(VII) William Graham, sixth child of Nathaniel 
(2) and Sarah (Graham) Brown, was born in 
that part of Chester (now Auburn), November 19, 
1838, and was educated in the common schools, 
and also by private teachers. He worked three 
years at the shoemaker's trade, and afterward 
learned the nursery business and carried it on six 
years in Auburn. He now owns and cultivates a 
farm of seventy-five acres, and is engaged in mar- 
ket-gardening. He enlisted in Company K, First 
New Hampshire Artillery, in 1864, and served a 
year as a drummer, being discharged in 1865. In 
local political faith he is a Republican, and has been 
selectman ten years, and was elected to the legisla- 
ture in 1895, serving in the session of 1896-7. He 
is a Methodist, and has been Sunday school .super- 
intendent twenty years. A member of Chester Post, 



Grand Army of the Republic, and also of Massabe- 
sic Grange No. 127, Patrons of Husbandry, and is 
past chaplain. He married (first), 1867, Mary A. 
Neal, who was born in Candia, February 21, 1839. 
and died June 21, 1897. She was the daughter of 
Peter and Mary (McDuffee) Neal, of Candia. He 
married (second), April 10, 1900, Ella F. Hanson, 
who was born in Manchester, October 13, 1847, 
daughter of Wyman and Mary (Martin) Hanson, 
of Manchester. Mrs. Brown was educated in the 
common schools and at Manchester Business Col- 
lege, and taught fifty-two terms of school. For 
twelve years she was a member of the school 
board. She is a member of Massabesec Grange, 
Patrons of Husbandry, and has passed the chairs. 
She is also a member of the Methodist Church. 

(II) Thomas, fourth son and seventh child of 
John and Sarah Brown, was born July 17, 1657, in 
Hampton, and passed his life in that town. He 
married Abial Shaw, eldest child of Joseph and 
Elizabeth (Partridge) Shaw. She was born in 
October, 1662. Their children were : Thomas, Jo- 
seph, Sarah, Elizajjeth, Ebenezer and Josiah. (Men- 
tion of Josiah and descendants appears in this ar- 
ticle). 

(HI) Ebenezer, third son and fifth child of 
Thomas and Abial (Shaw) Brown, was born about 
1696, in Hampton, and resided in what is now 
Kensington. He was married (first), November 
27. 1724, to Sobriety, daughter of Josiah and Eliza- 
beth (Worthington) Moulton. She was born Au- 
gust 14, 1694, but no record of her death appears. 
The name of Mr. Brown's second wife was Mary 
Flanders. He died October 20, 1780. His children 
were: Thomas, Ebenezer (died young), Margaret 
(died young), Martha. Mary (died young), Nathan, 
Richard, Margaret, Ebenezer, Abial. James, Jere- 
miah, Stephen and Mary. 

, (IV) Jeremiah, seventh son and twelfth child 
of Ebenezer and Mary (Flanders) Brown, was 
born July 16, 1745, in Kensington. He was an 
early settled in Loudon, New Hampshire, where 
he died May 24, 1838. He was married August 
6, 1787. to Betsey Prescott, daughter of Captain 
James Prescott, at Loudon. (See Prescott VIII). 
They were the parents of six children namely : 
Mary, Betsey, Sally, Abigail, Sophia and Jeremiah. 
Mary married Amos Barton, of Epsom ; Betsey 
married John Sargent, of Loudon ; Sally became 
the wife of Osgood Ring, of Cheltenham ; Abigail 
married Abraham Sanborn, of Pittsfield : and So- 
phia wedded Mark Prescott. of Chichester. 

(V) Jeremiah (2), sixth and youngest child 
of Jeremiah (i) and Betsey (Prescott) Brown, 
was born in Loudon May 21, 1806. He resided in 
Loudon, and was engaged in farming until 1853, 
when he removed to Concord, where he lived the 
remainder of his life. For years he had charge of 
the work of repairing the streets of Concord, and 
did his work in a skillful and efficient manner. He 
was a Republican in political sentiment, and at- 
tended the Baptist Church. He married Mary 
Jane, daughter of Samuel and Mary (Thompson) 
Batchelder, of Loudon, by whom he had five chil- 
dren : Elizabeth Ann, Sarah Jane, George A., 
Jeremiah Warren and Warren. Sarah Jane mar- 
ried. December. 1853, Jonathan Lane, of Concord ; 
Elizabeth, Jeremiah W. and Warren died young. 

(VI) George A., third child and oldest son of 
Jeremiah and Mary Jane (Batchelder) Brown, was 
born in Loudon, April 14, 1836, and acquired his 
education in the common schools of Loudon and 
Concord. At the -age of eighteen he entered the 
wagon factory of Abbott & Downing, where he 



■DD 



O 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



learned the wheelwright's trade. This firm has a 
remarkable record for selecting and keeping com- 
petent employes, and Mr. Brown's period of service 
with them exceeded that of any other man. For 
fifty-two years after he began to learn his trade, 
he was continuously in the employ of this company. 
His unusual record is a very high testimonial of 
his qualifications as a workman, and his strict and 
undeviating attention to one employment. Mr. 
Brown was an accomplished artist, and painted 
numerous pictures of merit from an artistic point 
of view. He died February 6, 1907. In politics he 
was a Republican. He married (first). Grace 
Young, and (second), Lizzie Coffin, who was born 
in Concord. By the first marriage there was one 
son, Fred Irving Brown, who died some years 
since. 

(III) Josiah, youngest child of Thomas and 
Abial (Shaw) Brown, was born November 15, 1701, 
in Hampton, and lived at Hampton Falls and Ken- 
sington. He married (first), January i, 1724, 
Elizabeth Toule, daughter of Philip and Zipporah 
(Bracket) Towle. She was born December 9, 
1699. and died about the end of the year 1733. Mr. 
Brown was married (second), December 5, 1744, 
to Mary Bradbury. His children were Zipporah, 
Caleb, Josiah (died young), Elizabeth, Josiah, Ben- 
jamin, Hannah, Mary, Rebecca and Samuel. 

(IV) Caleb, eldest son and second child of Jo- 
siah and Elizabeth (Toule) Brown, was born March 
3. 1726. at Hampton Falls, and resided in Kensing- 
ton. No record of his marriage appears, and it 
seems impossible to discover the maiden name of 
Tiis wife. Her christian name, however, was Lydia; 
and record of the birth of three of their children 
appears. It is probable that there were several 
others, as a period of twenty years elapsed be- 
tween the birth of the eldest and that of the young- 
est. They were: James, Elizabeth and Caleb. 

(V) James, eldest child of Caleb and Lydia 
Brown, was born September 17, 1755, in Kensing- 
ton, and settled in the town of Weare, New Hamp- 
shire, as a very young man. Tradition says he came 
there before the Revolution. He located in the 
North Range near the northeast corner of Weare, 
New Hampshire, and moved over the townline into 
Henniker about_ 1800. He died August 23, 1842. 
He was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, and 
served in Rhode Island and at Saratoga. He was 
married, December 8. 1779, to Anna Emery, who 
was born July 2. 1761. daughter of Caleb and Su- 
sannah (Worthley) Emery. (See Emery, V.) 
James and Anna (Emery) Brown had three chil- 
dren: (t) Lydia, born Februaj-y 16, 1780, mar- 
ried John Newton ; (2) Susannah, born February 
2T, T783, died unmarried; (3) Moses, born Novem- 
ber 2. T78?, died April 26, 1858. 

(VI) Moses, only son of James and Anna 
(Emery) Brown, was born in Henniker, November 
2, 1785. He was a farmer like his father before 
him. He died April 26, 1858. He was a man 
above his fellows in many wavs. and was held in 
high esteem for his business ability. He was select- 
man ten years, moderator seven years and repre- 
sentative in the New Hampshire' legislature nine 
years. He married Abigail Folsom, of Deering, and 
lived in _ Henniker. She died October 17. 1863. 
Their children were: (t) Anna, born February 20, 
i8to. died unmarried, October 16, 1843; (2) Jesse, 
born April 22, 1812, died unmarried January 4, 
1874; (3) David Folsom, born October 29. 1813 ; 
(s) Josiah, born October 14, i8t8, physician "in 
Lvnn, Vermont, died October 15, t868: (5) James 
Brackenbury, born September 7, 1826, died June 23, 
1896. 



(VII) David Folsom, soft of Moses and Abigail 
(Folsom) Brown, was born in Henniker, October 
29, 1813, died June 11, 1890. As a young man he 
taught school, teaching two years in Martha's Vine- 
yard. For a period of twenty-eight years he was 
engaged in the mercantile business in New Lon- 
don, Weare Center and Hillsborough Bridge, New 
Hampshire. In 1864 he moved to Concord, New / 
Hampshire, and bought the "Ben Gage" shoe store, 
where he was for a number of years engaged in 
the shoe business under the firm name of Brown 

& Moore. He was very much interested in the 
Methodist Church, and in the cause of education. 
He married Betsey Jane Butler, of Hillsborough 
Bridge, November 27, 1845. They had one child, 
James Butler, born September 23, 1848. 

(VIII) James Butler, only child of David Fol- 
som and Betsey Jane (Butler) Brown, was born in 
Weare, New Hampshire, September 23, 1848. 
He learned mercantile business in the store 
of his father, and that of his uncle, James S. But- 
ler, of Hillsborough Bridge, and early in life en- 
gaged in trade and became a successful merchant 
in Wentworth, New Hampshire. He is a stirring 
business man, with a good deal of public spirit. For 
twenty-seven years he has been postmaster. He 
is a prominent Mason, and has attained the thirty- 
second degree in that ancient and honorable fra- 
ternity. In politics he is a Republican. He and 
his family attend the Congregational Church. He 
married. May 22, 1872, Eva M. Merrill, daughter 
of Russell Merrill, of Warren, New Hampshire. 
They have three children: Harry James, born 
March 2, 1873, is mentioned at length below. Da- 
vid Russell, born June 9, 1879, graduated from the 
University of Vermont, medical department, in 
1902. He was married September 21, 1904, to Mary 
Wheeler Northrup, of Burlington, Vermont; he is 
a physician in Danville, Vermont. Bessie Jane, born 
August 24. 1881, was married November 20, 1905, 
to Charles Ayers Young, of Lisbon, New Hamp- 
shire. 

(IX) Harry James, son of James B. and Eva 
M. (Merrill) Brown, was born in Wentworth, New 
Hampshire, March 2, 1873 ; attended the public 
schools of Wentworth, and the high school of Con- 
cord. New Hampshire, graduating from the latter 
in the class of 1891. He entered Dartmouth Col- 
lege in the fall of that year, and graduatel with the 
class of 1S95 with the degree of B. S. After leav- 
ing college he read law in the office of Leach & 
Stevens, in Concord. New Hampshire, ^entering the 
law department of Columbian LTniversity in Wash- 
ington, D. C, in the fall of 1895, from which in 
1897 he received the degree of LL. B., and later in 
1899 that of LL. M. While in- Washington he was 
employed in the department of agriculture, in the 
Section of Foreign Markets, where he was engaged 
during the day, and attended law school in the 
evening. He was admitted to the bar in July, 1899, 
and began to practice the same year in Concord, 
New Hampshire. Lie is now well established _ in 
general practice and has a constantly increasing 
clientele. A Republican in politics, he was elected 
a member of the common council of Concord in 
1904. He is a thirty-second degree Mason, be- 
longing to the Masonic bodies located in Concord, 
and to the Consistory in Nashua, New Hampsliire, 
and also belongs to Capital Grange, located in Con- 
cord. 



Thomas Brown, a member of the 

BROWN Brown family of Hampton, a sketch 

of whose earlier generations appears 

in this work, was born May 23, 1780, probably in 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



155' 



Hampton or Stratham, and died October 24, 1848. 
He moved to Deerfield, and in 1826 or 1828 to 
Wilmot. He married (first), November 4, 1806, 
Rebecca Bartlett, who was born May 23, 1780, 
probably in Stratham, and died July 24, 1807; (sec- 
ond), September 26, 1809, Rachel Smith, who was 
born probably in Stratham, August 14, 1788, and 
died September i, 1853. The children of Thomas 
and Rebecca were: Rebecca (died young), Smith, 
John, Rebecca, Thomas, Joseph G., James, Ruth and 
Asa. 

(H) Joseph Goodhue, sixth child and fourth son 
of Thomas and Rachel (Smith) Brown, was born 
in Deerfield, March 25, 1820, and died at Wilmot 
Center, IMarch 20, 1896. He was a farmer by oc- 
cupation. He was taken by his parents to Wilmot 
when eight years of age. After that time he lived 
in Wilmot, mostly in the northern part of the town, 
until the time of his death. In 1843 he was con- 
verted at a campmeeting to the Methodist faith, 
and was ever afterward a strong adherent to its 
doctrines, for many years being a class leader. In 
politics he was a Democrat. April 24, 1845, he mar- 
ried Mary Ann Vinton, of Cornish, born May 26, 
1823, and died October 3, 1891, aged sixty-eight 
years. Their children were : Lucy Amelia, died 
young; Lucy Jane, born August 6, 1851, married 
Horace Pingree in 1893, and died at Wilmot. June 
1890; Helen A., born September, 1854, died Febru- 
ary, 1901 ; Mary Emma, born January 12, 1855, now 
living at Wilmot; Ernest, the subject of the next 
paragraph. 

(Ill) Ernest, fifth and youngest child of Joseph 
G. and Mary Ann (Vinton) Brown, was born in 
Wilmot, December 14, 1869. He was educated at 
the Kearsarge School of Practice at Wilmot, and the 
New Hampshire Seminary at Tilton. He engaged 
in newspaper work some time before attaining his 
majority, and has spent about twenty years in that 
line of employment. He worked on the Franklin 
Transcript four years; the Nashua Daily Telegraph 
five years; was foreman of the Nashua Daily Press 
three years ; was editor of the Franklin Journal 
Transcript a short time; for five years was fore- 
man of the composing room of the Nashua Tele- 
graph; night editor of the Lowell Daily Mail one 
year; and since March, 1905, has been editor and 
manager of the Rochester Record. He is a Mason, 
a member of Ancient York Lodge, No. 89, Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Nashua, a charter mem- 
ber of Granite State Commandery, No. 196, Ancient 
and Independent Order Knights of Malta, Nashua, 
of which he is past commander ; as a member of the 
Grand Commandery of Maine and New Hampshire 
he has filled various offices in that body, being 
elected in June, 1907, to the position of grand gener- 
alissimo, placing him in line for the position of grand 
commander in 1908. He married, November 5, 1899, 
Ella May Blackmun, born April 12, 1866, daughter 
of William J. M. and Jennie (Lamoy) Blackmun, 
of Nashua. Mr. and Mrs. Brown are members of 
the Methodist Church, and are active Christian 
workers. They have one child, Dorothea Eleanor, 
born November 5, 1902. Mrs. Brown is descended 
as follows : 

(i) Luke Shurman Blackmun was born in Con- 
necticut, June 12, 1775, and about 1800 rnoved to 
northern New York, where he obtained title to a 
large tract of wild land at Mooers. There he was 
an early, settler, and there he passed many years 
of his life in clearing and making improvements on 
his farm. His name was originally Blackman, but 
in order that he and his descendants might be dis- 
tinguished from all the other Blackmans he had the 



cognomen changed to Blackmun. lie married, De- 
cember 13, 1797, Sally Foster, daughter of Rev. 
John Foster, who was born April 21, 1780. Their 
ten children were : Delia, Polly, Judith Foster, 
Sally Ann, Luke Sherman, Andrew Josiah, Lydia 
Amelia, William Sherman, Martha Ann and David 
Savage. 

(2) William Sherman, eighth child and third 
son of Luke S. and Sally (Foster) Blackmun, was 
born December 15, 1816, and died in 1874, aged fifty- 
eight years. He married, February 20, 1838, Philena 
Manning, born at Franklin, Province of Quebec, Sep- 
tember 3, 1818, died at Mooers, in 1873. She was 
the sixth child of John and Phebe (Latten) Man- 
ning. They had ten children : Andrew Perkins, 
Cyrus Judson, W^illiam John Manning, Calvin Lu- 
ther, Richard Lattin, Elizabeth Philena, Delia 
Sweet, Sarah Nelly, Elbert Foster and Emma 
Jane. 

(3) William John Manning, third son and child 
of William S.. and Philena (Manning) Blackmun. 
was born January 4, 1844, at Mooers, New York. 
He married Eliza Jennie Lamov, and their children 
are: Ella M.. John M., Philena J. and Reuel A. 
Ella May, born April 12, 1866, married Ernest 
Brown, now of Rochester. 

The family of Lamoy is small and a comparatively 
newly settled one in the United States, the ancestor, 
Philip Lamoy, having settled here since the indepen- 
dence of the United States was established. 

(i) Philip Lamoy was born in France, February 
29, 1784, and died July 3, 1852. He was brought 
to this country when four years old, and resided 
near Plattsburg, New York. He died not far from 
Plattsburg, where he was visiting, from drinking 
too much water. He married Jeanne Paul, born 
September 10, 1782, died April 2, 1847. She is said 
to have been the daughter of Robert Paul, of the 
same family of which John Paul Jones, the famous 
Revolutionary sea captain, was a member, but the 
exact genealogical connection is not known by the 
present members of the Lamoy family. By his first 
wife, whose name is not known, Mr. Lamoy had 
one child, Mar3^ By his third wife, Jeanne Paul, 
he had : Philip, Margaret, Julia and William. 

(2) Philip (2), eldest child of Philip (i) and 
Jeanne (Paul) Lamoy, was born in Plattsburg, New 
York, October 13, 1816, and died in Chazy, New 
York. October 11, 1901. He married, February 7, 
1841, at Whitehall, New York, Charlotte Eaton 
Switzer, born February 5, 1818, at Warren, ]\Iassa- 
chusetts, died at Chazy, New York, December 13. 
1897, aged eighty. The Switzers were and are a 
well known family of Northern New York. Philip 
(2) and Charlotte E. (Switzer) Lamoy had eleven 
children : Eliza Jennie, Mary Cornelia, Timothy 
Thomas, Sarah Elizabeth, Francis Henr}-, Julia 
Ann, Charlotte Caroline. Philip Charles, Albert 
Bently, William Joseph and Antoinette Aurelia. 

(3) Eliza Jennie, eldest child of Philip (2) and 
Charlotte E. (Switzer) Lamoy, was born February 
15, 1842, at Rutland, Vermont, and married. May 
15, 1866, William John Manning Blackmun, of 
Mooers, New York. Came to Nashua, New Hamp- 
shire, December, 1888. 

(Second Family.) 

The families of this name are numer- 

BROWN ous and of different ancestral stocks, 

but the same has furnished many men 

prominent in the business, political, religious and 

social circles of the various states. 

(I) Richard Brown, the immigrant ancestor of 
a prominent branch of the Brown family, is first of 
record in Newbury, Massachusetts, as early as 1635. 



1552 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



and probably is the Richard Brown who came 
from England in the ship "Mary and John" in the 

3-ear 1633. He married (first), Edith , who 

died in 1647, and (second), February 16, 1648, 
Elizabeth (Greenleaf) Badger, daughter of Edmund 
Greenleaf, and widow of Giles Badger. He died 
April 16, 1661. 

(H) Joshua, son of Richard and Edith Brown, 
was born April 10, 1642, in Newbury, where he 
spent his life and died in 1720. He married, Jan- 
uary 15, 1669, Sarah Sawyer, daughter of William 
and Ruth Sawyer, born in Newbury, November 20, 
165 1. They had seven children. 

(HI) Deacon Joseph, son of Joshua and Sarah 
(Sawyer) Brown, was born in Newbury, October 
II, 1669, and followed the vocation of trader. 
About 1700 he removed from Newbury to Ames- 
bury, Massachusetts. He died in 1732, leaving a 
will' in which he provided a legacy to the First 
Church of Amesbury, of which he was a deacon. 
He left a widow Sarah, and five surviving children. 
His youngest son, Dr. Simeon Brown, married 
Hannah Young, daughter of Henry Young, and 
lived in Kingston, and subsequently in Haverhill, 
]\Iassachusetts. Among the children of Dr. Simeon 
Brown was Henry Young Brown, a captain in the 
French and Indian war, who received a grant of 
land in recognition of conspicuous service, and was 
the founder of Brownfield, Maine. 

(IV) Joshua (2), son of Joseph and Sarah 
Brown, was born in Amesbury, about 1702, and for 
twenty years was a tailor in that town. In 1745 
he bought the homestead in Kingston of his brother, 
Dr. Simeon Brown, and removed to that town, 
where he was a merchant and accumulated a good 
estate. He died in Kingston, April 23, 1756. He 
married in Salisbury. December 8, 1726, Joanna 
Morrill, born in Salisbury, February 17, 1708, 
daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth (Stevens) Mor- 
rill. She married (second) before 1762, Jonathan 
Brown, of Kensington. A record of the birth of 
six children of Joshua and Joanna Brown is found 
in Salisbury and a record of the baptism of three 
appears in the church records of Kingston. 

(V) Joseph (2), son of Joshua and Joanna 
(Morrill) Brown, was born April 28, 1733, and bap- 
tized in Salisbury, Second Church, May 13. 1733. 
He accompanied his father's family on its removal 
to Kingston in 1745. when he was twelve years 
old. He was a resident of the latter place until 
1760, and was one of the petitioners for the di- 
vision of Kingston and the incorporation of Hawke, 
now Danville. His homestead was in the north 
part of the new town. He was a worthy citizen 
and an active business man. He signed the asso- 
ciation test in 1776, and was a soldier in the Rev- 
olution. In 1781 he removed from Hawke to An- 
dover, where he died April 6, 1812. He married 
in Kingston, December 29, 1757, Elizabeth Sawyer, 
baptized 1738. daughter of Joseph and Dorothy 
(Brown) Sawyer. She died July 13, 1813. Chil- 
dren: I. Joseph, born in Kingston, March 31, 
1759, died in Andover, July 29. 1843. 2. Isaac, born 
in Hawke, May 24, 1761, died in Andover, March 
31, 1812. 3. Moses, baptized in Hawke, November 
3, 1765; lived in Andover. 4. Nathaniel, baptized in 
Hawke, May 27, 1770; lived in Franklin. 5. Henry, 
baptized in Hawke, February 14, 1773. (See for- 
ward). 

(VI) Henry, son of Joseph and Elizabeth (Saw- 
yer) Brown, was baptized February 14, 1773. He 
was a farmer in Bridgewater, occupying the Wood- 
man farm on the river road. He died in 1834. He 
married Lovie Ladd, a sister of Theophilus Ladd, 
of Augusta, Maine. They had four children: i. 



Hannah, born about 1800, died 1862. 2. James, born 
July 3, 1805. 3. Child, died September 29, 1818. 
4. Mary Potter, born September 12, 1816; married 
Seth Spencer. 

(VII) James, son of Henry and Lovie (Ladd) 
Brown, was born July 3, 1805, in Andover. He was 
a farmer and a respected citizen of New Hampton, 
and later of Bridgewater, and a deacon of the Sec- 
ond Baptist Church of Bridgewater. In 1867 he re- 
moved to Bristol. After the death of his wife he 
had a home several years with his son, John H. 
Brown. He died in Plymouth, at the home of his 
son, Manson S. Brown, January 17. 1898. He mar- 
ried, November 18, 1830, Judith Blaisdell Harran, 
daughter of John and Nancy (Pressey) Harran, 
born in Bridgewater, January 12, 1807, died June 
12, 1883. The father of John Harran left 
Ireland when a young man, and came to 
America and was a Revolutionary soldier from 
Massachusetts. They had nine children : i. Mary 
Elizabeth, born in Bridgewater, December 5. 1831 ; 
married Dudley Marshall. 2. Joseph Harran, born 
in New Hampton, December 19, 1833. 3- Manson 
S., born in Bridgewater, November 29, 1835. 4. 
John Henry, died in infancy. 5. Hester Ann, born 
in Bridgewater, January 25. 1839 ; married Melvin 
A. Dame. 6. H.'*nnah Angeline, born in Bridgewa- 
ter, July 31, 1841; married John D. Harris; died 
in Ipswich, Massachusetts, April 5, 1893. 7. Jo- 
sephine G., born in Bridgewater, February 5, 1844; 
married William H. Abel ; died June 20, 1869. 8. 
Lavinia G., born April 13, 1847 ; married William 
H. Abel ; died August 7, 1870. 9. John Henry, 
subject of following paragraph: 

(VIII) General John Henry Brown, fourth son 
and ninth and youngest child of James and Judith 
(Harran) Brown, was born May 20, 1850, at 
Bridgewater, New Hampshire. He acquired his pri- 
mary education in the common schools, and at the 
age of sixteen he was apprenticed to the machinist's 
trade in Greenville, Rhode Island, and went with 
his employers from that place to Bennington, Ver- 
mont, continuing his apprenticeship through a pe- 
riod of three years. Having saved his earnings 
he now took up further studies at the New Hamp- 
ton Literary Institution, where he continued nearly 
two years. On account of the ill health of his 
parents he returned to his home in Bristol, and was 
employed in a shop and store and in various ways 
until 1873. He established a small store in Bristol, 
which he conducted a few years, and subsequently 
became associated with James T. Sanborn in the 
lumber business, and their undertakings developed 
on an extensive scale. They operated a mill in Bris- 
tol, and did a large business in lumber jobbing in 
other sections of the state, and also in Vermont and 
Canada. Upon the death of Mr. Sanborn, Mr. 
Brown, being not in robust health, discontinued the 
business. He was subsequently in the railway mail 
service for about a year, and was appointed post- 
master at Bristol under President Arthur, serving 
four years. For a period of seven years he served 
as chairman of the board of selectmen of Bristol ; 
was deputy sheriff, and in i8gi represented Bris- 
tol in the state legislature. In the same year he 
was appointed freight and claim agent of the Con- 
cord & Montreal railroad, and after the lease of 
that road to the Boston & Maine railroad, he was 
claim agent for that road in New Hampshire, re- 
moving to Concord in 1895. In 1904 he was ap- 
pointed postmaster at Concord and resigned his po- 
sition with the railroad company. He is a director 
of the First National Bank of Concord. He was 
commissary general on • the staff of Governor 
Busiel, 1895, and 1896 ; has been a member of the 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1553 



Republican state committee for twenty-six j'cars ; 
and for four years, 1900 to 1904, was chairman of 
the Republican city committee of Concord. In 
1900 he was a presidential elector, and was a dele- 
gate to the Republican national convention in St. 
Louis, 1896, being one of the original McKinley men. 
He is a member of the Wonolancet, Commercial 
and Webster clubs of Concord, and of the Dcrry- 
field Club, of Manchester. General Brown is a 
member and past master of Union Lodge No. 79, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Bristol, a member 
of Pemigewasset Chapter No. 13, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons, of Plymouth, Mount Horeb Commandery. 
Knights Teniplar, and Bektash Temple of the Mys- 
tic Shrine, of Concord. He owes his popularity 
and prominence in commercial and political affairs 
to his natural ability and his genial and companion- 
able dispo.sition. He was married, June 10, 1872, to 
Marietta Sanborn Lougee, born September 22, 1849, 
in Sanbornton, a daughter of Deacon Joseph and 
Sarah (Cram) Lougee. 

(Third Family.) 

This name was very early planted in 

BROWN New England, in various localities, 

and has numerous representatives 

scattered throughout the nation. The line herein 

traced was very conspicuously identified with the 

colony of Rhode Island in its inception and other 

later periods dowm to the present day. 

(I) Rev. Chad Brown, one of the most honored 
representatives of the name, came from England 
in the ship "Martin" in July, 1638. His name ap- 
pears as a witness to the nun-cupative will of a 
passenger, who died on the voyage. About this time 
occurred the "Anabaptist" heresy, and many of the 
Boston colonists removed to the Providence Planta- 
tion. It is probable that Mr. Brown was among 
these, for his tombstone erected by the town of 
Providence bears the record that he was "e.xiled from 
Massachusetts for consciences' sake." By some au- 
thorities the date of his arrival is erroneously fixed 
as early as 1636, but the most probable date seems 
to be the autumn of 1638, when Roger Williams 
and twelve others executed what is known as the 
"initial" assigning of lands, acquired by purchase 
from the Indians. Mr. Brown at once became 
a leader in the colony, and when after a few 
months the restless Williams found that the church 
would not implicitly accept his teachings and again 
seceded, Mr. Brown was chosen as his successor. 
He was formerly ordained elder in England, in 
1642, and assumed that ofifice on his return and 
was in reality the first elder of the oldest Baptist 
Church in America. Prior to his ordination serious 
dissensions had arisen in the Colony involving a 
quarrel with Massachusetts, and Mr. Brown was 
appointed a member of the committee to make 
peace. His influence in shaping the early ten- 
dencies of the Colony was marked, and it is proba- 
ble but that for his resolute character and judicious 
management some of the restless spirits that com- 
posed the Colony would have come to blows on nu- 
merous questions of civil and religious import. So 
successful was he in adjusting these quarrels of his 
flock that the honorable title of "peacemaker" was 
popularly accorded him, and more than a century 
after his death (in 1792) the town of Providence 
voted a modest sum of money to erect a stone over 
his grave in the north burying ground whither 
his remains were removed at that date. In his 
history of the Baptist Church, Hague speaks of 
him as follows : "Contemporary with Roger Wil- 
liams, he possessed a cooler temperament and was 
happily adapted to sustain the interests of religion 



just where that great man failed. Not being af- 
fected by the argument of the seekers he main- 
tained his standing firmly in a churth, which he 
believed to be founded on a rock of eternal truth, 
even the word of God which abides forever." From 
the little that can be now learned of his character 
and record it is plain that he was highly esteemed 
as a man of christian spirit and of sound judg- 
ment. He lived in a community where individual 
influence was needed as a substitute for well-estab- 
lished laws, and he won that commendation which 
the Saviour pronounced when he said: "Blessed 
are the' peacemakers for they shall be called the 
children of God." 

In 1640. the first established cede of laws for the 
Colony, which was adopted and continued in force 
until the arrival of the charter three years later, 
was written by a committee consisting of Robert 
Cole, Chad Brown, William Harris and John War- 
ren. To this report or agreement Chad Brown's 
name is the first signed and it is followed by forty 
others. It is probable that he wrote the draft. Rev. 
Chad Brown died probably in 1665. 

(II) Elder John Brown, the eldest son of Rev. 
Chad Brown, was born in England, in 1629-30, and 
accompanied his father when he went to Provi- 
dence, being at that time about eight years of age. 
About 1665 he was chosen a member of the town 
council and was a deputy governor of the Colony, 
and was afterwards elder in the First Baptist 
Church of Providence. He resided at the north 
end of the town, northward of the house of Elisha 
Brown. He married . Mary Holmes, daughter of 
Rev. Obadiah Holmes, who was the second pastor 
of the First Church in Newport, Rhode Island. 

(III) Rev. James Brown, son of Elder John 
and Mary (Holmes) Brown, was born 1666, in 
Providence, and died there October 28, 1732. He 
lived at the northend where his father had lived, 
and was pastor of the First Baptist Church. The 
various annals represent him as a man of great 
piety and power for good in the church and com- 
munity. He married Mary Harris, daughter of 
Andrew and granddaughter of William Harris, of 
Providence. 

(IV) Elisha Brown, son of Rev. James and 
Mary (Harris) Brown, was born May 25, 1717, in 
Providence, where he resided and died April 20, 
1802. He was a member of the general assembly 
for many years, and was deputy governor of the 
Colony from 1765 to 1767. He married (first), 
Martha Smith, a descendant of John Smith, the 
miller; and (second), Hannah (Barker) Gushing, 
widow of Elijah Gushing, and daughter of James 
Barker. 

(V) Elisha (2) Brown, son of Elisha (i) and 
Martha (Smith) Brown, was born June r, 1749, in 
Providence, Rhode Island, and continued to reside 
there throughout life, dying in March, 1827. He was 
a successful merchant of good standing in his native 
city. He married. April 24, 1774, Elizabeth Bowen, 
of Rehoboth, Massachusetts. 

(VI) John Brown, son of Elisha (2) and Eliza- 
beth (Bowen) Brown, was born January 20. 1784. 
in Providence, Rhode Island, and was a prominent 
merchant in that cit}-, where he died. He married 
Elizabeth Daggett, of Seekonk, Rhode Island, and 
they had five sons, all over six feet tall except Col- 
ville D., who was five feet and eight inches. 

(VII) Colville Dana Brown, son of John and 
Elizabeth (Daggett) Brown, was born July 4. 1814, 
in Providence, Rhode Island. He began existence 
about the close of the second war with Great Britain, 
and was reared in an atmosphere fully charged with 



1554 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



New England patriotism. He was employed in the 
cotton mills as a printer until i860, when he was 
appointed to a position in the government commis- 
sary department. After the war closed he was ap- 
pointed superintendent of Capitol grounds at Wash- 
ington, D. C, a position he held for thirty years, 
until his death, January 2, 1898, in Providence, 
Rhode Island. He was a Whig until the formation 
of the Republican party, when he became an ardent 
supporter of that party. He married, 1840, Mary 
Eliza Rhodes (see Rhodes ancestry), and their 
children were : John Colville, Robert Dana, Mary 
Eliza, Elisha Rhodes, Lizzie Ellen, Carrie Mitchell, 
Emily Louise and Charles Nichols. 

(VHI) Elisha Rhodes Brown, third son and 
fourth child of Colville Dana and Eliza (Rhodes) 
Brown, was born in Providence, Rhode Island, 
March 28, 1847. The family removed to Dover, New 
Hampshire, when he was a lad and here he was ed- 
ucated in the public schools. He began his business 
life as a clerk in the dry goods store of Trickey & 
Bickford, Dover, where he remained four years. In 
1867 Mr. Brown entered the Stratford National Bank 
as teller, and from that time until the present (1907) 
he has been actively connected with that and its sis- 
ter institution, the Stratford Savings Bank. The 
first named was established in 1803 and ran as a 
state bank until 1865, when it organized under the 
national banking laws and became a national bank. 
The Savings Bank was organized in 1823. Both 
are highly rated and successful institutions. Mr. 
Brown was also a director of the National Bank, and 
in 1876 was advanced to the position of cashier. In 
1897 he was elected president, the position he now 
worthily occupies. In 1883 he became a trustee of 
the Strafford Savings Bank, and in 1891 was elected 
president. Besides his active connection with the 
banks, Mr. Brown has been closely identified with 
many other important enterprises and public insti- 
tutions. He was a director in the Manchester & 
Lawrence railroad, Dover & Winnepiseogee railroad. 
West Amesbury Branch railroad. Eastern New 
Hampshire railroad and others. He is now a direc- 
tor in the Cocheco Manufacturing Company, and 
Concord & Portsmouth railroad. In fact during his 
forty-four years of business life in Dover every 
worthy and legitimate public enterprise has had 
his hearty support. On February 5, 1889, Governor 
Sawyer and Council appointed Mr. Brown one of 
the commissioners for New Hampshire at the cele- 
bration of the Centennial of the Inauguration of 
General Washington in New York City. Politically 
Mr. Brown supports the men and measures of the 
Republican party. He is a member of the Congre- 
gational Church of Dover, as is his family. He 
is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, of Dover. He stands very high in the 
Masonic order, being a member of Strafford Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Belknap Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons ; Orphan Council, Royal and Select 
Masters, and St. Paul's Commandery, Knights 
Templar, all of Dover. In Scottish Rite Masonry 
he has all the degrees up to and including the 
thirty-second degree, and is a member of the New 
Hampshire Consistory of Nashua. 

Elisha R. Brown married Frances Bickford (see 
Bickford), October 18, 1870. Their children are: 
I. Alphonso Bickford, born January 23, 1872. He 
graduated from Yale College in 1S94, choosing medi- 
cine as his profession; he entered the Harvard Medi- 
cal College, graduating in 1897, after which he passed 
two years in the Boston City Hospital, thoroughly 
qualifying as a general practitioner. He located at 
Newburyport, ^Massachusetts, where he practiced 



six years, until his death, October 17, 1906. He mar- 
ried October 3, 1899, Edith Lawrence, daughter of 
Mayor Huse, of Newburyport, who was also editor 
of the Nezvhiiryport Nczvs. They had one daughter, 
Elizabeth Lawrence Brown, born July 6, 1903. Dr. 
Brown was a member of the Dover Congregational 
Church, and at the time of his death was president 
of the Newburyport Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation. He was a man of commanding physique, 
thoroughly versed in his profession, and greatly 
beloved by those who enjoyed his friendship. 2. 
Harold Winthrop, born November 8, 1875. He is 
a graduate of Harvard College, and holds the respon- 
sible position of treasurer of the Strafford Savings 
Bank. He married, June 15. 1899, Catherine Van 
Hovenberg, of Eau Claire, Wisconson, a graduate 
of Smith College. 3. and 4. Raymond Gould and 
Philip Carter, born August 27, 1885. Both are 
graduates of Harvard College. Raymond G. is now- 
attending Harvard Law School, and Philip C. the 
Boston School of Technology. 

Mr. Brown's residence is on Silver street, Dover, 
where he has a well chosen library of choice litera- 
ture, historical works having the preference. His 
collection of steel engravings is very large, and 
among the thousands of engravings are reproduc- 
tions of the best work of the great masters in art. 

Elisha Rhodes Brown descends through his mother, 
Mary Eliza (Rhodes) Brown, from (i) Roger 
Williams, the famous Baptist minister. Roger Wil- 
liams was born in Cornwall county, England, about 
1600, came to Massachusetts Bay in 1630, being 
banished therefrom, and became the founder of 
Providence, Rhode Island, 1636. He was a captain 
of the militia and governor of Rhode Island. He 
helped organize the first Baptist Church of Provi- 
dence, and it is disputed whether he or the Rev. 
Charles Brown was the first pastor. He died in 1683, 
and his remains now rest under a monument in 
Roger Williams' Park, Providence. His wife died 
in 1676. 

(2) Mercy Williams, daughter of Roger Wil- 
liams, was born in Providence, Rhode Island, July 
15, 1640, and there she died. She married Resolved 
Waterman. 

(3) Waite Waterman, daughter of Resolved and 
Mercy (Williams) Waterman, was born in Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, 1668, and died in Warwick, 
Rhode Island. She married John Rhodes, son of 
Zachary Rhodes, a land proprietor and deputy of 
Warwick to the general assembly, 1663-64-65. John 
Rhodes was born in Warwick, 1658, married Waite 
Waterman, February 12, 1685, died in Warwick, 
August 14, 1718. He was a leading lawyer of the 
colony, and King's attorney for several years. 

(4) Major John Rhodes, son of John and Waite 
(Waterman) Rhodes, was born in Warwick, Rhode 
Island, Nevember 20, 1691. He married Catherine 
Bolden, of Warwick, January 29, 1714, and died in 
Warwick, 1776. He was an officer in the Colonial 
army and deputy in the general assembly. 

(5) Captain Charles Rhodes, son of Major John 
and Catherine (Bolden) Rhodes, was born in War- 
wick, Rhode Island, September 29, 1719. He mar- 
ried Deborah, daughter of Peter Green, January 31, 
I739> and died in Cranston, Rhode Island, 1777. He 
was a sea captain and later a Baptist minister. Deb- 
orah Green, born February 4, 1720, the great-great- 
grandmother of Mary Eliza Rhodes, mother of 
Elisha Rhodes Brown, was the daughter of Peter 
Green, born January 20, 1682, died June 5, 1728, of 
Warwick, who was the grandson of John Green, 
who was deputy governor of Rhode Island several 
years, and a man of distinction and influence in the 




7ne Lev/is J^uhhshmo 



i: tilth, -r.N.Y 




i? 



a K ^ 



cr?^. 



u 






NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



o:dd 



Colony. His father was one of the earliest settlers 
of Warwick, to which place he came from Salisl)ury, 
England. The Green family is one of the most 
distinguished and powerful in Rhode Island. It has 
had a member in every session of the general as- 
sembly from the founding of Warwick in 1642. 
The general in the Revolution who was 
second only to General Washington, Nathaniel 
Green, was of this family. 

(6) Captain Peter Rhodes, son of Captain Charles 
and Deborah (Green) Rhodes, was born in War- 
wick, Rhode Island, February 24, 1741, and died in 
Warwick, 1823. He married Hesta Arnold, daugh- 
ter of Simon Arnold, March 22, 1761. Captain Peter 
Rhodes was a sea captain, was a private soldier in 
the "Pawtuxet Rangers" in the Revolutionary war, 
and was second officer of the guard ship "Pigot" 
that was stationed at Narragansett Bay and at one 
time was in chief command. 

(7) Captain James Peter Rhodes, son of Captain 
Peter and Hesta (Arnold) Rhodes, was born in 
Warwick, Rhode Island, July 11, I773. died at 
Cranston, Rhode Island, December 26, 1832. He was 
a sea captain. He married Sarah, daughter of 
Zebedee Hunt, of Pawtuxet, Rhode Island, August 

16, 1795- 

(8) Captain Elisha Hunt Rhodes, son of Captam 
James Peter and Sarah (Hunt) Rhodes, was born in 
Cranston, Rhode Island, July 28, 1805, died at sea, 
December 10, 1858. He was a sea captain, and made 
his home in Pawtuxet, Rhode Island. He married 
Eliza Ann Chace, daughter of Dudley and Mary 
(Durfee) Chace, of Fall River, Alassachusetts, June 

17, 1823. 

(9) Mary Eliza Rhodes, daughter of Captain 
Elisha Hunt and Eliza Ann (Chace) Rhodes, was 
born in Pawtuxet, Rhode Island, April 22, 1834, 
married Colville Dana Brown (see Brown. VII), in 
1840, died in Dover, New Hampshire, ]\iarch 8, 1864. 

(Fourth Family.) 

The early record of the [Massachusetts 

BROWN colony contains mention of several of 

this name, and descendants of various 

American ancestors are now found scattered through 

New England.' The line herein traced has pioneers 

in New Hampshire, and is still represented in the 

state by living citizens of mental and moral worth. 

(I) Henry Brown (sometimes spelled in the 
records Browne) was born about 161 5 and was 
among the early residents of Salisbury, Massachu- 
setts, where he received land in 1640-41-42 and was 
made a freeman in 1649. He was a commoner in 
1650, and appears on the records of the Salisbury 
Church in 1677, of which he was a deacon. His 
name appears on most of the early Salisbury lists. 
By trade he was a shoemaker. His brothers, William 
and George, were also early residents of Salisbury. 
He died in Salisbury, August 6, 1701. His wife's 
name was Abigail, and they were members of the 
Salisbury church in 1687. She survived him a few 
days more than one year, dying August 23, 1702. 
Their children were : Nathaniel, Abigail, Jonathan, 
Philip, Aljraham, Sarah and Henry. 

(II) Philip, third son and fourth child of Henry 
and Abigail Brown, was born December, 1648, in 
Salisbury, and was a tailor, residing in that town. 
He was admitted to the Salisbury church, June 10, 
1688, and died July 21, 1729. He was married June 
24, 1669, to Mary, daughter of, Isaac and Susanna 
Buswell, of Salisbury. She was bom August 29, 
1645, in Salisbury, and died November 27, 1683. 
Their children included a son who died at the age 
of eight days, Susanna, i\Iary (died young), another 

iv — 20 



son died at three days, Abigail, Mary, Sarah, George, 
Phoebe and Hannah. 

(III) George, third son and eighth child of 
Philip and Mary (Buswell) Brown, was born July i, 
1680. in Salisliury, and was admitted to the first 
church of Salisbury, July 30, 1704. His intention of 
marriage was published April 10, 1705, to Elizabeth 
Eastman, daughter of John and Mary (Boynton) 
Eastman, at Salisbury. She was born September 26, 
1685, iji that town. Their children were: Abigail, 
Sarah, Phoebe, Ruth, Elizabeth, Philip, David and 
Hannah. His will was made May 29, 1740, at which 
time his wife was living, and was proved February 
5. 1753. indicating his birth about the beginning of 
the latter year. 

(IV) Philip (2), eldest son and sixth child of 
George and Elizabeth (Eastman) Brown, was born 
June 29, 1718, and was baptized four weeks later, 
July 27, 1718, at the First Salisbury Church. He 
continued to reside in that town until his death, 
December 28, 1798. He married (lirst), Abigail 
Baker, who died July 29, 1755, and he married 
(second), February 8, 1756, Hannah Thompson, who 
died February i, 1776. He survived his second wife 
nearly twenty-three years. Among their children 
were sons: Philip and Jeremiah. (Mention of 
Jeremiah and descendants appears in this article). 

(V) Philip (3), son of Philip (2) and Abigail 
(Baker) Brown, was born August 6, 1753, in Salis- 
bury, and became one of the early settlers in Loudon, 
New Hampshire, where he died August 11, 1833. 
When a young man he went to East Kingston, 
where he learned the trade of cabinet maker with 
Thomas Batchelder, and with him removed to Lou- 
don in the early settlement of that town. They 
bought land together and cleared it, and Brown en- 
gaged in farming and also kept a hotel in the village. 
His building was the third in the village and is now 
standing and used as a dwelling. His grandson 
still preserves a communion cup which was used 
by Deacon Thomas Batchelder, the first deacon of 
the First Churrch of Loudon. Philip (3) Brown 
was married January 16, 1775, to Elizabeth, daughter 
of Deacon Thomas Batchelder, who was born August 
3, 1753. ill East Kingston, and died October 6, 1812, 
in Loudon. Subsequent to her death Mr. Brown 
was married to Nancy Wedgewood, who was born 
March 28, 1769, and survived him, dying January 5, 
1838. His children were : Thomas, William, David, 
Levi, Philip, Timothy, Asa and Eliphalet, besides 
Joanna, who died at the age of three years. 

(VI) Levi, fourth son and child of Philip (3) 
and Elizabeth (Batchelder) Brown, was born No- 
vember 7, 1784, in Loudon, and died in that town 
January 4, 1858. He was quite extensively engaged 
in lumbering and cleared off one hundred and 
twenty-five acres of heavy timber. In 1810 he began 
building a house into which he moved as soon as 
it was completed, having been married during its 
construction, and continued to reside there through- 
o.ut his life. He was a member of the Congregational 
Church. He was a strong opponent of slavery, and 
was very active in the period preceding the Civil war 
in the agitation for the abolition of that evil. He 
was the nominee of the Free Soil public for repre- 
sentative when that party was very little in favor 
in New England, and received thirty votes. He was 
subsequently a Whig and one of the founders of the 
Republican party. He was married January 8, 1810, 
to ]Mary Morse, who was born April 15, 1785. and 
died April 30, 1817, a daughter of Henry Morse. 
He was married (second), to her sister, Sally Morse, 
who was bom January 18, 1797, and died INIarch 23, 



1556 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1872. His children were : Anson W., Joanna E., 
Mary M. and John. 

(VII) John, youngest child of Levi and Mary 
(Morse) Brown, was born June 9, 1820, in Loudon, 
and still resides in that town. He has always lived 
in the house in which he was born, and his active 
life was chiefly devoted to agriculture. When a 
young man he learned the carpenter trade and en- 
gaged to some extent in building in the village of 
Loudon. He has devoted some attention to^ stock 
raising and made a specialty of full blood Devon 
and Ayrshire. His farm has been noted for its large 
oxen and is now devoted chiefly to dairying. He 
added to the original domain cleared by his father 
until he was the possessor of two hundred acres of 
land and the farm now includes one hundred and 
seventy-five acres, a portion having been sold off for 
village lots. The farm is at present conducted by 
his son who usually keeps a dozen cows. Mr. Brown 
was a member of the Congregational Church of 
Loudon until it was disbanded, and was long a war- 
den of the society. He is a remarkably well pre- 
served man for his years and reads without the aid 
of glasses. He was married, December 23, 1840, 
to Anne Batchelder, daughter of True Batchelder. 
(See Batchelder, VII). They were the parents of 
two sons : Alvah Leroy, the elder, is now upon the 
homestead farm and has three children. The second, 
John Warren, mentioned below. 

• (VIII) John Warren, second son of John and 
Anna (Batchelder) Brown, was born in Loudon, 
April 19, i860. He attended the public schools of his 
native town and continued to reside there until 1882, 
when he went to Lebanon and entered the employ of 
Messrs. Mead, Mason & Company as a clerk, re- 
taining that position for five years. Going to Brat- 
tleboro, Vermont, he was for a short time em- 
ployed in the office of The Household Magazine, 
and returning to Lebanon in September, 1888, he 
engaged in the furniture business under the name 
of J. W. Brown & Company, having as a partner, Mr. 
Oscar W. Baldwin. He continued in business until 
the death of Mr. Baldwin in 1905, and since that 
time has occupied a responsible position in the office 
of the Baxter Machine Company in Lebanon. He 
is a member of Mascoma Lodge, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, and also of the Centre Congrega- 
tional Church. In politics he is a Republican. He 
married Alice M. Baldwin, daughter of Oscar W. 
and Annie M. (Choate) Baldwin, of Lebanon. Mr. 
and Mrs. Brown have one son, Oscar Choate Brown, 
who was born in Lebanon, October 29, 1893, and is 
now attending the Vermont Academy at Saxtons 
River, Vermont. 

(Fifth Family.) 

The following line of Browns, which 
BROWN includes some of the most successful 

men in the state, is apparently unre- 
lated to others of the same name whose history has 
previously been written. The first two or three 
generations of this family spelled their name with 
an "e," which was dropped about the beginning of 
the eighteenth century. 

(I) Charles Browne, the immigrant ancestor of 
this line, was one of the first settlers of Rowley, 
Massachusetts, where he married, October 4, 1647, 
Mary Acie, of Rowley. He died in 1687, and was 
buried December 16, while his wife died four years 
earlier and was buried on December 12. Their 
daughter, Mary, died in 1683, the same year as her 
mother. Charles Browne's will mentions eight sons : 
Beriah, Gershom, deceased ; William, John, Samuel, 
Ebenezer, Nathaniel and Joseph. 

(II) John, fourth son of Charles and Mary 



(Acie) Browne, was born February 5, 1653-4, prob- 
ably at Rowley, Massachusetts. He lived in his 
native town, near the Newbury line. In 1706 he 
requested to be dismissed from the First Church in 
Rowley to become one of the founding members of 
the church in Ryfield Parish, which included a part 
of the territory both of Rowley and Newbury. In 
1690 he was the executor of the will of his grand- 
father, William Acie. On August 31, 1685, John 
Browne married Abigail Browne, daughter 
of John and Sarah Browne, who was born 
in Newbury Massachusetts, October 24, 1665. There 
were eleven children. John Browne's will was dated 
in 1721, and was probated in 1722, which indicates 
the year of his death. 

(III) Samuel, eldest son of John and Abigail 
(Browne) Browne, was born at Rowley, Massachu- 
setts, July 20, 1686. In 1722 he purchased of his 
sister Hannah and his brother Joseph, then of Bos- 
ton, their rights to the estate of their father, John 
Browne, then deceased. He lived several years in 
Ryfield Parish and the town of Rowley. He was 
collector of the parish and a prominent citizen of the 
latter place. On February 11, 171 1, he was excused 
from military service on account of a lame hand, 
and on July 17, 1724, he was again excused, "provided 
he keep arms and ammunition to" show when re- 
quired." In 1729 he removed from Rowley to Lit- 
tleton, Massachusetts, and with his wife was admitted 
to the church in Littleton from Ryfield Parish. In 
1736 he was constable at Littleton. In 1743 he moved 
from that town to West Dunstable, now HoUis, New 
Hampshire, where he was prominent in church and 
■town affairs, and was one of the committee to 
arrange for the ordination of Rev. Daniel Emerson. 
Samuel Browne's name appears frequently in the 
registry of deeds in connection with the purchase 
of valuable tracts of real estate. On May 17, 1716, 
Samuel Browne married Elizabeth Wheeler, daugh- 
ter of Josiah and Elizabeth Wheeler, of Salisbury, 
Massachusetts, who was born July 12, 1695. They 
had nine children : John, who died young ; Mary, 
Josiah, John, whose sketch follows ; Hannah, who 
married Samuel Farley, of Hollis ; Sarah, Susannah, 
Martha, who married Eleazer Cummings, and re- 
moved, after 1760, to Maine ; and Samuel. Samuel 
Brown the father, died February 25, 1755, probably 
at Hollis, and his will, which was probated on June 
18, of that year, names his son Josiah as executor. 
The widow, Mrs. Elizabeth Browne, was living in 
1758. 

(IV) John, third son and fourth child of Samuel 
and Elizabeth (Wheeler) Brown, was born prob- 
ably at Rowley, Massachusetts, and was baptized at 
Byfield by Rev. Moses Hale, March 29, 1724. When 
a youth of nineteen he moved with his people to 
Hollis, New Hampshire, and six years later he set- 
tled in the neighboring town of Monson, now a part 
of Amherst, New Hampshire, where he lived for 
sixteen years, serving as selectman during three years 
of that period. In 1762, in company with his 
brother Josiah, who had been a lieutenant in the 
French and Indian war, and five other pioneers, 
he traveled north along the Merrimack and Pemi- 
gewasset rivers till they reached what is now Plym- 
outh. Here they chose locations, built log cabins, 
and began to clear the land for farms. In the spring 
of 1764 they took their families into the wilderness. 
The names both of John and Josiah Brown appear 
among the grantees or proprietors of the new town, 
and John Brown was taxed there till 1774, being 
taxed the next year as a non-resident. He was one 
of a committee of arrangements for' the ordination 
of Rev. Nathan Ward, of Plymouth. John Brown 




En^l ly SS.Salts So-ns.l'i^ 



.-arTC 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1557 



was a practicing physician, though he probably never 
graduated from a medical school. He was twice 
married and had ten children in all, of whom seven 
were by the first wife. She was Keziah Wheeler, 
daughter of James Wheeler, who was born in Con- 
cord, Massachusetts, March 10, 1726-7, married Oc- 
tober 9, 1744, and died October 31, 1760, leaving 
seven children. They were : Silas, who married 
Lucy Wheeler, lived at Plymouth, New Hampshire, 
and died in the Continental service, December 31, 
'^177 '< John, who married Abigail Phillips, and was 
a prominent citizen at Thornton, New Hampshire ; 
Keziah, who married William Hobart, of Campton, 
New Hampshire; Abigail, who married Samuel 
Shaw; Phineas, Rebecca and Elizabeth, who married 
Nehemiah Phillips. On February 18, 1761, Dr. 
John Brown married his second wife, Martha Jewett, 
daughter of Ezekiel and Martha (Thurston) Jewett, 
of Rowley, Massachusetts, and sister of Rev. David 
Jewett, of Candia, New Hampshire. They had three 
children : Martha, Sarah and Stephen Thurston, 
whose sketch follows. Dr. John Brown died May 
6, 1776, and his widow survived him nearly twentj'- 
one years, dying March 5, 1797. 

(V) Stephen Thurston, youngest of the ten chil- 
dren of Dr. John Brown, and only son and third 
child of his second wife, Martha Jewett, was born 
at Plymouth, New Hampshire, April i8, 1766, being 
the second male child born in that town. He bought 
sixty-five acres of land in what was afterwards 
known as the Locke neighborhood in Bristol, this 
state, and there built a log cabin and brought up 
a family of ten children. Mr. Brown was a man 
of ability and sterling integrit}^ belonging to the sect 
of Quakers in whose faith, and according to whose 
forms he reared his large family. On December 18, 
1788, Stephen T. Brown married Anna Davis, of 
Goffstown, New Hampshire, and their children were : 
John, a soldier in the War of 1812, who married 
Sally Ingalls, and died in Michigan at the age of 
ninety-two; Anne, who married Isaac Swett and 
lived in Bristol, New Hampshire; Samuel, who 
married Susanna S. Dolloff, and lived in Bridge- 
water, New Hampshire; Joseph, whose sketch fol- 
lows ; Enos, who married Lavina Heath, and lived 
in Bridgewater ; Martha, who married Daniel 
Simonds, of Bristol, New Hampshire ; Sally, who 
married Jacob Colby, of Weare, New Hampshire; 
Hannah Locke, who married William Colby, of 
Bow, New Hampshire; Stephen, who died at the age 
of eighteen ; Mary Ann, who married Jeremiah B. 
Warner ; IMichael, who died young ; Asenath, who 
married Calvin Fuller, and lived in New Boston, 
New Hampshire. Stephen T. Brown died in the 
family of his daughter Martha (Mrs. Daniel 
Simonds) at South Alexandria, New Hampshire, 
May 4, 1839, aged seventy-three years. His widow 
died at the home of his son Samuel in Bridgewater, 
New Hampshire, May 23, 1851. 

(VI) Joseph, third son and fourth child of Sam- 
uel Thurston and Anna (Davis) Brown, was born 
March 3, 1796, at Bristol, New Hampshire. He was 
a lumber dealer and manufacturer. He built the 
first saw mill the largest establishment of the kind 
in that neighborhood, at Moore's Mills on the Pemi- 
gewasset river, five miles above Bristol village. For 
fourteen years he did a large business at this place, 
turning out masts, spars, factory beams and the like, 
which were rafted to Newburyport and Boston by 
river and canal. He would have acquired a hand- 
some property, but the location of his business was 
unfortunate, and freshets persistently carried away 
his dams. He and his wife surrendered everything 
to their creditors, giving up all they had, according 



to the old fashioned ideas of honor and justice. In 
1843 he moved to Campton, put up a sawmill, and 
for forty years was engaged in lumbering and farm- 
ing, living on a fine farm in Thornton during the 
years of this period. Mr. Brown was an early 
Abolitionist, a man of high principles, firm convic- 
tions and advanced ideas. He predicted the inven- 
tion of the telephone more than half a century be- 
fore it came into use. He was brought up a rigid 
Sabbatarian, according to strict Quaker rule; and 
he never diverged from the habits of that sect; but 
in early life he became a Universalist, and later a 
Spiritualist. In 1825 Joseph Brown married Relief 
Ordway, daughter of Stephen and Mary (Brown) 
Ordway, of Salisbury, Massachusetts. She was 
born in 1803, and her mother belonged to a promin- 
ent family in Bow, New Hampshire. Mr. and Mrs. 
Brown had nine children : Alson Landon, whose 
sketch follows; Stephen, who served in the Fortieth 
Massachusetts X^olunteers, and died in the army at 
Folly Island, South Carolina, in November, 1863, 
aged thirty-four. Mary Ann, who married Hanson 
S. Chase, and lived in Plymouth, New Hampshire ; 
Amos, who marriel Annie M. Peebles, and was a 
prospcKOus lumber merchant at Seattle, Washing- 
ton ; Warren G., whose sketch follows ; Relief, who 
married Elijah Averill, Jr.; John O., born and died 
in 1841 ; Joseph, who served in the Fifteenth Regi- 
ment New Hampshire Volunteers, and died August 
II, 1863, aged twenty-one; Laura Augusta who mar- 
ried George W. Merrill of Campton, New Hamp- 
shire. Of these nine children, all lived to adult 
life except John O. who died in babyhood, and the 
two soldiers, Stephen and Joseph, who were sacri- 
ficed on the altar of their country in 1863. Joseph 
Brown died at Whitefield, New Hampshire, March 
26, 1884. having attained the goodly age of eighty- 
eight years. His wife died at Campton, May, 1867, 
aged sixty-four years. 

(VII) Alson Landon, eldest child of Joseph and 
Relief (Ordway) Brown, was born at Bristol, New 
Hampshire, April 9, 1827. At an early age he 
acquired a practical knowledge of lumbering from 
his father with whom he served a long apprentice- 
ship in hard work and exposure to the elements. 
WheH twenty-two years of age he received two 
hundred dollars as capital with \vhich to begin busi- 
ness for himself. He married that year and bought 
his father's place in Campton, and a half interest 
in the mill, becoming manager of the latter. He 
continued in this work for twelve years, or until 
1861, when he resold his share to his father who re- 
turned to Campton and put up a fine set of build- 
ings. Alson Brown then moved to a large interval 
farm across the river where he engaged in argicul- 
ture till 1872. Meanwhile he carried on lumbering 
in company with his father till 1864, when Warren 
G. Brown bought the interest of the latter. From 
that time the two brothers were associated in busi- 
ness, which eventually became the great Brown 
Lumber Company, of Northern New Hampshire. 
This business is mentioned more fully in the sketch 
of Warren G. Brown. In 1872, Alson Brown 
moved to Whitefield, which was his home during 
the last twenty years of his life. He was a Repub- 
lican in politics, and represented Whitefield in the 
legislatures of 1881-2. He was a member of the 
constitutional convention of 1876, and a delegate 
to the Republican national convention at Chicago 
in 1880, which nominated James A. Garfield. He 
was a delegate to nearly all state conventions after 
the age of thirty. He became a Free Mason in 
i860, and belonged to White Mountain Lodge, 
Whitefield; to North Star Chapter and North Star 



i'.=,S 



OD 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Commandery, Lancaster ; and to Omega Council, 
Plymouth. He was also a member of St. John's 
Lodge, No. 58, Independent ^rder of Odd Fellows, 
of Whitefield. Mr. Brown was a man of integrity 
and remarkable business ability kind of heart quick 
to act and faithful in the performance of every 
duty. He was held in high esteem by his workmen, 
who presented him with a beautiful gold watch and 
chain on the occasion of his silver wedding. On Sep- 
tember II, 1849, Alson Landon Brown married 
Mary A. Currier, daughter of William and Sophia 
Currier, who was born in Ashland, New Hamp- 
shire, June 27, 1832. They had eight children, of 
whom five lived to maturity : A daughter, born 
and died November 11, 1850; William Wallace, 
born February 22. 1852, married (first), Louisa 
\'>asey; (second). Belle Follansbce, and lives in 
Wentworth, New Hampshire ; Oscar Alson, born 
January 21, 1854, married Ada Page, and lives in 
Whiteficld ; Charles Fremont, born September 7, 

1856, died August 22, 1863 ; George Landon, born 
May 5. i860, died September 5, i860; Alice Sophia, 
born November 14, 1861, married Edward Ray, and 
lives in Whitefield ; Joseph Walter, born May 3, 
1864, married (first), Katie Howland, and (sec- 
ond), .A.nnie Martin, and lives in Whitefield; Etta 
Condclle. born May 17, 1869. married Emery Apple- 
ton Sanborn, now deceased, and lives in Jamaica 
Plain, Massachusetts; married (second). Professor 
Fred L. Thompson. Alson Landon Brown died at 
Whitefield, January 28, 1892, at the comparatively 
early age of sixty-four years. His widow survives 
him (1907) at the age of seventy-five years. 

(VH) Warren G., fourth son and fifth child of 
Joseph and Relief (Ordway) Brown, was born at 
Bristol, New Hampshire, July 27, 1834. He was 
educated in the common schools, and at sixteen he 
was a rugged lad with great physical strength and 
a determination to assist his father in caring for the 
family. He helped to lift the mortgage from the 
farm by cutting timber, working in the mills and 
driving logs. From 1855 to 1857 he was employed 
in various ways in the lumber business, going "on 
the drive, to Lowell, and working for his father and 
brother Alson at their mill at West Campton. In 

1857, inspired lay dreams of the Golden West, he 
went as steerage passenger to California, arid in 
December of that year arrived at Puget Sound, 
Washington territory, and began cutting logs for 
the Puget Mill Company at one dollar per thou- 
sand. Tn i860, after three j-ears' continuous labor, 
lie had saved between five and six thousand dol- 
lars. Coming back to his native state on July i, 
i860, he bought his father's farm of four hundred 
acres at Thornton. In 1864 he sold his place in 
Thornton, and in connection with his brother Alson 
L.. formed the firm of A. L. and W. G. Brown, the 
nucleus of the great Brown Lumber Company. In 
1864 the Brown brothers built mills at Rumney, 
which they operated till 1870, when they moved 
their plant to Wentworth, constructed large mills 
at the foot of Orford and Wentworth ponds, and 
did business there for many years. In 1867 they 
bought a large tract of timber near Bellows Falls, 
Vermont, and Walpole, this state, and did a rushing 
business for two years, or until they had exhausted 
the supply, when they moved to Littleton. In 
1869, Warren G. Brown went to Whitefield to su- 
perintend affairs. They took the luiilding of the 
defunct White Mountain Lumber Company, and at 
once put in machinery for cutting eight millions feet 
of lumber yearly, and in 1872 enlarged their plant so 
they could cut fifteen millions feet yearly. In 1869 
there was no railroad nearer than Littleton, and the 



firm gave Mr. Lyon, president of the White Moun- 
tain railroad, four thousand dollars to use in ex- 
tending the tracks from Wing Road to Whitefield. 
In June, 1870, the firm began the construction of a 
private railway to transport timber from their land 
in Carroll, where they owned between eight and 
nine thousand acres, to their mills in Whitefield. 
This was called the John's River railroad and was 
extended from time to time as their business re- 
quired. In 1878 they obtained a charter for the 
Wliitefield and Jefferson railroad, which was opened 
to Jefferson Meadows in July, 1879, and has since 
been extended to Berlin. 

On September i, 1874, Brown's Lumber Com- 
pany was organized with a capital of half a million 
dollars. The Browns, Alson L. and Warren G., 
have always owned a controlling interest, but asso- 
ciated with them at different times have been 
Nathan R. Perkins, of Jefferson; Dr. Aaron Ord- 
way, of Lawrence, Massachusetts ; Ossian Ray, of 
Lancaster ; Charles W. King, of Lunenburg, Ver- 
mont ; and A. G. Folsom. Their plant is the largest 
and most complete of the kind in New England. 
In 1882 a complete system of electric lighting was 
introduced, enal)ling them to run at full time the 
entire year. They put up their own telephone sys- 
tem in 1881, and they have owned big stores at 
Whitefield and Jefferson Meadows since 1879. 
They have factories for the manufacture of mould- 
ings, floorings and finishings of all kinds, and for 
the making of fine furniture from birch, ash and 
bird's eye maple. They own enormous tracts of 
pme and spruce timber lands, and their annual 
sales have sometimes reached half a million dollars. 
To Warren G. Brown must be given the credit of 
first suggesting the use of the yellow fir of the Pa- 
cific coast for spars and masts in the Atlantic ship- 
yards. This fir soon established a reputation, and 
the Brown firm has furnished masts for the Eng- 
lish, French and Chinese navies. In 1875 the Brown 
brothers built a ship of fifteen hundred tons at 
Newburyport. Massachusetts, which cost one hun- 
dred and twenty thousand dollars when readv for 
sea. The next year this ship, the "Brown Broth- 
ers," brought the first cargo of Pacific spars to At- 
lantic ports. Six other cargoes were afterwards 
brought at a cost of over a quarter million. Warren 
G. Brown has had special charge of this work, and 
he has been several times to the Pacific coast. He 
sees great changes in the state of Washington, 
which, when he first went there in 1857, had seven 
thousand white inhabitants and twenty-one thou- 
sand Indians. 

Mr. Brown began political life by voting for 
John C. Fremont, and was connected with the Re- 
publicans until he became interested in the Green- 
back party, which made him its candidate for gover- 
nor in 1878 and 1880. He represented Whitefield 
m the state legislature of 1872-3, was a delegate to 
the National Greenback convention in 1880 and was 
a delegate to the convention that organized the 
Union Labor party in February, 1887. Mr. Brown 
is active in temperance work, a strong believer in 
Spiritualism, and is a Master Mason of tlie local 
lodge. Mr. Brown is a man of democratic plain- 
ness, honesty of purpose, strict integrity and orig- 
inality of mind. He is now retired from active busi- 
ness. Warren G. Brown has been twice married, 
but his first wife lived but two years and a half, 
and his children are all by the second marriage. In 
March, 1861, Warren G. Brown married Ruth B. 
Avery, daughter of Stephen and Hannah (Mitchell) 
Avery, who was born in Campton, New Hampshire, 
and died in Thornton in September, 1863. On 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1559 



November 2, 1S65, ^^ married Charlotte, daughter 
of Ephraim and Eliza (Broad) Elliott, who was 
born in Brownfield, Maine, January 11, 1848. Amos 
Broad, Mrs. Brown's maternal grandfather, was an 
Englishman, who became quite noted as a hotel 
keeper and man of affairs in Westbrook, Maine. 
Her father, Ephraim Elliott, a native of Thornton, 
New Hampshire, for many jears conducted the 
hotel at Waterville, New Hampshire, one of the 
choicest spots in the White Mountains. Mrs. 
Brown is a woman of practical ability, and an able 
help-meet in every way. Warren G. and Eliza (El- 
liott) Brown had four children : Josephine Ruth, 
born at Campton, June 22, 1867; Dasie A., born at 
Whitefield, September 22, 1870; Carl Eliott. born 
at Whitefield, September 10, 1878; Kenneth Warren, 
born at Whitefield, September 8, 1883 ; Josephine R. 
Brown married Milford M. Libby, and lives in 
Whitefield. Carl E. Brown is located in Idaho. The 
other children live in Whitefield. 
(Sixth Family.) 

There are many families of Browns in 
BROWN this country, and the name is especially 

numerous in Connecticut, where the 
little town of Torrington gave to the world the most 
famous of the family, John Brown, "whose soul is 
still marching on." The present line has an ancient 
and honorable record, but it Jias not been traced to 
the earliest American ancestor, because of the im- 
possibility of finding the parentage of Deacon Isaiah 
Brown, of Stratford, Connecticut, with whom the 
record begins. 

(I) Deacon and Captain Isaiah Brown was burn 
in 1713, and lived at Stratford, Connecticut, where 
he took the freeman's oath in 1736. He must have 
been a man of prominence, for titles meant some- 
thing in those days. He was one of the original 
proprietors of Stratford, New Hampshire, which 
was named for the Connecticut town, but Deacon 
Brown never settled there, leaving the pioneer work 
for his eldest son to carry out. Many of the river 
towns in New Hampshire and Vermont owe their 
beginning to Connecticut enterprise, because it was 
an easy matter for the inhabitants of the Nutmeg 
state to push up the river. In January, 1735-36, 
Deacon Isaiah Brown married Ann Brinsmade, 
daughter of Zachariah Brinsmade, of Stratford, 
Connecticut, and their children were : Hannah, 
Ann, Sarah, James, whose sketch follows; Betty, 
Samuel, Rhoda, Nathan, who died young ; and 
Isaac, born JNIarch 19, 1755. Deacon Isaiah Brown 
died in 1793, at the age of eighty, and his widow 
died in 1788, at the age of seventy-two. 

(II) James, eldest son and fourth child of Dea- 
con Isaiah and Ann (Brinsmade) Brown, was born 
in February, 1744, probably at Stratford, Connecti- 
cut. With seven other men he began the settle- 
ment of Stratford, New Hampshire, in 1772, and at 
the meeting of the proprietors in December of that 
year, each of these men was awarded the sum of 
three pounds in payment for his pioneer work dur- 
ing the preceding summer. James Brown called the 
first town meeting in Stratford, and was one of the 
leading men in the new community. Being the son 
of a Congregational deacon, he brought religious 
books in his saddle-bags, and the early Sunday serv- 
ices were held at his house. In 1800, when the first 
church was organized, which happened to be the 
Methodist, he became a member, and was ever an 
active worker for the cause of religion. James 
Brown was a commissary general during the Revol- 
ution, and had charge of the fort at Stratford, which 
stood on the land wdnere his great-grandson, Wil- 
liam Riley Brown, now lives. This fort was built 



of logs fourteen inches square, and was situated on 
the Connecticut, commanding an extended view up 
and down the river. The early settlers were greatly 
harassed by the Indians, who came down from the 
North, and received a bounty of twenty dollars a 
head for every able-bodied man they captured. This 
fort had an underground tunnel to the cellar of 
Mr. Brown's house. Looking out of the door of 
his home he saw a moose crossing the Connecticut 
river, and taking his flint lock gun pointed it and 
shot the moose, killing him with the first shot ; when 
dressed it weighed seven hundred pounds. On an- 
other occasion, while fishing in the river where the 
water was about twenty feet deep, seeing a salmon 
too large for his hook and line, he attached a man- 
ure fork (three tines) to the end of the fishing 
pole and speared the fish, which weighed forty 
pounds. In 1775 James Brown married Hannah, 
the sixteen-year-old daughter of Joshua Lamkin, 
another Stratford pioneer, and they had a family of 
nine children. This was the first marriage to 
occur in the new settlement, and their eldest child 
Anna, born March 17, 1776, was the first baby born 
in the new settled town. James Brown died in 1813, 
aged sixty-four, and his widow died in 1836, aged 
seventy-seven. 

(III) Samuel F., son of James and Hannah 
(Lamkin) Brown, was born at Stratford, New 
Hampshire, about 1790. He was a man of promi- 
nence, was selectman in 181 8- 19-35, and probably at 
other times, but the town records between 1820 and 
1835 have been lost. He was representative in 1835, 
and also served as sheriff of Coos county. His 
early death at the age of forty-six cut him off in his 
prime, and at a period when he was in high favor 
with his townspeople. Samuel F. Brown married 
(first) Judith Smith, and they had three children: 
Samuel C, James B. (mentioned with descendants 
below), and William R. He married (second), Caro- 
line Bishop. Children : Helen, Rollin, John H., 
Loyal, Henry and Alonzo. 

(IV) Samuel C, son of Samuel F. and Judith 
(Smith) Brown, was born at Stratford, New 
Hampshire, February 18, 181 1, on the farm which the 
family have owned for generations. He was edu- 
cated in the common schools, and became a pros- 
perous farmer. He was a Democrat in politics, and 
held all the town offices, and represented Stratford 
in the legislature of 1877-78. He attended the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. Samuel C. Brown 
married Sophia, daughter of Thomas Curtis, of 
Stratford. They had seven children. The three 
now living are Samuel F., who is a farmer in Strat- 
ford, New^ Hampshire; Cora B., married Dewer 
Rich, of Woodsford, Maine ; and William Riley, 
whose sketch follows. Samuel C. Brown died June 

8, 1871. 

(V) William Riley, son of Samuel C. and 
Sophia (Curtis) Brown, was born in Stratford, New 
Hampshire, in the same house as his father, April 
2, 1844. He was educated in the common schools, 
at the academy at Lancaster, New Hampshire, and 
at Newbury Seminary, Newbury, Vermont. For 
eleven year's he taught school during the winters 
and farmed summers. For fifteen years he was^ a 
drover, taking cattle to the Boston market. For 
several years he was in trade at Stratford Hollow, 
but he now devotes his entire attention to farming. 
He has been justice of the peace since the age of 
twenty-one. He is a Democrat in politics, and was 
selectman for ten years, a member of the legislature 
in 1887-88, just ten years after his father, and served 
on the school board for six years. He attends the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. October 8, 1872, Wil- 



1560 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



liam Riley Brown married Ella, daughter of John 
and Caroline (Richardson) Bishop, of Lisbon, New 
Hampshire. They have three children : Everett C, 
born January 18, 1879, who has sales stables at 
Grovelon, New Hampshire ; Loyal P., born March 
28, 1881, who is a merchant at Orange, Massachu- 
setts ; and Howard B., who is a student at Tilton 
Seminary, Tilton, New Hampshire. 

(IV) James B., son of Samuel and Judith 
(Smith) Brown, was born at Stratford, in 1818. He 
was a merchant and lumber dealer in Northumber- 
land, where he participated actively in public affairs 
as a Democrat, held all of the important town of- 
fices and represented his district in the state legisla- 
ture. His death occurred in 1882. He married 
Ellen Patterson, of Lunenburg, Vermont, who died 
in 1881. She was the mother of six children, 
namely : Eliza, Cora, Rollin J., Gertrude, Maude 
and Mabel. Of these Cora and Rollin J. are the 
only survivors. 

(V) Rollin James, third child and only son 
of James and Ellen (Patterson) Brown, was born 
in Northumberland, February 14, 1858. He began 
his studies in the public schools, continued them at 
the Plymouth (New Hampshire) high school, and 
concluded his education at St. Johnsbury (Ver- 
mont) Academy. He was associated with his father 
in business until the latter's decease, after which he 
went to Lancaster and entered the employ of the 
TJiompson Manufacturing Company as bookkeeper. 
He subsequently became a stockholder in the con- 
cern, and in January, 1907, was elected its treasurer. 
In politics he acts with the Democratic party, and 
from 1888 to the present time has served with ability 
as town clerk. He formerly attended the Unitarian 
Church, but now worships with the Congregation- 
alists. In 1888, Mr. Brown married Helen F. 
French, daughter of Elijah French, of Stratford. 
They have no children. 

(Seventh Family.) 

This name has been variously repre- 
BROWN sented in New England from the 

earliest colonization of the country ; 
and in Westminster, Massachusetts, the early seat 
of the family of this article, the members were lO 
numerous, the branches so various, the records .30 
fragmentary and heterogeneous, that it has been 
found impossible not only to trace any one family 
to its original progenitor, but also to connect the 
different families with each other to any great ex- 
tent. 

(I) Nicholas Browne, son of Edward Browne, 
of Inkburrow, Worcestershire, England, settled first 
at Lynn, Massachusetts, and early removed from 
there to Reading, where he appears to have owned 
two places. He was a man of comfortable means as 
appears from the fact of his sending his son John, 
in 1660, to England to look after certain property, 
to which he had become heir. He died in 1673. His 
wife's name was Elizabeth, and their children were : 
John, Edward, Joseph, Cornelius, Josiah and per- 
haps Elizabeth. 

(IV) Jonathan Brown was no doubt a descend- 
ant of Nicholas Browne, and resided in Westmin- 
ster. He married Mehitable Hay. Her father, 
James Hay, was an original proprietor of No. 2, 
drawing in the first division of lands lot No. 106, 
near Wachusetville. 

(V) Jonathan (2), son of Jonathan (i) and 
Mehitable Brown, probably located on the lot No. 
106 mentioned above, occupying a house built some 
years before by Benjamin Gould. He was first taxed 
in 1764, and in 1769 a public school was kept in his 
house. January 3, 1771, he purchased of Joseph 



Lynde, of Charlestown, lot No. 105, lying directly 
south' of the Hay lot, which was long known as the 
Brown estate, more recently owned by Asaph Carter 
and his son Edward R. On his way from Reading 
to Portsmouth, Mr. Brown seems to have sojourned 
a while in Leominster, where he married Huldah 
Hawkes. He died March 14, 1820, aged eighty 
years. She died January i, 1818, aged seventy-hve. 
Their children were: Jonathan, Benjamin, Joseph, 
died young; Huldah, Sally, Joseph and John. 

(VI) Jonathan (3), eldest child of Jonathan 

(2) and Huldah (Hawkes) Brown, was born in 
Reading, August 20, 1765, and died in Gardner, July 
24, 1840, aged seventy-five. He removed to and re- 
sided in Gardner on a farm in the east part of that 
town, where his grandson Charles (?) lately lived. 
He married Beulah Jackson, daughter of Elisha and 
Beulah (Taylor) Jackson. She died November 24, 
1839. aged sixty-seven. Their children were : Jon- 
athan, John, Charles (died young) ; Elisha, Charles, 
Sally (died young), Sally, Benjamin B., Lucy and 
N ancy. 

(VII) Charles, fifth son and child of Jonathan 

(3) and and Bertha (Jackson) Brown, was born in 
Gardner, Massachusetts, March 12, 1800, and died 
in Boston. He settled in Boston, where he was for 
many years successfully engaged in the retail gro- 
cery business, and took part in the public affairs of 
the city. In 1847 he served as alderman. He mar- 
ried Susan Morehead. The children born to them 
were : Susan, married O. H. Underbill. Mary E., 
married Edward J. Brown. Abbie, married R. G. 
Davis. Charles S., mentioned below. 

(VIII) Charles Severence, son of Charles 
and Susan Morehead Brown was born in Bos- 
ton, November 18, 1844, and was educated in the 
common schools of that city and at Chauncey Hall. 
In 1872 he engaged in the carriage service, to which 
he has given his unremitting attention ever since 
that time, and now employs a hundred horses and 
many vehicles in his business, which has steadily 
grown from the beginning. He has a summer home 
in New Ipswich, New Hampshire, where he passes 
the summer months. In politics he is an inde- 
pendent. He married (first), Frances Partridge, 
who was born in Boston, daughter of Adrian Part- 
ridge. He married (second) Ruth Miller, daughter 
of Ephraim Miller, of Temple, and granddaughter 
of General James Miller. Two children, Albert Ed- 
win and Susan, were born to the first wife; and 
one, Philip, to the second. 



In the United States there are several 
BROWN ancient families bearing this name, and 
from among them many men of promi- 
nence have arisen. The surname is of the class 
called complexion names, and was assumed by its 
first bearer from his complexion or the color of his 
hair. 

(I) Samuel Brown was a farmer in Andover, 
Vermont. He was one of the principal citizens of 
the town, and was selectman, town treasurer several 
times, and representative in the state legislature sev- 
eral terms, holding office as late as 1808 or there- 
about. He had three children : Abraham, Ebenezer 
and a daughter. He lived to be nearly ninety years 
old, and died about 1830, with his mental faculties 
unimpaired. 

(ID Ebenezer, son of Samuel Brown, was born 
in what is now Andover, Vermont, and was a life- 
long farmer. He lived in Cornish and West Wind- 
sor, then a part of Windsor. About 1825 he re- 
moved from there to Windsor Village, where he 
remained until about 1840, when, some of his older 




■%« iy ^B-Baas Sons V'" ^* 




Qj&.%JU^ ^y- (f^-^-uwy^ 




BROWN LUMBER COMPANY. 

(WHITEFIELD MILLS.) 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1561 



children having settled in Xew York, he and his 
wife went to them and spent their remaining years 
in that state. Mr. Brown died in the early hfties, 
aged about seventy-three, his wife having preceded 
him, dying in 1.846, aged about fifty. Both died and 
were buried at Fonda, Brtidalbin, New York. He 
married Lucy Walker, a native of Plainheld, New 
Hampshire, daughter of Nathan and Abigail (Ames) 
Walker, and they had eight children : Selinda, Ada- 
line, Lorenzo E., Madison, Horace Ames, Persis, 
Luman and Stillman. 

(HI) Horace Ames, third son and fifth child 
of Ebenezer and Lucy (Walker) Brown, was born 
in Cornish, New Hampshire, October 3, 1823. He 
received very little education in the pubUc schools 
which he attended but a brief time, but by constant 
study and attention to the defects in his early school- 
ing he afterward largely compensated for what he 
was then unable to obtain, his life occupation having 
constantly furnished to him opportunities for edu- 
cation that no other trade could have done. Janu- 
ary 18, 1837, he became an apprentice to the printer's 
trade in the office of the Democrat-Statesman, at 
Windsor, Vermont.- After a year and a half of 
service there he went to Qaremont, New Hamp- 
shire, and worked on the National Eagle, four years, 
of which time he was two ' years a journeyman. 
From that employment he went to the Claremont 
Manufacturing Company, a concern of importance 
at that time, which manufactured paper, and printed 
and bound books, taking large contracts for work 
of this kind from individuals and firms in New 
Y'ork city and elsewhere. Here he worked inter- 
mittently from 1844 to 1847, and completely mas- 
tered the details of the business. In company with 
the late Joseph Webber he published for a time the 
Northern Intelligencer at Claremont. With the sus- 
pension of this publication he returned for a brief 
period to the Naticnal Eagle, and in 1852 proceeded 
to Concord. There he entered the employ of Mc- 
Farland and Jenks, proprietors of the New Hamp- 
shire Statesman. This firm afterward sold out to 
the Republican Press Association, which later be- 
came the Rumford Press Company. From 1852 
until March 1878, he was pressman and foreman of 
the pressroom, doing as opportunity afforded, more 
or less composition. From 1878 to 1882 he 
devoted his time to municipal affairs. Re- 
turning to his old employment at the latter date 
he took charge of the stone work or preparation of 
the forms for press, for fifteen years, and for six 
years more was employed on composition. January 18, 
1907, he completed seventy years as a printer, and 
established what is believed to be a record for New 
England. He was a thorough master of the art in 
every branch, and the men employed in the office 
ever found him a stanch friend and a wise coun- 
sellor. On the occasion of his having in 1887 com- 
pleted fifty years of service as a compositor his type- 
mate's in Concord presented him with an elegant 
gold watch and chain inscribed : "1837-1887. From 
Black Art Friends to Horace A. Brown." 

Mr. Brown's political affiliations were first with 
the Whig party, and he cast his first vote for Henry 
Clay in 1844. In 1856 he cast his ballot for John C. 
Fremont, the first Republican candidate for the 
presidency, and has ever since been a Republican. 
Mr. Brown was made assessor in Concord in 1866, 
and served that and the following year. Subse- 
quently he was alderman, and also filled the office of 
highway commissioner. He was elected to the legis- 
lature from ward 4, in 1875-76, and elected mayor of 
Concord, and served from March 18, 1878, to No- 
vember, 1880. By a change in the law governing 



this office his last term covered a period of twenty 
months instead of one year as under the old law. 

Air. Brown was an industrious worker, an ex- 
emplary citizen, and a leading layman in church cir- 
cles, and prominent in the choir of his church. 
While at Claremont, Mr. and J\lrs. Brown joined the 
Episcopal Church by baptism. In 1857 he was 
elected secretary of the Episcopal diocese of New 
Hampshire, and filled that pla.ce from that time until 
his death, a period of fifty years, by successive an- 
nual reelections. In 1863 he was made junior warden 
and in 1865 became senior warden of St. Paul's 
Church, and filled the latter office at the time of his 
death. Fie was elected a member of the standing 
committee of the Episcopal diocese of New Hamp- 
shire in 1861, and was secretary of the same from 
1897, to his death. He was a lay reader in the 
diocese since 1857. While in Claremont (1852) he 
became a member of the church choir, and on his 
removal to Concord took a place in the choir of his 
church at that place, which he held at his death, 
making a continuous service of fifty-five years in 
that office. When seventy-eight years of age he 
was elected a delegate to the triennial convention of 
the church in the United States, and enjoyed equally 
with much younger men the trip to San Francisco 
and return as well as the great church gathering. In 
1884 he delivered the historical address at the 
twenty-fifth anniversary of building the St. Paul's 
edifice. 

He was also a prominent man in the fraternal 
secret societies. November 25, 1845, he joined Sulli- 
van Lodge, No. 12, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, of Claremont, of which he was soon after 
noble grand. In 1851 he was representative to the 
Grand Lodge, which held its sitting at Concord that 
year. From 186S to his death he was a member of 
Rumford Lodge, No. 46, of Concord. In 1880 he be- 
came a member of Penacook Encampment, No. 3, 
of which he was a past chief patriarch. In 1883 he 
v\'as elected grand master of the Grand Lodge of 
New Hampshire, and served one year, and in 1886 
was sent as representative to the Sovereign Grand 
Lodge. He was a Mason in Blazing Star Lodge, 
No. II, of Concord, in 1867, and was worshipful 
master of that body four years — 1871-2-3-4. He 
subsequently was department grand master, and be- 
came a member of Trinity Royal Arch Chapter, No. 
2, of which he was later high priest, and still later 
grand high priest of the order in the state. He 
was made a member of Horace Chase Council, No. 
4, Royal and Select Masters, and became a member 
of Alount Horeb Commandery. Knights Templar. 
Of this organization he was prelate from 1884 until 
his death. In 1889 he delivered the historical ad- 
dress at the celebration of the one hundredth anni- 
versary of Blazing Star Lodge, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons. 

Horace A. Brown married in Claremont, May 29, 
1845, Sarah S. Booth, born in Claremont, New 
Hampshire, February 8, 1825, daughter of Colonel 
Hcsea and Nancy (Downs) Booth. Jabez Downs, 
maternal grandfather of Sarah S. Booth, was bot-n 
in Connecticut, and served in the war of the Revolu- 
tion. He died at Claremont, New Hampshire, from 
a wound received while serving in that war. His 
1>cdy was removed from Claremont to Concord by 
H. A. Brown, and now lies in Blossom Hill ceme- 
tery. Hosea Booth was born in Lempster, New 
Hampshire, and his wife was born in Windsor, Ver- 
mont. Colonel Hosea Booth was an officer in the 
American Revolution. The children of Horace A. 
and Sarah S. (Booth) Brown were: Edwin O., who 
died young, and Frank Eugene, whose sketch fol- 



i;62 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



lows. Horace A. Brown died at the Margaret Pills- 
bury Hospital, after a long illness, October 31, 1907. 
(IV) Frank Eugene, son of Horace A. and 
Sarah S. (Booth) Brown, was born in Claremont, 
July 15, 1850, and was taken by his parents to Con- 
cord two years later. He completed the course in 
the public schools of Concord, and graduated from 
the high school in 1868. In August of the same 
year he entered the employ of the Concord Railroad 
Company at Concord, as superintendent's clerk. He 
held lliat position and other clerkships until March 
I, 1883, when he was appointed general ticket agent 
for the Concord Railroad Company, with oflfice at 
Concord. Upon the consolidation of the Concord & 
Boston, and Concord & Montreal Railroad com- 
panies, he was appointed general passenger and 
ticket agent of the Concord & Montreal railroad, 
and upon the leasing of the road of that corporation 
to the Boston & Alaine Railroad Company, he was 
appointed assistant general passenger and ticket 
agent vvith office at Concord. He was been clerk of 
the IMount Washington Railroad corporation many 
years and now holds that position. He is also a director 
aiid general passenger agent of that corporation. 
Frank E. Brown has now (1906) lived in Concord 
hfty- four years; for thirty-eight years of that time 
he has been continuously in the service of one rail- 
way company and its successors. He is one of the 
oldest railway officers, in point of service, in New 
Hampshire, and one of the most efficient and most 
favorably known men of that class in New England. 
His cheerful and tactful manner and prompt and 
expeditious disposition of railway business have 
made him friends from ocean to ocean, and from 
the Gulf of Mexico to the frozen north. He is a 
man of pleasing personality, a true and steadfast 
friend, and a good neighbor. He is a Republican 
and has indulged in politics to a small degree, and 
has been a representative in the state legislature, but 
has not sought further official positions. Born of 
Episcopalian parentage he was baptized and brought 
up in that faith. P"or many years he was organist 
of St. Paul's Episcopal Church, and organized and 
directed the first vested choir in that church in Con- 
cord. He is at present organist and choir director 
in the First Baptist Church. He has a talent for 
musical composition, and has written several anthems 
and songs. He is a member of Blazing Star Lodge, 
]'"rce and Accepted Masons of Concord. 

He married (first) Evelyn Hazeltine, daughter 
of James H. Hazeltine, of Concord. She died in 
1888. He married (second), Annie Baker Dietrich, 
daughter of John and Ann (Baker) Dietrich. She 
is a lady of superior musical talent, sings in the 
choir of the Congregational Church, and is one of 
the best known lady vocalists in the state. Two 
sons were born to the first wife: Frank W. and 
Charles Walker. Frank W. is a civil engineer in 
the office of the state engineer at Concord. He 

married, 1898, Bessie Farwell, daughter of 

Farwell, of Montpelier, Vermont. Charles W. is a 
clerk in his father's ofiice. 



This family is not connected with other 
BROWN families of the name which have 

previously been written about. The 
Browns are so numerous that no one has ever un- 
dertaken to make a genealogy of the family; hence 
it has been impossible to trace this line further than 
four generations. 

(I) Aaron Brown was born in Marlow, New 
Hampshire. It is said that his father was a general 
in the Revolutionary army, and commanded New 
Hampshire troops at Bunker Hill. The only Browns 



in New Hampshire regiments recorded on the rolls 
as participating in this battle as officers are James 
Brown, first lieutenant, f~ourth Company, Third Reg- 
iment, commanded by Colonel James Reid, and Jo- 
siah Brown, first lieutenant, Sixth Company, Third 
Regiment. There is nothmg to show which of these 
Browns, if either, was the father of Aaron. In 
early life Aaron Brown removed to Acworth, New 
Hampshire, where he lived for a short time. Later 
he went to Putney, Vermont, remaining for two or 
three years, and finally moved to Syracuse, New 
York, where he lived until his death. He was a 
carpenter by trade. Aaron Brown married Polly, 
eldest child of Isaac and Mary (Wheelock) uates, 
of Acworth, New irlampslnre. Her father settled 
in that town in 1781. Aaron and Polly (Gates) 
Brown had three children: Aaron (2), whose 
sketch follows : Polly, who married Alden Gee, of 
Marlow, New Hampshire; Isaac, who married 
(first) Mary Newton, and (second) Sarah A. Bliss. 

(II) Aaron (2), eldest child of Aaron (i) and 
Polly (Gates) Brown, was born at Alstead, New 
Hampshire, March 4, 1795. He attended the schools 
in Acworth and Lempster, New Hampshire. He 
was a farmer and lived in Acworth till late in life, 
when he removed to Alstead, New Hampshire, 
where he died. He was a Democrat in politics, and 
attended the Universalist Church. He married Eady, 
daughter of John and Polly (Cockle) Watts, of 
Hollis, New Hampshire. They had ten children : Eady 
Diana, married (first) Captain George Lewis, of 
Marlow, and (second) Orlando Newton, of Clare- 
mont. Mary Urana, married Amos Fletcher, of 
Hollis. Isaac married Frances L. Bundy, now 
living in Fowler. Samuel, died young. Martha 
Melissa, married Samuel Savory, of Newbury, New 
Hampshire. John Cockle, whose sketch follows. 
George R., studied at Tufts College ; read law with 
Edmund Burke, at Newport, New Hampshire. Maria 
L., married Moses Moulton, of Manchester, New 
Hampshire. James H. married Mary Ellen 
Whittemore, and lives at Hillsboro Bridge, 
New Hampshire. Emily A., died young. 
Aaron (2) Brown died at Alstead, New Hamp- 
shire, January, 1884. His wife died in 1874. 

(III) John Cockle, third son and sixth child of 
Aaron (2) and Eady (Watts) Brown, was born at 
Acworth, New Hampshire, June 10, 1831. He was 
named after his maternal great-grandfather, John 
Cockle, who at the age of sixteen was taken by a 
press gang from a ball-room in England, and im- 
pressed into the British army. He was in the first 
regiment sent to Boston at the outbreak of the 
Revolution, and deserted to the Continental army. 
He served through the war and went east at its 
close. John Cockle Brown attended the public 
schools of Acworth and Alstead. In 1852 he went 
to Sheffield, Ohio, where he remained a year, en- 
gaged in farming. He came back to New Hamp- 
shire, but in 1855 he went to Ohio again, remaining 
till 1857. This time he, with two partners, built a 
"fore and aft" boat, and freighted timber to Buf- 
falo and other points whence it was shipped by the 
Erie canal to New York City. The panic of 1857 
caused a suspension of this business, and Mr. Brown 
was obliged to return home. He farmed in Lang- 
don, New Hampshire, for about four years, and then 
came to Walpole, where in company with George H. 
Holden he conducted a meat market for about two 
years. He then bought a farm in that town and 
returned to agriculture. Mr. Brown owns about one 
hundred and thirty acres of land, and has made a 
specialty of raising cattle. Merino and Southdown 
sheep and Morgan and other thoroughbred horses. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1563 



He is a Democrat in politics, and represented his 
town in the legishiture in 1876 and 1877, and for a 
third time in 1889. He has been selectman, super- 
visor, road agent, and has served on the school com- 
mittee for three years. He attends the Unitarian 
Church. 

He married, February 28, 1862, Jeannette, daugh- 
ter of Levi Snow (2), of Wilmington, Vermont. 
She was born in Wilmington, February 22, 1839. 
They had five children : Annette, born December 6, 
1862, married Erwin S. Bowman, and lives in Bos- 
ton. Orr W., born June i, 1867, died Jiebruary 14, 
1904. Ashton Burton, February 18, 1873, lives at 
Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, and is in the grocery 
business. F'lorence Maud, May 3, 1876, lives at 
home. Harry Brigham, lives at Jamaica Plain, and 
is in business with his brother, Ashton B. 



The family of Browns of which this 
BROWN article treats is descended from early 

residents of Dunbarton, who settled 
in the wilderness of what is now Hillsborough 
county, before the Revolution. The imperfect man- 
ner in which the early records were kept precludes 
the possibility of tracing the family to the immi- 
grant ancestor. 

(I) Barton B., son of Barton Brown, a native 
of England, was born in Concord, New Hampshire, 
1810, and died in Dunbarton, 1865, aged fifty-five 
years. His mother died when he was a child, and 
he was adopted by a family by the name of Wallace, 
of Concord, with whom he lived until twenty-one , 
years of age. He was educated in the public schools, 
and brought up as a farmer, which line of work 
he followed throughout his active career. In poli- 
tics he was a Democrat, and in religious faith a 
Baptist. He married Susan P. Goodwin, born July 
17, 1816, daughter of Alpheus and Ann (Ham- 
mond) Goodwin. She is living at the present time 
(1907), aged ninety-two years. Her mind is clear 
and her memory retentive, and she tells of the 
incidents of the reception of La Fayette at Hopkin- 
ton. New Hampshire, in 1823. as if they were the 
happenings of yesterday. She was a Methodist in 
early life, but is now a member of the Baptist 
Church. The children born to Barton B. and Susan 
P. (Goodwin) Brown were: Wilbor, who was one 
of Berdan's sharpshooters ; he died in Anderson- 
ville prison. Eldridge C, resides in Dunbarton, 
New Hampshire. Annie S., deceased. Susan F., 
deceased. Alpheus, deceased. Parker Richardson, 
see forward. 

(H) Parker Richardson, sixth child and fourth 
son of Barton B. and Susan P. (Goodwin) Brown, 
was born in Dunbarton, May 25, 1855. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools of Dunbarton, Weare 
and Grafton, and Pembroke and Canaan academies. 
He was reared on his father's farm, and at the 
age of fifteen engaged in the grain business as a 
clerk for E. P. Prescott & Company, at Concord, 
continuing until 1880. He then went to Manches- 
ter and was a clerk for J. S. Kidder & Company, 
later with C. R. Merrill, and subsequently this be- 
came the firm of Freeman & Merrill. Later the firm 
dissolved, after which H. H. Freeman formed a 
partnership with H. H. Merrill, and Mr. Brown 
was with them until he bought out the business of 
Freeman & Merrill, 1895, and he conducted the busi- 
ness successfully until 1900, when he sold it to his 
son. Arthur S. Brown. During this time Mr. Brown 
and O. ]\I. Titus, as partners, built the ]\lilford 
railroad from Milford to Manchester. :Mr. Brown 
is a Republican, and attends the Baptist Church. 



He was an orderly sergeant in the State Capital 
Guards from 1877 to 1880. In 1888 he became a 
member of the Amoskeag Veterans, and since 1893 
has been color sergeant of that organization. With 
the Guards he was present at the laying of the 
corner stone of the Bennington (Vermont) Monu- 
ment, 1877; at the dedication of this monument, 
1888; at the World's Columbian Exposition in Chi- 
cago, 1893, and in fact attended all the affairs of 
this organization since becoming a member. He was 
a member of Queen City Lodge, No. 2,2, Knights of 
Pythias; Lodge No. 146, Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks; Uncanoonuc Court, No. 1962, Inde- 
pendent Order of Foresters, and Ben Franklin 
Lodge, No. I. American Mechanics. Parker R. 
Brown married, in Manchester, Angle Straw, born 
in Manchester, 1856, daughter of Daniel Felch 
and Lucretia Ann Straw. She died in 1885 (see 
Straw). They had one child, Arthur Straw Brown, 
of whom later. 

(HI) Arthur Straw, only child of Parker R. 
and Angle (Straw) Brown, was born in Manchester, 
April 3, 1879. He was educated in the common 
and high schools of Manchester and at Bryant & 
Stratton's Business College. He learned the flour 
and grain business while assisting his father in that 
line. At the age of twenty-one he purchased his 
father's business, which he has since conducted with 
success, and has now one of the leading flour and 
grain stores in Manchester. He is a thirty-second 
degree JMason, and a member of the following named 
Masonic bodies : Washington Lodge. No. 61 ; 
Mount Horeb Royal Arch Chapter, No. 11; Adoni- 
ram Council, No. 3, Royal and Select Masters ; 
Trinity Commandery, Knights Templar, and Ed- 
ward A. Raymond Consistory, Sublime Princes of 
the Royal Secret, the last named of Nashua. He is 
also a member of Bektash Temple, Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Concord, and 
is a call member of the Manchester Fire Department. 

Arthur S. Brown married, November 6, 1900, 
in Manchester. Ina Grace, daughter of Dana Elmer 
and Anna Maria (Stewart) Brown, of Hillsborough, 
and granddaughter of Stephen A. Brown, formerly 
a prominent citizen of Hillsborough, and a lead- 
ing ]\Iason of the state. Mrs. Arthur S. Brown has 
taken an active part in the Rebekahs, and is now 
(1907) a vice-grand of that order. Both Mr. and 
Rlrs. Brown are active members of Ruth Chapter, 
No. 16, Order of the Eastern Star, Mrs. Brown 
having been treasurer for two years, 1906 and 
1907. 



James Brown, a native of Westteny, 
BROWN England, and a jack-spinner by oc- 
cupation, married Sarah Curtis, and 
reared a family of seven children, namely : Ham, 
William, Jeremiah, Sarah, Caroline, Ann and Ox- 
ford. 

(II) Jeremiah, third son and child of James 
and Sarah (Curtis) Brown, was born in England, 
in 1809. He was educated in a school conducted 
under the auspices of the Established Church of 
England. Having served a long and arduous ap- 
prt.nticeship in a woolen mill, he acquired unusual 
proficiency in both the carding and spinning depart- 
ments, and eventually became an overseer in a large 
manufactory of woollen goods. In 1854 he came to 
the United States, and locating in Franklin, New 
Hampshire, was employed as a spinner in that town 
for two years, and at the expiration of that time he 
returned to England, where his death occurred 
about 188 1, at the age of seventy-two years. He 



1564 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



married for his first wife Eva Reeves, who died in 
1842, and he was again married two years later to 
Mary Wickton. He was the father of six children: 
Adam, Martin, Mary, Jane, Sarah and George, all 
of his first union. 

(Ill) George, youngest son of Jeremiah and 
Eva (Reeves) Brown, was born in England No- 
vember II, 1836. After concluding his attendance 
at the public schools he was employed in a woollen 
mill for two years, and having accompanied his 
father to America he remained on this side of the 
ocean. He resided in Franklin for two years, go- 
ing from there to Portsmouth, where he remained 
two years, and for the ensuing se-ven years he 
worked in the Amesbury Mills, in Amesbury, 
Massachusetts. Some forty years ago he purchased 
a farm in Candia, and has ever since resided in that 
town, devoting the greater part of his time to 
agricultural pursuits. Politically he is a Republi- 
can, and in his religious faith he is an Episcopal- 
ian. In 1854 he was united in marriage with Eliza 
Martin, daughter of James and Ann (Sawyer) 
Martin, of England. Mr. and Mrs. Brown are the 
parents of three children: i. James H., born in 
1855. He is a farmer in Candia. He married 
first Annie Pettingill, and they had a daughter 
Emma, who married George Smith, and who had 
two children. He married second, Mary Leach, and 
they had three children : Walter, Mary, Clara. He 
married third, . 2. Jane, born 1857, mar- 
ried Thomas Clough, of Lakeport, and they had two 
children, Ethel and Frank, both of whom married, 
and each has two children. 3. George E., born 
1863, a farmer in Candia ; married Grace Kim- 
ball, and they have two sons, George and Al- 
fred. 



Order of Odd Fellows, and the Independent Order 
of Foresters. He united with the Methodist Episco- 
pal Church at East Colebrook, in 1894. 



(i) Moses Brown, who was born 
BROWN in Landaff, New Hampshire, in 1824, 
went to reside in Colebrook, this 
state, during his boyhood, and was reared upon a 
farm in that town. He was an industrious farmer, 
an upright, conscientious man, and a most estim- 
able citizen. His interest in the moral and religious 
welfare of the community was frequently manifested, 
and for many years he served as a deacon of the 
Christian Church. He married Abigail Stevens, 
daughter of James Stevens, of Colebrook, and had 
a family of six children, three of whom are now 
living, namely: William M., a resident of Lan- 
caster; Irving Charles, a clergyman of Salisbury, 
Massachusetts ; and Elmer F., who is again referred 
to in the succeeding paragraph. The others were : 
Abbie, Dencie and Ida. 

(II) Elmer Frederick Brown, M. D., youngest 
son and child of Moses and Abigail (Stevens) 
Brown, was born in Colebrook, July 16, 1868. His 
early education was acquired in the public schools 
and at the Colebrook Academy, and after the 
completion of his studies }ie taught school, tilled 
the soil and was otherwise employed for some time. 
His professional preparations were pursued at the 
Baltimore (Maryland) Medical College, from which 
he was graduated in April, 1897, and in the follow- 
ing June he located in Groveton, where he has ever 
since been engaged in the general practice of 
medicine. 

Although not active in politics, Dr. Brown is 
interested in civic affairs, especially in all matters 
relative to public education, and has served with 
ability for three years upon the school board of 
Colebrook. He is a member of the New Hampshire 
State and the Coos County Medical societies, the 
American Medical Association, the Independent 



The name is spelled in a variety of 
PHILLIPS forms, and is of ancient and classical 
origin, being derived from the Greek 
Philos-hippos, or horse lover. In Wales and other 
parts of Great Britain its use as a surname has 
continued for a long period, evidently for five hun- 
dred years, and perhaps much longer. 

Families and individuals of this name began to 
emigrate from the Old World at a very early date 
in the history of this country, as early as 1630, and 
some a little earlier, and located at different points 
rlear the seacoast, but more especially in New Eng- 
land. From that time to the present they have 
continued to multiply and spread, by natural causes 
and by emigration, until now they are to be found 
in every state from Maine to California. A recent 
writer has said : "A Phillips crossed the water 
with John Winthrop, and from him descended a 
long line of ministers, judges, governors, and 
councilors — a sterling race, temperate, just, and 
high-minded." The Phillips here referred to is 
Rev. George Phillips, of Watertown, Massachu- 
setts, from whom are descended five divisions of this 
family, so marked by long continued residence in 
particular localities, that they might well be 
designated as distinctive branches. From this 
"eaidiest advocate of the Congregational order and 
discipline," have sprung men who have stood at 
the head of great financial institutions, honored each 
of the learned professions, and taken front rank 
as patriots, leaders and benefactors of mankind. 
As promoters of learning they stand in the front 
rank of the earlier New England history. Hon. 
Samuel Phillips, Hon. John Phillips and . Judge 
Samuel Phillips founded Phillips Academy at An- 
dover, which was incorporated by an act of the 
legislature in 1780, being the first academy so 
incorporated in .America. Six months later Dr. 
John Phillips, of Exeter, secured the incorporation 
of Phillips Exeter Academy. "In Brechin Hall at 
Andover, the library of the theological school, in 
the great halls of the academies at Andover and 
Exeter, and in Memorial Hall at Harvard College, 
one may see hanging upon the wall portraits of one 
and another man and woman of this family, which 
belongs among the untitled nobility of New Eng- 
land, representing the best element of life there — 
not that which always dwells in the brightest glare 
of publicity, but that which directs and shapes the 
current of public opinion." 

(I) Rev. George Phillips, the first minister of 
Watertown, Massachusetts, son of Christopher 
Phillips, of Rainham, was born about 1593, at Rain- 
ham, St. Martins, near Rougham, in the hundred 
(or district) of Gallow, county of Norfolk, Eng- 
land. He graduated as B. A. from Gonville and 
Cains College, Cambridge, 1613, and received the 
degree of M. A., 1617. "He gave early inxlications 
of deep piety, uncommon talents, and love of learn- 
ing, and at 'the university distinguished himself by 
his remarkable progress in learning, especially in 
theological studies for which he manifested an early 
partiality." He was settled for a time in the 
ministry in Suffolk county, but suffering from the 
storm of persecution which then threatened the 
non-conformists of England, he determined to leave 
the mother country and take his lot with the Puri- 
tans. He embarked for America on April 12, 1630, 
in the "Arabella," with his wife and two children, 
as fellow-passengers with Governor Winthrop and 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1565 



Sir Richard Saltonstall, and arrived at Salem on 
June 12. Here his wife soon died, and was buried 
by the side of Lady Arabella Johnson, both evi- 
dently being unable to endure the hardships and 
exposure incident to a tedious ocean voyage. He 
soon located at Watertown, and without delay set- 
tled over the church in that place, which was 
called together in July. At the court of assistants, 
August 23, 1630, it was "ordered that Mr. Phillips 
shall have allowed him 3 hogsheads of meale, i 
hogshead of malte, 4 bushells of Indian corn, i 
bushell of oat-meale, halfe an hundred of salte 
fish." Another statement from the same source 
says 'Mr. Phillips hath 30 ac of land grannted him 
vpp Charles Ryver on the South side." His first 
residence was burned before the close of the year. 
There is a tradition that his later residence is still 
standing "opposite the ancient burial ground, back 
from the road." He continued to be the pastor of 
this church, greatly respected and beloved, till 
his death fourteen years after his arrival. He 
died at the age of fifty-one years, July i, and was 
buried July 2, 1644. "He was the earliest advocate 
of the Congregational order and discipline. His 
views were for a time regarded as novel, suspicious 
and extreme, and he, with his ruling elder, Mr. 
Richard Brown, stood almost unaided and alone, 
until the arrival of Mr. John Cotton, maintaining 
what was and still is the Congregationalism of New 
England. It is not now easy to estimate the ex- 
tent and importance of the influence of Mr. Phillips 
in giving form and character to the civil and 
ecclesiastical institutions of New England." His 
name appears on the list of those who were ad- 
mitted freemen. May 18, 1631, which is the earliest 
date of any such admission. His inventory 
amounted to five hundred fifty pounds, two shillings 
and nine pence, a sum, allowing for the difference 
in commercial value between that time and the 
present, equivalent at least to seven or eight thou- 
sand dollars. His library was valued at seventy-one 
pounds, nine shillings and nine pence. He married 
(first) a daughter of Richard Sargent, and (sec- 
ond) Elizabeth, probably the widow of Captain 
Robert Welden. She died in Watertown, June 27, 
1681. The children (by the first marriage) were: 
Samuel and Elizabeth ; by the second marriage ; 
Zerobabel, Jonathan, Theophilus, Annabel, Ephraim, 
Obadiah and Abigail. 

(II) Rev. Samuel (2), oldest child and only 
son of Rev. George Phillips, was born in England, 
1625, probably at Boxstead, in the county of Suf- 
folk, graduated at Harvard College, 1650, settled in 
Rowley in 165 1. as colleague of Rev. Ezekiel Rogers. 
"He was highly esteemed for his piety and talents, 
which were of no common order, and he was emi- 
nently useful both at home and abroad." He 
married, in October, 1651, Sarah Appleton, born in 
Reydon, England, 1629, daughter of Samuel Apple- 
ton. He died April 22, 1696, "greatly beloved and 
lamented," and his widow died July 15, 1714. Her 
funeral sermon was preached by her grandson, Rev. 
Samuel Phillips, of South Andover, in which he 
said. "She was an early seeker of God, and spent 
much of her time daily in reading the word and in 
prayer. She took care of her children's souls. She 
was always humble and penitent, and as she lived, 
so she died, depending on Christ for righteousness 
and salvation." Their remains repose in the ancient 
burying ground at Rowley. Some of their de- 
scendants have been among the most distinguished 
of New England people for their intellectual talents, 
piety, benevolence, and public services. Their 



eleven children were : Samuel, died young ; Sarah, 
Samuel, George, Elizabeth, died young; Ezekiel, 
George, Elizabeth, Dorcas, Mary and John. 

(HI) Samuel (2), third child and second son 
of Samuel (i) and Sarah (Appleton) Phillips, was 
born in Rowley, March 23, 1658, and removed to 
Salem where he followed the occupation of gold- 
smith, and died October 13, 1722, aged sixty-five. 
He married (first) May 26, 1687, Mary Emerson, 
daughter of Rev. John and Ruth (Symonds) Emer- 
son, of Gloucester, and granddaughter of Deputy 
Governor Samuel Symonds of Ipswich. She died 
October 4, 1703, aged forty-two. He married (sec- 
ond) 1704, Mrs. Sarah (Pickman) Mayficld. Chil- 
dren all by the first wife, except the eighth : Pati- 
ence, died very young; Samuel, Sarah, Mary, Ruth, 
Elizabeth, John and Patience. 

(IV) Rev. Samuel (3), second child and eld- 
est son of Samuel (2) and Mary (Emerson) Phil- 
lips, was born in Salem, February 17, 1690, gradu- 
ated from Harvard College 1708, and died in 
Andover, June 5, 1771. He was the minister of the 
church at the south parish, the present "Old South 
Church," Andover, for sixty years, where he com- 
menced to preach in 1710, and was ordained Oc- 
tober 17, 171 1, the same day the church was or- 
ganized, and continued till his death. "In his in- 
dividuality, simplicity, decision, energy, strength, and 
pristine hardiness of character, he abated nothing 
from the spirit of his worthy ancestors. He was, 
like them, also a model of industry, and frugality, 
and resolute self-restraint, and order in all that he 
did. His portrait bespeaks a man of authority, 
born to command, and knowing his birthright; and 
such was he in an eminent degree, a conscious and 
acknowledged leader wherever he was known." He 
married, January 17, 1712, Hannah White, daughter 
of John White, Esq., of Haverhill, deacon of the 
church and captain of the company of the town. 
It was her practice to accompany her husband on 
his parishional calls, at which time he rode on 
horseback, with his wife seated on a pillion behind 
him. She died January 7, 1773. Their five children 
were : Mary, Samuel, Lydia, John and William, the 
subject of the following sketch. 

(V) Hon. William (i), third son and youngest 
child of Samuel (3) and Hannah (White) Phillips, 
was born in Andover, July 6, 1722, and died January 
15, 1804, aged eighty-one. At the age of fifteen 
years he went to Boston and became an apprentice 
to Edward Bromfield, Esq., a highly respectable 
merchant of that town, son of Hon. Edward Brom- 
field, for many years one of His Majesty's council 
in the province of Massachusetts Bay, and a great- 
grandson of Rev. John Wilson, the first minister of 
Boston. At the termination of his apprenticeship 
he married, June 13, 1744 (old style), Abigail Brom- 
field, eldest daughter of his late master, and engaged 
in mercantile pursuits, in which he was very suc- 
cessful. By this marriage a great-grandson of 
the first minister of Watertown was _ united with 
a great-granddaughter of the first minister of Bos- 
ton. He was for many years a deacon of the 
Old South Church, and was repeatedly elected 
representative and state senator. "He took a de- 
cided and active part in the proceedings which pre- 
ceded and attended the Revolution; was on many 
of the committees appointed by the town of Boston 
in those trying times, and often contributed liberally 
of his estate to promote the measures which issued 
in the establishment of our independence. He was 
one of the committee sent to demand of Governor 
Hutchinson that the tea should be sent back to 



1566 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



England; was rejected as a councillor by Governor 
Gage, was a member of the convention for framing 
the constitution of the commonwealth, and that of 
adopting the constitution of the United States. 
Upon the outbreak of the Revolution he moved his 
family to Norwich, Connecticut, where they re- 
mained while the British had possession of Boston, 
occupying the Arnold mansion, the same house in 
which the traitor Benedict Arnold was born." He 
gave by his last will five thousand dollars to Phil- 
lips Academy, Andover. The children of William 
and Abigail (Bromfield) Phillips were: Abigail, 
William, died young; William, Sarah, died young; 
Hannah, died young; Hannah, Sarah and Mary. 

