(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois"

This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on library shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 
to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 
to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 
are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other marginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 
publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing this resource, we have taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 

We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain from automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attribution The Google "watermark" you see on each file is essential for informing people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liability can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 



at |http : //books . google . com/ 



3 3433 08181436 4 



\ 



I 




r 



"W^zed by Google • 



.^' — N 



\ \ 






Digiti 



zed by Google 



\ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORICAL 

ENCYCLOPEDIA 



OF 



ILLINOIS 

EDITED BY 

Newton Bateman, LL. D. Paul Selby, A. M. 




AND HISTORY OF 



CARROLL COUNTY 



edited by 
Charles L. Hostetter 

VOLUME II. 
ILLUSTRATED 



CHICAGO 

MUNSELL PUBLISHING COMPANY 

PUBLISH £R.&..- • ; •..*•••..%•/ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



89^^^*''^^ 



In the rirst century of the Christian era, Tacitus (perhaps the 
greatest of Roman historians) wrote that the object of history 
was '*to rescue virtuous acts from the oblivion to which the 
want of records would consign them." 






» • • • • »- 



Digiti 



zed by Google 








TWnSSN'. 



TWP.^dM^ 



7WKS0M 



Google 






iFUBUC 



ItU-OK^ 



*?rJJ;u;oxTW*! 



Digiti 



zed by Google 




SOLDIERS' MONUMENT, MT. CARROLL 




COURT HOUSE. MT. CARROLL 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



Digiti 



zed by Google 






PREFACE 



In compiling this history of Carroll County the object has been to record 
facts relating to the lives of people who settled in this locality, beginning with 
the first settlements of an unoccupied country, to the end that a permanent 
record might be made which will be accessible for an unlimited time to those 
who have an interest therein. The life of a man, his achievements, what he 
has accomplished during his life, «an be perpetuated in no better way, or 
preserved longer or more permanently than by the art of printing. It enables 
us to read the past, a reverence for which, a distinguished author says, is the 
basis for all sound progress. 

For a work of this kind facts have to be sought for ; no one volunteers informa- 
tion ; it has to be dug out of musty records or drawn from, dormant and uncer- 
tain memories. One often finds very little wheat among a great deal of chaff. 

It has been an interesting work, because it relates to the very beginning of 
the settlement of a new land, heretofore unknown and uncivilized. Interesting 
also because it covers a time of unprecedented progress in the arts and sciences ; 
in the application of modem genius and thought to the amelioration of the 
physical conditions under which the Jyioneers lived- and toiled. Changes have 
taken place that have indeed been marvelous, and beyond the imagination of 
the most visionary pioneer. Conditions now are so different from those under 
which our grandfathers and grandmothers lived, that intelligent comparisons 
are almost impossible. Nearly all things are new and the former things have 
passed away. The age of iron and invention is now supreme. So wonderful 
and rapid have been the changes which can be recounted by persons now living 
that it is utterly impossible to predict what the future may bring forth. 

The principal reason for undertaking this work was to preserve many of 
the facts concerning the early history of this county, which otherwise would 
soon have been obliterated by the passing of time. It is now nearly a hundred 
years since the first permanent settlement was made in Carroll County, and 
very few of the adult settlers of the first fifty years are now living. 

Friends of the undertaking have helped where they could. Many more no 
doubt would have lent the editor a helping hand had they been called upon. 
We are especially under obligations to the following persons for valuable assist- 
ance and information furnished, which has added greatly to the interest of the 
work : Henry Elsey, of Elkhom Grove ; W. H. Hurless, for the use of the old 
files of the Mirror; George A. Royer, Secretary of the Old Settlers Association, 
for the use of their records ; Bernie Holland, Secretary of the Sailors and Sol- 
diers Association, for the use of their records; W. H. Dresback, of Lanark; 



Digitized by 



Google 



F. M. Schults, of Chadwick; S. J. Holland, of Thomson; H. N. Parsons, for 
his history of York Township, and to Nathaniel Miles, for his very interesting 
sketch of Mount Carroll. 

To others credit has been given in the work, especially to Mr. Samuel Pres- 
ton, for much interesting information which has been taken from his published 
articles on **The Pioneers of Mount Carroll.'' 

The editor also has had access to the notes of Dr. Henry Shimer, which he 
had made in contemplation of some time writing a history of the County. 
Much of this matter will be found in the chapter taken from the manuscript 
of the Hon. James Shaw, which he had placed in the hands of the publishers 
prior to his death. 

The compilation of this history has been made intermittently at such times 
as could be spared from business hours, and on this account it may be lacking, 
in a few cases, in continuity ; nevertheless to make the work accurate and trust- 
worthy has been the first consideration. 



^^==6.^j! Sc^^xt^j^ 




Digitized by 



Google 



INDEX 



CHAPTER I. 
PHYSICAL CHARACTERISTICS OF CARROLL COUNTY. 

Western Boundary — ^Magnificent Trees — Game — Dyson's Lake — Drain- 
age Ditch — Apple River — Rush Creek — Ridge Road — The Peca- 
tolikee — The Waukarusa — Savanna Ridge Road — Johnson Creek — 
First County Ditch — Flowing Wells — High Hill — Improvements 
— Lead Mines — Iron Mines — Coalite Mines — Indian Mounds — Mr. 
Pidgeon's Work — Traditions of De-Coo-Dah — Plum River Indian 
Mounds — Arnold's Grove Indian Mounds — Mounds in Mount Car- 
roll Township— York Township Mounds — Stone Relics — The Dalles 
of the Waukarusa— The Prairie 617-626 

CHAPTER II. 

HISTORICAL SKETCH OF CARROLL COUNTY, AS DELIVERED BY 
HON. JAMES SHAW, AT LANARK, ILLINOIS, ON JULY 4, 1876 
AT A FOURTH OF JULY CELEBRATION THERE 
HELD AND OLD SETTLERS MEETING. 

Ancient Ownership — Northwestern Territory — Jo Daviess County — 
Savanna First Town — New County Officers — County Commissioners 
Court — First Circuit Court Held in the County — Removal of County 
Seat Prom Savanna — Court House Built — Members of the Legisla- 
ture — Early Settlements — First Settlement in Carroll County — 
Savanna Settled — First School House — First Trail — Tavern Rates — 
Cherry Grove Settlement — Elkhorn Grove Settlement — ^Marking the 
Way — ^York Township Early Settlers— rHow They Came — York 
Township Named — ^Preston Prairie and Mount Carroll Settlements 
— 1837 Original Mill Company P'ormed — First Religious Meeting — 
The Mill Company— Stag Point— First School— First Mail— The 
Seminary — The Academy — Early Settlement in Wysox — Indians — 
— A Pioneer Lost — Jumping a Claim — Shelving Rock Shanty — 
Rattlesnakes — Inventive Genius — Names of Places — Straddle Creek 
— Early Settlement — Agricultural Society — Early Premiums 
Awarded — News Papers — Magnitude 1876 — War Record 627-651 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER III. 

THE PIONEERS, WHERE THEY CAME PROM, AND HOW THEY 

GOT HERE. 

Canal Boat Traveling — Steam Boat Trip — Covered Wagons — Prairie 
Fires— By the Great Lakes — Those Who Did Not Come — ^Postage — 
Battled With Many Difficulties— Happiest People— Savanna Pio- 
neersH-Left Galena 1828— Strong Hands, Stout Hearts— Bob Upton 
— Savanna A Trading Post — Rivers Commercial Highways — Black 
Hawk War — Flight, Anxious Mothers — Love of Pioneering — David 
Emmert and His Family, Samuel M. Hitt, Nathaniel Halderman — 
Building the I\Iill at ^Mount Carroll— Boarding the Hands— Store 
Built — Lodging the People — Caroline Wade — Land. Sales — Hard; 
Times, Scarcity of Money — Baptismal Pool — The Graveyard, First 
Grave — First Newspaper Printed in Mount Carroll — ^Pioneers Con- 
tinued, Doctors Abraham and John L. Hostetter — First Bank — 
Breaking out of the Civil War — Depreciated Currency — John 
Irvine, Sr. — ^Weddings, Births and Deaths in the Log Cabin — Miss 
Anna Hostetter 651-665 

CHAPTER IV. 
THE FORTY-NINERS. 

Gold Accidentally Discovered in California — Ways of Getting There — 
Excitement Spreads — Lives of the Gold Miners — First Party From 
Mount Carroll — Pierce and Yontz Drowned — The Barber Incident 
— Hardships Endured — The March Began — Those From Savanna — 
The Emmert Party — Evan Rae Elected Captain — Shottenkirk's 
Diary — Snow Constantly in Sight in June — Crossing Green River — 
Daring Act of Heroism — Another Party Leaves Mount Carroll — The 
Mumma Party — Government of the Gold Seekers — Franklin Lang- 
worthy 's Book — Abandon Wagons, Pack on AnimaJs — Mount Carroll 
1854— The Return 665-672 

CHAPTER V. 

ORGANIZATIONS. 

Protective Leagues — First Lyceum — Horse-Thieves — ^Prairie Bandits — 
Vigilantes — Elkhom Grove Compact — The Grange Movement — 
Granges — Profits of Insurance — Fraternal Insurance — Mutual Fire 
Insurance 672-677 

CHAPTER VI. 

SOLDIERS AND PATRIOTIC ORDERS. 

The Grand Army of the Republic — Nase Post No. 80— Objects— Wo- 
man's W. R. C. No. 95, :\Iount Carroll— Shiloh Post No. 85— 
Shiloh W. R. C. Lanark— Illinois W. R. C. Gazette— Objects of the 
W. R. C 677-682 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER VII. 

PATRIOTIC ORDERS— Continued 

R. M. A. Hawk Post, 406— W. R. C, Savanna— George Kridler Post, 575 
— W. R. C, Milledgeville — Holman Post, 579 — ^Recaptured Flags — 
AV. R. C, Thomson— Holden Putnam Post, 646— Camp Sons of Vet- 
erans— W. R. C, Shannon— Dr. John L. Hostetter Post, 785 W.— 
R. C. Chadwick— R. M. A. Hawk Post, 406 Savanna 682-688 

CH.VPTER Vlli. 

THE SOLDIERS AND SAILORS SOCIETY OF CARROLL COUNTY. 

Organized at Lanark — Milledgeville Meeting — Monument Committee — 
Action of the County Board — Committee Appointed by Board — Re- 
port of Joint Committee — Dedication of the Monument — The Pro- 
cession — The Speeches — History of the Monument — Inscriptions — 
The Statues — Height of Monument — Reunion Meetings — Savanna 
Selected as Place of Meeting 688-693 

CHAPTER IX. 

CARROLL COUNTY, IMPROVEMENT AND PROGRESS. 

Stage Lines — ^Prairie Fires — Finances — County Incorporated — Census 
1840 — Census 1910 — Decrease Accounted for — Former Citizens 
Scattered — Emigration — Progress — The Threshings — The Banner 
Corn County — County Officers — Railroads, Valuation — Rural 
Route*— Valuation of Property— Taxes 693-698 

CHAPTER X. 

CHADWICK AND FAIR HAVEN TOWNSHIP— LANARK AND ROCK 

CREEK TOWNSHIP. 

Cnadwick — Fair Haven Township — German Settlers — ^Lanark — Old 
House— Fourth of July, 1876— Early Days— Business, 1911— Water- 
works — Telephone System — Factories — Rock Creek Township — First 
Settlers 698-702 

CHAPTER XI. 

CHERRY GROVE— FREEDOM— LIMA, TOWNSHIPS. 

Cherry Grove — Stage Lines — Racine and Mississippi Railroad — George 
Town — ^Wood Lots — Forest Fires — ^Wild Ginseng — Early Settlers-r- 
Lincoln and Douglas Debate — Freedom Township — Arnold's Grove 
— Hunting Grounds of the Indians — Early Settlers— AVages — Horti- 
culture — Orchards — Lima Township ^702-705 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER XII. 

VILLAGE OF MILLEDGEVILLE— WYSOX— ELKHORN GROVE 

TOt^NKSHIPS. 

Milledgeville — Original Plat — ^Wysox Township — Early Settlers — Elk- 
horn Grove Township — The People — Log Rollings — Old Center 
School House — Methodist Church — Hand Saw-Mill — First Water 
Power Mills— A Go-Devil— A Dutch Oven— The Sucker Trail— A 
Pigeon Trap — Choice Dishes — Intoxicating Liquors — A Valuable 
Load — Names of Early Settlers — War Record — The Underground 
Railroad— Hazlehurst 705-713 

CHAPTER XIII. 

MOUNT CARROLL, CITY AND TOWNSHIP— SALEM TOWNSHIP. 

City of Mount Carroll — Mayors — Public Library — Caroline Mark Home 
Business Enterprises — Churches — Civic Societies — Frances 
Shimer School — Mount Carroll Township— First Mill — First School 
— Occupation of Farmers — Salem Township — Interesting Incidents 
— Cyclones — A Log School House — Special Crops 713-721 

CHAPTER XIV. 

SAVANNA CITY AND TOWNSHIP— VILLAGE OF SHANNON AND 

TOWNSHIP. 

Savanna City — ^Buildings — Banks — Telephone Company — Manufactur- 
ing — Fishing — Newspapers — Early Settlers — First School Teacher 
— Religious Organizations — Business Firms — Cemetery Association 
— Electric Light Plant — Savanna Township — Shannon — Grain 
Market — Lumber — The Shannon Telephone Company — Shannon 
Township — First Settlers — The Wheat Crop — First Threshing 
Machines 721-727 

CHAPTER XV. 

VILLAGE OF THOMSON— TOWNSHIPS OF YORK, WASHINGTON AND 

WOODLAND. 

Thomson — Creameries — Melon Market — Centennial Celebration — ^York 
Township — First Settlement — Bluffville — First Fair — Argo — Law- 
yers and Ministers — Old Point Bluff — Washington Township — 
Early Settlers — ^Wolves — Arnold 's Landing — Portsmouth — Marcus 
Train Robbery — Woodland Township — Saw-Mills — Hay Family — 
Cheese Factory 727-733 

CHAPTER XVI. 

BIOGRAPHICAL. 

The Part of Biography In General History — Citizens of Carroll County 
and Outlines of Personal History — Personal Sketches Arranged In 
Encylopedic Order 735-935 



Digitized by 



Google 



PORTRAITS 



Bashaw, William 622 

Bashaw, Mrs. William 622 

Beattie, James P 630 

Beattie, Mrs. James P 630 

Becker, Egbert T. E 638 

Becker, Sarah C 640 

Browning, Matilda 648 

Browning, William F 648 

Busell, David C 656 

Chambers, Jacob L 664 

Chambers, Mrs. Jacob L 664 

Colehour, Mary J 674 

Colehour, Samuel P 672 

Connell, John R 682 

Connell, Mrs. John R 682 

Cushman, Josiah B 690 

Demmon, Eliza 700 

Demmon, John F 698 

Deuel, Horace C 708 

Deuel, Martha B 708 

Diehl, Fred S 712 

Eckman, James A 716 

Eckman, Mrs. James A 716 

French, Norman D 720 

Fuh^th, Adam 724 

Galpin, Daniel A. 726 

Galpin, Mrs. Daniel A 726 

Hacker, William P 730 

Hacker, Mrs. William P 732 

Hartfi^ld, Ernest M 736 

Hathaway, James 742 

Hawk, Ella 748 

Hawk, Hugh C. . . . T. 746 

Henze, Fred C 752 

Henze, Mrs. Fred C 752 

Hoerz, Cora E .758 

Hoerz, David 756 

Hoffman, John 762 

Hoffman, Mrs. John 762 



Holland, Smith J 766 

Holland, Mrs. Smith J 766 

Hostetter, Charles L 617 

Landon, George W 770 

Landon, Mrs. George W 770 

Livengood, Zachariah T 774 

Livengood, Mrs. Zachariah T 774 

Mackay, William 778 

Mark, Caroline 782 

McNamer, Hiram 786 

McNamer, Marie 786 

Meyer, Frederick, W 790 

Meyer, Mrs. Frederick W 790 

Miller, Daniel M 908 

Miller, Herman 794 

Miller, Mary L 908 

Myers, George 798 

Nipe, Amelia 848 

Nipe, William E 802 

Parker, John C. 806 

Parker, Mrs. John C 808 

Patch, Benjamin L. 812 

Rauser, Christian G 816 

Rauser, Mrs. Christian G 816 

Root, George A. 822 

Root, George A 826 

Root, Helen F 824 

Root, Marvin 820 

Runnels, Burget F. 830 

Schick, Eli 834 

Schick, Jones 836 

Schick, Mary E 838 

Shaw, James 842 

Shepard, Adelia 848 

Shepard, Martin 846 

Smith, Margaret A 854 

Smith, William W 852 

Snively, John R 858 

Snow, Charles P 862 



Digitized by 



Google 



Snow, Sarah A 864 

Spealman, Joseph, 868 

Spealman, Mary 870 

Sprecher, Louis H 874 

Sprecher, Nancy J 876 

Stedman, Ira M 880 

Stedman, Mrs. Ira M 880 

Steffens, Joseph 884 

Steffens, Orinda 886 

Strickler, Jacob H 890 

Sword, Samuel 894 

Sword, Mrs. Samuel 894 

Taylor, James and Family 898 

Thorpe, Lucius 902Zuck, John H. and Family 



Thorpe, Phoebe A. 902 

Turner, Elmira 908 

Turner, Joshua 908 

Turner, Silas E 906 

Turner, Mrs. Silas E 906 

Warner, Joseph A. and Family 912 

Watson, Otho 916 

Watson, Sarah 918 

Wolf, Amos 922 

Wolf, Mrs. Amos 924 

Zelenka, Henry 928 

Zelenka, Mrs. Henry 928 



.932 



Digitized by 



Google 



ILLUSTRATIONS 



Carnegie Library 660 

Caroline Mark Home 634 

Castle Rock 618 

College Hall 704 

County Farm Houses .... 668 

Court House 617 

Dearl^m Hall 694 

Devil's Back-Bone 618 

Electric Light Station . . 678 

Falls of the Waukarusa 634 

First Log House in Carroll County 652 

First Store in Mt. Carroll 644 

Giants Tea Table 626 

Hathaway Hall 704 

Map of Carroll County 617 

Metcalf Hall 686 

Old Stone Court House 652 

Poets Rock 634 

Scene Across the Campus 686 

Scene on the Waukarusa 626 

Soldiers' Monument 617 

Stone House at Wilderberg 660 

Tennis Court 694 

The Old MUl 660 

The Twin Sisters 618 

Water Works Plant 678 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 




^^ v^;:;^£3t^^ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



i 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



CHAPTER I. 



PHYSICAL CHABACTERISTICS 
CARROLL COUNTY. 



OF 



nlng sloughs forming many wooded islands. Tlie 
principal of tliese is Tiirkey Slougli in the 
southwest comer of the county, between this 
and the meandering slough, so called, is Big 
Island, neict east Little Island and Marble 
Island, and Marble Slough, so named after an 
early settler. 



WESTERN BOUNDABT — MAGNIFICENT TREES— GAME 
— DT80N*8 LAKE — ^DRAINAGE DIICH — ^APPLE RIVER 
— RUSH CREEK — RIDGE ROAD— THE PECATOUKEE 
— THE WAUKARUSA — SAVANNA RIDGE ROAD — 
JOHNSON CREEK — ^FIRST COUNTY DITCH — FLOW- 
ING WELLS — HIGH HILL— IMPROVEMENTS — ^LEAD 
MINES — ^IRON MINES — eOAUTE MINES — INDIAN 
MOUNDS — MR. PIDGB0N*8 WORK — TRADIIIONS OF 
DE-COO-DAH — ^PLUM RIVER INDIAN MOUNDS — AR- 
NOLD'S GROVE INDIAN MOUNDS — MOUNDS IN 
MOUNT CARROLL TOWNSHIP — YORK TOWNSHIP 
MOUNDS — STONE REUCS — THE DALLES OF THE 
WAUKARUSA — THE PRAIRIE. 

Before entering upon the history of the people 
who made their homes in this beautiful country, 
it may be well to consider the natural conditions 
they found here; conditions which determined 
them to cast their lot here, and to build up com- 
munities and create a new civilization for them- 
selves; a country and a civilization which they 
might leave as an Inheritance for the genera- 
tions that should follow them. 

WESTERN BOUNDARY 

The great Mississippi river, any school boy or 
girl will tell you, is the longest river in the 
world, it bounds the county on the west; the 
thread of the main channel of the river is the 
state and county line. The eastern bank of the 
river in the south part of the county is bordered 
with timber interspersed with bayous and run- 



MAGNIFICENT TREES 

In early days these islands were covered with 
magnificent trees, c^me were nut bearing trees, 
the fruit of some was a very large hidcory not 
and there were smaller shellbark hickory nuts 
and walnuts in great abundance. Here the 
s(iuirrels, of which there were several varieties, 
did not want for a plentiful store of nuts for 
winter use. Neither did the early settlers who 
greatly relished this addition to their not exten- 
sive bill of fare. 

GAME 

The waters were filled with the finest kinds 
of game fish, and game of all kinds was very 
abundant, on the islands; and on the waters 
there were several kinds of wild geese and a 
great variety of ducks, and there were also wild 
turkeys and deer, and pigeons in great numbers. 

THE SAND RIDGB 

East of the islands is a treeless almost lev^ 
plain, called the Sand ridge, about five miles in 
width, not much above the level of the river In 
high water, extending from below Savanna 
south between the bluffs and the river, to the 
southern boundary of the county. 

DYSON'S LAKE, DRAINAGE DITCH 

Situated near the eastern boundary of this 
plain, in Mount Carroll and York Townships 1b 



617 



Digitized by 



Google 



61^ 



HLSTOBY OF CAKBOLL COUNTY 



gnklMk lake, «al>d also Dyson's Uke, alter 
WL.Iauk I>7M», a i»^>o«er of 1S3T. wbo took up 
a c:a;ak oo th^ vestem sLore of tbe lake. At- 
teof^XA bare been jsade to dnin tbis lake br 
jiiggiT^ a ditch Uuoaj^ \awAj.n^ marsh s^omid 
i^jrthwMTd to Plmn itrer, bot they hare OBly 
mK<^<«ded in lovering the surface at the water 
in the lake a few feet, and draiBin^ a part of 
the snrrooxMliiis lands tenqwraril j ; the ditch 
has forarlably been filled op with aand and 
ntud, washed into It. by beaTy floods in the 
strcaoM to die east of it, partScnlarlj Deer 
creek, which flowing: west past Hickory Grore, 
tarries down from the liills a great deal of the 
soil, which is deposited fai the ditch, fiperfaiTly 
when tlie waters in tlie MissisBippi and Plum 
rlrers are bij^ Tliere is rery little fall from 
the lake and con a eg ne nt ly no cnrrent mnning 
northward to carry the sediment out of the 
ditcli, on acooont of wiiich conditions it seems 
to be an impracticable nndertaldns to drain Son- 
foil lake The first ditch was dng: fai 1871 t^ 
die coonty and cost nearly seren tiMMisand dol- 
lars and was paid from tlie sale of swamp 
lands swriesfffolly drained by the county ditcti, 
nmnliij^ soatb throng the Willow Island tract 
of land. Ttie last attempt to drain this lake 
was made by the owners of land to be benefitted 
onder the drainage law. The ditdi, bowers, 
filled op as before and an attempt is now 
being made to pomp the water oot of the lake 
into the ditch. 

APPLE anrES — sush cieek 

Apple rirer flows throogh tlie northwest com^ 
of the coonty and ^npties into the Mississippi 
river on Reotlon 11, Range 2, Washington. 
Townxblp. At itn mouth Is Apple River Island. 
A little farthor east Rosh creek flows through 
the renter of the same township, on Section 17 ; 
in an early day It was McKlllups dam and 
water jjower. This stream empties Into the 
great river on Section 28, where the Burling- 
ton Railroad crosses this creek. A little west 
of the bridge near Marcus station. Is where the 
not<*d train robbery o«*urre<l in 1902. One of 
the prlnciiwl tributaries of Rush creek Is Camp 
creek. It gets its name from the fact that 
during the Blackhawk War and about the time 
of the attack on the fort at Elizabeth a large 
iKxIy of Indians were camped at the large spring 



in the beaotifuj Ta::ey whl-ii Is ttie headwaters 
of the «^Teek. 

MCTAKLAXD'S KA.T 

A little fnrtlier down the rirer frooi the mootli 
of Bosh creek is McFarlaiMrs bay, in eaiiy days 
nsed as a favorite and safe place for wintering 
rafto of pine logs that were then floated down 
tlie river from the pineries, also for wintering 
steamboats. Below the bay the rirer flows 
qoite dose to the high blidEB» in early days 
called the Council BlolEs of tbe onwr MiasiaBippi 
river. They are the highest blofEs anywhere 
along the river and the most pi Ooi esi ni e; here 
can be seen high opon one perpendicolar bloff 
the profile of an Indian face. In the^e blolEs is 
also the noted Bob Upton's cave. In early days 
steamboats homed wood and got large sopplies 
from Savanna. At one time, great piles of red 
cedar taken from the blofls above the town were 
to be seen at Savanna waiting for the arrival 
of some steamboat This gave some of the early 
settlers the imi^ession that the moch talked of 
S&vanna where they were to land, was 'Vmly 
a wood pile." For some years the railroads 
consomed great qoantities of wood to mal^e 
steam in the engines; they got large sopplies 
from timber along the riv«, most of wtiich be- 
longed to Uncle Sam, — conservation of the fbr- 
efets had not thai been thoo^t of. When wal- 
not wood became valoable the great walnot 
trees, coitories old, were filled by the wood- 
man's axe. Below Savanna is the big sloogh 
throogh which Plom river enters the Mississii^i 
river, west of tills was Savanna lake. 

amOB BOAD — THE PECATOLIKEB 

Between the valley of Rosh cre^ and Plimi 
river vall^ is a ridge road from which fine 
views are had over both vallejrs. Plom river 
is the longest stream in the coonty. The gov- 
ernment sorvey gave its Indian name as Pecato- 
likee and marked it, •'navigable," op to "Bow- 
en's Ferry," jost l)elow where the mill dam of 
Bowen's mill used to be. In the north part of 
Woodland its two branches East and West Plom 
river come together, the east branch is fed by 
Crane's run, on which was Crane's fort ; further 
up is the Lyn Grove branch, which rises near 
Lyn Grove on Section 16, Cherry (irove Town- 
ship and Cherry Grove branch, on Section 13, 



Digitized by 



Google 




CASTLt: KUCK ON IEIL: WAl KAUISA 




THE TWIN SISTERS 




DEVIL'S BACK-BONE 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



j •'-^ PEVf r-uf 






Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



619 



Freedom Township, on which In years gone 
by was Boliuger's saw mill. 



Willow island tract, leading south into White- 
side county, added to the area drained. 



THE WAUKABUSA 

In the south part of Woodland township the 
waters of the Waukarusa flow into Plum river, 
and about twenty rods below its junction on 
Section 32, there was a sulphur spring, so 
marked on early maps. The Waukarusa takes 
its rise south and east of Shannon, the Badger 
springs starting one of the head branches. Cedar 
creek is a small stream that flows into it from 
the south a little above its junction with Plum 
river, tlfe Pecatolikee. At the head of Cedar 
creek there is a spring whjch feeds a fish pond 
made by Samuel Preston, in which he raised 
many fine fish. 

SAVANNA BIDOE BOAD 

Plum river and its branches drain the entire 
north tialf of the county. Along the dividing 
line between Plum river valley and Johnson 
creek valley on the south, there is a ridge road 
to Savanna. From this road there are beauti- 
ful views over the valley on either side extend- 
ing for many miles, and toward the west as far 
as the Iowa bluffs along the great river. When 
the early settlers came from Savanna, having 
disembarked there from a Mississippi steam- 
boat, after a long and wearisome journey, and 
traveled along this road and looked eastward 
over the beautiful prairies, there spread out be- 
fore them, they thought they had indeed reached 
the "Promised Land." 

JOHNSON CBEEK, FIBST COUNTY DITCH 

The southern half of the county is drained by 
Soulier streams. Johnson creek in the west part 
lias its beginning near the center of Salem town- 
ship, flows through the southeast comer of 
Mount Carroll township, thence through York 
toward the Mississippi river bottoms. There 
originally it was lost in the sands, but some 
erterprising farmers of that township made 
dykes on both sides of the channel so as to con- 
fine its waters in flood time, thus recovering 
from the floods and consequent standing waters, 
some of the most valuable Fand in the oounty. 
The county ditch, dug in 1866, through the 



FLOWING WELLS 

In the northeast comer of York township on 
what was the Tomlinson farm is an artesian 
well. It was bored by some strangers, who 
came to this county prospecting, thinking that 
they would find coal because there was a shale 
saturated with some kind of oil cropping out In 
the neighborhood. They were skeptical of the 
way the geologists read the book of stone, viz. : 
tliat coal is not found in this geological forma- 
tion, and the deeper they bored the farther they 
were getting from the coal bearing rocks; they 
bored down through a very hard rock and at 
five hundred and fifty feet stmck a white sand 
stone so soft they could not secure a core, and 
water rose to the surface in a fine fiowlng well. 

In the city of Savanna they get a fine fiow of 
water by boring about four hundred and fifty 
t^et, and two of these wells supply the city 
with water. 

At Mount Carroll the city had a well 
drilled with the intention of going deep enough 
to get .flowing water,* but no water was reached 
except in small quantities, until at a depth of 
two thousand flve hundred feet the white sand- 
stone was stmck and the water rose to witliln 
forty feet of the surface ; it has been f requ^itly 
analyzed and found to be of the very finest qual. 
ity. This well is listed as one of the deep wells 
of the earth. 

Rock creek, the headwaters of which begin 
just south of the city of Lanark, flows south to 
the southwest corner of Wysox township, where 
it is joined by Otter creek which takes its rise 
in the east half of Rock creek township ; further 
east is Elkhorn creek whose headwaters drain 
I.lma township. It was so named on account 
of the elk horns that have been found in the 
grove of the same name, some of which are still 
preserved by citizens of the county. Further 
east and near the county line is Eagle creek ; in 
an early day en section 16 was Eagle creek mill 
dam. 

HIGH HILL — IMPBOVEMENTS 

On the ridge between the valleys of the Wau- 
karusa and Rock creek a little east and north of 
the southeast corner of Section 10 in Salem town- 
ship is what is called High Hill, said by the gov- 



Digitized by 



Google 



620 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



eminent surveyors to be the highest point in the 
county. Near here the roads cross, the one 
running east and west is called Cyclone Ridge, 
from the fact that on May 18, 1898 a cyclone 
passed along this road doing a great deal of 
damage. From this high hill there is a beauti- 
ful view looking out over the once prairie 
country, which was then treeless but is now 
dotted with farm houses, school houses and 
country churches with small clusters of trees 
and orchards about them. Spread out before 
the observer are variegated colored, cultivated 
fields, ctianglng color with the seasons of the 
year. Here and there can be seen the roofs of 
inunense bams and innumerable smaller build- 
ings for the housing of the farmer's grain, stock 
and machinery, and commodious dwellings in 
many of which at this day, are all the modem 
conveniences which tend to make life comfort- 
able, gas, light, heat and water systems, while 
wind mills and pumping engines enable the 
farmers to be no longer dependent upon springs. 
The numerous lines of poles remind the ob- 
' server that neighbor can talk with neighbor 
over the telephone, and all the world at large. 

MINES — LEAD 

From an early day considerable mining has been 
done for lead; principally in Woodland and 
Mount Carroll townships, although some lead 
has been mined in Savanna. 

The geologists say, the mode of the occurence 
of the galena In the upper mines of the 
Mississippi river is extremely simple. The geo- 
logical age of the groups of strata in which the 
ore Is found is lower Silurian. In these mines 
the principal lead bearing rock is a crystallne 
limestone from two hundred and fifty to two 
hundred and seventy-five feet In thickness where 
not partially removed by erosion. The upper 
portion of this formation is somewhat argil- 
laceous; the middle a very pure heavy bedded 
dolomite; the lower Silurian rock containing 
numerous flinty masses. This group of strata 
is locally known as the upper magnesian lime- 
stone. It is separated from a rock of very 
similar character, called the lower magnesian 
limestone, by three groups of strata, which 
are commonly designated as the blue lime- 
stone, the buff limestone and the St Peter's 
sandstone. The first of these is thin bedded, 
highly fossillferous purely calcareous rock. At 



Savanna large masses of the rock are composed 
of casts of peutamorits; some trilobites are also 
fcund there. The blue limestone Is from fifty 
to seventy feet in thickness; the buff fifteen to 
twenty and the sand stone eighty to a hundred. 
The blue and buff limestones are about the same 
geological age as the Trento and Black riv^ 
groups of the New York geological survey. 

The yield of the upper mines is gradually 
diminishing; and this will continue to be the 
case, since the extent of the lead bearing rock 
is limited and the vertical range of the crevices 
confined to a moderate thickness. There is no 
probability that paying mines will be discovered 
in the lower magnesian limestone. This cor- 
responds with the experience of the miners in 
this county; the crevices do not extend very 
deep and are usually very narrow and very 
few of them; no caves as in the mines about 
Galena, which often contained large quantities 
of lead ore. The early miners in Carroll county 
were usually stopped by the water coming 
into the shaft, in later years improved ma- 
chinery was used and the water lowered bat 
with no favorable results. No great strikes were 
ever made in these mines; sufficient mineral 
however was found to pay fair wages for the 
labor expended. The ground most dug over was 
the northwest quarter of the southeast quarter 
of Section 3 in Mt. Carroll township. This was 
called the Still House Forty Lead Mine. 
Whether it was dug over so much on account of 
Itb being productive of mineral or because it was 
convenient to the still-house, is a question. 

THE IBON IcmEB 

Ten years ago some gentlemen from St Paul, 
Minn., prospected quite extensively on Sections 
19 and 30 on the farm of Samuel B. Adams for 
iron ore and other minerals. They leased a 
number of other tracts for the same purpose. 
It was thought at one time that they would 
develop quite an extensive iron mine, and the 
matter of building a branch railroad from 
Savanna up the Plum river valley, to haul 
the ore to Chicago smelting furnaces was talked 
of; but what ore was taken out, said to be 
a fine quality of hematite ore, was hauled to 
Savanna by wagon loads and thence shipped by 
rail to Chicago; but not finding it in suffici^it 
quantity to warrant the erection of furnaces at 
the mine or the building of a railroad, the 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



621 



mine was abandoned. There were indications 
of a more valuable metal which the prospectors 
expected to find by going deeper into the earth, 
but BO much water interfered with the sinking 
of the shaft, that project was abandoned. Some 
of the farmers in that neighborhood still think 
there are yalnable minerals to be found under- 
lying their farms. A more certain fortune how* 
erer is to be gained by tilling the fertile soil 
on the surface. 

THE COALITE MINE 

This is situated on the farm that belonged to 
the late Beers B. Tomllnson on the southeast 
quarter of Section 35 In Mount Carroll town- 
ship. 

A strata of bituminous shale was discovered 
ill boring for coal. The vein is about six feet 
thick and covers over one hundred acres, so far 
as explored. The shale after undergoing a cer- 
tain process was found to make a very fine in- 
expensive painty especially useful in preserving 
lion. 

To manufacture the paint a company was 
formed at Freeport and incorporated, called the • 
Natural Carbon Paint Company. The late 
Michael Schauer of Shannon, until his recent 
death, was president of the company, which 
bought grounds and some buildings and erected 
others on the north bank of the Pecatonica 
river at Freeport Not having sufficient means 
to carry on the manufacture of the paint they 
leased the plant to a large paint manufactur- 
ing company of Chicago, who are preimring to 
do an extensive business. The process is to 
roast the shale In closed retorts, some gas comes 
off which is burned for heating the retorts, 
and tarry^ oil comes off, which has medicinal 
properties, which have not been thoroughly in- 
vestigated but it was found that there was a 
large percentage of carbolic acid in the tar. 

The i^ant is now used for reducing the shale 
to a dry powder, which is shipped to CSiicago 
where it is manufactured into paint. The capa- 
city of the plant is to use about a car load a day. 
It has to be hauled by. teams from the mine to 
the Mount Carroll station and loaded on the 
ears. This mine is not very far from the cutoff, 
ou the Chicago, Milwaukee and St Paul rail- 
road, and eventually a switch will probably be 
nm into the mine and shipments made by rail. 
This same kind of bituminous shale is found at 



another place in the county much nearer the 
railroad and more convenient for shipping or 
being manufactured into paint 

INDIAN MOUNDS 

Quite a number of Indian mounds are to be 
seen in different parts of the county. They are 
always objects of interest, and the unanswered 
questions arise, as to what human hands raised 
them, and when, and for what object? Certain 
it is, they were made by the aborigines and 
they are the only record there is of the exist- 
ence on this continent of an ancient people. 

A very interesting work on the mound build- 
ers was written by William Pidgeon of Mount 
Carroll, called the Traditions of De-Coo-Dah; 
published by Thayer, Bridgeman & Fanning 
N. Y. 1853. This work has been considered by 
archeologists to be a very valuable contribution 
ou the subject of which it treats. 

In our neighboring state of Wisconsin, great 
interest has been taken in the preservation of 
these prehistoric remains. The Wisconsin Ar- 
cheological Society, the State Federation of 
Womens' Clubs and local historical societies, 
have taken it in hand to procure the title to the 
land on which the mounds are found, and to 
convert these plats of ground into small parks, 
wherein the mounds can be preserved from de- 
struction. These parks are used by the public 
for holding field meetings, picnics and so forth. 

MB. PIDGBON'S WORK, THADITION OF DB-000-DAH 

The title to Mr. Pidgeon*s work, shows its 
scope, '^Traditions of De-Coo-Dah and Anti- 
quarian Researches; comprising Extensive Ex- 
plorations, Surveys and Excavations of the 
wonderful and mysterious earthen remains of 
the mound builders of America." 

'*The Traditions of the Last Prophet of the 
Elk Nation Relative to their Origin and Use, 
and the Evidences of an Ancient Population 
more numerous than the Present Aborigines." 
By William Pidgeon. 

"Embellished with seventy engravings descrip- 
tive of one hundred and twenty varying rela- 
tive arrangements, forms of earthem effigies, 
antique sculptures, etc. 

Mr. Pidgeon was one of the pioneers of Car- 
roll county, his daughter was the wife of John 
B. Christian, the first watchmaker and Jeweler 
in the town, who sold clocks and regulated the 
time for all the inhabitants. He told when the 



Digitized by 



Google 



622 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



sun was on the meridian from the shadow that 
his door jamb made with reference to a crack in 
the floor of his shop and thus obtained the cor- 
rect time. Tradition has It, that Mr. Pidgeon 
was a very intelligent gentleman, quite a learned 
man, spoke several languages. In conversing 
with the Northern Indians and with De-Goo-Dah 
he employed an interpreter. It is said Mr. 
Pidgeon's treatise was flrst written in blank 
verse after the manner of Homer, but the sub- 
ject being such a matter of historical fact, his 
publishers advised rewriting it in prose. It is 
further said that he wrote the book over the 
cattle pens, where he was employed in feeding 
the stock on the slops from the distillery in 
Mount Carroll. 

PLUM BIVEB MOUNDS 

In Chapter XXII, page 175, he gives this ac- 
count of the "Unfinished Earth Works on Strad- 
dle Creek, Illinois:" 

"There is, at the junction of Straddle creek 
with Plum river, four miles west of Mount Car- 
roll, a group of mounds some of which are ap- 
parently complete, but many others are in an 
unfinished state. 

"De-Coo-Dah represents these works to have 
been constructed by a people who were ac- 
customed to bum their dead. The rings or 
circular mounds shown in the cut, page 59 are 
from twelve to twenty feet In diameter, and 
about two feet in height The earth appears to 
have been thrown from within, forming a ring 
and leaving the interior in the form of a basin. 

"Each family formed a circle that was held 
socred as a family burying place or funeral 
mound; and when one of the family died, the 
body was conveyed to this place, and fuel being 
prepared was placed in the basin and burned. 
After the body was entirely consumed a thin 
covering of earth was spread over the ashes. 
The next death called for similar ceremonies, 
and so on until the enclosure was filled. Then 
the ring was raised about two feet, and 
thus prepared for further use; and this process 
was repeated as often as became necessary, the 
diameter of the circle being gradually diminished 
at the erection of each addition to the ring, 
giving it finally a conical form. Some of the 
rings shown in the cut are full, and present a 
flat surface. There are also two battle burial 
mounds attached to this group. I sank a shaft 



in one and was fully satisfied of the correctness 
of the traditional history, from the ftict that 
after sinking about ten inches, I struck a bed 
of earth and ashes mingled with particles of 
charcoal, extending to the bottom of the shaft, 
which I sank some twelve inches below the 
bottom of the surrounding surface. This mound 
was constructed in the form of a tortoise with- 
out head, tail or feet, and I presume it contains 
the ashes of a portion of that nation." He exam- 
ined several other mounds and found them con- 
structed in the same manner and composed of 
the same material. 

Continuing, Mr. Pidgeon says, "In the vicinity 
of this group and about forty perches to the 
south of it, there is another complete group, 
where tumular burial was practiced, without 
fire. The traces of bodies in decomposition are 
evident Drs. A. and J. L. Hostetter sunk shafts 
in two of these mounds, in one of which they 
found the jaw bone with the teeth of a human 
being apparently of gigantic proportions. They 
still retain it in their drug store at Mount Car- 
roll. I presume however, that this was a relic 
of some recent deposit, as there were also other 
. bcnes in better state of preservation in the same 
mound. The other mound adjacent to It was 
found upon examination to contain nothing more 
than the usual strata of decomposed matter. 
After a thorough examination of the group, I 
was satisfied that there had either been a 
change at some past era, in the common mode 
of burial, or that region was inhabited by an 
immense population, at different eras, who prac- 
ticed tumular burial in different ways. The 
traditions of De-Ooo-Dah sanction the latter con- 
clusion; and it is further corroborated by the 
fact that, west of the Mississippi, as far as our 
researches have extended, we have found in all 
burial mounds examined, the traces of fire In 
deposit of charcoal and ashes, while on the east 
side of that river from the junction of the 
Missouri to the Fall of St Anthony we have only 
found an occasional Isolated mound of that 
description with the single exception of the 
group on Plum river. 

"From these facts In connection with the tra- 
ditions of De-Coo-Dah, respecting the ancient 
luhabitants of these regions, as of various 
languages, customs and color, we are led to the 
conclusion that at least two distinct races of 
men have occupied this territory at different 
eras, and that both became nationally extinct, 



Digitized by 



Google 




< 

a: 

< 

< 



S 




< 

PQ 



Digitized by 



Google 



. ■/ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



623 



anterior to the occupation of the present Indian 
race.*' 

That these mounds are ancient we know, from 
the fact that the North American Indians were 
never l«nown to have erected tumuli at any era 
known to history or tradition. They did how- 
ever use these ancient mounds as places for 
burying their dead, in shallow graves. 



ABNOLD^S GBOVE INDIAN MOUNDS 

About two and one-half miles north of Mount 
Carroll, on the north side and close to the 
Arnold's Grove road, in the field of Mrs. John 
Souders, are four very interesting Indian 
mounds. They are conical mounds about sev- 
enty-five feet apart, built on the top of the ridge, 
raised four or five feet above the surrounding 
surface, each about thirty feet in diameter at 
the base, and el^t or ten feet across the top, 
which is depressed, forming a basin in the center. 
About forty years ago some professional men of 
Mount Carroll dug into one of these mounds, the 
most easterly one perhaps, as it is disfigured 
now ; they found notliing . but bones of some 
human skeletons. There was then growing on 
some of these mounds walnut trees two feet in 
diameter. These mounds are being rapidly 
destroyed, the depression on the center holds the 
water from rain and melting snow, and the hogs 
running in the pasture have made hog- 
wallows in the top of the mounds, gradually 
carrying the dirt out so that they have become 
quite deep holes, of irregular shape. It is un- 
fortunate that something cannot be done to pre- 
serve these ancient monuments. 



MOUNDS IN MOUNT CABBOLL TOWNSHIP 

On the ridge on the Bristol farm, on the 
southeast quarter of section 19, there are three 
or four conical Indian mounds, and about two 
miles south of these on the edge of the blufiTs, on 
the old James Wilson farm, in section 29, there 
are several Indian mounds. These have been 
superficially examined and bits of skeletons and 
some relics found. The bluffs here overlook the 
lakes in the Mississippi valley, where there was 
an abundance of gafne. All the mounds thus far 
mentioned are on high ground, from them there 
is a fine vi^w of the surrounding country. 



YOBK TOWNSHIP MOUNDS 

There are three distinct Indian mounds on 
the northeast quarter of section 29 about two 
and a half miles northwest of the village of 
Thomson. These are on high ground overlook- 
ing the slough and the woods along the Missis- 
sippi river. These mounds are in a row north 
and south almost touching each other at the 
base and are ten or twelve feet above the 
level of the ground. From a distance they look 
quite prominent in the landscape. They seem to 
be made of sand from the ' surrounding land 
with a few rocks that must have been trans- 
ported to the place. In excavating so as to 
make an examination of the mounds these rocks 
interfered so that a thorough examination was 
not made, by a party that undertook it some 
thirty years ago. All that this party found in 
digging into the mound was the bones of the 
fingers of a human hand. 

In the same neighborhood on lower ground, 
there is one large Indian mound, said to be fif- 
teen rods across at the bottom. It seems to have 
been made of earth brought from a distance 
and originally was raised about twenty feet 
above the natural surface. Where it is located, 
it has the appearance of having been an island 
and if is supposed the earth of which it is com- 
posed was brought there in canoes, and the ob- 
ject in making it so high was to have the top 
above the high water in the Mississippi river. 
It was first dug into by some college students 
from the south of Thomson; some thirty skel- 
etons were unearthed by this party. Another 
explorer found in the mound a finger bone that 
had a thin thread of gold around it The bodies 
all lay with their feet toward the center of the 
mound as appeared from the skeletons found. 

Nearly every year there Is some one digging 
in this mound, out of idle curiosity to see what 
tliey can find. It is also being plowed over for 
farming purposes, and will soon be a thing of 
the past. Something ought to be done to arouse 
sufficient interest in the public so that all the 
mounds in the country will be preserved and 
protected from despoliation and destruction. 

STONE BELICS 

Many Indian arrows of great variety as to 
shape and size have been found in the county; 
also stone axes, weighing from two or three 



Digitized by 



Google 



624 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



ounces to thirteen and a half pounds, some of 
them very artistic and with perfectly grooved 
beads; skinning stones, amulets and a great 
variety of celts and some Paleoliths and some 
Neolithic heaps of small stone. These relics 
are all in the hands of private individuals. 
Dr. Rinedollar of Mount Carroll has a very fine 
collection, among which are fifteen stone axes 
nearly all of which are grooved, and over ^ve 
hundred arrow heads, about a peck, besides 
many other fine specimens of the work of the 
men of the stone age. Captain J. F. Allison had 
at one time, when he lived at Mount Carroll, a 
very fine collection of stone axes, found in this 
county. 

A permanent organization ought to be formed 
for the county, for the purpose of preserving 
historical treasures so that the collections may 
not be dissipated, and some of the specimens 
perhaps lost beyond recovery. 

During the World's Fair in Chicago, a very 
fine collection of stone arrow heads and stone 
axes, made by George Winters of specimens 
found in Carroll and Jo Daviess counties, was 
sold to the Illinois World's Fair Commission. 
After the fair it was given to the Archeological 
Exhibit of the University of Illinois. 

THE DALLES OF THE WAUKABUSA 

These now famous walls of rock and beau- 
tiful scenery begin just below the city park, 
Mount Carroll, at Point Rock park, as it is now 
called, and line the creek on either side for sev- 
eral miles. They are at some places a hundred 
feet or more in height almost perpendicular. In 
pioneer days they were crowned with great tall 
pines that towered an equal distance towards 
the sky. These walls of rock are so close to- 
gether at some places, they form what might be 
called a mountain gorge. They shut out the 
sunlight, except for a short time during the 
day, and in the hottest days in summer furnish 
a delightful shade and cool resort. At other 
places they also modify the climate in winter; 
so that at one place, it is as mild as the climate 
of St Louis and Southern Illinois ; here the paw 
paws grew and nowhere else so far north. 
These bushes used to fill the narrow valley along 
the stream, together with other shrubs and flow- 
ers that bel<mged to a more southern clime. The 
rocks, which were not entirely perpendicular, 
were covered with vegetation, and were fes- 



tooned at all seasons of the year with various 
kinds of flowers and vines ; in some of the damp 
nooks hanging moss drooped from the brandies 
of the cedars. In winter they were covered 
with the cedar, and the beautiful dark green hem- 
lock; that drooping over the rugged bluflte 
seemed to try to cover their nakedness. Int^- 
mingled with the green of the cedar and hem- 
lock, was the bitter sweet with its bright red 
berries. 

In spring time these lovely valleys were car- 
peted with flowers, the trilliums and hepaticas, 
pink, white, and some tinged with delicate blue, 
and the anemones and the bluebells, and as 
spring wore away and the great floods in the 
creek subsided, so as to make the many fords 
passable, one could see ftir up the rugged bluffs, 
the beautiful columbines, growing out of the 
crevices of the rocks and covering Jutting 
benches or steps that were only accessible by 
giant strides. There were many ferns, among 
which was the beautiful maiden hair fern and 
that wonder always of children, the walking 
fern, which in shady places had taken possession 
of the great moss-covered rocks that lay scat- 
tered about the shady valley of the creek. Here 
also grew that sweetest scented of flowers, the 
orchis spectabillB, of the same family as the lady 
slipper, which grew so bountifully in the woods 
in those days. Later in the fall of the year 
high up on the overhanging precipices where 
there did not seem to be soil enough for any- 
thing to grow but the mosses and the lichens, 
of which there was a great variety, grew the 
beautiful blue hair bell with its long black stem 
and bell shaped flower, the same that is so much 
prized by travelers in the mountains of Switier- 
land. 

When the country was new these dells were 
free to every one and were certainly very grand 
and beautiful as nature had flnished them. The 
entrance to the dells was by Poet's Bock. The 
usual way of seeing them was on horseback; 
horseback riding was a common means of trav- 
eling in those days. Parties were frequently 
formed for the purpose of going "down to the 
cave." Indeed there was no other way in early 
days to traverse the dells, on account of some 
twenty-seven times the creek had to be forded 
to go down as far as the cave. To gallop over 
the open prairie, and then plunge into the shady 
recesses of the dells was not an infrequent pas- 
time of the young people of the pioneers. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



625 



The cave was a great crevice in the wall of 
rock, and extended back from the face of the 
bluff a hundred feet or more, was enlarged, and 
extended deeper Into the ground by the miners 
digging for lead, which here was found in tiny 
veins running through the solid rock, so that it 
and some side chambers could be traversed by 
man for several hundred feet To get into the 
cave it was necessary to cross the creek at this 
place, either in a rude boat or perhaps a canoe 
made from a hollow log or on a temporary 
bridge of poles or planks made by ingenious 
youths, so that their best girls, they were all 
beet to some of the swains— could get into the 
cave. In later years the fords were improved 
80 that one could drive down to the cave, mainly 
through the interest which Judge Patch had 
tSLkean in having them repaired after every flood, 
which would often make them impassable and 
sometimes even change the course of the creek, 
as it does not run straight along its narrow 
way, but meanders from one high bluff across 
to another, then back again, and the valley it- 
self was by no means in a straight line, but 
wound about, some places doubling on itself 
in cutting through the hills, so that in travers- 
ing a distance of nearly two miles in a straight 
line it winds about for three miles or more. 
Below the cave is the grotto and along the 
way are many curious formations which have 
been given fanciful names, some of which have 
not been an improvement on those of the early 
pioneera What is now known as Point Rock, 
where one enters the dells, was called Poet's 
Rock by the young people of the pioneer days. 
Here the swains of early days were wont to 
retire to indite those tender epistles which won 
the hearts of the maidens of pioneer days. 
After this period was passed through the rook 
became a trysting place for happy lovers. 

In many places civilization has marred the 
beauty of these dalles, particularly where they 
extend through the village ; here a dam was built 
across the narrow valley to raise a water power 
of twenty feet fall for the Mount Carroll mill. 
In the early days this dam formed a beautiful 
dear lake, very de^ and filled with many 
kinds of game fish. In the summer time it was 
fine for boating and bathing and in winter for 
skating, more than a mile in extent, passing up 
1^ Day Spring and Day Spring Hollow, which 
latter places are now fortunately enclosed in the 
grounds of the Caroline Mark Home, and will in 



time be made into a beautiful park. When the 
first settlers came. Mount Carroll was the site 
of an Indian village, and when the mill dam 
was being buUt where the mill pond now is the 
skeletons of their tepees were still standing. 
Here it is told that an Indian squaw riding up 
the stream on her pony placed a foot on either 
bank and the white man called it Straddle 
Creek, but the Indian name is Waukarusa. 
which means, waist deep. 

Passing further up the stream and two miles 
from the city, are what might be called the up- 
per dalles of the Waukarusa. Here the natural 
growth of forest trees has been preserved, and 
the valley between the bluffs is still filled with 
great tall walnut, sugar maple, linden, ash and 
many kinds of oak and other trees, so that 
within the space of a few acres every kind 
of tree to be found in this latitude can be seen 
growing. Here also grows in great abundance 
the thong wood, of so much use to the Indians 
in tying together the bark with which they 
formed their canoes and wigwams. 

An ancient oak may be here seen that was 
probably growing when Columbus discovered 
America, a stately monarch of the forest, — 

"What gnarled stretch, what depth of shade is 

his," 
"There needs no crown to mark the forest's 

king." 

The body of this tree at its smallest girth is 
over ten feet in circumference ; al>out fifteen feet 
from the ground it divides into two enormous, 
almost perpendicular branches, one of which is 
over six feet in circumference, and the other 
over seven; it is sixty feet high and spreads 
seventy feet in width. In very early days this 
oak sheltered a hunter's log cabin; the hearth- 
stone of its fire place still remains to mark the 
spot where it stood; from which place can l>e 
seen in the distance, looking south, a spring 
where the deer and elk in early days used to 
come from the prairies to drink of its cool and 
refreshing waters. The oak and the violet, 
which are here such near neighbors, were a few 
years ago voted by the graded schools of Illinois 
to be the state tree and the state flower. This 
old oak overlooks a high bluff where there 
is a perpendicular wall of rock rising from the 
running water below, some flfty feet in height, 
and for several rods in length in a straight line, 
the top is fringed with low bushes and at the 



Digitized by 



Google 



626 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



upper end of the perpendicular wall of rock is 
a convenient crevice. Tbis place was used by 
the Indians in the early days for destroying 
great numbers of buffalos. Large herds of these 
animals roamed over the prairies of Illinois In 
early days. Like many wild animals, they were 
in the habit of following a leader, and were not 
easily deflected from the course he was pursu- 
ing. The Indians taking advantage of this fact 
substituted one of their number disguised as a 
buffalo, with a bison skin with head, ears and 
horns and no doubt the tail, so that the deception 
of the dumb animals was quite complete. The 
herd was then surrounded by the Indians and 
put to flight towards the one in disguise, who 
imitating the motion of the erstwhile leader fled 
towards the cliff with the whole herd following 
upon his heels. He took shelter in the crevice of 
the cliff. The herd having gained great 
momentum in that direction could not stop, if 
tbey would; those in the rear forced the fore- 
most on until they nearly all went over the brink 
of the precipice to their utter destruction. 

In the early days, all along the Waukarusa 
"bright old inhabitants,*' so called by the In- 
dians in a word translated from the Indian 
tongue, were entirely too numerous for one to 
be at ease when walking through the woods. 
This is another of several good reasons parties 
had for going down to the cave on horseback; 
these "bright old inhabitants** being very 
poisonous rattlesnakes. The reader will be glad 
to know that they are now exterminated In this 
neighborhood and it is seldom that one is found 
anywhere in the whole county. 

The catamount, that terror of the woods, lived 
in a cave below the cliff near this ancient oak, 
when the country was first settled by white men. 
He no doubt stretched his lithe body along the 
huge limbs of the old oak and with glaring eyes 
the blood-thirsty mouth was ready to drop down 
on his prey, the little rabbit that sought shelter 
in the depths of the tree's hollow trunks, or the 
gentle fawn that was enjoying the grateful 
shade under its spreading branches. 

In those days of the early settlers the wild 
pigeons came to this country in such great flocks 
as to form clouds that darkened the sun; they 
used to light on the old oak in great numt>ers to 
feed upon its acorns. 



Further down the stream, above a deep pool, 
there is a mass of rocks covered here and there 
with shrubs and cedars and tall trees, over which 
one can look when standing upon the hillside 
above. This place and scenery gave to the 
author of the, "Merchant Prince of Comville,*' 
some of his ideas, which have since become of 
world wide notoriety, especially in theatrical 
circles. This play is claimed by its author to 
contain the ideas which made such a great suc- 
cess of Edmond Rostand's great works "Cyrano 
De Bergerac,*' and "L*Aiglon,** and "Le Chan- 
tacler.** So near akin is all the world that the 
palaces of Paris hark back the echoes from the 
fern clad cliffs of the little stream in Illinois 
now called the Waukarusa. 

THE PBAIBIE 

Above the upper dells the explorer emerges 
upon the beautiful prairie, which extends for 
miles towards the rising sun. In early days it 
was thought these prairies would never be set- 
tled and farmed, although they are the most 
fertile lands in the country, because there was 
no water, no wood for building or fuel, nor for 
making fences to enclose the cultivated fields, 
to keep off the roving bands of cattle that 
grazed at large for miles around. The beauty of 
the scene was however, impressed upon the 
early settler. In the springtime the prairie was 
a delicate green; among the blades of grass 
were such tiny flowers, as the violet and 
the strawberry, and many others of delicate 
tints and of unknown names; these covered 
valley and knoll, making a tracldess sea of 
billowy verdure. The observer soon became 
aware that he u:ust take note of his bearings, 
or he would be lost among the green knolls, as 
there was nothing to mark his way. The hori- 
zon was an unbroken circle of green which met 
the sky. As the season advanced toward mid- 
summer in the grass were delicate tiny flowers, 
— the violet and others more conspicuous and 
gaudy. In the autumn, yellow was the pre- 
dominating color of the flowers which were 
then very beautiful. The prairie had a beauty of 
its own, which l>eggar8 description; it has van- 
ished forever ; we shall never see its like again. 



Digitized by 



Google 




GIAN i - MA TABLE TX THE DALLES or 

THE WAl KAHISA 




SCENE ON THE WAUKARl SA NEAR THE CAVE AT WILDERBERG PLACE 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



/ \ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



627 



CHAPTER II. 



HISTORICAL SKETCH OF CARROLL 
COUNTY, AS DELIVERED BY HON. JAMES 
SHAW, AT LANARK, ILLINOIS, ON JULY 
4, 1876 AT A FOURTH OF JULY CELE- 
BRATION THERE HELD AND OLD 
SETTLERS MEETING. 



AKCIENT OWNERSHIP — NOBTHWESTEBN TEBBTTOBT 
— JO DAVIESS COUNTY — SAVANNA FIBST TOWN — 
NEW COUNTY -OFFICEBS — COUNTY COMMISSION- 
ERS COURT — FIRST CIRCUIT COURT HELD IN THE 
COUNTY — REMOVAL OF COUNTY SEAT FROM 
SAVANNA — COURT HOUSE BUIUT — MEMBERS OF 
THE LEGISLATURE — EARLY SETTLEMENTS — FIRST 
SETTLEMENT IN CARROLL COUNTY — SAVANNA 
SETTLED — ^FIRST SCHOOL HOUSE — ^FIRST TRAIL 
— TAVERN BATES — CHEBBY GROVE SETTLE- 
MENT — ELKHORN GROVE SETTLEMENT — MARKING 
THE WAY — ^YOBK TOWNSHIP EABLY SETTLERS — 
HOW THEY CAME — YORK TOWNSHIP NAMED — 
PRESTON PBAIBIE AND MOUNT CABBOLL SETTLE- 
MENTS — 1837 OBIGINAL MILL COMPANY FOBMED 
^FIBST BEUGIOUS MEETING — THE MILL COM- 
PANY — STAG POINT — FIBST SCHOOL — ^FIBST MAIL 
. — ^THE SEMINABY — THE ACADEMY — ^EABLY SET- 
TLEMENT IN WYSOX — ^INDIANS — ^A PIONEEB LOST 
— JUMPING A CLAIM— SHELVING BOCK SHANTY 
— BATTLESNAKES — INVENTIVE GENIUS — NAMES OF 
PLACES — STBADDLE CBEEK — ^EABLY SETTLEMENT 
— ^AOBICULTUBAL SOCIETY — ^EABLY PREMIUMS 
AWABDED — NEWS PAPERS — MAGNITUDE 1876 — 
WAB RECORD. 

The United States by various treaties with 
the Indiaiis from 1804 to 1832, had extinguished 
their titles to the land in the Rock river val- 
ley and about the Galena lead mines; the red 
men remained, however, until about the time 
of the Blaekhawk war, before they permanently 
removed to their new homes west of the Mis- 
sissippi river. Independent of this occupa- 
tion and ownership of the soil by the abo- 
ri^ues, France and England, as each gained 
ascendency in their new world dominions, ruled 
the northwest by turns, until it was conquered 
from the latter, by the bold and heroic expedi- 



tions of George Rogers Clark, whose campaigns 
in Illinois reduced the British i>osts of Kas- 
kaskia and Fort Vinceunes between the Ohio 
and Mississippi rivers. 

ANCIENT OWNERSHIP 

An ei)itome of the history of this ancient 
ownership may fitly introduce this attempt to 
clothe in historic narrative the following pages 
of our local annals. 

The history of Illinois up to 1809 may be 
epitomized nearly as follows. Originally Its 
territory, with that of other northwestern 
states, was a part of New or Canadian France, 
and was partially under French control. 

The Jesuit missionaries were the first white 
men who discovered the Mississippi river and 
traversed its tributary streams. They came 
to tell the story of the Cross and evangelize 
the wild tribes of the prairie and the woods. 
Their relations or journals are the sources of 
our early northwestern history and primitive 
settlements. Their heroism and adventurous 
discoveries founded the empire of 'Sew France 
in the new world. From the mouth of the St 
Lawrence river to the Father of Waters their 
early laboi-s to proselyte the Indian races were 
constant and unremitting. The charm of a 
certain spirit of romance hangs over their lives 
thus filled with the passion, beauty and heroic 
achievements of a fervid religious enthusiasm. 
Nor are incidents almost tragic in their sadness, 
wanting to complete the historic picture or 
story. There is no death scene in the history 
of those days more touching tlian the death-bed 
of Marquette, one of the explorers of this very 
territory-, yielding up his spirit in prayer to the 
God who gave it, by the banks of the small 
river which bears his name on the eastern shore 
of Lake Michigan, on May 19, 1675. The pathos 
of that death-bed scene is touching in the ex- 
treme. 

Between 1715 and 1720, this Northwestern 
Territory was made a part of Louisiana and was 
thenceforth governed from New Orleans instead 
of Quebec. The southwest had had its ups and 
downs and fierce conflicts had been waged in the 
new states of Florida, Lousfana and Texas, be- 
tween colonies, soldiers and emissaries of France 
and Spain. By the treaty of Great Britain and 
France, (Treaty of Paris, 1763), all the north- 
western territory including Canada, was ceded 



Digitized by 



Google 



628 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



by the latter power to the former, and Captain 
Sterling in behalf of Great Britain, opened a pro- 
visional government at Fort Chart res In Ran- 
dolph County In 1766. In the following year Illi- 
nois and the northwestern territory was placed 
under the supervision of Canada, and governed 
from thence for many years as a British Prov- 
ince. Meantime the Revolutionary war broke 
out In 1778, General Claris, one of the most 
heroic soldiers and leaders of his time, organized 
the expedition referred to and after incredible 
hardships and heroism, captured Fort Yincennes 
on the Wabash, garrisoned by British troops, un- 
der General Hamilton and restored this whole 
country to the American Colonial government. 
It was placed under the jurisdiction of the State 
of Virginia, which in October, 1778, was organ- 
ized into the County of Illinois of the Indian 
Territory. At that time there were two grades 
of territories recognized. In the first grade the 
appointed Judges and governor made the laws. 
By a vote of the people in 1812, Illinois passed 
to the second grade, in which a territorial legis- 
lature consisting of a council and House of 
Representatives, made the laws and exercised 
the functions of government This first legisla- 
ture consisted of four oouncilmen and seven 
representatives. 

STATE DIVIDED UTTO COURTIES 

In 18Q9 acting governor Pope by his proclama- 
tion divided the state into two counties ; St. Clair 
and Randolph, and they were the only counties 
for three years prior to 1812, at which time by 
a vote of the people of these two counties, the 
territory passed to the second grade of govern- 
ment In September of the same year four 
more counties were organized and an election 
was ordered which elected the four councilmen 
and seven r^resentatives of the first legislature 
chosen in the state. 

As the state grew and passed into its state 
existence in 1818, the carving process went on, 
and new counties were constantly organized. 
Peoria county when organized extended from 
the Illinois river on the east to the northern 
boundary line of the state. 

JO DAVIESS OOUNTT FOBMED 

Finally in 1827 Jo Daviess county was organ- 
ised out of the northern part of this large ter- 



ritory. It embraced what is now the counties of 
Lee, Ogle, OarroU and Whiteside and some other 
territory yet unorganized. In 1836 Ogle was 
carved off from Jo Daviess and afterward Lee 
was carved off by dividing Ogle into two coun- 
ties. Meanwhile Carroll county remained a part 
of Jo Daviess, and its first settlement its first 
county government and its first resident Jus- 
tices of the Peace appear while it was yet a 
part of Jo Daviess county. A few of the oldest 
citizens in 1876, remembered, when Carroll 
county was still a part of Jo Daviess and 
Galena was the county seat, of the former 
county. 

CABBOLL C0UI7TY OBGAITIZED 

This brings us to the organization and 
political history of Carroll county, the proper 
subject of this history. As early as 1837 peti- 
tions had been addressed to the Legislature, 
asking for a separate county organization, signed 
by the citizens of Savanna and many others. 

SAVANNA FIBST TOWN IN COUNTY 

The town of Savanna had been laid out by 
Luther H. Bowen, with whom was associated a 
man by the name of Murray. One J<dm A. C. 
dark seems also to have laid off the north part 
of the town; but none of these plats seem to 
have been recorded until after the complete or- 
ganization of the county. 

The first petition for county existence con- 
tained the novel request that the court house of 
the new county should be erected on "Murray's 
Square," in the new town of Savanna. 

The act organizing the nev county was ap- 
proved and became a law on the twenty-second 
day of February, 1839. It provided that an 
election should be held on the second day of 
April following ; for the purpose of choosing the 
seat of Justice f<^ the county, and of Meeting 
county officers. This act contains some novel 
provisions, requiring the owners of lands on 
which the county seat might be located, or the 
town of Savanna, in case it should be located 
there, to donate land or town lots and also to 
donate thirty-five hundred dollars In cash to 
be paid to the county for the erection of a court 
house and other public buildings in six, twelve 
and eighteen month installments. 

This election was held on the eighth day (^ 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



629 



April, 1839. Savanna received one hundred and 
twenty-six votes. That vote was placed on 
record and certified to be the majority of all the 
votes cast, by John Knox, Leonard Goss, Alvin 
Humphrey, J. G. Owings and BenJ. Church, act- 
ing Justices of the peace in and for the original 
county of Jo Daviess. Savanna thus became 
the county seat of the new county. Returns of 
first election were to be made to these Justices 
of the peace, who were to canvass the returns 
and declare the result, which was done in due 
form of law. 

THE NEW COUNTY OFFIOEBS 

The new county was attached to the sixth 
Judicial circuit; and courts were to be held in 
it twice a year, at such times as the Judge should 
designate. We find afterwards that he held the 
circuit court or terms of court in the months of 
Septeml>er and May. 

Township organization had not then come into 
fashion in this part of the state but a Ck>unty 
conunissioners court, composed of three commis- 
sioners did the l^^al and other business of the 
county. 

Sample M. Journey, Gamer Moffett and Luther 
H. Bowen, were the first commislsoners 
elected. At their second meeting in June, 1839, 
they drew lots for the terms of duration of their 
office. Luther H. Bowen drew the one-year 
term, S. M. Journey drew the three-year term, 
and the two-year term was left for Garner Mof- 
fett, he getting what is called Hobson*s choice; 
but I cannot find that Moffett ever qualified or 
took part in the county business until about the 
close of the year 1839. 

COUNTY COMMISSIONEBS OOUBT 

The first meeting of the county commissioners 
court was held in Savanna, April 13, 1839. They 
appointed Elijah Bellows and Alvin Davius the 
first assessors of the county. Norman D. French 
the first collector, laid off the county into ten 
road districts; assessed four days' road labor 
upon each man if necessary to have so much; 
granted a license or two to keep tavern, and 
did some other business. I find afterwards that 
the fees of the above assessors, were seven dol- 
lars to one and seventeen dollars to the other. 
William Goss was the first clerk of the county 
commissioners court ; Hezeidah Frances was the 



first sheriff; John C. Owings was the first pro- 
bate Justice; Mason Taylor was the first cor* 
oner ; Royal Cooper was the first recorder ; Levi 
Warner was the first surveyor ; Leonard Goss the 
first notary public ; and Vance Davidson was the 
first public administrator. The commissions of 
these officers all bore date early in the year 
1S39 ; several of them were re-elected and se^ed 
term after term in succession, especially was 
this true of Francis Owings, Taylor, Cooper and 
Warner. 

The first county order issued by the conunis- 
sioners was to Captain James Craig for ten dol- 
lars and fifty cents for a copy of the law or- 
ganizing the county. Captain Craig was the rep- 
resentative for Jo Daviess county, who intro- 
duced the bill, in the legislature to incorporate 
the county. 

riBST COUBT HELD IN THE COUNTY 

On the twelfth of September 1839, the first 
term of the circuit court was held in a build- 
ing two blocks south of the present residence 
(1875) of Dr. Woodruff, a sort of a pubUc build- 
ing in which all public gatherings were ac- 
customed to convene for public meetings. 

The following are the names of the grand and 
petit Jurors which were selected by the county 
commissioners court for this term. Grand Jur- 
ors for September term 1839; John Knox, A. 
Painter, Herman McNamar, Daniel Storler, 
Thomas I. Shaw, E. W. Todd, Francis Gamer, 
John C. Owings, George Swagg^rt, Nathan Fisk, 
Samuel Preston, David Masters, Beers Tomlin- 
son, Aaron Pierce, Thomas Rapp, John Eddowes, 
John Bernard, John Laswell, Stephen N. Arnold, 
Elijah Sterns, William Dyson, Jr., William Dy- 
son, Sr., and Daniel Christian. 
' Pettit Jurors for the same term: William 
Ayres, Aaron Robb, William Jenkins, Isaac 
Jones, John Her, Sumner Downing, Nelson 
Swaggert, Irwin Kellogg, Vance L. Davidson, 
Alonso Shannon, John Orr, David Ashby, George 
W. Brice, William Eaton, Levi Newcomer, John 
Johnson, John Cummings, George Christian, 
Paul D. Otis, Elias P. Williams, Boyal Cooper, 
David L. Bowen, William Bundel and John Ful- 
ler. These were among the prominent old set- 
tlers, most of them are dead now, sleeping quiet- 
ly in their coffined sleep ; some went off to other 
states and localities ; while a very few may yet 



Digitized by 



Google 



630 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



linger among the living In the little county they 
helped to organize and build up. 
• At the first term of the court the docket con- 
tained eight cases; five of them were appeals 
from assessments of damages, highway cases I 
suppose; two were forcible entry and detainer 
suite ; one was a trespass on the case suit ; most 
of these cases were continued or dismissed ; and 
the only attorney on record I find, was a man by 
the name of Wakefield, who must have starved 
to death if he depended on legal fees for a. 
living. 

At the next term of court, May term 1840, 
there were twelve cases on the docket. Martin 
P. Sweet, Judge Drummond, a Mr. Chase and a 
Mr. Hoge appear as attorneys of record. Judge 
Drummond had two divorce suits and they were 
the only chancery cases of the term. In fact 
these two chancery cases are the beginning of 
the chancery record in Carroll County. The 
cases were: Jeremiah Humphrey vs. Hannah 
Humphrey and Dudley C. Humphrey vs. Lavinia 
Humphrey, both were commenced by the hus- 
bands and both husbands were supposedly made 
happy by obtaining the divorces sought At the 
same term there were two slander ^suits Robert 
Ashby vs. Peter Bashaw and Oliver Bashaw, 
both suits seemingly dismissed without a trial 
or hearing. Soon after this the names of E. B. 
Washburn, Judge Heaton and otlhers whose 
names became prominent or distinguished as 
lawyers, began to appear on the dockets as then 
practicing law In Carroll County. A part of 
Pierce's tavern was used as jury rooms; fifteen 
dollars were appropriated per term to pay for 
putting these jury rooms in order, except at 
one term when the appropriation was only five 
dollars, to fix up a Jury room in the Mississippi 
house for some kind of court purposes. 

Judge Stone of Galena held most of thesd 
early courts, Judge Brown succeeded him, of 
whom many anecdotes were told, some of them 
still linger in the memories of some of the older 
lawyers. 

REMOVAL OP THE COUNTY SEAT FROM SAVANNA 

As settlements spread over the county and 
emigrants sought this part of the state, the 
question of removing the county seat to a more 
central location began to bjB agitated. This agi- 
tation was chiefly urged on by the Mount Car- 
roll Mill Company. It culminated in the passage 



of an act by the legislature, approved March 6, 
1843, appointing Moses Hallett, of Jo Daviess 
county; John Dixon of Lee county and Nathan 
Belcher of Rock Island county, commissioners to 
select a proper and more central location. On 
the 17th day of May of the same year they met 
and selected forty acres of land donated by 
Nathaniel Halderman on behalf of the Mill 
Company, on the hill In Mount Carroll, where 
the churches now stand, stuck a stake there 
where the public square was to be. and named 
the site Mount Carroll. This land and ten 
acres donated by George W. Christian was laid 
ofl: into town lots and these lots or some of 
them were offered at auction on the twentietli 
of November, A. D. 1843. This plat was laid off 
by the commissioners, was afterward vacated 
by the legislature February 5, 1851. Savanna 
had got out hewed timbers for a block house Jail 
at this time but had failed to build a court 
house. The J&ill Company were not satisfied 
with the location of the town plat as made by 
the commissioners, and the result was that no 
lots were sold by the county at the sale adver- 
tised to take place. Thereupon Nathaniel Hal- 
derman ofiTered to build a substantial court house, 
making the offer for the Mill Company, if the 
county would deed back the forty acres donated 
to the county by the company, and also cancel 
a subscription of one thousand dollars which the 
company had made towards erecting a court 
house and public buildings; this offer was ac- 
cepted. 

FIBST OOUST HOUSE BUILT 

The building of the court house was com- 
menced in 1843 and completed so that the public 
offices were removed into it on the first Monday 
of September, 1844. The right to use the court 
house for church purposes and for other meet- 
ings and gatherings was reserved for ten years 
by those who erected it. The first gathering hi 
this young temple of justice was a Fourth of 
July celebration in 1844 before the building was 
completed, and in those days revival meetings 
preaching and other meetings on public occasions 
were regularly held there. Thomas Hoyne of 
Galena made the oration, at this meeting to cel- 
ebrate the day. 

What reminiscences of those early days this 
old court house could tell, could Its now scat- 
tered rocks be gathered up and endowed with 



Digitized by 



Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 






\ >' 



^IJ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



631 



speech; but like eyerything else it bad to give 
place to tbe progressive spirit of tbe new civi- 
lization. 



COUNTY OFFICEBS 

It is not my purpose now to trace this county 
seat matter further. Tbe history of the county 
from that time down to the present, shows that 
November twenty-first 1849, George W. Harris 
qualified as the first county judge and Norman 
D. French and George W. Knox as associate 
judges. Harris resigned a year after his elec- 
tion, and was succeeded by David Bmmert, and 
he by Thomas Rapp, C. VanVechten, Judge Gray 
and John Wilson and later by Hon. B. L. Patch, 
who held the office for many years, (until suc- 
ceeded by A. F. Wlugert. and be by John D. 
Turnbaugh, the incumbent in 1910). 

The county clerks and clerks of the county 
commissioners court have been William B. Goss, 
John Wilson, Leonard Goss, Valentine Bohn, 
Benj L. Patch, R. G. Bailey, R. M. A. Hawk and 
perhaps others who filled the office in those early 
days [The incumbents down to the present 
time have been : B. T. E. Becker, F. A. Smith 
and Andrew B. Adams.] 

The county was but a brief period under the 
supervision of the judge and his two associate 
judges. We find that April 8, 1850, the first 
meeting of the supervisors took place and ad- 
joined for the want of a quorum, to the 23d day 
of April; on that day the new board met and 
organized. The following were the names of the 
supervisors present at the first meeting and 
there is no record of any absentees: Jared 
Bartholomew, Da. el P. Holt. Rollin Wheeler, 
Sample M. Journey, George Sword, Monroe 
Bailey, Henry F. Lowman and John Donalson. 
Jared Bartholomew was elected chairman. 

There has been no change since in the system 
of our county government and the system is so 
familiar to all our citizens, that it may be dis- 
missed without further comment. It is the good 
Republican system adopted by all the counties 
ii: the northern part of the state. 



BUSINESS OF THE PROBATE COUBT 

As a matter of interest it may be proper to 
state that the first business done by the probate 
court, was the probating of the will of Peter B. 



Newell, by John C. Owings, probate justice of the 
peace, September 5, 1839. The first marriage 
license issued, as shown by these early records 
was to Marshall B. Pierce, to marry Julia A. 
Baker, which was dated August 27, 1839. Ben- 
jamin Church J. P. tied the knot The first 
deed recorded wa& ftom Bowen and Murray to 
David L. Harrison and was dated May 26, 1837 
and was recorded July 4, 1839. 



MEMBERS OF THE LBOISLATUBE 

The names of the men who have represented 
the county in the legislature, so far as I can find, 
are difficult to state accurately on account of tbe 
changes frequently made in the representative 
districts and our changed connection with ad- 
joining counties. 

I give as nearly as I can, however, the names 
of those who have been connected with public 
affairs and who have been residents of the 
county, since it was organized with their call- 
ings and professions so far as I know them. 
J. M. Hunter, senator in 27th General Assembly, 
a lawyer and served one term of two years; 
H. A. Mills, banker, senator; W. P. Miller, 
lawyer, 18th General Assembly; Rowland 
Wheeler, merchant, 19th Assembly; Porter Ser- 
geant, merchant, 20th General Assembly, two 
years ; James DeWolf, farmer, 21st General As- 
sembly, two years; Benjamin Ia Patch, lawyer, 
22nd General Assembly, two years; J. F. Chap- 
man, merchant, 23rd Assembly, two years; 
Daniel W. Dame, farmer, 24th Assembly ; Elijah 
Funk, farmer, and surveyor, 25th General As- 
sembly, two years; Adam Nase, ex-sheriff and 
carpenter, 26th General Assembly ; James Shaw, 
lawyer, 27th and 28th General Assembly, four 
years; N. D. French, farmer, 39th General 
Assembly. [James Shaw was speaker of the 
House of Representatives during one long ses- 
sion and one or two adjourned sessions. John 
M. Stowell, merchant, \vas our representative 
1877 ; Emanuel Stover and Henry Bltuer, Dem., 
1881; Geo. L. Hoffman, attorney, 1883; Simon 
Greenleaf, editor, 1885; liCvi I. Bray, farmer, 
1889; DrinM I. Berry, attorney, 1891-95; J. N. 
Brandt, farmer, Dem., 1893; David C. Bussel, 
farmer, 1897-09; O. W. Middlekauff, attorney, 
and B. N. Lechtenberger, merchant, Dem., 1901 ; 
and W. W. Gillespie, farmer, 1903-09.] 



Digitized by 



Google 



632 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



POLITICS OP THE COUNTY — dBCUIT JUDGES 

The politics of the county up to the organiza- 
tion of the Republican party was always Whig 
by a small majority. In 1840 it gave its first 
rote for Harrison. In 1844 the electoral vote 
was cast for Henry Clay, as near as I can deter- 
mine. In 1848 it went for Taylor ; in 1852 Gen- 
eral Scott was its choice. Since then its vote 
has been true blue for the Republican party 
nominees, with some local exceptions. 

The circuit judges, as near as I can determine, 
have been Judge Stone, Judge Brown, Judge 
WillLinson, Judge Drury, Judge Heaton, Judge 
Eustace, Judge Crabtree, Judge Cartwright, 
Judge Carver, Judge Tuthill, Judge Shaw, Judge 
Baum, Judge Farrand and Judge Heard. 

THE EABLY SETTLEMENTS 

The early settlers located in favorite spots, 
where they could procure wood for fuel and 
building and fencing their crops, and water for 
themselves and their stock. These locations 
and settlements were known as neighborhoods. 
The working of the Galena Lead Mines, just 
north of Carroll County, first attracted settle- 
ments and emigration to this part of Illinois. 
They first led to annual migrations from central 
Illinois and other southern localities. 

The French voyager, LaSeur, in the year 1700, 
fiflrst discovered lead ore in Jo Daviess County, 
which joins Carroll on the north, and named 
the stream which flows through Galena, Fever 
River, or first, perhaps, the River of the Mines. 
It afterward took the former name on account 
of the fevers and other diseases prevailing there. 
The miners crowded there in great numbers and 
suffered much from periodic fevers and ague. 
Prior to the working of the mines by white 
men the Indian squaws had sometimes exca- 
vated the lead ore and subj^cted it to their 
rude smelting processes. Great fortunes were 
subsequently amassed in this business and many 
who here secured fortunes went to Chicago and 
helped to make that city a colossal center of 
commerce. Early in 1819 a man by tbe name 
of Bontillier settled on the east side of Ga- 
lena River (Fever River) where the city of 
Galena now stands, and he is said to be the 
first white man who settled there. A little 
later in the season Jesse W. ShuU had estab- 
lished a trading post there, or near there, and 



he was soon Joined by A. P. Vanmeter and Dr. 
Samuel Muir, who had the honor of nam- 
ing the future wealthy city to grow up there. 
These men traded with the Indians, and married 
Indian wives. About 1828 and 1824 the won- 
derful Galena mines began to attract the atten- 
tion of the adventurous western and southern 
people. Permission was obtained from the In- 
dians to mine in certain defined territories. A 
ColMiel Johnson came with a number of men 
and claimed exclusive right to work the mines 
by some sort of government permit In 1826 
and 1827 large diggings were found, and a great 
excitement sprang up all over the state. 

Captain Thomas surveyed and laid out the 
town of Galena ; government permits were given 
to settle on the lots, and these were the only 
titles the first settlers had to their new homes 
or could obtain until 1838. In 1827 there was 
supposed to be sixteen hundred miners scat- 
tered about these hills and valleys. Indian 
troubles began to brew. General Gaines of the 
regular army and Dodge of the volunteer 
forces scoured the country with troops and the 
general government about this time paid the In- 
dians some twenty thousand dollars for their 
claims to these mineral lands. 

Peoria, on the Illinois river, had been settled 
soon after Galena, and mails were carried on 
horseback by way of Peoria to Galena from Van- 
dal ia, the then capital of the state. In those 
days mining excitement ran high like the Cali- 
fornia fever of 1849, or the Black Hills fever 
of 1876. Every spring the covered wagons, 
prairie schooners, from southern Illinois, Mis- 
souri, Tennessee and other places, wended their 
toilsome journeys to the mines of northern Illi- 
nois. They came in the spring, delved and dug 
all summer, sold out their outfits, and returned 
to the south later in the fall. Their appearance 
in the spring was at the same time the sucker 
fish filled the small streams and tributaries of 
Fever River; the people became known as 
''suckers," and this name attached itself to the 
inhabitants of the state who became known as 
suckers. 

This great annual travel followed these early 
trails; passed by conspicuous mounds and 
groves and over natural fords in the streams 
and wore its tracks so deep into the prairies 
and woodlands that they may be traced in fa- 
vorite spots even yet One of these ancient 
highways or trails crossed Rock river near 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



638 



Propbetstown, in Whiteside County; another 
at Dixon's Ferry and others higher up Rocls 
river. The Lewiston trail which crossed 
near Propbetstown passed up through Carroll 
County, crossed Johnson's Creels near Amos 
Shoemaker's farm, passed over the ridge on the 
old Shannon farm (Section 26, Mount Carroll 
Township), crossed the ridge west of and near 
Mount Oarroll and continued hence north to 
Elizabeth and Galena. 

The old Sucker trail crossed at Dixon's 
Ferry, ran through Buffalo Grove, Chamber's 
Grove and Cherry Grove, crossed Plum river at 
the old Harris place where there was a stage 
station and post office. At one time John C. 
Owings plowed furrows across the prairies from 
his house to Buffalo Grove to give direction to 
this travel north and south. Kellogg's trail, 
made in 1826, passed east of this county be- 
tween Polo and Mount Morris. Boles trail was 
from the old Kellogg trail ; it began twelve miles 
south of Dixon and was the same trail referred 
to as the Sucker trail a few lines back. An- 
other trail and old military route between 
Rock Island and Prairie du Chien crossed the 
western part of Carroll County, along the sand 
ridge and near the sloughs and timber belt of 
the Mississippi river between Fulton and Sa- 
vanna and from thence ran north toward Han- 
over and Galena. As early as 1826 or 1827 a 
Peoria man named Bogardis had attempted to 
establish a ferry at Dixon, but the Indians 
burned his boat and drove him away. In 1828 
a f^encbman named Joe Ogle made a more sue* 
cc«8ful attempt, perhaps because he married an 
Indian squaw, and was respected by the Indians. 
Previous to the opening of this ferry the heavy 
wagons of the miners and stages then passing 
through Cherry Grove had to be taken apart and 
ferried across Rock river in< Indian canoes, 
while the oxen and horses were made to swim 
the stream. April 11th, 1839, John Dixon, 
afterward named by the Indians "Nachusa," 
"White hair head," arrived at Rock river, 
bought out Ogie for eighteen hundred dollars, 
and gave his name to the ferry and subsequent 
city which soon grew up. By this time Galena 
had become quite a mining center of, perhaps, 
five hundred inhabitants, and had a newspaper, 
th« "Miners Journal." 

ihjs settlements sprang up at first at the 
crossing of the streams and at beautiful groves, 
as it was then believed people could uot live 
s 



through the winters in the open prairies. At 
first rude tavern stands and ferries were the be- 
ginnings of permanent occupancy. Soon, how- 
ever, the fame of the beautiful Rock river and 
itf: rich surrounding prairie lands was spread 
abroad through all the southern settlements and 
through the middle and eastern states and men 
were prospecting everywhere for the purpose of 
permanent settlement and making prairie homes. 
Ir<dians swarmed over the face of the country in 
those days. The Sacs and Foxes had the seat 
of their empire at Rock Island; The Winne- 
bagoes lived around Dixon and up and down 
the beautiful Rock river ; the Pottawatomies oc- 
cupied the territory about Lake Kushkonong, 
higher up Rock river. 

Prior to this treaties had been made with 
the Indians to extinguish their titles, but the 
Indians had not yet left, and did not respect 
the solemn treaties they had entered into. 

When the white men saw the country it is 
not strange they were charmed with it, nor la 
it strange that the red men were unwilling to 
give it up without a struggle. 

Oh, beautiful Mississippi river, river of the 
rocky bed, the shining silvery flow and the 
limpid sweet waters ; more than the Mohawk or 
the romantic Wyoming or any classic stream of 
Italy's fabled mountains; bordered everywhere 
bj' virgin prairies, landscapes all flecked with 
the wild flowers, and of unexampled fertility 
and dotted with island-like groves as Edens; 
the haunts and the homes of the red deer ; the 
shaggy buffalo and the wild red man. No won- 
der the miner and the adventurous explorer 
hastened home, packed up the family penates 
and goods, and came hither, to carve out new 
homes in the virgin wilderness and flowery 
prairies. 

At this time a stage line had been established 
from Peoria and central Illinois, even before 
Ogle started his ferry across Rock river. Be- 
fore this the horses and stage coaches had to be 
ferried and forded across in the old pioneer way 
or in the Indian style. 

When the troops who served in the Black 
Hawk war returned home they spread the fame 
of the Rock river country far and wide; that 
and the restless love of adventure and the fkme 
of the lead mines roused a spirit of adventure 
which sent a wave of emigration to northwestern 
Illinois and the famous lead mines. 

The early settlements and mining camps took 



Digitized by 



Google 



634 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



their names from the groves that had been 
named by the hunters and travelers. In 
Carroll County the names of Cherry Grove set- 
tlement, Buffalo Grove settlement, retain their 
names to this day. Burr Oak Grove, In Stephen- 
son County, had been settled in 1829; Buffalo 
Grove in Ogle County In 1829 or 1830, by a Mr. 
Chambers, a Mr. Ankeny, and other settlers 
were already at Elizabeth and Rush creek at 
even an earlier day, and in all the surrounding 
counties the pioneers were flocking in; the 
roads were spotted with prairie schooners, con- 
taining the families of the movers and their 
houFehold goods. 

FIBST SETTLEMENT IN CABBOLL COUNTY 

The first settlement in Carroll County was 
made at Savanna in 1828. In November of 
that year George and Vance L. Davidson, Aaron 
Pierce and William Blundel, with their families, 
moved from the lead mines to Savanna with ox 
teams. The place was then known as the Coun- 
cil Bluffs of the Upper Mississippi. The council 
house of the Indians still stood there and the 
Pierce family moved into it, until the log cabins 
could be built. This council bouse was two 
stories high; was built with poles and covered 
with bark of trees and would hold one thousand 
people. In this house the Pierces lived and 
entertained travelers and traded with the In- 
dians, who came across the river In canoes or 
on the ice in winter. [All that portion of 
Savanna l>etween Main street and the bluffs was 
heavily timl)ered but the trees were all dead, 
having been girdled by the Indians and the 
ground under the dead trees was cultivated by 
them. Some of these trees were of oak and 
three feet in diameter. The Indians used to 
have their war dances near where Stranskey's 
shop was afterward built, and a hundred Indian 
canoes would sometimes be moored, or rather 
beached, along the bank of the river, returning 
from Davenport or Dubuque, at which places 
there were Indian towns. [M. B. Pierce, in Sa- 
vanna Times, Jany. 5tb, 1876, Old Settlers* 
Record fly leaf. Ed.] Wild rushes and tall 
grass grew in abundance about the place. On 
these the oxen lived the first winter. Wood 
was hauled, fence rails were split, and the 
cabins built during the winter, and in the 
spring the ground was plowed for the crop of 
1829. 



In May, 1829, the wife of Captain John B. 
Rhodes was bom. She was the first white child 
bom in Carroll County, and was bora in the old 
Indian Council House, where her father and 
mother, the Pierces, temporarily resided. The 
nearest neighbors on the east were at Dixon, 
on the north at Hanover, on the south at Al- 
bany, on the west was the Mississippi river, be- 
yond this there were no white inhabitants. 

The Indians were numerous and friendly. 
Game and fish were abundant, so were mos- 
quitos, gallinippers, raccoons, blackbirds, crows 
and other birds of prey, in fact, the first com- 
fi^ds had to be guarded from the depredaticms 
of the latter, and especially from blackbirds 
and crows. River navigation was done mostly 
in keel boats by cordeling, poling, sailing and 
rowing, and the usual time of a trip from St. 
Louis was thirty days. Skiff voyages were 
often made to St. Louis. In July. 1820, Aaron 
Pierce and Marshall B. Pierce, his son, went 
to Bond County in this state, where they had 
first made a temporary settlement ui)on coming 
to the west, and drove their horses and cows to 
Savanna, these being the first stock brought to 
the county. In the spring of 1830 or 1831, 
John Bernard settled on the place known as 
the Hatfield place. Messrs. Hays and Robinson 
the same spring took up the farm lately occu- 
pied by George Fish. A man by the name of 
Corwin took up or owned the farm recently 
owned by Noah McFarland. Corbiu built his 
house, or nest, in a tree eight feet from the 
ground to keep out of the way of snakes, which 
were very abundant there. These men were all 
bachelors, but subsequently married and be- 
came the heads of families. 

In 1832 the Black Hawk war broke out The 
families of these early settlers were then moved 
to Galena for safety, the men remaining to 
cultivate the crops and protect their property. 
They built a small block house near the point 
ol the bluff where the residence of the late M. 
Dupuis now stands. This fort stood the Indian 
fire all one aftemoon without loss of life to the 
settlers, but their horses and cattle were not 
so fortunate. The day the fort was fired on a 
man by the name of Bob Upton, who belonged 
to the settlement, and was a wild, generous, 
dare-devil, drinking sort of a man, but liked by 
every one, had quite a heroic adventure. He had 
been out hunting at the time of the attack, near 
the Whitton farm, and had shot a deer. He 



Digitized by 



Google 




FALLS OF THE WAUKARUSA AT MT. CARROLL 




POET'S ROCK AT THE ENTRANCE OF THE DALLES 
OF THE WAUKARUSA 




CAROLINE MARK HOME FOR AGED WOMEN, MT. CARRO;^^^ 

Digiti 



^ARROi^ J 

zed by Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARRODL COUNTY 



635 



was in the act of cutting its throat when he 
saw a band of redskins advancing in a circle 
with the evident object of securing his capture. 
He first loaded his gun and then ran for dear 
life. The bullets flew and sung around him, 
and it is said one of them cut the strap of his 
old-fashioned powderhorn, but Bob reached the 
bluff above Savanna in safety. Hearing the 
firing on the fort, he concealed himself in a 
cave in the rocks about half a mile above the 
town, ever since called Upton's cave. There he 
remained until darkness covered the land. When 
night came the men in the fort made their 
escape, confiscated a sldff and started up the 
river for Galena. Upton, from his place of 
refuge, heard the ascending boat, hailed it, and 
made his escape with the rest It is tradition 
that as the boat drew near the shore its inmates 
earnestly urged him to jump in before the skiff 
was within forty feet of land. It is also said 
that before leaving the fort the inmates drew 
lots to see who should first go out and recon- 
npiter and find a boat The lot fell to Aaron 
Pierce, whose fear made his hair almost lift his 
bat off; but he did his duty manfully, neverthe- 
less, and the crew safely reached Galena. This 
block house and little battle is referred to 
in one of the early histories of Illinois. Will- 
iam B. Goss had become a citizen of Savanna 
and was in the fort at the time of the Indian 
attack on it. Tradition has it that he was 
compelled to climb upon the roof and let him- 
self down the chinmey as the Indians had 
command of the regular entrance, where he 
could have gotten into the fort 

SAVANNA SETTLED 

About 1833 the country commenced settling 
up more rapidly, and many more located in 
Savanna. In 1832 Luther H. Bowen came to 
the West, and was engaged as a surveyor, run- 
ning the boundary line of the state. About 1836 
hk laid out the town of Savanna. He died about 
1876, having been intimately associated with all 
its leading interests for forty years. The first 
post office in the county was established there, 
and Mr. Bowea was appointed postmaster. He 
also opened the first store the town had. James 
White also opened a store soon after Mr. Bowen 
did, and others did the same. Savanna was 
then the only settlement of any size between 



the villages of Galena and Rock Island, and for 
many years afterward it was a place of as much 
importance as either. It was the trading post 
as far east as Rockford. Freeport as late as 
1S34 was yet the Winnesheik's Indian village. 

In 1837, Ellas Woodruff, John FuUer, David 
L. Bowen and others well known afterward, had 
located there. By 1840 Savanna was a village 
ccmtaining two hundred inhabitants. Besides 
those already named John B. and Thomas 
Rhodes, W. L. B. Jenks, Royal Cooper, Leonard 
Goss, John Wilson, Porter Sargent, Fred Cham- 
bers and many others whose names I have not 
obtained were leading citizens in early days. 
Aaron Pierce built his tavern where the resi- 
dence of Captain Thomas Rhodes stands, in the 
winter of 1836 and 1837. It was afterward 
moved down town and was known as the Cham- 
bers House, and has, since the writing of the 
above, been burned. In 1837 Luther H. Bowen 
built the Woodruff House, which, for a time, 
was known as the Mississippi House. 

FIRST SCHOOL 

About this time Dr. Elias Woodruff taught 
the first school in a log house where the lower 
blacksmith shop stood. He was also the physi- 
cian for the town, and in those days of fever 
and ague and other sickness, and faithfully 
attended the sick, pay or no pay. A Mr. Craig 
built a saw mill in 1835, at Bowen's Mill site, 
but the next year Luther and David L. Bowen 
owned the mill. 

In 1839 Porter Sargeant built the powder mills 
near where the fiouring mills of Messrs. Bowen 
and Kitchen were located. The father of Lewis 
W. Bemis and some eastern capitalists were 
largely interested in the powder mills. They 
manufactured blasting x>owder for mining pur- 
poses diiefiy. In 1845 two of the buildings blew 
up, killing young Balcolm of the York settle- 
ment, severely injuring Elnathan Jacobs and one 
or two others. James Wilson was superin- 
tendent of the works at that time. The mill 
was promptly rebuilt Afterward, when the 
company ceased to run the mills, several fisher- 
men went into the abandoned building, and in 
an attempt to light a pipe, another explosion of 
loose powder took place. One of the men, a Mr. 
Hicks; was killed; another named Smith was 
terribly burned, and a third was badly injured. 



Digitized by 



Google 



636 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



The same year L. H. Bowen and Royal Jacobs 
built a small grist mill just above the saw mill 
on the same stream. 

FIBST TBIAL 

While the circuit court was held in Savanna 
one of the most noted trials was a murder case 
on change of venue from Jo Daviess County. A 
prisoner by the name of Mathews had killed a 
man in the mines. Every citizen in the county, 
liable to act as a Jury man, was summoned, and 
most of them passed upon before the jury was 
finally impanelled. The prisoner was ac- 
quitted. 

[The difficulty of procuring jurors for this 
trial, on account of Savanna being so far to one 
side of the settled portion of the county, was 
one of the chief reasons for moving the county 
seat to a more central location.^-Ed.] 

TAVEBN BATES 

The county commissioners were in the habit 
of fixing tavern rates, dmong other duties they 
performed; and I find that on the few occa- 
sions they did so, the price of meals was fixed 
at twenty- five cents, and drinks of whiskey at 
six and a fourth cents, or a picayune, as those 
coins were then called. 

THE CHEBBT OBOVE SEmEMXNT 

In the spring of 1830 Thomas Crane came to 
Cherry Grove, made a squatter's claim, and be- 
came the first settler there. He built the first 
house on what Is now known as the Laird farm. 
When Judge Shaw wrote his history of Carroll 
County, it was situated on the Northern slope 
of the Cherry Grove ridge, near a fine spring. 
It was built of logs, with a large chimney in 
the center, which had a fireplace on either side, 
the chimney forming part of the partition be- 
tween two rooms in which there was one door. 
This was called Crane's fort An old settler 
says that when a boy he used to chop bullets 
out of the posts that formed the palisade, also 
out of the trees near by, which would indicate 
fighting there at one time. The house was 
picketed in regular Indian fort style by setting 
up ^lit logs on end, pointed at the top and eight 
or nine feet high, with port holes between the 
pickets and inclosing a small yard about the 



cabin. Soon afterward he sold the claim to 
Samuel M. Hitt of Maryland, who afterward 
became a resident of Ogle County. 

[This Crane's Fort was a station on the stage 
line from Peoria to Galena. In May, 1833, the 
county commissioners of Jo Daviess County 
commissioned Levi Warner to lay out the road 
between Galena and Peoria, from which place 
many settlers came into this county, coming up 
the Illinois river In steam boats, which at Pitts- 
burg fiew a flag, "Bound for Peoria, Illinois." 
He certified the distance to be one hundred and 
forty-five miles, twenty-six and twenty-five 
hundredths chains. At Crane's Fort the survey- 
ing party remained over Sunday, From thence 
to Galena he notes Crane's branch, east fork 
of Plum river, and main Plum river. South of 
the fort on the line of this survey was Cham- 
ber's Grove, where Isaac Chambers settled in 
1831. Ed.] 

Francis Gamer made a claim to a large tract 
of land at Cherry Grove adjoining the Crane 
claim, having selected the location while a sol- 
dier of the Black Hawk war. In 1834 he moved 
his family from the southern part of the state, 
bringing a wife and seven children, some of 
whom lived here in 1876. 

In 1833 William Thomson settled west of the 
Crane place, and John C. Owings settled at 
Owing's Point, being the west point of the grove. 
In the same year Levi Walden settled in the 
grove, and one year later George Swaggert came 
and for a time kept a taverd at the Grove. Mrs. 
Swaggert died December 5th, of the year of her 
arrival, and was the first buried in the Cherry 
Grove Grave Yard. She had selected the place 
of her burial before she died. 

In 1835 Gamer MofTett came with his wife 
and three children. He bought a claim and 
lived in the original log cabin on It from 1836 
to 1848. In 1837 William Daniels made his 
daim where George Reasoner now lives, and in 
the same year George W. Harris came with his 
family to look after the interests of Hitt, who 
had large claims in connection with others in the 
county. Harris moved into the picketed house 
and for three years kept a tavern and post 
office there a few years, and then moved to the 
"Old Harris Place," on Plum river, now known as 
the Noble fann. Here he kept stage house and 
post office until 1847, the stage route having been 
diverted from Cherry Grove to pass through 
Mount Carroll. The writer well remembers 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



637 



wben the first stage coach left the old stone hotel 
m Mount Carroll, there was much more excite- 
ment in the little town than when the first train 
arriyed at the station about twenty years later. 
Before this time the Mount Carroll people had 
to go to Cherry Grove, six miles away, for their 
mail, once or twice a week; now (1912) it is de- 
livered at every farmer's door every day. Ed.] 

With Harris' follis came Peter Myers, his 
wife and son Paul, and John Her and family. 
After about three years Harris built the old 
Cherry Grove House for Hitt on the ridge near 
the old fort. This was a frame house of some 
pretensions in architecture. It was used for a 
hotel and kept by Harris for several years. The 
travel from Rock river to Galena passed by it 
The building was afterward moved to Lanark, 
and is now the livery stable connected with the 
Taber House. About 1840 Cherry Grove was 
the only stopping place of any importance in 
that part of the country, and many of the early 
settlers made this their temporary stopping 
place. A heavy line of stage coadies then 
traveled through this settlement between Peo- 
ria and Galena. 

In 1838 Sarah Moffett was bom. She was the 
daufi^ter of Gamer Moffett, and was the first 
child bom at Cherry Grove. She married Bman- 
uel Stover. Gamer Moffett died in 1850. He 
was much respected, and held many of the offices 
at that time, and was an honest man. 

James Mark came to Carroll County in 1887, 
without money or property, and a year or two 
later made a claim of what became the great 
Marks homestead. 

Nathan Fisk and family came and located on 
the north side of the Grove. 

Israel Jones located out in the prairie at the 
big springs. In those days it was thought that 
people could not live on the bleak prairie away 
fzom the groves and timber. 

In the same year A. G. Moffett claimed a tract 
of land lying south of the J. Owings place. 

Bradstreet Bobinson had settled east of the 
grove in 1839. The elder Beattie and the elder 
Mr. Laird (father of John Laird), came also 
about this time and either made claims or 
bought out a claim. 

Mr. Brotherton came also at an early day, and 
soon after 1840 John Wolf and many others 
settled in or near the Cherry Grove settlements. 

The stockade house was built near a big 
spring on the farm formerly owned by Emanuel 



Stover and the claims were made along the 
stream and grove and extended indefinite out 
into the prairie towards Carroll creek. George 
Swaggert soon left Cherry Grove, and settled in 
what is now called Arnold's Grove, buying out 
the claim of William Thomson, who had located 
there and made a claim at Cherry Grove. He 
sold out this place about 1840 to Daniel Amold 
and Henry Strickler; and went to Missouri 
where he spent the most of his money. Finally 
he returned and settled on the Swaggert place 
about two miles southeast of Mount Carroll. 
Bowman's Grove was settled by Adam Dag- 
gort about the same time. Adam Daggert k^t 
a post office at his place for several years. 
After Harris removed from Cherry Grove, the 
stage line was diverted to pass through what 
is now Hostetter's Grove and Daggert's Grove. 
Daggert kept the mail in a box and every one 
who came for mail looked it over and selected 
lii& own if he could read the writing on the 
letters. Mr. Owings was one of the early set- 
tlers and was honored with many of the local 
offices. He sold out in 1868 and removed to a 
place near Marshalltown, Iowa, where he now 
resides. 

ELKHOBN QBOVE SKTTLBMENT 

In the month of November, 1834, George W. 
Knox found a trail leading from Kellogg's old 
station at Buffalo Grove to the east end of Elk- 
horn Grove, to the place now owned by Uncle 
Harry Smith. John Ankeny had settled there 
in 1831, but had been driven out by the Indians. 
He came back in 1833 or 1834 and lived on the 
Harry Smith place. Just west of there was an- 
other house built by Thomas Parish in 1830 or 
1831. He was probably the first settler in the 
grove. 

Levi Wamer, the first county surveyor of the 
county, in 1834 lived in a house on the south 
side of the Grove; one of tbe Belding family 
lived with him. They were both surveyors and 
kept batchelors' hall. Tbe place is now oc- 
cupied by John H. Haynes. [We should not 
omit here Mr. Warner's episode, with refer- 
ence to the house of John D. Winters near the 
present site of Elizabeth, who ran the line 
of stages from Galena to Peoria. At this 
place Mr. Wamer "took some bearings," that* 
were not mentioned in Gunther. He was then 
a bachelor thirty-eight years old. His life had 



Digitized by 



Google 



638 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



been spent with his compass and chain, sur- 
veying the western wilds. At this house re- 
sided a comely widow named Martha Winters, 
formerly Martha Bailey of Cincinnati, Ohio. 
This fact no doubt made an impression on Mr. 
Warner's mind and through the sights on his 
compass he often saw this welcome cabin of Mr. 
Winters', for in the spring of 1835 he returned 
again to this cabin and married the charming 
widow Winters on April 12, who survived to be 
his companion through life. One daughter was 
born to them, who is the wife of Lewis Rey- 
nolds of Elkhom Grove. She was the first 
white child bom in that township. E2d.] 

In the winter of 1834 and 1835, Alvin 
Humphrey settled at the northwest comer of 
the grove and about the same time Levi Newman 
and a man by the name of Scott settled on the 
west end of the grove, and Tllton Hughes and 
Caleb Dains settled at the southwest comer. 
In the fall of 1834 a man named Peter, a mill- 
wright, built a house on the creek bottom, some 
thirty rods east of the mill, near Milledgeville. 
Sickness discouraged him and he gave up his 
claim to Jesse Kester, who built a saw mill and 
a small com cracker mill. Kester sold out his 
claim to A. C. Knox. The latter built a grist 
mill and had it in operation in 1839. In 1885 
John Knox made a claim and planted the first 
orchard in the county, on the south side of the 
grove. 

The first child born in Milledgeville was Eliza 
J. Knox, and the first death was that of Albert 
Knox, both chidren of A. L. Knox. The first 
celebration of the Fourth of July was at the 
house of Alvin Humphrey in 1837. The oration 
was by Felix Conner; Elifah Eaton built the 
first saw mill in 1837. In 1835 Uncle Harry 
Smith and Sample Journey had arrived. Miles 
Z. Landon, Father Hunt, Elder Paynter, Steven 
VanDusen and several others whose nanies were 
somewhat prominent, came afterward and later 
Milledgeville had grown into quite a village so 
tlxat a post office was established there in 1844, 
with Jacob McCortie as postmaster. 

[In early days the roads over the prairie were 
traveled so little and the tracks were so scatter- 
ing and grown up with grass that travelers 
sometimes lost their way. This led to plowing 
the longest furrow in a direct line that was ever 
plowed in Carroll County. Mr. Humphrey, of 
Milledgeville, father of Mrs. VanVechten, offered 
to furnish the plow and team, two yoke of oxen. 



no doubt, to any one who would mark the road 
to Mount Carroll and Savanna. So Mr. Spencer, 
father of Mrs. John Hegeman, h^d the plow and 
made a furrow from Thomas Ransoms' in Elk- 
hom Grove township out to Lewis Blisses' In 
Mount Carroll township; from there the road 
was traveled so much it was plain. An old set- 
tler, Jabez Todd, who lived in Elkhom Grove 
township used to like to puzzle the young set- 
tlers, by making this statement; that when he 
came to this country he settled in Jo Daviess 
County, and has lived at the same place ever 
since; how could that be when Elkhom Grove 
Is in Carroll County? Ed.] 

When settlements first commenced, before any 
road was regularly laid out the leading trail 
passed through the grove up to where John C. 
Owings lived, at Cherry Grove, thence on to 
Galena; this trail left the old Peoria Trail 
twelve miles south of Dixon, crossed Rock river 
south of Gass Grove, passed through Sugar 
Grove and thence by the present site of Wilson's 
Mill to and through the center of Elkhom 
Grove. In 1832 Samples M. Journey was mar- 
ried to a daughter of Mr. Ankeny who then 
lived at Buffalo Grove. All the neighbors ex- 
cept Kelloggs' family were Invited to the 
feast; there was a feud between the Ankeny 
and Kellogg families about their tavei:;n stands 
In Buffalo Grove, h^ice the latter family was 
not bidden to the wedding, but a large com- 
pany danced all night, and no doubt did justice 
to the feast. Journey must have taken up his 
residence in Carroll County soon after this 
event. This is all I have found of the very 
oldest settlers of Elkhom Grove. 

MONEY BAGS 

In those days a number of rich men prospect- 
ing out west started one day from the west end 
of the grove to go to the residence of John C. 
Owings, which could * plainly be seen over the 
wide intervening prairies. When half way 
across, such a feeling of loneliness came over 
their spirits that they stopped ; rearranged their 
money belts, and came to the grave conclusion 
that this prairie country was nothing but a wil- 
derness and would never amount to anything; 
whereupon they departed from it as fast as pos- 
sible. Think of that, you farmers who now 
rate your farms at one hundred dollars per acre 
in this very part of the country. 



Digitized by 



Google 




S'^X^ /r<c /2<^^ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



YORK township's EABLY SETTLEBS 

Hon. Norman D. French was among the first 
settlers in this part of the county. He came to 
northern Illinois in the fall of 1832. He spent 
the following winter chopping wood in the lead 
mining districts near Galena, living in a dug-out 
which had formerly been used as a miner's 
camp. After his day's work was done he re- 
paired to the camp, and each evening whittled 
out an ax handle, the sales of which paid his 
board. The summer of 1833 he spent at Buffalo 
Grove. In 1834 he was engaged on the govern- 
ment survey, and helped to block out Carroll 
County into government townships. He was also 
engaged on the surveys of Whiteside and Rock 
Island Counties, and was one of the party that 
laid out the sites of Rock Island, Davenport and 
other cities now of considerable importance. He 
helped stake out the first traveled road from 
Rock river via Union Grove and Bluffville to 
Savanna. In pursuance of these duties he car- 
ried the chain on foot about seven hundred 
miles. During the winters when surveying could 
not be carried on he spent his time in hunting 
and trapping. Thus he passed the winter of 
1833 and 1834, about two hundred miles west of 
Dubuque, with five companions. The furs of 
beaver and otter which they gathered, 'were 
brought down the Des Moines river in the spring 
and shipped to Cairo. During his hunting and 
trapping he became well acquainted with Chief 
Black Hawk, also Chief Keokuk, spending 
several nights in Black Hawk's wigwam. In 
the same manner he became acquainted with 
the famous W. Y. Ives and Missouri Dixon and 
other noted trappei:^ and hunters of early days. 
When the surveying was finished he went into 
business in a miner's supply store at PlatteviUe, 
Wis., but his health falling he was forced, in 
the fall of 1837, to go on his farm in York 
towni^ip, where he lived for fifty-three years. 
Mr. French was the father of York township, 
and was identified with all its interests from 
the beginning. In 1839 he was appointed the 
first tax collector for the whole county, col- 
lected two hundred dollars as the whole tax of 
the county and often traveled many miles to col- 
lect ten cents. He was a member of the 29th 
General Assembly of Illinois, representing the 
counties of Carroll and Whiteside. He was a 
member of the Old Settlers Association from its 
organization in 1874 and the vice president from 



York township until the time of his death* In 
the absence of the presidentelect of that organi. 
zation he presided, and being called upon for a 
speech, he said that his facilities for obtaining 
an education in early life were very limited; 
that he would sooner undertake to open up a 
new farm upon the prairie than to try to interest 
an audience by making a set speech. "We are 
' here," he said, **not to make long speeches, but 
to brighten up old memories," Settlers living 
within twenty miles of each other were called 
neighbors. In 1832, when he came to the north- 
ern part of this state, from Vermont, he crossed 
Rock river at Dixon's Ferry, kept by one Dixon, 
proceeding north he found a few settlers at 
Elkhom Grove. At Cherry Grove also were two 
or three settlers. In 1833 he hired out as a 
farm hand in the f^ll of that year, and in 1834 
he helped to survey the county into townships. 
At one time, in 1833, he lost his way In a fog 
and after two days' fasting he turned up in 
Savanna. He first made the claim which he 
now owns in 1835, broke ground in 1836, built a 
cabin in 1837, raised his first crop in 1838, and 
has raised a crop every year since. 

OBIOIN OF SUCKEBS 

Continuing, Mr. French said : " It was cus- 
tomary in those days for people living in the 
south part of the state to take their teams and 
some milk cows and go up in the spring at the 
same time as the sucker fish in the streams to 
the lead mines near Galena; work at mining 
through the summer, sell out their stock and 
trappings and return in the fall, which gave to 
these people the name of "Suckers." 

At a meeting of the Old Settlers' Associa- 
tion, in 1909, a short time previous to his 
death, he was again called upon for a speech, 
and told how he made his log cabin, made shakes 
for the roof and a puncheon fioor; went on 
foot from Savanna to Chambers Grove before 
there was any road made, keeping the divide, 
between Straddle Creek and Little Rock and 
Johnson's Creek. 

[His father, Jacob French, was a native of 
Massachusetts, his mother, Pamelia Dartt, was 
bom in Connecticut In 1840 his sister, Pamelia 
Pierce (nee French) came from Vermont She 
was the first white lady to make an overland 
trip from Chicago to Savanna. October 23rd, 



Digitized by 



Google 



640 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



1849, he married Miss Mary Dunshee, at Cam- 
bridge, Vermont. Ed,] 

Other settlers who came early to York were 
William Dyson and Rnssel Colvin, who came in 
the spring of 1836. Dyson built the first cabin 
on the old Dyson farm. The next year his two 
sons became settlers, and a brother of N. D. 
French, Harvey French, took up a claim near 
the claim of his brother. These settlements ' 
were west of the bluffs on the Mississippi bot- 
toms. In 1838 the beautiful bottom lands in the 
valley of Johnson creek were taken up; Lewis 
St. Orr built the first house on the fftrm where 
William Carroll now lives. 

COL. BEEBS TOMIINSON 

[Mr. Samuel Preston, in his Pioneers of Mount 
Carroll, (1894), says: "On the first of March, 
1838, there stopped at father's a man on horse- 
back, saying that he was on hunt of a place to 
locate a colony from York state. He needed no 
further endorsement, when we found that was 
his mission, for his words and actions stamped 
him as a leader. He was a lumberman, and 
was caught in the financial crash of the year 
before while on his way to market with a large 
lot of lumber. But Colonel Beers Tomlinson 
was not a man to 'cry over spilled milk,' and 
came west to retrieve his loss. We directed him 
to Johnson's creek valley, before mentioned, 
which took his fancy. He hired father to go with 
a team and strike a furrow around half the town 
of York. He claimed also the grove of timber 
on the south part of Sections 35 and 36 in Car- 
roll Township. Claim secured, Mr. Tcmilinson 
started for his home in York state, riding his 
horse to Chicago, but as horses were hard to 
convert into cash, he traded his for lake fish 
and shipped them home." 

''In December (1838) Col. Beers Tomlinson 
returned with his son and Monroe Bailey. They 
came with a span of horses and wagon by 
land all the way from Steuben county. New 
York. Their first object was to secure grain to 
winter their team. Hearing that Alvin Humph- 
rey of Elkhom Grove had com yet to husk, 
they went there and procured a job husking on 
sliares. Humphrey was a hog dealer and driver, 
buying hogs down in the central part of the 
state and driving them up into the lead mines. 
He always kept a large number on his farm, of 
the kind called in those days, ^'shad-bellieB," 



from their resemblance in shape to that fish. 
Col. Tomlinson and Mr. Humphrey both were 
not slow in cracking jokes, and Tomlinson said 
to Humphrey: ''Mr. Humphrey, if the old say- 
ing be true, you must have a very choice variety 
of pork here." **How so?" asked Mr. Humphrey. 
'The nearer the bone the sweeter the meat" 

Col. Tomlinson's next move was to find shelter 
for the winter, which he did in a cabin in 
Woodland Township, owned by Nelson Swaggert. 
Then they commenced work to haul logs to 
Christian and Company's saw mill, to g^ lumber 
to build on their claims. Charles and Monroe 
Bailey did the chopping and the colonel the 
hauling, showing themselves masters of the lum- 
ber business by soon stocking the mill with logs 
as fast as cut Tbey bauled the sawed lumber 
on to their claims. Colonel Tomlinson built hlB 
house on the southeast quarter of Section 35, 
in Mount Carroll township. 

Monroe Bailey made a claim for his father, 
Joshua Bailey, on Section 1 In York Township 
and Section 6 in Fairhaven Township, lately 
owned by Ansel Bailey. In the antomn of 1838, 
Joshua Bailey came with his sons,. Elijah, Ansel 
and Ira, and moved into the cabin Monroe had 
prepared for them. 

Mr. Preston also says in regard to Col. Tom- 
linson that he was in the war of 1812, having 
raised a company. He was chosen its cap- 
tain. It is said by one of his York neighbors, 
who was one of the company, that while ren- 
dezvousing the first night was spent in a hall; 
the captain introduced a new military order not 
found in Scott's Tactics. The hall floor was 
scarcely large enough for the men to lie down 
except in what is called spoon fashion, a posi- 
tion which it was necessary to change fre- 
quently, and all had to do it at the same time; 
so when Captain Tomlinson, who remained 
standing, thought they had lain on one side long 
enough, would give the order, "right spoon" or 
"left spoon." Ed.] 

About 1838 Daniel Kenyon and Ck>rnelius 
Shoemaker took up their abode as permanent 
settlers of the town. In 1840, 1841 and 
1842 settlers came more slowly than *in subse- 
quent years. In the latter year Horace Me- 
lendy and Hiram Balcom were among the 
settlers then coming. They went to work 
In. the Savanna Powder Mill and when that 
building was blown up, Balcolm was killed and 
many others were injured. Balcolm was univer- 



Digitized by 



Google 




Jl^T^^iO^ ^. /^^ti->i^ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



.— -^^^ \ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



641 



sally mourned, as he as a man of fine promise. 
In 1843 and 1844 there was a large increase of 
settlers in this locality. They came as a rule 
with families, who since have been and are now 
permanent citizens of the township. 

The early settlerb of Yorlt township are made 
up of prominent families largely related to each 
other. The French, Balcom, Bailey, Melendy, 
Cole, Dyslin and others will always be noted in 
any liistory of the township, in fact Uncle Jo 
Cnshman, the historian of the town, and a man 
whose biographical knowledge of the first fiimi- 
lies, is not excelled by any citizen of the county, 
says that the Balcoms and Baileys, with their 
reiatives, nearly made up the census of the 
town taken a few years ago. 

In 1850, York with other towns of the county, 
passed from the old form of town government 
and elected Monroe Bailey, as its first supervisor 
under the new system of government. The town 
has been quite prosperous. Its leading citizens 
are solid substantial men with heads of their 
own. Indeed we are in the habit of referring 
to York people as a little nation of themselves. 
Monroe Bailey about 1843 or 1844 brought from 
Albany, New York, the first thrashing machine 
e^ er set up in the county. 

