Class. F74- Bonk iH.y Hj& 3 / ^ Ibe. IMEMLLDOOK I=>LJOL^IS^-IElE::► cnAMDEK OF conno^cE M«&H- ScHoow • i^tg- / ^/ ^ F74 4.. I i 1 To the men and women of today and yesterday who have painstakingly and unselfishly labored 1 to make their home the best, to improve those facilities which were Creator-given and to leave posterity a legacy in a Greater and Better Haver- hill, this Haverhill Book is respectfully dedicated by The Haverhill Chamber of Commerce. 15. of w. APfi i 1920 HAVERHILL,-A BRIEF OUTLINE OF HER HISTORY By Honorable Albert L. Bartlett THE Reverend Nathaniel Ward of Ipswich, — preacher, scholar, statesman and author, — was desirous that his son, the Reverend John Ward, and his son-in-law. Gyles Firman, a physi- cian, should be located together where they could be worthily supported in their professions. Conse- quently, the established settlements being supplied with ministers and doctors, a petition was presented to the General Court of Massachusetts in May, 1640, asking permission to establish a new plantation on the Merrimack river. This petition was at once granted, and the location chosen was where an Indian village called Pentucket, — "the place by the winding river," — had once existed, abandoned long before, however, because of the ravages of a pesti- lence among the red men which had greatly reduced their numbers. The new settlement was called "Mr. Ward's plantation," and was named "Haverhill" from the time of its being granted, after that "Ha- verhill,"— "the hill of the flocks," or "the hill of the oat fields," — in England that was the birthplace of the Wards. The first few adventurous settlers came from Newbury and Ipswich in 1640 and 1641. John Ward came in the latter year, but Gyles Firman chose to remain in Ipswich, from which place he later re- turned to England to enter the ministry. The col- onists bought the large tract of land constituting the original plantation of Haverhill from the In- dians, paying therefor three pounds and ten shil- lings, and receiving a deed thereof, dated November 15, 1642, signed by John Ward, Robert Clements, Tristram Cofiin, Hugh Sherratt, William White and Thomas Davis, for the settlers, and by Passaquo and Saggahew, with the mark of the bow and arrow, for the Indian grantors. This deed is still preserved, the custodian being the Haverhill Historical Socie- ty. The town was incorporated in 1645, the twen- ty-third town of the colony, and the first church of the town was gathered in the same year under John Ward as pastor. The first selectmen of the tovra, Thomas Hale, Henry Palmer, Thomas Davis, James Davis and William White, were elected October 29, 1646. The first meetinghouse, a tiny log structure twenty-six feet long and twenty wide, was built in 1648 on the lower end of the Mill Lot, now Pentuc- ket Cemetery, and here worship was held for more than half a century, until in November, 1699, the meetings were transferred to the new house built within the Common, now City Hall Park. The long service of John Ward, first preacher and teacher and influential leader, lasted from 1641 until his death in 1693. The colonists v^rrested from the wilderness their scanty living, fought with cold and privation, and were in constant defense against the stealthy, treacherous and cruel Indians who ambushed and killed and captured, and who made two memorably flerce attacks on the little settlement; — one on Mai'ch 15, 1697, when they plundered and burned nine houses, killed twenty-seven persons of whom thirteen were children, and carried away thirteen captives, two of whom, Mrs. Hannah Duston and Mrs. Mary Corliss Nefl^, wrought bloody vengeance on their captors; the second, just before daybreak on August 29, 1708, when a large party of French and Indians, two hundred or more in number, at- tacked the centre of the tovvTi, killed the minister, John Rolfe, at the parsonage, where the High School now stands, massacred sixteen persons, carried away sixteen captives, and fled before the sun was fairly up. So hot was the day that it was necessary to bury the dead at once, and so exhausted were the townsmen that they could dig for them but a single trench. Haverhill was made a part of Essex County, February 4, 1680, and the old county of Norfolk, of which it was previously a town, was abolished. Changes in the original territory of the town were made in 1725, when a large part of its western sec- tion beyond Hawkes Meadow Brook was made a separate township, called Methuen, and in 1740, when by the settlement of the bountary line be- tween Massachusetts and New Hampshire a large tract of land now embraced in the to\vns of Hamp- stead, Plaistow, Atkinson and Salem, was trans- ferred to New Hampshire. The town grew, expanded in industries, shared in all of the struggles of the colony, and used its town meetings as schools for the teaching of lib- erty and equality in rights. The news of the strug- gle at Lexington reached Haverhill on April 19, 1775. Three days before a disastrous fire had swept Main street from the Common to White's corner, and men were still working over the ruins when the messenger rode into town, but before evening one hundred and five minute men and militia were on the march to Cambridge. In the more than eight years of the Revolution, Haverhill contributed its full quota of men and met its full share of expendi- ture. It bore its severe burden with characteristic courage, hope and determination, and when the war was over it set itself to rebuild its shattered industries. The shipyards took new life, the wharves were piled with commodities for commerce and prosperity smiled upon the town. Moreover it be- came a leading community in culture and refinement, in religious and missionary spirit, and in temperance and anti-slavery activity. When the Civil War of 1861 came, Haverhill was ready to do her patriotic duty. Her population in 1860 was but 9,995, yet she contributed to the fight- ing force of the Union 1300 men, including 73 com- missioned officers; and although her valuation was but $3,798,550, she raised and expended on account of the war $118,135, while for aid to dependent fam- ilies she gave $114,542. The years following the close of the Civil War were filled with change and activity. The town was innumerable advantages and the quickening life of the city. Twice before, once in September, 1869, and once in June, 1872, efforts had been made to unite the places, but they had been rejected. In October, 1908, a new city charter, founded on the commission form, was adopted at a special elec- tion, and under this form of administration the city is at present governed. No years of her history have been so marked by excellence of conditions, by prosperity and healthy and rapid growth, as her recent years. "Proud of her history and traditions; proud of the men and women who here have lived and worked, preached and taught and sown the seed of larger thought and prosperity within her confines; proud of her growth, her honored standing among the cities of the Commonwealth, the intelligence and high character of her people; proud of the pros- CITT HALL, PARK AND HANNAH DUSTON MONUMENT ambitious to assume the dignity of a city, and on May 15, 1869, by a vote of 671 yeas to 141 nays, the act establishing the City of Haverhill was adopted. On January 3, 1870, the first city government was inaugurated, the Honorable Warner R. Whittier be- ing the first mayor. With the change from town to city the old Haverhill underwent a rapid trans- formation. Change and growth swept away old residential streets and old buildings, opened exten- sive new building tracts, built new schools, churches, bridges and public buildings, gave new life to busi- ness and brought the spirit of increasing activity and energy to the community. On November 2, 1896, an act annexing the tovm of Bradford to the city of HaverhilU was accepted by both communities. This union gave to Haverhill a beautiful residential district, and to Bradford the perity within her marts of trade, the peace within her streets, the harmony within her factories; she turns to the future a face shining with hope and the confidence of fortunes even brighter and greater than those of her past years." Many of the historical events described by Mr. Bartlett centered around the spot pictured above. The park was formerly called "The Common," and on it was erected the second meeting-house. The rear of the First Parish (Unitarian) church is seen at the right of the picture, while next to it, in the background is the old High School, now the Central Ninth. The monument in the foreground commemorates the brave deed of Hannah Duston, whose escape from Indian captivity is recorded in American school histories. 6 THE SPIRIT OF HAVERHILL By Charles C. Chase, President Haverhill Chamber of Commerce HAVERHILL, on the banks of the Merrimack, renowned as the slipper city of the world, is known wherever industry or the fruits of industry are recognized. As a place of residence, as a manufacturing city, it has proved itself among those of greatest importance. The beauty of situa- tion, topped by hills whose verdure is one of luxur- iance; with fertile valleys, stretches of woodland, beautiful to look upon; with many advantageous breathing spots; with a park, the happy recreation grounds of thousands, affording not only wonderful drives and vistas of scenery of incomparable splen- dor, but panoramic effect of long distance views. Many lakes afford pleasant prospects, furnish an en- viable water supply and make of the landscape a vision of delight. The construction of buildings in later years; the acquisition of public property, the exceptional growth of the city in many directions mark a pro- gress that foretells extension of boundaries and a development industrially and socially that will de- mand a greater citizenship. Here where our ancestors founded homes be- cause it was a fair place and here where General Washington immortalized the beauty of the river and its shores, here where our hearts have been in- spired by the history of those pioneers, here is where our destiny lies. With a vision comparable to that of the first settlers, our forbears built their homes and made their town a worthy place for others. With some- thing of that same vision, enlarged as to scope of present day opportunities, we, the citizens of Haverhill commend that early judgment and de- termine to make a city that shall always stand for the best. Beautiful for situation, ideal as a place of resi- dence, possessed of many opportunities, industrially and socially, Haverhill stands today with broader outlook and with an optimism unbounded. The 400 manufacturing establishments of the present, the 15,000 busy workers of 1917 are heralds of thousands of factories and a corresponding increase in popula- tion. Haverhill expects to do greater things in the future because of its great past. It is to be a more important Haverhill with a brilliant and powerful aggregate of citizenship which will have a part in the successes that are to be realized. Faithful to the traditions, with belief in the present and all its future, Haverhill invites others from distant places or nearby towns to share in creating a still better city and by the combination of many minds, with the accord that comes from a unison of ideas and hopes, there will remain for Haverhill a realization of all the blessings vouch- safed to man. HAVERHILL AS A SHOE MANUFACTURING CENTRE By Albert M. Child, Secretary Haverhill Shoe Manufacturers' Association WHEN we study the history of shoemaking, we find it to be one of the first industries to be taken up in Haverhill, after John Ward and his band of adventurous spirits paddled up the Merrimack in 1640 and settled in the most beautiful spot which their eyes beheld upon its banks. From making shoes for themselves, then for their neighbors and then on and on, the industry grew until in the fifties and sixties, the city was de- veloping into a Shoe City, reaching that distinction when receiving its City Charter in 1870 and in the summer of that year proving that fact, when her shoe manufacturers entertained upon the eastern shore of picturesque Lake Kenoza, shoe buyers from every state in the Union, bringing them from Bos- ton by special train, banqueting them in the "Old Stone House" and returning them to Boston. A valued souvenir of that occasion, a group picture, portraying that milestone in the industry, hangs in the office of the Haverhill Shoe Manufacturers' As- sociation. The central figures in this picture are Governor Washburn and Haverhill's first Mayor, Hon. Warner R. Whittier. It was presented to the Association by Mr. Henry G. Dillenback, one of the local partici- pants, who was a prominent manufacturer of that period. Haverhill shoe manufacturers of 1870 knew and practiced successful methods of making, advertis- ing and merchandising their goods and their suc- cessors, with this inherited knowledge, have, with infinite study, acquired the highest ability in devis- ing new styles and fancy combinations to attract and please the purchaser. Her shoe worlcers are born to the business, growing up in it, trained in it; employers and employees thinking, talking, dream- ing and making shoes. So Haverhill well merits its acknowledged position as the "Leading Slipper City of the World," and the Chamber of Commerce slo- gan, "Haverhill Shoes Tread the Carpets of the Globe," is just as true as though stated in less thrilling language. In 1876, at the Philadelphia Centennial, an ex- making Haverhill the "Great Boot and Shoe City" is the making of men's medium grade Welts and Mc- Kays, high and low cuts, and medium and high grade men's Turn slippers. The value of men's shoes made annually amounts to $6,000,000.00. With the 140 concerns doing business in soles, taps, counters, leather heels, wood heels, toplifts, tacks and all kinds of shoe findings; with officials in all of the National Banks and Trust Companies, who thoroughly understand the shoe business and who are ever ready to give character and ability their full value when extending credit and whose time and valuable advice are freely accorded with as liberal treatment as safety will allow; with opera- HUOOOCK SHOE COMPANY THE "LANG" AND "BURGESS," MODERN FACTORY BUILDINGS hibition of shoes by a local firm, Hazen B. Goodrich & Company, won a medal for unsurpassed style and workmanship. Although the style was the square toe and low heel of the period, the workmanship cannot be bettered today. While Haverhill has long been knoviTi as a Slip- per City and still holds the leading position in that line, she is fast becoming a leader, also, in the man- ufacture of women's boots. Welts, McKays and Turns, from medium grades to a high, fine and beautifully made product, which compares favorably with that of factories in other sections longer known as boot producers. Another feature which is an important factor in tives trained in the work from minority; with head- quarters of all the shoe machinery companies; with centrally located modern factories and with home facilities unexcelled in beauty, convenience and vari- ation, Haverhill has not only everything which the large manufacturers can desire, but is a place with unequalled opportunities for the ambitious young- man to start with small capital. Prom the Massachusetts Bureau of Statistics, we find that in 1914, Haverhill had 126 manufacturing establishments devoted exclusively to the manufac- ture of boots and shoes. The capital invested was approximately nine and one-half million dollars, the value of the stock and material $14,569,417, and the Q J 3 ffl « O Eh O o CO ^ o o « J <; o amount of wages paid $6,318,254, while the value of the products reached $25,319,953. The report for 1916 will show such an increase as no man dares estimate. Haverhill has more individual shoe man- ufacturing establishments than any other city in the world. It is these individual establishments which grow and develop into larger firms that are the hope and promise of an even greater shoe manu- facturing city in the future. While Haverhill's shoes are largely sold to the jobbing trade, many of her manufacturers sell di- rectly to retailers, thus eliminating a profit and in- creasing the publicity of the Haverhill product. An article upon the shoe industry of Haverhill would be incomplete and the increase during the past decade inadequately explained without a word about facilities. In 1905, there being no vacant factories, there- fore no opportunity for expansion, the Haverhill Board of Trade successfully promulgated a factory building campaign which directly resulted in the addition of an average of 100,000 square feet of floor space per year for ten years. Without exception, the eleven factories and three additions built dur- ing that period are either brick and mill construc- tion or cement — modern in every way — and 90 per cent, or 900,000 square feet of this new space is util- ized for the manufacture of shoes, or an increase of 60 per cent in ten years. Therefore, a statement that Haverhilll shoes tread the carpets, the streets and the fields of the world would not be overstating the distribution of the annual product of 25,000,000 pairs of men's, women's, boys', misses' and chil- dren's Turns, McKays, Welts and Stitchdowns man- ufactured in the "World's Best Factories," in the "Fastest Growing Shoe City in the United States." .flt\ "fTW i WATER FRONT ALONG THE FACTORY IJISTRICT OF WASHINGTON STKHET AGRICULTURE OF HAVERHILL By E. A. Emerson WHEN Haverhill was first settled practically every man was a farmer. In the early days the wants of the family were supplied from the products of the farm. Vegetables, grains, fruits, maple sugar, maple syrup, meat, eggs, poultry, and wool were common products. Hides were tanned and made into shoes, wool made into cloth, hats and yarn for stockings. From this condition of indepen- dence there has been a gradual change down to the present time so that now we are dependent on al- most the whole world to supply our needs. The writer can remember when most of the clothing for the family was home made and boots and shoes made by the local cobbler. For many years most of the farm produce was raised in Haverhill or adjoining towns. Now a large part of it is brought from Boston. We raise very little grain, we produce very little butter, no cheese, and more than half our milk supply comes from out of town. Thirty years ago most of the milk was re- tailed by men who raised part or all of their supply. Now the number of pedlers has diminished 75 per cent, and most of the dealers buy all their milk. A few years ago almost every farm on the roads out from the center of the city had cows and hens. Now many farms have no hens or cows. There are few farms where many vegetables are raised. On the trolley lines many farms have been cut up into house lots on which practically noth- ing is produced. 10 There are probably a dozen of farmers who raise a large quantity of milk and about two dozen who raise smaller amounts, about a dozen who produce large quantities of vegetables and thirty or forty who raise small quantities. There are also a few raisers of small fruits, no very large producers of eggs and poultry, but there are several hundred in the business in a small way. Haverhill is typical of other cities and large towns in New England. As population increases, milk and other farm products are brought in on steam cars. Even in Atkinson we find a decline of agriculture. On Maple Avenue there are now five or six cows where a few years ago there were two hundred. Agriculturally, Haverhill is not much unlike other New England cities which have enjoyed tremendous growths along industrial lines. Attracted by the wage of the city with its many factories, the farm- er's son has left the parental homestead and migrat- ed to the larger center. That is probably one of the reasons why agriculture has not developed into the industry which it properly is. The advent of the war in 1917 brought the average city-man to a real- ization of what an important factor home agricul- ture can be. The Essex County Agricultural School in Hathome is the first county agricultural school in the country. It was secured through the efforts of the Essex County Associated Boards of Trade. Day scholars are taken from the farms, both boys and girls, and are taught the principles of farming and may thus come back and apply them at home. This is one of the means of restoring agriculture to its proper sphere. c rrn r, r t r r . »• r l I [ c 1 1 [ t L s c i. i i. r WATER FRONT AT WASHINGTON SQUARE PARK HAVERHILL'S GROWTH TOLD IN FIGURES By Daniel N. Casey, Secretary Haverhill Chamber of Commerce HAVERHILL is the fastest growing shoe city and in the period from 1909 to 1914, which was the last taken by the Bureau of Census, Haverhill made a net gain of 13 shoe manufacturing establishments, leading all other competing shoe centers in the number of concerns gained in this period. In that five years also, Haverhill gained a total of 52 manufacturing establishments, and to- day has a total of nearly 400 industrial plants. Ha- verhill has more individual shoe manufacturing con- cerns than any other city on the North American Continent about 135 firms being devoted to the manufacture of boots and shoes. Haverhill is also the center of the cut stock trade, there being about 140 firms engaged in this line. Worsted goods, hats, morocco goods, leather, box board, wooden and pa- per boxes are also produced in Haverhill. Haverhill was for a long time known strictly as a woman's shoe center and is today the slipper city of the world. Her manufacturers have also gone into the production of other lines of footwear, how- ever, so that now Haverhill is producing 25,000,000 pairs of shoes a year for men, women and children in turns, welts, and McKays. The disastrous fire of 1882 which leveled the old Washington Street district, gave forebears the op- portunity to re-create the brick factory building and practically all of Haverhill's industrial firms are today housed in the most modern factories of cement and brick. 11 The growth of Haverhill in all lines, particularly in the last ten years, has been steady. Haverhill has added an average of 1,000 persons a year to her population in the past decade, has built an average of a modern shoe factory a year in the past ten years, and in the last five years has added seven and one-half million dollars to the value of her man- ufactured products, while her building permits have averaged close to a million and a half every year. New concerns and complete store alterations have naturally followed, and 2,000 tenements and homes have been built. Gas in Haverhill is 80 cents per thousand feet. Electricity for lighting is 11 cents K W hour, with a power rate as low as any in the State. Haverhill has 40 miles of street car trackage. Haverhill has an area of 32 square miles. There are two general hospitals, a tuberculosis and a contagious hospital. H2 Z-- 364 Boot and Shoe Cut Stock and Findings 135 Boots and Shoes 119 Boxes, Fancy & Paper 6 Bread and Other Bakery Products 18 Cutlery and Tools not elsewhere specified 4 Foundry & Machine Shop Models and Patterns, 6 Products ■ ■> Tobacco Manufacturers, ... 4 Other Industries 67 (These are the 1916 official Sixty trains a day arrive and depart from Ha- verhill depot, on main line Boston and Maine. Di- rect express service to Boston and express service direct to New York. Haverhill has four national banks, a trust com- pany, three savings and two co-operative banks. Settled in 1640, made a city in 1870, Haverhill has a population of 50,000. First city in the East to adopt the commission form of government, Haverhill has smooth paved streets, granolithic sidewalks, several hotels, a tele- phone to every six of its population, and is one of the first cities in the state in the ownership of auto- mobiles. A new Boys' Club home, for which funds were raised through public subscription, is just completed. Young Men's Christian Association and Young Wo- men's Christian Association, both equipped with gymnasiums, are centrally located. WAGE EARNERS EMPLOYED ?^ ^ f ^ ■a •32 o'ii 4> oj TO - c 1.1 71 _ ^ II 3 1" 6s ■5 ffl £i . u > <A J5 <B to ■5S C 3 gi >S <« <:h § fc. CQtc mZ oz >&< 0,495,585 $28,029,957 $8,598,864 $643.96 8,832 4,521 13,353 9,919 17.171 $43,920,078 5.138,760 8,992,440 914,081 549.33 1.220 444 1,664 1,240 2,233 11,450,957 9,651,712 15,103,788 6,550,145 670.02 6,173 3.603 9,776 7,150 12,566 26,109,453 142,040 187,940 96,373 507.23 74 116 190 164 214 353,865 69,822 154.978 40,079 742.20 50 4 54 50 62 262,498 13,881 5,385 15,800 929.41 17 — 17 17 19 32,022 25,883 10,712 59,812 920.18 65 — 65 52 84 156,257 152,607 59,221 H2,211 715.80 45 — 45 35 55 82.S23 6,659 3,699 2,669 533.80 5 — 5 5 7 10,108 5,294,221 3.511,794 887,694 577.55 1,183 354 1,537 1,206 1,931 5,402,095 figures of the Massachusetts Bureau of Statistics.) THE BOSTON & MAINE RAILROAD BRIDGE— COUNTY BRIDGE IN THE BACKGROUND 12 THE MERRIMACK RIVER By Charles H. Croy, Chairman River Navigation Committee THE battle for a deeper Merrimack goes back al- most as far as the oldest resident can re- member. With the assistance of a systematic plan worked out by the commercial organizations and representatives in the General Court in the Mer- rimack Valley indications were, up to a few months ago, that there were very bright prospects for de- velopment. The war intervened, however, and after a bill had unanimously passed both branches of the General Court promising state co-operation with the Federal Government on the project to obtain eigh- out into the sea; and then proceeding upward is Amesbury, then Haverhill and Lawrence and Low- ell. These cities with the towns adjacent have a population of 310,000 people. Haverhill has seven and one-half feet of water at mean low tide, and there is a rise and fall of about four feet. In 1914 the special committee appointed by Governor Foss advocated the development of the River to Lowell, which would be virtually to the New Hampshire state line. The project calls for a navi- gable channel eighteen feet deep and 200 feet wide HAVERHILL. BRIDGE CONNECTING THE CITY PROPER WITH BRADFORD teen feet from Newburyport to Lowell, Governor Mc- Call vetoed the bill because of war's contingency. In the last four or five years very comprehensive plans for the development of the Merrimack River have been worked out and the war will only serve to delay the ultimate consummation of a most meritori- ous project and one from which future generations will reap incalculable benefit. The Merrimack Valley is the richest industrial section in all industrial Massachusetts. Twenty-six per cent, of all manufactured articles in the Bay State are made along the banks of this river. The waters of the Merrimack turn more spindles than any other stream on earth, and it has been roughly figured that a million dollars a year could be saved on coal alone if the river was navigable as far as Lowell, thirty-six miles from its mouth. At Newburyport is the Harbor, which stretches at an estimated cost in 1914 of $7,076,600. The mem- bers of this state commission were: Charles C. Paine of Hyannis, chairman; Andrew B. Sutherland of Lawrence, and Lewis R. Hovey of Haverhill. December 10, 1914, fifty men from the Merri- mack Valley appeared before the committee on Riv- ers and Harbors, House of Representatives, 63rd Congress, and advocated the development proposi- tion. This followed the report from the government engineer of November 10, 1914. On May 23rd, 1916, representatives of the commercial organizations ap- peared before the Board of Appeal of the United States Army Engineers in Washington and the next month this board approved the project as one of merit with the recommendation that the Federal Gov- ernment participate in the expense equally with the State of Massachusetts. Under the plan the United States Engineers are to do the work with Massachu- 13 setts to pay half at a rate not to exceed a million dollars a year. The cities and towns are to take care of all land damages and terminals and dock facilities. The bill which was presented to the Legislature in 1917 provided that the State was agreeable to the plan of the United States Army Engineers and mere- ly made the state funds available when the Federal Government called for them. This bill, had Governor McCall signed it, would have become a law, and the stamp of approval placed on it by the Legislature is evidence of the merit of the proposition. This is the plan which will, undoubt- edly, be followed in the future. Some of the figures which have been compiled to show the commercial strength of the Valley are very impressive. The following data may be of interest: There are on the banks of the river, in this short It equals in value 30 per cent, of the foreign trade of Canada, where $360,000,000 has been spent on rivers and ]■ rbors to develop foreign commerce. It equals in value nearly 25 per cent, of the for- eign trade of Austria-Hungary. It equals in value nearly 25 per cent, of the for- eign trade of the Russian Empire. It is equal in value to nearly 50 per cent, of the entire foreign trade of China and more than 50 per cent, of the entire foreign trade of Japan. It is greater in value than the foreign commerce of any of the countries of the Western Hemisphere with the exception of the United States, Canada, Brazil and Argentine Republic. It exceeds in value the foreign commerce of any of the seaports of the Western Hemisphere with the exception of New York and Buenos Aires. WATER FRONT BELOW HAVERHILL BRIDGE AT THE HEAD OF NAVIGATION distance: 4 cities and 12 towns concerning which the following facts are submitted. (In order to be con- servative, 1912-13 figures have been used.) Population 307,540 Value of assessed estates $262,710,204 Number of manufacturing establish- ments 814 Capital invested $188,152,336 Number of wage earners 85,069 Amount of wages paid in year $42,004,459 Value of stock and materials used $116,870,360 Value of finished product $196,595,077 Value of raw material and finished products combined $313,465,473 The value of raw material used, plus the value of the finished product equals 7% per cent, of the en- tire foreign trade of the United States. It equals in value 12% per cent, of the entire trade of France. It exceeds the foreign trade of Galveston by over $24,000,000. It exceeds the foreign trade of New Orleans by over $61,000,000. It exceeds the foreign trade of Boston by over $97,000,000. It exceeds the foreign trade of Manchester, Eng- land, (where $100,000,000 have been spent in con- structing a canal 36 miles long with extensive sys- tems of docks) by $37,000,000. It exceeds the foreign trade of Glasgow, Scot- land, (where $55,000,000 have been spent in dredg- ing and dock construction) by $66,000,000. It represents trade of over one million dollars a day for every working day in the year. The foreign trade of the United States is $400 per capita. The trade of the Merrimack Valley is over $1,000 per capita. 14 Cost of raw materials imported to Merrimack Valley is $7,000,000 more than all the exports from the United States to South America, and the trade in the Merrimack Valley is three times greater than the entire United States exports to South America. The trade of the Merrimack Valley is greater than the exports of the United States to France, Italy, Spain, Russia and Austria combined. Almost equal to our exports to Canada or to Ger- many, our second and third best customers, and is over 50 per cent of the United States exports to Great Britain, our best customer. The freight tonnage is over 5,000,000 tons an- nually, which is about the same as that of the Man- chester, England, ship canal, which cost $100,000,000 to construct. Please remember that the above figures are all in connection with business done in 1912 and do not re- flect any of the recent tremendous increases due to war orders. If 1916 figures had been taken they would, in most cases, have been 50 per cent, higher, and in some cases nearly 100 per cent, higher. Not many years ago Massachusetts was second only to New York State in the value of its manu- factured products and led Pennsylvania by $3,000,- 000, and Illinois by $192,000,000. Since that time New York State has spent $272,- 000,000 on its waterways and leads Massachusetts in manufactured products $1,500,000,000. Illinois has spent $39,000,000 and now leads Mas- sachusetts, $192,000,000. Pennsylvania has spent $63,000,000 on water- ways and now leads Massachusetts by $840,000,000 in manufactured products. The great Kiel Canal, completed in 1914, is 61 miles long and cost more than $65,000,000. The British Royal Commission on Canals and Waterways reported concerning the German water- ways: "That the use of natural and artificial water- ways, in cheapening the transportation of coal and other low grade traffic increased the trade, industry and wealth of Germany and so indirectly increased the revenues of the railroads from passengers and high class goods." The engineering plan contemplated a lock and dam near Lion's Mouth in Amesbury and probably another lock between Haverhill and Lawrence. Up to a few years ago when street railway competition rendered the business unprofitable, pleasure steamers plied between Haverhill and Black Rocks at the mouth of the river and in 1904 a boat line for some months ran between Boston and Haverhill, but this had to be finally abandoned because the boat was forced to wait for the tide. There are about 200 motor boat owners in the city with two boat clubs. With a great abundance of green on its banks, with trees overhanging, with fertile farms adjoining, with an undulating country spread out on both sides, including many nooks and turns the Merrimack Riv- er in the grandeur of its beauty rivals that of the Hudson from Albany to Poughkeepsie. The waters of the Merrimack are a pleasant blue, the hills which o'er top it in the summer a delightful green, and tVe vast areas of trees and plants which line its bp".cs render its view one of unsurpassed adommem, and wondrous scenic beauty. HAVERHILL'S PARK SYSTEM By Henry Frost, Supt. of Park Department. DIVIDING Haverhill's great industrial and mer- cantile sections, fronting Washington Square and running to the river, in the very heart of the city, a beauteous breathing spot is the marvel of visitors to our city. It is Washington Square Park and while its entire extent covers only 60,000 square feet, its location in the very center of all commercial activities is proof that Haverhill has an eye to natural beauty and a liking for the things of earth. Shrubs, trees, and green grass make at- tractive this little garden spot at all times of the year, while the swift swish of the Merrimack lends a distinctiveness which makes it all the more wondrous. City Hall Park as well is another area of green near the orbit of the city's activities and in it are the statues of Hannah Duston, erected by the late E. J. M. Hale, and a boulder set in place by the Daughters of the Revolution in commemoration of the men who fell in the war of 1776. Haverhill's Park Board created twenty-seven years ago has charge of nineteen parks and four playgrounds, with a total area of 296 acres and an assessed value of $507,000. The largest is Winni- kenni Park with 214 acres which lies around the shores of Lake Kenoza. This estate was for many years the property of the late Dr. James R. Nichols, who built the castle which surmounted the hill from rocks and stones all found in the adjacent neighbor- hood. Later this castle was the summer home of a Mr. Webb of Salem and is now owned by the Ha- verhill Water Works. Pour miles of driveway have been constructed around this Park circuiting the Lake. At one resting spot is a beautiful fountain contributed by the family of the late Dudley Porter, for many years a member of the Park Commission, 16 and Tyler Memorial, a pagoda house of stone given by Mrs. Henry P. Tyler, in memory of her husband. A tennis court, bowling alley, swings and the vast area of shade contribute to make this Park one of the beauty spots of Massachusetts. The hemlock grove of extensive area is one of the only two in the state the other growth of hemlocks being at the feet, and Bradford Common, transferred to the Park Department by the first Parish in Bradford in 1901, contains 41,725 square feet. The Gale Park at the junction of Mill Street and Kenoza Avenue was given to the city by the late John E. Gale, for many years an enthusiastic member of the Park Commis- sion. The curbing around the Park costing a thousand ^^^^ DUDLEY PORTER ROAD, "WINNIKEXNI PARK Harvard arboretum. The entire Winnikenni section dollars was secured by subscription from the near- is in a wonderful location and its stretches of roads and walks with its trees and shrubs make it most charming. Riverside and Shoreland Parks compose sixty- one acres. Mt. Washington Park is 48,000 square by residents. Some of the early churches were lo- cated on the lot of land now knovvTi as City Hall Park, and the title was given the city by the First Parish under the conditions that it should be for- ever kept for Park purposes. What is now Wash- 16 ington Square Park was turned over to the Park Department in 1890 and was laid out by Superinten- dent Frost. The Brickett Park, adjoining the Walnut Square School, was taken by right of eminent domain and was named for the late Benjamin F. Brickett, at one time Mayor of Haverhill. Columbia Park was a gift from the people who laid out the street which the Park divides. The White Park on Mill Street was given by the White Estate. Sagamore Park on North Main Street was a gift from ex-Mayor George H. Carleton. Haseltine Park in the Bradford Dis- trict, was given by the estate of George Haseltine, tains 60,600 square feet. The Primrose Street playground is land owned by the city and contains about 18,000 square feet. It was turned over to the Park Commission last year and will be occupied shortly for the uses of a playground. Young lady supervisors and janitors are provided during the summer months at the playgrounds, most of which are thoroughly equipped. Places are also provided for coasting, skating and the Park Department is hopeful of doing more along these lines for the com- ing generations. The development of the Park System of Haverhill has been by conservative but helpful measures and DUDLEY PORTER MEMORIAL, FOUNTAIN, WINNIKENNI PARK which also provided a fountain and also furnished money for fitting the Park up for park purposes. The Union Park between Union and Nichols Streets was a gift of people living nearby. The lot on which Windsor Park is located was taken by the city for street purposes and the trees set out around it by S. Porter Gardner. Silver Terrace on Mt. Wash- ington is the smallest Park with 2,416 square feet. The city has four public playgrounds. The play- ground on Mt. Washington, known as Passaquio playground, was purchased in 1909 and contains 14 acres of land. The Bradford playground in the Bradford District contains 73,342 square feet. The Margin Street playground near River Street con- steady, thoughtful work has brought all the results of today. The work has been broadened out as the years have passed by the increased activities made neces- sary. The spirit of the Park Commissioners and em- ployees has been to develop the natural breathing spots within the city to the best of their ability and limit of the appropriations and to lay out the Parks with an eye to future growth. These men have had the vision of the city beautiful before them and have labored unceasingly that Haverhill's Parks might compare favorably with all others. We have today a Park System of which we are justly proud and one that reflects the citizenship of the city. 17 HAVERHILL'S WATER SUPPLY By Albert L. Sawyer, Registrar THE Haverhill Aqueduct Company was organ- ized in 1802, the first meeting being held in Harrod's Tavern, which stood on the site of the present City Hall. At this date there were but sixteen places in the United States that had a water works system, and there were none in Canada. In 1891 the City acquired the water system of the Aqueduct Company, paying for the same $720,- 504. The management of the Department is vested in a Board of five commissioners, one being elected The purity of the various sources of water supply for the City is considered by the State Department of Health as generally satisfactory. The chlorine is considered the best index to pollution and the chlorine of all the sources of supply in Haverhill averages from .45 to .50 while the normal chlorine for the region about Haverhill is .30. Bacterial examinations of the main sources of supply have usually been satisfactory. In regard to the hardness, the waters of the various sources of the supply, with the exception of KENOZA LAKE, HAVERHILL'S CHIEF WATER SUPPLY each year by the Municipal Council for a term of five years. In 1896 by the annexation of Bradford, the City acquired the water system that had been built by that Town. The sources of supply in Haverhill are. Crystal Lake, Kenoza Lake, Lake Saltonstall and Pentucket Lake, with a total watershed of 3207 acres, and a capacity of 1,551,400,000 gallons together with Mill- vale storage reservoir with a watershed of 4954 acres and a capacity of 118,000,000 gallons. Brad- ford is supplied by Johnson's Pond with a watershed of 3300 acres and a capacity of 708,000,000 gallons. All but one of these ponds are wholly within the city limits. Lake Saltonstall, are comparatively soft ranging from No. 66 for Crystal Lake to No. 130 for Lake Saltonstall out of a list of 153 water sources of supply. The average hardness of the various sources of supply for 1916 is as follows, in parts of 100,000: Millvale Reservoir, 2.8 Kenoza Lake, 2.1 Crystal Lake 1.3 Johnson's Pond, 2.7 Pentucket Lake, 2.1 Lake Saltonstall 3.0 As a matter of comparison it might be stated that, the hardness of the Metropolitan water supply for 1905 to 1909 inclusive varies from .8 — Wachusett 18 Reservoir, to 2.0 — Lake Cochituate. The hardness of the filtered Merrimack River water — Lawrence water supply — is 1.4. A reservoir on Gale's Hill with a capacity of 9,000,000 gallons furnishes high service for domestic and fire purposes in Haverhill, and a second reser- voir with a capacity of 3,000,000 gallons furnishes similar service for Bradford. Separate mains for fire service are laid throughout the retail and the manufacturing districts, which afford ample service in case of fire. There is no charge for water used for fire stand pipes or automatic sprinklers. Since 1891 many improvements and additions have been made to the system. Among these have been, the purchase of much of the land on the water- shed of the various ponds; the construction of a reservoir and dam with pumping station and pump at Millvale; a new station and two pumps at Kenoza; two storage reservoirs and the installation of an additional pump at Bradford. The larger part of the land acquired around Kenoza Lake is known as Winnekenni Park, having been placed in the care of the Park Commissioners by the Water Board. The amount of bonded indebtedness which was originally $900,000, has been reduced to $360,000, and in 1927 will be entirely paid. There have been ten reductions in water rates since the City acquired the plant, the present sched- ule being among the lowest in the State. All fac- tories are metered, and water rates are based on a sliding schedule ranging from .16 per 100 cu. ft. (750 gallons) to .07 y2 per 100 cu. ft. 25 per cent, discount is allowed on water bills paid within fifteen days, and in 1916 $44,845.63 was allowed in discounts. The statistics of the department December 1, 1916 were as follows: 116% miles of main pipe; 8056 service taps; 1477 stop gates; 461 hydrants and 2599 meters; daily consumption 5,856,596 gal- lons or 116 gallons to each inhabitant; 32 per cent, of the services are metered. The total receipts from sale of water in 1892 was $72,206; in 1916 $158,581. Expenses in 1916 for operation $51,568; interest, bonds and sinking fund, $50,240; construction and land, $53,871. MILLVALE STORAGE BASIN AND RESERVE WATER SUPPLY 19 OUR MUNICIPAL ORGANIZATION By Frederick H. Magison, Esq., City Solicitor, 1916 THE government of the City of Haverhill as de- termined by the charter amendment of 1908 (Chap. 574 of the acts of that year), is osten- sibly and by reputation the so-called "commission form" of municipal government, and possesses cer- tain prominent features consistently connected with this new and concentrated form ever since it was first put into practical use in American cities some seventeen years ago. These particular features are the short, non-partisan ballot, the recall, and the in- itiative and referendum provisions. Nevertheless, the terms "commission" and "commissioners" were carefully and conscientiously avoided by the authors of Haverhill's "new charter," as a part of their plan of centralizing all authority in the Municipal Coun- cil as a board and of preventing the exercise of any of it by an individual member of that board. The governing body of the City of Haverhill, styled the "Municipal Council," is composed of a mayor and four aldermen elected at large and with- out political designations, for terms of two years. In theory, at least, it is supposed to be continuously on duty for the transaction of the city's business, as indicated by some of the terms of the charter, by the amounts of the salaries paid the council ($2500 to the mayor and $1800 to each alderman), and by the absence of any expressed power to delegate any duties. At the beginning of each municipal year the council is organized by the choice of a president, not the mayor, who, in the absence of the mayor presides at meetings and acts as mayor, with au- thority to do such minor acts and perform such du- ties as, by law or ordinance, devolve upon the mayor and which from their nature must be done by an in- dividual and without delay. Powers of the Council The charter specifically provides that all power and authority vested by law in the city as a body politic and corporate shall devolve upon and be ex- ercised by the council as a board. In accordance with the provisions of most com- mission government charters, the form adopted in Haverhill does not permit the exercise by the mayor of any of the authority which by general law and custom has long been an inseparable adjunct of the ofl!ice. He has no power of veto or approval, or of nomination or appointment to or removal or sus- pension from office. He presides at the meetings of the council when present, but otherwise has merely the power of his own vote on all matters, and is in all other respects no more than on a par with the other members of the council. The result is that each alderman has equal authority with the mayor in all municipal affairs. Division of Functions In contra-distinction to the typical commission government charter, the so-called "new charter" of Haverhill contains no provision for the division or assignment of administrative or executive functions among the five members of the Municipal Council, but on the contrary, definitely lays down the princi- ple that the Municipal Council shall exercise and perform, as a body, all the powers and duties which were previously exercised and performed by the mayor, the city council and its different branches and committees under the old bi-cameral form of government. Despite the directions, omissions and implica- tions of the "new charter," however, and in apparent recognition of the difficulties of administering the affairs of the city in any other manner, the Munici- pal Council has from the first adopted the plan of subdividing, by order at the beginning of the year, the various functions of government into five sepa- rate and distinct departments, and of assigning one of these departments to each member of the council, with power to supervise and control its op- erations subject to the general administrative auth- ority of the council as a board, thus, in effect, close- ly approximating the poorer of the two systems of government by commission. (The other system, it may be explained parenthetically, is the election of presumably fitted commissioners to appropriate de- partments already separated and established by charter. ) This division of executive responsibility in Ha- verhill, unauthorized by the charter as it is, has been from the first the cause of considerable criticism as well as confusion. But it has been believed that in no other way could the many details of municipal affairs be properly taken care of, and that necessity alone is sufficient to give this division of functions a sort of legal status, if it is not, indeed, permitted by implication for the very objects for which govern- ment exists. The omission in the charter of any provision whatsoever for the division of functions and their assignment to different members of the council has been accepted as a mistake in judgment. 