Skip to main content

Full text of "Genealogical and memorial encyclopedia of the state of Maryland, a record of the achievements of her people in the making of a commonwealth and the founding of a nation;"

See other formats


NYPL RESEARCH LIBRARIES 



3 3433 08230900 



vena ICQ 







IE 

I 

j 

3 



MS 
ffl 



''''.'"' ''- 



H 



wOHHMGOnln 





l! 



\ 





tefvA/JL ^f,^0Aj2^ 



L-CM^i 






GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

ENCYCLOPEDIA 

OF THE 

STATE OF MARYLAND 

A Record of the Achievements of Her People in the Making 
of a Commonwealth and the Founding of a Nation 






Under the Editorial Supervision of 

RICHARD HENRY SPENCER, LL.B. 

Corresponding Secretary of The Maryland Historical Society; Author of 

"Carlyle Family" ; "Thomas Family of Talbot County, 

Maryland, and Allied Families," etc., etc. 



ILLUSTRATED 



NEW YORK 

THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, Inc. 

1919 



to new yg 
P&BLi RARY 

* r '^R. LENOX AND 
DLW F< UiN CATIONS 



PREFACE 

"C^ACH State should have, if possible, its own distinctive 

Genealogical and Memorial Encyclopedia, which should 
include the names of prominent citizens of the State, both liv- 
ing and dead, embracing genealogical and biographical 
sketches, not only of those well known in the church, at the 
bar, and other professions, but also of those who have been 
foremost in contributing to the commercial and industrial 
progress and welfare of the State. It is with this view that 
the Genealogical and Memorial Encyclopedia of Maryland 
has been undertaken. 

It is almost impossible not to have a laudable desire to 
know something of the departed, and curiosity about our pro- 
genitors seems quite natural. If they were honored in any 
way above their fellows, it was because they were entitled to 
some distinction for having led honorable and useful lives, 
and had left their impress upon the history of their times. 

There is inspiration in a rounded, well-spent life, there- 
fore their lives are more interesting and instructive to us 
because they had accomplished something in the drama of 
life. 

An able writer has well said: "To gather up the Mem- 
orials of those who have gone before us, to reconstruct their 
living portraits from historical fragments so widely scattered, 
is a work of time, of patience and unremitting toil; but, once 
completed, the ancestral line, reaching down the vista of the 
past, will stand out clearly before us, the images of our fathers 
will tenderly live in our minds, and we shall reverently cherish 
their memories, as will likewise the generations to come." 
For as Edmund Burke emphatically exclaimed, "Those who 
do not treasure up the memory of their ancestors do not de- 
serve to be remembered by posterity." By a higher authority 






ii PREFACE 

we are commanded to honor our forefathers, that our days 
may be long. 

The cultivation of family history, therefore, is one of the 
essentials to the welfare of society. The history of a State is 
best told in a record of the lives of its people. 

The genealogical and biographical sketches, it is hoped, 
will prove of interest and value, not only to members of the 
various families, but to the general reader as well. The aim 
of the work has been to give the genealogies of the subjects, 
so far as they could be obtained, their births, marriages and 
deaths, and full and accurate information as to their lives, 
from original sources or from the immediate family, whose 
family name represented either direct descent from the early 
settlers of Maryland, from Revolutionary ancestors, or marked 
success through intelligent and honest labor for the benefit of 
his State, whose influence and example are worthy of the 
greatest emulation. The story of their lives might perish, if 
not preserved by some method of research, as has been adopted 
by the publishers of this work. No similar work of this scope, 
concerning Maryland families, has ever been published. It 
contains ancestral lines never before printed, and a faithful 
chronicle of people who have made Maryland in part what 
it is. It gives, in a lucid and dignified manner, all the im- 
portant facts regarding the ancestry, personal careers and 
matrimonial alliances of those who, in each succeeding genera- 
tion, have been accorded leading positions in the social, pro- 
fessional and business life of the State. 

"Than Maryland, no other State or region offers so pe- 
culiarly interesting a field for such research. Its sons, 'native 
here and to the manner born,' and of splendid ancestry, have 
attained distinction in every field of human endeavor." 

The early settlers of the Province of Maryland brought 
with them some of the best traits and traditions of those who 



PREFACE Hi 



were accustomed to English country life, many of them being 
of ancient lineage, scions of the Landed Gentry, and some 
even of Knightly Families, and now, after a lapse of two 
hundred and fifty years, not a few of the landed estates are in 
the possession of the descendants of the original proprietors. 

Much valuable information has been obtained from orig- 
inal sources; and, in the case of recent lives, important aid 
has been given by the friends and relatives of the subjects. 

As portraiture is the demand of the times and contributes 
so much to the interest of biography, it has been made a feature 
of the work to have every sketch, as far as possible, embellished 
with a portrait. 

It has been the aim and desire of the Editor and Pub- 
lishers to render the Encyclopedia a comprehensive and 
authentic historical memorial. 

Richard Henry Spencer. 




Publisher's Note. This work is paged continuously through the 
volumes, and the Index will be found at the close of Volume II. 

The narratives contained herein have been submitted to the persons in 
interest, for verification and revision. 






..N 




-j. r ica 7 Sc ci'et 



WTjSa/Ad - 



&>frl<7l 



'y^y. 



CHARLES CARROLL FULTON 

TyyiTH the passing of Charles Carroll Fulton, a life of 
rare fullness and activity closed and journalism was 
bereft of one of its most shining lights. His life began in 
1816, but two years after the roar of British and American 
cannon fired with deadly intent had ceased to echo across 
the harbor of the city he grew to love so well, and the smoke 
from those guns had barely cleared away, revealing the fact 
that the "star spangled banner in triumph did wave." It 
closed in 1883, his dying vision resting on a nation great and 
prosperous, hardly yet done with recounting the glories of 
the greatest of national or international expositions which 
celebrated its one hundredth birthday, held in the city which 
gave him birth. Those two cities, Philadelphia and Balti- 
more, witnessed the beginning and the ending of the life and 
illustrious career of one of the remarkable men of a remark- 
able period in the nation's history, and of one of the com- 
manding figures in American journalism, Charles Carroll 
Fulton, a printer and newspaper man from boyhood, and 
editor of the "Baltimore American," from 1853 until his 
death in 1883. 

And what a wonderful period in American history he 
lived in, and aided to make glorious! His active life wit- 
nessed Texas achieving independence from Mexican rule, 
and he followed with anxious breath the fortunes of an elder 
brother, George Washington Fulton, who fought with the 
Texans. And he saw Texas after achieving that independence 
voluntarily surrender it to enter the sisterhood of states and 
merge her "Lone Star" with the galaxy of stars which form 
the starry emblem. He saw the war with Mexico and the 
great territorial expansion which followed it; the discovery 
of gold in California, the invention of the telegraph and its 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



application to the gathering of news from all parts of the 
world. He saw the death of the old Whig party and the 
blasting of the ambitions of his chief, Henry Clay; the birth 
of the Republican party and the rise of the great Lincoln, 
whom he also followed. He saw the North and the South 
locked for four years in deadly armed conflict, and he saw 
them again united in bonds which shall never be broken ; and 
in all these historical events he bore a part, not a passive, 
but an active part. He saw his adopted city expand to com- 
mercial greatness and in that, too, he bore his part. As news 
editor of the "Baltimore Sun" (1842-1853) he won his first 
enduring fame as journalist, and as half owner, then as sole 
owner and editor of the "Baltimore American," he added to 
the lustre of that name which shall never fade in journalism. 

Yet, though he lived for so many years at the head of 
a great journal and although his name was familiar to 
hundreds of thousands, his circle of intimate and personal 
friends was not large. His journalistic and domestic life 
absorbed his time and his thoughts, he cared but little for 
social or political honors, and thus was seen but little in 
public. Yet in all parts of Maryland and the neighboring 
States, lifelong readers of the "American" came to regard 
him with almost affectionate reverence as a guide and a friend. 
With tall, erect form, determined, pale, thoughtful counte- 
nance, full, white beard and firm set brow betokening the 
energy and force of his character, his was a figure that might 
well arrest attention; yet comparatively few of those who 
leaned upon his advice knew his person. But the glance 
of his eye was very kindly and genial, his smile most win- 
ning. All who came in contact with him respected him; all 
who knew him loved him. 

Mr. Fulton was of Scotch ancestry paternally, his 
father, George Fulton, coming from the banks of the River 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



Tweed, to settle in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. He obtained 
a position in Bioren's book store, then a Philadelphia literary 
center, but later he became a dry goods merchant. He 
married Ann' Ware, of the well-known Ware family of the 
State of Delaware, who was early orphaned. She became a 
ward of the famous Benjamin Chew, whose Germantown resi- 
dence figured so prominently during the battle fought Octo- 
ber 4, 1777. She became a very warm friend of her guar- 
dian's daughter, Harriet Chew, who, in 1779, married 
Charles Carroll, "of Carrollton." When the third son of 
George and Ann (Ware) Fulton was born, the mother, in 
memory of her younger days, chose for her son the name of 
the husband of her girlhood friend, thus the name, Charles 
Carroll Fulton. 

Both George and Ann (Ware) Fulton died in 1826, 
leaving five sons: George Washington, William Ware, 
Charles Carroll, Edington and Alexander, the eldest four- 
teen and the youngest six years of age. The family fortunes 
had gone awry during the last years of George Fulton's life, 
and the sole inheritance of those boys was energy and brains. 
Their early lives were closely bound together, all being taken 
into the home of their nearest relative, their mother's sister, 
Mrs. Eliza Freeman, who taught a private school. Under 
her kindly care and tuition the boys acquired the good foun- 
dation of an English education, but the time soon came when 
they must go out into the world and build their own for- 
tunes. The eldest, George Washington, went to Texas, then 
a province of Mexico, took part with the Texans in achieving 
their independence, later settling and becoming one of the 
cattle barons of the State. He married a daughter of Henry 
Smith, provisional governor of Texas in 1835, while the 
struggle with Mexico was in progress. 

The other four boys all chose the printer's trade and 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



became apprentices in the office of the "Philadelphia 
Gazette," later the "North American." The "Gazette" was 
then published by William Fry; the editor, Robert Walsh, a 
Baltimorean by birth, one of the most prominent editors of 
his day and a shining literary light. The "Gazette" offices 
were located on Second street, below Chestnut, and there the 
four brothers learned their trades, and although a hard school, 
it was a good one, and they acquired complete knowledge 
of the printing business from its very foundation. Their 
lives flowed in this similar channel for several years, when 
they separated, each going his own way. 

Charles Carroll Fulton was born in Philadelphia, Penn- 
sylvania, September 20, 18 16, died in the city of Baltimore, 
Maryland, June 7, 1883. His parents died when he was ten 
years of age, and from that age until nearing his majority, 
his experiences were those of his brothers, as outlined in the 
foregoing paragraphs. He absorbed all the printer's lore 
the Fry offices in Philadelphia could afford him, then in 1836 
started out on an independent career as an expert journeyman 
printer. His first venture was in New York City, where, 
for a few months, he was employed in a printing office. In 
the same year, 1836, he came to Baltimore, was soon after- 
ward married, and began working as a journeyman printer 
in the offices of John Toy, then the leading printer of the 
city. He continued with Mr. Toy for several years, care- 
fully husbanding his resources and providing for the time 
he was determined should come when he would own his own 
printing establishment. 

His next move was to the National Capital, where he 
was employed on that famous newspaper of the period, "The 
Washington Intelligencer," then the foremost journalistic 
agency in the country for moulding and directing political 
thought. The office of the paper was a headquarters for the 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



politicians of that era, the proprietors, Messrs. Gates and 
Seaton, enjoying confidential relations with Clay, Webster, 
Benton, Calhoun and other statesmen whose genius illum- 
inated the struggle in Congress which was the forerunner 
of the Civil War. In such an atmosphere Mr. Fulton could 
not avoid the study of men and manners; it was favorable to 
the cultivation of thought upon the serious issues then begin-' 
ning to divide the nation, and amid such surroundings his 
political views were developed and confirmed with regard 
to the value of the Union, the sacrifices that should be made 
to perpetuate it, the moral wrong and economic blunder 
embraced in slavery and slave-labor. Inclined to the tenets 
of the Whig party in his budding manhood, his convictions 
were fixed in the midst of his Washington associations. 

There then came to him the chance for independent pub- 
lishing for which he had so long been waiting and preparing. 
"The Advocate," a paper published at Georgetown, D. C, 
was offered for sale, and the price being within the means at 
his command he purchased it, and for five years was its 
editor and proprietor, bringing it up to a respectable standing 
and carrying its circulation into Washington and the adjacent 
country. The National Capital being so near at hand, his 
political connections remained unbroken, and in his columns 
he was a sturdy champion of the Whig cause, being thor- 
oughly imbued with the teachings of Henry Clay and having 
the highest admiration for that eminent man. For five years 
he edited and published the "Georgetown Advocate," devel- 
oping with the years and really "finding himself." With the 
consciousness of intellectual power, the heritage of his Scotch 
father and American mother, and with the experiences that 
convinced him journalism was his true sphere, came the con- 
viction that he must seek a wider field of action. With that 
conviction quickly came decision, the "Advocate" was sold 
and Baltimore determined upon as his new location. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



On arriving in Baltimore he sought employment in the 
composing room of the "Baltimore Sun," a successful news- 
paper founded in 1837 by Swan, Abell & Simmons, Mr. 
Abell being in charge of the paper. Mr. Fulton was not long 
allowed to remain in the composing room, however, his ex- 
perience and demonstrated capacity for a higher department 
causing Mr. Abell to press him into service as a reporter. 
This was altogether to Mr. Fulton's liking, and although the 
reporter's art or profession was then in its infancy, the "local 
column" of the "Sun" soon took shape and substance. In 
this, and as one of the earliest legitimate reporters, he found 
congenial occupation, his ready pen, tireless energy in the 
collection of news, and his perseverance marking him in the 
eyes of his chief for further promotion. After further demon- 
stration of his readiness to avail himself of opportunities to 
embrace new features not hitherto considered within the scope 
of a reporter's duty and his perfect adaptability to newspaper 
work, Mr. Abell in 1842 promoted him to the desk of news 
editor. He administrated the affairs of this responsible desk 
for nearly eleven years, 1842- 1853, a period which in the 
interest it possesses for the historian is surpassed by no decade 
lying between the last war with Great Britain and the civil 
conflict. Within this time occurred the war with Mexico 
and the annexation of Texas, the invention of the electric 
telegraph, the struggle for and against the extension of slavery 
into the territories and new states, the decline of the Whig 
party and the rise of the Republican party, the short-lived 
predominence of the Know-Nothing party, the discovery of 
gold in California, a comparatively vast extension of the rail- 
road system, and improvement of steam transportation upon 
the ocean and inland waters. There was also the Seminole 
War in Florida, and the contest over the tariff, which was 
settled in 1842 by the passage of a protective act. It was a 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



time when the nation was growing like a lusty young giant. 

While the slavery question kept the political temper at 
fever heat, a spirit of adventure was prompting the people 
to enterprise. The newspapers kept pace with, or rather led 
the popular movement. It was Mr. Fulton's duty to co-ope- 
rate with his employers in maintaining for the "Sun" that 
place in the front rank which it had already won. In 1838, 
Mr. Abell had achieved some notable victories in procuring 
news by employing horsemen to carry intelligence between 
breaks in railway communication, and later the plan was 
further elaborated. In this way the "Sun" was the first paper 
in the country, outside of Washington, to print the messages 
of Presidents Van Buren and Harrison on the days they were 
delivered, and from this there came the famous "pony 
express." Although the system was to some extent in use 
prior to Mr. Fulton's administration of the "Sun," it re- 
mained for him to have a part in its enlargement into that 
comprehensiveness which made it forever memorable in the 
chronicles of journalism. Mr. Fulton was one of the first 
to recognize that the telegraph was to be the prime auxiliary 
of the newspaper, and he helped to bring it into requisition 
as frequently and to the full extent that circumstance would 
permit. He suggested its use for bringing reports of the 
proceedings of Congress, this first being done during the 
session of 1844- 1845. 

Henry J. Rogers, the able assistant of Professor Morse 
and superintendent of the Baltimore office, had facilitated 
the work by the invention of a cipher code, and with the 
economy of time this secured, it was possible to obtain a 
fair account of congressional debate and action. Mr. Fulton 
was the interpreter of the cipher as it was received at the 
Baltimore end of the wire and made up the reports for the 
printers. On May 24, 1846, the message of President Polk 



8 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

was transmitted to Baltimore and published in full the next 
day. While continuing to hold the position of news editor 
of the "Sun," Mr. Fulton gave part of his time and effort 
to the organization of telegraph reporting, generally his plans 
being so acceptable that he gradually enlisted into the organ- 
ization all the leading papers of the cities reached by the 
wires. The telegraph and newspaper offices became news 
exchanges, and the next step, a natural consequence of what 
had so far been accomplished, was that journalistic combina- 
tion which, under the name of the Associated Press, has 
reached every source of information in all continents and 
subjected them to its ends. Mr. Fulton Was the first agent 
of the Associated Press in Baltimore, handling its interests, 
at the same time that he was Mr. Abell's chief sub- 
odinate in the "Sun" office. But the double work became 
too arduous for him, and he brought into the agency of the 
Associated Press his youngest brother, Alexander Fulton. 
This arrangement lasted until 1853, in which year he severed 
his connection with the "Sun," and purchased an interest in 
"The American," a step which to him was the consummation 
of his most sanguine hopes. 

The old firm of Dobbin, Murphy & Bose, which had 
for half a century published the "Baltimore American," was 
dissolved on the 30th of June, 1853, Mr. Dobbin purchasing 
the interest of Mr. Murphy, and Mr. Fulton that of Mr. 
Bose. For the following eleven years the "American" was 
owned and published by Messrs. Dobbin and Fulton. With 
the infusion of new blood in the management of the "Amer- 
ican," a commendable spirit of enterprise was adopted in 
the gathering of news from distant points, in giving a faith- 
ful record of local events, and in bold and fearless editorials 
during the most exciting times. The political agitation that 
sought to sever the Union in 1861 did not cause the "Amer- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



ican" to swerve from its love for the old flag. It circulated 
among the commercial classes, who had the largest interests 
at stake, and the most to lose by the disruption of the Union. 
The public sentiment was at times opposed to its teaching, 
and through the whole of the revolutionary period the "Amer- 
ican" was able to give a calm, steadfast and effectual support 
to the Union and the National government. Many of its 
old friends dropped away and powerful interests were arrayed 
against its editor, but the paper was too deeply rooted in 
the great commercial heart of the Monumental City to be 
seriously crippled. Charles Carroll Fulton was, in those 
troublous times, the pilot who kept the "American" out of 
the current of public opinion when it set too strongly toward 
the breakers of disunion. Mr. Robert A. Dobbin died in 
September, 1862, leaving his interests in the "American" to 
his son, Joseph Dobbin, from whom Mr. Fulton purchased 
it. By that time social order had resumed its sway in the 
city, and the turbulent elements had been subdued. The 
"American" had become a power in the State, and a widely- 
read journal throughout the section that remained faithful to 
the flag. It became the recognized leader of the loyal public 
opinion of Maryland. Its "special correspondence" during 
the war was extensivelv copied, and the signature of "C. C. F." 
was a warranty that the writer gave expression to what he 
knew, and described what he saw. 

Mr. Fulton was with the Army of the Potomac during 
two of its most important campaigns, and the readers of the 
"American" got the benefit of his candor, his accurate habits 
of observation, and his indomitable enterprise in gathering 
news and dispatching his letter while the incidents were fresh, 
so that they were frequently far in advance of all his com- 
petitors. His dispatches very often distanced the official 
reports of the War Department, and gave the first tidings 



10 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

of vital events to the government. Mr. Fulton accompanied 
the first iron-clad expedition against Fort Sumter and was on 
board the United States steamer "Bibb" when the attack was 
made. His controversy with the commander of the expedi- 
tion and the Navy Department is part of the history of the 
war. His opinions regarding the premature withdrawal of 
the fleet were subsequently confirmed from southern sources. 
Mr. Fulton, amid all the excitement of that period, was 
remarkably successful in raising funds for the purpose of 
sending supplies of every kind to the Union prisoners at 
Richmond, who were reported to be starving and suffering 
from the want of clothing and other necessaries. The fol- 
lowing resolution passed by the Maryland House of Delegates 
is evidence that his efforts were appreciated: 

By the House of Delegates 

Resolved, That the thanks of the House be, and are hereby- 
tendered to Charles Carroll Fulton of the City of Baltimore for his exertions 
for the relief of the soldiers of the Union now held by the so-called Con- 
federate authorities; and especially for the aid afforded by him to the officers 
and enlisted men of the regiments of this State in Libby Prison, and Belle 
Isle, Richmond. 

Thomas H. Kern, 
Speaker of the House of Delegates. 
Albert V. R. Cole, 
Chief Clerk of the House of Delegates. 

Mr. Fulton did not confine his efforts to alleviating the 
miseries of the boys in blue in southern prisons, but in many 
cases the sons of Baltimoreans, who had donned the gray, were 
indebted to him for attentions while lying in northern prisons. 
Mr. Fulton's son (later associated in proprietorship of the 
"American") was an engineer aboard the "Hartford," Ad- 
miral Farragut's flag ship, and acted as correspondent, giving 
graphic descriptions of the great naval engagements in which 
the illustrious commander conquered. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 11 

The senior editor was present at the hoisting of the old 
flag over the ruins of Fort Sumter, when the country was in 
full time of rejoicing over the close of the war, unconscious 
of the impending calamity of President Lincoln's assassina- 
tion. The setting sun that gilded the restored flag on the 
ruins rose the next morning on a nation mourning the martyr- 
dom of its chief. 

In 1 871 Mr. Fulton accompanied the commissioners 
headed by Senator Wade, appointed by President Grant, to 
visit San Domingo and report on the advisability of annexing 
it to the United States. His letters gave glowing accounts 
of the delightful climate, prolific soil, attractive scenery, and 
its bountiful yield of tropical fruits. As editorial corre- 
spondent of the "American," he traversed all sections of the 
country, joined in excursion trips over new lines of railways, 
rambled through Texas, descended coal and iron mines, ex- 
plored oil regions, and never failed to present the results of 
his observations in a manner attractive and interesting to his 
readers. His wanderings in foreign countries were also exten- 
sive. His work, entitled "Europe Seen Through American 
Spectacles," went through two editions and became a guide 
book, especially to Baltimoreans. As a politician, he occupied 
a prominent position in State affairs, and for many years rep- 
resented his party in the National Executive Committee, and 
was a delegate to the National conventions of the Republican 
party. Modest, retiring in his manner, delighting in the 
eloquence of others, he was not an adept at speechmaking, 
though in social moments and in the committee room he 
expressed his opinions freely and to the point. 

The public improvements of the city of Baltimore always 
received Mr. Fulton's ardent support. He advocated the 
purchase and improvement of Durid Hill Park, and the tax 
upon passenger railways to meet the outlay. Through his 



12 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

exertions the beautiful Centennial Fountain that adorns Eutaw 
Place was produced and erected, he being aided by other 
property owners fronting its site and the liberality of the 
city councils. He aided in a like manner all good causes, 
no man exceeding him in public spirit. His judgment was 
sound and true, his convictions deep, his sympathies broad 
as human nature itself, his fidelity to friendship and to a 
cause unfailing, his courage and fortitude not to be shaken, 
his energy exhaustless. His affections were warm and true 
and he was always accessible to the pleadings of humanity. 
Mr. Fulton married (first) in Baltimore, Emily Jane 
Kimberly. They were the parents of four sons: Albert K. 
and three named Charles C, two of whom died in infancy, 
and three daughters: Annie E., Emma Ware and Dolly G. 
Annie E. married General Felix Agnus, who, at the close 
of the Civil War, was the youngest man in the Union Army 
holding the rank of general. After the death of his wife, 
Mr. Fulton married (second) Mrs. Caroline Driscoll. Shortly 
before Mr. Fulton's death he executed a deed of trust con- 
stituting General Agnus sole manager of the "American;" 
this in recognition of his long and faithful services to the 
paper and of his perfect fitness for so great a trust. 




ARUNAH SHEPHERDSON ABELL 

ARUNAH SHEPHERDSON ABELL, founder and 

owner of the "Baltimore Sun," was born in East Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, August 10, 1806, and died at his 
Baltimore residence, northwest corner Charles and Madison 
streets, April 19, 1888, in the eighty-second year of his age. 
Mr. Abell was of English descent, his paternal ancestors 
having been among the early settlers in the Massachusetts 
Bay Colony. He was sixth in descent from his colonial 
ancestor, Robert Abell, to whom a son was born during the 
voyage from the Old to the New World. The voyage was 
a long and stormy one, and, owing to the safety of mother and 
child during these perils by sea, the babe was christened 
Preserved. 

Preserved Abell settled at Rehobeth (Seekonk), Rhode 
Island, and had a son, Joshua Abell, who had a son Robert, 
named for his colonial ancestor. Robert Abell, son of Joshua, 
had a son, Caleb Abell, who became the father of Arunah 
Shepherdson Abell. 

Robert Abell, grandson of Preserved Abell and grand- 
father of Arunah Shepherdson Abell, served with distinc- 
tion during the war of the American Revolution. Caleb 
Abell, son of Robert and father of Arunah Shepherdson 
Abell, was an officer during the war of 1812, and for more 
than thirty years after served his native town in various offices 
of public trust. He married Elona Shepherdson, daughter 
of Arunah Shepherdson, whose name has since been borne 
by three generations of the Abell family. She was a woman 
of high and noble character and of exceptional intelligence. 

Arunah S. Abell was educated in his native town, and 
when fourteen years of age entered the business world as 
clerk in a firm dealing in West India commodities. His 



14 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

inclinations turned strongly in literary directions. He re- 
signed his clerkship in 1822, and became an apprentice in the 
office of the "Providence Patriot," a Democratic journal, 
published by Jones & Wheeler, printers to the State and 
Federal governments. When he attained his majority, he 
obtained employment in Boston, and was soon promoted to 
the position of foreman of one of the best offices in that city. 
He was offered a government position in the Boston post- 
office, under Democratic administration, but having chosen 
his career as journalist refused to consider any other vocation. 
A little later he removed to New York, bearing flattering 
letters of introduction to the foremost newspaper men of the 
metropolis. His residence in New York quickly resulted in 
his entering into partnership with two gentlemen, Azariah H. 
Simmons and William M. Swain, also printers like himself, 
to establish a daily penny paper. At this time New York 
boasted several penny papers, while Philadelphia did not, and 
it was decided to establish the new enterprise in the latter 
city. Articles of association Were drawn up February 29, 
1836. The name first chosen for the new paper was "The 
Times," but an ill fate had overtaken a preceding Philadel- 
phia journal of that name, and the firm of Swain, Abell & 
Simmons abandoned the name first chosen for that of "The 
Public Ledger," under which title the paper entered upon 
a long and prosperous career which continues to the present 
time. The partners contributed an equal amount of money 
and their united energies to the undertaking, and cast super- 
stition to the wind when the first number of "The Public 
Ledger" appeared, Friday, March 25, 1836. 

Having seen the success of "The Ledger" fully established, 
Mr. Abell, in April, 1837, visited Baltimore, where all the 
newspapers published were known as "sixpennies." The year 
was not a financially encouraging one, and here were five 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 15 

newspaper competitors already established in the Baltimore 
field, yet Mr. Abell's business foresight incited him to make 
the venture of establishing a penny paper in Baltimore, and 
his partners agreed to supoprt him if he would personally 
undertake the control of the enterprise. This he agreed to 
do, and upon May 17, 1837, the first number of "The Sun" 
was issued, and the broad and w r ide policy outlined that has 
been the paper's inspiration through succeeding years. 

While the paper was the property of the three partners, 
Mr. Abell was, from its inception, its sole manager, and the 
imprint of his strong intelligent and fearless character was 
manifest throughout his life in the conduct of the journal. 
It was designed to voice the sentiment of the people, while 
endeavoring their judgment aright, and, so far as possible, to 
carry out their will. The city and State, as well as neigh- 
boring States, soon realized that here was a newspaper which 
could neither be bought nor intimidated, with opinions based 
upon fact and judgment, with news collected by responsible 
Workers, and the paper soon came to be relied upon as the 
voice of the people in the highest and best sense of the word. 
"The Sun" commenced its notable career with one reporter, 
but it was the pioneer in the field of giving local reports, and 
upon the first anniversary of its founding, May 17, 1838, 
"The Sun" had a circulation of 12,000 copies a very large 
circulation for that day. 

The first opportunity offered the paper for displaying 
the intense energy and initiative which characterized Mr. 
Abell's management, was President Van Buren's Message of 
December, 1838. Such messages usually reached Baltimore 
by mail, and appeared in leisurely fashion in supplementary 
newspaper issues. Mr. Abell had the message rushed to 
Baltimore from Washington by Canadian pony express, and 
brought with all possible speed to the office. In five minutes 



16 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

after its arrival, forty-nine compositors were at work upon it, 
and in two hours the first copy was printed in Baltimore and 
distributed to the public. The message thus appeared in 
"The Sun" two days in advance of its local newspaper com- 
petitors. "The Sun" was successful from its initial publi- 
cation. In three months its circulation had outstripped that 
of "The Public Ledger" after nine months' publication, and 
in a year "The Sun" had more than twice the circulation 
of the oldest newspaper in Baltimore. The first printing 
office of the paper was at No. 21 Light street, near Mercer 
street, but this building became too contracted for the rapid 
development of the paper. On February 16, 1839, the office 
was removed to the southeast corner of Gay and Baltimore 
streets, and on December 22, 1850, Mr. Abell purchased the 
site upon which was erected the well-known "Sun Iron Build- 
ing," the first iron-supported structure to be built in the 
United States. The structure had a front of fifty-six feet 
on Baltimore street and seventy-four feet on South street, 
with height of five well-pitched stories. The partnership 
between A. S. Abell, William M. Swain and Azariah H. 
Simmons was only dissolved by the death of the latter in 
1855. "The Sun" property was sold December 22, i860, to 
divide Mr. Simmons's estate, and was purchased by Mr. A. S. 
Abell. 

In 1864 Mr. Abell sold out his interest in "The Public 
Ledger." He was now the sole proprietor of "The Sun," 
to the development and success of which he bent his un- 
divided interest, and to which he contributed with enthusiasm 
his truly remarkable gifts as organizer and manager. It was 
a life-work which, for unswerving purpose and successful 
fulfillment, has no parallel in the journalism of the South. 
Initiative and conservatism were equally characteristic of 
Mr, Abell's personality, and this was shown, both in his 



genealogical and memorial 17 

development of "The Sun" and his relation to the city of his 
adoption. His conception of the mission of journalism was 
far above the ordinary plane of mere news circulation, al- 
though his initiative of obtaining reliable news quickly, im- 
mediately placed his paper in the lead of other sources of 
news supply, both official and journalistic. He always 
cherished a high conception of his personal responsibility as 
newspaper editor and proprietor, and his influence was always 
directed against sensationalism, scandal and idle gossip. To 
make "The Sun" what he aspired it should be, was Mr. 
A. S. Abell's life-work, and his reward was his paper's 
acceptance by the people of the South as a political guide and 
a paper that uplifted and enlightened every home which it 
entered. 

An open mind made Mr. Abell a ready and earnest 
patron and promoter of mechanical enterprises and inven- 
tions. His firm was the first to purchase the rotary printing 
machine, the invention of Richard M. Hoe, of New York, 
which worked a revolution in the art of printing, and which 
invention had previously been rejected as impracticable by 
New York publishers. He gave substantial support to that 
marvel of modern times, the electric telegraph, and Mr. 
Abell was one of the incorporators of the first telegraph com- 
pany organized. "The Sun" was one of the most enthusiastic 
advocates of the practicability of the new invention, and the 
first document of any length transmitted over the experimental 
line between Washington and Baltimore was President Tyler's 
message of May 11, 1846, which was telegraphed to and pub- 
lished in "The Sun," with a degree of accuracy that excited 
general astonishment. "The Sun's" telegraphic copy of this 
Message of May 11, 1846, which was telegraphed to and pub- 
side by side with an authenticated transcript of the original. 

The art of stereotyping, electric light, and many other 

MD.-2 



18 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

mechanical improvements were immediately recognized by 
Mr. Abell as important achievements, and promptly applied 
to the conduct of his business. The submarine cable received 
his vigorous support, and it was largely due to his efforts 
in the successful establishment of pony expresses for obtain- 
ing news promptly by European steamers and from the seat 
of war in Mexico that the Associated Press service was estab- 
lished, which now supplies the leading papers throughout 
the country with news. He was also the first to introduce 
in Baltimore the carrier system of delivering newspapers 
which has proved of such great convenience to city readers. 

Mr. A. S. Abell, in' conjunction with Mr. Craig, after- 
wards agent of the Associated Press of New York, organized 
an effective carrier pigeon express for the transmission of 
news between New York, Philadelphia, Baltimore and 
Washington, and the birds were also carefully trained to 
carry news from incoming ships. From four hundred to five 
hundred pigeons were kept in a house on Hampstead Hill, 
near the old Maryland Hospital for the Insane, and this 
carrier service was regularly conducted until the rapid flight 
of birds was superseded by the still more rapid transmission 
of news by telegraph. Even the short-lived Atlantic cable 
of 1858 was pressed into service by this indefatigable gleaner 
of news, and transmitted a special dispatch to "The Sun," 
this being the first news telegram from London over the 
Atlantic cable received and made public in Baltimore. 

In order to obtain the earliest foreign news, "The Sun" 
established relays of horses from Halifax to Annapolis, on the 
Bay of Fundy, Nova Scotia, a distance of one hundred and 
fifty miles. Thence the news was carried by steamer to Port- 
land, Maine, from there by rail to Boston, and via New 
York and Philadelphia to Baltimore, the distance of about 
one thousand miles being covered in fifty hours. "The Sun" 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 19 



published news of the ships "Liberty" and "Cambria" twenty- 
four hours ahead of other sources of information, and was 
the only Baltimore paper that joined in the charter of the 
pilot boat "Romer" to run to Liverpool, and return with 
foreign news. 

During the war with Mexico, when all interests were 
centered in that section, "The Sun" organized, exclusively 
for its own department, an overland express by means of 
ponies from New Orleans, independent of any co-operation 
with other papers. The trip from New Orleans to Baltimore 
was made in six days by these carriers of war dispatches, and 
cost "The Sun" a thousand dollars a month; but it enabled the 
paper to publish pictures of Monterey and the army and 
the battlefied of Buena Vista, both before and after the bat- 
tle, which would have been impossible under any other cir- 
cumstances than those afforded by this extraordinary service 
from Pensacola. Throughout the Mexican War "The Sun" 
supplied not only the public with news, but kept the gov- 
ernment advised as well. 

These expresses became a public necessity, after their 
advantage over other means of communication was proven, 
and several northern papers then joined in profiting by the 
facilities thus afforded. "The Sun" was the first to an- 
nounce, April 10, 1847, to President Polk and his Cabinet 
at Washington, the unconditional capitulation of Vera Cruz 
and the Castle of San Juan d'Ulloa. Even before the pub- 
lication of this important news in the columns of "The Sun," 
Mr. Abell's patriotism inspired him to send to the President a 
private telegraphic communication of the surrender of the 
Mexican city and castle. "The Sun's" pony express brought 
news of the victories at Contreras and Cherubusco fully 
twenty-four hours ahead of steamboats, railways, and even 
telegraphs. 



20 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Another proof of the enterprise of the management of 
"The Sun" was given in 1876, when the paper united with 
the "New York Herald" and sent copies of the daily and 
weekly* issues to the Pacific coast by Jarrett and Palmer's 
transcontinental train in eighty-four hours. Mr. Abell was 
an enthusiastic friend of Professor Morse when the latter was 
endeavoring to establish the telegraph. He used both his 
personal and journalistic influence to* promote and develop 
this invention, and was instrumental in securing from Con- 
gress an appropriation of $30,000 for the construction of a 
line between Washington and Baltimore, and supplied part 
of the money to build between Baltimore and Philadelphia 
the first line of the Magnetic Telegraph Company, which was 
organized March 15, 1845. 

The "Weekly Sun" was first issued April 14, 1838, and 
continued an important adjunct to the daily edition, especially 
in rural districts, until 1904. On Saturday, February 6, 
1904, the day preceding the great conflagration of February 
7-8, 1904, that enveloped the business portion of the city of 
Baltimore in a mantle of flame and wiped the "Sun Iron 
Building" out of existence, the last issue of the "Weekly Sun" 
was published. It had been an important household paper 
in the annals of Baltimore journalism, and through it, on 
numerous occasions, prizes ranging from $300 to $1,200 had 
been won for stories entered in competition. 

In the year 1838, Mr. Abell married Mrs. Mary Fox 
Campbell, a young widow, daughter of John Fox, of Peeks- 
kill, New York. She was a lady greatly beloved by all who 
knew her, for her amiable and gracious womanliness and the 
wide charity of her nature. She bore her husband twelve 
children, nine of whom lived to reach rrtan's and woman's 
estate. The children were: 1. Edwin Franklin Abell; mar- 
ried (first) Margaret Curley; (second) Elizabeth M. Lauren- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 21 

son. 2. George William Abell; married Jane Francis Webb, 
daughter of the late George Webb. 3. Walter Robert Abell; 
married (first) Sallie Sisson, daughter of the late Hugh 
Sisson; (second) Philomena, daughter of Henry Bogue. 4. 
Charles S. Abell; died unmarried, December 3, 1891. 5. 
Marie L. Abell; became a nun, and assumed the name of 
Mary Joseph. 6. Agnes Frances Abell; unmarried. 7. Annie 
F. Abell; married J. W. S. Brady. 8. Helen M. Abell; mar- 
ried L. Victor Baughman. 9. Margaret Abell; married John 
Irving Griffiss. 10. Arunah S. Abell; died in childhood. 
11. Harry Abell; died in childhood. 12. Mary Abell; died 
in childhood. Mrs. Arunah S. Abell died in 1859. 

Mr. Abell's personal appearance suggested dignity and 
reserve force. His height was medium, and his face in repose 
a trifle stern. His nature, however, was by no means stern, 
and his manners were genial, free from all affectation, and 
his personal friendship of the warmest character. He pos- 
sessed a keen sense of humor, a vein of interesting remin- 
iscence, and was a congenial companion for young or old. A 
man wholly without arrogance over his great achievements, 
he was regarded with ardent and reverential but also cheer- 
ful and companionable love, by every member of his house- 
hold. Arunah S. Abell lived to celebrate the semi-centennial 
of the paper he had founded, upon which occasion announce- 
ment was made that upon that date the senior proprietor had 
associated with himself as co-partners his sons, Edwin F. 
Abell, George W. Abell and Walter R. Abell. Grover Cleve- 
land, then President of the United States, was among the 
notable people who sent personal telegrams of congratulations 
to Mr. Abell upon this happy occasion. 

Mr. Abell's death, which occurred April 19, 1888, was 
regarded as a municipal calamity by the people of Balti- 
more. The flag upon the City Hall was placed at half-mast 



22 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



by Mayor Ferdinand C. Latrobe, an unusual tribute to one 
not occupying an official position, and fifteen thousand per- 
sons congregated at Greenmount Cemetery upon the day of 
his interment, as a final tribute to his honored memory. The 
pallbearers were: Messrs. Hugh Sisson, Charles Webb, Pro- 
fessor Alan P. Smith, Robert Moore, Lewis M. Cole, Charles 
J. M. Gwinn, R. Q. Taylor, Meyer Stein, Colonel John Car- 
roll Walsh, Robert Lawson, Enoch Pratt, Dr. John Morris, 
James M. Anderson and William H. Carpenter. 




THOMAS HARRISON GARRETT 

'THOMAS HARRISON GARRETT, second son of 
John Work and Rachel Ann (Harrison) Garrett, was 
born in Baltimore, February ii, 1849. After attending 
private schools in Baltimore he entered Princeton. He was 
a member of the class of 1868, and later Princeton conferred 
upon him the degree of Master of Arts. He was deeply- 
devoted to the interests of his alma mater and served as one 
of its trustees. 

He was nineteen years of age when he left Princeton 
and entered the Baltimore banking house of his father, which 
was conducted under the firm name of Robert Garrett & 
Sons, and which had been founded by his grandfather in 1839. 
The sterling business traits which had characterized gene- 
rations of the Garrett family found in him an apt and prog- 
ressive representative, and his success was so marked that 
in 1871, although his father and brother remained members 
of the firm, he was placed in charge of the banking interests. 
His brother Robert was engrossed in the service of the Balti- 
more & Ohio railroad, and the duties of the bank devolved 
upon Thomas Harrison Garrett. It was a time of large 
operations, and the firm, in associations with great banking 
houses of Europe and America, negotiated most of the Balti- 
more & Ohio loans and did a large part of the vast business 
of the Baltimore & Ohio Company. He was a director of 
the Baltimore & Ohio, and, after Mr. Samuel Spencer became 
president of the road, was appointed chairman of the finance 
committee. His work in finance made him an active factor 
in the enterprise and development of Baltimore, and he was 
prominent in the most important movements of the day. He 
was a member of the Baltimore Stock Exchange, a director in 
the Western National Bank, and one of the incorporators of 



24 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

the company that built the Academy of Music. These are 
but few of his connections, but they show the wide range of 
his business activities. 

Mr. Garrett occupied a unique place in the social and 
cultural life of the city. He was a man of many benefactions 
about which nothing was printed, most of them being made 
on the condition that his name should not be divulged. He 
accumulated the largest private library in Maryland, and 
among its treasures was one of the most complete bibliog- 
raphies of the first railroad, the Baltimore & Ohio. His col- 
lection of autographs was comprehensive, containing letters 
from many prominent historical personages of America from 
the time of Washington. His numismatic collection was 
noted. But his best known possession was his collection of 
prints, including the famous Claghorn etchings, and many 
of these he allowed to be placed on exhibition at the Peabody 
Institute and several of the social clubs of the city. He was 
a member of the Maryland Historical Society, and contributed 
liberally to its needs, taking especial interest in the recovery 
of the old Calvert papers found on the estate of Colonel 
Henry Harford, near Windsor, England. He belonged to the 
leading social clubs, but his main devotion was to his home 
and to outdoor life, which he enjoyed at "Evergreen," in the 
uplands of Baltimore. 

In 1870 Mr. Garrett married Alice, daughter of the late 
Horatio L. Whitridge, and they had five children: John 
W., Horatio W. and Robert, and a son and daughter who 
died in infancy. Horatio W. graduated from Princeton in 
1895 near the head of his class, and in the same year married 
Charlotte D., daughter of Henry L., and Mrs. Pierson, of 
Summit, New Jersey; died in early manhood. 

Mr. Garrett was a great traveler and was very fond of 
the water. His yacht "Gleam" was one of the swiftest boats 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 25 



on the Chesapeake, and it was while Mr. Garrett was on a 
cruise with friends that a collision occurred with the steamer 
"Joppa," on June 7, 1888, and he lost his life, he being the 
only one who was not saved. His death cast a gloom over 
the whole city. The mayor of Baltimore said: "Mr. Gar- 
rett's death is a municipal loss, and few citizens who will 
come after him will possess his liberality and public-spirited- 
ness." The City Council paid the unusual tribute of spread- 
ing upon the journals of both its branches the following 
resolution: "Resolved, by the Mayor and City Council of 
Baltimore: That it is the duty of the City Council to record 
the sense of loss the city has sustained in the death of Thomas 
Harrison Garrett. He sought no public office and held none, 
but the example of his character and activities in every work 
tending to promote the interests of this city ought to be borne 
in perpetual remembrance." 

Mr. Garrett was connected with the Associate Re- 
formed Church, of which the Rev. Dr. Leyburn was for 
many years pastor. Rev. Mr. Ball, successor to Dr. Leyburn, 
conducted the funeral; it was attended by two thousand rep- 
resentative people of the city. The services were simple, as 
had been the life of Mr. Garrett, and Mr. Ball made no 
address, but in his Sunday sermon he said this: "Some of you 
may not know, but there are some of us who do, how sub- 
stantial and persistent and benevolent were the offices per- 
formed by him whose loss we mourn. We have suffered a 
great loss." 




WILSON BURNS TRUNDLE 

QCION of one of the best known families of Maryland, 
and in his own right one of the foremost citizens of 
Baltimore, and an eminent member of the Baltimore bar 
at which he practiced for forty-three years, the career of 
Wilson Burns Trundle was one to excite interest and admi- 
ration. His English and Scotch ancestors came to this coun- 
try early in the seventeenth century, and, as one of them was 
an uncle of the poet Burns, he came rightfully by his name 
Burns, and his inheritance of admiration for that great poet, 
Robert Burns, whom all Scotchmen love. In his numerous 
speeches and writings, not of a legal character, he quoted 
freely that poet's gems, many of which he could give in full. 
In addition to the cares of a large practice, and his many 
social obligations, Mr. Trundle gave freely of his time to 
church work, his interest in both church and Sunday school 
being life-long and intense. 

Paternally he descended from David Trundle, of Eng- 
land, born in 1671, and maternally from John White, of 
Hulcote, England, who died in 1501. The Whites were 
seated in Hulcote, Bedfordshire, over four centuries ago; 
were of the Shire gentry and bore arms: 

Arms On a chevron between three wolves' heads erased sable a 
leopard's face or. 

The first of the Trundle name, of which there is definite 
information, was David Trundle, of Suffolk, England, born 
in 1574, and died in 1671, aged ninety-seven years. His son, 
John Trundle, the founder of the family in America, came 
about 1640 or 1649. He was born in Suffolk County, Eng- 
land, about 1624, and died in Maryland, August 3, 1699. 
He settled in Anne Arundel County, Maryland, and owned 




wm^ ^^^L-~-v 










GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 27 

considerable land there, as, according to his will dated Janu- 
ary 7, 1698, he bequeathed to his only son, John, his planta- 
tion of two hundred and fifty acres located in that county. 
His wife, Mary (Ross) Trundle, survived. She is spoken of 
in her husband's will as "my beloved wife, Mary." Their 
children were four daughters, who married, respectively, 
Benjamin Thorley, John Thorley, Samuel Thorley and Ed- 
ward Thorley ; and one son John. 

John (2) Trundle, son of John (1) and Mary Trundle, 
was born December 26, 1687, an d died April 15, 1771. 
Though he inherited his father's plantation in Anne Arundel 
County (according to his father's will) he must have later 
removed to Frederick County, Maryland, as his death and 
will are recorded in that county. He married, in 1717, Ann 

, and by her had three sons and one daughter, who 

were: Thomas, who married Rachel Lewis; John (see for- 
ward) ; Josiah and Joanna. 

John (3) Trundle, second son of John (2) and Ann 
Trundle, was born in 1724, and was married in 1750. His 
wife died May 10, 1809. 

John (4) Trundle, son of John (3) Trundle, was born 
March 6, 1753, and died March 1, 1797. He married, in 
1775, Ruth Lewis, born 1753, and died May, 1810. John 
Trundle served in the War of the Revolution, was commis- 
sioned ensign in Maryland Militia, August 11, 1779, and 
promoted lieutenant, August 4, 1780 (see Militia officers of 
the State of Maryland. 1776-1779, and Original Commissions 
Maryland Historical Society). Children of John and Ruth 
(Lewis) Trundle: 1. David, born 1776, married, 1797, 
Drusilla Lewis. 2. James, married Eleanor Burns, moved to 
Tennessee in 18 10. 3. Daniel, married, 1800, Esther Belt. 
4. Ann, married Dr. Stephen Newton Chiswell White. 5. 
Mary, married Colonel Benjamin Shreve. 6. John L., mar- 



28 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

ried a Miss Veach, and had three sons and four daughters. 
7. Hezekiah, married Christiana Whittaker, and they had 
five children. 8. Otho, see forward. 9. Charlotte, married 
Alfred Belt, had three sons and three daughters. 10. Eleanor, 
married Henry Jones, and had three sons and three daugh- 
ters. 

Otho Trundle, son of John (4) and Ruth (Lewis) 
Trundle, was born in 1781, and died in 1819. He married, 
January 27, 1804, Elizabeth Burns, daughter of William 
and Mary (Wilson) Burns. William Burns, son of Robert 
Burns, was born in 1759, came to this country in 1778, and 
married, February 27, 1781, Mary Wilson, daughter of 
Wadsworth and Eleanor (Walker) Wilson. William Burns 
and Robert Burns, the poet, were first cousins. They were 
sons of two brothers, namely, William Burns and Robert 
Burns. Each brother named his son respectively for the 
other, hence William Burns' son was named Robert (the 
poet), and Robert Burns' son was named William Burns 
(ancestor of Wilson Burns Trundle). 

Otho Wilson Trundle, son of Otho and Elizabeth 
(Burns) Trundle, was born August 30, 18 16, and died Feb- 
ruary, 1891. He married, December, 1838, Sarah White, 
daughter of Benjamin and Rachel White. Children: 1. 
Rachel, married Americus Dawson, no issue. 2. Benjamin 
Otho, died in infancy. 3. Elizabeth Ellen, married W. H. 
Dickerson; children: William Harrie, Edwin Trundle, C. 
Milton, Edith and Lillian. 4. Joseph Henry, married Emily 
B. Thomas ; children : Emily Maude, Harry Burns and Bertha 
Thomas. 5. Wilson Burns, see forward. 6. Sarah Virginia, 
married Charles W. Baggarly. 7. William Edwin, died un- 
married, aged twenty-seven years. 8. Margaret Ann, married 
John Owens, no issue. 9. John Wallace, died aged thirteen 
years. 10. Milton, married Margaret Corbin, of Missouri, 
and has two daughters, Ola Ray and Mabel May. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 29 



(The White Line). 

John White, of Pocomoke, Somerset county, province 
of Maryland, was the American ancestor of Sarah 
(White) Trundle. He was a justice of the peace, member 
of the assembly of Maryland, from Somerset county, Cap- 
tain of Horse, and Sheriff of Somerset county, in 1678 
(Maryland Archives). He was the son of Thomas and 
Elizabeth (Fisher) White, of Bedfordshire, England, and 
was born August, 1624 (White book records). Pie emi- 
grated to America between 1644 and 1650. He was named 
in the will of his brother, Thomas White, in 1670, as "living 
beyond the seas" (Maryland). He was descended from John 
White, of Hulcote, England, who died December 20, 1501. 

John White was the son of Thomas White, who died 
1 66 1, son of Lawrence White, died 1599, son of Thomas 
White, died 1586, son of John White, died 1572, son of John 
White, of Hulcote, England, who died 1501. 

John White, the founder in America, died in Somerset 
county, Maryland, October 3, 1685. He begins his will: 
"I, John White, of Pocomoke, Somerset county, Gentleman, 
Etc." He was a large landowner, willing several thousand 
acres of land to his family. He married, in 1652, Sarah 
Stevens, daughter of Colonel William Stevens. They had six 
children: William Stevens, John, Elizabeth, Sarah, Priscilla 
and Tabitha. 

William Stevens White, son of John and Sarah (Stevens) 
White, was born in 1654, and died in 1708. He married 
Catherine White, and had four children: John, see forward; 
Rose, Sarah and Katherine. 

John White, son of William Stevens and Catherine 

(White) White, died in 1672. He married Elizabeth , and 

had two sons and two daughters: John, William, see for- 
ward; Ann, married a Mr. Jones; and Margaret, married 
John Neal. 



30 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

William White, second son of John and Elizabeth White, 
married Elizabeth Smith, daughter of Nathan and Elizabeth 
(Cole) Smith, died 1783. They had four sons and six 
daughters: 1. William, married Mary Whitehead. 2. Ben- 
jamin, married Rebecca Odell Chiswell, 1786. 3. Nathan 
Smith, see forward. 4. John, married Elizabeth Gott. 5. 
Sarah, married Edward Jones. 6. Eleanor, married Joseph 
Newton Chiswell, 1779. 7. Jane, married Hezekiah Thomas, 
1780. 8. Elizabeth, married Mr. Allen. 9. Hester, married 
Mr. Whittaker. 10. Mary. 

Nathan Smith White, son of William and Elizabeth 
(Smith) White, married, in 1787, Margaret Presbury Chis- 
well, daughter of Stephen Newton, son of Mary Newton, 
sister of Sir Isaac Newton, and Sarah (Newton) Chiswell; 
children: Benjamin, see forward; Nathan Smith; Stephen 
Newton Chiswell; Sarah, married John Waters and moved 
to Kentucky; Eleanor, married Lawrence Allnutt. 

Benjamin White, son of Nathan Smith and Margaret 
Presbury (Chiswell) White, married, 1815, Rachel Chiswell, 
daughter of Joseph Newton and Eleanor (White) Chis- 
well. They had four sons and seven daughters, who were: 

1. Nathan Smith, married Frederika McGuire, of Virginia. 

2. John, married Tollie Wailes. 3. Joseph, married Anne 
Viers. 4. Benjamin Franklin, married Margaret Allnutt. 5. 
Eleanor, married Joseph Chiswell. 6. Sarah, married 
Otho Wilson Trundle. 7. Rachel Ann. 8. Mary Eliza- 
beth, married Edward McGill. 9. Virginia Catherine, mar- 
ried Joseph Chiswell. 10. Hester Chiswell, married Walter 
Williams. 11. Rachel, married B. Allnutt. 

Sarah White, daughter of Benjamin and Rachel (Chis- 
Well) White, married Otho Wilson Trundle. They were the 
parents of Wilson Burns Trundle, to whose memory this 
tribute of respect is dedicated. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 31 

Wilson Burns Trundle, son of Otho Wilson and Sarah 
(White) Trundle, was born at Mount Auburn, Frederick 
county, Maryland, December 2, 1847, and died April 19, 
1914. He received his early education with private tutors 
and in the public schools of that county, and later entered 
Calvert College at New Windsor, Maryland, completing the 
four years' course in two years, receiving his degree of Bach- 
elor of Arts. He studied law with his uncle, Nathan White, 
at Charlestown, Jefferson county, West Virginia, and then 
entered the law office of the late Judge John Ritchie, of 
Frederick, who presented him for admission to the Mary- 
land bar. 

Mr. Trundle began his career as a lawyer in October, 
1870, when he passed the State examination held at Fred- 
erick, Maryland. One month later he located in Baltimore 
with which city he was to become so actively identified in 
later years. For forty-three years he was a very successful 
member of the bar of Maryland, and one of the foremost 
workers for the advancement of the city of his adoption. In 
these many years of active professional life he became known 
to the leading members of the legal profession throughout 
Maryland, and numbered among his friends nearly all the 
judges who have sat in the courts of the State for many years. 

Learned in the law, and skillful in its application, Mr. 
Trundle was recognized as an authority on equity and was 
widely consulted on that department of the law. He was 
a man of wide and varied information, legal and otherwise, 
and from the rich store-house of his mind his associates drew 
largely. His practice extended to all state and federal 
courts of the district, a large and influential one. He was a 
member of the city, county, State and national bar associa- 
tions, and in 191 1 was elected president of the Maryland 
State Bar Association. He was a director of the Western 



32 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

National Bank, counsel for that institution for seventeen 
years, and counsel for the Baltimore Stock Exchange for a 
number of years. 

Soon after taking up his work in Baltimore, Mr. Trundle 
became interested in politics. He was a staunch Democrat, 
but did not care for political offices, although he served on 
the Board of Fire Commissioners under Mayor Hayes, who 
reorganized the fire department by introducing civil service, 
the laws of which Mr. Trundle wrote. He was one of the 
most ardent advocates of civil service reform, and always 
argued that the State could best be served in its purposes by 
having men in a position who owed their office not to political 
friendship, but to intellectual superiority and mental equip- 
ment. 

Mr. Trundle was a devoted churchman, senior warden 
and member of the vestry of St. Bartholomew's Episcopal 
Church, their treasurer for thirty-six years, and for twenty 
years superintendent of the Sunday school of the church. He 
was a member of the Sons of the American Revolution and 
St. Andrew's Society, his Scotch and patriotic ancestry en- 
titling him to membership in both. He was a member of 
the Country Club and thoroughly enjoyed its social features; 
member of the United States Reform Association; Baltimore 
Bar Association; Maryland Bar Association, and Sons of the 
American Revolution. 

In 1873 Mr. Trundle married Anne Maria Dryden, 
daughter of Joshua and Cordelia Elizabeth (Owings) Dry- 
den, a descendant of Richard Owings in the following line: 
Richard Owings married Rachel Beall, daughter of Ninian 
Beall; their son, Samuel Owings, married Urith Randall, 
daughter of Thomas Randall and Hannah Beale; their son, 
Thomas Owings, married Ruth Lawrence, daughter of Levin 
Lawrence, son of Benjamin and Rachel (Mariartee) Law- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 33 

rence, and grandson of Benjamin and Elizabeth (Talbot) 
Lawrence, and Susanna Dorsey; their son, Dr. Thomas Beale 
Owings, married Cordelia Harris, daughter of Nathan 
Harris, and Rachel Lawrence, widow of Captain Philamon 
Dorsey; their daughter, Cordelia Elizabeth Owings, married 
Joshua R. Dryden, son of Major Joshua Dryden, of the War 
of 1 812, and Anne Maria (Roberts) Dryden, descendant 
from Hugh Roberts, friend of William Penn; their daughter, 
Anne Maria Dryden, married Wilson Burns Trundle. Chil- 
dren of Wilson Burns and Anne Marie (Dryden) Trundle: 
Harris White, born 1873; Cordelia Elizabeth, born 1875, died 
1892; Albert Burns, born 1877, died 1895; Eldon, born 1883, 
died 1896. Mrs. Trundle survives her husband, and continues 
her residence at No. 2414 Madison avenue, Baltimore. 




MI>. 3 



CHARLES D. FISHER 

PROBABLY the greatest compliment that can be paid a 
man is that he has made himself an honor to his Nation in 
the great commercial world, as well as a credit to the mer- 
cantile community in which he has lived, and this can be 
said in the truest sense of Charles D. Fisher, whose sudden 
and untimely death removed from Baltimore a man of fine 
natural endowments, spotless probity of character and use- 
ful influence. 

David Fisher, grandfather of Charles D. Fisher, was 
born in 1754, an0 ^ died October 15, 1815. His family had 
been residents of Carroll county, Maryland, for a number 
of generations. He married Elizabeth Gait, born in 1769, 
died April 16, 1849. 

William Fisher, son of David and Elizabeth (Gait) 
Fisher, was born in 1808, and died in 1867. Shortly after his 
marriage he removed to Baltimore, where he was engaged as 
a merchant in the wholesale dry goods business for a number 
of years. Later he became the senior partner of the widely 
known banking house of William Fisher & Sons, which he 
had organized, and as his sons arrived at maturity, they were 
admitted to partnership. He married Jane Alricks Boggs, 
who was born January 15, 18 14, and died July 26, 1862. 
Among their children were: 1. Charles D., see forward. 
2. William Alexander, who served as Senator and Judge, and 
in a number of other responsible public offices. 3. J. Har- 
manus. 4. Parks. 

Charles D. Fisher, son of William and Jane Alricks 
(Boggs) Fisher, was born at Westminster, Maryland, Janu- 
ary 20, 1848, and was killed on Thanksgiving Day, November 
29, 1906, in a wreck on the Southern railway, in which the 
president of that line, Samuel Spencer, was also killed. Mr. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 35 

Fisher was a very young lad when his parents removed to 
Baltimore, and he was educated under excellent masters in 
a well known private school. When he had attained the age 
of eighteen he entered the banking business of his father as 
clerk. Scarcely more than a child at the time of the out- 
break of the Civil War, yet he volunteered his services and 
bore his share with honor in the ranks of the Confederate 
Army. 

After the death of his father, Mr. Fisher embarked that 
portion of the fortune which he had inherited in the grain 
business in association with E. W. Barker, forming the firm 
of Barker & Fisher. While this undertaking did not increase 
the capital of Mr. Fisher very greatly, it gave him a thorough 
insight into the methods and details of the grain business, and 
laid the foundation of his future success in this line of com- 
merce. The partnership was dissolved in 1873, ana< m J U ^Y 
of the same year, he associated himself with General John 
Gill, who had been identified with the grain business for a 
period of seven years, forming the firm of Gill & Fisher, 
brokers and grain merchants. Both partners had had an 
unusual amount of experience and were men of sound judg- 
ment, and success attended their efforts from the inception 
of the business. They made a specialty of the exportation of 
grain in large quantities, purchasing their supplies of bread- 
stuffs in the West, mainly for exportation purposes. Although 
the financial panic of 1873, me year in which they started, 
overthrew many old-fashioned firms, it speaks well for the 
capable management of this concern that it was able to 
weather the financial storm and come off with flying colors. 
Mr. Fisher derived great and personal pleasure from the 
management of his large interests. It was due to his foresight 
and representations to John W. Garrett, president of the Bal- 
timore & Ohio railroad, that the first grain elevator in Balti- 



36 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

more, the first at the seaboard, was constructed, and the 
methods of handling grain which had hitherto been in vogue 
were completely revolutionized. Baltimore immediately 
pushed her way into the foreground as a grain market, and 
was enabled to compete with New York, and other elevators 
being erected in other cities, the exportation of grain was 
enormously increased, and the entire country reaped the bene- 
fit of the idea which had emanated from the brain of Mr. 
Fisher. Two years after the organization of this firm, the 
business world commenced to realize the value of the mind 
of Mr. Fisher as a leader in commercial and financial affairs 
and he was elected president of the Corn and Flour Exchange, 
was re-elected the following year, and served as president 
of the Board of Trade from 1885 to 1889, in all of these offices 
being the youngest man who had ever held these responsible 
positions. The firm had immense dealings with western con- 
cerns and was recognized as one of the most important in its 
line in the country. The partnership was in existence until 
General Gill withdrew and accepted the presidency of the 
Mercantile Trust Company, and Mr. Fisher withdrew from 
the active management of affairs in 1905, leaving the con- 
duct of the business in the hands of Blanchard Randall and 
George W. Jackson. 

Naturally Mr. Fisher desired success, and rejoiced in the 
benefits and opportunities which wealth brings, but he was 
too broadminded a man to rate it above its true value, and in 
all of his mammoth business ventures he found that enjoyment 
which comes in mastering a situation the joy of doing what 
he had undertaken. Among the other financial enterprises 
with which Mr. Fisher was connected may be mentioned the 
following: He was one of the original directors of the Balti- 
more Chamber of Commerce Building Company, which 
erected the first Chamber of Commerce Building in 1880, 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 37 

which was completely destroyed in the disastrous fire of 1904. 
He was a valued member of the finance committee of the 
Mercantile Trust Company, and served for a long time as 
one of the directors of the Seaboard Air Line railroad. As 
president of the American District Telegraph Company he 
rendered excellent service. He never took any active part 
in political controversies or sought public office, but so univer- 
sal was the esteem in which he was held by all classes, that 
a few years ago the nomination for mayor was offered him 
by the Citizens' Committee of One Hundred, at a time when 
nomination was practically equivalent to election, but the 
honor was declined by Mr. Fisher. While he took an intel- 
ligent interest in public policies and his advice was frequently 
sought, the responsibilities of business engrossed his entire 
attention, and he felt that he could not, with justice to either, 
serve two masters. 

Mr. Fisher married, April 15, 1868, Nannie Poultney, 
daughter of the late Dr. Septimus Dorsey, a physician of 
note in Baltimore county; and the home presided over by 
this gracious and refined woman, in unison with her home- 
loving husband, was indeed a charming and most hospitable 
one. 

Both Mr. and Mrs. Fisher were fond of travel and Mr. 
Fisher made annual hunting trips to the South and to Scot- 
land. His social affiliations were with the Maryland, Mer- 
chants, Elkridge Hunt, Bachelors and Junior Cotillon clubs, 
in which his genial disposition and fine nature won for him 
innumerable friends. His plans were always formed with a 
due amount of deliberation and while he was a money-maker, 
his benefactions in the name of charity were generous in the 
extreme. As president of the Home for Incurables he gave 
not only of his money, but of his time and personal service 
contributions not to be valued lightly. As vestryman of Christ 



38 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Protestant Episcopal Church, he was personally active in the 
good works connected with that institution. In the matter of 
recreation, he found his chief pleasures in such sports as 
brought him in close communion with nature, and he truly 
appreciated the joy of living. Hunting was one of his chief 
forms of outdoor sport, and resulted in the excellent health 
and robust constitution of which he was possessed. 

Evenness and poise were among his characteristics, and 
he was a dependable man in any relation and in any emerg- 
ency; a man ready to meet any obligation of life with the 
confidence and courage which come of conscious personal 
ability, proper conception of relative values, and an habitual 
regard for what is best in the exercise of human activities. 
All in all, he was a splendid type of the American citizen 
whose interests are broad and whose labors manifest a recog- 
nition of the responsibilities of wealth as well as ability in 
the successful control of commercial affairs. 




EDWIN FRANKLIN ABELL 

TT IS the custom in monarchical countries to bestow upon 
great rulers some name, independent of august titles, 
which is indicative of the people's estimate of their char- 
acters. Were such an ancient custom followed in Demo- 
cratic America, Edwin Franklin Abell would bear among 
his fellow citizens of Baltimore the name bestowed upon 
Christ's favorite disciple that of "Well Beloved." 

Edwin Franklin Abell, from May i, 1894, president of 
the A. S. Abell Company, publishers of "The Sun," and eldest 
of the twelve children of Arunah Shepherdson and Mary Fox- 
Campbell) Abell, was born in Baltimore, Maryland, May 
15, 1840, and died in the same city, February 28, 1904, at 
his residence > northeast corner of Charles and Preston streets. 
He was the eldest of the twelve children of the founder of 
"The Sun," and his parents resided at the time of his birth on 
Lee street, at that time one of the prominent residential sec- 
tions of the city. He was in the sixty-fourth year of his age, 
and with his decease passed the last of the sons of A. S. Abell. 
Edwin F. Abell was educated in the public schools of 
Baltimore and of Harford county, near Jerusalem Mills, 
and also attended Dalrymple's Old University School of 
Maryland, on the south side of Mulberry street, at what is 
now the head of Cathedral street, and which has since been 
cut through to Saratoga street. His classmates in this school 
were many who afterwards became prominent men of Balti- 
more. When sixteen years of age Mr. Abell entered the 
counting room of "The Sun," and from that time continued 
almost uninterruptedly his business association with the paper. 
Although always identified with the publishing of "The Sun," 
he gave his attention more closely to the management of his 
father's extensive estate, and not until the death of his brother, 



40 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

George W. Abell, May u, 1894, did he assume the direct 
control of the paper. With duties and responsibilities almost 
doubled by reason of his brother's death, he became the direct- 
ing head of the paper's policies in national questions and 
local affairs. With what success his efforts were rewarded 
by the entire State is best indicated by the respect and con- 
fidence with which "The Sun" is regarded in the thousands of 
homes it enters every day. 

There has probably never lived a man occupying so 
commanding a position as did Mr. Abell, whose personal 
identity was so carefully kept from the public gaze as Mr. 
Abell studiously kept his own. On public questions he was 
absolutely fearless in matters he thought right, and having 
with calmness and judgment arrived at his own conclusions, 
he made his ideas felt and respected by reason of their force 
and common sense. With no personal wishes to be gratified 
in the political world, with no friends to reward nor enemies 
to punish politically, he directed the columns of "The Sun" 
for what he felt to be the best interests of the community, ir- 
respective of party or men. His only wish was to serve the 
State as he honestly thought it should be served, by proper 
recommendations in legislation and in the conduct of public 
service. Apart from the public welfare but three interests 
engaged Edwin F. Abell's attention the affairs of "The 
Sun," his father's estate, and his home circle. Although a 
member of the Athenaeum, the Maryland and Country clubs, 
he cared little for club or even social life beyond the environ- 
ment of his hearthstone, preferring to entertain friends in his 
home, free from conventionality, and in accordance with the 
hospitality inspired by a warm and generous heart. 

As he loved all that was beautiful in nature and his fel- 
low-men, so Mr. Abell loved instinctively the inspiring crea- 
tions of man's brains and hands. In art his taste was keenly 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 41 

discriminating and his judgment remarkably correct for one 
who had received no professional training along artistic lines. 
He studied works of art through eyes that instinctively elimin- 
ated the gross or rude, and turned only to that which was 
beautiful in character and where true artistic merit was re- 
vealed. 

As a judge of real estate, Edwin F. Abell had few equals. 
His long experience in the management of his father's prop- 
erty gave him opportunity to exercise his excellent judgment 
in purchases and improvements. Foreseeing that Baltimore, 
like other cities, might be visited by a great conflagration, he 
erected "The Sun's" emergency building at the southwest 
corner of Calvert and Saratoga streets, which proved a 
timely refuge when the Great Fire of February 7th and 8th, 
1904, swept the "Sun Iron Building" out of existence and 
destroyed the most valuable portion of the commercial sec- 
tion of Baltimore. Mr. Abell was confined to his residence 
by illness when the fire occurred, and the shock occasioned 
by the calamity, and especially the destruction of the "Sun 
Iron Building," is considered to have hastened his death. The 
ruin of so large a portion of the business properties of Balti- 
more was a deep grief to him, aside from his personal losses, 
as many of the improvements that other real estate owners 
had made in years gone by were the result of his suggestion 
and practical advice. 