FIB8T SCHOOL HOUSE 

In 1844 the Bluff vUle school house, where the 
Bailey church now stands was built Levi Kent 
taught the first school in it. The pupils were 
some of them full grown and a little rude, and 
Mr. Kent had trouble with some of them. A 
remark of Herman Edgerly, in connection with 
this school, has become a tradition. He offered 
if they would let him teach the school, he would 
guarantee that the scholars who lived to spring 
would know something. 

A child of Herman Ck>lvin was the first child 
bom in the town, and a child of Harvey French 
is supposed to be the first one who died in the 
town. Both of these events occurred soon after 
the families to which they belonged came, but I 
cannot give the exact year. A great many of 
these early settlers are now sleeping in their 
quiet graves ; and still a goodly number survive, 
several of whom are over eighty years old. 
Those settlers were a long lived people. Uncle 
Joe Cushman estimates that the average dura- 
tion of their lives was something like seventy 
years, a remarkable fact, when we consider that 



they underwent the hardships of the early 
pioneer days and conditions. 

HOW THEY CAME 

Most of them emigrated to the wild west in 
the old fashioned style, in covered wagons drawn 
by ox teams. The conveyances took the name of 
prairie schooners. John A. Melendy stated to 
me that the team of horses he drove through 
from Vermont took over a month to make the 
journey, and were in as good condition the day 
he reached Rock river and crossed it at Oregon . 
City as the day the team started on its long 
Journey. 

YOBK TOWNSHIP NAMED 

In 1834 N. D. French helped stake out the first 
traveled road from Rock river via Union Grove 
and Bluffville to Savanna. A bridge was built 
at or near Bluffville, this was to turn the Lewis- 
ton trail through Savanna. York was at first 
called Harlem Precinct, but the name was 
changed to York by request of the state 
auditor, when Township Organisation was 
adopted. At this time or a little before in 1883, 
there were ten families at Rock Island, one at 
Hampton, six or seven at Port Byron, one at 
Cordova and those already named at Savanna. 

PBE8T0N PBAHtlE AND MOUNT CABBOIX SETTLEMENTS 

The first settlement at Preston Prairie, was 
made in the spring of 1836, as near as I can 
determine, by Samuel Preston who located his 
claim where his worthy son of the same name 
now resides. In February of that year, the two 
Prestons, Samuel Sr., and Samuel Jr., started 
from Bureau county in a one horse pung or 
Jumper with blankets provisions, etc., and landed 
at Cherry Grove, where Swaggert then kept a 
tavern. Their adventures on this trip were 
varied; they slept one night before the end of 
their journey, under a shelving rock, midway 
between the present Preston homestead and Ful- 
rath*s mill, and in the morning found themselves 
covered with snow. 

At that time Paul D. Otis drove stage through 
Cherry Grove. John D. Winters owned the stage 
line, and a man by the name of Mathews was 
superintendent. Mathews and Otis were then 
contemplating making a large Joint claim where 
Mount Carroll now stands, which they after- 
wards made. Mr. Preston made a claim of the 
mill site where Chalfant's mill was afterwards 



Digitized by 



Google 



642 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



built. In addition to his farm of the prairies. 
He had hardly finished making his mill claim 
when Otis and Mathews came along with hatch- 
ets to take it up for themselves. 

The elder Mr. Preston Intended to open a 
tavern to accommodate the travel then coming 
to and going out of Savanna eastward and 
toward Elkhorn Grove. Before he could get his 
log cabin built, or his fiimily moved to his claim, 
he was called on to entertain travelers. The 
second day found two young men, who had 
been surveying a road from Elldiom Grove to 
Savanna, calling for quarters and entertainment 
They slept In a covered wagon and their meals 
were chiefly roasted potatoes. These early trav- 
elt rs were Nathan Ford and Royal Ckwper. Two 
hayricks were buUt during the season near to- 
gether and the space l)etween was covered over 
with poles and hay, and in this enclosure trav- 
elers were put to bed to sleep. Cherry Grove 
was the only voting precinct in the county. 

Nathan Downing arrived In the autumn of 
this year and settled where John Kinney now 
resides. In the spring of the next year, 1887, 
the first child was bom Into Dowllng's family, 
she was a girl baby who in the course of time 
became the wife of Gideon Carr. 

Keziah Everts made a claim this year where 
Frank Trail formerly resided. Samuel L. 
Bailess, a Virginian, made a claim near where 
the fair grounds now are; laid out a town and 
named it Richmond from the capital of his 
native state. He made liberal offers to settlers, 
and two or three houses were built Otis and 
Mathews were dissatisfied as they claimed the 
same land, but Bailess held on to the possession ; 
and in this case possession turned out to be nine 
points in the law. Mathews built a cabin near 
by and his father moved into it. 

ORIGINAL MILL COMPANY FORMED 

In 1837 the orginal mill company, consisting 
of Daniel Christian, Nathaniel Swingley, Sam- 
uel L. Hltt and George Swaggert was formed. 
The company bought out Otis and Mathews, who 
had located a large claim covering the mill site, 
and the land where Mount Carroll now stands, 
paying them fourteen hundred dollars for the 
elnim. The claim covered section 1, east half of 
section 2. northeast quarter of section 11, and 
the north half of section 12. Heman Downing 
bought all the claim of his brother Nathan. 



Their father Abner Downing made a claim on 
section 15 lately owned by Sumner Downing. 
Dr. £. C. Cochran made a claim where William 
Petty now resides. Daniel Christian had arrived 
in 1837 and in that year or the spring of 1838, 
had moved his family into the cabin vacated 
by ^latbews; he had eight children. George 
W. Christian afterwards settled where Herman 
Coel now resides. Daniel Christian built to the 
old house and occupied it until the time of his 
death. His son Joseph Christian lately resided 
there. 

This year Hltt and Swingley built a saw mill 
west of Mount Carroll on Carroll Creek. Wil- 
liam Mackay and John George hired this mill 
and ran it the first year. This year Heman 
Downing erected a frame bam and all the set- 
tlers far and near, turned out to help raise the 
heavy hewn oak timbers. 

In 1838 Mr. Hinkley took the dalm now owned 
by Daniel Crouse, and L. H. Bowen had a great 
bam raising on Tim Doty's place. This was the 
first frame building erected on the place, or in 
the township. George V. Stewart settled on a 
claim, lately owned by Samuel Haynes. 

In 183a John O'Neal came with his family and 
settled on the old Swaggert place, southeast of 
Mount Carroll. Mr. Swaggert claimed the loca- 
tion, and afterwards at the head of ten men, 
drove O'Neal off, took the rifle with which 
O'Neal was trying to defend himself and his 
castle from him by force, and maintained his or- 
iginal claim. Mr. Preston in his Pioneers of 
Mount Carroll gives the following account of 
this Incident, we have no means of determining 
which is correct. 

"This same year came John O'Neal In ad- 
vance of his family from York State and he and 
George W. Stewart laid claim to a part of sec- 
tion seventeen In Salem township, where the tel- 
egraph road crosses Johnson Creek, and put up 
tiie body of a cabin. But they got notice that 
Hank Hopkins of Savanna claimed that land, 
and was coming the next day to tear the cabin 
down. They each armed themselves with a gun 
and went inside the cabin to await the onset 
'Hank,' came with a half dozen pals from 
Cherry Grove, and Stewart related the scene as 
follows: *They climbed right up on the cabin 
with our guns pointing right at them, and rolled 
the logs down over our heads.' *Did you have 
your gun cocked?' Stewart was asked. *No, 
I was afraid it would go off.* " 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



643 



O'Neal then took up another location where be 
afterwards built a large brick house, and kept 
travelers for many years on the road to Savan- 
na, west of Mount Oarroll about three miles. 

In 1837 David Masters made a claim and 
afterward built a cabin near the place where the 
Mount Carroll railroad depot now stands near a 
beautiful pine and maple grove yet standing. 
These trees it is said by some writers were car- 
ried from Elkhom Grove and planted there, but 
this is not likely as there were many of the same 
kind growing along the creek, much nearer his 
place. Ed.] 

riBST BELIOIOUB MEETING 

The first religious meeting was held on the 
prairie in 1839 by a Presbyterian by the name of 
Whipple at the house of Heman Downing. The 
first school was taught in an upper room of 
Mr. Preston's house by Miss Sarah Jane Haw- 
ley. This year a Mr. Leonard became the owner 
of the mill site claimed by Mr. Preston and built 
a small grist mill. The mill stones were taken 
from a quarry of limestone near by, and may yet 
be seen in the old Chalfant mill now owned by 
Adam Fulrath. 

In 1840 Lewis Bliss and Benjamin Church 
built the house where Jacob Hartman now re- 
sides on the old Steams tsLvm and fitted it up for 
a tavern stand. At this time a contest took 
place for a post office on the prairie. Previously 
the settlers had obtained their mail matter at 
Cherry Grove. Heman Downing and Mathews 
were applicants for the new post office. Both 
were Whigs and the Jef fersonian Democracy was 
in power. The Downing men inserted in their 
petitions the statement, that he was a Democrat, 
but liUther H. Bowen who forwarded the peti- 
tion to Washington and who was a sound Demo- 
crat, simply endorsed on the back of the Down- 
ing petition, **he Is a Whig." Mathews got the 
appointment, but a new administration discon- 
tinued the office the next year. 

THE MILL COMPANY 

No sketch of early Carroll county history, 
would be complete without a reference to the 
operations of the Mount Carroll Mill Company, 
-and the subsequent settlement of the city of 
Mount Carroll, although it is not my purpose to 
speak or write of settlers who arrived after 



1840; some other time I may attempt to carry 
this history down to 1850, and to a later date 
perhaps. 

S. M. Hltt of Ogle county, Daniel Christian, 
Nathaniel Swingley and George Swaggert com- 
posed the original mill company as already 
stated. They purdiased the mill site and 
claimed several sections of land around It This 
firm was dissolved and a division of property 
made. This was prior to 1840. In that year on 
the 10th day of May, David Emmert and family 
landed at Savanna. He settled at Cherry Grove 
and for a time kept a tavern there. In 1841 
Nathaniel Halderman also came and located at 
Cherry Grove for a time, and kept a tavern 
there. He arranged with Emmert to build a 
mill somewhere in the county. They first ne- 
gotiated for the purchase of the Bowen 
mill site near Savanna, but for some reason 
could not obtain that power. They finally 
selected the Mount Carroll mill site. They were 
to pay three thousand dollars for the site and a 
tract of land adjoining. The new company went 
by the name of Emmert, Halderman and com- 
pany. John Rinewalt was a member of the firm 
and came on in 1843. David Emmert eventually 
retired from the firm in 1845, and John Irvine 
Sr. took his place. For a short time Jessie and 
Thomas Rapp had an interest in the enterprise. 
In the fall of 1841 Mr. Halderman happened to 
meet Daniel Hurley, Patrick Silk, Hugh Slowey 
and several others, who had stopped at Cherry 
Grove with horses, carts and so forth, to obtain 
their dinners. Previous to this the company had 
built the log house at Stag Point, a part of 
which now stands on the grounds of Isaac Shel- 
don. Emmert's family had moved into it in 
January, 1842, l)elug the first family which ever 
resided in Mount Carroll. Halderman brought 
Hurley down to the point, and the Job of 
building the mill dam, and digging the mill 
race was let to him. The company pushed their 
enterprises. The mill was finished and run- 
ning in the fall of 1842. The company boarded 
the hands, some forty in number, established 
a store; first running it in a shed attached to 
the log cabin, and afterwards building a regular 
storeroom which is the same building now oc- 
cupied by Mr. Sheldon as a residence. The 
bands were paid mostly out of the store. The 
company built the stone house, the present 
residence of James Hallett and also the original 
building at the head of the dam where Jacob 



Digitized by 



Google 



644 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



Loh resided; they also built the court house 
as narrated in speaking of the removal of the 
county seat. 

STAG POINT 

In those days there were lively times round 
Stag Point, now the mill site of the large stone 
mill. When the company settled with Hurley, it 
was unable to pay him his money. Hurl^ was 
disappointed; he said he expected the **gold/' 
but he had to take for his pay the splendid tract 
of prairie land Just east of the present city lim- 
itfi which in a few years made him a wealthy 
man, by its rapid advance in value. From 1845 
settlers increased rapidly. 

FIBST SCHOOL 

The first school kept in the city was taught 
by a young man by the name of Andersen, in the 
old stone court house. 

The first church wtis the old Methodist church, 
a brick structure and a great church building 
for its day ; but now used principally for shops 
of various kinds. At present time it is used as 
a garage. 

The first school house was the old brick build- 
ing, on the site of which John Nycum built his 
fine brick residence. 

FIBST MAIL 

At first the Mount Carroll people obtained 
their mail matter from Cherry Grove and Plum 
river post offices. Prior to *1853 a tri-weekly 
stage coach to carry the mail, had been estab- 
lished. In that year Jacob P. Emmerf obtained 
the contract for a daily mail by way of Savanna 
to Freeport. This remained until the railroad 
was constructed by the old Racine and Mississ- 
ippi Railroad Company, then the coaches were 
hauled off. 

From this small beginning established by the 
Mill Company the present little city of Mount 
C&rroll, with its fine schools, churches and busi- 
ness interests, had their inception and growth. 

In 1867 the present city charter was obtained 
from the legislature and affirmed by a vote of 
the people adopting it 

THE SEMINART 

No sketch of our little city would be complete 
without reference to the Mount Carroll Semin- 



ary, that seat of learning widely known in edu- 
cational circles. The charter of this institution 
was obtained in 1852 by William T. Miller, the 
then representative, and some attempts were 
made to organise a school, which at first were 
not very successful. 

On the eleventh day of May, 1853, Miss F. A. 
Wood and Miss C. M. Gregory came to Mount 
Carroll and opened a select school in the second 
story of what was known as the Ashway build- 
ing, located where the Glenview Hotel is now; 
nominally under the auspices of the Seminary 
charter, but really independent of the board, 
as they made their arrangements, provided the 
school room, paid all the expenses. The first 
term opened with eleven pupils and closed with 
forty. This select school was carried on in 
the downtown building about one year and a 
half. 

During the spring and summer of 1854, the 
Seminary building was erected by the corpora- 
tion; raising some of the money by stock sub- 
scription, and incurring an indebtedness for the 
balance. The building was, however, erected on 
credit, at a cost including five hundred dollars 
for five acres of ground, of forty-five hundred 
dollars. At that time the surrounding 
lands were worth ten dollars per acre. The 
building of the Seminary however, largely in- 
creased the value of adjacent lands, espedally 
those between the Seminary site and the town 
plat 

In 1854 the school was removed from the Ash- 
way building to the new Seminary building and 
formally organized under its charter. Misses 
Wood and Gregory were employed on salaries. 
At the end of six months it became evident that 
a new and financial administration of its affairs 
was necessary. Expenses exceeded income. The 
stock subscribers became dissatisfied and the 
corporation began to devise ways to get out of 
the enterprise. Finally an arrangement was 
made by which the two ladies agreed to take the 
school into their own hands. They were to pay 
the forty-five hundred dollars the cost of the 
building; the trustees donated the furniture, on 
condition that the school should be maintained 
at least ten years. Rinewalt and Halderman 
donated the five hundred dollars for the 
grounds, or rather surrendered their mortgage 
for that amount. Afterwards claims for money 
borrowed on the work were presented for about 
twelve hundred dollars. These Misses Wood 



Digitized by 



Google 




^ a; 

= 1^1= 

w^Jj ..s 

O «^ = - c >^S 









F ^ " = z 



w 5 -^' ff- «. S :^ " 
^ 5 ?.^,S ^" £ 






^rZ C <y c3 
5i — ^ 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



645 



and Gregory finally assumed and were released 
from the ten year obligations which they had 
entered into. They thus paid the entire cost of 
the institution, except the five acre donation of 
the grounds. 

The school gradually increased until 1857; 
then additional buildings were erected, to ac- 
comodate its growing patronage. Before this 
young gentleman liad been admitted to the 
school as well as girls and young ladles. In 
1865 additional buildings were erected with the 
Intention of again admitting boys and young 
men. Now the largest addition of all is being 
completed with good prospects of being filled 
for the coming school year by girls and young 
ladies alone. 

The school was under the control of the cor- 
porators from October 1854 to April 1855 ; from 
the latter date to I>ecember, 1857, it was under 
the owners, Miss F. A. Wood and Miss C. M. 
Gregory ; from the latter date to July 1870, un- 
der the control of Mrs. F. A. Wood Shimer, 
Miss Wood having married Dr. Henry Shimer. 
At the latter date, Mrs. Shimer bought the in- 
terests of Miss Gregory and has remained sole 
proprietor ever since. 

Miss A. 0. Joy is now associate principal ; Dr. 
Shimer's connection with the school has been 
solely in the capacity of professor and teacher, 
he having no part in its government or financial 
management In the department of science and 
natural history, he has collected a very valuable 
cabinet for the use of the school. In ornithol- 
ogy, his collection of birds is not surpassed by 
any collection of the state. 

THE ACADEMY 

The present condition of the Academy is very 
prosperous, with fine commodious buildings, well 
fitted with modem improvements; its music 
rooms furnished with the best of musical in- 
struments; its extensive grounds of over thirty 
acres filled with evergreens, shrubbery, graper- 
166 and fruit trees; its corps of teachers care- 
folly selected, and its financial management 
marlced with the most marked success. The fu- 
ture of this institution bids fair to eclipse any 
female seminary in the northwest The school 
department under the able management of Miss 
JQJ Is giving universal satisfaction; while the 
the musical departments reputation is attracting. 
those who ^me from long distances to enjoy its 



privileges. [For further history of the Academy 
now called the Frances Shimer School, see a 
subsequent chapter. Ed.] 

OTHER SETTLEMENTS OF THE EABLT DAY 

In addition to the foregoing, which were the 
principal early settlements, a tew isolated fami- 
lies and settlers had located In other parts of 
the county in the very early day. Marion 0. 
Tuylor came to the lead mines in 1828 and set- 
tled in Carroll county afterwards. He is the 
oldest living pioneer now living within the 
county limits. 

About 18d4 Uriah Green, then a young man 
lived on Plum river not far from the old Har- 
ris farm as it was afterwards called ; now owned 
by Thomas Noble. 

William Thomson had made a claim in Wood- 
land in 1835, and when he sold out to George 
Si^aggert, he went to his Woodland claim. As 
will be seen in another part of this narration, 
Thomson had made Ills original claim at Cherry 
Grove among the Cherry Grove settlers, and had 
sold that claim to Garner Moffett in 1835, but 
must have located his Arnold Grove claim before 
that time. 

EARLY SETTLERS IN WYSOX TOWNSHIP 

In 1839, L. H. and A. T. Eastabrook settled in 
the town of Wysox ; about the same time mem- 
bers of the Fletcher family began to arrive. 
Among the first was Byron and Nelson Fletcher ; 
Nelson could detail many of the horse races, 
dances, fights and claim difficulties in that part 
of the country in an early day. He was at one 
time fined ten dollars for helping to whip a man 
by the name of Brown, who had Jumped his 
claim. He was also familiar with the incident 
of Samples M. Journey, breaking the staff over 
the head of Woodruff, his associate while they 
were surveying. 

ROOK CREEK TOWNSHIP 

David Becker was the first settler in Ro<^ 
Creek, thirty-three years ago the present (1876) 
July. He settled on the place where Dani^ 
BeldUig now resides, built the great hou8e,vand 
sold out to Mr. Belding. 

The next year Zachariah Klnkade settled at 
the head waters of Rock Creek near Lanark. 



Digitized by 



Google 



646 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



Philander Seymour also settled on his home 
farm place very early. He was at one time sur- 
veyor of the county. Becker claims to have given 
the Town of Rock Creek Its name. When he 
took up his claim, there was only a path where 
the Elkhorn and Mount Carroll road runs, and 
no bridges made on the streams. 

INDIANS 

As already mentioned the Indians swarmed 
over this whole part of the state, for some time 
after the first settlers located. In Brown^s his- 
tory I find reference to a small settlement at 
the mouth of Plum river, before it was named 
Savanna, this was referred to in the item as to 
the early settlement of that place. 

I find in Ford's history of the state, an order 
despatching Colonel Alexander's battalion of 
troops to Plum river so that a part of the 
Blackhawk army marched through our county 
and probably came up the Lewiston trail and 
then passed through Cherry Grove. John De- 
ment fought a sharp battle at Kellogg's Grove 
not far from Buffalo Grove. An express of six 
men riding from Galena to Dixon were fired on 
ill passing through Buffalo Grove and one man 
named Durley was killed. Black Hawk him- 
self attacked Apple River Fort, near Elizabeth, 
but was repulsed, having shot one man dead, 
who was standing at a porthole bravely defend- 
ing the fortification. Tradition has it that a 
party of white men pursued some Indians who 
had been marauding al)Out Elkhorn Grove, and 
coming up with them Just north of Mount Car- 
roll, in a hollow near Mr. Moore's residence sur- 
prised and shot their leader through the head. 

The Indians were great horse thieves and on 
one occasion. Gamer Moffett and Mr. Gamer 
pursued a party of them to Milwaukee and 
secured a span of horses they had stolen. Mrs. 
Moffett related an incident, of a large and sav- 
age Indian coming into the house one day, when 
nu one was at home but herself and children, 
and after deliberately laying down his rifle, 
tomahawk and scalping knife asked for some- 
thing to eat; this was given him, and he was 
told to, "puck achee," leave, which he immediate- 
ly did. Such incidents were of frequent occur- 
renca The Owing boys and others hunted with 
the Indians, dressed like Indians and looked 
like Indians. 

Uncle Gamer Moffett used to preach in those 



days. One Sunday as he was traveling through 
Elkhorn Grove to fill an appointment on the 
other side, at a private house, he met about 
three hundred Indians straggling along the nar- 
row trail and concluded his hearers could get 
along that Sunday without the gospel, as we 
find that he turned and hastened back to Cher- 
ry Grove, t>elievlng that Indians were too thick 
around there for healthy preaching. 

In addition to the attack on the Savanna 
Block House and the adventure of Upton there 
spoken of, M. B. Pierce says that he and his 
father were in Galena at the time of the attack 
on the block bouse. Marshall says he was called 
upon to stand ground, and in the hurry got his 
pants on wrong side first, and thus did a soldier's 
duty until morning. 

Another incident is told of Upton, illustrating 
the daring character of the man. Captain Orrin 
Smith of Galena had a very valuable horse 
stolen by the Indians and in some way he found 
out that the thieves had gone to Rock Island. 
He offered Upton two hundred dollars to rescue 
the animal. Upton started alone; found the 
horse feeding among a lot of Indian ponies 
at the head of Rock Island ; crossed over where 
Moline now stands; crawled through the grass 
and succeeded in placing a halter on the animal ; 
swam him over to the Illinois side ; mounted and 
as he was fleeing, was fired at by about a dozen 
of the savages as they were emerging from the 
woods and saw him. The hero escaped by hang- 
ing to the side of the swift flying horse's neck, 
one bullet marked the horse behind the ears, 
but ranged too high to make other than a slight 
flesh wound. 

INDIAN FIQHTINO 

There must have been some Indian fighting 
at the fortified cabin in Cherry Grove, as there 
is a flrinly believed tradition, that the wom^i 
molded bullets, while the men fired out of the 
port holes. This much is a historic certainty; 
in the Indian troubles, the few persons in the 
neighborhood gathered into the stockade when 
th^ heard the Indians were coming from Eliz- 
abeth. They, however, changed their minds by 
the next day, and all started post haste for 
Dixon, in the morning, where they arrived 
safely. About noon the savages arrived at the 
fort, fired for a' while on the building and the 
stockades, and finally broke in the ^eavy gate 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CAKROLL COUNTY 



647 



in the palisade made of split logs pinned to- 
gether and in the doors of the fort Among 
other mischleyons pranks they toolk the feather 
beds out to the top of the hill ; ripped them open 
and hugely enjoyed the sight of seeing the 
feathers scattered before the wind over the 
prairies. This "Fort," was situated near a 
spring on Crane's run, not very far from what 
is now called the Moffett school house, at the 
center of section 26, Freedom township. It was 
prol>ab]y located near the center of the south- 
east quarter of section twenty-three. Ed.] 

A PIONEEB LOST 

Another incident. In the early days, tragic in 
its sadness, was the death of the father of 
Luther H. and David Bowen. The old gentle- 
man had been living with another son, a doctor 
at Joliet, but started on foot to visit his sons 
Luther, John, David and Sherman, then living 
at Savanna. He arrived at the home of John 
C. Owing's about a week later, in the afternoon 
of a stormy day, in the early spring of 1836^ 
tired and foot sore. Owings urged him to stay 
all night ; but Mr. Bowen was anxious to reach 
Savanna, and after receiving directions as to the 
right road, he started on. Some two weeks later 
Luther H. Bowen learned from a letter from 
Joliet, from the brother there of the father's 
start on his Intended visit. In alarm he started 
cut to trace up the missing father. Visiting 
Owing^s place he there learned the fiicts above 
narrated. He returned to Savanna for help. 
At last the party found the lost man lying 
dead by the side of the trail, two miles north of 
I'rophetstown. He had evidently taken the 
I^wiston trail about three miles west of Mount 
Carroll, and had followed It far into the night, 
until worn out with fatigue he sank into the 
long sleep of death by the wayside. The praiiie 
fire tiad burned over him, scorching his clothes. 

JUMPING A CLAI1£ 

Another incident in connection with land dif- 
ficulties, is told of Paul D. Otis. A man by the 
name of Kellogg had Jumped the claim of this 
same man. A quarrel ensued, and Kellogg fired 
a pistol at Otis. The ball penetrated a thick 
coat and bruised the skin but infiicted no fatal 
wound. The shooting happened n%ar the shanty 
of Otis and Mathews near the old saw mill. 



Kellogg lived on the old stage road near Pleas- 
ant Valley, was a notorious claim speculator, 
and had hired Hiram G. Francis to work for him 
and set him to cutting timber on the Otis claim. 
Otis went to Galena, and had Kellogg indicted 
by the grand Jury. Mr. Francis who saw the 
shooting and would have been an important wit- 
ness, went back to his old home in York State 
where he remained two or three years. Mean- 
time the case was continued from term to term 
of the court and finally nolle prossed. 

SHELVING BOCK SHANTY — ^BATTLESNAKES 

In this same shanty, which was built against 
a shelving rock, Monroe Bailey stopped for a 
time when he came to the country. He tells 
that on one evening a large pot of mush was 
being prepared for the evening meal. The rock 
against which the fire was built became hot, and 
suddenly exploded with terrible effect on the 
niusb, and the great terror of the men. 

Rattlesnakes were plentiful about the rocks 
in those days. A fishing party of which Sumner 
Downing was one of them, discovered a den of 
rattlesnakes near Jacobstown and slew about 
one hundred and thirty of the reptiles at one 
time. The men of that party would have made 
good Saint Patricks. If they had kept on, few 
snakes would have been left In the county. Lieu- 
tenant Joseph Myers of Company A, Forty-fifth 
Illinois Volunteer Infantry on a recent visit to 
Mount Carroll said, that his f&ther entered land 
in Woodland in 1848. When he was a boy rat- 
tlesnakes were quite numerous ; they would come 
around the fire more than a dozen at a time, 
and that he killed one that measured eight feet 
long and had twenty-four rattles. One time 
when he had no gun with him he saw a drove of 
forty deer. 

INVENTIVE GENIUS 

Another of the early incidimts of the first 
settlement of this part of the state, illustrates 
the inventive genius of the first settlers. One 
Joe Miles was a sort of lawyer, they called such 
members of the profession Jack lawyers, but he 
was a genius in his way. He spent much time in 
trying to invent the first reaping machine that 
ever was started in a wheat field in the county. 
It was a horizontal revolving wheel, with the 
outer rim set full of scythe blades. 



Digitized by 



Google 



648 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



When the machine was ready to make its 
first trial, a crowd was there to see how it 
would dispose of the growing grain. It was 
near the present Academy grounds. As the 
machine went up the street to the place of the 
test to be made, an unfortunate pig with a 
snort and a grunt started to cross the street 
before it; the unfortunate porker, was like the 
war diariots of Pharoah, the revolving blades 
caught and made an end of his poor pigship, 
but on the trial the machine would not properly 
cut small grain, however well it would slay pigs, 
cripple horses and men. 

NAMES OF PLACES 

The history of the names of places is some 
times significant and is worthy of attention. I 
have made some inquiries as to these names 
bestowed upon places and localities in Carroll 
County. Mount Carroll was so named by the 
commissioners, who located the county seat; 
when they staked off the hill where the churches 
now stand. 

Savanna was named from the marshy plain, 
supposed to resemble the savannas of the 
south ; Elkhom Grove and creek from the num- 
ber of old elk horns there in early days ; Eagle 
Point from an old eagle nest there, when white 
men first came; Rock Creek and town from the 
rocky and gravelly creek of the same name ; Lan- 
ark from a county or locality in Scotland, because 
Scotchmen named the new towns along the line 
of the first railroad in the county; Buffalo 
Grove, Indian name Naunsha, from the ancient 
herd of buffaloes which lingered thereabout 
when the first white men came; York because 
many of the early settlers came from New York 
State; Wysox from a town of the same name in 
Pennsylvania, from whence came many of Its 
first settlers; Woodland from Its timber and 
thickets; Cherry Grove from the wild cherry 
trees found there; Plum river from the wild 
plum trees growing along its margin and fiat 
bottom. The Indian name of Plum river was 
Pecatollca, found in a government patent and 
some old deeds. Shannon town and village took 
the name of William Shannon, who first laid 
out the town and village. 

The name of the county was first suggested 
by Israel Chambers. He being the oldest citizen, 
aa a compliment to him he was given the honor 
of selecting a name for the county ; he named it 



Carroll after Charles Carroll, of Carrollton, one 
of the signers of the Declaration of Independ- 
ence. 

Badger Springs was named by a party con- 
sisting of S. M. Hltt, Nathaniel Swingley, John 
Wagner and David Mumma, who were traveling 
from Cherry Grove to where George W. Harris 
was staying in Ogle county. On the 17th day of 
May, these people stopped at the springs to eat 
their dinner; whiles there Swingley killed a 
badger, and thereupon Mumma suggested that 
they name the springs, which was at once done. 

STBADDLE OBEEK 

One authority for the name of Straddle creek • 
gives It thus : John Ankeny and two other 
men had started north from Elkhom Grove, rid- 
ing on Indian ponies ; they came to a creek with 
steep banks in the prairie, and In crossing the 
pony of the heaviest man was unable to dmb up 
the bank ; the rider thereupon placed one foot on 
each bank, and the pony struggled out between 
his legs. Ankeny from this circumstance named 
the creek Straddle Creek. Freedom took its 
name from the fact that It had been free from 
law suits up to tliat time. 

EABLT SETTLEMENTS 

In the early day Carroll County was settled 
up in the old pioneer way. Nowadays when a 
new county is opened up to settlement, the rail- 
road is the pioneer of the advancing wave of 
emigration. Towns are laid out, machinery, 
libraries and pianos Introduced, and cultivated 
society, form the nucleus of population. There 
are no old settlers any more, no unwritten his- 
tory of the early days ; but the old fashioned way 
of a new country was different. The pioneers 
came In prairie schooners, covered wagons. They 
endured hardships, they lived in log cabins. 
Neighbors were far apart, but warm hearted and 
true men and women. The men wore coonskin 
caps, the women wore llnsey wolsey dresses, not 
very fashionably cut. There are men in my 
hearing who wore sunbonnets for their want of 
hrts, and their linsey wolsey breeches were 
baggy and dyed with copperas and walnut bark. 
The com dodgers and johnny cakes as made in 
those days, are pleasant remembrances, they lay 
close to a man*s ribs. The hog and hominy were 
food fit for the fabled gods. Tin reflector stoves 



Digitized by 



Google 





Digiti 



zed by Google 



■:'- \ 









Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CAEROLL COUNTY 



9 

649 



took the i^ce arter awhile of the old flat iron 
pots, which used to bake such good bread. 
Wonderful batches of biscuit were baked then, 
each was equal to a five cent modem loaf. The 
merry makings were hearty and well enjoyed. 
The pioneers did their work mostly with oxen. 
They had hogs, and such hogs ; they were the old 
fashioned prairie rooters, and could run like a 
deer. In a few instances their owners tied knots 
in their tails to keep them from going through 
the picket fences, and when they drove those 
fattened for the Galena market. If their horses 
were good so as to keep up with the hogs, they 
got to market in a day; the pork brought a dol- 
lar and a half per hundred pounds and some- 
times the money was paid out for calico to make 
the women's dresses. 

QAMB ABOUNDED 

Deer, wild turkeys, raccoons and all sorts of 
game abounded; the streams were full of game 
fish, and the marshes roared with the noise of 
the wild fowls. Mosquitoes swarmed in clouds ; 
fever and ague abounded in the summer and 
fall. Crows and blackbirds ravaged the grow- 
ing crops; and the boys liad to dress up scare- 
crows to keep them out of the gardens. 

CLAIM SOCIETIES 

Difficulties were mostly settled by arbitration, 
but Judge Lynch was sometimes called in to 
deal with outrageous cases. Claim societies 
existed and men who Jumped the claims of oth- 
en: or entered men*s claims from under them 
were summarily dealt with, and never did it 
again. In Carroll County, Abram Moffett's claim 
was entered from under by a man named Ba"ker ; 
but a band of regulators compelled him to give 
up the patent and abandon his entry. Men were 
honest, and sheriffs and lawyers were not much 
needed. 

FBX7GALITT AND CONTENTMXIfT 

Humble indeed were those log cabin homes of 
the first settlers; but around their bright fire- 
sides, €k>d*s good angels came to bestow bene- 
dictions. Health and labor; frugality and con- 
tent, chastity and love dwelt in those humble 
homes. These hunter farmers came to lay 
t 



broad and deep the foundations of future states 
and a great free nation. 

THE AGBICULTUBAL 800IETT 

This society was organized in S^tember, 1858* 
and held Its first fair in the year 1855, on the 
farm of Monroe Bailey in York. John N. Keech 
was its first president Its second fair was held 
on the grounds Just east of the residence of O. 
S. Beardsley in Mount CarroU. The fidrs since 
then have been held on the grounds of the so- 
ciety near Mount Carroll, except for the years 
1865 and 1866, when they were held In Lanark. 

Gamer Moffett was president and H. G. Grat- 
ton was secretary of the meeting which organ- 
ized the society. At the early fairs, Monroe 
Bailey and John A. Melendy used to take most 
of the premiums, with their fine stocks, but they 
generally donated these premiums to the society. 

EABLY PBEMIUMS AWABDED 

We think the following premiums awarded at 
the first fair (1855) of sufficient interest to be 
worthy of note. 

The committee on agricultural implements re- 
ported as follows: 

"McCall & Kellogg are entitled to a premium 
on the best stove manufactured in Carroll 
county. 

**We also award to Widney & Walker a pre- 
mium on the best fanning mill manufactured in 
said county." Also 

1st Premium awarded for the best oil paint- 
ing, by Miss Sarah Fuller of Mt. Carroll Semi- 
nary. 

1st Premium awarded for the best penciling 
by Miss C. M. Gregory of the Mt Carroll Sem- 
inary. 

Best monochromatic by same. 

1st Premium, for the best single carriage 
horse, exhibited by Miss F. A. Wood of the Mt. 
Carroll Seminary. 

Hogs were very much better than Judge 
Shaws' description of them, as the committee 
reported, "that but two small lots were entered 
nor do they think either worthy of a premium." 

Of this fair, Mr. D. H. Wheeler, editor of the 
Carroll County Republican, says, **it marks an 
era in our history,-Hlraw8 a line from which 
we may look backward and forward— to which 
those who come after us may refer as a sort of 



Digitized by 



Google 



650 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



boundary, between the half-civllization of early 
western settlement and the full maturity of a 
country abounding in all the necessities and 
most of the luxuries of cultivated life." Ed.] 
The fall of 1876 witnessed its twentieth 
fair. The war excitement in 1861 prevented 
a fair being held that year. The premiums 
awarded the first year amounted to only forty- 
eight dollars in money; the rest were given in 
diplomas. The premium list for 1876 amounted 
to three thousand dollars. Later the fair man- 
agement became so heavily indebted and their 
real estate encumbered by mortgage with ac- 
cumulated interest, through no fault of any one 
year*s management, but principally on account 
of bad weather and lack of attendance sufficient 
to meet the expenses and pay the large prem- 
iums offered. To continue the fair and relieve 
those who had become responsible for the un- 
secured debts, a few public spirited gentlemen 
organized a ftock company and incorporated 
and raised money sufficient to pay the debts of 
the original organization ; took over all the prop- 
erty of the old organization, and have continued 
the annual fair with variable financial success 
on the old fair grounds. The officers for 1910 
were : J. A. Warner, president ; Thomas C. Jenks, 
vice president; Cal M. Feezer, secretary; and 
J. D. Tumbaugh, treasurer. 

NEW8PAPEBS 

The first newspaper In the county was the 
Mount Carroll Tribune, started in 1850 in Mount 
Carroll by Dr. John L. Hostetter, was printed 
in Freeport and published for a short time. 

In 1852 Jacob P. Emmert started the Carroll 
County Republican with Henry Gratton as its 
editor. Emmert sold out in about nine months 
to Gratton ; Gratton ran it for a time and then 
sold out to David H. Wheeler, in 1855, who con- 
tinued the paper until 1857; he in turn sold out 
to David B. Emmert; he sold his interest in the 
Republican to Dr. John L. Hostetter. Mean- 
time English had started the Home Intelligencer. 
In May 1858, the two papers were consolidated 
under the name of Republican and Intelligencer, 
with Hostetter and English as business man- 
agers. This arrangement did not last long. The 
Intelligencer was again started as a separate 
paper with English and Cochrane at its head. 
It lasted about a year, Cochran went out, Eng- 
lish died soon after, and the paper came to an 



abrupt termination. Dr. Hostetter continued the 
Republican for awhile, then sold out to Ladd 
and Silvernail ; who in time sold out to the 
Seminary, when the issue of the paper ended 
after a short existence. 

The Carroll County Mirror was started by 
Holinger and Wendel. This paper still survives, 
after having changed hands several times. 
About 1853 Smith D. Atkins and a Mr. Allen 
started and ran the Savanna Register in that 
place for about a year. In May, 1864, J. R. 
Hewlett started the Lanark Banner in that 
place. In 1867 he sold out to J. E. Millard who 
continued to publish it until his active duties 
as school commissioner, caused him to suspend 
its publication. 

J. R. Howlett commenced the publication of 
the Carroll County Gazette, first in Shannon and 
afterwards in partnership with J. M. Adair in 
I^nark. Adair went out and Howlett sold out 
to George Hay, who took control of the Gazette 
Office, July 3, 1875, and in Sept^nber took into 
partnership with him M. W. Lowis, which ar- 
rangement continued until November 7, 1876, 
when Mr. Hay sold his interest to F. H. B. Mc- 
Dowell of Chicago; the following February he 
purchased the interest of his partner. In 1878 
it is said the paper had a circulation of one 
thousand copies with a constantly increasing 
subscription list, which was at that time the 
largest circulation of any paper In the county. 

The Savanna Times, in 1876 owned and 
edited by Simon Greenleaf and published in 
Savanna has changed hands several times, and 
is now owned by W. W. Gillespie. 

The Mount Carroll News was started in 
Mount Carroll by Frank Beeler. He sold out to 
J. W. Mastin, who commenced the publication of 
the Carroll County Weekly Herald. Thomson 
and Shannon have had newspapers, but they 
havie been published elsewhere and did not con- 
tinue long as local papers. 

The Savanna Times was first started and pub- 
lished in Shannon, and afterwards the office was 
removed to Savanna. 

NOTABLE PUBLICATIONS 

Of the many notable things published, interest 
centered in the fierce sectarian controversy 
waged over the Seminary in the Republican, in 
1857; and the Solferino articles, being take-offs 
of the hosts of candidates running for the local 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



651 



offices about 1860, published in the Home In- 
telligencer, and in pamphlets. 

MAGNITUDE (1876) 

I have thus briefly and imperfectly attempted 
to write down and preserve some of the un- 
written history of Carroll county. It is the 
experience of all who attempt this task, in other 
places, that the first writing contains errors and 
mistalces. It cannot be otherwise. Old settlers 
themselves do not agree as to material facts. I 
invite criticism of the foregoing sketch, criticism 
in a friendly spirit wtiich will give me the 
means of correcting any errors, and enable me 
to continue the narrative down to later times. 
Then if opportunities are favorable this brief 
beginning may grow into a more pretentious his- 
tory of the county. 

We now see how small were the beginnings of 
our little county. Its growth however, has been 
rapid and prosperous. In 1860 our population 
was 11,718; in 1870 that population had grown 
to 16,707. The assessed value of the property 
in the county in 1875 was, $7,875,877.00, as re- 
turned by the local assessors, who valued it at 
about two thirds of its real cash value, taking 
the average of the county. 

Shannon, Mount Carroll, Lanark and Savanna 
have become prosperous cities and towns, while 
Thomson and Milledgeville are thriving villages. 
Good school houses in the country districts and 
good graded schools in the towns, denote the 
prosperity of our unexampeld school system. 
The wbole country is under a high state of cul- 
tivation, and our farmers have tasty, and some 
of them elegant houses. Banks and mills 
abound; churches of fine appearance lift their 
spires heavenward, and denote the religious and 
moral heart. 

OUB WAB BECOBO 

During the war of the rebellion we raised in 
the county about two hundred and fifty thou- 
sand dollars in the shape of bounties for our 
soldiers, and the support of their families. We 
furnished soldiers too. On the 25th of April, 
1861, Major Nase's Company K, 15th Illinois Vol- 
imteers was mustered into service; on the 20th 
of November, 1861 Captain Polsgrove's Company 
A, and Captain Flsk's Company E, were mus- 
tered into the Lead Mine Regiment. On the 7th 



of September, 1861, Cpatain Heffelfiager's Com- 
pany I, of the 34 th Regiment was mustered into 
service. On the 4th of September, 1862, Cap- 
tain Becker's Company I, and Captain Stoufer's 
Company C, were mustered into the 92d Regi- 
ment. We 'also furnished many men for the 52d 
Regiment and for several Cavalry Regiments, 
besides recruiting for the old regiments. In all 
we must have sent to the war of the great rebel- 
lion nearly one thousand men. [The Adjutant 
General's Report, Illinois, gives us credit for one 
thousand four hundred and ninety-eight enlist- 
ments, and there are inscribed on the soldier's 
monument in the Court House Square, twelve 
hundred and eighty-four names. Her quota was 
always full, and not one of that number was 
drafted. — -Ed.] ; and no better men were fur- 
nished by any county in the state. 

This sketch makes no pretensions to an ex- 
haustive narrative of any subject touched upon. 
It is simply an attempt to commence the col- 
lection of our local annals. When they are all 
collected the materials for a very interesting 
history of the county will be at hand. 



CHAPTER III. 



THE PIONEERS, WHERE THEY CA^E 
FROM, AND HOW THEY GOT HERE. 



CANAL BOAT TBAVELING — STEAM BOAT TBIP — COV- 
EBED WAGONS — ^PBAIBIE FIBES — ^BY THE GBEAT 
LAKES — THOSE WHO DID NOT GOME — ^POSTAGE — 
BATTLED WITH MANY DIFFICXJLTIES — HAPPIEST 
PEOPLE — SAVANNA PIONEEBS — MTT GALENA 1828 
— STBONG HANDS, 8T0U1' HEABTS — ^BOB UPTON — 
SAVANNA A TBADING POST — BIVEBS COMMEBCIAL 
HIGHWAYS — ^BLACK HAWK WAB — ^FLIGHT, ANX- 
IOUS MOTHEBS — ^LOVE OF PIONEEBING — ^DAVID 
EMMEBT AND HIS FAMILY, SAMUEL M. HIFT, 
NATHANIEL HALDEBMAN — BUILDING THE MILL 
AT MOUNT CABBOLL — BOABDING THE HANDS — 
STOBE BUILT — LODGING THE PEOPLE— CABOLINE 
WADE — ^LAND SALES — HABD TIMES, SCABCITY OF 
MONEY — ^BAPTISMAL POOL — THE GBAVEYABD, FIBST 
6BAVE — ^FIBST NEWSPAPEB PBINTED IN MOUNT 



Digitized by 



Google 



652 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



CABBOLL — PIONEEBS CONTINUED, DOCTOBS ABBA- 
HAM AND JOHN L. HOSTETTEB — ^FIBST BANK — 
BBEAKINO OUT OF THE C^IVH. WAB— ^EPBECIATED 
CUBBENGY — JOHN IBVINE SB — WEDDINGS, BIBTHS 
AND DEATHS IN THE LOO CABIN — MISS ANNA 
HOSTETTEB 

It will tax the reader's mind to iniaglue this 
country without towns and cities, without rail- 
roads, no way to get here except with horses or 
oxen, or by the rivers, and the canal boat or by 
the great lakes. Some landed in Chicago from 
sailing vessels. Mr. Samuel Preston's father, 
who was one of the earliest pioneers, came to 
Chicago on the barque Illinois, from there he 
went to Princeton, and later to Carroll county. 

CANAL BOAT TBAVELING 

Most of those who came from Pennsylvania 
took the passenger canal boat, on the "raging 
canal." A young lady pioneer describing the 
cabin In one of these boats, crowded with pas- 
sengers of all kinds, says in her diary: **To 
be compressed into the narrow space of a canal 
boat, among a dozen different dasses, corres- 
ponds with my idea of a purgatory." These 
boats of course could go no faster than the 
mule on the tow path, which pulled them along. 
There were delays in passing under bridges 
and going through locks. At these places lively 
passengers would jump off and walk along the 
tow-i)ath and Jump on at the next bridge or lock. 
When going under bridges, passengers on the 
hurricane deck of the canal boat would have to 
dnck their heads for fear of striking the girders 
of the bridge. The arrival of a boat at a stop- 
ping place, or its passing under a bridge was 
announced by the blowing of a horn. After 
leaving the canal boat the traveler went over 
the mountain on what was called the inclined 
plane, being pulled up In a car, that ran on a 
strap rail, on one side of the mountain, and let 
down on the other. 

STEAMBOAT TBIP 



Louis, where passengers had to change to smaller 
boats if their destination was farther up the 
river. It was dangerous boating down the Olilo ; 
sandbars and rapids had to be passed in day- 
light, but these floating palaces, were taken 
safely over these dangerous places, by skillful 
pilots, who knew full well the danger and the 
Intricacy of the swirling waters and contrary 
currents. The mighty father of waters reached, 
the boat traveled day and night; sometimes 
however when the night was very dark, the boat 
had to tie up by the woods on the bank of the 
stream, being unable to proceed in the dark on 
account of the danger of running into some of 
the many snags that filled the river bed in many 
places, or of punching a hole in the bottom of 
the craft, which would allow the vessel to fill 
with water in a few moments, letting all go to 
the bottom of the river and as a traveler said, 
"to eternity in an unexpected hour." Some of 
these steamboats discharged their passengers at 
Rock Island, not daring in low water to try to 
pass the rapids in the river just above this 
place, and the emigrants had to get to their 
destination as best they could; others landed at 
Savanna and made their way across the country 
on foot or in teamster's wagons. The time it re- 
quired to come from Harrisburg, ^Pennsylvania, 
on the canal, inclined plane, and the Ohio and 
Mississippi rivers to Savanna, Illinois, was a lit- 
tle more than two weeks. This was considered 
fast traveling. 

COVERED WAGONS 

others came by covered wagons and other 
vehicles drawn by horses or oxen, across the 
mountains, through the dense wooded wilder- 
ness of Ohio and Indiana, then across long 
stretches of prairie, sometimes detained many 
days by floods and swollen streams, which could 
not be crossed for want of bridges or ferries. 
In later years there were a few bridges that 
could be crossed by paying toll, and turnpikes 
over which they could travel by paying toll, 
which was more per mile than the fiire on the 
railroads is now. 



At Pittsburg one could take a steamboat fly- 
ing a flag, with this inscription: ''Bound for 
Peoria, Illinois;" or a much better boat, a float- 
ing palace, It seemed like, after getting out of 
the stufTy little canal boat, bound for St. 



PBAIBIE FIBES 

Emigrants were often detained by prairie fires 
which were more dangerous than the floods; 
these no man could stay, he could only wait and 



Digitized by 



Google 




OLD STONE COURT HOUSE 




FIRST LOG HOUSE IN CARROLL COUNTY 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



658 



pray for the gentle rain from the cloud filled 
Bky, all conqnerer of the fiery fiames. 

Those who came overland had covered wag- 
ons, in which were packed their household goods 
and provisions for the Journey. Some had horses, 
some cattle, some traveled with cows along, and 
even had them yoked to wagons. The roads 
were often so rough that by hanging the cream 
in a pail to the wagon, the shaking would chum 
it to batter so that it would be ready to use at 
the next stopping place. One party was two 
months in coming from Franklin Ck>unty, Penn- 
sylvania, to Carroll County. Others found it so 
diflScult traveling overland that when they got 
to Wheeling, Virginia, took the steamboat from 
there to go down the Ohio, thence up the Missis- 
sippi river. An amusing Incident was told by 
Davenport Davis, late County Treasurer of Car- 
roll County, who was an eye witness. The late 
Judge Shaw's wife's father, was moving west, 
and had some stock on board the steamboat 
among which was a thoroughbred bull ; the bull 
managed to jump overboard and swam to an 
island in the river; the boat was stopped in its 
course, and the word went round that "Harvey's 
bull was overboard." The boat followed the 
animal to the island and he was safely put 
aboard again. 

MOVED BT THE OBEAT LAKES 

Others came by the great lakes to Chicago or 
perhaps disembarked at Detroit and came from 
these places overland. The New Englanders 
and those further east came by way of the 
Hudson and the Erie canal to Buffalo and from 
thence by the lake route. 

When at last they arrived at their destination 
they were weary and travel stained, provisions 
almost exhausted, and there was no habitation, 
no house for them to occupy, most of them 
with very scant means to subsist upon, strangers 
in a strange land where there was nobody, 
neighbors were miles away. It is no wonder 
some of the women were homesick, and shed 
many bitter tears, longing for the comfortable 
home and friends they had left behind them, 
whom they never expected to see again, if they 
had to travel that weary Journey back to the 
old home. Nor could they ever expect their 
friends to come to them if they told a truthful 
tale^ of the difficulties they had encountered to 
get here. 



THOSE WHO DSD NOT COME — ^POSTAGE 

If they told them of the great advantage of 
coming to this new country, so much land to be 
had for so little money, their friends and kin- 
dred would write back and say like one who 
gave the following reasons for not coming west, 
from a letter dated January 10th, 1840, with the 
usual beginning; "I embrace this opportunity of 
informing you that we are well, and hoping that 
you enjoy the same blessing. You write for me 
to come out to your country. I can't tell whether 
I will go out or not. I can't see any advantage 
in it, for if the land is cheap, the grain is cheap 
also, and if the wages is high, store goods are 
high too." 

Such a letter was hardly worth the postage, 
which the sender seldom paid, but old settlers 
say they were always glad to get letters, but 
often did not have the money to imy the postageb 
To accommodate those who did not have the 
money the postmaster kept a little account bo(^ 
labeled "Postage Book; by whom due." The 
names of the patrons of the office were arranged 
alphabetically; opposite each name the post- 
master would set down the amounts of postage 
charges, and number of letters delivered as 
5 : 6 : 10 : 5 : 20 etc, when it was paid the amount 
was crossed off. Periodically, for the purpose of 
collecting these dues, he would make a list of 
the names with the amount due set opposite the 
name, when paid it was so marked. There were 
no postage stamps, no envelopes. The letter 
sheets were folded in such a manner, so that 
they could be sealed with a wafer or sealing 
wax. It required some skill to properly fold a 
letter, so that by pressing the folded letter 
apart the writing could not be seen. One ingen- 
ious youth who had occasion to correspond with 
his fiancee, and did not trust the peeping post 
mistress, made some envelopes for their own 
use. There were no steel or gold pens in pioneer 
days, but very good pens wwe made froifa 
goosequills, which were in common use. It was 
one of the duties of the schoolmaster to sharpen 
the goosequill pens for his pupils. There was 
no blotting paper, instead a sand box was used, 
something like a pepper box with a wide rim on 
top, making a little hopper to catch the sand, 
which after being sprinkled on the damp ink was 
poured from the paper back into the Im>x. 



Digitized by 



Google 



654 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



* BATTLED WITH MANY DIFFICULTIES 

During the early settlement of the country the 
pioneers battled with many difficulties. First 
were those of getting here from homes far dis- 
tant in the east. Many of these emigrants en- 
dured weeks and months of wearisome travel, 
literally passing through fire and flood to reach 
their destination. Then after a habitation was 
secured, it often was a very meager pro- 
tection to the family against the elements and 
wild beasts. Then came the subduing of the 
virgin soil; the cost of the first plowing was 
three times the cost of the land if purchased 
from the government at a dollar and a quarter 
_ an acre. Many other difficulties were invari- 
ably the accompaniment of pioneer life. Dis- 
tant markets, very imperfect and rude machin- 
ery, in comparison with what the farmer's now 
use. As an illustration, with the little V sLaped 
harrows they had then, drawn by ^ne horse, the 
farmer could harrow an acre In a day ; they now 
have harrows drawn by four horses, the driver 
rides, and harrows eighty acres in a day. Slow 
and laborious was transportation, often with un- 
remunerati^-e prices for farm products. There 
was much hard labor, which, with the exposure 
to the elements for want of ordinary protection, 
often resulted in sickness with the most dis- 
tressing maladies, and the doctors lived far 
away, often wholesome food was needed more 
than medicine. Had they not all been young 
and hearty, very few would have survived the 
ordeal. 

The early settlers however, notwithstanding 
their privations were among the happiest people 
in the world, living on hope and the prospect of 
future, which are always bright to young peo- 
ple, especially in a new country. It did one 
good to be among them and see how they got 
along without many of the conveniences, that a 
more settled civilization gives. Their hospital- 
ity knew no bounds. They would stop their 
work and take a stranger anywhere and show 
him everything. If you wish to enjoy life go 
west and visit among the new settlers. 

THE SAVANNA PIONEEBS 

From a clipping in the Old Settler's Record, 
page 111, The Missing Link Paper, read by 
David L. Bowen, September 23, 1886. Contrtb- 
uted by Mrs. Blundell, then living in California: 



In the summer of 1828 an acquaintance was 
formed between the families of Aaron Pierce and 
George Davidson, then living in the lead mines 
back of Galena. They had spent an unsuccess- 
ful season in search of mineral treasures, usual- 
ly but erroneously supposed by the novice to be 
found in fabulous quantities in all mining re- 
gions. With a view to a more permanent loca- 
tion and permanent employment at a less uncer- 
tain business these people formed the project of 
moving down to the Mississippi bottoms and 
taking up government land, for farming and 
engaging in whatever other business might come 
to hand. Therefore on the fifteenth day of 
Septeml>er 1828, Aaron Pierce, George Davidson 
and his son Vance L. Davidson and William 
Blundell, his son-in-law, started in search of 
an old Indian town, called by the Indians, 
Council Bluffs. Two years before this time 
(in 1826) one of the party on his way to the lead 
mines had passed through the place and noted 
the location and beauty of the scenery. This 
party after examining the site concluded to 
move to this place and make it their home. 
It was near the last of October before they 
were ready to move. It was arranged that 
Davidson and family should embark in a flat 
boat with most of the bulky and heavy articles 
of household furniture, while Pierce and his 
family, were to make the trip by land. 

LEFT GALENA 1828 

Mrs. Harriet L. Davidson says her father 
Aaron Pierce and family, six in all, left Galena 
about the first of November, 1828, with an ox 
team, accompanied by Vance L. Davidson on 
horseback, for the purpose of reconnoitering and 
finding a way for the wagon; after a tedious 
journey of three days, most of the way through 
a trackless wilderness composed of under brush 
and timber, over hills and through hollows with 
almost impassable sloughs, which had to be 
crossed, fording creeks and swimming rivers, 
they arrived at the top of the bluffs overlooking 
the upper part of what is now Savanna. Here 
their course was Intercepted by steep and almost 
impassable bluffs; on the west of them was a 
perpendicular wall of rock two hundred and fifty 
feet high with the great river flowing close to 
its base. From this point, they saw spread out 
before them a magnificent panorama ; for a dis- 
tance of fifteen or twenty miles north or south 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



655 



they could trace the winding course of the great 
Father of Waters as it flowed quietly down to 
the great ocean along banks covered with great 
forest trees and vines and shrubs and other vege- 
tation of almost tropical growth. To the tourist 
and lover of natural scenery it was a rare and 
beautiful sight; but what was It to these wan- 
derers in this wilderness, stopping here at the 
very outpost of civilization ; across the river was 
the Black Hawk territory owned by the tribes 
of the Sac and Fox Indians; westward even to 
the Pacific ocean there was scarcely a trace of 
civilization, and very few white men except a few 
trappers and traders. With scanty means of 
subsistence, with the cold winds of November 
upon them with nothing to shelter them from 
the chilly blasts of an inclement winter, they 
were surrounded by treacherous bands of sav- 
ages, whose friendship was as unreliable and 
unstable as the winds. 

STBONQ HANDS, STOUT HEABTS 

It took Strong arms and stout hearts to look 
around at their little ones, without some fore- 
bodings for the future. The evening frosts were 
fast gathering upon them as they prepared to 
descend to the valley. Along the side of the bluff 
there was an Indian trail that ran down by way 
of a long narrow ridge ; by chaining the wheels 
of their wagon and fastening a small tree to 
drag under them and then holding the wagon 
from upsetting, they succeeded in descending 
without mishap, and on reaching the bottom 
took possession for the night of a large Indian 
lodge made of poles driven into the ground 
and covered with bark, it having been formerly 
used as an Indian council house. Fortunately 
the party that went by the river, consisting 
of Blundell and Davidson, arrived a few hours 
later, having been several times stuck on sand- 
bars and meeting with other delays. Their tent 
or lodge they made with poles covered with 
the long grass that was very abundant along the 
bottom land, where it grew to such a height that 
a man on horseback in it could not be seen a 
hundred yards away. 

The first day of November, 1828, found this 
little colony of eleven persons, four men, three 
women and four children all encamped at what 
is now called Savanna. In three weeks by all 
working together they had raised three log 
cubins, even the gable ends were logged up; the 



roofs were covered with four-foot stakes, held 
on with weight poles, if any nails were used in 
the building they were few and far between. 
The party had brought some provisions with 
them ; game was plentiful in the fall ; but their 
stock of provisions failed before spring, so that 
they were reduced to living on a little soup; 
some of the men went to Galena for supplies, 
all they could get was a dollars* worth of coffee 
and thirty pounds of flour. In February the 
river opened, much earlier than usual and a 
boat got up to Galena with flour, where they 
obtained a barrel at a cost of twenty-five dol- 
lars. After the first year their supplies were 
abundant. 

In 1829 the somewhat noted character. Bob 
Upton, made his first appearance at the settle- 
ment He was sent out as a runner by General 
Kearney with letters and despatches from the 
fort at Rock Island to the lead mines. He was 
a humorous sort of fellow, yet with all his trif- 
ling talk was fearless and faithful to his friends 
and a man of considerable Intelligence after 
the manner of a backwoods man, living on the 
frontier, hunting and trapping for a subsistence. 
He remained in the settlement for some time and 
was there when a few years later the Indians 
attacked the block house. Many amusing stories 
are related by the old settlers of Bob Upton and 
his adventures. He Is reported as "Robert" 
Upton, to have gone to California during the ex- 
citement over the discovery of gold, and never 
returned. Thus he with many others disappears 
from the history of Carroll County. 

Vance L. Davidson and Marshall B. Pierce 
kept a trading post at Savanna for trading with 
the Indians who came from over the river in their 
canoes. Sometimes there would be a hundred 
or more beached on the bank of the river. 

The Mississippi river and the other rivers 
of the west were great commercial high-ways, 
for the purpose of trading with the Indians. 
John Finley, before he Introduced Daniel Boone 
and his party into the fertfle valleys of Kentucky, 
was Master of the Batteau Hutchlns, In it he 
carried cargoes of merchandise worth thousands 
of dollars between the various trading posts 
on the rivers. Ttiis boat was named after 
Thomas Hutchins, who was then engaged as an 
engineer in the service of the British army, 
surveying and platting these great waterways 
and the several portages from the rivers to the 
great lakes. He afterward became Surveyor 



Digitized by 



Google 



656 



HISTORY OP CAEEOLL COUNTY 



General of the United States and invented our 
83r8tem of township surveys. 

BLACK HAWK WAB, FUQHT ANXIOUS MOTHEatS 

Then the Black Hawk war broke out and all 
the Indians became hostile. The white poeple 
at Savanna were obliged to flee for their lives. 
The women and children were rowed up the river 
at night Mrs. Mary J. Rhodes who was the 
first white child bom in Savanna and in the 
county used to tell how anxious their mothers 
were on this trip, for fear the babies would cry 
and they would be discovered by the Indians, 
who were supposed to be lurking everywhere, 
and their flight interrupted ; but they all escaped 
in safety. Some dangerous adventures, how- 
ever befell the men who were left in the block- 
house, for the purpose of protecting their prop- 
erty, which are related elsewhere. After the 
war was over and Black Hawk captured and his 
warriors driven from the state of Illinois, the 
pioneer settlers returned to Savanna. 

LOVE OF PIONEERING 

When the discovery of gold in California was 
heralded throughout the land, the spirit of ad- 
venture and love of pioneering was still cher- 
ished in the minds of Davidson and his family 
and his friends. Conditions had so changed at 
Savanna, that they sought for new fields of ad- 
venture and Vance L. was among the first to 
make the trip across the plains with the gold 
seekers. Returning he went again and took 
with him his wife and family and his son-in- 
law Ed Price and his wife and child, and Henry 
Pierce, Mrs. Davidson's brother, William Blun- 
del, who was married to Vance Davidson's 
sister, and his son, Jeff and wife went along 
and John, Joe and Richard Smith are reported 
to have been with this party, also John Saxton 
and his wife, and William and Joseph Ashby. 
The two latter return^ to Savanna, but after- 
ward, in 1864 went to California and Oregon, 
and became permanent residents there. When 
these people with others arrived at Council 
Bluffs, as was the custom, they organized for 
mutual protection in crossing the plains ; Vance 
L. Davidson was elected their captain. In 
crossing the plains they had to endure many 
hardships and privations, an account of which 
is given elsewhere. Some of these people and 



many of their descendants are now living in 
California and other western states. 

In CaliforniaHJiere is an organization of oyer 
a hundred former residents of Carroll County, 
who meet In annual reunion at Los Angles for 
the purpose of keeping up their acquaintance and 
refreshing their recollections of the times they 
lived in little Carroll County. Many of them 
have, since leaving here seen a good deal 
of the big world and have prospered and 
are of greater use to their fellow men perhaps 
than if they had continued to live here and had 
confined their activities to the precincts of their 
old homes in Illinois. 

EMMERT FAMILY 

DAVID EMMERT AND HIS FAMILY/ SAMUEL M. HITT; 
NATHANIEL HALDEBMAN 

When David Emmert, who was the first per- 
manent settler in Mount Carroll, was a young 
man he went into P^msylvania, from his home 
in Maryland, and was engaged in buying wheat 
and teaming it to Baltimore. He married Susan 
Price and returning to Maryland he lived on a 
farm before coming west ; on this farm he was 
building a fine fish pond and Joseph Welty was 
helping him at this work. 

About this time Samuel M. Hitt the owner 
of the mill site at Mount Carroll came to visit 
Mr. Emmert and persuaded him to come to Oar- 
roll County, telling him of the mill site of Luther 
H. Bowen near Savanna and of his at Mount 
Carroll, in which Mr. Hitt with others was in- 
terested. They had purchased the claim to the 
mill site from the original pfeemptors. Hitt 
praised the country and spoke of the good chance 
it offered to a young man to mend his fortunes ; 
this was in the fall of 1839, and David Emmert 
came west in the spring of 1840, in company with 
Mr. Hitt and his family, going to Ogle County 
first, but eventually arriving at Cherry Grove 
in this county in May of that year. Here he 
kept the Cherry Grove House, which was a 
stopping place on the stage line from Dixon 
to Galena. He with the keen sense of a pioneer 
saw the advantages and possibilities of the 
country, at once wrote to Nathaniel Halderman 
and induced him to come west Thus the m^ 
who built the mill ^nd founded a city, were 
induced to come west and take hold of the mill 



Digitized by 



Google 




^a/jrl^ ^, fdM4M^ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



\ ^:^^r3 



\ -'^^^ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



657 



enterprise, which was the beginning of Mount 
Carroll. 

Some years ago, Joe Wei ty, one of the pioneers, 
related the following incident to Dr. Henry 
ShimeB, who made a note of it, for the purpose 
of sometime writing a history of the county; 
stating that David Emmert used to tell this 
anecdote in the company's store at Stag Point, 
saying that by accident he once was traveling on 
Sunday in Pennsylvania and upon hearing men 
thraediing with a flail in a bam near the road, 
he went in to see about wheat, he was then buy- 
ing grain, he saw three sons flailing and the old 
man turning bundles. Emmert said in German, 
"how is this? you are thrashing on Sunday," 
whereupon the old man said, 'If it is Sunday we 
will quit, we do not take the papers and we 
did not know it was Sunday." This it is said 
used to bring down the house, for Mr. Emmert 
had great descriptive powers and could relate 
such anecdotes without a smile. It may be 
said, for the benefit of the Scotchman, the Joke 
was, you ought to take a newspaper to tell when 
Sunday comes, the application of this will appear 
when it is seen what a family of printers the 
Emmerts became. 

Before coming west David Emmert was living 
in Cumberland County near Harrisburg, here he 
had become acquainted with Doctors Abraham 
and John L. Hostetter and George HoUinger who 
afterwards came to Mount Carroll ; at this time 
Mr. Emmert was a member of the Pennsylvania 
legislature. Through trusting a dishonest man, 
with a large amount of money to buy wheat he 
lost nearly all the capital he had. This perhaps 
more tbau anything else, determined him to take 
what little he had left and his family and try 
to retrieve his fortunes in the great west 

BXTILDIITG THE MILL AT MOUNT GABBOIX 

As has been told by Judge Shaw in his history, 
Mr. Enmiert went into partnership with Mr. 
Halderman, to build the mill, the firm was called 
Emmert, Haderman & Co. The services of an 
architect, a Mr. Chapman of Ogle County, were 
soon secured to plan and supervise the erection 
of the mill. Bradstreet Robinson was employed 
to haul the logs to the sawmill of Hitt and 
Swingley, a short distance down the creek ; most 
of the great timbers, still to be seen in the mill, 
were cut from government land, which for many 
years was free to all comers. Elijah Bailey*s 



father did the iron work for the mill and shod 
the cattle. Two of the carpenters who worked 
on the mill and who did the work to unite the 
two log cabins to make a dining room for the 
workmen were Henry Lowman and Abraham 
Beeler, they also built the store building at Stag 
Point. Mr. Emmert hired Daniel Hurley, John 
Herrington, Michael Mahan, Patrick Silk and 
Hugh Sloey to build the mill dam and the mill 
race; they completed this work early in the 
spring of 1842. Jonathan Myers came from Ogle 
County to lay the walls for the mill which was 
built of native stone; upon flnishing the work 
he flourished his hammer over the high gable of 
the west end of the mill and said, "hurrah for Mt 
Carroll and Emmerts' mill, water on the wheel, 
wheat in the hopper, meat on Halderman's back 
and marrow in Rinewalt*s bones.'' His assistants 
on the walls of the mill were Emanuel Morrison, 
Thomas Reed, M. Reed and William Nicols. Mr. 
Chapman and his two sons William and Mordecal 
took the contract for doing the mill-wright work. 
The mill shaft, the axle to the great water wheel 
which turned all the machinery, including the 
great stone burrs that ground the wheat, was 
cut on the Mississippi bottoms ; Robert Kennedy 
assisted by Abraham Beeler dressed it and put in 
the burrs. 

BOARDING THE HANDS WHILE BUILDING THE MILL 

While the mill was building Mrs. David Em- 
mert and Miss Harriet Harmon, boarded the 
workmen, some forty in number, in the log cabin 
on the knoll near tlie mill site, commonly known 
as Stag Point, named from the deer which had 
frequently been seen there. This cabin had been 
built not far from a spring, at the foot of the 
hill, which a great tree overshadowed in those 
days. In the winter of 1841-42, another cabin 
was erected about fourteen feet from the 
original one, at the gable end, and the space be- 
tween the two log cabins was roofed over to make 
a dining room for the workmen. 

These ladies had the fever and ague, which 
wns so common at the time and from which the 
early settlers suffered greatly, fortunately they 
alternated in having the chills and were still 
able to do the work between times. When one 
would be down sick the other would do the work 
and take care of the children, no sooner would 
the one recover than the other was taken down 
with this distressing malady ; and so these brave 



Digitized by 



Google 



658 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



young women got along and fed the forty men 
or more who were building the mill. They de- 
serve great credit for the part they toolt in this 
enterprise. Miss Harmon afterward married 
Robert Kennedy an expert miller from Phila- 
delphia, who ran the Emmert and Halderman 
mill ; he died many years ago leaving his widow 
with a family of small children to fight life's 
battles alone, which she has faithfully done, and 
still lives in Mount Carroll, honored and re- 
spected by every one ; nothing in the city, which 
she has seen grow from a small log dwelling 
house to its present proud dimensions, is too good 
for the people to offer this aged widow to en- 
joy. She has no kin here beside her own family 
except a sister, Mrs. Manning, living north of 
Lanark, who Is also an octogenarian. The 
little girl, Ann, daughter of David Emmert, 
who helped to set the table and kept the 
glasses bright, for those forty workmen, is still 
living in Mount Carroll, Mrs. Ann Hallett, wid- 
ow of Bartlett Hallett. 

STORE BUILT ; LODGING THE PEOPLE ; CAKOUNE 
WADE 

In 1842 the store at Stag Point was built also 
the cooper shop. When the mill was running 
people came for many miles with wheat and grists 
to be ground; they had to have lodging places 
somewhere. Miss Caroline Wade came to the 
assistance of the ladies mentioned and made the 
beds and bunks, sometimes for fifty or more 
lodgers, the log house was filled, the store loft 
and the cooper shop. She afterwards became the 
wealthiest citizen in the county; founded the 
Caroline Mark Home and endowed it with over 
half a million dollars. 

LAND SALES, HARD TIMES, SCARCITY OF MONEY 

Following the year 1839 the early settlers had 
great difficulty in getting their groceries with 
their farm products on account of financial stress 
and the scarcity of money; but greater difficul- 
ties had to be overcome later, which went to the 
securing of the titles to their lands and their 
homes. In the winter of 1842-43, President 
T^ler issued a proclamation bringing into market, 
the lands of Carroll County and a part of Ogle, 
in the November following. The settlers, not 
without reason, became alarmed, as money such 
as the government required in payment for lands, 



was not to be had. Gold and sUver and treasury 
notes were the only legal tender for govemm«it 
lands at that time. The supply of money for the 
whole country was said to be less than one hun- 
dred million of dollars and there was very little 
of it in the west. 

Early in the spring of 1843 the settlers began 
to move in the matter. They feared that to have 
their lands put up for sale, under the then ex- 
isting conditions, would put them at the mercy 
of the land sharks. Meetings were called, the 
first in the northern part of the county at the 
Cherry Grove House, of David Emmert. There 
was a good attendance. Lewis Bliss went from 
Preston Prairie with his bugle horn, and en- 
livened the meeting with some music. The meet- 
ing after making some preliminary arrange- 
ments, adjourned to meet a month later at t^e 
Companies* Store at Stag Point, near the mill. 
At the meeting at Mount Carroll it was re- 
solved to petition President Tyler for relief, set- 
ting forth the condition of the settlers and ask^ 
ing him to postpone the sale. Tyler had turned 
traitor to the party that elected him and was not 
at all popular nor thought to be in sympathy with 
the people who had elected him. It was there- 
fore humiliating to the Whig portion of the set- 
tlers to be obliged to ask a favor of him; they 
were in a large majority in Carroll County, 
which was the banner county of the state for 
the Whigs. 

David Emmert, who was a Whig, had been 
chosen to draft the i)etition to the president, 
which he did and presented it at the meeting. 
It closed with these words: "Remember and 
aid us in our need, and we will remember you 
when aid will be greatly needed." George W. 
Harris, a democrat, was the fitrst to speak and 
said, "I think you had better leave that out, the 
President will take that as an insult*' 

Seymour B. Tomlinson, a Whig, was the next 
to speak, he said : "Yes leave that out, I wouldn't 
vote for Jolin Tyler to save my farm." 

The Honorable Samuel HItt of Ogle County, 
who was an old friend and acquaintance of 
President Tyler, was made the bearer of the 
petition to the president. 

The president after reading the petition said 
that he was in full sympathy with the settlers 
and would like to aid them in securing their 
lands, "But," said he, "the time set for seUing 
the lands cannot be postponed. But I will in 
a special message to Congress recommend the 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



659 



passage of a law, giving to all settlers wlio are 
entitled to land under the preemption act, one 
year to pay for their lands from the date of ap- 
plication." The president was as good as his 
-word; sucb a law passed. It gave the set- 
tlers time to prepare for paying for their lands 
and most of them took advantage of it to secure 
their homes. 

Protective leagues were formed in different 
parts of the county, for the safety and protection 
of the settlers at the land sales; all disputes 
among land claimants were adjusted hefore a 
board of arbitrators previous to the day of sale. 

llie sale was to take place at the land office 
at Dixon, Illinois. Each league had a man se- 
lected to bid off all the land covered by the 
league, for such of the settlers as were ready to 
pay for it 

David Emmert was selected as the bidder for 
the northern league. He had a plat of the lands 
before him and the* eighties marked with the 
name of the claimant who was ready to pay. 
Mr. Eddy one of the clerks of the department 
was the crier; the land was ofiTered In eighty 
acre tracts, commencing with the east half of the 
northeast quarter of section one and going 
through the township in the order tiie sections 
are numbered. He cried off the land as rapidly 
as he could nanie the lots, slowing up by a sign 
when near a lot to be taken, when a bidder 
would cry out "bid," which meant tte lowest 
price at which it could be sold, viz. one dollar 
and a quarter an acre, and the name of the 
purchaser would be recorded. If any one had 
attempted to raise that bid. It was generally 
understood he would have been roughly handled 
and no doubt made to withdraw his bid. 

hbst county judge 

David Emmert succeeded George W. Harris 
who was the first county judge. He had resigned 
at the end of a year In office. There were very 
few estates to be administered upon in those 
days. The pioneers were all young people, so 
few old people came to the new country, that a 
gray haired man or a baldheaded man was a 
great curiosity to the children of the early 
settlers; their grandfathers and grandmothers 
had been left In their comfortable homes In the 
east. 

In 1849 wiien the Savanna Branch Railroad 



was Incorporated Judge David Emmert was one 
of the first board of directors. 

THE BAPTISMAL POOL, THE GBAVE TABD, THE FIBST 
GBAVE 

A short distance down the creek from the West 
Carroll bridge, just below the grave yard there 
was a beautiful pool in the creek with a clean 
sand and gravelly bottom which was used foi* 
many years by the early settlers as a baptismal 
pool, and many of the Inhabitants of the village 
and surrounding country were immersed therein. 
Mr. Emmert belonged to a church that believed 
in and practiced this manner of baptism. Other 
denominations used this iwol for the same pur- 
l)ose sometimes cutting the Ice away for the pur- 
pose of Immersing converts. 

David Emmert gave the land for the old grave 
yard and in 1852 laid out the West Carroll 
addition to Mount Carroll, sometimes called Lou- 
don after the native place of some of the early 
settlers. , 

The site for the graveyard was then open 
country, uncultivated; Mr. Elijah Bailey said 
that, when he was a young man, breaking 
prairie on the Emmert claim, he used to turn 
his cattle out to graze where the graveyard now 
is. Some years later there was a lone grave 
there and it was an object of no little curiosity. 
The young people of ttie settlement used to take 
a walk over there, on the Sabbath day, to look 
at this lone grave. It was the final resting place 
of a stranger by the name of Smith; Joseph 
Welty, a carpenter, who came to Mount Carroll 
through his acquaintance with David Emmert, 
made this statement In regard to this stranger 
and the beginning of the graveyard. In July, 
1844 one H. Smith came here from Xenla, Ohio, 
was taken sick of dysentery on the river, en- 
route to the Galena lead mines. He got off the 
boat at Savanna and came on a wagon to Mount 
Carroll. Welty waited on him until he died, 
this was ttie first death in Mount Carroll. When 
the man was dead Mr. Welty went to N. Hal- 
derman at the mill to see about a burial place 
and he said : "Wait until David Emmert comes 
over and we will see about It;" Mr. Emmert 
soon came and said: "We must have a grave- 
yard." Mr. Halderman, Mr. Emmert and Mr. 
Welty went out across the breast of the mill- 
dam which was then used for a wagon road, 
having a bridge across the mill race. They 



Digitized by 



Google 



660 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



looked about the ridge on the north side of the 
mlllpond and concluded that it was not suf- 
ficiently easy of access; then Mr. Emmert pro- 
posed to go over to the grounds where the cem- 
etery now ifl. There he told Mr. Welty to select 
a spot, which he did close by a large white 
oalt tree, and commenced to dig the grave. 
After digging awhile William Powers came over 
and helped him. When the grave was dug Mr. 
Welty went over to Fred Williams' shop and 
they made the coflln of black walnut, also a 
handbarrow; on this they bore the coffin to the 
grave the same evening. The coffin was laid in 
the ground without a rough box, boards were 
then laid over the coffin on shoulders cut in the 
earth. Dr. Judd was the attending physician. 
There was no ceremony at the grave. The next 
death in Mount Carroll was that of Rebecca, a 
one year old child of Thomas and Margaret Rapp 
in the summer of 1845; it took the summer 
diarrhoea of infants with fever; Dr. Abraham 
Hostetter was the physician, there were no re- 
ligious services, she was laid in a grave beside 
Smith. Mr. Welty helped Fred WiUiams make 
that .coffin. The next grave was either Keefer's 
or that of Daniel Christian, Sr., he was a soldier 
of the war of 1812. Welty helped to dig these 
graves and helped to make the coffins. The 
price of a good walnut coffin was five dollars and 
nothing w&s charged for digging the grave. Dan- 
iel Christian, Sr., died December 20th, 1847 ; after 
this burials were more frequent, Welty and 
Williams making the coffins for five or six years. 
The plat of ground set apart for a graveyard by 
David Emmert was eventually filled with graves 
until there was no room for more. These lots 
were all free to any person who needed a place 
for burial. Oakhlll Cemetery was laid out by 
Mr. N. Halderman on lands he owned adjoining 
the old graveyard. The graves in this city of the 
dead number more now than the living in the 
city near by. Instead of natures' monument that 
marked the sight of the first grave, a beautiful 
oak tree, great monuments and tombstones en- 
cumber the ground, so vast are some of them it 
seems as though mother earth can scarcely bear 
their weight, Indeed the little lots on which they 
stand could not bear them up without the as- 
sistance of their neighbors. 

The first woman's club or organization of wo- 
men in Mount Carroll was formed for the pur- 
pose of raising means to fence the graveyard, 



stock being allowed, in thoae days, to run at 
large. Mrs^ Tommy Rapp was one of the mem- 
bers of this club, sewing drde was the modest 
name they gave it, also Mrs. Harriet Kesme6j 
to whom we are indebted for this information, 
who is still livUig in Mount Carroll. 

For many years the Smith grave was unmarked 
except by a simple mound and the oak tree, but 
througti the thoughtful generosity of the neigh- 
bors it is now marked by a slab with ai4;)ropriate 
inscriptions. It may be seen near the east en- 
trance to the new cemetery. 

The year after the building of the mill David 
Emmert built the stone house over the beautiful 
spring to the north of the creek and the town. 
For many years this house was occupied by Mrs. 
Ann Hallett, daughter of David ESmmert, wife 
of Bartlett Hallett an early settler and a brick- 
maker and contractor; the brick in all the old 
brick houses in the town were made by the 
Halletts, James and Bartlett In this house 
many of the early settlers were welcomed on 
their arrival and enjoyed the hospitality of the 
Emmert's until a place could be found for them 
in which to make a permanent abode. 

In 1850 during the excitement attendant upon 
the discovery of gold in California, Judge Em- 
mert fitted out three wagons with four yoke 
of oxen to each wagon, for the gold seekers; 
his son Simon went with the party, also the 
schoolmaster Shottenkirk and W. A. J. Pierce, 
still living in Mount Carroll, who carried the 
purse to pay expenses, which was exhausted 
long before they reached the gold mines. The 
names of others who went with this party and 
the adventures they and others met with on 
the way are related in another Chapter und^ 
the heading, the Forty-niners. The Emmert 
caravan as it drove out of the little town made 
quite an imposing sight. The men were all in 
a Jolly mood In hopeful anticipation of soon 
finding their fortunes in the land of gold ; only 
one or two did so, and some never returned; 
among these was Judge Emmert's son. 

In 1852 Judge Emmert was one of the incor- 
porators of the Mount Carroll Seminary and 
treasurer of the board of trustees. In 1854 after 
t^e German Baptist or Brethren church had 
built a commodious meeting house at Arnold's 
Grove, David Emmert was chosen to the ministry 
of that church. 



Digitized by 



Google 




STONE HOUSE AT WILDERBERG. 

Built in 1861 by Dr. Abraham Hostetter; now occupied by his 

son, grandson and great-grandson. 




CARNEGIE LIBRARY, MT. CARROLL 




OLD MILL AT MT. CARROLL. BUILT 1842 

Digiti 



zed by Google 




Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



661 



FIRST NEW8PAPEB PUBUSHED IN MT. CABBOLL 

David Emmert witlidrew from the Mill com- 
pany is 1851 or 1852 and built a warehouse for 
tiie porpose of buying and storing grain, on the 
southweet comer of Main and Market streets 
opposite the old stone court house. In this 
building on the third floor he helped his son 
Jacob P. Emmert start the first printing office 
in the county and here in 1852, was printed the 
Republican, the first newspaper printed in the 
county. Mr. H. G. Gratton who had been pub- 
lishing the Freeport Journal at Freeport went 
into partnership with Jacob P. Emmert In 1863 
after a year's experience, Jacob withdrew from 
the printing business to become derk of the 
circuit court and recorder. Later he became 
interested in some real estate and with Emanuel 
Stover laid out Stover and Emmert's addition 
to Mt Carroll; near this addition he built a 
fine brick mansion, In which Mr. N. H. Haider- 
man now resides. 

Mr. Gratton, who was a generous public spirited 
citizen, did much for the advancement of the 
town and especially the seminary, where his 
granddaughter in later years attended as a 
student. He published the Republican Until 1855, 
when it passed into the hands of D. H. Wl\eeler. 
He continued the paper for two years And. in 
1857 sold to D. B. Emmert, second son of David 
Emmert George English was . the. > fcS.reman 
under the David B. Emmert administration and 
when young David was taken away by the Pike's 
Peak excitement, he sold his interest in the 
Republican to Dr. John L. Hostetter; English 
continued to publish the paper under the firm 
name of Hostetter & English. Young David 
on his return from the mountains, stoi^>ed at 
Topeka, Elansas, and started a paper there, 
called the Aubom Docket He was elected 
(^ief derk of the house of representatives of 
the Kansas legislature. Later he went to Fort 
Scott and started a paper in a small town, near 
there, called Marmaton. Here Joseph, sixth 
son of David Emmert, who had learned the 
business as the devil in Uie printing office in 
Mt Carroll under English, had charge of this 
paper and fought his brother David, who had 
started the Fort Scott Monitor on the county 
seat question ; Fort Scott won out 

Dr. Hostetter sold an interest In the Republi- 
can office to Dr. E. C. Cochran; George English 
starting another paper called the Home Intel- 



ligencer. Soon after Hostetter and Cochran be- 
came associated as partners in the Republican, 
an arrangement was made by which that paper 
and the Intelligencer were consolidated. Dr. 
Hostetter retired from the business and English 
and Cochran published the consolidated paper 
for a short time, when English renewed the 
publication of the Intelligencer and Dr. Hostetter 
resumed charge of the Republican. From him it 
passed into the hands of Silvemail and Ladd 
of the Mt Carroll seminary. Silvernail was 
professor of languages and taught Greek and 
Latin at the seminary. Mrs. Shimer was in 
some way responsible; for the success of the 
business under Silvemail and Ladd, and when 
it ceased to be a paying enterprise the press 
and type fell into her hands and it was removed 
to the seminary, and for a time Mrs. Shimer had 
printed and published there the Seminary Bell. 
Mr. Isaiah Hollinger and his partner, Alex 
Wendel, who had in the meantime started the 
Mt Carroll Mirror, were frequently called upon 
by Mrs. Shimer to help with the typesetting 
and printing of the Bell, when she was ^ort of 
help, as printers were not very numerous in 
those days and few so competent as Messrs. 
Hollinger and Wendel. They printed the first 
issue of the Mirror, March 21, 1860. Mr. 
We^del was a practical printer from Franklin 
County, Pa. He and Hollinger had been work- 
ing together in the Republican and Intelligencer 
offices. They published the Mirror for twelve 
yealrs and until they went into the service on 
the last call of President Lincoln for volunteers 
for the Civil War when they closed their print- 
ing office. During its publication James Shaw, 
afterwards circuit Judge, and C. B. Smith, Esq., 
frequently contributed editorial articles for the 
Mirror. After the close of the Mirror office 
there was no paper published in Mt. Carroll for 
several months. Grim-visaged war stalked 
abroad In the land; the newspaper business 
was one of the industries that was paralyzed. 

Later Hi Bohn took charge of the Mirror of- 
fice; it then passed into the hands of Scott and 
Cormany. The latter married Miss Susan Em- 
mert, sister of the printers, Jacob, David B. and 
Joseph. 

After Hollinger and Wendel, came back from 
the army, having served their terms of enlist- 
ment, they again took charge of the Mirror and 
conthiued its publication until they sold it to Cap- 
tain J. M. Adair, who continued to publish the 



Digitized by 



Google 



662 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



paper until September, 1874, when he sold It to 
J. F. Allison vrho was then county treasurer ; the 
following January Allison sold the paper to W. 
D. Hughes and A. B. Hollinger. Mr. Hughes 
afterward became sole proprietor with 
Don R. Frazer as local editor. Mr. Hughes 
sold the Mirror to W. L. Puterbaugh, January, 
1899. Frank H. Hurless and Dick Hughes, who 
had been working in a printing office In Savanna, 
came to Mount Carroll and started a semi-week- 
ly newspaper which they called the Republican. 
The following May they bought the Mirror and 
it was merged with that paper. 

In September, 1875, B^nk A. Beeler started 
the Mount Carroll News; on the following April 
it passed into the hands of J. William Mastin, 
whose father, Jethro Mastin, was an old settler 
of Shnnnon and a lifelong Democrat. Mastin 
changed the name to that of the Herald and 
started to publish it as an independent in politics^ 
but later supported the' Democratic candidates 
for office in 1876, and in January, 1877, he sold 
the paper to Hollinger and Sessions. Hollinger 
had disposed of the Mirror and gone to Iowa; 
after his return he and Frank J. Sessions 
bought the Herald of Mastin and changed ItE 
politics to that of a Republican paper. In 1873 
Allison again purchased the Mirror, this time of 
Martin Shugroe and transferred it to W. L. 
Puterbaugh, now editor of the Milledgeville Free 
Press. The object to be obtained, Mr. Allison 
says, in the first instance was a faithful collec- 
tion and publication of the happenings of the 
day and to promote harmony and tranquillity; 
the second purchase was made for the purpose 
of flagellating Hoke Smith for arbitrarily sus- 
pending and reducing soldiers* pensions. The 
publisher was summarily bounced from the pen- 
sion service during President Cleveland's second 
term. 

After Mastin sold out the Democratic Herald, 
Cal M. Freezer, who bad learned the printer's 
trade in the Herald office and worked for Hughes 
in the Mirror office, with the assistance of Fred 
S. Smith, started the Mount Carroll Democrat, 
but it did not receive sufficient support from that 
party, and Mr. Freezer changed its politics to 
that of a Republican paper ; and the Mirror, now 
owned and published by Frank H. Hurless, and 
the Democrat are still published as daily and 
semi-weekly newspapers in Mount Carroll. 

Thus it will be seen that a correct history of 
Mount Carroll cannot be written without giving 



David Emmert and his family credit for the 
important part they took In the very beginning 
of Mount Carroll, which started with the build- 
ing of the mill, nor the history of the press of 
Mount Carroll without including his family. 
Three of his sons and one daughter, who married 
a printer, were directly connected with the print- • 
ing business in Mount Carroll. All that are left 
of the family here now are his daughters, Mrs. 
Ann Hallett, widow of Bartlett H. Hallett, and 
a grandson, C^iarles F. Emmert, son of David 
B. Emmert Jacob P. Emmert removed from 
here to Chicago many years ago and died there, 
leaving two daughters there. Joseph still lives 
in Chicago. All the other descendants of this 
estimable family are widely scattered through- 
out the Union. 

David Emmert had a son, John, who in early 
days was a mail agent on the steamboats on the 
Mississippi river; he succeeded his brother, Ja- 
cob in that line of business. Another son, Wil- 
liam, went from her.e to Kansas and later to 
Colorado. Thomas, the fifth son of David Em- 
mert, on the breaking out of the war- enlisted in 
the 8th lUhiois Cavalry and died of typhoid fever 
at Alexandria, Virginia. He was the first soldier 
to be brought home and buried in the old grave 
yard, that Mr. Emmert so generously gave to the 
public for a burying-ground. 

THE DOCTOB8 H08TETTEB, ALEX. OFFICE, AND 
WILLIAM HALDEBMAN 

On April 15th, 1845, Doctor Abraham Hostetter 
with his wife and two small children and his 
brother. Doctor John L. Hostetter and their 
sister, Anna, with a friwid, Alexander Office, 
arrived in Mount Carroll. They came from 
Pennsylvania by way of the canal up the valley 
of the Susquehanna, over the mountains by the 
inclined plane, and by steamboat on the great 
rivers; they passed through the great fire at 
Pittsburg, the most noted and destructive in the 
United States, until the great Chicago fire of 
1871. In the fire at Pittsburg they had a nar- 
row escape from going down with a burning 
bridge when they were fieeing afoot to escape, 
to the country, from the burning city. They 
stopped at Saint Louis to change steamboats; 
here Doctor Abraham bought a small stock of 
drugs and had them shipped to Mount Carroll. 
The first night on their arrival at Mount Car- 
roll they stopped at the Mansion House, now 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



663 



called the Clifton House, which was tlien being 
built by Thomas Rapp; it was unfinished t^e 
partitions being unplastered. The doctor soon 
bought a small house, which stood where Hoi- 
man's furniture store now is, and erected a two 
story addition thereto, using the lower floor for 
a drug store, the first in Mount Carroll ; in addi- 
tion to drugs he kept a stock of paints, oils and 
window glass. 

SCATTEBED SETTLEMENTS 

The doctors Abe and John Hostetter, as they 
were familiarly called here, had a very ext^isive 
medical practice in the village and surrounding 
country ; it was not unusual for them to be called 
upon to attend invalids for twelve or fifteen and 
even twenty miles away; these distances they 
were obliged to travel on horseback, with their 
saddlebags, containing their medicines and sur- 
gical instruments, thrown across the horse's 
back. Whole families would sometimes be down 
sick with the prevailing maladies ; often, the doc- 
tors said needii^ wholesome food, for want of 
some one to prepare it, more than medicine ; fre- 
quently the doctors' good wives would send along 
loaves of bread for those in need. After seven 
years of this arduous practice Doctor Ab^ 
raham quit the practice of medicine, sold his 
drug store and moved to Salem township on 
some land he had bought of the government at a 
dollar and a quarter an acre, where his young- 
est son, W. Ross Hostetter, now resides. 

FIBST BANK 

In 1857 he formed a partnership with some 
eastern friends, who had capital and started 
the banking firm of Hostetter, Reist & Co., in a 
small room of the old house, next the drug store. 
Mills & Hooker opened an exchange and bank- 
ing house in the old Emmert building opposite 
the jnonument, about the same time. This firm 
was composed of H. A. Mills, and M. L. Hooker, 
who retired from the business and it was con- 
ducted as the firm of H. A. Mills & Co., until the 
first National Bank was organized with H. A. 
Mills as cashier and James Mark as president. 
Money was scarce in those days and interest and 
exdiange rates very high, so much so that the 
Mount Carroll Mutual Manufacturing and Hy- 
draulic Company, opened what they called a 
bank of deposit and offered through their treas- 



urer, X. Halderman, to pay ten per cent Interest 
on deposits. 

* BBEAKING OUT OF THE CIVIL WAB 

Dr. Hostetter continued the banking business 
until the breaking out of the civil war; his 
nephew, Amos W. Hostetter, who had become 
cashier and bookkeeper #f the bank, enlisted in 
the 34th Illinois Volunteer Infantry, became Cap- 
tain of Comjjipy I, was killed while reoonnoiter- 
ing on the picket line before Atlanta, Georgia. 
The historian of the 34th Illinois, says the cap- 
tain was held in high esteem by every one with 
whom he came in contact. As he was borne by 
the regiment he commenced speaking to the men 
bidding them a last farewell as he passed down 
the line of the company, and indeed it was a 
pathetic scene. His body was brought home 
and buried in the old graveyard. 

DEPBECIATED CUBBENCY ^ 

On account of the war and the uncertainty of 
the future condition of the country all the cur- 
rency in circulation became greatly depreciated 
the only security for much of it being the bonds 
of the southern states which eventually became 
worthless; the more money a bank received 
on deposit the worse it was off. The only thing 
the country banks could do was to send these 
depreciating bank bills to their Chicago or New 
York correspondents; these soon become so 
glutted with this depreciated currency that they 
were obliged to suspend business. Eventually 
all bank bills were refused ; the gold and silver 
had gone out of circulation, and it became very 
difficult to do any business. Postage stamps 
began to be used for making change. This was 
the origin of what was called postal curr^cy. 
To replace the postage stamps the government 
issued a paper currency which contained the 
pictures of the stamps; a five cent stamp or a 
ten cent stamp, a twenty-five cent note con- 
tained the pictures of five five-cent stamps. Be- 
fore these could be procured all sorts of tokens 
were in circulation as money. Storekeepers had 
printed circular cards, on which was printed 
"good for ten cents," or any other amount; 
these were not very durable, and when worn 
were soon presented for redemption, in money 
or goods, so that they came to make them of 
metal, with the inscription stamped upon them ; 



Digitized by 



Google 



664 



HISTORY OP CAEROLL COUNTY 



banks issued checks upon themselves in various 
amounts, these circulated instead of money, but 
were eventually redeemed and destroyed; like 
the "card money," also called bons, that was 
used by the traders In early days In dealing 
with the Indians in the Illinois country, when 
the "Buck Currency," became unwieldly, a buck 
skin always passing for the value of five livres 
or one dollar at the early trading posts in the 
Illinois country. 

JOHN IBVINE, SB. 

Dr. John L. Hostetter married Miss Mary Ir- 
vine, dau^ter of John Irvine, Sr., one of the 
partners In the Mill Company at that time; 
their wedding taking place in the old log house 
where the Emmerts had lived and boarded the 
men who built the mill. Both being very popu- 
lar young people there was a large party and a 
great charivari during which a live pig was put 
into the room, by Henry Sager, it is said, who 
afterward was the boss mason on the stone 
bouse at Wilderberg. The pigs they had in 
those days were indeed lively, and hard 
to catch. The father of the bride was 
greatly Incensed, and although an exhorter 
in the M. E. church, went in search of 
a club to beat the author of this indignity but 
could find nothing for the purpose but Mrs. Ir- 
vine's rolling pin. This is not the first "rolling 
pin," that figured in the fortunes of some of 
the early settlers. Mrs. Marks the founder of 
the "Home for Old Ladies," says she first had to 
use an ear of com for a rolling pin, later a black 
bottle, then with a draw knife and a saw she 
made herself a rolling pin. 

The Bradstreet wedding was also in the old 
house. There the first Mrs. Rinewalt died, also 
Mrs. John Irvine, Sr. In this old log cabin 
John M. Rinewalt was born, also Joseph S. 
Miles, cashier of the First National bank and 
president of the Business Men's Association of 
Mount Carroll. 

Dr. John L. Hostetter became at one time very 
much interested in the newspaper publications 
In this part of the state. He started the Mount 
Carroll Tribune, the first newspaper in the 
county, mention of which is made elsewhere. 
When the war broke out he enlisted with the 
34th I. y. I., as regimental surgeon, but was soon 
promoted to brigade surgeon. On his return 
liome he continued the practice of medicine dur- 



ing the remainder of his life very much trusted 
and respected by a large circle of acquaintances. 
Alexander Ofllcer who came to Mount Carroll 
with this party, for a time had a lumber yard 
where the churches now are, but he soon went 
to Chicago, where he became interested in the 
lumber business and acquired a fortune. He 
married there and hi^ only child, a daughter, 
is still living in the city ; her husband Is at the 
head of one of the largest wholesale grocery 
firms in Chicago. 

ANNA HOSTETTEB 

Miss Anna Hostetter, the sister of Doctors 
Abraham and John, married William Halderman, 
brother of Nathaniel, and he ran the mill com- 
pany's store at Stag Point. This store did a 
large business, dealing with customers who 
came from many miles around with their pro- 
ducts to exchange for merchandise and groceries. 
He had a novel way of shipping butter, some of 
which he sent as far south as New Orleans. He 
had kegs made that would hold twenty-five 
pounds of butter, these when filled he packed in 
a great hogshead and covered all with brine; - 
when it arrived at its destination after a long 
steamboat journey in a warm country, the but- 
ter was still fresh and sweet ; which also speaks 
well for the skill with which it was made by the 
good pioneer women of the settl^n^it The 
immense cask and the small kegs were made at 
the cooper shop, where the flour barrelB were 
made, in which the mill company shipped their 
flour to the same market They were made of 
staves and hickory hoops, all of which material 
was procured from the woods in the neighbor- 
hood of the mill and store. An enterprising man, 
he afterward bought a steam flouring mill in 
Freeport ; but died when still a young man and 
his remains rest in the vault, on the hillside over- 
looking the site of the old store, which is so con- 
splcuous on looking west from Market street In 
Mount Carroll. 

Anna afterwards married the Hon. John H. 
Addams of CedarviUe, the father of Jane Ad- 
dams, then a child of eight years, who has 
become distinguished as the founder of Hull 
House in Chicago, and is now a very noted wo- 
man and author of several books relating to 
social science, her latest being a large volume 
entitled Twenty Years at Hull House. 

Mrs. Addams at the age of eighty-three, is still 



Digitized by 



Google 









Digiti 



zed by Google 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



665 



living at Cedarville, Stephenson County, one of 
the very few survivors of the pioneers of Mount 
Carroll. To her we are indebted for a great 
many interesting facts in regard to the early 
settlers of Mount Carroll, which^are related in 
this history. Many others are of too personal a 
nature to be of general interest and are on that 
aooount, reluctantly omitted. 



CHAPTER IV. 



THE FORTY-NINERS. 



GOLD ACCIDENTALLY DISCOVERED IN CALIFOBNIA — 
WAYS OF OBTTINO THESE — EXCITEMENT SPREADS 
— LIVES OF THE GOLD MINERS — ^FIBST PARTY 
FROM MOUNT CARROLL — ^PIERCE AND YONTZ 
DROWNED — THE RARBER INCIDENT — HARDSHIPS 
ENDXTRED — THE MARCH BEGAN — THOSE FROM 
SAVANNA — THE EM MEET PARTY — EVAN RAE ELEO- 
TED CAPTAIN — SHOTTENKIBK'S DIARY — SNOW CON- 
STANTLY IN SIGHT IN JUNE — CROSSING GREEN 
RIVER — DARING ACT OF HEROISM — ^ANOTHER PAR- 
TY UBAVE8 MOUNT CARROLL — ^THE MUM MA PARTY 

GOVERNMENT OF THE GOLD SEEKERS — ^FRANKLIN 

ULNGWORTHY'S BOOK — ABANDON WAGONS, PACK 
ON ANIMALS — MOUNT CARROLL 1854 — THE RE- 
TURN. 

GOLD ACCIDENTALLY DISCOVERED IN CALIFORNIA 

Gold was accidentally discovered in California 
in the year 1848. On December fktth President 
Taylor announced the discovery in his message 
to congress. The abundance of tlie precious 
metal was such as could hardly be believed ; he 
said that ships on arriving at California were 
deserted by their crews. Labor commanded an 
exorbitant price, and every pursuit save gold 
hunting was abandoned. The country went wild. 
How to go to California, i;diat to take and when 
to start were the questions discussed by every- 
body. 

WAYS OF GETTING THERE 

Until q;>ring came the overland route was 
closed, but the way by sea was open. Some went 

4 



to New York and took sailing vessels by way of 
Cape Horn, around South America. Phllo Cole 
late of this county took this route from Boston, 
going with a company that bought a sailing ves- 
sel and put out from there. It took them over 
six months to sail around the Horn and when he 
arrived at the land of gold he soon found that 
he could make more money raising potatoes than 
he could digging for the precious metal. Other 
ways were open, as they might go to Central 
America and across the Isthmus of Panama or 
by the Nicaragua route, and Robert Moore of 
Mount Carroll was one to take one of these 
routes, or one might go through Mexico from 
Vera Cruz to some port on the Pacific and 
trust to find a sailing vessel there to carry 
them to San Francisco. 

EXCITEMENT SPREADS 

The newspapers continued to spread broad- 
cast all sorts of exciting rumors, from San 
EYancisco, and with each batch of letters the 
gold fever raged more fiercely. A letter from a 
gentleman in Oalifomia stated that lumps of 
gold a pound in weight had frequently been found 
and that good sized pieces could be dug from 
crevices in the rock. A young man from New 
York had written that he would return in a few 
months with a half million dollars in gold dust. 

The president's message l^it credence to the 
wildest rumors. People went wild ; thousands of 
pioneers, from the western country prepared to 
go by the overland route. Carroll County people 
were n^t immune from catching this, ''yellow 
fever.*' Mr. Preston says, In his notes, on the 
Pioneers of Mount Carroll, **the rush for the 
California gold fields for this year, (1850) took 
more people from the county than were added to 
it." 

LIVES OF THE GOLD SEEKERS 

The lives of these seekers for gold, in a new 
world, where they were thrown upon their own 
resources, beyond the restraints of civilization, 
without written laws, were ofttimes tragic in the 
extreme. This life has been portrayed in a trag- 
edy called the Girl of the Golden West, and 
quite recently (1910), this tragedy has been 
written into an Italian Opera and set to music 
and thus has been presented to an astonished 
world, on the stages of the greatest theaters and 
opera houses of Europe and America. Many of 



Digitized by 



Google 



666 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



tiie pioneers of Carroll Ck>aDty faad a part in that 
life. It becomes interesting to know who they 
were and what they did. 

FIBST PABTY FROM MOUNT GABBOLL 

The first party that went from Mount Carroll 
started March 27tii, 1849. It consisted of ten or 
twelve men. John Pierce, brother of William A. 
J. Pierce, still living here, tools this party out 
with an ox team. With him, as near as can be 
ascertained now was his brother-in-law, William 
Yontz, Richard Owings, son of J. C. Owings of 
Cherry Grove notoriety ; Gilbert Mark, brother of 
John Mark late of Carroll County ; Gilbert died 
in California; his widow, Mrs. Laura Wicks is 
still living near Mt Carroll with her son-in-law, 
Lyman L. Wood. Owings and Larklns Linsey 
went by the river to St Louis to buy supplies 
for the party, intending to meet them at St. Joe, 
Missouri, where Linsey died of the cholera. 
Samuel Spang was one of this party ; he was of 
great assistance to the Emmert party, who went 
the following year, by directing some of the peo- 
ple from this county to the best i^aces for mining. 
Spang after searching for gold for about twenty 
years, at last found a decayed quartz vein on the 
top of a mountain. He had to carry his dirt 
down a mile to wash it; but he made forty 
thousand dollars in eight days, which he event- 
ually lost, and as is often the case with those 
who suddenly acquire riches he died poor. 

PIEBCE AND TONTZ DROWNED 

A sad accident befell the leader of this party, 
whereby he found a watery grave. In crossing 
the Platte river where there was no ferry, they 
used their wagon box for a boat; it upset and 
sank. Pierce wh* was an expert swimmer tried 
to save his brother-in-law, Yontz, who could 
not swim ; they were both drowned. 

Most of this party had agreed to pay Pierce 
for their passage on their arrival at the gold 
mines, or soon after, it is to be supposed when 
they succeeded in getting some gold dust After 
Pierce's death it is said that they sold every- 
thing and accounted to no one. 

BABBEB INCIDENT 

A man by the name of Barber was with this 
party; this incident was told of him by one of 



the survivors of another party that crossed the 
plains a year later. Barber left a wife b^iind 
him at Mount Carroll. He was a great money 
maker, and very fortunate in the mines, he fre- 
quently sent his wife money until he had sent 
her several thousand dollars ; when he was told 
that the man at home with wbom she was living 
was using his money but she was always writ- 
ing for more, so he stopped sending her any 
more. At last a letter came from her, he could 
not read and being told it was from his wife at 
Mount Carroll, he tore it into bits and threw It 
on the floor. He had hardly done this when he 
repented of his rash act, and said he would give 
a hundred dollars to know what was in that 
letter. So the teacher Shottenkirk, who happened 
to be there swept the pieces together, and al- 
though he had not had the practice that many 
young people have nowadays in putting jig saw 
puzzles together, he put them so that he could 
read the letter. It was a very nice letter from 
his wife. Barl)er, however, s«it no more money 
home, and eventually took to himself another 
wife in California. 

HARDSHIPS ENDURED 

These people knew nothing of the hardships 
that had to be endured. Early in March the 
great emigration overland began, and scores ot 
companies and thousands of men attached to no 
company set off for the gathering grounds west 
of the Missouri river. The spring was late and 
until the grass on the prairie had grown suf- 
ficiently to feed the cattle it was not safe to 
start. 

THE MARCH BEGAN 

By the first of May the march began in earn- 
est. The routes taken by the emigrants led over 
rolling prairie, rich in verdure to the Platte river. 
At Grand Island, fifteen days journey from Inde- 
pendence, Missouri, the united streams as one 
great caravan swept along westward. Beyond wtfS 
Fort Kearney ; here a record of the passing teams 
was kept; each team on an average had four 
yoke of oxen with from four to ten men. By 
June twenty-second 1849, five thousand, five hun- 
dred and sixteen wagons had been counted and 
some two hundred more were estimated to be 
coming. Twenty thousand persons and sixty 
thousand animals were said to have passed the 
fort Hundreds had turned back and it was 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



667 



estimated that over two thousand had died of 
the cholera. 

The way led through the Black Hills country 
to the Sotth Pass. Before they reached this 
part of the Journey the energies of the men and 
animals began to be severely taxed; for miles 
the line of travel was strewn with all kinds of 
implements and furniture that had been thrown 
away to lighten the loads for the weary animals. 
Some emptied part of their wagons and left them 
by the way. Still further on beyond Fort Lara- 
mie carcasses of dead animals were left along 
the route. 

One who took the route by the Humbolt river 
describes this part of the Journey as follows: 
Hie river was without perceptible current, with- 
out a fish or living creature in its waters, wiud- 
hig its sluggish length along through a desert 
until it disappears. There was not, he said, wood 
enough in the whole valley to make a snuff box 
nor vegetation sufficient to shade a rabbit The 
whole region was a great desert of sand and 
ashes. A continuous march of thirty-four hours 
across this desert brought him and his com- 
panions to the Carson river. The last twenty 
miles of the Journey bore silent testimony to the 
suffering of those who had gone before. Along 
the trail lay the bodies of oxen with their yokes 
still on them, the carcasses of horses and mules 
fTMU which their harness had not been removed, 
abandoned wagons and property of every kind. 
Some after safely crossing this desert were rob- 
bed by the Indians and forced to make the re- 
mainder of their Journey on foot, with their be- 
longings packed on their backs; for a hundred 
miles they trudged along. Winter was approach- 
ing and snow would soon begin to fall in the 
mountains. The government sent relief parties 
to aid the belated emigrants; many men were 
found sick with scurvy, and numbers too sick to 
travel and all were begging for food. 

The small parties from Carroll County did not 
fare any better than others, they suffered many 
hardships. All that has been written here has 
been confirmed by the few survivors of the little 
bands who started out so gayly on a pleasant 
March day, with such high hopes of finding their 
fortunes in the land of gold. 

THOSE FBOM SAVANNA 

Mr. Frank Stedman of Savanna whose father 
went to California in 1850, kindly made what 



inquiry he could and gives a list of the names 
of persons who went from Savanna in that year 
to the gold mines, and says probably I have 
missed some as it is difficult at this late day to 
get the names of all. One party was Albert 
Stedman and Daniel King with three others 
as passengers; they had one wagon with two 
span of horses. Another party was Edward 
MclL.enahan, Griffith Robins, Thomas Parker and 
Henry Cox. They had one wagon with two yoke 
of oxen. The following also went that year: 
Pllney Taylor, Thomas B. Rhodes, L. D. Price, 
John Barker, Robert Upton, Joseph Taylor, Har- 
mon Brown, Frank Gilbert, Ira Buchannan, Levi 
Wilson, John Armstrong, Will C. Pierce, Geo. W. 
Jenks, Frank Hitchcock. 

For others who went from Savanna, and the 
adventures they had, see the chapter. The Pion- 
eers of Savanna. The reader will notice in the 
above list the name of Robert Upton, a noted 
character in the early days of the settlement of 
the county as before mentioned. 

THE EMMEBT PABTT 

Early in the sprtog of 1850, David Emmert, 
then called, Judge Emmert, fitted out three 
wagons with four yoke of oxen to each wagon, for 
those who wanted to try their fortunes in the 
new Eldorado. His son, Simon Emmert, was one 
of the party. William A. J. Pierce, who Is the 
only one living of all the men who went to the 
coast from Carroll County, was to carry the 
purse and pay the expenses, but be as economi- 
cal as he could. The party soon ran out of 
funds and did as many others had to do, stopped 
for a time at Salt Lake, and went to work for 
the Mormons. Before they started from Mount 
Carroll Judge Emmert sent a man to St. Louis 
to buy and ship up the Missouri river sup- 
plies for the party, consisting of bacon and 
flour and all kinds of food that they could 
carry and would need in crossing the plains 
and the mountains beyond. The party started 
from Mount Carroll on the 23rd of March, 
1850, they were rafted across the river at 
Savanna and proceeded on their Journey through 
Iowa. There was in the Emmert party beside 
those named, the schoolmaster Shottenkirk, 
who kept a Journal of the trip and sent it 
back to Judge Emmert, but it was currently re- 
ported that it never reached him. Hugh E. Tay- 
lor was one of this party, he was "grubbed 



Digitized by 



Google 



668 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



staked'' by James O'Brien; Daniel Brown, Joe 
Strickler ; the brothers, Reynolds, B. W. .and J. 
L., who had been keeping the Mansion House, 
the old stone hotel ; Nathaniel Sutton, who came 
to this country with Zachariah Kinkade; Jacob 
Traxell from Pleasant Valley, who stopped at 
Salt Lake and it is said joined the Mormons; 
Merriam YanGaston; George Goltman, who 
never returned ; Joseph Ganson, who left a wife 
and two children and never returned and Wil- 
liam Callahan, and one or two others. 

EVAN BEA ELECTED CAPTAIN 

When this party arrived at the Missouri river, 
about eight miles below Council Bluffs, they 
waited about a week for their supplies to arrive 
from St Louis. They made their own ferry boat 
by bolting two wagon boxes together after having 
made them watertight. When tiiey reached the 
other side they with others organized into a com- 
pany of sixty or eighty men. Evan Rea of 
Mount Carroll was elected captain. He came 
with another party, which had one wagon and 
four yoke of oxen and with him were James 
Trail, Harlyn and George Pyle. 

SHOTTENKIBK'S DIABY 

To follow this party we copy from an old news- 
paper, the Mount Carroll Tribune, the first paper 
published in Mount Carroll, from Vol. 1, No. 18, 
the diary of D. G. Shottenfcirk, one of the party, 
called 
"California Journal, by D. G. Shott^ikirk," 
The first date is June 20th, (1850), the last 
July 1st. During these days the party passed 
up the Platte river, crossing it many times, oft^i 
witti great difficulty; sometimes to avoid cross- 
ing where it was very difficult and dangerous 
they climbed over mountain ridges where for 
e&ort distances the road was almost perpendic- 
ular. They passed through the South Pass and 
by the Pacific Springs, the waters of which flow 
into the Pacific ocean ; but their Journey was not 
yet half done, the Sierras were yet to cross, and 
the difficulties and privations they had exper- 
ienced were nothing compared to those they had 
to endure before they reached the land of gold. 
Some extracts from this diary that relate to 
people well known to many of the residents of 
Carroll county may be of sufficient interest to 
copy here : 



•June 22ad.— Part ol McPike and Strothers 
line from St. Joseph, Mo., passed us early this 
morning. They had separated in order to take 
better advantage of the Scarcity of grass, their 
mules generally looked well. We forded the 
river this morning at a good fording place. About 
a mile further the road and river run between 
the rocky bluffs. There are many emigrants* 
names painted on the side of the roc^s. We had 
to ford the river twice extra on account of some 
high rocks Jutting out into the stream. The 
river is narrow and deep with a rocky bottom 
and requires great care in drivers to prevrat a 
wagon from over setting. There were a number 
of wagons that crossed immediately before us, 
and got into deep water and wet most of their 
loading. We however crossed without wetting 
anything. We camped upon the sweet-water 
again at the termination of the rocky bluffs. We 
again drove our cattle across the river the grass 
was a little better on the opposite side. We 
found a good wagon here that had been left and 
as it was a much lighter and better running 
wagon than the heavy one of ours (No. 1) we 
concluded to exchange and leave ours in the 
place of it. I gave it as my opinion, however, 
that as our loading had become quite light and 
our cattle showed some ^mptoms of fail- 
ing, it would be mu(^ easier on them and in 
the end prove to our advantage to leave one 
wagon altogether, but the majority of the com- 
pany thought otherwise. 

'*We spent the afternoon again in airing our 
provisions, and in shortening the bed of No. 2 
wagon. We found three or four old but light 
trunks in two of which Emmert packed' his 
clothing and left tlie heavy boxes. Mr. Pyle 
came up and passed us this evening. He left one 
ox that had become so foot sore, they could not 
drive him any further. 

"June 23rd. — Habits of industry are cultivated 
by some at least on this route, for I saw a lady 
riding along on horseback busily engaged in 
sewing. 

SNOW CONSTANTLY IN SIGHT IN JUNE 

'lliere are large quantities of snow constantly 
in sight on the bluffs to our left We passed 
a great number of dead bArses and oxmi, in 
crossing the desert About four o'clock we came 
to the river, forded it at a pretty deep ford, 
unyoked our cattle to let them rest grazing was 



Digitized by 



Google 




COUNTY FARM HOUSE BEFORE ITS DESTRUC- 
TION BY A CYCLONE IN 1898 




COUNTY FARM HOUSE AFTER THE CYCLONE OF 1898 




THE NEW COUNTY FARM BUILDING 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



, '^ "4 . 



... • V> 1 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



66g 



out of the queBtion unless they would eat sage 
brush, — cooked a dish of hasty pudding — hitched 
up again, crossed a branch of the Sweet Water, 
drove two or three miles over high hills, when 
by turning off from the road for about a half 
mile to the river, and driving the cattle across 
to the south side we found some little grass. 
Drove twenty miles. 

June 24th. — There is snow close by our 
camp, more than ten feet deep. The cattle had 
very poor picking here, as there is nothing in the 
|icinity but snow and sage brush. There was an 
emigrant bought some flour today at twenty-one 
dollars per hundred and sold it again within an 
hour for thirty-one dollars. Bacon, however, sells 
more reasonable, ten cents per pound. There 
was an emigrant passed us this evening, who or- 
iginally took passage in the "Pacific Line," but 
has since exchanged berths with a passenger in 
an ox train. Many more are anxious to obtain 
the same chance. B. W. Reynolds was taken 
sick this Dooming with the mountain fever. Dis- 
tance, twenty-one miles. 

June 25th— We started by daylight. ♦ ♦ ♦ We 
passed a grave with which there is some mystery 
connected, on the head board of it was written, 
**To the memory of Ck)lumbus, who was found 
with his throat cut, having in his hand, with a 
death grip, his pocket knife, on the 19th day of 
June, 1850." ♦ ♦ ♦ There is an express mail here 
owned by CJol. Estile, intending to start for Wes- 
ton, Mo., some time in the month of July. He 
diarges fifty cents per single letter postage. I 
had not time to write. There were more than 
two hundred teams in camp when we arrived, and 
among others H. Pyle and Captain P's division. 
We have two more si(^ men, Callahan and J. L. 
Reynolds on the list today, with the same dis- 
ease. Distance twenty miles. 

ABANDON PAST OF THEIB TBAIN 

June 27th — ♦ ♦ ♦ The company have almost un- 
animously come to the conclusion that we had 
better leave one wagon and favor our cattle as 
much as we can. We accordingly took the bed of 
No. 3, (for the sake of the patent rubber top), 
and put it upon the new wagon, as it was the 
best one. We burned the bed of the other one 
and completed the work of demolition by sawing 
the spokes out of No. 3 to make stakes of to 
fasten oar cattle at night. After we had loaded 
up our wagons again, there came a violent storm 



of wind and rain. Our cattle filled themselves 
so well, that some of the boys thought they must 
have drank alkali. 

June 28th. — ♦ ♦ ♦ Our sick men are rapidly 
recovering. Distance eighteen miles. 

CBOSSINO GBEEN BIVEB 

June 30th. — ♦ ♦ ♦ We rose by daybreak and 
in company with four others manned the two 
boats and in about an hour our wagons were all 
safely across Green river. The river is about 
ten feet deep and rising rapidly, though the first 
emigrants that passed here the twenty-seventh 
of May forded it with ease. Several dead horses 
fioated past while we were crossing the wagons. 
We had somewhat of a Job in getting our cattle 
across the river. They had hitherto swam every 
stream without any or little trouble. The water 
was very cold and it was very disagreeable stand- 
ing in the water so long. We were kept busy 
until noon, throwing stones at and otherwise 
scaring them to make them cross. We got them 
all to cross but three, and we took them bads to 
the ferry boat, held them by the head and made 
them swim across behind the l)oat. When we 
came back to the ferry boat from swimming our 
cattle, we found a great crowd of teams collected 
there. The emigrants at the ferry had Just 
taken the t)ody of a man that was fioating down 
stream from the river. He was apparently about 
forty years of age and must have been drowned 
at least ten days ago; there was nothing by 
which to identify hiuL 

DABING ACT OF HEBOISM 

There was a daring act of heroism performed 
this afternoon, that deserves to be rewarded, an 
act showing what a woman can do in case of 
danger and difficulty. A company from Ottawa, 
111., were crossing at the ferry next above us, 
when the boat upset. There was a woman and 
two small children on the wagon board at 
^e time. The wagon bed fioated off and 
careened on its side. The woman lashed 
one child about her neck caught the other in her 
arms, got upon the outside of the wagon bed and 
sustained herself in this position until a young 
Snake Indian seeing the imminent danger she 
was in, leaped upon his horse, swam into the 
current, and seizing the rope of the other ferry 
boat, (with which they were trying to overtake 



Digitized by 



Google 



670 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



the woman, but were able to gain upon the 
wagonbed but slowly), he swam down the riv«r 
until he overtook the wagon bed, when he jumped 
from his horse, leaving him to take care of him- 
self and caught one of the children in his arms 
and helped the woman on board the boat, when 
they rowed safely to shore. It seems almost 
Incredible to believe It were possible in this swift 
current, yet such is undoubtedly the fact 

July 1st — ^We rose early this morning and bid- 
ding adieu to Green river or the Ck)lorado of the 
West, started on a drive of fifteen miles without 
grass or water. The road was sandy and in 
many places covered with cobble stones, which 
made it hard traveling for the cattle. Distance 
fourteen miles." 