20 The five departments into which the government of Haverhill has thus by order regularly been di- vided are the departments of "Finance and Ac- counts," of "Highvirays," of "Public Safety," of "Pub- lic Property" and of "Health and Charities." The Recall Provision The recall provision of the Haverhill charter is of the type usually found in straight commission government charters. In order to recall a member of the Municipal Council a petition must be filed bearing the signatures of voters equal in number to twenty-five per cent of the votes cast at the last election at which a mayor was elected. When such a petition is presented to the Municipal Council, it must call a special election at which, unless the in- cumbent sought to be removed signifies his inten- Initiative and Referendum The right of initiative and referendum, in con- nection with the internal legislation of the city, is provided for by the Haverhill charter in a form very similar to that of the ordinary commission govern- ment charter. A petition for the passing of an ord- inance, signed by the same number of voters that is required on a recall petition, calls for the enactment of such ordinance by the Municipal Council, or for its submission to the people at a special election, or at a regular city election, if one is due within nine- ty days. A similar petition, signed by less than twenty-five but more than ten per cent, of the same number of voters obliges the Municipal Council to pass the ordinance, or to submit it to the voters at the next regular city election, whenever it may come. HAVERHILL CITY HALL, MAIN STREET tion not to be a candidate, he will be included among the candidates for the office qualified at a primary previously held for the purpose. At such an election the person receiving the highest number of votes is declared elected and for the balance of the unexpired term of the person removed or sought to be removed. The exercises of the recall privilege has never yet been carried to the conclusion of a special election in Haverhill since the recall provision was included in the charter. This may be due to the requirement of a number of signers to the petition equal to twen- ty-five per cent, of the number of persons voting at the last mayoralty election, which is well above the average proportion required by the provisions of most modern short ballot charters, and is con- sidered too high by experts. The repeal of any ordinance passed by the coun- cil may be eflfected by a majority of the voters at an election, special or regular, after the filing of a pe- tition therefor signed by twenty-five per cent, of them; and the repeal or amendment of any ordinance passed on petition may be eflfected by a majority of the voters upon the initiative of the Municipal Council in submitting a proposition for such repeal or amendment to the people. Conclusion The form of the municipal government of the City of Haverhill is admittedly a weak modification of the commission form, and is technically not en- titled to be known as such; but it is difficult to know how else to describe it in terms, inasmuch as the Municipal Council has by order and lately by ordi- 21 nance assumed for its individual members the title and some of the authority of commissioners. But it must be evident from the results of its operation during the past nine years, as well as from a comparative study of the law under which it is established with those acts establishing in other cities the genuine commission form of govern- ment, that the frequent lack of departmental co- operation and the consequent furthering of ineffi- ciency in the management of municipal affairs is due as much to the timid deficiencies of the charter as to the incapacity of ofRcials elected in a sense at random to executive positions undetermined and un- defined in advance for the benefit of the electorate. THE MILITARY BODIES OF HAVERHILL By Major Ralph D. Hood HAVERHILL from the earliest period of her white settlement has furnished men of prov- en military ability and prowess as upholders and defenders of the God-given right, or religious, civic and personal freedom from all rule except that of, "By and with the consent of the governed." As early as 1631 a military company was auth- orized and in all probability Ensign Noyes, our first surveyor, was an officer, although it was not until 1662 that a record was made of the organization of a Militia Company with Captain William White and Lieutenant Daniel Ladd as officers. In 1675 a fort was built around the meeting house and from that time until 1762 the colony was almost continually under arms in defense of their homes from the attacks of the Indians and French. On April 30, 1697, the famed Hannah Duston and two companions killed and scalped ten Indians, thereby carving a place for herself in the world's history as the American Amazon. In the Indian massacre of August 29, 1708, the following officers were killed: Captain Samuel Ayer, Captain Simeon Wainwright, and Lieutenant John Johnson. In the pre-Revolutionary period many companies of Militia were organized. Among those whose names have been perpetuated, are found that of General Israel Bartlett, the only general officer men- tioned in early history, as well as the following Cap- tains: Edmund Mooers, Richard Saltonstall, David Johnson, John Hazen and Ensign Moses Hazen. These officers kept up the organization of the Mili- tary Companies of that early period. Previous to September 5, 1774, all of the Haver- hill troops had been Infantry, but on this date a company of Artillery was organized under Captain James Brickett, Lieutenant Israel Bartlett and En- sign Joshua B. Osgood as officers, probably in anti- cipation of the Revolution. On April 19, 1775, Lieutenant Colonel James Brickett with Captain James Sawyer's, Captain Eb- enezer Colby's, and Lieutenant Samuel Clement's Companies of minute men, a total of 105 officers and men, left Haverhill for Cambridge in answer to the first call of the American Revolution; one company of Militia having been left behind to protect the town and finish up the spring work. At the battle of Bunker or Breed's Hill two com- panies were in action and a number of men were wounded, among them being Col. James Brickett. A greater portion of these men, with many recruits from home, continued in the service of the Continen- tal Army throughout the war, among whom were Captain William Baker and General Thomas Bart- lett, the latter having been the ranking oflScer from the town of Haverhill. In 1804 Capt. Huse was commanding the local company and on May 26, 1810 the Haverhill Light Infantry was organized and commanded by Captain Jesse Harding, with an armory in the Bannister Block on the site of the Wachusett Club at the cor- ner of Merrimack and Bridge Streets. The town boasted of three companies in 1812 and on Septem- ber 10, 1814, Capt. Samuel W. Duncan's Company of the 5th Regiment, 2d Brigade, 2d Division, M. V. M., with Lieutenant Nathaniel Burrill and Ensign Thomas Newcomb, marched to Charlestown for ser- vice in the war against England. At the close of the war in 1815 the town held a celebration in honor of their successful efforts to maintain their independence and the names of Ma- jors Duncan, White and Harding appear as the rank- ing officers of the occasion. The Haverhill Light Infantry was disbanded in 1841 and was succeeded by the Hale Guards under Capt. William Taggert. No company was organized for the Mexican War in 1849 and 1850, but many Haverhill soldiers went with Col. Caleb Cushing's Massachusetts Regiment and at least seven of these veterans are buried in Ha- verhill cemeteries. No remarkable military event occurred between 1850 and 1861, and during a part of this time the Hale Guards were quartered in the Town Hall and later were transferred to the Armory at the corner of Merrimack and Fleet streets, where they were when the call came to put down the Rebellion, and under Capt. Carlos P. Messer the Hale Guards as Co. D, 5th Massachusetts Infantry, entrained for the defense of Washington and took part in the Bal- timore Riot on their way. The following companies were later recruited and did loyal service from 1861 to 1865: Co. E, 17th Vol., Capt. Michael McNamara. Co. F, 17th Vol., Capt. Luther Day. Co. H, 22nd Vol., Capt. John J. Thompson. Co. G, 35th Vol., Capt. William F. Gibson. Co. G, 50th Vol., Capt. George W. Edwards. Co. F, 50th Vol., Capt. Samuel Duncan. Co. I, 60th Vol., Capt. David Boynton. Besides these other unattached units followed, all doing heroic service for state and nation. Many gained high rank and undying honor, among whom was Major Henry Jackson How, whose brilliant life closed on a Southern battlefield. With a total popula- tion of less than 10,000 persons, Haverhill furnished 1873, John N. Ellsworth was commissioned 1st Lieu- tenant and Frank A. Dow, 2nd Lieutenant. April 13, 1874, John N. Ellsworth was commis- sioned Captain, Frank A. Dow, 1st Lieutenant, and Charles H. Stanton, 2nd Lieutenant, who was suc- ceeded by Marshall Alden on September 11, 1875, and who later became 1st Lieutenant on Sept. 17, 1877. It was in 1877 that this company was equipped with the Springfield breech-loading rifle, calibre 45. On September 11, 1878, Marshall Alden became Captain, and on Dec. 20, 1878, William L. French and George H. Hanscom became 1st and 2nd Lieuten- ants, and by General Order No. 7, December 3, 1878, this Company was transferred from the Sixth to the Eighth Regiment. December 29, 1879, George H. Hanscom became THli) HAVIOHHILL ARMuRY, KKNiiZA AVKNLJE 73 officers and 1,300 men to preserve the Union, and of this number 186 gave up their lives in battle. Military matters were at a standstill in Haverhill after the close of the war in 1865 until July 1, 1869 when Co. F, 6th M. V. M. was transferred from Con- cord to Haverhill and Capt. Edmund G. W. Cart- wright, 1st Lieut. Henry T. Fitts and 2nd Lieut. Wil- liam H. Turner were elected officers on August 6, 1869, and camped at Boxford, August 24 to 29, 1869. On May 23, 1870, William H. Turner was com- missioned 1st Lieutenant and Richard B. Brown, 2nd Lieutenant. Annual Camp was September 6 to 10, 1870, Swampscott. April 15, 1872, Richard B. Brown was commissioned Captain and John N. Ellsworth, 2nd Lieutenant, and the Annual Camp was at Swampscott. In 1873 the State purchased the State Camp- ground at Framingham and the Militia was equipped with the muzzle-loading Springfield rifle. May 19, Captain and Benjamin H. Jellison, 2nd Lieutenant. Lieutenant French was succeeded as 1st Lieutenant by George W. Sargent on June 28, 1880. In 1883 the Armory was moved to Fleet Street and Co. F entertained Co. C, 1st Maine on February 2 of that year. On January 18, 1884, the following officers were commissioned: Capt. B. H. Jellison, 1st Lieut. George W. Pettingill, 2nd Lieut. John A. Rich, who was suc- ceeded by Ira C. Titcomb on June 1, 1885, and later by George H. Page on June 20, 1887, and on January 31, Charles P. Damon succeeded George W. Pettin- gill as 1st Lieutenant, Damon being followed by William C. Dow on May 13, 1890. Wilmot U. Mace became 2nd Lieutenant on Feb. 10, 1891. March 14, 1893, Captain William C. Dow and 1st Lieutenant Wilmon U. Mace were commissioned, fol- lowed by 2nd Lieutenant Thomas F. Crowley on May 9. On June 28, 1895, William C. Dow was commis- 23 sioned a Major in the 8th Regt. M. V. M., and on Dec. 28, 1895, Wilmot U. Mace resigned as 1st Lieu- tenant and from this date until March 20, 1896, Lieut. Thomas F. Crowley was in command of Com- pany F, on which date William C. Dow became for the second time the Captain and David E. Jewell be- came 2nd Lieutenant. At the call to the colors for service in the Spanish War Company F became a unit in the 8th Massachu- setts United States Volunteers May 10, 1898, and on May 11, 1898, Captain W. C. Dow and 2nd Lieut. David E. Jewell were commissioned in the U. S. Ser- vice at Framingham, Mass., then went to Camp George H. Thomas at Chicamouga, Tenn., arriving May 19, 1898; then to Camp Hamilton at Lexington, Kentucky, and from there to Camp Oilman at Amer- icus, Georgia, on Nov. 10, 1898. During the absence of Co. F for Spanish War Service a provisional company was formed and mus- tered into the State service on June 21, 1898, and was commanded by Lieut. Carlos E. Palmer, being disbanded on April 15, 1899, at the Armory on Emer- son Street, when Company F returned, and was re- organized under Capt. W. C. Dow, with Lieut. David E. Jewell and David F. Whittier. Capt. William C. Dow was commissioned for the second time in the U. S. Volunteers and gave up his life while in the Phil- ippine service. On Nov. 16, 1899, the following officers were elected: Capt. David E. Jewell, 1st Lieut. David F. Whittier; and on Nov. 18, 1899, 2nd Lieut. John R. Sanborn, who was succeeded on Nov. 21, 1900, by Charles F. Glover, and he by Harry B. Campbell on Feb. 26, 1901. Capt. D. E. Jewell resigning, the fol- lowing officers were elected: Capt. David F. Whit- tier, 1st Lieut. Harry B. Campbell on Jan. 20, 1903, and George M. G. Nichols as 2nd Lieut. April 15, 1903. June 7, 1904, Harry B. Campbell was commis- sioned Captain, George M. G. Nichols, 1st Lieuten- ant, and Ralph D. Hood, 2nd Lieutenant; and in 1905 the present State Armory was built on Kenoza Avenue. May 25, 1909, 1st Lieut. Ralph D. Hood and 2nd Lieut. Fred H. Whittier were commissioned. Jan. 5, 1912, Co. F saw service for 21 days in the Lawrence strike, and on Sept. 17, 1912, Charles H. Morse was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant. Upon the election and commission of Major Harry B. Campbell as a field officer of the 8th In- fantry, M. V. M., the following officers were commis- sioned on June 30, 1914, to fill the vacancies: Cap- tain Ralph D. Hood, 1st Lieut. Charles H. Morse, and 2nd Lieut. John D. Hardy, the election being held while the Company was on duty at the Salem Fire for a period of eleven days. Following the retire- ment of Captain Ralph D. Hood, Charles H. Morse was elected Captain on March 7, 1916, and on April , 3 was ordered out for riot duty for a few hours. On June 20, 1916, Co. F was ordered out for ser- vice on the Mexican Border, and during their ab- sence on August 2, 1916, John D. Hardy was commis- sioned 1st Lieutenant and on Sept. 23, 1916, George A. Colleton became 2nd Lieutenant, and after five months' service on the border the Company again returned to Haverhill on Nov. 11, 1916, and were re- ceived with honors. After the transfer of Captain Charles H. Morse to the Field Artillery, an election was held on May 1, 1917, and the following officers commissioned: Capt. John D. Hardy, 1st Lieut. George A. Colleton, 2nd Lieut. John B. Peaslee. The development of the German situation as a war in which the United States was about to engage, brought out a new arm of the Service in Haverhill, and that is the 2nd Battery Regt., Massachusetts Field Artillery, its predecessor having been organ- ized here Sept. 5, 1774. Battery A, 2nd Regt. Massachusetts Field Artil- lery, was mustered into the service on August 5, 1917, with Captain Charles H. Morse, Senior First Lieutenant, William Henry Root; Junior First Lieutenant, Benjamin P. Harwood; Senior Second Lieutenant, George W. Langdon and Junior Second Lieutenant Percy L. Wendell. A Home Guard, with Capt. Charles F. Glover, was organized in May, 1917. From the earliest days to the present time Ha- verhill has always given her best men for military service, and wherever her soldiers have been called they have performed their duty honorably and not- ably and in so doing have been an honor to their Country, their Flag, and the spirit of the Constitu- tion. May future generations never falter in the work of continuing those ideals for which these sol- diers of the past have given their service and per- haps their lives, and may God grant that Haver- hill's sons shall never raise the standard of war ex- cept it be for the purpose of preserving her honor, her homes, a friend or our National ideals! 24 HAVERHILL'S TRANSPORTATION FACILITIES By Edmund C. Wentvvortb, President C. H. Hayes Corp. ON the main line of the Boston and Maine Port- land division, Haverhill is directly served by this great New England railroad with its net work of connections to all other roads of the coun- try. There is a good line-up of service to all im- portant jobbing and mercantile centres which facili- tates delivery of Haverhill products. Sixty passen- ger trains a day arrive and depart from the Haver- hill depot, including through expresses to New York City. Boston, the heart of New England, 33 miles distant, is reached in 50 minutes. The Bay State Street Railway Company, which operates the largest single trolley corporation in the world, controls most of the urban trackage in Ha- verhill. This city is also served by the Massachu- setts Northeastern Street Railway Company, a pro- gressive company with headquarters in Haverhill. These have a combined trackage in Haverhill of 44 miles. Direct trolley connection is effected with Lawrence, Lowell, Newbury port, Amesbury, Salem, Lynn, Boston, Nashua, N. H., Manchester, N. H., Seabrook, N. H., Salisbury and Hampton Beaches as well as all the surrounding suburban towns. The Bay State corporation took over the holdings of the old Haverhill and Groveland Street Railway Company, which was the original horse car line, re- ceiving its first franchise May 10, 1877 and being permitted to use electricity as a motive power June 13, 1892. The Lowell, Lawrence and Haverhill noti- fied the mayor and aldermen of Haverhill on May 20, 1893 that it had purchased the Haverhill and Groveland Company. The Haverhill, Georgetowoi and Danvers, operating from Haverhill through South Groveland and Georgetown to Rowley and Ips- wich and also to Newburyport via Byfield began construction in 1895. All of these lines were later merged into the one corporation now known as the Bay State. The Haverhill and Amesbury Street Railway Company received its first franchise June 13, 1892, entering Haverhill from Merrimac via Kenoza Ave- nue. The Haverhill and Southern New Hampshire Street Railway Company obtained first grant March 1, 1900, and the Haverhill and Plaistow Street Rail- way Company, August 29, 1901. All of these are now part of the Massachusetts Northeastern system. The Boston & Maine Railroad opened for busi- ness to Bradford on October 26th, 1838 and came to Haverhill in 1839 when the original bridge was built. This was a small structure with single tracks and the entire upper part was of wood. The present railroad bridge was erected in 1881 and is of steel with two tracks, and just outside a foot walk for pedestrians. Grade crossings were abolished in Ha- verhill in 1905 and 1906 and at that time the Haver- hill Depot was remodeled. The main freight yard on upper Hale Street and in Bradford accommodates 650 cars; there is freight house space for the setting of fifty cars; private sid- ings accommodate 380 cars and there are six passen- ger stations within the confines of Haverhill. By means of the through car service, most of which was arranged through the Chamber of Com- merce, Haverhill is brought into more direct con- nection with the great jobbing centers. Chicago is reached the fourth morning and there is a forty- eight hour service in effect between Haverhill and New York in both directions via the Fall River Line. Any improved line-ups of service are closely fol- lowed by the Chamber which sees to it that Haver- hill is kept in close relationship with the large cen- ters. In the passenger end several changes were made in schedules and two new trains have been added in the last few years through the instrumentality of the Chamber. The Boston & Maine officials have al- ways been glad to co-operate in every way possible. The passenger service is particularly good in the morning and night hours when the great bulk of local passengers are being moved. The dining cars on the limited trains enable passengers from New York to eat breakfast en route and step from the car in Haverhill ready for business. Most of the increases in service on the Bay State Street Railway Company during the past have been granted at the request of the Chamber. These in- clude the seven and one-half minute headway on the Main Street line, the extra twenty-minute car to Bradford and several minor additions. This trolley company which operates most of the local lines in Haverhill has about 150 cars in this division and during the rush hours every wheel is turning. The Massachusetts Northeastern cars have direct con- nections with all the beaches and with Canobie Lake Park, New England's greatest summer resort in Salem, New Hampshire, nine miles away. While cold figures are sometimes uninteresting the growth of Haverhill in the last few years is re- flected in the statistics of the Boston & Maine. In 1906, 28,000 freight cars were required to handle the business and in 1916 82,546 cars were needed. This business grew to such an extent that a few years 26 ago the Chamber urged the Boston & Maine to in- crease facilities, which was done by adding 300 feet to the freight house and last year additional yard space was secured. The freight receipts in the last ten years have been as follows: 1906 $387,330.17 1907 480,150.05 1908 440,512.14 1909 511,623.35 1910 588,692.20 1911 616,759.62 1912 731,237.84 1913 689,916.89 1914 673,853.00 1915 687,197.58 1916 945,232.11 Coal Received (Tons). Year Anthracite Bituminous Total 1906 55,165 36,930 92,095 1907 85,490 37,523 123,023 1908 not available 1909 62,948 19,200 82,148 1910 70,943 28,105 99,048 1911 85,732 41,605 127,337 1912 107,209 66,262 173,471 1913 45,520 27,271 72,791 1914 51,542 29,826 81,372 1915 39,172 39,146 78,318 1916 61,449 60,755 122,204 FACTORY OF IRA J. WEBSTER, VILA STREET 26 HAVERHILL'S FACTORIES By Charles N. Kelly, Vice President Chamber of Commerce HAVERHILL may justly be proud of its fac- tories, — they are the foundation of its in- dustries and its prosperity. While the city is not wholly devoted to the shoe industry, this predominates, the manufacture of shoes being one of the very large industries here. Chase's History of Haverhill says that Phineas Webster was the first to manufacture for the whole- sale trade, about the year 1815. Mention is made of one David Howe, who after the Revolution made shoes on Main Street and was one of the promoters and builders of the Bannister Block, corner of Bridge and Merrimack Stret, oc- cupying two stores for his shoe business and send- ing his products to Danvers by team, where they were traded for leather. The methods of manufacturing shoes at that time were very primitive, everything being done by hand labor, the manufacturer using his factory in tovim principally as a storage for the raw materials and for trading and shipping the finished product. The farmers, for miles around, came to town and took home the material, making the shoes at their convenience. Of course, the cold weather months were the busy time for shoe making and the whole family would help at some part of the work, the women folk sewing the uppers, the men folk cutting out the soles by hand and finishing the product. The only part done by the manufacturer was to cut the upper stock. Many of our older people can remember the lit- tle country shops. No set of farm buildings in those days was complete without its little shoe shop ad- joining, and the ready money thus earned was a very important part of the income of the country people. These shops were really the first shoe fac- tories. By 1832 shoe manufacturing had become an im- portant part of Haverhill's business. At that time there were twenty-eight manufacturers, sixteen of them keeping English and West Indian goods for sale and trade. In 1837, when the first railroad was opened to Boston, there were forty-two manufacturers and in 1857 there were eighty-two. The southerly side of Merrimack Street had then become the centre of the shoe industry. While the manufacturers still continued to send their shoes to the country to be made, some of them began to make them in town, especially the better grades, and the practice of sending shoes to the country gradually dwindled until the Civil War, when that method was given up. The only shoe- making in the country shops after that was the turned slippers and some of that, in a limited way, is done today. The factories at this time were ordinary stores, three or four stories high, built in blocks of three or four stores in each block, with partitions between each store, running to the roof, and were dark and poorly ventilated. These old factories are today in the heart of the retail district of the city and have been remodelled and rebuilt so that the evidences of their former use have been obliterated. After 1860 machines for doing different parts of the work began to appear and methods of manu- facturing shoes changed. Contract shops came into vogue, many of the manufacturers letting out to contractors the stitching of uppers and to other contractors the making of the shoes. After the Civil War shoe business began to ex- pand and new factories were built on Washington Street and in the rear, but the old type of factory still continued. The big fire of 1882 completely levelled both sides of the street, but it was rebuilt on substantially the same lines as before. By 1890 new and modern methods began to ap- pear, machinery had been highly perfected and Ha- verhill was becoming one of the largest shoe cen- ters of the country. Our progressive manufacturers desired to expand and do business in a larger way, the contract shop was largely abandoned and the business concentrated under one roof. There are now several progressive shops doing various opera- tions, mostly stitching. This necessitated larger and more convenient factories. The first large mill constructed shoe fac- tory in Haverhill was built at this time on Hale Street and was the beginning of our modem fac- tories. Our largest factory at this time is owned by the Haverhill Building Association, organized by the Board of Trade, (now Chamber of Commerce), and contains over 220,000 feet of floor space, and there are several others very nearly as large. About 1910 the re-inforced concrete type of building construction became perfected and since that time three of this type of factory (containing some 500,000 feet) have been added to Haverhill space. Our modern buildings are up to date, most of 27 them being of brick or concrete construction, equipped with passenger and freight elevators, sprinklers, automatic alarm service to fire stations and electric lights, and the rates of insurance are very reasonable. Their central location, with refer- ernce to transportation of operatives on all trolley lines, is unsurpassed. The factories have developed as the shoe business itself has grown and as the demand came for con- centration and increased space under one roof, the giant factories of today were but the logical evolu- tion of the industry which for more than a century has occupied the attention of Haverhill and given employment to its people. Manufacturers of today like to do business in modern, well-lighted buildings where the insurance rate is low and where their em- ployees may have every advantage to get the work out under the best housing conditions. The Board of Trade, which is now the Chamber of Commerce, gave the real impetus for the modern factory building era for it established the Haver- hill Building Association. The financial success achieved with the Haverhill Building Association in- spired other groups of men to form associations for factory building purposes, encouraged new capital to invest, and blazed the way for the splendid types of homes which house the shoe manufacturing plants of today. Building of additional factories has not left the older factories vacant, for other firms have taken the places of those concerns which transferred to the new establishments. There is quite a constant demand for floor space, which is but another indica- tion of the healthy growth Haverhill enjoys. Besides a host of factories which operate for three and four stories over mercantile marts along Washington and similar streets, there are 35 build- ings of the modern type, containing approximately 2,500,000 square feet of space with an estimated value of $3,000,000. So Haverhill may justly be proud of the enterprise of her business men who have achieved so much. EMERY & MARSHALL CO., FACTORIES, PHOENIX ROW "HITCH YOUR HEART TO HAVERHILL." Combining to a nicety, two essential elements in an effective municipal slogan, "Hitch Your Heart To Haverhill" has generally been adopted as the motto of the city. These two elements are allitera- tion and sentiment. The slogan was conceived by Daniel N. Casey, Secretary of the Haverhill Cham- ber of Commerce shortly after he assumed that posi- tion in 1912, and while several others were submitted it was felt that this was the strongest phrase which could be used. In the past Haverhill has been known as the "Slipper City of the World," but since this city has also produced a great number of boots the Chamber of Commerce has been using the phrase the "Great Boot and Shoe City." After the organization started the factory building in 1903 another strong sentence was employed, this being "When factories are va- cant fill them — when factories are needed build them." Because the great number of splendid brick and cement structures which house the industrial plants are among the finest to be found anywhere, the Chamber of Commerce has rightly proclaimed that Haverhill has the "World's Best Factories." The great output of footwear has also brought into somewhat common use "Shoes made in Haverhill Tread the Carpets of the Globe." 28 ENGINEERING STATISTICS By Louis E. Lawton, City Engineer THE City of Haverhill has maintained a Meteor- ological Station since October, 1899. The station was established primarily for the pur- pose of furnishing evidence in lawsuits against the city in which any of the elements of the weather might have a bearing. All original records are filed away, and all such tabulations as might prove useful for our purposes are made. A tabulation of maxi- mum rates of rainfall for periods of five, ten, fifteen, thirty and sixty minutes is made for each storm, which proves of great value from an engineering standpoint, and is constantly growing in value with the increasing length of records. Every effort has been made to so arrange the dif- ferent details that future changes may not be neces- sary, either in instruments or manner of observation and record. It has proven a great benefit to the city and a paying investment, not alone for the purpose for which it was established, but in many ways. The following data collected from the records ex- tending over a period of seventeen years, from 1900 to 1916 inclusive, may be of general interest. Temperature. Highest temperature recorded, 104 degrees on July 4, 1911. Lowest temperature recorded, 17 degrees below zero on February 12, 1914. There are several features of interest in regard to short periods of extreme high or low temperature. During the first twelve days of July, 1911, there occurred a remarkable period of extreme heat, break- ing all other records in severity and duration. For six of these days the maximum thermometer regis- tered 100 degrees or more. The highest reached was 104 degrees on July 4. The months of January and February, 1914, were extremely cold. A cold wave coming on the night of January 12th and continuing through the 13th and 14th caused more discomfort than any cold wave for a great many years. There have been lower tem- peratures in other years, but seldom with wind of gale velocity, or without a substantial rise to above zero at midday. On the 13th of January, 1914, the highest temperature attained in the daylight hours was 6 degrees below zero at 2 p. m., while high west and northwest winds prevailed. The greatest ve- locity of the wind was at the beginning of the cold wave, 50 miles per hour, from the northwest, on the afternoon of the 12th. The minimum temperature was on the 13th and was 13 degrees below zero with a wind velocity of 45 miles per hour. In February, 1914, there was another period of even lower temperature. The lowest reached was 17 degrees below zero during the night of the 12th. There was at this time a wind velocity of 30 miles per hour. Precipitation. (Including rain, hail, sleet and melted snow) The average yearly precipitation has been 38.1 inches. The greatest precipitation for any one year was 48.13 inches, in 1900. The greatest for any one month was 10.98 inches, in July, 1915. The least precipitation for any one year was 28.87 inches, in 1914. The least for any one month was 0.01 inch in March, 1915. This small amount of precipitation for one month is noteworthy. At Boston, in authentic records extending back to 1818, the least amount for any one month was 0.20 inch in April, 1844, until the month of March, 1915. The precipitation for each year from 1900 to 1907, inclusive, was above the average, while for the years from 1908 to 1915, inclusive, it was below the aver- age. The maximum short period rainfall occurred dur- ing the storm of August 21, 1914, when 3.6 inches of rain fell during a period of 10 minutes. The average yearly snow fall has been 50.9 inches. The greatest snowfall for any one year was 100 inches, in 1916. In March, 1916, occurred the largest snowfall of record for any one month. Snowstorm succeeded snowstorm with a remarkable regularity and frequency. 47 inches fell during this month. The least snowfall for any one year was 19.8 inches, in 1913. The average yearly number of clear days has been 152. The greatest number of clear days for any one year was 232, in 1912. The least number of clear days for any one year was 104, in 1914. The greatest wind velocity recorded was 85 miles per hour on December 27, 1915. Haverhill City Base. Haverhill City Base (Elevation 0), to which all levels in the office of the City Engineer are referred, was established in 1877, and was at that time sup- 29 posed to be the level of extreme low water in the Merrimack River at Haverhill Bridge. Extreme Freshet Level. Observations by the City Engineer during the freshet of 1887 showed an extreme height of water in the Merrimack River of 22 feet over the City Base. This was then known to be the highest water for many years, and has since been used as the ex- treme. This elevation (22 feet over the City Base) is about the level of the top of the pavement in Washington Square, also the top of the dam at the Pentucket Mills. Various Elevations Above City Base : Ayer's Hill (the highest point in Haverhill,) 340 ft. Broadway at Ayer's Village, 200 ft. Lakeview Avenue 200 ft. Powder House Hill 253 ft. Silver Hill 278 ft. Winnekenni Castle, 296 ft. Water level. Gale's Hill Reservoir, 298 ft. Saltonstall Lake, water level, 121 ft. Kenoza Lake, water level 110 ft. Dead Hill Reservoir, water level 281 ft. Miscellaneous Data: Extreme length of city, 9 miles Extreme width of city, 5% miles Areas by wards: — Ward 1 73.6 acres or .11 sq. miles Ward 2 94.4 acres or .14 sq. miles Ward 3 110.3 acres or .17 sq. miles Ward 4 6,985.1 acres or 10.91 sq. miles Ward 5 7,395.5 acres or 11.55 sq. miles Ward 6 2,154.5 acres or 3.36 sq. miles Ward 7 5,192.1 acres or 3.11 sq. miles Total area of City, 21,985.5 acres or 34.35 sq. miles Haverhill has: — 140 miles of public streets. 75 miles of private streets. 60 miles of public sewers. 116 miles of main water pipe. 91 miles of main gas pipe. 35 miles of Street Railway track. k1';siijI':ncb of mr.s. charles k. \-i>x. aki.ington square 30 HAVERHILL'S EDUCATIONAL FACILITIES By Clarence H. Dempsey, Superintendent of Schools THE public school system includes one high school, a central ninth grade, twenty-two graded elementary buildings and eight rural schools. The value of the school buildings has in- creased in ten years from $591,000 to over $1,000,- 000. In the last three years a building program has been adopted that provides for the construction, as may be needed, of district grammar buildings capa- ble of economical enlargement. In pursuance of this policy, existing buildings will from time to time be of scholars. Those intending to go to college or technical schools may elect the college preparatory course, those expecting to prepare for business, the commercial course, and those wishing to obtain the best general training, the general course. All schol- ars take advanced manual arts work similar to that of the lower grades. The high school is housed in a beautiful and com- modious building, equipped with the very best of modem furnishings and devices. There are large. HAVERHILL HIGH SCHOOL. MAIN AND SUMMER STREET.S converted into primary schools, sending their upper grades to the highly organized grammar school cen- ters. In congested parts of the city kindergarten classes are maintained. Admission to the first grade is permissible to children five and one-half years of age. The course of study pursued in the elementary schools is thoroughly up to date, having been recent- ly revised. In addition to the conventional book work, instruction is given to upper grade pupils in manual arts — wood-working for boys, and sewing and cooking for girls. These courses have been or- ganized for years and excellent training is furnished by skilful teachers. The ninth grade work is arranged in three courses to meet most effectively the varying needs well lighted class rooms of the regular type for reci- tation work, splendid laboratories for work in phys- ics, chemistry, botany, geology and other sciences. Freehand and mechanical drawing classes are pro- vided with the best of surroundings and equipment. A well-organized and efficient commercial depart- ment furnishes training of a high order for busi- ness positions, and in connection therewith an em- ployment agency assists students to secure desir- able situations. Students are grouped into sections according to their courses — college, scientific, normal, commer- cial and general — so that work may be adapted to particular needs. Students going to higher institu- tions have found their preparation excellent, and have been able to maintain high standing on that account. 