Edwin F. Abell's death, occurring, as it did, as an almost 
immediate consequence of the conflagration of 1904, was re- 
garded by his fellow-citizens as one of the first and most 
lamentable results of that tragic event. The general Assembly 
of Maryland ordered resolutions to be spread on its journal 
to the efifect that Mr. Abell, through his management of "The 
Sun " had labored effectively for the uplift of the State, while 
the House of Delegates declared that in losing Mr. Edwin 



42 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

F. Abell the State had lost one of its foremost citizens. Both 
branches of the City Council passed resolutions of respect 
and honor and deplored his death as a distinct loss to the city, 
and doubly a loss at a time when his clear judgment, ripe 
experience and distinguished patriotism were peculiarly 
needed for the restoration of Baltimore. 

Edwin Franklin Abell was twice married; (first) to 
Margaret Curley, a daughter of the late Henry R. Curley, 
and (second) to Elizabeth M. Laurenson, daughter of the late 
Francis B. Laurenson. His children by his first marriage 
were two sons: Arunah S. Abell, and W. W. Abell; and one 
daughter, Mary Abell. Arunah S. Abell and W. W. Abell 
were associated with their father in the conduct of "The Sun" 
for a number of years, and, upon the death of Edwin F. 
Abell, his second son, W. W. Abell, was elected president of 
the A. S. Abell Company, and manager of the paper. The 
Sunday edition of "The Sun" was inaugurated under Mr. 
Edwin F. Abell's administration, the first edition being issued 
October 6, 1901. 

Mr. Abell's death was announced in all the Baltimore 
churches Sunday morning, February 28th, and his funeral 
took place from the Cathedral, Wednesday, March 2nd, and 
was attended by the chief dignitaries of State and city. The 
great building was thronged to its fullest capacity with a 
multitude of sorrowing people that included rich and poor, 
high and low. Cardinal James Gibbons delivered an impres- 
sive memorial address, and a pontifical high mass of requiem 
was celebrated by Bishop A. A. Curtis. The interment was 
made at Bonnie Brae Cemetery, and the honorary pall- 
bearers were chosen from those who had been the longest in 
the service of "The Sun," and from the heads of the depart- 
ments of the paper. 






AST*, LJE2 . 











^ o<^CL^<_jz_ 



CHARLES SETH LANE 

"lyUTTH truth it may be written of Charles Seth Lane that 
he was an important factor in the business life of his 
city and State, that his ability as a financier was of the highest 
order, statements proven, if proof were necessary, by the fact 
that he was a vice-president of the American Bankers' Asso- 
ciation, prominent in the Maryland Bankers' Association, and 
president of Trust Company, Water Company and Insur- 
ance Company in his own city of Hagerstown. To this more 
is to be added of activity in the business world, of public 
service and general usefulness, but his highest eulogy was 
pronounced by an editorial friend: "He stood by his friends 
and was kind to every one." Loyalty and kindness were his 
dominant traits, and in accumulating for himself he gave 
generous aid and opportunity to others. Not only was his 
advice and counsel freely sought and as freely given in shap- 
ing the course of enterprises and concerns of great moment 
to his city, but individuals leaned on him and in his strength 
they relied, their trust never being misplaced. Many men of 
fine judgment and great business foresight were equally strong 
in handling their own afTairs, but without the human sympathy 
and love of fellow-man which marked Mr. Lane as a truly 
great man who "in honor preferreth not himself." 

Members of the class of 1872, Princeton University, 
recall the three Lane brothers whose college days were a 
period of close brotherly intercourse, mutual help and in- 
centive, and of these Charles Seth Lane was the eldest, Colonel 
William P. Lane and John Clarence Lane the others of the 
three Lane brothers who made class history at Princeton. 
They were sons of John C. and Elizabeth (Horine) Lane, 
of Washington county, Maryland. 

Charles Seth Lane was born in Frederick county, Mary- 



44 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

land, October 27, 1848, and died in Hagerstown, Maryland, 
November 19, 1916. Left a widow in 1855, Mrs. Lane re- 
moved with her sons to Washington county, Maryland, locat- 
ing in Boonsboro, and there Charles S. began his education 
in a private school. Later he attended St. Timothy's School 
at Catonsville, Maryland, then with his brothers, John 
Clarence and William P., became students at Edgehill 
Academy, Princeton, New Jersey, a school which prepared 
young men for the University. All entered Princeton, class 
of 1872, and all graduated A. B. John Clarence was the 
first of the brothers to finish his earthly course, Charles Seth 
next, the last brother, Colonel William P. Lane, yet a resi- 
dent of Hagerstown, Maryland. 

Charles S. Lane, after college years were over, became 
a clerk in the banking house of Johnston Brothers & Com- 
pany, of Baltimore, but in the autumn of 1874 transferred 
his service to the then youthful banking firm, Hoffman, Eavey 
& Company, of Hagerstown. His banking genius must have 
deeply impressed the house, for not long afterward he was 
admitted a member. Upon the death of Mr. Hoffman, the 
house reorganized as Eavey, Lane & Company, and upon Mr. 
Eavey's death in December, 1903, Mr. Lane succeeded him 
as a senior member. The life of this highly successful private 
banking house terminated on May 31, 1908, and upon its 
broad, sound and secure foundation arose the Maryland 
Surety and Trust Company, Charles Seth Lane, president 
from its organization until his death. Sound in judgment, 
broad of vision, strong in position and high ability, and in 
many particulars the most important man of his city, he won 
public trust and confidence to a most surprising degree, as 
the tendency of the general public is to view a banker with 
caution at least and with a certain amount of distrust. But 
Mr. Lane in his intercourse with the public broke down all 
barriers, and in a generous, helpful spirit co-operated, en- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 45 

couraged and advised men to their financial betterment. He 
was a citizen and a neighbor, entirely independent and self- 
reliant, acting for the good of all and for that which he be- 
lieved best for all regardless of who or what might oppose. 

He was long interested in public utilities, having been one 
of the incorporators of the Hagerstown Street Railway Com- 
pany, serving as director and vice-president until the merger 
as the Hagerstown & Frederick Railway Company. Prior 
to 191 1 he had been a director and vice-president of the 
Washington County Water Company, succeeding Edward W. 
Mealey as president of that corporation, May 1, 191 1. He 
was also president of the Washington County Mutual Insur- 
ance Company, and otherwise interested in the business en- 
terprises of Hagerstown and Washington county. He was 
elected vice-president of the American Bankers' Association 
in 1896, was an active influential member of the Maryland 
Bankers' Association, served on many of its important com- 
missions, and in Maryland financial circles rated one of the 
ablest bankers of Western Maryland. He was a Democrat 
in politics, served a term as street commissioner, that being 
his sole public office, public life having no attraction for him. 
He was one of the original members of the Conococheague 
Club, and interested in everything which interested his neigh- 
bors, friends or fellow-citizens. 

Mr. Lane married Hetty McGill, daughter of Rev. Alex- 
ander H. McGill, D.D., LL.D., of Princeton Theological 
Seminary, sister of Alexander T. (2) McGill, Chancellor of 
the State of New Jersey until his death, and sister of Dr. 
John Dale McGill, Surgeon General of the State of New 
Jersey at the time of his death. Mrs. Hetty (McGill) Lane 
survives her husband, a resident of Hagerstown. The three 
sons of Charles S. and Hettty Lane are: Alexander M., 
Charles Seth, Jr., and John McGill; the three Lane brothers 
were graduates of Princeton University. 



JOHN CLARENCE LANE 

A SSOCIATED with the business life of Hagerstown in 
a most attractive manner, a lawyer of great ability, a 
m,an of the highest and best type, J. Clarence Lane was a 
man his fellow-men delighted to honor. He was an exemplar 
of the highest ethics of his profession, a profound student, a 
traveled, cultured gentleman, and both in private and public 
life all that was admirable. As a Democrat he was consistent 
in measures and independent in action, his best years of public 
party action being as the energetic lieutenant of William T. 
Hamilton, they devoting their ability and strength to the 
causes then prevailing for the betterment of the party and 
State. Single-hearted and true in his attitude toward all 
public questions, without devious interpretation of men or 
measures, he was honestly warm-hearted in the support of a 
cause he espoused and its strong advocate. Highly regarded 
professionally and as a business man he was not less popular 
socially, of jovial disposition and pleasing personality, he 
was welcome in every circle and many warm friends mourn 
their fallen comrade. 

J. Clarence Lane, second son of John C. and Elizabeth 
(Horine) Lane, was born near Middletown, Frederick 
county, Maryland, March 13, 1850, and died in Hagerstown 
May 6, 1914. He was but five years old when his father 
died and his mother removed to Boonsboro. Here he grew 
up and received his early education in the public and private 
schools. Later he studied at the Cumberland Valley Insti- 
tute, Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, and at the Princeton 
University, where he graduated with his two brothers, class 
of 1872. He at once began the study of law in the office 
of his brother-in-law, Henry H. Keedy, of Hagerstown, later 
entered the law department of the University of Maryland 
and was graduated LL.B. in the spring of 1874. After grad- 
uation he was admitted to the bar of Washington county, 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 47 

located in Hagerstown, and henceforth until his death was 
engaged in the practice of his profession, member of the law 
firm of Lane & Keedy. The senior partner, who was also 
his preceptor and brother-in-law, died, and his place in the 
firm was taken by his son, also Henry H. Keedy, the firm 
name continuing as before, uncle and nephew practicing to- 
gether until death dissolved the bond. 

Mr. Lane was an attorney for and a director of the 
Hagerstown Street Railway Company and its allied interests; 
attorney for the Baltimore and Ohio Railway Company from 
1884 until his death; director of the Washington County 
National Bank of Williamsport; director of the Hagerstown 
Heat and Lighting Company; attorney for Eavey, Lane and 
Company, a private banking house of which his brother, 
Charles Seth Lane, was senior partner; attorney for the Cum- 
berland Valley Railroad Company; the Moller Organ Com- 
pany and for the Hagerstown Spoke and Bending Company. 

In politics Mr. Lane was an independent Democrat, and 
was honored by his party, although during his later years 
he withdrew from active participation in public affairs, but 
he was long a conspicuous figure in Washington county poli- 
tics and a strong advocate of all forward movements. In 
1884 he was elected State Senator, and during his term in 
committee and on the floor was eloquent and energetic in 
forwarding routine work and eloquent in his advocacy or 
opposition to the measures presented to the Senate by the 
regular organization. He was a member of the Board of 
Visitors to Maryland Asylum and Training School for Feeble 
Minded Children, an institution incorporated by the Legis- 
lature in 1888. As a member of the Conococheague Club he 
was active and popular, his social nature there unfolding and 
expanding. He was a member of and from 1875 a vestry- 
man of St. John's Protestant Episcopal Church. Mr. Lane 
never married. 



THOMAS EMERSON BOND, M.D. 

'HPHE entire history of the Bond family is unusually inter- 
esting, including, as it does, the annals of numerous 
men famous in the various walks of life. The family is of 
Norman origin, and may easily be traced to John le Bonnd, 
of Hatch Beauchamp, Somersetshire, England, who was 
assessed as an inhabitant of that parish as early as 1327, dur- 
ing the reign of Edward III, and again in 1332 as John 
Bonde. His grandson, Robert Bond, of Hatch Beauchamp, 
married Mary, daughter of Sir John Hody, Knight, Chief 
Justice of England in 1440, and sister of Sir William Hody, 
Knight, Chief Baron of the Exchequer. A descendant, Roger 
Bond, was a priest, rector of Kingston Russell, and died in 
1559. Giles Bond, another descendant, baptized in 1571, was 
captain of the ship "Dragon," of Weymouth, and his son, 
John Bond, of London, was appointed captain-general to 
command an expedition for the "discovery" and occupation 
of Madagascar during the reign of Charles I, and he was 
also in the East Indies. A cousin of Captain-General John 
Bond, "fair Alice" Bond, who was baptized in 161 7, mar- 
ried, in 1636, John Lisle, one of the judges of Charles I. 
He was a Lord Commissioner of the Great Seal of Oliver 
Cromwell, a member of the House of Lords, and was assassin- 
ated at Lausanne, Switzerland, 1664, and his wife, Alice 
(Bond) Lisle, after being tried and condemned for high 
treason by Lord Jeffreys, was beheaded at Winchester in 
1685. Dennis Bond, born in 1 1588, was a member of Parlia- 
ment in 1648, was named one of the commission to try Charles 
I, but appears not to have taken any part in that proceeding. 
(I) Peter Bond, the American progenitor of this family, 
came to America and for a time was in Virginia, from whence 
he came to Maryland in 1660. He received large grants of 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 49 

land on both sides of the Patapsco River about the mouth of 
Gwynn's Falls, which became known as Bond's Pleasant 
Hills, and now included within the limits of Baltimore. He 
also patented Harris' Trust, and purchased the adjacent tract 
called Prosperity, in 1691, this lying on both sides of the 
Bush River. It is said that two brothers came with Peter 
Bond to America, but nothing further is known of them, and 
it may be only tradition. He was twice married, and died 
in 1705. He left a number of children, among them being: 
Peter and Thomas, of whom further; William and John. 

(II) Peter, son of Peter Bond, succeeded to all the estate 
of his father except Prosperity and Harris' Trust, which were 
divided by will among his three younger brothers, Thomas, 
William and John. He was a member of the General As- 
sembly of Maryland in 1716-17, and died in 1718. 

(II) Thomas, son of Peter Bond and his first wife, died 
in 1755. He established himself in what was afterward Har- 
ford county, and patented in 1703 Knave's Misfortune, adja- 
cent to the tracts mentioned above, where he built a substan- 
tial brick dwelling in which he lived and which was in 
excellent preservation within recent years. In 1714 he re- 
ceived from Lord Baltimore the grants of Bond's Forest, 
3,100 acres, lying between Bynam's Run and Little Falls of 
the Gunpowder; and in 1731 a manor of 5,000 acres lying 
in Baltimore county, on the west side of the Susquehanna 
River, called Bond's Manor, which was near York, Pennsyl- 
vania, on the debatable land between Maryland and that 
State. He sold a portion of this land in 1739 to Captain 
Thomas Cresap, who thus became involved in the boundary 
dispute. Thomas Bond in 1735 patented Poplar Neck, which 
comprised 1,000 acres on Bush River, and in 1749 made a 
deed to his sons, Thomas and John, as trustees, conveying a 
lot, part of the tract known as Bond's Forest, to be laid out 

MD.-4 



50 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

conveniently near the main road, including a house intended 
for a meeting house for "the people called Quakers" to wor- 
ship God, and also a schoolhouse already built. The records 
of Gunpowder Meeting show acceptance of this deed in 1753, 
and this was the commencement of the Little Falls Meeting 
at Fallston. In 1710 Thomas Bond was a member of the cele- 
brated grand jury which protested against the removal of the 
county seat from Forks of Gunpowder to Joppa, denouncing 
it as "a palpable, notorious grievance to this county. The 
land records of Baltimore contain many conveyances signed 
by Thomas Bond, and also many signed by his wife. He 
married, in 1700, Anne Robertson (or Richardson), of Anne 
Arundel county, Maryland. 

(Ill) John, son of Thomas and Anne (Robertson or 
Richardson) Bond, was born in 171 2. He resided in winter 
on Fell's Point, and was known as "John Bond, Gentleman," 
of Baltimore Town. As a record of his residence there we 
have Aliceana and Bond streets. He was a large land owner 
and merchant, shipping tobacco from Joppa and Baltimore to 
England, until he became involved in financial difficulties con- 
nected with the Bush River Company, which he and his 
father-in-law had organized, and for which the first iron fur- 
nace in the colonies had been erected. He was among those 
who purchased in 1746 lots in Joppa, which was the county 
seat from 1708 until 1768. Bills of lading, etc., from the 
"Port of Joppa" are still to be found among his papers. He 
was one of the foremost men of his time, served as justice 
of the peace, coroner, judge of the Orphans' Court, 1769-73, 
and was dealt with by Gunpowder Meeting for taking the 
oath of office "contrary to the testimony," finally being read 
out of meeting for his contumacy. The family of Bonds 
seem to have been found "unruly members" by the Quakers, 
for from 1759 until 1776 the sons and daughters, including 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 51 

the two trustees of the meeting house, were dealt with twelve 
times for serious offenses, such as "lent a man a gun," "took 
oath as magistrate," "purchased a negro," "married out of 
meeting," etc. It was probably owing to his earlier affilia- 
tion with meeting, although he had been read out of it, that 
John Bond declined to serve Harford county as a member 
of the "Committee on Correspondence" to which he had been 
called. His brother Jacob was prominent as a member of 
Revolutionary committees and was a member of the legis- 
lature from Harford county in 1776. A nephew, Thomas 
Bond, was one of the signers of the Maryland Declaration. 
John Bond married, 1732, Alice Anna Webster, and among 
their descendants we find such names as Fell, Kell, Lee, Wil- 
son, Bradford, Johnson, Gibbs, Walsh, Carrington and Augus- 
tus W. Bradford, Governor of Maryland. 

(IV) Thomas, son of John and Alice Anna (Webster) 
Bond, served as a justice of the peace and as a judge of the 
Orphans' Court. He was one of the earliest adherents of 
the Methodist denomination, and his house became the rally- 
ing place of the society. He married (first) 1771, Rebecca, 
daughter of Captain Tobias Stansbury, (second) Sarah Chew. 

(V) Dr. Thomas Emerson Bond, second son of Thomas 
Bond, studied medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, 
where his kinsmen, Dr. Thomas Bond and Dr. Phineas Bond, 
were members of the faculty. He was one of the founders 
of the Medical School of the University of Maryland, and it 
is said that when the bill for its incorporation was presented 
to the legislature one of the members observed that but one 
of the names signed was followed by the letters "M.D." He 
expressed surprise that not more of the signers had been hon- 
ored with a medical degree, and it was explained to him that 
this degree had been conferred by an English university, and 
that American colleges could not legally confer it. The legis- 



52 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

lature then formulated a resolution to the effect that American 
physicians were entitled to degrees with as much right as 
English ones, and decided that these letters be inserted after 
each name, the degree being conferred by statute. Dr. Bond 
was engaged in the practice of medicine in Baltimore for many 
years after his marriage, his residence being in Lombard 
street, near Sharpe street, at that time one of the most desirable 
residential districts of the city, but now given over to whole- 
sale warehouses, and he retained the Harford homestead as 
a summer residence. He retired from medical practice in 
1844, and accepted the office of editor for "The Christian 
Advocate," the official organ of the Methodist Episcopal 
church. This necessitated his removal to New York City, 
where he resided until his death in 1856. 

Dr. Bond married Christiana, daughter of Dr. Solomon 
and Jane (McCulloch) Birckhead, the latter a brother of 
James McCulloch, collector of the Port of Baltimore. Dr. 
Solomon Birckhead, who was one of the most eminent phy- 
sicians of his day in Baltimore, was the son of Colonel Chris- 
topher Birckhead, of Talbot county, Maryland. 




ANDREW CROSS TRIPPE 

ANDREW CROSS TRIPPE, noted as a lawyer, dis- 
tinguished as a statesman, and deservedly honored as a 
brave soldier, amply displayed his possession of the traits 
which came to him by right of direct inheritance, and which 
rendered many of his ancestors distinguished in the various 
walks of life. The Trippe family is an old one in England, 
dating back to the time of William the Conqueror, and the 
family seat was in Kent county. The name is to be found on 
record in the Domesday Booke in the title of lands. In 1234 
Nicholas Tryppe gave Lamplands, County Kent, to Elham 
Church. The first record we have of the family in Mary- 
land is in 1663. Thomas Trippe, brother of the Lieutenant 
Colonel Henry Trippe mentioned below, is mentioned by 
James, Duke of York, afterwards James II., in his auto- 
biography (Nairn papers), as aiding him to escape from St. 
James' Palace after the beheading of Charles I. 

(I) Lieutenant Colonel Henry Trippe, the immigrant 
ancestor, was born in Canterbury, England, 1632, and died in 
Dorchester county, Maryland, March, 1698. He had fought 
in Flanders under the Prince of Orange, afterwards William 
III of England, and came to America in 1663, bringing with 
him to the Province three of his troopers, and took up land 
in Dorchester county, where he attained a prominent posi- 
tion in the management of affairs. He was a representative 
in the Maryland Assembly, 1671-75, 1681-82, 1692-93; one 
of the Committee of Twenty for regulating affairs in Mary- 
land, 1690; justice and county commissioner, 1669-81, 1685- 
94; captain of foot of Dorchester county, 1676; major of 
horse, 1689. He married (first), 1665, Frances, widow of 
Michael Brooke, of St. Leonard's Creek, Calvert county, 

Maryland; married (second) Elizabeth , who died in 

April, 1698, by whom he had five children. 



54 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

(II) William, son of Lieutenant Colonel Henry Trippe, 
was born in Dorchester county, Maryland, and died April 24, 
1770. He married Jean Tate, and had children. 

(III) Edward, son of William and Jean (Tate) Trippe, 
was born in Dorchester county, Maryland. He married 
Sarah, daughter of Edward Noel, of Castle Haven, Dorches- 
ter county, and widow of Joseph Byus. 

(IV) James, son of Edward and Sarah (Noel) (Byus) 
Trippe, died in Cambridge, Maryland, September, 18 12. 
He married (first) Elizabeth Purnell, who died without leav- 
ing children; married (second) Mary Purnell, of Worcester 
county, Maryland, who died in Cambridge, Maryland, in 
September, 1812. Child: Joseph Everitt, see forward. 

(V) Joseph Everitt, son of James and Mary (Purnell) 
Trippe, was born at Cambridge, Maryland, July 18, 1805, 
and died at Baltimore, December 28, 1882. He married, 
May 30, 1837, Sarah Patterson Cross, born November 11, 
1813, died October 8, 1853. Children: 1. Andrew Cross, 
see forward. 2. Mary Purnell, married William Belt, and 
died September 11, 1904, without leaving children. 3. 
Rachel Elizabeth, unmarried. 4. Joseph Everitt, born May 
6, 1845; married Frances, daughter of Daniel Holliday. 

John Cross, immigrant ancestor, and grandfather of Mrs. 
Sarah P. Trippe, was born in County Antrim, Ireland, 1730, 
and died in Baltimore, Maryland, September 29, 1807. He 
settled in Cecil county, Maryland, 1772. He married Jane 
Young, also an immigrant, born in County Monaghan, Ire- 
land, 1743, died in Baltimore, Maryland, March 6, 1826. 
Andrew, son of John and Jane (Young) Cross, and father of 
Mrs. Trippe, was born in Cecil county, Maryland, October 
4, 1772, and died in Baltimore, September 23, 1815. He 
married Rachel, born December 15, 1780, died March 12, 
1843, daughter of Thomas and Esther (Patterson) Wallace. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 55 

(VI) Andrew Cross, son of Joseph Everitt and Sarah 
Patterson (Cross) Trippe, was born in Baltimore, Mary- 
land, November 29, 1839. He was educated at private 
schools, and at Newton University, Baltimore, later becom- 
ing a student at Lafayette College, Easton, Pennsylvania, 
from which he was graduated in 1857 with the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts, and the same institution conferred upon 
him the degree of Master of Arts in i860. Having studied 
law under J. Mason Campbell, of Baltimore, son-in-law of 
Chief Justice Taney, for three years, he was admitted to the 
bar at the age of twenty-one years, in 1861. 

Very shortly afterward he went to Virginia, there join- 
ing the famous Maryland company of Captain William H. 
Murray, Confederate States Army. His military record from 
the very outset was an honorable, gallant and distinguished 
one. He was advanced to the rank of lieutenant of artillery 
and ordnance officer in May, 1863, but entered into the battle 
of Gettysburg with his old company. On the third day of 
this struggle, at Culp's Hill, he was severely wounded in the 
right shoulder, and, with Colonel Herbert, Major William 
W. Goldsborough and Lieutenant Barber, carried to a vacant 
house nearby, where they were left for dead. When he 
returned to Richmond he found that all of his clothes and his 
equipment had been given away, as he was reported among 
the dead. He was also an active participant in the second 
battle of Winchester, and at Fredericksburg, being per- 
manently disabled by the severe wound received at Gettys- 
burg, which was caused by a bursting shell, which tore away 
a part of his right shoulder, from which he took with his 
own hands a piece of shell three inches in length. He re- 
turned to Baltimore, where he resumed the law practice in 
which he had been engaged before the commencement of the 
Civil War. He served as colonel and aide-de-camp to Gov- 



56 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

ernor Robert M. McLane, of Maryland, 1804; colonel and 
aide-de-camp to Governor Henry Lloyd of Maryland, 1885- 
88; major-general commanding Maryland Division of United 
Confederate Veterans, 1898. His political affiliations were 
with the Democratic party, but he entertained independent 
opinions. 

In addition to his private legal practice he was counsel 
for a number of organizations, among which may be men- 
tioned the following, in which he also held official position: 
Director of the Hospital for Consumptives and the Lynch- 
burg Orphanage; member of advisory board of the Young 
Women's Christian Association; and member of the executive 
committee of the Merchants' and Manufacturers' Associa- 
tion and was its legal counsel. He was a member of the Greek 
letter fraternity Delta Kappa Epsilon; past supreme regent 
of the Royal Arcanum; member of University and Baltimore 
clubs, Maryland Historical Society, Society of Colonial 
Wars, United Confederate Veterans, Baltimore Bar Associa- 
tion, and Maryland Bar Association. 

Mr. Trippe married, at Baltimore, November 7, 1872, 
Caroline Augusta, daughter of James and Mary Dawes (Graf- 
ton) McConky. Children: 1. James McConky, born March 
4, 1874; judge an d president of the Appeal Tax Court; mar- 
ried, December 4, 1906, Mary Hanson Kirby, and has one 
daughter, Mary Ringgold. 2. Grafton Wallace, born October 
13, 1875, died in infancy. 3. Sarah Patterson, born July 17, 
1877; died September 10, 1898. 4. Andrew Noel, born 
November 19, 1878; is engaged in mercantile business. 

Mr. Trippe was thoroughly conversant with every detail 
of his profession, and threw into the conduct of the cases he 
undertook the same energy and vital force which distinguished 
him so signally on the field of battle, when he and his com- 
panions struggled against adverse circumstances and condi- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



57 



tions. A high sense of honor and an innate nobility were 
among his most noticeable characteristics. He occupied an 
enviable position among his fellow-citizens, who willingly 
accorded to Him a place in their first ranks, not alone for his 
many professional and business qualities, but for every trait 
that marks the true Christian gentleman and the man of honor. 
His heart was ever in sympathy with the sorrows of the un- 
fortunate, and his hand ever ready to contribute to the allevia- 
tion of distress. But, perhaps, the richest traits of his char 
acter were his strong domestic sentiments and habits, which 
impelled him to seek his highest happiness in the family circle. 
He was the last surviving member of the Baltimore bar to 
be admitted before the Civil War. He died at Baltimore, 
Maryland, July 17, 1918. 




THOMAS GORDON HAYES 

TN TRACING the life history of Thomas Gordon Hayes 
there are many titles found to which he held just claim; 
student, lawyer, Assemblyman, State Senator, Mayor, but 
nowhere is he referred to as a politician; for, although he 
was the storm centre of many a political battle, it was the 
very fact that he was not a politician which caused those 
battles. He had political ambitions, it is true, and it is still 
truer that the people wanted him, but he was of that "old 
school" citizen and official, believing with Henry Clay that 
it was better to be right than to be President, and with Grover 
Cleveland that a public office was a public trust. Such sen- 
timents and such independence did not please the "powers 
that rule," and after an experience in attempting to usurp 
his power as Mayor, they let him severely alone, a more 
pliable man suiting their purpose better. But his term as 
Mayor of Baltimore is one of the bright spots in the city's 
history, and the fact that he was not renominated and allowed 
to carry his plans through to completion was Baltimore's 
loss and no discredit to Mayor Hayes. 

Contemporaries who have survived him, and are them- 
selves men of eminence and high in public life, have freely 
expressed themselves and branded Mr. Hayes as one of the 
strongest men the State of Maryland has produced and the 
best Mayor Baltimore ever had. "A great lawyer, public 
spirited and patriotic, a factor for good, a man of sterling 
honor, gifted with intellectual powers and high ideals, splen- 
didly able, a learned and successful lawyer." To a man pos- 
sessing such a character and reputation, and his party natural- 
ly dominant in city and State, there was every temptation to 
so trim his sails that he might follow a course pleasing to party 
rulers, State and local, but as the first Mayor of Baltimore, 




sfrfr^m/Z^Cf. /\/&4Y'3 



> - fa 



' 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 59 

under the new charter, which was practically his own child, 
he placed the city's interest above his own and cast all con- 
sideration of personal preferment aside. 

In the course he pursued as Mayor he knowingly faced 
the alienation of friends and the desertion of political allies, 
but he took the "bit in his teeth," grimly carried out his own 
ideas of his duty to the taxpayers, and walked out of the City 
Hall at the end of his term with but a remnant of the throng 
who acclaimed him at his inauguration. 

But the fact that he had signed his own political "death 
warrant" brought him no regrets. Stubbornly and inflexibly 
honest, his sufficient reward was the knowledge of duty well 
performed, and the certain knowledge that the future welfare 
of his city would result and that history would write his ad- 
ministration as wise, patriotic and just. The tangible results 
of that administration are many and enduring, while its in- 
fluence is still felt in the City Hall, as standards were set that 
enlightened public opinion has indicated to those who have 
followed him it would be wise to maintain. 

Brusque, unyielding and combatative, full of prejudices, 
brainy and indomitably courageous, with none of the arts 
and artifices of the man who seeks popularity, he was cordially 
hated by the professional politician, but as the fine "old 
school" lawyer, he bore the good will of all. Like all really 
big lawyers, Mr. Hayes made no pretentious appearance 
either in his office or in the trial of cases in court. His 
offices were modest rooms on the second floor of No. 202 
North Calvert street, and his nearest approach to an office 
assistant was a boy to run errands and remain in the office 
when he was out. He would not tolerate either typewriter 
or telephone in office or home, and while clients might com- 
plain of difficulty in reading his manuscript or extol the 
virtues of the telephone, he would not employ the aid of 



60 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

modern conveniences, but pursued the even tenor of his way. 
He was very methodical. On his office door was painted 
"office hours from 10 A. M. until i P. M.," and that sign 
meant what it said. He always took an early morning ride 
in his automobile, took regularly an afternoon nap, and before 
the advent of the automobile, the bicycle was his favorite 
recreation, a daily ride following the afternoon nap. Prior 
to either, horseback iiding was his favorite exercise. He 
loved his profession deeply, was eminent in its practice, and 
was counsel in some of the most remarkable cases in the legal 
annals of his State. 

When the Governor of Maryland made his memorable 
attack upon the Baltimore police board, he was counsel for 
the board. As counsel for the defense, he secured the acquit- 
tal of the four alleged dynamite conspirators, defended ex- 
Mayor Hooper, when as a member of the school board he 
was held to answer charges made by the president of the 
school board, and the record might be indefinitely continued, 
as the list of celebrated cases is a very long one. He seldom 
lost a case, and was held in veneration by the legal profes- 
sion. Frequently he would carry a Bible into the court 
room, and from its pages read to the jurymen a portion of 
scripture he deemed appropriate. He was a son of the Rev. 
Thomas C. and Julia (Gordon) Hayes, of Northumberland 
county, Virginia. 

Thomas Gordon Hayes was born in Anne Arundel 
county, Maryland, January 5, 1844, died at Mountain Lake 
Park, while on his summer vacation, August 27, 191 5. He 
was trained under the influences of a Christian home by 
devout, cultured Christian parents, an influence reflected 
throughout his entire life. After preparation in private 
schools, he entered Virginia Military Institute, Lexington, 
Virginia, leaving to enter the Conferedate Army. After the 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 61 

war ended, he returned to the Institute and was graduated 
in the class of 1867. After graduation he was appointed 
assistant professor of mathematics and continued at the insti- 
tute in that capacity until offered the chair of natural science 
at Kentucky Military Institute, when he resigned. He filled 
that chair at Kentucky Military Institute, located near Frank- 
fort, for four years, during which period he studied law under 
Attorney General Rodman, and was admitted to the Ken- 
tucky bar. 

In 1872 Mr. Hayes located in Baltimore, the scene of 
his legal and political activities for more than forty years. 
He was then twenty-eight years of age, thoroughly furnished 
intellectually, and fully equipped for the profession he would 
follow. He soon demonstrated his ability and in course of 
time gathered around him a strong, influential clientele. He 
was an ardent Democrat, and soon made his influence felt 
in city affairs, receiving his first official recognition in 1880, 
when elected to the Maryland House of Delegates. In 1886 
he was appointed by President Cleveland, United States dis- 
trict attorney for the Baltimore district, and in 1893-94 was 
city solicitor under Mayor Latrobe. These purely legal 
offices added greatly to his professional reputation, and when 
Baltimore was found in need of a new city charter, Mr. Hayes 
was one of the men selected to draft it. He is often called the 
"father" of the new charter, and, in fact, many of the vital 
features of that document were prepared by him. He knew 
the charter word by word, and when called to the mayor's chair 
as the first executive under the new law, he was continually 
finding in it authority for all the things he wanted to do for 
the city, no one else seeming to be aware of the clauses he 
could refer to by chapter and page. 

After retiring from the executive chair, Mayor Hayes 
resumed the practice of law, appearing in several notable 



62 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

cases. As a criminal lawyer he was without a peer, and in 
general practice was very successful, ranking with the best 
in legal learning. Gifted with intellectual powers of a high 
order, this great lawyer did not use them basely, but splendid 
in his upright Christian manhood, used them to promote a 
higher ideal of citizenship, a more enlightened public spirit, 
a higher standard of civic righteousness. His own honor as 
a lawyer and as a citizen he held inviolate, and from his en- 
trance to the city in 1872 until his death was a factor for good 
in city and state affairs. His political career, so far as the 
public is concerned, began in 1880 with his election to the 
House of Delegates, followed by his choice as State Senator 
in 1884, 1886, 1892 and 1894. ^ n tne House he was chair- 
man of the committee on militia and chairman of the special 
committee, insolvent laws. In this latter capacity, in connec- 
tion with Judge William A. Fisher, chairman of a Senate com- 
mittee of like importance, he drafted and pressed to final 
passage the present insolvent laws of the State. His Senate 
term was interrupted by his appointment by President Cleve- 
land as United States District Attorney, June 1, 1886, but he 
was again State Senator in 1892 and the father of the "Hayes" 
bill for the reassessment of Maryland property, which he 
vigorously pressed. That bill passed both houses of the 
Legislature, but was vetoed by Governor Brown. His term 
expired in 1895 an( ^ so valuable had been his public service 
that he was a prominent candidate for Governor in that year, 
an office which he had a laudable ambition to fill. He had 
the promised support of United States Senator Arthur P. 
Gorman and a banner was prominently displayed across Bal- 
timore street declaring his candidacy. But he was defeated 
by the edict sent forth by an organization leader who was not 
in sympathy with the attitude Senator Hayes had taken in the 
Senate nor with his spirit of independence. The fiat went 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 63 

forth that John E. Hurst should be nominated and he was, only 
to be defeated at the polls by Lloyd Lowndes. He served as 
city solicitor under Mayors Latrobe and Hooper, then was 
out of public office until 1899. 

In that year the party leaders saw a great light. They 
had beaten Senator Hayes for Governor in 1895 and had seen 
their nominees go down in defeat in that year and in 1897. 
While ex-Governor Brown was opposed to Mr. Hayes on 
account of the differences which had arisen between them 
over the "Hayes" reassessment bill which Governor Brown 
had vetoed, he withdrew his opposition when the wisdom of 
nominating a Democrat for Mayor of Baltimore who was 
not in sympathy with the State machine was shown him. He 
also had the support of Senator Gorman and the city leader, 
not for the love they bore him, but that they might return to 
power in the city through his popularity with the voters. 

He was elected Mayor and during his three years as 
chief executive of the city, 1899- 1903, there was never any 
doubt as to who was Mayor. The new charter of which he 
was the acknowledged father was adopted, and with vim and 
enthusiasm Mayor Hayes began reforming the city govern- 
ment under its provisions. Old departments, rusty with disuse 
and misuse were abolished; other departments were merged, 
and new ones established. Mayor Hayes took the leadership 
rightfully attached to the office he held, worked early and 
late, met the many difficulties, solved the unexpected prob- 
lems, found a way around the many troubles that beset him 
and in time, to the surprise of those who opposed, had the 
new governmental machinery smoothly running and doing 
splendid service. One of the most apparent features of this 
reorganization was the uplifting of the standard of efficiency 
in the public schools. J. H. Van Sickle was brought from 
the West, his appointment resulting in changes most bene- 
ficial. 



64 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

But the crowning achievement of Mayor Hayes' admin- 
istration was the sale of the Western Maryland Railway, a 
property long a burden on the taxpayers of Baltimore,' a bur- 
den steadily increasing year after year with no prospect of 
relief. The Mayor, with characteristic energy and directness, 
set about to effect a sale, but not until speculative offers had 
been swept away did a bona fide bid appear. Then an ordi- 
nance authorizing the sale of the road was introduced by 
Harry F. Linderman in the second branch of the City Council 
and passed. And finally, after a period of widest discussion, 
public meetings and public excitement, a sale was effected, 
giving Baltimore a net profit of nearly four and one-half 
million dollars out of its dealings with the Western Maryland. 
Various uses for this amount were suggested, but Mayor 
Hayes determined it should be dedicated to a system of sani- 
tary sewers. He had a committee of the city's engineers make 
an exhaustive survey and estimate of cost for a complete sew- 
erage system for the city, but before action could be taken his 
term expired. At that time Mayor Hayes issued a statement 
stating he wished a second term in order that he might carry his 
policies through to successful conclusion. He was opposed 
by I. Freeman Raisin, the leader of the regular city Demo- 
cratic organization, who at the primary election elected his 
delegates, although Mayor Hayes was supported by the Cres- 
cent Club, led by influential Democrats. This was the ven- 
geance promised the Mayor by the organization for his loyalty 
to the people's interest and his refusal to take orders from the 
"machine" in his government of the city. 

After his retirement from office and the laying aside of 
public duty, Mr. Hayes did not again appear in public affairs, 
although in 1911 he was urged for nomination for attorney 
general, and in 1914 flattering offers of support were made 
him for United States Senator, but he declined. His last years 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 65 

were spent in law practice and in greater activity in religious 
work. In 1909 he became leader of a Bible class, connected 
with the Central Methodist Episcopal Church, which class 
became very dear to his heart. The original class of forty 
men grew to over a hundred, and to its conduct Mr. Hayes 
devoted himself with all his characteristic force. Every Sat- 
urday he published in the Baltimore "Sun" an exposition of 
the lesson to be taught the next day, these attracting wide- 
spread interest as evidenced by the many complimentary let- 
ters he received from Bible teachers and students. He pos- 
sessed a fine library of legal and theological books at his home, 
No. 2901 St. Paul street, where he resided with his sister, 
Miss Julia Hayes, the only relative to survive him. 




MD.-5 



ARUNAH SHEPHERDSON ABELL 

ARUNAH SHEPHERDSON ABELL, the second to 
bear this honored name, was born at Pikesville, Balti- 
more county, Maryland, eldest son of Edwin Franklin and 
Margaret (Curley) Abell. From his earliest youth he was 
of a robust constitution, and exceedingly fond of athletic sports 
and country life in general. He enjoyed the advantages of 
an excellent education, being first a student at St. Mary's Col- 
lege at Emmitsburg, Maryland, and then at Georgetown Uni- 
versity, Washington, D. C. 

Mental activity has always been a distinguishing trait of 
the members of the Abell family, and Mr. Abell was no 
exception to the rule. He immediately sought and found 
occupation in the business department of "The Baltimore 
Sun," and when this was incorporated as the A. S. Abell 
Company, he was elected a director, holding the offices of 
secretary and treasurer, in both of which positions his execu- 
tive ability is still beneficially felt. 

Mr. Abell married, June 22, 1892, Anna T. Schley, and 
had seven children. He was devoted to his home and family, 
finding there the greatest pleasures of his life, and the greater 
part of the year was spent in the country in the vicinity of his 
city home, as he wished his children to have the benefit of 
the country life he so richly enjoyed in his own youth. While 
Mr. Abell took no active part in the political affairs of his 
country, he was by no means indifferent to the outcome of 
affairs, and gave his staunch support to the principles of the 
Democratic party. His religious affiliations were with the 
Roman Catholic church, of which he was a member. Mr. 
Abell evinced a decided love of nature and natural objects, 
but the beauties of art also appealed to him in a very strong 
manner, as is amply testified by the collection of pictures and 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



67 



other works of art which was to be found in his home. Of 
a high standard of intellectuality, it was but natural that he 
should have acquired in the course of time an extensive library 
of the choicest and best selected literature, this being one of 
the charms that made his home such an attractive one. In 
the midst of these refined surroundings, the home was an 
almost ideal one and one which is not frequently found. Mr. 
Abell was a contributor to numerous benevolent undertak- 
ings, and his charity was always bestowed in an unostentatious 
manner. His death occurred July 27, 1914. 




WILLIAM GRAHAM BOWDOIN 

TN presenting to the public the representative men of the 
State of Maryland who have by superior force of char- 
acter and energy, together with a combination of ripe 
qualities of ability and excellency, made themselves con- 
spicuous and commanding in private and public life, we have 
no example more fit to present and none more worthy a place 
in this volume than the late William Graham Bowdoin. Not 
only did he rise above the standard of his line of business, 
but he possessed in a high degree the excellencies of human 
nature that makes men worthy of regard among their fellows. 
He was a high-minded and liberal man, one who was keenly 
alive to all the varying requirements of business. In an ex- 
tended search it would be difficult to find one who better than 
Mr. Bowdoin gave substantial proof of the wisdom of Lin- 
coln when he said, "There is something better than making a 
living making a life." With a realization of this truth, Mr. 
Bowdoin labored persistently and energetically not only to 
win success, but to make his life a source of benefit to his 
fellow men. 

William Graham Bowdoin was born in Baltimore county, 
Maryland, July 28, 1842, son of George E. and Mary Ann 
(Graham) Bowdoin, grandson on the maternal side of Cap- 
tain William Graham, and a descendant of Huguenot ancestry 
on the paternal side, the progenitors of the American branch 
having emigrated from Rochelle, France. George E. Bow- 
doin was a Virginia planter of Northampton county before 
his removal to Baltimore. 

William Graham Bowdoin received his early education 
from private tutors, and later attended the Dalrymple School, 
the knowledge thus obtained being supplemented by attend- 
ance at the University of Virginia. At once thereafter he 
commenced the active business career which only terminated 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 69 

at his death. He entered the banking house of Alexander 
Brown & Sons, in Baltimore, of which his uncle, William 
H. Graham, was a member, and in 1872 he was admitted to 
partnership, George S. Brown, since deceased, being then the 
executive head of the concern. Later Alexander Brown and 
Mr. Bowdoin constituted the firm. This concern is the parent 
house of Brown Brothers & Company, of Philadelphia, New 
York and Boston, and of Brown, Shipley & Company, Lon- 
don, with all of whom they were most intimately connected in 
business transactions. In many financial matters of great 
moment this firm was an important factor. The arduous and 
exacting duties attached to the affairs of his firm did 
not deter Mr. Bowdoin from assuming other responsi- 
bilities. He was a director of the Merchants' National 
Bank, the Eutaw Savings Bank, and was treasurer of 
the Baltimore and Annapolis Short Line Railroad Com- 
pany. He was a vestryman of St. Paul's Protestant Epis- 
copal Church, and one of the trustees of the Church Charities, 
one of the organizations of the Diocese of Maryland. He was 
also a trustee of the Johns Hopkins University. 

By his own honorable exertions and moral attributes, 
Mr. Bowdoin carved out for himself friends, affluence and 
position. By the strength of his own character he overcame 
obstacles which to others less hopeful and less courageous 
would seem unsurmountable. He was a business man and a 
gentleman of the best type, and no man ranked higher than 
he in qualities of character. He was justly regarded in 
Baltimore as one of the leading, most representative and pub- 
lic-spirited citizens of that great city. Scrupulous and honor- 
able in all his dealings with mankind, he bore a reputation 
for public and private integrity of which any man might be 
proud, and he left to his family a heritage of a good name 
which is more to be desired than great wealth. 



70 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



Mr. Bowdoin married, in April, 1878, Katherine Gor- 
don, daughter of James E. Price, a highly esteemed citizen 
of Wilmington, Delaware. Children: Marion Gordon, mar- 
ried Dr. J. H. Mason Knox, of Baltimore; Katherine Gordon, 
married Dr. John Staige Davis, of Baltimore; and William 
Graham, Jr., a lawyer by profession. Mr. Bowdoin died in 
Baltimore, on November 12, 1904. 




'>H NEW TOKK 
'8RARY 








J.^ixcnru^ 






COLONEL JOHN T. MORRIS 

A MAN of great versatility, Colonel John T. Morris 
divided his talents between two great professions, law 
and journalism, practicing at the Baltimore bar, and rising in 
journalism to the city editor's desk on the Baltimore "Sun." 
The honors of both professions came to him, and in addition 
to these civic and political honors were his also. His military 
title was gained as a member of the staff of Governor Jackson, 
and during the Golden Jubilee of Pope Leo XIII, Colonel 
Morris was appointed to convey, as a gift to His Holiness, a 
volume containing a copy of the Constitution of the United 
States in exquisitely bound form. The foregoing but indi- 
cates the versatility of the genius of Colonel Morris and does 
not at all indicate his popularity in the city in which his years, 
fifty-seven, were spent, years of ceaseless activity and useful- 
ness. 

Colonel John T. Morris was born in Baltimore, Mary- 
land, June 20, 1859, and died at his home in Catonsville, 
Maryland, August 3, 1917, following an illness of nearly a 
year. He prepared for college at the various institutions con- 
ducted by the Catholic Order of Christian Brothers, and 
later entered Manhattan College, New York City, receiving 
from that institution the degree of Doctor of Philosophy at 
graduation. He then returned to Baltimore and entered the 
employ of the Baltimore "Sun," his first service being as 
reporter. His worth was soon recognized, and he was pro- 
moted to the position of news editor and was later transfer- 
red to the city editor's desk, occupying that important position 
until the year 1900. During his connection with the "Sun" 
he was adjudged to be in contempt of court through his re- 
fusal to divulge to the Grand Jury the source of the informa- 
on which a study of the presentation of Sheriff Fledderman, 



72 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

of attempted bribery, was based. Colonel Morris held that 
as a newspaper man he could not be compelled to give his 
source of information, and was punished for his refusal by 
a week's imprisonment. He was upheld by the late George 
M. Abell, then the managing director of the "Sun" and by the 
public generally. His courageous conduct furnished an ex- 
ample which has been followed by newspaper reporters 
throughout the country in their refusal to divulge sources of 
information. Colonel Morris reported the Sullivan-Kilrain 
prize fight in Louisiana, which took place nearly thirty years 
ago, and he also reported some of the greatest events of his 
day during his years as active reporter, and it is a well-known 
fact that no reporter was ever on better terms with the police 
department than Colonel Morris. It was during his news- 
paper career that he made the journey to Rome, Italy, as 
President Cleveland's personal representative to present to 
Pope Leo XIII the gift of a magnificent volume containing 
a copy of the Constitution of the United States, the occasion 
being the fiftieth anniversary of the Holy Father's ordination 
as a priest. He wrote letters to the "Sun" describing the cele- 
bration, and letters analyzing political and economic condi- 
tions as then existing in Europe, these being both instruc- 
tive and interesting. 

In February, 1900, after his retirement from journalism, 
he was appointed a member of the Board of Police Commis- 
sioners of the City of Baltimore, the appointment being made 
by Governor John W. Smith. Colonel Morris, while per- 
forming the duties of his office, read law, a long cherished 
desire, completed a course in the law department of the Uni- 
versity of Maryland, was graduated with the degree of 
Bachelor of Laws in 1903, and in that year was admitted to 
the Baltimore bar. After his retirement as police commis- 
sioner, Colonel Morris began the practice of law with his 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 73 

son, John T. Morris, Jr., this connection continuing until the 
death of the son, August 23, 191 6, they meeting with well- 
merited success. Upon his admission to the bar, Colonel 
Morris was presented with a handsome leather library couch 
by the United Irish League of Baltimore, of which he was 
formerly president. The couch bore a suitably inscribed silver 
plate. This action was taken pursuant to a resolution adopted 
by the league expressing the pride which its members felt upon 
the admission of Colonel Morris to the bar. The presentation 
was made through James T. O'Neill, chairman. 

Colonel Morris married, October 30, 1884, Virginia C. 
Maguire, who died April 17, 1916. They were the parents 
of two children: John T., Jr., born August 18, 1885, a mem- 
ber of the Baltimore bar, associated with his father in the 
practice of law, died August 23, 1916 ; and Virginia C, born 
November 1, 1889, a resident of Baltimore. 

While Colonel Morris had been in poor health for a 
year, the final breakdown was caused by the death of his wife 
in April, 1916, followed a few months later by that his son. 
When the death of Colonel Morris was announced only the 
Superior Court was in session; the motion that the court ad- 
journ out of respect to his memory was made by Eugene J. 
Cronin and seconded by Chapin A. Ferguson, and the motion 
was granted by Judge Dobler in suitable words of regret and 
respect. The funeral services were held at St. Martin's Roman 
Catholic Church. The church was filled with friends from 
various circles, principally political and professional, among 
them being a number of Chinese merchants whom he had 
served as counsel in their legal difficulties and as their friend. 
The Christian Brothers, under whom he studied, were largely 
represented, as were Eccleston Council, Catholic Benevolent 
Legion, and the Ancient Order of Hibernians, institutions of 
which he had long been a member. The pallbearers were 



74 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



friends of the Baltimore bar. A high mass of requiem was 
celebrated, and at the conclusion of the last, absolution was 
pronounced by the Rt. Rev. Owen B. Corrigan, Auxiliary 
Bishop of Baltimore. His remains were interred in Bonnie 
Brae Cemetery. 




NICHOLAS RUFUS GILL 

m 

PROMINENT among those in the city of Baltimore who 
rose to eminence at the bar was Nicholas Rufus Gill, who 
was a man of marked capacity and decided character, and 
of the most undoubted integrity. He was modest and un- 
assuming in his deportment, and retiring in his habits, with 
no disposition to put himself forward, but in whatever posi- 
tion he was placed he was emphatic and decided. He went 
further than the mere requirements of the ethical code. He 
was always anxious, not merely to act honorably to a profes- 
sional brother, but also to serve him, if he could, by advanc- 
ing his interests, and increasing his claims to public estima- 
tion and confidence. In the language of the lamented Lane, 
"He was so constituted, that it was impossible for him to be 
guilty of dishonorable rivalry towards his fellow practition- 
ers." He scorned the tricks of the profession and those who 
practiced them. To the junior members of the faculty, he was 
particularly kind and generous. They were at once made to 
feel that he was one in whom they could place their confi- 
dence. 

Nicholas Rufus Gill was born in Western Run Valley, 
Baltimore county, Maryland, March 12, 1838. He received 
his early education in Lamb's School and Milton Academy. 
When twenty-one years of age he entered the law offices of 
the late David Stewart and read law for one year, after which 
he matriculated at Harvard, graduating from the law depart- 
ment of that institution in the class of 1859. Immediately 
after his graduation he returned to Baltimore and opened 
an office for the general practice of his profession. His skill 
and ability were soon recognized and he enjoyed a lucrative 
patronage, practicing alone until such time as his sons were 
able to assist him, when he formed the firm of N. Rufus Gill 



76 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

& Sons. His connection with the firm of which he was the 
founder had been of late years as adviser to his sons, owing to 
the fact of impaired hearing, which affliction had greatly in- 
terfered with his law practice. Mr. Gill was not a politician, 
although a consistent Democrat. He was a member of the 
first branch of the city council three terms and twice served 
in the capacity of president of that body. At the expiration 
of his last term his fellow councilmen passed resolutions recog- 
nizing his faithful services. He declined to allow his name to 
be used for any other elective office. His last public position 
was as president of the water board, about 1890. Thus it will 
be seen that his life has been an active one, being widely 
extended, and will be felt and recognized for many years to 
come, although he has passed from the scene of his earthly 
labors. 

Mr. Gill, who was injured October 27, 1905, in a driving 
accident on St. Paul Street Bridge, died October 30, 1905, at 
the sanitarium of Dr. Miller, whither he was taken immedi- 
ately after the accident. He and his daughter, Miss Agnes 
Gill, were thrown from a buggy, the accident being due to 
a high-spirited horse. The funeral services were conducted 
by the Rev. John G. Murray, rector of St. Michael's and All 
Angels Protestant Episcopal Church, and the Rev. William 
H. Falkner, rector of St. Peter's Protestant Episcopal Church. 
Fifty members of Crusade Commandery, Knights Templar, 
attended the services, their members acting as active pall- 
bearers. At the grave in the family lot at Greenmount Ceme- 
tery the Masonic rites were observed. 




PHILEMON HALLAM TUCK 

/ T V HE Tuck family is one which has held a prominent posi- 
tion in the highest circles of Maryland for a long period, 
and the subject of this narrative, Philemon Hallam Tuck, 
inherited in full the measure the charms of intellect, nobility 
and courtliness which have characterized his ancestors. He 
was a direct descendant of several of the most distinguished 
families of the State, among them being the Brookes, Chews, 
Bowies and Spriggs. Personally he made a name for himself 
in the legal profession, and especially in real estate matters 
his business acumen and foresight were of the greatest benefit 
to his many clients. His paternal line is as follows: 

William Tuck, an honored resident of Annapolis, Mary- 
land, possessed a widespread reputation as one of the most 
progressive men of his day. His active and conscientious 
public spirit identified him with the majority of the public 
and social enterprises of importance in his community, and he 
was honored with positions of trust and responsibility. From 
his earliest years his literary ability was recognized as being 
of a high order and the most accomplished men of the day 
were his intimate associates. 

William Hallam, son of William Tuck, was born in 
Annapolis, Maryland, November 20, 1808, and died there 
March 17, 1884. The Legislature adjourned in respect to his 
memory, and preceded by the sergeant-at-arms bearing the 
mace, attended the funeral in a body, which was an unprece- 
dented honor. His education was acquired under the most 
favorable auspices, and he received in 1827 the degree of 
Master of Arts from St. John's College. The consistency 
and uprightness which characterized his performance of all 
duties which fell to his share naturally attracted the attention 
of those high in office, and although Mr. Tuck rarely 



78 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

sought public office, it was repeatedly tendered him, and he 
accepted these trusts, deeming it for the best interests of the 
people that he should do so. For many years he was a mem- 
ber of the Court of Appeals, and subsequently Governor Brad- 
ford appointed him Judge of the Circuit Court of Anne 
Arundel and Calvert counties. At the time of his death he 
was president of the Board of County Commissioners, having 
been appointed to this office by Governor Hamilton. As a 
member of the House of Delegates of Maryland, he served a 
number of terms, and during one term was speaker of the 
House. He also served as a member of the Constitutional 
Convention in 1851, and later as a Senator. In financial mat- 
ters he was also in the foremost rank, having held office as 
president of the First National Bank of Annapolis, the Citi- 
zens' Bank of Annapolis and the Traders' National Bank of 
Baltimore; was a director of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad, 
representing the State of Maryland stock in that corporation. 
He was a member of the board of governors and visitors of 
St. John's College, being succeeded in this office by his son, 
Philemon H. Judge Tuck married Margaret Sprigg Bowie 
Chew, born January 3, 18 18, died March 12, 1885. 

Philemon Hallam, son of William Hallam and Margaret 
Sprigg Bowie (Chew) Tuck, was born in Prince George 
county, Maryland, July 22, 1852. Endowed by nature with 
a mentality of unusual caliber, his scholastic course from the 
outset was one of honor. His elementary education was ob- 
tained in private schools and by the invitation of Governor 
Bradford he shared the instruction of the Governor's sons in 
the Government House in Annapolis, and he then attended 
the preparatory school connected with St. John's College. He 
matriculated at St. John's College, from which he graduated 
with high honors, obtaining the degree of Bachelor of Arts, 
then from the post-graduate course with the degree of Master 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 79 

of Arts. Becoming a student at the Law School of the Uni- 
versity of Maryland he was graduated from this institution 
with the degree, of Bachelor of Laws. 

Engaging in the practice of law in Baltimore in 1875, 
he achieved success, his power of concentration making this 
an assured fact. He was, however, a man of action, rather 
than of words, and his untiring energy and undoubted busi- 
ness talents decided him to attempt another field of industry. 
He accordingly gave considerable attention to real estate 
matters, in connection with his legal practice, and undoubt- 
edly had more experience and accomplished as good results 
in this branch as any other lawyer in Maryland. His broad, 
comprehensive grasp of all questions arising in his practice 
gave him an unquestionable ability to cope with large matters. 
He never cared to hold public office, but as a private citizen 
had done his full share in upholding the principles of civic 
cleanliness and progress, by casting his vote for those who were 
best able to further these ends. He was a member of the 
Reform League, and had served for many years as a member 
of the executive committee of the Civil Service Reform Asso- 
ciation. He was one of the board of visitors and governors 
of St. John's College and vice-provost of the board of regents 
of the University of Maryland. His professional affiliations 
were with the State Bar Association and the Baltimore City 
Bar Association. He was an honored member of numerous 
social organizations, among them being: Sons of the Colonial 
Wars, Churchman's Club of Maryland, Sons of the Revolu- 
tion, Society of Colonial Lords of Manors in America, 
Bachelors' Cotillon and the following clubs: University, 
Baltimore Country. He was a vestryman of Christ Episcopal 
Church of Baltimore, and was appointed by Bishop John G. 
Murray, chairman of the committee whose duty was to seat 
the invited guests on the occasion of Cardinal Gibbons' Jubilee 



80 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

when possibly twenty thousand persons were in the audience, 
and many of the chief dignitaries of the nation on the stage. 
He was a liberal giver to all charitable objects. He was 
especially interested in assisting young men of ambition and 
ability, and was quick to notice unusual qualities of mind or 
heart in any one. 

Mr. Tuck married (first) Grace G., daughter of Wil- 
liam Devries, founder of the firm of William Devries & 
Company, in its day one of the leading dry goods houses of 
the South. Mr. Tuck married (second) Dorcas V., daughter 
of Philip Jamieson, a prominent merchant of Toronto, who 
was considered one of the most astute business men of the 
city. Mr. Tuck traveled extensively in the United States, 
Canada, Europe, Egypt and other parts of Africa, but he 
considered it his duty, as well as his pleasure, to study his own 
country above all others. He inherited the patriotism, cour- 
age and courtly bearing which distinguished his ancestors, and 
his fine presence and youthful glance and ardor made him 
in all respects worthy of the traditions of his well-known 
family. His death occurred August 5, 1917. 




JORDAN STABLER 

JORDAN STABLER, who was a leader in the commercial 
* circles of Baltimore and head of the firm of Jordan Stabler 
Company, one of the largest grocery houses in the South, 
was descended on both sides from colonial Quaker families 
of English origin. 

The earliest notice found of the Stabler family in the 
London records dates back to the time of King Edward I, 
about 1274. In the history of York, England, we find the 
marriage of George and Ann Stabler in 1680; one son is 
mentioned as Ishmael Stabler, Gentleman. 

Edward, the son of Ishmael, was lord mayor of York 
from 1774 to 1779. At the time of his death in 1786 he was 
one of the aldermen of that corporation. A record published 
on that date reads: 

Edward Stabler, who served the office of Lord Mayor, 1774 to 1779. 
A gentleman who discharged the duties of public and private life with the 
most conscientious integrity, and in whom were happily blended all the amiable 
virtues that could dignify human nature and constitute the character of a 
truly good man. His loss will be long and severely felt and deplored. 

Another Edward Stabler, born in Yorkshire in 1732, a 
close relative of the lord mayor, emigrated to America in 
1753; married Mary Robinson, of Chester, Pennsylvania; 
settled in Petersburg, Virginia, and was a prominent shipping 
and importing merchant during the Revolution. An inter- 
esting story of courage and devotion to principles was given 
us by Rev. Moncure D. Conway, formerly of Virginia, who 
mentions Edward Stabler, of Petersburg, Virginia, the great- 
grandfather of Jordan Stabler, in his "Memoirs of the Long 
Island Historical Society." Mr. Conway's story is as fol- 
lows : 

MD.-6 



82 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

During the French and Indian War, about 1756, Governor Dinwiddie 
of Virginia issued an order that all Quakers who were drafted for the army, 
and refused to take up arms, or pay ten pounds sterling for a substitute, 
should be put in jail and lashed every day until they complied. Edward 
Stabler of Petersburg, Virginia, then twenty-four years of age, realizing the 
injustice of this order, because it was against the principles of members of 
the Society of Friends to aid or abet in war, volunteered to make the trip on 
horseback, through the forests and over the mountains (infested with savage 
Indians) to Fort Duquesne, two hundred and fifty miles, to obtain a letter 
from his friend General Washington requesting Governor Dinwiddie to 
rescind that order. 

General Washington gave him the desired letter to the Governor and 
after another two hundred and fifty miles' ride back to Virginia he secured 
the release of the "Quakers" from jail. The stone horseblock, dated 1756 
and weighing over a ton, from which he mounted to take this long and 
perilous journey, is now used by one of his descendants at Harewood, Sandy 
Spring, Montgomery county, Maryland. 

Dr. William Stabler, son of Edward Stabler, of Peters- 
burg, Virginia, married Deborah Pleasants, of Goochland 
county, Virginia, and settled in Leesburg, Virginia. In 1793 
they moved to Harewood, Sandy Spring, Montgomery county, 
Maryland, where the doctor continued to practice medicine 
until his death from hemorrhages in 1806. His wife, Deborah 
(Pleasants) Stabler, was a recommended minister of the 
Society of Friends, well known and beloved by a large circle 
of friends throughout Maryland and Virginia. During the 
War of 1812, her son Edward, the father of Jordan Stabler, 
was a clerk in the drug house of his uncle, Edward Stabler, 
in Alexandria, Virginia. He was drafted for service in the 
militia. Refusing to serve, he was arrested and placed in 
jail. His mother, who had been a schoolmate and friend 
of Dolly Madison, learning of her son's arrest wrote to the 
lady of the White House: 

Dear Dolly: My son Edward has been arrested and lodged in jail 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 83 

in Alexandria because he refused to take up arms. I want thee to tell James 
to have him released at once. 

Thy respected friend, 

Deborah. 

It is needless to say, through Dolly's influence, the request 
was granted. 

Edward, son of Dr. William and Deborah (Pleasants) 
Stabler, was born September 26, 1794; married Ann R., 
daughter of Bernard Gilpin, Sr., of Mount Airy, Sandy 
Spring, Montgomery county, Maryland. Mr. Stabler died 
September 3, 1883, on me ld Harewood estate, where he 
was born, passing away, by a singular coincidence, in the same 
room in which he had first seen the light eighty-nine years 
before. The Harewood estate was part of the original 
"Charlie Forest" grant from Lord Baltimore, and is one of 
the three farms in Montgomery county which up to the present 
time, have never passed out of the families of their original 
owners. 

Jordan, son of Edward and Ann R. (Gilpin) Stabler, 
was born January 16, 1840, on the Harewood estate. He 
received his preparatory education at the neighboring country 
schools, afterward attending Springdale Academy, Loudoun 
county, Virginia. He acquired, meanwhile, so thorough a 
knowledge of agriculture, that he was able, as a fifteen-year- 
old boy, to manage the farm for two winters, during which 
time his father was absent in Washington, assisting Obed 
Hussey to secure an extension to his patent for the first suc- 
cessful mowing and reaping machine ever built, called the 
Hussey Mowing and Reaping Machine. 

Mr. Stabler's inclinations, however, were for a commer- 
cial rather than an agricultural career, and in 1857, after 
completing his course of study, he came in the autumn to 
Baltimore, where he secured a position as clerk in the old 



84 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

grocery house of G. H. Reese & Brothers. The natural apti- 
tude for his new* duties which he immediately displayed 
proved that in his choice of a lifework he had been guided 
by a true instinct, that he possessed the qualifications of the 
genuine business man. To such good use did he put his 
capabilities and so faithfully did he discharge the obligations 
devolving upon him, that in July, 1862, he went into the 
grocery business on his own account, opening a store on Lom- 
bard street which he conducted until 1866, when he sold out 
and recommenced business in a store on Madison avenue, 
which had been built expressly for him. In 1875 he bought 
out the firm of Charles Reese & Company, whose place of 
business adjoined his own, and into this he moved, retaining 
the old building for storage purposes. In 1892 he purchased 
a third building. His trade extended throughout the country, 
and he also sold large orders to the United States government. 
He imported extensively, dealing in none but the finest goods, 
both foreign and domestic. A stock company was formed in 
1900, by taking in four clerks whom he had trained from the 
beginning and another who had been with him for some years, 
Mr. Stabler selling them stock in the business. He was presi- 
dent of the company from its organization until his death. In 
1906, he however, relinquished the detail work, but still gave 
his attention to the important branches of the business. He 
was a man of strong will, inflexible purpose and sound judg- 
ment, quick to see an emergency and equally quick in devising 
a plan to meet it, ?.nd these characteristics were the founda- 
tion of his successful career. 

Mr. Stabler's thorough business qualifications and his 
well-known executive ability were in demand on boards of 
directors of different organizations, and his public spirit led 
him to accept many such trusts. He was a director in the 
Commonwealth Bank, and for thirty years he was the presi- 
dent of the Grocers' Exchange. He was vice-president of the 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 85 

E. Stabler, Jr., Coal Company and was interested in several 
large building propositions. For many years he was a director 
in the Crown Cork and Seal Company. He was a member 
of the Board of Trade and the Merchants' and Manufacturers' 
Association. His devotion to his friends and his strict busi- 
ness probity were well known to every merchant of Baltimore 
and met with a rich return of personal regard and some meas- 
ure of financial success. A vigilant and attentive observer of 
men and measures, his opinions were recognized as sound 
and his views as broad, his ideas therefore carried weight 
among those with whom he discussed public problems. In 
the national elections he voted the Republican ticket and in 
local elections supported the best man. He was active in the 
Good Government Club when that organization was in its 
prime, and was ever ready to lend his aid to any project for 
the welfare and improvement of his native city. He was a 
member of Emanuel Protestant Episcopal Church. 

Mr. Stabler married, February 14, 1877, Carrie E., 
daughter of Dr. Robert Semple, of Philadelphia, and three 
children were born to them. The mother of these children 
died in 1886, and Mr. Stabler married, March 21, 1894, Ellen 
W., daughter of Rev. Horace Dean Walker, of New York. 
Of this marriage there was no issue. 

Mr. Jordan Stabler, the subject of this narrative, was a 
representative of the prominent merchant to whom business is 
but one phase of existence, not excluding active participation 
in other vital interests which go to make up human existence. 
He was a type of the Baltimore merchant of whom his city 
is justly proud, whose enterprise and integrity not only develop 
its commerce, but give it an enviable reputation for fair deal- 
ing and honorable methods. It is such men who lay, deep and 
strong, the foundation on which is reared the fair structure 
of a great city's financial prosperity. He died in his native 
city, June 20, 1916. 



GEORGE FREDERICK PATTERSON 

HPHE American career of George F. Patterson, extending 
over a period of thirty-four years, 1 880-1914, was passed 
in the city of Baltimore, in connection with the shipping 
interests of the city. He came to Baltimore the matured man 
of forty, his boyhood, youth and early manhood all having 
been spent in an atmosphere of ship building and the shipping 
business. In fact, his coming to the United States was in the 
interest of a shipping firm, and the firm he founded in Balti- 
more became one of the most important and best known along 
the Atlantic seaboard. The name Patterson was a very promi- 
nent one in marine circles in England, and it is interesting to 
note in connection with the life of George F. Patterson, of 
Baltimore, that he was a son of William Patterson, of Bristol, 
England, who may be called the "father" of steam navigation 
on the Atlantic. 

William Patterson was president of the Great Western 
Steamship Company of Bristol, the company which among 
others built the paddle steamer "Great Western," designed 
by Brunei, one of the greatest architects of that time, and 
which proved to be a historic ship, the first Atlantic steamer, 
of 1340 tons measurement, 120 feet long and 35 feet beam. 
She was launched July 19, 1837, and sailed from Kingroad for 
New York, April 8, 1838, which port she reached after an 
uneventful voyage of fifteen days ten hours. The Bristol ship 
exceeded the most sanguine expectations. She easily made 
her ten miles an hour, as Brunei proposed, and instead of 
burning 1480 tons of coal, as savants had calculated, she went 
home at a cost of 392 tons. Great excitement prevailed on 
both sides of the Atlantic, and a crowd of one hundred thou- 
sand cheered the ship as she left New York. The "Great 
Britain," another celebrated ship designed by Brunei and 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 87 



built by the Great Western Steamship Company, was of 3,000 
tons and launched by His Royal Highness the Prince Con- 
sort, July 19, 1843. She was the first screw steamer built for 
the Atlantic. The "Great Britain" is today still doing service, 
being used as a wool storage warehouse in the Falkland 
Islands. After building several other well-known merchant 
ships, Mr. Patterson built many gun boats for the British 
government, which proved valuable additions to the navy. 