It was reported that all of Mr. Shottenkirk's 
diary was lost in sending it by mall to Dr. David 
Emmert, but that evidently was an error. How 
mudi of it was published in other numbers of 
the Mount Carroll Tribune is unknown ; the one 
quoted from is the only number of that paper 
preserved so far as known. 

ANOTHEB PABTY LEAVES MOUNT CABBOLL 

Still another party left Mount Carroll for the 
gold mines, this one on the first day of April, 
1850. There were nine men, two wagons and 
seven horses. In this party was David Mumma, 
a splendid man to have in the camp, as is testi- 
fied by one of his companions ; knew how to do 
everything to make people comfortable in camp, 
was a very good cook of such food as could be 
had on a trip like this. He was an indefatiga- 
ble miner and trapper ; after returning to Mount 
Carroll and working in the lead mines near there, 
he returned to Pike's Peak to mine gold and 
silver; he there contracted the mountain fever, 
and came home and died from the same. His 
widow, Mrs. Mary C. Mumma, was the daughter 
of George W. Harris, one of the very early 
pioneers of this county; she is still living at 
Cleveland, Ohio. Their family of six daughters 
are widely scattered; their husbands occupying 
honorable positions in the active duties of the 
business world. 

THE MUMMA PABTY 

In the Mumma party was Joe Christian who 
was the proprietor of the transportation facili- 
ties ; Abe Beeler ; Billy Powers, a lead miner who 



lived at the Mansion House, kept at that time 
by George Hollinger; and George Hay, th&i 
quite a young man, who was enabled to go with 
this gold seeking party through the assistance 
of his unde, Peter Hay, a lead miner who came 
here from the Galena lead mines. He was the 
father of the present superintendent of schools, 
John Hay, and William J. Hay, for many years 
supervisor from Woodland township and diair- 
man of the County Board. 

George Hay had stated to friends many In- 
teresting Incidents of this trip across the con- 
tinent On their way out he said, they were 
obliged to stop three different times to let the 
immense herds of buffalo go by, as it was not 
safe to cross their trail while they were in mo- 
tion, which seemed to be day and night for two 
or three days in succession; he said not only 
thousands but a million or more seemed to be in 
the procession. On the overland trip their 
horses gave out and they were obliged to buy 
oxen and when they got to the Sierra mountains, 
the last mountain range they had to cross, they 
were reduced to such straits, that they traded 
the whole outfit, except what th^ could carry, 
for a sack of flour. Then they trudged along 
over the mountains on foot; a weary tramp it 
was. 

GOVEBNMENT OF THE GOLD BEEKEBS 

This incident was also told by Mr. Hay, and 
it illustrates the manner of government these 
miners and gold seekers, out of necessity, made 
for themselves. A murder had been committed 
In their camp, a man wajs arrested on suspicion, 
a jury of six was drawn by lot, Mr. Hay was one 
of the number, the evidence was heard by the 
jury and it was so convincing the jury were 
unanimous in voting a verdict of guilty, after 
waiting till morning and again voting* the ver- 
dict was the same. The execution of the guilty 
man soon followed, and the place was called 
Haugtown. 

After his return to Carroll County Mr. George 
Hay entered upon an active business life and 
soon became identified as one of the leading 
business men of the county. He was at one time 
editor and publisher of the Carroll County Ga- 
zette, which he for several years published at 
Lanark. Afterward he assisted Mr. Duncan 
Mackay and others in starting the &«t bank in 
Savanna and was for a number of years its 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



671 



cashier. One of his daughterB, Miss Helen Hay, 
became quite distinguished for her ability as 
the head of the Illinois Training school for 
Nurses and yirtually had charge of the nurses 
in the Oook Ck)unty Hospital. Subsequently she 
sp^it several months abroad for the purpose of 
study and to perfect her knowledge of the pro- 
fession she so greatly honors. 

rsANKUN langwobthy's book 

TTiere were two others in this party and 
Franklin Langworthy may have been one; he 
lived to return to Carroll County and to publish 
a very interesting book of his travels, called: 
"Scenery of the Plains, Mountains and Mines, 
or a diary kept upon the Overland Route to 
California by way of the Great Salt Lake; Trav- 
els In the Cities, Mines and Agricultural Dis- 
tricts, B^mbracing the Return by the Pacific 
Ocean and Central America, in Years 1850, '51, 
•52 and '53.'' So says the titie page. Published 
at Ogdensburg by J. C. Sprague, book seller, 1855. 
The author says in the preface: "The year 
eighteen hundred and fifty Is an epoch that will 
be memorable in the history of the United States. 
It is a year that will be long remembered, as one 
of unparalleled emigration, suffering and death. 
The oflldal announcement of the astounding 
facts in relation to the gold discoveries in Cali- 
fornia, seemed to move the whole nation, as with 
an electric shock, and a vast multitude of more 
tlian sixty thousand human beings were seen 
rushing across the plains and deserts, and ov^r 
tremendous mountains, flui^ed with high hopes 
and eager to fill their coffers with the glittering 
dust" 

He observed that an unusual number of the 
emigrants were professional men. There was 
an abundance of preachers of all denominations, 
crowds of learned counsellors in law, while 
almost every tenth man had the title of doctor. 
He says, *'We have any amount of Generals, 
Judges, eta" 

Oliere were nine in the party in which Mr. 
Langworthy started from Mt Carroll on the 
first of April, 1850, with two wagons and seven 
horses, a team he says by no means sufllcient 
f^r the undertaking, but he does not give the 
names of those who were in tliis party. He 
farther says, there were no bridges and few 
ferries, so there was great danger in crossing 
the streamsL Horses and cattle were made to 



swim across the rivers by being forced into 
the cold water whidi went whirling and rolling 
by, often sweeping everything down the stream, 
and many men were drowned, their wagon boxes 
sometimes overturned and it was impossible to 
swim ashore, the water was so swift and cold. 
He says that Pierce and Yontz were drowned 
at the upper crossing of the Platte by the 
upsetting of their wagon box in 1849. The year 
after there was a good rope ferry at this place. 
The diarges were five dollars for each wagon 
and a dollar for each animal, so many were 
crossing, he supposed the owners of -this ferry 
would clear fifty thousand dollars that year. 

ABANDON WAGONS, PACK ON ANIMAI£ 

When they got into the mountains it was so 
high up, it was very cold even in June. Large 
numbers, he says, were leaving their wagons and 
packing upon their animals; horses, mules and 
even oxen were used for packing. The wagons 
are generally broken to pieces and used for fuel 
by their owners. Thousands of fine trunks and 
boxes and barrels are burned for cooking pur- 
poses; property that cost a hundred dollars In 
the states is none too much to make a comfort- 
able fire of an evening. 

After giving a very interesting account of 
their passage over the Sierras, the highest 
mountains they passed over, he says: "For the 
two years I lived in California I supported my- 
self by traveling, and giving popular lectures on 
scientific subjects. At times I attempted to 
labor at mining, but was obliged to desist on 
account of my health. * * * . 

One design I had in undertaking this hazard- 
ous enterprise, was to gain a competency of 
this world's goods. In this I was not alone, 
neither was I singular in failing to accomplish 
this object" 

MT. CABBOLL, 1854 

SpeakUig of the changes in Mt Carroll in the 
three years he had been away, he said: "It 
had more than doubled in size. It is now a 
fiourishing little villege of about eight hundred 
inhabitants ; containing a court house of stone ; 
three churches; a fiourishing academy, common 
sdiools, etc. It is expected the Chicago and 
Mississippi Air Line railroad will be constructed 
and pass near this place, when it will be a 



Digitized by 



Google 



672 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



point of immense importance. Here is already a 
steam and water power flouring mill ; iron foun- 
dry and other manufacturing establisliments." 
He returned by way of Central America, from 
New York he went up the Hudson river and to 
Gliicago, by way of Niagara Falls. "Chicago," 
he said, "was a city of seventy thousand inhabit- 
ants. The place seems destined very soon to 
become the great emporium of the west." 



passed away recently at the age of four score 
years and more, a very much honored and re- 
spected citizen of a neighboring county. 



CHAPTER V. 



THE BETUBN 

Two Other Mt. Carroll citizens came home 
together, by the Panama route. They boarded 
a steamship at San Francisco, a double decker 
with sixteen hundred passengers, returning 
home. One of these men who was terribly sea 
sick and unable to take a mouthful of food for 
eight days. He had his gold dust and some 
Spanish doubloons in a sort of buckskin vest, 
with pockets in it made for the purpose of carry- 
ing gold. The doctor told him this was 
oppressing him and that he would have to take 
it off ; that he would take care of it until they 
reached Panama, where he had to leave the 
boat. He and his companion landed at Panama. 
The one paid thirty-flve dollars for a room, the 
first night on land so as to be in a safe and 
respectable place with his gold. They took a 
train across the Isthmus, the first train either 
had seen. Eventually they reached home, but 
fortune did not again favor them both equally 
here. One was a gay gallant, who had returned 
with gold dust and Spanish doubloons, he wore 
a doak and cape of broadcloth, sported a scarf 
pin made from a nugget of gold and like Othello 
of old, could speak to the belle of the village, 
"of moving accidents by flood and fleld," "of 
hair-breadth escapes in the imminent deadly 
breach," etc. And so he won the hand and 
heart of the lady, for which many suitors had 
spoken in vain; while his companion who had 
been less successful in mining, had trudged 
on foot from the mines to Sacramento, a dist- 
ance of forty miles, and back again the same 
day to get a letter from his lady love. On 
his return home, like Enoch Arden of old, he 
found her the wife of another. When they 
met, it is said, the silent tears of each were 
the only greeting; and they parted forever. 
But this tale does not end here. He consoled 
himself by flnding another sweetheart, and both 
lived to be blessed with many children. He 



ORGANIZATIONS. 



PROTECTIVE LEAGUES — FIRST LYCEUM — HORSE- 
THIEVES — PRAIRIE BANDITS — VIGILANTES — ^ELK- 
HORN GROVE COMPACT — THE ORANGE MOVEMENT 
— GRANGES — PROFITS OF INSURANCE — FRATERNAL 
INSURANCE — MUTUAL FIRE INSURANCE. 

When the flrst settlers came, they came as 
single families, with a few neighbors or friends 
together. There was no occasion for organiza- 
tion, until it became necessary to unite for pro- 
tection against common foes, such as "land 
sharks, claim jumpers, and horse-thieves." 

PROTECTIVE LEAGUES 

They formed In different parts of the county, 
what they called protective leagues. The earliest 
settlers were always willing and glad to welcome 
new settlers; there was land enough for every- 
body, and the more that came and made perma- 
nent settlements, the nearer it made the flrst 
comers to neighbors. There were some selfish 
and grasping men, however, who without any 
Intention of making permanent settl^nents, laid 
claim to large tracts of land, with the intention 
of later entering them at the land oflSce and 
after securing the title, to hold the land for 
speculative purx)oses. 

The permanent settlers in self defense formed 
protective leagues. How many of these leagues 
there were, and who were their ofllcers, is now 
lost to history, except in a very few instances 
which will be given. They had a summary way 
of enforcing their home-made edicts, and on one 
occasion, some of the members were haled into 
court for a violation of the law, charged with 
committing an assault and battery. There were 
three men who entered an improved farm, be- 



Digitized by 



Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



\ :• " 






-oi^ 



\ '■ " ^' ' 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



678 



longing to one of tbe settlerB, who with some 
of his neighbors, in the same predicament, was 
miable to procure the money to enter the land. 
These men were two brothers by the name of 
Qreen and another by the name of Maider. The 
league took these men and applied a rawhide 
whip to them without mercy, llie men who did 
the whipping were Charles Hughes, John Hill 
and Jesse Hill, Clark Green, who was the 
prosecutor at court, had been given thirty-three 
lashes; Robert Green was given eleven, when 
he agreed to give up the land, and George Maider 
gave up the land without whipping. This was 
said to have been done in Fair Haven township. 
A similar league existed in Mt. Carroll, but 
their manner of intimidating such offenders was 
by dipping them in the mill-race. There were 
other so-called protective leagues, formed by 
men who would not allow anyone to enter land 
in sight of their claims, and some claimed all 
the prairie one could see from the back of a 
horse. A few of these waited upon a resident 
of Mt Carroll, who had entered some land far 
away from any settlement, they expected to 
make this party give it up or pay a bonus to 
be left alone. They, however, did not enter the 
house or accomplish their design, as the good 
housewife was heating a kettle of water pre- 
paratory to giving them a warm reception, in 
case they attempted to enter the house or carry 
away her husband. At the land office at Dixon, 
it was generally understood that if anyone would 
bid more than a dollar and a quarter an acre, 
the minimum price at which land could be 
bought of the government, or would attempt to 
enter land claimed by a settler, that the regul- 
ators would see that the offending party was 
thrown Into Rock river and kept there until 
he retracted. 



a Universalist and a great man to argue on 
religious topics. After his return from Cali- 
fornia, an account of which trip he published 
in a book, he moved with his family to Minne- 
sota and there Joined the Methodist church. 

HOBSB THIEVES 

There were bands in early days, who stole 
and ran away with settlers' horses; this was 
a very serious matter, as the settlers depended 
upon the work of their horses to maintain their 
families. These outrages led to the formation 
of societies and organized effort for the purpose 
of assisting in catching horse thieves. The vari- 
ous societies were banded together for mutual 
cooperation. Committees of young men were 
appointed in different parts of the county, to 
be in readiness with fleet horses, to pursue a 
horse thief on short notice. The punishment 
meted out to one If caught was severe in the 
extreme, usually hanging, but the necessity of 
putting a stop to this violation of the law, and 
for the purpose of intimidating horse thieves 
and breaking up such bands of outlaws, seemed 
to Justify the means taken to accomplish that 
end. If turned over to the officers for legal 
punishment, these bold thieves frequently 
escaped sometimes through the connivance of 
friends, and sometimes for want of secure jails 
to confine them in, until the law could take its 
course. In case of escape they would continue 
their depredations in a more flagrant manner 
than ever, knowing full well that their pursuit 
and capture was a very difficult matter. It is 
believed the thieves were organized as. well as 
the settlers. 

THE PBAIBIE BANDITS 



FIB6T LYCEUM 

Besides organizations for business, there were 
some for pleasure and intellectual improvement. 
The first Lyceum or debating society, was one 
which met In the log cabin of Daniel Christian, 
Sr., In the winter of 1843 and 1844 ; among those 
who took part in this Lyceum were, Bradstreet 
Robinson, Rezin Everts, Howard Frew Smith, 
Franklin Langworthy and others. Most of these 
mMi went to California to better their fortunes 
in the gold mines. Langworthy the same winter 
gave a course of lectures on geology. He was 



There was a company of them known as the 
Prairie Bandits, which operated along the Mis- 
sissippi river on both sides, extending into York 
township on this side. How to counteract the 
outlaw spirit, and stop the horse stealing which 
was so common everywhere, the settlers did 
not know.' It Is said that in April, 1841, several 
of the older settlers called on Judge Ford; he 
afterwards was governor of Illinois, and wrote 
a history of the state, then a circuit Judge, re- 
siding at Oregon, Ogle county, and asked him 
what could be done about the matter. The 
Judge knew the strait in which the honest 



Digitized by 



Google 



674 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



settlers were, in some communities, and how 
they were at the mercy of an organized band 
of blacklegs; that it was almost useless to in- 
voke the aid of the civil authorities. He recom- 
mended that the honest settlers also organize, 
appoint officers and committees, and where the 
provocation was extreme, that they go to the 
men whom they knew to be di^onest, and con- 
nected with the horse stealing bands, take them 
by force from their homes, strip them to their 
waist and apply a rawhide to their bare backs. 
He recommended thirty lashes as a very good 
dose for the first application, a second offense 
should call forth a double dose, and the more 
dangerous parties should be given notice to leave 
the state within a short time or suffer the 
consequences. 

VIGILANTES 

These organizations were called Regulators 
or Vigilantes. It is said a number of those who 
were whipped, came- to the regulators and volun- 
tarily joined the organization and promised to 
obey the rules of the order and lead straight 
lives. They were not only interested In stop- 
ping horse stealing, but they took it in hand 
to stop all unlawful acts. 

In Elfchom Grove through the instance of 
Levi Warner, their attention was called to the 
protection of the timber on the school section, 
in that township. Such quantities of timber 
were required to construct fences and buildings 
and for fuel; serious depredations were being 
made upon the unprotected tracts of timber. A 
meeting of the citizens was called and held at 
Mr. Warner's house on the 22d of December, 
1838. The following resolution was passed: 

*'Resolved, That the Committee of Vigilance 
is hereby authorized to appropriate or dispose 
of the timber on the sixteenth (school) section, 
that is going to waste, and that a treasurer be 
appointed from said committee, whose duty it 
shall be to put the funds so obtained on interest 
with good security for its forthcoming, when 
called for by the school agent, at the selling or 
disposing of the school lands." 

By resolution Caleb Daines was appointed 
treasurer. 

ELK HORN GBOVE COMPACT 

Levi Warner was instrumental In organizing 
a vigilance committee in Elkhorn Grove, which 



it is said, 'liad a powerful regulating tf ect" 
The following is one of the calls he issued as 
secretary : 

"Fellow citizens of Elkhorn Grove CJompact, 
the time has arrived requiring our undivided 
and united efforts, the energy, sagacity, wisdom 
'and integrity of our enlightened body, In «i- 
deavoring to maintain ours and others rights, 
with regard to ourselves, our families and our 
homes. In endeavoring to maintain this right, 
if we but suffer ourselves to be led by partiality, 
favor or affection, or biased by the opinions of 
others, favor one person guilty of transgression 
or violence of the rules of our compact more 
than another guilty of the same act, that instant 
our Compact looses its authority, its power and 
control must fall and we shall be left to the 
mercy and option of any who choose and have 
it in their power, to take from us our heads, 
our claims, our favors, ^ur homes, our prospects 
of supporting ourselves and families. Let us 
then go hand in .hand with a firm resolution 
to abide by each other in defending and main- 
taining each others rights and the validity of 
our Compact will be a bar to its encroachment 

"Fellow citizens of Elkhorn Grove Compact, 
one and all you are hereby requested to meet 
at the Central school house in Elkhorn Grove 
on Saturday the 5th of October next, for the 
purpose of ascertaining whether the Compact 
shall be dissolved or continued in force. By 
order of the Committee of Vigilance, and to do 
such other business as may be thought necessary 
when we meet. Levi Wabneb, Sec" 

No date is given; Levi Warner was Justice 
of the peace from 1835 to 1839, when this county 
was a part of Jo Daviess. His commission as 
county surveyor is dated, May 1, 1839. The 
act of the state legislature organizing Carroll 
County, was approved February 22, 1839. A 
meeting of the citizens was held at Mr. Warner's 
house to remonstrate against giving the half 
of the three eastern townships of this county 
to Ogle, but it was of no avail. The peofde 
in that territory voted to be in Ogle county. 

FABMEBS OBGANIZE THE GBANGB MOVEMENT 

Early In the seventies there was a great deal 
of unrest among the farmers of the west, on 
account of the low prices of the staple products 
of the farm, so low as to be quite unremunera- 
tive to the farmers. Indeed there was a time 



Digitized by 



Google 




^M. 



'^^yf***-"^ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



675 



when some found It advisable to burn their 
com for fuel, rather than sell It for the low 
price then prevailing, (fifteen cents a bushel), 
and buy coal or even wood. At the same time 
agricultural products were bringing fairly good 
prices in the eastern markets, and it was quite 
natural, and a sane business proposition to seek 
the cause and a remedy for their troubles. 

The principal causes seemed to be the cost 
of transportation, and the suK)ort of a large 
and expensive body of what they called middle- 
men, who handled the farmers' products enroute 
to the general markets, as well as the supplies 
the farmers had to purchase. Single-handed 
they were helpless and could not accomplish 
anything, so that organization became necessary, 
and what was called the grange movement began. 

By March, 1874, an extensive farmers' move- 
ment was in evidence throughout the country. 
Grange organizations and mass meetings of 
farmers were held to discuss taxation, tariff, 
currency and transportation, and to regulate 
things generally. A great Grange Fourth of 
. July, (1873), celebration was held in Elkhom 
Grove at "Uncle Harry Smith's," at which, 
notwithstanding previous stormy wearther, over 
five thousand people were gathered together. 

By May, 1874, the following Grange? had been 
established in Carroll CJounty: 

Milledgeville; Master, L. C. Belding; Secre- 
tary, S. H. Todd. 

Rock Creek ; Master, D. W. Dame ; Secretary, 

C. B. Ellsworth. 

Otter Creek; Master, N. Woodiu; Secretary, 
W. H. Kreidler. 

Maple Grove ; Master, J. H. Shiley ; Secretary, 
J. V. Cotta. 

Salem; Master, B. F. Miller; Secretary, W. 

D. Moffett. 

Enterprise; Master, R. R. Field; Secretary, 
O. E. Southerberry. 

Fair Haven ; Master, E. Hathaway ; Secretary, 
H. H. Holt 

Freedom; Master, Daniel Teeter, Sr. ; Secre- 
tary, J. E. Laird. 

Carroll; Master, Jacob Lohr; Secretary, John 
H. Keech. 

York; Master, Robert Dunshee; Secretary, 
Samuel Lord. 

Gakville; Master, John Mackay; Secretary, 
Robert Graham. 

Ai^o ; Master, Elijah Bailey ; Secretary, Edwin 
Bevins. 



Rosedale; Master, Peter Hyzer; Secretary, 
William BUes, Jr. 

At the same time Carroll County was repre- 
sented among the officers of the Illinois State 
Grange of Patrons of Husbandry ; D. W. Dame 
being charman of the executive committee and 
Mrs. Dame being elected Ceres. 

At the organization of the Illinois State 
Farmers Association, January 15th and 16th, 
1873, there were present delegates from granges 
and farmers' clubs, two hundred and seventy-five^ 
they met at Bloomington and organized. Dun- 
can Mackay of Salem township, was elected 
treasurer. 

At the second annual meeting of the Illinois 
State Grange, held at Bloomington, December 
9, 1873, D. W. Dame was on the committee on 
transportation, and by resolution was appointed 
alternate delegate to the National Grange, and 
L. C. Belding of Carroll County was on the 
committee of "Home Manufactures." 

After these agitations had reached a climax, 
the excitement among the farmers began to 
wane. The patrons of husbandry became so 
engrossed in their private affairs, they neglected 
to attend the meetings of the local Granges, 
and finally nearly all organizations were neg- 
lected. Still the agitation and consequent or- 
ganization left its impression upon the legislation 
of the western states, and we have in the 
statute books of Illinois, the first state to take 
action in this respect, what has been called the 
Grange Legislation, composed of some very 
useful and salutary laws. Some of these laws 
the railroad corporations were loath to obey, 
especially a law reducing the rate of fare 
to be charged by a certain railway com- 
pany. The farmers were too impatient to 
await the action of the courts, and were deter- 
mined to make a test case; a number of them 
boarded a train and tendered the conductor the 
legal fare, which under instructions he refused 
to accept, there were too many for the train 
officers to undertake to put them off so they 
carried them to their destination, without pay. 
On another occasion, however, those refusing 
to pay the demands of the railroad, were col- 
lected in several cars, and soon found themselves, 
ingloriously side-tracked far from any station, 
with no means of locomotion except what nature 
had provided them with, as they no doubt said : 
"shanks* mare." These agitations, by the farm- 
ers, coupled with the arguments they so strongly 



Digitized by 



Google 



676 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



urged, had their influence in shaping the decis- 
ions of our highest tribunal, when eyentually the 
cases reached our supreme court, and had some 
influence in bringing about the enactment of 
the original Interstate Conmierce law in 1887, 
after fifteen years of more or less continuous 
discussion In and out of congress. 

One of the most useful laws enacted on account 
of the Grange agitation, was that authorizing 
the organization of Township Mutual Fire In- 
surance companies, which was eventually ex- 
tended to authorize County Mutual Fire Insur- 
ance companies, also the laws authorizing what 
is called Fraternal (life) Insurance. 

So immense were the profits in the so-called, 
"Old Line Companies," both fire and life insur- 
ance, as to be hard to be believed. 

PROFITS IN OLD LINE INSURANCE 

Here is an example of one of these ; the facts 
and figures are taken from sworn testimony, 
names are omitted. 
In 1875 the plaintiff took twenty shares of 
stock in one of these companies, par value, 
fifty dollars per share amounting to one thou- 
sand dollars, he paid on this purchase two hun- 
dred dollars in cash, $200.00. The balance, eight 
hundred dollars was paid him out of cash divi- 
dends. 

In 1879, he took forty shares more, and paid 
cash, $2,000. 



Total outlay $2,200. 

From time to time he received in stock divi- 
dends, 913 shares, par value $50, amounting to 
$45,650.00. 
During the same time he received in 

cash dividends $ 46,521.85 

He sold 373 shares at $275 per share 102,854.75 
Plaintiff was offered in cash for the 
remaining 600 shares $300 per 

share, making 180,000.00 

This was in 1902, since then he has re- 
ceived in cash dividends 54,000.00 

Increased value of his shares, now 
$650. each 210,000.00 

Total return to plaintiff on an invest- 
ment of $2,200 $593,376.60 

This is better than money at ten per cent in- 
terest compounded, which without loss, doubles 
every seven years. This was a life insurance 



company. The same is true with reference to 
fire insurance. Here are the figures taken from 
a company that is a competitor of the mutual 
fire Insurance companies in this county and in- 
sures to a considerable extent the same class of 
property. From a newspaper clipping; Two 
dividends of thirty-five per cent each were de- 
clared during the last fiscal year. The stock, 
the par value of which is one hundred dollars 
per share, was quoted in January, 1909, at 
$1,450 per share ; January, 1910, $1,700, and Feb- 
ruary 9th, at $1,850 per share. 

The statute of Illinois, requires all insurance 
companies doing business in the state to publish 
annually a report of their business done in the 
state. In these r^wrts they are required to 
answer the following questions: **How much 
have you received in premiums in this state 
during the past year, and how much have you 
paid in losses during the same time?" The 
answers invariably show that the receipts are 
double in amount for what they pay for losses. 
A consideration of these facts led the farmers 
to organize insurance companies of their own, 
notwithstanding the oft reiterated cry of the 
'*01d Liners," that "only those trahied to the 
business can make a success of it." They have 
trained themselves to the business and have 
made a success of it. 

FRATERNAL INSURANCE 

More than twenty years ago the dtiz^is of 
Mount Carroll were very much interested in the 
fraternal insurance company called the Modem 
Woodmen of America, and assisted in its organ- 
ization ; it is now the largest and most success- 
ful fraternal insurance company in America. 
One of the first camps. No. 8, was organized in 
Mount Carroll, A. M. Green, a druggist in 
Mount Carroll, was supreme treasurer of the 
head organization. C. C. Farmer was one of 
the founders and for twenty-one years one of 
the Board of Managers. 

MUTUAL FIRE INSURANCE COMPANIES 

The first company organized in the county, was 
the Eagle Point Mutual Township EMre Insur- 
ance Company, which comm«iced business Aug- 
ust 26th, 1873. Abraham Hlgley was the first 
president and Henry Elsey, was secretary, he has 
held the oflSce for thirty-seven years. The ter- 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



677 



rltory in which it was autliorized to do business 
was the half township of Eagle Point in Ogle 
county and the half township of Elkhom Grove 
In OarroU county. Its last annual report shows 
that it had in force one hundred and seventy- 
six policies, amounting to $649,428.00, held by 
ISO m^nbers. The cost was thirty cents on each 
hundred dollars every five years, which has suf- 
ficed to pay all expenses and all losses by fire 
and lightning. 

The next company to organize was the Roclt 
Creelc Township Mutual Fire Insurance com- 
pany, which commenced business April 1st, 1874 ; 
Duncan Mackay was the first president and 
Robert Galusha, Secretary. The original com- 
pany took In five townships, in 1902 was changed 
to a County Mutual, but continued to operate In 
the same territory ; its last annual report shows 
that it had 190 policies in force amounting to 
$1,024,128. 

The next company to organize, that had terri- 
tory In tills county, was the Foreston Mutual 
Fire Insurance Company, commenced business 
February, 18T7, and the Loran Township Mutual 
Fire Insurance company, commenced business 
January 1, 1880; the former company had one 
township. Shannon, and the latter, two town- 
atoips, Cherry Grove and Freedom, in this county, 
together with other townships in the adjoining 
counties. 

The Mount Carroll Mutual Township Fire In- 
surance company, commenced business March 1st, 
1887, Amasa T. Dunshee, president and C. L. 
Hostetter, secretary. This company did a suc- 
cessful business for twelve years, when It was 
merged into the county mutuaL All these com- 
panies refused to insure dwellings in the cities 
and towns of the county. In these there were 
many citizens who were desirous of Insuring 
their property on the mutual plan ; a number of 
them got together and organized the Mt Carroll 
Mutual County Fire Insurance company and on 
May 6th, 1888, Issued its first policy. Elijah 
Bailey was president and C. L. Hostetter secre- 
tary. In the fall of 1893 all the members of the 
Mount Carroll Township Mutual reinsured in the 
County Mutual. Its last annual report eAiows 
the company had in force 2,058 policies amount- 
ing to $3,197,338. It has nearly two thousand 
members. The cost of Insurance in these com- 
panies is less than one-half the cost in the old 
line companies. After an experience of nearly 



forty years, the farmers have demonstrated to 
their satisfaction that the mutual plan is a safe 
and very economical way of insuring their prop- 
erty aganst loss or damage by fire and light- 
ning. 

It is said In a recent work, (Parsons Laws of 
Business, 1911), that of late years the number 
of mutual fire insurance companies has great- 
ly increased in this country and much the larg- 
est amount of insurance against fire is effected 
by them. The principal reason for this is, un- 
doubtedly, their cheapness, and reliability may 
be added. 



CHAPTER VI. 



SOLDIERS AND PATRIOTIC ORDERS. 



THE GRAND ABMY OF THE REPUBLIC — NASE POST 

NO. 80 — OBJECTS — woman's W. B. C. NO. 95, 

MOUNT CARROLL — SHILOH POST NO. 85 — SHILOH 
W. R. C, LANARK — ILLINOIS W. R. C. GAZETTE — 
OBJECTS OF THE W. R. C. 

SOLDIERS AND PATRIOTIC ORDERS 

The following names were omitted from a for- 
mer history of the county, which purported to 
give the names of all those soldiers who en- 
listed in the war for the preservation of the 
union, from Carroll County: John H. Allison, 
enlisted August 28th, 1861 in Company G., 39th 
Illinois Infantry; killed at Suffolk, Va., Septem- 
ber 28th, 1862. 

WiUiam Allison, enlisted October 22nd, 1861, 
In Company H., 55th Illinois Infantry; dis- 
charged October 31st, 1864; was killed in a 
railroad accident at Dixon, Illinois, on his way 
home from service. 

These men were brothers of Joseph F. Allison 
a veteran of the late war, who was in many 
battles and several times seriously wounded. 
Their father, Fisher Allison, was one of the 
pioneer settlers of Elkhom Grove. 



Digitized by 



Google 



678 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



134th infantry, (100 day service ) 

Early in the spring of 1864, the governors of 
the middle v^restem states, namely: Ohio, Indi- 
ana, Illinois and Iowa, believing that the rebel- 
lion was nearing its close, and desiring to aid 
the government in every way possible, tendered 
to the president a volunteer force of eighty-five 
thousand One Hundred-day men, to relieve the 
veteran soldiers from guard duty at our forts, 
arsenals and elsewhere; of this number, Illi- 
nois furnished thirteen regiments and two bat- 
talions. Speaking of the service performd by 
the hundred-day troops, Governor Yates, in his 
last annual message, paid them a high 
and deserved compliment in these words, "Our 
regiments under this call performed indispensa- 
ble and invaluable services, in Kentucky, Ten- 
nessee and Missouri, relieving garrisons of vet- 
eran troops who were put to the front, and took 
part in the Atlanta campaign, several of them 
also composing a part of that glorious army 
that has penetrated the very vitals of the re- 
bellion and plucked some of the brightest laurels 
that this heroic age has woven for a patriotic 
soldier. Five out of the hundred-day regiment, 
(the 134th was one of these) after their term 
of service had expired voluntarily extended their 
engagements with the government and marched 
to the relief of the gallant and able Rosencrans, 
who at the head of an inadequate and poorly 
appointed army was contending against fearful 
odds for the preservation of St. Louis and the 
safety of Missouri." They were also tendered 
the thanks of President Lincoln. All had en- 
listed without bounty and only received a sol- 
dier's monthly pay. 

The 134th Infantry, Illinois Volunteers, was 
organized at Camp Fry, Chicago, Illinois, by 
Col. Walter W. McChesney, and was mustered 
In May 31st, 1864, for one hundred days. Left 
Camp Fry June 3rd, for Columbus, Kentucky, 
and was assigned to garrison and picket duty. 
Mustered out of service October 25th, 1864, at 
Chicago, 111., by Lieutenant Joseph Horr, 13th 
U. S. Infantry. Those from Carroll county 
were: 
CJompany E. — 

Wagoner, Nathaniel P. Walters. 

Privates: Samuel Allen, James Brotherton, 
William C. Cooley, Reuben H. Gray, James Ir- 
vine, Silas Killum, John R. Robinson, Milton 
H. Westbrook. 



Company G. — 

First Sergeant: (X L. Hostetter. 

Corporal: John S. Emmert 

Privates: John T. James, John E. Long, Wil- 
liam J. Liberton, Smith Myers, Thomas Pal- 
mer, Gideon K. Palmer, George F. Robison, Jolm 
Stump, Jacob Wolf, Daniel Watson. 

THE GRAND ARMY OF THE REPUBLIC 

When the soldiers of the Union Army came 
back from the war, the service they had given 
their country made them distinguished veterans 
and they became the recipients of the nation's 
homage. These soldiers had made It possible to 
have and keep a united country. At the recent 
dedication of the battlefield of Osawatomle, Kan- 
sas, which the Women's Relief Corps there had 
purchased and presented to the state, ex-Presl- 
dent Roosevelt paid this tribute to these men. 
"John Brown's work was brought to completion, 
was made perfect by the men who bore aloft the 
banner of the Union during the four terrible 
years between Sumter and Appomatox. To the 
soldiers who fought through those years — and of 
course to a very few of their civilian chiefs like 
Lincoln — Is due the supreme debt of the Na- 
tion. They alone of all our people since we be- 
came a Nation, rendered to us and to all who 
come after us a service indispensable. They 
occupy the highest and most honorable posi- 
tion ever occupied by any men of any generation 
In our country." 

At the close of the war, It was natural for the 
soldier who with his comrades had endured the 
hardships, sufferings and anguish of wounds, 
and all the privations of a dreadful war, to 
possess a feeling of the very closest friendship 
for those who had served with him during such 
service. When therefore the soldiers of the 
Union army, were mustered out of the service, 
which they had so freely given their country, 
the greatest comradeship that ever knit men to- 
gether was sundered, and they cheerfully ac- 
cepted whatever Infiuence would again unite 
them in the fellowship of their comrades and 
tend to keep bright the recollections of their 
army life. And so it came about that the Grand 
Army of the Republic was formed. The first 
organization was effected at Decatur, Illinois, 
April 6th, 1866. The motto of the Grand Army 
Is, "Fraternity, Charity and Loyalty." Its pur- 
pose is to teach patriotism to the rising genera- 



Digitized by 



Google 



/ 




fiiiis 



ELECTRIC LIGHT STATION, 
MX. CARROLL 




WATER WORKS PLANT, MT. CARROLL 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



;rv '^' 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



679 



tion and to Inculcate imrity in public affairs, and 
to assist needy and wortby soldiers, their widows 
and orphans. 

The following is a list of the members of the 
O. A. R. Posts, and of the Woman's Relief Corps 
tn Carroll County, so far as the same could be 
obtained. 

Charter members of Nase Post, No. 80, G. A. 
R., Department of Illinois, which was the first 
organized In the county : Dan R. Frazer, D. B. 
Smith, J. F. Allison, E. T. E. Beclier, A. B. Nel- 
son, W. H. Wildey, W. P. Robb, J. Schlcli, L. E. 
Miller, W. D. Hughes, Conrad Frederidc, Dudley 
O'Neal, R. A. Williams, J. W. Kling, J. P. Beat- 
tie, Allen McClure, A. Mathewson, Oliver 
Swartz, John Daughty, John Sager, Charles P. 
Sutton, Joseph C. Forbes, Jacob Ererhart, Otis 
Grim. Charter is dated the ninth day of July, 
A. D., 1880. 

Other members : R. M. A. Hawk, J. L. Taylor, 
John Hoover, E. Force, John C. Davis, F. R. 
Ely, Augustus Philips, W. H. Kennedy, David 
Shilling, Jas. O'Brien, Jeremiah George, J. H. 
Bowman, G. P. Sutton, D. Embiclc, Hiram 
G. Wolf, Lyman L. Wood, Jacob Wood, John I. 
Fisher, DeLancy Kenyon, J. P. Russell, H. Kear- 
naghan, John R. Evans, Henry Loechel, J. 
Scbleining, Wm. B. Rea, John H. Gray, John 
Shay, Jacob Bucher, Elhannan Fisher, Enos T. 
Cole, D. L. Oberheim, J. Goodmiller, A. K. M. 
Pickert, George Roth, C. Bawden, J. Broomhall, 
John W. Lego, J. M. Kremer, E. C. White, J. B. 
Cushman, Henry St. Clair, C. V. MpDermott, 
Wm. Fulton, G. W. Collins, John Zuck, James 
M. Smith, Thos. J. Smith, Geo. W. Gelwicks, Jos. 
P. Smith, Frank L. Tuttle, G. F. Bucher, A. Wal- 
lace, Jno. C. Gelwicks, A. Ferrenberg, W. L. 
Bennett, Christopher Davis, H. C. Kenyon, Adam 
Laufer, Wm. Noble, Wm. Fulton, M. Rinedollar, 
D. W. Herman, J. S. Hall, J. T. Clevidence, 
George Eckhart, E. Fink, John Mader, Philip C. 
Gill, J. C. Rinedollar, J. H. Cluck, Frederick 
DIehl, Jacob C. Clark, Burton Philips, Hairy 
Meyers, A. N. Rockstead, J. E. Morgan, J. D. 
Fargusson, David William, H. O. Speight, N. 
Rinedollar, Henry Hartman, Adam Kohler, J. H. 
Jackson, M. D. Herrington, C. Bachman, D. M. 
Hewett, Wm. H. Shultz, Martin H. Reeder, 
George Homer. 

OFFICEBS fOR 1880 

W. H. Wildey, Commander. 

R. A. Williams, Senior Vice Commander. 



John Sager, Junior Vice Commander. 

J. F. Allison, Officer of the Day. 

W. P. Robbe, Outside Guard. 

E. T. E. Becker, Quartermaster. 

D. B. Smith, Sergeant Major. 

A. B. Nelson, Quartermaster Sergeant 

W. D. Hughes, Adjutant. 

The following are the Past Post Commanders 
of Nase Post: W. H. Wildey, R. A. Williams, 
W. D. Hughes, John C. Davis, E. T. E. Becker, 
Joseph F. Allison, Don R. Frazier, John C. Gel- 
wicks, W. P. Robb, Evan T. Cole. 

Number of members in good standing, 52 ; de- 
ceased, 49 ; moved away, 9 ; total enrolled, 110. 

Present commander, Captain W. H. Wildey. 

Nase Post has printed with its roster and 
memorial roll, the following : 

THE GRAND ABMY OF THE BEPUBUC 

**No child can be bom into it ; no proclamation 
Of President, or edict of King or Czar can com- 
mand admission; no university or institute of 
learning can issue a diploma authorizing its 
holder to enter; no act of Congress or Parlia- 
ment secures recognition ; the wealth of a Van- 
derbilt cannot purchase the position; its doors 
swing open only upon the presentation of a bit 
of paper, torn, worn, begrimed it may be, which 
certifies to an honorable discharge from the Ar- 
mies or Navies of the Nation during the war 
against the rebellion," and, unlike any other as- 
sociation, no "new blood'* can come in; there 
are no growing ranks from which recruits can be 
drawn into the Grand Army of the Republic. 
With the consummation of peace through victory 
its rolls were closed forever. 

Objects 

The objects to be accomplished by this organ- 
ization are as follows : 

1. To preserve and strengthen those Idnd and 
fraternal feelings which bind together the sol- 
diers, sailors and marines who united to sup- 
press the late rebellion. 

2. To assist such former comrades in arms 
as need help and protection ; and to extend need- 
ful aid to the widows and orphans of those who 
have fallen. 

3. To maintain true allegiance to the United 
States of America, based upon a paramount 
respect for, and fidelity to the National Consti- 
tution and the laws, to discountenance whatever 



Digitized by 



Google 



680 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



tends to weaken loyalty, Incite Insurrection, trea- 
son or rebellion, or in any manner impairs the 
efficiency or permanency of our free institutions ; 
to promote the spread of universal liberty, equal 
rights, and Justice to all men, and to encourage 
honor and purity in public affairs. 

THE woman's BEUEF CORPS 

A kindred and auxiliary organization to the 
G. A. R. is the Woman's Relief Corps. It Is 
composed of the mothers, wives, daughters and 
sisters of the Union soldiers, sailors and mar- 
ines, who aided in putting down the rebellion, 
together with other loyal women. This order 
may thus be perpetuated but the Grand Army, 
as an organization, will cease when all its mem- 
bers are dead. 

The Objects 

The objects of this organization are to es- 
pecially aid and assist the members of the Grand 
Army of the Republic and as a matter of course 
to sympathize with them, and to perpetuate the 
memory of the heroic dead of the Union Army. 
To assist all Union Veterans who may need help 
and protection and to assist their widows and 
orphans, and find them homes and employment 
when necessary and to assure them of their sym- 
pathy and protecton and friendship. To dierish 
the memory and hold in the highest esteem our 
army nurses and all loyal women who rendered 
service in any manner to our common country in 
her hour of need. To maintain true allegiance 
to the United States of America. And to in- 
culcate lessons of patriotism and love of country 
among their children and in the communities in 
which they live and to encourage the spread of 
universal liberty and equal nghts to all man- 
kind. 

The corps at any place are supposed to take 
the name of the Grand Army post to wiilch they 
are auxiliary. In case a post disbands, the 
corps that has been auxiliary to it may still con- 
tinue as a corps of the department of the 
Woman's Relief Corps retaining their original 
number and name. 

The corps badge is a Maltese cross of oopper 
bronze with the Grand Army medallion in the 
center surrounded with the words on each of 
the four comers. Woman's-Relief-Corps-1883, 
the date of the original organization. The cross 



is suspended from a pin bearing the monogram of 
the initials, "F. C. L.'* (Fraternity, Charity. 
Loyalty), by a red, white and blue ribbon of suit- 
able length and width. 

NASE woman's relief CORPS, NO. 95 

Through the kindness of Mrs. E. L. Forbes of 
Mount Carroll, we are favored with the following 
report of Nase Relief Corps, No. 95, which was 
organized January 16th, 1902, by Mrs. Martha 
H. Baxter, Department President, in Memorial 
Hall, Mt. Carroll; the first officers were: Presi- 
dent, Mrs. Etta J. Smith; Sr. Vice President, 
Mrs. Sarah C. Becker; Jr. Vice President, 
Ann Rinedollar ; Chaplain, Mrs. Louisa B. Cluck ; 
Secretary, Mrs. Elizabeth M. Myers; Treasurer, 
Mrs. Nancy Mader; Conductor, Naomi Hall; 
Guard, Ruhmah Stitely; Assistant Conductor, 
May Wlldey; Assistant Guard, Emily Wlldey; 
1st Color Bearer, J. O'Neal; 2nd, Carrie Ben- 
nett; 3rd, Emma L. Forbes; 4th. Susan Cluck; 
Organist, Anna A. King. 

The names of the diarter members in addition 
to the above officers were: Esther E. Farmer, 
Ednah Cole, Susanna S. Unger, Louisa B. Cluck, 
Josephine M. Kramer, Alice Watson, Matilda D. 
Browning, Ann O'Neal, L. Annie HoUinger, Caro- 
line M. Browning, Minne G. Eley, Anna E. 
Eley, Sarah G. Liberton, Ruth Rohrer, Eliza- 
beth Eymer, Hester Fink, Ella M. Feezer, Susan 
Petty. 

Nase Relief Corps has a membership of fifty- 
four members. The ladies take great interest 
in their work and hold their meetings regularly 
in Memorial Hall. The Past Presidents have 
been Etta J. Smith; Enmia L. Forbes; Louisa 
B. Cluck. The present officers are Anna M. King, 
President ; Susan Rinedollar, Sr., Vice Presid^it ; 
Emma L. Fort)e6, Junior Vice President; Chap- 
lain, Louisa B. Cluck ; Secretary, Retta Sisler. 

SHILOH POST 0. a. B., LANARK 

Through the kindness of Comrade Col. George 
A. Root, Commander of Shiloh Post No. 85, 
Department of Illinois, Grand Army of the Re- 
public, we are favored with the following infor- 
mation : The post was named Shiloh Post i>ecause 
most of the charter members were engaged in 
that battle. 

The post was organized S^)tember 2drd, 1880, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



681 



by Captain Wlldey, assisted by J. F. Allison, M. 
O^ with the following officers: 

Geo. M. Lattig, Commander; D. H. Snyder, 
Senior Vice Commander; George W. Noble, 
Junior Vice Commander; David Lepman, 
Quartermaster; George A. Root, Officer of the 
Day; Willis Ray, Officer of the Guard; Seth C. 
Wiley, Adjutant; W. L. Thomson, Sergeant 
Major ; J. T. Valentine, Quartermaster Sergeant. 

Other charter members were : M. J. Rowland, 
George W. Gordon, B. S. Gaff, Victor Whisler, 
Austin Willis, E. Stover, Peter Raymer, H. W. 
Wales, J. R. Ruthraufft J. P. Garman, Jonas 
Bufflngton, Henry Foulds, Thomas Elder, A. H. 
Bowen, Warren Sherwood, M. J. Boyle and I. L. 
Bowen. 

Joined since by muster or transfer: L. H. 
Sprecher, C. A. Cobb, G. D. Lint, Ellas Binga- 
mau. J. Wheat, Samuel C. Gault, N. Fagan, 
Thomas Daley, J. Baltz, Henry Lego, L. T. Bray, 
W. H. Ford. Cal R. Wiseman, Wm. Schaut, J. 
W. Flanagan, Amos Ditsworth, P. W. Eisenbise, 
J. H. Strlckler, W. H. Mizner, John Mahaflfa, M. 
C. McCogg, M. Cakerice, Luman Willis, Levi 
Clark, Geo. W. Annis, E. A. Straub, Henry Mil- 
ler, D. A. Galpln, C. R. Bennett, S. E. Carter, 
Thomas Gibbons, Jas. W. Lee, M. J. Griswold, 
Geo. Nlcodemus, H. French, Thos. J. Sizer, J. E. 
Robinson, C. P. Snow, Amos Walk, J. E. Tav- 
ener, J. H. Mcllhaton, A. Wakeman, John Tall- 
man, J. W. Wlmer, C. H. Spanogle, Wm. Garland, 
A. P. Doolittle, Henry Rister, M. Cormany, Frank 
Mitchell, Geo. H. Paul, E. L. Tx)wer, Edmond 
Flora, Robert G. Aurand, John A. Sleer, Wm. 
Corey, Ellsworth Herrington and Perry Nixon. 

The following have been Post Commanders: 
George M. Latlg, D. A. Galpln, Eli L. Lower, L. 
H. Sprecher and the present commander, Greorge 
A. Root. 

This post has eighty-eight members and meets 
regularly at Masonic Hall the first and third 
Wednesday evening of each month. 

SHILOH woman's RELIEF CORPS 

was organized February 18th, 1893, with 
eighteen charter members as follows : President, 
Mary J. Sprecher; Senior Vice President, Anna 
Lafferty; Junior Vice-President, Lettie Dres- 
back ; Chaplain, Elizabeth Keller ; Conductor, 
Roxy Glotfelty; Treasurer, Ora Sprecher; 
Guard, Ann Sprecher; Secretary, Anna Bailey; 



Asst. Con., Lizzie Haller; and Asst Guard, 
Matilda Ford. 

Other charter members were Emaline Buff- 
lngton, Elizabeth Boyle, Sarah Brooke, Mary 
Rorabeck, Clarissa Valentine, Mrs. G. M. Latig, 
Rena Sleer and Kate Annls. 

The following are the Past Corps Presidents : 
Nancy Sprecher, Anna M. Bailey, Anna Lafferty, 
Helen MIddlekauff, Josibelle Dllley, Ella Mc- 
Namar and Anna Sprecher Weed. Lydla Landt 
is Secretary, Etta Packard, Treasurer, and 
Emma Heath, Press Correspondent. 

The present ifiembers are, beside those men- 
tioned above, Sarah Brooke, Phoebe Yeager, Vine 
Wales, Grace Franck, Myra Pierce, Amanda Lego, 
Catharine Klnkade, Blanche Klnkade, Thursa 
Noble, Etta Packard, Alice S. Sherwood, Anna 
WUd, Nettle Bray, Grace Wiley, Sarah Snow, 
Hattle Downs, Ida Tallman, Chloe Galpln, Cora 
McLaughlin Burwell, Maggie La Shelle, Juiia 
Strlckler, Isabel Gault, Clarissa Leland, Flora 
Arnold, Aggie Woodside, Eva Landt, Oara 
Teachout, Rebecca McLaughlin, Mary Oottrell, 
Elmina Howe, Henrietta Sponsellar, Florence 
Good, Kate Hodge, Josibelle DlUey, Mae Grll- 
ley, Ida Good, Louise Warfel, Ella Swigert, 
Frances Ditsworth, Mattie Hugett, Mary Mit- 
chell, Mary Wimer, Bessie McNamar, Delia Mc- 
Knight, Lydla Landt, Cora Bumette, Mrs. D. 
Hepner, Lizzie Root, Adda Tallman, Mary 
Courts, D. Leonette Stevens, Leona Hess, Anna 
Bray, Abble Hess, Emma Derr, Ella Rlsley, Mar- 
garet Reitzell, Mae Sword, Lulu Jane Heiter, 
Jennie Ketterman, Anna Homing, Fannie Sleer, 
Ella Peters, Bess Colver, Emma Heath, Mayne 
Peters, Lydla A^lnwall, Ida S. Renner, Nan 
Gossard, Luella Schadt Peters, Esther Schnee, 
Leah Weed, Edna Dobbs and Edith Lower. 

Shiloh Relief Corps No. 227, now boasts of one 
hundred members and is one of the strongest in 
the department, and in the real work of the 
order stands second to none. Anna Sprecher 
Weed of this corps has been appointed Assistant 
Department Inspector three times. 

THE ILUNOIS W. R. C. GAZETTE 

This very useful and interesting magazine was 
started by Helen MIddlekauff of Lanark, daugh- 
ter of Judge Seymour D. Thomson of St. Louis, 
a distinguished law writer. 

Mrs. MIddlekauff is a member of Shiloh W. R. 
C, and was several times president of the corps; 



Digitized by 



Google 



682 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



in May, 1906, she was appointed press corre- 
spondent of the Department of Illinois. Her 
duties as such correspondent were to dissemi- 
nate intelligence to the public of the practical 
and fraternal work of the order and as she said 
In her "Prefatory'* remarks, "to make the paper 
newsy in W. R. C. affairs, trusting that from 
its pages members may learn the ways and 
means used by other corps of ext^iding relief 
and raising money for relief funds." The 
Gazette is still published monthly in neat maga- 
zine form. Volume 5 being now edited and pub- 
lished by Ida M. Trenary, 5481 Kimbark ave- 
nue, Chicago. 

Very many interesting activities of the W. R. 
C. are reported in this magazine, a few of which 
follow : 

Turning over monies to the post, no doubt 
very acceptable to the old soldiers. 

Taking a large prize for a patriotic float on 
the occasion of a street parade. 

Getting up ten cent teas to raise money, which 
also add much to the social enjoyment of the 
members of the corps and their friends. 

Surprising some comrade of the post with a 
flue supper, or with popcorn and bananas or 
fsandwiches and coffee, and some friends, who 
thus tried to show their good will and friend- 
sliip. 

Sending boxes to needy soldiers. 

Buying a cemetery lot and allowing no soldier 
to be buried in the potter's field. 

Erecting monuments at the unmarked graves 
of old soldiers. 

Fumishhig a ward in a hospital for the use 
of old soldiers. 

A whist party given by the ladies of the corps 
was a success both socially and financially. 

One corps held a ''rummage sale," which was 
a great success. 

"Sunshine Committee,'' sent many a spray of 
beautiful flowers to cheer the room of sick mem- 
bers or comrades of the G. A. R. 

Banquets for husbands of corps ladles, to 
which the G. A. R. boys were invited. 

Patriotic instruction during teachers' institutes 
and the best methods of imparting same in the 
schools and elsewhere, to the end that the serv- 
ice rendered our country by the old soldiers may 
not be forgotten and that the young men of our 
glorious country will be ready and willing when 
occasion may require, to fill up the ranks of our 
defenders. 



Some of the orders of the Department are pub- 
lished in the Gazette which add to its inter- 
est. The subscription price is only fifty cents 
a year, which together with a few advertise- 
ments, pays for its publication. The editorial 
work of Mrs. Middlekauff, although it required 
a great deal of time, was gratuitous. The 
Gazette is so well started on its way now, 
that it is self supporting and promises to be- 
come a very useful factor in the affairs of the 
W. R. C. of Illinois. The Department of Illi- 
nois may well be proud of the fact that it 
maintains the only Woman's Relief Corps news- 
paper or magazine in existence. 



CHAPTER VII. 



PATRIOTIC ORDBRS-<Jontinued. 



B. M. A. HAWK POST, 406 — ^W. B. C, SAVANNA— 
GBOBGE KBTDLEB POST, 575 — ^W. B. C, MILLEDOE- 
VILLE — HOLMAN POST, 579 — ^BECAPTUBED FLAGS 
— W. B. C, THOMSON — HOLDEN PUTNAM POST, 
646 — CAMP SONS OF VETEBAN8 — W. B. C, SHAN- 
NON — DB. JOHN L, HOSTETTEB POST, 785 — ^W. B. 
C. CHADWICK — ^B. M. A. HAWK POST, 406 
SAVANNA. 

The present Commander of this Post is Frank 
Kearney, who kindly furnished the following in- 
formation : 

The Past Commanders have been, H. C. ^un• 
ter, John Hoffman, J. A. Robison, COiarles L. 
Howe, F. L. Tuttle, Bernard Holland, George E. 
Fuller, J. R. Robinson, and B. J. Murray. 

OBGANIZED 

The Post was organized February 19th, 1884, 
with the following charter members: Samuel 
Allen, James Atkins, John Buddey, Bailey Clev- 
enger, H. W. Chapman, Jotin H. Bl^, W. L. 
Gayetty, WiUiam Gibbons, George Goddard, John 
HoiRnan, H. C. Hunter, Frank Kearny, B. J. 
Murray, W. J. Ritchie, John A. Robison, Levi 



Digitized by 



Google 




o 
o 



o 




•-3 

o 



O 



Digitized by 



Google 






i: 



I, 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



683 



Schadle, Tom Squires, J. M. Startzman, Carl 
Turner, G. W. Vamey and John Hulett 

Other members of the Post : Dani^ Atherton, 
Charles Bartlett, A. Bost, B. J. Berge, Nelson 
Bersley, D. M. Bersley, Augustin Bristol, George 
Buckley, G. C. Carpenter, George Chapin, Ira 
Clarke, George W. Collins, John Conner, Thomas 
Donald, William Ellis, Dave FItzpatrick, N. 
Fish, John Flory, George E. Fuller, William Ful- 
ton, John Grover, Robert Getty, Nat Ginter, 
H. H. Good, Tom Graham, Thadeas Groves, H. 
D. Grover, Archie Hall, John Hoffman, James 

F. Hubbell, Noah H. Jordon, Will B. Jordon, 
John Lahre, R. Leonard, William Lucas, Allan 
McClure, G. W. McGowen, Dan Mclntyre, Joseph 
D. Mace, Thomas Mechem, Jacob F. Miller. 
Robert Moore, Smith Myers. J. A. NIckeUs, Ja- 
cob Plattenberg, J. M. Powers, Fred Prufer, Ben- 
ton Ritnour, John R. Robinson, J. Richardson, 
Thomas A, Royer, John F. Schlunke, W. S. Shel- 
don, Charles Salsberry, William Stubs, Nicholas 
Sewerth, Ulrich Truninger, Pliney Taylor, Frank 
L. Tuttle, Carlton Wedifleld, Nels G. Wliisler, 
B, L. WUder, J. 8. Wright, Michael Zigafus. 

[R. M. A. Hawk Post was named after that 
gallant soldier, Major R. M. A. Hawk, of the 
92nd Illinois V. I., who lost a limb in a skirmish 
at Swift Creek, N. C, at the close of the war. 
Indeed the news had come to the Union forces 
that Lee had surrenclered, just before the enemy 
diarged Major Hawk's command. He was for 
many years County Clerk of Carroll County and 
to 1877 was elected to the 46th Congress ; he died 
in Washington while in attendance upon his 
duties in Congress. 

His widow, Mrs. Mary G. Hawk, at the time 
of the dedication of the Soldiers' Monument, took 
advantage of the occasion to invite all the mem- 
bers of the Post to her house to dinner, and you 
may be sure treated them right royally ; she also 
presented each member with a fine steel engrav- 
iog and memorial of her late husband, which the 
memhers of the Post prize very highly. Such an 
occasion as this is a bright spot in the life of 
an old soldier which he will long remember. 

W. B. C., SAVANNA 

Mrs. Olive E. Gilbert, President, Savanna, 
kindly furnished the following names of the of- 
ficers and a list of members of the Woman's 
Relief Corps No. 283 of the R. M. A. Hawk Post 

G. A. R. Savanna : 



President, Olive E. Gilbert ; Senior Vice Presi- 
dent, Sue Jordon; Junior Vice, Ruth Holman; 
Secretary Mary E. Sager ; Treasurer, Edith Bu- 
chanan; Chai^ain, Catharine Gilbert; Conductor, 
Augusta Kosey; Guard, Amelia Whisler. 

Other members: Edith Buheren, Hazel Des 
Parlos, Ida Elliott, Mary Fulton, Catharine Gil- 
bert, Ollie Gilbert, Amanda Groves, Emma 
Haines, Jennie Hodson, Emma Homedew, Ruth 
' Holmen, Eliza Jordon, Elizabeth Johnson, Sue 
Jordon, Augusta Kosey, Mary Prufer, Maud 
Pinkney, Mary Sager, Jess Pulley, Amelia Sor- 
enson, Mary Jane Taylor, Amelia Whisler, Anna 
Williamson. 

GEOBOE KBIDLEB POST G. A. B. NO. 575 

Commander Horace T. Healy of Milledgeville 
kindly furnished the following information in 
regard to George Kridler Post, No. 575, Depart- 
ment of Illinois, G. A. R. 

The post received its charter and was mustered 
In -May 15, 1886, by Captain W. H. Wildey, 
mustering officer for this district The follow- 
ing comrades, being charter members and the 
post's first officers : C. E. Goshert, installed as 
Commander; H. T. Healy, Senior Vice Com- 
mander ; J. P. Hunter, Junior Vice Commander ; 
Oliver Lampman, Surgeon; Charles Gaylord, 
Caiaplain; W. W. Stevens, Officer of the Day; 
W. H. Calkins, Quartermaster ; Charles L. Dyer, 
Officer of the Guard; Freeman Pierce, Adjutant; 
Charles H. Olmstead, Quartermaster Sergeant; 
Frank Hallowell, Sergeant Major. 

Roster of other members of Kridler Post: 
Marten Adams, Walter Allen, E. M. Baxter, 
W. H. Bent, John Baitley, W. H. Bradway, 
Joel B. Buswell, Ulysses Buffington, David 
Bushman, Stephen Calkins, J. L. Chambers, W. 
W. Chaffee, Charles Cheeseman, Job D. Clark, 
Albert Darrow, John T. Dailey, Decatur Easta- 
brooks, George J. Ehni, Henry Elsey, Peter 
Enslay, Louis B. Fosdick, James C. Goldthori>e, 
William J. Griswold, Andrew Glen, Mathlas 
Heiber, A. R. Hurless, Steven V. Hendricks, 
Leonard Holly, Samuel Hall, David H. KImmel, 
James A. King, Charles S. Klock, George C. 
Lei^ty, John B. McPherson, Nicholas sillier, 
Robert Maserik, J. S. Palmer, Jonathan Patch, 
Emanuel Sarber, Christopher Schmick, Henry 
Scott, W. M. Sears, J. D. Sigfried, David Sen- 
neff, T. G. Smith, Albert Smith, Jabez W. Todd. 



Digitized by 



Google 



684 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



Walter F. Sunderland, James F. Swezey, George 
Wagner, Charles Williams. 

PAST POST COMMANDERS 

C. E. Goshert, George J. Ehni, Albert Smith, 
John T. Dailey. 

PRESENT OFFICEBS 

Commander Horace T. Ilealy, S. V. C, W. G. 
Bent ; J. V. C, J. C. Goldthorpe. 

The Post meets semi-monthly; observes Mem- 
orial Day, and attends Divine services in a 
body the Sabbath preceding that day. 

The Post was named in memory of Comrade 
George Kridler, of Company K, 15th I. V. I., 
who was dangerously wounded at the battle of 
Shiloh and died at Savanna, Illinois, on his way 
home. 

SONS OF VETERANS 

There was a camp of Sons of Veterans or- 
ganized several years ago at Milledgeville, but it 
"went to pieces." 

GEORGE KRIDLER, WOMAN*S RELIEF CORPS 

The following Information was furnished for 
the County History by Miss Annah M. Tracy 
of MilledgevUle: 

The George Kridler Woman's Relief Corps, 
No. 106, was organized April 26th, 1888, with 
sixteen charter members. 

The following oflScers were duly installed for 
the first year, by Mrs. J. G. Harrison, President 
of the Sterling W. R. C, assisted by Com- 
mander H. T. Healy of the George Kridler G. 
A. R. Post: President, Mrs. Lizzie Spauldlng; 
Senior Vice President, Amanda Lee ; Junior Vice 
President, Elizabeth Lampman; Secretary, Lil- 
lian Stevens; Treasurer, Ella Olmstead; Chap- 
lain, Julia Bentley ; Conductor, Fannie E. Smith ; 
Assistant Conductor, Mrs. Etta Olmstead ; Guard, 
Sarah J. Healy; Assistant Guard, Amelia H. 
Dull. 

Other charter members were: Hannah M. 
Cheeseman, Sophia J. Ensley, Hester Holly, Ceci- 
lia O. Smith, Etta M. Todd, Rhoda M. Williams. 
Members who have joined since: Viletta Ack- 
erman, Frances Alslp, Maude Allison, Rosanna 
Adams, Gertrude Anabel, Frankie Aurand, 
Nancy Babcock, Mary Barber, Catharine Barthel, 



Mary Baldwin, Abbie Beebe, Martha Bennett, 
Minnie Bent, Olive Bent, Phila Booth, Frances 
Bills, Frank Boyd, Esther Brodock, Alice Brown, 
Christina Brown, Sarah Burils, Martha Bums, 
Emma Bums, Mary Bull, Mary Bushman, Carrie 
Calkins, Minnie Calkins, Pauline Calkins, Alice 
Chambers, Rose Oompton, Susie Cheeseman, 
Delila Coffee, Dorothy A. T. Clark, Anna Chron- 
ister, Libbie Crawford, Anna Daily, Catharine 
Davis, Julia Dennis, Jennie Dingman, Nellie 
Durnstine, Ann E. Dyer, Alice Eastabrooks, Marj- 
Eastabrooks, Sarah Eastabrooks, Aletha Eite- 
miller, Nell Farhney, Julia Farhney, Alice Flem- 
ing, Sarah Frazer, Alice Freaze, Ida Frederick, 
Maranda Frease, Mary Furgesson, Barbara Gar- 
wick, Effle Gault, Emma Griswold, Ida Gross, 
Mary E. Gulllford, Edith Griswold, Cassie Geld- 
macker, Anna Goldthorpe, Emma Hanna, Mar- 
tha Healy, Mabel Hallowell, Pauline Heide, 
Edith Holly, Allie Hunter, Lottie Hurless, Eliza- 
beth Hurlbert, Frank Hubbard, Martha Kelley, 
Elizabeth Larkie, Bessie McKee, Emma McPher- 
son, Jennie Manning, Kate Manning, Mary Man- 
ning, Lucy Mathews, Mrs. D. L. Maxwell, Kath- 
arine Milroy, Louise Moscrip, Mary Millard, Eva 
Mummert, Hattie Neikirk, Amey Norrie, Laura 
Robinson, Nellie Robinson, Sarah Roderick, Lil- 
lie Roderick, Lottie Roderick, Clara Ruth, Mar>- 
Sarber, Martha Shannon, Thersa Shannon, Nel- 
lie Stevens, Anna Stevens, Louisa SIgfried, Phoe- 
be Smith, Lillian Smith, Ethlyn Straker, Susan 
Sweezy, Anna Taylor, Annah M. Tracy, Sarah 
Tulley, Grace Wiley, Adelia Wolber, Emma 
Wood. 

We now have fifty-three members; the re- 
maining eighty-one have been transferred, honor- 
ably discharged or dropped ; we lost sixteen by 
deaths. 

PAST PRESIDENTS 

The following have served the Corps as Pres- 
idents: Lizzie M. Spauldlng, Sarah J. Healey, 
Sarah Eastabrooks, Alice Eastabrooks, Eliza- 
beth Lampman, Martha Bennett, Annah M. 
Tracy, Alice Fleming, Nellie Durstine. Nellie 
Robinson, Rosanna Adams, Effie Gault. 

WORK DONE 

During the twenty-two years of our work we 
have given for relief to soldiers and their de- 
r)endent ones, $241,42 in money; for relief other 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



685 



than money, $591.95; turned over to Post, 
1254.73. 

We helped furnish a room in the Soldiers' 
Widows' Home, at Wilmington. 

Contributed to the burial plot in Elmwood 
Cemetery, Chicago, for Soldiers' Dependent 
Widows and also to the burial fund to be used 
for same ; and the many other calls that came to 
us yearly. 

We also purchased grave markers for forty- 
five deceased comrades and thirteen for our W. 
R. C. deceased members. 

OFFICEBS 

The officers for the year 1910 were : President, 
Rosanna Adams, Senior Vice President, Alice 
Fleming; Junior Vice President, Anna Gold- 
thorpe ; Secretary, Charlotte Ilurless ; Treasurer, 
Carrie Calkins ; Chaplain, Annah M. Tracy ; Con- 
ductor, Martha Burns ; Assistant Conductor, Lot- 
tie Roderick ; Guard, Sarah Roderick ; Assistant 
Guard, Effle Gault; First Color Bearer, Kate 
Manning; Second Color Bearer, Edith Ilolly; 
Third Color Bearer, Llllie Roderick; Fourth 
Color Bearer, Jennie Manning; Patriotic In- 
structor, Nellie Durstine; Press Correspondent, 
Elizabeth Lampman ; Musician, Nellie Robinson. 

Miss Tracy further states, 'that when this 
auxiliary was in its infancy, the membership 
was small and inexperienced and they had much 
to contend with, but peace and harmony soon 
prevailed and all became enthusiastic in gain- 
ing membership and planning social events 
and entertainments that were helpful in 
many ways. And thus we have struggled on 
through these twenty-two years of our grand 
good work of doing something for the betterment 
of comrades and their dependent ones. Much 
could be said of the work of Mrs. Julia Bentley, 
who was mother of the Corps, as through her 
efforts (the Corps was organized, and a more 
faithful hard working member we never had. 
Always ready to do her part, and more, and 
when differences arose she was a mediator. She 
was elected chaplain when the corps was or- 
ganized and filled that office for twenty years 
until her death, excepting only one year. 

"Mudi could be said of other members. It has 
always been our aim to build up socially as well 
as financially and to carry on all the different 
branches of the work expected of each auxil- 
iary. 



"Only three of the charter members remain. 
The Corps meets regularly in the G. A. R. hall 
the first and third Saturday afternoon of each 
month, at two o'clock. 

UOLMAN POST G. A. B., NO. 579 

Comrade Dr. F. E. Melugin, of Thomson, fur- 
nishes the following information in regard to 
Ilolman Post No. 597 and W. R. C. No. 79. 

Holman Post No. 597 of Thomson was char- 
tered Sept. 7th, 1886. 

Charter and other members; R. B. Atherton, 
T. H. Balcom, C. G.- Blaklee, Nelson Bursley, A. 
C. Burt, Harrison Coddlngton, W. D. N. Cone, 
James H. Dyson, Richard Foster, Thadeus 
Groves, J. H. Green, S. Hollingshead, Arthur 
Hotchkiss, Marcus H. Judd, Isaac Lewis, Nor- 
man Lewis, George Manning, Dr. F. E. Melugin, 
Wm. A. Shoemaker, Edmond Smith, Samuel B. 
Smith, Carl Wakefield, Samuel Walters, Edward 
Yates. 

PAST POST COMMANDEBS 

James H. Dyson, S. C. Hollingshead, Daniel 
Embick, John H. Taylor, Dr. F. E. Melugin, R. 
B. Atherton, Thomas C. Rhodes, George John- 
son, Albert G. Durkee, Barnabas Hinds, J. M. 
McGInty, S. B. Smith and W. H. Switzer, who 
is the present Commander, and Dr. F. E. Mel- 
ugin, is Adjutant. 

Old soldiers living in York Township not 
members of the Post, U. A. Pratt and Thomas 
Oakley. Member of Chadwick Post, W. B. De- 
lana. 

RECAPTURED UNION FLAGS 

[Seventeen Union flags were discovered by 
Captain Norman Lewis of Thomson, at the Cap- 
itol building at Raleigh, North Carolina on its 
surrender, April 13th, 1865. The Confederate 
Governor Swain of the state said when inter- 
rogated by Captain Lewis, in regard to the 
flags: "There are no flags here, sir." A negro 
standing by, like all the blacks, a frieud of 
the Union soldier, spoke up and said, "Here 
Massa, I show you where de flag is." Captain 
Lewis followed the loyal African and seized the 
flags. Among them he found the one surren- 
dered by General Miles' command at Harper's 
Ferry and the flag of the 56th Pennsylvania Vol- 
unteers, which, together with one belonging to 
a New York regiment, were returned to the 



Digitized by 



Google 



686 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



proper custodians, leaving In bis possession the 
others which he retained as mementos of the 
great struggle. 

Ilolman Post was named for James G. Hol- 
inan of CJompany F., 52nd Illinois Volunteer In- 
fantry ; he lost a leg, from a wound received in 
the army. His father was Peter Holman, one 
of the early settlers of York Township. He 
was a Post Master and Justice of the Peace for 
many years.] 



HOLMAN W. B. C, NO. 79 

By authority of Mrs. Francis Lewis, President 
of the Woman's Relief Corps of Morrison, on 
January 11th, 1900, the Woman's Relief CJorps 
of Thomson was organized as Ilolman W. R. C. 
No. 79. 

The first officers installed were: President, 
Mary D. Houghton ; Senior Vice President, Sarah 
L. Dyson; Junior Vice President, Ellen M. 
Pratt ; Secretary, Nellie E. Atherton ; Treasurer, 
Henrietta Ellen Sanborn; Chaplain, Louisa Ath- 
erton; Conductor, Arilla Bennett; Guard, Nellie 
Schade; 1st and 2nd Assistant Guards, Cora 
Rhodes and LIna Stagg ; Color Bearers, Mary W. 
Cone, Carrie M. Johnson, Ella Stark and Car- 
rie Lang. 

Beside the above the following were charter 
and other members: Augusta Balcom, Jennie 
R. Cone, Mary Foster, Ruth J. Holman, Laura 
E. Holman, Florence E. Melugin, Cornelia Shoe- 
maker and Anna Smith. At present the corps 
numbers thirty-eight members. Mrs. Sarah 
Groharing Is its president. 



HOLDEN PUTNAM POST, NO. 646 

This Post of G. A. R., of Shannon, was char- 
tered November 17th, 1887, with the following 
charter members: 

Biilser Bristine, Henry Burket, George C. By- 
ers, Robert D. Cheeseman, Reuben Conley, Chris- 
tian Fry, William J. Griswold, Russell A. Hays, 
R. W. Healey, Henry Hoy, Jacob Kehm, John A. 
Leonard, E. E. Peterson, Michael Thomas and 
Ed. C. Truckenmlller. 

The Past Commanders have been John A. 
Leonard, William Corie, Jacob Kehm, R. D. 
Cheeseman, William H. Fleisher, George C. 
Byers, Christian Fry, R. B. Straw, and James 



Rubendall who is the present Commander, and 
R. D. Cheeseman, Adjutant. 

Names of other members of the Post : Patrick 
Barrett, Ellas G. Bowers, John Bowman, Frances 
Cooney, Abraham Diehl, John Doneman, Peter 
Eisenbise, T. J. Elder, Jacob Fry, Edmond Flora, 
Christopher F. Herr, D. L. Humbert, John Isriel, 
B. F. Kremer, Isaac Lehre, George M. Leshell, 
Patrick McGlnnis, Edward Mooney, A. E, 
Machamer, David Pasme, James R. Quick, Amos 
Reynolds, Jacob Sturtevant, James Rubendall, 
J. I. Smith, J. R. Rogers, Thomas SIgre, Ed A. 
Straub, George P. Swift, Alfred Whitacor, Dar- 
ius Wintrus, Washington Thomas. 

The present officers of the Post are: Post 
Commander, James RubeLdall ; Senior Vice Com- 
mander, R. B. Straw; Junior Vice Commander, 
Adjutant, R. D. Cheeseman, who is also Quarter- 
master; Chaplain, Henry Hoy; Officer of the 
Day, David Payne; Officer of the Guard, Jacob 
Sturtevant. 

The Post was named after General Hold^i 
Putnam, one of the distinguished officers of the 
late war for the Union. 



DAVID PAYNE CAMP, SONS OF VETEBANS, OF 
SHANNON 

Roster and list of members and officers : Har- 
vey Rubendall, Commander; Greorge Trucken- 
mlller, Senior Vice Commander; Grover C. 
Truckenmlller, Junior Vice Commander; Free- 
man A. Cook, Chaplain; Daniel S. Hoy, Secre- 
tary ; Charles Sturdevant, Color Sergeant ; John 
C. Parker, Sergeant of the Guard ; James Payne, 
Picket; Alvin F. Kramer, Treasurer; George 
Sturtevant, Corporal ; George H. Parker, 4th U. 
S. Regular Infantry; Fred Cheeseman, Edward 
Truckenmiller, Robert L. Miller, Hanry A. W^iit- 
acre, William Straw, Charles Truckenmiller, Bell 
Everett Boyle, Charles W. Hoy, Charles Stewart, 
Joseph Sturdevant, Arthur Rubendall and Creo. 
C. Ewlng. [From a book called "Life and 
Civil War Services of Edward A. Straub of Oo. 
B, 7th Pennsylvania Cavalry," now of Shannon, 
written by himself. Published by Yewdale & 
Sons Co., Milwaukee, 1909.] The camp was 
named after David Payne, one of the members 
of Hold^i Putnam Post, G. A. R. The camp at 
this writing has disbanded and surrendered its 
charter. It is to be hoped it may sometime be 
revived. 



Digitized by 



Google 




Mhr('Al>i- HALL, FHAx\CE8 «HIMER WCHOOJ., Ml\ t AIUiOLJ. 




SCENE ACROSS THE CAMPUS, FRANCES SHIMER SCHOOL, MT. CARROLL 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



TKK KEVf Ti>i»C 
rUHLICLlERARY 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



687 



HOLDEN PUTNAM W. B. C. NO. 185 

Mrs. Annie Tordy kindly furnishes the follow- 
ing information in regard to this Corps. 

It was organized at Shannon, June 29th, 1891, 
with eighteen members and the following of- 
ficers: Annie Tordy, President; Wealthy Smith, 
Senior Vice; Mrs. J. Frye, Junior Vice; Mrs. J. 
Kebm, Treasurer; Luella Kehm, Secretary; 
Belle Payne, Conductor ; Lucy Payne, Guard- 
Members: Miss Ines Humbert, Mrs. J. C. At- 
kins, Mrs. Rebecca Unger, Miss Mary Kreamer, 
Mrs. A. C. Madiamer, Mrs. A. W. Babb, Mrs. D. 
L. Humbert, Mrs. J. A. Leonard, Mrs. R. D. 
(%eeseman, Mrs. A. Reynolds and Mrs. George 
Byers. 

Other Members: Fannie Good, Kate Spatz, 
Kate Boyle, Maggie Reddington, Lottie Miller, 
Harriet Suavely, Mrs. Cook, Ella Whitmore, 
Anna Miller, Rose Reddington, Mrs. Kennedy. 

From Mr. Straub's book, above referred to, we 
copy this tribute to the Woman's Relief Corps: 
"Our indispensable auxiliary, the Woman's Re- 
lief Corps, continues to do beneficial work. T*ey 
encourage many of the Posts, some of which 
would have disbanded hut for their encourage-, 
ment and assistance. Their charity is broad and 
the organized efTorts of the faithful members 
hi teaching patriotism is bearing fruit. Mrs. 
Mary G. Lincoln, Department President, has been 
untiring in her noble efforts to build up our 
worthy auxiliary. This eminent lady has visited 
all parts of the D^>artment and has done intel- 
ligent and efTectlve work wherever she has gone. 
For her ability, her zeal and kindly courtesy, so 
ably supported by that band of noble, self-sac- 
rificing women, we desire to express not alone 
the thanks of Holden Putnam Post, but the 
appreciation and thanks of the entire Depart- 
ment." 



mander, M. H. Judd; Senior Vice Commander, 
D. N. McLaughlin ; Junior Vice Commander, Con- 
rad Frederick; Chaplain, Henry Sad^; Quartar- 
master, J. R. Lamb; Surgeon, Adam Koehler; 
Officer of the Day, Henry Hohnadel ; Officer of 
the Guard, John Schreiner; Adjutant, Harrison 
Keckler; Quartermaster Sergeant, Nidiolas Mil- 
ler; Sergeant Major, Henry Dambman. 

Other charter members were : C. L. Hostetter, 
George Eckhart, Levi Ganger, George Altense, 
and Henry Loechel. 

Other members: Fred Diehl, P. C.j Samuel 
Nettleton, John Davis, John Schleining, Jesse 
Hill, J. H. Green, Balser Appel, David Wressell, 
Henry Traum, Charles D. Camp, David H. Grim, 
Christian Bauchman, Henry Hartman, Peter 
Rahn, W. B. Delano, R. H. Foster, John Ever- 
hart, George Bitner, Jerry George, Robert Gra- 
ham, Conrad Schleining. 

Past Post Commanders: M. H. Judd, Henry 
Sack, Harrison Keckler, Charles D. Camp and 
Fred Diehl. 

The Post was named after the late Dr. John 
L. Hostetter of Mount Carroll, Surgeon of the 
34th Illinois V. I., in which regiment many of the 
comrades served through the war. Dr. Hostetter 
afterward became surgeon of the Brigade. 
- This, the youngest post in the county, has had 
regular . monthly meetings for many years, but 
as their numbers have decreased and the infirmi- 
ties of advanced age have prevented some from 
attending, the meetings are held quarterly, on 
the fourth days of the months of January, ApriL^ 
July and October. Special meetings are held in 
anticipation of Decoration Day, which is always 
fittingly observed with appropriate services. Ten 
survivors are all that are left of the original 
thirty-seven members. 



DB. JOHN L. HOSTETTEB POST 0. A. B. 

The following information was obtained 
through the assistance of Comrade Fred Diehl, 
late CoDunander of the Post 

Dr. John L. Hostetter Post, No. 765, was organ- 
ized at Chadwick, Illinois, August 18th, 1897. 
Oiptaln W. H. Wildey, P. C, of Mount Carroll, 
with authority from the Department Mustering 
Ofilcer, assisted by Captain E. T. E. Becker, 
mustered the following named ex-soldiers and 
they selected their first officers as follows : Com- 



THE woman's relief COBPS OF CHADWICK 

These ladies are in hearty sympathy with the 
old soldiers, and assist them on every bocasion 
that opportunity presents. Not an old soldier 
passes away, but what their loving hands place 
upon his bier beautiful fiowers, and they an- 
nually assist in decorating the old soldiers' 
graves with these tokens of friendship in a 
spirit of charity and loyalty. The following 
are the names of the members of the corps and 
its officers. 



Digitized by 



Google 



688 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



H06TETTEB CORPS, NO. 156, OF CHADWICK 

The corps was instituted April 5th, 19Q2, by 
Mrs. Ida E. Palmer, Senior Aide of Chicago, with 
17 charter members, as follows : 

Susie B. Foster, Bertha H. Garwidc, Eliza- 
beth Diehl, Ella Spealman, Catherine Zug- 
schwerdt, Sarah Green, Lucetta Ganger, Loviea 
Sack, Augusta Dambman, Mary Handel, Katie 
Sack Rahn, Edna M. Kingery, Amelia Sack 
Spealman, Harriett Rummel, Mae Harris, Emma 
Hohnadel, Katie Dambman. 

We now have a membership of eighteen with 
the following officers: President, Catharine 
Zugschwerdt ; Senior Vice, Loviea Sack ; Junior 
Vice, Ella Spealman; Secretary, Nettie Sack; 
Treasurer, Mamie C. Curley; Chaplain, Maggie 
Garwick ; Conductor, Katie Dambman ; Assistant 
Conductor, Clara Grove; Guard, Augusta Damb- 
man; Assistant Guard, Bertha Spencer; Color 
Bearers, Nos. 1, 2, 8 and 4, Mary Handel, Emma 
Honadel, Katie Sack Rahn, Elizabeth Diehl ; Pa- 
triotic Instructor, Edna M. Kingery; Press Cor- 
respondent, Amelia Spealman; Musician, Bklna 
B. Hicks; Aides, Catharine Zugschwerdt, Clara 
Grove and Edna Hicks. 

The Past Presidents are as follows: Susie 
Foster and Clara Grove. 



CHAPTER VIII. 



THE SOLDIERS AND SAILORS SOCIETY OF 
CARROLL COUNTY. 



OBGANIZED AT LANARK — MILLEDGEVILLE MEETING — 
MONUMENT COMMITTEE — ^ACTION OF THE COUNTY 
BOABI>— <X)MMITTEE APPOINTED BY BOABD — RE- 
PORT OF JOINT COMMITTEE — DEDICATION OF THE 
MONUMEirr — THE PROCESSION — THE SPEECHES 
— HISTORY OF THE MONUMENT — INSCRIPTIONS — 
THE STATUES — HEIGHT OF MONUMENT — REUNION 
' MEETINGS — SAVANNA SELECTED AS PLACE OF 
MEETING. 

The Soldiers and Sailors Reunion Society of 
Carroll County was organized at Lanark, Octo- 
ber 23rd, 1884. Captain E. T. E. Becker was 



elected as the first Colonel or presiding ofllcer and 
John S. Hall, Adjutant or secretary. Sixty-five 
comrades signed the constitution and by-hiws. 

The next meeting was held at Mount Carroll ; 
the records say dinner was served by the citi- 
zens of Mount Carroll at twelve o'clock and all 
soldiers with their families and a number of 
citizens partook of a bountiful repast 

Savanna was selected as the next meeting 
place and Major George A. Root of Lanark was 
elected Colonel and Comrade B. J. Murray of 
Savanna, Adjutant. The next and fourth meet- 
ings were held at Mllledgeville. 

SOLDIERS AND SAILORS MONUMENT 

At this meeting the Hon. D. W. Dame of Lan- 
ark, spoke in regard to building a Soldiers' and 
Sailors' Monument and offered the following pre- 
amble and resolution : "Whereas Carroll County 
has as much interest in keeping green the mem- 
ory of the heroic dead of this county who fell 
in defense of the Union, as our sister counties 
of our state which have already erected soldiers 
monuments or memorial halls at their several 
county seats or elsewhere. Therefore be it re- 
solved: That the soldiers and citizens of Car- 
roll County assembled at Mllledgevlle in this 
annual reunion hereby inaugurate the movement 
for building a soldiers monument for Carroll 
County. 

"That a monument committee consisting of 
one from each township be now named, whose 
duty it shall be to select five persons to be known 
as the Carroll County Soldiers Monument Com- 
mittee, to carry this resolution Into effect." 

COMMITTEE APPOINTED 

The nominating committee reported the fol- 
lowing names: D. W. Dame of Lanark, L. F. 
Eastabrooks of Wysox, W. H. Griffith of Savanna, 
George F. Bucher of Mount Carroll and John H. 
Taylor of York. 

At the next meeting, which was held at Shan- 
non, Captain W. H. Wildey was elected Colonel. 
The fifth meeting was held at Lanark and Don 
R. Frazer was elected Colonel, and Levi Clark, 
Adjutant. The next meeting was a basket pic- 
nic at Mount Carroll and the seventh meeting 
was also held there. Here L. T. Bray was 
elected Colonel and George E. Fuller of Savanna, 
Adjutant. At this meeting three members were 
added to the Monument Committee as follows: 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



689 



C. L. Hostetter of Salem, Eli Lower of Rock 
Creek, and George E. Fuller of Savanna. 
On motion it was decided that the Soldiers' 
Monument be located on the Ck>urt House Square 
If permission could be had from the Board of 
Supervisors. The committee was instructed to get 
soch permission and get such aid as they thought 
beet. After this meeting the committee got busy, 
and the eighth annual reunion, which was to 
have been held in Savanna, was changed to 
Mount Carroll, so that the association might 
participate in the dedication of the monument. 

ACTION OF THE BOABD OF SUPEBVISOBS 

The following appears to have been the ac- 
tion of the Board of Supervisors with reference 
to the building of the monument. At the Sep- 
tember term, 1890, on motion of Mr. Cook of 
Shannon, it was ordered that this board grant 
permission to the Soldiers and Sailors Associ- 
ation of this county to erect a monument to the 
memory of the soldiers and sailors of Carroll 
County, in the court house square. 

COMMITTEE APPOINTED BY COUNTY BOARD 

At a meeting of the Board, September 10th, 
1890, on motion of Mr. Sprecher of Rock Creek, 
seconded by Mr. Lewis of York, a committee of 
three from the Board of Supervisors was ap- 
pointed to act with the committee of the Sail- 
ors and Soldiers Association, to ascertain what 
a suitable monument would coot and what would 
be suitable action to take in the premises. The 
cliairman of the board, C. L. Hostetter, appointed 
as such committee, Louis H. Sprecher of Rock 
Creek, Norman Lewis of York and William J. 
Hay of Woodland township. 

RESULT OF AN ELECTION 

At the December meeting of the board Mr. 
Sprecher, chairman of the committee of the 
County Board, reported the result of the elec- 
tion in regard to the county building a soldiers* 
monument out of a total vote of 2,651, 1,942 voted 
for an appropriation of six tliousand dollars to 
build a monument and 709 against. 

STATES ATTORNEY'S REPORT ADVERSE 

The states Attorney was called upon for his 
opinion as to the legality of such an appropria- 



tion and he reported that the statute does not 
authorize the County Board to make an appro- 
priation for any such purpose. (A few years 
later, however, the Illinois legislature passed an 
act authorizing counties to erect monuments or 
memorial buildings in honor of their Soldiers 
and Sailors. R. S. Chap. 34, Sec. 115.) 

The report of the committee was accepted and 
the committee continued for further action. 

REPORT OF THE JOINT COMMITTEE 

At the February session of the Board of Su- 
pervisors (1801) the joint committee of the Sol- 
diers Association and the committee of the board 
of supervisors made a lengthy report to the 
board of supervisors, stating that they had here- 
tofore been appointed to enquire into and report 
in relation to building a soldiers' monument to 
be erected on the public ground adjacent to the 
court house in Mount Carroll, that they had 
solicited from designers and manufacturers of 
monuments to present for their inspection de- 
signs for monuments such as was desired, that 
eight designs were submitted, that they had con- 
cluded upon the selection of a design presented 
by George H. Mitchell of Chicago. Seven of the 
committee's names are signed to this report. 

ACTION OF THE BOARD 

The same committee offered a preamble and 
resolution to this effect : Whereas, at an election 
held in the county on the 4th of November, 1890, 
it was voted and carried by a large majority in 
favor of an appropriation of six thousand dol- 
lars to erect upon the public grounds belonging 
to said county at the city of Mount Carroll, a 
soldiers* monument, suitable and appr(^riate, to 
the memory of the brave and patriotic soldiers 
and sailors, furnished by said county for the 
Union armies and navy in the late civil war and 
in putting down the rebellion. Therefore 

RESOLUTION MAKING THE APPROPRIATION 

be it resolved : That we the Board of Supervisors 
of Carroll County, believing in the project and 
favoring the eminent propriety and fitness of 
such a monument and acting in obedience to the 
expressed will of the patriotic citizens of said 
county ... we therfore, hereby appropriate 
the sum of six thousand dollars to be expended 



Digitized by 



Google 



690 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COL'NTY 



in the improvement of the public Court House 
Grounds in Mount Carroll by erecting thereon 
sudi monument, to be built in accordance with 
plans selected by the committee heretofore ap- 
pointed^ for that purpose, to be completed and 
ready for unveiling on some day in October, 
1891. 

Mr. Sprecher, member of the Board from Rodn 
Cre^, moved the adoption of the resolution and 
called for the ayes and nayes, the same was car- 
ried, nine voting in the affirmative and five in 
the negative. 

On the 30th of March, a contract was made 
with Mr. Mitchell and executed on behalf of the 
county by C. L. Hostetter, Chairman of the 
Board of Supervisors. 

DEDICATION OF THE MONUMENT 

The unveiling and dedication ot the Soldiers' 
Monument was a great event for Carroll County. 
These ceremonies were appointed by the Board 
of Supervisors to take place October 6th, 1891, 
ti^'enty years ago. 

SCHOOLS GIVEN A HOIIDAT 

The Board requested that the schools of the 
county be given a holiday for the purpose of 
permitting the teachers and pupils to attend. 
John H. Grossman, then county superintendent 
of schools, issued a notice to the above effect, 
that headquarters for pupils, teachers and school 
officers would be at the Mount Carroll high 
school buildings. That well filled lunch baskets 
should be brought along; that railroad tickets 
could be procured at reduced rates. 

BUSINESS HOUSES CLOSED 

Mayor Glotfelty of Lanark and the mayor of 
Savanna Issued proclamations urging the busi- 
ness men to close their places of business from 
ei^t o'clock a. m. to seven p. m., so as to per- 
mit everybody to attend the dedication of the 
monument 

The Savanna Journal, F. S. Greenleaf editor, 
of October 8th, 1891, gives this account of the 
dedication. **Tuesday was probably the most Im- 
portant day In the history of Mount Carroll 
. . . everybody was there. Eight coaches were 
loaded at Savanna ; a large delegation came from 
Thomson, and from Lanark and Shannon came 



many more . . . had the day been pleasant 
there would, probably have been half as many 
more ; as It was there were at least five thousand 
people in the city. [The city was beautifully 
decorated with flags and bunting. Two delicate 
arches spanned the streets In front of the monu- 
ment on which were flags and a banner in- 
scribed, **Loyalty,"] 

THE PBOCESSION 

The Savanna band headed the procession fol- 
lowed by the Grand Army Posts, the Uniformed 
Rank Kni^ts of Pythias, the Select Knights 
of America and the Savanna Hose Company No. 
2, making five handsomely uniformed orgai^sa- 
tlons, ''and we may say that this constituted 
quite as fine and extensive a showing as was pre- 
sented," Including of course numerous citizens 
who brought up the rear. Lanark and Shan- 
non and Thomson were all r^res^ited and in 
fact every town In the county was there. In the 
parade were the school children from all over 
the county In line with the Mount Carroll schools. 
Altogether the parade was a fine showing of 
what Carroll County can do wh^i occasion re- 
quires. Excellent preparations had been made 
for the entertainment of the visitors. Beside 
the regular hotels there were several places 
where meals were served by the church women 
and not only was the fare offered the very best 
but the prices were reasonable. 

THE SPEECHES 

About two o'clock the great crowd began to 
gather In the Court House park to listen to the 
speeches. Upon the platform were Congressman 
Hltt, State Auditor Pavey, and James I. Neff 
of the State Board of Equalization, and a great 
many others of local note. The Honorable H. S. 
Clarke, the orator of the day, could not be pres- 
ent The w^comlng address was delivered by 
the mayor of the city, the Honorable N. H. Mel- 
endy, and responded to by Mr. Neflf. The ad- 
dress to the soldiers was given by Hon. J. M. 
Hunter. Mr. Pavey's address followed, "which 
seemed to Interest the people more than any 
other." 

HISTOBT or THE MONUMENT 

This paper further reports that, C L. Hostet- 
ter, chairman of the committee appointed by 



Digitized by 



Google 




^/H^ LluyJ/t^ 



t-ryux c^'tyt- 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



c^ 




1^ 




\ 

\ 


\"' 






^"t 


< ? 


\ 






^, - 




\ 


^,, 









Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



691 



the Soldiers and Sailors Association, presented 
a report, giving a bistorj' of their action, in sub- 
stance as follows. At the first meeting of the 
joint committee of the Soldiers' and Sailors' and 
Supervisors* committee, the Hon. D. W. Dame 
was elected chairman, George F. Bucher Secre- 
tary and C. L. Hostetter, Treasurer. A sub-com- 
mittee consisting of Messrs. Sprecher, Griffith 
and Hostetter, was apiK>inted to solicit funds for 
the building of the monument with authority to 
appoint committees in each township. On motion 
of Mr. Hay it was ordered that a committee be 
appointed to make arrangements to have a vote 
taken at the November election, upon the ques- 
tion of an appropriation to be made by the coun- 
ty t)oard not to exceed six thousand dollars for 
building a soldiers* monument. The chairman 
appointed as such committee, William J. Hay of 
W^oodland, Ell L. Lower of Rock Creek, and 
George E. Fuller of Savanna. The further ac- 
tion of this committee will be found In the pre- 
ceding lines. 

DESCBIPTION OF THE MONUMENT 

The foundation, which is made of native lime- 
stone, is eight feet deep in the ground, and was 
built by Josiah Schamel, a veteran stone mason 
of Moant Carroll. The first base, which is one 
immense stone Is the heaviest piece in the monu- 
ment; the other two bases and-, the shaft, which 
is nineteen feet high, are each one solid stone. 
They are made of Barre granite from Vermont. 
On the front face of the cap-stone is a wreath ; 
on the lower part of the shaft, front face, is a 
United States flag, musket cap and cartridge 
box, knapsack and canteen, all grouped together ; 
on the reverse side is the G. A. R. badge. 

INSCRIPTIONS ON THE MONUMENT 

On the front of the die: 

Carboll County 

to the memory of the men who saved the 

union that their example may speak 

to coming generations 

On the other three sides of the die are the 
names of soldiers and sailors who enlisted from 
OarroU County, giving their regiments and com- 
pany. 

On the frieze, at the lower part of the cap^ 
front side above the die: 

Slavery Aboushed 



On the rear : 

Peace Restored 
On either side in front : 

Courage — Endurance 

On the front face of the shaft plinth, cut in 
raised letters : 

1861—1865 

On the reverse: 

Erected A. D. 1891 

The names of twelve battles, three on each 
side of the shaft, in raised letters: 



DONELSON 


shiloh VICKSBURG 


NASHVILLE 


ATLANTA CHICKAMAUGA 


WILDERNESS 


RESACA OEl^YSBURG 


STONE RIVER 


HATCHEE CORmTH 



On the four sides of the upper statue plinth 
are eight corps badges, in all of which corps 
Carroll County was represented by volunteers. 

1st Army Corps 

(Round figure) 

4th Army Corps 

(Triangle) 
14th Army Corps 

(Acorn) 

15th Army Corps 

(CJartridge box) 

16th Army Corps 

(Round figure) 

17th Army Corps 

(Arrow) 
20th Army Corps 

(Star) 

23rd Army Ck)rps 

(Shield) 

THE STATUES 

The statuary consists of three pieces represent- 
ing the Infantry, the Cavalry, and the standard 
bearer on top of the monument. The first 
two are six feet eeven inches high and are made 
of fine grained red Westerly granite. The upper 
statue or standard bearer measures ten feet to 
top of standard. 

The statue facing north, representing a cav- 
alry man, was designed and wrought for this 
monument by the sculptor, Lorado Taft, of Chi- 
cago. Lewis H. Sprecher of Lanark made 



Digitized by 



Google 



692 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



several trips to Chicago and donning liis cav- 
alry uniform and accoutrements there, posed 
as a model for this statue. It is a very fine 
work of art. 

NAMES OF THE SOLDIERS AND SAILORS 

There was not room for all the names of the 
soldiers on the monument. Through the efforts 
of John S. Hall, later County Surveyor, who was 
a veteran in the Union army and a prisoner at 
Andersonville prison, the board of supervisors 
erected near the monument two columns with an 
arch spanning the interval between them, which 
was also the design of Mr. Hall. On these col- 
umns the additional names were cut, 1,284 in all. 

From the working plan of the monument it is 
forty-nine feet and three inches high, the con- 
tractor having increased the size of several of the 
stones above the requirements of the contract. 
Counting a few inches of the foundation above 
the ground it is practically fifty feet high. 

It is said by every one who has seen it to be 
a very imposing and beautiful monument. 

REUNIONS 
SAVANNA MEETING 

At the business meeting of the Association on 
the day of the dedication of the monument, Sav- 
anna was selected for the next, the 9th meet- 
ing. Lieutenant Colonel W. P. Robb was 
promoted to the rank of Colonel and Jacob S. 
Wright was elected Adjutant. The meeting was 
at Savanna Sept 15th, 1802. Headquarters were 
provided where the comrades registered and were 
provided with meal tickets for themselves and 
families. They had a splendid parade at this 
meeting, composed of veterans and other organi- 
zations, part of the Savanna Fire Department 
and the children of the Savanna schools in holi- 
day attire. Senator Shelby M. Cullom was the 
orator of the day, followed by General Smith D. 
Atkins and the venerable Chaplain Cartwright of 
Oregon. Upon invitation of the comrades at 
Milledgeville that place was selected for the next 
meeting. George F. Bucher was promoted to the 
office of Colonel and Comrade H. T. Healy of 
Milledgeville was elected Adjutant. 

MILLEDGEVILLE MEETING 

The 10th meeting was held at Milledgeville 
Sept. 27th, 1893. Kridler Post, assisted by the 
patriotic citizens of Milledgeville, had erected an 



arch spanning the four comers of the main 
streets from which hung suspended in large let- 
ters, "Welcome Comrades." A parade was 
formed and marched through the principal 
streets of the village. It was headed by the 
Eagle Point Baud, speakers in carriages, Hawk 
Post of Savanna, Nase Post, Mount Carroll, Hol- 
den Putnam Post, Shannon Woman's Relief 
Corps, Shiloh Post 85 of Lanark and their Relief 
Corps, Kridler Post of Milledgeville. Plum River 
Drum Corps, probably the Moore brothers, 
Harlyn and Jacob, who did so much when they 
were lads, with their drum and fife to arouse 
the patriotism of the people during war times ; 
tl en followed the Milledgeville school children 
and the Milledgeville Cornet band, Camp 1)6, P. 
(). S. of A. 

SHANNON MEETING 

At the business meeting a motion was made 
to dispense with the parade whidi was lost. 
Shannon was selected as the place for the next 
meeting George E. Fuller of Savanna was elected 
Colonel and John A. Leonard, Adjutant One 
hundred and sixty-one comrades registered at the 
Shannon meeting and were given tickets for din- 
ner. Comrade J. S. Wright of Savanna was 
elected Colonel and B. S. Gaff, Adjutant Meet- 
ing adjourned to meet in Lanark, 1895. An old 
time camp fire was held in the evening consisting 
of songs and short speeches, closing by singing 
Marching Through Georgia. 

LANARK MEETING 

The 12th meeting was held at Lanark. General 
D. Atkins delivering the annual address. Miss 
Wright, daughter 0(f the presidhag officer, Col. 
J. S. Wright, rendered a patriotic poem entitled 
The Siege of Corinth. Horace T. Healy was pro- 
moted to Colonel and Comrade E. T. Cole of Mt 
Carroll was elected Adjutant, and Mt. Carroll 
selected as the next place for meeting. 

MOUNT CARBOLL MEETING 

At this meeting, the 13th annual reunion, the 
register showed 190 soldiers and sailors present 
The parade of the old soldiers was joined at the 
school building by 425 of the school children each 
with a flag. The address was delivered in the 
opera house by W. G. Oodiran, Department 
Commander. J. A. Leonard of Shannon was 
promoted to Colonel and M. H. Judd of Chad- 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



693 



wiek was elected Adjutant and Chadwick select- 
ed as the place for the next meeting. 



with the field officers; the minutes are signed 
by Geogre J. Ehni, Adjutant. 



CHADWICK MEETING 

At this, the 14th meeting, six less registered 
than at the last meeting. Colonel J. A. Sexton 
of Chicago, delivered the address. Hon R. R. 
Hitt and G^ieral Smith D. Atkins also spoke. 
B. S. Goff was promoted to Colonel and J. R. 
Robinson of Savanna was elected Adjutant and 
Savanna chosen as the next place of meeting. 

SECOND SAVANNA MEETING 

'Rie 15th meeting was held there. Two hun- 
dred and thirty-one old soldiers and sailors regis- 
tered, which was, perhaps, the largest number 
that ever registered at any of these meetings. 
The registration was not confined to old soldiers 
of Carroll County, many took pleasure in attend- 
ing from adjoining counties and from Iowa; 
some came longer distances to attend these re- 
unions. E. T. E. Cole was promoted to Colonel 
and W. D. N. Cone of Thomson was elected 
Adjutant. 



SAVANNA MEETINGS 

The 19th, and all subsequent meetings, have 
been held at Savanna. The following have been 
the Colonels or presiding officers : George J. Ehnl, 
John A. Robison, Lewis H. Sprecher, Frank 
Kearney, George Noble, C. L. Hostetter, R. B. 
Straw, C. S. Wiley; and the Adjutants: J. R. 
Robinson for two years, and B. Holland for last 
fifve years ; until the 28th annual reunion, August 
24th, 1911, J. P. Plattenberg was the presiding 
Colonel ; B. Holland was elected Colonel for the 
ensuing year and George E. Fuller, Adjutant. 

These meetings have been a source of great 
pleasure to the old soldiers. They give them an 
opportunity to meet old comrades whom they 
otherwise would not see. At the last meeting at 
Savanna they were all taken to ride in automo- 
biles, through the dty and into the country. Their 
smiling faces indicated the pleasure it was to 
them. 



THOMSON MEETING 

The 16th reunion was held at Thomson, Sep- 
tember 21st, 1899. Hon R. R. Hitt delivered 
the address. M. H. Judd was promoted to Col- 
onel, and W. W. Stevens, of MUledgeville, was 
elected Adjutant 



CHAPTER IX. 



CARROLL COUNTY, IMPROVEMENT AND 
PROGRESS. 



TWO MEETINGS AT MILLEDGEVILLE 

At the time appointed the weather was not 
favorable for a large meeting. Mrs. F. O. Mc- 
Cleland, president of the Illinois Department of 
the Woman's Relief Corps delivered the address. 
The 18th meeting was held at MUledgeville, 
September 11th, 1901. The meeting was called 
to order by J. R. Robinson, Colonel, presiding. 
The address was delivered by the late Hon. 
Alfred Bayles, State Superintendent of Public 
Instruction. 

At this meeting the holding of annual reunions 
at some point in the county easily reached by 
rail was agitated and a motion was adopted, that 
all future meetings be held in Savanna. W. D. 
N. Cone of Thomson was promoted to Colonel 
and the appointment of an Adjutant was left 



STAGE LINES — PRAIRIE FIRES — FINANCES — COUNTY 
INCORPORATED — CENSUS 1840 — CENSUS 1910 — 
DECREASE ACCOUNTED FOR — ^FORMER CITIZENS 
SCATTERED — EMIGRATION — PROGRESS — THE 
THRESHINGS — THE BANNER CORN COUNTY — 
COUNTY OFFICERS — ^RAIUtOADS, VALUATION — 
RURAL ROUTES — VALUATION OF PROPERTY — TAXES. 

The first settlement of the county was at Sav- 
anna, soon after Elkhom Grove was settled, fol- 
lowed by settlements at Cherry Grove, where be- 
fore the land was surveyed there was a com- 
pleted highway from Dixon to Galena, which 
was the main traveled line from Galena to Chi- 
cago, and at that time the latter was the less 
Important town of the two. Crane's fort was 



Digitized by 



Google 



694 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



located on this road and from here Thomas 
Crane carried the first mail to Freeport. This 
road extended south as far as Peoria where pas- 
sengers landed from steamboats from the east. 
At the Cherry Grove station on this road W. A. 
J. Pierce's father, John Pierce, kept the stage 
horses; he was also postmaster there for three 
or four years. 

STAGE LINES 

The stopping places for the coaches, in this 
county, were Gamer's and Sample Journey's near 
Elkhom Grove and Mitchell's upon Plum river. 
The line was afterward established on what was 
later called the old telegraph road, named so 
from the fact that the first telegraph line throu^ 
the county was built on this road from Dixon 
through Mount Carroll to Galena. The stations 
on these stage lines were usually about twenty 
miles apart, some more, some less. The drivers 
(Ranged horses at stations. When teams were 
fresh they were put on the longer stations and 
when worn and tired they would put them on 
the shorter routes. They got b^ind time in 
those days in crossing slou^s and sometimes 
were delayed until it got dark and the drivers 
would get lost and could not find the places 
where the sloughs were passable, and would not 
get into the station until the second day. In 
vain the few inhabitants of these stations and 
perhaps waiting travelers, listened for the toot of 
the horn with which the drivers took pleasure in 
awakening the echoes of the surrounding coun- 
try. 

PSAIBIE FIBES 

Some times the stages would be delayed by 
prairie fires, in passing them there was great 
danger; at many places along the route, it was 
prairie as far as the eye could see from the top 
of the coach. The upland grass was about two 
feet high while the bottom lands were covered 
with grass, which in many places was tall 
enough to hide a horse and rider. In this wild 
grass were many beautiful fiowers. This bouquet 
of wild fiowers stretched out on every side and 
filled the air with fragrance. But this stretch of 
grass and fiowers, so beautiful in summer, be- 
came a source of great danger, as soon as it was 
killed by the frosts of atumn. When dry this 
heavy covering, some times the accumulation of 
several years, if set on fire, burned with great 



rapidity, and the fire swept over the prairies and 
there was nothing to stay its progress and there 
was great danger from it, many of the early 
settlers lost houses and crops in these fires. For 
their protection the settlers found it necessary 
to make fire breaks, as they were called, by 
plowing furrows about a fourth of a mile apart, 
and, when it was very dry and still, bum the 
grass betwe^i the furrows, yet in a furious wind 
the tumble weeds, that were entangled in the 
grass, when set free by the fire, rose by force 
of the heat high into the air and were blown long 
distances often across the fire-breaks. The 
flames traveled with incredible rapidity and not 
only shot up fifty to a hundred feet in height, but 
spread over one hundred to three hundred feet 
in width on the ground according to the force of 
the wind, driving all before them. The deer 
were sometimes seen fieeing b^ore the flames 
when becoming exhausted, they would turn and 
make a break to pass through this cordon of fire 
and smoke. In the fall of the year the air was 
often fllled with the smoke of the burning prair- 
ies and the horizon would be lighted here and 
there during the night by prairie fires. Some- 
times the red batallions of flames could be seen 
in the distance as they swept widely across the 
prairies. They would continue to rage for days, 
until a rain put them out or made the grass so 
wet it would not bum. They did great damage 
where they passed over i)atdies of bushes or 
young trees burning them to the ground. These 
autumnal fires were probably the cause of our 
treeless prairies, a young forest could not with- 
stand their ravages. The only defense a settler 
had was the fire-break, if perchance they crossed 
this boundary the only remedy was to beat out 
the fire with bundles of bushes, usually cut from 
hazel thickets, but that was very hot and ex- 
hausting work. 

PANAMA 

On the Savanna branch of the road spoken of 
called then the Savana and Ko<±ford road, in 
1837, the ground where the fairground now is. 
a mile south of Mount Carroll, was laid out into 
town lots by Samu^ Bailiss, a Virginian, who 
called it after the capitol of his native state, 
Richmond. A few cheap houses were built and 
occupied, this was probably the place that was 
nicknamed Slab City. A post office was located 
here in 1840 with Charles G. Hawl^ as post 



Digitized by 



Google 




PARTS OV METCALF, HATHAWAY, rOI.LKfiK AND WK.ST HALLS TENNIS COURT, 
1-TiANCES t^HlMER SCHOOL. MT. CWRROLL 




DEARBORN HALL AND CANNA BEDS, FRANCES SHIMER SCHOOL, MT. CARROLL 



Digitized by 



Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



695 



master and the place renamed Panama, as the 
state already bad a Richmond post office. The 
Whigs coming into power in 1841 were com- 
mitted to retrwichment of expenditures and 
post offices not paying exi)enses were discontin- 
ued, this included Panama, a very familiar name 
now to the American people. 

The next year (1842) Mount Carroll was 
started and the mill built, and this completed the 
downfall of Richmond. . 

FINANCES 

The following incident Illustrates the early 
financial condition of the county. In 1837 Moses 
Hallett, who was sheriff of Jo Daviess County, 
the father of James and Bartlett Hallett, old 
settlers of Mount Carroll, came to Cherry Grove 
bunting jurors to attend the circuit court at 
Galena. He sunmicmed Samuel Preston^s father 
to attend court as a Juror. Mr. Preston, after 
spending a week with no prospect of getting 
tbrough, appealed to Judge Stone to be excused. 
The pay of jurors was one dollar per day ; he 
received a county order for six dollars but he 
found it nearly worthless as the country had 
been flooded the year before with "wild cat 
money,*' but be found a merchant who would al- 
low him twelve and a half c^ts on the dollar in 
store goods, and be took for his six dollar order 
a pound of stocking yam valued at «eventy-flve 
cents. This with similar incidents furnished 
good reasons for erecting a new county out of 
this part of Jo Daviess, when jurors had to 
travel forty miles to attend court and for a 
week's service did not draw sufficient money to 
pay their expenses at court for one day. 

THE COUNTY INCOBPORATED 

A petition was presented in the house of rep- 
resentatives December 31st, 1838, by Mr. Kent 
asking for the formation of a new county out of 
a part of Jo Daviess County. The petition was 
referred to the conmiittee on counties, which re- 
ported a bill January 19th, 1839, for an act to or- 
ganize Carroll County. Tliis bill was r^wrted by 
Mr. Moore representative from McLean County. 
The boundaries were originally the same as now. 
The half townships of Shannon, Lima and Elk- 
horn Grove were attached to Ogle County by a 
section of the bill. In 1851 a bill was passed at- 
taching those half towns to Carroll County, but a 



vote of the people occupying those half town- 
ships failed to confirm it. 

CENSUS 1840 

In 1840 Carroll County had within her bor- 
ders 1,023 persons of all ages, of these two were 
engaged in mining, 282 farming, 15 were store 
keepers, 31 were manufacturers, 7 were engaged 
in professional labors. There was one Revolu- 
tionary War pensioner. There were four schools 
with about one hundred scholars, eight persons 
over twenty years of age, who could not read or 
write. During this year our neighboring coun- 
ty of Jo Daviess held in bondage, six persons 
as slaves. 

CENSUS 1910, DECREASE ACCOUNTED FOB 

By the census of 1910 Carroll County has 18,- 
035; 1900, 18,963 and 1890, 18,320, a decrease 
during the last decade of nearly one thousand 
in population. This decrease in population is 
not owing to any fault in the fertility of the soil 
or the productiveness of the farms or unremun- 
erative prices for farm products, but rather to 
its great fertility and ease of cultivation and 
over productiveness; like a hive filled with 
honey and an abundance of food, the workers 
rather than remain in idleness, have like the 
bees sought new fields of labor. 

Many have profited by the experience of their 
fathers, have gone west to take up more land and 
buy larger farms, than they could possibly pur- 
chase here, so that their children might have the 
advantage of the increase in value of the western 
lands, which they saw was sure to follow. Some 
have sought broader if not more fertile fields. 

FORMEB CITIZENS SCATTERED 

Former citizens of Carroll County are scat- 
tered all over the United States. They have 
taken up sheep ranches and cattle ranches on 
the great plains. Some have orange groves in 
California and some in Florida, fruit orchards 
in irrigated lands of the Northwestern states 
and rice farms in Louisana. 

Carroll County furnished a governor for the 
state of Kansas ; a member of congress for Bos- 
ton; a distinguished divine for New England; 
the president of the New York Central, with a 
salary at one time, greater than that of the 



Digitized by 



Google 



696 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



president of the United States, comineiiced his 
career, as a railroad employee, by piling wood 
for firing railrocul locomotives at Thomson, Car- 
roll County. Many have been attracted by the 
glare and bnstle of the great cities and have 
baried themselves there, no doubt often longing 
tar the pure air and green fields of their coun- 
try homes. 

EMIGRATION 

The emigration from the county has been so 
great that not enough people have been left to 
properly till the fertile farms; but for the great 
improvement in farm machinery, so that one man 
can now do the work of many, the farms could 
not be cultivated. Some day, perhaps, the tide 
of emigration will set the other way. There is no 
longer occasion for our young people to seek 
occupation elsewhere. Carroll County has great 
poesibilities and unparalleled advantages, which 
will some day be utiliased. It is never too dry 
like it often is in the west nor too cold like 
it always is in the north. 



The last seventy-five years have witnessed 
most amazing progress in civilization, in the 
arts, and in all kinds of human activity. When 
the first settlements were made in northwestern 
Illinois, the Mississippi river was the dividing 
line between civilization and barbarism. Sixty 
years ago a skilled engineer thought it possible 
this great rivBr might some day be bridged for 
railroad trains to pass over. All beyond the 
Father of Waters was a dreary wild untrod by 
whiteman's foot, except as some fearless trapper, 
in quest of game, would penetrate the abode 
of savage beast and still more savage man. The 
Indian, the buffalo and the rattlesnake were the 
undiHputed occupants of the now fertile prairies, 
of the great state of Iowa. Westward the course 
of emi)ire has taken its way even beyond the 
Pacific ocean. There is no longer any west in 
this great country. 

No longer do we behold the white canvased 
caravan, the prairie schooners, moving westward, 
for steam says to the emigrant, "I'll carry you 
from the Atlantic to the Pacific, sooner than you 
can drive your ox team from Oliio to the Mississ- 
ippi. I'll carry your letter to I>oudon, for two 
cents, and you get an answer back in ten days 
delivered at your door. 



The wooden mouldboard of oar fathers is for- 
gottoi, a steel one now turns its perished sor- 
face to tile soil. The sickle and the cradle hare 
been superceded by the harvester, a marvti of 
ing^iuity, which binds and tosses to one side the 
golden sheaves with a dexterity that seems al- 
most human. The "nen o*do(ic piece,*" and the 
"four o'clock piece," which our mothers prepared 
for the harvesters, who had to rise early and 
work late is a thing of the past. 

The flail of our grandfathers has been super- 
ceded by the steam thrasher, which 'Yeeds 
itself,*' blows the straw into mammoth bams 
or stacks it into great half moon stacks and 
sacks the golden grain three thousand bushes 
or more in a day. 

THE THRESHINGS 

Threshing in the days of the pioneers was done 
In this manner : in a circle of about twenty feet 
in diameter the bundles of grain were set in a 
leaning position towards the center and two oxen 
or horses walking abreast tramped out the 
grain. Some times more animals were used by 
tying the head of one horse to the tail of an- 
other and a boy rode the leader the others had 
to follow. A man stirred up the grain until it 
was tramped out, then raked off the straw and 
plied up the grain and chaff in the middle of the 
circle. The grain had then to be winnowed from 
the chaff, a very tedious process. Later fanning 
mills were manufactured at Mount Carroll by 
Widney and Walker ; one of these machines was 
used by a large neighborhood. In 1S44 Monroe 
Bailey of York brought to the county the first 
effective threshing machine. This could thresh 
and clean 200 bushels of wheat in a day and was 
thought to be a very great invention. 

At these modern threshings all the neighbors 
help each other, turn about, as it requires a 
great many men and teams, and the grain is 
hauled from shocks in the fields to the machine, 
which is run by a steam engine. They are the oc- 
casion of great feasts, gotten up by the farmers' 
wives, assisted also by their neighbors. A sam- 
ple of the threshers' dinners of the present day 
may be described as follows : A great long table 
that will seat twenty or more hungry men, who 
need plenty of elbow room, is literally loaded 
down with good things to eat For meats there 
are fried chicken, roast beef and cold ham, all 
kinds of vegetables and fruit in season, mashed 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



697 



|x)UUoes, yellow with butter and cream, fresh 
wheat bread and rolls of the finest quality, and 
cheese, Jams, jellies, and honey and fresh butter, 
canned apricots and peaches, two kind of cake, 
angel food and chocolate layer cake, ginger 
crackers, doughnuts, freshly fried, celery, lemon- 
ade, tea or coffe, to conclude, two kinds of pie 
are served, two generous pieces on each plate. 
How does this compare with the fare of a pion- 
eer, who had hammered the grain with a flail 
all the weary day, when he sat down to his 
frugal meal of bacon and hominy, or com bread 
washed down with rye coffee. 

The song of the spinning wheel is no longer 
heard in the land, for steam has said to the 
good housewife, "I have a thousand fingers of 
curious shape and a delicate mechanism to do 
that work for you." 

THE BANNEB CORN COUNTY 

Carroll County In the year 1911 was the banner 
corn-raising county of Illinois, which holds the 
title of the banner corn state, both having had 
the highest average per acre, Illinois for the 
United States, and Carroll County the highest 
average of any county In the state. The com 
crop is never a failure in this county, and 
raising com and hogs and cattle, is the chief 
occupation of the people; in some sections this 
is varied, especially in York township, where 
milking cows and selling cream to the creameries, 
is found to he the most profitable. The cream- 
eries In which many of the farmers are inter- 
ested, manufacture butter of the very best 
quality and obtain the highest price in eastern 
communities from special customers. Gathering 
the cream from the milk is now made easy and 
expeditious by the use of separators which are 
in general use among the farmers. The sweet 
skimmed, or separator milk, is great food for 
the calves and pigs. 

PBIZES TAKEN 

Many prizes have been taken for the best 
butter, at state and national exhibitions, made 
by Carroll County farmers and Carroll County 
creameries. 

COUNTY OFFICEBS 

The following were the county ofllcers for 
1911 and 1912: 



County Judge, John D. Tumbaugh. 
County Clerk, A. B. Adams. 
Sheriff, David B. Doty. 
Superintendent of Schools, John Hay. 
Coroner, Dr. J. B. Schreiter. 
Public Administrator, Mark S. Forl)es. 
States Attorney, F. J. Stranskey. 
Circuit Clerk, Valentine Boemer. 
Probation Officer, H. P. Hostetter. 
Treasurer, William H. Stlteley. 
Master in Chancery, Chas. E. Stuart. 
Public Guardian, D. C. Smith. 
Supt. County Farm, Theodore Bundy. 

MEMBEBS OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS 

M. C. Radke, Chairman, Savanna. 
William J. Hay, Woodland. 
Richard A. Kersey, Cherry Grove. 
William S. Manning, Lima. 
Charles A. Beede, Salem. 
Smith J. Holland, York. 
F. A. Fogel, Wysox. 
J. W. Miller, Washington. 
Win Vanderheyden, Freedom. 
William Fisher, Shannon. 
Eli L. Lower, Rock Creek. 
William F. Snook, Mt. Carroll. 
J. A. Wright, Fair Haven. 
Benjamin C. Knox, Elkhorn Grove. 

RAILROADS 

Carroll County has ample railroad facilities. 
The Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul, Racine and 
Southwestern division, enters the county at 
the southwest corner, runs thence north to 
Savanna, thence east and north and passes out 
at the northeast comer of the county with a 
branch near the north line, running east to 
Chicago. Another branch (the cut-off), runs 
from the southwest comer of the county, north 
and east to the main line at the center of the 
county at Ashdale. 