31 m O Z o o K o EC « H Q O a <! ►J H > K o a The high school has a fine auditorium capable of seating nearly one thousand people. It is widely used for public gatherings as well as for school as- semblies. The gymnasium is surpassed in size and equipment by but few school or college gymnasiums in New England. It is in constant use by both boys and girls for physical training and school athletics, and is frequently in commission for social events. The high school, erected by an unpaid commission, cost $400,000. One of the finest athletic fields in the country has been provided for the schools by the generosity of interested citizens. Football, baseball, track events, school meets and all sorts of outdoor gatherings can be splendidly cared for on this field, and specta- tors can enjoy events in comfort. The grandstand will accommodate about five thousand people, and beneath it are locker rooms for the care of both home and visiting teams. Four and one-half acres are enclosed with an eight foot cement fence, and there are six more acres capable of development. The health of school children is well safeguard- ed by the supervision of four school physicians, a school nurse and a school dentist. In addition, the Board of Health keeps careful watch of contagious diseases, and quarantines or excludes all children who might endanger the health of other school chil- dren. Excellent school lunches of th'e usual kind are furnished daily in the high and central ninth grade buildings, and penny lunches are furnished in many other buildiings where the need seems to warrant it. Ventilation, temperature, general morals and other things that aflfect the welfare of children are care- fully regulated by principals and teachers. In addition to the regular day schools, evening classes are held during the fall and winter months for the instruction of foreigners in English and ele- mentary subjects, for adults who wish to extend their common school education, for young men de- siring work in mechanical drawing, and for com- mercial students. Many people have availed them- selves of these opportunities to their great advan- tage. The administration of the schools is directed to- ward the highest welfare of the children of the city. A splendid training is possible through them for either higher education or for the occupations of life. The city appropriates generously for the support of the schools, and is endeavoring to not only keep them upon a high plane of efficiency, but to raise them to even higher standards. Parochial Schools. The St. James Church, one of the largest in the Boston Archdiocese, has connected with it the St. Gregory's Primary and Grammar school and St. James High School. The St. Joseph's Church has two parochial schools, one for boys and one for girls. All are housed in comparatively modem brick struc- tures, in convenient locations, and the standard of education is very high. There are 936 pupils in the St. James' and St. Gregory's school, vidth twenty-sev- en teachers, and 778 pupils, with seventeen teachers in the schools connected with St. Joseph's parish. A strong curriculum is maintained and the schools rank as among the best in the state. The assessed value of the school property con- nected with St. James' Church, including all the schools, convent and St. Patrick's Hall is over $200,- 000. The assessed value of the schools connected with St. Joseph's Parish is approximately $60,000. All the rooms and equipment are in good condition, and all are substantial structures built for the busi- ness of education. THE PRESS OF HAVERHILL ESTABLISHED institutions, recognized as pre- senting clean, readable news, Haverhill's newspapers stand among the leaders in Bay State journalism. A newspaper since 1798, the Ha- verhill Gazette today housed In its splendid fire- proof plant, combining every element known to me- chanical science, has achieved a reputation for in- tegrity and progression that has helped make it the popular paper that it is. The Haverhill Record, a live Sunday newspaper, was established in 1902 by Lewis R. Hovey, its present publisher. A leader in moulding public opinion since the early days of the town, the Gazette has been an ad- vocate of all the things that mean a better Haverhill and has ever taken a constructive view-point. The late John B. Wright a generation ago in the face of strong opposition built the Gazette along the virile lines it today follows and laid the foundation for its wonderful growth. Editorially it is energetic, pro- gressive and constructive. The Gazette's mechanical equipment includes the latest machines for setting types of all sizes, even to the large display and streamers, heads and adver- tising. A bank of eight linotypes, supplemented by smaller machines, a great stereotyping room with its facilities for quick casting and a press room with a Hoe press capable of turning out 48,000 16-page pa- pers an hour are only some of its facilities. The Sunday Record, which occupies the entire ground floor of the Merrimack Associates Building on Locust Street, uses a smaller but just as up-to- date plant. In connection is a complete printing department. 33 H g 5 fj M O J w Q Q O 34 SOCIAL ACTIVITIES GOOD fellowship among all races, between both sexes and among all classes of people in Ha- verhill is evidenced by the number and strength of the lodges and clubs which flourish with- in the city. Organized activity has been successful and companionship thus engendered has reflected the citizenship of the community. All of the great na- tional lodges are represented in Haverhill with good branches. There are ten lodges of Odd Fellows, six of Ma- sons and sixty-four other lodges in Haverhill, making a total of eighty-three in all. Haverhill has a Ma- sonic Temple, a Moose Home and an Elks Home, while the Hibernians and Odd Fellows ov^rn their own buildings. The Knights of Columbus have re- cently incorporated a building committee for the purpose of securing a home. Haverhill has several clubs, prominent among which is the Pentucket Club. The front part of the present Pentucket Club was originally the mansion of James H. Duncan, one of Haverhill's first aristo- cratic citizens, a graduate of Harvard in 1808, who represented us in Congress in 1849. The Agawam Club vsdth a membership of 350, has rooms on Mer- rimack Street, while the Wachusett Club is another prominent social body. The Island Golf Club has a splendid course and recently remodelled the building situated on Porter's Island in the Merrimack River just below the center of the city. The Young Men's Christian Association has a well equipped building with a fine gymnasium and several dormitories on Main Street. Located just above the High School the Young Men's Christian Association is in an imposing location. The Young Women's Christian Association has a home and gymnasium on Winter Street. The splendid new home for the Boys' Club on Emerson Street was completed this summer at a cost of about $45,000. Among the women there are a number of very well organized clubs which not only accentuate the fraternal feeling, but also have made Haverhill bet- ter known and better liked because these women in every effort for the common good have unselfishly put their shoulders to the wheel and helped bring success to many a worthy cause. THE ELKS HOME, SUMMER STREET 35 o 03 K H ca P o o IXI > < W 36 HEALTHFUL, HUSTLING HAVERHILL By George T. Lennon, Agent Board of Health FEW municipalities in the United States have been as progressive as Haverhill in looking after and providing for health and sanitation, and as proof of this, it is only necessary to cite the fact that in the past 37 years the increase in lon- gevity has been 44 per cent. The marked increase in longevity for a period of 37 years clearly demonstrates the healthfulness of Haverhill and its people, while this is further em- phasized by the small death rate from typhoid fev- er of .04 per 1000 of population for the year 1916. The mortality from typhoid fever is the best index of the healthful and sanitary conditions of a municipality, and that Haverhill has even been ahead of other cities in the country, is apparent from the notable decrease in the death rate from that disease. It was in 1880 that the Board of Health was created and at that time the average of decedents was 30 years, 10 months. The mortality records for 1916 give the average age of decedents 44 years and 6 months with a death rate of 14.39 per 1000 of population. The Health Department has kept abreast of the times in preventive medicine and its members and officials feel pleased that their endeavors have been beneficial and that the people of Hustling Haverhill have become healthier. "The Place by the Winding River," as Haverhill was known by the Indians, possesses unusual natural advantages and its territory of 9 miles along the Merrimack river, with an average width of 5% miles, is drained by 56 miles of sewers. There are 140 miles of public highways, 32 of which are in the compact part of the city and wa- tered, while 110 miles of pipes furnish water service to the 5.5,000 people who make their homes here. The public parks, the breathing places for the many, cover 259 acres and the public playgrounds furnish 18 acres for the children. The hospital facilities of Haverhill are much more adequate in comparison with other cities, with two general hospitals, the Hale and the Gen. Stephen Henry Gale, a Contagious Disease hospital, a Tuber- culosis hospital and a City Infirmary as well as a Tuberculosis Dispensary. The Board of Health consists of three members, Dr. John F. Croston, Dr. A. M. Hubbell and Edward A. Fitts. Dr. Croston has been a member of the Board since 1883, and besides having served as Chairman for many years, he has always evinced a deep and active interest in health matters. There are 15 employes of the Health Department, all of whom are daily engaged in numerous activities, the work of the Department having with the growth of Haverhill in recent years, perceptibly increased, and the Board of Health having been as progressive as those of other municipalities in caring for the health of the residents of the city. George T. Lennon is the agent and clerk of the Board, he having succeeded the late Chester A. Bry- ant, who had served in that capacity for 31 years. The Agent, besides being the executive officer of the Health Department, also looks after the contagious disease cases as well as the many complaints that are entered yearly. The Inspector of Plumbing Dennis X. Coakley, has been employed by the Health Department since 1893, and for many years he and Mr. Bryant had charge of all the activities, each sharing in the work that was done until the Health Department was re- cognized as one of the important branches of munici- pal and civic life. Haverhill was one of the first cities in the state to employ a bacteriologist. Dr. Homer L. Conner having served in that capacity since 1906. In that year the Board of Health, two months after the law had been passed, also employed two school physi- cians, this number having been increased to four in 1915. The school physicians now employed by the De- partment are Dr. J. J. Fitzgerald, who has served continuously since 1906; Dr. F. H. Coffin, Dr. E. P. Laskey and Dr. T. N. Stone. The city is divided into four districts and the School Physicians devote many hours in looking after the welfare of the 7000 pupils enrolled in the public schools. It was in 1911 that the Board of Health first en- gaged a visiting nurse. Miss Anna A. Sheehan being elected to that position, and for four years she was employed in various capacities. The Board now has two other nurses, Mrs. Alice M. Rogers having served since 1915, and Miss Blanche B. Pulsifer since 1916. The establishment of a Tuberculosis Hospital in 1913 and a Contagious Disease Hospital in 1914 were the result of the activity of the Board of Health members, who pointed out their need and those two institutions have demonstrated that the Board of Health was justified in urging their establishment. 37 E O K w o H M H H to W K 38 That the Health Department has been in the fore- front in inaugurating progressive health measures was again exemplified two years ago when the Tu- berculosis Dispensary was established, Haverhill be- ing one of the first cities in the state to open a dis- pensary for the care and treatment of those suffer- ing with tuberculosis. Dr. I. J. Clarke is the medical director of the Tuberculosis Dispensary, and he has a staff of 12 volunteer physicians who each serve for two months yearly. Miss Anna A. Sheehan is the Visiting Nurse in charge of the Dispensary, and as a field and so- cial service worker, she is daily in touch with the relatives and friends of those ailing with the disease. Mrs. Alice M. Rogers has charge of Infant Wel- fare and Hygiene, and Miss Blanche B. Pulsifer is the School Nurse. The three visiting nurses have proved invaluable in their instructive work, which takes them among all classes of people. Dr. Homer L. Conner has since 1910 served as bacteriologist and inspector of milk, and he has as inspector of dairies. Dr. Charlmange Bricault. The milk supply which averages about 5000 gallons daily, is obtained within a radius of 15 miles of the city, and as the producers and dealers have always co- operated with the Health Department, the milk sup- ply ranks among the best in the state. Miss Eileen E. Keefe is the clerical assistant of the Health Department and as she is familiar with its various activities, she has proved a competent and valuable employe, since she became connected with the department in 1914. Dr. H. W. Watson has served for several years past as Inspector of Meats and Provisions, and in this capacity while he is only a half time official, he has supervision over all places where food and food products are handled as well as scoring the places quarterly. The Board of health inaugurated a dental clinic for school children a year ago. Dr. Isidore P. Mor- ris is the School Dentist and in his work he. has been ably assisted by the School Nurse, their work for the first year having been confined principally to the lower grades. THE HOSPITALS. Haverhill has four well equipped hospitals. The Hale Hospital, erected largely through the generos- ity of the late E. J. M. Hale, has a wonderful situa- tion on Buttonwoods Avenue overlooking the Mer- rimack River. The Hale Hospital includes separate wards for men and women, a maternity ward added by J. Otis Wardwell, and several private rooms and has accommodations in all for forty-five patients. In 1916 the Gen. Stephen Henry Gale Hospital was opened. Part of this building was originally the Children's Home and was purchased by Gen. Stephen Henry Gale and was presented to the city. The building was entirely remodelled and contains ac- commodations for about fifty patients. The Con- tagious Hospital, built by the city, is just above the Hale Hospital, has separate wards for all kinds of contagious diseases and accommodates about thirty- five patients. All three of these hospitals are of brick. Haverhill's Tuberculosis Hospital is acknowl- edged by experts to have a superb and unexcelled location. Originally the building was owned by the White Estate and it is at the crest of the bill facing Buttonwoods Avenue on one of the high points in the city swept by the breeze from all four winds, free from dust and noise and where the purest of air is always evident. The Tuberculosis Hospital ac- commodates about thirty patients. THE HAVERHILL CREDIT BUREAU. By Charles A. Richmond, Manager. The Haverhill Credit Bureau was established in March, 1911. The Retail Trade Committee of the Chamber of Commerce entered into an agreement with Charles A. Richmond whereby he contracts to furnish a clearing house of credit information. Since the date of organization, the bureau has had 396 subscribers, all of whom have co-operated in furnishing credit information from ledger experi- ence, and to this has been compiled a record of real estate transfers, mortgages, attachments, foreclos- ures, bankruptcy and poor debtor court proceedings, police and criminal court records, divorces, mar- riages, deaths, corporation formations and returns, partnerships and dissolutions, taxes, real and per- sonal, and all other available information as to char- acter and habits. This makes as complete a record as it is possible to obtain and gives a clear guidance to the subscriber as to his dealings with the pros- pective customer. The Bureau also keeps record of persons who move from place to place within the city and likewise secures information of strangers who move into the city. At the present time, the Bureau has over 180,000 cards on which are more than 1,000,000 ratings, so that there is hardly a person in town or who has re- sided here since January, 1911, whose record as to bill paying ability is not instantly available to any subscriber. Charges to members of the Bureau are generally based upon the number of calls made within the year. That the methods of the Haverhill Credit Bureau are modern and successful is proven by the fact that similar forms have been adopted in other cities in- stituting like reporting agencies. 39 CHARLES H. DOLE, 1st Vice-Pres. CHARLES N. IvELLY, 2nd. Vice-Pres. (Pres. 191S) CHARLES C. CHASE, President 1917 GEORGE A. CHILDS, Treasurer DANIEL N. CASEY, Secretary 40 HAVERHILL CHAMBER OF COMMERCE AND ITS ACCOMPLISHMENTS By Daniel N. Casey, Secretary IN May, 1901, the Haverhill Board of Trade was reorganized with something less than one hund- red members. Today the Haverhill Chamber of Commerce, with a proud record of constructive achievements to its credit, has over nine hundred members on its roll. Unselfish, public spirited serv- ice by men of the community has materially con- tributed to the success of the organization, whose chief endeavor is a greater and bigger city. Every year the number of continuing projects has grown, every year the membership has increased. Aug- mented power and influence have thus been lent to the Chamber and today it stands forth as one. of the largest and best known in the entire United States. A resume of the men who have guided the des- tinies of the Board of Trade, whose name was changed to Chamber of Commerce in 1916, would be a re-naming of the men who have fostered and encouraged the developments within the city which have meant a mightier force to those things which have built Haverhill. The Chamber was built on a permanent basis and its leaders have been careful to take up only those factors of civic endeavor which could be best followed to a logical conclusion. En- thusiasm has always been tempered with good judg- ment, energy with foresight. It is impossible to give an adequate review of the successful accomplishments of the Chamber of Com- merce for the past sixteen years and only some of the most outstanding facts can be mentioned. It was the Chamber of Commerce back in 1902 which started the factory building project and under the corporate name of the Haverhill Building As- sociation the three Walnut Street factories were erected. The result of this investment proved the sound business policy in the erection of such build- ings so that both local and outside capital have easily been attracted and at least one modern fac- tory, of brick and cement, has been erected each year since that time. Haverhill toway possesses the world's best factories. On the first night of January, 1913, Haverhill's new street lighting system along her main arteries was flashed into existence. The turning of a switch culminated more than a year of effort in the raising of a ten thousand dollar fund to make this possible, and in the last few weeks committees worked heroi- cally to bring about this much needed improvement. The Chamber has always worked for the develop- ment of the Merrimack River, has appeared before Congressional committees, army engineers, state legislators and other bodies; collected statistics, tab- ulated facts, and disseminated information which it is hoped will aid in securing a depth of eighteen feet from the mouth of the River to Lowell. Several of the large and successful manufactur- ing plants in Haverhill today have come as a result of inducements off"ered through the Chamber and a list of available floor space is always kept at the headquarters while the officers are in touch with any new concerns which might come to Haverhill. Frequent conferences are held with railroad and street railway officials and through the intercession of the Chamber additional train service has been se- cured in the past few years, while practically all of the extra car service operated at regular intervals on the Bay State has come as a result of the Cham- ber's agitation. The Chamber has lined up direct through car service to many important jobbing cen- ters, traces complaints in both freight and passen- ger service and through its activity a substantial addition was made to the freight house some few years ago. In opposing the six cent fare sought by the Bay State the Chamber of Commerce presented the best local case put in before the Public Service Commission. June 1st, 1917, a traffic bureau was established, with R. C. Johnson, an experienced railroad man, as manager. The Chamber has an advertising agreement whereby valueless program advertising has been diminished and solicitors for all kinds of propositions have been discouraged. At most conservative esti- mates this has saved a great deal more than mem- bers have paid in regular assessments. In 1909 the Chamber made such a strenuous fight against the establishment of a central alarm station connected with the factories having sprinkler pro- tection that the proposition was defeated. At that time the Haverhill Board of Trade Associates, Inc., was organized and in 1916 this Haverhill company, formed within the Chamber, took over all the lines and is now operating this system on a co-operative basis. If this had not been done the old company planned to raise the rates 125 per cent. The Chamber places high school boys and girls 41 DIRECTORS, HAVERHILL CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, 1917 ALBERT M. CHILD H. C. CROY JOSEPH E. CURTIS P. R. DUFFY W. W. EMERSON M. J. FOWLER CHARLES H. GROVER LEWIS R. HOVEY WILLIAM E. HOW 42 in spare time employment, sent six high school boys to the Plattsburg Military Training Camp last sum- mer, answers inquiries from every part of the Globe, co-operated in arrangements for a reception to Com- pany F on its return from Mexican border duty, se- cures partners with capital for going concerns, thus keeping good business in Haverhill, and on May 11th, 1916, conducted the greatest meeting that Ha- verhill ever knew. This was the fifteenth annual banquet held in the State Armory with 1021 receiv- ers connected with San Francisco. The Chamber has gained publicity for Haverhill in the daily press, national magazines, trade journals, histories and en- cyclopaedias. It has lent its efforts for better postal service and opposes any legislation that might be prejudicial to Haverhill's industries. The Chamber of Commerce and Rotary Club are co-operating in plans to build a modern hotel in Ha- verhill, the Chamber has endorsed a Chautauqua week for this city, recently completed the installation of a traffic bureau, and has actively promoted, in connection with the Essex County Associated Boards of Trade, better roads and a county agricultural school. The Chamber has been able to bring to its offi- cial positions and to its board of directors and its committees men who have had foremost the interest of Haverhill at heart, and who have piloted the ship with a greater Haverhill as their only beacon light. The personnel of the Chamber has been loyal and supporting and it is largely due to these reasons that the growth in membership has been healthy, substan- tial and conservative, and that the Chamber has a proud record and an influence which makes it at once well known and highly regarded. HAVERHILL BOARD OF TRADE ASSOCIATES The sprinkler and automatic fire alarm system in seventy-seven Haverhill buildings including prac- tically the entire industrial area, are controlled by a local association organized for service and not for profit. This local association, the Haverhill Board of Trade Associates, was formed in the Board of Trade in 1911 and provides service at cost. A ser- vice which means low insurance rates at a minimum of expense. The officers of the association employ a superin- tendent and assistant who keep the system in per- fect working condition, and since December, 1916, when the local company assumed charge, not a fire has started in any one of the local buildings but what it has been apprehended by this silent watch- man. The liability of a conflagration and the haz- ard attendant is greatly reduced. At the first sem- blance of a fire the water heads open automatically and the alarm simultaneously sounds at the Central Fire Station summoning the protective and chemical companies to immediate action. Charles N. Kelly is president of the Haverhill Board of Trade Associates, George E. Kimball is treasurer, Daniel N. Casey is secretary, and George McLean is the superintendent. The directors are Charles N. Kelly, George E. Kimball and Charles C. Chase. The company is conducted along a splendid line of non-profit co-operative basis and is headed by business men. A RETROSPECTIVE GLANCE. In 1889 the Haverhill Board of Trade, which might be called the grandfather of the Chamber of Commerce of today, issued a very complete book on Haverhill as an industrial and commercial center, this book containing some 260 pages and its story of the organization of the old Board may be inter- esting here. The article set forth that: "Pursuant to a call for a meeting of business men and citizens of Haverhill to consider the pro- priety of the formation of a Board of Trade, about fifty gentlemen met in the office of George A. Hall, Esq., Academy of Music, March 30, 1888, and or- ganized by the choice of H. E. Bartlett, chairman, and E. G. Frothingham, secretary. A committee was appointed to nominate a list of officers for per- manent organization and to prepare a constitution and by-laws, which committee met at an adjourned meeting at No. 40 Daggett's Building, April 2, and voted to recommend for adoption a constitution and by-laws, and nominated a list of officers, all of which action was accepted and confirmed at the first regu- lar meeting of the Board, held at the Police Court Room, April 11, 1888." TRADE IN HAVERHIL'L' (Ohat Helps the City, helps you Boom the Town - Where you Live HITCH YOUR HEART TO lUVfRniLL Haverhill Board of Trade DIRECTORS, HAVERHILL CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, l"' JOSEPH F. McCAKTHT, (Actin. Sec, GEORGE MITCHELL ^t^^h'r. ^S^^ONGE ^^SV-SmXH Al'b°E^T L."wtLES 44 THE ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE IN HAVERHILL By A. Franklin Priest, Clerk, Central District Court of Northern Essex MEN in the legal profession have great op- portunities to win personal renown and to bring honor and fame to the city in which they reside. The highest standard of ethics has always been adhered to by the members of that profession in Haverhill. Haverhill may well be proud of the able attor- neys, statesmen and jurists who have claimed Ha- verhill as their home. The names of Moody, Bric- kett, Jones, Winn, Wardwell, Carter, Ryan, Peters, Wells, Abbott and Fuller, and many others have al- ready blazoned their way to fame and with them carried the fair name of the Slipper City of the World. Haverhill should boast of respectable and suit- able quarters for her local district court. In that respect she has been remote and negligent as to her own civic pride. Business men and the populace of Haverhill have awakened to this fact and they de- mand suitable accommodations. The state legisla- ture has passed an act authorizing the erection of a modem court building in Haverhill. Although Haverhill was the last city in the County, and among the last in the Commonwealth, to realize the inadequate and ridiculous accommo- dations of her court, she will not fail in her new endeavors. When the sounds of carpenters and ma- sons have ceased, there will appear in Haverhill, upon the best location available, a court house worthy of the name of Haverhill, and without doubt the best of its kind in the Comomnwealth. The Central District Court of Northern Essex is located now at 36 Main Street, Haverhill. John J. Winn is justice and the associate justices are Otis J. Carleton and Daniel J. Cavan. The clerk is A. Franklin Priest. The probation officers are Edward B. Savage and Silas L. Morse. The district court is of the class of courts which is closest to the people. It rubs elbows with all classes and with people from all walks in life. It is the first to hear the cry of distress from the victim who has been robbed, assaulted or injured, and to give the shield of the law to the person who has been wronged. Many people think of the district court as the place where the criminal or viTong doer is brought so that the penalty of the law may be administered to him. They who have been unfortunate enough to have been the victim, the law abiding citizen who has been wronged in some way, realize that they may immediately seek their remedy through the dis- trict court and not through the Superior Court. This is true in ninety-nine cases out of one hundred. The jurisdiction of the district court has been materially increased in late years, making possible the trial of many cases in the local court which formerly could only be tried in an upper court. The work of a district court is divided into four classes: — Civil, criminal, juvenile and miscellaneous. Civil actions are sub-divided into actions of con- tract or actions of tort, — the first arising from a contractual relation, expressed or implied, and the second from some unlavirful act or wrong doing of another. Under the civil division come actions of eject- ment, to expel a person unlawfully in possession of land or tenements, and also actions of replevin, to recover personal property unlavirfully held from its owner; Poor debtor, Dubuque and Mesne Process also come under this head. The limit for these actions in a district court is one thousand dollars. The criminal is subdivided innumerably and in- cludes the issuing of complaints for every crime or misdemeanor known to law and statute of the Com- monwealth, and every ordinance within the jurisdic- tion of the Court. The Court may try, hear and de- termine all cases which are not punishable by a state prison sentence of five years or over, in which case a hearing is held to determine whether or not there is probable cause to bind the defendant over to the grand jury. Juvenile includes all cases where the accused is under seventeen years of age. The child is not called a defendant or criminal, but a delinquent. The court hears and determines not whether the child is guilty or not guilty, but whether or not the child is a delinquent child. The hearing cannot be held in the main or criminal court room, but must be heard in a separate court room, called the chil- dren's court. The work in the juvenile court is subdivided into wayward and delinquent cases, children who have done as the name implies, truants, and habitual ab- sentees from school, and neglected children. Many sad cases come to light under this last division, and high praise should be given to the capable and effi- cient manner in which local charitable religious so- cieties and the State Board of Charity aid the un- fortunate boys and girls who have found their way 45 into the children's court. The State Board of Char- ity at present has custody of between six and seven thousand children throughout the Commonwealth, and the question of their welfare has become one of the great social problems of the hour. Under miscellaneous comes inquests, i. e. hearing and determining cases of violent deaths, and fires of incendiary origin; insane applications-hearings to determine the sanity or insanity of a patient and commitments to various state institutions — Any al- leged insane person so desiring may claim a hearing by a jury of six to determine the question of insanity in the district court — hearings on applications for duplicate certificates of naturalization; for marriage licenses to be issued within the five days' limit; search warrants for the unlawful sale, keeping or transportation of intoxicating liquors, stolen prop- erty, and many others. Civil actions are usually instituted through at- torneys, but as a rule the remainder of the proceed- ings mentioned are commenced by the direct applica- tion of complainant to court, through the clerk there- of, who first hears the evidence, issues processes, and the case is determined by the judge thereof, from whose decisions defendants have the right to appeal. The lower or district court is a court through which the people may get quick and adequate jus- tice, and it is in great deal closer touch with the peo- ple than the supreme, superior or probate courts. In summary, the district court is purely local, for local people and local conditions. Haverhill has always had an able bench and bar, of which she has been justly proud, and, guarding zealously the welfare and enhancement of the civic affairs of the community, she is about to have a local court building to which every citizen may point with pride and satisfaction, and which will probably ex- emplify the esteem in which Haverhill is held, not only throughout the Commonwealth, but the Nation. FACTORY OF THE J. H. WINCHEDL, CO., AND THE MERRIMACK ASSOCIATES BUILDING, LOCUST STREET 46 THE HAVERHILL POLICE DEPARTMENT By John J. Mack, City Marshal HAVERHILL is protected by a police force that is efficient, loyal and conscientious. Every effort has been used to keep the department up to modern standards and a good record for pre- vention and detection of crime has been achieved. The percentage of crime has been reduced, even with the healthy increase in population. Haverhill has an automobile police patrol, an automobile ambulance, a touring car equipped for the especial use of the department, motorcycle squad, a detective division and plain clothes men are assigned when necessary. The Gamewell signal system is used, having been installed all new a few years ago, and by it officers on post are in communi- cation with headquarters at frequent intervals. The finger print system and other up-to-date methods of police departments are in vogue here and constant correspondence is kept with other departments, par- ticularly those in the Merrimack valley that offend- ers may be speedily apprehended. Experienced traf- fic officers are detailed to important street intersec- tions and the city is covered every minute of the day and night by patrols of the blue-coats, while superior officers are always in charge at the station. The Haverhill police department includes a mar- shal, deputy marshal, captain, four sergeants, cap- tain of inspectors, lockup keeper, two patrol chauf- feurs, police clerk, police woman and 36 patrolmen to 50,000 people. There are also 13 reserve officers. While the size of the force is comparatively small, its esprit de corps is strong- and our per capita cost is among the lowest in the state. Several reserve officers are regularly detailed during the Summer and the city marshal is in control of the entire de- partment. Under the commission plan of government, an alderman is given supervision over the public safety departments and Alderman W. Henry Root, Commis- sioner of Public Safety, has direct charge of the police department and the city marshal the execu- tive officer. Last year the department responded to some 4,000 complaints of various descriptions, made a total of about 2,000 arrests and operated at a total cost of $58,985.18. This year additional sergeants were added to the force and this makes possible supervision of officers on their routes. The headquarters include cell rooms, one large detention room and separate quarters for female prisoners. The offices include the main station, guard room, officers' quarters and private offices for the marshal and inspection division. The Legisla- ture having approved an appropriation for a new court house, the probabilities are that more commo- dious rooms will later be available. HAVERHILL THEATRES Catering to any diversity of tastes, the Haverhill theatres are all modem playhouses. All have been built within the past six years. The Academy of Music offers the latest metro- politan dramatic successes interpreted by a stock company that has achieved the enviable record of being the best stock company in New England, and productions are notable for their completeness. The Academy seats 1500. The Colonial, seating 1600, plays high class vaudeville and has presented some road attractions. It is a popular playhouse. Extreme care is used in the selection of the acts through a trained theatrical man who sees them prior to making bookings and thus Haverhill enjoys the best in the vaudeville line. Offering high class photoplays, the Strand, built in 1915, is a type of the modern theatre presenting the very best in motion pictures. All three are on Merrimack Street, the principal merchandising artery, are of brick and fireproof con- struction. The Orpheum, seating 900 and the Majestic, seat- ing 500, are smaller picture theatres which maintain a high standard of quality and are well regarded by the theatre going public. 47 HAVERHILL FIRE DEPARTMENT By John B. Gordon, Chief Engineer RUNNING from nine houses some two dozen pieces of apparatus manned by nearly 150 men, guard Haverhill from the danger of fire. Answering approximately 700 alarms of all kinds in the course of a year, yet operating on the economical basis of an annual appropriation which does not quite reach $80,000, the Haverhill Fire Department while not so large or well equipped as we would like to see it, nevertheless, for the size of the city competently protects Haverhill, a municipality with an extended area and laid out over several hills which renders re- sponse often difficult and fire fighting frequently a problem. The total value of buildings and contents in which there were fires during 1916 was more than $3,700,- 000, the insurance thereon was $3,300,000; the insur- ance loss was $162,000 and the uninsured cost $18,- 000. The Haverhill fire department is equipped with seven pieces of motor apparatus, fourteen horse dravra engines, chemicals, ladders and hose wagons. Some of the latter are held in reserve while thirteen horses are used on these vehicles which are always in commission. A high pressure water service from twelve and sixteen-inch mains is available in the congested area. The wires of the modern fire alarm telegraph system reach like nerves to every part of the city and eighty boxes are connected with it. An automatic fire alarm system controlled by the Ha- verhill Board of Trade Associates records alarms from practically all of the factories while sprinkler systems in these buildings hold the fire in check un- til the department can respond. In the downtown section all of the wires are bur- ied in conduits beneath the streets and the entire sys- tem was newly reinstalled in 1912. Every minute of the twenty-four hours of every day a man is on duty at the desk in the seven active stations and forty-nine permanent firemen await the call to duty. We also have forty call-men, two volun- teer companies of eight men each and about fifty fire- men in outlying sections. There are 475 hydrants and the alarm whistle is a diaphone signal whose voice can be heard all over the city summoning call firemen and policemen to posts of duty. It was in 1910 that Haverhill first purchased automobile ap- paratus and at that time secured a Knox Combina- tion chemical and hose wagon with sixty horse power at a cost of $4500. A Chief's car of the Knox make was placed in commission June, 1910, and the com- bination went in May first of the same year. Two Seagraves trucks, one combination chemical and lad- der, the other a large hose wagon, were secured in 1913 at a cost of $11,500. Each one of these ma- chines has ninety horsepower. In April 1912 Hose A, which is another Knox car, was commissioned and in 1916 two Kissell chasses were purchased. Haverhill firemen, who have a very mechanical turn, rebuilt horse-drawn bodies which were placed upon the chas- ses, turning out one combination chemical and cover placed in commission September 28th and one com- bination chemical and hose placed in commission October 24th. In 1915 a new Chief's car of the Chalmers make was purchased. A reorganization of the Board of Engineers was efl'ected early in 1917 — three permanent captains were elected First, Second and Third Assistant Engi- neers, while the fourth assistant remained as a call man in the department — George N. Whiting, George F. Walker, W. H. Hawkins and John B. Currier with the Chief comprises the Board of Engineers. A reserve engine and hose car at headquarters are equipped so that they may be dravwi by auto- mobile aparatus. The department equipment also includes a three- inch turret gun, an aerial truck, life nets, smoke masks, and all of the modern appliances used by the fire fighters of today. The Haverhill Fire Depart- ment endeavors to keep pace with the progress of modern inventions and the growth of the city. In view of the scientific fire fighting methods of today it is interesting to take a retrospective glance into the past. The earliest record of the organiza- tion of a fire company in Haverhill dates back to Washington's birthday 1768 when a fire club was or- ganized and four wardens chosen. In 1769 a com- pany was formed for the purpose of securing an en- gine and the first one ever used in Haverhill was purchased that year by subscription at a cost of $192. Cornelius Mansise was captain. In 1783 the fire club was given permission "to set an engine house on the west side of the landing adjoining land of Samuel White." The new engine house had been erected during the summer of 1769 and the first mus- ter was held in 1770. The first fire recorded in the tovsm annals was the burning in 1761 of a thatched house owned by Matthias Brittons on Kenoza Ave- nue. It is also recorded that an engine was pur- chased by subscription in 1759 and 1796 and another engine was purchased by subscription in 1819. This engine was brought from Boston on board of Captain 48 William Haseltine's sloop, and cost $400 and on June 15th of 1820 was piven to the town. Up to 1841 the fire clubs were self g-overned re- ceiving no remuneration except the allowance of their annual poll tax. March 15th, 1841 the governor signed an act which in that year was accepted by the to\vn establishins;- a fire department, and the different companies met that year and reorganized according to the act. At this time the town also voted to pay the firemen for services, which was the first evi- dence of any salary. At the first meeting of the reorganized fire com- panies, or as it was then called for the first time the Haverhill Department and sometimes known as the Fire Society, held in the office of Charles Minot, Sat- urday evening, April 10th, 1841, Ezekiel Hale was elected chief and he continued in that position to 1845. September 24th, 1842 it was voted to purchase six hydrants. In 1848 a new engine the "Tiger" was purchased for Company 1 and the next year a new engine house was built on Water Street. On March 10th, 1851, it was voted to buy a new engine. This was the first with a suction hose, all of the others being equipped merely with hand buckets. In 1860 the present hook and ladder company was organized. At the close of this year Haverhill had four fire en- gines. Early in May 1866 Haverhill secured the first steamer used in the city. This was the "General Grant." The "City of Haverhill" was purchased in September 1870 and the "Essex," May, 1873. The "General Grant" and the "Essex" have been built over and are now in use, while the "City of Haverhill" is held in reserve. The first serious fire in the shoe district occurred at three o'clock, Sunday, November 16, 1873, when fire was discovered in a wooden building in the rear of the Prescott block, Washington Square, now the Hotel Thorndike. This was the most disastrous fire since 1775, the loss being estimated at $175,000. Ha- verhill's great conflagration, however, occurred Feb- ruary 17 and 18, 1882, originating in a wooden block about one-half way up the North side of Washington Street. The first alarm was rung in at 11:30 p. m. on Friday night in the midst of a bitter cold and shrieking gale. The fire whistle continued to sound all during the fire like the moan of a human groan, the building in which the whistle was located being in the centre of the conflagration. At two o'clock Saturday morning both sides of Washington Street and part of Wingate and Essex Streets were in flames. Many houses in Bradford caught fire from the huge cinders. Telegrams were dispatched to all the surround- ing cities for aid. At dawn the shoe district was al- most obliterated. All of the buildings on the South side of Washington Street as far as the Currier Building had become a prey to the flames, the North side was leveled and the East side of Wingate Street and Washington Square were laid in ashes. The property loss amounted to $2,000,000, ten acres were burned, but only one life was lost, that of Joseph St. Germaine, a member of the hook and ladder truck. Scarcely had the bricks cooled before plans were laid for a new shoe district and in a very short space of time brick and marble buildings towered toward the sky, a vast improvement over the buildings which had occupied the burned area. The hand of time is laying its palm upon the ancient records of the Haverhill Fire Companies and the writing is now very dim. So far as they show, however, the chiefs of the Haverhill Fire Depart- ment have been: 1841-184.5— Ezekiel Hale. 1845-1852— Ruf us Slocomb. 