George Frederick Patterson, son of William Patterson, 
was born in Bristol, England, May 24, 1840, died in Balti- 
more, Maryland, February 13, 19 14. He was well educated 
in Bristol schools, and in his early life gained a familiarity 
with ships and the shipping business, through association with 
his father, who was heavily interested in ship building and 
operation. When still a young man he entered the shipping 
firm of Gibbs, Bright & Son, of Liverpool, later transferring 
his services to William Johnston & Company, Ltd., continuing 
with the latter firm of ship owners and shipping merchants 
until the year 1880. He had, during the years which had 
passed, gained complete and comprehensive knowledge of the 
details of the business as conducted by William Johnston & 
Company, and in 1880 he was sent with Robert Ramsay to 
act as representative of the Johnston line of Atlantic steamers 
in Baltimore. The firm of Patterson, Ramsay & Company, 
steamship agents and brokers, was formed in Baltimore, and 
through that house, which became widely and favorably 
known, steamers were loaded at Baltimore, not only for the 
Johnston line, but for other lines trading with the principal 
ports of Great Britain and the Continent. The offices of the 
company became the center of the foreign shipping business 
of Baltimore, and the tonnage shipped through their agency 
was enormous. Mr. Patterson continued at the head of the 
company he founded until 1907, when he retired, having 



88 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

reached the age of sixty-seven years, and won the right by an 
unintermitted business career covering nearly half a century. 
His business in Baltimore brought him into intimate 
relation with financiers and leading mercantile men of the 
city, and in such circles he was regarded as a man of highest 
ability, while his every business transaction was marked by 
the strictest observance of the principles of honor and fair 
dealing. He was one of the best known business men of the 
city, and was universally respected. Broad in his sympathy, 
genial and courteous in manner, he attracted both young and 
old. He was a member of the Maryland, Merchants and 
Baltimore Country clubs. After his retirement from business 
he resided in Roland Park. 




ALBERT RITCHIE 

/ T A HE State of Maryland has been happy in the services 
of many able and upright men upon the bench, and 
none have been more dearly beloved, respected and esteemed, 
or more faithful and efficient, than Albert Ritchie, who was 
born September 7, 1834, in Frederick, Maryland, the son 
of Albert Ritchie, a prominent physician of that place. 

Albert Ritchie was educated at Dickinson College, Car- 
lisle, Pennsylvania, and the University of Virginia, from 
whose law school he was graduated in 1856. He was imme- 
diately admitted to the bar at Frederick, and two years later 
settled at Baltimore, where he was admitted May 9, 1859. 
For nearly half a century his home was in Baltimore, and for 
a quarter of a century he was one of the most active mem- 
bers of the bar of that city. Mr. Ritchie lived without re- 
proach, and at his death left to his family and friends the 
greatest legacy possible in his personal character and high 
standing. It has been said of him that he was "without fear 
and without reproach." "No man can have a higher ambi- 
tion than that, and to achieve such an aim, to have it recog- 
nized by his fellow men, forms an imperishable heritage." 
His legal attainments quickly won for him a place which 
was strengthened and advanced by the passing years. To the 
principles of law he gave earnest and patient study, and he 
never undertook a case until he was satisfied of its inherent 
justice. When satisfied upon that point, to the conduct of the 
case he gave most careful and painstaking preparation, and 
entered upon its conduct with zeal and energy, regardless 
of any emoluments which it might bring to him. "His time, 
his learning and his strength were as earnestly given to one 
from whom no reward but gratitude could be expected as 
to his wealthiest client." In 1888 he was chosen president of 



90 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

the Bar Association of Baltimore, testifying to the regard 
in which he was held by his contemporaries. 

Very early in life he began to give attention to political 
matters, and he was much in the public service. In 1867 
Mr. Ritchie took a prominent part in the proceedings of the 
State Constitutional Convention, and from 1872 to 1876 he 
was city solicitor. In 1880 and 1881 he was president of the 
board of supervisors of elections, and was again at the head 
of the city's law department during the terms of Mayors 
Davidson and Latrobe. He was still in this office when he 
was appointed by Governor Brown to fill out the unexpired 
term of Judge William A. Stewart, an associate judge of the 
supreme bench of Baltimore. This service began September 
24, 1892, and at the election in the following November he 
was elected for a full term of fifteen years. In 1888 he was 
a delegate to the Democratic national convention in St. Louis, 
at which President Cleveland was nominated. 

For several years preceding Judge Ritchie's death, which 
occurred September 14, 1903, at Narragansett Pier, Rhode 
Island, he was president of the Maryland Historical Society. 
In this he felt a deep interest and contributed many essays 
and articles on the early history of the State, the first build- 
ings of Baltimore, and other kindred subjects. At the expira- 
tion of the term of Chief Judge William Brown, of the 
supreme bench, he was urged by his friends to accept an 
appointment as Judge Brown's successor, but declined. The 
Baltimore "Sun" said: "Judge Ritchie was distinguished not 
only for his great ability as a lawyer and his zeal as a student, 
but for the dignity which he believed should pertain to the 
high office he held, and for the kind and courteous manner 
in which he treated all with whom he came in contact." To 
the public service he gave the same faithful care that his 
private business received. "His deep conviction and sense 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 91 

of civic obligations would not permit him to stand idly by, 
or shirk when there was need of voice or pen or brain upon 
the part of the city or the State. As a private citizen, or in 
public station, he ever bore the 'full and manly part' and con- 
tributed much to the general weal. When first tendered a 
position on the bench he declined it, but four years later, when 
it was again offered, accepted, and the last decade of his life 
was devoted to that work. Already have the bench and bar 
paid a tribute to his worth as a jurist, when the eloquence 
of the advocate had been succeeded by the impartiality and 
industry of the judge. His work during this period of his 
life is so recent, so well known of all men, that it needs only 
to be said, that on the bench, Albert Ritchie perpetuated in his 
own person, not one, but all of the best traditions of the bar 
and bench of this State, which have made the annals of the 
legal profession one of the brightest pages in Maryland's 
history." 

To him official position of any sort was not an idle 
honor, and was viewed in the light of an extended opportunity 
for work. In 1896 and again in 1900 he read before the 
Maryland Historical Society papers on "The Early County 
Seats and Court Houses of Baltimore County," a most valu- 
able addition to the annals of the community. "His was a 
rounded manhood, in which the best qualities of brain and 
heart were developed in equable proportion to each other. 
Having almost reached the allotted span of life, it was his 
fortune to fall ere decay had shown itself in any of the traits 
which evoked the admiration and affection of those who 
knew him." The following resolutions were adopted by the 
Maryland Historical Society: 

1. Resolved, That in the death of Judge Albert Ritchie, President of 
this Society, we recognize the loss of one who has long and faithfully labored 
for the advancement of learning, and the promotion of the best interests 



92 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

of our State, and who, by his gentle courtesy, had endeared himself to each 
one of us. 

2. Resolved, That we regard his demise as a misfortune to this commun- 
ity, in which he had so long and unselfishly toiled for high ideals and the 
uplifting of humanity. 

3. Resolved, That we, by this means, express to his bereaved family our 
profound and heartfelt sympathy with them in their affliction, that their 
sorrow may be lightened by the sharing of it. 

4. Resolved, That a copy of the memorial minute reported by the com- 
mittee and of these resolutions be sent to his family, and that they be recorded 
among the proceedings of this meeting. 

Speaking of Judge Ritchie's death, the late John P. Poe, 
one of Baltimore's most prominent lawyers, said: 

In Judge Ritchie, Baltimore has lost one of her ablest legal lights. 
Gifted with great legal learning, he was an admirable justice. He was a 
man of deliberation, most careful in reaching conclusions, and capable of 
arriving at and of expressing his opinions clearly. His manner on the bench 
would be indeed hard to improve upon. Always courteous and patient, he 
was firm in his desire to have the questions before him fully argued. Judge 
Ritchie was well versed in practice and procedure. He was an admirable 
lawyer. Before going to the bench he was an excellent speaker, and was 
always thoroughly prepared when a case he was interested in came up. He 
also was a frequent contributor to the press on political affairs. Judge 
Ritchie's connection with the Law School of the University of Maryland 
was pleasant and his talents were appreciated by the students. His com- 
mercial law lectures there are remembered well by many of the young 
lawyers of the city and State. We of the University especially deplore his 
loss. I knew Judge Ritchie intimately for about forty-five years, and I know 
him always to have been strong and dignified. 

The late William S. Bryan said of him: 

Judge Ritchie was one of the strongest pillars of the Baltimore courts. 
In many ways he was the strongest. His knowledge of practice and pro- 
cedure was greater than many jurists often acquire and he was better versed 
on precedents and analogous cases than is usual in men of his position. Judge 
Ritchie was a patient listener and always grasped the point of argument. 
Perhaps there are some who grasped the point more quickly, but certainly 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 93 

there was none who took more care to absorb the full import of the case 
in hand and to have both sides thrashed out well before decision was 
rendered. 

The late Edgar H. Gans said of him: 

One of the best judges the city ever had was Judge Ritchie. His pro- 
fessional life was characterized by an infinite amount of patience. He never 
decided a case against anyone without first having a full hearing on both 
sides. He was levelheaded, of strong common sense, and possessed a great 
learning of law. Many judges are inclined to be impatient at times. Judge 
Ritchie was never impatient. I have never argued a case before a judge 
more willing and more anxious to listen and to have brought out absolutely 
all the evidence in any case which might at the time be in hand. He was 
very approachable. Although ever dignified, he was affable and sociable 
when approaching upon matters relating to cases in law. It will be very 
hard to supply the place he has vacated. 

Extracts from Baltimore "American": 

Hon. Albert Ritchie was a native of Frederick county, Maryland, a 
son of Dr. Albert Ritchie, a distinguished physician and was born in 1834. 
He studied law with his brother, Hon. John Ritchie, chief judge of the 
Sixth Judicial Circuit, and also at the Law School of the University of 
Virginia, from which he graduated in 1856. He was shortly afterward 
admitted to the Frederick bar, and in 1858 came to Baltimore, where he was 
also admitted to practice on May 9, 1859. On the expiration of Chief Judge 
George Brown's term Mr. Ritchie was asked to accept the appointment as 
chief judge, but he declined the honor, and the Hon. Henry D. Hatlan was 
appointed, being subsequently elected to fill that office. * Judge 

Ritchie was a lawyer of distinguished ability, a hard student, methodical 
and painstaking in securing the fullest information concerning the cases 
which came before him for judicial determination both as regards the law 
and the facts, and having once arrived at an adjudication, was rarely reversed 
by the appellate tribunal. As a judge he w T as the personification of the 
dignity which he believed should always attach to that office, a gentleman at 
all times and under all circumstances, courteous to the extreme and, withal, 
social and gracious in his manner to each and everyone with whom he came 
in contact. 

Judge Ritchie married, October 27, 1875, at St. Paul's 
Church, Richmond, Virginia, Elizabeth Caskie Cabell, born 



94 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

May i, 1 85 1, in Richmond, daughter of Robert Gamble and 
Margaret Sophia (Caskie) Cabell, of that city. Judge and 
Mrs. Ritchie were the parents of a son, Albert Cabell Ritchie, 
born August 29, 1876, now a prominent attorney at the bar 
of Baltimore, and attorney general of Maryland. 

Mrs. Ritchie is descended from Nicholas and Rachel 
Cabell, who lived in Warminster, near Bristol, England. 
Their son, Dr. William Cabell, born March 9, 1699, in War- 
minster, graduated from the Royal College of Medicine and 
Surgery in London, and engaged in practice there. Enter- 
ing the British navy as surgeon, the vessel on which he sailed 
landed at Norfolk, Virginia, and was detained there some 
days, during which time he made an excursion into the interior 
of the State. Being very much pleased with the country, he 
decided to settle there, returned to England, resigned his posi- 
tion in the navy, and came to Virginia about 1723. For some 
time he resided in St. James' Parish, of Henrico county, where 
he is found of record as early as 1726, and where he served as 
deputy sheriff. He removed to Licking Hole Creek in the 
upper part of the present Goochland county, and in 1728-29 
was justice of the county court, member of the grand jury 
in 1728, and coroner in 1729. It is interesting to note that 
nearly all financial transactions in that day were reckoned 
in pounds of tobacco. He was the first Englishman to remove 
west of the mouth of Rockfish river, where he entered a 
great deal of land, and on September 12, 1738, received from 
Governor Gooch a patent of forty-eight hundred acres, and 
ten days later four hundred and forty acres additional. The 
completing of this patent was managed by his wife during 
his absence in England. His father died in 1730, and because 
of his extensive interests in England he was obliged to return 
to that country, whither he went in 1735, and remained to 
1741. His mother died in 1737, and other relatives about the 
same time, and he was thus detained five years in England 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 95 



to settle up his affairs. Soon after his return he received a 
patent of seven thousand nine hundred and fifty-two acres, 
and in 1743 an additional twelve hundred acres, and settled 
at the mouth of Swan creek, where he built a house, mill and 
warehouse, and established a settlement which he called War- 
minster, in honor of his native place in England. 

Col. Nicholas Cabell, youngest son of Dr. William and 
Elizabeth (Burks) Cabell, was born October 29, 1750, and 
baptized December 15, following. He was kept at school 
from the age of four years and three months, finishing his 
studies at William and Mary College. He resided with his 
father until the latter's death, and owned a plantation below 
the paternal property, extending five miles along the James 
river, now known as Liberty Hall. He was a captain of 
militia in the Revolutionary service in 1776, and on June 
25, 1778, was commissioned lieutenant-colonel. He was 
appointed colonel of Amherst county militia in 1780, and 
saw service in 178 1. He was one of the first vestrymen of 
the parish in 1779, and was a member of the Virginia Society 
of the Cincinnati. He was justice of the peace of Amherst 
county, and representative in the State Legislature in 1783- 
84-85. In 1785 he was elected to the State Senate, and con- 
tinued a member of that body until his death in 1803, affiliat- 
ing with what was then known as the Republican party. He 
was a trustee of the College of Washington, of Virginia, in 
1796-97; was active in establishing George Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and prominent in the Grand Lodge of 
Free Masons, in which he held various offices. 

He married, April 16, 1772, Hannah, daughter of George 
and Anne (Mayo) Carrington, born March 28, 1751, died 
August 7, 1817. William H. Cabell, eldest child of Colonel 
Nicholas Cabell, married Agnes S. B. Gamble, and they were 
the parents of Robert Gamble Cabell, above mentioned. 



LAWRENCE BUCKLEY THOMAS, D.D. 

HPHE Thomas family, of which Rev. Lawrence Buckley 
Thomas was descended, is of Welsh origin, and was 
early established in Maryland. Philip Thomas, son of Evan 
Thomas, of Swansea, Glamorganshire, Wales, removed to 
America in the year 1651, and settled in the Province of 
Maryland. On February 19 of that year he received a patent 
of five hundred acres of land, called Beakely or Beckly, on 
the west side of Chesapeake bay, in consideration of which 
"he hath in the year 165 1 transplanted himself, Sarah, his 
wife, Philip, Sarah and Elizabeth, his children, into our 
province." He was appointed one of the six high commis- 
sioners of the Provincial Court, and was very active in pro- 
moting the affairs of the colony. He married, in England, 
Sarah Harrison, and besides the children previously men- 
tioned had Martha and Samuel. The last named was born 
about 1655, and was a minister of the Society of Friends, 
probably as early as August 4, 1686, when Herring Creek 
quarterly meetings approved his proposal to attend the yearly 
meeting at Philadelphia. On April 13, 1688, he was ap- 
pointed a committee on "drowsiness" by the West River meet- 
ing. In 1674 a tract of seventy-two acres was surveyed for 
him on Talbot's Ridge, north side of West river. He mar- 
ried, May 15, 1688, Mary Hutchins, of Calvert county, Mary- 
land, who died in July, 175 1, having survived him more than 
eight years. He was deceased at the time she made her will, 
February 10, 1743. Children: Sarah, born March 31, 1689; 
Samuel, February 1, 1691 ; Samuel, March 11, 1693; Philip, 
mentioned below; John, April 15, 1697; Elizabeth, December 
28, 1698; Mary, November 6, 1700; Samuel, November 12, 
1702; Ann, October 8, 1703; Margaret, 1710. 

Philip Thomas, third son of Samuel and Mary (Hutch- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 97 



ins) Thomas, was born March i, 1694, and was a prominent 
man in the community and in the province, nearly always en- 
gaged in public service. He was a member of a committee ap- 
pointed November 24, 1732, on the part of the West River 
meeting to prepare an address of welcome to Lord Baltimore, 
and was a member of the Governor's Council as early as May 
20, 1742. On March 13, 1744, he was commissioned judge 
and register of the land office, and represented Maryland in 
a treaty with the Indians at Lancaster, Pennsylvania, to set- 
tle the western bounds of the province. He married (first) 
in March, 172 1, Frances Holland, who was the mother of 
a son, William, born about 1722. He married (second) 
August 11, 1724, Ann Chew, who died May 20, 1777, having 
survived her husband more than fifteen years. He died 
November 23, 1762. Children: Samuel, mentioned below; 
Philip, born July 3, 1727; Mary, January 1, 1731 ; Elizabeth, 
March 8, 1733; Richard, July 17, 1736; John, August 26, 

1743- 

The eldest son of Philip and Ann (Chew) Thomas was 

Samuel Thomas, born June 12, 1725. He resided at Perry 
Point, Havre de Grace, on the Susquehanna river, and was 
proprietor of ferry rights on both sides of the stream. He 
married, October 23, 1750, his cousin, Mary Thomas, daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Mary (Snowden) Thomas, who died 
March 4, 1770. He survived her more than fourteen years, 
and died July 17, 1784. Children: Ann, born October 2, 
175 1 ; Philip, August 12, 1753; Samuel, July 20, 1757; Rich- 
ard Snowden, February 25, 1762; John Chew, mentioned 
below; Samuel, February 2, 1766; Evan William, February 
6, 1769. 

John Chew Thomas, fourth son of Samuel and Mary 
(Thomas) Thomas, was born October 15, 1764, and in his 
sixteenth year entered the University of Pennsylvania, from 

MD.-7 



98 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

which he was graduated A.M. in 1783, in his nineteenth 
year. His home was at "Fairland" in Anne Arundel county, 
Maryland, which place he sold for fifty thousand dollars. He 
was an active member of the Society of Friends, a man of 
very high character, a lawyer by profession, admitted to the 
bar at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, December 15, 1787. In 
early life he was much interested in political matters, and 
was elected by the Federal party in Maryland as representa- 
tive to the Congress of 1799-1801. While in that body in 
the last named year he took part in the election of President, 
which was consummated after three days of intensive excite- 
ment with thirty-five ballots, resulting in the election of 
Thomas Jefferson, and the transfer of the government to the 
Republican party. He declined a re-election to Congress, and 
gave his attention to the active practice of his profession. He 
appears to have lost his membership in the Friends Society 
because of marrying out of meeting and to a slaveholder. His 
wife and five children were admitted as members of the So- 
ciety, September 20, 181 1, and on February 12 following he 
manumitted his slaves and applied for a reinstatement. Before 
August 7 of that year he was again received into membership, 
and was appointed clerk of the Indian meeting, February 
21, 1 8 17. He died at his residence in Ridley, Pennsylvania, 
May 10, 1836. He married, September 18, 1788, Mary 
Snowden, daughter and heiress of Richard and Eliza (Rut- 
land) Snowden, of Fairland, Anne Arundel county. She 
survived him more than eight years, and died November 13, 
1844. Children: Mary Ann, born January 23, 1790; Ann 
Snowden, March 13, 1791 ; Eliza Snowden, August 8, 1792; 
Samuel, March 28, 1794; Thomas Snowden, February 19, 
1796; John Chew, August 21, 1797, died young; Henrietta 
Maria, July 30, 1799; Mary Snowden, September 22, 1801; 
John Chew, mentioned below; Dr. Richard Henry, June 20, 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 99 



1805; Samuel Evan, March 12, 1807; Julia, August 16, 1808; 
Harriet, March 20, 181 1; Maria Russell, August 29, 1812; 
Charles, August 18, 1816. 

Dr. John Chew Thomas, son of John Chew and Mary 
(Snowden) Thomas, was born September 22, 1803, at Fair- 
land, and entered the University of Pennsylvania in his fif- 
teenth year, graduating in 1821, before he was eighteen years 
old. He subsequently pursued the medical course of the same 
university, from which he received the degree of M.D. in 
April, 1824. While a student he was a member of the Philo- 
mathian Society, For some years after graduation he was 
in the service of the United States, as clerk, during the con- 
struction of the New Castle breakwater. Subsequently he 
settled in Baltimore, Maryland, and there practiced his pro- 
fession, with great success. He was a man of many social 
gifts, of considerable inventive genius and some artistic talents, 
painting quite well in oils. He died August 29, 1862. He 
married, March 2, 1848, Jane Lawrence, daughter of Thomas 
and Anna (Lawrence) Buckley, a member of the Society of 
Friends, afterward baptized and confirmed in the Protestant 
Episcopal church. Children: 1. Lawrence Buckley, men- 
tioned below. 2. Julia, born March 9, 1850; married, October 
14, 1879, James Valentine Wagner, former cashier of the 
National Marine Bank, of Baltimore, and United States Con- 
sul to Nicaragua; children: Effingham Buckley, Edgar and 
Julia T. 3. Walter Wood, born June 11, 1852 ; married Mary 
Ellicott, who died June 9, 1889. 

Rev. Lawrence Buckley Thomas, eldest child of Dr. 
John Chew and Jane L. (Buckley) Thomas, was born Decem- 
ber 6, 1848, on Lombard street, Baltimore, Maryland, was 
baptized June 8, 1851, by Rev. H. V. D. Johns, D.D., pastor 
of an Episcopal church of that city. He was a student at 
the public schools of Baltimore and at Topping and Carey's 



tCt\ ** - 



100 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

academies, and became an active lay worker in Emmanuel 
Protestant Episcopal Church, of Baltimore. He was a clerk, 
assistant librarian at the Mercantile Library, and an an- 
tiquarian bookseller. On January 15, 1876, he was elected 
secretary and treasurer of the Baltimore Book Trade Asso- 
ciation, and in 1878-79 was librarian of Bishop Whitting- 
ham's Library. He entered the General Theological Semin- 
ary at New York, in September, 1879, ano1 was graduated 
May 31, 1882, and ordained deacon by Bishop Horatio Potter, 
of New York, at St. John's Church in that city, June 4 fol- 
lowing. He was ordained to the priesthood, May 18, 1883, 
by Bishop John M. Clark, of Rhode Island, at Grace Church, 
Providence. On the following day he received from the 
General Theological Seminary of New York the degree of 
B.D. St. John's College, Annapolis, Maryland, conferred 
upon him the degree of D.D., June 20, 1894. In 1882, im- 
mediately after his ordination, he became minister at Pontiac, 
Rhode Island. There he established a public library in 1884, 
and began a building fund for a church. Subsequently he 
became assistant minister of the Church of the Redeemer 
at Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania. Soon after, on April 10, 1885, 
he organized the parish of St. Mary, at Ardmore, Pennsyl- 
vania, gathered the congregation and built a church, becoming 
its first rector, May 1, 1887. During the summer of 1888 
he was in temporary charge of Christ Church at Pottstown, 
Pennsylvania, and under his auspices a fund was started which 
resulted in the erection of a town hospital there. On Sep- 
tember 1, 1888, he accepted a call to become rector of St. 
Stephen's Church, Beverly, New Jersey. Under his charge 
the church debt was paid off and an endownment for a parish 
building fund was begun. In the summer of 1892 he was in 
charge of St. Andrew's Parish, West Philadelphia, and on 
December 1 of that year became rector of Trinity Church, 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 101 

Antrim, Pennsylvania. He became senior curate of St. Peter's 
Church, Philadelphia, October i, 1893, an d m November of 
the following year returned to Antrim, assuming also charge 
of St. Andrew's Church, Tioga. During the last fifteen years 
of his life he was in charge of a church in Nevis, West Indies, 
looking after both the temporal and spiritual welfare of the 
people, and was largely instrumental in the establishment of 
water works by the British government. He died, December 
28, 1 914, at the age of sixty-six years. 

In speaking of Dr. Thomas, the Baltimore "Sun" said: 
"Born in Baltimore, Mr. Thomas spent much of his life else- 
where. He was a member of the old Thomas family of 
West River, Maryland, and was among the first eminent re- 
searchers in a genealogical line. Among his prominent works 
is the history of the Thomas and Allied families of Colonial 
times. The branches take in Snowdens, the Chews, Ellicotts, 
Careys and other names well known in Maryland." He was 
a member of the Society of Colonial Wars in the State of 
New York, of the New York Shakespeare Society, of the Con- 
servative Club, Philadelphia, the Elmira Theological and 
Literary Society, a corresponding member of the Wisconsin 
Historical Society, elected in 1879 m recognition of his 
genealogical labors, and member of the Maryland Historical 
Society. 

Dr. Thomas was married, October n, 1882, at the Church 
of the Reformation, Brooklyn, New York, by Rev. D. V. M. 
Johnson, D.D., Mary Berry, youngest daughter of Thomas 
Farrell and Marion L. (Berry) McCobb, originally of Balti- 
more, Maryland, who died November 16, 1884, and is buried 
in St. John's Churchyard, Waverly, Maryland. 




SNOWDEN FAMILY 

TC^ROM the coming of Richard Snowden to the province 
of Maryland, the Snowdens of Maryland, like those of 
Pennsylvania, have occupied high place in public life and 
have been extensive land owners. There seems to be no con- 
nection between the Pennsylvania and Maryland families, 
the former tracing to William Snowden, of Yorkshire, Eng- 
land, whose son, John Snowden, the American ancestor, 
owned land in Delaware county, Pennsylvania, as early as 
1677, prior to the coming of William Penn. 

Captain Richard Snowden, the first of the name in Mary- 
land, was commissioned officer of the province at the period 
when King William and Mary of England were represented 
here by Royal Governors, Lord Baltimore's power having 
been overthrown. In 1688 he was captain of a company of 
militia whose activities were against the Indians when up- 
risings amongst the unfriendly tribes endangered the lives 
of the inhabitants of the province. Captain Richard Snowden 
was of high social standing and influence in the colony, and 
family tradition claims that he was born in Wales and served 
as major in Oliver Cromwell's army. 

Snowden arms Argent on a fesse azure, between three escallops, gules ; 
three mullets azure, pierced of the first. 
Crest A peacock in his pride. 
Motto Dum spiro, spero. 

The earliest records found relative to the first of the 
Snowdens in Maryland is in Anne Arundel County Court 
House, Annapolis, where it is recorded that: "January 11, 
1669, George Yates of Anne Arundel county, 'gent,' sold to 
Richard Snowden and Thomas Linthicombe of the same 
county, for 1 1,000 lbs. of tobacco a parcel of land called 'Iron 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 103 

Mine' in Anne Arundel county at the head of South River in 
said county on the west side of the south branch of the said 
river;" the records also show on June 8, 1675, Thomas 
Linthicombe sold his part of the "Iron Mine" to Richard 
Snowden, the extent of the tract being 500 acres. This was 
the beginning of the iron industry in the province of Mary- 
land, which grew to great proportions during the life of his 
grandson. Nothing further is found of him until 1681, when 
on August 13, he is mentioned in a report to Lord Baltimore's 
Council regarding the Indians, who then menaced the houses 
and plantations owned by him and Mr. Duvall. On February 
26, 1685, a tract of land was granted by Lord Baltimore to 
Richard Snowden containing 1976 acres of land, which was 
named "Robin Hood Forest." It was situated on the forks of 
the Patuxent river, Anne Arundel county. Another tract of 
land called "Godwell," containing 805 acres, was purchased 
by Richard Snowden from William Parker on August 14, 
1688, situated at the head of South river. 

The first mention of Captain Snowden in the records by 
his military title was on October 9, 1695, when he was named 
as one of the commissioners "to adjust the accounts of John 
Duvall, late administrator of Henry Ridgely." A year later 
we find him mentioned in the Maryland archives as one of the 
military officers in Anne Arundel county, who signed an 
address to King William and Queen Mary of England. Al- 
though originally a member of the Society of Friends, Captain 
Snowden forsook for a time the teachings of his faith in 
accepting a military commission. Later his conscience so 
troubled him that he appeared before the West River Month- 
ly Meeting asking forgiveness, acknowledging his fault and 
requesting reinstatement in the Meeting 21st day, 1st month, 
1704. 

Captain Richard Snowden married Elizabeth Grosse, 



104 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

daughter of Roger Grosse, and sister of John Grosse, of Anne 
Arundel county, who, in his will, dated December 4, 1675, 
bequeathed to his sister, Elizabeth, wife of Richard Snowden, 
400 acres of land on the Wye river, Talbot county, Maryland. 
Roger Grosse, an early official under Lord Baltimore, ap- 
peared in the province as early as 1652. He was one of the 
gentlemen justices and commissioners of peace for Anne 
Arundel county, being first named by Lord Baltimore's Coun- 
cil on July 12, 1658, and again in 1661-65. 

Captain Richard Snowden died May 20, 1711. The 
record of his death on All Hallows Church Record, page 86, 
reads literally as follows: "May 20, 171 1, was buried Rich- 
ard Snowden, the elder of the three of the name and family." 
Other entries regarding the Snowdens are in All Hallows 
Register, proving that some of the family must have been 
identified with this church. Captain Richard and Elizabeth 
(Grosse) Snowden had two sons, Captain Richard, Jr., and 
Samuel Snowden. His eldest son, Richard (2), by the law 
of primogeniture, inherited his large estates and personal 
property, the latter, according to the inventory, amounting 
to 2,020. 

Captain Richard (2) Snowden, son of Captain Richard 
(1) and Elizabeth (Grosse) Snowden, is first mentioned in 
public records in connection with military affairs, July 22, 
1695, as having signed a receipt for a barrel of gunpowder 
from one Michael Greenberry by the order of the governor. 
He also signed as a military officer the address to their Majes- 
ties, King William and Mary of England, as recorded in the 
Maryland archives under date of 1696. He built about the 
year 1690 the famous Birmingham Manor House, in which 
mansion for two centuries generations of the Snowden family 
entertained their friends, true Southern hospitality. 

A description of this colonial mansion preserved in the 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 105 

family reads as follows: "Situated on the beautiful Patuxent 
River, in Anne Arundel county, Birmingham Manor House 
stood on a site overlooking the river on one side and a lordly 
estate of rolling fields and wooded park on the other side. 
Modelled after the old English half-shingled brick man- 
sions, it was quaintly interesting with its deep recessed win- 
dows reaching to the second floor." This ancestral seat was 
destroyed by fire, August 20, 1891. To his already large 
holdings, Captain Richard (2) Snowden added another estate 
of one thousand acres called "Snowden's Manor," receiving a 
grant from Lord Baltimore, May 24, 171 5, his property in 
all aggregating nearly thirty thousand acres. There is no 
record of the death of Captain Richard Snowden, Jr., and he 
seems to have left no will. 

He married, about 1709, Mary Linthicum, daughter of 
Thomas Linthicum. They are known to have had two sons, 
Thomas and Richard Snowden (3), the former died young, 
the latter survived and became sole possessor of his father's 
and grandfather's vast estates. 

Richard (3) Snowden, son of Captain Richard (2) and 
Mary (Linthicum) Snowden, besides inheriting the large 
estates of his father, received additional grants from Lord 
Baltimore, which increased his holdings to such an extent that 
he became one of the greatest landed proprietors in Maryland, 
exceeded only by the Carrolls of Carrollton. The colonial 
records shows him to have owned twenty-six thousand acres 
of the finest land on the Western Shore, including Snowden's 
Manor, Snowden's Manor Enlarged, New Birmingham, 
Montpelier, Snowden's Hall, Fairland, Oakland, Avondale, 
Woodland Hill, Alnwick, Elmwood, Brightwood, Maple 
Grove, and other tracts. The iron industry inaugurated by 
his grandfather on the land granted him as "Iron Mine" prior 
to the year 1700, Richard Snowden continued. He formed a 



106 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

company in 1726 called the Patuxent Iron Works Company 
(among the first ever operated in Maryland), Edmund Jen- 
nings, Judge and Register of the Land Office, Annapolis, be- 
coming one of the chief stockholders, Richard Snowden be- 
ing the largest, and at the time of his death he was sole owner 
of the works. 

Richard (3) Snowden married (first) May 19, 1709, 
Elizabeth Coale, daughter of William and Elizabeth (Spar- 
row) Coale, who died about 1716. Children: 1. Deborah, 
married, June 21, 1725, James, son of Roger and Eliza 
(Hutchins) Brooke. 2. Eliza, married, April, 1727, John, 
son of Samuel and Mary (Hutchins) Thomas. 3. Mary, born 
in 1712, married, August 11, 1730, Samuel, son of Samuel and 
Mary (Hutchins) Thomas. Richard (3) Snowden married 
(second) December 19, 1717, Elizabeth, who died 1775, 
daughter of Samuel and Mary (Hutchins) Thomas. Samuel 
Thomas was a minister of the Society of Friends and son of 
Judge and High Commissioner Philip Thomas, settled in the 
province of Maryland in 165 1. Children: 4. Richard, of 
Prince George's county, Maryland, born in 1719-20, died 
without issue, March 18, 1753; he married, before October 
30, 1748, Elizabeth, daughter of John and Miriam Crowley, 
of Prince George's county. 5. Thomas, of Prince George's 
county, born in 1722, died in 1750-51; he married, before 
1744, Mary, daughter of Henry and Elizabeth (Sprigg) 
Wright, of Prince George's county. 6. Ann, married Henry 
Wright Crabb. 7. Margaret, married John Contee. 8. Sam- 
uel, see forward. 9. Elizabeth, married Joseph Cowman. 10. 
John, married Rachel, daughter of Richard Hopkins. 

Samuel Snowden, third son and fifth child of Richard 
(3) and Elizabeth (Thomas) Snowden, was born November 
2, 1727. He inherited a large estate from his father, including 
six thousand acres in Anne Arundel county and Prince 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 107 

George's county, as well as a third of Richard Snowden's 
great iron works, making him one of the richest men of his 
day. He attained considerable influence in the State, and in 
the stirring times that preceded the Revolution he served 
on the Committee of Safety (in 1774). He married his 
cousin, Elizabeth, who died January 30, 1790, daughter of 
Philip and Ann (Chew) Thomas, of "Lebanon," West River. 
He died June 27, 1801, leaving his vast acreage to be divided 
among his children: 1. Richard, married, August 2, 1782, 
Hannah Moore, daughter of William and Rachel (Orrick) 
Hopkins. 2. Ann, married, December 23, 1774, Richard, 
son of Gerard and Mary (Hall) Hopkins. 3. Elizabeth, 
born 1758, died August 25, 1793. 4- Philip, see forward. 
5. Mary, died August 15, 1834; married, February 3, 1786, 
Joseph, son of John and Sarah (Hopkins) Cowman. 6. 
Samuel, born in 1766, died May 26, 1823; married, Decem- 
ber 1, 1796, Elizabeth, daughter of John Cowman. 7. Hen- 
rietta, married, October 14, 1804, Gerard, son of Joseph and 
Elizabeth (Howell) Hopkins. 8. Sarah, married, Novem- 
ber 24, 1769, Elisha Hopkins, M.D., son of Gerard and 
Margaret (Johns) Hopkins. 9. John, born in 1774, died 
January 26, 1790. 

Philip Snowden, son of Samuel and Elizabeth (Thomas) 
Snowden, was born in Prince George's county, Maryland, 
about 1760. He inherited from his father an estate in Anne 
Arundel county called "Duvall's Delight," and like his ances- 
tors he was a member of the Society of Friends. He mar- 
ried, December 1, 1791, Patience, born November 5, 1771, 
died October 16, 1822, daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth 
(Howell) Hopkins. She was also a member of the Society 
of Friends. Children: 1. Elizabeth, born October 8, 1792, 
died November 7, 1795. 2. Samuel, see forward. 3. Mary 
Ann, born May 28, 1796, died August 10, 1824. 4. Joseph 



108 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Hopkins, born April 26, 1798, died October 14, 1801. 5. 
Richard, born March 19, 1800, married, June 17, 1829, Mary, 
daughter of Isaac and Letitia West. 6. Elizabeth, born May 
13, 1802, died April 24, 1804. 7. Philip Thomas, born June 
26, 1803. 8. Caroline, born January 4, 1807. 9. John P., 
born February 25, 1809, died August 20, 1819. 10. James, 
born October 6, 181 1. 11. Isaac, born September 9, 181 3. 12. 
William, born May 20, 181 5. 

Samuel Philip Snowden, son of Philip and Patience 
(Hopkins) Snowden, was born January 13, 1794, at Indian 
Spring, Maryland. He married in Anne Arundel county, 
January 18, 1822, Mary Richardson, daughter of John T. 
and Jemima (Sheckells) Richardson. Children: 1. John 
Thomas, for a number of years clerk in Supreme Court. 2. 
Marcellus P., born June 16, 1824. 3. Richard Hopkins, see 
forward. 4. Philip M., born June 14, 1831, sheriff of Balti- 
more City in 1876; married, November 18, 1851, Sallie E. 
Knighton; children: i. Florence May, born October 22, 
1856, married, April 14, 1880, Frank Ehlen. ii. Ella, born 
in October, 1859; married Henry Norment. 5. Samuel, born 
October 13, 1833, died November 9, 1894; married, May 14, 
1863, S. Emma Hoff; children: 1. Corinne Adelaide, born 
in March, 1864. ii. Mary Ida, born in June, 1865. iii. 
Samuel Guy, born in September, 1868. iv. Margaret Eliza- 
beth, born in August, 1875. 

Richard Hopkins Snowden, third son of Samuel Philip 
and Mary (Richardson) Snowden, was born November 19, 
1827. He was a prominent and successful member of the 
legal profession. True to the faith of his forefathers he re- 
mained a member of the Baltimore Friends Meeting. He 
married, January 18, 1853, Martha A. Sells, of Columbus, 
Ohio. He spent all his active life in the city of Baltimore, 
where he became a highly respected and influential citizen. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 109 



He died December 15, 1877. Martha A. (Sells) Snowden 
was a daughter of Ephraim Sells, born near Columbus, Ohio, 
son of William Henry and Elizabeth (Ebbey) Sells, grandson 
of Ludwick and Catherine (Deardorff) Sells, and great- 
grandson of John Sells, who came from Holland to Pennsyl- 
vania in 1723. Ludwick Sells served in the Revolutionary 
army and William Henry Sells in the War of 18 12. Chil- 
dren of Richard Hopkins and Martha A. (Sells) Snowden: 

1. Wilbur Lee, born December 7, 1854, married in 1875, 
Mary Reilly; children: i. Francis R., born October 4, 1876. 
ii. Mattie Sells, born June 26, 1877, died August 19, 1878. 

2. Annie Richardson, see forward. 3. Kate, born December 
27, 1857. 4. Harris, born September 16, i860. 5. Louis, twin 
of Harris. 6. Richard Hopkins, born May 8, 1864. 7. Ray 
Cooper, born July 16, 1870. 

Annie Richardson Snowden, daughter of Richard Hop- 
kins and Martha A. (Sells) Snowden, was born May 25, 1856. 
She married, April 4, 1877, Charles M. Lanahan, a promi- 
nent merchant and banker of Baltimore and son of William 
and Mary (Jackson) Lanahan. Charles M. Lanahan re- 
ceived his education in the schools of Baltimore and at Ches- 
ter Military Academy, Chester, Pennsylvania. Shortly after 
graduation from the latter institution he became associated 
with his brothers, William Lanahan, Jr., and Samuel J., in 
the business founded many years before by their father. In- 
heriting the progressive ideas that brought wealth and fame 
to his father, he largely increased the scope of the firm's 
business. As a business man he was noted for his aptitude 
in grappling with details and for his accurate and keen per- 
ception, but his strongest points, perhaps, were his executive 
ability, his power to analyze any business proposition and his 
fertility of resources. He was a tireless worker, a man of 
strong and steady purposes, rare judgment, and those admir- 



110 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

able qualities which have given high character to the com- 
mercial life of Baltimore. Quick and decisive in his methods 
he was keenly alive to any proposition and its possibilities, 
and found that pleasure in the solution of a difficult business 
problem without which there can be no real success. His 
death, which occurred February 7, 1901, was keenly felt by 
all who knew him, and was an irreparable loss to the business 
world of Baltimore. Children: 1. Mary Sells, born June 4, 
1878; married, January 6, 1904, Charles Warren Leland, son 
of Warren and Mary (Cobb) Leland; children: Helen May, 
born May 29, 1905, died January 18, 1907. 2. Helen Snow- 
den, born February 9, 1880; married, October 21, 1903, Wil- 
son Miles Cary, son of John Brune and Frances (Daniels) 
Cary; children: Anne Snowden, born July 26, 1904, and Wil- 
son Miles, born January 22, 1906. 3. Josephine Reeder, born 
August 20, 1882; married, June 10, 1903, James Clarke 
Dulany, son of James Clarke and Caroline (Dickey) Dulany; 
one child: Josephine Clarke, born January 23, 1906. 4. 
Adelaide Daniels, born May 30, 1885; married, November 
15, 1905, Henry Duranquet Brennan, son of Thomas and 
Catherine Brennan; children: Catherine, born October 15, 
1906; Josephine, born November 6, 1907; Margaret, born 
December 19, 1908; Anne Snowden, born September 12, 191 5. 
5. Charles M., born January 18, 1894. 




THE HI* TO** 
HBnCLWAM 






MICHAEL JENKINS 

/CONSPICUOUS in his civic virtues, deeply interested in 
any enterprise affecting the moral, material or civic 
improvements of Baltimore, generous in his contributions and 
benefactions, yet most unostentatious, Michael Jenkins did 
not need the prestige of his high position in the business 
world to endear him to his fellow-men. 

Although a leader financially, and possessed of a large 
fortune, accumulated through wise investment, and far- 
sighted business judgment, he was never a lover of money 
for the sake of possession, but valued his wealth for the op- 
portunity it gave him to help his fellow-men, and to aid the 
cause of Christianity, education, philanthropy and charity. 
Although he was ranked among the great "Captains of Indus- 
try" he was a constructive captain, not a wrecker; a builder, 
not a destroyer. He dealt in a big broad way, was scrupul- 
ously just, and never took a business advantage of anyone. 
Nothing was so repugnant to his nature as the thought of 
wrecking a property to secure control of it, or for driving 
a man to the wall for profit to himself. His theory of busi- 
ness was that any transaction could be carried through on 
terms absolutely fair to all concerned, and would not lend 
his aid to any transaction requiring a departure from that 
theory, but subordinated business to equity, his personal rela- 
tions and his friendships. 

Mr. Jenkins walked in the footsteps of his honored father, 
his public and official life marked by a high sense of justice, 
commercial honor and integrity. His public services were 
many. His great activity in the reconstruction of Baltimore 
after the fire of 1904 was one of them, and to him, primarily, 
belongs the credit of the city's acquisition of a large part of 
its present water front property under favorable conditions, 



112 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

for when litigation threatened to delay indefinitely the pur- 
chase of the property, he avoided the clashes between rival 
property interests by purchasing the front needed for piers, 
and deeded it to the city at the price paid. Difficult indeed 
would it be to enumerate all the material benefits which have 
accrued to Baltimore through the life and service of Mr. 
Jenkins; difficult to put into words the power of his example, 
and the force of his inspiration in leading others to emulate 
that example. For half a century, Michael Jenkins and his 
father, Thomas C. Jenkins, were closely associated in the 
management of the Baltimore Safe Deposit and Trust Com- 
pany, and with the Merchants and Miners Transportation 
Company, both institutions potent in the upbuilding of Balti- 
more. 

The charities of Mr. Jenkins were unbounded, but he 
dispensed without ostentation, trying not to let his left hand 
know what his right hand was doing. They could not, how- 
ever, be concealed, his reputation for generosity becoming 
widespread. Appeals were made to him from all quarters 
without distinction of race or religion. His desk, in the office 
of the Safe Deposit and Trust Company was often stacked 
with petitions for relief, which, with great patience and good 
humor, he would investigate, assistance being granted to those 
found deserving. 

Mr. Jenkins was a devoted member of the Catholic 
church, and a warm personal friend of Cardinal Gibbons, who 
relied implicitly upon the judgment of his friend, the 
financier, when any sum of appreciable size was to be in- 
vested for church institutions. No one will ever know the 
great number of gifts that Mr. Jenkins made through the 
Cardinal, and other clergy of the arch-diocese, to charity. 
Practically every charitable institution, orphanage, and hos- 
pital, under the patronage of the church, enjoyed his bene- 






GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 113 

ficences. For his splendid work for the Catholic University 
of America, and for his other activities in behalf of the cause 
of Catholicism, Mr. Jenkins and his wife were ennobled by 
Pope Pius X, in May, 1905, and created Duke and Duchess 
of the Holy Roman Empire. When interviewed by a re- 
porter concerning the honor, Mr. Jenkins said: "All you 
can say for me is that I am an American citizen, and will never 
be anything else." 

Michael Jenkins, youngest child of Charles Courtney 
and Louisa (Carrell) Jenkins, was born in Baltimore, Mary- 
land, December 27, 1842, died there September 7, 1915. He 
prepared in Baltimore schools, then entered Mount St. 
Mary's College, whence he was graduated, class of 1862. 
In 1865, he succeeded with his brother to the leather busi- 
ness established by his father, and as a member of the firm, 
Jenkins Brothers, began his business career. As his father 
withdrew from his other enterprises, he succeeded him, and 
upon the death of B. F. Newcomer, succeeded to the presi- 
dency of the Merchants' and Miners' Transportation Com- 
pany. That office he held from 1896 until 1907, when he 
resigned, but retained his interest in the company, and its 
management, as chairman of the board of directors. 

Mr. Jenkins became also heavily interested in railroad 
enterprises, especially in the Atlantic Coast Lane Railway, 
and its subsidiaries; controlled with his brother, George C, 
and Joseph W. Jenkins, and Alexander Brown, the United 
Railways of Baltimore; the Baltimore Electric Company; 
was one of the largest individual stockholders of the United 
Railways; of the Merchants' and Miners' Transportation 
Company; of the Atlantic Coast Line Company; the Louis- 
ville and Nashville Railroad Company; was a large holder 
of the securities of the Consolidation Coal Company; the 
Consolidated Gas, Electric and Power Company; the North- 

MD.-8 



114 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

ern Central Railroad Company; and interested in many en- 
terprises in Baltimore, and elsewhere. He was officially con- 
nected with the Atlantic Coast Line from early manhood, and 
was always consulted by Henry Waters, its official head, upon 
any matter of policy or expansion. He and Mr. Waters were 
close personal friends, as well as business friends, and it was 
in this spirit of warm personal regard that they consulted, not 
as two business men planning from a selfish standpoint. 

Mr. Jenkins became president of the Atlantic Coast Line 
Company of Connecticut, which was the holding company 
for the stock of the railroad company, the Atlantic Coast 
Line, of which he was a director. He was also vice-presi- 
dent of the Northern Central Railway, and a director of the 
Metropolitan Savings Bank. He rarely missed a meeting 
of the board of directors of the railroad company, or of the 
holding company; was exceedingly alert as to the physical 
condition of the property, it being his custom to make tours 
of inspection over the lines with the other officials at least once, 
and frequently twice each year. In the local enterprises in 
which he was interested, he never sought official representa- 
tion, his brother, George C. Jenkins, who was also connected 
in practically all the enterprises named, being particularly 
in charge of such affairs. An exception was the Safe Deposit 
and Trust Company, of which Michael Jenkins was presi- 
dent. He grew to the position of one of Baltimore's foremost 
citizens, his influence great, probably greater and broader 
than any other citizen enjoyed. This influence was not gained 
by his wealth, but because of his personality, his keenness of 
financial judgment, his understanding of the human side of 
investment, and his absolute willingness to give every party 
to a transaction his just due. He was of Baltimore, he believed 
in Baltimore, and was one of the not numerous body of men 
who appreciated the value of industrial development to the 
extent of standing sponsor financially. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 115 

Mr. Jenkins was never a public character; was a Demo- 
crat, rarely missed voting, but never took active part in poli- 
tics. He was deeply interested in bringing the National 
Democratic Convention to Baltimore in 1912; contributed 
largely to the movement to obtain that convention; escorted 
his friend, Cardinal Gibbons, to the armory to deliver the 
opening prayer, and was constant in his attendance upon the 
{ess-ions. He was not a clubman in the accepted sense, but 
held membership in many clubs, including the Maryland, 
Merchants, Elk Ridge, Green Spring Valley, Baltimore Uni- 
versity, Baltimore Country, and the Bachelors' Cotillion. 

It was for his philanthropies that he was best known to 
the community at large. He was deeply interested in edu- 
cational affairs generally, especially friendly toward Peabody 
Institute, and the Maryland Institute. He was a trustee of 
Peabody, and, with Andrew Carnegie, gave the present lot 
and building now occupied by the institute. When the big 
fire in Baltimore left the Maryland Institute homeless, 
Andrew Carnegie promised to give $263,000 toward the erec- 
tion of a new building, provided Baltimore would give the 
site. The lot adjoining Corpus Christi Church, erected by 
the family of Thomas Courtney Jenkins, was chosen as a 
suitable location. This vacant lot had been bought by Michael 
Jenkins with the sole purpose of protecting the surroundings 
of the church, and when he was approached by the commit- 
tee, and asked to sell, he told them he would donate the valu- 
able lot, provided a suitable building was erected, one that 
would harmonize architecturally with the church. His offer 
was accepted, and when Mr. Carnegie was notified that the 
lot was secured he wrote: "I congratulate the Maryland 
Institute upon receiving such a splendid gift, and I also con- 
gratulate Baltimore upon having such a citizen as Mr. 
Jenkins." 



116 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

A member of the Roman Catholic church, as were his 
parents, he gave to that church the devotion of a lifetime. He 
was one of the founders of the Catholic University of America, 
was its treasurer and member of the board of trustees, and 
one of the largest subscribers to its building fund. As trustee, 
he worked in association with Cardinal Gibbons, and was 
largely instrumental in clearing up the affairs of the uni- 
versity after the Wagaman difficulties of 1904. He was also 
a trustee of the Baltimore Cathedral, and with his brothers 
and sisters caused Corpus Christi Church Jenkins Memorial 
Church to be erected as a memorial to their parents, an 
edifice regarded as the most beautiful church building in 
Baltimore. It was for such activity as a layman that the title 
previously referred to was conferred by Pope Pius X, in 
May, 1905. Mr. Jenkins' charities were bestowed from a 
high sense of religious obligation. He regarded himself, not 
as the absolute owner, but as the steward of those goods which 
were placed in his hands, and he experienced the truth, that 
the greatest happiness in life is the contributing to the happi- 
ness of others, and to bring relief to the suffering, to bring 
sunshine to hearts heretofore dark and desolate. 

Mr. Jenkins married, October 2, 1866, Mary Isabel 
Plowden Jenkins, born October 4, 1844; died in 191 1 ; daugh- 
ter of Austin Jenkins, of Baltimore, born May 10, 1806; died 
May 30, 1888. Austin Jenkins married, October 27, 1840, 
Margaret A. Jenkins, born December 15, 18 16; died April 
22, 1901, daughter of Judge John J. Jenkins, of Charles 
county, Maryland, and his wife, Mary (Plowden) Jenkins, 
of St. Mary county, Maryland, to whom he was married, 
February 22, 1822. The married life of Mr. Jenkins was 
most attractive, and in his home the domestic and religious 
virtues were cultivated in a marked degree. Mr. Jenkins 
often said that he regarded his wife under three aspects, as 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



117 



wife, as sweetheart, and as a companion. When she died in 
191 1, he received a blow from which he never recovered. So 
deep was his sorrow for her death that he never afterwards 
entered the city house, in which she died, nor even the coun- 
try house, in which they spent the summers. 

One of the last charitable acts of his life was the donation 
of a check, sent to the Pope through Cardinal Gibbons, that 
his Holiness was to use for the relief of war sufferers. The 
reply with an acknowledgement came but a few hours prior 
to his death. 




WILLIAM REED 

npHE name of Reed, in various forms, is in use among 
many nations, the spelling being varied in many cases 
to suit individual taste. The mode of spelling in use by the 
Puritan ancestors was usually Reade, but in some cases Reede, 
and one of them called it Rede. The mode of spelling the 
name in this country has gradually assumed one of the three 
following forms: Read, Reed and Reid, and different mem- 
bers of the same family use all these methods. It was formerly 
combined with other words to form names with new signi- 
fication as Ethelred, or Reed the Good; Conrad, or Reed the 
Powerful; Elred, or Reed the Elder; Alfred, or Reed the 
Shrewd; and it was found that when William the Conqueror 
took possession of the English throne in 1066, the legal heir 
to the throne was brother-in-law to the King of Scotland. 
It is to be seen from the earliest records of the Reed family 
that they were, as a rule, large in stature and of unusual 
strength, and these physical characteristics still distinguish 
the majority of the family at the present day. In 1400 the 
name Thomas Reed, of Redesdale, occurs in the county rec- 
ords, and in 1427 his name appears in the jury about Elsden 
Church. In 1400, Sir Huphrey Lisle Kent gave to William 
Reed, of Thoroughhend, the hamlet called Bromhope, in 
Redesdale, in exchange for lands in Rutland and Redsmith, 
and not long after the reign of Elizabeth, John Reede of the 
family is styled "chief" of his name. He kept up the habits 
of his family, and cultivated the martial spirit for which they 
had become justly celebrated. 

A scion of this house was George Compton Reed, of 
Heathpool and Northumberland, and by his will he be- 
queathed money to the poor of Kirk-Newton parish. George 
Compton Reed succeeded his cousin as ninth baronet. Wil- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 119 



liam Reed, grandson of Edward Reed, of Berkshire, obtained 
from Henry VIII, Barton Court, which was part of the 
property of the abbey of Abingdon in 1536. He was buried 
in St. Helen's Church, of which he was a great benefactor. 
Thomas Reed, son of the preceding, married Ann Hoo, of 
the Hoo, County Hertford. They had a son Thomas, who 
married Mary Stonehouse, of Little Peckham. Their son, 
also named Thomas, was knighted by Queen Elizabeth, and 
married Mary, daughter of Sir John Brocket, in Hertford- 
shire. They had five children: Thomas, John, James, and 
two daughters. The sons were all knighted. 

Thomas Reed, son of Thomas and Mary (Brocket) Reed, 
married Mary Cornwall, daughter of Thomas Cornwall, Lord 
of Stropshire, and they had children: Compton, who as the 
eldest son, secured the honor of knighthood ; Edward, whose 
daughter, Elizabeth, married, February 12, 1635, John Win- 
throp, Jr., first Governor of Connecticut; Thomas and John, 
who came to this country in 1630; William, who came to 
America in the ship "Defense," in 1635, and settled in Wo- 
burn, Massachusetts. He is said to be the ancestor of the 
Reeds of Maine, and many others. Thomas settled in Salem, 
Massachusetts. He was a very prominent man in the colony, 
held the rank of colonel as early as 1643, and had several 
sons born in this country. He returned to England, was a 
colonel in the British army at the time of the restoration of 
Charles II, died, in England, in 1663, and his son, Abraham 
Palmer, settled his estate in America. 

John Reed, fourth son of Thomas and Mary (Cornwall) 
Reed, was commonly called Major John Reed. He came to 
America, in 1630, with his brother Thomas. The land granted 
to him at Salem was forfeited for not being occupied. He was 
a resident of New London in 1650, removed to the Barbadoes, 
and had extensive mercantile interests in that place, which, 



120 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

after his death, was carried on by his son, Joseph. He had 
three sons: John, Joseph and Thomas. 

Joseph Reed, son of John Reed, after accumulating con- 
siderable capital in the West India trade, decided to settle 
his sons upon what was then western land, and as early as 
1700 was located with his sons at what is now Trenton, New 
Jersey. In 1734 a post office was established at his residence 
in Trenton, and his son, Andrew Reed, was made postmaster. 
He had other sons, John, Andrew, William, and probably 
Thomas. Andrew Reed was long an active and prominent 
citizen of Trenton. Besides being postmaster, he was chosen, 
September 1, 1744, commissioner of the loan office; in 1746, 
was made one of the burgesses of the newly created borough 
of Trenton, and its treasurer, and March 28, 1749, was com- 
missioned one of the judges of the courts of Hunterdon 
county. He was engaged in mercantile pursuits, and in addi- 
tion was considerably interested in the iron industry, in 
association with others. In 1743 Andrew Reed, and Joseph 
Peace, advertised for the recovery of a servant lad, twenty 
years old, who had run away. In 1748 the iron works near 
Bordentown was advertised for sale. This was an extensive 
plant for that day, located on Black Creek, about half a mile 
from "Burden's Town." The creek was navigable for boats 
up to the works, and these works included three fires, with 
hammers, anvils, bellows and all appliances, also a dwelling- 
house and two dwellings for workmen, stables, storehouses 
and various conveniences. The land covered twenty acres, 
or thereabouts, lying on both sides of the creek, with a small 
orchard of some forty well-grown apple trees. The owners, 
beside Mr. Reed, were Joseph Yard, David Davis and 
Francis Bowes, the latter, Mr. Reed's father-in-law, who 
was then residing in Philadelphia. This sale seems to 
have been accomplished, for in 1749 Andrew Reed 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 121 



removed to Philadelphia, accompanied by his neighbor, 
John Pettit, and there they engaged in general merchandising 
under the style of Reed & Pettit, with a store on Front street. 
Reed & Pettit were among the prominent underwriters of 
Philadelphia, for we find the firm subscribing to marine 
policies in considerable amounts as early as July, 1759, as 
shown by Walter Shee's books, and as late as November, 1762, 
we find them in Kidd's and Bradford's books. In 1749 Mr. 
Reed was manager of a lottery "set up" in Philadelphia for 
the benefit of the New Jersey College the Princeton Univer- 
sity of the present day. Andrew Reed is said to have resided 
in Philadelphia ten years, at the end of which period he 
removed back to Trenton, and later to Amwell township, 
Hunterdon county, where he died, December 16, 1759. He 
was thrice married (first) to Sarah Pearson; (second) to 
Theodosia Bowes; and (third) to Louise de Normandie, and 
was the father of ten children : Two by first wife : Elizabeth 
Reed, born 1736; married, 1767, Rev. Joseph Montgomery, 
and died two years later, in 1769; Sarah, married, April 5, 
1758, Charles Pettit, son of John Pettit. Six by second wife: 
Bowes, married (first) Margaret Johnson, who died, Decem- 
ber 6, 1786; (second) Caroline Moore, who died, November 
6, 1789; Joseph, mentioned below; and Ann, Mary, Thomas 
and Francis, these last dying in infancy, or in early childhood. 
There were two children by the third wife: John and An- 
drew, the latter died in infancy, and the former in 1807, in 
Cecil county, Maryland. 

Joseph Reed, son of Andrew and Theodosia (Bowes) was 
one of the most conspicuous figures of the Revolutionary 
period. He was born August 27, 1741, in Trenton, New 
Jersey, and received his early education at the old Philadel- 
phia Academy, which institution, in due course of time, be- 
came the University of Pennsylvania. At the age of ten years 



122 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

he returned with his family to New Jersey, and was graduated 
from Princeton College, then the College of New Jersey, in 
1757, at the age of sixteen years. Subsequently entering the 
office of Richard Stockton, the leading lawyer of New Jersey 
afterwards one of the "Signers" Mr. Reed prepared him- 
self for the legal profession, and was admitted to the bar 
of that province, in 1763. Determining to acquire the best 
professional equipment obtainable, he went to London, entered 
himself at the Middle Temple, took a two years' course, and 
returned to America, in 1766. The period of his residence 
in England was one of great importance so far as concerned 
the relations between Great Britain and her colonies, involv- 
ing, as it did, the stamp act agitation, and the discussion and 
consideration of the crown's colonial policy; and the young 
lawyer had ample opportunity to hear the exciting debates in 
parliament and catch the spirit of the day, as it swayed and 
swept the British capital, now for, and now against, the em- 
ployment of coercive measures in the treatment of the sons of 
England across the seas. 

Almost immediately after the return of Mr. Reed to 
America, and his arrival in Philadelphia, the annual com- 
mencement was held at the institution which he had attended 
in 175 1, now become the College of Philadelphia. The 
Sargent medal was offered for the best essay on "The Recip- 
rocal Advantages of a Perpetual Union Between Great Britain 
and Her Colonies." Mr. Reed, as a former student at the 
institution, determined to compete, though he had but a brief 
time at his disposal. The papers submitted were opened and 
read, May 8, 1766. While the young Jerseyman was not 
accorded the first honor which went to Dr. John Margan, 
afterward a distinguished surgeon in the Continental Army 
nor the second, which went to Stephen Watts he won 
third place in the competition. Mr. Reed was at this time 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 123 

twenty-five years of age. The treatise written by him evi- 
denced his interest in a subject which, a few years later, when 
it became a paramount issue between Great Britain and her 
offspring, engrossed his best thoughts and highest energies. 
He at once entered upon the practice of his profession with 
characteristic zeal, first, for two or three years, in Trenton, 
New Jersey, his native city, and then after his marriage, in 
Philadelphia. So rapid and pronounced was his progress 
that not many years elapsed before he had become the leader 
of the local bar. Writing, February 29, 1772, to her brother 
in England, his wife said : 

Of the four greatest lawyers in the city, three have resigned from 
practice. Mr. Galloway being a good deal advanced in life, and having a 
very large fortune, cares very little about it. Mr.' Dickinson also married 
a wife worth 30,000, is improving and building on his estate, and Mr. 
Wain, whom you may remember in the Temple with Mr. Reed, is on a 
sudden turned Quaker preacher. He had a very great business they say 
nearly 2,000 a year, but he has resigned on principle, as he says no good 
man can practice law. 

Writing in his diary, two years later August 28, 1774 
upon his first visit to Philadelphia, as a delegate to the 
Continental Congress, John Adams said: "Jo Reed is at the 
head of his profession in Philadelphia; Fish is next. Wain 
and Dickinson have retired." 

But, successful and distinguished as Mr. Reed became at 
the bar, the events which were about to happen, in the city 
of his adoption, were of such a character as to require his 
best abilities in a different direction, and the last decade of 
his short, but brilliant life, a period of great strenuosity for 
him, was almost entirely given over to public affairs. When 
the tension between Great Britain and the colonies reached a 
critical stage, and hostilities seemed imminent, Mr. Reed's 
sympathies and influence were all cast into the scale in favor 
of the American Revolutionary program, though almost 



124 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

without exception the other great lawyers, then at the local 
bar, pursued a contrary course. When John Adams arrived 
in Philadelphia at the close of August, 1774, to attend the 
first Continental Congress, he found Joseph Reed one of the 
leaders among the thinking men of the day, and took occasion 
to seek the Quaker City attorney's society as frequently as 
possible. He makes mention of Mr. Reed in his diary upon 
the very day of his arrival in the city August 29, 1774 and 
there are frequent references to him in the subsequent pages. 
A few days thereafter he wrote: "This Mr. Reed is a very 
sensible and accomplished lawyer, and of an amiable dispo- 
sition, soft, tender, friendly; he is a friend of this country 
and to liberty. Mr. Reed was so kind as to wait on us to 
Mr. Sproat's meeting where we heard Mr. Spence." 

Writing February 10, 1775, to Lord Dartmouth, secre- 
tary of state for the colonies, whom he had known, in London, 
Mr. Reed thus expressed his sentiments upon the strained rela- 
tions then existing between England and America: "I am 
very sensible that the disposition I have mentioned may by 
some be imputed to timidity and apprehension of division 
among ourselves. * But this country will be deluged 

with blood before it will submit to any other taxation than 
by their own Legislature." 

Mr. Reed was appointed a member of the committee of 
correspondence for Philadelphia, in November, 1774; was a 
delegate to the provincial convention of J<uly 15, 1774; also 
to that of January 23, 1775, of which body he was made 
president; served as a member of the committee of safety, 
October 20, 1775, t0 July 22, 1776; was chosen lieutenant 
colonel of the Pennsylvania Associators, or militia, organized 
after the battle of Lexington, and July 4, 1775, was com- 
missioned lieutenant-colonel and military secretary to the 
commander-in-chief, General Washington. A year later, June 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 125 

5, 1776, he was appointed adjutant general of the Continental 
Army with the rank of colonel. This he resigned January 2, 
1777. Having served with Washington during the move- 
ments about New York, including the battle of Long Island, 
he was solicited by his chief in 1777 to accept a commission 
which Congress had offered as brigadier-general, with 
command of all the American cavalry. This he declined, as 
he did also an appointment, March 20, 1777, as the first chief 
justice of Pennsylvania under the constitution of 1776, pre- 
ferring to remain attached to Washington's headquarters as 
a volunteer aide, without rank or pay. With Washington he 
participated in the battles of Brandywine, Germantown and 
Monmouth, though chosen a delegate to Congress, Septem- 
ber 16, 1777, and again in December, of the same year. In 
October, 1777, he had also been elected a member of the 
assembly, but declined the office, though he had previously 
served in that body for a short time, having been chosen in 
January, 1776. He was elected a member of the Supreme 
Executive Council, July 21, 1778, which post he accepted, 
and December 22, 1778, he was made president of the council, 
a position equivalent to the governorship of the common- 
wealth. This latter office he held three years. The extrav- 
agance attendant upon the maladministration of Benedict 
Arnold during his command of the American forces in Phila- 
delphia are well known. Upon charges brought by Presi- 
dent Reed, and the council, Mr. Arnold was court-martialed, 
and thereafter he was aggressively hostile to President Reed. 
Writing, February 8, 1779, to Margaret Shippen, whom he 
married shortly afterward, he said: "I am treated with the 
greatest politeness by General Washington, and the officers 
of the Army, who bitterly execrate Mr. Reed and the council 
for their villainous attempt to injure me." A notable incident 
in Joseph Reed's Revolutionary career, and one with which 



/ 



126 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

all students of American history are familiar, was the attempt 
of a representative of the British government, Commissioner 
George Johnstone, to bribe him with an offer of 10,000 in 
cash, and an appointment to any office in the Colonies within 
the gift of the crown. Mr. Reed's reply was: "I am not 
worth purchasing, but such as I am, the King of Great Britain 
is not rich enough to do it." 