The Chicago, Burlington & Northern railroad, 
runs from the southwest corner of the county, 
north to Savanna and from there in a south- 
easterly direction to the southeast corner of the 
county, near Milledgeville, the main line run- 
ning north from Savanna along the river to the 
northwest corner of the county. 



Digitized by 



Google 



008 



HISTORY OP CABBOLL COUNTY 



▼ALCATIOH 

The Chicago, Milwaakee k St. Paul railroad, 
has aixtj miles of main track on its line through 
the county, and a double track on Its Chicago 
line ; with side tracks and buildings <hi its right 
of way, and is valued for assessment at over two 
millicMis of dollars. 

The Burlington has over forty-ei^t miles of 
main trade, and with side tracks and buildings 
on the right of way, is valued over one million, 
six hundred thousand dollars, making a total 
valuation in the county of railroad tracks and 
buildings on the right of way of nearly four 
million dollars. 

A branch of the Milwaukee & St Paul road 
is now, (February, 1912), being surveyed from 
Mt. Carroll in a northwesterly direction, through 
the county. Nothing, however, may come of this 
as sereral preliminary surveys have been made 
in this nei^borhood over other courses. 

The building of several trolley lines through 
the county, has also been discussed, which will 
no doubt materialize in the not far distant 
future. 

BUBAL BOUTES 

The Government has established in this county 
twenty-seven free delivery routes. These mail 
carriers routes are from twenty-flve to thirty 
miles each, so that nearly <me thousand miles 
are traversed every working day, delivering 
mail daily to nearly all the inhabitants of the 
county. There are two telephone systems, the 
Farmers Mutual and the Independent There 
are about 4,000 people who have telephones, 
and each one can talk to their neighbors all 
over the county. 

It is well to recall the advantages we enjoy 
over those of the pioneers. There is no poverty, 
no one suCFering from privation of even the 
luxuries of living. The people of Carroll County 
everywhere, are a prosperous, happy and con- 
tented people; naturally law abiding, honest 
and industrious. Many automobiles are now in 
use, some of these are self-starters and make 
their own electric lights. 

VALUATION OF PBOPEBTY 

The total value of all property assessed in 
the county, for the year 1911, was $27,675,483.00. 
Tax assessed on the same was $270,253.54. 
The county tax is $41,129.81. 



CHAPTER X. 



CHADWICK AND FAIR HAVEN TOWNSHIP 

—LANARK ASU ROCK CREEK 

TOWNSHIP. 



CHADWICK — FAIB HAVEN TOWNSHIP — GEBM AN SET- 
TI£BS — LANABK — OLD HOUSE — FOUBTH OF JULY, 

1876 — EABLT DAYS — BUSINESS, 1911 WATEE- 

WGBKB — TELEPHONE SYSTEM — FACTOBIES — ^BOCK 
CBEEK TOWNSHIP — FIBST SETTLEBS. 

CHADWICK 

CliadwidE is in the northeast comer of Fair 
Haven township. It was made a station on the 
Chicago, Burlington & Northern railroad, and 
named after one of the railroad officials. It is 
782 feet above the sea level, has a population 
according to the last federal census of 517. 

It was laid out and platted by the St Paul 
Land Company, April 5, 1886, with several addi- 
tions added since then and is "one of the prettiest 
little villages, and the youngest town in Carroll 
County." It has three churches, two physicians, 
one dentist and one Jewelery store, two harness 
shops and one elevator, one lumber merchant 
and three coal dealers, one hotel and two hard- 
ware stores, three dry goods stores, one drug 
store and one meat market, three restaurants 
and one bakery, and one boot and shoe store, 
three wagon and blacksmith shops, and two 
barber shops, two milliner shops and three 
saloons, and one of the best equipped creameries 
in the county; two banks; Farmers' State 
bank, H. H. Beede. president; M. S. Weary, 
cashier; W. J. Schriener. assistant cashier; 
First National bank, N. H. Ilawk, president; 
R. H. Campbell, vice-president; C. M. Kingary, 
cashier. It has a fine electric light sjrstem. 
In 1895, a system of waterworks was put in and 
a fine fire department organized. A newspaper 
conducted by Andrew Stranch, is called the 
"Chadwick Clarion." Chadwick is surrounded 
by a very fine farming country. Its business men 
are mostly young and energetic, all working to- 
gether for the best interest of the town. It has 
good streets and several miles of cement side- 



Digitized by 



Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



699 



walks and many fine residences. It has a large 
frame public sdiool building in which five teach- 
ers are employed. 

FAIR HAVEN TOWNSHIP 

Fair Haven Is in the middle of the -lower or 
southern tier of townships. The census of 1910, 
gave the population at 1,278. 

It was to a great extent settled by immigrants 
from (rermany, who had the patience to make 
farms by grubbing out the groves and trees that 
were scattered over this township. The princi- 
pal grove was called Black Oak grove, but in 
It were no very large trees, like there were in 
other groves of the county; most of the land 
was covered with scrubby black oak trees, 
scattered here and there. 

Joseph Wressel came to this part of the 
county in 1838, and David Wressel in 1839; 
th^ came from Canada; their father, Samuel 
Wressel, was bom in England. 

In 1844, L. E. Gallusha built the first house 
in Fair Haven. Frank Bell settled' there the 
same year. Henry Myers, Jr., came from New 
Jersey to the county In 1845. 

QEBMAN SETTLEBS 

In 1848 the Germans began to arrive, most 
of them were from Hesse Darmstadt, Germany. 

Henry B. Zugschwerdt arrived here in 1848, 
and crossed the Atlantic ocean seven times, in 
the interest of his countrymen. 

Werner Zugschwerdt came In 1850. In 1855, 
the following all crossed in the same ship: 
Henry Diehl, Fred DIehl, Philip Lang. John 
Frederick, Conrad Frederick, Conrad Dahler, 
and Philip Quackborner. 

They all spoke the German language, and 
they had their church organizations with 
preadiing in German. For a time they had 
their own schools, under the supervision of the 
church, where the children were taught in 
German. Eventually, however, they all learned 
to understand and speak the English language; 
and soon became naturalized citizens of the 
United States. Among the daughters of these 
first families are some of the best English school 
teachers in the county. Many of the young 
men enlisted in the war for the Union and 
fought bravely with others to maintain the 
Republic entire. 



LANABK 

Population 1910, 1,175. Elevation, 883.3. 

D. W. Dame purchased the land and laid out 
the city of L#anark under the auspices of the 
Northern Illinois R. R. Co. The original town 
was platted, October 3, 1861, by Richard Irvin, 
for the railroad company and John Nycum. 
The company first built a large hotel, commenced 
July 1, 1861, which is still in use on the north 
side of the track, now called the Lanark House. 

John Nycum of Mt Carroll, donated eighty 
acres to the railroad company, and it purchased 
eighty acres more. The company thereby be- 
came the owner of 160 acres of land for the 
town site. The company contributed liberally 
in lots to the church societies, for locations for 
building. Also a school lot, and a whole' block 
which is now the city park. It was named for 
a county in Scotland where a banker lived, 
who lent the company the money that was used 
to build the railroad. The first business house 
was a small establishment, opened by "Unde 
Chauncy Grant," and his son William, with a 
small stock of goods that did not exceed one 
hundred and fifty dollars in value. The country 
about the town was sparsely settled, but as soon 
as the railroad was built settlers came in 
rapidly. 

OLD HOUSE 

Ank)ng the first houses erected in Lanark, 
was a one-and-a-half story building, that has a 
very singular and interesting history, which 
may not be known to the present inhabitants 
of the city. (It stands on the east side of Broad 
street, between Carroll and the railroad track). 

This building was first erected in New Orleans, 
built of live oak lumber for a warehouse. In 
later years it was taken apart, and moved up 
the river to St Louis and rebuilt on the levee 
at that city. Becoming in the way there of 
modem improvement, it was again taken down 
and moved to Savanna, and rebuilt there as 
a warehouse. When the Western Union rail- 
road was established, it obstructed the purposed 
track laying, and was condemned and ordered 
removed. 

Henry Pierce then became its owner, and 
when the railroad was completed, the company 
gave him free transportation and removed it 
to Lanark. Here it was again rebuilt, and two 
or three rooms in the upper story fitted up for 



Digiti 



zedbyGoOglCo, 



V»^ 



700 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



living rooms, and these were occupied by A. M. 
Yorli and his ftimlly; here occurred the first 
birth and the first death In Lanark. York came 
here as a young attorney and hung out his 
shingle at this building, using it as a residence 
and law office. When the war came he enlisted. 

In laying out the town, the railroad company 
designated one square for a public park, which 
in course of time was planted in trees, and is 
now a beautiful shady park, where the old 
settlers meetings are held annually. 

For twenty years Lanark grew rapidly, and 
as the surrounding prairie with its rich soil 
was made into productive farms, its commerce 
increased, so its aggregate business, including 
the shipments of grain and live stock, was 
larger than the business of any other town in 
the county. It had great expectations of becom- 
ing the metropolis of the county and in no 
distant day the county seat. It seemed to be 
rapidiy outstripping its rivals — Mt. Carroll and 
Savanna. 

lANABK'S FOURTH OF JULY, 187G 

That the nation's centennial jubilee was fitly 
celebrated in Lanark, we glean from the Lanark 
Gazette; Mr. George Hay was the able editor 
at that time. It says: "over five thousand peo- 
ple were present at a grand patriotic outburst by 
the pioneers and patriots of Carroll County." 
The early dawn of this centennial holiday was 
disturbed by the ringing of bells and the dis- 
charge of firearms, and those whom these failed 
to arouse, received a still louder call, when an 
old field piece sent forth her first intimation 
that she too could speak on that day. The firing 
of the cannon was In charge of John Rule, W. 
L. Tomlinson, D. W. Dame, Dan Snyder, after- 
ward sherifl! of the county, Dr. Chamberland 
(dentist), Wm. Mizner and J. Borcherd, who did 
their work, we are told, "coolly and eflPectively, 
without excitement and without accident." 
These gentlemen had procured the government 
field piece from the arsenal at Rock Island, 
and given their bonds for its return. 

The whole town was beautifully decorated 
with fiags and bunting, the portraits of Wash- 
ington and Lincoln were plentifully distributed 
at)Out the town; "and even the much abused 
Grant found a defender on that day in the 
person of Mrs. C. E. Wales, who gave his por- 



trait a conspicuous place among the decorations 
on one of the corners of the street." 

A prominent feature of the program was the 
march of the Fantastics, preceded by Gideon's 
band. 

The engines on the trains passing through 
the town, were profusely and handsomely decor- 
ated, and the cannon was again fired on the 
arrival of each train. 

The procession was arranged In the following 
order: Lanark Cornet band, hook and ladder 
company, William L. Thompson, fireman; hose 
company, L. A. Chaffee, foreman, George Butts, 
assistant foreman ; Neptune fire engine company, 
William Lowis, foreman; James Buchaiman. 
first assistant; Peter Royner, second assistant; 
William Crlnklaw, engineer. All were beauti- 
fully and profusely decorated. 

The entire fire department was under the 
leadership of city marshal, William Beans, 
assisted by N. R. Rose, assistant marshal. 
Following next was the cannon drawn by two 
horses; Band of Martial music; Masonic socie- 
ties, Marshal, Dr. H. W. Wales; Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, Dr. J. Ilaller. marshal. 

Sabula Comet band car containing Goddess 
of Liberty and thirty-eight young ladies. Miss 
Lizzie Hay, now the wife of Arthur Woodruff, 
postmaster of Savanna was among these, each 
of the young ladies represented one of the states 
of the union. Tlie editor of the Gazette says: 
"This was one of the grandest features of the 
procession." The car was drawn by four fine 
horses, furnished and driven by W. W. Rock- 
well, next a carriage containing Hon. James 
Shaw, orator of the day; the Hon.^D. M. Dame, 
president of the day, dressed in costume of 
1770, representing General Washington, followed 
by carriages containing other distinguished 
citizens. 

Major George A. Root was chief marshal, 
and A. F. Branyan assistant. 

At the .stand excellent music was rendered 
by the bands and a select glee club, consisting 
of Misses May Z. Snyder and Stella White, 
with Miss L. Smith at the organ and Messrs. 
J. E. Millard and W. P. Smith. 

"A most eloquent and appropriate prayer'* was 
offered by the Rev. Charles Rowe. 

The Declaration of Independence was read 
by the Rev. J. W. Henderson. 

The president, the Hon. D. W. Dame, pre- 
faced his introduction of the speaker, with an 



Digitized by 



Google 




a^^ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



701 



historical sketch, of the march of events which 
preceded, ''the drama enacted July 4th, 1770, and 
the stirring sequences which followed." 

Hon. James Shaw delivered an oration which 
was eminently fitting for the occasion. 

EARLY DAYS 

The country all about Lanark in early days, 
was thinly settled prairie land. James R. 
Howell who first settled in Freedom township 
In the fall of 1845, lived in a house on the site 
of Lanark, where his son Thomas F., and 
daughter Hanna F., were the first white children 
bom in Rock Creek township, where Lanark 
now stands. 



when pumped, direct into mains. It has ^ 
volunteer fire department very effective and 
eflicient. 

Its electric lights are furnished by a private 
plant. 

TELEPHONE SYSTEM 

The Lanark Mutual and the Independent 
Telephone companies, each have central stations 
in Lanark and are well patronized. The Lanark 
Mutual has nearly seven hundred subscribers, 
many of whom are stockholders. John R. Wolf 
is president, Boyd Zuck, secretary, and W. H. 
Dresback, auditor. It was first organized. 
March 2, 1902, and incorporated, July 19, 1907. 



BUSINESS 1911 

Lanark has two hotels, two dry goods and 
one gents' furnishing store, two meat markets 
and three restaurants and one bakery, three 
grocery stores and two agricultural implement 
stores, three wagon and blacksmith shops, two 
banks, and three barber shops, two millinery 
shops and three physicians, two harness shops 
and two elevators, two billiard halls, one lumber 
yard and two coal dealers, a furniture store and 
undertaker, one newspaper, the Lanark Gazette, 
seven churches, several very large and handsome 
church edifices. The cost oi Lanark's former 
schoolhouse was seventeen thousand dollars, 
wtich was destroyed by fire, November, 1803, 
supposed to have been created by spontaneous 
combustion In a large pile of soft coal in the 
basement. It was rebuilt at a cost of twenty- 
four thousand dollars for building, apparatus 
and furniture and library. It is one of the finest 
school buildings in the county, has a library of 
seven hundred volumes with nearly four hun- 
dred pupils enrolled. 

WATEB WORKS 

Lanark has one of the best systems of water 
works in the county, established in 1888, con- 
sisting of two and half miles of water mains 
and twenty-eight hydrants. 

The water Is pumped from a well into a 
stand pipe by an eighty-five horse power engine, 
with a tank that will hold sixty thousand gal- 
lons of water. The pumps have a capacity of 
four thousand gallons every quarter of an hour 



FACTORIES 

One of the most successful is the Lanark 
Canning Company. They sell their goods as the 
"Maple City Brand," which has acquired quite 
an enviable reputation. 

The company packed during the past year, 
^ve hundred thousand cans of com, one hundred 
and ninety thousand of pumpkin and thirty 
thousand cans of tomatoes. During the 'past 
year the capacity of the plant has been doubled. 
They have paid out during the year ten thousand 
dollars to the farmers for raw material, nearly 
seven thousand dollars for labor and over a 
thousand dollars to local merchants for supplies. 

The company was incorporated in May, 1907, 
with a capital of fifteen thousand dollars, after- 
wards increased to twenty-five. John W. Peters 
is president, Peter Ilowigan, secretary and 
treasurer, Thomas W. Potter the eflBcient man- 
ager. "Try the Maple City brand and be con- 
vinced of its merits." W. H. Dresback is one 
of their efiicient salesmen. 



ROCK CREEK TOWNSHIP 

Population, 1910, 1,849. Elevation, 789 feet to 
947 feet above the sea level. 

This township is composed of high, beautiful 
rolling prairie there being no groves and few 
streams; it was among the last to be settled 
in the county, although the soil is the best, and 
the farms now the most valuable in the county 
and the farmers the wealthiest, many of them 
having fine buildings and modern improvements. 



Digitized by 



Google 



702 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



f FDtST 8ETTI£B8 

Rock Creek's first settlers were David Becker 
and Zochasiah Kinkode. Becker sold to Daniel 
Belding, who came to this county from Vermont, 
and in 1855, had a large cheese factory, capable 
of manufactnring a thousand pounds per day. 
The greater part of his cheese was sold in 
Europe. Richard A. Thompson was an early 
settler and the first to introduce cheese making 
into the county, which was engaged in quite 
extensively, for the means at hand, by some of 
the early settlers. 

D. W. Dame who was bom In New Hampshire, 
settled In Rode Creek in June, 1857. 

Amos Wolf whose father was an early settler 
at Cherry Grove, was one of the most extensive 
farmers in Rock Creek. He raised and sold in 
one shipment 177 hogs, which netted him in 
cash, $4,828. One of his brothers, David Wolf 
did better since then by making one shipm^it 
of cattle that amounted to over eight thousand 
dollars. The early settlers* fathers, some of 
them non-residents, purchased large tracts of 
its beautiful prairie land, but as the first owners 
passed away In the settlement of their estates, 
their farms have subsequently been divided into 
smaller places. 



CHAPTER XI. 



CHERRY GROVE— FREEDOM— LIMA, 
TOWNSHIPS. 



CHEBBT OBOVE — STAGE LINES — BACINE AND MISSIS- 
SIPPI BAILBOAD — GEOBOE , TOWN — WOOD LOTS — 
FOBEST FIBES — WILD GINSENG — ^EABLY SETTLEBS 
LINCOLN AND DOUGLAS DEBATE — ^FBEEDOM TOWN- 
SHIP — ^ABNOLD's GBOVE — HUNTING GBOUNDS Or 
THE INDIANS — ^EABLY SETTLEBS — WAGES — HOBTI- 
CULTUBB — OBCHABDS — ^LIMA TOWNSHIP. 



found growing in this grove. They were very 
tall and straight trees and could be seen a consid- 
erable distance from the prairie, towering above 
the oaks and other trees. 

The 1910 census credits the township with 794 
inhabitants. 

STAGE LINES 

Cherry Grove figured quite prominently in the 
early settlement of die county on account of the 
stage lines that passed through this territory 
from the east and south converging here in a 
highway that led to the Galena Lead Mines, 
which was perhaiw what was called the Sucker 
Trail ; along this road the southerners returned 
every fall with their home made wagons loaded 
with mineral, drawn by four or six yoke of 
oxen; most of these oxen having their toes 
shod with iron to withstand tlie wear of constant 
traveling; and although slow in motion they 
made a very good motive power when urged 
along by the great thong whips of their drivers, 
the crack of which resounded for some distance 
and is remembered by the early settlers as well 
as the squeaking of their heavily loaded wagons. 
Some of these teams brought merchandise, whidi 
the steamboats landed at Peoria, for the mer- 
chants of Galena, which they distributed 
throughout the northwest country. The Cherry 
Grove stage station was located near the west 
boundary of the township on section 30. It was 
the first stopping place In the county of many 
of the early settlers. Another road passed 
through the northeast comer of the township 
from Gratiots Grove, fifteen miles from Galena, 
to Peoria. 

THE BACINE AND MISSISSIPPI BAILBOAD 

This railroad was laid through this township 
and a great deal of the line graded. Some of 
these grades are now used as a part of the pub- 
lic highway, and future generations may wonder 
how so much dirt came to be moved to so little 
purpose. The answer involves a tale of fraud 
and misrepresentation and mi^laced confidence 
by which many of the farmers of Carroll County 
were grievously imposed upon. 



CHEBBY GBOVE 

Cherry Grove was so named from the great 
number of wild cherry trees the early settlers 



GEOBGETOWN 

Georgetown, two miles north of Lanark, 
started in 1850 is now a collection of a few 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



708 



houses, a dinrcfa and a school house, but would 
haye been a considerable town had the R. & M. 
railroad been built 

WOOD LOTS 

The eastern part of the town^iip was a beau- 
tiful rolling prairie and the western part wood- 
ed hills. Where the timber was tblck the land 
was divided into wood lots of a few acres each 
which those owning prairie farms purchased for 
sui^lying fuel and wood for other purposes on 
the farm. The frame work of many of the large 
bams In the county was made from hewn tim- 
ber. Most of the old houses have great flre- 
I^aces, where the rough wood in large pieces was 
used for heating the house. It was all brought 
from the wood lots, some times several miles 
distant, usually in winter time on sleds. 

FOBEST FIBES 

In early days forest fires frequently swept 
through these woods and destroyed a great deal 
of the timber. Since they have been Isept out the 
growth of young trees has been quite rapid, so 
that notwithstanding a large portion of some of 
the groves has been grubbed out to make ready 
for farming, there is more timl)er in the county 
now than wh^i it was first settled. Coal is so 
much cheaper very little wood is used for fuel. 
Many of the large basswood trees are shipped 
out of the county to be used for making matches 
and for other purposes. Portable saw mills are 
used to convert the large hard wood trees, prin- 
cipally oak and walnut, into lumber which is 
consumed on the farms and for planking bridges, 
thi walnut, which is too valuable for these pur- 
pose, finds a ready market outside of the county. 
What is said here will apply to all the groves 
and timber lots throughout the county, some of 
which have been more nearly destroyed than 
others. 

WILD GINSENG 

One of the products of these groves, besides 
the game and berries which were very abundant, 
was the roots of the wild ginseng. These In 
early 6&yB the Indian gathered and after them 
the trailers and hunters, and was usually sold 
to the druggists. It is now shipped to China, 
^here the Chinese use it as a medicine. As the 
wild roots became scarce it became very valuable, 



and in late years the cultivation of the roots has 
become a new industry. At Georgetown in Cherry 
Grove, Mr. Switzer has started quite a large 
garden from wild roots found in the grove. He 
uses artificial shade, as it has to be grown in the 
shade. C. L. Hostetter near Mount Carroll, has 
nearly an acre in cultivation under the natural 
shade of the trees, and Holman and Moore In 
Woodland township, have an acre or more in 
cultivation under the trees. It is said that an 
acre of these roots ready for harvesting is worth 
several thousand dollars. The Ditsworth Broth- 
ers of Salem Township were among the first to 
experiment in raising ginseng. There are sev- 
eral others in the county engaged in this new 
industry. 

EABLY SETTLEBS OF CHEBBY GROVE 

The following are the names of early settlers 
who seem to have been omitted in the general 
history of the county, and the years when they 
settled in Cherry Grove. Simon Fellows, in the 
early thirties, is said to have been the first 
postpaaster at the Grove. Mrs. Martha Winters, 
widow, formerly Martha Bailey, came from 
Greenbriar county, Virginia, April 12th, 1835, 
and kept the stage house for her brother-in-law, 
John D. Winters, at Cherry Grove in an early 
day. She married Levi Warner who had settled 
in Elkhom Grove in 1836. William Wiley came 
in 1837, John Pierce in 1838. Francis Gamer, 
wife and five or six children, came from southern 
Illinois in 1834 ; he had been in the Bladshawk 
war and selected his claim on his way home 
after his discharge at Galena. In 1841, W. A. 
J. Pierce came with his father's family from 
Washington Co., Md. They had a six-horse 
team and one wagon. They left in the spring 
and stopped on the way to visit, arriving at 
Garners, near the Grove, in October. Abraham 
Moffett had been west before 1841 and went east 
after having made a claim and broke some land, 
to get married. He and his bride came west 
with the Pierce family. Henry B. Puterbaugh, 
David Puterbaugh and Aaron Beck came in 
1846 and George W. Puterbaugh, R. L. Chltty and 
Henry Puterbaugh in 1848. Larkins Lindsey 
taught school about this time in the Moffett log 
shanty. Mr. Pierce's sister Virginia, also taught 
the school at the Grove. 



Digitized by 



Google 



704 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



LINCOLN AND DOUGLAS DEBATE 

John Wolf, one of Cherry Grove's pioneer citi- 
zens took a notable part In the great debate of 
Lincoln and Douglas, at Fre^wrt, August 27th, 
1858. Mr. Douglas arrived the day before in the 
evening and was escorted to the Brewster House 
by a torchlight procession. Mr. Lincoln arrived 
on a special train on the Illinois Central at ten 
o'clock in the morning of the day of the debate 
and It is said was escorted to the hotel by his 
friends pressing into their service an ox team, 
hitched to a hayrack, on which the **rail split- 
ter," rode, and he was followed by an immaise 
throng of people to his hotel, with great cheering 
all the way. It was arranged that Mr. Douglas 
was to be taken from the hotel to the grounds, 
where the speaking was to be in a coach drawn 
by four white horses. But Mr. Lincoln's friends 
had arranged with Mr. John Wolf, who happened 
to be in town with his big Pennsylvania or Oon- 
nestoga wagon with his big four horse team, that 
he should procure another span of fine horses to 
put with his four horse team and drive Mr. Lin- 
coln and some of his friends to the grounds in 
his big wagon with the splendid six horse team 
with their big harness and other trappings. He 
did so, riding the "wheel horse," and guiding the 
team with one line in regular Pennsylvania style. 
When Mr. Douglas heard or saw that Mr. Lin- 
coln was going to the grounds in such rustic 
state, he refused to ride in the coach with the 
four wlilte horses and walked to the grounds in 
still more democratic fashion. 

When Mr. Wolf returned home, his fame had 
preceded his arrival and his neighbors took 
pleasure in asking him, "what have you been 
doing at Freeport?" **Oh," he said, "acting tiie 
fool for other people." It is said he got forty 
dollars for the job, with which he was well 
pleased. 

A thousand people from Carroll County at- 
tended this meeting. 

FREEDOM TOWNSHIP 

Freedom is in the middle of the northern 
tier of townships in Carroll County. The cen- 
sus of 1910 gives the population at 589. The 
northwest half of the township is hilly and at 
the time of the settlement of this portion of the 
country was covered with scattering timber and 
one beautiful grove. 



ARNOLD 8 OROVE 

It was named after Daniel Arnold and his 
son John, who settled there In 1840. In early 
days it was one of the finest groves in the coun- 
ty, but its glory has departed, nothing now is 
left of the great trees but their stumps and few 
of these have escaped the "gnawing tooth of 
time." Mr. Arnold's wife, whose maiden name 
was Price, was a sister of Mrs. David EnHuert, 
whose husband built the mill and started Mount 
Carroll. 

The township has about the same history as 
that of Cherry Grove. Owens Point as ft was 
called where John Owens resided, was within 
the limits of Freedom Township, as were the 
farms of the Moffetts, Marks and Lairds. 

HUNTING ©BOUNDS OF THE INDIANS 

The Indians were numerous for many years 
after tlie Black Hawk war, and as late as 1835 
or 36 a trading post was k^t at Owens Point 
where guns, amunltlon, calico, blankets, whiskey, 
red handkerchiefs, beads and etc., were ex- 
changed with the Indians for pelts and j?In- 
seng. 

The Indians were a source of annoyance and 
greatly feared especially by the women and 
children. They clung to their hunting grounds of 
which Plum river and its tributaries furnished 
the very best, and to the graves of their fathers, 
represented by the beautiful Indians Mounds on 
the edge of the timber overlooking the prairie 
to the southward. 

EABLT SETTLERS 

The early settlers were the same class of 
people as those who settled Cherry Grove, and 
they came from the same localities In the east. 

William Thompson made the first claim at Ar- 
nold's Grove in 1833. 

Garner Moflfett from Washington Co., Va.. 
came in 183(;. 

In 1843 George Grove settled on section 29 ; also 
Jacob Alright, who came with the Arnolds in 
1840. His widow, an aged lad^*, is now living 
with her son In Iowa, age ninety -one years. 

In 1845 quite a number settled in Freedom 
Township. There was W. R. Laird and Daniel 
Miller, David Teeter, Daniel Teeter. Samuel 
Mitchell and James R. Howell, Joseph Stitzel 



Digitized by 



Google 




COLLEGE HALL, FRANCES SHIMER SCHOOL, MT. CARROLL 




HATHAWAY HALL, FRANCES SHIMER SCHOOL, MT. CARROLL 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



705 



and Daniel Shearer. In 1842 came Matbew R. 
Davis and Solomon Wade with his sister Caro- 
line, afterward Mrs. James Mark and the found- 
er of the Caroline Mark Home at Mount Carroll. 

WAGES IN EABLT DATS 

A month's work was valued at ten dollars. 
Plowing fifty cents per day and butchering 
one dollar; one day use of cattle (ox team) 
twenty-five cents; a week's work by wife, sev- 
enty-five cents; one day raking and binding 
wheat, one dollar; work at haying, fifty cents 
a day. 

Most of the early settlers were from Pennsyl- 
vania with some from Maryland. They planted 
orchards and soon had about them the comforts 
of life, living in good frame houses, some of 
brick, as a brick yard was started in early days 
at Mount Carroll, there being suitable clay there 
for making fine red brick. 

Agriculture is the chief occupation of the peo- 
ple here as elsewhere throughout the county. 

HORTICULTURE 

Mr. C. F. Schaale,however, whose farm is near 
the Mounds, has recently gone into horticulture, 
having planted twenty-five hundred apple, plum 
and cherry trees, two thpusand grapes, fifteen 
hundred currant and goose berries. He makes 
a specialty of canning tomatoes in glass. One 
year (1911) he put up two hundred crates. He 
also manufactures grape juice. He crates his 
grapes in five pound baskets, six in a crate. 
In this way they stand shipping better than the 
usual way of putting a larger quantity in a sin- 
gle basket. He also raises some fine melons. 



the east tier of townships. It is one half the 
congressional township the other half being in 
Ogle County. 

It is a beautiful prairie country with a part of 
Chambers Grove running into the east side of it 
On account of it being mostly prairie it was not 
settled as early as other portions of the county, 
most of the early settlers coming there from 1844 
to 1850. 

John Chambers and Philetus Peck, the very 
first settlers, came prior to 1840. A majority of 
the early settlers were from Pennsylvania, but 
Joseph Franks, who came in 1844, was born in 
Toronto and his wife was born in Canada. 

Nathan Krebs and his wife came in 1845 also 
Gabriel Sarber and his family all from Pennsyl- 
vania. 

Charles Ftanks, who was born in England, 
came to this state in 1835 and to this county in 
1846, his wife Ellen Young was bom in England. 

John W. Franks, bom in Canada, came the 
same year, his wife was from Pennsylvania. 

Z. D. Marks, born in Connecticut, came to this 
county in 1848 and Emanuel Hepler was born in 
Pennsylvania, came to this county 1849, also 
Isaac Paul. 

There were some large land owners in Lima 
in early days some of whom were nonresidents 
which prevented the township from being so 
thickly and speedily settled as other parts ; these 
large tracts of land are gradually being divided 
into smaller farms, with resident owners. 



CHAPTER XII. 



ORCHARDS 

Apple orchards in this county have not been 
a great success except on a very small scale 
and the very best attention, which a few of the 
farmers have time to give them, and they are 
short lived. Some of the older settlers have 
planted the fourth or fifth orchard on their 
farms and these only bear abundantly occa- 
sionally. 

LIMA TOWNSHIP 

Peculation 1910, 323. 

Lima township is situated in the middle of 



VILLAGE OF MILLEDGEVILLE— WYSOX— 
ELKHORX GROVE TOWXSHIPS. 



MILLEDGEVILLE — ORIGINAL PIJIT — WYSOX TOWN- 
SHIP — EARLY SETTLERS — ELK HORN GROV^E TOWN- 
SHIP — THE PEOPI^ — LOG ROLIJNGS OLD CEN- 
TER SCHOOL HOUSE — METHODIST CHURCH — 
HAND SAW-MILL — FIRST WATER POWER MILLS — 
A GO-DEVIL — ^A DUTCH OVEN — THE SUCKER TRAIL 
— A PIGEON TRAP — CHOICE DISHES — INTOXICAT- 
ING UQUORS — A VALUABLE LOAD — NAMES OP 



Digitized by 



Google 



706 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



EASLT 8ETTLEBS — WAB BECORD — THE UNDER- 
GROUND RAUfiOAD — HAZELHUR8T. 

MILLEDGEVILLE 

This village of six hundred thirty one in- 
habitants by the census of 1910, is 729 feet above 
the sea level, is located in the south east comer 
of Wysox township surrounded by a country un- 
surpassed for farming and stock raising. It was 
incorporated as a village in 1887. 

ORIGINAL FLAT 

The original plat of Milledgeville was made by 
George W. Knox and Rollin Wheeler, April 10th, 
1850, and certified to by Philander Seymour 
CJounty Surveyor. Later when the Burlington 
railroad was built through the county in 1886 a 
station was established north of the old town 
and a large addition made to the town under the 
auspices of the St. Paul Land Company entitled 
Myers Addition, where the business part of the 
town rapidly built up with fine store buildings 
suitable for every branch of trade, and a fine 
school building was erected at the cost of 6,000 
dollars in 1877. 

It has three churches, two physicians, one 
jewelry and drug store, one harness shop and one 
elevator, one lumber and two coal dealers, 
one furniture store and one hotel, three dry goods 
stores, one meat market and two restaurants, 
four grocery stores, three wagon and black- 
smith shops, one bank, Shumway State Bank, 
I. F. Greenawalt, Prest, Y. M.^Cantrell, V. 
Prest., H. C. Knox, Cashier, and two barber 
shops, and one weekly newspaper and printing 
ofl^ce. The Free Press, W. L. Puterbaugh, editor 
and proprietor. A water system is owned by the 
city which pays running expenses. The city Is 
out of debt having i)aid the last bond in Jan- 
uary, 1912. 

The village has many fine residences with beau- 
tiful lawns, kept in fine condition, and the 
residents are progressive and up to date in 
every respect. Recently the citizens of the vil- 
lage and Wysox township have voted to expend 
thirty-five thousand dollars in Improving the 
reads Into Milledgeville. They expect this 
amount of money will build about thirteen miles 
of hard road. 



WYSOX TOWNSHIP 

By the last census Wysox townsdiip had a 
population of 1,483. No better farming lands 
can be found anywhere. In early days most of 
the township was a beautiful rolling prairie 
country. On the east it was bounded by Elk- 
horn Grove. Some of the early settlers hape 
been mentioned in the sketch of that township. 

As in other cases the first settlers located near 
the groves in order that they might have not 
only the protection of the timber but have wood 
for fu^ and logs for building their cabins and 
timber for making rail fences to protect their 
crops. Live stock for many years was allowed 
to roam over the prairies at will and stodJ rais- 
ing became one of the most profitable branches 
of farming that the early settlers engaged in, 
and still continues to be such although now the 
law requires every owner of cattle to keep them 
on his own land and a farmer may raise his 
crops unprotected by fences. 

EABLY SETTLEES 

Among the first settlers was the Eastabrook 
family. They came from Bradford County, Penn- 
sylvania, making the entire trip overland by 
wagon, fording the Ohio river at Wheeling, 
West Virginia. There were no bridges in those 
days and every stream along the route had to 
be forded. A. G. Eastabrook made this trip with 
his father's family in the winter of 1839. He 
wsLB eighteen years old when he settled here. 
There were no railroads then and the grain was 
often carted to Chicago where wheat sold at 
fifty cents a bushel. He took some of his wheat 
to Mt. Carroll, where it brought thirty-five cents 
a bushel at the mill, but its value had to be taken 
out in trade. He married EUen Wheeler, a 
daughter of Rollin Wheeler, an early settler, and 
at one time sheriff of Carroll County. 

Levi F. Eastabrook came to Carroll County a 
few years later. He bought the place where he 
lived, a farm of one hundred and sixty acres of 
prairie land, and ten acres of timber, for eight 
hundred dollars, which is worth now more than 
twenty times that sum. 

Josiah B. Johnson came to this county from 
Bradford County, Pennsylvania, in 1839, was 
sheriff of the county in 1856. His wife, Lucy 
Ann Tucker, was from Tompkins County, New 
York. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



707 



Another notable citizen of Wysox who set- 
tled there in early days, was Elder Henry Myers, 
a farmer and preacher. He and his wife, Anna 
LIchty, were the parents of sixteen children, 
twelve of whom grew to manhood and woman- 
hood. He left surviving him at the time of his 
death nearly one hundred grandchildren and 
fifty great-grandchildren. With but one exception 
they were all engaged in farming and almost 
one hundred farms were opened and owned by 
himself and his descendants. Miany of the 
farmers in this township now have very hand- 
some and commodious residences with all the 
modem comforts and conveniences that are en- 
joyed by residents of the cities. Modem in- 
ventions enable the farmer to harness the wind 
and add many comforts to his home at moderate 
expense. 

There were other early settlers of Wysox who 
have been mentioned elsewhere. 

• ELKHOBIV OBOVE TOWNSHIP 

Population 1910, four hundred and thirty-one. 

Another of its first settlements and the most 
extensive at that time, in Carroll County, was 
Elkhom Grove in the southeast comer of the 
county. This grove was settled by pioneers from 
all imrts of the east, some of them coming first 
to OMo and some to Kentucky and southern 
Illinois. 

THE PEOPLE 

Most of these people were originally from 
New England, New York and Virginia, with a 
few from Pennsylvania, but not nearly so many 
from the latter state as there are in other 
parts of the county. 

Elkhorn Grove and neighborhood, in fact the 
whole county, was settled by a very intelligent 
and enterprising class of peope. Most of them 
were from the midde class of society, both in re- 
gard to intelligence and wealth. They had been 
accustomed, in their native states, to habits of 
industry and they did not leave those habits be- 
hind them. They were all young people and 
entered upon the labor of opening farms and 
gathering around them the comforts of life, with 
a zeal and determination which with their earn- 
est efforts could not fail of success. 

Upon their arrival they were nearly all strang- 
ers to each other, in a strange, almost uninhab- 
ited land, and later with a few neighbors and 



these far apart. But they all came here with 
the same object to make homes for themselves 
and their families. 

LOG BOIXINGS 

At the log rollings was one of the first and 
best means of getting acquaintel with others. 
At these many of the pioneers met for the first 
time and acquaintances and friendships were 
formed which were enjoyed as long as life lasted. 

The first log rolling at Elkhom Grove of 
which we have any account was the one Levi 
Warner mentions in his notes : '* June 6th, 1834, 
went to Aukenies raising." 

(We are Indebted to Mr. Henry Elsey of Elk- 
hom Grove for the following facts in regard to 
the building of a log cabin here related.) 

After the trees were cut and trimmed and 
drawn to the place where the cabin was to be 
built and every thing was ready for the raising 
the day was set and the neighbors far and near 
were all invited to the raising. The tools that 
were necessary to have in building a log house 
were an axe and an auger ; in addition to these 
If the builder had a frow and an adze he was 
well supplied; the frow was used in splitting 
the "shake," shingles and the adze to smooth off 
and level the "puncheon floor." It was a tool 
something like a hoe but heavier and with a 
sharp steel edge. 

The neighbors came with their ox teams and 
their log chains and whatever tools they had 
that would be useful at the raising. Some of the 
men were skilled workmen who had learned to 
chop wood in the old home in the east. When 
they got together ready for the rolling a cap- 
tain was first chosen, then four men to notch the 
comers. To do this nicely, required some skill 
which came from practice. 

The door and window jambs were split from 
some straight grained timber and hewn as 
smooth as it was possible to make them with the 
tools they had at hand; the logs were "butted" 
off straight or sawed, if they had a saw, and 
the jambs fastened to the ends of the logs by 
wooden pins driven into auger holes bored 
through the jambs and into the ends of the loga 
When the walls were high enough, the gable 
rafters, made from heavy poles, were put in 
place and lighter rafters in between these, to 
which were pinned poles running lengthwise of 
the roof on which the, "shakes," were fastened. 



Digitized by 



Google 



708 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



these were long shingles made by splitting them 
with a frow from logs four or five feet in length ; 
on top of these, long poles were fastened with 
pins into the gable rafters which held the shakes 
in place and kept them from warping. Next was 
the building of the fireplace and diimney. As 
there was no stone or brick to be had it was 
built of sticks and clay, the builder being care- 
ful that no wood was exposed to the fire. A 
supply of clay was kept on hand to patch any 
place where it might scale off from the wood 
and a pall of water to extinguish any incipient 
blaze. 

The floor was made of logs split in the center 
and laid on the ground with the split side up, 
the edges being hewn straight so as to fit to- 
gether as close as possible; they were held in 
place by wedges driven between the logs in the 
side wall and these split logs, this formed the 
puncheon floor. The door was made of shakes 
and hung on wooden hinges with a wooden latch 
on the inside, which was lifted by pulling a 
string that ran through a small hole in the door 
to the outside, if pulled in the door was locked 
ag:ainst outsiders, but "the latchstring was al- 
ways out/* for neighbors and friends, by the pio- 
neers of Elkhom Grove. 

It was a happy day for the pioneers when the 
small supply of household goods could be moved 
Into the log cabin, then It was: 

"The *prairie schooner' her anchor cast. 
Lay at her moorings, just before, 

The little log cabin's open door. 
And the household goods, a meager store, 

Lie scattered about on the puncheon floor. 
Then It was that the bright young wife. 

Began the work of her frontier life." 

From Andrew Downings poem entitled the 
"Pioneers," written for the second annual Old 
Settlers Association meeting, September 23, 1875. 
Mr. Downiug's father and mother settled In 
Mount Carroll Township in 1837, and he was the 
first male child bom in that township. 

The first log cabin, built in the grove was that 
of John Ankeney in 1831; he abandoned it to 
go to the Black Hawk War ; It was on the north 
side of the grove on section eight, and was sev- 
eral times used by pioneers as a temporary resi- 
dence until they could build log cabins for them- 
selves. 



OLD CENTEB SCHOOL HOUSE 

While these people were engaged in securing 
their Individual interests, they did not neglect 
the common welfare. As soon as a sufilcient 
number of families settled in a neighborhood a 
log school house was built and school opened and 
maintained by private subscription or tuition. 
Of times donations either in money or labor were 
made by those who had no children to educate. 

Old Center school house was built of logs in 
the fall of 1835, and was no doubt the first build- 
ing erected in the county exclusively for educa- 
tional purposes. A man named Ingalls was the 
first teacher. He was frozen to death in the 
winter of 1836 while going ^ome, being intoxi- 
cated. 

METHODIST CHUBCH 

In this school house the south Elkhom Grove 
Methodist Church Society worshipped until a 
church was built 

Father McKean, who was on the" circuit, 
preached the first sermon in Elkhom Grove in 
1836. The society was organized and had r^u- 
Ipr preaching in the school house in the summer 
of 1838. 

Their church building was commenced in 1845 
and completed at a cost of six hundred dollars, 
the following year. 

A PIONEERS* HAND SAW MILL 

At a few places in the county, especially at 
Elkhom Grove are to be seen today holes in 
the ground that are a puzzle to the casual ob- 
server to know how they came to be made there. 
They were made by the early settlers to use 
in sawing boards from logs. 

A pit was dug perhaps twenty feet long and 
six feet or more deep around which a scaffolding 
was built of logs two or three feet above the 
ground, on this a log was placed that had been 
hewn flat on both sides, on the upper side the 
thickness of the boards to be sawed was marked 
oflp with chalk or charcoal ; the saw was started 
on one of these lines, a man in the pit with a 
veil over his face to keep the sawdust out of 
his eyes, pulled it down, a man on top pulled it 
up and guided It in the mark; sometimes he 
was assisted by the spring of a sapling bent over. 
Not far from the center of section eighteen Elk- 
horn Grove Township, one of these mills was in 
active operation In 1835-36. 



Digitized by 



Google 




-^-<M(i.£J(. U. 0we-«.«/ 



d^^ 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



/ V 






Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



709 



The man in the pit was called the pitman. 
Thus came the name of the bar that connected 
the power In the saw mill to the saw and later 
the bar that connected the sickle in the mower 
or reai)er with the wheels of the machine was 
called the pitman. Other excavations are some- 
times seen where charcoal was made, called char- 
coal pits, but they were not so large. 



A DUTCH OVEN 

The most important piece of kitchen utensil 
was the dutch oven. It was a large cast iron 
pot with a lid that had a flange around the edge. 
Anything to be baked or cooked was put in the 
pot and set in the coals then the lid was put on 
and filled with coals. This could be easily lifted 
off without getting ashes or coals into the pot. 



THE FIRST MILLS IN THE COUNTY 

The first saw mill in the county run by wat^r 
power was erected by Jesse Keston on Elkhorn 
aeek near Milledgeville in 1834. The BoweA 
Brothers saw mill was built on Plum river in 
1835. In 1837 Elijah Eaton built a saw mill on 
Elkhorn creek. This mill was purchased by 
Smith and Jumey and later was sold to Man- 
assa Neikirk ; Lucius S. Thorp bought it in the 
fifties and converted it into a grist mill, later it 
was known as the L. S. Thorp and Son's mill and 
was the first mill in this part of the country to 
adopt the roller process in the making of flour. 

When the farmers of the surrounding country 
could no longer raise wheat the mill was again 
changed into a saw mill, with a rotary Instead 
of the old time sash saw. And it is now (1912) 
the only water power mill of any kind in the 
county. 

FIRST FLOUR MILLS 

The first settlers at the grove took their grain 
to Peoria to be ground, there was the nearest 
mill. Later Adam Knox built a small mill on 
Elkhorn Creek and Joseph Wilson built one on 
.Buffalo Creek. 

A OO-DEVIL 

Grain was taken in small quantities to these 
mills and to avoid using the heavy wagon for so 
small a load the farmers at the grove made and 
used what they called a go-devil. It was made 
from a forked limb or log, between the two 
branches cross pieces were pinned ; the load was 
placed upon this, the oxen were hitched to it 
with a chain and it was dragged upon the 
ground ; the same instrument was often used in 
winter when the snow was deep to break a path 
for the children to the school house. 



NAMES OMITTED 

The following are the names of settlers who 
came prior to 1850, who seem to have been omit- 
ted from the general history of the county ; and 
some interesting facts connected with the lives 
of others. 

Alvin Humphrey came In 1835 or 3G, and 
started a tavern on the Sucker Trail, on the 
north east quarter of section twelve. Wysox 
Township. 

Ransom Shoemaker arrived at the grove early 
in the spring of 1834 and moved his family into 
a cabin built by Ankeny In 1831. 

John Knox and family came In 1834. 

John Eaton, Caleb and Alva Dalnes, his broth- 
ers-in-law settled in South Elkhorn in 1836. 
Caleb had settled there a few years before 
John Eaton built the first house between Chicago 
and the Mississippi river. 

Lucy L. Eaton, nee Daines, was a very notable 
woman. She was an expert In the use of the 
spinning wheel and loom. She not only made 
cloth to supply her own family, she was step- 
mother to ten children of Mr. Eaton, but she 
wove cloth to sell to pay for the tuition and 
school books for the children. She was the 
daughter of John Daines who lived near Maran- 
thon. New York. John was a lad during the 
Revolutionary war, and his father, John Daines 
was a soldier in that war. 

Alva Daines came from New York and made 
a home in Elkhorn In 1835. He was a post- 
master there for four years, on the stage line 
from Peoria to Galena, and was appointed by 
the county commissioners the first assessor of 
Carroll County in 1839. His \\ife, Martha 
Frothlngham, was from Ohio. 

Albert H. Healy, was a graduate In music at 
the Wyoming Academy, New York. He came to 
Elkhorn in 1841, with Hiram Stewart 

Samuel Ormsbee from Vermont settled in the 
grove In 1845. 



Digitized by 



Google 



710 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



James Henry Jenkins* family should not be 
omitted. Henry Jenkins, as he was called, was 
known all over tlie grove and abroad ; he was 
noted for his hospitality, at a time when all 
frontiersmen made the traveler welcome ; Mary, 
Mrs. L. Fosdick; Sarah, Mrs. Hiram Woodin; 
Lavinia, Mrs. P. McCurdy and Nora, Mrs. John 
Coffey, were his daughters. 

The Jenkins brothers who were here in the 
thirties were, Russell, who was a soldier in 
the Mexican war ; William, who made a home on 
section four and married Miss Eunice Stewart 
of Eagle Point, 3840 ; Chauncy, who was bom in 
New York and married Mary Seaman, 1848; 
Wellington, who resided near Stump Town 
(Hitt) for some years. He married Mary 
Becker, a sister of Capt. T. E. Becker, late of 
Mount Carroll. 

John W. Stewart and his wife Harriet L., 
nee Booth, were among the first of the old set- 
tlers to aid in education and religious work. He 
was a great temperance and anti-slavery man. 
His wife taught for many years the infant class 
in the church at Eagle Point. 

Lucius S. Thorp, born in Genesee County, New 
York, came to Carroll County in 1846. He was 
county surveyor for many years. His son 
Charles S. Thorp owns and operates the only 
water power mill left in Carroll County. 

Naaman Spencer came in 1837 from Penn^l- 
vania. His family was of English origin. He 
was born in Connecticut, a cooper by trade. He 
and his sons supplied the flouring mills, of which 
there were several in the grove, with flour bar- 
rels In which flour was shipped In early days. 
The business was discontinued in 1808. 

THE SUCKEB TRAIL 

Just where this trail traversed through the 
county it is difficult now to tell, there were no 
doubt several lines of travel which were changed 
on account of difficulties that had to be over- 
come or avoided. There are places where these 
lines converged at fords of streams where the 
deep worn cuts in the banks of the stream and 
hill sides, indicate a great deal of travel many 
years ago. The Sucker Trail where It ran 
through Elkhorn Grove was afterward called 
the State Road. The State Road was afterward 
called the Telegraph Road. It is quite probable 
the Sucker Trail diverged from this road east 
of Mount Carroll and crossed Straddle Creek in 



the grove that is now part of WUd^berg Place 
and led from thence in a nortSi and westerly di- 
rection to Galena. 

These early roads or trails were made along 
by the groves and streams from necessity so that 
there were stopping iflaces where fuel and wa- 
ter could be procured for campers. The Sucker 
trail probably followed the Indian trails, which 
no doubt were first traveled by the buflCalo and 
deer and other wild animals perhaps the elk. 

A PIGEON TRAP 

Naaman Spencer made a pigeon trap and be- 
came quite noted in the neighborhood on this 
account. It was in the days when wild pigeons 
were very plentiful. An open place was selected 
in the woods, and the ground cleared and made 
as smooth as a floor. This place was surround- 
ed with a rail fence, when it was necessary, to 
keep stock off. The pigeons were baited by scat- 
tering wheat or com on the cleared space until 
the birds became accustomed to coming there to 
feed. They would alight on the limbs of the 
trees in great numbers, a few would venture on 
the pigeon bed and if there was nothing to dis- 
turb them they would alight on the ground to 
get the grain, sometimes so thick that there was 
no room for more. They were fed several days 
with com or wheat 

Then the net was set, it was made of twine 
with meshes an inch and a half square about 
twenty-four feet long by twelve wide, one edge 
of the net was fastened to the ground on one 
side of the pigeon bed and the net folded up 
along the edge and covered with grasd ; the two 
loose comers were fastaied to long ropes; the 
opposite ends of the ropes were fastened to 
spring poles bent over the opposite edge of the 
bed ; when pulled down they were fastened tight 
to some kind of a catch or trigger. From these a 
line ran to a bough shelter several rods from the 
pigeon bed where the operators, usually two, 
came before daylight to spring the trap, whidi 
had been set and baited the evening before. Mr. 
Elsey, says : "It was an exciting time then until 
the catch was made and hundreds, perhaps 
thousands, of pigeons would come through the 
tree tops and pass away, then another crowd 
would come and alight in the trees nearby. A 
squirrel would perhaps jump into the pigeon bed 
to get some of the grain then the pigeons would 
all fly away, and not return for half an hour. At 
last some of Hhem take courage and begin to 



Digitized by 



Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



\ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



711 



return in vast numbers allgbtlng near the bed, 
a single pigeon would hover over It for a moment 
and settle slowly to the ground and begin to 
p!<^ up the grain, then a dozen then a hundred 
thai the air would be thick with them and there 
was no place for them to alight upon the ground. 
A steady pull would set free the net and the 
spring of the poles would draw the net through 
the cloud of birds at a distance of three feet 
from the ground, then those in the bough house 
made all haste to get to the front line of the 
net to hold it down so that the birds under the 
net could not escape. With a mighty roar the 
birds that were free passed from sight and the 
work of taking care of the captives began/' 

It was not unusual to catch from two to five 
hundred at a time, and if the catch was a big 
one, the neighbors were invited to help dispose of 
them. They were picked and dressed in the old 
cooper shop, where five or six families would be 
represented at a **pigeon picking." The body 
feathers were carefully saved to make feather 
beds and some of these feather beds are to be 
found in the grove today. 

CHOICE DISHES 

Among the choice dishes that appeared on the 
pioneers tables was smoked pigeon breasts. They 
had been placed in brine for a short time and 
then smoked, in the big chimney fire places, and 
were considered a luxury even when other game 
was abundant, smoked or dried venison being so 
pl^itiful the settlers would tire of it. 

On the prairie the farmers also caught pigeons, 
much in the same manner usually in the fall of 
the year. They set trees about the plat of 
ground for the birds to alight on as in the woods 
planting the spring poles in the ground and 
making a trigger to hold them down like the 
boys use on a figure four trap, the upright piece 
being driven into the ground. They had a novel 
way of killing them, a slight bite on the back 
bone Just back of the skull would kill them in- 
stantly. Old hunters understand this manner of 
killing game. 

INTOXICATING LIQUOR 

It is no wonder that a great deal of intoxicat- 
ing liquor was used about Elkhom Grove. 
Farmers could not get cash for their com, even at 
the distillery, but they could exchange corn for 



whiskey at the rate of a bushel of com for a 
gallon. A man would take a load of shelled com 
to Peoria, which was ninety seven miles from 
the grove and bring back a thirty-two gallon 
barrel of whiskey, which he would exchange for 
dry goods with the home merchant at thirty cents 
per gallon; the merchant then retailed it for 
thirty-five cents cash per gallon. 

A VALUABLE LOAD OF FABM PRODUCE 

Mahassa Neikirk came from Washington 
County, Maryland, September 13, 1837, and set- 
tled on section eighteen. His was a hospitable 
family, at their cabin one always found the latch 
string out. They were thrifty and prosperous. 
Mr. Neikirk probably sold the most valuable 
load of farm produce ever marketed in Carroll 
Oounty. It was a load of seventy bushels of 
clover seed, which he hauled to Polo with a four 
horse team and sold it for fourteen dollars a 
bushel, receiving nearly one thousand dollars for 
the load. 

NAMES OF EABLT SETTLERS 

The Webster brothers; George R., Novatus 
B., Jared and Oscar, came from Delaware Coun- 
ty, New York, and settled about the Grove in 
1835. Their father, Elijah, with his wife and 
daughters came in 1837. 

Daniel Stormer, who had been in the Black 
Hawk war, was from Tennessee. He settled In 
Elkhom Grove in 1837. 

Hiram McNamar and wife came from Ken- 
tucky, April 27th, 1835. He was twenty-three. 
The young couple canyped three weeks In their 
wagon, until he built a cabin. Money was very 
scarce. He paid Mr. Shoemaker all the money 
he had for breaking three acres of prairie. 
They were glad to have letters come from their 
friends, but very sorry that they did not have 
money enough to take them from the post Office. 

George W. Knox came to Carroll County in 
1834. 

George Curtice came from England to Elkhom 
Grove in 1837. His son John afterwards settled 
near Shannon in Cherry Grove Township. 

Eliakim Todd, moved from Connecticut to 
Penn^lvania in 1823. Mr. Todd in company with 
a brother-in-law, Joseph Hire, started from La- 
Raysville, Pennsylvania, In September, 1837 and 
walked nearly the entire distance to Elkhom 



Digitized by 



Google 



712 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



Grove, arriving at Humphrey's tavern, December 
3rd, 1837. In later years he lived at the home 
of his son, Samuel H. Todd at the Grand View 
Farm near Milledgeville. 

Miles Z. Landon was bom in Delaware County, 
New York; his wife, Mary Sanborn, was from 
Canada. Th^- came to the Grove in 1838. He 
was sheriff of Carroll County one term, also 
Supervisor. 

Elizabeth Lowry, A. G. Eastabrooks and Henry 
C. Hunter came in 1839. Mr. Hunter was from 
Wilkinson County, Mississippi; his wife came 
from Virginia. 

John H. Hawes was from Bedford County, 
Virginia. He bought a claim of Levi Warner 
on section 21, September 22nd, 1840. Alfred 
Steffins came the same year. 

George W. Landon came from New York state 
and settled in the Grove In November, 1845. He 
was a skilled mechanic and had a blacksmith 
shop on the west bank of Elkhom Creek at 
Fremont. He invented a plow to take the place 
of the wooden rooter. It required three yoke of 
oxen to draw it. Soon it l)ecame known that 
any kind of iron, steel or wood work could be 
done at Landou's shop. He employed several 
hands, among them Dennis Woodin, George An- 
derson and Lewis B. Fosdick. The business 
branched out and included a gun shop in which 
rifles were made and repaired. He also made 
flies and rasr)8. 

Gerardus Beekman came in 1842 ; Levi Neikirk 
in 1844; William L. Johnson in 1845; Ransom 
Wilson In 1849. He lived in the old stage house 
where the flrst store was kept in the town. 

The earliest arrivals at Elkhorn Grove may 
be named and located as follows: On the west 
end of the Grove were. Mahassa Neikirk, Alva 
Dalnes, Lyman Hunt, Alvin Humphrey, Elijah 
E]aton, the Eastabrooks, Todds and Newman. 

On the north side. Sample M. Journey, John 
Ankeny, Harry Smith, John Fosdick, Clark 
Stoije, and Naaman Spencer. 

On the south side was John Knox, Levi 
Warner, E. W. Todd, Daniel Stormer, Caleb 
Daines, Hiram McNamar, Jasper Steffins, 
Thomas Hughes, Abijah Painter and others. 

About 1837 a flood of settlers arrived at Elk- 
horn Grove. 

Most of the foregoing facts In regard to the 
pioneers of Elkhorn Grove are taken from 
biographical sketches written by Henry Elsey, 
to whom we are greatly Indebted for the use 



of his manuscripts. He intends depositing these 
sketches, which contain very many interesting 
facts, with a Historical Society at Polo, Ogle 
County, Illinois. 

WAB RECORD 

Elkorn Grove's war record was very creditable. 
Mr. Elsey saj's, "Long before a call for troops 
was made by President Lincoln, the fire of war 
lay smoldering in the breasts of the loyal citlseDs 
of Elkhorn Grove. 

**In school houses on winter evenings and In 
store and blacksmith shops the subject of slavery 
had been debated, pro and con." 

Mr. Elsey's sympathies, like the majority of 
the neighborhood, were with the slaves. 

THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD 

He was one of the operators of the under- 
ground railroad and says he helped many slaves 
to get from Fulton on the Mississippi river to 
Byron, on their way to Canada and freedom. 
They were usually taken from place to place in 
the night, hidden in wagons with ^arm produce. 
Continuing he says: **The Invasion of Kansas 
by a horde of southern ruflaans, who boasted that 
they went there to fight and to vote slavery Into 
free territory, had fired the blood of the pioneers 
and their loyal sons. When the call to arms came 
more offered their services than could be ac- 
cepted, at that time.'* He gives a list of one 
hundred and seven names of Elkorn Grove soldier 
boys, a great many for that neighborhood, es- 
pecially when we consider that Elkhom Grove Is 
only half a township. 

Among these were Harry Smith's sons. He 
was born In New Hampshire; went to the lead 
mines In Wisconsin from Rock Island In 1832. 
Enlisted In the Black Hawk war and was elected 
captain of a company, called the White Oak 
Springs Volunteers. He and Sample M. Journey 
started the first store in the Grove. He l)ouglit 
the claim of John C. Ankeny and afterward en- 
tered It. It was the first claim that was en- 
tered in the town. 

He was the flrst member of the State Legis- 
lature, 1843-44, from this county and was a 
memljer of the Constitutional Convention, 1860-61. 

His wife, Lucinda Dal ton, was from North 
Carolina. 

Their son Samuel was In the First Illinois 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



713 



Artillery in the war for the preservation of the 
Cnion ; he was captain of Battery A ; was taken 
prisoner before Atlanta and was copflned for 
ei^t months in Confederate prisons. 

Tip Garland Smith was in Company H, 7th 
Illinois Cavalry, and Frank was Captain of Com- 
pany D, 140th I. V. I. 

HAZELHUB8T 

In the south east comer of Elkhom Grove is 
a station on the Chicago, Burlington and North- 
em Railroad, called Uazelhurst. It is so near 
the east line of the county it is difficult to tell 
which county it is in. There is one general 
merchandise store kept by Harry G. Smith, a 
grandson of "Unde Harry" Smith, Just men- 
tioned above. He is also postmaster. There are 
eight houses in the town and thirty-two inhabi- 
tants all told. 

There is one elevator, one blacksmith eftiop 
and one doctor, C. W. McPherson, M. D. Hazel- 
hurst is 846 feet above the level of the sea. 



CHAPTER XIII. 



MOUNT CARROLL, CITY AND TOWNSHIP- 
SALEM TOWNSHIP. 



CITY OF MOUNT CABROLL — MATOBS — PUBLIO 
LIBBABT— -CABOLINE MA&K HOME — BUSINESS 
ENTKBFBI8BS — CHUBCHE8 — CIVIC SOCIETIES — 
FRANCES 8HIMEB SCHOOI/— MOUNT CABBOLL 
TOWNSHIP — ^FIBST MILL — FIBST SCHOOL— OCCU- 
PATION OF FABMEB8 — SALEM TOWNSHIP — IN- 
TEBESTINO INCIDENTS — CYCLONES — A LOO 
SCHOOL HOUSE — SPECIAL CBOPS. 

THE CITY OP MOUNT CARROLL 

Written for the County History by N. Miles. 

The city of Mount Carroll, the county seat of 
Carroll County, is situated at about the geo- 
graphical center of the county on the main line 
of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St Paul Railway, 
817 feet above sea level. Agriculture is the 

T 



principal business of the community, and as the 
rural districts have increased their wealth from 
the fertile soil, the city has gained in pros- 
perity. The hills upon which it is built, Carroll 
Creek wandering between them, the plentiful 
trees, long shady streets and substantial public 
buildiugs combine to make Mount Carroll one 
of the very attractive towns. 

While not varying greatly in population from 
the figure shown by the census of 1910 — some 
1759 — Mount Carroll has been making a steady 
and consistent advance along the lines of civic 
improvement. There are few towns of Its size, 
if any, in the state, whidi can boast so many 
creditable public buildings, such well organized 
schools and attractive park grounds, all char- 
acterizing a spirit of progress that is capable 
of accomplishment. 

The county buildings occupy a square in the 
business district. The present Court House was 
built in 1858 to take the place of the stone 
structure erected for the county by the old Mill 
Company in 1844. Since that time the business 
of the county has again outgrown its quarters 
and a second building was added for the use of 
the county officers in 1895. 

The year 1911 witnessed the completion of the 
new City Hall, Just west of the Court House 
square. Realizing that the location was ad- 
mirable for a City Hall, a number of citizens 
under the name of the Mount Carroll City Hall 
Association, bought the site in 1910 and held it 
until in 1911 a special election decided that the 
city should buy the lot and put out a bond issue 
of $9,000.00 for the erection of a new Hall. The 
present ^lendid building is the result and the 
old City Hall perched on the edge of the "Wau- 
karusa'* at the head of Market Street, is no 
longer the meeting place of the council. 

MATOBS 

The old Hall witnessed the assemblage of a 
long line of officers. The Mayors of the city 
since 1878 are as follows : 

1878 John L. Tomlhisou. 

1879 H«iry Bitner. 

1880 P. B. Cole. 

1881 Henry Bitner. 

1882 John Coleman. 
18S3 Jas. C. Strong. 

1884 B. L^man. 

1885 George L. Hoffman. 



Digitized by 



Google 



714 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



1886 George L. Hoffman. 
18S7 John W. Miller. 

1888 John W. MiUer. 

1889 Otto Jesseu. 

1800 Frank D. Freeman. 

1891 N. H. Mdendy. 

1892 N. H. Melendy. 

1893 John Ck>leman. 

1894 George L. Hoffman. 

1895 George M. Wherrltt 

1896 George M. Wherrltt 

1897 George F. Bucher. 

1898 Amasa T. Dnushee. 

1890 Thos. B. Rhodes. 

1900 Chas. L. Kinney. 

1901 Chas. E. Beaver. 

1902 Amasa T. Dunshee. 

1903 WiUiam R. Tipton. 

1904 Josephus B. Smith. 
1906 Chas. E. Beaver. 

1906 Chas. E. Beaver. 

1907 Chas. E. Beaver. 
1906 John A. Bender. 

1909 Jason B. Panl. 

1910 George W. Ivey. 

1911 T. A. Wachtel. 

PUBUC UBBABT 

Across the street from the City Hall stands 
the Mount Carroll TowniOilp Public Library. 
The building, erected in 1907, a beautiful struc- 
ture of brick and stone under a tile roof, was 
the gift of Andrew Carnegie. The Library con- 
tains al)out 2000 volumes which have an an- 
nual circulation of upwards of 16,000. The 
present administrative board has been In office 
since the founding of the Library. President, 
R. E. Eaton, Vice President, T. A. Wachtel, 
Secretary, Chas. F. Schaale, Treasurer, George 
D. Campbell, W. E. Nipe and N. C. Smith, 
Librarian, Miss E. Luverta Smith. 

Mount Carroll's Public School System has 
been productive of very efficient work, and to- 
gether with the Frances Shlmer School, affords 
to the city unusual educational advantages. 
Housed in a $3,000.00 building completed in 
1908, the equipment is modem and administra- 
tion progressive, placing the school upon the 
accredited list of the University of Illinois. 
During the fall of 1911 the erection of a gym- 
nasium was commenced. The funds necessary 
for the purchase of material were raised by 



popular subscription and Prof. R. Gorman, with 
the assistance of the school boys, undertook the 
work of cpnstructing a building 42 by 86. T1i« 
Board of Education Is as follows: President, 
R. E. Eaton, Secretary, F. S. Smith, W. E. 
Nipe, N. C. Smith, W. L. Kneale, S. P. Oole- 
hour, J. C. Gelwlcks, T. A. Waditel, and Supt 
C. J. Brosnan. 

Mouht Carroll was, until 1906, handicapped by 
the fact that there was but one bridge across 
the creek that gave access to the country nortb 
of the city, and this one was so placed between 
hills that It necessitated considerable heavy 
pulling for the farmers who used it The con- 
struction, on cement foundations, of an iron 
bridge over 300 feet long has eliminated these 
difficulties and has made more attractive that 
part of the city lying north of the stream. 

CASOUNE MABK HOME 

Here the Caroline Mark Home for aged 
women is situated. Mrs. Caroline Mark, with 
her husband James Mark, was one" of the pio- 
neers of northern Illinois. She died possessed 
of a considerable estate and left the greats 
part of it in trust for the founding of a home 
for aged ladies. The building, erected in 1907, 
stands on an elevated knoU, which together with 
a farm bordering on the creek, comprises the 
grounds of the institution. The present trustees 
of the home are F. S. Smith, George D. Camp- 
bell and A. F. Wingert 

The grounds of the home have afforded a 
location for the Auditorium of the Lincoln 
Chatauqua, which has had a strong hold here 
for several years, under the presidency of the 
Reverend William Beers. The Mount Carroll 
meeting has come to be one of the strongest 
Chatauqua Assemblies in the state. 

The same civic enterprise which secured the 
location for the City Hall was also responsible 
for the acquisition by the city of Point Rock 
Park, a beautiful tract of thirty-flve acres ly- 
ing adjacent to .the town. The land became the 
property of the Point Rock Park Association, 
formed for the purpose of purchasing and hold- 
ing it, in 1903, and was transferred to the city 
one year later. The Park is at the head of the 
canyon or gorge of Carroll Creek and possesses 
among other natural beauties, the famous Point 
Rock, which projects over a bend of the stream 
as it rounds the end of a long ridge. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CAEEOLL COUNTY 



715 



BUSINESS ENTBBPBISE8 

Mount Carroll soi^>orts a orariety of business 
enterprises. There are two papers, elevators, 
mill, creamery, electric light plant, two hotels, 
opera bouse, garage, lumber yards, cement fac- 
tory, two banks, grocery, dry goods, drug, cloth- 
ing, hardware, millinery. Jewelry, music and 
furniture stores, restaurants, blacksmith and 
harness shops, and ice factory. 

The J. M. Shirk Milling Company is now using 
the same mill that belonged to the old Mill 
Company which began operations here In 1842. 
Tlie floods of the sunmier of 1911 tore a great 
hole in the mill dam so that the original source 
of power is no longer in use. With the passing 
of the dam, the falls, due to their overflow 
have been destroyed and the city has lost one of 
its most attractive beauty spots. 

The business portion and part of the residence 
district are served by sewage systems installed 
by private enterprise. The entire city is lighted 
by dectrlcity generated by the plant of the 
Mount Carroll Electric Light Company. The 
water supply comes from two wells, one of them 
among the deep wells of the United States, de- 
scending over 2,500 feet In 1911 an artificial 
ice plant was installed so that the city is pro- 
. vlded with the purest ice at all seasons. 

CHURCHES 

Methodist Episcopal Church, organized 1839, 
Reverend E. G. Cattermole, Pastor. 

Church of God, organized 1849, Reverend J. 
W. Primrose, Pastor. 

First Baptist Church, organized 1853, Rev- 
erend W. J. Peacock, Pastor. 

First Lutheran Church, organized 1858, Rev- 
erend C. J. Callier, Pastor. 

Dunkard Church, Reverend Israel Crlpe, 
Pastor. 

United Brethren, Reverend W. W. Oberheim, 
Pastor. 

CIVIC SOCIETIES 

Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Lodge No. 
50. organized 1849. 

Priscilla Rebekah, Lodge No. 315, organized 
1894. 

Cyrus Lodge, No. 188 A. F. and A. M., or- 
ganized 1856. 

Long Commandery, No. 60, Knights Templar, 
organized 1891. 



Ola Chapter, No. 170, Eastern Star. 

Knights of Pythias, Rienzi Lodge No. 574, 
organized 1899. 

Pythian Sisters, organized 1911. 

Modem Woodm^i of America, Excelsior 
Camp, organized 1883. 

Royal Neigthbors of America, Carroll C^mp, 
No. 385. 

Nase Post, No. 80 G. A. R,, organized 1880. 

Nase R^ef Corps, No. 95, organized 1902. 

Yeomen of America, organized 1904. 

Woodmen of the World, organized 1904. 

Court of Honor. 

THE FRANCES 8HIMEB SCHOOL OF THE UNIVEBSITT 

OF CHICAGO, MOUNT CA&BOLL, ILLINOIS, BEY. 

WILLIAM PABKEB M'KEE, DEAN. 

• 

On July 1, 1896, Mt. Carroll Seminary became 
The Frances Stiimer School of the University 
of Chicago. The older institution was the prop- 
erty of Mrs. Frances A. Wood Shimer. She 
transferred the butldings and grounds of the 
seminary on the date named to a board of 
trustees, consisting of fifteen persons, who were 
to hold the property in trust for public use, and 
they and their successors were to administer 
the school under certain limitations agreed on 
between Mrs. Shimer and this board. The ar- 
rangement by which the new institution came 
into existence was carried through by personal 
negotiations between Presid^t William Rain^ 
Harper of the University of Chicago, and other 
University men, with Mrs. Shimer. The new 
board, under the agreement, was to include 
representatives of the University of Chicago and 
of the former students and friends of the Mt. 
Carroll Seminary, and two-thirds of this board 
and the head of the institution were to be mem- 
bers of Baptist churches. No other religious 
qualification appears for any trustee or teacher 
or pupil connected with the institution. 

The institution opened under the new manage- 
ment in S^tember, 1806, with Ida M. Gardiner, 
Dean, and Prof. Franlc J. Miller of the Uni- 
versity of Chicago as non-resident principal. 
July 1, 1897, on the resignation of Miss Gardiner, 
the present Dean took charge. 

By the month of June, 1899, sufficient progress 
had been made to justify an effort to improve 
the facilities of the institution, and the tnis- 
tees, encouraged by a contribution from Mrs, 
Shimer, voted to let the contract for the erection 



Digitized by 



Google 



716 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



of South Hall. As time passed, the trustees 
were led in June, 1903, to seek subscriptions for 
a music hall, and in November of that year 
Dearborn Hall, named for Mrs. Isabel Dearborn 
Hazzen, who for many years had been asso- 
ciated with the Seminary, was opened for use. 
In the fall of 1904, the school found itself with- 
out sufficient space to accommodate its house 
pupils, and the board voted in June, 1906, to 
proceed with the erection of Hathaway Hall, 
named after an early graduate of the institu- 
tion, and this building was occupied in the 
November following. On February 9, 1906, Are 
destroyed all the buildings wliich remained on 
the grounds formerly used by the Seminary, 
along with South Hall, erected in 1899. Appeal 
was at once made to the friends of the institu- 
tion far* and near for a building fund to replace 
the buildings which liad been destroyed. Ap- 
proximately fifty thousand dollars were secured 
for this purpose and to liquidate the indebted- 
ness of the institution, ten thousand dollars of 
which was contributed by Andrew Carnegie of 
New York City. After the flre, the trustees 
took immediate action and at once proceeded 
with the erection of West Hall which was en- 
tered in September, 1906, and was used as a 
dormitory and recitation building combined until 
January, 1908, when Metcalf Hall was likewise 
completed and occupied. This building was 
named in honor of Mrs. Sarah Metcalf, the 
mother of Dr. Henry S. Metcalf, president of 
the board of trustees, she having been a life long 
friend of Mrs. Shimer. 

The capacity of the buildings not being suffi- 
cient to accommodate the growing constituency 
of the institution, the trustees voted early in 1909 
to erect a building to be known as College Hall, 
which was occupied in the following S^tember. 

These five buildings now in existence, in addi- 
tion to the central steam plant and laundry, with 
their equipment and furniture, represent a cash 
expenditure in the past seven years of approxi- 
mately one hundred thousand dollars. They 
are all substantially built, designed by Chicago 
architects, admirably suited for the purposes for 
which they are used, harmonious In architecture 
and construction and material, well distributed 
over a considerable part of the grounds. The 
total capacity of house pupils is one hundred and 
two, with adequate recitation rooms, library fa- 
cilities and boarding accommodations. Provi- 



sion is also made for day pupils residing in Mt 
Carroll. 

The grounds of the institution, includhig recent 
purchases, aggregate thirty-six acres. They are 
well wooded, largely due to the interest of Mrs. 
Shimer, in trees, and are well suited both by 
their beauty and extent for the purposes of a 
school for girls. Ample space is givai for out- 
door games, including golf, tennis, and basket 
ball. Space is also available for kitchen gardens. 

This institution stands in a peculiar relation 
to the University of Chicago, educational, not 
financial. President Harry Pratt Judson of the 
University, with Secretary Goodspeed, Business- 
manager Heckman, and Dean Butler of the 
School of Education are all members of the 
board of trustees of the Frances Shimer School 
In addition to this, the school is in the ration 
of affiliation to the University which, in effect, 
guaranteed the educational policy of the insti- 
tution. The standard of scholarship has been 
kept up to that required by the Univwsity of 
Chicago and eastern colleges for women, in order 
that graduates of the academic department may 
enter these and other institutions without exami- 
nation. 

The faculty in the scholastic department is com- 
posed of college trained people, most of them 
graduates of advanced institutions of learning.. 
The instructors in other departments have had 
corresponding advantages in special schools and 
in European travel. Among members of the 
present faculty, these have been connected with 
the institution four years or more: William 
Parker McKee since 1897 ; Florence Tumey Mc- 
Kee, 1901; Elsie C. Hobson, 1907; Dora Ger- 
trude Knight, 1900 ; Elsie Morrison, 1905 ; Delana 
E. Bailey, 1900; Emil Liebling, 1905; Grace M. 
Bawden, 1898; Bertha R. Bowman, 1907. 
Eighteen people in the year 1910 were in- 
structors in the school, including one assistant, 
and Emil Liebling, who is visiting director In 
piano. 

The scope of instruction given in the institution 
covers first of all college work. In the erection 
of College Hall in 1909, public attention was 
called to the fact that the institution had al- 
ready been giving two years of college work for 
some time, and in that year was enlarging and 
strengthening these courses. No special ap- 
peal, however, up to that time had been made 
for college pupils. At the present time, Decem- 
ber, 1910, over twenty girls are doing college 



Digitized by 



Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 







/N 








/.:> 


\ 






-V ■* 


* 






^. <. 


, •" 




- ^ 


' o^ 


^'^ 




\ ^ 


-J ^z- 




^ 


' .'-' A 


c > 


^/ 




-'4' 


a/ 




V 


\o 


^■v ^ ': 






T 




/" 


N. _ 


' fc 


..- . ' / 






r 


f 






X, 


f 





Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



717 



work In the institution, and thirty or more of 
the students are graduates of high sdiools. 
The college courses are so arranged that they 
are the equiinalent of similar courses in other 
colleges and universities, and the work is done 
under the supervision of corresponding depart- 
ments in the University of Chicago to the end 
that credit for advanced standing may be gained 
there and elsewhere by those who do the col- 
lege work in this school. 

Next in rank under the Junior college is the 
academy with its academic work of four years, 
covering those courses ordinarily given in the 
best high schools, in mathematics, language, 
science, history, literature. Classical and 
scientific courses are offered and students are 
pr^nred for the best institutions east and 
west. 

In the department of music, instruction is 
given in piano, voice, and violin, the work in 
piano being under the general supervision of 
Emll Liebling of Chicago, who makes quarterly 
visits to the school, examines the work, gives 
a recital, and addresses the pupils on questiojis 
connected with their work. 

In 1901 the department of domestic science was 
organized under the instruction of Miss Sarah 
Hostetter of the class of '78, and place was 
found for this department in Dearborn Hall 
opoied in 1903. This department has grown 
steadily with the increase in interest the 
county over in this side of the education of girls, 
and at the present writing is clamoring for more 
space. 

The department of expression, including phys- 
ical culture and elocution, has had serious at- 
tention for years, as all the house pupils are 
required to take instruction in physical culture, 
and private instruction is offered in elocution. 

Courses in stenography and typewriting have 
been offered from the outset, and there is de- 
mand for further extension of work of this 
character and for enlarging the scope of it to 
include secretarial work and other similar lines 
of study. 

Mt Carroll Seminary contributed to the 
Frances Shimer School an interest in art and 
work has been continued in this department from 
the very beginning, offering courses in drawing, 
water color, oil, and china painting. 

With the multiplication of its buildings and 
the increased efficiency which they have given, 
along with the enlargement of the courses of 



study and the addition of new ones, has come a 
steady increase in the numbers of the pupils 
from outside of Mt. Carroll. In the past ten 
years, students from twenty-four states, and 
also from Japan, Canada, and old Mexico have 
attended the institution. 

Diplomas are granted pupils who complete the 
work either in the scholastic department or in 
music, art, elocution, or domestic science. A 
gold medal is offered for proficiency in music. 

One of the most valuable features of the 
School is the home life which is offered. The 
pupils ^reside in beautiful buildings with every 
comfort and modem convenience, and are in 
constant association with teachers of refinement 
and experience, under whose supervision they 
do their work. This supervision extends not 
only to the class room, but to the whole of the 
daily life of the pupil. This free intermingling 
of pupils from good homes with one another 
and with teachers who have much to contribute 
to them in the social life, in addition to the 
work of the class room, is one of the most valu- 
able features of the work of the school. Par- 
ents realize that their daughters are cared for 
and protected from outside influences. Some 
idea of the growth of the school from the be- 
ginning may be gained from the following tabu- 
lated statement: 

Receipts from 

House pupils for 

Pupils Pupils school bills 

96-7 61 35 $9,550.00 

97-8 97 35 8,657.00 

98-9 94 37 9,697.00 

99-00 86 37 10,676.00 

00-01 72 43 9.961.00 

01-02 77 47 12,093.00 

02-03 82 50 13,231.00 

03-04 79 59 14,100.00 

04-05 111 70 17,200.00 

05-06 90 55 (fire) 13,300.00 

06-07 102 57 (West Hall).... 16,500.00 

07-08 108 70 (Metcalf Hall).. 20,556.00 

08-09 120 74 24,505.00 

09-10 127 82 (College Hall).. 24,740.00 

10-11 158 108 (over) 38,000.00 

In the winter of 1910-11, the trustees pur- 
chased nine and one-half acres of ground across 
the street from the center of the grounds west 
with a view to further, extension of the facilities 
of the institution. The capacity of all the dor- 
mitories on the grounds is taxed with the pres- 



Digitized by 



Google 



718 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



ent attendance and further growth is impossible 
until additional buildings can be provided. It 
is hoped that funds may be secured by which, 
within the next five years, there may be added 
to the institution additional dormitories, a li- 
brary building, a science hall, and an entirely 
new heating and power plant with steam laun- 
dry. 

The trustees of the institution in the year 
1910 were: Henry S. Metcalf, President; Na- 
thaniel Butler, Chicago, Vice President; Wil- 
liam P. McKee, Mt. Carroll, Secretary; George 
D. Campbell, Mt Carroll, Treasurer; Mrs. A. 
T. Dunshee, Mt CarroU; Lathan A. Crandall, 
D. D., Minneapolis, Minn.; John M. Rlnewalt, 
Mt Carroll; Wallace Heckman, Chicago; Mrs. 
W. R. Hostetter, Mt Carroll ; Harry Pratt Jud- 
son, LL. D., Chicago; Hon. A. J. Sawyer, Lin- 
coln, Nebraska ; Mrs. Hattie N. LePelley, Free- 
port, 111. ; J. H. Miles, Mt Carroll ; Thcwnas W. 
Goodspeed, D. D., Chicago. 

[Most of the progress of this, now thoroughly 
modem institution. In buildings and equipment, 
in the number in attendance and in the effi- 
ciency of the faculty. Is due to the thorough busi- 
ness capacity and ability of the Dean, ably sec- 
onded by the resident members of the board of 
trustees. Through him, also, the non-residents 
of the board have been kept in touch and hearty 
sympathy wir. the work in hand and they have 
given freely whatever assistance and encourage- 
ment they could. The citizens of the city and 
surrounding country also take great pride in 
this institution and lend a helping hand where- 
ever possible. EkJ.] 

MOUNT GARBOLL TOWNSHIP 

Population 1910, seventeen hundred ninety- 
seven. 

Samuel Preston, Sr., of Mass., made the first 
claim and was the first settler in Mount Car- 
roll township. His claim covered the water 
power of Fulrath*s mill and what has ever since 
been known as "Preston's Prairie." The same 
day he made his claim Paul D. Otis and Gran- 
ville Mathews, the stage drivers on their win- 
ter route, made a claim of the land and water 
power at Mt Carroll. This afterward became 
the property of the Mill Company of Emmert, 
Halderman & Co. These claims were made in 
1836. Otis and Mathews built a cabin and what 



afterward became the property of Jacob Chris- 
tian who came here with his father's family in 
1837. Daniel Christian, father of Jacob, came 
here in 1836, and he with four others made claim 
to six sections of land. The Christians were 
from Maryland and Col. Beers Tomlinson came 
from Connecticut in 1837, and the following set- 
tlers came in 1838. 

Peter and William Bashaw came from Can- 
ada, by team through Michigan, Indiana and 
Illinois, and were six weeks on the way. There 
was only one house in Dixon where they crossed 
Rock river, and not a house between there and 
Cherry Grove. Jonatlian and Claressa Cum- 
mings came from New Hampshire. Sumner 
Downing and his father, Abner Downing, wtio 
was born in Connecticut, came here in 1837 and 
took up a claim of 320 acres. Sumner's mother 
was a Preston of Massachusetts. Hezekiah 
Frances, bom in Vermont, reared in New Yoiit, 
married Nancy Asbom from Indiana, and James 
Wilson from Vermont came on foot from Chi- 
cago, when there was only one house between 
Elkhom Grove and Savanna. He had charge of 
the Powder Mills near Savanna for a time, then 
entered government land and w^it to farming, 
used to sell good wheat at thirty cents a bushel 
and com at ten cents. 

Among those who came in 1839 were Hollis 
Cummings, bom in New Hampshire, who came 
from New York state to Carroll County, jais 
wife Emily M. McNamer was from New York, 
Benjamin Day came from Vermont. There were 
only a few cabins on Preston Prairie yvhen he 
came; he married Emerence Downing; she 
was born in Massachusetts. When out of flour 
in the winter they punched holes in a tin pan 
and grated the com into meal, one neighbor 
would use the utensil and then another until 
it was worn out. 

John Fish was born in New York and Charles 
W. Tomlinson came from New York. In 1838, he 
and his father and Monroe Bailey came together, 
his father having been a captain in the War of 
1812. Beers B., brother of Charles, came the 
same year. Felix 0*Neal came from New York ; 
he helped to erect the first lime kiln in Carroll 
County. His father, John O'Neal, kept a tavern 
or stopping place for travelers in early days on 
the road lo Savanna near where it crossed 
Cedar Creek. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



719 



FIB8T MILL 

In 1833 or '39 a man by the name of Leonard 
built a grist mill where Adam Fnlrath's mill now 
is and made the mill stones, from native stone. 
One of the stones may still be seen at the Ful- 
rath mill. If the grinding away of the soft 
stone did not add to the quality of the com 
meal, it certainly added to its weight and may 
have made the Johnnie Cake a little gritty and 
certainly heavier. 

FIBST SCHOOL 

Sarah J. Hawley taught the first school in 
Mount Carroll township, in a slab house on Hoi- 
lis Cummlng's farm. She had an opportunity to 
teach the next summer at one dollar per week. 
She said that she would prefer to cook and 
wash dishes. Seymore Downs argued the case 
with her and said, "just think, you will only 
have to work five and a half days and only 
six hours a day, how much easier it would be," 
but he could not persuade her to accept what 
amounted to about- five dollars a month. 

OCCUPATION OF FABMEB8 

The principal occupation of the farmers now 
is raising and fattening hogs and cattle and 
keeping cows to milk and sell the cream to the 
creameries where it is manufactured into but- 
ter. One of the John Newman Co.*8 "Spring- 
brook Creameries" is located in Mt. Carroll 
under the management of William Engelbricht 
whose butter score at the National Butter 
Makers Convention at Chicago in 1011 was 94.66, 
beiug next to the highest of all competitors. 
The farmers have been receiving during the fall 
and winter from twenty-five to thirty-five cents 
per pound for butter fat. 

By raising stock and a proper rotation of the 
crops of com, oats and grass the fertility of 
the soil is maintained, although It seems to be 
no longer adapted to raising wheat as In for- 
mer year& 

SALEH TOWNSHIP 

The central township of the whole county cen- 
fius of 1910 gives the population at 1,498. By an 
act of the legislature, the west half of sec- 
tion six was added to Mount Carroll township 
and a portion of this and the west part of sec- 



tion seven were included within the city limits 
of Mount Carroll at the time of its incorporation 
by a I5)ecial act of the legislature. The south- 
west portion of this township was a wooded 
country, sometimes called Blackoak; this por- 
tion was settled by Germans (see history of 
Fairhaven Township). The north east part of 
the township was a beautiful rolling prairie and 
Is mostly tributary to Lanark (see early set- 
tlers of Rock Creek Township). In the south 
west corner of the township is a station on the 
C. B. & Q. railroad called Daggett after one of 
the officials of the road. 

EARLY SETTLERS 

The first settler was David Masters. He 
made a claim and built a cabin on section seven, 
south of Mt. Carroll in 1837. Later he built a 
dam on Johnson Creek and erected a small wool 
carding mill, the only one in the county. 

George Swaggert,,who had been living on the 
stage line at Cherry Grove and had sold his 
interest which he had in the mill site at Mt. 
Carroll, took up a claim in Salem on Johnson 
creek where the stage line or state road from 
Dixon to Galena crossed that stream and built 
quite an extensive log house and later a large 
barn; nothing is left to mark the site of these 
buildings. 

Henry Weltzel was one of the very first set- 
tlers in this town. He came from Southern Il- 
linois about 1837 and made a claim, and en- 
tered some land from the government. Adam 
Daggert settled in Salem the same year ; his son, 
Henry, was the first child born in Salem. On 
the home farm on Sec. 32 of Henry Weltzel, 
there has been preserved one of the ancient 
threshing . floors, % ring worn in the ground 
where he and his sons used to thresh their 
grain by tramping it out with oxen or horses, 
until threshing machines came into vogue and 
later permanent use. Such places were common 
in those days and were used year after year. 
This perhaps is the only one spared in the 
county. 

INTERESTING INCIDENTS 

There are many interesting incidents con- 
nected with some of the early German settlers; 
they were a hardy, industrious people and very 
desirable citizens in a new country. Mrs. 
Catherine Kline, a sister of Mr. Henry Weltzel, 



Digitized by 



Google 



720 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



and mother of Mrs. John Mackay was one of 
these. It was her costom to do her shopping in 
Saranna ; it was the only place and twelve miles 
away ; she thought nothing of walking there, car- 
rying what little she had to sell and returning 
the same day with the necessary supplies for the 
family. On one occasion they had a horse to 
sell and she led it all the way to Galena, forty 
miles, and returned the next day with the price 
of the animal. On another occasion Mrs. Kline 
and the children were hunting their cows that 
used to stray away sometimes and get lost ; they 
had been looking for them several miles from 
home on the prairie down towards Milledge- 
ville. As they were passing through the hlj^ 
grass they noticed something had been digging 
in the ground and the grass was tramped down. 
On their return towards home the diildren in- 
sisted on investigating the Bpot and to their 
great joy they found a nicely smoked ham which 
a wolf probably had stolen and buried there. 
To show the necessity undeV which the pioneers 
sometimes lived: This same family was short 
of provisions and the mother sent the children 
to a neighbor a mile away to borrow some meal. 
They returned empty handed and they were 
obliged to dig up the potatoes they had planted 
sometime before so they might have something 
to eat. 

The Daggerts came about the same time and 
took up as a claim a small grove of ancient oaks, 
about two miles east of Mount Carroll. In a 
very early day the Sucker Trail ran by this 
grove and for a short time it was followed by 
this stage line and it is said the Daggerts kept a 
postofflce, but not being able to read English 
readily, people coming for mail had to help them- 
selves. 

Duncan Mackay who warf bom in Scotland, 
came first to Nova Scotia, then to Maine, and In 
1840 settled in Salem Township at Oakville. 
His brother, William, came about the same time 
and was engaged in running the saw mill which 
he rented of Hitt and Swingley in Mt Carroll 
Township. In the autumn of 1843, their brother 
John Mackay and sister Helen, who afterward 
married Daniel Hurley of Salem Township, to- 
gether with William Finlayson and William 
Graham and their families, all came together 
from Chicago and settled in Oakville. 

These early settlers have all passed away but 
they have left many children and grandchildren 



to revere their memory and enjoy a rich in- 
heritance which was left to some of them In 
lands. They, however, are widely scattered 
through the country from Maine to Oilifomla 
and from Canada to Panama, even South Amer- 
ica. 

Mr. William Finlayson of Salem township, 
enjoyed considerable notoriety during the World's 
Fair at Chicago, when they had the first loco- 
motive that was used in America. Mr. Finlay- 
son was the conductor on the train It drew. 

Seymore Downs and Henry Reynolds were 
early settlers in Salem Townsfliip. Peter Shra- 
der came to this county in 1840 and John Gel- 
wicks in 1848; they were both from Penn^l- 
vania and settled in Salem Township. 

Also Dr. Abraham Hostetter, who came to 
Mount Carroll in 1845 and settled in Salem with 
his family, three sons and two daughters, in 
1852. 

He brought the first herd of thoroughbred 
short horn cattle to Salem Township, some of 
the very best in the United States ; at the bead 
of the herd was the 9th Duke of Alrdrie. Many 
of them and their descendents were afterwards 
prize winners at State and County Fairs, their 
descendents were sold all over the western 
states, two of them being taken to California. 

In 1870 he brought the first herd of thorough- 
bred Jerseys to the county. These his son W. 
Ross Hostetter has continued to breed at his 
Granseland farm ; they also were prize winners 
wherever shown. He also introduced thorough- 
bred Berkshire hogs into the county. 

CYCLONES 

On May 12th, 1886, a cyclone destroyed the 
house and barn of Robert Moore and the house 
of William Mackay, and on May 18th, 1898, a 
cyclone which destroyed the county farm build- 
ings passed through Salem Towneftiip from west 
to east, making a pathway of death and de- 
struction. Only one person was killed, but many 
had very narrow escapes from death. Several 
houses were torn from their foundations and 
scattered to the four winds. 

* A LOG SCHOOLHOUSE 

Among the first in the county was the log 
schoolhouse on the old Edwards place, Sec. 



Digitized by 



Google 




NORMAN D. FRENCH 



Digiti 



zed by Google 




^. ^ 



' 'y/ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



721 



seren, in Salem township. It was on the old 
State road from Dixon to Galena which ran 
diagonally thronj^ the county but was after- 
ward changed in several places to i*un on the 
section lines and to turn square comers. In this 
old log sehoolhouse there was a great fireplace 
in one end of the house where great logs were 
burned in cold weather to keep the children 
warm. Desks were arranged on the other three 
sides by driving long pins into holes bored into 
the logs in the wall, and upon these pins long 
boards were fastened which formed a desk-like 
shelf ; a seat or long bench was made by driving 
pins for legs into a long slab. This stood under 
the shelf; all the pupils when seated on these 
benches faced toward the wall. Of course there 
were no backs to the benches, and to be seated 
the pupils had to climb over the long bench or 
slip in at the ends. 

It was an ideal place for spelling school and 
spelling down contests of which there were many 
in Salem. One school would spell against another 
arranged on opposite sides of the room along 
the benches facing each other. As the words 
were pronounced by theHeacher, they would be 
taken up and spelled by each side alternately. If 
missed on one side the bad speller sat down 
and one on the other side would pronounce the 
word and try to spell it correctly. There were 
several very good spellers in Salem especially 
in the Oakville school. The Mackays and Gra- 
hams and the Finlaysons were hard to beat 
They are grey-haired sires and grandmothers 
now but still are proud of the fame they won 
at spelling school contests. 

SPECIAL CHOPS 

Salem has a noted popcorn farm. The Beede 
Brothers, Charles and Herman, raise popcorn on 
& large scale, and have facilities for seasoning 
and storing it "without the aid of mice/* they 
say, until the market price is satisfactory. Then 
it is sftitiled and shipped away by the car load. 

During war times some of the Salem farmers 
raised large crops of wheat and sold it at very 
remunerative prices. But of late years wheat 
raising is not profitable, there seems to be some 
element lacking in the soil to enable it to pro- 
duce a good crop of wheat. 



CHAPTER XIV. 



SAVANNA CITY AND TOWNSHIP— VILLAGE 
OF SHANNON AND TOWNSHIP. 



SAVANNA CITY — BUILDINGS — BANKS — TELEPHONE 
COMPANY — MANUFACTURING — FISHING — NEWS- 
PAPERS — EARLY SETTLERS — FIRST SCHOOL 
TEACHER — RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS — BUSINESS 
FIRMS — CEMETERY ASSOCIATION — ElfCTRIC UOHT 
PLANT — SAVANNA TOWNSHIP — SHANNON — GRAIN 
MARKET — LUMBER — THE SHANNON TELEPHONE 
COMPANY — SHANNON TOWNSHIP — FIRST SET- 
TLERS — THE WHEAT tROP — FIRST THRESH- 
ING MACHINES. 

SAVANNA CITY 

The oldest town in the county the early his- 
tory of which has been fully written in another 
chapter of this history. The federal census of 
1910 gave the population at 3,G91, an increase 
of 366 during the preceding decade. Elevation 
above sea level, 592 feet. 

BUILDINGS 

The business portion of the city is built up 
with fine buildings and solid business blocks. 
The main street is paved with hard brick and 
other streets macadamized, some of them 
beyond the city limits; it has several miles of 
cement sidewalk; a fine system of water works 
supplied by two artesian wells and recently the 
city has commenced to build a sewerage system, 
which will be a great convenience to the inhabi- 
tants of the city. 

It has an electric light plant owned and oper- 
ated by private enterprise. 

It has a commodious public school building 
which was erected in 1870, and in 1903 a sub- 
stantial township high school building was 
erected in Savanna at a cost of forty thousand 
dollars. 

It has a fine public library occupying a spacious 
new building, under the efficient charge of Miss 
Emma Bowen, librarian, the funds for which 
were donated by Mr. Carnegie. It was first or- 



Digitized by 



Google 



722 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



ganized as the Savanna Circulating Library As- 
sociation in 1875. 

Savanna was incorporated as a city in 1874. 
The first Mayor under the new city charter was 
Medard Dupuis. The present Mayor is Charles 
Jenks. 

At the first election under the new charter 
there was an animated contest between the li- 
cense and anti-license people. The contest was 
very close but the license ticket was elected by 
a small majority and Savanna has had saloons 
nearly every year since. There are now some 
twenty-one in number and each of them pays a 
license fee of five hundred dollars annually. 
They carry on such an extensive business that 
it tends greatly to the demoralization of a con- 
siderable number of the citizens of Savanna as 
well as the people of the neighboring towns and 
the surrounding country. 

Savanna has a progressive business men's as- 
sociation, called the Savanna Improvement As- 
sociation, "Organized for increasing the indus- 
trial and business growth of Savanna, Illinois." 
Mr. J. S. Williams is President ; W. L. Brerton, 
Secretary ; Charles K. Miles, Treasurer. Savanna 
is a division point of two great railroad sys- 
tems, the C. M. & St. Paul and the C. B. & Q., 
and being located on the Mississippi river its 
shipping facilities are unsurpassed by any town 
in the county. 

A large portion of the adult male population 
of the city are employees of the railroads and 
thousands of dollars are paid monthly to these 
people, the pay roll of the C. M. & St. Paul 
being nearly half a million dollars annually. 

The same road has just completed a very 
fine station building beautifully furnished on the 
inside and equipped with every modern con- 
venience, and is making other extensive Im- 
provements in anticipation of an increase of 
business, principally on account of through traf- 
fic from the Pacific coast. 

BANKS 

Savanna has two banks and a Savings Build- 
ing and Loan Association. 

The First National bank began as a private 
partnership bank. The gentlemen composing It 
were O. P. Miles, Uriah Green, Henry Ash way, 
John Mackay, Duncan Mackay, all of Mount 
Carroll, and Dr. Woodruff and George Hay of 
Savanna, all now deceased. George Hay was 



the cashier for about eight years. They adver- 
tised as being supported by an individual liabil- 
ity of two hundred thousand dollars, which was 
quite correct as nearly all these gentlemen were 
the wealthiest in the count^p 

This bank was afterward incorporated as the 
Savanna State bank, July 14th, 1891, with a 
capital of fifty thousand dollars and new 8to<^- 
holders taken In, most of whom were from Sav- 
anna. Later it was changed to the First Nation- 
al bank. A savings department was added with 
the same stockholders and officers as the National 
bank. Charles K. Miles who was Its cashier for 
many years Is now its president. William S. 
Wallace, cashier, and Frank Steadman, assistant 
cashier. 

The Commercial State bank was organized and 
Incorporated June 9th, 1902, with a capital of 
$25,000, afterward Increased to $50,000. It also 
has a savings department. Its officers are 
George N. Machen, President ; W. L. Westbrook ; 
Cashier; Bruce Machen, Ast. Cashier. 

The Savanna Homestead Loan association 
was organized in 1886 ; ten years later it was re- 
organized under the state law and called the 
Savanna Savings, Building and Loan associa- 
tion. F. S. Greenleaf has for many years been its 
secretary and through his management In that 
capacity It has been a marked success. It is the 
only institution of the kind In the county and 
has been very useful In aiding many of the citi- 
zens to build and own their houses. A. P. Wood- 
ruff Is President and C. K. Miles, Treasurer. 

TELEPHONE COMPANY 

The Independent Telephone Company was in- 
corporated as a Stock Company in 1892, with a 
capital of $75,000, by Mr. Frank Zinnel who be- 
fore that time had either built or bought an 
exchange in every town in the county. In 
May, 1904, it increased its capital stock to $150,- 
000. Mr. Zinnel Is president and general man- 
ager and L. S. Bowen, secretary of this company. 
It has In the neighborhood of three thousand 
subscribers in the county, most of them living 
in Savanna and the western part of the county. 

MANUFACTURING 

Savanna has very little manufacturing for a 
city of its size and with such unparalleled ad- 
vantages for shipping goods to every point of 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



723 



the compass. In early days there were several 
sawmills which manufactured lumber from logs 
taken from the river, but these enterprises al- 
though tbey prospered for a while, were not 
able to compete, by the use of steam, with the 
great lumber mills in other places, some of which 
were run by water power, and so they languished 
and eventually closed. 

EARLY MANUFACTORIES 

The most extensive of these was M. Dupuis* 
steam saw, shingle and lath mills. They were 
located immediately on the banks of the Mis- 
sissippi river. When the mill was running logs 
were taken from the rirer by machinery. These 
were bought in rafts that were brought down 
the river from the pineries. He manufactured 
into lumber perhaps twenty-five million feet 
and sold from thirty to forty thousand dollars 
worth annually. In 1852 his sales amounted 
to fifty thousand dollars. This was before the 
days of railroads, when people came to Savanna 
for lumber all the way from Rockford, Freeport 
and all the surrounding country. In 1853 and 
1854 he maintained a lumber yard at Freeport 
where his sales were large. 

Morse and Dr. Wolf had an extensive flouring 
mill at one time which was well sustained in 
Savanna city. 

In 1865 S. J. Herman and J. A. Stranskey 
had wagon and machine shops on a large scale 
and gave employment to a number of mechanics. 
Their business prospered at the commence- 
ment but misfortune overtook them. In No- 
vember, 1873, their entire establishment was 
burned. 

FISHING 

A number of men whose homes are in Sav- 
anna are engaged in this industry. 

They catch the fish with seines and various 
kinds of nets, some of them now using boats 
propelled by gasoline engines. Quantities of 
the fish are shipped to distant markets in the 
east and many are sold by local peddlers in the 
adjoining country. 

BBEWEBIES 

Savanna had at one time two breweries but 
only one survives. In early days there was a 
distillery where whiskey and high wines were 



made from com and rye but it was unable to 
compete with larger concerns elsewhere. 

NEWSPAPEBS 

Charles Allen, a printer from Fteeport, started 
the first newspaper in Savanna in 1854, and 
called \t The Register. It was edited by 
Smith D. Atkins of Freeport After a few 
months the owner sold the paper to Mr. Grat- 
ton who removed the plant elsewhere. 

The Savanna Times was established by J. 
William Mastin and for the first ten weeks ^ it 
was printed at the office of the Shannon Gazette 
at Shannon. The first issue printed in Savanna 
was that of September 11th, 1875, at which time 
the equipment of the Shannon Gazette was moved 
to Savanna and Simon Greenleaf and Mastin 
continued to publi&Th the paper until March, 
1876, when Greenleaf bought Mastin's interest 
in the paper and became the editor and pro- 
prietor which position he held until 1884 when 
the paper passed into other hands. In 1895 the 
daily edition was commenced and has been con- 
tinued down to the present date. In 1907, 
Miss L. M. Frazer became the editor of the 
paper and Hon W. W. Gillespie the publisher. 
The paper has always been republican in politics. 
It is now conducted by J. E. Humbert. 

The Savanna Journal was started by Frank 
Greenleaf in 1885, and he has been its owner and 
publisher ever since. It is the only democratic 
paper in the county and occupies the finest and 
best equipped newspaper office in the county. 

EARLY SETTLERS 

Amopg the early settlers of Savanna prior 
to 1850, were Aaron Pierce. George Davidson, 
Vance L, Davidson and William Blundle and 
their families. They had gone to Galena during 
the excitement upon the discovery of the lead 
mines. The location of Savanna was then 
known as the "Council Bluffs of the Upper Mis- 
sissiM)i." An old council house built by the In- 
dians was there and was occupied by the Pierce 
family as a frontier hotel and may be said to 
hSive been the first hotel or tavern in the county 
as stopping places for travelers were then called. 
The exact location of this council house, as near 
as can be determined now, was on a plat of 
ground directly above or north of the residence 
of the late Medard Dupuis. 



Digitized by 



Google 



724 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



Two years afterward John Bernard and three 
others. Hays, Corbin and Robinson, Joined these 
first settlers. Luther H. Bowen, David L. Bowen 
and Nathan Lord came In 1835 ; Dr. E. Woodruff, 
John Orr, and John Fuller, 1837 ; W. L. B. Jenks, 
1838; Hank Hopkins, Hez^iah Frances and 
Benjamin Church, 1839; Fred Chambers, who 
was born in England and afterwards became 
interested in the powder mills on Plum river, 
1840 ; Capt. J. B. Rhodes, 1841 ; he was bom of 
pioneer parents in Ohio, after clerking for 
about a year he went back to Ohio and brought 
weSt a large drove of sheep. After disposing 
of these he was engaged in business in Savanna 
until 1852, when he bought an interest in the 
steamboat "Martha,'* No. 2, and was engaged in 
the steamboat business until he retired from 
active business engagements. In 1846, he was 
married to Mary Jane Pierce who was the first 
white child bom in the county, she it is said 
was bom in the old Indian council house. 

No steps were taken to build a town at the 
present location of Savanna, until 1836, when 
Luther H. Bowen, having the year before bought 
the claim of George Davidson and Aaron Pierce, 
caused a survey and plat of the proposed town 
of Savanna to be made and the same to be re- 
corded in the recorder's office at Galena, Illinois, 
on the 28th February, 1839. 

Mr. Bowen, the same year opened a general 
store and established a ferry near the mouth of 
Plum river, which was necessary in times of 
high water, when the river could not be forded, 
bridges were not thought of in the early days. 
At such times the ferry was the only way Sa- 
vanna could be reached by team from the east 
6nd south. 

FIRST SCHOOL TEACHER 

Miss Hannah Fuller, sister of John Fuller^ 
who came to Savanna in 1837, was the first school 
teacher. Dr. Ellas Woodruff was the first doctor. 
He also taught school. 

REUOIOUS ORGANIZATIONS 

The Methodist people were the first to organ- 
ize a church society. They had religious serv- 
ices as early as 1836. Both the Davidson and 
Blundel families were Methodists and in 1838 
the Ashby family, devout Methodists, arrived 
and from that time on the Methodist denomina- 



tion has fiourished in Savanna. The Congre- 
gational, Presbyterian, Catholic, Free Methodist, 
Baptist and Church of the Latter Day Saints 
have been organized in Savanna in the order 
named and each have places of worship, some 
of which are very handsome and commodious 
church edifices. 

BUSINESS FIRMS 

Fifty-five years ago, (1857) when Savanna 
was designated as the terminus of the Racine 
and Mississippi Railroad, the people had great 
expectations and Savanna was a very flourish- 
ing town. At that time the following were the 
principal business men: M. B. and H. C. Pierce, 
Orr and Tomlinson, W. S. Pease, Rhodes & Co., L. 
W. Bemis, and others were engaged in the dry- 
goods and grocery business; Bowen and Cham- 
berlin, produce merchants; Dr. E. Woodruff, 
druggist; D. L. Bowen, machinist; James Irvine 
& Co., and M. Dupuls, lumber merchants with 
steam saw-mills ; L. D. Pierce and C. W. Fuller, 
proprietors of well conducted hotels. 

Savanna has the usual number of societies, 
all of which are in a flourishing condition. 
Among these is the Sa\-anna Boat Club, of whldi 
Edward Hendricks is Commodore and P. M. Fer- 
guson, Secretary. Many of the citizens of Sav- 
anna take a great deal of pleasure in boating on 
the river. They have summer cottages at 
beautiful places on either bank of the river. 
There are about forty gasoline launches on the 
river some of which are very fast-going crafts. 

CEMETERY ASSOCIATION 

The Savanna Cemetery Association, was in- 
corporated by a special act of the Legislature, 
passed February 15, 1855. The incorporators 
were. Luther H. Bowen, Reuben H. Gray, John 
B. Rhodes, Daniel P. Holt, Henry B. Harmon, 
Porter Sargeant, and Enoch Chamberlain. 

A short time since some of the patriotic women 
of Savanna undertook to raise funds to erect 
within this cemetery a soldier's monument; no 
doubt some time this will be done. 

SAVANNA TOWNSHIP 

Population, excluding the city of Savanna, cen- 
sus 1910, six hundred and sixty-six. It is 
bounded on the west by the Mississippi river 



Digitized by 



Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 




Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



727 



the close of the war, after which he engaged in 
the insurance business in Shannon. 

WHEAT CHOP 

In the early days of the settlement of Shannon 
Township, wheat was the main crop and as the 
country rapidly settled the prairies became one 
great wheat field. At first they raised fall wheat, 
but soon changed to spring wheat. Threshing 
machines at first were crude affairs. The ma- 
chine was loaded with grain, then a drive about 
the field was made usually in a circle, the straw 
was scattered over the field until the load was 
threshed; for this service the threshers took a 
toll of one bushel in ten. Ira Moats, who after- 
ward lived west of Polo, had the first thresher 
in his locality. In later years the farmers about 
Shannon raised a great deal of barley ; now com 
and oats are the principal crops as in other 
parts of the county. 



CHAPTER XV. 



VILLAGE OF THOMSON— TOWNSHIPS 
YORK, WASHINGTON AND 
WOODLAND. 



OF 



THOMSON — CBEAMEBIES — MELON MARKET — CEN- 
TENNIAL CELEBRATION — YORK TOWNSHIP — FIRST 
SETTLEMENT — BLUFFVILLE — FIRST FAIR^ARGO — 
LAWYERS AND MINISTERS — OLD POINT BLUFF — 

WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP — EARLY SETTLERS 

WOLVES — ARNOLD'S LANDING — ^PORTSMOUTH — 
MARCUS TRAIN ROBBERY — WOODLAND TOWNSHIP 
— SAW-MILLS — HAY FAMILY — CHEESE FACTORY. 

THOMSON • 

The villajje of Thomson is In the southwest 
part of the county in York Township in the cen- 
ter of a very beautiful valley, about four miles 
in width, bounded Ly the Mississippi river on 
the west and a high range of bluffs on the east. 
On the north and south what was once a level 



prairie, is now dotted all over with well cul- 
tivated farms, handsome houses and large barns. 
It stretches away as far as the eye can see in 
either direction. 

Thomson was started as a station on the 
Warsaw, Rock Island and Galena Railroad. The 
original plat of the town was made December 3, 
1864, by G. A. Thomson, who was connected 
with the Western Union Railroad, which was 
afterward taken into the Chicago, Milwaukee 
and St. Paul system. 

The main line of the Chicago, Burlington and 
Quincy railroad from St. Paul to St Louis 
passes through the town, which gives it un- 
usual shipping facilities. In consequence its buy- 
ers have always paid the highest price of any 
market in the county for farm products. 

The first building erected on the town plat 
was the Thomson House, which is still used as 
a hotel, now under the management of Uriah 
Pratt, formerly of Mount Carroll. 

The first regular train of cars passed through 
Thomson, January 12, 1865. A few years after- 
ward Norman D. French and Noah Green became 
proprietors of the town site and laid out addi- 
tions thereto. 

The first school taught in Thomson was in 
1805 and Miss Brown, daughter of Noah Brown, 
was the teacher. It now has a school building 
with four rooms, that cost eig^t thousand dollars. 

Thomson has grown rapidly the last few years 
and it is now a village of nearly six hundred in- 
habitants. FetU^riii roEistiK of IftlO. 437, 

It has thre<^ <'imrrtifl% two iihysiHnns, one 
jewelry store, uT^M^I^TQfor, tbre^'coiU dealers, 
one harness aii-rT* iitid <nu* jnwit mutki*t» two 
restaurants aiid i^^ hukori**. ThiSe grocery 
stores and one i»iuik; iVi> Liurlier shops. *fi:B milli- 
nery shop, and ov\v ifr^tipaw^jttid printing of- 
fice, established by ?T. D.4^u^ii 181)4. 

CREAMERIES 

Thomson has tu-o creameries, adjacent to the 
town on the east. This locality is noted as 
among the most advanced dairy sections of the 
state. 

MELON MARKET 

Fi-oni here melons are shipped to all the sur- 
rounding cities by train loads, sometimes as far 
aorth as St. Paul and the Dakotas and South to 



Digitized by 



Google 



728 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



Mobile, Alabama. Since Muscatine bas fallen 
off in tbe melon industry* Thomson bas become 
better known as a melon center than any otber 
locality in the middle west. The annual out-put 
is about two hundred and fifty car loads, valued 
at thousands of dollars. For other int^esting 
facts in regard to Thomson, see York Township. 
Thomson is six hundred and six feet above 
the sea level, being fourteen feet higher than 
Savanna and a little over three hundred feet 
lower than Shannon. 

CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION 

The Thomson and York centennial celebration 
1876, was a notable event John A. Melendy, 
who was one of the pioneer settlers, came from 
Vermont in 1844 with one span of horses, his 
wife and his dog. On arriving here he went to 
work for Norman D. French at twelve* dollars 
a month and his wife for one dollar a week. 

For the purpose of this celebration he and 
Capt. S. S. Dunn procured a cannon from the 
arsenal at Rock Island, putting up five hundred 
dollars as security for its safe return. The au- 
thorities at the U. S. Arsenal sent CJorporal 
Casey along t9 take care of the cannon. John 
Spires of York, who had seen service in the 
Artillery in the war for the Union, did most 
of the firing. The cannon was placed on the 
high bluff that over looks the valley in which 
Tliomson is situated. The gunners took delight 
in awakening the inhabitants of the whole town- 
ship of York, as the reveberations of the firing of 
this big gun echoed from blttff to bluff across 
the wide valley. Josiah B. Cushman was chief 
marshal of the day and marched the entire 
population of the village up to the front of the 
bluff where all gathered to listen to the program 
under the shade of the oaks. 

Norman D. French presided. The orators of 
the day were W. J. Bailey of York, since con- 
gressman and governor of Kansas, and Daniel 
and Henry Mackay of Oakville. All three on 
this occasion delivered their maiden Fourth of 
July orations. Father Cushman read a history 
of York Township, no one could have done it 
better. He lived to be an octogenarian in the 
town of his adoption and is quoted today as 
having written the most accurate history of York 
township. 



YORK TOWNSHIP 



BY HENRT B. PABSONS 



York townsliip consists of one town and a 
fraction, having forty wiiole sections and six 
fractional sections, caused by the uneven course 
of the Mississippi river, which bounds the town- 
ship on the west 

The surface of York township varies greatly. 
The west shore line along the river, consists of 
bayous and islands covered with pin oaks, birch, 
maple and other soft woods, but not large enough 
for profitable saw timber. A line of bluffs about 
three to four miles from the river, extends north 
to south through the town, excepting a brealL of 
one mile in the center. The bluffs vary in 
height from one hundred to two hundred feet 
partly covered with forests of oak and red 
cedar. The rock foundation of the bluffs con- 
sists mostly of sandstone upon a basis of Qalena 
and Niagara Ihnestone. Between the bluffs and 
the river the surface is partly level, a black 
bottom land of exceeding richness, the remainder 
being a ridge of sand mostly used for growing 
melons and rye. East of the bluffs, composing 
more than one half the township, the surface is 
undulating excepting a valley bordering the 
Johnson Creek, the only stream of any size in 
the township. The soil of the prairies ranges 
from light gravelly and fiinty knolls to rich 
black soil with a few sections of clay soil. 

THOMSON 

The only incorporated village in York is 
Thomson, having two railroads, the Chicago, 
Milwaukee and St. Paul and the Chicago, Bur- 
lington and Quincy. Near the northern boundary 
is the hamlet of Argo, but designated by the C. 
M. & St Paul Railroad, which has a switch here, 
as Fay. Near the eastern boundary is also a 
hamlet known as Ideal. Where the break in 
the bluffs occurs Is a bold sharp point known as 
"Point of Bluff," also called Bluffvllle^ being the 
place of first settlement In the town. 

FIBST SETTLEMENT 

Here Norman D. French made the first claim in 
1835, his land lying mostly west of the bluff. 
French built a cabin in 1837 and raised his first 
crop the following year, living on the farm until 
his death. Mr. French held the offices of Poet- 



Digitized by 



Google 





Digiti 



zed by Google 



.'*o 



\ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



729 



master, Justice of the Peace, County Commis- 
sioner, Collector, Supervisor and was a member 
of the 29th General Assembly. The entire tax 
of York at that time was about two hundred 
doUars, while in 1910 It is over one hundred and 
sev^ity-five thousand. 

William Dyson and Russel Colvin settled at 
Bluffville in 1837, Russell Colvin buUt the 
first sawmill, in the town, on Johnson's Creek 
in 184a Mason French also settled at Bluff- 
ville about this time, erecting a house of brick 
made upon the farm. The first school was held 
at BlufiPvUle, Levi Kent is considered as being 
the first teacher, although Elizabeth Thornton, 
taught in 1835. 

Col. Beers Tomlinson settled at the north 
boundary line in 1838, but having land in Mt. 
Carroll Township became more identified with 
Mount Carroll. Joshua Bailey located at the ex- 
treme northeast comer of York In 1839, and in 
1851 built the first church, this church being a 
Baptist church, built at Argo with Emmert 
Ingham as first pastor. The Methodist soci- 
ety also used the house, the Rev. Campbell be- 
ing one of the earliest pastors. Other very early 
settlers on the northern boundary, were the 
Lamb brothers, Chauncey, Garrett and E)mory. 
Cornelius Shoemaker settled in the southern part 
of York in 1839. About 1844 John Melendy lo- 
cated south of Bluffville taking up a large tract 
of land, his son J, A. Melendy being postmaster 
at Bluffville from 1853 to 1859. George N. Me- 
lendy, grandson of John Melendy, now owns 
the original entry. From this date of settlemwit 
until 1850, a large number of settlers came from 
Vermont and New York, the French and Me- 
lendy families having come from Vermont while 
the Baileys and Lambs emigrated from New 
YoTlc. Of the best known of these was Heman 
Edgerly from Vermont settling in 1840 at Bluff- 
ville; having been preceded by William Carroll 
coming from Virginia In 1835 taking land west of 
Argo, also Eben Balcom who located south of 
Argo. 

BLUFFVILLE 

Heman Edgerly kept a tavern and store at 
Bluffville being the main supply for travelers go- 
ing south from Savanna, or north from B\ilton 
crosshig, In the early days there was also a 
blacksmith shop and post office at Bluffville. 

Others who settled just before or after 1850: 
a Vanvechten at Argo, the Dunshees, G. Pape, 

8 



the Coles, one of whom, John Cole, was assessor 
for York about thirty years and was known 
through the whole county ; D. Leavens, G. Dwin- 
uell, the Athertons, Peter Holman, the Greens 
and Taylors. 

FIBST FAIR 

The first agricultural fair of Carroll County was 
held in York one half mile east of Argo at the 
Monroe Bailey farm, now owned by W. D. Gold- 
Ing. The fair was held the first Thursday of 
October, 1854; the entries not being extensive, 
and ladling buildings the horses were fastened 
to posts and the cattle k^t in pens. The above 
mentioned farm was the birth place of W. J. 
Bailey, who became a member of congress from 
Kansas and was governor of Kansas for one 
term and is now a leading banker at Atchi- 
son, Kansas. Not the first but nearly so was 
a grist-mill at Bluffville, which had been moved 
there from Jacol)stown, managed for many years 
by Israel Pettit, noted for his shrewd sayings 
and wit ; the mill pond was a recreation spot for 
X)eople from a great distance. 

THOMSON VILLAGE 

The village of Thomson in York, was laid out 
in 1864, it was a station of liie Western rail- 
road, now the C. M. & St Paul. The first house 
was built by Norman Judson ; it was constructed 
of grout. The first principal buildings were the 
Thomson House, now the Pratt House and some 
store rooms on Main street. Regular trains be- 
gan running In January in 1865, using wood for 
engine fuel. A lucrative business was done in 
supplying wood for that purpose. W. C. Brown, 
president of the New York Central railroad 
began his railroad work here cording wood 
along the track. His father, (Rev. Charles 
Brown), was a Baptist preacher living in Thom- 
son and preaching at Argo and at the church 
two miles east of Thomson. Another son, 
George Brown, was killed while in the employ 
of the road. 