1853-1857— Daniel Palmer. 1858-1859— Francis Butters, Jr. 1860-1866— J. M. Littlefield. 1867 —George Treab. 1868-1869— Thomas Grieves, (resigned June 7th, 1869). 1869-1871— William Turner. 1872-1873— Thomas Grieves. 1874-1875— J. M. Littlefield. 1876 —Fred P. Cheney. 1877 — O. M. West. 1878-1879— Augustus McDuffee. 1880-1882— O. M. West. 1883 —James M. Pearson. 1884 — G. F. Pinkham. (Served three months) 1884-1886— James M. Pearson. 1887-1889— Edward Charlesworth. 1890-1891— John B. Gordon. 1892 —Edward Charlesworth. 1893- —John B. Gordon. The first horses used in the Haverhill Fire De- partment were a pair of grays, driven by C. W. Foster, which drew the "City of Haverhill," and a pair of bays which drew the "General Grant," the latter driven by the late Abraham D. Champion. These horses were brought to Haverhill in 1872. Alexander Roberts who was engineer of the "Essex," is the oldest living member of the department. Ha- verhill also had the first chemical engine east of Bos- ton. The first installation of the Gamewell fire alarm telegraph system was made in 1883 and in March 3rd of that year Edward Charlesworth was appointed superintendent of office alarm. The present chief has been connected with the Haverhill Fire Department since 1881, having been out of the harness but one year, 1892, and has been chief continuously since 1893. The Haverhill firemen put their talents to good advantage, much of the apparatus having been re- built by them in the spare hours. A seventy-five gal- lon chemical tank on a rebuilt hose cart, so arranged that it can be drawn by horses or men, is now sta- 49 NORTH coxc;kegation'al church (TWO \TEWS) CENTRE CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH GRACE METHODIST CHURCH 50 tioned in Ayers Village. This wagon was made by the firemen from discarded apparatus. In 1917 two volunteer companies were orffanized to report at the Court and Essex Street Stations upon second alarms to take out the apparatus held in reserve. G. Her- man Pulsifer. formerly assistant chief in the Haver- hill Fire Department and A. F. Turner, formerly connected with the Boston Fire Department are cap- tains of these emergency companies. The Haverhill Fire Department has never fal- tered in its duty; its response has been complimented by experts from the National Board of Fire Under- writers; its personnel is of a high standard; its tra- ditions heroic and its creditable record truly noble; its standing is justly high; its record clean and hon- orable; its membership composed of men who have never flinched, and its performance always reflects the highest credit upon the city which it represents. HAVERHILL'S CHURCHES HAVERHILL has been called a city of many churches. Every denomination is represent- ed in the 39 edifices dedicated to religion. The churches are well distributed in every part of the city. It was a minister of the Gospel who was the first white man to paddle up the Merrimack and settle where the purling Mill Brook joined the s\vift Merrimack, and Haverhill ever since then has had ample facilities for her people to worship as they wish. Haverhill's ecclesiastical history is very much like that of many of the other older New England settlements. The town and the parish were identi- cal for nearly 1.30 years, town meetings and the ser- vices of the Sabbath being held in the same build- ing, at once the town house and the parish meeting house. In the town books and by the town clerk were preserved the records of such transactions as would now be considered as relating entirely to the various religious societies, but were then a part of the town's business. In 1728, however, the town had become so large as to make it a matter of con- venience for its inhabitants to divide it into two parishes and later into more. Not until 1848 did the town have a distinct assembling place of its own. Practically all of Haverhill's churches have proud histories and their parishes are strong, which is another representation of the community spirit. Haverhill has: 8 Baptist Churches, 7 Congregational Churches, 6 Roman Catholic Churches, 2 Episcopal Churches, 2 Methodist Churches, 2 Methodist Episcopal Churches, 2 Pentacostal Churches, 2 Unitarian Churches, 2 Christian Scientist Churches, 2 Synagogues, 1 Presbyterian Church, 1 Adventist Church. HAVERHILL HISTORICAL SOCIETY By Leonard W. Smith, Curator SITUATED at one of the most picturesque bends in the beautiful Merrimack river, the home of the Haverhill Historical Society and grounds occupy a prominent place in the landscape of that section. The whole neighborhood is full of historic interest; not far away the first settlers landed; near by is the spot where the first group of log houses were built; the first meeting house, the first school and the first burj-ing ground. On one of the lawns in the Historical Society grounds stands a modest white house, built for the first minister, Rev. John Ward. This house as far as knowTi was the first frame building in the town and occupied by the Rev. John Ward and his family during his long pas- torate. Elizabeth, daughter of the Rev. John and Mrs. Ward, married the Hon. Nathaniel Saltonstall, and to the young couple the Rev. Mr. Ward gave the house lot on which the Historical House now stands. The Saltonstalls descended from a rich and aristocratic family, and this young Nathaniel built a beautiful Manor House on the lot, and for many years it was known as the "Saltonstall Seat." Mr. Saltonstall had a row of Sycamore trees planted along the front of his estate, and these trees were set out by Hugh Tallant, the first Irishman who came into the town. These trees were made historic by Whittier's poem "The Sycamores." During the Revolutionary War, Colonel Salton- stall who resided at the homestead, favored the King in his sympathies, differing from the other mem- bers of the family who were in favor of the Col- onists. Under these circumstances he decided to go to England and live, and the property was confis- cated by the Government and purchased by the Dun- can family who were the owners until the estate was presented to the Haverhill Historical Society. The 51 ^^^T^"*^ P"IRST BAPTIST CHURCH MAIN STREET TRINITY EPISCOPAL CHURCH FIRST PARISH CHURCH (Unitarian) 52 house which Hon. Nathaniel Saltonstall built was partially destroyed during the Revolutionary period and when it came into the possession of the Duncans, the present mansion was built for Samuel Duncan, and his bride Mary White, thus uniting two of the oldest and important families. Soon after the es- tate was presented to the Historical Society. It was formally opened January 30, 1904, with interesting exercises. Since then there has been added to the first few articles then owned, many valuable relics of early history until the catalog numbers over two thousand exhibits. Among them are portraits, docu- ments, china, linen, the original deed from the In- dians, a piece of cloth in which Hannah Duston brought home the scalps of the Indians whom she and her two fellow prisoners killed, and many other historic gems. At the east of the home is a fine colonial garden, full of old fashioned flowers. HAVERHILL POST OFFICE By L. F. McNamara, Postmaster DOING an annual business of more than $140,000, and employing over one hundred people in the transmission of its business, the Haver- hill Post Office must be considered a most important link in Haverhill's industry. Haverhill is a first class post office and enjoys practically all of the pos- tal advantages of the larger centers. Mails are re- ceived and dispatched at all hours during the day and night and eleven contract stations, dependent upon the Haverhill post office, are so established that they render convenient service to all the citizens. The earliest record of the government mail ser- vice extended to Haverhill was during the time that Ellis Huske was Boston's postmaster from 1734 to 1784. He established an inland post route from Bos- ton via Medford, Woburn, Andover, Haverhill and Exeter to Portsmouth. The postal service, via Ha- verhill, began Thursday, April 14, 1740, which may be called the beginning of postal facilities in this city, and there was one mail a week. The mail car- rier or post-rider, as he was called in those days, had charge of the collection, transportation, and de- livery of all mails in all the towns. May 13, 1775, Congress ordered that post offices be established in certain towns and Simeon Greenough was appointed to be postmaster of Haverhill. The office was sta- tioned in the house at the corner of Water and Moore Streets. Later it is believed that the govern- ment business was transacted in the stores of John Edwards and Moses Ross on Merrimack Street near Haverhill Bridge, and the post office location changed from time to time with the appointment of new postmasters. In 1858 Davis Bodfish was postmaster. He moved the office to the block on Merrimack Street where the P. C. Wilson store is now located. On May nth, 1861, the late Edwin P. Hill was called postmaster. During his term of office, for the first time in the history of Haverhill, the postoffice was withdrawn from all connections in other business and the building on the corner of Main and Merri- mack Streets was commodiously fitted up after the model of the Boston postoffice of that time. When the late William E. Blunt held office, after being ap- pointed in 1876, he moved the office to the old post office block in the wooden building at 56 Merrimack Street. Following Mr. Blunt, who held office twelve years, Gilman L. Sleeper moved the post office to 109 Merrimack Street in the Academy of Music Building. In 1893 the erection of the present post office building in Washington Square was begun and was finished and occupied the following year. The cost was $75,000. The land on which the post office stands is part of the original grant of 200 acres of parsonage land which was granted as pasture land to Rev. John Ward, the first minister of Haverhill. On this lot also was set the first engine house erect- ed in Haverhill, this latter having been built in 1783. The post office has kept pace with the growth of the city. September 1st, 1882, Haverhill was given its first letter carriers and at that time there were but five. Today Haverhill has thirty-nine regular and ten substitute carriers, thirty-four regular and six substitute clerks and four rural carriers. There are three branch offices in Groveland, South Grove- land and Georgetown. The eleven contract stations include East Haverhill, and Ayers Village, there are nine numbered stations, and one independent station in the Bradford District. In the last ten years, while Haverhill has been growing 10,000 people, the revenue of the post office has nearly doubled. For the calendar year ending 1906 the receipts were $78,439.40, and for the cal- endar year ending January 1, 1917, the receipts were $143,926.75. May 1st, 1917 there were 364 deposit- ors in the postal savings department and there were $59,625 to their credit. There are about 200 mail boxes in the city proper and suburbs. Midnight collections are made from all boxes in the principal residential and business districts and clerks are on duty all night dispatching these mails on the early morning trains. Two parcel post teams are operated all the time and several special deliv- ery boys are employed to handle this special matter. 53 X o a X o b! a X o / £^S X rn H :3 5q ^0 » tf Hp K fc < 9 H -< •/. a; u 64 The present postmaster, appointed in 1913, succeed- ed Charles M. Hoyt, who was appointed in 1909. Clarence B. Lagacy is assistant postmaster. Nelson R. Foss has charge of the finance, George L. Kelly is superintendent and John J. Cronin is assistant superintendent of mails. The Haverhill post office has an efficient corps of men. Haverhill has a postal area of .54 square miles and this offers quite a complex problem to the post office department, but one, which we believe, is handled in such a way that meets with the ap- proval of the citizens and renders service. While the post office building itself is none too large because of the growth of the city and the demand made up- on the department, the office itself compares favor- ably with those in other cities much larger than Ha- verhill. The quality of personnel of the men is high, their painstaking efforts are sincere and their daily results gratifying. Those interested in Haverhill may rest assured that the post office department stands ready, at all times, to render the highest effi- ciency of service in the best possible manner and to aid, so far as possible, in the development of the community it serves. RETAIL BUSINESS OF HAVERHILL By Charles H. Grover, Chairman Retail Trade Committee M [ANY times it has been truly said, by men who know, that a man who can do a successful retail business in Haverhill can do business anywhere — the reason for this frequent remark is because the retail business in Haverhill is so well conducted. The stores of Haverhill are abreast of the times. They are nearly all owned or conducted by men who have grown up in the business from clerks in Haverhill stores or who have branched out from some other business and established one for themselves. But, growing up in the business or growing old in the business does not mean that they have grown stale or old fashioned. Nowhere can one find more up-to-date merchandise or more mod- ern store methods than right in Haverhill. Her merchants and their buyers visit the great markets often and are in constant touch with all that is good in merchandise and they are only too glad to adopt new methods found to be efficient in the best estab- lishments in the large cities. Haverhill is not a cheap town. Her purchasing public on the whole demands good merchandise. They want what is right. They want good quality, and they are willing to pay a fair price. And the people or Haverhill pay only a fair price for their goods. Quality considered, nowhere in the world are goods of all kinds sold at a more reasonable profit than in Haverhill, Mass. Considering the size of the city, Haverhill mer- chants carry heavy stocks. Their patrons have the advantage of splendid assortments of merchandise enjoyed only by the buyers in much larger cities. Probably the city proper could not support so many large and so many well equipped establishments as she now does were it not for the very extensive sub- urban patronage she receives from the many small towns for which she is the best trading center. Perhaps another contributing fact to the scale on which the retail business in Haverhill is done is due to her close proximity and the ease and frequency with which her residents can reach Boston. Haver- hill merchants are thus placed in direct competition with that great city and must therefore meet its competition with first class stores and stocks and methods to keep her patronage at home where it belongs. Competition among the Haverhill merchants themselves is keen but friendly. They vie with each other to gain patronage and on the other hand work together in harmony for the welfare of the whole city. They have an organization represented by the Retail Trade Committee of the Chamber of Com- merce which has worked out many plans for the com- mon good of all, and who as a committee have been able to eliminate many of the evils which affect mer- chandising in other cities. This year the committee has inaugurated a cam- paign of newspaper publicity in an effort to keep a still larger share of Haverhill trade in Haverhill. A series of strong advertisements is being run in both local papers. The retail business of Haverhill is done in a com- paratively small area. The bulk of the business is still done on one street and in less than five city blocks, although it is gradually spreading out, due in the last few years to rising rentals and lack of space, and as is usual in small cities, the business is confined mainly to street floors. No large fortunes have been made in Haverhill in the retail business and on the other hand failures have been comparatively few. On the whole the merchants of Haverhill are a hard working, serious- minded and optimistic lot of men as you will find anywhere and are willing and able and ready to do their share toward any good work, and are satisfied to take a modest share of reward for their labor and for the capital invested in their business. 65 HAVERHILL PUBLIC LIBRARY By John G. Moulton, Librarian THE Haverhill Public Library was founded in 1873 by the Hon. E. J. M. Hale, who offered the land for the site and $30,000 on condition that, if the city accepted the gift, a board of trustees should be appointed by the Mayor and City Council, a further sum of $30,000 should be given by friends of the library and the city government should pay the current expenses. The city accepted the propo- sition and the sum of $37,155.55 was raised by public subscription. wholly supporting the library and has paid only a part of the current expenses. The city has never spent anything for books, periodicals and pictures, all of these being paid for from the income from the endowment. Now, in 1918, the library has 108,000 volumes and is eighth in size among free city libraries in the state, being surpassed (in the order named) by the libraries of Boston, Worcester, Springfield, North- ampton, New Bedford, Cambridge and Somerville. THE H.WKKHILL, PUBLIC LIBR.ARV, SUMMKR STREET Edward Capen, the first librarian of the Boston Public Library, was appointed librarian. The build- ing was opened to the public Nov. 18, 1875 with 20,- 962 volumes bought at a cost of $17,583.34. The cost of the building was about $50,000 and the value of the library, including site, about $80,000. Haverhill at that time had a population of only about 15,000. Mr. Hale made annual gifts to the library until his death in 1881. He left the library a legacy of $100,000, half the income from which was to be spent for books and half used for current expenses. Other bequests have been received from James E. Gale, Mrs. Caroline G. Ordway, Herbert L Ordway, James H. Carleton, Nathaniel E. Noyes, Matilda T. Elliott, Jonathan E. Pecker and Elizabeth C. Ames, and the total endowment is now $157,829.72. From the be- ginning the city has been relieved of the burden of It is the largest public library in New England north of metropolitan Boston, and, with the exception of Northampton, is the largest public library in the United States in cities the size of Haverhill. Haverhill has unsurpassed Jibrary facilities. Be- sides the main library and reading-room with about 270 current periodicals, trade papers, and newspapers on file there are two branch libraries, each with a large standard collection of books and a reading room with 33 periodicals and newspapers on file. There are in addition six stations with collections of books and 129 school-rooms through which books are dis- tributed. In 1916 the home circulation of books was 202,059 volumes, or 3.9 per capita, which is a high average. About 5,000 volumes are added each year and about $5,500.00 are spent annually for books, periodi- 56 cals, and pictures. The rules of the library are lib- eral and every encouragement is given in the use of books. Borrowers may take as many books at a time as they wish, provided that only one of these is new fiction. They may keep the books eight weeks. The library is both a popular and a students' li- brary. It is particularly rich in the fine arts, Amer- ican history, genealogy and town history, having spe- cial funds for the purchase of expensive books in those classes. It has one of the largest and most used collections of mounted pictures of any library in the country outside of New York, Boston, and Newark. The collections of books on the sciences, useful arts, education, vocation, and the trades are large. Every oportunity for self -education is given the student and working-man. The library has a memorial collection of first edi- tions of John G. Whittier and books about him that is probably the largest and most valuable Whittier collection in any public library. It has many valuable art treasures in both books and prints. It has a lecture-hall and art gallery where the pictures are frequently displayed. The lecture-hall is free for the use of clubs and societies. The library co-operates closely with the schools and sends books to the greater number of school- rooms in the city. Ten travelling libraries circulate among the schools in the country districts. As a people's university the library offers the best. It is unsurpassed by the libraries in the larg- est cities in its opportunities for self-education. It offers the additional desirable feature of being able to give personal attention when needed, and is a liv- ing personality and not a mere institution. A VISION OF HAVERHILL'S FUTURE By Robert A. Jordan, Chairman of City Planning Board HAVERHILL is emerging from a country vil- lage, and is becoming a city "standing with reluctant feet, where the brook and river meet," the old with its more or less narrow puritan- ism, the new with the broad outlook of all its citi- zens, its progress and its desire to learn new and better ways, and above all the development of public spirit. Haverhill is saying goodbye to the old with gratitude for all the work it has done, which ac- cording to its lights was good. Haverhill is wel- coming the new with hopes for a great and glorious future. It is in this changing time that the Planning Board has begun its duties, with the handicap of the old, but with the spur of the new, that may be per- haps of benefit to our community. During its first few months it has been engaged in studying condi- tions, the wants and the needs of the city. It has not as yet been able to advocate all that it wishes to do. It brought to a successful conclusion its agi- tation for home gardening; it has recommended uni- formity and non-duplication in the names of streets and several other matters of minor importance. The more important questions in the planning for a city of double our population, a city fifty years from now, a city that we may not live to see, requires that study and care that the twig be not bent, so that the tree may rise erect to lofty heights. The Planning Board is now considering the utili- zation of waste products, the sanitary needs of the community, the cleanliness of alleys and reduction of fire hazards, the establishment of a civic center, proper streets to remove the congestion now existing on our main streets, the question of water supply, the necessity for proper playgrounds, skating and bathing for the youth, the city's finances, a central hospital with one overhead charge instead of five in- stitutions with ever increasing expenses, the surren- der of a lake by the water board not necessary for drinking water, to supply the youth with skating and bathing; these are all matters of study and are all in some form under consideration by the Board. Every city has its slackers and these are the men who are lacking in public spirit; the men who are for self first and city last, who retard the new and cling to the old. These men are fast disap- pearing, but still their influence to a certain extent is felt in the work of the Planning Board. The Planning Board hopes that the citizens of Haverhill will all put the city above selfish interests and then we will progress. Haverhill's future is bright. The Merrimack River must be, and will be, dredged to the sea. The development of cities removed a short distance from the sea coast on rivers has been shown from expe- rience to be more advantageously located than" those upon the sea coast. With good train and transpor- tation service, surrounded by fertile fields, with large manufacturing plants and a delightful climate, Haverhill can look to the future without fear. With a channel to the sea our future is boundless in its possibilities. Its chief advantage, however, lies in its citizenry, a strong, sturdy stock of manhood, not only drawn from the skilled artizans of other countries and cities, but coming likewise from the New Hampshire foot hills and our neighboring towns, a strong set of Americans who will progress, and who will find in Haverhill their ideal .for business endeavor, and above all a happy home. 57 HAVERHILL BANKS AND THEIR GROWTH By Cliarles E. Dole, President First National Bank AMONG the many institutions that are serving the city well we must not overlook its banks. There are at the present time four national, three savings, two co-operative banks and a trust company; two national banks having been liquidateii, the Second National being merged with the Haverhill Trust Company in 1906, and the Merchants National consolidating with the Haverhill National in 1916. The combined deposits of the commercial banks at the present time are $11,757,000, while the savings banks have on deposit $13,912,000. In every growing community the banlver, very largely, assumes the burden of deciding upon the course of its future development. He is the one to determine the relative value of one enterprise as compared with another and he naturally gives his support to the one that promises the highest utility and therefore the most certain profits. Therefore, the banker assumes the position of trustee of his community for he is the custodian of the funds of others as well as his own, and he must be vigilant and consider carefully the wants of all new enterprises and make them prove their worth before lending them the money of his depositors. It may truly be said that the liberality of the Haverhill banks, with their customers, in no small degree, has assisted in the growth and up-building of the city, for the financial and industrial interests must work hand in hand to achieve the best and most satisfactory results. In the matter of small loans the banks are very generous and stand ready to extend a helping hand to the young man who has shown himself worthy. Merrimack National Bank. The Merrimack Bank was incorporated in 1814 and is the oldest banking institution in the city. It was originally located on Water street. Later it moved to Merrimack street, about opposite the foot of Pecker street, where it remained until it pur- chased the property, in 1879, where it is located at present. About four years ago it entirely remod- eled its banking rooms, and now has very comfort- able and beautiful quarters. First National Hank. The First National Bank was originally the Union Bank, a state bank, and was organized July 25, 1849. On July 17, 1864, after the National Bank Act was passed, the bank entered the national sys- tem, being the first bank in Haverhill to obtain a national charter. This institution was originally lo- cated on Merrimack street, about opposite the foot of Pecker street, but moved westward with the shoe industry to Washington street in 1880 to better ac- comodate its patrons. In 1914, owing to constantly increasing business the bank provided large and comfortable quarters at Nos. 73 to 79 Washington street, where it is now located. Haverhill National Bank. The Haverhill National Bank was incorporated in 1836 and was located on Main street, near Court street. Later it moved to Merrimack street in the building located at No. 83. It remained here until 1880, when additional room was needed and it moved into the building known as the Masonic Temple and located at No. 117 Merrimack street. In June, 1915, the bank moved into its present new office building at the comer of Merrimack and Emerson streets, where very much larger quarters were provided. In 1916 the business of the Merchants National Bank was taken over by the Haverhill National, the con- solidation taking place in August of that year. Essex National Bank. The Essex National Bank was organized as a state bank in 1851 and was located at No. 7 Merri- mack street until it moved into its present quarters at No. 24 Merrimack street a few years later. It has, from time to time, improved its rooms and equipment as the demands of its growing business has seemed wise. This institution is serving the retail section of the city. Haverhill Trust Company. The HaverliiU Safe Deposit and Trust Company, now the Haverhill Trust Company, commenced busi- ness March 24, 1891, but did not have any perma- nent location until 1892 when it moved into its pres- ent quarters at the corner of Merrimack and West streets on the completion of its own building. In 1906 the Second National Bank, which was then on Washington street, was merged with this Company. The growth of the commercial banks is shown below and is remarkable in that the increase in de- posits is about 400 per cent, in the last seventeen years: Capital Total Surplus & Profits Deposits Loans Assets 1870 1,082,000 461,000 961,000 2,213,000 1880 1,230,000 698,000 1,440,000 2,657,000 1890 1,.505,000 2,003,000 2,712,000 3,788,000 1900 1,533,000 3,178,000 3,365,000 5,298,000 1910 2,183,000 6,474,000 5,813,000 9,280,000 1917 2,247,000 11,757,000 9,550,000 14,570,000 58 Pentucket Savings Bank. The Pentucket Savings Bank received its ciiarter on March 17, 1891 and started business across the street from its present location, in the rooms with the Second National Bank. On October 31, 1892 it had 713 depositors with $89,136 to their credit. The statement of the bank on February 1, 1917, showed that there were 4768 depositors and the amount on deposit had increased to $2,314,558.14. City Five Cent Savings Bank. The City Five Cent Savings Bank was organized in March, 1870, and at the close of the year, on De- cember 31st, there were on deposit $139,942.97. This institution, which accepts as little as five cents on deposit, has met a demand of the small depositor, as is shown by the large number of customers and the constantly increasing deposits, there being, on Jan- uary 2, 1917, 13,533 depositors with $3,696,269.27 to their credit. Haverhill Savings Bank. The Haverhill Savings Bank was the first savings bank to be established in the city and it received its charter February 8, 1828. The bank opened for de- posits on October 21, 1829 and on the first day $818 was received from eight depositors. From this meagre start the institution has grown until on .January 17, 1917, there were 17,239 depositors with total deposits of $7,901,242.04. The following table shows the growth of the Savings Banks since the year 1880: No. of Depositors 1880 11,998 1890 17,203 1900 23,747 1910 29,917 1917 35,553 Guaranty Fund Deposits & Surplus $3,663,000 $37,000 5,392,000 210,000 8,001,000 418,000 10,091,000 852,000 13,912,000 1,170,000 The two co-operative banks are assisting very materially in the up-building of the city by making loans to the owners of their own homes. Citizens Co-Operative Bank. The Citizens Co-Operative Bank was organized August 11, 1887. George H. Carleton was the first president and still holds that office. James W. Good- win, the treasurer, has also held office since the in- corporation of the bank. This bank has had a steady growth and now the dues capital, which is the amount due to share- holders, is $535,826. Haverhill Co-Operative Bank. The Haverhill Co-Operative Bank was the second bank of its kind to receive a charter in Massachu- setts. This was granted on August 20, 1877. This in- situation is located at present on Emerson street in the Haverhill National Bank building. The dues cap- ital, which was $229,047 in 1890, is now $1,100,837. Below is a comparative statement of the growth of the co-operative banks: Dues Capital 1890 1900 1910 1917 $264,080 $477,928 $750,535 $1,636,663 A TRIBUTE TO THE PRESS OF HAVERHILL By George B. Houston, Editor Haverhill Gazette '"T~'HE last decade has seen enormous advances in I the growth and influence of the Press in Ha- verhill. News gathering and distribution have been perfected to a high degree.. Mechanical production has advanced with great strides; illustra- tion has progressed to a point never before dreamed of; special features have been developed; department pages have been established, and the editorial pages still maintain soundness of thought and vigor of ex- pression. In every way the newspaper of today is a marked advance upon its forerunner of ten years ago. One familiar with conditions hardly feels it nec- essary to record the fact that both The Gazette and The Record are and have been good newspapers. They have led the way in every movement for a bet- ter, busier and bigger Haverhill. Their pages are filled with a spirit of independence and intelligent curiosity. This is what makes newspapers worth while. Both have honorable records, worth more than all the dollars they will ever see. They have the cour- age of their convictions, pursue consistent policies and hold to settled ideals marked by consistent effort to say and do what they believe to be best for the community, the commonwealth and the country. They have sought positions of honor by force of character and persistent enterprise. The press of Haverhill is today more than ever a factor in directing public thought into right channels, in teaching honest citizenship, in pointing out the dangers to public interests and in illuminating the proper course. The Record has always given its best to the ser- vice of the people. It is a bright mirror of the Ha- verhill of today — one of the real assets of the com- munity. It admirably covers the extensive field in which it circulates. The Gazette still clings to the lofty ideals mark- ing more than a century of existence and its deter- mination to be of positive benefit to the people of its day and generation. The spirit of the square deal which controlled its conduct under the ownership of John B. Wright has been safely reposited in the Wright family of which the present publisher is a member. May those who control the destinies of both jour- nals in the future have the foresight and the cour- age to control them for the benefit of the people as did those of the past. 59 THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE HAVERHILL CHAMBER OF COMMERCE APRIL FIRST, 1918 A. B. S. Cement & Rubber Co., Abbott, I. A., Abrams, Warren F., Academy of Music, Albertson, M. H., Leather Co., Allen, C. F., Allen, Edgar L., Alter, S., Alter, Maurice B. Co., Inc., Amazeen, A. H., American Shoe Trimming Co., Anthony, Dr. F. W., Anderson, Carl A., Appleton Counter Co., Apteker, Nathan, Archibald, F., & Co., Archambault, A. J., Arlington Shoe Co., Arniitage, Francis, Arnold, T. M., and Son, Arnold, Charles W. Co. Inc., Atherton Furniture Co., Atvvood, E. S., Atwood Bros., Ayer, George H., & Co., Ayer & Webster, Babcock, Frank D., Bailey, George S., Bancroft-Walker Co., Barker-Hines Company, Barrett, Richard H., Barry, Edward H., Barry, Thomas F., Barry, T. E., Bartlett, James C, Bartlett Hotel, Bates, J. W., Bayley, Warren C, Bay State Leather Remnant Co., Bay State Street Railway Co., Bay State Toplift Co., Beach Soap Co., Beal Bros., Bean, D. B. & Co., Beauvais, Henry I., & Co., Belanger, Frederick M., Bennett & Co., Cement & Rubber, Lawyer, Florist, Theatre, Leather, United Shoe Machinery Co., Contractor-Teaming, Grocer, Tanners, Hill Top Farm, Shoe Trimmings, Physician, Plumber, Counters, Wholesale Shoe Jobber, Women's Cut Soles, Tailors, Shoe Manufacturers, Electrical Contractor, Union Leather Soles, Soles & Leather, P'urniture, Granite & Marble Works, Grocers, Shoe Trimming Manufacturers, Box Board, Reporter for Banker & Tradesman, Bakery, Shoe Manufacturers, Druggists, Cigar Manufacturer, Retail Liquors, Heels, Fish, Slipper Manufacturer, Hotel, Bradford Charcoal Co., Real Estate, Leather Remnants, Garfield S. Chase, Sup't., Harold W. Winchester, Mgr., Soap Manufacturers, Dye House, Coal & Wood, Liquor Dealer, Malt Liquors, Retail Shoe Store, 7 Railroad Avenue, Brad Dist. 83 Merrimack Street 19 Proctor Street 103 Merrimack Street 47 Washington Street 145 Esse.x Street 33 Kingsbury Ave., Brad. Dist. 364 Washington Street 19 Railroad Square King Street, Groveland, Mass. 18 Phoenix Row 50 Merrimack Street 140 Essex Street Bradford District 73 River Street 60 Phoenix Row 154 Merrimack Street 62 Washington Street 40 Essex Street 85 Essex Street 18 Wingate Street 15 Washington Square 51 Main Street 24 Main Street 59 Washington Street Bradford District 22 Nichols Street 87 Water Street 141 Essex Street 67 Main St., B. D.; 117 Wash. St. 41 1/2 Locust Street 28 Water Street 59 Washington Street 143 Washington Street 128 Washington Street 59 Main Street Railroad Ave., Brad. Dist. 196 Merrimack Street 74 Phoenix Row 3 Water Street 62 Washington Street Water Street, Cor. Mill Street 116 Merrimack Street 1981/2 Merrimack Street 29 Lafayette Square 68 Lafayette Square 18 Merrimack Street 60 Bennett, 0. F., Benoit, Louis J. A., Benson, Dr. Charles S., Beverley, J. A., Bickum, C. I. Co., Inc., Bickum, C. I., Bixby, George H., Bixby, William E., Blake-Curtis Co., Blake, C. E., Blake, J. P., & Son, Bodwell Counter Co., Bollard & Bailey, Boland, William P., Bon Ton Cafe, Bornstein's Men's Shop, Boston Beef Co., Boston Credit Co., Boston & Haverhill Express, Boucher, E. A., Bourque & Sears, Brackett, Karl S., Bradford Market, Bradley Shoe Company, Bradstreet Heel Co., Bragdon, John H., Brasseur, S. J., Bray, W. S., & Son, Inc., Brickett, James E., BrigRs, George W., Brief, Benjamin, Brissette, A. J., Brittain & Co., Broadwalk Shoe Co., Brody, M., & Son, Bromis & Boucouvalas, Brooks, F. K., Brosnan, John B., Brown & Hutchison, Brown, Everett L., Brown, M. L., Leather Co., Browne, Willard W., Bryant, E. E., & Co., Bryant, Dr. J. E., Bunker, Dr. George M., Burke, Patrick, Busfield Machine Co., Busfield, John A., Butler & Haseltine, Butler & Holmes, Butler, John P., Butler, W. Fred, Butrick, Arthur W., Cahill, E. L. & Co., Campbell, H. B. Co., Campbell, L. L., Canarie, Dr. Martin C, Cappabianca, Antonio, Carbone, August, Plumber, Painter, Physician and Surgeon, Electrical Contractor, Druggists, Automobiles, Cut Straw, Leather Board, Leather Board, Wholesale Grocers, Real Estate, Plasterers, Counters, Leather, Signwriter, A. P. Elion, Proprietor, Men's Clothing, Provisions, Men's Clothing, Express, Tailor, Boot & Shoe Patterns, Florist, Provisions, Shoe Manufacturers, A. H. Bradstreet, Mgr., Restaurant, Retail Shoe Dealer, Counters, Real Estate, Troy Laundry, The Brief System Printing, Real Estate, Retail Groceries, Shoe Manufacturers, Leather Remnants, Custom Tailors, Merrimack Laundry, Foreman, Shoe Patterns, Soles & Taps, Leather, Grocer, Hardware & Painting, Physician, Dentist, Liquors, Machinery, Agent Texas Oil Co., Slipper Manufacturers, Retail Shoe Dealers, Plumbing-Heating, Pork Shop, Farmer, Liquor Dealers, Wholesale Produce, Real Estate, Dentist, Fruit & Confectionery, Fruit & Confectionery, 38 Emerson Street 57 Water Street 50 Merrimack Street 9 How Street 7 Water Street 73 Water Street 56 Essex Street 56 Essex .Street 262 Winter Street 4 Lexington Avenue, Brad. Dist. 87 Portland Street Granite & Essex Streets 29 Wingate Street Rear 104 Merrimack Street 47 Essex Street 130 Washington Street 159 Washington Street 139 Merrimack Street 31 Wingate Street Hilldale Avenue G4 Wingate Street 38 Winter Street 39 Main Street, Brad. Dist. 115 Essex Street 40 Granite Street 11 Railroad Square 13 Essex Street 42 Phoenix Row 154 Merrimack Street 64 Essex Street 109 River Street 30 Tenth Avenue 5 Main Street, Brad. Dist. Bradford District 40 Granite Street 40 Orchard Street 14 Washington Street 3 Fernwood Avenue, Brad. Dist. 120 Washington Street 95 Washington .Street 118 Phoenix Row 8 Emerson Street 51 Main Street, Brad. Dist. 50 Merrimack Street 174 Merrimack Street 257 Winter Street 84 Washington Street 84 Washington Street 145 Essex Street 35 Merrimack .Street 68 Winter Street 12 Fleet Street 789 Broadway 48 Locust Street 203 Essex Street 162 Merrimack Street 81 Winter Street 117 Lafayette Square 5 Water Street 61 Carbone Bros., Carleton, George F. & Co., Carleton, O. J., Carlisle & Holt, Carriga', J- J., Carroll, T. F., Carter, Dr. Elmer W., Carter Co., Carter-Russell & Co., Carter's Transfer Co., Casey & Sheehan, Cass, Samuel E.. Caswell, Dr. G. E., Chadwick, J. T., Chadwick, W. B., Chagachbanian, K. M., Chapman, J. W., Chase Press, Inc., Chase, A. T., Chase & Laubham, Chase & Richardson, Chase, D. D., Lumber Co., Chase, F. S., Chashoudian, Gregory H., Chesley, B. A., Chicago Market, Child, A. M., Chooljian Bros., Citizens Co-operative Bank, City Five Cent Savings Bank, Clam Shell, The Clancey, Charles W., Clarke, Clifton A., Clarke, Greenleaf, Clarke, Dr. I. J., Clough, Leroy H., Coakley, Dennis X., Coddaire, J. W., Coddaire, William H., Colby, J. A., Colcord, Arthur T., Cole, B. E. Co., Inc. Cole, N. S. & Son Co., Collins & Johnson, Collins, H. S., Collins Market, Collins, A. G., Shoe Co., Colonial Alleys, Colonial Lunch, Colonial Theatre, Comeau, William J., Connell, .lohn, Conway Die Co., Cook, J. D., & Son, Cook, Christopher C, Cook, Charles Potter, Cooke, Dr. William H., Cooke, Thomas M., Cordopatis, Christos, Fruit, Shoe Manufacturers, Lawyer, Grocers, Star Laundry, Liquors, Osteopathic Physician, Men's Clothing, Express, Express, Retail Liquors, Garage, Optometrist, Produce, Dirigo Cream, Shoe Store & Shoe Rep'g., Die Manufacturer, Printers & Stationers, Accountant, Real Estate Owners, Groceries & Provisions, Lumber, Shoe Manufacturer, Custom Tailor, Grocer, Meats & Groceries, Sec. Hav. Shoe Mfgrs. Ass'n., Fruit & Confectionery, James W. Goodwin, Treasurer, George W. Noyes, Treas., Restaurant, Mgr. Trolley