(VI) Lieutenant Governor William (2), third 
child and second son of William (i) and Abigail 
(Bromfield) Phillips, born in Boston, iNIarch 30, 
1750, died in Boston, May 26, 1827. He was deacon 
of the Old South Church, representative, and from 
1812 to 1823 lieutenant-governor; from 1804 until 
his death in 1827 president of the Massachusetts 
Bank; presidential elector at large in 1820, when 
the vote of the state was cast for Mr. Monroe. To 
the already very liberal endowments of Phillips 
Academy, Andover, he added the sum of fifteen 
thousand dollars, and gave ten thousand dollars to 
Andover Theological Seminary. His generous gifts 
distributed among about a dozen worthy objects, 
amounted to sixty-two thousand dollars. "He came 
into possession of an ample fortune, to "the manage- 
ment of which, and to the duties of his family and 
of friendship, to the service of the public, and to 
deeds of benevolence, he was thenceforth chiefly 
devoted. He was eminently a domestic man, fond 
of retirement, and of the society of his family and 
intimate friends. Yet he was not averse to the calls 
of public duty." The Rev. Dr. Wisner in preach- 
ing his funeral sermon said, "Scarcely a measure has 
been adopted or an association formed in this 
vicinity for the improvement of the physical, the 
intellectual, the moral or the spiritual condition of 
men, which ha? not received his co-operation and 
liberal support." He married, September 13, 1774, 
Aliriam Mason, born June 16, 1754, third daughter 
of Hon. Jonathan Mason of Boston. She died 
May 7, 1823, "greatly lamented." He died May 26, 
1827. Their children were : William Wilson, died 
young; Jonathan, died young; Jonathan, Miriam, 
Edward, Abigail Bromfield and William. 

(VH) William Phillips was born October 13, 
1791, in Boston. He married Betsey Granger and 
resided in Lynn, Massachusetts, where she died No- 
vember 17, 1878. 

(Vni) Harriet Phillips, daughter of William 
and Betsey (Granger) Phillips, was born April 12, 
1815, in Lynn, and became the wife of Ira Gove 
(see Gove, VH). 



This is a name intimateh' associated 
COLBY with the early history of New Hamp- 
shire, being found in many localities in 
the pioneer periods, and is still prominent in busi- 
ness, social and professional affairs throughout the 
state. 

(I) The founder of the family in America was 
Anthony Colby, who came with Rev. John Win- 
throp's colony in 1630, his name being the ninety- 
third on the list of church members. He came from 
the eastern coast of England, and was one of the 
many driven by persecution to seek a home in 
the New World. He is found of record in 1632, 
at Cambridge, Massachusetts, where he married Su- 
sannah, supposed to have been a daughter of William 
Sargent. He removed to Salisbury in 1634, and in 



1647 he sold his house and two-acre lot to William 
Sargent, and settled on the west side of the Powow 
river, in what is now Amesbury. He was recorded 
as a "planter," and received land in the "first di- 
vision," in 1640 and 1643 ; was one of the first com- 
moners of Amesbury, where' he received land in 
1654 and 1658, and his widow in his right in 1662 
and 1664. He died in Salisbury, February 11, 1661. 
His widow Susannah, married (second) William 
Whitridge (or Whitred) in 1663, and was again a 
widow in 1669. She died July 8, 1689, "or there- 
about." The children of Anthony and Susannah 
were : John, Sarah, a child died young, Samuel, 
Isaac, Rebecca, Mary, and Thomas. (Isaac and 
Thomas, with descendants receive extended notice 
in this article.) 

(II) John, eldest child of Anthony and Su- 
sannah Colby, was baptized at Boston, September 
8, 1663. He was a "planter" of Amesbury, where he 
was an original commoner in 1654, and received land 
in 1658-59-62-66-68. He married at South Salem, 
January 14, 1656, Frances Hoyt, and died February 
II, 1674. His widow married December 27, 1676, 
John Barnard. Their children were : John, Sarah, 
Elizabeth, Frances, Anthony, Susannah, Thomas, 
Mary and Hannah. 

(III) John (2), eldest child of John (i) and 
Frances (Hoyt) Colby, was born in Salisbury, No- 
vember 19, 1656, and died in Amesbury, April 6, 
1719. He received "children's land" in 1659, and a 
"township" in 1660. He was a soldier in King 
Philip's war, was in the Falls fight under Captain 
Turner, ]\lay 18, 1676, was in the "training band" 
in 1680, and was known as "Sergeant." He took 
the oath of allegiance and fidelity, December, 1677. 
He married (first), December 27, 1675, Sarah El- 
dridge; (second), before 1700, Sarah Osgood, and 
(third), February 8, 1715, in Amesbury,- Ruth, 
widow of Robert Ring. Her children were : John, 
Joseph, Sarah, three children unnamed, died in in- 
fancy, Judith and Hannah. 

(IV) Joseph, the second son and child of John 
and Sarah (Eldridge) Colby, was born in Ames- 
bury. He lived in Amesbury, East Parish, and 
Hampstead, New Hampshire. "Mr. Joseph Colby" 
owned the covenant and was baptized June i"]. 1731, 
at the first Amesbury Church. "He was adminis- 
trator of his father's estate, and of the gift to him- 
self and brother of certain land in Amesbury." In 
1718 he sold to his brother's widow his right and 
title to said land, bought land in Hampstead, New 
Hampshire, where he soon after settled and lived 
the remainder of his life. Mary, wife of Joseph 
Colby, with others, was dismissed from the First 
Haverhill Church, to form a church at Hampstead, 
May 31, 1752. Joseph Colby married (first) in 
Amesbury, November 22, 1704, Anne Bartlett, who 
died October 24, 1721 ; (second) in Amesbury, Au- 
gust I, 1722. widow Mary Johnson, of Haverhill. 
Joseph Colby died in 1753 or 1754, and the inven- 
tory of his estate was made May 22,, 1754. His 
children, eighteen in number, were: Be'naiah, Jo- 
seph, Nathan, Judith, Hannah, Martha, Ann, John, 
]\Iary, Sarah, Theophilus, Lydia, Dorothy, John, 
Philbrook, Susanna, Edmund and ]\Iary. 

(V) Philbrook, fifteenth child of Joseph and 
third son and eighth child of Joseph and Mary 
Colby, was born in Amesbury. March 16, 1735. was 
a "blacksmith." and lived in Haverhill, Massachu- 
setts, and Weare, New Hampshire. He was a soldier 
in the French and Indian war, and is also credited 
with serving two or three enlistments in the Revo- 
lutionary war, after which he removed to Weare, 
New Hampshire. He married (first) at Haverhill, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



156; 



Juh' 13, 1758, Susanna Bradley, who was ad- 
mitted to the First Haverhill Church, August 2, 
1778; and (second) Ruth Lufkin. His thirteen chil- 
dren were: William, Samuel, Susanna, Mary, 
Daniel, Jeremiah, John Bradley, Benjamin, Jona- 
than, Joseph, Polly, Sally, and Rhoda, the last six 
children being by the second wife. 

(VI) Benjamin, eldest child of Philbrook and 
Ruth (Lufkin) Colby, removed to Weare probably 
with his father's family. He married Priscilla 
Hogg, and they were the parents of six children : 
Lydia, Sally, John, Hiram, David and Anna. 

(VH) John (3), eldest son and third child of 
Benjamin and Priscilla (Hogg) Colby, was born 
in Weare, in 1813, and died at the house of his 
son-in-law, Levi C. Woods, in Concord, July 31, 
1886, aged seventy-three years. He was a farmer in 
Weare and Henniker. He married Orpha Metcalf, 
born in Croydon, who died at the residence of her 
daughter Helen P., in Somerville, Massachusetts, 
]\Iarch 28, 1892, aged eighty-one years. The children 
of this union were : Robert, Samuel. Belinda D., 
Matilda A., Helen P., George P., Nancy and 
James B. 

(Vni) Belinda D., third child and eldest daugh- 
ter of John and Orpha (Metcalf) Colby, born in 
Deering, July 7, 1839, married Levi Cobb Woods 
(see Woods, H). 

(H) Isaac, third son of Anthony and Susannah 
Colb}', was born July 6, 1640, in Salisbury, in which 
town he was a "planter," and died in Amesbury. 
1684, between March 29 and April 15. His estate 
was divided in 1725. He had a meeting-house seat 
in Amesbury in 1667. He married iNlartha Jewett 
(sister of Deacon Ezekiel Jewett), who survived 
him forty-six years and died July 13, 1730, in Ames- 
bury. Their children were : Anthony, Elizabeth, 
Martha, Sarah, Rebecca, Dorothy, Isaac and Abra- 
ham. 

(III) Anthony, of Haverhill, eldest child of Isaac 
and Martha (Jewett) Colby, was born January 24, 
1670, married (first), October 23, 1701, Mary Cur- 
rier, who died April 8, 1719. He married (second), 
December 4, 1721, Elizabeth West, who died June 
25, 1738, a daughter of Thomas West of Bradford. 
The Haverhill records bear mention of the follow- 
ing named children: Anthony, Elijah, Richard and 
Isaac, whose sketch follows. 

(IV) Isaac (2), fourth son and child of .\n- 
thony and ^lary (Currier) Colby, was liorn in 
Haverhill, March 2^, 1712, and married, April 25, 
^733, Sarah Davis, both being according to the 
record "of Haverhill;" she died June 3, 1755. He 
married (second), April, 1757, Hannah Colby, of 
Amesbury. The children, born in Haverhill, of 
the tirst wife, were : William and Anthony, twins, 
died young; Elizabeth, Sarah, William Davis, An- 
thony, Isaac, Benjamin, Mary and ^lartha, twins, 
and Abigail. 

(V) Benjamin, eighth child and sixth son of 
Isaac and Sarah (Davis) Colby, was born in Haver- 
hill, July 14, 1750, and died in Sanbornton, New 
Hampshire, November 9. 1816, aged sixty-six. He 
was the "first of his name" in Sanbornton. though 
he probably did not settle earlier than his brother 
Isaac, or till after his marriage, 1773. He bought 
the farm, lot No. 10, second division, on the north 
slope of Colby Hill, and there built his original 
house, and kept it many years as one of the first 
taverns. He also built another house which was 
occupied by his son Benjamin. He was a prominent 
man in the town, was a captain in the militia, and in 
1782 was selectman. He married (first), in Haver- 
hill, October 19, 1773, Elizabeth Hunkins, proliably 



a daughter of John Hunkins. She died November 

22, 1806, aged sixty-six. He married (second) 
widow Sarah (Eastman) Carter, of Concord. The 
children, all by the first wife, were: Sarah, died 
3-oung; William, died young; Benjamin and Wil- 
liam. 

(VI) Benjamin, third child and second son of 
Benjamin and Elizabeth (Hunkin-) Colby, was 
born in Sanbornton, July 5, 1778, and died Febru- 
ary 6, 1856, aged seventy-seven. He was a school 
teacher for thirty-four consecutive years, mostly in 
Sanbornton, after 1800, and was favorably known as 
"Master Colby." He married, January 11, 1804, 
Polly Woodman, who was born in Sanbornton, April 

23, 1784, daughter of Rev. Joseph and Esther 
(Whittemore) (Hall) Woodman. Her father was 
for thirty-five years pastor of the Congregational 
Church of Sanbornton. She died June 14, 1S61, 
aged seventy-seven. The children of this union 
were: Eliza Esther, Sally Chase, Albert, Ethan. 
Jonathan Wilkins, Hannah Taylor, Benjamin 
Marion, Jeremiah Hall Woodman, Charles Wood- 
man, Aaron Whittemore, died young; and Aaron 
Woodman. 

(VII) Ethan, fourth child and second son of 
Benjamin and Polly (Woodman) Colby, was born 
in Sanbornton, .\ugust 29, 1810, and died in Cole- 
brook, Alarch 28, 1895, aged eighty-five. He went 
to St. Johnsbury, Vermont, in 1829. as a clerk for 
jNIoses Kjttredge, and afterwards was in company 
with Mr. Kittredge till 1836, when he went to 
Littleton and into trade with Cyrus Eastman, as 
Colby & Eastman. In 1838 Mr. Colby sold out 
and went to Colebrook and commenced the mercan- 
tile business in company with his old partner, ]^loses 
Kittredge, but at the end of five years purchased 
the entire business and remained in trade at the same 
place till 1856, when he sold out to George W. 
Brackett and retired. He bought the Chamberlin 
farm on which stood the Chamberlin Tavern, and 
was engaged in agriculture until his death. The 
most of the farm is now in blocks and streets and 
constitutes a part of Colebrook, and one of the 
streets is called Colby in honor of Mr. Colby. He 
was a positive man in his ideas, and a liberal sup- 
porter of the church. In politics he was first an 
old-line Whig, and after the dissolution of his 
party a Republican. He was postmaster for several 
years. He represented Colebrook in the legislature 
in 1861, and the ne.xt year was a member of the 



governor's council from district No. 



He de- 



clined several offices on account of his health, in- 
cluding that of sherifif of Coos county "upon unani- 
mous recommendation," in 1S56, and that of com- 
missioner on the board of enrollment, from Hon. 
E. M. Stanton, secretary of war, 1863. He married, 
March 29, 1843, Mary Chamberlin, who was born 
April 6, 1819, and died November 18, 1900, daughter 
of Edmund and Polly Chamberlin, of Colebrook. 
They had three children : Edward Chamberlin, 
Charles and Sarah. Sarah Colby, born May 10, 
1852, married Melrose V. Knight (see Knight) 
of Colebrook, and resides on the old home- 
stead. 

(II) Thomas, youngest child of .Anthony and 
Susannah Colby, was born in Salisbury, Marcli 8, 
1651, and died before March 30, 1691. He took 
the oath of allegiance and fidelity in December, 1677. 
He married, September 16, 1674, Hannah, daughter 
of Valentine and Joanna (Pindor) Rowell (see 
Rowell, II), born in Salisbury, January, 1653. and 
they had five children: Thomas, Hannah, Isaa._, 
Abraham and Jacob. After the death of her hus- 
band Hannah Colby married (second), probably 



i;68 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



about 1691, Henry Blaisdell. (Mention of Jacob 
Colby and descendants appears in this article.) 

(Ill) Thomas (2), eldest son and child of 
Thomas and Hannah (Rowell) Colby, was born 
in Amesbury, July l, 1675. According to records 
he served as snowshoe man in 1708, and from the 
same source it is learned that the Christian name 
of his wife was Frances, but her maiden surname 
is wanting. He died June 4, 1741, and his estate 
was divided the following year. His widow was 
still hving in 1748. Their children were : Ezekiel, 
Sarah, Judith, Orlando, Thomas, Frances, Hannah, 
Nathaniel, Anne, Abraham and Willebee. (Men- 
tion of Abraham and descendants forms part of this 
article.) 

(IV^) Ezekiel, eldest child of Thomas (2) and 
Frances Colby, was born April 12, 1699, in Ames- 
bury, and resided in the west parish of that town, 
where he was described as a yeoman. His will 
was made May 18, 1756, and proven May 4, 1756, 
showing that he was pos'sessed of considerable fore- 
sight and had care for his family. He was mar- 
ried, December 24, 1724, to Mary Elliott, daughter 
of John and Naomi (Tuxbury) Elliott, of Ames- 
bury, granddaughter of Edmund Elliott, of that 
town. She was born August 4, 1699, and was living 
in 1732. Ezekiel Colby and wife owned the cove- 
nant and were baptized March 19, 1727, in the 
Second Amesbury Church. Their children were : 
Daniel, Ezekiel, John, Elliott, Mary and Anne. 

(V) Elliott, fourth son and child of Ezekiel and 
Mary (Elliott) Colby, was born May 22, 1735, in 
Amesbury, and lived in early life in the west parish 
of that town. He served in the French war of 
1758. He removed to Warner, New Hampshire, 
about 1780, and died in that town February 20, 
1811. He was married (first) June 17, 1760, in the 
Second Amesbury Church to Judith Sargent, daugh- 
ter of Stephen Sargent, of Amesbury (see Sargent, 
IV). Mr. Colby was married (second), November 
30, 1782, to Hannah Smith. The records of the 
Second Amesbury Church show that Elliott Colby 
and wife renewed the Covenant in 1761, and that 
the latter was received to full communion June 12, 
1763, and was dismissed to Warner, January 30, 
1780. There were ten children of the first wife 
and two of the second, namely : Naomi (died 
young), Ezekiel, Stephen, John, Elliott, Judith, 
Naomi, Anna, Molly, Phineas Kelley, Pearson 
Smith and Daniel. 

(VI) Naomi, third daughter and seventh child 
of Elliott and Judith (Sargenfi Colby, was born 
December 18, 1773, in Amesbury, and was baptized 
the following day at the Second Church of Salis- 
bury. She became the wife of Benjamin Badger, 
and resided in Warner, New Hampshire (see 
Badger, VI). 

(VI) Phineas, youngest child of Elliott and 
Judith (Sargent) Colby, was born in Warner June 
24, 1780. He learned the carpenter's trade, which 
he followed in Deerheld, this state, for a time, and 
in 1810 removed to a farm in Candia, where he 
resided for the rest of his life, applying himself to 
his trade as well as to agriculture. Flis death oc- 
curred in 1850. He served as a selectman, and was 
otherwise quite prominent in local .public affairs, 
acting in politics with the Democratic party. His 
religious affiliations were with the Congregation- 
alists. He was first married in 1798 to Patty Jen- 
ness, daughter of Thomas Jenness of Deerheld, and 
she died in 1810, having borne him three children — 
Phineas, Thomas J', and Sally. In 181 1 he married 
for his second wife the Widow Emerson of Candia, 
who bore him two sons, Asa and Jonathan E. 



(VII) Thomas J., second child and youngest 
son of Phineas and Patty (Jenness) Colby, was born 
in Deerfield, in 1807. He began the activities of 
life as a carpenter, following it until 1829, when 
he went to Topsham, Vermont, and he died in that 
town at the age of thirty-nine years. In 1829 he 
married Mary Dolber, daughter of John and Lydia 
(Robie) Dolber, of Candia, New Hampshire, and 
she survived him many years, dying there in 1897, 
at the advanced age of ninety years. Both were 
members of the Congregational Church. They were 
the parents of two sons — John D. and George. 

(VIII) John Dolber, eldest son of Thomas J. 
and Mary (Dolber) Colby, was born in Topsham, 
October 22, 1830. After concluding his attendance 
at the public schools, including the Manchester high 
school, he engaged in the milk business, and con- 
tinued in it for eight years. He was subsequently 
engaged in lumbering in Candia for some time, 
drove a team regularly between New Boston and 
Francestown for a period of ten years, was for 
seven years in the railway service in Boston, and 
for the ensuing fifteen years was in the employ, of 
the Lawrence Manufacturing Company at Lowell, 
Massachusetts. In 1896 he returned to the old 
Colby homestead in Candia, for the purpose of tak- 
ing charge of the farm and caring for his mother 
during her last days, and he is still residing there. 
In politics he is a Republican, and for two years 
was chairman of the board of selectmen in Candia. 
He is a member of Rockingham Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and of the local Grange, of which 
he has been secretary for four years. In religious 
faith he is a Congregationalist, a member of the 
society, and treasurer and clerk. 

On September 6, 1854, Mr. Colby married 
Keziah Patten, daughter of Francis and Rebecca 
(Knight) Patten, and five children have been born 
to them : Mary R., born April, 1857, married 
Charles Eastman, of Littleton, and died, 1900; 
Ella F., born 1S59, died 1869; Thomas J., born 1865, 
died in infancy; Emma B., born 1868, married B. 
F. Stephenson, of Lowell, one child, Paul Colby; 
Grace, born 1873, married Eugene Elliott, of Lowell, 
one child, Frank G. 

(IV) Abraham, tenth child and fifth son of 
Thomas (2) and Frances Colby, was born in Ames- 
bury, East Parish, about 1720, and baptized Janu- 
ary 25, 1736, and was living in the same parish in 
1751. He married, March 23, 1742, Elizabeth Blais- 
dell, fourth daughter and tenth child of Jonathan 
and Hannah (Jameson) Blaisdell, of Amesbury. He 
was an early resident of Bow, New Hampshire, 
where he purchased, August 16, 1768, of John 
Leavitt, of Stratham, part of lots three and four, 
in range 14, and settled thereon, with his five sons. 
The tract included one hundred and twenty acres, 
and the purchase price was forty-five pounds, lawful 
money, equivalent to about one hundred and fifty 
dollars at that time. This land was on Wood Hill, 
and is held now by his descendants. The father was 
then about fifty-three years of age, and two of his 
sons were of legal age. He continued to reside there 
until his death, in 1809, at the age of ninety-four 
years. His children were named : Sarah, Elijah, 
Willaby, Anna, John, Hannah, Thomas, Eli and 
Jonathan. Eli was killed at the battle of Benning- 
ton, in his nineteenth year. The first child died 
young, and the others married and settled in Bow, 
where their posterity are now numerous. 

(V) Willaby, second son and third child of 
Abraham and Elizabeth (Blaisdell) Colby, was 
born February 28, 174S, in Amesbury, Massachu- 
setts, and became the pioneer of the family in com- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1569 



ing to Bow. On attaining his majority he pushed 
into the wilderness on a tour of investigation, and 
he selected the land on Wood Hill, in Bow, where 
his father and the entire family subsequently settled. 
He returned to his Massachusetts home and at once 
began making preparations for settling in the new 
location. One of the first steps in this preparation 
was the taking of a wife, and Sarah Sargent, of 
Newport, became his bride. When thev removed to 
the new home in the year 1768, she rode on horse- 
back, carr3-ing in her arms their infant child, born 
in the fall of 1767. He built a log house, which 
was soon succeeded by a frame building that was 
occupied after him by his son, Philip. He was 
skilled in the use of carpenter's tools, and was well 
adapted to building, being able to climb with ease 
and without fear over any frame. In July, 1777, 
Mr. Colby was one of eight who marched from Bow, 
under Captain Benjamin Bean, to the relief of 
Ticonderoga. On arriving at Charlestown, New 
Hampshire, they learned that the fort had been 
evacuated, and returned after a service of seven 
days. In 1774 he purchased of Benjamin Noyes 
lot No. 5, in the fourteenth range, comprising one 
hundred acres, which was called "Nottencook." 
This land he divided between his sons, James and 
Philip. He was one of the committee to pass upon 
the completion of the church building in 1792, and 
was selectman in 1796-97. He died October 30, 
1829, aged eighty-five years. His first wife, Sarah 
(Sargent) Colby, died April 22, 1796, aged fifty- 
four years, and he married (second), in 1797, Molly 
Sargent, of Pembroke, daughter of Sterling and 
Lydia (Coffin) Sargent (see Sargent, V). The 
second wife was the mother of two of his children. 
The entire family included : James, Hepsebeth, 
Sarah, Philip, Merriam, Judith, Sarah, Polly and 
Willaby. 

(VI) James, eldest child of Willaby and Sarah 
(Sargent) Colby, was born October 27, 1767, in 
Newton, New Hampshire, and was brought to Bow 
while a babe in arms. He inherited and acquired 
the skill of his father in building operations, and 
they built many of the best dwellings in the town. 
In 1790 he purchased thirteen acres of land, and 
next year added twenty acres, with a house, all 
on Wood Hill. He died ■ February 15, 1829, and 
was survived by his wife until December 18, 1848, 
when she was seventy-five years of age. He was 
married in 1789 to Susanna, daughter of James 
Stewart, of Dunbarton. She was born 1773, in 
Salem, this state, and was the mother of the follow- 
ing children: Willaby (died young), Aaron, 
Willaby, Levi, Abiah, Lucinda, Susan, James and 
Charles Sargent. 

(VII) Aaron, the second child and son of 
James and Susanna (Stewart) Colby, was born in 
the town of Bow, April 15, 1792. He enlisted in 
September, 1814, for the defense of Portsmouth, 
New Hampshire, and was in the service about three 
months. He married, December 25, 1817, Edith, 
daughter of John Rowell, of Bow. She was born 
July 30, 1795. He followed farming in the town 
of Bow until 1838, when he purchased a farm at 
Potter Place in the town of Andover, New Hamp- 
shire, and resided there until 1867, when he sold 
out and purchased the Hoag farm in the town of 
Bow, where he and his wife resided until their 
death. He died January 18, 1877. His wife died 
March 15, 1877. Their children were : Harrison, 
born April ii, 1820, and Sylvanus R., January 29, 
1829. The latter moved to Ohio in 1852, and was 
killed on the Ohio & Pennsylvania railroad, Sep- 



tember 14, 1853 ;_ he was buried in Salem, Colum- 
biana county, Ohio. 

(VIII) Harrison, eldest son of Aaron and 
Edith (Rowell) Colb}^ was born in the town of 
Bow, New Hampshire, April 11, 1820, married, 
November 28, 1843, Judith E. Whitaker, daughter 
of Joseph and Nancy (Elkins) Whitaker. She was 
born October 25, 1819. Their children were: Cle- 
mantine L., born in Andover, New Hampshire, April 
23, 1845, and Anthon W., born in Andover, De- 
cember 7, 1850. Harrison Colby died May 5, 1905, 
in Concord, aged eighty-five years. 

(IX) Anthon W., second child and only son 
of Harrison and Judith L. (Whitaker) Colby, was 
born in the town of Andover, New Hampshire, De- 
cember 7, 1850. He left Andover for Vineland, 
New Jersey, in December, 1865, where he resided 
until the fall of 1869, when he returned to Bow 
to care for his aged parents. He married, August 
28, 1873, Jessie L. Brown, who was born in Bow, 
New tiampshire, July 3, 1856. Mr. Colby was in 
the employ of the Concord railroad for several years. 
Commencing in 1870 he carried the mail from Con- 
cord to Dunbarton and Bow, eight years. He was 
the first postmaster at Bow Mills, and since 1888 
has been employed in the state house at Con- 
cord. 

(X) Eva M., only child of Anthon W. and 
Jessie L. (Brown) Colby, was born in the town of 
Bow, New Hampshire, June 10, 1874. She married, 
June 28, 1893, David Waldo White, of Concord, 
New Hampshire (see White, V). They are the 
parents of the following named children : Lloyd 
David, born May 29, 1894, died May 10, 1897; 
Una Goodell, August 21, 1895 J Irene B., September 
14, 1898. 

(III) Jacob, youngest child of Thomas (i) 
and Hannah (Rowell) Colby, was born in Ames- 
bury, April 13, 1688, and lived in Amesbury, East 
Parish. He married (first), in Amesbury, April 9, 
171 1, Hannah Hunt, born March 23, 1688, fourth 
daughter of Edward and Ann (Weed) Hunt; (sec- 
ond), at Amesbury, November 11, 1724, Elizabeth 
Elliot, born in Amesbury, November 11, 1691, third 
child of John and Naomi (Tuxbury) Elliot. A 
Mrs. Elizabeth Colby died in Amesbur}-, February 
5, 1737. Their children were : Bekius, Jacob, Ed- 
mund, Valentine and Thomas Elliot. 

(IV) Valentine, fourth son and phild of Jacob 
and Elizabeth (Elliot) Colby, was born in Ames- 
bury, May 29, 1728, baptized June 13, 1736, in Ames- 
bury, died about 1812. His will was dated No- 
vember 2, 1805, and probated January 4, 1813. He 
married (first), August 20, 1747, Hannah Kim- 
ball; (second), February i, 1788, Elizabeth Lowell, 
of Amesbury, who survived him. Plis fourteen chil- 
dren, probably all by the first wife, were : Valen- 
tine, died young; Judith, Rhoda, Valentine, died 
young; Plezekiah, Rhoda, Thomas, David, Plan- 
nah, Elizabeth, Valentine, Jonathan, Levi and 
Molly. 

(V) Levi, eighth son and thirteenth child of 
Valentine and Hannah (Kimball) Colby, was an 
early resident of Warner, where he married and 
raised a family of children. 

(VI) Valentine, son of Levi Colby, was born in 
Warner, in 1764, married Sally Osgood, and raised 
a family there. 

(VII) Levi Osgood, son of Valentine and Sally 
(Osgood) Colby, was born in Warner in 1818. He 
was well educated for his day and time, was a farmer 
and a member of the Congregational Church. 
Originally a Democrat, he became a Republican in 



I570 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1855, and adhered to that faith the remainder of 
his life. He married Alary Durrell, born in Brad- 
ford, in 1823, daughter of Nicholas and Polly (Batch- 
elder) Durrell. Nicholas, son of Eliphalet Durrell, 
of Northwood, was born in 1777, and died in 1844, 
reputed the wealthiest man in Bradford. Polly 
Batchelder was a daughter of Deacon Simon Batch- 
elder, of Northwood. 

(VIII) Frederick Myron, first child of Levi 
O. and Mary (Durrell) Colby, was born in Warner. 
December 9, 1848. His early years were spent in 
labor on his father's farm, and in obtaining his 
education in the common schools of Warner, New 
Ivondon Academy, and the Commercial College at 
Concord. jNIr. Colby was born a poet and has found 
pleasure and profit in indulging the Aluse and writ- 
ing stories. Professionally he is an undertaker and 
embalmer, and incidentally he has administered upon 
various estates, in all of which occupations he has 
been successful. He is the author of "The Daugh- 
ter of Pharaoh.'' "Brave Lads and Bonnie Lasses," 
"Boy Kings and Girl Queens," and "Poems of Heart 
and Home." Always a Democrat he has been placed 
in various positions of honor and trust by his fellow 
citizens. He has been a member of the Warner 
board of education six years ; town treasurer four 
years ; postmaster five years ; and member of the 
Democratic state committee from 1890 to 1904. He 
is, a member of the New Hampshire Licensed Em- 
balmers' Association, of which he was secretary from 
1902 to 1905 ; is one of the trustees and treasurer 
of the Pillsbury Library; treasurer of Pine Grove 
Cemetery Association, member of the New. Hamp- 
shire Antiquarian and New Hampshire Historical 
societies, and an honorary member of the Man- 
chester Press Club. He married in Warner, Decem- 
ber 24, 1882, Hannah Maria George, born in Warner, 
daughter of Gilman C. and Nancy (Badger) George, 
of Warner. Gilman C. George, born in 1820, died 
September 12, 1894, was a son of James and Han- 
nah (Church) George, and a descendant of James 
George, who settled in Haverhill, Massachusetts, 
in 1653. He was a captain in the state militia in 
1843-44, town clerk from 1868 to 1872, and select- 
man frcm 1885 to 1888. He was master of Warner 
Grange, president of the Kearsarge Agricultural 
Association, and was the first worshipful master of 
Harris Lodge, No. 91, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Warner. 



The Colbys of this article are descended 
COLBY from Anthony Colby (or Colebie), the 
immigrant, an account of whom pre- 
cedes this, but the generations preceding those 
given below have not yet been definitely ascer- 
tained. 

(I) Thomas Coll)y was born in Maine, in T777, 
and died in Franconia, New Hampshire, Alarch 30, 
1855. He married Polly Knapp, born in Saulsbury 
(now Franklin), New Hampshire, in 1798, and died 
in Franconia, New Hampshire, in 1826. They had 
children: i. Thomas, born in Belgrade. Maine, 
1805, was killed by blasting stone at Milford, New 
Hampshire, in 1827. 2. Lucy, born in Belgrade, 
Maine, January 20, 1810, died in Franconia, New 
Hampshire, December 20, 1893. 3- Enoch Libliv, 
see forward. 4. Clarke, born in Franconia, 18 17, 
died in 1835. 5. John, born in 1812, died in 1844. 
6. Mary A.,, born in Franconia in 1819, died there in 
1859. There were three other children who died in 
infancy. 

(II) Enoch Libby, son of Thomas and Polly 
(Knapp) Colby, was born in Belgrade, Maine, Alay 
II, 1814, and died in Lancaster, New Hampshire, 



December 21, 1875. When he was two years of age 
he was brought by his parents to Franconia, New 
Hampshire, and there he resided until 1850. His 
education was limited to an attendance of eleven 
weeks in the common schools of the district. He 
worked on the farm of his father until he had at- 
tained his majority, and then learned the carpenter's 
trade, which he followed until 1850. About 1840 
he removed to Colebrook, New Hampshire, in which 
town he held the office of deputy sheriff for two- 
years. He removed to Lancaster in i8=;4. and the 
following year was one of the corporators of the 
Lancaster Manufacturing Company. In the same 
year he was one of the corporators of the Coos. 
Mutual Fire Insurance Company, and at the first 
meeting of the proprietors he was elected a mem- 
ber of the board of directors. At the meeting of 
the stockholders, September i, 1863, he was again 
elected, and on the same day was elected president,, 
and held that office until his death. He also served 
the company for a long time as one of its solicitors. 
He was elected to the board of fire Wards in 1856. 
and was re-elected in 1861-62-64-65-66-67-68. He 
became sheriff in 1857, and held that office for a 
period of ten years. He was appointed deputy 
sheriff in 1867, and served in that office for ten 
years. He and his son, Charles F., were proprietors 
of a harness shop in 1875, doing business under the 
firm name of Enoch L. Colby & Son. He was a 
Democrat until the "Know Nothing" party arose, 
which he joined, but upon the organization of the 
Republican party he affiliated with that, and ever 
afterward was a staunch upholder of its principles. 
He was a delegate to the national Republican con- 
vention at Baltimore, Maryland, 1864, when, 
Lincoln was nominated for a second term. He 
was also a deputy United States marshal for some 
time during the civil war, and filled minor offices 
of trust and responsibility. Mr. Colby was a man 
of sturdy character, and practical good sense, and 
had he received a liberal education would un- 
doubtedly have made his mark in the world. He was 
brought up in the Baptist religion, but later in life- 
united with the Episcopal Church. 

Mr. Colby married, July 24, 1842, Lucy Ann 
Jane Fletcher, born at Charlestown, New Hamp- 
shire, December 27, 1823 ; died at Lancaster, New 
Hampshire, September 25, 1900. She was the daugh- 
ter of Ebenezer and Peady (Smith) Fletcher, and 
a lineal descendant of Robert Fletcher, of Concord, 
Massachusetts, who came from England in 1630 
with Richard Saltonstall and Governor Winthrop. 
On the paternal side her ancestors were English, 
on the maternal, Irish. Ebenezer Fletcher, son of 
one of the heroes of Bunker Hill, was born May 
I?' 1775. ^rid died at Colebrook, New Hampshire, 
August 22, 1843. He removed to Pittsburg, New 
Hampshire, in 181 1, where he was one of the first 
settlers, and there erected a frame dwelling house, 
a grist and saw mill which were standing until 
recently, and bore his name. He also expended con- 
siderable money in developing the country in various 
other directions. He married at Charlestown, New 
Hampshire, Peady Smith, and they had children: 
I. Lucretia Eliza, born September 6, 1804; married 
Cyrus Eames ; died at Green Bay, Wisconsin, Sep- 
tember 21, 1844. 2. Hiram Adams, born at Spring- 
field, Vermont, December 14, 1806; married. May 
24, 1834, Persis Everett Hunking; died at Lancaster 
January 30, 1879. 3. Kimball Batchelder, born Sep- 
tember 13, 1810 ; died at Lancaster November 4, 
1894. 4. Mary Nassau, born February 28, 1813 ; 
married Archalaus Cummings ; died at Colebrook 
in 1902. 5. Lucy Ann Jane, mentioned above. Mr. 





^-yu^i^(yu^ //f^r^^^ 






> / 



"^-^-^tyy^ ry<^ c/V 



C^-Cr-^-'t'^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1571 



and Mrs. Colby had children: i. George Henry, 
see forward. 2. Charles Frederick, born July 14, 
1846, at Colebrook; was a druggist at Lancaster; 
died November 17, 1902. 3- Frank Arthur, born at 
Colebrook November 4, 1852 ; a physician who served 
as stafif surgeon in the Egyptian army in 1875 ; died 
at Berlin, New Hampshire, July 14, 1896. 4. John 
Irving, born December 24, 1856; was a drug clerk; 
died in Somerville, Massachusetts, June 17, 1904. 
(in) George Henry, eldest child of Enoch 
Libby and Lucy Ann Jane (Fletcher) Colby, was 
born in Colebrook, New Hampshire, December 27, 
1844. He received his education at the Colebrook 
and Lancaster academies, and learned the art of 
printing in the office of The Coos Republican, at 
Lancaster, and later with the Riverside Press, Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts. Prior to going to Carii- 
bridge he had served one year as postal clerk in 
the store of Royal Joyslin, and three years with 
E. & T. Fairbanks & Company, at St. Johnsbury, 
Vermont; had failed in an attempt to establish 
himself in the book trade in Lancaster; and had 
read law for one year in the office of Ossian Ray, 
of Lancaster. He estabhshed The Fairfield 
Chronicle in Ivlay, 1869, a weekly newspaper pub- 
lished in Fairfield, Somerset county, Maine, which 
he managed as editor and sole proprietor for a 
period of ten years, and then disposed of it to a 
syndicate of Fairfield citizens. He then returned 
to Lancaster, and in the summer and fall of 1S79 
visited Europe, traveling extensively, and upon his 
return devoted six months to travel in the United 
States. He assumed charge of the mechanical de- 
partment of three newspapers in July, 1880, owned 
by Thomas G. Thrumm, in Honolulu, Hawaiian 
Islands. One of these papers was The Press, a 
weekly newspaper of considerable influence among 
the business residents and planters, and which was 
founded for the purpose of advocating the annexa- 
tion of the islands to the United States. When 
this object had been attained the paper suspended. 
The Kukoa was published in Kanaka, the native 
language of the islanders, and had a circulation of 
five thousand weekly. It exerted a great influence 
among the native population. The Friend was a 
monthly missionary journal, edited and owned by 
Father Damon. After nearly two years devoted 
to the newspaper and job printing busine:>s at 
Honolulu, Mr. Colby ascended the volcano of 
Kilauea, and traveled about the islands. He then 
visited Australia, and returning east in May, 1883, 
opened a book store in Lancaster, where he has 
been prosperously located for almost twenty-five 
years, thus making a splendid contrast to his failure 
in this direction in his earlier years. During this 
time he has made a trip to the island of Jamaica; 
spent a winter in Mexico; three times visited 
Europe; in 1906 traveled to Japan as the invited_ 
guest of Hon. H. W. Denison, the legal adviser of 
the Japan Foreign Office, and in that land spent 
a month in continuous travel. He returned in 1907, 
on his way visiting Siam, China, India and the 
Mediterranean, spending some time at Naples, and 
not omitting to visit Pompeii and Rome, thence 
home by Gibraltar and the Azores. Upon his re- 
turn he delivered free lectures, by invitation, to 
about twenty audiences in the various towns ot 
Coos and Grafton counties. Mr. Colby is a notable 
man of business, and carries about fifty thousand 
volumes in his stock, which is the largest number 
carried by any house of this kind m the state. He 
has been an intelligent observer during his travels, 
is an»interesting writer, a lover of books, modest and 
iv — 21 



unassuming in his manner, liberal in his views and 
tenacious of his convictions. He is a firm believer 
in public libraries and schools, and has done much 
to further the interests of these institutions. His 
religious views are those of the late Robert G. 
Ingersoll ; he is an advocate of women's rights ; 
and is a believer in cremation after death. He 
has been a lifelong Republican, of the Abolition 
type, but has never sought nor held public office. 
He is a member of Fairfield Lodge of Free and 
Accepted Masons, and of the Royal Arch Chapter 
of Oakland, Maine. 

Mr. Colby married (first), July, 1867, Margaret 
Harrington, a Roman Catholic, of Littleton, New 
Hampshire, by whom he had a son who died in 
infancy. He married (second), in 1871, Mrs. 
Martha A. (Small) Gilmore, of Fairfield, Maine, 
who bore him two children, both of whom died 
in infancy. He married (third), October 2, 1884, 
Miss Julia Lizette Hastings, born November 18, 
1842, daughter of Lambert and Maria (Holton) 
Hastings, of St. Johnsbury, Vermont. Mrs. Colby 
is a most estimable woman, and has been a fitting 
helpmate to her talented husband. She is a member 
of the Congregational Church in Lancaster. They 
have no children. 



There is a tradition that the family 
BURBANK name Burbank is of ancient Ger- 
man origin, but whether much im- 
portance attaches to vague tradition of this charac- 
ter is questionable, although certain renditions of 
the name as discovered in old English records 
bore semblance and possible relation to the names 
known to be of German origin. In "Doomsday 
Book" the name Burbank is found just once in a 
list of ten thousand land owners in Great Britain, 
but that of Bowerbank, which is one of the various 
forms of expressing the name of some of the same 
family as the Burbanks, is found in several counties 
in England. It also appears as Borebancke, Bow- 
liank and Burbancke, and some of these crossed the 
Atlantic with early immigrants and have found per- 
manent lodgement in American nomenclature. It 
is believed, however, that the original of all these 
renditions is Bowerbank, a name well known both 
in England and in America, but it does not follow 
that the Burbanks and the Bowerbanks are in any 
way related; nor is- the subject one of vital im- 
portance to the peace and well being of the Ameri- 
can Burbanks who have been known in New Eng- 
land history for almost three centuries. 

(I) John Burbank, the immigrant ancestor of a 
numerous progen}^ settled in Rowley. Massachu- 
setts, where he was made a freeman May 16, 1640, 
and w^as granted a house lot on Bradford street in 
1643. The christian name of his (first) wife was 
Ann, and the second was named Jemima, but 
nothing appears to show the family name of either. 
The latter died March 24, 1693, having survived 
him nearly twelve years. He died t68t, "Aged and 
Decrepcd." His will was made April 5th of that 
year, and was probated on the tenth of the same 
month. In this instrument he mentions his wife, 
Jemima, sons John and Caleb, and daughter Lydia 
Foster. Three of his children, Timothy, Lydia and 
Mary, died young. 

(II) Caleb, second son of John Burbank, was 
born May 19, 1646, in Rowley, Massachusetts, where 
he lived. The time of his death is approximated 
by the dates of executing and proving his will, 
which were February 15, 1688, and March 25, 1690. 
In it he mentions "m}' honored and aged mother." 



1572 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



He was married May 6, 1669, to Martha Smith, 
born February 5, 1648, daughter of Hugh and Mary 
Smith. She survived him and was married (sec- 
ond), July 3, 1695, to John Hardy, of Bradford. 
The children of Caleb Burbank were : Caleb, John, 
Mary, Timothy, Martha, Eleazer, Samuel and Eb- 
enezer. 

(HI) Eleazer. fourth son and sixth child of Ca- 
leb and Martha (Smith) Burbank, was born March 
14, 1682, in Rowley, and settled in Bradford, Mas- 
sachusetts. The christian name of his wife is 
known to have been Lydia, although it appears in 
one place as Hannah in the Bradford records. She 
survived him and died June 26, 1771, in her eighty- 
seventh 3'ear. Their children were : Daniel, Elea- 
zer, Caleb, Sarah, Nathan, Moses, Martha. John, 
Lydia, and Abraham. (Mention of Abraham and 
descendants appears in this article). 

(IV) Moses, son of Eleazer and Lydia Bur- 
bank, of Bradford, was born February 6, 1717, in 
that town, and was one of the earliest settlers of 
Boscawen, New Hampshire. The year of his set- 
tlement was 1733, and after coming to the town 
he marrjed Sarah Emery, believed to have been a 
sister of Edward Emery, the latter also being one 
of the pioneers of Boscawen. The children of Cap- 
tain Moses and Sarah were : Moses, born June 26, 
1741, married Sarah Danforth ; Samuel, August, 
1745, married Eunice Pettengill ; Nathaniel, Decem- 
ber 14, 1747, married Mary Durgin; Molly, Febru- 
ary 22, 1749, married Cutting Noyes and lived in 
Boscawen ; David, July 4, 1754, died November 4, 
1815; Wells, August 8, 1756, and was a school 
teacher; Sarah, September, 1758, married Benjamin 
Blanchard ; Betty, December i, 1760, married Ben- 
jamin Bolter; Eleazer, January 19, 1763, married 
Abigail Burbank. 

(V) David, fourth son and fifth child of Captain 
Moses and Sarah (Emery) Burbank, was born July 
4, 1754, and died November 4, 1815. He built and 
lived in the parsonage on Boscawen plain, and re- 
moved from thence to Bashan, where he was a 
farmer, and still later to "Schoodic," in Warner, 
where he died. His first wife was Mary Little, 
daughter of Enoch Little, and by whom he had 
eight children. His second wife was Dorothy Low- 
ell, who bore him two children. The children of 
David Burbank by both marriages were: Sarah, 
born February 9, 1779. married Moses Smith, of 
Salisbury, New Hampshire : Abigail, born March 
20, 1780, died July 18, 1816; Abraham, born No- 
vember 16, 1781, died January 14, 1856; Eliezer, 
born January i, 1785, married Drusilla Flanders, 
of Boscawen ; Little, born February 2, 1787, died 
November 17, 1870; Jesse, bom June 13, 1790, died 
in the United States navy ; Enoch, born July 20, 
1793, moved to Michigan; Judith, born July 10. 
1798, married Benjamin Carter of Boscawen. 

(VI) Abraham, third child and eldest son of 
David and Mary (Little) Burbank, was born in 
Boscawen, New Hampshire, November 16, 1781. 
He learned the trade of l)lacksmith from his father, 
and carried on business with Jesse Little on Little 
hill. He was adept in making axes, giving them a 
shape and weight much preferred by "woodchoppers 
and of such keen temper that "Abe Burbank's 
axes" were known all through the region and found 
ready sale with the merchants, much to the profit 
of the maker. He afterwards settled on a farm in 
Bashan and carried on lumbering. His operations 
in this direction became quite extensive, and at 
one time, in company with his son Friend, he had 
mills on Blackwater river, Knight's meadow and on 
Pond brook, and nearly every mill in Boscawen 



was at one time employed in sawing his lumber, 
which was rafter down the Merrimack river to 
Lowell and Boston markets. He was much re- 
spected by his fellow townsmen, and was repeat- 
edly elected to represent them in the state legisla- 
ture. He was a cheerful supporter of religious and 
charitable organizations, and always alive to every 
measure proposed for the public welfare. Abraham 
Burbank was twice married. His first wife was 
Mary Call, and his second Polly Jackman, daughter 
of Benjamin Jackman, of Boscawen. He had five 
children by his first and seven by his second mar- 
riage, viz: Friend Little, born June 29, 1806; Jo- 
anna Call, born March 5, 1808, died February 19, 
1843; Mary Little, born November 16, 1809, married 
Woodman Jackman. of Boscawen ; Sophronia Ger- 
rish, born August 2S, 1812, died February 22, 1847; 
Judith Call, born November 2, 1815, married J. 
Warren Jackman, and died November 21, 1847; 
George Washington, born June 29, 1819, died May 
16, 1873; David Emory, born May 16, 1822; Bitfield 
Plummer, born March i, 1824, died in California 
in i860; Abraham Pettingill, born November 2, 
1825, married Augusta Runnels, of Boscawen, and 
removed to California ; Azro Sheridan, born Au- 
gust 29, 1827; Ezekiel Webster, born June 16, 1829, 
married (first) Martha A. Pillsbury, of Boscawen, 
(second), Emelie Hunkins, of Sanbornton, and died 
on the Mississippi river in 1863, during the civil 
war; Amanda Jane, born June 11, 1S31, married 
Horatio N. Webber, of Boscawen. 

(VII) Friend Little, eldest son and child of 
Abraham and Mar) (Call) Burbank, was born in 
Boscawen, New Hampshire, January 29, 1806. His 
principal occupation in life was lumbering, which he 
began with his father and continued it long after 
the latter had passed from the field of business 
activity. He also took an earnest interest in town 
afi^airs, and was selectman in 1844, 1846 and 1848, 
and represented his town in the state legislature 
in 1852 and 1853. He married Dorothy Jackman, 
daughter of Joshua Jackman, of Boscawen, and had 
five children: Lucretia Little, born May 21, 1840, 
died August 10. 1861 ; William Wirt, born Septem- 
ber 13, 1842 ; Joanna Clough, born June 22, 1846, 
died December 23, 1848; Irvin Abram, born April 
18, 1854; Almon Friend, born October 17, 1857. 
(Irvin A. and descendants receive mention in this 
article). 

(VIII) William Wirt, eldest son and second 
child of Friend L. and Dorothy (Jackman) Bur- 
bank, was born September 13, 1842, in that part of 
Boscawen which is now Webster. Beginning at 
the age of four years he attended the common 
schools of his native town, and afterwards studied 
at Elmwood Literary Institute. In 1865 he became 
partner in the lumber business with his father, the 
firm name being F. L. Burbank & Son. After a 
period of fifteen years this connection was dissolved 
in 1880, and he continued business alone two years, 
after which time he formed a partnership with his 
lirother Irvin A., and since that time the firm of 
Burbank Brothers has continued business and has 
engaged quite extensively in the manufacture of 
boxes and other enterprises connected with lum- 
bering business in their district. Mr. Burbank is 
a man of much executive ability, and is ready in 
grasping opportunities and pushing business ad- 
vancement. He was one of the originators of the 
Kearsarge Telephone Company, and has been its 
president since its incorporation. For more than a 
quarter of a century he has served as one of the 
directors of the Merrimack County Fire Insurance 
Company. Mr. Burbank is a courteous gentleman, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1573 



and his ability and integrity have led them to select 
him for many important official positions. For 
fifteen years he was selectman of the town, was 
moderator twelve years, town treasurer three years, 
and representative in the state legislature in 1881. 
He is a steadfast and straightforward Republican 
in politics. He joined the First Congregational 
Church of Webster in 1858. and has been superin- 
tendent of its Sunday school for thirteen years, and 
clerk of the church since 1895. He has for many 
years been a member of Harris Lodge, No. 91, An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons of Warner, New 
Hampshire, and is a past master of that body. He 
is a charter member of the Daniel Webster Grange, 
and was its first master, serving five years in that 
position, and has also filled the lecturer's chair. 
He is a charter member of Merrimack County Po- 
mona Grange, and a past master of that body. He 
was president of the New Hampshire Grange Fair 
Association two years, and was four years superin- 
tendent of its fair. 

Mr. Burbank was married, September 26, 1865, 
in Penacook (then Fisherville), to Ellen Maria 
Dow, daughter of Enoch Hoyt and Judith Walker 
(Chandler') Dow, of Concord. Judith W. Chandler 
was a daughter of Captain John (5) Chandler, 
(See Chandler VH, Rolfe VHI, and Hoyt V). Mr. 
Dow was a selectman of that town in 1837 and 
1840, and was captain in the Third Infantry Mi- 
litia from February, 1832, to February 19, 1835. He 
Avas engaged in the lumber business. He was a 
son of Moody and Joanna (Hoyt) Dow. Moody 
was a son of Ebenezer and Elizabeth (Wilson) 
Dow, and Ebenezer was a son of John and Eliza- 
beth (Moody) Dow. Mrs. Burbank was educated 
in the schools of Concord, and Elmwood Literary 
Institute at Boscawen. She is the mother of four 
daughters, all born in Webster. Ellen Lucrecia. 
the eldest, was educated at Penacook Academy, the 
high school at Warner, and the New England Con- 
servatory of Music in Boston. She is the wife of 
Samuel Howard Bell, a pharmacist of West Derry; 
Sarah Chandler, the second, died in her twenty-third 
year ; Alice Mabel was educated at Pembroke 
Academy and Wellesley College and became the 
wife of William Bradford Ranney, now residing in 
Penacook : Annie Florence, the youngest, was edu- 
cated at the Concord High School, Framingham 
Normal School and the Teachers' College of New 
York City, and is head of the household science de- 
partment at Northfield Seminary, Northfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. 

(VIII) Irvin Abram. second son and fourth 
child of Friend Little' and Dorothy (Jackman) 
Burbank. was born in the town of Boscawen, New 
Hampshire, April 18, 1854, and for the last thirty 
and more years has been engaged in active busi- 
ness pursuits. His early life was spent at home, 
and he was given a good education in the town 
schools and the academies at Warner and Penacook'. 
After leaving school he began work with his father 
and older brother in their lumbering and milling 
enterprises, anl in 1882 he became partner with his 
brother in the same line. This partnership has 
continued to the present time, and the members 
of the firm are numbered among the prosperous 
and substantial business men of northern Merri- 
mack county. Mr. Burbank is always a busy man^ 
but has found time to devote to public affairs in 
his home town, having served in various offices of 
a political character, and represented the town of 
Webster in the state legislature in TQ03. He is a 
Republican in politics, attends the Congregational 
Church, is trustee of the Webster Public Library, 
and member of the order of Free and Accepted 



Masons. He married. October m, 1883, Ellen A. 
Little, who was born August 19, 1863, a daughter 
of Sherman and Mary A. (Austin) Little (see Lit- 
tle VII) of Webster, New Hampshire. Mr. and 
Mrs. Burbank have three children : Lucretia L., 
born December 15, 1884; Henry Irvin, born Jan- 
uary 6, 1886; Ray C, born December 31, 1887. 

(IV) Abraham, youngest child of Eleazer and 
Lydia Burbank, was born November 18, 1727, in 
Bradford, Massachusetts, and died there September 
9, I775> in his forty-eighth year. He was married 
.A.pril 25, 1753, to Abigail, daughter of Robert and 
Rebecca Savory. She was born April i, 1733, and 
died less than a month after her husband, October 
6, 1775, in her forty-fourth year. The records of 
Bradford show only two children, Eliphalet and 
Abigail. 

(V) Captain Eliphalet, son of Abraham and Ab- 
igail (Savory) Burbank, was born June 22, 1760, 
in Bradford, Massachusetts, and passed his life in 
that town. He was married in January, 1781, to 
Susanna, daughter of Jedediah and Sarah (Stick- 
ney) Barker. She was born December 21, 1763. 
No record of either appears. Their children were: 
Sarah, Abraham, Abigail, Jedediah, Susanna, Eli- 
phalet, John and Barker. 

(VI) Barker, youngest son of Captain Eliphalet 
and Susanna (Barker) Burbank. was born in Brad- 
ford, Massachusetts, September 8, 1795, and died 
December 23, 1867. He settled in Shelburne, New 
Hampshire, where he had a large farm, and was 
for many years the most prominent man in all that 
region. He was a practical farmer, a successful 
merchant, _ and a lawyer of considerable ability. 
His dwelling was a large two-story house erected 
by him about 1840, which, now somewhat modern- 
ized, stands in the center of an ampitheatre of rare 
and peculiar beauty. He married Polly Ingalls, 
daughter of Fletcher and Mercy (Lary) Ingalls, 
and raised a family of fourteen children : Mercy 
Ingalls, Robert Ingalls, Mary Ann, Emerline, Alcan- 
der, Sarah F., Martin L., Deborah C, Edward P., 
Barker L., Parker C, Buchanan B., Helen and 
Helen Mar. 

(VII) Edward Payson, son of Barker and Polly 
(Ingalls) Burbank, was born in Shelburne. January 
14, 1832. He was a prosperous farmer and resided 
in Shelburne until a few years ago, when he moved 
to Gorham, New Hampshire, where he now lives in 
retirement and comfort. He held all the principal 
town offices except that of treasurer, and served 
two terms in the legislature. He married Mary 
Smith, who was born August 22, 1834, and who was 
the daughter of Potter and Sarah Smith of Shel- 
burne, New Hampshire. They had six children: 
Edward Adelbert, Elmer Ellsworth, Nelson P., 
Abraham Lincoln, Sarah Myrtilla, and Barker L. 

(VIII) Edward Adelbert, eldest child of Edward 
Payson and Mary (Smith) Burbank, was born in 
Shelburne. New Hampshire, August 30, 1859. He 
was educated in the public schools of Lewiston, 
Maine, which he left at the age of sixteen years 
and began to learn the trade of tinsmith. In 1881 
he became a journeyman tinsmith and then re- 
moved to Richmond, Maine, where he worked till 
1883, and then he moved to Bethel, Maine, and then 
to South Paris, Maine, then to Mansfield, Pennsyl- 
vania, where he was in business two years ; then to 
Port Chester, New York, two years ; Gorham. New 
Hampshire, one year, and in 1888 settled in Berlin, 
New Hampshire, where he has since resided. He 
had charge of the plumbing and heating department 
of Llodgdon & Crowell works until 1901, and then 
he formed a partnership with Lyman U. Cole, un- 
der the firm name of Burbank & Cole, and engaged 



1574 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



in the hardware business. In 1902 he bought his 
partner's interest, and since then the firm name has 
been the Burbank Company, with Mr. Burbank at 
the head of the business. He has been a prosperous 
business man, and he is a stockholder in the City 
National Bank of Berlin. His place of business was 
burned at the time of the Clement Opera House 
fire, January 4, 1905, and he lost a large amount, but 
he got to work at once and secured new quarters 
and was able to hold his business. A little later he 
bought out one of the older business houses, which 
gave him additional trade. He never was much in- 
terested in politics, but devoted much of his spare 
time to secret societies, holding high offices in sev- 
eral. He is a member and a past grand of Berlin 
Lodge, No. 89, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
and was for several years secretary. He served 
as district deputy grand master for Coos district, 
and was instrumental in forming Berlin Encamp- 
ment, No. 35, Independent Order Odd Fellows, and 
was the first chief patriarch and was afterward ap- 
pointed district deputy grand patriarch. He mustered 
Canton City of Berlin No. 19, Patriarchs Militant, 
Independent Order Odd Fellows, and was elected 
the first captain. He was afterward appointed ban- 
nerett on staff of the department commander, ser- 
ving in that capacity for six years. He assisted in 
forming Maida Rebekah Lodge, No. 75, Independ- 
ent Order Odd Fellows, and was voted the Decora- 
tion of Chivalry by the department council for his 
services in the cause of Odd-fellowship, being the 
first voted to any chevalier in the state. He was 
charter member of and assisted in forming many 
other orders and held high offices in each. He be- 
longed to the Knights of the Maccabees, Royal Ar- 
canum, Red Men, Uniform Order Pilgrim Fathers, 
Golden Cross, and Independent Order of Foresters, 
and was a past chief ranger and deputy supreme 
chief ranger for several years. He formed the New 
Hampshire Brigade of Royal Foresters, and was 
their first brigadier-general. He represented the 
state of New Hampshire at the dedication of the 
Foresters Temple at Toronto in 1896. He was the 
first captain of Mt. Washington Division No. i, 
Knights of the Maccabees, and for several years 
was organizer for Maine and New Hampshire 
of the Uniform Rank Knights of the Macca- 
bees. He is a member of Industry Lodge, 
No. 2. Knights of Pythias, of Lewiston, 
Maine, and was a charter member of Starr King 
Commandery, No. 2T, Lancaster, New Hampshire, 
Uniform Rank Knights of Pythias, and got a dis- 
charge to become a charter member of Androscog- 
gin Commandery, No. 28, Uniform Rank Knights 
of Pythias, at Berlin, and was elected second lieuten- 
ant ; shortly after being elected was appointed bat- 
talion adjutant of the Third Battalion, second reg- 
iment of the New Hampshire Brigade. He was a 
charter member of Berlin Lodge, No. 618, Benevo- 
lent Protective Order of Elks, and its second exalt- 
ed ruler, and was elected as delegate to the na- 
tional convention at Salt Lake City. He was a 
member and past master of Sabatis Lodge. No. 95, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of Berlin, New 
Hampshire, a member and past patron of Starr 
King Chapter, No. 32, Order Eastern Star, a member 
of North Star Royal Arcanum Chapter of Lancas- 
ter. New Hampshire ; Evening Star Council, Royal 
and Select Masters, of Colebrook, New Hampshire ; 
Edward A. Raymond Consistory, thirty-second de- 
gree. Sublime Princes of the Royal Secret, of 
Nashua ; Bektash Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the ^lystic Shrine, Concord. He is also a 
member of the Sons of the American Revolution, 



gaining that privilege from Captain Eliphalet Bur- 
bank, who served in the Continental army. He mar- 
ried, February 13, 1880, Minnie G. Dingley, of Lew- 
iston, Maine, who was born July 19, 1859, in Law- 
rence, Massachusetts. She was the daughter of 
George and Carrie (Black) Dingley, of Lawrence, 
Massachusetts, and a distant relative of Governor 
Nelson Dingley, of Maine. They have three chil- 
dren : Arthur F., Eva G. and Lester H. 



This name is of the class called locative 
LANE surnames, that is, those showing where 

the person lived, "John atte Lane," 
"William at Lane," are often found in English 
records of four hundred years ago, and show that 
the person named lived in a narrow street. Lane 
is of English origin, but for hundreds of years has 
been found in all four quarters of Great Britain. 
Among the early settlers of New England there 
were at least a dozen named Lane. There is a tradi- 
tion that William Lane of Boston had two brothers, 
cordwainers in Beverly, or Gloucester, Massachu- 
setts, and in Maine., were nephews of William Lane, 
of Dorchester, Massachusetts, who in 1635 came 
from Norfolk county, England, whose two adult 
sons, Andrew and George, settled in Hingham, 
Massachusetts. The Lane family of this article 
is notable for the number and local prominence 
of its members in military affairs, three generations 
having been captains in the revolutionary war. 
Since the revolutionary period the Lanes have been 
equally prominent in the pursuit of peaceful occu- 
pations. 

(I) William Lane, referred to above as of Hing- 
ham, was probably an old man when he came to 
this country with his sons, and is found at Dor- 
chester as early as 1635. In 1637 he received sev- 
eral grants of land there amounting in all to eight 
acres. He was among the seventy-one accepted 
inhabitants of the town in 1641, and on December 
7 of that year he relinquishel his grant to Thomp- 
son's Island for the purpose of a public school. 
The first public school in America was established 
at Dorchester, in 1639, and William Lane with 
others relinquished their grants on Thompson's Is- 
land that it might be devoted to school purposes. 
He was evidently a man of means and a very good 
citizen who enjoyed the esteem of his fellows. His 
last years were spent in the home of his daughter 
Mary, who was the widow of Joseph Long, and he 
di-ed in 1658. His will was dated December 28, 
1650. The inventory amounted to £82, 10 shillings 
and Syy pence, and the daughter was made residuary 
legatee after paying bequests of £32. His children 
were Elizabeth, Mary, Annis, George, Sarah and 
Andrew. 

(II) George, elder son of William Lane, was 
born in England, and was one of the early planters 
of Hingham, Massachusetts. He was among the 
thirty proprietors of that town, and on September 
18, 1635, drew his house lot of five acres, situated 
on the main street, which is now North street. 
His lot is described as "No. 21, from the cove on 
the north side of the road to Fort Hill." In the 
next three divisions his land was increased to 
twenty acres besides thirteen acres in the common 
lands. He was a shoemaker by ti-ade, and was ev- 
idently prominent in the community as shown by 
his rating of six pounds, six shillings and eight 
pence for the building of the new meeting house, 
which rate was laid October 9, 1680. Upon the 
assignment of seats in the new building he was as- 
signed to "seate under ye pulpit" and his wife to a 
"sitting in the fore seate for the women in the body 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1575 



of the meeting house." He died June 11, 1688, 
and was survived nearly eight years by his widow, 
who passed away March 26, 1695. She was Sarah, 
daughter of Walter and Mary (Frye) Harris, and 
died in Dorchester, Massachusetts. Walter Harris 
came to America in 1632, and was about twenty 
years at Weymouth, Massachusetts, and died in 
Dorchester, November 6, 1654. He was survived 
by his widow less than three months. The chil- 
dren of George and Sarah Lane were baptized in 
Hingham, namely : Sarah, Hannah, Josiah, Sus- 
anna, Elizabeth, 'John, Ebenezer, Mary and Peter. 
(HI) John, second son and fifth child of George 
and Sarah (Harris) Lane, was born January 20, 
1648, in Hingham. He was known in that town 
as "John Lane, shoemaker," to distinguish him 
from John Lane, carpenter, of the same town. He 
served as constable of Hingham in 1689. About 1694 
he removed to Norton, Massachusetts, and settled 
on the boundary between that town and Attleboro. 
It is apparent that he owned land in Attleboro, 
as he was taxed one pound for the town debt, there 
in 1696, and was chosen grand juryman March 22, 
1697. In 1710 he was rated in Norton for building 
the first meeting house, and was on a committee in 
171 1 to secure the incorporation of the precinct of 
Norton. He died in that town November 23, 1712. 
His gravestone gives his age as sixty-two years, 
which would make him born about 1650. He was 
married (first). June 18, 1674, to Mehitable, daughter 
of Jonathan and Jane Llobart. She was born in 
Hingham, July 4, 1651, and baptized when two 
weeks old. She was seated January 5, 1682, "in 
the fift seate next ye pew of the wife of John 
Lane, shoemaker." She died February 15, 1690, 
in Hingham, in her thirty-ninth year. John Lane 
married (second), about 1693, Sarah Briggs, who 
was admitted to the church in Norton, on profes- 
sion of faith in 1718, and died November 12, 1727, 
aged eighty-three years. John Lane's children are 
recorded in Hingham, Rehoboth, Attleboro and 
Norton : baptisms are in the Rehoboth church rec- 
ords. By his first wife there were: Samuel, Pris- 
cilla, ]\Iary, Asa, and a child who was drowned 
September 16, 1692. By Sarah Briggs he had 
Ephraim. John, Benjamin, Sarah, Meletiah and 
Elizabeth. 

(IV) Ephraim, sixth child of John Lane and 
eldest child of his second wife, Sarah, was born 
June 24, T694, in Rehoboth. He was admitted to 
full communion with the church in Norton, in 1715, 
and was tithingman in 1719. He was married, Jan- 
uary 10, 1717, to Ruth "Shepperson," who united 
with the church in Norton, in I7f8. She was a 
daughter of John and Eliza Shepherdson, of At- 
tleboro, Massachusetts. They have many descend- 
ants in Norton and vicinity. Their children were : 
Ephraim, Elkanah, Ruth (died in infancy), Ruth, 
Jonathan, Abigail and Samuel. 

(V) Elkanah, second son and' child of Ephraim 
and Ruth (Shepherdson) Lane, was born April i, 
1719, in Norton, and was baptized on the thirtieth 
of the November following. He removed with his 
two sons and daughter to Swanzey, New Llamp- 
shire, previous to the Revolution. There he joined 
the Minute Men under Captain Joseph Hammond, 
April 21, 1775, and marched at sunrise, April 25, 
for Concord and Lexington, Massachusetts. The 
town paid him for fifteen days' service at Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts, and for five days in the 
miiitia at another time, one pound, nine shillings 
and three pence. He was a member of the commit- 
tee of correspondence and inspection for Swanzey, 
under the Continental Congress. He was selectman 



of Swanzey in 1785, and as such certified on June 
II that James Green was wounded at the battle of 
Bunker Hill and was worthy of attention from the 
general court. Mr. Lane died in Swanzey, Deccm- 
l)er 6, 181 1, in his ninety-third year. He was mar- 
ried June ID, 1742, by Rev. Joseph Avery, to Han- 
nah Tingley, of Attleboro, Massachusetts, who died 
September 15, 1772, aged fifty-two years. Their 
children were born in Norton, namely: Hannah, 
Elkanah, Luke, Ruth, Samuel and Abigail. 

(VI) Samuel, third son and fifth child of El- 
kanah and Hannah (Tingley) Lane, was born Jan- 
uary 9, 1759, in Norton, Massachusetts, and re- 
moved with his father to Swanzey, New Hampshire. 
He was a Revolutionary soldier and marched to 
Ticonderoga, October 21, 1776, and served until No- 
vember 16, a period of twenty-six days. He was 
then about seventeen years old. He was among 
those mustered at Walpole, New Hampshire, in 
May, 1777, being then eighteen years old, and en- 
listed in June in Grigg's company, Alexander Scam- 
mel's regiment, Continental troops, June 4, 1777. 
After this service he received the town's bounty 
of ten pounds, sixteen shillings and eight pence. 
He was selectman of Swanzey in 1792. He was 
married. June 15, 1785, to Eunice, daughter of 
Elisha Scott. She was born June 15, 1766, and died 
November 28, 1825. Mr. Lane lived for a time in 
Winchendon, Massachusetts, and removed thence 
to Northfield in that state in 1807. He died Jan- 
uary 26, 1845. His children were: Samuel, Elijah, 
Elisha, Ezekiel, Luther and Lucy. (Ezekiel and 
children are mentioned in this article). 

(VII) Elijah, second son and child of Samuel 
and Eunice (Scott) Lane, was born October 2,1788, 
in Swanzey, twin of Elisha. Both lived and reared 
families. He was a member of the Congregational 
Society of Swanzey from December 26, 1809, and 
resided in that town. He died there May 16, 1851. 
He was married, January 29, 1815, to Fanny Scott, 
of Winchester, who died March 14, 1871. Their 
children were : Maria P., Luther Scott, Elliott W., 
Fann}^ F., Ebenezer F. and Eunice F. 

(VIII) Ebenezer Frink, third son and fifth child 
of Elijah and Fanny (Scott) Lane, was born No- 
vember 20, 1824, in Swanzey, and lived on the same 
farm in that town for thirty-five years. He was 
married August 14, 1850, to Hannah Porter, daugh- 
ter of Chester Lyman, who was commissioned cap- 
tain in the war of 1812 by James Madison, presi- 
dent. She was born May 21, 1829, and died May 
22. 1886. Their children were : Henry C, Edgar 
W., Hattie M., Chester L. and Maria F. 

(IX) Chester Lyman, third son and fourth child 
of Ebenezer F. and Hannah Porter (Lyman) Lane, 
was born April 9, 1857, i" the family homestead in 
West Swanzey. He was educated in the public 
schools of the town and early took employment in 
the pail factory of George F. Lane & Son, where 
he continued for ten or twelve years. He purchased 
a farm on the border of E^st Swanzey village. 
where he now resides, and is numbered among the 
successful farmers of the town. He also engaged 
in the lumber business, and in 1900 with George 
Whitcomb and Levi Fuller purchased the pail and 
bucket factory in East Swanzey. in which he had 
been employed as a boy and young man. He has 
been active in conducting the town affairs and 
served for several years efficiently as road agent. 
He has served as selectman and was representative 
in the state legislature in 1903-04, serving on the 
insurance committee. He is a member of the 
Grange, of the Knights of the Golden Cross, is a 
member of Monadnock Lodge, No. 8, Free and Ac- 



1576 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



cepted Masons : Cheshire Chapter, Royal and Se- 
lect Masters ; and Hugh DePayen Commandery, 
Knights Templar. He was married, September 27, 
1879, to Emma Florence, daughter of Nathan and 
Emily B. (Harris) Newell. She was born January 
30, 1862, in Bloomington, Illinois, and is the mother 
of the following children : Ralph Waldo, Flor- 
ence S. (deceased), Zora Alice, Lora Agnes, Ches- 
ter E., Earl N., Raymond L. and Kenneth P. 

(VH) Ezekiel, fourth son and child of Samuel 
and Eunice (Scott) Lane, was born September 28, 
1790, in Swanzey. He was one of the most pros- 
perous agriculturists of Swanzey, and his farm of 
three hundred and fifty acres was located some 
three miles east of Swanzey Centre. His interest in 
local public affairs, as well as in all other matters 
relative to the general welfare of the town, was 
frequently emphasized, and his citizenship was of 
a character well worthy of emulation. In politics 
he was a whig. He died May 16, 1851. On Feb- 
ruary 3, 1814, he married Rachel Thayer Fish, who 
was born in Swanzey, July 2^, 1796, daughter of 
Farnham Fish. They were the parents of Farnham 
Fish, born March 15, 1816; George Farrington, Feb- 
ruary 21, 1818; Alonzo Franklin. December 28, 
1819; Ezekiel Francis, April 27, 1823; Elisha Fred- 
erick, who will receive further mention presently; 
Alpheus Ferdinand, July 3, 1828; Ezra Fish, De- 
cember 14, 1830; Rachel Caroline, April i, 1833, 
married (first), Alonzo Mason, and (second). J. 
Woodward; Nathaniel Fayette, February 21, 1839, 
was killed in the Civil war; and Sarah Josephine, 
January 8, 1842, became the wife of Adoniram Jud- 
son Van Armun, of Hartford, Vermont, June 8. 
1862. The two first born of this family died in in- 
fancy, and the mother of these children died in 
Keene. May 17, 1880. 

(VIII) Elisha Frederick, seyenth son and child' 
of Ezekiel and Rachel Thayer (Fish) Lane, was 
born in Swanzey, April 29, 1826. Having acquired 
a good education, which was concluded in Hancock, 
New Hampshire, he was for some time engaged 
in educational pursuits, teaching schools in War- 
wick. Massachusetts. Swanzey Factory and East 
.Swanzey. In 1849 he became associated with his 
l)rothers Alpheus F. and Ezra F. in purchasing and 
operating a mill privilege in Marlboro, this state, 
and for a period of seven years was engaged in the 
manufacture of wooden-ware. In 1857 he was ap- 
pointed deputy sheriff, and two years later estab- 
lished his residence in Keene. In i86x he was 
named by the secretary of the treasury, Salmon P. 
Chas^, as United States assessor, retaining that 
office for two years, when he was advanced to the 
responsible post of deputy collector for Cheshire 
county and continued as such until the war taxes 
were abolished. In 1870 he was elected sheriff 
of Cheshire county, in which capacity he served 
with unquestionable energy and fidelity for three 
years, or until the successful predominance at the 
polls of the opposing political party. He then be- 
came interested in railway enterprises, manufac- 
turing industries and the development of real es- 
tate. He was one of the promoters of the Ashuelot 
railroad, after it had passed into the hands of a 
trustee, retaining his shares in that corporation 
long after its sale to the Connecticut River Railroad 
Company, and was a director and treasurer of the 
first-named company, the Connecticut River, Ver- 
mont Valley and Sullivan County railways. When 
the Connecticut River road was absorbed by the 
Boston and Maine system he disposed of his inter- 
ests in railway enterprises. He has erected two 
(arge business blocks in Keene, which bear his 



name, and has a third building of a similar charac- 
ter in process of construction. He is president of 
and principal stockholder in the Lancaster Shoe 
Company (incorporated), has been a director of the 
Keene National Bank for the past forty years, of 
which he served as president, and in various other 
ways has actively participated in forwarding the busi- 
ness interests of Keene. Mr. Lane's contributions 
to the substantial growth and development of Keene 
have not been confined to his numerous personal 
building operations. He was an especially active 
factor in causing the erection of the Young Men's 
Christian Association building (and the payment of 
its debt) ; the museum, and indeed the best part of 
the business portion of Keene was built under the 
impetus of his wise judgment and knowledge. 
Politically he is a Republican. He is an advanced 
Mason, being a member of the Blue Lodge, Chap- 
ter, Coimcil and Commandery. As a member of 
the First Congregational Church he is prominently 
identified with religious work, and was largely in- 
strumental in organizing the local Young Men's 
Christian Association. In concluding this brief out- 
line of Mr. Lane's busy and successful life it is 
both just and proper to add that his high personal 
character, public-spirited generosity and long con- 
tinued interest in behalf of the welfare and pros- 
perity of Keene, have won the genuine admiration 
and esteem of his fellow citizens, and although he 
has reached the venerable period of an octogenarian, 
it is their sincere hope that his removal from their 
midst may prove to be an occurrence far remote 
from the present. 

On March 15, 1849, Mr. Lane married Susan 
M. Fish, who died March 31, 1867, and September 
15 of the following year he married for his second 
wife Harriet P. Wilder, whose birth took place in 
Keene, April 4, 1836. Hubert E., the only child of 
his first union, was born March 19, 1854. The chil- 
dren of his second marriage are : Henry W., born 
April 2, 1871 : Susanna Grace, born September 15. 
1876: and Harriet M., born July 6, 1879. The 
family homestead, which occupies a most desirable 
location on lower Main street, possesses consider- 
able historic interest, as it is the original site of 
the first meeting house ever 'erected in Cheshire 
county. 

(Second Family.) 
(I) William Lane, above referred to as 
LANE of Boston, the earliest of this line of 
whom we have record, was a cordw^ainer 
of Boston in 1650. His first wife was Mary, who 
had four children: Samuel (died young), Samuel, 
John and Mar^^ His second wife was Mary 
Brewer, and she had four children : Sarah, Wil- 
liam, Elizabeth and Ebenezer. (William and de- 
scendants are noticed in this article). 

(II) Captain John, son of William and Mary 
Lane, was born in Boston, February 5, 1654. In 
1674 John Lane was a cordwainer in Boston. In 
March, 1675, when twenty-two years old, he was a 
soldier in King Philip's war, in the same company 
where his brother Samuel served under Captain 
Poole. There is no further trace of this John Lane, 
unless he is the John Lane who lived a while in 
Hampton and then became Captain John Lane, of 
York county, Maine. In November, 1692, when he 
married in Newbury, Massachusetts, he was Mr. 
John Lane. Ten years later he is called Captain 
John Lane, and so afterwards. In 1699, December 
TO, John Lane of Newbury, gave a deed of land to 
John Frost, of the Isle of Shoals. About 1708 
"Captain Lane is mentioned among the brave men 
of the garrison." He afterwards. served as captain 






^:^J^^^-C^ 




EUGENE LANE. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1577 



in the province of Maine, and in 1717 was com- 
mander at Fort Mary, Winter Harbor, near Bid- 
deford, at the mouth of Saco river, where he died 
and was buried about 1720. John Lane married, 
November, 1693, Johannah Davinson, and by her 
had : Abigail, John and Mary, and probably Jabez 
and other children. 

(Ill) Captain John (2). son of Captain John 
(i) and Joanna (Davinson) Lane, was born in 
Hampton, March i, 1702. He entered the military 
service early under his father, was a lieutenant, and 
at the death of his father became captain. He 
served in various places in Maine, and became fa- 
mous in fighting the Lidians. In a report to Lieu- 
tenant Governor Dummen, dated York, 21 April, 
1724, Colonel Thomas Westbrook says with regret, 
that "Lieutenant John Lane has been so imprudent 
as to suffer his men to kill sundry creatures be- 
longing to the people of the County of York. He 
did not deny the fact, and made satisfaction to the 
people." He lived at York, Biddeford, Broad Bay, 
St. George, etc. In the French war. which com- 
menced in 1744, the Indians burned his house, and 
"he enlisted a company under Colonel Harmon and 
met them in battle at Norridgewock." "When the 
province granted bounties for scalps he was out all 
the winter of 1744-45, after the St. Johns Indians." 
He was captain of a company in the expedition 
against Louisburg under Sir William Pepperill, and 
after the surrender was mustered out in June, 1745. 
He was soon after taken sick, sent to Boston, and 
was unable to serve again till April, 1746, when he 
was given command of a company on the eastern 
frontier, but he suffered a relapse and did not re- 
cover for many months, being at his home in York 
with his wife and three small children, suffering 
from sickness and poverty, so that in February, 
1748, he received seven pounds from the general 
court, and again in April, 1749, the legislature voted 
five pounds for his relief, and on December 7, 1749, 
four pounds. In the next war against the French 
and Indians he was at Boston. in April, 1758. with 
a company of Biddeford men, and served in the 
expedition against Crown Point. But a return of 
this company, dated October 11, 1756, reports Cap- 
tain John Lane Sr. as dead, and the command as 
devolving on his son, John Lane Jr. It is supposed 
that he died in the service of his country, at the 
age of fifty-four, and was buried not far from 
Crown Point, Essex county, New York. He mar- 
ried, about 1733, Mary, daughter of Peter Nowell, 
of York, Maine, and had five children : John, 
Henry, Joanna, Daniel, and Jabez. His three sons, 
John, Daniel and Jabez, were "splendid looking 
men. possessed of great physical powers and per- 
sonal bravery. They inherited the military spirit 
of their father, and each of them became a captain 
in the revolutionary war." 

(TV) Captain Jabez. fifth child and fourth son 
of Captain John and Mary (Nowell) Lane, was 
born in Wiscasset. ]\Iaine, September 21, 1743, 
and died at Buxton, April 30, 1830. He resided 
in Buxton, one mile from the Lower Corner, 
on a farm, and was often engaged in "kimber oper- 
ations." His name in 1754 appears on the roll of 
his father's company as "a son under age, not twelve 
years." The muster roll of Captain Jabez Lane's 
company is dated January i, 1777, and he served 
through most of the revolutionary war. In early 
youth his taste for military affairs was cultivated 
in the company w^here his father commanded at 
Crown Point, where his eldest brother John was 
lieutenant, at the age of twenty, and his brother 
Daniel a private at the age of sixteen. Colonel 



Isaac Lane once met a southern gentleman in 
Washington City, who said that his father, an officer 
in the revolutionary army at the south, once fought 
a duel with a Captain Lane from the east. That 
"it was at a dinner given by the officers; that when 
they had become excited over their wine, his father 
said something derogatory to the Yankees, and 
Captain Lane slapped him in the face, and a chal- 
lenge followed. Captain Lane was wounded in the 
side, and his father in the leg." Colonel Isaac 
concluded that if it was either of the three Buxton 
captains, it must have been Captain Jabez, for 
neither of the others would have kept it secret for 
so long. After his return to Maine, one Saturday 
afternoon, when Captain Jabez and "a goodly num- 
ber of citizens were met at his store, drinking rum 
and molasses, telling stories, swapping horses, and 
so forth, Colonel Isaac related the story ot the 
duel. Captain Jabez, at the close of the story, re- 
moved his clothes and showed a scar, left by the 
wound, on his side." He w^as a quiet man and re- 
mained on the farm where he settled in 1772, until 
his death. He married, August 27, 1772, Sarah, 
daughter of Joshua Woodman, who died March 11, 
1825. They had ten children : Samuel, Jabez, 
Polly, Joshua, John. Captain Stephen W., Mehi- 
table M., Rufus K., Silas Nowell, and James. 

(V) Joshua, fourth child and third son of Cap- 
tain Jabez and Sarah (Woodman) Lane, was born 
June 5, 1782 ; and died October 5, i860, at Water- 
boro, Maine. He was a farmer and resided at Bux- 
ton. He married, October 21, 1799. Elizabeth, 
daughter of Jonathan and Priscilla (Davis) Rin- 
nery, of Buxton^ born November 28, 1780, who died 
April 28, 1846. They had ten children : Sarah W., 
Alvin Bacon, Rufus K., Priscilla Ann, Henry J., 
Joshua C, Jonathan R., Mary R.. Amanda Eliza- 
beth and Jonathan R. 

(VI) Joshua Charles, fourth son and sixth child 
of Joshua and Elizabeth (Runnery) Lane, was born 
at Buxton, Maine, August 4, 1823. He has been 
long a resident of Limerick, where he has been a 
merchant, banker, and influential citizen. He was 
treasurer of the Savings Bank at Limerick for 
twenty-three years, and of the Limerick National 
Bank for seventeen years. He is a Democrat, and 
has taken a lively interest in politics, having filled 
the offices of selectman, representative in the state 
legislature, delegate to the National Convention in 
1894, etc. He was trustee of the Phillips Limerick 
Academy, and president of the board of trustees. 
He is a Universalist, a member of the Masonic fra- 
ternity and of the Odd Fellows. He married, 1849, 
Martha A. Staples, born in Limington, 1826, died 
in Limerick in 1903. They adopted two children : 
Eugene, born in Limerick, December 25, 1856, and 
Alice M., bom in 1870. 

(VII) Eugene, adopted son of Joshua C. and 
Martha A. (Staples) Lane, was born in Limerick, 
Maine, December 25, 1856, and educated in the 
common schools and Limerick Academy. At the 
age of fifteen he w^cnt to Augusta, where he learned 
the printer's trade in the office of the Gospel Banner. 
Two years later he bad so fully mastered the de- 
tails of the business that he was placed in charge 
of the Banner's entire printing establishment, 
which at that time was the largest Universalist de- 
nomination and book publishing house in the coun- 
try. This place he filled four years, and then en- 
gaged in newspaper work at Limerick and Cornish, 
Maine. 

Mr. Lane came to Suncook in t88i and entered 
the newspaper field. In April, 1883, he came into 
possession of the Suncook Journal, and with com- 



15/8 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



mendable enterprise and energy endeavored to give 
.the community a sprightly, newsy, weekly paper, 
land meet promptly the demands of the public for job 
work. To furnish greater facilities for increasing 
business, he added a cylinder press in 1884. He 
conducted this paper till October, 1894, when he sold 
the plant and it was removed from the town. Mr. 
Lane has contributed to other papers in the state, 
and for several years was the local representative 
of the Associated Press". He was appointed post- 
master at Suncook in 1898, and served in that office 
four years. In politics he is a Republican, and for 
twenty-two years past has been a member of the 
town council, serving all that time as its clerk. 
He has served two terms as town clerk, and in 
1893-94 represented Pembroke in the New Hamp- 
shire legislature. He married, May 17, 1883, Meta 
G. Gault, daughter of Andrew and Abby (Davis) 
Gault. of Pembroke, born January 5, i860. They 
have had three children : Dean G., born February 

20. 1884, died August, 1884. Hazel, born May 2, 
1889, died June 17, 1906, and Gladys, born October 
29, 1891. 

(H) William (2), second child and eldest son 
of William (i) and Mary (Brewer) Lane, born 
October i, 1659, was a tailor by trade. He joined 
the North Church, Boston, in 1681, and in 1686 re- 
moved to Hampton, New Hampshire, where he 
settled on a grant of ten acres. He built a one- 
story house near the meeting house and the spot 
where the old academy stood. He is said to have 
licen "a devout and godly man," living a quiet and 
humble life, respected by those who knew him. He 
died at the home of his son Joshua, February 14, 
]749, aged about ninety years. He married, June 

21, 1680, Sarah, daughter of Thomas and Sarah 
( Brewer) Webster, born January 22, i66r, died 
January 6, T745, aged eighty-five years, and they 
had seven children : John. Sarah, Elizabeth, Abi- 
gail, Joshua, Samuel, and Thomas. 

(HI) Deacon Joshua, fifth child and second son 
of William (2) and Sarah (Webster) Lane, was 
born June 6, 1696, and was killed while standing 
on his door-step after a shower, June 14, 1766, aged 
seventy years. He and his wife joined the church 
in Hampton, March 10, 1718. Here he resided on 
a farm on the road to North Hampton, one-half 
mile north of the present railroad station, and car- 
ried on the trade of tanner and shoemaker. He 
married, December 24, 1717, Bathsheba, daughter 
of Samuel and Mary Robie, born August 2, 1696, 
Old Style, died April 13, 1765. They had sixteen 
children, eight sons and five daughters of whom 
lived to become useful members of society. He 
had sixty grandchildren before his death. His 
children were : Deacon Samuel, Mary, Joshua 
(died young), William, Joshua, Josiah (died 
young), Major John, Sarah, Bathsheba. Lsaiah, 
Deacon Jeremiah, Ebenezer, Abigail, Elizabeth, 
Josiah and Anna. (Mention of Joshua, John and 
Jeremiah and descendants occurs in later para- 
graphs of this article). 

(IV) Deacon William, third son and fourth 
child of Deacon Joshua and Bathsheba (Robie) 
Lane, was born January i, 1723, and baptized on 
the tenth of the following February, in Hampton. 
He was a tanner and shoemaker by occupation, and 
his estate continued in the family for many years, 
being occupied in very recent years by his great 
grandson. He died December 20, 1802, but a few 
days short of eighty years of age. He was mar- 
ried, February 13, 1746, to Rachel, daughter of 
Thomas and Rachel (Sanborn) Ward, of Hampton. 
Their children were: Noah (died young). Abigail, 
Ward, William, Noah, Thomas and Jeremiah. 



(Noah and descendants are noticed in this ar- 
ticle). 

(V) Ward, second son and third child of Dea- 
con William and Rachel (Ward) Lane, was born 
June I, 1751, in Hampton, and died there June 24, 
1837. He was also a shoemaker, and settled on 
the North Hampton road. His house was standing 
until the latter part of the past century. He was 
married, April 28, 1774, to Mehitable, daughter of 
Samuel and Abigail (Towle) Fogg, of Hampton. 
She was born July 13, 1755, and died August 21, 
1839. Their children were : Abigail, Samuel Fogg, 
Rachel. Daniel Ward, Dearborn, Thomas, Mary, 
William, Anna and John. 

(VI) Daniel Ward, second son and fourth child 
of Deacon Ward and Mehitable (Fogg) Lane, was 
born March 7, 1780. and died July 4, 1865, in 
Hampton. He was a farmer by occupation, and 
was succeeded by his youngest son. who was still 
living in recent years. He married Lydia, daughter 
of Josiah and Hannah (Towle) Towle, of Hamp- 
ton. She was born April 3, 1783. and died Decem- 

, ber 18, 1849. Their children were : Joseph Stacey 
(died young), Oliver (died young), Joseph Stacey, 
Asa, Thomas. Shuabel, Sarah, and Oliver. 

(VII) Oliver, youngest child of Daniel Ward 
and Lydia (Fogg) Lane, was born January 14. 1828. 
in Hampton, where he died. He was a blacksmith 
by trade, and was employed many years on the rail- 
road. He married Sarah A., daughter of Sewall 
and Nancy (Blake) Brown. She was born August 
26, 1830, and died September 2, 1891. Their chil- 
dren were : Mary Abbie, Lydia Ann, Julia Etta, 
Sarah Augusta, Lizzie Florence and Nellie Ger- 
trude. 

(VIII) Sarah Augusta, fourth daughter of Ol- 
iver and Sarah A. (Brown) Lane, was born Jan- 
uary 22, i860, in Hampton, and was married July 
2'^. 1887. to Walter E. Darrah, of Concord (see 
Darrah, V). 

(V) Deacon Noah, fourth son and sixth child 
of William and Rachel (Ward) Lane, was bom in 
Hampton. January 30, 1756 or '57. He settled upon 
a farm in Deerfield, where he became closely iden- 
tified with the Congregational Church, and was for 
many years a deacon. He married Mehitable Burn- 
ham, who died in 1846, aged ninety-one years. The 
twelve children of this union were : Molly. Lieu- 
tenant Edmund Churchill, William, Sarah, Rachel, 
Thomas Robie, Noah, Simeon and Levi (twins), 
Joshua, John and Samuel, all of whom were born 
in Deerfield except the first born. 

(VI) Joshua, seventh son and tenth child of 
Deacon Noah and Mehitable (Burnham) Lane, was 
born in Deerfield. November 26, 1794. He was a 
shoemaker, and followed that trade in connection 
with farming. The last years of his life were spent 
in Manchester, and he died there August 12, 1849. 
February 28, 1822, he married Jane Batchelder, who 
was born in Deerfield, October 22, 1796; died Jan- 
uary 12, t88o. She became the mother of six chil- 
dren : Erastus, born March 16, 1823 ; Mehitable. 
Jane, August 12. 1824; Thomas A., the date of 
whose birth is recorded in the succeeding para- 
graph : Abigail Ann, February 8, 1831 ; Sarah Eliza- 
beth. June I. 1833 ; and Adoniram Judson, October 

30. tS3.=;. 

(VII) Thomas Alvin, second son and third 
child of Joshua and Jane (Batchelder) Lane, was 
born in Deerfield, June 17, 1827. In early life he 
followed the shoemaker's trade in Deerfield, but 
subsequently was employed in cotton mills, and 
later in the manufacture of rifles in Springfield, 
Massachusetts. After leaving Springfield he came 
to Manchester and took from Governor Straw a 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1579 



forty thousand dollar contract for making the 
trimmings of guns then being manufactured in the 
last named city. Later he was a partner with his 
brother, Adoniram Judson, in a grocery business, in 
Manchester, and in the same place was for nearly 
thirty-tive years engaged in a steam-fitting business. 
In 1885 he purchased the farm in Bedford upon 
which his son Fred now resides. His religious re- 
lations were with the Universalists, and in politics 
he was a Republican. He was a Mason of high rank, 
affiliated with Lafayette Lodge, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Mount Horeb Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons; Adoniram Council, Royal and Select 
Masters; Trinity Commandery, Knights Templar; 
Edward A. Raymond (now New Hampshire) Con- 
sistory, Sublime Princes of the Royal Secret, and has 
attained the thirty-second degree. Scottish Rite. He 
was an accomplished musician, and a member of the 
Manchester Cornet Band, one of the famous bands in 
the state. May 4, 1847, he married Hannah Maria, 
daughter of Charles and Deborah (Baker) Smith, 
of Knox, Maine. Of the five children of this union, 
four lived to maturity. Frank Alvin is the subject 
of the next paragraph; Inez A.; Scott Weston, 
born October 29, 1854. married Mary S. J. Kitt- 
ridge, and has one son, Edwin Scott; Fred Forest 
is mentioned at length in this article; Judson Ells- 
worth, born May 11, 1861, married Grace W. 
Farrington, and died April 28, 1893, leaving two 
children: Natalie Augusta and Thomas Arthur. 
Mrs. Hannah M. Lane died January 2, i8g6. She 
was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 
(VIII) Frank Alvin, eldest son of Thomas A. 
and Hannah M. (Smith) Lane, was born in IMan- 
chester. New Hampshire, October 22, 1849, and 
was educated in the public schools of that place. 
While his father was engaged in the manufacture 
of guns with the Amoskeag Manufacturing Company, 
Frank A. learned the trade of machinist. At the 
expiration of three years he went to Lowell, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he accepted a position with the 
RoUin White Arms Company, and was engaged in 
the manufacture of revolvers for a period of six 
months. He then went to Providence, Rhode 
Island, with his father, returning to Manchester, 
and in 1871 with him commenced a plumbing and 
steam fitting business, among the first in that city. 
He remauied in the employ of his father and rose 
to the position of foreman and superintendent. 
This concern was later incorporated and was known 
as the Thomas A. Lane Company, and Frank A. 
was the manager, a position he filled very capably 
for a period of fourteen years. After the death 
of his father the corporation went out of business 
in February, 1906, since which time Mr. Lane has 
lived in retirement. His political affiliations are with 
the Republican party, and he had served as alder- 
man for two years. He is connected with the 
following fraternal organizations : Lafayette Lodge, 
No. 41, Free and Accepted Masons; Mount Ploreb 
Chapter; Adoniram Council; past commander of 
'J'rmity Commandery; Edward A. Raymond Con- 
sistory, thirty-second degree; the Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine; and the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. He is an attendant at the Universal- 
ist Church. He married, October 22, 1868, Susie 
E. Martin, born in Hooksett, daughter of Oilman 
and Nancy (Darrah) Martin, who had two children; 
Oilman Martin spent his life in Hooksett, and 
died at the age of seventy-three years; his wife 
died at the age of seventy-five. Mr. and i\Irs. Lane 
have had one child : Inez A., born ]\Iarch 18, 1874- 
She was educated in the public schools, and married 
Ernest A. Smith, of jNIanchester, a member of the 



firm of Smith Brothers Piano Company, dealers in 
musical instruments. They have children : Lane E. 
and Elliott. 

(VIII) Fred Forest, third son and fourth child 
of Thomas A. and Hannah M. (Smith) Lane, was 
born in Manchester, November 8, 1857. He was 
educated in the public schools of his native city, 
graduating from the high school, after which he 
served an apprenticeship at the steamfitter's trade, 
under the masterly direction of his father. With 
him he came to Bedford in 1885 and engaged in 
dairy farming, which has ever since been his prin- 
cipal occupation. He is also extensively interested 
in the lumbering business, and has also dealt in real 
estate. He is prominently identified with public 
affairs, having served with ability as highway agent 
for six years, supervisor for four years, also on 
the board of selectmen two years. He is a Master 
Mason, and a member of the local grange, Patrons 
of Husbandry, and of the Royal Arcanum. In 
politics he is a Republican, and he attends the 
Presbyterian Church. On September i, 1876, Mr. 
Lane was united in marriage with Mary Frances 
Stevens, daughter of John and Elvira (Smart) 
Stevens, of Raymond. Of this marriage have been 
born four children: Grace Maria, born March 8, 
1878; Gertrude May, born October 26, 188 1 ; Bertha, 
born September 16, 1894, and a son who died in 
infancy. Grace Maria married, March 18. 1895, 
Ora Kilton, of Bedford, and has two children- 
Earl, born February 4, 1897, and Francis G., born 
October 31, 1906. Gertrude M. married, April 24, 
1906, Charles F. Shepherd, of Bedford. Before her 
marriage she held a responsible clerical position in 
Manchester. 

(IV) Joshua (2), fourth son and fifth child 
of Deacon Joshua (i) and Bathsheba (Robie) 
Lane, was born July 8, 1724, died January 13, 1794. 
He was a farmer, carpenter and cabinet-maker, a 
superior workman. He resided in Hampton till 
about 1762, when he removed to Poplin (now Fre- 
mont), near to Epping, to the Sanborn farm, plain 
and meadow, occupied in 1890 by John M. Fitts, 
his great-great-grandson. He was a member of the 
Congregational Church in Hampton, and removed 
his relations to the church in Epping, under the 
care of Rev. Josiah Stearns, whose son John mar- 
ried his daughter Sarah. Joshua Lane was a man 
of sterling integrity and unsullied Christian char- 
acter. He was careful in keeping the Sabbath, and 
regular in observing family worship, and the public 
worship of the Sabbath. He married, December 16, 
1747, Ruth Batchelder, born in Hampton, November 
23, 1727, died June 14, 1812, in her eighty-fifth year. 
She descended from the Rev. Stephen Batchelder. 
It is said of her that though independent and out- 
spoken in her opinions, she was an able helpmeet 
to her husband, revered and loVed by her children, 
and esteemed highly by her neighbors. There were 
born of this marriage three children : Mary, John 
and Abigail. 

. (V) John, second child and eldest son of 
Joshua and Ruth (Batchelder) Lane, was born at 
Poplin, October 24, 1750, and died March 12, 1823, 
aged seventy-three years. He settled in Candia in 
1775, on a farm about a mile from the village, on 
the North road, where Ezekiel Lane afterward re- 
sided. Besides being a farmer he was a carpenter 
and cabinet-maker and land surveyor. He used a 
compass box and tripod of his own manufacture. 
He furnished soldiers' supplies in 1778, one hundred 
and eighty-eight pounds, and took an active part m 
town affairs as moderator, justice, selectman and 
representative for fourteen successive years, 1806 



1^80 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



to 1820. For many years as town clerk he used 
to "cry" candidates for matrimonial honors, in 
meeting on the Sabbath. He was a man of much 
influence in town atTairs, and was retained in office 
until the time of his death. He regularly maintained 
family devotions, and was a constant attendant and 
supporter of public worship. He married, Novem- 
ber 30, 1775, Hannah Godfrey, born in Poplin, No- 
vember 19, 1755, daughter of Joseph and Susanna 
(Morrill) Godtrey. The farm of Hon. Ezekial 
Godfrey and his son Esquire Joseph was the best 
one in the neighborhood. Esquire Joseph did the 
most town business^ and was the richest man in town. 
The Lanes and the Godfreys lived on adjoining 
farms, and John and Hannah were intimately as- 
sociated from childhood. Hannah Godfrey Lane 
was characterized by marked intelligence and com- 
mon sense, great sweetness of temper and cheerful 
Christian grace. Owing to conscientious doubts 
respecting the rite of baptism, she did not make a 
public profession of religion till 1838, in the eighty- 
third year of her age, when she united with the 
Congregational Church. After her husband's death 
she lived on the homestead with her son Deacon 
Ezekial. She died October 15, 1845, in the nine- 
tieth year of her age. John and Hannah Lane had 
eleven children : Ruth, Susanna, Joseph, Josiah, 
John, Hannah, Joshua, Ezekial, Sally, Dr. Isaiah, 
and Abigail. Eight of these children settled in 
Candia. 

(VI) Esquire John (2), son of John (i) and 
Hannah (Godfrey) Lane, was born October 15, 
1783, and settled on the North road, about one- 
quarter of a mile west of the homestead. He was 
a good farmer, and possessed the confidence and 
esteem of his fellow citizens, whom he served for 
many years as selectman, representative, justice of 
the peace, land surveyor, town agent, etc. In 1823 
he united with the Congregational Church ; was an 
extensive reader, and a teacher and superintendent 
of the Sunday School forty years. As a justice 
of the peace throughout the state he was often and 
largely employed, and by his excellent advice fre- 
quently saved a resort to law. On April 28, 1851, 
he died instantly of apoplexy, aged sixty-seven 
years. November 12, 181 1, he married Nabby, 
daughter of Colonel Nathaniel and Sarah T. Emer- 
son, born in Candia, July 9, 1786 (see Emerson, 
V). She was a lady of quiet tastes, and admirable 
discretion and ability in her household. She sur- 
vived her husband fifteen invalid years in great 
patience and Christian fortitude, dying June 25, 
1866. Their children received a thorough education. 
They were : Richard Emerson, Sarah Tilton, Han- 
nah Godfrey, Abby Emerson, Emily and Lucretia. 

(VII) Lucretia, sixth child and fifth daughter 
of John and Nabby (Emerson) Lane, was born 
November 13, 1828^ studied at the academies in 
Henniker and Pembroke, and was a teacher in Man- 
chester. January i, 1854, she married Francis 
Brown Eaton, son of Peter and Hannah H. (Kelly) 
Eaton, born in Candia, February 25, 1825, a dis- 
tinguished journalist of Manchester, Boston, and 
Washington D. C. (See Eaton.) 

(IV) John, sixth son and seventh child of 
Deacon Joshua and Bathsheba (Robie) Lane, was 
born in Hampton, New Hampshire, February 14, 
1726. He joined the Hampton church, October 23, 
1748, but later removed to Kensington, New Hamp- 
shire, where he was selectman. He also made re- 
turn of the census there in 1773. He appears to have 
been a man of dignitj- and standing in the com- 
munity. On August 24, 1775, he was chosen by the 
Provincial congress first major in Colonel J. 
Mounton's third regiment of militia. He married, 



December 28, 1749, Hannah Dow, who was born 
September 20, 1727, and died September 10, 1775, 
aged forty-eight years. They had eight children : 
Samuel, born December 17, 1750; John; Hannah, 
died unmarried; Comfort, died young; Mar}', mar- 
ried William Harner; Joshua; David; and Joseph, 
born February 26, 1789. Major John Lane died at 
Kensington, March 21, 181 1, aged eighty-five years. 
(Joshua and descendants are mentioned in this 
article.) 

(V) Samuel Lane, eldest son and child of John 
and Hannah (Dow) Lane, was born December 17, 
1750, and died August 5, 181 1. He was one of the 
earliest settlers in what is known as the Lane 
neighborhood on the south side of Salmon brook 
mountain in Sanbornton. His occupation was that 
of tanning, at which he carried on quite an ex- 
tensive business, and it is said to have been his 
invariable custom when a poor man lost any do- 
mestic animal to tan the hide without charge and 
give the loser a dollar. He was a lifelong member 
and for many years deacon of the Congregational 
Church. He was town clerk first after Daniel San- 
born. On February 9, 1774, Samuel Lane married 
Judith Clifford, who died December 6, 1825. Their 
children were : Samuel, Hannah, Simon, Jeremiah, 
Ebenezer, John, David, Judith and Timothy. 

(VI) Hannah, eldest daughter and second child 
of Samuel and Judith (Clifford) Lane, became the 
wife of Nathan Plummer (see Plummer, II). 

(V) Joshua, third son and sixth child of Major 
John and Hannah (Dow) Lane, was born at Ken- 
sington, New Hampshire, August 28, 1782. After 
his marriage he lived first at Kensington, then at 
Rochester, and finally settled at Sanbornton, New 
Hampshire, in 1798. He built the first house on the 
Sanborn road, where J. T. Durgin now lives, which 
place he made over to the widow of his brother 
Joseph in 1813. He then built on the place where 
his descendants have since lived to the fourth 
generation. He had the town clerk's office for 
twenty successive years in both these houses. He 
was a fine penman, and drew the plan of the town, 
as originally laid out, which is now in the town 
clerk's office. He also made the surveys for San- 
bornton and at least seven other of the neighboring 
towns for the famous Carrigain map. This map, 
which was not published until 1818, though the 
plans were made ten years earlier, was the work 
of Colonel Philip Carrigain, of Concord, the witty 
and accomplished secretary of state, 1805-1809. 
"Master Lane," as he usually was called, had an 
important part in this valuable work. He gained 
his title from his school-teaching. He had learned 
the shoemaker's trade, but for twenty-one years in 
succession kept the school in the present Sanborn 
district in Sanbornton. Beside his draughting, he 
has left behind him another prized memorial in the 
shape of a diary, which he kept for nearly forty 
years. He began his "Memorandum of Daily Oc- 
curences" when he went to keeping house, No- 
vember 13, 1788, and continued it till within four 
days of his death, which occurred September i, 
1829, at the age of sixty-seven. Joshua Lane mar- 
ried at Kensington, July 9, 1788, Huldah Hilliard, 
who was born July 5, 1768, and died of palsy, April 
I, 1850, in her eighty-second year. They had five 
children: John, born April 2, 1789; Julia, who 
married Levi Lang; Joseph Hilliard; Joshua, Jr., 
who died at the age of seven years ; and Charles, 
mentioned below in this article, with descendants. 

(VI) Joseph Hilliard, second son and third 
child of Joshua and Huldah (Hilliard) Lane, was 
born August 10, 1793. It is not certainly known 
whether his birthplace was Kensington or Rochester, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1581 



New Hampshire, as his parents iived in both towns. 
They moved to Sanbornton, which became their 
permanent home, 1798. He was at first a farmer and 
teamster, but after his second marriage he kept the 
hotel at Sanbornton Square. It was here that his 
early death occurred at the age of fifty. Mr. Lane 
was twice married. On June 12, 1814, he married 
his first cousin, Polly or Mary Lane, daughter of 
David and Judith (Philbrick) Lane, of Sanborn- 
ton. They had six daughters : Catherine, Judith 
A., Mary, Pauline Moulton, Huldah, Hannah Per- 
kins. Mrs. Polly (Lane) Lane died June 6, 1830, 
of consumption. On June 6, 1832, Joseph Lane 
married (second) Caroline Chase Kimball, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Rachel (Chase) Kimball, who 
was born in Sanbornton, January 13, 1804. After 
her husband's death she moved back to the farm, 
where she delighted to entertain her grandchildren 
during the summer. She had a happy, cheerful 
disposition, and was a woman of great activity and 
industry. She lived to the advanced age of ninety, 
and did much good during her long life, leaving 
pleasant memories to be cherished by her descend- 
ants. Joseph H. and Caroline Chase (Kimball) 
Lane had three sons: Joseph H. (2), whose sketch 
follows ; Andrew Louis and Joshua. 

(VII) Joseph Hilliard (2), eldest son and 
child of Joseph Hilliard (i) Lane and his second 
wife, Caroline C. (Kimball) Lane, was born in 
Sanbornton, New Hampshire, August 11, 1835. 
When a boy he went to live with his mother's sister, 
Mrs. Louisa H. Hardy, at Groveland, Massachu- 
setts, and he was educated at the Groveland 
Academy. In 1851 he came to Concord, New Hamp- 
shire, and went to work for the Abbott-Downing 
Company, at that time the most noted firm of car- 
riage builders in the country. He learned his trade 
of wheelwright there, and stayed with them for a 
period of thirty-two years with the exception of the 
interval between 1866 and 1869 when he had an 
establishment of his own in Roxbury, Massachu- 
setts. While with the Abbott-Downing Company 
Mr. Lane helped to build the famous Deadwood 
coach, which after years of active service on the 
plains became familiar to the public through 
Buffalo Bill's exhibitions. In 1883 Mr. Lane went 
into the undertaking business with Hamilton A. 
Kendall, under the firm name of Kendall & Lane. 
He continued in this until his death, which oc- 
curred instantly from heart disease on March 30, 
1895. ^ir. Lane was a member of the First Bap- 
tist Church. He was a Republican in politics, and 
was often asked to represent his ward in official 
life. He was councilman for two terms, first in 
1879 and second in 1881-S2. He served as alder- 
man two terms, 1883-84 and 1885-86. In 18S9 he 
represented ward six in the legislature. He was a 
member of White Mountain Lodge, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows ; Blazing Star Lodge, Ancient 
Free and Accepted IMasons. In the days of the old 
Volunteer Fire Department, Mr. Lane belonged to 
the Merrimack, Number Three, Hand Engine Com- 
pan}', and at the time of his death he was foreman 
of the Hook and Ladder Company. Mr. Lane was 
a man of upright character, and was held in high 
esteem by all who knew him. He was happy in 
his home and was a devoted husband and father. 
On November 23, 1854, Joseph H. Lane (2) mar- 
ried Ann Allison, daughter of James and Catherine 
Allison of Windsor, Nova Scotia. Mrs. Lane is 
a member of the First Baptist Church, and has 
been a resident of Concord for more than half 
a centurj'. A woman devoted to her home and 
familj', her activities have been largely within the 
domestic circle, but her benevolence has been wide- 



spread and she has blessed all who have come 
within the circle of her influence. Joseph H. (2) 
and Ann (Allison) Lane had three children: Caro- 
line J., Edward H., and Louis A., the subject of 
the succeeding paragraph. Caroline Josephine, the 
eldest child and only daughter, was born Novem- 
ber 8, 1855. She was graduated from the Concord 
high school in 1878, and on August 20, 1878, was 
married to William Wallace Elkin, of Concord. 
Mr. Elkin was born in Brooklyn, New York, and 
was the son of Henry and Jane (Burgum) Elkin, 
of Birmingham, England. Mr. Henry Elkin be- 
came a sugar planter in Cuba and was the first 
manufacturer to introduce machinery for grinding 
cane ; this work had previously been done by ox 
power. Mr. and Mrs. William W. Elkin have one 
son, Henry Shadrach. JMrs. Elkin is a woman of 
refined and cultivated tastes with an ardent love 
of nature. Active in church and club work, diligent 
in domestic duties, she has always found time for 
study and out-door life. Possessed of great social 
charm and a sunny disposition, she is beloved by 
all who know her. Edward Hamlin, eldest son 
and second child, was born June 2, i860. He is 
a silversmith at the Durgin factory in Concord. 
He married Minnie J. Burgum, of Concord, a 
niece of j\Irs. Jane (Burgum) Elkin. 

(VIII) Louis Andrew, second son and yolmg- 
est child of Joseph Hilliard (2) and Ann (Allison) 
Lane, was born at Concord, New Hampshire, Au- 
gust 23, 1862. He was graduated from the Con- 
cord high school in 1882. He was first employed 
at the National State Capital Bank in Concord, 
but at the end of the year he left this position 
to become private secretary to Charlamagne Tower, 
of Philadelphia. Mr. Tower developed the great 
iron mines about Lake Superior and built the 
Duluth and Iron Range railroad. His son and 
namesake is now minister to Austria. Mr. Lane 
remained with the elder Mr. Tower three years 
or until the death of the latter. This position was 
a liberal education in itself, and Mr. Lane has al- 
ways greatly prized the opportunities that it afforded. 
After Mr. Tower's death, Mr. Lane returned to 
Concord, and entered the employ of Norris & 
Crockett, afterwards J. C. Norris & Company, as 
bookkeeper, holding this position for twelve years. 
After a brief rest he contemplated studying medi- 
cine with his cousin. Dr. Henry E. Allison, the 
noted alienist, at that time superintendent of the 
Asylum at Fishkill-on-the-Hudson. His health be- 
ing hardly equal to the demands of such a career, 
Mr. Lane decided to adopt his father's profession, 
and in 1897 was graduated from the United States 
College of Embalming in New York City. He 
began business at Concord in December of that 
year. He has been especially successful in his 
chosen practice, and his establishment is one 
of the largest north of Boston. In 1901 he 
was graduated from the Massachusetts Col- 
lege of Embalmers. In 1899 he founded the 
Licensed Embalmers' Association of New Hamp- 
shire, and was its secretary for several years, but 
was obliged to give up this position on account of 
the demands of his own business. Mr. Lane is a 
man of fine sensibilities and sympathetic nature, 
which render him peculiarly adapted to his chosen 
work. He attends the First Baptist Church of 
Concord. He is a Republican in politics, but never 
has had time to hold office. He belongs to many 
fraternal organizations. He is a member of White 
Mountain Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, in all its branches. He belongs to Horace 
Chase Council, Royal Arch Chapter, Blazing Star 
Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. He 



1^82 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



belongs to the Concord Lodge, Knights of Pythias, 
also the Grand Lodge of New Hampshire. He has 
been past chancellor and district deputy of the 
Concord Lodge. He is a member of Capital City 
Grange and of Aroosagunticook Tribe, Improved 
Order of Red Men. 

On December 27, 1897, Louis A. Lane married 
at Alexandria, New Hampshire, Harriet Laycock, 
daughter of John and Martha (Berry) Laycock, 
formerly of Bradford, England. Mrs. Lane was 
born in Bradford, December 27, 1875, and came as 
a child with her parents to Canada. They afterwards 
moved to Lawrence, Massachusetts. She then went 
to Tuscaloosa, Alabama, where her brother Arthur 
had an orange plantation, and in 1896 was graduated 
from the Tuscaloosa Female College. She comes 
of a family gifted in music and elocution, and at 
the time of her marriage was preparing to enter 
the Boston School of Oratory. Her brother, Pro- 
fessor Craven Laycock, is the present professor of 
Oratory at Dartmouth College. Mrs. Lane joined 
the Methodist Church at Lawrence, Massachusetts. 
Her father was a local preacher of that denomina- 
tion in England. Mr. and Mrs. Louis A. Lane 
have two children: Joseph Hilliard (3), born Sep- 
tember 2S, 1898, and Martha Allison, born Febru- 
ary II, 1904, both at Concord. 

(VI) Charles, fourth son and youngest child 
of Joshua and Huldah (Hilliard) Lane, was born 
February 11, 1799, at Sanbornton, New Hampshire. 
He served his time in a store ' at Concord, New 
Hampshire, and later established himself in busi- 
ness at Sanbornton Square. He early engaged in 
the newspaper and book publishing business, editing 
the paper which he issued. In 1837 he published an 
elegant Family Bible, which would have done credit 
to a city establishment. He was an acknowledged 
leader in the affairs of the town, and did much for 
the prosperity of the Square. His newspaper was 
the tirst ever issued in Sanbornton. In 1841 he 
removed to Laconia, New Hampshire, where he 
purchased and edited the Belknap Gazette for 
several years. He was clerk of the Boston. Con- 
cord & Montreal railroad from its organization till 
his death. He was United States marshal for New 
Hampshire under the administrations of Van Buren 
and Jackson. He also served the state as repre- 
sentative and state senator. In later years he did 
a large business as insurance agent and adjuster. 
When the Montreal railroad was built, he settled 
all the land damages between Concord and Woods- 
ville, New Hampshire. "Physically speaking, he 
was a man of fine and commanding presence, with 
a large frame, surmounted by a head whose Web- 
sterian proportions and strong features betokened 
great intellectual ability. His rare gifts, combined 
with a genial and sunny disposition, won him hosts 
of friends." He was prominent in Masonic circles, 
and at his death, March 6, 1876, in Laconia, after 
a four years' invalidism from paralysis, special 
trains brought large Masonic delegations from Con- 
cord, Plymouth and other places. Charles Lane 
was twice married. His first wife was Pauline 
(Moulton) Lane, of Concord, New Plampshire, whom 
he married at Bradford, Massachusetts, August 3, 
1822. She died of consumption, March 17, 1838, 
leaving him two children : Charles Parker, a 
printer, who died July 9, 1876, in Haverhill, Massa- 
chusetts, aged fifty-three ; and Edwin Jonathan, a 
dry goods merchant and manufacturer of Boston, 
Massachusetts, who married Asenath Smitli, of 
Lowell, Massachusetts. They had two children, 
Paulina, who married Edward Wasfield, of Boston, 
and Josephine, who married Charles S. Spaulding, 



of Brookline, Massachusetts. Colonel Charles 
Lane's second wife was Sarah Jane, eldest of the 
ten children of Rev. Abraham and Nancy (Conner) 
Bodwell, of Sanbornton. They were married Au- 
gust 6, 1838. She was a woman of superior quali- 
ties of mind and heart. Her father was a graduate 
of Harvard, and for forty-six years was pastor of 
the Congregational Church at Sanbornton. Her 
brother. Dr. Joseph Conner Bodwell, was a gradu- 
ate of Dartmouth, became a clergyman in England, 
and later returned to this country where he filled 
pulpits in Massachusetts, and finally became a pro- 
fessor in the Theological Seminary at Hartford, 
Connecticut. Mrs. Sarah J. (Bodwell) Lane died 
at Laconia, November 11, 1880, leaving three chil- 
dren : George Bodwell, mentioned below, Jennie 
Frances, who married A. Henry Waitt, of Boston, 
and James Willis, who lives at Sour Lake, Texas. 
(VII) George Bodwell, eldest child of Colonel 
Charles Lane and his second wife, Sarah J. (Bod- 
.well) Lane, was born in Sanbornton, New Hamp- 
shire, August 5, 1 841. He was educated in the 
common schools of Laconia and at Gilford Academy. 
He then entered the dry goods store of John Pren- 
tiss Tucker, of Concord, New Hampshire, where he 
was clerk for ten years. Mr. Tucker's wife was 
Hannah (Whipple) Tucker, a niece of Chief Justice 
Salmon P. Chase. After leaving Concord Mr. Lane 
acted as travelling salesman for a Boston firm, his 
route took him through the state of Maine ; he 
continued in this occupation until i860. In 1862 
he enlisted in Company H, Twelfth Regiment, New 
Hampshire Volunteers ; he helped recruit the regi- 
ment at Laconia. He was appointed regimental 
mail clerk for the territory between Point Lookout 
and Washington, and in 1864 was made commis- 
sary sergeant. In 1865 he returned to Laconia and 
subseqeuntly took the position of bookkeeper in 
the Gilford hosiery mill, remaining for three 
years. Later he was engaged in the insurance 
business with his father. He was register of deeds 
for Belknap county for two years, and town clerk 
for Laconia, six years. In 1894 he was appointed 
by Colonel Thomas Cogswell, of Gilmanton, to a 
position in the pension office at Concord. He subse- 
quently became chief clerk, which office he still 
holds. In politics he is a Democrat, and he at- 
tends the Congregational Church. George B. Lane 
married, November 18, 1870, Mrs. Mary Jane 
(Davis) Webber, daughter of Samuel Davis, of 
Lakeport, New Hampshire, where she was born 
May 25, 1841. They have one child, Ada Florence, 
born March 15, 1877. 