The first warehouse was moved from Savanna 
in 1865, has since been rebuilt and is now man- 
aged by the Neola Elevator Company. At various 
times the elevator has been in the hands of the 
following grain buyers: Noah Green, Norman 
Lewis, J. Melendy and William Stark, the great- 
est amount of business was done while managed 
by Mr. Lewis in the seventies, thousands of 



Digitized by 



Google 



730 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



bushels of grain being received each day. 
Norman Lewis was for many years prominent 
in business and politics. He serred three years 
in the civil war being promoted to First Lieu- 
tenant. Was supervisor from York Township 
for a number of years> also a member of the 
Illinois Legislature. 

The first school taught in Thomson was in 
1865, Miss Brpwn being the teacher, the dis- 
trict then containing five legal voters, three 
of whom were school directors. At the present 
time a good three-room building is overfiowing 
with pupils and the revenue from the rail- 
roads causes the school tax to be very small. 

There are two churches in Thomson, the 
Christian, erected in 1866-67, and the Method- 
ist E)i>iscopal, in 1870. The pastors of the 
Christian church have been Rev. Sweaney, 
Bleakesly, Carpenter, Mrs. Babcock, Miss Very 
and the present pastor. Rev. Swarenson. 

The pastors of the Methodist church have been 
Reverends Campbell, Best, Hinks, Hoffman, 
Hicks, Clay, and the present pastor. Rev. Jones. 

For years the Masons occupied the front in 
the secret societies and mostly dominated the 
politics of the town, but of late years have been 
obliged to divide honors with the Knights of 
Pythias, the Odd Fellows, the Woodmen, Mystic 
Workers and the allied branches at female soci- 
eties. At present the societies do not attempt 
to control politics to any great extent. 

Thomson has one bank, with a nominal capital 
of $20,000 that amount representing the in- 
dividual liability of the members of the firm. 
Mr. H. S. Peck is president, and Miss Tlllie 
M. Dugard is cashier. 

There is one meat market, three general 
stores, two hardware and implement stores, 
three restaurants, one drug store, one livery 
stable and the usual number of shops. 

One of the first physicians was Dr. N. Steven- 
son and others have been Merritt L. Saunders, 
D. Finlayson, W. Durkee and the present firm 
of Melugin and Sagner. The junior member 
of this firm is Miss Sagner who never shirks 
her duty as a practicing physician, she re- 
sponds to all calls in all kinds of weather, 
when necessary drives her own team or auto 
as occasion may require. Another quite noted 
practitioner of York was Miss Harriet Ni- 
chols, who married Charles Schmeling. is 
now a widow and lives in Fulton where she en- 



joys a lucrative practice and the couOd<*i;<^ 
and esteem of a large circle of acquaintances. 

Dr. Stevenson, enlisted as many others didt 
from York, to help put down the Rebellion, and 
became surgeon of the regiment. Soon after re- 
turning from the army he died. His widow, 
Mary Jane Stevenson, was noted in her day 
as a ready writer, contributing many artldes 
for the magazines, especially Arthur*s Home 
Magazine published in Philadeli^ia. She re- 
moved in an early day with her family to the 
northwest where some of her children took up 
homesteads; one of them in later years follow- 
ing the profession of his distinguished father. 

ABOO 

The hamlet of Argo, situated mostly in sec- 
tion two was first known as the Bailey settle- 
ment, the postofllce being located for years one 
mile south of the present site. William Balcom 
was postmaster for about thirty years, being 
succeeded when the ofllce was moved to Argo 
by W. H. Turner who filled the oflSce until the 
free delivery was established. 

For years the only buildings at Argo were the 
Baptist church, Alonzo Fuller's shoeshop and 
J. Morgan*s blacksmith shop. At present there 
are two stores, one shop, school house and 
Methodist church. 

The C. M. & St. Paul R. R. have a switch 
here and handle carload lots but give no reg- 
ular train service. 

For many years a postofllce was maintained 
near the eastern boundary of York on section 
twenty-seven, with Henry Homedew as post- 
master and it was known as Johnson creek 
postofllce. It was moved north alK>ut two 
miles and renamed Ideal, then gave way to 
the free delivery. 

Ideal has now two stores, school house and 
Evangelical church but no railroad. 

The Baptist church at Argo and the so called 
Dunshee church were formerly one but the Argo 
church, for lack of membership, sold the build- 
ing and are represented at the other branch. 
The principal preachers of the Baptist church 
have been Emmert Ingram, Revs. Scott, Root, 
B. F. Humphrey, Charles Brown, Lansing, Gil- 
bert, Robins, Bucher and the present pastor 
Rev. Lynds. 



Digitized by 



Google 




Q^^:^^^:.,^,J^^<4'U^^^^^ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 









Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



731 



IAWYEB8 AND MINI8TEB8 

Those wbo have li^ed in York and became 
lawyers are Frank Donshee, now in Des Moines, 
Iowa, John Senneff, now in Britt, Iowa, and 
H. R. Parsons, retired. 

Those of York who entered the ministry are 
Frank Gardner, now deceased, William Pratt, 
now in California, Samuel Olds, Horton Green 
and A« Burr. 

Those in York related to famous men are 
Daniel Webster of Thomson, a farmer, a great- 
nephew of Daniel Webster, the statesman, also 
William Livingston a relative of David Liv- 
ingston, the explorer. 

To the first settlers, to the present citizens, 
to the strangers who visit us, and to those com- 
ing afterward, a place of interest is the rugged 

OLD POINT OF BLUFT. 

A familiar land mark is Old Point of Bluff, 
Seamed and worn, and rugged and rough. 
For ages it stood o*erlooking the plain 
Through winter's snow and summer's rain. 
Strange things it's seen since the world was 

.new. 
Wild fowls by thousands o'er the common flew ; 
Cnmarked was all by the work of man, 
Wolf and deer then at freedom ran. 
Strange things has the old bluff seen. 
Watching from river to hills the land between. 
Time lengthening into months and to years, 
Grand in its londiness a stranger to fears. 
A race it has seen fade from their home, 
Whose signal fires once flared from its dome. 
New pec^le it's seen invade the new land, 
And roads winding round where trails marked 

the sand, 
A story it knows of projects and towns spring- 
ing forth, 
Railroads and steamers traversing the North 

and the South, 
Yes, knows this land better than we its owners 

can, 
Has known it since first the broad river ran ; 
May the pioneer's sons have ever an honest 

pride. 
In this sentinel firm, scanning the country wide, 
Its bold front face with wood crested mane. 
Whose top each rising sun crowns in glory 

again. 
It has stood for ages, and for ages will stand, 



Daylight, moonlifi^t, in darkness guarding the 

land, 
A lion couchant, the monarch of all he surveys. 
The one thing unchanged since ancient days. 

H. R. P. 

WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP 

Washington township is in the northwest 
comer of the county. Population 1910, 581. It 
was not generally settled as soon as the east- 
em portion of the county not being located on 
any line of travel in early days, and bordering 
on the Mississippi river, it is broken up into 
hills and valleys and sparsely wooded, but well 
adapted to stock raising. 

EABLY SETTLERS 

There were a few early settlers however, 
among whom was Mason C. Taylor. He came 
to Savanna in 1827, and selected land in Wash- 
ington Township on which he made an attempt 
to settle, but the Indians being troublesome he 
went to Galena for a time and returning about 
1829 became a permanent resident on his land. 
His wife Mary Cummings was from Pennsyl- 
vania. He was twice coroner of the county and 
served three terms on the board of supervisors. 
He was a volunteer in the Black Hawk war. A 
man of austere character in regard to what he 
believed to be morally wrong, he was a tem- 
perate man in his habits and lived to the ripe 
old age of eighty-four. (Old Settlers Record 
page 120.) Another of the first settlers was 
Milas C. Robinson who came here in 1833. 
His son John A., married Miss Lydia Hatfield 
whose father was one of the early settlers in 
Washington Township, one of his daughters mar- 
ried Frederick Miller, father of John W. Mil- 
ler, supervisor of Washington Township to whom 
we are indebted for the following incident. 

WOLVES 

His father Frederick Miller, enlisted in the 
92nd Illinois Volunteer Infantry and was killed 
in a battle. This left his mother with three 
small children and with little means. She put 
up a shanty herself, and . liv^ in it on the 
farm ; the wolves were very ferocious and trou- 
blesome, they carried away their only turkey 
gobbler and would prowl around at night. To 



Digitized by 



Google 



732 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



frigbten them away the children would pour 
gunpowder In the palms of their, hands and set 
it off with a coal of fire on the end of a stick, 
the flash throiigh the cracks in the house and the 
smell of the smoke of the powder would frighten 
away the wolves. 

ABNOLD*S LANDING 

Arnold's landing is in this township on the 
Mississippi river ; in early days it was of almost 
as much importance as Savanna was at that 
time. 

Stephen N. Arnold in 1833 or *34, came to 
this part of the county and gave his name to 
this landing on the Mississippi river; he was 
appointed by the county Board of Ck)mmission- 
ers to serve on the first grand jury, 1839. The 
land on which he settled afterward became the 
property of John Robinson. 

PORTSMOUTH 

Portsmouth on section eleven near the mouth 
Of Apple river was laid out as a town and 
"threatened to crowd Savanna off the map*' as 
an old settler expressed it 

MABCUS 

Marcus, where the noted train robbery on the 
Burlington railroad occurred is In this town- 
ship, about four miles north of Savanna. The 
train attack occurred on the night of the 5th 
of August, 1902. Five men were engaged in this 
robbery. They stopped the train with a red 
light signal, put the engineer and fireman under 
guard, uncoupled the express car and engine 
and ran it up the track, blew open the safe with 
nitroglycerine and rified the contents. One of 
the men was accidentally shot by the discharge 
of the gun of his companion. They uncoupled 
the engine from the express car and attempted 
to make their escape with their wounded com- 
panion, but believing him to be mortally wounded 
they killed him and threw his body from the 
engine. The dead man was afterwards identi- 
fied and two of the robbers caught. At Apple 
river bridge they abandoned the engine letting 
it run on until it stopped beyond Hanover. The 
men escaped in a skiff at Apple river. 

While in the Carroll County jail the prison- 
ers made several desperate attempts to escape 



but their efforts were thwarted by the vigilance 
of sheriff, D. B. Doty. They were convicted of 
highway robbery with deadly weapons and sen- 
tenced to the state penitentiary for life. 

WOODLAND TOWNSHIP 

The last census placed the population of 
Woodland at 794. It is a timbered country and 
was first occupied by William Thomson and 
Moses Wootan. Uriah Green settled in this 
township in 1837 and became a very extensive 
farmer and stock raiser and was one of the wealth- 
iest men in the county at the time of his death. 
The Hendersons and the Gills came to the town- 
ship in 1842 or *43; Mathias Watson, 1841, and 
William Davis the same year. He was bom In 
West Virginia and came to Vermillion County, 
Illhiols in 1824. He lived with his parents on 
Indian Creek, six miles from Ottawa where his 
father was building at the commencem^it of the 
Indian War. All the neighbors had gone to 
Ottawa except two families who were at his 
father's cabin. They were attadced by the In- 
dians and his father and mother, two brothers 
and two sisters with several others were mas- 
sacred. Mr. Davis and his brother, Stephen, 
escaped. When he came to Woodland he ran a 
saw-mill, one of the first, in the county. This 
probably was the Emmert Mill built at West 
Point and Plum river by David Emmert in 1842. 

SAW-MILLS 

These saw mills, although very primitive, were 
a great saving of labor in the sawing of logs 
into boards and other kinds of sawed timber 
which otherwise would have to have been 
hewn. They were usually constructed as fol- 
lows: A dam and flume was built In the creek 
or river and the water shot down a planked 
flume twelve feet wide. A long straight white 
oak log was used for the axle of the wheel. 
Mortices were made through it In whldi cross 
bars were placed and on the ends of these bars 
wide planks were pinned, thus making a wheel 
with four paddles. The wheel was erected over 
the flume so that the edge of the plank moved 
close to the bottom of the flume. To the end 
of the axle an arm was fastened like the crank 
or handle to a chain pump, and to the end of this 
crank was attached one end of the pitman. The 
other end of the pitman had the saw attached. 



Digitized by 



Google 




FRANCES E. HACKER 



Digiti 



zed by Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



733 



It was hung in a long frame from which it got 
its name of a sash-saw to distinguish it from 
rotary saw. This frame ran in slides upon two 
heavy posts. The log to be sawed was placed 
on a frame and fed against the saw by means of 
levers worked by hand. The owner of the 
mill took half the lumber for sawing the logs. 

LEAD MINES 

Some of the early settlers were attracted to 
yVoodland township by the lead mines where a 
good deal of mineral was dug in early days. 
It was also found in the neighboring township 
of Mount Carroll. Among these men were Mor- 
gan Proce, (1844), Peter Hay (1851) and others. 
Lucius Douglas and W. D. GlUogly came to 
Woodland in 1844. Daniel Kingery first settled 
here and then bought a fine prairie farm in 
Salem township, which his son Andrew Kingery 
now owns. Elijah Funk for many years county 
surveyor had bought from the Government a 
large tract of land near the center of this town- 
ship thinking it much more Valuable than the 
fine prairie land which he surveyed in later 
years when the farms were worth many times 
the value of the land he had bought in early 
days in Woodland townstiip. 



THE HAY FAMILY 

Of the very early settlers of Woodland but 
few now remain and few of their descendants 
are left, the Hay family being about the only 
one. The others as time passed sold their farms 
and went west or settled in the towns pursuing 
other occupations than farming. Fifty years 
ago some wheat was raised in Woodland and a 
grist-mill near the Junction of the east and west 
branches of Plum river did considerable busi- 
ness grinding grain and making flour for home 
consumption. A saw-mill was operated in con- 
nection with the mill. Samuel Yantz first built 
the dam and mili in 1849, leased it to Harvey 
and Ranse Wilson^later of Elkhom Grove. He 
sold it to Abraham Polsgrove in 1855, who 
caused it to be torn down, and the dam was 
washed away by the fioods in the river. 

CHEESE FACTOBY 

In the northern part of this township is a 
cheese factory * which is operated on the co- 
operative plan by the neighborhood farmers. It 
has been a success and lias enabled them to 
market the milk from their cows at a fair 
profit. 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



CHAPTER XVI. 



THE PAET or BIO<»APHY IN GBNKEAL HISTOEY— 
CmZKNS OF CABROLL COUNTY AND OUTLINES OF 
PERSONAL HISTORY— PERSONAL SKETCHES AR- 
BANOBD IN ENCYCLOPEDIC ORDER. 

The verdict of mankind has awarded to the 
Muae of History the highest place among the 
Classic Nine. The extent of her oflftce, however, 
appears to be, by many minds, but imperfectly 
imderBtood. The task of the historian is compre- 
hensive and exacting. Tnie history reach^ be- 
yond the doings of court or camp, beyond the is- 
sue of battles or the effects of treaties, and re- 
cords the trials and the triumnhs, the failures 
and the successes of the men who make history. 
It is but an imperfect conception of the philoso- 
phy of events that fails to accord to portraiture 
and biography its rightful position as a part— 
and no unimportant part— of historic narrative. 
Behind and beneath the activities of outward life 
the motive power lies out of sight, just as the 
furnace fires that work the piston and keep the 
ponderous screw revolving down in the darkness 
of the ship's hold. So, the impulsive power which 
shapes the course of communities may be found 
in the moulding influences which form its citi- 

sens. 

It is no mere idle curiosity that prompts men 
to wish to learn the private, as well as the public, 
lives of their fellows. Bather is it true that such 
desire tends to prove universal brotherhood; and 
the interest in personality and biography is not 
confined to men of any particular case or voca- 
tion. 

The list of those, to whose lot it falls to play a 
conspicuous part in the great drama of life, is 
comparatively short; yet communities are made 
up of individuals, and the aggregate of achieve- 
ments—no less than the sum total of human hap- 
piness — is made up of the deeds of those men and 
women whose primary aim, through life, is faith- 
fully to perform the duty that comes nearest to 
hand. Individual influence upon human affairs 
will be considered potent or insignificant, accord- 
ing to the standpoint from which it is viewed. To 
him, who standing upon the seashore, notes the 
ebb and flow of the tide and listens to the sullen 
roar of the waves, as they break upon the beach 
in seething foam, seemingly chafing at their lim- 
itations, the ocean appears so vast as to need no 



tributaries. Tet, without the smallest rill that 
helps to swell the "Father of Waters," the mighty 
torrent of the Mississippi would be lessened, and 
the beneficent infiuenoe of the Qulf Stream di- 
minished. Countless streams, currents and coun- 
ter currents — sometimes mingling, sometimes 
counteracting each other — collectively combine to 
give motion to the accumulated mass of waters. 
So it is — and so must it ever be — in the ocean of 
human action, which is formed by the blending 
and repulsion of currents of thought, of infiuence 
and of life, yet more numerous and more tortu- 
ous than those which form the "fountains of the 
deep." The acts and characters of men, like the 
several faces that compose a composite picture, 
are wrought together into a compact or hetero- 
geneous whole. History is condensed biography; 
"Biography is History teaching by example." 

It is both interesting and instructive to rise 
above the generalization of history and trace, in 
the personality and careers of the men from 
whom it sprang, the principles and infiuences, the 
impulses and ambitions, the labors, struggles 
and triumphs that engross their lives. 

Here are recorded the careers and achieve- 
ments of pioneers who, "when the fuUness of time 
had come," came from widely separated sources, 
some from beyond the sea, impelled by divers 
motives, little conscious of the import of their 
acts, and but dimly anticipating the harvest 
which would spring from the sowing. They built 
their primitive homes, toiling for a present sub- 
sistence while laying the foundations of private 
fortunes and future advancement. 

Most of these have passed away, but not before 
they beheld a development of business and popu- 
lation surpassing the wildest dreams of fancy or 
ex})ectation. A few yet remain whose years have 
passed the allotted three-score and ten, and who 
love to recount, among the cherished memories 
of their Jiitea, their reminiscences of early days. 

[The following Itemi of personal and family hlstoiy. harlng been 
arranged in encyclopedic (or alphabetical) order as to namei of 
the individual subjects, no special index to this part of the work 
will be found necessary.] 

ACKER, John, a representative and self-made 
business man and public-spirited citizen of 
Savanna, is a native of Carroll county, born in 
Carroll township, October 30, 1870, a son of 
Conrad and Anna Barbara (Wacker) Acker, 
both from Gruss, Aus Altdorf, Germany. The 
father came to the United States about 1868 



735 



Digitized by 



Google 



736 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



and died about 1881, at tl^e age of sixty-three 
years. He located on a farm in Carroll county, 
where he spent the remainder of his life. His 
widow, who was much younger than he, still 
suryives. John was the eldest of their five 
children, the others being: Anna, who married 
Julius Heidt, a banker of Carthage, S. D.; 
William, who Is a resident of South Dakota; 
Rose, who married William Boothby, a farmer 
of Carroll county; Mina, who married Louis 
Getz, a farmer of Carroll county. 

When John Acker was eleven years of age, he 
lost his father and at that tender age began to 
bear the responsibilities of life. He was reared 
on a farm and educated in the district schools, 
remaining with his mother until he was twenty 
years of age. Following this he worked one 
year on the farm of his uncle, John Wacker, 
after which he made a trip west, spending 
about a year in the Dakotas. Heturning to 
Carroll county, he worked for a few years on 
the home farm, devoting considerable time to 
threshing. In 1892, he began working for the 
Milwaukee Railroad, and, after some changes, 
in 1897 re-entered the employ of this company. 
Still later he was engaged in farming for a 
time on his own account. In August, 1901, Mr. 
Acker located in Savanna, purchasing a piece 
of property there that was badly in need of 
repairs, and established himself in a business 
that has since proven very profitable. Within 
a few years of coming to the city, he was rec- 
ognized as one of the substantial men of the 
place, and began to branch out in other lines 
of endeavor, specializing on real estate ventures. 
He has shown excellent judgment in his in- 
vestments, and has made improvements of a 
valuable nature on his land, having recently 
erected the tenth building. He has undertaken 
a residence for himself, of a high class of archi- 
tecture, which contains modem sanitary and 
convenient appliances. The other buildings 
have all been residences or business houses. 

Since coming to Savanna Mr. Acker has 
made many warm friends, and has the entire 
confidence of his fellow-townsmen, as was dem- 
onstrated in the spring of 1909, when he was 
elected alderman of the First ward, by an 
overwhelming majority, the count showing 
about twice as many votes for him as for all 
other candidates combined. During the first 
year of his incumbency in this office, he was 
a member of the committee on sidewalks, and 



many improvements were made during this 
time. He later was chairman of the committee 
on streets, and the condition of the thorough- 
fares of the little city speaks well for the ac- 
tivity and faithfulness of this body. Mr. 
Acker has always stood for the progress and 
improvement of the community, not in his 
official capacity alone, but as a private citizen, 
his purse strings being always .loosened for the 
advancement of any worthy public cause. He 
is enterprising In business and in his private 
life is well known for his charities and benefac- 
tions, being one of the little band of citizens 
who labor constantly for the uplifting of con- 
ditions In their town, looking beyond the im- 
mediate needs of the people and preparing for 
the good of the next generation as well as the 
present. For two years Mr. Acker has been a 
delegate to the Upper Mississippi River Im- 
provement Association, the meetings being held 
at Winona and St. Paul, Minn. 

Mr. Acker was married, April 23, 1901, to 
Miss Emma Anna Hoffman, daughter of John 
Hoffman, a biography of whom appears in this 
volume. One daughter, Clara Alvlna, who 
was bom to this couple, July 27, 1905, is a 
bright and handsome child. 

ADAMS, Andrew B., was bom in the town of 
Woodland, Carroll county, August 12, 18(56, a 
son of James and Mary (Law) Adams. His 
early life was similar to that of any country 
boy in the home of an energetic pioneer In the 
early history of the county, he attending the 
country school during the winter months and 
during the summer, from early years, being a 
factor in the laborious work connected with 
the developing and carrying on of the farm. 
Amid these surroundings lessons of self-reli- 
ance and independence were thoroughly 
learned and have served him well through his 
many years of active industry and efficient 
public service. 

In 1881 Mr. Adams left the farm and came 
to Mount Carroll to leam the trade of a miller 
and mastered it in all its details, including the 
dressing of the mill stones then in use. In 
January, 1886, he met with a terrible accident 
in which his right arm was caught in the gear- 
ing in the mill and so severely injured that 
amputation near the shoulder became neces- 
sary. Fortunately within a few weeks, thanks 
to his splendid p' rslQue ar d rugged constitu- 



Digiti 



zed by Google 




-^ A , 



t V - - 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



', ■ . > I '* 






•i; . .1 i\ . 






■ it. , \ :. - '1 

ii " \i,'x « 1 ;.\ /»•!• ;. - 

> 'M*' !!■ ' i t . at * •'■ / ^ • 

.1- i I. . . f .-• !. .•■; 

■ i..l ■ n ■ ■ • . '>M -M * t:, 



-i ;. 






\(M • ; t ' *. 



.' M Ml 

'.: w • 1 ' 
It . il. I • 



!» 



I, 1, 



1 . V..- i> , ill ,11- ^1 



Digiti 



zed by Google 




^.^.^ 




Digiti 



zed by Google 







Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COLT^TT 



787 



tion, he appeared on the streets lacking his 
good right arm hut restored to health from an 
ordeal that would surely have cost the ordi- 
nary man his life, but loss of his arm made a 
change in occupation necessary. While look- 
ing about for some line of activity to which 
to devote his energies, he was elected in the 
spring of 1886, collector for the town of Mount 
Carroll and held the office for several terms. 
In 1890 Mr. Adams was elected county treas- 
urer and at the expiration of his term as 
treasurer in 1904, he was elected to the office 
of county clerk and clerk of the county court, 
whidi "he has held continuously up to the pres- 
ent time,, the term he is now serving expiring 
in 1914. As a county officer Mr. Adams has 
given service of a very high order, he being 
thoroughly informed on every detail concerning 
all the duties devolving upon him and indus- 
trious and painstaking to a fault in looking 
after the interests of the county and the people 
whom he serves. Always at his post of duty, 
courteous and capable, he has given an admin- 
istration that it would be hard indeed to excel. 
On November 8, 1883, Mr. Adams was mar- 
ried to Miss Minnie J. McNamara, of Mount 
Carroll, and they live in their own home in 
that city. 

ADAMSy Christly R.— Travelers passing through 
Carroll county, never fail to make favorable 
comment on the well cultivated and finely im- 
proved farms that meet their eye and without 
doubt the wish is aroused in many that clr- 
sumstances might be so molded in their own 
cases as to enable them to enjoy life in such a 
rich agricultural region. This is certainly the 
thought aroused when the fine farm of 188 
acres, cultivated by Christly R. Adams comes 
into view, with its carefully tilled fields, its 
herds of cattle and Its bountiful orchards. 
Lying adjacent, as it does, to the thriving town 
of T^anark, the residents of this farm are able 
to enjoy the benefits of both country and town 
life. Mr. Adams was bom at Beaver Creek, 
Md., December 28, 1849, a son of George I. 
and Amy (Rowland) Adams. 

The iMirents of Mr. Adams were also natives 
of Maryland and the father followed farm pur- 
suits until the time of his retirement prior to 
his death, which occurred November 19, 1901. 
The mother survived until May 12, 1902. She 
was bom in 1830, and her husband in 1825. 



They had twelve children, as follows: Christly 
R. ; Mrs. Jane South; Joseph; George B. ; Bar- 
bara and Lizzie, who were twins, the former 
being deceased; Mrs. Amy Stottleinyer ; Amos 
L„ who resides at Hagerstown, Md. ; John, 
who lives in Maryland; Rannie, who lives on 
the old homestead known as the Green Mea- 
dow Farm; Mrs. Hattle Adams, who lives at 
Funkstown, Md. ; and William, who lives on 
the homestead. 

Christly R. Adams came to Illinois in 1873 
and has been engaged in agricultural pursuits 
since 1875. He was married at Pleasant Val- 
ley, Md., in 1873, to Miss Katie J. Martin, the 
youngest of three children born to her parents, 
William and Mary (Gurley) Martin, the others 
being: John T., who lives at Brunswick, Md., 
and Mrs. Emma Jennings, who is of the same 
place. The father of Mrs. Adams died when 
she was but three weeks old. She was reared 
near her place of birth and an interesting oc- 
currence in her early life was a very distress- 
ing one for her family. When about six years 
old she wandered in her play so far from home 
that she became lost on a mountain. For- 
tunately she was found by a kind woman who 
reported the case to the stage driver as he 
passed through Boonesboro, but not before 200 
men had spent an anxious night searching for 
her, and on the following day she was returned 
unharmed to her mother. 

Mr. and Mrs. Adams have had the following 
children: George I., who was born September 
30, 1873, is in the real estate business at 
Lanark ; Robert R., who was born November 1, 
1875, Is a farmer in Carroll county; Christly 
D., who was bom April 19, 1878, is a farmer 
in Carroll county; Qora R., who was born 
November 5, 188?; and Blanche, who was born 
January 3, 1881. The grandchildren are : Don- 
ald, Helen, Maynard, Robert and Josephine. 
Mr. Adams and family attend the Christian 
church. Politically he is a Democrat and at 
one time was a school director. He and his 
son Robert belong to the order of Mystic Work- 
ers, while Mrs. Adams Is officially connected 
with the same fraternal organization. 

ADAMS, Samuel J.— The privil^e of living 
upon the spot of one's birth is not given to every 
man. There is something inspiring in the fact 
that the land owned by a father has come into 
possession of the son, who in turn will hand it 



Digitized by 



Google 



738 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



down to hlB children, and nrgea the possessor 
to renewed efforts to improve the property. One 
of the prosperous farmers of Woodland town- 
ship. Carroll county, is Samuel J. Adams, horn 
here July 4, 1848. a son of James and Majry 
(Law) Adams, both natives of Ireland. They 
came to America in the early forties, she with 
her parents who located In Washington town- 
ship, this county. About a year after her ar- 
rival, she married James Adams, and they lo- 
cated on a small farm, on section 30, Woodland 
township. Mr. Adams preempted land at va- 
rious times, and at his death possessed over 300 
acres. In 1876, they moved from the farm to 
Mt. Carroll, which continued their home until 
they died, Mr. Adams passing away in 1880, 
when over sixty years old, and his wife January 
1, 1911, when about eighty-flve years old. Mr. 
Adams built the present two-story rock residmice 
on the farm. Since his death, the bam and other 
Improvements have been added by his son. Mr. 
and Mrs. Adams had seven children, of whom 
Samuel J. was the eldest, the others being: 
Thomas, who is of South Dakota; William J., 
who is of Gilmore, la.; Andrew D., who is of 
Mt. Carroll ; Martha, who is the wife of Elijah 
Patmey, of Mt. Carroll. ; Mary, who is the wife 
of William Johnson, of Lanark, 111. ; and Sarah, 
who is of Mt Carroll. 

Samuel J. Adams was educated In the local 
schools, and has always lived on his present 
farm. After his father's death, Mr. Adams 
bou^t the farm, to which he has added 100 
acres, and now owns 400 acres, all in fine con- 
dition. 

In 1876 Mr. Adams married Agnes Espie, born 
in Scotland, in 1842, daughter of James and 
Mary (McGee) Espie. They came to America 
in 1866, locating In Woodland township. Mr. and 
Mrs. Adams have three children: James A., 
who was bom June 22, 1878, lives with his 
parents; John E., who was born Febraary 20, 
1880, also lives with his parents; and Annie 
M., who was bom July 28, 1882, is the wife of 
John G. Law. Politically, Mr. Adams is a Re- 
publican, but has held no offices outside several 
of the township ones. He Is a consistent mem- 
ber of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Adams 
carries on general farming and stock raising, and 
because he thoroughly understands his business 
has made a success of It. Mr. Adams is one of 
the solid men of his community and one who has 
always been interested In Its progress. 



ALLEN, Walter W., one of the well known and 
highly respected pioneers of Carroll county, was 
bom in Erie county. Pa., July 12, 1840, a don 
of David R. and Susan K. (Scovllle) Allen, 
natives of New York State, he born October 29, 
1809, and she, October 16, 1814. When a lad, 
the fatber went with his parents to Girard, 
Pa., where a farm was bought, although his 
father, John Allen, had been earlier in life a 
wheelwright. In this locality occurred the 
marriage of David R. Allen and his wife, on 
July 3, 1836, and in 1845, removal was made to 
Michigan. Later they came to Carroll county, 
111., at a time when there were but three 
houses on the road between Sterling ^and Mll- 
ledgevUle. There was no house for* them so 
they lived In a little shoe shop near the Blkhom 
until a log cabin could be buUt It was put up 
in Whiteside county, and amid surroundings 
so wild that often at night the wolves would 
come and putting their paws on the window 
sill, frighten them fearfully. Later, the father 
sold this claim and moved to the vicinity of 
Morrison, 111., where he opened a cheese fac- 
tory, selling his product at six cents per pound. 
He then bought forty acres, and developed a 
farm, living in Whiteside county until his 
death, which occurred about 1887, when he was 
seventy-six years old. His wife died in 1881. 
They had three daughters and on^ son: Helen 
A., who married Harrison Roland, died, leav- 
ing five children ; Josephine, who married James 
Taylor, a farmer of South Elkhom, died; 
Anna, who married John Knox, of Iowa, died; 
and Walter W. 

Walter W. Allen received a district school 
education and worked on his father's farm un- 
til he enlisted In 1864, In the Eighth Illinois 
Cavalry for service during the Civil War, join- 
ing the regiment at St Charles, 111. He was 
then taken with the measles, complications set 
in. and be was sent to Chicago, and thence to 
Washington, D. C, to Join his regiment for 
patrol duty at the capitol, and was there wh&a. 
President Lincoln was assassinated. He viv- 
idly remembers the heartrending occurrences 
of that dread period. Mr. Allen was the man 
who called for General Payne at Warrington, 
Va.. when that confederate leader was cap- 
tured. He also participated In the battles of 
Point of Rocks, Middletown, Frederick City 
and numerous skirmishes. 
Mr. Allen's marriage occurred September 1, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CAEROLL COUNTY 



739 



I860, to Anna Mary McCann, who was born 
June 13, 1851, In Indiana, a daughter of 
Charles and Malinda (Frltch) McCann. Mrs. 
McOann was a native of Germany, who came 
with her parents to Pennsylvania, and is now 
living in MiUedgevlUe, aged eighty years. 
Charles McCann was a marble cutter by trade, 
having learned it early in life. Mr. and Mrs. 
Allen have had children as follows: Delia, 
who was bom August 2, 1870, married John 
Spang, of Iowa, issue — ^Lloyd, Maude and 
Raligh; Raligh, who was bom November 7, 
1871, marrfed Edith Petty, issue— Biabel, 
Maude, Ethel, Mason and Denver; Clara, who 
was bom December 16, 1875, married John 
Halm, issue— Parllla ; Lewis J., who was bom 
January 26, 1879, married Millie Smith, Febra- 
ary 14, 1912; Gertmde M., who was bom De- 
cember 3, 1880; Edith, who was bom June 26, 
1886, died November 30, 1911, having married 
George Imel, a farmer, issue — ^Wayne and 
lia Rue ; Eva, who was bom Aril 15, 1889, mar- 
ried Klna Todd; OrviUe, who was bom Decem- 
ber 18, 1890, is at home; and Laura, who was 
bom May 18, 1893, is at home. 

For many years Mr. Allen was a butcher, 
and did some farming, but in 1896, he bought 
dty property, and now has a beautiful home. 
He belongs to the G. A. R. Post, and in politics, 
he has always been a Republican. During the 
years be has been a resident of this county, he 
has witnessed many changes. When he came 
here the most primitive conditions prevailed, 
but gradually they were replaced by others 
more distinctive of advancing civilization, un- 
til he is now proud to claim that there are few 
districts better improved than the one in which 
he lives. Mr. Allen has contributed his own 
part towards this growth, although he has 
never desired public oflSce, but sought to show 
his loyalty as a private citizen. His war 
record shows that he was a brave soldier, and 
never sought to shirk his duty. 

ALLISON, Joseph F., was born October 19tb, 
1888 at Mystle, Canada, a son of Fisher and Jane 
G. (YanBuskirk) Allison and Fisher Allison 
was bom at Keswick, England, August 13, 1815 
and his wife at Falrview, O., a daughter of Isaac 
VanBusklrk who was bom in Virglrila and 
served in the Federal army in the war of 1812. 
Fisher Allison's grand-uncle Henry Allison 
served in the British army during the Ameri- 



can Revolution. He came from Canada to the 
United States and on S^>t 6, 1840, settled on 
a farm near Milledgeville, where he resided to 
the day of his death, March 8, 1878, he being 
buried in the Old Elkhom Grove Cemetery, 
which he helped Levi Warner to survey about 
184a In early days he was a member of the 
vigilance committee which met at the Old 
Center school house in Elkhom Grove to de- 
vise means for enforcing order among the 
scattered settlement and for mutual protection. 
Fisher Allison was one of the early pioneers 
and regarded by all who knew him as a ster- 
ling and upright citizen. In politics he was 
an Abolitionist until 1860, when he Joined the 
Republican party. He was township collector, 
supervisor of the town of Elkhom Grove and 
chairman of the county board between 1860 
and 1870. He was a Methodist and preached to 
congregations which were without a regular 
minister. Until 1856 he lived in a log house 
built by John Knox during the Black Hawk 
War. 

Thirteen children were bom to Fisher Alli- 
son and his wife, seven of whom are now living. 
They had four sons in the Union army during 
the war of the Rebellion. Joseph F. was in 
Company H, Fifteenth Illinois Volunteer In- 
fantry; Henry was in Company K, of the same 
regiment; John, who enlisted in Company G, 
Thirty-Ninth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, was 
killed at Suffolk Va., September 28, 1862; Wil- 
liam, who was in Company H, Fifty-flf th Illinois 
Volunteer Infantry was killed in a railroad 
accident on his way home after his discharge. 
Joseph F. Allison enlisted as a private and 
was engaged In the following battles: Shiloh, 
Siege of Corinth, Hatches River, Siege of Vicks- 
burg. Siege of Jackson, Champion's Hill and the 
Siege of Atlanta. He received a shell wound 
in both hands at Hatchee River, October 5, 
1862, which resulted In the loss of his left 
hand and the third and four^ fingers of his 
right hand. After recovering he returned to 
bis regiment and served at the front in several 
engagements, but was again wounded, this 
time in his right leg at Champion's Hill. The 
official report of Colonel Cyrus Hall who com- 
manded the Brigade at this battle has this to 
say In regard to Mr. Allison: "I would most 
respectfully and earnestly call the attention 
of the commanding General to Lieutenant 
Allison, Company H Fifteenth Illinois Infantry, 



Digitized by 



Google 



740 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



who lost one hand and part of the other at the 
battle of the Hatchle, October 5, 1862, and was 
again severely wounded In the leg at the en- 
gagement at Champion's Hill, February 4, 
18(i4. His gallantry and soldierlike qualities, 
are highly commended by his regimental com- 
mander." This report having been written on 
the bloody field of Champion's Hill was highly 
aw>reciated by Mr. Allison's friends. In spite 
of his wounds, he again returned to service and 
participated In the Siege of Atlanta; was 
transferred to the veteran reserve corps ; served 
in North Carolina and was mustered out Janu- 
ary 1, 1868. He was promoted to sergeant, first 
sergeant, second lieutenant, and first lieutenant 
Very few soldiers have been in so many terri- 
ble battles and been so severely wounded and 
yet lived to become useful citizens and to enjoy 
themselves In the peaceful walks of life to a 
"good old age.'* 

Joseph F. Allison received his education in 
the district schools of Elkhom Grove and at 
Mount Morris Seminary, and prior to 1861, 
was a farmer. He has held offices of circuit 
clerk, county treasurer and examiner and 
special examiner in the United States Pension 
Bureau. 

In politics Mr. Allison is a Republican and 
in church affiliation a Methodist. On Septem- 
ber 28, 1866, he married Harriet Adaline Dodge, 
a daughter of Dr. Darius and Martha A. 
(Foster) Dodge, of Rockford, 111. They had 
the following children: Frances Cora, who was 
born June 15, 1870; Waite Fisher, who was 
bom August 10, 1872; Martha Adaline, who 
was bom February 27, 1882; Joseph Foster, 
who was born April 21, 1884. 

While living in Mount Carroll, Joseph F. 
Allison was one of its most enterprising citizens. 
He built the handsome brick block on the corner 
west of the Soldiers* Monument; bought the 
land north of the creek, and laid out an addi- 
tion to the city, on which he erected a large 
brick residence, now owned by the Caroline 
Mark Home. He built the first suspension foot 
bridge across the mill-pond, from bluff to bluff, 
which has now been replaced by a substantial 
Iron, wagon and foot bridge, and he was at 
one time editor and proprietor of the Carroll 
County Mirror. At present Mr. Allison is re- 
siding at No. 430 M. street, N. W., Washing- 
ton, D. C. 



ATHERTON, Sylyanus R., whose life has been 
identified with the progress and development of 
Carroll county, Illinois, since 1850, and who is 
now an honored and esteemed retired resident 
of Thompson, was bom at Ticonderoga, Essex 
county, N. Y., May 31, 1839, a son of Ransom 
and Elvira D. (Balcom) Atherton. The paternal 
grandparents of Sylvanus R. Atherton, were 
Peter and Betsey (Bailey) Atherton. In 1845 
they came to Carroll county and settled In York 
township, where the grandfather opened his 
blacksmith shop, although he had manufactured 
axes and other edge tools in Ticonderoga, N. 
Y. He had four sons, Ransom, Cephas, Ralph 
and Emory, and two daughters, Susanna and 
Elizabeth. The former married Beley C. 
Bailey and the latter was the wife of Freeman 
Ken>'on, all now being deceased. Both Peter 
Atherton and wife died in York township, and 
their ashes rest in the Argo Cemetery. She was 
a member of the Baptist Church. 

Ransom Atherton, father of Sylvanus EL, was 
born in Essex county, N. Y., October 2, 1815, 
and died February 21, 1889, on his farm in Iowa. 
By trade he was a blacksmith. In September, 
1838, he was married in Essex county, to Elvira 
D. Balcom, who was born at Hague, N. Y., 
October 1, 1818. In 1850, with wife, two sons, 
and one daughter. Ransom Atherton moved to 
Carroll county. 111., and settled in what was 
then called Bailey ville but now is Argo, and 
bought a farm in York township, on which he 
also continued to conduct his shop as long as 
he lived in this county. Later in life he moved 
to Iowa and bought a farm near Maquoketa. 
He was three times married, first to Elvira D. 
Balcom, who died November 26, 1855; second, 
to Louisa Densmore, and third, to Amanda 
Cook, who survives him and lives In Iowa. 
The children of his first marriage were: Syl- 
vanus R; Susanna, who married a Mr. Clark 
and both are now deceased; George Patrick, 
who was bom April 25, 1849, died in 1853; 
and Julia M., who was bom in Illinois, Febm- 
ary 22, 1852, died in 1872. To the second union 
there was no issue. The children of the third 
wife were : William E., who lives with his mother 
in Iowa; Amanda L., who was bom November 
30, 1867, married a Mr. Fuller and they live 
In a Western state; and CSiarles, who was bom 
Febmary 12, 1878, is a farmer in Dakota. 

Sylvanus R. Atherton was eleven years old 
when he accompanied his parents to Carroll 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



741 



county and his education was obtained in the 
district schools as his father could spare him, 
as he began to be of great assistance when 
still young. After liis marriage, Mr. Atherton 
rented a farm in York township, which he 
operated until 1863, when he bought eighty 
acres and from time to time added to the same 
until he owned 160 acres. At that time the 
Civil War was in progress and in 1865 Mr. 
Atherton enlisted in Company C, Sixty-Fifth 
Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and served until 
the war closed being mustered out at Greens- 
burg, N. C, from whence he was sent to Chi- 
cago, 111., where he received his honorable dis- 
charge. After his return he built a comfortable 
residence on his first purchase of land and the 
family lived there until 1889, when, on account 
of failing health, Mr. Atherton rented the place 
to his son Olice and moved to a village named 
Ideal, where he started a little store and sub- 
sequ^itly was appointed postmaster. This 
name was given to the place by Mr. Atherton 
on account of pleasant conditions, people and 
surroundings, which he considered were ideal. 

Mr. Atherton continued to reside at Ideal and 
carry on business until 1893, when he sold 
the building there. In 1893 he bought a 
store building and conducted a boarding house 
and restaurant until 1899, when he disposed of 
his interests in the above and since then has 
lived retired, although he still owns the build- 
ing. He is one of the successful self-made men 
of the county, who has been enterprising and 
useful in public matters, for very little of 
importance was projected or carried out 
during his active years in the communities in 
which he lived, without his advice and coopera- 
tion. He was one of the organizers of the Car- 
roll County Mutual Fire Insurance Company. 
Mr. Atberton's recollections go back to the time 
when there were no railroads in this section' 
by which farmers and stock raisers could ship 
produce or stock, the former having to be 
hauled to Fulton or Savanna, and the latter 
driven to the same points, and those were the 
days when farmers received but thirty-flve 
cents a bushel for their wheat 

On September 28, 1861, Mr. Atherton was 
married to Miss Eugenie Marshall, who was 
bom in Warren county, N. Y., January 21, 
1845, a daughter of Mathew H. and Hannah 
Amanda (Carpenter) Marshall, the former a 
native of Connecticut and the latter of New 



York. The Marshalls came to Carroll county 
and settled in York township in 1855 and be- 
came substantial residents of this section. The 
father of Mrs. Atherton died October 31, 1894, 
when aged more than seventy-nine years, and 
the mother, October 9, 1898. Of their one son 
and six daughters, there are four daughters still 
living: Minerva, wife of Thomas Oakley, who 
lives at Thompson; Martha, who is the widow 
of Albert Harrison, who served in the Civil 
war as a member of the Fifty-fifth Illinois 
Volunteer Infantry, for three years and also 
suffered in Andersonville Prison, lives at Walia 
Walla, Wash.; Ors, who was born June 10, 
1862, is the widow of Lewis French and lives 
at Madison, S. Dak. ; and Mrs. Atherton. Those 
deceased were: Mary, who died August 22, 
1896, and Olive, born in 1862, who died in 1882. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Atherton the following chil- 
dren were bom, all on the old home farm ex- 
cept the eldest: Eveline Elvira, who was born 
October 23, 1862, married George Beck, of 
Webster, S. Dak., and th^ have four children : 
Flavle, Eugenia, Millie and Geneveive; Olice, 
who was bom July 19, 1867, who now owns 
the old homestead, was married to Carrie Rush, 
February 18, 1889, and they have one child, 
Neva; Jesse A., who was bom July 15, 1869, 
died July 27, 1884; Millie M., who was bom 
July 81, 1874, died July 24, 1885; Jennie E., 
who was bora July 1, 1876, died June 2, 1903; 
and Nellie E., who was born January 7, 1880, 
is the wife of Roy I. Houghton, a sketch of 
whom will be found in this work. Mr. Ather- 
ton was reared in the Methodist faith, his par- 
ents having been pion^rs in the church in this 
section and he has always given this religious 
body support although never becoming an actual 
member. Like his father he early became a 
Republican in his political attitude. He has 
frequently served as a school director and for 
eleven years was clerk of the school board and 
bas also served as highway commissioner. 

BARBER, William A.— While the soil of Carroll 
county is very fertile, water plentiful and easily 
obtained and climatic condition ideal, good crops 
cannot be raised unless the land is properly 
worked and scientifically nourished, and the high 
standard set and maintained by the agricultur- 
alists here Is therefore very creditable to them. 
One of those thus representative of the l)est 
farming interests of this part of the state, is 



Digitized by 



Google 



742 



HISTORY OP CAEEOLL COUNTY 



William A. Barber of WashlDgton townstajp, 
bom on tbe farm he now owns, November 5, 
1865, 0on of Armor and Mary (Mclntyre) Bar- 
ber. The father was bom in Ireland, in 1827, 
coming to America wlfh his parents in 1833. 
They came through Chicago to Carroll county, 
locating in Washington township, near the pres- 
ent homestead. Armor Barber was the fourtli 
of five children bom to his parents, and like all 
offspring of pioneers, had few educational ad- 
vantages, but taught himself the greater part 
of what he knew, and became a man of rare 
intelligence. His father died a few years after 
the family located here, and he was cast on his 
own resources. Very early in life he began 
entering land, on section 7, Washington town- 
ship, making homes for his mother and himself. 
In 1849 he went down the Mississippi river to 
New Orleans, and thence via the Isthmus of 
Panama, to the gold fields of California. There 
he remained two years, returning to his home 
by the same route. Soon thereafter, he was mar- 
ried. His wife was bom in Canada, coming of 
Scotch descent, being a daughter of Hugh and 
Christie (McCall) Mclntyre, natives of Scot- 
land. Armor Barber continued to enter addi- 
tional land, usually forty acres at a time, imtil 
he owned 360 acres, all in Washington township. 
In the spring of 1865, he went to Pike's Peak, 
Colo., driving overland, and remained tliere until 
the fall of that year, when he returned home. 
His death occurred April 1, 1900. He was a 
Democrat, and held several township offices. His 
wife passed away in September, 1904, aged sixty- 
five years. These parents had ten children, but 
all except three died when small: Henry H. 
of New York City ; William A. and Grace A. sur- 
vive. Of them the eldest was graduated in civil 
engineering from the Illinois State University 
at Champaign, 111., in 1884, and at present is 
with the Lackawanna Steel Co.; and Grace A^ 
who was married to Martin Salzer, lives in Mt. 
Carroll township, this county. 

William A. Barber was educated in the district 
schools of Washington township. Remaining on 
the farm with his parents, after their death he 
succeeded to the home property. He is not mar- 
ried. AH his life he has been a farmer, and 
he thoroughly understands every detail of his 
work. His property is one of the finest in the 
township, and he takes great pride in it and in 
maintaining the standard of excellence his 
father raised. 



BASHAW, Grant D.— Pioneer life in Carroll 
county was fraught with many dangers and 
filled with hardships wliidi can be scarcely un- 
derstood in these days of modem conveni^ices 
and improv^nents. Whai those forerunners of 
civilization came here, they found ^ther dense 
woodland, or raw prairie, and years of liard 
work were required before the wilderness was 
transformed into fertile f^rms and flourishing 
citie& One of those who took part in this gen- 
eral development, and reared a family to do 
him honor in his new home, was William 
Bashaw, whose son. Grant G. Bashaw of Mt. 
Carroll township, now ably r^resents the 
father's ideas and maintains the high standard 
of honor set up by the older man. William 
Bashaw was bom in St Marys, St Marys 
county, Canada, in 1825, being a son of Peter 
and Mary (Ashby) Bashaw, both bom in St 
Mary's, Canada, becoming there farming people. 
Wben the father died, the three elder children, 
William, Peter, who was bom in 1828, now 
residing in Mt Carroll, and Mary, who was 
bora in 1830, promised to ding together and 
make a home for the younger children. Four of 
the children died soon after, Mary being one of 
these. William and Peter worked in conjunc- 
tion as partners, and whei the United States 
government opened land around Mt Carroll for 
settlement, they came here, each entering eighty 
acres in the western part of Mt Carroll town- 
ship. They added to their original 160 acres 
until they owned about one thousand acres. 
Sometime in the early seventies, they dissolved 
partnership, divided the land, money, stock, etc., 
William's share of the land being about 490 
acres. He was an ext^islve stock dealer, and 
an important factor In agricultural life in Car- 
roll county until his death on the home farm, 
where he passed away, April 15, 1882. His 
' widow survives him, making her home in Sa- 
vanna, where she is a member of the Methodist 
Church, as was her husband. He was a Re- 
publican in political faith, but only held minor 
offices, not caring for public life. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bashaw were married after Mr. Bashaw secured 
his Carroll county farm, and they had six 
children : Dora, who is Mrs. D. W. Ward, of " 
Fulton, 111.; William, who resides near Chad- 
wick ; Sarah, who is Mrs. James Doty, of Madi- 
son, Wis., Grant D., and Charles and Mary, who 
are deceased. 
Grant D. Bashaw attended the district sdiools 



Digitized by 



Google 





^^rzr< 



V C 



/^^ ^Tit^-u.*-^ 




Digiti 



zed by Google 





/ '. 


V 


*> 


'\ 




/, ^" 


V 








/-•*' o' 


v"^ 




.> 


/ 


< -^^^ 




^'.' 




/ , 


' ^ s. 


^■ 


\ ^ 




"'v ' 


<h^ 


> ^ 


/ 




, •' ^ 












5 . 


/ 







\ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



743 



of his township and the high school of Savanna, 
and spent his life on the homestead. When 
eighteen years old, he rented the farm of his 
mother, making his home with her for about 
twenty years. In 1886, he hought this 170 
acre farm in section 18, also ninety-three acres 
in section 20 and 29, and 105 acre^ in section 13 
Savanna township, carrying on general farming 
throughout, specializing on dairying. His re- 
ligious aflUiations are with the Baptist Church. 
On May 16, 1888, Mr. Bashaw was united in 
marriage with Miss Hattie Bogue, bom in Iron- 
ton, Sac county, Wis., August 20, 1868, a daugh- 
ter of Thomas and Melissa (Dyson) Bogue, 
natives of England and Illinois, re^)ectively. Mr. 
and Mrs. Bashaw have four children: Shirley 
T., who was bom March 19, 1889, lives with 
his parents; Vernon W., who was bora October 
12, 1891, lives at home; Hattie M., who was 
bora November 26, 1896; and Gladys J., who 
was bom November 21, 1899. Mr. Bashaw is 
one of the live, progressive farmers of this 
locality, whose success in life has been attained 
by hard work. Intelligently directed, and a thor- 
ough knowledge of his businesa 

BAST, Henry.— Perhaps no people in the world 
appreciate the value of a good education like 
those born in Germany, for the whole atmos- 
phere there is filled with the Idea of careful 
training for some fixed purpose. Thus it is that 
the German-Americans of our own country lead 
in giving their children the best educational ad- 
vantages within their power, and it is often- 
times the school director of German birth who is 
the most anxious to secure excellent teachers. 
Henry Bast of Salem township, is an excellent 
example of this dass of man. He was bora in 
UlvH, Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany, February 17, 
1852, a son of Henry and Mary (Frederick) 
Bast, also natives of Germany. The father died 
in 1859, and Mrs. Bast, her mother, Mrs. Fred- 
erick, Henry Bast and his sister Kate Bast, 
born in 1849, came to America In 1862, locating 
in Lanark with Mrs. Bast's sister and brother. 
For two years Mrs. Bast worked as a house- 
keeper, and then married William Bobbins, who 
bou^t a farm of 373 acres on section 33, Salem 
township, two years after marriage. They re- 
sided on this farm until after Mrs. Bobbins died, 
about 1870, aged fifty-six years. Mr. Bobbins 
died about 1880, having lived for some years with 
his step-son, Henry Bast 



Henry Bast attended school In the winter and 
worked on the farm in the summer from 1863 
until 1870. He then bought 260 acres of the 
Bobbins' farm, but later sold forty acres. He 
then bought 112 acres on section 28, later sell- 
ing a portion of it to his son, George, and a part 
of it to the 0. B. & Q. Bailroad. At present he 
owns 212 acres on section 33, Salem township, 
having always lived on a farm. For some years 
Mr. Bast has been specializing on full-blooded 
Hereford cattle and Duroc hogs, and also raises 
horses. He is one of the thoroughly modern, 
progressive agriculturists of Carroll county, and 
his success in life is the direct result of his 
knowledge of bis work and his liking for it. 
Politically, be is a Republican, and for three 
years was road commissioner, but aside from 
that never had time to devote to public office. 
In young manhood he Joined the Evangelical 
Church, and has been class leader for years, and 
director of the church school. 

On Febmary 17, 1876, Mr. Bast was married 
to Mary Rath, bom in Jo Daviess county. III., 
in 1854, a daughter of John and Barbara (Sacke) 
Rath, natives of Germany. Mr. and Mrs. Bast 
became the parents of eight children: William 
K., who is of Fair Haven township; Mamie 
M., who is the wife of Charles Sack of Argo, 
111. ; Lydia, who is the wife of Victor Hines of 
Salem township; George H., who is of Salem 
township; Cora Bast, who is of S. Dak.; Ada, 
who is of Salem town^ip; Edward, who is at 
home; and Emma, who is also at home; Miss 
Cora Bast went to South Dakota to teach music, 
and while there acting upon the advice of friends, 
homesteaded, and is now proving up her claim. 
All the children have been carefully educated, 
and Mr. Bast is very proud of them, and what 
they have accomplished. 

B£ATTI£, Captain James P., a retired farmer 
living at Mt. Carroll, who is a veteran of the 
Civil War, has been a resident of the county 
since 1858. He was bom In New Jersey, Janu-^ 
ary 12, 1837, son of Alexander and Mary Eliza- 
beth (Patterson) Beattie, the former of whom 
came to the United States from Ireland, with 
his parents at the age of three years, and 
leamed the trade of a blacksmith. After com- 
pleting his apprenticeship he set up in business 
for himself in Cambridge, Washington county, 
N. Y., and there his son James P. received his 
education. Upon the death of his parents the 



Digitized by 



Google 



744 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



latter became a member of the family of L. 
E. Hunt, with whom he remained until he 
reached his majority. In the fall of 1858 he 
came to Carroll county and worked by the 
month on various farms for two years. 

He enlisted in the Union Army at Galena, 
November 14, 1861, becoming a member of Com- 
pany A, Forty-fifth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, 
and participated in the battles of Fort Henry 
and Donelson, Shiloh, and Siege of Ck>rinth, 
being promoted to rank of sergeant May 1, 
1862. He took part in the engagements at 
Thompson's Hill, Raymond, and Champion's Hill 
and at the latter was shot in the right thigh, 
May 16, 1863, and sent to the hospital, where he 
was taken prisoner, on the 24th of the same 
month. He was exchanged September 1, 1863, 
and took part in the sldrmish at Woodland Plan- 
tation, after which his term of enlistment ex- 
pired. He re-enlisted as private January 5, 1864 
and was promoted by Colonel Seeley to orderly 
sergeant November 1, and to first lieutenant 
December 31, 1864, with Captain Munson of the 
Third Division, Seventeenth Army Corps. He 
was in the skirmish at Fort Pocotelego, January 
14, 1865, and received his commission as captain 
from Captain Noyes at Washington, D. C, May 
25, 1865. 

After his discharge from the army. Captain 
Beattie returned to Carroll county and worked 
on a farm in Jo Daviess county one summer. 
On December 19, 1865, he married Miss Mary 
B. Hickman, daughter of Mrs. L. Hickman of 
Carroll county, and they became the parents 
of three children, of whom two still survive: 
Anna L. who married Charles W. Blair, of 
Kent, 111., September 13, 1904, was bom in Jo 
Daviess county, December 19, 1866, and died at 
Kent, November 30, 1908, leaving a husband 
and three children : Brin W., Allen L. and Ola 
M. ; James A., who was bom in Carroll county, 
June 3, 1868, resides at home; and Mary Isa- 
belle, who was born in Carroll county in 1878, 
married and has one son, Donald James Rollins, 
bom November 2, 1909, but now resides with 
her father. 

Soon after his marriage Captain Beattie 
located on a farm in Woodland township, 
where he remained until Febraary, 1907, when 
he sold and located in Mt. Carroll, having been 
an enterprising and successful farmer who won 
the respect and esteem of his neighbors. He 
is a Republican in politics and served as town- 



ship assessor, collector and road commissioner, 
and for fifteen continuous years served as 
school director. He is a prominent member of 
Major Nase's Post, G. A. R. of Mt. Carroll and 
has served as Junior vice-comniander and for 
the last three years has held the ofllce of senior 
vice-comman4er. Although reared in the Pres- 
byterian faith, he is not a member of any church 
at the present time. Mrs. Beattie died at the 
Mt Carroll home March 2, 1910, and was buried 
at ML Carroll Cemetery. The funeral services 
were conducted by Rev. Buckwalter, an intimate 
friend of the family. Mrs. Beattie was a much- 
beloved, highly esteemed woman, a devoted wife 
and mother, who had many sincere friends. 

Captain Beattie is hale and hearty and though 
retired from active life, takes a keen interest in 
the advancement and progress of the conmiunity. 
He has seen many remarkable changes in Car- 
roll county since coming here, and possesses a 
remarkably clear memory of conditions as they 
were fifty years ago. His able descriptions of 
life in those early days are interesting and 
instructive. He has made his own way in life 
and has achieved gratifying success by his un- 
aided efforts. 

BECKER, Captain Egbert Ten Eyck, (deceased), 
an honored veteran of the Civil War, was a 
prominent attorney and practiced many years 
in the county courts of Carroll county. Captain 
Becker was respected as a man of high pur- 
pose and earnest effort, and was governed by 
the best of principles in all his movements. He 
was bom in Le Roysville, Bradford county, Pa., 
April 28, 1833, a son of David and Fanny 
(Benham) Becker. The father was a farmer 
by occupation and the family was an old New 
York one, of German descent Many of the 
Beckers are now residents of Schoharie county, 
N. Y. Captain Becker was the oldest of the 
family of children bom to his parents and when 
about ten years old accompanied them west 
They settled on Rock Creek, Carroll county, 111., 
and the boy received his elementary education 
in the common schools of the neighborhood. 
He spent one year at Lombard College, Gales- 
burg, 111., after which he carried on farming 
until he enlisted in Company I Ninety-second 
Illinois Volunteer Infantry, of which he was 
elected captain, and they were afterward 
mounted. The regiment was organized in July 
and August under the direction of Col. Smith 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



745 



D. Atkins, and mustered in at Rockford, Sep- 
tember 4, 1862. They were mustered out at 
Camp Douglas, Chicago, July 8, 1865. Captain 
Becker senred three years in this regiment, re- 
fusing promotion and never applying for a fur- 
lough. He participated in many important en- 
gagements but was never injured by bullet or 
sabre, nor never was ill during his term of 
service. He always had a strong physique and a 
stalwart figure, being able to endure many hard- 
ships and privations without giving way to 
fatigue or illness. He was with Sherman on 
his famous March to the Sea and had many 
exciting and Interesting experiences. 

After his discharge from the army Captain 
Becker studied law with J. M. Hunter, an 
able and prominent lawyer, and was admitted 
to the bar in 1867. He served as county clerk 
three terms, succeeding Maj. R. M. A. Hawk, 
who had been elected to Congress. Captain 
Becker had a good practice in his profession 
and held many local offices, such as alderman 
and school director He was a Good Templar 
during the life of that organization in Mt. Car- 
roll, and was an active Mason, having taken 
the Thirty-second degree In the order. He was 
an enthusiastic member of the G. A. R. and 
served many years as commander of the local 
post 

Captain Becker was married in the town of 
his nativity, to Sarah C, daughter of L. L. and 
S. A. Bosworth, of Le Roysville, Pa., and four 
children were born to this union : . Ola, who died 
at the age of twenty-three years; Sarah C, 
who died when three years of age; and Robert 
and Mary (twins) who died In infancy. Cap- 
tain Becker died at his home in Mt Carroll, 
May 28, 1906, and was sincerely mourned by the 
entire community. 

BEEDEy Charles A. — Unremitting industry, un- 
swerving economy, and a steadfastness of in- 
tegrity, combined with a thorough knowledge of 
farming conditions, have made Charles A. 
Beede one of the leading agriculturists of Car- 
roll county. He resides on section 36,, Salem 
township, but was bom in Sandwich, Carroll 
county, N. H., August 23, 1848, being a son 
of Thomas H. and Hannah (Ethridge) Beede, 
natives of Sandwich, N. H. Thomas H. Beede 
was a son of Thomas and Susanna (Rogers) 
Beede, natives of Carroll county, N. H., and 
Hannah Ethridge was a daughter of Samuel 



and Lydla (Cook) Ethridge, natives of (Car- 
roll county, N. H. Both families were farming 
people. 

Thomas H. Beede was educated in the pub- 
lic schools and by private tutor at home. He 
and his wife were married about 1843, and 
settled down to farming, he alternating agri- 
cultural work with shoemaklng, having learned 
that trade. In 1865, the family located In 
Salem township, Carroll county. 111., on the 
farm now owned by Charles A. Beede. This 
property was only rented until 1876, but in 
that year Thomas H. Beede bought the entire 
160 acres, to which he later added eighty acres, 
and made many Improvements. Mr. Beede was 
a Republican, but never held any offices and 
did not allow himself to be tied down too 
closely by party lines. In religious faith he 
and his wife were Methodists, he acting as 
superintendent of the Sunday school in New 
Hampshire. Mr. Beede died January 7, 1887, 
aged sixty-eight years, having been born 
January 22, 1819. His wife, born October 20, 
1822, died in June, 1803. They were the par- 
ents of three sons: Samuel E., of Bradenburg, 
Fla. ; and C?harles, and Herman H.. who live 
together. 

Charles A. Beede was educated in the com- 
mon schools, and academy of Carroll countj% 
N. H. He came west with his parents, and 
after he attained his majority he worked in 
partnership with his father on the farm, until 
the latter^s death. Since then he and his broth- 
er, Herman H., who Is president of the Farmers 
State Bank of Chadwick, have operated the 
farm in partnership, doing general farming and 
cattle raising, and make a specialty of growing 
popcorn. Politically a Republican he has served 
as school trustee for a number of years, was 
elected township supervisor in 1908, and is now 
serving his third term. 

In 1884,^ Mr. Beede married Davina G. 
Mackay, born in Salem township, January 15, 
1853, daughter of John and Catherine (Rupple) 
Mackay. Mrs. Beede died July 5, 1905, leaving 
no issue. On October 1, 1908, Mr. Beede mar- 
ried Mrs. Alice (Adams) Bollinger, bom in 
Jo Daviess county. 111., December 30, 1865, 
daughter of Samuel and Mary (Henry) Adams, 
the former a veteran of the dvil War. The 
Beedes are well and favorably known through- 
out the county, and both Mr. Beede and his 
brother are excellent farmers, who have made 



Digitized by 



Google 



746 



HISTORY OF CABBOLL COOTTY 



their prc^jertjr jleld them good returns for the 
time and monejr expended npon it. 

mSHXLL, Wilfijun Dawtoa, a raecesfffnl bust- 
new man of Saranna, was bom in CaTthorpe, 
LinccHnidiire, England, Hay 14, 1S72, a son of 
William and Elizabeth (Dawson) BishelL He 
receired bis edocation in NewarlL-on-Trent, at- 
tending school until he was thirteen years of 
age. Althoogh he bad literary tastes, he was not 
given the advantage of a classical course, being 
early in life obliged to earn liis own living. He 
tamed his hand to any honest employment by 
which he might eam money, spending a year 
with an uncle at Derbyshire where he com- 
menced to leam the barber's trade. His father 
had come to America and was at that time 
located at Darlington, Lafayette county, Wis., 
whitber the lad made his way alone coming 
on the boat City of Chester, being but fourte^ 
years old. He remained in that vicinity until 
nineteen years of age, spending most of this time 
at farm work, after which he was a year at 
Fayette, Wis., and another year at Warren, 
111., then going to Chicago, where he completed 
his coarse as a barber. 

During the World's Columbian Exposition 
held at Chicago, Mr. Blshell worked at his trade 
in that city, being located at various points, 
sometimes by himself and sometimes having a 
partner. After BQendlng two years in Chicago, 
lie removed to Dubuque, la., remaining there 
three years, coming to Savanna in 1900, and 
establishing biiuself at his present location. 
Fraternally he Is a member of the Knights of 
Pythias and of the Modem Woodmen of 
America. In the former order he is past chan- 
cellor and a lieutenant in the Uniform Rank, 
and in the latter he is counsellor. 

On December 25, 1897, Mr. Blshell married 
MIhs Genevieve, daughter of Michael and Ma- 
tilda Monty, of Chicago. Mr. Monty has been 
deceased many years. There are no children of 
this union. Mr. Bishell is a good citizen, pub- 
lic-spirited and earnest of purpose, and has 
many friends in the city. 

He made a record for himself as the leader 
In the fight against a commissioner form of 
city government. Elected to the city council 
in 1910, Mr. Bishell entered upon his duties 
enthusiastically, feeling that to change any ex- 
isting forms except for grave reasons would be 
acting against the Declaration of Independence. 



His work in this respect was in compliance with 
tlie dictates of consdeiice. 

B0ERHE8, YaleatiBe, of Mt. CarroU, has held 
several public offices in Carroll coonty, and is 
now filling tliat of drcoit clerk and reo(»^er, 
in wliich he has served a number of years. Mr. 
Boemer was bom in Saxony, G^many, August 
26, 1857, and at the age of twdve years ac- 
companied an aont to the United States;. They 
located in Hartford, Conn., and there he at- 
tended night sdiool and at the same time 
leamed the trade of dgar-making, which he 
has followed all his sabeequent life. He re- 
moved to Jackson county, la^ in 1882, and after 
spending six years there came to Carroll county 
and pursued his trade in Savanna. He won 
the good will and esteem of his fellow towns- 
men and in 1899 they elected him to the office 
of city derk. Two years later he was elected 
city treasurer, and in 1903 was dected super- 
visor, being re-elected in 1905. Shortly after- 
ward, the office of circuit derk and recorder 
becoming vacant, Mr. Boemer was elected to 
fill it assuming his duties in June, 1905. There- 
upon he changed his residence to Mt. Carroll, 
the county seat, and at the elections held 1908 
and 1912, he was re-elected to the same office, 
being its present incumbent. He has given most 
faithful and satisfactory service in every par- 
ticular, and stands well throughout the county. 
He is a Republican in political belief and 
actively interested in the public wdfare 

Mr. Boemer was married July 27, 1894, to 
Mary Rath, a native of Carroll county, bom In 
Washington township, and four children have 
been bom of this union: Marie, Louis. Fred- 
erick, and one who Is deceased. Mr. Boemer 
is well known in fraternal and sodal circles, 
being affiliated with the A. F. & A. M., the K. 
P. and I. O. O. F. After locating in Savanna 
he organized the Savanna Cigar Company, Inc., 
which was dissolved when he came to Mt Car- 
roll, as his time was fully taken up with the 
duties of his position. 

. BOLINGER, George W., now retired from an 
agricultural life and residing at Lanark, was 
formerly very active as a farmer, and well 
known as such throughout Carroll county. He 
was bora Febmary 7, 1848, son of Michael and 
Elizabeth (Rupert) Bolinger, both natives of 
Pennsylvania, where the father was bom 



Digitized by 



Google 




71 J- •'H^c*^< 



Digiti 



zed by Google 




Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CABROLL COUNTY 



747 



August 2, 1806, and the mother, December 2, 
1806. Farming people, they came to lUhiois in 
1854, locating at Georgetown, where Mr. Bolinger 
entered land from the government, and lived 
there until death claimed him and his wife. 
Michael Bolinger died August 1, 1884, and his 
wife, August 3, 1860. They had ten children, 
four of whom survive: Adam, wlio was bom 
April 17, 1838, lives in Kansas; Michael R., 
who was born September 30, 1843, lives in Los 
Angeles, Cal.; Mrs. David Zuck, who lives in 
Dallas Center, la.; and George W. For many 
years, the father was a minister in the Church 
of the Brethren, and helped to erect a church 
of this denomination in 1855, which was the 
second ta ibe built in Carroll county. The 
paternal grandparents were natives of Germany, 
who came to this country at an early day. It 
took sixteen weeks to make the journey, as they 
came on a sailing vessel. 

George W. Bolinger was educated in the dis- 
trict schools of Carroll county, and grew up on 
his father's farm, remaining with him until he 
attained his majority, when he married. In 
1871, he went to Kansas, where he worked for 
two years on a farm. His first employment 
was making posts and he also farmed there 
with an ox team, but not liking conditions, re- 
turned to Illinois, which has continued to be 
his home. At one time he owned 240 acres of 
land, and still retains about 200 acres and two 
fine residences in Savanna. He is also inter- 
ested in the lumber yards in Green River, 
Washington, and in a fruit farm in Idaho. 

On February 7, 1871, Mr. Bolinger was mar- 
ried by Rev. Henry Martin to Anna L. Finl- 
froch, bom April 18, 1851, a daughter of Ellas 
and Sarah (Wolf) nnifroch, natives of Mary- 
land, who came to Illinois in 1857, where they 
farmed. Mr. and Mrs. Bolinger became the 
parents of children as follows: Elmer G., who 
was bom March 20, 1875, is a farmer at Cherry 
Grove ; Maggie and MoUie, - twins, who were 
bom September 1, 1876, are both living in Car- 
roll county; Orpha E., who was bom June 11, 
1878 ; Etta, who was born March 4, 1882 ; Lulu, 
who was bom September 18, 1885 ; and Harvey, 
who was bom March 6, 1801, is a farmer in 
Cherry Grove township. Mr. Bolinger has six 
grand-children. He had the misfortune to lose 
his wife on April 10, 1896. She was a most ex- 
cellent lady, of a high, Christian character. 

For fifteen years, Mr. Bolinger has been a 



school director, and is also a road commissioner. 
In 1909, he left his farm, and moved to Lanark, 
where he is comfortably located. He has been 
deacon and tmstee of the Brethren Church of 
Cherry Grove, and for the past eighteen years 
has led the singing. All his life, he has held 
strong temperance views, and is active in the 
Prohibition party. A man of steadfast pur- 
pose, he worked hard and long to secure success, 
and deserves unlimited credit for what he has 
acc(Hnp]ished. Not only is he highly regarded 
in Lanark, and the township that was his home 
for so many years, but all over Carroll county, 
for his merits are appreciated and admired. 

BOWEN, Lester Waterman.— The name of 
Bowen has been closely identified w^th the 
best interests of Savanna since the early set- 
tlement of the community. Its representatives 
have held many positions of honor and trust 
and have enjoyed in full measure the con- 
fidence and esteem of their fellow citizens. 
Lester Waterman Bowen, a member of this old 
family, is a native of the city and has spent 
his entire life here, with the exertion of his 
servi e in the Union Army during the latter 
part of the Civil War. He was bom Novem- 
ber 24, 1845, a son of David L. and Lila C. 
(Pierce) Bowen, the father being one of the 
very early settlers of Savanna, and the mother 
a daughter of H. Pierce, a pioneer of Illinois. 
David L. Bowen came to Savanna in 1839, and 
there established himself in business as a 
builder and contractor, thus having much to 
do with the early progress and upbuilding of 
the city's material interests. He filled various 
local offices and was honored by election to 
the office of mayor. He and his wife had five 
children, the eldest being Lester W. 

The education of lister W. Bowen was ac- 
quired in the public schools of his native town 
and he early learned the trade of a carpenter 
under his father's instruction. He has fol- 
lowed his trade since for the greater part of 
his time and has built up a large business as 
a contractor, following in his father's footsteps. 
Since 1876 he has conducted his business on his 
own account. In 1864, although he had not yet 
reached his majority. Mr. Bowen enlisted for 
one year in Company E, One Hundred and 
Forty-sixth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, which 
was organized at Springfield on September 18, 
1864. The regiment was assigned to duty 



Digitized by 



Google 



748 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



guarding drafted men at Brighton, Quincy, 
Jacksonyille and Springfield and was mastered 
out at the latter place July 5, 1866. Mr. 
Bowen came back to Savanna after being mus- 
tered out and resumed work at his trade. 
Many of the finest buildings in Savanna are 
his product and besides the various business 
blocks and residences he has erected for others, 
he has put up several houses for hlOi^self. He 
Is well known in Masonic circles, having Joined 
the order in 1886, when he became a member 
of Mississippi Lodge No. 385, A. F. & A. M., 
and in 1894, entered Savanna Chapter No. 200, 
R. A. M. A Republican, Mr. Bowen served the 
city thirty-six years as alderman, and during 
1893-4 was mayor. On April 15, 1910, he was 
appointed superintendent of the city water 
works by Mayor W. M. McGrath, and reap- 
lK)lnted to that ofllce by Mayor Jenks. 

Mr. Bowen was married in 1871 to Miss 
Flora A. Westbrook, also a native of Savanna, 
daughter of Luther H. Westbrook, a prominent 
merchant in Savanna, where he was one of the 
early settlers. Two children were bom to Mr. 
and Mrs. Bowen : Mary Wuisa, who is the wife 
of B. B. Hyler, of Savtuina, and Rodney W., 
who is deceased. 

BOWENy Luther Sherman, who has borne an 
important part in building up a large enter- 
prise in Carroll county, 111., laboring against 
heavy odds, has won to successful ends through 
persistent and efficient service, and his work 
as secretary and treasurer of the OarroU 
County Independent Telephone Company, is 
worthy of him. Mr. Bowen was born in 
Savanna, Carroll county, 111., February 3, 1855, 
son of Luther H. and Elizabeth D. (Chamberlin) 
Bowen. The father was born near Utica, N. Y. 

After completing the course in the public 
schools of Savanna, Luther Sherman Bowen 
entered Bryant & Stratton's Business College, 
of Chicago, so that when his father died about 
this time, and he succeeded to the latter's 
mercantile business in his native town, he was 
able to carry it on. Mr. Bowen conducted this 
general store about twenty-three years, but in 
1899 disposed of It to William Lichtenberger, 
who afterward failed in business. Mr. Bowen 
then took a much-needed rest from business 
cares for three years, when he helped organize 
the telephone company for which he has done 
so much. The organization was effected In 1902 



and the promoters immediately recognized that 
they must use their best efforts to succeed in 
maintaining their ground. That they accom- 
plished this and much more the present con- 
ditions prove. This telephone company has been 
of great benefit to the people of the county, 
to all parts of which it extends its lines, and 
is a great aid to business men. 

Besides his private interests Mr. Bowen has 
always taken an active part In the welfare of 
his city, serving many years as a member of 
the school board and four years as its president 
He was a member of the board of commissioners 
at the time the water works were completed, 
which belong to the city. The plant, in addition 
to being able to furnish Savanna with free 
water, is so operated that the city has paid 
the original cost, redeeming all bonds at ma- 
turity, and has a surplus from it In the treas- 
ury each year. Mr. Bowen is a business man 
of good Judgment and brings his high powers 
to bear on the affairs of the city as he would 
on his own matters. Fratei'nally, Mr. Bowen 
is a member of the Masonic order, being a 
Knight Templar and Shriner, having passed 
through the lower degrees of the organization. 

On October 6, 1880, Mr. Bowen was married 
at Savanna to Emma F., a daughter of William 
and Fanny Machen, and three children have 
blessed this union: Fred M., who is a buyer 
and salesman for J. V. Farwell & Company, 
of Chicago; Sherman B., who was graduated 
from high school, spent two years at the l^ni- 
verslty of Illinois, after which he entered 
I^ehigh University and took a two-year course 
In mine engineering, now being an exi^ert 
mining engineer ; and Luther Hershey, who was 
graduated from the Savanna high school. Mr. 
Bowen Is a Republican in i)olltlcal belief. 

BOYLE, James Martin, (deceased), n vet- 
eran of the Civil war, and for many years an 
honored resident of Carroll county, was bom in 
Zanesvllle, Ohio, April 17, 1830, and died Dec«n- 
ber 9, 1901, at I^nark, as the result of a stroke 
of paralysis. He was buried In the cemetery 
at Lanark, the funeral services being conducted 
by Rev. B. A. Dickens and attended by members 
of the Methodist church, Shiloh Post G. A. R., 
Modern Woodmen, Ancient Order United Work- 
men, Old Settlers' Association and Boyle Hose 
Company, to all of which he belonged. Ills 
father died when he was five years of age and 



Digitized by 



Google 




MRS. HUGH C. HAWK 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



749 



bis mother in 1874. He grew to manhood iu his 
native state, but after his marriage went with 
his wife to Dubuque, Iowa, where he resided for 
a time, then moving to Galena, Illinois, and 
thence to Freeport. Soon afterward he located 
at Shannon, Carroll county, coming there in 
1861, when the townsite was a cornfield, before 
the completion of the railroad. 

On May 15, 1861, Mr. Boyle enlisted in C5om- 
pany G, One Hundred and Forty-second Illinois 
Volunteer Infantry, and was honorably dis- 
charged October 26, 1864. He was a charter 
member of the G. A. R. Post at Lanark, and 
was also a charter member of the local lodge 
of the A. O. U. W., which he Joined April 11, 
1883, the number of his policy showing that only 
sixty policies had been previously issued. He 
had served twenty-four years as captain of Boyle 
Hose Company of Shannon. 

By occupation Mr. Boyle was a tailor and was 
a workman of ability and reliability, connected 
for thirty years with J. G. Sheller, of Lanark. 
He performed his full duty as a man, a citizen 
and a soldier, and was a kind husband and 
father, a true friend who was Interested in the 
welfare of his community. His death came as 
a shock to his friends and acquaintances and his 
loss was widely mourned. 

Mr. Boyle married Elizabeth Lamoin Eldred 
and children were bom to them as follows: 
Mrs. Ella Welch and Mrs. Delia Sherman of 
Cubing, Nebraska; Mrs. George N. Leland, of 
Kansas City, Missouri; George B. and F. B., 
of St. Paul, Nebraska ; Miss Mahala and Bell E., 
all of whom survive. 

Mrs. Elizabeth L. Boyle was bom at Elyria, 
Ohio, December 23, 1832, and she died at the 
home of her daughter, Mrs. Mayme Leland, of 
Kansas City, Missouri, November 26, 1907, and 
her remains were brought to the Boyle family lot 
in Lanark, for burial, the services being con- 
ducted by the Rev. Z. T. Levengood, of Lrfhark. 
She was one of a family of eight children, who 
were left orphans in youth. Mrs. Boyle was a 
charter member of the Woman's Relief Corps at 
Lanark and at the time of her death was its 
oldest member. A devout Presbyterian, kind and 
charitable to all, during her last sickness, when 
she was confined to her bed eight months with 
chronic bronchitis, she exhibited a high degree 
of patience and Christian fortitude. She left 
seven children, eighteen grandchildren and six 
great-grandchildren. 



BHEARTON, John L.— Among the best known 
young attorneys of Carroll county is John L. 
Brearton, a public-spirited and useful citizen 
of Savanna. He lias held many ofllces of pri- 
vate and public trast since coming to the county 
and has been faithful to the interests of others 
in every instance. Mr. Brearton was bom at 
Morrison, 111., January 15, 1879, and is a son 
of William and Emma (Lane) Brearton, natives 
of Canada and New Jersey. The Brearton 
family was originally of Ireland. 

John L. Brearton was reared in his native 
village and after being graduated from the Mor- 
rison schools, entered Georgetown College, of 
Wlashington, D. C, from which he was grad- 
uated in 1902, as a lawyer. He at once entered 
into the practice of his profession in the oflSce 
of D. S. Berry, of Savanna, and since the un- 
timely demise of this able and experienced 
lawyer he has been associated with Chesley M. 
Walter under the firm name of Brearton & 
Walter. He has w^on the esteem and confidence 
of the community, has built up a good practice 
and was elected to the oflfices of city attorney, 
member and secretary of the township high 
school board, the city school board and secretary 
of the Savanna Improvement Association. 
Chesley M. Walter is a graduate of the Univer- 
sity of Illinois, Class of 1911, and a lawyer of 
Savanna. 

On April 19, 1906, Mr. Brearton married Miss 
Florence Green, of Morrison, a daughter of John 
S. and Comelia Green, and two children have 
been bom of this union, Mary and Lane. Mr. 
Brearton is master of Mississippi Lodge No. 385, 
A. F. & A. M. In politics he is a Republican. 
He is recognized as an able attorney, and a man 
of reliabilitj' and integrity, who has a wide 
circle of friends among whom he is popular. 

BROWN, Walter £., whose finely improved 
farm of twenty acres lies adjacent to Mt Carroll, 
also owns the undivided half of the adjoining 
property of 140 acres. He located here in 1011, 
having previously been a farmer and for four 
years a merchant at Wacker, 111. Mr. Brown 
was born near Thomson, HI., May 15, 1869, a son 
of Henry J. and Martha A. (Colvin) Brown. 
Henry J. Brown was bom in Ohio and his grand- 
father David Brown, was a soldier in the British 
army, during the War of 1812, having been a 
native of England. Henry J. Brown served for 
a period of twenty months in the Civil War, 



Digitized by 



Google 



750 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



as a member of Company O, Ninety-second Illi- 
nois Volunteer Infantry, under Captain Becker, 
of Mt Carroll. Prior to this be had come over- 
land to Carroll county, from Vermont and settled 
on land near Thomson, 111^ where he was en- 
gaged in farming. He married, March 21, 1867, 
Martha A. Colvin, who was born in Missouri, 
March 8, 1845, and they had the following chil- 
dren : Walter E. ; Mrs. Qeorge Bower, who lives 
in York township; Chase R., who lives at Mt. 
Carroll; Wilma H. who Is the wife of Frank 
Rush, a farmer near Thomson; and Artie M., 
deceased. 

Walter E. Brown was reared on Ills father's 
farm and attended school at Mt. Carroll, after 
which he engaged for some years in farming 
and later in merchandising, as noted above. He 
was married, October 20, 1892, by Rev. H. F. Gil- 
bert, to Miss Etta L. Lord, who was bom Decem- 
ber 10, 1809. Her father, Samuel Lord, was a 
native of Vermont, and died in 1904, in Illinois 
to which state he came in 1860. On October 
10, 1865, Samuel Lord married Mrs. Lucena 
(Reed) Stratton, who was bom at StrlkersviUe, 
N. T. Mrs. Lord had a son, Charles J. Stratton. 

Mr. and Mrs. liOrd came to Carroll county in 
1866, settling near Thomson, 111. They had the 
following children : Samuel, who was bom Octo- 
ber 25, 1867; Etta L., who is Mrs. Brown; Wil- 
liam who was born April 28, 1872; Minnie V., 
who was bom July 19, 1873, is the wife of 
William T. Livingston, of Mabelton, Wash.; and 
Reverdy R., who was born January 7, 1876, now 
conducts a store at Polsgrove. Mrs. Lord has 
seven grandchildren and three great-grandchil- 
dren. Prior to her first marriage she was a school 
teacher for thirteen terms in her native state 
and taught in the East Aurora Academy, she 
having been educated in the Middlebury 
Academy. Great-grandfather Reed was killed 
by the Indians in the War of 1812 at Buffalo. 
Mr. and, Mrs. Brown have one child, Lenna L., 
who was bom September 7, 1897. One daugh- 
ter, Bessie, who was bom September 9, 1893, 
died in infancy. Mr. and Mrs. Brown attend the 
Baptist Church. In politics he is a Republican. 

BROWNING, William P., (deceased), a resident 
of Mt. Carroll from 1872, until the time of his 
death, was station agent for the Chicago, Mil- 
waukee & St. Paul Railroad Company for 
thirty-eight years, and was well known in Car- 
roll county. He was born in Bradford county, 



Pa., September 30, 1840, son of E. H. and Sarah 
(Black) Browning. The father had a furniture 
factory near Tonawanda, where he made furni- 
ture by water-power, from the raw material. He 
died when his son William F. was about thirteen 
years old. rnie latter received a common school 
education and spent one year at an academy. 
Mrs. Browning brought her family west in 1857, 
locating in Mt Carroll. 

About the time of the outbreak of the Civil 
War, Mr. Browning engaged in railroad work, 
in which he continued until his death. He 
learned telegraphy, [^)ending nine years with 
the Illinois Central Railroad Company, and then 
entered the employ of the St Louis ^ Southeast- 
em, now a part of the Louisville & Nashville. 
Later he was in the employ of the Chicago, 
Milwaukee & St Paul and the Chicago, Rock 
Island & Pacific Railway Companies. Solicitous 
of the interests of his employers and courteous 
and business-like in his handling of the busi- 
ness he won friends. His brother, H. H. Brown- 
ing, is located in Detroit, Mich., where he has 
for many years been general agent for the United 
States Express and the Dominion Express Com- 
panies. 

Mr. Browning was married, September 19, 
1860, to Miss Matilda Remley at Polo, III., by 
Rev. Vfm. Hollyoke, and they would have cele- 
brated their golden wedding anniversary had 
he lived until September, 1910. Three children 
were bom of this union: Lewis E., who Is a 
farmer of Carroll county, married Caroline 
Mark and has two children — ^Wayne F., of Chi- 
cago and Hazel; Wayne C. who is an express 
messenger in Chicago, married Gertrude Mark 
and they have two children, James M. and 
Robert; William H. who died in 1895, when 
twenty-seven years of age, a young man of ex- 
cellent habits and good prospects, was at that 
time teller of the Illinois Trast & Savings Bank, 
of Cfiicago. The two older sons spent several 
years in the express department of the Northern 
Pacific Railroad Company, but after their mar- 
riages, both settled in Carroll county. 

Mr. Browning was prominent in fratemal 
circles including the Masonic order in Mt Car- 
roll and held most of the offices in the local 
lodges. He was well-known and popular, a 
man of tme worth and high integrity in his 
dealings with his fellows, standing high in the 
estimation of all. He died July 23, 1910, and 
was buried in Mt. Carroll cemetery. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



751 



BUNDT, Theodore, superintendent of the Car- 
roll county infirmary and poor farm which are 
located two miles south of Mt. Carroll^ is a 
man whose executive ability and kindly impulses 
admirably fit him for the proper discharge of 
the duties pertaining to his office. He was bom 
in Woodland township, this county, September 
15, 1872, a son of Delevan and Mary (Bishop) 
Bundy, the former a native of Indiana and the 
latter of Pennsylvania. The father came to Car- 
poll county about 1860, settling in Woodland 
township, where he opened up and developed a 
farm. He enlisted in 1861 for service in the 
Union army during the Civil War, and after 
a faithful service extending over three years, 
was mustered out, and returned to Carroll 
county which remained his home until his 
death, he demoting himself to agricultural pur- 
suits. After the death of his first wife, Mary, 
he married her sister, Sarah Bishop. By his 
first marriage, he had two sons, Jesse, who Is 
a farmer residing in Salem township ; and Theo- 
dore. 

After completing his course at school, Theo- 
dore Bundy worked for some years upon va- 
rious farms in his native county. As soon as 
he was able, however, he began renting land, 
operating it and gaining an Intimate knowl- 
edge of agricultural life which admirably fitted 
him for his present position. In 1907, the 
county board of supervisors appointed him su- 
perintendent of the poor farm, and he at once 
assumed his duties. Under his intelligent super- 
vision, the farm lias attained to a high state of 
cultivation, and the inmates are given a sym- 
pathetic care that wins for Mr. Bundy affection 
and appreciation. Introducing blooded stock on 
the place, Mr. Bundy sells the produce not 
needed for the inmates, to surrounding farmers 
at breeder's prices. During 1900, the surplus 
sold of farm products and live stock netted the 
county $1,401.43. The infirmary is a two-story 
modem brick building and generally liouses 
at>out twenty indigent persons, although its 
capacity is greater. In order to keep abreast of 
work in his line, Mr. Bundy belongs to the State 
and district agricultural societies and various 
charitable organizations, and always attends the 
meetings, thus securing and imparting much 
valuable information. Genial, kind-hearted 
and intelligent, practical ih his ideas and pos- 
sessing the ability and willingness to carry them 
out, Mr. Bundy has made an enviable record in 



his conduct of the affairs under his charge, and 
has the warm approval and respect of all who 
know him. As he is a self-made man, having left 
home soon after the death of his mother, Mr 
Bundy can sympathize with those who have had 
to labor against misfortune. 

On July 7, 1895, Mr. Bundy was married to 
Katharine Hoerz, a daughter of Carl Adam and 
Anna Mary (Keidiasch) Hoerz, the former bom 
in Wurtenberg, Germany, where he was a farmer 
until he came to the United States, settling first 
in Allegheny City, Pa., from whence he later 
came to Washington township, Carroll county, 
becoming supervisor of the township and a 
leader in politics. His wife was bom in the 
same city as he. Mr. and Mrs. Bundy have had a 
family as follows : Florence Blanche, "who was 
bom July 3, 1897; Walter Earl, who was bora 
February 2, 1900; and Carlos Adam, who was 
bom July IG, 1907. Although Mr. Bundy was 
reared in the faith of the United Brethren 
Church, his children are all communicants of the 
German Lutheran Church, in which his wife 
was reared. Mrs. Bundy was bom August 1, 
1877, and is the matron of the infirmary, being 
her husband's invaluable assistant in the affairs 
of the institution. Among other things, she at- 
tends to the bookkeeping, is as capable in her 
work as he is in his, and they work together 
for the best interests of those under their charge. 
In politics, Mr. Bundy is a Republican, although 
he has never been very active in party affairs. 
He is a member of Mt. Carroll Lodge No. 50, 
I. O. O. F. 

BUSELL, David C— Carroll county has con- 
ferred distinguished honors upon some of its 
citizens, sending them to represent its people in 
the State Assembly. While without doubt all 
have endeavored to do their duty as they saw 
it, there are some whose names stand out 
prominently because of their peculiar fitness for 
the office, and the dignified capability with which 
they discharged its many duties. One of those 
thus recognized is the Hon. David C. Busell now 
of MlUedgeville. He was born at Sandwich, N. 
H., June 20, 1837, being a son of James L. and 
Huldah F. (Page) Busell, the former bom at 
Sandwich, N. H., December 11, 1811, and the 
latter at Rochester, N. H. May 26, 1812. The 
maternal grandfather was a soldier in the War 
of 1812, having enlisted from Rochester, N. H., 
where he was bom. He was highly esteemed 



Digitized by 



Google 



752 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



and is still remembered as the first in his com- 
munity to have a barn raising without liquor. 
The father, James L. Busell, came to Carroll 
county in 1856, and spent his remaining days on 
a farm. 

David C. Busell was educated in public 
and tuition schools, and was brought up to a 
farm life. Always an enthusiastic admirer of 
Abraham Lincoln, he so eagerly espoused the 
doctrines of the new party he helped to found, 
that he walked from Milledgeville to Polo, to 
reach Freeport by rail In order to hear the his- 
toric debate between his hero and Senator Doug- 
las, in 1858. As he grew older, Mr. Busell was 
called upon to firll various oflSces of local impor- 
tance, and served as treasurer of the school fund 
for thirty years and was supervisor from Wysox 
township for fourteen consecutive years. In 
1806, Mr. Busell was elected on the Republican 
ticket to the Lower House of the Legislature, 
and again in 1898, being a member of the 
Fortieth and Forty-first Assemblies, and proved 
himself a statesman of unblemislied honor and 
uninterrupted usefulness Po his constituents. He 
became a Mason in 1868, and has passed through 
all the degrees, being now a Knight Templar, 
and is a member of Milledgeville Lodge, No. 
345, A. F. & A. M. in which he has held nearly 
all the ofllces, but Master. While very active in 
the work of the Methodist Church and its Sun- 
day sdiool, he is not a member of the church. 

On February 7, 1870, Mr. Busell was married 
to Gertrude E. Taylor, by Rev. Brown of the 
Methodist Church at Dixon. Mr. and Mrs. 
Busell became the parents of two children : Ella 
A. who was bom April 15, 1872, lives near Mil- 
ledgeville, married to C. A. Spanogle, Issue: six 
children, Emily G., Everett B., Alice J., Esther 
A., Ralph A., and Marian E. ; and Emeline S., 
who was bom December 6, 1875, married Arthur 
C. Graber. She died September 6, 1902, and is 
buried In South Elkhorn Cemetery. Throughout 
his useful life, Mr. Busell has always tried to 
advance the interests of others as well as his 
own, and not only has been a distinguished man 
but also a good one as well. He Is president of 
the First National Bank of Lanark, which office 
he has held for twenty years, and is a director 
of Shumway*s Bank of Milledgeville. 

BUSH, John A., now living retired in Savanna, 
for many years was a well known figure in agri- 



cultural life In Jo Daviess county, and is recog- 
nized as an authority upon those matters which 
relate to farming and kindred industries. He 
was bora in St. Louis, Mo., October 19, 1832, a 
son of James A. Bush. The father was a native 
of Scotland, and his wife of Virginia. John A. 
Bush grew up to a farm life, receiving a com- 
mon school education. When his country had 
need of his services, during the Civil War, he 
enlisted August 7, 1862, In Company E, Ninety- 
sixth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, under Cap- 
tain Black. He was wounded at the battle of 
Chickamauga so severely that he was in the 
hospital eighteen months. In addition to this 
painful experience, he was taken prisoner, and 
held eleven days, when he was paroled, but later 
went to Camp Butler, being there six months 
when he was sent to the front to Louisville, 
then to Knoxville, but saw no active duty until 
he was discharged at Chicago, June 1, 1865. Re- 
tumlng to private life, he took up his affairs 
and continued them. For thirty years, he oper- 
ated a threshing machine, and conducted a fine 
farm In Wisconsin, with profit honestly earned. 
In 1809, he retired to Savanna, which has since 
t>een his home, and he owns his residence here. 

Mr. Bush was married (first) in 1854, to 
Eunice M. Williams, a native of New York State, 
whose parents came to Jo Daviess county. 111., at 
an early day. Mrs. Bush died in 1885. In 
1886, Mr. Bush was married (second) to Eliza- 
beth Sigafus, widow of Christopher Sigafus. 
Her parents were natives of England, and are 
both deceased. Mr. Bush has children as fol- 
lows : George A., Elmer, William, Charles, John, 
Joseph, Earl, Mrs. Melvina Smith, and Mrs. 
Ella Mellen. There are ten grand-children In 
the family. Mrs. Bush has a brother living at 
Apple River, who is a veteran of the Civil War, 
having served four years. By her first mar- 
riage, Mrs. Bush had two sons: William, a 
plasterer by trade; and Frank, a plumber, both 
of whom live with Mr. and Mrs. Bush. Mr. 
Bush is a member of the Methodist Church. 
Politically, he Is an independent His connec- 
tions with the Savanna Post of the G. A. R. 
gives him much pleasure. His long life of use- 
fulness both as a private citizen and soldier 
teaches a lesson to the young, who will do well 
to profit by his example, for he has worked hard 
and secured a comfortable competency for his 
old age. 



Digitized by 



Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



y 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



758 



BUTTSRBAUGH, Jacob F^ who has spent the 
larger part of a busy and useful life within 
Carroll county, coming to this section when a lad 
of fourteen years and remembering when deer 
and other wild creatures of the forests still 
were plentiful, now lives in comfortable re- 
tirement on the old homestead in Cherry Grove 
township. He was born in Franklin county, 
Pa., June 19, 1835, and is a son of Jokn and 
Nancy (Royer) Butterbaugh. 

It was away bade in 1849 that the father of 
Mr. Butterbaugh had the foresight to buy 570 
acres of land in Illinois, the rich, loamy soil 
contrasting favorably with the womout fields 
of the section of Pennsylvania from whence he 
came. He developed a fine farm in Cherry Grove 
township, with the help of his sons, Jacob F., 
Martin, David and Samuel, and both he and wife 
died here, among the most respected of the old 
settlers. 

Jacob F. Butterbaugh had school opportuni- 
ties in his native county but there was plenty 
of hard work on the pioneer farm after coming 
to Illinois. In 1867 he purchased his farm of 
160 acres from his father, for whom he worked 
until he was twenty-fiive years of age, and ad- 
ditionally he owns 120 acres which adjoins the 
old homestead, which is two and one-half miles 
north of Lanark, and is occupied and operated 
by his son, Roy. For many years Mr. Butter- 
l)augh followed general farming and stock rais- 
ing, specializing on bogs, but in 1901 he retired 
from hard labor and now contents himself with 
a general oversight of his former many activi- 
ties. Probably no man in Carroll county is bet- 
ter known, and his opinion and memory are 
often consulted regarding early events in this 
section. 

In 1860, Mr. Butterbaugh was married to 
Miss Lizzie H. Emert, an estimable lady, who 
died in 1907. She was a daughter of Joseph 
and Elizabeth (Barbarry) Emert, who were 
natives of Maryland. 

Mr. Butterbaugh has three children, namely: 
Ira, who lives on the old home place ; Roy, who 
as mentioned above, is a farmer in Cherry 
Grove township; and Mrs. Cora Hepher, who is 
a resident of Lanark. There are nine grand- 
* children in the family and Mr. Butterbaugh 
has great reason to take pleasure in them. He 
is a member of the Brethren Church. He has 
always done his part in advancing the interests 



of his section and for many years served the 
township in the office of school director. 

BTARSy Robert, (deceased). — ^Few men in Car- 
roll county, 111., would be so widely missed 
and sincerely mourned as the late Robert By- 
ars, who passed away at his home at Savanna, 
May 26, 1910. Mr. Byars spent his entire life 
in the county, having been born in Washington 
township, October 30, 1854, a son of Francis 
and Ann (Steele) Byars, both natives of Ire- 
land, who married in that country. The par- 
ents came to America with a party of neigh- 
bors, who settled near each other in the vicin- 
ity of Zion Church. The Byars family is 
given mention at length in connection with the 
notice of John Byars, to be found In this work. 

Robert Byars was reared on his father's 
farm and received a common school education. 
As a young man he came to Savanna and en- 
tered into partnership with Joseph Whithart, 
for conducting a meat business. Several years 
later Mr. Whithart retired from business life 
and his Interest was taken over by Arthur 
Seeber, who continued in business several 
years, after which Mr. Byars formed a partner- 
ship with Fred Whithart, a son of his first 
partner, and the firm began shipping live stock, 
continuing with unusual success until the death 
of Mr. Byars. They established an enviable 
reputation in business circles and the general 
esteem in which Mr. Byars was held is shown 
by the fact that during his last illness many 
of his business associates, commission mer- 
chants from Chicago, came to visit him. He 
was a general favorite wherever known and 
had formed an extensive acquaintance, being 
known for a man of Just dealing and integrity 
in every relation of life and his word was con- 
sidered as good as a bond. His funeral was 
by far the largest ever seen in Savanna. 

Mr. Byars was married June 30, 1881, to 
Margaret Irwlu, a native of Galena, 111., and 
a daughter of William J. and Elizabeth (Lo- 
gan) Irwin, the former bom in the north of 
Ireland and the latter in Edinburgh, Scotland. 
Mr. Irwin and his two sons were soldiers in 
the Civil war, he and the older brother serv- 
ing throughout the war and the younger 
brother only during the latter part The elder 
brother, Aleck Irwin, ran away from home, at 
the age of sixteen years, to Join the army, and 
when he had been away from home but thir- 



Digitized by 



Google 



754 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



teen days was wounded, but recovered and re- 
joined his regiment. He is now residing in 
Colorado. Mr. Irwin lived to an advanced age 
and died in 1898, within tliree weeks of the 
death of his wife. 

In business Mr. Byars was most successful 
and for several years dealt largely In Dakota 
lands, which netted him very good results. He 
was considered one of Savanna's leading citi- 
zens and his loss was keenly felt In many cir- 
cles. He and his wife had no children of their 
own but reared one orphan, Bava M., giving 
her an excellent education. No more fitting 
example could be given of the generosity and 
fairness of this humane and kindly man than 
the fact that when his adopted daughter mar- 
ried she was given a good start In life and was 
well remembered in her benefactor's will. It 
is by such acts that a man helps to make the 
world better, and his memory should be kept 
green. At the time of his death Mr. Byars 
owned a farm in Oklahoma and another Just 
outside the city of Savanna, both of which are 
now the property of his widow. Mr. Byars 
took little active Interest In political affairs, 
and the only office he ever held was that of 
alderman, to which he was elected one or two 
terms. Fraternally he was a member of the 
Modem Woodmen of America. 

CALKINS, William H., whose retentive memory 
carries him back to days when agricultural oper- 
ations in the oldest settled sections were carried 
on with an expenditure of time and effort that 
would now be deemed entirely out of date, lives 
In comfortable retirement at MllledgevUle, 111. 
He was born in Wayne county, N. Y., July 1, 
1843, and is a son of John and Sally Ann (Van 
Valkerburgh) Calkins, natives of Vermont The 
mother was a descendant of one of the early 
settlers of the Green Mountain State. John 
Calkins and wife moved with other relatives to 
Wayne county, N. Y., and there La Follette 
Calkins, the grandfather, died in 1850. The 
grandmother married (second) James West and 
she died at Frog Point, N. Y. The parents of 
William H. Calkins were married in 1837, and 
the mother who was the first wife of John 
Calkins, died in Wayne county in 1850. His 
second marriage took place in 1854, to Nancy J. 
Frazeir and, in 1865, they moved to a farm six 
miles from Kalamazoo, Mich. In that same 
year they came to Whiteside county, 111., set- 



tling within three miles of MUledgeville. At 
first John Calkins rented land, but in 1864, pur- 
chased forty acres. He made an excellent farm 
of that property and lived on It until 1877, when 
he bought a home in Milledgevllle, where his 
death occurred March 20, 1905, having readied 
the age of ninety-three years, respected and 
esteemed beyond the usual amount of regard 
shown to venerable age. In early life a Whig, 
he became prominent In the Republican party 
later on. In religious belief he was a Baptist 
The four children of his first marriage were: 
William H.; Stephen Q., who Uvea at Quincy, 
111., is a veteran of the Civil War, and was 
wounded at the battle of Shiloh ; Abraham, who 
died September 13, 1908 ; and Mary A., who mar- 
ried David Bushman, both of whom are de- 
ceased, being survived by one daughter, who Is 
the wife of William Fleming. Three children 
were born to the second union, all of whom are 
now deceased. 

William H. Calkins accompanied his parents 
to Michigan and then to Illinois and started to 
school in April, 1856, attending until he was 
twelve years of age at which time he went to 
work on a farm, his duties ccmtlnulng through 
the summer while in the winter time he had 
further school advantages. He well remembers 
tramping through deep snow and facing sharp 
winds but in those days boys were not sup- 
posed to mind such exposure and in fact did 
develop sturdy frames and sound constitutions. 
He remained with his father for scnne years and 
then went to live with his brother Abraham and 
together they rented 200 acres of land and op- 
erated it Jointly until October 8, 1864, when he 
enlisted for service in the Civil War, entering 
Company M, Eighth Illinois Cavalry for one 
year or during the war. His regiment was sta- 
tioned at Fairfax Court House, Va., but in the 
spring of 1865 it was ordered to Missouri for 
military work on the plains, but he was honora- 
bly discharged in July of that year, the war 
being over. He returned home and resumed work 
on the farm and was married February 2, 1870, 
to Miss Emma Scoville. She was bom in White- 
side county. 111., January 17, 1853, a daughter of 
James and Elizabeth Scoville, early settlers in 
that section, both now deceased. 

After marriage Mr. and Mrs. Calkins settled 
on a farm in Genesee township, Whiteside coun- 
ty, three and one-half miles from Milledgevllle. 
This farm Mr. Calkins developed into one of the 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CAEROLL COUNTY 



755 



best in the township and additionally has done 
some hnilding and honse painting, although he 
never served an apprenticeship to these trades. 
He has done well for a man who started out in 
life with a capital of $50, owning at present 
some very valuable property, having educated 
bis children and at ail times done his full duty 
as a citizen. In recalling early days he remem- 
bers the old shovel plow and equally jMrimltlve 
implements for farm use. On April 11, 1884, 
Mrs. Gallsins died and was survived by three chil- 
dren, namely : John E., married Flora Blaclunan 
and they have four sons ; Elvin E., who was bom 
in 1876, married Pauline Haug and they have 
one son, Lawrence. Elvin who is now operat- 
ing the home farm. Mr. Calkins was married 
(second) to Mrs. Carrie M. (Hendrick) Bush- 
man, who was bom August 16, 1864, a daughter 
of Lewis C. and Catherine L. (Herald) Hend- 
rick, natives of New York. By her first marriage 
Mrs. Calkins had two children: Lolla, now the 
wife of Herbert Page of Ro<*ford, 111. ; and Dora 
E., who died in infancy. Mr. Bushman died 
July 27, 1886. One child has been bom to Mr. 
and Mrs. Calkins, Zolla lona, born March 13, 
1896. Mr. Calkins belongs to a number of so- 
cial and fraternal organizations, Including: the 
Grand Army of the Republic, the Modem Wood- 
m«i of America, Mystic Workers, Patriotic Order 
Sons of America, while Mrs. Calkins of the 
Women's Relief Oorps and Mystic Workers and 
for eight years was treasurer of the former 
body. They are worthy members of the Church 
of the Brethren. Politically he has always been 
a Republican and for four years served as a 
member of the board of aldermen of the town 
and during this time the cement walks were laid 
and other Improvements were completed. 

CARPENTER, KeUie B., manager and secre- 
tary of the Argo Creamery, at Argo, Carroll 
Co., III., was l)om within a half mile of his 
present plant, on section 10, York township, 
January 26, 1868, a son of John and Hannah 
(Keiiyon) Carpenter. John Carpenter was 
l>om in Warren county, N. Y., and in 1854 ac- 
companied his father, Bishop Carpenter, to 
Carroir county, 111., the Kenyon family coming 
at the same time and both settling in York 
township. In 1856 John Carpenter married the 
daughter of the neighboring family and after- 
ward he bought 200 acres here, all which he 
sold, bnt forty-five acres, and this remained the 



family home until the end of their lives. They 
had three sons: Sylvester, Horace and Kellie 
B., and an adopted daughter, Hattle, who is 
now the wife of H. L. Rawlins, a farmer in 
York township. Sylvester Carpenter, a very 
prominent citizen of Thomson, 111., married 
Laura Gleason, of Thomson. Horace Carpen- 
ter is a merchant at Baker City and married 
there. John Carpenter was a carpenter and 
builder by trade and fbllowed the same for 
many years in Illinois, be and his brother, 
Charles Carpenter, being associated for many 
years. He was bom in 1828 and died in 1910, 
having survived his wife since 1903. 

Kellie B. Carpenter was reared on the home 
farm and obtained his education in the district 
schools, attending the York Center School. As 
soon as old enough to handle a plow he began 
to help on the farm but at the same time con- 
tinued to study and thus became a well in- 
formed young man. For some years he and his 
brother Sylvester operated the farm together, 
then taking their cream to wliat was known as 
the York Creamery, which was owned by John 
Hadley. Mr. Carpenter \ras only sixteen years 
of age when he and his brother Sylvester took 
over this creamery route and continued it 
until 1888. In the fall of that year he made a 
trip to California but returned in the following 
year and resumed farming, continuing until 
1890, when he went to work in the York 
Creamery. Having been handling cream for 
some five years he had gained a pretty fair 
knowledge of the business and of the details 
of manufacturing butter and found the work 
congenial, so that, when Mr. Hadley sold out to 
Mr. Petty In 1891, he remained. In 1892 the 
new owner sold to the John Newman Company, 
of Elgin, 111., and thirteen years later the In- 
terests of this company were purchased by the 
Argo Creamery Company, an incorporated body 
under the laws of the state of Illinois. This 
is one of the best equipped creameries of the 
state and the work is done under the direct su- 
pervision of Kellie B. Carpenter, who is sec- 
retary and general manager; Herbert S. Peck 
being treasurer, and Charles Duncher is now 
president. 

In various contests and exhibitions of butter 
makers, Mr. Carpenter has been awarded the 
following premiums: At Galesburg, at the Illi- 
nois State Dairymen's meeting, his scores were 
97%; in 1899 a gold medal from the Elgin 



Digitized by 



Google 



756 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



Board of Trade ; a bronze medal at the St Louis 
Exposition in 1904, with record 93; grand 
sweepstalies, Illinois Fair, 1904, score 96; first 
premnim for Northern Division, Illinois State 
Fair, 1910, score 94 1-3; contest conducted by 
the Illinois State University, 1911, highest score 
95 and 95 5-6; grand sweepstakes, Illinois 
^tate Fair, 1911; state cup awarded to him by 
the N. C. & B. A. 16th Annual Convention, 
Chicago, 111.; 1911, score 94-83. He is state 
vice president of that association. This com- 
pany turns out 200,000 i)ounds of butter a year, 
the average price being twenty-eight cents. 
For twenty years he has devoted his time and 
attention to the dairy business and thereby has 
gained a national reputation. 

Mr. Carpenter was married in York town- 
ship, February 3, 1891, to Miss Mary Belle 
Teeter, by Rev. Keagle, of the Evangelical 
Church. She was bom near Harrlsburg, Pa., 
October 24, 1872, her parents now residing at 
Bolivar, Mo. Mr. and Mrs. Carpenter have 
■ three children: Lela, who was born November 
27, 1893 ; John, who was born August 17, 1902 ; 
and Lenn, who was bom June 2, 1910. Mr. 
Carpenter owns about forty-five acres of the 
old homestead on Section 10 and ninety-two 
acres devoted to his dairy industry on Sections 
10 and 3. In politics he is a Republican and 
is serving as a school director. Fraternally 
he is a Mason, a Knight of Pythias and belongs 
also to the Modem Woodmen. His residence is 
in the creamery building, where he has neatly 
arranged quarters. Mrs. Carpenter is a mem- 
ber of the Pythian Sisters and Royal Neigh- 
bors. 

CASSELBERRY, John, (deceased).— The rec- 
ords of Carroll county show no name more 
highly honored than that which was borne by 
the late John Casselberry of Mt. Carroll town- 
ship, one of the prosperous farmers and exten- 
sive cattlemen of that locality. He was born in 
Montgomery county, Pa., November 11, 1832, 
being a son of William and Ann (Johnson) 
Casselberry, both of whom rounded out useful 
lives in Pennsylvania. William Casselberry 
was a tanner, but the greater part of his life, 
he farmed. He and his wife had children to 
the number of ten. 

John Casselberry attended the district 
schools of his neighborhood, following which 
he went to Morristown and Reading to com- 



plete his education. He then worked on the 
home farm in the summer, and taught school 
during the winter months, until 1855, when he 
went to Carroll county, Md., and that winter 
taught school. In 1856, he came to Carroll 
county, HI., where he worked out as a farm 
hand, but soon thereafter assumed charge of 
the farm, working it on shares, thus continuing 
for three years. In the winter of 1858, he re- 
turned to the east and there obtained sufficient 
money to buy 140 acres in Mt. Carroll town- 
ship. As soon as he bought this land, he com- 
menced improving it, and the first year he put 
in 100 acres of wheat, from which he harvested 
3,000 bushels, but only received thirty-five cents 
Ver bushel for it. In addition to the wheat, he 
raised oats and a little com. Later Mr. Cas- 
selberry added to his original farm, until at 
the time of his demise, he had 220 acres, of 
which twenty- three acres were taken by the 
railroad. In 1880, he began farming the Keech 
farm of 200 acres. Mr. Casselberry devoted 
considerable attention to stock raising, his 
product usually averaging fifty to seventy-five 
head of the best grade of Shorthom cattle; 
twenty head of standard trotting and draft 
horses, in the latter preference being showm 
the Percheron breed. 

On Febmary 24, 1859, Mr. Casselberry was 
married to Emily P. Keech, who pas.sed away, 
July 27, 1869, having home her husband four 
children: William N., bom December 3, 1859; 
Annie J., born September 2, 1861, married Dr. 
li. H. Maloney, of Savanna, III.; Lorena J., 
born January 8, 1865, of Savanna, 111.; and 
Charles S., born March 21, 1869, resides on a 
portion of the home farm. Mr. Casselberry 
was married again, February 29, 1872, to Mi-s. 
M. Eleanore Barclay, daughter of John and 
Elanora (McCracken) Barclay, of Franklin 
county. Pa. Mrs. Casselberry is the youngest 
of six children, and was born April 20, 1845. 
Mr. and Mrs. Casselberry became the parents 
of four children: Emily C, born November 26, 
1872; Mary L.. bom May 31, 1875; John N., 
born May 28, 1879, and S. Edwin, born August 
15, 1881. Mrs. Casselberry lives in Savanna. 

For over twenty years, Mr. Casselberfy acted 
as a school director, being elected on the Re 
publican ticket, and was proud of the fact that 
he cast his first presidential vote for John C. 
Fremont. He was a member of the Baptist 
Church, of which his widow is also a member. 



Digitized by 



Google 




JJ^ a-^i^va 



^i-trzyiyjJ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



- • . \ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



757 



and he passed away firm in Its faith, January 
27, 1908. His place is empty, but the good that 
he accomplished during his long, useful, God- 
fearing life, will not die. Never neglecting 
what he believed to be his duty; always giv- 
ing full measure to others, and in turn exact- 
ing it, he made a success of his work, and left 
behind him in addition to a blameless and hon- 
ored name, a comfortable fortune for his widow 
and children. 

CASSBLBBRRY, William N.— As is happily 
often the case, those bred to agricultural life 
continue to till the soil, and follow In the foot- 
8tei)s of good and honored sires. The late 
John Casselberry, whose biography appears at 
length elsewhere, brought up his children to 
farming, and while giving them a sound edu- 
cation, taught them to work as well. His son, 
William N. Casselberry, of whom we write in 
this sketch, is one of the best examples of the 
native sons of the county. He was bom in 
Mt. Carroll township, December 3, 1859, his 
mother having been the first wife of his father, 
Emily P. (Keech) Casselberry, whose death 
occurred when William was only ten years old. 

Following out his father's ideas, he went to 
the district schools in the winter, and worked 
on the farm in the summer, growing up amid 
strictly agricultural surroundings. In 1887, 
he rented a farm from D. F. Holmes In Salem 
township, oi)erating it until in 1891, when he 
bought his present property of 154.81 acres, in 
Mt. Carroll township, formerly owned by W\\- 
llam Wolfe, Thomas Kinney and H. Bowman. 
On this he has made material improvements, 
and brought it into a high state of cultivation. 

On March 26, 1884, Mr. Casselberry married 
Samantha E. Merchant, bom in Fair Haven 
township, this county, daughter of Van Buren 
and Lestina A. (Bancroft) Merchant Mr. 
and Mrs. Casselberry are the parents of the 
following children: Ada, bom in February, 
1885, married Egbert Ritchie and resides at 
Klmberly, Idaho; Walter N., born February 
6, 1888, married Phebe Schroppel and resides 
in Savanna, 111.; Harry L., bom July 25, 1889, 
married Ethel Zigler and resides in Savanna; 
and NeUie B., bom July 16, 1893, lives with 
her parents. 

Mr. Casselberry is a Republican, and has held 
the ofllce of road commissioner, as well as sev- 
eral others in the township. He Is a live, 



energetic, progressive agriculturist whose in- 
terests are centered here, and who has great 
faith In the continued advancement of prop- 
erty values, and betterment of conditions. 

CHAMBERS, Jacob L., Sr.—There is nothing 
truer than that persevering Industry pays and 
that youth is the time to prepare for comfortable 
old age and this applies to every vocation and 
particularly to agricultural activities. In the 
case of Jacob L. Chambers, the results of a 
busy and well spent life are competency, good 
health and the esteem and affection of family 
and fellow citizens, Jacob L. Chambers, who, 
for many years, was a practical and successful 
farmer and stock raiser of Carroll county, has 
been a valued resident of MilledgevlUe since 
1894, but still keeps a directing eye over his 
large estate in Wysox township. He was born 
in Jackson county, Ind., July 18, 1842, a son 
of Charles J. and Martha (Jacobs) Chambers. 

Charles J. Chambers was bom in Washington 
county, Ind., a son of John Chambers, a native 
of Kentucky, who had moved to Washington 
county at a very early day. He there was mar- 
ried to Sarah Johnson and they had a large 
family. He was quite a politician in his day 
and was an able and resourceful man, being 
appointed manager on all public occasions and 
probably held many of the local offices. His 
descendants have scattered over Indiana, Iowa 
and Illinois, everywhere being among the best 
class of citizens. In 1849 Charles J. Chambers 
left Indiana and entered land near Mllledge- 
ville. Carroll county, 111., but In December of 
that year took sick and died. The brother of 
Mr. Chambers, Irvin G.» came to the help of 
the family and took them all back to the old 
home In Indiana in a large wagon, with their 
family possessions. For some years the widow 
of Charles J. Chambers kept house for her 
brother and then rented a little farm in Jack- 
son county and there she died in 1859, March 
30. She was an admirable woman, a hard 
worker and a good manager. She was the 
good mother of three children: Sarah Jane, 
who died April 16, 1864, aged seventeen years; 
Jacob L. ; and Jonas B., who died December 
18. 1902. The latter was a soldier in the Civil 
War. Later he moved to Nebraska and en- 
gaged in farming near Omaha. In which city 
he subsequently settled and there engaged in 
tlie grocery business until his death In 1002. 



Digitized by 



Google 



758 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



Jacob L. Chambers attended a subscription 
school for a time in his boyhood. After the 
death of his father and the return of his mother 
to his grandfather's farm he went to work 
and remembers many kind acts of his grand- 
father. The latter gave the boy an ox team 
and he was instructed how to cultivate wheat, 
having twelve acres to dear for his ^and- 
father. He was a willing and Industrious 
youth and worked early and late and so Im- 
pressed his relatives with his ability and good 
judgment that an uncle bought a farm for him 
and his brother. The Civil war came on, and 
he enlisted as a soldier, volunteering for three 
years or during the war, in Company G, Twenty- 
ftfth Indiana Volunteer Infantry. His regi- 
ment was sent first to Vincennes, then to 
EvansviUe, St. Louis, Jefferson City and 
Georgetown, and at Sedalla. Mo., Mr. Chambers 
was taken down with the measles. For a 
time he was dangerously ill in a hospital. After 
he recovered he rejoined his regiment and par- 
ticipated in all its activities up to the Siege of 
Fort Donelson, which was a hard fight. Prom 
there the twenty-fifth was sent back to Fort 
Henry, then to Savannah and on to Pittsburg 
landing. The history of those dreadful days 
is preserved In the annuls of this brave regi- 
ment and Mr. Cliambers bore no inconspicuous 
part in all its valorous doings. He was several 
times wounded but was always with his regi- 
ment unless confined in a hospital. Finally he 
was discharged on account of disability from 
these injuries and then returned to his home. 