Leaving the presidential chair, in 1781, Joseph Reed 
resumed the practice of his profession. In the year following 
he was chosen one of the ''councillors and agents" of Penn- 
sylvania in the dispute between this State and Connecticut, 
which had resulted in bloodshed not long previously. His 
argument before the commission lasted two days. He was 
later elected a delegate to Congress, but owing to ill health, 
never took his seat. There was a sentimental side to Joseph 
Reed's life which is more interesting to the reader than a 
portrayal of his public career. In England, when a student 
at the Temple, he had met and fallen in love with Esther de 
Berdt, daughter of Dennis de Berdt, a London merchant, a 
representative of an old Huguenot family which had re- 
moved for political and religious reasons from Ypres, 
Flanders, to England, in the middle of the sixteenth cen- 
tury. When Joseph Reed returned to America, from London, 
in 1766, he and Miss de Berdt who was born in that city, 
October 22, 1746 were practically engaged, but the prospect 
for their union was altogether dubious. The de Berdts were 
opposed to their daughter's removal to America, while Mr. 
Reed could not see his way clear to locating permanently 
in England. Moreover, Mr. Reed's father, now well ad- 
vanced in years, was in no small degree dependent upon the 
son for support. The love letters which passed between the 
two, breathing of highest form of devotion and solicitude, 
are found in the exquisite little volume, "Life of Esther 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 127 

Reed," edited by their grandson, William B. Reed, and pub- 
lished in 1853. In 1769, came the death of the father, An- 
drew Reed, following which event, Joseph sailed for Eng- 
land, and May 22, 1770, the wedding took place. Shortly 
thereafter bride and groom sailed for America and estab- 
lished their home in Philadelphia, on Chestnut street, below 
Fourth. Like her husband, Mrs. Reed became a notable 
figure in the life of Philadelphia. In the spring of 1780, 
when the distress of the American army was at its height, 
money being scarce, and prices of all commodities having 
risen to a phenomenal height, the ladies of Philadelphia 
undertook the collection of money and clothing for the half- 
starved and poorly clad troops. Mrs. Reed assumed the lead 
in this movement, which was successful to a degree unantici- 
pated, the collections in Philadelphia city and county alone 
amounting to $300,000, paper currency. In a letter of July 
4, 1780, addressed to General Washington, Mrs. Reed 
acquainted him with the result of the collection, and added: 

The ladies are anxious for the soldiers to receive the benefit of it, and 
await your directions how it can best be disposed of. We expect considerable 
additions from the country, and have also written to the other states in hopes 
the ladies there will adopt similar plans to render it more general and bene- 
ficial. With the utmost pleasure I offer any further attention and care in my 
power to complete the execution of the design, and shall be happy to accomp- 
lish it, agreeable to the intentions of the donors and your wishes on the 
subject. The ladies of my family join me in their respectful comph'ments and 
sincere prayer for your health, safety and success. I have the honor to be with 
the highest respect, 

Your obedient humble servant, 

E. Reed. 

Mrs. Reed did not long survive the writing of this letter. 
In the previous January she had been ill with smallpox, and 
her death occurred September 18, 1780. This notice of the 
event is found in the "Pennsylvania Gazette" of the 27th 
instant: 



128 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



On Monday the 18th instant died after a few days illness, in the thirty- 
third year of her age, Mrs. Esther Reed, consort of his Excellency, the Presi- 
dent of this State. Possessed of every female virtue which could adorn herself 
and station, this amiable lady lived beloved and died lamented by all who had 
the happiness of her friendship and acquaintance. On Tuesday her remains 
were interred in the Second Presbyterian burial ground in this city, with every 
mark of respect due to her merit and character, being attended by his Excel- 
lency, the President, and the members of Congress and their principal Boards, 
the General Assembly and Supreme Executive Council, officers of the Army 
and the State, and a great concourse of numerous friends and acquaintances 

Her husband survived her less than five years, and died 
March 5, 1785, being not quite forty-four years of age. 
Joseph and Esther (de Berdt) Reed were the parents of six 
children: 1. Martha, born May 21, 1 77 1 , died unmarried. 
2. Joseph, mentioned below. 3. Esther, born July 21, 1774, 
died May 22, 1847. 4. Theodosia, born October 2, 1776, died 
may 12, 1778. 5. Dennis de Berdt, born May 12, 1778, grad- 
uated from Princeton College, in 1797, and died at sea, Feb- 
ruary 5, 1805. 6. George Washington, born May 26, 1780, 
graduated from Princeton College, 1798, was commissioned 
midshipman, United States Navy, January 13, 1799, and lieu- 
tenant, March 10, 1803. In the early stages of the War 
of 181 2, he commanded the brig "Vixen," which was cap- 
tured by the British frigate "Southampton," commanded by 
Sir James Lucas Yeo. Shortly after the surrender of the 
"Vixen" both vessels ran ashore and were wrecked. The 
property was largely recovered through the generous and 
hazardous exertions of the captive American sailors. The 
British commandant publicly acknowledged his obligations to 
Lieutenant Reed for the services of his crew, and offered him 
a parole with permission to return to the United States. He 
declined, however, to leave his comrades. He died shortly 
afterward, January 4, 1813, at Kingston, Jamaica, while still 
a prisoner-of-war, of a fever induced by exposure and fatigue. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 129 

Joseph Reed, second child of Joseph and Esther (de 
Berdt) Reed, was born July 11,1772, in Philadelphia, and 
died March 4, 1845. Graduating from Princeton College in 
1792, he was admitted to the Philadelphia bar, March 10, 
1792, having studied law while still in college. At this time, 
it will be observed, he was not yet twenty years of age. He 
was appointed, January 2, 1800, prothonotary of the Supreme 
Court of Pennsylvania, and continued in that office until May 
13, 1809. In the same month, January 22, 1800, he was like- 
wise commissioned clerk of the Court of Quarter Sessions of 
the County of Philadelphia, and filled this post until Novem- 
ber 9, 1805. In 1810-11 he filled the office of city solicitor 
of Philadelphia. For a portion of the period October 2, 
1 8 10, to January 26, 181 1 he also held the post of attorney 
general of the commonwealth. In the year first mentioned, 
1 8 10, he was likewise appointed to the position of recorder of 
the city, and performed the duties of this important judicial 
office until 1829. He was also named, in 1818, a member 
of the first board of control of the public schools. Mr. Reed 
was elected a member of the Hibernian Society in 181 1. At 
a "war meeting," held August 25, 1814, when Philadelphia 
was threatened by the British, he acted as secretary, and was 
placed on the "Committee of Defense" at that time appointed. 
He had been elected a member of the First Troop, Phila- 
delphia City Cavalry, May 12, 1798, but had resigned May 
7, 18 10. When, however, his native city seemed in peril, 
Mr. Reed, August 27, 18 14, rejoined his old command, but 
a year later, August 4, 181 5, all danger being past, he resigned 
a second time. January 19, 1816, he was chosen a member of 
the American Philosophical Society. In 1816, he was a can- 
didate for Presidential elector on a combination ticket, sup- 
ported by independent Democrats and by Federalists, but the 
regular Democratic ticket was successful. Joseph Reed 

MD.-9 



130 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

married, June 15, 1805, Maria Ellis Watmough, daughter 
of James Horatio and Anna Christiana (Carmick) Wat- 
mough, born December 18, 1784; died January 22, 1865, nine- 
teen years a widow. They had seven children: 1. William 
Bradford, mentioned below. 2. Henry Hope. 3. Anna, born 
June 3, 181 1, died August 8, 18 12. 4. Maria, born May 24, 
18 13, died at an advanced age. 5. Emily. 6. Margaret Ser- 
geant. 7. Joseph, born November 28, 1825, spent a year at 
the University of Pennsylvania, 1841-42, received an appoint- 
ment as an assistant in the United States Coast Survey Service, 
and lost his life by drowning at Annapolis, Maryland, in 

1852. 

William Bradford Reed, eldest son of Joseph and Maria 
Ellis (Watmough) Reed, was born June 30, 1806. He inherit 
ed the intellectual abilities of his progenitors, and attained a 
high degree of distinction in professional and public life. 
Graduating from the University of Pennsylvania in 1822, he 
studied law, and was admitted to the Philadelphia bar, No- 
vember 26, 1826. So successful was he as a legal practitioner, 
that April 2, 1838, he was made attorney general of Pennsyl- 
vania. He was also solicitor for the County of Philadelphia, 
1836-41. He was recognized not only as an able advocate, 
but was also renowned for his oratorical abilities. He was 
likewise noted for his scholarly attainments along other than 
merely professional lines, in 1850 was appointed professor 
of American History at the University of Pennsylvania, was 
the author or editor of a number of biographical and kindred 
works, among others: "Life and Correspondence of Joseph 
Reed," 1847; "Life of Esther de Berdt, afterward Esther 
Reed," 1853; "President Reed of Pennsylvania, a Reply to 
George Bancroft, and Others," 1867; "A Rejoinder to Mr. 
Bancroft's Historical Essay," 1867, and others. When a 
young man Mr. Reed had a brief experience in the diplo- 
matic service, as private secretary of Joel R. Poinsett, who was 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 131 

appointed United States minister to Mexico, March 8, 1825. 
Thirty-two years afterward he re-entered the service, being 
commissioned, April 18, 1857, minister to China, where he 
remained nearly two years, during which time he negotiated 
the important treaty of June, 1858, "that secured to the United 
States all the advantages that had been acquired by the allies 
from the Chinese." Returning to America, Mr. Reed re- 
moved to New York City, where he re-engaged in the prac- 
tice of his profession, and where his death occurred February 
18, 1876. William B. Reed married (first) October 13, 1833, 
Louisa Whelan, daughter of Thomas and Eliza (Bickham) 
Whelan, of Baltimore, who died November 27, 1847. He 
married (second), January 15, 1850, Mary Love Ralston, 
daughter of Robert and Anne (Boote) Ralston, who was 
born February 16, 1825, and died November 15, 1867. Chil- 
dren by first marriage: Emily, Anna, William, mentioned 
below; George Washington, Louisa Whelan, died young; 
Louise Whelan; by second marriage: Mary Love, Robert 
Ralston, Emily de Berdt and Henry Seymour, of whom all 
but four died unmarried. 

William Reed, eldest son of William B. and Louisa 
(Whelan) Reed, was born June 7, 1838, in Philadelphia. 
He graduated from the University of Pennsylvania in 1856, 
and was admitted to the bar of Philadelphia, May 5, i860. 
When his father, Hon. William B. Reed, was appointed 
United States minister to China, young Mr. Reed accom- 
panied him to the Orient and acted as secretary of the legation. 
In 1868, he removed to Baltimore, where he passed the rest 
of his life, becoming prominent in business and social circles. 
For many years he was a member of the well-known railroad 
supply firm of Morton, Reed & Company. Mr. Reed was a 
member of the Maryland Club, joining in 1869, and for a 
number of years was one of its governors. He married, April 
25, 1871, Miss Emilie McKim, a descendant of an old and 
distinguished family of Maryland. 



RICHARD ISAAC DUVALL 

"CMVE generations of American ancestors preceded Richard 
Isaac Duvall in Maryland. The original ancestor, Ma- 
reen Duvall, came from France to Anne Arundel county, 
about the middle of the seventeenth century. He was a man 
of strong religious principles as the sequel shows, and of a 
family of note, bearing arms: 

Arms Gules, a chevron argent between two mullets pierced, and a 
battle axe of the last. 

Crest A lion sejant, per pale argent and gules sustaining a shield as 
in the Arms. 

Motto Pro Patria. 

Richard Isaac Duvall, of the sixth generation of the 
family in America, was of a strong and sturdy type of char- 
acter, honorable and upright, and unflinching in his advocacy 
of any cause he deemed a righteous one. That trait of his 
Huguenot ancestor was transmitted to him unweakened by the 
lapse of time. 

Mareen Duvall, the first of the family who settled in 
Maryland, is said to have come from the neighborhood of 
Nantes, Brittany, and some support is lent to this statement 
by the fact that he gave to the first piece of land patented to 
him the name of "Lavall," and there is a town called "Val" 
and a chateau "Laval" some sixty or seventy miles from 
Nantes. The name "Mareen" is clearly a corruption of the 
French "Marin" and he was undoubtedly a French Hugue- 
not. Although the Edict of Nantes was not repealed until 
1685, those of "the religion," as the Huguenots called them- 
selves, were nevertheless severely oppressed by the govern- 
ment, and many of them emigrated to other lands. It was 
doubtless for this reason that Mareen Duvall settled in Mary- 
land, to round out his days in peace, safe from the persecu- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 133 

tion that prevailed in his native land. The date of his arrival 
in Maryland is not recorded, but it was certainly before 1659 
and probably not far from 1650. At any rate he made his 
demand for land, July 25, 1659, and this being duly laid out 
for him he had a patent, January 22, 1659-60, for a tract called 
"Lavall" on the west side of South river, in Anne Arundel 
county (Land Office, Lib. 4, fol. 431). Other tracts patented 
to him were "Middle Plantation," 600 acres, on the south 
side of South river, patented 1664 (Land Office, Lib. 7, fol. 
450) ; "Duvall's Addition," 165 acres, on the west side of 
South river, patented August 8, 1670; and "Duvall's Range," 
200 acres on east side of north branch of Patuxent river, in 
Anne Arundel county, patented September 10, 1672 (ibid. 
Lib. 14, fol. 22; Lib. 17, fol. 290). 

Another tract called "Rich Neck," and containing 200 
acres, was surveyed for Mareen Duvall and William Young, 
on the south side of South river, May 25, 1664 (Rent Roll, 
Lib. 1, fol. 33). In 1678 the Maryland Assembly passed an 
act appropriating a large amount of tobacco, then serving as 
currency, in payment of the service of those who had taken 
part in the recent expedition against the Nanticoke Indians 
(Md. Arch, vii, 87), and Mareen Duvall was paid eighty 
pounds of tobacco for his participation in the expedition (ibid 
96). September 13, 1681, Thomas Francis and Nicholas 
Gassaway, writing to the Council about Indian outrages, state 
that in Anne Arundel county the Indians have killed a negro 
and wounded two white men one mortally. The people are 
in great distress, since the Indians keep them constantly ter- 
rorized, and attack their dwelling houses, especially those of 
Mr. Duvall, and Richard Snowden (Md. Arch, xvii, 24). 
In 1683 an act was passed by the Assembly, and approved by 
Governor and Council, for the encouragement of trade by 
establishing with great liberality towns and ports of entry 



134 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

in all the seaboard counties, and under the terms of this act 
Mr. "Marien Duvall" is appointed one of the Commissioners 
for establishing towns and ports in Anne Arundel county 
(Md. Arch, vii, 611). 

In one instance a glimpse is afforded of the immigrant's 
political views. Colonel Nicholas Greenberry, in a communi- 
cation to the Governor dated July 25, 1692, asserts that the 
principal rendezvous of the leaders of the Jacobite party 
were at "Darnall's, Chew's, Dorsey's and one Mareen Du- 
vall's" (Md. Arch, viii, 343). During his long residence 
in Maryland, Mareen Duvall acquired a large landed estate 
by purchase, in addition to the tracts taken up by him, and 
was thus able to provide handsomely for his large family of 
twelve children. He styles himself "merchant" in his will, 
and he doubtless engaged in the export of tobacco, a very 
profitable occupation in those days, and one that stood in high 
repute both in Virginia and in Maryland. 

Mareen Duvall was three times married. The name of 
his first wife has not been preserved. His second wife, 
Susanna, is named in his will as the mother of his son, Mareen, 
the younger, or Mareen II., as he is usually designated. His 
third wife, Mary (Stanton) Duvall, sister of Daniel Stanton, 
of Philadelphia, was married to him about 1693, tne vear 
before he died, and bore him no children. According to 
Judge Duvall, who left a thoroughly reliable genealogy of 
the Duvall family (and of whom later) his grandfather, Ben- 
jamin Duvall, was born in 1692, and was the son of the im- 
migrant by his second wife, Susanna. In all probability, 
therefore, Mrs. Susanna Duvall died at the birth of her 
youngest son, Benjamin, in 1692, and Mareen was married to 
his third wife, Mary Stanton, in 1693. Mareen Duvall died 
in August, 1694, and the following year his widow, Mrs. 
Mary Duvall. married Colonel Henry Ridgely, in proof of 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 135 

which we have the following: 9 October, 1695, "came Major 
Henry Ridgely, of Anne Arundel county, who intermarried 
with Mary, relict and executrix of Mareen Duvall, late of 
said county, deceased, and exhibited the inventory of said 
deceased's estate, etc. (Test, Proceedings). Major Henry 
Ridgely was soon promoted to Lieutenant-Colonel, and in 
1695 ms landed property, formerly in Anne Arundel county, 
was included in the newly formed county of Prince Georges'. 
He died in 1710, and by his will, dated April 30, 1705, and 
proved July 13, 1710, appointed his wife, Mary, his sole 
executrix. She soon married her third husband, Rev. Jacob 
Henderson, rector of Queen Anne Parish, Prince Georges' 
county, and afterward Commissary for the Province under the 
Bishop of London. Rev. Jacob Henderson died August 21, 
175 1. Mrs. Henderson survived until 1762. As she was mar- 
ried to Mareen Duvall in 1693, sne must have been very old 
at the time of her death." 

The order of the birth of Mareen DuvalTs children fol- 
lowed below is that given by Judge Gabriel Duvall, and is 
shown by deposition filed in Provincial Court records. It 
is believed, on the same authority, that Mareen Duvall's first 
wife was the mother of the first five children, while Susanna 
was the mother of the remaining seven. It is to be noted that 
the immigrant had two sons named Mareen, both named in 
his will, and that Susanna was the mother of the younger. 
Mareen Duvall, who died in 1694, had issue by his first wife: 
1. Mareen, "the elder," born in 1662, married, 1685-86, 
Frances, daughter of Captain Thomas and Mary (Wells) 
Stockett, of Anne Arundel county. 2. John, buried April 20, 
171 1 ; married, before August, 1685, Mary, daughter of Wil- 
liam Jones, of Anne Arundel county. 3. Eleanor, married, 
before 1694, John Roberts, of Virginia. 4. Samuel, born 
1667; married, June 18, 1697, Elizabeth Clark. 5. Susanna, 



136 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

married, before 1694, Robert Tyler, of Prince Georges' county. 
Mareen Duvall and his second wife, Susanna, had issue: 
6. Lewis, married, March 6, 1699, Martha, daughter of Rob- 
ert Ridgely, principal secretary of the province; removed to 
South Carolina. 7. Mareen, through whom descent is traced. 

8. Catherine, married, October 22, 1700, William Orrick. 

9. Mary, married, July 5, 1701, Rev. Henry Hall, rector of 
St. James' Parish, Anne Arundel county. 10. Elizabeth, ap- 
parently unmarried in 1694. 11. Johanna, married, August 
12, 1703, Richard Poole. 12. Benjamin, born 1692; died 1774; 
married, 1713, Sophia Griffith. The latter were the grand- 
parents of Justice Gabriel Duvall, of the Supreme Court of 
the United States. 

Justice Gabriel Duvall was born December 6, 1752. He 
married (first) a Miss Bryce, daughter of Captain Robert 
Bryce, of Annapolis, July 24, 1787. He married (second), 
May 5, 1795, Jane Gibbon, daughter of Captain James Gib- 
bon, of Philadelphia. Beginning when very young he spent 
sixty-one years of his life in public service. In early life 
he was clerk to the Conventions in Maryland, clerk to the 
Council of Safety, and clerk to the first House of Represen- 
tatives under the new Government. Later he was member 
of Congress. Then after serving as Judge of the General 
Court of Maryland and Comptroller of the Treasury of the 
United States, he was appointed Associate Judge of the United 
States Supreme Court, and held this honorable position from 
October, 181 1, until his resignation in 1835 or 1836. He died 
March 6, 1844. 

Mareen Duvall, "the younger," eldest child of Mareen 
Duvall, the Huguenot, and his second wife, Susanna, was 
born in Anne Arundel county, Maryland, in 1680. He is 
styled of "Great Marsh," but he removed to and died at his 
plantation, "Pleasant Grove," Queen Anne's Parish, Prince 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 137 

Georges' county, Maryland, in June, 1 741 . He married, Oc- 
tober 21, 1701, Elizabeth Jacob, who died in Prince Georges' 
county in February, 1752, daughter of Captain John Jacob. 
Children: Mareen, born March 14, 1703, married, Novem- 
ber 25, 1725, Ruth Howard; Susannah, born September 12, 
1704, married (first) Mr. Fowler, (second) Mark Brown; 
Elizabeth, born July 20, 1706, married Dr. William Denune; 
Samuel, through whom descent is traced; Anne, born May 10, 
1709; Benjamin, born April 4, 171 1, married Mary Wells; 
Jacob, born April 19, 1715, married Miss Bourne, of Calvert 
county, Maryland; Mary, born March 22, 1717; Lewis, born 
December 3, 172 1, married Miss Hardesty; Gabriel, born 
September 13, 1724, died unmarried. 

Samuel Duvall, son of Mareen and Elizabeth (Jacob) 
Duvall, was born at the parental estate, "Pleasant Grove," 
Prince Georges' county, Maryland, November 27, 1707, and 
died in November, 1775. He was a substantial planter and a 
man of influence, spending his entire life in Prince Georges' 
county. He married, May 16, 1732, Elizabeth Mulliken, born 
September 25, 171 1, died after November 20, 1775, daughter 
of James and Charity (Belt) Mulliken, and granddaughter 
of James Mulliken, the Virginia settler. Children: James, 
born March 31, 1733, married his cousin, Sarah Duvall, 
daughter of Mareen and Ruth (Howard) Duvall; Charity, 
born May 6, 1734, married Mr. McDougal; Elisha, died 
January 8, 1837, married and left a son Benjamin; Elizabeth, \ 
born May 15, 1738, married Mr. Gover; Samuel, of further 
mention; Margaret, born January 30, 1742, married Mr. 
Denune; Jacob L., born May 13, 1744; Jeremiah, born August 
24, 1745; Jesse, born April 4, 1748; Gabriel, born October 20, 
1751. 

Samuel (2) Duvall, son of Samuel (1) and Elizabeth 
(Mulliken) Duvall, was born July 7, 1740, and was a success- 



138 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

ful and influential planter of Prince Georges' county, Mary- 
land. He was a soldier of the Revolutionary War, serving 
in the Maryland Line, went safely through his military expe- 
riences, and finally passed away in September, 1804, near the 
place of his birth. He married Mary Higgins, born in 1 741 , 

died prior to July 26, 1800, daughter of and Sarah 

Higgins. Children: Richard, died in 1832, unmarried; 
Tobias, married, February 5, 1795, Sarah Willett, and died 
in 1835; Walter; Colmore, married, February 5, 1791 , Eliza- 
beth Peach; Samuel, died in 1838, married Miss Hall; Bar- 
ton, of further mention; Beale, a merchant of Baltimore City, 
married (first) April 28, 1800, Margery Belt, (second) April 
11, 1806, Elizabeth Williams; Levi; Sarah, married Samuel 
Peach; Elender, married William Williams; Rachael, mar- 
ried a Mr. Hilt; Ann; Elisha, married and had issue. 

Barton Duvall, son of Samuel (2) and Mary (Higgins Du- 
vall, was born in Prince Georges 1 county, Maryland, in 1776, 
died October 15, 183 1, a planter. He married, November 26, 
181 1, Hannah Isaac, born in 1788, died March 10, 1826, 
daughter of Richard Isaac, Jr., Esq., of Prince Georges' coun- 
ty, and Anne (Williams) Isaac, his wife, her mother a daugh- 
ter of Stockett and Mary (Waters) Williams, of Anne Arun- 
del county, Maryland. Children: Mareen, born in 181 2, 
died August, 1831, unmarried; Richard Isaac, of further 
mention; Dr. Philip Barton, born July 17, 1816, died in 1851, 
married Mary E. Hopkins; Samuel Higgins, born May 30, 
1818, died in 1890, married Christine Crowley; Dr. Joseph 
Isaac, born May 16, 1821, died in 1883, married Mary A. 
Mitchell, daughter of John Mitchell, of Prince Georges' 
county, Maryland; Mary Ann, born October 28, 1822; Hen- 
rietta, born in 1823, died October 17, 1826. 

Richard Isaac Duvall, second son of Barton and Hannah 
(Isaac) Duvall, was born September 4, 1814, and died Jan- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 139 

uary 23, 1870. He was educated under private instructors in 
Prince Georges' county, where he lived until about 1845, when 
he removed to Anne Arundel county. He was a man of great 
determination and force of character, honorable and generous 
in all his business transactions. Though he never had the 
advantages of a college education, he was possessed of wide 
and varied information, and was an entertaining conversa- 
tionalist, taking an active part in public affairs. For many 
years he was engaged in farming near Millerville, Anne Arun- 
del county, and was one of the three originators, a founder, 
an original stockholder and trustee of Anne Arundel Acad- 
emy, a famed school situated near Millerville. He served as 
a justice of the peace for Prince Georges' and Anne Arundel 
counties; was for several years a school commissioner; a com- 
missioner of the Levy Court for two terms, and register of 
wills from 1861-62 until 1867. He was an extensive slave- 
holder, and at the outbreak of the Civil War his sympathies 
were with the Southern States. As a result of his candid and 
unconcealed expressions of opinion in favor of the cause of 
the Confederacy, he suffered arrest and imprisonment a num- 
ber of times. 

Richard Isaac Duvall married (first), October 2, 1833, 
Sarah Ann Duvall, born August 1, 1817, died January 2, 1854, 
daughter of Tobias Duvall. He married (second) Rachel 
Maria Waring, born March 21, 1828, died May 2, 1865.. He 
married (third) June 12, 1867, Mary Amanda Mitchell, born 
in 1837, died February 22, 1903, daughter of Henry and La- 
vinia (Duvall) Mitchell. Children by first marriage: 1. James 
Monroe, born June 25, 1834, died February 9, 1901 ; mar- 
ried (first) January 6, 1858, Martha A. Basford, daughter 
of John and Sarah (Isaac) Basford; married (second) No- 
vember 24, 1 88 1, Rosa Neal, born October 3, 1844, died May 
16, 1900, daughter of Robert Ellett and Susan Garland (Gil- 



140 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

man) Neal. 2. Philip Barton, born November 19, 1836, died 
April, 1863; he graduated from Anne Arundel Academy, 
read medicine with his uncle, Dr. Joseph I. Duvall, also later 
with Dr. Samuel Chew, of Baltimore, and was graduated 
M.D. from the University of Maryland; went south at the 
beginning of the war, joined the Confederate Army in 1861, 
and on the day of his promotion to be assistant surgeon of 
Captain Dement's company, he was killed on the battlefield 
at Chancellorsville, Virginia; he was unmarried. 3. Samuel 
Fulton, born October 20, 1838, educated at Anne Arundel 
Academy, joined the Confederate Army in 1861, served until 
the close of the war, then again went south ; he was wounded 
at the battles of Seven Pines and Gettysburg. 4. Joseph Corn- 
stock, born October 21, 1840, died November 5, 1840. 5. 
Richard Joseph, born December 19, 1841, died September, 
1851. 6. Richard Marcellus, born March 20, 1844, died 
January 27, 1857. 7. Daniel Clayton, born May 15, 1845, 
died in Virginia, in April, 1901 ; was educated at Anne Arun- 
del Academy; married, February 13, 1866, Mary Elizabeth 
Rosa Gantt, daughter of Thomas and Mary Gantt, of Anne 
Arundel county, Maryland. 8. Mary Emma, born January 
18, 1848, died young. 9. Henry Willett, born July 3, 1850, 
died September 12, 1851. 10. Mary Virginia, born May 9, 
1851, died July 29, 1853. it. Sallie. Children by second 
marriage: 12. Richard Mareen, born November 1, 1856, 
near Millerville, Anne Arundel county, Maryland; married, 
October 30, 1895, Julianna Webster Goldsborough, daughter 
of Dr. John Schley and Julianna W. (Strider) Goldsbor- 
ough; he was educated by private instructors and at Anne 
Arundel County Academy, and the State Normal School at 
Baltimore, and from 1877 t0 ^83 taught in private and pub- 
lic schools; he began the study of law in January, 1880, with 
Judge William H. Tuck, of Annapolis, was admitted to the 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 141 

Maryland bar in January, 1883, removed to Baltimore the fol- 
lowing September, and began the practice of law in that city; 
he is a member of the Maryland Historical Society, the Mary- 
land Original Research Society, the American Bar Associa- 
tion, the Bar Association of Baltimore, the Maryland State 
Bar Association, is a trustee and member of the executive 
committee of Anne Arundel Academy, member of the Society 
of Colonial Wars, Sons of the Revolution, University Club 
and St. Andrew Society. 13. Marius Turner (twin with Rich- 
ard M.) was born in Anne Arundel county, Maryland, No- 
vember 1, 1856, died in Hanover county, Virginia, September 
20, 1901 ; he was educated by private instruction and at Anne 
Arundel Academy, and was a substantial planter; he married 
Mary Elizabeth Sled, daughter of John Sled, Esq., of Han- 
over county, Virginia. 14. Everett, born August 3, 1858, in 
Anne Arundel county, Maryland; educated at the public 
schools and Anne Arundel Academy; he married, November 
27, 1895, Libbie Mersereau, of Virginia. 15. Herbert, born 
April 17, 1861, in Anne Arundel county, died in Virginia, 
unmarried, March 30, 1901. 16. Barton Lee, born in 1863, in 
Anne Arundel county, died in Hanover county, Virginia, June 
8, 1903. 17. Rachel Frances, born January 1, 1865, died in 
infancy. Child by third wife: 18. Hannah Lavinia, born in 
1870; married James Hutchison, of Washington, D. C. ; they 
have one child, Fulton. 




JAMES WILLIAM THOMAS 

'T^HE ancestor of the Thomas family of St. Mary county, 
Maryland, was Thomas Thomas, who came from Eng^ 
land about 1652, and was among the early settlers on the 
Pautuxet river. In the Revolution, sons of the family dis- 
played their patriotism in council and field of battle, and dur- 
ing the conflict between the States, sons of the seventh genera- 
tion won fame by their loyalty, devotion and valor in the Con- 
federate army. Three brothers, sons of Senator Richard 
Thomas, of Mattapany, and grandsons of Major William 
Thomas, an officer of the Maryland Line during the Revolu- 
tion, are of special mention for valiant service; Colonel Rich- 
ard Thomas, who served under the name of Zarvona by act 
of the Virginia Legislature ; Captain George Thomas, of Com- 
pany A, Second Maryland Regiment, Confederate Army, and 
Sergeant James William Thomas, also of Company A, to 
whom this review is dedicated. After the war the survivors 
of Company A formed the Murray Confederate Association, 
and after the death of their comrade the association adopted 
resolutions to the memory of James William Thomas, as fol- 
lows in part: 

Be It Resolved: That in the death of Sergeant James William Thomas, 
the Murray Confederate Association deplores the loss of one of its most 
honored memhers. A gallant soldier and a true gentleman. 

Profoundly devoted to the cause of the South, he shouldered his musket 
at the beginning of the war, and, as one of Murray's men of the Maryland 
Infantry, C. S. A., followed the Stars and Bars during the memorable four 
years of heroic struggle. Of the many beardless youths who left their homes 
and their firesides in "Dear Old Maryland," when the War between the 
States began, none carried into the conflict a more unfaltering devotion and 
loyalty than Sergeant Thomas. He was an ideal soldier, alert and in- 
telligent in the performance of every duty, always at his post, and in the 
storm and stress of battle displaying the fortitude and coolness character- 





<%> 




GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL L43 

istic of the name he bore and worthj of the Maryland lane that charged at 
Cowpens and Camden. 

Our comrade has crossed "over the river," to take his honorable place 
in the fast filling ranks of those, who, living and dying, loved the Caiw. 
leaving behind him an untarnished name, and a record that must ever be 
the pride and boast of his descendants. 

James William Thomas was of the seventh generation 
of the family founded in Maryland by Thomas Thomas, who 
secured a warrant for one thousand acres situated on the north 
side of the Pautuxet river, near Buzzard's island, March 31, 
1656, and became prominent in the affairs of the colony, serv- 
ing as one of the high commissioners of the Provincial Court 
held at Pautuxet. 

He was succeeded by his son, James Thomas, of Ware, 
Charles county, Maryland, who was born in England prior 
to 165 1. His will, dated June 7, 1701, was probated Novem- 
ber 29, 1701. By his first wife, Teratia, he had children: 
John, of further mention, and Thomas, died prior to Febru- 
ary, 1723. 

John Thomas, son of James and Teratia Thomas, was 
born in 1682, and his will, dated April 30, 1756, was probated 
July 7, 1757. He married and had issue: John, of Ware, 
Charles county, Maryland, married Mary Wilson; Leonard, 
of Bowling Green, moved to the State of Georgia; James, 
died in 1782; Jane, who died prior to 1756, married Edward 
Swan; Elizabeth, died prior to 1756, married Benjamin 
Wood; William, of further mention. 

Major William Thomas, son of John Thomas, was born 
in 1 714., died at his residence, at Deep Falls, St. Mary's county, 
Maryland, March 25, 1795. He was commissioned captain 
of the county militia, in 1752, and major in 1754. He was 
elected a member of the committee of correspondence for St. 
Mary county, June 5, 1774, was a delegate to the Revolution- 
ary Convention, 1775, member of the Maryland House of 



144 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Delegates, 1761, 1768 to 1776, and member of the General 
Assembly of Maryland from 1777 until 1781. For forty 
years he was a vestryman of King and Queen Parish. He 
married Elizabeth Reeves, born in 1714, died in 1808, daugh- 
ter of Thomas and Mary Reeves. They were the parents 
of five children: 1. Colonel John Thomas, of Charles county, 
Maryland, died in 1797; was an officer of the Continental 
Army, member of the Maryland Legislature many years, pres- 
ident of the State Senate, 1795 t0 l 797- 2 - William, of further 
mention. 3. George, born in 1764, member of the Maryland 
House of Delegates, 1787-88. 4. James, died in 178 1 ; was a 
soldier of the Continental Army, wounded at Yorktown. 5. 
Elizabeth, died September 26, 1792; was wife of Major Wil- 
liam Courts, an officer of the Maryland Line, Continental 
Army. 

Major William Thomas, Jr., of De La Brooke Manor, 
St. Mary's county, Maryland, was born at Deep Falls, Mary- 
land, in 1758, and died August 1, 1813. He was a lieutenant 
in the Continental army, and later major in the famous Mary- 
land Line; he was a prominent Free Mason and first master 
of Hiram Lodge at Leonardstown, Maryland, elected grand 
master of- Maryland, 1809, and re-elected the following year; 
was judge of the Orphans Court of St. Mary's county from 
1797 to 1800, resigned to become chief judge of the County 
Court, in which capacity he served from 1800 to 1802; presi- 
dent of the board of trustees for Charlotte Hall Academy; 
member of the General Assembly from St. Mary's county, 
Maryland, 1791 to 1796; and from 1802 to 1813 served in 
both houses; president of the Maryland Senate from 1806 until 
his death, August 1, 1813. He married, in 1782, Catherine 
Brooke Boarman, born 1760, died in 181 2, heiress of "De La 
Brooke Manor," daughter of Richard Basil and Anne (Gard- 
iner) Boarman. Children: James, of Deep Falls, St. Mary's 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 145 



county, Maryland, three times Governor of Maryland, was 
born March u, 1785, and died December 25, 1845; he mar- 
ried, June 25, 1808, Elizabeth Courts. 2. George, born in 
1791, died November 20, 1856; married Mary Tubman. 3. 
Dr. William, of "Cremona," St. Mary's county, Maryland, 
born March 8, 1793, died September 20, 1849; married (first) 
August 6, 1818, Elizabeth Tubman; married (second) April 
8, 1828, Elizabeth Lansdale. 4. Richard, of further mention. 
5. Anne, born in 1798, died July, 1862; married Hon. Thomp- 
son Mason, of Loudoun county, Virginia. 6. Matilda, mar- 
ried Colonel George Brent. 7. Catherine, married United 
States Senator William Duhurst Merrick. 

Richard Thomas, of Mattapany, St. Mary county, Mary- 
land, son of Major William Thomas, Jr., was born in 1797, 
and died October 30, 1849. He was for many years a member 
of the Maryland Assembly from St. Mary's county; speaker of 
the House of Delegates, 1830, after which he was elected to 
the Senate, was president of that body from 1836 to 1843, and 
was president of the Maryland Colonization Society; he mar- 
ried Jane Wallace Armstrong; they had three sons: Richard, 
George and James William, of further mention. Richard 
Thomas was a commissioned colonel in the Confederate Army 
under the name of Richard Thomas Zarvona; his exploit in 
capturing the Federal steamer "St. Nicholas," is famous in 
the annals of the history of the Confederate service; after the 
Civil War he went to Europe and served with distinction 
under Garabaldi, and also in the Egyptian Army. Captain 
George Thomas, of Mattapany, born August 6, 1835, died 
May 14, 1903; was captain of Company A, Second Maryland 
Regiment, Confederate States Army; he married, October 
23, 1866, Ellen Ogle Beall, born October 21, 1841, died Octo- 
ber 30, 1909, daughter of Rev. Upton and Louisa (Ogle) 
Beall; they were the parents of eight children: Richard 

MD. 10 



140 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Brooke, born January 27, 1868, died in 1875; J onn Henry, 
born August 3, 1869, of Mattapany, Maryland, Boston, Mas- 
sachusetts, and New York City; Rev. Upton Beall, born 
March 31, 1871, married, Jnauary 22, 1907, Emily Hoffman; 
Tazewell Taylor, of the Baltimore bar, born September 9, 
1872, married, September 23, 1903, Maria Antonia Vall- 
Spinoza; Edward Ogden, of New York; Louise Ogle, born 
December 20, 1875; Rev. William Matthews Merrick, of Rio 
Grande de Sul, Brazil, born May 3, 1878, married, October 
25, 1904, Sara Elizabeth Cruishank; Kate, born September 
10, 1879, married, September 15, 1910, Dr. Henry Nicholas 
Browse, of West Virginia. 

James William Thomas, youngest son of Senator Richard 
Thomas, was born at Mattapany, St. Mary's county, Maryland, 
April 2, 1840, died at his estate in St. Mary's county, Decem- 
ber 21, 1 90 1. When war broke out between the States the 
three sons of Senator Thomas volunteered for service in the 
Confederate Army. Their mother remained at "Mattapany" 
until the same was occupied by Federal troops. James W. 
Thomas left his home on Wednesday, May 22, 1861, and ar- 
rived in Richmond, May 24. On the following day he was 
enrolled as a private in Company B, of the Maryland Guards. 
On June 17 he obtained a transfer to Company D, of which 
his brother, George, was first lieutenant, on June 19 was mus- 
tered in for the war, and on June 22 the company was ordered 
to join the First Maryland Regiment at Winchester, Virginia. 
He was first under fire on Sunday, July 21, at the battle of 
Manassas (First Bull Run), and he was continuously in the 
service until wounded at Gettysburg, July 3, 1863, and taken 
prisoner. Captain Murray was killed the same day, and 
George Thomas succeeded him in command of Company B. 
That company lost in the battles of July 2 and 3 their captain 
and eight privates killed, a lieutenant, two sergeants, and forty- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 147 

seven privates wounded, and six captured. James W. Thomas 
was then first sergeant of the company. On July 19 he writes: 
"Several days since I was removed by Dr. Quinlan (a Federal 
surgeon) to the Presbyterian Church. Here I am comfortably 
fixed. Sisters of Charity attend here, everything is clean, 
and I get what I want. By Dr. Quinlan's directions they at- 
tend particularly to me. I could not be more fortunate unless 
I could go home. Mother has been with me some time." On 
July 23 he was sent east to David's Island, about twenty miles 
from New York, and was in the hospital until September 23, 
when he was sent South on parole. After partially regaining 
his health he took a clerkship in Major Anblers' office, Rich- 
mond, serving until February 9, 1864, when he rejoined the 
army, and on August 19 was taken prisoner in battle, and was 
confined at Point Lookout, a point of land lying between 
Chesapeake bay and the Potomac river. He was held a pris- 
oner until February 17, 1865, when he was paroled, later 
exchanged and returned to Richmond. He again entered the 
army, and sixteen days later, on April 2, 1865, was again taken 
prisoner through a blunder of the captain commanding the 
brigade picket line. This ended his military service, as before 
he was released the war ended. He attained the rank of ser- 
geant major. From the beginning of the war until May 26, 
1865, Sergeant Thomas kept a diary, which long after the war 
he transcribed for his sons. He did not rewrite it, but added 
many valuable explanatory notes. This record, typed and 
paged, has been bound in morocco, and is a souvenir priceless 
to the family. After the war Mr. Thomas returned to St. 
Mary's county, Maryland, and there passed a quiet life in con- 
tentment and honor. 

Mr. Thomas married, January 17, 1871, Fantelina Shaw, 
born October 9, 1842, daughter of Dr. Joseph Ford and Re- 
becca (Thomas) Shaw, of St. Mary's county, Maryland. They 



148 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

were the parents of Carroll, Armstrong, Richard Zarvona, 
Fantelina and Allison Ford. Carroll Thomas, born October 
13, 1871, married, September 1, 1896, Margaret Ellen, daugh- 
ter of Barclay and Eliza (Morton) Thomas, of Prince 
Georges' county, Maryland, and have one child, James W. 
Thomas, born February 8, 1903; Armstrong Thomas, born 
March 21, 1874, married, November 26, 1902, Rebecca True- 
heart Ellerson, of Richmond, Virginia, daughter of Andrew 
Roy and Rebecca Lewis (Storrs) Ellerson; they are the par- 
ents of Ree Storrs, born April 18, 1905, died in infancy; Re- 
becca Lewis, born April 19, 1907; Armstrong, Jr., born April 
8, 1909. Richard Zarvona Thomas, born November 8, 1876, 
died May 12, 1879. Fantelina Thomas, born October 30, 
1879, died in July, 1888. Allison Ford, born March 27, 188 1, 
married, April 1, 1916, Nell Aminta Kalbaugh; they have 
one child, Nell Allison, born May 19, 1917. 




G. LANE TANEYHILL, M.D. 

A LTHOUGH of Pennsylvania birth, Dr. Taneyhill's long 
and useful life was spent in Maryland, and from 1869 
until his death in 1916, nearly half a century, in Baltimore. 
Aside from his eminence in his profession he was a prominent 
figure in the public life of the city, and in educational and 
religious affairs took an earnest, active part. The public 
schools of Baltimore owe much of their efficiency to his 
earnest efforts as commissioner to promote their advancement 
along modern lines. 

Dr. G. Lane Taneyhill was born in Bellefonte, Pennsyl- 
vania, March 11, 1840, died at his home, No. 1103 Madison 
avenue, Baltimore, Maryland, March 2, 1916, son of Rev. 
Thomas Taneyhill, a minister of the Methodist Episcopal 
church. After completing his academic studies he began the 
study of medicine under Dr. John F. Petherbridge, of Calvert 
county, Maryland, his study of medicine having been in the 
intervals of teaching school in Calvert county. In 1863 he 
first came to the city of Baltimore, there entering the military 
hospital as a cadet. He completed his medical education at 
the University of Maryland, whence he was graduated from 
the medical department M.D., class of 1865. Soon afterward 
he was commissioned assistant surgeon of the Eleventh Regi- 
ment, Volunteer Infantry, by Governor A. W. Bradford, and 
ordered to duty at Fort Delaware. 

After the war was over Dr. Taneyhill was appointed as- 
sistant physician to the Maryland Hospital for the Insane, 
remaining about three years. He then spent a year in Bellevue 
Hospital, New York City, returning to Baltimore in 1869. 
The next few years were employed in building up a private 
practice in Baltimore, and the subsequent years until death 
in meeting the demands of that practice. He became one of 



150 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

the best known and highly regarded general practitioners in 
the city, and ministered to a very large, influential clientele. 
He kept abreast of all modern medical discovery, and for 
many years was a prominent leader in the medical societies of 
Baltimore and Maryland. He took a deep interest in the 
proceedings and work of the Baltimore Medical Association, 
serving as its president, and in the Obstetrical and Gynecologi- 
cal Society of Baltimore, which he served as vice-president. 
He was for many years secretary of the board of trustees of 
the Medical and Chirurgical Faculty of Maryland; member 
of the American Medical Association; member of the United 
States Military Surgeons Association; treasurer of the Alumni 
Association of the University of Maryland; member of the 
Maryland Academy of Sciences; member of the Maryland 
Historical Society, and at the time of his death was a trustee 
of Dickinson College, and examining surgeon of the United 
States Pension Board. He was a whole-hearted, devoted phy- 
sician, the soul of honor, and strictly observant of the ethics 
of his profession. No call upon his professional skill was ever 
disregarded, and many were the number of those he treated 
without hope of fee or material reward. 

A Republican in politics, he took life-long interest in city 
affairs, but his chief interest was in the public schools. When 
elected school commissioner he labored most effectually to 
develop a modern school system to give to the youth of Balti- 
more greater opportunities for a practical education which 
would fit them for life's duties. He was a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church from youth, and in Baltimore a 
long time member of the Madison avenue congregation, be- 
longing to the official board. He was one of the vice-presi- 
dents of the City Missionary and Church Extension Society, 
president of the Laymen's Convention of Baltimore Con- 
ference of the Methodist Episcopal Church in 191 5, and in 



GENEALOGK A I . A.\l ) M EMORI Al 



151 



church activity bore a leading part. He was a member and 
physician to the St. Andrew's Society, was a member of the 
Grand Army of the Republic, and ever took a deep interest 
in that organization. There were no idle periods in his life, 
every talent he possessed being consecrated to the service of 
his fellow-men. 

Dr. Taneyhill married Caroline A. McAllister, of New 
York, who survives him, with two children: G. Lane (2) 
Taneyhill, M.D., Ruth Hollis Taneyhill, and one grandchild, 
Jean Cranston Taneyhill. 




ROBERT CLINTON COLE 

OOBERT CLINTON COLE, born November 16, 1857, 
in Baltimore, was a son of Robert Clinton and Ellen 
Louisa (Wise) Cole, of Baltimore, grandson of William and 
Cassandra (Smallwood) Cole, the former of Baltimore, and 
the latter of Charles county, Maryland, and great-grandson of 
James and Elizabeth (Clinton) Cole, the former of Cecil 
county, Maryland, and the latter of North Carolina. Mr. Cole 
was descended from an ancient English family, early planted 
in New England and Maryland. The name is derived from 
an ancient personal name of unknown antiquity. 

Mr. Cole received his early education under private 
tutors. Subsequently he entered Dickinson College, at Car- 
lisle, Pennsylvania, from which he was graduated in 1879 
with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He took a post-graduate 
course at Johns Hopkins Institute in political economy, and 
founded the Beta Theta Chi chapter there. Soon after he 
became principal of the old No. 12 grammar school of Balti- 
more, and while pursuing the duties of this position engaged 
in the study of law at the University of Maryland. In 1889 he 
completed the course and was admitted to the bar in that year. 
Two years previously his alma mater conferred on him the 
degree of Master of Arts. In the following year he became 
professor of history and political economy at Baltimore City 
College, continuing in that position until 1896, when he re- 
signed to engage in the practice of law. While highly suc- 
cessful as a lawyer, Mr. Cole was best known as a factor in 
the educational life of the city and State. For nine years, 1904 
to 191 2 inclusive, he was a member of the State Board of 
Education, and his sober judgment was highly regarded dur- 
ing those years, when new problems were developing in the 
State educational system. In 1905 he retired from the practice 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 153 



of law, and at the time of his death, December 16, 1914, he 
was president of the Calvert Mortgage Company, being asso- 
ciated with D. H. Doyle, J. Albert Hughes and Charles F. 
Hutchins in that organization. He was ever in touch with 
progressive educational work in the State, and contributed 
much to the establishment of the liberal educational quality 
maintained by the State. Mr. Cole was a familiar figure in 
the life of Baltimore, and was well known to most of the 
leading men of the city. Of tall and commanding figure, with 
gray hair and pleasant, kindly countenance, he was the object 
of considerate attention wherever he went. He was a member 
of the leading clubs of Baltimore, including the Maryland 
Club, Baltimore Club, Baltimore Country Club, Baltimore 
Athletic Club, of which he served as president, and Baltimore 
Chapter of the Dickinson College Alumni Association. He 
was a member of the Beta Theta Psi college fraternity, of the 
Sons of the Revolution, and the Society of the War of 181 2. 
Popular in society, successful as a lawyer and business man, 
he died deeply regretted and widely mourned. 

Mr. Cole married Elizabeth Rice, daughter of Frederick 
Rice, of Baltimore, who survives him. 




WILLIAM WALLACE SPENCE 

f\^> October 18, 1915, William Wallace Spence passed 
from the ranks of the nonogenarians to the honors of a 
centenarian, and in a quiet way celebrated the passing of 
the one hundredth milestone marking his journey through life. 
It was with great satisfaction that he reached that age, and 
feeling that Baltimore, where he had spent seventy of his one 
hundred years was the proper place to celebrate it, he returned 
from Hot Springs, Virginia, where he had been sojourning for 
several months. He spent the day in his bed resting, although 
not ill, smoked his customary cigar and greatly enjoyed the 
flowers and gifts which came from dear friends, particularly 
a small basket of heather, bracken and thistle, gathered in 
his native Scotland, and sent him by St. Andrew's Society. 
He only enjoyed the distinction of a centenarian a few weeks, 
his death occurring the following November 3, his life as 
full of honors as of years. 

Mr. Spence sought the United States not as a refuge, but 
as a believer in America's opportunities and her institutions. 
He prepared himself to embrace these opportunities by ob- 
taining a good education, then despite the strong arguments 
of his honored father and his many friends broke away from 
the home traditions of his race. But he was a loyal Scot and 
everything pertaining to the "auld Highland," as he was fond 
of calling his native land, appealed to him and warmed his 
heart. In Druid Hill Park, Baltimore, stands a heroic statue 
of the Scotch patriot, William Wallace, whose name he bore, 
presented by his namesake, and he made many visits to the 
land of his birth. 

In Baltimore he won business reputation and fortune, 
first as a shipping merchant, then as a financier, was closely 
associated with Johns Hopkins in many important business 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL L55 

ventures, and was a tower of strength to the Mercantile Trust 
and Deposit Company, of which he was vice-president until 
his death. Until 1875 ne was intimately connected with the 
business world, not only as a member of Spence & Reid, ship- 
ping merchants, but with other leading mercantile concerns. 
But from 1875 until his death he was practically free from 
business cares. He retained his vigor surprisingly, and even 
when in his ninety-fifth year it was no uncommon sight to see 
him, formally dressed and with as much care as the youngest 
man in his party, occupying his box at the opera. For seventy- 
three years he worshipped with the congregation of the First 
Presbyterian Church, and it was a very rare event for him 
to be absent from the Sunday morning service. While he kept 
well abreast of the times, there were certain old-fashioned 
customs to which he remained loyal. One of these was his 
carriage and pair, he with a very few Baltimoreans refusing 
to adopt the automobile even after it became the "vogue." 
He was extremely fond of a game of whist and even the best 
masters found him a strong opponent. He made many 
journeys abroad after surrendering business cares, and during 
these tours added to the art treasures in which his home 
abounded and in which his soul delighted. There stands in the 
rotunda of Johns Hopkins Hospital a heroic statue of the 
"Divine Healer" that few know was the gift of Mr. Spence. 
While attending Divine service in Copenhagen with his 
friend, Dr. Daniel Coit Gilman, then president of Johns 
Hopkins University, now with his friend in the spirit land, the 
beauty of a staute of the Christ proved wonderfully fascinat- 
ing to Dr. Gilman. "If you like it so much," said Mr. Spence, 
"I will have a similar one made for the rotunda of the hos- 
pital." This promise he kept, gave an order for an exact 
reproduction to the sculptor, Theodore Stein, and there it 
stands, a symbol of mercy, greeting every visitor to the institu- 
tion, whose mission is one of mercy. 



156 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Mr. Spence was a believer in and a warm friend of young 
men. On his ninety-second birthday he urged upon them 
ambition and high purpose. "Be ambitious, prepare your- 
self for greater things so that you may be ready when oppor- 
tunity comes. Aim high and put all the energy you possess 
into the accomplishment of your object. Be honest, work 
hard, and you will succeed." Could the secret or mainspring 
of his own success in life be reduced to words, it could be 
epitomized in his own words: "Always be prepared to take 
advantage of an opportunity." His was not a sordid nature, 
but he knew the value of money and the blessings it could 
bestow, and the great wealth he gained was wisely used. He 
was identified with many charities and philanthropies, but 
beneath his qualities, which made him a commanding figure 
in Baltimore's business world, beneath his kindness, capacity 
for friendship and his generosity, lay a deeply religious nature 
and principle, firm as the granite rock. His piety, wise coun- 
sel and material aid were woven into seventy years of the his- 
tory of the First Presbyterian Church, and at a thousand other 
points touched the history of other churches. 

He was a man of few words, direct in his utterances and 
expecting equal directness from those who would have busi- 
ness dealings with him. He was deliberate in his judgments, 
but when he had decided was as adamant. He held firmly the 
control of all affairs with which he was connected, and would 
never forsake a proved and sound business principle for an 
untried one. In like manner he possessed the gentleness of 
a woman, and in all the years of his active business life no 
instance is recalled of bad temper. This wonderful self con- 
trol extended even to argument, and he would end a dis- 
cussion with the same placid ease that he began it. His de- 
termined spirit was proverbial, and it was that spirit which 
carried him past his one hundredth birthday. During the 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 157 

last decade every purpose of his life was vigorously main- 
tained, and during his last two years he became so feeble that 
many of his friends believed that only his will power enabled 
him to reach his ambition to attain the century mark. He 
was not only determined to see his one hundredth birthday, 
but to spend it in his Baltimore home, and he did. While 
he passed the day quietly in his bedroom, he was remembered 
by his friends of St. Andrew's Society, whose annual meet- 
ings he rarely missed; by the Maryland Historical Society, 
of which he was a life member; by the session of the First 
Presbyterian Church, and by his many personal friends. 
Perhaps the feature of his birthday which pleased him most 
came from the church, who held birthday services the day 
before that they might on the same day celebrate the one hun- 
dredth anniversary of the founding of its Sunday school. The 
following resolution was passed and sent to Mr. Spence: 

The session of the First Presbyterian Church gladly avails itself of this 
occasion of the near approach of the one hundredth anniversary of the birth- 
day of its honored and beloved senior member, William Wallace Spence, to 
offer him its hearty congratulations upon the unusually long term of years 
which he has been permitted to spend so happily and usefully in the Master's 
service in this congregation, seventy-three years as a member, and sixty-seven 
as ruling elder. It wishes also to place on record this expression of the 
deep appreciation felt by all its members of the loyal devotion to the interests 
of this church so fully displayed by him during the whole period of mem- 
bership ; of the affectionate regard and esteem they one and all entertain for 
him personally, and their gratitude to our Heavenly Father for the many 
spiritual and temporal blessings wherewith He has crowned his days. 

William Wallace Spence was born in Edinburgh, Scot- 
land, October 18, 1815, and died at his home, No. 1205 St. 
Paul street, Baltimore, November 3, 191 5, his father a prac- 
ticing physician of Edinburgh. He had all the advantages of 
education, but he had formed his plans for coming to the 
United States, the wishes of his father holding him until 



158 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

his eighteenth birthday. He then carried his plans into effect 
and seventy days later landed in New York City, but did not 
long remain there, going six months later to Norfolk, Vir- 
ginia, where he remained seven years engaged in the ship- 
ping trade. In 1840 he decided Baltimore offered a wider 
field for his energies, and in that year he began business with 
his brother, John F. Spence, their place of business, No. 5 
Rowlew's Wharf, the firm name, W. W. Spence & Company. 
Later John F. Spence withdrew and went west, his place being 
taken by Andrew Reid, the firm trading as Spence & Reid, 
shipping merchants and large importers of coffee. In 1847 
the firm made a great deal of money in corn, they having 
purchased heavily at a figure which more than doubled. This 
was the cornerstone (^' the great fortune Mr. Spence accumu- 
lated, although Spence & Reid continued a large and prosper- 
ous business for more than twenty-five years. In 1875 he 
retired from commercial life and devoted himself to his 
private affairs, to charity, philanthropy, travel and the devel- 
opment of the finer side of his nature. He was one of the 
organizers of the Mercantile Trust and Deposit Company, 
was suggested as its first president, but he gave way to his 
son-in-law, General John Gill, who held the office until 191 1, 
Mr. Spence serving as director and trustee. He rarely missed 
a meeting of the board and his judgment was both sought and 
deferred to until the end. He was also an official of the 
Eutaw Savings Bank, and so regular was he in his visits that 
if his carriage did not draw up before the bank at 10 o'clock 
each morning, the officers knew he was either indisposed or 
out of the city. He was regarded as one of the able financiers 
of the city and made so few mistakes that his reputation ever 
endured. In his business affairs he made use of all the aids of 
steam, electricity and modern invention, but could never be 
persuaded to adopt the automobile. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 159 

He took little part in civic affairs as an official, but his 
interest extended to every department of city life. He served 
three years as finance commissioner in association with Enoch 
Pratt, both voluntarily resigning. This office, to which he 
was appointed during Mayor Latrobe's second term, was his 
only public position. His charity was far-reaching and his 
interest extended to many philanthropies. He was president 
of the Presbyterian Eye, Ear and Throat Hospital; president 
of the Home for Aged Men; president of the Home for Aged 
Women; director of the House of Refuge; director of Egerton 
Orphan Asylum; senior elder of the First Presbyterian 
Church and its oldest member; life member of the Mary- 
land Historical Society; member of St. Andrew's Society. 
He was an enthusiastic patron of art, and with Theodore Mar- 
burgh and others organized the Municipal Art Society, of 
which he was long a director. His gift to the city included the 
statue of his ancestor, William Wallace, which stands on the 
Lake Front in Druid Hill Park, his other notable gift, "Christ 
the Divine Healer," in the rotunda of Johns Hopkins Hos- 
pital. 

So a wonderful life was passed, wonderful in its achieve- 
ment, wonderful in its duration. None envied him his suc- 
cess for it was fairly earned and generously used. He began 
life with a definite purpose, but when the goal was reached 
he withdrew and long lived to enjoy the fruits of his enter- 
prise, good judgment and ability. He held his honor sacred, 
and his record bears no trace of unworthy sacrifice for world- 
ly gain, and freely as he received freely he gave; his life is 
an inspiration and his memory a rich inheritance. 

Mr. Spence married (first) Mary A. Winkley, of Vir- 
ginia, who died November i, 1859. He married (second) 
Charlotte Morris, daughter of Charles Morris, of the firm 
James & Charles Morris, contemporary with Spence & Reid 



160 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



in the early forties. Mr. Spence left three children, all by his 
first marriage: Louise Wallace, married General John Gill; 
William Wallace (2) ; and Mary S., widow of O. N. Butler, 
all residents of Baltimore. Thirteen grandchildren also sur- 
vive him. 




ROBERT VANDERBURGH McKIM, M.D. 

"^R. McKIM was a native son of New York and a resi- 
dent of the city of New York during more than the 
last quarter of a century of his long and useful life. He 
was a veteran surgeon of the Union Army, holding the rank 
of major. He was a man of considerable means and for 
many years preceding his death lived a retired life in the 
city of New York, devoting himself to the pursuits congenial 
to a man of culture and refined tastes. His progenitors were 
men of wealth and prominence in the business affairs of 
Philadelphia and Baltimore, descendants of Sir John McKim, 
born in Londonderry, Ireland, in 1655, knighted by his King 
for valiant service during the historic siege of Londonderry, 
raised July 30, 1689. Sir John McKim had by his second 
wife sons, Alexander and Thomas, the latter the founder 
of his line in America from whom descend the Philadelphia 
and Baltimore McKims. 

Judge Thomas McKim was born in Londonderry, Ireland, 
October 10, 1710, died at Brandywine, Delaware, in Sep- 
tember, 1784. He came to this country, October 3, 1734, 
landing in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where he resided 
until about 1739, when he moved to Brandywine, Delaware, 
where he resided until his death. He was a man of influence 
in his community, a justice of the Court of General Sessions 
and judge of the Court of Common Pleas for many years. 
He left children: John, of further mention; Robert, Eliza, 
Alexander, and Jane, all born in Brandywine, Delaware. 

John McKim, of the second American generation, son of 
Judge Thomas McKim, was born in Brandywine, Delaware, 
in 1742, died in Baltimore, Maryland, in 1819. In 1785 
he located in Baltimore, there rising to eminence in com- 
mercial life. He was the founder and first president of the 

MD 11 



162 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Union Manufacturing Company of Baltimore, organized in 
1808, a company which operated one of the first cotton mills 
built in the United States and is still one of the successful 
manufacturing corporations of the city. He was also presi- 
dent of the Baltimore Water Company and one of the open- 
handed, public-spirited men of his day. His greatest 
philanthropy was the founding and endowment of a free 
school for the education of children of both sexes without 
regard to religious creed, an institution known as "The Mc- 
Kim School," a worthy monument to a worthy man. He 
married Margaret Duncan, daughter of Isaac and Margaret 
Duncan, of Philadelphia. She bore him two sons, Isaac and 
William Duncan. The eldest son, Isaac McKim, was born in 
Philadelphia in 1775, and came to Baltimore with his father in 
1785. He entered his father's counting room at an early 
age and developed those qualities which made him the in- 
dustrious, energetic, intelligent and successful merchant 
which he afterward became. He was a great shipping mer- 
chant in the East India trade. He took great pride in his 
vessels and had some of great celebrity as fast sailers. In 
1836 he built one of the first of the clipper ships, the widely 
known "Ann McKim," which was named after his wife. 
During the War of 18 12, he was in active service as an aide- 
de-camp to General Samuel Smith, commander in chief of 
the forces defending Baltimore, and advanced $50,000 to the 
city to aid in its defense. 

He was one of the promoters of the Baltimore & Ohio 
Railroad, and one of its first board of directors. He took a 
warm interest in politics and was a prominent and influential 
member of the Democratic party. He served as State Sena- 
tor and was twice elected to Congress, of which he was a 
member at the time of his death. He was eminently social 
in his nature and his generous and elegant hospitality was 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 163 

freely extended to a large circle of friends, as well as to all 
strangers who were in any way entitled to it. He died in 
1838, at the age of sixty-three. 

William Duncan McKim, youngest son of John and 
Margaret (Duncan) McKim, was born in Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, in 1779, died in Baltimore, Maryland, in No- 
vember, 1834. After completing his education he joined his 
father in his various business enterprises and became one 
of the leaders of the commercial world. He was one of the 
founders of the Baltimore Gas Company, which he ably 
served as a director, also serving in that capacity in various 
banks, insurance companies and several public institutions of 
the city. Like his father, he was a man of noble, generous 
impulse and identified with many philanthropic movements. 
He married, in 1806, Susan Hazlett, of Caroline county, 
Maryland, whose ancestors, like his own, came from Lon- 
donderry, Ireland. They were the parents of six children: 
John, Hollins, Isaac, Hazlett, Margaret, married Alexander 
Gordon, and Robert. 

Robert McKim, youngest child of William Duncan and 
Susan (Hazlett) McKim, was born in Baltimore, Maryland, 
May 25, 1816, died in New York City, April 23, 1893. He 
was a man of wealth and education, his connection with the 
business world that of an investor only. He married, No- 
vember 7, 1838, Charlotte Vanderburgh, daughter of Dr. 
Federal Vanderburgh, and granddaughter of Colonel James 
Vanderburgh, an officer of the Continental Army during 
the Revolution. They were the parents of Susan Hazlett, 
born August 11, 1839, married, in November, 1859, Wil- 
liam Mackay; Robert Vanderburgh, of further mention; 
Mary Helen, born September 14, 1843, died June 12, 1884, 
married, October, 1867, Richard Church; Clarence, born 
July, 1 8^3, married, December, 1887, Caroline Lawrence; 



164 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

deceased; Laura Vanderburgh, born July 22, i860, married, 
November 26, 1884, S. Morris Pryor. 

Robert Vanderburgh McKim, eldest son of Robert and 
Charlotte (Vanderburgh) McKim, was born at Rhinebeck, 
Dutchess county, New York, August 19, 1841, died in New 
York City, October 20, 191 5. He was educated in Baltimore 
and New York City schools, chose medicine as his profes- 
sion, receiving his M.D. from New York Medical College. 
At the outbreak of War between the States, he offered his 
services to the Federal government and was commissioned as- 
sistant surgeon of the Fifty-seventh Regiment, New York 
Volunteer Infantry, in October, 1861. In February, 1862, 
he was commissioned surgeon with the rank of major and saw 
hard service with the Army of the Potomac during the Seven 
Days fighting of the Peninsular campaign at Second Bull 
Run and Antietam. He was acting brigade surgeon during 
this period and later was in charge of a division hospital at 
Harper's Ferry, Virginia. He ever retained his interest in 
the militia and from March 5, 1883, until his resignation, 
honorable discharge, January, 1898, was brigade surgeon on 
the staff of General Louis Fitzgerald, commanding the 
First Brigade, New York National Guard. He was a mem- 
ber of the Military Order of the Loyal Legion of the United 
States, the Colonial Order, the Union Club, the Metropolitan 
Club, and secretary of the Kennel Club of New York. He 
was a man of highest character and agreeable personality, 
highly esteemed by his professional brethren and dear to an 
extensive circle of friends. 

Dr. McKim married, at Baltimore, December 28, 1858, 
Mary Schroeder Albert, who died at sea, May 17, 1907, 
daughter of Jacob and Eliza Margaret (Shroeder) Albert, of 
Baltimore. Dr. and Mrs. McKim were the parents of seven 
children: Robert Albert, born September 15, 1863, married, 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



165 



February 28, 1889, Caroline Ransom; Mary Albert, born 
May 30, 1865, married, April 28, 1888, George C. Wilde, of 
Baltimore; Albert Vanderburgh, born February 14, 1867; 
Susan Isabel, born March 10, 1869, died in 1872; William 
Julian Albert, born September 3, 1870, married, November 
9, 1893, Maud S. Lee; Charlotte Albert, born August 7, 1872, 
died in 1881; Augustus Albert, born 1875, died 1879. 




CHARLES WESLEY GALLAGHER, D.D. 

A NATIVE son of Massachusetts, Dr. Charles Wesley 
Gallagher, an eminent Divine of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church and the honored president of the Maryland 
College for Women, won his reputation as minister, scholar 
and educator beyond the confines of the State of his birth. 
He entered the ministry after the completion of his college 
course, continuing until 1889, having attained the dignity 
of a presiding elder ere he laid aside his priestly duties for 
those of an educator. 

His first call was from Lawrence University, Appleton, 
Wisconsin, and for four years he was president of that insti- 
tution. From that time until his death, in 1916, he continued 
in educational work as college executive, his connection with 
the Maryland College for Women beginning on June 1, 
1908, after wide experience in the executive management 
of co-educational institutions and women's college, which 
peculiarly fitted him for the position he was to fill at Luther- 
ville. He was a man of deep learning, and for two years 
after coming to the Women's College, he continued to in- 
struct classes in psychology, logic and ethics, he having made 
a comprehensive study of those subjects before, and for a 
number of years taught them to classes in different institu- 
tions. He also gave special attention to the Bible in the 
Hebrew and Greek languages and ranked with the eminent 
scholars of his day. But his usefulness to the cause of the 
church and education was not alone his learning, his piety 
nor intellectual ability, but also in his executive quality, his 
business sense and his sound judgment, which won him the 
support of the friends of religion and education, and his ap- 
peals never were disregarded by those to whom they were 
addressed. 




% &*^yjL 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 1H7 

Seventy years was the span of his life, and it contained 
no blank periods, every page of his record being filled with 
honorable, useful endeavor to raise higher the standards of 
religion and education. He was a powerful advocate of the 
causes he championed, was an eloquent platform speaker and 
in frequent demand at church conventions, conferences and 
educational gatherings, while his powers of literary expres- 
sion and theological argument are wonderfully expressed in 
his ''Theism or God Revealed," published in 1899, when he 
was in the full prime of his splendid powers. During most 
of the years spent as president of the Women's College, his 
duties were solely executive, the importance of that work 
demanding his release from class teaching. 

Dr. Gallagher, along maternal lines, traced his ancestry 
to the Foster family of Colonial fame, who dated in Mas- 
sachusetts from the year 1628. His paternal grandfather, 
John Chartres Gallagher, of the Gallagher family of 1765, 
was proprietor and principal of the first academy in Sack- 
ville, New Brunswick, Canada, where a very important 
educational institution has been developed. Dr. Gallagher's 
father, Samuel Chartres Gallagher, married Rooxby Moody 
Foster, and resided in the vicinity of Boston, Massachusetts, 
where his son, Charles Wesley Gallagher, was born. The 
parents were devoted members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, and when a name was to be chosen, "Charles Wes- 
ley," brother of John Wesley, the founder of Methodism, 
was selected as an honored name they would have their son 
bear. The name was worthily borne, and who can say that 
there was not an inspiration in it which impelled the young 
man in his course toward high ministerial dignities. 

Charles Wesley Gallagher was born in Chelsea, Massa- 
chusetts, February 3, 1846, and died in Lutherville, Mary- 
land, at his home on the Campus of the Maryland Women's 



168 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

College, December, 1916. He completed public school 
courses, finishing with high school, and with this preparation 
he went West and taught school in Austin, Nevada, being for 
one year of that period principal of an academy. On his re- 
turn East he entered Wesleyan University, Middletown, 
Connecticut, graduating A. B., class of 1870. He pursued 
divinity studies at Wesleyan, was regularly admitted to the 
ministry of the Methodist Episcopal church, later was for- 
mally ordained, and entered upon pastoral duty at New 
Haven, Connecticut. In 1873 ne was awarded his A. M. 
degree. From New Haven he was assigned to Hartford, 
Connecticut, under the Methodist rule of the itineracy, 
going thence to Providence, Rhode Island, his pastorate there 
being followed by charges in Brooklyn, New York, and in 
New York City. Wesleyan University conferred the hon- 
orary degree, Doctor of Divinity. He grew in intellectual 
strength and power along with ministerial usefulness, his 
brethren elevating him to the important office of presiding 
elder of the New Bedford district. During his years in the 
ministry he had become well known as a strong friend of 
the cause of education, this reputation, coupled with his 
learning, piety and eloquence, rendering him an ideal head 
of an educational institution of high degree. In 1889 there 
came a first call from the educational field, Lawrence Uni- 
versity, Appleton, Wisconsin, offering him the presidency 
of that institution. The call seemed one that should be heeded, 
and after fully considering the matter he resigned from the 
active ministry and accepted the presidency of the University. 
He remained at Appleton for four years, then transferred 
his services to Maine Wesleyan Seminary and College, there 
remaining until 1897, when he became associate principal of 
LaSalle Seminary, Auburndale, Massachusetts. Four years 
later, in 1891, he accepted the presidency of the National 
Training School for Missionaries and Deaconesses, in Wash- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 169 

ington, D. C, remaining executive head of that institution 
until June, 1908, when he was elected president of the Mary- 
land College for Women at Lutherville, Maryland. 

For two years after becoming president of the Women's 
College, Dr. Gallagher taught psychology, logic and ethics, 
but from that time until surrendering his trust he was occupied 
entirely in executive duty. He succeeded in raising the stand- 
ard of the Maryland College for Women during his incumb- 
ency, and brought the college through some difficult periods. 
After the fire of 191 1, he threw himself whole-heartedly into 
the work of replacing the ruined buildings and met with suc- 
cess. He ended his days in honor and usefulness, his memory 
forever enshrined in the hearts of the thousands of young 
men and young women who went out from under his teach- 
ings to carry the light to others. He continued in the active 
discharge of his duties until about three weeks prior to his 
death, when a severe breakdown followed a severe bronchial 
attack. Funeral services were held from the college under 
the direction of Dr. George Preston Mains, author and min- 
ister of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, a life-long friend and class- 
mate. His remains were interred in Druid Ridge Cemetery, 
Maryland. 