(IV) Deacon Jeremiah, seventh son and 
eleventh of the sixteen children of Deacon Joshua 
and Bathsheba (Robie) Lane, was born March 10, 
1732, and died June 21, 1806, aged seventy-four. 
He was a man of some means and of excellent 
standing in the community where he resided. His 
name is on petitions to Governor Wentworth 
relative to delinquent taxpayers in May, 1772. In 
March of the following year he made a statement 
to Governor Wentworth and the general assembly 
respecting a dispute in a parish of Hampton Falls, 
and October i, 1762, he was one of a committee to 
determine the boundaries between Salisbury and 
Andover, then called Stevenstown and New 
Britain. Fie was very pious, a man of fair speech, 
active as a deacon in the church, and delivered the 
address at the funeral of his father which was 
printed under the title of "A Memorial and a Tear 
of Lamentation." Jeremiah Lane married, January 
18, 1759, Mary Sanborn, who was born May 24, 
1736, daughter of Lieutenant Joseph Sanborn. She 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1583 



died August 17, 1818, aged eighty-two. Their chil- 
dren, born at Hampton Falls, were : .Mary, Sarah, 
Joshua, Jeremiah, Simeon, a son, and Levi. 

(V) Jeremiah (2), fourth child and second son 
of Deacon Jeremiah (i) and Mary (.Sanborn) Lane, 
was born m Hampton Falls, January 20, 1768, and 
died July 18, 184S. He was a farmer and settled 
in Chichester in 1792. He and his second wife were 
members of the Congregational Church. He mar- 
ried (tirst), December 29, 1791, Eunice Tilton, who 
was born November 26, 1764, and died January 18, 
1811; and (second), December 31, 1811, Hannah 
Tucke, who was born October 2, 1776, and died 
May 13, 1848. By his first wife he jiad children: 
Benjamin, Jeremiah, Joshua, a son, liunice, Polly, 
Betsey and Joseph; and by his second wife: An- 
thony Knapp, Moses Garland and Hannah Sarah. 

(VI) Moses Garland, second child of Jere- 
miah and Hannah (Tucke) Lane, was born August 
26, 1814, and died October, 1895. He was named for 
his great-uncle, Lieutenant Moses Garland, who 
was a Revolutionary soldier and fought valiantly 
at the battle of Bunker Hill. He resided on the 

"homestead in Chichester, then removed to Pitts- 
field. He and his wife were members of the Con- 
gregational Church. He married, November 29, 
1839, Sophia Ann Sanborn, daughter of Captain 
James Sanborn, of Epsom. She died in Pittsfield, 
August 9, 1856. They had six children : Elizabeth 
A., born April 6, 1841, married, January 24, 1866, 
David K. Swett, of Pittsfield. Charles H., see 
forward. Abbie M., born February 22, 1847, mar- 
ried, December 5, 1872, George P. Woodman, of 
Manchester. James T., died young. Helen A., born 
August 2, died October 30, 1853. Walter B., born 
March 21, 1855, died April, 1880. 

(VH) Charles H., second child and eldest son 
of IMoses G. and Sophia Ann (Sanborn) Lane, was 
born in Chichester, October 9, 1843, and while he 
was still a boy his parents removed to Pittsfield. 
He attended the public schools in that town and 
in Concord, and was subsequently a student 
at Pittsfield Academy. For many years he was 
a builder and lumber dealer. After marriage 
he resided in Concord, and then removed to 
Pittsfield, which has since been his home. Beginning 
life with a small capital he has acquired a large 
property and become prominent as a contractor and 
builder, banker and dealer in real estate. Quiet and 
retiring in manner, he has ever been interested in 
promoting the growth of Pittsfield and has done 
much toward that end. He constructed most of the 
large buildings and managed the most difficult car- 
penter work of the town. He possesses not only 
mechanical skill but much ingenuity, and has in- 
vented several useful appliances. He was among 
the first in the organization of the Pittsfield Acque- 
duct Company, of which he was superintendent 
fifteen years, and is still a director. For a time he 
was superintendent of the Pittsfield Gas Company, 
and is -yet a member of its directorate. He is a 
trustee of the Farmers' Savings Bank of Pittsfield, 
a director in the Pittsfield National Bank and a 
director from its organization to the present time 
in the Merchants' National Bank of Dover. He is 
a loyal Republican, has never sought or filled an 
office, but has been ever ready to assist in his party's 
progress and in the cause of temperance. He is a 
deeply religious man by nature, an active member 
of the Congregational Church, and for years has 
been its treasurer and one of its wardens. He is 
a charter member of Corinthian Lodge. No. 82, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Pittsfield. and of Sun- 



cook Lodge, No. 10, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, of Pittsfield. 

He married (first), in Pittsfield, January 2, 186S, 
Almira Lorena Perkins, who was born August 3, 
184s, daughter of Oliver Lowell and Abigail (San- 
born) Perkins, of Pittsfield. She died P'ebruary 24, 
1897, aged fifty-two. She attended the same schools 
that jNlr. Lane did, and* subsequently taught school. 
She was a fond mother, a lady of culture, and took 
nnich interest in the education of her family. The 
children of Charles H. and Almira L. (Perkins) 
Lane, were : Willis H., died aged seven years. Katie 
Rena, died at the age of three years. Winifred, 
born x\pril 30, 1875, married, June 26, 1895, Charles 
C. Goss. Ethel, born July 2, 1880, died December 
29, 1884. Mr. Lane married (second), Ella (Ches- 
ley) Martin, a woman active in the educational in- 
terests of the tow/n. 

(Third Family.) 
Many early immigrants of this name are 
LANE found among the seventeenth century 
settlers of America, and most of them 
reared large families and have numerous descend- 
ants. The present line is derived from James Lane, 
of Casco Bay, Maine, and is unrelated to that 
sprung from William Lane, of Boston, whose 
grandson, Deacon Joshua Lane, was a prominent 
citizen of Hampton, New Hampshire. The Hamp- 
ton Lanes and their descendants are already well 
represented in the biographies of this work. 

(I) James Lane, born in England, son of James 
Lane, was a craftsman and perhaps a member of 
the guild of turners, Lonuon, in 1654. That same 
year he had joint ownership with his brother, John 
Lane, in real estate at Rickmansworth. Hcriiord 
cotmt}', which had been received from their par- 
ents. James Lane had paid debts on the property 
and was thereby depleted in pocket. Perhaps with 
a view of bettering their circumstances, the brothers 
Job, James and Edward Lane, came to America 
and settled in Maiden, Massachusetts, about 1656. 
Soon after Edward Lane went to Boston and Job 
to Billerica, Massachusetts, but James Lane had 
more of the pioneer spirit, and finally pitched his 
tent at Casco Ba.\, Maine. Here he acquired large 
tracts cf land and gave his name to a point -and 
an island ofif the east bank of Royall's river, which 
they still bear. Tradition says that Lane's Island 
is the place where the Indians planted corn, held 
councils and buried their dead. In 1665-66 James 
Lane was "sergeant of ye companye," the West- * 
custigo military organization, formed on the plan 
of the London train-bands to which the immortal 
John Gilpin lielonged. As chief officer Sergeant 
Lane would be armed with halberd, sword and 
pistol. James Lane is supposed to have had a wife, 
Ann, and certainly had a daughter bj- that name. 
He afterwards married Sarah White, daughter of 
John and Mary (Phips) White. Sarah White had 
interesting antecedents, and was the half sister of 
Sir William Phips, the royal governor of Massa- 
chusetts. Her mother Mary was the widow of 
James Phips when she married John White and 
she had twenty-six children b}' the two husbands. 
James Lane died intestate, leaving six children who 
shared his estate. These were : Ann, who married 
Richard Bray: John, whose sketch follows: Samuel, 
who had a wife Abigail ; Henry, who died at Bos- 
ton. June 4, 1690: Job, who married Mary Fassett ; 
and James. Sergeant James Lane was killed in a 
fight with the Indians, but the date cannot be ascer- 
tained. It was probably between 1675 and 1678, be- 



15^4 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



cause a deposition from his son John says that they 
lived at Casco Bay until driven thence by the "first 
warr." A massacre of four adults and three children 
occurred there September 12, 1675, and on August 
II, 1676, Falmouth (which later developed into Port- 
land) was attacked and thirty-four persons killed 
or captured. All the settlements in that region were 
abandoned for a time. The inventory of the estate 
of Sergeant James Lane was made in 1680. and 
among the items are: "Lincew^ulse, 34 shillings; 
puter, 14 shillings ; 3 bras cetles at 20 shillings." 
There is a goodly amount of cloths of various kinds, 
beside bed and table linen, but the only kitchen 
furniture mentioned beside the kettles are one por- 
ridge pot and a pair of tongs and pot-hooks. 

(II) John, eldest son and second child of Ser- 
geant James Lane, was born in 1652 in England. 
It is not known whether his mother was Sarah 
White or her predecessor Ann ; probably Sarah 
White. When he was past eighty years of age, 
John Lane deposed that he lived at Casco Bay, 
Maine, until driven out by the second Indian war. 
He continued to live on the Maine coast for some 
years after leaving Casco Bay, because he was at 
Cape Elizabeth in 1680, and at Purpooduck Point 
in 1687 and 1689. Soon after he went to Glou- 
cester, Massachusetts, which became his permanent 
home. It was from him and his family that the 
village of Lanesville on Cape Ann takes its name. 
John Lane's name is attadied to many deeds con- 
veying tracts of land in the vicinity of Gloucester. 
He also possessed large estates in Maine, both by 
inheritance and purchase. There was great con- 
fusion about the titles to land in the latter place, 
and in 1700 the general court of Massachusetts es- 
tablished a commission to examine into the matter. 
In these records John Lane was accounted among 
the old planters of Westcustigo. and there are many 
depositions extant signed by his name. John Lane 
was connected with the First Church in Gloucester 
before 1703, and was an original member of the 
Third Church, Annisquam, when it was organized 
in 1728. About 1680 John Lane married Dorcas 
Wallis, daughter of John and Mary (Shepard) 
Wallis, of Cape Elizabeth, Maine. They had eleven 
children, five born at Cape Elizabeth and six at 
Gloucester: James, born in 1682. married (first), 
Ruth Riggs, (second), Judith Woodbury; John, 
married Mary Riggs; Josiah, married Rachel York; 
Dorcas, married William Tucker; Sarah, married 
Thomas Riggs; Hephzibah, married Caleb Wood- 
bury; Mary, married (first), Thomas Finson, (sec- 
ond), Joseph Thurston; Joseph, married Deborah 
Harraden; Benjamin, whose sketch follows; De- 
borah, died in her twenty-seventh year ; and Job, 
married Mary Ashby. John Lane died January 24, 
1737-38, aged eighty-six years. His widow, Dor- 
cas (Wallis) Lane, died February 2, 1754. in her 
ninety-third j^ear. They are both buried in the 
Lanesville cemetery near Gloucester, Massachu- 
setts. 

(III) Benjamin, fifth son and ninth child of 
John and Dorcas (Wallis) Lane, was born in 
Lanesville, Gloucester, Massachusetts, July 25, 1700. 
He spent his life in Gloucester where at different 
times he bought several tracts of land in addition 
to what he inherited from his father. On January 
6, 1725-26, Benjamin Lane married Elizabeth 
Griffin, a descendant of Samuel and Elizabeth 
(York) Griffin. They had sixteen children: 
Thomas, Benjamin, whose sketch follows; Eliza- 
beth. Jonathan, John, Lydia, Hezekiah, David, 
Daniel, Dorcas, Joseph, Joshua, Lois, Nathaniel, 
Rebecca and Peter. Benjamin Lane died March 



12, 1773, aged seventy-two years, and his widow 
Elizabeth died of asthma, September 11, 1779, aged 
seventy years. 

(IV) Benjamin (2), second son and child of 
Benjamin (i) and Elizabeth (Griffin) Lane, was 
born at Gloucester. Massachusetts, November 23, 
1727. In 1752 he bought land in Gloucester, Mas- 
sachusetts, and in 1770 moved to New Gloucester, 
Mame, which was largely settled by emigrants from 
the former town. In 1782 he bought the "most 
Easterly Corner Pew" in the meeting house at New 
Gloucester. His name appears in connection with 
several transfers of real estate in that region. On 
October 28, 1749, Benjamin (2) Lane entered in- 
tentions of marriage with his second cousin, Han- 
nah Lane, daughter of Samuel and Mary (Em- 
mons) Lane, of Gloucester. She was the mother 
of his ten children: Nathaniel, Benjamin, men- 
tioned below, Eliphalet, Zephaniah, Hannah, John, 
Samuel, Joshua, Susanna and Betty. Two of the 
sons served in the Revolution. In 1778 John Lane, 
at_ the age of nineteen, was killed in an engagement 
with a British ship mounting twenty guns, being 
the first man from Gloucester, Massachusetts, to 
lose his life in the Continental cause. In May, 1780, 
Joshua Lane was mustered with Captain Isaac Par- 
son's New Gloucester company. Colonel Prince's 
regiment, under General Wadsworth for eight 
months' service at Thomaston, Maine. On Sep- 
tember 23, 1780, when Benjamin (2) Lane was in 
his fifty-third year, he entered intentions of mar- 
riage with Mrs. Sarah Pool, a young widow of 
twenty-two. He died about 1805, and his widow 
lived till March 30, 1840, when she di;d at the age 
of eighty-two. 

(V) Benjamin (3), second son and child of 
Benjamin (2) and Hannah (Lane) Lane, was bap- 
tized at Gloucester, Massachusetts, December i, 
1752. When a youth he moved with his people to 
New Gloucester, Maine, finally locating at Poland, 
that state, where he bought 'land in 1796, and at 
later times. Benjamin (3) Lane had two wives, 
but It IS probable that the seven children were all 
by the first marriage. On July 3, 1775, Benjamin 
(3) Lane married Sarah Davis, who was baptized 
and admitted to the church in Annisquam, Massa- 
chusetts, on September 27, 1778, on the same day 
that her eldest child was baptized. The seven 
children of Benjamin (3) and Sarah (Davis) Lane 
were: Benjamin (4], whose sketch follows; John, 
Sally, Oliver, Nehemiah, Rebecca and Zenas On 
March 26, 1816, Benjamin (3) Lane married Eliza- 
beth Norwood. He probably died in 1841, at the 
age of eighty-nine, for his will was proved in Jan- 
uary, 1842. 

(VI) Benjamin (4), eldest child of Benjamin 

(3) and Sarah (Davis) Lane, was born at Glouces- 
ter. Massachusetts, January 14, 1777. He lived 
with his parents in Poland, Maine, and in 1815 for 
the sum of five hundred and twenty-five dollars 
he bought a tract of one hundred, acres in Minot, 
Cumberland county, Maine, which became his per- 
manent home. His name appears in connection 
with several other transfers of real estate up to 
1846. On August 9, 1798, Benjamin (4) Lane mar- 
ried Hannah Downing, and thev had eleven chil- 
dren: Palfrey, Jacob, Phebe, John Barnard, Rich- 
ard, mentioned below, Rebekah, Sally D., Hannah 
Benjamin, Nathan D. and Llannah P, Benjamin 

(4) Lane died of cancer at Auburn, Maine, Oc- 
tober 4, 1846, aged sixty-nine years. His widow 
died April 18, 1867, aged eighty-seven years. 

(VII) Richard, fourth son and fifth child of 
Benjamin (4) arrd Hannah (Downing) Lane, was 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1585 



born in Minot, now a part of Auburn, Maine, on 
May 4, 1806. In 1832 he moved to Whitefield, New 
Hampshire, which, with the exception of a few 
years spent in Carroll, this state, became his perma- 
nent home. He was a farmer and lumberman, and 
a respected citizen. He attended the Free Baptist 
Church, was a Republican in politics, and served 
as selectman for one year, and also acted as cap- 
tain of a militia company. In the fall of 185 1 
Richard Lane went to California, engaged in farm- 
ing, but returned home in the spring of 1853. On 
September 2, 1833, Captain Richard Lane married' 
Hannah, daughter of Asa and Sarah (Barnes) 
King, of Whitefield, and they had eleven children : 
Benjamin Franklin, whose sketch follows; Asa 
King, Albert Winch, Richard (2), Caroline Ade- 
laide, who died at the age of eight years : Augustus 
Henr\', Hannah Lewella, John Barnard, Edward 
Austin, Charles Irwin (twins), and Effie Jean. Of 
these children, two became physicians, Hannah 
Lewella and Charles Irwin. Hannah L. Lane was 
born August 27, 1847, received the degree of M. D. 
from Boston University in Boston, was for a time 
physician at Snell Seminary, Oakland, California, 
and is now established at Berkelej^, that state. 
Charles I. Lane was born November 27, 1854, re- 
ceived his degree of M. D. at Hahnemann Medical 
College in Philadelphia, studied abroad, became a 
successful physician at Concord, New Hampshire, 
and died April 13, 1883. Dr. Lane was a man of 
fine qualities of mind and heart, and his untimely 
death cut short a promising career. During his last 
illness he was married to Frances Kendrick Adams, 
of Concord, to whom he had been engaged. On 
January 22. 1907, Mrs. Frances K. Lane became the 
second wife of Rev. Daniel C. Roberts, D. D., vicar 
of St. Paul's Episcopal Church at Concord. Three 
of the sons of Captain Richard and Hannah (King) 
Lane served in the Civil war, and one died from 
the effects of wounds. Albert W. Lane, born June 
19, 1838, and Richard (2) Lane, born April 11, 1840, 
both enlisted for one year, September 21, 1864. in 
Company L, First Regiment, New Hampshire 
Heavy Artillery, and were mustered out June 15, 
1865, each having attained the rank of corporal. 
Albert W. Lane now lives in Plymouth, New 
Hampshire ; and Richard (2) Lane died April 10, 
1907. Augustus H. Lane, born May 19, 1844, en- 
listed August 22, 1862, was mustered into Company 
E. Fourteenth Regiment, New Hampshire Volun- 
teers, on September 23, 1862, and was discharged 
disabled, October 24, 1864, at Jefferson Barracks, 
Missouri, and died September 17, 1866, at the age 
of twenty-two years. Of the other children of Cap- 
tain and Mrs. Richard Lane, Edward A., born No- 
vember 27, 1854, is a lawyer at Pittsfield, New 
Hampshire. On May 24, 1882. he married Anne 
A. Barter, daughter of Lewis Barter, of Concord, 
who had been educated at Wellesley College. Effie 
Jane Lane, born December 10, 1856, was educated 
at Wellesley College and married James Edson 
Noyes (now deceased), late of Tilton, New Hamp- 
shire. They lived at Redlands, California. Captain 
Richard Lane died at Whitefield, October 12, 1884, 
aged seventy-eight years, and his widow died April 
15, 1896, aged eighty-one years. 

(VIII) Benjamin Franklin, eldest child of Cap- 
tain Richard and Hannah (King) Lane, was born 
at Whitefield, New Hampshire, April 28, 1834. He 
was educated in the schools of his native town and 
at Derby Academy, Derbjs Vermont. He taught 
school for twelve years in various places near his 
home, and has served on the board of education 
in Whitefield for nine years. From 1856 to 1862 he 



was in the ice business in New York City. In the 
latter year he came home and bought a farm in 
Whitefield, where he has lived ever since. He owns 
one hundred and sixty acres' of land, and makes a 
specialty of milk. B. F. Lane has been deacon of 
the Free Will Baptist Church for twenty years, and 
was superintendent of the Sunday school for ten 
years. Deacon Lane is a Republican in politics, 
and was selectman for 1871-72-73, 1881-82-83-84 
and 1898. He represented Whitefield in the legis- 
latures of 1874 and 1S75. Deacon Lane inherits the 
excellent qualities that have distinguished this fam- 
ily for generations. He is a valuable citizen of his 
native town, one of those who makes the world 
better by living in it. On November 20, 1861, Ben- 
jamin Franklin Lane married Julia A. Farr, daugh- 
ter of Oilman and Triphena Farr, of Littleton, New 
Hampshire. They have had four children: Bert 
R., born January 16, 1865, lives in Brookfield, Mis- 
souri; he married Sada Westgate, children: Ma- 
bel, Olivette, Alice, deceased; Benjamin Franklin 
and Ralph. Carrie, born April 6, 1867, married, No- 
vember 18, 1891, William H. Sawyer, son of Eli 
Sawyer, of Littleton, New Hampshire. They have 
lived since their marriage at Concord, New Hamp- 
shire, where Mr. Sawyer is a lawyer of standing, 
and an active worker in temperance and other good 
causes. They have five children: Howard, Helen, 
Marion, Robert and Murray. Mabel F., born April 
II, 1879, is a teacher in Whitefield. Minnie, died 
in infancy. 



Commencing with the Plymouth Colony, 
NOYES in 1620, New England had many emi- 
grants from the mother country in the 
early part of the century, and most, if not all, from 
the same cause. Under James I. and Charles I. all 
forms of worship which died not conform to those 
of the established church (Anglican) were strictly 
prohibited; and all "Non-Conformist," as they were 
called, were rigorously persecuted, and many fled 
to Holland and America. Catholics and Puritans 
suffered alike under that bigoted church. Puritan 
ministers were driven from their livings by the 
hundred, and flocked to Holland, their old shelter, 
and to America, a newly discovered refuge. Be- 
tween 1627 and 1641, during the persecutions of Laud, 
New England received most of its early settlers, and 
this persecution was no doubt the cause of the emi- 
gration of James and Nicholas Noyes and those 
who came with them. The weight of authority seems 
to indicate that the family of Noj^es is descended 
from one of the nobles of William the Conqueror 
of England in 1066. William des Noyers, one of 
these nobles, whose name rendered into English is 
William of the Walnut trees, was a prominent figure. 
The name des Noyers by first dropping the article 
became Noyers, and later was corrupted to Noyes. 

(I) Rev. William Noyes was born in England, 
in 1568, and died in Cholderton, in the county of 
Wilts, England, before April 30, 1622. He matricu- 
lated at University College, Oxford, November 15, 
1588, and was admitted to the degree of B. A., May 
31, 1592. He was instituted rector of Cholderton, 
a place about eleven miles from Salisbury, in 1602, 
and served in that position until his death. The 
inventory of his estate was made April 30, 1622, 
and his widow appointed administratrix May 28, 
1622. He married, about 1595, Anne Parker, born 
1575, and buried at Cholderton, March 7, 1657. Their 
children, were : Ephraim, Nathan, James, Nicholas, 
a daughter name not known, and John. 

(II) Deacon Nicholas, fourth son and child 
of Rev. William and Anne (Parker) Noyes, was 



1586 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



born in England in 1615-16. Rev. James and Deacon 
Nicholas Noyes, brothers, in March 1633. ,f ^^arked 
for New England in the "Mary and John of Loii- 
don, with their cousni, Rev. Thomas ParUr _ No 
record has been found ot the place and date of the 
landing of James and Nicholas, but it was probably 
on the bank of the Mystic river, as the records show 
Xt they settled in Medford in 1634. and that they 
moved to Newbury the following year. On ajnving 
they sailed up the Parker river (then called the Quas- 
cacun quen) ti a point a short distance below where 
the bridge now stands. Tradition says that Nicholas 
was the first to leap ashore. He walked forty miles 
to Cambridge to qualify as a voter when he was 
made a freeman, May 17, 1637- He was a deputy 
to the general court at Boston from Newbury De- 
cember 19, 1660, May 28, 1679. May 19, ^68°, and Jan- 
uarv 4, 1681. He was chosen deacon of the l<irst 
Parish March 20, 1634, and died November 23, 1701, 
at Newburv. His will was made July 4, i7oo, ana 
proved December 29, 1701. The personal estate was 
£1 S3I, and the real estate was £1,160. In 1652 
many were brought before the court for not observing 
the sumptuary laws of 1651. The records say Nicho- 
las No/es' wife, Hugh March's wife, and William 
Chandler's wife were each prosecuted for wearing 
a silk hood and scarf, but were discharged on pi oof 
that their husbands were worth two hundred pounds 
each John Hutchins' wife was also discharged 
upon testifying that she was brought up above the 
ordinary rank.'" Nicholas Noyes married about 
1640, Mary Cutting, daughter of Captain John Cut- 
ting (a ship master of London), and Mary his wife 
John Cutting in his will mentions Mary, wife of 
Nicholas Noyes. Their children were. Mary Han- 
nah, John, Cutting, Sarah, Tm,othy, James, Abigail, 
Rachel, Thomas, and three who died young (James 
and descendants are mentioned m this article)^ 

(HI) John, eldest son and third child of Deacon 
Nicholas and Mary (Cutting) Noyes, was born m 
Newbury, January 20, 1645. He was made a freeman 
January 9, 1674. He was a house ^^^P^^ter and 
lived in what was afterward known as the farms 
district" There he built a substantial house in a 
style unusual for a farm house in those early days. 
The front hall is wainscoted, and a handsome stair- 
case, with elaborately carved balusters, then fashion- 
able 7or first-class mansions, leads to the second 
story The kitchen fireplace was huge even for that 
period, and an ox could have been roasted vvdiole 
in its capacious recess. This house, built m 1677, 
was owned by Noyes in 1879. John Noyes died in 
Newbury, intestate, in 1691, and his widow and son 
Nicholas were appointed administrators, and made 
their account September 28, 1694; the personal es- 
tate was £309 and the real estate £246. He married 
n N^wbu?y November 23, 1668, Mary Poore, of 
Andover. Their children were: Nicholas, Daniel, 
Mary John, Martha, .Nathaniel, Elizabeth, Moses 

and Samuel. r t 1 1 i\/\^-r^T 

(IV) Samuel, youngest child of John and Mary 
(Poore) Noyes, was born in Newbury, F^bniary 5, 
1601 He went to Abington with his brothei Nicho- 
las about 1712. He was elected selectman m 1719. 
and town clerk in 1726. He was the P^p^.tor o 
more descendants of the name than all his hve 
brothers He married Hannah Poore, m 1714, and 
dkd November 16, 1729. Their children were . 
Samuel, Daniel, Mary, John, Benjamin, Abigail, 
Jacob and Ebenezer. . , . ,• r 

(V) John (2), fourth child and third son of 
Samuel and Hannah (Poore) Noyes was born in 
Xbington, April 7, 1720 and died May 30, 177^ 
After the death of his father, his uncle, Samuel 



Poore, of R ^y, was appointed his guardian 1736- 
He settled Pembroke, New Hampshire, at what 
was -then called "Ox Bow." He was the progenitor 
of the large branch of the family Irom the tourtti 
generation, h ving eight sons who had seventy-hve 
children A ter his death his son Benjamin was 
appointed adi linistrator of his estate, which consisted 
of the home in Bow, valued at £115; an island in 
the Merrimack river, £9; house and farm m l:^eni- 
broke, £170; personal property, £92. He mariiea. 
Tune II, 1741, Abigail Poor, and they had eight sons : 
Benjamin, John, Samuel, Daniel, Enoch, Aaron 
Moses and Nathan. (John and descendants receive 
mention in this article). a au\ 

(VI) Benjamin, eldest son of John (2) and Abi- 
gail (Poor) Noyes, was born April 29, 1742, m Bow, 
New Hampshire, and died March 16, 1811. He 
served in the Revolutionary war as an ensign in 
Colonel Moses Nichols' regiment in the expedition 
to Rhode Island in August, 1778. He probably set- 
tled in Vermont after the close of the war. He mar- 
ried Hannah, daughter of Benjamin Thompson, and 
their children, born in Bow, were : Abigail, Ue- 
ment, Hannah, Thomas, Judith, Mary, Benning, Jane 
Elizabeth, Phoebe and Sally, beside three who died 

m '"^^"jY" Judith, third daughter and fifth child of 
Benjamin and Hannah (Thompson) Noyes was 
born October 15, i777> m Bow and became t.he wi f e 
of Robert 1 hompson, who died m 1803, leaving two 
children. She subsequently married a Lurrier. ^bee 

Thompson, VI). . , , v-<. a c^^^^h 

(VII) Mary (Polly), fourth daughter and sixth 
child of Benjamin and Hannah (Thompson) Noyes, 
was born June 11, I779, ^ Bow, and died May 26 
1858, in Peacham, Vermont. She married iruman 
Martin. (See Martin, IV). r t u„ 

(VD John (3), second of the eight sons of John 
(2) and Abigail (Poor) Noyes, was born in Bow, 
New Hampshire, March 13, 1744- He was a captain 
m tTie Revolutionary army. He married Mary Fow- 
ler, and died October 7, 1825. Their children were. 
Abigail, John, Sarah, Abner, Jacob, Nancy, Isaac C, 
i\Iarv. George and Martha. . , , , , r 

(VII) Nancy, sixth child and third daughter of 
John (3) and Mary (Fowler) Noyes, was born m 
Bow, June 29, i779, and married John Robinson. 

(VIII) Nancy, daughter of John and Nancy 
(Noyes) Robinson, born November, 1808, m Bow, 
was married November 25, 1840, to Samuel Dakin. 

(See Dakin, II). . , , , ., , r 

(HI) James, fourth son and eighth child ot 
Nicholas aid Mary (Cutting) Noyes, was born 
Mav 6 i6r,7, in Newbury, Massachusetts, and re- 
sided S that town. In the records of the town he 
s?yled Heutenant-colonel. He was the first dis- 
coverer of limestone in the colony at Newbury, and 
tHs discovery is said to have created much excite- 
ment at the time, which was quite natural. In 1683 
"e married Hannkh Knight. In f^m he bequeaths 
to his eldest son his silver-headed staff and hilted 
ranier His children, born m Newbury, were . Re 
becca? Joseph, Hannah, Nicholas, Nahum, Benjamin, 

Mary and James. ^ n 

(IV) James (2), youngest child of Jame. (i) 
and Hannah (Knight) Noyes was born August 19,^ 
1705, in Newbury, and resided m that town and in 
Atkinson, New Hampshire. He was probably a sol- 
dier hi the French and Indian war and was also 
a sergeant in the Revolutionary army, serving from 
September 27 to October 31, ^777, He was mar- 
ded in 1729 to Sarah Little, and their children were. 
Enoch, Sarah, Mary, James and Nathan el. 

(V) James (3), second son and fouith child ol 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1587 



James (2) and Sarah (Little) Noyes, was born 
March 31, 1745, in Atkinson, New Hampshire, and 
resided in that town where he died in 1831. He was 
married in 1770 to Jane Little, and they were the 
parents of a daughter and a son, Polly and Henry. 
(.VI) Polly, only daughter of James (3) and 
Jane (Little) Noyes, was born March 15, 1771, in 
Atkinson, New Hampshire, and became the wife of 
Enoch (2) Little. (See Little, V). 

The annals of North America are fre- 
CHASE quently embellished by this name, which 

has been borne by statesmen, jurists, 
soldiers, clergymen and others honored in the various 
walks of life. New- Hampshire has been highly 
honored by many prominent in the councils of the 
nation, and its annals may well give prominence to 
the name. 

(I) For many years the earliest known ancestor 
of the American family of this name was Aquila 
Chase, who was among the founders of Hampton, 
New Hampshire, and he was said to be from Corn- 
wall, England, by several antiquarians whose author- 
ity was tradition. A long search has established 
beyond a reasonable doubt that he was from Ches- 
ham, in Buckinghamshire, some thirty miles north- 
west of London. The family is said to have been 
of Norman origin, and it has been suggested that 
the name was formerly LaChasse. In the old Eng- 
lish records it is spelled Chaace and Chaase, and in 
the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries it was modified 
to the present form most in use — Chase. 

Matthew Chase, of the parish of Hundrich, in 
Chesham, gives his father's name as John, and the 
father of the latter as Thomas. As the name of 
Matthew's wife is the first female found in the line, 
this article will number Matthew as the first. His 
wife was Elizabeth, daughter of Richard Bould. 

(II) Richard, son of Matthew and Elizabeth 
(Bould) Chase, married Mary Roberts, of Welsden, 
in Middlesex. He had brothers, Francis, John, 
Matthew, Thomas, Ralph and William, and a sister 
Bridget. 

(III) Richard (2), son of Richard (i) and Mary 
(Roberts) Chase, was baptized August 3, 1542, and 
was married April 16, 1564, to Joan Bishop. Their 
children were : Robert, Henry, Lydia, Ezekiel, Dor- 
cas, Aquila, Jason, Thomas, Abigail and Mordecai. 

(IV) Aquila, fourth son of Richard (2) and Joan 
(Bishop) Chase, was baptized August 14, 1580. The 
unique name of Aquila is found nowhere in England, 
before or since, coupled with the name of Chase, which 
makes it reasonably certain that this Aquila was the 
ancestor of the American family. Tradition gives 
the name of his wife as Sarah. Record is found of 
two sons, Thomas and Aquila, the latter born in 1618. 
It is generally believed that William Chase, the first 
of the name in America, was an elder son, and that 
the others came with him or followed later. The 
fact of their being minors would lead to their ab- 
sence from the records of the earliest days of Wil- 
liam in this country. Some authorities intimate that 
Thomas and Aquila were employed by .their uncle, 
Thomas Chase, who was part owner of the ship 
"John and Francis," and thus became navigators 
and so found their way to America. This theory is 
strengthened by the fact that Aquila was granted 
a house lot and six acres of marsh by the inhabitants 
of Newbury, Massachusetts, "on condition that he 
do go to sea and do service in the Towne with a 
boat for foure years." (Aquilla and William and de- 
scendants receive mention in this article). 

(V) Thomas, assumed by some authorities to 
iv — ^22 



be elder son of Aquila (i) Chase, of Chesham, Eng- 
land, was born, probably about 1615, in England. He 
was in Hampton, New Hampshire, as early as 1640, 
and died there in 1652. He married Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Philbrick, of Newbury, and probably 
lived in that town for a short time. His widow- 
Elizabeth administered his estate. She was married 
(second), October 26, 1654, to John Garland; and 
(third), January 19, 1674, to Henry Roby. She 
died February 11, 1677. Thomas Chase's children 
were : Thomas, Joseph, James, Isaac and Abraham. 

(VI) James, third son and child of Thomas 
and Elizabeth (Philbrick) Chase, was born 1649, in 
Hampton, where he resided. He was married Is^o- 
vember 2, 1675, to Elizabeth, daughter of Henry 
Green, and they had four daughters. 

(VII) Abigail, second daughter and child of 
James and Elizabeth (Green) Chase, was born Au- 
gust 27, 1681, and married John (2) Chase (q. v.), 
a grandson of Aquila (2). 

(V) Aquila (2), son of Aquila (i) Chase, set- 
tled in Newbury, Massachusetts (that part which 
is now Newburyport), about 1646. He was formerly 
in Hampton (now part of New Hampshire), where 
he and his brother Thomas received grants of land 
in June 1640, along with fifty-five others. As owner 
of a houselot he was listed among those entitled to 
a share in the common lands, December 3, 1645. 
This he subsequently sold to his brother, as shown 
by town records, after his removal to Newbury. His 
wife, Ann Wheeler, was a daughter of John Wheeler, 
who came from Salisbury, England, in September, 
1646. According to the county records Aquila Chase 
and his wife, with her brother David Wheeler, were 
presented and fined '"for gathering pease on the 
Sabbath." They were admonished by the court, after 
which their fines were remitted. Mr. Chase died 
December 27, 1670, aged fifty-two years. His widow 
was married June 14, 1672, to Daniel Mussiloway, 
and died April 21, 1687. Aquila's children were: 
Sarah, Ann, Priscilla, Mary, Aquila, Thomas, John, 
Elizabeth, Ruth, Daniel and Moses. Mary became 
the wife of John Stevens. (See Stevens, II). (Men- 
tion of John, Daniel and Moses and their descend- 
ants forms part of this article.) 

(VI) Thomas, second son and sixth child of 
Aquila (2) and Anna (Wheeler) Chase, was born 
July 25, 1654, in Newbury, Massachusetts, and made 
his home in that town throughout life. He sub- 
scribed to the oath of allegiance there in 1678. His 
will was made August 3, 1732, and proved on the 
twenty-fifth of February following, indicating his 
death to be near the end of the former year. He was 
a carpenter and resided near the road leading to 
Amesbury Ferry. He was married (first), Novem- 
ber 22, 1677, to Rebecca Follansbee, who died before 
August 2, 1714. On that date he was married to 
Elizabeth Mooers. All of his children except the 
youngest were probably born of the first wife. They 
were : Thomas, Jonathan, James, Aquila, Ruth, 
Mary, Josiah, Rebecca, Nathan, Judith and Eliza- 
beth. (Mention of Jonathan and Nathan and de- 
scendants appears in this article). 

(VII) Thomas (2), eldest child of Thomas (i) 
and Rebecca (Follansbee) Chase, was born Septem- 
ber 15, 1680, in Newbury, where he resided. His will 
was made December 10, 1748, and proved March i, 
1756. He probably died about the close of 1757, at 
the age of seventy-seven years. He married Sarah 
Stevens, daughter of Deacon Thomas and Martha 
(Bartlett) Stevens, of Amesbury. Their children 
were : Thomas, Abel, Jonathan, Roger, Sarah, Eliz- 
abeth, Josiah and Abigail. 



is88 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(VIII) Abel, second son and child of Thomas 
(2) and Sarah (Stevens) Chase, was born February 
25, 1702, in Newbury, where he passed his life and 
died January, 1778. He was twice married, but no 
record of his first wife appears. The christian name 
of his second wife was Sarah. 

(IX) Abel (2), son of Abel (i) and eldest 
child of his second wife, Sarah Chase, was born 
September 11, 1732, and died November 15, 1787, at 
the age of fifty-five years. He married Judith Gale, 
daughter of Isaac and Judith (Sargeant) Gale, of 
Sutton, Massachusetts. She was born April 12, 
1734, and survived her husband more than seventeen 
years, dying February 10, 1805. 

(X) Abel (3), eldest child of Abel (2) and 
Judith (Gale) Chase, was born October 29, 1754, in 
Sutton, Massachusetts. He was married September 
24, 1779, to Hannah Bond, daughter of Jonas and 
Hannah (Hicks) Bond, of Sutton; she was born 
March 13, 1757. 

(XI) Jonas, third child of Abel (3) and Han- 
nah (Bond) Chase, was born August 20, 1783, in 
Sutton, Massachusetts, and died in 1827, in Sutton 
north parish, now Millbury, Massachusetts. He 
married Lavinia Boyden, and they had five sons : 
Jonathan, Ira, Leonard, whose sketch follows, Abel 
and Albin Bond. 

(XII) Leonard, third son of Jonas and Lavinia 
(Boyden) Chase, was born August 7, 1811, in Mil- 
bury, Massachusetts, and died June 7. 1868, in Mil- 
ford, New Hampshire. He received a common 
school education and the knowledge thus acquired 
was supplemented by a course at Andover Acad- 
emy and by a two years' course at Yale, from the 
latter institution being forced to retire on account 
of. impaired health. Shortly afterward he took up 
his residence in Milford, New Hampshire, and be- 
gan the manufacture of agricultural implements, 
which proved highly remunerative. He took an 
active and prominent part in the affairs of his 
adopted city and state, and served as state repre- 
sentative, senator and member of the governor's 
council, in all of which capacities he rendered ef- 
ficient and valuable service. He was an anti-slavery 
man. was one of the come-outers of the Congrega- 
tional Church, and a member of the Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons. Mr. Chase married (first), in 
1834, Mary I. Dickey, of Milford, New Hampshire, 
daughter of Adam and Mary (Gordon) Dickey. 
She died December 16, 1842. Their children are: 
Mary I., widow 'of the late Elbridge Wason. of 
Brookline, Massachusetts. Hannah L. Cornelia 
Elizabeth, married Charles B. Tuttle. She died De- 
cember 25, 1893. Mr. Chase married (second), 
March 21, 1844, Susanna Williams, born May, 1807, 
In Groton, Massachusetts, and died in 1869. She 
had one child, Frank W., born December 8, 1844, 
died May 14, 1906. 

(VII) Jonathan, second son of Thomas and 
Rebecca (Follansbee) Chase, was born in New- 
bury, Massachusetts, in 1683, and died at Strat- 
ham. New Hampshire, in April, 1740. He was one 
of the principal proprietors of Sanbornton, New 
Hampshire, and married, in 1703, Joanna Palmer, 
of Bradford, Massachusetts. 

(VIII) Jonathan (2), second son of Jonathan 
(i) and Joanna Palmer) Chase, was born at New- 
bury. September, 1707, and died at Stratham, New 
Hampshire, in 1744. He married Lydia Rollins. 
(Mention of their son, Nathaniel, and descendants 
appears in this article. 

(IX) Jonathan (3). eldest son of Jonathan (2) 
and Lydia (Rollins) Chase, was born at Stratham, 
May I, 1730, and died in Loudon, September 18, 



1808. He was active in promoting the settlement 
of several New Hampshire towns and also in land 
speculation. He married, in 1749, Anne Taylor. 

(X) Edward, second son of Jonathan (3) and 
Anne (Taylor) Chase, was born in Stratham. 
November 24, 1754, and died in Canterbury, June 
19, 1814. May 30, 1775, he enlisted in the Second 
New Hampshire Regiment, commanded by Colonel 
Enoch Poor, and on September 23, 1776, re-enlistel 
in_ Colonel Thomas Tash's regiment. New Hamp- 
shire Continentals. He married, in 1779. Polly 
Moore, of Stratham. 

(XI) Levi, eldest son of Edward and Polly 
(Moore) Chase, was born in Canterbury, April 8, 
1782, and died there April 12, 1854. He married, 
June 8, 1808, Sally Page, of New Sharon, Maine. 
a descendant of Robert Page, of Ormsby, county 
of Norfolk, England. Their children were : Charles, 
of Grafton, New Hampshire, selectman and jurist; 
William Plummer, a Free-will Baptist clergyman; 
Uriah, mentioned below ; and Levi Badger, of 
Sturbridge, Massachusetts, who served in the Civil 
war, compiled the Plympton genealogy and is the 
author of a history of Sturbridge. 

(XII) Uriah, third son of Levi and Sally 
(Page) Chase, was born in Canterbury, September 
28, 1819, and received his education at Gilmanton 
Academy. He entered the ministry of the Free-will 
Baptist church, and was licensed to preach by the 
New Durham quarterly meeting held in May, 1843. 
Thenceforth he labored as an evangelist until March 
14, i8';o, when he was ordained at East Parson- 
field. His principal pastorates were at Limington, 
Raymond, Brixton, Parsonfield, Shapleigh, HoUis 
and Waterboro, Maine, and Alton, Belmont, An- 
dover, Wolfboro, Nottingham, Strafford, Barring- 
ton, Epsom and Raymond, New Hampshire. He 
was a powerful preacher, with a reputation as an 
orator. His poetical works, which were published 
in three volumes under the nom-de-plume of Wil- 
liam Canterbury, attracted much attention. He 
died in Waterboro, Maine, August i, 1888. He 
married, October 25, 1855, Harriet Ann, daughter 
of John and Susan (Weeks) Kimball, of North- 
field, New Hampshire. She died in Andover, 
November 18, 1862, leaving one son, John, born 
July 16, 1855, now a merchant in East Parish, 
Maine. Mr. Chase married, February 17, 1863, 
Lizzie Guilford, of Saco, Maine, and they have 
two children : Mary Nettie, born January 19, 
1864; and Charles L., mentioned below. Miss Chase 
attended the North Parsonfield Academy and the 
Auburn high school, graduating from Bates Col- 
lege. She secured a free scholarship by winning 
the first prize awarded a woman in declamation. 
She was principal of Gilmanton and Proctor acade- 
mies, and is president of the New Hampshire Equal 
Suffrage Association. She is a brilliant lecturer, and 
her services in the cause are in great demand. The 
degree of Master of Arts was conferred upon her by 
Bates College. 

(XIII) Charles L., only son of Uriah and Liz- 
zie (Guilford) Chase, was born July 15, 1865, at 
Strafford Ridge, New Hampshire, and attended the 
North Parsonfield Academy and the Auburn and 
Gorham high schools, graduating from the latter. 
He was afterward a pupil at the Main Central 
Institute. He taught two years and was afterward 
engaged in real estate in Boston, where he re- 
mained fifteen years. He now resides in Concord 
and is a member of the firm of Chase & Bailey, 
real estate brokers. He belongs to the Knights 
of Pythias, the Good Templars, the Sons of Tem- 
perance and the Grange. He is a Republican of 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1589 



the staunchest sort and a member of the Free- 
will Baptist church. He has been twice married. 
His first wife was Meda Tarbox, of HoUis, Maine, 
and his second, Margarette, daughter of John Otter- 
son, a shipbuilder of Bath, Maine. Mr. and Mrs. 
Chase have two children : Ralph W. and Royal E. 

(IX) Nathaniel, son of Jonathan (2) and Pa- 
tience (Heath) Chase, was born April 5, 1750, prob- 
able in Hampton or Pittsfield, New Hampshire. In 
March, 1773, he married Sarah Sanborn, daughter 
of Reuben and Elizabeth (Ward) Sanborn, who 
was born at Hampton in 1755. Reuben Sanborn 
lived both at Hampton and Epsom. New Hamp- 
shire, and was prison keeper in 1755. Nathaniel 
Chase lived both at Seabrook and Pittsfield, New 
Hampshire. 

(X) Jonathan (3), son of Nathaniel and Sarah 
(Sanborn) Chase, was born in Pittsfield, New 
Hampshire. He lived in that town the greater 
part of his life, and was a farmer, drover, stone 
contractor and bridge builder. On February 25, 
1805, Jonathan (3) Chase married Abiah Han- 
son, daughter of Solomon Hanson, and they had 
ten children: Nathan, Lydia, Hanson S.. whose 
sketch follows, John, Mary, Nathaniel E., Rou- 
hamia. Elizabeth, Lavinia and James. Mrs. Chase 
died about 1835, and the father placed the younger 
children in the care of the Canterbury Shakers. 
Jonathan (3) Chase died at Canterbury, New 
Hampshire. 

(XI) Hanson Sylvester, second son and third 
child of Jonathan (3) and Abiah (Hanson) Chase, 
was born April 7, 1823, at Portsmouth. New Hamp- 
shire. During his childhood his parents removed 
to Pittsfield, where he learned the old fashioned 
shoemaker's trade of True Tucker. He continued 
in this work five or six years, and then returned 
to the Shaker village in Canterbury and engaged 
in driving one of the wagons used in selling the 
wares and produce of the Community. He con- 
tinued in this occupation, which took him all 
through northern New Hampshire, and even into 
Canada, until he was twenty-eight years old. In 
1850 he moved to West Campton, where he lived on 
a farm for twenty-three years. At the same time 
he was engaged in lumbering and in buying and 
shipping hemlock bark. While at West Campton 
he was road commissioner and also served on the 
school board. In 1873 he came to Plymouth, build- 
ing the house where he now lives. Mr. Chase is a 
man of force and character, and though past four- 
score is still active. On May 23, 1850, Hanson S. 
Chase married Mary Ann Brown, daughter of Jo- 
seph and Relief (Ordway) Brown, who was born 
in Bristol, New Hampshire, November 10, 1830. 
Tliey had four sons: James Whitcher, Warren 
Green, Irving Hanson, whose sketch follows : and 
Edward Averill. Mrs. Chase, a woman of un- 
usually vigorous mind and body, and a kind friend 
to the sick, died October 21, 1898. Mr. Chase was 
a Quaker by birth, but they attended the Universa- 
list Church in Plymouth. Of the sons of this cou- 
ple, James W., born July 6, 1851, at West Camp- 
ton, died at Plymouth, August 30, 1874. Warren 
G., born March 30, 1854, is in the lumber busi- 
ness with his brother, whose sketch follows. Ed- 
ward Averill, born May 15, 1869, graduated from 
the Plymouth high school in 1888, and is now the 
editor and proprietor of the Plymouth Record. 

(XII) Irving Hanson, third son and child of 
Hanson Sylvester and Mary Ann (Brown) Chase, 
was born at West Campton, New Hampshire, No- 
vember 18, 1859. He was educated in the schools 
of Campton and Plymouth. He then engaged as 



clerk for his brother, Warren G. Chase, in the 
meat and grocery business, at Plymouth. At the 
end of three years, finding the need of an out-door 
life, he went to carpentering at which he worked 
for a year. From this it was an easy transition to 
the lumber business. The brothers, Warren G. and 
Irving H. Chase, bought a small timber tract on 
the Ellsworth branch of the Pemigewasset river, 
where they built a waterpower sawmill, which they 
conducted for thirteen years. They finally accu- 
mulated about seven thousand acres of timber land, 
and in 1894 they sold the property to George B. 
James, of Boston. The Chase brothers operated 
portable sawmills for two years and in 1898 built 
a small mill on the site of their present property 
in Plymouth. This was burned out at the end of 
a year, but they immediately rebuilt on a much 
larger scale, and are now conducting an extensive 
business. The motive power is a stationary en- 
gine of two hundred and fifty horse power, and 
the mill in one day will turn out more lumber than 
the early mills could have produced in a year. 
The pine logs are drawn by team from Plymouth 
and the adjoining towns, while those from re- 
mote points are shipped by rail. The firm gives 
employment to fifty and sometimes eighty men, and 
daily produces thirty thousand feet of dressed 
lumber. The greater part is recut and sold for 
packing cases. The firm also owns a sawmill on 
the Connecticut river at North Thetford, Vermont, 
which they purchased in 1901 from the citizens' 
Bank of St. Johnsbury, Vermont. They also own 
and run three portable sawmills which are oper- 
ating in different parts of New Hampshire and 
Vermont. Besides his regular business, Mr. Chase 
also deals quite extensively in real estate. He is a 
Republican in politics, and a member of Plymouth 
Lodge, No. 66, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows. He is a trustee of the Universalist Church 
in Plymouth. On December 7, 1881, Irving H. 
Chase married Minnie Elliott, daughter of Ephraim 
and Lucy (Broad) Elliott, who was born in Thorn- 
ton. New Hampshire, April 7, 1862. They had two 
children : Mildred, born April 30, 1883, married, 
July 25, 1907, J. Frank Drake, secretary of Board of 
Trade, Springfield, Massachusetts ; and Richard V., 
born June 4, 1888, who is now a student at Wor- 
cester Academy, and will enter Dartmouth College 
in the fall of 1907. 

(VI) John, third son and seventh child of 
Aquila (2) and Ann (Wheeler) Chase, was born 
in Newbury, November 2, 1655. He married (first), 
May 2^, 1677, Elizabeth Bingley; and (second), 

Lydia . The children by the first marriage were : 

William, John and Philip ; by the second wife : 
Charles, Jacob, Abraham, Phebe, Mary, Lydia and 
Elizabeth. 

(VII) John (2). second son and child of John 
(.1) and Elizabeth (Bingley) Chase, was born in 
Newbury ( ?) August 26, 1684, and lived in Hamp- 
ton, New Hampshire. He married Abigail, daugh- 
ter of James Chase (q. v.), and they had five chil- 
dren : James, Elizabeth, Elihu, John and Hannah. 
(Mention of John and descendants appears in this 
article). 

(VIII) Elihu, second son and third child of 
John and Abigail (Chase) Chase, was born Sep- 
tember 7, 1705, in Hampton, New Hampshire, where 
he died November 30, 1794. He was married De- 
cember 9, 1730, to Mary Swain, of Hampton. Their 
children were: John, Elizabeth, Elihu, William, 
Solomon, Zaccheus, Rachel, Abial. Lydia, Miriam, 
Anna, Asa and Patience. (]\Iention of Elihu and 
descendants follows in this article). 



1590 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(IX) John (3), eldest son of Elihu and Mary 
(Swain) Chase, was born in Kensington, New 
Hampshire, where he lived and died. He married' 
Lydia Green, and they were the parents of six chil- 
dren, who settled in Weare, New Hampshire, 
namely: Nathan G., Judith, David,, Pauline, Ab- 
raham and Theodate. 

(X) Theodate, daughter of John and Lydia 
(Green) Chase, was born July 6, 1773, in Kensing- 
ton, and became the wife of Enoch Paige, (see 
Paige, VI), and subsequently of Aaron Foster, and 
died in 1S62. 

(IX) Elihu (2), second son of Elihu (1) and 
Mary (Swain) Chase, was born May 8, 1743, in 
Hampton, and resided in Kingston, New Hampshire. 
He was married July 14, 1773, to Sarah (Gove) 
, widow of Green. They were the par- 
ents of four sons : Samuel, Asa, Ezra and Hosea. 

(X) Asa, second son and child of Elihu (2) and 
Sarah (Gove) Chase, was born February 14, 1777, 
in Kingston, and resided in that town. He was mar- 
ried February 14, 1790, to Huldah Fowle, daughter 
of Jonathan and Miriam (Martin) Fowle. She was 
born January 26, 1775, and died October 22, 1858. 
Their children were: Elihu, Sarah, Hannah, Jon- 
athan and Asa (the last named is mentioned with 
descendants in this article). 

(XI) Elihu (3), eldest child of Asa and Huldah 
(Fowle) Chase, was born March 11, 1800, in Ken- 
sington, and resided in Springfield, New Hamp- 
sKire. He was married November 26, 1822, to Bet- 
sey Russell, of Wilton, New Hampshire. She was 
born May 25, 1796, daughter of Aaron and Phoebe 
(Gilbert) Russell of Wilton, and died February 24, 
1888, in Springfield. Their children were : Betsey 
Ann, who became the wife of Seth Chellis Sargent. 
She died July 3, 1907 ; Hosea B., who was born and 
resided in Springfield up to 1888, and is now a res- 
ident of Newport; Daniel, who died in boyhood; 
and Elihu (IV). The last named went west, where 
he had a successful business career. He met his 
death by accident when in middle life. 

(XII) Hosea Ballou, elder son and second child 
of Elihu (3) and Betsey (Russell) Chase, was born 
October 31, 1826, in Springfield, New Hampshire. 
He was a leading agriculturist of Springfield, and 
represented that town in the state assembly in 1877 
and 1881. He was married January 22, 1852, to 
Evelyn H. Kidder, who was born April 12, 1835, 
daughter of Thomas and Ruth (Mudgett) Kidder, 
of Sunapee, New Hampshire. Their children are: 
Waldo Sumner, Herbert Anderson, and Olin Hosea. 
Mr. and Mrs. Chase are members of the Christian 
Church. (Mention of Olin H. appears in this article.) 

(XIII) Waldo Sumner, elder child of Hosea B. 
and Evelyn (Kidder) Chase, was born October 14, 
185s, in Springfield, New Hampshire. He is a 
machinist by trade, which he follows in Franklin. 
He was married (first), January 15, 1875, to Helen 
Frances Adams, who was born 1855 and died Oc- 
tober 29, 1882. Mr. Chase was married (second), 
December 26, 1885, to Nina Matilda Wallace, who 
was born April 5, 1868, daughter of William and 
Dinah (Marsh) Wallace, of Grantham, New Hamp- 
shire, who now reside in Franklin. Mr. Chase has 
one child, Daniel Adams, born July 24, 1876. 

(XIII) Olin Hosea, youngest son and child of 
Hosea B. and Evelyn (Kidder) Chase, received his 
primary education in the public schools of Spring- 
field, and subsequently attended the high school of 
Newport, from which he was graduated with the 
class of 1892. The following year he entered the 
employ of The Republican Champion, a well-known 
and prosperous weekly journal of Newport, and in 



1904 purchased the plant and continues to conduct 
the newspaper named, and in conjunction therewith 
also conducts a job printing establishment. In 1904 
Mr. Chase was elected town clerk, and has been re- 
elected each year since. Mr. Chase was one of the 
original members of Company M, Second Regiment, 
New Hampshire National Guard, organized in Jan- 
uary, 1898. He was first sergeant of his company. 
This regiment served for six months, being sta- 
tioned at Chickamauga Park, Georgia, during this 
period. Sergeant Chase was promoted to a second- 
lieutenancy. Upon the return of his regiment from 
the south, and its being mustered out of the national 
and into the state service. Lieutenant Chase was 
commissioned captain. He retired therefrom in 
1903. Mr. Chase is a member of the Mt. Vernon 
Lodge, No. 115, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons; Chapter of the Tabernacle No. 19, Royal 
Arch Masons; Columbian Council (Clarmont) 
Royal Select and Master Shriners ; Sullivan Com- 
mandcry (Clarmont) Knights Templar; Bektash 
Temple (Concord), Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine ; and Aurora Chapter, No. 2>2)r 
Order of the Eastern Star. Mr. Chase is past mas- 
ter of his lodge, high priest of the chapter, and 
worthy patron of the Eastern Star. 

(XIII) Herbert Anderson, second son and child 
of Hosea B. and Evelyn (Kidder) Chase, was born 
September 28, 1862, in Newport, and resides in that 
town. He was married September 20, 1884, to 
Phoebe Russell, who was born September 20, 1865, 
daughter of William and Mary Ann (Whipple) 
Russell, of Sunapee, now residing in Newport. His 
children are: Earl Herbert, born October 17, 1886,. 
and William Hosea, January 18, 1889. 

(XII) Elihu Franklin, fourth child of Elihu (3) 
and Phoebe (Russell) Chase, was born NovemlDer 
17. 1833, in Newport, .and died in that town May 
21, 1883, in his fiftieth year. He was married (first),, 
September 15, 1859, to Ella M. Sherman, of National, 
Iowa. She was born March 22, 1844, and died 
August 8, 1881. Mr. Chase was married (second) 
January 26, 1882, to Caroline S. Amerine, who was 
born January 4, 1855, in Hocking county, Ohio. In 
1854 he went from New Hampshire to National, 
Iowa, where he continued until 1877. From that 
time until his death he resided in Sac City, Iowa. 
All his. children were born of the first wife, namely : 
Beecher, April 6, 1862; Elihu Burrett, October 21,. 
1865; Althea, December 8, 1870; Martha, March i, 
1875 : Bertha, August 26, 1879. 

(XI) Sarah, elder daughter of Asa and Hul- 
dah (Fowle) Chase, was born 1802, and was mar- 
ried November 29, 1827, to Nathan S. Trow, of 
Springfield, New Hampshire. He was born No- 
vember 28, 1804, and died October 15, 1885. They 
resided at Mitchell, Iowa, and were the parents of 
three children: Elihu, the first, born July 11, 1828, 
died April 20, 1895; Anthony Chase, born July 14, 
1833; Jonathan, born March 15, 1806, married Mary 
Messer, of New London, New Hampshire. 

(XI) Asa (2) Chase, third son and fifth child 
of Asa (i) and Huldah (Fowle) Chase, was born 
April 19, 1812, and was married June 12, 1836, to 
Mary Ann Abbott, daughter of Theodore and Mary 

(Burpee) Abbott (see Abbott, ). She was 

born April 11, 1816, and died February 15. i885. 
Their children were: Marshall Tram, Willard Win- 
ter, and James Albin. Marshall Tram was born 
September 16, 1837, and resides in Wilniot, New 
Hampshire. He was married June i, 1873, to Bet- 
sey Ann Robey, who was born April 14, 1845, 
daughter of John and Betsey (Roundy) Robey of 
Sutton, New Hampshire. The youngest, James A.. 




^ Wr 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



i59i 



was born July 23, 1841, and died January 8, 1886. 
He resided in Sunapee, and was a soldier of the 
Civil war. He enlisted October 20, 18O1, in Com- 
pany G, Sixth New Hampshire Volunteers, and was 
wounded August 29, 18O2, at the second battle of 
Bull Run, and was discharged April 20, 1863, at 
Providence, Rhode Island, and re-enlisted Septem- 
ber 6, of the following year in Company C, Twenty- 
fourth Regiment Veteran Reserve Corps. He was 
discharged November 14, 1805, at Washington, D. 
C. He was married May 17, 1668, to Betsey Almira 
Smith, who was born May 12, 1848, daughter of 
John B. and Almira (FelchJ Smith, fheir children 
were: Grace Bell, Nellie May and Arthur Emer- 
son. The last named died at the age of eleven years. 
(,Xnj Willard Winter, second son of Asa (2) 
and Mary A. (.Abbott) Chase, was born April 18, 
1839. He received his education in the common 
schools, and was reared on a farm. At the age of 
twenty-four years he bought his grandfather's farm 
in Springtield, and made great improvements upon 
the property in the course of time. In 1871, in 
company with his partner, Alfred Martin, he bought 
mill property at George's Mills, in Sunapee, and for 
eleven years they continued to operate the mill with 
success. In 1880 Mr. Chase began the erection of 
"Pleasant Home," one of the most popular hotels 
on Lake Sunapee. This he leased in 1904 to the 
present proprietors. In connection with the house 
he is the owner of thirty acres of land, on which he 
produced most of the supplies for the table in the 
hotel. He kept six cows and produced all the milk, 
butter, cheese, fruit and vegetables for summer use, 
beside other supplies. He is a member of New Lon- 
don Grange, Patrons of Husbandry; of Mont Ver- 
non Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
and Tabernacle Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, of 
Newport. He was one of the organizers and is vice- 
president and director of the Sunapee Alutual Fire 
Insurance Company, which is now carrying some 
$350,000 in risks. Mr. Chase is the holder of the 
first policy issued by the company. In 1856 he was 
baptized and became a member of the First Chris- 
tian Church of Springtield, and was soon after made 
deacon, and has held that office forty years, having 
been connected for the last twenty-tive years with 
the George's Mills Church, whose house of wor- 
ship was erected in 1897, largely through his aid and 
influence. For eight years he was superintendent 
of the Sunday-school in Springfield. He is a lib- 
eral contributor to home and foreign missions, and 
is especially interested in that work in Japan. Mr. 
Chase received a patent on a receiving aperture for 
ash bins and similar vaults and tanks. It is cal- 
culated for insertion in a wall or other permanent 
location, and is so constructed that the opening will 
remain either open or closed as the wish of the 
operator, by its own gravity, and at the same time, 
while open, serve as a conduit for the material to 
be sent through the aperture. This has never been 
placed upon the market. Mr. Chase has done much 
for the community in which he lives, and especially 
in the way of encouraging summer visitors, and his 
ambition to make the place a popular resort has 
succeeded well. It is well known to people in New 
York and Philadelphia, as well as Boston and va- 
rious points in New Jersey, who make it their 
place of recreation during the summer season. Since 
disposing of the hotel he has erected another fine 
set of buildings and continues to board a few of his 
old patrons. In all his undertakings and efforts he 
■has been cheerfully and efficiently aided by his 
good wife, who has contributed no small part to the 



accumulation of the competency which they now 
enjoy. He was married January 3, 1870, to Laura 
Ann Morgan, who was born July 0, 1846, daughter 
6f William and Mary (Fuller) Morgan, of Spring- 
field, New Hampshire. They have one child. Dura 
Alfred Chase, who was born March 26, 1871, in 
Springfield. He is an industrious and capable young 
man, and is making his way in the world. He was 
married September 4, 1895, to Harriet Augusta 
George, who was born November 25, 1869, daughter 
of Daniel A. and Miriam D. (Blood) George. Her 
great grandfather, Jonathan George, was the first 
settler in this locality, and for him George's Mills 
was named. Mr. Chase is the owner of "Pleasant 
Home," and also conducts a livery business. He 
has two children : Maurice George and Harold 
Dura. 

(VIII) John (3), third son and fourth child of 
John (2) and Abigail (Chase) Chase, was born 
September 18, 1708, and resided in Seabrook. His 
will was proved September 25, 1776. He married, 
March 27, 1729, Anna Runlet (or Rundlett) ; and 
they had Thomas, John, Daniel, James, Charles and 
Jacob. 

(IX) Thomas, second son and child of John 
and Ann (Rundlett) Chase, was born in Seabrook, 
July 23, 1731, and died September 19, 1787. He 
married, in 1758, Mary Dow, by whom he had six 
children : Nathaniel, Amos, Charles, Edward, Ra- 
chel, and Winthrop. 

(X) Nathaniel (4), eldest child of Thomas and 
Mary (Dow) Chase, was born November 9, 1753, 
and died in Henniker, September 19, 1747. He 
married, September 27, 1780, Mary Brown, of 
Hampton, and immediately removed to Henniker, 
where he had already, before his marriage, made a 
clearing on the south side of Craney Hill. He went 
there first, taking his axe, a bag of meal, and a cow. 
He built himself a "bough house," and commenced 
his clearing, presuming he had no neighbors nearer 
than Weare. One day, as he started for Weare to 
grind his axe, he heard the sound of axes to the 
westward of him. He at once resolved to know 
whence the sound came, and was delighted to find 
within a mile of him the Ross brothers, settled on a 
clearing; what was still better, they had a grind- 
stone, upon which he ground his axe, thus saving 
a journey to Weare. The children of Nathaniel and 
Mary (Brown) Chase were: Winthrop, Abraham, 
Hannah, Nathaniel, Jonathan, Charles, Mary, Peace, 
Nathaniel and Sarah (mention of Jonathan and de- 
scendants forms part of this article). 

(XI) Abraham, second son and child of Nathan- 
iel and Mary (Brown) Chase, was born in Hen- 
niker, May 17, 1783, and died March 30, 1861. He 
lived many years upon the hill in the northwest- 
erly part of the town, know as "Wadsworth Hill." 
The latter part of his life he resided in Henniker 
village. He married, first April 3, 181 1, Keziah 
Peaslee, of Deering, daughter of Humphrey and 
Phebe Peaslee. She died February 15, 1819, and 
he married, second, October 28, 1824, Fanny Smith, 
daughter of Bezaleel Smith. The children of the 
first wife were Hannah and Humphrey; and those 
by the second wife were : Mary R. and Frances M. 

(XII) Hannah, eldest child of Abraham and 
Keziah (Peaslee) Chase was born December 21, 
181 1, and was married, December 21, 1837, to Dut- 
ton Woods (see Woods, VI). . , , 

(XI) Jonathan, fourth son of Nathaniel and 
Mary (Brown) Chase, was born in Henniker. April 
4, 1788, and died October 20, 1864.^^ He settled on 
whnt I't; rnlled the old "Craney Hill" 



farm, consist- 



159^ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ing of about two hundred acres, and was a pros- 
perous farmer. May 14, 1817, he married Patience 
Peaslee, who died February 18, 1868. 

(XII) Eli, second son of Jonathan and Patience 
(Peaslee) Chase, was born in Henniker, August 15, 
1820, and died February 8, 1898. He grew up and 
received his education in the district schools of his 
native town. Early in life he moved to Weare 
and settled on the farm now owned by his son. 
He was a Democrat in politics and served as select- 
man of the town. He was a member of the So- 
ciety of Friends until his marriage, when he was 
declared out of it by marrying outside the Society. 
March 20, 1842, he married Hannah A. Brown, of 
Henniker. 

(XIII) Horace Oscar, only son of Eli and Han- 
nah A. (Brown) Chase, was born at North Weare, 
September i, 1852. Owing to the delicate health of 
his father, he, at the age of twelve years, assumed 
the duties and cares of the farm, thus early in life 
developing a natural ability for active business. He 
attended the schools of his native town and the 
academies of Francestown and Contoocook ; labor- 
ing on the farm in summer and attending school in 
winter; his was a very strenuous young life. At 
the age of eighteen years he bought and operated 
with profit, lumber lots, being probably the youngest 
lumber dealer in the state. He continued this active 
life for many years, and at the present time has 
increased his farm from one hundred to seven hun- 
dred acres. Under his supervision the land has been 
brought to a high state of cultivation and to-day is 
one of the most productive farms in the town. The 
extent of his cattle industry is indicated by the fact 
that the government compelled him to kill ninety- 
two animals in 1903 on account of the foot and 
mouth disease. He also has a bearing orchard of 
one thousand trees and about two thousand young 
Baldwin trees coming along. He is a charter mem- 
ber of Weare Grange, No. 276, acting as steward of 
the same in 1899 and 1900; his wife was lecturer in 
1899, 1900 and 1901. In politics he is a stanch Dem- 
ocrat, having occupied nearly every office of trust 
in town. Appraiser of real estate ; supervisor of 
check list and served nine years as selectman, being 
chairman of the board longer than any other man 
in one hundred years. He was a representative of 
the town in the state legislature in 1902 and 1903. 
In 1906 he built the first piece of Macadam road 
ever constructed in town, and has always been 
closely identified with all the important affairs of 
the town and prominent in all things pertaining to 
its progress and welfare. 

On May i, 1884, he was married to Ida S. 
King, daughter of Jonathan and Irene Peasley 
King. Mrs. Chase is a very enterprising woman, 
taking an active part in the literary work of the 
town and a prominent member of the Grange. She 
was graduated from the Milford high school. They 
have two daughters : Florence Irene and Mildred 
Roanna. The elder was educated in the Man- 
chester high school and New Hampshire Literary 
Institute, the younger in the Nashua high school. 
Florence I. is a musician of considerable alMlity 
and both are successful teachers in the public 
schools. 

(VI) Daniel, fourth son and tenth child of 
Aquilla (2) and Anne (Wheeler) Chase, was born 
in Newbury. December 9, 1661, and died February 
8, T707. He married. May 25, 1683, Martha Kim- 
ball, who survived him, and married (second), 
'^7^3. Josiah Heath. The ten children of Daniel 
and Martha were : Martha, Sarah, Dorothy, Isaac, 



Lydia, Mehitable, Judith, Abner, Daniel and 
Enoch. 

(VII) Daniel (2), third son and ninth child 
of Daniel (i) and Martha (Kimball) Chase, was 
born October 15, 1702. He was one of the proprie- 
tors "of the common and undivided land in the 
township of Rumford," formerly Penacook, now 
Concord, New Hampshire, where he settled before 
March i, 1733, and died before March 16, 1775, the 
date of the proving of his will. His name was 
attached to a proprietors' order to their clerk to 
call a meeting of said proprietors, January 18, 
1737. He was one of the guard in the garrison 
around Timothy Walker's house in 1746; was a 
petitioner with others for military protection for a 
certain grist-mill, 1748; was surveyor of highways 
1734; was one of Captain Joseph Eastman's com- 
pany, in Colonel Joseph Blanchard's regiment, which 
was raised for the expedition against Crown Point, 
mostly in service from April to October, I755; and 
was a signer of the remonstrance against the peti- 
tion of certain persons to annex the Gore to Can- 
terbury, 1760. He married (first), January 3, 1723, 
Mary Carpenter; (second), February 12, 1726, 
Elizabeth Collins. (Mention of David, supposed to 
be their son, and descendants, Isaac and descendants 
appears in this article). 

(VIII) Jonathan, son of Daniel and Elizabeth 
(Collins) Chase, was born in Concord, March i, 
1733. He was a reputable citizen of Concord, and 
a member of Captain Joseph Eastman's company in 
I7SS, and was surveyor of highways in 1766. He 
married Sarah Stickney, born in Concord, October 
14, 1737.- daughter of Jeremiah and Elizabeth Stick- 
ney. 

(IX) Samuel, son of Jonathan and Sarah 
(Stickney) Chase, was born March 10, 1761. He 
married Molly Stanley. 

(X) Horace, son of Samuel and Molly (Stan- 
ley) Chase, was born in Unity, December 14, 1788. 
He graduated at Dartmouth College in 1814. The 
same vear he went to Hopkinton and entered the 
law office of Matthew Hervey. In 1837 and 1842 
he was moderator of town meetings ; in 1824 and 

1825 and again from 1829 to 1835 town clerk ; from 

1826 to 1835 town treasurer; in 1829 a representa- 
tive to the general court; from 1830 to 1832 assist- 
ant clerk of the house of representatives ; from 1829 
to 1850 postmaster; from 1843 to 1855 judge of 
probate for Merrimack county, publishing in 1845 
the Probate Directory. 

Horace Chase was made a Mason in Blazing 
Star Lodge, No. 11, of Concord, in 1815- He was 
initiated Mav 23, passed August 15 and raised 
October 17. 1815. He was made a Royal Arch Ma- 
son in 1817, and a Knight Templar in 1826. In the 
autumn of 1818 he removed to Cheshire county, 
where he resided until July, 1821. In 1819 he was 
elected worthy master of Corinthian Lodge, No. 
28, then working in Newport, and in 1820 repre- 
sented that lodge in the Grand Lodge, when he was 
honored with the appointment of district deputy 
grand master. In 1821 he was appointed grand lec- 
turer, and in 1822 again appointed district deputy 
grand master, to which office he was reappointed 
in 1823 and in 1829, 1847, 1848 and 1849. In 1850 
he was elected deputy grand master, and in 185 1 
and 1852 was elected most worthy grand master. 
In 1854 he was elected grand secretary, and an- 
nually' re-elected to that office, in which he served 
seventeen consecutive years. In 1850 a committee 
was appointed by the grand lodge to "confer upon 
a uniform system of lectures and work, and report 
to the grand lodge at the next annual communi- 




HORACE 0. CHASE. 



NEW HAAIPSHIRE. 



1593 



cation." Mr. Chase was appointed chairman of that 
committee, having associated with him three other 
distinguished Masons : John Christie, Daniel Balch 
and John J. Prentiss. The following year the com- 
mittee made a report to the grand lodge, recited the 
lectures and exemplified the work, which was ac- 
cepted, approved, and adopted by the grand lodge, 
with scarcely one important alteration or amend- 
ment; and rotwithstanding an attempt was after- 
ward made to substitute another work for it, that 
work as originally reported, with trifling and im- 
material alterations, to this day remains the stand- 
ard and only authorized work in this jurisdiction. 
In 1858 the grand lodge decided to reprint its early 
proceedings, and intrusted to Mr. Chase the prepara- 
tion of copy, which for many years could be ob- 
tained from manuscript records only. He superin- 
tended the publication of these, and in i860 pre- 
sented the grand lodge a bound volume embracing 
the proceedings for fifty-three years, from the for- 
mation of the grand lodge in 1789 to 1841 inclusive. 
In 1869 he had completed a second volume contain- 
ing the proceedings from 1842 to 1856 inclusive. 
Judge Chase held office in the grand lodge thirty- 
four years, and to him the ]\Iasonic order in New 
Hampshire is greatly indebted for its prosperity. 
He died in Hopkinton, March i, 1875, and his 
funeral on the 6th was largely attended by Knights 
Templar and Masons of different degrees, and by 
numerous citizens not Masons. His life was long 
and useful and active, and the good works he did 
are yet remembered by many who knew him. 

He married (first), December 24, 1818, Betsey 
Blanchard, daughter of Stephen and Betsey (Esta- 
brooks) Blanchard, of Hopkinton, by whom he had 
four children • Mary Elizabeth, Samuel Blanch- 
ard ; Horace Gair and' Charles Carroll. Mrs. Chase 
died Ju:.e 28, 1843, and on June 5, 1844, Judge Chase 
married iseccnd), Lucy Blanchard, her sister, who 
died December 22, 1848. November 15, 1849, Judge 
Chase married (third). Ruhama Clarke, widow of 
Danie! W. Clarke, of Manchester, and daughter of 
Joseph and Anna (Wilson) Cochran, of New Bos- 
ton, who survived him and resided in Hopkinton. 

(IX) Daniel, a grandson of John (2) and Abi- 
gail (Chase) Chase, married Esther Shaw, and they 
were the parents of "Hunter John." 

(X) John, son of Daniel and Esther (Shaw) 
Chase, settled in the town of Weare previous to 
the Revolution. He was famous for his skill in 
hunting when wild animals were abundant in the 
forests of that town, and by reason of his prowess 
as a hunter he came to be known as "Hunter John." 
He married Sarah Morrill, of Salisbury. Massachu- 
setts, and by her had four sons and three daugh- 
ters : Chevey, Charles, David, John, Hannah, 
Rhoda and Sally Chase. 

(XI) Charles, second son and child of John and 
Sarah (Morrill) Chase, was for many years a 
prominent business man in the town of Weare. For 
a long time he was in trade at Weare Center and 
afterward built the mills on Center brook and 
lived there until the time of his death. He married 
(first), Fanny Whittle, and (second), Mrs. Nancy 
Peterson. By his first wife he had five children : 
Harriet, Charles, Samuel W., Fanny and Cosmus : 
and by his second wife two children : Rhoda and 
Israel P. Chase. 

(XII) Israel P., youngest son and child of 
Charles Chase, was born in Weare, New Hamp- 
shire, March 1827, and died at Hillsborough, New 
Hampshire, May 26, 1890. In early life he was a 
printer and when twenty-two years old left the 
"case" and went to the gold fields of California, 



voyaging around Cape Horn. He was numbered 
with the famous forty miners, but after sharing the 
vicissitudes of a miner's life for a few months re- 
turned home by way of the Isthmus of Panama. 
Later on he took up the study of medicine as a 
disciple of the Hahnemannian doctrine and com- 
pleted his professional education at the old Cleve- 
land Homoeopathic Medical College, Cleveland, 
Ohio, the second institution of its kind in the 
country. He practiced a year in Richmond, Vir- 
ginia, and in 1856 settled in the town of Henniker, 
New Hampshire. In 1871 he removed to Hillsbor- 
ough Bridge, and lived there until his death. In 
1890, in association with his only son, James P. 
Chase, he established TJic Messenger, and con- 
tinued the publication of that newspaper until the 
death of his son in 1876. Dr. Chase married 
Frances S. Vose, of Francestown, New Hampshire. 
She was born September 7, 183 1, and died July, 
1890. They had three children. James P. -Chase, 
their only son, was born in Richmond, Virginia, 
February 2, 1856, and died in Hillsborough, New 
Hampshire, November i, 1876. He was a young 
man of much promise, had many friends and was 
considered one of the best practical printers in 
Hillsborough county. Emma Frances Chase, their 
elder daughter, was born in Henniker, New Hamp- 
shire, July 7. 1859, and married, February 23, 1891, 
Charles William Thompson (see Thompson III). 
Alice Pearson Chase, their younger daughter, was 
born in Henniker, New Hampshire, August 28, 
1862, ,and married Ira P. Smith, of Boston, Massa- 
chusetts. They have one daughter, Emma G. 

(VI) Ensign Moses, eleventh and youngest child 
of Aquila (2) and Ann (Wheeler) Chase, was 
born December 24, 1663, in Newbury, Massachusetts. 
He was married November 10, 1684. to Ann Follons- 
bee, and settled in what is now West Newbury, on 
the main road, about one hundred rods above Bridge 
street (present). A large majority of the Chases in 
the Uniter States are said to be his descendants. He 
died September 6, 1743. Ann Chase was admitted 
to the Newbury Chuch in 1698, and died April 15, 
1708, at the birth of a son. Her tombstone at the 
old "Plains" graveyard in Newburyport, IMassachu- 
setts, which has this date, is the oldest one known 
bearing the name of Chase. Mr. Chase w-as married 
(second), December 13, 1713, to Sarah Jacobs, of 
Ipswich. Mr. Chase's will was made Julj' 3, 1740. 
in which he mentions his grandson but no wife, 
from which it is inferred that he survived his second 
wife. His children were: Moses (died young) and 
Daniel (twins), Moses, Samuel, Elizabeth, Stephen, 
Hannah, Joseph and Benoni. (Samuel, Joseph and 
Daniel and clescendants receive extended mention 
in this article). 

(VII) Moses (3), third son and child of Moses 
(2) and Ann (Follansbee) Chase, was born Jan- 
uary 20, 1688, in Newbury, Massachusetts, now West 
Newbury, and died September 17, 1760. He lived 
on the east half of the homestead. -He married, 
October 12, 1709, Elizabeth, daughter of Rev. 
Thomas and Mary (Perkins) Wells, of Amesbury, 
granddaughter of Thomas Wells, the settler, who 
came over in the "Susan and Ellen" in 1635, and 
settled at Ipswich. She was born December 17, 
1688. in Amesbury, and died May 31. 1755. Their 
children were: Wells, Moses, Seth, Humphrey, 
Elizabeth, Eleazer, Anne (died j-oung), Daniel, 
Anne, Rebecca and Abigail. 

(VIII) Moses (4), second son and child of 
Moses (3) and Elizabeth (Wells) Chase, was born 
July I, 1713, in Newbury, Massachusetts, and died 
on the old homestead where he had lived, October 



1594 



NEW HA^IPSHIRE. 



9, 1789. He married, December 9, 1736, Judith 
Bartlett, daughter of Captain Richard and Mar- 
garet (Woodman) Bartlett, who was born in New- 
bury, March 10, 1713, and died February 18, 1785. 
They had ten children: Wells, Rebecca, Elizabeth, 
Jchn, Judith, Waters, Stephen, Enoch, Joshua and 
Moses. 

(VIII) Isaac Chase, son of Daniel Chase, of 
Amesbury, was born in Amesbury, about 1732, and 
between 1763 and 1773, removed with his two broth- 
ers, Abner and Daniel, to Warner, New Hampshire, 
where he settled and became a leading man in the 
town. He often served as moderator of town meet- 
ings, and as a selectman. He was also one of the 
early representatives of the "classed towns." 

(IX) Isaac (2), son of Isaac (i) Chase, was 
born in Amesbury, Massachusetts, in 1764, and re- 
moved with his parents in childhood to Warner, 
and was a life long farmer in that town. 

(X) Henry, son of Isaac Chase, was born in 
Warner, July 17, 1800. He was a farmer and re- 
sided in Warner. He married Hannah Palmer, who 
was born in Warner. She was the daughter 
of Timothy Palmer, an early settler of Warner. 
Eight children w'ere born of this marriage and 
grew up. 

(XI) Daniel Aquilla, son of Henry and Hannah 
(Palmer) Chase, was born in Warner, December 
31, 1839. He was educated in the common schools 
of* Warner, and at Phillips Andover Acadamy. In 
1850 he removed to Boston and went into the em- 
ploy of the Roxbury Distilling Company. In- 1858 
he entered into the business of distilling for him- 
self in Charlestown, and carried on that business 
until after the close of the war of the Rebellion. 
He then went west and started the largest rum dis- 
tillery in the world at Louisville, Kentucky, which 
he operated, employing many men and turning out 
annually a product of thousands of barrels, making a 
large revenue to the government. In politics Mr. 
Chase was a Republican, and was a stalwart sup- 
porter of the party and a liberal contributor tO: its 
success in pecuniary contributions. He was a mem- 
ber of the Republican Club, the Home Market Club, 
the Society of Colonial Wars, and the Society of 
Sons of the American Revolution. He was a mem- 
ber of the Masonic order and attained the thirty- 
second degree, and also of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. He married Mary L. Hoxie, 
daughter of Benjamin and Hoxie, of Maine. 

(IX) Wells, oldest child of Moses (4) and Ju- 
dith (Bartlett) Chase, was born in Newbury, now 
West Newbury. Massachusetts, September 9, 1737, 
O. S., on the old Chase farm where his father 
and grandfather were born and where his great- 
grandfather settled and died. At the age of six- 
teen he was apprenticed to learn the trade of house 
carpenter. In {he year 1754 he enlisted under Gov- 
ernor Shirley, who went up the Kennebec to keep 
order among the Indians, taking twenty days' pro- 
visions, his arms, ammunition and blanket on his 
back. In 1758 he went into the army during the 
French war, marched to Lake George, and was in 
the battle of Ticonderoga under General Aber- 
crombie. He was married, February 2, 1760, to 
Sarah, daughter of Samuel and Mary (Illsley) 
Hovey and in 1771 moved to Chester, now Au- 
burn, New Hampshire, settling on a fifty-acre lot 
purchased from Joseph Basford, in a region that 
had been but little, if any, improved by the pio- 
neers. He died December 28, 1824. His wife was 
born September 8, 1737, O. S., and died October 
5, 1814. Their children were: Benjamin Pike and 
Hannah. The latter died at an early age. 



(X) Benjamin Pike, oldest child of Wells and 
Sarah Hovey) Chase, was born on "meeting-house 
hill," in Newbury, Massachusetts, now West New- 
bury, June 28, 1762. His school privileges were 
fair for that time, one of his teachers being the 
eccentric master, Simeon Chase, a widely known in- 
structor of the period. When he was nine years 
of age the family moved to Chester, New Hamp- 
shire (now Auburn) after which time his school 
advantages were very limited. It may be assumed 
that the occasion of the removal from the fertile 
valley of the Merrimac was the state of the family 
exchequer as the amount of money necessary to 
purchase a garden spot in Newbury would pay for 
many acres of rocky land in the Chester woods. 
As indicating the necessity for economy it may be 
noted that in the construction of the house on ac- 
count of the scarcity of nails, some of the floors 
were laid with wooden pins which may be seen 
today. The house is still in good condition and 
good for another century of use but has recently 
passed out of the name of Chase. Under this roof 
his father and mother, three wives, two children 
and himself died, and with one exception. He was 
a man of strong individuality, philosophical, prac- 
tical, of sterling integrity, and was often intrusted 
with public duties, serving as tax collector for town 
and parish, selectman and deputy sheriff. He 
united with the Presbyterian Church in 1814. in 
1819 was chosen ruling elder, and in 1825 visited 
his two sons living in Maryland and attended the 
general assembly of the church as a delegate. 
From 1840 to 1850 he annuallly visited for several 
weeks his son, Stephen, then professor of mathe- 
matics at Dartmouth College, where he indulged to 
the fullest extent his taste for reading scientific and 
other works. At the age of eighty-nine he visited 
the widow of the professor, who had died a few 
months previously. He was social in his feelings, 
and greatly enjoyed making and receiving visits. 
When the temperance cause was first agitated in 
Chester, in 1829, he declined to enter into it, and 
its interference with the social drinking custom was 
one of his objections, but when he found that the 
drunkards were citing him as an example, he aban- 
doned the use of all intoxicating drinks, and was 
a strong .and consistent advocate of total absti- 
nence the rest of his life. He early became inter- 
ested in the anti-slavery movement and aided in 
forming a society in Chester in 1835, and continued a 
firm advocate of the freedom of speech and the 
press, and the same laws and privileges for both 
white and black. He was not of robust physique, 
being rather tall and slight of frame, yet he usually 
was blessed with good health, doubtless resulting 
largely from his active and temperate habits. He 
did not complain of the pains usually incident to 
old age, and sat up all the day before his death. 
He was up and dressed the next morning, but soon 
laid down and passed away as quietly as going to 
sleep, March 16, 1852, lacking but three months of 
ninety years. As showing the great vitality of the 
family it can be said that the average age at death 
of seven children was eighty-four years and two 
months, and of nine, over seventy-six years, two of 
the eleven children having lived but a short time. 

The children by the first wife were : Moses and 
Wells: and by the second: John, Stephen (died 
young), Sarah, Benjamin, Molly and Pike; and by 
the third : Anna and Stephen. (The last with de- 
scendants is mentioned in this article). 

(XI) Benjamin (7), sixth child and fifth son of. 
Benjamin Pike and Anna (Blasdell) Chase, was 
born in that part of Chester which is now Auburn, 




/].(/t^ t/^ 



-\ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1595 



July 7, 1799, and died May 5, 1889, aged nearly 
ninety. "The first twenty-six years of his life were 
spent on his father's farm. His education, as stated 
by him, was limited to about eight weeks each 
winter, after the age of twelve, at the common 
school, kept in a house fifteen by sixteen feet, 
rough boarded and ceiled, with three windows of 
nine panes each, a smoky chimney, and warmed 
by burning green wood, which lay out in the snow 
until needed. The writing desks were planks or 
boards, one edge fastened to the wall of the house 
and the other supported by legs inserted in auger 
holes, and stools with legs for seats. Three terms 
previousI}% in summers at private schools taught 
by a woman, made up the sum of his school days. 
Before going to any school he had of his own voli- 
tion, and practically unaided, mastered the common 
school arithmetic as far as the 'rule of three,' in 
the absence of a slate, using a board and chalk." In 
his reminiscences he writes further : "In 1816 I 
borrowed from Stephen Chase, Esq., an English 
work on Geometry, Trigonometry and Surveying, 
and went through that in the school house, but 
without a teacher, just for the pleasure of it and 
without the least idea of any practical advantage. 
I also studied navigation. In the summer of 1816 
my brother John and my father had a controversy 
on some point of astronomy, and to settle it 
father went to Chester to the town library and got 
Ferguson's Astronomy, which contained rules for 
calculating new and full moons and eclipses. I 
thought that it would be a pleasant thing to know 
how to do it. From the tables certain elements are 
obtained, and then a geometrical projection is made. 
As the book must be returned I had to copy the 
tables, and now have them. I calculated the eclipses 
for several years, and have several of the pro- 
jections now. I had no other instruments than a 
two foot Gunter scale and a pair of brass dividers. , 
If I wished to draw a circle I had to tie a pan to 
one leg of the dividers. These studies, pursued 
merely for the pleasure of them, have proved of 
great practical utility to me. In 1818 Stephen 
Chase, who had done all of the land surveying for 
many years, failed in health and I took it up and 
did much for several years, which prepared me to 
write and make the map for the History of Ches- 
ter. These studies also prepared me to understand 
the science of the millwright's trade." 

His son writes of him : "Beinp- a descendant on 
his mother's side of two generations of clock mak- 
ers, he was a mechanic by inheritance. In 1825 he 
found temporary employment as a millwright, which 
led him into that line of business for the remainder 
of his most active life, and during those years he 
made many improvements in the sawmills and grist 
mills that were in use preceding his time. He also 
procured the necessary tools and finished the house 
which became his residence on his marriage, and 
was his home to the end of his life. 

"When the story of the Chase fortune in Eng- 
land was proclaimed, about 1846, Mr. Chase, though 
giving no credence to the report, became interested 
to look up the genealogy of his ancestry and the 
different lines descending from Aquila. This he 
made complete for his own line and collected much 
more for connecting lines, making very thorough 
search of real estate and probate records, and mak- 
ing maps of old Newbury, Cornish, New Hamp- 
shire, and other places, and thus locating the resi- 
dences of many of the earlier generations. Dr. John 
B. Chace, of Taunton, Massachusetts, did much 
work in the same line at the same time, and the 
product of their labors is now deposited with the 



New England Historic-Genealogical Society in 
Boston, awaiting a master hand to complete and 
publish them. 

"In 1864 he began the work of compiling the 
History of Chester, New Hampshire, 1719-1869, 
with a map of the original proprietors' lots, de- 
voting to the work the time not occupied in his 
regular vocation. This was published as a volume 
of seven hundred pages in 1869, and is regarded as 
one of the best of town histories. 

"]Mr. Chase was a man of sturdy frame and great 
earnestness of purpose. One of the rules of his life 
was the scriptural injunction, 'Whatsoever thy 
hand findeth to do, do it with thy might.' Another 
was, 'I first endeavor to ascertain my duty and 
then do it.' He knew no idle hours. Pushing his 
business in working hours, he devoted all others but 
those for sleep to intellectual and social enjoyment. 
Though doing a great amount of laborious work in 
his occupation as millwright, he so kept an even 
balance of physical and mental effort, that his 
strength was well preserved and his mind clear un- 
til near the end, at two months less than ninety 
years. Though mathematical and philosophical in 
his tastes, his character was well rounded out by 
the development of moral and literary qualities. In 
his early manhood he heard a discourse on the sub- 
ject of total abstinence from intoxicating liquors, 
and at once not only adopted that principle in his 
practice but confined himself mainly to water as a 
beverage the remainder of his life. 

"When the doctrine of immediate emancipation 
of the slaves was proclaimed by William Lloyd Gar- 
rison, it was embraced by Mr. Chase, as well as 
that of non-resistance and woman's rights, and he 
often contributed articles on those subjects to the 
Liberator and the Herald of Freedom." 

He married, March 2. 1826, Hannah Hall, who 
was born February 18, 1789, and died February 25, 
1876, aged eighty-nine years, daughter of Moses K. 
and Lucretia (Currier) Hall, of Chester. Their 
children were: Caroline, Louise and Benjamin. 
Caroline (8), born September 14, 1828, married, 
December 16, 1847, Charles, son of Joseph Chase. 
(See Chase XI). 

(XII) Benjamin (8), son of Benjamin (7) and 
Hannah (Hall) Chase, was born August 18, 1832. 
He grew to manhood on the paternal estate in Au- 
burn, attending the district school in his boyhood 
and youth. Subsequently he attended for several 
winter terms a select school at Lee, ^ New Hamp- 
shire, where he profited by the instruction of that 
magnetic .and progressive educator, the late Moses 
A. Cartland. With only brief interruptions he 
aided his father in the work upon the home farm 
and in the millwright business until his twenty-first 
year. Early recognizing his distaste _ for agricul- 
tural pursuits he was encouraged by his father in a 
free use of the mechanical tools in the home work- 
shop, and developed much skill in that line so that 
at the early age of fifteen he began to engage in 
mechanical work by the day. At the termination of 
his period of schooling he gratified the cravmg to 
go to sea that is felt by many a country lad and 
made a voyage before the mast from Boston to 
Mobile, Alabama, and thence to Liverpool, England, 
which experience he now considers was a very 
practical and beneficial graduation into life's higher 
school. On his return he continued _ further me- 
chanical service in conjunction with his father un- 
til 1855, after which he was employed as a mill- 
wright in various textile manufactories in New 
Hampshire and Massachusetts until 1867, when he 
laid the foundation of a manufacturing business 



1596 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



in Derry which has had an unpretentious but uni- 
form and sound growth, and at the end of nearly 
forty years' occupation of its distinctive field has 
been recently incorporated as The Benjamin Chase 
Company, its progenitor being the president of the 
company. As a manufactory of certain specialties 
in wood it is the largest and best equipped con- 
cern in existence with a world-wide demand for its 
products, and the intricate and delicate_ pieces of 
mechanism which make up the plant's installation 
are the creation of the proprietor's inventive gen- 
ius and industry, being all the product of his own 
brain. Of Mr. Chase personally it can be said with- 
out exaggeration that he would be a man of note 
in any community on account of his varied abili- 
ties, his sterling characteristics and his works in 
every good purpose. A man of extremely retiring 
disposition and averse to office-holding he is never- 
theless sought out by his townsmen for counsel 
and suggestion in matters of public concern and is 
extensively known throughout southern New 
Hampshire. Of late years he has spent the winter 
months in travel, Havana, Alaska, the Orient and 
Mexico having been visited, and the rewards of an 
active and well-spent life are now being enjoyed. 
He married, June 17, 1875, Harriett Davenport, 
daughter of Jared and Thankfull (Story) Fuller, of 
Dunbarton, who was born August 8, 1833. They 
have one daughter, Harriett Louise, born January 
22," 1881. She is a graduate of Abbott Academy, 
Andover, IMassachusetts, in the class of 1903, mar- 
ried Dr. Charles E. Newell, of Derry, January 22, 
1907, and resides in Derry. 

(XI) Stephen, oldest child of Benjamin Pike 
and Mary (Chase) Chase, his third wife, was born 
in Chester, now Auburn. New Hampshire, August 
30, 1813. As a boy he was exceedingly precocious, 
learning the alphabet before he was two and one- 
half years old, and at four years having read 
through the New Testament. At the age of twelve 
he was sent to the Pinkerton Academy at Derry, 
which was then under the charge of Preceptor Abel 
F. Hildreth, a most thorough instructor. When fit- 
ted for college he, on account of his youth, re- 
mained at home on the farm a year or two before 
resuming his studies, and finally at the age of six- 
teen entered the sophomore class at Dartmouth 
College, and graduated in 1832. He entered the 
Theological Seminary at Andover, Massachusetts, 
but soon engaged in teaching in Virginia, where he 
remained a year, going thence to Baltimore, Mary- 
land, for the year 1834. He then accepted a situa- 
tion in the academy at Gorham, Maine, from whence 
he returned to the Andover Seminary, but after a 
brief stay accepted the appointment as principal of 
the academy at South Berwick, Maine, where he 
first met the young lady who later became his wife. 
In the spring of 183S he was appointed tutor in Dart- 
mouth College, and in June of the same year profes- 
sor of mathematics, which position he held until liis 
death. Although mathematics was his profession 
and his favorite science, he was well versed in sev- 
eral languages, as well as the various subjects under 
discussion in the scientific world. In religion he 
was orthodox without austerity, bigotry or supersti- 
tion, being ready to examine any subject and to re- 
ceive whatever there was evidence to sustain. He 
early engaged in the temperance and anti-slavery 
reforms. He had a great thirst for knowledge for 
its own sake and had a mind to grasp whatever 
came within its reach. He was of a very social 
nature, and won the esteem of all who knew him. 
Though rather frail in constitution he had, by 



judicious care, maintained a good degree of health 
until in the later years. In addition to his duties 
he had prepared a treatise on algebra which was pub- 
lished in 1849 and used as a text book in the col- 
lege for many years. By this extra work he had 
run too near the margin of his strength. His 
health failed several months before his death, but 
though no serious apprehension was felt as to the 
immediate result, the vital forces failed and he 
died, suddenly to his friends, and lamented by all 
who knew him, January 7, 1851. He married Sarah 
Thompson, daughter of General Ichabod Goodwin, 
of South Berwick, Maine, August 31. 1838. She 
was born December 8, 1809, and died August 17, 
1890. They had two sons : Frederick, born Sep- 
tember 2, 1840, and Walter Wells, born May 28, 
1844. 

(XII) Frederick, oldest child of Stephen and 
Sarah T. (Goodwin) Chase graduated at Dart- 
mouth College in i860. He was assistant professor 
of chemistry for a short time, and then taught 
school in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Returning to 
Hanover, he read law in the office of Daniel Blais- 
dell, Esq., until his appointment to a position in the 
second auditor's office in the United States treas- 
ury in 1861. In August, 1864, he was transferred to 
the office of the secretary of the treasury. In Octo- 
ber, 1866, he began to attend the Columbia College 
Law School in Washington, and graduated in June, 
1867, with the degree of LL. B. and took up the 
practice of law in Washington. In the spring of 
1874 he returned to Hanover, where he resided until 
his death, January 19, 1890. He was elected treas- 
urer of Dartmouth College, and was appointed 
judge of probate for Grafton county in 1876. both of 
which positions he held during the remainder of his 
life. He was also a director in the Dartmouth Na- 
tional Bank and a trustee of the Dartrnouth Savings 
JBank, and a member of the constitutional conven- 
tion of 1889. He delivered the historical address at 
the centennial of the Phi Beta Kappa Society of the 
college in 1887. He was greatly interested in local 
history, and had been engaged for several years in 
the preparation of a "History of the Town and Col- 
lege," a labor which he prosecuted with zeal and en- 
thusiasm. The first volume was practically corn- 
pleted and appeared soon after his death, and is 
considered a work of rare excellence and a monu- 
ment to the indefatigable and thorough work of the 
author. It is a source of great regret that the un- 
timelv end of the author left the second volume in- 
complete. He married, November 9, 1871, Mary 
Fuller Pomeroy, of Detroit. Michigan, daughter of 
Dr. Thomas Fullet and Mary Anne (Hoadly) 
Pomeroy. They had six children: George Hoadly 
(died young), Stephen, Theodore. Mary Hoadly, 
Frederick and Philip Hartley. The sons are all 
graduates of Dartmouth College, the alma mater of 
their grandfather and father. Stephen gained the 
championship of the world in high hurdling while 
in college. 

(VII) Samuel, fourth son and child of Moses 
(2) and Ann (Follansbee) Chase, was born May 3, 
1690, in Newburv, and died there July 24, 1743. 
He was married December 8. 1713, to Hannah Em- 
erv, and they had eight children, namely: Francis, 
Amos, Hannah, Mary (died young), Anna, Samuel, 
Marv and Betty. 

(VIII) Francis, eldest child of Samuel and 
Hannah (Emery) ' Chase, was born in Newbury, 
August 18. 1715, and died in Newtown. He married 
Sarah Pike, and settled in Newtown (now Newton, 
New Hampshire), at that time a frontier settle- 





^:^i^-?^2AA^ 



(y/>i^^€^«. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1597 



ment. They had twelve children : Hannah, Sam- 
uel, Amos, Francis, Joseph, Abner, Simeon, Sarah, 
Betty, died young, Daniel, Betty and Ruth. 

(IX) Colonel Samuel, eldest son and second 
child of Francis and Sarah (Pike) Chase, was born 
in Newbury in 1739, and settled in Litchfield, New 
Hampshire, and died there May 17, 1816. He was 
a distinguished citizen of Litchfield. He was select- 
man of that town 1768-69-75-76-77-83 and 1787, and 
every following year to 1795, inclusive, making a 
service of fifteen years in all. He was a delegate to 
the provincial congress in 1775, and a representative 
in 1780. He was a lieutenant of the militia in 
1775, and soon afterward was captain of the Litch- 
field company, but the dates of his commissions are 
not preserved. December 11, 1776, Captain Sam- 
uel Chase was promoted to major of the Sixth 
Regiment, of which Moses Nichols, of Amherst, 
was the colonel. In 1777, for the relief of Ticon- 
deroga, Captain Daniel McQuaid led a company of 
volunteers, and among them was Major Samuel 
Chase, as appears on payroll, but the fact is when 
Captain McQuaid reached home two days later, 
there was a second alarm, and Major Chase with 
a few men marched to Charlestown, where they 
were ordered home. In 1778 he served as major 
in Colonel Kel ley's regiment, which was in serv- 
ice in Rhode Island. December 25, 1784, Samuel 
Chase was commissioned lieuenant-colonel of the 
Fifth Regiment of militia, of which Noah Love- 
well was colonel. January 25, 1790, he was com- 
missioned colonel of the Fifth Regiment. March 
19, 1791, his resignation was accepted by the gover- 
nor and council. April 12, 1781, the committee of 
safety, representing the legislature, appointed Lieu- 
tenant Colonel Chase an agent to rent and have 
custody of the confiscated lands of tories of Hills- 
borough county. He filled this position several 
years. He married, November 1760, Mary Stewart, 
of Newton, New Hampshire, and they were the 
parents of the following named children : Samuel, 
Ebenezer, Daniel, Robert, Polly, died young, Fran- 
cis, died, young. Francis, Polly, Simeon and Anna. 

(X) Major Francis, sixth son and seventh child 
of Colonel Samuel and Mary (Stewart) Chase, 
born in 1775, and died in Litchfield in September, 
1854, was a store keeper, miller and farmer. He 
married, 1813, Dorothy Bixby (see Bixby VII), 
born October 16, 1777.; died October 9, 1861. They 
left the following children : Lydia, Samuel, Francis 
and Margaret, whose sketch follows. 

(XI) Margaret, second daughter and fourth 
child of Francis and Dorothy (Bixby) Chase, was 
born in Litchfield, in 1819, and died September 20, 
1899, aged eighty years. She married, December 
29, 1843, Isaac McQuesten (see McQuesten V). 

(XI) Samuel, youngest child of Major Francis 
and Dorothy (Bixby) Chase, was born in Litch- 
field, August 29, 1815. He was educated in the 
district schools and at Hopkinton Academy, and 
taught school winters for a time. He also worked 
on the river, was a lumberman, and later owned 
and tilled a farm. He was a Democrat in poli- 
tics, and was representative in the New Hampshire 
legislature two terms from Litchfield and once from 
Nashua and was a rnember of the Constitutional 
convention of 1876. and was also selectman in 
Litchfield. He married. December 2, 1849, Susan 
White, born in Litchfield, April 24. 1825, daughter 
of John and Susanna (Dickey) White, of Litchfield. 
They had seven children. The first died in infancy, 
unnamed. Addie M. married Frank Mitchell, of 
Manchester, and lives in California. Margaret A. 
married David S. Leach, of Litchfield. Mary W., 



died young. En-jest S. married Lula Colony, and 
lives in California. John W. married Gertrude 
Russell, of Lewiston, Maine, and lives in Wor- 
cester. Massachusetts. Charles H. is unmarried ; 
and now lives with his mother, and is engaged 
in the milk business. Samuel Chase died January 
27, 1882. 

(VII) Joseph, eight child and sixth son of 
Moses (2) and Ann (Follansbee) Chase, was born 
September 9, 1703, in Newbury, Massachusetts, now 
West Newbury, and lived on the west half of the 
homestead farm. He was married September 7, 
1724. to Mary Morse, who died in 1792 (see Morse, 
(III). Mr. Chase passed away in November, 1784. 
aged eighty-one years. He was the father of ten 
children. (Mention of his tenth child, Moody, and 
descendants follows in this article). 

(VIII) Jacob, eldest son of Joseph and Mary 
(Morse) Chase, was born December 25, 1727, in 
Newbury, now West Newbury, Massachusetts. In 
1751 he settled on additional lot No. 52 in Chester, 
New Hampshire, and became an active and prom- 
inent citizen of the town. He served often as mod- 
erator of the town, and was very active during the 
Revolutionary period. One item of credit in the 
selectmen's account for 1780 is the record of a gift 
to the town by Jacob Chase, Esq., of one hundred 
and fift}--seven pounds and ten shillings. He mar- 
ried, Noverhber 7, 1751, Prudence, daughter of Ben- 
jamin (i) and Rebecca (Ordway) Hills. She was 
born February 12, 1726, and died May i, 1775, leav- 
ing children. Sarah, Stephen and Josiah. He mar- 
ried (second), Dolly Colby, widow of David 
Worthen. She died in 1815. 

(IX) Sarah, daughter of Jacob and Prudence 
(Hill) Chase, became the wife of Moses Richard- 
son (see Richardson, V). 

(IX) Stephen (5), second child and elder of the 
two sons of Jacob and Prudence (Hills) Chase, was 
born March 27, 1759, and died February 18. 1819. 
He succeeded to the homestead where his father 
had lived. Benjamin Chase, in his "History of 
Chester," says of him : "Stephen Chase, Esq., came 
on the stage of active life about the time that Sam- 
uel Emerson. Esq.. left it, and in some respects 
filled about the same sphere. He was noted as a 
land surveyor for more than thirty years, and 
made the survey and plan of Chester for Carrigan's 
Map, which is remarkably accurate. He wrote a 
very large portion of the deeds and wills, and ad- 
ministered on the estates of his time, and held the 
office of selectman many years. In Esquire Emer- 
son's day, he was a kind of oracle, and nearly all 
the small disputes were referred directly to him. 
But things changed, and in Esquire Chase's day 
there was more litigation, and he was the justice 
to try the causes, or one of the arbitrators. Al- 
though not a finished workman, he had quite a me- 
chanical genius, making carts, plows and other 
tools, and plastered houses. From 1784 to near his 
death he kept a diary, filled largely with his la- 
bors on the farm, and other business, which shows 
him to have been a very industrious man ; and in 
it are also entered the births, marria.ges and deaths 
and many of the interesting events of the time, from 
which I have drawn many facts otherwise lost." 
He married. January 3. 1787, Rhoda Blake, of 
Hampton, who died in Chester, August 15. 1845. 
They had ten children : Susanna. Joseph. Stephen, 
Polly, Jacob. Dolly. Rhoda, Sally (died young), 
Sally and Henry Franklin. The last named re- 
ceives mention below in this article). 

(X) Joseph (6), second child and eldest son of 
Stephen and Rhoda (Blake) Chase, was born Au- 



3598 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



gust 2, 1789, and died September 14, 1841. He fol- 
lowed agriculture, and resided in Chester. He mar- 
ried, November 4, 1817, Mehitable, daughter of 
Major Benjamin and Nabbe (Emerson) Hall. She 
was born January 6, 1794, and died June 4. 1882. 
Seven children were born to them : 

(XI) Charles (7), second son and child of Jo- 
seph (6) and Mehitable (Hall) Chase, was born 
on his father's farm in Chester, December 14, 1820, 
and died May 17, 1892. He was an intelligent and 
successful farmer, a man of sound judgment whose 
advice was much sought, an upright and strictly 
temperate man and a highly esteemed citizen. He 
was a staunch Republican but not a politician. Al- 
though of a retiring disposition he was elected 
selectman many times and was chairman of the 
board for five years. He married, December 16, 
1847, Caroline Chase, who was born September 14. 
1828, eldest child of Benjamin and Hannah (Hall) 
Chase (see Chase, XI). She died August 11, 1849, 
leaving an only child, John Carroll, whose sketch 
follows. His second wife was Amelia J. Under- 
hill and the third Amanda Underbill, daughter of 
John and Molly (Chase, 7.) Underbill, of Auburn. 
By them he had five children, the youngest and 
only surviving one being Charles B. (8), born July 
II. 1867, now a resident of Derry and officially con- 
nected with The Beniamin Chase Company. 

(XII) John Carroll (8), only child pf Charles 
and Caroline (Chase) Chase, was born in Chester, 
July 26, 1849. He grew up on his father's farm, 
attended the district school and Chester Academy, 
entered Pinkerton Academy in 1865, and graduated 
in 1869, quite a portion of the intervening time be- 
ing spent in teaching. He also attended the Mas- 
sachusetts Institute of Technology, being a member 
of the class of 1874. His professional career as 
civil engineer was begun in the office of the late 
Joseph B. Sawyer, of Manchester in 1869, from 
whence he followed Mr. Sawyer to the force in 
charge of the construction of the city water works 
system, of which Colonel John T. Fanning was the 
chief, where he was employed for nearly four years. 
After that period he was professionally engaged 
upon the Boston Water Works and elevated railway 
systems of New York city. Under the civil service 
regulations he entered the New York custom house, 
and after nearly two years of service resigned the 
assistant cashiership in the naval office, in 1881, to 
accept the position of superintendent of the Claren- 
don Water Works, Wilmington, North Carolina, 
which position he held until 1898 — seventeen years, 
during a large portion of the time being engaged in 
the general practice of his profession. He was also 
for several years city surveyor of Wilmington, and 
from 1893 to 1897 was the engineer member of the 
state board of health. In 1898 he returned to New 
Hampshire and settled in Derry. He is a member 
of the American Society of Civil Engineers, the 
American Public Health Association, the New Eng- 
land Water Works Association, the Boston So- 
ciety of Civil Engineers and several other kindred 
organizations, and is the author of numerous re- 
ports upon engineering topics. He is much inter- 
ested in genealogical work, is a member of the New 
England Historic-Genalogical Society and many 
family associations, and president of the Chase- 
Chace Family Association, one of the largest or- 
ganizations of the kind in the country. Since 1904 
he has been a member of the board of trustees of 
Pinkerton Academy, of Derry. and as such was the 
first alumnus to be honored by an election to that 
place in almost thirty years. He has served since 
1901 as secretary of the trustees and chairman of 



the executive committee, and is also secretary of 
the Alumni Association. He is a trustee and treas- 
urer of the Taylor Library and the president of the 
Nuffield Savings Bank. Since coming to Derry he 
has been interested in manufacturing and is_ now 
the treasurer and general manager of The Benjamin 
Chase Company, makers of various specialties in 
wood. He is a member of the New Hampshire, 
Technology and Boston City Clubs of Boston. He 
is a member of St. Mark's Lodge, No. 44, Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Bell Royal Arch Chapter, 
No. 25, of which order he is a past high priest ; Mt. 
Nebo Council, No. 15, Royal and Select Masters, 
being its present illustrious master, and of Plan- 
tagenet Commandery No. i. Knights Templar, 
of North Carolina, being a past commander and a 
member of the Grand Commandery of that state, of 
which he has been deputy grand commander, and 
was for seven years chairman of its committee on 
foreign correspondence. He is also a member of 
Hillsborough Lodge, No. 2, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, of Manchester, into which he was 
initiated in 1872; and of Cornelius Harnett Coun- 
cil, No. 231, Royal Arcanum, of Wilmington, North 
Carolina, of which he is a past regent. He is also a 
member and past patron of Ransford Chapter No. 

3, Order of the Eastern Star, of Derry. 

He married, October 21. 1871, Mary Lizzie Dur- 
gin, of West Newbury, Massachusetts, who was 
born there May 16, 1852, daughter of Samuel and 
Lydia Ann (Emery) Durgin. of West Newbury. 
Thev have two daughters : Carolyn Louise, who 
graduated from Pinkerton Acadamy in 1895, and 
from Wellesley College in 1900; and Alice Durgin, 
who is also a graduate of the same institution, 
the former in 1901, and the latter in 1906. A son, 
Beniamin (9), born in 1876. lived only a few 
months. Carolyn Louise (9), married Raffaele 
Lorini, M. D., of Coronado. California, August 25, 
1906, and resides in Coronado. 

(X) Henry Franklin, youngest child of Stephen 
and Rhoda (Blake) Chase, was born in Chester, 
August 30, 1808, and resided on the Captain John 
Underbill place. He died at Westminister, Ver- 
mont. March 20, 1867. He married Abigail Mitchel, 
and their daughter, Anna Maria, married Julius Nel- 
son Morse (see Morse, X). Mrs. Annna Maria 
(Chase) Morse was one of the original members 
of the Joseph Badger Chapter (Marlboro, Massa- 
chusetts), Daughters of the American Revolution. 
Mr. Julius N. Morse left a valuable library pf well 
selected books about five hundred of which his 
widow presented to the New Hampshire library 
and some of which were given by her to the Keene 
librarv. 

(VIII) Moody, tenth child of Joseph and 
Mary (Morse) Chase, was born October 7, 1744, 
in West Newbury. He settled in that part of the 
ancient town of Chester which is now Auburn, New 
Hampshire, purchasing part of the homestead of 
Joseph Basford, and there passed his life, engaged 
in farming. He was married. October 25, 1768. to 
Anna, daughter of John Webster, of Hampstead, 
New Hampshire (see Webster, IV). She died De- 
cember 4, 17QT, and he was married April 19. 1792, 
to Abigail (Worth), widow of William Rogers. He 
died July 27, 1808, and was survived many years by 
his widow, who passed away December 9, 1826. His 
children, all born of the first wife, were : John W., 
Mary. Joseph, Jacob, Moody, Samuel, Caleb, Anna, 
Elizabeth, Thomas and Hannah. 

(IX) Joseph, second son and third child of 
Moody and Anna (Webster) Chase, was born April 

4, 1774, in Chester (now Auburn) and lived on 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1599 



part of the homestead. In 1816 he moved to Canaan, 
Grafton county, this state, where he died September 
6, 1820. His wife, Nancy, was a daughter of Major 
Jesse Eaton, of Chester. (See Eaton, V). She 
was born September 30, 1775, in Chester, and died 
January 19, 1857, in Hanover, New Hampshire. 
Mr. Chase was an industrious farmer, and moved 
to Canaan to improve his prospects, but was cut off 
in the midst of an active career by an attack of colic, 
at the early age of forty-six years. His children 
were longlived and useful citizens. Jesse and Moody 
died in Ohio ; David resided in Lowell, Massachu- 
setts; Asa, the fourth, was a carpenter, spent his 
life in Hanover and Lebanon, New Hampshire, and 
died in Springtield, Massachusetts ; Joseph and 
Nancy were twins, and both lived to be about ninety 
years of age, the former exceeding that number, 
dying in Lowell, Massachusetts. "The latter married 
(first), a man named Currier and (second), Moody 
Chase, a relative. She died in Lyme, a town ad- 
joining Canaan. Horace receives notice in a follow- 
ing paragraph. Eben was a harness-maker, and died 
in Nashua. Sally became the wife of Uriah Lary 
and lived in Canaan. 