Just as soon as he had sufficiently recovered 
Mr. Chambers resumed work, and in the fall 
of 1S62, his brother and an uncle enlisted. He 
then rented a farm from his grandfather and 
with a few hundred dollars from his mother*s 
estate, he and his brother went to work, and 
raised grain and hogs. Afterward he went to 
work for himself and in the fall of 1864, had the 
satisfaction of realizing on a good crop that be 
had raised himself. About that time he and his 
grandfather started to make the trip into Illi- 
nois, and although his grandfather was robbed 
of his pocket-book while waiting for his train, 
he borrowed money and they went to Chicago, 
thence to Sterling and on to the land in Car- 
roll county that Charles J. Chambers had en- 
tered In 1S49. They then went to Iowa, sub- 
sequently returning to Indiana, having been 
much benefited and instructed by this visit 



Into other sections. Before returning to the old 
farm of his father in Illinois, Mr. Chambers 
had many experiences and both ups and downs. 
Finally with his brother he came to the old 
place, bought his brother*s interest, but not 
settling in Carroll county until after his first 
marriage, in 1870. In the meanwhile he had 
other agricultural experiences and worked suc- 
cessfully in Indiana, and for a time rented a 
part of the old farm of his grandfather. After 
his second marriage he settled in Genesee town- 
ship, Whiteside county, a number of years later 
moving to Lanark. The life in that village did 
not come up to his expectations and he sold his 
property there and bought 280 acres in sections 
17 and 19 and 20 In Wysox township. On that 
farm the family had a beautiful home and to 
his original purchase he added until he now 
owns 700 acres of land. In 1894 he erected 
his handsome residence at Milledgeville and 
retired from active farm labor but has by no 
means lost his Interest in agricultural mattera 
Mr. Chambers was married first in 1870, to 
Caroline Wetzell, who died in 1871. On April 
30, 1873, he was married (second) to Miss Alice 
O. Hawkins, who was bom in Lawrence county-, 
Ind., on October 28, 1855, and was brought to 
Whiteside county in 1861. Seven children have 
been bom to them, namely : D. Austin, who died 
at the age of six and one-half years; Zoa M., 
who was bom in Whiteside county, July 19, 
1877, is the wife of Arthur Deets and they live 
in Whiteside county, and have one diild, Alice 
Catherine; Ada Alice, who was bom January 
30, 1881, is the wife of Fay Wolfe, a merchant 
at Milledgeville; Ida N., who was bom Decem- 
ber 16, 1884, is supervisor of art in the schools 
of St. Cloud, Minn., having been graduated from 
the high school at Milledgeville, took a course 
and was graduated in art from the Francis 
Shlmer Academy at Mt Carroll, and in June, 
1911, was graduated from the Art Institute, Chi- 
cago, with honors, being an artist of exceptional 
ability; Jacob L., who was bom S^tember 4, 
1888, spent two years at a military sdiool at 
Boonville, Mo., and is now engaged on the home 
farm ; Don R., who was bom November 24, 1890, 
has the same record; and Ora Lucile, who was 
bom March 25, 1898. This family has been af- 
forded both, educational and social advantages 
and are intelligent and accomplished. The sons 
are successfully operating the home estate which 
bears the name of Rock Vale Farm. In politics 



Digitized by 



Google 




; 



K^^rrgL/G)* f(y^tAyy^ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



759 



Mr. Chambers is a Republican. He is idf*niified 
with the 6. A. R., and he and his family belong 
to the Christian church. 

CHAMPION, Herbert M., a farmer and breeder 
of Duroc-Jersey hogs, owns and operates a fine 
property on section 10, Rock Creek township, 
Carroll county. He was bom on section 11, this 
township, April 18, 1856, a son of Perry and 
Chloe (Chubbrick) Champion, born and reared 
in Bradford county. Pa. Both the paternal and 
maternal grandparents were of English extrac- 
tion, who came to Pennsylvania in a very early 
day. All of these died in Pennsylvania. 

Perry Cliampion was a farmer and teacher 
while residing in Pennsylvania and after coming 
to Carroll county taught school in Elkhom Grove 
township. The family migration was made to 
Carroll county in 1854, the little party con- 
sisting of Mr. and Mrs. Champion and their 
two sons. He bought land on section 11, Rock 
Creek township, to the extent of 160 acres, from 
the government, and from this wild property he 
made a fine home, and resided upon it for many 
years, but in 1888, left the farm, and locating 
at Lanark, lived there until his death, April 2, 
1897, at the age of seventy-three years. His 
widow survived him until August 31, 1898, 
when she passed away, aged seventy-one years. 
Both died firm in their faith of the Methodist 
Church of which they were members. He was 
a man that took a deep interest in educational 
matters, and was for many years a school di- 
rector, and be was always ready to support 
measures tending to paying good salaries to the 
teachers. A great reader, he kept posted on cur- 
rent events, and knew what he was talking about. 
His support was given to the Republican party. 
A practical, plain man, he had the faculty of 
making and retaining friends, and was ever 
ready to aid them with sound advice. He and 
his wife had six children, four sons and two 
dau^ters: Fred, who went to Manhatten, 
Kans., and there died; Clarence, who has not 
been heard from in some years; Herbert M. ; 
Julianna, who is the wife of George M. Walles 
of Lanark; Clara, who is the wife of Ed. Gar- 
shaw of Beatrice, Neb.; and James, who died 
at the age of twenty-seven years, married Car- 
rie Sword who is also deceased, the two dying 
a week apart. 

Mr. Champion was reared as any country boy, 
working on the farm and attending public school. 



When he started dut for himselt he bought 
forty acres on section 10, Rock Creek township, 
and commenced at once to improve it. For many 
years, until 1910, he specialized in the breeding 
of hogs, carrying the Poland-Chinas, but in 
that year, turned his attention to the Duroc- 
Jerseys, and is better pleased with the results. 
At present he has sixty head of the pure blooded 
stock. Although he spent ten years in Benton 
county, la., Mr. Champion has always regarded 
Carroll County as his home. 

On February 25, 1878, Herbert M. Champion 
was married to Miss Catharine Messinger, bom 
at Rock Run, III., July 25, 1860, a daughter 
of Edward Messinger. Her mother died when 
she was only twelve months old, and her father 
September 5, 1865, when she was five years 
old. She was one in a family of two daughters 
and five sons. Mr. and Mrs. Champion became 
the parents of the following children : Ida, who 
was bom September 20, 1879, married (first) 
Henry Gibb, issue, — ^Merle Gibb, bom in Rock 
Creek township, June 11, 1901, lives with his 
grandparents, his mother having married (sec^ 
ond) Monro Poffenberger, issue, — Samuel and 
Robert, and all reside in Mt Carroll; Clara» 
who was bom in Rock Creek township, March 
14, 1882, married William Tenley of Lanark; 
Charles, who was bom in Benton county, la., 
March 22, 1887, married Pearl Cramer, and lives 
at Lanark; and Clarence, who was bom in 
Benton county, la., Febmary 27, 1889, married 
Minnie Grim, adopted daughter of Otho Grim, 
issue, — lona. 

For many years, Mr. and Mrs. Champion have 
been members of the Progressive Brethren 
Church, which is a branch of the Dunkards. 
They have been closely identified with the 
moral uplift of their neighborhood, and take a 
deep interest in their church at Lanark. Both 
remember distinctly the many important dianges 
which have taken place in their county where 
they have lived and labored for so many years, 
and they have Justly eamed the high respect 
in which they are held by all who know them. 

CHAPIN, George W. — Some of the most repre- 
sentative men of Savanna, have retired fr<Mn 
active life, and are now able to give to civic af- 
fairs that keen supervision which requires leis- 
ure. One of the retired citizens of this place 
is George W. Chapin, a man universally re- 
spected. He was bom at Freeport, 111., March 



Digitized by 



Google 



7 ' ^ G, yi '.1 



760 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



10, 1844, son of Lorln and Catherine (Rnff) 
Chapin, a sketch of whom is found elsewhere in 
this worlt. Mr. Chapin was reared in Savanna, 
the family having moved here, and he worked 
on the farm and railroad, until he enlisted in 
Company C, Ninety-second Volunteer Infantry of 
his state, in 1863. He was under Captain Hawk, 
and served until 18C5 as a brave and valiant 
soldier. Mr. Chapin had the misfortune to be 
taken captive and confined in the infamous An- 
dersonville prison, where he was held five 
months. Some idea of his sufferings can be 
gained from the fact that when he was taken 
there he weighed 162 pounds, and when he left, 
he only weighed eighty-two pounds. He was 
discharged at Springfield, in July, 1865. 

In 1867, Mr. Chapin was united in marriage 
to Miss Elizabeth Bats, who died in 1903. Mr. 
and Mrs. Chapin had six children: Mra Bella 
B. Haver; Mrs. Susan Rose, who Is of Mt. Car- 
roll ; Emma, who is the wife of Isaac Elliott of 
Savanna ; Elmer who is of Savanna ; Viola who 
is the wife of Calvin Elliott a contractor; and 
Mrs. Nicholas Elliott who is of Savanna. Mr. 
Cliapin has twelve grandchildren, and is very 
proud of his family, as he has every reason to be. 
He belongs to the Hawk Post, G. A. R. of Sav- 
anna. Mr. Chapin is not aflaiiated with any 
religious organization, but his wife was a mem- 
ber of the Baptist Church. As a soldier and citi- 
zen, Mr. Chapin has done his whole duty and de- 
serves the confidence he inspires. 

CHAPIN, Louis L.— The record of any com- 
munity is found in the history of the lives of 
its citizens, and when they have lived honorably 
and uprightly, their locality shows the effect of 
such efforts. The Chapin brothers have, done 
much to raise the standard of their neighbor- 
hood, and one of this name who is specially 
representative of the better class of citizens of 
Carroll county, is Louis L. Chapin, a veteran of 
the Civil war, now retired. He was born in 
Black River county, O., February 22, 1842, a son 
of Lorin and Catherine (Ruff) Chapin. natives of 
Vermont and Pennsylvania, respectively. The 
father, who was a shoemaker, came west In 1845, 
and died at the age of seventy-seven years. His 
widow survived him, dying at the age of eighty- 
four years. 

Louis L. Chapin spent his boyhood in Savanna, 
receiving a public school education. In 1863, 
he enlisted in Captain Hawk's Company, Ninety- 



second Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and served 
until 1865, being with General Sherman on the 
famous March to the Sea, and in several ^vgage- 
meuts prior to that, among them b^g those of 
Lookout Mountain, and Atlanta. * After bein^^Is- 
charged at Concord, N. C, he <»nie Oack to 
Savanna. 

After the death of his father, Mr. Chapin took 
the home place, and cared for his mother as'long 
as she lived. He cast his first presidential vote 
for President Grant. Mr. Chapin belongs to Cap^ ' 
tain Hawk's Post, G. A. R., as does his brother 
George W. Another brother, John, resides in 
Kansas. 

A man of retiring disposition, he lias never 
sought public office, but has tried to do his full 
duty as a citizen, and give his support to all 
measures which in his opinion would benefit the 
majority. 

CLARK, Ira, whose useful life as a ffliibuiii 

for the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Rail- 
road, indicates that he had a full realization of 
human responsibilities, and faithfully endeav- 
ored to discharge them, so that now In his re- 
tirement he has few regrets, is living at Sa- 
vanna. He was bom in New York state, No- 
vember 25. 1832, son of William and Prtscilla 
(Short) Clark. The family came to Illinois 
when Ira was about ten years of age, locating 
near Bluffville, where the father was killed hi 
the early part of July following, by a stroke 
of lightning. The mother lived to be seventy 
years old. 

Ira Clark grew up to useful manhood, and 
had a varied career. Leaving home when fifteen 
years old he began working on the Illinois and 
Michigan canal. Then he went to Chicago and 
later to Milwaukee, where he drove a hack for 
F. Oakley, for four years and then went into 
the country for a short time but returning to 
Milwaukee worked again for Mr. Oakley when 
he began driving a stage coach. Not only did 
he drive a stage coach, but fired on steamboats 
on the Mississippi river, and carried mail from 
Savanna to Fulton. In those early days, he 
went on horseback, and at times had difficulty 
in fording the streams owing to high water. 
Upon one occasion, he slipped from his horse, 
and clinging to its tail, swam out Again, he 
had to swim across a creek, when carrying mail 
to Fteeport, in freezing weather and almost lost 
his life. For two years, he operated a 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



763 



the principles of patriotism, brought up amid 
rmly upright surrounamgs, taught from infancy 
the lessons which wh^i learned lead towards 
good citizenship and capable manliood and 
woman, there is little reason to feel surprise that 
new fields were sought, as the east gradually 
stretched out towards the west, by members of 
this family. 

To leave generalities and deal directly with 
one of the meml>ers of this family whose name is 
a household one in Carroll county, attrition is 
called to the biography of one of the retired 
farmers of this secticm. While he has never 
been called upon to enter public life to any ex- 
tent, had he felt it his duty to do so, he would 
have discharged the obligations placed upon him 
wisely and capably, and proven his strength *in 
that direction as be has in so many others dur. 
ing his long life. Samuel P. Golehour, Sr., who 
carried on farming in Carroll county, for a 
period of fifty years, lias, been a resident of the 
county since 1854. He was bom in Montgomery 
county, Pa., September 18, 1834, a son of H^ry 
and Hannah (Richards) Colehour, both also na- 
tives of that county, the father being bom in 
1805. The family came to Illinois in 1854 and 
made the trip from Fre^wrt to Mt Carroll by 
stage. The father having sold the old homestead 
in Penn^lvania for $110 per acre, purcliased 240 
acres Just outside of Mt Carroll up(Hi his arrival. 
None of his sons except S. P. Colehour cared to 
develop wild land into a farm, and engaged in 
other lines of work. One son, Charles W., re- 
moved to Chicago and purcliased 400 acres in 
Sdhth Chicago, Imown as Colehour's Addition, 
which he laid out in city lots> but becoming in- 
volved in litigation, lost most of his Investment. 
Two sons, David B. and James A., enlisted in 
the Union army and the former, who died of 
heart disease at Nashville, Tenn., in 1863, was 
brought to Mt Carroll and buried in Oak Hill 
CHnetery. Jam^ A. was with General Sher- 
man on the famous March to the Sea and was 
mustered out at the end of his term of service, 
afta" which he resumed the duties of private 
life. He now resides at Battle Lake, Ottertail 
county, Minn. 

Since coming to Carroll county Mr. Colehour 
was engaged in farming until a few years ago, 
when he retired from actire life and rented his 
farm, which he still owns. He received his Ai- 
catioD in the country schools and spent his boy- 



hood on*his father^s farm, sixteen miles from 
Philadelphia, where he was reared to farm work. 
He has done most of the improving of his 
farm, developing it highly and is known as an 
energetic, able farmer and business man. He 
felt it his duty to remain at home with his 
parents at the time of the Civil War, but greatly 
regretted his inability to go to the front and 
fight for the cause he believed right 

Mr. Colehour was married at Ashton, 111., 
June 2, 1864, to Miss Mary Jane Wood, who 
was bom in Bradford county. Pa., October 3, 
1834, and died August 29, 1902, and is buried 
in Oak Hill cemetery, Mt CarrolL She came 
with her parents to Carrroll county in March, 
1854, and was engaged in teaching several years, 
when she entered Mt. Carroll Seminary (in 
1861), from which she was graduated in 1864. 
She was a cultured and refined woman, a kind 
mother and a good neighbor, and interested in 
the well-being of all about her. Her loss was 
keenly felt in the community where she had 
lived so long and had made so many warm 
friends. Mr. and Mrs. Colehour were parents of 
six sons, all of whom were bom in Carroll 
county: Edward Frank, who was bom April 
12, 1865, lives in Rockford; Fred H., who was 
bom September 14, 1866, is engaged in an 
elevator and grain business in Mt Carroll ; Jesse, 
who was bom December 22, 1867, is a farmer of 
Carroll county ; John B., who was bom January 
19, 1870, died October 1895 ; Qeorge W., who was 
born May 26, 1871; and Samuel P., Jr., who 
was bora November 27, 1875, is a physician 
practicing in Mt Carroll. Mr. Colehour is a 
man of pleasing appearance and genial man- 
ner, and takes a keen interest in life; He makes 
several visits to his farm each week and care- 
fully looks after his various interests. 

COLEHOUR, Samuel P., M. D., a leading phy- 
sician and surgeon of Mt Carroll, where he has 
been established in a general practice about a 
dozen years, was bom at Mt. Carroll, Novem- 
ber 27, 1875, son of Samuel P. and Mary J. 
(Wood) Colehour, both natives of Pennsyl- 
vania, the father having been bom in Mont- 
gomery county. The father of Samuel P. Cole- 
hour Sr., was a native of Holland, who came to 
America in the early part of the nineteenth cen- 
tury and died in the prime of life. The father 
of Dr. Colehour was a farmer and came to Illi- 



Digitized by 



Google 



764 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



nois in the early fifties. He and his %vife were 
married June 2, 1864, and became parents ot» 
six children, namely: Frank E., who is an In- 
surance agent at Rockford, 111.; Frederick H., 
who Is in a grain, coal and cement business at 
Mt. Carroll ; Jesse, who is a farmer of Carroll 
county; John, who died in 1887; George W. ; 
and Dr. Samuel P. 

After receiving a common and high school edu- 
cation in his native city, Samuel P. Colehour, 
Jr., attended the National Medical College, from 
which he was graduated in 1899, since which 
time he has been located in Mt Carroll. He 
is the official local surgeon for the Chicago, Mil- 
waukee & St Paul Railroad Company, and for 
six years held the office of county physician and 
surgeon. He is connected with the County and 
State Medical Societies and the American Med- 
ical Association, and is medical examiner for 
the Mutual Life Insurance Company, of New 
York, the Phoenix Mutual Insurance Company, 
the Northwestern Insurance Company, and other 
Insurance companies, besides various fraternal 
organizations. In political view he is a Repub- 
lican. Fraternally he is affiliated with the A. 
F. & A. M.. the I. O. O. F., the K. P., the M. 
W. A. and Royal Neighbors. 

Dr. Colehour was married April 12, 190C, to 
Myrtle M. Kinney, born March 16, 1877, daugh- 
ter of George and Annie (Kingery) Kinney, of 
Carroll county, and they have two children : 
Samuel P. Ill, who was born July 6, 19<)7, 
and James Kinney, who was born October 29, 
1909. Dr. Colehour has spent practically his 
entire life in Mt. Carroll and is firmly estab- 
lished in the confidence and esteem of his fel- 
low-townsmen. He has a good standing in his 
profession and has a reputation for skill and 
efficiency In all branches of his practice. Mrs. 
Colehour is a member of the Baptist church 
and fraternally belongs to the Eastern Star 
and Rebekahs. 

COL£MAN, John.— Those of an older genera- 
tion In Carroll county, can look back over the 
Intervening years and appreciate how much has 
been accomplished. Where once all was dense 
timber, or raw prairie, now flourish fertile 
farms or thriving cities ; railroads transport com- 
modities to and fro, and motor cars chug over 
highways that in the early days were merely 
Indian trails. Farming has been revolutionized, 



and no one has profited more from the Introduc- 
tion of modem methods than the agriculturalist 
himself. One of these business men of an older 
day is John Coleman of Mt. Carroll, born in 
York county, Pa., December 22, 1831, a son of 
George and Catherine (Zorger) Coleman, both 
natives of York county, Pa. Mr. Coleman* was 
a stone mason and distiller, who died about 
1833, his widow surviving him until 1853. John 
Coleman was the youngest of their five children. 

When he was only ten years old, he left 
bis mother and went to live with a merchant, 
working In the store, thus continuing for twelve 
years. During this time he went to the pub- 
lic schools about three months in the year. 
After he reached the age of twenty-four years, 
he entered an academy and completing his 
education, taught school two terms. Following 
this, he went into a mercantile business. In 
the spring of 1865, he sold and came to Jackson- 
ville, where he spent five months before locat- 
ing at Mt. Carroll. Here he and William 
Graham embarked in a lumber and grain busi- 
ness, continuing it until 1870, when they dis- 
posed of their interests. In 1873 he embarked 
in a grain business by himself but in 1907, re- 
tired, the concern being now conducted by F. 
H. Colehour, his son-in-law. 

In 1859, Mr. Coleman married Mary E. Dres- 
bach, born in Cumberland county, Pa., July 27. 
1838, daughter of the Rev. Simon and Frances R. 
(Bowman) Dresbach, natives of Pennsylvania. 
The father of the Rev. Mr. Dresbach moved to 
Ohio in 1810, and there the younger man l>e- 
came ordained a minister of the United Breth'ren 
church, returning to Pennsylvania to carry on 
his ministerial labors. Mr. and Mrs. Coleman 
had eleven children, nine of whom survive: 
Annie L., who is of Chicago; John A., who is 
of Mt. Carroll, having at one time been county 
treasurer; George M., who is of Dover, Okla.; 
Mary G., who is the wife of Joseph S. Miles of 
Mt. Carroll ; Cora, who is the wife of William 
Mackay of Salem township ; Flora M., who is the 
wife of F. H., Colehour of Mt. Carroll ; Edward 
W.. who is of Poison, Mont.; Miss Frances R., 
who is a bookkeeper in the First National Bank 
of Mt. Carroll, and her father's housekeeper; 
Thomas, who died at the age of seven years; 
Louis Carlos, who is of Mt. Carroll; and Clar- 
dfce, who died a day later than Thomas, aged 
four years. Mrs. Coleman died October 2, 1906, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



765 



leaving a bereaved family. Mr. Coleman Is a 
Republican, and has been alderman from his 
ward several times, was mayor of Mt. Carroll 
in 1881-2 and 1893-4, being a most efficient and 
business-like official. He belongs to tbe Masonic 
fraternity, and since 1883 has been a thirty* 
second degree Mason. He is a man highly re- 
spected by* his many friends in the county. His 
beautiful home is set in the center of a large 
lawn, filled with evergreen and pine trees. Al- 
though eighty years old, he is active and enjoys 
excellent health, and his recollections of early 
days are very interesting. During the many 
years he was in business here, he controlled an 
immense trade and was brought Into close con- 
tact with all classes of men, «o that his opinions 
regarding them are well worth consideration. 

CONNELL, John Richard, a man of many busi- 
ness interests and a citizen of ^avanna whose 
public spirit and personal enterprise have con- 
tributed in many ways to promote the import- 
ance of this place, was bom at Skibbereen, 
County Cork, Ireland, April 1, 1860. His parents 
were Samuel and Patience (Levis) Connell. 
There were ten children by his second marriage, 
which was with the mother of John Richard 
Connell. The latter was the eighth In order of 
birth and the only one of these #n to come to 
America, the others remaining in their native 
country, where the father died in 1883, and 
the mother in 1885. However the two children 
by the first marriage of Samuel Connell to a 
Miss Wolfe, Thomas and Bessie also braved the 
incidents of a trip to the new world, the former 
dying in Boston, Mass., December 30, 1910, 
and the latter who married Charles O'Hara of 
Boston, died in that city in August, 1903. 

John R. Connell attended tbe village sdiools 
until he was seventeen years of age, when he 
became a clerk in a grocery store, making a 
choice in the mercantile business of the line in 
which he has continued to the present, a plan 
tliat best assures success according to a recent 
published statement from one who is reputed to 
be "the richest man in the world." In 1889 
Mr. Connell came to America and after a stay 
of two weeks in Boston, Mass., he located at 
Hanover, in Jo Daviess county. 111., where he 
became a bookkeeper in a general store. In 
1892, he went to Polo, Ogle county, 111., where 
he purchased a grocery store and continued to 



operate it untii 1896, when he sold his interest 
there and came to Savanna. On May 25, 1896, 
he purchased the Star grocery store at this place, 
in 1907 moving to his present location, In the 
meantime having acquired another grocery 
I>roperty which he combined with his first enter- 
prise. He is now the proprietor of one of the 
largest grocery houses in Savanna and carries 
the largest and best assorted stock. For some 
years he has been additionally interested in 
handliug real estate. He has thus not only pros- 
pered himself, but has helped the town in call- 
ing the attention of outside capital which has 
resulted in many excellent and profitable in- 
vestments. Politically he is a Republican but 
has accepted no public office. 

On September 15, 1897, Mr. Connell was mar- 
ried to Anna Laura Shepard, who was bom 
August 25, 1869, in Savanna township, this 
county, a daughter of Martin and Adelia (Ben- 
net) Shepard. Martin Shepard was bom near 
Auburn, N. Y., February 23, 1835, and died March 
1, 1903. He was a son of Simeon and Polly 
(Eddy) Shepard, natives of New York, who 
came to Carroll county in 1851 and located In 
Elkhom Grove township. Martin Bennett and 
wife were married May 10, 1854. She was bom 
near Burlington, Vt, June 12, 1835, and sur- 
vives him. Her parents, Charles and Sally 
(Hill) Bennett brought her to Illinois in the fall 
of 1837, and they settled on a farm on Plum 
river. Savanna township. Charles Bennett subse- 
quently became the first sheriff of Carroll 
county and served several terms in this office. 
After their marriage, Martin Shepard and wife 
resided for a year in Savanna, and then spent 
one year in Iowa. After their return to Illinois, 
Mr. Shepard rented land, but subsequently 
bought heavily and at one time owned 600 acres 
on which he lived until his death. They had 
nine children, seven of whom survive, Mrs. 
Connell being the fifth of these in order of birth. 
Mr. and Mrs. Connell have had three children: 
Cecil Richard, wlho was born September 9, 
1898; Ella Margaret, who was born August 16, 
1902; and John Sherman, who was born Jan- 
uary 8, 1911. 

Mrs. Connell is a graduate of the Thomson 
high school and for two years was a student at 
the State Normal school at Normal, 111. Prior 
to the latter school attendance, however, she 
taught school for six years and for two years 



Digitized by 



Google 



766 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



thereafter. Both she and Mr. Oonnell are active 
members of the Methodist Church, having united 
with it early In life, and Mrs. Connell Is a 
member of the various benevolent organizations 
connected with the same. She also belongs to 
the Woman's Literary Club of Savanna, the 
Rebeknhs, Yeomen and Royal Neighbors, while 
Mr. Connell belongs to the Odd Fellows and 
Modern Woodmen of America. Mr. Connell has 
made two visits abroad, one alone In 1896, and 
the other in 1907 when he was accompanied by 
his family. They enjoyed a three months' trip 
all over Ireland. The Connell family Is one of 
the most prominent and representative of Carroll 
county. 

CUSHMAN, Josiah B. (deceased).— Fifty years 
ago the greatest conflict this country will ever 
know, was precipitated upon the people. 
Brother was pitted against brother. Thous- 
ands went forth to battle for what conscience 
dictated. At this distance it is difficult for the 
present generation to appreciate what the vic- 
tory cost the country, for all did not die upon 
the battle field, nor from the immediate effects 
of exposure. The true cost of the war can 
never be given, for countless lives were short- 
ened, and as many homes laid desolate because 
of premature deaths. Some of the bravest vet- 
erans of this mighty struggle have passed away, 
espMally in Carroll county, who might still be 
with their loved ones had they not been 
prompted by a sense of duty and true patriotism 
to offer up their health and strength and risk 
their lives in the cause they loved. One of those 
who are tenderly remembered not only as for- 
mer soldiers, but for civic virtues as well, is the 
late Josiah B. Cushman, for many years associ- 
ated with the history of Mt Carroll. 

The birth of Josiah B. Cushman occurred In 
New York state, October 25, 1833, he being a 
son of Joseph and Persis (Philips) Cushman. 
The father was bom In Vermont, Jauary 28, 
1800. Growing up in his native state, Josiah B. 
Cushman received but scanty educational ad- 
vantages, but made the most of what he had, 
and was ever willing to leam from experience 
and observation. In June, 1853, he came to 
Illinois, locating first in York township. At 
one time he was associated in business with 
a partner, under the name of the Thompson & 
Neal Machine Works, and transferred this 



plant to Mt Carroll. Later he went to Harvey, 
111., and worked there for a couple of years, 
when he returned to Mt Carroll, and worked in 
the village until his retirement several years 
prior to his death, which event occurred October 
3, 1910, when he was seventy-seven years old. 

In 1864, he enlisted from York township, in 
the One Hundred and Forty-sixth IlHnois Vol- 
unteer Infantry, and served faithfully until the 
close of the war. He was on guard at Spring- 
field when President Lincoln was assassinated, 
and as he held the rank of sergeant, participated 
in the funeral of the martyred president his 
commanding ofllcer being Captain Lengle. 

On June 2, 1866, Mr. Cushman was united in 
marriage with Ellen A. Tomllnson, daughter of 
Charles and Eliza (Atherton) Tomllnson, na- 
tives pf New York state. Mr. Tomllnson came 
to Illinois In 1836 or 1837, and was a farmer 
until his deatlk In 1901, his wife dying in the 
same year. Mrs. Cushman has one sister, Mrs. 
William Neal, of Mt Carroll. Mrs. Cushman 
was educated In Mt Carroll, and was a teacher 
for a short time prior to her marriage. When 
she was only fifteen years old, she Joined the 
Christian church, and has continued faithful to 
its teachings ever since. Mrs. Cushman owns 
forty acres of land, and a beautiful residence, 
the whole Aag a very valuable property. 
From the time the Grand Army of the Repub- 
lic had a post in his vicinity, Mr. Cushman was 
one of its enthusiastic members, and enjoyed 
meeting his old comrades. Frcnn the time he 
voted for John C. Freemont for president, Mr. 
Cushman was a Republican. For years he was 
greatly interested In temperance work, and ex- 
erted a beneficial Infiuence with regard to this 
and other questions looking towards a moral 
uplift He was a man widely and favorably 
known, and had many friends throughout the 
country of which for so many years he was a 
useful and prominent resident. 

DAIUS, William A.— It is difficult to realize, 
after noting the advanced civilization of the peo- 
ple and the developed condition of both town 
and country in Carroll county, that there are 
those still living who can recall, not only the 
introduction of wonder-working farm madilnery 
and scientific discoveries together with public 
utilities for comfort and well-being, but can also 
tell from their own experience that compar- 



Digitized by 



Google 





^ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 






Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



767 



atively but a few years ago, deer and other wild 
creatures of the woods, roamed over a large 
portion of this now Improved part of the state. 
William A. Dains, one of the county's most re- 
^)ected citizens, can spealc thus with authority. 
His birth took place In Elkhorn Grove, Carroll 
county, March 5, 1840, and he Is a son of Alvah 
and Martha (Frothlngham) Dains. . 

Alvah Dains was born in Cortland county, N. 
Y., in October, 1800. His great-grandfather, 
who came to America direct from Ireland, met 
his death while gallantly fighting in the battle of 
Bunker Hill, being wounded so seriously that he 
could not 'be taken from the field alive. Alvah 
Dains was a tanner and furrier and also un- 
dertook boot and shoe making as well as car- 
pentering. In fact he was a man who could 
profitably turn his hand to most anything. He 
was thus well equipped for life in a pioneer set- 
tlement and came to Carroll county, in 1837, 
where two years later he married Miss Martha 
Frothlngham, of Worthington, O., the ceremony 
being performed by John M. Owens, a justice 
of the peace, from Mt. Carroll. Alvah palps 
secured 160 acres of government land, by /entry, 
and continued to reside on it until the tiriie erf ' 
his death, In October, 1877. His widow suN-> 
vived him many years, she passing away at Bat- 
tle Creek, Mich., May 11, 1894. To them the 
following children were born: William A., 
Eliza, David, Florence, David M., and Mary E., 
the last named being the wife of John Bohner, 
who is a farmer living near OlarksvlUe, la. The 
two survivors of the family are Its youngest and 
oldest members. 

William A. Dains spent a happy boyhood on 
the home farm, and helped his father until he 
was twenty-one years of age, in the meanwhile 
attending the district schools as opportunity was 
afforded and afterwards enjoyed four years of 
instruction at Mt. Carroll Seminary. He recalls 
that the first school he ever attended was held 
In a private house in Elkhorn Grove, the teacher 
being James McCready. While at home with 
his father he learned the carpenter trade, but 
has never depended on that for support although 
he has found this knowledge a desirable acquisi- 
tion at many times. 

On September 5, 1861, he enlisted for service 
in the Civil war, entering Company I, Thirty- 
fourth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, under Cap- 
tain Heffelflnger, of Mt Carroll, and was In 
Camp Butler, Springfield, for three weeks. The 



exposure of army life undermined his health 
and after being confined in Hoi^ltal No. 5, at 
Louis\'ille, Ky., for three weeks he was honor- 
ably discharged at Nashville, Tenn., September 
12, 1862.. Mr. Dains then became a school 
teacher "and taught six terms at Elkhorm Grove, 
one term at BrookvUle, 111., two terms in Ne- 
braska, and one near Bluffville, 111. He became 
owner of the old homestead and continued to 
live there until he was fifty years of age, when 
he moved to the vicinity of Thomson, 111., where 
he purchased 500 acres of land and lived for 
four years, when he moved to Mt. Carroll in 
1894. For five years Mr. Dains continued to 
liv^ in this place and then bought a farm of 
100 acres near Grand Junction, Mich., where he 
remained for thirteen years, and then returned 
to Mt. Carroll, where he has since lived. 

On April 25, 1868, Mr. Dains was married to 
Miss Mahala Hoover, who had come to Illinois 
in January of that year. She was a daughter 
of John and Elizabeth (Roushy) Hoover, natives 
of Wilkesbarre, Pa. Mrs. Dains died in Ne- 
braska, in September, 1872. Two daughters were 
born to this marriage: Lillian May, who mar- 
.ried John Reeder and lives with Mr. Dains; and 
NeHie V., who was the wife of Ernest M. Wool- 
•gar^ ms. Woolgar died May 13, 1907, at Clyde, 
Ohl^^/^JMTr. IJain^ has nine grandchildren and 
'One greatrgrandchild. He was reared in the 
Baptist faith. PoliUcally he is a Republican, 
a stanch party man, but he has never consented 
to serve in any office except that of school di- 
rector. He is a member of the John H. Andrews 
Post, G. A. R., of Lacota, Mich. 

In his recollections of the earlier days of this 
section, Mr. Dains refers to many interesting 
events in its history. He recalls the great ex- 
citement created when the first telegraph line 
was put through, in 1852, from Dixon to Galena. 
He recalls also when the founder of Davenport, 
la., met his death at the brutal hands of 
prairie banditti, being dragged up and down 
stairs by the hair of his head, until he suc- 
cumbed. He tells stories of the days when nails 
of iron of any sort were scarcely available ; when 
practically all manufactured articles were 
shipped from Pittsburgh, in steamboats, down 
the Ohio river ; when cabins were decorated with 
the skins of wild animals and an out-hanging 
buckskin latchstrlng voiced the settler's hos- 
pitality. Many were the herds of wild deer 
browsing on the prairies that now compose a 



Digitized by 



Google 



768 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



part of his well Improped farm. He is, at this 
time, one of the oldest living settlers of Car- 
roll county, and these, his silver years, are filled 
with the contentment of work well done, and 
the consciousness of having earned the respect 
and true friendship of a host of acquaintances. 

DALE, George. — Few farmers are better known 
in Carroll county than George Dale of Mt Car- 
roll township because of his success as an agri- 
culturist and also on account of his intimate 
knowledge of his work. During all of his trans- 
actions, he has acted according to his own con- 
ception of duty, which is a high one, and while 
succeeding, has retained the confidence and re- 
spect of his neighbors. He was bom in Franklin 
county. Pa., March 28, 1853, being a son of 
William and Mary (Stitt) Dale, natives of that 
same county and farming people. In 1864, the 
family came to Mt. Carroll, where Mr. Dale 
worked as a farm hand until he rented a farm 
of Thomas Deede in Pleasant Valley township, 
Jo Daviess county. Here he remained for three 
years, then spent two years on another farm in 
that locality. In 1877, he bought 160 acres in 
Freedom township, where he resided until about 
1894, at which time he moved to Mt. Carroll, 
and rounded out his life, dying in 1905, aged 
seventy-five years. His wife- died in 1907, aged 
seventy-five years. They had eleven children, 
of whom eight survive : George ; Elizabeth, Mrs. 
James Davis, of Mt. Carroll ; Sarah, Mrs. Henry 
Newcomb, of Colorado; Nancy, Mrs. Wesley 
Newcomb, of Colorado; Mrs. William Morrow, 
of Kansas ; John W., of Mt. Carroll ; Daniel, of 
Freedom township. 

Qeorge Dale attended the public schools of 
Carroll county, and remained with his parents 
until he was forty-one years old. For several 
years he owned a share In the farm, and when 
his parents retired, he bought the entire proper- 
ty, and continued on it until 1900. In that year 
he sold to buy 160 acres in section 24, Mt. Car- 
roll township, which has continued to be his 
home. He has made a fine property of this 
farm, and is reaping abundantly from his invest- 
ment of time and money. Politically a Repub- 
lican, he has never desired office. He belongs 
to the Church of God of Mt. Carroll. 

On December 25, 1894, he married Kate 
Rausch, bom in Freedom township, Carroll 
county. III., December 25, 1863, daughter of 
Casper and Catherine (Keil) Rausch, pioneers of 



the county. Mr. and Mrs. Dale are the parents 
of two children: Martha May, born April 16, 
1897, and Lillie, bom April 1, 1899. The family 
life of the Dales is an ideal one and their friends 
are welcomed to their house with warm hos- 
pitality. 

DAUPHIN, Julius Victor, one of the progressive 
men of Mt. Carroll township, was bom In 
Schrobenhausen, Bavaria, Germany, April 15, 
1833, a son of Julius Victor and Elizabeth (Link) 
Dauphin. The father was born in Welsenburg, 
Alsace, Germany, in 1800, and was a well edu- 
cated man, his parents having been very wealthy, 
and his father a Judge. After serving six years 
in the array, the elder Julius Victor Dauphin 
went to Bavaria, Germany, buying a farm of 
eighty acres. In 1830, he married Elizabeth 
Link, bom in the village of Hessen, Germany, 
in 1810. In the latter part of 1853, he sold his 
farm, and on January 3, 1854, landed in New 
York City. The family came west to Chicago, 
where they lived one month, then left for Sa- 
vanna, where they bought a lot and built a 
house upon it. Here Mr. Dauphin died of 
cholera on July 23, 1854, leaving a wife and 
twelve children : Dora S., Mrs. George Bnisher, 
who was the oldest, died in Savanna about 
1856; Julius V.; ChrisUan W., who is of Tilden, 
Neb. ; Ferdinand E., who is of Oklahoma ; Bar- 
bara Hinneman, who is of Forreston, 111. ; Maxi- 
millian, and six who died young. Mrs. Dauphin 
was married about 1857 to George Fred Shull 
and they lived in Savanna until they died, she 
passing away July 24, 1884. 

When the younger Julias Victor Dauphin came 
to America, he located in the vicinity of Galena 
and for five months worked on the Illinois Cen- 
tral Railroad, but then went to Savanna, where 
he lived for seventeen years, working in the saw- 
mill in the summer, and at chopping cord wood 
in the winter. On November 12, 1870, he was 
married to Sophia C. Lisetta Engleking. bom in 
Klissen, Hanover, Germany, December 20, 1850, 
daughter of Christian and Sophia (Haderharst) 
Englelslng, natives of Hanover,, Germany. Mrs. 
Engleking died about 1854. Mrs. Dauphin was 
the sixth of seven children bom to her parents. 
When only seventeen years old, she came to 
America \vlth her younger brother, Diedrich 
Engleking. They came direct to Savanna, where 
she met and married Mr. Dauphin. After their 
marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Dauphin lived in Sa- 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



769 



vanua until the early part of 1871, when they 
moved to 170 acres of farm land on sections 5 
and 6, Mt. Carroll tow-nshlp, which Mr. Dauphin 
had bought in 1867. This has continued the fam- 
ily home ever since. Mr. Dauphin has added to 
his holdings until he now owns 680 acres of 
land, all of which is very valuable. He votes 
independently, preferring to select the man he 
deems best suited for the office. He is a mem- 
ber of the German Lutheran church, to which 
he contributes liberally. The children of him- 
self and wife are: One who died in infancy; 
Elizabeth, who was bom January 7, 1872, 
died December 17, 1804, married George Weid- 
man; George F., who was bom December 4. 
1874, lives on section 6, Mt. Carroll township; 
Jnlius, who was bora Febmary 6, 1877, lives 
with bis father; Christian D., who was born 
March 15, 1879, lives In Savanna township; 
Dorothy, who was born March 7, 1881, married 
Edward Dauphin — two children, Cornelius and 
Jessie ; Victor E., bora July 27, 1883, lives with 
his father; Edward L., who was bom March 
18, 1891; and Maxlmilllan, who was bom Au- 
gust 12, 1899. 

DAVIS, Christopher. — ^The modern farmer while 
he has many more opportunities of development 
than his forefathers, still because of the require- 
ments made upon him, has to be a better trained 
man to succeed. Farming is no longer conducted 
In a hit-or-miss style, but logically and method- 
ically, and nothing is done without there be- 
ing a good reason back of it. For this reason 
Carroll coimty farmers are numbered among 
the best agriculturists in the country, and one 
who has attained a well deserved prosperity is 
Christopher Davis of section 20, Salem township. 
He was bom in Fl^nklin county, Pa., October 
21, 1840, being a son of Thomas and Elizabeth 
(Rinedollar) Davis, of the same county. These 
parents arrived by boat at Savanna, Carroll 
county, III., in 1852, and from thence came to 
Mt. Carroll, where the father opened a black- 
smith shop. This he conducted until he was 
seventy-two years old, when he retired. His 
death took i^ace October 13, 1887, when he was 
seventy-eight years old, having been bora in 
1809. riis wife died in March, 1899, aged eighty- 
one years, having been bora December 27, 1818. 
They tiad ten children, seven of whom survive, 
Christopher being the eldest In addition to 
him there were : Mrs. Camilla Altenson, of Mt 



Carroll, III. ; Mrs. Anna Hoover, of Mt Carroll ; 
John C, also of Mt. Carroll ; Mrs. Harry Sutton, 
of Mt Carroll ; Mrs. Ellen Shores, of Marseilles, 
Mo. ; Mrs. Abbie Edwards, of Missouri ; and three 
who are deceased, Thomas, Sarah and Elithebeth. 

Christopher Davis was educated in the schools 
of Mt. Carroll, with one term at the seminary. 
When nine years old, he began working on a 
farm in summer and attending school in winter, 
and kept this up until he was sixteen years old, 
after which he devoted all his time to farm- 
ing. In 1861, he enlisted in the first company 
formed in Mt. Carroll, but on account of his 
mother*s poor health was excused. On August 
6, 1862, he enlisted in Company C, Ninety-second 
Illinois Volunteer Infantry and served with that 
regiment until mustered out at Concord, N. C, 
July 7, 1865. Although he saw much service, 
he was neither wounded or taken prisoner, and 
was only absent from his command five days, 
on account of sickness. He was in many skir- 
mishes and in Georgia with General Sherman, 
marcliing to the sea with that commander. In 
1865, he returned to Mt Carroll, rented a farm, 
and began working for himself. Two of the 
brothers of Mr. Davis, Thomas and John C, also 
gave good service to their country during the 
Civil war. Thomas Davis enlisted in Company 
K, Fifteenth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, which 
was the first company to be raised in Carroll 
county, and he died suddenly of sickness while 
at the siege of Vicksburg. John C. Davis en- 
listed in Company C, Ninety-second Illinois 
Volunteer Infantry, in December, 1863, and 
served until the close of the war. He was trans- 
ferred to the Sixty-fifth Illinois Volunteer In- 
fantry while in the service. 

On December 22, 1868, Christopher Davis mar- 
ried Mary J. Zuck, bom in Freedom township, 
Carroll county, May 4, 1850, daughter of Henry 
and Sarah (Zillhart) Zuck. Mr. Zuck was bora 
at Zuck's Landing on the Potomac, in Virginia, 
June 22, 1816, his father being a ship builder. 
•Mrs. Zuck was bom in Lancaster county. Pa., 
December 24, 1816. The Zillhart family moved 
to Maryland, to which state Mr. Zuck moved 
when young. There he met and married Miss 
Zillhart, September 9, 1S38. On September 10, 
1844, they started for Illinois in a wagon, arriv- 
ing in Ogle county October 10 of that year. In 
the spring of 1845, they settled In Freedom town- 
ship, this county, where they rented land, but in 
1849, entered land to the amount of eighty acres 



Digitized by 



Google 



770 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



on section 20, Salem township. To this removal 
was made in February, 1852, and here Mr. and 
Mrs. Zuclc resided until they went to Mt. OarroU, 
in 1890. Mrs. Zuck died April 1, 1891, and Mr. 
Zuclc, Decen>ber 9, 1895. They owned 287 acres 
on sections 17, 20 and 21, and' were well-to-do. 
There were two children in their family : John, 
bom April 17, 1840, now at Mt Carroll, and 
Mrs. Davis. 

When Mr. and Mrs. Davis married, <hey 
rented the farm they now own, of Mr. Zuck. 
After a year they moved to Fair Haven town- 
ship, but after a year more, they returned to 
Salem township, and rented the farm on section 
17. In the spring of 1892, they bought 137 acres 
in Woodland township, making it their home 
until 1901, when they sold and moved to their 
present farm of 157 acres on section 17, Salem 
township, inherited by Mrs. Davis from her 
father's estate. They own property on section 
20. making In all 261 acres, devoted to general 
farming and the raising of graded stock, includ- 
ing short horn cattle. Politically Mr. Davis Is 
a Republican, and he belongs to Nace Post, No. 
80, G. A. R., of Mt. Carroll. Mr. and Mrs. Davis 
are members of the Methodist church. 

Five children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Davis: Thomas, who was born December 21, 
1869, was killed by a bull on September 20, 
1909; Sarah E., who was born July 4, 1872, is 
at home; Nellie S., who was born June 2, 1874, 
married L. O. James and they live at Savanna ; 
Charles F., who was bom September 10, 1876, 
resides with his parei^ts; and Lulie Mae, who 
was -born October 17, 1883, Is the wife of Ray 
Altanson, of Mt. Carroll. The Davis family is 
one of the most representative in this section. 
Mr. Davis is an excellent farmer, a loyal citizen 
and has given public-spirited assistance In secur- 
ing many needed improvements. 

DAVIS, Floyd N., who, as manager of the Lan- 
ark green house, at Lanark, Carroll county, 111., 
does a large business In handling all varieties of 
plants and flowers and makes a specialty of fu- 
neral designs, has been established here since 
1909. Mr. Davis was born at Morrison, 111., 
February 14, 1881, and is a son of S. M. and 
Jennie (McDaniel) Davis. 

S. M. Davis was born in Ohio, in 1844, but 
moved to Illinois prior to the Civil war, during 
which he served the Union cause with praise- 
worthy fidelity. He was a member of the 



Ninety-Second Illinois Volunteer Infantry and 
for four years saw hard service. He marched 
with General Shennan on that memorable trip 
to the sea and took part m such decisive battles 
as Lookout Mountain, Chickamauga, Chatta- 
nooga, Missionary Ridge, luka and Corinth. By 
profession he was an engineer and was in the 
employ of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy 
Railroad. He married Jennie McDaniel, who 
was born in 184t5, and they had the following 
children born to them, namely: Charles; Harry, 
who lives at Polo, 111., and is manager of the 
Polo green house; Frank; Mrs. Clarence Allen, 
who lives at Polo, 111. ; Robert, who served as a 
bugler through the Spanish-American war, as a 
member of the Sixth Illinois Volunteers; Ber- 
tha, who Is deceased; Floyd N. ; Mrs. Clifton 
Douglas, residing at Rockford, 111. ; Mrs. Charles 
Abbott, living at Waldo, S. Dak. and Walter. 

Floyd N. Davis obtained his education in the 
public schools and then turned his attention to 
his present line of business for which he has a 
natural inclination and In which he has been 
quite successful. He does a large trade in fu- 
neral work, his skill and taste in arranging de- 
signs being well known over a wide section, 
while he also supplies approi^ate pieces for 
weddings and other festive occasions. 

On June 1, 1910, Floyd N. Davis was united 
in marriage with Miss Eva Cunningham, who Is 
a daughter of Harry E. and Emma (Rhodes) 
Cunningham, who were bom in Washington 
county, Md. On March 12, 1911, Mr. and Mrs. 
Davis became the parents of twin children, a 
son and daughter, and they bear the names of 
Fred and Freda. Mr. and Mrs. Davis are mem- 
bers of the Presbyterian church. He is iden- 
tified fraternally with Camp No. 7, Modem 
Woodmen of America, of Lanark. Independent 
In his political views, he may always be counted 
on to uphold law and favor public spirited move- 
ments in his own community. 

DEITRICK, John, who is a representative of 
one of the old families of Carroll county, and a 
man of both business and political prominence 
in this section, was bom in Freedom township, 
Carroll county. 111., February 11, 1850, a son of 
Samuel and gusan (Haines) Deitrick. Samuel 
Deltrlck was born in Maryland, in 1823, came 
from there to Ogle county, 111., in 1845 and 
from thence to Carroll county, where his death 
occurred in 1855. He married Susan Haines, 



Digitized by 



Google 




g 



w 
o 
05 
o 
w 
o 

aj 

S 
Q 

;?: 

pi 
S 



Digitized by 



Google 



-. ■/ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



771 



wbo was bom in Maryland, January 3, 1816, 
and died February 28, 1908. They had the fol- 
lowing children: Mary E. and Martha, both 
of whom are deceased; Samuel, who lives in 
Wisconsin; John; and Mrs. John G. Rauser, of 
Mt Carroll, gamuel Deltrick was a member of 
the Sons of Temperance, In Freedom township. 
He and his wife were good, Christian people, 
and worthy members of the United Brethren 
diurch. 

John Deitrlck has spent his life in Carroll 
county and is very favorably known from one 
part of it to the other. He attended school 
more or less regularly until he was seventeen 
years of age and then turned his attention to 
farming as a business and continued an active 
agriculturist until 1911, when he came to Mt. 
Carroll, where he has since resided. His first 
parcba se of land was a tract of seventeen acres, 
to which he added until he owned eighty-five 
acres, all of which he cleared himself and made 
of his land a valuable and productive farm. In 
1906 he sold that property, and bought another 
containing 114 acres, on which he resided until 
1911, when he bought his present residence at 
Mt. Carroll, together with other property. Al- 
though no longer active as a farmer, Mr. Deltrick 
has by no means retired from business. He had 
many years of successful experience in the 
horse business and continues in that line, main- 
taining stables and dealing in thoroughbred 
stock imported from France. For years Mr. 
Deltrick has been active as a politiclap and is 
an important factor in the Republican ranks. 
He has been elected to numerous local offices 
and has served honestly and efficiently in every 
one. At times he has been school director, as- 
sessor, town clerk and ccmstable and a member 
of the R^ublican central committee, and the 
duties pertaining to each office haye been dis- 
charged to the satisfaction of all concerned. 

On January 18, 1883, Mr. Dietrick was mar- 
ried to Miss Theresia Miller, a daughter of 
John E. and Elizabeth (Fuchs) Miller. Mrs. 
Deitric* was bom May 21, 1861, in Carroll 
county, IlL, but her parents are natives of Hesse 
Darmstadt, Germany, where the father was bom 
January 81, 1838, and the mother, February 7, 
1840. They came to America when aged nine 
and eighteen years, respectively, and have al- 
ways resided in Carroll county, until 1870 in 
Ttodi Creek township, moving then to Freedom 
township, and In 1911 retiring to Lanark. They 



had the following children: Mrs. Deltrick; 
Mary, who lives at Peoria, 111.; Henry, who 
lives in Cherry Grove township; Mrs. Emma 
Carter, of Freedom township; Mrs. Ella Peters, 
of Lanark ; Clara and Walter, both of Lanark ; 
and Mrs. Nellie Mumford, who lives at Mt Car- 
roll, 111. Mr. and Mrs. Deltrick have one daugh- 
ter, Chira E., who was born Febmary 28, 1902. 
Mrs. Deltrick was reared in the Lutheran 
church, while Mr. Deltrick is liberal in his 
religious views. He is an active member of the 
Masonic lodge at Mt Carroll, with which he has 
been identified for the past thirty years. 

DEMMON, John Farasworth (deceased).— The 
settlers of Carroll county who came here early 
in the fifties, met with many hardships which 
took fortitude to overcome. They had none of 
the modern eouveuienees with which to operate 
eitber in the house or field, and even good roads 
were practically unknowu. Their children suf- 
fered for lack of proi>er educational facilities, 
and religious services were a luxury. Because 
things have changed, the present generation is 
liable to forget what is due to those who secured 
the existing conditions, and one of the motives 
of the writers of this volume is to put this debt 
fairly before the descendants of the pioneers of 
the county. One of the men who played well 
his part in the advancement of Carroll county 
was the late John Farnsworth Demmon, bom in 
Vermont April 15, 182S. a son of Roswell and 
Aurella (Farnsworth) Demmon, natives of the 
same State. They were farming people, who 
had five children. 

John Farnsworth Demmon was educated at 
Woodstock Academy in his native State, and in 
early days was a teacher. In 1850, he came to 
Illinois, crossing Michigan by stage. In Chicago, 
he joined his uncle, Mr. Frink, of the Frink- 
Walker stage-coach line, and becoming inter- 
ested in the Chicago and Galena lines, was in- 
duced to enter the employ of this company and 
was first stationed at Belvidere. When the 
railroad reached that point, he pushed on to 
Warren. While there, he passed through the 
cholera epidemic, which almost wiped out whole 
communities. While escaping himself, he took 
care of many, and upon one occasion conveyed a 
train-load of people from Rockford to Freeport, 
all of the other train employes having been 
stricken down with the dread disease. His work 
was varied, as he journeyed from one station to 



Digitized by 



Google 



772 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



another, collecting post office receipts for the 
government. Later he went to Madison, Wis., 
where be maintained his headquarters for some 
time. In 1856, he entered a section of land in 
Whiteside county, on the Carroll county line, 
and later added Carroll county land to his farm. 
In 1862, he settled on the land, which was then 
raw prairie, and passed through all the hard- 
ships incident to the period. Having remarka- 
ble business ability, he accumulated land until 
he owned 1,280 acres in Illinois, 2,000 acres in 
Clark county, S. Dak., and two sections near 
Crestpn, la. Strictly honest in his dealings, he 
never had to call upon the law to settle his 
affj^irs, and his word was recognized as being 
as good as his bond. Trusted and honored by 
all who knew him, he was a worthy example of 
the best class of Illinois pioneers. A man of 
robust health, he was never sick until stricken 
with the grippe which eventually caused his 
death. A temperance man, he was a foe to 
both liquor and tobacco. While a young man 
on the stage route, strong temptations came to 
him, but he had the courage to live up to his 
convictions and resist them. Kind and benevo- 
lent, he contributed to many charities, and was 
very liberal in his donations. Politically, he 
was a Republican, and for two terms was a 
justice of the peace in Whiteside county, and 
held several local township offices. He was 
reared an Episcopalian, and held to that faith. 
On December 26, 1865, Mr. Demmon was mar- 
ried in Christ Church, Chicago, by Bishop Che- 
ney, to Miss Eliza A. Van Patten, they being 
the first couple married in that edifice. She was 
born in Pompey, N. Y., October 6, 1838, daughter 
of Aaron and Maria (Vnn Etten), Van Patten, 
natives of Schenectady, N. Y., farming people, 
both descendants of old Holland stock. Mrs. 
Demmon was the fourth in a family of nine chil- 
dren, and was educated in the high school and 
academy of Syracuse, N. Y. In 186.3 she went to 
Chicago to teach in the public schools, and there 
she met Mr. pemmon. After their marriage Mr. 
and Mrs. Demmon moved to their farm in White- 
side county. 111., then went to Morrison, 111., 
where they spent ten years, after which they 
came to Mt. Carroll to give their children the 
benefit of the schools here, and bought the John 
Rlnewalt home on Broadway, where the widow 
now lives. Mr. Demmon continued to operate his 
farm until his death, and it Is still o^-ned by the 
family. On May 5, 1802, Mr. Demmon passed 



away, leaving a widow and four children to 
mourn his loss: Charles R., who was bom Sep- 
tember 28, 1866, of Chicago, is an inspector for 
the Adams Express Co. ; John B., who was bom 
June 18, 1868, of Mt. Carroll, is a farmer and 
stockman ; Miss Rose M., who was bora June 26, 
1871, is a graduate of Mt. Carroll Seminary and 
a teacher in the public schools of Chicago; 
Stephen D., who was born September 3, 1873, 
was graduated from the North Western Law 
School, and now resides in Chicago. Mrs. Dem- 
mon is a member of the Daughters of the Ameri- 
can Revolution, being eligible through both 
branches of her family. The family residence 
is one of the most beautiful ones in Mt Cayroll, 
and shows evidence of the cultured tastes of Its 
mistress. All the members of this old and hon- 
ored family, are prominent in their several com- 
munities, while they are affectionately remem- 
bered by the people among whom they grew up in 
Mt. Carroll. 

DEUEL, Charles A^ a general farmer and stock 
raiser, residing on section 25, Cherry Grove 
township, Carroll county, is a member of one 
of the old and highly respected families of this 
section. He was born in Rock Cre^ township, 
Carroll county, March 17, 1872, a son of Horace 
and Martha (Lynch) Deuel. Horace Deuel was 
born In Susquehannah county, Pa., January 11, 
1830, and from there came to Carroll county, 
111., locating on an improved farm of eighty 
acres, situated on section 22, purchasing this 
land just before his marriage. His first wife 
died leaving one child, Emily, who is now also 
deceased, having been the wife of O. M. Keeney, 
a farmer in Rock Creek township. His second 
wife, Martha Lynch, he married at Mt Carroll, 
she being also a native of Pennsylvania. Horace 
Deuel and wife lived on the farm in Rock Creek 
township until the fall of 1882, when Mr. Deuel 
bought 160 acres in Salem township, Carroll 
county, and in the spring of 1890 bought 220 
acres on section 25, Cherry Grove township. He 
placed fine Improvements on all his land but re- 
sided on his last purchase until his death, De- 
cember 4, 1892. He was one of the progressive 
and successful farmers of the county and was 
considered a fine judge of stock and of land 
values. While not a member of any special 
church he was a moral man, was liberal In his 
gifts to all religious bodies and gave support to 
benevolent movements. To his second marriage 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



773 



four children were born, namely: Frank, who 
Is a leading merchant in Susquehannah county, 
Pa. ; Charles A. ; George E., who is a teacher in 
Wilmot, S. Dak. ; and Sarah, who is the wife of 
Frederick W. Dlehl, a farmer in Cherry Grove 
township. The mother of the above children 
still resides on the old farm. When Mr. Deuel 
came to Illinois he was accompanied by his 
parents and their last years were passed here. 
Charles A. Deuel was educated in the public 
schools of Rock Creek and Salem townships and 
he afterward took a business course at Dixon. 
111., liaving graduated there in 1900, after which 
he came home and took charge of the farm on 
section 25 in Cherry Grove township. Since his 
marriage he has independently operated this 
fiirm of 220 acres, keeping a fine grade of live- 
stock, Including Shorthorn and Galloway cattle, 
Poland-China hogs and some very fine speci- 
mens of Norman horses. 

On January 1, 1907, Mr. Deuel was married 
by Rev. F. J. Beisel, in Tower City, N. Dak., to 
Miss Gertrude Odell, who was born on a farm 
near Des Moines, la.. May 9, 1883, a daughter 
of Alonzo and Ellen (Murray) Odell, the father 
one of the substantial farmers of that section. 
To this marriage one daughter was born, on De- 
cember 26, 1907, who bears the pleasant name of 
Dorothy E. and Is a very attractive little maiden. 
In politics Mr. Deuel is a Republican and at 
present is serving as a member of the Republican 
county central committee, from Cherry Grove 
townsiiip. He has efficiently filled local offices 
such as township trustee, assessor and school 
trustee. For many years he has been identified 
with the Masonic Lodge at Shannon, 111., and in 
every way may be justly numbered with the 
representative men of Carroll county. 

DIEHL, Fred S., D. D. S., of Lanark, 111., is a 
bright, wide-awake young man, enthusiastic in 
his professional work and interested in public 
events and issues. He was born in Lanark, Oc- 
tober 15, 1881, and is a son of Conrad and Sablna 
(Siaferth) Diehl, the former a native of Frank- 
fort, Germany, who came to the United States 
in 1864, and settled in Carroll county. Conrad 
Diehl engaged in the harness-making business, 
conducting the same with success until 1891, 
when he moved to liis farm near Lanark and 
carried on agricultural operations there until 
his death, November 25, 1905. He and his wife 
were parents of six children : Emma, who is the 



wife of Dr. Suively, of Lanark; Herman G.. 
who is the owner of a drug store in Chicago; 
Charles W., who is a farmer of Carroll county; 
Fred S., and Frank E. who lives with his mother 
and conducts the home farm. 

In 1901 Dr. Fred S. Dlehl was graduated from 
the Lanark high school, and for three years 
thereafter was engaged in teacliing in the 
schools of Carroll county. In 1905 he entered 
the dental department of the Northwest- 
ern University, of Chicago, and was graduated 
therefrom with his degree in May, 1908. Being 
influenced by his brother Herman to remain in 
Chicago, he opened an office on Addison avenue, 
which he continued eighteen months, but closed 
it on account of being able to purchase the prac- 
tice of Dr. Staley, who had been in eontirtuous 
practice in Lanark for a period of twenty years. 
Dr. Diehl has succeeded in retaining the entire 
practice, and owing to his wide acquaintance in 
the eastern part of the county, has been able to 
add to it considerably. He is a member of the 
Northern Illinois State Dental Society, and 
while a resident of Chicago was an active mem- 
ber of the Chicago Odontographic Society, from 
which he resigned upon leaving the city. He 
is a Democrat politically but is willing to vote 
for the man rather than for party in local af- 
fairs and is actively interested in the welfare of 
his community. He has spent most of his life 
in Lanark, where he is well known, and enjoys 
the confidence and esteem of all who have been 
associated with him. He is conscientious and 
careful in his work and is able to retain any 
patients he treats. 

Dr. Diehl was married October 30, 1912, to 
Miss Pearl E. Richardson, of MiUedgeville, 111., 
the only child of Mr. and Mrs. John L. Richard- 
son, who reside on their farm four miles south- 
west of MiUedgeville. She attended the graded 
schools in MiUedgeville and also was in attend- 
ance for several terms at Francis Schimer Acad- 
emy, in Mt. Carroll, and Mt. Morris college, Mt. 
Morris, III. 

DIEHL, Fred W.— A traveler through Cherry 
Grove township must he impressed with the 
richly cultivated condition of a large part of the 
soil and also the quality of its cattle and stock. 
If he is fortunate enough to be admitted as a 
visitor to any of the fine homesteads, he may also 
be pleasurably moved to see the happiness that 
exists through the estimable qualities and en- 



Digitized by 



Google 



774 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



during virtues of bis hosts. Surely would tbis 
be the case sbould he pause on the farm owned 
and operated by Fred W. Dlebl, which lies on 
section 26, of the above named townirtiip. He 
was born in Rock Creek township, Carroll county, 
111., July 17, 1871, and is a son of Henry Diehl, 
a highly respected retired farmer who now lives 
in Shannon township. 

Fred W. Diehl obtained bis education in the 
district schools of his native place, and early 
in life began to help on the home farm thus 
continuing until his marriage when he was 
about twenty-five years old, to Miss Sarah B. 
Deuel, a daughter of the late Horace Deuel, of 
Rock Creek township. After their marriage, Mr. 
Diehl took charge of Mrs. Deuel's farm and for 
ten years successfully operated that tract of 184 
acres, situated on section 25, Cherry Grove town- 
ship. In 1900 he bought ninety-six acres of 
unimproved land located in section 26, and im- 
mediately erected a handsome residence and suit- 
able bams and stock shelters on it, for by this 
time he had become one of the most prosperous 
stockraisers in the county. He has added still 
further to his improvements and has continued 
to raise his standard stock according to modem 
and scientific methods and in the average has 
from seventy-five to 100 head of Chester- White 
hogs to put on the market. Mr. Diehl gives 
sensible reasons for preferring this breed and 
certainly is successful in raising them. In late 
years he has also given considerable attention 
to growing Galloway cattle. In addition to 
being a capable agriculturist, Mr. Diehl is a 
first class citizen, giving his support and infiuence 
to every movement that promises social better- 
ment He is not identified with any political 
party, choosing to do his own thinking and he 
casts his vote for the candidate of wiiom his 
Judgment aw)roves. He served two years as col- 
lector of Cherry Grove township and for nine 
years has been a school director of school dis- 
trict No. 33, Cherry Grove. 

Three children have been bora to Mr. and Mrs. 
Diehl : Florence S., bom July 23, 1896 ; Grace 
B., bom October 5, 1899; and Frank M., bom 
January 28, 1906. The family attends both the 
Lutheran and the Evangelical Church. They 
have a wide circle of friends and their hospita- 
ble home sees many pleasant social gatherings, 
Mrs. Diehl having an enviable reputation as a 
housewife. Mr. Diehl belongs to the Mystic 
Workers, the Modem Woodmen of America and 



Lodge 490, A. F. & A. M., while both he and his 
wife are members of the Eastern Star. 

DIEHL, Henry, an honorable and respected 
citizen of Carroll county, who is a sul)stantial 
retired farmer living in his handsome residoice 
at Shannon, for fifty-five years has been Id^tl- 
fied with this section of Illinois. He was bom in 
Hesse Darmstadt, Germany, eighteen miles from 
Frankfort-on-the-Main, September 9, 1839, and 
is a son of Johannus Diehl, who was the sev-^ 
enith of that name living in the same village, 
all being small farmers. The mother of Henry 
Diehl was named Catherine (Fisheller) Diehl 
and married in 1838. She and her husband 
died in their native land in 1869, a year that was 
particularly fatal to the family as during its 
passage father, mother, grandfather and a 
brother of Mr. Diehl all passed away. 

Henry Diehl was the eldest of four brothers* 
Frederick, the second bora, came to the United 
States and in the course of time became a wdl 
to do farmer in Rock Cre^ township, Carroll 
county, where he died in 1905, leaving a family 
of three daughters. John, the third member of 
the family, is a farmer residing near Mt Morris, 
111. August, the youngest, died on the home farm 
in Germany. The parents reared their children 
In the faith of the Lutheran Church. Henry 
Diehl attended school, all German boys do that. 
It being an inflexible law of the land and an 
excellent one. He was more ambitions than 
some of his companions and from boyhood chCT- 
ished the desire to emigrate to America and at 
the age of eighteen years, in 1851, he was pre- 
pared to do this, so bidding his people farewell, 
he embarked on his long trip. After a voyage 
on a sailing ship lasting forty-two days, he was 
safely landed in the harbor of New York, and 
from there came directly to Carroll county, 
where he secured work in the harvest fields near 
what is now the village of Chadwick. He had 
learaed to bind wheat in many a contest in his 
native land and he proved so expert at the busi- 
ness in Carroll county that he was able to earn 
two dollars a day while others could earn no 
more than $1.50 a day. After the harvest sea- 
son closed he worked by the month for a salary 
of twelve dollars and during the winter as was 
the custom, merely for his board and lodging. 
In the spring of 1858 he engaged to work for 
Samuel Bowen near Chadwlc* and during the 
eight months he remained with that employe 



Digiti 



zed by Google 




Digitized by 



Google 



.,^^^^ \ 



N^' - S 



^V.'-'/- 



.V /■ 



\y 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



775 



saved his wages so that when he drew the money 
he had a lump sum of $104. He followed this 
same plan more or less, also working in harvest 
fields up to 1861, when he went home for a visit. 
After his return to Carroll county, he and his 
brother John and several other German young 
men who had come into the neighborhood, all 
became citizens on June 21, 1862. He was mar- 
ried in June, 1861, and after marriage he bought 
eighty acres on section 25 and to that added 160 
acres on section 26, Rock Creek township and 
now owns 240 acres. For his eighty acres of 
unimproved land he paid fifteen dollars per acre. 
On it he put up a small frame house and devel- 
oped the property into a beautiful farm on which 
he continued to live until 1889, when he turned 
it over to his son and bought his present fine 
home at Shannon, where he is surrounded by 
every comfort. 

Mr. Diehl married Catherine Miller, who was 
born in 1842 in Hesse Darmstadt, Germany. In 
1847, her parents, Johannus and Mary (Hurst) 
Miller, came to the United States and settled in 
Rock Creek township, Carroll county, where 
he became a leading farmer. Mr. and Mrs. 
Miller have had seven sons and one daugh- 
ter. Two sons died in infancy. Conrad and 
William died at the age of ten years. John 
Miller lives at Lanark, 111. George lives at 
Shannon and Henry lives at Lanark. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Diehl the following children 
were bom : Henry, who died at the age of eight- 
een years; Jc^m, who was bom August 28, 
1864, married Kate Smith and is a farmer in 
Rock Creek township, issue, — Layman and 
Lewis; George, who was bom April 12, 1866, 
married Hattie Schanen and lives on the home- 
stead ; Mary, who was bom June 3, 1869, is the 
wife of George Schneider, a farmer in Cherry 
Grove township, issue; — ^three diildren ; Fred W., 
wbo was bom July 17, 1871, is a farmer in 
Cherry Grove township, and married in 1895 
Sarah Deuel, a daughter of the late Horace 
Deuel, issue, — Florence, Grace and Frank; 
Emma, who was bom January 15, 1874, died 
March 9, 1874; Charles, who was bom October 
15, 1875, is a musician and music dealer at Mil- 
ledgeville; Herman, who was born March 22, 
1878, died in December, 1893; Emest Conrad, 
wbo was bom January 30, 1880, is a farmer in 
Elkhom Grove township, and married, issue, — 
Bryan; Josephine, who was bom June 4, 1881, 
is the wife of Ralph Wick, who is in the har- 



nessmaking business at Shannon, issue, — ^Allo^ 
Helen and Ida; Fannie, who was born October 
27, 1882, died September 22, 1883; and Albertine, 
who was bom June 15, 1883, died August 20» 
1883. 

Mr. Diehl succeeded in his agricultural under- 
taking and at one time was noted for the fine 
stock he marketed, on one occasion hauling thirty 
wagon loads of Chester White hogs to Polo, all 
averaging 450 pounds, for which he received 
the highest market price. Mr. Diehl cast his 
vote for candidates of the Republican party for 
many years but he is a thinking man and real- 
izes that new conditions have come about so 
that his next vote may be given independent of 
party and entirely according to his own judg- 
ment. 

DOTY, David Boone, county sheriff of Carroll 
county, is a native of the county, bom in Mt 
Carroll township, September 19, 1856, a son of 
Timothy and Jane (Craig) Doty, the former a 
native of Canada. The father was educated in 
his native country and at the age of twenty- 
one years came to Illinois. He had been reared 
to farm work and had attended the common 
schools. About 1842 he came to Savanna and 
for four years worked at whatever employment 
he was able to find. When he married he settled 
on a farm in Mt. Carroll township, where he 
spent the remainder of his life, dying in 1890. 

After attending the district schools in his 
native township, David B. Doty engaged in farm- 
ing and in 1883 moved to a farm near Galesburg, 
Neosho county, Kans., where he tearried on 
agricultural pursuits about fl^e years. He then 
retired from that occupation. In 1890, he was 
elected to the oflSce of marshal of Thayer, Kans., 
which post he held three years, after which 
he returned to Savanna, 111., and for some nine 
years worked for a railroad company. Mr. Doty 
is a Republican in politics and has always been 
interested in public affairs. He has always en- 
Joyed the confidence and regard of his fellow- 
citizens and in 1902 was elected to the ofiice of 
sheriff, being re-elected in 1906 and again in 
3910. He had previously served some time as 
station police oflicer at Savanna so was well 
fitted by experience and study for the ofiice of 
sheriff, the duties of which he has performed in 
a satisfactory manner. 

Mr. Doty was married (first) December 18, 
1879, to Maggie Shannon and they had five chil- 



Digitized by 



Google 



776 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



pn : Lee, who was bom October 5, 1880, mar- 
fTed Ollie Allison and lives at Portland, Ore.; 
Jennie, wbo was born October 31, 1882 ; William, 
who was born September 9, 1885, married Zella 
Feter and lives in Mt. Carroll ; Mabel, who was 
bom April 4, 1888, married Clarence Poffen- 
barger, Issue — Clarence and an Infant ; and Dee, 
who died in early childhood. Mrs. Doty died 
March 21, 1900, and is burled in the Savanna 
cemetery. Mr. Doty was married (second) on 
November 22, 1906, to Anna McCall, of Mt. Car- 
roll, and they have two children: Dee McCall, 
born December 1, 1907; and Margaret E., bom 
January 12, 1911. Mr. Doty Is a member of the 
Masonic lodge and the Modem Woodmen of 
America. 

DUNNING, Edward H., a prominent and sub- 
stantial citizen of Savanna, Is a self-made man 
In every way, having been left an orphan In 
childhood and early thrown on his own re- 
sources. He was 'bom In Trempleau county. 
Wis., April 24, 1871, son of Erastus and Eliza- 
beth (Howe) Dunning, natives of Ohio and 
Minnesota, respectively, whose ancestors were 
from more eastern states. Erastus H. Dunning 
was a farmer by occupation and an early set- 
tler of Minnesota. His wife died when Ed- 
ward was eleven years of age and he died about 
three years later. 

Edward H. Dunning went to live with strang- 
ers when he was but eleven years of age, but 
already knew 1k)w to work, having at the age 
of nine years followed a plow for days at a 
time for his father. After his mother's death 
he went to work on a farm near Richmond, 
Minn., and from there went to Trempleau, 
Wis., but after a short time, went to Homer, 
Minn., where he attended school. He removed 
to Winona, Minn., and drove a team in that 
town for a time, and then went to work as an 
engineer on the Mississippi river, being em- 
ployed on the raft-boat "F. C. A. Denkman." 
Later he purchased a farm near Camp Douglas, 
Wis., and after living there eleven years located 
in West Salem, where he was engaged in dig- 
ging wells and other work In connection there- 
with. He still later moved from West Salem to 
La Crosse, and soon afterward came to Savanna, 
which has been his home since 1904. He has 
developed Into a public-spirited and enterpris- 
ing citizen, interested In the progress and de- 
velopment of the community. A Republican in 



principle, h% votes for the men and measures be 
considers will serve the best Interests of the 
people. He is a member of the Presbyterian 
church, to which his wife also belongs, and is 
affiliated with the Yeomen of America. 

Mr. Dunning is connected with the Peoples 
Gas & Electric Company, of Savanna, with 
which he holds an important position, one of 
tmst and responsibility, being chief engineer. 
He is known to be upright and fair in his deal- 
ings with others and is well liked in varioos 
circles. Although living at Oak Park in East 
Savanna, he has sold his property recently, but 
he intends to purchase another home in the near 
future. 

Mr. Dunning was married in West Salem, De- 
cember 4, 1900, to Miss Esther Kronberg, who 
was bom in Copenhagen, Denmark, May 5, 1881, 
and came to the United States when she was 
eight years old. Her parents were born In 
Denmark, her father being deceased. Her mother 
and stepfather (also a native of Denmark) re- 
side in West Salem. Mr. Dunning and wife 
have the following children: Harold R., bom 
in West Salem, March 6, 1901; Merle C, bom 
in La Crosse, March 8, 1903; Vivian A., bora 
in Savanna, December 1, 1905; and Loyal, bora 
in Savanna, July 26, 1908. 

DYER, Walter Leroy, baggage-master for the 
Chicago, Milwaukee & St Paul Railroad, was 
born in Liscomb, la., January 14, 1872, a son 
of George W. and Mary E. (Thompson) Dyer. 
His parents, who were originally from the East, 
made Liscomb their home for some time, but 
then removed to Savanna, 111., afterward mak- 
ing it their permanent place of residence. Here 
Walter Dyer spent the greater part of his youth, 
attending the public schools of the place and 
generally enjoying himself as boys of his age 
do. Until he reached the age of thirteen he 
felt no burden of responsibility, but in that year 
his father who was a railroad man, was killed 
by a falling tree while he was chopping wood. 
This sad bereavement left the lad and his 
mother with scarcely anything, and of neces- 
sity Walter Dyer engaged with a neighboring 
farmer, that he might add what he could to his 
mother's meager allowance. His father was 
buried In Savanna, and the mother, who sur- 
vived until Feb. 6, 1910, when she died at her 
sister's home in MattooQ, 111., was brought home 
and placed to rest by his side. Young Dyer 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



777 



continued with his farm work until he was 
nearly seventeen years old, when he entered 
the employ of a baker. This work he found 
not much to his liking and after a year spent 
in a planing mill, and another as an assistant 
in the local livery barns, he went to work in 
the Chicago, Milwaukee & St Paul round house, 
as a mechanic, thus continuing for five years. 
At the expiration of that time, he was promoted 
to the position of baggage master for that road. 

On May 14, 1895, Mr. Dyer was married to 
Miss Ellen Law, of Woodland, 111., a daughter 
of Samuel Law, a prominent farmer of that 
part of the state. Mr. and Mrs. Dyer became 
the parents of two daughters : Gladys, who was 
bom September 9, 1896, milliner; and Florence 
M., who was born October 30, 1899. 

The Dyers are regular attendants at the 
Methodist church, in which each hold's member- 
ship. Mr. Dyer has for seventeen years been 
fraternally connected with the Modern Wood- 
moi, and has also been a member of the vol- 
unteer fire department since he was eighteen 
years old. The family live in their pleasant 
home, in Savanna, where their open-handed hos- 
pitality is dispensed. 

DYSON, £lijah H., a retired farmer living at 
Thomson, 111., and one of the best known men 
of Carroll county, was born in this county on 
section 8, York township, March 20, 1841, a son 
of William and Lavina (Smith) Dyson. Will- 
iam Dyson was bom in Taylor county, Va., Sep- 
tember 17, 1812. In 1819 he went to Barthol- 
omew county, Ind., and there, on September 17, 
1835, was married to Lavina Smith, who was 
bom February 2, 1814, and they came to Car- 
roll county, 111., October 19, 1838. Lavina Smith 
was bora in Ohio and died at Thomson, 111., on 
Febmary 4, 1911, two days after celebrating 
her ninety-seventh birthday. William Dyson, 
the grandfather of Elijah H. Dyson, came to 
Carroll county In 1837, with his wife, Betsy 
(Hubbard) Dyson, accompanied by four sons: 
Eli, Charles, Hezekiah and William. Eli and 
Hezekiah both died in York township and were 
buried near their parents, in the old Baptist 
burying ground. Charles Dyson died in Wis- 
consin. The Dysons were well known people 
and in a measure maintained the reputation for 
hospitality that belongs to Virginia people. They 
were pioneers in every sense of the word. 
William Dyson, father of Elijah H. Dyson, 
11 



engaged in farming as an occupation, and to 
a large degree was one of the men who assisted 
in the development of this part of Carroll county. 
When he came to section 18, York township, 
Savanna was but a hamlet of a few houses and 
one store. During the later years of his life 
he was a devout member of the Christian church. 
In politics he was a Republican. In earlier days 
he enjoyed hunting the wild game that was yet 
plentiful all through this part of the country. 
To William and Lavina Dyson the following chil- 
dren were born: Serena, James, Elijah H., 
Mary, Nancy, William, Amos and Matilda. Mary 
died at the age of four years. James died in 
1906, having served in the Civil war for 
f6ur years as a member of Company C, Ninety- 
second Illinois Volunteer Infantry, a brave man 
all through this long period. His widow survives 
and lives at Thompson, 111. William Amos is a 
retired farmer living at Davenport, la., mar- 
ried Alice Smith and they have two children, 
Louis and Tina. Serena J. is the widow of 
Henry Bristol, who left six children and she re- 
sides at Elk Point, S. Dak. Nancy is the widow 
of David Ashby and lives at Red Oak, la. 

Elijah H. Dyson had such school opportunities 
as were afforded in York township in his boy- 
hood but while still young began to take part 
in the farm industries, probably his first real 
\^ork being plowing with an ox-team, when about 
ten years old. He remained at home until his 
marriage, which occurred when he was about 
twenty^two years old, and then settled on the 
old homestead of his grandfather, on section 
18, York township. This land the grandfather 
had bought from the government for $1.25 pef 
acre, the patent bearing the signature of Presi- 
dent James K. Polk. On this farm Mr. and 
Mrs. Dyson remained until March, 1902, and 
then moved to Thompson, where they enjoy every 
comfort of modem life, still retaining the owner- 
ship of 153 acres of fine land. 

On July 26, 1863, Mr. Dyson was married to 
Miss Malissa L. Gaar, by Rev. C. W. Sherwood. 
She was bom in York township, October 27, 
1845, a daughter of John P. and Elizabeth (Shoe- 
maker) Gaar. The father of Mrs. Dyson was 
born in Kentucky, September 15, 1809, and the 
mother in Ohio, December 25, 1812. In May, 
1839, they were married at Marion, Ind., and 
in 1843 came to Carroll county and settled on 
a farm two miles east of Thompson, on which 
they spent the rest of their lives. John P. Gaar 



Digitized by 



Google 



778 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



was a relatlre of Abraham Gaar, of the Gaar- 
Scott Threfthing Machine Co., of RlchmoDd, In<t 
Mrs. Dyson can trace her getfealogy back to John 
Gar, as the name was then spelled, who came 
to America from Bavaria, Germany, In 1651, 
after which the family was well known In 
Virginia, North Carolina and Kentucky. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Dyson the following diildren were 
horn: Cora A., bom June 15, 1864, married 
John Meddles, a farmer in Clay connty, S. Dak., 
and they have five children — Frank, Etta, Lizzie, 
Pearl and Dyson. Lizzie, bom March 13, 1866, 
died at the age of sev^iteen years and six 
months; Robert B., who was bom March 18, 
1868, lives at home; Harry L., who was bom 
June 17, 1875, married Loretta Griswold, and 
they have three diildren — ^Wilbur, Wllmot and 
Sylvia. Mr. Dyson operates the old home farm 
in section 18 for his father; Whiter, who was 
bom October 14, 1878, married Rosa B. Martin- 
dale and they live at Lyons, la., now lives in 
Thompson. They have six children: Clifford 
B., Cora M., Mary L., Thelma M., Myma M., 
and Bernard Gaar. Mr. and Mrs. Dyson have 
met with few personal bereavements and their 
long period of married life has been one ot real 
companionship. For over fifty years they have 
been members of the Christian church, for forty- 
six of these Mrs. Dyson being a teacher in the 
Sunday-school, and for twenty-six years Mr. 
Dyson has been a deacon in the diurch. 

DYSON, William H.— For seventy-five years, 
three-fourths of a century, William H. Dyson 
has been a resident of Oarroll county, 111., and 
has vitally interested himself in its development, 
agricultural and otherwise, and enjoys the dis- 
tinction of being the county's oldest native bom 
resident. He was bom at Savanna. Carroll 
county. 111., February 22, 1838, a son of Heze- 
kiah and Ruth (McEndlow) Dyson. Hezekiah 
Dyson was bom in Virginia and in early man- 
hood made his way to Bartholomew county, Ind., 
where he married, in 1836 coming with his wife 
to Carroll county, 111., where he secured work in 
a saw-mill, near Savanna. In June, 1838, when 
his son, William H., was four months old, he 
moved Into York township, having entered land 
on section 29, in 1837, and there built the first 
log cabin ever erected on what is now called the 
Bluffs. While his was the first white man's 
home, this section had long afforded subsistence 
to other than animal life, for Indians still roamed 



at will over the country and made settlement 
whoever they pleased. Althou^ many of the 
early settlers had reason to fear the Indiana, 
Mr. Dyson never had any trouble with them and 
even was on friendly terms although his wife 
felt it advisable to hide th^ children in the 
cabin when these visitors r-ypeare^ It prob- 
ably was a happy day for Mr. Dyson when the 
Indians were removed from this state and he 
ferried 300 of them across the river. To Heze- 
kiah Dyson and wife fiv^ sons and six daughters 
were bom, eight of whom were bom in Car- 
roll county and ten of the family grew to matur- 
ity. The family's record as offered is the fol- 
lowing. One daughter died in infancy. James 
Dyson died at the age of thirty-two years, leav- 
ing three childr^L Charles Dyson, who died 
at the age of fifty-two years, married and had 
nine childrwi, four of whom survive. William 
H. Dyson was the fourth in order of birth. 
Serena is the widow of Isaac Boody, who was 
accidentally killed in a raUroad wreck. She 
resides at Morrison, 111., and is the mother of 
seven children. Ndlie is the wife of James 
Jad»on, residing at Chicago, 111., and they have 
four living children and one deceased. Hezekiah 
married Mrs. Rachel (Mounts) Dyson and they 
live at Manila, la. Margaret who lives in 
Utah, is the widow of Joseph Little, and was 
twice married, first to James Little. Edith and 
Katie both reside at Los Angeles, Calif. Cor- 
nelius Dyson is a prominent resident of Topeka, 
Kans., and four sons were bom to his first mar- 
riage. Mary is the wife of Asa Rodgers and 
they live in Michigan. She was first married to 
Charles Patrick. 

The parents of the above family have long 
since passed away, the death of the mother 
occurring in 1877 and that of the father, March 
17, 1882. They were leadhig members of the 
Baptist church and in every relation of life 
were worthy of emulation. Mr. Dyson, from a 
capital of fifty cents, with which he landed in 
York township, built up an ample fortune, 
reared a large family in comfort and respectabil- 
ity and left an estate including 160 acres of 
valuable land. 

William H. Dyson attended the subscription 
schools in boyhood, his father paying the sum of 
fifty cents for the privilege. There was a log 
schoolhouse built near his home and the teach- 
ers boarded around with their patrons, each 
family having, in tum, a chance to make his 



Digitized by 



Google 




WILLIAM MACKAY 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



/'^\ 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



779 



Intiinate acquaintance. Many times his thouglits 
wander back to tlie (^d log schooUionse with its 
prlniltlye equipments and Mr. Dyson can even 
rem^nber the names of his early teachers. As 
soon as he was old enou^, he was taught farm 
duties, for in his boyhood youths were expected 
to earn their own "keep" and usually did much 
more, and as be grew older he was of still more 
assistance to his father. Ox teams were used 
for transporting com to the mill at Savanna, 
and as there was no market for this grain it 
was largely used as home food, wheat at that 
time bringing only twenty-five or thirty cents 
a bushel. Mr. Dyson recalls when coffee was 
an almost unknown luxury in the home, and 
when the tallow dip was universally used for 
illuminating purposes. Mr. Dyson remained on 
the bome farm until he was twenty-one years 
of age. In 1859, with his brother Charles, he 
rented land and for several years they attended 
to their own domestic arrangements. On Feb- 
roary 6, 1861, however, Mr. Dyson was married 
to Miss Amanda Mounts, who was bom near 
Columbus, Ind. The families were additionally 
united, his brother James having married her 
sister Rachel. In the meanwhile, Mr. Dyson 
bought eighty acres of land situated in section 
26, Yc^rk township, and after marriage he and 
his wife settled there and on this farm two of 
their five children were born. He then sold his 
first purchase and bought 160 acres in section 
28, and on that farm three more children were 
bom, the record being as follows: Nettie, who 
was 4t>om Nov^nber 14, 1862, married Milus 
Knigbt, March 1, 1881, who was bom in Ten- 
nessee and came to Illinois with his parents in 
childhood. Mr. and Mrs. Knight had three daugh- 
ters bom to them, namely, Nellie, Maude and 
Rosa. Nellie Knight died at the age of four 
years. Maude was married December 18, 1906, 
to Mark Gaar, and died May 10, 1007. Rosa 
Knight was bom March 14, 1801, graduated at 
the Thompson high school with the class of 
1908, and in 1909 was appointed teacher of the 
best equipped school in York township and has 
been retained as such ever since. Mr. Knight 
died June 28, 1894. He was a man of sterling 
diaracter and a member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church. 

Stella Dyson married Elmer Griswold, who is 
a farmer in York township. George Dyson, who 
is an extensive farmer near Lanark, 111., mar- 
ried Mary Grimm, and they have four chil- 



dren : Glenn, Leah, Neva and Thelma. Charles 
Dyson, who resides in Iowa and is officially con- 
nected with the Burlington & Quincy Railroad, 
married Minnie Greely and they have two 
children: Lloyd and Paul. Mary Dyson mar- 
ried Samuel Grimm, who carries on the in- 
dustries on Mr. Dyson's old farm, and they have 
three children: Anna, Bert and Claude. The 
mother of the above family was permitted to 
see her children all happily settled in life be- 
fore she passed away on September 15, 1911, She 
was an active member of the Christian church 
and was beloved by all who knew her. 

Mr. Dyson remained on his farm until 1892 
and then purchased a lot in a pleasant section 
of Thompson, 111., on which he erected a com- 
fortable dwelling and for three years afterward 
conducted a meat market but since then has 
lived retired from active participation In busi- 
ness. Mr. Dyson still finds much, however, to 
interest him, has a wide circle of congenial 
friends and a beloved daughter, Mrs. Knight, 
to look after his comfort, she, since the death 
of her mother, residing with her father. Mr. 
Dyson is a member of the Christian church. He 
has been a member of the Republican party 
since the days of Abraham Lincoln, who has 
ever stood to him as a type of pure Americanism. 

EATON, Ralph Elmer, a prominent attorney of 
Mt Carroll, 111., is active in public affairs that 
are beneficial to the community and has estab- 
lished himself in the confidence of his fellow- 
citizens and associates. Mr. Eaton was bom 
at Pleasant Valley, Jo Daviess county. III., May 
11, 1865, a son of Daniel and Harriet (House) 
Eaton, the former of whom was a native of 
Oswego, N. Y., who was brought in boyhood to 
Illinois in 1845 by his parents. In 1849, during 
the gold excitement in California, he traveled 
across the plains with an ox team and spent 
four years there, becoming owner of a mine 
which he sold upon leaving for a few thousand 
dollars that later made its purchasers rich. Re- 
tuming to Pleasant Valley, he purchased a farm 
and operated it until a few years before his 
death, when he moved to Savanna, where he 
died. 

Mr. Eaton was graduated from Fulton College 
in 1884 and the following year entered the office 
of James M. Hunter, a successful lawyer of Mt 
Carroll, studying with him for two years. In 
1887 he was admitted to the bar and ratered 



Digitized by 



Google 



780 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



upon tbe practice of his profession at Mt 
Carroll, being elected to the office of state's at- 
torney the following year. He held this respon- 
sible office twelve consecutive years and since 
then has been fully occupied with his private 
practice, and the duties pertaining to his con- 
nection as local attorney with the Ohicago, Mil- 
waukee & St. Paul Railroad Ck)mpany. One of 
tbe most noted cases with which Mr. Eaton has 
been connected was that of Meyers, murderer 
of the mayor of Thompson, 111., in which Meyers 
had been declared guilty by the jury. Mr. Eaton 
was the attorney for the prisoner and saved his 
life by a technicality. He has also became well 
known as the attorney for the defence of Ed 
and Frank Koser, held on a murder charge at 
Savanna, and secured their acquittal. In the 
Shimer will case, in which Mr. Eaton served as 
attorney for the complainants, he won the deci- 
sion, this being the first case ever tried in the 
county where the will was set aside. He has 
been president of the library board since Its 
organization, the library building having been 
erected during his incumbency, and he was for 
several terms president of the board of educa- 
tion, holding this office when the public school 
building at Mt Carroll was erected. He has 
also served as alderman and has held various 
other local offices. 

On March 6, 1887, Mr. Eaton married Miss 
Lucy Vipond, of Jo Daviess county, 111., and 
four children have been bom of this union: 
Laura, Flora, Helen and Ralph. Laura and 
Flora are teaching school, while the two younger 
children are at home. Mr. Eaton is a stanch 
Republican in politics and Is one of the best- 
known lawyers of his county. 

ECKMAN, Jacob Alpheus, who is one of the 
substantial men of Carroll county, residing on 
East Locust street, Lanark, is a representative 
of an old Pennsylvania family that has been 
known for generations in Lancaster county. He 
was born in Lancaster county. Pa., March 8, 
1864, a son of Daniel G. Eckman who moved with 
his family to Carroll county, 111., In 1870, becom- 
ing one of the extensive farmers and representa- 
tive men of this part of the State. 

Jacob Alpheus Eckman, better known to his 
friends as Alpha, was reared on the home farm 
and attended the district schools nearest his 
home. On January 21, 1886, he was married to 
Miss Barbara Ellen Martin, who was born in 



Franklin county, Pa^ December 20, 1864, a 
daughter of the Rev. Henry and Susan (Zuck) 
Martin, both natives of Franklin county, Pa. 
They came to Carroll county in 1866 and bought 
120 acres of land in Cherry Grove town- 
ship, later adding forty acres, and there they 
made a beautiful home. The Rev. Henry Martin 
was bom August 10, 1826, and died October 20, 
1906, and he was survived but one week by liis 
wife who was bom February 11, 1833, and died 
October 27, 1908. He was a minister and for 
many years preached for the German Baptist 
people who rejoiced in his wonderful presrata- 
tion of bible truths. He was the father of 
twelve children, four sons and eight daughters. 
Two of the children died in infancy, their names 
being Hannah M. and Anna F. The following 
survive: Laia, who is the wife of John A. 
Martin, a farmer of Cherry Grove township; 
Sarah, who is the wife of George W. Windle, a 
farmer in the vicinity of Radisson, Wis., issue,— 
Minnie, Ella, Viola, Charles, Harry and Clyde; 
Daniel, who is a farmer an Pocahontas county, la., 
married Sadie Lutz, issue,— Etta, Alfred, Earl; 
Mrs. Eckman ; Harry, who is a farmer in Cherry 
Grove township, married Lulu Curtis, issue,— 
Albert and Walter; Susan, who is the wife of 
Thomas Bere of Lanark, issue,— Marie and 
Quinter; Minnie, who is the wife of Elmer 
Bolinger of Shannon, 111., issue, — Mabel; Ida 
C, now deceased, was the wife of Howard Crab- 
tree, a farmer of Shannon township, and she 
left six children: Bessie, Katie, Gertie. Howard, 
Albert and Berry ; John W., who died In 1911. 
married Maggie Mattis, who survives and makes 
her home with her daughter, Minnie, In Lanark ; 
and Albert who died April 24, 1893. Mr. and 
Mrs. Martin lived to see twenty-three grand- 
children and eight great-grandchildren and took 
great pleasure in their health and happiness. 

After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Eckman 
rented a farm In Rock Creek township, and he 
operated 160 acres of the old homestead until 
1898, when he bought the entire property and 
made it one of the most productive farms of 
this section. In 1903 he sold his first purchase 
and bought 116 2-3 acres situated on section 33, 
Cherry Grove township, on which he made many 
improvements, selling it to great advantage in 
1911, when he bought another farm in Rock 
Creek township known as the Bert Zuck faroL 
Mr. and Mrs. Eckman have one daughter. Lulu 
May, who was born April 27, 1893. Their other 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



781 



child died in infancy. Tlie daughter was mar- 
ried May 22, 1912, to Franl^ A. Kampmeier, a 
farmer of Rock Creek township, operating a 
farm owned by Mr. Eckman. Mr. Kampmeier is 
a reliable, capable young man. He was bom at 
Shannon, 111., March 21, 18d3. Mr. and Mrs. 
Eckman with their daughter and her husband, 
are active members of the Church of the 
Brethren. Mr. Eckman considers himself re- 
tired, but nevertheless he passes few idle hours, 
finding work at carpentering and building a 
pleasant way to pass the time. The family is 
one held in very high regard at Lanark. 

ECKMAN, John Tnanan, a retired farmer and 
business man, now residing at Lanark, has 
spent the greater part of his life in Illinois, but 
his birth took place in Lancaster county. Pa., 
September 16, 1858. His parents were Daniel 
G. and Leah H. (Hoak) Eckman, and his grand- 
parents were John and Mary (Pfoutz) Eckman. 

John EiCkman was bom in Oermany and 
probably was young when his parents emigrated 
to America and settled in Lancaster county. 
Pa., where he died when aged seventy-nine 
years. He followed farming as an occupation 
and was a member and liberal supporter of the 
German Reformed Church. His children were 
two sons and three daughters : Daniel G. ; Eliza- 
beth, who was the wife of Jacob Eckman, a 
cousin, and both died in Lancaster county; 
Susan, who married Henry Eckman, of the same 
name but of no relationship, and they both died 
in Lancaster county ; Kate, who married Joseph 
Folk, and they also died in Lancaster county; 
while John, the eldest born, lived and died in 
Pennsylvania. 

Daniel G. Eckman was bom in Lancaster 
county, April 11, 1825, and when he reached 
manhood was there married to Leah Hoak, who 
was bom December 28, 1826. After marriage 
they remained in Lancaster county until 1871, 
when they moved to Carroll county. 111., and here 
Mr. Eckman bought 160 acres, situated on section 
17, Rock Creek township. During his first year 
he built a house and also a bank bam, with 
dimensions of 50x100 feet, which was the first 
bank bam ever erected in Bock Creek township. 
He always kept a good grade of stock and had 
the proper idea of caring for this portion of 
his wealth, providing good quarters at all times. 
Subsequently he also erected a handsome and 
comfortable residence on this farm. 



After leaving the farm in 1882 he and wife 
made their home with a daughter, and after 
the death of his wife in 1883, he remained a 
member of a son's household, where his death 
occurred May 12, 1905, when he was aged sev- 
enty-eight years. They were faithful members 
of the Church of the Brethren. To th^n the 
following children were bom : Amanda, who was 
born in Lancaster county, Decemlmr 9, 1847, 
married B. K. Meyer, and died December 1, 
1903; Simon, who was bom February 19, 1849, 
died May 4, 1871, in the same year that his 
parents moved to Illinois ; Mary E., who was born 
August 22, 1850, died July 1, 1851; Emma E., 
who was bom January 9, 1852, died October 26, 
1856; Anna, who was bora September 17, 1853, 
married Hon. William Kimmel, a very prominent 
citizen of Sheldon, la., an extensive laud owner 
and twice a member of the State Senate; Eliza- 
beth, who was born October 9, 1856, is the wife of 
Jacob Royer, a retired farmer of Lanark, 111.; 
John Truman, who was bom September 16, 
1858; and Jacob Alpheus, who was bora March 
8, 1864, is a retired farmer living at Lanark, 111. 

John Truman Eckman was about thirteen 
years old when he accompanied his parents to 
Illinois, and completed his education in the 
schools of Carroll county. In 1880 he bought a 
farm of ninety acres adjoining the old home- 
stead, in Rock Creek township, but continued to 
live with his parents while he managed the 
homestead farm together with his own ninety 
acres, making 250 acres under his direction. 
After his marriage in 1882 he took entire charge 
of the homestead and after making some changes 
and improvements, purchased the property and 
made his home on it until he first moved into 
Lanark, in 1891. For two years he was in the 
coal business there but in 1893 retumed to the 
farm and was interested in a stock business 
until 1902, when he once more came to Lanark, 
where he embarked in a flour, feed and imple- 
ment business, continuing it until 1906, when he 
disposed of it and until 1908 carried on a real 
estate business, since which time he has lived 
retired in his handsome residence on East Pearl 
street, whidi he completed in 1912. In all his 
undertakings he has been more or less success- 
ful, owing to excellent business judgment, and 
even yet he prefers to keep busy, serving as one 
of the directors of the Rock CreA-Lanark Mu- 
tual Fire Insurance Company, of which he has 
been secretary since 1903. He keeps a watch- 



Digitized by 



Google 



782 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



ful eye on property values as he owns considera- 
ble In this and other sections, including the 
creamery building east of Lanark, two town 
properties, eighty acres of land In Wood county. 
Wis., and is president of the Lanark-Idaho Or- 
chard Co-operative Company, which holds eighty 
acres of apple orchards. In politics he has 
always been a Republican and after he was 
twenty-one years of age was elected a school 
director in Rock Creek township and for four 
years has been a member of the Lanark school 
board. 

On November 30, 1882, Mr. Eckman was mar- 
ried to Miss Mary E. Dubbel, who was bom in 
Washington county, Md., November 2G, 1855, and 
accompanied her parents to Illinois in 1862. 
Her father bought a farm west of Lanark, in 
Rock Creek township, where both parents died. 
Mr. and Mrs. Dubbel had five children: David, 
who married Emma Sherry, lives at Lanark r 
Mrs. Eckman; Helen, who is the wife of John 
E. Rowland, a farmer in Cherry Grove town- 
siilp; Edward, who is a farmer near Water- 
town, S. Dak., married Elma Arnold ; and Anna - 
B., who is the wife of Jack Gordon, and they 
live at Freeport, 111. Three children were born 
to Mr. and Mrs. Eckman : one that died In in- 
fancy; Bess, who was born December 13, 1889, 
was married June 1, 1911, to Scott S. Nichol, 
who is operating the old home farm for Mr. 
Eckman ; and Darnel D., who was born June 20, 
1895, and resides at home. Mr. Eckman and 
family are members of the Church of the 
Brethren and for years he has been a deacon 
and a member of its board of trustees. 

ELLIOTT, James (deceased).— All of the mar- 
tyrs of the Civil war did not perish ujjon the 
battle fields for many lived for years, bearing 
with them the effects of injuries received dur- 
ing their period of service. In spite of what 
by many would have been regarded as a serious 
handicap, frequently these heroes attained dis- 
tinction in various walks of life, and only gave 
up when death claimed them. One of the men 
who not only was a good soldier, but an excellent 
business man as well, was the late James Elliott, 
who was a contractor of bridges and one of the 
substantial men of Savanna. He was born in 
Ireland, May 9, 1843, but had lived in this 
country for many years. During the Civil war, 
he served as a brave and valiant soldier, en- 
listing in Company C, Ninety-second Illinois 



Volunteer Infantry, under Captain Stover 
Hawk, and later as a veteran in the Forty- 
fourth Illinois Volunteer Infantry. He was 
wounded at the battle of Lookout Mountain, 
and never fully recovered from it, as this in- 
jury occasioned his death September 4, 1893, 
and his remains were laid to rest in Zion Grove 
cemetery in Woodland township. In 1865, he 
received his honorable discharge, after having 
participated in the celebrated March to the Sea 
with General Sherman. After the war, he 
joined the G. A. R. Post at Mt Carroll. 

When he was five years old, his parents lo- 
cated In New York state, where they remained 
for two years, and then^came west to Illinois. 
Mr. Elliott was educated in Carroll county, at- 
tending the old Stone school in Savanna. After 
his war service, he returned to that city, where 
he resided until he went to Woodland town- 
ship. That continued to be his home for thirty 
years, and he served there as a school director 
for a long period. 

In January, 1866, Mr. Elliott was married 
by Squire Byron Ecker to Martha Rolands, 
who was bom In Jo Daviess county, 111., Novem- 
ber 18, 1845, a daughter of Michael Rolands of 
Irish descent who came to Illinois from Ken- 
tucky prior to the Black Hawk war, in which 
he served, fighting bravely against the Indians. 
His death occurred in the fifties. Mrs. Elliott 
had two brothers, Calvin and Joseph who 
served during the Civil war in the Forty-eighth 
Illinois Volunteer Infantry and participated in 
the March to the Sea with General Sherman. 
Both are now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Elliott 
became the parents of the following children: 
William M., who is a teamster of Savanna, mar- 
ried Mary Son; Isaac, who Is also a teamster 
of this city, married Emma Chapln, issue, — 
Earl, Lloyd and Ruth, and by a first marriage 
to RlUa Hastings, has two children, — ^May and 
Irwin ; Albert, who Is a farmer of Canada, mar- 
ried Cora Finch ; Calvin ; Richard N. who is In 
partnership with Calvin at Savanna, married 
Edna R. jChapln, Issue, — ^Alma and Roderick; 
and Delia M. who married Irwin Kennedy of 
Savanna, issue, — ^Martha L. 

Calvin Elliott was bom In Woodland town- 
ship August 4, 1877, and he was educated In the 
country schools, so that he Is essentially a Car- 
roll county product Mr. Elliott learned the 
stone mason trade which he has found very use- 
ful in his line of work, and has been In a gen- 



Digitized by 



Google 




CAROLINE MARK 



Digiti 



zed by Google 






\> 






Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



783 



eral contracting business, taking contracts for 
stone, steel and concrete work for the last fif- 
teen years. On July 2, 1911, he suffered a loss 
from fire, but rebuilt that same year. He built 
and owns the two houses adjoining his resi- 
dence, putting them up In 1909. Mr. Elliott has 
done considerable work In Carroll and Jo Da- 
viess counties, building bridges and building and 
repairing roads. 

Mr. EUiott was married to Miss Viola Chapln, 
a daughter of George and Elizabeth (Bates) 
Chapln, natives of Pennsylvania. Mr. and Mrs. 
Elliott have four children: James W., Albert 
B., Martha L., and DeUa V. Politically Mr. 
Elliott is a Republican and Is a young man well 
liked in his conmiunlty, where he is also re- 
spected for his business judgment and ability. 

ELSETy Henry, one of the old settlers and lead- 
ing citizens of Hazelhurst, Carroll county, is an 
excellent example of the sturdy English stock, 
for he was bom at Epson, county Surry, Eng- 
land, July 9, 1837. His father, also Henry Elsey, 
was a native of Epson, but the grandfather, 
Henry Elsey, was bom on the border of Scot- 
land. He served in the British army under the 
Duke of Wellington, In the war against Napo- 
leon, and also saw service in Canada and India. 
When he retired from the army, he settled in 
Epson, near the Downs, and there married Susan 
Napier, a sister of Sir Charles John Napier, 
Major-General and of Sir William Francis 
Napier, also an officer in the British army. This 
marriage displeased the Napier family, and Mrs. 
Elsey was disowned by them for marrying one 
regarded as so much her social inferior. The 
old soldier and his bride cheerfully accepted 
the situation, and went to work to make a pleas- 
ant home on land leased from the crown. Al- 
though humble, it was a happy home, the boys 
and girls growing to useful manhood and woman- 
hood. In turn they married and labored in the 
fields and shops and factories, and they re- 
garded England as the best country In the 
world. 

Henry Elsey, the second, married Eliza Lover- 
age, bom In Worchester, a servant in the home 
of Lord Mayo of Cheam. They had four chil- 
dren: Robert, Henry, Alfred and Anna Eliza. 
The years 1847 and 1848, were sorrowful ones 
to the poorer classes In England. No work was 
to be obtained, taxes were very high, the crops 
tailed on account of excessive rains, and there 



were no potatoes. Sickness and death were con- 
stant visitors in the homes of the poor. The 
Elsey family suffered terribly, and all but Henry 
died, and the spring of 1848 found him in an 
English workhouse, orphaned and friendless. 

In July, 1849, an uncle took him from this in- 
stitution, and paid his passage to the United 
States, but died soon after their arrival In New 
York City, leaving beside Henry, a widow and 
five children, almost penniless, entire strangers 
in an alien land. The years that followed were 
ones of toil and hardship for the widow and 
her little ones. They eventually arrived at 
Elgin, 111., and there they found that there was 
a bright side to life. Entire strangers gave them 
a helping hand, and there was plenty of work, 
although at scanty wages. Henry found a home 
and board, and was given clothes and an op- 
portunity to attend school. 

A year or two in the National school at Epson 
had taught him to read, and he was fortunate 
enough to fall In with Intelligent men and women 
who were fond of reading. The first newspaper 
Henry saw was the National Era, in which 
that classic Uncle Tom's Cabin was then run- 
ning. This powerful story made a deep im- 
pression on the lad, and he ibecame a radical 
Abolitionist. John B. 6ough*s lectures on tem- 
perance were published In this same organ, and 
Henry also espoused the temperance cause. 

Later on he reached Carroll county, and be- 
came connected with the "Underground Rail- 
road," and for several years put into practical 
operation his Abolition views, by assisting 
slaves to escape, driving over the roads between 
Fulton and Byron with negroes seeking freedom. 
He assisted many to escape to Canada. Natur- 
ally with his views, he was one of the first to 
enlist, when the three years' call was Issued for 
troops, and served for four years, four months 
and seven days in the United States army. He 
saw service in the Fifteenth Illinois Volunteer 
Infantry, the Seventh Illinois Cavalry, and the 
Fifth Veteran Reserve Corps, participating in 
the following engagementis : Farmlngton, Cor- 
inth, luka, Corinth (second), Qrierson*s Raid 
to Baton Rouge, La Port, Hudson Plains Store, 
the Tlckafaw Bridge, Holly Springs, Shoal 
Creek, Lawrenceburg, Summerville, Island No. 
10, Franklin, Lynnvllle and In many cavalry 
skirmishes. He was wounded at Gold Water 
Ford, November 3, 1863, by a musket ball in 
his right leg, which was not extracted until 



Digitized by 



Google 



784 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



four years later, he serring for two years after 
being shot That wound is still causing him 
trouble. 

On Thanksgiving Day, 1870, Henry Elsey was 
married to Glarinda Spencer, daughter of Allen 
B. and Eliza C. Spencer. They have three chil- 
dren: Mrs. Phila Booth of Aurora, 111.; Mrs. 
Mary Duffy, of Polo, 111., and Allen S. Elsey, 
of Eagle Point, 111. 

For several years after he came home from 
the army, Mr. Elsey followed the trade of car- 
penter and builder, -working when It was neces^ 
sary to know how to build with raw materials, 
hewing the timbers with a broad axe and mak- 
ing sash and doors by hand. He was post- 
master at Eagle Point twenty years; clerk, six- 
teen years ; school director, twelve years ; justice 
of the peace, four years ; township collector, one 
year; and secretary of the Eagle Point Town- 
ship Mutual Fire Insurance Company for thirty- 
seven years, township school treasurer, twelve 
years, and treasurer of the Eagle Point Fire In- 
surance Company, five years. He is now town- 
ship school treasurer for both Eagle Point and 
Elkhom Grove township. He has never sought 
any office save that of postmaster, and is proud 
of the fact that during the thirty-seven years 
he has been connected with the insurance com- 
pany, there has never been a word written in 
the company records, or a policy issued that 
was not written by him. During all this time 
not one annual report has been returned to him 
for correction by the superintendent of insur- 
ance. Mr. Elsey feels that his adopted country- 
men have given him their confidence and on 
this account he feels amply repaid for the years 
he suffered by reason of the wound he received 
in the Civil war, when he sees "Old Glory" 
floating over a united and prosperous people. 

FARMER, Charles C, of Carroll county, is well- 
known as an organizer of the local branches of 
the Modem Woodmen of America and the 
Woodmen of the World, and made the speech 
at Omaha, Nebr., nominating J. C. Root as the 
national head of both organizations. Since 
these orders have been well established Mr. 
Farmer has spent much of his time promoting 
their welfare and growth. He is a man of 
strong personality, a good orator and much 
interested in the work In which he has been en- 
gaged, so that his enthusiasm has been inspir- 
ing to others. Mr. Farmer is also prominent in 



Masonic circles, being a Knight Templar and 
served three years as worshipful master of 
C^rus lodge at Mt Carroll. Mr. Farmer has 
lived in Mt Carroll some time, and is inter- 
ested in all public movements using his influ- 
ence for the advancement of the welfare of the 
city. 

On April 10, 1862, Mr. Farmer was married 
to Miss Esther ^. Jefferis, of Mt Carroll, a na- 
tive of Wilmington, Del., and they have become 
parents of two children, Charles O. Jr. and 
Mary R., the latter the wife of Elmer P. Kinney, 
and mother of three children, two sons and a 
daughter. 

Captain Charles C. Farmer, Jr., was born 
January 9, 1876, and received his preliminary- 
education in the public schools of Carroll 
county. He was appointed by Congressman R. 
R. Hitt to a scholarship at West Point being 
graduated from that institution in 1890, as 
second lieutenant Captain Farmer participated 
in the Spanish-American war, serving in Cuba 
and the Philippines, and Is now stationed at 
Fort Meade, So. Dak. 

FINK, John V. (deceased).— Although all that 
was earthly of John V. Fink, of Savanna, 
passed from the knowledge of men many years 
ago, his record as an energetic and useful citi- 
zen is still well remembered, and those of his 
friends yet living will recall his upright hon- 
esty and good deeds. Mr. Fink was born in 
Allentown, Pa., a son of William Fink. He was 
educated in his native state and at the age of 
flfteen years left home and went to Baltimore, 
where he learned the trade of a cooper, at 
which he worked the greater portion of the 
remainder of his life. After extensive travel- 
ing, and a period of residence in Kentucky, in 
1840 Mr. Fink came to Savanna, IlL, where 
he met and married Margaret Bothwell, of Eng- 
lish and Scotch descent, although a native of 
Ireland. Mr. Fink and his wife became the 
parents of six children: two died in infancy; 
Sarah, who is now deceased, for twenty-seven 
years was a school teacher, and well known 
as an efficient educator, was located for seven 
years at Thomson, 111., seven years at Leclaire, 
la., and some years at Savanna; Lucy, who is 
the widow of John Q. Wing, is a resident of 
Chicago; Anna J., who for many years was a 
prominent educator; and John E., who was 
graduated from the law department of Ann 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



785 



Arbcw university, is now an attorney located at 
Clinton, la., and was for many years a judge 
of tbe police court Mrs. Fink was one of five 
children, two daughters and three sons, and 
went to Vermont with her three brothers when 
about seventeen years of age. When about 
twenty years of age, having learned the trade 
of a milliner, she went to Albany, N. X., where 
she had two brothers and when about twenty- 
three years old came to Savanna. Her brother 
James died in Albany. Her brother Jeremiah 
lived many years on a farm near Albany, but 
later moved to Clinton, la., where he died. The 
third brother lived in Galena, 111., many years, 
but spent the last of his life in Dubuque, la. 
The sister Sarah married Charles Piilfbrd, of 
Savanna. 

For many years John Fink worked in Sa- 
vanna at the trade of a cooper. He early 
showed his sagacity and good Judgment by 
investing in land in the vicinity and became 
quite wealthy, retiring when about sixty years 
of age. He was a devout man and his chil- 
dren were reared among Christian influences. 
His house was always an abiding place for min- 
isters in early days and he was one of the 
founders of the Congregational church of Sa- 
vanna, remaining faithful to its teaching until 
death, and contributing liberally to its support 
He served many years as deacon in the church 
and was always ready to help in its work. In 
politics he was a Republican but never sought 
office. Mr. Fink died March 19, 1895. Always 
a true friend to educational movements, though 
he received limited opportunities in this re- 
spect himself, he was eager to give to his chil- 
dren the best advantages in his power, so that 
all were well fitted for their future work and 
all who reached maturity spent some time in 
teaching. 

FLEMING, Hugh Mack (deceased), formerly 
residing at Milledgeville, 111., was bom in Law- 
rence county, Ind., April 29, 1837, a son of Robert 
Lacy and Jane (Scritchfleld) Fleming. Grand- 
father Fleming was bom in Ireland and when he 
emigrated to America settled first in the State 
of New York but later moved to Lawrence 
county, Ind., where he died. 

Robert Lacy Fleming was bora in New York 
but was mainly reared in Indiana. Although he 
had but meager educational opportunities he be- 
came a man of considerable consequence, serving 



for many years after moving to Illinois, in the 
office of Justice of the Peace and as Township 
Clerk. In politics he was first a Whig and later 
a Republican. He was married in Indiana to 
Jane Scrltchfield, who was bom in Ohio, and in 
1846, with her family, came to Illinois. At that 
time his son, Hugh Mack Fleming, was nine 
years old and his memory recalls what was then 
an eventful Journey. Seven wagons were piled 
high with household effects and the three weeks 
of travel, while a serious enough matter to the 
older members of the family, was one of rare 
adventure to the restless children. They wit- 
nessed sights they had never seen before, travel- 
ing through unbroken forests, fording unbridged 
streams and making roads over uncharted prai- 
rie, religiously resting every Sabbath day. It 
was in the fall of 1846 that the family reached 
Whiteside county, 111., and remained there until 
the following spring and then moved into Car- 
roll county, selecting tracts of land near a mill 
site, the same now being included in the busy 
town of Milledgeville. For some years the 
Scritchfields remained here but later moved to 
Tama county, la. Some fi*ve years after coming 
to Illinois, Robert Lacy Fleming bought eighty 
acres of land in Wysox township, a part of 
which Hugh Mack Fleming still owns, and here 
spent his life following farming and the raising 
of stock. He was a great student of the Bible 
and so familiar with its wisdom that it was a 
pleasure to him to discuss moral questions and 
apply passages of Scripture to maintain his 
contentions. In his religious opinions he was of 
the Universalist faith. His death occurred in 
1880 and his widow survived him for ten years. 
She was reared in the Methodist faith. Three 
sons and five daughters were born to them and 
four of these survive, Hugh Mack being the 
third in order of birth. Sarah, who lives in 
Whiteside county, is the widow of Edwin Bird- 
sell. Margaret, who lives at Morrison, III., is 
the widow of Henry Pond. Eva also resides at 
Morrison. Robert Bruce is a painter and decor- 
ator and lives at Baraboo, Wis. Angelina mar- 
ried Henry Blrdsell and they are deceased, sur- 
vived by one daughter, Clara, who is the wife of 
Henry Stevens, of Sumner, la. Nancy married 
William Howland and they both died at Ster- 
ling, 111., and they are survived by one daughter, 
Grace, who resides at Boston, Mass. 

As stated above, Hugh Mack Fleming, was not 
yet ten years old when his family moved to 



Digitized by 



Google 



786 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



Carroll county, where he lived up to the time of 
his death. He attended the subscription school, 
his father paying twenty cents a day to have his 
three children instructed, the teacher being John 
Campbell. This first school-house was a very 
primitive affair but in the winter of 1848 a three- 
room building was erected in the village, wliich 
was at first used for school purposes, later as a 
hotei and still later as a dwelling. Mr. Fleming re- 
mained on the home farm until his marriage in 
1860, when he rented land of his grandfather, In 
Whiteside county, on which he lived until 1802, 
when he returned to Carroll county and bought 
five acres of the homestead, on which he erected 
his first residence a part of which stands. In 
1863 he rented forty acres and also bought 
forty acres of land from the Illinois Central 
Railroad and this was the nucleus of his fine 
farm, wliich, through five purcliases, aggregated 
195 acres. Following his third marriage, Mr. and 
Mrs. Fleming lived for two years on his farm 
and then came to Milledgeville, where Mrs. Flem- 
ing had erected a comfortable and attractive 
dwelling, on Holton avenue, where she still 
resides. 

Mr. Fleming was married (first) July 4, 1860, 
to Sarah Wilson, who died early. She was an 
estimable woman and was a Spiritualist in re- 
ligious belief. The following children were bom 
to them: Cassius M., who is a farmer in Mis- 
souri ; Lilly, who is the wife of Henry Whittling, 
a farmer near Central City, la.; Minnie, who 
is the wife of Edgar Holt, a farmer near Nim- 
rod, Mo.; Nellie, wlio is the Vife of David 
Story, of Enid, Okla. ; -Cora, who is the wife of 
Philip Nogle residing on the old Fleming home- 
stead in Wysox township; Lydia, who is the 
wife of James Story, a farmer near Oakley, 
Kans. ; and George, who Is a farmer in W^sox 
township. As each of the children left the old 
homestead, Mr. Fleming gave them help in get- 
ting started in life and it was a great comfort 
to him to know that all were doing well. 

Mr. Fleming's second wife was Mrs. Mary 
Holt, who died in 1898, leaving no issue. On 
December 9, 1900, Mr. Fleming was married 
(third) to Mrs. Tillie (Courtwrlght) Hollowell, 
who was born in Columbia county. Pa., January 
17, 1841. Her grandfather was of Scotch de- 
scent and was a prominent man in Pennsylvania 
and served in the state legislature. Her father 
died in Pennsylvania, but her mother, who was 
of German ancestry, survived to come to Illinois 



and lived with Mrs. Fleming at the time of 
death. Mrs. Fleming lias a brother, Oscar A. 
Courtwrlght, who is a retired farmer in Iowa 
and the owner of 1500 aores of land, went to 
that section among the early home-seekers and 
at first lived in a sod house. The early Court- 
wrights were of the Methodist faith and in early 
days their houses were open homes for the min- 
isters. Mrs. Fleming was reared a Baptist, but 
now attends the Brethren Church at Milledge- 
ville. She came to Illinois in 1869 and was first 
married to William Hollowell, who was bom in 
Canada, but at that time was a successful farmer 
and highly respected resident of Whiteside coun- 
ty. He was a leader in the Baptist church, a 
deacon in the same and a liberal contributor. 
He died October 11, 1893. His first marriage 
was to Jane Peters and they had two sons: 
Grant and Arthur, whom Mrs. Fleming reared 
and considers the same as her own. Grant Hol- 
lowell is a farmer in Iowa, married Annie Rit- 
tenhouse and they have three children. Arthur, 
in partnership with his brother, owns and oper- 
ates 200 acres of Iowa land. Both are leading 
farmers of their section. 

Mr. Fleming served in numerous local offices 
and had been school director, highway commis- 
sioner and trustee. He reached the age of 
seventy-five years. For sixty-five years he re- 
ceived his mail at the same place and remem- 
bered when It cost twenty-five cents to send a 
letter back to Indiana. 