Dr. Gallagher served during the Civil War with a regi- 
ment of Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry, and was a member 
of the Grand Army of the Republic. He belonged to many 
societies and organizations, educational, religious and literary, 
was well known and greatly beloved by a very wide circle of 
friends. 

Dr. Gallagher married (first) Emily Anne Hubbard, 
who died May 13, 1890. He married (second) Evangeline 
Corscaden, who died November 24, 1914. His only surviv- 
ing child is E. Louisa Gallagher, who married Professor 
Beekman Oliver Rouse, the able successor to the presidency 
of the Maryland College for Women. Their only son is 
Oliver Wesley Rouse. 



CHARLES E. HILL 

TN 1 871, when Charles E. Hill first came from New Hamp- 
shire to Maryland, there were some of his new neighbors 
who looked askance at one of the ''Yankees." It was only- 
seven years after his father's death on the Chattanooga Battle- 
field when he left a northern college to become Assistant Pro- 
fessor at the United States Naval Academy at Annapolis, and 
much of the bitterness of the Civil War still lingered, but, in 
1009, when ill health forced him to live again in the New 
Hampshire hills, he had seen all that bitterness pass, and 
among his closest friends and business associates were men 
whose fathers had given their lives for the Confederacy as 
his had for the Union. When he died, April 6, 1917, at his 
house in Temple, Hillsborough county, New Hampshire, he 
had been for forty-two years a member of the Baltimore Bar 
and he had borne his part in the development of the city he 
had learned to love. 

Pedigrees are interesting only as they explain individual 
character. The Massachusetts Archives and the Records of 
the Society of the Cincinnati show that Samuel Hill, Hope 
Brown and Ebenezer Bancroft bore their share of military 
service throughout the War of Independence. Samuel Hill's 
son, Ebenezer Hill, married November 18, 1795, Ebenezer 
Bancroft's daughter, Rebecca, and one of the twin sons of 
this marriage, Joseph Bancroft Hill, married, August 26, 
1845, Hope Brown's great-granddaughter Harriet. Charles 
Ebenezer Hill, the first child of this last marriage, was there- 
fore, of purely "American" and typically New England ante- 
cedents. 

Samuel Hill was a great-grandson of Ralph Hill, who 
came to Plymouth from Devon before 1638, and grandson of 
Captain Ralph Hill who fought in the Indian Wars and was 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 171 

a Representative in the Massachusetts General Court from 
1689 t0 1694. Both Hills were among the petitioners to Gov- 
ernor Bellingham for the incorporation of the Massachusetts 
town of Billerica. They were born in England and came of a 
family whose most distinguished member, probably, was Sir 
John Hulle (or Hylle) of Kyton, Devon, one of the judges of 
the King's Bench, 1389- 1407. The Browns and the Bancrofts 
are the same sort of people as the Hills. All were members 
and many were ministers, elders or deacons of "The Church," 
for the Congregational Puritan Church was in those days 
supported by general taxation and civil rights depended upon 
church membership. 

Hope Brown was fourth in descent from William 
Brown (e), who settled in Sudbury about 1638, and was of 
the lineage of the Brownes of "Hawkedon," Bury St. Ed- 
munds, Suffolk. The first church in Sudbury was founded by 
the brothers, William and Edmund Brown, in 1640, Edmund 
becoming the first minister, and William being elected the 
first deacon. William Brown afterwards was a representa- 
tive in the Massachusetts General Court. One of his sons, 
Hopestill, transmitted his typically Puritan name in a short- 
ened form to his descendant, Hope Brown, who April 19, 
1775, then a corporal, marched with his company to Con- 
cord. Hope Brown's grandfather, Colonel Josiah Brown, had 
been signer of the church covenant in 1724, had commanded 
his regiment in the French and Indian Wars in 1755, and was 
one of the original grantees of the town of Mason, Hills- 
borough county, New Hampshire, with which his Hill 
descendants later became prominently identified. 

Colonel Ebenezer Bancroft did not, like Hope Brown, 
march to Concord on April 19, 1775, for at that time he held 
the King's commission as captain, but the battle of Lexington 
absolved him from his oath, and, although wounded at Bunker 



172 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Hill, he commanded Massachusetts troops in Rhode Island, 
was in the battle of Bennington, commanded the guard which 
conducted the Hessian troops to Cambridge and continued in 
the service until the close of the war. He was a descendant of 
Lieutenant Timothy Bancroft, who joined the Reading set- 
tlement in 1652, and among his co-descendants were such men 
as the Rev. Aaron Bancroft, D.D., Chief Justice Fuller and 
George Bancroft, the historian. The early Massachusetts 
families were much inter-married, and Henry Adams of 
Braintree, forefather of two Presidents, John Whitney and 
Elder Edward Howe of Watertown, Andrew Stevenson of 
Cambridge, the Warrens, Proctors, Pattersons, Cutlers, 
Fletchers, Farwells, Paines, Pages, and Parkers, all con- 
tributed a little of their Puritan steadfastness to descendants 
who have done their part in the development of the land their 
progenitors helped settle. The career of Charles E. Hill 
was thoroughly consistent with his heritage from these and 
others like them. In their lives, as in his, service of some sort 
was the primary object of life, whether that service were to 
Church, State, family or neighbors. 

Mr. Hill was born in Colebrook, in the extreme north- 
ern part of New Hampshire, where his father was then min- 
ister, but he spent part of his childhood at his grandfather's 
house in Mason, Hillsborough county. This town lies on the 
boundary line between New Hampshire and Massachusetts, 
farther in the hills than Groton and not quite so far as Temple 
and Dublin, its near neighbors. Colonel Brown had been an 
original grantee of Mason, and Ebenezer Hill became its 
minister soon after he graduated from Harvard College 
(A.B., 1786; A.M., 1789). In accordance with the custom 
that then prevailed, he remained as minister of "The Church" 
for sixty-four years, and also represented Mason in the New 
Hampshire Legislature. His first wife died, and he married 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 173 

Rebecca Bancroft, widow of Samuel Howard, who bore him, 
November 26th, 1796, twin sons, Joseph Bancroft and John 
Boynton Hill. These two graduated at Harvard College 
(A. B.) 1 82 1 in the same class, both were in the first seven 
of the Phi Beta Kappa; both were members of the "Institute 
of 1770" and the "Hasty Pudding Club," and, on graduation, 
both studied law and were admitted to the bar. John Boynton 
Hill continued practice, became a partner of John Appleton, 
afterwards Chief Justice of Maine, was speaker pro tern of 
the Maine Legislature in 1855 and finally returned to the 
Mason homestead, where he died in 1886. Joseph Bancroft 
Hill was admitted to the Tennessee bar in 1828, but later re- 
turned to Mason and became colleague with his father in the 
ministry of the church. When the war came, although over 
sixty, he joined the Army of the Cumberland in the service of 
the United States Christian Commission and was killed in a 
hospital train accident at Chattanooga, June 16th, 1864. 

Mr. Hill was then sixteen and upon him fell much of 
the responsibility for his mother and two younger brothers, 
who were then living in Temple. He prepared for college 
from 1863 to 1867 at the Appleton Academy in New Ipswich, 
of whose trustees his grandfather Hill had been president. 
He had expected to enter Harvard, of which his father and 
grandfather were graduates, but changed his plans and en- 
tered the freshman class of Dartmouth College in 1867. Of 
his life at the academy and at college, Honorable Melvin O. 
Adams, his classmate and roommate wrote: 

The literary programs of those days show his trend. He never rode a 
Greek or Latin Oration where if both horse and rider were thrown the 
audience still sat in awed unwisdom. He took a full-sized theme requiring 
something to be said and he stood up and said it. Graduating at the Academy 
his oration was on "True Glory." At another time he made his appeal for 
"Energy." Still in his boyhood at the Academy, at a mock murder trial he 
was counsel for the defense and got away with it. The functional events 



174 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

of college days were what we call Sophomore Prize Speaking; and The 
Junior Exhibition. He competed as a Sophomore, rendering that old 
sonorous declaration: "Virginius to the Roman Army;" while at The Junior 
Exhibition his oration was "The Heroic Age of American History." These 
illustrate. He was scholarly and his scholarship was flexible. If he excelled 
in Greek and Latin he was no less good in mathematics and physics. 

At college he was a member of the Alpha Delta Phi. 
On March 8th, 1871, Captain Carter, the commanding officer 
at the Naval Academy, reported to Secretary Robeson that 
he had examined Mr. Hill and found him duly qualified to 
fill the position of "Assistant Professor of Ethics and English 
Studies" at the Naval Academy, and recommended that his 
appointment be forwarded to him as such. He left college 
before graduating to accept this postion, but years later his 
college conferred upon him the A.B. degree. In 1871 the 
old Naval Academy, founded by his father's cousin, Secre- 
tary of the Navy Bancroft, was a quaint, delightful place 
with ancient, tree-shaded houses and green lawns. The mild 
climate of Annapolis was a great contrast to the rigorous 
New England winters, and for four years Mr. Hill taught 
history to future officers and studied law for himself. It was 
his original intention to practice in Boston, but dread of its 
cold winters, and his engagement to a Maryland girl led 
him to select Baltimore as a permanent home. He resigned 
from the navy, to take effect on September 15th, 1874, was 
admitted to the Baltimore Bar, February 13th, 1875, an d 
November 23rd married Kate (Keturah) Watts, daughter 
of Philip Coleman Clayton, sixth in descent from John Clay- 
ton, Attorney-General of Virginia, 1714-37, whose son, 
Samuel, married Philip Pendleton's daughter, Elizabeth. 
Mrs. Hill was born April 25th, 1849, in Annapolis, and such 
Marylanders as Colonel Henry Ridgely, Richard Wells, Cap- 
tain Thomas Stockett, John Brewer and Major John Welsh 
were among her progenitors. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 17.3 

For the thirty-four succeeding years he lived in Balti- 
more and spent the summer vacations in New Hampshire, first 
at Mason, and after the death of his uncle, John Boynton Hill, 
at Temple. Those thirty-four years were devoted to his pro- 
fession, church and family life, with a participation in the 
duties of citizenship. At first alone, then with Mr. Fred- 
erick P. Ross, and finally as head of the firm of Hill, Ross & 
Hill, he lived the usual lawyer's life. His work was mostly 
what is known as "business law," but he appeared in many 
important litigated cases in the local courts and the Court 
of Appeals. Perhaps the best known of these was "The Berry 
Will Case," which occupied various courts for long periods 
and resulted in important decisions on testamentary law by 
the Court of Appeals. In this case with ex-Governor Wil- 
liam Pinckney White and Mr. Edgar H. Gans, he repre- 
sented the Safe Deposit and Trust Company, executor. On 
the business side of law he helped organize various corpora- 
tions, in some of which he took an active interest. At his 
death he was still president of the Maryland Color Printing 
Company, and a director of the C. J. Youse Company, the 
one a large manufacturer of all sorts of colored labels and 
the other of all manner of paper boxes. When he was forced 
by ill health to give up active business, he was engaged in the 
development of the suburb known as Howard Park, and he 
founded the water service which later grew to be The Artesian 
Water Company, and which supplies the greater part of the 
suburbs adjoining the city to the northwest. 

He worked hard during the week at his office, first, 16 
East Lexington street, then in the Central Savings Bank 
Building, and finally in the Keyser Building, but he worked 
as hard, if not harder, on Sunday with his church duties. 
After graduating from Harvard, in 1879, ms brother, Wil- 
liam Bancroft Hill, came to Baltimore, was admitted to the 



176 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

bar and practiced with him for a time. He shortly, however, 
followed their father's example and left the law for the 
church. Mr. Hill often jestingly asserted that his brother's 
change from law to theology was due to the influence of his 
law office. 

Outside of New England, the Congregationalist usually 
becomes a Presbyterian, and when Mr. Hill first came to 
Maryland he attended the latter church. Bishop Ames was 
then, however, a powerful preacher and to hear his sermons 
Mr. Hill attended the Methodist Episcopal church, with 
which he later became closely identified. About 1885, the 
time of the building of the present First Methodist Episcopal 
Church, he became one of the trustees and continued this 
relation until his death. January 3rd, 1886, he was elected 
superintendent of its Sunday school. "A born teacher and 
a devout student of the Bible from boyhood, he not only," 
in the words of the Rev. Dr. Hugh Johnston, "built up a 
great school, but became thoroughly identified with the 
mighty movements of the church and the benevolent work 
of the city." He was trustee of the Women's College, now 
Goucher College, from 1891 to 1914; for many years trustee 
and special treasurer of the Home for the Aged of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church, as well as a trustee of the Baltimore 
Annual Conference, the Ashbury Sunday School Society and 
other church and benevolent agencies. For a number of years 
he lectured on "Medical Jurisprudence" at the Maryland 
Homoeopathic Hospital. 

His inherited Republicanism was very much tempered 
by the strong Southern Democratic views of his wife, and he 
took no part in what is known as active politics. He was, 
however, an early member of the Reform League and of the 
Civil Service Reform Association, and was actively engaged 
in the political revolution in Maryland in 1895, which over- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 177 

threw the old city and State rings. Soon after coming to 
Baltimore, he took up his residence in what was then 
No. 80 Charles street in Baltimore county, one door from 
Brown street and three blocks above the "Boundary." Here 
he resided until forced to spend most of his time in New 
Hampshire. Later, No. 80 became No. 308 and finally No. 
2120 North Charles street. Brown street became Third, and 
then Twenty-second street, and the boundary became North 
avenue when that part of Baltimore became a portion of 
the "Annex," and of the old Twenty-second Ward. The 
"Good Government Movement," in 1895, for a time was 
thought to have great promise of political regeneration for 
the country. It started in New York, and in Baltimore, under 
the leadership of Honorable Charles J. Bonaparte, it was 
taken up by the governing body of the Reform League, and 
Good Government Clubs were organized in various parts 
of the city, perhaps as many as ten or twelve altogether. In 
each case the nucleus was furnished by the members of the 
Reform League and Mr. Hill organized and became presi- 
dent of the Good Government Club of the Twenty-second 
Ward. He was also a member of the executive committee 
of the general movement. 

Although he belonged at various times to the Maryland, 
University, Country, Merchants and other clubs, he used 
them rarely, and took his recreation with his family. Brought 
up in the country, he rode well, was an excellent whip and 
devoted to horses. When bicycles came into use he gave 
up his daily drive and rode with his sons, but when bicycling 
fell into disuse, he again took up driving and riding, and rode 
daily before breakfast. Part of the summer vacation was 
always spent in a two or three weeks' driving trip in the White 
Mountains or other portions of New England. After his 
forced retirement to New Hampshire, he did considerable 

MD 12 



178 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

writing, and translated and annotated the larger part of a 
History of the French Revolution, which he intended to 
publish. At the same time he transformed an old golf course 
on his place into a scientifically planted fruit orchard of sev- 
eral hundred acres and became a local authority on fruit 
culture, keeping up a constant correspondence with the State 
Agricultural authorities. 

The death of his wife, April 6th, 1907, was a blow from 
which Mr. Hill never fully recovered. He spent the sum- 
mer of 1908 in England and France and returned in Sep- 
tember, in apparent improved health, but soon contracted a 
cold he was unable to throw off. He made short trips to 
Savannah and Asheville and resisted the idea that there was 
anything the matter with him. Finally, however, he became 
convinced that his health was seriously impaired and spent 
the spring of 1909 in the Blue Ridge. He remained there 
until July and then feeling much improved, went to his house 
in New Hampshire. During the remaining eight years of 
his life, despite his invalid condition, he lived an active life, 
made a number of trips to Baltimore and took a keen interest 
in his affairs there and in New Hampshire. His death, April 
6th, 1917, occurred just ten years to a day after that of his 
wife, and he was buried beside her in Greenmount Cemetery. 

He had three sons to whose education and interests he 
gave unremitting care, and whose companionship he constant- 
ly sought, John Philip Hill (Major and Judge Advocate, 
N. G. Md.), formerly United States Attorney for Mary- 
land; Dr. Eben Clayton Hill (Captain U. S. A.), of the 
Medical Staff of Vassar Hospital at Poughkeepsie; and 
Bancroft Hill, consulting engineer, treasurer of The Artesian 
Water Company of Baltimore. He was survived by his 
brothers, Rev. William Bancroft Hill, D.D., professor of 
Biblical Literature at Vassar College, and Joseph A. Hill, 
Ph.D., Chief Statistician, Census Bureau, Washington, D. C. 




W-c-**^^ ^//Lo-?-ru~ns~ 



GEORGE MORROW 

Passed out to softer summers than we know, 

Passed out to sweeter countries than we've seen ; 

Passed out to golden cities with their glow 

Of Jasper and of beryl and onyx sheen. 

Passed out with all your gentle sweetness, friend, 

A brave and smiling comrade to the end, 

A faithful soldier in this life that signs 

Above the toil and all the care it brings. 

Passed out from such a circle as drew around 

Your heart in love so earnest and profound, 

Respecting you because of worth that drew 

All men who loved true worth in work to you. 

Passed out, but not forever from our hearts; 

Already there a flower of memory starts 

That holds as sweet and dear as memory can 

Your golden record as a friend and man. 

Passed out from faithful service through the years, 

Passed out to leave us unashamed of tears 

That flow from one so worthy of a grief 

In which our hearts cry out on Death, the thief. 

Passed out to sunny slopes where childhood smiles, 

To Daisied fields and slopes where song beguiles 

The Noble hearted and the leal and true 

Good night : Bon voyage : from all your comrade crew. 

T^HUS wrote Folger McKinsey, the "Bentztown Bard," on 
the death of his friend, George Morrow, dean of the 
local editorial staff on the Baltimore "Sun," and one of the 
best known newspaper men in Baltimore. 

George Morrow was born in Washington county, Penn- 
sylvania, July 23, 1853, and died in the city of Baltimore, 
Maryland, August 3, 191 5. He began his newspaper career 
as a boy on the "Echo Pilot" of Greencastle, Pennsylvania, 
learning the printer's trade in that office. He came to Balti- 
more in 1870, and for a short time was employed on the old 



180 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



Baltimore "Gazette. 11 He left the "Gazette" to go to St. Louis, 
Missouri, but after two years in that city returned to Maryland, 
becoming owner and editor of the Baltimore "County Demo- 
crat," published at Towson. Later that paper passed under 
the control of William Ruby, and in 1882 Mr. Morrow be- 
came a reporter for the Baltimore "Sun" and was connected 
with that paper until his death, a period of thirty-three years. 
He served in every capacity from reporter to editor, his news- 
paper experience in Baltimore gaining for him a wide circle 
of friends in every station in life. For many years he was 
court reporter, covering some of the most stirring and import- 
ant proceedings that has ever occurred in the Baltimore 
courts. His intelligent and accurate accounts of the happen- 
ings in the courts won him the friendship of every prominent 
member of the bar practicing at that time and of every judge 
on the bench. Among his close friends won during that 
period, which were ever retained, was Judge Stewart, Judge 
Phelps, Bernard Carter, William Pinckney White, Edgar H. 
Gans, former mayor of Hayes, and the older members of the 
bar, all of whom knew him well and esteemed him. 

At the time Mr. Morrow joined the "Sun" the founder 
and owner, A. S. Abell, made it a point to know personally 
every man connected with the news and editorial departments 
of the "Sun." The "Sun's" reputation was built on accuracy, 
attention to detail, conciseness and impartiality, and these he 
would discuss with the men frequently, pointing out to a 
writer just where he thought an article had fallen short of 
what he conceived such an article should be, and he had no 
patience with mistakes in names. It was that kind of train- 
ing Mr. Morrow received practically at the beginning of his 
career, and to the last day he remained at the office of the 
"Sun" he remained faithful to it. As a reporter, as telegraph 
editor, night editor, and assistant city editor, with the duty 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 181 

of editing local "copy" and preparing it for the printers, his 
constant striving was for accuracy and conciseness. His long 
training seemed' to have given him a sixth sense for the de- 
tection of errors in copy that passed through his hands. When 
an error in name or fact was suspected he invariably looked 
it up, and then with his kindly, friendly manner that left no 
sting of reproof would call the attention of the writer to his 
error in order that he might not repeat it. Scores of men 
that he trained in this way passed out of the "Sun" office to 
positions in all parts of the United States, and then prac- 
ticed the habits of accuracy and fidelity he had impressed 
upon them. 

He was not an unsympathetic task-master, no man being 
quicker to recognize merit in a story than he. The reporters 
whose work it was his business to edit felt the warmest friend- 
ship for him, and among the younger men in the office he was 
known as "Uncle George." In later years his hair turned 
a silvery white, although he was not an old man, and his 
standing form was as erect as it had ever been. He was the 
friend of every man who was in earnest, and no one was so 
well pleased with the success of advancement of the younger 
men or so willing to call general attention to a particularly 
good piece of work. Dissipation on the part of one of his 
boys always grieved him, and in a manner devoid of offense 
he took advantage of the first opportunity to point out to the 
young man where such a course would invariably lead. His 
influence was strong for good in the "Sun" office, and the 
idea did not prevail there that dissipation was a part of the 
curriculum, but on the contrary that such a course would 
utterly ruin a newspaper career. 

Mr. Morrow was a serious, thoughtful, moral and up- 
right man, genial in manner and with a keen sense of humor. 
He had no vices, coarse jokes offended him, and he never 



182 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

could tolerate humiliation or hardship placed upon any human 
being for the sport of others. The hardships of children par- 
ticularly grieved his tender heart, and in all things he was 
a gentleman of the highest type, kindly, courteous and unas- 
suming, an honor to his profession. There were many older 
residents of Baltimore who had known him from youth and 
followed his rise with gratification. His knowledge of Balti- 
more and its history during more than a quarter of a century 
of residence was wonderfully interesting and authentic, while 
his memory for names was remarkable. For many years he 
was a member of St. Peter's Protestant Episcopal Church. 
He had the personal friendship and respect of every man 
who had been in control of the "Sun" from founder down 
to the present owners, and until stricken with his last illness 
was rarely away from the office. 

Mr. Morrow married, January 4, 1882, Amanda C, 
daughter of Lewis A. and Mary Ann (Burdick) Hovvser, 
of Washington, D. C, her mother, a daughter of Henry and 
Lydia (Hoadley) Burdick, who were married about 1843, 
Henry Burdick, a soldier of the War of 18 12. Henry and 
Lydia Burdick had eight children: Caroline, married Mat- 
thias Jeffers; Cornelia, married John Murphy McCreary, 
of Cincinnati; Elizabeth, married (first) Mr. Newton, (sec- 
ond) William Gordon, of Virginia; Mary Ann, married 
Lewis A. Howser; Lydia Amanda, married George R. Cin- 
namond; Virginia, married Abner L. Ross, of Lebanon, Ohio; 
William Henry, unmarried; Maria Louise, married Wil- 
liam Eickelburger. Lewis A. and Mary Ann (Burdick) 
Howser had children: Lydia; Virginia, married Louis R. 
McClure, of Baltimore; Lewis A., married Julia V. Keller; 
Emily Louisa, died unmarried; Mary Cunningham, married 
John M. McCreary, and had two children; Lewis Howser, 
and Emma Ross McCreary, married Albert Romosher, nnd 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 183 

has one child, Gertrude Ross; Amanda C, married George 
Morrow, and has children: Mary Burdick, married H. 
Evans Smith, of Baltimore; Gertrude Hovvser, married Peter 
Corbin Chambliss, and has a son, Peter W. ; Kathry Allen, 
who, with her widowed mother, resides at the family home, 
No. 2434 Madison avenue, Baltimore. 

The following article, which appeared in the editorial 
columns of the Baltimore "Sun, 1 ' is a testimonial of the 
esteem with which Mr. Morrow was held by the paper of 
whose editorial staff he was so long a member: 

A FAITHFUL SERVANT 

The highest commendation given in the New Testament is the com- 
mendation bestowed on the good and faithful servant. Conscientious fidelity 
to duty, loyalty to the trust committed and the task assigned is still, with 
all our uplift, too rare a virtue to go unmarked and unpraised. 

An unchanging and unostentatious example of this noble virtue of 
fidelity was contained in the quiet, steadfast, straightforward life of George 
Morrow, a member of the "Sun's" staff for more than a generation, who 
completed life's assignment yesterday. He Was one of the few members 
of the "Sun's" present staff whose connection with the paper extended back 
to the life of its founder, Mr. A. S. Abell, and his passing breaks one of 
the few links with that period. Trained in that early school, he retained 
its virtues while keeping pace with the progressive ideas and methods of 
the present. He regarded the "Sun" as an institution, and was as loyal 
to its service as the soldier to the flag of his country. An honorable and 
upright gentleman, duty and fidelity were the golden words in the lexicon 
of his life. 

When we can "leave our brother sleeping" the sleep of the just with 
the supreme praise of the Supreme Teacher of the centuries as his epitaph 
and eulogy, our regret at his passing is mingled with just pride in his fine 
and manly record. May we all deserve one which means as much. 




CHARLES CHRISTOPHER HOMER 

"CVA.R from the scene of his own birth and successful life, 
but near the birthplace of his parents in Germany, Mr. 
Homer drew his latest breath and closed a long career of 
honor and usefulness that firmly fixed his name among the 
great financiers of Baltimore, his native city. 

The business world knew him as a wise and upright 
banker, his fellowmen as a public-spirited citizen foremost 
in advancing any enterprise which promised a bigger, better 
Baltimore, but to his friends he was the frank, genial gentle- 
man, holding sacred the ties of home and friendship, delight- 
ing to serve those near and dear to him. He was the man 
of culture in business, the student of the problems of his 
business, widely informed and grounded in its laws and 
equally so on all economic questions bearing any relation to 
national finance or the public welfare. He was not a dreamer 
or an idealist, but from his study and his experience chose those 
things which were sound, practical and proven. Thus ever 
keeping his feet on the solid rock, he became a recognized 
force in the financial world, his opinions, views and ideas 
being sound, carried weight when presented to those with 
whom he discussed public problems, before congressional 
committees or before monetary conventions. 

He bore the crucial test of success nobly, and ever pre- 
served the charm of his winning personality and bore all his 
varied responsibilities with modest dignity, fidelity and honor, 
winning public esteem to an unusual degree. He was taken 
away in the full prime of his splendid manhood and intel- 
lectual strength, his death hastened by the mobilization 
preparations going on in Germany at the outbreak of the 
present European War. He had sailed for Europe on July 
8, 1914, to benefit his wife's health, and the events and unusual 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 185 

strain of the next two months brought on a nervous break- 
down, from which he did not recover. He was a son of Chris- 
topher and Dora (Malo) Homer, both of German birth, who, 
in early youth, came to the United States. Christopher Homer 
became a successful business man of Baltimore and to pos- 
terity left an honored name. 

Charles Christopher Homer was born in Baltimore, 
Maryland, November i, 1847, died in Bremen, Germany, 
September 13, 1914. He was educated in Baltimore private 
schools and the University of Georgetown, whence he was 
graduated A.B., class of 1867, later receiving from his alma 
mater the Master's degree. He began his business career as 
a glass and paint salesman, changing at the end of one year 
to a line of hardware. He soon abandoned that line also 
and established the provision house of Foss & Homer. That 
house continued in business until 1880, when it dissolved, Mr. 
Homer from that time devoting himself entirely to finance. 
He had been elected a director of the Second National Bank 
in 1878, and during the two years he continued in business 
after his election he made a deep study of national finance 
and banking, thus when later he was called to official rela- 
tion with the bank it was not a tyro called, but a man of prac- 
tical knowledge well grounded in the principles and practice 
of the business he was to administer. In 1886 he was elected 
vice-president of the Second National Bank. He remained 
the executive head of that institution for twenty-five years, 
a period of great growth and expansion for both institution 
and executive. 

He was a commanding figure in his native city's financial 
affairs, and his wisdom as an executive was sought by other 
institutions. He was vice-president of the Savings Bank of 
Baltimore at the time of his death; an ex-vice-president of 
the Safe Deposit and Trust Company, and from 1897 until 



186 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

191 1 was president of the Baltimore Clearing House, re- 
elected annually, only his positive declination to again serve 
the Clearing House as president caused his retirement. He 
was chosen chairman of the Baltimore committee that drafted 
a plan for the "Creation of a Safe and Elastic Currency," 
known as the Baltimore plan, a plan which was unanimously 
endorsed by the association. With this endorsement he ap- 
peared on December 12, 1894, before the Congressional Com- 
mittee on Banking and Currency and made the final argu- 
ment in favor of its adoption by Congress. He was an active 
member of the Baltimore Board of Trade and a delegate rep- 
resenting the board at the monetary convention held at In- 
dianapolis, January 25, 1898. 

During the "free silver" agitation of 1896, Mr. Homer, 
as president of the Second National Bank, voiced the senti- 
ment of that institution and so sound and weighty were his 
opinions and so highly was he regarded as an authority on 
national financial policy that the substance of the sentiment 
was incorporated in the first act of the newly-formed Mary- 
lang Bankers Association as follows: "Resolved, That we are 
unalterably opposed to the free coinage of silver and to every 
debasement of our currency in whatsoever form it may be 
presented ; that we firmly and honestly believe that the true 
interest of our country will be best served by its rigid ad- 
herence to the gold standard of value, the continuance of which 
will not only preserve its financial integrity and the future 
welfare of its citizens, from the wage earner to the capitalist, 
but will insure through the prompt restoration of confidence, 
that rapid development of its resources which will eventually 
place it among the first nations of the earth." 

With the modesty of a truly great man, he bore himself 
when at the height of success with the same frank, genial 
kindliness of manner as when striving for his first business 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 187 

success as a merchant. His course was marked by quiet 
dignity, fidelity to his trusts, and honorable performance of 
every duty. He did not strive for the world's applause, but 
won it from those who opposed his views as well as from his 
friends. His business responsibilities were heavy, but he 
never wavered in his public-spirited loyalty to the interests 
of his native city and in a larger way to his State and Nation. 
He served as a trustee of the Sheppard and Enoch Pratt 
Hospital, and was a member of the Maryland Historical 
Society. He abjured partisanship in politics, but supported 
the men who stood for the measures and principles of govern- 
ment he believed in, and were themselves best fitted to fill 
the office sought. His hand was ever extended to relieve 
the needy, but in his benevolence, as in his every deed, he was 
so unostentatious and gave so quietly that publicity was 
avoided and many of his good deeds remain unknown. He 
loved his home, and with his wife, a woman of attractive 
personality, dispensed an abundant and charming hospitality. 
He looked on life from a broad point of view, recognized 
and appreciated the good in others and viewed with sym- 
pathy the frailties of human nature. His friends were legion, 
and it is not a forced sentiment that "none knew him but to 
love him. 11 

Mr. Homer married, March 4, 1869, Frances M. Holt- 
haus, born in Baltimore, September 7, 1847, daughter of 
Francis Theodore and Maria E. Holthaus, both born near 
Osnabruck, Hanover, Prussia, but married in Baltimore, both 
coming to that city in youth. In 1914, Mrs. Homer being 
in poor health, the devoted couple journeyed abroad and at 
Bad-Beynhausen, Germany, spent the weeks intervening 
between their arrival and the outbreak of hostilities between 
the European nations. The conditions were trying to an 
American and the warlike preparations seriously affected Mr. 



188 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Homer. He made his way to Bremen, intending to take pas- 
sage home, and there was completely prostrated and never 
rallied. Five children were born to Charles C. and Frances 
M. Homer, four sons, and a daughter who died in infancy. 
The sons, eminent in finance, law, medicine and commerce, 
are factors in the life of their native city and worthy succes- 
sors in the third generation of a name never to be forgotten 
in Baltimore annals. The sons are: Charles Christopher (2), 
who was his father's close business associate, vice-president of 
the Second National Bank and his successor; Francis Theo- 
dore, member of the law firm of Willis & Homer; Henry 
Louis, resident physician at Union Protestant Infirmary; 
Robert Baldwin, president of the R. B. Homer Lumber Com- 
pany. 





S02f/ /fc ($C?^^ / 



DOUGLAS H. THOMAS, JR. 

OINCE the invention of order in Architecture by the 
Greeks, to whom the world owes all that is great, judicious 
and distinct in. the architectural orders, the ability to follow 
the laws of those orders and the style of the different periods 
has been the foundation upon which to base the claim to be 
designated an "architect." But in addition to that ability, 
there frequently have arisen men of creative genius who have 
made the profession an art and who, given limit of cost, loca- 
tion, purpose, material and surroundings, would design 
buildings which, correct in architectural detail, so fitted the 
location in which it was placed, so harmonized with its sur- 
roundings, was so well adapted to the purpose intended and 
so agreed in its style with the material of which it was built, 
as to stamp its creator not only as an architect, but as an artist 
as well. To this class belonged Douglas H. Thomas, Jr., of 
Baltimore. While as a member of the firm, Parker, Thomas 
& Rice, his personal ability was merged with that of his as- 
sociates, the touch of his personal genius is seen in many of 
the fine public and business buildings designed by the firm in 
Baltimore and elsewhere. He possessed that creative genius 
in a high degree and will ever rank among the foremost 
architects of his day. 

Perhaps the personal quality of his work is best seen 
in the buildings at Johns Hopkins University, his firm being 
the winners of the first open competition for the general de- 
velopment of Homewood. Himself an alumnus of the Uni- 
versity, he devoted himself personally to the designing of the 
new buildings and unsparingly gave of his talent and of his 
genius to a scheme of buildings which would be in keeping 
with the great fame of the University. To this labor of love 
as well as of professional obligation, he brought all his art, 



190 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

all his skill, his trained taste, and from every viewpoint 
labored to produce an artistic, practical and harmonious 
whole. The complete Academic or Gilman Building in its 
dignity and effectiveness stands as a monument to his taste 
and appreciation of what a University building should be. 

Douglas H. Thomas, Jr., son of Douglas H. Thomas, 
Sr., president of the Merchants-Mechanics Bank of Baltimore, 
and his wife, Alice Lee (Whitridge) Thomas, was born in 
Baltimore, in March, 1872, died there, the victim of an auto- 
mobile accident, June n, 191 5. He attended private schools 
until sixteen years of age, then went abroad and for one year 
was a student at the University of Lausanne, Switzerland. 

After his return from Lausanne, he entered Johns Hop- 
kins University whence he was graduated with the customary 
degree, class of 1893. ^ e continued his studies at the Massa- 
chusetts School of Technology, Boston, specializing in the 
study of architecture, now a profession in which a follower 
must also possess the knowledge of a constructive engineer. 
After graduation from the Institute of Technology he again 
went to Europe, studied at the Ecole Des Beaux Arts, and 
afterwards to Greece, the fountain-head and inspiration of 
architectural art, completing his studies. He then returned to 
Baltimore and in partnership with J. Harleston Parker began 
a brilliant career as an architect which only terminated with 
his death. Parker & Thomas maintained offices in Baltimore 
and Boston, and as the years progressed took a leading posi- 
tion among the foremost architects of the United States. Later 
Arthur Wallace Rice was admitted to a partnership, the firm 
then becoming Parker, Thomas & Rice. 

Monuments to the skill, ability and high standing of the 
firm may be seen in different States and cities, but in Balti- 
more and vicinity they exist on every hand. Among the more 
notable are the "Belvedere Hotel" (Baltimore's largest and 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 19! 

most beautiful hostelry), Baltimore & Ohio building, 
Gilman County School, the Bank building of Alexander & 
Sons, Savings Bank of Baltimore, Baltimore Trust Company 
building, Metropolitan Savings Bank, and The New State 
Normal School at Tovvson, Maryland. They also designed 
several buildings for Harvard University, Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, and for Johns Hopkins University, at Homevvood. 
They designed and erected government buildings and Virginia 
State building at Jamestown Celebration, and all buildings 
at Jamestown, except the buildings of the separate States. 

Mr. Thomas personally took a deep interest in the de- 
velopment of Homewood, designing and erecting the 
Academic and the Administration buildings. His last work, 
left unfinished, was the new building to be erected by the 
Consolidated Gas and Electric Light and Power Company, 
on Lexington street, Baltimore. 

In speaking of his work at Homewood, an official of 
the university said: "The death of Douglas H. Thomas is 
a very great loss to Johns Hopkins University. Himself an 
alumnus of the institution, he has, since 1906, given ungrudg- 
ingly of his talents and energy to the scheme of Homewood's 
general development, having made it a labor of love rather 
than a mere professional obligation. The Academic build- 
ing, in its great dignity and effectiveness, is a monument to 
his taste and appreciation of what a University building should 
be. When the power house plan was completed and bids for 
its construction were in, he saw a way to improve its 
appearance and reduce its cost, not heeding the fact that it 
would also reduce his commission. He served the University 
with an unselfish devotion and gave to his alma mater the 
best of himself and of his talents. His death is not only an 
official loss but a personal one to all of us." 

Mr. Thomas was president of the Maryland Institute of 



192 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



Architects, and a member of other professional and scientific 
societies. He possessed an ease and grace of manner, was 
quiet, courteous and friendly, was very popular in Baltimore, 
where he had a host of friends. His clubs were the Mary- 
land, Baltimore, Merchants and Eldridge Kennels. 

He married, at the Church of the Advent (Episcopal), 
Boston, in 1 90 1, Elizabeth Lyman Chadwick, who died very 
suddenly in Biarritz, France, in 191 2, daughter of Dr. J. R. 
Chadwick, of Boston, Massachusetts, leaving four daughters: 
Catherine, Rosamond, Alie and Elizabeth. 




JOHN PRENTISS POE 

HPHE Poe family has long been identified with Maryland, 
and has contributed many distinguished citizens to that 
commonwealth. Burke's "Landed Gentry" gives an extended 
account of the ancestry of this family, and shows that Dr. 
Poe, physician to Queen Elizabeth, who came from Donegal, 
was a member thereof. David Poe, of Dring, Ireland, died 
in 1742. He was a son of John Poe, for whom he named a 
son. This son, John Poe, grandson of John Poe, married, in 
September, 1741, Jane McBride, of Ballymoney, County 
Antrim, sister of that McBride who was Admiral of the Blue 
and a member of Parliament for Plymouth in 1785. 

In 1743 John Poe and his wife set out for America, and 
arrived at New Castle, Delaware, accompanied by two sons, 
David and George. They located first in Lancaster county, 
Pennsylvania, and afterwards removed to Cecil county, Mary- 
land, later to Baltimore, where John Poe died in 1756. The 
first city directory of Baltimore, published in 1796, contains 
the name of Jane Poe, widow, German street, between 
Harvard and Hanover. This property was owned by the 
family. She died July 17, 1802, aged ninety-six, and is buried 
in Westminster Churchyard, lot 129. Their eldest son, David 
Poe, married Elizabeth Cairnes, and they were the parents 
of David Poe, who married Elizabeth Arnold. Edgar Allan 
Poe, the poet, was born of this marriage, in Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, January 19, 1809. 

George Poe, second son of John and Jane (McBride) 
Poe, was born in Ireland, and was brought by his parents to 
America when only two months old. The family afterward re- 
moved to Cecil county, Maryland, where, about 1773, George 
Poe married Catherine Dawson. Soon after their marriage 
they moved to Baltimore and lived first on Thomas street, 

MD 13 



194 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Fells Point, west of Broadway, as it is now, and afterward 
on their own property, No. 183 Market street. This lot 
is now on the south side of Baltimore street, about three doors 
east of Hanover street. He was a private in Captain Case's 
company, on duty, 1775-76. David Poe, his brother, was a 
sergeant, later in Captain McClellan's company. David Poe 
was lieutenant; George Poe, sergeant, and William Poe, 
private. On June n, 1776, George Poe was commissioned 
captain in the Thirty-fourth Battalion, militia of Frederick 
county. George Poe died at the home of his son, Jacob Poe, 
at Elmwood, Frederick county, August 20, 1823, aged about 
eighty-two years, and was buried in the burying ground of 
the Brick Meeting House, near Walkersville, same county. 
The loss of the family Bible by fire makes it impossible to 
give the exact date of his birth. Catherine (Dawson) Poe, 
his wife, was born in Cecil county, Maryland, May 13, 1742, 
and died at the home of her son Jacob, which was then at 
Havre de Grace, Maryland, August, 1806, and was buried in 
lot No. 129, Westminster Churchyard, Baltimore. Children: 
Jacob, mentioned below; George, born November 14, 1778, 
died July 21, 1864; Harriet, March 28, 1785, died January 6 
1 8 16; Stephen, died in infancy. 

Jacob Poe, eldest child of George and Catherine (Daw- 
son) Poe, was born October 1 1, 1775, on Thomas street, Balti- 
more. As a young man he was employed by a merchant, and 
made several voyages as supercargo; afterward he became a 
farmer, first near Havre de Grace, and in 1817 at Elmwood, 
Frederick county. He married, in Baltimore, January 4, 
1803, Bridget Amelia Fitzgerald Kennedy, daughter of John 
and Amelia (Fitzgerald) Kennedy, born June 10, 1775, in 
County Tipperary, Ireland. Her father sailed from Dublin 
in the ship "Neptune," April 30, 1784, and landed at Balti- 
more, May 30, following. Her mother was Amelia, daughter 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 195 

of George Fitzgerald, counselor at law. She died at Salis- 
bury, Eastern Shore, Maryland, 1790. John Kennedy died 
at St. Croix, West Indies, while on a visit to his brother James. 
Jacob Poe died at the home of his son, Neilson Poe, Lex- 
ington street, Baltimore, July 25, i860, aged eighty-five years. 
He was buried at the Brick Meeting House, near Walkers- 
ville. Bridget A. F. (Kennedy) Poe died December 25, 1844, 
at her home, Elmwood, Frederick county, and was buried in 
the Brick Meeting House Churchyard. Children, first six 
born in Baltimore: George, November 10, 1803, died Feb- 
ruary 6, 1804; John, March 4, 1805, died September 12, 1807; 
George, March 20, 1807, died January 10, 1879; Amelia and 
Neilson (twins), August 11, 1809, former married Dr. 
Charles Goldsborough, and died November 2, 1883; James 
Mosher, January 3, 18 12, died October, 1885; Harriet Clemm, 
August 6, 1 8 17, in Frederick county, Maryland, died Decem- 
ber 1, 1878. 

Neilson Poe, son of Jacob and Bridget A. F. (Kennedy) 
Poe, was born August 1 1, 1809, in Baltimore, and in early life 
was a student at law in the office of William Gwynn, a noted 
counselor and editor of the "Federal Gazette." Afterward 
he was assistant editor, then editor and owner of the Fred- 
erick "Examiner, 1 ' and on his return to Baltimore, in 1835, 
became editor and proprietor of the Baltimore "Chronicle." 
He was admitted to the bar before attaining his majority, and 
practiced in Baltimore until 1878, when, at the request of 
Governor Carroll, he accepted the chief judgeship of the 
Orphan's Court, which place he filled until shortly before 
his death, January, 1884. He was a constant contributor to 
many journals, and was distinguished by the beauty of his 
style and elegance of his diction. He married at Elmwood, 
November 30, 1831, Josephine Emily Clemm, daughter of 
William, Jr., and Harriet (Poe) Clemm, born August 13, 



196 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



1808, at Mount Prospect, Baltimore county, the home of her 
grandfather, Colonel William Clemm. She died January 
13, 1889. Children: Amelia, born October 1, 1832, in Fred- 
erick county; Neilson, September 6, 1834, in Frederick 
county, married, November 7, 1867, Alice Henrietta Morris; 
John Prentiss, mentioned below; Josephine Clemm, March 
10, 1838, in Baltimore, married, April 10, i860, George Gib- 
son Casey; Harriet Clara, July 4, 1840, in Frederick county, 
died May 1, 1846; William Clemm, December 4, 1843, in 
Frederick county, married, October 13, 1868, Eleanora 
Hennen Robertson, died January 20, 1906; Kennedy, May 3, 
1845, died February 26, 1846; Robert M., January 31, 1847, 
in Baltimore, married, November 27, 1872, Sarah Graham 
Wingate, died April 10, 1884; Charles, August 4, 1851, in 
Baltimore, married, October 10, 1877, Ellen E. Conway. 

The character and career of John Prentiss Poe are most 
beautifully and aptly described in a memorial address deliv- 
ered by Honorable Henry D. Harlan, November 11, 1909, 
at the University of Maryland, as follows: 

John Prentiss Poe was born August 22, 1836, in Baltimore. He grew 
up under happy influences, having before his eyes a rare example of domestic 
felicity, refinement, culture and the many graces of Christian character. His 
first teacher was his accomplished mother. For a short while he was a 
pupil in the public schools of Baltimore, and at an early age entered the 
French and English Academy of Professor Boursaud. Later he attended 
St. Mary's College, and subsequently matriculated at Princeton College, 
from which he graduated with the class of 1854, being then in his eighteenth 
year. On the fiftieth anniversary of his graduation his Alma Mater con- 
ferred upon him the degree of Doctor of Laws. 

On his return from college, the young graduate secured a clerkship in 
a bank, and during this time read law under the supervision of his father. 
He was appointed librarian of the Law Library, where he had an excellent 
opportunity to pursue his studies and familarize himself with the literature 
of the law. He was admitted to the bar of Baltimore in the superior court 
on the twenty-first anniversary of his birth August 22, 1857 an d m Decern- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 197 

ber of that year was admitted to the court of appeals of Maryland, and to 
the supreme court of the United States in the succeeding January. In every 
department of the law he was equipped to serve his clients, and no one 
served them with greater fidelity. In their behalf no task was too great to 
undertake ; no amount of research too arduous ; no attention to details too 
exacting. He brought to the trial of their causes a mind richly stored with 
the learning of the profession ; a thorough acquaintance with the rules of 
practice and the technicalities of pleading; a capacity for clear and exact 
statement that was unexcelled ; a memory that was little short of marvellous, 
combined with reasoning powers of a high order, and a diction that was 
singularly pure and copious. He could speak in the convincing language 
of logic, or when the occasion required, employ the persuasive voice of 
eloquence. He could denounce fraud and wrong with telling effect, and 
uphold justice and right with overpowering force. His manners were graci- 
ous and winning. While maintaining the interests of his clients, he was 
fair to his opponents, courteous to his adversaries, deferential and respectful 
to the court. He was an adept in the art of cross-examining. Small wonder 
that he had many cases to try in the State and Federal courts. * * * 

Mr. Poe was a great master of our profession, but he was more than 
an eminent lawyer, he was the codifier of our whole body of statute law 
public general and public local, as well as of the ordinances of the City 
Council of Baltimore. He was the draftsman of many forms in legislation, 
and a legal author of note. His books have been of inestimable value to the 
profession. There is in our State no practitioner, even of the smallest 
pretentions, and no judge who does not keep his works on pleading and prac- 
tice at hand, and refer to them constantly. For many years he was one of 
the school commissioners of Baltimore City, a city counsellor, a member of 
various tax commissions, served in the State Senate, and was attorney-general 
of Maryland from 1891 to 1895. No record of his life, however brief, 
would be complete without reference to his well-known party fealty. He 
was a life-long Democrat, advocating the election of candidates of that 
party, and supporting its measures when many did not ; he believed in party 
government, and while he recognized the existence of public evils and the 
necessity for reform, he thought this could best be secured within the 
party lines, not from any personal motives for he gave his party more 
than he ever received from it but because he thought the supremacy of the 
party was for the interest of the State. In political contests he was a fre- 
quent and an effective public speaker, and as is not unusually the case, 



198 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

was at times the target of severe and much unjust denunciation. This he 
accepted with equanimity, and never did a public man bear so little resent 
ment. His connection with Maryland University is especially interesting. 
It was here that for forty years he did his great work as a teacher. The story 
of the Law School before he became associated with it is soon told. A 
Law Faculty was first constituted and annexed to this university in 1813. 
* * * No school of instruction in which lectures were given to students 
was opened until 1823. This ceased in 1836, and in 1869 the surviving 
members of the Law Faculty, Messrs. George W. Dobbin and John H. B. 
Latrobe, determined that the time had come to revive the School of Law. 
They selected Messrs. George William Brown, Bernard Carter, H. Clay 
Dallam and John Prentiss Poe to fill the existing vacancies in their faculty. 
The first course of instruction began on the first Monday in February, 
1870, with twenty students in attendance, and continued till the summer 
vacation. From the time of his election to the Law Faculty, Mr. Poe was 
the leading spirit in the reorganized Law School, carrying to the close of 
his life the great burden of the work. In the fall of 1870 he offered to 
give a course of lectures on Pleading and Practice at Law, and his offer 
was gladly accepted. His entire course of lectures upon the two branches 
assigned to him was delivered at night for a whole scholastic year, to a 
class sometimes as small as three, and never larger than seven, and without 
compensation. Mr. Poe had, however, entered upon the task convinced 
that the interest of his profession required the establishment and maintenance 
of a law school of high order in this State, and his enthusiasm was un- 
daunted. After many years of faithful work, always preserving the same 
courage and taking the same interest as at the beginning, he beheld the 
school grow, largely as the result of his own attractive personality, and his 
capacity as a lecturer and teacher, until it became recognized as one of the 
important institutions of learning in the commonwealth, both by the reason 
of the number of its graduates, and the influence it has exerted in raising 
the standard of legal education. Its graduates up to the present time number 
over thirteen hundred. All of these came under his teaching, and it may be 
justly said that no man in his generation has so deeply touched and moulded 
the life of the bar. He was the friend of the students, and ever ready to 
share with them his knowledge and experience, and in the concern with which 
he watched them enter upon their professional careers and the delight with 
which he welcomed their successes was exhibited that paternal solicitude 
which endeared him so strongly to the student body and to the alumni as 
a whole. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 199 

Mr. Poe was not content to be a good lecturer. He desired to im- 
part knowledge to his students in a permanent form. This led him first 
to print a syllabus of his lectures on Pleading and Practice. This was 
followed by the preparation of his comprehensive work on "Pleading and 
Practice in the Courts of Common Law." The first volume "Pleading" 
appeared in 1880, the second volume on "Practice" was published in 1882, 
and the fourth and last edition of this invaluable treatise appeared in 1896. 
Mr. Poe was made dean of the Law Faculty on the death of the venerable 
George W. Dobbin, in 1884. But his activities were not confined to the 
Law School. As a member of the Board of Regents, every department of 
the university engaged his attention. There was no movement for iff 
development that did not have his sympathy and co-operation. At the 
meetings of the board, of which he was long the secretary, his attendance 
could always be counted on. If there was work to be done he never avoided 
it. In all the years I have known him, I have never heard him urge the 
excuse that he was too busy to undertake a task that fell to his lot. He 
would sleep a few hours less and work a few hours more that was all. 
Fortunately, he had a strong constitution and his capacity for work was 
almost incredible. He was so ready and capable that it was natural to turn 
to him, and he would not only do what he was asked to do, but do it 
uncomplainingly and well. If legislation was required to add a new depart- 
ment, or to expand the chartered powers of the university, he was at hand 
to draw the necessary bill. If an orator was desired for a commencement 
occasion, who could so well conduct the necessary correspondence? His as- 
sociations with his colleagues were of the most delightful kind. Envy was 
absolutely foreign to his generous nature. He rejoiced in every honor which 
they won, and the meetings of a social character in which they participated 
in common were made memorable by his vivacity and general wit. 

Turning for a moment from his public to his private life, we find a 
devoted son, husband, father and brother, and a staunch friend. To work 
unsparingly of himself for those he loved was to him a pleasure. If I 
were asked to sum up the principal characteristics of his life I should say 
activity, industry, integrity, devotion to his family, devotion to his pro- 
fession, devotion to the Law School of this University, devotion to his party, 
cheerfulness of spirit and conscientious performance of duty in every station 
of life to which it pleased God to call him, were dominant. His was a 
long life. More than three score years and ten, and a full life lived 
nobly and in the fear of God. The end was not unfitting. He labored to 



200 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

the last. His step may not have been quite so quick, his heart action not quite 
so strong, but his eye was as bright, his smile as sweet, his presence as cheery, 
his hand-clasp as warm as ever when we last saw him, and he retained all 
his alertness, mental vigor and happy disposition. 

All the sons were graduates of Princeton, all dis- 
tinguished as football players, and all of the survivors now 
occupying prominent and successful positions in life. The 
third son, John Prentiss Poe, being possessed of a spirit of 
adventure, lost his life, September 25, 191 5, while fighting 
under the British colors at the battle of Loos. He was a 
gentleman, first and last, but could not settle down to the 
easy life of the metropolis. The force which enabled him 
to win many football games for Princeton led him wherever 
there was adventure to be had. He found this in the rough 
mining camps of the western frontier, in the snowy wilder- 
ness in Alaska, in the swamps of Cuba, and in the Philippine 
jungles; in torrid Nicaragua, and at last under the crimson 
banner of England, floating over the shrapnel-torn trenches 
"somewhere in France." Soon after graduating from col- 
lege he went to Nevada, where he soon joined the mounted 
police of the State. On one occasion he led the mounted 
police into a stronghold of desperate cattle thieves and cap- 
tured the gang at the point of a pistol. Men soon learned to 
know that he could be relied upon. While prospecting in 
the western gold fields he made a trip to the famous Death 
Valley, in New Mexico. Subsequently he became a member 
of the governmental expedition which surveyed the boundaries 
between Alaska and British Columbia. When war was de- 
clared between Spain and the United States, he returned to 
Baltimore, and enlisted in the Fifth Maryland Regiment. He 
then joined the Sixteenth Infantry Regiment, with which he 
went to the Philippines. In 1903 he enlisted in the Ken- 
tucky State militia, and was ordered to service in the moun- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 201 

tains. He enlisted in Marine Corps at headquarters, Wash- 
ington, D. C, December 24th, 1903. Was promoted same 
date to sergeant. Transferred to Marine Barracks, League 
Island, same date. Served in Panama until discharged at 
Washington, D. C, "upon settlement of accounts," February 
27th, 1904, as a sergeant with character "excellent." In the 
war between Honduras and Nicaragua in 1907, he was com- 
missioned a captain of infantry in the Honduras army, and 
gained special distinction at the siege of Amapal. In the fol- 
lowing year he participated in the filibustering expedition 
against Castro, the dictator of Venezuela. In September, 

1914, he sailed for England, and soon enlisted as a private 
in the heavy artillery. In June, 1915, he secured a transfer 
to the Black Watch, the famous Scottish Highlanders Regi- 
ment, which has been distinguished in battlefields throughout 
the world. In speaking of his death, Samuel McCoy, of the 
Philadelphia "Public Ledger" of November 14, 191 5, said: 
"In the report received from the British War Office, no de- 
tails of his death were given only the date, September 25, 

191 5. It is believed, however, from the terms of a letter writ- 
ten by a captain in the Black Watch, that his death came as 
the Black Watch charged the German lines with the fury 
of demons, and with the thrilling music of the bagpipes lead- 
ing them on to glory. But all the Princeton men who knew 
Johnny know that he must have died as he lived a man to 
whom gentleness was a creed and yet one to whom the call 
to heroic deeds sounded as compelling as it did to the knight- 
errants of old. So he must have died, fearless as he was on 
the football field, merry as he was in his last words : 'I trust I 
shall be on hand at the next round-up to tell you how the 
play came up. I looks toward you all and also bows. I also 
hopes I catches your eye?' " 



JOHN S. ENSOR 

THE late John S. Ensor, lawyer and philanthropist, was 
was a man whose universal good will and benevolence 
toward all mankind were evinced during his entire lifetime. 
By that very element in his character was he brought to meet 
his death, October 27, 1915. While on his way from Arling- 
ton, Maryland, to Govans, to attend a political mass meeting 
at which he was to be the principal speaker, an accident oc- 
curred in which a man was injured, and while hurrying to 
secure aid for him, Mr. Ensor was struck and killed by a 
trolley car, and thus was ended a career of activity and use- 
fulness. 

John S. Ensor was born May 28, 1868, at Towson, and 
received his early education in the public school of his native 
place, where his early life was passed. He was enthusiastic 
and active in all out-door sport and recreation. He graduated 
from Lafayette College, Easton, Pennsylvania, as honor man 
and orator of his class, in 1888, and was graduated at the 
Maryland University Law School in 1890. At the age of 
twenty-two he engaged in the practice of law in Baltimore, 
and applied himself with such diligence and ability that he 
was appointed assistant United States district attorney at 
Baltimore at the age of twenty-three. He entered upon the 
duties of this position with enthusiasm, and conducted impor- 
tant trials in both the lower and appellate federal courts. He 
was ever a student and continually strived to keep in touch 
with everything that pertained to his profession, and in an 
active practice of twenty-five years built up a very thriving 
business and was popular with members of the bar and the 
courts. His cases were always tried with ability and courtesy, 
and he enjoyed the sincere esteem of all who were privileged 
to know him. At a very early period he began to manifest 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 203 

an interest in the public welfare and especially in the promo- 
tion of the interest of future citizens in the person of the 
boys about him. He was very much interested in the Boy 
Scouts, for some time had been a scoutmaster and was one 
of the most energetic and enthusiastic in this movement. It 
was very natural that he should be called to the public service, 
for he was ever the friend of the people, and the unrelenting 
foe of corruption in public life. In 1895 ne was nominated 
by the Baltimore County Republicans for State's attorney, in 
a convention which was torn by factional troubles. He sur- 
mounted all difficulties and received a handsome majority, 
being the first Republican to be elected as State's attorney 
since the Civil War. It is said his service as prosecuting 
officer was vigorous, and his work and methods won him many 
friends. After retiring from the office of State's attorney, 
Mr. Ensor continued to manifest an interest in public affairs 
and to labor for the promotion of good government. He had 
been particularly earnest in the advocacy of good roads, and 
was an earnest worker in behalf of neighborhood improvement 
associations. He was one of the leaders in the fight against 
the Mount Washington sewerage deal, which has been a 
scandal in the political history of his home city. As a trustee 
of Mount Washington Presbyterian Church he was active in 
promoting the moral works of that body. His broad mind 
and generous spirit were demonstrated in his affiliation with 
numerous prilanthropic and benevolent orders, including the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Junior Order of 
United Mechanics, the Masonic Fraternity, and the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, of which organiza- 
tions he was an active worker. He was for many years a 
member of the Baltimore Country Club and the Mount Wash- 
ington Club. In all these organizations he took a leading posi- 
tion and filled various important official stations. His breadth 



204 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



and fairness are indicated by his advocacy of non-partisan 
judicial election, and with other broad-minded Republicans 
he urged the support of Judges Burke and Duncan, who were 
Democratic nominees. While he was earnest and faithful in 
support of his principles, he believed in good men and good 
government before partisan advantage. In the fall of 191 5 
he was the nominee of his district for State Senator, and his 
fellow candidates adopted the following resolutions of respect 
and condolence: 

Whereas, an Allwise but to a mysterious Providence has permitted 
death to invade our county and to remove from our midst John S. Ensor, 
one of its most highly respected citizens, 

Resolved, Therefore, by his surviving colleagues of the Republican 
county ticket that they mourn the loss of him whose noble qualities of mind 
and heart have endeared him to his fellow men. 

Resolved, That in his death the State has sustained the loss of one 
of its most loyal and devoted sons; and that his fidelity to principle and 
ideal standard of citizenship should be an inspiration to those who live after 
him. 

A newspaper said of him: 

Mr. Ensor's fight for the taxpayers against the Mount Washington 
sewerage deal, and his splendid campaign for the judgeship in the fall of 
1914, in which he carried this formerly strongly Democratic county and was 
only defeated by a few votes excess majority for his opponent in Hartford 
county, are all well-known and recent matters. He was a foremost advocate 
of good roads and had much to do with the movement which has put thi? 
county so far to the front in this line. He was a patriot to the core, loving 
the country, its flag and all its traditions. He was a devoted friend to boys 
and was earnest in all efforts to make them better and more useful citizens, 
being prominent in the Boy Scouts' activities. 

The character of Mr. Ensor is aptly and beautifully ex- 
pressed in the following account from "The Sun" of Balti- 
more: 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 205 



A high tribute was paid yesterday to the memory of the late John S. 
Ensor by the judges of the Circuit Court for Baltimore county and the 
members of the bar at a memorial meeting in the courtroom at Towson. 
Resolutions of respect as prepared by a committee composed of States's 
Attorney George Hartman, William M. Lawrence and T. Scott Offutt were 
read by Mr. Hartman and ordered spread on the minutes of the court and 
a copy sent to the family. Judges N. Charles Burke, Frank I. Duncan and 
Allan McClane were on the bench. After the addresses of the members of the 
bar, Judge Burke, speaking for the court, said in part: "The court fully 
concurs in what has been so well and justly said of Mr. Ensor in the reso- 
lutions read and in the remarks of gentlemen of the bar. His death was 
so pathetic, so inexpressibly sad as to touch the hearts of the whole people 
of the county. It is fitting that his professional brethren, who stood in close 
relationship and association with him, should meet in this room which 
witnessed his most arduous labors, the scene of his triumphs and disap- 
pointments, to pay a just and affectionate tribute to his memory. Mr. 
Ensor was not a great or profound lawyer, but he was more than a mere 
lawyer. He had a combination of qualities which attracted and attached to 
him a vast number of his fellow citizens. His genial nature, his kindliness 
and warm-heartedness endeared him to the people generally and secured for 
him a great personal popularity. In his private life he was clean, upright 
and above reproach and stood for the best things of life; his professional 
career was honorable, and characterized by fidelity to all the interests com- 
mitted to his charge. His impulses were generous, and in the discharge of 
his public and private responsibilties he was actuated by high motives." 
The United States Court at Baltimore also adjourned in respect to the 
memory of Mr. Ensor, who was formerly assistant district attorney. 

Following are newspaper editorial tributes to Mr. Ensor: 

The tragic and untimely death of Mr. Ensor, Republican candidate for 
the State Senate, in the very prime of vigorous manhood has shocked and 
saddened the people of this county. For years Mr. Ensor had been a part of 
its public life, widely known to the people for his interest in their civic and 
social welfare. Notwithstanding the call of his profession and the many 
demands of a full and active life, he always found time for earnest and 
useful endeavor in matters relating to the welfare and social betterment of 
his fellows. 

Devotedly attached to children, he took a prominent place in the Boy 



206 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Scout movement. He believed it had an effective influence for training 
boys to be truthful, manly, self-reliant and obedient, and his death will 
be mourned by none more deeply than by his little friends the boys. 

His energy and simple manliness, his buoyant and cheery good nature 
and his ready and sincere sympathy endeared him to thousands of friends who 
will long remember and long miss the bright, ringing and infectious laughter 
which was one of the many characteristics of "Johnny" Ensor. 

The following beautiful tribute is extrated from an 
article entitled "Here Was a Man": 

As he lived, so he died. Throughout his life he had striven for the 
welfare of mankind, with a big heart overflowing with kindness and hands 
and feet active to carry out the promptings of his helpful nature. At the 
moment when he was stricken he was in the act of seeking to administer 
aid to a fellow being, regardless of the fact that his own important affairs 
were waiting. All who knew him deplore what seems to us his untimely 
removal from among us, but although the future held bright promise of high 
honor and even increased usefulness for him, his career could not have been 
more consistently closed had he lived for a century. We will realize this 
more fully after the fresh poignancy of our shock and grief has passed. 

Mr. Ensor married Irma Risley, of Philadelphia, and 
left besides his widow, two young sons, John S., Jr., and 
Risley. 




ROBERT HENRY SMITH 

pOR forty-seven years an honored member of the Balti- 
more bar, and recognized as the most eminent exponent 
of Admiralty law connected with that bar, it is not as the 
learned lawyer, nor the financier, that he was best known 
to thousands of Baltimorans, but as the superintendent of 
the Sunday school of the Second Presbyterian Church for 
forty-seven years, and as an elder of that church for nearly 
half a century. At a memorial meeting of the bench and bar, 
held in his honor, United States District Attorney Samuel 
K. Dennis, in presenting the memorial resolution, character- 
ized Mr. Smith as a soldier, a teacher and lawyer, whose life 
was blameless, who had "less original sin than any of us and 
more charity than most of us." "His most lasting success," 
said Mr. Dennis, "was outside the law and lay in the good 
he did." Former Judge Alfred S. Niles, once a law student 
in Mr. Smith's office, said that on one occasion Mr. Smith 
said to him: "If I had to choose between my practice and 
my work in church and Sunday school, I should not hesitate 
an instant to give up my practice." Said Daniel H. Hayne in 
part: "Mr. Smith's precept and example were constant in- 
centives toward the best efforts of those with whom he came 
in contact and still survives him, an active force for good." 

Mr. Smith's ancestry on both sides was Scotch-Irish 
Presbyterians from the north of Ireland, who settled in York 
county, Pennsylvania, some of them coming in time to engage 
in the second war with Great Britain, 1812-14. He was a son 
of Robert and Sarah (Ross) Smith of Chanceford, York 
county, Pennsylvania. His father was a farmer and merchant, 
deeply interested in public affairs, and a loyal Presbyterian. 
Of his early life at home Mr. Smith once said: "Though 
raised on the Shorter Catechism my early life was not made 
irksome, but most happy." 



208 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Robert Henry Smith was born at the homestead in Lower 
Chanceford township, York county, Pennsylvania, December 
i, 1845, ana< seventy-two years later, on October 9, 191 7, died 
in the house in which he was born. His brother, Samuel, 
resides in the old homestead, and Robert H. was there con- 
valescing after a severe illness at his Baltimore home, No. 
1230 North Calvert street. He grew to manhood at the home 
farm, attended good schools, and remained at home under 
the influence of a good mother, his whole after-life being a 
tribute to that strong beneficial influence. He attended public 
schools until the age of fourteen, then attended York Academy 
until his enlistment in July, 1864, in the 194th Regiment, 
Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, serving one hundred days. 
After receiving an honorable discharge he returned home, 
entered Lafayette College, Easton, Pennsylvania, there con- 
tinuing until graduated A.B., class of 1867, A.M., 1870. In 
the winter of 1862 he taught a term in the public schools and 
after graduation he taught one year in York Academy, al- 
though his intention all through his college years had been to 
prepare for the medical profession. But he met with little 
encouragement from his friends, and some opposition, and 
during the year at York Academy, he decided to study law. 
In 1868 he began to study law in Baltimore, Maryland. Two 
years later he was admitted to the bar, September, 1870, and 
at once began practice in that city. He was very ambitious, 
and in selecting a branch of the profession, in which to spe- 
cialize, chose Admiralty law, a branch of the profession in 
which he became famous. He acquired a wide and accurate 
knowledge of Admiralty law, served a very large clientele of 
marine merchants and shipowners, and was a recognized 
authority. His genial, affable manner, uprightness and in- 
tegrity, were equally important factors in his success; men 
liking and respecting him for his virtues as well as for his 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 209 

professional skill and ability. Said his friend, Mayor 
Randolph Bailton, at the memorial meeting previously re- 
ferred to : "I da not hesitate to say that there is hardly a man 
in the whole country who stood in the front rank with a 
greater right on the question of character, and on the point of 
setting an example of how a man could go through all the 
vicissitudes of business money-making if you please to call 
it so and yet come out stainless." At the same meeting Judge 
Rose responding for the bench said : "For many years he was 
the undisputed leader of the admiralty bar of this court. He 
probably seldom thought evil of any one until the evidence 
of such a person's conduct was absolutely conclusive. He 
certainly never gave expression to any such thought if he 
entertained it. Very many men and women have been better 
men and women because they came in early life under the 
influence of Robert H. Smith. I wonder after all, if any 
other work we can do really lasts so long and counts for so 
much." Such was his career at the bar and such the estimation 
in which he was held by his brethren of the bar. In addi- 
tion to the demands of a larger practice he was a professor of 
Admiralty Federal Procedure and Legal Ethics at Baltimore 
Law School, 1 900-1 910; was appointed a member of the 
Court House Commission in 1893, tnat Commission having in 
charge the erection of a City Court House; in 1893 ne De ~ 
came a member of the Board of Trustees of the McDonough 
School, and in 1907 was chosen president of the Board. He 
knew nearly every boy in the school and some of them he 
aided in establishing themselves as prosperous business men 
and financiers. In 1896 he was elected president of the Board 
of Supervisors of Election for the city of Baltimore, and in 
1904 he was chosen a member of Tome Institute, at Port 
Deposit, Maryland. Other philanthropies which received the 
benefit of his interest and legal knowledge were the Presby- 

MD. 14 



210 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



terian Eye, Ear and Throat Hospital, which he served as a 
member of the Board of Governors, and the Presbyterian 
Association, which he served as legal counsel. In the business 
world he was a director of the National Bank of Baltimore; 
the Title Guarantee and Trust Company; the American Bond- 
ing Company. His fraternity was Zeta Psi; his club the 
University. He was a member of the local, state and national 
bar associations and for many years president of the local 
association. He was a Republican in politics, taking an active 
interest in city politics and in 1904 was the successful candi- 
date of his party for Congress. But politics was little to his 
liking and his connection more a matter of civic duty than 
personal preference. 