Guide Pub. Co., Insurance, Real Estate, Physician, Builder, Inspector of Plumbing, Groceries, Globe Market, Real Estate, Contractor, Shoe Manufacturers, Carpenter & Builder, Auto Repairing, Shoe Manufacturer, Groceries, Shoe Manufacturers, Bowling, Restaurant, James A. Sayer, Manager, Undertaker, Coal, James J. O'Donnell, Manager, Contractors, Builder, Sup't W. & V. O. Kimball Co., Chiropodist, Shoe Counters, Restaurant, 11 Washington Square 22 Phoenix Row 83 Merrimack Street 9o Main Street, Brad. Dist. Washington Square 2 Wingate Street 72 White Street 19 Washington Square 23 Hale Street Rear 76 Merrimack Street 14 West Street 30 Ashland Street 9 Merrimack Street West Boxford, Mass. 19 Eleventh Avenue 291 Washington Street Rear 44 Washington Street 87 Essex Street 54 Summer Street 1 Essex Street 1.59 Winter Street 9 Washington Avenue .59 Wingate Street 1-3% White Street 313 Washington Street 175 Merrimack Street 58 Washington Street 121 Winter Street 81 Merrimack Street 48 Washington Street 9 Washington Square 196 Winter Street 191 Merrimack Street 50 Merrimack Street 112 Emerson Street 39 Byron Street, Brad. Dist. Board of Health, City Hall 82 Lafayette Square 52 Fifth Avenue 3 Water Street 37 Wellington Avenue 16 Walnut Street 18 Central Street, Brad. Dist. 12 Lafayette Square 145 Essex Street 71 Main Street, Brad. Dist. 112 Washington Street 191 Merrimack Street 189 Merrimack Street Merrimack Street 80 Lafayette Square 105 Prospect Street, Brad. Dist. 40 Granite Street 28 West Street 3 Byron Street, Brad. Dist. 4 Walnut Street 72 Merrimack Street 45 Wingate Street 25 Locke Street 62 Costarides & Stavropoulos, Costello & Shanahan, Coucouvitis, Nicholas K., Courteau, Oscar A., Courtney, Thomas A., Cowan, Robert, Cox, Herbert W., Crafts, Albert M., Crane Drug- Store, Crepeau, Charles O., Cross, Charles E., Cross, John H., Croston, Dr. John F., Crovvell, Frank. Crowley, Daniel J., Crystal Lunch, Currier, George D. & Co., Curtin, J. F., Cushman & Hebert, Dagiannis, Nicholas, Dalryniple-Pulsifer Co., Dalton, A., Co., Danulian, A., Davis, B. W., Davis, B. C. & Co., Davis, Frank E., Davis, George I., Davis, James R., Davis, H., & Co., Day, Lewis A., Dean, Chase Co., Dearborn. John H., Delisle, Dr. Joseph D., Delva, A., Dempsey, Clarence H., Desmond, J. T., Desmond, William J., Dillon, P. J., Dinsmore, A. S., Dinsmore & Landers, Dole, Charles E., Dole & Childs, Donahue & Co., Donahue, Dr. Hugh, Donovan, Dennis, Donovan, John R,. Doucette, Nory, Dorion, Dr. Louis P. A., Dow, Moses H., Downs Commercial School, Drewett, William, Drinkwater, James, Drolet, Philip, Dudley, D. T. & Co., Dudley, L. B. & Co., Duffee. William F., Duffy, Charles, Dugan, Timothy, Dupre, Ferdinand, Retail Liquors, Undertakers, Insurance, Dry Goods, Heel Manufacturer, Drug-gist, Milkman, Drug-gist, George E. Crane, M. D., Grocer, Retired, Shoe Manufacturer, Physician, Bakery, Grocer, Vastos & Mallis, Upper Leather & Shoe Trimmings, Shoe Threads, Shoe Manufacturei's, Meats, Groceries, Fruit, Slipper Bows, Paper Boxes, Bakery, With A. Kimball Shoe Co., Law'ce, Top Lifts, Retired, Lawyer. Steward Wachusctt Club, Hardware, Mgr. Hav. Construction Co., Shoe Mfg. Goods, Power Plant, Physician, Fruit & Confectionery, Sup't of Schools, Civil Engineer, Retail Shoe Dealer, Liquors, Liquors, Liquors, Pres. First National Bank, Undertakers, Liquors, Physician, Real Estate, Retail Butter, Eggs & Coffee, Pool & Billiards, Druggist & Physician, Shoe Manufacturers Goods, Business College, Liquors, Real Estate, Manager, Simpson Bros., Slipper Trimmings, Little Folks' Shoes, Contractor & Builder, Machinist, Lunch Room, Real Estate, 32 Locke Street 210 Winter Streeet 4 Primrose Street 18 Lafayette Square 91 Hale Street 40.5 Washington Street 39 Prospect Street, Brad. Dist. 22 Main Street 198 Merrimack Street 20 Laurel Avenue, Brad. Dist. 62 Oak Street 260 River Street 83 Emerson Street 651/2 Main Street, Brad. Dist. 470 Washington Street 23 Merrimack Street 118 Phoenix Row 82 Washington Street 356 River Street 40 Locust Street 88 Washington Street 50 Phoenix Row 99 River Street Georgetown, Mass. 23 Locust Street 22 Summit Avenue 83 Merrimack Street 43 Merrimack Street 11 Water Street 191 Merrimack Street 13 Railroad Square 8 Phoenix Row S8 Locust Street 32 Winter Street City Hall 91 Merrimack Street 4 Main Street 124 Washington Street 21 Water Street 17 Water Street 77 Washington Street 39 Main Street 2 Harrison Street 21 White Street 73 Merrimack Street 132 Winter Street 24 Water Street 42 Lafayette Square 81 Washington Street 191 Merrimack Street 36 Fleet Street 191 Merrimack Street 85 Main Street, Brad. Dist. 66 Washington Street 1.53 Essex Street 82 Locust Street 53 Wingate Street 4 Granite Street 15 Emerson Street 63 Durgin, A. F. Durkee Counter Co., Durkee, E. L. Leather Co., Duston Dye House, Dutra Tobacco Co., Eastman, Harry L., Eaton, Willis F., Edgerly, Elwin A., Edgerly, John H., Elliott, Perry E. & Co., Ellis-Eddy Co., VAVis, W. EuR'ene Co., Ellis & Hussey, Ellis, Warren M., Ellison, J. O., & Co., Emerson, Charles & Sons, Emerson, E. A., Emerson Street Bakery, Emery & Marshall Co., Emmons Bros. Co., Eno, L. J., Enterprise Shoe Store, Essex Brewery, Essex National Bank, Essex Sign Co., Essex Wood Heel Co., Estabrook, Archibald M., Evans, George H., Factor, Max, Falvey & Foley, Faneuil Market Co., Inc., Fantini, S., Farnsworth, S. P., Farrell, J. W. Emerson, Farrington, Helen G., Feinberg, Meyer J., Fellows Hardware Co., Ferrin, Dr. W. W., Fibre Leather Co., Fielden, Robert S., First National Bank, Fitts, E. A., Fitzgerald, M. J., Fitzgerald, P. J., Fitzgerald, M. P., Fitzgerald, J. H., Flynn, Milton F., Follansbee, Somerby C, Forbes Bros., Foss, H. L., Fowler, M. J., Fox, Charles K., Inc., Fox, Daniel G., Fox Bros., Frankle & Tilton, Freeman, Frank, Fred's Poultry Place, Frost, Henry, Frost, O. C. & Co., Shoe Manufacturers, Shoe Counters, Counters, Soles, Etc., Thomas M. Duston, Mgr., A. P. Wadleigh, Mgr., Grocer, Hav. Rose Conservatory, With E. H. Moulton, Druggist, Plumbers, Shoe Manufacturer, Mfgs. Boot & Shoe Findings, Cut Soles & Leather, Foreman, W. & V. O. Kimball Co., Coal, Wood, Grain & Hay, China & Glass Ware, Milk, Nehemiah Jackson, Shoe Manufacturers, Hat Manufacturers, Jeweler, Retail Shoe Dealers, Geo. W. Smith, Mgr., Charles A. Pingree, Pres., Thomas H. Boland, Mgr., Wood Heels, Wood Heels, Liquor Dealer, Ladies' Tailor & Furrier, Liquors, Hilay Berger, Baker, Retired, Undertaker, Manicuring-Hairdressing, Soles, Taps, Hardware, Physician, Fibre Leather, Salad Dressing Mfr., Charles E. Dole, Pres., Insurance Agent, Sup't of Moth Dep't., Cut Soles & Leather, Groceries & Provisions, Flexible Innersoles, Real Estate Owner, Insurance, Leather Dealer, Building Movers, Box Mfr., Optician & Optometrist, Shoe Manufacturers, Electrician, New.s Dealer, Insurance, Jewelry Store, Poultry & Pets, Sup't of Parks, Top Lifts, 54 Washington Street 118 Phoenix Row 40 Phoenix Row 58 Fleet Street 29 Washington Street Ayers Village North Main Street 132 Essex Street 363 Washington Street 17 West Street 12 Duncan Street 139 Merrimack Street 8 Wingate Street 4 Walnut Street 9 Merrimack Street, Brad. Dist. 38 Main Street 260 North Broadway 32 Emerson Street Rear 2-20 Washington Street Railroad Avenue, Brad. Dist. 67 Merrimack Street 133 Merrimack Street Bradford District 24 Merrimack Street Rear 104 Merrimack Street 40 Wingate Street 194 Essex Street 6 Essex Street 118 Merrimack Street 5 Fleet Street 45 Merrimack Street 65 Beach Street 95 Winter Street 41 Main Street 191 Merrimack Street 33 Railroad Square 31 Merrimack Street 77 Emerson Street 250 River Street 31 Prospect Street, Brad. Dist. 77 Washington Street 103 Merrimack Street 200 Kenoza Avenue 28 Washington Street 232 Winter Street 45 Wingate Street 139 Merrimack Street 76 Washington Street 29 Hale Street 22 Phoenix Row 171 Merrimack Street 35 Duncan Street 103 Washington Street 200 Merrimack Street 151 Merrimack Street 183 Merrimack Street Water Street 11 Bradford Avenue, Brad. Dist. 118 Phoenix Row 64 Frothinghani, E. G., Gage, Frank S., Gage, H. H., Gale Shoe Manufacturing Co., Galvin, James P., Gammon, Arthur H., Garbelnick, Max, Gardella Bros., Gardella, Joseph & Son, Gardella, Joseph W. & Co., Gardner, Ralph E., Gardner, S. Porter, George, Albert B., Co., George, Dr. Arthur P., George, E. H., George, S. W., George, T. H., Gerrish, Samuel J., Gianowkos & Co., Giles, Lewis H., Gilman, B. B. & Co., Gitterman, Henry, & Co., Gleason, Chauncey, Glines Wood Heel Co., Globe Counter Co., Glover, C. F., Gofstein, Alexander, Goodrich, Hazcn B. & Co., Goodsell, J. W., Goodwin, E. J., & Co., Goodwin, J. W., Goodwin & Cavan, Gordon, J. B., Gordon, F. G. R., Gorman Shoe Co., Gosselin, Allen M., Gould & Balch, Grad Cloak & Suit Co., Graham, Rev. Fr. John J., Granite State Spring Water Co., Grant, W. T. Co., Graves, Rufus E., General, Grechevsky, Louis, Greeley, A. W., Greenleaf, H. Earle, Greenstein, M. & Co., Grover, Charles H., Grover, F. S. C, Gulf Refining Co., Gulezian, George 0., Gulezian, M. H., Gulezian, S. H., Guptil, H. E., Hale, B. C, Hall, E. B. Shoe Co., Ham, Leslie C, Hamel, C. A., Hamlin, Frank S., Hanna Co., The Care of Real Estate, Shoe Manufacturer, With J. H. Winchell & Co., Shoe Manufacturers, Shoe Manufacturer, Druggist, Soles, Taps, Fruit, Insurance, Liquors, Lawyer, Pres. City Five Cent Savings Bank, Specialty Chemists, Physician, Contractor, Writer, Tailor, Manager Liggett & Co., Groceries, Treas. Haverhill Trust Co., Straw, Leather, Shoe Goods, A. A. Balch, Mgr., Milk. Wood Heels, Manufacturer of Soles, Real Estate Dealer, Leather, Shoe Manufacturers, Meat & Provisions, Shoe Manufacturers, Lawyer, Lawyers, Chief of Fire Dept., Writer, Mrs. M. A. Feehan, Pres., General Agent B. & M. R. R. Insurance Agents, Ladies' Specialty Store, Pastor St. James' Church, Soda Water, Tonics, 25 Cent Department Store, Hotels, Merchant Tailor, Slipper Manufacturer, Toplifts, Shanks & Soles, Leather Remnants, Men's Clothing Store, Counter Manufacturer, Oil, Eric Halverson, Mgr., Fruit, Variety Store, Groceries & Real Estate, Shoe Manufacturer, Druggist, Shoe Manufacturers, Hardware, Hamel Shoe Machinery Co., Insurance Agent, Ladies' Specialty Store, 3 Washington Square 92 Essex Street 17 Locust Street 24-34 Duncan Street 39 Wingate Street 1 Washington Square Rear 54 Wingate Street 6 Main Street 73 Merrimack Street 88 River Street 3 Water Street 212 Mill Street 80 Phoenix Row 143 Main Street Groveland, Mass. 45 Highland Avenue 32 Locust Street 143 Merrimack Street 9 Duncan Street 163 Merrimack Street 82 Wingate Street 86 Wingate Street 419 East Broadway 112 Phoenix Row 40 Granite Street 3 Orchard Street 44 Granite Street 70 Washington Street 66 Essex Street 14 Walnut Street 81 Merrimack Street 91 Merrimack Street 115 Webster Street 278 Main Street 96 Washington Street Hale Street 103 Merrimack Street 117 Merrimack Street Cottage Street Atkinson Depot, N. H. 152 Merrimack Street 13 Columbia Park 18 Water Street 49 Washington Street Rear 196 Essex Street 100 Washington Street 85 Merrimack Street 60 Phoenix Row Mill Street, Brad. Dist. 354 Washington Street 219 Washington Street 2 Gulezian Place Winter Street 52 Winter Street 348 River Street 23 Water Street 113 Essex Street 212 Merrimack Street 105 Merrimack Street 05 Hammond Machine Co., Hanscom, P. W., Hanscom Hardware Co., Hanscom, Willis H., Harding, Albert G., Harmon Bros., Harrison, John M., Harris, J. W., Hartman, David, Haseltine & Colby Shoe Co., Haselton, C. W. Co., Haseltine, E. A., Haverhil Haverhil Haverhil Haverhil Blacking Co., Box Board Co., Building Trust, Business College, Hav. Carpet Rem. & Uphol. Co., Haverhill Cement Stone Co., Haverhill Co-operative Bank, Haverhill Electric Co., Haverhill Gaslight Co., Haverhill Gazette Co.. Haverhill Grocery, Haverhill House Heating Co., Haverhill Last Works, Haverhill Leather Remnant Co., Haverhill Leather Scrap Co., Haverhill Mercantile Co., Haverhill Milling Co., Haverhill Motor Mart, Haverhill National Bank, Haverhill Rubber Co., Haverhill Savings Bank, Haverhill Shoe Stock Co., Haverhill Sign Co., Haverhill Tallow Co., Haverhill Tire Shop, Haverhill Transportation Co., Haverhill Trust Co., Haverhill Wood Heel Co., Hayden, S. H., Hayes, C. H., Corp., Hayes, B. W., & Co., Haynes, Albert S., Hazen Brown Co., Heath, A. P., Hewett, R. E., Hilliard & Tabor, High Street Market, Hill, T. R., Hillson & Gerber, Hines, P., West End Market, Hobson, J. L., Holbrook, Dr. Charles A., Holder, William P., Holmes Bakery, Hood, Ralph D., Hooker-Howe Costume Co., Hooke, Fred V., Machinery, Counters, Taps, Hardware, Counter Manufacturer, Insurance, Pictures & Frames, Christian Scientist, Pres. Hav. Co-operative Bank, Shoe Manufacturer, Shoe Manufacturers, I eather Remnants, Electrical Construction, Blacking Mfrs., Box Board Mfrs., Real Estate Owners, W. P. Mcintosh, Prin., A. W. Wells, Prop., Builders, James G. Page, Treas., Frank L. Ball, Mgr., Frank M. Roberts, Mgr., Daily Newspaper, Angel Colocousis, Plumbers, Branch United Last Co., Leather Remnants, Everett Mitchell, Collection .\gents. Hay, Grain, etc., Garage, F. H. Gallup, Mgr., Henry H. Gilman, Pres., Rubber Goods, W. W. Spaulding, Pres., Shoe Trimmings, Arthur & William West, Collection Station, J. H. Langevin, S. R. Dobbie, Prop., Louis H. Giles, Treas., Wood Heels, Broker at Boston, Box Manufacturers, Real Estate & Railroad Tickets, Rep. N. E. Telephone Co., Shoe Cement, Photographers' Supplies, Liquors, Shoe Manufacturers, John Coppala, Mgr., Top Lifts, Heels, Counters, Leather Remnants, Groceries & Provisions, Vice-Pres. Merrimack Nat'l Bank, Physician, Barber, L. M. Holmes, Prop., Civil Eng. Mass. N. E. St. Ry., Theatrical Costumes, Printer, End Hale Street 59 Wingate Street 30 Main Street 77 Washington Street 12 Water Street 28 Main Street 191 Merrimack Street 13 Sixth Avenue 37 Wingate Street 113 Essex Street 196 Essex Street 117 Winter Street 39 Wingate Street Bradford District 99 Washington St, Boston, Mass. 72 Merrimack Street 60 Fleet Street Bradford District 9 Emerson Street 121 Merrimack Street 28-30 Washington Square 179 Merrimack Street 33-35 Locke Street 97 Washington Street 50 Wingate Street 66 Phoenix Row 5 Potter Street 3 WasMUgton Square 190 Essex Street Merrill's Court 191 Merrimack Street 13 Merrimack Street 153 Merrimack Street 50 Wingate Street 11 Merrimack Street 72 Hale Street 119 Lafayette Square 33 Hale Street 168 Merrimack Street Island Park, Bradford District 30 Westland Terrace 36 Granite Street Railroad Square 9 Fifth Avenue 31 Wingate Street 78 Merrimack Street 164 Washington Street Rear 262 Winter Street 911/2 High Street 38 Wingate Street 50 Wingate Street 246 Essex Street 8 Maple Avenue 50 Merrimack Street 7 Merrimack Street 170 Salem Street, Brad. Dist. 3 Hawthorne Street, Brad. Dist. 30 Main Street, Brad. Dist. 188 Merrimack Street 66 Hopkins & Ellis, Home, Charles H., Hovey, L. R., How, William E., Howard, John P., Howe, H. S., Howe & Fenlon, Howes, Enoch H., Hoyt, Charles M., Hoyt, Charles N., & Son, Hoyt, George H., & Son, Hoyt, George O., Hui)bell, Dr. Adelbert M., Hunkins, W. O., & Co., Hurd, F. E., Hynes, E. F., Ideal Cloak Co., Island Box Co., Jacobs, Arthur T., Jacques, J. H., Jaques & Potter Power Plant, Jennings & Marble, Jones, Byron Howard, Jonas, Joseph & Co., Jones, Boyd B., Jordan, Samuel A., Kaffin Bros., Kalnewitz, A. E., Kaplovitch, Dr. Henry, Karelis Shoe Co., Karelitz, Morris, Kaulbach, C. H., Kearney, Dr. J. J., Keaveny, Michael, Keeler, Harley G., Keighley, Norman, Keith, Irving L., Kelleher, Michael J., Kelleher, P. J., Kelleher, Rev. Fr. John F., Kelleher, T. J., Kelly Bros., Kelly, C. O., Kelly, George J., Co., Kelly, P. J., Kempton, E. J., Co., Kennedy & Co., Kenney, D. J., King Hat Store, Kimball, George E., Kimball, Herbert W., Kimball, Hall & Loomis, Kimball, Leonard H., Kimball, L., & Son, Kimball, W. & V. O., King Toy Low, King, Dr. J. S., Knights-Allen Co., Inc., Knipe Bros., Inc., Shoe Manufacturers, Soles, Leather, Haverhill Record, Stationer, Mfr. of Condiments, Real Estate, Leather, Insurance, Alderman, Real Estate & Lumber, Paper Box Mfrs., Real Estate, Physician, Slipper Manufacturers, Grocer, Liquors, Cloaks, Suits, Wood Boxes, City Treasurer & Tax Collector, Jeweler, Power, Bradford Wet Wash, Electrical Contractor, Leather Remnants, Lawyer, With Fred W. Peabody, Stitching Room, Restaurant, Physician, Shoe Manufacturers, Real Estate & Rug Manufacturer, Florist, Dentist, Grocer, Heel Manufacturer, Jeweler, Shoe Findings, Plasterer, Bakery, Pastor Sacred Hearts' Church, Billiards & Pool, Contractors & Builders, Insurance Agent, Heels, Paste & Leather, Upholsterer, Men's Clothing, Butter Cheese & Eggs, Ladies' Specialty Store, Gaston H. Roberts, Mgr., Real Estate & Insurance, Electrician, Undertakers, Milk, Jewelers, Shoe Manufacturers, Chinese Restaurant, Dentist, Shoe Manufacturers, Shoe Manufacturers, Rear 98 Washington Street Essex Street 25 Locust Street 27 Washington Sq'iare 21 Kingsbury Avenue, Brad. Dist. 8 Fernwood Avenue, Brad. Dist. 52 Washington Street 98 Webster Street 218 Main Street, Brad. Dist. 723 Main Street 250 River Street 20 Edwards Street 22 Merrimack Street 143 Essex Street 97 Cedar Street 57 Merrimack Street 17 Washington Street Island Park, Bradford District City Hall 17 Essex Street 67 Washington Street Rear 196 Essex Street 146 Washington St., So. Groveland 16 Washington Street 530 Exchange Bldg.. Boston, Mass. 7 Washington Square 41 Washington Street 43 Washington Street 50 Merrimack Street 1 Beach Street 102 Pilling Street 28 Main Street 91 Merrimack Street 210 Primrose Street 56 Essex Street 1 Railroad Square 92-94 Washington Street 142 Main Street 154 Winter Street 6 Carleton Avenue, Brad. Dist. 29 Washington Square 30 Pleasant Street 103 Merrimack Street 48 Phoenix Row 97 Main Street, Brad. Dist. 97 Merrimack Street 140 Merrimack Street 22 Merrimack Street 123 Merrimack Street 37 Merrimack Street 13 Main Street 69 Main Street, Brad. Dist. East Haverhill 79 Merrimack Street 4 Walnut Street 63 Merrimack Street 6 Emerson Street 141 Essex Street Ward Hill 67 Knowles, L. L., Kostas Shoe Trimming Co., Kritter, E. R., Lafayette Square Pharmacy, Lagasse, Emil, Lahey, Thos. H., Laing, John L., Lamond, Thomas, Lancy, John, Jr., Lane, J. C, Larkin, Dr. Richard B., Lawton, Louis C, Lea, L, Leach, Arthur E., Leary, John C, Leavitt, George B., Leavitt, Louis M., Leavitt, P. E. & Co., LeBosquet, Moore Co., Lefebvre, George E., Legare, Francois X., LeGro, Dr. L. B., Leighton, B. F., & Co., Leighton, Harold D., Leighton, Harry W., Leith, Frank, & Son., Lennox, Joseph L., Lennox & Briggs Co., Inc., Leonard, Dr. John B., Leslie Dry Goods Co., Levis, S. J., Lewis, H. E., Libcrty-Durgin, Inc., Littlcfield, Walter D., & Co., Loose-Wiles Biscuit Co., Lougee, Edwin A., Lynch, John A. Co., Maehling, Albert C, McDougall, Dr. D., MacKinnon, Dr. F. A., MacManus, James J., Mahoney, C. C, Majestic Theatre, Malbon Shoe Co., Inc., Manhattan Market, Manning, E. A., Manning, J. A., Shoe Mfg. Co., Manikus, Socrates H., Marin, J., & Co., Marshall Bros., Martin, George Willard, Martin, Howard E., Martin, O. A., Martin, O. L., Mason, Geo. F., Mass. Baking Co., Mass. N. E. Street Railway Co., Mazer, Hyman, McAree Bros., Grocer, Leather Remnants, Antiques, Frank H. Simard, Grocer, Granite Contractor, Individual Family Laundry, Plumbing & Heating, Shoe Manufacturer, Grocer, Dental Surgeon, City Engineer, Shirt Manufacturer, City Auditor, G. B. Leavitt Co., Shoe Mfrs., G. B. Leavitt Co., Shoe Mfrs., Builder & Contractor, Shoe Manufacturers, Shoe Manufacturers, Horse Shoeing, Horse Shoeing, Dentist & Physician, Wholesale Groceries, Salesman, Retail Shoe Dealer, Florists, Lennox-Nagle Leather Co., Morocco Mfrs., Dentist, Department Store, Groceries & Provisions, Shoe Manufacturer, Manufacturers Gov't Equipment, Job Printers, C. J. Gardner, Manager, Shoe Repairing, Shoe Manufacturers, Barber, Physician & Surgeon, Dentist, Blacksmith, Liquors, Theatre, Jacob Bloomfield, Groceries & Meats, Cigar Manufacturer, Shoe Manufacturers, Groceries & Provisions, Coal & Grain, Contracting Masons, Insurance, Electrical Supplies, Wood Heels, Salesman, Fitz Bros. Co., George & Joseph St. Pierre, Franklin Woodman, Gen. Mgr., Tailor & Furrier, Plumbers, 30 Emerson Street 15-17 Railroad Square 28-32 Main Street, Brad. Dist. 37 Lafayette Square Cor. High & Central Streets 42 Kenoza Avenue Kimball Street, Brad. Dist. 53 Kingsbury Avenue, Brad. Dist. 153 Essex Street 122 Emerson Street 22 Merrimack Street City Hall 15 Main Street City Hall 20 Duncan Street 20 Duncan Street 59 Pilling Street 153 Essex Street Rear 37 Washington Street 22 Walnut Street Hale Street 50 Merrimack Street Batchelder Street 18 Granite Street 160 Merrimack Street 648 Primrose Street Berwick, Maine 24 Duncan Street 3 Washington Square 28-40 Merrimack Street 59-61 Franklin Street 14 Walnut Street 21 Hale Street 112 Washington Street 30 Ferry Street, Brad. Dist. 42 Emerson Street 61 Wingate Street 9 Washington Street 131 Main Street 103 Merrimack Street 20 Fleet Street 28 Locust Street 61 Washington Street 27 Essex Street 16 Emerson Street 59 Merrimack Street 145 Essex Street 40 Locke Street Rear 262 Winter Street 1 Euclid Avenue, Brad. Dist. 115 Merrimack Street 60 Fleet Street 145 Essex Street Webster Street Auburn, Maine 8 Lafayette Square 50 Merrimack Street 26 Main Street, Brad. Dist. 89 Washington Street US McAree, Dr. Doniinick J., McCann Furniture Co., McCarthy, M. H., & Co., McCarthy & Malcolm, McComiick, Perry Shoe Co., McCuen, Dr. Charles N., McDonald, A. S., McDonald, William J., McFee, Dr. W. D., , McGregor, Fred D., Mclnnis, George A., McKeen, Archie S., McKeen, Edwin E., McKeigue, William J., McLaughlin, Dr. Arthur O., McLaughlin, Misses McNamara, L. F., McNeill, James A., Mears, Fred W., Heel Co., Melvin, A. A., Mencis, A., Mencis, Benjamin, Mercille, Dr. Joseph M., Merrimack National Bank, Merryman, Walter R., Middleton, Ernest, Milhendler, William, Miller, E. C, Miller & Busfield, Miller, Max, Mills, Roscoe S., Mills & McClintock, Misak & Moses Co., Mitchell, Robert Mitchell & Co., Mitchell, John H., Mitchell, Thomas W., Moberley, William R., Mohican Co., Monfils & Murphy Machine Co., Moore, R. Forrest, Moran, James E., Moriarty, Bartholomew J., Morse, H. F., Morse, C. 0., Morse & Proctor, Morse, Silas L., Motor Car Supply Co., Mosher, Fred L., Moulton, E. H., Moulton, John G., Moxcey & Johnson, Murphy, E. H., & Co., Murphy, John E., Murray Bros. Co., Murray, Horace W., & Co., Murray & Dugdale, Mysel, Dr. Hymen A., Nash, Dr. A. W., Dentist, Furniture, Groceries, Shoe Manufacturers, Shoe Manufacturers, Physician & Surgeon, Stamp Business, Lawyer, Physician, Retail Shoe Dealer, Real Estate, Photographer, Soles, Toplifts, Express, Physician, Haverhill Laundry, Shoe Manufacturer, Blacksmith, Wood Heels, Baker, Innersoles & Taps, Meats & Groceries, Dentist, Arthur P. Tenney, Cashier, Photographer, Plumber, Leather Remnants, F. M. Hodgdon Stitching Room, Restaurant, Shoe Trimmings, Real Estate, Plumbing & Heating, Fruit, Salesman, Haverhill Boxboard Co., Department Store, Druggist, With Mitchell & Co., Bootblack, Prof. Bill, Groceries & Meats, Machinists, With Wilson & Co., Business Mgr. Haverhill Gazette, Tailor, Pictures & Frames, Furniture, Soles & Taps, Probation Officer, Hugo A. Ramberg, Mgr., Electrical Contractor, Wholesale Beef & Provisions, Librarian Public Library, Wall Paper & Painting, Plumbers, Undertaker, Wholesale Grocers, Shoe Manufacturers, Plumbers, Physician, Dentist, :57 Merrimack Street 01 Merrimack Street 63 Essex Street 357 River Street 260 River Street 7 Main Street 206 Merrimack Street 103 Merrimack Street 3 Washington Square 18 Washington Square 174 Merrimack Street 66 Merrimack Street 47 Wingate Street 173 Salem Street, Brad. Dist. 120 Emerson Street 55 Main Street 85 Essex Street 52 Fleet Street 18 Granite Street 61 White Street 25 Railroad Square 30 How Street 191 Merrimack Street 20 Washington Street 21 Kensington Avenue, Brad. Dist. 161 Washington Street 33 Railroad Square 14 Walnut Street 53 Essex Street 98 Phoenix Row 103 Merrimack Street 22 Main Street 54 Emerson Street 49 Main Street, Brad. Dist. 76-82 Merrimack Street 194 Winter Street 78 Merrimack Street 116 Washington Street 149 Merrimack Street 48 Wingate Street 201 Essex Street 179 Merrimack Street 21 Emerson Street 44 Emerson Street 40 Locust Street 29 Granite Street 7 Bartlett Street 23 Emerson Street Essex Street 132 Essex Street 14 Mt. Vernon Street 32 Main Street 51 White Street 16 Primrose Street Stevens Street 208 River Street 29 Water Street 310 Washington Street 50 Merrimack Street 69 Nason, Alfred K., Nason, A. L., Nason & Phillips, Natho, Gustav, National Butter Co., National Innersole Co., National Window Cleaning, National Wood Heel Co., Nealley, George P., Nelson Bros. Nelson, F. E., & Co., Newcomb, Charles R., Newton, S. H., Newburg Shoe Co., Inc., New Eng. Tel. & Tel. Co., N. E. Wood Heel & Unit'd Lea. Co., New York Confectionery Co., Nichols, George (2nd) Nichols, George P., Nichols & Gilpin, Nichols & Morse, Nickett & Vallicaro, Noble, Charles B., Noonan, Edward J., Norwood, Granville M., Nott, Edward E., Noyes, George W., Noyes, Horace N., Inc., Noyes Paper Co., Noyes, Ray N., Noyes, Raymond O'Connell, George, & Co., Odiorne, John W., O'Leary, Michael, Olenick, Sam, O'Neill, Cornelius J., Oriental Restaurant, Ornsteen, M. T. Leather Co., Orpheum Theatre, O'Shea, John J., O'Toole, Dr. John L., Owens, John, & Co., Owen, E. C, & Son, P. & Q. Shop, Page, Benjamin I., Page, James G., Painchaud, P. J. Alfred, & Son, Palmer, Charles A., Palmer, George W., Parent, Arthur C, Parks, J. Edwards, Parshley, Arthur F., Patterson, James & Co., Payson, George W., Pazzanese, Joseph, Peabody, Fred W., Pearlmutter, Simon, Peaslee, Edson E., Peel, David Wilson, Automobiles, Trucks, Painting, Representative General Court, Shoe Manufacturers, Baker, Butter, Eggs, etc., Innersoles, Cleaning, Bertha H. Emery, Prop., Insurance Agent, Groceries & Meats, Department Store, Real Estate, Grocer, Shoe Manufacturers, F. G. Bennett, Mgr., Louis Gorevitz, Prop., John Kyriax, Mgr., Merrimack Ice Co., Candy & Ice Cream, Leather, Men's Clothing, Furniture Dealers, Shoe Crimping, Plasterer, Insurance, Shoe Factory Foreman, Treas, City Five Cent Sav. Bank, Jewelry & Pianos, Stationery, Carpenter, Treas. Haverhill Savings Bank, Shoe Manufacturers, Groceries, Liquors, Inner Soles, Insurance & Real Estate, Chinese Restaurant, Shoe Trimmings, Theatre, Stock Leather, Physician, Wood & Paper Boxes, Plumbing & Heating, F. J. Santry, Mgr., Clothing Store, Cashier Hav. National Bank, Insurance, Liquors, Photographer, Agent, Meat & Groceries, Lunch Carts, Shoe Contractor, Fruit Dealer, Custom Shoes, Custom Tailor, Music Store, Dry Goods, Saw Mill, Optician & Optometrist, West Boxford, Mass. 65 Laurel Avenue, Brad. Dist. 260 River Street 9 Curtis Avenue, Brad. Dist. 90 Merrimack Street 365 River Street 33 Main Street 32 Locke Street 66 Merrimack Street 2 Water Street 176 Merrimack Street 50 Merrimack Street 149 Elm Street, Brad. Dist. 258 River street 14 How Streeet 365 River Street 144 Merrimack Street 22 Washington Street 183 Merrimack Street 28 Wingate Street 56-62 Merrimack Street 12 Pecker Street 25 Washington Street 13 Union Street 3 Washington Square 3 Vine Street 48 Washington Street 71 Merrimack Street 64 Washington Street 53 Howard Street 153 Merrimack Street 98 Phoenix Row 74 White Street 12 How Street 365 River Street 191 Merrimack Street 194 Merrimack Street 76 Phoenix Row 7-9 Essex Street 2 Phoenix Row 112 Main Street, Brad. Dist. 348 River Street 53 Main Street, Brad. Dist. 109 Merrimack Street 191 Merrimack Street 9 Emerson Street 216-218 Essex Street Saunders Hill 47 Salem Street, Brad. Dist. 137 Lafayette Square 7 Carleton Avenue, Brad. Dist. Rear 22 Washington Street Essex & Granite Sts. 20 Emerson Street 79 Main Street, Brad. Dist. Washington Square 51 River Street 150 North Avenue 26 Merrimack Street 70 Pentucket Shoe Store, Pentucket Mills, Peoples House Furnishing Co., People's Coal Co., Perkins, Dr. Harry B., Perkins, James A., Perry, Austin H., Co., Pesprikos, James, Peters, Cole, Magison & Barrett, Pethybridge, H. M., Pettigrew, Bright & Co., Pettengill, Ernest E., Philbrick, L. 0., Pickard, B. T., Co., Pierce, Dr. F. B., Pingree, Ransom C, Pitcher, Dr. H. F., Pleasant St. Bowling Alleys, Plumstead, H. T., Poore & Abbott, Poore, Charles Herbert, Poor, Isaac, Popoff, Dr. Constantine, Porell, Dr. William I., Porter, Charles B., Portors, Frank W., Powers, Gardner L., Prescott, E. C, & Co., Primack, Bennie, Priest, A. Franklin, Pure Food Bakery, Puritan Lunch Co., Quality Saw Co., Quality Shoe Store, Quality Press, The Quality Wood Heel Co., Quincy Market, Railroad Square Smoke Shop, Rand, F. N., Rand, Howard B., Ray Dollar Store, Ray, Dr. John Z., Raymond, Fred O., Rayisian, Harry, Red Dragon Cigar Co., Redman, C. E., Reed, Melvin H., Regan's Auto Supply Shop, Renton Motor Car Co., Rich, William R., Richard, Alfred, Richey Drug Store, Rickard Shoe Co., The Riker-Jaynes Co., Riley, A. E., Rines, C. E., Roberts, Alexander, Jr., Roberts, L. H., Roberts, W. W., Shoe Dealers, M. T. Stevens & Sons Co., Furniture, Coal, Physician, Architect, Shoe Manufacturers, Fruit, Lawyers, Sole Leather, Brokers, Jewelry & Cameras, Manager Shoe Finding Store, Ice Cream & Confectionery, Physician, Lawyer, Physician, John A. C. McKay, Mgr., Boot-Shoe Patterns, Lawyers, Dairyman, Member Water Board, Physician, Dentist, Upholsterer, Blacksmith. Salesman, Upper Leather, Groceries & Provisions, Clerk, Cent. Dist. Court, No. Essex J. J. Thompson, Restaurant, Saw Mfrs., Max Stolzberg, Prop., Chas. H. Potter, Mgr., Printers, Walter J. O'Brien, Mgr., David Salovitch, Prop., Haverhill Taxicab Co., Real Estate & Insurance, Lawyer, Dry Goods, Dentist, Deputy Sheriff, Fruit Dealer, Fred W. Burrill, Mgr., News Dealer, Harness Maker, Edward D. Regan, Agents for Vim Trucks, Circulation Mgr. Haverhill Record Groceries, Meats, Druggists, Shoe Manufacturers, Druggists, Wet Wash, Bakery, Junk Dealer, Automobiles, City Clerk, 15 Washington Street J. A. Currier, Supt., Winter Street 6-12 Merrimack Street 142 Washington Street 125 Main Street 47 Merrimack Street 280 River Street 73 Essex Street 191 Merrimack Street .53 Washington Street 25 Washington Square 19 Merrimack Street 108 Washington Street 20 Winter Street 132 Main Street 191 Merrimack Street 50 Merrimack Street 8 Pleasant Street 110 Washington Street 50 Merrimack Street Box 3, Bradford District 40 Salem Street, Brad. Dist. 158 Main Street 3 Washington Square 46 Winter Street 144 Lafayette Square 81 Washington Street 35 Railroad Square 27 Kenoza Avenue 36 Main Street 35 Locust Street 214 Merrimack Street 91 Hale Street 137 Merrimack Street 69 Merrimack Street 210 River Street 38 Water Street Rear 108 Merrimack Street 191 Merrimack Street 191 Merrimack Street 85 Merrimack Street 88 Merrimack Street 191 Merrimack Street 2 Lafayette Square 4 Locust Street 1 Water Street 29 Main Street Walnut Street 32 Elm Street 62 Lowell Avenue 222 Essex Street 124 Winter Street 113 Essex Street 1 Merrimack Street 210 River Street 941/2 Main Street 43 Hale Street 3V2 White Street City Hall 71 Roche, James E., Root, William Henry, Rosengard & Cook, Rosengard Furniture Co., Ross & Baker Wood Heel Co., Royal Shoe Store, Rowe & Emerson Co., Ruddock Shoe Co., Ruel, Dr. Joseph A., Russ, John W., Russ, F. H., Ryan, John J., S. & S. Shoe Co., Sadowitz, Morris, Saltz, David J., Sansoucie, George, Sargent, Charles B., Sample Saving System, Inc., Savage, L. D., Sawyer, Herbert R., Sawyer, J. B., Sayward, J. H., Schlafman, Moses H., Schreiber, Dr. Eugene, Seale, Thomas H., Seavey, C. H., Seavey, George E., Sederquist, D. N., Segal Finishing Co., Senno, Emilo, Servetnick, S., Shannon, E. F., Shannon, C. E., Shattuck, A. L., Shaw, Robert, Sheridan Bros., Shevenell, John L., Shevenell, Prosper, Shohet, Dr. David, Short, J. M., Shugrue Market, Shute, Percy Harold, Silver Leaf Baking Co., Silverman, Jacob, Simas Drug Co., Simonds & Adams, Simons, James, Singer Sewing Machine Co., Sinotte, Louis J., Slipper City Toplift Co., Slipper City Wood Heel Co., Slavitt, Max S., Slocomb & Greenlay Co., Small, Harry F., Smart, Harris A., Smith Bros. Printing Co., Smith, Forrest V., Smith, Fred A., Smith, W. B. & L, & Co., Groceries & Provisions, W. A. & H. A. Root, Inc., Cont'rs. Shoes & Shoe Trimmings, Furniture, Wood Heels, Retail Shoes, H. L. Platz, Mgr. Men's Clothing, Shoe Manufacturers, Physician, Real Estate, Real Estate, Lawyer, S. Shapiro, Mgr., Lawyer, Real Estate, Meats & Groceries, Contractor, Manufacturers Mounted Samples, Sup't City Farm, Auto Supplies, Milk, Hardware, News Dealer, Physician, Lunch Cart, Bicycles & Phonographs, Bicycles & Phonographs, Photographer, Finishing Leather, Liquors, Shoe Trimmings, Innersoles, Taps, Contractor & Builder, Fish Market, Confectionery, Liquors, Shoe Manufacturers, Counters, Counters, Dentist, Merchant Tailor, Meats & Groceries, Puritan Lunch, Bread, Real Estate, T. E. Lynch, Mgr., Department Store, Wall Paper-Paints-Painting, Machinery, Perley C. Blake, Mgr., Druggist, Ernest Dumas, Mgr., James S. Moore, Prop., Real Estate, Shoe Supplies, Electrical Inspector, Shoe Manufacturer, Printers, Lawyer, Shoe Counter Manufacturer, Department Store, 42 Primrose Street 1 Beacon Street, Boston, Mass. 25 Railroad Square 208 Merrimack Street 63 Fleet Street 1891/2 Merrimack Street 68 Merrimack Street 143 Essex Street 14 Main Street 130 Broadway 71 Emerson Street 165 Merrimack Street 365 River Street 25 Washington Square 94 Emerson Street 236 Essex Street 35 Auburn Street 159 Essex Street City Farm 18 Fleet Street 571 Salem Street, Brad. Dist. 21 Washington Street 45 Washington Street 15 How Street 17 Chadwick Street, Brad. Dist. 35 Washington Street 50 Emerson Streeet 154 Merrimack Street Vila Street lOG Washington Street 33 Railroad Square 80 Howard Street 14 Fleet Street 39 Nichols Street 7 Washington Street 95 Essex Street 151 Essex Street 151 Essex Street 210 Merrimack Street 174 Merrimack Street 195 Elm Street, Brad. Dist. Railroad Square Kimball Street, Brad. Dist. 348 Washington Street Main St., cor of White Street 42-54 Merrimack Street 173 Washington Street 153 Essex Street 81 Essex Street 184 River Street 12 Duncan Street 89 Emerson Street 12 Walnut Street City Hall 69 Washington Street 104 Washington Street 83 Merrimack Street 35 Granite Street 94-98 Merrimack Street 72 Smith, W. C, Smith, Fred R., Smith, H. W., Smith & Norman, Smith & Palmer, Snelling, H. S., Snow White Family Laundry, Sonoma Stables, Spaulding, W. W., Splaine, R. A., Co., Sproull, Dr. John, Stanford, James, Stansfield, Bram, Stansfield, Dr. Howarth, Starensier, S., Stevens, Charles L. & Co., Stevens & Dow, Stickney, Albert E., Stiles, Franklin P., Stiles, George B., Stockbridge Shoe Co., Stone, Dr. T. N., Stover, J. M., St. Onge, Arthur R., Strand Theatre, Sullivan, E. E., & Co., Sullivan, Edward F., Sullivan, Dr. F. A., Sullivan, J. J., Sumner Counter Co., Swartz Bros., Swett, Fred F., Swett, M. E., Swett, P. C, Tabor, John E., Tabor, M. E., Tapin, W. Homer, Tapley, I. W., Taylor-Goodwin Co., Taylor, E. W. B., Taylor, H. L., & Co., Taylor, William B., Teichman, Albert F., Temple, Charles L., Tessier & Bowdoin, Tenney, M. G., Co., Thom Hat Co., Thompson, Avard G., Thompson, F. J., Inc., Thompson & Randall, Thorndike Hotel, Thurston, G. H., Thurston, Ralph M., Tilton, Sawyer & Cogswell, Tozier, N. C, & Co., Tracy, Edward M., Trask, Robert D., Tremblay, M. J., Triedman, L., Jeweler, Insurance, Grocer, Fish Dealers, Retail Meats, Etc., Agent American Express Co., Laundry, S. D. Collins, Pres. Haverhill Savings Bank, Liquors, Physician & Surgeon, Laundry, Pentucket Laundry, Dentist, Leather Remnants, Cut Soles, Leather, Druggists, Milk, Printer, Plumbing & Heating, Slipper Manufacturers, Physician, Retired, Men's Clothing, Theatre, Slipper Manufacturers, Liquors, Physician, Plumber, Counters, Leather Dealers, Shoe Manufacturer, Toplifts & Leather, Real Estate Owner, Milk, Groceries & Provisions, Plumber, Wood & Paper Boxes, Coal, Wood & Lumber, Real Estate, Coal, Clothes Cleaning & Shoe Shining, Barber, Furniture, Shoe Contractors, Shoe Trimmings, Hat Manufacturers, Carpenters, Shoe Manufacturers, Retail Bakery, Hotel, Groceries & Provisions, Meats & Provisions, Lawyers, Druggists, Cigars, Pool, Lawyer, Retail Groceries, Baker, 91 Merrimack Street 191 Merrimack Street 420 Water Street 11 Court Street 61 Locust Street 113 Washington Street 611/2 White Street Locust Street 54 Park Street 32 Fleet Street 50 Merrimack Street 150 Winter Street Bridge Street 70 Merrimack Street 21 Railroad Square 115 Essex Street Locust & Winter Streets 73 North Broadway 91 Washington Street Groveland, Mass. 18 Granite Street 27 White Street 120 Broadway 25 Essex Street 135 Merrimack Street 16 Walnut Street 71 Essex Street 3 Washington Square 140 Winter Street 78 Wingate Street 100 Phoenix Row 34 Duncan Street 321/2 Locke Street 39 Summer Street 547 Main Street 48 Winter Street 64 White Street 191 Merrimack Street Bradford District 46 Summer Street 201 Water Street 12 Winter Street 70 Washington Street 155 Winter Street 50 Phoenix Row 59 Washington Street 270 River Street 45 Rutherford Avenue 46-48 Essex Street 61 Emerson Street 2-12 Washington Street 2 Merrimack Street Main & Bridge Streets 191 Merrimack Street 138 Washington Street 40 Winter Street 3 Washington Square 64 Lafayette Square 388 Washington Street 73 Tuck, William 0., Tucker, F. E., & Son., Ty La Products, Tyrie, W. G., Union Clothing Co., United Cigar Stores Co., United Die Block Co., United Shoe Machinery Co., Varney Studio, Vaughn, Harry S., Veasey, Arthur Hale, Veasey, A. D., Villeneuve, I. M., & Co., Villeneuve, Joseph, Vovulis Bros., W. & M. Innersoles Co., Wade, A. R., & Co., Wade Printing Concern, Waldron, T. F., Wales, A. L., Walker, Clarence, & Co., Walker, Alonzo B., Walker, Arthur W., Walker, C. L., Ward Hill Garage, Wason, George M., Watson, F. E., Watnick, Louis, Webber Shoe Co., Webster, George H., Webster, Ira J., Co., Inc., Webster, Willard P., Weiners' Fur Store, Weinstein, Meyer, Welsh, Patrick T., Welch Press, The Wells & Hale, Wentworth, E. C, Wentworth-Swett Co., West, T. H., West, W. H., W. H. & Webster Jones Co., White, Charles D., White & Durgin, Whittier, Henry, & Son, Whittier, Henry B., Whittemore, I. B., Wiggin, Fred L., Wildes, C. M., Wilson, F. C, Co., Wilson, James W., Winchell, J. H., & Co., Inc., Winchester, H. W. Co., Wineburg, Charles, Wingate Shoe Corporation, Winn & Mitchell, Winn & Bailey, Winter, Ernest H., Witham, A. C, Art Goods, Stationer, Furniture, Metal Stamping, Plumber, Clothiers, Cigars, Die Blocks & Wood Heels, Machinery, A. E. Smith, Mgr., John C. Varney, Upholstering, Woolen Manufacturer, Groveland Woolen Mills, Groceries, Groceries & Provisions, Tailors, Innersoles, Wood Heels, Printers, Fibre Counters, Contractor, Soles, Counters, etc., With C. K. Pox Co., Shoe Contractor, Meats & Groceries, M. A. Jaffarian, Wood Heels, Real Estate & Insurance, Innersoles, Howard L. Webber, Soles & Counter Mfr., Shoe Manufacturer, Gold & Silver Leaf Stamping, Furs, The Quality Shop, Ladies' Spec. Store, Lunch Cart, Printers, Lavi^rers, Gen. Mgr. C. H. Hayes Corp., Shoe Manufacturers. Cider Manufacturer, Shoe Contractor, Storage Batteries. Architect, Garage, Grocers, Grocer, Produce, Caterer, Ice Cream, Wood Heels, Groceries, Roofer, Shoe Manufacturers, Toplifts, Innersoles, Shoe Manufacturers, Lawyers, Auto Repairing, Painter, Wood Heels, 67 Merrimack Street 168 Merrimack Street 63 Fleet Street 28 How Street 184 Merrimack Street 1 Main Street 20 Locke Street 145 Essex Street 69 Merrimack Street 64 Fleet Street 4 Windsor Street 4 Windsor Avenue 26 Lafayette Square 295 River Stret 57 White Street Vila Street 86 Washington Street 31 Washington Street 54 Wingate Street 16 King Street, Groveland 8 Phoenix Row 44 Highland Avenue 153 Essex Street 181 Washington Street Ward Hill 112 Phoenix Row 73 Merrimack Street 7 Potter Place 113 Essex Etreet 153 Essex Street Vila Street 104 Washington Street 134 Merrimack Street 102 Merrimack Street 9 Grant Street Rear 108 Merrimack Street 50 Merrimack Street 36 Granite Street 23 Locust Street 85 Millvale Road 12 Phoenix Row Auburn Street 125 Merrimack Street 81 Main Street, Brad. Dist. 69 Water Street 277 Groveland Street 189 Essex Street 6 Pleasant Street 64 Wingate Street 53 Merrimack Street 30 Pleasant Street 17 Locust Street 62 Washington Street 40-44 Granite Street 23 Locust Street 115 Merrimack Street Central Street, Brad. Dist. Rear 59 Main Street 55 Wingate Street 74 Witham, B. N., Witham, Carleton C, Witherell & Dobbins, Woo:i, Fred A., Wood, Roswell L., Wood, W. H., Sons, Wood-Dunnells Co., Woodbury, Chester T., Woodbury & McLeod, Woodcock & Shute, Woolworth, F. W., & Co., Worcester, H. D., & Co., Wright, Robert L., Wyer, B. P., & Co., Young, Frank E., Young, Lewis J., Young, M. P., Young, Charles F., Wood Heels, Contractor <& Builder, Shoe Manufacturer, Shoe Repairing, Alderman, Ice & Furniture Moving, Real Est., Soda & Mineral Waters. Attomey-at-Law, Jewelers, Restaurant, Department Store, Toplifts, Treas, Haverhill Gazette, Druggists, Soles, Taps, Willett's Restaurant, Ice Cream & Confectionery, Auto Repairing & Painting, 70 Phoenix Row Merrimac, Mass. 145 Essex Street 39 Water Street 14 Stage Street 60 Coffin Ave., & 3 Washington Sq. 71 Locust Street 191 Merrimack Street 47 Merrimack Street 8 Essex Street 74 Merrimack Street 18 Granite Street 179 Merrimack Street 49 Main Street, Brad. Dist. 62 Fleet Stret 12 Main Street 7 White Street 496 Main Street BRADFORD ACADEMY BR.