FLICKINGSR, John F., a prominent and suc- 
cessful merdiant of Lanark, is progreesiye and 
enterprising in his methods and is recognized as 
a useful and desirable citizen. He was bom 
in Bock Creek township, Carroll county, Mardi 
15, 1875, son of Noah F. and Rachel A. (Etlhig) 
Flicklnger. The Flickinger family, is well- 
known in Carroll county, Noah F. Flickinger 
having come here In 1868, from Ohio. His wife 
died December 27, 1909, in Lanark and was 
buried in Lanark Cemetery. He Is retired and 
lives in Lanark. 

After graduating from the public sdiools of 
Carroll county, John F. Flicklnger took an en- 
gineering course at the Illinois State University, 
following which he engaged in a contracting 
business, and in this connection erected a large 
number of fences in Carroll and adjoining coun- 
ties, having a number of men In his ^nploy. 
He followed this occupation continuously an- 



Digitized by 



Google 







< 







Digitized by 



Google 



/•: ■/ 



-/.- 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



787 



til 1905, when he purchased the hardware busi- 
ness which William H. Hess bad established 
in 1860 at Lanarlc. Mr. FlicldDger carries a com- 
plete line of shelf and heavy hardware, build- 
ing material of various kinds, farm implements, 
paints, glass and other goods to be found in 
the stock of a large store of this kind, and 
is considered a bright 'business man and one of 
the most enterprising merchants in the county. 
Mr. Flickinger was married November 18, 
1899, to Miss Mllle Swigart, daughter of Samuel 
Swigart, of Lanark, and they are the parents 
of three children: Harlan, who was born In 
Lionark, October 13, 1903; Kenneth, who was 
bom August 13, 1905, and Ronald Noah, who 
was bom April 17, 1908. Mr. Flickinger and 
family are members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, of Lanark, and Mrs. Flickinger is a 
member of the ladies' society. lie belongs to the 
Blue Lodge, A. F. & A. M., and his wife to the 
Eastern Star. Mr. Flickinger has been active in 
the Republican party since attaining his major- 
ity and has been elected to serve as delegate 
to the state, congressional, judicial and county 
conventions of his party. For several years he 
has been a member of the Republican county 
ceitral committee and since the campaign of 
1908 has held the office of secretary of that 
body. Always interested in any worthy cause 
which has for its object the betterment of ex- 
isting conditions, he has served as president of 
board of education and alderman. In addition 
to his other interests, he is vice president of 
the Lanark Canning Co. 

FLICKINGER, William J.— Perhaps in no sec- 
tion of the State of Illinois are farmers so In- 
telligent and so alive to the Importance of the 
Industries they carry on as In Carroll count?', 
and a traveler whose business or pleasure took 
him near the .pleasant little city of Lanark, could 
not fail to notice and pass favorable comment 
on the well improved property belonging to Wil- 
liam J. Flickinger. 

William J. Flickinger was bom in Carroll 
county, m. He is of German ancestry and the 
name Is well known In Pennsylvania and Ohio 
as well as in Illinois. He was reared on his 
father's farm and obtained his education In the 
district schools. He has devoted his attention 
entirely to agricultural pursuits and for four- 
teen years before coming to his present place 
operated the Edward Puterbaugh farm. Mr. Flick- 



inger is one of the most extensive stock raisers 
in Carroll county, his grade of cattle and hogs 
being always kept up to a high standard. The 
latest agricultural methods are followed here 
and the best improved farm machinery is used, 
Mr. Flickinger keeping thoroughly abreast with 
the times in agricultural progress. 

On November 28, 1895, Mr. Flickinger was 
married to Miss Fannie Livingard, who was a 
daughter of E. P. and Rachel (EUing) Livingard, 
who were natives of Ohio, and they have three 
children : Ralph, Edwin and Helen. Mr. Flickin- 
ger and family belong to the Presbyterian church. 
In politics Mr. Flickinger has always been an 
ardent Republican and for four years has served 
his township in the office of school director. 

FORRY, John. — Mention anywhere in Rock 
Creek township, the name of John Forry, 
and expressions of good will will be heard 
as well as respectful and friendly com- 
ments on himself and family. Mr. Forry 
and wife belong to that plain and worthy class 
that form the foundation of society in any com- 
munity and from such people come those who 
are useful to the neighborhoods in which they 
live in both public and private life. He was 
born in what was then Union county, Pa., Feb- 
ruary 18, 1844, a son of David and Sophia 
(Straub) Forry. 

David Forry was l>om in 1808, in Union 
county. Pa., was married in 1832, and died In 
1856. His wife was bom In 1812 and survived 
until 1897. They were parents of fourteen 
children : Mrs. Jacob Diceinger and Mrs. Sophia 
Cupplns, who live at MifHIn, Pa. ; Mrs. Charles 
Grabele, who lives at Richfield, Pa.; Mrs. John 
Spighenger, who is living at Altoona, Pa.; Mrs. 
Sarah Kissinger, who is deceased, lived at Mif- 
flin, Pa. ; Mrs. George Shettery, who is deceased, 
lived at Dayton, Mich. ; Mrs. John Yeager, who 
is deceased, lived at Richfield, Pa. ; Mrs. George 
Martin, who is deceased, lived in Pennsylvania ; 
Mrs. John Gordon, who is deceased ; Daniel, who 
Is deceased, lived at Richfield, Pa. ; Levi, who is 
deceased; Catherine, who is deceased; James, 
who is a farmer of Snyder county, Pa.; and 
David Forry, who is deceased. 

John Forry was reared on a farm and during 
boyhood attended the district schools for three 
months in the winter of eadi year, but as soon 
as he was old enough to handle a plow he went 
to work in the fields and remained on the home 



Digitized by 



Google 



788 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



farm until the fall of 1863. None of his family 
had been Inclined to a military life except his 
uncle, Charles Straub, who had served in the War 
of 1812, but Mr. Forry determined to do his 
part in the suppression of rebellion and in the 
fall of the above year enlisted for service in the 
Civil war, entering the Second Pennsylvania 
Heavy Artillery and contracting for three years 
or during the war. He saw hard service. It 
was his regiment that at White House Landing 
threw the shot into the ranks of the enemy 
that drove them from a favorable position ; then 
took part in the battle of Hatcher's Run, after 
which came the terrible days of the Wilderness. 
He bore up under all the hardships for two 
years and was then taken seriously sick and on 
this account, in February, 1865, was sent home 
and as his regiment was mustered out before he 
was able to rejoin it he has never received his 
discharge papers although entitled to them. He 
again helped on the farm and afterward went 
to work in the pineries in Clinton county, Pa., 
and soon afterward was married, there being 
quite a little romance connected with the same. 
In Clinton, county he met as a young lady one 
whom he had known as a little girl, playing in 
her father's mill in Snyder county. She was 
bom December 26, 1845, in Snyder county and 
later accompanied her parents when they moved 
to Clinton county, where, in June, 1865, she 
was married to John Forry. 

Mr. Forry worked at logging In Clinton county 
until 1867 and then moved to Carroll county, 
111., locating at Shannon. In the following 
spring he was engaged by John Atkins to work 
by the month and worked for five months for 
this employer at $25 a month, and afterward for 
Henry Puterbaugh, off and on, for some seven 
years. During 1876-7 he worked by the day for 
David Boyd and in 1878 rented a farm from 
Walter Cole, in Salem township. In 1879 he 
rented a farm on which he lived for four years 
and for some years afterward was in Salem 
township. In 1904 Mr. Forry came to Rock 
Creek township, renting at first but for the 
past two years has been residing on his present 
farm which is situated in section 2, Rock Creek 
township, carrying on general farming. 

Mrs. Forry is a daughter of Gteorge and Susan 
(Heiser) Straub, natives of Snyder county, Pa., 
who came to Carroll county in 1867. They set- 
tled first at Georgetown and then in Fairhaven 
township. Mrs. Straub died on the farm in 



1904 and Mr. Straub makes his home with his 
sons who live at Chadwick and, although he 
is now in his ninty-second year still enjoys rea- 
sonably good health. His family contained six 
sons and six daughters: Callie, who died at 
the age of nine years ; Barbara, who is deceased, 
was the wife of John Moore, of Chicago ; Christ- 
ian, who lives at Chadwick ; Daniel, who lives 
in Nebraska; John, who died at the age of 
fifty years; George, who lives at Chadwick; 
Harrison, who lives on the old home farm near 
Chadwick ; Mrs. Forry ; and the others who died 
in infancy. 

Nine children have been bom to Mr. and Mrs. 
Forry. Sarah, who was bom in Clinton county. 
Pa., March 9, 1866, and accompanied her parents 
to Illinois. She was married to Henry Bailey, 
April 3, 1907, who died October 15, 1911, and 
she now lives with her parents. Frances was 
bom June 27, 1867, and is the wife of Aaron 
Lopp and lives at Hanover, III. Louise was 
bom February 8, 1869, and was married first 
to Fred Richmond and had two children, Frank 
and Ralph. Her second marriage was to Lewis 
Fisher and they live at Hanover, III. Elmer 
was bom March 25, 1871, lives at Hanover, 111., 
married Jennie Glenn, and they have four 
children: Erkstin, Clifford, Annie and Harry. 
Frank was bom July 1, 1873, lives at Park- 
ville, la., married Lottie Doty and they have 
four children : Martha, Nathan, Wava and Lulu. 
Charles was bom November 3, 1875, and lives 
at Deerwood, Minn. Linnie, bom June 3, 1878, 
and Irva, bom June 25, 1882, reside at home. 
Archie was born June 17, 1884, and is a farmer 
near Clarksvllle, la. He married Jessie Arvine. 
Mr. Forry has always kept well posted concern- 
ing public questions and has enrolled himself 
as a member of the Progressive party. He has 
served with efficiency in public offices and for 
four years was highway commissioner of Rock 
Creek township. Both he and .wife are mem- 
bers of the Church of God. 

FOSSLSR, Wellington Charles, osteopathic phy- 
sician, a successful practitioner, with offices at 
Mt Carroll, and at Savanna, was bom at 
Adeline, III., October 16, 1885, a son of Isaac 
A. and Emily (Relchenbach) Fossler. Isaac A. 
Fossler was bom on his father*s farm, near 
Freeport, III., May 23, 1854, where his father 
had settled when he came to Illinois from Pain- 
sylvanla and from which he moved to Iowa, In 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



789 



the early seventies, and died at Ackley, In 1910. 
He owned many acres of land and was a mill- 
wright by trade. He married Sarah Kimball, 
In Pennsylvania, who died in 1900. Isaac A. 
Fossler engaged In business as a merchant at 
Adeline, III., until 1888, when he moved to Leaf 
River and continued there as a merchant until 
August 24, 1911, when he disposed of his inter- 
ests and on May 1, 1912, removed to Chicago 
to engage in the scale business, with handsome 
offices at No. 638 Postal Telegraph building. He 
married Emily Reichenbach, who was born at 
Adeline, 111., February 28, 1863, and is a daugh- 
ter of Dr. Charles H. and Catherine (Arbagast) 
Reichenbach. The father of Mrs. Fossler was 
a graduate of Berlin University and belonged 
to a prominent old German Empire family. He 
came when a young man to the United States 
and after marriage located at Adeline, 111., where 
he engaged in medical practice for a number 
of years and then moved to Oregon where both 
he and his wife died. By a former marriage 
Isaac A, Fossler had one son, Earl W., who is 
a resident of Polo, 111. To his second marriage 
four sons were bom, namely: Wellington C. ; 
Clark E., who was killed by a railroad train at 
Leaf River, when aged fourteen years ; Dean L., 
who is a student now in college; and Van H., 
who is at home. 

Wellington C. Fossler was graduated from the 
Leaf River high school In 1904 and In 1909 was 
graduated from the American College of Osteo- 
pathic Medicine and Surgery, now the Little- 
johu Coll^^e, Chicago, 111., and he also took a 
business course. Immediately after leaving 
school he became a country school teacher, in 
the vicinity of Leaf River, in the meanwhile pre- 
paring for his college course of four years un- 
der the supervision of Dr. Gordon, of Rock- 
ford, and later of Dr. Martin, at Mt. Clemens, 
Mich. After completing his medical course, Dr. 
Fossler opened an office in Chicago, at No. 1515 
West Madison street, where he remained for 
one year and then removed to Warren, 111., from 
whidi place he came to Mt Carroll on Janu- 
ary 1, 1911. He has fine quarters In the new 
Telephone building in Savanna, justified by an 
extensive practice, and also maintains an office 
at Mt. Carroll, where he has office hours on 
Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays. It is quite 
possible to use his automobile in covering the 
distance between his offices. His success In the 
management of chronic cases has been no less 



than remarkable and his general practice is sec^ 
ond to no other in Carroll county no mattet 
what their school of medicine. Dr. Fossler Is 
director of the Mt Carroll band and of the 
Methodist church choir. 

Dr. Fossler was married June 27, 1909, by 
Rev. Pierce, In the Methodist church at St. Joe, 
Mich., to Miss Mamie C. Norman, who is a 
daughter of John and Regina Norman, who were 
born in Pennsylvania. Mr. Norman Is superin- 
tendent of a boiler manufacturing company at 
Chicago. Mrs. Fossler Is active in the Oongrega- 
tional church, of which she is a member, while 
Dr. Fossler was reared in the Methodist faith. 
Mrs. Fossler is a member of the order of Royal 
Neighbors, at Mt Carroll. He is identified with 
Gyrus Lodge, No. 188, A. F. & A. M., and with 
Carroll Lodge, No. 50, Odd Fellows, Through- 
out his entire mature life he has been a loyal 
Republican. 

FRANE, Henry, undertaker and licensed em- 
balmer, and dealer In furniture, pianos, organs, 
carpets and rugs at Chadwlck, is one of the lead- 
ing citizens of Carroll county. He also has a 
branch establl^ment at Thomson, 111. which is 
in charge of his son, William. Mr. Frank was 
bom in Germany, August 22, 1857, being a son 
of John and Maria (Repp) Frank, both natives 
of Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany. The father was 
a farmer, but for twenty-five years was on the 
police force, retaining this appointment until his 
death which occurred when he was eighty-three 
years of age. For many years he was one of 
the leading members of the Lutheran church, 
and was a most excellent man in every respect. 
He was also chief of the fire department, and 
when he died many people of importance attended 
the funeral to pay their respects to a man they 
so highly honored. His wife died in 1872, aged 
forty-nine years. The grandmother of Henry 
Frank lived to be ninety-one years, and his 
grandfather's life was also prolonged to a ripe 
old age. The maternal grandmother lived to be 
ninety-two. One of her sons was killed during 
the Civil war in this country. The children born 
to John and Maria Frank were: John, Jr. who 
is a farmer in Germany and at one time held the 
oflice of highway commissioner, being appointed 
by the state; William who is also one of the 
state highway commissioners; Margaret who Is 
the wife of John Alt a farmer in Germany; 
Eliza and Henry. 



Digitized by 



Google 






790 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



Henry Frank went to school from the age of 
six to that of fourteen years. He was then ap- 
prenticed for three years to the cabinetmaklng 
trade, and during that period received his board 
as compensation for his labors. When he had 
completed learning his trade, he began making 
furniture, but his earnings were turned over to 
his father. In 1882, when twenty-five years old, 
he left his native land, and came to Mt. Carroll, 
arriving here September 15, of that same year. 
He began working as a carpenter at fifteen dol- 
lars per month, but the following year worked 
as a joumeyman carpenter. In 1887, he went to 
Shannon, 111., and established himself as a con- 
tractor and builder, erecting some of the best 
business houses and dwellings in the place, giv- 
ing employment to from seven to ten men winter 
and summer. 

On March 26, 1892, Mr. Frank came to Chad- 
wick, and opened his furniture establishment, 
and seeing a field for undertaking embarked in 
that line as well. The next year he bought out 
the stock of his rival in the furniture business, 
and since then has been the leader in his lines in 
this part of the county. Later he began handling 
musical instruments, rugs and carpets, to meet an 
existing demand, and now occupies a store build- 
ing 20 x 90 feet. In connection with his furniture 
establishment, he makes picture frames and does 
repairing along a cabinet-making line. In 1901, 
Mr. Frank received his diploma as an embalmer 
from the Barnes Embalming School of Chicago, 
and his State license from the State board. He 
has the best funeral car in Carroll county, and 
is always in the front rank for securing what 
he believes will add to the improvement of his 
business. 

On January 6, 1886, Mr. Frank married Eliza 
Kraft, also a native of Germany, who came to 
America to join her brother. Three children 
were born of this union, William and two who 
died in Infancy. Mrs. Frank died December 20, 
1889, when William was but five weeks old, hav- 
ing been bom November 16, 1889. On July 6, 
1891, Mr. Frank married Eliza Faust, also born 
in Germany. She was brought to America by 
her parents, and was reared in Waterloo, la. 
There were five children of this second marriage : 
two who died in infancy ; and Emma, Louis and 
John, of whom the eldest is a graduate of the 
Chadwick high school, class of 1911. William, 
the son by the first marriage, was also graduated 
from the Chadwick high school, and for one year 



was a teacher. He took a position with his 
father as clerk and assistant embalmer, but in 
June, 1911, he entered the International School 
of Embalming at Chicago, and was graduated 
therefrom. His father then established his 
branch house at Thomson, under the firm name 
of Henry Frank & Son, and already the junior 
member has made himself felt in the business 
world there. He is a good undertaker, and 
thoroughly understands his business. 

Henry Ftank is one of those careful, conscien- 
tious, reliable German-Americans who can be im- 
plicitly trusted in every respect. When called 
in upon the sad occasions which come to all, he 
proves himself a real friend, and his sympathy 
and ready tact relieves suffering and soothes 
grief. Fraternally, he belongs to the Masonic 
Lodge of Chadwick, the Odd Fellows of Shannon, 
the Modern Woodmen of Chadwick, and he and 
his family are Lutherans. In politics, he is lib- 
eral. For many years he has been an elder in 
his church, and as treasurer of the church fund, 
has rendered very valuable services. Although 
the only one of his family in America, he is 
proud of his adopted country, and regards Ills 
coming here the best move he ever made in life. 

FRENCH, Nomuui D. (deceased).— Perhaps 
there is no family name in Carroll county that 
is more justly held in esteem than that of 
French, and to learn of its beginning here, it is 
necessary to trace back to New England where 
even in Colonial days it represented sturdinesB 
of character and a measure of financial independ- 
ence. Norman D. French was bom at Cam- 
bridge, Vt, January 1, 1810, and died in Carroll 
county. 111., February 22, 1891, having spent 
more than half a century in his adopted State. 
His parents were Jacob and Parmella French, 
both of whom were bom in Vermont 

It is quite pr(rt)able that Norman D. French 
in his native environment did not find oppor- 
tunities that satisfied his ambition as, in 1832, 
he is found in Fulton county, 111., ready to join 
a government surveying party which was under 
Deputy United States surveyor C. R. Bennett. 
The work of those early surveyors was both dif- 
ficult and dangerous and on many occasions 
entailed considerable hardship, the country bein? 
wild and unsettled and communication with 
sources of food supply often being entirely cut 
off. While surveying the lands in both Pulton 
and Carroll counties, an early winter settled 



Digitized by 



Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



/ y 






c>\ 












Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



791 



down on the party above mentioned and as 
provisions began to get scarce, the officer sent 
out one of the men with team and wagon to 
Port Byron, to secure a supply of necessities. 
The hungry men waited in the timber for his 
return, but, after a considerable time, finding 
that the night would probably pass without re- 
lief, they started to cross the stream on a rudely 
constructed raft that went to pieces in the wa- 
ter, and to add to* their discomfort, drenched not 
only th^nselves but wet their entire supply of 
punk which was a calamity in itself, there being 
no matches at that day, fire being secured with 
punk from flint ignition. It was Mr. French 
who came to the rescue, finding some dry cotton 
batting in his vest lining that took the place 
of the useful punk. A fire being made, their 
clothing liad a chance to dry. Along in the night 
they heard a call and following it up found 
their lost comrade who had become lost in 
searching for the party, and had met with many 
misfortunes, including the death of one of the 
horses. This incident is related as indicative of 
the early activities of Mn French in Carroll 
county. 

After reaching Carroll county, Mr. French 
was so impressed with the natural advantages 
offered here that he entered a government daim 
of 160 acres, to which he later added nntii he 
owned 640 acres, on section 17, near the bTuffs, 
in what is now York township, but accompanied 
the surveying party to Jo Daviess county. Al- 
though he did not seUle on his land until 1838, 
he frequently visited it and looked after minor 
Improvements and never thought of disposing of 
it or moving to any other section. His first 
house was a log cabin with a thatch roof, but 
the time came when a spacious mansion took 
its place while 5,000 acres oiP rich prairie sur- 
rounding, was his land. Norman D. French 
became one of the most successful farmers and 
extensive stock raisers of this part of Illinois. 
He was an unusually astute business man and 
continued to manage his large interests until 
within a short time of his decease notwithstand- 
ing his other activities as a justice of the peace 
and otherwise as a local official. He was of 
broad and enlightened mind and encouraged the 
advancement of general education and gave help 
in the upbuilding of religious and other moral 
enterprises, particularly along the line of tem- 
perance. He was the first postmaster in Car- 
roll county, the first county commissicmer, the 



first sui)erA'i8or and collector, collecting the first 
tax levied in Carroll county, the whole amount 
not exceeding $200. On many occasions, how- 
ever, he traveled miles in order to collect a levy 
of ten cents. He was elected a member of the 
Twenty-ninth General Assembly to represent 
what was the Eleventh Senatorial District, com- 
posed of Carroll and Whiteside counties. Mr. 
French was always progressive in his political 
views, being a Whig, then a Free Soiler and a 
Republican when that organization came into 
being. He was liberal in the distribution of his 
wealth and was unostentatiously charitable. 

Norman D. French returned to Vermont to 
marry and on October 23, 1849, he was united to 
Miss Mary Dunshee, who accompanied him back 
to Illinois, and died in York township, December 
11, 1855, leaving two daughters : Jane E., who is 
now deceased, married Clarence B. Houghton; 
and Mary D., who became the second wife of 
Clarence B. Houghton, and they had two sons, — 
Harry F. and Roy I. Norman D. French was 
married (second), on May 10, 1859, at BeMdere, 
111., to Mrs. Harriet L. Hodgkins, who died May 
25, 1862, leaving one son, Norman Stephen Abe, 
who was bom May 22, 1860. 

Norman S. A. French was carefully reared 
and was given excellent advantages of all kinds, 
attending the Northwestern College at Fulton, 
111., and a business college at Davenport, la. 
After returning to the home farm, he was mar- 
ried May 21, 1885, to Miss Mattie DuGard, who 
was bom November 2, 1863, in Spring Valley, 
near Shannon in Carroll county. 111., a daughter 
of Thomas and Maria Jane (Morarity) DuGard, 
natives of England. One son, Norman D., was 
bora of this marriage In Freeport, 111., S^tem- 
ber 28, 1888. Mr. French was never strong, and 
his death occurred July 7, 1893, when he was 
but thirty-three years old. He was buried in 
Dunshee cemetery where his parents are also 
interred. Since his death, Mrs. French has 
shown much business capacity in her manage- 
ment of the large interests left her by her hus- 
band. 

Norman D. French, who has succeeded to a 
large part of his grandfather's estate, now own- 
ing 2,500 acres including the old home property, 
has turned his attention to its development with 
the good Judgment and thoroughness which are 
family traits. After attending school at Thom- 
son, 111., and a military school at Delafleld, 
Wis., he spent two years in the Rock Island 



Digitized by 



Google 



792 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



schools, and was graduated from the high scbool 
there In the class of 1908. He Is yet a student, 
being an undergraduate at the Leland-Stanford 
University, at Palo Alto, Calif. 

PRY, Jacob.— While some of the agricultural- 
ists from the United States are seeking homes 
in the wonderful northwest of Canada, many 
of the substantial men from the Dominion have 
come here, so that each country has given to 
the other. One of the men who is proud of his 
Canadian birth, although for many years a resi- 
dent of Carroll county, is Jacob Fry, a retired 
farmer of Shannon. He was born In Canada, 
April 1, 1845, a son of George and Margaret 
(Klein) Fry, natives of Germany, where the 
father was born in 1823, and his wife in 1825. 
He was a farmer and died fifteen years ago, 
while his widow survived him until 1905. Com- 
ing to the United States, Mr. Fry was first lo- 
cated at Naperville, thirty miles west of Chicago, 
and resided there for eight years, when he went 
to Ogle county, and after fifteen years of farm- 
ing in that locality, came to Caiyroll county, ar- 
riving here In 1867, settling one mile northeast 
of Shannon. For four years, that continued to 
be his home, when he moved to the Old Turk 
farm, and spent three years. He then moved 
to a farm five miles south of the city of Shan- 
non and spent fourteen years. For the next four 
years, he lived in Shannon, but leaving, located 
west of the city, and remained for four years 
more, when he sold his farm, and went to 
Freeport, 111., where he worked at the carpenter 
trade and as a painter. Once more, he came 
to Shannon, and since 1911, has been living 
here retired. 

Like a number of other Canadians, Mr. Fry 
has given his adopted country military service, 
enlisting in 1865, in Company K, Fifteenth Illi- 
nois Volunteer Infantry, under Captain John 
A. Long, and was honorably discharged at Wash- 
ington, D. C, August 7. 1865. He had the mis- 
fortune to be taken 111, and had to spend two 
months in the hospital at Washington. Upon 
his return, he resumed his farming. 

On January 23, 1867, Mr. Fry was married 
to Miss Elizabeth Kurtz, daughter of Thomas 
and Matilda Kurtz, natives of Pennsylvania. 
Mrs. Fry was bom in June, 1846, and came west 
in 1865. Mr. Kurtz was a Democrat and served 
as a school director. The children born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Fry are: Milton, who Is of St. Louis, 



is a teacher in the McKinley high school; Ar- 
thur, who is a retired merchant of Shannon; 
Mrs. Cora Jones, who lives on a farm south- 
east of Shannon; Matilda M., who is the wife 
of Harry Harrod, a professional ball player of 
Freeport ; and Harry, who Is of Freeport, is a 
barber. There are two grandchildren In the^ 
family, Paul and Donald Jones. The family be- 
long to the Evangelical church. Mr. Ffy belongs 
to the G. A. R. Post of Freeport. During the 
time he lived in Lima township, he was a jus- 
tice of the peace, school director, and road com- 
missioner, and has always 'been interested hi 
educational matters, although his own educa- 
tion was limited to the country schools. In 
1908, Mr. and Mrs. Fry took a delightful trip 
to Pike's Peak, Seattle, Wash., and other west- 
em points. Mr. Fry owns property in Freeport, 
as well as his residence in Shannon, and is in 
comfortable circumstances. 

FULRATH, Adam, a leading merchant of Mt. 
Carroll county, stands high in liis community 
as a whole-souled, genial man and an enter- 
prising, useful citizen. He was bom in Reichel- 
seim, Germany, April 22, 1838, a son of John 
and Margaret (Harr) Fulrath. Daring the 
winter of 1851, John Fulrath emigrated to 
America, locating in Pennsylvania, the r^nain- 
der of the family following him the next year. 
He had been a farmer in his native country, 
and naturally continued in this line of endeavor 
after coming to his new home. For a few 
years, he farmed in Franklin county. Pa., but 
in 1858 brought his family to Carroll county, 
111., where he bought a farm in Mt Carroll 
township, and it continued to be his home until 
death claimed him. John Fulrath was married 
in 1825 and he and his wife had the following 
children: George and John, who are farmers 
of Mt Carroll townsliip; Peter, who died dur- 
ing boyhood in Germany; Adam; G. Henry, 
who is a farmer of Mt Carroll township ; and 
Margaret, who married Bartholomew Bower, of 
Mt Carroll. The father of this family died in 
1884, his wife having passed away in 1872. 
and both are buried In Center Hill cemetery, Mt 
Carroll township. He was prominent In local 
affairs, as well as in the church, and was a man 
who earned and retained the respect of all with 
whom he was associated. 

As a boy, Adam Fulrath attended the local 
schools, and after coming to America, spent one 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



793 



winter attending school in Franklin county, 
Pa., where he b^an learning English. His ser- 
vices were then required, and he spent four 
years in farm worlt in Pennsylvania, after 
which he went to Ohio, where for another four 
years he was engaged in similar employment 
He then came to Carroll county, 111., and bought 
a farm from Thomas Brady in 1863, which 
he sold the following year to Jacob Harr. 

After his marriage In 1864, Mr. Fulrath moved 
to Jones county, la., where he bought a farm 
and lived upon it four years, then selling it, 
returned to Carroll county, and bought land 
from John Fulrath and John Grove, then 
known as the Jackson farm. There he re- 
mained seven years, when he sold to Bartholo- 
mew Bowers, and bought the Fulrath mill in 
Mt Carroll township, which he still owns, hav- 
ing conducted it for over thirty-four years. 
In 1904, Mr. Fulrath established himself in a 
hardware business at Mt Carroll, and in 1906, 
he moved from -his farm to Mt. Carroll, where 
• he has since resided. At present he deals in 
shelf and heavy hardware, farm implements, 
wagons, engines, threshers and similar articles, 
carrying an inmiense stock and representing a 
number of responsible firms. He is honest and 
upright in all his dealings and has the entire 
confidence of his customers^ His large trade 
is constantly growing, for his patrons ap- 
preciate the fact that he endeavors to give 
them just what they want, while his stock is 
80 complete that there is no difficulty experi- 
enced in making a choice. 

In 1864, Mr. Fulrath was married to Hannah 
Smith, a daughter of William R. and Elizabeth 
Smith, of Carroll county. Mr. and Mrs. Ful- 
rath became the parents of the following chil- 
dren: William R., who was bom in Jones 
county, la., April 7, 1865, is in a coal and 
brick business In Savanna ; George W.. who, was 
bom in Iowa, February 6, 1867, is a farmer of 
Carroll county; Ada, who was t)ora in Carroll 
county, Febmary 23, 1869, married William H. 
Christian; Cora E., who was born in Carroll 
county, married Orville Smith, of Woodland 
township; Jacob D., who was bom April 8, 
1872, is in business with his father ; Dr. Wesley, 
who was bom June 23, 1874, practicing at 
Waukesha, Wis. ; Elizabeth, who married Elmer 
Weidman, of Mt. Carroll; Adam M., who was 
bora Mardi 7, 1880, is also working with his 
father; Grace Mabel, who married Elmer Ben- 
12 • 



son, lives on the Fulrath homestead; Clarence, 
who was born Feb. 6, 1887, is associated in 
business with his father, married Philanna 
Wood; and Nellie who was bom January 5, 
1890, is at home. The children have all been 
well educated in the common schools. Mr. 
Fulrath and his family are members of the 
United Brethren Church of Center mil, of 
which he has been tmstee since 1868, and for 
ten years was superintendent of the Sunday 
school, while for eighteen years he was a class 
leader. Mrs. Fulrath is a member of the 
Woman's Missionary Society. Politically, Mr. 
Fulrath is a Republican, and served four years 
as conmiissioner, while for thirty-seven years 
he was a school director. While all of his 
time is devoted to his business, Mr. Fulrath 
still retains ownership of his fine 188-acre farm 
in Mt Carroll township. Hale and hearty, Mr. 
Fulrath enjoys excellent health, and is able 
to enter into his business affairs with a zest 
seldom displayed by one of his years. A man 
of excellent judgment in both his private affairs 
and public matters, his advice is often sought, 
and he has always been a leader among his 
associates who recognize in him a representative 
of the highest interests of his community. 

In reviewing his life, Mr. Fulrath dwells up- 
on the suffering endured by himself and the 
rest of the family after the father left for 
America. This was the period of the terrible 
famine that nearly devastated Germany and 
sent so many of its reliable people to the United 
States. People starved to death for lack of 
food, and the Fulrath family barely escaped 
such a fate. Mr. Fulrath has never forgotten 
these experiences and often speaks of them to 
his family, impressing upon his children the 
need for constant thanksgiving that their lot 
has been cast amid such different surround- 
ings. Although he was forced to work for three 
dollars a month for some time after coming to 
this country, Mr. Fulrath declares that that 
money seemed big to him, coming as he did 
from a land where there was absolute penury. 

FULRATH, William R., of Savanna, is a self- 
made man, having started without a dollar and 
by his industry and good management built up a 
fine business. He was born in Mechanicsville, 
la., April 7. 1865, a son of Adam and Hannah 
(Smith) Fulrath, the latter a native of Harris- 
burg, Pa. The father was born in Germany and 



Digitized by 



Google 



794 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



came to America about fourteen years of age, 
Bpendlng some time in Carroll county, after 
which he removed to Iowa, but within four years 
returned to Carroll county. Upon his return to 
Illinois he engaged in farming, but later sold his 
property and embarked in a milling business, to 
which his son William R. was reared. There 
were eleven children in his family. 

At the age of twenty-three years William R. 
Fulrath who had received but limited educational 
chances, left his father and located in Savanna, 
finding employment with L. S. Bowen, a grocer, 
with whom he remained eight years. He then 
engaged in manufacturing brick and has since 
continued in this line. Purchasing an old es- 
tablished brickyard, he after a time added wood 
to his stock, and in 1905 began selling coal. He 
has been very successful in all three lines, and is 
an energetic business man. Besides the business 
already described Mr. Fulrath deals in real 
estate, buying and selling farms and town houses, 
having extensive holdings of valuable property 
in Savanna and vicinity, as he has shown good 
judgment in making his investments. 

Mr. Fulrath was married April 11, 1886, to 
Irene, daughter of Thomas J. and Letitia (Dick) 
Smith, of Mt. Carroll, and they have four chil- 
dren: Lettie May, Lillian, William Logan and 
Laura. Their first child died in infancy. Mr. 
Fulrath is a Republican in iwlitical belief and is 
a member of the school board of Savanna, ren- 
dering valuable service in this connection. 

FURMAN, William.--There have been agricul- 
turists who have thought it necessary in order 
to prosper as farmers and grain growers, to seek 
the Dakotas or even the reputed fertile sections 
across the Canadian border, but it is probable 
that if they had possessed the patience, industry 
and good judgment of William Furman and pur- 
sued the same sensible and progressive methods, 
they would have found Carroll county. 111., had 
both the necessary . soil and climate. W^illiam 
Furman is one of the most extensive farmers, 
grain growers and stock feeders in Carroll coun- 
ty, his land lying in Wysox township. He was 
l)om at Carlisle, Cumberland county. Pa., July 
7, 1864, and is a son of John and Rebecca (Me- 
Farland) Furman, both of whom died at Colum- 
bus, O., having had these children : James, Wal- 
ter, Harvey, William, and Sally who married 
Howard Scott and moved to New York. 

Mr. Furman is a self-made man, from the 



early age of seven years having had to take care 
of himself and thus had but meager educational 
advantages. When ten years old he secured 
employment that paid him two dollars a month 
and as he grew older and more capable his wages 
increased and during the summer of 1882 he wag 
earning eleven dollars a month. Early in that 
year he had decided to seek work in Illinois and 
his first employer in Carroll county was Ellas 
Livingood residing near Lanark. In 1883 he 
entered into a contract with Mr. Livingood for 
$200 for the year's work. From 1884 until 1885 
he was in the employ of Willis Miller and Link 
Livingood and in 1886 he began to work for the 
Wysox Horse Company and continued until 1887, 
at $300 a year. In the summer of 1888 he 
worked for James Coleman and after his mar- 
riage, in December of that year worked for bis 
father-in-law until 1889, when he rented 16$) acres 
of land from George Dimmond, in Rock Creek 
township and operated this until 1895, when lie 
rented 256 acres of Rev. David McMiller, which 
farm he operated until 1897. In that year he 
purchased 120 acres in Wysox township and 
settled on his own farm, having acquired this 
land after so many years of hard work and 
careful saving. In working for others he had 
been very successful in his methods and he con- 
tinued to follow the same when it came to his 
own enterprises and met with the same succe^ 
In 1908 he formed a partnership with Roderick 
Chishom to operate the latter's farm of 760 
acres, 640 lying on the north side of the road and 
120 on the south side, and all of this land is now 
under Mr. Furman's personal supervision. Spe- 
cial attention is given to grain growing and feed- 
ing horses, cattle and hogs, from ten to eighteen 
car loads of hogs being shipped in one year. 

Although Mr. Furman grows so much grain he 
has none to sell, using all of it for feeding pur- 
poses. It requires twenty-two head of horses 
to operate the farm and Mr. Furman has been 
far sighted enough to see that it pays to have 
the best machinery on the market including a 
gasoline engine. He makes a specialty of black 
cattle. Under his management this farm has 
been made the best yielding one in Carroll county. 
He believes in the rotation of crops and works 
on the principle that nothing should be taken 
out of the land without returning the same ele- 
ments to the soil. 

On December 5, 1888, Mr. Furman was mar- 
ried to Miss Annie Fike, a daughter of J. J. 



Digitized by 



Google 




p^t/iy^'f^.^ayj^r^ ^^UJIceAy 



Digiti 



zed by Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



795 



Flke, a well known farmer of Carroll county. 
They have an adopted son, Charles Funnan, who 
was born at Mt. Carroll, December 30, 1900, a 
fine youth who returns the affection that his 
adopted parents lavish on him, and has been 
with Mr. and Mrs. Furman since he was two 
and one-half years old. He is bright at school, 
pos^sses musical talent and can play on the 
piano with considerable skill. Mr. Furman is 
an active member of the German Baptist church. 
He has been a successful man rising through his 
own efforts and deserves much credit. 

GALPIIfy Daniel A., who has been a resident 
of Lanark for nearly thirty years, is a success- 
ful mason and building and bridge contractor. 
He is held in high esteem for his public spirit 
and his support of various measures for the 
beneftt of the community. Mr. Galpin was born 
ill Bradford county. Pa., May 15. ^8.^% and is a 
son of Orin G. and Polly (Vought) Galpin, both 
of whom were descended from old Huguenot 
families, the Galpins and Voughts each contrib- 
uting their share of soldiers to the American 
Revolution. The Galpins were early settlers of 
Connecticut and the Voughts of Pennsylvania. 
During the Revolutionary War seven of the Gal- 
pins were taken prisoners by the British and 
transported to England, two of them dying on 
board ship before reaching their destination, 
and the others, with their companions, return-- 
ing home after their release. Orin G. Galpin' dis- 
tinguished himself as a soldier in the War of 
1812. 

After completing the course in the public 
schools Daniel A. Galpin learned the mason's 
trade with a Mr. Hollenbeck, of Corning, N. Y., 
remaining there two years, when he returned 
to Bradford, Pa., where he lived until 1855. At 
that time he came to Silver Creek township, 
Stephenson county. 111., and followed his trade 
there four years. Removing to Ogle county he 
lived there until 1883, since which time he has 
lived In Lanark. 

On April 19, 1861, Mr. Galpin enlisted as a 
ninety-day man at Freeport, in Captain (Dr.) 
HcKim*8 Company, but they were never sent 
to the front, and he re-enlisted September 10, 
1861, in Company A, Forty-sixth Illinois Volun- 
teer Infantry, remaining at Camp Butler, near 
Springfield, until December of that year, when 
the regiment was stationed at Lincoln Barracks, 
Springfield, until February of the fdllowlng year. 



when they went to Fort Donelson and took part 
in the three-day engagement. Mr. Galpin's sub- 
sequent record may be briefly stated as follows : 
Participation in engagements at Fort Henry and 
Shiloh, Siege of Corinth (on the right), Mem- 
phis, Bolivar (Tenn.), and Natchez. The regi- 
ment then proceeded to Memphis to take imrt 
in the Siege of Vicksburg, when Mr. Galpin 
was detailed on detached service, Including 
the battles at Grand Gulf, Bayou Serra, Ray- 
mond (Miss.), Champion's Hill, Black River, 
Vicksburg, Jackson, and Natchez. He was then 
sent to Captain Haines of the regular army for 
service in the mechanical division, and was set 
to work mounting cannon, for which service he 
was well prepared on account of his previous ex- 
perience. He spent some time at Fort McPher- 
son, returned to Vicksburg and took part In the 
raid at Meridian, Miss., tv^hen he embarke<l for 
service on the Mississippi and Tennessee rivers, 
which ended In the battle at Clifton, Tenn. 
The regiment marched then through to Alabama 
and joined General Sherman at Ackworth, Ga., 
after which they were in the battles at Kenesaw 
Mountain, Rossville and Atlanta, where General 
McPherson, who was in the famous "left'* was 
killed on July 22, 1864. Mr. Galpin took part 
in the battles of Izra <^hurch, near Atlanta, and 
Jonesboro, and at the latter says he witnessed 
one of the grandest and most imposing spectacles 
of conflict ever recorded in -history. After tak- 
ing part in a battle at Lovejoy, Ga., he retunied 
again to Atlanta, where he was mustered out. 
During his long and adventurous service he was 
never eick or wounded, although a bullet pierced 
his trouser leg at one time and twice he narrowly 
escaped capture by the Confederates. 

After the war Mr. Galpin returned to Ogle 
county, making the trip via the Chattanooga & 
Louisville Railroad. He had been promoted to 
rank of sergeant after the battle of Fort Donel- 
son, and after Shiloh was again promoted, and 
also received special mention for his work at 
Fort McPherson, when he served under Captain 
Haines and Lieut. Dennis. He resumed his con- 
tracting •business and erected many public and 
private buildings In the county and this part 
of the state, among them notably the Forreston 
school building and the school building at Lan< 
ark, and has ever since followed this occupa- 
tion with success, with the exception of two 
years when he was interested in mining. 

In 1866 Mr. Galpin Joined Davis Post Q. A. 



Digitized by 



Google 



796 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



R., of Freeport, and served twice as vice com- 
mander before transferring bis membersbip to 
tbe post at Lanark, of which he has been com- 
mander several terms. Previous to the war he 
was a Whig and since has been an ardent Re- 
publican. He served as commissioner of high- 
ways and member of the board of education at 
Forreston; was for four years city marshal of 
Lanark, but has since refused to hold office, be- 
ing absorbed by his business interests. He has 
served as delegate to numerous G. A. R. en- 
campments and x>olitlcal conventions and is a 
man of influence and stability. His principal 
business is building concrete bridges in his part 
of the state and he is constantly executing im- 
portant contracts. 

In 1858 Mr. Galpin married Miss Chole F., 
daughter of Sanford P. Prince of Bradford 
county, Pa. Her father was a soldier in the 
War of .1812. Mr. Galpin and his wife be- 
came parents of children as follows: Orin, 
who is working in a machine shop in Freeport ; 
Irene, who is Mrs. Chase, of Savanna; Arthur, 
who died in infancy; Augusta, who died when 
seven years old ; Clara, who is Mrs. John Blou?h, 
of Mt. Carroll; Nellie, who is Mrs. Harrison, 
of Savanna ; and Lettie, who was graduated from 
Lanark high school died at the age of nineteen 
years. Mr. Galpin is a member of no church 
organization. Fraternally he is a member of the 
I. O. O. F. and follows the high principles of 
conduct inculcated in that order. He resides in 
the northern part of Lanark, where he and his 
wife have a very pleasant home. She is a lady 
of housewifely accomplishments and highly cul- 
tured and is interested In the advancement ol 
public interests as well as her husband. He Is 
progressive and liberal in his views and tolerant 
of the ideas and opinions of others. The pic- 
ture of Mrs. Galpin which appears in this work 
was sent to Mr. Galpin while in the army in 
1863. He lost it at the battle of Atlanta. July 
22, 1864, and It was found by a Thirty-second 
Ohio soldier who brought It to him while he was 
in camp near Atlanta, Ga. 

GETTY, Robert. — Pennsylvania has sent some 
of Its most substantial men to Illinois, with the 
result that the latter state owes a vast debt 
to the former commonwealth, for these sturdy 
men have helped in developing the Prairie state. 
One of the men who has borne his part in the 
growth of Illinois, is Robert Getty, now living 



retired at Savanna, after years of toil as a 
farmer. He was bom in Allegheny county. Pa., 
July 6, 1834, son of Samuel and Lavina (James) 
Getty. The father was born in Ireland, but 
came to America in 1811, at the age of twelve 
years. The naother was born in Ohio. In 1852, 
the family came west, locating in Iowa, north 
of Lyons, where the father died in 1884, and the 
mother in 1850 or 1851, prior to the family mi- 
gration. Their children were: Robert; John, 
of Long Beech, Cal. ; Jesse H., of Kansas, who 
served in the Civil war, being taken prisoner 
and confined in Andersonville for five months, 
dying from the eflfects of wounds received; 
Thomas B., who lives at Chicago; and James 
and Samuel, who were both In the Civil War. 

On August 6, 1862, Mr. Getty enlisted in Com- 
pany C, Ninety-second Illinois Volunteer In- 
fantry, under Captain Stoflfer, and later under 
Captain Hawk. He was at Chattanooga, and In 
many skirmishes, serving until June 21, 1865, 
when he was mustered out at Concord, N. C. 
Coming west to Chicago, he was paid off, and 
then located at Savanna, where for a year he 
worked at firing on steamboats. Following that, 
he engaged in farming, with profitable results on 
a 160 acre farm he had bought In Crawford 
county, la., which he later sold. In 1902, he 
bought a half section of land in Dakota, selling 
it at a profit in 1909, when he bought his present 
comfortable home in Savanna, where he is now- 
living retired. 

The first marriage of Mr. Getty occurred in 
1854, when he was united to Louisa Walters who 
died September 29, 1867. By his first marriage, 
Mr. Getty had the following children : Ida, wlio 
is the wife of William Schwltzer, and four who 
are dead. 

On March 15, 1869, Mr. Getty was married 
(second) to Mrs. Jane Burger, daughter of 
John C. and Katherlne Fuller, natives of 
New York and Pennsylvania, respectively. Ther 
came west in 1846, locating on a farm In Iowa, 
where the father died in 1862. his widow sur- 
viving him until 1876. They had other children, 
namely: Mrs. Emeline Cummings, who is of 
Kimball, S. D. ; Helen, who is the widow of 
William Ashfield, lives in Missouri; George 
Washington Fuller, who is a farmer of Iowa. 
Mr. and Mrs. Getty became the parents of three 
children: Frank C, of Michell, S. Dak., wbo 
married Myrtle La Fortun, issue — Vincent S. and 
Vernon ; James H., of Sioux City, Iowa, who mar- 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



797 



Tied Viola Cummings, Issue — ^Margarie P. ; Ethel, 
who was bom September 19, 1882; and Armlna 
!• and Orville T., who are deceased. Mr. Getty 
Is a Republican, and served as school director 
for several terms, while living in Iowa. He 
belongs to the local Post, No. 476, G. A. R. The 
United Brethren church holds the membership 
of his family, and he is respected in it, as he is 
elsewhere, for he is worthy of all <ynfidence. 

GILLESPIE, Isaac— One of the important old 
families of Oarroll county, is that of Gillespie 
and it has a history replete with much interest. 
Originating in the Highlands of Scotland, the 
early Gillespies were identified with the Camp- 
bell Clan and they participated in movements 
both ecclesiastical and civil that made Scot- 
land what it is today. Strong adherents of the 
Calvinistic doctrine, one of the Gillespies helped 
to frame the Constitution of Faith. About the 
close of the seventeenth century, three brothers, 
David, James and John, crossed to Ireland 
and settled in County Antrim. During the 
Revolution of 1690, James enlisted and fought 
as a soldier under William, Prince of Orange, 
and the sword he carried still is preserved by 
his descendants. From County Antrim the Gil- 
lespies moved to County Monaghan, where they 
acquired large tracts of land and grew flax 
and became linen manufacturers and drapers, 
the fine Irish linen wliich was made on hand 
looms supplying the market at Belfast, and Its 
beauty and finish has never been excelled by 
modem machinery. 

In 1700, James Gillespie married Elizabeth 
Riddle and they had six children. Their sec- 
ond son, John Gillespie, married Jane Stuart 
and six children were bom to them. Isaac 
Gillespie, second son of John, married Jane 
Boyd, and they had ten children, seven of 
these being sons, and it was this generation that 
founded the family in America. Isaac Gil- 
lespie, with wife and children, reached the 
shores of the United States in 1849, and came 
to Illinois, residing at first near Hanover, in 
Jo Daviess county, and later in Carroll county, 
but the first son of the family had preceded the 
others and was working as a farmer near 
Hanover, when the rest of the family joined 
him. This was James Gillespie, who was bom 
in 1820, and crossed the Atlantic in 1847, spend- 
ing his first winter at St Louis, Mo., and In 
the spring of 1848 making his way to Jo Daviess 



county, 111. He found farm work, and in the 
following year bought 320 acres on sections 1 
and 2, Washington township, Carroll county, 
of which he took possession In 1851. Here he 
built a primitive log cabin which sufficed for 
several years, when he erected a more sub- 
stantial one. About 1851 he was married to 
Margaret McKeague, born in County Monaghan, 
Ireland, in 1818. They settled on this land 
with intention of making it their permanent 
home and worked together with this end in 
view. They were typical people of their day, 
industrious, frugal and hospitable, and were 
widely known. They were members of the 
United Presbyterian Church. Three childrwi 
were bom to them, namely: Isaac; Margaret, 
who died at the age of fourteen years; and 
Jane, who Is Mrs. William Elliott, residing In 
Washington township. The father of the above 
family died in August, 1875, and the mother in 
Febmary, 1877. 

Isaac Gillespie was bom on the above men- 
tioned farm, which is his property at the 
present time, August 29, 1852. He attended 
the district schools as importunity offered, but 
his advantages were somewhat limited because 
Ids father needed his help on the farm. This 
assistance was cheerfully given and in the im- 
provements which has made this a very de- 
sirable property, he took a leading part Being 
the only son he remained at home, and when 
his father died he assumed all responsibilities. 
At that time the farm contained 300 acres and 
to this Mr. Gillespie has added until he now 
owns 537 acres. General farming Is carried on ' 
and fine stock Is raised, Mr. Gillespie special- 
izing on Shorthorn cattle and Norman horse& 
He has found sheep raising profitable and at 
present has about 400 head. He has other in- 
terests and Is vice president of the Commercial 
Bank at Savanna, which he assisted in organ- 
izing in the summer of 1902. The original cap- 
ital was $25,000, which in 1911 was increased 
to $50,000, a proof of the prosperity of the in- 
stitution. 

On November 7, 1883, Mr. Gillespie was mar- 
ried by Rev. C. H. Mitchell of Zion, to Miss 
Matilda White, bom in Pleasant Valley, Jo 
Daviess county. 111., in 1859. She died January 
18, 1903, leaving five children, the eldest bom 
dying in Infancy. EJdwin James, born November 
29, 1886, resides on a farm in Woodland town- 
ship. Howard H., bom in June, 1889, Is mar- 



Digitized by 



Google 



798 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



ried and liyes on the home farm. Sherman 
Lee, bom September 10, 1891, Florence May, 
bom October 3, 1893, and C. Ward, bora July 
10, 1898, all Uve at home. On March 26, 1908, 
Mr. Gillespie was married (second) to Miss 
Emma Motschman by her brother, Lewis J., of 
the Lutheran Church. She was bom in Wash- 
ington township, Carroll county, 111., April 12, 
1866, a daughter of John and Fredricka Motch- 
man, natives of Germany. In politics, Mr. Gil- 
lespie is a Republican and in 1884 he was elect- 
ed supervisor of Washington township and served 
out his term with efficiency. Since 1883 he has 
been a school director and has held other local 
offices, but has never been a seeker for the 
same, his good citizenship not depending on 
office holding. He is one of the township's 
most respected and representative men. For 
thirty years he has been an elder in the United 
Presbyterian Church and for more than that 
period has been a teacher In the Sunday school. 

GREELEY, Dnstan M., M. D. — Few men are 

better or more favorably known in Carroll 
county, than Dr. Dustan M. Greeley, now living 
retired at Mt Carroll. Dr. Greeley was born 
at Yates, Orleans county, N. Y., March 22, 1834, 
a son of Dustan and Julia A. (Herrington) 
Greeley, the former of whom was a large land 
owner and agriculturist. The son was educated 
at Lima and Yates academies and Geneseo Col- 
lege, and studied medicine with Dr. C. H. Cleve- 
land, of Cincinnati, O., after which he attended 
the Eclectic Medical Institute in the latter city, 
from which he was graduated in 1859. After 
his graduation Dr. Greeley returned home, and 
in 1865 removed to Mt. Carroll, where he formed 
a partnership with Dr. David Crouse, who had 
been a fellow-student in Cincinnati. 

Upon locating at Mt. Carroll Dr. Greeley met 
with Immediate success and was recognized as 
an able and skilful physician. About a year 
after coming to the city Dr. Greeley lost his 
partner, who moved to Waterloo, la., to join a 
brother who had located there and Dr. Greeley 
then formed a partnership with Dr. D. Frank 
Etter, which arrangement continued about two 
and one-half years, then the partnership was 
dissolved, and Dr. Etter soon afterward re- 
moved to Yankton, So. Dak. From his estab- 
lishment In Mt. Carroll, until 1905, Dr. Greeley 
was the leading physician In Carroll county, 
and In that year retired from active life. He 



is a member of the Carroll County Medical 
Society and stands high in his precession, hav- 
ing .b^cQme one of the county's most prominent 
older citizens. He takes moderate enjoyment 
in life, after having spent nearly half a century 
in arduous professional toll, is active and strong 
with a fine physique, which has stood him in 
good stead In his life work. 

Dr. Greel^ was married in Mt Carroll, May 
12, 1858, to Miss A. Jos^hlne Harvey, by the 
Reverend Cobuer, of the Baptist Church, and 
to this union one son was born, D. Ward, who 
died of angina pectoris in his seventeenth year, 
and Is buried In Mt Carroll cemetery. Mrs. 
Greeley has always taken great interest In the 
affairs of the woman's home mission and other 
women's benevolent societies, and so far as her 
health has permitted has given to such causes 
as much help as possible. In iwlltics Dr. 
Greeley Is a stanch Republican. He is a mem- 
ber of no secret societies, but both he and his 
wife are well known In social circles, Is fond 
of his home and possesses quiet tastes. Mrs. 
Greeley Is a native of Wheeling, W. Va.. 
and was bom on May, 8, 1851, daughter of 
John and Nancy (Nelson) Harvey, natives of 
Maryland and Virginia, respectively. Both died 
in Wheeling, W. Va., where they are buried. 

GREEN AWALTy Frank A., who is one of the 
highly respected retired farmers now making 
Lanark their home, occupies his beautiful resi- 
dence on East Pearl street, where his surroand- 
Ings are all that good taste and moderate de- 
sires for sociability can expect He was born, 
reared and passed many years of his life on a 
farm, having been bom in Franklin county, Pa., 
December 8, 1854, and Is a son of Jacob and 
Henrietta (Swlgert) GreenawaU. 

The parents of Mr. Greenawalt were both 
born in Franklin county but the grandparents 
came from Germany. Grandfather Greenawalt 
settled on a farm near Fayettevllle, Pa., prior 
to 1820, and spent the rest of his life there. 
One of his sons, Jacob Greenawalt, was born in 
Franklin county. Pa., in 1834, and died in 1881, 
survived by his widow, who still lives in Franlc- 
lin county, where she was bom Febmary 13, 
1833. Both were reared in the Lutheran faith. 
For many years he was active In providing, as 
far as possible, for the spread of education in 
his section, serving on the school board and 
paying cheerfully the taxes Imposed. In poli- 



Digitized by 



Google 




GEORGE MYERS 



Digiti 



zed by Google 












Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



799 



tics he was a Republican. To Jacob and Hen- 
rietta Greenawalt a family of twelve children 
was bom and of these there are nine yet living, 
Kate, bom October 11, 1852, is the wife of 
George H. Bricker, a farmer in Franklin 
county; Frank A.; Emma, born' January 1, 
1857, is the wife of Daniel Glaser, a farmer in 
Franklin county; Susan, bom March 7, 1859, 
died In 1865 : Sarah, born in 1860, died In early 
womanhood ; Jacob, born February 2, 1862, died 
when aged twenty years ; George, bom November 
3, 1864, is a merchant in Franklin county; 
Laura, bom in 1868, is the wife of Harry Kreps, 
of Mercersburg, Pa. ; John Calvin, born in 1869, 
is a farmer in Carroll county. 111.; Otho, bom 
in 1871, is a painter and decorator, in business 
at Shermantown, Pa.; Robert, born in 1874, 
is a farmer in Carroll county. 111. ; and William, 
bora July 28, 1877, is a painter of Franklin 
county. Pa. 

Frank A. Greenawalt attended the district 
schools in boyhood, but as he was the eldest 
son he soon had to give assistance to his father, 
with whom he had a very practical sort of train- 
ing and remained at home until in March, 
1876. At that time he concluded to start out 
on his own account and as wages for farm hands 
in Pennsylvania did not exceed eight or ten 
dollars a month, he decided to push on into 
Illinois, having learned that the western farmers 
were willing to pay higher for their helpers. 
After reaching Douglas county, 111., he went to 
work for Thomas Bundy for twenty dollars a 
month, which at that time seemed wealth to 
him, and he remained with Mr. Bundy three 
years. In 1879 his father fell ill of a mortal 
sickness and he returned to the homestead, but 
after the death of his father, in the following 
qpring, he returned to Illinois and engaged with 
Jason Paul, in Carroll county, and worked one 
year for him for twenty dollars a month. In 
November of 1880 he was married and then 
rented a farm in Salem township, west of 
Lanark, containing 320 acres. He stocked this 
farm and Immediately started large operations, 
in a short time giving attention to the buying 
and feeding of cattle. Not every one who 
enj^agea in the stock and cattle business suc- 
ceeds, but Mr. Greenawalt met with success 
from the first, and soon was sending out two 
car loads of cattle a year and from 100 to 150 
head of hogs. Finding it profitable to raise 
his own feed and thereby keep from exhausting 



his land, he followed that method of farming 
and raised heavy yields of com and oats. He 
continued his farm and stock industries in 
Salem township until 1901, when he rented 500 
acres in Rock Creek township, which was known 
as the Amos Wolf farm. This large body of 
land gave him an opportimity to go still more 
extensively into the business and by feeding all 
the grain he raised he was enabled to turn off 
five car loads of cattle and the same of hogs 
annually, and continued actively engaged until 
he decided to retire, in 1911, when he came to 
I^nark. He more readily did so because he 
could safely leave his former interests in the 
hands of his two eldest sons, both of whom 
are practical farmers and stock men. The 
breeding of fine horses has also been one of the 
successful activities of this farm. He has a 
wheat farm of 240 acres in North Dakota. 

On November 25, 1880, Mr. Greenawalt was 
married to Miss Anna M. Teeter, who was born 
in Franklin county, Pa., April 1, 1853, and came 
to Carroll county with her parents in 1876, buy- 
ing a farm in Salem township. They were David 
and Catherine (BarracA) Teeter, the former of 
whom died in 1881, and the latter in 1883. Mr. 
Teeter was one of the successful farmers of 
Carroll county and owned 200 acres of finely 
cultivated land. Mrs. Greenawalt has three 
sisters and two brothers : John Teeter, who is a 
farmer near Bolivar, Mo. ; Ella, who is the wife 
of William J. Hower, a farmer in Rock Creek 
township; Maggie, who is the wife of David 
Gordon, a hotelkeeper in Iowa; George, who is 
superintendent of the Mutual Telephone Com- 
pany of Lanark; and Laura. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Greenawalt the following 
children have been bom: Georgie Porter, who 
died in infancy; Roy, who was born in Salem 
township, September 11, 1883, married Irma 
Lambert in October, 1911, and is now farming 
for himself; Otho Floyd, who was born October 
4, 1885, was married in November, 1911, to Grace 
Deets, and he also is a farmer on the Amos Wolf 
estate; Harry Ward, who was born June 8, 
1888, lives at home; Percy F., who was bora 
June 28, 1894, is a druggist at Lanark. In 
politics Mr. Greenawalt is a Republican, but has 
refused every tender of public ofllce, except that 
of school director. Upon the organization of the 
State Exchange Bank in 1910, he took stock and 
was elected one of the directors of that Insti- 
tution, his name being one of its valuable assets. 



Digitized by 



Google 



800 



HISTORY OF CAHROLL COUNTY 



Mr. and Mrs. Greenawalt are members of the 
Progressive Brethren Church. 

GREENLEAF, Frank S.— It is strong proof 
of the character and business ability of Frank 
S. Greenleaf, of Savanna, that he has been able 
to build up the leading paper having democratic 
principles in Carroll county, 111., in a community 
so overwhelmingly Republican in sentiment Mr. 
Greenleaf is of French Huguenot descent and 
was born at Shakopee, Minn., August 16, 1859, 
son of Simon and Frances J. (Foss) Greenleaf, 
the father's family being from Maine and the 
mother's from Massachusetts. The parents came 
west a short time before the Civil War and 
located at Minneapolis, later removing to 
Shakopee. The father had been a farmer, but 
soon after coming to Minnesota was employed 
In the quartermaster department of the United 
States government, being located at Davenport, 
la., and Racine, Wis. He afterwards became 
connected with the fuel department of the Chi- 
cago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad Company, 
and removed to Savanna in 1867, during his 
later life becoming engaged in an insurance busi- 
ness, as adjuster and conveyancer. He estab- 
lished the Savanna Times in 1875, as a weekly, 
which he conducted ten years. The career of 
Simon Greenleaf shows him to have been a man 
of superior intelligence and ability. His uncle, 
also named Simon Greenleaf, was a celebrated 
jurist and the author of that well-known work, 
"Greenleaf on Evidence." 

As a boy, Frank S. Greenleaf attended the 
public schools of Savanna, and then worked 
for a time *in a drug store, after which he 
entered his father's office as an apprentice in 
newspaper work. Later he worked four years 
in the general store of L. S. Bowen, serving as 
clerk, bookkeeper and general salesman at dif- 
ferent periods. In 1885, in company with his 
father, Mr. Greenleaf established the Savanna 
Journal, which he still owns and edits. He 
became sole owner about one year after it was 
established and he has made a marked success 
of the enterprise, having what is probably the 
most valuable plant in the county. He has 
meanwhile held many offices of public trust and 
honor. He was city clerk two terms, city treas- 
urer one term, president of the district board of 
education two terms ; a member of the township 
board of education since its organization and 
its secretary ten years, supervisor of Savanna 



township two terms and three years a member 
of the board of review. He is a Democrat in 
politics and active in the interests of his party. 

In 1886, with a number of othAr citizens, Mr. 
Greenleaf organized the Savanna Building 
Association, which has been a splendid success 
and for a period of twenty-five years (from its 
organization to the present time) he sen-ed as 
its secretary. It is a great source of gratifica- 
tion and pride to Mr. Greenleaf and the other 
organizers that the association has been the 
means of enabling many of their fellow-towns- 
men to save and invest their earnings to such 
good advantage that many of them have become 
owners of comfortable homes, who otherwise 
could not have been so fortunate. The scheme 
has been a success from the start and the 
concern now has assets of more than $100,000. 

Since his father's death Mr. Greenleaf has 
been engaged rather extensively in insurance 
and real estate business. He is now vice presi- 
dent of the First National Bank of Savanna, 
with which he has been connected many years. 
In 1890 he helped organize the first electric 
company in Savanna and is now serving as sec- 
retary of the gas and electric company that was 
organized in 1907. 

Mr. Greenleaf was married February 4, 1885, 
to Miss Margaret T. Kenney, of Oxford Junc- 
tion, la., and four children have been bom of 
this union : Kenneth, Harold, Dorothy and John 
S. Kenneth and Harold are graduates of the 
high school at Savanna and are students of the 
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where 
they are pursuing an engineering course. Mrs. 
Greenleaf is a woman of culture and refinement, 
and a splendid wife and mother. She has con- 
tributed her full share towards the advance- 
ment of women's clubs in Carroll county, was 
the prime mover in the organization of the 
Women's Literary Club, of Savanna, and has 
always been one of its leading members. At 
present she is serving as district vice president 
of the State Federation of Women's Clubs. 

HACKER, William Pugh, senior member of the 
mercantile firm of Hacker & Fike of Milledge- 
ville, was bom on a farm in Whiteside county, 
111., March 31, 1876, a son of John and Susanna 
(Johnston) Hacker. John Hacker was a son of 
William Hacker, and the latter was a son of 
Thomas Hacker and a captain in the British 
army, serving with distinction. He was a man 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



801 



of fkie education and good family, who served 
his country ably for twelve years. His sword 
and epaulets are kept by his grandson as cher- 
ished relics. His birth occurred in the parish of 
Comwell, England, where Thomas was also bom, 
and he developed into a farmer. William Hacker 
was married (first) to Jane Habes by whom he 
had a daughter, Mary Jane who married Fisher 
Coon of Shannon, 111. She died leaving two 
sons : Ralph of Shannon, and Robert of Freeport, 
both farmers. Thomas Hacker married (second) 
Elizabeth Jasper by whom he had nine children, 
three of whom survive: Elizabeth who is the 
widow of James Taylor, resides in Prince EJdward 
Island, aged ninety-two years, having been the 
mother of five children, four of whom are living ; 
Mary who married William Reed, one of the 
prominent settlers and large landowners of 
Whiteside county, 111., now deceased, survives 
her husband, living now at Emerson, 111., having 
been the mother of six children ; and Mrs. Jennie 
Judd, widow of Charles Judd, who is a resident 
of Leadville, Ck>lo. She had six children by Mr. 
Judd. When she married him, she was the 
widow of William France, one of the pioneers of 
Whiteside county, 111., a millwright by trade, who 
operated the old Como mill in Whiteside county. 
William Hacker went with his family from 
England to Prince Edward Island in 1830, and 
in that same year came to the United States, 
first settling in Wayne county. Pa., where he 
lived until 1836. He then went to Willow, Ul- 
ster county, N. Y., and remained until 1844. 
While they were living there, John Hacker was 
bom on September 22, 1842. In 1844, the family 
migrated to Whiteside county. 111., settling on 
the county line between the latter and Carroll 
counties. The father died in the new home Sep- 
tember 2, 1846, leaving nine children fatherless. 
These children were : Richard who was bom in 
England, Febraary 26, 1823, toiled on a cannl in 
tK>yhood and worked his way up to t>elng cap- 
tain, but later settled in Whiteside county, own- 
ing in time a good farm and becoming a prom- 
inent man and a member of the Methodist church 
and superintendent of the Sunday school, but 
later moved to Wakeeney, Trego county, Kas., 
where he died in 1885, his family returning to 
Whiteside county in 1890, they being Edward 
and James B., owners of 240 acres in Whiteside 
county, and 640 acres in Kansas ; Nathaniel who 
was bora in England, June 10, 1825, died in 
Whiteside county, where he had been a success- 



ful farmer, leaving three children, — Wilbur, 
Stella and Minnie Belle, the latter marrying 
and dying, and the other daughter being the 
wife of William Woodring of Rock Falls, 111., 
while Wilbur is living at Sac City, la.; Betsy 
Ann, who is deceased; Elisha and Anna Belle 
(twins) who were l)om February 2, 1830, the 
former dying when eighteen years old, but the 
latter living to marry Ellas Lefevere, a prom- 
inent resident of Sterling, 111. ; James who was 
bom March 10, 1832 ; Mary who was bom Janu- 
ary 19, 1834, married Wilfiam Reed; Edward 
who was born Octol)er 1, 1839, enlisted in Com- 
pany H, Thirty-fourth Illinois Volunteer In- 
fantry, serving Avith his regiment until he was 
killed in the trenches at Kenesaw Mountain, dur- 
ing the fourth day of the siege; and John. 

John Hacker was the youngest member of the 
family and lived at home until his marriage 
which occurred in 1875, when he settled on a 
farm he had purchased from the Illinois Cen- 
tral Railroad, adding forty acres to the original 
eighty acres. The prairie was broken with eight 
yoke of oxen, Edward Hacker assisting his 
brother in the work. John Hacker prospered 
and became one of the prominent and successful 
agriculturists of his section. Charitable, he 
never sent anyone away from his door without 
assistance. While a staunch Republican, he was 
never willing to hold ofllce, preferring to exert 
his influence as a private citizen. Although not 
a member of any religious organization, he helped 
to suw)ort the South Elkhorn church. A fine 
citizen, honorable and trustworthy, when he died 
March 4, 1907, his locality lost a good man. His 
remains were interred in the South Elkhom 
cemetery. His widow resides on the home farm 
to which she was taken as a bride when eighteen 
years old. Two children were bom to her and 
husband: William P. and Sarah A., the latter 
born March 7, 1878, married Albert Weast, a 
farmer of Ogle county. They have a daughter, 
Dorothy and a son, John S. 

William Pugh Hacker was born on the home- 
stead where he grew up, attending the district 
schools. In 1899, he entered Mt. Morris college, 
from which he was graduated June 4, 1901. He 
earned the money to take him through college 
and is proud of this fact. Returning home in 
September, 1901, he bought a grocery and stock 
of goods valued at $800 in Milledgeville, and was 
engaged in conducting the business until the fall 
of 1903, during which time he put things on a 



Digitized by 



Google 



802 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



good paying basis and so sold half his interest, 
forming a partnership with Wallace W. Flke, 
under the name of Hacker & Flke.' The firm 
rented a doable store, adding gents' furnishings, 
boots and shoes to the lines carried, and later 
took up the handling of queensware and became 
agents for the Ford automobiles. Four clerks 
are employed, and the partners also wait upon 
their customers. From the beginning, this busi- 
ness has paid good profits, and the stock has been 
increased until it /ar exceeds the original 
amount. Owing to their connections, the fi^rm 
are able to carry an excellent line of goods and 
offer prices that are as low as is consistent with 
the quality of the goods. Their motto Is "Honest 
weight and a square deal." 

On December 4, 1901, Mr. Hacker was married 
to Frances Edith Dunmore by the Rev. C. A. 
Gage of the Methodist Church of Milledgeville. 
Mrs. Hacker is a daughter of Thomas and Mar- 
riette (Smith) Dunmore of England. Mrs. Dun- 
more died when Mrs. Hacker was seven years 
old. Mr. Dunmore survives and makes his home 
in Milledgeville. Mr. and Mrs. Hacker became 
the parents of four children : Beulah Pruella who 
was born October 30, 1902; Richard John who 
was born March 15, 1905 ; William Wayne who 
was bom February 2, 1908 ; and Daniel Paul who 
was bom December 22, 1911. 

While actively engaged in building up his 
flourishing business, Mr. Hacker has found time 
to discharge his duties as a citizen, and for four 
years served as a member of the village board, 
giving it an honest service. He belongs to the 
Masonic Lodge No. 345 of Milledgeville, and 
is now serving the third time as worshipful 
master, having held nearly all of the other of- 
fices. He also belongs to the Modem Woodmen 
of America. Both he and his wife are members 
of the Eastern Star. They are Methodists, Mr. 
Hacker is liberal in his support of the church, 
and is serving his third year as president of the 
Milledgeville men's Sunday-school class, which 
has nearly one hundred members. Politically he 
Is a republican. The Hacker home is a pleasant 
one, and Mr. Hacker is interested in raising 
fancy chickens, having one of the most valuable 
flocks of White Wyandottes in this part of the 
State. His product has carried off more ribbons 
than any other flock in this section. These 
awards have been as follows for the winter of 
1911 and 1912-1913. His winnings at Milledge- 



ville Poultry Show December 30, 1912 to Janu- 
ary 4, 1913— F. H. Shallaberger, Judge. 

1st pen, score 188.13; 1st cockerel, 94%; 2d 
cockerel, 93% ; 3d cockerel, 93% ; 4th cockerel, 
93; Ist pullet, 94% ; 2d pullet, 94% ; 3d and 4th 
pullets, 94 ; 1st hen, 94% ; 2d hen, 94% ; 3d and 
4th hens, 94. 

1st, 2d, 3d, and 4th cocks. 

Special premium for highest scoring bird in 
show. His strongest competitor was a breeder 
of a well known strain who won 2d pen only. 

At Dubuque, Iowa, December 10 to 15, 1912 — 
Russell, Judge. 

2d pen, score 187.375 ; 1st cockerel, 95% ; Ist 
pullet, 94%— was cut 1-2 point on weight, being 
very young; 4th pullet, 94%, tying two others 
for 2d. He entered only one cockerel and four 
pullets, having very strong competition, there 
being nine pen entries in his class of the best 
White Wyandottes in eastern Iowa and north- 
western Illinois, 13 cockerels and 23 pullets. 

At DeKalb, 111., Jan. 6 to 11, 1913, Waraodt, 
Judge. — ^2d cockerel, score 95 ; 3d cockerel, 94% ; 
3d cock, 93%. 

At Sterling, 111., Nov. 25 to 30, 1912, McCk)rd, 
Judge. — 1st cockerel, score 95%. 

At State Show, Springfield, 111., Jan. 6 to 11, 
1913, Russell, Judge. — 5th cockerel in a class of 
34. 

At Polo, 111., Dec. 18 to 23, 1911, D. E. Hale, 
Judge. — 1st pen, score 189.87 ; Ist cockerel, 94% ; 
3d, 93% ; 2d hen, 95% ; 2d puUet, 96% ; 5th, 94%. 

At MilleOgeville, 111., Dec. 11 to 16, 1911, Calvin 
Ott, Judge. 

Prize for highest scoring pen in show. 

Prize for highest scoring cockerel in show. 

Prize for highest scoring pullet in show. 

1st pen, 191.62 ; 1st cockerel, 96 ; 2d, 95% ; 3d. 
95%; 1st pullet, 96; 2d, 95%; 3d, 95%; 4th, 
94% ; 5th, 94 ; 1st hen, 95% ; 3d, 94% ; 2d cock, 
94. 

Hacker's White Wyandottes are white and 
bred to lay. Mr. Hacker is a member of the 
National White Wyandotte Club ; also president 
of the Milledgeville Poultry Association, having 
served as one of the directors of^ the association 
ever since its organization. 

In addition to other calls made upon him, Mr. 
Hacker has been the manager of the family 
estate, and owns some property in Oakley, Kas., 
eighty acres in Roswell, N. M. and property in 
Gary, Ind. A splendid business man, upright 
in his dealings, he has forged to the front, and 



Digitized by 



Google 




WILLIAM E. NIPE 



Digiti 



zed by Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



803 



) 



has made a success of whatever he has at- 
tempted. In his home town, he is held in the 
highest esteem as a good business man and a 
public-spirited, loyal citizen. 

HALDERMAN, Nathaniel H.— The Halderman 
family have been associated with the progress 
and growth of Mt. Carroll, 111., from the estab- 
lishment of the town, and hSL\» always rep- 
resented the best interests of the community. 
The family was founded in America by five 
brothers, who emigrated from Germany to the 
United States, two of them locating in the South 
and the others in the North, and the father of 
Nathaniel H. Halderman was a native of Penn- 
sylvania, bom May 1, 1811. The subject of this 
sketch was bom in Mt. Carroll, February 21, 
1853, son of Nathaniel and Elizabeth (McCoy) 
Halderman. The father died June 27, 1880. He 
lived near Norrlstown, Montgomery, Pa., until 
he reached manhood, and in 1840 came to what is 
now the site of Mt. Carroll, where he became 
associated with John Rinewalt and David Em- 
mert, in laying out the town site. Mr. Halder- 
man donated land and erected, free of charge, 
the first court house erected there, and was thus 
largely Instrumental in securing the removal of 
the county-seat from Savanna to that location. 
His marriage occurred in Illinois but his wife 
was originally from Norrlstown, Pa. They were 
parents of five children, three daughters and two 
sons, of whom Nathaniel H. was the third in 
order of birth. They were: William (now de- 
ceased) ; Rebecca T., Mrs. Capt J. M. Adair, of 
Springfield; Nathaniel H. ; E^nkie, deceased; 
Hattie E., Mrs. Robert E. Webb, of Chicago. 
After the death of his wife Mr. Halderman mar- 
ried (second) her sister, Mary T. McCoy, and 
they were parents of two children, Edward M., 
of Des Moines, and Mary Dell Halderman. Be- 
fore leaving his native state Mr. Halderman had 
learned the trade of miller, and after locating 
in Mt. Carroll he organized a company and built 
the first ^ist mill in that part of the state. This 
was a substantial stone structure and is still 
standing, and looks much as a modem building 
would. The interior has been changed to meet 
modem conditions and demands, but the outside 
of the building is just as it was put up, in 1841. 

The early education of Nathaniel H. Halder- 
man was acquired in his native city and later 
he entered Chicago (then Douglas) University, 
and afterwards attended a Chicago business col- 



lege. This was about the time of the C^cago 
fire, and Mr. Halderman removed to Milwaukee, 
where he subsequently engaged in a produce and 
commission business and became a member of 
the board of trade of that city, where he re- 
mained until his father's death, in 1880, when 
he returned to Mt. Carroll and took charge of 
the affairs and estate of his father, which he has 
since continued. He has become prominent in 
public aflPairs In the city and has served as alder- 
man several terms. He has also been a member 
of the school board. In politics he is a repub- 
lican. He is an enterprising and progressive citi- 
zen and is interested In various financial en- 
terprises in the community, in which he has been 
fairly successful. He is well regarded and has 
a good standing in the community, not only for 
the part he has played in affairs, but for the 
reputation and high esteem his father had won 
before him. 

Mr. Halderman was married December 27, 
1875, to Mary Eliza Crummer, of Mt. Carroll, 
and two sons have been bom of the union : Her- 
bert Frank, ^associated in business with his 
father, and Nathaniel, in the milling business in 
Springfield, 111., who married Bessie A. Norton, 
of Marengo, 111., and they have one son, Frank 
Norton. 

HANDEL, John. — The stranger traveling througli 
Carroll county, will be impressed with the great 
number of well cultivated farms, the sleek cattle 
and the evidences of a substantial people who 
live happy and contented. In nine cases out of 
ten he will find that the most desirable proper- 
ties belong to old German- American families 
who, have exercised in their operation and man- 
agement the thrift and good sense which is 
rightly credited to the Germans, which qualities 
are inherited. One of the leading and substan- 
tial agriculturists of Washington township is 
John Handel, whose 240 acres of valuable land 
have largely been developed by himself and en- 
tirely improved through his efforts. He was 
born in Wurtemburg, Germany, October 29, 1843, 
and is a son of Daniel and Rosina (Schoenhar) 
Handel. 

The parents of Mr. Handel were natives of 
Germany and the father was a stone mason by 
trade. In the winter of 1848-9 the family came 
to America, landing at New Orleans, and arrived 
at St Louis, Mo. by way of the Mississippi river, 
on January 1, 1849. They remained in St. Louis 



Digitized by 



Google 



804 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



until navigation opened in the upper part of the 
river, when they took passage on a river boat 
and came to Galena, in Jo Daviess county, 111., 
shortly afterward moving to Hanover, where 
Mr. Handel had an opportunity to work at his 
trade. Work continued for some months and 
then he moved to Darinda and Daniel Handel 
there rented a farm on which he lived about six 
years. In 1857 he moved to Carroll county, 
where he bought 160 acres of land on section 5, 
WhsAiington township but later disposed of it and 
purchased forty acres on section 8, on which 
place he lived until his death. He carried on 
farming and also worked at his trade. Both he 
and his wife were members of the Lutheran 
church and they were good and worthy people. 
They had five children, three of whom are liv- 
ing, namely: John; Lena who is Mrs. John Mc- 
Intyre, resides at Hanover, Jo Daviess county; 
and Mary, Mrs. James E. Dean, who lives on 
the Handel homestead in Washington township. 

John Handel obtained his education in the 
public schools in the neighborhood in which the 
family lived during his boyhood, and he continued 
to work with his father until 1864, in August of 
that year enlisting for service in the Civil war. 
He entered Company E, One Hundred and Forty- 
sixth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and remained a 
soldier until he was honorably discharged in 
the latter part of July, 1865 and was mustered 
out at Camp Butler, near Springfield. After re- 
turning from the army, Mr. Handel continued 
on the home farm with his father for a time. 
About 1868 he bought the farm of 160 acres on 
section 8, which is his homestead and contains 
240 acres. When he came to the place there 
were no improvements except a log house, but 
he built a handsome and substantial two and 
one-half story stone residence and has otherwise 
done a large amount of improving. For a num- 
ber of years Mr. Handel devt)ted a large part of 
his time to bee culture and has a large apiary 
on the farm, which, for s<Mne years has been 
under the management of his son Charles. Mr. 
Handel has always been a very busy man and he 
Is an Intelligent and public spirited one. He has 
frequently been selected by his fellow citizens 
for office holding and has served some four terms 
as highway commissioner, one yea> as assessor, 
and for a number of years as school director. 

On April 13, 1871, Mr. Handle was married 
to Miss Theresa Miller, who was born in Ger- 
many, March 17, 1846, a daughter of Frederick 



and Christina Miller, who came from Germany 
about 1850 and located first at Milwaukee, Wis., 
later moving to Jo. Daviess county, 111. Mrs. 
Handel died April 3, 1906, the mother of five 
children, four of whom are living: Charles D., 
who resides at Savanna; Mamie, Mrs. Otto 
Bertsch, who lives in Jo Daviess county; and 
Homer H. and Ernest R., who reside with their 
father. Mr. Handel Is independent in his poli- 
tical views. 

HARR, John. — Carroll county farm land is 
exceedingly fertile and responds profitably to 
any care expended upon it. The agriculturists 
who understand its requirements are sure of 
reaping large profits from their investment of 
time and money. One of the farmers who ap- 
preciate this is John Harr of Mt Carroll town- 
ship. He was bom in this township, February 
12, 1866, being a son of Jacob and Elizabeth 
(RheilTer) Harr, natives of Rheichelsheim, 
Germany, where he was bom July 25, 1825, and 
she, January 29, 1830. Jacob Harr was edu- 
cated in Germany, and worked with his father, 
who was a carpenter. In 1848, Jacob Harr 
came to the United States, settling first In 
Pennsylvania, where he farmed for several 
years. He then went to Springfield, O., where 
he continued farm work for several years more. 
Before leaving Pennsylvania, he had married, 
and he and his wife came to Carroll county, 
111., in 1858, renting a farm on Preston Prairies, 
Mt. QirroU township. Here they lived for about 
six years, when they bought twenty acres in 
Mt Carroll township, on section 8. To this, 
additions were made until there were 300 acres 
in the home farm. When Mr. Harr died, he 
owned land in Woodland township as well as in 
Mt. Carroll township, and devoted it all to 
general farming and stockraising. Politically, 
he was a Democrat, and in religious faith, 
belonged to the United Brethren Church. Eight 
children were bora to Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Harr, 
three of whom died in infancy, and two later 
in life, three surviving. Those living are: 
Jacob, of Spokane, Wash.; George H., of 
Savanna, 111., and John. Mr. Harr died June 
19, 1893, since which time his widow has made 
her home with her son John. 

John Harr went to the Mt. Carroll township 
district schools, and grew up on the farm with 
his parents. When twenty-one years old, he 
began working by the month, but in 1893, he 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



805 



took charge of the homestead, on sections 17 
and 21, thus continuing until 1905, when he 
sold 120 acres, and bought 191 acres in sections 
17, 18 and 21, where he resides at present. 
Here he carries on general farming, and has 
been remarkably successful. Like his father, 
he is a Democrat, and has been a school director 
since attaining his majority. 

On December 24, 1898, he was married to Cora 
Elsie Holy, bom in Mt. Carroll township, 
December 23, 1875, daughter of Augustus and 
Caroline (Oberheim) Holy, natives of Franklin 
county, Pa. He was born May 6, 1844, in Frank- 
lin county. Pa., where his wife was bom, Novem- 
ber 23, 1851, and both died in Carroll county, 
m. Mr. and Mrs. Harr are the parents of 
four children: Esther M., who was born Sep- 
tember 29, 1899 ; Llla F., who was bom Novem- 
ber 19, 1900, and Lloyd J. and Loyal J., twins, 
who were born February 20, 1904. All are going 
to school. Mrs. Harr is a member of the United 
Brethren Church. 

HARTFIELD, Ernest M., M. D.— On a firm 
foundation of accurate medical knowledge ad- 
ministered with conscientiousness and discern- 
ment. Dr. Ernest M. Hartfleld of Chadwick has 
built a splendid practice in a comparatively few 
short years. He was born in St. Louis, Mo., 
October 20, 1882, being a son of Ernest and 
Rose (Campbell) Hartfleld. The father is a 
native of Germany, who came to America, set- 
tling in St. Louis, where he married and fol- 
lowed his trade of a moulder until 1885, when 
he took his family to Chicago and eventually 
became connected with the Chicago Stove Works. 
There were two children in the family: Dr. 
Hartfleld, and a brother, George, now the dis- 
trict manager of the United States Playing 
Cards Co., of Minneapolis, who rose from the 
position of one of the company's office boys to 
his present responsible situation. The mother 
was l)om in Mary county, Mo., May 27, 1862, a 
daughter of a Federal soldier, who died while 
in service during the Civil War. Mrs. Hartfleld 
baa^ but little recollection of her father, but 
her mother survives, making her home in 
Chicago. 

Dr. Hartfleld was forced to leave school when 
he was in the seventh grade in order to help 
provide for his mother and younger brother. 
While the mother worried, the brave lad con- 
soled her by saying that he promised to flnish 



his education later when opportunity was pre- 
sented, and he never flagged in his effort to keep 
his word. Obtaining a position with Mandel 
Bros., Chicago, he worked his way up through 
sheer ability and determination until he became 
floor-manager. During this time he kept up 
his studies, attending regular night school until 
he was prepared to enter* upon his medical 
studies. It took flve years of hard night work 
to pass the high school examinations. Few 
people realize what this means. All day, from 
eight In the morning to six at night, he was 
giving to his employers the best that was in 
him, and then until ten-thirty he would labor 
over his books at home, frequently going with- 
, out a meal rather than lose time from his 
studies. Dr. Hartfleld then entered the Central 
Institute and later the Reliance Medical Col- 
lege of Chicago. He still retained his position 
with Mandel Brothers, yet he never missed a 
lecture in his college course and he graduated 
as valedictorian of his class, an honor he undis- 
putably had earned. He was graduated in the 
class of 1909 with the highest honors. While 
he did not give up his position. Dr. Hartfleld 
opened an office in the Champlain Building, just 
across the street from Mandel Brothers* store. 
Here he practiced, having office hours from 
6:30 to 8:30 o'clock every evening, and thus 
he secured a considerable patronage. 

These years of double duty impaired his 
strength, and he knew it was necessary for him 
to make a change, so he left Chicago, September 
13, 1910, and located in Chadwick, 111., taking 
over the practice of Dr. C. H. Harrison. In 
1911 he leased the Hotel Chadwick and placed 
it in the hands of his mother. He has a suite 
of rooms in this hostelry, and is fast becoming 
one of the leading physicians of this section 
of the state. His office Is very fully equipi)ed, 
and a flne medical library, including the latest 
treatises on therapeutics, insures his patients of 
the most advanced service. Still intensely am- 
bitious, he keeps abreast of modern research. 

Dr. Hartfleld obtains much relaxation from 
the social life that Is centered in Chadwick. 
At the present writing he is a member of the 
local Lodge No. 867, A. F. & A. M.; of the 
Lanark Chapter No. 139, R. A. M., of Lanark; 
of Ramah Chapter No. 50, O. E. S., of Chad- 
wick; and of Long Commandery No. 60, K. T., 
of Mt. Carroll. In professional circles he is the 
vice-president of Carroll County Medical Society, 



Digitized by 



Google 



806 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



and a member of both the Illinois State Medical 
Society and the American Medical Association. 

On the seventh of July, 1912, Dr. Hartfleld 
was united in marriage with Miss Marie Gab- 
ben, of Chicago. 

During the many years that he was employed 
at Mandel Brothers' he gained the confidence 
and respect of his employers and fellow- workers. 
While attending strictly to the affairs placed 
in his charge, he was so just in his decisions 
that those under him felt that they had in him 
a friend. Customers of the store became in- 
debted to him for his unfailing courtesies in 
adjusting matters for them, and many outside 
his personal circle of friends, which was a large 
one, rejoiced at his successful graduation. Man- 
del Brothers showed their appreciation of his 
faithful service by presenting him with a roll 
of honor, which he will always treasure, for it 
was honorably won. Throughout his busy life, 
Dr. Hartfleld has proven himself worthy of the 
highest consideration. A devoted son and 
brother, a conscientious employee, and a faithful 
student, he gained a training that will prove of 
value to him throughout the years that stretch 
before him in the pursuance of his chosen pro- 
fession. 

HATHAWAY, James, was born February 1, 
1799, at Fall River, Mass., and died at Savanna, 
111., June 23, 1869, a son of William and Mary 
(Valentine) Hathaway. He left his home about 
the year 1813 and settled in Clarion, O., where 
he remained about one year, clearing land, but 
became employed about the Higby Mills. Still 
later he became the owner of a steam mill in 
Hampden, O.. which he ran with his usual 
enterprise and success. Mr. Hathaway to a 
shrewd, strong mind of unusual vigor added 
that cultivation which may be acquired by a 
very busy man, from books and newspapers and 
in a wide intercourse with men and the active 
world. Early he became one of the best in- 
formed men of the country as he was one of 
the foremost men of business in it These qual- 
ities joined with his acknowledged integrity of 
character, early indicated him as one of the 
fittest for the offices of the township, many of 
which he filled. He was for many years a 
justice of the peace, and his admirable judg- 
ment and practical good sense won the gen- 
eral respect of the people and secured confidence 
in his decisions. 



In 1848 he was elected sheriflC of Geauga 
county, and reelected to succeed himself. He 
had already made himself familiar with pension 
laws and became a successful prosecutor of 
claims, a business which he conducted at Char- 
don, of which place he became a resident when 
elected sheriff, which duties he performed with 
ability and promptness He subsequently 
became a large purchaser of pine lands in the 
northwest and a dealer in western lands. A 
man of great vigor and activity of mind, em- 
ploying none but honorable expedients, he wa.s 
one of the kindest of mortals, generous and 
liberal in his dealings, and was widely known 
.and generally respected and esteemed. 

Mr. Hathaway was married to Miranda 
Ashley, daughter of Noah Ashley and Abigail 
Pease of Springfield, Mass., August 2, 182a 
To this union eight children were born, as fol- 
lows: Isaac Newton Hathaway, who was a 
prominent lawyer of Chardon, O., was a member 
of both house and senate of the state legisla- 
ture and was on several state boards; James 
Valentine Hathaway, who was a large cattle 
and sheep dealer in Nevada and one of the 
"forty nlners,** who went to California; Edwin 
Hathaway, who married Flora A. Downs, a 
daughter of an old settler of Carroll county, 
lived on the farm in Falrhaven township, where 
he was justice of the peace for many years, also 
township school treasurer, and naturally of a 
bright mind, was said to be the finest mathema- 
tician in the county ; John, who was a merchant 
in Sabula, la., never married; Louisa M., who 
was a teacher in Carroll county and prominent 
in business circles, married Thomas Corbett, 
after the death of her sister, Mrs. Mary Lincoln 
Hathaway-Corbett, who was a graduate of the 
Mount Carroll Seminary, class of 1869; having 
been prior to her marriage a public school 
teacher for years, Hathaway Hall of the 
Academy of Francis Shimer School being named 
for her by her younger sister, Mrs. Hattle 
Nevada Le Pelley, who has been for several 
years one of the board of trustees, of the Francis 
Shimer School, formerly the Seminary ; and Mrs. 
Le Pelley, who is the sole survivor of this 
very distinguished family. She and her hus- 
band, Mr. Edward Le Pelley are held in very 
high esteem by a large circle of friends. 

Mr. Hathaway moved his family to Savanna, 
111., in 1859, where he was interested In lumber 
and grain, and for many years he conducted 



Digitized by 



Google 






Digiti 



zed by Google 









Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



807 



logging camps In Wisconsin, during the winter 
season, overseeing his farming Interests in Falr- 
haren township during the summer. Most of 
the land he had in Illinois and Wisconsin he 
acquired from the government and he also owned 
large tracts of land in Iowa. 

After his death his wife continued to reside 
in the old home at Savanna with her daughters, 
where she died June 11, 1885. Mrs. Hathaway 
was a woman of sterling qualities and a sul)- 
stantial member of the community, dispensing 
good cheer among her neighbors and friends. 
She was a woman of decided business instincts, 
successfully administering her husband's estate 
and business enterprises after his death. 

HAWK, Hugh C. (deceased).— Oftentimes those 
who are talaen away by death seem to be the 
ones who can be least spared, for their lives 
are useful, their good deeds many, and their 
home ties strong. Yet death is no respecter of 
persons, and the records of Carroll county show 
that some of its most venerated men have gone 
to their last reward. One of those whose 
memories are honored for what they ac- 
complished In life, and who has left able 
representatives behind him, Is the late Hugh 
C. Hawl£, formerly of Salem township, who 
was born in Freedom township, this county, 
October 27, 1858, being a son of William II. 
and Margaret E. Hawk, natives of Virginia. 

Hugh C. Hawk was brought up in Carroll 
county, and given such educational advantages 
as were offered by the district school and Mt. 
Carroll high school. Until he was twenty-one 
years old, he remained with his parents, but 
in the spring of 1880, he rented a small farm, 
and worked it for himself. Two years later he 
moved to the farm of his half-brother, where 
he resided until 1805, when he settled on the 
240-acre farm on section 3, Salem township, he 
had bought in 1804. This continued to be his 
home until January, 1011, when he moved to 
Lanark, where he died June 30, 1011. While 
a strong Republican, he never held anything but 
the lesser offices, for he did not care for public 
life. Fraternally, he was a member of the 
Woodmen of America. In 1878 he joined the 
Christian Church of (Lanark, and continued 
faithful to these obligations until his death. 
He was a member of the official board of the 
church for several years, and taught in the 
Sunday school. 



On December 14, 1881, he was married by 
Rev. Ci'owix of the Baptist Church, to Ella 
M. Blake, bom in Derby, Vt, October 25, 1830, 
daughter of Horatio C. and Anna M. (Holmes) 
Blake, natives of Vermont. Mr. and Mrs. 
Hawk became the parents of six children: 
Walter H. Hawk ; Hattle M., who is of Lanark ; 
Mrs. Mable A. Merritt, who is of Superior, 
Neb.; Earl B., who lives in Lanark; Ray E., 
who lives in Salem township; and Charles 
Homer, who is of Salem township. Mrs. Hawk 
died October 23, 1806. In October, 1800, Mr. 
Hawk married (second) Mrs. Etta (Howe) 
Splain, who now resides in Lanark. 

Walter H. Hawk was born in Salem town- 
ship, December 17, 1882, and received a go6d 
common school education there, and profited 
by a two-years* course in the Lanark, high 
school. He remained with his father until he 
was twenty-two years of age, when he rented 
160 acres in Salem township. In January, 
1011, he moved to the homestead which he now 
rents and operates. 

On December 11, 1007, Walter H. Hawk and 
Zella Drenner were married by Z. T. Livingood 
of the Progressive Dunkard Church of Lanark, 
111. She was bom in Freedom township, Febru- 
ary 16, 1886, being a daughter of Hamilton and 
Emma (Buffington) Drenner, residents of Free- 
dom township. Mr. and Mrs. Hawk have two 
sons, H. Hugh, born December 21, 1008, and 
Forest E., bom January 31, 1013. The Hawk 
family is an old and honored one In Carroll 
county, and its representatives are among the 
leading agriculturists and business men of this 
locality, the careful training and Christian up- 
bringing in their youth, now bearing fruit in 
the lives of the younger generation, and raising 
up a lasting monument to the virtues of the 
excellent parents. 

HAWKINS, Howard, a farmer who is also en- 
gaged in a livery and feed business at Milledge- 
ville, was bom in Genesee township, Whiteside 
county. 111., August 22, 1860, a son of Seth and 
Marlnda (Johnston) Hawkins, and a grandson 
of Samuel Hawkins. The latter was a native 
of Louisville, Ky., where he married and later 
moved with his wife to Albany, Ind., but came 
from there to Lawrence county, and still later to 
Jasper county. 111., where they were early set- 
tlers and both died there. They were among 



) 



Digitized by 



Google 



808 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



the founders of the Methodist church of that 
section. 

Seth Hawkins was bom in Lawrence county, 
Ind., October 14, 1828, and died December 25, 
1885. He was reared near Bedford, where he 
was married February 26, 1854, to Marinda 
Johnston, who was bom also in Lawrence county, 
November 4, 1838, who is still living. In the 
spring of 1860 Seth Hawkins and wife settled 
in Whiteside county, 111., and It was In this 
county his death occurred when he was fifty- 
seven years, two months and eleven days old. 
His burial was in Hazel Green cemetery. When 
the Civil war broke out he enlisted while in 
Indiana, for a term of three months, and it was 
while serving out a second enlistment of three 
months that his wife removed to Whiteside 
county to be near her own people, who had pre- 
viously located there. They were originally from 
East Tennessee and moved first to Lawrence 
county, Ind., and there lived until 1857, when 
they went to Whiteside county. Her grand- 
father on the maternal side was Isaac Maiden 
and he was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. 
William Johnston was born March 1, 1807, and 
died March 26, 1873. He married Nancy Maiden, 
who was born in 1803, and died at the home of 
her son, Arthur Johnston, in Iowa, January 19, 
1883, when aged eighty years, and her remains 
were brought to Whiteside county and laid by 
the side of her husband. Her first marriage had 
been to Joseph Day, who, at death, left one 
child, Elizabeth Ann. At the age of thirteen 
years Mrs. Hawkins united with the Methodist 
Episcopal Church and has been active in its 
work for sixty years. 

After receiving his honorable discharge from 
the army, Seth Hawkins came to Whiteside 
county, where he re-enlisted, entering Company 
H, Seventy-fifth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, for 
three years or during the war, serving on spe- 
cial duty after losing three fingers of his left 
hand. He participated in the following battles: 
Perryville, Stone River, Chickmauga, Lookout 
Mountain and numerous other engagements of 
less moment. After the close of the war he 
returned home and resumed farming, his wife, 
in the meantime, with remarkable resourceful- 
ness and good judgment, having managed the 
little farm and kept the children together. They 
were as follows: Alice C, who is the wife of 
Jacob L. Chambers ; Emma D., who is deceased, 
was born in Lawrence county, April 11, 1857, 



and died September 2, 1908, married William 
McCombs and they had five children, Bertie, 
bom October 17, 1881, died January 13, 1883; 
Stella, born November 8, 1882, wife of Harvey 
Carpenter of Milledgeville and mother of Veloris 
and Harold; Olie, bom October 4, 1884, died 
August 30, 1887 ; Alice, wife of Grant Byers, and 
Virgil McCombs, bom July 4, 1895 ; Howard who 
was the third born in the Hawkins family; 
James who was born in Whiteside county, March 
1, 1863, married Ida E. Smith, issue,--Flora, 
Nora, Marjory and one who died in infancy ; is a 
retired farmer living at Polo, 111. ; Olie B. who 
was bom Febmary 17, 1864, married Minerva 
Hurless, issue,--Arthur, Alta, Arley, Forest, Mel- 
vin, Milford and Merrill ; Luther who was bom 
November 13, 1869, and died December 20, 1880, 
aged eleven years; Viola, who was bom Janu- 
ary 20, 1870, is the wife of William Meakhis, 
lives at Morrison, 111., and they have three 
children, — Carl, Homer and Ruth; and FloriUa 
who died December 9, 1880, aged six years, one 
month and seventeen days. 

Howard Hawkins spent his boyhood as do 
many farmer boys of the present day, assisting 
on the farm and attending school as opportuni- 
ties offered. When twenty-two years old, od 
May 10, 1883, he was married to Miss Clara J. 
Overtiolser, born in Genesee township, White- 
side county. 111., April 12, 1865, daughter of John 
M. and Lydia (Crom) Overholser. They were 
natives of Wood county, O., coming from there 
to Illinois in 1854. Mr. Overholser became a 
well-to-do farmer and in 1900 retired from active 
business and has since resided in the pleasant 
village of Coleta. He and wife are members of 
the United Brethren Church. To them were 
born these children: Elizabeth, who married 
Clark Vincon, of Coleta, and they have two chil- 
dren, Myrtle and Pearl ; Martin Overholser who 
was born September 1, 1860, died December 1, 
1894 ; Mrs. Hawkins ; Delia who is the wife of 
John Suavely, of Coleta; James who was bom 
January 23, 1879, married Lena Heckman, and 
they have three children, Alice, Grace and John. 

After his marriage, Mr. Hawkins rented a 
farm of 200 acres in Clyde township, Whiteside 
county, on which he lived until 1885, when he 
purchased a three-acre tract on which was a 
residence and lived there until 1888, engaged in 
operating his father-in-law's land. He then 
rented 270 acres which he successfully conducted 
until 1895 when he bought 100 acres in Wysox 



Digitized by 



Google 




(HtUU^ ^,P ..AjuAy 



Digiti 



zed by Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



809 



township, Carroll county. After living there for 
one year, Mr. Hawkins found a tenant that paid 
a cash rent while he moved to MiUedgeville, lo- 
cating on a small place. He then engaged in 
hauling milk &:st to Coleta and later to the 
John Newman creamery at MiUedgeville and 
so continued until 1898, when he added another 
forty acres to his farm in WVsox township and 
moved back to his own land, which he cultivated 
until 1905. Then he again rented out his farm 
and returned to MiUedgeville, where he bought 
a livery stable and feed barn, selling the bam In 
1907 and in the same year buying 160 acres in 
Ogle county, near Oregon. This farm he sold in 
1909 and bought fifty-five acres in Genesee 
township, Whiteside county. He also owns thirty 
acres in Clyde township, in the same county, his 
land aggregating in all 245 acres. In 1909 he 
bought his present livery bam and feed stables 
and is credited with having one of the best 
equipped bams in the county. He keeps thirteen 
horses in fine condition for hire and also two 
automobiles. 

Mr. and Mrs. Hawkins are parents of the 
following children: Orville E. who was bom in 
Clyde township, Whiteside county, December 29, 
1885, was married October 30, 1907, to Mamie 
Myers, and they have two children, — Clara and 
Mont F. ; Noel who was bom November 2, 1887, 
was married October 10, 1910, to Maud Flynn, 
and they have one child, — ^William ; Bemie who 
was l)om December 9, 1889, was married Janu- 
ary 19, 1911, to Edna Olmstead, is a clerk at 
MiUedgeville; Mont H. who was born January 
10, 1891, is in business with his father, was 
married January 24, 1912, to Cora Wolfe, of 
Polo, and Lydia A. who was bom December 12, 
1896. The two older sons are in a meat and 
market business as partners. 

In politics Mr. Hawkins is a Republican and 
for two years has been serving in the office of 
constable. He and family are members of the 
United Brethren Church. In addition to his 
other business interests, Mr. Hawkins is agent 
for the Travese Land Company of Wheaton, 
Minn. 

HAT, John, county superintendent of schools, 
has been active and prominent in public afl!airs 
in the county since he attained his majority. 
He is a native of the county, born in the town 
of Woodland, a son of Peter and Elizabeth 
(McKie) Hay, both natives of Scotland, who 

18 



were married in this county in 1854. They were 
the parents of four sons and one daughter, the 
last named dying in infancy. 

With the exception of four years during which 
he served as deputy county clerk of Carroll 
county, his entire life has been spent in con- 
nection with the work of public schools and he 
was recognized for many years as one of the 
successful and progressive teachers of the' 
county. He was elected county superintendent 
of schools in 1898 and has been three times 
re-elected to the same position. Mr. Hay keeps 
in close touch with the progress of educational 
affairs and is thoroughly posted in the latest 
and best methods of teaching and school man- 
agement. He is a man of excellent Judgment, 
energetic and industrious, practical in his ideas 
and makes a careful study of all problems with 
which he has to deal. 

Mr. Hay was married February 9, 1910, to 
Miss Alethea Griffith of Mount Carroll. 

HAY, William J., of Woodland, P. O., Mt. 
Carroll, is a native of the town in which he 
resides, and enjoys an acquaintance with resi- 
dents of Carroll county equaled by few of her 
citizens. His father, Peter Hay, one of the 
pioneers of the county, died when the subject 
of this sketch was but a lad, the oldest of four 
children, so the responsibilities of the home and 
the management of the little farm devolved 
largely upon him and the effect of developing 
his resources making him in his younger man- 
hood mature for his years. He is engaged in 
farming and stockraising and has made a suc- 
cess of. his business. 

While Mr. Hay has been absorbed in the 
management of his own Interests he has, also, 
identified himself with public affairs and been 
active in promoting the interests of the com- 
munity and county in which he lives. In 1880 he 
was appointed treasurer of his township and has 
held the position continuously up to the present 
time. He was elected to the office of supervisor 
by the people of his town in 1886 and has been 
named to succeed himself at the expiration of 
each succeeding term to the present date, 1913; 
during the time he has served on the county 
board having held the position of chairman 
for eight years and served as a member of many 
committees that had charge of important busi- 
ness for the county, among them being the com- 
mittee that represented the county board in the 



Digitized by 



Google 



810 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



erection of the splendid soldiers* monument that 
stands in the court house square in Mt Carroll. 
Mr. Hay also served on the committee that had 
in charge the construction of the buildings at 
the county farm tliat replaced those destroyed 
by the cyclone in 1808. For a number of years 
Mr. Hay served as secretary of the Mt Carroll 
township Mutual Insurance Company, and after 
the merging of that company with the County 
Mutual Insurance Company, he was honored 
with the office of president of the last named 
company and has held it for the past eight 
years. He is also a stockholder and member of 
the board of directors of the Fair Association 
and one of the active workers in that enterprise. 
As a member of the Republican county central 
committee for a number of years, he has been 
a factor in political affairs and an influential 
member of the organization. 

HEIMBAU6H, Elmer E^ proprietor of the 
Spruce Lawn Stock Farm, situated on section 6, 
Wysox township, Carroll county, 111., was l)om 
on this farm, June 9, 1871, a son of Matthew H. 
Heimbaugh, who is now retired, an extended 
mention of whom will be found in this work. 
Elmer E. Heimbaugh obtained his education in 
the public schools and has been engaged in agri- 
cultural pursuits all his life. He has been ac- 
knowledged a capable and industrious farmer 
since he was seventeen years of age and it was 
about that time he made a record as a com 
busker, in ten hours husking 128 bushels. In 
1892, when twenty-one years of age, Mr. Heim- 
baugh rented 240 acres of land from his uncle, 
James Heimbaugh, in Rock Creek township, 
bought a fine grade of stock and so worked as to 
prove his ability. In 1897 he formed a partner- 
ship with his father and removed his stock to the 
homestead since when the business has enlarged 
to include Shorthorn cattle and Hambletonian 
horses. The output of cattle and stock from 
this farm during the partnership was enormous 
and the prices received far beyond the ordinary. 
Some of the horses Mr. Heimbaugh and father 
sold for $300, became such winners of prizes 
that in a short time they were resold for $1,500. 
The partnership continued until 1910. Mr. 
Heimbaugh trained three horses that attained 
and developed great speed. In 1904 the part- 
ners bought Aegon Star, sired by Aegon 
2:18 3-4,, son of the world noted brood mare, 
Nutwood. The first purchase was by Henry 



Wible and Mathew Heimbaugh, the former sell* 
ing his interest to Mathew and Elmer E. Heim- 
baugh, in 1907. The animal was brought then 
to the Heimbaugh farm where he has since 
been kept and is the sire of six descendants in 
the 2:30 class, and the grandsire of two in 
the 2:30 class, this being the standard class. 
Aegon Star has run in twenty-six races and 
has won first prize twenty-two times and sec- 
ond prize three times, and was also a winner 
in the roadster class at the Chicago Horse show. 
He has ai^)eared at three county fairs in Iowa, 
Illinois and Wisconsin and once was a winner 
at the Chicago International show, with twenty- 
five competitors in the field, taking the blue 
ribbon from horses that had cost their own- 
ers $35,000. This horse has been one of the 
most valuable ever owned in the state. Aegon 
Star was raised by C. D. Ire, of Cedar Rapids 
and sold to George K. Winig of that city, who 
developed his speed and the animal won for 
him in races the sum of $58,000. He sold the 
horse to M. H. Tichenor for $6,500, and in 
1904, as above stated, it became the property 
of Carroll county stock men. In 1910 Mathew 
Heimbaugh retired and on the farm there were 
then fifty head of fine horses, cattle and hogs, 
and Elmer E. retained the above noted horse. 
Other valuable animals ttiat he owns are: 
Glenagan, a six-year-old by Aegon Star; Pacto- 
las by Pactolas, a four-year-old; Judy Cart- 
right, by Exalted; Brude Mars by John R 
Gentry; Alamodes S., son of Simmons, grand- 
daughter of Glenview, 1170, by Belmont, 64; 
Thomas W. Glenwood Gray Hawk, 6473; and 
others with noted sires. He owns 160 acres of 
the old home farm but operates the entire 320 
acres. He is a firm believer in blooded stods. 
of all kinds and keeps only the finest grade of 
hogs, cattle and horses, turning out 100 head 
of hogs a year and fifty head of cattle, and 
also raises many Plymouth Rock chickens. He 
has devoted his whole life to growing and im- 
proving his stock and is recognized as a superior 
judge of the same. 

On January 8, 1891, Mr. Heimbaugh was mar- 
ried to Miss Flora A. Downs, who was bom in 
Rock Creek township, March 27, 1871, a daugh- 
ter of Charles and Emma (Rush) Downs, who 
were bom in Pennsylvania and still survive. 
Mr. and Mrs. Heimbaugh have the following 
children: Ralph, who was bom January 9, 
1893; Belva, who was bom October 26, 1895 •«, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CAEROLL COUNTY 



811 



Donald, who was born May 27, 1910; 
and Orvllle, who was born May 10, 1911. Mr. 
and Mr& Heimbaugh are active members of 
the Progressive Brethren church at Milledge- 
ville. In local politics Mr. Heimbaugh exercises 
his own Judgment, while in national affairs he 
supports the prohibition ticket For many years 
he has been a school director in Star district 
He belongs to Lodge No. 178, Maccabees, at 
Chadwic*, 111. 

HEIMBAUGH, Matthew H., now retired after 
an active life as a farmer and raiser of fine 
road and trotting horses, is known throughout 
Carroll county as a man of ability and integrity 
of purpose. He was bom in Somerset county, 
Pa., May 10, 1840, a son of Samuel and Rachel 
(Pinkerton) Heimbaugh. The father was bom 
in Pennsylvania, December 25, 1801, and the 
mother in the same state, three years later. 
These excellent parents died, the father in 1885, 
and the mother in 1891. They had eight chil- 
dren, of whom the following survive: Mrs. 
Sarah Falk; Elsie McNair; David, who lives 
in Pennsylvania, and Matthew H. Two died 
in infancy, and James and Jonas died later on 
in life. 

Matthew H. Heimbaugh is essentially a self- 
made man, for he had only two and one-half 
months of schooling, so all the more credit is 
due him for what he has accomplished. He re- 
mained with his father until he was twenty- 
three years old, when he began for himself. In 
1868, he left Pennsylvania, which had been his 
home, and came to Carroll county, locating 
seven miles south of Lanark, where he remained 
until 1896, when he moved to Lanark which 
has since been his place of residence. 

On Febmary 8, 1863, Mr. Heimbaugh was 
married by Rev. Josiah Ringer, to Barbara" 
Peck, a daughter of Jonas and Fanny (Sayler) 
Peck, natives of Pennsylvania, who came to 
lUinois in 1867, settling near Milledgeville. Mr. 
and Mrs. Heimbaugh are the parents of four 
diildren: James W. who lives in California; 
Elmer E. who lives on what used to be his 
father's homestead of 160 acres which he re- 
cently purchased; Idela Chisem who lives at 
Lanark; and Minnie who married Albert 
Lichty of Waterloo, Iowa; four children are de- 
ceased: Arminda, Calvin, Missouri and Edith. 
They have five grandchildren. 

Mr. Heimbaugh is a member of the Lutheran 



church, and his wife of the Brethren church. 
He has served his church as a deacon for years. 
Politically, he is an independent. For twenty 
years, he has been a school director, and for 
four years, road commissioner. While Mr. 
Heimbaugh was not given educational advan- 
tages, Mrs. Heimbaugh, who was born October 
20, 1843, was educated- in the public schools of 
Pennsylvania, and has been a great help to her 
husband. Both are very excellent people who 
stand high, not only in Lanark, but through- 
out Carroll county, where they have lived for 
so many useful years. During the years, he 
operated as an agriculturist, Mr. Heimbaugh 
achieved a well-merited success and is num- 
bered among the substantial men of Can'oll 
county. 

HENZE, Fred C, proprietor of the Excelsior 
Stock Farm, a fine estate of about 160 acres, 
with cultivated fields, orchards, woodland and 
pasture, situated very favorably in one of the 
best sections of Shannon township, Carroll 
county, was bom in Rock Grove township, Ste- 
phenson county, 111., January 9, 1868. His par- 
ents, Henry and Caroline (Wulkey) Henze, 
w:ere born in Germany. They were children 
when their parents came to America and both 
grew up in Stephenson county where their 
fathers were farmers. When Henry Henze was 
married he bought forty acres of land and 
lived on that place for two years, but in 1870 
moved to Forreston township, in Ogle county, 
where he purchased 160 acres and continued to 
cultivate the farm until his death, in 1896, he 
being then fifty-six years of age. His widow 
survives and has resided at Freeport since 
1898. Ten children were bom to Henry and 
Caroline Henze, nine of whom are living, Fred 
C. being the oldest and the only member of 
the family living in Carroll county. 

Fred C. Henze attended the district schools 
in Ogle county and assisted his father on the 
home farm until he was twenty-one years of 
age, after which he worked for three years as 
a farm hand. In 1892 he rented 200 acres of 
land on section 17, Shannon township, belonging 
to his father, and in 1903 bought the farm from 
his father's estate and made this his permanent 
home. He remodeled the house and made many 
improvements of a substantial nature and has 
everything very comfortable around his home. 
Mr. Henze has given a great deal of attention 



Digitized by 



Google 



812 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



to raising fine stock believing that full blooded 
cattle and hogs are much more profitable than 
the common breeds, selling about two car loads 
of Poland-China hogs of this description eadi 
year. His cattle are fine specimens of full 
blood, high grade stock, and he also produces 
heavy draft horses of the best breed. The 
products of the Excelsior Stock Farm are easily 
recognized when they are exhibited and Mr. 
Henze is to be commended for his efforts to 
raise the stock standard in Carroll county. 

On November 7, 1805, Mr. Henze was married 
to Miss Etta DeWall, who was bom In For- 
reston township, Ogle county, 111., April 21, 
1875, a daughter of Jotm and Margaret 
(Geerds) DeWall, natives of Germany, the cere- 
mony being performed by Rev. J. E. Funk. 
Seven children have been bom to Mr. and Mrs. 
Henze, six of whom are living: Clara L., John 
F., Rosa G., Fred J., Margaret G. V. and Ethel 
Louisa. Mr. Henze and family attend the Pres- 
byterian church. He is no seeker for public of- 
fice but is a fair-minded, reputable citizen and 
is Interested in township affairs at all times. 
He votes with the Democratic party, in county 
and state matters. 

HODGES, Anson E., one of the most public- 
spirited citizens of Savanna, is well known in 
railroad circles in his part of the state. He has 
done all in his power to further the progress 
of the city and has served the public well in 
various minor offices. He was bom in Tioga 
county. Pa., August 16, 1852, son of Gideon L. 
and Martlia M. (Rexford) Hodges. The 
paternal grandfather was a Methodist circuit- 
rider. In boyhood Anson E. Hodges received 
but a meagre education, being reared on a 
farm, as his father was an agriculturist, and is 
largely self-educated. In 1862 he^ came west 
with his parents and settled on a farm at Lyn- 
don, IlL In the spring of 1870 Mr. Hodges left 
the farm and moved to Turner Junction (now 
West Chicago), 111., and entered the employ of 
the North Westem Railroad Company as line- 
man in the telegraph service. He became a 
brakeman in 1874 and in 1880 was promoted to 
position of conductor. 

In 1882 Mr. Hodges accepted a position with 
the Chicago, Milwaukee & St Paul Railroad 
Company as conductor, which he resigned in 
1886 and took a position with the Chicago, 
Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company, work- 



ing in the same capacity for that road two years. 
In May, 1889, he was promoted to the position 
of general yardmaster for this road at Savanna, 
which he has now filled for tw«ity-two years. 
Since being appointed to this position he has 
practically had charge of the affairs of the com- 
pany at this point, and being an efficient, level- 
headed man, enjoys the implicit confidence of 
the officials of the road. He has tried to arouse 
a spirit of progress among the citizens of 
Savanna and has l>een identified with the best 
interests of the community. 

On February 10, 1875, Mr. Hodges was mar- 
ried to Miss Emma E. Jones, daughter of Albert 
H. Jones, of West Chicago, 111. The Jones 
family originally came from New Jersey. The 
matemal grandfather of Mrs. Hodges, Mr. John 
Warae, came to Illinois in 1818. He was a 
civil engineer by profession and lived to the 
age of ninety-four years. Mr. Hodges and his 
wife have become the parents of the following 
children: Ella May, who was bom December 
12, 1875, died April 6, 1896; Edith Belle, who 
was bom March 31, 1877, married Charles N. 
Jenks, of Savanna ; and Albert Anson, who was 
bom July 14, 1880, was married, October 21, 
1907, to Ethel Stonerock, of Poutiac, and is now 
an official in the State Refbrmatory. Mr. Hodges 
is a member of the Order <^ Railway Conductors, 
to which he has belonged since 1884, and he is 
a Knight of Pythias, in which he is grand 
chancellor of Carroll county, also a member of 
the Grand Lodge of that order. In politics he 
is a Republican. He is president of the Savanna 
Improvement Association and has served two 
terms as alderman and has several times de- 
clined to be nominated for the office of mayor. 

HOERZ, David.— The Hoerz family were among 
the pioneers of Carroll county, where they have 
held an honorable position in various circles 
since locating here. David Hoerz is a native of 
the county, born on his father's farm in Wash- 
ington township, January 2, 1885, and his entire 
life lias been spent within the confines of the 
county. For the past five or six years he has 
been a resident of Savanna, where he holds 
a good position with the Peoples Gas & Elec- 
tric Company. He is a son of Carl Adam and 
Marie (Kedisch) Hoerz, natives of Germany, 
and of German ancestry. They came to Carroll 
county In an early day and now reside on their 
well improved farm of 120 acres in Washington 



Digitized by 



Google 




BENJAMIN L. PATCH 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



r 



\^ ' 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



813 



township. They became parents of nine chil- 
dren: John, Katie, Mary, Christina, Lena, 
George, and David, living, Adam (deceased) 
and one child who died in infancy. 

Mr. Hoerz attended the local schools and 
worked on a farm for his father until he was 
twenty-two years of age. After his marriage 
he came to Savanna, where he owns a nice home 
on North Fourth street He is an expert in 
the making of water gas, and holds an Im- 
portant position with the company by which 
he is employed. In politics he is a Republican 
and he and the other members of the family 
are meml>ers of the Evangelical Methodist 
Church, while fraternally he is affiliated with 
the Knights of Pytliias and insured with the 
Hartford Connecticut Life Insurance Company. 
For nearly three years he was a member of 
Company M, Third Infantry Illinois National 
Guard. 

At Mt Carroll, 111., on June 12, 1907, Mr. 
Hoerz was united in marriage with Cora E. 
Fehler, who was bom in Jo Daviess county, 
111., September 20, 1887, a daughter of John 
and Elizabeth (Hoffman) Fehler, also natives 
of Jo Daviess county. Mr. and Mrs. Hoerz 
have had two children, namely: Dorothy E., 
who was bom September 29, 1909; and Marie 
C, who was bom August 23, 1911. Both were 
bom in Savanna. 