There is little question that the deepest interest of his life 
outside his home was the Second Presbyterian Church and 
Sunday School. He joined that church soon after coming to 
Baltimore in 1868, and was a faithful consistent member and 
strong pillar of support, until his death forty-nine years later. 
Nearly that entire time he was superintendent of the Sunday 
School and an elder of the church. In addition he was in- 
terested in other affairs of the Presbytery and well known 
in all religious denominations, although strict in his devotion 
to the tenets of his own church. The fruit of his zeal and 
devotion is in evidence in the large Sunday School of the 
Second Church, built up and held together through his per- 
sonal efforts and the teachers whom he inspired. 

Mr. Smith married, April 23, 1873, Helen A. Alford, 
who survives him, a resident of Baltimore. Mr. and Mrs. 
Smith are the parents of two children, one deceased, and a 
daughter, Helen, now wife of Dr. Henry J. Walton of Balti- 
more. 

When Mr. Smith's death was announced in the United 
States Court, adjournment was at once ordered and a com- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 211 

mittee appointed by Judge Rose to draft a suitable memorial. 
All of the committee were present at the later memorial meet- 
ing except former United States Attorney General, who sent 
a letter regretting his inability to be present, but endorsing 
the resolution submitted by the Committee as they "expressed 
clearly and with entire accuracy the high regard entertained 
for Mr. Smith by his brethren of the bar and their regret 
at his death." A layman's memorial service was held at the 
Second Presbyterian Church, Sunday evening, October 14, 
1917. The funeral services were held at 3 P. M., October 11, 
and all that was mortal laid at rest. 

A fitting close to this tribute of respect to a good man is 
his word of advice to young men : "There can be no success 
unless they are faithful and honest. I believe that character 
has more to do with a man's success than his genius." 




EDWIN WARFIELD 

THE history of the Warfield family of Maryland, of which 
Edwin Warfield, former Governor of Maryland, and 
president of the Fidelity Trust Company of Baltimore, is 
representative, is ancient and honorable to the highest degree, 
and needs no reinforcing from the records of the past. It is 
a fact, however, that it is one of the oldest families of Great 
Britain, the surname being derived from the Manor of War- 
welt (modern name Warfield), in the Hundred of Ripples- 
mere, Barrochescire (Berkshire), England. At the time of 
the Domesday Survey in 1085, this manor was vested in the 
Crown (William the Conqueror) as tenant-in-chief, the 
Saxon holder having been Queen Eddid (Edith or Eadgyth), 
Queen of Edward the Confessor, the eldest daughter of God- 
wine, Earl of Wessex, and his wife Gytha, the sister of Harold. 
Warfield Manor afterwards came into the possession of the 
Nevilles, who were of Norman descent. Windsor Forest, 
Berkshire, is one of the five forests mentioned by name in the 
Domesday Survey. The forest was at that time divided into 
sixteen walks, among them "Warfeilde" or "Walfelde Walke." 
In "The Annals of Windsor" there are many interesting 
references to this name showing its prominence at an early 
period in the history of England. On the 25th of September, 
1216, "King John sent orders from Scotter, in Lincolnshire, 
to Engelard de Cigony, to deliver Hugh de Polested forthwith, 
in prison at Windsor, to John de Warfield, brother of Elye de 
Warfield, unless he should be ransomed in the meantime." 
(Patent Rolls 18 Johann. M. 2). In 1271, "the Prior of 
Merton held Upton in free gift of the grant of Pagan de 
Warfield." (Hundred Rolls 39 Henry III). 

The Norman conquerors introduced the "de" into Eng- 
land, but it must not be supposed that the prefix meant that 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 213 

they were always of Norman origin, for very many families 
of British, Saxon and Danish descent also used the prefix until 
it was almost completely dropped or discarded in the four- 
teenth and fifteenth centuries for brevity and with the disap- 
pearance of Norman French. 

Warfield is a village and parish, in the Hundred of War- 
grave, and about eight miles to the southwest of Windsor. It 
contains Warfield Park, Warfield Hall and Warfield Grove. 

(I) The American history of the family begins with 
Richard Warfield, who came from Berkshire, England, in 
1662, and was doubtless a member of the family which orig- 
inated in that county. He settled upon the banks of the 
Severn in Anne Arundel county, Maryland. The Howards 
and other old Maryland families settled in the same region, 
many of the first families of Maryland and other states tracing 
to these families through intermarriages. 

Richard Warfield acquired a large estate, all of which 
came to him by purchase or exchange. The lands were in 
the finest agricultural section of the state, his several estates 
being known as "Warfield's Plains," "Warfield's Range," 
"Warfield's Increase," and "Warfield's Addition." A century 
later his descendants led in the struggle for independence. 
Richard Warfield was more zealous in the service of the 
church than in the state. He was a member of the first vestry 
of old St. Anne's, built under the act of assembly, of 1692, 
which divided the counties into parishes, and ordered the 
chapels built. He was a generous contributor to all religious 
causes, and from his large means gave bountifully to all public 
activities. His will, probated 1703-04, shows him to have 
been possessed of all the luxuries of the day, including valu- 
able slaves and indentured white servants, and his fealty to 
English tradition is shown in the willing of "My Gold Seal 
Ring to my son John," the head of the house. 



214 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

He married Ellen Browne, daughter of Captain John 
Browne, of London, who came from England, in 1673, a 
descendant of Sir John Browne, who brought over emigrants 
in 1659, receiving from Governor Philipp Calvert a grant of 
five hundred acres. Descendants of the marriage are con- 
nected with all the distinguished Maryland families and with 
many in Virginia, Kentucky, and other states. 

(II) The line of descent to Governor Warfield is through 
John Warfield, son of Richard and Ellen (Browne) War- 
field. He was of "Warfield's Plains," in 1696, later of "War- 
field's Forest," and in 1704, of "Warfield's Range." He mar- 
ried Ruth, daughter of John and Ruth (Morley) Gaither, her 
father a Colonial official of Virginia, who moved to Anne 
Arundel county, Maryland, there receiving patents for large 
tracts of land prior to 1662. 

(III) Benjamin Warfield, son of John and Ruth 
(Gaither) Warfield, of "Warfield's Range," Howard county, 
Maryland, was a member of the vestry of Queen Caroline 
Church. His wife, Rebecca, was a daughter of Judge 
Nicholas and Sarah (Worthington) Ridgely. Her father 
was Chancellor of Delaware, grandson of Colonel Henry and 
Katherine (Greenbury) Ridgely and great-grandson of 
Colonel Henry Ridgely, who died in 1710, a justice in 1667, 
member of the Dover House in 1698, and captain of the 
"Foote." Colonel Henry Ridgely married (first) Elizabeth 
Howard, of England, and (second) the widow of Mareen 
du Val. 

(IV) Captain Benjamin (2) Warfield, son of Benjamin 
(1) and Rebecca (Ridgely) Warfield, was of Cherry Grove, 
his death occurring in 1806. He bought and added to the 
estate known as "Fredericksburg," the original patent which 
is owned by Governor Edwin Warfield. The old hipped roof 
house which he built in 1765 is still standing, and is owned 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 215 

and occupied by John Warfield, brother of Governor War- 
field. He held a captain's commission in the Revolutionary 
Army, dated March 2, 1778. He commanded the Eldridge 
Battalion, Severn Militia. The men of the Warfield family 
during this period were leaders in developing the patriotic 
spirit of the state to oppose the English oppression. They 
bitterly opposed the Stamp Act, "Liberty and Independence 
or Death in Pursuit of It" their motto. In the Severn Militia 
alone during the Revolution were Captain Benjamin War- 
field, Lieutenant Robert Warfield, Ensign Charles Warfield, 
Launcelot and Thomas Warfield, Lieutenants, Ensign Joseph 
Warfield. Dr. Walter Warfield was a surgeon in the Revo- 
lutionary Army, and an original member of the Society of the 
Cincinnati; Elijah and David, sons of Colonel Charles War- 
field, were captains in the Fifth Maryland Regiment Militia 
and were on guard in Baltimore in 181 2. Dr. Charles Alex- 
ander Warfield paraded the battalion, of which he was the 
major in the upper part of Anne Arundel county, wearing in 
their hats labels bearing the motto, "Liberty and Independence 
or Death in the Pursuit of It." This was the spirit of the 
Warfields during the Revolution, and in every war they have 
promptly rallied to the support of their country's cause. 

Captain Benjamin Warfield married Catherine Dorsey, 
born November 30, 1745, daughter of Philemon and Catherine 
(Ridgely) Dorsey. Her father, who died in 1772, was a 
captain of "The Hundred," and resided near Dayton, his 
estate consisting of over ten thousand acres, extending from 
Clarkeville to Florence in Anne Arundel county. Catherine 
(Dorsey) Warfield was a granddaughter of Joshua and Ann 
(Ridgely) Dorsey, of "Barnes Folly," and a great-grand- 
daughter of Major Edward and Sarah (Wyeth) Dorsey. 
Major Edward Dorsey was a judge of the Maryland High 
Court of Chancery, member of the Maryland House of 



216 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Burgesses from Baltimore county in 1705. He was a descen- 
dant of Sir John d'Arcy, whose three sons came over in 1661. 
Captain Benjamin Warfield had three sons: Joshua, Phile- 
mon Dorsey and Beale, the last two named served in the War 
of 1812. 

(V) Joshua Warfield, son of Captain Benjamin (2) and 
Catherine (Dorsey) Warfield, was born September 11, 1781, 
died March 19, 1846, being known as Joshua Warfield of 
Cherry Grove. He married, March 12, 18 16, Lydia Welsh, 
born October 23, 1790, a descendant of Nicholas Wyatt, who 
came over in 1600, also of John McCubbin, a Scotch baronet, 
and of John Howard, who took up Timber Neck, now a 
part of Baltimore. Lydia Welsh was a daughter of John 
and Lucretia (Dorsey) Welsh, of Upper Howard county, 
Maryland, granddaughter of John and Hannah (Hammond) 
Welsh, of South River, Maryland, great-granddaughter of 
John and Rachel (Hammond) Welsh. Captain John Welsh 
was a merchant of South .River, and a partner of his cousin, 
Richard Snowden. Rachel (Hammond) Welsh was a grand- 
daughter of Major General Hammond, Justice of the Provin- 
cial Court in 1667; member of the Council in 1668; member 
of the Court of Admiralty in 1700. Captain John Welsh was 
a son of Major John and Mary (Welsh) Welsh, the former 
of the "Quorum," 1671-81, and high sheriff of Anne Arundel 
county, 1676-78. 

(VI) Albert Gallatin Warfield, son of Joshua and Lydia 
(Welsh) Warfield, was born in the old homestead of the War- 
fields, at Cherry Grove, February 24, 18 17, and died at his 
residence, "Oakdale," Howard county, Maryland, November 
3, 1891, inheriting as a part of his patrimony a large number 
of slaves, and was one of the largest slave owners in his section, 
yet he was opposed to the doctrine of slavery, and let each one 
free as he reached the age of forty years. He inherited also a 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 217 

part of the home plantation upon which he built "Oakdale," 
and there he lived his long and honorable life. He was espe- 
cially kind to his slaves and gave himself entirely to the man- 
agement of his large estate, real and personal. He never 
accepted but one public office, that of president of the country 
school board in 1869. "Oakdale," a beautiful estate, was noted 
for the open-handed hospitality there dispended, the courteous, 
refined, cultivated host and the gentle, womanly hostess vieing 
in their efforts to make "Oakdale" a place of fond recollection. 

Mr. Warfield married, August 25, 1842, Margaret Gassa- 
way Watkins, a descendant of John Watkins, son of the 
founder, who came over in 1667. He married Ann, daughter 
of Major Nicholas Gassaway, who came to Maryland in 
1649, member of the Upper House of Lord Baltimore's coun- 
cil, and deputy governor. The line of descent is through 
Nicholas Watkins, son of John and Ann (Gassaway) Watkins, 
born March, 1691, and his wife Margaret; their son, Nicholas 
(2) Watkins, born August 20, 1722, died in 1766, and his 
wife, Ariana Worthington; their son, Colonel Gassaway Wat- 
kins, and his wife, Eleanor Bowie Claggett; their daughter, 
Margaret Gassaway Watkins, wife of Albert Gallatin War- 
field, and mother of Governor Edwin Warfield. 

The Worthington ancestry of Mrs. Margaret G. Warfield 
is interesting. Ariana Worthington, born December 25, 1729, 
married, in 1743, Nicholas (2) Watkins. She was a daughter 
of Thomas and Elizabeth (Ridgely) Worthington, her father, 
who died in March, 1753, was a member of the House of 
Burgesses and major of Anne Arundel county militia. She 
was a granddaughter of John and Sarah (Howard) Worth- 
ington, the former a member of the "Quorum" also of the 
House of Burgesses, and captain of the Severn Militia. Sarah 
Howard was a daughter of Matthew and Sarah (Dorsey) 
Howard, who came in 1650, and granddaughter of Robert 



218 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Howard, duke of Norfolk, and a descendant of Thomas 
Plantagenet, of Brotherton, a son of King Edward I. Ariana 
Worthington was a great-granddaughter of Rev. John Worth- 
ington, master of Jesus College, Cambridge, England, and a 
great-great-grandaughter of Roger Worthington, son of 
Thomas Worthington, of Worthington and "The Bryn." 

Colonel Gassaway Watkins, father of Margaret Gassa- 
way (Watkins) Warfield, veteran of both the first and second 
war with Great Britain, served in the Revolutionary Army in 
Colonel Smallwood's regiment, from January, 1776, and was 
actively engaged in the battles of Long Island, White Plains, 
Germantown, Monmouth, Guilford Court House, and 
others. He was an original member of the Society of the 
Cincinnati, and for a number of years president of the Mary- 
land Society. He died at Walnut Grove in 1840. He mar- 
ried, April 26, 1803, Eleanor Bowie Claggett, daughter of 
Wiseman and Priscilla Bowie (Lyles) Claggett, granddaugh- 
ter of Edward and Eleanor Bowie (Brooke) Claggett, great- 
granddaughter of John and Mary (Millikin) Bowie, the 
former the son of the founder who came from Scotland in 
1705-06, and a great-great-granddaughter of James Millikin, 
the American founder of the family of the "Levels, 11 Prince 
George county, Maryland. 

"Oakdale," the home of Mr. and Mrs. Albeit Gallatin 
Warfield, was not only where a place of hospitality and order 
reigned, but was a home made so attractive that the children 
loved to dwell in it, even when business and their own families 
made it necessary to live elsewhere. Mrs. Warfield was widely 
known for her gentleness, kindness and charity. She was the 
friend of everyone in sorrow or need, and ever ready to min- 
ister to their wants. She w r as a friend of the ministers to 
whom she gladly extended the hospitality of "Oakdale," and 
a friend of the church to which she generously contributed. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 219 

She died at the home of her youngest daughter in Westchester, 
Pennsylvania, while on a visit, surviving her husband five 
years. At the funeral of Mr. Warfield at "Oakdale" every 
class and condition gathered to honor his memory, and all 
were mourners. 

Mr. and Mrs. Albert Gallatin Warfield were the parents 
of eleven children, three died in infancy, and eight survived, 
four of whom are : i . Albert Gallatin, a major in the C. S. A. 
2. Joshua Nicholas. 3. Gassaway Watkins, died at Camp 
Chase, Ohio, a soldier of the Confederacy in 1864. 4. Edwin, 
of whom further. 

(VII) Edwin Warfield, son of Albert G. and Margaret 
G. (Watkins) Warfield, was born May 7, 1848, at "Oakdale." 
He was educated in the public schools and St. Timothy Hall, 
Catonville, Maryland. He was admitted to the Maryland bar, 
1 88 1 ; was Register of Wills, Howard county, Maryland, 1874 
to 188 1 ; State Senator, 1882-1886; president of Senate, 1886; 
Surveyor of the Port of Baltimore, 1886- 1890, appointed by 
President Cleveland. He was the founder of the Patapsco 
National Bank of Ellicott City, Maryland; founder of the 
Fidelity and Deposit Company of Maryland, its president, the 
largest surety company in the world; Governor of Maryland, 
1 904- 1 908, declining renomination. He is a member of the 
South River Club of Anne Arundel county, Maryland (one 
of the oldest in the world), a member of the Society of the 
Cincinnati, also of the Sons of the American Revolution, the 
Society of War of 181 2, the Maryland Historical Society, of 
which he is president, American Bar Association, also Mary- 
land and Baltimore City Bar Association, and has many other 
business and social connections. 

Mr. Warfield married, November 24, 1886, in Baltimore, 
Emma Nicodemus, daughter of J. Courtney Nicodemus, a 
grandson of Lieutenant Frederick Nicodemus, of Washington 



220 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



county, Maryland, an officer of the Revolution, and his wife, 
Mary J. Montandon, a descendant of Albert Montandon, a 
Huguenot, who settled in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1720. 
Children of Governor Warfield are : Carrie ; Emma ; Louise ; 
Captain Edwin Warfield, of the 110th Field Artillery, now 
in France; Alice, married M. Gillett Gill; John; Clarence; 
Margaret Gassaway, married Herman Hoopes, of Philadel- 
phia; Marshall T., married Lucy W. Holland. The family 
home is "Oakdale," Howard county, Maryland, Governor 
Warfield's birthplace and the family homestead for genera- 
tions far into the past. 




JAMES ELLICOTT TYSON 

A LTHOUGH one-half the life of James Ellicott Tyson, 
an eminent native son of Baltimore, was spent retired from 
active business life, there was never a time when he was not 
deeply concerned for the welfare of the city. In a day when 
commercialism was believed to be the prevailing American 
characteristic, he laid aside business cares, content with the 
fortune he had amassed, and although he lived to the great 
age of eighty-nine, he never tired of the delights his country 
estates gave him. He was a man of fine presence, most courtly 
manner, lovable in character and gentle in disposition a true 
gentleman of the old school, greatly esteemed by all. His 
career in the business world was one of honorable success, but 
his heart lay away from the marts of trade, and he there re- 
mained only until he could retire with sufficient competence 
to gratify his love of the pleasures and recreations of the great 
out-of-doors furnished by his own broad acres, travel and 
kindred pursuits. He was of distinguished ancestry, tracing 
to the days of William Penn in Pennsylvania, to early Mary- 
land days, and to a long line of English ancestors. 

( I ) Reynear Tyson, the first of the family by this name in 
America, was a member of the Society of Friends, having been 
converted by the preaching of William Penn, at whose re- 
quest he emigrated to Pennsylvania, arriving on the ship 
"Concord," October 6, 1683. Reynear Tyson's own statement 
regarding the date of his arrival in Pennsylvania is given in 
"Watson's Annals of Philadelphia," as follows: 

We whose names are to these presents subscribed do hereby certify 
unto all whom it may concern, that soon after our arrival in this province 
of Pennsylvania, in October, 1683, to our certain knowledge, Herman ap den 
Graff, Dirk ap den Graff and Abraham ap den Graff, as well as we our- 
selves, in the cave of Francis Daniel Pastorious, did cast lots for the respec- 



222 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

tivc lots which they and we then began to settle in Germantown; and the 
said Graffs (three brothers) have sold their several lots each by himself; 
no less than a division in writing had been made by them. Witness our 
hands this 29th day of November, A. D., 1709. Leanart Arets, Thomas 
Hunder, Abraham Tunis, Jan Lensen, William Streygert, Jan Lucksen, 
Reynear Tyson. 

William Perm, proprietor of Pennsylvania, named Rey- 
near Tyson as one of the incorporators in his patent for 
Germantown, October 12, 1689, by which Francis Daniel 
Pastorious, Reynear Tyson and others were authorized to form 
a court and sit once a month; they were constituted a body 
corporate by the name of Bailiff Burgesses and Commonality 
of Germantown in the county of Philadelphia. Under this 
charter he was a burgess 1692-93-94-96. The government of 
Germantown began October 6, 1691, and ended February 12, 
1707, when the borough and court records of Germantown 
were ordered to the recorder's office, Philadelphia, by Act of 
Assembly. He was one of the signers of the certificate issued 
by the quarterly meeting at Philadelphia, addressed to the 
London yearly meeting, which Samuel Jennings bore with 
him to London in 1693, concerning the Keith controversy. 
Some years before his death, Reynear Tyson removed from 
Germantown to Abingdon, Philadelphia county, where he be- 
came a large landowner and active business man, and was 
associated with the Friends' meeting of that place. He lived 
beloved and honored to a ripe old age, dying July 27, 1745, 
aged about eighty-six years. He married Margaret Kunders, 
a lady of good family and high social position. Children: 
Mathias, mentioned below; Isaac, born September 7, 1688; 
Elizabeth, August 7, 1690; John, October 9, 1692; Abra- 
ham, August 10, 1694; Derrick, September 6, 1696; Sarah, 
December 19, 1698; Peter, March 6, 1700; Henry, March 4, 
1702. 

(II) Mathias Tyson, eldest son of Reynear and Margaret 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 223 

(Kunders) Tyson, was born June 3, 1686, at Germantown, 
Pennsylvania, and preceded his father to the grave by many 
years. He received a good estate from his father, and moved 
to Abingdon, Philadelphia county, where he lived the quiet 
life of a country gentleman. He married in Abingdon, Mary 
Potts, daughter of John Potts, of Llanidoss, Wales, by whom 
he had the following children: Margaret, born July 7, 1708; 
Mary, March 25, 1710; Reynear, June 24, 171 1; John, De- 
cember 20, 171 2; Sarah, October 10, 1 71 4; Elizabeth, Sep- 
tember 14, 1 7 1 6 ; Isaac, mentioned below; Matthew, July, 
1720; Martha, March 12, 1722; Elizabeth, October 25, 1723. 
(Ill) Isaac Tyson, third son of Mathias and Mary 
(Potts) Tyson, was born August 21, 1718, in Philadelphia 
county, died in Baltimore county, Maryland, in 1784. He 
settled in Upper Dublin township, Philadelphia county, Penn- 
sylvania, where he was living at the time of his removal to 
Maryland. In the year 1774 Isaac Tyson purchased a tract 
of land in Baltimore county, on which was a saw mill, situated 
on the falls of the Little Gunpowder River. He did not re- 
move to Maryland until the year 1783, the year after purchas- 
ing an additional tract of two hundred and fifty acres from 
his son, Elisha Tyson, who had settled in Baltimore county 
about the time of his father's first purchase, which was in the 
year 1773, according to the Baltimore records. He brought 
with him to Maryland a certificate from the Horsham Friends 
Meeting, Philadelphia county, to Friends of Gunpowder 
Meeting, Baltimore county, dated July 2, 1783, with certifi- 
cates for his sons, George and Jesse Tyson. Although a new- 
comer in Maryland, he became one of the influential and 
prominent men of his community. He died honored and re- 
spected by his neighbors in Baltimore county. He married, 
March 28, 1748-49, Esther, daughter of Isaac Shoemaker, of 
Shoemakertown, Pennsylvania. Children: Elisha, men- 



224 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



tioned below; Tacy, born May 20, 1752; Aneas, May 20, 
1754; Jacob, October 1, 1755; Nathan, January 10, 1757; 
Sarah, September 16, 1758; Jesse, July 20, 1761 ; Elizabeth, 
September 21, 1768; Dorothy, February 18, 1770; Mary, 
1772; George, 1775; William. 

(IV) Elisha Tyson, son of Isaac and Esther (Shoemaker) 
Tyson, was born December 18, 1750, in Philadelphia county. 
He lived at Jericho on the Little Falls of Gunpowder River, 
in Baltimore county, and later moved to Baltimore, Maryland. 
He built a mill at Jones Falls near what is now Druid Hill 
Park. Always a member of the Society of Friends, he was 
full of wisdom and courage in every-day life, and was the first 
of the family to come to Maryland, having preceded his father 
here by ten years. The approximate date of his arrival is de- 
termined by the certificate which he presented from Abingdon 
Friends Meeting to the Gunpowder Monthly Meeting of 
Friends in Baltimore county, March 3, 1773, in which he 
was recommended as a member of the Society, by which meet- 
ing he was received. He prospered greatly in this world's 
goods and became one of the wealthiest men in Baltimore, his 
estate at his death being valued at nearly three hundred thou- 
sand dollars. Philanthropist and humble Christian, Elisha 
Tyson's constant endeavor was to redress the wrongs of suffer- 
ing humanity, and he devoted much of his life to efforts in 
behalf of the persecuted son of Africa, suffering persecutions 
himself on their account. A complete biography has been 
written of this devoted friend of emancipation, who, though 
far ahead of his time in his horror of slavery, yet remained 
unshaken by the adverse criticism of his contemporaries. He 
left a farewell address to the colored population of Baltimore, 
and at his death was mourned by ten thousand of those whose 
cause he had so valiantly espoused. He married (first) No- 
vember 5, 1776, Mary Amos, who died April 17, 1813, daugh- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 225 

ter of William and Hannah (McComas) Amos, and grand- 
daughter of William Amos, Sr., founder of the Amos 
family in Maryland. He married (second) October 
22, 1814, Margaret Cowman, who died January 29, 1853. 
Children: 1. Isaac, born October 10, 1777; married, No- 
vember 8, 1797, Elizabeth Thomas, who died May 12, 18 12, 
daughter of Evan and Rachel (Hopkins) Thomas; he died 
June 30, 1864. 2. Esther, born February 23, 1779, died in 
childhood. 3. Lucretia, born January 9, 1780; married John 
Wilson. 4. William, born October 2, 1782, married Elizabeth 
Ellicott, daughter of Jonathan and Sarah Ellicott. 5. Mary, 
born September 4, 1785; married Enoch Clapp, 6. Nathan, 
mentioned below. 7. James, born March 4, 1790, died young. 
8. Sarah, born August 19, 1791, died young. 9. Elisha, born 
January 28, 1796; married Sarah S. Morris. 10. Deborah, 
born March 12, 1798, died May 12, 1801. 

(V) Nathan Tyson, son of Elisha and Mary (Amos) Ty- 
son, was born November 14, 1787, and died January 6, 1867. 
He was reared and educated in Baltimore, and became one of 
its most prominent citizens. He was the first president of the 
Baltimore Corn and Flour Exchange, now known as the 
Chamber of Commerce. He also held a prominent place in 
the social life of the city. The following resolution was passed 
at a meeting of the Baltimore Corn and Flour Exchange, 
January 8, 1867, on the death of Nathan Tyson: 

Resolved, That the members of the Corn and Flour Exchange have 
learned with deepest sorrow of the death of Nathan Tyson, our first vener- 
ated President, to whose zealous and active co-operation we were indebted 
for the successful organization of our Association. 

Resolved, That in the character of the deceased we recognize the true 
type of all that is upright and honorable in the merchant, true and noble in 
the Christian gentleman, and one who has in addition to his beautiful illustra- 
tion of the relations of life, entirely filled the measure of his whole duty in 
his connection with us as a merchant and a citizen, and we are gratified that 

MD 15 



226 GExNEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

it was permitted him to attain a fullness and maturity of years but seldom 
reached. 

Resolved, That the deceased presented to us in his daily conduct his 
known integrity, his uniform courtesy and goodness of heart, an example by 
which we should be benefitted and which, if followed, would enable us to pass 
away as he has done from the scene of active life universally lamented and 
respected, an example which we urge upon all to emulate. 

Resolved, That this Association tender to his bereaved family our 
deepest and most sincere sympathy and condolence in their loss and that a 
copy of these resolutions signed by the Chairman and the Secretary be con- 
veyed to them and the same published in our daily newspapers. 

James Hooper, Jr., Chairman. 
Henry M. Warfield, Secretary. 

Mr. Tyson married Martha Ellicott, September 27, 181 5, 
born September 13, 1795, died March 15, 1873, daughter of 
George and Elizabeth (Brooke) Ellicott. She was a descend- 
ant of Robert Brooke, of De La Brooke Manor, Maryland 
(see Brooke line). Martha Ellicott is described as having 
worn at her wedding a white corded silk dress shading into 
opal tints, a white fichu crossed on her breast, and a white lace 
bonnet. Thus arrayed she is reputed to have presented a 
picture of lovely young womanhood. Children: 1. James 
Ellicott, mentioned below. 2. Elizabeth Brooke, born March 
30, 18 r 8 ; married, March 25, 1843, John Marsh Smith; died 
July 29, 1890. 3. Henry, born November 18, 1820; married. 
May 13, 1847, Mary Gillingham, who died December, 1891 ; 
he died September 1, 1877. 4. Isabelle, born March 17, 1823. 
5. Anne, born February 26, 1825, died August 7, 1884; 
married, June rr, 1861, William Kirk, died July, 1879. 6. 
Mary, born August 11, 1826, died same year. 7. Frederick, 
born April 17, 1828. 8. Robert, born March 25, 1834; mar- 
ried (first) June 4, 1863, Jane Gambrill, died 1864; married 
(second) November 20, 1869, Sarah R. Smith. 9. Evan, born 
August 27, 1831, died May 6, 1832. 10. Lucy, born March 
20, 1833; married Henry Maynadier Fitzhugh. 11. Nathan, 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 227 



born June 24, 1834, died March 27, 1835. 12. Nathan, born 
June 27, 1836, died March 9, 1837. 

(VI) James Ellicott Tyson, son of Nathan and Martha 
(Ellicott) Tyson, was born August 21, 18 16, in Baltimore, 
Maryland, and died at his country estate, "Warwick," in 
Howard county, Maryland, September 4, 1904, lacking but 
one year of attaining the honors of a nonagenarian. He was 
educated in private schools and prepared for college under 
Mr. Sams, but owing to certain obligations incurred by his 
father at this time he was obliged to forego his college course 
and enter into business. He did so with the determination 
of helping his father out of his financial difficulties. In this 
he was most successful, and through his energy and close 
application to work he not only succeeded in this but was able 
to build up the great firm that bore his name and carry it on 
through many prosperous years, until he was able to retire, an 
independent man. For many years Mr. Tyson was engaged 
in the flour and grain business in Baltimore, having large 
shipping connections with South America. He was also a 
ship owner, using his own vessels to transport cereals to the 
Latin American countries. He retired from active business 
life at the comparatively early age of forty-five, realizing a 
promise he had made to himself not to continue in business 
life once he had attained what he considered a fortune ample 
for the necessities and luxuries of his day. He was a man of 
commanding presence, and fine physique; had a keen sense 
of humor, was quick at repartee, an interesting reconteur and 
held broad views on the questions of the day. He was precise 
and fixed in his habits. His office was closed every day exact- 
ly at 3 in the afternoon, and all business ceased for the day. 
This was known to all his business associates, and none ever 
thought of calling upon him on business matters after that 
hour. He was an ardent sportsman and very fond of hunt- 



228 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

ing. Almost any afternoon he could be seen gun on shoulder 
and dogs at heel, tramping about on one of his large estates in 
search of game. Farming was his hobby, his first venture in 
this line being a large plantation given to him by his great- 
grandmother, Elizabeth Brooke. In addition he owned a 
large amount of real estate in various localities, including the 
estate "Warwick," a farm at Ocean City, Maryland, large 
tracts in Pennsylvania, and valuable properties in Baltimore 
and elsewhere. He was very successful in most of his farm- 
ing enterprises, and uniformly so in dealing in real estate 
properties, becoming widely known as having excellent judg- 
ment as to the value of real estate in general. "Warwick," 
where the last years of his life were spent, an estate of one 
thousand acres, granted to one of his Ellicott ancestors, was 
always kept in a high state of cultivation, and was his especial 
pride. He was excessively fond of books and a wide reader. 
He possessed an excellent library, the foundation being second 
hand books bought in the days when his means were limited, 
but his love of reading keen. In 1 86 1 and 1862 Mr. Tyson 
traveled extensively abroad, visiting England, Ireland, 
France, Switzerland, Germany, Italy, Greece, the Holy Land 
and Egypt. Many most interesting letters written by him 
to his mother from these lands have been preserved by 
his daughter, Mrs. Lily (Tyson) Elliott. They show a 
broad grasp of the social and political events occurring in 
those countries, as well as of the great political and social up- 
heaval in our own country at that time. He held true to the 
faith of his fathers, and was ever a faithful member of the 
Society of Friends. In political faith he was an ardent Demo- 
crat, and in the struggle between the states warmly espoused 
the cause of the South. He had no liking for political office, 
and never held such office of any kind. When his death was 
announced at the Chamber of Commerce, of which he was 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 229 

a member, by President Gorman at a general meeting, the fol- 
lowing gentlemen were appointed to represent that body at 
the funeral : James J. Corner, James Lake, George Frame and 
W. G. Atkinson. He was buried from the Friends Meeting 
House in Baltimore, on Park avenue, Tuesday, September 6, 
1904. 

James Ellicott Tyson married (first) September 23, 1847, 
Frances Helm Jolliffe, daughter of John and Frances (Helm) 
JollifTe, of Frederick county, Virginia. Children: Frances 
Jolliffe, born June 17, 1848, died, unmarried, July 27, 1878; 
Lily, mentioned below; Martha, died July 15, 1866. After 
the death of his first wife, Mr. Tyson married (second) 
Frances E. Williams, who also pre-deceased him. 

(VII) Lily Tyson, daughter of James Ellicott and 
Frances Helm (JollifTe) Tyson, was born in Baltimore, mar- 
ried (first) October 2, 1879, Gaston Manley, of distinguished 
family, and (second) Dr. Marshall Elliott, of Johns Hop- 
kins University, whom she survives. Children (all by first 
marriage) ; Elizabeth Brooke, Martha, married Myron Mel- 
vin Parker, Jr., of Washington, D. C. 

(The Brooke Line). 

(I) Richard Brooke, of Whitechurch, Hampshire, Eng- 
land, is the first of the family by this name of whom there is 
definite record. His will was proved May 6, 1594. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Twyne, whose will was proved June 2, 1599, 
a sister and heir of John Twyne. A cross erected in the church 
at Whitechurch by their youngest son, Robert, records that 
Richard Brooke died January 16, 1634, after forty-one years 
of wedded life, and his widow Elizabeth died May 20, 1599. 
Children: Thomas, mentioned below; Richard, Robert, of 
London; Elizabeth, Barbara, Dorothy. 

(II) Thomas Brooke, son of Richard and Elizabeth 
(Twyne) Brooke, was born 1561. He matriculated, Novem- 



230 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

ber 24, 1 58 1, at New College, Oxford, and received degree of 
B.A., May 4, 1584; was a barrister and of the Inner Temple, 
1595; bencher, 1607, and Autumn reader, 161 1. He was a 
member of Parliament for Whitechurch, 1604-1611. His 
will is dated September 11, 161 2, and proved the November 
following. He was buried at Whitechurch, September 17, 
161 2, and his wife the following day. A marble tomb upon 
which their sculptured figures lie side by side is in the church 
at Whitechurch. He married Susan Foster, daughter of Sir 
Thomas Foster, Knt., of Hunsdon, Herts, judge of the com- 
mon pleas, and Susan Foster, his wife, daughter of Thomas 
Foster, Esq., of London, was therefore sister of Sir Robert 
Foster, who was in 1663 chief justice of Kings Bench. Chil- 
dren: 1. Thomas, born 1599; matriculated at Oriel College, 
Oxford, October 27, 16 1 5 ; a barrister-at-law; buried January 
25, 1665, at Whitechurch. 2. Richard. 3. Robert, mentioned 
below. 4. John, born 1605. 5. William. 6. Humphrey. 7. 
Charles. 

(Ill) Robert Brooke, of "De La Brooke and Brooke 
Place Manors," son of Thomas and Susan (Foster) Brooke, 
was born June 3, 1602, in London, England, died July 20, 
1655, at Brooke Place Manor, where he is buried. He ma- 
triculated at Wadhams College, Oxford, April 28, 1618, re- 
ceived the degree of B.A., July 6, 1620, and M.A., April 20, 
1624. He arrived in Maryland, June 30, 1650, with his wife, 
ten children and twenty-eight servants, all transported at his 
own cost and charge. On July 22, 1650, with his sons, Baker 
and Thomas, he took the oath of fidelity to the proprietary. 
A commission had to be issued to him in London, September 
20, 1649, as commander of a new county to be erected, also 
a separate commission of the same date as member of the coun- 
cil of the province. On October 30, 1650, a new county named 
Charles was erected, and Robert Brooke constituted its com- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 231 

mander. In 1652, when the province was reduced by the 
parliamentary commission, Robert Brooke was placed at the 
head of the provincial council instituted by him and served as 
acting governor of the province from March 29, 1652, until 
July 3rd following. He was a member of the coun- 
cil and commander of Charles county until July 3, 
1654, when an order was passed revoking his commis- 
sion and nullifying the act creating the county, in place of 
which a new county called Calvert was erected. He is said 
to have been the first to settle on the Patuxent River, twenty 
miles up at "De La Brooke." In 1652 he removed to "Brooke 
Place." During the period of the settlement of Marylan 
no one was treated with greater liberality or accorded higher 
honors by Lord Baltimore than Robert Brooke. In addition 
to the whole of Charles county, which was granted to him 
by Lord Baltimore, Robert Brooke received grants from the 
proprietary for manors in Maryland. Oh September 1, 1649, 
Brooke Place Manor, containing two thousand acres of land, 
with the privileges of holding Court Baron and Court Leet, 
was issued to Robert Brooke at London, and on the 18th of 
September, the same year, the grant of "De La Brooke" 
Manor containing two thousand, two hundred acres, with the 
same manorial privileges, was issued at London by the pro- 
prietary. Brooke Court Manor was another of the famous 
Brooke estates, known also in the records as "Aquasco," in 
that part of Southern Maryland which later became Prince 
George's county. 

Mr. Brooke married (first) February 26, 1627, Mary 
Baker, born at Battle, County Sussex, England, and died 1634, 
daughter of Thomas Baker, Esq., and Mary Engham, his 
wife, daughter of Sir Thomas Engham, and (second) May 
11, 1635, Mary Mainwarring, born at St. Giles in the Fields, 
London, and died November 29, 1663, at "Brooke Place 



232 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Manor," Maryland, daughter of Roger Mainwarring, Doctor 
of Divinity and Dean of Worcester, subsequently Bishop of 
St. Davids, who came in collision with parliament by reason 
of his zealous advocacy of the royal prerogative. Children by 
first marriage: i. Baker, born November 16, 1628, married 
Anne Calvert, daughter of Leonard Calvert, Governor of 
Maryland. 2. Mary, born February 19, 1630, died in Eng- 
land. 3. Major Thomas, born June 23, 1632, married Eleanor 
Hatton. 4. Barbara, born 1634, died in England. Children 
by second marriage: 5. Charles, born April 3, 1636, died un- 
married. 6. Roger, mentioned below. 7. Robert, born April 
21, 1639, in London, England, died 1667, in Calvert county, 
married Elizabeth Thompson. 8. John, born September 20, 
1640, married Rebecca Isaac, and died in 1677. 9. Mary, born 
April 14, 1642. 10. William, born December 1, 1643. 11. 
Ann, born July 22, 1645, married Christopher Beans. 12. 
Francis, born May 30, 1648, died unmarried, 1672. 13. Basil, 
born 1 65 1, died in infancy. 14. Henry, born November 
28, 1655, died unmarried, 1672. 15. Elizabeth (twin of 
Henry) married, before 1679, Richard Smith, Jr., of Calvert 
county, Maryland. 

(IV) Roger Brooke, son of Robert and Mary (Main- 
warring) Brooke, was born September 20, 1637, at Brecknock 
College, Wales, the Episcopal residence of his maternal 
grandfather, the Bishop of St. Davids, after whom he was 
named, and came to America with his parents when thirteen 
years old. He lived at Battle Creek, Calvert county, Mary- 
land ; was one of the justices of the county from 1674 to 1684; 
was commissioned to high sheriff, April 18, 1684, and served 
until May 30, 1685, when he was again commissioner of the 
quorum. He married (first) Dorothy Neale, daughter of 
Captain James and Ann (Gill) Neale; married (sec- 
ond) Mary Wolseley, daughter of Walter Wolseley, 






GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 233 

Esq., and granddaughter of Sir Thomas Wolseley, of 
Staffordshire; she was also the niece of Anne Wol- 
seley, first wife' of Philip Calvert, from whose house she 
was married. Children by first marriage: i. Roger, men- 
tioned below. 2. James, died before 1709. 3. Dorothy, born 
1678, died 1730; married (first) Michael Taney, died 1702; 
married (second) Richard Blondell, died 1705; married 
(third) Colonel John Smith. Children by second marriage: 
4. John, born 1687, died 1735. 5. Basil, died 1711. 6. Ann, 
married (first) James Dawkins, (second) James Mackall. 
7. Cassandra. 8. Mary. 

(V) Roger (2) Brooke, of Prince George county, son of 
Roger (1) and Dorothy (Neale) Brooke, was born April 12, 
1673. He married, February 23, 1702, Eliza Hutchins, 
second daughter of Francis and Elizabeth Hutchins. Her 
father, Francis Hutchins, was for many years a member of 
the House of Burgesses, representing Calvert county. Roger 
Brooke moved to Prince George county, and died there in- 
testate in 1718. Eliza (Hutchins) Brooke married (second) 
Captain Richard Smith. Children of Roger (2) Brooke: 
1. Roger, born December 8, 1703, died May 28, 1705. 2. 
James, mentioned below. 3. Elizabeth, born November 23, 
1707, married Nathaniel Beall. 4. Dorothy, born July 5, 
1709, married Archibald Edmondston. 5. Mary, born De- 
cember 29, 1710. 6. Ann, born March 29, 1712, married Wil- 
liam Carmichael, of Queen Anne county. 7. Roger, born 
June 10, 1714, died 1772. 8. Cassandra, born April 3, 1716. 
9. Priscilla, born November 16, 1717, died 1783; married 
Charles Browne, of Queen Anne county, died 1766. 10. Basil 
(twin of Priscilla) died 1761. 

(VI) James Brooke, son of Roger (2) and Eliza (Hutch- 
ins) Brooke, was born February 21, 1705, and was the first 
of the family seated at Brooke Grove, which estate was patent- 



234 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

ed by Charles, fifth Lord of Baltimore, to him on April u, 
1745. James Brooke held many thousand acres of land in 
Prince George county, afterward Frederick and Montgom- 
ery counties. James Brooke never cared to hold public office, 
but lived the life of a country gentleman on his beautiful 
estate in Prince George county. He married Deborah Snow- 
den, daughter of Richard and Elizabeth (Neale) Snowden, 
January, 1725. Children: 1. James, mentioned below. 2. 
Roger, born August 9, 1734, died September 7, 1790; married 
Mary Matthews, who died about April 25, 1808. 3. Richard, 
born July 8, 1736, died May 2, 1788; married, 1758, Jane 
Lynn, who died September 15, 1774. 4. Basil, born Decem- 
ber 13, 1738, died August 22, 1794; married, May 1, 1764, 
Elizabeth Hopkins, who died August 17, 1794. 5. Elizabeth, 
born March 22, 1741, married, June 2, 1761, Thomas Pleas- 
ants, of Goochland county, Virginia. 6. Thomas, born March 
8, 1744, died June 11, 1789. 

(VII) James (2) Brooke, son of James (1) and Deborah 
(Snowden) Brooke, was born February 26, 1730, in Prince 
George county, and died in August, 1767. He was a devout 
Christian, and is said to have been the first gentleman in 
Maryland to free his slaves, liberating twenty-two, an action 
which it is stated greatly displeased his father, who was a large 
owner of slaves. Like his father he married a Quakeress, a 
daughter of Virginia. He married in Fairfax Meeting, Lou- 
doun county, Virginia, October 30, 1759, Hannah Janney, 
daughter of Amos Janney, of Loudoun county, Virginia, 
granddaughter of Abel Janney, and great-granddaughter of 
Thomas Janney, a Colonial justice of Pennsylvania, who came 
from Chester county, England, in the ship "Endeavor," 7th 
month, 29th day, 1683. Thomas Janney was a celebrated 
minister of the Society of Friends, and companion of William 
Penn. James and Hannah (Janney) Brooke had three chil- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 235 

dren, one of whom, Elizabeth Brooke, married George Elli- 
cott, and their daughter, Martha Ellicott, married Nathan 
Tyson (see Tyson, V). 

(The Ellicott Line). 

(I) Andrew Ellicott, of Collumpton, Devonshire, Eng- 
land, came to Pennsylvania in 1730, accompaned by his son, 
Andrew Ellicott, Jr. It was probably not his intention at 
first to remain in the colonies, as he left his wife and children 
in England, but owing to his son's desire to settle permanently 
in the New World, he was finally persuaded to make his home 
in Pennsylvania. He never returned to England, and his 
wife, whose maiden name was Mary Fox, never joined him in 
this country. He lived in Bucks county, Pennsylvania, and 
died there in 1766. 

(II) Andrew (2) Ellicott was born in England, and 
came to this country with his father, Andrew (1) Ellicott. 
He settled in Bucks county, Pennsylvania, where he met and 
married Ann Bye, a Quaker maiden. The wedding took 
place in the Friends Meeting House in Bucks county, June 
17, 1731. Andrew Ellicott, Jr., died in 1741 . His wife 
married (second) George Wall, an Englishman, in June, 
1744, by whom she had two children, George and Esther 
Wall. She died in Bucks county, August 21, 1786. Children 
of Andrew (2) and Ann (Bye) Ellicott: 1. Joseph, born 
October 8, 1732, married, 1753, Judith Bleaker. 2. Andrew, 
mentioned below. 3. Nathaniel, born February 17, 1736, mar- 
ried Letitia Harvey. 4. Thomas, born March 16, 1737, mar- 
ried (first) Anne Ely, (second) Mrs. Rebecca Wilkinson, 
(third) Jane Kensey. 5. John, born December 28, 1739, mar- 
ried (first) Leah Brown, (second) Cassandra Hopkins. 

(III) Andrew (3) Ellicott, son of Andrew (2) and Ann 
(Bye) Ellicott, was born January 22, 1734, in Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, and died in 1809. In 1772, accompanied by his 



236 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

brothers, Joseph and John, he removed from Pennsylvania to 
Baltimore county, Maryland, where they purchased large 
tracts of land, about ten miles west of Baltimore City. Andrew 
Ellicott did not remove his family from Bucks county until 
1794, where he had a large and comfortable home, to which 
he is said to have traveled on horseback many times a year. 
The Ellicotts built large mills on the Patapsco river for grind- 
ing wheat and other grains. This was the site known as Elli- 
cott's Mills, now Ellicott City, Howard county. At their own 
expense the Ellicotts opened a road for wagons from their 
mills to Baltimore, and on its completion laid out a road to 
Frederick City, which united at Ellicott's Mills with their 
road to Baltimore. They did a great deal to improve agri- 
cultural methods in Maryland, Andrew and his brothers being 
among the most progressive men of their time. Andrew 
Ellicott married (first) Elizabeth Brown, of Pennsylvania, 
(second) Esther Brown, her cousin. Children by first mar- 
riage: 1. Elias, born December 27, 1757, died young. 2. 
George, mentioned below. 3. Benjamin, born October 16, 
1761, died 1838, unmarried. 4. Nathaniel, born January 10, 
1763, married Elizabeth Ellicott. 5. Andrew, born Decem- 
ber 9, 1764, died May 23, 1766. 6. Elizabeth, born January 
18, 1766, died young. 7. Jonathan, born November 9, 1766, 
married Sarah Harvey. Children by second marriage: 8. 
Joseph, born June 22, 1768, died September 16, 177 1. 9. Tacy, 
born May 3, 1770, married Isaac McPherson. 10. James, 
born August 24, 1772, married Henrietta Thomas. n. 
Andrew, born October 2, 1776, married Hannah Thomas. 

12. Thomas, born November 10, 1777, married Mary Miller. 

13. John, born February 2, 1780, married Mary Mitchell. 

(IV) George Ellicott, son of Andrew (3) and Eliza- 
beth (Brown) Ellicott, was born March 28, 1760, in Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania. He came to Maryland with his parents 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 237 

and there lived his life, a gentleman of means, engaged in the 
management of his private property interests. The Patapsco 
Female Institute was founded by the Ellicotts for the site of 
which they gave seven acres of beautiful forest land near Elli- 
cott Mills, and it was through George Ellicott that the State of 
Maryland empowered the principal to educate eight girls 
annually at the expense of the State. This beautiful mansion, 
long ago passed from public usefulness, is now the summer 
home of the great-great-granddaughter of George Ellicott, 
Mrs. Lily Tyson Elliott. George Ellicott married Elizabeth 
Brooke, daughter of James (2) Brooke, of Brooke Grove, 
Montgomery county, Maryland, and his wife, Hannah 
(Janney) Brooke (see Brooke, VII). 

(The Jolliffe Line). 

(I) John Jolliffe, son of Thomas Jolliffe, of Crofton 
Hall, England, came to Virginia, and about 1652 (January 
22) received a tract of land of one hundred acres located on 
the Elizabeth river, by assignment from John Lawrence. He 
built the first grist mill in the Old Dominion. He married 
Mary Rigglesworth, daughter of Peter Rigglesworth, of 
Yorkshire, England, and of Norfolk county, Virginia, about 
the year 1664-65. They had seven children. 

(II) Joseph Jolliffe, eldest son of John and Mary (Rig- 
glesworth) Jolliffe, was born about 1664, in Norfolk county, 
Virginia. He is said to have been a well educated man and 
well versed in the law. He married Ruth . 

(III) William Jolliffe, son of Joseph and Ruth Jolliffe, 
was born in Norfolk county, Virginia, on the family planta- 
tion, about 1695. I n tne Y ear r 76 ne was living in Frederick 
county, Virginia. On July 2, 1776, he patented 304 acres of 
land on the Drains of Babb's Creek. This was the Redhouse 
tract (taking its name from the color of the house) which 
has remained in the family for so many generations. He was 



238 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

one of the first lawyers enrolled in Frederick County Court, 
Virginia, November 1 1, 1743, when the court was first formed. 
Shortly after this he acquired five hundred acres of land north 
of the present site of Winchester. He married Phoebe 
(maiden name unknown). He and his wife were associated 
with Hopewell Meeting, Frederick county. They had several 
sons and perhaps daughters. 

(IV) William (2) Jolliffe, son of William (1) and 
Phoebe Jolliffe, acquired large estates on Opequon, north of 
where Winchester was later laid out. He was one of the 
citizens appointed by the court held November 9, 1758, as 
overseers of the road from Cunningham's Mill to Robert 
Moseley's. He married Lydia (Hollingsworth) Ross, widow 
of John Ross, son of Alexander Ross, whose estate adjoined 
that of William (1) Jolliffe. Lydia Hollingsworth was a 
daughter of Stephen Hollingsworth, granddaughter of Henry 
Hollingsworth, and great-granddaughter of Valentine Hol- 
lingsworth, who came to Pennsylvania in the ship "Welcome" 
in 1682. William and Lydia (Hollingsworth-Ross) Jolliffe 
were married about 1750, by Friends ceremony in Hopewell 
Meeting, Frederick county. Children: r. John, mentioned 
below. 2. Phoebe, born December 15, 1752, died young. 3. 
Gabriel, born May 19, 1755. 4. Phoebe, born February 12, 
1758. 5. Lydia, died December 30, 1759. 

(V) Captain John Jolliffe, son of William and Lydia 
(Hollingsworth-Ross) Jolliffe, was born December 18, 1751, 
in Frederick county, Virginia. He commanded a company 
in the Fourth Virginia Regiment; was stationed with his regi- 
ment at Suffolk, Virginia, and later was with General Wash- 
ington's army before New York. He participated in the en- 
gagements and skirmishes of the American army during that 
eventful year. He fell a victim to the scourge of smallpox, 
which proved fatal to so many at Morristown, New Jersey, 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 239 

in the year 1776, in his twenty-sixth year. In recognition of 
his srevices his heirs received from the State of Virginia a 
tract of land situate in the Northwestern Territory of the 
United States, upon the waters of the Scioto river, containing 
2,666 2/3 acres, which was located by virtue of a military war- 
rant, August 2, 1787. Although born in the Quaker faith, 
he was married out of meeting by a Methodist minister to 
Mary Dragoo, the beautiful daughter of Peter Dragoo, a 
neighbor. Children: John, mentioned below; and William. 
(VI) John (2) Jolliffe, son of Captain John (1) and 
Mary (Dragoo) Jolliffe, was born on the Red House Planta- 
tion, Frederick county, Virginia, February 26, 1775. He in- 
herited all his father's estate, as well as the military warrant 
of nearly three thousand acres, and in addition a large amount 
of property from relatives who died without natural heirs, 
making him one of the richest men in Virginia in land, slaves 
and money. He was a justice in Frederick county in 1801, 
and served a short time as captain in the War of 181 2. He 
married at Winchester, Virginia, Frances Helm, daughter of 
Colonel Meredith Helm, of Belville Farm, Frederick county, 
March 10, 1807. She was born June 24, 1787. Children: 1. 
Meredith Helm, married Margaret Hopkins. 2. Lavinia, 
married Samuel Hopkins. 3. William, married Catherine 
Newby, of Clark county, Virginia. 4. Selina, married Wil- 
liam Overall, of Virginia. 5. Amos, married Mary Jones, of 
Virginia. 6. James, married Ann Overall, of Virginia. 7. 
Edward C, married Virginia Page, of Vrginia. 8. Frances 
Helm, married James E. Tyson (see Tyson VI). 




JOHN HENRY THOMAS 

n^HE fame of John Henry Thomas was won in general law 
practice, but it was as an admiralty lawyer that he gained 
national reputation. He very frequently appeared in notable 
cases in the federal courts, the Court of Appeals and in the 
Supreme Court of the United States, and in himself repre- 
sented the best traditions of the Maryland bar. His long life 
of seventy-four years was devoted to the practice of law, his 
term of service at the Baltimore bar overlapping a full half 
century of years. The highest sense of personal and pro- 
fessional honor marked that and every period of his life, while 
a fine courtesy and dignity of manner were distinguishing 
characteristics. For thirty-five years he was a law partner 
of S. Teacle Wallis, with whom his name is inseparably as- 
sociated in Baltimore's judicial annals. Mr. Thomas was one 
of those courageous, intensely public-spirited citizens, who 
never seeking the honors or distinctions of public life, yet 
never fail, especially in times of public trial and difficulty, to 
respond promptly and fearlessly to every call of duty. His 
reward came in the love and esteem of his fellow citizens, the 
consciousness of duty well performed and in unvarying re- 
spect in which his high legal attainment was held by his pro- 
fessional brethren of bench and bar. He was a son of Dr. 
William Thomas, whose estate "Cremona" is in St. Mary's 
county, Maryland. 

John Henry Thomas was born at "Cremona," St. Mary's 
county, Maryland, July 4, 1824, died in Baltimore, July 14, 
1898. After completing all courses at "Charlotte Hall," St. 
Mary's county, he came to Baltimore and pursued courses of 
study at St. Mary's Seminary on Paca street. He then went 
to Princeton College, once the College of New Jersey, now 
Princeton University. He was a member of the famous class 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 241 

of 1844, of which so many later rose to eminence. Among 
his intimates of the class were Dr. Charles Shields, Noah 
Hunt Schenk, Alfred H. Colquitt of Georgia, Carolus Wood- 
ruff and James Clark Welling. At Princeton Mr. Thomas, 
who was but twenty at graduation, displayed that clearness 
of mind, quick perception, strong reasoning power and ora- 
torical ability, which later so distinguished his legal work. 
He ranked with the best debaters of the college and ended 
his course with high honors in scholarship. 

After graduation, in 1844, ^ r - Thomas returned to Balti- 
more and later in the year began the study of law under the 
preceptorship of S. Teacle Wallis. His natural talents were 
in accord with the profession he had chosen and he made rapid 
progress. Mr. Wallis conceived so high an opinion of the 
young man's ability that when he was appointed special en- 
voy to Spain by the Government, he encouraged Mr. Thomas 
to take an examination, although it had been his intention to 
spend a year longer in preparatory study. He successfully 
passed the ordeal of examination, was admitted to the bar 
and taken into partnership with his former preceptor. During 
the early period of the partnership, Mr. Wallis was kept in 
Europe by his diplomatic duties, Mr. Thomas managing the 
law business of the firm. After Mr. Wallis returned from 
Europe the real partnership began, which continued for 
thirty-five years, terminating about the year 1881. From that 
time until his death in 1898 Mr. Thomas practiced alone, his 
activity continuing until his last illness. Wallis & Thomas 
became one of the best known and most successful law firms of 
Baltimore, and after the dissolution Mr. Thomas maintained 
the same high standards. He enjoyed a very large admiralty 
practice and in that branch of his profession ranked with 
the very ablest lawyers of the country. He appeared before 
the Supreme Court of the United States in a large number of 

MD. 16 



242 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

cases, the records of that court showing that he was one of the 
ablest counselors who argued before it, and that he therein 
lost but one case. He defended Mrs. Wharton in the two 
trials in which she was the defendant charged with the murder 
of General Ketchum and the attempted murder of Eugene 
Van Ness. The first is one of the celebrated cases of Mary- 
land jurisprudence, Mr. Thomas being associated with I. 
Nevett Steele and Judge A. B. Hagner for the defense. His 
speech to the jury was one of the crowning efforts of his career 
and is yet spoken of where olden time lawyers congregate. 
Mrs. Wharton was acquitted and retained the same counsel in 
her trial for the attempted murder of Mr. Van Ness, that trial 
also resulting in her acquittal. At a later period he represent- 
ed the Maryland Steamboat Company in the investigation of 
the "Joppa-Gleam" accident in which Harrison Garrett of 
Baltimore lost his life. He was also counsel for the North 
German Lloyd Steamship Company, the Allan Line and for 
a number of other important corporations. 

Mr. Thomas was a lifelong Democrat, but never took an 
active part in politics, except upon one or two occasions when 
his instincts were aroused against disorder and lawlessness 
or aid in some much needed reform. He was closely identi- 
fied with the reform movement in 1859, when the first meet- 
ing of what was then the reform party was held at his house. 
He "stumped" the State at that time, and worked with other 
prominent men to overthrow the rule and break the power of 
the "Know Nothing" party. He was a candidate during that 
year for attorney-general on the reform party ticket against 
Milton Whitney. In 1882 he took a prominent part in the 
"new judge" movement, and his speech to an immense crowd 
at Concordia Hall was regarded as the ablest of that cam- 
paign. 

Mr. Thomas married, in 1851, Miss Mary T. Leiper, 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 243 

daughter of Judge George Gray Leiper of Delaware county, 
Pennsylvania, member of Congress, 1829- 1831, and for many 
years lay associate judge for Delaware county, and there he 
died November 17, 1868. 

Judge Leiper was a son of Thomas Leiper, born in 
Strathaven, Lanark, Scotland, December 15, 1745, came to 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1763, became very wealthy, 
was a member of the First City Troop, and rendered effi- 
cient service as an officer of the Revolution. He was a promi- 
nent Democrat, presidential elector, director of the Pennsyl- 
vania and United States banks, United States commissioner 
for the defence of Philadelphia in 1812, president of Phila- 
delphia Common Council, and in 1824 one of the first officers 
of the Franklin Institute. He died in Delaware county, 
Pennsylvania, July 6, 1825. 

John Henry and Mary T. (Leiper) Thomas were the 
parents of a son, George Leiper Thomas, deceased, and a 
daughter, Eliza Snowden Thomas, now residing in Baltimore. 
George Leiper Thomas, the only son of John Henry Thomas, 
was born in Baltimore and there died sixty years later, Sep- 
tember 10, 191 2. After preparation in Baltimore institutions 
he finished his education abroad, receiving degrees from uni- 
versities in Germany and Switzerland. On his return to the 
United States he pursued further courses at the University of 
Virginia, receiving from that institution the degree Bachelor 
of Arts at graduation. Deciding upon the legal profession he 
entered the law department of the University of Maryland, 
whence he was graduated with high honors LL.B. After 
completing so thorough a course of preparation he was ad- 
mitted to the Baltimore bar and for many years he was as- 
sociated with his honored father in practice. He was a man 
of cultured tastes, with a high sense of personal and profes- 
sional honor and the center of a wide circle of intimate 



244 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

friends. He was a member of many societies, but quiet and 
reserved in nature and sought no political distinction. He 
never married, but with his sister, Miss Thomas, maintained 
a hospitable home in Baltimore. 

Dr. William Thomas of "Cremona" was a brother of 
James Thomas, a Governor of Maryland, major of the Fourth 
Maryland Regiment Cavalry during the War of 1812 and 
brevet major-general, six times member of the Maryland 
Legislature, Governor, 1833- 1835. Another brother, Richard 
Thomas, was a member of the House of Representatives, and 
speaker, State Senator and president of the Senate. The father 
of these sons, William Thomas, was the youngest son of John 
Thomas of Charles county, Maryland, a member of the House 
of Delegates, major of militia and a member of the Revolution- 
ary Committee of Safety. William Thomas married Cather- 
ine Boarman, a granddaughter of Roger Brooke, a prominent 
descendant of Commodore Robert Brooke of the Patuxent, 
who in 1650 came over with forty servants as his bodyguard 
and built first "De La Brooke," but afterward moved to Brook 
Place." 

Dr. William and Catherine (Boarman) Thomas were 
the grandparents of John Henry Thomas of Baltimore. Leon- 
ard Calvert's daughter, Ann, married, about 1664, Baker 
Brooke of "De La Brooke." Their daughter was the mother 
of Catherine Boarman. 





4&^<7tf&^jky^ 



CHARLES HARVEY STANLEY 

/ T^HE gentleman of the old school is not a myth, although 
the originals are now becoming very rare. With the pass- 
ing of Charles Harvey Stanley, of Laurel, Maryland, in the 
closing days of 1913, one of the true type of "old school'' 
politicians and gentlemen disappeared from earthly view, but 
the memory of his life is green and will ever live in Mary- 
land annals, and in the hearts of his fellowmen. Said Gov- 
ernor Crothers who appointed him State comptroller: "He 
was one of the best public officials I ever knew." Everybody 
in Southern Maryland knew him, and in Central Maryland 
almost everybody, but to "Southern Maryland" he "belonged," 
one of that rapidly disappearing "before the war" type, posi- 
tive in his convictions, ready to fight for them to the end, 
rigid as a steel bar in carrying out the responsibilities of any 
trust imposed either by the people or his friends, yet so kind- 
ly hearted that no greater pleasure was his than helping a 
friend over a rough part of life's pathway. 

Although of Connecticut birth, Mr. Stanley was a descend- 
ant of John Stanley, a younger son of the Earl of Derby, who 
came in 1653, and the following year became surveyor of the 
colony, Maryland. A descendant of John Stanley settled in 
North Carolina, and there John Wright Stanley fought for the 
cause of liberty, and is revered as one of North Carolina's 
Revolutionary patriots. John Wright Stanley's son was clerk 
of Craven county, North Carolina, court for fifty-four years, 
that son being the father of Rev. Harvey Stanley, a clergyman 
of the Protestant Episcopal church, father of Charles Harvey 
Stanley to whose memory this review of a noble life is dedi- 
cated. Mr. Stanley's cousin, Edward Stanley, was a member 
of Congress from North Carolina, and a great-uncle, John 
Stanley, was for many years president of the North Carolina 



246 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



State Senate. Rev. Harvey Stanley, father of Charles 
Harvey Stanley, was born in North Carolina, married Mary 
Anne Kinne, a daughter of Charles R. Kinne, who in early life 
moved from New York to North Carolina, there engaging in 
the practice of law. Charles R. Kinne was a brother of Wil- 
liam Kinne, editor of "Kinne's Blackstone." Rev. Harvey 
Stanley settled with his family in Prince Georges county, 
Maryland, when his son, Charles Harvey Stanley, was a boy, 
and there his after life was spent. 

Charles Harvey Stanley was born in Saybrook, Connecti- 
cut, October 20, 1842, died at his home, at Laurel, Prince 
George's county, Maryland, December 20, 1913. His parents 
moved to that county, in 1 85 1 , and there he obtained a good 
education in local schools and under private tutors. When 
the questions which finally led to war between the North and 
the South were under discussion, he became greatly inter- 
ested, and when the break came, cast his lot with the South, 
and until Lee's Surrender, rode, fought and suffered with 
Company B, of the First Regiment, Maryland Cavalry. 

Returning to Prince Georges' county, in 1865, Mr. Stanley 
taught school and studied law, having as law preceptor, General 
Thomas Bowie. He filled the dual role of teacher and student 
until January 17, 1869, and then was admitted to the Mary- 
land bar. Up to this period of his life, Mr. Stanley had been 
used to an out-of-door life, having grown up in the county, 
was familiar with all sorts of farm work, and fond of hunt- 
ing and fishing, but inordinately fond of flowers. His three 
years as a cavalryman had hardened his body, but not his 
nature, and he bent himself to his ambition, a professional 
career, with a firm resolve to gain a profession and make a 
home for those depending upon him, which was one of the 
objects he ever kept in view, believing, as he once wrote : 
"A man without a home is little more than a brute." In boy- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 247 

hood, he had realized that success only came through applica- 
tion. His resolution to make a position for himself held him 
true from boyhood, and when he was admitted to the bar in 
1869, he brought to the profession a learned, clear, clean mind, 
and a body trained to work and not to falter. Mr. Stanley's 
career at the bar was one of honorable success. As a lawyer, 
he was sound and able, having a large clientele in Prince 
George's county, Baltimore and Washington, and he won from 
his profession both fame and fortune. He was learned in the 
law, and loyal to the strictest ethical tenets of his profession, 
despising subterfuge, or any attempt to befog an issue. He 
held his professional honor as sacred as his private honor, and 
he was regarded as one of the fairest, but most to be dreaded, 
opponents. He made a client's cause his own, and to that 
cause gave himself without reserve. 

With the passing years Mr. Stanley acquired other inter- 
ests, business and political. He was the principal factor in the 
organization of the Citizens National Bank of Laurel, in the 
year 1890, and was president of that successful institution from 
the time of its organization until his death. He was a State di- 
rector of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Company for several 
years, and had landed and business interests of importance. He 
was a trustee of the Maryland Agricultural College from 1882, 
and charter member of the Farmers' Club of Prince George's 
county. Educational affairs held a deep and sincere interest 
for him. He gave freely of his time and thought to the de- 
velopment of the county public school system, and to the 
Maryland Agricultural College, of which he had been a di- 
rector for many years. He realized the possibilities of the 
college as few public men did, and he was ready to support any 
movement tending to any increase in the institution's useful- 
ness. In his politics Mr. Stanley was as uncompromising as in 
his private life. He was a Democrat from principle, and 



248 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

loved his party with the devotion of a son for his father, and 
followed his party's flag wherever it led. Yet he was not a 
reactionary, he would follow, but he wanted his party to go 
the right way, and he believed firmly in the rule of the 
people. He made his first appearance in public official life 
in 1882, when he was elected a member of the Maryland 
House of Delegates, serving three years. From 1890 to 1894, 
he was mayor of the town of Laurel, president of the school 
board commissioners of Prince George's county from 1901 
until 1911. His faith in the people was made very plain at 
the time he became a candidate for the Congressional nomina- 
tion from the Fifth Maryland District in 1912. He had an- 
nounced early in the year that he would be a candidate if the 
Legislature passed the Direct Primary law before then, being 
the first man in the State to make his candidacy contingent 
upon the passing of that law. He was unsuccessful in the 
primary and the honor went to another. Shortly afterward, 
Governor Crothers appointed him comptroller of the State 
to succeed William B. Clagett, also of Prince George's county, 
who had died in office. Mr. Stanley announced at the time 
of taking the office that he would not be a candidate to suc- 
ceed himself, a voluntary promise which was kept. He was a 
perfect martinet in that office, spending a great deal of time 
at his office in the State house at Annapolis, and insisting upon 
being advised of the details of the work. He revolutionized 
methods used for making payments through his office, flatly 
refusing to allow payments unless the requisitions stated speci- 
fically the nature of the outlay, and were prepared with strict 
regard for the law, and for safe accounting. 

In religion Mr. Stanley was of the faith of his fathers, 
and a vestryman of the Episcopal church of his town, the first 
chancellor of the diocese of Washington, which position he 
held until his death, and a member of the standing commit- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 249 

tee of the diocese from its organization. He was a member, 
and a pastmaster, of Laurel Wreath Lodge, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons; was a member of the Chapter of 
Royal Arch Masons; and a grand inspector of the Grand 
Lodge of Maryland. 

Mr. Stanley married, November 26, 1871, Ella Lee 
Hodges, of Anne Arundel county, Maryland, who died in 
September, 1881. He married (second) in September, 1884, 
Margaret Snowden, daughter of John Snowden, of Prince 
George's county, who survived her husband with six children; 
Harvey; Charles Harvey (2); William; John; Margaret 
Snowden, and Elizabeth Hopkins, wife of James G. Boss, Jr. 
Thus in honor and usefulness Mr. Stanley's years, seventy-one, 
were passed, and at their close he went to his reward unafraid, 
but with a serene reliance upon the teachings of "the Book" 
which had long been one of his closest literary friends. 