\DFORD ACADEMY, PREPARATORY SCHOOL FOR Y'OUNG LADIES There is no institution in which Haverhill takes more pride, or which has reflected more credit upon the city, that the Bradford Academy. It is the oldest institution in New England for the higher education of women, and was established in 1803 by parishon- ers of the Congregational church of Bradford, and until 1836 was co-educational. In its beginning it was a local institution and intended to satisfy the demand of the little town of Bradford. Its unusual advantages early drew students from all over New England and for many decades the patronage has been national. More than 7000 students have at- tended the school, and throughout its history it has been fortunate in having on its Board of Trustees men and women of unusual capacity and devotion to the interests of Bradford. Miss Laura A. Knott, A. M., is now principal of the Academy. The mem- bers of the Board of Trustees are: Rev. Raymond Calkins, D. D., President; Her- bert W. Mason, A. B., Secretary; Lewis Kennedy Morse, A. B., Treasurer; Cornelia Warren, Rev. Charles W. Huntington, D. D., Doane Cogswell, A. M., Herbert J. Brown, A. B., George Herbert Palmer, LL. D., John Wells Morss, A. M., Mary Barstow Ward, James S. Allen, A. B., Kate Anderson Ells- worth, B. S., Florence M. Gushing, A. B., Caroline Louise Humphrey, A. B., Laura A. Knott, A. M. (ex- officio.) WHAT THE BAY STATE STREET RAILWAY MEANS TO HAVERHILL We all realize that Haverhill could not be the fine city it is if it were not for its street railway sys- tem. Haverhill is thus not only a city of manufac- turing- plants, but a city of homes. Instead of being- compelled to live in the congested quarters people are enabled to live in the outskirts where there are fresh air and sunshine and where they can cultivate their own gardens and live as men and women and children should live everywhere. Many changes have taken place in the street rail- way business since the Haverhill and Groveland Horse Railway built its first line from the Haverhill depot to Mill Street in 1877, a distance of one and one-half miles. This line was later extended to Groveland, a distance of three miles, with an equip- ment of four cars and eight horses, carrying- daily about four hundred passengers. The capital stock was only $24,000. In those days the cars cost an averag:e of about $600. Now the cost of a car is $8000. Then straw was spread on the floor of the car to keep the feet of the passengers warm. Now a most expensive electrical equipment performs that duty. In 1890 the company boasted of fourteen miles of track with an equipment of 38 cars and S.'j horses, with a capital stock of $144,000. Then came the greatest change of all. A fran- chise was issued in 1892 to operate cars with electri- city as a motive power. This was the commence- ment of the development which resulted in the pres- ent 6!) miles of track, comprising the Haverhill di- vision. Local interests were bought out in 1893 by the Lowell, Lawrence and Haverhill Street Railway Company; and in that year the tracks were extended from Chick's factory to Lawrence, where connections could be made through to Lowell, which afforded a beautiful ride along- the banks of the Merrimack River. Not wishing- that their neighbors to the west should have all the good things, the people who lived east of Haverhill demanded street railway service, so in 1895 the construction of the Haverhill, George- town & Danvers Street Railway was begun. This was extended in 1900 through to Newburyport and Ipswich via Dummer Academy. Through service from Haverhill to Newburyport was given in 1898, when the Groveland line was ex- tended through West Newbury to Newburyport Plains, connecting with the Citizens' Street Railway Company. This line g:ave connections to other lines running- to the beaches along the coast. In 1902 the Haverhill & Andover line was built from Ward Hill to Andover Square, making- possible through connections between Haverhill and Salem, Lynn and Boston. Three years later, in 190.5, all the lines which comprised the Haverhill division were consolidated under the name of the Boston and Northern Street Railway Company, which, in 1911 was consolidated with the Old Colony Street Railway Company under the name of the Bay State Street Railway Company. The company maintains a beautiful natural grove. The Pines, in Groveland, where there are many park facilities together with an outdoor the- atre where there are performances daily during the summer season. At the present time the company operates in the City of Haverhill 26.16 miles of tracks, with an equipment of 41 open cars and 55 box cars. Also 16 snow plows which includes a large rotary plow, used to clear the tracks of ice and snow. The average number of passengers hauled daily is about 17,000. The local offices of this company are situated in the same building as those of the original company in 1877. Of course, the history of a company is interest- ing but its ideals are even more interesting. Of spe- cial importance to the citizens of Haverhill and vicinity are the ideals of the management of the Bay State Street Railway Company. The only right this company asks is the right to be useful in the most efficient way. It realizes the scientific truth of the statement "He profits most who serves best." The Bay State Street Railway Company, there- fore, desires to give such service to the people of Haverhill that they will be enabled to build a city that is even greater than the Haverhill that exists today. In building such a city transportation is one of the greatest essentials. To furnish satisfactory transportation at a reas- onable cost and to win and hold the friendship and co-operation of the citizen is the ideal of the present management of the Bay State Street Railway Com- pany. 7a THE PICTURESQUE PAST AND THE PRACTICAL PRESENT IN SHOEMAKING No industry shows, as vividly as does the shoe industry, the contrast of a picturesque past and a practical present. In no industry has there been so complete a chanRe from a handicraft to a finely orRanized and co-ordinated industry where to all intents and purposes every operation is per- formed by machinery. The change was long in coming, but it came with a rush and was completed in not much more than half a century. In 18.50 the machines used in the manufacture of shoes were few in number, rudimen- tal in design and crude in output. Today there are In the hurry of things today, in the rush for re- sults, past methods and their picturesqueness are seldom thought of. Dead and gone as they may be, they served the centuries well, and deserve respect- ful recollection. And it is interesting and illuminat- ing occasionally to "think on these things" from his- torical and comparative points of view. And the stu- dent is at once amazed at the similarity of methods employed by shoemakers from the time of the Pha- raohs almost to our own day. The earlist known representation of a shoemaker at work is a painting discovered on the walls of A I'Al.NTI.NC UN THIC WALLS UF 'I-HIOIIIOS hundreds of machines, essential and auxiliary, used in making the many kinds of footwear. There are one hundred and forty distinct operations in the making of a Goodyear welt shoe, for instance, the greater number of which are performed by machinery. What a contrast, the present-day machine-made product, and the boots and shoes of our forefathers laboriously and patiently fashioned by one pair — or at best two or three pairs — of hands, with tools and aids that had changed but little throughout the cen- turies. Industrial history presents no sharper con- trast, nor completer. ancient Thebes which has withstood the wear of time since the fifteenth century before the beginning of the Christian era. These Egyptian sandal makers are seated on low stools, and their primitive imple- ments are strongly suggestive of those in use throughout the many centuries intervening before machinery so completely supplanted the handicrafts- man. An equally picturesque record conies from Greece. An ancient vase picture shows a shoemaker at his work in Athens between the years 600 and 400 B. C. The similarity of the methods of the ancient Athen- 77 ian to those of modern times is very noticeable, and taken as a whole the scene suggests in many details the shop of the New England cobbler. This shoe- maker of Athens is seated on a low stool before his work-table or bench. With his left hand he is hold- ing a piece of leather stretched over a block or board of hard wood, and with his right he is cutting the leather with a curved knife which resembles the familiar meat-chopper of the present day. On the wall hang another knife, some finished shoes, a ham- mer, and strips of leather. Another interesting vase picture presents a maid of Athens being measured for a pair of sandals or shoes about 500 B. C. She is standing on a table, so that a bearded workman, who is sitting in front of it, can mark the outline of her foot on the leather on which she is standing. In his right hand he holds his crescent, a knife with a curved blade which also mender of shoes, was guide, philosopher and friend to his neighbors, and a conscientious craftsman. His little shop was the local forum, from "the good old Colony times" until but a few decades ago. Here he sat on his leather-covered bench, a patient, pic- turesque, village institution, with few tools and no machinery, and cut and hammered and stitched hour after hour until the boot or shoe was completed. Compared with the many and intricate machines now used universally in the manufacture of footwear, the equipment to which the cobbler was restricted seems almost impossibly primitive. Yet he lived and thrived and served his day and generation well. The awl, lapstone and hammer come first to mind, and the long low bench fringed with tools, with the leath- er-bottomed seat at the left end. Important among his implements and supplies were: knives, skivers, awls and hammers; lapstone, .\ SHOEMAKER OF ANCIENT ATHENS resembles the familiar meat-chopper. An apprentice is holding a piece of leather bent together, probably destined to be used for the upper part of the shoes. Tools, lasts, strips of leather, etc., hang on the wall. Thus were ladies' shoes made in Ancient Athens! These early methods of course were varied and improved as time went on, but still the making of footwear for the divers peoples of the earth contin- ued to be a handicraft requiring laborious eff'ort, painstaking care, and much time for the production of each pair of sandals, slippers, shoes, high boots, — whatever the requirements of country or century called for — almost to the present time. And our own eager craftsmen to fashion footwear, and for years at his bench was one of the picturesque figures in our history. He is entitled to a moment's sympa- thetic consideration here. The village cobbler, the olden-time maker and shoulder stick, straps and lasts; shoe thread, wooden pegs, bristles, wax, heelball, blacking pot; head block, moulding block and mallet, skiving board, shop tub, with the old-time air-tight stove as the central figure in the little room. Thus equipped and surrounded, with an appren- tice or two at near-by benches, the village cobbler made custom boots and shoes with infinite patience and skill. He loved his work. Had you lived during the years of his supremacy, he would have drawn the outline of your foot on paper with chalk or char- coal, taken careful measurements over the instep and elsewhere, and made your footwear entirely by la- borious and time-taking hand work. So much, then, in the way of brief glimpses into the picturesque past of the art of shoemaking, the far-sung "gentle art of Saint Crispin." It was in- deed picturesque, it changed little through many cen- 78 turies, and was sufficient unto itself. But it has be- come a very dead past, and in a very few years, com- paratively. It was not until about the middle of the nine- teenth century that the beginning of a peaceful revo- lution in the manner of shoemaking dawned, a revo- lution by which machinery supplanted one of the fa- mous handicrafts of history. It is doubtful if so complete and far-reaching a change has taken place elsewhere in the realm of industry. Since then the era of machinery, speed, system, and service has triumphed, made necessary to save time, labor, and expense, and to meet the enormous increase in the demand of the wide, wide world for footwear. The efficiency of modem shoemaking in this country which has enabled the manufacturers to meet all the people, and not only to the people of this country, but to all the nations of the earth. The story of the inventors who primarily made all this possible is old, and yet ever new, and a brief summary here, even if in the nature of a repetition and familiar to many citizens of Haverhill, is not amiss. The beginning of effective shoe machineryy dates with the invention of the sewing machine in 1846 by Elias Howe, a native of Spencer, Massachusetts. About the year 1852 .lohn Brooks Nichols, a Lynn shoemaker, adapted the Howe sewing machine to sew the uppers of shoes. Using Howe's revolutionary in- vention as a basis, in 1858 Lyman R. Blake, a native of Abington, Massachusetts, invented a machine which sewed the soles of shoes to the uppers. This ^'<A^la. u&3l^.i. A MASSACHUSETTS SHOE SHOP OF 1860 the demands upon them, — unprecedented in extent in recent months — has been due to a great degree to the fact that machinery has been perfected for practical- ly every shoemaking process. Today a machine per- forms each of the early processes with great accu- racy, rapidity and economy, and many new processes. The startling growth of the shoe industry in the United States, and especially the success and pros- perity of the small shoe manufacturer, has been made possible very largely through the machinery which has been available in recent years. This standard- ization of shoe machinery has lowered the cost of manufacture, simplified the problems and facilitated the business of every manufacturer and retailer and helped to bring the best shoes within the reach of invention was financed and improved and made a commercial success in 1862 by Gordon McKay, a na- tive of Pittsfield, Massachusetts. Auguste Destouy of New York in 1862 invented a machine with a curved needle to sew turn shoes which was improved by Daniel Mills in 1869 and later still further perfected by Charles Goodyear, who in 1871 and 1875 obtained patents for machines which were the beginning of the famous Goodyear welt sys- tem of manufacturing shoes. As machine after machine appeared, however, shoe workers held to the belief that it would always be impossible to last shoes by machinery, but even this problem was solved in due time. Jan Ernest Matzeliger, living in Lynn, Massachusetts, invented 79 a hand method lasting machine in 1883, and the prin- ciple of his machine has remained during all sub- sequent improvements. Many other inventors participated in the devel- opment of shoe machinery during the last half of the last century and are entitled to their share of credit. Those here mentioned, however, show the important part which inventive genius played in developing an industry which today is one of the industrial marvels of the country, an industry which has proved itself in the last three years able to respond to a world- wide cry for help. To meet present-day demands, the up-to-date shoe factory is planned for practical results, is equipped for these results, and they are forthcoming. Picturesqueness is not thought of or desired. Stand- the manufacture of all kinds and grades of boots and shoes. So systematized and standardized has the industry become in recent years that over one million pairs of shoes are turned out in American factories each working day. And it was but yes- terday that the patient cobbler spent days in fash- ioning a pair of high boots for the village squire. Of the many machines used in this practical era, mention may be made of three, by way of illustra- tion. They are among the most important and most intricate, and emphasize the triumph of mechanical skill over the hand processes of former days. The Rex pulling-over machine, which pulls the upper of a shoe over the last, has been called the machine with human fingers, and deserves first place. Many years of effort have been devoted to its perfection .\ FLOOR IN A MODICKN .SHOE KACTOltY ardization of machines, co-ordinated departments, and factory buildings so constructed and arranged that operations and processes follow without appre- ciable loss of time or interruption of labor, these are among the leading changes in recent years. Each floor is clean, well lighted, scientifically arranged, and run to schedule. Sentiment is wholly lacking, system and precision everywhere prevail. The necessary machines and processes in the modern shoe factory vary, of course, with the class or type of shoe. And it will surprise even some of those who live in such a big shoe city as Haverhill to learn that at the Beverly factories of the United Shoe Machinery Company there are made more than five hundred and fifty different machines for use in at an expense of approximately one million dollars. The Goodyear welter, which attaches the inner sole to the upper and to the welt, and the Goodyear stitcher, which attaches the outer sole to the welt, stand high in the shoe machinery list, for to them are largely due those qualities to be found in a Goodyear welt shoe which make a shoe most dur- able, comfortable and attractive. This brief review of the march of industrial prog- ress from the hand-made to the machine-made shoe, from the cobbler's bench to the modern factory, from a picturesque past to an intensely practical present, should be full of interest to the people of Haverhill, the city which leads the country in the number of shoe factories. 80 THE HAVERHILL ELECTRIC COMPANY The Haverhill Electric Co., one of the city's most important industrial concerns, furnishes electric light, heat and power, in Haverhill, and many ad- joining towns. Since its establishment in 1888, the company has pursued a progressive policy and has given such satisfactory service that during the agi- tation for municipal ownership of public service cor- porations in Haverhill, several years ago, the pro- 1904 1917 Number of Customers, 480 5009 H. P. Capacity of Plant, 2,770 11,950 Miles of street occupied by wire, . .39.4 91.6 Miles of underground system, . . . .none 5.19 Annual Taxes, $3,473.94 $32,071.79 During this same period the maximum lighting rate has been reduced from 20c to lie per kilowatt OFFICE BUILDING OF THE H.WBRHILL ELECTRIC COMPANY position to take over the plant was put before the people and rejected by an overwhelming vote. In October, 1904, Charles H. Tenney and his as- sociates assumed the management of the Haverhill Electric Company. At that time the service was far below the present high standard, customers were few, and rates were high. The following table indi- cates what has been accomplished in ten years: hour, a reduction of 45 per cent., while the service has been extended and improved until today it stands second to none. By its low rates for electricity for light and pow- er, the company has assisted, in a constructive man- ner, the growth and progress of the city. Co-oper- ating with the Haverhill Advertising Club in 1912, Continued onj^age 82 81 MASS. NORTHEASTERN STREET RAILWAY COMPANY The Massachusetts Northeastern Street Railway Company operates, in all, 128.31 miles of single track, 82.44 being within Massachusetts and 45.87 within New Hampshire. The system extends along the northern boundary of Massachusetts and the southern boundary of New Hampshire, from Lowell on the west to Newburyport on the east, crossing the state line at nine different points and parrallel- ing in a general way the course of the Merrimack River. In Massachusetts the company operates in the cities of Haverhill, Lawrence and Newburyport, and in the towns of Amesbury, Dracut, Merrimac, Methuen, Newbury and Salisbury, its cars being carried into Lowell from a connecting point at the Lowell-Dracut line. In New Hampshire the city of Nashua and the towns of Hudson, Pelham, Salem, Plaistow, Newton and Seabrook are served. The company operates a recreation park known as Canobie Lake Park in the town of Salem, N. H., and its lines extend to Hampton and Salisbury beaches and Plum Island, affording a shore ride of approximately 14 miles. Special provisions are made for parties desiring to travel by chartered cars. Rates for this class of service may be obtained at any office of the com- pany. General Office, 50 Merrimack St., Haverhill, Mass. F. W. MEARS HEEL CO. The F. W. Mears Heel Co., manufacturers of wooden heels of every description, was established in 1907, and is now engaged in business at 18 Granite Street. The firm is one of the most important en- gaged in this business and occupies 20,000 square FRKD W. MIO.\RS. feet of floor space, and employs 135 men and women. The capacity of the Haverhill factory is 1000 dozen pairs daily. To meet the increasing demand for the company's product, a branch factory, known as the Maple Heel Co., with a capacity of 700 dozen pairs daily, has been established in Newburyport. Fred Warren Mears, founder and present head of the concern, was bom in Essex, Massachusetts, in 1880. He became a resident of Haverhill when he was 18 years of age and has since resided here. He is married and has four children. Haverhill is the trading centre of a population of over eighty-five thousand people, and the terminus of eight trolley lines. Haverhill has an area of thirty-two square miles, on both sides of the Merrimack River. THE HAVERHILL ELECTRIC CO. Continued from ^dge 8i the company planned and arranged the system of decorative street lighting with which the principal streets of Haverhill are now adorned. The office is located in the company's building, situated at the corner of How street, at 131 Merrimack street, one of the finest business structures in the city, which was opened in 1916. The plant is located at 161 Water street, and is both extensive and modern. The executives office is at 201 Devonshire street, Boston. The company's policy of expansion has resulted in extending its trade territory beyond the city lim- its to Groveland and Georgetown, and to the New Hampshire towns of Plaistow and Salem. The offi- cers of the company are: Charles H. Tenney, pres- ident; H. T. Sands, first vice-president; F. L. Ball, manager; George W. Hum, acting manager; E. A. Bradley, treasurer; H. A. Gidney, assistant treasurer and auditor; H. P. Wood, clerk; Charles H. Tenney, Howard T. Sands, H. P. Wood, Samuel A. York, H. C. Warren, Edward M. Bradley, B. E. Hilme, Ben- jamin Howe and F. S. Smith, directors. 82 The Central Ninth School, formerly the High School, Crescent Place, opposite City Hall Park. The Haverhill Fire Department is now completely motorized and is as up-to-date and effi- cient as any in the country. This picture shows only a part of the apparatus. (City Hall and First Methodist Episcopal Church in the background.) 83 WITHERELL & DOBBINS CO. EDWARD A. WITHERELL. Established October 1, 1907, Witherell & Dob- bins Co., a corporation, has become one of the lead- ing firms engaged in shoe manufacturing in Haver- hill. The business was started by George W. Dob- bins and E. A. Witherell, and in the first year of manufacturing the total business was valued at $35,000. Each succeeding year the volume of busi- ness has grown steadily, and in the year ending July 1, 1916, the volume of business reached the tremendous total of $1,200,000. The trade territory of this enterprising firm is the entire United States. The firm is located at 14.5 Essex street, in the Bur- gess cement building, and occupies the fourth, fifth and sixth floors. The business of the firm is the manufacture of welts and turns in low and high cut novelties. The firm was incorporated July 1, 1912, and the present officers are: E. A. Witherell, Presi- dent; George W. Dobbins, Treasurer; Phil English, Jr., Vice-President; Morton C. Witherell, Clerk; Napoleon Theriault, director. Edward A. Witherell, who resides at 80 Hamilton avenue, was born in Fremont, N. H., July 27, 1859, and received a high school education. He is married and has a son, Morton C, who is a member of the corporation. He is a member of the Pentucket club. George W. Dobbins, was born in Newton, N. J., August 10. 1862, and received a common school edu- cation interspersed with hard labor on the farm. He is a member of the Pentucket club and the Port- land Street Baptist church. He is married and has one son, Stanwood F. He resides at 38 Columbia park. GEORGE W. DOBBINS. BUSINESS DEMOCRACY. "Democracy," says the Special News Service of the Texas Commercial Secretaries and Business Men's Association, "is the slogan of the Young Men's Business League of Austin, Texas. It is proposed to make every man in Austin, no matter what his oc- cupation, feel that he must contribute his personal effort toward achieving the upbuilding and develop- ment of the city." The policy of development of Austin is a pretty good one, and that is why the Haverhill Chamber of Commerce has maintained the policy of no initiation fee and low dues, so that it is an organization to which every man in Haverhill, wage-earner, salaried man, business man and banker may belong. Unfor- tunately, there are several who do not yet belong, but they have the opportunity without any large financial burden. Haverhill is located on the Western Division of the Boston and Maine Railroad, thirty-three miles from Boston, with sixty trains daily. 84 H. B. CAMPBELL COMPANY MA.IuU HAKUY B. CAMPBKLL. The H. B. Campbell Co. deals in wholesale pro- duce and coal. Major Harry B. Campbell, is presi- dent and treasurer of the firm and Marshall G. Nich- ols is assistant treasurer and manager. The trade territory includes Haverhill and the surrounding towns, and the plant is located at 203 Essex street. Major Campbell, president of the firm, was born in Dexter, Me., Nov. 19, 1870. He was educated in the Dexter High school and Comer's Commercial col- lege, Boston. On April 1, 1902, he bought the busi- ness of Charles F. Meader and conducted it himself until April 1, 1916, when it was incorporated. He is a member of Saggahew lodge, A. F. & A. M., Ha- verhill lodge of Elks, Agawam club and Rotary club. He is married. He is one of the foremost military men in this section of the state, and was captain of Company F, Eighth regiment, Massachusetts Na- tional Guard, for several years, and was later elect- ed major. He accompanied the regiment to the Mexican border in 191G and when was was declared with Germany encamped at Lynnfield, Mass., and later at Westfield, where the regiment was reorgan- ized. Major Campbell being given important as- signment immediately. He is now in France with the American Expeditionary Forces. Marshall G. Nichols was boni Dec. 27, 1883, in Hartford, Conn., and was educated in the Haverhill public schools. He is married and has one son. He is a member of the Rotary club. Commercial Trav- elers and Junior Order of American Mechanics. lL.\KtiHALL G. NICHOLS. F=r.. There is a general misconception of the work of the Chamber of Commerce. The popular idea is that it should bring a new factory into the city two or three times a year. Established business concerns are not often moving from city to city, at least not the desirable ones. There are many "wild cat" schemes and stock-selling propositions in every mail that comes into the city of Haverhill. It is just as much the duty of the Secretary of the Chamber of Commerce to keep these catch-penny and semi- swindling schemes away as it is to get desirable bus- iness into the city. This work is constantly going on. In the course of a year, the Chamber keeps thous- ands of dollars in Haverhill that would otherwise be taken away in bad investments. The Chamber of Commerce is advertising Haver- hill everywhere. In the daily press, in national mag- azines, in trade papers, by special articles and de- scriptive stories, with circulars and letters, Haver- hill is being placed in the lime-light of favorable publicity. The Chamber believes that by making Ha- verhill a better place in which to live and do business more business can be attracted. 86 PERLEY LESLIE AND THE LESLIE DRY GOODS CO. PKRLEY LKSLIB Perley Leslie is a name that stands out promi- nently in Haverhill's retail business world; it is the name of the founder, president and treasurer of one of the city's greatest stores. Bom in Waterville, Me., April 5, 1858, Perley Leslie was educated at the Coburn Classical Institute, Waterville, Me. He established the dry goods business in Haverhill in 1888, at 5 Water street. As years passed and the city grew, the store flourished proportionately until it has reached its present highly successful condi- tion. Today the Leslie Dry Goods Co. occupies four floors in the building extending from 28 to 40 Merri- mack street. Mr. Leslie is president and treasurer; Charles H. Rogers is vice-president, and John R. Whittier is assistent treasurer. The store carries everything pertaining to dry goods and ready-to- wear garments for ladies, misses and children. It caters to Haverhill and to all the suburban towns and has established an enviable reputation for qual- ity and fair dealing. Despite the fact that he has, for 30 years, given the closest personal attention to the company, Mr. Leslie has also taken a prominent part in the general commercial and social develop- ment of the city. He is vice-president of the Essex National bank, a trustee of the City Five Cent Sav- ings bank, treasurer of the Haverhill Branch, Amer- ican Red Cross, a trustee of the Linwood Cemetery Corporation, a trustee of the Young Women's Chris- tian Association and president of the Board of Trus- tees of the Young Men's Christian Association. He is a 32 degree Mason, and is prominent in the order, being affiliated with Saggahew lodge, the Knights Templar, the Massachusetts Consistory, Scottish Rite. He is also a member of the Pentucket club, Redmen, Jr. O. U. A. M., Knights of Malta, and United Order of the Golden Cross. He is married. The Haverhill Chamber of Commerce is affiliated with the Essex County Associated Boards of Trade, the Massachusetts State Board of Trade, the New England Association of Commercial Executives, the Chamber of Commerce of the United States, the At- lantic Deeper Waterways Association and the Na- tional Rivers and Harbors' Congress. Delegates from the Chamber attend practically all the confer- ences of these organizations. WILLIAM H. PAGE & SON Wm. H. Page & Son, engaged in a general in- surance business, is a well-known Haverhill firm. This concern has acquired a wide reputation, not alone in Haverhill, but throughout the surrounding cities and towns. James G. Page conducts the busi- ness and the office is located at 9 Emerson Street. William H. Page was the founder of the firm, estab- lishing the business in 1881. Later the firm became Wm. H. Page & Son, and the business has been con- ducted under the same name since William H. Page's death. JAMES G. PAGE 86 HON. EDWIN HERBERT MOULTON CHAS. EMERSON & SONS Hon. Edwin Herbert Moulton is one of the most prominent men in Haverhill's civic and commercial life. He was an alderman in 1895-96 and 97, and in the last year became mayor, and served in that of- fice until 1898. He then became a member of the Haverhill Water board, serving until 1909, and, in the meantime, also served as a member of the com- mission directing the work of building the new high schooll. In 1909, after the commission form of gov- ernment had been adopted, he was again selected as mayor and served for three terms, six consecu- tive years. He was born in Haverhill, Sept. 19, 1860, and was educated in the Haverhill public schools. Chas. Emerson & Sons is one of Haverhill's his- torical business houses, as it has been established over half a century. It was founded September 1, 1866, and deals in fine china and glass, retailing fine imported and domestic wares. The trade territory of the firm extends throughout New England. It is one of Haverhill's oldest retail establishments, and is the only china store of its kind in this section of the country, being considered the leading china shop of New England. The store is located at 38 Main Street. William Wells Emerson, who is head of the concern, was bom in Haverhill, March 9, 1872, and was educated in the Haverhill public schools. He KDWIN HERBERT MOULTON WILLIAM WELL.S EMERSON He is a member of the Pentucket club. Knights of Pythias, Saggahew lodge of Masons, Elks, Moose, and Rotary club. He is president of the Morris Plan Co., in Haverhill, and a director of the Haverhill National bank. His wife is Anna Belle Moulton, and he has two children. Miss G. Pauline, and Edwin L. He is the treasurer of the Edwin H. Moulton Co., the city's most important wholesale provision house. The plant is located at 132 Essex street, and the firm deals in beef, pork, lamb, butter, eggs, cheese, can- ned goods, and produce of all kinds. The trade ter- ritory is Haverhill and the surrounding towns. The firm was incorporated in 1909 when Elwin A. Edger- ly was chasen president. has been prominent in civic aff'airs and has been president of the Haverhill Chamber of Commerce. He is married, his wife before her marriage being Martha C. Emerson. They have one child, Ruth L. The Traffic Bureau of the Haverhill Chamber of Commerce is a member of the National Industrial Traffic League, an organization concerned with the traffic interests of shippers and receivers, recognized officially as such by the Interstate Commerce Com- mission, and comprising in its membership a great many of the chambers of commerce and of the lead- ing industrial corporations throughout the country. By this affiliation the Chamber gets the benefit of organized effort. 87 THE HAVERHILL MILLING COMPANY Few men in Haverhill have lived lives of wider activity than Charles C. Chase, president of the Ha- verhill Chamber of Commerce. A native of Haver- hill, and an alumnus of the Haverhill public schools, every chapter of his life story is laid in the city. His family is one of the oldest that the city boasts of, and it has been prominently connected with Ha- verhill, almost from the settlement of the village of Pentucket. For generations, the Chases have been leaders in the commercial life of Haverhill, and Charles C. Chase has admirably maintained the best family traditions. His election to the presidency of the Chamber of Commerce was a recognition of his personal achievements. Equipped with a remark- able business instinct, he has alslo acquired an un- equalled reputation for fairness, generosity and pub- lic spirit. He has been a leader in all the recent important movements for civic betterment. Lending the in- fluence of his commercial connections, he was one of the most potent forces in the campaign of the Ha- verhill Advertising club to secure the modern street lights for the city. He has been a consistent worker for river development. He has aided in building the city also, for he gathered a group of associates about him and erected the Wingate Associate factory, that modern equipment might be available for new manu- facturing concerns. He was born in Haverhill, May 11, 1871. He is a director of the Haverhill Trust Co., treasurer and manager of the Haverhill Milling Co., a member of various Masonic bodies, Haverhill lodge of Elks, Pen- tucket club, Rotary club and Wachusett club. He is married and has one son. The Haverhill Milling Co., which is given the benefit of his personal supervision, conducts a coal, grain, feed, poultry supplies, hay and straw retail business at 170 to 190 Essex street. Its trade terri- tory extends from Haverhill and its environs, to southern New Hampshire and Western Maine. The company possesses the finest facilities for unloading CHARLES C. CHASE, Real Estate. President Haverhill Milling Co. coal and grain in large quantities. The officers of the company, in addition to Mr. Chase, are: George W. Lennox, president, and Jessie Bourneuf, director. The Traffic Bureau of the Haverhill Chamber of Commerce has made a good start. Seventy-eight out of 103 subscribers have used it, to a greater or less extent, and expressions of satisfaction have come from quite a few of those who have taken the trouble to learn what the Bureau can do. The only important difficulty is that more do not seek the aid of the Bureau; and yet this is being overcome grad- ually. The manager's practice is to make routine calls upon subscribers, especially upon those from whom he hears the least, for the purpose of arousing interest and securing patronage. MILL. \V.\REHOUSES .A.ND COAL POCKETS OK THIO HAVERHILL MILLING COMPANT, ESSEX STREET The traffic manager, in his official capacity, is a member of the Traffic Club of New England; also a member of the Boston Association of Railroad and Steamboat Agents, a similar organization but more restricted as to membership. 88 GEORGE B, LEAVITT GEORGE B. LEAVITT & GOMPANY George B. Leavitt & Co., manufacturers of shoes, is a partnership consisting of John C. Leary and George B. Leavitt. This firm has been established 18 years, and has steadily progressed until it is now one of the leading Haverhill shoe companies. The factory of the concern is located at 12 Duncan Street, and the firm manufactures women's McKay shoes. Both members of the firm are life-long citizens of Haverhill, and by close application to business, and ability both as manufacturers and salesmen, have succeeded in developing their concern until it now possesses a prominent place in the shoe industry. Both Mr. Leary and Mr. Leavitt are married, and the former has a daughter. Birthplace of John Greenleaf Whittier, the Quaker Poet, at East Haverhill. Preserved by the John G. Whittier Association and open daily to the public. 89 KELLY BROTHERS, CONTRACTORS AND BUILDERS Foremost among Haverhill builders and contrac- tors is the firm of Kelly Bros., the members of which are George L. A. Kelly and Charles N. Kelly. The firm was established in 1 880 and since that time has done business in Haverhill. Early in its history the firm established a reputation of ability and effi- ciency, and throughout its life has retained it. Not alone in Haverhill, where the majority of the im- portant buildings has been directed by the concern, but throughout this section of the country, there has been a steady and increasing patronage. In addition to their business as contractors the firm is also en- gaged in the manufacture of bricks and has success- fully conducted this enterprise, thereby retaining an industry which has been for generations one of the many important businesses in Haverhill. At pres- ent, the firm is located at 30 Pleasant Street. Charles N. Kelly was born in Salem, N. H., July 24, 1854, and received a common school education. He has been prominent in public life in Haverhill, having served as a member of the common council, board of aldermen, and as a water commissioner. He is a member of all the local Masonic orders, and the Pentucket and Rotary clubs. He is married and has five children. CHARLES N. KELLY, Pre.sident Haverhill Chambei" of Commerce, I'JIS FIRST UNIVERS.'VLIST (.'HURt'H, KENOZ.\ AVENUE 90 CHARLES KILBURN FOX CHARLES KILBURN FOX Charles Kilbum Fox, who died July 31st, 1912, was recognized as one of Haverhill's leading citizens and business men. His career as a shoe manufactur- er, marked by the organization and development of one of the city's largest firms, was proof of the ex- ceptional ability which he possessed. But he also became widely known because of his philanthropy and welfare work. He led the way in bridging the gap between employer and employe and inaugurated several movements which brought workman and manufacturer into closer communion. Industrial in- surance for his workers, get-together dinners and summer outings when he and his humblest worker met on an equal basis, were some of the splendid movements he originated, each of which had a per- manent effect on industrial conditions in Haverhill. He was born January 2.5, 1851, in Roxbury, Maine, and in his early life, was a printer. Later he be- came interested in the manufacture of shoes an;l continued in this business until his death. Although he, himself, had no inclination to assume public office, he assented to the request of the municipal authori- ties when the new high school was being erected and acted as a member of the building commission. He also worked zealously for efficient municipal service. He was a Mason, a member of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Co. of Massachusetts, a di- rector of the Merchants Bank, a trustee of the Ha- verhill Five Cent Savings Bank, and a trustee of the General Insurance Guaranty Fund of Massachusetts. He left a wife and one daughter. The Haverhill Board of Trade urged the commis- sion form of government and helped make Haverhill the first city in the East to adopt this plan of gov- ernment where it has worked out with great success. WARREN EMERSON Warren Emerson, who played an important part in the commercial growth of Haverhill, was born December 27, 1853, in Salem, N. H., and died in Ha- verhill, May 1, 1913. He was educated in the Salem public schools and at Pinkerton Academy, Derry, N. H. He founded the clothing house of Warren Emer- son, which, for years, was one of the principal retail businesses in the city. His business ability and acumen were widely recognized and he was made president of the Essex National Bank. The wisdom and strength of his financial policies was reflected in the growth and extension of the bank under his direction. He aspired to no public office during his lifetime, being content with his close attention to his varied business enterprises, all of which were very successful. He was identified with the Knights Templar, the Merrimack lodge of Masons, which he joined in 1881, Eagle Encampment, I. O. O. F., the Knights of Pythias and Pentucket club. He was married and his widow survives. W.