(X) Horace, sixth son and seventh child of 
Joseph and Nancy (Eaton) Chase, was born March 
18, 1809, in Chester, and was only seven years old 
when his parents moved to Canaan. He was early 
deprived of his father's care and was accustomed to 
labor, in his own behalf at the beginning of his career. 
He was employed as a farm laborer, and in time 
became a farmer on his own account. Being incapac- 
itated largely by asthma, he was forced to give up 
farming, but continued to labor as long as he was 
able, at intervals. A man wholly without guile, he 
never harbored a dishonest thought, and strove to 
sustain himself and family by honest toil. Always 
a worker up to and even beyond the limit of his 
powers, he seemed to enjoy hard work and, no doubt, 
shortened his days by overexertion. After he left 
the farm he worked with his father-in-law, who was 
a blacksmith and operated a shop in Canaan, until 
his death, which occurred January 3, 1878. He was 
A regular attendant of the Methodist Church, and 
lived up to its teachings throughout his time. Mr. 
Chase was married to Abigail Staniels Martin, who 
was born June 26, 1818, in Pembroke, New Hamp- 
shire, and died March 29, 1901, in Concord. She 
was a daughter of William and Mary (Staniels) 
Martin, both descendants of early New Hampshire 
families. (See Staniels). William Martin was a 
descendant of Nathaniel Martin, who came from 
county Donegal, Ireland, and settled in Derry, New 
Hampshire. Robert Martin, father of William, 
served in the Revolutionary army, having enlisted 
several times from Pembroke. Two sons were born 
to Horace and Abigail (Martin) Chase, namely, 
William M. and Henry Martin. The latter died 
at Lowell, Massachusetts, in 1901. A sketch of the 
elder follows. 

(XI) William Martin, elder son of Horace and 
Abigail (Martin) Chase, was born December 28, 
1837, in Canaan, and passed his early years in, that 
rural region, where the simple life prevailed. The 
foundation of his education was laid in the country 
school house of the time, after which he attended 
Kimball Union and Canaan Union academies. He 
entered the class of 1858, in the scientific department 
of Dartmouth College, in 1856, and graduated with 
the class, receiving the degree of Bachelor of 
Science. While in college he taught district schools 
in winter, and after graduating was instructor in 
mathematics and the sciences at Henniker Academy, 



New Hampshire, through six terms from 1858 to 
i860. 

Mr. Chase began the study of law at Concord 
while teaching, in 1859, with Plon. Anson S. Mar- 
shall, and subsequently studied with Hon. William 
P. Weeks, of Canaan. He was admitted to practice 
August 21, 1862, at the session of the supreme judi- 
cial court then in session at Concord. At the open- 
ing of the following year he became associated with 
his former preceptor under the style of Marshall & 
Chase, and continued to practice under this arrange- 
ment until the death of Mr. Marshall in 1874. Air. 
Chase then associated himself with Hon. J. Everett 
Sargent, who had just resigned the office of chief 
justice of the supreme judicial court of this state, 
and this connection was severed by the retirement 
of Judge Sargent from business five years later. 
With Frank S. Streeter as associate, Mr. Chase con- 
tinued practice under the firm name of Chase & 
Streeter until his appointment as associate justice 
of the supreme court of the state in 1891. Ten years 
later two courts were formed to take the jurisdiction 
of that body — the supreme and superior courts — and 
Judge Chase was continued upon the supreme bench, 
in which posirion he has since remained. 

Previous to his elevation to the bench. Justice 
Chase was engaged in a general practice of the law, 
and the firms with which he was connected were 
busily and prosperously employed. During this 
activity the policy of the state with reference to 
railroad corporations underwent a change and, in- 
stead of encouraging a competition among numerous 
small and independent corporations, allowed their 
consolidation under a substantially single manage- 
ment, resulting in much controversy and litigation. 
In this and other litigation of large financial conse- 
quence, Mr. Chase's firm were employed and took an. 
active part. He was also largely employed as referee 
in various controversies, and it is probable that no 
other in the state heard so many cases in that capac- 
ity as long as he was in business. During a con- 
siderable portion of the time he was a member of the 
committee appointed by the court to examine can- 
didates for admission to the bar. Of his work as 
judge it is proper to say that he has labored dili- 
gently to carry forward the work of the court, giv- 
ing his best energies unceasingly to that end, 
and that his appointment to the bench of the new 
supreme court is ample evidence that his work has 
been successful and acceptable to the people of the 
state. In 1889 Justice Chase was appointed chair- 
man of the commission created by the legislature 
to revise, codify and amend the statutes of the state, 
and the report of this commission was adopted in 
1891 by the legislature as the Laws of New Hamp- 
shire. In collaboration with his son he compiled 
and edited an edition of the public statutes and ses- 
sion laws in force January i, 1901, which has been 
received favorably by all interested. 

While active in large affairs, Mr. Chase has 
given of his time to the service of his home town, 
in various waj's and to the best interests of the state, 
along various lines outside of legal matters. He 
was trustee of the New Hampshire State Library 
and New Hampshire Normal School several years, 
and has been a trustee of Dartmouth College since 
1890. For twenty years he was a member of the 
board of education of the Union district of Concord, 
and its president during the latter part of the term; 
was fourteen years a member of the board of water 
commissioners of the city of Concord. He was 
elected an honorary member of the Phi Beta Kappa 
Society of Dartmouth College in 1883, and received 



i6oo 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



from the college the degree of Master of Arts in 
1879, and Doctor of Laws in 1898. He is a member 
of the JSIew Hampshire Historical Society and the 
New England Historic-Genealogical Society. 

Mr. Chase has been a director of the First Na- 
tional Bank of Concord since 1875, and was its 
president two years, and was trustee and vice-presi- 
dent of the Merrimack County Savings Bank several 
years. His political affiliations have been with the 
Democratic party, but he has disapproved of the 
policies advocated by its leaders regarding finance 
and other subjects in late years, and is considered a 
conservative Democrat. His religious home is in 
the Congregational Church. While not a church 
member, he is a regular attendant upon its religious 
worship and accepts the teachings of Christ as the 
best rule of life, by which his walk is ordered. 

Mr. Chase was married March 18, 1863, to Miss 
Ellen Sherwood Abbott, daughter of Aaron and 
Nancy (Badger) Abbott, of Concord. (See Abbott, 
VI). The only offspring of this marriage is a son, 
Arthur Horace Chase, who was born February 16, 
1864, in Concord. He graduated from Dartmouth 
College in 1886, was admitted to the bar of New 
Hampshire in 1889, practiced law six years, and 
has been state librarian ten years. 

(V) William, said to be one of the three sons of 
Aquila (i) Chase, born in England, came to America 
with his wife Mary and son William, in company 
oi Governor Winthrop, in 1630. He thought of 
going to Scituate, but finally changed his purpose 
and went with a party to Cape Cod and settled in 
what is now Yarmouth. He died there in May, 1659. 
The widow of William Chase was found dead the 
same year her husband died, and an inquest decided 
that she died a natural death. The children of Wil- 
liam and Mary were: William, Mary and Benjamin. 

(VI) William (2), eldest child of William (i) 
and Mary Chase, was born in England about 1622. 
He came to America with his parents, and lived in 
Yarmouth. His children were : William, Jacob, 
John. Elizabeth, Abraham, Benjamin and Samuel. 

(VII) Abraham, fifth child and fourth son of 

William (2) Chase, married Elizabeth , and 

they had ten children : Josiah, Abraham, Phineas, 
Henry, Elizabeth, IMary, Tabitha, Johanna, Ex- 
perience and Melicent. 

(VIII) Henry, fourth son and child of Abraham 
and Elizabeth Chase married (first), January 17, 
I735» Mary Tripp, and (second), November 13, 
1747, Sarah Durfee. By the second wife there were 
Moses and other children. 

(IX) Moses, son of Henry and Sarah (Durfee) 
Chase, was born about 1756. He was killed by the 
collapse of a shed early in 1834. He married Lydia 
Kimball of Penacook. She was fatally injured in a 
runaway near Horse Hill two years after the death 
of her husband, and died two weeks after the acci- 
dent. Their children were : Eliza, Lydia, Moses, 
Catherine, Reuben, Clarissa, Baruch, Fidelia and 
Timothy. 

(X) Reuben Kimball, second son and fifth child 
of Moses and Lydia (Kimball) Chase, was born in 
Hopkinton, September 5, 1800, and died in the town 
of Hopkinton, September 3, 1871. He was a farmer. 
He married Betsey Ryan, born in New Hampshire. 
She died in Manchester. They had children: Ed- 
ward, James, Orrin, Matilda and Frank E. 

(XI) Orrin, third son and child of Reuben and 
Betsy (Ryan) Chase, was born in Hopkinton, March 
22, 1843, and has always resided in that town. In 
1862 he enlisted in Company D, Sixteenth New 
Hampshire Volunteers, and served nine months in 



the war of the Rebellion, being stationed at New 
Orleans in the Department of the Gulf. He was dis- 
charged at the expiration of his term, and was un- 
able to work for a year following his return home. 
He engaged in farming for a short time, and then 
operated a saw mill for the Northern railroad now 
the Boston & Maine. While thus engaged the head 
came off the saw, and Mr. Chase was struck and 
severely cut in many places, and still carries the 
scars made by the injuries. Subsequently he was 
employed as a laborer on the railroad. One day 
while cutting a railroad rail a chip struck him in the 
eve and destroyed it. Mr. Chase is a member of 
the Grand Army of the Republic, and a Democrat. 
He married, September 3, 1870, Hetty M. Badger, 
born in Warner, October i, 1847, daughter of Sar- 
gent E. and Emily (Foster) Badger. Their children 
are : Fred J., Flarry A., Lena M. and Walter B. Fred 
married Emma Hardy, of Warner, daughter of Ira 
and Celia (Getchel) Hardy. Harry married (first), 
Emma J. Hook, of Hopkinton, daughter of James 
Hook of Hopkinton. She died July 3, 1896, and he 
married (second), Lilla Burgess, of Claremont, 
daughter of Amos and Martha Burgess. They have 
one daughter, born December 17, 1902. Walter 
married Sadie Hannaford, of Manchester. They 
have one daughter, Lena, who married, April 21, 
1898, Delmar W. Hastings, of Hopkinton, son of 
Alfred and Susan (Perry) Hastings. They have one 
son, Floyd Delmar, born January 5, 1901. 

(VII) Daniel, eldest son of Moses and Ann 
(Follansbee) Chase, was born September 20, 1685, 
in Newbury, now West Newbury, Massachusetts. 
He moved to Littleton, Massachusetts in 1725, and 
thence to Sutton, same state. He was married Jan- 
uary 6, 1706, to Sarah, daughter of George March, 
of Groton, same state. Subsequently, he moved to 
Sutton, where he died April, 1768. His children 
were : Samuel, Daniel, Anne, Joshua, Judith, Ne- 
hemiah, Sarah, Caleb, Moody and Moses. 

(VIII) Samuel, eldest child of Daniel and Sarah 
(March) Chase, was born September 28, 1707, in 
Newbury, now West Newbury, and married Mary 
Dudley. He settled with his family in Cornish, 
New Hampshire, being one of the founders of that 
town. He died August 12, 1800. His children were : 
Samuel, Jonathan, Dudley, Sarah, Elizabeth, Solo- 
mon, Anne and Mary. 

(IX) Dudley, third son and child of Samuel and 
Mary (Dudley) Chase, was born August 29, 1730, 
and died April 13, 1814. He was married August 
23, 1753, to Alice Corbett, and had a distinguished 
family of sons, namely : Salmon, Ithamar, Baruch, 
Heber, Dudley and Philander. The first was an 
eminent lawyer of Portland, Maine. The fifth 
graduated from Dartmouth, with honors in 1791, 
and was a leader of the Vermont bar, United States 
senator, and chief justice of Vermont. The youngest 
was one of the most distinguished members of the 
Episcopal clergy. Bishop of Ohio from 1818 to 1831, 
when he resigned ; founder and first president of 
Kenyon College; and Bishop of Illinois in 1835, 
and founder of Jubilee College. A daughter, Rachel, 
became the wife of Dr. Joseph A. (i) Denison of 
Bethel and Royalton, Vermont. (See Denison, 
VIII). 

(X) Ithamar, second son of Dudley and Alice 
(Corbett) Chase, was born September 27, 1763, in 
Sutton, and engaged in farming in Cornish, N'ew 
Hampshire, until 1815, when he removed to Keene. 
Three years previously he had engaged in the 
manufacture of glass, which proved his financial un- 
doing. He died at Keene in 1817. He was married 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1601 



June 26, 1792, to Janey Ralston, of Keene, daughter 
of Alexander and Janey (Balloch) Ralston. She 
was born July 26, 1773, in Charlestown, Massachu- 
setts, whither her parents came from Falkirk, Scot- 
land, about 1772. In 1775 they moved to Keene, 
where Alexander Ralston died aged sixty-four years, 
March 29, 1810. His widow passed away in 1883, in 
Cornish, and was buried in Keene. Mr. Ralston 
was a distiller and inn-holder, and the "Ralston 
Tavern" is historic. The Ralston family was one of 
consequence, its members being handsome, cultured 
and enterprising. Two of Ithamar Chase's sons, 
Alexander Ralston, and Salmon Portland, achieved 
distinction. 

(XI) Salmon Portland, son of Ithamar and 
Janey (Ralston) Chase, was born January 13, 1808, 
in Cornish, New Hampshire, and was one of the 
most noted sons in that state, prolific of brainy men. 
He inherited from two strong families those traits 
which made him a leader among men and brought 
him into prominence in the servjce of his country, 
and in the regard of his countrymen. His early 
life was that of a farmer's son, the district school 
providing his education until he was nine years old. 
After the death of his father he was sent to Windsor, 
Vermont, where he continued his studies. At the 
suggestion of his uncle, Bishop Philander Chase, he 
was sent in 1820 to Worthington, Ohio, where he 
had a home in the family of the Bishop, and received 
instructions in a collegiate school under the latter's 
charge. When Bishop Chase became president of 
Cincinnati College in 1822, his nephew accompanied 
the family thither, and continued his studies in the 
college. In 1823 Salmon returned to his mother's 
home in Keene, and soon engaged in teaching at 
Royalton, Vermont. He matriculated at Dartmouth, 
in 1824, and graduated with the class of 1826. An 
expedition to the South in hope of finding an engage- 
ment as tutor in some private family proved unsuc- 
cessful, and he applied to his uncle Dudley Chase 
for an appointment in the public service at Wash- 
ington. That gentleman told him he had seen one 
nephew ruined by an appointment, and refused to 
aid him in that way. Young Chase soon found em- 
ployment in a private school, and shortly became a 
law student with Attorney-General William Wirt. 
He was admitted to the bar of the District of Col- 
umbia in 1829, and continued his school one year 
longer. He then went to Cincinnati where he was 
admitted to the Ohio bar. Here he began a codifi- 
cation of the statutes of the state, and with copious 
annotations and a sketch of the development of the 
state made three volumes. This work superseded all 
previous works of the kind, and made the fame of the 
author, whose law practice at once assumed impor- 
tance. His employment by the LaFayette and United 
States Banks gave him a knowledge of financial 
matters, and was an excellent preparation for the 
future United States Treasurer. He became deeply 
interested in the fugitive slave agitation, and was 
employed in cases brought under the slave law. His 
pleadings and writings on this subject became in- 
fluential and were widely used by the anti-slavery 
agitators throughout the country. In 1846 he was 
associated with William H. Seward before the su- 
preme court of the United States, in the case of 
Van Zandt, and argued that the question of re- 
claiming slaves in a free state was an interstate 
matter and not a federal question. Up to this time 
Mr. Chase had taken no partisan stand in politics, 
and he now became a leader of public sentiment 
toward the formation of a new party. In 1841 he 
called the convention that organized the Liberty 



party in Ohio, and two years later, when the Liberty 
party met in convention at Baltimore for the nomi- 
nation of a presidential candidate, he was a member 
of its committee on resolutions. He opposed the 
radical proposition to support the third clause of 
the constitution if applied to the case of a fugitive 
slave, but it was adopted by the convention, after 
being rejected by the committee. Mr. Chase was 
a leader in the movement for a convention of "All 
who believed that all that is worth preserving in 
republicanism can be maintained only by uncompro- 
mising war against the usurpation of the slave power, 
and are therefore resolved to use all constitutional 
means to effect the extinction of slavery within 
the respective states." At the resultant meeting 
in Cincinnati in 1845, in June, Mr. Chase was chair- 
man of the committee on platform, and prepared 
the address, urging the necessity of a political or- 
ganization with the overthrow of the slave power 
as its basic idea. In 1848 he prepared a call for 
a convention in Ohio which was signed by over 
three thousand voters, and resulted in the convention 
at Buffalo in the same year, at which Mr. Chase 
presided, and nominated VanBuren and Adams on 
the Free Soil ticket. In 1840 the Democrats and the 
Federal Whigs united in the election of Mr. Chase 
to the United States senate. In 1853 he withdrew 
from the Democratic party on account of its position 
on the slavery question, and in the same year pre- 
pared a platform for the independent party at Pitts- 
burg, which was adopted. In the senate he opposed 
the compromises with slavery interests and labored 
diligently for amendments to the fugitive slave law, 
but he was in advance of his time, and found himself 
in the minority. He sought to prevent the interven- 
tion of Federal authorities in the affairs of the states, 
to uphold individual State rights, and economy in 
the administration of finances. He favored free 
homesteads to settle cheap postage and public im- 
provements. In 1855 Mr. Chase was elected gover- 
nor of Ohio by the elements opposing the Nebraska 
Bill and the administration, and two years later he 
was re-elected by the largest vote ever given for 
governor in that state. In 1850 his name was pro- 
posed by Ohio as a presidential candidate, and again 
in i860, at the National Republican Convention at 
Chicago, he received a nomination and forty-nine 
votes were cast for him on the first ballot. When 
the votes of Ohio were needed to secure the nomin- 
ation of Abraham Lincoln they were promptly turned 
over to him. In that year Mr. Chase was again 
elected United States senator, and he resigned the 
position in 1861, to acept a portfolio in President 
Lincoln's cabinet. As Secretary of the Treasury 
he rendered conspicuous service in establishing the 
war loans and a substantial financial system which 
made a successful prosecution of the Civil war pos- 
sible. Through the suggestion of ]\Ir. O. B. Potter, 
of New York, he issued the greenback, which was 
universally accepted by the people, and secured 
the ultimate unity of a great nation. Mr Chase left 
the Treasury department June 30, 1864. at which time 
the national debt amounted to $1,740,690,489. On 
December 6 of the same year he was named by the 
president as chief justice of the national supreme 
court, and the nomination was immediately con- 
firmed by the senate. He presided at the impeach- 
ment trial of President Johnson in March, 1868. 
In 1855, Dartmouth, from which he had graduated 
at the age of eighteen, conferred upon him the degree 
of Doctor of Laws. His public service was ended by 
a stroke of paralysis in June, 1870, and he died May 
7> i873,> in New York City. 



i6o2 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Following is the record of the descend- 
CHASE ants of John Chase, a native of Maine, 
who was an uniraced descendant of that 
branch of the Chase family of Maine whose ances- 
tor was the Aquila Chase, of Chesham, England, 
who settled about 1640 in Hampson, and previous to 
1646 in Newbury, Massachusetts. 

(I) Enoch, son of John Chase, was born in 
Portland, Maine, about 1775. When about eight 
years of age he went to Hopkinton, New Hamp- 
shire, where he became a farmer when he attained 
manhood. He was a man of good business ability, 
well thought of by his townsmen, and was collector 
of taxes from 1818 to 1820, and again in 1824; and 
selectman from 1820 to 1823. He married Mary 
Morse, of Newbury, Massachusetts, 1796, and they 
were the parents of ten children: Charlotte, Enoch 
J., Daniel D., Thomas, Hannah, Abner, Ambrose, 
Jacob, Elbridge G., and Sally. 

(II) Enoch J., eldest son and second child of 
Enoch and Mary Morse Chase, was born in Hop- 
kinton, June 25, 1801, and died October 17, 1879, 
aged seventy-eight. He was a farmer and lumber- 
man, and lived many years in the Blackwater dis- 
trict. He also lived a number of years in Concord, 
and for a time in Wilniot. He was selectman in 
Hopkinton in 1843, 1853, and 1854, and representative 
in 1862 and 1863. He was a stirring business man 
and a prosperous citizen. He married first, Sarah 
IT. Holmes, who was born in Utica, New York, 
November 26, 1791, and died December 6, 1832, aged 
forty-one years. She was the daughter of Dr. Joshua 
Holmes, of Utica, New York. He marxied second, 
Nancy Johnson, of Salisbury, who was born in 
1797, and died 1875, aged seventy-eight years. The 
children of the first wife were : Lucinda H., Ho- 
race J., Mary Jane, and Harvey; and of the second: 
Nancy A., George W., and Malinda B. 

(HI) Harvey, youngest child of Enoch J. and 
Sarah H. (Holmes) Chase, was born in Hopkin- 
ton, April 3, 1829. With the exception of nine years 
in Concord and two in Chichester, he has always 
lived on the old homestead in Hopkinton, which 
now contains six hundred acres. He is a farmer and 
lumber dealer. He has inherited the personal qual- 
ities that distinguished his father and grandfather, 
and is a keen trader and a man of good judgment. 
He was a member of the board of selectmen of 
Concord in 1852 and 1853, a councilman in 1854, 
and representative from Hopkinton in 1879. He 
married, March 17, 1853, Martha R. Bennett, who 
was born in Freedom, July 9, 1834, daughter of 
Charles and Olive E. (Crockett) Bennett. They 
are the parents of children : Mary Jane, Georgia 
Persis, Fred Harvey, and Mattie Olive. 

(IV) Fred Harvey, third child and only son of 
Harvey and Martha R. (Bennett) Chase, was born 
in Hopkinton, August 21, 1868. He was brought 
up to a knowledge of farming and lumber dealing, 
and obtained his education in the common and high 
schools of Warner. At the age of twenty he be- 
came a dealer in lumber, and has ever since been 
successfully engaged in that line. He is prominent 
in the industrial, financial and social circles of his 
native town. He married, March 10, 1897, in Con- 
cord, Lillian Jackman, born August 29, 1871, daugh- 
ter of Enoch and Elizabeth (Moody) Jackman, of 
Concord. They have one child, Martha Elizabeth, 
born March 26, 1901. 



Kingsburv. signifying primarilv, 

KINGSBURY "King's castle," and later. "King's 

town," was at first, the designation 



of a fortification for defensive purposes. As was 
common in the days of English castle-building, a 
town grew up about the kingsburg or bury and 
took the same designation, the name being spelled 
in the reign of King Egbert, 800 A. D., Kyngges- 
berie, Kyngesburg and Kinggesburie. Still later, 
when some emigrant left the place called Kings- 
bury, he took that name for his surname, and from 
him it has been handed down to the latest genera- 
tions of his descendants. The Kingsburys had 
among them liberal minded and adventurous men 
who could not abide the religious oppression of 
their times in England, and in the hope of enjoy- 
ing greater liberties in the new world, came t» 
Massachusetts Bay Colony. The ancestors of the 
family in America are : Joseph, John and Henry. 
The traits of character of this family, as given by 
one who knows are : Remarkable attachment to 
agricultural pursuits ; from the first settlement in 
America they lived in the common, temperate style 
of New England farmers, yet with patriotic ferver, 
and love of military tactics. Noble-hearted, indus- 
trious, ingenuous, intelligent, of the strictest integ- 
rity, disdaining the low arts of dissimulation, shun- 
ning the ways of vice and walking in the paths of 
virtue and piety — 'a reticent nature having a per- 
sonal holy of holies into which few are admitted" — 
reverent, cherishing love of God, family and coun- 
try with "the courage of their conviction," the 
word faithful defines the most marked characteristic 
of a KingsburJ^ 

(I) Joseph Kingsbury, the ancestor of many of 
that name in America, was born in England, where 
he was also married., but we know the date of 
neither of these events. He came to New Eng- 
land, and settled in Dedham, Massachusetts Col- 
ony, in the year 1628; was made a freeman in 1641, 
and died about 1676. He, like all citizens of that 
day, was an owner, and probably a tiller of the soil. 
In April, 1638, the town took land for a burial 
place, still in use, from the south end of his hamlet, 
exchanging other land for it. and soon after took 
an acre of land from the end of his lot for a 
church. In the forming of the church in 1638, 
Joseph was one of the ten men considered most 
suitable to be "an original member," but through 
the jealousy of some of the company, he and three 
others of the ten first mentioned were not in- 
cluded in the number of constituents. His wife, 
who is described as "a tender-hearted soule full of 
fears and temptations, but truly breathing after 
Christ," was received in the fellowship of the Ded- 
ham church in the winter of 1638-9 without mak- 
ing a public recital of her experience ; but by giving 
good satisfaction in private and by publicly assent- 
ing to the relation made for her. Joseph, however, 
became a member April 9, 1641. Joseph Kings- 
bury married Millicent Ames, in England. She 
survived him. Their children were : SaraJi, Mary, 
Elizabeth, Joseph, John, Eleazer, and Nathaniel. 

(II) Nathaniel, youngest of the seven children 
of Joseph and Millicent (Ames) Kingsbury, was 
born in Dedham, March 25, 1650, was a freeman of 
Massachusetts in 1677, and died October 14, 1694. 
He married, in Dedham, October 14, 1673, Mary- 
Bacon, daughter of John and Rebeccca (Hall) Ba- 
con, and they had five sons and one daughter : Na- 
thaniel, James, Timothy. John Daniel and Millicent. 

(III) Deacon Daniel, fifth son and child of Na- 
thaniel and Mary (Bacon) Kingsbury, born in 
Dedham. November 11, 1688, died in Wrentham, 
April 27, 1754. He removed to Wrentham, and 
spent the greater part of his life there. He was 
chosen the first deacon, March 8, 1739, of the First 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1603 



Congregational Church, in that part of Wrentham 
which was called "Western Precinct," and in 1778 
was incorporated under the name of Franklin. He 
married, December 29, 1713, Elizabeth Stevens (or 
Stephens) of Dedham, who died July 12, 1764. 
They were the parents of two sons and two daugh- 
ters : Daniel, Stephen, Elizabeth and Mary. 

(IV) Daniel (2), eldest child of Daniel (i) and 
Elizabeth (Stevens) Kingsbury, born March 11, 
1715, and died in Franklin, March 25, 1783. He 
married (first), November 3, 1737, Beriah Mann, 
born April 25, 1717, who died May 12, 1755; and 
(second), October 19. 1755, widow Abigail Adams, 
who died October 22, 1759. By the first marriage 
there were eight sons and one daughter : Nathan- 
iel, Lydia, Daniel, Samuel, John, Timothy, James, 
John and Theodore, and by the second marriage : 
Twins, unnamed; Peter and Benjamin. 

(V) Lieutenant Daniel (3), second son of Dan- 
iel (2) and Beriah (Mann) Kingsbury, was born 
in Wrentham, Massachusetts, October 6, 1742. In 
1759 he settled in Keene, where he became one of 
the leading citizens, holding many offices of honor 
and trust, and was a member of the building com- 
mittee for the first Congregational Church in Keene. 
He was a member of the provincial congress, New 
Hampshire, 1775-76, and after the adoption of the 
state constitution was a member of the state legis- 
lature for twenty-one consecutive years. He was a 
member of committee of safety, April 12, 1776 and 
lieutenant in the Revolutionary war under Captain 
Hewlett, 1777. He died in Keene, New Hampshire, 
August 10, 1825. 

(VI) Daniel (4), son of Daniel (3) and 

Kingsbury, was a merchant in Plainfield, New 
Hampshire, where he died June 12, 1819. He mar- 
ried Hannah Bailey. 

(VII) Almira, only child of Daniel (4) and 
Hannah (Bailey) Kingsbury, was born March 6, 
1799, in Keene, and was married March 6. 1814, to 
Austin Tyler (see Tyler, VI). 



The Welsh custom of adding to a 
HARRIS name the father's name in posses- 
sive form to distinguish one from an- 
other of the same Christian name, was the origin 
of this patronymic. In the short four centuries 
that surnames have prevailed in Great Britain time 
has sufficed to make many changes and modifica- 
tions in the form of all classes of words, and 
names are no exception to the rule. In the Welsh 
vernacular, William was "David's," Harry was 
"John's," and David was "William's," and thus we" 
have Davy's (Davis), John's (Jones), William 
and Harris, all among the most common of Welsh 
names. The Harris family of whom this article 
gives some account was among the earliest in Nev/ 
England, has contributed much to the advancement 
of this region and of the nation, and is now found 
in connection with all worthy endeavor. It has been 
especially active in the fields of invention and 
pioneer development. Almost every state has 
found the name among those of its pioneer settlers, 
and it has spread from the Atlantic to the Pacific. 
(I) Thomas Harris, born in Deal, Kent county, 
England, died in Providence, Rhode Island, June 
7. 1636. He came to America with his brother 
WiUiam in the ship "Lyon," from Bristol, England, 
December i, 1630. On August 20, 1637, or a little 
later, he and twelve others signed the following 
compact : "We, whose names are hereunder, re- 
sirous to inhabit in the town of Providence, do 
promise to subject ourselves in active or passive 
obedience to all such orders or agreements as shall 
iv— 23 



be made for public good of the body in an orderly 
wajr by the major assent of the present inhabitants, 
members incorporated together into a town of fel- 
lowship, and such others whom they shall admit 
unto themselves, only in civil things." 

On July 2,-], 1640, he and thirty-eight others 
signed an agreement for a form of government. 
On September 2, 1650, he was taxed i\. In 1652-3- 
4-5-6-7, 1661-2-3, he was commissioner; in 1654, 
lieutenant; 1655, freeman; 1656, juryman. Bishop's 
"New England Judged," published in London, in 
1703, has the following with reference to July, 1658: 

"After these came Thomas Harris from Rhode 
Island into our colony who Declaring against your 
Pride and Oppression, as we would have liberty to 
speak in your meeting place in Boston, after the 
priest had ended. Warning the people of the Dread- 
ful, terrible day of the Lord God, which was com- 
ing upon that Town and Country, him, much unlike 
to Nineveh, you pulled down and hall'd him by the 
Hair of his Head out of your meeting, and a hand 
was put on his mouth to keep him from speaking 
forth, and then had before your Governor and 
Deputy, with other Magistrates, and committed to 
Prison without warrant or mittimus that he saw, 
and shut up in a close room, none suffered to come 
to him, nor to have provisions for his money ; and 
the next day whipped with so cruel stripes without 
shewing any law that he had broken, tho' he de- 
sired it of the Jaylor, and then shut up for Eleven 
Days more. Five of which he was kept without 
bread (Your Jaylor not suffering him to have 
any for his Money and threatened the other 
Prisoners very much for bringing him a lit- 
tle water on the day of his sore whipping) and 
all this because he could not work for the Jaylor 
and let him have Eight Pence in Twelve Pence of 
what he should earn; And starved he had been in 
all probability, had not the Lord kept him these 
Five Days, and ordered it so after that time that 
food was so conveyed him by night in at a Window, 
by some tender People, who tho' they came not in 
the Profession of truth openly, by reason of your 
Cruelty, yet felt it secretly moving in them and so 
were made Serviceable to keep the Servant of the 
Lord from Perishing, who shall not go without a 
reward. And tho' he was in this State of Weak- 
ness for want of Bread, and by torturing his body 
with cruel whippings, as aforesaid, and tho' the 
Day after he was whipped, the Jaylor had told him 
that he had now suffered the Law, and that if he 
would hire the Marshall to carry him out of the 
Country he might be gone when he would; Yet the 
next Sixth Day in the Morning before the sixth 
Hour, the Jaylor again required him to Work, which 
he refusing, gave his weak and fainting body L'wo 
and Twenty Blows with a pitched rope; and the 
Nineteenth of the Fifth month following. Fifteen 
cruel stripes more with a three-fold-corded whip 
knotted as aforesaid. Now upon his Apprehension, 
your Governor sought to know of him who came 
with him (as was their usual manner) that so ye 
might find out the rest of the company, on whom 
ye might Execute your Cruelty and Wickedness, 
and your governor said he would make him do it; 
but his Cruelties could net. Nevertheless they soon 
were found out (who hid not themselves but were 
bold in the Lord) viz : William Brend and William 
Ledd, etc." 

In 1664-66-67, 1670-72-73 he was deputy to the 
general court; in 1664-65-66-69 member of the town 
council, and on February 19, 1665, he drew lot 7, 
in the division of the town lands. In May, 1667, 



i6o4 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



he as surveyor laid out the lands. August 14, 1676, 
he was on a committee which recommended certain 
conditions under which the Indian captives, who 
were to be in servitude for a term of years, should 
be disposed of by the town. April 27, 1683, he made 
the statement that about 1661, being then a sur- 
veyor, he laid out a three acre lot for his son 
Thomas, at Pauqachance Hill, and a twenty-five 
acre lot on the south side, etc. June 3, 1686, he 
made his will, which was proved July 22, 1686, his 
son Thomas being appointed executor, and his 
sons-in-law, Thomas Field and Samuel Whipple, 
overseers. Thomas Harris married Elizabeth 

, who died in Providence, Rhode Island. 

Their children were : Thomas, Mary and Martha. 

(II) Thomas (2), only son and eldest child of 
Thomas (i) and Elizabeth Harris, died February 
27, 171 1, always lived in Providence, Rhode Island. 
February 19, 1665, he had lot 49, in a division of 
lands. In 1671-79, 1680-81-82-85, 1691-94-97, 1702- 
06-07-08 and 1710, he was a deputy of the general 
court : and in 1684-85-86, member of the town 
council. July i, 1679, he was taxed 8s. 9d., and 
September i, 1687, 14s. 9d. June 21, I/08, he made 
his will, which was proved April 16, 171 1, the 
executors being his wife Elanthan and his son 
Henry. He married, November 3, 1664, Elanthan 
Tew, born October 15, 1644, died January 11, 1718, 
daughter of Richmond and Mary (Clarke) Tew, 
, of Newport, Rhode Island, and they had nine chil- 
dren : Thomas, Richard, Nicholas, William, Henry, 
Amity, Elanthan, Joab, and Mary. (Mention of 
Nicholas and descendants appears in this article). 

(HI) Richard, second son and child of Thomas 
(2) and Elanthan (Tew) Harris, was born October 
14, 1668, in Providence, Rhode Island, and resided 
in Providence and Smithfield. He deeded to his 
son Richard, in 1725, one hundred acres of land 
in the latter town, and died there in 1750. He 
married (first a daughter of Clement and Elizabeth 
King, and his second wife Susanna, born in 1665, 
was the widow of Samuel Gordon, and a daughter 
of William and Hannah (Wicks) Burton. She 
died in 1737. His children, all born of the lirs; 
marriage, were : Uriah, Richard, Amaziah, Jona- 
than, David, Preserved. Amity, Dinah and Elnathan. 

(IV) Richard (2), second son and child of 

Richard (i) and (King) Harris, was 

born in Smithfield, Rhode Island, and settled in 
that town. He was married (first), December 15, 
1723, to Lydia Sprague, of Attleboro, Massachusetts. 
The date of her death does not appear, but the 
christain name of his second wife was Dorothy. 
Flis children of the first marriage were : Mary, 
Jeremiah, Lydia, Uriah, Richard, Annie, David, 
Anthony and Amity (twins). One child, Tabitha, 
born 1738, came of the second marriage. 

(V) Anthony, fifth son and seventh child of 
Richard (2) and Lydia (Sprague) Flarris, was 
born June 5, 1736, in Smithfield, Rhode Island, and 
removed thence about 1760, to Richmond, New 
Hampshire, where he was a pioneer settler, and 
reared a large family. He was the first settler on 
lot twelve in range five in that town, and died 
there March 20, 1817, at the age of eighty-one 
years. His wife, Ruth Broadway, was probably a 
native of Rhode Island. She survived him nearly 
thirteen years, dying January 8, 1830. _ They were 
married January i, 1761. Their children were: 
Thomas, Eunice L., Mercy, Anna. Lydia, Jeremiah, 
David B. (died young), David B., William B., 
Caleb, Luke, Linday and Delila. The eldest daugh- 
ter, Mercy, became the wife of David Ballou, a 
pioneer of Richmond and they were the parents of 



the celebrated Hosea Ballou, one of the first Uni- 
versalist preachers in America. 

(VI) Jeremiah, second son of Anthony and 
Ruth (Broadway) Harris, was born May 8, 1768, 
in Richmond, New Hampshire, and died September 
16, 1849, in Springfield, Pennsylvania, in his eighty- 
second year. As a young man, he evinced much of 
the pioneer spirit for which New England has 
been famous, and probably resided temporarily in 
various places. His wife, Priscilla Cole, was the 
daughter of Barnabas and Asenath Cole of Amenia, 
New York. Barnabas Cole was a revolutionary 
soldier of New York, and passed his last years in 
Coneaut, Erie county, Pennsylvania. During the 
first years of their married Hfe Jeremiah and Pris- 
cilla (Cole) Harris lived near Prescott, Ontario, 
on the Rideau river. He was subsequently a resi- 
dent for some years of Henderson, Jefferson county. 
New York. He settled ultimately in Springfield, 
Erie county, Pennsylvania, where he cleared up 
land and was a fairly prosperous farmer. He was 
a very earnest believer in the doctrines of Univer- 
salism, and did all in his power to urge others to 
believe in the same faith. Tie took little part in 
public affairs, and gave his attention to the develop- 
ment of his farm and the care of his large family. 
His eldest son Silas settled near Twin Valley, Wis- 
consin, where he died, and his descendants are now 
distributed over several western states. Barnabas 
located in Ohio, and there died, leaving descendants. 
Levi died when a young man. Jeremiah spent some 
years in Wisconsin in the pioneer days of that state, 
and ultimately settled at Webster City, Iowa. His 
descendants are now living there and at Denver, 
Colorado. Caleb was among the early settlers of 
Illinois, and is 1838 located in LaGrange, Wisconsin. 
His descendants are now living in that state, in 
Nebraska and Utah. Luke resided near the old 
homestead in Pennsylvania, and there died, leaving 
several daughters in that vicinity. Annanias lived 
for many years in Springfield, and then settled at 
Twin Valley, Wisconsin, where his descendants are 
now living. There were two daughters, Sarah and 
Melissa. The latter died unmarried ; the former be- 
came the wife of Charles Perkins Ellis and passed 
most of her adult life in LaGrange, Wisconsin, near 
her brother. She left three children : Priscilla 
Rumina, James Alfred and Charles Elliott. The 
daughter is the wife of John E. Menzie, and resides 
on the homestead in LaGrange. The younger son 
resides in Duluth, Minnesota. The elder has been 
for a quarter of a century connected with the 
preparation of work similar to this, and has been 
privileged to prepare a considerable portion of this 
work, including this article. 

(HI) Nicholas, third son and child of Thomas 
and Elanthan (Tew) Harris, born in Providence, 
April I, 1671, died March 27, 1746, married Anne 
Hopkins, daughter of Thomas and Mary (Smith) 
Hopkins, and had ten children : Nicholas, Thomas, 
Christopher, Anne, Zerviah, Mary, Sarah, Amity, 
Joseph, and Jedediah. 

(IV) Nicholas, eldest child of Nicholas and 
Anne (Hopkins) Harris, born October, 1691, died 
May 18, 1775. He married Hannah Blake, and 
settled in Wrentham, Massachusetts. They had 
nine children : John, Erastus, Nicholas, Joseph, 
Oliver, a son who settled in Hardwick, a daughter 
who married Ellis Medway, a daughter who married 
a Blake, and a daughter who married a Carpenter, 
and settled in Keene, New Hampshire. 

(V) Erastus, second son and child of Nicholas 
and Hannah (Blake) Harris, settled in Medway, 
]\Iassachusetts. He left some writings showing that 





.^^<^-^-^K? , 



f^L 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



l6o: 



he served as a non-commissioned officer in a regi- 
ment of foot, raised in Massachusetts, for one year, 
in "His Majesty's Service," commanded by Colonel 
Frye, and for that time was located in Acadia 
(Nova Scotia) in 1759 and 1760. Afterward he 
was an orderly sergeant in the American army 
during the revolutionary war, in a regiment sta- 
tioned in Boston and Cambridge. Nothing regard- 
ing his wife is known. He had live children : Han- 
nah, Bethuel, Rebecca, Erastus and William. 

(VI) Bethuel, eldest son and second child of 
Erastus Harris, born August 14, 1769, died July 21, 
1851, settled in Harrisville, New Hampshire. He 
married Deborah Twitchell (see Adams VH), Janu- 
ary I, 1794, or 1795, and they had ten children; all 
born in Harrisville : Cyrus, Milan, Almon, Lovell, 
Cshner, Charles Cotesworth, Pinckney, Sally, Lydia 
ai i Lois. 

(VH) Deacon Almon, son of Bethuel and Deb- 
orah Harris, was born at Nelson, New Hampshire, 
August 29, 1800. He seems to have learned well 
the trade of his father. In 1821, when he was 
twenty-one years old, he took a place as a worker 
in a woolen mill at Watertown, Massachusetts, and 
resided there five years. His next work was in 
Marlow, Cheshire county. New Hampshire, where 
he built mills for sawing lumber, grinding grain, 
carding wool, and dressing cloth. He resided here 
until 1832, when he removed to a farm in Win- 
chester, Cheshire county. Farming, however, was 
not to his taste, and he abandoned it after a three 
year trial, and returned to Nelson, and again en- 
gaged in the manufacture of woolen goods, and con- 
tinued in that business until 1847. The village of 
Fisherville was growing rapidly and attracting con- 
siderable attention at that time to its water power. 
Mr. Harris was one of the manufacturers who 
went there, and he bought land and water power 
of the Gage family, and erected the Dustin Island 
Woolen Mills, near the island made famous by the 
exploit of Hannah Dustin many years before. These 
mills have been successfully operated by him, his 
sons and his grandsons from the time of their 
erection until now. They were a material addition 
to the village, and have ever since been an im- 
portant factor in the prosperity of the village. A 
man of Mr. Harris's marked ability in taking the 
initiative in erecting and his success in conducting 
mills made him the foremost man in. the community 
where he dwelt. He was universally respected, 
esteemed and trusted, and was often called to attend 
to the public affairs of the town. He was select- 
man, and later representative of the town of Bos- 
cawen in the New Hampshire legislature, 1864-65. 
His political faith was Republican. He was a 
member of the Congregational Church for forty- 
four years, and was for many years one of its 
deacons and superintendent of its Sunday school. 
He died September, 1876. He married, June 26, 
1826, Phoebe, daughter of Ezra Sheldon, of Nel- 
son, born March 15, 1801, who survived him until 
September 3, 1883. They had three sons: Ezra 
Sheldon, born November 27, 1827; Bethuel Edwin, 
born May 18, 1829; and Almon Ainger, born De- 
cember 29, 1832. 

(VIII) Ezra Sheldon, son of Almon and Phoebe 
(Sheldon) Harris, was born at Marlow, November 
27, 1827. and died March 22, 1893. He was edu- 
cated primarily in the schools of Marlow and Nel- 
son, and later in the high school of Fisherville, 
taught by D. B. Whittier. in the brick school house 
on the Boscawen side of the river, and at New 
Ipswich Academy, New Hampshire. Wool carding 
and cloth dressing were things that he partially 



learned in his youth in school vacations about his 
father's mill at Nelson, and fully mastered after- 
ward at Penacook. After serving a long apprentice- 
ship he and his brother were taken into the busi- 
ness by their father, and the firm's name became 
A. Harris & Sons. After the death of Deacon 
Harris in 1876, the sons continued the business 
under the name of E. S. Harris & Company, until 
1882, when Sheldon bought the interest of his 
brother Almon and continued as sole proprietor 
until his death in 1893. In a biographical sketch in 
Brown's "History of Penacook," the following sum- 
mary of his character is found : "Mr. Harris was 
a' man of marked ability in his own line of busi- 
ness, thoroughly skilled in all its various branches, 
and widely known throughout the state in mercan- 
tile and manufacturing circles. Under his manage- 
ment there were many important improvements 
made in the machinery and processes of manufac- 
ture, so that he kept the business fully up to the 
times, and maintained an enviable reputation for 
the goods manufactured at his mills. Mr. Harris 
was a man of upright moral character and correct 
habits, of a quiet, unostentatious disposition, but 
genial and courteous at all times. He had in a 
marked degree that desirable quality of mind known 
as mental equihbrium. In his relations to the work- 
men in his factory, he was liberal, considerate and 
just, and was respected and beloved by them to a 
greater degree than is usual in such relations. As 
a citizen Mr. Harris was universally esteemed by 
the whole community, and was called to serve in 
various offices in the town, and was honored with 
an election as representative of Boscawen in the 
state legislature. In his earlier years of residence 
in Penacook, Mr. Harris gave some attention to 
music. He had a very fine bass voice, and sang 
for several years in the choirs of the Baptist and 
Congregational churches. He was also a prominent 
member of the Fisherville Cornet Band, organized 
in 1858, in which he played a tuba. He was one 
of the early members of Horace Chase Lodge, No. 
72, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, and took 
much interest in the work of that organization." 
In 1890 he built a large and handsome residence 
on Tremont street, which he lived but three years to 
enjoy. It is now occupied by his widow and three 
of his children, and is one of the most attractive 
and desirable houses in the village. Mr. Harris 
married (first) June 30, i85o, Cassandra A. Greene, 
daughter of Nathan B.and Lucy (Carr) Greene, of 
Penacook, born April 2, 1837, by whom he had one 
daughter, Grace Greene, now the wife of Guy H. 
Hubbard; and one son, Robert Lincoln. Mrs. Har- 
ris died November 5, 1865, and Mr. Harris married 
(second) October 12, 1867, Sarah A. Greene, sister 
of his first wife, born June 30, 1844. Of this union 
there were three children : Harry Sheldon, born 
August 24, 1867 ; Almon Greene, born January 24, 
1870; and Lucy Cassandra, born November 3, 1875. 
(IX) Almon Greene, youngest son af Ezra Shel- 
don and Sarah A. (Greene) Harris, was born in 
Boscawen, January 24, 1870, and his residence has 
always been in that town. He attended the schools 
of his native town until he had prepared for high 
school, and then passed the curriculum of the Con- 
cord high school, graduating with the class of 
1888. He subsequently attended Commer's Com- 
mercial College in Boston, where he obtained his 
business education. Returning to his home he en- 
tered his father's mill and began to learn the busi- 
ness, but more of his time was devoted to office 
business than to the mechanical processes of the 
industry. After the death of Ezra S. Harris, his 



i6o6 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



heirs incorporated the business as the Dustin Island 
Woolen Mills, of which Almon G. Harris became 
treasurer, and since that time the office department 
and the hnancial management of the concern have 
been in his hands. He is treasurer of the Pena- 
cook Electric Light Company, director in the Con- 
cord State Fair Association, in the Eastern Fire 
Insurance Company, and the State Security and 
Accident Company. In politics he is a Republican, 
and has given due attention to local public matters 
and has served several years on the boand of select- 
men of Boscawen, and in other public places. He 
was elected a representative from Boscawen to the 
New Hampsbire legislature in 1903 and again in 
1905. Mr. Harris was made a member of Horace 
Chase Lodge, No. 'J2, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, of which he is a past master, and in 
1905 was appointed deputy grand master of the 
fourth Masonic district. He is also a member of 
Trinity Royal Arch Chapter, No. 2, of Concord; 
Horace Chase Council, No. 4, Royal and Select 
Masters, of Concord; Mount Horeb Commandery, 
Knights Templar, of Concord ; and Edward A. 
Raymond , Consistory, of Nashua. He received the 
thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite. He is a 
charter member of the Union Club of Penacook ; 
member of the Wonolancet Club of Concord; and 
the New Hampshire Club of Boston. For several 
years he has been a prominent member of the 
Patrons of Husbandry. In religious matters he 
affiliates with the Congregational church. He 
possesses a fine voice, and has for years sung in 
choirs and quartette clubs. 

(II) John, sixth son of Henry Adams, came to 
Boston from England, with his wife and daughter, 
and settled in Cambridge. They had eight children. 

(III) John, fourth child of John Adams, was 
born in Menotomy (now Arlington), May i, 1655, 
settled in Framingham. He married Hannah Brent, 
and they had three children. 

(IV) John, eldest child of John and Hannah 
(Brent) Adams, was born at Framingham, March 
12, 1684, and resided on the "homestead" in Fram- 
ingham. He was- chosen deacon in 1726. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Goddard, of Roxbury, June 27, 1706, 
and they were the parents of nine children. 

(V) Joseph, eighth child of John and Elizabeth 
(Goddard) Adams, born in Framingham, August 
12, 1728, removed to Dublin, New Hampshire, and 
resided there. He married three times. His first 
wife was Prudence Pratt, youngest daughter of 
David Pratt, of Framingham. He was the father 
of thirteen children. 

(VI) Sarah, seventh child of Joseph and Pru- 
dence (Pratt) Adams, was born in Framingham, 
and baptized May 26, 1754. She married Abel 
Twitchell, a soldier of the revolution, who died at 
Harrisville, New Hampshire, March 8, 1837. They 
were the parents of eight children. 

(VII) Deborah, second child of x\bel and Sarah 
(Adams) Twitchell, born in Sherborn, August 14, 
1776, died October 30, 1855, married Bethuel Harris, 
of Medway, January i, 1795. (See Harris VI). 



Sufficient data has not been obtained 
HARRIS to connect this branch with the 

family of either Thomas or John Har- 
his, from one of whom it probably sprang. 

(I) Mark A. Harris was born in Sandwich. He 
was extensively engaged in agricultural pursuits, 
and was a mechanic of merit. He married Betsey 
Swain and they had three children: Alvah, El- 
bridge, and Isaac, the subject of the next para- 
graph. 



(II) Isaac, third son of Mark A. and Betsey 
(Swain) Harris, was born in Sandwich, and died 
in Gilford. He was a farmer. He married Mary 
Weeks, daughter of Thomas Bedex Weeks, of 
Sandwich. Three children were born of this union : 
Mark, who is the subject of the next paragraph; 
Filinda, who married Leonard Barton; and Ann, 
who married Daniel A. Maxfield. 

(III) Mark, eldest child of Isaac and Ivlary 
(Weeks) Harris, was born in Sandwich, August 
2, 1846. His early years were passed on his father's 
farm, and he acquired a practical knowledge of 
agricultural operations as he grew to manhood. He 
began to farm on his own account in Sandwich, 
where he remained until 1891, when he bought a 
farm of one hundred acres near Lake Winnipesau- 
kee, in Gilford, where he has since resided. He is 
a thriving, progressive citizen, and makes his occu- 
pation profitable. He is a Baptist and a Democrat. 
He married Lucinda Taylor, daughter of Cyrus and 
Mary Taylor. They have five children : William 
B., born September 3, 1879; Eva W., August 5, 
1888; Lewis F., April 4, 1892; Arthur C, June 3, 
1899; and Evelyn, April 17, 1903. 

(Second Family.) 

The Harrises are among New Eng- 
H ARRIS land's most distinguished families. In 

old England a long line of ancestors 
preceded the immigrant, and on this side of the 
ocean the system of equality and civil liberty, which 
the short-sighted rulers of the mother country 
could not suppress, enabled them to expand their 
inherent intelligence and thereby gratify their de- 
sire to benefit mankind in one form or another. 
They early acquired prominence in various fields 
of usefulness, and are still to be found in the front 
rank of intellectual workers. 

(I) John Harris resided in Ottery, St. Mary, 
Devonshire. 

(II) Thomas, son of John Harris, was baptized 
at Ottery, August 26, 1606. (Perhaps John Harris, 
head of the third family of this article, was one of 
his sons.) 

(HI) Thomas (2), son of the preceding Thomas 
(i) Harris was baptized in the same place, July 30, 
1637, and arrived in Boston about the year 1675. 
He belonged to the established church in England, 
but shortly after his arrival he united with the 
Old South Church, then recently organized, and 
retained his membership for the remainder of his 
life, which terminated January 8, 1698. The 
Christian name of his wife was Rebecca, and he 
left but one son. 

(IV) Benjamin, son 'of Thomas (2) and Re- 
becca Harris, was born in Boston, October 21, 1694, 
and died there in his twenty-eighth year, January 
25, 1722. He married Sarah Cary, who bore him 
a son, Cary. 

(V) Cary, son of Benjamin and Sarah (Cary) 
Harris, was born in Boston, February 10, 1721. He 
engaged in the manufacture of hats, but his busi- . 
ness career was necessarily of short duration, as he 
died in 1750, prior to his thirtieth birthday. He 
married Mehitable Crowell. They had a son, Wil- 
liam. 

(VI) William, son of Cary and Mehitable 
(Crowell) Harris, was born in Boston, July 7, 1747. 
Possessing superior intellectual attainments which 
had been developed by a careful education, he 
accepted at the age of twenty years the mastership 
of the public writing school in Charlestown, and 
retained it until the suspension of public education 
at the breaking-out of the revolutionary war. 
Alarmed for the safety of his family, who were 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1607 



domiciled in the immediate vicinity of the hill 
soon to be made famous as the scene of the lirsi 
decisive battle for the cause of national independence, 
he removed them to Chocksec, now Sterling, Massa- 
chusetts, and joined a regiment of patriots as cap- 
tain and paymaster. He died while in the Conti- 
nental service, October 30, 1778, and was buried 
with military honors. in describing the buried 
tiight of the young schoolmaster, Dr. Nathaniel L. 
Frothingham writes as follows: "Just before the 
Battle of Bunker Hill, when his son Thaddeus was 
not quite seven years old, with a few necessary 
articles of clothing, such as they could easily carry, 
they set out for the interior, Thaddeus with his 
twin sisters, and the father and mother each carry- 
ing a child in their arms. By the burning of 
Charlestown he not only lost his occupation, but 
also a new house which he had erected and fur- 
nished with the savings of several years, thus find- 
ing himself reduced from a state of competency to a 
condition of poverty." He obtained temporary em- 
ployment as a teacher in some of the country towns, 
but it was unprohtable and uncertain, owing to the 
general depression caused by the war, and he at 
length accepted a commission in the army. While 
on a visit to his family at Cbockset he was seized 
with a violent attack of fever which proved fatal, 
and he left them in indigent circumstances. Wil- 
liam Harris married Rebekah Mason, daughter of 
Hon. Thaddeus Mason, originally of Charlestown, 
and afterwards of Cambridge. Mr. Mason served 
both the commonwealth and Middlesex county in 
various positions of responsibility and trust, 
notably as clerk of the court of sessions and that 
of common pleas, retaining the latter office for a 
period of lifty-four years. He was graduated from 
Harvard with the class of 1728. He, too, suffered 
severely by the burning of Charlestown, losing an 
elegant mansion as well as other valuable property, 
and, with many others, he took refuge in Cam- 
bridge. His death occurred in 1802, at the advanced 
age of ninety-five years. Rebekah (Mason) Harris 
was the mother of five children. She married for 
her second husband Samuel Wait, of Alalden, who 
was able to provide a comfortable home for her- 
self and younger children, and she died February 
2, 1801. (Possibly Thomas Harris, mentioned later 
in this article, was one of the sons). 

(VH) Rev. Thaddeus Mason, eldest child and 
son of William and Rebekah (Mason) Harris, was 
born in Charlestown, July 7, 1768. The untimely 
death of his father practically threw him upon his 
own resources at the age of ten years, and he 
accepted any honorable employment that was 
offered him. In 1779 he attracted the attention of 
Dr. Ebenezer Morse, a former minister who had 
been forced to abandon preaching on account of 
being suspected of Toryism, and was residing in 
Boylston, Massachusetts, supporting himself by 
practicing medicine and preparing boys for college. 
This generous and sympathetic man gave hini a 
place in his study beside his own son, directing 
his collegiate preparations without remuneration, 
and young Flarris supported himself by stripping ash 
and walnut clefts for the manufacture of brooms, 
and the making of axe-handles and other imple- 
ments. His cherished idea of going to college was 
relinquished for a time, owing to the objection of 
his mother, who advised him to learn a trade in- 
stead, but an accident cut short his mechanical 
career and he was at length enabled, through the 
assistance of interested friends, to gratify his ambi- 
tion, entering Harvard College in July. 1783. For 
a time he resided at the home of Professor Wil- 



liams, but later a waitcrship in the commons hall 
entitled him to free board, and he was graduated 
with the class of 1787 in company with John Quincy 
Adams, afterwards president of the United btates, 
Judge Putnam, Judge Cranch and several other 
men of note. Upon leaving college he became a 
teacher in a school at Worcester, Massachusetts, 
and while residing there was offered the position 
of private secretary to General Washington, but 
was prevented from accepting that honorable ap- 
pointment by an attack ot Small pox. During his 
junior year at college he united with Rev. TimoUiy 
Hilliard's church in Cambridge. After his re- 
covery from the malady just mentioned he decided 
to enter the ministry, and at the suggestion of 
President Willard returned to Harvard for the pur- 
pose of pursuing his theological studies. He was 
"approbated to preach" by the Cambridge Associ- 
ation in June, 1789, prior to his twenty-first birth- 
day, and after laboring in Brookline, Massachusetts, 
for a time, was in 1793 ordained to the pastorate of 
the church in Dorchester, which he retained for a 
period of forty-three years, resigning in 1836. Two 
years later he united with the First Church in Bos- 
ton, whither he removed from Dorchester, and his 
death occurred there on Sunday morning, April 3, 
1842, at the age of seventy-three years, eight months 
and twenty-seven days. He received the degree of 
Master of Arts at Harvard in course (1790), de- 
livering the valedictory oration in Latin at com- 
mencement ; was appointed librarian of Harvard in 
1791, and was made a Doctor of Divinity by his 
alma mater in 1813. In 1810 he visited Europe. 
During his pastorate in Dorchester he could not 
have spent many idle hours as he labored in many 
fields of usefulness outside of his profession, de- 
voting much time to public education and to several 
learned societies, with which he was connected, and 
also to literary work. His best known publication 
is entitled "The Natural History of the Bible." He 
was one of the founders of the Antiquarian Society, 
a member of the Massachusetts and New York 
Historical societies, the American Academy of Arts 
and Sciences, the Humane, Massachusetts Bible, 
American Peace, the ]\Iassachusetts Historical 
societies, and a corresponding member of 
the Georgia Historical Society and the Archaelogi- 
cal Society of Athens, Greece. For a number of 
years he officiated as chaplain and secretary of the 
Grand Lodge of Massachusetts, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons, which presented him with a 
silver vase in 1S16. 

January 28, 1795, Dr. Flarris married Mary Dix, 
daughter of Dr. Elijah and Dorothy Dix. of Wor- 
cester. She was a lady of superior intelligence and 
unusual force of character. Of this union there 
were eight children, five of whom lived to a mature 
age, namely: Thaddeus William, M. D., who is re- 
ferred to at length in the succeeding paragraph ; 
Mary Dorothy, Clarendon, John Alexander and 
James Winthrop. 

(VIII) Thaddeus William, eldest son of Dr. 
Thaddeus ]\Iason and Mary (Dix) Harris, was 
born in Dorchester, November 12, 1795. He pursued 
his collegiate preparations in Dedham and Bridge- 
w^ater, Massachusetts, entered Harvard in his six- 
teenth year and took his bachelor's degree in 181 5, 
having as classmates Jared Sparks, afterward presi- 
dent of that university: Professor Convers Francis, 
John Graham Palfrey and Theophilus Parsons. His 
preliminary medical studies were directed by Dr. 
Amos Holbrook, of Milton, Massachusetts, and after 
graduating from the Harvard Medical School in 
1820. located for practice in that town. The life 



i6o8 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



of a physician was, however, uncongenial to him 
and therefore became one of absolute drudgery from 
which he longed to escape. Receiving the appoint- 
ment of librarian of Harvard in 1831, he eagerly 
accepted it and thenceforward his energies were 
devoted to the interests of the university, both in 
the official capacity, which brought him back to it, 
and developing its department of natural sciences. 
During his term of service as librarian, which 
covered a period of twenty-live years, Dr. Harris 
was largely instrumental in increasing the number 
of volumes from thirty thousand to sixty-five 
thousand, and witnessed the removal of the library 
from old Harvard Hall to Gore Hall, its present 
repository. His work as librarian led him into 
various tields of investigation intimately connected 
with it, and among his most important efforts in 
this direction was a special study of the early voy- 
ages to this country and the settlements along the 
coast. He is best known, however, for his unceas- 
ing labors in the field of natural history and as the 
father of American entomology. As early as 1820 
he began his researches relative to botany as applied 
to materia medica, and also to entomology and 
kindred subjects. The study of the character and 
habits of insects was never lost sight of, but was 
merely held in abeyance by his official duties and 
to be taken up and carried forward at every oppor- 
tunity, and his progress in that science remains 
to-day as a fitting monument to his memory. His 
elaborate entomological collection, now possessed by 
the Boston Society of Natural History, represents 
the patient labor of many years, and that body, of 
which he was a leading member, published his entire 
list of papers in its transactions, numbering one 
hundred and forty-four. Besides the above he was 
a member of the Massachusetts Historical and 
Massachusetts Medical societies, the American 
Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the Society for 
the Promotion of Agriculture; a corresponding 
member of the Academy of Natural Sciences, Phila- 
delphia, of the London Entomological Society; and 
an honorary member of the Historical Society of 
Pennsylvania. He died in Cambridge, January 16, 
1856. He married, in 1824, Catherine Holbrook, 
daughter of Dr. Amos Holbrook, of Milton, previ- 
ously mentioned. Among the children of this union 
was Charles. 

(IX) Charles, son of Dr. Thaddeus W. and 
Catherine (HolbrooKj Harris, was born in Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts, October 2, 1832. His educa- 
tional opportunities were excellent, and having 
acquired a knowledge of civil engineering he fol- 
lowed that profession in the state of Ohio and in 
Boston from 1850 to 1864. For the succeeding 
eighteen years he was superintendent of streets for 
the city of Boston, and for twenty years following 
acted as New England representative of the Barber 
Asphalt Paving Company. He has since been living 
in retirement, spending his declining years at his 
home in Cambridge. In addition to his business 
ability, which was eminently superior, he possesses in- 
tellectual attainments of a high order, and as a gen- 
tleman of culture he occupies a prominent position 
in the exclusive social circles of the University City. 
He is a thirty-second degree Mason and a member 
of the Massachusetts Consistory. His religious be- 
lief is in accord with the teachings of Emanuel 
Swedenborg, and he is a member of the Church 
of the New Jerusalem, Cambridge. He married 
Sarah Elizabeth Hovey, and reared two children : 
Thaddeus W., who is referred to at length in the 
succeeding paragraphs ; and Marion, who became 



the wife of Dr. William W. Pearce, and resides in 
Waukegan, Illinois. 

(Xj Thaddeus William Harris, Ph. D., son of 
Charles and Sarah E. (Hovey) Harris, was born 
in Cambridge, January 19, 1862. He took his bache- 
lor's degree at Harvard University with the class 
of 1884, receiving that of Master of Arts in 1885, 
and he remained there as instructor some nine years, 
taking the degree of Doctor of Philosophy in 1890. 
His taste and capacity for educational pursuits were 
so predominant in his character as to cause him to 
enter that field of usefulness in preference to the 
various other professional walks for which he is 
super-abundantly qualified, and accepting the re- 
sponsible position of superintendent of the public 
schools of Keene, in 1894, fie thereafter performed 
his official duties with unusual energy and ability 
up to his retirement in 1905. 

During his residence in Keene Dr. Harris has 
interested himself in educational matters apart from 
his legitimate duties, being at the present time a 
trustee of the Keene Public Library, and acting for 
1904 as president of the New England Association 
of School Superintendents. He also participates 
actively in religious work as senior warden of St. 
James (Protestant) Episcopal Church, and as a 
director of the Young Men's Christian Association. 
His ancestors, included among which were physi- 
cians, ministers, and merchants, were all men of 
marked ability, and his intellectual attainments and 
executive ability are therefore in some measure in- 
herited. 

He married, June 20, 1894, Winifred Parker, who 
was born June 18, 1867, daughter of Charles H. and 
Abby J. ( Rockwood) Parker. She is a descendant 
of (I) John Parker, born in England, September 4, 
1575. through (II) Thomas, the immigrant, (1609- 
1683) (see Parker) ; (III) Hananiah (1638-1724) ; 
(IV) John <i604-i74i); (V) Andrew (1693-1776) ; 
(VI) Thomas, (1727-1799) ; (VII) Ebenezer, of 
Lexington, (1750-1839); (VIII) Quincy {1/75- 
1828) ; (IX) Ira (1814) and (X) Charles H., who 
was born in Providence, Rhode Island, March 22, 
1839, and died in Cambridge, August, 1895. The 
latter served in the civil war with the Twenty-first 
Regiment, Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry, and 
attained the rank of lieutenant. It is quite evident 
that her ancestry is the same as that Rev. Theo- 
dore Parker, the famous preacher of a half century 
ago. Dr. and Mrs. Harris have two sons — Thaddeus 
William, born October i, 1895, and Charles Parker 
Harris, born December 28, 1898. 



The families of Harris in the United 
HARRIS States are very numerous, and can 
not be traced to a common ancestor, 
as many distinct emigrations of persons bearing the 
name appear to have taken place at a very early 
period in the history of New England. Previous to 
1640 many of the name were in New England, and 
were among the early settlers of different towns. 

(VII) Thomas Harris, who was born in Massa- 
chusetts, died in Hudson, New Hampshire, in 1856, 
aged eighty-three years. For years he was employed 
as a sail maker in Salem, Massachusetts. He re- 
moved to Hudson, New Hampshire, several years 
before his death, and was there engaged in agricul- 
ture. He was a Democrat in political sentiment. 
He married (second), in Hudson, Lydia Colburn, of 
Hudson, he had five children : Eliza, Thomas, Wil- 
liam, a daughter (died young) and Albert, the sub- 
ject of the next paragraph. 

(VIII) Albert, youngest child of Thomas and 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1609 



Lydia (Colburn) Harris., was born in Salem, Massa- 
chusetts, November, 181 1, and died in Hudson, No- 
vember 19, 1875. He was educated in the common 
schools of his native town, and worked on his 
father's farm in Hudson until he was of age, and 
then bought the place adjoining, where he spent 
his remaining years. In his early manhood he was 
a Whig, but when the questions of slavery and re-^ 
hellion were agitated he became a Republican and 
a supporter of Abraham Lincoln and his measures. 
He married Sarah F. Wellman. who was born at 
Washington, New Hampshire, daughter of Thomas 
Wellman, of Washington, New Hampshire; she 
died, and he married (second) Amanda Stuart of 
Hudson. There were seven children by the first 
wife : Edward P., lives in Topeka, Kansas ; Cather- 
ine, died in youth ; Myron W. lives in Amherst ; 
Lydia Frances, married George W. Connell, of 
Hudson: Henry Albert, the subject of the next 
paragraph ; Harriett A., married O. B. Robinson ; 
Charles Austin, married (first) Georgiana Hill, and 
(second) Leah Boothby. of Lowell, Massachusetts, 
and lives in Lowell. Mary F., the only child of the 
second wife, was born April 15, 1856, and married 
George W. Bartlett, of Goffstown. 

(IX) Albert Henry, who often writes his name 
Henry A. Harris, third son and fifth child of Albert 
and Sarah F. (Wellman) Harris, was born in Hud- 
son, October 27, 1842. He attended the public 
schools of Hudson and Lowell until he was eighteen 
years of age, and worked at farming and taught 
school two terms before the outbreak of the re- 
bellion. August 28, 1862, he enlisted in Com- 
pany L, First Maine Cavalry, and served two j'ears 
and nine months, being discharged May 28, 1865. 
He took part in many battles and minor engage- 
ments, some of the most important of which were 
the Wilderness, Spottsylvania, Mine Run, and Appo- 
mattox, being present at General Lee's surrender. In 
his campaigning he had two horses shot under him. 
After the war he returned to Littleton, Maine, 
where he taught school four winters and carried on 
a farm the remainder of the time. In 1870 he re- 
turned to Hudson and engaged in agriculture two 
years, and then removed to Merrimack, and was 
station agent of the Boston & Maine railroad at 
South Merrimack for five years. The next five 
years he lived on a leased farm and then (1886) 
bought the place he has since occupied. Mr. Harris 
has so deported himself as to command the con- 
fidence and respect of those who know him, and by 
them he has been placed in all of the offices of the 
town but representative. He is a trustee of the pub- 
lic library, was chairman of the school board nine 
years, and built the school house at Reed's Ferry, 
and has been a member of the board of selectmen 
three years. He is a member of John H. Worcester 
Post, Grand Army of the Republic, of Hollis, and 
of the Order of the Golden Cross, of which he is a 
past commander. He is a Republican in the princi- 
ples for which he fought in the dark days of the 
rebellion. He is a member of the Union Evangelical 
First Church of Merrimack. 

He married, first. May 9, 1866, Dora F. Hill, who 
was born in Littleton, Maine, Mav i, i8=;r, daughter 
of Bradford and Hannah J. (Delaite) Hill of Little- 
ton, Maine. She was a member of the Christian 
Church (Disciples), a lady of intelligence, and 
taught school a number of terms before her mar- 
riage. She died September 26. 1891, and he married 
(second) January 5, 1893, at Nashua, Fanny E. 
Brown, who was born in Amherst, September 25, 
1855, daughter, of William E. and Elizabeth G. 
(Cragin) Brown, of Merrimack. She was educated 



in the public schools of 3>Ianchester and at Magaw 
Institute. She subsequently taught school in Merri- 
mack for sixteen successive years, and was regarded 
as one of the most successful instructors in that 
region. She is a member of the Union Evangelical 
Church. The children of the first wife were: 
Viola W., died young; Albert H., born February 16, 
1876, married Nellie F. Patterson, daughter of 
George E. and Anna Patterson, of South Merri- 
mack: and Leroy E., born November 21, 1877, mar- 
ried Carolyn Francisco, of New York. 
(Third Family.) 

This is an old New England family, 
HARRIS originating in 'England or Wales, and 

has furnished many excellent citizens 
in New Hampshire. It is identified with the earli- 
est pioneer period along the Merrimack river, and 
is still conspicuous in business circles of the region. 

(I) John Harris, progenitor of many of the 
name in New England is found of record in 
Charlestown, Massachusetts, as early as 1658, when 
he was granted two parcels of land. He married 
Amy Hills, daughter of Joseph and Rose (Dun- 
ster) Hills. Her father was a woolen draper, who 
came from Maiden, England, and lived in Charles- 
town and Newbury. Massachusetts. Her mother 
was a sister of President Dunster of Harvard Col- 
lege. John Harris' sons were: Samuel, John, 
Thomas and Joseph. 

(II) Thomas, third son of John and Amy 
(Hills) Harris, was born March 18, 1664, in 
Charlestown, and was a tailor residing in that town, 
where he died about 1747. He married, February 
25, 1686, Hepzibah Crosswell,^ who was born May 
20, 1668, daughter of Thomas and Priscilla (Up- 
ham) Cross well, of Charlestown. Their children 
were : Thomas, Hepzibah, Silence, Ebenezer, Wil- 
liam, John, Abigail, Rachael and Elizabeth. 

(III) Ebenezer, second son and fourth child of 
Thomas and Hepzibah (Crosswell) Harris, was 
born June ii. 1698, in Charlestown, and died in Dun- 
stable, New Hampshire. He was a tailor by occu- 
pation, and settled in Chelmsford, Massachusetts, 
where he resided until about 1715, when he removed 
to Dunstable. The land records show that he pur- 
chased land there about that time. He married 
Elizabeth Spalding, who was born January 17. 1700, 
in Chelmsford, daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth 
(Colburn) Spalding. Their children were: Ebe- 
nezer, Hepzibah, Hannah and Thomas, born in 
Chelmsford, and probably others born in Dunstable. 

(IV) Ebenezer (2). eldest child of Ebenezer 
(i) and Elizabeth (Spalding) Harris was born 
June 12, I7.'?i, in Chelmsford and was a child when 
he removed with his parents to Dunstable. He 
served from that town as a soldier of the Revo- 
lution. His wife's name was Dorcas, but no record 
of his marriage is found. It is known that his 
daughter Silence was born in Dunstable, September 
29, 175.'. and his son Thomas, March 29, 1757. He 
was still living in 1783. 

(V) Ebenezer (3), second son of Ebenezer (2) 
and Dorcas Harris, was born July 24. 1759, in 
Dunstable, and died in Merrimack. March 17, 1843, 
aged eighty-four. Lie married Rebecca Hills, who 
was born in Nottingham West, March 6, 1762, and 
died March 20, 1852, aged ninety. Ten children 
were born of this union : Rebekah, June 26, 1782. 
died January t6, 1874. Esther, July 16, 1784. died 
October 10, T857. Reuben, May 2, 1786, died April 
23, 183?. Rhoda, February 21, 1788, died April 25, 
1872. Ebenezer, June i, 1700. died March 20« 1869. 
Anna, December it, 1793. died December 26, 1883, 
Hannah, April 7, 1795, died January 5, 1878. OH- 



i6io 



XEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ver, May 19, 1798, died May 11, 1S03. Pauli, 
March 22, 1801, died August 23, 18S8. Robert, 
March 15, 1807, see forward. 

(VI) Robert, son of Ebenezcr (3) and Rebecca 
(Hills) Harris, was born in Merrimack, New 
Hampshire, March 15, 1807, died in Nashua, Sep- 
tember I, 1889. He was a farmer and resided in 
Nashua. He married. March 7, 1837, Mary Glines, 
who was born in Franklin, New Hampshire, Oc- 
tober 4, 1816, died January 30, 1899. She was the 
daughter of William and Naomi (Hancock) 
Glines, and a descendant of the pioneer Glines 
settler of Londonderry; she is also of the same 
stock as John Hancock. There were nine children 
born of this union: Mary M., June 10, 1838. 
Alonzo, June 29, 1840, died August 6, 1842. Har- 
vey W.. May 23, 1842, died December 6, of the 
same year. Orin B., May 11, 1845, died September 
16, of the same year. George A., March 26, 1846, 
died August 17, 1870. Lucius L., July S, 1848. 
Frank M., July 5, 1S51, died August 3, 1892. Ida 
F., November 8, 1855, died aged seven years, and 
Ira F., November 8, 1855. 

(VII) Ira Francis, youngest child of Robert 
and Mary (Glines) Harris, was born November 
8, 1855, in Nashua. Previous to the age of sixteen 
years he was a student in the public schools of his 
native town, after which he went to Jamaica Plain, 
Massachusetts, and remained a short time. He 
next took up his residence at New Albany Indiana, 
and was employed for some time in the navigation 
of the Ohio river, acting as assistant pilot. In 1875 
he returned to Nashua and took up the study of 
dentistry in the ofBce of Dr. L. F. Lock, where he 
read two years. At "this time he was offered an 
advantageous position in the Indian Head National 
Bank and accepted. His duties were so faithfully 
discharged that he was made assistant cashier in 
1886, and after nine years' further service became 
cashier in 1895. This position he has since held 
and has become interested in many of the busi- 
ness and social institutions of his native city. He 
is secretary of the First Congregational Church 
Society and of the Fortnightly Club. He is treas- 
urer of the local and also of the State Board of 
Trade, has administered on a number of important 
estates, and is interested in various business en- 
terprises of the city. He is recorded among the 
prosperous and most substantial citizens of his na- 
tive town. Mr. Harris has been an extensive trav- 
eler, is a keen observer, and his contributions to 
literature have been gratefully and happily accepted 
by the public. His illustrated lectures on the Mer- 
rimack Valley, Colonial Homes. Historic Nashua, 
and other subjects, have delighted many audiences. 
Mr. Harris is a cultivated gentleman, whose man- 
ners are pleasing ; whose heart is large, and he is 
respected and honored by a large circle of friends. 
He naturally became affiliated with fraternal or- 
ders, and is now a Knight Templar Mason, who 
has attained the thirty-second degree. 

Fie was married in Nashua, June 7, 1881, to 
Mary C. Proctor, who was born August 29, 1852, 
daughter of Joseph B. and Sarah J. Proctor of 
Nashua. (See Proctor, VII). ]\Irs. Harris is reg- 
istrar of Nashua Chapter, Daughters of the Ameri- 
can Revolution, and is an active member of the 
Woman's Club of Nashua and other social organ- 
izations. 

(Fourth Family.) 
Among the prominent citizens of 
HARRIS Portsmouth, this state, are represen- 
tatives of the line herein traced, of 
whose ancestry very little is known. The first of 



whom record now appears was Abel Harris, who 
resided in Portsmouth. 

(II) William Coffin, son of Abel Harris, was 
born November. 1767, in Portsmouth, New Hamp- 
shire. He married Mary Johnson and resided in 
that town. 

(III) Captain Thomas Aston, son of William 
Coffin and Mary (Johnson) Harris, was born June 
13, 1824, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Intro- 
duced to the active matters of life at an early age, 
the wide awake lad developed a passion for the 
sea, which nothing could dispel or divert. His 
first voyage was to India in the ship "Mary and 
Susan," commanded by Captain William F. Parrott, 
a voyage which he heartily enjoyed, and so bene- 
ficial that thereafter he was "in all seas." In 1847 
he sailed from Norfolk with government stores 
for California, and arrived at Monterey, February 
6, 1848, when the gold fever was at its height. The 
republic of California w-as an accepted and wide- 
awake fact in those days, and of which Mr. Harris 
received a tangible reminder early in the summer 
ofiSgo in the shape of a handsome flag, one of the 
original banners of the infant republic. It is of 
white bunting, ten feet long and four feet wide,. 
with a broad stripe of red on the lower edge, a 
red, five-pointed star in the field (the star of the 
republic) ; in the center of the white a large Cali- 
fornia bear, walking, known as "Nahl's bear," and 
underneath the legen-d "California Republic." This 
souvenir is very valuable, and of course highly 
prized by the fortunate receiver. Captain Harris 
returned to the United States the longest way, via 
China, and soon after returned to San Francisco, 
arriving in 1850. As is generally known there is 
a society in that state known as the California 
Pioneers. A "forty-eighter" is eligible to what is 
termed a Golden Bear membership, a forty-nineer 
to a Silver Bear, but a pioneer of '50 has no status 
in the association. Gold and silver badges are in- 
dicative of these ranks. Captain Harris was the 
possessor of the golden trophy and this certificate : 

This is to certify that Thomas Aston Harris, who. arrived in 
California, February 6, 1848, is a member of the Society of Cali- 
fornia Pioneers. 

(Signed) EDWARD KRUSE. President. 
(Seal) W. H. GRAVES, Secretary. 

San Francisco, California, May 20, 1890- 

About this time Captain Harris entered the ser- 
vice of the Pacific Mail Steamship Company, where 
he remained a considerable time. On returning 
east he built a vessel for the Russian government^ 
during_ the Crimean war, an armed steamer, the 
"Astoria," and sailed thence under the American 
flag. On arriving at Sitka her name was changed 
to "Alexander." The vessel made a grand record, 
and was the same one sent to take Hon, William 
H. Seward to Sitka when he went there to inspect 
his purchase for the LTnited States government. 
While there Captain Harris was urged to take a 
high position in the Russian nav}', and the rank 
and privilege of a nobleman, but it was satisfaction 
to believe that the Yankee nobility was good 
enough for the Portsmouth sailor, and the profifer 
was gratefully and gracefully declined. At the close 
of the Crimean war he returned to the United States, 
arriving in February, 1857. He remained only a 
few months, however, when in the latter part of 
that year he sailed for San Francisco in the United 
States light house steamer "Shubrick," and deliv- 
ered the vessel, and remained there nearly two 
years, when he returned. Captain Harris then took 
charge of steamer "Pei Ho," an armed vessel built 
for Russell & Company, to open trade with Japan. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1611 



Reaching Hong Kong, the ports of Japan having 
been opened by treaty, the vessel was sold to the 
French government for a despatch boat. He then 
returned to the United States overland late in i860, 
arriving in the midst of the John Brown trouble 
at Harper's Ferry. Imbued by the excitement. Cap- 
tain Harris took a trip south, going as far as Texas 
to see how matters were looking and to ascertain 
the sentiments of the people. After thoroughly ac- 
quainting himself with southern affairs he returned 
north and entered the United States navy as act- 
ing master, his commission dating from May, 1861. 
On April 27, 1863, he was advanced to acting volun- 
teer lieutenant "as a reward for gallant conduct in 
the face of the enemy," the official record states. 
The event referred to was the capture of a battery 
of six guns at Hill's Point, on the Nansemond 
river, in Virginia. In this action was a detachment 
of eight companies of the Tenth New Hampshire 
Volunteers, Captain George W. Towle and Captain 
James Albert Sanborn, both of Portsmouth, in 
command. In April, 1865, he was promoted to act- 
ing volunteer lieutenant-commander, and served in 
that capacity until the close of the war. and was 
honorably mustered out and discharged October 
24, 1865. Captain Harris' first government ship 
was the "Penguin," of which he was executive offi- 
cer. His other commands were, in the order 
named, the "Henry Andrews," "Stepping Stones," 
"Newbern" and "Lillian," of the North Atlantic 
Squadron, and the "Preost" and "Abeona," of the 
Mississippi _ Squadron. On leaving the United 
States service he resumed service with the Pacific 
Mail Steamship Company, and was in command 
on the Atlantic coast until 1867, whence he went 
to Acapulco, Mexico, as agent of the company 
there. Two years later he was transferred to Hong 
Kong in a similar capacity, and remained there 
nearly five years, when, and only because of im- 
paired health, he was obliged to come home. On 
leaving Hong Kong he was presented by the guild 
of merchants, and with great ceremony, a testi- 
monial made of white satin with handsomely em- 
broidered border and inscribed in golden letters, 
with the fulsome compliment of the Chinese people. 
This missive measures four feet by three feet, and 
attractively framed, has for years held the chief 
place of honor upon the wall in the captain's li- 
brary. The change of .climate having effected a 
considerable improvement in his health, he returned 
to Japan as general agent of the Pacific Mail Steam- 
ship Company for Japan and China, with headquar- 
ters at Yokohama. In 1876 he was ordered home 
by medical survey, too long residence and continua? 
overwork having completely prostrated a physique 
perfect in every point, and for which change of 
climate and rest were imperative. There was pro- 
test but no escape from the plain alternative, and 
the wanderer, having acquired a competency, re- 
turned to Portsmouth, which ever held the dearest 
corner in his heart and for whose welfare and pro- 
gress he had undivided interest. Captain Harris 
was prominent in organizations, and among these 
was a member of Saint John's Lodge, No. i. An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons, of Portsmouth, 
the Massachusetts Commandery, Loyal Legion, and 
a comrade of Storer Post, No. i, Grand Army of the 
Republic, of Portsmouth. His gift to the latter organ- 
ization of a large and centrally located burying 
ground for_ soldiers and sailors at Harmony Grove 
Cemetery, is a memorial to the patriotism and 
thoughtfulness of the comrade which will be as 
enduring as time. For many years Captain Harris 
was a director in the New Hampshire National 



Bank ; and on the resignation of Edwin A. Peter- 
son as president, was unanimously chosen his suc- 
cessor. He was an able, far-seeing financier, and 
devoted the latter years of his ever active life to 
its interests. His interest in young men was par- 
ticularly noticeable., and in the most unostentatious 
ways, helped many to enter upon successful busi- 
ness careers. Captain Harris was a writer of much 
force and attractiveness, and was never happier 
than when seated at his desk, though unfortunately 
for the community he modestly kept his literary 
light almost completely hidden. He was a gentle- 
man of culture; had positive convictions; the ten- 
derest sympathies ; possessed the most courtly 
grace ; was a fine conversationalist, and had the 
deepest attachments. Of him it can truthfully be 
said that he was personified nobleness. Captain 
Harris married Mary Elizabeth Langdon Picker- 
ing, daughter of John Pickering, esquire, of Ports- 
mouth. (See Pickering). She was born April 14, 
1835, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. 



There are several families bearing 
WHEELER this name distinct, at least as far 

as connection in this country is 
concerned, and all are very good stock and found 
in the early records. The name has figured credit- 
ably in both militia and civic annals through many 
generations, and now has living in New Hampshire 
some very worthy representatives. 

(I) George Wheeler, immigrant ancestor of 
those herein traced, was born in 1600, in Salisbury, 
England, and was one of the founders of Concord. 
Massachusetts, where he located before 1640, and 
was made a freeman in 1641. He died there be- 
tween January, 1685, and June, 1687. He was twice 
married, but no record of his first wife is obtained. 
His second wife, Katherine, died June 2, 1685. He 
had five children born in England and three in 
Concord, namely : William, Thomas, Ruth, Eliza- 
beth, Hannah, Sarah, John and IMary. (John and 
descendants are mentioned in this article.) 

(II) William, eldest child of George Wheeler, 
was born 1630, in England, and was consequently 
nearly ten years of age when the family settled in 
Concord. He died there December 31, 1683. We 
can easily conceive that his childhood was passed 
amid rude surroundings and that he bore a part 
in the struggles of subduing the forests and making 
a home. He was married in Concord. October 30, 
1659, to Hannah Buss (mistakenly printed Beers in 
some instances), daughter of William and Anna 
Buss. She was born February 18, 1642. Their chil- 
dren were: Hannah (died young), Rebecca, Eliza- 
beth, William. Hannah, Richard, John and George. 

(III) George (2), youngest child of William 
and Hannah (Buss) Wheeler, was born 1670, in 
Concord, where he lived through life and died July, 
1737. He was married, August 14, 1695, to Abigail 
Hosmer, daughter of Stephen and Abigail (Wood) 
Hosmer. She was born November 6, 1669, and 
died December 27, 1717. Mr. Wheeler married 
(second), December 3, 1719, Abigail Smith, who 
was born July 21, 1684, in Sudbury, daughter of 
Thomas and Abigail Smith. She died between Oc- 
tober 3 and December 30, 1728. He had sons 
James and Peter, who lived in Concord and Bedford, 
Massachusetts, and in Hollis, New Hampshire. His 
other .children were : Talntha, Abigail, Jemima, 
Daniel, Ephraim and Simon. 

(IV) James, eldest son of George (2) and Abi- 
gail (Hosmer) Wheeler, was born September 5, 
1702, in Concord, and lived in that part of the 
town which was included in Bedford when the 



l6l2 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



latter town was incorporated in 1729. Thus his 
younger children were born in Bedford, while the 
older ones were born in Concord and all on the same 
farm. His wife Mary is supposed to have been a 
Minot. Their children were : Mary, Keziah, Lydia, 
James, Elizabeth, Daniel, Azuba and Thaddeus. 
(Mention of the last named, with descendants, ap- 
pears in this article.) 

(V) Daniel, second son of George (2) and 
Abigail (Smith) Wheeler, was born April 23, 1736; 
married February 9, 1757, Amy Morse. He died 
at "Patch Corner," Hollis, between January i, 1775, 
and April 19, 1775. Their children leaving their na- 
tive place soon after their father's death, there have 
been no descendants of Daniel Wheeler living in 
Hollis for more than one hundred years. His widow 
married, April 7, 1779, Samuel Leeman, whose 
first wife was Love Wheeler, a daughter of Peter 
Wheeler and cousin of Daniel Wheeler, her first 
husband. She had no children by Leeman. After 
the death of her second husband she lived with her 
children, alternating between Benjamin, Jacob, Lydia 
and Daniel. She came to Benjamin's home in 
Concord, New Hampshire, May 26, 1803, and died 
at her son Jacob's home in Bow, New Hampshire, 
November 30, 1821, and is buried in the Bow ceme- 
tery, just south of Turee Pond, beside the grave 
of her son Jacob. Children of Daniel and Amy 
(Morse) Wheeler: Lydia, born in Monson (now 
a part of Hollis) November 24, 1757. Abner, born 
in Monson, April 14, 1760. Jacob, born in Monson, 
March 5, 1763. Daniel, born in Monson, March 18, 
1765. Benjamin, born in Hollis, August 18, 1768; 
see forward. Hannah, born in Hollis, about 1772, 
died 1862, aged about ninety. 

(VI) Benjamin Wheeler, born August 18, 1768, 
married Polly Fitch, of Bedford, Massachusetts, 
born October 23, 1770, died April 27, 1818, in Con- 
cord, New Hampshire. He married (second) Han- 
nah Clement, born May 17, 1770, in Salem, New- 
Hampshire. He died December 11, 1848. She 
died October 20, 1852, in Concord. She had no 
children. Polly Fitch was a daughter of David 
Fitch, a descendant of Zachary Fitch, the emigrant, 
and of kin with John Fitch for whom Fitchburg, 
Massachusetts, was named. Her father, David 
Fitch, was in Captain James Moore's company of 
the Bedford militia and the Concord and Lexington 
fight April 19, 1775, with the British force of eight 
hundred troops sent from Boston to seize some 
military stores. In the battle the English lost two 
hundred and seventy-three soldiers and the Ameri- 
cans less than one hundred. The British com- 
mander, Major Pitcairn, was mortally wounded, and 
soon after died in the Province Tavern, which stood 
on the west side of Washington street, Boston, nearly 
opposite the Old South Church. 

In youth Benjamin Wheeler lived with his oldest 
sister, Lydia, who married Benjamin Winship, of 
Lexington, jNIassachusetts, and was there at the time 
and a witness of that battle, during which a British 
soldier came into their shay-house, and finding a 
halter there committed suicide by hanging himself. 
Between one hundred and forty and one hundred and 
fifty British soldiers committed suicide during the 
Revolution. 

During his early manhood he lived in Bedford, 
Massachusetts, working on the farm and in the old 
grist mill on the Shawsheen river, owned and car- 
ried on by his father-in-law, David Fitch, and while 
in his employment he learned the business of miller 
and farming, also habits of industry, thrift and 
good morals. This homestead and mill privilege, 
owned and occupied by succeeding generations of 



the Fitch families for one hundred and seventy- 
five years, was recently sold. After reaching the 
age of some twenty-five years he married Polly, 
oldest daughter of David Fitch and Mary Fowle, 
and moved to Woburn, Massachusetts, in 1794, and 
leased the farm of Squire Jonathan Simpson for 
the term of three years, where his son Benjamin 
Jr., the father of the writer of this sketch, was 
born. 

On April i, 1798, he, in company with Na- 
thaniel Wyman, leased for one year the grist mill 
and farm of one hundred and thirty acres of Dun- 
can Ingraham, commonlj' known as the Belknap 
farm, where his daughter, Mary Fitch Wheeler, 
was born. On April 7, 1800, he leased the farm of 
Samuel Carter in Lincoln, Massachusetts. On Oc- 
tober 24, 1801, he came to Concord, New Hampshire, 
and purchased a farm of thirty-four acres with 
buildings, for the sum of five hundred dollars, of 
Ebenezer Dustin, known as the Jacob Towle place. 
It was occupied at this time by Moses Noyes, a 
revolutionary soldier. He moved to this place, now 
known as "Wheeler's Corner," South street, early 
in the year 1802, bringing with him his efifects on 
an ox-wagon built in Lexington, Massachusetts, by 
the grandfather of the late Alajor Lewis Downing. 
There were additions made to the original purchase 
by himself a<id son Benjamin, Jr., so that at the 
time of his death iii 1848 there were one hundred 
acres in one body, excepting the passage of South 
street through it. Besides, they owned some seventy 
acres of wood and timber land in the nearby town 
of Bow. This old homestead, with two additional 
sets of buildings and about thirty acres of adjoining 
land, are now owned by his grandson, Giles Wheeler. 
The children of Benjamin and Polly (Fitch) 
Wheeler were: i. Benjamin Wheeler, Jr., born 
November 26, 1795; see forward. 2. Mary Fitch, 
born June 6, 1799, Woburn; died January 13, 1852, 
Concord, New Hampshire ; baptized October 23, 
1842, by Rev. E. E. Cummings ; admitted to First 
Baptist Church, Concord. 

(VII) Benjamin (2) Wheeler, son of Benjamin 
(1) and Polly (Fitch) Wheeler, was born November 
26, 1795, in Woburn, Massachusetts ; married, Sep- 
tember 18, 1828, Eliza Ordway, born December li, 
1808, in Haverhill, Massachusetts. He died June 
4, 1870. She died September 11, 1881. in Concord, 
New Hampshire. He was drafted in the war of , 
1812, but his father could not well spare him from 
the farm, and provided a substitute. He served in 
the state militia, Sixth Company, Eleventh Regi- 
ment, Third Brigade ; appointed ensign October 10, 
1826; promoted to first lieutenant, July 21, 1827; 
promoted to captain, August 31, 1832; discharged 
March 31, 1834. Like all other children of his 
day, he had small advantages for schooling. The 
school where he attended was just south of and near 
the Orphans' Home of St. Paul's School, about two 
and a half miles distant from his home. Both were 
baptized: his wife October 2, 1842; he died Oc- 
tober 16, 1842. Received into the First Baptist 
Church, Concord, October 23, 1842, under the minis- 
trations of the late Rev. Ebenezer E. Cummings, 

D. D. The children of Benjamin (2) Wheeler and 
Eliza Ordway were : 

(VIII) John Clement Wheeler, born October 
II, 1829, died April 21, 1S94, on the old home- 
stead at "Wheeler's Corner," Concord, New Hamp- 
shire, unmarried. He lived here nearly his entire 
life engaged in farming. In early manhood he 
was more or less employed as a stone-setter on the 
bridge piers on Merrimack river, and was for a 
time employed on the United States General Post- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1613 



office,, Washington, D. C. He was named for his 
(step) grandfather John Clement, a revolutionary 
soldier from Salem, New Hampshire. 

(VHI) Giles Wheeler, born August 7, 1S34; 
married, January 30, 1858, Sarah W. Abbott, born 
October 18, 1835. She died December i, 1902. She 
was the daughter of Charles Abbott and his wife 
Sarah R. Carter, both being descendants of emi- 
grants who settled in Concord in 1727 — Nathaniel 
Abbott and Ephraim Carter, prominent in town 
affairs in their day and generation. No better 
woman ever lived than Sarah W. Abbott Wheeler. 

Giles Wheeler lived on the old homestead at 
"Wheeler's Corner" until twenty years of age, at- 
tending school in winter terms of some ten or twelve 
weeks each, in the little red school house eighteen 
by twenty feet, generally known as the "Iron Works" 
district, but officially in the town district system as 
district No. 18; and in addition to that attended two 
terms of a private school kept in town, one 'term 
kept by Professor Hall Roberts, in the Athenian 
Hall, and one term by Rev. George S. Barnes, in 
the Natural Historical Hall. On leaving this school, 
May 7, 1853, he began learning the carpenter's 
trade, serving three years with Colby & Dow. On 
completion of this term of service he took the 
contract to build the present "Iron Works" school 
house for the sum of seven hundred and twenty- 
five dollars, and continued work at his trade until 
1861, when he went to Plymouth, Massachusetts, 
to superintend a manufacturing business, remain- 
ing there three years. While there he was drafted 
for military service in the civil war, in both Con- 
cord, New Hampshire, and Plymouth, Massachu- 
setts, under the same call for recruits. Having no 
taste for roosting on the fence or sleeping on 
plowed ground, he procured a substitute, a Yankee, 
William Gilson, a native of Pelham, New Hanip- 
shire, who had already been in the army for nine 
months, who was ready and willing to rough it 
again; took his place, fought, bled and died vicari- 
ously for his principal. 

Returning to Concord, January 2, 1864, he re- 
sumed work at his trade, and in 1865 and 1866 
built his present residence, where he ever after 
lived. He was engaged in the lumbering business 
with Mark T. Ladd two years, and in October, 
1873, went into the office of Edward Dow, architect; 
continued in the business with him until the summer 
of 1885, when he received the appointment of superin- 
tendent of construction for the erection of the 
Concord post office and United States court house. 
After its completion he continued as building agent 
and superintendent of the high school house on 
School street, the Kimball and Franklin school 
houses, Margaret Pillsbury hospital, State Library 
building. Soldiers' Memorial Arch, and several 
business blocks on Main street, and occasionally 
making plans for buildings. He has held commis- 
sions as justice of the peace for some thirty years, 
and has been a member of the police commission 
of Concord from the beginning, and serving as clerk 
of the board ; has attended every meeting of the 
board to date (1907). He has also served as 
administrator and executor in the settlement of 
many estates. He has been nominated for every po- 
litical office in his ward, also for mayor and state 
senator, but 'being a "wicked Democrat," has for- 
tunately always escaped an election. He is also the 
compiler of these genealogies and historical sketches, 
and the last living descendant of Daniel Wheeler, 
Sr., bearing the name of Wheeler, and has no 
descendants. 

(VIII) Isaac Fitch Wheeler, born April 18, 



1836; married, December 8, 1867, Harriet E. Ordway. 
He died March 24, 1902. His wife died June 8, 
1907. His middle name was from his grandmother's 
people, the Fitches of Bedford, Massachusetts. His 
entire life was that of a quiet, unobtrusive, unevent- 
ful, industrious farmer, and was spent on the old 
homestead at "Wheeler's Corner." He lived at 
peace with all the world, owing no man anything, 
and died very suddenly of apoplexy in his own 
home. Universally lamented, he left behind him 

" Far worthier things than tears — 

The love of friends , without a single foe, 
God's finger touched him and he slept, 

Oh friend, say not good night. 
But on some brighter shore bid us good morning." 

(VIII) Albert Francis Wheeler, born March 
IS, 1839; died October 29, 1844. 

(V) Thaddeus, youngest child of James and 
Mary Wheeler, was born December 16, 1742, in 
Bedford, Massachusetts, and was a pioneer settler 
of Hollis, New Hampshire, where he was a farmer. 
He was married in that town October 17, 1769, 
to Elizabeth Farner, and their children were : 
Elizabeth, Thaddeus, Minot, Theodore, Amos, 
James and Benjamin. 

(VI) Minot, second son and third child of 
Thaddeus and Elizabeth (Farner) Wheeler, was 
born May 16, 1777, in Hollis, and settled about 
the beginning of the nineteenth century in Royalton, 
Vermont, where he was for many years an inn 
keeper. He was married, April 28, 1800, in Brook- 
line, New Hampshire, to Sarah Farley, who_ was 
born June 3, 1781, in Brookline, being a twin of 
Elizabeth. She was a daughter of Benjamin and 
Lucy Farley, and granddaughter of Samuel and 
Hannah Farley, pioneer settlers of Hollis. Benja- 
min Farley was born March 11, 1756, in Hollis. 
Minot and Sarah (Farley) Wheeler were the parents 
of ten children. 

(VII) Howe, son of I\Iinot and Sarah (Farley) 
Wheeler, was born and reared in Royalton, Ver- 
mont, at a period when the country was new and 
the sorrowful experiences of the Revolutionary 
days were still fresh in the minds of the people. 
This town was burned and several of its citizens 
massacred by Indians during the Revolution, and the 
wife of Howe Wheeler belonged to one of the 
families that suffered most severely during that 
inhuman disaster. She was Amy Parkhurst, of 
Royalton, and a woman of strongly defined char- 
acter who preserved the New England traditions 
in their strongest form. Mr. Wheeler spent his de- 
clining years in Worcester, Vermont, where he died 
in the winter of 1869-70. 

(VIII) Elisha, son of Howe and Amy (Park- 
hurst) Wheeler, was born in Calais, Vermont. _ He 
was a farmer and at one time resided in Cambridge, 
Massachusetts. He married Elizabeth Cheney, 
daughter of Joseph Cheney, of Bradford, New 
Hampshire, and had a family of nine children, 
five of whom are now living, namely : INIary L., 
widow of George G. Fox, of New Boston. Eliza- 
beth, wife of E. I. Barker, of Nashua. Susannah, 
wife of D. D. Dickey, of Hancock. Nathaniel N., 
who resides in Nashua. William W., also a resi- 
nent of that city. 

(IX) William Wallace, son of Elisha and Eliza- 
beth (Cheney) Wheeler, was born in Cambridge- 
port, Massachusetts, August 4, 1846. His pre- 
liminary studies were pursued in the public schools, 
and he' completed his education at the Francistown 
(New Hampshire) Academy. When eighteen years 
old he entered the employ of D. A. Gregg, of Wilton, 
this state, and subsequently going to Nashua he 



i6i4 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



obtained the position of shipping clerk with Messrs. 
Spaulding and Stearns, flour and grain merchants. 
In 1884 he joined the Nashua police force, and hav- 
ing proved himself a man of unusual ability and 
worth as' well as a most efficient officer, he was 
promoted to the rank of captain during the ad- 
ministration of Mayor John Spalding. He was 
later made deputy marshal and on January i, 1905, 
was advanced to the position of marshal, in which 
capacity he is now serving. As the official head of 
the police force he has not only realized the ex- 
pectations of his personal friends and supporters, 
but is regarded by the citizens in general as an able 
public officer, possVssing a requisite amount of. 
executive ability for any emergency which may 
arise, and his efforts in preserving the customary 
peace and good order of the city are heartily ap- 
proved and appreciated. In politics Marshal 
Wheeler acts with the Republicans, but is absolutely 
free from partisan prejudice. He is an Odd Fellow, 
affiliating with Granite Lodge, No. i, and in his 
religious belief is a Baptist, being a member of the 
Crown Hill Church. For his first wife he married 
Anna E. Lane, daughter of David C. and Sarah 
(French) Lane, of Meredith, New Hampshire. His 
present wife was before marriage Minnie E. East- 
man, daughter of John and Margaret (Quinlin) 
Iilastman, of Milford. His children, all by his first 
union, are : Lillian, wife of George G. Sadd, of 
Nashua. David S., corresponding clerk for the 
Boston & Maine Railway Company. Harry A., an 
operator in the employ of the Consolidated Wire- 
less Telegraph Company at Atlantic City, New^ 
Jersey. 

(II) John, who may have been a son of George 
Wheeler, was a native of Concord, Massachusetts, 
and passed his life in that town, where he was 
prominent in town afifairs and a deacon of the 
church. He died September 2."], 1713. He was 
married, December 27, 1678, to Sarah Stearns, who 
was born January 14, 1662, daughter of Isaac and 
Sarah (Beers) Stearns, of Lexington. Their chil- 
dren were : Joseph, Ebenezer, Thankful, John, 
Sarah, Abigail, Thomas, Jonathan and Nathan. 

(III) John (2), third son and fourth child of 
John (i) and Sarah (Stearns) Wheeler, was born 
February 6, 1684, in Concord, and continued to re- 
side in that town as late as 1721 ; probably passed 
his entire life there. He was married March 8, 
171 1, to Dorothy Hosmer, of Concord. Their chil- 
dren, born in Concord, were: John, Dorothy (died 
young), Josiah and Dorothy. 

(IV) Josiah, second son and third child of 
John (2) and Dorothy (Hosmer) Wheeler, was 
born .March 29, 1718, in Concord, and lived in 
that town. He was married, February i, 1741, to 
Mary Lee, who was born November 9, 1724, in 
Concord, daughter of Dr. Joseph and Ruth Lee. 
She died INIarch ir, 1799, having survived her hus- 
band, who died about 1790. Their children were : 
Josiah, Nathan, Mary, Anna, Abigail, Hepzibah, 
Dorothy and Thomas. 

(V) Nathan, second son and child of Josiah 
and Mary (Lee) Wheeler, was born January 9, 
1745, in Concord, Massachusetts, and was an early 
settler of Temple. New Hampshire, where he was 
a farmer and died May 7, 1834. He was an active 
member of the church, and served as tything man 
in 1785. Fie married Lydia Adams, who was born 
August 15, 1757, i" New Ipswich, New Flampshire, 
daughter of Ephraim and Lydia (Kinsman) Adams. 
She died in October, 1800. Their children were : 
Nathan, Lydia and Josiah. (Mention of Josiah and 
descendants forms a part of this article.) 



(VI) Nathan (2), eldest child of Nathan (i) 
and Lydia (Adams) Wheeler, was born in Temple, 
October 20, 1781, and died October i, 1881. aged 
one hundred years, lacking twenty days. He was 
a merchant in Lyndeborough and Temple, and a 
leading man in both communities. For many years 
he was a deacon in the Congregational Church ; in 
1815 he was Captain Wheeler; in 1836 Nathan 
Wheeler, Nathaniel Kingsbury and men of that class 
gave character to the "Temple Lyceum and For- 
ensic Society ;" he kept a record of events that was 
of much assistance to a historian of the town of 
Temple in compiling its history ; and was a public 
man whose services were required in town affairs 
of Temple for many years. He served as tything 
man for years, and was moderator fourteen years, 
between 1824 and 1849, inclusive; and was select- 
man in 1844. He married Rachel Cummings, who 
was born in Temple, in 17S4, and died in Temple, 
September i, 1841, aged fifty-seven years. The chil- 
dren of this union were : Nathan C, Ephraim A., 
Luther, George T., Lydia, John, a son died in 
infancy, and Isaiah, whose sketch follows. 

(VII) Isaiah, sixth son and eighth child of 
Nathan (2) and Rachel (Cummings) Wheeler, was 
born in Temple, February 7, 1824. After acquiring 
a practical education in the common schools and 
at the Academy of New Ipswich, he took charge of 
his father's farm 'which he later inherited, and 
taught school winters and engaged in agriculture 
the remainder of the year. There he resided until 
1885, when he removed to Greenville, where he 
now resides. In both Temple and Greenville Mr. 
Wheeler has been a man of influence and has taken 
a part in public affairs and served in the legislature 
as a representative of each town. He is a memiber 
of the Congregational Church, and has served as 
deacon. He has a long and honorable record as 
a citizen, a christian gentleman and a business man. 
He married, in Temple, February 17, 1848, Eliza- 
beth Fisk Gutterson, who was born in Milford, 
April 18, 1823, and died in Greenville, May 21, 
1873. She was the daughter of Josiah and Phebe 
(Buss) Gutterson, of Milford. Four children were 
born of this marriage : Lydia J., died in youth 
Lizzie A. Walter M., who is a fruit grower, and 
resides at Grand. Junction, Colorado. Charles T., 
who resides in Greenville. He married, October 16, 
1894, Lena Kimball, and they have two children : 
Doris and Elsie. 

(VI) Josiah, third and youngest child of Na- 
than and Lydia (Adams) Wheeler, was born in 
Temple, May 11, 1786, and died in Lyndeborough, 
October 4, 1874. He was a cabinet maker by trade, 
and settled in Lyndeborough. Fle was a man who 
took an interest in public afifairs, and was town 
treasurer. He married (first), December 31, 181 1, 
Dolly Shattuck, who was born September i, 1788, 
and died August 14, 1845; (second), April 29, 
1846, Dorothy (Whiting) Killan, who was born 
March 14, 1795, and died December 4, 1870. His 
children, all by the first wife, were : Dolly, who 
married Henry I. Kimball. Lydia, who married T. 
D. Rand. Josiah K., the subject of the next para- 
graph. 

(VII) Josiah Kimball, son of Josiah and Dolly 
(Shattuck) Wheeler, was born in Lyndeborough, 
July 15, 1822, and educated in the common schools 
of Lyndeborough aad at Francestown Academy. At 
the age of twenty-one years he went to Lowell, 
Massachusetts, where he followed the trade of pat- 
tern maker, principally in the employ of the Hamil- 
ton Corporation, cotton goods manufacturers, and 
was with them about ten years. When, having saved 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



i6i 



enough from his earnings to buy a farm, he settled 
in Hudson, where he purchased a farm of one hun- 
dred and thirty acres on which he now resides. 
Although eighty-five years old, Mr. Wheeler is still 
able to look after his farm. He is a Republican, 
and represented Lyndeborough in the New Hamp- 
shire legislature in the early seventies. He married 
(first), November, 1849, Abby Anna Marsh, who 
died June 12, 1S65 ; and (second) Abbie Ann Wil- 
son, December 28, 1865, who was born in New 
Ipswich, July 28, 1836, daughter of Mathias S. and 
Laura (Morgan) Wilson, of New Ipswich. They 
have an adopted daughter, Inez Moffatt, born in 
Monson, Alassachusctts, February 2, 1876, who is 
a music teacher. 

(Second Family.) 

Among the numerous settlers of 
WHEELER this name who located in Concord, 

Massachusetts, in its primitive 
period were several bearing" the name of Thomas 
and also a large number of Johns. All of them 
appeared to be good citizens, so that the descend- 
ants of any may feel proud of their progenitors. 
Captain Thomas Wheeler, of Concord, rendered 
valuable military service to the colony, but appears 
to have left no sons who survived the period of 
youth. The point in England whence these people 
migrated cannot be obtained, and neither can the 
identity of the original ancestor be established. 

(I) Sergeant Thomas Wheeler, sometimes re- 
ferred to as Thomas Wheeler, Senior, probably 
passed his adult life in Concord, Massachusetts. 
His wife's name was Sarah and their children, born 
between 1649 and 1673, were : Sarah, Joseph, Mary 
(died young), Thomas, Ann, ElizalDeth, Timothy, 
Mary, Rebecca and Ruth. 

(II) John, second son and third child of Thomas 
and Sarah Wheeler, was born February 18, 1655, 
in Concord, and there resided and died September 
27, 1713- He was married, December 27, 1678, to 
Sarah Stearns, who was born January 14, 1662, 
daughter of Isaac and Sarah (Beers) Stearns, of 
Lexington. Their children were : Joseph, Eben- 
ezer. Thankful, John, Sarah, Abigail, Thomas, Jona- 
than and Nathan. 

(III) Jonathan, fifth son and eighth child of 
John and Sarah (Stearns) Wheeler, was born April 
19, 1696, in Concord, and lived there until after his 
children were born. About 1745 he removed to 
Sutton, Massachusetts, where "After long weakness 
he died July lo, 1779, aged about 84." His wife's 
name was Sarah and their children were residents 
of Sutton, namely: Rebecca, Sarah, Nathaniel, Han- 
nah, Olive, Jane, Milicent, Jonathan and Abel. 

(IV) Nathaniel, eldest ^on and third child of 
Jonathan and Sarah Wheeler, was born February 
5, 1724, in Concord, and removed in youth to Sutton. 
He lived in that town ten or more years after his 
marriage, and probably died there in 1756. He 
was married in Sutton, December 29, 1748, to Han- 
nah Marsh, who was born October 9, 1729, in 
•Sutton, daughter of John and Abigail Marsh, of 
Bellingham, Massachusetts. Their children were : 
Sarah, John, Nathaniel and Seth. The widow of 
Nathaniel (i) Wheeler married, June 26, 1759) 
Simeon Chamberlain, of Sutton, by whom she had 
three children : Simeon, John and Abigail. She died 
January 8, 1791. 

(V) Nathaniel (2), second son and third child 
of Nathaniel (i) and Hannah (Marsh) Wheeler, 
was born April 10, 1754, in Sutton, Massachusetts, 
and was twenty-two years of age when with his 
younger brother he left the family home in Sutton 



and made his way into the wilderness regions of 
Sullivan countj-. Thy settled in Croydon a little 
more than ten years after the town was chartered 
and less than ten years after the first settlement 
under the charter had been made. By reason of 
his long connection with the church in Croydon 
Nathaniel was known as Deacon Wheeler. He 
married, in 1774, Mehitabel Haven, daughter of 
James Haven, Jr., of Framingham, Massachusetts. 
She was born October 23, 1756, and died March i, 
1831. They had nine children. He died July 2, 
1840, at the age of eighty-seven years. His name 
is mentioned in the Croydon records as a soldier of 
the Revolution, and the church records show that he 
was chiefly instrumental in building the once 
flourishing church at Northville, in the town of 
Newport, of which he was a worthy member and 
deacon for many years. He was decided in his 
religious views, and of his time and means gave 
liberally to the support of the church and the work 
of the gospel. The children were: Hannah, Mehit- 
able, Nathaniel, John, Simeon, Abigail, James, Sarah 
and Anna. 

(V) Deacon Seth, youngest son of Nathaniel 
Wheeler, of Sutton, and brother of Deacon Na- 
thaniel Wheeler, of Croydon, came with his brother 
to the town in 1775 and settled on what in later years 
became known as the M. C. Bartlett farm. He 
afterward located* at Dryden, New York, and died 
there. 

(VI) Colonel Nathaniel (3), son of Deacon 
Nathaniel (2) and Mehitabel (Haven) Wheeler, 
was born May ID, 1781, and died July 13, 1864. He 
married Huldah Whipple, daughter of .\aron 
Whipple, and granddaughter of Moses Whipple, the 
latter of whom was born in Grafton, Massachusetts, 
and came to Croydon in 1766, with his three sons — - 
Thomas, Aaron and Moses, and one daughter, 
Jerusha. He was one of the first three settlers in 
Croydon. Huldah (Whipple) Wheeler died in 1833, 
leaving seven children, and after her death Colonel 
Wheeler married Lucy F. Freeman, of Lebanon, 
New Hampshire, whom he survived only a short 
time. There were no children of his second mar- 
riage. Colonel Wheeler's farming operations were 
extensive and his lands and stock always were well 
cared for and in good condition. For many years 
he kept one of the largest and best dairies in the 
town, which was noted for the number and quality 
of its dairying interests. He took an active part 
in military and political affairs, and in the war 
of 1812 was the first man in the town to volunteer 
as a private, although at that time he held a com- 
mission. In the state militia he was subjected to 
successive promotion until he had in 1817 obtained 
the colonelcy of the Thirty-first New Hampshire 
Regiment. He was first elected selectman of 
Croydon in 1815 and served in that office eight years, 
and in 1816 he represented his town in the general 
assembly. For more than fifty years he was a 
Free and Accepted Mason. He had lived at Lebanon, 
New Hampshire, several years after retiring from 
active pursuits and died in that town. Colonel 
Wheeler's seven children were : Grisvvold W., Anna, 
William P., Edmund, Morrill, John and Lucy P. 

(VII) Griswold Whipple, eldest son of Colonel 
Nathaniel and Huldah (Whipple) Wheeler, was 
born in Croydon, New Flampshire, February 22, 
1808, and died June 7, 1865. He was educated at 
Kimball Union Academy, studied medicine with Dr. 
Willard P. Gibson, of Newport, New Hampshire, 
and graduated from the medical department of Dart- 
mouth L'niversitv with the degree of M. D. After 



i6i6 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



spending about one year at Hopkinton, New Hamp- 
shire, and a year at Covington, Kentucky, he settled 
at Perryville, the county seat of Perry county, 
Missouri, and for the next twenty-five years was the 
leading man of his profession in all that region. 
While attending to his professional duties he found 
time to master the German and French languages, 
and gave much attention to the natural sciences, 
especially chemistry, geologj^ and botany, to which 
he was passionately devoted. His clear and logical 
mind and love of study and observation, combined 
with his great industry, gave him a high standing 
as a professional and scientific man. His attachment 
to country life was so strong that no inducement 
could prevail upon him to remove to the city, and he 
declined a professorship in the St. Louis jMedical 
College. Dr. Wheeler never married. A large share 
of his time and of his earnings was devoted to deeds 
of benevolence. 

(VH) William Plummer, son of Colonel Na- 
thaniel and Huldah (Whipple) Wheeler, was born 
in Croydon, New Hampshire, July 31, 1812, and 
died JNlay 10, 1876. He lived at home on the Wheeler 
farm in the south part of the town until he was 
about thirteen years old, and then went to live with 
his uncle, James Wheeler, in Newport. He re- 
mained there until about 1836, and after the death 
of his uncle was for a time engaged in business as 
a harness maker. He pursued kis studies in the 
academy at Newport and afterward attended Kim- 
ball Union Academy, remaining there about three 
years, then took up the study of law, first at Keene, 
New Hampshire, later at Harvard Law School, and 
still later in Boston, Massachusetts. In 1842 he 
was admitted to practice in the courts of New 
Hampshire, and soon afterward opened an office 
for general practice in Keene. He was a member of 
the Cheshire county bar until the time of his death. 
He was solicitor for Cheshire county ten years, 
and in 185 1 was appointed justice of the court of 
common pleas, which he declined, and afterward 
was several times offered a seat on the bench of 
the supreme court, which honor he as often declined, 
preferring the general practice of the courts. In 1855 
and again in 1857 he was a candidate for congress 
in the third district of New Hampshire. He was a 
trustee of the State Reform School and also of the 
State Agricultural College. In the latter institution 
he took a deep interest, and it was largely through 
his efforts that that institution was located at 
Hanover and made a department of Dartmouth 
University. At the time of his death Mr. Wheeler 
was president of the Keene Savings Bank, and was 
prominent among those who organized the Protes- 
tant Episcopal Church of Keene. He received the 
degree of A. M. from Dartmouth in 1842, and the 
honorary degree of LL. D. from Harvard University 
in 1850. He married, November 19, 1849, Sarah 
D. Moulton, of Randolph, Vermont, born RIarch 4, 
1825. Their children were Alice and William 
Wheeler. 