HOFFMAH, George L. — ^Among the most enter- 
prising and progressive citizens of Carroll 
county, 111., is George L. Hoffman, a leading 
attorney of Mt Carroll. He was bom In Hesse 
Darmstadt, Koenig, Germany, December 1,*1847, 
and was brought by his parents to America when 
about three years of age. The family located 
at Chambersburg, Pa., and the boy received his 
education in the public schools, supplementing 
this instruction by a course In a select school at 
Strasburg, in the same state. At the age of 
fourteen years he began learning the trade 
of shoemaking and for fifteen years worked at 
this occupation, teaching school during winters, 
later on. In 1870 Mr. Hoffman came to Carroll 
county, where he worked at his trade and taught 
school for several years, and in 1878 he entered 
the Normal School at Normal, 111., from which 
he was graduated four years later, having mean- 
time studied law, so that he was admitted to 
the bar in 1877, having been graduated from 
the Wesleyan Law School at Bloomington, 111., 



during the same year. He located in Des 
Moines, la. for the practice of his profession, 
but the folowing year (1878) retumed to Car- 
roll county and entered the office of the most 
eminent attorney of the county, J. M. Hunter, 
of Mt Carroll. In 1882 Mr. Hoffman located in 
the offices he now occupies, and has been very 
successful in his legal career, practicing in 
the local, state and Federal courts. He is a 
man of superior intelligence and acumen and 
is well fitted to cope with such legal problems 
as he encounters He is a brilliant and force- 
ful speaker and presents his arguments in a 
telling manner. 

Mr. Hoffman has held many local offices of 
trust and honor, serving twenty-five years as 
alderman of Mt Carroll and three terms as 
mayor of the city. He was the first presid^it 
of the board of education under the present 
law and has given the best of service in all 
these posts. In 1882 he was elected a member 
of the Illinois State Legislature and made an 
honorable record in this connection. He has 
traveled extensively in the United States and 
other parts of America and also in Europe, and 
in this way has broadened his ideas and his 
outlook upon life. His fellow-citizens have de- 
lighted to honor him and to show their ap- 
preciation of his public service. 

On January 1, 1880, Mr. Hoffman married 
Miss Capitola Armour, and three children have 
been born of this union: Blanche, Emestine, 
who married Victor Hasskasin, issue, — Blanche, 
lives at Harrisburg, Pa.; and Capitola. 

HOFFMAN, John, who for nearly thirty years 
was engaged in business in Savanna, has 
recently retired from active life and is enjoy- 
ing a well-earned repose. He is a native of 
Switzerland, born at Oetwil, on Lake Zurich, 
December 16, 1840, the youngest of the seven 
children of John and Elizabeth (Homberger) 
Hoffman. The father of these children died 
when Jolm was an infant, and for many years 
he was k^t at home to help his mother with 
various work on the farm, so he was never 
able to learn a trade, although he worked for 
a time in a factory near his birthplace. When 
he was about fifteen years of age one of his 
brothers emigrated to America and sent home 
such favorable reports of the conditions he had 
found, that another brother soon followed, and 
in 1864 the mother made the trip to the new 



Digitized by 



Google 



814 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



country* together with John and another son. 
They joined the other members of the family 
at Galena, 111., and as men were at that time 
being drafted for service in the Union Army, 
John Hoffman, together with his brother Henry 
and their cousin, Jacob Homberger, volunteered 
their services as substitutes, thus earning a 
bounty. Mr. Hoffman had served his regular 
term in the army in his native land and was 
thus able to do his part intelligently. He took 
part in no serious engagements, though he served 
to the end of the war, but Mr. Homberger died 
from a fever contracted in Texas in 1865. 

Upon receiving his discharge from the army 
Mr. Hoffman purchased eighty acres of land in 
Jo Daviess county, where the brothers were 
located, and cultivated this farm five years, 
after which he sold and spent eight years in 
business in Elizabeth, three years in Hanover, 
and in 1882 purchased property in Savanna, 
where he has since resided. 

Mr. Hoffman was married, April 23, 1868, to 
Kunitgunda Schneider, who had come to 
America from Saxe-Coburg, Germany, a short 
time prior to her marriage. Mrs. Hoffman died 
January 27, 1909, having been a devoted mother 
and wife, beloved by her many friends and her 
immediate family. She and her husband were 
parents of eleven children, five of whom are 
deceased: Maggie, who is Mrs. Frank Rush, 
of Lamar, Colo., issue, — Clarence and Alma; 
Emma, who is Mrs. John Acker, of Savanna, 
issue, — Clara; Harry, of Savanna; Bertha, who 
is Mrs. Louis Kyarsgarrd, La Crosse, Wis., 
issue, — Alfred and Elsie; Matilda, who is Mrs. 
Clarence Bowers, issue, — Ella, with her family 
lives with her father ; Frieda, who is unmarried, 
lives at home; Rudolph, who is also at home. 

Before locating in Savanna Mr. Hoffman made 
a visit to his birthplace, but conditions in hia 
native land compared so unfavorably with his 
new home that he returned to America more 
enthusiastic than ever in his love for his adopted 
country. He had also visited various other 
parts of Europe, but nowhere found a place he 
preferred to the State of Illinois, Soon after 
his return he established himself in the hotel^ 
business, from which he was able to retire in 
1906, with a competence. He is a Republican 
in politics and has served four years as alder- 
man. His present position and success are the 
results of his own efforts, as he came to the 
United States a poor man and made his own 



way in life, rising by his own efforts to a posi- 
tion of prominence and influence among his 
fellows. He has had an active life and always 
hard-working and ambitious, has prospered 
accordingly. 

HOLLAND, Smith J., owner and proprietor of 
what is known as the Clover Farm, a richly pro- 
ductive tract of land situated in section 19, 
York township, Carroll coimty, was bom at 
Chester, N. Y., near Glenns Falls, January 28. 
1860, a son of George W. and Elizabeth S. 
(Smith) Holland. The Holland family is of 
German extraction, while the Smith ancestry is 
traced to Scotland. Great-grandfather Holland 
settled in Pennsylvania, where Grandfather 
James Holland was bom and from that state 
removed to New York state near Glenns E^lls, 
where he resided until his death, at the age of 
ninety-one years. 

George W. Holland was a merchant in New 
York state for many years, but in 1865 sold his 
interests there, on account of falling health, and 
then came to Carroll county, Illinois, with the 
idea of living as much as possible an out-door 
life. He therefore enga'ged in farming on rented 
land, near Thomson, III., until 1872, when he 
retired to the village of Thomson and died 
there May 30, 187a His widow survived until 
October 7, 1904. They were most wwthy mem- 
bers of the Methodist Episcopal church. In 
politics George W. Holland was a lifelong 
Democrat. They had the following children: 
Smith J.; Ellas H., who died in Febmary, 
1890, was a farmer in Carroll county, married 
Rebecca Dusing, who lives at Thomson and 
they had five children: Edson, Lina, Walter, 
Sylvia and Carl; Anna E., who died February 
5, 1899; Hattie M., who is the wife of George 
Greely, a resident of Thomson with farm in- 
terests; and Helen, who is the wife of Albert 
Olds, who is a farmer in York township and they 
have one son. 

Smith J. Holland was six years old when he 
accompanied his mother and brother to Carroll 
county, in 1866, the father having made the 
journey in the preceding year. He soon became 
a school boy, diligently applying himself and 
when vacation came found employment so that 
he might add to the family income, his father's 
invalided condition making such exertion not 
only commendable but to some degree necessary. 
He first started into an independent business 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



815 



wlien he bought an old horse, secured a dray 
and transported any kind of commodities that 
were entrusted to him'. Business was soon brislc 
enough to enable him to secure a better horse. 
He followed the draying business, built up from 
this humble start, for nine years. In 1883 he 
visited Dakota, with some idea of locating there, 
but after one summer returned to Thomson 
and engaged as clerk in William Stark's store. 
In the same year he was elected tax collector 
and continued in the office until 1885, when he 
was appointed postmaster, during these years of 
political office haying performed his clerkly 
duties in addition to his official ones. He now 
resigned as clerk, being by this time a fairly 
well educated young man, having kept up a pri- 
vate course of study. When President Harri- 
son succeeded President Cleveland, he was re- 
appointed postmaster, and when President 
Cleveland entered upon his second administra- 
tion, he was once more appointed, and thus, for 
thirteen years he held the position. In 1898 he 
was elected collector of York township once 
more, having previously served from 1885 until 
1890. He has done considerable business at one 
time or another in settling up estate, his repu- 
tation for good Judgment and reliability causing 
many people to turn to him for help or advice. 
With his family he belongs to and liberally gives 
support to the Christian church, in which he is 
an elder. Mr. Holland was elected supervisor 
of York township in 1907. He has always been 
Interested in the public schools, for eighteen 
years serving on the school board, and has also 
served as chairman of the county farm, county 
schools and county bridge committees. In 1898 
he purchased forty acres of land situated on 
section 9, York township. Mr. Holland con- 
tinued to reside in his comfortable home at 
Thomson, which he still owns, until 1901, when 
he retired to his farm and immediately began 
its .improvement He now has a fine modern 
residence and substantial barns and other build- 
ings ari has set out fruit trees which are doing 
well, insuring him a bountiful yield of apples, 
plums, peaches and cherries. To his original 
forty acres he has added until he now has 160 
acres, on sections 1 and 19, all under a high 
state of cultivation. He owns fine dairy stock 
and <^>erates a dairy with Guernsey and Hol- 
stein cows, having some pure bred cattle. His 
land has been so productive of clover that the 



beautiful name of Clover Farm is quite an ap- 
propriate one. 

Mr. Holland was married July 18, 1889, to 
Miss Bertha Britell, who was born at Thom- 
son, 111., August 29, 1867, a daughter of Emulous 
and Almeda (Greely) Britell. The father of 
Mrs. Holland was bom at Weyb ridge, Vt, and 
the mother in Chittenden county, January 5, 
1823. She now makes her home with her daugh- 
ter, still being active both in mind and body, al- 
though in her eighty-ninth year. Mrs. Holland's 
father was bom June 5, 1827, and was one of 
the "Forty-niners" to California, walking the 
whole distance. After coming to Carroll county 
he was engaged in the drug business from 1876 
until 1880 and died October 30, 1890, having 
been one of the well known men of Thomson. 
Mrs. Holland had one brother, Daniel, who was 
born at Appleton, O., March 21, 1861, and died 
at Fulton, 111., May 26, 1902. He married 
Vivian Switzer, who, after his death, married 
Lewis Schick. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Holland three children were 
born; namely: Winnie J., born at Thomson, 
October 23, 1893; Bessie A., bom at Thomson, 
July 30, 1895 ; and Hobart S.. bom on the home 
farm, October 27, 1902. The children have been 
given advantages of all kinds and are capable 
and agreeable members of society. 

HOLMAN, William T. S., of the firm of Holman 
& Myers, proprietors of the only furniture and 
undertaking establishment in Mt. Carroll, has 
been engaged in his present business the past 
twenty years. Mr. Holman was born in Carroll 
township, Carroll county, September 3, 1864, a 
son of Charles and Sarah N. (Cook) Holman, 
the former a native of Pottstown, Pa., from 
whence he came west soon after his marriage, 
in 1865. He was a carpenter by trade and 
established the business in which his son now 
has a half-interest Charles Holman and his 
wife were parents of five children: Charles 
N., Horace (deceased), William T. S. and Edwin 
O. Mrs. Holman died in October, 1879, and 
Mr. Holman married (second) Martha Slifer, 
by which marriage he had one daughter, Ethel 
S. Mr. Holman died March 6, 1910. 

William T. S. Holman received a common 
school education and lived on his father's farm 
until he was about twenty years of age. In 
1888 he took up a claim of land from the gov- 
emment, in Colorado, lived there long enough 



Digitized by 



Google 



816 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



to prove Ms title to same, but in 1S89 went to 
Boulder, Mont, where during one summer he 
worked in a silver mill, then, returning to Mt. 
Carroll, for three years occupied his summers 
in bee culture and during the winters worked 
in what is known as "the old cave," a lead 
mine on his father's farm. In 1892 he purchased 
the share of Mr. Ludwlck in the firm of Holman 
& Ludwlck, the other partner being his father, 
and the two Holmans carried on this business 
together until the father resigned on July 1, 
1905, selling his interest to Sherman Myers, 
who still owne a half interest The older Mr. 
Holman had been engaged in business nearly 
forty years and had built up a good trade, 
which brought in a very fair income. Their 
patronage is secured from the surrounding 
country for many miles. 

Mr. Holman was married November 1, 1900, 
to Nettie E. Krause, whose parents live at 
Loran, 111. Mr. Holman is a Republican in 
politics and fraternally is connected with the 
I. O. O. F. and the A. F. & A. M., being a 
Knight Templar in the last named order. He 
is an enterprising and energetic business man 
and has exhibited excellent Judgment in the 
conduct of his affairs. Besides his furniture 
business he is interested in various other enter- 
prises, among them the growing of ginseng. In 
company with Anson and Jesse Moore, he has 
three acres planted in this, and they expect to 
plant three acres additional each year for the 
ensuing five years. As it requires five years 
for the plant to mature, at the end of that 
time they will have a ginseng farm of fifteen 
acres, from which they can cut each year a 
three-acre patch, and they expect this venture 
to prove a financial success, for by renewing 
three acres each year, they will have established 
an enterprise that will yield them a good in- 
come each year. 

HOSTETTER, Charles Linnaeus, was bom in 
Cumberland county. Pa., near the city of Har- 
risburg. The Hostetters were old settlers of 
Lancaster county, Pa., the family having sprung 
from one of the Swiss Mennonite exiles who 
arrived in this country in 1710, and purchased 
lands of the Penns as early as 1747. This land 
was on the Conestoga river, near Lancaster 
City. The deed to this property was signed 
by John Penn for himself and Thomas and 



Richard Penn, and is now in Mr. Hostetter's 
possession. 

Linnaeus Hostetter's father, Abraham Hos- 
tetter, son of Abraham Hostetter and Magde- 
lena Lichty, was bom on the Hostetter farm 
near Lancaster City, Pa. When a young man 
he studied medicine and was graduated from 
the Pennsylvania Medical College at Phila- 
delphia in 1841. He practiced medicine a short 
time in Cumberland county and while there 
married Catharine Bowman, daughter of Samuel 
Bowman and Sarah Gorgas, who lived on a 
farm not far from Harrlsburg, where Catha- 
rine Bowman had received her education at the 
Harrlsburg Female Academy. Abraham Hos- 
tetter came west in the spring of 1845, bring- 
ing his wife and son Linnaeus, and a younger 
son, Samuel, with him. They arrived in Mt 
Carroll on the 15th of April. Here he engaged 
at once in the active practice of his profession 
and soon became closely identified with the 
financial and agricultural interests of the com- 
munity. He moved from town to his farm, now 
the home of his youngest son, W. R. Hostetter, 
in 1852, and in 1861 and 1862 he built for him- 
self a beautiful stone residence on another of 
his farms two miles directly east of Mt. Carroll, 
naming it Wilderberg. 

Linnaeus Hostetter was the oldest of nine 
children bom to Abraham Hostetter and his 
wife, five of whom died in infancy; those still 
living, being: Abram, Ross, Sarah and Susie 
Hostetter (now Susan Mackay) and himself. 
When old enough to leave the district school 
in the country he became a pupil of Miss Wood 
(afterwards Mrs. Shimer), and Miss Gregory, 
who later founded the Mt Carroll Seminary, 
now the Frances Shimer School. Upon com- 
pleting his work in the seminary he had suf- 
ficient advanced standing to enable him to enter 
the University of Chicago as a Junior, from 
which school he was graduated in 1865, with 
the degree of Bachelor of Science. He then 
attended the Union College of law in Chicago, 
was admitted to the bar in 1867 and commenced 
the practice of law in that city, later removing 
to Mt Carroll, where he soon built for himself 
a very successful practice. While he was a 
student at the University of Chicago the call 
came for more volunteers to fight for the Union, 
and Mr. Hostetter left his studies to help organ- 
ize Company G, One Hundred and Thirty-Fourth 
Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and was in the serv- 



Digitized by 



Google 




^.^ , /^i€^£^ a^ 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



x^\ 






Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



817 



Ice in Kentucky and Missouri until the time for 
which he liad enlisted expired. 

In politics Mr. Hostetter has always been a 
Republican of the staunchest tjrpe. For several 
years he was chairman of the Republican County 
Central Committee, a position he filled with 
credit to himself and party. He served the 
county as state's attorney for four years, and 
as master-in-chancery for two terms. At the 
time the soldiers' monument was erected in the 
court house square he was chairman of the 
board of supervisors and It was largely through 
his efforts that this beautiful work of art was 
obtained for the city as a memorial to its heroes 
and patriots. 

On the third day of March, 1885, Linnaeus 
Hostetter was married to Miss Mary Peart of 
Philadelphia, Pa. She was the daughter of 
Daniel Peart, who was of English descent, a 
Quaker, and a man of fine bearing and great 
strength of mind and body. He was one of the 
most trustworthy of the "Wagoners of the Alle- 
ghanies,'* and carried goods of great value to 
the west in his immense wagons, drawn by six 
horse teams. His wife, Elizabeth Hemley, was 
of Mennonite ancestry, but after her marriage 
she became a Quaker and they being bitterly 
opposed to slavery, she took an active part in 
the famous "Underground Railway," in opera- 
tion before and during the war. The family 
at this time were located at Columbia, Pa. Mary 
Hostetter was an educated lady, of refined 
tastes, a splendid and accomplished housekeeper 
and loving home-maker. She was a great reader 
and student all her life and a lover of nature 
and its l)eauties. For many years she was an 
active member of the Mt Oarroll Woman's Club 
and at the time of the organization of the dis- 
trict federation of Woman's Clubs she was 
elected their first treasurer. She died June 9, 
1902, leaving her husband Linnaeus and one 
son, Heber Peart Hostetter. After attending 
the country district school and several of the 
grades in the Mt. Carroll public school, Heber 
was graduated from Culver Military Academy, 
and later from the University of Chicago, re- 
ceiving the degree of Bachelor of Philosophy 
and Doctor of Jurisprudence from that insti- 
tution. After his graduation he engaged in the 
practice of law in Chicago for about two years, 
but is now permanently located in Mt Carroll, 
in partnership with his father. 

On April 5, 1911, he was married in Ancon, 



Canal Zone, Panama, to Miss Florence A. Sco- 
field, formerly a student at the University of 
Chicago, but at the time a teacher in the United 
States government schools on the Canal Zone. 
They have one son, Heber Peart Hostetter, Jr., 
who was bom March 13, 1912. 

Mr. C. L. Hostetter's life has always been one 
of great activity. Aside from his law practice 
he has been connected with many business trans- 
actions, one of which was the organization of 
the Mt. Carroll Mutual County Fire Insurance 
Company in 1888. The first year It was organ- 
ized he was elected secretary of the company, 
which office he has held continuously . from that 
day to this. Through his careful management 
and indefatigable work the company has grown 
from year to year, until now it is the largest 
financial institution in the county. His 
thorough knowledge of the mutual fire insur- 
ance business led to his preparation of several 
articles and addresses delivered by him before ' 
the Illinois Association of Farmers Mutual In- 
surance Companies, and later published In their 
proceedings. On January 24, 1911, he was ap- 
pointed chairman of the Committee on Legisla- 
tion of that association. He has also written 
several historical sketches. In 1908, he wrote 
a monograph for the American Historical Asso- 
ciation on the British Occupation of the Illinois 
Country from 1763 to the time of the Surrender 
of Kaskaskia to George Rogers Clark. In 1909 
he contributed an article to the University of 
Chicago Magazine on "The Early Days at the 
University During War Times," in which he 
described the appreciation and love expressed 
by the people of Chicago for Mr. Lincoln at the 
time of his assassination. This article attracted 
attention in different parts of the United States. 
Robert T. Lincoln, son of the martyred presi- 
dent, wrote the author a personal letter, thank- 
ing him for what he said regarding his father. 
At one time Mr. Hostetter had in his charge 
the original emancipation proclamation, and he 
is now preparing a paper for the Illinois State 
Historical Association, giving a history of this, 
perhaps greatest of state papers. In the com- 
pilation of this history of Carroll county, Mr. 
Hostetter has spent his time and energy un- 
sparingly. Only those who have undertaken 
similar tasks can appreciate the work necessary 
to bring it to completion. It Is the most com- 
plete and accurate history of the county pub- 
lished. 



Digitized by 



Google 



818 



HISTORY OF CAEROLL COUNTY 



Upon the death of his wife, Mary P. Hos- 
tetter. Mr. Hostetter's sister, Miss Sarah, who 
was then principal of the domestic science de- 
partment of the high school of Janesville, Wis., 
gave up her work there to keep house for her 
brother. Through her elTorts the annual Christ- 
mas reunions of all the family at Wilderberg 
have been kept up from year to year, v«ry few 
having been missed in the last fifty years; 
likewise the Fourth of July celebration and 
picnic in which all the friends and neighbors 
participate. 

Miss Sarah was graduated in music, also from 
the literary department of the Mt. Carroll sem- 
inary, class of 1878. She was principal of the 
music department of Groton College, at Groton, 
S. Dak., and of the Breck school, Wilder, Minn., 
where her niece, Adallne Hostetter, was her 
assistant. She afterward studied domestic 
science, which was then In its infancy, at Lewis 
Institute in Chicago and Bradley Polytechnic 
Institute at Peoria, 111., and established the 
department of domestic science at the Francis 
Shimer School in 1902. 

In private life Mr. Hostetter occupies his 
time In aiding nature make more beautiful his 
already lovely home. He has undertaken the 
reforestration of a portion of his farm and has 
laid out the grounds about the house in wind- 
ing drives and paths, calling it Walderjia Park. 
As a further diversion and recreation he has 
engaged quite extensively in raising ginseng 
and orchids, which were found growing wild 
in parts of the yard. 

HOUGHTON, Roy I., who is one of the enter- 
prising and substantial citizens of Thomson, 
and a member of one of the old families of this 
part of the State, was born in Whiteside county, 
111., April 5, 1878, a son of Clarence B. Hough- 
ton, one of the highly respected retired resi- 
dents of Thomson. Roy I. Houghton attended 
the district schools and was creditably graduated 
from the Thomson and Mt Carroll high school 
in the class of 1896, after which he attended 
the Stineman Institute, at Dixon, 111. In the 
fall of 1898 he accepted a position as stenog- 
rapher in the offices of the Illinois Central Rail- 
road at La Salle, 111., for a short time, after 
which he moved to Clinton, 111., remaining with 
the railroad company until 1900, in which year 
he went to Seattle, Wash. For a time he was 
connected there with the Great Northern Rail- 



road Company, and for three months in the fall 
of 1901, was with a commission firm. After- 
ward he engaged in farming in York township, 
Carroll county, where he owns 240 acres of 
land, continuing until 1908, when he rented 
his farm and retired from the farm to Thom- 
son, where he has continued to reside. 

On February 24, 1904, Mr. Houghton was 
married to Miss Nellie Atherton by the Rev. 
Carpenter of the Christian Church of Thom- 
son, 111. She was bom in York township, 
January 7, 1880, a daughter of Sylvanus R. 
and Eugenia (Marshall) Atherton. Mr. Ather- 
ton was born in New York and was eleven years 
old when his parents came to Carroll county. 
During the Civil war he enlisted from this 
county. Mr. and Mrs. Houghton have two chil- 
dren: Mary, who was bom August 13, 1905; 
and Leona Beth, who was bom March 30, 1911. 
They attend the Christian Church, but are not 
members. In politics Mr. Houghton is a Repub- 
lican and has filled numerous township offices. 
He has served as tax collector and was elected 
police magistrate, but resigned after holding 
the office for one year. For two years he was 
secretary of the Johnson Creek Drainage Dis- 
trict, also the Savanna and York Drainage Dis- 
trict At present he is a member of the Thom- 
son school board, of which he is clerk. In all 
his official duties he has given satisfaction. For 
many years he has been a member of the 
Masonic fraternity, belonging to Lodge No. 559, 
at Thomson. He is also a Knight of Pythias, 
and belongs to the Mystic Workers. For two 
years Mr. Houghton served as worshipful master 
of the Masonic Lodge. Mrs. Houghton is a mem- 
ber of and takes much interest in the Woman's 
Relief Corps. The family is one of social prom- 
inence in Carroll county. 
• 

HUNGERFORD, Grant E.— It is only within 
recent years that cement has been utilized in 
almost every line of building and construction 
work, taking the place of other materials to a 
large extent, and as a contractor in cement and 
as bridge builder, Grant E. Hungerford is well 
known all over Carroll county. He was bom 
near Silver Creek, in Chautauqua county, N. Y., 
July 22, 1853, and is a son of John G. and Sarah 
Jane (Whaley) Hungerford. The parents of 
Mr. Hungerford were also bom in New York, 
the father on April 2, 1825, and the mother in 
1833. They came to Illinois in 1857 and settled 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



819 



at Mt. Carroll, where the father was a contrac- 
tor up to the time of his death, in 1899, his wife 
having passed away in 1877. They had six 
children: Grant E., Wesley, Clarence, Anna, 
Ernest, and Minnie. 

Under his father's instruction. Grant E. Hun- 
gerf ord, after his school period was over, learned 
bailding and contracting and all over Carroll 
county may be found, especially In bridge and 
cement work, testimonials as to his skill, good 
judgment and honesty, many of his contracts 
having been of exceeding importance. On Janu- 
ary 4, 1877, he was married to Miss Lena C. 
Young, daughter of John and Sarah (Clay) 
Young, the former of whom was bom in Penn- 
sylvania and the latter in Ohio. In 1846 they 
moved to Jo Daviess county, 111., the father of 
Mrs. Ilungerford engaging in farming. He died 
in 1854, when she was three months old, her 
mother surviving until 1859. Although thus 
early orphaned, Mrs. Hungerford enjoyed 
superior educational advantages and fitted her- 
self for teaching school. For two years she 
was a student in the high school and in 1873 
entered Mt. Carroll Seminary, where she re- 
mained one and one-half years. For several 
years she taught school both in Jo Daviess and 
also in Carroll county and made many friends 
in every section. Mrs. Hungerford had the fol- 
lowing brothers and sisters: Adam; Simeon, 
who is a retired farmer living at Lincoln, Neb. ; 
John, wbo is a retired farmer living at Peoria, 
lU. ; William, who is a resident of Los Angeles, 
CalifL ; Henry, who died in 1882 ; Emanuel, who 
is living In Illinois ; Elizabeth, who is the widow 
of Daniel Beaver, lives in Kansas; and Maria, 
who is the widow of Ira Hoat. Her half brother, 
William Brady and half sister, Mrs. Henry Blair, 
both live In Illinois. Mrs. Hungerford belonged 
to a very patriotic family, five of her brothers 
serving in the Civil War, one of them, Emanuel, 
enlisted when but seventeen years of age. An- 
other, Henry, died from the effects of a year's 
imprisonment in Libby Prison, Ridimond. 

Mr. and Mrs. Hungerford have had four chil- 
dren bom to them: Marian, who was born 
October 18, 1877, married Charles Gault, resid- 
ing at Chicago, 111., and they have had two chil- 
dren — Charles F. and Doris, the former of whom 
was accidentally drowned November 22, 1911, 
at the age of six years; John M., who married 
Btt-nlce Nelson, has four children — Elbert, Aus- 
tin, Katherine and William; Lee E., who was 



bom in 1884, resides at home and operates his 
own blacksmith shop at Mt. Carroll; and Fred, 
who was bom December 8, 1890, lives at home. 
Mr. Hungerford and family are members of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. Politically he is a 
Republican and has served two terms as alder- 
man. He is prominent in several fraternal or- 
ganizations, being a member of the Knights of 
Pythias, Modem Woodmen of America, Court 
of Honor, and Odd Fellows, and in the last 
named is a past grand official, while he also 
belongs to the Yeomans. Mrs. Hungerford is a 
member of the Royal Neighbors and in 1998 was 
sent as a delegate to Chicago, being vice presi- 
dent of her district organization. In 1878 Mr. 
and Mrs. Hungerford took a wagon trip to 
Nebraska, being three months on the road and 
enjoying themselves very much. They remained 
in Colorado for two years and in the West until 
1882, when they came back to Mt. Carroll, where 
they have lived ever since. 

HTINTER, Henry Frederick.— The time lias long 
gone by when Illinois farmers were contented 
with the mere tilling of the soil, satisfied with 
the yields from their fields, with no aspirations 
for the real comforts of living, for the better- 
ment of their communities or the educational 
advancement of their children. In no section of 
the State have greater clianges come about than 
In Carroll county, where there are men of 
intelligence, foresight and public spirit who have 
set a good example that has been followed by 
others. Henry Frederick Hunter is one of the 
above mentioned class. He was born in Wysox 
township, Carroll county. 111., January 16, 1858, 
and is a son of John H. and Emeline Alice 
(Wells) Hunter. 

Henry Hunter, the grandfather, was born in 
Mississippi and he married Mary F. Hughes, 
who was a native of Virginia. They went with 
their parents to Indiana, were married there, 
and in 1839 came to Carroll county. Til. They 
settled on the county line in South Elk- 
horn township at first and then moved on the 
line separating Ogle and Carroll counties, 
tills line running right through their house. 
Still later, Henry Hunter settled on sec- 
tion 1, Wysox township, where he acquired 
320 acres. He was an extensive farmer and 
also raised many fine horses. In March, 1879 
he sold that farm and bought land in Elkhorn 
township on which he made his home until his 



Digitized by 



Google 



820 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



death, August 12, 1886. He was one of the 
old-time Whigs and helped to organize the 
Republican party in Carroll county. His wife 
died June 2, 1883. They had eleven children, 
and of these there are four survivors: Mrs. 
Martha Scott, of Marysville, Cal.; George W., 
of Oregon; Henry Clay, who was county sur- 
veyor for many years and was the Inventor of 
a biplane many years before aviation was con- 
sidered practical; and James P., who lives at 
Sllverton, Ore. 

John H. Hunter was born in Indiana, in 1829, 
and died in Madison county, la., April 8, 1869. 
He was a man of fine character and was highly 
respected. He accompanied his parents to Illi- 
nois and grew to manhood on his father^s farm. 
Later he bought eighty acres in Wysox town- 
ship and lived there until 1867, when he moved 
to Iowa, settling first in Marshall county and 
later in Madison county. He had married Emily 
Alice Wells in Carroll county, an educated lady, 
who was then teaching school. After she was 
left a widow she resumed teaching In OarroU 
county, but subsequently married John H. 
Hawes, who is a substantial resident of Mil- 
ledgeville, 111. Mrs* Hawes comes of old Puritan 
stock and Presbyterian faith. Her mother lived 
to the age of ninety-five years. Of the family 
of four children bom to John H. Hunter and 
wife, Henry Frederick was the eldest, the others 
being: Nellie, who is the wife of W. C. Sloan, 
postmaster at Creed, Colo.; John W., who is 
a machinist with the Clinton Iron Bridge Com- 
pany, has two daughters, Zelia and Beryl, the 
latter being the wife of Henry Belchenbach ; and 
Emma, who is the wife of H. B. Hendrlck, a 
farmer in Wysox township. 

Henry Frederick Hunter accompanied the 
family back to Carroll county after the death 
of his father. He was instructed by his mother 
and also attended the district schools and made 
his home for a number of years with his grand- 
father. On October 17, 1888, he was married 
to Miss Minnie Spaulding, who was bom at Kil- 
boura, Wis., June 20, 1863. After marriage 
they settled on the present farm of eighty acres 
in Elkhom township, which was then all timber 
and stumps. In the comparatively short period 
since 1890 Mr. Hunter has accomplished the 
clearing and improving of his land and now 
owns a very valuable property. He is a man of 
progressive ideas and puts these into practice 
in his agricultural operations. His stock is all 



high-grade and his Shorthorn cattle are eligibU 
to register. To Mr. and Mrs. Hunter the fol- 
lowing children were bom: Blanche H., who 
is the wife of Charles R. Brandon, and they 
live at Albert Lea, Minn., where he conducts 
a wholesale confectionery business, both of them 
having formerly been successful teachers ; Ruth, 
who died when aged ten months; Jesse M., who 
was born September 2, 1893, was educated at 
MlUedgeville and Dixon college, and is now a 
successful teacher ; and Irma M., who was bom 
September 28, 1894, is still in school. Mr. and 
Mrs. Hunter have given their children educa- 
tional and other advantages and they have been 
prepared by the proper home atmosphere, to 
take their places In any situation to which life 
calls them. They have been given good litera- 
ture as the fine, well-selected home library ot 
400 volumes gives evidence, and by example 
and precept have been encouraged along right 
lines. Mr. Hunter cast his first presidential 
vote for Hon. James A. Garfield and has sup- 
ported Republican candidates ever since. He 
has served numerous local offices, is a member 
of the Republican County Central Oommlttee, 
for two years was township supervisor and for 
fifteen years has been a member of the school 
board. 

IRVINE, William, of Chippewa Falls, Wis., was 
bom at Mt Carroll, 111., October 28, 1851. His 
father, John Irvine, Sr., was from Indiana 
county. Pa., where he was bom January 20, 
1790, and his mother, Amanda M. Fitch, was 
bom August 12, 1809 in Delaware county, N. Y. 

John Irvine, Sr., was a soldier of the war 
of 1812, serving as sergeant in Capt. S. Ogle's 
company of Maryland militia. Father Irvine, 
as he was often called in later years, was cl<wely 
identified with the early history of Mt Carroll. 
He came here from Pittsburgh, Pa., in 1845, at 
which time he became interested in the mil> 
property with Messrs. N. Halderman and John 
Rinewalt, but several years later, be sold his 
Interest and was engaged In the mercantile 
business until his death, which occurred July 
21, 1875. 

William Irvine, the subject of this sketch, 
was educated at the Mt Carroll public schools 
and the seminary. At an early age be began his 
business career as a clerk on a Mississippi 
steamboat, engaged in towing rafts of lumber 
from the mills at Chippewa Falls, Wis., down 



Digitized by 



Google 




MARVIN ROOT 



Digiti 



zed by Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



821 



the river to market. In this maimer he became 
acquainted with the lumber business of the 
upper Mississippi river and its tributaries. For 
many years he has been the manager, having 
also an interest in the business, of the Chip- 
pewa Lumber and Boom Company, Chippewa 
Falls, Wis., manufacturers of lumber, of which 
company Mr. F. Weyerhauser is president. 

WiUiam Irvine was married October 28, 1873, 
at Mt Carroll, 111., to Adelaide M., daughter 
of Orlando S. and Eliza Elnora Beardsley. 

Although Mr. Irvine's home is at Chippewa 
Falls, he still has a warm place in his heart 
for Mt Carroll and his old friends. His father 
and mother are buried in the old cemetery on 
the hill, and not a year passes but that he 
comes to visit their graves. 

JAMES, Harry. — Many of the agriculturiats of 
an older generation are content with what they 
have accomplished in years gone by, and retire, 
leaving the active management of their prop- 
erty in the hands of capable sons. In this way 
they gain a leisure they have earned, and are 
able to give more attention to civic affairs, and 
the enjoyment of the comforts long denied them- 
selves. One of these representative retired 
farmers of Carroll county is Harry James of 
Mt Carroll township, who was bom near Els- 
ton, Cornwall, England, May 20, 1853, a son of 
William and Charlotte (Chewiddon) James, na- 
tives of the same place. They came to MiflUn 
county. Pa., in 1872, and in 1882, to OarroU 
county. III., making their home with Harry 
James until their death, his in 1895, aged 
seventy-three years, and hers In September, 1904, 
aged eighty-one years. They were the parents 
of ten children, of whom Harry was the seventh. 
Eight of these children came to America, four 
settling in Carroll county, and six still sur- 
vive: Richard, of Freedom township; Mary A., 
Mrs. Mary Freloor of Mt Carroll; Harry; 
EmUy, Mrs. Pierce of Memphis, Tenn.; Char- 
lotte Sheeters of Bedford, Pa. ; and William T. 
of Yanlcton, S. Dak. 

Harry James was educated in the public 
schools of England, and was brought up on a 
farm. When he came to Pennsylvania with his 
parents, he remained with them a short time, 
but on December 18, 1875, he came to Carroll 
county. III., commencing to work for Ross Hos- 
tetter. After a year, he engaged with C. L. Hos- 
tetter, and remained with him for fbur years. 



In December, 1880, Mr. James rented a farm 
of 200 acres of R. B. Hallet in Woodland town- 
ship, operating it for nine years, or until Decem- 
ber, 1889, when he moved to Jo Daviess county, 
renting of Ed. Strickland. After four years 
there, he returned to Woodland township, buy- 
ing a farm of 160 acres of James Patton. In 
six years, he sold this property at a profit, and 
bought 173 acres on section 23, Mt Carroll 
township, where he now resides, owning 243 
acres on section 23. He is a Republican politi- 
cally, and has held several township offices. 
He and his family &ve members of the Evangel- 
ical church. 

In January, 1873, he was married in Penn- 
sylvania to Sarah B. Vincent, bom in York 
county. Pa., February 18, 1855, daughter of 
Harry S. and Sarah (Wagoner) Vincent, the 
former being a native of London, England. Mr. 
and Mrs. Vincent came to Carroll county, 111., 
in 1875, and located in Mt Carroll. Mrs. Vin- 
cent died in 1884, and Mr. Vincent was drowned 
in a creek in Woodland township in 1886. Mr. 
and Mrs. James are the parents of one son, 
William H., bom in Huntington county. Pa., in 
April, 1875. He was educated in the public 
schools of Mt OarroU and those of Jo Daviess 
county, and has always resided with his par- 
ents. In 1895, he was married to Annie Millets, 
bom in Jo Daviess county, 111., who died in 
1897, aged twenty-two years, leaving one child, 
Daisy James, living with her father. Mr. 
James was married the second time, in 1899, to 
Minnie James, born in Comwall, England, in 
1878, a daughter of Richard and Mary (Tre- 
door) James. They came to Carroll county 
about 1895. Mr. and Mrs. James have three 
children: Mabel Albertine, Harry R. and Wal- 
ter M. While now retired from active pur- 
suits, Harry James yet resides on the farm, 
being content to leave matters in the care of his 
son who is one of the best farmers in the county. 

JOEBGEN, William 6., who has a reputation 
as a careful and successful breeder of high 
class Percheron horses, which extends well over 
the state, with a stock farm near Chadwick, III., 
was bora in Clinton county, la., October 20, 
1876, and is a son of An tone and Anna (Uhl- 
rich) Joebgen. The mother is of French ances- 
try and was born in Wisconsin. The father 
was bom in Germany and was eleven years of 
age when he accompanied his parents to the 



Digitized by 



Google 



822 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



United States, they settling six miles north of 
Clinton, la. There he grew to manhood and in 
1875 was married to Anna Uhlrlch. 

Antone Joebgen and wife lived with their chil- 
dren in Clinton county, until 1879, when he 
removed to Crawford county, with his family 
and there bought 160 acres of fine land, which 
he subsequently sold to advantage. lu 1803 he 
bought 480 acres in Crawford county and put 
all of it under fine cultivation. He was inter- 
ested also in stock breeding and developed ex- 
cellent judgment along this line and in the 
course of years became on# of the best known 
horse breeders in the state of Iowa. In 1899 
he disposed of both stock and land and moved 
to Chickasaw county, la., where he bought 160 
acres, and remained on that place until he re- 
tired from activity, settling in a beautiful home 
in Dubuque, la., where he and wife enjoy every 
comfort of life. They are devoted members of 
the Catholic church. In all sections in which 
Mr. Joebgen has resided, the same opinion has 
been held concerning him and is still repeated, 
that he is an honest and upright man in all his 
dealings. At times he served in local offices but 
was never what might be termed a politician. 
To Antone Joebgen and wife twelve children 
were bom, eight sons and four daughters and, 
as typical of the sturdy stock from which they 
have come, all this noble family still live, the 
eldest being William G. Mathew, the second 
son, is a farmer in Pennington county, S. Dak., 
and Frank, the next brother, is a farmer in the 
same section. H^nry carries on firming in 
Chickasaw county, la. Mary is the wife of Wil- 
liam Sauber, a farmer in Nebraska. Hannah 
and Maggie are both teachers of music and re- 
side with their parents. Gertrude is the wife of 
a resident of Dubuque, where Joseph also livea 
Ernest, the next in order of birth, is in the 
drug business at Dubuque. John is a graduate 
of the Dubuque Business College, in the class of 
1911, while the youngest, Leonard, lives at home 
and is a drug clerk. 

From boyhood William G. Joebgen has been 
accustomed to handling stock and after his 
school days were over, had many responsibili- 
ties on his shoulders, as his father's eldest son 
and main helper. From 1897 until 1898 he 
worked for himself, by the month. He bought 
his first Percheron stallion when a colt, paying 
$325 for him, kept him for four years and then 
sold for $600. In 1902 he purchased Julius, a 



pure bred Percheron stallion, for which he 
paid the sum of $600, owned him three months, 
and then sold him for $900, these business trans* 
actions showing that Mr. Joebgen is a shrewd 
and able business man. In 1908 he came to 
Thomson, Carroll county. 111., and for two 
years worked by the month on farms, and in 
1909 bought the pure bred Percheron stallion 
colt, Black Richmond, registered by the Illinois 
Stallion Registering Board, No. 27173, the pedi- 
gree being unquestioned. Black Richmond was 
bred by Alkman Bros., of Lyons, la., color black, 
breed Percheron, foaled in the year 1909. The 
report states that he was duly examined and 
that he Is registered as No. 67641 in the Stud 
Book of the Percheron Society of America. All 
lovers of fine horses agree on the qualities and 
points of this beautiful animal. In February, 
1911, Mr. Joebgen took his horse to South Da- 
kota but In December following brought him 
back to Chadwick. Mr. Joebgen Is justly proud 
of owning so magnificent a specimen, and Car- 
roll county is indebted to him for his enterprise 
In raising the standard of horses here. 

JOHNSON, Hans, one of the most extensive 
contractors of Carroll county, who has erected 
many of the finest buildings In this part of 
the State, was born in Denmark, February 3, 
1852. At the age of fourteen years he began 
learning the trade of a mason, becoming an 
expert In 1872 he erected the largest anoke- 
stack ever put up In Denmark. Coming to 
America In 1882, the following year he arrived 
at Savanna, which has since been his home. 
He soon began contracting for the erection of 
buildings and went Into partnership with a 
Mr. Burk, which connection continued until 1888, 
when Mr. Burk retired from active life. 

Mr. Johnson has erected most of the brick 
buildings in Savanna, having built tw^ity-eight 
on Main street alone. He also put up the Bap- 
tist Church edifice, the Chicago avenue school 
and the addition to the Lincoln school, besides 
residences in various parts of the city. He 
erected the Mt Carroll school building, con- 
ceded to be the best In the county, also Hatha- 
way Hall, East Hall, Metcalf Hall, and the 
electric light plant at Mt. Carroll. He built 
the Farmers' Bank and four stores in Chad- 
wick and the bank at Milledgeville. He is 
known as the most honest and reliable con- 
tractor in northwestern Illinois, and is always 



Digitized by 



Google 




Digiti 



zed by Google 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



823 



rushed with orders and contracts waiting to 
be completed. 

Upon locating in Savanna Mr. Johnson bnilt 
a small house, 14 x 22 feet and had to dig two 
feet on one side and use twelve-foot posts on 
the other side. From that rough gully he has 
developed one of the handsomest and pictur- 
esque streets of the city. In 1892 he erected 
the large and handsome residence he now occu- 
pies, on the site of his first house, having at 
one time owned the entire block. 

On August 5, 1882, Mr. Johnson married 
Bemherdine Nelson, who came from Denmark 
on the same ship as he, and they have children 
as follows: Fred, who was bom August 31, 
1883; Carl, who was born October 24. 1887; 
Hans, who was bom February 11, 1888; Eliza- 
beth, who was bom January 26, 1889; Anna, 
who was bora April 3, 1890; Julius, who was 
bom July 30, 1894 ; Alfred, who was born March 
3, 1898; Elizabeth, Julius and Bemherdine, who 
died in infancy. Mr. Johnson is a Democrat in 
politics and is a member of the Danish Lutheran 
Church. He is proud of the position he has 
won by his own efforts and is recognized as a 
man of good business judgment and enterprise. 
In 1909 he made a visit to his native country, 
which he enjoyed exceedingly. 

KEARNEY, Francis.— One of the distinctive 
features of the smaller cities and towns of 
Illinois, is the location in them of men who 
have left the strenuous life of an agriculturist 
for the comfort and ease of more urban resi- 
dence. One of the substantial retired farmers 
of Savanna, who has fairly eamed the rest he 
is now taking, is Francis Kearney, bom at 
Galena, 111., March 16, 1844, son of Hugh and 
Mary Ann (Reilly) Kearney. Both were natives 
of Ireland, brought here at the ages of sixteen 
and nine years, respectively. The father worked 
In the mines of Galena for years, but later became 
a farmer. He was quite a traveler, having been 
In the Hudson Bay region, from whence he came 
to Scales Mo«nd, Galena, Apple River, and 
arrived at Savanna in 1858, where he con- 
tinued farming until his death, March 21, 1885, 
aged seventy-three years. He and his wife were 
consistent members of the Catholic Church, but 
he was burled by the Methodist Church. Polit- 
ically, he was a Democrat. The mother passed 
away April 14, 1880. The father had a brother, 



Francis, who came to this country, but only 
remained a year. 

Mr. Kearney grew up to hard work, and was 
educated in the district school. Adopting farm- 
ing as his life work, he was very successful, 
at one time owning 300 acres of valuable farm- 
ing land in Carroll county, two miles southeast 
of Savanna. He has Invested largely in city 
property, having a deep faith in the future of 
Savanna. When his country had need of his 
services, Mr. Kearney enlisted August 2, 1862, 
In Company C, Ninety-second Illinois Volunteer 
Infantry, under Captain Stover, and participated 
in the battles of Chickamauga, Missionary 
Ridge, Resaca, and others, aggregating twenty- 
three in all. He was mustered out on July 
9, 1865, at Concord, Md. 

Mr.. Keamey was married by Judge Patch, 
May 6, 1866, to Miss Helen Gray, a daughter 
of Reuben H. and Abby Gray. She died Novem- 
ber 11, 1901, and is buried in the Savanna 
cemetery. Mr. Gray was deputy county sur- 
veyor for years. Mr. and Mrs. Kearney had 
the following children : Myrtle, who Is the wife 
of John Bogue of Oklahoma, seven children, 
B. Francis, George, Arthur, John R., Ellen S., 
Loren and Benjamin; Reuben, who is a pas- 
senger conductor on the Milwaukee & St. Paul 
Railroad, at Dubuque, la., has two children, 
Walter and Charles; Mary, who is the wife 
of Henry Radke, a fanner of Carroll county, 
Minnie, Lizzie Hartley and Catherine, who 
is the wife of Dr. George Cottral of Savanna ; 
Louise, of Dubuque, la., who Is the wife of 
Walter Graham, a conductor on the Milwaukee 
& St Paul Railroad; and Helen G., who died 
June 31, 1891, and is buried at Savanna. There 
are nine grandchildren in the family. Mr. 
Keamey Is a member of the Masons, Modem 
Woodmen of America, and the local G. A. R. 
Post, No. 406. Staunch in his Republicanism, 
he has been road commissioner for twenty-five 
years, city marshal for two years and constable 
for eight years. Reliable, conscientious and 
substantial, Mr. Keamey has always done what 
he believed to be his full duty, both as a soldier 
and citizen. 

EINGERY, Andrew J. — Some of the most sub- 
stantial agriculturalists of Carroll county, are 
native-born sons of the county, whose lives have 
been spent amid rural surroundings, and who 
have been reared to farm work from childhood. 



Digitized by 



Google 



824 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



One of the most prosperous farmers of this 
locality is Andrew J. Kingery of section 8, 
Salem township, bom In Mt Carroll township, 
July 6, 1866, a son of Darid and Elizabeth 
(Boyer) Kingery. The father was born In Hag- 
erstown, Md., and the mother In Franklin county, 
Pa. 

Andrew J. Kingery was educated In the dis- 
trict schools and helped on the farm until he 
was eighteen years old, when he went to work 
as a farm hand, thus continuing until 1889, when 
he rented his father's farm of 292 acres In 
Salem township, where he has been farming 
since that time. In 1898, he bought the farm, 
which now contains 276 acres, and Is called 
Meadowdale. Here he carries on general farm- 
ing, and raises full-blooded Aberdeen-Angus cat- 
tle and Hampshire hogs. Politically a Repub- 
lican, he has been a school director for the past 
twenty-fbur years, and road overseer for the 
same length of time. Fraternally he is a mem- 
ber of the Mt Carroll lodge Odd Fellows. Mrs. 
Kingery belongs to Royal Neighbors and Re- 
beccas. 

On July 1, 1884, Mr. Kingery was married to 
Martha E. Kuhn, bom in Lee county. 111., March 
28, 1863, a daughter of Philip and Mary (Kuhn) 
Kuhn, natives of Maryland, who moved to 
Cedar Rapids, la., In 1865. There Mrs. Kingery 
lived until her marriage, and there her parents 
died, the father, July 23, 1893, and the mother, 
July 4, 1903. Mr. and Mrs. Kingery have had 
nine children: Mrs. Ada M. Hanson, of Cedar 
Rapids, la., who has one son, Lawrence; Mrs. 
Bessie E. Beck, of Buffalo, N. Y., has one son, 
Paul; Jay Walter, who is with his parents; 
Mrs. Louisa E. Derrer, of Murdo, S. Dak., has 
one son, Lloyd; David Franklin; Edith Mary; 
Charles Earl; Andrew Theodore and Ruth 
Marian. The last five children are at home. 
Few people are better known in Carroll county 
than those belonging to the Kingery kin and 
they have won their standing through con- 
scientious, upright living, and kindly interest 
in the affairs of others, giving a hearty sym- 
pathy and helping hand whenever needed. An 
excellent farmer, Mr. Kingery is recognized as 
an authority upon stock matters, and Is a good 
citizen and loyal friend. Mrs. Kingery is very 
fond of poultry and her magnificent fiock of 
several hundred White Plymouth chickens and 
her ducks are a source of pleasure to her. 



KINGERY, Charles M.— The banking interesU 
of Chadwick are in the hands of as able finan- 
ciers as are to be found in Oarroll county, if 
not in the State, and as a consequence the 
monied affairs of this locality are in excellent 
condition. The Bank of Chadwick is fortunate 
in having connected with it a person of the ex- 
perience and abUlty of Charles M. Kingery, 
whose long association with this institution ex- 
tends over a period of more than twenty years. 
Mr. Kingery was bom at Mt Carroll, IlL, 
October 27, 1869, a son of David and Eliza- 
beth Kingery. David Kingery, now deceased, 
was a farmer, and his life is treated of at length 
elsewhere In this work, 

Charles M. Kingery was educated in the pub- 
lic schools of Mt Carroll, Mt Morris Busi- 
ness College, and the Davenport, la., Business 
College. The first fourteen years of his liffe, 
he spent on his father's farm, following whldi 
he spent two years at school, and then for six 
years was clerk in a grocery store. He did 
not scorn small beginnings, but sawed wood, and 
was first chore boy about the grocery store. 
He then drove a delivery wagon, and having 
learned the business from the bottom, became 
clerk in the establishment of Uchty & Stak- 
miller of Mt. Carroll, which firm he served 
faithfully until entering the Bank of Chadwick 
as derk and bookkeeper, December 1, 1891, 

On November 14, 1894, Mr. Kingery was mar- 
ried to Eda Mary McLaughlin, daughter of D. 
N. McLaughlin, a sketch of whom appears else- 
where in this work. Mr. and Mrs. Kingery 
became the parents of children as follows: 
Helen L., who was bom October 16, 1896; John 
D., who was bom July 29, 1898; Robert H., 
who was bom September 20, 1904; and Sarah 
Elizabeth, who was bom March 30, 1910. Mr. 
Kingery is a Knight Templar and Shriner, and 
very active in Masonic circles. The R^ublican 
party holds his fealty, and he served for seven 
terais as mayor of Chadwick, giving the city an 
able, businesslike administration, and inaugurat- 
ing many much needed reforms. 

In addition to his beautiful fiome in Chad- 
wick, Mr. Kingery owns a fine farm in Carroll 
county, and is a man of substance. His com- 
prehensive knowledge of the banking business, 
and practical application of it, have made him 
one of the leaders in financial circles in Carroll 
county, and he is often called upon to give ad- 
vice and material assistance in the carrying out 



Digitized by 



Google 




MRS. GEORGE A. ROOT 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



Digiti 



zed by Google 




tiKnlU.K \. \\n\>T 



Digiti 



zed by Google 






. A 0> 






^:;' 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



827 



but the old homestead is yet in the possession 
of the family. Francis M. Knox was the young- 
est bom of the twelve children and was four 
years old when his parents came to Elkhom. 
Here he grew up and remained until 1849 when 
he Joined a party that set out across the plains 
in search of gold. He went as far west as Pike*s 
Peak and had many adventures but shortly after- 
ward returned to Illinois althoufi^ the two 
brothers who had accompanied him remained 
in Colorado and subsequently died there. After 
Francis M. Knox married he bought a farm in 
Whiteside county, Just over the Carroll county 
line, and there he lived until the time of 
death, January 14, 1900. He was a well in- 
formed man and one who was highly respected. 
He was a Republican from principle but would 
never accept any public office except that of 
school director. For many years he was a mem- 
ber of the Order of Odd Fellows. 

Francis M. Knox married Susan Johnson, who 
was bom in 1835, a daughter of Barney Johnson, 
and she still occupies the old homestead. Eight 
children were horn to them, four sons, and 
four daughters, namely: Lettle, who married 
Jesse Steffens, a farmer in Elkhom township, 
is now deceased, survived by two children; 
Richard, who is a farmer in Whiteside county; 
Frank, who lives at Guthrie, Oklahoma; Wil- 
liam, who died when aged fourteen years ; Alice, 
who is the widow of William McDearmond, re- 
sides with her four dilldren at Lincoln, Ne- 
braska ; Benjamin 0. ; Lole, who is the wife of 
Berd Roeecrans, of Guthrie, Oklahoma, and they 
have three children ; and Bertha, who is the wife 
of Edward Hudson, who is a farmer on the old 
homestead in Whiteside county. 

Benjamin C. Knox spent his boyhood days on 
his father*8 farm and attended the district 
schools and later took a course in the Sterling 
high school. In 1889 he took charge of the farm 
on which he was bom, renting the same for one 
year, and in 1890, in partnership with his brother 
Ridiard Knox, bought a threshing outfit For 
twenty-one years each season finds Mr. Knox 
attending to the threshing business, so arranging 
that none of his other interests will suffer. In 
1905 he bought 100 acres of fine land on sec- 
tion 7, Elkhom township, having lived on land 
here owned by himself and wife since 1894. In 
1907 he erected his commodious modern residence 
and substantial buildings for stock and other 



farm purposes, and all surroundings indicate a 
large amount of thrift and comfort 

On November 28, 1894, Mr. Knox was married 
to Miss Belle Spaulding, who was bom at Kil- 
boum City, Dane county. Wis., October 26, 
1874, a daughter of Samuel and Margaret Tol- 
lifison Spaulding. Her father was bom at El- 
mira, N. Y., August 18, 1821, and came to Car- 
roll county in 1839, later moving to Wisconsin. 
In 1851 he married Margaret Tolliflsou. For 
many years he operated a ferry boat across the 
Wisconsin River, but In 1876 retumed to Car- 
roll county and engaged in farming until his 
death in 1905, his wife dying in the same year. 
She was a native of Norway and was brought 
to America by her parents, who settled at Racine, 
Wis., in 1836, and was one of a family of nine 
children. To Mr. and Mrs. Knox three children 
have been bom, namely: Paul, who was born 
September 3, 1906 ; Margaret, May 28, 1907 ; and 
Ruth, bom January 8, 1909. Mr. and Mrs. Knox 
attend what is known as the Union Church at 
West Elkhom. Politically he is an ardent Re- 
publican and a man of much influence in party 
matters in his section and is a member of sev- 
eral of the important county committees. He 
served five years as township collector, one year 
as township clerk, and in 1910 was elected a 
member of the board of supervisors. 

LAHSE, John.— Many of the farmers of Car- 
roll county have combined the operation of a 
threshing machine with their agricultural pur- 
suits with profitable results, for some of those 
engaged in farming are not able to buy a 
thresher, but are anxious to secure the use of 
one during harvest time. One of the men 
formerly engaged along these two lines is John 
Lahre, now living retired at Savanna. He was 
bom in Union county, Pa., September 28, 1834, 
son of Henry and Sarah (Mangier) Lahre, the 
former bom at Baltimore, Md., in 1802, and the 
latter in Union county, Pa. The father came 
to Illinois in 1844, entering 160 acres of land 
from the government, near Pearl City, west of 
Freeport, on which he died in 1892, his widow 
surviving him until 1894. He was a shoemaker 
by trade, but while residing in Pennsylvania, 
was employed in a distillery for a period. 

John Lahre was reared and educated in the 
country districts of Stephenson county. 111. 
Leaving school, he operated his father's farm 
for several years. In 1863, he enlisted in Corn- 



Digitized by 



Google 



828 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



pany O, Forty-sixth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, 
under Captain Arnold and Edward White, and 
participated in the battle of Champion's Hill, 
and the Siege of Vicksburg, being wounded at 
the former. He served until 1866, when he was 
honorably discharged at Baton Rouge, La,, re- 
turning to Stephenson county, immediately 
thereafter. In 1885, he came to Savanna, and 
tor eight years worked in the coal sheds for the 
Chicago, Milwaukee & St Paul Railroad. 
About fifteen years ago, he retired, and built 
his handsome residence in 1892. 

In 1857, Mr. Lahre married Lucy Penticoflf, 
daughter of John and Elizabeth (Keister) Pen- 
ticoflf. Her parents came to Illinois in 1847, 
taking up land near Pearl City. By trade Mr. 
Penticoflf was a stone mason. His death oc- 
curred about 1892, and his wife passed away 
about 1889. Mr. and Mrs. T^ahre became the 
parents of children as follows: Sarah E., 
wife of Erastus Page, who served in the 
Civil War; one who died in infancy; An- 
drew Jackson, who is an electrician of Sa- 
vanna; John, who was bom in 1864, is also 
an electrician; Anna, who is the wife of 
Edward Koser, a helper in the round house of 
the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad; 
Isaac, who is a farmer of Savanna ; Laura, who 
is the wife of George Gray of White Water, 
Wis.; Lettie, who is the wife of John Allfish; 
Ida, who is the wife of Frank BYedrick ; Henry, 
who is a machinist of Savanna ; Paul, who is a 
carpenter of Havre; and William, who is of 
Savanna. There are nine grandchildren in the 
family. 

During his long life, Mr. Lahre has cast but 
one presidential vote, and that was for Bu- 
chanan. He heard the famous debate between 
Lincoln and Douglas at Freeport, and remem- 
bers the occasion very well. During the many 
years he has lived in Illinois, he has witnessed 
numerous changes, bearing his part in some of 
them, and his recollections of those early days 
are intensely interesting. 

LAMPERT, Albert J., of Lanark, a public- 
spirited and progressive citizen, formerly in- 
cumbent of the oflace of deputy state food in- 
spector, was bom in Freeport, 111., March 4, 
1857, a son of Joseph and Elizabeth (Geiser) 
Lampert. Joseph Lampert was bom in Austria 
and came to America as a young man, locating 
In Freeport In 1850, establishing himself in 



business there as a building contractor. He 
died in 1876 and his widow survived him until 
1909. She was born in Canton-Berne, Switzer- 
land. They had nine children. The father be- 
longed to Bissels Engineers and served during 
the Civil war. He was taken prisoner by Hood*s 
command; served three years. 

The education of Albert J. Lampert was ac- 
quired in his native city and after leaving school 
he learned the trade of a barber under Louis 
Jungkenz, of Freeport Some years later he 
went to Lena, 111., and conducted a shop of 
his own there for five years. He came to Lanark 
In 1881, and worked for Rudolph Luecke for 
over one year when he started in a shop which 
he conducted until 1907, when he turned it over 
to his son, Charles I. 

The marriage of Mr. Lampert occurred in 
1880, when he was united with Margaret E., 
daughter of John W. Weber, and they became 
parents of tlie following children: Charles I., 
who was born in Lanark, May 26, 1882, attended 
the Lanark high school and resides at home; 
Irma A., who was bom in Lanark, July 5, 1888, 
is a graduate of the Lanark high school and also 
took a course in sketching and drawing at the 
Acme school of drawing, in Kalamazoo, Mich., 
after finishing she married Roy Greenawalt, a 
farmer near Lanark. Mr. Lampert was reared 
in the Lutheran faith but is not now a member 
of any church. Fraternally he is a member of 
the I. O. O. F. and the M. W. A., being especially 
prominent in the latter order. He was the first 
delegate from the Lanark Camp to the first 
Woodmen state convention at Springfield; for 
fourteen years served as clerk of Lanark Camp, 
and was for one term venerable consul of same. 

Politically Mr. Lampert is a stanch Repub- 
lican and served two terms as alderman of the 
second ward of Lanark, declining to serve again. 
In 1899 he was elected mayor of the city and 
served one term in this office. Mr. Lampert 
when in office was prime mover in securing 
lights, water and cement walks. He also built 
the water tower and the water plant He served 
two years as county central committeeman and 
has been a delegate to numerous conventions. 
He was appointed deputy state food inspector 
May 15, 1909, and traveled all over Illinois in 
the discharge of his official duties, standing 
high in the estimation of his fellows to whom 
he is well known as a man of sterling integrity 
and high principle. His fine home in West 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



829 



Lanark is owned by him as well as some other 
city property, and with his brothers he has an 
interest in the estate left by their mother, con- 
sisting of some store buildings, which they have 
not yet divided. Mr. Lampert has always been 
charitable and helped all those in need. 

LANDON, George Ivan, of the firm of Asa A. 
Landon, is one of the progressive farmers and 
stockmen of Carroll county. He and his brother 
have been operating the Landon homestead as 
a fine stock farm, specializing on blooded horses. 
Both brothers were bom on this farm, George 
I., January 28, 1867, and Asa, February 5, 1854. 
They are the sons of George W. and Martha J. 
(Thompson) Landon. The father is a native 
of Delhi, Delaware county, N. Y., who came to 
Carroll county at a very early day. He and his 
brother, Miles Z., were pioneers of this part of 
the state, and became active in politics. The 
latter became sheriff of Carroll county, and 
was known as Squire Landon. 

George W. Landon built a blacksmith shop 
and worked at his trade, making the first steel 
plows used in this section. He made the plow 
that broke the sod of the site of the little city 
of Polo. Qis plows had a sale all over the 
northern part of the state, for he was a good 
mechanic and conscientious in his work. Un- 
til 1857, he continued in this line of work, and 
then built a mill on the Elldiom, and operated 
it day and night for many years. It yet stands 
and is known as the Freemont mill, the name 
being given it by Chauncy Jenkins in a speech 
when the mill was being raised. It was largely 
patronized until the roller mills were built in 
various parts of the country, and the Landon 
brothers still grind cornmeal for farmers in 
their locality, and use the machinery for light 
sawing for their own use. 

The mother, Martha J. (Thompson) Landon, 
came of Scotch and Irish ancestry, and In her 
family were men and women of strong char- 
acter. After marriage Mr. and Mrs. Landon 
settled in the house now owned by their sons, 
and there six children were bom to them: 
Amelia, who married (first) Herbert W. Page, 
issue— Herbert W. of Rockford, 111., and (sec- 
ond) Charles H. Sunderland, of Rockford ; Lola 
M., deceased, who was the wife of W. M. 
Brown, of Dixon, 111., issue — Lula P., widow of 
Dr. Burton Vaughn, of Dixon, 111.; Capitola, 
who is the widow of M. M. Lewis, was formerly 



of RocliLford, issue — Madge, wife of Alexander 
Gaird, of Rockford, and Lola Lewis, of Rock- 
ford; and Polly, wife of George M. Grombie, of 
Forreston, 111., issue — Charles CJrombie; Asa A., 
and George I. The father was not interested 
in political matters, although often urged to ac- 
cept nomination, preferring to give his time and 
attention to his work. However, he was always 
glad to forward any worthy measure looking 
towards the moral or material advancement of 
his conmdunity, and was extremely charitable, 
no one ever being turned hungry away from his 
door. Until within a few years of his death, 
he took pleasure in repairing farm implements, 
and was proud of his skill at this kind of work. 
The death of this excellent man occurred in 
1893, and his wife died soon thereafter. Eight 
years before he died, his brother. Miles, passed 
to his reward. There are many rifies and 
butcher knives still in use that were made by 
this skilled mechanic. 

Asa A. Landon learned the blacksmith trade, 
and worked at it for a number of years, but 
George I. developed into a horse breeder. His 
running horse, Belle Redmond, bought at Fair- 
bury, Neb., was at one time well known in 
this part of the state. In 1896, George and his 
brother bought eighty acres of land on section 
6, Elkhom Grove township, to which they liave 
added until they own 120 acres. Their stallion 
Nonesuch, bred by August Belmont, of N. Y., 
was one bf the first imported running horses in 
this part of the state. Nonesuch is a son of 
Imp the ill-used sire of the futurity winner, 
His Highness, the only thoroughbred two-year- 
old colt to win more than $100,000 in a single sea- 
son. This stallion was also the sire of the race 
horse Badge, winner of many high class races, 
who finished second in the Brooklyn handicap 
of 1890. For the past twenty years the Landon 
brothers have been breeding from this fine stock, 
and among their finest horses were Kaufman 
and Callie Lilly. While with his horses when 
they were entered for races, George I. Landon 
studied their diseases and has developed into a 
skilled veterinary, being one of the best posted 
men in his line with regard to chronic and sup- 
posed diseases that many others were not com- 
petent to handle, and has effected cures when 
the horses have been given up. One of his 
remedies is designed to cure that usually fatal 
disea5^ known as "pink eye." 

While one brother is breeding horses and 



Digitized by 



Google 



830 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



8tadying their diseases, the other Is developing 
along mechanical lines, and in 1907, procured 
a patent on a new and useful implement to be 
used in the noses of hogs to prevent their root- 
ing. It is a disk mounted on ordinary wire, 
with a central hole and a series of barbs around 
its edge. It is adjusted easily and is perfectly 
adapted for its proposed use. 

The whole family are musicians and in the 
old days when all were together both organ and 
violin were played and the Joyous voices Joined 
in singing. Many times the old homestead was 
the scene of gatherings where dancing was the 
chief feature and the brothers look back with 
tender memories to those periods before the fam- 
ily separated. Like their father, they are Spir- 
itualists, and believe that they enter into com- 
munication with their loved ones gone before, 
and are comforted by the messages they are 
convinced are sent to them from time to time. 
There are few who stand any higher in public 
esteem than these two, who are so intimately 
associated with the development of Carroll 
county. 

LICHTT, Ellas D., a substantial retired farm- 
er, whose sldll as an agriculturist was recog- 
nized throughout Carroll County during the 
years he was in active life, and who is regarded 
as an authority upon matters pertaining to 
farming, is now residing at Lanark. He was 
bom in Somerset, Pa., August 19, 1851, a son 
of Levi and Ann Lichty, natives of the same 
place. These parents came to Lee county, IlL, 
at an early day, but after a few years, moved 
to Carroll county, arriving here in 1868, and 
locating on a farm. The father had the follow- 
ing children: EMas D.; Urlas M., deceased; 
W. H., of Kansas City, Mo. ; Mrs. Eouna Puter- 
baugh, of Chicago; Cora Gordon, of Lakeside, 
Wash. 

Ellas D. Lichty received a common school edu- 
cation, and grew up to farm life. He secured 
bis father's homestead of 160 acres of fine land, 
four miles southeast of Lanark, where he became 
an extensive grain and stock grower, thus con- 
tinuing until his retirement to Lanark. He 
built his handsome residaice in Lanark, in 1904. 

On October 21, 1876, Mr. Lichty was married 
(first) to Cora Rodrick, daughter of George 
Rodriek, a native of Maryland. She died Octo- 
ber 25, 1908. By this marriage Mr. Lichty had 
children as follows: Raymond, who was bom 



in 1877, lives at home; Iva J., who was bom 
December 22, 1885, is a very accomplished young 
lady, a graduate of Lanark high school, now a 
teacher in the Lanark school; Leroy W., who 
died January 14, 1912; and Ruth W., who was 
bom August 16, 1891, is at home Mr. Lidity 
was married (second) May 14, 1911, to Mrs. 
Anna Homing, daughter of Oliver and Marga- 
ret (Richardson) Smith, natives of P^m^yl- 
vania, where the father was bom February 2, 
1831. The mother died October 12, 1867. He 
and his wife had the following family: Mrs. 
Lichty and MiU Margaret Langer of Altoona. 
By her first marriage, Mrs. Lldity had two 
children : Mrs. Sadie Asay, who is of Mt Car- 
roll; and Albert Homing, who is anployed at 
Savanna by the Chicago, Burlingt<m & Quincy 
Railroad. Mr. Lichty is a member of the Breth- 
ren Church. Politically, he is a Democrat, and 
has served as sdioc^ director for fifteen years. 
He is a man widely known and universally re- 
spected, and his name stands ^or uprightness and 
honesty of purpose. 

LIVSN600D, Henry.— The church has always 
exerted a beneficial infiuence upon the liyes of 
men and the progress of communities. When a 
church is established in a locality, its begin- 
nings in trae civilization are written, and be- 
- cause of this and the power of the moral force 
it exerts, the men instrumental in bringing about 
its organization, and continuing its healthy 
growth, are deserving of more than passing men- 
tion. The establishment and progressive advan<:-o- 
ment of the Brethren Church of Milledgeville 
are due to the efforts of the Livengood family, 
whose united efforts have been directed towards 
making this denomination a religious power in 
Carroll county. One of the most active in cburdi 
work at present in this locality, is Henry Liven- 
good, a retired farmer of Milledgeville. He was 
bom in Somerset county, Pa., July 5, 1845, be- 
ing a son of Abraham and Anna (Meyers) 
Livengood. 

Abraham Livengood, one of the grand old men 
of CJarroll county, whose memory will long be 
cherished, was born in Somerset county. Pa., 
September 22, 1822, and died in Milledgeville^ 
February 13, 1890. In 1854, he came to Carroll 
county, locating on 320 acres of land whidi he 
developed into so fliue a property that it is still 
pointed out as one of the model farms of the 
county. At one time he owned 840 acres of land, 



Digitized by 



Google 




J%va 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



I 






Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



831 



but eventaally disposed of mach of it, and in 
1884 reti|;^d, intending to pass tbe r^nainder of 
his life among his children, but his active spirit 
could not rest content, and in 1886, he in con- 
junction with a Mr. Knapp built a two-story 
brick structure on Main street. In this build- 
ing, the two, who had formed a partnership, con- 
ducted a first class mercantile business. Mr. 
Livengood was far seeing, and often when laud 
was selling for a trifle an acre, would declare 
that he firmly believed he would live to see it 
held for $100 per acre, and his faith was more 
than Justified. He was instrumental in the 
upbuilding of the new part of Milledgeville, and 
was prominent in advancing educational matters. 
However, he was more active in church work 
than anything else. While living in Pennsylvania 
he was a Dunkard, and continued to espouse that 
faith untU the formation of the progressive 
Dunkai^ church, known as the Brethren, when 
he became one of its most enthusiastic sup- 
porters, heljtog to build the church, and direct 
its government When he died, full of years, 
after a useful and hai^y life, the whole com- 
munity mourned him, and attended his funeral 
in crowds to do him honor. 

A worthy son oX his hon<Mred fattier, Henry 
Uvengood, has always labored towards the ad- 
vancement of his church and community, and 
is now numbered among the most representative 
of the solid men of this county. He was but a 
lad when brought here by his father in 1854, 
and has grown up within its confines, becoming 
thoroughly acquainted witti all the needs and 
possibilities of his community. • He attended 
school, and assisted his father on the farm, 
remaining with the latter until he was twenty- 
three years old, when he married. At this 
time he bought eighty acres on section 8, Wysox 
township, later adding to his original purchase 
until he owned 320 acres. This continued the 
family home for many years, during which time 
he made many improvenents developing it into 
a magnificent property. He erected a residence 
30x30, large bams, and other buildings, and 
specialized on Poland-China hogs, being a leader 
in raising this variety. His shipments ranged 
from 100 to 200 head of hogs annually, and be 
also raised cattle and horses, in addition to 
carrying on general farming. Eventually, he 
retired leaving the management of his farm to 
his sons. 

On February 5, 1871, Mr. LIvengood was 



united in marriage with Amanda Miller, bom in 
S<Mnerset county. Pa., July 9, 1858, daughter of 
D. M. and Mary (lichty) Miller, who came to 
Carroll county in 1864. Mr. Miller was a Breth- 
ren preacher. Four children were bora to Mr. 
and Mrs. LIvengood : Alice, who was bom March 
27, 1873, a graduate of the city high school, is 
at home ; Anna, who died at the age of three and 
one-half years ; William Wallace, who was bom 
August 30, 1879, and CHiarles A., who was bom 
January 23, 1882. William married, December 
4, 1907, Rose Dambman, a native of this county. 
One child, Marian Amanda, was bom June 11, 
1909, on her great-grandmother's eightieth birth- 
day. Charles A., married June 22, 1904, Hattie 
Goble, and one child, Catherine Amanda, was 
bom March 5, 1909. Two sons live on the home 
farm, and make a specialty of raising Short- 
horn cattle. Mr. LIvengood gave his children 
good educations, and made their home attractive. 
He is one of the leaders of the Brethren Church, 
and most liberal in his contributions toward its 
support 

Mr. Livengood distinctly remembers the hard- 
ships of early days, and the pleasures as well. 
The family came to Carroll county when the 
prairie grass stood as high as a man's head, 
when he was^ofi horseback. Upon one occasion 
Mr. Livengood went with his unde to Mt Car- 
roll after some cattle. On the return trip, a 
blizzard began to rage, and the helpless travel- 
ers crawled into the box of their wagon, drawing 
over them an old blanket Even then, they nearly 
froze to death, and were thankful to get out 
alive. Looking back upon those days, and com- 
paring them to the present ones, Mr. Livengood 
feels that the present generation is being given 
many advantages, but still holds to the belief 
that all these hardships devel<^;>ed character, 
made hardy, healthy men, ready to endure all 
and build out of the wilderness present civiliza- 
tion. 

LIVENGOOD, Zachariah T., for many years 
a minister of the Brethren church, is a man 
whose example and eloquent expounding of the 
Scriptures have not only been pleasing to 
his friends, but the source of continual good in 
his community. Mr. Livengood was born in 
Somerset county, Pa., December 13, 1849, be- 
ing a son of Abraham and Fannie (Meyers) 
Livengood, the former born September 22. 1822. 
died February 13, 1890; and the latter born 



Digitized by 



Google 



832 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



June 11, 1829, Is still living. Z. T. Livengood 
grew up in Somerset county, and after coming 
to Carroll county, lived nine years on bis first 
farm, nine years on the Telegraph road, nine- 
teen years in Lanark and two years in Milledge- 
ville. Z. T. Livengood, was a great-grand- 
son of Peter Livengood, who came from Germany 
to flee from military service In his native 
country. The last named was bom in 1790, 
and died 1S26. He spelled his name according 
to the old German way, Lelbundgut The chil- 
dren of Abraham and Fannie Livengood were, 
Henry, born July 5, 1845; Ellas P., bom Feb- 
mary 10, 1847; Zachariah T., bom Deceml)er 
13, 1849; Joseph, bom January 4, 1853, died 
June 12, 1903, at Seattle, Wash. ; Mary M., born 
Febroary 4, 1855 (married Henry Walker);' 
David, bom October 24, 1857, died November 9, 
1875; Abraham L., bom April 30, 1860; Anna 
Ellen, bom November 30, 1862 (married Wil- 
son Miller, November 30, 1881) ; WiUlam C, 
bom March 14, 1865, died November 10, 1900; 
Sarah Ella, bom July 31, 1867 (married Samuel 
Flickinger) ; Samuel Livengood, bom December 
5, 1869 ; John Z., bom June 1, 1872, died March 
19, 1874; and Frank Edwin, bom September 
4, 1875. 

Zachariah T. Livengood was brought up on a 
farm, and for several years after leaving school, 
taught school himself, and farmed. He was 
finally made a minister of the gospel, taking 
charge of the Lanark mission when there were 
but seven members. During the quarter of a 
century he has been in the ministry, he has built 
up the churches at Mllledgeville and Lanark, 
until they now have a membership of 250 souls 
each. He has built three churches, one at 
Bethleham, one at Mllledgeville and one at 
Lanark. Eloquent and arousing in his sermons, 
he is considered one of the most powerful 
preachers of the Brethren church In this section. 

Mr. Livengood was married November 26, 
1872, at Lanark, 111., to Belinda Hanger, bora 
August 14, 1852, a daughter of Hiram J. and 
Elizabeth (Horner) Hanger, the former bom 
December 1, 1831, and the latter, April 17, 1832. 
Mr. and Mrs. Livengood have had one son: 
John A., born July 29, 1876, married Cora Mil- 
ler, June 13. 1906, and they live on a farm two 
miles south of Lanark. Mr. Livengood owns 
eighty acres of land in Rock Creek township, 
two miles south of Lanark, and a beautiful mod- 
ern home in the city of Lanark. He is a man 



whose good works cannot be measured by any 
human mle, for much is never kno^^ on the 
outside. His charities are many, and his sym- 
pathies broad, and his people admire, respect 
and love him, and feel bound to him by ties 
that extend oyer a lifetime. 

LOTZ, Theodore E., Jr., D. V. M.— Perhaps no 
field of scientific research and consequent useful- 
ness, has been more perceptibly widened in the 
last decade, than has that relative to the veter- 
inary branch of medicine and surgery and bright 
and ambitious young men are finding a career in 
which the emoluments are large and the pro- 
fessional standing high. Among the w^l known 
young men of the profession In Carroll county, 
111., is Dr. Theodore E. Lotz, who is also an 
experienced farmer and stock raiser and owns 
valuable lands in Fair Haven township. He 
was bom in Fair Haven township, on section 
24, June 29, 1878, a son of Theodore and Eliza- 
beth (Repp) Lotz, one of the venerable and 
esteemed citizens of Fair Haven township, mem- 
tlon of whom will be found in another part of 
this work. 

Theodore E. Lotz attended the public schools 
and later took a commercial course in the Dixon 
Business College, at Dixon, 111., and after he 
returned to the farm, In 1896> gave his father 
assistance and as he is the youngest of the 
sons, remained at home. In the management of 
the 360 acres of the home farm and in taking 
care of the fine stock, Mr. Lotz was v^ery suc- 
cessful but he continually realized how better 
equipped he T^ould be In the latter industry if 
he had thorough veterinary knowledge. Thus 
he began to study by himself and his interest 
grew and in September, 1909, he entered the 
Chicago Veterinary College and continued until 
he received his diploma, graduating In 1910 with 
class honors. He has a completely equipped 
laboratory on his farm and has all the modern 
appliances for the treatment of surgical cases 
and already he has a very satisfactory practice, 
and as he Is ambitious, there is, undoubtedly a 
fiine future before him in his chosen profession. 
In 1911 he bought 160 acres of the old home 
farm and still continues to manage the 360 acres 
for his aged father. 

On March 2, 1910, Dr. Lotz was married to 
Miss Bertha E. Lorke, by Rev. Harris, a daugh- 
ter of Gustave and Margaret (Repp) Lorke, 
prominent farming people of Genesee township, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



833 



Whiteside county. 111. Mrs. Lotz is an accom- 
plished and educated lady. Dr. Lotz and wife 
are active members of the Evangelical Church 
at Chadwick, 111. In his political views he is 
strongly Republican. 

LOVELY, Lewis. — The railroad companies fur- 
nish employment for the energy and ability of 
many of the substantial men of various com- 
munities through which they pass, and benefit 
largely by the faithful service rendered them 
by these sturdy representatives of labor. One 
of those connected with the Chicago, Burlington 
& Quincy Railroad as machinist. Is Lewis 
Lovely, of Savanna. He was bom In Canada, 
May 10, 1843, a son of Alexander and Mary Ann 
(Jerry) Lovely. The father was bom In 
Canada, and the mother In England, but both 
passed away thirty years ago. 

When he was only a baby, Mr. Lovely was 
taken to Boston, Mass., where he grew to man- 
hood. He had no educational advantages, and 
is entirely a self-made man. In 1861, he en- 
listed in Company I, Fifth Massachusetts Vol- 
unteer Infantry, and served for ninety days, 
as a guard. Forty years ago, he came to Illi- 
nois, arriving at Savanna In March of that year, 
and at first worked In the saw-mill of Mr. 
Duprls, but for the past twenty-six years, he 
lias been In the employ of the Chicago, Bur- 
lington & Quincy Railroad, and that company 
has no more faithful man. 

In 1862, Mr. Lovely was married to Miss 
Margaret Balger, bom in Canada, and they have 
the following children: Lewis; Mrs. Frank 
Salisbury; Amelia, who is at home; Thomas, 
who is of Savanna, 111.; Louis, who lives In 
Savanna; and Pearl, who Is now Mrs. Russell 
Marth. There are four grandchildren In the 
family. Mr. Lovely is a member of the Catholic 
church. Politically, he Is a Republican, but has 
never sought office,, his business cares are too 
many, and his work too heavy for him to go 
Into public life, although he takes Interest in 
local progress. Fraternally he belongs to the 
Court of Honor. The beautiful family resi- 
dence in Savanna, is owned by Mr. Lovely. No 
man stands higher In the estimation of those 
who know him throughout all of Carroll county, 
than he, whose faithfulness to duty has been 
his watchword throughout a long and honor- 
able life. 



MACKAT, Duncan (deceased).— Old-time resi- 
dents of Carroll county, will remember with 
pleasure the late Duncan Mackay, who during a 
long life filled with activities of an agricultural 
nature, displayed the traits of honesty. Integrity 
and clean-llvlng that made him esteemed by his 
fellow-townsmen, who elected him to positions 
of honor and trust A native of Sutherland- 
shire^ Scotland, Mr. Mackay was bom Novem- 
ber 13, 1812, a son of James Mackay, *a fkrmer 
by occupation, and came to the United States 
about 1827. He had begun to learn the trade 
of carriage maker hi Ills native country, and 
on locating In Calias, Me., after a short stay In 
Nova Scotia, he completed his apprenticeship 
and engaged In business with his elder brother, 
William. They had built up a successful and 
paying business when the financial crash of 
1836 came,* and during the following year Wil- 
liam Mackay came west to Carroll county. 111., 
while Duncan remained In the east to settle 
up matters. There Duncan Mackay was mar- 
ried on June 9, 1840, to Miss Jessie Mackay, 
who was bom In Scotland In 1820, and they Im- 
mediately left for Carroll county, going by boat 
to Chicago, and thence overland, walking part 
of the way, to Mount Carroll. For a short time 
they made their home with William Mackay, 
after which they boarded with the Christian 
family, on Preston Prairie, but eventually Dun- 
can and William Mackay began farming on a 
claim In Salem township, and this association 
continued until 1856, at which time they di- 
vided their land. At the time of his death, 
Duncan Mackay was the owner of 500 acres In 
his Salem township homestead, in addition to 
considerable other property. He was always 
a hard and faithful worker, and his success 
was entirely due to his own efforts, as at the 
time of his arrival In Illinois he was In ex- 
ceedingly straitened circumstances. For 
many years he was an active member of the 
Grange, which association sent him, In May, 
1873, as representative of the agricultural in- 
terests of the county to the Granger's state con- 
vention, and during the same year he was ap- 
pointed by Governor Beverldge as commissioner 
to the Vienna (Austria) convention, after the 
close of which he traveled extensively and on 
his return to Carroll county he brought with 
him some of the finest specimens of Percheron 
horses that the county has ever seen. He and 
his wife were members of the Presbyterian 



Digitized by 



Google 



834 



HISTORY OP CABEOLL COUNTY 



church, and he held the office of deacon therein 
for many years, in addition to acting as leader 
in prayer meetings and teacher in the Sabbath 
school. Politically a Republican, he took an 
active part in public matters and served as 
county supervisor for many years in addition 
to holding numerous other townsliip and county 
offices. In 1862 he was one of the organizers of 
tlie First National Bank, of Mt Oarroll, and in 
1864 he became president of that institution, 
a position which he held until his death, Septem- 
ber 4, 1889, his widow surviving liim until April 
8, 1906. 

Mr. and Mrs. Mackay were the parents of 
twelve children, of whom seven survive, as fol- 
lows: Mrs. Anna Moore, born November 12, 
1841, wife of Robert Moore, of Mt. CarroU, 111. ; 
Mrs. Barbara Gilmore, bom May 20, 1845, re- 
siding in Chicago; Mrs. Jennie Van Patten, of 
Los Angeles, Cal.; Mrs. Lena Jack, on the old 
homestead in Salem township; Mrs. Nellie M. 
Hawse, of Morrison, IlL; Mrs. Nettie Sharpe, 
of Jacksonville, lU.; and Duncan, Jr., of San 
Antonio, Tex. 

MACKAT, William J.— Some of the most rep- 
resentative of the Carroll county farmers are de- 
voting their attention to breeding and raising 
high-grade stock, realizing the immense profit 
accruing from these lines of endeavor. One of 
the men who has proven to his own satisfaction 
the desirability of stock raising is William J. 
Mackay, of section 22, Salem township, bom 
on his present farm July 29, 1861, a son of Wil- 
liam and Isabel (Murray) Mackay, natives of 
Sutherlandshlre and Dornach, Scotland, respec- 
tively. He was bom July 13, 1802. and she 
June 22, 1832. William Mackay was a wagon- 
maker by trade, who in young manhood went 
to Nova Scotia, and about 1832 or 1833, came 
to Mt Carroll and with a man named Mr. 
George, started a saw-mill on Carroll creek. 
When the government opened up the land for 
entry, Mr. Mackay went to Dixon, 111., and en- 
tered eighty acres in Carroll township, and later 
entered more land in Salem township. His two 
brothers, Duncan and John, joined him and also 
took up land. Mr. Mackay made his home with 
them until his marriage. On January 8. 1856, 
he married Isabel Murray, who had come to 
America with her two aunts Mrs. Richard Lib- 
berton and Mrs. Frank Craig, to visit her 
uncle, James Mark, who lived in Cherry Grove 



township, Carroll county. Mr. and Mrs. Mackaj 
went to live on a fkrm that comprised nearly 
300 acres, on sections 21 and 22, Salem town- 
ship, continuing here until their buildings were 
swept away in 1886, by a tornado. After this 
harrowing experience, they went to Mt Carroll 
to live, and there passed away, on September 1, 
1888, and 4he Bfay 25, 1911. They were Pres- 
byterians and very devout, adhering strictly to 
their religious views and observances. Their 
four diildren were: Margaret who died in 
1887; Jean Isabel, who died October 14, 1912; 
wife of De Putran Gliddon; William J., and 
Effie, who died in 1899. 

William J. Mackay went to school in Salem 
township, and for one year to Lake Forest 
Academy, but made his home with his parents 
until they moved to Mt Carroll, when he rented 
the farm. In 1896, he bought the property, then 
comprising 201 acres, and since then has spe- 
cialized on raising cattie, hogs and horses, his 
annual ou^ut being about a carload of Short- 
horn cattie, and the same number of thorough- 
bred Poland-China hogs. 

On August 28, 1900, he was married to Mrs. 
Cora (Coleman) Van Buskirk, bom in Mt Car- 
roll, IlL, January 22, 1807, daughter of John 
and Mary E. (Dresback) Coleman. Mr. and 
Mrs. Mackay are the parents of five children: 
Isabel, William, Helen, John and Donald, all 
at home. Mr. Mackay is a shrewd business 
man and excellent farmer who understands his 
work, and is progressing rapidly hi it 

MAD£R, John, a retired farmer residing at 
Mt Carroll, was bom in Union county. Pa., Feb- 
ruary 14, 1844, son of Abraham and Susanna 
(Faust) Mader. The father was a farmer and 
came from Pennsylvania to Ward's Grove, near 
Kent 111., in 1844. Eighteen months later he 
moved to Berryman township, Jo Daviess county, 
where he was one of the pioneers. He and his 
wife were parents of eleven children, nine of 
whom they brought with them to Illinois. At 
the time the family came west the father had 
a three-horse wagon and his capital in money 
was but sixty dollars, with which he established 
a home in the new location. Of this family 
the only ones now surviving are John and an- 
other son and three daughters. The father died 
a few years since, in his eighty-ninth year, his 
wife having died many years previously. 

Mr. Mader had very limited educational ad- 



Digitized by 



Google 




ELI SCHICK 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



( v/i rfr,>; TO. f 
fUBllC L:Br.ARY 



A5':Vv/^, LENOX 
FIL D FN FO ■ ; N n a ™ ' r N r 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



835 



vantages, and being the oldest son, his serv- 
ices were needed in helping with the farm worl^ 
as soon as he could he of assistance, so as a 
mere child many tasks fell to his share. There 
were few schools in those days and the terms 
were short, bat he made the most of his op- 
portunities. By the time the Civil war broke 
out, he had earned for himself a span of horses 
and had rented a farm for the following year, 
which he was intending to operate, but like 
many other young men, he was fired with pa- 
triotism, and about August 1, 1862, enlisted 
from Jo Daviess county, although consider- 
ably under age. Upon asking his father's con- 
sent he was told to join a regiment then being 
recruited near Freeport, and accordingly became 
a private in Company F, Ninety-second Illinois 
Volunteer Infantry, which company was mounted 
soon afterward. Mr. Mader participated in 
many important engagements, among the most 
notable being Chlckamauga and Missionary 
Ridge. After the capture of Atlanta, w^hile he . 
was on vidette duty, he was captured by bush- 
whackers and spent eight months a prisoner, 
most of the time in the infamous Andersonvllle 
prison, from which he was released near' the 
close of the war. From Jacksonville, Fl'a., by 
transport he went to Annapolis, Md., and from 
thence to St. Louis, then on to Springfield, 
111., where he was honorably discharged. He 
n-as never ill for one day, was never seri- 
ously wounded, and was never away from his 
command until the time of his capture, proving 
himself a brave and faithful soldier who per- 
formed well every duty entrusted to him. 

After the war Mr. Mader returned to Berry- 
man township, Jo Daviess county, and engaged 
hi farming. Some years later he removed to 
Woodland township, locating on a farm about 
one mile from Mt. Carroll, and operated this 
land until about 1896, then retired from active 
labor and came to his present comfortable home 
in Mt Carroll, where he has since led a life 
of ease in the enjoyment of a well-earned com- 
petency. He also has a beautiful summer home 
at Lanesville, Iowa., where he and his wife 
spend several months each year with much 
enjoyment He is blessed with abundant health 
and energy and enjoys his fishing boats, 
launch^ etc., with a vigor and enthusiasm 
which might be envied by many a younger man. 
In his way of spending the autumn of life 



he shows superior Judgment and good sense, and 
by active outdoor pursuits bids fair to prolong 
his life by many years. 

Mr. Mader was married (first) November 5, 
1867, to Miss Anna Green, of Woodland town- 
ship, a daughter of Uriah and Alameda Green, 
and they were parents of nine children: 
Alameda, who died at the age of eleven years; 
Stephen Dallas, who married Minnie Weldon, 
lives near Des Moines, Iowa, and they have 
two daughters; Cora G., who married Harry 
Griflto, lives in Chicago; Gertrude, who mar- 
ried Frank Fritz, lives near Lanark, 111. ; Lena 
A., who lives in Chicago ; Myrtle Joy, who mar- 
ried Wmiam Seal, of Walnut, 111., and they 
have one child; Ulriah Blaine, who married 
Vera Grossman and lives at Broken Bow, Okla. ; 
Walter H., who is of South Dakota; Anna G., 
who died in infancy. Mrs. Mader died October 
30, 1888. Mr. Mader married (second) Nancy 
y. Green, a sister of his first wife, this event 
taking place January 15, 1890. 

Mr^^ Mader is a member of the local post of 
th^ G. A. R. and Is also connected with the A. 
F. & A. M., being a Knight Templar, and a 
cliarter member of the Knights of Pythias I/)dge, 
No. 574, of Mt Carroll. He has always taken 
an active interest in all questions affecting the 
general welfare of his community. He served 
several years as supen'isor while living in 
Woodland township. He has always been one 
of the prime movers of every cause for the ad- 
vancement and progress of the community. Soon 
after coming to Mt Carroll he assisted in or- 
ganizing the electric light plant for lighting the 
city, he and Mr. Wlldey being the chief sup- 
porters of the enterprise. He succeeded his 
father-in-law, Uriah Green, as president of the 
First National Bank, holding that position un- 
til it was accorded to the present incumbent, 
Robert Moore. 

Both wives of Mr. Mader inherited comfort- 
able fortunes in both land and money, and he 
has carefully and conscientiously cared for 
same aside from his own private means. He 
has invested his first wife's fortune as guardian 
for their children and greatly to their advan- 
tage. His private fortune is entirely of his 
own earning and secured by his individual ef- 
forts, as he started in life with nothing but his 
good health and energy which he Jeopardized 
by leaving everything to serve his country. 



Digiti 



ized by Google 



836 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



MADSEN BROTHERS, wbo have practically, 
the monopoly of the photograph business in 
the western part of Carroll county, have built 
up a large enterprise from a small begin- 
ning. The firm is composed of Thomas and 
Albert Madsen, sons of Peter Madsen, a native of 
Denmark, a farmer by occupation, who came to 
America at the age of twenty-two years. His 
birth occurred November 15, 1851. He came to 
Carroll county in 1877 and purchased a farm 
in Savanna township, where he spent the re- 
mainder of his life. On December 25, 1878, 
he was married to Lucinda King, daughter of 
Hiram and Elizabeth King, of Carroll county, 
and four children were born of this union: 
Thomas, Albert, Willis and Ralph. All survive 
except Ralph. The father of these children 
died Aprir20, 1901. The children were all edu- 
cated in the Savanna schools and Thomas also 
took a course at the Illinois College of Photog- 
raphy, at Effingham, 111., one of the most noted 
institutions of its kind in the United States. 
He had previously taught school two years at 
Chestnut Park. 

In 1903 Thomas and Albert Madsen purchased 
the photograph gallery of R. L. Muzzy, who 
for fifteen years had conducted a successful 
business in Savanna, and in 1909 they erected, 
on the site of the old building, an elegant brick 
structure, with commodious quarters for the 
carrying on of their business on the ground floor, 
and two suites of flats above. In 1906 they 
opened another gallery at Chadwick, as a branch 
of the original business. They spend one day 
a week at the latter town, as an accommoda- 
tion to their many patrons in the vicinity, and 
have met with gratifying success in both 
places. They are good artists in their line, 
have excellent taste in posing their subjects 
and pay special attention to the background and 
to the finishing of their photographs. 

Thomas Madsen, who was born February 12, 
1878, was married August 20, 1903, to Miss 
Beula Krell, of Savanna, and they have one 
son, Benjamin. Willis Madsen, born December 
25, 1882, married October 15, 1906, Augusta 
Nehrkom, of Savanna, and they had one child, 
born January 17, 1911, who died October 2, 
1911. Albert Mfdsen, born August 7, 1880, is 
unmarried. The mother resides with her sons, 
Thomas and Albert. The three sons are Repub- 
lican in political belief and actively interested 
in local affairs. They are all enterprising and 



energetic business men and are highly respected 
for their many good qualities. 

MALONET, Luther H^ M. D^ who enjoys a 
large practice in his profession, has been located 
at Savanna, since 1884. He is a native of Car- 
roll county, bom on his father's farm, December 
6. 1857, son of James S. and Frances V. 
(Bashaw) Maloney, James Maloney was born 
in 1832, at Newcastle, Del., his father being a 
native-bom American. He came west with his 
parents in 1845, being then about thirteen years 
of age. The family took a boat down the Ohio 
river from Pittsburgh, then took another boat at 
St Louis and went up the Mississippi. While 
they were moving from one boat to another the 
father of this family, Martin Maloney, was ac- 
cidentally drowned, leaving a family of small 
children. James, being the eldest child, assumed 
charge of the family affairs and they located 
in Savanna in the spring of 1845. He was large 
for his age and worked at whatever employm^it 
could be obtained, soon being able to earn as 
much as many a man. Later he purdiased a 
small farm, which he improved and cultivated, 
and sold it to buy a larger farm. He prospered 
through these changes and cared for the fam- 
ily. Of his two brothers and a sister, the 
latter died soon after coming to Carroll county, 
but the others lived. Mr. Maloney was able to 
retire from active life some years ago and now 
llyes at Mt Carroll. 

James Maloney married Frances V. Bashaw 
in Carroll county, a native of Montreal. Her 
parents were early settlers in Savanna of 
Canadian-French descent. They died so<m after 
their arrival, leaving a family of small chil- 
dren, who managed to keep together and sup- 
port themselves until they reached maturity, 
some of them becoming very prosperous, and 
are still surviving. Mrs. Maloney died in 1885. 
To her and her husband eight children were 
bom, of whom three sons and four daughters 
are living, and Dr. Luther H., was the second 
child. 

Dr. Maloney received his preliminary educa- 
tion in the district schools and then took a 
literary course at Mt. Morris (111.) College. He 
taught school for a time in order to secure funds 
to further pursue his studies, and in 1884 he 
was graduated from Hahnemann Medical Col- 
lege, of Chicago, Immediately thereafter locat- 
ing at Savanna where he entered upon a gen- 



Digitized by 



Google 




f 



,7' 



/ 



./ ,'V ■•■ 






Digiti 



zed by Google 



I l.'\ •'v 






:rs- .1. t 

r; I .: 1. 1 ^ •'■ * . 



♦a • Ml, u : . . -»•.'(' . • 1 

" .-•• ■ I ;> ti ml ., i- . i ' • *•! 

II .'-.•' *•.' ■ ^ • rtM, 

. • ti^r I- ^. . 1 ■ , , >. . .< ', 

..iU '> - • .' ■' .- -.1. ^'• . * ' 

Ti^' r ' ■ :• o t > '■ I't't' ^'^ '* • .( - J ', -■ 

' -i' . ■ • . . a Iw! ■ % .-, ■ . 

. ■' '• .!•■ ' ■ ■ ,' i f ' • '. . .M ;., 

-MIC • ■ t H--.\ '■•'*'•• .i I ■ \- ;-v- iPp. ' ■ .-. 
i -> h- . !■ -! :. I ,.•■ .'^ I <i i* ' 

!>.'■[. ^- I' .. ' '. rt J.'Mi "ill . a ... 



( I 



.„ ,. ^ . :■ II'. ;i '- ! ■ '■ « Ur t" - t . -1 n :i ^ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 





aiA£jJ 



JeJaJ- 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



THK NS'A' TC«£ j 
PUBLIC LiBRARi i 



ASTOK, LENOX i 

TILDEN FOUNDATIONS i 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



837 



eral practice. In 1890, he took a post-graduate 
course at the Chicago Homeopathic Medical Col- 
lege. He stands well In the community and In 
his profession and Is Identified with the Illinois 
Homeopathic Medical Association, the American 
Institute of Homeopathy, the County Medical 
Society and the Rock River Institute. Frater- 
nally, he Is a member of the Masonic Order, 
belonging to the Savanna Lodge and Chapter, 
the Long Commandery of Knights Templar, of 
Mt. Carroll, and the Freeport Consistory, and 
lias taken the thirty-second degree in the order. 
He is much interested In public affairs in his 
community and served some years as a member 
of the school board of Savanna. 

On September 19, 1883, Dr. Maloney married 
Anna J. Casselberry, of Carroll county, and two 
children have been born of this union, J. How- 
ard M., bom November 20, 1886, and Emily F., 
on August 31, 1888. 

' MANNING, William S.— Progressive in all 
things including agriculture, stock raising, poli- 
tics and citizenship, William S. Manning, of 
section 32, Lima township, has fairly earned the 
right to be named among his community's rep- 
resentative citizens, and to the high esteem and 
confidence in which he is universally held. Mr. 
Manning Is a native son of Carroll county, hav- 
ing been bom in Rock Creek township, on the 
farm of his father, section 25, April 28, 1864, 
and Is a son of Nelson W. and Melvina (Shafer) 
Manning. 

Nelson W. Manning was a native of Knox 
county, Ohio, and his wife of Indiana, the latter 
being brought to Carroll county, 111., as a child. 
Alfred Manning, the paternal grandfather of 
William S., was In the eighth generation of an 
English family that was founded in America 
prior to the Revolutionary War, in which mem- 
bers of the family fought, as they also did In 
the War of 1812. In 1852 Nelson W. Manning 
came to Carroll county and purchased land on 
section 25, Rock Creek township, and after pre- 
paring a home was here married. The Civil War 
then claimed him as a soldier In the Thirty- 
fourth Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and 
during the stmggle between the States he fought 
with that noted organization, which accompanied 
Sherman on his famous March to the Sea, came 
north through the Carolinas and participated 
in the Grand Review at Washington. On re- 
ceiving his honorable discharge after gallant 



service, Mr. Manning resumed farming and was 
so occupied until his retlrment to Lanark, where 
his death occurred in December 6, 1901. A man 
of a retiring disposition, shunning prominence 
because of a modest nature, he still made his 
influence felt upon his community, and for many 
years interested himself deeply in promoting 
education in his adopted state. He was clerk 
of the school board for years, and brought to 
his work that thoroughness and attention to 
detail that made him In his private life note 
the leading events of each day for over fifty 
years in a well-kept diary. He and his faithful 
wife were consistent and well-known members 
of the Evangelical Church, and were not only 
Instrumental In having the church built here, 
but were always loyal and liberal In their sup- 
port. Mrs. Manning passed away in the faith of 
this denomination, in July, 1889, beloved by all 
who knew her kindly, affectionate. Christian 
spirit They had five children: William S. ; 
Martha A., who is now the wife of Michael 
Munts, a merchant of Freeport, IlL; George, 
who is a well-known and able physician and 
surgeon of Garden Prairie, 111., who married 
Miss May Schrlner and has two children, — El- 
done and Margerle; Marshall O., who is a 
Jiopular citizen of B^eeport, married Miss Jennie 
Schrlner ; and Nellie, who is the wife of Charles 
AM)leby, lives in Chicago. 

Reared to agricultural pursuits, and educated 
in the district schools, William S. Manning 
early demonstrated his ability as a farmer on 
the old homestead, and in 1888 purchased a 
farm of 250 acres and began to breed stock in 
a small way. In 1891 he moved to his present 
handsome farm, and since that time his rise has 
been rapid. On December 29, 1892, he was mar- 
ried to Miss Annie C. Traum, by Rev. Quine, 
of Lanark. She was bom In Rock Creek town- 
ship February 27, 1874, daughter of Conrad 
Traum, one of the substantial farmers of that 
community. Mr. Manning brought his wife to 
the home he had prepared for her, and together 
they have developed this into one of the finest 
properties In their part of the county. They 
have had two children: Ralph G., born Decem- 
ber 17, 1896; and Harold, born April 13, 1899, 
bright and interesting youths who assist their 
father in his operations when not attending 
school. 

In 1892 Mr. Manning began to breed Hereford 
cattle, starting with seventeen head of pure- 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



bred stock, although he had brought the firet 
Hereford bull into Carroll county in 1881, hav- 
ing paid $350 for this Individual. It was bred 
in Maine. As this animal was about one year 
old and weighed 700 pounds, it will be seen that 
Mr. Manning paid fifty cents per pound for the 
beast. Subsequently he began breeding Poland- 
China hogs, hut in 1898 changed to the Chester- 
White breed, and now ships about 150 annually, 
each weighing in the neighborhood of 250 pounds, 
while he keeps on an average of 200 head on 
his farm. Forty breeding cows, and 100 cattle 
make up his herd of pure Hereford, and at the 
head Is the noted individual **Dinsmore,*' full 
brother to the prize-winning bull "Dinsmore 
Third," which stood third in class at the Iowa 
State Fair of 1912, this being one of the strong- 
est strains of the Hereford family. Mr. Mann- 
ing was given his start by his father, but it was 
earned by honest, earnest endeavor. The elder 
Manning considered that the twenty-five years 
that his son had spent on the home place was 
worth $8,000, and accordingly set that much land 
aside. To this Mr. Manning has added from 
time to time until he now owns 490 acres, which 
he has brought to a high state of cultivation and 
doubled in value by wise and modem improve- 
ment. 

Mr. Manning cannot be said to be a public 
figure, as far as politics are concerned, but his 
value to his community is well known to his 
fellow citizens. He supports all movements that 
make for the welfare of his township, county 
or State, and has Interested himself In education 
to the extent of serving for five years as a mem- 
ber of the school board. Progressive himself, 
the candidates of the progressive democratic 
party receive his vote. He was elected super- 
visor in 1900 and still holds the office. At the age 
of twenty-one years he Joined the local lodge 
of the I. O. O. F. and before its abandonment 
occupied all of its chairs. At this time he be- 
longs to Lodge No. 363, Knights of Pythias, at 
Lanark. While Mr. and Mrs. Manning do not 
belong to any special religious denomination, 
they are liberal In their support of church and 
charitable movements, while their numerous 
warm friends will testify empluttlcally to their 
universal popularity. 

McBLHBNBT, William D., a highly respected 
citizen of Savanna, III., was born In Hunting- 
don county, Pa., February 22, 1845, son of 



James S. and Rose Ann (Dubs) McElheney, 
both natives of Scotland, who came to America 
after their marriage and settled In Pennsylva- 
nia, but about 1850 removed to the vicinity of 
Kalamazoo, Mich. The father was a farmer 
and merchant and he and his wife had seven 
sons and five daughters. 

The education of William D. McElheney was 
received in a log schoolhouse and in April, 1861, 
he enlisted In Company K, Second Regiment, 
Michigan Volunteer Infantry, for service during 
the Civil war. He was wounded at the battle 
of Fair Oaks and discharged in the fall of 1862. 
In January, 1863, he re-enlisted in the Eighth 
Michigan Cavalry, and was promoted to rank 
of first lieutenant, participating in many bat- 
tles, and In September, 1864, was captured and 
spent several months In a Confederate prison. 
He was wounded three times and had several 
horses shot under him. After seeing much 
hard service and enduring many hardships and 
privations he was discharged in 1865, with the 
rank of captain. 

In 1868 Mr. McElheney began working for 
the Michigan Central Railroad Company, as fire- 
man, and in 1872 went to Freeport and entered 
the employ of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St 
Paul Railroad Company, then the Western 
Union Road. Aft^r working four years as fire- 
man for this road he was promoted to position 
of engineer. He has been engineer on passen- 
ger trains for the past twenty-seven years and 
during that time has never had a wrecks either 
of his engine or of a car. On account of poor 
health he has had a leave of absence recently. 

In July, 1874, Mr. McElheney married S<^hla 
Spangler, born August 24, 1850, whose paroits 
died In Germany. She came to America with 
a brother when she was eighteen years of age. 
Children were bom of this union as follows: 
Alice, who was bom October 8, 1877, married 
J. A. Hall, four children — Lorlne J., Gladys and 
Lavern ; Edwin E., who was born September 19, 
1879, is a railroad employe; Paul, who was 
born November 3, 1881, is also a railroad em- 
ploye; Bessie, who was bom December 25, 
1883, married Oscar Poorman, two children- 
Wanda and William Henry; Ruby, who was 
bom October 4, 1891; Sophia Bell, who was 
bom March 4, 1897; William, who was bom 
January 10, 1875, died November 2, 1900; 
Henry and Frank, who died in infancy. There 
are eight grandchildren In the family. Mr. Mc- 



Digitized by 



Google 




W I W^ I 



//// / / 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



= .li ^o . • \ 



" .. 11^ ,- ,.f Sri.;.- .-'. ••..<.«•. .- . .■ 

: -. • . .'. li. 1 i* I • -; K ... .7 . - 

' ' .-, .' ..1 -i \i .. . •;.< ^^-:^ h.i? ■ , 

'..• * 'i- .:'>••- 

. ■ f. ■: \ , ^' M ! .-..• '. -. 

■ ' .. M, i •%,. -r.rvl 1 . 
I -* : \ >1'. ■■< r i-J^ •' , , r ^*■'^^ :.- il t, 

• ' >aKs A .' : <• Hill". .... ' ''.' r"'M -.j j > 

I '\\, » ' . *<o r* *••: ' . i.. * .^ ; u., 

. 1. ! 'm . *. :i*' : • '•■ ■"...♦• '^ ♦. 1,1 






t • . J 1 



' ''.' \\ "i '1 






Ij |M -^ \\ • ?/ ..• . . '- .1 x^ ,rj ,, 

" t' \jH ! . , \ ' i f 'I'; * •" ' t.' . . . . t 
•n *.t><i «■ I*- . ^\*'Ui r.. I • •■ . i ' •\ • -r 

.' h\ it:, II'' ■ '••.-..•* :■ M tt-e \' 

' i.. . "'-if* \. U ■ .^ •' > • , 1.1/ J.-,, s- 

-.1 ". I'M. lu hi' > h.** iJ f*i* :>.i*M'r »n ;, - 
■ '- . ' ■:;».> fnr 1' ^* - 1 '( t\ ■•' It"*--* v.-^n : * i- 
t- • " :. I* ti . 'I 'V , MT .,.ti a WW •» • ' 
'.,-.' '1 , ♦ '* '-.I 1 'i. H'-'' 'i',r - ' 
' ♦ ,:j' t. . ' ^ '. » M ■( • •»• .' a' -.•,«<>» " ' 
■ : >• ' " : \"j ' .• :i^y hjm rru- 1 ; 

»• .1 ''<(;;: V. . n.; t- An* •; " 

t ' •■ V ••' . f'l '-'i > ' Ctitt (Mi >»^ U'n . • 

\ ■• • " « 1 \' fi 'r-c •. T *: i- iiiiifiii a. ' 

; \. }:.■'■ •• ' '. ■ : ^■■. ■ i^>r-iM- J. <.f." ' 

J ,\-* ., :-.jV''-' I V. v, •!.- >H r'l --.-I U'u- 
■'..»,'■. t< ' ' . 1 t' ' , ' c" : T't'ii, '\ '. • 

' ,1. \i. I I. ; • r .. • -^ . 1 X ! ^' ;, r;v".-'. ' 

, ..>>* ; 1'*- .'. .•' ,' -v,.^. !' r . J'l-" 

. ^ ;. in 1 r ' •: ' ' : ) I\'-.-ij un. tw- e^ •*■ 

' .. ■ ' )> l..lh*[ t. . I, > M ;« V , V ;. . • 

■--.', >! r. h i. ! ■ ^' ■ . - . aJ.v ^*..- 

J'iMi'i -iW' 1- ' n:l'. wh* r •' ir t": ':-. ••! 



Digiti 



zed by Google 




^ycc^ Ti/ 



Digiti 



zed by Google 



,JS.,fs» 



i?OBUC 






Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



839 



Elheney purchased the home he now occupies 
on Bowen street, when he came to Savanna, In 
1884, and is now well known in railroad circles, 
having a number of warm personal friends. He 
is much interested in the public welfare and 
progress, and in politics is a Republican. Fra- 
ternally, he is a member of the Knights of 
Pythias and Brotherhood of Locomotive En- 
gineers. Although injured by being accidentally 
struck in the head April, 1909, near Lanesville, 
la., causing impairment of eyesight, he is other- 
wise in good health. 

McGRATH, Wilmer W., M. D., a successful 
young physician of Savanna, now holding the 
office of mayor of that city, was bom in Derinda 
township, Jo Daviess county, 111., January 5, 
1870. son of Robert and Esther (Weir) Mc- 
Grath, farming people. The paternal grand- 
father was a native of Ireland and as a young 
man located in Beaver county. Pa., where he 
lived until 1836, then removed to Jo Daviess 
county. He was one of the first settlers of 
Derinda township, and he and his wife had nine 
children, of whom Robert was the seventh. Of 
the progeny of this family but few now live 
in northwestern Illinois. Robert McGrath died 
in 1903 and his widow in 1907. They had five 
children. 

Dr. McGrath completed the courses in the 
common and high schools of Savanna and in 
1893 matriculated in the Central Medical Col- 
lege, of St. Joseph, Mo., from which he was 
graduated in 1906. He came to Savanna three 
months after his graduation and has since built 
up a practice second to none in Carroll county, 
standing high in his profession and winning the 
confidence of the community. He belongs to the 
county, state, and American Medical Societies, 
and also to the Knights of Pythias and various 
other fraternal orders. While not active in 
political affairs he is a stanch Republican and 
has held various local offices. He was elected 
mayor in 1908, 1910, and an enterprising citizen 
at all times, he has filled the office of chief ex- 
ecutive with credit to himself and his city. Dr. 
McGrath has many friends and is popular with 
all classes, having a sincere manner and an up- 
right, reliable character. 

On March 8, 1893, Dr. McGrath married Miss 
Henrietta De La Vergne, a daughter of Ben- 
jamin De La Vergne, of Savanna, and two chil- 



dren have been bom to this union, Floyd and 
Gladys C, both attending school. 

McINTYRE, Daniel, a well-to-do farmer and 
useful citizen of Carroll county, 111., is a son of 
Hugh and Christie (McCall) Mclntyre, Scotch 
Highlanders. The father emigrated to Canada 
about 1818 and spent some time in Ontario. He 
and his wife met and were married near Mon- 
treal about 1835 and they came to Carroll 
county about 1849, locating on the farm now 
owned by their son Daniel. They were promi- 
nent and respected citizens of their community 
and became successful farmers. There were 
nine children in their family: Mary, who is de- 
ceased; Neil, who served twelve years as a jus- 
tice of the peace; Anna; Catherine; Daniel; 
Duncan; Marjorie; Christie and Isabelle. The 
parents of th^se children died in Carroll county. 

Daniel Mclntyre was educated in the country 
schools and reared to farm work, which he has 
followed all his active life. As a young man he 
enlisted for ser\ice in the Civil war and after 
his discharge returned to the farm. He has 
brought the land to a high state of cultivation 
and is one of the most successful farmers in his 
community. He is a Republican in politics and 
ready to support any movement for the pro- 
gress or welfare of his township or county. He 
married Margaret McCabe, daughter of Robert 
McCabe, of Carroll county, and they are par- 
ents of three children : Roy, Isabelle, and Jesse. 

McKSE, William Parker, A. M., B. D., dean and 
instructor in the Frances Shimer school of the 
University of Chicago, was born at Indianola, 
111., August 8, 1862, son of Melvin and Hattie 
(Parker) McKee. The father was a Baptist 
minister and of Scotch-Irish ancestry. The fam- 
ily was established in Virginia, probably in the 
early part of the seventeenth century. The 
father of Melvin McKee moved from Kentucky 
in 1828 to Edgar county, 111., where he spent the 
remainder of his days near the town now known 
as Chrisman. 

Mr. McKee received his early educational 
training in the common schools and later at- 
tended Wabash College, Crawfordsville, Ind., 
graduating therefrom with the degree of A. B., 
In 1883. He was graduated in 1887 from the 
Baptist Union Theological Seminary (now the 
Divinity school of the University of Chicago), 
with the degree of B. D. In 1897 he received 



Digitized by 



Google 



840 



HISTORY OF CARROLL COUNTY 



the degree of A. M, from the University of 
Minnesota. In 1897 he received the degree of 
B. D. from the University of Chicago. He 
served ten years, from 1887 until 1897, as pastor 
of Olivet Baptist church, at Minneapolis, and 
in the latter year came to Mt Carroll as dean 
of the Frances Shimer school, which post he 
now fills. There are ICO students in this school 
and the course covers four years of academic 
and two years of college work. There are 
seventeen members in the faculty. 

On August 23, 1887, Dr. McKee married Net- 
tle Hartley, of Chrisman, 111., and one son was 
born of this union, Howard Harper, bom July 
27, 1890, Instructor in geology in Drury College, 
Springfield, Mo. Mrs. McKee died September 8, 
1894, and Dr. McKee married (second) June 
27, 1901, Florence Turney, of Chicago, and they 
have one child, Margaret Elizabe'th, bom Sep- 
tember 21, 1902. Dr. McKee is a Progressive 
in politics. He has lived in Mt. Carroll fifteen 
years and has identified himself with the best 
interests of the city and community. 

McKENNBY, Oscar F., (deceased).— Each suc- 
cessive step in the business career of Oscar F. 
McKenney was brought about through his nat- 
ural ability and enterprise, and he won an en- 
viable position in the financial circles of Illi- 
nois and adjoining states. He was associated 
with various banks which he helped to built up, 
and was at the time of his death president of 
the Carroll County Bank, of Mt Carroll, which 
sound and substantial institution he helped to 
organize, being continued as its head. Mr. Mc- 
Kenney was born in Dixon, HI., April 22, 1842, 
the eldest son of Frederick C. and Catherine 
(Clute) McKenney. The McKenneys came to 
America from Scotland in the latter part of the 
seventeenth century, and settled near Albany, 
on the Hudson River, N. Y., where they have 
since been prominent The Clutes were de- 
scended from the Marcellus family of Holland, 
known in New York as "Mohawk Dutchmen.*' 
Members of both families were farmers. 

Frederick C. McKenney came to Dixon, 111., 
in 1835, engaging in mercantile business. His 
manner of conducting his early business ventures 
is typical of conditions before the days of rail- 
roads, in the middle west In 1832, there be- 
ing a large migration from the vicinity of 
Schenectady, N. Y., into Canada, and Mr. Mc- 
Kenney joined it and bought and cleared a piece 



of land there, constructing six saw-mills, which 
he operated for a time and then sold. He then 
proceeded to Toronto, where he purdiased a 
large supply of groceries and loaded them on 
a boat, his objective point being the then new 
town of Milwaukee, Wis., where he intended 
to establish himself in business. His goods 
were brought from tlie boat to the shore and 
sold as fast as unloaded, being disposed of in 
two days. There were so many people in the 
town it was impossible for Mr. McKenney to 
secure lodgings. He hired a horse and made 
several excursions into the woods around the 
town, but not l)eing pleased with the outlook 
and surroundings, left the town by boat for 
Chicago, which he found upon his arrival to 
be a **mudhole," in his estimation. Hearing of 
"Dixon's Ferry," which he thought would be a 
good location, he proceeded thither and find- 
ing the place much to his liking, decided to en- 
gage in business there. Going to St Louis, he 
purchased a good stoc^ of groceries and brought 
the same by boat up the Mississippi to Fulton, 
111., thence overland to his destination where 
he embarked in business. A few years later he 
visited Schenectady and there married Cath- 
erine Clute, after which he proceeded to Bos- 
ton, New York and Philadelphia, and purchased 
a stock of dry goods and other needed supplies, 
which he had shipped by the Erie canal to 
Chicago and thence by wagon to Dixon. He 
conducted a large store in Dixon for about 
twenty-five years, and during this time also 
bought and sold live stock, which he marketed 
in Chicago. 

At the beginning of the Civil war Mr. McKen- 
ney secured a number of contracts to supply 
the government with cavalry horses, and mules 
and alK>ut that time went into the stock busi- 
ness on a larger scale, erecting large horse sales- 
barns, a livery stable and stock yards. He dis- 
posed of this business sometime later and during 
the last ten years of his life was retired. Never 
active in politics, he had been a Whig in his 
views but during the Civil war became a Lhi- 
coln Republican and so continued. His oldest 
child, Elizabeth, was first Mrs. Wllber, but Is 
now Mrs. Chas. Huguett, of Dixon, and she was 
the first white child born in the city of Dixon 
proper. Mr. McKenney died in 1882, and was 
buried in Dixon, and his widow died ten years 
later (1892) and is buried by the side of her 
husband. Their children were : Elizabeth, who 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CARROLL COUNTY 



841 



was bom in 1838; Oscar F.; Charles H., who 
was bom in 1852, manager and director of the 
Union State Bank, of Dixon; Susan, who was 
bom in 1849, is now Mrs. Charles G. Smith, of 
Dixon. 

Oscar F. McKenney was educated in the primi- 
tive public schools of Dixon, going to school 
fbr a time in the old courthouse and later iu a 
little old stone schoolhouse, before the time of 
graded schools. At the age of fifteen years he 
left school and found employment as checking 
derk for what Is now the Chicago & Northwest- 
em Railway, of Dixon, and six months later 
was glren an office position with the same com- 
pany, continuing four months in this capacity, 
when he took charge of a small station near 
Dixon, remaining there but a short time. He 
then went to work in the general offices of the 
same road in Chicago, and remained there two 
years, after which he went to New York City, 
being one of the first freight agents of the 
road, and spent two years there, having entire 
charge of the eastem territory and visiting 
the larger cities many times in search of freight 
business. Returning to Chicago he spent a 
year as general freight agent, and then ac- 
cepted the position of locating the company's 
lost freight and freight cars, traveling over 
all the roads of the country and