^RREN EMERSON 91 WILLIAM J. PORELL IDEAL VOGUE SHOE CO. Today the Ideal Vogue Shoe Co. is one of the leading- firms of Haverhill's boot and shoe world. The progress of the concern is remarkable because it was established only on January 1, 1917. The firm manufactures women's welt shoes, and the offi- cers of the corporation are: — President — Percy C. Griest. Vice-president — William J. Porell. Treasurer — John J. Sullivan. The factory is located at 115 Essex Street, and the goods manufactured by the firm are sold in ev- ery state of the union. William J. Porell, the vice- president, is also manager of the company's factory. He was born in Island Pond, Vermont, February 1, 1868. He is married and has two sons. THE BLAKE-CURTIS COMPANY Formed 14 years ago, when a team and a single man were employed, the Blake-Curtis Company, a Massachusetts corporation, dealing exclusively in wholesale groceries and supplies, has become one of the leading businesses of Haverhill, with an annual trade valued at over a million dollars, and requiring the employment of six salesmen to look after the ex- tensive trade territory which reaches to Rochester, N. H., on the north, Lawrence on the west, Amesbury and Newburyport on the east, and Danvers on the south. Joseph Irving Curtis is president of the cor- poration and treasurer. The directors are Herbert A. Curtis, Herbert Atwood, Frederick E. Hurd, Jos- eph I. Curtis and George F. Carleton. The head- quarters of the company is located at 262 Winter street, and the firm deals in a complete line of groc- eries and specialties; flour, sugar, beans, cheese, etc. Joseph I. Curtis, the president and treasurer, was born in Norwell, Mass., June 14, 1875. He was grad- uated from the Abington High school and Record & Bradford's Commercial school. He is a trustee of the Pentucket Savings Bank, Universalist church so- ciety, and Haverhill Boys' Club; a director of the Haverhill Chamber of Commerce and the Athletic F'ield Association; and a member of the Universalist .society, Pentucket club, Saggahew lodge of Masons, Commercial Travelers, Knights of the Ancient Es- senic Order, and the Universalist Men's club. Lillian Maud Curtis is his wife, and his daughters are the Misses Doris and Ruth Curtis. The Haverhill Chamber of Commerce has worked unremittingly for the Merrimack river improvement with the Merrimack Valley Waterway Board and the Federal Government officials. The Board has col- lected statistics, tabulated facts and disseminated in- formation to further the development. When the boat line ran in 1902, the Boston and Maine reduced their rates from two to four cents per hundred weight. Developed for navigation, the river will ma- terially promote the growth and advancement of the communities along its banks. JOSEPH IRVING CURTIS 92 THE RUDDOCK SHOE COMPANY AL'.S'I'IX K. UL'DUOl'lv The Ruddock Shoe Co., located in the Burgess Buildinff at 143 Essex street, was incorporated in 1909, and the present officers are: Arthur W. Bra;l- ley, president; Henry S. Bouve, vice-president, and Austin E. Ruddock, treasurer. The firm manufac- tures women's McKay specialties for the jobbing trade. Arthur W. Bradley, president of the firm, was born July 23, 1877, in Lynn. He attended the public schools in Bradford. He married Elizabeth W. Judge in 1903, and has two children, son and daughter, Arthur Gerhard and Kathleen Elizabeth. Austin Edwards Ruddock, treasurer of the corpora- tion, was born in West Newbury, October 7, 1863, and was educated in the Haverhill public schools, having graduated from the Haverhill High school in 1882. He started in business with his father, the late Thomas S. Ruddock, in 1884, as T. S. Ruddock & Son, and the firm name was continued after his father's death in 1898 until 1909 when the Ruddock Shoe Co. was incorporated. The name of Ruddock has been associated with the shoe industry in this section since 1875, when the late Thomas S. Ruddock started the manufacture of shoes in West Newbury. Austin E. Ruddock is a member of the Pentucket club, and the Boston City club. He married Miss Claretta Webster in 1888. and has two daughters, Katherine and Dorothy W. SIX REASONS WHY THE CHAMBER OF COMMERCE SHOULD BE SUPPORTED. FIRST: Because the Chamber of Commerce has worked, is working and will work to forward the manufacturing, mercantile, professional and finan- cial interests of Haverhill. SECOND: Because every live city has a Cham- ber of Commerce, which is doing the work in behalf of all the citizens, which our organization is endeav- oring to do in Haverhill. THIRD: Because the Chamber of Commerce is representative of all our citizens — of all classes of the community banded together for mutual protec- tion and benefit. FOURTH: Because the Chamber of Commerce is a non-partisan, non-political, non-sectarian organ- ization which is not interested in anyone's race, re- ligion or politics, but asks co-operation in the inter- ests of a bigger, brighter and busier Haverhill. FIFTH: Because every city needs an organiza- tion which can express the best thought of the com- munity on any given public question before the prop- er authorities with the prestige which all live organ- izations have over individual effort. SIXTH: Because the Chamber of Commerce without cordial support can do very little for Haver- hill; but with the co-operation of its members and friends there is nothing within reason which can- not be done for this city. ARTHUR W. BRADLEY 93 HIKAM K. Pl;i:SC(]-l- I B. F. LEIGHTON COMPANY B. F. Leighton & Co. is one of the important produce firms of the city. Hiram E. Prescott is the sole owner. The firm was established in 1876, and is located on Batchelder's court. The business is that of wholesale groceries and a general line of groceries is carried. The firm because of its repu- tation is known as "The Quality House." Eastern Massachusetts and southern New Hampshire is the trade territory. Some of the leading specialties car- ried are Comer Stone Flour, Silver Spray Flour, Green Mountain brand canned goods, Clicquot Club beverages and private label teas and coffees. Hiram E. Prescott, the owner, was born in Ken- sington, N. H., January 24, 1867. He attended the public schools in Kensington, Exeter academy and Comers' Commercial college, Boston. He is a mem- ber of the First Universalist church Men's club, Merrimack lodge of Masons, Pentucket lodge. Royal Arch Masons, Haverhill lodge of Elks, Haverhill Ro- tary club and Pentucket club. He is married and has four children, two daughters, Pauline and Elea- nor; and two sons, Percy L., and Clarence D., who are connected with B. F. Leighton & Co. THE GOODELL AGENCY George Willard Martin, owner and manager of The Goodell Agency, the city's oldest insurance agency, has had an interesting and versatile career. He was born in North Stonington, Conn., Jan. 17, 1863 and was educated in the public schools in Rhode Island cities. In 1878, when he was 15 years of age, he became a clerk in a drug store. In the following year, he took a similar position in a sta- tionery store and when another year had passed, ac- cepted a clerkship in a dry goods store. It was only after 13 years had passed that he began his life work, accepting his first position in the insurance business, in 1893. Having had so wide an experience in various lines of business, he was able to apply himself with unusual diligence to his new profession with the result that he succeeded the owner in 1905. He has continued as manager and owner of The Goodell Agency and his success has been proved. He has been president of the Haverhill Board of Un- derwriters and is a member of the Pentucket club and the Haverhill Rotary club. The Goodell Agency writes insurance of every description and has an extensive clientele in Haver- hill and vicinity. It was established in 1852 and the present office is at 128 Merrimack street. When or- ganized, the office territory extended from Lawrence to Newburyport, with offices in Lawrence and Ha- verhill. In the great Haverhill fire in 1882, this agency paid out over $750,000. It represents the oldest and strongest companies and stands for relia- bility and service. Haverhill has the largest number of individual home-owners, pro rata of population, of any city in the country, — proving stability and permanent growth. GEOHGl;; \V1LL.\KD MARTIN 94 F. N. ARCHIBALD COMPANY FKEELON N. ARCHIBALD F. N. Archibald Co., is a IMassachusetts corpora- tion, located at 60 Phoenix row, and ensjag'ed in the manufacture of cut soles. It was incorporated in June, 1915. The officers are: Freelon N. Archibald, presi- dent and treasurer; George H. Marquette, vice- president and manager, and Wallace Archibald, sec- retary. Freelon N. Archibald, the president of the corporation, was born in Poland, Me., December 2, 1854, and received a common school education. In 1902 and 1903, he served as alderman in Haverhill, being president of the board in the latter year. He came to Haverhill in 1879 and engaged in business, and his progress since has been steady and uninter- rupted. He is married and has two sons. George Henry Marquette, vice-president and manager of the company, was born in Haverhill, March 10, 1883, and was educated in the Haverhill grammar schools. Before becoming identified with the Archibald company, he was with C. W. Arnold & Co., as salesman, for 13 years. He is married and has one child, and is a Mason, and a member of the Agawam club and United Commercial Travelers. A MONUMENT TO CIVIC ENTERPRISE— THE HIGH SCHOOL STADIUM. HAVERHILL has the best high school stad- ium east of the Mississippi River. It came into being through the enterprise of a group of Haverhill citizens and was made possible by the generosity of the Haverhill public. Embracing 10 acres all graded, with four and one-half acres en- closed with an eight-foot concrete fence and includ- ing separate gridiron, baseball diamond and running track, the Stadium situated on Lincoln Avenue, just out of the heart of the city cost about $26,000. An immense stand, erected of wood on cement founda- tion and posts, accommodates 4500 people and there are temporary stands used for either baseball or football. Shower baths and complete plumbing facilities are placed beneath the big stand and outside the en- closure there is ample room for the parking of auto- mobiles. The Stadium, or Playstead, was built in 1916 and Dartmouth and Georgetown clashed there in October, being the first college football contest ever staged in Haverhill, Georgetown winning 10-0. The field is held by an association of business men and any profits from athletics at the High School are turned in to reduce the debt. Edwin A. Sheri- dan is president of the Haverhill High School Ath- letic Field Association which controls the Stadium. All college men and others who have seen the field proclaim it the most modern of its kind and particularly well equipped for its size. Haverhill leads the world in the manufacture of low cut shoes, and stands third in the country in the value of manufactured boots and shoes, turned, Mc- Kay and welts. GEORGE HENRY MARQUETTE 95 THE HAVERHILL NATIONAL BANK The Haverhill National Bank, the city's third oldest banking institution, was granted its original charter in 1836. The first location was on Main street, just above the present entrance to the dis- trict court. Some years later it removed to 83 Merrimack street and in 1883 occupied the quarters in the Masonic building at 117 Merrimack street. By 1913 the location became too small to accom- modate the rapidly growing business of the bank and the property at the corner of Merrimack and Emerson streets was purchased. Here the bank Under the presidency of the late John E. Gale, the bank had a steady growth in the deposit line and surplus and profits. With the leadership of Henry H. Oilman, who was associated with Mr. Gale for many years as vice-president, there is certain to be continued progress and prosperity. Mr. Gilman has associated with him as vice- presidents, N. Woodburn Nichols and Herman E. Lewis. Benjamin I. Page is cashier, and Otis E. Little assistant cashier. The board of directors is: Hazen B. Goodrich, Henry H. Gilman, Herbert HAVERHILL NATIONAL BANK BUILDING erected the present handsome seven-story fireproof building, furnishing splendid modern offices. The new banking quarters were opened for busi- ness in June, 1915, providing thoroughly up-to-date facilities for all possible demands. August 5, 1916, the Haverhill National bank purchased the business and good will of the Mer- chants National bank, and the combined institutions opened for business August 7. This gave the Ha- verhill National a commanding position among the banks of the city. E. Gale, Edwin H. Moulton, N. Woodburn Nichols, Charles N. Kelly, John A. Towle, Charles A. Mc- Gregor, George C. Wadleigh, Herman E. Lewis, Charles W. Eaton, Nicholas C. Johnson, Ransom C. Pingree, Moses H. Dow, Charles L. Stevens, Lament H. Chick, Dennis T. Kennedy, Charles P. Sumner, Fred D. McGregor, William P. McLaughlin, George W. Dobbins and Charles Howard Poor. The capital of the bank is $200,000, surplus and profits over $400,000 and aggregate deposits $3,200,000. 96 FACTORY CHARLES K. FOX, Inc. Charles K. Fox, Inc., one of Haverhill's most prominent shoe manufacturing concerns, established 35 years ago by the late Charles K. Fox, and incor- porated in 1910, occupies one of the city's largest factory buildings, situated at 35 Duncan Street. Mr. Fox made for himself an enviable reputation, both as a broadminded employer of labor and successful manufacturer. Fox Footery is America's premier line of pumps and slippers and has a nation-wide reputation. It has won its laurels because it cleverly combines fashions with quality. It sells to an enormous num- mer of most discriminating women of this and other countries. The Fox factories have the largest output of any firm in the world making exclusively ladies' turn sole, low cut shoes and trade territory extends to practically every market in the world. The officers of the corporation are: — President — Lamont H. Chick. Treasurer — L. H. Downs. Directors — Lamont H. Chick, L. H. Downs, John H. Kelso, A. B. Walker, and Charles D. Howard. OF CHARLES K. FOX, INC. Mr. Grover is identified with the Masonic orders, the Rotary club and Pentucket club. He has been president of the Chamber of Commerce during the period of its expansion, and it was largely due to his initiative that the organization adopted the pro- CHARLES H. GROVER Charles H. Grover has been for many years prom- inently identified with the retail business activities of Haverhill. He is president and treasurer of Chas. H. Grover, Inc., dealing in men's retail cloth- ing, furnishings and hats. The place of business is a modem store at 85 Merrimack street. The firm was incorporated in 1907, and has done a flourishing business since, dealing in high grade standard wearables for men and young men. CH.^RLES H. GROVER gressive policies through which it became so great a force for the betterment of the city. He is chairman of the important retail section of the Chamber and one of its directors at the present time. 97 THE FIRST NATIONAL BANK The First National Bank was organized as a state bank on July 25, 1849, under the name of the Union Bank and continued business until June 17, 1864, at the time of the Civil War, when the National Bank Act was passed by Congress and the bank de- cided to enter the National Banking System, being the first bank in Haverhill to join the system. by the great fire of 1882, but was immediately re- built. In 1914 the bank purchased the premises at Nos. 73 to 79 Washington street, where the present beautiful and commodious quarters were provided and a bank vault constructed which is the largest and strongest in this section. g fps 11 ■III III -*m^ ' "• ■ "m' FIRST NATIONAL, BANK BUILDING, 73-79 WASHINGTON STREET The bank was, in its early days, located at No. 94 Merrimack street about opposite what is now Pecker street. In 1880, as the firms engaged in the shoe manufacturing industry were moving west- ward to Washington street, the First National, which was closely identified with the shoe and leath- er business, purchased land at No. 46 Washington street and built a new building. This was destroyed The First National has ample resources and an enviable reputation for reliability and liberality. The present oflicers are Charles E. Dole, Presi- dent; George F. Carleton, Vice-President, and Fred H. Harriman, Cashier. Directors. — William E. Bixby, George F. Carle- ton, Otis J. Carleton, Charles E. Dole, Sylvanus P. Gardner, Fred H. Harriman, John A. Lynch, S. Bur- 98 ton McNamara, Austin H. Perry, William A. Rugg, William W. Spaulding, Arthur H. Wentworth, Ed- ward A. Witherell. Growth of Deposits. 1904 $368,000 1907 658,000 1910 1,274,000 1914 1,755,000 1917, 2,875,000 1918 3,410,000 ROBERT A. JORDAN The career of Robert Anson Jordan, attorney, city planner and authority on Colonial antiques, is linked to both Boston and Haverhill. He has been a member of the Boston municipal government and he has held important offices in Haverhill, being at ROBERT A. JORDAN present chairman of the Haverhill Planning Board. Born in Boston, August 31, 1871, he was educated in the Boston English High school, Roxbury Latin school, Harvard college, from which he graduated in 1892, with an A. B. degree, and Boston University, where he was given a B. L. degree in 1894. He is actively engaged in the practice of law with offices at 60 State street, Boston, is a director of the Essex National Bank, Haverhill, and one of the city's larg- est real estate holders. From 1893 to 1899, he was a member of the Republican City Committee of Boston, and was an alderman in that city from 1899 to 1901. He is a member of the Boston Harvard club, the Boston Press club. Island club, Agawam club, Wachusett club. Royal Arcanum, Washington lodge and Mt. Vernon chapter, A. F. & A. M. In 1897 and 1898 he was on Gen. Thomas R. Mathews' Staff of the First Brigade. His wife was Edith Myra Taylor, daughter of ex- Mayor Oliver Taylor. They were married October 6, 1896. There are three children, Mary Elizabeth Jordan Forsyth, born October 24, 1897; Dorothy Jordan, bom October 17, 1901, and Robert Anson Jordan, Jr., bom May 10, 1904. Mr. Jordan is exceedingly interested in municipal advancement. By birth, association and training he is closely acquainted with New England ideals and his career in Haverhill has exemplified them. His residence is the famous Saltonstall house, one of the country's perfect Colonial mansions, and his collec- tion of New England antiques is one of the most interesting and complete of private collections. MOSES H. DOW Moses H. Dow conducts one of the most important establishments in the Haverhill shoe district, deal- ing in shoe goods, linings, satins, velvets, galoons and every other accessory of the shoe industry. The business was established 35 years ago by H. I. Pink- ham, and for eighteen years Mr. Dow was a partner in the business. At the death of Mr. Pinkham, Mr. Dow purchased the interest of the estate of Mr. Pinkham and continued the business in his own name. The firm is located at 81 to 87 Washington Street, and deals with all the European nations, with the exception of the Central Powers, with South America and Australia, and with all the American markets. Moses H. Dow is a prominent Haverhill citizen, and was bom in Hampstead, N. H., in 1861. GROVELAND CO-OPERATIVE BANK The Groveland Co-operative Bank, which con- ducts a strictly co-operative banking business, was established in November, 1895, and is located in the George building, in Groveland, and also at 111 Mer- rimack street, in Haverhill. The trade territory of the bank is Haverhill and Groveland. The current rate of interest paid to shareholders is five and a half per cent, per annum. Five dollars deposited in this bank each month for twelve years, making a total deposit of $720, accumulates interest, at the present rate, so that at the end of the period, the depositor can withdraw from the bank $1007. The officers of the bank are: President, E. H. Par- ker; vice-president, William T. Pike; treasurer, George Mitchell. Directors: E. H. George, S. B. George, John Ma- gee, Allen G. Twombly, Edward McCormick, Walter H. Spofford, Edward L. Sides, Harry W. Vaughan, Albert H. Amazeen and George Mitchell. 99 HAVERHILL TRUST CO. The Haverhill Trust Co. with assets of almost three millions of dollars, is one of the city's promi- nent banking institutions. It was established May 14, 1891. The bank occupies its own building at 163 Merrimack Street, and has recently remodelled the banking rooms to furnish adequate facilities for its increasing business. George W. Lennox is presi- dent; Lewis H. Giles is vice-president and treasurer, and Irving L. Keith is a vice-president. The direc- tors are: — Albert B. Blaisdell, Lawrence Callaghan, Charles C. Chase, Lester A. Colby, George H. Dole, W. Eugene Ellis, Lewis H. Giles, Milton A. Gilpin, Daniel C. Hunt, Irving L. Keith, David R. Knipe, George W. Lennox, George Nichols, 2nd, Edson W. Noyes, D. S. Frank Page, Austin E. Ruddock, John W. Russ, John J. Ryan, Arthur R. St. Onge, Fred J. Thompson and Robert L. Wright. The report of the condition of the company at the close of business October 1, 1918, was as follows: — Assets. Loans $2,225,630.85 Stocks and Bonds 261,445.26 Due from Banks and Cash 497,276.36 Banking House and Fix- tures 68,110.54 Other Assets 1,666.09 $3,054,129.10 Liabilities. Capital Stock $200,000.00 Surplus 40,000.00 Undivided Profits 83,950.15 Deposits 2,729,649.39 Other Liabilities 529.56 $3,054,129.10 THE FIRST PARISH (UNITARIAN) CHURCH, CORNER MAIN AND NEWELL STREETS. CENTRAL NINTH SCHOOL IN THE BACKGROUND. 100 ARTHUR R. ST. ONGE Pew citizens of Haverhill have had a career bet- ter illustrating the opportunities awaiting the wide- awake young man than Arthur R. St. Onge, who, five years after entering business, is a member of the ARTHUR R. ST. ONGE Board of Parli Commissioners, director of two banks, and one of the leading clothiers of the city. He was born in Haverhill, July 23, 1875, and was educated in the Haverhill public schools. He has a wife and four children, Victor A., aged 13; Lucien R., aged 11; Al- cide R., aged eight, and Hubert J., aged eight months. The Clever Clothes Shop, of which he is the sole owner, is one of Haverhill's busiest men's stores, situated at 25 Essex street. It was established in a small way, in 1907, and has since enjoyed a healthy growth, specializing in Sherman- Welton-Steefel, Strauss & Connor's "Clever Clothes," and Hick- ey-Freeman's celebrated lines. The novel motto of the store has been "We Want Your Business," and in pursuance of this policy, the establishment has built up a remarkably fine trade. Very recently the store had installed the latest models of fixtures and show cases. Mr. St. Onge is a member of Haverhill lodge, 165, B. P. 0. E.; Haverhill council, K. of C; St. Jean Baptiste society, L'Orpheon club, of which he is treasurer; Haverhill Boys' club, Rochambeau club, Court Napoleon I, Foresters of America, Haverhill lodge, 848, L. O. O. M.; Court St. Joseph, 953, Cath- olic Order of Foresters; Les Patriotes Independents, and the Haverhill Rotary club. He is a director of the Haverhill Trust Co., Haverhill Mor; is Plan Bank and Haverhill Chamber of Commerce. JOHN H. SAYWARD Perhaps none of Haverhill's business men is more widely known than John H. Sayward, creator of the famous slogan, "Do It Now," and one of New Eng- land's most prominent figures in the hardware trade. Born July 23, 1868, in Center Harbor, N. H., he was educated at the New Hampton, N. H., Business Col- lege. In December, 1882, his businss career began and since that time has been a continued success. He conducts a retail hardware, cutlery, paint, varnish and fishing tackle establishment in Haverhill, is one of the largest stockholders in the Atlantic Coast Hardware Co. of Boston. His place in the business world is attested by the fact that he is a past presi- dent and chairman of the advisory board of the New England Retail Hardware Dealers' Association, a trustee of the Pentucket Savings Bank, a director of the Haverhill Co-operative Bank, Haverhill Morris Plan Bank and Atlantic Coast Hardware Co., of Bos- ton; a member of the National Retail Hardware Dealers' Association, Boston Chamber of Commerce, and Massachusetts State Board of Trade. His so- cial life is as wide, for he is a member of Saggehew lodge, Haverhill council and Pentucket chapter, Ma- sonic bodies; Haverhill commandery. Knight Tem- plars; Allepo Temple, Mystic Shrine; Merrimack Valley lodge of Perfection, Palestine lodge, K. of P.; Rathbone temple, P. S.; John G. Whittier council. .TOHN H. SAYWARD Royal Arcanum; Burtt lodge, 53, A. O. U. W.; A. O. U. W. Benefit Association, Haverhill Chamber of Commerce, Pentucket club and Haverhill Rotary club. 101 PENTUCKET SAVINGS BANK The Pentucket Savings Bank, another of Haver- hill's savings institutions, was incorporated in 1891. PENTUCKET SAVINGS BANK The bank is located at 42 Washington street. On February 1, 1917, the total assets of the bank were: $2,455,134.55. Deposits from $1 to $1000 are re- ceived daily at the bank and are put upon interest on the first day of February, May, August and No- vember. The bank allows deposits to accumulate to $2000 by addition of dividends. Dividends are com- puted February 1 and August 1, upon sums then on deposit and which have been on deposit for three or six months preceding. Money may be withdravra on any business day. The banking hours are from 9 to 2 o'clock, on each business day except Saturday, when the hours are from 9 to 12.30 o'clock. The officers of the bank for 1917 are: President, Joseph W. Vittum; vice-presidents, George H. Carleton, Daniel C. Hunt. Trustees, George F. Carleton, George H. Carle- ton, Willard G. Cogswell, Joseph I. Curtis, George W. Dobbins, Arthur F. Durgin, Daniel G. Fox, James W. Harris, Daniel C. Hunt, Nicholas C. Johnson, J. Frank Nichols, Fred W. Peabody, John H. Sayward, Irving F. Sleeper, Joseph W. Vittum. Board of investment: George F. Carleton, James W. Harris, Daniel C. Hunt, Joseph W. Vittum. Auditors: Willard G. Cogswell, Daniel C. Hunt, Daniel G. Fox. Treasurer: Henry B. George. Teller: H. Ivan Hall. FAC'L-ul:\ UF THE HAVERHTLL lUULDING ASSOCIATION, WALNTTT ST., WHICH STARTED THE BUILDING BOOM IN HAVERHILL. THE HAVERHILL BOARD OF TRADE WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS FINE BUILDING, THE FIRST OF THE MODERN SHOE FACTORIES TO BE BUILT HERE. 102 WILLIAM EDWARD HOW William Edward How is a native of Haverhill, and was born January 10, 1858. He was educated in the Haverhill common and high schools, and was graduated from Amherst college, in the class of stationery, also handling specialties in cutlery, fancy leather goods, fountain pens, typewriters and type- writer suplies, filing cabinets and loose leaf books. WILLIAM E. HOW 1881. He is a stationer on Washington square, where he conducts a model store. He was the first secretary of the Haverhill Board of Trade, and when the Haverhill Advertising club was formed he was elected as its first president. This organization in- itiated the campaign for the new White Way and succeeded in raising the major portion of the sub- scription. Later, the Haverhill Rotary club was formed, largely through Mr. How's efforts, and he was named as its first president. In this manner he has been one of the first principal officers in every association formed in Haverhill to stimulate indus- try and civics. Before becoming engaged in the business of stationer, he was a newspaper worker and was editor of the Haverhill Daily Bulletin, the Lowell Daily Times, the Syracuse, N. Y., Daily Her- ald. He was a charter member of Haverhill lodge, 165, B. P. O. E.; and a charter member of the Wa- chsett club. He is a Mason, a member of the U. O. G. C, and a director of the Haverhill Chamber of Commerce. Mr. How is the sole owner of the stationery firm in which he is interested. In 1897, he succeeded the old firm of C. C. Morse & Son, which had been in business 29 years. The store is located at 27 Wash- ington square, and deals in social and commercial HON. WILLIAM H. MOODY William Henry Moody, Haverhill's most distin- guished jurist, was born in Newbury, Mass., Dec. 23, 1853, the son of Henry L. and Melissa Augusta (Em- erson) Moody. He was graduated at Phillips (An- doverj Academy 1872; A. B., Harvard, 1876; studied law in the office of Richard H. Dana, Boston; (L. L. D., Amherst and Tufts Colleges, 1904;) admitted to the bar in 1878 and began practice at Haverhill. He was City Solicitor 1888-90; District Attorney for the Eastern Dist. of Mass. (Essex County) 1890-95; elected to the 54th Congress to succeed the late Gen. William Cogswell for his unexpired term in 1895, and was re-elected for the next three terms, 1897- 1903; resigned from the 57th Congress April 30, 1902, to become Secretary of the Navy under Presi- dent Roosevelt, holding this place in the Cabinet from May 1, 1902, to July 1, 1904. He became At- torney-General of the United States July 1, 1904, serving until Dec. 16, 1906. On the following day he was appointed associate Justice of the U. S. Su- preme Court, where he served with distinction and MR. JUSTICE WILLIAM H. MOODY honor until compelled by ill health to retire on Nov. 20, 1910. The last years of his life were spent in his beau- tiful home on Saltonstall Road in this city, where he died July 2, 1917. 103 MERRIMACK NATIONAL BANK The Merrimack National Bank, occupies an in- teresting place in Haverhill's banking world, for having rounded out a century of existence, it is the oldest bank in Haverhill, and is now, after 104 years of steady progress one of the city's strongest and most popular financial institutions. The bank was established in 1814, and the banking house is located at 20 Washington Street, in a building which has been reconstructed to meet the demands of a modern banking institution. BUILD AS WELL AS BOOST Trade in Haverhill. The Haverhill Chamber of Commerce represents organized optimism. The Chamber is working all of the time for all of the people. One way to make money is to spend it in boosting community business. When away from Haverhill, don't be a back- slider. Write "Haverhill" on the hotel register as if you meant it. The close-fisted miser who is afraid to invest a dollar in boosting his ovioi city should remember that shrouds have no pockets. It MERRIMACK NATIONAL BANK The Merrimack National Bank has had a wonder- ful history because it has carried on a commercial banking business for more than a hundred years without a default. The demands of its present pa- tronage are so great that three floors of the bank building are occupied, and on each of the three floors, served by electric elevators, are special rooms for customers. Charles W. Arnold, a prominent figure in the city's business life, is president of the bank, and as- sociated with him is a group of leading business men and citizens, as follows: — Vice-president — John L. Hobson. Cashier — Arthur P. Tenney. Assistant Cashier — C. Archie Home. Directors — Warren Kimball, John L. Hobson, Al- fred Kimball, Arthur D. Veasey, Osman S. Currier, Charles L. Briggs, Charles H. Davis, Charles W. Arnold, Myron L. Whitcomb, Charles Gleason, Ira J. Webster, Eugene T. Adams, Fred M. Hodgdon, Sher- man H. Marshall, Henry L. Taylor, Robert D. Trask, Grant H. Fairbanks, Arthur L. Hobson, Charles W. Arnold, Jr., Arthur H. Veasey, Harry E. Adams. "I like to see a man proud of the place in which he lives. I like to see a man live in it so that his place will be proud of him. Be honest, but hate no one; overturn a man's wrong-doing, but do not over- turn him unless it must be done in overturning the wrong. Stand with anybody that stands right. Stand with him while he is right, and part with him when he goes wrong." — Abraham Lincoln. JOHN J. MACK, CITY MARSHAL. HEAD OF HAVER- HILL, POLICE FORCE FOR THE PAST 12 YEARS 104 THE TAYLOR-GOODWIN COMPANY ESSEX NATIONAL BANK The Taylor-Goodwin Company is one of the lead- ing coal and lumber yards of Essex County. The original concern was organized in 18 and incor- porated in 1894. Under the able management of the HAROLD M. GOODWIN late George M. Goodwin, it was developed into one of the largest enterprises of the city, and today, through its efficient services to the public, is play- ing an important part in making Haverhill a "big- ger, better, and busier city." Harold M. Goodwin, President and Treasurer, was bom in Haverhill, April 7, 1886. He was educated in the public schools of the city and graduated from Harvard University in 1908. He was married in 1914 to Mary Parker Hubbard, also of Haverhill, and they have one son. Mr. Goodwin is a member of the Rotary, Monday Evening, Pentucket and Aga- wam Clubs, and a director of the Y. M. C. A. Since the death of his father, George M. Good- win, in 1909, he has been actively engaged in busi- ness and connected with various banking institutions about the city, including the Essex National Bank, Haverhill Savings Bank, and the Haverhill Morris Plan Company. He is also administrator of his father's estate which embraces one of the largest real estate holdings in Haverhill. The Essex National Bank was formed July 5, 1851, as a state bank. E. J. M. Hale was the first president. The bank afterward became a national bank and has continued in business in Haverhill un- interruptedly since its organization. It has a Savings Department as well as all the ordinary branches of a national bank. The advance made by the bank during the past ten years is evidenced by the following: 1907 1918 Deposits, $220,190.47 $1,747,693.12 Surplus, 20,000.00 100,000.00 Undivided Profits, 22,489.94 50,205.26 The Directors are: Charles A. Pingree, President; Perley Leslie, Vice-President; John S. Mason, Har- old M. Goodwin, George E. Kimball, Robert A. Jor- dan. The following constitute the office force: Fred L. Tovimsend, cashier; James C. Pease, paying teller; A. Raymond Reed, receiving teller; W. Harold Whiting, clerk; Anna C. Pierce, savings depart- ment; Katherine Palmer, bond department; Maude E. Dow, Maude H. Murray, bookkeepers. The bank has worked upon the policy of personal service, giving the same interest to small accounts as to large accounts, and always considering the interests of the city of Haverhill. Save your dues and more by telephoning the Chamber of Commerce for information about all advertising schemes. COMMUNITY COMPETITION. Are you engaged in business? If you are, you know the meaning of competition. You know what it means to have men in the same line of business seeking out the trade and traffic you desire to secure. This is an age of competition; an age of keen competition and it is getting keener. Business houses are continually seeking up and down the highways and byways for men who can devise and execute ways and means of producing more business. And as there is a competition between business houses, so also is there a competition between com- munities; and quite as keen, too. Cities and toviTis are applying to their development the same princi- ples that successful business houses are applying to theirs. As the condition of any business in a given com- munity is more or less — and generally more than less — measured by the general conditions in that community, community competition becomes a per- sonal, a vital matter to you. Therefore, you as a business man cannot afford not to join with your business competitors in meet- ing the competition your community is experiencing with other communities. — "The Efficient Citizen." 105 D. D. CHASE LUMBER COMPANY The D. D. Chase Lumber Co. has been, for 72 years, a prominent factor in Haverhill commercial life. The firm deals in lumber and other building materials. The business was established by Abel Chase in 1845, and was continued by him until 1850, when he took in partnership his oldest son, David D., and it was carried on until 1855, as A. Chase & Son, at which time A. Washington Chase, the second son bought out the interest of his father, and the firm was car- ried on as D. D. & A. W. Chase until 1865, when it was sold to E. E. Stimpson. It was carried on under that name until 1897, when it was sold to the present owners, Charles D. Porter and Charles H. Croy, who have continued it under the title of The D. D. Chase Lumber Co. The firm was incorporated chaiu.es h. croy in 1905, with the following officers: — Charles H. Croy, Charles D. Porter, and Henry L. Stone. The firm has an extensive establishment at 9 Washing- ton Avenue, where the office and lumber yard are located. Charles Hudson Croy, president of the company, was bom in Newbum, Shelby County, Ohio, March 26, 1858, and was educated in the public schools. He is married and has two children. He is a member of the Pentucket club. Rotary club, affiiliated with the Masonic and Odd Fellows, vice-president of the City Five Cent Savings Bank, president of the Hill- dale Cemetery Corporation. He was elected Mayor on Dec. 3, 1918, to serve the two year term of 1919-20. Charles Dudley Porter, treasurer of the company, is a native of Haverhill, was bom August 27, 1863. He was educated in the Haverhill schools and Har- vard College. He is secretary of the trustees of the Haverhill Public Library, treasurer of Hilldale Cem- etery Corporation, a trustee of the Haverhill Savings Bank, and is a member of the Pentucket club. Island Golf club, Fortnightly club, Rotary club of Haver- hill, the St. Botolph club and Harvard club of Boston. HAVERHILL GAS LIGHT COMPANY The Haverhill Gas Light Company is one of the leading public service corporations in the Merrimack Valley, being the only concern engaged in the manu- facture and sale of illuminating gas in Haverhill and adjoining towns. The office of the company is at 30 Washington Square, and the manufacturing plant, which is equipped in a modern manner, is at 284 Winter Street. The firm manufactures and dis- tributes gas for lighting, cooking and heating, and sells gas appliances of all kinds. The trade territory includes, in addition to Haverhill, the towns of Grove- land, Merrimac, and the Merrimacport district. The officers of the company are: — President — Frederick P. Royce. Vice-president — Marcy L. Sperry. Treasurer — Henry B. Sawyer. Manager — F. M. Roberts. General Managers — Stone & Webster. HAVERHILL BOX BOARD COMPANY The Haverhill Box Board Co., manufacturers of box boards and Calno Wall Board, is one of Ha- verhill's principal industrial plants, and the product of the company ranks, in value of output, second in the city's commerce, being exceeded only by the city's total output of boots and shoes. The officers of the company are: — President — Cravirford Fairbanks. Secretary, Treasurer, and Manager — Grant H. Fairbanks. Superintendent — Andrew Muirhead. The company was established in 1902, and the office and manufacturing plant are located on Kim- ball Street, Bradford district. The company manu- factures all grades of board for paper boxes, clay coating, and lithographic work. The trade territory of the concern extends throughout New England and New York, and the Calno Wall-Board, manufactured by the company, is used in all countries. Grant H. Fairbanks was born February 18, 1877, Joplin, Missouri, and was graduated from Princeton University in 1897. Since completing his college course he has been engaged in the manufacture of paper and box boards. He is married and has three children. 106 ALEXANDER ROBERTS COMPANY Alex. Roberts Company, dealers in cotton rags and shoe cuttings, making a specialty of the latter, began business in Haverhill nearly forty years ago when Alexander Roberts came to this city with his family from Yorkshire, England. The son of the founder of the business, Alexander Jr., born in Yorkshire Feb. 26, 1868, entered the company after finishing his education in the public schools of this city, and later on he was joined by his brother, George, who was bom in Lawrence May 13, 1875, and also educated in this city. On the death of their father the sons formed a company and continued the business under the present name. Since 1880 the name of Roberts has been syn- onymous with square dealing and sterling integrity among their business associates in Haverhill. From a small beginning the business has grown to be one of the largest of its kind in New England, until to- day is occupies the substantial set of buildings shoviTi in the illustration, with its ovm side-track and modem equipment. Alexander Roberts is married, is a member of the Odd Fellows and Haverhill Chamber of Com- merce. George Roberts is married and has two children. He is a member of the Loyal Order of Moose. ALEX. ROBERTS 'lllh" PLANT ClK the; Al.lllX. liijl : l':ilTS CUMl'ANV. ilAl.l-: .ST, 108 CAPT. FREDERICK P. LIBERTY BERNARD L. DURGIN LIBERTY-DURGIN, INC. The firm of Liberty-Durgin, Inc., which was in- corporated Aug. 4, 1914, had made a remarkable success in the manufacture of women's turn boots and slippers, featuring the "Miss Haverhill" line, when the United States entered the war in 1916, and the firm secured large orders for haversacks, pack carriers and other army equipment and was among the first concerns in this locality to change over its factory to this kind of work. Up to the closing of the year 1918 several million dollars worth of work had been done for the United States Anriy, the product ranking among the best furnished to the Quartermaster's Department. Since its first beginnings on Army contracts Lib- V. iWR||s%l|l FACTORIES OF HBBRTY-DUKGIN, INC., HALE STREET 109 also the Liberty, William erty-Durgin Inc., has been constantly expanding their business and now occupy all of the two large connecting buildings on Duncan street shown in the illustration, as well as large cutting rooms in other factories. The officers of the corporation, who are principal stockholders, are Capt. Fred P. treasurer; Bernard L. Durgin, president; Starkie, clerk. Since Capt. Liberty won his com- mission in the Quartermaster's Department, U. S. A., Mr. Durgin has been in active charge of the business and Mr. Starkie has been general superin- tendent of manufacturing. Capt. Frederick P. Liberty, treasurer of the cor- poration, was born in Renovo, Pa., June 9, 188.5. He was educated in the public schools and Sacred Hearts College, and came to Haverhill as a young man. He is married and has four children. He has recently purchased a beautiful home in Merrimac, Mass. He is a member of the Agawam and Rotary clubs and several other local organizations. Bernard L. Durgin, president of the corporation, was born in Haverhill June 16, 1889, and was edu- cated in the public and high schools of this city. He is a member of the Masonic fraternities, the Aga- wam and Rotary clubs of this city. He is unmarried. THE COMMERCIAL ORGANIZATION. The awakening of the public conscience in many cities is shown by the development of its commercial organizations within a few years. Haverhill, Lynn, Lawrence, Taunton, Worcester, Brockton, Portland, Maine, all have greatly increased their membership, revenue and efficiency by means of membership cam- paigns and have at the same time added to their prestige and power. Business prosperity depends upon the ability of a people to produce and earn, so that they may buy and pay. Business must have a human basis. The grade of a business depends upon the grade of its human background. To build up the humanity of a community is the surest way of building up the bus- iness of a community. This is what the Chamber of Commerce primarily does. It co-ordinates the work of the man. It keeps him busy working for the town. The result of his labors is to make the town better, — better for the people, and, logically, better for business. The Chamber of Commerce capitalizes the ideals and the ideas. They are the highest product of man's handiwork. The high aims of the trade board de- serve the support of every patriotic citizen. The lofty sentiments of its creation demand your atten- tion. They call forth your pride in your town and your hope for its growth. If you are faithful, you will enlist. DANIEL N. CASEY, Secretary, Haverhill Chamber of Commerce. FRED R. SMITH Fred R. Smith, real estate and insurance, is a native of Salem, N. H., where he was bom Feb. 14, 1879, coming to Haverhill when a boy with his parents. His father, John F. Smith, was for many FRED R. .SMITH years a leading insurance agent of this city, estab- lishing an agency here in 1865. Mr. Smith was educated in the public schools of Haverhill, graduating from the High school in 1898. He entered the insurance business with his father in 1900. He has been prominent in athletics both dur- ing his school career and since. He is a member of the various Masonic bodies in Haverhill, the Odd Fellows and the Pentucket and Agawam clubs. He is also first lieutenant of the 142nd Machine Gun Company, Mass. State Guard. Although he succeeded his father in an extensive business, he has continued to build it up and expand it by fair and honorable dealings to one of the larg- est in the county. If you are not a member of the Haverhill Chamber of Commerce you are missing one of the greatest opportunities for SERVICE in your city. 110 MATTHEW J. FOWLER Matthew J. Fowler, the leading optometrist and optician in this city, began business in Haverhill in March, 1907, and since then has built up a fine and constantly broadening clientele. Born at St. Catherine, Ont., May 31, 1879, he was educated in the public and high schools of Buffalo, N. Y., later learning under private instruc- tion lens grinding and optics, in which he became an expert. Since coming to this city Mr. Fowler has been prominent in the social and business life of the community. He is now vice president and treasurer of the Haverhill Chamber of Commerce, chairman of the Mass. State Board of Optometry, a director in MATTHEW J. FOWLER the Haverhill Co-operative and Morris Plan banks and a director of the Haverhill Boys Club. Mr. Fowler is a member of Saggahew Lodge A. F. & A. M., Pentucket Chapter, Haverhill Com- mandery, K. T., Lodge of Perfection, Consistory 32nd Degree, Palestine Lodge K. of P., Haverhill Lodge of Elks, and the Pentucket, Agawam, Rotary and Merrimack Valley Country Clubs. Mr. Fowler was married in 1907 to Miss Daisy Longley and lives at 259 Main street. He is the sole owner of the M. J. Fowler, Inc., incorporated in 1907, which he founded at 171 Merrimack St., and is the only firm in the city carrying a complete stock of lenses and an equipment for grinding any lens made. His specialties are Kryptok invisible bifocal, Toric and all special ground lenses for the eyes. HAVERHILL CO-OPERATIVE BANK The Haverhill Co-operative Bank, the oldest in- stitution of its kind in this vicinity, was incorporated Aug. 20, 1877, and has shown a steady and pros- perous growth. Officers and Directors are: James G. Page, Treas.; James W. Harris, Pres.; Directors: Charles A. Bodwell, George A. Childs, Charles H. Clark, Ed- ward A. Fitts, Matthew J. Fowler, George E. Frye, James W. Harris, Eugene J. Kempton, Sam A. Mc- Gregor, Benjamin I. Page, James G. Page. This bank, which for many years was located in the Masonic Building, now occupies fine offices at 9 Emerson Street, in the Haverhill National Bank Building. The following recent financial statement (Nov. 4, 1918) shows the high standing of this bank, which has helped thousands of workingmen to build homes in Haverhill and vicinity: Assets Cash $61,772.47 Interest 10,792.00 Fines 253.21 Loans on real estate 1,463,200.00 Loans on shares 53,045.00 Mortgages 14.00 Liberty Bonds 25,000.00 $1,614,076.68 Liabilities Dues Capital $1,320,781.00 Forfeited share account . . 