(VII) Edmund, third son of Colonel Nathaniel 
(3) and Huldah (Whipple) Wheeler, was born in 
Croydon, New Hampshire, August 28, 1814, and 
died in Newport, New Hampshire, August 21, 
1897. His education was acquired at Kimball Union 
Academy, and in 1833, after leaving school, he 
went from Croydon to Newport, where he entered 
the employ of his brother William who was a 
harness maker and dealer in saddlery. After six 
years of this association William sold his interest in 
the business to his brother and turned his attention 
to the profession of law; and Edmund from 1839 



to 1866 carried on the business alone, and in 
partnership association with Granville Pollard, until 
1866, and then retired to devote his attention to 
literary pursuits. In 1867 he published the "Croydon 
Centennial," a work of nearly two hundred pages 
including a short history of the town of Croydon, 
its settlers and its centennial celebration. In 1878 
he issued his "History of Newport," a six hundred 
page volume in which is reviewed the history of 
that town from the time of its settlement in 1766 
to the year of publication, with an appendix of valu- 
able genealogical records. In 1870 and 1871 Mr. 
Wheeler was contributor to the Granite State 
Journal and Aurora of the Valley, and in 1872 a 
regular contributor to the columns of the Boston 
Advertiser. In this connection it is interesting to 
note that in 1878 a large number of citizens of 
Croydon, his native town, entered Mr. VVheeJer's 
residence in Newport, and with speeches and other 
ceremonies appropriate to the occasion, presented 
him with an elegant gold-headed cane as a token of 
respect and an appreciation of his services as the 
historian of that town. 

For many years Mr. Wheeler was' a conspicuous 
figure in the political history of Sullivan county, 
and incidentally of the state of New Hampshire. 
At one time he was an adjutant in the state militia, 
and for two years a member of the staff of Gov- 
ernor Williams. He took an active interest in the 
movement to maintain the old state militia system, 
which was abandoned just before the outbreak of 
the Civil war. He was a member of the state legis- 
lature in 1851 and again in 1852. During the session 
of the year last mentioned he was chairman of 
the committee on incorporations and a member 
of several important special committees, and also 
took an active part in the discussion of all leading 
measures before the house. In 1863-64 he was a 
candidate for the office of county treasurer, and in 
1878 a candidate for a seat in the state senate. 
Locally he was a director of the Sugar River Bank 
and of the First National Bank of Newport, an 
earnest friend of education and a firm advocate of 
the union of the Newport village schools under a 
single head. He was a member of the board of 
the Union School District several years after its 
organization in 1874, and later on was president of 
the Newport board of education, and for years a 
member of its school board. The formation of the 
district suggested by him the new town hall ot 
1872 ; he also originated from material removed in 
erecting "Wheeler's Block" in 1S58-59, a better- 
ment of the village sidewalks, and' suggested the 
naming of the village streets in 1875 by a com- 
mittee of which he was a member, and the improve- 
ment made in the original cemetery of the town 
by James Buell. Many of the leading incidents in 
the literary, political and social life of Newport, 
though carried into effect largely by others, found 
their inception in him. Pie gave largely to the intro- 
duction of the telegraph and railroad to the town, 
and to industrial and other enterprises intended foe 
its welfare. He was one of the board of trustees 
of the Newport Savings Bank. 

Mr. Wheeler married (first), September 21, 1851, 
Susan Chittenden Rossiter, of Claremont, New 
Hampshire, born May 2, 1819, died March 2, 1856, 
daughter of Sherman and Olive (Baldwin) Rossiter, 
of Claremont (see Rossiter). ]\Iarried (second), 
June 25, 1863, Augusta L. Sawyer (see Sawyer), 
born August 31, 1839, died March 25, 1886, daugh- 
ter of Joseph Sawyer, Jr., of Newport, New Hamp- 
shire. Bv his first marriage Mr. Wheeler had one 




-ir 





'^>t. 






^^^^-^^^^^ 




NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1617 



son, George Baldwin, born Newport, February 
4, 1854, a practical printer and newspaper man, 
now one of the publishers of the Neiv Hampshire 
Argus and Spectator. By his second marriage Mr. 
Wheeler had two daughters, Grace, born November 
ID, 1867, died December 28, 1870, and Anna L., 
March 8, 1872, died August 5, 1872. 



is an ancient occupative surname 

WHEELER corresponding to wheelwright, and 

designated the person who made 

wheels. Its use as a surname probably dates from 

the fifteenth century, perhaps earlier. 

(I) Whitcher Wheeler was born about 1774, 
probably in Goffstown, where he was a farmer. He 
married Lydia Cheney, and they had nine children : 
Joseph, Sallie, Lydia, Dolly, Susan, Jane, Lavinia, 
Betsey and George W., whose sketch follows. 

(H) George Washington Wheeler was born in 
Goffstown, where he acquired the schooling then 
and there furnished in the common schools. When 
a young man he went to Bow where he resided for 
the remainder of his life, and pursued the voca- 
tions of' carpenter and farmer. When twenty-eight 
years old he built the Methodist Church at Bow 
Bogg, which is still standing. He married Betsey 
Morgan, a native of Bow, and they had twelve chil- 
dren : John, Daniel, Allen, Jesse, Cyrus C, Eli, 
Susan M., Rufus H., Oliver, Wesley L., Ann and 
Asenath. The first four were born in Dunbarton, 
the next three in Goffstown, and the others in Bow. 

(HI) Cyrus Colby, fifth son and child of 
George W. and Betsey (iMorgan) Wheeler, was 
born July 6, 1839, in Dunbarton, and educated in 
the public schools of Bow. When a young man 
he joined his brothers, Rufus H. and Oliver, who 
had preceded him, and engaged in the general mer- 
chandise business in Shelly, Michigan. In 1849 
he gave up that employment and returned to Bow 
and bought a farm of seventy acres which he still 
resides upon, and is engaged in raising various 
kinds of fruit for market. He is a Republican in 
politics, and has served three years since 1898 as 
selectman, one year as chairman. He is a member 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He married 
Myra Julette, and they have one child, Florence, 
born February 24, 1874. She married Samuel Sar- 
gent and lives in Bow (see Sargent, IX). 

(Ill) Wesley Luther, tenth child and seventh 
son of George W. and Betsey (Morgan) Wheeler, 
was born in Bow, December 3, 1849. He attended 
school in Bow, and at Pembroke Academy. His 
whole life has been spent in Bow, residing on a 
farm of three hundred acres near Bow Centre, 
where he was engaged until 1905, then moving to 
Bow Mills, where he has since lived, directing the 
cultivation of his farm from there. Besides at- 
tending to his agricultural tasks he has done team- 
ing and at different times has worked about saw 
mills. Since his removal to Bow Mills his sister 
Susan M. has resided with him. Mr. Wheeler is 
a man of sterling character and progressive ideas, 
a good farmer and reputable citizen. He is a mem- 
ber of Bow Grange, No. 189, and of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. 



roll of Captain Stephen Parker's company, in 
Colonel Moses Nichol's regiment, and General 
Stark's brigade of New Hampshire militia, which 
company marched from New Ipswich (and joined 
the Continental army under General Gates at Still- 
water) July 19, 1777. This company was actively 
engaged throughout the day at the battle of Ben- 
nington, August 17, of the same year. 

(II) George W., son of Samuel Wheeler, was 
born in New Ipswich, April 8, 1812, and died Janu- 
ary 30, 1891, aged seventy-nine years. He was a 
farmer, and devoted considerable attention to dairy- 
ing, supplying a milk route for fifty years. He was 
also engaged in the manufacture of potash. He 
married, December 4, 1834. Elvira Blanchard, who 
was born in New Ipswich, July 21, 1814, and died 
there January 3, 1876, aged sixty-two years, daughter 
of Levi and Hannah (Blanchard) Blanchard. Two 
children were born of this union : Clara E., who 
married George T. Raymond, now a resident of 
Florida ; and George S., whose sketch follows. 

(III) George Samuel, only son of George W. 
and Elvira (Blanchard) Wheeler, was born in New 
Ipswich, April 30, 1840. His education was ob- 
tained in the common schools of the locality and 
New Ipswich Appleton Academy. On the death 
of his father he became the possessor of the old 
homestead where he makes a specialty of raising 
poultry and bees, and is also engaged in the milk 
business. He has made farming profitable, and in 
addition to his New Hampshire farm has an orange 
grove in southern Florida where he spends his 
winters. 



This family name is not among 
WHEELER those of the grantees of New Ips- 
wich, 1749, nor on the ministers' 
rate for the year 1763, yet in 1774 the list of taxpay- 
ers shows the names of John Wheeler. Jonas 
Wheeler, Jonas Wheeler, Jr., and Seth Wheeler. 
(I) Samuel Wheeler was a private on the pay 



Several families of this name settled 

WHEELER in New Ipswich, some before the 

Revolution, and others at later 

periods. Those who first made their homes here 

were probably of the same family stock. 

(I) Richard (2), son of Richard (i) Wheeler, 
was born about 1792 in New Ipswich, and died 1882, 
aged ninety years. He was a thrifty tiller of the 
soil, a member of the Congregational Church, and 
a man of influence in his neighborhood. He mar- 
ried Rebecca Wilson, died 1882, daughter of Supply 
and Susannah (Cutter) Wilson, of New Ipswich. 
Her father was born in Woburn, Massachusetts, in 
1750, and in 1769 settled in New Ipswich, where in 
1777 he married the widow of John Cutter. Seven 
children were born of this union; sons were: Jo- 
seph A., Augustus C, Charles and George H. 

(II) Charles, son of Richard (2) and Rebecca 
(Wilson) Wheeler, was born in New Ipswich, Oc- 
tober 27, 1832. He grew up on his father's farm, 
and resided there until he was twenty-five years 
of age. He then commenced to operate a saw and 
grist mill on the branch of the Souhegan river, 
which he has ever since continuously carried on. 
Since 18 — his two sons, Charles and Edward, have 
been associated with him in the business. He also 
cultivates a farm. Mr. Wheeler is a man of plea- 
sant address, has always been highly respected 
in the community in which he has spent his entire 
life, and has been honored with various official po- 
sitions. For twenty-four years he has been a mem- 
ber of the Congregational Church, and ten years of 
that time he has been one of its deacons. He was 
first elected selectman in 1866 and between that 
time and the present (1907) has filled that office 
seventeen years. He was elected to the legislature 
in 1881 and in 1901. 

He married, August 20, 1862, Nellie E. Shepperd, 
who was born in Worcester, Massachusetts, daugh- 



i6i8 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ter of Hiram, Jr., and Elizabeth Shepherd. Two 
children were born of this union : Charles S. and 
Edward R. 



The Gove family was very early in New 
GOVE Hampshire, being located at Hampton, 

and was subsequently numerously rep- 
resented in the town of Weare. It was first planted 
in Massachusetts, and has supplied many useful 
citizens of this and other states, the descendants 
of those residing in New Hampshire, being widely 
scattered throughout the country by this time. Its 
associations are honorable and its record worthy 
of emulation. It is an ancient name, being found 
in the state papers in London as early as 1541, and 
is common in some parts of England at the present 
time. 

(I) The American founder of the family, John 
Gove, was born, 1601, in England, and was an early 
resident of Charlestown, Massachusetts, arriving 
there some time before April 28, 1646. His wife 
Sarah was also born in 1601, and accompanied him. 
He was a dealer and worker in brass, as appears 
by his will and schedule of personal property. He 
must have died in middle life, as his wife subse- 
quently married John Mansfield and removed to 
Lynn, Massachusetts, where he died. She died in 
Hampton, New Hampshire, March 4, 1681, aged 
eighty years. Her children were : John, Edward 
and Mary. 

(II) Edward, second son of John and Mary 
Gove, was born in England in 1630, and came with 
his parents to Massachusetts. He resided in Salis- 
bury, Massachusetts, as early as 1657, and pur- 
chased a right of commonage there. He sold his 
land and settled in Hampton, New Hampshire, in 
1665. and was a prominent citizen of that town. 
In 1683 he was a member of the assembly which 
was dissolved by Governor Cramfield. The disso- 
lution of the assembly created much resentment 
among the the people of New Hampshire, and Gove 
headed a movement to overthrow the government. 
This he surrendered without bloodshed, and with 
ten others, including his son John, was tried for 
treason and convicted. He received a sentence of 
death, and his estate was seized as forfeit to the 
crown, the others being pardoned. Gove was sent 
to England, and was kept a prisoner for three years 
in the Tower of London, after which he was par- 
doned and his estate restored to him in 1686. He 
was the progenitor of a numerous family. He was 
married, about 1660, to Hannah, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Johanna (Bartlett) Titcomb, of Newbury, 
Massachusetts, formerly of North Banks, England. 
He resided in Salisbury, Massachusetts, as early as 
1657, when he bought a right of commonage there. 
He sold land there in 1665, and moved to Hampton, 
New Hampshire. In March, 1665, while still liv- 
ing in Salisbury, he bought of Eliakim Wardwell a 
dwelling house and about thirty acres of land in 
Hampton, "with one share in the Cowc Comons," 
also a .grant of fourscore acres of land at the New 
Plantation, with the privileges thereto belonging. 
He died. May 21, 1691. His children were: John. 
William, Hannah, Mar>', Abial, Penuel, Abigail, Eb- 
enezer, Edward, Jeremiah, Rachel, Ann and Sarah. 
(Ebenezer and descendants receive extended men- 
tion in this article). 

(III) John (2), eldest child of Edward and 
Hannah (Titcomb) Gove, was born September 19. 
t66i, in Salisbury, Massachusetts, and died in 
Hampton about 1737. He was a joiner by trade, 
and was among the petitioners for a church and 
school to be established at Hampton Falls, soon af- 



ter the settlement of that parish. He Was among 
those convicted of treason on account of the Gove 
Rebellion, and subsequently pardoned and restored 
to citizenship, in April, 1686. He settled in Sea- 
brook. The Christian name of iiis wife was Sarah, 
and their children were : Mary, John, Hannah, 
Jonathan and Sarah. 

(IV) John (3), eldest son of John (2) and 
Sarah Gove, was born May 29, 1689, in Hampton 
Falls, and died March 23, 1759. He was married, 
March 24, 1720, to Ruth, second daughter of Ed- 
mund and Abigail (Green) Johnson. She was born 
February 24, 1695, and died in 1737, in Hampton 
Falls. Their children were : Edward, Daniel, Oba- 
diah, Ruth, Jonathan, David and Patience. Ed- 
ward and Daniel settled in Seabrook. Obadiah in 
Kingston, and Jonathan and David are supposed 
to have settled in Enfield, New Hampshire. (Oba- 
diah and David and descendants receive notice in 
this article). 

(V) Daniel, second son and child of John (3) 
and Ruth (Johnson) Gove, was born May 8, 1722, 
in Hampton, and lived in that part of the town now 
Seabrook. He died there August 23, 1761, aged 
thirty-nine years. He married Rebecca Hunt, and 
their children were : Stephen, Daniel, Johnson 
(died young), David, Johnson and Edmond. 

(VI) Daniel (2). second son and child of Dan- 
iel (i) and Rebecca- (Hunt) Gove, was born March 
3, 1749, in Hampton. He came to Weare in 1773 
and began to clear lands for the preparation of a 
farm. He spent two summers here, and in the 
spring of the third year removed to Weare, where 
he lived the remainder of his life. He died in 1786. 
His house was built on the hill east of the Friends 
meeting house, on lot 32. He married Miriam 
Cartland. Their children were : Moses, Levi, Ly- 
dia, Eunice, Daniel Peletiah, Joseph, Enoch and Mi- 
riam. 

(VII) Daniel (3), third son and fifth child of 
Daniel (2) and Miriam (Cartland) Gove, was born 
April 12. 1783, in Weare, and passed his life in that 
town. He lived for some time at Clinton Grove, 
and afterwards on lot T2 in range 2. He was a 
tanner and shoemaker by occupation. He died 
April 25, 1869. He married Elizabeth Paige, daugh- 
ter of Eliphalet and Rachel (Chase) Paige of 
Weare. She was born in 1788, and died 1874. 
Their children were : Eliza, Paige E., Richard and 
Alvah. 

(VIII) Paige Enoch, eldest son and second 
child of Daniel (3) and Elizabeth (Paige) Gove, 
was born Febru^iry 2Z, 1818, in Weare, where he 
passed his life. He was an attendant at the common 
schools of his town, afterwards attended the 
Friends' School at Providence, Rhode Island, from 
which he was graduated and he early began the 
trade of shoemaker from his father. For some 
years he worked at this in Weare, then went to 
Ljmn, Massachusetts, where he was employed in a 
shocshop, continuing for several years. He re- 
turned to Weare and engaged in farming, and also 
continued work at his trade for intervals, and so 
continued until his death, which occurred August 
24, 1893, in Manchester. He was an earnest Re- 
publican, and held several minor town offices. He 
married ffirst) Clarissa Twiss, (second), Mary P. 
Peaslee, and (third), Harriet Moody. His first 
wife was the mother of two daughters : Angeline 
E., who became the wife of Augustus W. Collins, 
of Weare, and Abbie E., who died young. The 
children of the second wife were : Edwin, (died 
young). Clara .V., became the wife of Charles 
Pike, of Lowell, Massachusetts ; died November 21, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1619 



1903 ; one son who died at the age of twenty years. 
Daniel N., who receives further mention below. 
Almena M., married Elbridge Peaslee, of Weare. 
Freeman P., who resided iri Manchester till time of 
his death, March, 1907. 

(IX) Daniel Norris, second son and fourth child 
of Paige E. Gove, and third child of Mary (Peas- 
lee) Gove, was born August 6, 1854, in Weare, and 
passed his early years in that town. He attended 
the district school adjacent to his home and Clinton 
Grove Academy. On leaving school he worked one 
year in a wood turning shop in Gardner, Maine, 
and subsequently removed to Lowell, Massachu- 
setts, where he was employed for one year as a 
clerk in a dry goods store. He removed thence to 
Manchester. New Hampshire, where he entered 
the employ of Holton & Sprague, afterward Charles 
F. Sprague, dry goods dealers, and continued sev- 
eral years with them. Finding the confinement of 
the business detrimental to his health, he left the 
store and established a livery boarding stable, which 
he has ever since conducted with success. Like 
his ancestors he is an earnest supporter of the Re- 
publican principles. He is a member of the Queen 
City Lodge, Knights of Pythias, of Manchester, of 
the Royal Arcanum, Ancient Order United Work- 
men, Workmen's Benefit Association, and the New 
England Order of Pilgrims. He is also a member 
of Ihe First Congregational Church at Manchester. 
He was married, January 2, 1878, to Susan M. 
Downing, who was born March 29, 1855, in Weare, 
daughter of Oscar and Susan (Cochran) Downing, 
of that town. She died December 23, 1904, leaving 
a daughter, Clara May Gove, who was born Decem- 
ber 10, 1878, in Weare, and resides with her father. 
She was graduated from Manchester high school, 
class '98. For the past four years she has been di- 
rectress of sewing in the public schools of Worces- 
ter, Massachusetts, with three assistants. When not 
engaged in teaching she resides with her father in 
Manchester. She is also a member of the First 
Congregational Church of Manchester. 

(V) Obadiah, third son of John and Ruth 
(Johnson) Gove, married Mary Dow and had 
children. 

(VI) Elijah, son of Obadiah and Mary (Dow) 
Gove, married Swan Jewell and had children. 

(VII) Daniel, son of Elijah and Swan (Jewell) 
Gove, married Anna Davis and had children. 

(VIII) Levi, son of Daniel and Anna (Davis) 
Gove, married Mary Rand. Levi was born in the 
town of Gilford, New Hampshire, August 15, 1824, 
received his education in the town schools and 
afterward made farming his life occupation. In 
politics he was a Democrat. He married Mary 
Rand, September 2, 1855. They had children. 

(IX) Ansel Fred, son of Levi and Mary (Rand) 
Gove, was born in the town of Gilford, January 
21, 1S66, and was educated in the public schools 
and New Hampton Business College, graduating 
from the latter institution. In business life he has 
followed the example of his ancestors and is a 
farmer, cattle raiser and lumber dealer, and his 
efforts have been rewarded with gratifying success. 
He is past master of Mt. Belknap Grange, No. 52, 
Patrons of Husbandrj'-, and a member of Chocoma 
Lodge, No. 5, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
Lakeport, and has served continuously as select- 
man of Gilford since 1902, being now chairman of 
the board. On October 31. 1893, he married Julia 
A. Weeks, a popular teacher, daughter of William 
H. and Mary I. (Potter) Weeks, who came of an 

iv — 24 



old Gilford family and one of the respected fami- 
lies of New England. 

(IX) Charles H., son of Levi and Mary (Rand) 
Gove, was born in Gilford, New Hampshire, May 
14, 1859, and was educated in the common schools 
of that town. After leaving school and in the 
year 1887 he started a general blacksmithing and re- 
pair shop in Gilford, and in connection therewith 
has built up a successful business in the manufac- 
ture of wagons, carts, sleighs, etc. He married, 
February 2. 1S84, Ora A. Sawyer, daughter of Levi 
D. and Mary A. (Dane) Sawyer. Mr. and" Mrs. 
Gove have one child, Willis A. Gove, born May 
22, 1888. 

(V) David, son of John (2) and Ruth (John- 
son) Gove, was born May 10, 1731, in Hampton 
Falls, in which town he resided for a time. He re- 
moved to Seabrook, and from there in the spring 
of 1781 to Weare, New Hampshire, where he died 
February 4, 1799. He was married, December 21, 
1757. to IMartha, daughter of Nathan Hoag, of New- 
ton, Massachusetts. His widow survived him 
nearly thirty years, dying January 4, 1829, aged 
ninety-one years. Their children were Hannah, 
Abigail and Josiah. The first married David 
Green and the second Elisha Green, and all resided 
in Weare. 

(VI) Josiah, only son of David and Martha 
(Hoag) Gove, was born June 2"], 1773, in Sea- 
brook, New Hampshire, and removed with his par- 
ents before he was eight years old to Weare, where 
he grew up. He settled on the west side of lot 
30 in the Middle Range, on part of his father's 
homestead, which has continued in the family al- 
most uninterruptedly to the present day, and is 
now owned by a prominent attorney of the name 
residing in Boston. He was married, December 5, 
1799, to Rebecca, daughter of Ebenezer and Mary 
(Green) Breed, of Lynn, Massachusetts, and Ken- 
sington, New 'Hampshire, respectively. She was 
born November 20, 1777, in Weare, and died Au- 
gust 19, 1866. in her eighty-ninth year. Mr. Gove 
died May 18, 1850. Their children were: Albert, 
Ira, Otis, William and George. The first resided 
in Lynn, Massachusetts, and died there. The sec- 
ond is_ the subject of the succeeding paragraph. 
The third died at the age of thirty years, in Weare. 
William was employed about thirty years in the 
pension office at Washington, District of (Colum- 
bia, where he died. George died at the age of 
thirty years. 

(VII) Ira, second son of Josiah and Rebecca 
(Breed) Gove, was born July 4. 1805, in Weare, 
where he grew up. Early in life he went to Lynn, 
Massachusetts, where he engaged in the manufac- 
ture of shoes and became proprietor of a custom 
shop, which he operated at that time about one 
year. He then became foreman of the factory of 
Samuel Boyes at that place, and continued in this 
capacity three years. Subsequently he engaged in 
manufacturing en his own account, but on account 
of the financial panic of 1837 he was obliged to 
su.spend_ operations in 1839, and in 1840 he went to 
Painesville, Ohio, where he built a steam flouring 
mill and continued its. operation four years. His 
health becoming impaired on account of the cli- 
mate of that new region, he returned to Lynn in 
1844, and in 1846 removed to Weare, where he set- 
tled on the homestead farm. Here he again en- 
gaged in the manufacture of shoes, and also con- 
tinued farming for some time. Thence he again 
went to Lynn, and engaged in the manufacture of 



l620 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



shoes with good success, but in a short time his 
health began to fail and he was compelled to re- 
turn to the home farm in Weare. Here he became 
associated with his son in the manufacture of shoes, 
which he continued until 1870, and then retired on 
account of his advanced age. His last years were 
spent with his daughter in Claremont, New Hamp- 
shire, where he died December 23, 1891. He became 
affiliated with the Alasonic order in Lynn, and was 
a member of the fire department of that city while 
residing there. In religious faith he was a Uni- 
versalist. He was among the founders of the Re- 
publican party, casting his vote in support of his 
convictions, and serving two terms in the state 
legislature, as representative of the town of Weare. 
He was married, November 29, 1831, to Harriet 
Phillips, who was born April 12. 1815, in Lynn, 
Massachusetts, daughter of William and Betsey 
(Granger) Phillips of that city. She died Novem- 
ber 17, 1S78. Brief mention of their children fol- 
lows : Harriet Ella married Eben M. Colby, re- 
sided in Chicago, and died in Weare, January i, 
1872 ; their daughter Helen is the wife of Robert 
McKean, of Manchester. George Ira resided on 
the home farm, was associated with his father in 
the manufacture of shoes, and now resides at Gras- 
mere. Maria Augusta is the widow of Sewall L. 
Fogg, residing in Manchester (see Fogg, VI). 
Helen Elizabeth, born in Painesville, Ohio, is the 
wife of Rowland R. Kelley and resides in Williams- 
town, Massachusetts. Rebecca Breed, also born in 
Painesville, married Josiah Gove," resided at Clare- 
mont, and died there, February 2, 1904. 

(III) Ebenezer, fourth son and eighth child of 
Edward and Hannah (Titcomb) Gove, was born 
June 23, 1671, in Hampton, and lived in the south 
part of the town, now Hampton Falls. He was 
married, December 20, 1692, to Judith Sanborn, 
who was born August 8, 1675, iri Hampton, daugh- 
ter of John and Judith (Coffin) Sanborn. Their 
children were : Jeremiah, Edward. Sarah, Judith, 
Ebenezer, Lydia, Enoch, Nathan. Mary and Rachel. 

(IV) Edward (2), second son and child of Eb- 
enezer and Judith (Sanborn) Gove, was born May 
29, 1696, in Hampton, and resided in that part of 
ancient Hampton which is now Seabrook. He first 
married Bethiah Clark, who was born 1697, and died 
April 19, 1727. He was married (second), January 
16, 1728, to Mary Moulton, who was born Decem- 
ber 16, 1706, daughter of Daniel and Mary Moulton. 
She died October 20, 1793. Edward Gove's chil- 
dren were: Elizabeth, Nathaniel, Ebenezer, Judith, 
Hannah, Winthrop. Mary and Abigail. 

(V) Nathaniel, eldest son and second child of 
Edward (2) and Bethiah (Clark) Gove, was born 
June 20, 1721, in what is now Seabrook. He re- 
iTioved to Kingston, where he was a prominent man, 
active in town affairs and served as selectman. 
He was married, September 14, 1743, to Susannah 
Stickney, who was born April 10, 1724, daughter 
of Moses and Sarah (Wardwell) Stickney, of New- 
bury. Massachusetts. They had twelve children, 
among whom were : Nathaniel, who moved to 
Deering and later to Vermont. Abraham, Edward 
and Michael. 

(VI) Abraham, son of Nathaniel and Susannah 
(Stickney) Gove, settled in Deering, New Hamp- 
shire, where he signed the association test in 1776. 
He was the owner of considerable land and was 
frequently employed in town affairs. He was mar- 
ried, October 2, 1772, by Rev. Samuel Perley, of 
Seabrook, to Mary Nudd. They we're the parents 
of the following children: Sarah, Nanna, Jona- 



than, Abraham, Samuel, Mary, Betty, Polly, Lydia, 
Ebenezer, Benjamin and Jemima. 

(VII) Abraham (2), second son and fourth 
child of Abraham (i) and Mary (Nudd) Gove, 
was born 1780, in Deering, and settled early in life 
in Henniker, New Hampshire, upon the farm well 
known by his name in the easterly part of the town. 
He was a worthy citizen and an excellent farmer. 
He married Nancy Jones, and they had eleven 
children : Jeremiah, Louisa, Sophia, Mark, Alfred, 
Wyer. Lydia, Mary, Jeannette, Harriet and Char- 
lotte. Abraham Gove died May 26. 

(VIII) Jeremiah, eldest of the eleven children 
of Abraham (2) and Nancy (Jones) Gove, was 
born in Henniker, New Hampshire, November 22, 
1804. He was educated in the common schools 
there, and was a general farmer in Henniker, Hop- 
kinton and Warner. In politics he was a Demo- 
crat. He married Clara Rowell. They had three 
children : Mary Etta, who died young. Newton, 
who is a farmer in Contoocook, and Charles. The 
family attend the Methodist Church. 

(IX) Charles, youngest of the three children of 
Jeremiah and Clara (Rowell) Gove, was born in 
Warner, New Hampshire. February 12, 1842. He 
was educated in the common schools. He has a 
farm of eighty acres, finely located, and carries on 
a dairy business. In politics he is a Democrat. 
He is an Odd Fellow, belonging to Central Lodge, 
No. 87, and has been through all the chairs. He 
has also served on the school committee. He has 
been twice married. His first wife was Annie T, 
Shepherd, and they have one child. Frank B. Gove, 
born December 28, 1870. Charles Gove married 
(second), Annie Maria Olsson, daughter of Captain 
Olaf and Mattie (Anderson) Olsson, who w^as born 
in Gutenberg, Sweden. July 4, 1848. They were 
married December 5, 1875. Mr. and Mrs. Gove 
are Christian Scientists. 



The earliest discovered records of 
OILMAN anything like the name Oilman are 

connected with Wales. Cilmin Troed- 
dhu (i. e. Kilmin with the black foot) of Glynllison 
in Uwch Gwir Vai, in Caer-yn-Arvonshire, lived 
in the year 843, in the time of Roderick the Great, 
with whom he came out of the north of Britain. 
He bore argent, a man's leg couped, sable. The 
Glyns of Glynllison are descended from Cilmin, 
whose name is also spelled Kilmin. This Cilmin 
was head of one of the fifteen noble tribes of 
North Wales, and there appears to be good reason 
to believe that he was one of the ancestors of the 
Gilmins of England, Ireland, and America. The 
American branch of the family, the largest of all, 
are the descendants of Edward Oilman, of Hingham, 
England. In the sixteenth century and previously 
the name was variously spelled : Gilmyn, Gilmin, 
Gylmyn, Gylmin, Gyllmyn, and sometimes Guylmyn. 
Religious persecution, the cause which expelled 
the first emigrants from Old England, sent Edward 
Oilman and his family to Massachusetts ; and from 
this one family has sprung a multitudinous pro- 
geny. 

The family of Oilman, is not one furnishing a 
few brilliant exceptions to a long list of common 
place names. Its members appear generally to have 
been remarkable for the quiet home virtues, and 
rather to have desired to be good citizens than men 
of great name. To an eminent degree they appear 
to have obtained the esteem and respect of those 
nearer to them for sound judgment and sterling 
traits of character. Thus in the towns in which 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1621 



they have dwelt their reputation is high. Other 
names were more prominent in New Hampshire 
for a time; some men performed more conspicuous 
services, or underwent more extraordinary trials ; 
"but the sturdy phalanx of Gilnians did more," 
says their genealogist, "to keep up the steady course 
of the colon}', the province, and the state (in 
America) certainly till 1815, than any two or three 
other families together." 

(I) From the parish register of Caston it is 
found that Edward Oilman married, June 12, 1550, 
Rose Rysse, who survived her husband and proved 
his will, which was dated February 5, 1573, on July 
7, in the same year. By his will he devised his 
houses and lands in Caston to his eldest son, John, 
and his other estates, lands, at Saham Toney being 
mentioned, were divided between his other three 
sons and his five daughters. The widow married 
(second), at Caston, April 3, 1578, John Snell, and 
was buried at Caston, October 3, 1613. As the 
parish registers of Caston commence in 1539, the 
date and place of birth of Edward Oilman are not 
known. The children of Edward Oilman and Rose 
Rysse, his wife, virere : John, Edward, Robert, 
Lawrence, Margaret, Katherine, Rose, Jane and 
Elizabeth. (Mention of Robert and descendants 
forms part of this article.) 

(II) Edward (2), second son of Edward (i) 
and Rose (Rysse) Oilman, was born in Caston. 
Rev. Robert Peck, of Hingham, England, led a 
party of one hundred and thirty-three men, women 
and children from England to America. They em- 
barked in the ship "Diligent" of Ipswich, Captain 
John Martin, which left Oravesend, April 26, and 
arrived at Boston, Massachusetts, August 10, 1638. 
Among those who composed the Pilgrim band were 
Edward Oilman, with his wife, three sons, and two 
daughters, and three servants. He settled in Hing- 
ham, where he was admitted freeman December 13, 
1638. In 1641 a tract of land eight miles square 
then called Seekonk, now Rehoboth, was granted 
to Edward Oilman and others by the Plymouth 
Colony. In 1643 his estate was three hundred 
pounds. His name does not appear on the records of 
that town after 1646. In 1647 his name appears in 
Ipswich, and September 18, 1648, Edward Oilman, 
Jr., sold to his father, Edward Oilman, the farm 
given him by his father-in-law, Richard Smith. 
Edward Oilman and his sons removed to Exeter, 
New Hampshire, and there Edward died June 22, 
1681. He married in Hingham, England, June 
3, 1614, Mary Clark. Their children were: Mary, 
Edward, Sarah, Lydia, John and Moses; and from 
these sons the Oilmans of New Hampshire have 
descended. 

(HI) Edward (3), eldest son and second child 
of Edward (2) and Mary (Clark) Oilman, was 
baptized at Hingham, England, December 26, 1617. 
He came to America with his parents, and in 1647 
removed to Exeter, New Hampshire, probably from 
Ipswich, and finding suitable sites for saw mills 
and plenty of timber, he entered into an agree- 
ment with the town, November 4, whereby he was 
accepted as a townsman and given privileges to 
enable him to build mills. In accordance with this 
agreement he erected mills upon a spot which has 
ever since been improved as a mill privilege. His 
father-in-law, it appears, has presented him with 
a place at Ipswich, which he sold to his_ father 
in 1648. He is described as active, enterprising and 
judicious, and immediately became a popular and 
leading man of Exeter. In 1648 he was on the 
committee to treat with a Mr. Thomson "to come 
to Exeter to be our minister," and if he would not 



come to engage some other, with the advice of 
the elders of Boston, Charlestown, and Roxbury. 
In 1650 he was one of the committee who signed 
the agreement with Mr. Samuel Dudley "to inhabit 
Exeter and be a minister of Ood's word unto us 
until such time as Ood shall be pleased to make 
way for the gathering of a church, and then he 
shall be ordained the pastor or teacher, according 
to the ordinance of God." In 1641 he was one of /( 
a committee "to make an agreement with Hampton 
and Dover about the bounds or to petition the gen- 
eral court if they can't agree." Grants of land were 
repeatedly made to him by the town, the last of 
which was May 10, 1652, and upon the same day his 
father and brother Moses were, "upon their request," 
accepted as townsmen. His brother John was con- 
nected in business with him at one time. In 1653 
Edward went to England for mill gearing, and 
never returned, having been lost at sea. His widow 
administered on his estate in 1655. He married, 
after he came to America, a daughter of Richard 
Smith, of Ipswich, formerly of Shropham, Nor- 
folk, England, and they had five children: Ed- 
ward, Joshua, Charles, John and Daniel. 

(IV) Edward (4), eldest child of Edward (3) 

and (Smith) Oilman, was born 1648, 

died 1692. He married, December 20, 1674, Abigail 
(probably daughter of Antipas) Maverick. Their 
children were : Edward, Antipas, Maverick, Abi- 
gail, Catherine and Elizabeth. 

(V) Edward (5), eldest child of Edward (4) 
and Abigail (Maverick) Oilman, was born October 
20, 1675. He married Abigail Folsom (see Fol- 
som, VII), and had children: Edward, Antipas, 
Jonathan, Maverick and Mary. 

(VI) Antipas, second son and child of Ed- 
ward (5) and Abigail (Folsom) Oilman, born 1705, 
lived in Brentwood, and subsequently removed to 
Oilmanton, where he died January, 1793, aged eighty- 
eight. He married Lydia Thing, and they had eight 
children : Abigail, Antipas, Samuel, Edward, Jona- 
than, Deborah, Benjamin and Nathaniel. 

(VII) Samuel, second son and third child of 
Antipas and Lydia (Thing) Oilman, was born 
March 8, 1732, and resided in Oilmanton. He died 
of camp fever, May 7, 1776. The first town meeting 
was held in his house, July 31, 1766. He married 
Hannah Tilton, born July 9, 1730, and they had 
twelve children : Samuel, John, Betsey, Peter, Han- 
nah, Levi, Lydia, Nathaniel, Anna, David, Dolly and 
Hetty. 

(VIII) Levi, fourth son and sixth child of 
Samuel and Hannah (Tilton) Oilman, was born 
in Oilmanton, and with his elder brother Samuel 
settled, about 1790, on the south side of Ounstock, 
or Meeting-house Hill, in Oilmanton, now Oilford, 
where he engaged in farming. Levi Oilman had 
children: William, Levi, Samuel, Benjamin, Dorothy, 
Polly, Hope, and probably others. 

(IX) Samuel, third son and child of Levi Oil- 
man, was born on his father's farm in Oilford, 
where he lived the life of a well-to-do farmer. 
He married a Miss Beedie, and their children were: 
Lyman W., Eliza, Lydia, Morrill, Anna and Al- 
bert C. 

(X) Lyman Walker, eldest child of Samuel and 

(Beedie) Oilman, was born in Gilford, 

October 4, 1821, and died in Laconia, February, 
1890, aged sixty-eight. He grew up on a farm and 
had the usual common school education. He learned 
the carpenter's trade and was employed for a time 
in Boston, then returned to New Hampshire and 
went into the employ of the Randlctt Manufacturing 
Company, now the Laconia Car Company, where he 



l622 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



worked at carpentry. Here he kept pace with the 
business, was overseer of one shop and later of 
two. The amount of labor necessary to the dis- 
charge of his duties overtaxed his strength and 
he resigned, and the work was afterwards performed 
by two overseers. After leaving the Randlett Com- 
pany he engaged in the business of carriage build- 
ing on his own account, for a time, but later returned 
to the employ of the car company, where he was 
employed the remainder of his active life. He 
was first a Whig in politics, then during the con- 
tinuance of the Know Nothing party he was a 
member of that organization, and on the rise of the 
Republican party he became a member of that. He 
was an early member of Winnipiseogee Lodge, No. 
7, of which he was later noble grand. He was an 
upright citizen and a useful member of the com- 
munity. He married, August 17, 1843, Dorothy 
Emeline Morrison, born December 12, 1819, died 
September 13, 1903, daughter of Benjanun and 
Dorothy (Oilman) Morrison, of Gilford, and they 
were the parents of six children : Josephine E., 
Augusta F., Edward F., Frank L., died in in- 
fancy ; Luella L., and Frank L., next mentioned. 
(XI) Frank L., youngest child of Lyman W. 
and Dorothy E. (Morrison) Gilman, was born in 
Gilford, now Laconia, September 29, 1858. He 
obtained his education in the common schools, and 
then entered the Laconia passenger depot, where he 
lea/ned telegraphy, and became telegraph operator 
and ticket agent, holding these positions from 1876 
to 1880. In the summer of 1881 he went to Old 
Orchard Beach, where he was telegraph operator 
until October, and then went to Boston, where he' 
was employed in the Western .Union Telegraph 
Company's office on State street, until July, 1882. 
Resigning that place at that date he returned to 
Laconia and became assistant postmaster under 
Perley Putnam, holding that position during Mr. 
Putnam's term, and the first six months of the 
term of Mr. Putnam's successor, Nathaniel Edgerly. 
In October, 1887, Mr. Gilman resigned and for the 
next year or two was collector for the Laconia 
Democrat, clerk for George R. Leavitt in the wood 
and coal business, and agent for the Singer Manu- 
facturing Company. In the fall of 1888 he was 
elected register of probate for Belknap county, took 
charge of the office in July, 1889, and served till 
the end of his term in 1891. In the latter year he 
was made assistant postmaster, and filled that place 
until October, 1895. He was elected tax collector 
of the city of Laconia in 1895, ^"<i again in 1896, 
and performed the functions of that office, acting 
at the same time as agent for the New York Life 
Insurance Company. July 2, 1897, he was appointed 
by President McKinley postmaster of Laconia. In 
1902 was re-appointed by President Roosevelt, and 
in 1906 was re-appointed again, and is now con- 
tinuing on his third term. Mr. Gilman is a very 
methodical man, thoroughly competent, honorable, 
honest, and prompt in the discharge of his duties. 
He has never failed to give satisfaction to all 
reasonable people in the offices he has filled. His 
general success and popularity might be attributed 
to the characteristics enumerated, but there is an- 
other which has contributed more than any of 
these to his success. He is even tempered and 
suave— always a gentleman. 

He is a member of Mount Lebanon Lodge, 
No. 32, and Union Royal Arch Chapter, No. 7, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons ; of Winnipiseo- 
gee Lodge, No. 7, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows; Laconia Encampment, No. 9, of which he is 



a past chief patriarch, and of Canton Osgood,- No. 
5, of which he is a past captain. He is a member 
of Belknap County Fish and Game League, and 
has served as president and member of the board 
of managers of the First Free Baptist Church So- 
ciety of Laconia. 

Frank L. Gilman married (first), in Manchester, 
New Hampshire, December 31, 1881, Ruth W. 
Barber, of Lewiston, Maine, born in Sherbrooke, 
Province of Quebec, in 1858, daughter of Horace 
and Julia Barber. She died April 6, 1883, leaving 
one son R. Frank Gilman, born March 19, 1883, now 
(1906) a clerk in the Laconia postoffice. Mr. Gil- 
man married (second) Emma J. Jones, born Au- 
gust 22, 1863, daughter of Chadwick B. Jones, of 
Epsom. She died February 8, 1901. 

(II) Robert, third son of Edward and Rose 
(Rysse) Gilman, was baptized in Caston, July 10, 
1559) and was buried there March 6, 1631. The 
Christian name of his wife was Mary and his chil- 
dren were : Robert, Edward, Lawrence and John. 

(III) Edward, second son of Robert and Mary 
Gilman, was married in Old Hingham to Mary 
Clark. With his wife, fiye children and three 
servants he sailed from Gravesend, April 26, 1638, 
in the ship '"Diligent," John Martin, master, which 
arrived at Boston, August to, following, and the 
family settled in Hingham, Massachusetts. Other 
children were born after their arrival, making tea 
in all. Those who lived to maturity were : Ed- 
ward, John, Moses, Mary, Sarah and Lydia. 

(IV) Moses, third son of Edward and Mary 
(Clark) Gilman, was baptized at Hingham, Eng- 
land, March 11, 1630. He was in Exeter, New 
Hampshire, with his father as early as May 10, 
1652, and land was granted him in that part of 
the town which was afterward incorporated as 
New Market. He figured prominently in public 
affairs, frequently serving as a selectman, and in 
1697 was succeeded in that office by his son, Moses, 
Jr. His death occurred prior to August 6, 1702, 
on which date his will was probated, and his de- 
scendants are known as the New Market branch 
of the family, some of whom settled in Sanbornton. 
He married, in Hingham, Massachusetts, Elizabeth 
Hersie, daughter of William Hersie, Sr., of that 
town, and his children were : Jeremiah, Elizabeth,, 
James, John, David, Joshua, Caleb, Moses, Mary and 
Judith. From the establishment of New Hampshire 
as a royal province to the present day this family 
has been identified with civic affairs. John Gil- 
man was one of the original councillors in Presi- 
dent Cutt's commission. Colonel Peter Gilman was 
one of the royal councillors in 1772, while Nicholas 
Gilman was a councillor in 1777, and again in 1788. 
under the state government. Hon. John Taylor 
Gilman was chosen chief magistrate of New Hamp- 
shire eleven times in succession, and served as 
governor in all fourteen years. The latter's brother 
Nicholas served in both the national house of repre- 
sentatives and the senate. Rev. Nicholas and Rev. 
Tristram Gilman were graduated from Harvard in 
1724 and 1757 respectively. 

(V) Captain Jeremiah, eldest child of Moses 
and Elizabeth (Hersie) Gilman, was born Au- 
gust 31, 1660. He married Mary Wiggin, daughter 
of Andrew, and granddaughter of Governor Thomas' 
Wiggin. Her mother was Hannah, daughter of 
Governor Simon Bradstreet, and great-granddaugh- 
ter of Governor Thomas Dudley. Mrs. Gilman was 
admitted a member of the church a.t Hampton, 
April 4, 1697, as there was no minister at Exeter. 
Their children were : Jeremiah, Andrew, Simon,. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1623 



Israel, Thomas, Benjamin, Ezekiel, Hannah and Jo- 
seph. (.Benjamin and descendants are noticed in 
this article.) 

(VI) Andrew, second son and child of Captain 
Jeremiah and INIary (Wiggin) Gilnian, was born in 
1690, in that part of Exeter now called Newmarket. 
When nineteen years old, j\Iay 8, 1709, Andrew Gil- 
man, his elder brother Jeremiah, William Moody 
and Samuel Stevens were captured by the Indians 
at Pickpocket Mill in Exeter, and taken to the 
shores of Lake Winnepiseogee. Moody, one of the 
men, escaped, was recaptured, roasted to death, and 
eaten by the cannibals. The brothers were separated. 
Andrew was told that Jeremiah had been killed and 
eaten, and as he never returned to Exeter the 

'story was for a while believed. It is now asserted 
that after a tedious captivity he escaped to the 
Connecticut river, and settled near its mouth. An- 
drew, after remaining some time in captivity, re- 
turned to his friends and lived in Brentwood. After 
his son Winthrop settled in Gilmanton he made 
him a visit, and went to the lake to see the place 
where the Indians had camped. Everything, even 
these, looked familiar to the liberated captive. He 
died some twenty years after the death of his 
second wife. His property seemed to have been 
considerable, being inventoried at six thousand nine 
hundred and eighty-five pounds and sixteen shil- 
lings. He married (first), January 27, 1715, Joanna 
Thing, of Exeter, and (second) Bridget Hilton, 
daughter of Colonel Winthrop Hilton of New 
Market. She died November 10, 1736. The chil- 
dren of the first wife were: Abigail, Jeremiah, 
Joanna, Deborah and Mary. By the second wife: 
Winthrop, Elizabeth, Anna and Andrew. 

(VII) Captain Jeremiah (2), eldest child and 
second son of Andrew and Joanna (Thing) Gil- 
man, was born in Brentwood, June 3, . 1719, and 
died May i, 1791. He was an officer in the colonial 
wars prior to the Revolution, and during that war 
captain of a militia company in Colonel Stickney's 
regiment, of General Stark's brigade, and with his 
company took part in the battle of Bennington. At 
this time he was fifty-eight years old. After two 
hours desperate fighting the British intrenchments 
were carried, and Captain Gilman was said by his 
soldiers- to have been one of the foremost over the 
breastworks, where after a fierce hand to hand 
conflict the struggle was terminated by the rout 
of the enemy. As early perhaps as 1776 he re- 
moved with his family to Wakefield, and built his 
house just opposite "the Old Maids' Tavern," and 
resided there until his death. He married Sarah 
Kimball, daughter of Caleb and Sarah Kimball. 
Their children were: Andrew, Mehitable, Joanna, 
Bridget, Sarah, Jeremiah, Lydia, Anne and Abi- 
gail. 

(VIII) Bridget, daughter of Captam Jeremiah 
and Sarah (Kimball) Gilman, was born Novem- 
ber 4, 1748, and married, August 26, 1773, Samuel 
Hall (see Hall, IV). 

(VI) Benjamin, sixth son of Jeremiah and 
Mary (Wiggin) Gilman, resided in Exeter, and 
married Elizabeth Thing, daughter of Samuel and 
Abigail (Gilman) Thing, and granddaughter of 
Councillor John Gilman, an illustrious son of Ed- 
ward (3). 

(VII) Jonathan, son of Benjamin and Eliza- 
beth (Thing) Gilman, was born December 25. 1720, 
in that part of ancient Exeter which is now Brent- 
wood. In 1767 he became the first settler, and was 
the most prominent citizen of Wakefield, New Hamp- 
shire, where he was a selectman and filled other 
positions of responsibility. He is probably the 



Jonathan ■ who died at Sandwich, jNIarch 28, 1801. 
He married, December i, 1746, Mehitabel Kimball, 
daughter of Caleb and Mehitabel (Porter) Kimball, 
of Exeter. Their children were : John, Caleb, 
Samuel, Jonathan, Benjamin, Mehitabel and Por- 
ter. 

(VIII) Porter, youngest child of Jonathan Gil- 
man, was born June 6, 1762, in Brentwood, and 
settled in Brookheld, New Hampshire. He mar- 
ried, April 3, 1786, Hannah Hall, and their children, 
born in Brookiield, were : Polly Pike, Avery Hall, 
Abigail Hall, Asaf, Alvah, Sally, Caleb and Han- 
nah. 

(IX) Avery Hall, eldest son and second child 
of Porter and Hannah (Hall) Gilman, was born 
April 26, 1790, in Brookfield, and resided in that 
town, which he represented in the legislature. He 
was a farmer. He was married, May 7, 1816, in 
Brookfield, by the Rev. Asa Piper, to Sally Savage, 
of that town. 

(X) Asaph, son of Avery Hall and Sally (Sav- 
age) Gilman, was born in Wakefield, New Hamp- 
shire, September 20, 1818. In 1864 he moved to 
Dover, New Hampshire, and bought the farm where 
his son now lives. He followed farming until his 
Gilman, died December 25, 1898, aged sixty-nine, 
daughter of Theophilus and Sarah L. Gilman, of 
Wakefield. Of this marriage one child was born, 
Joseph L., whose sketch follows. 

(XI) Joseph L., only child of Asaph and Sarah 
M. (Gilman) Gilman, was born in Wakefield, New 
Hampshire, December 20, 1862. He was educated 
in the common schools and at Franklin Academy. 
He always remained on the farm with his father, 
and gave his attention to agricultural pursuits; he 
has also been engaged in driving cattle, and has 
dealt quite extensively in horses. Mr. Gilman is 
a Republican in politics. He married, June 20, 
1889, Sarah M. Hussey, daughter of Moses and 
Sarah (Hadford) Hussey, of Dover. She was born 
February 20, 1856, and died January 9, 1906. 

(VIII) Stephen Gilman, a descendant probably 
in the fifth generation of Edward of Gaston, the 
emigrant, through the latter's son Moses, was born 
in Kingston, New Hampshire, but the date of his 
birth has not yet come to light. He served as a 
cavalry officer in the Revolutionary war, and after 
leaving the service he engaged in farming at East 
Unity, New Hampshire, where he died about the 
year 1830. His first wife was before marriage 
Annie Huntoon, and September 5, 1793, he was mar- 
ried a second time to Dorothy Clough, who died 
about 1S50. He was the father of twenty-one chil- 
dren, nine of whom were of his first union, and 
the others were of his second marriage. The ma- 
jority of them settled in the Unities, East and West, 
and a lake in that locality takes its name from the 
family. (Benjamin and descendants receive men- 
tion in this article.) 

(IX) Emerson, born July 25, 1794, eldest son of 
Stephen and Dorothy (Clough) Gilman, was a 
native of East Unity, and resided there until 1837, 
when he went to Lowell, Massachusetts. He was 
a clothier and operated hand-looms prior to the 
application of machinery to that industry. He sub- 
sequently moved to Milford, New Hampshire, 
whence he removed to Nashua in 1844, and in 1854 
he went to reside in Groton Centre, Massachusetts, 
where his death occurred in October of the latter 
year. His wife was before marriage Delia Way, 
born August 11, 1801, and he had a family of eight 
children, namely: Mary A., born October 24, 1819; 
Hannah F., December 18, 1823; Virgil C, May 
5, 1827; Dorothy A., June 23, 183 1 ; Horace W., 



1624 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



December 6, 1833 ; Emerson, Jr., February 6, 1837 ; 
Abby F., May 19, 1842; Osman B., June, 1831. Only 
five of these grew to years of maturity. (Mention 
of Horace W. and descendants appears in this 
article.) 

(X) Virgil Chase, third child and eldest son 
of Emerson and Delia (Way) Oilman, was born in 
East Unity, May 5, 1827. He was educated in the 
public schools including the high school, and ac- 
quired his early business training in Nashua. In 
1851 he engaged in the manufacture of paper as 
a member of the firm of Gage, Murray & Company, 
who made a specialty of printer's cards, also em- 
bossed and marble papers, and from this concern, 
which enjoyed a most successful career, both in- 
dustrially and financially, developed the present Na- 
tional Card and Olazed Paper Company. After 
severing his connection with the paper-manufactur- 
ing industry he engaged in agricultural pursuits 
with a view of recovering his health, which had 
become somewhat impaired owing to his close ap- 
plication to business. Being an expert penman, as 
well as one of the most accurate bookkeepers and 
accountants in southern New Hampshire, he was 
secured by the Nashua Savings Bank at its organ- 
ization to open its first set of books, and for some 
time he acted as cashier's substitute at the Pen- 
nichuck's Bank. For nearly twenty years dating 
from 1876 he was treasurer of the Savings Bank, 
and he was long a director of the Indian Head 
National Bank. His business interests were both 
various and important, and in all probability covered 
more ground than did those of any of his contem- 
poraries, and he not only invested freely in home 
and nearby enterprises but used his influence in 
the building up of Nashua as an industrial center 
and contributed many convincing articles on the 
subject to the press, which served to give capital- 
ists a most favorable impression of the outlook. 
He was president of the Peterboro railroad, and 
of the Nashua Saddlery Hardware Company, and 
a director of the Underbill Edge Tool Company, 
the Amoskeag Axe Company, the Nashua Iron and 
Steel Company and other successful enterprises, 
each of which profited in no small measure from his 
business sagacity and sound judgment in financial 
matters. His interest in farming was never per- 
mitted to grow lukewarm, and his successful 
achievements in almost every branch of agriculture 
acted as an incentive in the neighboring tillers of 
the soil. He was especially interested in the rais- 
ing of poultry, being among the first to develop the 
far-famed Plymouth Rock fowl, and was awarded 
a bronze medal at the Centennial Exposition in 1876 
for an unusual fine exhibit. For many years he was 
a trustee of the New Hampshire Agricultural So- 
ciety and frequently did yeoman duty at agricul- 
tural and horticultural exhibits, local, state and 
national. 

During a long period Mr. Oilman served upon 
the board of education ; was for upward of twenty- 
live years secretary and treasurer of the board of 
trustees of the Public Library, the establishment of 
which he zealously promoted ; was mayor of Nashua 
in 1865 ; was a member of the lower house of the 
state legislature in 1879, serving as chairman of 
the committee on banks and strongly opposing the 
taxation of church property ; was elected to the 
state senate for the year 1881, being honored with 
the chairmanship of the judiciary committee, which 
at that time enjoyed the somewhat unique distinc- 
tion of not having in its makeup a single member 
of the legal profession, and in spite of this fact it 
discharged its duties in a most able and judicious 



manner. In marked contrast to the majority of pub- 
lic officials his elections invariably were the direct 
outcome of the office seeking the man. One of his 
favorite pastimes was his active connection with 
the Oovernor's Horse Ouards, and he was an 
honorary member of the Foster Rifles. He was a 
leading member of the First Congregational Church 
and its society, participating actively in its work, 
serving as a director, treasurer and president of 
its Sunday school, and contributing liberally toward 
the building fund of the present church edifice. In 
1893 Dartmouth College conferred upon him the 
honorary degree of Master of Arts in recognition 
of his generosity in founding a scholarship fund 
there for the use of indigent students. The record 
of his life work was in every way an honorable one, 
and on April 28, 1903, he was called hence, re- 
spected and esteemed by the entire community, by 
whom his passing away was sincerely regretted. 
In 1850 Mr. Oilman married Miss Sarah Louisa 
Newcomb, daughter of Oideon and Sarah (Abbott) 
Newcomb, of Roxbury, New Hampshire. Of this 
union there were two children: Harriette Louisa, 
born October 21, 1853, married January 14, 1875, 
Charles W. Hoitt, judge of the Nashua municipal 
court (see Hoyt, VIII) ; and Alfred Emerson, born 
February 16, 1857, died September 29, same year. 

(X) Horace Way, son of Emerson and Delia 
(Way) Oilman, was born in East Unity, December 
6, 1833. In early boyhood he went to Lowell and 
attended school there, and in early manhood moved 
to Nashua, New Hampshire, and attended Crosley's 
school. He began the activities of life as a school 
teacher in Nashua, and later removed to Boston 
and served in the capacity of clerk in a drug store. 
He then returned to Nashua and become as- 
sociated with the Oilman Brothers Manufacturing 
Company, manufacturers of cardboard. The busi- 
ness this firm conducted was one of the first of 
its kind in the country. He sold out his interests 
and went to Albany and organized the Albany 
Card & Paper Company, of Albany, New York, 
with Mr. John Dobler, and in the sixties sold out 
to Mr. Dobler and then returned to Nashua. The 
Albany Card and Paper Company is still in exist- 
ence and very prosperous. When he returned to 
Nashua he purchased an interest in the firm of 
Cage, Murray & Company, cardboard manufacturers^ 
the Nashua Card & Olazed Paper Company. He 
was its treasurer from its inception up to the time 
of his retirement, a period of thirty years, during 
which time the company was most successful, never 
losing the semi-annual dividend, which at one time 
reached as high as sixty per cent, per annum. 

Mr. Oilman was not only a prominent figure in 
the business circles of Nashua, but evinced an earn- 
est interest in the moral and religious aspect of the 
city as well, having for years devoted much time 
to the welfare and advancement of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, of which he served as treasurer, 
trustee and superintendent of the Sunday school ; 
he also represented the laity in the conference and 
attended the centennial celebration of that denomina- 
tion at Baltimore, Maryland. His desire for the 
propogation of church work was only equalled by 
his interest in the general welfare of his fellowmen, 
and his death, which occurred March 24, 1894, re- 
moved from the business and religious circles of 
Nashua an upright, conscientious man, a zealous 
christian worker and one of its most successful 
business men. In politics he took no active part, 
except he was elected a member of the State Consti- 
tutional Convention in the year . .He was 

prominently identified with the Masonic Order, in 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



162^ 



which he had advanced to the thirty-second de- 
gree. 

]\Ir. Gilman married, in 1854, Miss Adehne W. 
Marsh, of Hudson, New Hampshire. She bore him 
four children, two of whom are living, namely: 
Colonel E. M., see forward ; and William^ V., who 
manages the wholesale business in New York City 
of the Reversible Collar Company of Boston. 

(XI) Colonel E. M. Gilman, treasurer and 
manager of the Reversible Collar Company of Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts, was born in Nashua, New 
Hampshire, September 26, 1862. He went to local 
schools and graduated from the high school in 
Nashua. Later he graduated from Bryant & 
Stratton's Business College, Boston, Massachusetts. 
In 1884 he went to Wichita, Kansas, and engaged 
in the banking business. He served as bookkeeper 
of the Citizens' Bank, and after nine months service 
in that capacity returned east as general manager 
of their loan department, and in about four years 
he sent back nine million dollars to invest in farm 
mortages in Kansas. He severed his connection 
with this concern in 1891, and then returned to 
Nashua, New Hampshire, and re-entered his 
father's business. April i, 189—, he went to Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, and took the vice-presidency 
and general managership of the Springfield Glazed 
Paper Manufacturing Company, which position he 
held for about six years. He was then induced to 
accept a position as general manager of the Reversi- 
ble Collar Company of Boston, in 1897, which po- 
sition he now holds. He was elected treasureer 
January, 1905. This company was organized in 
1862, incorporated 1866, capital three hundred and 
fifty thousand dollars, and employs about two hun- 
dred hands. He is a Republican in politics. In 
18S9 he was elected to civic government in Nashua, 
New Hampshire. He was appointed aide-de-camp 
on the staff of Governor Goodall, with rank of 
colonel. He was also elected to civic government 
while in Springfield. He is a member of the Bos- 
ton Yachting Club, is fond of automobilmg and 
other sports. He resides in Brookline, Massachu- 
setts. Colonel Gilman married Mary F. Wallis, 
of Nashua, New Hampshire, daughter of James F. 
Wallis. They have one son, Francis D., now (1907) 
seventeen years of age, in sophomore class at Har- 
vard University, having entered college at the age 
of sixteen. Mrs. Gilman is a member of the Daugh- 
ters of the Revolution and several other noted clubs 
and societies. 

(IX) Benjamin Gilman, probably a son of 
Stephen and Dorothy (Clough) Gilman, is supposed 
to have been born in Unity. 

(X) Stephen, son of Benjamin Gilman, was 
born in Unity, and foUovv^ed the calling of a 
farmer. He married Diantha, daughter of David 
Harding, and among their children was a son, 
Stephen W., mentioned below. 

(XI) Stephen W., son of Stephen and Diantha 
(Harding) Gilman, was born in Croydon, August 
19, 1858, and was brought up by his maternal grand- 
parents. He was educated in the Croydon district 
school with the exception of one term at the Kim- 
ball Union Academy. He states that, in his youth, 
he considered himself an expense to his ancestors, 
and that he decided to remain on his uncle's_ farm 
until the age of twenty-one, giving his laborin re- 
turn for his board and clothing. Upon attaining his 
majority he left the farm with a capital of twenty- 
five dollars, and for a time worked in a pistol 
factory in Springfield, Massachusetts, becoming an 
efficient mechanic. For twelve years he was em- 
ployed by the government in the Springfield armory. 



and during the latter six years established himself 
in business, conducting a variety store in that city 
and becoming the owner of a comfortable home. 
In 1899, on account of his uncle's failing health, 
he disposed of all his interests in Springfield and 
returned to the homestead. Shortly after his re- 
turn his uncle died, and Mr. Gilman is now the 
owner of the farm which consists of about two 
hundred acres. On his return to Croydon he opened 
the general store which he now owns, and which 
had been closed about seventy-five years. The busi- 
ness is now flourishing. In 1900-01 he represented 
his town in the legislature, and since 1900 has 
held the office of town clerk. He has also served as 
librarian, justice of the peace and notary public. 
He is a member of Hampden Lodge, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, Springfield, Massachusetts, 
and serves as superintendent of the Sunday school 
of the Congregational Church of Croydon. He 
married, in 1880, in Springfield, J\lassachusetts, Car- 
rie I. Allen Stearns, who died in 1888, leaving no 
issue. Three of her brothers were professional 
men, one a prominent attorney of Boston, Massachu- 
setts. Mr. Gilman married, in 1901, Mary C, 
daughter of William Pernett, of Ansley, Have 
Ferry, Lunenburg, county, Nova Scotia. 

The original spelling of this name in 
PRAY England was Pre, which is indicative of 

a French origin. A natural love for the 
sea, which seems to have prevailed among the 
American branch of the family, caused many of 
them to become mariners, and some of them won 
distinction in the Colonial service. 

(I) Quintin Pray, founder of the family in 
America, was born probably in South of Scotland 
about the year 159S, and emigrated in 1640 (per- 
haps previous to that date), first settling in Lynn, 
Massachusetts. He was an iron-worker. From 
Lynn he removed to Braintree, Massachusetts, and 
his death occurred in the last-named town June 17. 
1667. The christian name of his wife, who sur- 
vived him, was Joan, and his children were: Rich- 
ard, born in 1650, died in 1693. John, see succeed- 
ing paragraph. Hannah, the date of whose birth 
does not appear in the records (was living in 1691). 
Dorothy, born in 1644, died December 11, 1705- 

(II) John, elder son of Quintin and Joan Pray, 
was born about the year 1635. He resided in 
Braintree and died there in 1676. May 7, 1657, he 
married Joanna Dowman. who was appointed ad- 
ministratrix of his estate October 31, 1676, and she 
subsequently married Daniel Livingstone, with 
whom she went to live in York, Maine, taking her 
three youngest children with her. Her second hus- 
band was killed by the Indians August 20, 1694 
Her second account as administratrix was rendered 
July 7, 1699. and' signed Joanna Livingstone, late 
Pray. As the wife of John Pray she became the 
mother of nine children, namely: John, born July 
II, 1659, died young. Ephraim. born about 1661. 
married 'Elizabeth, daughter of John Haydcn, and 
resided in Braintree. Hannah, born March 4. 1063, 
died December 12, 1664. Hannah, born March 16, 
1665, became the wife of James Bell, of Taunton 
Massachusetts. Richard, born May 3, 1667, died 
prior to 1699. Samuel, the date of whose birth 
will be given presently. Joseph, born about 167 1, 
married Mary Grant. John, born February 10, 
1673, died prior to 1699. Dorothy, born about 
1675, became the wife of Daniel Forbush. 

(III) Samuel, fifth son and seventh child of 
John and Joanna (Dowman) Pray, was born m 
Braintree, May 16, 1669. He began to follow the 



1626 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



sea at an early age and became a master-mariner. 
He was captain of the brigantine "William and 
Andrew," owned by Colonel Pepperell and named 
for his two sons. He resided on Gunnison's Neck, 
Kittery. Maine, and land was conveyed to him in 
1700 and 1703. He married Mary Fernald, daugh- 
ter of Thomas and Temperance Fernald, of Kit- 
tery, and died in 1708, as, according to the records, 
his wife Mary was granted power to settle his 
estate October 9 of that year. It is quite probable 
that her death occurred in or prior to 1722, as on 
May ID of that year her son Samuel was ordered 
by the court to act as administrator of the estate 
of his father. Their children were : Samuel, who 
will be again referred to. Mary, who became the 
wife of Samuel Stacy, November 2, 1721. Hannah, 
who was married to Thomas Rand, of Newcastle, 
May 24. 1722. John, who was married in Ports- 
mouth, June 2, 1709, to Joanna Jose. A daughter 
who became the wife of Robert Mendum. 

(IV) Samuel (2), eldest son and child of Samuel 
and Mary (Fernald) Pray, was born in Kittery 
or the immediate vicinity, but the date of his birth 
cannot be found. As a member of Captain Samuel 
Newmarch's companj^ he participated in some of 
the important Colonial military operations under 
Sir William Pepperell, and his son Ebenezer and 
cousin, William Pray, were enrolled in the same 
company. He resided in Kittery, and on Novem- 
ber 17, 1726, married for his first wife Alice Men- 
dum, daughter of Jonathan and Sarah (Downing) 
Mendum, of York county, Maine. She died April 
20, 1757. His children were: Ebenezer, born Oc- 
tober 24, 1728, married Elizabeth Gunnison. Sam- 
uel, born April 19, 1731, married Susanna Dunn. 
Joshua, born February 14, 1733, married Ruth Gun- 
nison. John, who is referred to in the next para- 
graph. William, born March 16, 1740. Joseph, 
born August 6. 1^42. Nathaniel, born March 29, 
1747. Samuel Pray (2) died in January, 1762. 

(V) John, fourth son of Samuel and Alice 
(Mendum) Pray, sea captain, was born in Kittery, 
February 14, 1736. He married Mary Orr, daugh- 
ter of John and Eleanor (Dennett) Orr, and of 
this union there was but one child. John Orr was 
an officer of the frigate "Alliance." 

(VI) Captain Samuel, only child of John and 
Mary (Orr) Pray, was born in Kittery, December 
3. 1789. From his native town, he removed to 
Portsmouth. New Hampshire, and was a sea captain 
and ship builder. During the second war with 
Great Britain (1812-15) he was engaged in pri- 
vateering. December 14, 1814, he was made prize 
master of a British ship with orders to take hel 
to Portsmouth, but was shortly afterwards over- 
hauled by a British seventy-four gun frigate, which 
recaptured his prize, jind with the American prize 
crew he was sent to Dartmoor prison in England, 
and was in that prison when the prisoners were fired 
upon. He was subsequently released and returned 
to America. He married (first), April 23, 1809, 
Lucy Fernald, who was a daughter of Daniel and 
Hannah (Manson) Fernald, and who died Octo- 
ber 27, 1826. She bore him six children : Adeline, 
born September 16, 1812, married James Neal, and 
died October 8, 1845. Sarah Ann, born. July 29, 
1814, married Nathaniel K. Walker, and died April 
6, 1875. John Samuel, born August 3, 1816, men- 
tioned below. Lucy Maria Fernald, born June 28, 
1821, married Charles Gerrish, and died September 
5. 1864. Margaret Wooster, born Julv 15, 1825, 
married James M. Salter, and died July 5, 1881. 
William Fernald, born May 13, 1823. died Dayton, 
Ohio. Samuel Pray married (second), Ellen 



Brown, September 6, 1827, and their children were: 
Julia Ann, born November 12, 1829, died April 12. 
1903. Charles Henry, born January 10, 1832, 
drowned off Cape Horn, September 30, i860. La- 
vina Ellen, born June 11, 1835, married Edwin A. 
Gerrish, and died December 17, 1891. 

(VII) Captain John Samuel, eldest son of Cap- 
tain Samuel and Lucy (Fernald) Pray, was born 
in Kittery, August 3, 1816. Like his father he 
became an efficient master-mariner, and for a num- 
ber of years was engaged in the West India and 
cotton trade. In 1849 he made a voyage around 
Cape Horn to San Francisco, and during the Civil 
war was a ship owner in Portsmouth and New 
York. He was a trustee of the Portsmouth Sav- 
ings Bank, director of the Portsmouth National 
Mechanics' & Traders' Bank, served as president 
of the Portsmouth Atheneum, and was a prominent 
member of the Unitarian parish. His death oc- 
curred August 21, 1889. He married Rosalina A. 
Tisdale. November 17, 1849, who died December 4, 
1877, and their children were : Elizabeth Shattuck, 
born November 23, 1851, married Charles K. Wad- 
ham, and died April 9, 1906. Samuel, born July 
9, 1854. Frank Wendell, born April 20, 1857, mar- 
ried Elizabeth M. Cjrider. John Wesley, born July 
II, 1858, married Elizabeth. Seeley. Maurice, born 
November iq. 1861, died January 8, 1878. Lucy, 
born February 5, 1863, died May 31, 1863. Mary 
Cambridge, born February 26, 1867. Henry Thorn- 
ton, born January 6, 1870, died August 14, 1S70. 

(VIII) Captain Samuel, eldest son of Captain 
John S. and Rosalina A. (Tisdale) Pray, was born 
in Portsmouth, July 9, 1854. After attending the 
Portsmouth high school three and one-half years, 
he adopted a seafaring life, and shipping before the 
mast in New York on the ship "Yosemite" he 
sailed to San Francisco, thence to the far east, be- 
ing two years and a half on the voyage. His sec- 
ond voyage, a Mediterranean voyage, was in the 
Portsmouth ship "Semiramis," commanded by the 
late Captain Edwin A. Gerrish, of Portsmouth. 
In 1878, when twenty-four years old, he superin- 
tended the building of and later took command of a 
clipper bark, the "Harvard," and later commanded 
the ship "Gov. Goodwin," and was a successful ship 
master, making long and exceedingly prosperous 
voyages. Retiring from the sea, he became quite 
extensively interested in shipping, and at the pres- 
ent time is the Boston representative of the Ameri- 
can Hawaiian Steamship Company. Captain Pray 
is an advanced Mason, a member of Dalhousie 
Lodge, West Newton, and a Knight Templar. He 
is a trustee of the Boston Marine Society and a 
member of Massachusetts Society Sons of Ameri- 
can Revolution. He married, February i, 1881, 
Emma S. Barnard, of Franklin, New Hampshire, 
daughter of Daniel Barnard, who was at one time 
attorney-general of that state. Captain and Mrs. 
Pray reside in West Newton, Massachusetts, and 
have one daughter, Dorothy, born December 11, 
1893. 



The great number of persons in the 
WHITE New England and western states 

whose surname is White are de- 
scended in most instances from John White, of 
Salem, Massachusetts, 1638, or from William White, 
of Ipswich, Massachusetts, 1635. Both were pro- 
genitors of a multitude of descendants, and num- 
ber among them many of the most active and prom- 
inent participants in the social, religious and civil 
affairs of the communities and commonwealths in 
which thev have lived. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1627 



(I) The present article deals with the descend- 
ants of William White, who came from Norfolk 
county, England, landing in Ipswich, Massachu- 
setts, 1635. Shortly afterward he settled in New- 
bury, w^here he became an influential citizen, and 
later was a pioneer in Haverhill, being one of the 
first company of twelve settlers. His name is men- 
tioned as one of the six grantees of land at Paw- 
tucket by the two Indians, "Passaquo and Sagga- 
he_w," November 15, 1642, and he was one of the 
thirty-two landholders in Haverhill in that year. He 
was one of the selectmen chosen in the town at a 
meeting held October 29, 1646, and is listed as one 
of those who shared in the second division of 
ploughland laid out June 7, 1652, his portion being 
seven acres. He died September 28, 1690, aged 
eighty years. His widow soon afterward moved 
to Ipswich, where she died in 1693. Mr. White 
settled on the farm owned in 1861 by James D. 
White, and we find that he owned a farm in New- 
bury in 1650. Soon after the church was gathered 
he became a member, and was one of its firmest 
pillars. He had the honor of the town very much 
at heart, and was esteemed by its citizens and was 
frequently intrusted with its most important busi- 
ness. He left one son, John. 

(II) John, only child of William White, mar- 
ried, at Salem, August 25, 1662, Hannah French. 
He died January i. 1668-69, aged twenty-nine years, 
leaving one son, John. 

(III) John (2), only son of John (i) and Han- 
nah (French) White, was born March 8, 1664. He 
married, October 24, 16S7. Lydia Gilman, daughter 
of Hon. John Gilman, of Exeter, and had many 
sons and daughters, "whose descendants," says an 
old record, "are exceedingly numerous." Another 
account says "Said John and Lydia had sons: 
William, Samuel, Nicholas, Timothy (graduate of 
Harvard College, 1720). James and John; and 
daughters: Mary, Hannah, Elizabeth, Abigail, Ly- 
dia, and Joanna." John White died November 20, 
1727. 

(IV) Nicholas, third son of John and Lydia 
(Gilman) White, was born in Haverhill, December 
4, 1698, and died at Plaistow, New Hampshire, Oc- 
tober 7, 1782. By his first wife, Hannah Aver, 
whom he married in 1722, he had five children, and 
by his second wife, Mary Gulf, he had ten chil- 
dren. 

(V) Noah, third child of Nicholas and Hannah 
(Ayer) White, was born February 15, 1728, and 
settled at Coos, New Hampshire. He married 
Sarah Sweet, by whom he had nine children 

(VI) Nathaniel, the eldest child of Noah and 
Sarah (Sweet) White, was born April 10, 1752. 

His first wife was Betty , who bore him 

three children. After her death he married Re- 
bekah Foord, by whom he also had three children, 
the youngest of whom was Samuel. In 1700 he 
removed with his family to Lancaster, New Hamp- 
shire, where he spent the remainder of his life. He 
served in the revolutionary war, and his wife Re- 
bekah received a pension. He died April 28, 1809. 
He was public-spirited and benevolent, and was 
held in high esteem as a man and a citizen. 

(VII) Samuel, youngest child of Nathaniel and 
Rebekah (Foord) White, was born September 14, 
1787, at Bradford, Vermont, and died June 4, 1854, 
at Concord, New Hampshire. When three years 
old he accompanied his parents in their removal 
to Lancaster, where he grew to manhood. April 
2, 1810, he married Sarah Freeman, by whom he had 
nine children. In February, 1848, he moved to Con- 



cord, where he spent the remainder of his life. 
His wife died December 30, 1857. 

(VIII) Nathaniel, oldest son of Samuel and 
Sarah (Freeman) White, was born at Lancaster, 
New Hampshire, February 7, 1811. He received 
the kind and amount of education incident to most 
boys at the time and in the locality where he grew 
up, with the exception that his religious education 
and training, owing to his mothers' tender care, 
were far above those of the average boy. At four- 
teen years of age he went to Lunenburg, Vermont, 
where he entered the employ of a general merchant, 
and spent about a year. General John Wilson, of 
Lancaster, about that time assumed the manage- 
ment of the Columbian Hotel at Concord, and 
young Nathaniel White took a position in the em- 
ploy of the General, whose wife was a woman of 
many noble qualities. Knowing that their son was 
going to a place where he would be under good 
influences made the young man's parents the more 
readily consent to this arrangement. On his ar- 
rival at Concord, April 26, 1826, Nathaniel White 
had a solitary shilling in his pocket, but by saving" 
the perquisites that came to him about the hotel 
he accumulated in the five years he was there the 
sum of two hundred and fifty dollars. He kept a 
strict account of the salary he earned and turned 
it over to his father. In 1832 he borrowed money 
to start in business. This was the only loan he 
ever received or asked for business purposes. With 
his savings and this loan he purchased for one 
thousand dollars an interest in the stage line be- 
tween Concord and Hanover, driving the stage 
himself. In one year he was free from debt, and 
a short time later he purchased the stage route 
between Concord and Lowell. In 1838 he became 
a partner with Captain William Walker Jr. in es- 
tablishing the express business, making the weekly 
trips to Boston, where he personally attended to 
the delivery of all packages, goods or money in- 
trusted in his care. He was eminently adapted to 
this business, paying great attention to details, even 
the smallest thing, and thus he was an ideal ex- 
pressman. Upon the opening of the Concord rail- 
road in 1842 he became one of the original mem- 
bers of the express company then organized to de- 
liver goods throughout New Hampshire and Caa 
ada. Soon after, Mr. White bought Captain 
Walker's interest, and was the principal owner with 
B. P. Cheney. They sold to the American Express 
Company in the spring of 1880. The business was 
long conducted under the name of the United 
States & Canada Express Company, and has con- 
tinued in successful operation to the present day, 
. and to Nathaniel White's business capacity it has 
been greatly indebted for its remarkable financial 
success. 

Mr. White was strongly attracted to Concord 
from the time he became a resident of the city until 
his death. To him it is indebted for many of the 
beautiful structures which make it an attractive 
city. In the founding of benevolent and charitable 
institutions he was one of the foremost, taking a 
deep interest in the establishment of the New 
Hampshire Asylum for the Insane, the State Re- 
form School, the Orphans' Home at Franklin, to 
which he gave a generous endowment, and of the 
Home for the Aged at Concord. 

In 1852 Mr. White was chosen by the Whig 
and Free-Soil parties to represent Concord in the 
state legislature. He was an Abolitionist from the 
start and a member of the Anti-Slavery Society 
from its inception. He extended his aid to negroes 



1628 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



escaping from slavery in the south, and the attic 
of his house and the hay mows of his barn har- 
bored many a negro on his way to Canada and 
freedom. In 1875 Mr. White was a candidate for 
governor on the Prohibition ticket. In 1876 he 
was sent as a delegate to the Cincinnati Republi- 
can convention which nominated Rutherford B. 
Hayes for the presidency. In 1880 he was placed 
by his party at the head of the list of candidates 
for presidential electors. As far back as 1846 Mr. 
White purchased four hundred acres of land lying 
about two miles from the state house, in the south- 
western part of the city, and gave much of his at- 
tention to farming, making his estate one of the 
most highly cultivated in the state. He also had 
a beautiful summer retreat at Sunapee Lake. In 
addition to his large interest in the express com- 
pany and his farm, he was interested in real estate 
in Concord and Chicago, in hotel property in the 
mountain districts, in railway corporations, in 
banks, in manufacturing establishments, and in ship- 
ping. He was a director in the Manchester & Law- 
fence, the Franconia & Profile House, and Mount 
Washington railroads, and in the National State 
Capital Bank. He was a trustee of the Loan and 
Trust Savings Bank of Concord, of the Reform 
School, Home for the Aged, the Orphans' Home, 
and other private and public trusts. Mr. White 
was a man of noble character. As a child he grew 
up under christian influences ; as a young man he 
was honest, honorable, free from vices, prudent, 
economical, temperate, diligent in business, ener- 
getic and well-liked ; as a man he was strong, firm, 
reliable in every way, tactful, successful, and one 
who was sought out to care for the interests of 
others because he had succeeded so well in the 
management of his own affairs. Mr. and Mrs. 
White were among the foremost members of the 
Universalist Church of Concord, and he was ever 
striving to spread the faith that was in him. Among 
the liberal contributors to Tufts College, he was 
the friend of education and every liberal move- 
ment, and ever cherished a keen interest in the 
welfare of mankind. He did more than any other 
one man to retain the capital at Concord, both giv- 
ing land and contributing in cash to buy land of 
others. 

Mr. White was married November i, 1836, to 
Armenia S. Aldrich, who was born November i, 
1817, in Mendon, Massachusetts, a daughter of 
John and Harriet (Smith) Aldrich (see Aldrich, 
VI). Mrs. White has always been interested in 
the movement for woman suffrage and every effort 
for the improvement of the condition of her sex. 
She was a warm friend of Frances E. Willard and 
other workers in the field of human advancement, 
whose warm regards have ever been hers. On the 
maternal side Mrs. White's ancestry includes the 
Pilgrims of the "Mayflower" — Edward Doty, 
Francis Cooke, and Stephen Hopkins, also Mr. 
Hopkin's second wife, Elizabeth, and their daughter, 
Damaris, who both came with him to Plymouth. 
Mrs. White's mother, whose maiden name was Har- 
riet Smith, was a daughter of Samuel Smith and 
his wife Hope Doten, who married at Plymouth, Mas- 
sachusetts, May 3, 1791. The "Doty-Doten Gene- 
alogy" shows that Hope Doten. born in 1765, was 
a daughter of James and Elizabeth (Kempton) 
Doten, and was descended from Edward Doty and 
his wife. Faith Clark, through John and Elizabeth 
(Cooke) Doty, Isaac and Martha (Faunce) Do- 
ten, and Isaac and Mary (Lanham) Doten, Isaac 
being father of James and grandfather of Hope Do- 
ten. Mrs. White's maternal grandmother, Eliza- 



beth, wife of John Doty or Doten, was the daugh- 
ter of Jacob Cooke (son of Francis) and his wife, 
Damaris, daughter of Stephen Hopkins and his wife 
Elizabeth. 

Nathaniel and Armenia S. (Aldrich) White 
were the parents of seven children: John A., Ar- 
menia E., Lizzie H., Annie Frances, born May 22, 
1852, died November 9, 1865; Nathaniel, Seldon F., 
born July 13, 1857, died April 24, 1858; and Ben- 
jamin C. They also adopted and reared a daugh- 
ter Hattie S., who is now the widow of D. P. Dear- 
born, M. D., late of Brattleboro, Vermont. 

(IX) Colonel John A. White, eldest son of Na- 
thaniel and Armenia S. (Aldrich) White, was born 
March 31, 1838, died November 26, 1899. He mar- 
ried, October 5, 1869, Elizabeth Mary Corning. She 
died in May, 1873, leaving no children. He married 
(second), August 31, 1881, Ella H. Corning, a 
cousin of his first wife. Arnold White, of Con- 
cord. New Hampshire, born October 20, 1883, is 
the only child of this union. 

(IX) Armenia E. White, born March 22, 1847, 
married Horatio Hobbs, who died April 24, 1889. 
He left two children: Nathaniel White Hobbs, 
born November i, 1873; and Annie White Hobbs, 
born July 28, 1875. 

(IX) Lizzie H. White married, October 12, 1881, 
C. H. Newhall, of Lynn, Massachusetts. She died 
December 12, 1887. 

(IX) Nathaniel White, Jr., born June 8, 1855, 
and died October 4, 1904, was a citizen of Con- 
cord. He was general manager of the farm and 
other properties left by his father, and was a di- 
rector of the Mt. Washington Railway Company. 
He married, November 17, 1881, Helen Eastman, 
daughter of Charles S. and Charlotte (Bedlow) 
Eastman. They had two children: Nathaniel Al- 
drich, born November 19, 1883; and Charlotte, 
July 21, 1889. 

(IX) Benjamin Cheney White was born June 
16, 1861. He is a resident of Concord, and is a di- 
rector of the State Capital Bank, the Concord 
& Montreal railroad, and manager of the White Op- 
era House, Concord. He married, January 12, 
1887, Mabel M. Chase, of Concord, daughter of 
James H. and Augusta S. (Lamprey) Chase. They 
had two children : James Chase, born August, 1890. 
died October 5, 1895; and Rose Aldrich, born June 
5> 1895. 

(Second Family.) 
The branch of the White family with 
WHITE which this narrative is concerned 
traces its descent from Robert White, 
a native and resident of Scotland, and a Presbyterian 
in religion. His two sons, Robert and James, came 
to America from northern Ireland about 1729, first 
locating in Lancaster, Massachusetts. Prior to 
1740 they located in the town of Pembroke, New 
Hampshire, where they resided the remainder of 
their lives, and were farmers by occupation. Rob- 
ert White took a deed of his right in Suncook 
of Benjamin Prescott, of Groton, Massachusetts, 
March 10, 1732, and deeded one-half of the same 
to James White, April to, 1733. Both probably lo- 
cated soon afterward on lot number 54, first di- 
vision, Robert on the southerly and James on the 
northerly half. 

(I) James White, above mentioned, married in 
Scotland a Miss McAllister, and their children 
were: Isaac, Mary Moore and Jane. 

(II) Isaac, eldest child and only son of James 

and — (McAllister) White, was born in 

Pembroke in 1736. He resided on the homestead 
upon which his father located, and followed farm- 




ARMENIA S. WHITE. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1629 



ing. He sold this farm to Samuel Kimball, and 
bought another on the street, February' 10, 1773, 
and subsequently sold it to John Head, of Brad- 
ford, Massachusetts. About 1778 he settled in Bow, 
on land now occupied by his descendants. His 
first house stood on the site now occupied by the 
school house in district No. 3, known as the White 
district. December 15, 1765, he married Mary 
Moore, of Pembroke. She was born in March, 
1739, and died March 29, 1838; he died in August, 
1806. Their children were: i. Margaret, born 
October i, 1766; married Moody Dow, of Concord, 
New Hampshire. 2. Mary, born July 11, 1768; 
married Jonathan Cavis, of Bow. 3. James, born 
April 21, 1770; married Polly Alexander, Novem- 
ber 28, 1779. 4. Robert, born May 7, 1772; mar- 
rier Sarah Frye. 5. Mary Ann, born May 21, 
1774; married Jonathan Farmer, June 15, 1797. 6. 
John, born May 9, 1776; died unmarried. 7. Isaac, 
born November 6, 1778; married Elizabeth Ryder. 
8. David, born March 22, 1781 ; married Betsey 
Carter. 9. Nancy, born September 21, 1783 ; mar- 
ried Chauncey Newell. 10. Daniel, (mentioned at 
length in this article). 11. Susan, born July 12, 
1789; married Wells Carter. 12. Betsey, born 
June 2, 1792; married a Mr. Cavis, and resided in 
Bow. 

(HI) David, eighth child and fifth son of Isaac 
and Mary (Moore) White, was born March 22, 
1781. He resided in the town of Bow, and was a 
farmer by occupation. He married, July 16, 1807, 
Betsey Carter, daughter of Colonel John Carter 
(see Carter, VI), of Concord, and died June 29, 
1833. His children were: i. Lucy Carter, born 
May I, 1808, died November 14, 1835. 2. Rev. 
John Brown, born March 10, 1810; married (first), 
Mary P. Merriman, and (second), Elizabeth R. 
Wright, and died in Greenville, Illinois. 3. Rob- 
ert Davis, born March 5, 1812 ; married Mary 
Shute, of Bow, and lived and died in that town. 

4. Uella, born July 7. 1814, died August i, 1814. 

5. Emily, born July 13, 1816 : married John Albin. 
(See Albin, II). 6. Judith Cofiin, born October 16, 
1819; married, February 10, 1842, William Albin 
(see Albin, II). 7. David, mentioned below. 8. 
Henry Kirk, born September 3, 1S30, died Decem- 
ber 2. 1809, in Bow. 

(IV) David (2), seventh child and third son of 
David (i) and Betsey (Carter) White, was born in 
the town of Bow, New Hampshire, April 11, 1826, 
and his education was received in the public schools 
of his native town. While he was a resident of 
Bow he followed farming, and w-as also interested 
in the lumber business. Later he located in Con- 
cord, where he continued in the latter occupation. 
He was a member of the Universalist Church in 
Concord. In politics he supported the principles 
and policies of the Democratic party. He married, 
December 29, 1853, Charlotte Page, daughter of 
Jeremiah and IMehitable (Shute) Page. She was 
born January 29, 1832, and died August 4. 1876, 
surviving her husband, who died August 17, 1875. 
They were the parents of two children : i. David 
Waldo, born June 30, 1864. 2. Una Gertrude, born 
in Concord. October 2, 1869 ; married Richard C. 
Goodell : she died April, 1895, in Antrim, New 
Hampshire. 

(V) David Waldo, eldest child and only son of 
David (2) and Charlotte (Page) White, was born 
in the city of Concord. New Hampshire, June 30, 
1864. He received his education in the public 
schools of his native city, in Tilton Seminary, and 
in Dartmouth College, from which he graduated in 
the class of 1887. After his graduation he entered 



the employ of the Lake Shore railway, in the engi- 
neering department, and subsequently was appointed 
to the position of engineer of the Concord street 
railway. In 1899 he purchased the flour, feed, hay 
and lime business of F. Coffin, in Concord, which 
he has successfully conducted to the present time. 
He is owner of the family homestead in Bow, 
where he with his family passes the summer 
months, their residence being in the city of Con- 
cord during the remainder of the year. He takes 
an active part in community affairs. He is a Re- 
publican in politics, and in 1902 was elected as a 
representative in the legislature from the town of 
Bow. He is a member of various fraternal and 
social bodies — Blazing Star Lodge, No. 11, An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons; White Mountain 
Lodge, No. 5, Independent Order of Odd Fellows ; 
and Bow Grange, No. 189, of which he has been 
master. He married, June 28, 1893, Miss Eva May 
Colby, daughter of Anthon W. and Jessie Louise 
(Brown) Colby (see Colby, VII). She was born 
June 10, 1874. Their children are: i. Lloyd 
David, born in Concord, May 29, 1894, died May 
10, 1897. 2. Una Goodell, born in Concord. Au- 
gust 21, 1895, 3. Irene Bernice, born in Concord, 
September 14, 1898, 

(III) Daniel, tenth child and sixth son of Isaac 
and Mary (Moore) White, born in Bow, March 22, 
1786, died March 16, 1826, was a blacksmith and 
stoneworker, and lived in Bow. He married. July 
13, 1815, Mary Carter, of Bow, born May 3, 1793, 
died January it, 1847, daughter of Moses and Molly 
(Robinson) Carter (see Carter, VI), who lived 
near the old "Iron Works" southwest of the present 
city of Concord. Their children were: William, 
born in 1816, died October 13, 1826; Curtis, Mary 
Ann, born June 20, 1821, died March 9, 1852, un- 
married; and Daniel C, born October 6, 1822, died 
about 1903 in Alton, Illinois. 

(IV) Curtis, second son and child of Daniel 
and Mary (Carter) White, was born in Bow, April 
4. 1819, was educated in the common schools, and 
for a time worked on a farm. In 1851 he settled 
in Concord and learned the carpenter's trade, and 
worked at that in Concord and vicinity for twenty 
years. He subsequently became a wheelwright, and 
followed that occupation for ten years in Concord. 
In the days of the Whigs he was a member of that 
party, and soon after it gave place tg the Republican 
party he became a member of the latter organiza- 
tion. Mr. White's thoroughly upright character 
and pleasant- personality made him many friends, 
and put him in many offices of responsibility and 
trust. When a young man he was a lieutenant in 
the militia. In 1846 he was paymaster of the 
Eleventh Regiment, New Hampshire Militia (some- 
times called the "Bloody Eleventh," filling that 
office one year. He served one year as a member 
of the common council, and two years as alderman 
of Concord. In 1861 he was elected to the board of 
selectmen, and is now (1906) on the board, hav- 
ing filled the place twenty-two years in the time 
since his first election, and is still performing the 
functions of that office. He has been twenty-six 
years an assessor of Concord, and for four terms 
of five years each he was justice of the peace, and 
quorum for the state. 

Mr. White is an Odd Fellow, first becoming a 
member of White Moutain Lodge, No. 5. and after- 
ward a charter member of Rum ford Lodge, No. 46, 
where he passed the chairs. Fie is also a member 
of Penacook Encampment, No. 3, of wdiich he is a 
past chief patriarch, and a member of the grand 
lodge and grand encampment of the state. When 



1630 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



the Knights of Pythias was a young organization 
Mr. White became a charter member of Concord 
Lodge, No. 8, and was elected past chancellor, 
without passing the subordinate chairs. At the 
second meeting of the grand lodge of the Knights, 
he was made past grand chancellor of the order 
without having previously filled offices in the grand 
body. At the meeting of the grand lodge in 1882 
he was elected grand master of the exchequer, and 
has held the office since by virtue of repeated re- 
elections. Mr. White professed the Baptist faith in 
1862, and is now a member of the First Baptist 
Church of Concord. He married, March 29, 1853, 
Hannah Buntin, of Bow, daughter of Benjamin and 
Lydia (Hackett) Buntin. She was born May 7, 
1826, and died June 16, 1888. They had one child, 
Anna, born November 12, 1856, who married, De- 
cember S. 1S80, Josiah Eastman Fernald (see Fer- 
nald, VHI). 



This family does not appear to be con- 
WHITE nected with the Whites whose history 
has been previously written. Undoubt- 
edly the present line is descended from one of the 
six early immigrants of the name, but the family 
is so numerous that it has been impossible to trace 
the early antecedents of this branch. 

(I) Samuel White was born in Ossipee. New 
Hampshire, toward the close of the eighteenth cen- 
tury. He died in 1873, aged eighty-six years. He 
married Philena Tibbetts, a native of the same 
town. 

(H) Allen Gannett, son of Samuel and Philena 
(Tibbetts) White, was born at Ossipee, New- 
Hampshire, in 1821. He attended various schools, 
and then engaged in teaching for several years. 
He made quite a local reputation in this profes- 
sion, and was unusually successful in insubordinate 
districts, which had the name of not allowing a 
master to complete the term. Becoming tired of 
this occupation, he went into the store of Moses 
Merrill at Centre Ossipee as clerk, later entered 
into partnership with Mr. Merrill, and finally went 
into business for himself, which he successfully 
conducted until his death. He was for several 
j-ears superintendent of schools at Ossipee. He 
was a strong Democrat, and an energetic worker 
in the Free Will Baptist Church. Mr. White mar- 
ried Elizabeth R. Lougee, who was born in Parson- 
field, Maine. They had seven children : Orlando 
L.. Clara Bell, Charles Allen, whose sketch follows ; 
George Belmont, Augusta Amanda, Herbert Elmore 
and Scott Lougee. Allen Gannett White died at 
JMoultonville, June 29, 1873, and his wife is still 
living. 

(HI) Charles Allen, second son and third child 
of Allen Gannett and Elizabeth (Lougee) White, 
was born at Ossipee, New Hampshire, September 
I. 1854. He attended various schools, and after- 
wards a private high school, w^hicli he left at the age 
of sixteen to go to work in his father's store. 
Afterwards he was employed in a shoe factory. 
At the age of twenty-three he fitted himself to en- 
ter a business college, but before he began his 
course bought a half interest from his brother, Or- 
lando L. White, who had a general store. Together 
they bought the W. H. Wiggin property, and 
moved into the store. About two years after this 
partnership w-as formed Orlando L. White died, 
and Charles A. White took his youngest brother, 
Herbert E. White, into the business, still keeping the 
old firm name of O. L. and C. A. White. Twenty 
years from the day they moved into the store they 
sold out the stock to S. O. Huckins, who leased 



the building for three years, during which time 
Mr. Charles A. White took charge of the local 
section of the Telephone Company. At the expira- 
tion of the lease Mr. White resumed business, and 
Mr. Huckins moved into his new store alone, but 
still continued the old firm name. In politics Mr. 
White is a Democrat, and was postmaster under 
Cleveland. He has always held some town office, 
and was selectman in 1884-85-86, and again in 
1894-95-96. He has been supervisor of elections, 
and was a member of the school board for years. 
He is a member of Ossipee Valley Lodge, No._ 74, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, and on the night 
of his promotion to Master Mason was elected war- 
den, and six months from that night was elected 
master. He has held various chairs in the Knights 
of Pythias, and is also a member of the Grange. 
In 1887 Charles Allen White married Emma Jose- 
phine Palmer, daughter of Frank and Emily Palmer, 
of Ossipee. They have one child, Kenwood, born 
February 2, 1902. 

(I) Timothy White, an industrious farmer and 
conscientious member of the Second Advent 
Church in Ossipee, New Hampshire, was born in 
that town in 1803, and died in Madison, New 
Hampshire, 1879. Perhaps the best years of his 
active life were spent in Madison, where he occu- 
pied a position of considerable influence and where 
he was several times elected selectman, but declined 
to qualify and serve in that office. _ He had pre- 
viously held the same office in Ossipee, and while 
not averse to its duties in Madison the farm and 
its successful cultivation were of greater importance 
to him. His lands comprised about three hundred 
and fifty acres, and were always well tilled, well 
stocked, and had good buildings. His wife, Mary 
(Clark) White, was born in Parsonfield, New 
Hampshire, in 1809, and died in Madison in _ 1878. 
Their four children were: Mary, who died in in- 
fancy. David, born in Ossipee and died in Madi- 
son. Lorenzo, born in Ossipee, and resides in Ro- 
chester, New Hampshire. Sylvester, see forward. 

(II) Sylvester, youngest of the children of Tim- 
othy and Mary (Clark) White, was born in Os- 
sipee, New Hampshire. April 25, 1833. In early 
life he was a farmer, and later on became a shoe- 
maker and worked at that trade, but did not give 
up farming entirely. He resided for a time in 
Northwood, but now resides in Gossville, New 
Hampshire. He married, 1857, Elizabeth J. Ger- 
rish, who was born in Deerfield, New Hampshire, 
and died while visiting in Nottingham, New Hamp- 
shire, in 1900. Sylvester and Elizabeth J. (Ger- 
rish) White had one chM, Edgar F. White, now 
of Epsom, New Hampshire. 

(III) Edgar F., only son and child of Sylvester 
and Elizabeth J. (Gerrish) White, was born in 
Madison, New Hampshire, December 2, 1858, and 
received his education in the schools of that town 
and Northwood, New Hampshire. Like his father, 
he also became a shoemaker and together with 
working at his trade carried on a general shoe store. 
His stock at one time was worth five thousand dol- 
lars, and was destroyed by fire, causing him a se- 
rious loss, as he carried an insurance of only abotit 
fifteen hundred dollars. Worse than all else, his 
health failed, but not his ambition, and he next 
turned his attention to farming and teaming until 
he again became strong. He also ran the stage be- 
tween Northwood and Epsom for some dme. and 
afterward moved into the town last mentioned and 
set up a shoe shop. Still later he leased a hotel in 
Epsom, conducts it successfully, and purchased 
the property in 1901. Since he came to live in Ep- 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1631 



som Mr. White has engaged in lumbering in con- 
nection with his other enterprises, and also has car- 
ried on a livery business. Notwithstanding his early- 
losses by fire and poor health his business life has 
been successful, and now he is in comfortable cir- 
cumstances. He is a Granger, and in politics a Re- 
publican. He is inclined to be liberal in his re- 
ligious views, although brought up under the in- 
fluences of the Second Advent Church. On Sep- 
tember 22, 1882, Mr. White married Annie M. Ver- 
ity, who was born in Andover, Massachusetts, May 
25, 1859. They have four children: Myrtle F., 
born in Rochester, New Hampshire, October 30, 
1884, married J. Arthur Griffon, September i, 1906. 
Elsie S., born in Madison, December 30, 1889. Er- 
vin, born in Madison, August 26, 1894. Earl, born 
in Northwood, January 8, 1896. 

The White family of this article is of 
WHITE Irish extraction and has attained to the 
third generation in America. Its 
members have shown the impetuous energy com- 
mon to the Celtic race, and some of them, though 
born poor, have outstripped many citizens born to 
wealth and influence. 

(I) William White was born in Ireland about 
1836, and when twenty-five or thirty years of age 
came to America and settled in Somersworth, New 
Hampshire, vv-here he was a laborer. He died Oc- 
tober I, 1879, aged forty-two years. He married, 
in 1868, Mary O'Brien, who was born in Ireland, 
now living in Dover, aged sixty-nine years, daugh- 
ter of Michael and Julia (Canty) O'Brien, by whom 
he had six children : Mary C, Michael J., John P., 
William F., James and Julia. Mary C. was born 
March 16, 1869, and lives in Dover. Michael J. 
is mentioned below. John P., born September 17, 
1873, lives in Dover. William F., born September, 
1875. lives in Dover. Rev. James, born September, 
1877, was ordained to the priesthood in the Roman 
Catholic Church by Archbishop Bruchesi, of Mon- 
treal, Canada, December, 1905, and is now assist- 
ant pastor of St. Ann's Church, Manchester, New 
Hampshire. Julia, born May 22, 1880, resides in 
Dover. . / 

(II) Michael Joseph, second child and eldest 
son of William and Mary (O'Brien) White, was 
born in Somersworth, March 2. 1871. At ,the age 
of ten years he accompanied his parents on their 
removal to Dover, where he has since resided. His 
education was obtained in the public schools of 
Somersworth, which he left at ten years of age for 
Dover, where he attended the public school three 
months, and at the evening schools which he at- 
tended for a time. Immediately after going to Do- 
ver he became a back boy in the Cocheco Mills. 
After a term of service in that capacity he learned 
mule spinning and worked at that occupation until 
1901;. 

At the age of fifteen he became a member of 
the Knights of Labor, and a year later became a 
charter member of Local Lodge No. i, of the Boot 
and Shoemakers' International Union. In 1889 he 
became a member of the Mule Spinners' Union, 
and subsequently filled all the offices of the local 
union, being elected president at the age of eighteen, 
and holding that position through several _ serious 
difficulties, one of which was a strike lasting five 
months. In 1895 he was elected member of the ex- 
ecutive board of the Mule Spinners' National Un- 
ion, where he served until 1899. In tHt year he 
was elected vice-president of the organization and 
in 1902 was chosen president and served four years, 
retiring in 1906, and being made a life member of 



the order. He was one of the organizers of the 
United Textile Workers of America, and was a 
member of its executive board until he retired in 
190O. Since 1896 he has been prominent in Dem- 
ocratic local political circles, and for four years was 
a member of the Democratic state committee. In 
1906 he was elected mayor of Dover, and is but 
the second Democrat who has filled that office since 
the organization of the city. Mayor White has 
risen from a humble position to a place of honor 
and trust, and is a well-known and popular citizen. 
He has filled many positions of honor and trust. 
From childhood he has been identified with the 
Catholic Total Abstinence Union of America. 



This name has been traced to a remote 
DODGE period in England, and has been very 

widely distributed over the United 
States, beginning with the earliest settlement of the 
New England colonies. It has been distinguished in 
law and letters, in divinity, in war, in politics and 
in every leading activity of the human family and is 
still identified with the progress of events in New 
Hampshire and other states. It has turned out from 
Harvard nineteen graduates, from Yale a dozen, 
from Dartmouth ten, from the University of Ver- 
mont ten, from Columbia College eight, Union Col- 
lege six, Andover Theological Seminary five, Bow- 
doin College five. University of Wisconsin five, 
Brown University three, Colby University three, 
Williams College two and Middlebury College one. 
The records of the Colleges of Heraldry in England 
show that a coat of arms was granted to Peter 
Dodge, of Stockworth, county of Chester, in 1306, 
and later a patent to John Dodge, of Rotham, in the 
county of Kent, in 1546. It is declared that he was 
descended from Peter Dodge of Stockworth. The. 
name is found frequently in various sections of 
England, and in the sixteenth and seventeenth cen- 
turies there were Dodges of honorable character 
and connection in the counties of Cheshire, Kent, 
Norfolk and Down. On the eleventh of May, 1629, 
there sailed from the harbor of Yarmouth, Eng- 
land, the "Talbot," a vessel of three hundred tons 
and the "Lion's Whelp," a neat and nimble ship of 
one hundred and twenty tons, and they arrived at 
Salem, Massachusetts, on the twenty-ninth of the 
June following. This marks the arrival of the first 
of the name of Dodge in America. 

(I) John Dodge and his wife. Mar j one, resided 
in Somersetshire, England, where the following chil- 
dren were born to them, namely : William, Richard, 
Michael and Mary. An examination of the parish 
registry of East Coker, Somersetshire, England, 
discloses the records of the births of these children. 
It is also learned that Richard Dodge was in 1633 a 
duly admitted tenant by entry hold of land in Hel- 
yar Manor in East Coker, that this manor came into 
the possession of its then owner about 1616. and 
that Richard came there from St. Badeaux,. Devon- 
shire about four miles from Plymouth, in that year. 
(Mention of Richard and numerous descendants 
forms part of this article). , ,, • • 

(II) William, eldest child of John and Marjorie 
Dodge, settled in Salem, Massachusetts, in 1629. 
There is a tradition that he was about at his ma- 
jority at that time, and that he came over on a tour 
of investigation and that he returned to England for 
his wife. Her name has not been discovered. It 
has been erroneously given as Elizabeth Haskell 
but there are proofs that she was the wife of an- 
other William in England. This William Dodge 
was known as "Farmer" William, and he died be- 



1632 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



tween 1685 and 1692. The standing of "Farmer" 
William in the community is indicated by the fact 
that he was repeatedly elected or appointed to pub- 
lic offices, such as selectman, grand juryman, trial 
juryman and on committees in the services of town 
and church interests, laying out roads, etc. There 
are also evidences that he was on the best of terms 
with his pastor. Rev. John Hale, and that he and 
his sons were sturdy supporters of good morals in 
every way. In May, 1685, he conveyed his home- 
stead to his son. Captain William, and otherwise 
disposed of his real estate by deeds. His home- 
stead is on the east side of Cabot street and south of 
Herrick street, in Salem. His children were : John, 
William, and probably Joshua. The last named was 
killed in the Narragansett war, in 1675. (William 
(2) and descendants receive extended notice in this 
article). 

(HI) Captain John, eldest son of "Farmer" Wil- 
liam Dodge, was born in 1636, and lived in Beverly, 
where he owned a mill at the head of Beverly 
Cove. He served against the Narragansetts in 1675 
and probably earned his title in that service, and 
was chosen representative to the general court in 
1693-96 and 1702, and was frequently on the grand 
and petit juries and on various town and parish 
committees, and was one of the most useful and 
prominent men on the colonies. In 1710 he gave 
thirty-three acres of land in Wenhani to his grand- 
son John, the son of John, and otherwise disposed 
of real estate. He was married (first), April 10, 
1659, to Sarah Proctor and (second) to Elizabeth, 
widow of John Woodberry. She survived him and 
died January 6, 1726, aged ninety-four years. He 
died in 1723. His children were : John, William, 
Sarah, Hannah (died young), Hannah, Martha and 
Jonathan. 

(IV) Jonathan, youngest son of Captain John 
Dodge, was born between 1675 and 1680, and died 
in Beverly, about February, 1756. After the death 
of his older brother, William he took a lease of the 
lands formerly owned by their father for a term 
of seven years and ultimately became their owner. 
He lived on the Salem side of Beverly Cove until 
about the time of his father's death, when he 
moved to the Beverly side and there continued the 
remainder of his life. He was a warm friend of 
Rev. John Hale, and was a prosperous and in- 
fluential citizen of the town. He held numerous 
offices, such as juryman, constable and fence 
viewer. The inventory of the estate made Decem- 
ber 17, 1756, enumerates one hundred and fifty- 
seven acres of land, and as a total footing 1,822 
pounds and five shillings. He was married De- 
cember 17, 1702, to Elizabeth Goodhue, of Ipswich, 
who died July 26, following. He married (second) 
May 15, 1705, Jerusha Rayment. She was a widow 
and had a daughter Hannah at that time. Their 
children were: Francis, Peter (died young), 
George, William, Elizabeth, John, Jonathan and 
Peter. 

(V) John, fifth son and sixth child of Jonathan 
?ind Jerusha Dodge, was baptized August 24, 1718, m 
Salem, and died February 9, 1779. He resided in 
Beverly, and was probably a farmer. He was mar- 
ried (intention published March 14, I740) to Han- 
nah Fowler, of Ipswich. He died at Wenham, 
March to, 1807. aged eightv-eight years. His will 
was made one day before his death and was proved 
on the first of the following month, in which are 
mentioned his wife, Hannah, three sons, two daugh- 
ters and a granddaughter, Hannah Masters. The 
inventory of his estate amounted to 11,435 pounds, 
18 shillings. The Beverly records give seven of 



his children, namely: Ruth, Charles, Jerusha, John, 
Hannah, Lucy and Jonathan. 

(VI) Deacon John (3), second son and fourth 
child of John (2) and Hannah (Fowler) Dodge, 
was born May 19, 1747, in Beverly, and resided in 
Wenham, near Wenham Lake. He died there May 

1, 1825, aged seventy-seven years. He is also known 
by the title of lieutenant. He was married Decem- 
ber I, 1768, to Mehitable Batchelder, of Beverly, 
who died December 28, 1789-90, aged forty-two 
years. He was married (secondj (published July 

2. 1791) to Sarah Raymond, of Beverly. She sur- 
vived him more than fifteen years and died Septem- 
ber 24, 1840, in Chichester, New Hampshire. She 
was the mother of the last two of his children, the 
first wife being the mother of ten. They were: 
John, Lucy, Uzziel, Jerusha, Wi.\liam, Samuel, Mary, 
Aretas, Havilah, Elezaphan, Mehitable and Sarah. 

(VII) Elezaphan, second son and tenth child of 
Lieutenant John and Mehitable (Batchelder) Dodge, 
was born December 26, 1789, in Wenham, and died 
April 4, 1857, i" New Boston, New Hampshire, 
where he settled in 1817. He joined the Congrega- 
tional church at Wenham, September 30, 181 7, and 
was for a long time deacon of the Presbyterian 
church in New Boston. He purchased a tract of 
land in New Boston, which is now occupied by his 
grandson, on which he made a substantial and per- 
manent home and was a successful farmer. He 
married (first) a remote relative, Anna Dodge, 
daughter of Peter and Sarah (Dodge) Dodge, whose 
ancestry may be carried forward as follows : 

(4) Peter, youngest child of Jonathan and 
Jerusha Dodge, was baptized October .12, 1724, in 
Beverly, and died September 14, 1796, iij Wenham. 
He lived not far from Wenham Pond and was 
twice married. His first wife being Sarah, daughter 
of Mark, who was a son of Edward and grandson 
of Richard Dodge (II), and (second) Elizabeth 
Batchelder (a widow), daughter of Benjamin and 
Christina (Trask) Cressy. They were published 
December 20, 1761, and were married at Danvers, 
January 6, 1762. She was baptized September 6, 
1736, and died June 21, 1821, in her eighty-fifth 
year. She was the mother of seven of his nine 
children, who were baptized in Wenham, namely: 
Sarah, Peter, Elizabeth, Mary, Martha, Mehitable 
and Jonathan. 

(5) Peter (2), eldest son and second child of 
Peter (i) and Elizabeth (Cressy) (Batchelder) 
Dodge, was born November 10, 1764, in Wenham, 
Massachusetts, and died Frebuary 3, 1844. He mar- 
ried Sally Dodge, who was born December 4, 1778, 
daughter of Simeon and Abigail (Dodge) Dodge, of 
Beverly, and died April 4, 1822, aged fifty-two 
years. They were the parents of two daughters. 

(6) Anna, elder daughter of Peter (2) and Sally 
(Dodge) Dodge, was born June i, 1796, and married 
Elezaphan Dodge, as above noted, March i, 181 7. 
Their only child was Peter, who was killed June 
29, 1862, at the battle of Gaines Mills, Virginia. Mr. 
Dodge married (second) Lavinia Dodge, daughter 
of Antipas and Jerusha (Dodge) Dodge. She was 
born March i, 1797, and died 1891. Her children 
were: Anna, Elnathan, Uzziel, Willard, Mary Ann, 
Edwin, Allen, Lendell, Sarah Jerusha and Maria 
Lavinia. 

(VIII) Lendell, sixth son and eighth child of 
Elezaphan Dodge, and eighth child of his second 
wife, Lavinia Dodge, was born May 28. 1838, in New 
Boston, New Hampshire, where his life was passed. 
He received the common school education of his 
time and locality, and when a young man was em- 
ployed for a time at Nashua. On his return to his 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1633 



native town he engaged in farming on a farm of 
two hundred acres, this being the old homestead 
and where he still resides, having been in the family 
now (1907) for over ninety years and where the 
special subject of this sketch, his son, William O., 
still resides and where three generations have been 
born. The farm is devoted chietiy to dairying, and 
he was also actively interested in lumbering. He is 
an attendant of the Presbyterian church, and an 
ardent Republican in political principle. He is re- 
spected by his townsmen and active in the support 
of schools and has served on the school board. He 
was married December 25, 1871, to Ellen Lamson, 
daughter of William and Orindia (Odell) Lamson, of 
IMont Vernon. She was educated in the Academy 
at Alont Vernon and was a teacher two years. 
She is a member of the Presbyterian church and 
both Mr. and Mrs. L. Dodge are members of the 
New Boston Grange, in which ]\Ir. Dodge has held 
several of the principal official stations. They were 
the parents of live children, of whom three died in 
infancy. The surviving are William O., and Edwin 
H., resides in Bradford, New Hampshire, a farmer, 
formerly a member of the firm of Martin & Dodge, 
.of New Boston. 

(IX) William Osborne, elder son of Lendell and 
Ellen (Lamson) Dodge, was born September 26, 
1872, in New Boston, and has resided in that town 
all his life. He attended the district school and the 
high school of that town, and upon attaining man- 
hood turned his attention to agriculture and is asso- 
ciated with his father in farming. He is extensively 
engaged in dairying and has a farm of two hundred 
acres in New Boston and one hundred and sixty 
in Derry. He is a progressive farmer and en- 
deavors to keep abreast of the times, and is an 
active member of the local Grange, in which he 
has filled the principal chairs, having served three 
times as master. He was six years a trustee of the 
cemetery and is a member and officer of the Pres- 
byterian church. In politics he supports the princi- 
ples and policies of the Republican party, and has 
been selectman three years, two of which he was 
chairman. He was married November 27, 1895 to 
Cora Fiske, daughter of Henry Fiske, of New Bos- 
ton. She was educated in the district and high 
schools, and has been active in Grange work, filling 
several of the offices of the Grange, and is also a 
member of the Daughters of Rebekah. She is also 
active in the work of the church. They are the 
parents of one child, Carolyn E., born July 25, 1905. 