HENRY LONGITUDE SEAL OULD 

LJENRY LONGITUDE SEAL OULD, a son of Henry 
and Jane Ould, was born February 2, 1793, in Devonshire, 
England, and died in Georgetown, District of Columbia. His 
father was a mathematician and man of great inventive genius, 
and became celebrated as the originator of the "Graphor," an 
instrument for reckoning longitude, and for the publication 
of a book on the subject. Hadley is said to have used the 
Graphor in 1791 . To his son he gave the name of "Longi- 
tude," to commemorate the invention of this instrument, and 
added the name "Seal" on account of the British seal attached 
to it, an honor conferred upon him for his useful invention. 
Henry L. S. Ould was educated under the English school- 
master, Joseph Lancaster, who originated a system of primary 
education known as the Lancastrian or Monitorial system, the 
principal feature of which was the instruction of younger 
pupils by the more advanced students, called monitors. This 
method of instruction found considerable favor in the United 
States in the early days of the nineteenth century, and a school 
was organized in Georgetown, District of Columbia. It was 
claimed in favor of this system that it allowed more time for 
recreation than under the old rigid rules then in vogue in the 
district schools, and besides was much cheaper, one teacher 
being able to supervise the instruction, it was said, of as many 
as three hundred pupils in the same class. This system, long 
since discarded, deserved the credit of causing the education of 
the masses to be looked upon as a thing attainable, and was 
without doubt the origin of our present free school system. In 
the year 181 1 Mr. Lancaster was asked to send to this country 
an able teacher of the system. He chose two very capable 
young gentlemen, Mr. Robert Ould, and his brother, Mr. 
Henry L. S. Ould, both of whom came to Georgetown with 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 251 

the highest recommendations. They became naturalized 
Americans, lived long and useful lives, and died highly re- 
spected and beloved in the communities in which they resided. 
In response to a letter requesting him to send a schoolmaster 
to Georgetown, Joseph Lancaster writes: 

On looking over all my schools I found but one young man answering 
rhe description, that was willing to go, and he was unwilling to leave England 
without his brother, a brother bound to him in affection from infancy, and 
to whom he has been a foster parent since the decease of his mother. Both 
young men have quitted respectable situations ( Robert was librarian of the 
London Library and Henry was associated with the Bank of Wales), and 
connections to embark in your cause ; they are in every respect worthy of your 
countenance and protection to which I commend them. The elder, Robert 
Ould, as well as his brother, Henry Ould, have been my pupils at an early 
age. I have been in frequent intercourse with them since they left school. 
They have lived amongst my friends, so that in every respect I can speak of 
their merits and characters on gratifying evidence of the most satisfactory 
kind. I trust it will be as great a pleasure to you to receive them as it is to 
me to recommend them to your protection. 

During the War of 1812, both these gentlemen being 
British subjects and liable to be pressed into England's service, 
withdrew from Georgetown to Montgomery county, Mary- 
land, where Robert Ould married Pauline Riggs Gaither, and 
became the father of Judge Robert Ould, of Richmond, Vir- 
ginia. It is said that Henry Ould was at one time very much 
in love with Ann Riggs Gaither, at least he preserved some 
poems writen and signed by her that bear the date of 1815. 
Inscribed upon tiny sheets of paper and written in a delicate 
feminine hand, they are still treasured by his descendants. 
Subsequently he met the bewitching Elizabeth Cloud Peirce, 
and fell desperately in love with her, and lost no time in storm- 
ing the citadel of her affections, as is attested by his eloping 
with her shortly afterward. 

The Peirce family is one of the oldest Quaker families of 
the Middle States, and the coat-of-arms is as follows: 



252 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Arms Argent, a fesse humettee gules, between three ravens rising sable. 
Crest A parrot, in its beak an amulet. 
Motto Celer et audax. 

The Peirce family is descended from George Peirce (or 
Pearce, as he himself wrote it), who came from the parish of 
Winscomb, Somerset county, England. He married Ann 
Gainer of Thornbury, Gloucestershire, on the ist day of the 
1 2th month (February), 1679. With his wife and three small 
children he left Bristol, England, the seaport nearest his home, 
in 1684, and settled in Chester county, Pennsylvania, where a 
tract of 490 acres was surveyed for him in that year, in Thorn- 
bury township. This was undoutedly named from the Eng- 
lish home of his wife to preserve early associations. They 
had arrived in Phildealphia as early as the 4th day of the 
9th month (November), 1684, as on that date he presented 
two certificates to a meeting of Friends, held at the governor's 
house. One for himself was from the monthly meeting at 
Fifrenshay, in the county of Gloucester, and that of his wife 
was from Thornbury meeting. It is not probable that he 
settled on his new purchase in that year, as winter had now 
arrived. His name first appears at Chichester Friends Meet- 
ing in 1686, after which meetings were sometimes held at 
his house. He was very strict in attention to religious duties, 
and also gave some time and means to civil affairs and the im- 
provement of the country. In the Provincial Assembly of 
1706 he represented Chester county, and was one of a com- 
pany which built "the Concord mill," the first mill erected in 
his neighborhood. About 1732 he removed to East Marlboro 
township, where he died in 1734. He obtained a patent of 
land in that township December 14, 1701, which included 
Peirce's Park, or "Evergreen Glade," as he named it. This 
was conveyed to his son in 1725, and thus passed down through 
several generations of his descendants. Part of the original 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 253 

dwelling, which was constructed of brick in 1730, is still stand- 
ing. To his daughter Betty, and her husband, Vincent Cald- 
well, he gave two hundred acres adjoining the glade. It sub- 
sequently passed into the hands of Caleb Peirce, and is now 
in possession of the latter's great-grandchildren, bearing the 
name of Cox. Longwood Meeting House and Cemetery are 
situated on this tract. The children of George and Ann 
(Gainer) Peirce were: Betty, born September 18, 1680, mar- 
ried Vincent Caldwell; George, February 23, 1682; Joshua, 
mentioned below; Ann, March 8, 1686, married (first) James 
Gibbons, (second) William Pirn; Margaret, October 25, 1690, 
married Joseph Brinton; Caleb, December 21, 1692, married 
Mary Walter, died January 22, 1797; Gainer, February 1, 
1695, married Sarah Walter; Hannah, February 21, 1696, 
married Edward Brinton; John, February 15, 1704, died 
before 1720. 

Joshua Peirce, second son of George and Ann (Gainer) 
Peirce, was born January 5, 1684, in England, and died Sep- 
tember 15, 1752, in the eastern part of East Marlboro town- 
ship, where he made his home through life. He married 
(first) August 28, 171 3, Ann, daughter of Thomas and Mary 
Mercer, of Westtown, Pennsylvania, and (second) Septem- 
ber 15, 1722, Rachel Gilpin, of Birmingham, that State. She 
was descended from Richard de Guylpin, who became the 
owner of the Manor of Kentmore in 1206, during the reign 
of King John. The family was long resident in Maryland. 
Children by first marriage: George, born May 5, 1714, died 
October 2, 1775, married Lydia Roberts; Mary, March 3, 
1717, married William Cloud; Ann, October 20, 1718, mar- 
ried (first) Caleb Mendenhall and (second) Adam Redd. Of 
second marriage: Joshua, mentioned below; Dr. Joseph, a 
distinguished physician, born October 16, 1725, died March 
9, 181 1 ; Caleb, December 2, 1727, died October 12, 1815, mar- 



254 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

ried Hannah Greaves; Isaac, who married Hannah Sellers. 

Joshua (2) Peirce, second son of Joshua (1) Peirce, and 
eldest child of his second wife, Rachel Gilpin, was born Jan- 
uary 22, 1724, and married Ann Bailey. 

Isaac Peirce, son of Joshua (2) and Ann (Bailey) Peirce, 
was the ancestor of the Maryland branch of the Peirce family. 
In 1760 he came into possession of a large tract of land in the 
present District of Columbia, now known as Rock Creek Park, 
which was purchased by the Government some years since as 
a national park. This was a portion of land known as "Gift." 
Soon after settling in Rock Creek valley, he began the con- 
struction of a mill for grinding cereals, which became one 
of the landmarks of the locality. The first mill, of frame con- 
struction, was erected about 1790, and some thirty years later 
this was replaced by a stone mill which still stands, a stalwart 
example of the solid architecture of the early nineteenth cen- 
tury. This quaint old landmark, with its slow moving water- 
wheel of past days, has been restored by the Government, and 
is now a picturesque feature of the park. The Peirce mill 
was always a popular place for the farmers to bring their 
grain. Sometimes as many as twelve teams could be seen at 
the stone building waiting for the corn to be ground into meal 
and the wheat kernels into flour. A like number of horses or 
mules could also be seen tethered near by, the farmers or their 
sons having ridden to the mill with the bags of grain slung 
across their animals' backs. The Peirce mill once brought 
what was almost a fabulous rental of $125 a month, or $1,500 
a year, the owner leasing the property to a tenant and miller. 
Soon after settling in Rock Creek valley, Isaac Peirce married 

Elizabeth, daughter of and Amy (Pyle) Cloud. 

Joshua (3) Peirce, a son of Isaac, built the large mansion on 
the estate, which has been preserved by the Government as a 
museum for exhibition of a collection of flora and mineral 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 256 

treasures of the park. Joshua Peirce was an enthusiastic horti- 
culturist, and made a specialty of raising camelias, which at 
that time were exceedingly rare, and sold for one dollar and 
two dollars a flower. Both father and son accumulated large 
fortunes that enabled them to keep the proprety intact until 
sold as a Government reservation. Another son, Job Peirce, 
married Sally Harvey. They had but one child, Elizabeth 
Cloud Peirce, who was the ancestress of numerous residents 
of Baltimore. Her father died when she was a little girl, so 
she resided with her grandparents on the Rock Creek estate, 
and rode to and fro in an ancient coach, whose doors are said 
to have borne the blazoning of the Peirce arms. She was an 
heiress, and bewitchingly pretty, and it was during the War of 
1812 that she met her fate in the person of a young English- 
man, Henry L. S. Ould, whom she married, as above noted. 
Five children were born to them: Elizabeth Jane Peirce, born 
April 12, 1822, died November, 1825; Pauline Gaither, born 
September 24, 1823, died March 31, 1826; Henry Peirce, born 
February 24, 1827, died January 13, 1829; Charles Eugene 
Eckle, born February 21, 1830, died unmarried, November 
16, 1863; Marion Hall, mentioned below. 

Marion Hall Ould, youngest child of Henry L. S. and 
Elizabeth C. (Peirce) Ould, was born July 14, 1834, and died 
April 24, 1909. He was one of the foremost citizens of Balti- 
more, and became prominent in business and financial circles. 
He was second vice-president of the Commonwealth Bank, 
and vice-president of the Game Wardens' Association. 
Though he never took active part in politics he always showed 
great interest in the political happenings of the day and was 
a lover of sports. He was a member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. Mr. Ould married, June 28, 1855, Mary 
Susanna Swift, daughter of Daniel Swift of Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, and Mary Martin, his wife, of Harford county, 



256 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Maryland. Their children were: Mary Elizabeth, born 
April, 1856, died May, 1856, and Margaret A., mentioned 
below. 

Margaret A. Ould, child of Marion H. and Mary S. 
(Swift) Ould, was born June 7, 1857, married, August 1, 1877, 
Walter B. Swindell, born June 21, 1850, son of William and 
Henrietta (Mullard) Swindell. Children: 1. Marian Ould, 
born May 19, 1878, died December 22, 1884. 2. Walter B., 
born April 1, 1880; married, October 26, 1901, Gertrude Hal- 
dane de Valasco, daughter of Charles Fernandez and Eliza- 
beth (Reed) de Valasco, son of Rafael Fernandez and Sarah 
Jane (Haldane) de Valasco; children: Walter B., born No- 
vember 14, 1903, died November 16, 1905; Robert Haldane, 
born January 6, 1907; Margaret, December 20, 1909. 3. 
Sue Ould, born November 15, 1881 ; married, April 28, 1906, 
Claude Carlyle Nuckols, born February 26, 1880, son of 
Samuel Claiborne and Luella (Wasson) Nuchols, of Ver- 
sailles, Kentucky; children: Claude Carlyle, born April 14, 
1907; Margaret Ould, March 30, 1909; Walter Swindell, 
August 1, 191 1 ; Susannah, November 1, 1913; Samuel Clai- 
borne, October 15, 191 5. 4. Jane, born January 8, 1884; mar- 
ried Charles Howard Smith of Seattle; children: Frances 
Townley, born July 30, 1910; Charles Jackson, December 9, 
1 91 2. 5. Margaret, born July 12, 1886, married Robert 
Quincy Baker of Coshocton, Ohio; child: Robert Quincy, 
born June 15, 1910. 




JOHN ANTHONY LECOMPTE RADCLIFFE 

'"THE BALTIMORE CLIPPER marks an era in the in- 
dustrial life of Maryland, around which is the fascination 
of romance. The ships of Maryland sailed the Seven Seas and 
were found in every harbor in the world. Generations of 
ship-builders developed a craft which combined speed with 
sea-worthiness to an unusual degree. The accumulation of 
family and community experience brought ship-building along 
the shores of the Chesapeake Bay to an extraordinary state of 
perfection. The industrial life of tide-water Maryland was 
dominated by this activity. The successful planter or farmer 
was usually a ship builder, or at least a ship owner. The 
slave was frequently useful, not only in the field but also in 
the ship-yard. The magnificent quantities of virgin oak and 
other forms of timber afforded sufficient suitable building 
material. The profits from the sale or rental of the vessels 
were large since the builder owned often the laborers, and 
the building materials, and raised nearly all of his food on 
his plantation or took it from the adjacent waters. The result 
was production at a minimum cost. 

An excellent representative of this type of combination of 
shipbuilding and planter was John Anthony LeCompte Rad- 
cliffe. In 1687 Richard Radcliffe, a young Quaker, came to 
Talbot county, Maryland, via Pennsylvania, from Rosendale, 
Lancashire, England. He soon became active as a land-owner 
and ship-builder. In time his grandsons went west or south, 
and one of his great-grandsons, John Ratcliffe, or Radcliffe, 
there was the customary early Colonial doubt or indifference 
as to method of spelling proper names came to Dorchester 
and there married Fannie LeCompte, the great-granddaughter 
of Anthony LeCompte, one of the first settlers in Dorchester 
county, who had received a patent for land there in 1659. 
MD.n 



258 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

This section of Dorchester county lying between the Chesa- 
peake Bay and the Choptank River early attracted settlers. 
The records all indicate that the colonists who came there 
furnished a commingling of types unusual even for those days 
when the spirit of adventure was uppermost. These first set- 
tlers intermarried, and to a very large extent their descend- 
ants continued to live in or near the homes of their fathers. 

Fannie LeCompte was descended from a number of these 
early settlers in this section. For instance, from Dr. Robert 
Winsmore, presiding justice of the county and probably the 
first physician or "chyrurgeon" in the county; from Stephen 
Gary, a man of unusual characteristics to whom reference 
will be made later; from Charles Powell, son-in-law of 
Stephen Gary, first lawyer in Dorchester county, and through 
her mother, Mary Sewell, from a famliy which had been 
actively connected with the affairs of the county. Their only 
son was James Sewell Radcliffe, who married Margaret 
Harris, a descendent of Henry Beckwith, another pioneer of 
that section of the county. Their oldest son was John Anthony 
LeCompte Radcliffe, the subject of this sketch. 

John Anthony LeCompte Radcliffe was born on February 
6, 1 8 1 8, on a farm which had been inherited by his father from 
successive generations of LeCompte owners. He inherited the 
advantages and disadvantages resulting from the fact that his 
family had lived for generations in a community somewhat 
isolated, but with traditions of a vigorous and active partici- 
pation in the affairs of the county. He also inherited a mag- 
nificent physique and unusual vigor and strength of mind and 
body. In spite of the fact that one Hill, a few years after the 
county was settled, had left a small provision in his will for 
the endowment of a free school in the community, the educa- 
tional facilities one hundred and twenty-five years later were 
restricted to the rather scanty opportunities offered by private 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 259 



tutors or by teachers paid jointly by a combination of neigh- 
bors. John Anthony LeCompte Radcliffe's opportunities for 
education were very limited, but his mind was naturally 
studious. Throughout his lifetime a considerable part of 
every day was spent in reading, especially of books on history, 
theology, philosophy, etc. 

Almost every ancestor of John Anthony LeCompte Rad- 
cliffe had combined farming and ship-building. It would 
have probably been impossible for him to realize when he 
first acquired a taste for, or a knowledge of, these occupations. 
While still a young man he acquired Spocot, a few miles from 
his birthplace. This had been patented by his grandfather in 
the seventh generation, Stephen Gary, in 1662. Stephen Gary 
had selected Spocot from his thirty or more holdings in Mary- 
land, Virginia and England, as his "home plantation," as he 
termed it in his will. From there his restless spirit directed 
his numerous activities. Besides the constant patenting and 
developing of land, he was always active in the affairs of the 
colony, several times as high sheriff, as commissioner to or- 
ganize the county, as judge, etc. He was one of the most 
vigorous and striking characters in the early history of the 
county. Spocot has continued to this day in the possession and 
ownership of his descendants. 

John Anthony LeCompte Radcliffe brought Spocot to a 
high state of development. He owned a considerable number 
of slaves and large tracts of timber land, and Spocot illustrated 
to a remarkable extent the type of a self-sufficient little com- 
munity. Its cotton and wool supplied clothing. Its fertile 
fields afforded an unusual wide variety of food. The waters 
of Gary's Creek upon which it bordered furnished sea food 
of many kinds. Saw and grist mills, iron forges, carpenter 
shops and a commissary helped to care for the needs of the 
family and the slaves and for the ship-yard located at Spocot. 



260 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

In its shallow river vessels of surprising seaworthiness were 
built. At least one of the vessels launched there in not over 
six feet of water is known to have circumnavigated the world. 

The work of his farm, the ship-yard, the demands of his 
family and his lifelong fondness for reading were absorb- 
ing, but his contributions to the political life of the community 
were not unimportant. Each time that he ran for office he 
was elected by majorities which were unusually large in his 
county. As president of the Board of County Commissioners, 
as member of the Legislature, and in many other political 
capacities, his services were helpful. 

John Anthony LeCompte RadclifTe was saturated with 
the traditions of his community, and his lifelong effort was to 
perpetuate and develop the best of these in harmony with the 
march of progress. He tried to give his children the advant- 
age of opportunities similar to those which he had received 
and better whenever possible. Possibly the predominating 
characteristic of his life was the desire to be truly helpful to 
those around him. He was the last in his community to 
continue the old-fashioned hospitable but expensive method of 
keeping "open house" throughout the year to which his rela- 
tives and friends were at all times welcome. It is undoubtedly 
true that during his lifetime there was no place in Dorchester 
county where hospitability was so freely, so cordially and so 
generously extended as at Spocot. On June 8, 1901, he died, 
full of years, beloved by the community whose interests he 
had served so well, in fact, better doubtless than by any man 
who has ever lived there. 

He was married twice. His first wife was his cousin, 
Rebecca Beckwith. Three children by that marriage sur- 
vived him: Laura, widow of William H. Travers; Nellie, 
wife of Nicholas Goldsborough Henry; and a son, William 
W. Also he left a grandson and granddaughter, John Ram- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



261 



say and LeOlin, the son and daughter respectively of a son who 
pre-deceased him. His second wife was Sophie D. Robinson, 
widow of A. J. Robinson, and daughter of Thomas Broome 
Travers, born September 18, 1802, died June 25, 1875. Three 
children were born to his second marriage, all of whom sur- 
vived their father, namely: Thomas Broome Travers, James 
Sewell, and George L. Radcliffe. 









m 



son 



THOMAS BROOME TRAVERS 

/^N the map, the western part of Dorchester county seems 
to be a part of the mainland. However, for a long time, 
and in fact so long that the "memory of man runneth not to the 
contrary," most of this section has been an island separated by 
a narrow stream called Slaughter creek from the mainland. 
One of the early settlements in the county was on this island, 
then considerably larger than at present since much of it has 
unfortunately been washed away by the stormy waters of the 
Chesapeake bay. The pioneer settler on this island was 
Thomas Taylor, after whom the island was named. Shortly 
afterwards his cousin, William Travers, came there to settle. 
William Travers died in 1701, devising by his will a consid- 
erable amount of real estate. One of his sons, Matthew, be- 
came one of the wealthiest and most prominent men in the 
county. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Henry Hooper, 
the second in line of successive generations of Henry Hoopers, 
who furnished probably the most striking illustration in the 
history of the county of the passing not only of the surname but 
of a marked degree of prominence from father to son. 
brother of this Elizabeth was Henry Hooper, owner and 
builder of Warwick Fort Manor. Another sister married 
John Broome, sometimes spelt Brome, whose prominence per- 
sonally and that of his family are well known to students of 
Maryland Colonial history. From both of these daughters of 
Henry Hooper, Thomas Broome Travers, the subject of this 
sketch, was descended. 

Successive generations of Traverses and other allied 
families continued to live on Taylor's Island. The status of 
island, the distance from Cambridge, the county seat, and 
the almost impossible roads prohibited easy communication 
with Cambridge and other parts of the county. This isolation 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 263 

and the unusual industrial advantages of Taylor's Island re- 
sulted in the development of a community unique in many 
respects. Fertility of the soil, large holdings of slaves, big 
profits from shipbuilding, ownership of vessels trading with 
"Brazil and The Indies," produced a state of considerable 
prosperity. The water as well as the land furnished food 
in abundance. The houses were commodious, although a 
simple style of architecture prevailed even in the homes of 
the richest. The dominant families were closely bound to- 
gether by blood and almost daily association. House parties 
were large and frequent. Educational provisions were quite 
good. The children were usually sent to school in Baltimore 
or taught by tutors in private homes. It is doubtful whether 
any section of Dorchester county, or of any other county in 
the colony or State, had in proportion to population so many 
men of wealth. The loss of slaves, injurious tides, the wash 
of the sea and other causes brought about serious changes for 
the worse in the community life of Taylor's Island. In recent 
years a new era of prosperity has begun to develop. 

Thomas Broome Travers was born in 1702, the son of 
Thomas Broome and Delia Travers. He was born in one of 
the Travers' homesteads which had been in the family for 
many generations. He increased his inheritance, which was 
considerable, by industry and excellent judgment, so that at 
the time of his death he was one of the wealthiest men in the 
county. His many farms were well handled. Throughout 
his life he was constantly building vessels, which from their 
ocean and bay trade brought in considerable revenue. 

Thomas Broome Travers was an excellent representative 
of the type of business man which in many respects has per- 
force ceased to exist. Since not a bank existed in the county 
until the latter part of his life, all of his various operations 
were conducted without the use of bank checks. Payments 



264 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

running up in the thousands of dollars were made and received 
in gold. Large quantities of gold were frequently kept on 
hand. For instance, a package containing $4,000 in twenty 
dollar gold pieces was allowed by him in one case to remain 
unopened for a period of at least fifteen years. He loaned 
many thousands of dollars to his friends, always without any 
form of note or written acknowledgement or receipt. 

He was an Episcopalian throughout his life and furnished 
the larger part of the funds for the building of the Episcopal 
church now standing on Taylor's Island. This church with 
its solid walnut pews and other unusual features is an in- 
teresting survival. It took the place of one of the old Colonial 
"Chapels of Ease" which had been a matter of interest to 
students of history. The dramatic scenes illustrated on the 
coast of Taylor's Island during the Revolutionary War, and 
especially during the War of 18 12, and which have never 
found proper place in history were matters of keen interest to 
him, and he endeavored to preserve fitting mementoes of these 
times, especially in so far as members of his family had par- 
ticipated. 

He married his cousin, Elisabeth Travers, who died at 
the age of twenty-two, leaving three little daughters. These 
three daughters survived him. They were Sophie D., widow 
of John Anthony LeCompe Radcliffe, a sketch of whom pre- 
cedes this; Mary, widow of William Cator, and Addie, wife 
of E. L. Griffith. Thomas Broome Travers never married 
again, but devoted the best of his time and energy to the 
welfare of his daughters. It was his aim to bridge over the 
loss to his children of their mother by assuming personally 
as many as possible of maternal duties and responsibilities. 
In spite of the engrossing nature of his business enterprises, he 
followed most closely the details of the daily lives of his 
daughters. He provided private instruction for them at his 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 265 

home, and as soon as they were large enough, he sent them 
to private school. A little instance illustrating his efforts to 
see that their desires and plans were properly looked after is 
seen in the arrangements which he made in regard to the wed- 
ding cake of his oldest daughter. To insure as much as possi- 
ble against accident, he sent one of his best sailing vessels to 
bring the cake from Baltimore and permitted the vessel to 
have no other mission. Possibly the most distinguishing 
characteristics of Thomas Broome Travers were the personal 
attention and interest which he gave to the daily life of his 
daughters, and his constant efforts to give them the best of 
training and education. This was carefully done in spite of 
engrossing business cares. 

He died in 1875, leaving one of the largest estates in the 
county. The best heritage to his many descendants was, how- 
ever, his reputation for integrity, ability and general worthi- 
ness. 




WILLIAM HADDON MARRIOTT 

A TINY miserable-looking stream running through the heart 
of the City was one of the odd features of Baltimore. 
This little stream, known as Jones' Falls, was not large enough 
to be of any commercial value, or to afford any of the simplest 
advantages or pleasures of a water front. There was enough 
of it, however, to cause it to be regarded as a general nuisance. 
From time to time efforts were made by the erection of walls, 
etc., to protect the adjoining property from the spasmodic 
tendency of Jones' Falls to overflow its banks. Eventually a 
more or less comprehensive scheme of retaining walls and 
bridges was decided upon by the city. The work was en- 
trusted to a young architect and engineer of the city, William 
Haddon Marriott, who, with his partner, Charles H. La- 
trobe, prepared and put into successful execution plans for the 
work. Imposing bridges, especially at St. Paul and Calvert 
streets, etc., crossed Jones' Falls and massive retaining walls 
eventually removed the barrier to traffic which Jones' Falls 
had occasioned, and attractive terraced gardens designed by 
Mr. Marriott took the place of the dreary looking shores 
which had fronted the Falls. The most important growth of 
the city, that to the north, resulted. 

Many other public works for Baltimore and various 
other cities throughout the State of Maryland requiring en- 
gineering and architectural skill were designed and constructed 
by Mr. Marriott. Among these are the Casino and Observa- 
tory at Patterson Park, Baltimore. To the successful ac- 
complishment of work on behalf of the city Mr. Marriott de- 
voted many years of his life. The utility and general excell- 
ence of this work have always been universally recognized. 
Also a number of the churches in the City and large private 
buildings were constructed by him. 

Mr. William H. Marriott was born September 23, 1849. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 267 

Through his mother he was descended from a family of Wil- 
sons, whose business activities have been an important factor 
in the development of Baltimore. His paternal grandfather, 
William H. Marriott, Collector of the Port of Baltimore, once 
candidate for Mayor of Baltimore, was for many years a 
prominent figure in the political, social and financial life of 
Baltimore. General Marriott married Jane McKim, a mem- 
ber of the Baltimore family of that name which has played 
such a prominent part in the history of Baltimore since the 
early days of the nineteenth century. Mr. Marriott was also 
descended from General John Hammond, of Colonial and 
Revolutionary War fame. His Marriott ancestry in Mary- 
land ran back to John Marriott, one of the earliest settlers 
on the Severn river in Anne Arundel county, Maryland, who 
arrived there about the middle of the seventeenth century. 
John Marriott was one of the strenuous type and an interest- 
ing account of some of his experiences with the Indians in 
1681 is given in the Archives of Maryland. The Marriotts 
intermarried with the Sewells and other early settlers of 
Colonial Maryland. 

Mr. Marriott married Mrs. Aline T. Marriott, nee 
Bracco, who, with one daughter, Mrs. George L. Radcliffe, 
survived him. 

The prominent position which Mr. Marriott early in life 
acquired in his profession promised a brilliant career therein. 
In early middle age, however, he was attacked by a severe 
illness and remained a partial invalid for fourteen or fifteen 
years, that is, until his death on December 18, 1912. In the 
work of his profession Mr. Marriott showed marked ability. 
Possibly, however, his most distinguishing characteristic was 
a judicial cast of mind, exhaustive and impartial in its work- 
ings, combined with a spirit of toleration, gentleness and 
patient endurance. 



ABIJAH H. EATON 

TN the year 1877, Baltimore first knew Abijah H. Eaton as 
" a young man of fine points, who had come out of the west 
via the maritime Provinces of Canada, gathering during the 
years 1867 to 1877, considerable reputation as a promoter of 
business schools, and as the joint author of a text book on 
arithmetic. Baltimore quickly endorsed the young educator, 
and until his death forty years thereafter, he was the head of 
the leading business college of that city, a member of the bar, 
and an author of standard textbooks. He passed from man- 
hood to the prime of life, reached the crest, and for several 
years walked amid lengthened shadows, but his ambition did 
not abate, although the physical man weakened, neither did 
his mental power deteriorate, and during his seventy-sixth 
summer, 1916, he revised and enlarged a work on bookkeep- 
ing, corporation voucher, and cost accounting. He was wide- 
ly known as the founder of Eaton and Burnett's Business Col- 
lege, and in Grace Methodist Episcopal Church as the faith- 
ful, devoted member of thirty years standing. 

Mr. Eaton came from one of the oldest Colonial families, 
his ancestor, Francis Eaton, a passenger on the "Mayflower," 
his name on the list of Signers of the "Compact," the first 
form of government under which the Pilgrims lived. From 
Francis Eaton sprang a distinguished line of descendants, 
soldiers of the Revolutionary War, and in every war their 
country has ever waged, leaders in the professions, in public 
life, and in business. Abijah H. Eaton was a grandson of 
Nathaniel Eaton, of Boston, Massachusetts, and a son of 
Friend and Mary (Law) Eaton, who moved to Akron, Sum- 
mit county, Ohio. 

Abijah H. Eaton was born in Akron, Ohio, April 26, 
1840, and died in Baltimore, Maryland, December 29, 1917. 




CC<9&. ^tz^crrt^ 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 269 

In 1845, his parents moved to Doylestown, Wayne county, 
Ohio, and there he attended public and private school, and 
took special business courses under private teachers. When 
the Civil War called the manhood of the north to the "colors," 
he, with three brothers, enlisted, Abijah H. safely passing the 
perils of war and returning to his family. In 1865, in com- 
pany with Joel Warner, he opened an English school in 
Chatham, capital of Kent county, Ontario, Canada, and at 
the same time entered as a special student in the British- 
American Business College at Toronto, completing a business 
course of study which he needed in the career he had marked 
out for himself. He taught in Musgrove and Wright's Busi- 
ness College in Ottawa, capital of the Dominion of Canada, 
for one year (1866), going thence to St. John, New Bruns- 
wick, in the winter of 1867. There he founded Eaton's Busi- 
ness College and began his half a century connection with 
business college promotion and management. Eaton's Busi- 
ness College of St. John prospered, and in 1868 a college of 
the same name was founded in Halifax, Nova Scotia, and 
in 1870, a similar institution was opened by Mr. Eaton at 
Charlottetown, capital of Prince Edward Island, Canada. 
The same year the Eaton and Frazee's Commercial Arithme- 
tic, the first of his series of text books, was published. He 
placed Eaton's Business College at St. John under the man- 
agement of Samuel Kerr, in 1876, and entered Harvard Law 
School, completing a law course. He closed out his Canadian 
interests in 1877, and located in the city of Baltimore, and 
there purchased a half interest in Bryant, Stratton and Sadler 
Business College. The same year he was admitted to the 
Baltimore bar, and for a season practiced his profession and 
taught in the business college. In 1878, he opened a school 
for business instruction, was joined by Professor E. Burnett, 
the result of this connection being the founding of Eaton and 



270 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

Burnett's Business College, a school which drew its patrons 
from all parts of the United States and from Mexico. The 
proprietors published that standard text book which went 
through three editions, Eaton and Burnett's Theoretical and 
Practical Bookkeeping, and in 1 88 1 Mr. Eaton wrote and 
published Eaton and Burnett's Commercial Law, a third edi- 
tion of that work being issued in 1887. In 1891, he began 
preparation of Eaton and Burnett's Practical Banking, based 
on the National banking system. His last work, completed 
during the summer of 1916, was on "Bookkeeping, Corporation 
Voucher and Cost Accounting." He continued the able head 
of the institution for forty years, succumbing to the "last call" 
at the age of seventy-seven years. He was an educator of 
learning and skill, infinitely kind, patient and conscientious, 
holding high ideals of his responsibilities, and very faithful in 
the discharge of every duty. The value of his life cannot be 
estimated, but must be found in the lives of the thousands of 
young men who have passed from under his instruction out 
into the world of business. He lived worthily and well, be- 
queathing to the city of his adoption an educational institu- 
tion of merit, and to posterity an honored name and a record 
of usefulness. 

Mr. Eaton married (first) in 1868, Emma Andrews, of 
Milltown, Canada, who died in 1884, leaving three sons: 
John Bernard, born in 1869, died March 17, 1891 ; Clarence 
Jackson, born in 1875, a resident of Baltimore; Donald Law, 
born January 14, 1878, died August 9, 1902. Mr. Eaton mar- 
ried (second) Harriet E. Smith, of St. John, New Bruns- 
wick, Canada, who died in 1914. 




ALFRED DUNCAN BERNARD 

A LFRED D. BERNARD, lawyer and political economist, 
was born in Baltimore, Maryland, March 25, 1868. He 
was the son of Richard Bernard, born in Bandon, County 
Cork, Ireland, 1840, and Frances Duncan Bernard. He was 
educated in the grade schools, Baltimore City College, Loyola 
College, and the University of Maryland, from which he 
graduated in 1889, receiving the degree of LL.B. 

Through his connection with the law firm of Richard 
Bernard & Son, Alfred D. Bernard became an ardent student 
of political economy. The real estate transactions of the office 
naturally led him to the study of real estate values in Balti- 
more and the counties. But the study soon spread and he be- 
came interested in land values all over the country. In con- 
junction with his profession, Mr. Bernard continued the study 
of real estate, as an avocation, for many years, until 1904, 
when the great Baltimore fire brought about the need for a 
Burnt District Commission, upon which Mr. Bernard was 
appointed. Mr. Bernard served so efficiently in this capacity 
that when the work of the commission was completed, he was 
retained by the city officials as real estate expert for the Appeal 
Tax Court. While holding this position, Mr. Bernard, with 
his colleague, Mr. Thomas J. Lindsay, devised a system of 
real estate valuation known as the Lindsay-Bernard Rule, 
which is employed exclusively by the Baltimore Tax Court. 
As the real estate officer of the United States Fidelity and 
Guarantee Company, Mr. Bernard found the opportunity to 
publish a book entitled "Some Principles and Problems of 
Real Estate Valuation." The book was written as a guide and 
text for appraisers, and has received favorable comment and 
praise from some of the foremost real estate experts in the 
country. Through the fame of his book Mr. Bernard's ability 



272 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

attracted widespread attention throughout the country, and he 
was called into consultation by the officers of the city of 
Cambridge, Massachusetts, in regard to their assessment 
methods, while at Harvard University for the purpose of 
lecturing. 

Following the death of Mr. Bernard the Mayor of Balti- 
more said: "We will not be able to replace him. His exper- 
ience was invaluable to us. Mr. Bernard saved the city not 
thousands but millions of dollars. " In speaking of Mr. Ber- 
nard's ability and character, Judge John Gill, president of 
the Appeal Tax Court, said : "The city could always rely upon 
his work. He was peculiarly fitted to the work of the depart- 
ment, patient, and without prejudice of any kind. He was a 
man of even temper, and mature judgment, quiet, indus- 
trious and painstaking. His death is a distinct loss to the 
city, and to the Appeal Tax Court especially." Aside from 
real estate and law, Mr. Bernard was much interested in 
patriotic work. He was a member of the Society of the Sons 
of the American Revolution, and was president of the Society 
of the War of 1812 at the time of his death. 

During his career as a real estate expert, and as a mem- 
ber of several patriotic societies, Mr. Bernard made many 
speeches and wrote many essays on various subjects. Notable 
among these are his essays on taxation, published in the 
"Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social 
Science." 

Aside from Mr. Bernard's reputation as a business man, 
he also had an enviable reputation as a fine character. 
Throughout his life he was temperate, broad-minded, kind- 
hearted, affectionate and patient. He was noted for the beau- 
tiful attitude he maintained toward his father, it being more 
like that existing between two affectionate brothers than be- 
tween father and son. So great was the attachment between 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 273 

them that upon the death of Alfred U. Bernard his father 
was unable to resume business, and died a few months after, 
grief-stricken over the death of his beloved son. Mr. Bernard 
was married twice, and was survived by his second wife, 
Theresa Elizabeth Bernard, and his only son, Richard C. Ber- 
nard. 

The news of Mr. Bernard's death, on April 19, 1916, 
was a shock to all his friends and associates, as he was thought 
to have been in good health up to the time of his death. In 
his honor the flag on the city hall was placed at half mast, 
and the courts adjourned with appropriate eulogies by promi- 
nent lawyers and judges. 




HD It 



SAMUEL KIRK 

/ T*0 the Quaker family of Kirk belongs the honor of estab- 
listing in Baltimore one of the first manufacturies of 
silverware in this country, and that city owes much of its 
moral worth and commercial standing to the high character 
of this family. The Kirks were silversmiths in ancient times 
in England, and the ancestry has been traced to Godfrey 
Kirk, a member of the Chesterfield Monthly Meeting of 
Quakers in England. 

(II) John Kirk, son of Godfrey Kirk, was born June 14, 
1660, at Alfreton, Derbyshire, England, and came to Ameri- 
ca about 1682-83, locating in Darby township, in what is now 
Delaware county, Pennsylvania. He was an extensive land 
owner, and died 8th month (October), 1705. He married, 
about the 2nd month (April) 1688, Joan, daughter of Peter 
Ellet, who survived him, as she did also a second husband, 
and was living in 1735. Children: 1. Anne, born 1688-89, 
in Darby, married Benjamin Peters. 2. Godfrey, born Novem- 
ber 27, 1690, married, February 17, 1725, Rachel Ellis. 3. 
John, mentioned below. 4. Samuel, born November n, 1693, 
died unmarried. 5. Mary, born February 17, 1695, died 
January n, 1782; married, October 20, 1715, John Warner. 
6. Elizabeth, born May 9, 1696, died November 8, 1774; mar- 
ried, January, 1719, John Twining. 7. Joseph, born Sep- 
tember 1, 1697, married, September, 1723, Ann Hood, died 
November 16, 1773. 8. Sarah, born February 23, 1699, mar- 
ried, July 23, 1723, Nathaniel Twining, died 1775. 9. Wil- 
liam, born October 31, 1700, married (first) May, 1723, 
Elizabeth Rhoads, (second) June 9, 1747, Mary Ellis, died 
May 8, 1749. 10. Isaac, born April 23, 1703, died about 
1781; married (first), December 9, 1730, Elizabeth Twin- 
ing, (second), September 4, 1746, Rachel Kinsey. 11. 











yb r 

St ' ^BBhT""* ^^ BnH 




^^H ^L2J 


jM 




. 


*#^H * v 


- 


tlk. 


^fl 




^K 










- 




GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 275 

Thomas, born February 26, 1705, died February 14, 1752; 
married, October 28, 173 1 , Mary Shaw. 

(III) John (2) Kirk, second son of John (1) and Joan 
(Ellet) Kirk, was born March 29, 1692, in Darby, Penn- 
sylvania, and died in Abington township, Philadelphia (now 
Montgomery) county, August 9, 1759. He married at Ab- 
ington Meeting, October 17, 1722, Sarah Tyson, born Novem- 
ber 12, 1698, buried June 19, 1780, daughter of Reynear 
Tyson and Mary (Roberts) Tyson, of Abington. Children: 
1. John, born September 30, 1723, died in childhood. 2. 
Reynear, born June 28, 1725, died 1799; was a farmer in 
Abington township and Upper Dublin; he married (first), 
May 24, 1748, Mary Michener, who died in 1766; (second), 
Elizabeth Wilkins. 3. Margaret, born September 7, 1727, 
married Nathaniel Loofborrow, Jr. 4. Elizabeth, born Sep- 
tember 25, 1730, died January 10, 1820; married, November 
21, 1752, John Spencer. 5. Mary, born October 29, 1732, 
died February 22, 1761 ; married, August 19, 1753, William 
Loofborrow. 6. Isaac, mentioned below. 7. Jacob (twin 
with Isaac), born September 30, 1735, died October 13, 1829; 
was a farmer in Abington; was born, lived and died in the 
same house; he married, May 14, 1760, Elizabeth Cleaver. 
8. Sarah, born October 12, 1737; married (first), December 
23, 1761, her brother-in-law, William Loofborrow, for which 
she was disowned by Abington and Philadelphia Friends' 
Meeting; (second) Samuel Spencer. 

(IV) Isaac Kirk, third son of John (2) and Sarah 
(Tyson) Kirk, was born September 30, 1735, died June 17, 
1826. He resided in Upper Dublin township, Montgomery 
county, Pennsylvania, where he was a farmer. His will was 
proved at Norristown, July 6, 1826. He married, June 20, 
1756, Mary Tyson, born April 28, 1733, died June 1, 1828, 
daughter of John and Priscilla (Naylor) Tyson. Mary 



276 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

(Tyson) Kirk died intestate, and letters of administration 
were granted June 5, 1828, to Isaac Tyson, John Child, John 
Kirk and John Tyson. Children : Priscilla, born about March 
13, 1757, died April 3, 1834; married, May 25, 1780, Absolom 
Michener. 2. Sarah, born February 10, 1759, died October 
12, 1815; married, May 22, 1788, Henry Child. 3. Eliza- 
beth, born April 11, 1761, died December 10, 1849; married, 
January 22, 1784, Jesse Cleaver. 4. John, born February 29, 
1764, died July 7, 1813; married Mary Dungan. 5. Joseph, 
mentioned below. 6. Susanna, born November 18, 1767, died 
April 5, 1838; married William North. 7. Mary, born June 
25, 1770, married Isaac Tyson. 8. Isaac, born June 4, 1773, 
died April 5, 1827; married, October 1, 1807, Sarah Rush. 
9. Margaret, born July 18, 1775, died November 12, 1852; 
married Thomas Marple. 

(V) Joseph Kirk, second son of Isaac and Mary (Tyson) 
Kirk, was born April 12, 1766, died August 1, 1829. He was 
a carpenter by trade, and lived in Doylestown, Pennsylvania, 
and later at Philadelphia. He married, July 5, 1787, at the 
Presbyterian church in Philadelphia, Grace Child, born 
December 26, 1765, daughter of John and Sarah (Shoemaker) 
Child. Children: 1. Eliza, married James Warner. 2. Pris- 
cilla, died young. 3. Isaac, married Margaret Stinson, and 
resided in Baltimore county, Maryland. 4. Joseph, died 1812, 
in United States Army, in Canada, unmarried. 5. Samuel, 
mentioned below. 6. Absolom, died in infancy. 7. Sarah, 
married Dr. John S. Rich, who practiced in Doylestown, 
Pennsylvania. 8. Mary, died 1845, unmarried. 9. Hannah, 
married John T. Smith. 10. Robert Sherman, born June 23, 
1800, died in Baltimore county, Maryland, June 24, 1872; 
married Ellen Alvira Waters. The Child family, like that 
of Kirk, was for many generations engaged in the manufac- 
ture of plate, and has been traced to Sir Francis Child, a gold- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 277 

smith of London. The banking business originated with the 
goldsmiths of London, with whom people of property kept 
running accounts for safety rather than keep their valuables 
at home. The Childs for generations were first goldsmiths 
and then bankers. In the latter capacity they reached great 
prominence. The famous banking house of Child & Com- 
pany is still in existence, and for more than two centuries has 
played an important part both in the financial and political 
history of England. Child & Company are inserted in the 
little London Directory of 1677 as "goldsmiths keeping run- 
ning cashes." They were the first to separate the two callings. 
There is an account of their ledgers opened in 1669, before 
they divorced the two vocations, under the head of "Pawn," 
changed a few years later to "P," which has been brought 
forward from ledger to ledger under this title as their col- 
lateral loan account for over two hundred years. 

The record of this family of bankers is so interwoven, 
warp and woof, with that of the Temple Bar, the Marygold 
and their environs, that any narrative of either, without fre- 
quent reference to the others would be incomplete. Many of 
their customers addressed their cheques to "Mr. Alderman 
Child and partners, at ye Marygold, next door to Temple Bar; 
sometimes next door to the "Devil Taverne." When the head 
of the firm was Lord Mayor of London, the Earl of Oxford 
addressed his cheques "To the Worshipful the Lord Mayor 
& Co., at Temple Bar." Like most of the distinctive appella- 
tions of the goldsmiths of London, the sign of the Marygold 
originated in that of the tavern. It was the usage for suc- 
ceeding occupants to retain the sign, without reference to the 
vocation. "Messrs. Child's banking house was in the reign 
of King James First a public ordinary, the sign being the 
Marygold." When it came into the occupation of the gold- 
smiths is not definitely known, but probably about 1620, as 



278 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

the last mention of it as a public house was on St. Thomas' 
day, December 21, 1619, when it was presented to the ward- 
mote "for disturbing its next neighbors late in the nights, 
from time to time, by ill disorders." The goldsmiths held it on 
a ground rent. Sir Francis Child put the present front to 
the Marygold in 1666, the year of the great fire of London, 
although the conflagration did not reach it. An old docu- 
ment, still extant, shows that Sir Francis renewed his lease 
of the Marygold from the "Feast of St. Michael,' 1 1707, and 
the Sugar Loaf and Green Lettuce, 1714, at a yearly rental of 
60 for sixty-one years. The Sugar Loaf was an old tavern 
directly in the rear of the Marygold. Sir Francis repaired it 
in 1707 and added it to his banking premises. He subse- 
quently purchased for 2,800 the famous tavern popularly 
called the "Old Devil," which adjoined, and erected a block 
of houses, later known as "Child's Place." The "Old Devil" 
was the favorite of Ben Johnson, where he lorded over his 
confreres that were "sealed of the tribe of Ben." Here he 
sometimes met Shakespeare. Child & Company have, with 
characteristic conservativeness, preserved many very inter- 
esting relics of these three historical houses. They have the 
original sign of the Marygold and Sun, made of oak, stained 
green, with gilt border, with the motto Ainsi mon ame, now 
put over the door between the front and back office, and retain 
it on the watermark of their cheques. 

The old passageways of the Sugar Loaf with their wooden 
hat pegs, the old dining rooms, kitchens and larders, with their 
wooden meat hooks, are preserved as they were two and three 
centuries ago. In one of the rooms over the old kitchen may 
be seen the bust of Apollo, and the tablet on which the lines 
of welcome to the Apollo Room, by Ben Johnson, are en- 
graved in gold letters. When Sir Christopher Wren rebuilt 
Temple Bar, in 1666, Child & Company rented the chamber 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 279 

> 

over the arcade adjoining their premises, of the city of 
London, at a yearly rental of 20. This they used as a sort 
of muniment room for the safe keeping of their old papers 
and books of accounts, until the excavations for the founda- 
tions of the new Inner Courts of Law, in 1875, caused Temple 
Bar to settle so much that, in 1877, the city gave them notice 
to vacate. The widening of Fleet street demanded for public 
convenience the demolition of the time-honored banking 
house, and the erection of another one door east, covering 
the site of Child's Place, to which the firm moved April 15, 
1879. They are still on ancestral ground. Dickens describes 
Childs & Company characteristically in his "Tale of Two 
Cities," under the appellation of Tellson & Company as they 
were in the days of the French revolution. 

Child & Company had had a branch house in Paris, with 
the accounts of the noblesse, which were transferred to Lon- 
don during the Revolution, together with their valuables to 
be used to eke out a miserable existence, or to be settled sans 
compte rendu par les Etats executifs, the guillotine. The 
Marygold became the headquarters of the Emigres during 
the reign of terror, and its secret couriers were constantly 
passing between the two cities. The banking firm retains 
many old time usages, probably inherited from their an- 
cestors, the goldsmiths. They call their front office "the 
shop," and that in the rear, where the ledgers are kept, "the 
counting house," where they "cast up the shop" once a year. 

The family was founded in this country by Henry Child, 
of Hertfordshire, who resided in Coldshill, in the parish of 
Rindersham, and had several children. The family was 
identified with the Society of Friends. On the twentieth of 
January, 1687, Henry Child purchased five hundred acres of 
land in Plumstead, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, near the head- 
waters of the Neshaminy river, for which he paid ten pounds. 



280 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

He brought his son, Cephas, to America, and soon after 
returned to England. In 171 5 Henry Child "for the love 
and affection he beareth to his son, Cephas," gave the five 
hundred acres to him. Before attaining his majority, Cephas 
Child was placed for a time with a family in Philadelphia, 
where he was taught the carpenter's trade. He came to 
America in 1693, and married, in February, 1716, Mary At- 
kinson. They were the parents of John Child, born June 14, 
1739, in Plumstead, died in 1801, at Frankfort, Pennsylvania. 
He married, September 19, 175 1, Sarah Shoemaker, daugh- 
ter of George and Grace Shoemaker, of Warrington, Penn- 
sylvania. They were the parents of Grace Child, who became 
the wife of General Joseph Kirk, as previously related. 

(VI) Samuel Kirk, third son of Joseph and Grace 
(Child) Kirk, was born February 15, 1793, in Doylestown, 
and died July 5, 1872, in Baltimore. He was educated at a 
Friends' school, and at the age of seventeen years was ap- 
prenticed to James Howell, a silversmith of Philadelphia, 
to learn the trade. At this time his parents took up their resi- 
dence in the Quaker City. At the end of his apprenticeship he 
was offered an interest in the business of James Howell, but 
decided to embark on an independent career, and removed to 
Baltimore. In August, 1815, he purchased an account book, 
and from this is learned the date of his beginning business. 
The first entry was made in August, 18 15. His establishment 
was on Market street, and spoons, tea urns and pitchers made 
by him in 1816-18-19 are preserved by his descendants. For 
about one year he had a partner named Smith, and many 
pieces bearing the stamp of Kirk & Smith are still in existence. 
Multitudes of samples bearing the stamp of Samuel Kirk are 
among the treasures of his successors in business. His part- 
nership with Smith continued about a year, and he subsequent- 
ly carried on business alone until 1846, when his son, Henry 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 281 

Child Kirk, became a partner, and the firm name was Samuel 
Kirk & Son. In 1 86 1 two other sons were admitted, but with- 
drew about the close of the Civil War. After the death of 
Samuel Kirk, his son, Henry C. Kirk, continued business 
under the same name, until 1890, when his only son, Henry 
Child Kirk, Jr., became a partner, without change of the 
name. In 1896 the business was incorporated under the title 
of Samuel Kirk & Son Company. Samuel Kirk married. 
March 18, 18 17, Albina Powell, born October 28, 1796, died 
December 23, 1865, daughter of Joshua and Margaret (Car- 
penter) Powell. Children: 1. Eliza Grace, born January 13, 
1 8 1 8, married, January 5, 1845, Seth Hance, who died May 
2, 1884; children: Franklin, Emma and four others, all de- 
ceased. 2. James Howell, born May 24, 1821, died August 
22, 1822. 3. Hannah Jane, born May 24, 1821, died July 22, 
1822. 4. Henry Edgar, born September 24, 1822, died July 
11, 1823. 5. Margaret Jane, born December 26, 1823, died 
July 11, 1882; married Jesse Hunt. 6. Henry Child, men- 
tioned below. 7. Amanda Victoria, born December 28, 1828. 
died February 4, 1850. 8. Benjamin Powell, born April 28, 
1830, died June 26, 1834. 9. Helen Albina, born February 28, 
1835, unmarried. 10. Charles Douglas, born February 27, 
1840, died January 5, 1880; married, April 2, 1861, Cassandra 
Ashton Anderson. 11. Edwin Clarence, born April 28, 1842, 
died July 1 1, 1876, unmarried. 

(VII) Henry Child Kirk, third son of Samuel and 
Albina (Powell) Kirk, was born February 9, 1826, in Balti- 
more, and became a practical silversmith under his father's 
instructions. In due course of time he was made head of the 
corporation of Samuel Kirk & Son Company, and though 
eighty-nine years of age at the time of his death was actively 
interested in the business. In hjs time the volume of business 
transacted was very greatly increased, and he was brought into 



282 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

prominence in the silver world, having many friends through- 
out the country. For more than fifty years Mr. Kirk was 
treasurer of the Franklin Street Presbyterian Church, of 
Baltimore. During his presidency the company suffered two 
fires, the first on June 30, 1903, and the second in the great 
Baltimore conflagration of February 7, 1904. In the latter 
fire the building was totally destroyed, but all the original draw- 
ings, designs and patterns were preserved. He married (first) 
Virginia E. Hardesty, born in 1831, died August 21, 1855. He 
married (second) Lucy Strother Buckner, daughter of Bailey 
and Mildred (Strother) Buckner. He married (third) Eliza 
Hollins, daughter of George and Lydia (Campbell) Hollins, 
died April 22, 1900. Children by first wife: i. Olivia 
Hardesty, married William Higgins Conkling; children: 
William, deceased; Elizabeth Baldwin; William Higgins; 
Olivia H. 2. Alice Virginia, married Martin L. Millspaugh, 
and had children: Alice Virginia, Laurence, and Henry 
Child Kirk Millspaugh, deceased. Children by second wife: 
3. Mildred Buckner, married William Thomas Walter Mc- 
Cay, deceased, and had one child, Mildred Buckner. 4. Henry 
Child, born December 16, 1868, succeeded his father as presi- 
dent of Samuel Kirk & Son Company; he married, October 
22, 1891, Edith Huntemuller, born March 26, 1872; chil- 
dren: Edith Buckner, born December 20, 1892; Mary Hunte- 
muller, March 21, 1896; Ann Strother, August 29, 1901. 
Child by third wife: 5. Lydia Hensworth, married Roderick 
D. Donaldson; two children. 




JAMES H. SMITH 

OEVENTY-SIX were the years allotted James H. Smith, of 
Baltimore, and many of those years were spent in the pub- 
lic service of his city, the most important office held being 
that of comptroller of the city. His life until 1870 was a 
continual endeavor to "rind" himself, and as a machinist, 
merchant and justice of the peace, those years wers spent. 
Finally he became a law student, was admitted to the Balti- 
more bar, and in law study, practice and public service the 
last half century of his life was passed. He was a man of 
ability and high character, having important relations with 
many of the interests of his city. In the annexation fight of 
1886, he made common cause with the annexationists, and was 
a powerful advocate of that cause. He was fearless in public 
action, and in the office he held stood only for that which was 
right, good and true. He descended from that strictest of 
sects, the Scotch-Irish Presbyterian, and those North of Ire- 
land ancestors were not more loyal in their faith than he. 
James H. Smith was a son of Henry Smith, and a grand- 
son of Rev. Alexander Smith, Scotch-Irish by parentage, and 
by profession a Presbyterian minister, of County Donegal, 
Ireland. There, Henry Smith was born, and resided at the 
Manse until eighteen years of age, then coming to the United 
States and locating in Howard county, Maryland. There he 
learned the machinist's trade, later came to Woodberry, Balti- 
more county, becoming clerk, later general bookkeeper for 
the McVernon Manufacturing Company, continuing with 
that corporation until his death at the age of sixty-eight. He 
was an elder of the Presbyterian church, and a man highly 
respected. He married Sarah Ayler, born on the eastern 
shore of Maryland, who died in Baltimore, aged forty-five, 
daughter of Henry Ayler. They were the parents of three 



284 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

sons and a daughter: James H., of further mention; William 
O., who succeeded his father as general bookkeeper of the Mc- 
Vernon Manufacturing Company; Joseph M., a merchant of 
Baltimore, and Sarah E. Smith, deceased. 

James H. Smith, son of Henry and Sarah (Ayler) 
Smith, was born in Baltimore, March 17, 1841, died in his 
native city, August 20, 1917. He was educated in the city 
public schools and Newell's Commercial Institute, completing 
the regular course at the last named institution at the age of 
sixteen. He then determined to learn the machinist's trade, 
and for five years he was apprentice and journeyman with 
Poole & Hunt, of Baltimore. He did not longer pursue that 
calling, but became a merchant in Woodberry, at the same 
time holding office of Justice of the Peace, which office he 
held for ten years. His experiences as justice turned his 
thoughts to the law as a profession, and finally he began a 
regular course of legal study under L. P. D. Newman. He 
continued a student until 1870, then was admitted to the 
Maryland bar, and began practice, opening an office at No. 
1 1 East Lexington street. He developed strong qualities as 
a lawyer, and continued in practice until his death. For 
many years Mr. Smith was the legal adviser of Dr. David H. 
Carroll, of Woodberry, and associated with the doctor in 
much of his real estate dealings. He took an active part in 
securing the annexation to Baltimore of that portion of the 
city lying north of North avenue in 1886, and when the sub- 
ject was brought before the people for decision his voice was 
a potent one in favor thereof. He was a director of the Pro- 
vident Savings Bank, and had other important business in- 
terests. 

A Democrat in politics, Mr. Smith first entered the public 
service in 1889, being in that year elected to represent the 
twenty-second ward in the first branch of the City Council. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 285 

Three times he was re-elected, his entire service covering a 
continuous term of seven years. Three of those years he was 
chairman of the Committee of Ways and Means, and at all 
times an influential member. In 1893 ne was elected in the 
second branch of the City Council, serving for two years in 
that body, and during the entire period was its president. In 
1896 he was again elected from the twenty-second ward to 
the first branch of the City Council, again serving on the 
Committee of Ways and Means. He was also at one time 
County Commissioner; President of the Baltimore Association 
for improving the condition of the poor; president of the 
commission for opening streets under Mayor Timanus, and 
comptroller of the city under Mayor Hayes. He was an elder 
of the Maryland Avenue Presbyterian Church, and a long 
time member of that congregation. 

Mr. Smith married in Baltimore county, May 27, 1873, 
Frances R. Gibson, born in Harford county, Maryland, who 
survives him, daughter of James F. Gibson, a former mer- 
chant of Baltimore county. Two children: Emma B. and 
Franklin Howard Smith, also residents of Baltimore, survive 
their father. 




DAVID HUTZLER 

TWTERCHANT, citizen, friend, showing in each capacity 
an exalted conception of duty, David Hutzler was a 
notable example of the right-thinking, far-seeing men who 
contribute largely to communal and municipal progress. It 
was characteristic of the solid quality of the business with 
which he was connected, Hutzler Brothers, that it should 
have been conducted for over half a century on the same spot 
where in 1858 it began. The business expanded of course, 
modern methods and inventions were adopted as they showed 
their value, but the foundations were laid broad and deep 
at the beginning and were adequate to carry the imposing 
structure erected thereon. 

Early in his career, David Hutzler displayed his interest 
in public affairs and there were few movements for civic 
betterment, for the advancement of education, art, and music 
with which he was not intimately connected. Indeed, when a 
non-professional man was required for public service, his 
name perhaps rose oftenest in the mind of the citizens of 
Baltimore as the person best fitted for the place, both by rea- 
son of his ability and through his well-known, strong desire 
to be of service to his city and fellowmen; yet he resolutely 
refused political office, but was always willing to serve city 
or State on commission or committee for a stated purpose, and 
was connected with some of the most important movements 
instituted for the public good. 

He was a notable figure in social life, and his friends and 
acquaintances were drawn from an unusually large field. In 
appearance he presented a striking and dignified figure, re- 
vealing to the observer at a glance a man devoted to the 
higher interests of men and affairs. He was affable and most 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 287 

considerate, though tenaciously maintaining the opinions for- 
med after mature deliberation. He held to high ideals, vigor 
and alertness, mental and physical, distinguished him, and 
although he exceeded the Psalmist's il three score years and 
ten" he never created the impression of an elderly man. On 
the contrary he maintained to the last a zest and enthusiasm 
for public problems, travel and literature. He was keenly 
alive to the trend of events, absorbed their meaning, and vig- 
orously championed the cause he approved. 

The business of which David Hutzler was the executive 
head at the time of his death was founded in 1848 in a two- 
story building at the corner of Howard and Clay streets, Bal- 
timore, the site of the present magnificent building occupied 
by Hutzler Brothers, dry goods merchants. The firm name 
was originally M. Hutzler & Son, the father, Moses Hutzler, 
allowing his son Abram G. to use his name as he was a minor 
and could not obtain credit on account of his youth. With 
him was associated his brother, David Hutzler, then a lad of 
fifteen, who acted as clerk. The business prospered and until 
1 86 1 the brothers were together. Then Abram G. and an- 
other brother, Charles G. Hutzler, who had been in the job- 
bing business, joined forces and opened a wholesale notion 
business on Baltimore street. This left the youngest brother 
David in sole charge of the original store on Howard street, 
and so well did he manage and develop it that in 1884 the 
two elder brothers gave up their wholesale business in order 
that the three might devote their combined energies to the 
Howard street store which in 1874 na d been enlarged to five 
times the original size. Adjoining property was bought and 
enlargement followed enlargement until in 1886 the present 
main building was erected, while the last annex was con- 
structed immediately after the great fire of 1904. 



288 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



In the course of half a century there were few changes 
in the firm and none save those caused by death. In 1907 
Charles G. Hutzler died, after devoting his life to the up- 
building of the business. This left David and Abram G. 
sole owners of the business. Later Edwin B. and Louis S., 
sons of Charles G. Hutzler, Albert D., son of David Hutzler, 
and Henry Oppenheimer, his son-in-law, were admitted. 
With the death of David Hutzler in 1916, Abram G., the 
founder, was left as head of the business, which strictly speak- 
ing is not a department store, but has been maintained ac- 
cording to the intent of the founder as a high class dry goods 
store. Founded on a conservative basis it has ever been con- 
ducted in sympathy with the high ideals and principles taught 
by the father, Moses Hutzler, to his three sons. At the top 
of the capstone on the Howard Clay corner of the store build- 
ing, the face of his father is carved in stone by the express 
order of the son who thus testified his appreciation of his 
father's help and guidance. When, in 1908, the house cele- 
brated its fiftieth anniversary, so thoroughly had they won 
the good will and confidence of the city that the anniversary 
partook of the nature of a public occasion. 

David Hutzler, youngest son of Moses and Caroline 
Hutzler, was born in Baltimore, June 13, 1843, and died in 
the city of his birth, January 21, 1 91 5. From the age of fif- 
teen years he was connected with the business of which he 
was president at his death, Hutzler Brothers, and while there 
was the warmest feelings existing between the brothers that 
between the elder, Abram G., and the younger, David, was 
most remarkable. The boy David was first the elder brother's 
clerk, then his partner, then his ranking partner, and finally, 
after fifty-seven years closest intimacy, passed on leaving the 
elder of the brothers the last survivor. In addition to his 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 289 

presidency of Hutzler Brothers Company, David Hutzler 
was a director of the Merchants-Mechanics National Bank, 
the Eutavv Savings Bank and the Fidelity and Deposit Com- 
pany. 

While as president of Hutzler Brothers his name was 
a household word in Baltimore, and he was a life-long and 
potent factor in the business world, his public spirit and 
thorough familiarity with all the stages and phases of Balti- 
more's development made him a most valuable counselor and 
helper in civic affairs, and several city administrations called 
upon him to aid in smoothing out intricate problems or in 
dealing with special emergencies. On the numerous occa- 
sions upon which he served the city and the State officially, 
as a member of various commisions and committees, he 
brought to his task a soundness of judgment and a resourse- 
fulness which materially aided in the solution of the problems 
under consideration. He was a constructive force in the true 
meaning of the term, and his value was nowhere more ap- 
parent than, after the great fire, on that splendid body of 
men who formed the Emergency Committee. 

Mr. Hutzler was vice-president of the Baltimore Board 
of Trade and chairman of its committee on Municipal Affairs; 
committee chairman of the National Board of Trade; director 
of the Merchants and Manufacturers Association. After a 
defalcation was discovered which discredited city methods 
of accounting, the four principal trade boards of the city, the 
Board of Trade, the Chamber of Commerce, the Merchants & 
Manufacturers Association, and the Clearing House, formed 
a committee of municipal research for protection and elected 
David Hutzler chairman of that committee. After six 
months' work the committee gave to the city a fine system of 
accounting which was afterward accepted by the New Char- 

MD.-18 



290 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

ter Commission of which Mr. Hutzler was a member, he 
being the only active merchant serving on that commission 
which was composed mostly of professional men. For four- 
teen years he represented the Baltimore Board of Trade on the 
National Board of Trade. In that body he took a deep interest 
in postal affairs, and in his effort to secure one cent postage 
framed a resolution which brought to light the fact that maga- 
zines paid but one cent per pound for the delivery that cost 
the government eight cents per pound. Mr. Hutzler showed 
that the profit of first class mail matter was 275%, but that 
profit disappeared by the loss on second class matter. He es- 
timated that loss at $50,000,000 annually. President Taft, 
in his special message to Congress, showed the loss to be $63,- 
000,000, while the Postmaster General's report places it at 
$70,000,000. He was also chairman of the Parcels Post Com- 
mittee of the National board and labored to secure the passage 
of the Parcels Post law. Mr. Hutzler was also a member of 
the committee, active in recommending the establishment of 
the Department of Commerce and Labor as a part of the Na- 
tional Government, a department whose usefulness to the coun- 
try has been abundantly proven. 

When the great fire of 1904 left Baltimore the gigantic task 
of rehabilitation, Mayor McLane sought for the best men to 
aid him in solving the difficult problems which followed each 
other in quick succession. One of the first to whom he turned 
was David Hutzler, whom he named a member of the State 
Special Relief Committee. Out of $158,000 placed to the 
credit of that committee but $23,000 was used, the remainder 
being returned to the state treasury. It is also notable that no 
monetary assistance was accepted from out-of-town, although 
the Trade League of Philadelphia invited Mr. Hutzler to 
draw upon them for $50,000. A similar public spirit prompt- 
ed him to become at the request of Sir William Osier the 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 291 

first treasurer of the Maryland Society for the Relief and 
Prevention of Tuberculosis. For twenty-seven years he was 
a director of the Hebrew Orphan Asylum, also its president; 
a member of the National Conference of Charities and Cor- 
rection; the United Association for the Study and Preven- 
tion of Tuberculosis (a special committee of the International 
Tuberculosis Congress) ; life member of the National Red 
Cross Association; the State Aids and Charities of Maryland; 
and the Federal Charities of Baltimore. He was also a mem- 
ber of the executive committee of the Red Cross Association of 
Maryland, and at the time of the San Francisco fire served 
on the special committee appointed to render assistance. 

At the Chicago Columbian Exposition of 1893, ne re P~ 
resented Maryland, and in 1901 acted as a delegate to the 
Peace Conference between Great Britain and the United 
States held in Washington. In April, 1907, he represented 
Baltimore at the Peace Conference held in New York City. 
He was an ardent lover of music and one of the supporters 
of grand opera in the city. As a boy he aided in organizing 
the Harmony Circle, was the master of ceremonies when but 
a youth, and afterward served as its president, as he also 
served Mendelssohn Literary Association of which he was 
a charter member. He earnestly worked for and generously 
contributed to the support of Johns Hopkins University en- 
dowment fund, and for a similar fund for Goucher College; 
interested himself in the Municipal Art Society, and the many 
organizations the object of which was to make Baltimore a 
better, more beautiful residential city. He was a member 
and an ex-president of the Phoenix Club, member of the 
Suburban and of the City Clubs, all of Baltimore, and of the 
City Club of New York City. In the Masonic order he was 
a past master of Arcana Lodge, No. no, Free and Accepted 
Masons, having been master of that lodge several terms; and 



292 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

was past high priest of Adoniram Chapter, No. 21, Royal 
Arch Masons. For many years he was one of the active mem- 
bers of Hao Sinai Congregation, and in the closing passage 
of his address at the funeral of his parishioner, Dr. Ruhen- 
stein, of Hao Sinai Temple, said: 

No man needs a eulogy whose life was so well spent as that of our 
lamented friend. Besides our sacred dead are beyond both our praise and 
our blame. They dwell where the Eternal abides and our human judgment 
avails not. If I speak of the good works of this truly exemplary man now 
gone to his reward it is an incentive for us, the living, who mourn him, to 
see in life a constant opportunity for service, a means of realizing the higher 
ideals. Like our lamented friend, let us endeavor to make our life a 
benediction. 

So his useful life was passed, the foregoing being little 
more than an outline of his life and work and of the influence 
he exerted. His genial, generous disposition won him many 
personal friends, but as a loyal son of Baltimore the city 
claimed him. In his home the natural dignity of the man 
relaxed and there he was at his best. His life was well spent 
and it may be truly said of him that "the world is better for 
his having lived in it." 

Mr. Hutzler married, February 25, 1874, Ella J. Gutman, 
daughter of Joel Gutman, of Baltimore. They were the par- 
ents of two sons and three daughters: Albert D., married 
Gretchen, daughter of Max Hochechild, of Baltimore; Joel 
Gutman David ; Cora, married Henry Oppenheimer; Theresa, 
since deceased, married Professor Jacob H. Hollander; and 
Mabel. 




WILLIAM SHEPARD BRYAN, Jr. 