655.35 Surplus 12,780.38 Guaranty fund 24,828.68 Due on Uncompleted Loans 5,575.00 Personal Account 500.00 Profits 248,956.27 $1,614,076.68 KNOCKING. There is a difference between kicking and knock- ing. The knocker is out of place everywhere, but the kicker has a right to kick about the weak points and mistakes made by the city, providing he is willing to help repair the weak points and correct the mistakes. The knocker is sometimes considered a dangerous individual. Habitual knocking indicates a diseased mind of the individual, who seems to delight in knocking a city and the institutions and the men who are devoting their time for the upbuilding of the common good, but do not worry. It does not require a specialist to cure this kind of mental disease. Here is a recipe. It isn't patent- ed, so use it freely. Just quietly ask him, "What have you ever done to make the city better or to help any one but your selfish self?" HI WILI.IAM H. BUTLER ERNEST D. HASELTINE BUTLER & HASELTINE There is no more interesting association in Ha- verhill, than the partnership of William H. Butler and Ernest Downing Haseltine. The senior partner, Mr. Butler, has lived and worked in Haverhill for 29 years, has always been one of the city's most prom- inent church workers, an energetic and conscientious leader of the Haverhill No-License league, and in the forefront of every moral movement waged in Haver- hill during the past decade, prominent in which were his efforts as president of the Haverhill Civic Asso- ciation which secured for Haverhill her present form of city charter. The junior partner, Mr. Haseltine, is a Haverhill boy, and when he reached his 20th birthday, he was married and engaged in manufac- turing. He is one of the best known of the city's young men, is prominent socially and respected in business circles. The firm of Butler & Haseltine was established in 1913, and is engaged in the manufacture of shoes at 113 Essex street, specializing in the manufacture of ladies' fine turned boots and low cuts, and is recog- nized as making the finest line of white shoes in the country. The shoes from this factory are sold throughout the United States, in Canada, Cuba, Por- to Rico and Australia. William H. Butler was born in Weymouth, Nova Scotia, Dec. 17, 1871. He received a common school education, yet by personal application and a keen realization of moral values, he has steadily risen in the business world. His associates in the shoe in- dustry selected him as president of the Haverhill Shoe Manufacturers' Association and he has also been president of the Haverhill No-License Associa- tion and the Men's club of the Portland Street Bap- tist church. He is a director of the Haverhill Mor- ris Plan bank, a member of the Pentucket club, Miz- pah lodge, I. 0. O. F., and Portland Street Baptist church. For 20 years he was associated with the Charles K. Pox Co. He is married and has one daughter. Ernest Downing Haseltine was bom in Haverhill, Sept. 1, 1889. He received a grammar school educa- tion, but like his partner, steadily advanced through his own energy and assiduity. He is a member of Aleppo temple of the Mystic Shrine and the Aga- wam club. He is married and has one son. OUR HONOR ROLL. Chamber of Commerce members who served in Uncle Sam's Army and Navy include the following: Lt. Col. Thorndike D. Howe, Major H. B. Campbell, Major William Henry Root, Captain Francis L. Ball, Lieut. Everett Bradley, Ensign Chas. W. Arnold, Jr., Sergt. Daniel N. Casey, Sergt. John E. Gale, Arthur P. Abrams, Samuel Alter, E. A. Boucher, Clifton A. Clarke, Thomas H. Boland, Edward L. McAree, Aaron Hoyt, Wm. J. McKeigue, Dr. Joseph M. Mer- cille, Ernest Middleton, Fred L. Mosher, Dr. Wm. Porell, Emile Lagasse, Peter Vovulis, M. P. Young, Harold Winchester, E. A. Haseltine, Louis Swartz, Dr. Martin C. Canarie, Dr. Henry Kaplovitch, Joseph L. Lennox. 112 THE PEINTUCKET MILLS The Pentucket Mills, located on the Little River at Winter street, is one of the oldest industries in the city. It has grown steadily since its establish- ment and now comprises the large group of build- ings shown in the accompanying illustration, has its own sidetracks on the Boston & Maine Railroad and utilizes both steam and water for power and manu- facturing purposes. Directors: Nathaniel Stevens, Samuel D. Stevens, Moses T. Stevens, Samuel D. Stevens, Jr., and Carl Vetter. John A. Currier is superintendent of the local mills. The business was established in 1804 and incor- porated in 1901. For many years the late Moses T. Stevens of North Andover was its active head, and BIRDSETE VIEW OF THE PENTUCKET MILLS, WINTER STREET These mills are owned by the M. T. Stevens & Sons Co., which also ovsti mills in North Andover and other Merrimack valley localities. The present officers are as follows: President, Nathaniel Stevens. Treasurer, Samuel D. Stevens. Ass't. Treasurer, Moses T. Stevens. BANISH THE BROMIDE. When you dictate the day's mail, do not say "Replying to your valued favor of the 'steenth, we beg to say that," etc. You do not "reply" to a letter, but to an argu- ment. Use "answer." Never "beg." Any free-bom American should be ashamed to "beg." Then there's the time-worn, ancient-history, clos- ing phraseology, such as "Trusting to have your early order which shall have our earliest attention." Every one looking for orders expects them — everyone "trusts," so why not be different and use a little more gumption in landing the order. Any pros- pect, any patron demands "early attention" else he would not give you the order. "As per your request" is stiff stuff, fit for the court room rather than sales letters. his descendants today own and manage the extensive mill interests which he built up. The Pentucket Mills for over a century has had a nation-wide reputation for the excellence of its manufactures, which consists of woolens and wor- steds. The past two years it has had extensive gov- ernment contracts. "Of recent date," is a bluff. Why not give the exact date, so that the reader may call for the proper letter from his files, or call the thing up in mind? "Agreeable to your request," is improper, even if it were not ear-torturing. The right form is "Agreeing to your request," but it is better to use something that is really agreeable instead of the participial form. "Yours received and contents noted." Now there's a nice lifeless thing. All wrapped up in un- dertaker's weeds. Just for a change, try to make your letters hu- man, sparkling with interest and friendliness and watch the result-rendering responses. — The Thinker. The injury of prodigality leads to this — that he who will not economize will have to agonize — Con- fusius. 113 HAVERHILL SAVINGS BANK HAVERHILL SAVINGS BANK, MERRIMACK AND WEST STREETS One of the institutions whose progress marks the growth of the city for almost a century is the Ha- verhill Savings Bank, which was established Febru- ary 8, 1828. This bank has always aimed to encourage local thrift and seeks local investment for its fund, so far as is practicable. It has over 17,000 depositors and assets of sub- stantially nine millions of dollars. With a guaranty fund and a profit and loss ac- count, maintained at the full amounts permitted by law, this bank enjoys high standing. It is located at 153 Merrimack street. The offi- cers for 1918 are: — • President, Wm. W. Spaulding. Vice-President, Fred D. McGregor. Trustees, John L. Hobson, William H. Floyd, F. E. Hutchinson, Wm. E. Bixby, Isaac Poor, Wm. W. 114 Spaulding, E. G. Frothingham, Fred D. McGregor, Charles E. Dole, Hazen B. Goodrich, Harold M. Goodwin, George W. Lennox, Herman E. Lewis, Ira A. Abbott, Charles D. Porter, John A. Lynch, Ar- thur H. Wentworth. Treasurer, Raymond Noyes. Clerk, Alfred E. Collins. Investment Committee, Wm. W. Spaulding, Fred D. McGregor, Herman E. Lewis. Auditing Committee, Charles E. Dole, Wm. H. Floyd, Fred D. McGregor. EMERY & MARSHALL CO. Occupying one of Haverhill's largest factory build- ings, Emery & Marshall Co., established in 1903, has progressed until it is one of the leading manufactur- ing concerns in the city, being engaged in making women's Goodyear welt and turned footwear. The seven-story factory building is located on the river front, in the rear of 2 to 20 Washington street. SHERMAN H. MARSHALL Sherman H. Marshall is president and treasurer of the company. Orlando N. Dana is vice president, and Frederick S. Marshall is assistant treasurer. The company was incorporated in 1913. The bus- iness of the company has constantly increased and at present the trade territory extends throughout the United States and Cuba. Sherman H. Marshall, president and treasurer of the company, was born in Haverhill, Dec. 5, 1870. He was educated in the Haverhill grammar and high schools. He is a member of the Pentucket club and is a 32 degree Mason. He is married and has one son. A fine picture of the Emery & Marshall factory will be found on page 28. SIMONDS & ADAMS Both the city dweller of Haverhill and the subur- ban visitor who does his trading here, appreciate the fact that there are in the retail district depart- ment stores of metropolitan excellence. Few cities of Haverhill's size offer the purchaser so extended a variety at such reasonable prices. Occupying a high place in the retail business life of the city is the firm of Simonds & Adams. It has been an institution in Haverhill for years and is known wherever the city's trading district extends. It is one of the largest and most completely stocked department stores in New England. The firm owns the large building, 42 to 54 Mer- rimack street, the street and basement floors of which are occupied exclusively by the company. The remainder of the structure is devoted to offices and is one of the finest office buildings in the city. E. T. Adams and J. F. Ring are the members of the firm. The company was established in 1888. DALRYMPLE-PULSIFER CO. In building up the industry which won world fame for Haverhill, The Dalrymple-Pulsifer Co. has played a prominent part, for the firm is knovro wher- ever shoes are made. The present company is the successor of J. A. Dalrymple & Co., continuing in the lines in which the original concern was so successful, designing and manufacturing artistic shoe bows and ornaments. The firm of J. A. Dalrymple & Co. was estab- lished January 1, 1889, and was incorporated as the Dalrymple-Pulsifer Co. 29 years later, on January 1, 1918. The place of business is at 88 Washington street. The firm has established a world-wide reputation and does business throughout the United States and in foreign countries. The officers of the corporation are: J. A. Dal- rymple, president and treasurer; G. Herman Pulsifer, vice-president; L. H. Ordway, secretary; and George E. Dalrymple, son of the founder of the business. Did you ever notice that the big man in a big business has to use a lot of time in settling the rows of those under him ? There is a heavy overhead charge to every row. So it is well for those of us who feel inclined to row to consider this overhead and compromise; oth- erwise it is going to take the time and effort of a bigger man to settle it. 115 CtLVRLIDS H. HAYES lODMUND C. VVliiNT WORTH C.^H. HAYES CORPOKATION The C. H. Hayes Corporation is one of the most extensive business enterprises in Haverhill, control- ling large shoe factory buildings, several box fac- tories, and, in addition, owning extended areas of woodland throughout New England where the raw materials for the boxes is secured. The firm was established in 1870 by the late Charles H. Hayes, who was, during his lifetime, one of the leaders in the city's business growth. He was president of the old Board of Trade when the big Haverhill Boxboard Co. promoters were induced to locate here and was largely instrumental in starting the first large building boom. The company was incorporated in 1902. The offi- cers of the corporation are Nellie M. Hayes, widow of the founder, Adelaide H. Blaisdell, a daughter, and Edmund C. Wentworth. The offices and paper box factory, shown in the illustration, are located at 36 Granite street, and the wooden box and shook factory is at 2 and 3 Hale street. The trade territory of the company includes New England, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Delaware. Edmund Clark Wentworth, treasurer and general manager of the corporation, was born in Plaistow, February 27, 1877. He was educated in the Haver- hill schools. In 1916 he was president of the Haver- hill Chamber of Commerce. He is a member of the several Masonic fraternities, the Pentucket, Rotary and Agawam clubs. He is married and has two sons, FACTORY OF C. H. HAYES CORPORATION one of whom is a student at Dummer academy and the other a student in the Haverhill schools. 116 CITY FIVE CENTS SAVINGS BANK The City Five Cents Savings Bank viras organized on April 29, 1870, and commenced business May, 1870, in the office of the First National Bank, which was at that time located on Merrimack street, oppo- site what is now the Daggett Building. Warner R. Whittier, who was then Mayor of the city, was chosen its first president, and Elbridge G. Wood, who was cashier of the First National Bank, was electred as treasurer. Mr. Wood continued to hold the office of treasurer until September, 1876, when he resigned and Mr. Noyes, the present treas- urer, was elected to that office, which he has held to the present time. Mr. Whittier resigned as president in August, vacancy caused by the death of Mr. Hopkinson. Mr. Gardner continued as president until November, 1917, and Mr. George Nichols, 2nd, son of former President John B. Nichols, was chosen to succeed Mr. Gardner as president, which office he still holds. The following table will indicate the growth of the Bank: Deposits Nov. 1, 1880 $751,623. Nov. 1, 1890 1,134,443. Nov. 1, 1900 1,816,143. Nov. 1, 1910 2,641,354. Nov. 1, 1918 3,689,654. Guaranty Profit & Fund Loss $2,500. $0. 38,000. 12,681. 90,600. 11,635. 129,000. 42,957. 185,412. 138,081. CITY FIVE CENTS SAVINGS BANK, WASHINGTON ST. 1877, and was succeeded by Mr. Samuel W. Hopkin- son, who served in that capacity until 1881, when he declined a re-election on account of his removal to Taunton. John B. Nichols succeeded Mr. Hopkinson as president and continued to hold that office until 1896, when he declined a re-election and John E. Gale was chosen to succeed Mr. Nichols. On July 1, 1904, when the law providing that no president of a National Bank should serve as presi- dent of a Savings Bank went into effect, Mr Gale relinquished his duties as president of the Savings Bank, and Mr. Hopkinson, having returned from Taunton, was again elected as president and con- tinued to serve in that capacity until his death, which occurred in June, 1911. Mr. Sylvanus P. Gardner was chosen to fill the The officers of the Bank are: — President, George Nichols, 2nd. Vice-presidents, Philip C. Swett, Charles H. Croy. Trustees, George H. Bixby, Charles L. Briggs, Otis J. Carlton, Charles H. Croy, Sylvanus P. Gard- ner, Harlan F. Hussey, Perley Leslie, George Nichols, 2nd, Geroge W. Noyes, Charles A. Pingree, George H. Bixby. Board of Investment, Charles L. Briggs, Charles H. Croy, Sylvanus P. Gardner, George Nichols, 2nd, Philip C. Swett. Auditing Committee, George Nichols, 2nd, Charles A. Pingree, George H. Bixby. Treasurer, George W. Noyes. Clerk of Corporation, Leonard H. Noyes. Clerks, Anna Sollenberger, Charles R. Hussey. 117 HAZEN B. GOODRICH CO. AND THE BRADLEY SHOE CO. Frank J. Bradley is today one of the important figures in Haverhill's shoe world, for he directs two important manufacturing firms, Hazen B. Goodrich & Company and The Bradley Shoe Company. The firm of Hazen B. Goodrich & Company has had an interesting history, being one of Haverhill's oldest shoe manufacturing concerns. It was estab- lished in 1887, succeeding the firm of Goodrich & Porter. The original firm was founded in 1860 by the late Daniel Goodrich and Dudley Porter, and through Battery A, of the 102d Regiment, Field Artillery. He is still serving his country in France. Frank J. Bradley was bom in Methuen February 25, 1859. He was graduated from Lawrence High school. He was an alderman and a member of the city council in this city, for one term in each body. He is a member of the Pentucket club, Island Golf club, North Andover Country club, Boston City club and Boot and Shoe Trades club. He was married in 1888 and has two children, Lieut. Everett Bradley and Mrs. George W. Langdon. ONE OF THE THREE MODERN CEMENT AND STEEI^ FACTORIES OF THE HAVERHILL BUILDING TRU.ST ON ES.SEX ST. THE BRADLEY SHOE COM- PANY OCCUPY THE TOP FLOOR OF THIS BUILDING. its successors, the firm has continued since until the trade-slogan of the firm has become "58 Years of Goodrich Footwear." From 1885 to 1887 the business was conducted by Hazen B. Goodrich alone. In the latter year the present company was organized. The place of business is 70 Washington street, and the firm manufactures fine turns for the retail trade. The Bradley Shoe Company is an auxiliary of the Goodrich firm, and was established in November, 1916, vdth a place of business at 115 Essex street. Specialties in turned shoes are manufactured. Lieut. Everett Bradley is associated with his father in this concern, his active connection being temporarily closed when he went to France with THE SERVICE CLUB The problem of properly welcoming and caring for the wants of the soldiers and sailors of the great war upon their return home is being efficiently solved by the municipal officials, The Haverhill Chamber of Commerce, The Rotary Club and scores of public- spirited men and women. A Service Club was opened in December, 1918, at 138 Merrimack St., and has already proved a val- uable aid in caring for the men as they return. Money is being raised and plans laid for a perma- nent club house as a memorial to those who fought for the freedom of the world in France in 1917-1918. In all the activities of the war the Haverhill Chamber of Commerce has taken a leading part. 118 GEORGE W, lUKjw.N JOHN HUTCHINSON BROWN & HUTCHINSON Brown & Hutchinson, a firm engaged in design- ing, drafting and making shoe patterns, has devel- oped a business that has steadily grown until the trade territory extends throughout the United States, Canada and South America. The members of the firm are George W. Brown and John Hutchison. The firm was established Octo- ber 1, 1909, and the place of business is 120 Wash- ington street. George W. Brown was bom in Newburyport, August 31, 1875, and was graduated from the New- buryport High school. He is a member of the Aga- wam club, and previous to entering business had been for 21 years an expert designer and draughtsman of shoe patterns. John Hutchinson was bom in Philadelphia Feb. 9, 1882. He was educated in the public schools. He is a member of the Knights of Pythias and Agawam club, and is married and has five children. Previous to the formation of this firm, he had been engaged for 18 years in making shoe patterns, be- ginning in the day when the process was exclusively hand work and continuing until modem machinerj' had been successfully introduced. SELLING GOODS OR TALK. Two business men were talking about a saleman who had made a record. "Yes," said one, "he has made big sales this year, but I wonder how long he can continue doing the work." "Why?" "Because he makes people buy instead of making them want to buy." In that last sentence is a whole book of wisdom for every salesman. Every salesman should ask himself, "Am I mak- ing them buy my goods, or am I making them want to buy my goods?" It is one thing to cram goods down the throat of the customer. It is another thing to handle him so that he will reach for the goods himself. — The Vag- abond. A ROUND OF GOOD. A little work, a little play To keep us going — and so good day. A little warmth, a little light Of love's bestowing — and so good night. A little fun tO' match the sorrow Of each day's growing — and so good morrow. A little trust that when we die We reap our sovsdng — and so good-bye. 119 CUSHMAN & HEBERT In the expansion of the shoe industry of Haver- hill during the past ten years no firm has played a more prominent part than Cushman & Hebert. The firm was established in 1898 and came to Haverhill later, moving from Lynn. States, and large quantities of shoes are exported also. George Herbert Cushman was bom in Lynn Aug- ust 21, 1854, and was educated in that city. He is a member of the B. A. A. of Boston, and the Pentucket CUSHMAN & HEBERT FACTORY, RIVER STREET Manufacturing women's McKays, the company is a large employer of labor and does an extensive busi- ness. G. H. Cushman and Placide Hebert are the members of the firm. The factory is located at 414 River street, and the trade territory includes all sections of the United and Island Golf clubs of this city. He is married and has two children. Placide Hebert was bom July 27, 1857, in New Brunswick. He is a member of the Pentucket and Island Golf clubs of this city and the Oxford club of Lynn. He is married and has seven children. THE BLESSINGS OF DEFEAT The Purgatory is passed. Four years have we suffered and sacrificed and out of the chastening comes a visible reward. It was defeat — the debacle in the Appenines — that unified Italy. It was the suffering through defeat that glorified France and woke in her people their death-daring spirit. It was the surrender on the Tigris, the pitiable failure at Gallipoli, the break at Cambrai that woke Britain to a full-found strength. It was the mistakes, the blunders, the tremendous wastage that roused America from her muddled dreams and brought her to a realization of her need for an efficient participation. Out of the years of standing still in shame at futile effort, out of the years of deadlock and de- feat, came the flanking wedge that broke up the Marne, then the leveling of the lines in Picardy, next the flanking of the great Line. Now, while the Winter closes in we continue our forward march, we are out of the shadow of defeat and Victory is with us. That great pulpit orator, Henry Ward Beecher, sounded the blessings of defeat, in: "It is defeat that turns bone to flint and gristle to muscle, and makes a man invincible. It is defeat that forms those heroic natures that are now in ascendancy in the world. Man is never so near to ultimate victory as when defeated in a good cause." Defeat developed Diaz. Defeat found a Foch for France. Defeat handed Haig his baton. Defeat has brought us to Victory. Be of good cheer, we won! —The Thinker. 120 THE HAVERHILL GAZETTE The Haverhill Evening Gazette, the only daily newspaper published in Haverhill, and one of the oldest established newspapers in New England, oc- cupies the two modem fireproof buildings shown in the accompanying illustration, — a three-story office building on Merrimack St. and a model mechanical plant in the rear on Merrill's Court. It is published every day except Sundays and legal holidays and has a sworn circulation in Haverhill and contribu- tory territory of 13,500 copies. The Gazette is published by a corporation, with Robert L. Wright as treasurer and publisher. It was built up to its present high standard and pros- news service exclusively in its territory, and covers thoroughly with a large editorial and reportorial staff the city and all nearby towns. Its advertising columns are a directory of the business interests of the city. IRA J. WEBSTER. Ira J. Webster, one of Haverhill's largest and most prominent shoe manufacturers, was bom in Haverhill on January 16, 1854, and was educated in the Haverhill public schools and was graduated from the Haverhill high school. In 1883 he founded the firm of Ira J. Webster HOME OF THE HAVERHILL EVENING GAZETTE perous condition by the late John B. Wright, father of Robert L., who was one of the best known editors in the United States. The Gazette has always prided itself on being thoroughly independent, and has printed at the head of the editorial columns these words: "THE GAZETTE IS A FAIR FIGHTER." "It aims to be a real friend to the common people and believes in the masses more than the classes. It espouses every deserving cause and cares nothing for so-called party obligations if the people be the gainer by advocating an independent policy." The Gazette carries the full Associated Press Company and conducted it for two years, when the firm of Webster & Tabor was formed and continued 16 years. From that time until 1913 Mr. Webster conducted his business independently and the Ira J. Webster Co. was incorporated in that year. Mr. Webster started business in Phoenix Row and later built one of the city's largest factories on Vila street, illustrated on page 26. The firm makes women's McKay shoes, and the trade territory is largely confined to the United States. Mr. Webster is married and has four children. He is a member of Haverhill grange, P. of H. 121 RECORD PUBLISHING COMPANY. The Record Publishing Company, a Massachu- setts corporation, publishes the "Sunday Record" and conducts a general printing business at 17 and 21 West street, occupying' the entire ground floor and basement of its own building, with a new and up-to-date pressroom in a building directly in the rear. It has a modern newspaper and job printing plant, including a 24-page Hoe perfecting press and Linotype machines. Lewis R. Hovey is treasurer and manager of the company. The "Sunday Record" was established by Mr. Hovey at No. 4 Main street in 1903 in partnership with Dennis A. Long of Lowell. Mr. Long soon sold out his interest and the business was incorporated. LEWIS R. HOVEY, Treasurer Record Publishing Co. being later located sucessively in increasingly larger quarters in the rear of 108 Merrimack St., 1.5 West St. and 24 Locust St. As a newspaper it has been a success from its start and has shown a steady growth in circulation and advertising patronage, being the only Sunday newspaper in its territory. It is decidedly independent in its editorial policies, always fighting for a larger and better Haverhill. "The Record Press," the imprint used by the job printing department, has the largest and most com- pletely equipped printing plant in northern Essex. Its trade slogan is "Anything from a visiting card to a newspaper." CITIZENS' CO-OPERATIVE BANK. The Citizens' Co-operative Bank, with headquar- ters at 81 Merrimack street, is one of the city's most popular financial institutions. On March, 1919, the balance sheet showed that $706,102 had been lent on real estate loans. This institution not only has pro- moted the principle of thrift and saving, but it has aided in the building of the city through the assist- ance it has rendered its patrons in the erection of homes. The officers of the bank are: — President, Philip C. Swett. Vice-President, William W. Spaulding. Security Committee, James W. Goodwin, Charles A. Pingree and Herman E. Lewis. Directors, J. W. Goodwin, H. M. Goodwin, H. E. Lewis, C. A. Pingree, W. W. Spaulding, P. C. Swett and E. W. B. Taylor. The purpose of the bank is to promote regular and systematic savings, especially by persons of moderate circumstances; to help people to own their own homes, build or buy homes, or pay off existing mortgages; or to accumulate a fund for future ne- cessities. The bank provides a plan by which such indebtedness may be paid in small monthly pay- ments. E. C. PRESCOTT E. C. PRESOOTT & COMPANY. Ernest C. Prescott, proprietor of E. C. Prescott & Co., dealers in upper leather at 140 Washington street, was born August 22, 1869, in Salem, N. H., 122 and was educated in the Salem, N. H., Methuen and Haverhill public schools. He is a member of Merrimack lodge, A. F. & A. M., and all the local York rite bodies including the Knights Templar, also the Mystic Shrine. He is married and has one child. Mr. Prescott started in business for himself when 18 years of age and has continued in business since. For two years he was established in South Carolina and for seven years in California. The E. C. Prescott & Co. firm is the largest in Haverhill dealing in upper leather, and the trade territory covers New England. JOHN J. RYAN. John J. Ryan, one of Haverhill's most prominent attorneys, is a native of this city, a graduate of the Haverhill grammar and high schools, Holy Cross college and Boston University Law School. Upon his graduation from law school he entered JOHN J. RYAN the law office of the late Mellen A. Pingree and upon the latter's death continued the established practice, becoming one of the leading lawyers of Massachu- setts. He was for an extended period Associate Justice of the Central District Court of Northern Essex, succeeding to the chief justiceship which he re- signed to devote his time to his private practice. He is one of the leading figures in the democratic party in Massachusetts and has been chairman of state and county conventions. He was a charter member of the Pr. Mathew Society, and the first grand knight of Haverhill Council, No. 202, Knights of Columbus. He is married and has a son and a daughter. BLACKBURN & HASELTINE. Blackburn & Hazeltine, manufacturers of high grade women's turn slippers for domestic trade ex- clusively, are engaged in business at 62 Washington street. The firm was established in 1919, and the members are Sherman Chase Haseltine and Edwin L. Blackburn. Mr. Haseltine was born in Haverhill Dec. 8, 1887, attended the grammar schools and was a high school student for a year. Determined to secure the neces- sary foundation for a thorough business training he attended evening schools for three years. He is married and has one child, and is a member of many organizations, including the Agawam club, and th« following Masonic orders: — Saggahew lodge. A. F. & A. M., Pentucket chapter, Haverhill council, Ha- verhill Commandery, Merrimack lodge of Perfection, Mt. Olivet chapter. Rose Croix, Gyles F. Yates coun- cil. Princes Jerusalem, Massachusetts consistory, S. P. R. S., 32d; and Aleppo temple, A. A. O. N. M. S. Mr. Blackburn was born in Groveland in 1889 and was educated in the Groveland grammar and high schools. He is a member of the Agawam club and is married and has three daughters and one son. IRVING L. KEITH. Irving L. Keith, one of the largest manufacturers of and dealers in shoe findings in the country, estab- lished at 92-94 Washington street, is one of the city's most enterprising and successful business men. He succeeded to the business of C. P. Bullen, established in 1850, which he bought in 1902. Mr. Keith is a vice-president of the Haverhill Morris Plan Co., and the Haverhill Trust Co. He is a Mason, and has a wife and one daughter. SIMPLY SMILE! You and I and all of us Feel often out of trim ; Life gets us by the throat somehow And prospects seem but dim. Work's just a burden or a bore. No efl^ort seems worth while. Until a comrade comes along And whispers, "Simply smile!" Aye! that's the tonic that we need When Life's a hollow game; Aye! that's the charm that never fails And everything's the same. When drab and grey the days creep by Our dullness to beguile — The whispered word from one we love — "Come, honey, simply smile!" 123 DOLE AND CHILDS The partnership of Dole & Childs, undertakers, was formed in 1893, and since then the firm has become established as a Haverhill institution. With an office at 39 Main street, and modem garage at 34 Stage street, the firm is one of the best equipped in the state. The equipment has been Grecian lodge, K. of P., Haverhill lodge, B. P. O. E., the Pentucket and Wachusett clubs. He resides at 35 Mt. Vernon street, and has a son who is a student at Dumnier academy. George H. Dole was bom in Byfleld, and during his residence in Haverhill has played a prominent GEORGE H. DOLE fully motorized, the automobiles replacing 36 horses, and the garage accommodates 50 cars. George A. Childs is active manager of the firm and has personal supervision of the business. He was bom in Deerfield, N. H., February 18, 1865, and was educated in that town. He is a member of Miz- pah lodge, I. 0. O. F., Burtt lodge, A. O. U. W., GEORGE A. CHILDS part in civic and business affairs. He has been pres- ident of the city council and for four years occupied the position of city marshal. He is a 32nd degree Mason, a Knight Templar, charter member of Ha- verhill lodge, No. 165, B. P. O. E., and a member of Mutual Relief lodge, I. O. 0. F, and the Pentucket club. A THOUGHT FOR THE COMING YEAR. The common problem, yours, mine, every one's. Is not to fancy what were fair in life Provided it could be — but finding first What may be, then find how to make it fair Up to our means — a very different thing. — Browning. That books are of prime importance is proved by the result which followed their withdrawal from cir- culation for a period of a thousand years. In the fifth century of our era two causes combined to de- prive the world of books. There was a failure of the supply of papyrus, necessitating the use of expen- sive parchment, and to this catastrophe was added the ecclesiastical narrowness which forbade the cir- culation of pagan literature. Homer and Plato were interdicted and a glorious company with them. The lay population had a choice of reading theological commentaries and sermons or of ceasing to read, with the result that it became unprofitable either to make or write any books other than those necessarily used by the priesthood. Ceasing to read, the Euro- peans ceased to think progressively. The Classic literature, arts, luxuries and sanitation were for- gotten and the Dark Ages intervened. — Henry Lewis Bullen in The Printing Art. 124 HARRY T. PLUM STEAD. Harry T. Plumstead, manufacturer of women's shoe patterns, and one of the prominent figures in Haverhill shoe circles, was bom in Lynn, and was educated in the Lynn public schools. HARRY T. PLUMSTEAD His place of business is in the shoe district at 110 Washington street. He is a member of the Odd Fellows and Haverhill lodge, No. 165, B. P. 0. E. THOMAS F. COOKE & SON. Thomas F. Cooke & Son, dealers in counters, originally, but now dealing exclusively in women's soles, are located at 45 Wingate street. The product of the concern is sold largely outside of New Eng- land, although an extensive business with New Eng- land manufacturers is done. The members of the firm are Thomas F. Cooke and his son, Harold T. Cooke. The former was bom in the suburbs of Haverhill and has been a life-long resident of the city. The latter is a native of the city, is married and has one child. There is an inherent something in every success- ful man that singles him out and sets him apart. He has ideas of his ovsm, and in those ideas he has faith so supreme that nothing can shake it. through the use of advertising, you are able to pro- vide yourself with myriad voices, and you can tell your story everywhere to people whom you never think of approaching. This factor of advertising and publicity in its broadest sense, is the strongest force that is now at work in our national life." THE HAMEL SHOE MACHINERY COMPANY. The Hamel Shoe Machinery Company has grown in a few years from a comparatively small concern to a commanding place in the shoe industry. In 1911 the Duplessis Machinery Company be- came part of the firm, being followed in June, 1915, by the C. K. Fox Machine Works, Inc., and the Haverhill Shoe Machinery Company. The business has steadily expanded, increasing space being acquired, until in April, 1919, the entire manufacturing establishment and the executive offices were removed to a new plant in Bridgeport, Conn., where four large floors are devoted to the manufacture of high-grade machinery for the mak- ing of welt and turn shoes. "Advertising is a voice," says Ivy L. Lee. "As a solicitor you can speak to one man and tell your story personally. Through the use of printer's ink, ESSEX ASSOCIATES- BUILDING The company maintains, at its old location in Haverhill, a complete service station with a staff of expert mechanics and a liberal supply of repair parts, and from this station are furnished agents and supplies for the users of Hamel machinery in Haverhill and vicinity. 126 ABRAM W. COLBY. Abram Weston Colby, formerly of the firm of Haseltine & Colby at 113 Essex street, was bom Nov. 3, 1870, and graduated from the grammar ABRAM W. COLBV school into the shoe factory. He is one of the best known shoe manufacturing experts in the city, hav- ing charge of the production end of many well known concerns before entering business for himself. Mr. Colby is now senior partner in the firm of Colby & Borden, manufacturers of wood heels, with a modern-equipped factory at 9 Stage street. McINTOSH'S HAVERHILL BUSINESS COLLEGE. W. P. Mcintosh, Principal of Mcintosh's Haver- hill Business College, is well and favorably known by upward of five thousand past students of Haver- hill and vicinity. He is just as well known to the local business firms, because he has been supplying them with efficient bookkeepers, stenographers and clerks for the past twenty-three years. When the first successful business school of Haverhill was established in February, 1896, W. P. Mcintosh came to Haverhill as head teacher in the Bookkeeping Department. A few months later he formed a partnership with J. C. McTavish and pur- chased the College from Bliss Brothers, the found- ers of the school. In his chosen profession Principal Mcintosh is known throughout the New England States as a leader. He is an ex-president and also an ex-secre- tary of the New England Business College Associa- tion. In Masonic circles he is well known to the craft, having been for four years secretary of Sag- gahew Lodge, A. F. & A. M. The College has been popular from the start be- cause it rendered a valuable service to business men and young people starting out in business life. It has outgrown its quarters several times and the school rooms now occupy the entire third floor, 100 feet long, in the Hunking Building, 72 Merrimack street. The offices of the College are located on the second floor and are in the centre of the retail busi- ness district. The College aims to give a thorough up-to-date training for business, secretarial and civil service positions, and its graduates are in such constant de- mand that only a fraction of the vacancies offered can be filled. The College has a yearly enrollment of nearly 200 pupils in day and evening classes. W. P McINTOSH 126 A LIVE ORGANIZATION. ERRATA AND ADDENDA. The Haverhill Board of Trade, predecessor of the Chamber of Commerce, built the Walnut Street shoe factories, a picture of which appears on page 102. This marked the inception of the modern factory-building era. Such a progressive advance, at a time when floor space was absolutely unavail- able, stamped the organization with a mark of ap- proval that amply justifies its existence. The Board showed the sound business policy in the erection of such buildings, and local capitalists, together with others who saw the opportunity, have built steadily each year, following the e.xcellent start made by the Board of Trade in 1906. The Chamber of Commerce has a widely used ad- vertising agreement whereby valueless programme advertising has been greatly diminished and the num- ber of programs issued has notably decreased. Con- servatively estimated, this has saved $5,000 a year and has permitted at least this amount to be diverted to more useful channels. The Chamber has also eliminated trading stamps. Through a live and efficient legislative committee the Chamber of Commerce watches legislation, aid- ing those intrusted with the forming of our laws to make wise laws, not prejudicial to business, but such as will preserve to the people at large all of the rights and protection which such a government as ours promises. In 1909, the Haverhill Board of Trade made such a strenuous fight against the establishment of a cen- tral station connected with the sprinkler factories at heavy initial expense, and several times the present cost of maintenance, that the proposition was defeat- ed and thousands of dollars saved the factory owners. OTHERS ARE THINKING One of the greatest bankers in this country, who died recently, said before he died: "I don't like publicity. I never shall like it. I wasn't brought up to it — when I was young business methods were very different. But it has come to stay. We might as well act accordingly. I don't mean that we have got to open our books but we have got to take the public into our confidence on the things concerning which it has a right to know." It is true of a human life that it finds its highest enjoyment in the consciousness of progress. Our times of greatest pleasure are when we have won some higher peak of difficulty, trodden under foot some evil, refused some pleasant temptation for truth's sake, been swept out of ourselves by love, and felt day by day in such high labours so sure a growth of moral strength within us, that we cannot^ conceive of an end of growth. — Stopford Brooke. The publication of the Haverhill Book has been delayed by war conditions and illness of the editor, so that several corrections and additions are neces- sary. The volume was finished in December, 1919, when President Charles N. Kelly was closing his second term of office and Nathaniel H. Stackpole had succeeded Daniel N. Casey as secretary of the Chamber of Commerce, Mr. Casey going to Penn- sylvania in the fall as field secretary of the state Chamber of Commerce. The membership roll of the Chamber has changed since the first of April, 1918, and now contains 850 members. A general plan of reorganization, with dues based on a unit system, with a minimum of $25 per year, is under consideration at the close of 1919. Mr. Edward A. Witherell (see page 84) retired from the firm of Witherell & Dobibns to take up war work. Mr. Dobbins is head of the company operat- ing under the old name. Mr. Arthur W. Bradley (see page 93) retired from the firm of Austin Ruddock Company in 1919 and engaged in business for himself. Mr. Freelon N. Archibald (see page 95) passed away in the early fall of 1919, the business being continued by his sons. Mr. Geo. H. Marquette, who had retired from F. N. Archibald & Co. in 1918, is now engared in the manufacture of cut soles as G. H. Marquette & Co. at 280 River street. Liberty-Durgin Inc., (see page 109) returned to the manufacture of ladies fine shoes shortly after the close of the war and have greatly increased their pre-war business. Mr. Liberty is also interested in Cooper-Liberty-Thompson, Inc., on River street, and other shoe manufacturing enterprises. The firm of Butler & Haseltine see (page 112) was dissolved early in 1919, each continuing in bus- iness individually in the same building they occupied as a firm. Men most familiar with any given task may be blind to its defects. Their work becomes a matter of routine. They think they know it thoroughly, and so do not analyse to discover whether they are get- ting from it all they should. It is the outside frame of mind, as existing in the trained investigators, that detects many of these incongruities at a glance. — "Successful Banking." A youth can now enter business and preserve his soul clean. The salesman need no longer be a liar. The clerk behind the counter need no longer practice deception. — B. C. Forbes, in "Forbes' Magazine." 127 THE RECORD PRESS HAVERHILL, MASS.