(Ill) Captain William (2), second son and child 
of William (i) Dodge, was born September 19, 
1640, and died 1720. He inherited his father's 
homestead and resided in Beverly, and was a "mal- 
ster." He was made a freeman in 1683, was deputy 
in 1689, and representative in 1690. He was in the 
war against the Narragansetts in 1675, and acquired 
distinction for courage and skill. In Hubbards' 
narrative an account is given of his bravery and 
success. In this expedition Josiah Dodge, who is 
supposed to have been a brother of Captain William, 
together with John Balch and Peter Woodbury, 
were killed at Muddy brook, while fighting under 
Captain Lathrop. In the historic controversy about 
the bell of Bass River Church (first church of 
Beverly) which was captured at Port Royal, in 
1654, William Dodge and Thomas Tuck, Senior, 
with military spirit took the bell and put it to its 
intended use. Captain Dodge was almost continu- 
ously in service upon some town or parish com- 
mittee, and the records are replete with mention 
of his services, extending from the period over 
1670 to 1708. He was married (first) to Mary Con- 



ant, widow 0/ John Balch, who was dro\vned. He 
was married (second) May 26, 1685, to widow 
Johanna Larkin, daughter of Deacon Robert Hale, 
of Charlestown. She died August 18, 1694, aged 
forty-seven years, and he married (third) in 1698, 
Mary Greatly, who died about February i, 1702. 
She was the widow of Captain Andrew Creatty, 
of Marblehead. His first six children were born of 
Mary Conant, his first wife, and the remainder of 
the second wife, Johanna (Hale) Dodge. Their 
names are as follows : William, Mary, Joshua, 
Hannah, Elizabeth, Sarah, Robert and Rebecca 
(twins), Josiah and Elisha. Mary Conant was a 
daughter of Roger Conant (see Conant), who be- 
queathed to his daughter, the wife of Captain 
Dodge, £5 and the same sum to each of her five 
children. 

(IV) Robert, third son of Captain William 
Dodge, and eldest child of his second wife, Johanna 
(Hale) Dodge, was born October 9, 1686, in Beverly, 
and died January i, 1764. He was a prosperous 
farmer, residing in North Beverly. Three of his 
sons were coopers, one a cordwainer and another a 
joiner. At the age of twenty-four years he was 
chosen surveyor of highways, and subsequently held 
many other town offices. He was buried with his 
wife at the old churchyard of the Second Church, 
where their gravestones are still in a perfect state 
of preservation. He married Lydia Woodbury, 
daughter of Isaac and Elizabeth (Herrick) Wood- 
bury, of Chibaco Parish. Their intentions were 
published -June 26, 1709. She died April 6, 1759, in 
her sixty-eighth year. Their children were : Isaac, 
Rebecca, Caleb, Lydia, Johanna, Elizabeth, Robert, 
William (died young), Nicholas and William. (The 
last named receives further mention in this article). 

(V) Nicholas, fifth son and ninth child of 
Robert and Lydia (Woodbury) Dodge, was born 
April 16, 1728, in North Beverly, and was a farmer 
in Boxford, Massachusetts. In December, 1762, he 
sold the farm in Boxford to William Seers, of 
that town, which included a fraction over seventeen 
acres, with the buildings thereon, which had been 
deeded to him by his father in April of the same 
year, 1762. In March, 1763, he bought in Boxford 
forty-four acres and a fraction, with buildings 
thereon for the sum of £200. In October, 1775, he 
sold tlie same with some small pieces in addition for 
£240 and moved to Londonderry, New Hampshire, 
where he died between June 10,, 1780, and 
June 15, 1785, the respective dates of the 
making and proving of his will. He was 
dismissed from the Second Church of Beverly, 
September 2, 1764, and probably joined some other 
church at that time. His will indicates that he was 
possessed of a considerable estate in Londonderry. 
He gave to one of his sons, £12 and a half of his 
farming tools. To his widow he gave the use of 
half of all his personal estate and buildings and the 
use of the land, which was bequeathed to a son and 
daughter until they became of age. He was married 
March 3, 1752, to Experience Woodbury, who prob- 
ably survived him. Their children were: Nicholas, 
Caleb, Anna, Mary, Ebenezer, Lydia and Isaac. 

(VI) Isaac, youngest cliild of Nicholas and E.x- 
perience (Woodberry) Dodge, was baptized August 
2, 1767, in Boxford. He received by will one half 
of the house, barn and farming tools of his father 
in Londonderry, and all of the livestock at the 
decease or marriage of his mother and a part of 
the paternal homestead, his sister, Lydia. receiving 
the remainder of thirty acres. He died in London- 
derry, and appointed his wife and friend, Benjamin 
Woodbury, as sole executors. His wife was Mary 



1^3 t 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Austin, of Salem, Massachusetts, and their children 
were : Isaac, Caleb, Samuel, Moody and Benjamin. 

(VII) Caleb, second son and child of Isaac and 
Mary (Austin) Dodge, was born February 2, 1793, 
in Londonderry, and grew up there in attendance 
of the district school during his boyhood. He be- 
came a carpenter and cabinet maker and was also 
engaged in farming. He sold his farm in Merri- 
mack and removed to Manchester. He was mar- 
ried in Londonderry to Theresa Garvin, daughter of 
Moses Garvin. They were members of the Con- 
gregational Church. Mr. Dodge was in early life a 
Democrat in politics, but the issues precedmg and 
arising at the time of the Civil war turned him from 
that allegiance and he became an enthusiastic Re- 
publican. His children were : Mary Jane, Isaac, 
Eliza Ann, ]\Iargaret W., Hazen G. and Charles M. 
Six besides these died in infancy. 

(VIII) Hazen G., second sen of Caleb and 
Theresa (Garvin) Dodge, was born August 24, 1837, 
in Merrimack, New Hampshire, and was educated 
in the common schools of that town and the Man- 
chester high school. At the age of nineteen years 
he quit the schoolroom and engaged in carpenter 
work with his father and became adept at the 
trade. At the outbreak of the Civil war he enlisted 
in September, 1861, in Company I, Seventh New 
Hampshire Regiment, and was in active service for 
three years and three months, participating in many 
important battles. At the close of the war he was 
employed for three years in the mills at Manchester, 
and then settled in Merrimack, where he engaged in 
farming and lumbering. In 1867 or '68 he pur- 
chased a farm near Baboosic Pond ; he sold this 
farm in 1886; in 1887 he purchased the farm on 
which he now resides and is successfully engaged 
in agriculture. He is a steadfast supporter of the 
Republican principles and policies. He was married 
October 10, 1861, to Anna L. Fisher, who was born 
March 4, 1840, in New London, daughter of Levi 
and Fanny (Wilkins) Fisher, of that town. Mrs. 
Dodge is identified with the Congregational church. 
They have one son, Edwin H. Dodge, who was 
born December 4, 1867, in Merrimack, and was edu- 
cated in the district school, Nashua public school 
and McGaw Institute at Reed's Ferry, and is a 
machinist by occupation. He married Veda Blake, 
of Hudson, March 2, 1900, and they have two 
daughters: Hazel V., born March 13, 1901, and 
Anna G., born February 27, 1907. 

(V) Deacon William (3), sixth son and tenth 
and youngest child of Robert and Lydia (Wood- 
bury) Dodge, was born at North Beverly, Massa- 
chusetts, and was baptized January 2, 1732. He was 
a joiner and cabinet maker in his native town, and 
was a deacon of the Second Church there. William 
(3) Dodge was twice married, and had twelve chil- 
dren in all. His first wife was Mary (Baker) 
Dodge, to whom he was united November 14, 1752. 
She' died in 1761, leaving four children : William, 
Simeon, whose sketch follows ; Anna and Lydia. 
On August I, 1764, he married his second wife, 
Mary (Trask) Dodge, died April 25, 1812, aged 
seventy-six years. They had eight children : Ed- 
ward, Levi, Nabby, Mary or Polly, Joanna, Ezekiel, 
Pyani and Mercy. Deacon Dodge died June 3, 
1810, aged seventy-nine years. He and his second 
wife are buried in the cemetery adjoining the 
church at North Beverly. 

(VI) Simeon, second son and child of Deacon 
William (3) Dodge and his first wife, Mary (Baker) 
Dodge, was born March 26, 1755, in Beverly, Mas- 
sachusetts. He took part in the fight at Concord and 
Lexington, and followed the British back to Boston. 



The pursuit was close, and he saved his life by tak- 
ing refuge in a cellar. Afterwards he served for 
three years in the Revolutionary war, beginning 
February 13, 1777, and continuing till the same date 
in 1780. He was in Captain Billy Porter's company. 
Colonel Benjamin Tupper's regiment. Soon after 
1781 Simeon Dodge moved to Francestown, New 
Hampshire, where he lived till his death, nearly 
fifty years later. On December 31, 1780, he mar- 
ried Mary Balch, of Beverly, Massachusetts, and 
they had ten children : Simeon, Joshua Balch, Mary, 
Ruth, Lydia, Sarah, Anna, William, whose sketch 
follows ; Samuel Davis and Baker. Simeon Dodge 
died at Francestown, New Hampshire, December 
25, 1827. 

(VII) William (4), third son and seventh child 
of Simeon and Mary (Balch) Dodge, was born at 
Francestown, New Hampshire, August 15, 1795. 
In 1823, in company with his early wedded wife, 
he moved to Whitefield, this state, where he be- 
came the first merchant in town. He built the third 
house in the village, still standing at the north 
end of the bridge, and in the south part of this 
building he opened his store. The next year, 1S24, 
mail facilities were established in the new settle- 
ment, and Mr. Dodge was appointed postmaster, 
which position he held under successive administra- 
tions until his death, thirteen years later. In ad- 
dition to his other activities he carried on the 
manufacture of pot or pearl ash for many years. 
Mr. Dodge was a man of liberal education, and he 
at once became an influential citizen. He was town 
clerk for seven consecutive years, was superintend- 
ent of "schooling," and was representative to the 
New Hampshire legislature for the years 1834-35-36. 
All his official life was distinguished by marked 
ability and strict conduct, and he was an actiVe 
promoter of the cause of education. William (4) 
Dodge married Eunice Newell, of Mason, New 
Hampshire, who was born January 20, 1804. They 
had seven children. Eunice, born July 15, 1S25 ; 
Amorensa M., born July 19, 1827, died May 11, 
1838; William Franklin, whose sketch follows; i\Iary 
Viola, born February i, 1831, died in infancy; Piam, 
born October 16, 1832, who died in babyhood; Levi 
W., born July 21, 1834; ^^^d Henry C, born July 
30, 1836. Levi W. Dodge married Carrie Webb, 
and lived in Syracuse, New York, where he was 
agent of a coal company. He had strong literary 
tastes and wrote the "History of Whitefield" and 
other works. Henry C. Dodge married (first) 
Lizzie Southworth, and (second) Susan Colby 
Spooner, and was a successful business man in New 
York City, and a deacon in the Baptist Church. 
William (4) Dodge died at Whitefield, November 

6, 1837, at the early age of forty-two. Had his 
life been spared he would undoubtedly have become 
one of the leading men in Coos county. His widow 
married Joseph Colby, and lived till 1884, dying at 
the age of eighty years. 

(VIII) William Franklin, eldest son and third 
child of William (4) and Eunice (Newell) Dodge, 
was born at Whitefield. New Hampshire, November 

7, 1829. In early life he was engaged in the starch 
business in his native town, but in 1861 he bought 
his present estate, a tract containing one hundred 
and fifty acres, now containing seventeen hundred 
acres, fifteen hundred of which is timber land,' and 
the remainder is devoted to farming purposes. 
Sixty head of horses and cows are kept on the 
place. The original dwelling was a farm house, 
but in 1869, attracted by the beauty of the scenery, 
boarders began to appear. The result is the present 
Mountain View House, containing one hundred 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



16 



JO 



rooms and all the appliances of a first class hotel. 
It is situ.. ted thirteen hundred feet above sea level, 
and commands magnificent views of the Franconia 
and Presidential ranges, and of the mountains in 
Vermont. The surrounding grounds have been 
fitted up in a manner to enhance their natural beau- 
ties, and the place is one of the most attractive in 
the entire White Mountain region. William F. 
Dodge is a deacon in the Free Will Baptist Church, 
and a man who stands high in the community. He 
belongs to the Blue Lodge Masons. He is a Re- 
publican in politics, and served as selectman and 
town clerk for many years, and as representative 
in the New Hampshire legislature for two terms. 
He has often been engaged in the settlement of 
estates. William F. Dodge married Mary Jane, 
daughter of William and Rebecca Eastman, whose 
father was one of the first settlers of Whitefield. 
They have had three children: A daughter died in 
infancy; Van Herbert, whose sketch follows; iind 
Charles Eben, born June i, 1861, who is engaged in 
the manufacture of typewriter ribbons at Syracuse, 
New York. He married Ida Bray, of Whitefield, 
and has two daughters, Beulah and j\Iary. 

(IX) Van Herbert, elder son and second child 
of William F. and Mary J. (Eastman) Dodge, was 
born at Whitefield, New Hampshire, March 21, 1859. 
He was educated in the public schools of his native 
town, and at New Hampton Institution, this state. 
He went to Providence, Rhode Island, in 1870, and 
was cashier in a store for three years. In July, 
1873, he returned to Whitefield, which became his 
permanent home. He is co-proprietor with his 
father in the Mountain View House, also one of 
the owners in the Whitefield 'Farm Company, and is 
interested with his brother in manufacturing at 
Syracuse, New York. In the winter he is exten- 
sively engaged in lumbering, as the family own a 
thousand acres, and the business gives employment 
to the horses which are used for livery at the 
hotel in the summer. Mr. Dodge is a Republican, 
but is now too busy to give time to politics, though 
he served several terms as selectman in his youth, 
beginning in 1883, and was chairman of the board 
for three years. In 1897 he was made director of 
the Whitefield Savings Bank and Trust Company, 
and was elected president in 1904. He is a member 
of the Blue Lodge Masons, and attends the Free 
Will Baptist Church. On May i, 1888, Van Herbert 
Dodge married Alice Stebbins, daughter of Schuyler 
and Joanah (Turner) Stebbins, of Newbury, Ver- 
mont. They have one son, Frank Schuyler, born 
January 5, 1889, who entered Dartmouth College in 

the fall of 1907- 

(II) Richard Dodge, ancestor of a very large 
progeny scattered throughout the United States, ap- 
peared at Salem, Massachusetts, as early as 1638, 
and "desired accommodations." It is shown by the 
records of East Coker, in England, that he resided 
and came from there. As immigrants were ad- 
mitted to the colonies only by applying to the town 
and obtaining leave, it is probable that Richard and 
his family came in 1638, and it is also probable 
that he left England without royal permission. 
After living for a while on the land of his brother 
William, he settled on "Dodge Row" in North 
Beverly, not far from Wenham Lake. The house which 
Richard Dodge buih was near the present North 
line of Beverly. He evidently gave his attention 
chiefly to farming. He was a loyal church member 
and one of the most liberal contributors to the sup- 
port of the gospel. He and his wife were mem- 
bers of the Wenham Church before 1648, under the 
IV— 25 



pastorate of John Fiske. Fle was also interested in 
the progress of education, and his name appears 
first in a list of twenty-one subscribers to Howard 
College in 1653, while the next largest sum was one 
fourth as much as his. The cemetery of "Dodge 
Row" is on land which he dedicated for that pur- 
pose and this grant was subsequently conferred by 
his grandson. He died June 15, 1671, leaving an 
estate valued at one thousand seven hundred and 
sixty-four pounds and two shillings, a very con- 
siderable property for that time. He gave to each 
of his three sons a good farm valued at over one 
hundred pounds. He made liberal provision for 
annual payments by the sons to the support of their 
mother. His wife's name was Edith and she sur- 
vived him seven years, dying June 27, 1678, at. the 
age of seventy-five years. The inventory of her 
estate indicates that she was possessed of con- 
siderable property. Their children were : John, 
Mary, Sarah, Richard, Samuel, Edward and Joseph. 
(Richard, Samuel and Joseph, and descendants, re- 
ceive further notice in this article.) 

(III) John, eldest child of Richard and Edith 
Dodge, was baptized December 29, 1631, in Eng- 
land, and died in 171 1. He was mentioned in the 
will of his grandfather, John, who died in 1635, 
Somersetshire, England. He probably came to 
Salem with his father, in 1638. He settled in what 
was then included in Beverly, but but was later an- 
nexed to W^enham. He built a saw-mill on Mill 
river at Wenham Neck, which was not used until 
about 1822, and received from his father's estate 
about eighty acres lying about this mill and five 
acres of meadow on the same side of Longham 
brook where his house stood near what was then 
the north line of Beverly. He deeded his home- 
stead to his son, Andrew, iNIay 5, 1708, consisting 
of forty acres and other lands in the vicinity. Lieu- 
tenant John Dodge was a man of more than ordinary 
standing in the community. He was often elected 
selectman of the town, and served in almost every 
public capacity where good sense and integrity were 
desired and also served as deputy to the general 
court. There are many evidences that he was a 
strong advocate of temperance and good morals 
generally. The town record of Beverly from 1667 
to 1702 are replete with reference to the various 
public services of Lieutenant John Dodge. He 
served on every sort of committee, to lay out lands 
and make rates to seat inhabitants in the new meet- 
ing house, to prosecute town claims and in various 
other capacities. His wife Sarah (surname un- 
known) died February 8, 1706, aged sixty years. 
Their children were : Deliverance, John, Josiah, 
Sarah, Ebenezer, JSIary, Deborah and Andrew. 
(Mention of Josiah and Andrew and descendants 
appears in this article.) 

(IV) John (2), eldest son and second child of 
John (i) and Sarah Dodge, was born April 15, 
1662, in Beverly, and died January 18, 1704, in his 
forty-second year. He lived in Wenham, probably 
not far from his father. Both his parents and the 
father of his first wife were witnesses of his will, 
dated July 7, 1703, and all the signatures are still 
preserved in the original document in the probate 
office at Salem. The inventory of his estate 
amounted to four hundred and fifty-three pounds, 
with debts at thirteen pounds. His first wife 
Martha, daughter of Thomas and Martha Fisk, died 
December 29, 1697, and he was married (second) 
April II, 1698, to Ruth Grover, of Beverly. The 
first wife was the mother of four of his children, 
and the other of five, namely : Phineas, Amos, 



1636 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Martha, Elizabeth, Nehemiah, Ruth, Sarah, John 
and Mary. 

(V) Phineas, eldest child of John (2) and 
Martha (Fiske) Dodge, was born May 23, 1688, 
in Wenham, and died in that town July 19, 1759, 
in his seventy-second year. He was a prosperous 
man and his estate was appraised at six hundred and 
forty-eight pounds. By the will of his father he 
was to have that part of the paternal homestead 
joining upon the town common and Thomas 
White's land, estimated at thirty-six acres, and was 
to pay his mother twenty shillings a year while she 
remained a widow. He married (iirst) (intention 
published December 15, 1712), IMartha Edwards, 
w^ho died March 31, 1734, at the age of twenty-nine 
years. He married (second), September 21, 1736, 
Sarah Whipple, of Danvers, who died May 27, 
1769. She was executrix of his will. His de- 
scendants are very numerous. His children were : 
Phineas, John, Jeremiah, Abner, Solomon, Martha, 
Amos, Ebenezer, Benjamin, Israel and Stephen. 

(VI) Solomon, fifth son and child of Phineas 
and Martha (Edwards) Dodge, was born June 18, 
1721, in Wenham, and died January 16, 1812, in 
Topsfield. He was living in Andover in 1747, and 
from about that time until 1754 was an inn holder 
in Boxford. From that time until his death he 
lived in Topsfield, and was a much respected citizen. 
He was chosen deacon Decembe'r 18, 1776, and de- 
clined to serve. He was again chosen June 26, 
I781, and was excused in 1797. He was married 
(first), December 30, 1742, to Hannah Green, who 
died October 7, 1788, aged seventy-four years. He 
married (second) (intentions published January 12, 
1791) widow Martha Dodge, of Ipswich. She was 
admitted to the church in Topsfield, in November, 
1799, and died August 30, 1804, aged sixty years. 
His children, all born of the first wife, were : Sarah 
(died young), Daniel (died young), Solomon, Sarah, 
Daniel and Hannah. 

(VII) Solomon (2), second son and third child 
of Solomon (i) and Hannah (Green) Dodge, was 
born August 13, 1747, in Andover, Massachusetts, 
and died May 4, 1799, in New Boston, New Hamp- 
shire. He was a lieutenant of the militia, was a 
farmer and an energetic and industrious mail, and 
had many excellent qualities. He was married at 
Topsfield, January 23, 1772, to Sarah Dodge, 
daughter of Amos and Hannah (Green) Dodge, 
of Beverly. She was born August 20, 1752, and 
died in New Boston, December 23, 1845. She was at 
that time the wife of Jacob Hooper, of New Bos- 
ton. In January, 1778, Solomon and his wife deeded 
a piece of land in Long Hill Parish, in Beverly, 
to Jacob Edwards, of Boxford, and this probably 
indicates the time of their removal to New Boston. 
His children were: Amos, Solomon (died young), 
Solomon, Hannah, Daniel (died young), Daniel, 
Sally, Alice, Phineas and Aaron. 

(VIII) Solomon (3), third son and child of 
Solomon (2) and Sarah (Dodge) Dodge, was born 
August I, 1774, in New Boston, and died there 
March 16, 1853, in his seventy-sixth year. He was 
deacon of the church and a genial and broad-minded 
man, commanding the confidence and esteem of the 
'Community. He remained on the homestead of his 
father, where his buildings were burned October 
21, 1829, and these were rebuilt with the assistance 
of his kindly neighbors. He was married, May 25, 
1805, to Elizabeth, daughter of Benjamin Dodge. 
She was born January 13, 1783, and died December 
6, 1840. Their children were : Lydia, Solomon, 
Sarah, Hannah (died young), Amos, Hannah, Ben- 
jamin, Israel and Anne. 



(IX) Solomon (4), eldest son and second child 
of Solomon (3) and Elizabeth (Dodge) Dodge, was 
born February 27, 1808, and died March 11, 1881, 
in New Boston, in his seventy-fourth year. He was 
a farmer by occupation and attended the Baptist 
Church. He was prominent in town affairs, and in 
early life was a Democrat. He was among those 
who early came to the support of the Republican 
party because of the espousal of the cause of human 
freedom. He married INIary, widow of Charles 
Buston. She was born February 20, 1803, and died 
1868. Their children were: Margaret E., deceased; 
Solomon, resides in Andover; Charles Franklin, 
William Batchelder, in Washington, D. C. ; Julian 
Percival, died in war of Rebellion ; Edwin Buxton, 
resides at Wilmot, New Hampshire; Albert Ernest, 
deceased. 

(X) Charles Franklin, second son and third child 
of Solomon (4) and Mary Dodge, was born in New 
Boston, July 2, 1838, and was educated in high school 
and Colby Academy at New London, New Hamp- 
shire. He was engaged in lumbering and farming 
with his father until the death of the latter, and is 
now occupied in dairying and general farming, 
having one of the finest farms in his town, and he 
has taken a number of premiums at different fairs. 
His farm is admired by all lovers of fine farms, 
being composed of rich hills and beautiful fertile 
valleys. From the top of the hills rising in the rear 
of his house a magnificent view can be had of the 
surrounding country for twenty-five miles in all di- 
rections. Mr. Dodge is a Republican in politics. 
He served three years on the school board and two 
years as selectman. He married, December 26, 1878, 
Emma J. Wallace, daughter of John M. and Abbie 
(Bartlett) Wallace, of New Boston. She was a 
high school student and taught school several terms ; 
she attended the Baptist Church. They are the 
parents of five children: Jessie E., a graduate of 
the Normal School, a teacher in a school in Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island. Winifred, a graduate of the 
Normal School, was a teacher in the schools of 
Melrose. Mary A., attended art school in Boston, 
and has been a teacher of drawing, now (1907) 
assistant in drawing in the schools of Gardner. 
Grace W., attended the Boston Conservatory of 
INIusic, and is now teaching school. Julian R., who 
died in infancy. • 

(IV) Josiah, second son and third child of John 
and Sarah Dodge, was born June 4, 1665, and died 
January 19, 1715, in his fiftieth year. His gravestone 
is now shown in the cemetery at "Dodge's Row." 
He lived on a small farm on Longham brook, in 
Wenham, and operated a tannery and had an in- 
terest in a saw and grist mill. In the date of pur- 
chase of the estate of Robert Caflin, which he ac- 
quired in 1695, 1698 and 1701, he was termed a tan- 
ner. In October, 1713, he sold to William Dodge, of 
Wenham, one third of the cornmill. one third part of 
the materials and irons of the old saw mill with 
all parts and contents of the building to the same 
and one third part of the dam privilege of the same 
on Longham brook. In 1709 he was one of the 
selectmen of Wenham, and probably held other 
offices. He was married, December 18, 1690, to Lydia 
Fisk, and married (second), Sarah Fisk, who died 
March 17, 1730, in her sixtieth year. The division 
of the estate indicates that it exceeded £367, in 
value. His children were : Sarah, Johanna, Josiah, 
Thomas, Rebecca, Mary, Anna, Jemima, John, Abi- 
gail (died young) and Abigail. (Thomas and de- 
scendants receive further mention in this article). 

(V) Josiah (2), eldest son and third child of 
Josiah (i) Dodge, was born August 16, 1698, in 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1637 



Wenham, and was a tanner and farmer, living in 
that town until 1743. That he was a large land- 
holder is shown by the records of deeds in Essex 
and Worcester counties. In January, 1743, he and 
his wife sold for £45 ten acres of marsh in Ipswich. 
Six days later they sold_for £792 twenty-four acres, 
with a house in that town. He had previously sold 
for £250 twenty-tive acres with house and barn in 
Ipswich and Wenham, and for £352 tifty-two acres 
in three pieces in the same town. On the twenty- 
seventh of the same month he bought for £380 sixty 
acres of land in Lunenburg, and on the first of 
April following he paid for two hundred and sixteen 
acres with two houses and two barns in that town 
the sum of £2,600 old tenor. In January following 
he bought thirty-eight acres more, for which he 
paid £75, and in this conveyance he is styled gentle- 
man, residing in Lunenburg. In March, 1756, he 
bought for £87 sixty acres with a mansion house, 
barn and appurtenances, which he sold a year later 
for £125. In April, 1748, he sold forty-four acres 
wuth buildings in Lunenburg for £600 old tenor. 
In November, 1749, he sold to his son Josiah for 
£200 (inflated paper currency) ten acres, a part of 
the sixty acres which he bought in March, 1746. 
Other papers on record indicate that he owned a 
tract on which his house stood with two barns, a saw 
saw mill, grist mill, tan yard, tan house, cidermill, corn 
house and the frame of a new house. Between 1760 and 
1768 he made various deeds to his sons and nu- 
merous conveyances appear upon the records, many 
of them being to his children. He was married 
January 27, 1718, to Prudence, daughter of William 
and Prudence (Fairfield) Dodge, of Wenham. A 
quit claim deed made March, 1772, does not contain 
her name from which it would appear that she 
was not then living. His children were : Josiah, 
Reuben, Eli, Tabitha, Zebulon, Sarah, William, Seth, 
Prudence and Thomas. (Eli and descendants are 
noticed in this article). 

(VI) Reuben, second son and child of Josiah (2) 
and Prudence (Dodge) Dodge, was born in Wen- 
ham, January 21, 1721, and died in Lunenburg, June 
15, 1762. He probably moved to Lunenburg about 
1743, where he resided the remainder of his life. 
The inventor}- of his estate was filed November 29, 
1762, and his father Josiah was appointed adminis- 
trator. The estate was reported May 9, 1763, in- 
solvent. In March, 1768, Josiah Dodge and his wife 
Prudence for one hundred and twenty-five pounds 
six shillings, four pence, deeded thirty acres of land 
in Lunenburg to Jesse, Brewer, Levi, Tabitha, Zadok, 
John P. and Ruth Dodge, all minors except Jesse. 
Reuben Dodge married, March 9, 1742, Ruth Perkins. 
Their children were : Reuben, Jesse, Mary, Tabitha 
(died young). Brewer, Levi, Tabitha, Zadok, Esther, 
John Perkins and Ruth. 

(VII) Levi, sixth child and fourth son of Reuben 
and Ruth (Perkins) Dodge, was born in Lunenburg, 
November 21, 1751, and was a patriot soldier in the 
Revolution, serving as a private in Captain Josiah 
Steam's company, Colonel Ephraim Doolittle's regi- 
ment, as shown by records dated Cambridge, July 10, 
1775, and Winter Hill, October 6, 1775. He married 
Keziah Stanley. 

(VIII) Maria, daughter of Levi and Keziah 
(Stanley) Dodge, was born in Lunenburg, Massa- 
chusetts, and married Hiram Hardy. (See Hardy). 

(VI) Eli, third son and child of Josiah (2) and 
Prudence (Dodge) Dodge, was born January 2, 
1723, in Wenham, and probably moved to Lunen- 
burg the same time as his father. In July, 1767, 
he deeded thirty acres of land in that town to his 
father and perhaps moved away. He was married 



(intention published July 25, 1741), in Wenham, to 
Abigail Gillings, of that town, and their children, 
all born in Lunenburg, were : Eli, Rebecca, Isaac, 
Abigail and Prudence. 

(VII) Isaac, second son and third child of Eli 
and Abigail (Gillings) Dodge, was born March 17, 
1748, in Lunenburg, and lived in that town and Gro- 
ton, Massachusetts, and died in the latter town in 
INIarch, 1807. Lie married Elizabeth Blood, and their 
children were: James, Asahel, Maria, Nancy, La- 
vina, Lucy. 

(VIII) James, eldest child of Isaac and Eliza- 
beth (Blood) Dodge, was born February 21, 1795, 
in Lunenburg, and lived in Keene, New Hampshire. 
About 1850 he was employed in the cooperage at 
Keene, where he remained four or five years, and 
was subsequently a carpenter up to the time when 
he retired from active life, and died August 28, 

1872, in Keene, in his seventy-eighth year. He was 
married, March 14, 1827, to Randilla Bundy, who was 
born July 22, 1802, in Westminster, Vermont, and 
survived her husband nearly twenty years, dying 
December 30, 1891, in Keene. Her children were: 
Evaline, Lucy A., Edwin, Charles, Harriet, Freder- 
ick, James W. and Herbert. 

(IX) James William, fourth son and seventh 
child of James and Randilla (Bundy) Dodge, was 
born April 13, 1845, in Keene, and was educated in 
the common and high schools of that town. At an 
early age he was employed as clerk by the Cheshire 
Railroad Company and so continued from i860 to 

1873, at which time he was appointed general freight 
agent of the road. After holding this position for 
seventeen years this was consolidated with the 
Fitchburg railroad and he was appointed division 
superintendent, in which position he continued about 
one year and a half and then resigned. He was 
soon invited to become assistant general freight 
agent of the Fitchburg railroad with headquarters 
at Boston, which he accepted and held a little less 
than two years. On account of ill health he was 
compelled to resign this position and has been on the 
retired list since that time. He has taken an active 
part in the management of public affairs in Keene, 
and was a member of the city council during the 
first year of its existence as an incorporated city. 
He is an attendant of the Unitarian Church. Mr. 
Dodge served as trustee of the Guarantee Savings 
Bank, and Cheshire Provident Institution. He was 
one of the initial subscribers to the Electric Light 
Company, and subsequently was an active factor in 
causing the merging of that institution with the local 
Gas Company and was one of the original directors 
of the Keene Gas & Electric Light Company. He 
was married April 25, 1865, to Ella E. Perlej', who 
was born May 20, 1848, in Gardner, Massachusetts. 
She is a daughter of Asa P. Perley, who was born 
June 4, 1824, in Templeton, Massachusetts, a son of 
Asa Perley, who was born October 4, 1797, in Gard- 
ner, Massachusetts, and died September 3, 1867, 
in Baldwinville, Massachusetts. Mr. Dodge's mother 
was Lucy Ann Austin, and was born IMarch 4. 1826, 
in Surrej', New Hampshire. Mr. and Mrs. Dodge 
had two children, Cora Ella, born, in Keene, June 
13, 1867, died September 11, 1867; and Walter Fred, 
born in Keene, July 28, 1869, died October 15, 1869. 

(V) Thomas, second son and fourth child of 
Josiah and Lydia or Sarah (Fisk) Dodge, was born 
November 30, 1700, in Wenham, Massachusetts, and 
died September 18, 1736, in that town. He was 
probably a farmer. His estate was valued at £2,005 
and 13 shillings. He was married (intention pub- 
lished March 21, 1724), June 23. 1724, to Sarah 
Porter, of Wenham. She was born January 6, 



1638 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1706, and died 1795, aged eighty-nine years. Her 
father, John Porter, was born 1668, and died March 
8, 1753. He mother, Lydia Herrick, was born 1663, 
and died F"ebruary 12, 1738. Thomas Dodge's wife 
survived him and was granted administration of 
his estate, November 15, 1736. Ten years later she 
was appointed guardian of Israel and Benjamin 
Dodge, minors, and of Thomas Brown, Junior, and 
of all the children of Thomas Dodge. Her children 
were: John, Lydia, Benjamin, Israel (died young), 
Sarah and Israel. 

(VI) Israel, youngest child of Thomas and 
Sarah (Porter) Dodge, was baptized April 14, 1736, 
and lived in Wenham. He was a soldier of the Revo- 
lution. He was married in Wenham, jNlarch 27, 
1758, to Abigail (Elliott) Larcum, and their children 
were : Israel, Lydia, Francis, Ichabod and probably 
others whose births are not recorded in Wenham. 

(VII) Ichabod, third son and fourth child of 
Israel and Abigail (Elliott) (Larcum) Dodge, was 
born 1770, and baptized March 31, 1771, in Wenham. 
He removed to Claremont, New Hampshire, where 
he died October 31, 1822. He was married in Wen- 
ham, May 23, 1774, to Mehitable Swett, who was 
born May 25, 1765, in that town, daughter of Josiah 
and Prudence (Dodge) Swett, of Wenham, later 
of Claremont, before 1797. 

(VIII) Isaac, son of Ichabod and Mehitable 
(Swett) Dodge, was born June 13, 1797, in Clare- 
rriont, and lived in that town where he was a farmer. 
About 1850 he removed to Chester, Vermont, and 
one of his sons is now living in that state. He was 
married, December 25, 1822, in Claremont, to Eliza 
Long, who died July 19, 1830. 

(IX) Abraham, son of Isaac and Eliza (Long) 
Dodge, was born February 18, 1834, in Claremont, 
New Hampshire, and removed, before attaining his 
majority, with his father to Chester, V/ermont, 
where he still resides. He has been a lumberman 
and farmer and is now probably retired in Chester. 
He was married, March 10, 1857, to Augusta B. 
Sargent, who was born August 6, 1831, daughter of 
Edward Dodge and Johanna Atwood Sargent. Their 
children are : Edward Sargent, Frank O. and Caro- 
line Augusta. 

(X) Frank Oak, second son and child of Abra- 
ham and Augusta B. (Sargent) Dodge, was born 
October 15, i860, in Chester, Vermont, and was edu- 
cated in the common schools of that town. He 
worked upon his father's farm until he was nineteen 
years of age, and then began learning the black- 
smith trade with E. A. Hall, of Chester, where he 
continued about two years. In 1882 he removed to 
East Swanzey, New Hampshire, and opened a black- 
smith shop which he continued to operate about 
four years, at the end of which period the shop was 
burned. Removing to Keene he worked a short time 
for George Russell, and then returned to West 
Swanzey, and in company with A. H. Freeman 
opened a shop which they continued to operate a 
short time. At the end of a year and a half Mr. 
Dodge bought the interest of his partner and has 
continued to the present time in the successful 
operation of a general blacksmith business. He is 
a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
and takes an intelligent interest in the progress of 
events about him. For the past eighteen years he 
has served as constable of the town of Swanzey. 
He was married (first), to Alma J. Ballou. He 
married (second), April 14, 1901, Mary R. Stebbins, 
who was born April 17, 1883, in Keene, New Hamp- 
shire. His children, born of the first wife, are 
Guy F. and Ralph. 

(IV) Andrew, eighth child and fourth son of 



Lieutenant John and Sarah Dodge, was born in. 
Wenham. in 1676, and died February 17, 1748, in the 
seventy-second year of his age, and was buried in 
the cemetery at Dodge's Row. He was a carpenter 
and lived at North Beverly. In 1708 he received 
from his father a deed of about fifty acres of his 
homestead. He held some town offices, and in 1713 
was appointed on the building committee for con- 
structing the new meeting house at North Beverly 
for the Second Church there about to be organized. 
His will was made November 2, 1747, and by it he 
disposed of over one thousand pounds in money. He 
had previously given his sons parcels of land. He 
married (first), ]\Iay 26, 1686, Hannah Fisk, of 
Wenham, who died December 2, 1703, in her thirtieth 
year. He married, in 1704, Sarah, daughter of 
Daniel and Sarah (Porter) Andrews or Andrus. 
She died June 6, 1734, in the sixtieth year of her 
age. He married (third), June 14, 1736, Ellinor 
Edwards, of Wenham. His children by the first 
wife were : Flannah and Andrew ; by the second 
wife, Daniel, Thomas, Sarah, Bartholomew, Hannah 
and Amos. (The last named is the subject of a 
later paragraph in this article). 

(V) Andrew (2), second son of Andrew (i) and 
Flannah (Fisk) Dodge, was born in North Beverly, 
Massachusetts, November 26, 1703 ; married, January 
27, 1725, Lydia Bridgman, of Windham, Connecticut, 
and settled in that town. His will was proved June 
23, 1741. He enlisted in the ill-fated expedition of 
Admiral Richard Vernon against the Spanish pos- 
sessions of South America, and was killed at Carta-- 
gena, in March, 1741. He received a gift of a 
farm at Windham from his father by deed dated 
May 13, 1725. Children: Andrew, born February,. 
1726, died young; Hannah, April 12, 1728; Irena, 
March 29, 1729; Lydia, May 23, 173—; Andrew, 
born April 4, 1732, died young; Rufus, March 22,. 
1734; Andrew, February 21, 1735, died young; Abel,. 
February 9, 1736; Sarah, March 10, 1737; Andrew,. 
February 14, 1738-39; Isaac, February 25, 1739-40, 
mentioned below. 

(VI) Isaac, son of Andrew Dodge, was born in 
Windham, Connecticut, February 25, 1739-40; mar- 
ried, October 20, 1762, Sarah Utley, born October 25, 
1746, daughter of Hon. Jeremiah Utley. From his 
birth until the close of the Revolutionary war he 
lived in Windham. He was sergeant in the Wind- 
ham Company on the Lexington alarm, April, 1775,. 
in Colonel Israel Putnam's regiment. He sold out 
his property at Windham after the war and removed 
to Lempster, New Hampshire, then a wilderness^ 
and cleared a farm for himself. He died there 
October 20, 1806. Children, all born at Windham : 
Abel, emigrated to New York state. Daniel, born 
July 28, 1767, mentioned below; Isaac, born 1770; 
Trephenia, married Leonard Dow; Daughter mar- 
ried Rogers ; Daughter married Burn- 
ham ; Eunice, married Cooper. 

(VII) Daniel, son of Isaac Dodge, was born in 
Windham, Connecticut, July 28, 1767, died August 
29, 1837, in Hanover, New Hampshire. He married,, 
December 31, 1793, Nabby Wright, of Hanover; 
(second), February 20, 1798, Sally Wright, who 
died June 20, 1797. He left Lempster, New Hamp- 
shire, and settled on a farm at Hanover, about 1785, 
where under many difficulties he brought up a family 
of ten children, meeting the struggles of life, we are 
told, with great fortitude and courage. Children, 
born at Hanover: i. Omri, born January 10, 1795, 
died December 27, 1826, at Hancock, Vermont; mar- 
ried Lydia Darling; was an able and successful phy- 
sician. 2. Daniel, born July 3, 1796, married Judith 
Gates ; was a physician at West Chazy, New York,, 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1639 



where he died June 12, 1864. 3. Nabby, born March 
19. 1799. died October i, 1726. 4. Harvey Bingham, 
born August 10, 1801, married Eliza A. Beckwith; 
graduate of Colby University in 1827 ; pastor of 
Baptist Church in West Plattsburgh, New York ; was 
missionary in the counties of Clinton, Essex and St. 
Lawrence, New York, in 1831-32; was pastor at 
Farmersville, New York, in 1833 ; at Greene, New 
York, 1834-36; in 1836 .became pastor of a new 
church at Fort Covington, New York; pastor at 
Parma, New York, in October, 1839, and at Newton 
F'alls, Ohio, in 1841 ; removed to Garrettsville, Ohio, 
in 1842, and accepted a call to return to his first 
church in Plattsburgh in 1844; died at Schuyler's 
Falls, November 11, 1866; married, January 13, 1830, 
Ann Eliza Beckwith, a descendant pi Roger Wil- 
liams. 5. Alfred, born September 24, 1803, died 
October 23, 1880. 6. Sally, born December 6, 1805, 
married, July, 1839, Laban Chandler ; died at Enfield, 
New Hampshire, March i, 1893 ; "In a marked 
degree she possessed weight of character, and ex- 
erted a decided influence in the home, the church, 
and the community; at the same time she was of 
so mild a type, as to win a general esteem and love." 

7. Cyrus, born September 13, 1807, died June 4, 1854. 

8. Uminos, born August 7, 1809, died August 6, 1858. 

9. Isaac, born March i, 1812, died in Hamilton Col- 
lege, April 14, 1835. 10. John Wright, born Septem- 
ber 4, 181 5, mentioned below. 

(Vni) John Wright, son of Daniel Dodge, was 
born in Hanover, New Hampshire, September 4, 
1815. He was educated in the district schools of 
his native town, and lived until 1847 on the old 
homestead. Then he became a clerk in a Hanover 
store, and subsequently engaged in trade on his own 
account for fifteen years. He then began to manu- 
facture flannels in Enfield, New Hampshire, and 
in 1883 became one of the owners of a factory at 
Bristol, New Hampshire, and this concern became 
in 1887 the property of a corporation under the 
name of Dodge-Davis Manufacturing Company with 
a capital of $150,000, and the manufacture of flannels 
was continued with great success. A few years be- 
fore his death, Mr. Dodge retired from active labor 
and spent his last years at his attractive home in En- 
field. He died there February 13, 1897. He was 
essentially a self-made man of the best type. He 
began life with no capital and some inherited obli- 
gations to discharge, and built up one of the best 
woolen mills in New England, acquiring a fortune 
and conferring great benefits upon the community 
in which he lived and conducted business. He was 
a thoroughly public spirited citizen and was held 
in high esteem by his fellow-citizens in town and 
state. Though a Democrat in politics he was often 
honored by the Republican district in which he lived 
by election to the state legislature. He has used 
his means freely in objects of public benefaction, 
and at the same time was generous with his less 
fortunate relatives. Gave $5,000 for a free bed to 
the town of Hanover, in the Mary Hitchcock Hos- 
pital. He was kindly, modest and sympathetic in 
disposition, but characterized by great force and 
energy, far-sighted sagacity in business, integrity 
and honest of purpose. Above the average in stat- 
ure and weight, he had a striking physique. 

He married, July i, 1855, Clementine Chandler 
Whipple, widow, who was born November 12, 1818, 
and died March 6, 1893, daughter of Henry H. 
Chandler. Children: i. Son, born January 21, 1857, 
died October 12, 1857. 2. Fannie L., born April 30, 
1859, married, January 13, 1886, Rev. Walter Dole, 
a Universalist clergyman, a native of Northfield, 
Vermont. Children : John Walter Dole, born at 



Enfield; Mary Clementine Dole, born at Enfield; 
Robert H., born at Revere, Massachusetts. 

Rev. Walter Dole, D. D., husband of Fannie 
Louise Dodge, was born in Northfield, Vermont, 
August 26, 1851. He graduated at Norwich Uni- 
versity in 1870, and from Meadvillc Theological 
School in 1874, then took a course in The Boston 
School of Oratory. He has had a pastorate of three 
years in Bethel, Vermont, including Gaysville and 
Stockbridge, three years in Barre, Vermont, ten years 
in Northfield Vermont, and nine years in Enfield, 
New Hampshire. The basis on which he stands and 
works is thus stated : "I believe in the One Holy 
Church Universal, whereby the Children of Men are 
to realize their oneness with God, the fulness of 
divine Manhood, and the Spirit of Eternal Brother- 
hood, by making the Christ the controlling type of 
life." 

(IV) Amos, eighth child and fifth son of An- 
drew and Sarah (Andrews or Andrus) Dodge, was 
born in North Beverly, August 20, 171 7, and died 
February 27, 1755. He resided in Beverly and was 
buried in Dodge Row. He married, October 9, 
1751, Hannah Green, of Salem. She was appointed 
after his death administratrix if his estate, which 
was valued at eight hundred and forty pounds, ten 
pence. She married (second), May 30. 1765, Mat- 
thew Wyman, of Woburn, a blacksmith, and lived 
in Beverly in 1767. Two children were born to 
Amos and Hannah : Sarah, and Amos, whose 
sketch follows next. 

(V) Amos (2), only son of Amos (i) and 
Hannah (Green) Dodge, was born in Beverly, 
July II or 21, 1754, was baptized July 20, 1755, and 
died May 9, 1792. He was a carpenter in 1776, 
when he sold his share of his father's estate in 
Beverly. In the same year he receipted to Mat- 
thew Eymar for twenty-five pounds, ten shillings, 
the balance due from his mother as guardian on 
account of the estate of his father. He appears to 
have lived in Wenham after his marriage. He 
married (first), October 29, 1775, Hepzibah Dodge, 
who died June 19, 1777, in her twenty-first year. He 
married (second). May 15, 1778, Lydia Batchel- 
der, of Wenham, who was born April 9, 1756, and 
died August 23, 1836, aged eighty years. By the 
first wife there was one child, Stephen ; by the sec- 
ond wife: Zadok, Hepzibah, Amos (died young), 
Hannah, Lydia, Sally and Stephen. 

(VI) Zadok, eldest son of Amos (2) and Lydia 
(Batchelder) Dodge, was born INIarch 31, 17S0, and 
died June 9, i860. Zadok and his father, Amos 
Dodge, went to Antrim, New Hampshire, in 1814, 
to purchase farms. Zadok bought the place next 
west of South Village, begun by James Dinsmore 
in 1779. He settled on this place in the sprijig of 
1815. He married May i, 1806, Lydia Hadley, of 
Andover, Massachusetts, who died August 8, 1820, 
aged fiftj'-two. He married (second), Sally Lowe, 
of Greenfield, who died November 10. 1867, aged 
seventy-six. He had two children bj' the first 
wife, Hepzibah and Alvah, whose sketch follows. 

(VII) Alvah, only son of Zadok and Lydia 
(Hadley) Dodge, was born in Wenham, Massa 
chusetts, February 8, i8ri, and died in Antrim. 
He was a carpenter by trade and lived on the old 
homestead till 1850, when he moved to the South 
Village of Antrim. He married, in 1836, Lydia 
Elliott, who died in 1852, aged thirty-five. He mar- 
ried (second). September 20, 1855, Alice W. Carr, 
of Antrim. The children of the first wife were: 
Jennie M., Anna S., Hattie M., Charles H., Hiram 
b. and Fostina M., and by the second one child, 
Katie A. 



1640 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(VIII) Fostina M., sixth child of Alvah and 
Lydia (Elliott) Dodge, was born in Antrim, No- 
vember 17, 1851, and married November 5, 1873, 
Henry H. Barber (see Barber). 

(IV) William, youngest child of Richard (2) 
and Mary (Eaton) Dodge, was born 1678, in Wen- 
ham, where he died October 20, 1765, aged eighty- 
seven years. He spent a long and prosperous life 
in that and acquired a large amount of land, 
which he distributed among his sons. In 1703 he 
received from his father a homestead and land 
near the north line of Wenham. In January, 1723, 
he received a deed of six acres from his father- 
in-law. In 1752 he distributed his lands to four 
sons, the fifth, Isaac, having been provided for, 
and removed from the town some years previ- 
ously. He married Prudence, daughter of Walter 
Fairfield. Senior, in 1699. She died August 5, 1737, 
and he subsequently married Mrs. Abigail (bid- 
dings, of Hamlet Parish. In the record of his 
death he is called Lieutenant Dodge. His children 
were: Prudence (died young). Prudence, Richard, 
William, Isaac, Tabitha, Jacob, Abraham, Skipper 
and Sarah. 

(V) Richard (3), eldest son and third child of 
William and Prudence (Fairfield) Dodge, was 
born September 8, 1703, in Wenham, and died there 
May II, 1778, in his seventy-fifth year. He was a 
surveyor as well as a farmer, and was a prominent 
figure in the community. Numerous deeds on rec- 
ord show that he was an extensive purchaser of 
lands and that he also sold some. He probably 
lived until 1750 on a tract of sixty acres of land, 
which he purchased with the buildings of Joseph 
Edwards, in 1740. At the time that he sold this, 
1750, he bought of John Lowe the homestead, which 
had formerly been the home of Daniel, father of 
David Dodge, and the homestead of his grand- 
father. Richard, inherited by him from Richard 
(i),_ the immigrant. In May, 1752, Richard (3) 
received by deed from his father a homestead and 
some small pieces of land and three-fourths of his 
father's interest in the stream and mills of Wen- 
hani. This was on the Longham side and on lands 
which had been continuously held by the Dodges 
from the earliest period. At the time of receiv- 
ing this deed his father was seventy-four years of 
age, and it is probable that Richard (3) then took 
possession of and operated the farm.' He subse- 
quently gave and sold to his brothers and sons ex- 
tensive tracts of land. Among these was a gift 
of_ twenty acres to his brothers, Jacob and Skipper. 
His will was made April 20, 1778, and proved on 
the sixth of the following July. His inventory 
amounted to £5,716 and 18 shillings. The currency 
in which this was reckoned was at that time very 
much depreciated and this was an abundant for- 
tune for. those days. In 1724 he married Mary, 
daughter of Deacon John Thorne, of Ipswich, who 
probably survived him as she is mentioned in his 
will. Their children were: Abraham, Tabitha. 
Richard, (died young, Mary (died young), Mercy, 
Prudence, Richard, John, Marj^ Sa'rah,'" Simon or 
Simeon and Nicholas. 

(VI) Simon or Simeon, fifth son and eleventh 
child of Richard (3) and Mary (Thorne) Dodge, 
was born January 14. 1749, in Wenham, and died 
in that town June 25, 1815. It is said of him: 
"As a husband he was kind, as a father, he was 
most tender and as a Christian he was one of the 
most pious of his day. He was happy in his sick- 
ness. He died in his chair." He had made his 
will three years before his death, and the inventory 
of his estate after his death shows its value to be 



three thousand dollars. He was married Novem- 
ber 16, 1769, to Abigail Dodge, of Beverly. Their 
children were: Obadiah (died young), Mary, Ed- 
ward, Polly, Sally, Obadiah, Deacon Richard, Ben- 
jamin and Stillman. 

(VII) Stillman, youngest child of Simon or 
Simeon and Abigail (Dodge) Dodge, was born 
December 7, 1792, and resided in Wenham during 
the early part of his life. He was a cabinetmaker 
by occupation, and came to his death, March 3, 
1831, by an accident while assisting in the con- 
struction of a bridge. He married Sally High- 
lands, and they were the parents of five children, 
namely: Sarah, Simon Barnet, Marion, James 
Stillman and Francis Green Macumber. 

(VIII) James Stillman, son of Stillman and 
Sally (Highlands) Dodge, was born June 15, 1825, 
went to Blackwater when a small boy and there 
attended the district school until about nine 3'ears 
of age. At this time he began to work on a farm 
and was practically self-supporting thereafter. 
About 1840 he went to Lowell, Massachusetts, 
where he was employed by the McFarland Broth- 
ers, dealers in ice, and continued twelve years with 
them. In 1852 he went to California and engaged 
in teaming, hauling goods into the mountains for 
the mines in mule teams. He stayed there two 
years and then returned to New Hampshire and 
settled in Webster, where he built a sawmill and 
operated it fourteen years. At the end of this time 
he removed to Norwich, Vermont, where he pur- 
chased a grist mill and this was destroyed by fire 
after he had operated it two years. He then pur- 
chased a grist mill at Lebanon, New Hampshire, 
which he operated two years and sold to go from 
there to Chelmsford, Massachusetts, where he was 
employed for five years as manager of grist mill. 
He next removed to Sheldon, Vermont, where he 
engaged in the lumber and grain business until 
his death. May 31, 1895. He was married, October 
4, 1846, to Huldah M. Brooks, of Lowell, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of Amos Dodge and Hannah 
(Kemp) Brooks, and they became the parents of 
the following children : Elizabeth, who became 
the wife of George L. Thompson, and died 1891 ; 
Henry Stillman, who died 1863 ; Frank Everett,, 
mentioned at length below, and Charles Arthur, 
who died in his fourth year. 

(IX) Frank Everett, second son and third 
child of James Stillman and Huldah M. (Brooks) 
Dodge, was born March 21, 1856, in Lowell, Mas- 
sachusetts, and attended the public school there 
and Phillips Academy of Haverhill, Massachusetts. 
After leaving school he was employed three years 
as a bookkeeper by Henry Du Bois and son in 
New York City, from 1872 to 1875. He then re- 
moved to Minneapolis. Minnesota, and was em- 
ployed by a lumber firm for eight years, after 
which he returned to New Hampshire and was 
associated with his father in business until the 
latter's death. In 1900 he went to Contoocook, 
New Hampshire, where he has since been engaged 
in the operation of a saw mill. Mr. Dodge is an 
intelligent gentleman, who takes a keen interest in 
the progress of events and has been chosen by his 
fellows to some responsible positions. While re- 
siding in Sheldon, Vermont, he was three years a 
member of the school board and was also repre- 
sentative in the state legislature in 1898. He is 
now serving a second term on the school board in 
Contoocook. He is a member of the Masonic Or- 
der and is affiliated in politics with the Democratic 
party. He was married December 22, 1889, to 
Blanche Morse, daughter of John Morse. She died 
in May, 1892, leaving a daughter, Bessie M.. who 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1 64 1 



was born October 25, 1890. He was married (sec- 
ond) November 7, 1894, to Annie McFeeters, 
daughter of William and Ann (Todd) McFeeters. 
She is the mother of three children, born as fol- 
lows: James William, January 31, 1897; Charles 
Franklin, October 18, 1899, and Catherine Eliza- 
beth. September 26, 1901. 

(III) Richard (2), second son and fourth child 
of Richard (i) and Edith Dodge, \yas born in 
Beverly, Massachusetts, in 1643, ^"d died in Wen- 
ham April 13, 1705. He was a farmer and lived in 
the south part of Wenham. He also owned a large 
farm in Ipswich, which he gave to his eldest son 
Richard, and had land near Chibocco Lake in Ips- 
wich. He owned a cider mill and press, and from 
the careful provision for its use, which he made 
in deeds to his sons, it would seem that they all 
lived in the same vicinity. About two years be- 
fore his death he divided his property among his 
children, giving his "negro man" Mingo, to the 
eldest son. On the 31st of Ma}^ 1705, Richard, 
Daniel, William and Mary joined in a deed of four 
and one-half acres of marsh land in "Chibocco," 
Ipswich, to John and Martha Davidson to carry 
out what the/ alleged to be the purpose of their 
father. He married, February 23, 1667, Mary Eaton, 
born 1641, and died November 28, 1716, aged 75 
years. He and his wife were buried at North Bev- 
erly, where their grave-stones still remain. Their 
children were: Richard, Mary, Martha, Daniel and 
William. 

(IV) William, third son and fifth child of 
Richard and Mary (Eaton) Dodge, was born 1678 
in Wenham, where he died October 20, 1765, aged 
eighty-seven. In the record of his death he is called 
Lieutenant William Dodge. He acquired a large 
amount of land, which he distributed among his 
sons. In 1703 he received from his father a deed 
of homestead and land near the north line of 
Wenham. In 1722 he received a deed of six acres 
from his father-in-law, Walter Fairfield, Senior, 
which had been conveyed to his sons, Walter Fair- 
field, Junior, and Nathaniel, on condition that they 
should supply his wants. In 1752 he distributed his 
land to four of his sons, the fifth, Isaac, having 
been provided for, and moved to Boxford and 
thence to Sutton some years before. He married, 
1669, Prudence, daughter of Walter Fairfield. She 
died August 5. 1737. He married (second), Mrs. 
Abigail Giddings, of Hamlet parish. His children 
were: Prudence (died young). Prudence, Richard, 
William, Isaac, Tabitha, Jacob, Abraham, Skipper 
and Sarah. 

(V) Richard (3), third child and eldest son of 
William and Prudence (Fairfield) Dodge, was born 
September 8, 1703. in Wenham, and died there May 
II, 1778. Richard was a surveyor as well as a 
farmer, and was a conspicuous figure in the com- 
munity. Some twenty-five deeds of land to him 
are on record, and a less number from him. In 
1740 he bought of Joseph Edwards about sixty acres 
of land with buildings, where he probably lived 
until March, 1750, when he sold that place to Ben- 
jamin Edwards and his son Benjamin. At the sanie 
time he bought of John Low, the homestead which 
he had recently bought of David Dodge, the in- 
heritance from his father, Daniel Dodge, and had 
been the homestead of his grandfather, Richard, 
inherited by him from his great-grandfather, Rich- 
ard, the emigrant. In May, 1752. he received from 
his father, for love and affection, a deed of home- 
stead including some small pieces, and three-fourths 
of his father's interest in stream and mills in 
Wenham. This is supposed to be the same mill 



described in a deed dated October 16, 1713, from 
Josiah Dodge and his wife, Sarah, to William 
Dodge, husbandman of Wenham, and father of 
Richard. His father William being seventy- four 
years old when he surrendered his homestead to 
his son, Richard, he probably took possession and 
carried on the farm. In December, 1768, he gave 
his son, Captain John, a forty-acre farm, and on 
January 2, 1769, he sold to him for two hundred 
pounds several pieces of land in Chebacco, and on 
the same date to his son, Richard, Junior, for one 
hundred and sixty pounds, several other pieces. In 
1766 Richard and his prosperous brother, William, 
of Ipswich, thinking their brothers Jacob and Skip- 
per had not been so well dealt with as their father 
intended, gave them a twenty-acre piece in Ips- 
wich, which their father had received from his 
father Richard, in 1703. In 1775 Richard and his 
wife, Mary, deeded to Jacob Dodge for two hundred 
pounds their lands in Gloucester, some thirty-five 
acres, and a share of a house. 

His will was dated April 20, 1778, and proved 
July 6, 177S. It mentions his wife Mary, sons 
Richard, John, Simon and Nicholas, daughters 
Mary Orne and Sarah Hubbard Dodge, and his 
brothers Jacob and Skipper. His inventory 
amounted to five thousand seven hundred and six- 
teen pounds, eighteen shillings. He married, in 
1724, Mary, daughter of Deacon John Thornc, of 
Ipswich; she was living in 1775. Their children 
were: Abraham, Richard (died young). Mary 
(died young), Mercy, Prudence, Richard, John. 
Mary, Sarah, Simon and Nicholas. 

(VI) Captain Richard (4), third son and sev- 
enth child of Lieutenant Richard (3) and Mary 
(Thorne) Dodge, was born December 9, 1738. i" 
Wenham, and died June, 1802. He was a farmer 
in Wenham. He was a captain in Colonel Samuel 
Gerrish's regiment in 1775. Of his company Robert 
Dodge was first lieutenant and Paul Dodge second 
lieutenant. He was also captain of a company of 
volunteers from third regiment of militia from Es- 
sex county, raised under resolve September 22, 
1777, and served from September 30, to November 
7i "^yiTi when they were discharged at Cambridge. 
In the will of his father, dated April 20, 1778. the 
son is styled major. His own will, dated March 
8, 1801, and proved June 7, 1802, mentions his wife 
Lydia, daughter Polly Patch, Sally Baley, Mary 
Lee, Lucy Stadley, son John Thome's daughter, 
Bulcey Taylor. Sen John Thorne Dodge, executor. 
He married, (intention published) November i"/, 
1757, Lydia Dodge. She died October 9, 1813, aged 
seventy-eight years. Their children were : Wil- 
liam, Lydia, Mary, John Thorne, Sally, Mary 
Thorne and Betsey. 

(VII) John Thorne, second son and fourth 
child of Richard (4) and Lydia Dodge, was born 
April 2, 1764, in Wenham., and died February 2(>, 
1 85 1, aged eighty-six years, ten months and twenty- 
four days. When only twelve years old he accom- 
panied his father, Richard, and two uncles to_ the 
battle of Bunker Hill and remained in that vicinity 
until after the British evacuated Boston. After 
that he continued in service as servant, guard and 
steward until the close of the war then nineteen 
years old. His mother Lj^lia was sister of Colonel 
Robert Dodge, of Hamilton, a family renowned 
for patriotic service from the earliest history of the 
colonv. He married, September 25, 1786, Eliza- 
beth "Dodge. She died January 21. 1851. Their 
children were: William, Betsey (died young), 
Thorne, Lydia, Betsey, Nancy Asenath (died 
young), and Asenath. 



1642 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(VIII) Lydia, second daughter of John Thorne 
and Elizabeth (Dodge) Dodge, was born July 14, 
1792, and was married, January 10, 1813. to Levi 
(2) Folsom, of Tamworth, New Hampshire (see 
Folsom, X). 

(III) Samuel, third son and fifth child of Rich- 
ard Dodge, was born 1643, in Ipswich, where he 
died April 13, 1705. He was the owner of various 
parcels of land and houses as indicated by the dis- 
position of his property in his will. This was 
dated June 26, 1705. and was proven on the day 
preceding the following Christmas. The inventory 
of his estate amounted to £1,501 and 13 shillings. 
To his wife he gave half his personal estate and 
the use of the other half vmtil his youngest son 
became of age. His wife Mary was a daughter of 
Thomas Parker, of Reading, Massachusetts, and 
died August 6, 1717, aged seventy-three years. 
Their children were : Samuel, Joseph, Ananiah, 
Ann, Antipas, Mary. Amy, Deborah, Jabez, Parker 
and Samuel. 

(IV) Antipas, fourth son and fifth child of 
Samuel and Mary (Parker) Dodge, was born Sep- 
tember 7, 1677, in Ipswich, and lived in that town. 
In 1705 he received by the w'ill of his father one- 
lifth of the latter's land and the house he then lived 
in. He probably died in April, 1707, and his widow 
was appointed administratrix of his estate on the 
fifth of the following month. This was valued at 
£305. He was married in 1699 to Johanna Lowe, 
who became after his death the second wife of 
Joseph Hale, of Boxford (their intention of mar- 
riage being published September 19, 1708). In 
1715 he became guardian of her son Joshua. The 
children of Antipas Dodge w-ere: Joshua, Johanna 
and David. 

(V) David, second son and third child of An- 
tipas and Joanna (Lowe) Dodge, was born in 
1704, in Ipswich. He married Martha Esgate in 
Lowell, and seems to have resided in various places. 
Their children were : Susanna, Joanna, Mary, An- 
tipas, David, Samuel, Parker and James. ' 

(VI) Antipas, eldest son and fourth child of 
David and Mary (Esgate) Dodge, was born March 
5, 1738. probably in Brookfield, and received from 
his father a deed of one hundred acres of land, 
being the third lot, second range, south of the Pis- 
cataquog river in Goffstown, and here he settled. 
On April 15, 1803, he bought of Jonathan Taylor, 
of Stoddard, lot 28, range 3, in that town, consist- 
ing of eighty acres which bordered on the town of 
Washington. He probably lived on this land from 
that time until about 1830, when he returned to 
GofTstown. His last days were passed in Pem- 
broke, where he died July 4, 1834. He is said to 
have been a very strong man and unusually active 
up to the time of his death. He rendered much 
service to his country during the Revolutionary war 
and a record of the same is hereto appended. His 
first wife's name was Anna, and he married (sec- 
ond). Molly Arwyne. He had six children: Mar- 
tha. Mary, James, Margaret, Antipas and Abijah. 

"Antipas Dodge, of Watertown, also given as 
of Ware and Brookfield, Massachusetts, was a pri-' 
vate in Captain Thomas Wellington's company. 
Colonel Asa Whitcomb's regiment. His name is on 
the muster roll dated Camp at Ticonderoga, Novem- 
ber 27, 1776. He enlisted October i, 1776, and is 
reported re-engaged November 16, 1776, in Cap- 
tain Brew^er's companv. Colonel Brewer's regiment, 
but to remain in Colonel Whitcomb's regiment 
until December 31, 1776. His name is also on the 
return of men raised to serve in the Continental 
army from Fourth Compan}'-, Colonel Converse's 



(4th Worcester Co.) regiment sworn to by Lieu- 
tenant Jonathan Snow, at Brookfield, February 20, 
1778. His residence was given as Ware. He en- 
gaged for the town of Brookfield (also given as 
New Braintree), and joined Captain Harwood's 
company. Colonel Nixon's regiment, for a term of 
three years. He is also enumerated as a private in 
Major's company. Colonel Ebenezer Sprout's regi- 
ment ; continental pay accounts for service from 
January i, 1777, to December 31, 1779. His resi- 
dence is given as Watertown, and he was engaged 
for the town of Watertown. His name also ap- 
pears in Captain Brewer's company. Colonel Brew- 
er's report on the muster returns dated Camp Val- 
ley Forge, January 23, 1778, and his residence given 
as Brookfield ; enlisted for the town of Brookfield, 
and was mustered in by the state muster master. 
He is also on the descriptive list of deserters from 
the corps of guards, as returned by C. Gibbs, major 
commandant, dated Headquarters, Morristown, New 
Jersey, May 22, 1780 ; age twenty j^ears ; statue five 
feet six inches; complexion dark; occupation hat- 
ter; engaged for town of Watertown for the term 
of the war; deserted February 8, 1780. It seems 
that after arduous service for between three and 
four years he went home, as many others did, and 
failed to return to his command." 

(VII) James, ■ eldest son of Antipas Dodge, 
was born in May, 1770, and died in January, 1855. 
He married (first), Jerusha Leach, of Goffstown; 
(second), Margaret Gordon, of Windsor, and 

(third), Johnson, of Meredith. His children 

were: Jerusha, John, James, Mary, Maria and 
Daniel Gordon, the subject of the next para- 
graph. 

(VIII) Daniel Gordon, son of James and ^Mar- 
garet (Gordon) Dodge, was born in Gofifstown, 
March 29, 1812. and died in Windsor, June 14, 

1873. He was a farmer, and for a few years prac- 
ticed medicine according to the theory of the 
Thompsonian school. He married Elvira" Hunt, of 
Hancock, who was born October 21, 1813, and died 
December 9, 1871. Their children were: David 
Daniel, born in Gofifstown ; John Gordon, born in 
Windsor; Sarah Martha, born in Gofifstown; and 
Perley Hunt, born in Windsor. 

(IX) _ David Daniel, eldest child of Daniel G. 
and Elvira (Hunt) Dodge, was born October 20, 
1S40. He was educated in the district school of 
Windsor. At the age of five years he went to 
Windsor with his father, and at his majority took 
charge of the farm of an aunt, his mother's sister, 
Sarah Hunt, who died January 11, 1871, and left 
her property to him. In 1873 he removed to Pem- 
broke and bought a farm on the "street" near Bow 
Lane, where he has since resided. He married, 
March 9, 1871, Mrs. Lucy Lavina Hall, daughter of 
Samuel Murdough. of Hillsboro. and widow of 
Charles G. Hall, of HilLsboro. She was born in 
Hillsborough, March 7, 1842. They have had two 
children: Lula Elvira (died young) and Perley 
Daniel, the subject of the next paragraph. 

(X) Perley Daniel, only son of David Daniel 
and Lucy Lavina (Murdough) (Hall) Dodge, was 
born in Pembroke, August 9, 1876. He resides 
upon and cultivates the farm on which he was born. 
He is like his father a Democrat in politics. He 
married, November 10, 1873, Azelie Lemay, born 
in St. Croix. Province of Quebec, November 10, 

1874. daughter of Joseph and Eleanor (Pereest) 
Lemay, who settled in Manchester, New Hamp- 
shire, 1876. _ Joseph Lemay was born in 1837. His 
wife died in Manchester in 1901, aged sixty-four 
years : Perley D. and Azelie Dodge have three 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1643 



children : Arthur F., born February 23, 1901 ; 
Lucy E., March 23, 1904; Henry, March 26, 1906. 

(III) Joseph, seventh and youngest child of 
Richard and Edith Dodge, was born in Beverly in 
1651, and died August 10, 1716, aged sixty-five. He 
was a farmer in Beverly, near his father on Dodge's 
Row. He was one of the executors of his father's 
estate, and received a liberal share jointly with his 
brother Edward. They held this property under an 
oral agreement until February, 1709, when they put 
their di\asion in writing. His executors were his 
sons Jonah and Elisha. He married, February 21, 
1672, Sarah Eaton, of Reading, who died December 
12, 1714. Their children were: Abigail (died 
young), Joseph. Noah, Prudence, Abigail, Jonah, 
Elisha, Charity and Nathaniel. 

(IV) Jonah (3), sixth child and third son of 
Joseph and Sarah (Eaton) Dodge, was born in 
Beverly, August 29, 1683, died probably in 1754 at 
the age of seventy-one, and was buried in Dodge 
Row cemetery. He was a farmer and a weaver. 
His father, on May 3, 1716, gave his sons, Jonah 
and Elisha "all my lands both upland and meadow 
ground and salt marsh" in Ipswich each to have 
the house he now lives in, and the land immedi- 
ately about it, all else to be equally divided. Said 
Jonah and Elisha Dodge to pay Nathaniel Dodge 
an equivalent in money and goods for his share. 
and to give their father a decent burial. Jonah 
Dodge married, March 27, 1707, Sarah Friend, 
of Wenham. She died in 1760. Their children 
were: Sarah, Jonah. James and Jacob. 

(V) Lieutenant Jonah (4), eldest son and sec- 
ond child of Jonah (3) and Sarah (Friend) Dodge, 
was born in Beverly, November 18, 1710, and died 
in Bluehill, Maine, 'March 8, 1788. in the seventy- 
eighth year of his age. He moved to Bluehill, 
Maine, in June, 1784. Jonah Dodge, weaver, of 
Beverly, and wife, April 24, 1784, deeded to 
Thomas Appleton, yeoman, of Ipswich, for eighty 
poimds twelve acres in Ipswich, adjoining Man- 
chester, five acres of woodland in Manchester, and 
four acres in Wenham, and for three hundred and 
fifty pounds seventy-six acres in Beverl)'-, with 
buildings at Long Hill. He married (first), at 
Wenham, February 22, 1738, Mary Edwards, who 
was born March 11, 1719, and died in Beverly. July 
30, 1761 ; (second), March 29, 1770, Sarah Thorn- 
dyke, widow of Hezekiah Thorndyke, of Boston, 
and daughter of a Mr. Prince. She was born De- 
cember 21, 1731, and died April 12, 1809. His 
children by the first wife were : Jonah, Abraham. 
Benoni, Abner, Mary, Abigail, Benjamin, Sarah 
and Abraham ; and by the second wife : John 
Prince and Reuben, whose sketch follows. 

(VI) Reuben, youngest child of Lieutenant 
Jonah and Sarah (Thorndyke) Dodge, was born 
in Beverly, Massachusetts, February 19, 1773. and 
died at Blue Hill, Maine, December t6, 1830, aged 
fifty-seven years. He lived at Bluehill. His chil- 
dren scattered to various places : San Francisco, 
Minneapolis, Marengo. Illinois, and to places in 
New Hampshire and Massachusetts. He married, 
January 16. 1799, Sally Peters, who was born Feb- 
ruary 2, 1780, and died September 19, 1850. Their 
children were : Addison, Charlotte, Lucretia, El- 
vira, Sally P., Addison, July P., Mary, Reuben G. 
W., Mary P.. Almira E., Emily W.. and Harriet. 

(VII) Almira E., eleventh child and eighth 
daughter of Reuben and Sally (Peters) Dodge, was 
horn in Bluehill, Maine, September 14, 1813, and 
died November, 1891, aged seventy-eight years. 
She married William D. Clark (see Clark). 



The record of the Jewett family in 
JEWETT America begins with the settlement of 
Rowley, Massachusetts. In 1638 about 
sixty families led by Rev. Ezekicl Rogers came from 
Yorkshire, England, and began the settlement of 
Rowley early the following season. Among these 
pioneers were the brothers Maximilian and Joseph 
Jewett, men of substance from Bradford, York- 
shire, England, and they were the ancestors of all 
the Jewetts in this county, a large family, which in- 
cluded many members of distinction in various walks 
of life. The most widely known person bearing 
the name is undoubtedly Miss Sarah Orne Jewett, 
the author, of South Berwick, Maine. In ancient 
records the name appears as Juet, Juit, Jewit, and 
in various other forms ; but in all cases the spelling 
preserves the pronunciation. Owing to the fact 
that no genealogy has been compiled, it has been 
impossible to trace this record of this branch 
farther than three generations. 

(I) Edward Jewett was a resident of Bradford, 
in the west riding of Yorkshire, England, where he 
was a clothier. His will was dated February 16, 
1614, and proved by his widow July 12, 1615. He 
was married in Bradford, October i, 1604, to Mary 
daughter of William Taylor. Their children, bap- 
tized in Bradford, were : William, Maximilian, Jo- 
seph and Sarah, perhaps others who died young. 
(Mention of Joseph and descendants forms the 
closing part of this article.) 

(II) Deacon Maximilian, second son and child 
of Edward and Mary (Taylor) Jewett, was bap- 
tized December 31, 1609, in Bradford, England. 
He came to Rowley, Massachusetts, with the Rev. 
Ezekiel Rogers in 1639, and was made a freeman 
there May 13 of the following year. He had a two- 
acre house lot in 1643 on Bradford street. He was 
a leading man in the affairs of the town, and was 
several times its representative in the general court. 
He was also very early a deacon of the church. He 
was accompanied on his journey to Massachusetts 
by his wife Ann, who was buried November 9, 
1667, and he married (second) August 30, 1671, 
Ellen, widow of John Boynton. He died October 19, 
1684. His will is on file at Salem, Massachusetts, 
among the Essex county papers. It disposes of 
considerable amount of property, indicating that he 
was a man of substance. His widow Ellen was 
married for the third time, June i, 1686, to Daniel 
Warner, Sr., of Ipswich, whom she survived, and 
died in Rowley, August 5, 1689. The children of 
Maximilian Jewett, all by his first wife, were : 
Ezekiel, Hannah, Mary, Elizabeth, Faith, Joseph, 
Sarah (died young), Sarah and Priscilla. (Mention 
of Joseph and descendants appears in this article.) 

(III) Deacon Ezekiel, eldest of the children of 
Deacon Maximilian Jewett and his wife Ann, was 
born in Rowley, Massachusetts, January S, 1643, 
and died September 2, 1723. He was chosen to 
succeed his father as deacon of the church in Row- 
ley, and was ordained October 24, 1686. He mar- 
ried, first, February 26, 1663-64, Faith, daughter of 
Francis Parrat. She died October 15, 1715, in her 
seventy-fourth year, as is indicated by her grave- 
stone. He married, second, October 23, 1716, Eliza- 
beth, widow of John Jewett. His will, dated Febru- 
ary 16, 1722-23, proved November 4, 1723, mentions 
"my now wife" and a marriage contract; son Fran- 
cis to have "my Bradford land ;" son Thomas "my 
Boxford land;" sons of Maximilian, Nathaniel and 
Stephen, and daughters Sarah Bailey and Elizabeth 
Nelson (Essex Probate, 13:363)- After the death 
of Deacon Tewett his widow Elizabeth married, 



1644 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



December 2, 1723, Ensign Andrew Stickney, son 
of William Sticknej^ Mentioned in the order of 
birth the children of Deacon Ezekiel Jewett and 
his wife Faith Parrat were as follows : Francis, 
Thomas, Ezekiel (died young). Ezekiel, Maximilian, 
Ann, Sarah, Elizabeth, Nathaniel and Stephen. 

(IV) Francis, eldest child of Deacon Ezekiel 
and Faith (Parret) Jewett, was born March 15, 
1665, in Rowley, Massachusetts, and settled in 
Bradford, same state, and died September 19, 1751, 
in that town. He was married June 20, 1693 to 
Sarah Hardy, who was born March 25, 1673, daugh- 
ter of John Hardy of Bradford. Their children 
were: Samuel, James (died young), Mary (died 
young), Ezekiel, Mary, Sarah, Nathaniel, James, 
Esther and Anne. 

(V) Samuel, eldest child of Francis and Sarah 
(Hardy) Jewett, was born April 26, 1694, in Brad- 
ford and probably removed in his old age to New 
Hampshire, where some of his children were settled. 
No record of his death appears in Bradford. He was 
married there October 24, 1718, to Ruth Hardy, who 
was born June 15, 1699, in Bradford, a daughter of 
Jacob and Lydia Hardy. Their children were : 
Lydia, Samuel, Jacob (died young), Sarah, Mehitable 
and Jacob. 

(VI) Samuel (2), eldest son and second child 
of Samuel (i) and Ruth (Hardy) Jewett, was bap- 
tiz^ed February 20, 1726, in the first Congregational 
Church at Bradford, and settled on attaining man- 
hood, in Hollis, New Hampshire, where he died 
December 29, 1791, in his sixty-sixth year. His 
wife's name was Sarah, but there is no record of her 
family name. They were the parents of eight chil- 
dren : Sarah, Mary, Ruth, Samuel, Esther, Jacob, 
John and Lucy. 

(VII) Samuel, fourth child and eldest son of 
Samuel and Sarah Jewett, was born in Hollis. New 
Hampshire, Januarj' i, 1756, and lived in that town 
a little more than twenty-five years. At the out- 
break of the Revolution he enlisted in Captain Reu- 
ben Dow's company of minute men which marched 
from Hollis April 19, 1775, on the occasion of the 
Lexington alarm, and on October 6 of the same 
year was enrolled as a member of the same com- 
pany, all Hollis men, in Colonel Paul Dudley Sar- 
geant's regiment, which took part in the battle at 
Bunker Hill. His name also appears on the mus- 
ter roll of Captain Daniel Emmons' company of mili- 
tia which marched from Hollis for Ticonderoga, 
New York in June, 1777, and proceeded as far as 
Walpole, New Hampshire, a distance of sixty-five 
miles, when the men were ordered home, arriving 
in Hollis July 4. On the following day, the com- 
pany was again ordered to march and proceeded 
as far as Cavendish, New Hampshire, a distance of 
one hundred miles, and there met the troops under 
Colonel Bellows on their retreat. In September, 
1777, Mr. Jewett was enrolled for service in Col- 
onel Oilman's regiment of New Hampshire militia 
raised for the Northern Continental army, and on 
the muster roll of September 8 of the same year was 
a sergeant in Captain Zebulon Oilman's company 
of Colonel Stephen Evan's regiment which marched 
to New York and joined the Continental army un- 
der General Gates in the historic battle of Sarato- 
ga (Stillwa'ter), and in which the British under 
Burgoyne received their first decisive check. In 
this campaign Sergeant Jewett was in service three 
months and eight days. In connection with his ser- 
vice as a soldier of the Revolution it is said that 
Samuel Jewett offered his enlistment at the very 
beginning of the war. At the time he was nineteen 
years old. small of stature, but of strong build and 



possessed much physical and moral courage. He 
was so small indeed that some doubt was expressed 
in respect to his eligibility on that account, and 
when he was called upon to pass under a pole in 
order to ascertain his height he raised up on tip- 
toe ahd thus succeeded in passing the required 
physical examination. 

In 1782 Samuel Jewett and his younger brother 
Jacob left Hollis and took up their residence on a 
tract of land given them by their father in what now 
is the city of Laconia, where they were the first 
permanent white settlers. The region then was en- 
tirely new and the land was overgrown with great 
forest trees, and wild animals were numerous. The 
brothers' built log houses near each other and felled 
the first trees on the site of the mills on the Gilford 
side of the river. On one occasion, it is said, Sam- 
uel lost his only axe in the hollow of a tree and to 
procure another was compelled to go t6 Hollis on 
foot, a distance of about seventy miles. His land 
was half of a tract of two hundred and fifty acres, 
and sometime after he had made a sufficient clear- 
ing he erected a substantial frame house and brought 
a good farm under cultivation. Samuel Jewett lived 
to attain the age of eighty-three years, and his wife 
was seventy-five years old at the time of her death. 
Her family name was Smith, of the Smiths in that 
part of Gilmanton which now is the town of Gil- 
ford. Their eight children who grew to maturity 
were Sarah, who married Samuel Philbrick ; Polly, 
Avho married Oilman Bennett ; Effie, who became 
Mrs. Hackett ; Ruth, who married Isaac Osgood ; 
Hannah, who married Thomas Craft ; Samuel, who 
received a part of his father's farm bordering on 
the river and whose wife was Sally, daughter of 
John Crosby; Smith, who married Statira Glines. 
and John. 

(VIII) Smith, fifth child and third son of 
Samuel (2) and Athia (Smith) Jewett, was born 
in Gilford, now Laconia, July 21, 1793, and died 
in Laconia, February 17, 1868. He was a farmer 
and carpenter, and resided in what is now the town 
of Laconia until 1841, when he removed into the 
village of Meredith Bridge, where he resided until 
his death. He married Statira Glines, who was 
born in that part of Northfield, now Tilton, May 
20, 1799, and died January 24, 1890. They had ten 
children : Jeremiah S., Statira A., Edith A., Louise 
A., John G., Samuel B., James W., Mary A., Sarah 
E., and Albert H. C. 

(IX) Jeremiah Smith, eldest son of Smith and 
Statira (Glines) Jewett, was born in Meredith, No- 
vember 25, 1822. He attended the schools at Mere- 
dith Bridge and Gilford Academy. He w^as em- 
ployed on a farm and worked at carpentering with 
his father until 1845, and was then employed as_a 
surveyor by the Boston, Concord & Montreal rail- 
road two years. From 1848 to 1862 he was em- 
ployed in the railroad repair shops at Lakeport. 
The latter part of that period he was foreman. After 
leaving the railroad employ he formed a partnership 
with Ira Merrill under the firm name of Merrill 
& Jewett, and for three years they were engaged in 
the general merchandise business at Warren. Mr. 
Jewett then bought his partner's interest and carried 
on the business another year, at the end of which 
time Mr. Merrill re-entered the firm which took 
the name of Merrill, Jewett & Company, and con- 
tinued the business two years longer. J. S. Jewett 
and E. B. Eaton, as Jewett & Eaton, were the suc- 
cessors of this firm ; and finally J. S. Jewett became 
sole proprietor and continued the merchandise busi- 
ness the thirteen years following, and then sold 
to George Clark. He then went back to agriculture. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1645 



which he enjoys, and has been a farmer in a small 
way until the present time. ]\Ir. Jewett became a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal Church in 1857 
or 1858, and in 1874 ^^^ joined tiie New Hampshire 
Conference, and in 1878 was ordained to preach, 
and afterward acted as a supply at Wentworth, 
North Groton, Swiftwater and Warren. In poli- 
tics he is an ardent Republican. He married, in 
Warren, February 15, Harriet Merrill Farnum, who 
was born in Warren, December 30, 1830, and died 
April 6, 1904. Her parents were Joseph and Betsey 
(Alerrill) Farnum. Of this marriage there was one 
child, IMartin W., who was born in Lakeport, Janu- 
ary 24, 1855, and died in Warren, January 12, 1873. 

(IX) John Glines, second son of Smith 
and Statira (Glines) Jewett, was born September 4, 
1829, in that part of the present city of Laconia 
which then was known as Meredith Bridge. He 
received his education in the Laconia public schools 
and Gilford Academy, and after leaving school de- 
voted part of his time during a period of ten years 
to teaching; and he also worked at the trade of a 
carpenter. In 1855 he went to South America, re- 
turned in 1857 and for the next twenty years taught 
school and was employed in the Laconia car works. 
In 1876 he was appointed justice of the police court 
in Laconia, served in that capacity nearly sixteen 
years, and then resigned. In April, 1891, he was ap- 
pointed by President Harrison, postmaster of 
Laconia, holding that office until May. 1895, when he 
resigned and retired from active life. For almost 
forty years Judge Jewett was prominently identi- 
fied with the civil and political history of his native 
town and county, and as early as 1858, the next 
year after his return from South America, he was 
appointed superintendent of the school committee of 
Gilford. In 1859 he was collector of taxes and in 
i860 was selectman, holding that office three years, 
and in 1863 Avas recruiting officer for the town of 
Gilford. In 1867 and '68 he represented his town 
in the legislature, and while a member of the house 
served on its committee to apportion the state tax. 
For nearly twelve years he was a member of the 
Laconia board of education and for two^ years 
registrar of probate of Belknap county. 

Colonel Jewett (he is perhaps best known by 
that title) is and for many years has been identified 
with the best interests of Belknap county in many 
other ways than mentioned in preceding paragraphs. 
He prepared the city charter of Laconia and secured 
its enactment by the legislature. He is a director 
of the Laconia National Bank, Laconia Building and 
Loan Association, Laconia Land and Improvement 
Company, the Standard Electric Time Company, and 
the Masonic Temple Association. Mr. Jewett mar- 
ried, June 30, 1880, Annie L. Bray, of Laconia. She 
was born in Bradford, England, January 6, i860, 
daughter of George and Ann Bray, of Laconia, 
and formerly of Bradford. England. Colonel and 
Mrs. Jewett have one child, Theo. Stephen Jewett, 
born December 24, 1891. 

On December 11, 1855, Mr. Jewett married Caro- 
line Elizabeth Shannon, born in Gilmanton, New 
Hampshire. May 3, 1837, daughter of Stephen and 
Ann Prescott (Chase) Shannon, of Gilmanton. (See 
Shannon, VII). Mr. Jewett died at his home in 
Laconia, September 16, 1903. His children are : 
Stephen Shannon, attorney and counsellor at law in 
Laconia. John Bradbury, born October 21, 1863; 
married April 6, 1886, Ella LeBarron, born June 3, 
1864. daughter of James S. and Lucy Holmes Le- 
Barron, of White River Junction, Vermont ; three 
children: John R., Forest B. and Edward S. Shan- 



non. Katie Belle, born April 27, 1872; married 
April 27, 1892, Dr. Kitson Bruce, born January 6, 
i860, son of Lewis K. and Margaret Kitson Bruce, 
of Boston; residence, New York City; one child, 
Thomas Kitson Bruce. 

Stephen Shannon was born in Laconia, New 
Hampshire, September 18, 1858, and acquired 
his literary education in the public schools of that 
town and the academy at Gilford, New Hampshire. 
In 1876 he began the study of law in the office of 
Charles F. Stone, of Laconia. and in March, 1880, 
was admitted to practice in the courts of this state. 
In 1879 he had completed the prescribed course of 
law studies and was prepared to present himself as 
a candidate for admission to the bar, but was 
obliged to defer that action one year and until he at- 
tained his majority. Having come to the bar Mr. 
Jewett at once began his professional career in his 
native town of Laconia and practiced alone until 
1889, when he became partner with William A. 
Plummer, a relation which has since been main- 
tained. His practice is large and he is known as one 
the strongest trial lawyers at the Belknap county 
bar ; and in connection with professional employ- 
ments he has for twenty-five and more years been 
prominently identified with the political history of his 
county and the state, and has a wide acquaintance 
with public men and affairs throughout New Eng- 
land. 

His services in official capacity may be summed 
up about as follows : Engrossing clerk of the New 
Hampshire legislature, 1883 ; clerk of the supreme 
court for Belknap county 1884; assistant clerk of 
the New Hampshire house of representatives, 1887 
and 1889; aide-de-camp on the staff of Governor 
Goodell, 1889-91 ; clerk of the New Hampshire house 
of representatives, 1891 and 1893 ; representative 
from Laconia and speaker of the house, 1895 : repre- 
sentative and member of the judiciary committee of 
the house, 1897 ; state senator and chairman of the 
judiciary committee in the upper house. 1899; secre- 
tary of the New Hampshire state Republican com- 
mittee, 1890-91; chairman, 1892-96; city solicitor of 
Laconia, 1893-1901 ; 1903 onward ; chairman of the 
New Hampshire delegation to the Republican Na- 
tional convention at St. Louis, Missouri, 1896; state 
senator, 1899-1901 ; member of the governor's coun- 
cil, 1907. 

(III) Joseph (2), second son and sixth child of 
Deacon Maximilian and Ann Jewett, was born about 
1665 in Rowley, and was an ensign in the military 
service. The church record of his death made by 
the Rev. Jedidiah Jewett is as follows: 1735, My 
Grandfather, Joseph Jewett in the 81 year of his 
age. October 29." He was married March 2, I077, 
to Rebecca, daughter of William Law. She died 
December 26, 1729, in her seventy-fourth year. He 
married (second) in Bradford, January 20, 1732, 
Mary Gage of that town. Her will, dated July 8, 
1738, and proved some three years later, mentions 
her as "Being advanced in years to a great age." 
The children of Ensign Joseph Jewett were : Jon- 
athan. Aquilla, Priscilla and Rebecca. 

(IV) Jonathan, eldest child of Joseph (2) and 
Rebecca (Law) Jewett, was born March 11, 1679, 
and baptized. five days later in Rowley. He was a 
tanner by trade, and resided on Bradford street, in 
Rowley. The record of his death, as entered by his 
son in the church record of Rowley, is as follows: 
"1745. My Father, Jonathan Jewet, July 26." His 
will was dated July 4. 1745- ^"^1 proved September 
23 following. He bequeathed to his sons, Joseph 
and Benjamin, lands in Nottingham, New Hamp- 



1646 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



shire. He was married January 24, 1700, to Mary, 
daugliter of John Wicom. She died January 21, 
1742, while visiting in Exeter, New Hampshire. He 
was married (second) in Newbury, December 27, 

1742, to Rebecca (Hale) Poore, widow of Jonathan 
Poore, of Newbury, old town. She survived him 
nearly fifteen years, dying March 16, 1760, in the 
seventy-seventh year of her age. His children, all 
born of the first wife, were: Joseph, Benjamin. 
Jedidiah, Jacob, Mehitabel, Mark, Moses, James and 
Sarah. 

(V) Joseph (3), eldest child of Jonathan and 
Mary (Wicom) Jewett, was born July 31, 1700, in 
Rowley. Massachusetts, and was baptized there six 
days later. On attaining manhood he settled in 
Stratham, New Hampshire, and there married Anne 
Wiggin, daughter of Jonathan and Mary Wiggin, of 
Stratham. He was one of the sixty grantees of 
Sanbornton, New Hampshire. He died May 24, 
1765, aged sixty-four years. His children were: 
Jonathan, Joseph, Anne, Hannah, Mehitabel, Phoebe, 
Jacob, Paul and Andrew. 

(VI) Jacob, third son and seventh child of Jo- 
seph and Anne (Wiggin) Jewett, was born May i, 

1743, in Stratham, New Hampshire, and continued 
to reside in that town through life. He married 

Deborah , and their children were : Anne, 

John, Betty, Mary, Joseph and Aaron. 

(Vn) Aaron, youngest child of Jacob and 
Deborah Jewett, was born January 2, 1781, in Strat- 
ham, and resided in the town of Wentworth, New 
Hampshire, where he operated wool carding and 
saw mills. He was an old line Democrat in politics, 
and a sub-warden of the Universalist Church. He 
married Clark, who was a native of Manches- 
ter, New Hampshire, and died in that town. They 
had five children : Jenny, Alpha Clark, Sally, Anna 
and Parson. 

(Vni) Alpha Clark, second child and elder 
son of Aaron Jewett, was born in 1826, at Went- 
worth, New Hampshire. He was educated in the 
common schools, and then became a wool carder, 
which occupation he followed till i88r. In that ye.ir 
he took up the trade of glove cutting, which he con- 
tinued till his death. He was a Republican in poli- 
tics, and attended the Universalist Church. He 
married Hannah Flanders, daughter of Peter Flan- 
ders, who was born in 1823. They had three chil- 
dren : Alonzo Whipple, mentioned below ; Charles 
A. ; and Martha. 

(IX) Alonzo Whipple, eldest child of Alpha 
Clark and Hannah (Flanders) Jewett, was born at 
Wentworth, September 17, 1839. He was educated 
in the common schools of that town, and then 
learned the trade of wood turning, at which he 
worked till the Civil war broke out. He enlisted in 
the Twelfth Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteers, 
and was in- the battles of Chancellorsville, Gettys- 
burg, and Cold Harbor. At Richmond he was pro- 
moted to the rank of First Lieutenant, and soon 
after to that of quartermaster. At the close of the 
war he returned to Laconia, New Hampshire, and 
started in the ice, coal and wood business, which he 
still continues. He is a Republican in politics. He 
belongs to the G. A. R., and is a master Mason of 
the local lodge. He married Annaette Locke, born 
in 1840, at Bristol. New Hampshire, .and died in 
1873. They had three children : Alonzo, Harry, 
and Kate. 

(II) Joseph, third son and child of Edward and 
Mary (Taylor) Jewett, was baptized in Bradford, 
England. December 31, 1609. He probably settled 
in Rowley, Massachusetts, as early as 1639. He 



was freeman May 22, 1639, and had a two-acre 
houselot on Bradford street in 1643. His will was 
proved March 26, 1661. The original, now much 
worn, is on file in the probate office in Salem. He 
was buried February 26, 1660. He married (first), 
October I, 1634, Mary Mallinson, in Bradford, Eng- 
land. She was buried April 12, 1652, and he mar- 
ried (second). May 13, 1653, Ann. widow of Bozoan 
Allen, of Boston ; Bozoan Allen died September 14, 
1652, was buried February 8, 1660. Her will, dated 
February 5, 1660, proved May 2, 1661, mentions: 
"One hundred pounds that I have in my own dis- 
pose" to be divided among these four of my chil- 
dren, viz. : John Allen, Ann Allen, Isaac Allen and 
Bossom Allen ; "that covenant betwene Mr. Joseph 
Jewett and me." Children by Mary were : Jere- 
miah, Sarah, Hannah, Nehemiah, Faith (died 
young) and Patience, twins. Children by Ann were: 
Mary (died young), Joseph and Faith. 

(III) Nehemiah, second eon and fourth child 
of Joseph and Mary (Mallinson) Jewett, was born 
April 6, 1643. He lived a short time in Lynn, as 
shown by the following extract from the Rowley 
church record : "July 2, 1676, Mr. Nehilmiah Jewett 
had not procured his dismission from Lynn Church 
which he had joyned many years since when he 
lived with his uncle Purchas at the Ironworks." He 
was a farmer, and owned a farm in Ipswich de- 
scribed as being "next west of his brother Jere- 
miah's." He was well educated and very prominenc 
in the affairs of Essex county; most of the wills 
and deeds of his townsmen from 1675 to the time 
of his death were drawn by him.- He dixjd January 
I, 1720, aged seventy-seven years lacking three 
months. His will, dated December 10, 1719, proved 
January 9, 1720, mentions: wife (unnamed), sons 
Nehemiah, Joseph, Benjamin and Daniel Dow; 
grandsons Benjamin, son of Benjamin Jewett, Ne- 
hemiah and Joseph, sons of Joseph Jewett, Pur- 
chase, son of Nehemiah Jewett, Samuel, son of 
Thomas Varnum. and Nehemiah Skillion. He mar- 
ried, October 19, 1668, Exercise, daughter of John 
Pierce, of Lynn. She died in Ipswich, November 
i3> ^yST^- The children of Nehemiah and Exercise 
Jewett, born in Ipswich and baptized in Rowley, 
were: Mary, Thomas (died young), Joanna, Nathan 
(died young), Mercy (died young), Nehemiah, Jo- 
seph, Mehitabel (died young), Mehitabel and Ben- 
jamin.. 

(IV) Joseph (2), fourth son and seventh child 
of Nehemiah and Exercise (Price) Jewett, was 
born September 14, 1685, in Ipswich, and baptized in 
Rowley, September 20, the same month. He died in 
Pepperell, 1751, aged sixty-six years. He lived in 
Ipswich, on part of the farm that was his father's, 
until 1720, when he removed to Groton. He, of 
Groton, by deed dated November 25, 1720, conveys 
to Ammi Rhummi Wise, of Ipswich, a common 
right in Ipswich. He married, January i, 1707, 
Jane, daughter of Edward and Jane (Pickard) 
Hazen, of Rowley, where she was born October 11, 
168.S. Their children, born in Ipswich, were : Jo- 
seph, Exercise, Edward, Nehemiah and Jedadiah. 
Children born in Groton were: Jane, Benjamin, and 
perhaps a daughter Hepsibah. 

(V) Benjamin, fifth son and seventh child of 
Joseph (2) and Jane (Hazen) JcAvett, was born 
November 30, 1724, in Groton. He married, De- 
cember 31. 1754, Sarah Flagg. in Groton, Massachu- 
setts. Their children, born in Groton, were: Sarah, 
Benjamin (died young), Hepsibah, Hannah, Eleazer, 
Benjamin and Ruth, born January 3, 1767. . 

(VI) Benjamin (2), younger son of Benjamin 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1647 



(i) and Sarah Jewett, was born April 27. 1765, in 
Groton, Massachusetts, and resided a short time in 
Mollis, New Hampshire. At the age of twenty-four 
years, in 1789, he settled in that part of Gilmanton 
now Gilford, New Hampshire. The spot was a 
wilderness, and there he cleared a farm and reared 
his family. Tradition says "he was a drummer boy 
in the Revolution." His name does not appear on 
the Revolutionary Rolls of New Hampshire, but 
Benjamin Jewett, of Pepperell and Ashby, Mass- 
achusetts, appears as a drummer on the Massachu- 
setts Revolutionar}^ Rolls, and is credited with over 
two years' service. He was a Christian, and an 
early member of the Congregational Church in 
Laconia. He was married February 15, 1791, in 
Hollis, by Rev. Daniel Emerson, to Rebecca Boyn- 
ton, of Hollis. She was born in Hollis, November 
20, 1765. and died June 28, 1843. Their children 
were: Rebecca, Benjamin, Sally, John B., Moses, 
Hannah and Mehitabel. 

(VH) Benjamin (3), son of Benjamin (2) and 
Rebecca (Boynton) Jewett, was born in Gilford, 
July 16, 1795, and died March 23, 1879. He was 
educated at Gilmanton Academy, and taught school 
several years, and then opened a general store in 
Gilford Village, which he conducted for a number 
of years. Subsequently he returned to the home 
farm and spent the remainder of his life there. He 
was a Whig in politics, and filled the office of justice 
of the peace. He was a Congregationalist in re- 
ligion, and clerk of the church of that faith in La- 
conia. He married (first), December 17, 1820, Sally 
Sleeper, of Gilmanton; and (second). November 7, 
183 1, Maria French, of Gilmanton, who was born 
January 7, 1800, and died September 21, 1875. By 
his first wife he had one child, John Quincy Adams, 
and by the second, three children : Sarah Maria, 
Rebecca Melcher, and Benjamin Quincy, whose 
sketch follows. 

(VHI) Benjamin Quincy, youngest child of 
Benjamin (3) and Maria (French) Jewett, was 
born in Gilford, August 2, 1838, died February 13, 
1890. He was educated in the public schools and at 
Gilford Academy, and after leaving school took 
charge of the farm which his grandfather settled, 
and devoted his life to agriculture. He was a re- 
spected member of the Laconia Congregational 
Church, and a strict observer of the Sabbath. In 
politics he was a Republican. He was much inter- 
ested in the order Patrons of Husbandry, and was 
instrumental in starting Mt. Belknap Grange, which 
was one of the first organized in this section, and of 
which he was a charter member, continuing active 
in its work till the time of his death. He married 
(first), June i, 1865, Huldah Maria Brown, who 
was born in Loudon, September 30, 1840, daughter 
of Richard and Sally Brown, of Loudon. She died 
September 15, 1870. He married (second), De- 
cember 25, 1871, Mary Page Price, who was born 
in Gilmanton, August 22, 1836. The children of the 
first wife were Benjamin Richard and John Young; 
by the second, Harvey Austin, and Edwin Price, the 
subject of the next paragraph. 

(IX) Edwin Price, son of Benjamin Q. and 
Mary Page (Price) Jewett, was born in Gilford, 
February 21, 1877. He was educated in the public 
schools and at Tilton Seminary and New Hamp- 
shire State College, graduating from the latter 
school with the class of 1901. After leaving college 
he entered the employ of the Walker-Gordon Labor- 
atory Company, Boston, New York and Philadelphia, 
producers of sanitary and modified milk. He re- 
mained with this firm about two and a half years, 



being for the most of this time assistant superin- 
tendent of their largest farm, located in New Jersey, 
and producing milk for the select trade of New 
York and Philadelphia. Owing to failure in health 
he was obliged to give up this work and he then re- 
turned to the homestead, the same place which his 
great-grandfather cleared more than one hundred 
years before, where he has since resided. He is a 
Republican in politics, and in religion a Congrega- 
tionalist. 



The family name of Powers is from 
POWERS the old Norman name "Le Poer," as 

old in England as the time of Wil- 
liam the Conqueror, one of whose officers bore 
that name in the battle of Hastings. From that 
time on the namr. has borne an honorable place in 
the history of England. The immigrant ancestor 
of this family came to Massachusetts in early 
Colonial times, doubtless as a refugee from the re- 
ligious oppression in England of the Stuarts. The 
name Powers is of Norman origin and the martial 
qualities of some members of this family entitle 
them to the credit of belonging to a race which has 
produced many brilliant soldiers. 

(I) Walter Powers, born in Essex, England, in 
1639, came to New England, and later settled on a 
tract of land then in Concord, now in Littleton, Mas- 
srchusetts. His house was on the north side of 
Quagony hill and near Magog pond, where he died 
February 22, 1709. He was married in Maiden, 
March 11, 1661, to Trial Shepard, who was born 
December 19, 1641, daughter of Deacon Ralph and 
Thanks Shepard, of Maiden. Their children were : 
William, Mar}^ Isaac, Thomas, Daniel, Increase, 
Walter, Jacob and Sarah. (Daniel and descendants 
are mentioned in this article). 

(II) William, eldest child of Walter Powers, 
was born March 16, 1661, in Concord, Massachu- 
setts, and died there March 16, 1710. He inherited 
the homestead on which he resided. He married 
Mary Bank, daughter of John and Hannah Bank, 
of (ihelmsford. Their children were ; John, Wil- 
liam, Experience, Mary, Samuel (died young), 
Samuel, Lemuel, Ephraim, Walter and Benjamin. 

(III) William (2), second son and child of 
William (i) and Mary (Bank) Powers, was born 
in 1691, and was married March 16, 1714, to Lydia 
Perham, who was born October 20, 1693. His 
children included Lemuel, William and Stephen. 

(IV) Lemuel, son of William (2) and Lydia 
(Perham) Powers, was born in 1714, and died in 
1792. Despite his age, he served as a soldier in the 
Revolution. He was a cooper by trade, and re- 
sided in Grafton and Uxbridge, Massachusetts. His 
estate was administered by William Powers, of 
Grafton, probably his brother. He was married. 
January 14, 1742, to Thankful Leland, daughter of 
James and Hannah (Earned) Leland. She was 
born August 16, 1724, and died in 1809. Their 
children were born in Grafton, from 1742 to 1765, 
namely: Deliverance, Ezekiel, Lydia, Prudence, 
David, Rev. Lemuel, Sarah, Thankful, Colonel Sam- 
uel and Mary. Soon after the death of her hus- 
band the widow. Thankful (Leland) Powers, re- 
moved to Croydon, New Plampshire, where several 
of her children were then located. 

(V) Colonel Samuel, fourth son and ninth 
child of Lemuel and Thankful (Leland) Powers, 
was born 1762, in Uxbridge. He was a soldier of 
the Revolution and. after the triumph of the col- 
onies in that struggle, was among the earliest set- 
tlers of Crojrdon, New Plampshire, and was an in- 



1648 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



fluential citizen and popular with his fellows. . He 
died of spotted fever in 1813. He was married in 
1784, to Chloe Cooper, of Croydon, and his chil- 
dren, twelve in number, included : Olive, Obed, 
Solomon L., Judith, Ara, Larned and Samuel. 

(VI) Larned, son of Colonel Samuel and 
Chloe (Cooper) Powers, was born April 20, 1808, 
in Croydon, New Hampshire, and was among those 
who early settled in the neighboring town of Cor- 
nish. His wife was Ruby Barton, of a noted Croy- 
don family, daughter of John A. Barton, a promi- 
nent citizen (see Barton). Larned Powers died in 
Cornish in 1896. Ruby Barton was born July 9, 
1808, and died in Cornish in 1900. They were the 
parents of four children : Caroline Matilda, Eras- 
tus Barton, Alice Victoria and Samuel Leland, all 
of whom are still living. Larned Powers was a 
man of strong character and the highest integrity. 
He was public-spirited, and took a lively interest 
in political matters, although he declined to be a 
candidate for office. He was what was commonly 
termed a "Jackson Democrat," and fully believed 
in the principles of of the party. He was one of 
the best farmers in the county, and kept thoroughly 
in touch with the progress of agriculture. Both he 
and his wife were greatly interested in education, 
Mrs. Powers having been a school teacher in her 
earlier years. Both their daughters were educated 
at Kimball Union Academy, and for a number of 
years followed the profession of teaching. Their 
son. Erastus Barton, fitted for college at Kimball 
Union Academy, and graduated at Dartmouth in 
the class of 1865, being valedictorian of that class, 
a'nd receiving one of the highest ranks in scholar- 
ship that has ever been awarded at Dartmouth. 
He graduated from the Harvard Law School in 
1867, and is now engaged in the practice of law 
in the city of Boston. He has been a great student 
all his life, and is regarded as a critic of high 
rank in literature. 

(Vn) Samuel Leland Powers, youngest child 
of Larned and Ruby (Barton) Powers, was born 
October 26, 1848, in Cornish, where his boyhood 
days were passed. He was fitted for college at 
Kimball Union Academy and Phillips Exeter 
Academy, and graduated at Dartmouth in the 
class of 1874. Among his classmates who have 
acquired distinction are Frank N. Parsons, chief jus- 
tice of the supreme court of New Hampshire; (jen- 
eral Frank S. Streeter, one of the leaders of the 
bar in that state ; Edwin G. Eastman, for the last 
twelve years attorney general of New Hampshire : 
John A. Aiken, present chief justice of the superior 
court of Massachusetts ; Honorable Samuel W. Mc- 
Call, who for many years has represented the Har- 
vard College district of Massachusetts in congress ; 
the late William H. Davis, an eminent clergyman 
in the Congressional Church;- and many others 
who have achieved prominence outside of New 
England. Mr. Powers studied law first with Wil- 
liam W. Bailey, Esq., at Nashua, New Hampshire, 
later at the law school of the University of the 
City of New York, and with Very & Gaskill, of 
Worcester, Massachusetts, in which office he was 
at the time of his admission to the bar in Novem- 
ber, 1875. He formed a partnership in January of 
the following year, with his classmate, Congress- 
man McCall, opening an office in Boston, which 
partnership continued for one year. Later he be- 
came associated with Colonel J. H. Benton, of 
Boston, with whom he remained for four years ; he 
then formed a partnership with his brother, under 
the name of Powers & Powers, which continued 



until 1889, at which time he became general coun- 
sel for the New England Telephone and Telegraph 
Company. Later on he went into partnership with 
Edward K. Hall and Matt B. Jones, which partner- 
ship continued until 1903, at which time Mr. Jones 
left the firm to become the general counsel for the 
New England Telephone and Telegraph Company. 
The present law firm is known as Powers & Hall, 
and is one of the large and successful law firms in 
Boston. 

Mr. Powers was married, in 1878, to Evelyn 
Crowell, of Dennis, Massachusetts. They have one 
son, Leland, who was born July i, 1890, and at the 
present time is a member of the sophomore class 
at Dartmouth. Mr. Powers removed to Newton in 
1882, where he has since resided. He has been a 
member of both branches of the city government 
and of the school board of that city. In 1890, in re- 
sponse to a public demand, he became a candidate 
on the Republican ticket for congress from the 
Eleventh Massachusetts District, receiving a unani- 
mous nomination and being elected by a majority 
of some 13,000. He accepted a re-election, serving 
in the fifty-seventh and fifty-eighth congress, but 
declined another re-election, although he was 
strongly urged to accept it, and returned to the 
practice of his profession in 1905. In the fifty-sev- 
enth congress he -was a member of the committees on 
judiciary and the District of Columbia, and was 
selected as one of five members to draft the trust 
legislation of the second session of the fifty-seventh 
congress. He was selected as one of the house 
managers to prosecute the impeachment of Judge 
Swayne before the United States senate in 1904. 
While in congress he took an active and prominent 
part in the debates of the time. He was instrumen- 
tal in forming what is known as the Tantlus Club, 
that being an organization of the new Republican 
members of the fifty-seventh congress, and con- 
tinued as president of that organization during his 
two terms in congress. 

He is president of the Middlesex Republican 
Club, the largest political organization in Massa- 
chusetts, and vice-president of the Massachusetts 
Republican Club, a member of the University Club 
of Boston, of the Newton Club and the Hunnewell 
Club, of Newton, and is connected with various 
military organizations, he having formerly been 
an active member in the militia of the state. He 
is a Unitarian in religion, attending the Channing 
Church at Newton. He spends his summers at 
Meredith, New Hampshire, on the shores of Lake 
Winnipesaukee, where he has a camp, and has at 
all times shown great interest in the affairs of his 
native state. He is a member of the board of trus- 
tees of Dartmouth College, in which he takes the 
greatest interest. He is an owner in the large farm 
which was tilled for so many years by his father in 
Cornish, New Hampshire, and intends to retain it 
for the family for many years to come. 

(II) Daniel, son of Walter and Trial (Shep- 
ard) Powers, was born in Concord, May 10, 1669. 
He owned a tract of land one mile wide and ex- 
tending the whole length of the township of Lit- 
tleton. He married (first), April 8, 1702, Elizabeth 
Whitcomb, who was a daughter of Jonathan and 
Hannah Whitcomb, of Lancaster. Jonathan Whit- 
comb died in 1700, and his widow, Hannah, was 
killed by the Indians at Lancaster in 1702. Eliza- 
beth Powers died about 1711, and Daniel married 
(second) Martha Bates. There were five children 
by the first marriage, and eight by the second mar- 
riage : Daniel, Jonathan, Oliver, Peter, (known 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1649 



as Captain Peter, of Hollis) Hannah, William, 
Sepheran, Timothy, Jarahmael, Martha, Abijah, 
Tryphena and Increase. 

(III) Jonathan, second son and child of 
Daniel and Elizabeth (Whitconib) Powers, was 
born in Littleton, October 13, 1704. He lived in 
that part of Lancaster which is now Sterling. He 
served six weeks in scouting service in July and 
August, 1748, following the attack by the Indians 
upon Lunenburg, and the capture of John Fitch 
and his family, and in 1755 was a volunteer in Cap- 
tain Peter Powers' company of Colonel Josiah 
Brown's regiment, at Crown Point. In a petition 
in 1756 for compensation he records his experi- 
ence in the service : "Jonathan Powers enlisted 
himself a private under the command of Captain 
Jeduthan Ballding in Colonel Brown's Regiment 
to go in the expedition against Crown Point the 
Last year. * * * i -was taken sick at Lake 
George and so continued for thre wekes and after 
recovering some small strength I was embarked 
in a wagon and got Down to Albany with much 
Deficulty and thare Taried thre Days and then I 
being Verry desirous of Citing hom, atempted a 
tryel and Traveled as my strength would bare 
untill I got to Kingston, and sent Home for Horse 
and man to come to my assistance being unable 
to proceed any further I had got so weke." Ap- 
pended to this statement are the items of expense 
attending a sickness at home of three weeks. He 
also served in the war of the Revolution in Captain 
Dow's company at Bunker Hill. In "The History 
of Hollis," pg. 206, is a copy of the "Great Re- 
turn." It contains the names of all the soldiers 
from Hollis. In this list is the name of Jonathan 
Powers as serving in the Continental army in 1775 
at the battle of Bunker Hill and Cambridge eight 
months. He received twenty-four cents per day. 
He was the oldest soldier of his company, recorded 
in several places. He was over seventy years of 
age at the time, but gave his age as "sixty." He 
died before the close of the year 1775- He 
was married (first) November i, 1750, to Lois 
Blood, and they settled at Pine Hill, a section of 
Old Dunstable, a few rods east of the Hollis Ime, 
where he cleared off the forest and built their 
home. His first wife died in 1763, and he was 
married (second) November 28, 1764, to Susannah 
Willoughby. There were nine children of the first 
marriage (four died in infancy), and eight of the 
second, namely: Lois, Bridget, Betsey, Jerusha, 
Jonathan, John, Susannah, David, Anna, Lucy, 
Jonas, Joseph and Rebecca. (Mention of John and 
David and descendants forms a part of this arti- 
cle). 

(IV) John, eldest of the eight children of Jon- 
athan Powers and his second wife, Susanna Wil- 
loughby, was born March 9, 1766. He married 
Hannah Brooks, of Hollis, New Hampshire, No- 
vember 28, 1793. They had six children: John, 
born August 25, 1796; Nathan, mentioned below; 
Noah, born November 13, 1802; Isaac, born Octo- 
ber 4, 1804; Ira, born September 22, 1807; William 
P., born April 24, 1813. John Powers died at Hol- 
lis, New Hampshire, November 6, 1815, at the age 
of forty-nine. 

(V) Nathan, second son and child of John and 
Hannah (Brooks) Powers, was born December 8, 
1798. He was a man upright in character, honest 
in ail his dealings, progressive and decided in his 
opinions. He was engaged in the stove business 
in Peterboro, New Hampshire, and later, with his 
son John A. Powers, came to Milford, New Hamp- 



shire, where the two conducted a successful busi- 
ness for many years. Nathan Powers married 
Rhoda C. Buttertield on December 16, 1820. They 
had four children : John Alvin, mcnlioned below ; 
Lydia Ann, born December 31, 1823; Charles 
Brooks, born February 27, 1826; Albert Smith, born 
March 2, 1834. Nathan Powers died in January, 
17, 1851, at the age of lifty-three years. 

(VI) John Alvin, eldest son and child of Na- 
than and Rhoda (Buttertield) Powers, was born 
March 9, 1822, at Townsend, Massachusetts. When 
a young man he lived in Peterboro, New Hamp- 
shire, where he learned his trade. In 1844 he came 
to Milford, New Hampshire, with his father. The 
two were engaged in business together till 1851, 
when the death of his father compelled a change. 
In 1856 John A. Powers was associated with John 
Dickey in the manufacture of tinware and baskets. 
After the death of Mr. Dickey, Mr. Powers car- 
ried on the business alone. He enlarged it each 
year until 1870, when he built what was at that 
time the largest business block in Milford. He 
was a man who had the confidence and esteem of 
all. His purse-strings were always open to all de- 
serving and worthy poor and to all charitable ob- 
jects. The poor heaped blessings upon his head 
which others knew little about. He commanded 
the love and respect of all who knew him. He was 
a successful and reliable business man, and one who 
took an active part in all matters pertaining to the 
general welfare of the town and its inhabitants. 
He was among the first to adopt improvements, and 
he always advocated advancement. He served the 
town in several responsible positions, and always dis- 
charged his duties thoroughly, faithfully and hon- 
estly. For thirty-seven years he was engaged in 
business at Milford, New Hampshire, and upon his 
death the town lost one of its most respected citi- 
zens. John A. Powers was twice married. He 
married, September 24, 1846, Lucy J. Conant, of 
Lyme, New Hampshire. They had one child — 
George A., born June 28, 1848. Mrs. Lucy (Con- 
ant) Powers died September 20, 1851. He married 
(second) February i, 1862, Sarah L. Spalding, 
daughter of Asaph S. and Hannah (Colburn) Spald- 
ing, of Hollis, New Hampshire. To this union three 
children were born: Ella M., born August 19, 1865, 
Frank W., born April 3, 1868, and Fred C, born 
February 20, 1871. John A. Powers died October 
30, 1881, at the age of fifty-nine years. 

(VII) Ella M., only daughter and eldest child 
of John A. and Sarah C. (Spalding) Powers, was 
born at Milford, New Hampshire, Agust 19, 1865. 
After attending the public schools in that town she 
went to Colby Academy, New London, New Hamp- 
sire, where she completed the four years' course 
in two years' time. When nineteen years of age 
she went to New York, where she successfully con- 
ducted a private school of which she was principal 
for five years. At the same time she pursued an 
advanced course in music at the Metropolitan Col- 
lege of Music in New York City. During her 
years of teaching, Miss Powers became a regular 
contributor to eight educational and teachers' jour- 
nals. Over five hundred articles written by her 
have been published. The subjects which claim her 
attention are literature, science and history. Miss 
Powers has done much to foster a love for our 
song birds among the children of the public 
schools. She was the first to advocate and pub- 
lish exercises for the observance of Bird Day in 
the schools. For many years her books of exer- 



i6;o 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



cises relating to the school observance of Thanks- 
giving, Christmas, Washington's Birthday, Arbor 
Day and Memorial Day have been published. 