/ TX) HAVE achieved eminence at the Baltimore bar argues 
in itself a man of highest attainment, and no higher eu- 
logy of William S. Bryan, Jr. is possible than to state that 
he was one of the brightest legal lights of that bar and at one 
time attorney general of the State of Maryland. Brilliant, 
learned, he was a formidable, aggressive adversary, but honor- 
able in his legal controversies, holding sacred the highest 
ideals of the profession he honored. Keen and caustic in 
his wit, but lovable and warm-hearted, his nature a true gentle- 
man under every condition. 

He was extremely independent in thought and action, 
conservative rather than radical, but despised vascillation or 
indecision. His mind was a storehouse of facts, legal prin- 
ciples, adjudicated cases, historical and classical allusions, 
upon which he drew freely. He also possessed a fund of 
illustrations which were neither historical nor classical, but 
always conveyed the idea he was seeking to illuminate. He 
was so positive in his own nature that he had no patience with 
lawyer or judge who, to use one of his own favorite illustra- 
tions, concluded that "two and two made about four." Few 
men in the State were more successful than he in the practice 
of their professions, and no man in the State had so wide an 
acquaintance. He knew men in every walk of life and his 
interest in the public welfare was keen and unremitting. He 
was adviser to the Democratic party of Maryland, and himself, 
a Democrat of the highest type, he fought for political hon- 
esty and integrity, hating the shams of pretense, judging men 
of his own party as well as the opposition, not by their own 
claims for preferment, but by their true merit to serve the 
people well in the office to which they aspired. He loved the 
excitement of a close political contest and was at his best when 



294 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

pleading with an audience of voters to support the principles 
and the candidates of his party. His wit and readiness at 
repartee charmed his friends and made him ever a most wel- 
come guest, and he was the most loyal of friends. 

William Shepard Bryan, Jr., son of Judge William S. 
Bryan, of the Court of Appeals, was born in Baltimore in 
1859, died in the city of his birth, April 3, 1914. His father, 
a native son of North Carolina, and a warm southern sympa- 
thizer, married Elizabeth Edmonson Hayward, of Talbot 
county, Maryland, and located in Baltimore, where he be- 
came an eminent member of the bar, and judge of the Court 
of Appeals. After leaving St. Michael's School, Reisterstown, 
the son attended Bethel Military Academy, at Farquier 
county, Virginia ; later entered the law school of the University 
of Virginia, having previously read law in his father's office, 
whence he was graduated. He returned to Baltimore, 
office, whence he was graduated. He returned to Baltimore, 
was admitted to the bar and began practice, and but a few 
years passed ere he had assumed an important position among 
the rising young lawyers of the city. During those first years 
he was at one time a partner with George R. Gaither. In 
1 89 1 he formed a partnership with Edward N. Rich, an old 
school chum, and for about eleven years he practiced in part- 
nership with A. deR. Sappington. He became one of the 
foremost lawyers of his day and could have become a judge, 
but he never desired to be, saying that he was not suited 
temperamentally for the bench. 

Mr. Bryan was eminently fair in his conduct of law cases, 
this endearing him to his opponents in the face of the fact 
that he often lost his temper, saying or doing things that would 
ordinarily offend. At times he incurred criticism for seeming 
to be in contempt of court. One judge remarked upon one 
occasion that Mr. Bryan "was not in contempt of court be- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 295 

cause he did not mean to be." In his conversation out of 
court he generally worked around to a legal question, his 
mind trained in that channel so thoroughly that he could not 
help himself. But he was a wide reader of other than law 
books; biography, history and mythology interested him, and 
he was well informed on general literature. His power of 
concentration was wonderful. When he read any judge's 
opinion he studied beyond the point decided, to learn some- 
thing of the character of the man who rendered the decision. 
He was essentially a controversialist, a lover of debate on 
public questions, a critic of legislators, editors, and reformers. 
Conservative in his own views he was opposed to men of the 
Roosevelt and Bryan type, saying of the latter, "His name is 
too much like my own for me to like him." 

It was not long after Mr. Bryan's admission to the bar 
before he was discovered by the Democratic party organiza- 
tion as of superior merit, and he became one of the party 
leaders and counselors. He was elected counsel to the board 
of election supervisors, the first city attorney, city counselor, 
first city solicitor and was attorney general of the State of 
Maryland during Governor Warfield's administration, that 
being the last public office he held. He did not seek office, 
neither did he decline it, believing that it was every man's 
duty to stick to his party through thick and thin, and he 
hated a "bolter." He was chief adviser to I. Freeman Rasin 
when he was at the head of the party in Baltimore, and was 
held in high esteem by Mr. Rasin's friends, from the fact that 
his opinions and advice were found to be s.ound. Mr. Rasin 
did not always follow Mr. Bryan's advice, but heeded it very 
often to his own advantage. 

About a year prior to his death, Mr. Bryan decided to 
enter the race for United States senator, to succeed Senator 
Lee, and wrote to President Wilson stating that fact. Al- 



296 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

though encouraged by his friends to make the attempt, he 
finally decided not to do so. Although he had many warm 
friends he cared little for society and always remained a 
bachelor. He was extremely fond of baseball and attended 
as many games as he possibly could and delivered the address 
of congratulation to the "Orioles," in October, 1894, me Y ear 
they first won the championship. The death of Mr. Bryan 
called for expressions of regret and eulogy from the bench and 
bar, and the State of Maryland officially recognized the blow 
which had fallen upon the commonwealth through the fol- 
lowing resolutions, offered and adopted by both Houses of 
the Legislature. 

Resolved by the General Assembly of Maryland, that in the death 
of Mr. Bryan the state has suffered the loss of a conscientious, able and 
devoted official who, as attorney-general of the State of Maryland, rendered 
to this commonwealth services of the highest value. An eminent and dis- 
tinguished lawyer, a man of the highest integrity, of great energy and in- 
dustry, he was ever interested in the public welfare and was always faithful 
to the best interests of the State. 

Resolved further, that this resolution be found in the acts of the year 
nineteen hundred and fourteen. 

As soon as Governor Goldsborough learned of the death 
of Mr. Bryan he ordered the national flag placed at half 
staff on the State House dome and to remain so displayed 
until after the funeral. 




- 



UiN<M 







r////r/ l r//, 



DANIEL DONNELLY 

"LJARDLY a man now alive, then of mature years, who can 
recall the period of excitement which swept over this 
country in 1848 when gold was discovered in California in 
the race of the mill owned by John A. Sutter. By 1849 the 
news of the wonderful discovery was well disseminated 
throughout the United States, and in every part of the country 
parties were formed, bound for the land of gold, some going 
overland, some by the isthmus route, land and water, and 
others by the all water route around Cape Horn. Many of 
those who set out full of hope and courage perished miserably 
on the plains and in the mountains from exposure and hunger, 
or by the hand of a savage foe; many others perished at sea; 
only a small proportion ever reached the mines, only a 
still smaller proportion ever returned, and but a very, very 
few returned with the gold they sought. Among the cities 
over which this excitement swept was Baltimore, where dwelt 
Daniel Donnelly, then a young man of twenty-two years, mak- 
ing his way upward in the world by hard work. With all 
the impetuosity of his youthful, ardent nature, he plunged 
into preparations to join the mad rush, sold all he possessed 
and finally on a sailing vessel set out on the long voyage 
"around the Horn" a veritable "soldier of fortune." 

There were fifty-eight other Baltimoreans who joined 
in the California gold hunting excitement who lived to return 
to the city from which they started. Later they formed them- 
selves into the California Pioneer Society and for many years 
held meetings at increasingly longer intervals. One by one 
the members departed for another "Golden Shore," until 
only Elken Drey and Daniel Donnelly were left. In 1914 
Elken Drey succumbed, and on August 1, 191 5, at his country 
home. "Hilltop," Mt. Washington, Maryland, Daniel Don- 



298 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

nelly, the last survivor of that band of "Forty-niners," then 
a man of eighty-eight years, breathed his last, passing away 
honored and respected as business man, citizen and neighbor. 
There was a sentimental interest attached to the passing of 
this old pioneer, for he was a link in other chains that con- 
nected the far away past with the present. He saw the up- 
building of that great fleet of clipper ships which in their 
sailing qualities eclipsed the ships of all maritime nations of 
the world, and in their prime carried the ocean commerce 
between the ports of the old and new worlds, and he saw that 
fleet swept from the seas by the introduction and development 
of steam sea going vessels. He saw Baltimore grow from a 
small to a great city, and in that growth bore an important 
part. When that sterling financial institution, The Metro- 
politan Savings Bank, was organized, the name of Daniel Don- 
nelly was on the list of incorporators. One by one those names 
were marked "died," with the date of death, until but one 
name remained, Daniel Donnelly. 

There was a sentiment about the business Mr. Don- 
nelly founded and conducted for so long which, in later years, 
was known as Daniel Donnelly & Son, brick manufacturers. 
Old methods gave way to the newer, even shapes and uses 
changing to meet modern conditions. After his retirement 
from business, in 1892, he did not cut asunder the ties which 
bound him to the scene of his business successes, but retained 
the keenest interest in all its movements. 

A review of the life story of Daniel Donnelly reveals 
that he was born in Hagerstown, Maryland, in 1827, and that 
he attended school in Pennsylvania until thirteen years of age, 
when he started out from home to seek his fortune, Washing- 
ton being his objective point. He had very little money, and 
the journey was by stage and canal boat. After a short time 
spent in Washington he came to Baltimore, where he passed 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 299 

through all the hardships of a country boy in a strange city, 
but he was built of true pioneer material and he won a foot- 
hold. Life was fairly opening before him when, after nine 
years in Baltimore, he decided, in 1849, to relinquish all he 
had gained and join in the quest for gold. Selling his pos- 
sessions of any value, he sailed from the wharf at the foot of 
Broadway, in October, 1849, and after six months of seafaring, 
arrived at the Golden Gate opening into San Francisco bay. 
There was little then about the collection of small houses, 
tents and cabins to foreshadow the San Francisco of today, 
but rough as was the population, and crude as were the con- 
ditions, Mr. Donnelly there saw opportunity and instead of 
going on into the mining region, opened a small general store, 
his customers, the miners, who were outfitting for the mines, 
the transients, the Indians, and some of the permanent inhabi- 
tants. He made money and had accumulated a snug little 
fortune, when one day the settlement was destroyed by fire, 
and although he suffered loss in this disaster, Mr. Donnelly 
had sufficient means to open another store, this time at Weaver- 
ville, but not meeting with as great a degree of success as at 
San Francisco, he closed his store, then spent a few months 
in actual gold digging at the mines, finally returning to Bal- 
timore in 1854 after an absence of five years. 

From that year until his retirement, Mr. Donnelly was 
engaged in successful business as a brick manufacturer, found- 
ing the business later known as Daniel Donnelly & Son, and 
acquired other important business interests, ranking with the 
leading men of his city. He was a keen, sagacious business 
man, careful and deliberate, but each move was a step in ad- 
vance, difficulties not deterring, but rather nerving him to 
their overcoming. He built upon the solid rock, integrity, 
and the spirit of fair dealing which actuated every transaction 
won him the unvarying confidence, esteem and personal re- 



300 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

gard of all who deal with him or knew him. He was mem- 
ber of the Hibernian Society of Baltimore and a devout mem- 
ber of the Roman Catholic church. He was one of the in- 
corporators of the Old Town Bank of Baltimore and for 
many years one of the directors of that institution. In 1856, 
two years after Mr. Donnelly's return from California, he 
married Mary H. Milholland. For forty-five years they re- 
sided in their home, 1418 East Chase street, Baltimore. 
His children were his two sons, Francis X. and Edward 
A. Donnelly, who succeeded their father in business, and his 
two daughters, Mary Agnes, wife of Joseph A. Moore, and 
Genevieve, wife of Thomas G. Fink. He also left surviving 
him five grandchildren. 




WILLIAM FRANCIS CLAUTICE 

TN the passing of William F. Clautice, the last member of 
the well known firm, Brooks, Rogers & Company, whole- 
sale shoe dealers, in 191 3, Baltimore lost one of its most able 
merchants and highly esteemed citizens, one whose integrity 
and honor had never been challenged during a long and suc- 
cessful business career. He was a native son of Baltimore, 
and through his wife, Alice Sweeney, connected with one of 
those admirable characters of the long ago, Peter Sweeney, a 
wholesale pork packer, and an excellent citizen, born in Ire- 
land, in 1820, a man of sturdy character and rugged honesty. 

William F. Clautice was a son of George and Catherine 
(Fitzgerald) Clautice of Baltimore, and grandson of Peter 
and Mrs. (Adelsberger) Clautice. Catherine Fitzgerald was 
a daughter of John and Mary (Drake) Fitzgerald. She mar- 
ried George Clautice, May 23, 1826, and they are the parents 
of Emily Clautice, married John A. Irvin; Alexina Clautice, 
married James Donnelly; Catherine Victoria, married 
Thomas Hill; George; Mary Elizabeth; Edward, and Wil- 
liam Francis Clautice. Mary (Drake) Fitzgerald, who mar- 
ried John Fitzgerald, June 2, 1795, died October 22, 1850, 
aged seventy-six years, daughter of Francis Drake, who came 
from Devonshire, England, and married about 1775, Ann 
Slowey, who came from Ireland. Francis and Ann (Slowey) 
Drake were the parents of: Mary, who married John Fitz- 
gerald; Elizabeth, married in r8oo; Thomas Fletcher; Wil- 
liam Francis, married June 7, 1800, Catherine Leckler. 

William Francis Clautice was born in Baltimore, No- 
vember 24, 1838, died in his native city, July 12, 1 91 3. He 
was educated in St. Mary's Seminary, Knapp's Institute, and 
Loyala College, beginning business life upon completing his 
studies at the last named institution. He began his business 



302 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

career as office boy with Brooks, Rogers & Company, whole- 
sale shoe dealers, a firm located in Baltimore, on Baltimore 
street, between Howard and Eutaw streets, for seventy-seven 
years. He proved his adaptability and business ability very 
quickly, and being active, and in earnest, gained quick and 
continued promotions, his record showing that during his long 
and active business career he was never connected with but 
that one firm. He at one time had charge of the firm's branch 
office, at Zanesville, Ohio, which was discontinued during the 
time of the Civil War, when Mr. Clautice returned to Balti- 
more. In 1867, he was admitted to a partnership, and for 
many years his duty was as a salesman in the mountain towns 
of Virginia, Maryland and West Virginia. He became well 
known to the mountaineers, gained their respect and confi- 
dence to a remarkable degree, his visits being looked forward 
to by the natives with even a greater degree of interest than 
by the merchants to whom he sold goods. In time, Chauncey 
Brooks the senior partner, was called to his reward, and later 
David Rogers closed his earthly career, leaving Mr. Clautice, 
the last of the trio, who had so long conducted the business. 
The junior, then the senior and only owner, continued the 
business until 1906, then the weight of years prevailed, and he 
retired, spending the last seven years of his life in contented 
ease. He was a member of the Church of the Immaculate 
Conception, and at the time of his death, the oldest member 
of that parish. He was also a member of the Young Catholic 
Friends' Society. 

Mr. Clautice married, November 17, 1870, Alice 
Sweeney, daughter of Peter Sweeney (q. v.). They were 
the parents of William S., married Elizabeth Kroeger; Ed- 
ward C; Emily Maude; Alice Jenkins; Mary Loretta; 
George J., married Janet Harwood Wellmore; Francis Al- 
bert, married Jamima Disney, and Dr. Charles P. Clautice. 



PETER SWEENEY 

A YOUNG man of twenty when he left England, and came 
to Baltimore, Peter Sweeney, in the land of his adoption, 
proved his ability as business man, and in Baltimore took an 
active part in many movements designed to advance the in- 
terests of the city. Peter Sweeney was born in Ireland, in 
1820, but when a lad, was taken by his parents to England, 
and there was educated. In 1840, he came to the United 
States, coming of course on a sailing vessel, the passage being 
unusually long and tedious. He landed in New York City, 
there entering the employ of Charles Taylor, a pork packer, 
from whom he acquired a thorough knowledge of the busi- 
ness. Having possession of the requisite capital after a few 
years in business, he left New York, and established a whole- 
sale pork packing house in Baltimore, his plant located on 
then, Louisiana avenue, now, Lexington street, on the site now 
occupied by Jacob C. Schafer Company. He prospered 
abundantly, his business being a most extensive one, and he 
the leading man of his business in the city. He executed 
large contracts with the English Government, shipping large 
quantities of meat to England, and to the British Army in 
Russia. 

During the Civil War Mr. Sweeney warmly sympathized 
with the South and aided the Confederate cause all in his 
power without actually taking part in the conflict. Just after 
the war was declared, one Sunday morning while walking 
along Fayette street on his way to the postoffice, Mr. Sweeney 
was pointed out as a "Southern Sympathizer." This was in 
the days of the "Bloody Tubs," the "Rip Raps," and the 
"Plug Uglies," therefore a crowd quickly gathered, ripe for 
anything. Bricks were thrown from the piles around the old 
Court House, then being torn down to make way for the new 



304 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

City Hall, Mr. Sweeney taking refuge in Barnum's Hotel. 
As he was going up the steps one of the gang kicked at him, 
but Mr. Sweeney caught the rowdy's foot and sent him sprawl- 
ing. In the hotel his injuries were given care by the ladies 
who knew him, and two hours later, he left the hotel to be 
immediately arrested upon a warrant sworn out by the man 
who had come to grief at his hands. Influential friends soon 
secured his release and the affair blew over. On one election 
day, when going to Perkins drug store on Howard street, near 
Franklin, to cast his vote, a ruffian sneaked behind to sta 1 
him, but a friend interfered with a knockout blow which gave 
Mr. Sweeney time to escape to the drug store. But these were 
war times and when the conflict was over all was well again 
and the wounds of war soon healed. 

Mr. Sweeney was a Democrat in politics, and a devout 
Catholic, a member of the Cathedral congregation. He was 
a liberal contributor to church and charity, a founder of the 
Society of St. Vincent de Paul, member of the Young Catholic 
Friends' Society, the Hibernian Society, and a member of 
other organizations. He married Miss Chatterton, who died 
in England, they the parents of: Alice Sweeney, who mar- 
ried William Francis Clautice {q. v.). He later married 
Margaret Hart, May 4, 1853, to which union was born Mary 
Maud, and she married William K. Miller, November 13, 
1883. 




WILLIAM KEALHOFER 

1DRIOR to the. Revolution came Theobald Kealhofer, from 
Alsace, France, to Hagerstovvn, Maryland, where a son 
was born, who was the father of William Kealhofer of 
Hagerstown, Maryland, whose death, November 13, 191 6, ex- 
tinguished the male line and left no one of the Kealhofer 
name in the section in which Theobald Kealhofer, the 
Alsatian, came. Henry Kealhofer, son of the founder, was 
born in Hagerstown, June 28, 1776, died there October 21, 
1851. His son, George Kealhofer, was born in Hagerstovvn, 
June 4, 1803, died, November 28, 1866. A merchant in early 
life, George Kealhofer afterward became cashier of the 
Hagerstown branch of the Washington County Bank, located 
at Williamsport, Maryland. It is said of him that when the 
Confederates under General Imboden came to Hagerstown, 
they found that the cashier had so securely safeguarded the 
funds of the bank that but sixty-seven cents was found in the 
vaults. George Kealhofer married Mary E. Hanenkamp, 
daughter of Dr. Arnold Hanenkamp, a student under and a 
contemporary of the famous Dr. Rush of Philadelphia; they 
were the parents of William Kealhofer to whose memory 
this review of a valuable life is dedicated. 

William Kealhofer was born in Hagerstown, Maryland, 
September 2, 1842, died in the city of his birth, November 13, 
1916. His early and preparatory education was obtained in 
private schools and St. James College, his classical education 
at Franklin and Marshall College, whence he was graduated 
with the Bachelors degree, class of 1862. He then became a 
law student under the preceptorship of the eminent Judge 
Richard H. Alvey, and on March 22, 1865, was admitted a 
member of the Washington county bar. His connection with 
that bar was lifelong, and he rose to a commanding position, 
md 20 



306 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



but his business interests were also large and his public service 
important. He was prominently mentioned as a successor to 
succeed to the judgeship made vacant by the death of Judge 
Edward Stake, but he would not allow his name to be pre- 
sented. For a number of years Mr. Kealhofer was city at- 
torney of Hagerstown, and in the early eighties assisted in 
drafting the city charter. In 1884, he was appointed school 
commissioner for Washington county, by Governor Frank 
Brown, and re-appointed by Governor Lloyd Loundes. In 
1 88 1, he was the Democratic candidate for the Maryland 
house of delegates from the Hagerstown district. This was 
the only excursion he ever made into political life as a candi- 
date, but he was ever an ardent Democrat and deeply inter- 
ested citizen. As a lawyer he always adhered closely to the 
best traditions of his profession, and his long and honorable 
career earned an endearing place among the men of his day 
whose lives added brilliant pages to the history of the Wash- 
ington county bar. 

Mr. Kealhofer was for many years a director of the 
Western Maryland Railroad, director of, and attorney for, 
the Hagerstown Bank until his death, declining the presi- 
dency; president of the Hagerstown Ice Company; trustee of 
the Washington County Free Library from its foundation, and 
was closely identified with the social and literary life of 
Hagerstown. He was one of the founders and charter mem- 
bers of the Concocheauge Club, and for a long time its presi- 
dent. In religion he was a communicant of the Roman Cath- 
olic Church, strong in the faith and mindful of his religious 
obligations. He was not only learned in the law but was a 
wide reader, deep thinker, and a scholar of attainment. His 
knowledge of European history, its political and racial prob- 
lems of his own, was a source of amazement, not only to his 
friends, but to the many learned foreigners he met in his 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 307 

frequent and extended tours of European travel. His conver- 
sational gifts were rarely equalled, pleasure and profit attend- 
ing his listeners who were always closely attentive. He rarely 
made a statement on any subject, the truth of which he had not 
first verified, and never one of importance without knowing it 
was founded on incontrovertible facts. His disposition was 
lovable, his companionship charming, and all who knew him 
were well bound to him in real affection. Modest to an ex- 
treme, he seemed perfectly unconscious of his own merits and 
talents, but this but added to the charm of his personality. He 
was a good man in all that the term implies, and his memory 
will ever remain green. 

Mr. Kealhofer married Elizabeth Lane Smith, who sur- 
vives him, daughter of Dr. Josiah F. Smith, an eminent 
physician of Washington county, in the long ago. 




HENRY WILLIAMS 

A COURTLY Maryland gentleman of that type lovingly 
referred to as "the Old School," Henry Williams passed 
his mature years in the city of Baltimore, an honored resident 
and exceedingly prominent in the public life of city and State, 
and no less prominent as a business man. His lineage was 
ancient and honorable. He was the son of the Rev. Henry 
Williams, a clergyman of the Episcopal church, and Pris- 
cilla Elizabeth (Chew) Williams, a grand-daughter of the 
Rt. Rev. John Claggett, the first Protestant Episcopal bishop 
of Maryland, the further line of descent being traced to 
Thomas Claggett, who from 1640 until 1703 was one of the 
honored men of Calvert county, Maryland. He was county 
commissioner in 1680, coroner in 1683, and in the same year 
was commissioned a captain of militia. His grandson, Samuel 
Claggett, son of Richard and Elizabeth (Dorsey) Claggett, 
born 1718, died 1756, was rector of Christ Church, Calvert 
county, Maryland, and of St. Paul's Parish, Prince Georges 
county, and William and Mary Parish, Charles county, Mary- 
land. He married Elizabeth Gantt. His son, Thomas John 
Claggett, born 1743, died 1816, was rector of St. James, Anne 
Arundel county, and All Saints, Calvert county, Maryland, 
1769-76, and was consecrated the first bishop of the Protestant 
Episcopal church in Maryland in 1791 . He was chaplain to 
the first Congress that met in the capitol in Washington and 
opened the first meeting of the Senate there with prayer. He 
married Mary Gantt. His daughter, Priscilla Elizabeth 
Claggett, born 1778, married Colonel John Hamilton Chew 
and was grandmother to Henry Williams. Their daughter, 
Priscilla Chew, married the Rev. Henry Williams. Their 
son was Henry Williams, to whose memory this tribute of 
appreciation is dedicated. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 309 

Henry Williams was also descended on the maternal 
side from Colonel John Chew, born 1590, died 1668. Colonel 
John Chew was, a member of the House of Burgesses of Vir- 
ginia from Hog Island, Virginia, 1623-24, 1629; from York 
county, Virginia, 1642-44; Justice, York county, 1634-52; re- 
moved to Maryland about 1653. His son, Samuel Chew, born 
1634, died 1677. He was burgess for Anne Arundel county, 
Maryland, in 1661 ; member of the Council and justice of 
Provincial Court, 1669-77; colonel of Anne Arundel county 
militia in 1675. Colonel Chew married Anne Ayers, daugh- 
ter of William Ayers, of Nansemond county, Virginia. His 
son, Samuel (2) Chew, born 1660, died 171 8. He was com- 
missioner of the peace for Anne Arundel county, Maryland, 

in 1683. He married (first) Anne , and (second) June 

29, 1704, Mrs. Eliza Coale. His son, John Chew, born April 
8, 1687, married Eliza Harrison, 1708. His son, Samuel (3) 
Chew, died in London, England, in 1749. He married Sarah 
Locke, born 1721, died February 1, 1 791 . His son, Samuel 
(4) Chew, born 1737, died 1790. He was commissioner of 
the peace for Calvert county, Maryland, 1765-73; a member 
of the Revolutionary Convention of 1775, and first lieutenant, 
Third Battalion Flying Camp, June to December of that year; 
captain, Third Maryland Regiment, December 10, 1776; re- 
signed February, 1777. Captain Chew married (first) Sarah 
Weems, and (second) Priscilla Claggett, daughter of Rev. 
Samuel and Elizabeth (Gantt) Claggett, a descendant of 
Colonel Edward Claggett, of Canterbury, England, who mar- 
ried Margaret Adams, daughter of Sir Thomas Adams. His 
son, Colonel John Hamilton Chew, born September 14, 1771, 
died March 22, 1830. He married his cousin, Priscilla Eliza- 
beth Claggett, born 1778, died September 20, 1843, daughter 
of Rt. Rev. Thomas J. Claggett, D.D., and Mary Gantt, his 
wife. Thomas J. Claggett was first bishop of Maryland and 



310 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

first bishop of the Protestant Episcopal church consecrated 
in the United States. His daughter, Priscilla Chew, born July 
25, 1809, died July 6, 1881; married, October 11, 1839, Rev. 
Henry Williams, born January 25, 1812, died April 8, 1852. 
Rev. Henry Williams was son of Philip and Elizabeth Wil- 
liams, of South Carolina. 

Henry Williams, son of Rev. Henry and Priscilla 
(Chew) Williams, was born at the rectory of All Saints 
Church, Upper Calvert county, Maryland, October 9, 1840, 
died in Baltimore, Maryland, March 20, 1916. The rectory 
was his boyhood home and until thirteen years of age he 
studied in private schools near by and under private tutors 
who came to the rectory for his instruction. In 1854 he was 
sent to Baltimore for better educational advantage, entering 
the Toppings' private school, whence he was graduated. Dur- 
ing the years he was a student in Baltimore he was a guest 
at the home of his uncle, Dr. Samuel Chew. After gradua- 
tion he returned home and pursued a course of law study, and 
in i860 finished his preparation under the direction of Charles 
J. M. Gwinn, one of the ablest lawyers of Baltimore. In 1861 
he was admitted to the Maryland bar and began practice at 
Prince Frederick, Calvert county, Maryland, in association 
with James T. Briscoe. He soon afterward located in Balti- 
more, his residence until death. In addition to his law prac- 
tice, Mr. Williams became active and prominent in business 
and public life. For thirty years he was executive head of 
the Weems line of steamers running from Baltimore to Chesa- 
peake bay and Virginia points. The Weems line, which was 
founded in 18 17, was sold to the Pennsylvania Railroad Com- 
pany and later Mr. Williams was interested in the Baltimore 
& Carolina Steamship Company, founded at an earlier period 
by the sons. During the latter years of his life his chief busi- 
ness connections were as a member of the board of directors of 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 311 

the National Bank of Commerce, the Colonial Trust Company 
and the Central Savings Bank. The only director of the 
National Bank of Commerce whose term of service on the 
board exceeded that of Henry Williams was Eugene Levering, 
whose service yet continues. 

From the beginning of his residence in Baltimore, Mr. 
Williams was genuinely interested in the city government and 
one of the loyal, devoted citizens who could be relied on to 
support measures intended to benefit the public while ad 
vancing city interests. He was a Democrat in politics, and 
in 1864 was elected to the Maryland House of Delegates by 
a practically unanimous vote of the district, but one vote be- 
ing recorded against him and that in all probability his own. 
In 1866 he took active part in the legislation which followed 
the Civil War, and in 1872 and 1874 was state senator. In 
1895 ne was tne candidate of his party for mayor, but in that 
year the entire city ticket went down in defeat. In 1897 he 
was again a candidate, but failed of an election. In 1901 he 
was elected president of the Second Branch of City Council 
and largely through his personal work and interest, the Fuller 
bid for the city holdings of Western Maryland Railway stock 
was accepted. In 1903 he was appointed collector of taxes 
by Mayor McLane, serving the city in that capacity for four 
years, winning the approbation of the officials and business 
men of the city and the esteem of the employees of the tax 
department, who, on his retirement, expressed that esteem 
by presenting him with a silver platter and carving set. 

In 1907 his name was before the Democratic State Con- 
vention for the Gubernatorial nomination, and up to the very 
day the convention met he had been virtually accepted as the 
most available man for the honor and was the choice of a ma- 
jority of the delegates who assembled in the hall prepared to 
cast their ballots for him. But over night the powers that rule 



312 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

selected another and the nomination went to Austin L. Croth- 
ers, of Cecil county, who was elected. 

True to the tenets of the faith of his fathers, he was all 
his life a devoted churchman, serving the Episcopal church 
by faith and works. He was a vestryman of St. Peter's 
Church, president of the Churchman Club for thirty years. 
Tall in stature, of dignified yet kindly democratic bearing and 
nature, he was one of the most distinguished men in appear- 
ance, and his deeds and his character were in proportion with 
the physical man. He was vice-president of the Southern 
Maryland Society. 

Mr. Williams married, June 11, 1868, Georgeanna 
Weems. Their children are Mason L. W. ; Henry, Jr.; 
George Weems; John H. C; Elizabeth Chew, and Matilda 
Weems Williams. Absolutely devoted to his family, Mr. 
Williams saw his sons grow to prominence as business and 
professional men, and rejoiced that in them his name and 
virtues were perpetuated. Mrs. Williams continues her resi- 
dence at the family mansion, "Woodcliffe," on Thirty-ninth 
street, near University parkway, Baltimore. 







>2^Zz^-^ZZ^#y^ 



JAMES PRESTON 

OIXTY-SIX were the years of the life of James Preston of 
Baltimore, Maryland, and of these, forty-two were spent 
in association with the dry goods firm, John A. Homer & 
Company, of which he was a member until his retirement 
four years prior to his death in 191 7. He began at the bot- 
tom of the ladder and through sheer ability won his way to 
the top. He was one of the oldest members of the Merchants 
and Manufacturers Association, was one of the oldest directors 
of the National Western Bank, and in all his long and useful 
life there was no duty refused or left unperformed. He met 
every demand of good citizenship but had no taste or desire 
for public position, and never held a political office. He was 
of Pennsylvania birth, but a descendant of the Preston family, 
one of the oldest in Maryland, springing from Thomas Pres- 
ton, born in 1650, died in 1710. Prestons were identified with 
Harford county, Maryland, from its earliest settlement, but 
James Preston's father, also James Preston, located in Penn- 
sylvania, at Seven Valley, where he died March 30, 1852, 
aged forty-one years. James Preston, Sr., was a son of John 
and Rebecca Preston, and was married May 25, 1847, in old 
St. Paul's Church, Baltimore, by Rev. Dr. Wyatt, to E. 
Adelaide Jenkins, born November 22, 1821, died June 25, 
1908, daughter of Robert Jenkins, owner of Locust Vale 
Farm, Baltimore, Maryland, and his wife Jane Dart. Robert 
Jenkins and Jane Dart were married May 30, 1820. He died 
April 28, 1879, anQl ms wire, Jane, September 7, 1864. 

James Preston, son of James and E. Adelaide (Jenkins) 
Preston, was born at Seven Valley, Pennsylvania, April 21, 
1851, died at his home, No. 2210 Eutaw Place, Baltimore, 
Maryland, November 10, 191 7. He came to Baltimore in 
early youth, and after completing his studies in the public 



314 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

schools and in City College, Baltimore, he entered the employ 
of John A. Homer & Company, dry goods and notions. He 
evidenced unusual aptitude for business, was rapidly ad- 
vanced, and soon admitted to a partnership. He continued a 
member of the firm until 1913, then attempted to withdraw, 
but his partners persuaded him to reconsider. Six months 
later, however, he announced his positive withdrawal, and for 
the remaining four years of his life he lived practically retired 
from business cares, although he was interested in real estate 
operations and other investment activities. He was a man 
of excellent business, sound in judgment, progressive in 
method, upright in all his dealings, careful always to wrong 
no man by word or deed. 

Early in Mr. Preston's business career he became a mem- 
ber of the Merchants and Manufacturers Association of Bal- 
timore, and was ever one of the most active workers and useful 
members of the Association, only surrendering his position as 
chairman of the Publicity Committee, and member of the 
Executive Board a few weeks prior to his passing away. He 
was very earnest in his association work and took great pride 
in its accomplishments. He was president of the Merchants 
Hotel Company, from the time of its organization, and there 
was no member of the board of directors of the Western Na- 
tional Bank of Baltimore, who was his senior in point of years 
of service. He was also a member of the Baltimore Credit 
Men's Association for more than twenty years, a charter mem- 
ber of the Fidelity and Deposit Company, which he also aided 
to organize, and was a member of the Atlantic Deeper Water- 
ways Association. 

A meeting of the Merchants and Manufacturers Associa- 
tion was called the day of Mr. Preston's death at which the 
following resolutions were passed : 

It is with feelings of regret that the Executive Committee of the 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 315 

Merchants' and Manufacturers' Association meets today to honor the mem- 
ory of their long-time associate and former treasurer, James Preston. Mr. 
Preston appreciating the value of the Association in advancing the business 
interests of our city became an important factor in its activities, serving for 
years as treasurer, member of the Executive Board and chairman of one of 
our most important committees, which positions he held at the time of his 
death. There was no duty required of him to which he did not respond 
promptly, always giving much of his time and energy to the accomplishment 
of good results. He was an active and public spirited citizen. Sorrowfully 
we bid him farewell, but his memory will linger a long time with us. 

After the great fire the Merchants Hotel Company was 
formed, which built the New Howard Hotel, and of this com- 
pany he was president. He was a member of Kedron Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons; Baltimore Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons; Beauseant Commandery, Knights Templar; and 
in Scottish Rite Masonry held the degrees of Baltimore Con- 
sistory. He was also a Noble of Boumi Temple, Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine. In religious faith he was a member of 
the Methodist Episcopal church, affiliated with the Madison 
avenue congregation. His funeral was attended by members 
of the various organizations with which he was identified, and 
after the religious services had been conducted by Rev. R. J. 
Wyckoff, pastor of Madison Avenue Methodist Episcopal 
Church, the beautiful burial service of the Knights Templar 
ritual was rendered by the Templars of Beauseant Comman- 
dery. The honorary pall-bearers were: Mayor Preston, 
Charles E. Falconer, William C. Rouse, Charles E. Rieman, 
Captain Samuel D. Buck, Jacob Epstein, James M. Easter, 
Frederick H. Gottlieb, Franklin P. Cator, Samuel E. Rein- 
hard, Judge Walter I. Dawkins and Frank N. Hoen. The 
burial was in Druid Ridge cemetery. 

Mr. Preston married, in 1874, Emma L. Meakin, daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Mary Irene (Whitely) Meakin, who sur- 
vives him with one son, James Oscar Preston, born December 
23, 1879. 



ROLAND BRIDENDALL HARVEY 

jDOLAND B. HARVEY was born in Baltimore county, 
Maryland, October 12, 1870, son of William Pinkney and 
Virginia (Jordan) Harvey. He was educated in private 
schools in the United States until he was sent abroad for study 
and travel. Over three years were spent in Switzerland, 
France and Germany with tutors, special attention being given 
to languages. After his return home he entered Johns Hop- 
kins University, whence he was graduated Bachelor of Arts, 
class of 1895; University of Maryland, Bachelor of Laws, 
1896. He was admitted to the Baltimore bar in 1896, and to the 
bar of New York in 1897. He practiced law in the office of 
Elihu Root during the years 1897-99, then returned to Balti- 
more, and was made assistant State's attorney, an office he 
held three years, 1904-07. He made a strong record for effi- 
ciency and was urged to continue in politics, but declined 
further honors, and resigned the office in 1907, and in 1909 
after passing the examinations, he entered the diplomatic 
service. During this career he was considered one of the best 
qualified men in that service, and his efforts attracted much 
favorable comment. 

Mr. Harvey's first appointment was in July, 1909, when 
he was appointed to Roumania, and consul-general to the 
Balkan States, to act as charge d'affairs on arrival in Rou- 
mania. This he did for several months, later being made 
charge d'affairs to Bulgaria. The special pleasure he found 
in his two years' work in the Balkans was the meeting of 
prominent diplomats sent by European countries to guard 
their Balkan interests. Although a staunch American and 
firm believer in his own country, Mr. Harvey had a keen and 
unprejudiced interest in the world at large. His unusual 
knowledge of the history of nations and their rulers aided 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 317 

him in coming very near to those he met, and added greatly 
to the pleasure and benefits of his career. After more than 
two years in the Balkan States, he received in February, 191 2, 
his appointment as Secretary of Legation to Peru. It was 
expected his knowledge of international law would be valu- 
able in the law cases of long standing in that country. On 
his arrival at Callao, May 13, 191 2, he was, however, greeted 
with the cable order from the Department of State, "Proceed 
to Chili without delay. In charge on arrival," and on May 13, 
191 2, he arrived at his post, for the second time "charge" on 
arrival. His stay in Chili, from May 13, 1912, to February 
25, 1914, was full of varied events of unusual interest. Among 
the most noted while Mr. Harvey was in charge, were the 
great receptions tendered to former President Roosevelt on 
his tour of South America, and the visit of Hon. Robert 
Bacon, representing the Carnegie Peace Commission. The 
opportunity also to visit Peru long enough to make the ascent 
of that world wonder of switch-back engineering, the Auroya 
railroad, the work of an American engineer; and later the tour 
of Chili down its coast to the Straits of Magellan; on to Punta 
Arenas, the most southern city in the world; on through the 
Straits to the Falkland Islands, that rocky bit of the British 
Empire, and then up the east coast of South America to 
Buenos Aires, crossing the great range of the snow-capped 
Andes back to Chili. 

When his appointment to Berlin as Second Secretary of 
Embassy came it was received with mixed feelings, his com- 
ment being: "Germany is a history-making country" and 
he loved work. With keen interest in the new duties before 
him, he sailed for Liverpool, February 26, 1914. Going via 
Liverpool he arrived in Berlin, March 29, 1914, a post full of 
interest, but almost from arrival Mr. Harvey thought clouds 
of war were hanging low. How soon the storm would break 



318 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

he realized when, at Kiel to see the great regatta, and expect- 
ing to be present at the reception given by Prince Henry, news 
came of the murder of the Archduke Ferdinand. At once all 
gaiety stopped, the Kaiser left Kiel, as did all the German 
notables. Excitement ran high until the evening of July 28, 
when word was received that war had been declared. Imme- 
diately the work of the United States Embassy increased ten- 
fold, the thousands of Americans making a mad rush to get 
out of Germany. Mr. Harvey had entire charge of the pass- 
ports, and his strength and sympathy were taxed to the limit. 
Not in good health, the strain proved too much and he was 
obliged to seek rest for a short time at Hamburg, Bavaria. 

Returning to Berlin with renewed strength and energy, 
Mr. Harvey went once more into the rush of his post, the 
absence of Counselor Grew on a short leave, causing him to 
assume much additional labor. While Mr. Grew was absent 
in the United States, the following order was received from 
the State department in Washington: "Harvey transferred 
Buenos Aires in charge indefinitely." The promotion to the 
most important post in South America and to be "charge" on 
arrival was so exactly to his liking and so suited to his capabili- 
ties that Mr. Harvey was delighted. He hoped to spend only 
two weeks in the United States, but his health demanded a 
longer leave, and two months were granted. At its end he 
realized he was not in condition to be "charge indefinitely" of 
so important an embassy, and decided to spend one year de- 
voted to his health, expecting by so doing he would be fit for 
any post. His hopes seemed to be realized until July, 1917, 
when he had a bad fall and sustained a fracture of the hip. 
The long operation made necessary, with his already depleted 
condition, made his recovery almost impossible, and on No- 
vember 14, 1917, his life passed away, one so full of promise 
and high ambitions, a mind clear and full of interest in his 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 319 

country to the very last. His approachable manner, lovable 
disposition, and high sense of duty gained for him the affec- 
tions as well as the esteem of all with whom he came in con- 
tact. In his official capacity he was ever ready to lend a help- 
ing hand to those of his countrymen who found themselves in 
difficulties in foreign lands, often going beyond the official 
requirements to do so. Many there are to-day of these who 
will have a lasting sense of obligation to the kind-hearted 
young diplomat, who smoothed things out for them, setting 
aside in his capable way the difficulties that beset them when 
the great war broke out, and helped them to reach the frontier, 
and neutral lands, in ease, comfort and security. But this was 
his way, and he took no credit to himself for the thousands 
of acts of kindness and courtesy that characterized both his 
official and social life. 




DAVID MARION NEWBOLD 

AT the age of seventy-three, prominent in the business and 
financial life of two cities, David Marion Newbold closed 
a long and honorable career, his business life covering a period 
of half a century. He was a direct descendant of that Thomas 
Newbold who came to this country, from Derbyshire, Eng- 
land, prior to 1665, and settled in Somerset, Maryland. This 
is abundantly proven by the following record in the Annapolis 
Records (Rent Rolls of Somerset County, Maryland, Book 
1 -61): August 26, 1665, "Acquintico" surveyed by George 
Watson, on the north side of Pocomoke River, then in pos- 
session of Mr. Thomas Newbold, to Samuel Wilson, February 
2, 1667; October 20, 1665, three hundred acres surveyed by 
Jenkins Price for Thomas Newbold of Pocomoke. The rec- 
ords also show that he received in 1678 a grant of land of four 
hundred and fifty acres for transporting Adriana, his wife, 
two children, Murphy and Sarah Newbold, and five servants. 
Rent Rolls and Deed Books of Somerset county show several 
large tracts of land taken up by Thomas Newbold; "Acquin- 
tico" surveyed August 26, 1665, for George Watson on north 
of Pocomoke River in possession of Thomas Newbold; 1678, 
"Friendship" and "Content," on north side of Pocomoke 
River; 1684, "Bashan" surveyed for Thomas Newbold of 
Pocomoke River. Deed Book B. L. (folio 404) Princess 
Anne county: November 8, 1696, Thomas Newbold and Jane, 
his wife (second wife) sell two tracts of land "London's Ad- 
venture" and "Blackridge" to Samuel Handy. 

Thomas Newbold was evidently a man of substance. The 
fact that he was financially able to transport a considerable 
retinue of "servants" and had very large land holdings show 
this. He was also a gentleman with rank of esquire, and bore 
arms as is shown by a "gold seal ring" he left in his will to his 




sCr~?4(. 7iju~*J~ir-*Tz<=~ 



. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 321 

son Thomas. He took a very prominent part in the affairs of 
Somerset county, both civil and military, from 1678 to 17 13. 
He was a "Member of the Councill," 1684-89; commissioned 
"Lieutenant of Horse," Colonial Militia, Somerset county, 
1689; one of the "Gentlemen Justices for Tryall of Cases," 
1679; "Thomas Newbold, Justice," 1694-97 and "Vestryman 
of Coventry Parish." 

Thomas Newbold married twice. His first wife was 
Adriana; his second wife, Ja.ie. Children by first wife: 
Murphy; Thomas, married a Joyce; Sarah, married Thomas 
Hearne; William, died about 1720. Children by second wife: 
Francis, see forward; John, married (first) Rachel, (second) 
Naomi. Thomas Newbold died in 1713. 

His will, probated in 1713, is as follows: 

"I, Thomas Newbold, Gentleman, weak and infirm of 
body but sound in mind. To eldest son, Thomas, 2500 acres 
of land; 'Acquintico,' 'Friendship' and 'Gift.' Second son, 
William, 2500 acres of 'Acquintico.' To T-'iomas, gold seal 
ring, waistcoat, East India Chest, feather bed, hay horse, with 
pistols and holsters and one gun. To son, William, silver 
Tobacco box, bed and household furniture and one gun and 
a bay mare. To daughter, Sarah, wife of Thomas Hearne, 
three hundred acres of 'Bashan.' To youngest son, Francis, 500 
acres of Tract called 'Bashan.' Wife, Jane, Executrix. 

Thomas Newbold. 
June 5th, 1713." 

As Murphy Newbold is not mentioned in his father's 
will, it is supposed that he died young. 

Francis Newbold, son of Thomas Newbold, of Poco- 
moke River, Somerset county, Province of Maryland, and 
his second wife, Jane, was born about 1698. He ir_' erited 

MD. 21 



322 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

with his brother, John, a large tract of land called "Bashan," 
or "Bushan," which was surveyed for Thomas Newbold in 
1684 by George Layfield in Somerset county, Maryland, but 
by removal of boundary line became situated in Sussex county, 
Delaware. Francis Newbold died in 1777. 

Francis Newbold and his wife Sarah had issue: Francis, 
Jr., see forward; Thomas; John, married Rachel Newbold, 
his cousin. 

Francis Newbold, Jr., son of Francis and Sarah New- 
bold, married, about 1775, Sarah Owens, daughter of David 
Owens. The Owens were among the early settlers of Somerset 
county, Maryland, and were closely associated with the 
Colonial history of the Province. Thomas Owens, one of the 
progenitors of the family, took up land prior to 1673. His 
son, William Owens, married Mary , and was promi- 
nent in the affairs of Somerset county, being a member of 
the "Providence Councill," and a Provincial Commissioner in 
1675. He received grants of land from the Lord Proprietary, 
called "Owen's Venture," and "Morgan's Venture." By his 
wife, Anna, he had four children : William, John, Robert and 
Somerville. His son, William Owens, who died in 1743, had 
issue by his wife, Sarah: William, David, Robert, Samuel 
and four daughters. His second son, David Owens, inherited 
from him "Morgan's Venture," in 1775, and was the father 
of Sarah Owens, who married Francis Newbold, Jr. Francis 
Newbold, Jr., died in 1776, leaving one son, David. 

David Newbold, son of Francis, Jr., and Sarah (Owens) 
Newbold, was born in 1776, in Sussex county, Delaware, and 
died in 1852. He removed in 1803 to Missouri, and, in 1810, 
married Sophia Robinson, born in Fredericksburg, Virginia, 
1787. Children: Theophilus, David Owens, John, Wesley, 
Newton, James Francis, sec forward. 

James Francis Newbold, son of David and Sophia 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 323 

(Robinson) Nevvbold, was born, October 16, 1816, in Scott 
county, Kentucky, and died June 3, 1902, in Baltimore. Be- 
ing possessed of an adventurous spirit in his younger days he 
joined that celebrated band, known as the "Forty-Niners," 
and twice made the long and tedious journey, so full of danger 
at that time, to California. His first trip, in 1849, was across 
the plains; again in 1851 he went back to the gold fields by 
the way of Panama, being one of the first to go by that route. 
In a short time he amassed a considerable competence and re- 
turned East, settling in Baltimore, where he continued to 
reside until his death. There he founded, in 1852, the well 
known wholesale glass concern of Newbold & Sons, the other 
partners being David M. Newbold and James Francis New- 
bold, Jr. This business had a long and successful career of 
more than fifty years, and only terminated with the death of 
his son, James Francis Newbold, Jr., February, 1902, when 
the firm closed its doors permanently. 

In politics James Francis Newbold was a Democrat. 
He took considerable interest in local politics, serving several 
terms in both branches of the City Council. He was a good 
Christian and a devout member of the Bethany Independent 
Methodist Church of which he was one of the founders. 

James Francis Newbold married, March 18, 1841, Mary 
Elizabeth Bowen, born 1823, died March 10, 1849, daughter 
of Richard and Maria (McGregor) Bowen, of Harford 
county, Maryland. Children: Elizabeth Ann; James Fran- 
cis; David Marion, subject of this sketch. 

David Marion Newbold, of the sixth American gen- 
eration, son of James Francis and Mary Elizabeth (Bowen) 
Newbold, was born in Boonesville, Missouri, June 4, 1843, 
died in the city of Baltimore, at his home in Eutaw Place, 
April 22, 1917. After his years of educational preparation 
had ended, he entered business life in Baltimore, becoming a 



324 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

member of the firm of Newbold & Sons, a famed business 
house, dealing in wholesale glassware and crockery. He con- 
tinued an integral part of that firm until its dissolution, after 
a successful career covering half a century, and henceforth 
David Newbold confined his activity to real estate and public 
utilities. His connection with real estate resulted in his be- 
coming known as one of the largest operators of the city, a 
man whose vision was broad, and judgment sound. With 
the development of the city and the increasing need of better 
transportation system, city and inter-city, Mr. Newbold be- 
came interested in that great problem which confronts all 
cities; took an active part in the building of the electric lines 
between Baltimore and Washington; acquired large traction 
interests in Washington; was president of the City and Subur- 
ban and of the Eckington and Belt Line street railway com- 
panies of that city; also a member of the Elkins-Widener 
Syndicate of Philadelphia, whose operations extended to many 
cities. He was for a time largely interested in the American 
Street Lighting Company, of which his sons, Eugene Saun- 
ders Newbold, of Philadelphia, is president, and David M. 
Newbold, Jr., vice-president and general counsel. 

A Republican in politics, Mr. Newbold took an active 
interest in city and national affairs, and as the candidate of 
his party, ran for Congress from the Third Maryland dis- 
trict. During his more active years he was a member of the 
leading clubs and fraternal organizations, but in his latter 
years he withdrew from all but the Park Place, Shawbridge 
Church, there continuing an active member. He was highly 
regarded by those who were acquainted with the strength of 
his ability as a business man and executive, and that respect 
he never forfeited. 

Mr. Newbold married, in November, 1865, Eliza Boyd, 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



325 



daughter of William A. Boyd, a prominent and successful 
wholesale tobacco merchant in Baltimore before the Civil 
War. They were the parents of three sons, James Boyd New- 
bold, David Marion Newbold, Jr., and Eugene Saunders 
Newbold. 




CHARLES E. WAYS 

'"PHE death of Charles E. Ways, the Nestor of American 
railway officials, removed from the scene of human action 
one of the historic landmarks of the nation. To the younger 
generation it seems incredible that there was living in their 
midst, so recently as 1914, the man who opened the first tele- 
graph office in the capital of our nation and who prior to that 
was operator at Harper's Ferry during the John Brown raid. 
But those were some of the interesting facts in Mr. Ways' life 
and he was not a boy when he linked his career with those 
most dramatic events. From 1855 until about six months be- 
fore his death he was continuously in the employ of the Balti- 
more & Ohio Railroad Company, rose to important position, 
and was one of the oldest if not the oldest railroad official in 
the United States in point of years of service, witnessing and 
aiding in the development of the Baltimore & Ohio from a 
short single track line to a great modern railroad system. Dur- 
ing his last years he received from the management, in appre- 
ciation of his long service, a perpetual pass made of silver in 
card form, designed and authorized by President W T iliiard 
and Vice-President Randolph, the only one of its kind ever 
issued by the road. He held personal as well as business re- 
lations with former presidents of the Baltimore & Ohio John 
W. Garrett, Samuel Spencer and John K. Cowan. The old 
veteran was a thorough railroad man and loved his work; 
in fact, when obliged to retire from active service, the great 
interest of his life departed, and he only survived his retire- 
ment six months. He was a boy of thirteen when he entered 
telegraph employ as a messenger boy, a year older when he 
came to the Baltimore & Ohio Company, a man of seventy-five 
when he retired as assistant general freight traffic manager. 
His railroad career linked him with some of the dramatic 



GENEALOGICAL AXD MEMORIAL 327 

events of the anti-Civil War period. He was at Harper's 
Ferry when John Brown made his famous but insane raid into 
Virginia, and when troops, under Robert E. Lee, then a 
colonel in the United States army, stormed the old armory 
and captured the Abolition leader, Mr. Ways sent the mes- 
sage to the world announcing that event. When in 1 86 1 it 
was necessary for the protection of President Lincoln on his 
journey from Springfield, Illinois, to Washington, D. C, 
that a telegraph office be opened in Washington, Mr. Ways 
was selected to open and operate it, the first in the city, his 
choice for the honor testifying to the confidence reposed in 
his ability, loyalty and faithfulness. 

Charles E. Ways was born in 1839, died January 2, 1914. 
His parents lived in Frederick during his boyhood and there 
he went to school, and at the age of thirteen became messenger 
boy in the commercial telegraph office. He picked up a 
knowledge of telegraphy at the same time and when shortly 
afterward his parents moved to Ellicott City he was so expert 
that he took the place of the regular operator for a month, 
while he was away on a vacation, and received the regular 
salary. That was his first introduction to railroad telegraphic 
work and the beginning of his sixty years connection with the 
Baltimore & Ohio. Shortly after the regular operator re- 
turned to his duties, a vacancy occurred at Frederick Junction, 
and the young operator, then fifteen years of age, was offered 
the place. His mother objected to his leaving home on ac- 
count of his youth, but finally gave way, and the position was 
accepted. The little office and bedroom at a lonely junction 
told on the boy's nerves and his first night there was a sleepless 
one. In the morning his feelings were not soothed by learn- 
ing that a man had died of cholera in the bed the morning be- 
fore he occupied it at night. But he stuck to his post and 
performed his duty well, as he stuck to every post and per- 



328 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

formed every duty required of him until he laid down for 
final rest. From Frederick Junction he was sent to Martins- 
burg. In 1859 he was made payroll clerk at Cumberland; 
in 1 86 1 was placed in charge and opened the first telegraph 
office in Washington; in 1863 was made chief telegraph op- 
erator of the Baltimore & Ohio, with headquarters at Balti- 
more; in 1867 was promoted general agent at Hagerstown; 
was promoted division freight agent in 1878; assistant general 
freight agent in 1888. He was appointed in 1897 to the posi- 
tion he held until his retirement six months prior to his death, 
assistant general freight traffic manager. This record of serv- 
ice brought him into intimate relation with two of the im- 
portant departments of the Baltimore & Ohio -telegraph and 
freight. Beginning at the bottom, he thoroughly mastered 
every detail and developed quick decision, sound judgment, 
wisdom, initiative and ready resource. The way of the Balti- 
more & Ohio official was not a smooth, easy one in the early 
years of his connection, but he overcame every discouraging 
circumstance and became one of the men whom the manage- 
ment of the road trusted implicitly with weighty responsi- 
bilities and were never at fault in so doing. 

Fortunately Mr. Ways was induced to write a very com- 
plete account of his early experiences and so valuable is the 
story from both a historical and human interest view that it is 
here reproduced in part: 

I was operator at Martinsburg, West Virginia, at the time John Brown 
captured the Government armory at Harper's Ferry. Having nothing to do 
after the wires were cut I went with the Martinsburg militia to the scene 
of action. The second day after the arrival there, I was instructed to open 
an office, which I did in a one-story brick building located alongside the 
Winchester Branch track and directly facing the engine house, or fort as it 
was called, in which Brown and his men were barricaded. 

My selection of a location for the instrument table was in the middle 
of the room, and the door being open all the time, I had a full view of the 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 329 

Brown fort, and it appears he had a full view of mc and my instruments, 
for it was not more than twenty mnutes after I had gotten to work before 
two Sharp's rifle balls in quick succession passed within six inches of my 
head and buried themselves in the wall back of me. 1 can recall very vividly 
the whistle of the balls as they passed my head, and it did not take me very 
long to move my instruments to a safe place. Brown had portholes on all 
sides of the building and his men shot anything that came in sight. 

It was this recklessness that caused the death of old Mr. Beckham, the 
agent at Harper's Ferry at that time. He walked out of his office up the plat- 
form and put his head out to look at the fort when a Sharp's rifle ball put an 
end to his life in a moment. He was a well beloved old gentleman and his 
death caused much greater ill-feeling toward Brown and his men. From a 
point on the platform near where Mr. Beckham was killed I witnessed the 
storming of the fort by the United States troops commanded by General 
Robert E. Lee, then a colonel, and the capture of Brown after he and his 
men had fired half a dozen volleys through the doors of the fort into the 
troops, only one of them was killed, as I recall it, though I saw several fall 
wounded and carried away. The old man looked the picture of misery as 
he was dragged out to a spot under the Star-Spangled Banner which floated 
from a pole in the middle of the armory yard. 

I witnessed a curious incident in connection with the John Brown raid. 
He had imprisoned some of the citizens of Harper's Ferry in the western 
part of the engine house, and among them was "Daddy Malloy," a simple- 
minded native of Harper's Ferry, who had been run over by trains and had 
fallen off the bridge wall into the Potomac without being hurt, besides hav- 
ing other narrow escapes at various times. He saw an opportunity to get 
out of one of the windows and escape, which he took advantage of. That 
side of the engine house was in full view of the steep road or street that 
led up to Bolivar, and the side of the road toward the engine house was lined 
with armed militia and citizens, all looking toward the engine house. All of 
them saw Malloy getting out of the window and mistaking him for one pf 
Brown's men, probably three hundred shots were fired at him without one 
of them taking effect. This would seem to verify the saying that it takes 
half a ton of lead to kill one soldier in battle. 

I opened the first telegraph office at Washington, D. C, which was for 
the protection of Mr. Lincoln's train when he was brought to Washington 
to be inaugurated. My instruments were set up in a watchman's house about 
one hundred yards outside the shed of the old depot. This was one of the 



330 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



precautions taken by the Baltimore & Ohio Company to insure safety to the 
train on account of the rumors that it would be attacked. 

When the Civil War broke out I was at Harper's Ferry and witnessed 
the massing of the Confederate soldiers getting ready to march up the valley. 
When the Confederate flag was hoisted, to the tune of "Dixie" on the same 
Hagpole from which had waved the Star-Spangled Banner at John Brown's 
capture, the enthusiasm was beyond description. After the Confederates 
abandoned the armory building and moved up the Valley, the United States 
troops occupied the place for a time, but later abandoned it and blew up all 
the armory buildings. 

Having had notice of this movement I was detailed to go with the gen- 
eral supervisor of trains to open an office in his car at Sandy Hook, if neces- 
sary. He went over to Harper's Ferry and left me alone in the car. At about 
eight o'clock at night 1 was startled by a terrific noise of explosions like 
thousands of cartridges, and looking in the direction of Harper's Ferry I saw 
the light from the burning buildings. Just then a man whom I did not know 
opened the door and calling me by name, said: "If you attempt to cut the 
wires here you will be killed." With the delivery of that pleasant message 
he disappeared. Perhaps it is because I did not have to cut the wires that I 
am enabled to write this. 

While at Martinsburg, West Virginia, during the Civil War, the rail- 
road officials had advance notice from Winchester of Banks' retreat from 
the Valley and instructions were given to remove all the engines and equip- 
ment to Cumberland. One engine was held on the track in front of my 
office for the master mechanic, supervisor of engines and myself to go on as 
soon as everything had been started away, which had been accomplished just 
as the troops began coming into town. I notified Camden Station and the 
other offices, disconnecting my instruments ; carrying them away with me, 
and started the engine for Hancock, where we were to cross the Potomac 
river, the engine going to Cumberland. We went from Hancock to Hagers- 
town in a wagon, and the same night went to Williamsport and saw Banks' 
army retreating across the Potomac river into Maryland. 

Mr. Ways was president of the Baltimore & Ohio Relief 
Association; a member of the Masonic order, the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows; the Royal Arcanum and the Maryland 
Club, being one of the oldest members of the last named. He 
was a man of warm human sympathies and the number of his 
friends was "legion." 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 



331 



He married Elizabeth Virginia, daughter of Dr. Fred- 
erick Byer, of Leitersburg, who bore him two sons and a 
daughter: Thomas F. Ways; Max Ways, well known as one 
of the Democratic leaders in Baltimore; and Margaret E. 
Ways. 




JULIEN P. FRIEZ 

PROBABLY no single word so well classifies Mr. Friez as 
the title "Scientist," but that word indicates only the scope 
of his wondrous life of activity. He was a skilled worker in 
metals; an inventor; a maker of fine instruments used in 
telegraphy and meteorology; maker of the first telegraph key 
and sounder used by the Western Electric Company; spun 
the first watch case made in this country; made the first musical 
telephone while associated with Professor Gray; aided in 
perfecting the Mergenthaler typesetting machine, and devoted 
the last sixteen years of his life wholly to the science of 
meteorology, perfecting during that period countless numbers 
of recording instruments, the appliances and apparatus made 
at his Belfort plant, now being in use by the United States 
government, municipal governments, colleges and universi- 
ties all over this and every country of the world. He was not 
a scientist of the type which investigates only, but his studies 
seemed but the preliminary work to the perfecting of scientific 
instruments or apparatus. He was of that exceptional type of 
scientist who, after investigation, research and study of a sub- 
ject, could discern just what instruments would be necessary to 
give practical value to his discoveries, then evolve the instru- 
ment from his inventive brain, then produce it in metal worked 
by his own hands or under his supervision. So as scientist, 
inventor and mechanician his work was so interwoven that 
while his fame might safely rest upon either title, in combina- 
tion they form a record of achievement marvelous in scope 
and value. 

Julien P. Friez was born at Grandvillars, near Belfort, 
France, August 16, 1851, and died at his home, "Belfort," 
Central avenue and Baltimore street, Baltimore, Maryland, 
March 9, 1916. He was the son of Joseph Friez, born De- 
cember 13, 1818, died February 21, 1891, and his wife, Mar- 
guerite (Roy) Friez, daughter of Francis Roy, of the house- 




: s ----- r 



-'/^t* cJ3. 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 333 

hold of Louis XVI., of France, and a grandson of Jean Jacques 
and Marie (Moine) Friez. Joseph Friez (father) was for 
many years a manager in a manufacturing establishment at 
Grandvillars, or near there. 

Julien P. Friez obtained his early education under the 
private teaching of Professor Rose, in the village of Geromany, 
France. At an early age he came to the United States, locat- 
ing in New York State, entered the New York University, 
pursuing courses there until graduation. For a time thereafter 
he taught French, during his residence in New York State, 
and when about sixteen years of age went west, locating in 
Ottawa, Illinois, the residence of some of his relatives. In 
1868 he became an apprentice under Robert Henning, a 
machinist and maker of telegraph instruments, located in 
Ottawa. There he acquired his expert mechanical skill, and 
developed the inventive genius hitherto laying dormant. He 
became foreman of the Henning factory, and was one of the 
pioneers in the work of perfecting the telegraph. This estab- 
lishment was the first in the west to become interested in the 
development of the telegraph, and during his apprenticeship 
Mr. Friez aided in completing the first telegraph line in the 
west, a line about ten miles in length, connecting the factory 
and shops with the residence of Mr. Henning. During his 
four years residence in Ottawa, Mr. Friez met the early 
telegraph workers, and later came in direct association with 
Professors Morse, Knox and Shane. At Ottawa he made 
the first telegraph key and sounder for the Western Electric 
Company, that corporation having taken over the Henning 
plant. 

From Ottawa, Illinois, Mr. Friez removed to Philadel- 
phia, Pennsylvania, where he began the manufacture of tele- 
graph instruments, but the great panic following the failure 
of Jay Cooke, the Philadelphia financier, so completely para- 
lyzed the business interests of that city that he soon closed his 



334 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

shops and removed to Baltimore, Maryland, that city hence- 
forth to be the scene of his life work. During the time spent 
in Philadelphia, he was employed in a watch case factory and 
he devised means by which cases could be "spun" instead of 
being stamped, and for this achievement was presented with 
a watch. In Baltimore he soon became associated with A. 
Hall & Company, manufacturers of electric clocks, in the 
capacity of manager, and while serving in that capacity made 
the acquaintance of Mr. Mergenthaler, who was employed in 
the same shop. One of the clocks installed by this company, 
under Mr. Friez's management, is still marking the hours in 
the city hall, another in the Rennert hotel. Mr. Friez was 
next connected in an official capacity under the Brush Electric 
Company, and later was superintendent of the Baltimore works 
of the Mergenthaler Manufacturing Company, and was of 
especial aid in inventing and perfecting that wonderful piece 
of machinery which revolutionized the printing business of 
the world the linotype. He was also associated with Pro- 
fessor Gray at one time, and built for him the first musical 
telephone, and with Professor Henry A. Rowland in instru- 
ment manufacture, Professor Rowland bearing testimony to 
the high quality of his partner's scientific attainment. About 
1876, Mr. Friez established the business that was to win for 
him world-wide fame, a business which was not to pass away 
with him, but is still conducted by the founder's sons, Julien 
M. and Lucien L. Friez, whose natural ability was carefully 
developed and trained by their father. 

His first plant was located on West German street, but 
prior to this he worked at his home, in the evenings, develop- 
ing and improving, also manufacturing meteorological instru- 
ments, all this work being done by Mr. Friez with a foot lathe. 
In 1896, he removed to the present site of the Belfort Observa- 
tory, Baltimore street and Central avenue. He became known 
as one of the foremost manufacturers of meteorological instru- 



GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 335 



ments and apparatus in the world, and volumes could be 
rilled with descriptions of his life's work. He perfected and 
completed the first heliograph, a great improvement over the 
cumbersome English instrument. He also invented the quad- 
ruple register, which records on a single sheet the velocity and 
direction of the wind, the sunshine and the rainfall for each 
minute of the day. Another of his chief inventions was the 
soil thermograph, by which the temperature beneath the 
earth's surface can be obtained; another, the Friez water-stage 
register, which records the stages or levels of the water in 
rivers and reservoirs, and the movements of the tides. He 
built instruments of the most delicate nature for scientists in 
every field, but the public knew of his work more through 
the perfecting of the Rowland Multiplex Telegraph, the 
linotype, the making of the dies and punches for the old Balti- 
more Oriole souvenir pins, and for his imposing residence, 
"Belfort," a great old-style mansion, spacious and comfort- 
able, surrounded by terraces, arbors and flower-beds, where 
hundreds of varieties of flow r ers, shrubs and trees flourish in 
succession throughout the year, the grounds presenting a most 
beautiful spectacle during the summer months. The name he 
gave his home and observatory, "Belfort," was in remembrance 
of his native Belfort, in France, the Chateau of Belfort, the 
scene of some of the deadly conflicts of the present European 
war. overlooking the place of his birth, and during the Franco- 
Prussian war, of 1870, Belfort was the only French fort which 
did not surrender. 

During the years 1900-16, Mr. Friez personally devoted 
himself to meteorology, a science in which he was a pioneer. 
The value of the work of those years cannot be computed for 
the records he made are preserved and the instruments he in- 
vented and perfected to aid the work of the meteorologist are 
almost without number. He established his observatory at 
"Belfort" and made his retreat so difficult of entrance to 



336 GENEALOGICAL AND MEMORIAL 

strangers that it was surrounded by a certain air of mystery. 
There Mr. Friez pursued his study, investigation and inven- 
tion, his only diversion outside the laboratory being an occa- 
sional fishing trip and the beautifying of his grounds with all 
varieties of roses, shrubbery and trees. Rather a remarkable 
fact was that although a Frenchman, nearly all of his friends 
were Germans or of German descent, and he was connected 
with the leading German singing societies of this city and 
others he resided in, being at one time an active member of 
the Germania Maennerchor, of Baltimore. His manufac- 
turing business was conducted under the corporate name of 
Julien P. Friez & Sons, and The Belfort Meteorological Ob- 
servatory. 

Mr. Friez was the friend of young men seeking to make 
their way in the scientific world, and in all parts of the coun- 
try there are heads of departments of large manufacturing 
companies, men who served an apprenticeship under his guid- 
ance. When a young man completed his course and passed 
from under his control, Mr. Friez presented him with a gold 
watch, this applying even to his own sons, the youngest of 
them being the last to receive this reward. His sons, Julien 
M. and Lucien L., received their reward in 191 3- 14, the last 
to receive instruction under their father. This instruction 
fitted the sons, even at an early age, to successfully conduct the 
wonderful business so well established. In 1913, Mr. Friez, in 
company with his youngest son, Lucien L., toured the cities 
and countries in which he had studied and labored, he describ- 
ing and illustrating his entire life for the benefit of the son. 

Mr. Friez married Cordelia Schimff, of Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania. Three sons were born to them: Frederick J., 
a resident of Atlantic City, New Jersey ; Julien M. and Lucien 
L., successors to the business of Julien P. Friez & Sons; and 
three daughters: Sister M. Pierre, a Sister of Mercy; Alice 
J., wife of M. J. Jennings; and Louise M., wife of Burns 
Hyland. 



~rc