Miss Powers has composed nearly one hundred 
children's songs, which have been published. In 
many instances she has not only composed the 
words and the music, but with pen and ink sketches 
illustrated the words of the songs. She has writ- 
ten and also assisted many writers in the prepara- 
tion of books on art, biography and literature. 
These have been adapted for school use as supple- 
mentary reading for the grades. She is widely 
known in educational circles of this country, and 
her remarkable versatile talents have been liltingly 
recognized by her publishers and by honorary mem- 
berships to various literary and educational organi- 
zations in the country. Besides writing her own 
manuscripts, doing the work of editing, proof- 
reading and revising, she is often engaged upon 
works of review or in preparing manuscripts of 
others for the press. 

In 1899 Miss Powers became principal of the 
Sanborn School of New York City. In 1900 she 
began a series of school-readers, seven in num- 
ber, covering the entire course of reading in the 
nine grades of our public schools. Few women, 
alone, have attempted such an exhaustive work. 
These readers are called the Silver-Burdett Read- 
ers, from the name of the publishers, Silver, Bur- 
dett & Company of New York City. 

When not engaged in the pleasures of travel, 
music and art, Miss Powers may be found living 
quietly in the little New England town of Milford 
among her rare books and her music. Her motto 
has always been "Accomplish something," and she 
has lived up to this teaching. She is at present 
engaged upon a series of histories to be used in 
the public schools. 

(IV) David, son of Jonathan Powers, and 
eighth child of his second wife, Susan Willoughby, 
was born June 4, 1770, in Dunstable, New Hamp- 
shire, and died April 7, 1849, in Hollis, this state. 
His birthplace was just outside the present town 
of Hollis, where his father was then living. About 
1814 he removed to Barnard, Vermont, where he 
resided until shortly before the birth of his last 
child, when he returned to Hollis, New Hamp- 
shire, and died in that town, as above noted. He 
was among those who went to the defense of Ports- 
mouth in 1814. He married (first) Mary Messer, 
and after her decease, married (second) Lydia 
Adams, of Dunstable, New Hampshire. The chil- 
dren of the first marriage were : David, Charlotte, 
Mary, Rebecca; and those of the second were: 
Lydia Spaulding, Myles, Hannah, Susan Wood, 
Harvey A., Luther Adams, Salome, William Wil- 
loughby, Calvin Page, Sarah Jane and Silas Curtis. 

(V) Harvey A., son of David Powers, and fifth 
child of his second wife, Lydia Adams, was born 
February 17, 1817, in Barnard, Vermont, and died 
in Hollis, New Hampshire, June 10, 1882. He was 
educated in the district schools. He went to Abing- 
ton, Massachusetts, where he manufactured shoes 
six years. From there he removed to Hollis, New 
Hampshire, where he was engaged for a number 
of years in the business of contractor and builder, 
and bought a farm upon which he passed his last 
years. He was a member of the Baptist Church 
and of the Grange, and voted the Democratic 
ticket. He married March 7, 1839, in Hollis, Sarah 
Adeline Colburn, who was born in Hollis July 31, 
1820. and died in Hollis in 1896. She was the 
daughter of Robert and Kasiah (Wright) Colburn, 



of Plollis, and was a member of the Baptist Church 
and the Grange. Their ten children were : Fran- 
cena, a daughter unnamed, Alphonso H., Erwin, 
Ozro E., Luray C, Marcellus J., Perley A., Llew- 
ellyn S., and Jesse B. 

(VI) Alphonso Harvey, third child and eldest 
son of Harvey A. and Sarah Adeline (Colburn) 
Powers, was born in Abington, Massachusetts, 
April 27, 1843. He was educated in the public 
schools, the Nashua High School and the State 
Normal School at Bridgewater, Massachusetts, 
graduating from the last named institution with the 
class of 1870. He taught school the following nine 
years, filling positions in Crosby's Institute at 
Nashua, N. H., in the Boston Asylum and Farm 
Schools for Boys, on Thompson's Island, Boston 
Harbor, and at Dedham and Bridgewater, Massa- 
chusetts. From Bridgewater he removed to Hollis, 
New Hampshire, and subsequently to Litchfield, 
where he bought a farm of one hundred and 
eighty-three acres in March, 1879, and engaged in 
agricultural pursuits. He has put numerous im- 
provements upon the place, among which is a barn 
forty by seventy-two feet in dimensions, built in 
1876. Mr. Powers' natural integrity and ability, 
and his education and experience have qualified 
him to serve his fellow citizens acceptably, and he 
has been placed in various offices of honor and 
trust, the duties of which he has faithfully dis- 
charged. He has been chairman of the board of 
selectmen three years ; town clerk eleven years ; 
town treasurer two years; superintendent of the 
public schools seven years; member of the school 
board three years ; trustee of the public library 
three years ; representative in 1887, and was ap- 
pointed a justice of the peace for Hillsborough 
county in 1897 by Governor Ramsdell, and a jus- 
tice of the peace and quorum for the state by Gov- 
ernor John McLane in 1906, which commission he 
now holds. He has been town correspondent for 
the Nashua Daily and Weekly Telegraph since 1887. 
He married, September 22, 1883, at Litchfield, Fran- 
ces L. Tufts, who was born in Litchfield, Febru- 
ary 15, 1849. She is the daughter of Thomas and 
Martha (Worthley) Tufts, of Litchfield. She was 
educated in the public schools and at Adams' Fe- 
male Academy, East Derry, and at the Convent in 
Manchester. While at school in Litchfield she was 
one of her husband's pupils. The farm upon which 
Mr. and Mrs. Powers reside was her father's home- 
stead. 



The family of Gage, which is of Nor- 
GAGE man extraction, derived its descent from 
De Gaga, Gauga, or Gage, who accorn- 
panied William the Conqueror into England in 
1066, and after the conquest was rewarded with 
large grants of land in the forest of Dean, and the 
county of Gloucester, adjacent to which forest he 
fixed his abode and erected a seat at Clerenwell, 
otherwise Clarewell. He also built a large man- 
sion house in the town of Chichester, where he 
died, and was buried in the abbey there; and his 
posterity remained in that country for many gen- 
erations, in credit and esteem, of whom there were 
barons in parliament in the reign of Henry II. An 
epitome of the line of descent of Gage is as fol- 
lows : 

(I) John Gage, the first of the name from 
whom descent is traceable, was born about 1408. 

(II) John (2) Gage, the son of John (i), mar- 
ried Joan Sudgrove. 

(III) Sir John (3), son of John (2) and Joan 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



i6^i 



(Sudgrove) Gage, married Eleanor St. Clere. He 
was knighted in 1454, and died September 30, i486. 
CiV) William, son of Sir John (3) and Eleanor 
(St. Clere J Gage, was born in 1456. He married 
Agnes Bolney. 

(V) Sir John (4), son of William and Agnes 
(Bolney) Gage, was born in 1480. He was made 
a knight May 22, 1541, and died April 28, 1557, 
aged seventy-seven. He married Philippa Guilder- 
ford, and left four sons and four daughters. 

(VI) Sir Edward, eldest son of Sir John (4) 
and Philippa (Guilderford) Gage, was created a 
knight by Queen Mary. He married Elizabeth 
Parker, and had nine sons and six daughters. 

(VII) John (5) Gage, Esq., eldest son of Sir 
Edward and Elizabeth (Parker) Gage, was thirty 
years old at the time of his father's death, and 
heir to fifteen manors, with many other lands in 
Sussex and otherwheres, but having survived all 
his brothers, and dying without issue, the estate 
descended to his nephew. 

(Vni) John (6), nephew of John (5) Gage, 
succeeded to his uncle's estates, was made a baro- 
net March 26, 1622, and died (October 3, 1633. He 
married Penelope, widow of Sir George Trenchard, 
by whom he had nine children, four sons and five 
daughters. 

(IX) John (7), second son of John (6) and 
Penelope Gage, was of Stoneham, in SuiTolk, and 
died in Bradford, Massachusetts, November 8, 1705. 
He came to America with John, the son of -Gov- 
ernor Winthrop, and landed in Salem, June 12, 
1630. In 1633 John Winthrop, Jr., John Gage and 
ten others were the first proprietors of Ipswich. 
In 1664 he removed to Rowley, where he died in 
1673. Throughout his life, both in Ipswich and in 
Rowley, he was a prominent and highly esteemed 
citizen "and held responsible offices of trust and 
fidelity." His first wife's name was Anna. She 
died in Ipswich in June, 1658, and in November of 
the same year he married Sarah, widow of Robert 
Keyes, who, by one account, survived him, though 
by another he married (third), February, 1663, 
Mary Keyes, who died December 20, 1668. He left 
seven sons and one daughter. 

(X) Daniel (i), second son of John (7) Gage, 
is the first of the Gages mentioned in the records 
of that part of "Old Rowley" which is now Brad- 
ford. He married May 3, 1675, Sarah Kimball, by 
whom he had eight children, three sons and five 
daughters. 

(XI) Daniel (2), eldest son of Daniel (i) and 
Sarah (Kimball) Gage, was born March 12, 1676, 
and died in Bradford, March 14, 1747. About 1697 
he settled in the extreme northwest corner of Brad- 
ford, on the banks of the Merrimack, and estab- 
lished Gage's Ferry, or "the Uijper Ferry," on the 
main road to Methuen. He married, March 9, 1697, 
Martha Burbank, who died in Bradford, September 
8, 1741. They had thirteen children: Mehitabel, 
Josiah, Martha, Lydia, Moses, Daniel, Sarah, Jem- 
ima, Naomi, Esther, Amos, Abigail, died young, 
and Mary. 

(XII) Moses, second son and fifth child of 
Daniel (2) and Martha (Burbank) Gage, was born 
in Bradford, May i, 1706. He succeeded to the 
farm at the Ferry, and lived and died there. He 
married Mary Haseltine, April 12, 1733. Their 
children were : Moses, Sarah, James, William, died 
young, Richard, died young, Abigail, Mary, William, 
Richard and Thaddeus, who is the subject of the 
following sketch. 

(XIII) Thaddeus, tenth and youngest child of 
iv — 26 



Moses and Mary (Haseltine) Gage, was born in 
Bradford, April 17, 1754, and died in Sanbornton, 
New Hampshire, May 11, 1845, aged ninety-one. He 
moved to Sanbornton, New Hampshire, probably 
soon after his marriage, and settled in what is now 
the town of Franklin, on the west slope of the hill 
between New Boston and the present rivei' road, 
where he passed the following seventy years of his 
life. He married (first), November 30, 1775, Abi- 
gail Alerrill, of Bradford, who was born in 1756. 
She died in Sanbornton in December, 1789, aged 
thirty-three; and he married (second), July 29, 
1790, Molly Bean, born April 17, 1761, who died 
May 13, 1831, aged seventy. The children of the 
first wife were : Richard, Mary, Daniel, Moses, 
Lydia and John, twins, died young, and Mehitabel ; 
and those of the second wife were: William, Hasel- 
tine, Rhoda, David B., Betsey B., James, John and 
Polly. 

(XIV) William Haseltine, eldest child of Thad- 
deus and Molly (Bean) Gage, was born in San- 
bornton, March 21, 1791, and died in Boscawen, 
September 26, 1872, aged eighty-one. In 1804 he 
moved to Boscawen, where he remained until his 
death, sixty-eight years later. He married, Janu- 
ary 25, 1814, Molly B., daughter of Bradbury Mor- 
rison, of Sanbornton. She died February 15, 1833,' 
and he married (second) Sarah, daughter of Sam- 
uel 'Sargent, of Canterbury. The children of the 
first wife wei^e : Sophronia, Eloander Wood, Isaac 
Kimball, Asa Morrison, Phebe Prescott and Ro- 
Silla JNIorrison. By the second wife there was one 
child, Polly Rosilla. 

(XV) Isaac Kimball, third child and eldest son 
of William (2) H. and Molly B. (Morrison) Gage, 
Was born in Boscawen, October 27, 1818, and died 
September 10, 1894. He married, October 27, 1842, 
Susan G., daughter of Reuben Johnson, and they 
had: Frederick Johnson, Mary Morrison, Char- 
lotte Hubbard, Lucy Kimball, and Isaac William. 

(XVI) Georgiana Judith, second child and eld- 
est daughter of Isaac K. and Susan G. (Johnson) 
Gage, was born in Boscawen, January 16, 1848, and 
married Abiel W. Rolfe. (See Rolfe VIII.) 

(XV) Polly Rosilla, only child of William H. 
and Sarah (Sargent) Gage, was born in Boscawen, 
August I, 1838, and married Samuel R. Mann. (See 
Mann V.) 



The name of Prescott is of Saxon 
PRESCOTT origin, meaning priest's house. 

There are two American ances- 
tors, both among the earliest settlers of this coun- 
try. John Prescott came to Boston and Water- 
town, Massachusetts, in 1640. He was a great- 
grandson of James of Standish in England. Jones, 
the ninth and youngest child of John, the original 
immigrant, lived in Groton, Massachusetts, and was 
the grandfather of Colonel William Prescott, born 
in that town, the hero of Bunker Hill. William B. 
Prescott, the historian, was a grandson of Colonel 
William Prescott. The arms of this branch of the 
family are three owls, argent, on a sable shield. The 
crest is an arm, erect, gnlcs, with an ermine cuff, 
holding a pitch pot or hand beacon. These em- 
blems seem singularly appropriate for a family 
whose descendaints number a Revolutionary hero 
and a scholar.. / 

James Prescott, the ancestor of the New Hamp- 
shire family, settled in Hampton, that state, in i665> 
His father was a second cousin to John of Water- 
town ; and James was a great-great-grandson of 
James of Standish, with whom the line begins. 



1652 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



The two American branches are of the same origi- 
nal stock, although they bear different coats of arms. 

(I) James Prescott, a gentleman of Standish in 
Lancashire, England, was ordered by Queen Eliza- 
beth in 1564 to keep in readiness horsemen and 
jrmor. He married a daughter of Roger Standish, 
Esquire, of Standish, and they had six sons : James, 
mentioned below; Roger, Ralph, Robert, William 
and John. (Mention of Roger and descendants 
forms part of this article.) 

(II) James (2), eldest son of James and 

(Standish) Prescott, married Alice Molineaux. For 
his bravery and military prowess he was created 
lord of the manor in Dryby, in Lincolnshire, and 
was afterwards known as Sir James. A new coat- 
of-arms was granted with the title. This emblem 
is entirely different from that borne by the Massa- 
chusetts branch. The main features are two leop- 
ards' heads, or, on an ermine field; the crest rising 
out of a ducal coronet, or, is a boar's head and neck, 
argent, "bristled with the first." In untechnical 
language this means, when the symbol is painted, 
that the coronet should be of gold and the boar's 
head of silver with bristles of gold. The motto is 
•"Vincit Gui Patitur." Sir James Prescott died 
March I, 1583, leaving two children: John and 
Anne. 

(III) John, son of Sir James and Alice (Moli- 
neaux) Prescott, was born at Dryby, where he 
lived. He married and nothing further is known of 
him except that he had two sons, William and James. 

(IV) James (3), younger son of John Prescott, 
married, and had several children, four of whom 
are recorded: Mary, baptized in 1631 ; John, bap- 
tized in 1632; Anne, baptized in 1634; and James, 
who came to America. 

(V) James (4), son of James (3) Prescott, of 
England, was baptized in 1642-3. He came from 
Dryby, in Lincolnshire, to what is now Hampton 
Falls, New Hampshire, in 1665. At that time the 
region was a part of the "Old County of Norfolk," 
Massachusetts. He began a farm, now one of the 
best in the state, where he lived till he moved to 
Kingston, New Hampshire, in 1725. He was ad- 
mitted a freeman in 1668, which means that he was 
a church member; was transferred to the church 
in Hampton Falls in 1712, at which time the town 
was incorporated, and was transferred to the church 
at Kingston, September 25, 1725. In 1668 James 
Prescott married Mary Boulter, daughter of Na- 
thaniel and Grace Boulter, of Exeter, New Hamp- 
shire. She was born in that town May 15, 1648, 
aiid was one of ten children, most of them daugh- 
ters. On the death of her two brothers, Nathaniel 
and John, the family name became extinct. James 
Prescott was a man of prominence and standing 
in the community. Although he did not move to 
Kingston till 1725, three years before his death, he 
was one of the original proprietors when the town 
was granted by Lieutenant Governor Usher in 1694. 
Another proprietor at the same time was Ebenezer 
Webster, ancestor of Daniel. The two men were 
chosen a committee to run the line between Hamp- 
ton and Kingston in 1700. James Prescott was 
moderator of the proprietors' meeting at Kingston 
in 1700 and 1701 ; and he received many grants of 
land, both in Kingston and Hampton. James Pres- 
cott moved from Hampton Falls to Kingston in 
1725, where he died November 25, 1728, aged about 
eighty-five years. Mary, his widow, died at Kings- 
ton, October 4, 1735, aged eiglity-seven years, four 
months and twenty days. James and Mary (Boul- 
ter) Prescott had" nine children: Joshua, born 



March i, 1669; James; Rebecca, married Nathaniel 

Sanborn; Jonathan, married Elizabeth ; 

Mary, married Jabez Coleman; Abigail and Pa- 
tience (twins). Abigail married Richard Bounds; 
John married Abigail Marston ; Nathaniel married 
Ann Marston, sister to Abigail. (James and 
descendants are noticed in this article.) 

(VI) Joshua, eldest child of James (4) and 
Mary (Boulter) Prescott, was born March i, 1669. 
There is no record of his death or marriage or the 
name of his wife, and the names of only a part of 
his children are known. He removed from Hamp- 
ton Falls to Kingston as early as 1725, as he was 
one of the members of the church when first gath- 
ered or organized there, September 29, 1725. His 
name appears as that of an inhabitant of Hampton 
Falls in 1722. In 1727 he and his son Latham 
are found to be inhabitants of Kingston. He 
resided a part if not all of the time after leav- 
ing Hampton Falls in that part of Kingston which 
since 1738 has constituted the town of East Kings- 
ton. Family tradition says that he did not marry 
until thirty-eight or forty years of age, which the 
date of the birth of his children seems to confirm. 
Flis children were: Nathan, Joshua, Mary, Ed- 
ward, Annie, Reuben," Patience, John, a daughter, 
a daughter, a daughter, a child died in infancy. 

(VII) Joshua (2), son of Joshua (i) Prescott, 
was born about 1713. About 1763 he moved from 
East Kingston to Chester, New Hampshire, where 
he died July 12, 1785. He served six months in the 
expedition against Crown Point in 1758. _ His term 
of enlistment began in April and ended in October. 
He was in the company of Captain Trueworthy 
Ladd, of Exeter, which constituted part of the regi- 
ment commanded by Colonel John Hart, of Ports- 
mouth. He signed the association test in Chester 
in 1776. He married (first) Abigail Ambrose, and 
had four sons and four daughters. She died and 
he married (second) Mary Moulton, about 1763, 
and had five sons. The children by the first wife: 
Joshua, Stephen, John, Abigail, Sarah, _ Dorothy, 
Dominicus, Lucretia ; by the second: Daniel, Moul- 
ton, Asa, Joseph and Edward. 

(VIII) Lieutenant John, third son.and child of 
Joshua (2) and Abigail (Ambrose) Prescott, was 
born about 1744, and died in Sandwich at the age 
of about eighty. In 1767 he removed to Sandwich, 
New Hampshire, where he was one of the pioneer 
settlers of the town, and there he and his family 
suffered many great hardships and privations. After 
residing in Sandwich for years he removedto Hol- 
derness, and afterward returned to Sandwich. He 
signed the association test in 1776. He married, in 
1766, Molly Carr, who was born February 26, 1747, 
and died in Holderness in March, 1823, aged seven- 
ty-six. Their fifteen children were : Parker, Joshua, 
John, Eliphalet, Stephen, Bradbury, Polly, Sally, 
David, Judith, Ruth, Asa, Abigail, Anna and Ben- 
jamin. 

(IX) Polly, seventh child and eldest daughter 
of John and Molly (Carr) Prescott, was born in 
1777, and married (first) Benjamin Graves, and 
(second) Benjamin Mooney, of Sandwich, where 
she died in November, 1865, aged eighty-eight. (See 
Mooney III.) 

(VI) James (s), second son and child of James 
(4) and Mary (Boulter) Prescott, was born Sep- 
tember I, 1671. He married, March I, 1695, Maria 
Marston, daughter of William (2) and Rebecca 
(Page) Marston. She was born November 16,1672. 
They were both admitted to the church October 
10, 1697. James Prescott married for his second 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1653 



wife, June 17, 1746, widow Abigail Sanborn. She 
was the daughter of Edward Gove, one of the first 
settlers of Hampton. James Prescott was her third 
husband, and hke his two predecessors was a dea- 
con of the church. Abigail (Gove) Prescott's first 
husband was Philemon Dalton, whom she married 
in 1690, and her second, Benjamin Sanborn, whom 
she married in 1724. James (5) Prescott was a 
farmer, and lived near his father on the west side 
of the road leading from the Hampton Falls Acad- 
emy to Exeter. He bore the title of sergeant, and 
was chosen constable in 1707. He was at Port 
Royal six months from March to September, 1701. 
James (5) and Maria (Marston) Prescott had 
eight children : Jeremiah, married Hannah Phil- 
brick ; Samuel, mentioned below ; Elisha, married 
Phebe Sanborn ; Sarah, married Joseph Lowell, of 
Newburyport, Massachusetts ; Lucy, married Joseph 
Sanborn ; Ebenezer ; James, married Dorothy Til- 
ton; Rebecca, married Caleb Towle, Jr. (Ebenezer 
and descendants are mentioned in this article.) 

(VH) Samuel, second son and child of James 
(5) and Maria (Marston) Prescott, was born 
March 14, 1697. He married Mary Sanborn, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Mary (Gove) Sanborn. She was 
born July 28, 1697. They were married December 
17, 1 71 7, and were admitted to the church July 13, 
1740. They lived on a farm at Hampton Falls. 
Samuel Prescott appears to have been a man of sub- 
stance, and prominent in the affairs of the town. 
He served several years as selectman, town clerk and 
in other official capacities. He also acted as one of 
the scouting party "above the frontier." This party 
went out in 1724 to the region above Dover and 
Rochester, then on the edge of the wilderness. It 
is supposed that they were sent against the Pe- 
quawket Indians, who had their headquarters where 
Fryeburg, Maine, now is. Samuel Prescott died of 
fever at Hampton Falls, June 12, 1759, aged sixty- 
two years and three months. Samuel and Mary 
(Sanborn) Prescott had five children, all sons: 
Jeremiah, Samuel, John, Joseph and William. All 
of these sons except Samuel, who died young, had 
a notable military record. Jeremiah and John 
served in the French and Indian war; Jeremiah 
took part in the expedition against Crown _ Point 
and John assisted in the capture of Louisburg. 
Joseph and William took part in the Revolution, 
and each attained the rank of major. Joseph was 
in the battles of Bennington and Ticonderoga and 
at the surrender of Burgoyne ; he was a member 
of the New Hampshire provincial congress, which 
met at Exeter in 1775. (William is mentioned in 
a later paragraph, with descendants.) 

(VIII) John, third son of Samuel and Mary 
(Sanborn) Prescott, was born at Hampton Falls, 
December 12. 1723, and baptized Novernber 12, 
1724. He settled in Epping and in 1745 joined a 
military company which was raised and commanded 
by Sir William Pepperell. He signed the associa- 
tion test in 1776. His death occurred in Epping, 
May 2, 1785. He was first married November 27, 
1746, to Hannah Rundlett, who was born Novem- 
ber 2, 1728, daughter of Jonathan and Rachel Rund- 
lett, of Epping, and died March 16, 1766. For his 
second wife he married Mrs. Rebecca Tilton, widow 
of Samuel Tilton, of Deerfield, and a daughter of 
Hon. Benjamin Prescott. She survived her seond 
husband and was married for the third time to 
Nathan Gove Prescott, of Epping, July 7, 1789- 
She died in 1794, aged sixty-eight years. The nine 
children of John Prescott, all of his first union. 



were: Jonathan, Rachel, Mary, Lucy, Samuel, 
John, Dudley, Hannah and Leah. 

(IX) Samuel, second son and fifth child of 
John and Hannah (Rundlett) Prescott, was born 
in Epping, October 30, 1755. He settled on a farm 
in Pittslield, New Hampshire, and resided there 
for the remainder of his life, which terminated 
July 4, 1819. December 3, 1777, he married Molly 
Drake, who was born October 30, 1757, daughter of 
Simon and Judith Drake, of Epping, and her death 
occurred May 24, 1829. She was the mother of 
twelve children: Sarah E., born June 17, 1779, 
died at the age of twenty years; Josiah, July 31, 
1780, died September 14, 1846; Hannah, April 8, 
1782; Leah, December 5, 1784, died June 14, 1847; 
Samuel Washington, who will be again referred to; 
Mary, July 26, 1788; Ann, July i, 1790; Theodate, 
April II, 1792, died December 26, 1847; ^^lartha 
Brown, May 3, 1794; John, February 29, 1796, died 
January 4, 1862; Abraham, March 7, 1798, and 
Sarah, October 19, 1800. 

(X) Samuel Washington, second son and fifth 
child of Samuel and Molly (Drake) Prescott, was 
born August 4, 1786. Locating in Guilford, New 
Hampshire, he became a prosperous farmer and 
resided there until his death, which occurred May 
23, 1833. He was married July 30, 1812, to Mary 
Brown, who was born September 30, 1792, daugh- 
ter of Enoch Brown, of Pittsfield. She died in 
Lake Village, December 30, 1858. Of this union 
there were eight children : Enoch Brown, the date 
of whose birth will be given presently; Mary Jane, 
born December 6, 1814; Hannah Brown, Decem- 
ber 15, 1816; Elizabeth Ann, February 2, 1819; 
Sarah Plummer, April 7, 1821 ; Samuel W., August 
2, 1823; John Oliver, September 9, 1825; and Leah 
Lane, September 27, 1828. 

(XI) Enoch Brown, eldest child of Samuel W. 
and Mary (Brown) Prescott, was born in Pitts- 
field, New Hampshire, February 12, 1813. He re- 
sided in Lake Village, where he followed the black- 
smith's trade, and he died June 30, 1881. Decem- 
ber 4, 1839, he married Hannah Gove _Thing, who 
was born June 25, 1817, daughter of John and 
Susan Thing. She became the mother of four 
children : John Freeman Thing, born January 27, 
1841 ; Susan Ada, April 18, 1850, died February 28, 
1877 ; True Enoch, who is mentioned at greater 
length in the succeeding paragraph; and Cora Ellen, 
January 30, 1857, died September 4, 1857. John F. 
T. Prescott was married in 1871 to Laura T. Robin- 
son, of Laconia, who died April 12, 1882, and of 
this union there was one son, Edgar T., born 
March 19, 1877, died December 2, 1879. 

(XII) True Enoch, second son and third child 
of Enoch B. and Hannah G. (Thing) Prescott, was 
born in Lake Village, June i, 1852. Having studied 
preliminarily in the public schools he attended the 
New Hampshire Conference Seminary at Tilton, 
and concluded his education with a business course 
at the Manchester Commercial College. As a young 
man he engaged in the insurance business at La- 
conia, and has followed it continuously for more 
than thirty years, being at the present time one of 
the best known insurance men in the state. _ The 
Melcher and Prescott Agency, of which he is the 
financier, represents some of the strongest and most 
reliable companies in the world. Its sphere of ac- 
tion practically covers the entire field, including 
fire, life, liability, accident, fidelity and health. In 
politics Mr. Prescott is a Democrat, and he served 
as postmaster at Lakcport under President Cleve- 



i654 



NEW HAMPSHIRE 



laud. He is a thirty-second degree Mason, belong- 
ing to all of the subordinate bodies, including the 
comniandery, and also affiliates with the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows. He was married No- 
vember 23, 1886, to Ada May Garmon, second child 
and eldest daughter of Charles B. and Laura A. 
(PhillM-ick) Garmon, of Laconia, who reared four 
children : Frederick C, Ada M., Frank A. and Lil- 
lian E. Mr. and Mrs. Prescott occupy one of the 
handsomest pieces of residential property in La- 
conia. They have one son, Edgar B., who was 
born April 30, 18S8; at this date (1907) a student 
in Dartmouth College. 

(VH) Ebenezer, sixth child and fourth son of 
James (5) and Maria (Marston) Prescott, was born 
in Hampton Falls, December 3, 1705, baptized March 
3, 1706, and died in 1750, aged forty-five. He re- 
sided in Hampton Falls, on the farm his father and 
grandfather, the immigrant, had first cultivated. He 
married December 15, 1726, Abigail Tilton, who was 
born May 20, 1706, daughter of Samuel and Meri- 
bah (Shaw) Tilton. They had: Samuel, Sarah, 
James, Josiah, Abigail, Mary and Meribah. 

(Vni) Captain James (6), second son and third 
child of Ebenezer and Abigail (Tilton) Prescott, 
was born December 5, 1733, baptized January 20, 
1734, and died February 27, 1813, aged seventy-nine 
years. He lived and .died in Hampton Falls. He 
was many years selectman and moderator, and cap- 
tain in the militia. He served two terms of enlist- 
ment in the Revolutionary Army. He enlisted first 
September 8, 1777, and served as a lieutenant in 
Captain Moses Leavitt's company. Colonel Abra- 
ham Drake's regiment, which constituted part of 
the force sent to reinforce the Northern Continen- 
tal Army at Stillwater, September, 1777. He was 
discharged December 15, 1777, after serving three 
months and eight days. He enlisted a second time, 
July 10, 1781, being one of the force sent to West 
Point, and was discharged December 22, after five 
months and three days' service. He resided on the 
farm where his father and grandfather lived before 
him. He and his wife were admitted to the church 
July 18, 1756. He married, January i, 1756, Mary 
Lane, born December 6, 1734, daughter of Samuel 
Lane. She died May 24, 1718, in her eighty-fifth 
year. The eleven children of this marriage were : 
Ebenezer, Mary, Samuel, James, Betsey, Jesse, Abi- 
gail, Josiah, Sally, Susannah and Levi. 

(IX) Betsey, fifth child and second daughter of 
Captain James (6) and Mary (Lane) Prescott, was 
born in Hampton Falls, June 11, 1765, and died 
May 24, 1838, aged seventy-five years. She married, 
August 6, 1787, Jeremiah Brown, of Loudon. See 
Brown, IV.) 

(VI) Jonathan, third son and fourth child of 
James (4) and Mary (Boulter) Prescott, of Hamp- 
ton, New Hampshire, was born August 8, 1675, 
probably in that part of the town now known as 
Hampton Falls. He saw some military service in the 
Colonial wars. In 1696 he labored for ten days at 
Fort William and Mary at Newcastle. New Hamp- 
shire, and in 1710 was one of a scouting party under 
Captain John Gilman. He settled in that part of 
Hampton which in 1737 became Kensington, and was 
one of the petitioners for the new town. Here he 
was admitted to the church March 5, 1749, in his 
seventy-fourth years. Jonathan Prescott married 

Elizabeth , but her last name and the date of 

her marriage are unknown. She was admitted to 
the church, August 29, 1708. They had six children : 
Captain Jonathan, who took part in the capture of 
Louisburg; Jeremiah; Benjamin, who is mentioned 
in the next paragraph; Abigail, who married Na- 



thaniel Locke ; Joseph, who served under his elder 
brother at Lockhard ; and Mary, who married Ben- 
jamin Hilliard, of Hampton. Jonathan Prescott 
died at Kensington, New Hampshire, January 6, 
1755, in his eightieth year. 

(VII) Benjamin, third son and child of Jona- 
than and Elizabeth Prescott, was born November 2, 
1700, probably at Hampton Falls, New Hampshire. 
He was admitted to the church there March 18, 
1733. On October 16, 1728, he married Mehitabel 
Dalton, daughter of Philemon and Abigail (Gove) 
Dalton, who was born September 25, 1713. They 
had seven children : Philemon, whose* sketch fol- 
lows; Abigail, who married Green Longfellow; Ben- 
jamin, married Abigail Currier; Sarah, married. 
David Bachelder and lived in Saco, Maine; Eliza- 
beth ; John, married Esther Rollins, of Epping, New 
Hampshire ; and Mehitable. John Prescott, the 
youngest son, died in the service of his country. He 
lived at Raymond, New Hampshire, and when the 
Revolution broke out he left his young wife and in- 
fant son, six months old, and hastened to Bunker 
Hill, where he was killed. 

(VIII) Philemon, eldest child of Benjamin and 
Mehitable (Dalton) Prescott, was born January 13, 
1729. He was admitted to the church March 2, 
1760. About 1751-52 he married Elizabeth Taylor, 
who was born in 1732. They had eleven children : 
Bradstreet ; Susannah, married Major Joseph Pres- 
cott, of Sanbornton, New Hampshire ; Elizabeth, mar- 
ried (first) Clough, and (second) 

French ; Martha, married Eliphalet Merrill, of Deer- 
field, New Hampshire; Eunice; Rachel; Mary, rnar- 
ried Ezekiel Morse, of Pembroke, New Hampshire; 
Abigail, married Moody Emery, of West Newbury, 
Massachusetts ; Hannah, married Stephen Prescott, 
brother of her sister Susan's husband, and lived in 
Sanbornton, New Hampshire; Mark, whose sketch 
follows ; and Nancy, married Jacob Thompson. Both 
Philemon Prescott and his wife died in early middle 
life. He died June t2, 1774, aged forty-five and one- 
half years; she died August 15, 1772, at the age of 
forty. 

(IX) Mark, second son and tenth child of Phil- 
emon and Elizabeth (Taylor) Prescott, was born 
May 30, 1771. He was a farmer in Kingston, New 
Hampshire. On August 23, 1795, he married Polly 
Bean, daughter of Richard Bean, of Brentwood, New 
Hampshire, who was born October 27, 1776. They 
had six children: Richard Bean, married Mary S. 
Pervers ; Dr. Benjamin Taylor, who became a den- 
tist in Boston ; Mark Hollis, married Priscilla Bart- 
lett, of Kingston, and moved to Ottawa, Illinois ; 
Lewis Franklin, married Elizabeth S. Webber; Har- 
riet Maria, married Samuel Huse Swett, and George 
Washington, whose sketch follows. Mark Prescott 
died at Kingston, January 19, 1817, at the early age of 
forty-six, in consequence of being thrown from a 
horse the previous evening. His widow survived 
him some thirty years, dying at Kingston, November 
12, 1S48, aged seventy-two. 

(X) George Washington, youngest of the six 
children of Mark and Polly (Bean) Prescott, was 
born at Greenland, New Hampshire, . March 22, 
1813. He was educated in the common schools at 
Kingston and at South Hampton Academy. For 
several years he was a successful teacher at Kings- 
ton and Brentwood, New Hampshire, and at West 
Newbury, Massachusetts. He was town clerk at 
Newton, New Hampshire, and superintendent of 
schools for a considerable period. He was an active 
worker in the Methodist Church, and used to select 
verses of scripture and write interesting sermons 
and articles for Zion's Herald, the denominational 





* <t^ 




.>-^^. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1655 



paper. For several years he was superintendent of 
the Methodist Sunday school in the town of Kings- 
ton. George Washington Prcscott married Mary 
Griffin Johnson, of North Monmouth, Maine, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Johnson. She still survives (1907), 
and lives in Haverhill, Massachusetts, with her 
youngest daughter. Mr. and Mrs. G. W. Prcscott 
had four children: George W. (2) ; Lewis Franklin, 
whose sketch follows; Alary Anvellah, born Novem- 
ber 12, 1858, married John L. Webster ; and Ida 
Frances, born April 19, 1861, who lives in Haver- 
hill, Massachusetts. George Washington (2) Prcs- 
cott was born September 27, 1852. He was gradu- 
ated with honors from the medical department of 
Dartmouth College, receiving the prize for anatomy, 
he was a very studious man. He died in 1875, J^st 
at the dawn of a promisinng career. His father, 
George W. Prescott (i) died January 19, 1883. 

(XI) Lewis Franklin, second son and child of 
George Washington (i) and Mary Griffin (Johnson) 
Prescott, was born September 16, 1855, at Newton, 
New Hampshire. He was educated in the common 
schools of Kingston and at the old academy there. 
He served an apprenticeship of three years as a 
carriage painter at Kingston, New Hampshire, and 
later he owned a carriage manufacturing and repair 
shop in that town. In 1892 he became superintendent 
of the Kimball carriage factory at Manchester, New 
Hampshire, which position he still retains. July 
4, 1878, Lewis Franklin Prescott married at Newton, 
New Hampshire, Bessie A. jNIarden, who was born 
at Kingston, New Hampshire, September 10, 1859. 
She was one of the three daughter of Ebenezer K. 
and Margaret (Hoitt) Marden, of Candia, New 
Hampshire. Mr. and Mrs. Lewis F. Prescott have 
three children : Mabel Lillian, George F. and Flor- 
ence Myrtle. Mabel L., was born September 16, 
1879, married Henry Milbourne and has one daugh- 
ter, Doris M., born July i, 1902. George F., was born 
August 21, 1883, and married, April 18, 1906, Ethel 
Louise Colby; they live at Manchester; have one 
one son, Sherwood F., born March 3, 1907. Flor- 
ence M., was born February 2"/, 1891, and lives at 
home. 

(VIII) William, youngest of the five sons of 
Samuel and Mary (Sanborn) Prescott, was born 
June 21, 1728, at Hampton Falls. He married, on 
November 22, 1750, his cousin, Susanna, daughter 
of Joseph and Susanna (James) Sanborn, descended 
from one of the first settlers of Hampton. She 
was born April 18, 1728, and died March 28, 1800. 
They had nine children. Elizabeth, married Daniel 
Davidson, who was in the battle of Bunker Hill ; 
they moved to Vermont. Elisha, married (first), 
Mehitabel Swain, and (second), Hannah Belknap; 
he served throughout the Revolution, and moved 
to Vershire, Vermont, where he died. Susanna, 
married Lowell Land, and lived at Sanborntqn, 
New Hampshire. Mary, married (first) William 
Thompson, and (second), Jeremiah French; they 
/lived in Sanbornton. Samuel, mentioned below. 
William, married (first), Deborah Welch, of East 
Kingston, New Hampshire; (second), Sarah, widow 
of John Forest, of Northfield, New Hampshire; 
(third) Jane, widow of Dr. George Kazar, of North- 
field. William Prescott was a celebrated plough- 
maker, making the ploughs wholly of wood, as was 
the custom of that time. He and his first wife, 
Deborah, were the parents of Dr. William Prescott, 
the naturalist and antiquarian, and the author of 
the Prescott Genealogy. Lucy, married Jonathan 
Chase, of Stratham, New Hampshire, and died at 
Alexandria, New Hampshire, at the home of her 
son, Levi. Joseph, married Rachel Cass, of Sanborn- 



ton, where he died in his cighty-si.xth year. Levi, 
married Sarah Cass, of Sanbornton, where he died 
in his seventy-third year. 

William Prescott lived first at Hampton Falls 
where all his nine children were born. He built 
the spacious two-story house, which in 1870 was 
occupied by John Prescott Sanborn. In 1780 Alajor 
Prescott sold this place and moved to Sanbornton, 
New Hampshire, then a new and remote section 
of the state. Several of his children married and 
died there. Major Prescott and his wife were ad- 
mitted to the church at Hampton Falls, April 12, 
1752, soon after their marriage. He took an active 
part in .the Revolutionary struggle. In 1778 Captain 
Prescott, as he was then, commanded a company 
raised from the regiment of militia under Colonel 
Jonathan Moulton. They were ordered to proceed 
to New York to join the American army there. The 
company was placed in the regiment commanded by 
Colonel Tash, and when cold weather came on they 
went into winter quarters at Peekskill. He sub- 
sequently was raised to the rank of major. He died at 
Sanbornton, New Hampshire, September 28, 181 1, 
in his eighty-fourth year. 

(IX) Samuel, second son and sixth child of 
Major William and Susanna (Sanborn) Prescott, 
was born at Hampton Falls, February 18, 1760. He 
married, in October, 1784, Mehitabel, daughter of 
David and Betsy (Bickford) Bean, who was born 
July 9, 1762. He lived in Sanbornton as a farmer 
and died there October 25, 1826, in his sixty-seventh 
year. His widow survived him nearly twenty years, 
and was burned to death in her own house, Jan- 
uary 20, 1844, in her eighty-second year. They were 
the parents of seven children : David Bean, killed 
in his twenty-third year, April 8, 180S, by accidentally 
falling under the water-wheel of a saw-mill. Jona- 
than Bean, mentioned below. Mehitabel, married 
Eliphalet Lloyd, Jr. Rhoda, married William Scott 
Hannaford, and lived at Sanbornton Bridge, now 
Tilton, New Hampshire. Samuel, married Nancy S. 
Hannaford, and lived at Peterboro, New Hampshire. 
Betsey, died on her twelfth birthday, November 13, 
1814. Eliza Bean, married Ezra Lawrence Merriam, 
of Ashburnham, Massachusetts. 

(X) Jonathan Bean, second son and child of 
Samuel and Mehitabel (Bean) Prescott, was born 
August 31, 1788. He married Phebe, daughter of 
Bradbury Morrison, v/ho was born in Sanbornton, 
July 27, 1793, and died December 24, 1853. He was 
a carpenter and farmer and lived at Sanbornton, 
Upper Gilmanton, and Franklin, New Hampshire, 
where he died October 6, 1842. They had eight 
children : Emeline P. ; Sabrina, married Lorenzo D. 
Colby, and lived at Franklin; Anna; Phebe, married 
Theophilus Stevens ; Polly G., married John L. 
Colby ; David Sanborn, mentioned below ; Nathan 
INIorrison, married liis cousin, Rosetta Morrill 
Haley, and went to St. Anthony, Minnesota ; and 
Bradbury !\Iorrison, who married Annette S. Bach- 
elder and lived at Franklin. 

(XI) David Sanborn, eldest son and fifth child 
of Jonathan and Phebe (Morrison) Prescott, was 
born at Franklin, New Hampshire, April 26. 1822. 
He studied medicine with Dr. D. W. Knight, of 
Franklin and graduated from the Dartmouth Medi- 
cal College in 1849. He began the practice of his 
profession at Temple, New Hampshire, the first 
of January, 1850. He came to Laconia, New Hamp- 
shire, upon the death of Dr. Joseph Knowles, whose 
widow he married October 5, 1853. Her maiden name 
was Olive Jane Ladd. She was the daughter of 
Jonathan and Betsey (Lawrence) Ladd, and was 
born at Laconia, June 7, 1824. Her father was a 



1656 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



merchant in Laconia. Dr. David S. Prescott was a 
Democrat, and a member of the Congregational 
Church. He was a successful and respected physi- 
cian. He died at Laconia, February 25, 1874, leaving 
no children. Mrs. Prescott, who is still living at the 
age of eighty-two, is a member of the Congregational 
Church. She had a brother, Lucian Augustus Ladd, 
born at Laconia, August 18, 1821. He married Mary 
Jane Smith, who was born at Gilmanton, New 
Hampshire, October 25, 1825. They have four liv- 
ing children: Charles Smith Ladd lives at Oronogo, 
Missouri; he married Lilia A. Good, and has six 
children. Ann Frances Ladd, married Abbott Law- 
rence, a lawyer of Chelsea, Massachusetts. Freder- 
ick Young Ladd, married Phebe Murray, has 
children, and lives at Beechwood, Massachusetts. 
Clara Jane Ladd, the youngest, lives at home. 

(H) Roger, second son and child of James Pres- 
cott, resided in Shevington, in the parish of Stand- 
ish. His will was dated September 26, 1594, and he 
was buried in the church at Standish. He married 
(first), 1563, Elizabeth, whose surname is unknown. 
She soon died and he married (second), August 20, 
1568, Ellen (?) Shaw, of Standish. The issue of 
the first marriage were: Helen and Lawrence; and 
of the second: Anne, and Ralph, the subject of the 
next paragraph. 

(HI) Ralph,- only son of Roger and Ellen 
(Shaw) Prescott, was baptized 1571-2. He resided 
at^ Shevington, in the parish of Standish, and was 
co-executor of his father's will. His own will, 
dated November 7, 1608, was proved January 24, 
1609. He married Ellen, who was co-executor of 
her husband's will. The children of Ralph and Ellen 
were : Helen, Roger, Alice, Cecilia and John, whose 
sketch follows. 

(IV) John, youngest child of Ralph and Ellen 
Prescott, was baptized at Standish, 1604-5, and died 
in Lancaster, in 1683. The "Prescott Memorial" 
says : "He sold his lands in Shevington, parish of 
Standish, in Lancashire, to Richard Prescott, of 
Wigan, and removed to Yorkshire, residing for a 
time at Sowerby, in the parish of Halifax, where 
several of his children were born. From conscien- 
tious motives, and to avoid persecution he left his 
native land, his cherished home in Yorkshire, to seek 
an asylum in the wilderness of America. He first 
landed at Barbadoes, in 1638, and became an owner 
of lands. In 1640 he came to New England, landed 
at Boston, and immediately settled in Watertown, 
where he had large grants of lands allotted to him, 
but in 1643, he associated himself with Thomas King 
and others for the purpose of purchasing of Sholan, 
the Indian sachem of the Nashaway tribe of Indians, 
a tract of land for a township, which tract was to be 
ten miles in length and eight in breadth. The pur- 
chasers entered into an agreement to appear and 
begin the plantation at. a special time. The deed of 
Sholan was sanctioned by the general court, but there 
were many circumstances which combined to retard 
the growth of the plantation, all the associates but 
Mr. Prescott refusing or neglecting to fulfill their 
contracts, though choosing to retain their interest in 
the property purchased. It is stated by Mr. Willard 
that one only of the associates, John Prescott, the 
stalwart blacksmith was 'faithful among the faith- 
less.' He turned not back, but vigorously pursued 
the interests of the plantation till his exertions were 
crowned with success." The name of the settle- 
ment at Nashaway was settled May 28, 1653, N. S., 
and the territory incorporated as Lancaster in honor 
of Mr. Prescott, that being the name of his native 
county in England. Mr. Prescott is said to have 
been the first settler of the new town, though three 



others, perhaps persons he had sent ahead, were 
there tilling the soil when he made his settlement. 
In answer to a petition of the inhabitants of the 
plantation, six prudential managers of the town were 
appointed by the general court, of whom, John Pres- 
cott is named first. Mr. Prescott was a genuine 
and influential member of the original Puritan stock 
of New England and like many of his contempor- 
aries, he was a man of marked character, devoting 
his time to mechanical and agricultural pursuits, 
which were well calculated to fit and prepare him 
for the trials and hardships incident to and insepar- 
able from the early settlers and pioneers of the 
wilderness of America. He was a man of strict 
integrity and of great energy and perseverance, and 
at an early period became a leading spirit, and a 
prominent and influential man among the- pioneers. 
He took the oath of fidelity in 1652, and was made a 
freeman in 1669. By occupation he was not only a 
farmer, but both a blacksmith and a millwright. In 
November, 1653, he received a grant of land of the 
inhabitants, on condition that he would build a "Corn 
Mill," that is, a mill to grind "grain." He built 
the mill in season to commence grinding May 23,. 
i6.q4. The erection of a saw mill soon followed. 
"The town voted that if he would erect one he 
should have the grant of certain privileges and a 
large tract of land lying near his mill, for him and 
his posterity for ever, and to be more exactly 
recorded when exactly known. In consideration of 
these provisions 'Goodman Prescott' forthwith 
erected his mill." "Its location was on the spot 
where the Lancaster Manufacturing Company has 
extensive works. The people from all the neighbor- 
ing towns came to Prescott's grist mill. The stone^ 
of this mill was brought from England and now 
lies in fragments in the vicinity of the factory." 
Lancaster, in common with other frontier towns, 
suffered greatly from Indian depredations when- 
ever there was a war between the mother country 
and France. In 1675 eight persons were killed in 
Lancaster; and in 1676 fifteen hundred Indians 
killed or took prisoners more than fifty persons. 
Among the killed were two sons-in-law and two 
grandsons of Mr. Prescott. The white settlers then 
left the town, and did not return until 1679, when 
the Prescotts were among those who came back 
to the ruins of their former homes. John Prescott 
was a strong, athletic man of stern countenance, and 
wherever he had any difficulty with the Indians he 
clothed himself in a coat of mail, helmet, cuirass 
and gorget, which he had brought from England,, 
and thus arrayed never failed to prevail over the 
savages. Various stories are told of his encounters 
with his red foes. John Prescott married, January 
21, 1629, Mary Platts, at Wygan, in Lancashire. Her 
family appears to have been subsequently of the 
parish of Halifax, in Yorkshire. The children of 
John and Mary (Platts) Prescott were: Mary, 
Martha, John, Sarah, Hannah, Lydia, Jonathan, and 
Jonas, whose sketch follows. 

(V) Captain Jonas, ninth child and fourth son" 
of John and Mary (Platts) Prescott, was born in 
Lancaster, Massachusetts, in June 1648, and died 
December 31, 1723, aged seventy-five. He settled 
in Groton, where he or his father for him, built 
the mill in the south part of the town, now within 
the limits of Harvard, which is still called "the old 
mill." At a town meeting held in Groton, Novem- 
ber 19. 1673, it was voted that "By agreement of 
the town Jonas Prescott is to grind the town's corn 
for the town every second and every sixth day in 
every week." At a town meeting in Groton. June 
13, 1681, liberty was granted to Jonas Prescott to 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1657 



set up his corn mill at Stony Brook, "an agreement 
between Jonas Prescott and the town of Groton, 
that he, the said Prescott, have liberty to set up a 
sawmill at Stony Brook on conditions that he fur- 
nish the town at six pence a hundred (feet) cheaper 
than they are sold at any other sawmill, and for 
town pay, and that the town be supplied before 
any other person." This privilege was to continue 
or cease at the pleasure of the town. He bought 
land in Groton until he became one of the largest 
land holders in the town. In addition to being a 
farmer, miller and sawyer, he was a blacksmith, and 
upon the re-settlement of the town after its de- 
struction by the Indians in 1676, he built mills and 
a forge for the manufacture of iron from the ore 
at Forge Valley, so called, which was then in Gro- 
ton, but is now in Westford. He was a man of 
elevated rank and much influence in the com- 
munity. He was town clerk in 1691 ; a member of 
the board of selectmen for several years ; and rep- 
resentative to the general court in 1699 and 1705. 
He was also a captain in the mihtia and a justice 
of the peace. He married, December 14, 1672, 
Mary, daughter of John and Mary (Draper) Loker, 
of Sudbury. She was born September 28, 1653, 
and died October 28, 1735, aged eighty-two years. 
Their children were: Mary, Elizabeth, Jonas, Na- 
thaniel. Dorothy, James, Sarah, Abigail, Martha, 
Susannah, Deborah and Benjamin. 

(VI) Captain Jonas (2), third child and eldest 
son of Jonas (i) and Mary (Loker) Prescott, was 
born October 26, 1678, and died September 12, 
1750, aged seventy-two. He resided at Forge Vil- 
lage, which has been included in Westford since 
1730. He enlarged and improved the works on 
Stony Brook, which his father established, by erect- 
ing additional forges for reducing the iron ore, as 
well as for other purposes. Upon the petition of 
himself and others a part of Groton, including 
"Forge Village," was in 1730 set ofif from Groton 
to Westford. The water privilege and works on 
Stony Brook at Forge Village have been owned, 
held and occupied by the Prescott family since 
their purchase of the land from Andrew, the Indian. 
Jonas (2) was a captain in the militia, a justice oi 
the peace, and in 1720 a representative in the legis- 
lature. He married (first), October 15, 1699, 
Thankful Wheeler, of Concord, who died November 
I, 1716. He married (second), April 30, 1718, Mary 
Page, who was born in 1687, and died July 19, 1781, 
aged ninety-four. The children, all by the first 
wife, were: Ebenezer, Jonas, Thankful, Mary, 
Sarah and Dorcas. 

(VII) Ebenezer, eldest child of Jonas (2) and 
Thankful (Wheeler) Prescott, was born July 19. 
1700, and died December i, 1771, aged seventy-one 
years. In 1730 he and his brother Jonas, Ebenezer 
Townsend and others petitioned the general court 
to be set ofif from Groton to Westford, which peti- 
tion was granted that year. He married. May 24, 
1721, Hannah Farnsworth. Their children were : 
Ebenezer, Oliver, Sarah, Joseph, David, Hannah, 
Rebecca and Eunice. 

(VIII) Deacon Oliver, second son and child 
of Ebenezer and Hannah (Farnsworth) Prescott, 
was born May 5, 1725, and died January i, 1803, 
in the seventy-eighth year of his age. He settled 
as a farmer at Westford, Massachusetts, where for 
manj'- years he was deacon of the church. He mar- 
ried. June 8, 1749, Bethia Underwood, who was 
born September 27, 1729, and died in Harvard. 
October i, 1813, aged eighty- four. They had twelve 
children: Susanna, Hannah, Benjamin,' Betsey, 



Bethia, Oliver, Polly, Phebe, Lucy, Mar}', Abraham 
and Isaac. 

(IX) Colonel Benjamin, third child and eldest 
son of Deacon Oliver and Bethia (Underwood) 
Prescott, was born March 15, 1754, and died in 
Jafifrey, New Hampshire, in 18.39, aged eighty-five. 
In 1774 he removed to Jaffrey, New Hampshire, 
which was then almost in a state of nature, with 
improvements few and far between. Being in a 
new country and far from the towns and larger 
settlements, with roads mere bridle paths, and sorne- 
times without roads, spotted trees alone indicating 
the way, he and his family for years suffered many 
hardships incidental to pioneer settlement in the 
remote wilderness. While acting as a spy the day 
previous to the battle of Bunker Hill, he was cap- 
tured by the British, but made his escape the same 
day. He was a farmer, and for forty years an inn- 
keep. In religious belief he was a Baptist, and was 
one of the constituent members of the Baptist 
Church in Jaffrey, of which he was a lifelong pillar. 
He was a man of much energy and activity, and 
being highly esteemed for his integrity, upright- 
ness and sound judgment, was a man o.f much in- 
fluence. He represented the town of Jaffrey in the 
New Hampshire legislature, to which he was elected 
in 1790, 1796 and from 1809 to 1817, inclusive, in all 
eleven years. He married, December 5, 1775, Ra- 
chel Adams, of Chelmsford, Massachusetts, who 
was born August 9, 1757. Their nine children, all 
born in Jaffrey, were: Beniamin (died young), 
Benjamin. Oliver, Rachel, Eldad, Nabby, John 
Adams, Susannah and Bethiah. 

(X) Eldad, fifth child and fourth son of Colonel 
Benjamin and Rachel (Adams) Prescott, was born 
in Jaffrey, November 18, 1786. He lived in the vil- 
lage of Squantum in Jaffrey, and was a. farmer, 
having a farm of two hundred acres of the best 
land in the town. He was a member of the Bap- 
tist Church, and a prosperous and highly respected 
citizen. He married, March 27, 1816, Clarissa 
Hunt, who was born in Acton. Massachustts, Octo- 
ber 4, 1791, and died in Jaffrey, September 20, 
1826, daughter of Paul and Betsy Hunt, of Jaffrey. 
He married, (second), June 10, 1829, Betsey Hunt, 
sister of his first wife, who was born July 5. 1793- 
and died October i, 1752. The children of the first 
wife were: Eldad Austin, Benjamin, Oliver Park- 
hurst and Oren; by the second wife: John, Henry 
and Addison. 

(XI) Deacon Oren, fourth and youngest child 
of Eldad and Clarissa (Hunt) Prescott, was born 
in Jaffrey, March 24, 1823, and died November 25, 
1884. aged sixty-one years. He atten^pd the pub- 
lic schools of Jaffrey and Hancock high school, and 
afterward taught some years in Rindge. After his 
first marriage he bought a farm of one hundred 
acres near the village of East Jaffrey. and there 
resided till his death. He was a member of the 
Baptist Church from childhood, and his interest in 
religious affairs was almost the greatest interest he 
had in life. He was a member of many church 
committees, and was a deacon of the church and 
superintendent of the Sunday school for years. He 
married (first), June 16, 1846, Martha L. Adams, 
of Rindge, who was born April 10. 1827, daughter 
of Jacob and Martha Adams, and died June 25, 
1850: (second), June 8. 1852. Caroline Almeda 
Nutting, who was born January 12, 1834. daughter 
of William T. and Grata (Chadwick) Nutting, of 
Jaffrev. She died April .30, 1861, and he married 
(third"), Februarv n, 1862, Louisa J. Plumer, 
daughter of Jesse T. Plumer, of Goffstown. One 



i6^8 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



child, Martha E.. was born of the first wife. She 
died March i, 1863, aged thirteen. By the second 
wife there were three children : Oren Elliott, Ju- 
lius Elwood and Caroline Maria. Oren Elliott re- 
sides on the old homestead; Julius E. is the sub- 
jeot of the next paragraph. Caroline M. married 
Wayland H. Goodnow, of Jaffrey, and died October 
6, 1890. 

(XII) Julius Elwood, second son and child of 
Oren and Caroline A. (Nutting) Prescott, \vas born 
in Jaffrey, March 7, 1856. He attended the com- 
mon, schools and the Conant high school of Jaffrey 
until he was eighteen years of age ; he then became 
a clerk in the store of W. L. Goodnow & Company, 
of Jaffrey, and filled that position twenty-one years. 
He then bought an interest in the firm, which be- 
came Goodnow Brothers & Company, which style 
it still retains. By a wise and economical use of his 
means Mr. Prescott, who is a man of sterling char- 
acter and fine executive ability, has become one of 
the leading citizens of his town. Besides his duties 
in the mercantile establishment he has many others 
to discharge. He owns considerable real estate ; is 
second vice president and a trustee of the Monad- 
nock Savings Bank of Jaffrey, and is a director of 
the Monadnock National Bank. He is treasurer of 
the Cemetery Association, and a trustee of the 
funds of the Baptist Church. He married, in East 
Jaffrey, New Hampshire, October 24, 1882, Ada L. 
Pierce, who was born in Roxbury, Massachusetts. 
June T, 1857, daughter of Benjamin and Lucinda 
(Stratton) Pierce (see Pierce, IX). Two children, 
Beulah and Olive, were born to them both of 
whom died 3'oung. 



The first that is known of the name 
FOSTER of Foster was about the year 1065, A. 
D., when Sir Richard Forrester went 
from Normandy over to England, accompanied by 
his brother-in-law, William the Conqueror, and par- 
ticipated in the victorious battle of Hastings. 

The name was first Forrester, then Forester, 
then Foster. It signified one who had care ot wild 
lands ; one who loved the forest, a characteristic 
trait which has marked the bearers of the name 
through all the centuries that have followed. The 
Fosters seem to have located in the northern coun- 
ties of England, and in the early centuries of Eng- 
lish history participated in many a sturdy en- 
counter with their Scottish foes. The name is 
mentioned in "Marmion' and the "Lay of the Last 
Minstrel." From one of these families in the serv- 
enteenth century appears the name of Reginald 
Foster. Tiring of the tyrannic rule of Charles I, 
he came to America and settled in Ipswich, Massa- 
chusetts, in about the year 1638. He was a prom- 
inent figure in the early days, as the colonial records 
show. 

During its existence the Foster family has been 
a hardy, persevering and progressive race, almost 
universally endowed with an intense nervous en- 
ergy ; there, have been many instances of high attain- 
ments ; a bearer of the name has been, ex-officio, 
vice-president of the Republic (Hon. Lafayette G. 
Foster, president, pro tem., of the senate during 
Andrew Johnson's administration) ; another. Hon. 
John W. Foster, of Indiana, was premier of Pres- 
ident Harrison's cabinet ; another, Hon. Charles 
Foster, of Ohio, was the secretary of the treasury. 
Many have attained high positions in financial life, 
and manv have gained prominence in military af- 
fairs. The record of Major-General John G. Fos- 
ter through the Mexican war and the war of the 
Rebellion, stamped him as a soldier without fear 



and wathout reproach. Professor Bell is the re- 
puted and accredited inventor of the telephone, but 
before that distinguished man had ever conceived 
the plan oi electric transmission of the human 
voice, Joseph Foster, of Keene, New Hampshire, a 
mechanical genius, had constructed and put into 
actual use a telephone embodying practically the 
same working plan as the Bell machine. Query: 
Could it be possible that Joseph Foster's telephone 
afforded the suggestion to Professor Bell? The 
Foster family has an authentic record covering a 
period of nearly one thousand years. It has fur- 
nished to the world its share of the fruits of toil; 
it has contributed its share to enterprise and pro- 
gress. Wherever it appears in the affairs of men 
it bears its crest ; the iron arm holding the golden 
javelin poised towards the future. 

(I) Reginald Foster came from England at the 
time that so many emigrated to Massachusetts, in 
1638, and with his family was on board one of the 
vessels embargoed by King Charles I. He settled 
in Ipswich, in the county of Essex, with his wife, 
five sons and two daughters ; where he lived to ex- 
treme old age, with as much peace and happiness as 
was compatible with his circumstances in the set- 
tlement of a new country. The names of his five 
sons who came with him from England, were : 
Abraham, Reginald, William, Isaac and Jacob. 
(Mention of William and descendants appears in 
this article). One of the daughters who came 
with him from England married (first), a Wood, 
and after his death she married a Peabody. His 
other daughter married a Story, ancestor of Dr. 
Story, formerly of Boston, and of the late Judge 
Story. It is remarkable of this family that they all 
lived to extreme old age, all married, and all had 
large families from whom are descended a very 
numerous progeny settled in various parts of the 
United States. 

(II) Abraham, oldest son of Reginald Foster, 
was born at Exeter, England, in 1622 ; came with 
his father in 1638 and settled in Ipswich, where he 
married Lydia Burbank and had children : Ephraim. 
Abraham, Benjamin, Ebenezer, Mehitabel and 
Caleb. (Caleb and descendants are noticed at 
length in this article). 

(III) Abraham (2), second son of Abraham 
(i) Foster, was born October 16, 1659. Few facts 
relative to him are known. 

(IV) Samuel, son of Abraham (2) Foster, was 
born or subsequently settled in Reading, and lived 
in the westerly part of that town, where he "owned 
much land." The town records of Ipswich have 
the following entry : "December 17, 1699. Abra- 
ham Foster, a soldier, wounded in the public serv- 
ice is to receive £S out of the public treasury for 
smart money." He died in 1762 "at an advanced 
age." says his will, which was written in the 
month before his death. Samuel's sons Jonathan, 
Benjamin and Samuel, were soldiers in the French 
and Indian wars, 1745-1759. He married, 1701, 
Sarah Roberts, daughter of Abraham and Sarah 
Roberts, and they had children : Abraham, Sam- 
uel. Ebenezer, Jonathan, Benjamin, Sarah and 
Elizabeth. 

(V) Abraham (3), eldest child of Samuel (i) 
and Sarah (Roberts) Foster, was born at Reading 
in 1703, and died in 1753. He married, in 1733, 
Susannah Hartshorn, and had children : Susan- 
nah. Abraham, Daniel, Sarah, David, Elizabeth and 
Edmund. 

(VI) Edmund, youngest child of Abraham (j) 
and Susannah (Hartshorn) Foster, was born at 
Reading, April 18, 1752; and died March 28, 1826. 





WILLIAM L. FOSTER. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1659 



He graduated at Yale in 1779, and was ordained 
pastor of the church at Littleton in 1781. He was 
a freshman at Yale when the battle of Lexington 
was fought, April 19, 1775, and afterward wrote 
an account of the engagement. He was a minute- 
man and accompanied Major Brooks, subsequently 
governor, and took a very active part in the excit- 
ing events of that day, being close in at some of 
the hottest fighting, and seeing Major Pitcairn fall 
wounded from his horse. Resuming his studies, he 
completed his college course, and after his ordina- 
tion was pastor of the church at Littleton from 
1781 until his death in 1826, a period of forty-five 
years. In Drake's "History of Middlesex County," 
it is said of Edmund Foster : "Left an orphan 
when seven years old. he worked his way through 
Yale college. Harvard and Yale conferred honorary 
degrees on him." Bancroft's "History of the United 
States" mentions his presence at the battle of Lex- 
ington. He was a member of the Massachusetts 
house of representatives, 1813-14, and of the senate 
1815, and of the constitutional convention of 1820. 
He was a conspicuous member of the last named 
body, of which ex- President John Adams was 
president, and made the closing prayer at the invi- 
tation of the presiding ofificer. The history of the 
convention contains many of his speeches. Mem- 
bers of the same body were Daniel Webster and 
Joseph Story. 

Abraham and Daniel, brothers of Rev. Edmund 
Foster, were also soldiers of the revolution. Three 
of Rev. Edmund Foster's sons (Edmund, William 
Lawrence and Charles) were commissioned officers 
in the army during the war of 1812, Edmund being 
captain ; William first lieutenant, and Charles sec- 
ond lieutenant in the same company, in the Ninth 
Regiment Infantry, under command of Colonel 
Winfield Scott. In the battle of Lundy's Lane. Ed- 
mund and William were wounded. It was related 
(by the father) that after the battle was over some 
one asked Charles what he thought when he saw 
his brothers fall. Charles' reply was : "It looked 
like an opening for a promotion." 

Rev. Edmund Foster married, October 29, 1783, 
Phebe, daughter of Rev. William Lawrence, of Lin- 
coln. Their children were : Edmund ; William Law- 
rence ; Sophia; Charles (died young); Love; 
Charles ; Susannah ; Sarah ; John ; Harrison ; Sarah 
Bass ; Mary Ann ; and Abel Lawrence. 

(VII) John, ninth child and sixth son of Rev. 
Edmund and Phebe (Lawrence) Foster, was born 
at Littleton, November 23, 1796, and died February 
7, 1854. When a young man he removed to Keene, 
New Hampshire, where he resided till his death. He 
was a Whig in politics, and a leading man in his 
party and in the community. He held the offices of 
sheriff and register of' deeds, and was cashier of 
Ashuelot Bank, and held other positions of trust. 
He married Sophia, daughter of Josiah Willard at 
Westminster, Vermont. She died at Fitzwilliam, 
New Hampshire, April 19, 1832. Their children 
were: Sarah; William Lawrence; and Susan 
Eunice. 

(VIII) William Lawrence, second child and 
only son of John and Sophia (Willard) Foster, was 
born at Westminster, Vermont, June i, 1823, and 
died August 13, 1897. When ten years old he ac- 
companied his parents in their removal to Keene, 
where he attended the public schools' and Keene 
Academy. Subsequently he attended at Hancock, 
Walpole, and entered Harvard Law School, gradu- 
ating therefrom in 1845. In that year he was ad- 
mitted to the bar at Keene, and was postmaster of 
that city from 1845 to 1849. In the years 1849 and 



1850 he was assistant clerk, and in 1851 and 1852 
clerk of the New Hampshire senate. In 1853 he 
removed to Concord and formed a law partnership 
with John H. George, which continued until 1857. 
He continued in the practice of law until elevated 
to the bench. From 1850 till 1856 he was reporter 
of the supreme court of New Hampshire, was 
colonel on Governor Dinsmore's staff in 1849, and 
served under his successor till 1851 ; was represen- 
tative from Ward Four, Concord, in the legislature 
in 1863; and was United States commissioner in 
1864. He served as judge of the supreme judicial 
court of New Hampshire from 1869 to 1874, and 
from 1876 to 1881. In the interum between 1874 
and 1876 he was chief justice of this court. He 
was made clerk of the Northern railroad in 1853; 
was made a member of the standing committee of 
the Episcopal Church in 1858, and trustee of that 
church in 1868, and was serving in these positions 
at the time of his death. In 1864 he received the 
degree of Master of Arts from Dartmouth College. 
He was a Democrat until the outbreak of the 
rebellion in 1861, and after that time a Republican 
and a sturdy supporter of the Union. Judge Fos- 
ter was a man of much natural ability, the heri- 
tage from ancestors distinguished for mental stam- 
ina, steadfast perseverance, energy, and those two 
rarer qualities of good judgment and sound com- 
mon sense. At an early age he learned the value of 
time, and cultivated the habit of improving each 
moment. In youth he was a close student ; in man- 
hood a busy worker. As a lawyer he was alert, 
quick to see the advantage of his client, a hard 
worker, and a man who lived up to the amenities of 
his profession. Naturally gifted with power to in- 
fluence others, he found public life agreeable, and 
devoted many years to public affairs with 
more advantage to the state than profit to 
himself. As an officer he was above reproach, 
ever faithful to duty, realizing his responsil)ility 
and never shirking it. As a judge he was careful 
and deliberate in forming his opinions and firm in 
maintaining them. Never assuming a position he 
was not prepared to maintain with ample evidence, 
his decisions and opinions are highly valued by his 
successors, both at the bar and on the bench. Judge 
Foster married at Hopkinton, January 13, 1853, 
Harriet Morton, daughter of Hamilton and Clara 
Perkins. She was born February 17, 1834, and died 
April 30, 1899. Their children were: Clara, Eliza- 
beth Bradley, Mary Bartlett, William Hamilton, and 
Roger Elliot. 

(IX) William Hamilton, fourth child and eld- 
est son of William L. and Harriet M. (Perkins) 
Foster, was born at Concord, August 2-], 1861. He 
was educated at St. Paul's School, and received 
the degree of Master of Arts from Dartmouth 
College in 1884. He has filled the position of in- 
structor at St. Paul's School from 1884 to the 
present time (1906). He married, June 28, 1888, 
at Exeter, New Hampshire, Alcina, daughter of 
Hon. Nathaniel and Alcina (Sanborn) Gordon. 
They have one child, Harriet Evelyn, born at Con- 
cord. April 6, 1890. 

(Ill) Caleb, youngest child of Abraham (l) 
and Lydia (Burbank) Foster, was born at Ipswich, 
Massachusetts, November 9, 1677. His home was 
in Ipswich. In 1700 he had a seat assigned him 
"behind ye pulpit" in the meeting house recently 
built. He married, June 2, 1702, Mary Sherwin, 
of Ipswich. They had nine children: Lydia, born 
Mav 14, 1703, married Nathan Dresser; Jonathan, 
mentioned below; Sarah, died young; Caleb, mar- 



i66o 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ried Priscilla Buxton; Stephen, married Rebecca 
Peabody; Mary, died unmarried; Sarah; Phile- 
mon; John, baptized November lo, 1717. Caleb 
died January 25, 1766, aged eighty-nine years. In 
his will he does not mention Philemon or John, 
so it is presumed that they died before their father. 

(IV) Jonathan, second son and child of Caleb 
and Mary (Sherwinj Foster, was born at Ipswich, 
Massachusetts, November 30, 1704. He lived at 
Ipswich. He was twice married. His first wife 
was Jemima Cummings. They were married Jan- 
uary I, 1733, and had live children: Affe, born De- 
cember 4, 1734; Philemon, married Ruth Parley; 
Apphia ; Jemima; Olive, born August 20, 1744, mar- 
ried Amos Chapman. On December 17, 1751, Jon- 
athan Foster married his second wife, Dorcas Por- 
ter, at Topsfield, Massachusetts. They had seven 
children; Jonathan, born September 16, 1753; 
Moses, mentioned below; Dorcas, married Daniel 
Ellsworth, of Rowley; Mary, died unmarried; 
Cabcl, married Hepsibah ; Mercy, mar- 
ried Isaac Plummer, of Newbury; Salome, born 
November 4, 1766, married (first) Nathaniel Fos- 
ter, and (second) Nathaniel Gould, and lived in 
Topsfield. Jonathan Foster died in May, 1779. 

(V) Moses, second son and child of Jonathan 
and Dorcas (Porter) Foster, was born at Ipswich, 
Massachusetts, December 18, 1755, in the Line 
Brook parish. He was scarcely of age when the 
Revolution broke out, and he saw some hard serv- 
ice. He was one of the Ipswich men who marched 
to Lexington, Massachusetts, April 19, 1775, and he 
took part in the desperate assault against Quebec 
the last of December of that same year. He also 
was in service in Rhode Island during the last 
five months of 1778. In 1787 he purchased seventy- 
six acres of land on high ground, south of the 
Souhegan river, then in Amherst, New Hampshire, 
but now incorporated in the southern part of Mil- 
ford. The region was then an unbroken forest. 
Moses Foster married, April 30, 1789, in Topsfield, 
Massachusetts, Mary Fuller, daughter of Timothy 
Fuller, of Middletown, Massachusetts. Timothy 
Fuller was the second cousin of the grandfather of 
Margaret Fuller, Countess d'Ossoli, who was also 
named Timothy. Moses and Mary (Fuller) Foster 
had four children : Moses, mentioned below ; Isaac 
Plummer, born November 5, 1792, married Harriet 
Brooks; Timothy Fuller, born January 11, 1798, 
died January 31, 1835 ; John, born November 13, 
1798, died September, 1838. Moses Foster died 
September 3, 1800, in Milford, New Hampshire. 
Some time during 1801 his widow married Philip 
Butterficld. 

(VI) Moses (2), eldest of the four children of 
Moses (i) and Mary (Fuller) Foster, was born 
December 25, 1790, at Milford, New Hampshire. 
He lived in Milford all his life, at first in the 
house left him by his father, which he enlarged, 
and relinquished to his son. Deacon John E. Fos- 
ter, who has since celebrated his golden wedding 
there. In 1847 Moses Foster inoved into the village 
of Milford to the home where he spent the re- 
mainder of his days. He was a carpenter and far- 
mer, and belonged to the Baptist Church. He was 
twice married. His first wife was Fanny Coggin, 
daughter of Joseph and Betsey (Herrick) Coggin, 
of Mount Vernon, New Hampshire. She was born 
April 27, 1799, and died May 9, 1842. They had 
four children; Joseph Coggin, born April 11, 1818, 
became a noted Baptist minister and editor, mar- 
ried (first) Abigail Ann Eaton; second, Julia Ann 
Gould; Reuben Fuller, born January 19* 1821, mar- 
ried Sarah Elizabeth Ames, of Hollis, New Hamp- 



shire; John Everett, born May 17, 1824, married 
Sophia P. Farley; Moses Freeman, whose sketch 
follows. Moses Foster's second wife was Diana 
Wallingford, daughter of Benjamin and Hannah 
(Needham) Wallingford. She was born in Dub- 
lin, New Hampshire, August 27, 181 1, and was 
married September 27, 1842. They also had four 
children, of whom but one lived more than a few 
days. The children were : Diana, born and died 
September 5, 1845; Benjamin F., whose sketch fol- 
lows : George Wallingford, born June 20, 1848, died 
July 7, 1848; Diana Wallingford, born July 3, 1849, 
died July 12, 1849. Moses Foster died April 4, 
1873, at Milford, New Hampshire. (The last named 
receives mention in this article.) Mrs. Diana Fos- 
ter died July 29, 1881. 

(VII) Benjamin Franklin, elder son and second 
child of Moses and Diana (Wallingford) Foster, 
was born at Milford, New Hampshire, October 8, 
1846. Of his mother's four children he was the 
only one who lived to maturity. He was educated 
in the common schools. His first occupation was 
that of photographer. In 1882 he left this business 
and engaged in undertaking, which business he con- 
ducts at the present time. He learned the details 
with Lewis Jones & Son, of Boston. Mr. Foster 
has been president of the New England Under- 
takers' Association, and also of the New Hamp- 
shire Embalmers' Association. For the past twen- 
ty-one years (1907) he has been the auctioneer of 
the town. In politics he is a Republican ; he was a 
member of the state legislature in 1905. He has 
been a member of the board of health since 1891. 
He is prominent in fraternal organizations. He is 
a Mason and belongs to King Solomon Chapter, 
No. 17, of Milford, and to St. George Commandery, 
of Nashua, New Hampshire. He is an Odd Fellow, 
and is Past Chancellor and Past Patriarch of Pros- 
pect Hill Encampment. He also belongs to the 
Granite State Grange, to the Red Men, and to the 
Camera Club of Milford. Benjamin Franklin Fos- 
ter has been twice married. His first wife was 
Celia Frances Peabody, daughter of Ezra Brown 
and Adelaide (Millin) Peabody, of Milford. Mrs. 
Celia (Peabody) Foster was a descendant of Regi- 
nald Foster, and was born in New Boston, New 
Hampshire, August 23, 1845. One child was born 
of this marriage, Harriet Maria, August 3, 1873. 
She married Willis H. Parker, of Milford. Mrs. 
Celia P. Foster was department president of the 
Woman's Relief Corps of New Hampshire. Mr. 
Foster married for his second wife, Louise R. 
Anderson, daughter of James and Rebecca (Crosby) 
Anderson, of Milford. There are no children by 
the second marriage. 

(VII) Moses Freeman, youngest of the four 
sons of Moses and Fanny (Coggin) Foster, and a 
descendant of Reginald Foster, was born January 
6, 1832, on Federal Hill in Milford, New Hamp- 
shire. He was educated in the public schools of 
Milford, including the high school, and also at the 
Hancock Literary and Scientific Institute at Han- 
cock, New Hampshire. He first learned the print- 
er's trade, but in the spring of 1849 he entered the 
employ of the Souhegan Manufacturing Company, 
where he remained three years. He then went into 
the cotton mills at Chicopee, Massachusetts, and 
later to Ho^yoke and :^ndian Orchard, Massachu- 
setts; then to Cannelton, Indiana, where he was 
overseer. After this he went to the Pemberton 
cotton mills of Lawrence, Massachusetts, and in 
March, 1858, to Augusta, Georgia. For eight years 
he was overseer of carding at the cotton factory 
in Augusta, and this period included the trying 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1661 



times of the civil war. While in Augusta he was 
conscripted into the Confederate service, but he 
could be of more service in the cotton mill than 
in the held ; so he was detailed to stay where he 
was. In 1866 he moved to Cincinnati, Ohio, and 
was superintendent of the Franklin factory for one 
year. In the spring of 1867 he came back to Mil- 
ford, where he built a permanent home near the 
place of his birth. For one year he was agent of the 
Richard Kitson machine works at Lowell, Massa- 
chusetts. He then became associated with William 
C. Langley & Company, of New York, and re- 
moved to South Carolina to look after their cotton 
mill property. He organized the Langley Manu- 
facturing Company at Langley, South Carolina, and 
spent eighteen years there, first as agent and after- 
ward as superintendent. On April 11, 1886, he re- 
signed as superintendent at Langley, and came 
back to Milford. He then assisted in organizing 
the Denison Cotton Manufacturing Company of 
Denison, Texas. The mill was one of the first in 
that state, and operated about twenty-five hundred 
spindles and five hundred looms. In 1903 Mr. Fos- 
ter drew out his investment and returned to Mil- 
ford to enjoy a well-earned leisure. He was one 
of the pioneer cotton manufacturers of the South. 
He became master of the uusiness early in life, and 
has been uniformly successful in his various under- 
takings. He spends his summers in Milford, and 
his winters in Augusta, Georgia. 

Mr. Foster was selectman of Milford in 1889, 
and has always shown a warm attachment for his 
native town. While in Augusta, Georgia, during 
the civil war, he joined the Masons. He belongs 
to Benevolent Lodge, No. 7, in Milford; to King 
Solomon Chapter, No. 17, of Milford, and to the 
St. George Commandery of Nashua, New Hamp- 
shire. He is also a member of the Commercial 
Club of Augusta, Georgia. He married, September 
13, i860, Adelaide Lutheria Doane, daughter of 
Zenas Rebecca (Carlton) Doane, of Lawrence, 
Massachusetts. They have one child, Fanny Doane 
Foster, born April 16, 1862. She married, January 
6, 1897, Ralph C. Bartlett, of Milford, New Hamp- 
shire. They have one child, Millicent Doane Bart- 
lett, born April 11, 1904. 

(II) William, third son and sixth child of Regi- 
nald and Judith Foster, was born 1633, and was a 
yeoman. He resided in Ipswich, and later in Row- 
ley, Massachusetts. He was received as an inhabi- 
tant of the latter town in 1661, and settled in that 
part known as Rowley Village, and which subse- 
quently became the town of Boxford. Before re- 
moving to Rowley he purchased of Joseph Jewett 
a seventy-two portion of the village lands, for 
which he paid eleven pounds thirteen shillings and 
four pence. Jewett died before the deed was passed. 
He was one of the petitioners for the incorpora- 
tion of Boxford, and the petition was granted June 
5, 1685. Subsequently he was a member of the 
committee appointed on the part of the two towns 
to settle the boundary. He was married May 15, 
1661, in Ipswich, to Mary, daughter of William 
and Joanna Jackson, of Rowley. She was born 
February 8, 1639. Their children, all born in Row- 
ley, were: Mary, Judith, Hannah, Jonathan, Wil- 
liam, Timothy, David, Samuel and Joseph. 

(III) William (2), second son and fifth child 
of William (i) and Mary (Jackson) Foster, was 
born in 1670 in Rowley Village, settled in Andover 
in 1697-8, and there died August 29, 1755, in his 
eighty-sixth year. He was a weaver, and followed 
that occupation through life, bequeatliing his loom 
to his son Asa in his will. He was first a member 



of the North Parish in Andover, and was one of 
the thirty-five who were dismissed therefrom in 
1 71 1 in order to form the South Church. He was 
married (first) July 6. i6g — , to Sarah, daughter of 
John and Sarah Kimball, of Boxford. She was 
born September 19, 1669, and died November 6, 
1729. He was married (second) November 13, 
1744, to Margaret Gould, who survived him. His 
children were : Sarah, Mary, John, Hannah, Lydia 
and Asa, all born of the first wife. (Mention of 
Asa and descendants is made in this article.) 

(IV) Captain John, eldest son and third child 
of William (2) and Sarah (Kimball) Foster, was 
born in Andover, September 2.1, 1701, and died there 
June 17, 1773. He was a yeoman and a considera- 
ble landholder. In the "History of Andover" he is 
styled captain. He appears to have been a man of 
some influence, and with his brother Asa was ap- 
pointed on a committee to instruct the representa- 
tive at the general court to enter a protest against 
the Stamp Act. Again in 1768 the two brothers 
were on a committee to frame resolutions to in- 
duce the inhabitants to "ignore extravagance, idle- 
ness and vice, and promote manufactures, industry, 
economy and good morals in the town, and dis- 
countenance importation and the use of foreign 
superfluities." He married Mary Osgood, January 
13, 1725. She died April 6, 1772. Their children 
were: William (died young), John, William, a 
son, John, Mary, Isaac, Gideon, Obadiah, Solomon 
and Osgood. 

(V) Obadiah, ninth child and eighth son of 
John and Mary (Osgood) Foster, was born in 
Andover, May 25, 1741, and died July 25, 1780. He 
married, May 30, 1769, Hannah Ballard. She was 
published May 15, and married June i, 1792, to 
Joshua Chandler. The children of Obadiah and 
Hannah were: John, Obadiah, Hannah and Fred- 
erick. 

(VI) John (2), son of Obadiah and Hannah 
(Ballard) Foster, was born in Andover, ISIassa- 
chusetts, March 3, 1770, and died in Warner, New 
Hampshire, in 1846. It is written of him: "He 
possessed a quick and sound judgment, great en- 
ergy of character, and rare virtues; he was mild, 
frank and determined in action, his influence was 
widely felt in every community in which he lived." 
In 1830 he removed with his family to Warner, 
New Hampshire, where he passed the remainder 
of his life. He married (first) in 1799, Mary, 
daughter of Samuel and Mary Danforth, who died 
November 27, 1802. Married (second) Lucy, 
daughter of Benjamin and Experience Hastings, 
1803; she died September 10, 1842. Married (third) 
Airs. Sally Morse Couch, January 25, 1843. 

(VII) George Foster, fourth son and young- 
est child of John (2) and Lucy (Hastings) Fos- 
ter, was born in Hudson, New Hampshire, Sep- 
tember 23, 1821. In 1830 his parents removed to 
Warner with their family, and it was there that he 
passed his youth and early manhood. With such 
education as a bright boy could acquire from the 
district school of seventy yeSrs ago, he started out 
on the journey of life. Gifted by nature with 
dauntless courage, ambition, and intelligence _ of a 
high order, the young man soon made himself 
known and felt among his fellowmen. Beginning 
in business life, first as a peddler, and then as a 
keeper of an all-round country store at Davisville. 
he gradually worked into the lines of trade toward 
which his tastes inclined, those of farming, deal- 
ing in wood and buying, manufacturing and selling 
all kinds of lumber. At the age of thirty-eight he 
went to Weare, New Hampshire, living there until 



1 662 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1868, when he removed to Bedford, New Hamp- 
shire, having purchased the homestead farm of 
Adam Chandler, Esq. There he resided until his 
death, March 21, 1881. In Bedford were passed 
the brightest and happiest days of his life. Engaged 
in a* lucrative business, happy in his family circle, 
happy in the cultivation, development and improve- 
ment of the broad acres of his grand estate, pos- 
sessed of a host of devoted friends, he was justly 
proud of the success which had brought all these 
blessings around him. Genial, hospitable, and gen- 
erous to a fault, George Foster never lost a friend 
and seldom made an enemy. His character was 
cast in the puritanic mold of his forefathers, pure 
and simple in his habits, gentle and sympathetic 
in his manners, he was a man whom to know was 
to love. His business, social and political conclu- 
sions were formed quickly but accurately, and once 
found were as fixed as the eternal hills. He was 
strong in his likes and dislikes, he loved his fam- 
ily and his friends, he loved truth and justice and 
humanity, and he hated sham and hypocrisy, and 
denounced them in all their forms in unmistaka- 
ble language. As there still lingers among those 
who were his associates many memories of kind 
words and generous deeds, there also remains recol- 
lections of his apt and cutting repartee and scath- 
ing criticism. As a fitting tribute to his abilitj 
and sterling integrity he was twice elected to the 
state senate of New Hampshire, first in 1872 and 
again in 1873. 

]Mr. Foster married, in 1847, Salome F. Little, 
of Salisbury, who was born in Boscawen, August 
9, 1825, and died in Bedford, December 12, 1897. 
Her father was Eliphalet Little, an old time farmer 
and shoemaker ; her mother was Meele, daughter 
of Moses Fellows, of Salisbury, one of the heroes 
of. the Revolution. Her loving and generous heart 
and cheerful disposition, added to mental endow- 
ments of a high order, made her in every sense a 
fitting companion for her worthy husband. Mr. and 
Mrs. Foster were buried in Warner, and the epi- 
taph carved on the stone above their last resting 
place seems a fitting and comprehensive tribute to 
the character of both : 

"They made the world better by living in it." 
Their children were : Lucy A., Sarah M., John, 
George S., Charles E., Herman and Lucy Mary. 
Lucy A. was born February 6, 1848, and died May 
30, 1855. Sarah M., wife of Edmund B. Hull, was 
born April 25, 1850, and now lives on the River 
road, in Bedford. During her residence in the 
town she has been a central figure in all its social 
and literary affairs ; for a long time she was a 
teacher in the public schools of the town, retir- 
ing from her vocation after her marriage, but she 
has ever since taken a lively interest in its edu- 
cational affairs. Their children are Harry F., born 
July 24, 187S. died January 29, 1907. Grace E., Oc- 
tober 14, 1880. John is mentioned below. George 
S., born July 8, 1857, died August 15,' 1882. He 
was a sturdy young jnan of great promise. He 
married Etta F. Moulton. Children : Ethel D., wife 
of Leslie Ellis ; she was born February 10, 1881, 
and is the mother of two children : Lottie Foster, 
born June 19, 1900; Leslie A., August 16, 1901 ; 
George S., born April 20, 1882. Charles E., born 
June 12, i860, married Bertha Cheney, granddaugh- 
ter of James Gardner, who lived all his life in 
Bedford. They now reside in Manchester. Chil- 
dren: Electa Little, born May 20, 1896, died Jan- 
uary 19, 1901 ; Charles R., October 17, 1897; Jen- 
nie Salome, June 28, 1899, died January 29, 1901 ; 
Burton S., January 12, 1901. Herman, born August 



3, 1863, married (first) Nancy E. Barr, daughter 
of David Barr, of Bedford. Children : George 
Reginald, born December 14, 1888; Lucy Salome, 
September 25, 1893, died April 26, 1893. Married 
(second) Mary A. Woolsey, of Livingston Manor, 
New York; they now reside in Boston. Children: 
Robert W., August 7, 1899, died same day; Dwight 
W., June 22, 1900, died December 16, 1901 ; Amy W., 
January 21, 1902. Herman Foster is a grad- 
uate of Emerson School of Oratory, class of 1896, 
and is now engaged in the real estate business. 
Lucy Mary, married Burton Stewart, and they 
now live in Brockton, Massachusetts. 

(Vni) John (3), third child and eldest son of 
George and Salome F. (Little) Foster, was born 
in Warner, New Hampshire, March 5, 1852. He 
was graduated from Manchester high school in 
1872, entering Dartmouth College the same year, 
and was graduated with the degree of A. B. in the 
class of 1876. Shortly after the completion of his 
college course, he entered the law office of Hon. 
James F. Briggs, of Manchester, and upon the com- 
pletion of his legal studies was admitted to the 
bar in 1878, and opened an office in Manchester, 
where he conducted a successful practice until 
1890, when on account of ill-health he relinquished 
his duties as an active practitioner and has since, 
by way of recreation, added some valued produc- 
tions to New Hampshire literature. Among his 
popular rnetrical efforts are : "The Old Stone 
Wall;" "The Old Time Dog and Gun;" "The Old 
Time Stage Coach;" "The Tiger Lily;" "The 
Abandoned Farm;" "The Old Hoyt School-house;" 
"The Old March Meeting Day," and "Hayseed." 
The last mentioned was read at the Henniker Old 
Home Day celebration in 1906. His last and best 
contribution is the one entitled "The Triumph of 
the Anglo-Saxon Race." He also prepared and read 
as a memorial at the thirtieth anniversary meeting 
of his class at Dartmouth College, June 25, 1906, 
"Springtime and Autumn," which received glowing 
commendation from the press and warm approval 
by members of his class. Mr. Foster in all his pro- 
ductions evinces the true poetic instinct. A lover of 
nature and nature's God, he has woven into the 
warp and woof of his songs the sentiments of a 
heart which pulsates with love, loyalty and devotion. 
Many of his best efforts have been memorials to 
departed friends and cheering quaint verses _ to 
those who have been his friends and companions 
from boyhood. Mr. Foster was elected to the 
legislature to represent the town of Bedford 011 
the Republican ticket in 1879 and served with credit 
to himself and his constituency. He married in 
Manchester, February 18. 1881, Mary Lizzie Mc- 
Crillis, who was born in Manchester, June 5, 1854, 
daughter of John B. and Mary (Kilgore) Mc- 
Criltis. She was graduated from the Manchester 
high school in 1872, in the same class with Mr. 
Foster. She is an artist of high repute, and her 
work-in both oil and water color has been received 
with much favor by the public. 

(IV) Captain Asa, youngest child of William 
(2) and Sarah (Kimball) Fester, was born June 
16, 1710, in Andover, and passed his life in that 
town, where he died July 17. 1787. He owned one 
hundred and sixty acres of land in Canterburv-, 
New Hampshire, besides large tracts of upland and 
meadow in Andover. On March 8, 1776, he was 
appointed one of the members of a committee of 
the town on correspondence, inspection and safety. 
His estate was valued at eight hundred and thirty 
pounds, sixteen shillings and seven pence. He was 
married (first), Octobr 26, 1732, to Elizabeth, 





(A^^^ Yxxuf^u\ 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1 66^ 



daughter of John Abbott. She was born in 1712, 
and died July 4, 1758. His intention of marriage 
to Lucy Rogers was published December 10, 1763. 
She died October 17,, 1787, surviving him exactly 
three months. His children were: Asa, Abial, 
Daniel, David (died young), David, Elizabeth, 
Jonathan, Sarah and Lucy. (Mention of David and 
descendants appears in this article). ^ 

(V) Abial, second son and child of Captain Asa 
and Elizabeth (Abbott) Foster, was born August 
29, 1733, in Andover, Massachusetts, and was an 
early resident of Canterbury, New Hampshire. He 
was a clergyman. Owing to mutilation of the rec- 
ords, the full name of his wife cannot now be 
learned. Her christian name was Hannah, and the 

first two letters of her family name were Ba . 

The records of Canterbury show three children born 
to them, namely: Hannah, William and James. 
There were undoubtedly others. 

(VI) Abial (2), was undoubtedly a son of 
Reverend Abial and Hannah Foster, born probably 
about 1767. He was married February 25, 1796, in 
Canterbury, to Susannah Moor. The records of 
Canterbury show Susannah Foster, born February 
7, 1775, and another April 9, 1775. No parentage 
is given, and this is probably two records of the 
birth of the same person, supposed to be the wife 
Abial (2). Their children were: Polly, Abial, one 
whose christian name is not given (supposed to be 
Simeon B. born April 23, 1800), Susannah, Nancy, 
Joseph, Elizabeth, Augusta Caroline, Martha Jane, 
Sarah, Catherine (died young), Catherine and one 
still born, recorded June i, 1817. 

(VH) Simeon B. Foster was a native of Can- 
terbury, where he lived the life of a plain honest 
farmer whose chief concerns were in getting an 
honest living and properly bringing up a family. He 
died in Canterbury, November 26, 1880. He was 
first a Whig and in his later years a Republican and 
his party elected him to the office of selectman and 
collector. He was married, April 18, 1826, to Polly 
S. Hill, who died in 1870, aged sixty-five years. 
They had ten children ; Myron C. Harrison, 
Alonzo, John, Fidelia, Melissa, Emma, Melinda, 
Nancy, Lyman. 

(VHI) Myron C, eldest child of Simeon and 
Polly S.. (Hill) Foster, was born in Canterbury, 
February 7, 1829, and has followed the same voca- 
tion as his father. In politics he is a Republican. 
For some years he was town tax collector. He is a 
member of the Baptist Church, and for many years 
had been one of its deacons. While the Civil war 
was in progress he served about five months as a 
contract nurse. He married, January i, 1854, Lu- 
cinda M. Pear, who was born April i, 1833, in Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts, daughter of George and 
Nancy (Carter) Pear, of Cambridge. They have had 
three children : Lizzie, deceased ; George, a miller 
at Contoocook; Lyman B., whose sketch follows. 

(IX) Lyman Beecher Foster was born in Can- 
terbury, October 30, 1867, and is youngest child of 
Myron and Lucinda M. (Pear) Foster. He was 
educated in the public schools. At eighteen years 
of age he went into the employment of J. H. Jack- 
man as a clerk in a store at Penacook, where he 
continued eighteen months ; he then took a similar 
position in a co-operative store in Penacook, wdiere 
he served seven years ; subsequently he clerked for 
E. J. Young in East (ioncord, five years, and Phil- 
brick & Hill, of Tilton, five years. In 1904 he 
bought a grocery stock in Farmington, where he 
has since been in business. He is a member of 
Contoocook Lodge, No. 26, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, of Penacook, in which he is a past 



grand; a member of Penacook Encampment, No. 
3, of Concord, and of Wily Canton, Patriarchs 
Militant, of Concord. He married Annibeck P. 
Wyman, who was born October 29, 1868, a daugh- 
ter of Daniel and Annie (Webster) Wyman, of 
Concord. 

(V) David, fifth son of Captain Asa and Eliza- 
beth (Abbott) Foster, was born September 25, 
1737, in Andover, and settled in Canterbury, New 
Hampshire. He was married, November 24, 1760, 
to Hannah Kittrcdge, and their children, on record 
in Canterbury, were : Daniel, Hannah, Simeon, 
Betsey, Jonathan, Dorcas, Abiah, Abigail, Ruth and 
Jeremiah. The record states that these children 
were born in Andover. (Mention of Joseph and 
descendants forms part of this article). 

(VI) Daniel, eldest child of David and Hannah 
(Kittredge) Foster, was born June 29, 1761, in 
Andover, and resided in Canterbury, New Hamp- 
shire. Nothing in the public records shows his 
marriage of children. The family records give the 
birth of the next in order, who was probably a son 
of Daniel Foster, but nothing now appears by 
which this can be conclusively determined. 

(VII) Daniel Kittredge Foster was born in 1793 
at Canterbury, New Hampshire, a town which gave 
birth to Stephen Foster, the Abolitionist, and to 
others of the name who have wrought well for the 
public service. He became a teacher and farmer at 
Chichester, this state. On November 20, 1823, Daniel 
Kittredge Foster married Lydia Lane, second child 
of Simeon and Sarah (Morrill) Lane, who was born 
in Chichester, May 2, 1799. Her mother died when 
she was but an infant, and her father married again 
and had a large family ; hence Lydia was adopted by 
Joshua and Lydia (Blake) Lane, who might pro- 
perly be considered her parents, as they brought her 
up and left her their property. Daniel K. and Lydia 
(Lane) Foster had five children, all sons: Joshua 
Lane, whose sketch follows ; Joseph Addison, born 
in 1825 or 6; Daniel Kittredge, born December 10,. 
1827; Lucius Augustus, born November 20, 1831, and 
Rinaldo Brackett, born March 5, 1836. Daniel K. 
(2) Foster was a school teacher of note in his day. 
Daniel K. (i) Foster died October 11, 1869, and his 
wife died in February, 1875, each at the age of 
seventy- six years. 

(VIII) Joshua Lane, eldest child of Daniel Kitt- 
redge and Lydia (Lane) Foster, was born at Canter- 
bury, New Hampshire, October 10, 1824. When 
about three months old his parents moved to Chi- 
chester, this state, to reside with Joshua Lane, and 
there on the Lane homestead he was reared. From 
his father he obtained excellent private instructions, 
and he also attended the district schools till old 
enough to enter Pittsfield Academy in the neighbor- 
ing town, where he remained four years. He then 
spent two years at Gilmanton Academy, this state, 
and then returned to Pittsfield, where he completed 
his academic education. He remained on the home 
farm for a few years, but being of a mechanical turn 
he learned the builder's trade, at which he worked 
for two or three years. He then pursued the study 
of architecture under Professor Benjamin Stanton, 
of New York City, and for about ten years, ending 
with the financial panic of 1857, he practiced his 
profession in Concord. During that time he designed 
many churches, court-houses and school-houses 
throughout the state, one of the most notable being 
the old red brick court-house at Concord, dedicated 
in 1857, whose stately portico and lofty walls were 
for more than half a century an imposing feature 
of the North End. Meanwhile Mr. Foster had been 
a frequent contributor to the press, and when the 



1664 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



building business was brought to a standstill, he was 
urged to enter the editorial field. In 1858 in con- 
nection with Dr. Joseph H. Smith, he bought the 
Dover Gazette, and with Edwin A. Hills, Dr. Smith's 
son-in-law, he formed a partnership under the firm 
name of Foster & Hills. j\Ir. Foster conducted the 
paper for three years, when he sold out to his 
partner, and returned to his architectural profession 
for a short time, during which he resided in Man- 
chester, this state. But the ruling passion proved 
too strong, and in January, 1863, at the solicitation of 
leading Democrats of the state, he went to Ports- 
mouth, where no Democratic paper was then pub- 
lished, and started the Weekly States and Union, 
and in 1868 began the issue of the Daily 'Times of 
that city. In June, 1870. he sold these papers to 
Thayer & Guppy, two of his employees, and removed 
to New Haven, Connecticut, where he published the 
Nezv Haven Lever for a time, but not long after- 
ward he returned to Dover, where he began the 
publication, January 20, 1872, of Foster's Weekly 
Democrat, with which his name is indelibly as- 
sociated. This paper made a sensation by the 
vigor and pungency of the editorials and locals, and 
Foster's Daily Democrat was issued on June 18, 
1873. Mr. Foster soon gained a reputation that 
was not confined to New Hampshire, and his writ- 
ings, which were always couched in pure Anglo- 
Saxon, were quoted by newspapers in all parts of 
the land. Mr. Foster did not hesitate to differ with 
his party when matters of principle were involved, 
but the honesty of his motives and the brilliance of 
his writings were so convincing that the paper be- 
came an ever increasing success. In 1885, soon 
after the inauguration of President Cleveland, the 
paper came out squarely against his administration 
and boldly espoused the Republican cause, which 
it has ever since maintained with all its old-time 
ability. Mr. Foster's habit of thinking for himself, 
his wide reading, ample vocabulary and dogged 
grip were sure to attract attention to anything he 
uttered, while his fidelity to conviction commanded 
respect even from those whose ideas diverged rnost 
widely from the opinions of the radical editor. 
Mr. Foster never cared to hold political office, 
though he represented his party repeatedly in state 
and other conventions. He was, however, elected 
for three successive terms of seven years each as 
a member of the board of trustees of the Dover 
Public Library, and was holding this office when 
he died. 

On July 30, 1848, Joshua Lane Foster married 
Lucretia A. Gale, daughter of Bartholomew and 
Abby (Morrison) Gale, of Upper Gilmanton, now 
Belmont, New Hampshire. Four children were 
born of this union : Lucia Ella, who married Mercer 
Goodrich, formerly of Portsmouth, but afterwards 
of Lynn, Massachusetts; George J., whose sketch 
follows; Ena Veille, who married Frederick J. 
Whitehead, of Dover; and Charles G., whose sketch 
follows. Mrs. Goodrich died February 25, 1905, 
leaving a husband and three brilliant sons. Mr. and 
Mrs. Foster were permitted to celebrate their golden 
wedding, which was a notable event, largely at- 
tended by prominent people. Mr. Foster lived a 
year and a half after this event, dying January 
29, 1900, at his home in Dover. Mrs. Foster lived 
till May 6, 1905, dying at the age of seventy-nine 
years. 

(IX) George J., elder son and second child of 
Joshua Lane and Lucretia (Gale) Foster, was 
born at Concord, New Hampshire, February 13, 
1854. He was educated in the public schools of 
Portsmouth, completing his course of study by four 



years in the high school. He early manifested finan- 
cial tact and ability, and when his father settled in 
Dover and started the weekly and then the daily 
Democrat, he placed his son in charge of the busi- 
ness management. That no mistake was made is 
shown by the complete pecuniary success of the 
enterprise. Mr. Foster is an attendant of the 
Methodist Church, and a Republican in politics. 
He has been a member of the school committee 
since 1883, and was made chairman of the board 
in 1903, a position which he still holds. He repre- 
sented his ward in the New Hampshire legislature 
of 1893, and was mayor of Dover in 1906. In all 
of his public career his course of action has been 
governed by fidelity to public interests, and by 
a desii'e to reduce expenditures and keep down 
taxation. On July 22, 1880, George J. Foster mar- 
ried Anna C. Clark, daughter of Seth H. and 
Clarissa Clark, of Dover. By this union there have 
been two sons and one daughter : Bertha Florence, 
born August 3, 1883; graduated from Wellesley Col- 
lege, 1906. Arthur, born March 27, 1885; Frederick, 
born December 9, 1887. 

(IX) Charles Gale, second son and third child 
of Joshua Lane and Lucretia (Gale) Foster, was 
born at Dover, New Hampshire, July 11, 1859. When 
he was a child his parents moved to Manchester, and 
after a brief residence there went to Portsmouth, 
removing from thence in the year 1872 to Dover, 
where Charles Gale resided up to the time of his 
death. On account of the frequent removals of 
his parents he attended the public schools of various 
New England cities, and acquired a practical edu- 
cation. In 1876 he began work in the office of the 
Democrat, and in the course of his connection with 
it worked his way up through all positions to the 
editor's chair. This proved an excellent school for 
him, as it has done for many other newspaper men, 
and the paper continued to speak for itself each day, 
carrying a powerful influence for good throughout 
Strafford county. Since the death of the father, 
several years ago, Charles Gale and his brother, 
George J.,- conducted the paper. He served in the 
common council in 1896-97, having been elected 
on the Republican ticket, and filled the position 
of president in the latter year. He was an attendant 
of the First Congregational Church of Dover. He 
was also prominent in fraternal circles, having been 
a past noble grand of Wecohamet Lodge of Odd 
Fellows, one of the oldest in the state, a trustee of 
the organization at the time of his death, past 
chief partriarch of Quochecho Encampment, and 
past commander of Canton Parker, Partiarchs 
Militant. Mr. Foster married, August 3, 1883, 
Mabel Clement, daughter of Benjamin and Sarah 
Clement, of Dover, New Hampshire, who bore him 
four children : Walter H., born September 14, 
1887, a member of the class of 1909, Dartmouth 
College. Philip C, born February 19, 1892, a pupil 
in the Dover high school. Arthur and Doris J., 
died in infancy. Charles Gale Foster died at his 
home, 47 Central avenue, October 27, 1907, and in 
his death Dover lost one of its most prominent and 
useful citizens. 

(VI) Joseph, fourth son and fifth child of David 
and Sarah Foster, was born September 22, 1779, 
in Canterbury, and settled very early in life in 
Alexandria, New Hampshire, where many other 
members of the Foster family resided. He was 
educated in the district schools and in late life 
went to Merrimack, and there lived until his death. 
He was by occupation a farmer, in religious belief 
a Congregationalist, and in politics a Democrat. 
His wife's name was Lydia Petty. Their children 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



l66: 



were : Malinda, Phebe, Thomas J., Sylvia, Wilson, 
John L., Irine and Lydia. 

(VII) Thomas Jefferson, first son of Joseph 
and Lydia (Petty) Foster, was born in Alexandria, 
December 20, 1819, and died in Amherst, May 3, 
1892. He got his education in the district schools. 
He was a blacksmith and a farmer, and did some 
lumbering. He lived in jNIerrimack after 1845. He 
was a member of the Grange, and an ardent temper- 
ance man. In politics he was a Democrat. Novem- 
ber 26, 1846, he married Hannah C. Junkins, who 
was born February 19, 1821, and died January 7, 
1904. She was the daughter of Henry and Mary 
(Miller) Junkins, of Merrimack. They were the 
parents of three children : Joseph H., mentioned 
below; George W., born July 25, 1858, married. May 

15, 1890, Ida F. Wheeler; Charles W., born Sep- 
tember 17, 1S63, married, December 26, 1887, Edith 
A. Gilman. 

(,VIII) Joseph Henry, eldest child of Thomas 
J. and Hannah C. (Junkins) Foster, was born 
in Merrimack, November 2, 185 1, and has always 
resided in the house in which he was born. He 
was educated in the common schools and at Mont 
Vernon, completing his studies at the latter place 
at the age of twenty-two. Returning to his home 
he worked for his father until 1881, when he pur- 
chased the farm of one hundred and thirty-six 
acres which he has since successfully cultivated. He 
is engaged in general farming and the milk busi- 
ness. He is a Democrat. He has been a member of 
the school board six years, tax collector two terms, 
and selectman two terms. In matters pertaining to 
farming he is a leader, and for eight years has 
been a member of Thornton Grange, No. 31, Patrons 
of Husbandry. He is also a member of Souhegan 
Lodge, No. 98, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows. He married, at Milford, November 13, 1878, 
Charlotte E. Converse, born in Amherst, Decem- 
ber 21, 1856, daughter of Charles and Elizabeth 
(Fuller) Converse of Amherst. She was educated 
at Mont Vernon. Mr. and Mrs. Foster are mem- 
bers of the Christian Science Church. They have 
one daughter, Mary Lizzie, who was born February 

16, 1880. She married, April 24, 1901, Bertie L. 
Peasley, of Bedford, New Hampshire, and has four 
children : Edith May, born April 22, 1902 ; Fred 
William, born April 18, 1903; Alice Mabel, No- 
vember 4, 1904; and Hellen R., June 2, 1906. 

Nathan Foster was born February 26, 1783, in 
Amesbury, Massachusetts, and was married, October 
5, 1805, to Hannah, daughter of Francis Davis (see 
Davis, VI). She was born August 6, 1781, and 
died June 6, 1857. They were the parents of nine 
children : Francis Davis, died in Warner, in 1891 ; 
William S., died in 1889; John S., died 1894; 
Richard S., subject of the following paragraph; 
Mary Ann, who became the wife of Henry H. 
Hariman, and died 1899; Elizabeth, the wife of 
Josiah Trask, died 1893; Jonathan, died in his 
twenty-third year; Henry, died 1894; Judith, died 
1892. 

(II) Richard Straw, son of Nathan and Han- 
nah (Davis) Foster, was born December 27, 1813, 
in Warner. He was educated in the common schools 
of that town, and early in life learned the trade 
of stone cutting. For several years he was em- 
ployed in this capacity in Quincy, Massachusetts, 
and having been industrious and prudent in the 
care of his earnings was in a position to secure for 
himself a permanent home. About 1843 he re- 
turned to his native town and lived with his parents, 
while still continuing to devote a portion of his 
time to stone cutting. He was an active and in- 



fluential citizen and held numerous offices. He was 
a Republican in politics, and was a leading member 
of the Baptist Church, in which he served as deacon 
and treasurer, and was also superintendent of its 
Sunday school. He married Elizabeth K. Pickett, 
daughter of Thomas and Sophia Pickett. She died 
January 7, 1902. She was the mother of three 
children: Sarah, Clarence, and Annette P". The 
last named became the wife of William A. Sawyer. 

(Ill) Clarence, only son of Richard S. and 
Elizabeth K. (Pickett) Foster, was born June 5, 
1848, in Warner, where he grew up and attended 
the public schools. Early in life he went to Beverly, 
.Massachusetts, and was employed in a shoe factory. 
In 1S76 he returned to Warner, and since that time 
he has been engaged in operating a large farm, 
which is devoted to the general purposes of agri- 
culture. He is the owner of much valuable timber. 
Mr. Foster is a member of Warner Grange, No. 
90, in which he has held several offices and is 
now master. He is an attendant of the Baptist 
Church, and is the present librarian of the local 
society. In politics he is a Republican. He is a 
member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
in which he has passed through the principal chairs, 
and has been for the past twenty years secretary 
of his lodge. These facts sufficiently indicate that 
he is an intelligent and progressive man and en- 
joys the confidence and esteem of his fellow citi- 
zens. 

He was married. May 11, 1880, to Clara A. 
Tyler, who was born in Hopkinton, August 3, 1855, 
daughter of Lucius H. and Sarah A. (Hall) Tyler, 
of Hopkinton, New Hampshire. She died Febru- 
ary 2, 1899, leaving twb children. She was an 
active church worker, and was a highly esteemed 
and respected woman. The children are : Mabel 
L., born April 26, 1881 ; and Howard T., born April 
22, 1890. 

(Second Family.) 
This branch of the Foster family 
FOSTER traces its descent from Andrew, who 
apparently has no connection with 
Reginald, usually considered the first American an- 
cestor. The Andrew Foster line, though not as 
numerous as that of Reginald, is quite as ancient, 
and in some respects it has a more thrilling history. 

(I) Andrew Foster was born in England about 
1579. His name appears among the first settlers 
of Andover, Massachusetts, who came about 1640. 
He was made a freeman in 1669. He had twelve 
grants of land, most of them in the extreme southerly 
corner of the town, near Wilmington and around 
Foster's Pond, which was doubtless named for 
him. "Andrew Forrester, or Forster, of Andover, 
with his neighbors, Andrew Allen and Joseph Rus- 
sell, were all members of the Scotch Charitable 
Association, once the St. Andrew's Society, formed 
in Boston as early as 1656, to aid the war prisoners 
of Cromwell's fights and other unfortunates from 
Virginia and along the shore who used to walk 
to Boston to get passage home." It is probable that 
Andrew Foster was twice married, both times in 
England. The name of his second wife was Ann, 
who survived him. The names of five children are 
recorded. He was seventy-three years of age when 
his youngest child was born. Andrew Foster died 
in Andover, May 7, 1685, and the town records 
read "aged one hundred and six years." His will 
was proved June 30th of that year. He left prop- 
erty inventoried at five hundred and four pounds. 
His widow died December 2, 1692. Mrs. Ann Foster 
was executrix of her husband's will, which proves 
that she had acknowledged integrity and business 



1 666 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



ability. Nevertheless, seven years later, she fell a 
victim to the witchcraft craze which cursed that 
time and neighborhood. She was examined four 
times, and through pious frenzy and overwrought 
nerves, was led to confess herself a witch. She 
said that she rode on a stick with jMartha Currier 
to Salem village, where they met three hundred 
other witches. The testimony of herself and her 
fellow victims has been fully preserved. Mrs. 
Foster was imprisoned for twenty-one weeks, and 
would have been hanged had not death granted her 
a merciful release. Her son was forced to pay 
the keeper of the jail the sum of sixteen pounds 
and ten shillings before he could have the dead body 
of his mother. This sum, twenty years later, after 
the frenzy had abated, was restored to him and his 
sister by the Salem authorities. The children of 
Andrew Foster, so far as recorded were : An- 
drew, born about 1640, married Mary Russa ; Abra- 
ham, born about 1648, married Ester Foster, daugh- 
ter of Deacon Samuel of Chelmsford; Sarah, born 
about 1645, married, October 15, 1667, Samuel Kemp, 
of Chelmsford or Billerica ; Hannah, married 
October 15, 1667, Hugh Stone; Mary, born 
July 9, 1652, married August 5, 1673, Lawrence 
Lacey. The history of the two younger children 
is tragic. Hannah (Foster) Stone was murdered 
by her husband, April 20, 1689. The details are 
fully given in Cotton Mather's Magnalia. It is inti- 
mated that the man was under the influence of 
strong drink at the time. The murder was the 
first that ever occurred at Andover, and it made 
a profound impression throughout the region. The 
youngest child, Mary (Foslter) Lacey, like her 
mother, was accused and condemned as a witch. 
She died June 18, 1707. 

(H) Andrew (2), the eldest recorded child of 
Andrew (i) Foster, was born at Andover, [Massa- 
chusetts, about 1640. He was made a freeman in 
1690. He married, June 7, 1662, jNIary Russa, 
daughter of John and Margaret Russa, of Andover. 
They had six children : Abraham, whose sketch 
follows ; Hannah, born July 16, 1668, married 
Thomas Astie ; Mary, born November 28, 1670, 
died young; Mary, born June 10, 1673, married 
Ebenezer (Lovejoy) ; Sarah (twin), born May 25. 
1677, married Benjamin Johnson, of Andover; 
Esther, born January 14, 1680, married her first 
cousin, Simon Stone, of Andover, son of Hugh and 
the murdered Hannah (Foster) Stone. Andrew 
Foster died in 1697, only five years after the death 
of his mother. His son, Abraham, was appointed 
administrator of his estate June 14, 1697. The in- 
ventory amounted to one hundred and twenty 
pounds, less than a quarter of his father's. His 
widow died April 19, 1721. 

(HI) Abraham, fourth child and only son 
of Andrew (2) and Mary (Russa) Foster, w^as 
born at Andover, Massachusetts, May 25, 1677. He 
spent his life in that town. June 29, 1703, he 
married Mary Johnson Lovejoy, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Sarah Lovejoy, who was born in 1678, 
and died February 21, 1749, Abraham Foster sur- 
vived his wife nearly five years, dying December 
15) 1753- They had seven children: Hannah, born 
]\larch 12, 1704, died young; Abraham, born in 
November, 1705, mentioned in the next paragraph; 
Sarah, born September 3, 1708, married, September 
21, 1730, Jacob Preston, of Andover, and moved 
to Windham, Connecticut ; a daughter born October 
2, 1710, died young; Isaac, born June 26, 1712, died 
young; Hannah, born June 13, 1716, married Febru- 
ary 16, 1738, John Russell ; Jacob, born June 17, 
1717, married Abigail Frost. 



(IV) Abraham (2), eldest son and second child 
of Abraham (i) and Mary (Lovejoy) Foster, was 
born at Andover, Massachusetts, in November, 1705. 
He lived at Andover and Lynn, Massachusetts. He 
was published (married) to Sarah Frost, February 
2, 1729. They had seven children. Abraham Foster 
died September 15, 1743, at the early age of thirty- 
seven. His widow afterwards married November 
29) 1758, her husband's cousin, Andrew Foster. 
Her eldest son, Abraham, had died in February 
of that year, leaving to his mother six tracts of land 
in the heart of the town, which had been bequeathed 
him by his grandfather, Abraham Foster. Mrs. 
Sarah (Frost) Foster was admitted to the church 
in Andover from that in Eoxford, September 26, 
1760. The date of her death is not recorded. Abra- 
ham and Sarah (Frost) Foster had seven children : 
Abraham, born December i, 1730, died February i, 
1758; Joshua, whose sketch follows; Jonathan, 'bora 
April 24, 1734, became ward of Deacon Joseph 
Abbott, November 21, 1748, married Lydia Haggett,. 
February 2, 1758; David, born July 31, 1737, married 
Molly Foster; Sarah, born September 28, 1739, died 
unmarried ; Daniel, born October 13, 1741, died 
December 26, 1754; James, a posthumous child, born 
September 29, 1743, married Hannah. 

(V) Joshua, second son and child of Abraham 
(2) and Sarah (Frost) Foster, was born at Lynn, 
Massachusetts, July 17, 1732. His father died 
young, and May 14, 1747, when Joshua was fifteen 
years of age, his uncle Jacob was appointed his 
guardian. Joshua married. May 26, 1756, Lydia 
Peabody, born in 1738. About 1764 Mr. Foster 
moved from Andover to Temple, New Hampshire, 
being the first of his family to move from Massa- 
chusetts. Of the five children, three were born in 
Andover, and the two youngest in Temple. Joshua 
Foster was a Revolutionary soldier, and is recorded 
as serving in Captain Drury's company, which was 
enrolled at Temple, April 19, 1775. In a deed of 
that period Joshua Foster is recorded as a joiner; 
in another deed he is called a yeoman. Joshua and 
Lydia (Peabody) Foster had five children: Joshua, 
whose sketch follows ; Daniel, born March 10, 1759, 
married and died without children, was a Revolu- 
tionary soldier, and was drowned in the Kennebec 
river in JNlaine, aged seventy-five years ; Lydia, born 
December 30, 1761, married Ensign John Foster of 
Hancock, New Hampshire ; Betsey, born December 
22, 1768, married Samuel Kilham, of Lyndeboro, 
New Hampshire ; Sarah, born February i, 1765. 
Joshua Foster, the father, died in August, 1776, aged 
forty-four. His widow died in 1806. 

(VI) Joshua (2), eldest son and child of 
Joshua (i) and Lydia (Peabody) Foster, was born 
at Andover, Massachusetts, July 5, 1757. He was a 
Revolutionary soldier. He served in Captain Jo- 
seph Parker's company, Colonel Enoch Hale's regi- 
ment, July 1776; and was a member of Captain 
Robert Fletcher's company, same regiment, in Au- 
gust, 1778. He married, is 1806, Lucy Tenney, 
daughter of Benjamin and Ruth (Blanchard) Ten- 
ney; she was born in Temple, New Hampshire, 
October 26, 1779. They had six children : Sarah, 
born July 4, 1807, died unmarried, June 29, 1834; 
Daniel, born July 10, 1809, married Hannah Jones; 
Joshua, whose sketch follows; Benjamin Tenney, 
born July 8, 1818, married Abigail Howard; David 
Peabody, born September 4, 1815, married Mrs. 
Mary (]\Iassa) Bartlett ; Emily Blanchard, born 
February 14, 1818, died November 12, 1823. Joshua 
Foster, Jr., lived at Temple, New Hampshire, where 
he died October 22, 1823. 

(VII) Joshua (3), second son and third child 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1667 



of Joshua (2) and Lucy (Tenney) Foster, was 
born at Temple, New Hampshire, August 6, 181 1. 
He was a successful farmer and stock dealer. He 
attended the Congregational Church, and sang hi 
the choir for many years. He was a Republican in 
politics, and served as selectman for several terms, 
part of the time as chairman. In 1857 he was one 
of the committee who had charge of the hundredth 
anniversary celebration of Temple, New Hampshire. 
He had a local reputation as a vocalist, and took 
a lively interest in everything that pertained to the 
welfare of the town. Joshua Foster, in 1835, mar- 
ried Mary Heald, daughter of Daniel Heald of 
Temple, New Hampshire. He died September 4, 
1890. They had six children : Emily, born June 
30, 1837; Hannah A., born October 13, 1840; Oliver 
Heald, mentioned below ; Eugene E., born August 
15, 1843, married Francilla Upham ; twin children, 
born February 7, 1845, died in infancy. 

(VIII) Oliver Heald, second son and third child 
of Joshua and Mary (Heald)' Foster, was born in 
Temple, New Hampshire, January 16, 1842. His 
boyhood was spent in his native town. He was edu- 
cated in the common schools and at Appleton Acad- 
emy, New Ipswich, New Hampshire. He was 
graduated from Bryant & Stratton's Commercial 
College, at Manchester, New Hampshire, in April, 
1866. For a short time he was engaged in teaching, 
then in Carpentering. In 1867 he and his brother, 
Eugene Edward, established themselves in the pro- 
vision business at Temple under the firm name of 
Foster Brothers. In 1S72 they removed to Mil- 
ford, where for twenty-five years they carried on a 
wholesale and retail business in meats and pro- 
visions. The brother died May 24, 1897, and Mr. 
Foster subsequently conducted the business alone, 
retaining the firm name. He retired in 1903. Like 
most of his ancestors JNIr. Foster has seen military 
service in defense of his country. He was but 
nineteen years of age when the Civil war broke 
out, but towards its close he enlisted for three 
months in the Lafayette Artillery of Lyndeboro, 
New Hampshire. He was assigned as a private to 
garrison duty at Portsmouth, New Hampshire. He 
is a Republican by birth and education, and served 
as one of the selectmAi in Temple, New Hampshire, 
for two years, and in Milford, New Hampshire, for 
four years. In 1892 he was elected representative 
to the state legisature. Mr. Foster is prominent 
in fraternal organizations. He is a member and 
past commander of Oliver W. Lull Post, No. 11, 
Grand Army of the Republic, of Milford. In the 
order of United American Mechanics he is past 
counsellor ; and he is past sachem in the Improved 
Order of Red Men. He is a member of Benevolent 
Lodge, No. 7, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
also of King Solomon Royal Arch Chapter, No. 
17, of Milford. He is a Mason of the thirty-second 
degree, and belongs to the Saint George Command- 
ery, Knights Templar, of Nashua, New Hampshire, 
and to Edward A. Raymond Consistory. He be- 
longs to Puritan Chapter, No. 29, Order of the 
Eastern Star of Milford. He is a member of the 
Sons of the American Revolution. For seventeen 
years he was a member of the Milford Cornet Band. 
He is a trustee of the Milford Savings Bank. He 
belongs to the Congregational Church, and sang in 
the choir for many years. He was also a teacher in 
the Sunday school, and at one time served as super- 
intendent. 

December 31, 1874, Oliver Heald Foster married 
Hannah Elizabeth Wallace, daughter of Charles R. 
and Elizabeth R. (Lovejoy) Wallace of Milford. 
iv — 27 



She was born February 4, 1853, and was educated 
in the Milford schools and at Maplewood Academy, 
Pitlsfield, Massachusetts. Her father was a store 
keeper, and for eight years was town clerk up to 
his death in 1857. Mrs. Foster is a descendant of 
Captain Augustus Blanchard and of Captain Heze- 
kiah Lovejoy, of New Hampshire, and of Sergeant 
Benjamin French of IMassachusetts, all of them active 
in the Revolution. Her relatives were in the civil 
war, and she was active in societies at home dur- 
ing that time. Mr. and Mrs. Foster are the parents 
of four sons: Oliver W., born January 28, 1878; 
Arthur J., born July 23, 1879; Elmer J., born July 
8, 1883; George R., born May 21, 1887. Oliver W. 
graduated from Dartmouth College in 1900, and from 
the Tuck School of Administration and Finance in 
1901. He is now (1907) in charge of the Argentine 
Department for the American Trading Company, of 
New York. He married, in June, 1907, Mabel 
R. Lang, of Brooklyn, New York. Arthur J. mar- 
ried Emma L. Woodwell, August 3, 1903, and lives 
at Nevvburyport, Massachusetts. Elmer J. married 
Pearl O. Bugbee, August 5, 1903, and lives at Mil- 
ford, New Hampshire. George R. is a member of 
the Alilford high school. 



The name is that of a family, small 
MELLEN in point of numbers, descended from 

a Scotch ancestor, and well known 
for the steady habits and good character of its 
members. It has been well known in mercantile 
pursuits, and is at present conspicuous in railroad 
operations. 

(I) Simon Mellen, who is supposed to have 
been a son of Richard Mellen, of Cliarlestown, was 
born about 1635, was of Charlestown, 1660, Maiden, 
1668, Watertown, 1686, and settled, 1687, in Fram- 
ingham, and built a house at what was afterward 
called Mellen's Neck. His wife, Mary, died in 
Framingham, June i, 1709, aged seventy. Their six 
children were baptized at one time in Watertown, 
December 5, 1686. 

(II) Thomas, son of Simon and Mary Mellen, 
was born in Maiden, August, 1668. He and Simon, 
his father, were foundation members of the church 
of Framingham. His wife's name was Elizabeth. 
They lived in Framingham, where their seven chil- 
dren were born. 

(III) Richard, son of Thomas and Elizabeth 
Mellen, was born in Framingham, November 10, 
1701, and lived on the homestead of his father. In 
1771 he sold two hundred acres of land, two 
houses and two barns. His wife was Abigail, and 
their children were : Josiah, William, Richard, 
Samuel and Mary. 

(IV) Samuel, fourth son and child of Richard 
and Abigail Mellen, was born in Framingham, Oc- 
tober 15, 1732. He lived in Framingham until after 
1764, and removed to Warwick before 1770. He 
married Submit Stone, born in Framingham, June 
30, 1738, daughter of Joseph and Lydia (Parkhurst) 
Stone. They had seven children : IMartha, Ezra, 
Gilbert, Samuel, Joseph, Amorj' and Luther. 

(V) Ezra, second child and eldest son of 
Samuel and Submit (Stone) Mellen, was born in 
Framingham, May 7, 1752. In his childhood the 
family removed to Warwick. In the revolution 
he served in Captain Elihu Lyman's company, of 
Colonel Elisha Porter's regiment, which was raised 
in 1779 for the defense of Connecticut. The regi- 
ment was stationed at New London. He married 
and had a family of six children : Samuel, Amory, 
Gilbert, Ezra, Luther and Polly. 



1 668 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(VI) Amory Mellen, second son and child of 
Ezra Mellen, born in Warwick, Massachusetts, in 
1776, died in Alstead, New Hampshire, April 28, 
1858. He was a hatter by trade and spent the most 
of his life in Alstead and Claremont, where he 
carried on his business with the assistance of two 
or three journeymen. He married (first) Lois 
Woods, and after her death he married (second) 
Candace Kingsbury, born in Alstead, 1790, died in 
Claremont, July 2, 1840, daughter of Samuel Kings- 
bury, of Sanbornton. They had four children : 
John Franklin; George Kingsbury, Charles Harvey 
and Louisa Emmeline. 

(VH) George Kingsbury, second son of Amory 
and Candace (Kingsbury) Mellen, born in Alstead, 
August ID, 1821, was educated in the public schools, 
which he left at twelve years of age and went 
to Claremont, where he performed such work as 
he was able to get until he was seventeen. He then 
learned the hatter's trade, and went to Boston 
where he followed his trade from the age of twenty- 
one till twenty-nine, when he went to Lowell and 
was employed there five years, and in 1855 removed 
to Concord, New Hampshire. There he went into 
partnership with his father-in-law who had a short 
time before settled in Concord, and under the firm 
name of C. H. Sanger & Company, dealers in 
hats, caps and gentlemen's furnishings, they carried 
on business until 1881, when Mr. Mellen took the 
business and continued it until he retired from 
trade in 1893. Mr. Mellen was in business in 
Concord for thirty-eight years, and was always 
known as an upright and progressive citizen. He 
is now (1906) an unusually well preserved man of 
eighty-five years, with mind and memory better than 
those of many men much younger than he. He 
married in Lowell, Massachusetts, November 28, 
1850, Hannah Maria Sanger, born in Middlesex, 
May 2, 1832, died in Concord, April 6, 1904, daugh- 
ter of Charles H. and Hannah Jaques (Littlehale) 
Sanger, natives of Watertown and Middlesex, Mas- 
sachusetts. Five children were born of this mar- 
riage: Charles Sanger, in Lowell, August 16, 185 1, 
now president of the New York, New Haven & 
Hartford railway, married Marion B. Foster; Mari- 
etta, in Lowell, August 20, 1853, married Samuel 
Butterfield, and died in Concord, November 22, 
1904; Walter Amory, in Concord, September 11, 
1858, died September 22, 1859; Frank Warren, De- 
cember 5, 1859, died May 18, 1864; Cora Candace, 
June 27, 1867, married Herbert G. Abbott, and re- 
sides in Concord. 



The report of visitation in the county 
TUCKER of Kent, England, for the years 1619- 
20-21, preserved in the Harlein Man- 
uscripts, contain the earliest known record of the 
Tuckers, and mention several ancestors in direct 
line of the founder of the family in America. The 
information contained in those manuscripts was 
verified some twenty years ago by Deacon John A. 
Tucker, of Milton, Massachusetts, who visited 
Milton-next-Gravesend, where he was given access 
to the registry of baptisms by the rector of the 
ancient Church of St. Peter's and St. Paul's. This 
registry reaches back as far as the year 1558, and 
in it Deacon Tucker found the records of the bap- 
tism of his early ancestors, thus proving that the 
information obtained from the Harlein Manus- 
cripts is absolutely correct. 

(I) Willielmus Tucker, of Thornley, county of 
Devon, married "Jona" (or Josea) Ashe, and had 
sons George, Thomas and John. 

(H) George, son of Willielmus and "Jona" 



(Ashe) Tucker, married Maria Hunter, of Gaunte, 
and had five sons : George, Nicholas, Tobias, 
^lansfield and Daniel. 

(HI) George (2), gentleman, son of George (i) 
and Maria (Hunter) Tucker, resided in or near 
Milton-next-Gravesend, in Kent. He married 
(first), Elizabeth, daughter of Francis Stoughton, 
and she bore him one son, George. For his second 
wife he married Maria Darrett, and had John, 
Elizabeth, Maria, Robert and Henry Tucker. 

(IV) Robert, second son and fourth child of 
George (2) and Maria (Darrett) Tucker, was born 
at Milton-next-Gravesend, in 1604. He is supposed 
to have come from New England with a company 
of colonists from Weymouth, England, under the 
guidance of the Rev. Dr. Hall, and was in Wey- 
mouth, Massachusetts, in 1635. From the latter 
place he went to Gloucester, where he served as 
recorder for a time, but returned to Weymouth 
and held some of the town offices. He finally pur- 
chased several lots of land on Brush Hill, Milton, 
Massachusetts, some one hundred and seventeen 
acres in all, bordering on land which his son James 
had previously acquired, and it is quite probable 
that he had settled there permanently prior to the 
incorporation of the town in 1662. For several 
years he represented Milton in the general court, 
was town clerk for many years and as the first 
town records are in his handwriting, he was doubt- 
less the first to hold that office. The answer of the 
general court to the petition for incorporation bears 
the date May 7, 1662, and is signed Robert Tucker, 
recorder. He was active in the church and a mem- 
ber of its committee, and was spoken oi as Good- 
man Tucker. His death occurred in Milton, March 
II, 1682, and his interment took place on the 13th. 
He married Elizabeth Allen, and had a family of 
nine children, namely: Sarah, James, Joseph, Eliza- 
beth, Benjamin, Ephraim, Mannasseh, Rebecca, and 
Mary. Sarah became the wife, of Peter Warren. 
Elizabeth became the wife of Ebenezer Clapp. 
Rebecca married a Fenno, and Mary married Sam- 
uel Jones. 

(V) Ephraim, fourth son and sixth child of 
Robert and Elizabeth (Allen) Tucker, was probably 
born at Weymouth, in 1652. Jointly with his 
mother he was appointed to settle his father's es- 
tate. He was admitted a freeman in 1678, served 
as a selectman and town clerk in Milton, and was 
chosen a deacon of the church July 31, 1698. Sep- 
tember 27, 1688, he married Hannah Gulliver, and 
their children were : Ephraim, Stephen, Lydia and 
Hannah. 

(VI) Stephen, second son and child of Ephraim 
and Hannah (Gulliver) Tucker, was born in Mil- 
ton, April 8, 1691. He settled in Preston, Connec- 
ticut. On August 3, 1716, he married Hannah 
Belcher, of Milton, and was the father of : Stephen 
(died young), another Stephen, William, Ephraim 
and Lydia. The mother of these children died 
February 28, 1745. 

(VII) William, third son and child of Stephen 
and Hannah (Belcher) Tucker, was born in Pres- 
ton, May 28, 1737, and died there November 5, 
1819. He was married, June 4, 1767, to Esther 
Morgan, who was born in Preston, March 24, 1744, 
daughter of Captain Daniel and Elizabeth (Gates) 
Morgan. She died October 2, 1818. Their children 
were: Stephen, Susan (died young), Elizabeth, 
Hannah, Susan and William. 

(VIII) William (2), youngest son and child of 
William and Esther (Morgan) Tucker, was born 
in Preston, January 26, 1782. For a number of 
years he was engaged in the cotton manufacturing 




DARTMOUTH COLLEGE 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1669 



business at Norwich, Connecticut, and his death 
occurred July 11, 1839. On May 5, 1814, he married 
Sarah Morgan, who was born April 21, 1787, daugh- 
ter of Daniel and Elizabeth (Lord) Morgan. She 
died November 4, 1845, having been the mother of 
seven children, namely : Henry, Mary, Betsey, 
Daniel i\I., Sarah, Hannah M. and George. 

(IX) Henry, eldest son and child of William 
and Sarah (Morgan) Tucker, was born in Gris- 
wold, Connecticut, January 8, or February 16. 1815. 
He entered Amherst College but did not graduate, 
preferring to engage in business, and becoming as- 
sociated with his father in the textile industry at 
Norwich, he succeeded the latter as proprietor. 
He continued in the cotton manufacturing business 
at Norwich until 1885, when he went to Sandusky, 
Ohio, thence to Chicago and from the latter city 
to Brooklyn, New York. His last days were spent 
in Hanover with his daughter, Mrs. D. C. Wells, 
and he died in that town in 1905. He was in 
early life a Whig in. politics, and later a Republican. 
In his religious belief he was a Congregationalist, 
and as a young man he united with the church in 
Norwich. He was first married, September 4, 1837, 
to Sarah White Lester, of Griswold, who was born 
in December, 181 7, daughter of Joseph and Martha 

(Coit) Lester. She died September 20, 1846, and on 
December 5, 1849, he married Julia H. Doolittle. 
She was born June 28, 1830, and died in 1S60. The 
children of his first union are : William Jewett. 
now president of Dartmouth College, who will be 
again referred to. Elizabeth Coit, born July 28, 
1844, died September 29 of that year ; and Edward 
Jewett, born August 28, 1846, died February 22, 
1863. Of his second marriage there is one daugh- 
ter, Sarah Elizabeth, who was born March 18, 1854, 
and on June 2, 1887, became the wife of Professor 
D. C. Wells, of Bow'doin College. 

(X) William Jewett, D. D., LL. D., eldest child 
of Henry and Sarah W. (Lester) Tucker, was born 
in Griswold, July 13, 1839. Upon the death of his 
mother in 1846 he was taken into the home of her 
sister, the wife of the Rev. William Reed Jewett, 
then pastor of the Congregational Church in Plym- 
outh, New Hampshire, and was subsequently 
adopted into the family, receiving the legal right 
to insert the name of Jewett in his baptismal name. 
He prepared for college at the Kimball Union Acad- 
emy at was graduated at Dartmouth with honor in 
the class of 1861. After devoting two years to teaching 
at Columbus, Ohio, he entered the Andover, Massa- 
chusetts Theological Seminary, from which he was 
graduated in 1866. From 1867 to 1875 he was pas- 
tor of the Franklin Street Congregational Church, 
Manchester, and from the latter year to 1879 he 
occupied the pulpit of the Madison Square Church, 
New York City, resigning that pastorate in order 
to accept the chair of sacred rhetoric at the An- 
dover Theological Seminary, retaining that post un- 
til 1893, when he was unanimously elected president 
of Dartmouth College, and has ever since directed 
the affairs of that well known seat of learning. 

While at Andover he founded the Andover 
Home, a Social Settlement in Boston, now known 
at the South End House. He was also one of the 
original editors of the Andover Rcz'iezi', the editorial 
writings of w-hich Review gave rise to the "An- 
dover Case." He was the Phi Beta Kappa orator 
at Harvard, 1892 ; lecturer in the Lowell Institute, 
1894; Lyman Beecher lecturer at Yale, 1898; lec- 
turer on the Morse foundation at Union Theological 
Seminary. T902 : and on the Earle foundation, Berke- 
ley Divinity School, Berkeley, California, 1904. He 
is the author of "From Liberty to Unity," 1892 ; 
"The Making and Unmaking of the Preacher," 



1899, etc. He received the degree of Doctor of Di- 
vinity from Dartmouth and the University of Ver- 
mont, and the degree of Doctor of Laws from Yale, 
Williams, Weslcyan, and Columbia. 

Dr. Tucker's first wife, whom he married June 
22, 1870, was Charlotte Henry Rogers, and she died 
September 15, 1882, leaving two daughters: Alice 
Lester, born June 27, 1873, wife of Professor Frank 
H. Dixon; and Margaret, born August 22, 1878, 
wife of Nelson P. Brown, Esq. On June 22, 1887, 
he married for his second wife Charlotte Barrell 
Cheever, daughter of Rev. Henry P. Cheever, of 
Worcester, Massachusetts. Of this union there is 
one daughter, Elizabeth Washburn, born June 4, 
1889. 

(Second Family.) 
is an old English occupative sur- 
TUCKER name and means weaver. The an- 
cient Tucker families of New Eng- 
land are from several ancestors not known to be 
related to each other. This family was early 
planted in Massachusetts and New Hampshire. 

(I) ]\Iorris Tucker, whose christian name in 
ancient records is often writter Maurice, of Salis- 
bury, Massachusetts, and Tiverton, Rhode Island, 
is of record as a "cooper." He was a householder 
in Salisbury in 1659, took the oath of allegiance 
and fidelity there in 1677, and became a freeman in 
1690. He and his wife signed the Bradbury peti- 
tion in 1692. He was of Salisbury in 1694, and of 
Tiverton, February, 1700. He probably moved to 
the latter town in 1699, as he deeded bis real prop- 
erty there to Samuel Joy on February 3 of that 
year. On May 7, 1694, he deeded ten acres to his 
son James, for ten pounds. He married (first), 
October 14, 1661, Elizabeth Stevens, born in Salis- 
bury, February 4, 1642, and died October 16, 1662, 
daughter of Sergeant John and Katherine Stevens; 
and (second), 1663, Elizabeth Gill, born January 
8, 1646, daughter of John Gill. The only child by 
the first wife was Benoni. Those by the second 
wife were : John, Mary, James, Sarah. Joseph, Ja- 
bez, Elizabeth, and Morris. (Mention of Joseph 
and descendants appears in this article). Some of 
the descendants of this ancestor were Quakers. 

(II) Benoni, eldest child of Morris and Eliza- 
beth (Stevens) Tucker, was born in Salisbury, Oc- 
tober 16, 1662, and was a weaver, living in Salis- 
bury and later in West Amesbury. He signed the 
Bradbury petition in 1692 ; and was a "snow shoe 
man" in Amesbury in 1708. His will was dated 
January 14, and proven March 17, 1735. He mar- 
ried Ebenezar Nichols, born August 3, 1664, daugh- 
ter of Thomas and Mary Nichols, and they had 
seven children, as follows: Ebenezer, Benjamin, 
Nathaniel, Elizabeth, Mary, Kathren,' Frances, and 
Ezra. 

(III) Ezra, youngest child of Benoni and Ebe- 
nezar (Nichols) Tucker, was born in Amesbury, 
March 27, 1706. He married, January 24, 1727, 
Bathsheba Sargent, born October 10, 1709, daugh- 
ter of Charles and Hannah (Foot) Sargent, of 
West Amesbury, near the town of Merrimack, and 
they had seven children : Ezra, Mary, Callia, Hit- 
tee, Sarah, and Benoni. 

(IV) Ezra (2), eldest child of Ezra (r) and 
Bathsheba (Sargent) Tucker, settled in Henniker, 
New Hampshire, as early as 1766, and in 1772 pur- 
chased a_ place upon which he moved, and there 
passed his remaining days. He was a soldier at 
Crown Point in 1756 and 1758, in the French and 
Indian war, and was in the Revolution ; was com- 
missioned second lieutenant in Captain Emery's 
company, Colenel Thomas Stickney's regiment, 
March 5, 1776, and was at the battle of White Plains! 



1670 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



October 28, 1776. He was a prominent man in the 
town for many years. He died October 26, 1S04. 
He married Hepsibah Pressey, daughter of John 
and Mercy Pressey, of Kingston, New Hampshire. 
She died September 22, 1801. Their children were: 
Ezra, Betsey, Hannah, Jonathan, Phebe, Thomas, 
David, and three other children of whom there is 
no record. 

(V) Nathan, son of Ezra Tucker, was born in 
Poplin (now Fremont), October 18, 1764. He set- 
tled in Salisbury, New Hampshire, on the west 
side of the pond, and his farm was recently owned 
by his grandson, Levi W. Tucker. On March 14, 
1782, he married for his first wife Lydia Stevens, 
and for his second wife he married Mary Welch 
of Canaan, this state. The children of the first 
wife were : Rev. Joseph, Hannah, Polly. Caleb, 
Ezra and Nathan. Those of his second wife were: 
Lydia, Eliza and Lucinda. (Nathan and descend- 
ants are mentioned at length in this article). 

(VI) Ezra, third son and fifth child of Nathan 
and Lydia (Stevens) Tucker, was born March 22, 
1793. He went from Salisbury to Grafton, where 
he resided until his death, the date of which is not 
given in the records examined. He married Judith 
Burbank, of Boscawen, and was the father of twelve 
children : John, Daniel, George W., Lydia, Mar- 
tha. Oliver, Nathan, Elsie, Alice, Sophronia, Mary 
and Judith. 

(VH) John, eldest son and child of Ezra and 
Judith (Burbank) Tucker, was born at Salisbury 
in 1812. When a young man he went to reside in 
Springvale, Maine, where he was engaged in farm- 
ing "for a short time, and going to Dover, New 
Hampshire, was connected with the Manufacturing 
Company for the rest of his life, which terminated 
May 14, 1852. In 1832 he was married to Eliza 
Huzzey, of Springvale, who survived him many 
years and died in 1887. She became the mother of 
six children: Mary Eliza (who died young). 
George H., Edward Martin, Sarah J., John and 
Marv Eliza. 

(VIII) Edwin Martin Tucker, M. D., second 
son and third child of John and Eliza (Huzzey) 
Tucker, was born in Springvale, April 22, 1839. 
His early education, which was begun in Dover, 
included a commercial course at a mercantile school 
in Boston, and his preliminary medical studies were 
directed by Dr. L. G. Hill, of Dover. At the break- 
ing out of the civil war he suspended his profes- 
sional preparations, and on September 5, 1861, en- 
listed .in Battery C, Massachusetts Light Artillery. 
September 20, 1862, he was severely wounded dur- 
ing an engagement at Shepherdstown, Virginia, 
and was conveyed to a military hospital in Phila- 
delphia, where he subsequently received an honor- 
able discharge from the service on account of phys- 
ical disability. Having sufficiently recovered, in 
1864 he re-cnlisted, was accepted by the examining 
surgeons, and assigned to duty as hospital stew- 
ard in the Twenty-fourth Regiment, Veteran Re- 
serve Corps, with which he served until the close 
of the war. In December, 1865. he was appointed 
a hospital steward in the regular army by General 
Grant, and served in that capacity for a period of 
six years, or until December, 1871, when he re- 
signed in order to complete his professional studies. 
Prior to leaving the army he was a medical student 
at Georgetown, District of Colimibia, University, 
and entering the medical department of Bowdoin 
College in 1872 he was graduated in July of the 
following year. Locating for practice in Canaan, 
he found in that town and its environments a most 
promising field for professional advancement, and 



availing himself of the excellent opportunities open 
to him he built up a large general practice, which 
he has ever since retained. In politics Dr. Tucker 
is a Republican. He formerly served upon the 
school board, also upon the board of health and 
for many years has acted as a justice of the peace. 
His professional society affiliations are with the 
New Hampshire State and the White River Med- 
ical societies. He was made a Mason at Dover 
in 1865, and is now a member of Summit Lodge 
of Canaan, and also of Belknap Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons, of Dover. He joined the Knights 
of Pythias forty-one years ago, and at the present 
time is a member of Mount Cardigan Lodge of 
Canaan. He also belongs to Helping Hand Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and the Sons 
of the Revolution, is a comrade of Admiral Farra- 
gut^ Post, No. 52, Grand Army of the Republic, of 
Enfield, and was in 1895 medical director of the 
department of New Hampshire. He is an ardent 
Baptist, a member of the First Baptist Church of 
Canaan, New Hampshire. Dr. Tucker married 
Miss Mary Albina Kimball, daughter of Peter and 
Nancy A. (Adams) Kimball, of Grafton, this state. 
He has one daughter, Luie Albina, who was born 
April 28, 1884. Dr. Tucker is of Revolutionary de- 
scent. His great-great-grandfather, Moses Bur- 
bank, was in the battle of Bunker Hill, and his son, 
Jonathan Burbank, served from 1776 to the close 
of the war. 

(VI) Caleb, fourth son of Nathan and Lydia 
(Stevens) Tucker, born in Salisbury, November 6, 
1789; died in Wilmot, March 29, 1834, was a sub- 
stantial and prosperous farmer. He married, De- 
cember 26, 181 1, Dorothy Bean, second daughter of 
Jeremiah and Mehitable (Garland) Bean, of Sal- 
isbury. They had ten children : Samuel Reed 
(died young), Samuel Reed, Joseph Bean, Mehit- 
able Bean, Mercy, Hannah Hackett, Judith Emeline, 
Lydia Cox, Charles Walter and Thomas Brown, 
whose sketch follows. 

(VII) Thomas Brown, youngest child of Caleb 
and Dorothy (Bean) Tucker, was born in Wilmot, 
August 17, 1830. He attended the common schools 
until fifteen years old, and then began to serve an 
apprenticeship at the machinist's trade in Manches- 
ter. After a residence of about five years in Man- 
chester he removed to Providence, Rhode Island,, 
where he rose by successive promotions to the po- 
sition of superintendent of the works in which he 
was employed. Failing health forced him to give 
up this place, and he then engaged in mercantile 
business in Rhode Island until 1857, when he re- 
turned to New Hampshire and succeeded Hiram 
Bell in the management of the old National 'Hotel 
at Henniker. In 1859 he returned to his former 
occupation of manufacturer of fine tools and builder 
of machinery at Providence, where- he remained 
until ill health again compelled him to give up 
that business, some years later. He returned to 
New Hampshire and immediately purchased the 
Kearsarge House at Warner, which he conducted 
for the ensuing six years. The seven years fol- 
lowing this period he operated the Washington 
House at Pittsfield, whence he move^ to Peter- 
borough, where he pursued the same calling for 
many years, until he transferred the business to his 
son. Although compelled by circumstances over 
which he had no control to relinquish one line of 
business, Mr. Tucker achieved a success in enter- 
taining the traveling public equal to that which he 
attained in making machinery. He was a genial 
and agreeable host, always ready "to welcome the 
coming and speed the parting guest," and widely 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1671 



and favorably known. His house acquired the rep- 
utation of being .a model place for the entertam- 
ment of the public. In financial matters Mr. Tucker 
has been successful. He owns valuable land and 
some of the principal buildings in Peterborough, 
and has been a director in the savings bank. In 
politics a Democrat, he took early an mterest 
in public affairs, and has filled various political 
ofifices. While residing in Pittsfield he was sheriff, 
county commissioner, etc. He has been active in 
local affairs in Peterborough and has filled the oflice 
of president of the board of water commissioners. 
He retired from active business, and is now enjoy- 
ing the leisure and comforts that a successful life 
has brought him. He married, in Rhode Island, 
Susan Ruth Cross Clarke, born in Kingston, 1835, 
and died September 5. 1901, aged sixty-six years, 
eight months and three days, daughter of Samuel C. 
Clarke of Narragansett Pier, Rhode Island. They 
have one child, whose sketch follows. 

(VIII) George Samuel, only child of Thomas 
Brown and Susan R. (Clarke) Tucker, born in 
Henniker, New Hampshire, July 12, 1858, was ed- 
ucated in Providence, Rhode Island. His whole 
life since attaining the required age has been de- 
voted to hotel management. While yet a boy he 
left school to aid his father in this line of employ- 
ment, and with the exception of two years spent 
in completing and managing the new hotel at Dart- 
mouth College, he was associated with his father 
until the latter retired about 1890. Since that time 
he has managed Tucker's Tavern with such care 
and skill as to increase the comforts and the pat- 
ronage and extend the reputation of that already 
well known hostelry. Mr. Tucker is an able, en- 
ergetic and progressive man of the younger gener- 
ation, abreast of the times in all that pertains to 
public matters, and as a citizen occupies a prorni- 
nent place in the community. His political affilia- 
tions are with the Democratic party. He is a mem- 
ber of Peterborough Lodge, No. 15, Independent Or- 
der of Odd Fellows, of Peterborough, and of Union 
Encampment, filling all the chairs in the latter. He 
married in Boston, December 25, 1886, Evelyn Gen- 
evieve Barker, born in Exeter, Maine, May 12, 
1865, daughter of John and Clarinda (Ginn-Robin- 
son) Barker. Thev have one daughter. Marguerite 
Clarke, born Julv 17, 1888. 

(II) Joseph, third son and fifth child of INIorris 
and Elizabeth (Gill) Tucker, was born in Salis- 
bury. February 20, 1672, and died June 30, 1743. 
On November 27, 1735. he gave his son, Moses, of 
Kingston, his homestead, which was on the road 
from "the mills" to Hampton, in consideration of 
maintenance. This was deeded back by Moses 
July 13, 1738, and on the same date the father 
deeded the homestead to his son James, for three 
hundred dollars in province bills of credit. This 
deed also included other land. In 1729 the father 
deeded to JaTnes forty acres on which the latter 
then lived. He married, 1695 (published October 
14), Phebe Page, born November 17, 1674. daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Martha (Dow) Page, of Haver- 
hill. She died December 29, 1736. A Phebe Tucker 
was admitted to the Salisbury church. June 18, 
1718. The children of this marriage were: James, 
Samuel, Joseph, Moses, Ebenezer, and Phebe. 

(III) James, eldest child of Joseph and Phebe 
(Page) Tucker, born in Salisbury, April 25, 1697, 
died July 7, 1769, in his seventy-third year, and 
was buried in the South Plain cemetery. The in- 
ventory of his estate exceeded £500. He married, 
June 15, 1721, Hannah True, born in Salisbury, Au- 
gust 28, 1698, daughter of Deacon William and 



Eleanor (.Stevens) True. She died July 18, 1773. 
Their children were: Henry, Elizabeth, Jabez, 
Martha, James, Eleanor, Ebenezer and Henry. 
(Mention of Ebenezer and descendants appears in 
this article). 

(IV) Jabez, second son and child of James (i) 
and Hannah (True) Tucker, was born January 
6, 1727, and died March 6, 1781. He married in 
Salisbury, January 5, 1748, Ruth Morrill, born Au- 
gust 27, 1727, in Salisbury, 'and died December 6, 
1819, daughter of Benjamin and Ruth (Allen) 
Morrill (see Morrill, IV), and they had children: 
Jabez, Benjamin, Ruth (mother of Ralph Waldo 
Emerson), Hannah (died young), Molly, Miriam, 
Mica j ah, James, John and Hannah. 

(V) James (2), fourth son and eighth child of 
Jabez and Ruth (Morrill) Tucker, was born April 
15, 1766, and died in Pittsfield. June 26, 1841. 
Hannah Cram Tucker, his wife, born March 7, 1769, 
died February 8, 1842; they had children: Ruth, 
Jabez, Benjamin, Sally (died early), David, Jona- 
than, Sally. James, Hannah. Only two, Ruth and 
Hannah, the oldest and youngest, lived till twenty- 
one years of age. 

(VI) Hannah, daughter of James (2) and Han- 
nah (Cram), Tucker, married John S. Tilton, of 
Pittsfield, and died in Pittsfield, November 10, 1891, 
leaving no children. Had one child that died in 
infancy. 

(IV) Ebenezer, son of James (i) and Hannah 
(True) Tucker, was born on the Tucker home- 
stead in Salisbury. Massachusetts, June 18, 1737, 
and spent his entire life in that town. He died 
August 14, 1814. His will, dated April 15, 1814, 
with that of his father, is now in possession of his 
grandson, James Tucker, of this sketch. He mar- 
ried (first), December 5, 1758, Mary Adams, and 
(second), December 6, 181 1, Hope Present, of Ken- 
sing. New Hampshire. He had children as fol- 
lows all bv his first wife: Sarah, born October 6, 
1759. William, December 26. 1760. Stephen, Jan- 
uary 12, 1763, died previous to 1814, leaving a son 
John. Bettv. May 4, 1765, married William 
True. Samuel Adams, May 11, 1767- Ebenezer, 
January 8, 1769. James, August 21, I77i- Han- 
nah. September 23, 1773; never married. Mary, 
October 9. 1775, married Moses Gill, died Novem- 
ber 23, 1821. Martha, November 2, 1777, married 
Samuel Huntoon. Benjamin, February 29, 1780, 
died Julv 23, 1801. 

(V) James (2), seventh child and fifth son of 
Ebenezer and Hannah (True) Tucker, was born 
in Salisbury. August- 21, 1771, and died June 16, 
1842, aged seventy-one years. He succeeded to the 
ownership of the ancestral homestead, which had 
been in the Tucker family since 1690, and followed 
agriculture, the calling of his ancestors, throughout 
his life. He married, April 24, 1803, Nancy Fificld, 
who was born in Hampton Falls, New Hampshire, 
October o, 1783. daughter of George and Mary 
(Marston") Fifield, of Hampton Falls. She died 
April 20, 1852, aged sixty-nine years. Twelve chil- 
dren were born of this marriage. Of these, two 
died voung, and ten grew to mature age. They 
were:' Benjamin. Mary Adams, Ebenezer, Nancy, 
Clarissa, Ruamy Dodge, Sally Brown. Lavonia, So- 
phronia and James, who is mentioned below. Ben- 
jamin married Betsev Q. Gale; Mary A. married 
Asa F. Kimball; Ebenezer married Ethehnda 
Wadleigh; Nancy became the wife of Hiram Col- 
lins: Clarissa married Charles Morrill; Ruamy D. 
married John C. Jewell; Sally B. became the wife 
of Enoch Morrill : Lavonia married Benjamin S. 
Blake; and Sophronia, Moses Morrill. 



1672 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(VI) James (3), fourth son and twelfth child 
of James (2) and Nancy (Fifield) Tucker, was 
born in Salisbury, Massachusetts, December 6, 
1823. He was educated in the public school and 
after leaving school served an apprenticeship of 
three years and four months at the blacksmith's 
trade at Haverhill. He then worked a short time 
in Amesbury, and afterward went to North An- 
dover, where he was employed for a year in Miller 
& Blood's machine shop. During the seven or 
eight years following he worked in the shops in 
New Hampshire, being employed successively at 
Salmon Falls, Great Falls, and Conway. May 8, 
1848, he became an employe of the Boston & Maine 
Railroad Company, and was stationed at Somers- 
worth. New Hampshire, where he remained until 
November i, 1855, when he was made foreman of 
the repair shop of the Northern Division of the 
Boston & Maine Railroad Company at Sanborn- 
ville, in the town of Wakefield, New Hampshire, 
and has charge of seventy men. He has been in the 
employ of the Boston & Maine for sixty years, and 
is now (1908) eighty- four years old, and the oldest 
man in the employ of the company, yet he is a.s 
active as a man of fifty, and can always be found 
in business hours at his office or about the yards 
of the place. His geniality and fund of anecdote 
and humor make him popular wherever he is 
known. In 1870 he served as selectman of the town 
of Wakefield. For well on three score years he 
has been a member of the most ancient of existing 
fraternal organizations — the Free Masons — having 
been inducted into Libanus Lodge, No. 49, Free and 
Accepted Masons, in Somersworth, New Hamp- 
shire, May 16, 1854. He was master of Unity 
Lodge, No. 62 the first eight years of its existence. 
He is also a member of Carroll Royal Arch Chap- 
ter, No. 23, of Wolfeboro, and of Dover Lodge, No. 
84, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and 
an honorary member of all the organizations of 
engineers. He was a charter member of Songo- 
nombe Tribe, Improved Order of Red Men, in 1888. 
James Tucker married, June 8, 1848, Mary E. Hale, 
who was born in Haverhill, Massachusetts, March 
18. 1822, and died March 2, 1895, daughter of Sam- 
' uel and Anna (Plummer) Hale. Five children 
were born of this union : John Chandler, April 
21, 1849; died June 3, 1849. Willis Herbert, 
Frances Hale, James Fifield, and Sophronia. 
John Chandler was born in Somersworth and died 
in Haverhill, Massachusetts. i. Willis H. was 
born in Somersworth, New Hampshire. 2. Fran- 
ces H. was born in Somersworth and married Wil- 
liam F. Hanson, by whom she has one child, Willis 
C. Hanson, a locomotive engineer. 3. James F., 
also born in Somersworth, is also a locomotive en- 
gineer. He married Mary F. Brackett. by whom he 
has eight children : Charles H., Grover C, James 
C, Willard B., Morris A., Willis F., Harris W. 
and Mary Elizabeth. 4. Sophronia, born in Wake- 
field, is the wife of Irving -D. Rice, of Sanborn- 
ville, by whom she has one child, Dorothy Fran- 
ces, living, two having died in infancy. 



This name is found early in 
MARSHALL Massachusetts, and has been 

identified with New Hampshire in 
a conspicuous w'ay. It has been borne by a very 
considerable number of men of prominence in this 
country. A chief justice of the United States 
Court, an orator and statesman from Ohio, and a 
prominent lawyer from New Hampshire are among 
the leading citizens of this name. 

(I) John Marshall appears at Billerica, Massa- 



chusetts, in 1656-7 but the place of his origin has 
not yet been discovered. On February 4 of that 
year he was granted a six acre lot in Billerica. His 
first allotment of the common lands was twenty 
acres, lying partly on the township and partly on 
the commons ; bounded by John Sheldon, north ; 
by the commons, east; by Peter Bracket, south; 
by Mr. Whiting and William Pattin, west ; also a 
parcel of land reserved for "ye ministry on ye 
west and partly on ye south and partly by East 
street on the south west." The last bound is a 
reminiscence of the ancient Andover road, before 
it was added in 1660 to its present place ; and the 
location is east of the narow gauge railroad line 
as it runs south from the street. When the road 
was altered he was allowed a private way across 
Sheldon's land to reach his own. He received 
later grants further east and sold his first grant, as 
above described, to Dr. Samuel Frost. The road 
running east across Loes' Plain was early known 
as Marshall's Lane, and a house lot, which was 
occupied by the family on the east road near the 
turn of this lane, was standing as late as 1883. 
According to a deposition made by John Marshall, 
as found in the Massachusetts Archives, he was 
born about 1617, the time of his deatli, November 
5, 1702. He was styled in the record Sargeant 
John Marshall. He was married November 19, 
1662, to Hannah Atkinson, who was probably a 
daughter of Thomas Atkinson, of Concord, Massa- 
chusetts. She was born March 5, 1644, and died 
September 7, 1665. John Marshall married (sec- 
ond) November 27, 1665, Mary Burrage, a daughter 
of John Burrage, of Charlestown. She died Octo- 
ber 30, 1680, aged thirty-nine years, and he married 
(third) November 30, 1681, Damaris Waite, a 
widow, of ]\Ialden. She was married (third) 
July 14, 1703, to Lieutenant Thomas Johnson of 
Andover. John Marshall's children were : John 
(died young), Mary (died young), Johanna, John, 
Mary. Hannah, Thomas, Isaac and Mehitabel. 

(II) John (2), second son and fourth child of 
John (I) and Mary (Burrage) Marshall, was born 
August I, 1671, in Billerica, and resided in that 
town where he died January 25, 1714. He was 
married December 8, 1695, to Unis Rogers, a daugh- 
ter of John (2) and Mary (Shedd) Rogers, and 
granddaughter of John (i) Rogers of Watertown, 
Massachusetts. His children were : Mary, John, 
Daniel, Unise, Thomas, Samuel, William and Isaac. 

(III) Thomas, third son and fifth child of John 
(2) and Unis (Rogers) Marshall, was born March 
28, 1706, in Billerica, Massachusetts, and lived in 
Tewksbury, where he died September 8. 1778- His 
first wife, Ruth (surname unknown) died July 5, 
1741, and he subsequently married Mary (surname 
unknown), who died July 7, 1770. He married 
(third) Phoebe Phelps, widow of Francis P. Pep- 
perell. She died January 15, 1779- Their children 
were: Thomas, Samuel, Joseph, John, Abel (died 
young), Jonas, Ruth, Joel, Silas, Rufus, Mary, 
Daniel, William, Hannah (died young), Hannah 
and Abel. (Samuel and Joseph and descendants 
receive mention in this article). 

(IV) Thomas (2), eldest child of Thomas (i) 
and Ruth Marshall, was born November 23, 1729, 
in Tewksbury, and was one of the foremost citi- 
zens of Chelmsford, Massachusetts. He was a man 
of excellent ability and respected, for his upright 
character and example. He was a soldier in the 
Revolution and the town records attest his worth 
thus: "Thomas Marshall died very suddenly much 
lamented, March 25, 1800." He was married m 
Chelmsford, February 22, i753, to Hannah Frost. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1673 



(V) Isaac, son of Thomas (2) and Hannah 
(Frost) ^Marshall, was born December 25, 1757, in 
Lhchiisford, and was a soldier in the revolution 
and pensioner. In 1790, he removed from Chelms- 
ford to Pelham, New Hampshire, where his hrst 
wife died. He was a farmer in that town where 
he died November 15, 1840. He married (second) 
September 5, 1809, jNIehilabel Tenney, who was born 
February 28, 1779, in Pelham, a daughter of Daniel 
and Elizabeth (Dole) Tenney. She died September 
22, 1849. 

(VI) Daniel, son of Isaac and Mehitabel (Ten- 
ney) Marshall, was born November 9, 1816, in Pel- 
ham, where he was a prosperous farmer and a 
highly respected citizen. He was educated in the 
common schools, and was raised and spent his life 
a farmer. He was a member of the Congregational 
Church in which he was a leader. In politics he 
was a Democrat, and being a man of natural ability 
and possessing the contidence of his townsmen, he 
was elected to various public otfices. He was jus- 
tice of the peace for years, selectman, and repre- 
sentative in 1862-3 in the New Hampshire legisla- 
ture. Member of the constitutional convention. 
He was often called upon to give his neighbors 
counsel and advice, and was frequently employed in 
the settlement of estates and other probate business. 
He was married January 9, 1838, to Hannah Jane 
Campbell, who was born August 3, 1817, in Wmd- 
ham. New Hampshire, daughter of Captain William 
and Margaret (Hughes) Campbell. They lived to 
celebrate the golden anniversary of their wedding 
and nearly ten more years were added to their 
wedded life. He died September li, 1897. His 
widow died March 4, 1907, aged ninety years. They 
were the parents of five children, and also one, 
Isaac C, who was adopted. He is now living in 
Pelham, a retired farmer. Three of these children 
are livmg : William O.. who lives in Laconia ; 
Louise, who married Edwin Bell, and lives in Low- 
ell ; and Moses R., whose sketch follows next. 

(VII) Moses Runnel, second son and fourth 
child of Daniel and Hannah Jane (Campbell) Mar- 
shall, was born in Pelham, May 17, 1848. He was 
educated in his native town and New Hampton 
Institute and business college., and assisted 
his father on the farm until he was eighteen 
years old, leaving school at that time, vvhen 
he went to Nashua, where he was a salesman in a 
clotliing store for three years until he came of age, 
when he engaged in the clothing business in Low- 
ell, Massachusetts, where he remained ten years. 
From Lowell he removed to New Hampshire, and 
settled in Meredith, and represented that town in 
the legislature in 1883. The following year he 
settled in Manchester, and for the next ten years 
dealt in ice and fuel. In 1898 he bought the in- 
terest of the heirs of Aretas Blood in the B. H. 
Piper Compiiny, of which he is treasurer. This 
company was organized in 1850, and incorporated 
in 1890. It employes about twenty men, and manu- 
factures handles, spokes, and base ball bats and 
other wooden utensils. Mr. Marshall's enterprise 
and industry have brought him ample financial re- 
turns, and his frank and open-hearted manner has 
made him a wide circle of friends. He married, 
August I, 1872, Emily C. Brown, who was born in 
Nashua, March 2, 185 1, daughter of William W. and 
Caroline (Belterley) Brown of Nashua (See 
Brown). They have one child, Ethelyn Louise. 
Mrs. Marshall is a lady of culture and re- 
finement, and is a member of the Daughters 
of the American Revolution, and one of the 
board of managers of IMolly Stark Chapter 



of that organization. Ethelyn Louise married Allen 
E. Cross, of Brooklyn (See Cross family). They 
have two children. Mr. and Mrs. Marshall attend 
the Franklin Street Congregational Church. 

(IV) Samuel, second son and child of Thomas 
(I) and Ruth Marshall, was born May 10, 1732, in 
'lewksbury, Massachusetts. He was an active and 
useful citizen of Chelmsford, in the same state. His 
descendants are many and widely scattered. He 
was married Jjmuary 2, 1755, to Esther Frost, of 
Billerica, who was born February 17, 1730, in that 
town, daughter of William and Elizabeth (Wilson) 
Frost. 

(V) Abel, son of Samuel and Esther (Frost) 
Marshall, was born September 9, 1764. in Chelms- 
ford, Massachusetts, and lived in that town and in 
Lyme, New Hampshire. In his last days he re- 
turned to his native town and died there. He was 
married March 11, 1788, to Polly Flint, and their 
children were: Abel, Micajah, Polly, Hannah, 
Sally, Samuel, John, Rhoda, Harriet and George. 

(VI) Micajah (Macaiah), second son and child 
of Abel and Polly (Flint) Marshall, was born 
January 30, 1790, in Chelmsford, and died in Lyme, 
New Hampshire, May 23, 1882, at the age of ninety- 
two years. When eighteen years old he removed 
with his parents to Lyme, where the remaining 
seventy-two years of his life were spent. He was 
a well-to-do farmer, and much respected. He was 
ever a true friend to the poor, and in his long 
record of years many a deed of charity and whole- 
souled benevolence is warmly remembered by a 
large circle of friends. His public enterprise led 
him to assist in building churches and school- 
houses, and he contributed liberally of his means 
in every way for the public good. He belonged to 
no church ; but was nevertheless a man of Christian 
spirit and deeds. At the time of his death he left 
five brothers and sisters, the oldest of whom was 
ninety-two and the youngest seventy-three. He 
married (second), Martha Southard, who survived 
him. He was the father of sixteen children, none 
of whom are now living. 

(VII) Anson Southard, son of Macaiah and 
Martha (Southard) Marshall, was born in Lyme, 
December 3, 1822, and died in Concord, July 5, 
1874. His boyhood was passed on his father's 
farm. In early life he was a child of delicate 
constitution, but as he grew older he became strong 
and healthy. At an early age he inclined toward 
learning and study, and after fitting himself by 
eighteen months of study at the academy at Thet- 
ford, he entered Dartmouth College, from which 
he graduated with the class of 1848. His first em- 
ployment after graduation was school teaching. 
About the year 1849, the town of Fitchburg, Massa- 
chusetts, established a high school, and the com- 
mittee having the selection of teachers in charge 
chose Mr. Marshall from a large number of appli- 
cants. He was a popular and successful teacher, 
and in after years his pupils spoke of him with 
enthusiasm and affection. While in Fitchburg he 
entered the law oflice of Wood & Torrey, but on 
account of the duties incumbent on him as a 
teacher the time he spent in the study of law there 
was limited. In 1851 he removed to Concord, New 
Hampshire, where he lived to the day of his 
death. Entering the law office of President Pierce 
and Judge Josiah Minot, he made good progress 
in his studies, and the next year was admitted to 
the Bar. A partnership was formed with his 
former college classmate, Henry P. Rolfe, which 
continued until 1859, and was then dissolved, Mr. 
Marshall remaining alone until 1863, when William 



1 674 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



M. Chase, Esq., became associated with" him under 
the name of Marshall & Chase. This relation 
continued until the death of the senior partner. .\ir. 
Marshall possessed in a high degree many of the 
requisites to success at the bar, and to the law he 
devoted the best years of his life. He was not a 
learned nor even an unusually well read lawyer, 
yet very few excelled him in getting at the gist of 
a case, or in applying the necessary legal principles. 
He possessed a conlidence and courage which 
helped him to conquer difficulties that others might 
have deemed insurmountable, and above all a tact 
that never failed him. He was uniformly courte- 
ous not only to the bench and to the bar, but to 
the witnesses arrayed against him. His knowledge 
of human nature was large, and he knew almost 
by intuition which juryman needed his particular 
attention. But it was as an advocate that Mr. Mar- 
shall attracted the notice of the public, for he so 
invested his arguments with wit and humor, that 
the court room was sure to be filled whenever it 
became known that he was to address a jury. His 
manner of speech was quiet, but he never failed 
to indulge in invective and sarcasm if the case 
demanded it, and with these weapons he was 
counted a most dangerous adversary. He rarely 
if ever wrote out and committed his speeches, but 
carefully thought them out as he walked the streets 
or sat in his home, and this, together with his 
exceeding readiness both of words and of apt 
illustrations, often misled his hearers as to the 
method of his preparation. His law practice con- 
stantly increased, and at the time of his death was 
one of the largest in the state. 

It was not in the law alone that Mr. Marshall 
was a power in the land; he was a factor in politics 
as well. He was a stalwart Democrat, and his 
associations were with the leading men of that 
faith in the state, one of them being President 
Pierce, and another Judge Minot, one of the wisest 
counselors of the party at that time. He was 
elected clerk .of the house of representatives, and 
later was appointed district attorney by President 
Buchanan, which office he held until the Republi- 
can administration was inaugurated in i86i. In 
the year 1867 he was chairman of the Democratic 
state committee. At that time the troubles between 
President Andrew Johnson and the Republican 
party were at their height, and the Democrats of 
New Hampshire hoped to profit by Republican dis- 
sensions, and elect their candidates. The fight 
was bitter and hotly contested, but Mr. Marshall 
and his party were beaten. In the spirited contest 
between the Northern and the Concord railroads 
Mr. Marshall was an active factor, and about 1870 
was elected clerk of the latter corporation, which 
position, as well as that of attorney for the com- 
pany, he held until the time of his death. 

He had a great liking for boys and young 
men, and delighted in giving them advice in regard 
to their_ studies and conduct. He was naturally a 
very bright and witty conversationalist, and in this 
accomplishment his vast reading was of great ser- 
vice to him. He had a well selected library and in 
the perusal of books of literary merit he took great 
delight. His strong memory enabled him to retain 
long passages from Shakespeare, Milton and others, 
and these he not unfrequently quoted while in com- 
pany of his friends, and so accurately that he sel- 
dom halted for a word. His love of nature was 
very strong, and he often sought rest from his 
labors, and communion with the things of nature, 
by driving over the country roads and among the 



woods. It was on one of these outings that he 
met his death. On July 4, 1874, he drove with his 
wife and child to the grove at the head of Pena- 
cook Lake, where they intended to lunch. Some 
members of a militia company of Concord were 
shooting at a target nearby. Hearing the bullets 
whistling over the heads of his party, Mr. Mar- 
shall shouted to the militiamen to be careful. At 
that instant a bullet struck him in the abdomen, 
passing through his body. He exclaimed, "1 am 
shot and fatally wounded," and sank down. All 
was done that could be done to save his life, but 
he died a few hours later, July 5, 1874. 

Mr. Marshall married, April 9, 1861, Mary lane 
Corning, born in Londonderry, March 23, 1829, 
daughter of John C. and Elizabeth (Nesmith) 
Corning (see Corning HI), and they had one son, 
Anson Southard, Jr., born in Concord, March 29, 
1863. He attended the public schools of Concord, 
fitted for college under the instruction of Moses 
Woolson and Amos Hadley, and entered Dart- 
mouth College in the class of 1885. He is now 
practicing law in Concord. 

(IV) Joseph, third son and child of Thomas (i) 
and Ruth Marshall, was born April 3, 1733, in 
Duxbur}', Massachusetts, and died January 27, 1805, 
in Hillsborough, New Hampshire, where he was an 
early settler. He married Susannah Walker, who 
was born January 23, 1747, and di^d December 22, 
1821. Their children were: Asa, Benjamin, Joseph, 
Ebenezer, Jonathan, John, Betsa, Rufus, Thomas, 
Moses, Jesse, Sarah, Hannah, Silas and Walker. 

(V) Silas, eleventh son and fourteenth child of 
Joseph and Susannah (Walker) Marshall, was born 
August 13, 1780, in Hillsborough, and continued to 
reside in that town where he was. a carpenter and 
farmer. He was married (first) April 29, 1806, to 
Catherine Houston, of Hillsborough, who died 
April 27, 1819. He married (second) December 
6, 1821, Abigail Robbins, who was born May 3, 
1765, and died September 15, 1848, in Hillsborough. 
The children by the first wife, were : Sarah, 
(died young), Gustine, Emily, Louisa, Catherine 
Miller and Caroline Susannah. The children of 
the second wife were : Asa R., and Sarah C. 

(VI) Gustine, eldest son and second child of 
Silas and Catherine (Houston) Marshall, was born 
May 15, 1806, in Hillsborough Lower Village and 
died in Concord, New Hampshire, July 30, 1869. 
He got his education in the common schools and 
learned the carpenter's trade under the supervision 
of his father. They worked at building together 
for some time, until Gustine removed to Nashua, 
where he was employed several years as overseer 
in one of the cotton mills. He then engaged in 
the dry goods business in Nashua and after a few 
years, disposed of his general stock and was a 
successful milliner there. This business was pros- 
perous and was gradually extended until branch 
stores were opened in three or four of the leading 
towns of the state. He continued in this line of 
business imtil 1861 when he retired from active 
life. In the fall of 1862 he removed with his 
family to Concord, where his wife carried on a 
millinery store for several years thereafter. He 
was married to Emily Heald, who was born August 
16, 181 1, in Temple, New Hampshire, and died at 
Concord, February 26, 1874, in her sixty-third year. 
She was the dau.ahter of Nathan Heald (see Heald, 
VI). Four children were born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Marshall, namely: Sylvester Gustine, Emily Maria, 
Frances Ellen, and Julia Maria. 

(VII) Frances Ellen, second daughter and third 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



167 



/D 



child of Gustiue and Emily (Heald) Marshall, be- 
came the wife of Edward Stockbridge (see Stock- 
bridge, VII). 



This is a name which has been con- 
WALKER spicuous in the entire history of New 
England and has been especially 
noted in New Hampshire. It was borne by the 
first minister of the First Church of Concord, and 
the line has furnished others equally prominent in 
jurisprudence, or otherwise honored in both private 
and public life. The stern virtues which made the 
early bearers of the name useful and valued citi- 
zens of the infant colony of Massachusetts are still 
evidenced in the life of their posterity, showing the 
the virility and mental force which characterized 
them. 

(I) Captain Richard Walker, founder of this 
line, is first found of record at Lynn, Massachusetts, 
in 1630, when he was ensign of the local military 
company. As the settlers of that town were Eng- 
lish, there is no doubt that he was of the same 
nativity, but the place of his birth is unknown and 
its time can only be approximated. The time of 
his death is indicated by the record which shows 
that he was buried at Lynn, May 16, 1687, when 
his age is given as ninety-five years, indicating that 
his birth occurred about 1592. He was made a 
freeman in 1634, at Lynn. In 1631 the neighboring 
Indians threatened the infant settlement, and En- 
sign Walker was in service on guard. One night 
he heard a noise in the forest near him and felt 
an arrow pass through his coat and buff waistcoat. 
He discharged his gun into the bushes, and it was 
burst by the heavy charge it contained. He gave 
the alarm and returned to his post, after which 
he was again fired at. The next day an assemblage 
of men made a demonstration which frightened 
away the marauders for some time. In 1637 Mr. 
Walker was a member of the committee which 
made division of the common lands of the com- 
munity, and in 1638 he received an allotment of 
two hundred acres, upland and meadow. In 1645 
he accompanied Robert Bridges and Thomas Mar- 
shall in negotiating with Lord de la Tour and 
Monsieur D'Aulney, governors of French provinces 
on the north. As reward for his services in this 
expedition Lieutenant Walker received four pounds 
sterling. In 1657 he was one of those who deposed 
as witnesses against the claim to Nahant of Thomas 
Dexter, who had purchased it from an Indian for 
a. suit of clothes. In 1678 he was one of the select- 
men, then called "the Seven Prudential Men." The 
name appears in the muster roll of the Honorable 
Artillery Company of England in 1620. Upon the 
petition to the general court made by the new troop 
of Lynn, formed in 1679, that he be its commander 
(which petition was granted), he is called "Captain 
Walker." He was by occupation a farmer. His 
wife, Sarah, was the administratrix of his estate. 
He had two sons and two daughters, and may have 
had others. The elder son, Richard, born in Eng- 
land in 161 1, was at Reading in 1635, and repre- 
sented that town several times in the general court. 
The other receives extended mention below. His 
daughter Tabitha was married March 11, 1662, to 
Daniel King ; and the other, Elizabeth, married 
Ralph King March 2, 1663. 

(II) Samuel, younger son of Richard Walker, 
was born in England, and came with his father to 
New England in 1630. He settled first in Reading, 
which was originally Lynn Village, and moved 
thence to Woburn (formerly Charlestown Village), 
where he is found of record in a tax list of 1655, 
and again February 25, 1662, having been appointed 



a surveyor of highways at a town meeting of that 
date. He was selectman in 1668. He was a maltster, 
and in 1662 received the first license to sell spirits 
granted in Woburn. It seems that his good 
nature at one time overrode his judgment, as it 
is of record that he was fined ten shillings for sell- 
ing to a notorious toper, the latter being fined five 
shillings at the same time for being drunk. That 
he was a man of character and standing is evi- 
denced by the fact that he was one of a committee 
of five appointed at a meeting held March 28, 1667. 
empowered to divide the public lands. For this 
service the committee received seven acres for 
themselves, in addition to the several allotments to 
them as individuals. He died November 6, 1684, 
aged about seventy. His first wife, whose name is 
unknown, bore him seven children, namely: Samuel, 
Joseph, Hannah (died at four months), Hannah, 
Israel, John, Benjamin. (Mention of Israel and 
descendants appears in this article). His second 
wife, Ann, was the widow of Arthur Alger of 
Scarborough, and daughter of Giles Roberts of that 
place. She died in Woburn March 21, 1716. She 
was the mother of Mr. Walker's two youngest chil- 
dren, namely: Isaac and Ezekiel. 

(III) Samuel (2), eldest son of Samuel (i) 
Walker, is entitled successively in the records of 
Woburn, corporal, sergeant and deacon, and was 
evidently a man of importance and influence in 
the town. He served as selectman in 1679 and re- 
peatedly afterwards. After the imprisonment of 
the tyrant Sir Edmund Andros, who sought to cur- 
tail the liberties of the colonists while governor of 
New England, Mr. Walker was a delegate to the 
convention held in Boston in 1689 to form a new 
system of government, and in 1694 was representa- 
tive of Woburn in the general court. He was made 
a deacon of the church in 1692 and continued in 
that office until his death, which occurred January 
18, 1703, at the age of sixty-one years. He was mar- 
ried September 10, 1662, to Sarah Reed, of Woburn 
(daughter of William and Mabel Reed), who bore 
him six sons and a daughter. She died November i, 
1681, and he was married April 18, 1692. to Abigail, 
daughter of Captain John Carter, widow of Lieu- 
tenant James Fowle of Woburn. His eldest son 
Edward was killed by Indians in battle at Wheel- 
wright's Pond, Lee, New Hampshire, July 6, 1690. 
The others were named John, Samuel, Sarah, 
Timothy, Isaac and Ezekiel. (Mention of Isaac 
and descendants appears in this article). The 
daughter, Sarah, became the wife of Edward John- 
son, a son of Major William Johnson, and grand- 
son of Captain Edward Johnson, founder of Wo- 
burn. 

(IV) Samuel (3), third son of Samuel (2) and 
Sarah (Reed) Walker, was born January 25, 1668, 
in Woburn, and was married June i, 1689, to Judith 
Howard of Concord, Massachusetts. P'or several 
years he lived on Maple Meadow Plain, in that part 
of Goshen, now Wilmington. In 1725 he moved to 
the southern part of Burlington (then Woburn) and 
resided in a house which was still standing in the 
middle of the last century, and in which he died 
September 28. 1744, in his seventy-seventh year. He 
was made a deacon of the First Church of Woburn 
in 1709, and when the Second Church was formed 
in what is now Burlington, he aided in its organiza- 
tion, and was one of the ten signers of the articles of 
agreement and church covenant made November 10, 
1735- He was one of those who ordained Rev. 
Supply Clapp as its first pastor. October 29, of that 
year, and was elected one of the first two deacons 
November 10 following. He continued in that 
office until his death, and was buried in the old 



1676 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



Burlington burying ground. His wife, Judith, died 
November 14, 1724, in her lifty-seventh year, and 
he subsequently married Mary (Richardson), widow 
of James Fowle. She survived him four years, 
passing away October 23, 1748, in her eightieth 
year. The tirst wife was the mother of his chil- 
dren, namely: Sarali (married Samuel Buck), Ju- 
dith (married, first, Ephraim Kendall and, second, 
Samuel Johnson), Abigail (died at twenty-one), 
Samuel, Hannah (married Edward Wyman) John 
(died at two weeks old), John (died one month 
old), Mary (married Benjamin Johnson), Timothy 
and Phebe (wife of Noah Richardson). 

(V) Rev. Timothy, son of Deacon Samuel (3) 
and Judith (Howard) Walker, was born July 27, 
1705, in Woburn, and died at Concord September 
I, 1782. As the first settled pastor of Penacook, 
later Rumford and now Concord, he exercised a 
powerful influence upon the community because of 
his learning and ability and his solicitude for the 
temporal, as well as the spiritual, welfare of his 
flock. He was graduated from Harvard College in 
1725, at the age of twenty years, and was probably 
for a time at Penny Cook. That he was known 
favorably to the people is indicated by the fact that 
the plantation voted in October, 1729, to raise one 
hundred pounds for minister's salary and March 
31, 1730, to engage Rev. Timothy Walker as pastor. 
Upon his acceptance it was agreed that the salary 
should be increased two pounds per year until it 
reached one hundred and twenty pounds, and a 
stipulation was made that a reduction should be 
accepted in proportion to his ability when great age 
should weaken his powers. It is apparent that 
the New England fathers were careful, as well as 
pious ■ business man. This settlement included his 
right to a proprietary share set aside for the first 
minister, and the colony kindly voted him one 
hundred pounds with which to build a house, and 
this was increased by a further vote of fifty pounds 
January 16, 1734. He was ordained as pastor No- 
vember 18, 1730, and was reckoned among the town 
proprietors for that time. When the second appro- 
priation was made for his house a proviso was made 
that he receipt in full for salary to date, this being 
deemed prudent because of the depreciation in value 
of silver in which he had been paid. In 1736 he 
was granted fifty pounds, to secure the clearing of 
pasture for his use. At the time of his ordination, 
Benjamin Rolfe, the newly elected town clerk, also 
a graduate of Harvard, was the only educated man 
in the settlement beside himself, and they naturally 
took prominent positions in the management of 
affairs. Mr. Walker being the senior and looked up 
to on account of his position, was regarded and re- 
spected as the father of the community, as in truth 
he was. Many of the petitions and other public 
papers of the time were drafted by him, and he 
undertook to defend the rights of the town in its 
lands, which others sought to obtain. Finding no 
redress before the general court of New Hamp- 
shire because of the fact that the grant of Rum- 
ford was made by the Massachusetts colony (under 
th supposition that it was within its jurisdiction), 
Mr. Walker made three trips to England to lay the 
matter before the King in Council, between 1753 
and 1762. He made many acquaintances among 
ecclesiastics and public men in these visits, and im- 
pressed them so favorably that he won his suit on 
the last trial in the fall of 1762, and the people of 
what is now Concord enjoyed their possessions little 
disturbed by white men thereafter. Up to 1739 the 
Penacook Indians had been friendly to the 'settle- 
ment, especially regarding Mr. Walker, but the 
machinations of the French people on the north 



stirred up Indian animosity and more distant tribes 
began to threaten disaster. In 1739 a garrison was 
established about the house of Mr. Walker and at 
other points, and these were maintained during 
the King George war. Just before the battle of 
Bennington, during the revolution, a messenger 
approached the church while Mr. Walker was 
preaching, and upon his entrance the preacher 
asked him if he had any communication to deliver. 
Being informed that men were desired to proceed 
at once to the field of danger, Mr. Walker said: 
"As many of my hearers as are willing to go had 
better start immediately." 

The first home of Mr. Walker was in a log 
house in the brow of Horseshoe Pond hill, and his 
frame house was constructed in 1733-4. After 
various alterations, it is now occupied by his great- 
grandson. He was a man of medium stature, of 
fine figure and dignified and pleasing manners. 
Though not talkative, he was not austere, and some- 
times became facetious. Naturally of hasty temper, 
he held himself under superb control, and never 
failed to ask pardon if he had injured anyone's feel- 
ings. Exact in business and daily life, he was held 
in high regard by all his flock. With mild blue 
eye and fair complexion, he wore, in accordance 
with the custom of the time, large powdered wig, 
with small clothes and large buckle shoes. The 
"History of Concord," by his third successor. Rev. 
Nathaniel Bouton,- gives many anecdotes of his life, 
and other interesting matters not permissible in the 
limitations of a work of this kind, and herewith 
follow extracts from that work, touching the teach- 
ings of Mr. Walker : "As a preacher, Mr. Walker 
was instructive and practical, dwelling more on the 
duties than the doctrines of religion. * * * jjjg 
style was good for that period, perspicuous and 
didactic, with but few illustrations, but well sup- 
ported with quotations from scripture. In his 
theological views Mr. Walker was 'orthodox,' ac- 
cording to existing standards. * * * In distinction 
from those preachers who in his day were called 
"New Lights,' he was accused of being an xA.rminian, 
Init called himself a "moderate Calvanist.' He was 
highly conservative, as regarded innovations and 
new measures. * * * At this tiine all of Mr. 
Walker's hearers were of one way of thinking in 
religious matters, and his object was to keep them 
together and make them steadfast in the 'religion 
and church order which was very dear to our 
forefathers.' " During his ministry of nearly fifty- 
two years he enjoyed vigorous health, and was able 
to preach nearly every Sunday down to his death, 
which occurred immediately after he arose on a 
Sunday morning. The town of Concord erected at 
his grave a slate slab, which is still standing in the 
old cemetery. 

Of the children of Rev. Timothy Walker, his 
namesake receives extended mention hereinafter. 
His wife, Sarah Burbeen, was a daughter of James 
Burbeen, of Woburn, Massachusetts. She was born 
June 17, 1 701, was married to Mr. Walker, Novem- 
ber 12, 1730, and came at once to her wilderness 
home in New Hampshire, riding on horseback, and 
accompanied by several other women, wives of 
settlers. She passed away February 19, 1778, and 
her body rests beside her husband's. Sarah, their 
first born died when four years old. _ Sarah, the 
third, born August 6, 1739, married Benjamin Rolfe 
and, after his death, in 1772, Benjamin Thompson, 
afterward Count Rumford. Their daughter be- 
came Countess Sarah Rumford. Mary, born De- 
cember 7. 1742, married Dr. Ebenezer Harnden 
Goss, of Concord, and who removed to Brunswick, 
and later to Paris, Maine. Judith, the youngest, born 




HOUSE OF FIRST MINISTER AT CONCORD 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1677 



December 4, 1744, became the wife of Major Abiel 
Chandler (see Chandler VI) and lived in Con- 
cord, and after his decease became the wife of 
Henry Rolfe, of the same town. 

(.VI) Timothy (.2), only son and second child 
of Rev. Timothy Walker, was born June 26, 1737, 
in Concord and reared on the paternal farm. He 
is said to have been a favorite among the Indians, 
who often decorated him with paint and feathers 
and entertained him at their homes. His father 
gave attention to his education and sent him to 
Harvard College when he was fifteen years of age, 
and he completed the regular course at the age of 
nineteen years, graduating in 1756. For two years 
thereafter he taught school at Bradford, Massa- 
chusetts, and meantime and subsequently pursued 
a theological course, partly presumably with his 
father. He was examined at an association meet- 
ing in Haverhill, Massachusetts, and licensed to 
preach September 11, 1759. During the absence of 
his father in England, 1762-3, he preached at Rum- 
ford and other places. He continued preaching 
about six years, and invited to settle as pastor at 
Rindge, but had become immersed in business and 
never settled in that capacity at any point, though 
frequently filling the pulpit there and elsewhere for 
a time. He formed a partnership with Colonel 
Andrew McMillan in the mercantile business No- 
vember 25, 1765, and continued one year in trade 
with him at the southern end of the village of Rum- 
ford, after which he kept a store which he opened 
near his father's residence (at the upper and of 
the present Main street) until the time of the revo- 
lution. 

He was zealous in prosecuting the struggle for 
American liberty and his time was chiefly occupied 
in the service of his country from the beginning 
of hostilities. He was a member of the fourth 
provincial congress which assembled at Exeter, New 
Hampshire, IMay 17, 1775. On the third day he 
was appointed a member of the committee to secure 
supplies for New Hampshire troops, then in the 
vicinity of Boston. In August he was sent, with 
Mr. Ichabod Rawlings, to ascertain the losses sus- 
tained by New Hampshire men at the battle of 
Bunker Hill, and make them compensation, as well 
as to advance a month's pay to those who had en- 
listed in the Continental service. These duties were 
performed to the acceptance of the provincial con- 
gress, and the record makes interesting reading, as 
found in the seventh volume of New Hampshire 
State Papers. Mr. Walker was commissioned Sep- 
tember 5, 1775, as colonel of the third of four 
regiments of ]\Iinute-men raised by New Hamp- 
shire, and immediately proceeded to drill his troops 
and prepare for action when needed. From the 
fourth to the sixteenth of October he was payma-ster 
of troops under Colonels Stark, Poor and Reid, at 
Winter Hill, and was again appointed to that duty 
December 2."] by the provincial congress. On June 
II, 1776, he was a member of the committee ap- 
pointed by the house of representatives which suc- 
ceeded the provincial congress, under a temporary 
constitution, to draft a Declaration of Independence. 
This draft was adopted and at once forwarded to 
the continental congress in session at Philadelphia. 
Soon after Colonel Walker was placed upon a com- 
mittee to devise a systematic plan of finance which 
should pay the indebtedness of the state and pro- 
vide for impending obligations. When the associ- 
ated test was sent out by the continental congress, 
Colonel Walker was among the first to sign and 
his influence aided in securing the signature of 
every one to whom it was presented in Concord — 
one hundred and fifty-six in all. From July S, 1776, 



he served to January 20, 1777, on the committee of 
safety. From December of that year until Decem- 
ber, 1779, he was a member of the council, and on 
March 26, 1777, he was chosen by the legislature 
as a delegate to the continental congress, and again 
in 1778, 1782 and 1785, though he never attended. 
He was delegate from Concord to the constitutional 
conventions of 1778 and 1781, and on constitutional 
revision in 1791. In 1777 he became associate justice 
of the court of common pleas, and continued upon 
the bench until retired by reason of the age limit, 
being chief justice from 1804 to 1809, when he 
retired. He was three times a candidate for gover- 
nor, being the first Democratic candidate, but was 
defeated by the overwhelming strength of the 
Federal party in the state. While participating in 
the larger concerns of state, he did not despise the 
aft'airs of his native town, and was moderator 
twenty-one years between 1769 and 1809. For nine 
years beginning with 1769 he was town clerk and 
was selectman twenty-five years, being chairman 
of the board all except four. He was instrumental 
in bringing the legislature, of which he was a mem- 
ber, to meet in Concord in 1782, and was ever ready 
to advance his home town in every way. He felt 
an especial interest in the young men of the town, 
and was wont to aid them with counsel or pecuniary 
assistance, as the case demanded. His long public 
service testifies to his ability, powerful character 
and uprightness, without further comment. He 
passed away at his home in Concord May 5, 1822, 
in his eighty-fifth year. 

He was married, previous to 1764, to Susannah 
Burbeen, who was born April 11, 1746, in Woburn, 
Massachusetts, daughter of Rev. Joseph Burbeen. 
She died at Concord September 28, 1828, in her 
eighty-third year. Of her fourteen children, ten 
grew to maturity, and are accounted for as follows : 
Sarah, born January 21, 1764, married Major Daniel 
Livermore; she was a widow fifty years, and died 
in 1843 at Cambridge, Massachusetts. Charles, born 
September 25, 1765, was a lawyer and lived in 
Concord. Timothy, born February 2, 1767, was a 
farmer in Concord. Esther, the ninth, died un- 
married at the age of twenty-five years. Betsey, 
born April 15, 1780, was the wife of Ehphalet 
Emery of Concord, and died in 1825. Joseph, born 
January 12, 1782, resided in Concord. Bridget, born 
January 1, 1784, married Jotham Stone, and died 
in Brunswick, ]\Iaine, in 1805. Polly, born March 
22, 1786, became the wife of Charles Emery of Con- 
cord, and after his death of Hon. Francis N. Fiske, 
of the same place, where she died. Clarissa, born 
July 27, 1788, married Levi Bartlett, and died m 
1845 in Boston. 

(IV) Isaac, fifth son of Samuel (2) and Sarah 
(Reed) Walker, was born November i, 1677, ni 
Woburn. and was one of the original grantees of 
what is now Concord, New Hampshire. He was 
married February 20, 1704, to Margery, daughter of 
George Bruce, and their children were: Abigail, 
Isaac, Ezekiel, Timothy, Anne, William, Elizabeth. 
Marv and Samuel. 

(V) Samuel, youngest child of Isaac and 
Margery (Bruce) Walker, was born August 10, 
1723, in Woburn, and lived in Amesbury, Massa- 
chusetts. He was among the twenty-one pro- 
prietors of "No. I," now the town of Warner, New 
Hampshire, who agreed at a meeting in Amesbury, 
August 9, 1763, to settle in that town. Like many 
others, he fulfilled this agreement by proxy, and 
his son Isaac is found among the first settlers of 
the town. 

(VI) Isaac (2), son of Samuel Walker, settled 
in that part of Warner known as "Schoodac," but 



1678 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



soon moved to another location, within half a mile 
of the first. The Schoodac cemetery is on part of 
his first farm. He was a soldier of the revolution, 
going from Warner, in which town he passed his 
life after that struggle, engaged in agriculture. 

(VII) Philip, son of Isaac (2) Walker, was 
born in 1763 and died in 1848, in Warner, on the 
paternal homestead. His eldest son, William B., 
born 1791, died 1872. He had several children, all 
of whom, except Mary E. Walker, of Concord, are 
deceased, leaving no issue. Jane, the tliird child, 
died unmarried. Sarah, the fourth, married Wil- 
liam Trusscll, of Boscawen, and died childless. 

(VIII) Isaac (3), second son and child of 
Philip Walker, was born June 6, 1794, in Warner, 
where he passed his life, and died January 31, 
1872. He was a farmer, and always lived on the 
ancient homestead. He married Mittie Clough, of 
Warner, and had two sons, Abiel and Reuben. The 
latter died when about fifteen years of age. 

(IX) Abiel, elder son of Isaac (3) and Mittie 
I Clough) Walker, was born January 15, 1824, on 
the paternal homestead, where most of his life was 
passed. When a young man he went to Lowell, 
Massachusetts, and was employed there some years 
as a house painter. There he was married May i, 
1850, to Mary Powers, daughter of a Methodist 
minister of Maine. About 1855 they settled on the 
old Walker place in Warner, and continued to re- 
side there until the death of Mr. Walker, in De- 
cember, 1893. His widow subsequently resided with 
her son in Concord, where she passed away in June, 
1903. Mr. Walker was liberal in religious views, 
and was a firm Republican in politics. 

(X) Reuben Eugene, only child of Abiel and 
Mary (Powers) Walker, now justice of the su- 
preme court of New Hampshire, was born Febru- 
ary 15, 1851, in Lowell, Massachusetts, and was a 
child when his parents removed to Warner. In 
the common schools of that town he received his 
primary education, and was subsequently a student 
at the New London Literary and Scientific Institu- 
tion (now Colby Academy) and Brown University, 
graduating from the latter in the class of 1875. He 
immediately entered upon the study of law with 
Sargent & Chase, of Concord, and was admitted to 
the bar in 1878. It is worthy of note that he is 
now a colleague of one of his preceptors on the 
supreme bench of the state (see Chase). He 
formed a partnership with Robert A. Ray, now of 
Keenc, this state, under the style of Ray & Walker, 
and continued to practice under this arrangement 
for about five years, after which he practiced alone 
about eight years, all in Concord. On April i, 1891, 
he became associated with Frank S. Streeter, of 
that city, and this arrangement continued ten years, 
being ended by the appointment of Mr. Walker as 
justice of the supreme court, in which capacity he 
has since served. This is not the first recognition 
of his worth and legal ability, as he was county 
solicitor of Merrimack county from 1889 to 1891, 
and a member of the legislature in 1895, represent- 
ing Ward Six of Concord. He is one of the au- 
thors of "Ray & Walker's Citations," a legal refer- 
ence work of standard merit. Always an indus- 
trious worker. Judge Walker brought to the public 
service a trained mind, and is still a steady worker, 
giving undivided attention to the duties of his re- 
sponsible position and serving his state acceptably 
and well. In religious faith he is a Unitarian, and 
he gives unfaltering support to the principles of 
public policy which seem to him just and best for 
the general welfare, as promulgated by the Repub- 
lican party. He was married, in 1875, to Miss Mary 
E., daughter of Lowell Brown, of Concord. She 



was born July 22, 1848, and died July 21, 1903. 
Their only child. Bertha May, born June 18, 1879, 
resides with her father. 

(III) Israel, third son and fourth child of 
Samuel (i) Walker (twin of Hannah), was born 
June 28, 1648, in Woburn, where he lived and 
died. By his wife, Susannah, he had four sons, 
Israel (died young), Henry, Nathaniel and Israel. 

(IV) Lieutenant Henry Walker appears in Hop- 
kinton, Massachusetts, in 1725, when he was one of 
the selectmen, and also served in that office in 
1726, 1727-28-29-30. He was moderator in 1727-28- 
29-30, and clerk in 1727-28 and 1730. Among those 
from Hopkinton in the expedition against the West 
Indies, in 1741, were Henry Walker and Henry 
Walker, Junior. The latter was the only one from 
Hopkinton that came back, the rest having perished. 
There were brobably other sons of Lieutenant Henry 
Walker, as the records show Thomas, Jason, Israel 
and Joseph to have been active and prominent 
citizens, all holding responsible offices repeatedly. 
With the exception of four years, the first of these 
was selectman continuously from 1736 to 1749. In 
1725 he was on the committee to raise the meeting 
house. He was town treasurer from 1736 to 1738 
and from 1741 to 1752. From 1750 to 1755 he was 
town. clerk. From 1761 to 1768 Jason Walker was 
treasurer. It is probable that Jason, Israel and 
Joseph were sons of Thomas, as they succeeded him 
in turn as selectman and in other town offices. One 
of these was probably the father of Jacob Walker, 
noticed below. 

(VII) Jacob Walker was among the proprietors 
of Morristown, Vermont, which was settled by peo- 
ple from Hopkinton and Winchendon, Massachu- 
setts. Heminway's "Historical Gazetteer of Ver- 
mont" says that he came from Bennington, Ver- 
mont, but the records of that town give no account 
of him. This makes it . appear that he was only 
a transient resident of Bennington. There can be 
little doubt that he came originally from Hop- 
kinton. He was the first to locate in Morristown, 
coming there in .1790. During the first season he 
boarded with a family located in the adjoining town 
of Hyde Park, and started out every Monday morn- 
ing with a week's provisions, spending the time in 
camp on his land, engaged in clearing away the 
forest. He returned to Bennington for the winter, 
and brought his family in the spring. That season 
was spent upon the land and in the fall they re- 
turned to Bennington for the winter. He made a 
permanent settlement in 1792, and became one of the 
prosperous farmers of the town. He built a brick 
house which is still in use, on the west side of the 
road from Morristown to Morrisville, and cleared 
up and tilled a large farm. 

(VIII) William, son of Jacob Walker, was born 
July I, 1814, in Morristown, and died March 20, 
1902, in Manchester, this state. He grew up on the 
paternal farm, attending the local school, and en- 
gaged in farming until he was incapacitated for 
hard labor, being located upon a part of his father's 
original homestead. By the kick of a horse, several 
of his ribs were broken, affecting his heart, and he 
was obliged to abandon farming. He built and 
operated for several years a mill for extracting the 
oil of flaxseed. About i860 he moved to East 
Andover, New Hampshire, and was employed some 
time as wheelwright and carpenter. After living 
a short time in Concord he passed the last thirty- 
two years of his life in Manchester, where he died 
as above noted. He was a firm believer in the 
doctrines of the Advent Church, and a staunch 
Republican from the organization of that party. 
His wife, Rhoda Story, was a native of Vermont, 




a. 



SuCfccr. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1679 



daughter of Jacob (?) Story. Thcv had onl}- one 
child. 

(IX) Stilman DeWitt, only child of William 
and Rhoda (Story) Walker, was born July 10, 
1847, in Morristown, and was about thirteen years 
old when the family rnoved to Andover, this 
state. He attended the public schools of Vermont 
and New Hampshire, and was a student at Andover 
Academy. At the age of seventeen years he began 
his railroading career as brakeman ^on a freight 
train on the Concord railroad, and continued in this 
service thirty-five years, resigning in January, 1900. 
For three years he was conductor of a freight train, 
and was passenger train conductor fifteen years. 
Having retired from the road, Mr. Walker invested 
his savings in real estate, and spends his time 
chiefly in the care of his tenements on South State 
street, Concord. While in the. railroad service he 
kept up membership in the Order of Railway Con- 
ductors, and was for several years a member of 
the Knights of Pythias. He was among the or- 
ganizers of the Christian Science Church of Con- 
cord, and is one of its most faithful adherents. In 
politics he is a Republican, but has never given any 
time to public matters, beyond registering his sup- 
port of his principles. 

Mr. Walker was married, October 7, 1873, to 
Nettie S. Virgin, daughter of William Virgin, of 
Concord. She died March 20, 1882, and Mr. Walker 
was married, in October, 1882, to Mrs. Alma B. Buz- 
zell, widow of Charles S. Buzzell, and daughter of 
Porter and Lorinda (Reed) Dow, of Walden, Ver- 
mont. Charles S. Buzzell was a son of Gilbert 
Buzzell, one of the oldest residents of Concord. 
Mrs. Walker's daughter, Genevieve Buzzell, is now 
the wife of Jesse C. Danforth, of Braintree, Massa- 
chusetts. She is a native of Concord, where she 
is known and appreciated as a talented singer. 
(Second Family.) 
(I) A line of Walker ancestry not 
W'ALKER hereinbefore traced begins, as far as 
now known, with Archibald Walker, 
a tailor, who immigrated from Scotland and settled 
in Province, Rhode Island, where he was as late as 
1700. He is reported by tradition to have been a 
very worthy man. He married Mary Gardner, and 
had the following children : Charles, Susanna, Abi- 
gail, Hezekiah, Nathaniel and Ann. 

(II) Nathaniel, third son and fifth child of 
Archibald and Mary (Gardner) Walker, was born 
1708, in Providence, and settled when a young man 
in Weston, Massachusetts. He was admitted to the 
church in Weston, 1728. He was a captain and an 
active man in town afifairs. In 1748 he removed to 
Sturbridge, Massachusetts, where he died February 
8, 1783. He was married, March 8, 1732, to Subrhit 
Brewer, born July 18, 1709, died in Sturbridge, No- 
vember 22, 1791, daughter of Lieutenant John and 
Mary (Jones) Brewer, of Weston. Lieutenant John 
was a son of John Brewer, of Sudbury, Massachu- 
setts, Nathaniel and Submit Walker were the 
parents of James. Nathaniel, Phineas, Lydia, Josiah, 
Submit, Asa, Joel, ]\lary, Benjamin, Lucy, Benjamin 
and Beulah. Ten children were born in Weston and 
three in Sturbridge. Eleven of these children lived to 
an average age of over eighty-three years. The rec- 
ords of Weston show that the north precinct of 
the town voted November 10, 1747, to pay two 
pounds, fifteen shillings and six pence to Nathaniel 
Walker for work on the meeting house. From this 
it may be inferred that he was a carpenter. 

(HI) James, eldest child of Nathaniel and 
Submit (Brewer) Walker, was born November 15, 
1732, in Weston, and was among the first settlers 



of Belchertown, Massachusetts, where he located in 
1755- He served in the French and Indian war in 
1757, and was captain of the ninth company of the 
Fourth New Hampshire Regiment in the Revolution. 
He was selectman of the town in 1783 and 1786-87. 
He died in 1806, in his seventy-fourth year. He was 
married twice, and had eight sons, five of whom re- 
sided in Belchertown. 

(IV) Nathaniel (2), sixth son of James and 
Esther (Shummy) Walker, was born April 30, 1770, 
in Belchertown, where he passed his life, engaged in 
farming, and reached a great age. He was married, 
Alarch 4, 1799, to Thankful Morse, and they had 
children named : Morse, Orimcl, Nathaniel B., 
Appleton, Wayne, Eliza (Blackman), James and 
Emeline (Chapman). 

(V) Nathaniel Brewer, son of Nathaniel (2) 
and Thankful (Morse) Walker, was born March 13, 
1812, in Belchertown, and died in Concord, New 
Hampshire, January, 1887. He was educated in the 
common schools of his native town, and afterward 
learned the trade of silver plater, at which he worked 
in Albany, New York, and other places, finally com- 
ing to Concord from Boston, Massachusetts, about 
1843. He bought the interest of Mr. Chandler, of 
the firm of Blackman & Chandler, the former being 
a brother-in-law of Mr. Walker, and the new firm 
took the name of Blackman & Walker, silver platers. 
Later Leland A. Smith purchased an interest in 
the firm which then took the name of Jason Black- 
man & Company. On the retirement of Mr. Black- 
man in January, 1855, the firm name became Smith 
& Walker. From that time the firm remained un- 
changed until the death of Mr. Walker. The busi- 
ness, which at first was confined to silver plating, 
subsequently included saddlery hardware, wdiich in 
a few years became the principal feature ot the 
business. During the last year of the firm's existence 
the business was almost exclusively wholesale. The 
firm of Smith & Walker was prosperous, and each 
of the partners possessed a competency before the 
death of ■Mr. Walker. He was a Republican and a 
member of the city council two years. In religious 
faith he was a Universalist. The only social organ- 
ization of which he was a member was the Webster 
Club. . His character as a business man was very 
high, and he was noted for his honesty and in- 
tegritv. 

He married (first) Abby Ellinwood, of Antrnn, 
who died about 1867, by whom he had two children: 
Edward, who died in Boston about 1901, and Charles 
H., a graduate of Harvard College, now a physician 
in Pasadena, California. He married (second), June 
2, 1873, Lorinda A. Adams, ^ daughter of Nathaniel 
and Betsy S. (Kimball) Patch, widow of Stephen 
D. Adams. She was born in Henniker, September 
20, 1834, and had one child by her first marriage: 
Eugene P. Adams, born in Concord, December 10, 
1864. Lorinda A. Patch is a granddaughter of 
Reuben Patch, a Revolutionary soldier, who resided 
in New Boston, and soon after 1797 removed to 
Henniker (see Patch, V). 

The thickening mill has left us sev- 
WALKER eral words of familiar import, among 

which is Walker. Claiming as it 
does an almost unrivalled position in the rolls of 
our nomenclature, it reminds us of the early fashion 
of treading out the cloth before the adaptations 
of machinery were brought to bear on this phase of 
the craft. Walker has disappeared as a term of 
trade, and it is in the directories alone that the 
name declaring the forgotten mysteries of early 
English cloth manufacture can be found. 



i68o 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



(I J George Walker was born in England. He 
received a common school education, and by occu- 
pation was a gardener. In later life by diligence 
and skill he became a head gardener. He was a 
member of the Church of England. His wife's 
baptismal name was Jvlartha, and they had four 
children : Hannah, Isaac, William, Betty and 
George. 

(H) Isaac, eldest son and second child of 
George and Martha Walker, was born in Warwick- 
shire, England, November 22, 1801. After getting 
such education as he could in the common schools, 
he worked in coal mines and cotton mills for years. 
In his later life he accompanied Dinah Murray in 
preaching tours about the country. He married 
(.first), June 4, 1823, Alary Part; and (second) 
Maria Anthony. By the first wife he had three chil- 
dren : Samuel, Mary and William ; and by the 
second, six children : Sarah, Martha, Isaac, Anna, 
George and Lydia. 

(HI) Isaac (2), third child and eldest son of 
Isaac (i) and Maria (Anthony) Walker, was born 
in Derbyshire, England, May 5, 1838. After getting 
a common school education he worked in a tape 
factory at Worksworth until he was sixteen years 
old. in 1856 he left England, and came to America 
via Liverpool and Boston on the "Wilderforley," 
landing at the latter place in 1856. In Boston he 
learned the trade of carriage smith, and later be- 
came master mechanic in the rope factory of Soule 
& Day, where he was employed twenty-five years. 
In 1903 he removed to Merrimack, New Hampshire, 
and bought a farm of eleven acres, where he has 
since resided. Mr. Walker is a member of the 
Episcopal Church, and has always devoted much 
of his time and attention to religion and religious 
subjects. He was licensed as a local preacher in 
England, and as such preached there. He continued 
this after settling in Boston, and was the principal 
assistant of the evangelist Henry Morgan. Since 
settling in Merrimack he has continued to preach, 
though now retired. It was through his efforts that 
the Sunday school at Merrimack was revived. In 
politics he is a Republican. 

He married, in Roxbury, Massachusetts, March 
17. 1859, Hannah Ball, who was born in Holland 
March 14, 1839, daughter of Cornelius and Wil- 
helmina (Warner) Ball. She is one of thirteen chil- 
dren, only two of whom are now living. They have 
had six children: Samuel; Willie, died young; 
Isaac, died young; Charles L. ; Anna Marie; and 
Mary, died young. Mrs. Walker is a member of the 
Baptist Advent Church. 



The earliest known ancestor of this 
WALKER line was Charles Walker, of Brad- 
ford (now Groveland) Massachu- 
setts, who was married August 29, 1/73, to a Miss 
Mary Atwood, of that town. She was born April 
15, 1752, daughter of John and Mary Atwood. 
Their children were : James, David and Jonathan 
(twins), Betsey and William. No record of his re- 
moval has been found, and it is presumed that he 
lived and died there. 

(II) William, youngest child of Charles Walker, 
was born August 25, 1786, in Bradford, and was 
married February 25, 1808, at Haverhill, Massa- 
chusetts, to Betsey Gay. She was the daughter of 
a sea captain, and is supposed to have been born 
in Salem, Massachusetts, tradition giving that as 
her birthplace. After his marriage William Walker 
resided for a time in Chester, New Hampshire, 
whence he removed about 1824 to Amoskeag. Dur- 
ing the first year of his residence there he kept a 



hotel, and later was landlord of a tavern some 
years at " 'Squag," now a part of West Manchester. 
He was the first landlord of the Amoskeag House, 
which is still standing at Amoskeag, also now a 
part of Manchester. In 1830 he moved to Andover 
Center, where he conducted a tavern until 1835, 
when he removed to Concord and became the pro- 
prietor of the Washington Tavern, and a year later 
of the Eagle Coffee House, situated on the site 
now occupied by the Eagle Hotel. This tavern was 
the most noted establishment of its kind in New 
Hampshire, and was patronized by the representa- 
tive people who visited the state capital. He died 
August 2, 1858, in Concord. Mr. Walker was a 
capable business man, and fond of good horses. 
A fine black horse owned by him was bought and 
presented to General (afterwards President) Pierce, 
by his admirers in 1847, in the time of the Mexican' 
war. William Walker and Betsey Gay, who was 
born January 16, 1790, and died March 22, 1862, 
in Concord, were the parents of Sarah Bradley (died 
in infancy), William, James Parsons, Nancy Long, 
born December 19, 1819, who married Cyrus Hill, 
November 26, 1838, and died October 13, 1897, at 
Lancaster; and Gustavus. 

(Ill) Gustavus, third son of William and Bet- 
sey (Gay) Walker, was born at Amoskeag, May 
7, 1830, and died May 5, 1902, aged almost seventy- 
two years. Before he was a year old his father 
removed his family to Andover Center, where the 
next five years of the boy's life were spent. In De- 
cember, 1835, the family removed to Concord, where 
William Walker became proprietor of the Wash- 
ington Tavern, and a year later of the famous Eagle 
Coffee House, which he conducted until 1849. Gus- 
tavus was educated in the schools of Concord, at 
Hopkinton under the tuition of John O. Ballard, at 
Portsmouth under Master Harris, at Phillips An- 
dover Academy, under "Uncle Sam" Taylor, and 
at Northfield Seminary. His familiarity from the 
age of five to nineteen years with the guests at his 
father's hotels gave him an extensive acquaintance 
which proved of much value to him in after years, 
in 1846 he became messenger for Cheney & Com- 
pany, who were the successors of his brother Wil- 
liam Walker in the express business, continuing 
in this capacity till the latter part of the year 1849. 
In the season of 1850 and 185 1 he was clerk of the 
steamer "Lady of the Lake," on Lake Winnipiseo- 
gee, built and commanded by William Walker. 

March i, 1852, Gustavus Walker and Hon. David 
A. Warde formed a partnership and engaged in the 
hardware business in Concord under the firm name 
of Warde & Walker. Three years later (1855) Mr. 
Walker embarked in the same business in the 
Phoenix block, under his own name, and for thirty- 
eight years thereafter, was one of Concord's most 
honored and active merchants. Retiring in 1883 
with a competency, he devoted himself to the care 
of his own property and the estate of his brother 
William, who had died without issue the year 
previously. The two properties were extensive and 
embraced some of the most desirable pieces of real 
estate in Concord. In his early years Mr. Walker 
became deeply interested in the question of trans- 
portation, and this interest remained through life. 
To the matter of obtaining for Concord the best 
possible railway connections he gave his earnest 
attention. He was largely instrumental in securing 
the construction of the Peterborough and Hills- 
borough railroad, and was an ardent advocate of the 
building of the Concord and Rochester railroad, of 
which he was president. He was long an active 
member of the Concord fire department. Mr. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1 68 1 



Walker was full of activity and energy ; he knew 
what labor is and delighted to perform it, and en- 
joy the fruits of his toil. He knew the results of 
industry; and never forgot that energy and industry 
directed by good judgment, must win. His life 
record is an epitome and an illustration of what 
the exercise of these virtues brings to him who 
avails himself of them. Naturally honorable, he 
ever kept in view the fact that an untarnished 
record is a man's highest recommendation. His 
life was one of honor and usefulness to the com- 
munity in which he lived. He married, January 
30, 1865, JNIary Clintina Butler, born January 31, 
1844, in Greentield, New Hampshire, eldest daugh- 
ter of John D. and jNIary Colby (Burnham) Butler, 
of Bennington, who survives him. Two children of 
this marriage died before their majority. 



This somewhat numerous family is 
LEAVITT descended principally from two very 

early English immigrants, John and 
Thomas Leavitt. Nothmg is known of the time 
of Thomas Leavitt's arrival in America, or from 
what part of England he came, although it is prob- 
able that he was from Lincolnshire or its vicinity, 
as were his connections, the Hutchinsons, the Wheel- 
wrights and the Wentworths. He may have been a 
brother of John Leavitt, the immigrant. In 1639 
he was not twenty-one years of age. 

(I) Thomas Leavitt, one of the first settlers 
of Exeter, and a signer of the "Combination" in . 
1639, removed to Hampton as early as 1644. After 
his marriage he lived on the Asten homestead, and 
died November 28, 1696, aged "above eighty." He 
married Isabella (Bland) Asten, daughter of Joshua 
and Joanna Bland, of Colchester, England, and 
widow of Francis Asten, who died a year or two 
before. She died February 19, 1700. Their children 
were: Hezron, Aretas, John, Thomas, James (died 
young), Isabel, Jemima and Heriah, but the order is 
unknown. 

(II) Hezron, son of Thomas and Isabella 
(Bland) (Asten) Leavitt, who may have been their 
second child, died November 30, 1712, aged un- 
known. He married, September 25, 1667, IMartha, 
probably a daughter of Anthony and Philippa Taylor, 
pioneer settlers, and the first of the name in Hamp- 
ton. She died in 1716. Their children were : Lydia, 
John, James, Moses, Thomas, Mary, and perhaps 
Abigail and Sarah. 

(HI) Moses, fourth child and third son of Hez- 
ron and Martha (Taylor) Leavitt, was born in 
Hampton, January 30, 1674, and died before 1733. 
He kept a tavern near the Weare Marston place, 
which his widow conducted after his death. It 
was burned in 1733 and rebuilt. He married, De- 
cember II, 1700, Mary Carr, who died in 1747. They 
had six children: Mary, John, Moses (died young), 
Sarah, Moses and Anna. 

(IV) Captain John, second child and eldest 
son of Moses and Mary (Carr) Leavitt, was born in 
Hampton, July 24, 1706, and died May 11, 1779. 
He kept the tavern after his mother, at the old 
stand till 1751, when by invitation of thirty-six 
principal inhabitants of North Hampton he removed 
to "the Hill'' and built a tavern near the church. 
He was a popular landlord, a leading citizen, captain 
in the militia, and a justice of the peace. He 
married Abial (Marston) Hobbs, who was born 
in Hampton, March 23, 1718, and died January 21, 
1781. She was the daughter of Thomas and Deb- 
orah (Dearborn) Marston, and widow of Benjamin 
Hobbs. The children of this union were : Benjamin, 



John, Moses, Thomas, Mary, Deborah, Carr, Simon 
and Jeremiah. 

(V) Benjamin, eldest child of Captain John 
and Abial (Marston) Leavitt, was born August 27, 
'^12>7, and died in 1801. Like his ancestors he was 
an inn-keeper. He married Ruth Sanborn, who 
was born in Hampton, September 24, 1740, daughter 
of Ebenezer and Ruth (Sanborn) Sanborn, of 
Hampton. They had eight children. 

(VI) Ebenezer, fifth child of Benjamin and 
Ruth (Sanborn) Leavitt, was born Z^Iarch 2, 1771, 
and did in 1843. He married, 1792, Sally Jewell, 
who died in 185 1. 

(VII) William, youngest son of Ebenezer and 
Sally (Jewell) Leavitt, was born in 1814, and died 
1857. He was a moulder and machinist, and in 
1850 went to California, in search of gold. After- 
ward he went to British Columbia, where he died. 
He married Louisa Dalton. 

(VIII) Daniel Eben, son of William and 
Louisa (Dalton) Leavitt, was born August 4, 1844, in 
Chicopee, now Springfield, Massachusetts, and died 
at Wolfboro, New Hampshire, July 26, 1902. He 
was educated in the common schools of Rye, New 
Hampshire, and at an early age engaged in the 
rural peddling business for Frank Jones, of Ports- 
mouth. Later he was employed on the estate 
of Daniel Pierce, of Portsmouth. Still later 
he became bookkeeper for Lyman D. Spauld- 
ing, ironmonger, for whom he worked three 
years. He then bought the Oren Bragdon shoe 
store, which he carried on three years, and then 
became collector for Frank Jones, brewer. He 
occupied that position twenty years, until failing 
health compelled him to retire a few years before 
his death. In politics he was a Democrat. He 
was a member of Piscataqua Lodge, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and also of St. Johns Lodge, 
No. I, Free and Accepted ^Masons, of Portsmouth, 
and Edward A. Raymond Consistory, Sublime 
Princes of the Royal Secret, of Nashua, where he 
attained the thirty-second degree of Masonry. He 
married, in Portsmouth, April 21, 1868, Ellen Had- 
ley, who was born in Portsmouth, daughter of Gen- 
eral Josiah Gillis and Ann Perley Hadley, of Dun- 
barton. 



This family name under the forms 
LEAVITT Leavitt, Levitt, Levett, is among those 
found on the early records of New 
England. Thomas Leavitt was at Exeter, New 
Hampshire, as early as 1639. John was of Dor- 
chester, Massachusetts, in 1634. 

(I) Samuel (2), son of Samuel (i) and AI)iah 
Leavitt, was born in Deerfield. New Hampshire, 
March 14, 1774. He cleared up a farm in (Gilford 
overlooking Lake Winnepesaukee, on whicli his de- 
scendants are still living. He married and had 
children. 

(II) Samuel (3), son of Samuel (2) and ■ 

Leavitt, was born in Gilford, and was drowned in 
Lake Winnepesaukee, with his son Jonatlian. He 
married Martha Thurston, and they were the parents 
of nine children : Jonathan. Smith, Benjamin, 
Daniel, Marj', Roxanna, Abigail, and two who died 
young. 

(HI) Daniel Leavitt, fourth son and child of 
Samuel Leavitt. was born on the farm settled by 
his grandfather. May 22, 1833. The death of his 
father when Daniel was only a few years old left 
him and his two brothers to manage the farm, while 
they were yet quite young. But they were counseled 
bv a wise mother and succeeded in their efforts as 



1 682 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



young tillers of the soil, and Mr. Leavitt is now one 
of the foremost farmers in his town and resides on 
the old homestead. In politics he is a Democrat ; 
and in religion a Methodist. He married first, 

Elizabeth Thompson, and (second), Hannah . 

By the first wife he had two children : Abigail, who 
married Benjamin Woodman; and Nancy, who mar- 
ried Frank Wilkerson. 



This family, very numerously repre- 
CLOUGH sented in New Hampshire, is among 
the earliest of the state and among the 
most widely distributed therein. It is among the 
first established in Massachusetts and has furnished 
many leading citizens in both states, as well as in 
other sections of the United States. 

(I) John Clough (sometimes spelled Clufif) was 
a house carpenter, residing in Salisbury, Massachu- 
setts, and is supposed to have come from England, 
in the ship "Elizabeth," in 1635. He received land 
in the first division at Salisbury and again in 1640, 
and was a commoner and taxpayer in 1650, and he 
subscribed to the oath of fidelity in that year. He 
was born about 1613, and died July 26, 1691, in 
Salisbury. His will was made on the third day of 
the same mouth, and was proven in the succeeding 
November. His first wife, Jane, died January 16, 
1680, in Salisbury, and he married (second), Jan- 
uary 15. 1686, Martha Cilley. She survived him and 
was living in 1692. His children were : Elizabeth, 
Mary, Sarah, John, Thomas, Martha and Samuel. 
(Mention of Thomas and descendants occurs in this 
article.) 

(H) John (2), eldest son and third child of 
John (I) and Jane Clough, was born March 9, 1649, 
in Salisbury, where he was a yeoman, and sub- 
scribed to the oath of allegiance and fidelity in 1677. 
He was on record as a freeman in 1699, and his 
death occurred April 19, 1718. His will was made 
more than three years previously. He was married, 
November 13, 1674, in Salisbury, to Alercy, daughter 
of John and Mary (Marsh) Page, pioneers of Hing- 
ham and Haverhill. She was born April i, 1655, 
in Haverhill, and died January 25, 1719, in Salis- 
bury. She was admitted to the Salisbury church 
September 6, 1691. Her will was made in May, 
1718, and proven in May of the following year. 
Their children were : Benoni, Mary, John, Cor- 
nelius, Caleb, Joseph, Sarah, Jonathan, Mercy, 
Aaron and Tabitha. (Mention of Aaron and de- 
scendants appears in this article.) 

(HI) Joseph, fifth son and sixth child of John 
(2) and Mercy (Page) Clough, was born October 
14, 1684, in Salisbury, and died October 12, 1732, 
in Kingston, New Hampshire. He was a cord- 
wainer by occupation, and was a resident of Kings- 
ton as early as 171 1. He was of the constituent 
members of the church there in 1725, when the Rev. 
Ward Clark took charge, and his wife Mary was 
admitted March 20, 1726. They lost a child Sep- 
tember 9, 1727, name not given in the Kingston 
church records. The inventory of his estate was 
made November 23, 1732, and it was divided in Janu- 
ary, 1736, at Concord. He was married, August 
II, 1708, to Mary Jenness, who died October 11, 
1732. A memoranda in the church records of Kings- 
ton indicates that they were the parents of ten chil- 
dren. The names of the following are found: 
Ezra, Mazey, Joseph (died young), Joseph, Mary, 
Obadiah, Tabitha, Elizabeth, Love and Reuben. 
(The last named receives mention, with descend- 
ants, in this article.) 

(IV) Joseph (2), second son and third child 



of Joseph (i) Clough, was born July 4, 1717, in 
Kingston, and had a large family. 

(V) Jacob, youngest child of Joseph (2) Clough,, 
was born 1753, and settled in Hopkinton, New 
Hampshire, and is supposed to be the father of 
John Clough. 

(VI) John Clough was a soldier and died at 
Portsmouth, about 1819. He married Polly Boyce^ 
who died in Enfield, about 1858. They resided for 
a short time in a log house in the C3tterville dis- 
trict of New London, and had two sons. The 
first, John, was born in New London, January 31, 
1801, and became an eminent physician, practicing 
for half a century in Enfield and Lebanon. Polly 
Boyce was a daughter of Lieutenant Peggy and 
Jeanette Boyce, of Scotch-Irish lineage, from Lon- 
donderry, Ireland. Their family bible printed in 
Edinburgh in 1728, is now treasured by their great- 
grandson, General Joseph M. Clough, of New Lon- 
don. Lieutenant Boyce held a commission in the 
war of the revolution, and served at Bunker HilL 
and was with Stark at Bennington. 

(VII) Hugh Boyce, second son of John and 
Polly (Boyce) Clough, was born in 1802, in Sun- 
apee. New Hampshire, and in 1840 became a resi- 
dent of New London, where he had a farm of three 
hundred acres. He was strong and active in pro- 
moting the cause of human liberty, and was an as- 
sociate in the agitation against slavery of such, 
men as Garrison, Phillips and Pillsbury. He enter- 
tained Frederick Douglass at his home in 1842. He 
often served as a town officer, and died at New- 
London, July 27, 1887, at the age of about eighty- 
five years. He was married, in 1827, to Hannah, 
daughter of Zaccheus and Hannah (Hutchins) 
Messer. She was born November 8, 1808, in New 
London, and died March 14, 1888. Zaccheus Mes- 
ser was a son of Lieutenant Samuel and Sarah 
(Howe) Messer, and was born December 6, 1770,. 
and died January i, 1855, in New London. Zac- 
cheus and Hannah Messer were the parents of ten 
children, of , whom Hannah was the ninth. Hugh 
B. Clough and wife were the parents of a son and 
daughter, Joseph and Hannah A. The last named 
died before the completion of her fifteenth year. 

(VIII) Joseph Mosser, only son of Hugh B. and 
Hannah (Messer) Clough, was born Jun 15. 1828, 
in Sunapee, New Hampshire, and was reared from 
the age of twelve years in New London. His edu- 
cation was chiefly supplied by the common schools, 
and he spent six months at Norwich University, 
Vermont, under John Rawson. For three winters 
he taught in the district schools. After living 
a few years in Enfield, New Hampshire, he re- 
moved in 1848 to Manchester, this state, where he 
was employed as a machinist, and later was at Sun- 
cook and Lowell, in the latter place having charge 
of the spinning room of the Hamilton corporation for 
three years. Li 1854 he returned to Manchester, and 
held a' similar position in the Amoskeag mills. In the 
hard times of 1857 he took up his residence at New 
London temporarily, and there engaged in cutting out 
the lumber for the addition to the meeting house. 
His fondness for military affairs seemed innate, 

• and began to be apparent at very early age. At 
Enfield he was adjutant and captain in the mili- 
tia, and at Manchester rose from the ranks to be 
commander of the City Guard. While at Lowell 
he was a member of the City Guard, commanded 
by Benjamin F. Butler. It is easy to believe that 
the son of such sires would be eager to fly to the 
defense of his country in the hour of danger. On 
April 26, 1861, he was enrolled as a private in the 




GEN. JOSEPH M. CLOUGH. 



NEW HAMPSHIRE. 



1683 



First New Hampshire Volunteers, and four days 
later was appointed lieutenant of Company H. On 
September 10 of the same year he re-enlisted in 
the Fourth Regiment, and was appointed captain 
of Company H. He continued in active service 
until the close of the war, and was engaged in 
numerous severe battles, including Pocotaligo, 
Morris Island, Siege of Forts Wagner and Sumter, 
Petersburg, Bermuda Hundred, Drewry's Bluff, 
Weir Bottom Church, Cold Harbor. Hatcher's Run, 
Deep Run, Petersburg Mine, Fort Stedman, and 
the capture of Petersburg, in March, 1865. He was 
wounded in the mine explosion at Petersburg, July 
30, 1864, and was discharged September 17 fol- 
lowing. In less than a month after this discharge 
he accepted a commission as lieutenant-colonel of 
the Tenth Regiment, and was the first in command 
of a regiment until Colonel Liverm'ore was com- 
missioned in January, 1865. In the night attack 
of Fort Stedman, March 29, 1865, Colonel Clough 
was again wounded, but continued in the active dis- 
charge of his duty until he was mustered out July 
29, 1865. Following his wound h-e was breveted 
brigadier-general on recommendation by General 
O. B. Wilcox, then commanding the First Divis- 
ion, Ninth Army Corps, and received his commis- 
sion at Washington. He was also recommended by 
General Wilcox and Senator Daniel Clark for ap- 
pointment as first lieutenant in the regular army, 
and passed the required military examination, but 
his determination to continue in the service was 
changed because of broken health, and he did not 
accept the commission. At the close of the war 
General Clough returned to New London, and for 
thirteen years was employed in the United States 
railway service, running out of Boston to Lancas- 
ter and Saint Albans, Vermont. For seven years 
from 1877 to 1884 he was commander of the first 
brigade of the New Hampshire National Guard. 
He represented the town in the legislature in 1866, 
and filled the unexpired term of Edwin P. Burpee 
in 1897. In 1881-2, he represented his district in 
the state senate. He has a delightful home on Main 
street, in the village of New London, in which is 
stored many valuable relics and heirlooms. In the 
list of interesting and highly treasured of these is 
the headquarters flag, the second one floated in 
Petersburg after its capture. 

He was married, September 7, 1849, to Abiah 
Bucklin, who was born October 22, 1828, in Graf- 
ton, New Hampshire, daughter of Charles and 
Choice (Cole) Bucklin, and died December 17, 
1873, General Clough was married (second), Sep- 
tember 13. 1874, to Cornelia Goss (Smith) Chase, 
daughter of William P. and Rhoda (Spooner) Smith. 
and widow of Henry Chase. Her daughter, Minnie 
Chase, who was born November 10, 1868, was ten- 
derly reared in the family of her stepfather, like 
his own. She was educated at Colby Academy, and 
taught in the district schools until her marriage 
to George K. Burleigh, of Tilton. General Clough's 
children were: Ella A., who died of tyhpoid fever 
in her second year, Charles